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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns 
 
For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult 
with the agencies below.  The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address, 
but are not inclusive. 
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Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rules Division 
1711 New Hope Church Road   (919) 431-3000 
Raleigh, North Carolina  27609   (919) 431-3104 FAX 
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 Dana Vojtko, Publications Coordinator  dana.vojtko@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3075 
 Julie Edwards, Editorial Assistant  julie.edwards@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3073 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 
 

GENERAL 
 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) notices of rule-making proceedings; 
(3) text of proposed rules; 
(4) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal 

incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165; 
(6) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(7) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; 

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board issued under 
G.S. 105-241.2; and 

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the 
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina 
Register is not included.  The last day of the period so 
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until 
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first 
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of 
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday 
for employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is 
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State 
employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR 
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY:  This date is 
the first legislative day of the next regular session of 
the General Assembly following approval of the rule 
by the Rules Review Commission.  See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules. 
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PUBLIC NOTICE 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES 

DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY 
 
The Division of Water Quality has received a petition to establish interim maximum allowable concentrations in groundwater for 
Alachlor, Ammonia, Antimony, Bromomethane, Butanol, Dalapon, 1,4-Dibromobenzene, 2,4-Dichlorophenol, DDE, Dinoseb, Diquat, 
Endothall, Methyl methacrylate, 1,2,4,5-tetrachlorobenzene, 1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane and 1,1,2-Trichlorethane.  These IMACs will 
aid DENR programs in assessing conditions and setting health protective groundwater levels at regulated sites.  In accordance with 
15A NCAC 02L .0202 (c), the data supporting the request has been reviewed as have staff recommendations from the Division of 
Water Quality and the Division of Public Health.  Therefore, the following interim maximum allowable concentrations are hereby 
established for Class GA and GSA groundwaters effective August 1, 2010. 
 

Substance     Concentration  
Alachlor      0.4 ug/L 
Ammonia     1,500 ug/L 
Antimony     1 ug/L 
Bromomethane     10 ug/L 
Butanol      700 ug/L 
Dalapon      200 ug/L 
1,4-Dibromobenzene    70 ug/L 
2,4-Dichlorophenol    0.98 ug/L 
DDE      0.1 ug/L 
Dinoseb      7 ug/L 
Diquat      20 ug/L 
Endothall     100 ug/L 
Methyl methacrylate    25 ug/L 
1,2,4,5-Tetrachlorobenzene   2 ug/L 
1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane    1 ug/L 
1,1,2-Trichloroethane    0.6 ug/L 

 
Action to adopt permanent standards for these substances will be initiated during the next groundwater standard triennial review.  For 
more information or questions, please contact Sandra Moore at Sandra.moore@ncdenr.gov or 919-807-6417 or visit our web site at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/ps/csu . 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 
days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 
 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Division of Health Service Regulation intends to amend the 
rules cited as 10A NCAC 14C .1202, .1402-.1403, .1701, .1703, 
.1902, .2102-.2106, .2202-.2203, and .2701. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 11, 2010 
Time: 10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Council Building, Room 201, NC Division of Health 
Service Regulation, Dorothea Dix Campus, 701 Barbour Drive, 
Raleigh, NC  27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules are currently 
temporary rules which became effective February 1, 2010 and 
are now proposed for permanent rule amendment.  Several 
subject matters are addressed in the State Medical Facilities 
Plan (SMFP).  Each year, changes to existing Certificate of 
Need rules are required to complement or to ensure consistency 
with the SMFP which is effective January 1, 2010.  The specific 
subject areas being addressed by these proposed permanent rule 
changes are Intensive Care Services, Neonatal Services, Open-
Heart Surgery Services and Heart-Lung Bypass Machines, 
Radiation Therapy Equipment, Surgical Services and Operating 
Rooms, End-Stage Renal Disease Services, and Magnetic 
Resonance Imaging Scanner. 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  An individual may object to the agency on the 
proposed rule by submitting written comments on the proposed 
rules.  They may also object by attending the public hearing and 
personally voice their objections during that time. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Erin Glendening, Division of 
Health Service Regulation, 2714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC 27699-2714; fax (919) 715-4413; email 
DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  August 30, 2010 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule.  The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission.  If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 14 – DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 
SUBCHAPTER 14C - CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

REGULATIONS 
SECTION .1200 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

INTENSIVE CARE SERVICES 
 
10A NCAC 14C .1202 INFORMATION REQUIRED OF  
APPLICANT 
(a)  An applicant that proposes new or expanded intensive care 
services shall use the Acute Care Facility/Medical Equipment 
application form. 
(b)  An applicant proposing new or expanded intensive care 
services shall also submit the following additional information: 

(1) the number of intensive care beds currently 
operated by the applicant and the number of 
intensive care beds to be operated following 
completion of the proposed project; 

(2) documentation of the applicant's experience in 
treating patients at the facility during the past 
twelve months, including: 
(A) the number of inpatient days of care 

provided to intensive care patients; 
(B) the number of patients initially 

treated at the facility and referred to 
other facilities for intensive care 
services; and 

(C) the number of patients initially 
treated at other facilities and referred 
to the applicant's facility for intensive 
care services. 

(3) the number of patients from the proposed 
service area who are projected to require 
intensive care services by the patients' county 
of residence in each of the first 12 quarters of 
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operation, including all assumptions and 
methodologies; 

(4)(3) the projected number of patients to be served 
and inpatient days of care to be provided by 
county of residence by specialized type of 
intensive care for each of the first twelve 
calendar quarters following completion of the 
proposed project, including all assumptions 
and methodologies; 

(5)(4) data from actual referral sources or 
correspondence from the proposed referral 
sources documenting their intent to refer 
patients to the applicant's facility; 

(6)(5) documentation which demonstrates the 
applicant's capability to communicate 
effectively with emergency transportation 
agencies; 

(7)(6) documentation of written policies and 
procedures regarding the provision of care 
within the intensive care unit, which includes, 
but is not limited to the following: 
(A) the admission and discharge of 

patients; 
(B) infection control; 
(C) safety procedures; and 
(D) scope of services. 

(8)(7) documentation that the proposed service shall 
be operated in an area organized as a 
physically and functionally distinct entity, 
separate from the rest of the facility, with 
controlled access; 

(9)(8) documentation to show that the services shall 
be offered in a physical environment that 
conforms to the requirements of federal, state, 
and local regulatory bodies; 

(10)(9) a detailed floor plan of the proposed area 
drawn to scale; and 

(11)(10) documentation of a means for observation by 
unit staff of all patients in the unit from at least 
one vantage point. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 
 

SECTION .1400 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
NEONATAL SERVICES 

 
10A NCAC 14C .1402 INFORMATION REQUIRED OF  
APPLICANT 
(a)  An applicant proposing to develop a new Level I nursery in 
the facility for the first time or increase the number of new or 
additional Level II, III or IV neonatal beds shall use the Acute 
Care Facility/Medical Equipment application form. 
(b)  An applicant proposing to develop a new Level I nursery 
service in the facility for the first time or to increase the number 
of new or additional Level II, III or IV neonatal beds shall 
provide the following additional information: 

(1) the current number of Level I nursery 
bassinets, Level II beds, Level III beds and 
Level IV beds operated by the applicant; 

(2) the proposed number of Level I nursery 
bassinets, Level II beds, Level III beds and 
Level IV beds to be operated following 
completion of the proposed project; 

(3) evidence of the applicant's experience in 
treating the following patients at the facility 
during the past twelve months, including: 
(A) the number of obstetrical patients 

treated at the acute care facility; 
(B) the number of neonatal patients 

treated in Level I nursery bassinets, 
Level II beds, Level III beds and 
Level IV beds, respectively; 

(C) the number of inpatient days at the 
facility provided to obstetrical 
patients; 

(D) the number of inpatient days provided 
in Level II beds, Level III beds and 
Level IV beds, respectively; 

(E) the number of high-risk obstetrical 
patients treated at the applicant's 
facility and the number of high-risk 
obstetrical patients referred from the 
applicant's facility to other facilities 
or programs; and 

(F) the number of neonatal patients 
referred to other facilities for 
services, identified by required level 
of neonatal service (i.e. Level II, 
Level III or Level IV); 

(4) the projected number of neonatal patients to be 
served identified by Level I, Level II, Level III 
and Level IV neonatal services for each of the 
first three years of operation following the 
completion of the project, including the 
methodology and assumptions used for the 
projections; 

(5) the projected number of patient days of care to 
be provided in Level I bassinets, Level II beds, 
Level III beds, and Level IV beds, 
respectively, for each of the first three years of 
operation following completion of the project, 
including the methodology and assumptions 
used for the projections; 

(6) if proposing to provide Level I or Level II 
neonatal services, services in the facility for 
the first time, documentation that at least 90 
percent of the anticipated patient population is 
within 30 minutes driving time one-way from 
the facility; 

(7) if proposing to provide new Level I or Level II 
neonatal services, services in the facility for 
the first time, documentation of a written plan 
to transport infants to Level III or Level IV 
neonatal services as the infant's care requires; 

(8) evidence that the applicant shall have access to 
a transport service with at least the following 
components: 
(A) trained personnel; 
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(B) transport incubator; 
(C) emergency resuscitation equipment; 
(D) oxygen supply, monitoring equipment 

and the means of administration; 
(E) portable cardiac and temperature 

monitors; and 
(F) a mechanical ventilator;  

(9) documentation that the proposed service shall 
be operated in an area organized as a 
physically and functionally distinct entity with 
controlled access; 

(10) documentation to show that the new or 
additional Level I, Level II, Level III or Level 
IV neonatal services shall be offered in a 
physical environment that conforms to the 
requirements of federal, state, and local 
regulatory bodies; 

(11) a detailed floor plan of the proposed area 
drawn to scale; 

(12) documentation of direct or indirect visual 
observation by unit staff of all patients from 
one or more vantage points; and 

(13) documentation that the floor space allocated to 
each bed and bassinet shall accommodate 
equipment and personnel to meet anticipated 
contingencies. 

(c)  If proposing to provide new Level III or Level IV neonatal 
services in the facility for the first time, the applicant shall also 
provide the following information: 

(1) documentation that at least 90 percent of the 
anticipated patient population is within 90 
minutes driving time one-way from the 
facility, with the exception that there shall be a 
variance from the 90 percent standard for 
facilities which demonstrate that they provide 
very specialized levels of neonatal care to a 
large and geographically diverse population, or 
facilities which demonstrate the availability of 
air ambulance services for neonatal patients; 

(2) evidence that existing and approved neonatal 
services in the applicant's defined neonatal 
service area are unable to accommodate the 
applicant's projected need for additional Level 
III and Level IV services; 

(3) an analysis of the proposal's impact on existing 
Level III and Level IV neonatal services which 
currently serve patients from the applicant's 
primary service area; 

(4) the availability of high risk OB services at the 
site of the applicant's planned neonatal service; 

(5) copies of written policies which provide for 
parental participation in the care of their 
infant, as the infant's condition permits, in 
order to facilitate family adjustment and 
continuity of care following discharge; and 

(6) copies of written policies and procedures 
regarding the scope and provision of care 
within the neonatal service, including but not 
limited to the following: 

(A) the admission and discharge of 
patients; 

(B) infection control; 
(C) pertinent safety practices; 
(D) the triaging of patients requiring 

consultations, including the transfer 
of patients to another facility; and 

(E) the protocols for obtaining emergency 
physician care for a sick infant. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 
 
10A NCAC 14C .1403 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 
(a)  An applicant shall demonstrate that the proposed project is 
capable of meeting the following standards: 

(1) if an applicant proposes an increase in the 
number of the facility's existing is proposing to 
increase the total number of neonatal beds 
(i.e., the sum of Level II, Level III or and 
Level IV beds, beds), the overall average 
annual occupancy of the total combined 
number of all existing Level II, Level III and 
Level IV beds in the facility is at least 75 
percent, over the 12 months immediately 
preceding the submittal of the proposal; 

(2) if an applicant is proposing to develop new or 
additional increase the total number of 
neonatal beds (i.e., the sum of Level II, Level 
III or and Level IV beds, beds), the projected 
overall average annual occupancy of the total 
combined number of all Level II, Level III and 
Level IV beds proposed to be operated during 
the third year of operation of the proposed 
project shall be at least 75 percent; and 

(3) The applicant shall document the assumptions 
and provide data supporting the methodology 
used for each projection in this rule. 

(b)  If an applicant proposes to develop a new Level III or Level 
IV service, the applicant shall document that an unmet need 
exists in the applicant's defined neonatal service area, unless the 
State Medical Facilities Plan includes a need determination for 
neonatal beds in the service area.  The need for Level III and 
Level IV beds shall be computed for the applicant's neonatal 
service area by: 

(1) identifying the annual number of live births 
occurring at all hospitals within the proposed 
neonatal service area, using the latest available 
data compiled by the State Center for Health 
Statistics; 

(2) identifying the low birth weight rate (percent 
of live births below 2,500 grams) for the births 
identified in (1) of this Paragraph, using the 
latest available data compiled by the State 
Center for Health Statistics; 

(3) dividing the low birth weight rate identified in 
(2) of this Paragraph by .08 and subsequently 
multiplying the resulting quotient by four; and  
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(4) determining the need for Level III and Level 
IV beds in the proposed neonatal service area 
as the product of: 
(A) the product derived in (3) of this 

Paragraph, and 
(B) the quotient resulting from the 

division of the number of live births 
in the initial year of the determination 
identified in (1) of this Paragraph by 
the number 1000. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 
 

SECTION .1700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
OPEN-HEART SURGERY SERVICES AND HEART-

LUNG BYPASS MACHINES 
 
10A NCAC 14C .1701 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Capacity" of a heart-lung bypass machine 
means 400 adult-equivalent open heart 
surgical procedures per year.  One open heart 
surgical procedure on persons age 14 and 
under is valued at two adult open heart 
surgical procedures.  For purposes of 
determining capacity, one open heart surgical 
procedure is defined to be one visit or trip by a 
patient to an operating room for an open heart 
operation. 

(2) "Cardiac Surgical Intensive Care Unit" means 
a distinct intensive care unit as defined in 10A 
NCAC 14C .1201(2) and which is for 
exclusive use by post-surgical open heart 
patients. 

(3) "Heart-lung bypass machine" shall have the 
same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-
176(10a). 

(4) "Open heart surgery service area" means a 
geographical area defined by the applicant, 
which has boundaries that are not farther than 
90 road miles from the facility, except that the 
open heart surgery service area of an academic 
medical center teaching hospital designated in 
10A NCAC 14B the State Medical Facilities 
Plan shall not be limited to 90 road miles. 

(5) "Open heart surgery services" shall have the 
same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-
176(18b). 

(6) "Open heart surgical procedures" means highly 
specialized surgical procedures which: 
(a) utilize a heart-lung bypass machine 

(the "pump") to perform extra-
corporeal circulation and oxygenation 
during surgery; 

(b) are designed to correct congenital and 
acquired cardiac and coronary 
disease; and 

(c) are identified by Medicare Diagnostic 
Related Group ("DRG") numbers 

104, 105, 106, 107, and 108. 108, 
547, 548, 549, and 550. 

(7) "Primary open heart surgery service area" 
means a geographical area defined by the 
applicant, which has boundaries that are not 
farther than 45 road miles from the facility, 
except that the primary open heart surgery 
service area of an academic medical center 
teaching hospital designated to in 10A NCAC 
14B, the State Medical Facilities Plan shall not 
be limited to 45 road miles. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 
 
10A NCAC 14C .1703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 
The applicant shall demonstrate that the proposed project is 
capable of meeting the following standards: 

(1) the applicant shall perform at least four 
diagnostic catheterizations per open heart 
surgical procedure during each quarter; 

(2)(1) an applicant's existing and new or additional 
heart-lung bypass machines shall be utilized at 
an annual rate of 200 open heart surgical 
procedures per machine, measured during the 
twelfth quarter following completion of the 
project; 

(3)(2) at least 50 percent of the projected open heart 
surgical procedures shall be performed on 
patients residing within the primary open heart 
surgery service area; 

(4)(3) the applicant's projected utilization and 
proposed staffing patterns are such that each 
open heart surgical team shall perform at an 
annual rate of at least 150 open heart surgical 
procedures by the end of the third year 
following completion of the project; 

(5)(4) the applicant shall document the assumptions 
and provide data supporting the methodology 
used to make these projections; and 

(6)(5) heart-lung bypass machines that have been 
acquired for non-surgical use, or for non-heart 
surgical procedure use, and that are dedicated 
for services that are not related to the open 
heart surgery services, shall not be utilized in 
the performance of open heart surgical 
procedures. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 
 

SECTION .1900 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
RADIATION THERAPY EQUIPMENT 

 
10A NCAC 14C .1902 INFORMATION REQUIRED OF  
APPLICANT 
(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire radiation therapy 
equipment shall use the Acute Care Facility/Medical Equipment 
application form. 
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(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire radiation therapy 
equipment shall also provide the following additional 
information: 

(1) a list of all the radiation therapy equipment to 
be acquired and documentation of the 
capabilities and capacities of each item of 
equipment; 

(2) documentation of the purchase price and fair 
market value of each piece of radiation therapy 
equipment, each simulator, and any other 
related equipment proposed to be acquired; 

(3) the projected number of patient treatments by 
county and by intensity modulated (IMRT), 
stereotactic radiosurgery, simple, intermediate 
and complex radiation treatments to be 
performed on each piece of radiation therapy 
equipment for each of the first three years of 
operation following the completion of the 
proposed project and documentation of all 
assumptions by which utilization is projected; 

(4) documentation that the proposed radiation 
therapy equipment shall be operational at least 
seven hours per day, five days a week; 

(5) documentation that no more than one 
simulator is available for every two linear 
accelerators in the applicant's facility, except 
that an applicant that has only one linear 
accelerator may have one simulator; 

(6) documentation that the services shall be 
offered in a physical environment that 
conforms to the requirements of federal, state, 
and local regulatory bodies; and 

(7) the projected total number of radiation 
treatment patients that will be treated by 
county in the facility in each of the first three 
years of operation following completion of the 
proposed project. project; 

(8) the projected number of radiation treatment 
patients that will be treated for palliation in 
each of the first three years of operation 
following completion of the proposed project; 
and  

(9) the projected number of radiation treatment 
patients that will be treated for cure in each of 
the first three years of operation following 
completion of the proposed project. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire a linear accelerator for 
development of a multidisciplinary prostate health center 
pursuant to a need determination for a demonstration project in 
the State Medical Facilities Plan shall provide the following 
additional information: 

(1) description of all services to be provided by 
the proposed multidisciplinary prostate health 
center, including a description of each of the 
following services: 
(A) urology services, 
(B) medical oncology services, 
(C) biofeedback therapy, 
(D) chemotherapy, 

(E) brachytherapy, and 
(F) living skills counseling and therapy; 

(2) documentation that urology services, medical 
and radiation oncology services, biofeedback 
therapy, brachytherapy and post-treatment 
living skills counseling and therapy will be 
provided in the same building; 

(3) description of any services that will be 
provided by other facilities or in different 
buildings; 

(4) demographics of the population in the county 
in which the proposed multidisciplinary 
prostate health center will be located, 
including: 
(A) percentage of the population in the 

county that is African American, 
(B) the percentage of the population in 

the county that is male, 
(C) the percentage of the population in 

the county that is African American 
male, 

(D) the incidence of prostate cancer for 
the African American male 
population in the county, and  

(E) the mortality rate from prostate 
cancer for the African American male 
population in the county; 

(5) documentation that the proposed center is 
located within walking distance of an 
established bus route and within five miles of a 
minority community; 

(6) documentation that the multiple medical 
disciplines in the center will collaborate to 
create and maintain a single or common 
medical record for each patient and conduct 
multidisciplinary conferences regarding each 
patient's treatment and follow-up care; 

(7) documentation that the center will establish its 
own prostate/urological cancer tumor board 
for review of cases; 

(8) copy of the center's written policies that 
prohibit the exclusion of services to any 
patient on the basis of age, race, religion, 
disability or the patient's ability to pay; 

(9) copy of written strategies and activities the 
center will follow to assure its services will be 
accessible by patients without regard to their 
ability to pay; 

(10) description of the center's outreach activities 
and the manner in which they complement 
existing outreach initiatives; 

(11) documentation of number and type of clinics 
to be conducted to screen patients at risk for 
prostate cancer; 

(12) written description of patient selection criteria, 
including referral arrangements for high-risk 
patients; 

(13) commitment to prepare an annual report at the 
end of each of the first three operating years, 
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to be submitted to the Medical Facilities 
Planning Section and the Certificate of Need 
Section, that shall include: 
(A) the total number of patients treated; 
(B) the number of African American 

persons treated; 
(C) the number of persons in other 

minority populations treated; and 
(D) the number of insured, underinsured 

and uninsured patients served by type 
of payment category; 

(14) documentation of arrangements made with a 
third party researcher to evaluate, during the 
fourth operating year of the center, the efficacy 
of the clinical and outreach initiatives on 
prostate and urological cancer treatment, and 
develop recommendations regarding the 
advantages and disadvantages of replicating 
the project in other areas of the State.  The 
results of the evaluation and recommendations 
shall be submitted in a report to the Medical 
Facilities Planning Section and Certificate of 
Need Section in the first quarter of the fifth 
operating year of the demonstration project; 
and 

(15) if the third party researcher is not a historically 
black university, document the reasons for 
using a different researcher for the project. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183. 
 

SECTION .2100 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
SURGICAL SERVICES AND OPERATING ROOMS 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2102 INFORMATION REQUIRED OF  
APPLICANT 
(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, to establish a new campus of an existing 
facility, to establish a new hospital, to increase the number of 
operating rooms, to convert a specialty ambulatory surgical 
program to a multispecialty ambulatory surgical program or to 
add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory surgical program shall 
identify each of the following specialty areas that will be 
provided in the facility: 

(1) gynecology; 
(2) otolaryngology; 
(3) plastic surgery; 
(4) general surgery; 
(5) ophthalmology; 
(6) orthopedic; 
(7) oral surgery; and 
(8) other specialty area identified by the applicant. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, to increase the number of operating rooms 
except relocations of existing operating rooms between existing 
licensed facilities within the same in a service area, to convert a 
specialty ambulatory surgical program to a multispecialty 
ambulatory surgical program or to add a specialty to a specialty 

ambulatory surgical program shall provide the following 
information: 

(1) the number and type of operating rooms in 
each licensed facility which the applicant or a 
related entity owns a controlling interest in and 
is located in the service area, (separately 
identifying the number of dedicated open heart 
and dedicated C-Section rooms); 

(2) the number and type of operating rooms to be 
located in each licensed facility which the 
applicant or a related entity owns a controlling 
interest in and is located in the service area 
after completion of the proposed project and 
all previously approved projects related to 
these facilities (separately identifying the 
number of dedicated open heart and dedicated 
C-Section rooms); 

(3) the number of inpatient surgical cases, 
excluding trauma cases reported by Level I, II, 
or III trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units, and cases 
performed in dedicated open heart and 
dedicated C-section rooms, and the number of 
outpatient surgical cases performed in the most 
recent 12 month period for which data is 
available, in the operating rooms in each 
licensed facility listed in response to 
Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule; 

(4) the number of inpatient surgical cases, 
excluding trauma cases reported by level I, II, 
or III trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units and cases 
performed in dedicated open heart and 
dedicated C-section rooms, and the number of 
outpatient surgical cases projected to be 
performed in each of the first three operating 
years of the proposed project, in each licensed 
facility listed in response to Subparagraphs 
(b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule; 

(5) a detailed description of and documentation to 
support the assumptions and methodology 
used in the development of the projections 
required by this Rule; 

(6) the hours of operation of the proposed new 
operating rooms; 

(7) if the applicant is an existing facility, the 
average reimbursement received per procedure 
for the 20 surgical procedures most commonly 
performed in the facility during the preceding 
12 months and a list of all services and items 
included in the reimbursement; 

(8) the projected average reimbursement to be 
received per procedure for the 20 surgical 
procedures which the applicant projects will be 
performed most often in the facility and a list 
of all services and items included in the 
reimbursement; and 
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(9) identification of providers of pre-operative 
services and procedures which will not be 
included in the facility's charge. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to relocate existing or approved 
operating rooms between existing licensed facilities within the 
same service area shall provide the following information: 

(1) the number and type of existing and approved 
operating rooms in each licensed facility in 
which the number of operating rooms will 
increase or decrease (separately identifying the 
number of dedicated open heart and dedicated 
C-Section rooms); 

(2) the number and type of operating rooms to be 
located in each affected licensed facility after 
completion of the proposed project and all 
previously approved projects related to these 
facilities (separately identifying the number of 
dedicated open heart and dedicated C-Section 
rooms); 

(3) the number of inpatient surgical cases, 
excluding trauma cases reported by Level I, II, 
or III trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units, and cases 
performed in dedicated open heart and 
dedicated C-section rooms, and the number of 
outpatient surgical cases performed in the most 
recent 12 month period for which data is 
available, in the operating rooms in each 
licensed facility listed in response to 
Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (c)(2) of this Rule; 

(4) the number of inpatient surgical cases, 
excluding trauma cases reported by level I, II, 
or III trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units and cases 
performed in dedicated open heart and 
dedicated C-section rooms, and the number of 
outpatient surgical cases projected to be 
performed in each of the first three operating 
years of the proposed project, in each licensed 
facility listed in response to Subparagraphs 
(c)(1) and (c)(2) of this Rule; 

(5) a detailed description of and documentation to 
support the assumptions and methodology 
used in the development of the projections 
required by this Rule; 

(6) the hours of operation of the facility to be 
expanded; 

(7) the average reimbursement received per 
procedure for the 20 surgical procedures most 
commonly performed in each affected licensed 
facility during the preceding 12 months and a 
list of all services and items included in the 
reimbursement; 

(8) the projected average reimbursement to be 
received per procedure for the 20 surgical 
procedures which the applicant projects will be 
performed most often in the facility to be 
expanded and a list of all services and items 
included in the reimbursement; and 

(9) identification of providers of pre-operative 
services and procedures which will not be 
included in the facility's charge. 

(d)  An applicant proposing to establish a new single specialty 
separately licensed ambulatory surgical facility pursuant to the 
demonstration project in the 2010 State Medical Facilities Plan 
shall provide: 

(1) the single surgical specialty area in which 
procedures will be performed in the proposed 
ambulatory surgical facility; 

(2) a description of the ownership interests of 
physicians in the proposed ambulatory surgical 
facility; 

(3) a commitment that the Medicare allowable 
amount for self pay and Medicaid surgical 
cases minus all revenue collected from self-
pay and Medicaid surgical cases shall be at 
least seven percent of the total revenue 
collected for all surgical cases performed in 
the proposed facility; 

(4) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the projected number of self-pay 
surgical cases; 

(5) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the projected number of Medicaid 
surgical cases; 

(6) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the total projected Medicare 
allowable amount for the self pay surgical 
cases to be served in the proposed facility, i.e. 
provide the projected Medicare allowable 
amount per self-pay surgical case and multiply 
that amount by the projected number of self 
pay surgical cases; 

(7) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the total projected Medicare 
allowable amount for the Medicaid surgical 
cases to be served in the facility, i.e. provide 
the projected Medicare allowable amount per 
Medicaid surgical case and multiply that 
amount by the projected number of Medicaid 
surgical cases; 

(8) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the projected revenue to be 
collected from the projected number of self-
pay surgical cases; 

(9) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the projected revenue to be 
collected from the projected number of 
Medicaid surgical cases; 

(10) for each of the first three full fiscal years of 
operation, the projected total revenue to be 
collected for all surgical cases performed in 
the proposed facility; 

(11) a commitment to report utilization and 
payment data for services provided in the 
proposed ambulatory surgical facility to the 
statewide data processor, as required by G.S. 
131E-214.2; 
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(12) a description of the system the proposed 
ambulatory surgical facility will use to 
measure and report patient outcomes for the 
purpose of monitoring the quality of care 
provided in the facility; 

(13) descriptions of currently available patient 
outcome measures for the surgical specialty to 
be provided in the proposed facility, if any 
exist; 

(14) if patient outcome measures are not currently 
available for the surgical specialty area, the 
applicant shall develop its own patient 
outcome measures to be used for monitoring 
and reporting the quality of care provided in 
the proposed facility, and shall provide in its 
application a description of the measures it 
developed; 

(15) a description of the system the proposed 
ambulatory surgical facility will use to 
enhance communication and ease data 
collection, e.g. electronic medical records; 

(16) a description of the proposed ambulatory 
surgical facility's open access policy for 
physicians, if one is proposed; 

(17) a commitment to provide to the Agency annual 
reports at the end of each of the first five full 
years of operation regarding: 
(A) patient payment data submitted to the 

statewide data processor as required 
by G.S. 131E-214.2; 

(B) patient outcome results for each of 
the applicant's patient outcome 
measures; 

(C) the extent to which the physicians 
owning the proposed facility 
maintained their hospital staff 
privileges and provided Emergency 
Department coverage, e.g. number of 
nights each physician is on call at a 
hospital; and 

(D) the extent to which the facility is 
operating in compliance with the 
representations the applicant made in 
its application relative to the single 
specialty ambulatory surgical facility 
demonstration project in the 2010 
State Medical Facilities Plan. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 
 
10A NCAC 14C .2103 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 
(a)  In projecting utilization, the operating rooms shall be 
considered to be available for use five days per week and 52 
weeks a year. 
(b)  A proposal to establish a new ambulatory surgical facility, to 
establish a new campus of an existing facility, to establish a new 
hospital, to increase the number of operating rooms in an 
existing facility (excluding dedicated C-section operating 
rooms), to convert a specialty ambulatory surgical program to a 

multispecialty ambulatory surgical program or to add a specialty 
to a specialty ambulatory surgical program shall not be approved 
unless: 

(1) the applicant reasonably demonstrates the need 
for the number of proposed operating rooms in 
the facility, which is the subject of this review, 
facility, which is proposed to be developed or 
expanded, in the third operating year of the 
project based on the following formula:  
{[(Number of facility's projected inpatient 
cases, excluding trauma cases reported by 
Level I or II trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units and cases 
performed in dedicated open heart and C-
section rooms, times 3.0 hours) plus (Number 
of facility's projected outpatient cases times 
1.5 hours)] divided by 1872 hours} minus the 
facility's total number of existing and approved 
operating rooms and operating rooms 
proposed in another pending application, 
excluding one operating room for Level I or II 
trauma centers, one operating room for 
facilities with designated burn intensive care 
units, and all dedicated open heart and C-
section operating rooms. The number of rooms 
needed is determined as follows: 
(A) in a service area which has more than 

10 operating rooms, if the difference 
is a positive number greater than or 
equal to 0.5, then the need is the next 
highest whole number for fractions of 
0.5 or greater and the next lowest 
whole number for fractions less than 
0.5; and if the difference is a negative 
number or a positive number less than 
0.5, then the need is zero; 

(B) in a service area which has 6 to 10 
operating rooms, if the difference is a 
positive number greater than or equal 
to 0.3, then the need is the next 
highest whole number for fractions of 
0.3 or greater and the next lowest 
whole number for fractions less than 
0.3, and if the difference is a negative 
number or a positive number less than 
0.3, then the need is zero; and 

(C) in a service area which has five or 
fewer operating rooms, if the 
difference is a positive number 
greater than or equal to 0.2, then the 
need is the next highest whole 
number for fractions of 0.2 or greater 
and the next lowest whole number for 
fractions less than 0.2; and if the 
difference is a negative number or a 
positive number less than 0.2, then 
the need is zero; or 

(2) the applicant demonstrates conformance of the 
proposed project to Policy AC-3 in the State 
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Medical Facilities Plan titled "Exemption 
From Plan Provisions for Certain Academic 
Medical Center Teaching Hospital Projects." 

(c)  A proposal to establish a new ambulatory surgical facility, to 
increase the number of operating rooms (excluding dedicated C-
section operating rooms) except relocations of existing operating 
rooms within the same in a service area, to convert a specialty 
ambulatory surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory 
surgical program or to add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory 
surgical program area shall not be approved unless the applicant 
reasonably demonstrates the need for the number of proposed 
operating rooms in addition to the rooms in all of the licensed 
facilities identified in response to 10A NCAC 14C .2102(b)(2) 
in the third operating year of the proposed project based on the 
following formula:  {[(Number of projected inpatient cases for 
all the applicant's or related entities' facilities, excluding trauma 
cases reported by Level I or II trauma centers, cases reported by 
designated burn intensive care units and cases performed in 
dedicated open heart and C-section rooms, times 3.0 hours) plus 
(Number of projected outpatient cases for all the applicant's or 
related entities' facilities times 1.5 hours)] divided by 1872 
hours} minus the total number of existing and approved 
operating rooms and operating rooms proposed in another 
pending application, excluding one operating room for Level I or 
II trauma centers, one operating room for facilities with 
designated burn intensive care units, and all dedicated open heart 
and C-Section operating rooms in all of the applicant's or related 
entities' licensed facilities in the service area.  The number of 
rooms needed is determined as follows: 

(1) in a service area which has more than 10 
operating rooms, if the difference is a positive 
number greater than or equal to 0.5, then the 
need is the next highest whole number for 
fractions of 0.5 or greater and the next lowest 
whole number for fractions less than 0.5; and 
if the difference is a negative number or a 
positive number less than 0.5, then the need is 
zero; 

(2) in a service area which has 6 to 10 operating 
rooms, if the difference is a positive number 
greater than or equal to 0.3, then the need is 
the next highest whole number for fractions of 
0.3 or greater and the next lowest whole 
number for fractions less than 0.3, and if the 
difference is a negative number or a positive 
number less than 0.3, then the need is zero; 
and 

(3) in a service area which has five or fewer 
operating rooms, if the difference is a positive 
number greater than or equal to 0.2, then the 
need is the next highest whole number for 
fractions of 0.2 or greater and the next lowest 
whole number for fractions less than 0.2; and 
if the difference is a negative number or a 
positive number less than 0.2, then the need is 
zero. 

(d)  An applicant that has one or more existing or approved 
dedicated C-section operating rooms and is proposing to develop 
an additional dedicated C-section operating room in the same 

facility shall demonstrate that an average of at least 365 C-
sections per room were performed in the facility's existing 
dedicated C-section operating rooms in the previous 12 months 
and are projected to be performed in the facility's existing, 
approved and proposed dedicated C-section rooms during the 
third year of operation following completion of the project. 
(e)  An applicant proposing to convert a specialty ambulatory 
surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory surgical 
program or to add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory surgical 
program shall provide documentation to show that each existing 
ambulatory surgery program in the service area that performs 
ambulatory surgery in the same specialty area as proposed in the 
application is currently utilized an average of at least 1,872 
hours per operating room per year, excluding dedicated open 
heart and C-Section operating rooms.  The hours utilized per 
operating room shall be calculated as follows:  [(Number of 
projected inpatient cases, excluding open heart and C-sections 
performed in dedicated rooms, times 3.0 hours) plus (Number of 
projected outpatient cases times 1.5 hours)] divided by the 
number of operating rooms, excluding dedicated open heart and 
C-Section operating rooms. 
(f)  An applicant proposing to convert a specialty ambulatory 
surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory surgical 
program or to add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory surgical 
program shall reasonably demonstrate the need for the 
conversion in the third operating year of the project based on the 
following formula:  [(Total number of projected outpatient cases 
for all ambulatory surgery programs in the service area times 1.5 
hours) divided by 1872 hours] minus the total number of 
existing, approved and proposed outpatient or ambulatory 
surgical operating rooms and shared operating rooms in the 
service area.  The need for the conversion is demonstrated if the 
difference is a positive number greater than or equal to one, after 
the number is rounded to the next highest number for fractions 
of 0.50 or greater. 
(g)  The applicant shall document the assumptions and provide 
data supporting the methodology used for each projection in this 
Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 
 
10A NCAC 14C .2104 SUPPORT SERVICES 
(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, a new campus of an existing facility, or a new 
hospital increase the number of operating rooms, convert a 
specialty ambulatory surgical program to a multispecialty 
ambulatory surgical program or add a specialty to a specialty 
ambulatory surgical program shall provide copies of the written 
policies and procedures demonstrating that that will be used by 
the proposed facility will have for patient referral, transfer, and 
followup procedures. follow-up. 
(b)  The applicant An applicant proposing to establish a new 
ambulatory surgical facility, a new campus of an existing 
facility, or a new hospital shall provide documentation showing 
the proximity of the proposed facility to the following services: 

(1) emergency services; 
(2) support services; 
(3) ancillary services; and 
(4) public transportation. 
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Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 
 
10A NCAC 14C .2105 STAFFING AND STAFF  
TRAINING 
(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, to establish a new campus of an existing 
facility, to establish a new hospital, to increase the number of 
operating rooms, rooms in a facility, to convert a specialty 
ambulatory surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory 
surgical program or to add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory 
surgical program shall identify, justify and document the 
availability of the number of current and proposed staff to be 
utilized in the following areas: areas in the facility to be 
developed or expanded: 

(1) administration; 
(2) pre-operative; 
(3) post-operative; 
(4) operating room; and 
(5) other. 

(b)  The applicant shall identify the number of physicians who 
currently utilize the facility and estimate the number of 
physicians expected to utilize the facility and the criteria to be 
used by the facility in extending surgical and anesthesia 
privileges to medical personnel. 
(c)  The applicant shall provide documentation that physicians 
with privileges to practice in the facility will be active members 
in good standing at a general acute care hospital within the 
ambulatory surgical service area in which the facility is, or will 
be, located or will have written referral procedures with a 
physician who is an active member in good standing at a general 
acute care hospital in the ambulatory surgical service area. 
documentation of contacts the applicant made with hospitals in 
the service area in an effort to establish staff privileges. 
(d)  The applicant shall provide documentation that physicians 
owning the proposed single specialty demonstration facility will 
meet Emergency Department coverage responsibilities in at least 
one hospital within the service area, or documentation of 
contacts the applicant made with hospitals in the service area in 
an effort to commit its physicians to assume Emergency 
Department coverage responsibilities. 
 
Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 
 
10A NCAC 14C .2106 FACILITY 
(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a licensed ambulatory 
surgical facility that will be physically located in a physician's or 
dentist's office or within a general acute care hospital shall 
demonstrate that reporting and accounting mechanisms exist and 
can be used to confirm that the licensed ambulatory surgery 
facility is a separately identifiable entity physically and 
administratively, and is financially independent and distinct 
from other operations of the facility in which it is located. 
(b)  An applicant proposing to establish a licensed ambulatory 
surgical facility or a new hospital shall receive accreditation 
from the Joint Commission for the Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory 
Health Care or a comparable accreditation authority within two 
years of completion of the facility. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, to increase the number of operating rooms, to 
convert a specialty ambulatory surgical program to a 
multispecialty ambulatory surgical program or to add a specialty 
to a specialty ambulatory surgical program All applicants shall 
document that the physical environment of the facility to be 
developed or expanded conforms to the requirements of federal, 
state, and local regulatory bodies. 
(d)  The An applicant proposing to establish a new ambulatory 
surgical facility, a new campus of an existing facility or a new 
hospital shall provide a floor plan of the proposed facility 
identifying the following areas: 

(1) receiving/registering area; 
(2) waiting area; 
(3) pre-operative area; 
(4) operating room by type; 
(5) recovery area; and 
(6) observation area. 

(e)  An applicant proposing to expand by converting a specialty 
ambulatory surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory 
surgical program or by adding a specialty to a specialty 
ambulatory surgical program that does not propose to add 
physical space to the existing ambulatory surgical facility shall 
demonstrate the capability of the existing ambulatory surgical 
program to provide the following for each additional specialty 
area: 

(1) physicians; 
(2) ancillary services; 
(3) support services; 
(4) medical equipment; 
(5) surgical equipment; 
(6) receiving/registering area; 
(7) clinical support areas; 
(8) medical records; 
(9) waiting area; 
(10) pre-operative area; 
(11) operating rooms by type; 
(12) recovery area; and 
(13) observation area. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 
 

SECTION .2200 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
END-STAGE RENAL DISEASE SERVICES 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2202 INFORMATION REQUIRED OF  
APPLICANT 
(a)  An applicant that proposes to increase dialysis stations in an 
existing certified facility or relocate stations must provide the 
following information: 

(1) Utilization rates; 
(2) Mortality rates; 
(3) The number of patients that are home trained 

and the number of patients on home dialysis; 
(4) The number of transplants performed or 

referred; 
(5) The number of patients currently on the 

transplant waiting list; 
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(6) Hospital admission rates, by admission 
diagnosis, i.e., dialysis related versus non-
dialysis related; 

(7) The number of patients with infectious 
disease, e.g., hepatitis, and the number 
converted to infectious status during last 
calendar year. 

(b)  An applicant that proposes to develop a new facility, 
increase the number of dialysis stations in an existing facility, 
establish a new dialysis station, or relocate existing dialysis 
stations shall provide the following information requested on the 
End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Treatment application form: 

(1) For new facilities, a letter of intent to sign a 
written agreement or a signed written 
agreement with an acute care hospital that 
specifies the relationship with the dialysis 
facility and describes the services that the 
hospital will provide to patients of the dialysis 
facility.  The agreement must comply with 42 
C.F.R., Section 405.2100. 

(2) For new facilities, a letter of intent to sign a 
written agreement or a written agreement with 
a transplantation center describing the 
relationship with the dialysis facility and the 
specific services that the transplantation center 
will provide to patients of the dialysis facility.  
The agreements must include the following: 
(A) timeframe for initial assessment and 

evaluation of patients for 
transplantation, 

(B) composition of the 
assessment/evaluation team at the 
transplant center, 

(C) method for periodic re-evaluation, 
(D) criteria by which a patient will be 

evaluated and periodically re-
evaluated for transplantation, and 

(E) signatures of the duly authorized 
persons representing the facilities and 
the agency providing the services. 

(3) For new or replacement facilities, 
Documentation documentation of standing 
service from a power company and back-up 
capabilities. that power and water will be 
available at the proposed site. 

(4) Copies of written policies and procedures for 
back up for electrical service in the event of a 
power outage. 

(4)(5) For new facilities, the location of the site on 
which the services are to be operated.  If such 
site is neither owned by nor under option to 
the applicant, the applicant must provide a 
written commitment to pursue acquiring the 
site if and when the approval is granted, must 
specify a secondary site on which the services 
could be operated should acquisition efforts 
relative to the primary site ultimately fail, and 
must demonstrate that the primary and 
secondary sites are available for acquisition. 

(5)(6) Documentation that the services will be 
provided in conformity with applicable laws 
and regulations pertaining to staffing, fire 
safety equipment, physical environment, water 
supply, and other relevant health and safety 
requirements. 

(6)(7) The projected patient origin for the services.  
All assumptions, including the methodology 
by which patient origin is projected, must be 
stated. 

(7)(8) For new facilities, documentation that at least 
80 percent of the anticipated patient population 
resides within 30 miles of the proposed 
facility. 

(8)(9) A commitment that the applicant shall admit 
and provide dialysis services to patients who 
have no insurance or other source of payment, 
but for whom payment for dialysis services 
will be made by another healthcare provider in 
an amount equal to the Medicare 
reimbursement rate for such services. 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 
 
10A NCAC 14C .2203 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 
(a)  An applicant proposing to establish a new End Stage Renal 
Disease facility shall document the need for at least 10 stations 
based on utilization of 3.2 patients per station per week as of the 
end of the first operating year of the facility, with the exception 
that the performance standard shall be waived for a need in the 
State Medical Facilities Plan that is based on an adjusted need 
determination. 
(b)  An applicant proposing to increase the number of dialysis 
stations in an existing End Stage Renal Disease facility or one 
that was not operational prior to the beginning of the review 
period but which had been issued a certificate of need shall 
document the need for the additional stations based on utilization 
of 3.2 patients per station per week as of the end of the first 
operating year of the additional stations. 
(c)  An applicant shall provide all assumptions, including the 
methodology by which patient utilization is projected. 
 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 
 

SECTION .2700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 
MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING SCANNER 

 
10A NCAC 14C .2701 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved MRI scanner" means an MRI 
scanner which was not operational prior to the 
beginning of the review period but which had 
been issued a certificate of need. 

(2) "Capacity of fixed MRI scanner" means 100 
percent of the procedure volume that the MRI 
scanner is capable of completing in a year, 
given perfect scheduling, no machine or room 
downtime, no cancellations, no patient 
transportation problems, no staffing or 
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physician delays and no MRI procedures 
outside the norm.  Annual capacity of a fixed 
MRI scanner is 6,864 weighted MRI 
procedures, which assumes two weighted MRI 
procedures are performed per hour and the 
scanner is operated 66 hours per week, 52 
weeks per year. 

(3) "Capacity of mobile MRI scanner" means 100 
percent of the procedure volume that the MRI 
scanner is capable of completing in a year, 
given perfect scheduling, no machine or room 
downtime, no cancellations, no patient 
transportation problems, no staffing or 
physician delays and no MRI procedures 
outside the norm.  Annual capacity of a mobile 
MRI scanner is 4,160 weighted MRI 
procedures, which assumes two weighted MRI 
procedures are performed per hour and the 
scanner is operated 40 hours per week, 52 
weeks per year. 

(4) "Dedicated breast MRI scanner" means an 
MRI scanner that is configured to perform 
only breast MRI procedures and is not capable 
of performing other types of non-breast MRI 
procedures. 

(5) "Existing MRI scanner" means an MRI 
scanner in operation prior to the beginning of 
the review period. 

(6) "Extremity MRI scanner" means an MRI 
scanner that is utilized for the imaging of 
extremities and is of open design with a field 
of view no greater than 25 centimeters. 

(7) "Fixed MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 
that is not a mobile MRI scanner. 

(8) "Magnetic Resonance Imaging" (MRI) means 
a non-invasive diagnostic modality in which 
electronic equipment is used to create 
tomographic images of body structure.  The 
MRI scanner exposes the target area to 
nonionizing magnetic energy and radio 
frequency fields, focusing on the nuclei of 
atoms such as hydrogen in the body tissue.  
Response of selected nuclei to this stimulus is 
translated into images for evaluation by the 
physician. 

(9) "Magnetic resonance imaging scanner" (MRI 
Scanner) is defined in G.S. 131E-176(14e). 
131E-176(14m). 

(10) "Mobile MRI region" means either the eastern 
part of the State which includes the counties in 
Health Service Areas IV, V and VI (Eastern 
Mobile MRI Region), or the western part of 
the State which includes the counties in Health 
Service Areas I, II, and III (Western Mobile 
MRI Region).  The counties in each Health 
Service Area are identified in Appendix A of 
the State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(11) "Mobile MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 
and transporting equipment which is moved at 

least weekly to provide services at two or more 
campuses or physical locations. 

(12) "MRI procedure" means a single discrete MRI 
study of one patient. 

(13) "MRI service area" means the Magnetic 
Resonance Imaging Planning Areas, as defined 
in the applicable State Medical Facilities Plan, 
except for proposed new mobile MRI scanners 
for which the service area is a mobile MRI 
region. 

(14) "MRI study" means one or more scans relative 
to a single diagnosis or symptom. 

(15) "Multi-position MRI scanner" means an MRI 
scanner as defined in the State Medical 
Facilities Plan, pursuant to a special need 
determination for a demonstration project. 

(16) "Related entity" means the parent company of 
the applicant, a subsidiary company of the 
applicant (i.e., the applicant owns 50 percent 
or more of another company), a joint venture 
in which the applicant is a member, or a 
company that shares common ownership with 
the applicant (i.e., the applicant and another 
company are owned by some of the same 
persons). 

(17) "Temporary MRI scanner" means an MRI 
scanner that the Certificate of Need Section 
has approved to be temporarily located in 
North Carolina at a facility that holds a 
certificate of need for a new fixed MRI 
scanner, but which is not operational because 
the project is not yet complete. 

(18) "Weighted MRI procedures" means MRI 
procedures which are adjusted to account for 
the length of time to complete the procedure, 
based on the following weights: one outpatient 
MRI procedure without contrast or sedation is 
valued at 1.0 weighted MRI procedure, one 
outpatient MRI procedure with contrast or 
sedation is valued at 1.4 weighted MRI 
procedures, one inpatient MRI procedure 
without contrast or sedation is valued at 1.4 
weighted MRI procedures; and one inpatient 
MRI procedure with contrast or sedation is 
valued at 1.8 weighted MRI procedures. 

(19) "Weighted breast MRI procedures" means 
MRI procedures which are performed on a 
dedicated breast MRI scanner and are adjusted 
to account for the length of time to complete 
the procedure, based on the following weights: 
one diagnostic breast MRI procedure is valued 
at 1.0 weighted MRI procedure (based on an 
average of 60 minutes per procedure), one 
MRI-guided breast needle localization MRI 
procedure is valued at 1.1 weighted MRI 
procedure (based on an average of 66 minutes 
per procedure), and one MRI-guided breast 
biopsy procedure is valued at 1.6 weighted 
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MRI procedures (based on an average of 96 
minutes per procedure). 

 
Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the State Registrar intends to amend the rules cited as 10A 
NCAC 41H .0701-.0702. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  July 22, 2010 
Time:  2:00 pm – 4:00 p.m. 
Location:  Cardinal Room, 5605 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC  
27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  All state funding for Vital 
Records was eliminated by Session Law 2009-451, SB 202 
current Operations and Capital Improvements Appropriations 
Act of 2009, based upon projected receipts from an immediate 
maximum fee increase.  This requires a fee increase if Vital 
Records is to remain funded properly.  Both emergency rule and 
temporary rule adoptions made this possible on a temporary 
basis.  This permanent rules change makes this change 
permanent. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections may be submitted in writing to Chris 
G. Hoke, JD, the Rule-Making Coordinator, during the public 
comment period.  Additionally, objections may be made verbally 
and/or in writing at the public hearing for these rules. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Chris G. Hoke, JD, Rule-
Making Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699-1931; phone (919) 715-5006; email 
chris.hoke@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  August 30, 2010 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule.  The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission.  If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 

Fiscal Impact:  A copy of the fiscal note can be obtained 
from the agency. 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 41 - HEALTH: EPIDEMIOLOGY 

SUBCHAPTER 41H - VITAL RECORDS 
SECTION .0700 - FEES AND REFUNDS 

 
10A NCAC 41H .0701 ROUTINE REQUESTS FOR  
CERTIFIED COPIES 
(a)  The fee for searching for a certificate of birth, death, 
marriage or divorce shall be is fifteen twenty-four dollars 
($15.00), ($24.00), which shall include includes the cost of a 
search of the year indicated and if necessary the year 
immediately prior to and subsequent to the indicated year.  This 
fee also covers issuance of a copy if the record is found.  If the 
record is not located, the fee shall be retained for providing the 
search. 
(b)  If expedited service is specifically requested, an additional 
fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00), in addition to all shipping and 
commercial charges, shall be charged in accordance with G.S. 
130A-93.1(a)(2). 
 
Authority G.S. 130A-92(a)(7); 130A-93; 130A-93.1. 
 
10A NCAC 41H .0702 RESEARCH REQUESTS 
(a)  The State Registrar may permit the use of data from vital 
records for research purposes.  The State Registrar shall require 
the applicant to specify in writing the conditions under which the 
records or data will be used, stored, and disposed of; the purpose 
of the research; the research protocol; access limitations; and 
security precautions. 
(b)  The State Registrar may determine fees charged for 
preparing, searching or providing information from, or non-
certified copies of the vital records based on the estimated cost 
of rendering the service.  An hourly rate or charge per name 
searched may be imposed.  The A fee shall be fifteen of twenty-
four dollars ($15.00) ($24.00) shall be charged per name 
searched.  If expedited service is specifically requested, an 
additional fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00), in addition to all 
shipping and commercial charges, shall be charged in 
accordance with G.S. 130A-93.1(a)(2). 
(c)  Vital records or data provided under this Rule shall be used 
only for the purposes described in the application. 
 
Authority G.S. 130A-92(a)(7); 130A-93; 130A-93.1. 
 
 
TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 02 - BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Board of Architecture intends to adopt the rule cited as 
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21 NCAC 02 .0109; amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0108, 
.0201, .0204-.0206, .0208-.0209, .0213-.0215, .0301-.0303, 
.0701, and .0703; and repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 02 
.0216 and .0219. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  July 16, 2010 
Time:  11:00 a.m. 
Location:  127 W. Hargett Street, Suite 304, Raleigh, NC  27601 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 02 .0109 – To add definitions to the code. 
21 NCAC 02 .0108, .0201, .0204-.0206, .0208-.0209, .0213-
.0215, .0301-.0303, .0701, .0703 – To clarify language related to 
firm practice, update administrative procedures, and update 
practice and exam procedures. 
21 NCAC 02 .0216, .0219 – To remove language no longer 
necessary due to clarification in other rules. 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections may be submitted in writing to 
Cathe M. Evans, Executive Director, NC Board of Architecture, 
127 W. Hargett Street, Suite 304, Raleigh, NC 27601.  
Additionally, objections may be made in person at the public 
hearing for these Rules. 
Comments may be submitted to:  Cathe M. Evans, Executive 
Director, NC Board of Architecture, 127 W. Hargett Street, Suite 
304, Raleigh, NC 27601; fax (919) 733-1272; email 
cathe@ncbarch.org 
Comment period ends:  August 30, 2010 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule.  The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission.  If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES 
Fees required by the Board, are payable in advance and are set 
forth below: 

Initial Registration Application by Exam Individual 
Residents and Non-Residents   $ 50.00 
Nonresidents     $ 50.00 
Corporate Firm     $ 75.00 
Examination At Cost (See Rule .0301) 
Initial Exam Application to take the Architectural Registration 
Exam      $ 50.00 
Re-examination     $ 25.00 
Annual license renewal Individual   $ 50.00 
Corporate Firm     $100.00 
Late renewal Penalty Fee    $ 50.00 
Reciprocal registration    $150.00 
Individual or Firm Reinstatement (application fee plus a prior 
year's renewal and late fees plus current renewal fee) $250.00 
Copies of the roster and other Other publications and services 
provided by the Board are available at cost from the Board 
office. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-11. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0109 DEFINITIONS 
In addition to the statutory definitions in G.S. 83A-1, as used in 
these Rules, the following terms shall have the following 
meanings: 

(1) "Delinquent" shall be the status of a license 
registration that has not been renewed in 
accordance with 21 NCAC 02 .0213(b) for 
individuals and 21 NCAC 02 .0214(d) for 
firms. 

(2) "Licensed" shall mean holding a license to 
practice architecture in the State of North 
Carolina as defined by G.S. 83A. "Registered" 
shall have the same meaning as licensed. 

(3) "Fictitious names"  A fictitious name is any 
assumed name, style or designation other than 
the proper name of the entity using such name.  
The surname of a person, standing alone or 
coupled with words that describe the business, 
is not a fictitious business name.  The 
inclusion of words that suggest additional 
owners, examples of such are, but not limited 
to "Company", "& Company", "& Sons", "& 
Associates", makes the name an assumed or 
fictitious name.  For partnerships, the last 
name of all partners must be listed or the 
fictitious name definition applies. 

(4) "Responsible control" shall have the meaning 
described in Rule .0206(d). 

(5) "Firm" or "Architectural Firm" shall mean any 
entity approved by the Board and engaged in 
the practice of architecture. 

(6) "Procurement" shall mean purchasing or 
pricing of materials to construct a building or 
structure. 

(7) "Direct Supervision" as used in G.S. 83A shall 
mean responsible control. 

 
Authority G.S. 83A-6. 
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SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF ARCHITECTURE 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0201 ARCHITECT AND FIRM  
CONTACT INFORMATION AS ON FILE WITH THE  
BOARD 
(a)  Every individual licensee, partnership, firm or corporation 
licensee has the continuing responsibility of keeping the Board 
currently advised of his his/her or its proper and preferred 
current mailing address contact information, including but not 
limited to physical mailing address, email and phone numbers, 
principle place of business and electronic mail address and the 
name or names under which he or it is practicing. of the firm 
where he/she is employed. 
(b)  Each licensee or firm shall immediately within 30 days 
notify the Board in writing of any and all changes in ownership, 
of association association, contact information, electronic email 
or physical address.  Upon the dissolution of a professional 
relationship, firm, the architect member or members in 
responsible control of the firm at the time of dissolution thereof 
shall promptly notify the Board in writing concerning such 
dissolution, and of the succeeding status and addresses of the 
individual or firm.  This requirement is in addition to 
registration, listing and renewal requirements set out elsewhere 
in these Rules. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-5; 83A-6. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0204 FORMS OF PRACTICE 
The practice of architecture may be carried on by sole 
practitioners, partnerships, professional limited liability 
companies, registered limited liability partnerships or registered 
architectural corporations, provided all those who practice are 
duly licensed, and the firm is properly described and identified 
by its name or title.  Whenever the practice of architecture is 
carried on by a partnership, all partners must be duly licensed in 
North Carolina. 
(a)  The practice of architecture shall be carried out by one of the 
following types of entities: 

(1) sole practitioners, 
(2) professional limited liability companies, that 

shall be established under the provisions of 
G.S. 57C; 

(3) limited liability partnerships, that shall be 
established under the provisions of G.S. 59-
84.2; 

(4) professional corporations, that shall be 
established under the provisions of G.S. 55B. 

(b)  All individuals who practice through entities described in 
Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall be 
licensed to practice architecture. 
(c)  The firm shall be properly described and identified by its 
name or title. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-6; 83A-8; 57C, 59-84.2, 55B. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0205 NAME OF FIRM 
(a)  A licensee shall not engage in the practice of architecture 
under a professional or firm name which is misleading or 
deceptive in any way as to the legal form of the firm or the 

persons who are partners, officers, members, or shareholders in 
the firm.  The Board shall approve all firm names to be used in 
this State.  Examples of misleading or deceptive firm names 
include include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(1) Use of the plural "architects" in any form 
when the number of architects in a firm does 
not warrant such use; 

(2) Use of the name of an employee unless that 
employee is a licensed partner, licensed 
officer, licensed member or licensed 
shareholder; 

(3) Use of the name of a deceased architect in 
order to benefit from his reputation, when that 
architect was not a former partner, officer, 
member or shareholder in the present firm; 

(4) Use of a name which is deceptively similar to 
that of existing firm name; and 

(5) Use of a fictitious name by a sole proprietor or 
partnership or limited liability partnership. 
proprietor. 

(b)  Names of all architectural firms shall be approved in writing 
by the Board before adopted or used by such firm.  Provided, 
however, that this Rule shall not be construed to require any firm 
to seek approval of, or to change, any name adopted in 
conformity with Board rules in effect at the date of such 
adoption.  other than a rule that is a violation of Subparagraph 
(a)(1) of this Rule.  Failure of the firm to register a fictitious 
name shall be prima facie evidence of the name being 
misleading or deceptive. 
(c)  Only firms established pursuant to 21 NCAC 02 .0214 
(professional corporations), 21 NCAC 02 .0215 (qualified 
foreign corporations), or 21 NCAC 02 .0218 (professional 
limited liability companies) may engage in the practice of 
architecture under a fictitious name; provided, however, a 
registered firm in good standing having obtained written 
approval of its fictitious name prior to the adoption of this Rule 
and having continuously used such name may continue to use 
the previously approved name only for so long as: 

(1) said name complies with Paragraphs (a) and 
(b) of this Rule; 

(2) the firm's use of said name is continuous; and 
(3) the firm complies with any applicable statutes 

pertaining to the registration of fictitious 
names, including but not limited to G.S. 66, 
Article 14. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-5; 83A-6; 83A-9; 83A-12. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0206 REQUIREMENT FOR AND USE  
OF PROFESSIONAL SEAL 
(a)  As more fully set out in this Rule, an architect must seal his 
his/her work whether or not the work is for an exempt project. 
project as defined in G.S. 83A-13.  An architect shall not sign 
nor seal drawings, specifications, reports or other professional 
work which were not prepared by the architect or under his 
his/her direct supervision. responsible control.  Documents shall 
be sealed as follows: 
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(1) Provided, however, that the An architect may 
sign or seal those portions of the professional 
work that: 
(A) were prepared by or under the direct 

supervision responsible control of 
persons who are registered under the 
architecture registration laws of this 
jurisdiction architects in this state if 
the architect has reviewed in whole or 
in part such portions and has either 
coordinated their preparation or 
integrated them into his or her work; 
and 

(B) are not required by law to be prepared 
by or under the responsible control of 
an architect if the architect has 
reviewed and adopted in whole or in 
part such portions and has integrated 
them into his or her work. 

(2) Individual Seal Design.  Every licensed 
architect shall have an individual seal which 
shall be composed of two concentric circles 
with outer and inner circle diameters of 
approximately 1.5 inches and 1 inch 
respectively.  The architect's name and 
primary place of business shall be between the 
inner and outer circles.  The words "Registered 
Architect, North Carolina" shall be along the 
inside perimeter of the inner circle.  The 
architect's North Carolina registration number 
shall be in the center of the inner circle.  The 
original signature of the individual named on 
the seal and date is a required part of an 
individual seal and a seal image lacking said 
signature and date is incomplete and shall not 
be considered a "seal" for purposes of these 
Rules.  (See facsimile on Board web site.) 

(3) Corporate Firm Seal Design.  Every 
corporation firm which shall have obtained 
from the Board a certificate for corporate 
practice shall have a corporate firm seal, which 
shall be composed of two concentric circles 
with outer and inner circle diameters of 
approximately 1.5 inches and 1 inch 
respectively.  The Architectural Corporation's 
Firm's approved North Carolina name and 
place of business shall be between the inner 
and outer circles. 
(A) For a Professional Corporation the 

The words "Registered Architectural 
Corporation, North Carolina" shall be 
along the inside perimeter of the inner 
circle.  The corporation's firm's North 
Carolina registration number shall be 
in the center of the inner circle.  (See 
facsimile on Board web site.) 

(B) For a Professional Limited Liability 
Company the words "Registered 
Architectural Company" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 
circle.  The firm's North Carolina 
registration number shall be in the 
center of the inner circle.  (See 
facsimile on the Board web site.) 

(C) For a Limited Liability Partnership 
the words "Registered Limited 
Liability Partnership" shall be along 
the inside perimeter of the inner 
circle.  The firm's North Carolina 
registration number shall be in the 
center of the inner circle.  (See 
facsimile on the Board web site.) 

(D) For a Partnership the words 
"Registered Partnership" shall be 
along the inside perimeter of the inner 
circle.  The firm's North Carolina 
registration number shall be in the 
center of the inner circle.  (See 
facsimile on the Board web site.) 

(E) A sole proprietorship shall not be 
required to have a firm seal and shall 
seal all work with the individual seal 
as set forth in Subparagraph (a)(2) of 
this Rule. 

(4) Seal Types.  The seal required for use on 
opaque original technical submissions not 
intended for duplication shall be of a type 
which will produce an impression facsimile of 
the seal, or a rubber stamp which will produce 
an ink facsimile of the seal.  The seal required 
for use on transparent original technical 
submissions intended for duplication shall be 
of a type which will produce an ink facsimile 
of the seal such as a rubber stamp, or a 
substantially similar electronic or digital 
representation of the design.  The use of pre-
printed documents bearing a pre-printed 
facsimile of the signed and dated seal is 
prohibited.  Technical submissions shall be 
defined to mean plans, drawings, 
specifications, studies, addenda and other 
technical reports prepared for use in this state 
in the course of practicing architecture. 

(5) Individual Seal, Signature and Date Required.  
Architects shall affix their seal on one original 
of all their drawings and sets of specifications 
prepared by them for use in this State as 
follows: 
(A) on the cover sheet of each design and 

on each drawing; drawing prepared 
by the architect for said design; 

(B) on the index page identifying each set 
of specifications; and 

(C) on the index page of all other 
technical submissions. 

The original signature of the individual named 
on the seal shall be considered part of an 
individual seal and shall appear across the face 
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of each original seal imprint along with the 
date of affixation.  For the purposes of this 
Rule, the term "for use in this State" means 
drawings and sets of specifications prepared 
for bidding, procurement, permitting or for 
construction.  For purposes of this Rule, 
"original" means the version of drawings and 
sets of specifications from which all lawful 
copies can be made. 

(6) Presentation Documents. Presentation 
documents (renderings, drawings used to 
communicate conceptual information only) are 
shall not required to be sealed or signed. 

(7) Technical submissions shall refer to plans, 
drawings, specifications, studies, addenda and 
other technical reports prepared for use in this 
state in the course of practicing architecture. 

(7)(8) Incomplete Documents.  Documents 
considered incomplete by the architect may be 
released for interim review without the 
architect's seal or signature affixed, but shall 
be dated, bear the architect's name and be 
conspicuously marked to clearly indicate the 
documents are for interim review and not 
intended for bidding, procurement, permit, or 
construction purposes. 

(8)(9) Sheets or Pages Prepared By Licensed 
Professional Consultants.  Those sheets or 
pages prepared by licensed professional 
consultants (such as, for example, structural, 
mechanical or electrical engineers) retained by 
the architect shall bear the seal and registration 
number of the consultant responsible therefore 
and shall not be sealed by the architect. 

(9)(10) Original Signature.  The use of signature 
reproductions such as rubber stamps or 
stamps, computer generated or other facsimiles 
shall not be permitted in lieu of actual 
handwritten and hand dated signatures; 
provided, however, a digital signature as 
defined in Paragraph (f) (e) of this Rule may 
be used in lieu of a handwritten signature. 
signature and handwritten date. 

(10)(11) Security of Seal. Authorized use of the 
prescribed seal is an individual act whereby 
the architect must personally sign over the 
imprint of the seal.  The architect is 
responsible for security of the seal when not in 
use. 

(11)(12) Use of Corporate Firm Seal.  The use of the 
corporate firm seal does not replace the 
statutory requirement for an architect's 
individual seal as required in Paragraph (d).  
The corporate firm seal must be affixed in 
addition to the individual seal on the cover 
sheet and each page of the table of contents of 
specifications and drawings. sheet. 

(b)  Standard Design Documents.  Standard design documents 
prepared by architects who are registered in this state or in their 

state of origin may be sealed by a succeeding licensed architect 
registered in North Carolina provided: 

(1) the seal of the original architect appears on the 
documents to authenticate authorship; 

(2) the words "standard design document" be 
placed on each sheet of the documents by the 
original architect; 

(3) the succeeding North Carolina architect clearly 
identifies all modifications to the standard 
design documents; 

(4) the succeeding North Carolina architect 
assumes responsibility for the adequacy of the 
design for the specific application in North 
Carolina and for the design conforming with 
applicable building codes; and 

(5) the succeeding North Carolina architect affixes 
his his/her seal to the standard design 
documents and a statement substantially as 
follows:  "These documents have been 
properly examined by the undersigned.  I have 
determined that they comply with existing 
local North Carolina codes, and I assume 
responsibility for the adequacy of the design 
for the specific application in North Carolina." 

(c)  Record Drawings – Post Construction record drawings 
prepared by an architect, but based upon representations of 
contractors, are not plans that are for "bidding, procurement, 
permit or construction purposes" and therefore need shall not be 
sealed by the architect as long as the documents bear the name 
of the architect and include language stating "these drawings are 
based in part upon the representations of others and are not for 
bidding, procurement, permit or construction purposes." 
(d)  Responsible Control.  No architect shall affix his his/her seal 
and signature to contract documents developed by others not 
under his responsible control.  Responsible control includes: 
includes that amount of control over and detailed professional 
knowledge of the content of technical submissions during their 
preparation as is ordinarily exercised by an architect applying 
the required professional standard of care, including but not 
limited to: 

(1) Dissemination of programmatic requirements; 
(2) Ongoing coordination and correlation of 

services with other aspects of the total design 
of the project; 

(3) Verification with consultant that owner's 
requirements are being met; 

(4) Authority over the services of those who 
assisted in the preparation of the documents; 

(5) Assumption of responsibility for the services; 
and 

(6) Incorporation of services and technical 
submissions into design documents to be 
issued for permitting purposes. purposes; 

(7) Incorporation and integration of information 
from manufacturers, suppliers, installers, the 
architect's consultants, owners, contractors, or 
other sources the architect reasonably trusts 
that is incidental to and intended to be 
incorporated into the architect's technical 
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submissions if the architect has coordinated 
and reviewed such information. 

(e)  For purposes of this Rule the term "Signature" shall mean 
handwritten or digital as follows: 

(1) A handwritten message identification 
containing the name of the person who applied 
it; or 

(2) A digital signature that is an electronic 
authentication process attached to or logically 
associated with an electronic document. The 
digital signature must be: 
(A) Unique to the person using, it; 
(B) Capable of verification; 
(C) Under the sole control of the person 

using it; and 
(D) Linked to a document in such a 

manner that the digital signature is 
invalidated if any data in the 
document is changed. 

(3) A digital signature that uses a process 
approved by the Board shall be presumed to 
meet the criteria set forth in Parts (e)(2)(A) 
through (e)(2)(D) of this Rule. 

(4) The architect is responsible for the security of 
the digital signature. 

 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-10; 83A-12. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0208 DISHONEST CONDUCT 
(a)  Deception.  An architect shall not deliberately make a 
materially false statement or fail deliberately to disclose a 
material fact requested in connection with his application for 
registration renewal. 
(b)  Contributions.  An architect shall not pay or offer to pay, 
either directly or indirectly, any commission, political 
contribution, gift, or other consideration in order to secure work, 
work.  Gifts of nominal value (including for example, reasonable 
entertainment and hospitality) and exclusive of securing salaried 
positions through employment agencies. agencies are permitted. 
(c)  Registration of Others.  An architect shall not assist the 
application for registration of a person known by the architect to 
be unqualified with respect to education, training, experience, or 
character. 
(d)  Knowledge of Violation.  An architect possessing 
knowledge of a violation of these Rules by another architect 
shall report such a violation to the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 14-353; 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 
In addition to those grounds as stated in G.S. 83A-15(3) the 
following acts or omissions, among others, may be deemed to be 
"unprofessional conduct" and to be cause for the levy of a civil 
penalty or for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license or 
certificate of registration to practice architecture: 

(1) Compliance With Laws.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an architect, in the 
conduct of his or her professional practice, to 
knowingly violate any state or federal criminal 

law.  A criminal conviction shall be deemed 
prima facie evidence of knowingly violating 
the law. 

(2) Compliance With Foreign Registration.  It 
shall be deemed unprofessional conduct for an 
architect to knowingly violate the laws 
governing the practice of architecture or the 
rules promulgated by any other architectural 
licensing board in any United States 
jurisdiction.  A finding by a foreign 
architectural registration board that an 
architect has violated a law or rule governing 
the practice of architecture shall be deemed 
prima facie evidence of knowingly violating 
the law or rule. 

(3) Product Specification.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an architect to 
solicit or accept financial or other valuable 
consideration from material or equipment 
suppliers for specifying their products. 

(4) Advertising.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an architect to 
engage in any false, deceptive, fraudulent, or 
misleading advertising. 

(5) False Statements.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an architect to 
knowingly make false statements about the 
professional work of; or to maliciously injure 
the prospects, practice, or employment 
position of others active in the design and 
construction of the physical environment. 

(6) Evasion. Evasion shall be as follows: 
(a) It shall be deemed unprofessional 

conduct for an architect, through 
employment by building contractors, 
contractors (whether or not the 
contractors are licensed under G.S. 
89), or by another individual or entity 
not holding an individual or corporate 
firm certificate registration from the 
Board, to enable the employer to offer 
or perform architectural services, 
except as provided in G.S. 83A-13.  
In design/build arrangements, the 
architect shall not be an employee of 
a person or firm not registered or 
licensed holding a registration to 
practice architecture in North 
Carolina. 

(b) It shall be deemed unprofessional 
conduct for an architect to furnish 
limited services in such manner as to 
enable owners, draftsmen, or others 
to evade the public health and safety 
requirements of Chapter 83A, G.S. 
133-2, G.S. 153A-357, or G.S. 160A-
417. 

(c) When building plans are begun or 
contracted for by persons not licensed 
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and qualified, it shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an 
architect to take over, review, revise, 
or sign or seal such drawings or 
revisions thereof for such persons, or 
do any act to enable either such 
persons or the project owners, 
directly or indirectly, to evade the 
requirements of Chapter 83A, G.S. 
133-2, G.S. 153A-357, or G.S. 160A-
417. 

(7) Branch Office.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an individual 
architect or firm to maintain or represent by 
sign, listing, or other manner that he he/she 
maintains an architectural office or branch 
office in North Carolina unless such office is 
continuously staffed with a registered architect 
in charge. has a registered resident architect in 
North Carolina whose principle place of 
business is in that office.  Provided, however, 
that this This Rule does not apply to on-site 
project offices during construction. 
construction of a project. 

(8) Misrepresentation Regarding Prior Experience.  
An architect shall accurately represent to a 
prospective or existing client or employer his 
his/her qualifications and the scope of his 
his/her responsibility in connection with work 
for which he is claiming credit.  
Misrepresentation shall be as follows: 
(a) It shall be the responsibility of each 

registered architect to state their prior 
professional experience of the 
architect and the firm the architect is 
representing in while presenting 
qualifications to prospective clients, 
both public and private.  If an 
architect uses visual representations 
of prior projects or experience, all 
architects-of-record must be clearly 
identified.  Architect-of-record means 
persons or entities whose seals appear 
on plans, specifications and/or 
contract documents. 

(b) An architect who has been an 
employee of another architectural 
practice may not claim credit for 
projects contracted for in the name of 
the previous employer.  The architect 
shall indicate, next to the listing for 
each project, that individual 
experience gained in connection with 
the project was acquired as an 
employee, and identify the previous 
architectural firm.  The architect shall 
also describe the nature and extent of 
his/her participation in the project. 

(c) An architect who was formerly a 
principal in a firm may make 
additional claims provided he/she 
discloses the nature of ownership in 
the previous architectural firm (e.g. 
stockholder or junior partner) and 
identifies with specificity his/her 
responsibilities for that project. 

(d) An architect who presents a project 
that has received awards or public 
recognition must comply with the 
requirements in Subparagraph (8) of 
this Rule with regard to project 
presentation to the public and 
prospective clients. 

(e) Projects which remain unconstructed 
and which are listed as credits shall 
be listed as "unbuilt" or a similar 
designation. 

(9) Fee Bidding on Public Projects.  An architect 
shall not knowingly cooperate in a violation of 
any provisions of G.S. 143-64.31.  

(10) Cooperation with Board. An architect shall 
cooperate with the Board in connection with 
any inquiry it shall make. Cooperation 
includes but is not limited to responding in a 
timely manner to all inquiries of the Board or 
its representative of the Board and claiming 
Board correspondence from the U.S. Postal 
Service. which is mailed in accordance with 21 
NCAC 02 .0201. 

(11) Copyright Infringement.  It shall be deemed 
unprofessional conduct for an architect to be 
found by a court to have infringed upon the 
copyrighted works of other architects or design 
professionals. 

 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0213 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES 
(a)  Renewal.  Licenses License registration must be renewed on 
or before the first day of July in June 30th each year.  No less 
than 30 days prior to the renewal date, the Board shall send a 
notice of renewal application shall be mailed to each individual 
licensee.  The licensee shall complete the current license renewal 
documentation required form provided by the Board. Board, 
including continuing education credit earned. The licensee shall 
submit to the Board the completed form for license renewal, 
renewal documentation, along with the annual license renewal 
fee shall be forwarded to the Board. fee.  The Board shall not 
accept incomplete renewal documentation.  If the application 
form is incomplete or the annual renewal fee is not paid, the 
application for renewal shall not be accepted.  Also, if If the 
accompanying draft or check in the amount of the renewal fee is 
dishonored by the architect's drawee bank for any reason, the 
Board shall suspend the license until the renewal fees and check 
charges are paid. annual license renewal shall be deemed to be 
not renewed.  Once When the annual renewal has been 
completed according to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, as well as 
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Section .0900 of these Rules, the Executive Director shall issue 
to the licensee a current license approve renewal of the license 
for the current license for the ensuing year.  Renewal fees are 
non-refundable. 
(b)  Late Renewal and Reinstatement.  If the Board has not 
received the annual renewal fee and completed application 
renewal documentation on or before July 1st, on or before June 
30th each year, the license shall expire and be deemed 
delinquent.  The license may be renewed at any time within one 
year, year of being deemed delinquent, upon the return of the 
completed application, renewal documentation, the annual 
renewal fee and the late renewal penalty fee and demonstration 
of compliance with Section .0900 of these Rules. After one year 
from the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual 
renewal fee delinquency the license shall be deemed 
automatically revoked.  Reinstatement shall occur according to 
the directives of G.S. 83A-11 and Section .0900 of these Rules. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-11. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0214 FIRM PRACTICE OF  
ARCHITECTURE 
(a)  Application Forms.  Prior to offering and rendering 
architectural services as set forth in G.S. 83A and 21 NCAC 02 
.0204(a), all firms must submit an application for firm 
registration and be granted registration by the Board.  
Application for a corporate firm certificate of registration for the 
to practice of architecture within the State of North Carolina 
shall be made upon forms provided by the Board. Board and 
include the required application fee.  Completed applications 
must be accompanied by the corporate application fee.  
Certificates for corporate firm practice may be issued only under 
the provisions of the Professional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B, 
except as provided in Subsection (b) of this Rule. Rule, G.S. 
57C, and G.S. 59-84.2. 
(b)  Architectural Corporations Under G.S. 55, the Business 
Corporation Act.  Applications for certificate of registration as 
exempt from the Professional Corporation Act under the 
provisions of G.S. 55B-15 shall be made upon forms provided 
by the Board.  Completed applications must be accompanied by 
the corporate application fee. To be eligible as an exempt 
corporation under the provisions of G.S. 55B-15, the following 
conditions must exist: 

(1) The corporation must have been incorporated 
prior to June 5, 1969 as a business corporation; 

(2) Prior to and since June 5, 1969, the 
corporation must have been a bona fide 
architectural or architectural-engineering firm 
with services limited to the practice of 
architecture or architecture-engineering and 
such services as may be ancillary thereto 
within the State of North Carolina; and 

(3) The corporation must have applied to be an 
exempt corporation before October 1, 1979. 

(c)  Renewal of Certificate.  The renewal of corporate 
certificates of registration shall follow the same requirements as 
set out in Rule .0213 of this Section for individual licensees 
except that the corporate renewal shall expire on December 31st 
of each year.  Firm registration must be renewed on or before 

December 31st each year.  If the Board has not received the 
annual renewal fee and completed application on or before 
December 31st each year, the firm license shall expire and be 
delinquent.  No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, the 
Board shall send a notice of renewal to each registered firm.  
The firm must designate an officer to complete the renewal 
documentation required by the Board.  The Board shall not 
accept incomplete renewal documentation.  Renewal 
documentation must be accompanied by the renewal fee.  If the 
accompanying draft or check in the amount of the renewal fee is 
dishonored by the firm's drawee bank for any reason, the Board 
shall suspend the firm registration until the renewal fees and 
returned check charges are paid.  When the annual renewal has 
been complete according to the provision of G.S. 83A-11, the 
Executive Director shall approve renal for the firm registration 
for the current renewal year.  Renewal fees are non-refundable. 
(d)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement.  If the corporation fails 
to renew its corporate certificate of registration, it shall be 
subject to the same requirements for its failure to renew and 
reinstatement as apply to individual licensees under Rule .0213 
of this Section.  Within one year of the expiration the firm 
license may be renewed at any time, upon the return of the 
completed renewal documents, the annual renewal fee and the 
late renewal fees.  After one year from the date of expiration for 
non-payment of the annual renewal fee the license shall be 
automatically revoked.  The Board may reinstate the firms' 
certificate of registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11. 
(e)  Seal.  Each registered corporation shall adopt a seal pursuant 
to 21 NCAC 2 .0206(b). 21 NCAC 02 .0206(a)(3). 
(f)  Approval of Name.  In addition to the requirements and 
limitations of Chapter 55 and 55B of the General Statutes, G.S. 
55 and 55B, the corporate firm name used by an architectural 
corporation shall conform with Rule .0205 and be approved by 
the Board before being used. Provided, however, that this This 
Rule shall not prohibit the continued use of any corporate name 
duly adopted in conformity with the General Statutes of North 
Carolina and Board Rules in effect at the date of such adoption. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B5; 55-B10; 55B-15; 83A-6; 83A-8. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0215 OUT OF STATE FIRMS 
(a)  Incorporation in Other States.  Architectural corporations 
firms of from other states may be granted corporate firm 
certificates of registration for practice in this State on the upon 
receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the 
submission of a certified copy of their corporate firm charter, or 
other corresponding documents, amended as may be necessary 
to insure full compliance with all requirements of Chapter 55B, 
the Professional Corporation Act of the State of North Carolina, 
and the payment of the corporate firm application fee.  In 
addition to the other requirements as set out in G.S. 83A-8, 
foreign corporations firms must, prior to registration, receive 
from the Secretary of State of North Carolina a certificate of 
authority to do business within the state.  A certificate for filing 
for a certificate of authority must be obtained by the Board prior 
to submitting application to the Secretary of State.  The 
registration requirements for foreign corporations firms cannot 
shall not be avoided by practice in North Carolina through an 
individual licensee. 
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(b)  Designated Individuals.  Foreign Corporations entities shall 
may be permitted to practice architecture within the State of 
North Carolina provided that it complies with G.S. 55B.  If a 
foreign entity offers both architectural and engineering services, 
then the it must comply with requirements set forth in G.S. 89C.  
A foreign entity must have at least one officer, director and 
shareholder licensed as an individual in this state.  two-thirds 
Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding shares of the foreign 
corporations are must be owned by licensed architects or 
engineers who are licensed to practice their profession in a 
jurisdiction of the United States.  However, the corporation firm 
must designate at least one architect who is licensed in the State 
of North Carolina to be in responsible charge for the corporate 
firm practice of architecture within the State of North Carolina. 
(c)  Partnerships.  An out of state architectural partnership may 
be permitted to practice architecture, if every partner in the firm 
is licensed as an individual in this state under Rule .0213 and the 
partnership complies with Paragraph (f) this Rule. 
(d)  Limited Liability Companies.  An out of state Limited 
Liability Company may be permitted to practice architecture, if 
the Limited Liability Company complies with G.S. 57C and at 
least one member and one owner are licensed as in individuals 
under Rule .0213 and comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(e)  Limited Liability Partnerships.  An out of state Limited 
Liability Partnership may be permitted to practice architecture, if 
the Limited Liability Partnership complies with G.S. 59, and at 
least one partner is licensed as an individual under Rule .0213 
and complies with Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 
(f)  Application Forms.  Each partnership or limited liability 
partnership shall submit an application for a partnership 
certificate of registration for the practice of architecture within 
the State of North Carolina upon the forms provided by the 
Board.  Each partnership or limited liability partnership shall 
also submit a non-refundable application fee. 
(g)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement.  If the Board has not 
received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application 
on or before December 31st each year the firm registration shall 
expire and be deemed delinquent.  The firm registration may be 
renewed at any time within one year, upon the return of the 
completed application, the annual renewal fee and the late 
renewal fees.  After one year from the date of expiration for non-
payment of the annual renewal fee, the license shall be 
automatically revoked.  The Board may reinstate the firm's 
certificate of registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-6; 83A-6; 83A-8. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0216 ANNUAL LISTING OF  
PARTNERSHIP 
(a)  By December 31 of each year, each partnership or registered 
limited liability partnership engaged in the practice of 
architecture in North Carolina shall submit a list of all resident 
and non-resident partners of the partnership. 
(b)  One annual listing by a representative of the partnership 
shall satisfy the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule for all 
partners of the firm; however, each partner shall remain 
responsible for compliance with the rules. 

(c)  Changes in the information required by Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule shall be filed with the Board office within 30 days after the 
change occurs. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-9. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0219 REGISTERED LIMITED  
LIABILITY PARTNERSHIPS 
Architects may practice in this state through duly registered 
limited liability partnerships only as provided under G.S. 59-
84.2 and G.S. 59-84.3.  Any registered limited liability 
partnership that offers to practice or practices architecture in this 
state must comply with the same requirements applicable to 
partnerships under Rules .0201, .0202, .0204, .0205, and .0216 
of this Chapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 59-84.2; 59-84.3. 
 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION PROCEDURES 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0301 APPLICATION FOR  
REGISTRATION BY EXAM 
(a)  All persons desiring to submit an application applications for 
written examination to take the Architectural Registration Exam 
(ARE) must shall complete an the application for licensure by 
exam and submit the non-refundable application fee. fee as 
established in Rule .0108.  All new applications and supporting 
documents for the Architectural Registration Examination 
(ARE) must be on file in the office of the Board not later than 
two months prior to the date of initial examination in order for 
the applicant's eligibility to be determined and in order that the 
applicant may receive proper instructions to prepare for the 
examination.  If an application is in proper form and the 
applicant is otherwise qualified by statute and the rules of the 
Board to sit for the examination, the Board shall send notice of 
ARE eligibility will be mailed to the applicant, with detailed 
information as to the time, place and other requirements of the 
examination. applicant. 
(b)  The fees for examination, or parts thereof, will shall be 
established by the Board in order that all costs for examination 
materials are recovered. National Council of Architecture 
Registration Boards.  Fees will be published in a separate 
schedule and Fee information will be made available to all 
applicants for examination. examination on the Board web site 
and may be obtained from the National Council of Architecture 
Registration Boards.  A non-refundable application fee as 
established in Rule .0108 of this Chapter must be submitted with 
each first-time application in addition to the examination fee. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-6; 83A-7. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0302 EXAMINATION 
(a)  Licensure Examination.  All applicants for architectural 
registration in North Carolina by examination must shall pass the 
Architectural Registration Examination (ARE), prepared by the 
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards 
(NCARB).  Provided, applicants who have never been registered 
in any state or territory NCARB recognized jurisdiction may 
transfer credits for portions of the examination previously passed 
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in another state jurisdiction if at the time of taking initial 
approval to take the exam elsewhere in said jurisdiction they 
otherwise qualified for taking the exam under the rules in this 
Chapter. 

(1) Description.  The nature of the examination is 
to place the candidate in areas relating to 
actual architectural situations whereby his 
abilities to exercise competent value 
judgments will be tested and evaluated. 

(2) Qualifications.  The prequalifications 
qualifications necessary for an applicant's 
admission eligibility to take the Architectural 
Registration examination (ARE) ARE are as 
follows: 
(A)(1) be of good moral character as defined 

in G.S. 83A-1(5); 
(B)(2) be at least 18 years of age; 
(C)(3) the professional education 

qualification is the NAAB (National 
Architectural Accrediting Board) 
accredited professional degree in 
architecture; 

(D)(4) all applicants who apply for 
architectural registration by exam 
shall be required to follow the Intern 
Development Program (IDP) through 
the National Council of Architectural 
Registration Boards NCARB or an 
equivalent program approved by the 
North Carolina Board of Architecture 
in order to satisfy the requirements of 
this Section. 

(5) The Board, in its discretion, may 
grant eligibility to take the exam, to 
those individuals who have obtained 
the required NAAB accredited 
degree, have enrolled in the NCARB 
IDP and have had verified by 
NCARB at least 2000 training units 
of the IDP as approved by NCARB.  
Upon successful completion of all 
sections of the ARE, fulfillment of 
the practical training requirement and 
fulfillment of all remaining IDP 
requirements an individual may 
submit the application and fee for 
licensure by exam and may then be 
granted a license to practice 
architecture. 

(b)  Retention of Credit. credit for purposes of licensure by 
examination in North Carolina. 

(1) Passing grades scores received after July 1, 
2006 on any part of the ARE shall remain 
valid for a period of time established by the 
exam provider, NCARB.  

(2) As of July 1, 2011, passing scores received on 
any part of the ARE prior to July 1, 1996 shall 
be invalid. 

(3) As of July 1, 2014, passing scores received on 
any part of the ARE after July 1, 1996 and 
prior to July 1, 2006 shall be invalid. 

(c)  Practical Training. Practical training means practical 
experience and diversified training as defined by the Intern 
Development Program (IDP) IDP through the National Council 
of Architectural Registration Boards. NCARB.  However, the 
Board reserves the right to judge each case on its own merits. 
(d)  Personal interview.  During the application process, the 
applicant may be interviewed by the Board members.  The 
purpose of the interview is to augment the evidence submitted in 
an application with regard to education and experience. 
qualifications required in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 
(e)  Grading. The ARE shall be graded in accordance with the 
methods and procedures recommended by the NCARB.  An 
exam candidate shall receive a passing grade in each division of 
the Architectural Registration Exam. 

(1) An applicant must receive a passing grade in 
each division.  Grades from the individual 
divisions shall not be averaged. A passing 
grade for any division on any examination 
taken after July 1, 1996 and before January 1, 
2006, shall be valid only for five years prior to 
July 1, 1996. 

(2) Each candidate shall be assigned a number that 
will be unique for each candidate. 

(f)  A person currently employed under the responsible control 
of an architect, who holds a first Professional Degree from a 
NAAB accredited program, and who is enrolled in and maintains 
in good standing or has successfully completed a National 
Council of Architectural Registration Boards Record in the 
Intern Development Program (IDP) may use the title 
"Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect" in conjunction with 
his his/her current employment. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-1; 83A-6; 83A-7. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0303 LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY 
(a)  Registration by "Blue Cover."  The only means of individual 
reciprocity recognized by the Board is for an An individual to 
who hold holds a current license in good standing from another 
state a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards 
(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council 
Certificate (also known as "Blue Cover") issued by the National 
Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) NCARB 
or comply with the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
may qualify for licensure by reciprocity.  Upon receipt of a 
verified application certified record from NCARB and the 
payment of the Board individual license application for licensure 
by reciprocity and fee, the Board may issue a license to an 
applicant without written examination as provided in G.S. 83A-
7(b).  Revocation of the "Blue Cover" certificate by NCARB 
shall automatically terminate suspend the architect's license to 
practice in North Carolina until such time as the "Blue Cover" 
certificate is reinstated by NCARB. 
(b)  Registration other than "Blue Cover." Licensure by Direct 
Reciprocity with another NCARB recognized jurisdiction.  The 
Board may grant a reciprocal certificate license to an individual 
who does not qualify for a "Blue Cover" but who submits an a 
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non-certified NCARB "Buff Cover" record (also known as the 
"Buff Cover") or other verified evidence that he he/she meets the 
following requirements: 

(1) the applicant has been continuously licensed in 
good standing in another jurisdiction; and 

(2) the applicant otherwise met the requirements 
for the "Blue Cover" a certified NCARB 
record or North Carolina registration license in 
effect at the time of his his/her original 
registration licensure as an architect; and 

(3) the applicant agrees to Board may, in its 
discretion request an interview with the Board 
or a designee applicant to satisfy the Board 
Board, or its designee that he the applicant has 
had sufficient recent architectural practice 
experience to be able to competently practice 
architecture in this state. 

 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-7. 
 

SECTION .0700 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS: 
DECISIONS: RELATED RIGHTS 

 
21 NCAC 02 .0701 CONTINUANCES FAILURE TO  
APPEAR 
(a)  The presiding officer may grant continuances Continuances 
and adjournments will be granted only in compelling 
circumstances. 
(b)  Should a party fail to appear at a hearing or fail to appear 
following the granting of a continuance adjournment, the hearing 
will be conducted in the party's absence. 
(c)  If a hearing is conducted and a decision is reached in an 
administrative hearing in the absence of a party, that party may 
file a written petition with the Board for a reopening of the case. 
(d)  Petitions for reopening a case will not be granted except 
when the petitioner can show that the reasons for his failure to 
appear were justifiable and unavoidable and that fairness 
requires reopening the case.  Such petitions, however, will have 
no effect on the running of the 30-day period for seeking judicial 
review, which starts from the day the party is served with the 
final decision. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 150B-11; 150B-38; 150B-40. 
 
21 NCAC 02 .0703 SUBPOENAS 
(a)  Requests for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of 
witnesses or for the production of documents, either at a hearing 
or for the purposes of discovery, shall be made in writing to the 
Board, shall identify any document sought with specificity, and 
shall include the full name and home or business address of all 
persons to be subpoenaed and, if known, the date, time, and 
place for responding to the subpoena. The Board shall issue the 
requested subpoenas within five days of receipt of the request. 

(b)  Subpoenas shall contain:  the caption of the case; the name 
and address of the person subpoenaed; the date, hour and 
location of the hearing in which the witness is commanded to 
appear; a particularized description of the books, papers, records 
or objects the witness is directed to bring with him to the 
hearing, if any; the identity of the party on whose application the 
subpoena was issued; the date of issue; the signature of one of 
the members of the Board or the Board's Secretary; and a "return 
of service."  The "return of service" form, as filled out, shows 
the name and capacity of the person serving the subpoena, the 
date on which service was made, the person on whom service 
was made, the manner in which service was made, and the 
signature of the person making service. 
(c)  Subpoenas shall be served by the sheriff of the county in 
which the person subpoenaed resides, when the party requesting 
such subpoena prepays the sheriff's service fee.  The subpoena 
shall be issued in duplicate, with a "return of service" form 
attached to each copy.  A person serving the subpoena shall fill 
out the "return of service" form for each copy and properly 
return one copy of the subpoena, with the attached "return of 
service" form completed, to the Board. 
(d)  Any person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object 
thereto by filing a written objection to the subpoena with the 
Board's office. 
(e)  Such objection shall include a concise, but complete, 
statement of reasons why the subpoena should be revoked or 
modified.  These reasons may include lack of relevancy of the 
evidence sought, or any other reason sufficient in law for 
holding the subpoena invalid, such as that the evidence is 
privileged, that appearance or production would be so disruptive 
as to be unreasonable in light of the significance of the evidence 
sought, or other undue hardship. 
(f)  Any such objection to a subpoena must be served on the 
party who requested the subpoena simultaneously with the filing 
of the objection with the Board. 
(g)  The party who requested the subpoena, in such time as may 
be granted by the Board, presiding officer, may file a written 
response to the objection.  The written response shall be served 
by the requesting party on the objecting witness simultaneously 
with filing the response with the Board. 
(h)  After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, 
the Board presiding officer shall issue a notice to the party who 
requested the subpoena and the party challenging the subpoena, 
and may notify any other party or parties of an open hearing, to 
be scheduled as soon as practicable, at which time evidence and 
testimony may be presented, limited to the narrow questions 
raised by the objection and response. 
(i)  Promptly after the close of such hearing, a majority of the 
Board members hearing the contested case will rule on the 
challenge and issue a written decision.  A copy of the decision 
will be issued to all parties and made a part of the record. 
 
Authority G.S. 83A-6; 150B-11; 150B-38; 150B-39. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The 
rules that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was 
required to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-
21.17. 

 
Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 20, 2010. 
 
          REGISTER CITATION TO THE 
                    NOTICE OF TEXT 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 
Responsibilities of the Governing Body 10A NCAC 70F .0202* 24:14 NCR 
Finances, Fees and Insurance 10A NCAC 70F .0203* 24:14 NCR 
Staff 10A NCAC 70F .0207* 24:14 NCR 
Personnel 10A NCAC 70G .0501* 24:14 NCR 
Personnel 10A NCAC 70H .0401* 24:14 NCR 
Governance 10A NCAC 70I .0301* 24:16 NCR 
Responsibilities of the Governing Body 10A NCAC 70I .0302* 24:14 NCR 
Personnel Qualifications 10A NCAC 70I .0404* 24:14 NCR 
Personnel Positions 10A NCAC 70I .0405* 24:14 NCR 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 
Steel Erection 13 NCAC 07F .0205* n/a G.S. 150B-21.5(a) 
Design, Construction and Testing 13 NCAC 07F .0909* n/a G.S. 150B-21.5(a) 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
Randleman Lake Water Supply Watershed: Protection 
and Mai... 

15A NCAC 02B .0250* 24:08 NCR 

Randleman Lake Water Supply Watershed: Mitigation 
Program... 

15A NCAC 02B .0252* 24:08 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Use Standards 15A NCAC 07H .0208* 24:05 NCR 
Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 15A NCAC 07H .0309* 24:05 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Permits-Weight, Dimensions and Limitations 19A NCAC 02D .0607* 24:16 NCR 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 
Construction Management 21 NCAC 12 .0208* 24:06 NCR 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
License Renewal Waiver for Armed Forces 21 NCAC 14A .0401* 24:12 NCR 
Space Requirements 21 NCAC 14G .0103* 24:12 NCR 
Equipment and Teachers 21 NCAC 14G .0107* 24:12 NCR 
Transfer of Credit 21 NCAC 14I .0105* 24:12 NCR 
Report of Enrollment 21 NCAC 14I .0107* 24:12 NCR 
Seal 21 NCAC 14I .0108* 24:12 NCR 
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Recitation Room 21 NCAC 14I .0301 24:12 NCR 
Equipment for Beginner Department 21 NCAC 14J .0106* 24:12 NCR 
Equipment in Advanced Department 21 NCAC 14J .0206* 24:12 NCR 
Live Model/Mannequin Performance Requirements 21 NCAC 14J .0207* 24:12 NCR 
Internships 21 NCAC 14J .0208* 24:12 NCR 
Supervision of Cosmetic Art Teacher Trainee 21 NCAC 14L .0208* 24:12 NCR 
Revocation of Licenses and Other Disciplinary Measures 21 NCAC 14P .0108 24:12 NCR 
Operations of Schools of Cosmetic Art 21 NCAC 14P .0113 24:12 NCR 
Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14P .0114 24:12 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 
Drug, Supplies and Medical Device Repository Program 21 NCAC 46 .2513* 24:16 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110 24:14 NCR 
Offers and Sales Contracts 21 NCAC 58A .0112* 24:14 NCR 
Residential Property Disclosure Statement 21 NCAC 58A .0114* 24:14 NCR 
Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705 24:14 NCR 
Filing 21 NCAC 58A .2001 24:14 NCR 
Escrow Account 21 NCAC 58A .2002 24:14 NCR 
Applicability 21 NCAC 58A .2101 24:14 NCR 
Postponement of Fees 21 NCAC 58A .2102 24:14 NCR 
Postponement of Continuing Education 21 NCAC 58A .2103* 24:14 NCR 
Postponement of Postlicensing Education 21 NCAC 58A .2104 24:14 NCR 
Proof of Eligibility 21 NCAC 58A .2105 24:14 NCR 
Application for Approval 21 NCAC 58C .0102* 24:14 NCR 
Criteria for Approval 21 NCAC 58C .0103 24:14 NCR 
Administration 21 NCAC 58C .0206* 24:14 NCR 
Program Structuring and Admission Requirements 21 NCAC 58C .0302 24:14 NCR 
Criteria for Elective Course Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0304* 24:14 NCR 
Denial or Withdrawal of Approval 21 NCAC 58E .0412 24:14 NCR 
Monitoring Attendance 21 NCAC 58E .0510* 24:14 NCR 
Purpose and Applicability 21 NCAC 58E .0601* 24:14 NCR 
Authority to Conduct Course 21 NCAC 58E .0603 24:14 NCR 
Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 58E .0604 24:14 NCR  
 
 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 
 
10A NCAC 70F .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE  
GOVERNING BODY 
(a)  The governing body shall provide leadership for the agency 
and shall approve the agency's policies and programs. 
(b)  The governing body shall employ an executive director who 
is located in the administrative office within the geographical 
boundaries of North Carolina and delegate responsibility to that 
person for the administration and operation of the agency, 
including the employment and discharge of all agency staff. 

(c)  The governing body shall require the executive director 
provide a signed statement that the executive director has no 
criminal, social or medical history that would adversely affect 
his or her capacity to work with children and adults.  The 
governing body shall ensure that the criminal histories of an 
executive director are completed.  The governing body shall 
ensure that searches of the North Carolina Sex Offender and 
Public Protection Registry and the North Carolina Health Care 
Personnel Registry (pursuant to G.S. 131E-256) are completed.  
The governing body shall submit authorization to the licensing 
authority to search the Responsible Individuals List as defined in 
10A NCAC 70A .0102 to determine if the executive director has 
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had child protective services involvement resulting in a 
substantiation of child abuse or serious neglect.  The employing 
agency shall make all determinations concerning an individual's 
fitness for employment based on the requirements of this 
Paragraph prior to employment.  The governing body shall 
require that the executive director provide a signed statement 
prior to employment that he or she has not abused or neglected a 
child or has been a respondent in a juvenile court proceeding that 
resulted in the removal of a child or has had child protective 
services involvement that resulted in the removal of a child.  The 
governing body shall require that the executive director provide 
a signed statement that he or she has not abused, neglected or 
exploited a disabled adult and that he or she has not been a 
domestic violence perpetrator.  Agencies or applicants that do 
not have a governing body shall provide this information directly 
to the licensing authority. 
(d)  The executive director is not eligible for employment if he 
or she has been convicted of a felony involving:   

(1) child abuse or neglect; 
(2) spouse abuse; 
(3) a crime against a child or children (including 

child pornography); or 
(4) a crime of rape, sexual assault, or homicide. 

(e)  The executive director is not eligible for employment if 
within the last five years he or she has been convicted of a 
felony involving: 

(1) assault; 
(2) battery; or 
(3) a drug-related offense. 

(f) The governing body shall annually evaluate the executive 
director's performance except a sole proprietor or partner is 
exempt from this Rule if he or she serves as executive director.  
(g)  The governing body shall approve the annual budget of 
anticipated income and expenditures necessary to provide the 
services described in its statement of purpose.  Child-placing 
agencies and residential maternity homes receiving foster care 
payments or state maternity home funds shall submit an annual 
audit of their financial statements to the Department of Health 
and Human Services, Controller's Office, Rate Setting Branch in 
compliance with 10A NCAC 70D .0105(a)(5).  
(h)  The governing body shall annually evaluate the agency's 
services.  This evaluation shall include the agency's interaction 
with other community agencies to serve its clients. 
(i)  The governing body shall establish in writing confidentiality 
policies and procedures for control and access to and receipt, 
use, or release of information about its clients. 
(j)  The governing body of child-placing agencies providing 
foster care services shall develop a written disaster plan that is 
provided to agency personnel and foster parents.  The disaster 
plan shall be prepared and updated at least annually. The 
governing body of residential maternity homes shall comply 
with 10A NCAC 70K .0315(g). 
(k)  The governing body, in the event of the closing of the 
agency, shall develop a plan for the retention and storage of 
client records.  The specifics of this plan shall be submitted to 
the licensing authority before the actual closing of the agency. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 131D-10.6; 131D-
10.10; 143B-153; 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2002; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; November 1, 2009; October 1, 
2008; July 18, 2002. 
 
10A NCAC 70F .0203 FINANCES, FEES AND  
INSURANCE 
(a)  Child-placing agencies and residential maternity homes shall 
have a written line item budget, showing planned expenditures 
and revenues available to operate the agency for a 12 month 
period.  A copy of the budget shall be submitted to the licensing 
authority prior to initial licensure and biennially thereafter. 
(b)  Child-placing agencies and residential maternity homes 
receiving foster care maintenance payments of state funds or 
state maternity home funds shall submit an annual audit of their 
financial statements to the Department of Health and Human 
Services, Controller's Office in compliance with 10A NCAC 
70D .0105(a)(5).   
(c)  Child-placing agencies and residential maternity homes shall 
have a written policy on fees for services which shall be 
inclusive of all fees and charges.  No cost beyond the written 
policy shall be imposed.  The agency policy shall describe the 
relationship between fees and services provided and the 
conditions under which fees are charged or waived.  The agency 
shall make the policy available to applicants for services at the 
time an application for service is made and to the public upon 
request. 
(d)  Adoption agencies that provide international adoption 
services shall inform prospective adoptive parents of the 
estimated or actual expenses associated with an international 
adoption that includes: 

(1) application fees; 
(2) preplacement assessment (homestudy) fees; 
(3) pre-adoption service fees; 
(4) government and facilitator fees; 
(5) placement service fees; 
(6) post-placement and post-adoption service fees; 
(7) travel and other costs and fees in the child's 

country of origin; and 
(8) additional costs associated with the adoption.  

(h)  Child-placing agencies and residential maternity homes shall 
notify the licensing authority, parents, guardian, and legal 
custodian (if applicable) of its status related to liability insurance 
for the agency and staff to applicants for services at the time an 
application for service is made.   
(i)  The executive director shall report to the governing body at 
least quarterly, or more frequently if requested by any member 
of the governing body, on present financial status and 
anticipated problems. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 131D-10.10; 
143B-153;  
Eff. February 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; October 1, 2008; July 1, 1990. 
 
10A NCAC 70F .0207 STAFF 
(a)  The agency shall verify prior to employment the personal 
qualifications of employees through at least three references. 
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(b)  The agency shall require that each applicant provide a 
signed statement that the applicant has no criminal, social or 
medical history which would adversely affect the applicant's 
capacity to work with children and adults.  Prior to employment, 
the agency shall submit authorization to the licensing authority 
to search the Responsible Individuals List as defined in 10A 
NCAC 70A .0102 to determine if the applicant has had child 
protective services involvement resulting in a substantiation of 
child abuse or serious neglect.  The agency shall require that 
each applicant provide a signed statement that the applicant has 
not abused or neglected a child or has been a respondent in a 
juvenile court proceeding that resulted in the removal of a child 
or has had child protective services involvement that resulted in 
the removal of a child.  Prior to employment, a certified criminal 
record check for the applicant shall be obtained, and a search 
conducted of the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public 
Protection Registry and North Carolina Health Care Personnel 
Registry (pursuant to G.S. 131E-256) are completed.  The 
agency shall require that each applicant provide a signed 
statement that the applicant has not abused, neglected, or 
exploited a disabled adult, and has not been a domestic violence 
perpetrator.   
(c) Employees are not eligible for employment if they have been 
convicted of a felony involving:   

(1) child abuse or neglect; 
(2) spouse abuse; 
(3) a crime against a child or children (including 

child pornography); or 
(4) a crime of  rape, sexual assault, or homicide.  

(d)  The employee is not eligible for employment if within the 
last five years he or she has been convicted of a felony 
involving: 

(1) assault; 
(2) battery; or 
(3) a drug-related offense. 

(e) The agency shall employ staff qualified to perform 
administrative, supervisory, direct care, social work, therapeutic, 
and placement services. 
(f)  The agency shall have staff to keep correspondence, records, 
bookkeeping and files current and in good order.  The staff shall 
maintain strict confidentiality concerning contents of the case 
records. 
(g)  The agency shall maintain a roster of members of the staff 
listing position, title, and qualifications and a current 
organizational chart showing administrative structure and 
staffing, including lines of authority.  The organizational chart 
shall be submitted prior to initial licensure and biennially 
thereafter. 
(h)  An agency which uses volunteers and interns as unpaid staff 
to work directly with clients shall: 

(1) have written job descriptions and select only 
those persons qualified to meet the 
requirements of those jobs; 

(2) require three references relevant to the role 
and responsibilities to be assumed;  

(3) designate a staff member to supervise and 
evaluate volunteers and interns;  

(4) develop and implement a plan for the 
orientation and training of volunteers and 

interns in the philosophy of the agency and the 
needs of the clients and their families; and 

(5) require that each volunteer and intern provide 
a signed statement that they have no criminal, 
social or medical history that would adversely 
affect their capacity to work with children and 
adults.  The agency shall submit authorization 
to the licensing authority to search the 
Responsible Individuals List as defined in 10A 
NCAC 70A .0102 to determine if the intern or 
volunteer has had child protective services 
involvement resulting in a substantiation of 
child abuse or serious neglect.  Prior to 
beginning volunteer or intern duties, a certified 
criminal record check shall be obtained and a 
search conducted of the North Carolina Sex 
Offender and Public Protection Registry and 
North Carolina Health Care Personnel 
Registry (pursuant to G.S. 131E-256).  The 
agency shall require that each volunteer or 
intern provide a signed statement that the 
volunteer or intern has not abused or neglected 
a child, been a respondent in a juvenile court 
proceeding that resulted in the removal of a 
child, or had child protective services 
involvement that resulted in the removal of a 
child. The agency shall require that each 
volunteer or intern provide a signed statement 
that the volunteer or intern has not abused, 
neglected, or exploited a disabled adult and 
has not been a domestic violence perpetrator.   

(i)  Volunteers or interns are not eligible to serve as volunteers 
or interns if they have been convicted of a felony involving:   

(1) child abuse or neglect; 
(2) spouse abuse; 
(3) a crime against a child or children (including 

child pornography); or 
(4) a crime of rape, sexual assault, or homicide.  

(j)  Volunteers or interns are not eligible to serve as volunteers 
or interns, if within the last five years they have been convicted 
of a felony involving: 

(1) assault; 
(2) battery; or 
(3) a drug-related offense. 

(k)  The employing agency shall make all determinations 
concerning the individual's fitness for employment, volunteering 
and internship based on the requirements of this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 131D-10.6; 131D-
10.10; 143B-153; 
Eff. February 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; October 1, 2008; July 18, 2002. 
 
10A NCAC 70G .0501 PERSONNEL 
(a)  The executive director is responsible for the general 
management and administration of the agency in accordance 
with licensing requirements and policies of the governing body.  
The executive director shall meet the requirements of a Social 
Services Program Administrator I as defined by the North 
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Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of these 
requirements can be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:   
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04077.pdf).  The college or university 
degree shall be from a college or university listed at the time of 
the degree in the Higher Education Directory.  This information 
can be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 
1-888-349-7715.   
(b)  The social work supervisor is responsible for supervising, 
evaluating, and monitoring the work and progress of the social 
work staff.  The social work supervisor shall meet the 
requirements of a Social Work Supervisor II as defined by the 
North Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of these 
requirements can be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:  
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04016.pdf).  The college or university 
degree shall be from a college or university listed at the time of 
the degree in the Higher Education Directory. This information 
can be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 
1-888-349-7715.  Social work supervisors shall receive 24 hours 
of continuing education annually.  
(c)  The social worker is responsible for intake services, 
providing casework or group work services for children and their 
families, conducting home-finding and assessment studies 
related to foster parents and planning and coordinating the 
services and resources affecting children and their families.  The 
social worker shall meet the requirements of a Social Worker II 
as defined by the North Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A 
copy of these requirements can be obtained by contacting the 
Division of Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the 
following web site:  
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04012.pdf). The college or university degree 
shall be from a college or university listed at the time of the 
degree in the] Higher Education Directory. This information can 
be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 1-
888-349-7715.  Social workers shall receive 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. 
(d)  Social workers or case managers serving children in family 
foster homes shall serve no more than 15 children.  Social 
workers or case managers serving children in therapeutic foster 
homes shall serve no more than 12 children.   Social workers 
providing foster home licensing services (licensing workers) 
shall serve no more than 32 foster families.  Agencies providing 
family foster care services may combine the duties of the social 
worker or case manager and licensing worker and serve no more 
than ten children and ten foster families.   Agencies providing 
therapeutic foster care services may combine the duties of the 
social worker or case manager and licensing worker and serve 
no more than eight children and eight foster families. 
(e)  Supervision of social workers or case managers shall be 
assigned as follows: 
 

Supervisors Required Social Workers or Case 
Managers 

0 0-4 
(executive director serves as 

social work supervisor) 
1 5 

2 6-11 
3 12-17 

There shall be one additional supervisor for every one to five 
additional social workers. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 143B-153;  
Eff. October 1, 2008; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010 
 
10A NCAC 70H .0401 PERSONNEL 
(a)  The executive director is responsible for the general 
management and administration of the agency in accordance 
with licensing requirements and policies of the governing body.  
The executive director shall meet the requirements of a Social 
Services Program Administrator I as defined by the North 
Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of these 
requirements can be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:   
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04077.pdf). The college or university degree 
shall be from a college or university listed at the time of the 
degree in the Higher Education Directory.  This information can 
be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 1-
888-349-7715.  Social work supervisors shall receive 24 hours 
of continuing education annually. 
(b)  The social work supervisor is responsible for supervising, 
evaluating, and monitoring the work and progress of the social 
work staff.    The social work supervisor shall meet the 
requirements of a Social Work Supervisor II as defined by the 
North Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of these 
requirements can be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:   
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04016.pdf). The college or university degree 
shall be from a college or university listed at the time of the 
degree in the] Higher Education Directory. This information can 
be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 1-
888-349-7715.  Social work supervisors shall receive 24 hours 
of continuing education annually. 
(c)  The social worker is responsible for intake services, 
providing casework or group work services for children and their 
families, conducting home-finding and assessment studies 
related to foster parents and planning and coordinating the 
services and resources affecting children and their families.    
The social worker shall meet the requirements of a Social 
Worker II as defined by the North Carolina Office of State 
Personnel.  A copy of these requirements can be obtained by 
contacting the Division of Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by 
reviewing the following web site:  
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04012.pdf). The college or university degree 
shall be from a college or university listed at the time of the 
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degree in the Higher Education Directory.  This information can 
be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 1-
888-349-7715.  Social workers shall receive 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. 
(d)  Social workers counseling birth families, preparing and 
assessing adoptive applicants for infant placements and 
supporting these families shall serve no more than 50 families.  
(e)  Social workers preparing children ages six and above or 
children having special needs shall serve no more than 15 
children.   
(f)  Social workers preparing and assessing adoptive applicants 
for the placement of children ages six and above or children who 
have special needs shall serve no more than 20 families. 
(g)  Social workers preparing and assessing families for 
international adoptions shall serve no more than 35 families. 
(h)  Supervision of adoption social workers shall be assigned as 
follows: 
 

Supervisors Required Social Workers 
0 0-4 

(executive director serves as 
social work supervisor) 

1 5 
2 6-11 
3 12-17 

There shall be one additional supervisor for every one to five 
additional social workers. 

 
(i)  Staff members of the adoption agency may maintain dual 
employment or serve as volunteers with maternity homes or 
crisis pregnancy centers as long as the adoption agency does not 
provide services to the clients of the maternity home or crisis 
pregnancy center or accept or arrange releases for adoption for 
the children of the clients of the maternity home or crisis 
pregnancy center.  Staff members, owners, officers and directors 
of the adoption agency may serve on the board of directors of 
maternity homes or crisis pregnancy centers as long as the 
adoption agency does not provide services to the clients of the 
maternity home or crisis pregnancy center or accept or arrange 
releases for adoption for the children of the clients of the 
maternity home or crisis pregnancy center. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 143B-153; 
Eff. October 1, 2008; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 
10A NCAC 70I .0301 GOVERNANCE 
(a)  A private residential child-care facility shall operate under 
articles of incorporation that are filed with the Department of the 
Secretary of State (www.secretary.state.nc.us).  A private 
residential child-care facility shall submit a copy of the articles 
of incorporation to the licensing authority. 
(b)  A private residential child-care facility shall have a 
governing body that exercises authority over and has 
responsibility for its operation, policies and practices.  The 
residential child-care facility shall notify the licensing authority 
of the type and structure of the governing body. 

(c)  In the case of non-profit or for-profit corporations, the 
governing body shall: 

(1) be composed of no fewer than six members to 
include men and women; 

(2) provide for a system of rotation for board 
members, for limitation to the number of 
consecutive terms a member may serve; 

(3) establish standing committees; 
(4) provide orientation for new members; and 
(5) meet at least four times annually with a 

quorum present. 
(d)  Public residential child-care facilities operated by 
governmental agencies shall be governed by appointed officials 
of a governmental unit. 
(e)  A residential child-care facility shall submit to the licensing 
authority a list of members of the governing body.  This list shall 
indicate the name, address and terms of membership of each 
member and shall identify each officer and the term of that 
office. 
(f)  A residential child-care facility shall permanently maintain 
meeting minutes of the governing body and committees. 
(g)  The governing body, in the event of the closing of the 
residential child-care facility, shall develop a plan for the 
retention and storage of client records.  The specifics of this plan 
shall be submitted to the licensing authority before the actual 
closing of the residential child-care facility.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 143B-153; 
Eff. July 1, 1999 (See S. L. 1999, c. 237, s. 11.30); 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; November 1, 2009; October 1, 2008. 
 
10A NCAC 70I .0302 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE  
GOVERNING BODY 
The governing body shall: 

(1) adopt administrative, personnel, and program 
policies which are reviewed at least every two 
years; 

(2) review and approve a budget prior to the 
beginning of the fiscal year; 

(3) establish and review policies on fundraising 
and investment management at least every two 
years; 

(4) annually review and accept the financial audit, 
in the case of a private residential child-care 
facility; 

(5) employ an executive director (CEO, director, 
president, superintendent) and delegate 
authority to that person to employ and dismiss 
staff, implement board policies, and manage 
day-to-day operation of the facility; 

(6) ensure that the criminal history of the 
executive director is checked prior to 
employment, and based on the criminal 
history, a determination is made concerning 
the individual's fitness for employment.  The 
governing body shall ensure that searches of 
the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public 
Protection Registry and the North Carolina 
Health Care Personnel Registry (pursuant to 
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G.S. 131E-256) are completed prior to 
employment, and based on these searches, a 
determination is made concerning the 
individual's fitness for employment.  The 
governing body shall submit authorization to 
the licensing authority to search the 
Responsible Individuals List, as defined in 
10A NCAC 701 .0102, to determine if the 
executive director has had child protective 
services involvement resulting in a 
substantiation of child abuse or serious 
neglect, and based on this search, a 
determination is made concerning the 
individual's fitness for employment.  The 
governing body shall require that the executive 
director provide a signed statement prior to 
employment that he/she has not abused or 
neglected a child or has been a respondent in a 
juvenile court proceeding that resulted in the 
removal of a child or has had child protective 
services involvement that resulted in the 
removal of a child.  The governing body shall 
require that the executive director provide a 
signed statement that the executive director 
has not abused, neglected or exploited a 
disabled adult and that the executive director 
has not been a domestic violence perpetrator.  
Agencies or applicants that do not have a 
governing body shall provide this information 
directly to the licensing authority. 

(7) not employ an executive director who has been 
convicted of a felony involving:   
(A) child abuse or neglect; 
(B) spouse abuse; 
(C) a crime against a child or children 

(including child pornography); or 
(D) a crime of rape, sexual assault, or 

homicide. 
(8) not employ an executive director who has been 

convicted of a felony within the last five years  
involving: 
(A) assault; 
(B) battery; or 
(C) a drug-related offense. 

(9) permit the executive director or his or her 
designee to attend all meetings of the 
governing body and committees with the 
exception of those held for the purpose of 
reviewing his performance, status, or 
compensation; 

(10) annually evaluate and document the executive 
director's performance through specific criteria 
and objectives; 

(11) initiate and review an annual evaluation of 
services and direct needed changes based on 
the evaluation; 

(12) annually review facility needs related to risk 
management; and 

(13) maintain a long range plan and review 
annually. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 131D-10.6; 143B-
153; 
Eff. July 1, 1999 (See S.L. 1999, c.237, s. 11.30); 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; October 1, 2008. 
 
10A NCAC 70I .0404 PERSONNEL QUALIFICATIONS 
(a)  Applicants, employees, volunteers or interns who have a 
history of criminal convictions that would adversely affect their 
capacity and ability to provide care, safety and security for the 
children in residence shall not be employed or utilized as 
volunteers or interns.  A signed statement shall be obtained 
attesting that the applicant, employee, volunteer or intern does 
not have such a record prior to beginning employment, volunteer 
duties or internships.  Prior to employment or before beginning 
volunteer duties or internships, a certified criminal record check 
for the applicant, volunteer or intern shall be obtained, and a 
search conducted of the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public 
Protection Registry and the North Carolina Health Care 
Personnel Registry (pursuant to G.S. 131E-256), and based on 
these searches, a decision shall be made concerning the 
individual's fitness to serve as an employee, volunteer or intern.  
The agency shall submit authorization to the licensing authority 
to search the Responsible Individuals List, as defined in 10A 
NCAC 70A .0102, to determine if the applicant, employee, 
volunteer or intern has had child protective services involvement 
resulting in a substantiation of child abuse or serious neglect, 
and based on this search, a determination shall be made 
concerning the individual's fitness to serve as an employee, 
volunteer or intern.  The agency shall require that each applicant, 
employee, volunteer or intern provide a signed statement that the 
applicant, employee, volunteer or intern has not abused or 
neglected a child or has been a respondent in a juvenile court 
proceeding that resulted in the removal of a child or has had 
child protective services involvement that resulted in the 
removal of a child.  A signed statement shall be obtained 
attesting that the applicant, employee, volunteer or intern has not 
abused, neglected or exploited a disabled adult and has not been 
a domestic violence perpetrator.   
(b)  Applicants, employees, volunteers and interns are not 
eligible for employment, volunteer or intern positions if they 
have been convicted of a felony involving:   

(1) child abuse or neglect; 
(2) spouse abuse; 
(3) a crime against a child or children (including 

child pornography); or 
(4) a crime of rape, sexual assault, or homicide. 

(c)  Applicants, employees, volunteers and interns are not 
eligible for employment, volunteer or intern positions if within 
the last five years they have been convicted of a felony 
involving: 

(1) assault; 
(2) battery; or 
(3) a drug-related offense. 

(d)  Employees, volunteers or interns driving a residential child-
care facility vehicle shall possess a valid North Carolina driver's 
license appropriate for the type of vehicle used. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 131D-10.6; 143B-
153; 
Eff. July 1, 1999 (See S.L. 1999, c.237 s. 11.30); 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; October 1, 2008. 
 
10A NCAC 70I .0405 PERSONNEL POSITIONS 
(a)  Executive Director.  There shall be a full-time executive 
director for an agency with one or more facilities licensed for 20 
or more children.  At a minimum, there shall be a part-time 
executive director for an agency with one or more facilities 
licensed for less than 20 children. 
(b)  The executive director shall meet the requirements of a 
Social Services Program Administrator I as defined by the North 
Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of these 
requirements can be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:   
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/Spec_Folder_0310
0-04099/PDF_Files/04077.pdf).  The college or university 
degree shall be from a college or university listed at the time of 
the degree in the Higher Education Directory.  This information 
can be obtained by calling Higher Education Publications, Inc. at 
1-888-349-7715.   
(c)  The executive director shall: 

(1) be responsible for the general management and 
administration of the residential child-care 
facility in accordance with policies established 
by the governing board and licensing 
requirements; 

(2) explain licensing standards, residential child-
care standards and the residential child-care 
facility's services to the board, the facility's 
constituency, other human service agencies 
and the public; 

(3) initiate and carry out the program of 
residential child-care as approved by the 
governing board; 

(4) report to the governing board on all phases of 
operation at least quarterly; 

(5) delegate authority and responsibility to staff 
qualified to ensure the maintenance of the 
residential child-care facility's operations; 

(6) establish and oversee fiscal practices, present 
the annual operating budget and quarterly 
reports to the governing board; 

(7) evaluate, at least annually, the training needs 
of the staff; plan and implement staff training 
and consultation to address identified needs; 

(8) employ and discharge staff and meet on a 
regular basis with administrative and 
management staff to review, discuss and 
formulate policies and procedures;  

(9) supervise staff who report directly to the 
executive director; and   

(10) conduct an annual individual written 
evaluation of each staff member who reports 
directly to the executive director.  This 
evaluation shall contain both a review of job 

responsibilities and goals for future job 
performance. 

(d)  Clerical, Maintenance and Other Support Personnel.  The 
residential child-care facility shall employ or contract personnel 
qualified to perform all clerical, support and maintenance duties. 
(e)  Business and Financial Personnel.  The residential child-care 
facility shall employ or contract personnel to perform all 
business, accounting and financial functions. 
(f)  Direct Care Service Personnel.  Any staff member who 
assumes the duties of direct care service personnel in the living 
unit shall comply with all the standards for direct care services 
personnel in the living unit. 

(1) Direct care service personnel shall: 
(A) have a high school diploma or GED;  
(B) complete a medical history form prior 

to assuming the position; 
(C) have a medical examination by a 

licensed medical provider 12 months 
prior to assuming the position and 
biennially thereafter.  This report 
shall include a statement indicating 
the presence of any communicable 
disease which may pose a risk of 
transmission in the residential child-
care facility.  After the initial 
examination, the cost of the medical 
examinations as required by licensure 
shall be at the expense of the facility; 

(D) have a TB skin test or chest x-ray, 
unless the medical provider advises 
against this test, prior to assuming the 
position;   

(E) be 21 years of age.  
(2) Standards for direct care service personnel in 

the living unit: 
(A) There shall be one direct care staff 

personnel assigned to every six 
children during waking hours and one 
direct care staff personnel assigned to 
every ten children during overnight 
hours. 

(B) A residential child-care facility shall 
ensure that a staff member trained in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
and first aid, such as those provided 
by the American Red Cross, the 
American Heart Association or 
equivalent organizations, is always 
available to the children in care; and 
that direct care service personnel shall 
receive training in first aid and CPR 
within the first thirty days of 
employment.  Training in CPR shall 
be appropriate for the ages of children 
in care.  First aid and CPR training 
shall be updated as required by the 
American Red Cross, the American 
Heart Association or equivalent 
organizations. 
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(C) A residential child-care facility shall 
ensure that direct care service 
personnel receive supervision and 
training in the areas of child 
development, permanency planning 
methodology, group management, 
preferred discipline techniques, 
family relationships, human 
sexuality, health care and 
socialization, leisure time and 
recreation.  In addition, the residential 
child-care facility shall provide 
training to direct care service 
personnel in accordance with the 
needs of the client population, 
including, training in child sexual 
abuse.  Direct care service personnel 
shall receive 24 hours of continuing 
education annually. 

(D) A residential child-care facility shall 
ensure that direct care service 
personnel receive supervision in food 
preparation and nutrition when meals 
are prepared in the living unit.   

(E) Any duties other than direct care 
services duties assigned to direct care 
service personnel shall be specified in 
writing and assigned in accordance 
with the residential child-care 
program. 

(3) Direct care service supervisory personnel shall 
have a high school diploma or GED and be 21 
years of age. 

(4) Standards for direct care service supervisory 
personnel: 
(A) There shall be at least one supervisor 

for every 15 direct care service 
personnel. 

(B) Supervisory staff shall be selected on 
the basis of the knowledge, 
experience and competence required 
to manage direct service personnel. 

(C) Direct care service supervisory 
personnel shall receive 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. 

(g)  Social work supervisors shall be employed by the residential 
child-care facility to supervise, evaluate and monitor the work 
and progress of the social work staff. 

(1) Social work supervisors shall meet the 
requirements of a Social Work Supervisor II as 
defined by the North Carolina Office of State 
Personnel.  A copy of these requirements can 
be obtained by contacting the Division of 
Social Services at 828-669-3388 or by 
reviewing the following web site: 
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/S
pec_Folder_03100-
04099/PDF_Files/04016.pdf).  The college or 
university degree shall be from a college or 

university listed at the time of the degree in the 
Higher Education Directory.  Social work 
supervisors shall receive 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. 

(2) Supervision of social workers shall be 
assigned as follows: 
 

Supervisors Required Social Workers Employed 
0 0-4 

(executive director serves as 
social work supervisor) 

1  5 
2 6-10 
3 11-15 

There shall be one additional supervisor for every one to five 
additional social workers. 
 
(h)  Social workers shall be employed by the residential child-
care facility to provide social work services to the children in 
care and their families in accordance with the out-of-home 
family services agreement. 

(1) Social workers shall meet the requirements of 
a Social Worker II as defined by the North 
Carolina Office of State Personnel.  A copy of 
these requirements can be obtained by 
contacting the Division of Social Services at 
828-669-3388 or by reviewing the following 
web site:  
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/CLASS_SPECS/S
pec_Folder_03100-
04099/PDF_Files/04012.pdf).  The college or 
university degree shall be from a college or 
university listed at the time of the degree in the 
Higher Education Directory.  Social workers 
shall receive 24 hours of continuing education 
annually. 

(2) There shall be at least one social worker 
assigned for every 15 children. 

(3) A residential child-care facility shall ensure 
that social workers receive supervision and 
training in the areas of child development, 
permanency planning methodology, group 
dynamics, family systems and relationships, 
and child sexual abuse. 

(4) Any duties other than social work duties 
assigned to staff employed as social workers 
shall be specified in writing and assigned in 
accordance with the residential child-care 
program.  

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 143B-153; 
Eff. July 1, 1999 (See S.L. 1999, c. 237, s. 11.30); 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; October 1, 2008; July 18, 2002. 
 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
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13 NCAC 07F .0205 STEEL ERECTION 
Subpart R—Steel Erection – additions and amendments to 29 
CFR 1926.750 Scope, through 1926.754 Structural steel 
assembly, are applicable as follows: 

"Section 1926.750 Scope: 
(b)(1) Steel erection activities include hoisting, 

laying out, placing, connecting, 
welding, burning, guying, bracing, 
bolting, plumbing and rigging 
structural steel, steel joists, bridge 
steel girders and metal buildings; 
installing metal decking and moving 
point-to-point while performing these 
activities. 

(b)(2) There may be activities that occur 
during and are part of steel erection 
where conventional fall protection 
methods may not offer adequate 
protection for employees.  The 
employer shall establish and 
determine when to implement 
employee fall protection measures as 
described in 1926.760 or the more 
protective measures described in 
1926.502 "Fall Protection Systems 
Criteria and Practices".  Where non-
traditional steel or iron workers 
(employees not meeting requirements 
of 1926.761(c)) are engaged in 
leading edge work activities six (6) 
feet or more above lower levels, those 
employees shall be protected from 
falling by guardrail systems, personal 
fall arrest systems or safety nets.  
Such leading edge work activities 
include off loading, stacking, laying 
out and fastening steel floor decking 
and metal and non-metal roof 
decking; positioning and securing 
exterior curtain walls, window walls, 
exterior siding systems; and moving 
from point to point while performing 
these activities. 

1926.754(c)(1)Tripping hazards. 
Employees shall be protected from falls due to 
tripping hazards created by shear connectors 
(including headed steel studs, steel bars or 
steel lugs), reinforcing bars, deformed anchors, 
or threaded studs attached to the top flanges of 
beams, joists or beam attachments.  Such 
protection from falls may be accomplished by 
any of the following: 

(1) Not welding or applying 
shear connectors that project 
vertically or horizontally 
across the top flange of a 
member until the metal 
decking or other 
walking/working surface is 

installed (field-installed 
shear connectors). 

(2) Providing all employees that 
are exposed to falling 
hazards greater than six feet 
with a suitable fall 
protection system, as defined 
in 1926.32(s), including 
guardrail systems, personal 
fall arrest systems, or safety 
nets. 

(3) Covering shop or pre-
installed connectors that 
project vertically from or 
horizontally across the top 
flange of the member with a 
temporary decking, metal or 
wood box until the metal 
decking, or other 
walking/working surface, is 
installed or until final 
construction covers the shear 
connectors.  

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 95-131; 150B-21.6; 
Recodified from 13 NCAC 07F .0201(4) Eff. December 17, 
2007; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 
13 NCAC 07F .0909 DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION AND  
TESTING 
The following requirements apply to equipment that has a 
manufacturer-rated hoisting/lifting capacity of more than 2,000 
pounds: 

(1) Equipment manufactured prior to the effective 
date of this Rule shall meet the applicable 
requirements for design, construction, and 
testing as prescribed in ANSI B30.5-1968, 
Safety Code for Crawler, Locomotive, and 
Truck Cranes, Power Crane Shovel 
Association (PCSA) Standard No. 2," the 
requirements in Item (2) of this Rule, or the 
applicable German Institute For 
Standardization (DIN) standards that were in 
effect at the time of manufacture. 

(2) Mobile (including crawler and truck) and 
locomotive cranes manufactured on or after 
the effective date of this Rule shall meet the 
following portions of ANSI/ASME B30.5-
2004, Safety Code for Mobile and Locomotive 
Cranes, as applicable: 
(a) In section 5-1.1.1 ("Load Ratings – 

Where Stability Governs Lifting 
Performance"), Paragraphs (a) 
through (d) (including 
Subparagraphs). 

(b) In section 5-1.1.2 ("Load Ratings – 
Where Structural Competence 
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Governs Lifting Performance"), 
Paragraph (b). 

(c) Section 5-1.2 ("Stability (Backward 
and Forward)"). 

(d) In section 5-1.3.1 ("Boom Hoist 
Mechanism"), Paragraphs (a), (b)(1), 
and (b)(2), except that when using 
rotation resistant rope, 13 NCAC 07F 
.0914 applies. 

(e) In section 5-1.3.2 ("Load Hoist 
Mechanism"), Paragraphs (a)(2) 
through (a)(4) (including 
Subparagraphs), (b) (including 
Subparagraphs), (c) (first sentence 
only) and (d). 

(f) Section5-1.3.3 ("Telescoping 
Boom"). 

(g) Section 5-1.4 ("Swing Mechanism"). 
(h) In section 5-1.5 ("Crane Travel"), all 

provisions except 5-1.5.3 (d). 
(i) In section 5-1.6 ("Controls"), all 

provisions except 5-1.6.1 (c). 
(j) Section 5-1.7.4 ("Sheaves"). 
(k) Section 5-1.7.5 ("Sheave sizes"). 
(l) In section 5-1.9.1 ("Booms"), 

Paragraph (f). 
(m) Section 5-1.9.3 ("Outriggers"). 
(n) Section 5-1.9.4 ("Locomotive Crane 

Equipment"). 
(o) Section 5-1.9.7 ("Clutch and Brake 

Protection"). 
(p) In section 5-1.9.11 (Miscellaneous 

Equipment"), Paragraphs (a), (c), (e), 
and (f). 

(3) Prototype testing: mobile (including crawler 
and truck) and locomotive cranes 
manufactured on or after the effective date of 
this Rule shall meet the prototype testing 
requirements in Test Option A or Test Option 
B. 

 Note:  Prototype testing of crawler, locomotive 
and truck cranes manufactured prior to the 
effective date of the Section must conform to 
Item (1) of this Rule.  
(a) Test Option A. 

(i) The following applies to 
equipment with the 
cantilevered booms (such as 
hydraulic boom cranes): All 
the tests listed in SAE 
J1063-1993, Table 1, shall 
be performed to load all 
critical structural elements to 
their respective limits. All 
the strength margins listed in 
SAE J1063-1993, Table 2, 
shall be met. 

(ii) The following applies to 
equipment with pendant 

supported lattice booms: All 
the tests listed in SAE J987-
2003, Table 1, shall be 
performed to load all critical 
structural elements to their 
respective limits. All the 
strength margins listed in 
SAE J987-2003, Table 2, 
shall be met. 

(b) Test Option B. The testing and 
verification requirements of CEN's 
EN 13000 (2004) shall be met. In 
applying the CEN standard, the 
following additional requirements 
shall be met: 
(i) The following applies to 

equipment with cantilevered 
booms (such as hydraulic 
boom cranes): The analysis 
methodology (computer 
modeling) shall demonstrate 
that all load cases listed in 
the SAE J1063-1993 meet 
the strength margins listed in 
SAE J1063-1993, Table 2. 

(ii) The following applies to 
equipment with pendant 
supported lattice booms: The 
analysis methodology 
(computer modeling) shall 
demonstrate that all load 
cases listed in SAE J987-
2003 meet the strength 
margins listed in SAE J987-
2003, Table 2. 

(iii) Analysis Verification: The 
physical testing 
requirements under SAE 
J1063-1993 and SAE J987-
2003 shall be met unless the 
reliability of the analysis 
methodology (computer 
modeling) has been 
demonstrated by a 
documented history of 
certification through strain 
gauge measuring or strain 
gauge measuring in 
combination with other 
physical testing. 

(4) All equipment covered by this Section shall 
meet the following requirements:  
(a) Rated Capacity and Related 

Information: The information 
available in the cab (see 13 NCAC 
07F .0916(c)) regarding "rated 
capacity" and related information 
shall include the following 
information: 
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(i) A complete range of the 
manufacturer's equipment 
rated capacities, as follows: 
(A) At all 

manufacturer's 
approved operating 
radii, boom angles, 
work areas, boom 
lengths, and 
configurations, jib 
lengths and angles 
(or offset). 

(B) Alternate ratings 
for use and nonuse 
of option 
equipment which 
affects rated 
capacities, such as 
outriggers and extra 
counterweights. 

(ii) A work area chart for which 
capacities are listed in the 
load chart. (Note: an 
example of this type of chart 
is in ANSI/ASME B 30.5-
2004, Section 5-1.1.3, Figure 
11). 

(iii) The work area figure and 
load chart shall indicate the 
areas where no load is to be 
handled. 

(iv) Manufacturer-recommended 
reeving for the hoist lines 
shall be shown.  

(v) Manufacturer-recommended 
parts of hoist reeving, size, 
and type of wire rope for 
various equipment loads. 

(vi) Manufacturer-recommended 
boom hoist reeving diagram, 
where applicable; size, type, 
and length of rope wire. 

(vii) Tire pressure (where 
applicable). 

(vii) Caution or warnings relative 
to limitations on equipment 
and operating procedures, 
including an indication of 
the least stable direction. 

(ix) Position of the gantry and 
requirements for 
intermediate boom 
suspension (where 
applicable). 

(x) Instructions for the boom 
erection and conditions 
under which the boom, or 
boom and jib combinations, 
may be raised or lowered. 

(xi) Whether the hoist holding 
mechanism is automatically 
or manually controlled, 
whether free fall is available, 
or any combination of these. 

(xii) The maximum telescopic 
travel length of each boom 
telescopic section. 

(xiii) Whether sections are 
telescoped manually or with 
power. 

(xiv) The sequence and procedure 
for extending and retracting 
the telescopic boom section. 

(xv) Maximum loads permitted 
during the boom extending 
operation, and any limiting 
conditions or cautions. 

(xvi) Hydraulic relief valve 
settings specified by the 
manufacturer. 

(b) Load Hooks (including latched and 
unlatched types), ball assemblies and 
load blocks shall be of sufficient 
weight to overhaul the line from the 
highest hook position for boom or 
boom and jib lengths and the number 
of parts of the line in use. 

(c) Hook and ball assemblies and load 
blocks shall be marked with their 
rated capacity and weight. 

(d) Latching Hooks: 
(i) Hooks shall be equipped 

with latches, except where 
the requirements of the Sub-
Item (4)(d)(ii) of this Rule 
are met. 

(ii) Hooks without latches, or 
with latches removed or 
disabled, shall not be used 
unless: 
(A) A qualified person 

has determined that 
it is safer to hoist 
and place the load 
without latches (or 
with the latches 
removed/tied-
back); 

(B) Routes for the loads 
are pre-planned to 
ensure that no 
employee is 
required to work in 
the fall zone except 
for employees 
necessary for the 
hooking or 
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unhooking of the 
load; and 

(C) The latch shall 
close the throat 
opening and be 
designed to retain 
slings or other 
lifting 
devices/accessories 
in the hook when 
the rigging 
apparatus is slack.  

(e) Posted Warnings. Posted Warnings 
required by this Section as well as 
those originally supplied with the 
equipment by the manufacturer shall 
be maintained in legible condition. 

(f) An accessible fire extinguisher shall 
be on the equipment. 

(g) Cabs.  Equipment with cabs shall 
meet the following requirements: 
(i) Cabs shall be designed with 

a form of adjustable 
ventilation and method for 
clearing the windshield for 
maintaining visibility and air 
circulation. Examples of 
means for adjustable 
ventilation include air 
conditioner or window that 
can be opened (for 
ventilation and air 
circulation); examples of 
means for maintaining 
visibility include heater (for 
preventing windshield 
icing), defroster, fan, 
windshield wiper. 

(ii) Cab doors (swinging, 
sliding) shall be designed to 
prevent inadvertent opening 
or closing while traveling or 
operating the machine. 
Swinging doors adjacent to 
the operator shall open 
outward. Sliding operator 
doors shall open rearward. 

(iii) Windows. 
(A) The cab shall have 

windows in front 
and on both sides of 
the operator. 
Forward vertical 
visibility shall be 
sufficient to give 
the operator a view 
of the boom point 
at all times. 

(B) Windows may have 
sections designed to 
be opened or 
readily removed. 
Windows with 
sections designed to 
be opened shall be 
designed so that 
they can be secured 
to prevent 
inadvertent closure. 

(C) Windows shall be 
of safety glass or 
material with 
similar optical and 
safety properties 
that introduce no 
visible distortion or 
otherwise obscure 
visibility that 
interferes with the 
safe operation of 
the equipment. 

(iv) A clear passageway shall be 
provided from the operator's 
station to an exit door on the 
operator's side. 

(v) Areas of the cab roof that 
serve as a workstation for 
rigging, maintenance or 
other equipment-related 
tasks shall be capable of 
supporting 250 pounds 
without permanent 
distortion. 

(h) Belts, gears, shafts, pulleys, 
sprockets, spindles, drums, fly 
wheels, chains, and other parts or 
components that reciprocate, rotate or 
otherwise move shall be guarded 
where contact by employees (except 
for maintenance and repair 
employees) is possible in the 
performance of normal duties. 

(i) All exhaust pipes, turbochargers, and 
charge air coolers shall be insulated 
or guarded where contact by 
employees (except for maintenance 
and repair employees) is possible in 
the performance of normal duties.  

(j) Hydraulic and pneumatic lines shall 
be protected from damage to the 
extent feasible. 

(k) The equipment shall be designed so 
that exhaust fumes are not discharged 
in the cab and are discharged in a 
direction away from the operator. 

(l) Friction mechanisms.  Where friction 
mechanisms (such as brakes and 
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clutches) are used to control the boom 
hoist or load line hoist, they shall be: 
(i) Of a size and thermal 

capacity sufficient to control 
loads with the minimum 
recommended reeving. 

(ii) Adjustable to permit 
compensation for lining 
wear to maintain proper 
operation. 

(m) Hydraulic load hoists.  Hydraulic 
drums shall have an integrally 
mounted holding device or internal 
static brake to prevent load hoist 
movement in the event of hydraulic 
failure. 

(5) The employer's obligations under Items (1) 
through (3) and Sub-Items (4)(g) through 
(4)(m) of this Rule are met where the 
equipment has not changed (except in 
accordance with 13 NCAC 07F .0911) and it 
can refer to documentation from the 
manufacturer showing that the equipment has 
been designed, constructed and tested in 
accordance with those Items. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 95-131; 
Eff. October 1, 2009; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0250 RANDLEMAN LAKE WATER  
SUPPLY WATERSHED: PROTECTION AND  
MAINTENANCE OF EXISTING RIPARIAN BUFFERS 
Protection of the pollutant removal and other water quality 
services provided by riparian buffers throughout the watershed is 
an important element of the overall Randleman water supply 
pollutant strategy. The following is the management strategy for 
maintaining and protecting riparian areas in the Randleman Lake 
watershed: 

(1) PURPOSE.  The purposes of this Rule shall be 
for the local governments listed in this Rule, 
and in certain cases stated in this Rule the 
Division, to protect and preserve existing 
riparian buffers throughout the Randleman 
Lake watershed as generally described in this 
Rule, in order to maintain their nutrient 
removal and stream protection functions.  
Additionally this Rule will help protect the 
water supply uses of Randleman Lake and of 
designated water supplies throughout the 
Randleman Lake water supply watershed.  
Local governments with jurisdictions in 
Randleman Lake watershed shall establish 
programs to meet or exceed the minimum 

requirements of this Rule.  However, the 
Division shall assume responsibility for 
applying the requirements of this Rule to 
activities listed in Item (3) of this Rule.  The 
requirements of this Rule shall supersede all 
buffer requirements stated in Rules 15A 
NCAC 02B .0214 through .0216 as applied to 
WS-II, WS-III, and WS-IV waters in the 
Randleman Lake watershed.  Parties subject to 
this Rule may choose to implement more 
stringent rules, including the one-hundred foot 
buffer requirement set out in Sub-item (3)(b)(i) 
of Rules 15A NCAC 02B .0214 through .0216 
for high-density developments.   

(2) DEFINITIONS.  For the purpose of this Rule, 
these terms shall be defined as follows: 
(a) 'Access Trails' means pedestrian trails 

constructed of pervious or impervious 
surfaces, and related structures to 
access a surface water including (but 
not limited to) boardwalks, steps, 
rails, signage; 

(b) 'Archaeological Activities' means 
activities conducted by a Registered 
Professional Archaeologist (RPA); 

(c) 'Airport Facilities' means all 
properties, facilities, buildings, 
structures, and activities that satisfy 
or otherwise fall within the scope of 
one or more of the definition or uses 
of the words or phrases 'air navigation 
facility', 'airport', or 'airport protection 
privileges' under G.S. 63-1; the 
definition of 'aeronautical facilities' in 
G.S. 63-79(1); the phrase 'airport 
facilities' as used in G.S. 159-
48(b)(1); the phrase 'aeronautical 
facilities' as defined in G.S. 159-81 
and G.S. 159-97; and the phrase 
'airport facilities and improvements' 
as used in Article V, Section 13, of 
the North Carolina Constitution.  
Airport facilities shall include  
without limitation, any and all of the 
following:  airports, airport 
maintenance facilities, clear zones, 
drainage ditches, fields, hangars, 
landing lighting, airport and airport-
related offices, parking facilities, 
related navigational and signal 
systems, runways, stormwater 
outfalls, terminals, terminal shops, 
and all appurtenant areas used or 
suitable for airport buildings or other 
airport facilities, and all appurtenant 
rights-of-way; restricted landing 
areas; any structures, mechanisms, 
lights, beacons, marks, 
communicating systems, or other 
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instrumentalities or devices used or 
useful as an aid, or constituting an 
advantage or convenience to the safe 
taking off, navigation, and landing of 
aircraft, or the safe and efficient 
operation or maintenance of an 
airport or restricted landing area; 
easements through, or interests in, air 
space over land or water, interests in  
airport hazards outside the boundaries 
of airports or restricted landing areas, 
and other protection privileges, the 
acquisition or control of which is 
necessary to ensure safe approaches 
to the landing areas of airports and 
restricted landing areas, and the safe 
and efficient operation thereof and 
any combination of any or all of such 
facilities.  Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, the following shall not be 
included in the definition of 'airport 
facilities': 
(i) Satellite parking facilities; 
(ii) Retail and commercial 

development outside of the 
terminal area, such as rental 
car facilities; and 

(iii) Other secondary 
development, such as hotels, 
industrial facilities, free-
standing offices and other 
similar buildings, so long as 
these facilities are not 
directly associated with the 
operation of the airport, and 
are not operated by a unit of 
government or special 
governmental entity such as 
an airport authority; 

(d) 'Channel' means a natural water-
carrying trough cut vertically into low 
areas of the land surface by erosive 
action of concentrated flowing water 
or a ditch or canal excavated for the 
flow of water;  

(e) 'DBH' means diameter at breast 
height of a tree measured at 4.5 feet 
above ground surface level; 

(f) Ditch means a man-made, open 
drainage way in or into which excess 
surface water or groundwater from 
land, stormwater runoff, or 
floodwaters flow either continuously 
or intermittently;  

(g) 'Ephemeral stream' means a feature 
that carries stormwater in direct 
response to precipitation with water 
flowing only during and shortly after 
large precipitation events.  An 

ephemeral stream may or may not 
have a well-defined channel, the 
aquatic bed is always above the water 
table, and stormwater runoff is the 
primary source of water.  An 
ephemeral stream typically lacks the 
biological, hydrological, and physical 
characteristics commonly associated 
with the continuous or intermittent 
conveyance of water; 

(h) 'Forest plantation' means an area of 
planted trees that may be conifers 
(pines) or hardwoods. On a 
plantation, the intended crop trees are 
planted rather than naturally 
regenerated from seed on the site, 
coppice (sprouting), or seed that is 
blown or carried into the site; 

(i) 'Greenway / Hiking Trails' means 
pedestrian trails constructed of 
pervious and impervious surfaces and 
related structures including but not 
limited to boardwalks, steps, rails, 
and signage, and that generally run 
parallel to the surface water; 

(j) 'High Value Tree' means a tree that 
meets or exceeds the following 
standards: for pine species, 14 inch 
DBH or greater or 18 inch or greater 
stump diameter; and, for hardwoods 
and wetland species, 16 inch DBH or 
greater or 24 inch or greater stump 
diameter; 

(k) 'Intermittent stream' means a well-
defined channel that contains a 
continuous flow of water for only part 
of the year, typically during winter 
and spring when the aquatic bed is 
below the water table.  The flow may 
be heavily supplemented by 
stormwater runoff.  An intermittent 
stream often lacks the biological and 
hydrological characteristics 
commonly associated with the 
continuous conveyance of water; 

(l) 'Modified natural stream' means an 
on-site channelization or relocation of 
a stream channel and subsequent 
relocation of the intermittent or 
perennial flow as evidenced by 
topographic alterations in the 
immediate watershed.  A modified 
natural stream must have the typical 
biological, hydrological, and physical 
characteristics commonly associated 
with the continuous conveyance of 
water; 

(m) 'Perennial stream' means a well-
defined channel that contains water 
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year round during a year of normal 
rainfall with the aquatic bed located 
below the water table for most of the 
year.  Groundwater is the primary 
source of water for a perennial 
stream, but it also carries stormwater 
runoff.  A perennial stream exhibits 
the typical biological, hydrological, 
and physical characteristics 
commonly associated with the 
continuous conveyance of water; 

(n) 'Perennial waterbody' means a natural 
or man-made watershed that stores 
surface water permanently at depths 
sufficient to preclude growth of 
rooted plants, including lakes, ponds, 
sounds, non-stream estuaries and 
ocean.  For the purpose of the State's 
riparian buffer protection program, 
the waterbody must be part of a 
natural drainage way (i.e., connected 
by surface flow to a stream); 

(o) 'Shoreline stabilization' is the in-place 
stabilization of an eroding shoreline.  
Stabilization techniques which 
include "soft" methods or natural 
materials (such as root wads, or rock 
vanes) may be considered as part of a 
restoration design.  However, 
stabilization techniques that consist 
primarily of "hard" engineering, such 
as concrete lined channels, rip rap, or 
gabions, while providing bank 
stabilization, shall not be considered 
stream restoration; 

(p) 'Stream restoration' is defined as the 
process of converting an unstable, 
altered or degraded stream corridor, 
including adjacent riparian zone and 
flood-prone areas to its natural or 
referenced, stable conditions 
considering recent and future 
watershed conditions.  This process 
also includes restoring the 
geomorphic dimension, pattern, and 
profile as well as biological and 
chemical integrity, including 
transport of water and sediment 
produced by the stream's watershed in 
order to achieve dynamic 
equilibrium.  'Referenced' or 
'referenced reach' means a stable 
stream that is in dynamic equilibrium 
with its valley and contributing 
watershed.  A reference reach can be 
used to develop natural channel 
design criteria for stream restoration 
projects. 'Stream' means a body of 
concentrated flowing water in a 

natural low area or natural channel on 
the land surface; 

(q) 'Stump diameter' means the diameter 
of a tree measured at six inches above 
the ground surface level; 

(r) 'Surface waters' means all waters of 
the state as defined in G.S. 143-212 
except underground waters and 
wetlands;  

(s) 'Temporary road' means a road 
constructed temporarily for 
equipment access to build or replace 
hydraulic conveyance structures such 
as bridges, culverts or pipes or water 
dependent structures, or to maintain 
public traffic during construction; and 

(t) 'Tree' means a woody plant with a 
DBH equal to or exceeding five 
inches or a stump diameter exceeding 
six inches. 

(3) APPLICABILITY.  This Rule shall apply to 
all local governments with jurisdictions in the 
Randleman Lake watershed.  Local 
governments shall develop riparian buffer 
protection programs for approval by the 
Division incorporating the minimum standards 
set out throughout this Rule and shall apply the 
requirements of this Rule throughout their 
jurisdictions within the Randleman watershed 
except where the Division shall exercise 
jurisdiction.  For the following types of buffer 
activities in the Randleman watershed, 
wherever local governments are referenced in 
this Rule, the Division shall implement 
applicable requirements to the exclusion of 
local governments: 
(a) Activities conducted under authority 

of the State; 
(b) Activities conducted under the 

authority of the United States; 
(c) Activities conducted under the 

authority of multiple jurisdictions; 
(d) Activities conducted under the 

authority of local units of 
government; 

(e) Forest harvesting activities described 
in Item 16 of this Rule; and 

(f) Agricultural activities. 
(4) REQUIREMENTS.  The following minimum 

criteria shall be used for identifying regulated 
buffers.  All local governments subject to this 
Rule shall develop riparian buffer protection 
programs and ordinances for approval by the 
Commission, incorporating the minimum 
standards contained in Rule.  This Rule shall 
apply to 50 foot wide riparian buffers directly 
adjacent to surface waters in the Randleman 
watershed (intermittent and perennial streams, 
lakes, reservoirs, and ponds) excluding 
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wetlands.  Wetlands adjacent to surface waters 
or within 50 feet of surface waters, shall be 
considered as part of the riparian buffer but are 
regulated pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H. 0506.  
(a) Surface waters shall be subject to this 

Rule if the feature is approximately 
shown on any of the following 
references, or if there is other site 
specific evidence that indicates to the 
Division or local government the 
presence of waters not shown on any 
of these maps: 
(i) The most recent version of 

the United States Geological 
Survey 1:24,000 scale (7.5 
minute quadrangle) 
topographic maps; 

(ii) The most recent version of 
the hardcopy soil survey 
maps developed by USDA-
Natural Resource 
Conservation Service; or 

(iii) A map approved by the 
Geographic Information 
Coordinating Council and by 
the Commission.  Prior to 
approving a map under this 
sub-division the 
Commission shall provide a 
30-day public notice and 
opportunity for comment; 

(b) Where the specific origination point 
of an intermittent or perennial stream 
is in question, parties subject to this 
Rule shall use the Division 
publication, Identification Methods 
for the Origins of Intermittent and 
Perennial Streams, v 3.1 February 
28, 2005 available at: 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/swp/
ws/401/waterresources/streamdetermi
nations to  
establish that point; 

(c) Local governments may develop 
stream network maps for the 
watershed based on maps referenced 
in Sub-Item (4)(a) of this Rule or 
criteria identified in Sub-Item (4)(b) 
and of this Rule.  These maps shall be 
submitted to the Director for review 
to establish that proper methods were 
used by any local government 
wishing to use such maps for 
implementation of riparian area 
protection. The local map must be at 
least as accurate as the map identified 
in Sub-Items (4)(a)(i) and (4)(a)(ii) 
and must use the stream identification 
manual as referenced in Item (4)(b) of 

this Rule.  Riparian areas shall be 
protected and maintained in 
accordance with this Rule on all sides 
of surface waters in the Randleman 
Lake watershed as delineated on these 
approved stream network maps; 

(d) Personnel from delegated local 
governments that are assigned to 
perform stream determinations, shall 
successfully complete the Division's 
Surface Water Identification Training 
and Certification Class within three 
years of the effective revision date of 
this Rule.  A delegated local 
government shall retain personnel on 
staff who have successfully 
completed the Division's class at all 
times with the exception of staff 
vacancies and class scheduling 
problems.  At any time that a local 
government does not have a certified 
individual retained on staff they shall 
notify the Division and indicate a 
proposed schedule to secure a 
certified staff member; 

(e) All local governments that have land 
use authority within the Randleman 
Lake water supply watershed shall 
adopt and enforce this Rule through 
local water supply and other local 
ordinances. Ordinances shall require 
that all riparian protection areas are 
recorded on new or modified plats. 
No new clearing, grading, or 
development shall take place and no 
new building permits shall be issued 
in violation of this Rule; and 

(f) Parties subject to this Rule shall abide 
by all State rules and laws regarding 
waters of the state including Rules 
15A NCAC 02H .0500, 15A NCAC 
02H .1300, and Sections 401 and 404 
of the Federal Clean Water Act. 

(5) EXEMPTION REQUIREMENTS TO WHEN 
AN ON-SITE DETERMINATION SHOWS 
THAT SURFACE WATERS ARE NOT 
PRESENT.  When a landowner or other 
affected party believes that the maps have 
inaccurately depicted surface waters, he or she 
shall consult the delegated local authority.  
Upon request, the delegated local authority 
shall make onsite determinations.  Local 
governments may also accept the results of site 
assessments made by other parties who have 
successfully completed the Division's Surface 
Water Identification Training Certification 
course and are sanctioned by the Division to 
make such determinations. Any disputes over 
on-site determinations shall be referred to the 
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local Board of Adjustment or other local 
appeals process in writing.  For projects 
proposed for state and federal lands, any 
disputes shall be referred to the Director in 
writing.  A determination of the Director as to 
the accuracy or application of the maps is 
subject to review as provided in Articles 3 and 
4 of G.S. 150B.  Surface waters that appear on 
the maps shall not be subject to this Rule if an 
on-site determination shows that they fall into 
one of the following categories:  
(a) Ditches and manmade conveyances, 

to include manmade stormwater 
conveyances, other than modified 
natural streams, unless the ditch or 
manmade conveyance delivers 
untreated stormwater runoff from an 
adjacent source directly to an 
intermittent or perennial stream; 

(b) Areas mapped as intermittent 
streams, perennial streams, lakes, 
ponds, or estuaries on the most recent 
versions of United States Geological 
Survey 1:24,000 scale (7.5 minute 
quadrangle) topographic maps, hard-
copy soil survey maps or other EMC 
approved stream maps where no 
perennial waterbody, intermittent 
waterbody, lake, pond or estuary 
actually exists on the ground;  

(c) Ephemeral streams; and  
(d) Ponds and lakes created for animal 

watering, irrigation, or other 
agricultural uses that are not part of a 
natural drainage way that is classified 
in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 
.0100.  Ponds are part of a natural 
drainage way when they are 
hydrologically connected (i.e. the 
pond is fed by an intermittent or 
perennial stream) or when they have a 
direct discharge point to an 
intermittent or perennial stream. 

(6) EXEMPTION TO REQUIREMENTS WHEN 
EXISTING USES ARE PRESENT AND 
ONGOING.  This Rule shall not apply to 
portions of the riparian buffer where a use is 
existing and ongoing according to the 
following: 
(a) A use shall be considered existing 

and ongoing if it was present within 
the riparian buffer as of the effective 
date of the local ordinance or local 
ordinances enforcing this Rule and 
has continued to exist since that time.   
For state and federal entities, a use 
shall be considered existing and 
ongoing if it was present within the 
riparian buffer as of the effective date 

of this Rule and has continued to 
exist since that time.  Existing uses 
shall include, but not limited to, 
agriculture, buildings, industrial 
facilities, commercial areas, 
transportation facilities, maintained 
lawns, utility lines and on-site 
sanitary sewage systems any of which 
involve either specific, periodic 
management of vegetation or 
displacement of vegetation by 
structures or regular activity.  Only 
the portion of the riparian buffer that 
contains the footprint of the existing 
use is exempt from this Rule.  Change 
of ownership through purchase or 
inheritance is not a change of use.  
Activities necessary to maintain uses 
are allowed provided that the site 
remains similarly vegetated, no 
impervious surface is added within 50 
feet of the surface water where it did 
not previously exist as of the effective 
date of the local ordinance or local 
ordinances enforcing this Rule, and 
existing diffuse flow is maintained.  
Grading and revegetating Zone 2 is 
allowed provided that the health of 
the vegetation in Zone 1 is not 
compromised, the ground is stabilized 
and existing diffuse flow is 
maintained; 

(b) A use shall be considered existing if 
projects or proposed development are 
determined by the local government, 
or the Director for the cases involving 
state or federal entities, to meet at 
least one of the following criteria:  
(i) Project requires a 401 

Certification/404 permit and 
these were issued prior to the 
effective date of the local 
program enforcing this Rule, 
and prior to the effective 
date of this Rule for 
Division-administered 
activities listed in Item (3) of 
this Rule; 

(ii) Projects that require a state 
permit, such as landfills, 
NPDES wastewater 
discharges, land application 
of residuals and road 
construction activities, have 
begun construction or are 
under contract to begin 
construction and had 
received all required state 
permits and certifications 
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prior to the effective date of 
the local program 
implementing this Rule, and 
prior to the effective date of 
this Rule for Division-
administered activities listed 
in Item (3) of this Rule;  

(iii) Projects that are being 
reviewed through the Clean 
Water Act Section 
404/National Environmental 
Policy Act Merger 01 
Process (published by the 
US Army Corps of 
Engineers and Federal 
Highway Administration, 
2003) or its immediate 
successor and that have 
reached agreement with 
DENR on avoidance and 
minimization by the 
effective date of the local 
program enforcing this Rule, 
and prior to the effective 
date of this Rule for state 
and federal entities; or 

(iv) Projects that are not required 
to be reviewed by the Clean 
Water Act Section 
404/National Environmental 
Policy Act Merger 01 
Process (published by the 
US Army Corps of 
Engineers and Federal 
Highway Administration, 
2003) or its immediate 
successor if a Finding of No 
Significant Impact has been 
issued for the project and the 
project has the written 
approval of the local 
government prior to the 
effective date of the local 
program enforcing this Rule, 
or the written approval of the 
Division prior to the 
effective date of this Rule 
for state and federal entities: 
and 

(c) This Rule shall apply at the time an 
existing use is changed to another 
use. Change of use shall include, but 
not limited to the initiation of any 
activity not defined as existing and 
ongoing in either Sub-Item (6)(a) or 
(6)(b) of this Rule. 

(7) ZONES OF THE RIPARIAN BUFFER.  The 
protected riparian buffer shall have two zones 
as follows: 

(a) Zone 1 shall consist of a vegetated 
area that is undisturbed except for 
uses provided for in Item (9) of this 
Rule.  The location of Zone 1 shall be 
as follows: 
(i) For intermittent and 

perennial streams, Zone 1 
shall begin at the most 
landward limit of the top of 
the bank or the rooted 
herbaceous vegetation and 
extend landward a distance 
of 30 feet on all sides of the 
surface water, measured 
horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to a vertical 
line marking the edge of the 
top of the bank; and 

(ii) For ponds, lakes and 
reservoirs located within a 
natural drainage way, Zone 1 
shall begin at the most 
landward limit of the normal 
water level or the rooted 
herbaceous vegetation and 
extend landward a distance 
of 30 feet, measured 
horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to a vertical 
line marking the edge of the 
surface water or rooted 
herbaceous vegetation: and 

(b) Zone 2 shall consist of a stable, 
vegetated area that is undisturbed 
except for uses provided for in Item 
(9) of this Rule.  Grading and 
revegetating Zone 2 is allowed 
provided that the health of the 
vegetation in Zone 1 is not 
compromised.  Zone 2 shall begin at 
the outer edge of Zone 1 and extend 
landward 20 feet as measured 
horizontally on a line perpendicular 
to the surface water.  The combined 
width of Zones 1 and 2 shall be 50 
feet on all sides of the surface water. 

(8) DIFFUSE FLOW REQUIREMENT.  Diffuse 
flow of runoff shall be maintained in the 
riparian buffer by dispersing concentrated flow 
and reestablishing vegetation. 
(a) Concentrated runoff from new ditches 

or manmade conveyances shall be 
converted to diffuse flow at non-
erosive velocities before the runoff 
enters Zone 2 of the riparian buffer; 

(b) Periodic corrective action to restore 
diffuse flow shall be taken if 
necessary to impede the formation of 
erosion gullies; and 
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(c) No new stormwater conveyances are 
allowed through the buffers except 
for those specified in Item (9) of this 
Rule addressing stormwater 
management ponds drainage ditches, 
roadside ditches, and stormwater 
conveyances. 

(9) TABLE OF USES.  The following chart sets 
out the uses and their designation under this 

Rule as exempt, potentially allowable, or 
potentially allowable with mitigation.  All uses 
not designated as exempt, potentially 
allowable, or potentially allowable with 
mitigation are considered prohibited and may 
not proceed within the riparian buffer unless a 
variance is granted pursuant to Item (12) of 
this Rule.  The requirements for each category 
are given in Item (10) of this Rule. 

 
Use Exempt Potentially 

Allowable  
Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

Access trails:  Pedestrian access trails leading to the 
surface water, docks, fishing piers, boat ramps and 
other water dependent activities: 
• Pedestrian access trails that are restricted to the 

minimum width practicable and do not exceed 4 feet 
in width of buffer disturbance, and provided that 
installation and use does not result in removal of 
trees as defined in this Rule and no impervious 
surface is added to the riparian buffer 

• Pedestrian access trails that exceed 4 feet in width of 
buffer disturbance, the installation or use results in 
removal of trees as defined in this Rule or 
impervious surface is added to the riparian buffer 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Airport facilities: 
• Airport facilities that impact equal to or less than 

150 linear feet or one-third of an acre of riparian 
buffer 

• Airport facilities that impact greater than 150 linear 
feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 

• Activities necessary to comply with FAA 
requirements (e.g. radar uses or landing strips)1 

  
X 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 

X 

Archaeological activities: 
• In Zones 1 and 2 and are designed, constructed and 

maintained to provide the maximum sediment 
removal and erosion protection, to have the least 
adverse effects on aquatic life and habitat, and to 
protect water quality to the maximum extent 
practical. 

 
X 

 
 

 

Bridges   X  
Canoe access provided that installation and use does 
not result in removal of trees as defined in the Rule and 
no impervious surface is added to the buffer. 

 
X 

  

Dam maintenance activities: 
• Dam maintenance activities that do not cause 

additional buffer disturbance beyond the footprint of 
the existing dam or those covered under a U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers Nationwide Permit  

• Dam maintenance activities that do cause additional 
buffer disturbance beyond the footprint of the 
existing dam or those not covered under a U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers Nationwide Permit  

 
X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Drainage ditches, roadside ditches and stormwater 
conveyances through riparian buffers: 
• New stormwater flows to existing drainage ditches, 

 
 

X 
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

roadside ditches, and stormwater conveyances 
provided flows do not alter or result in the need to 
alter the conveyance and are managed to minimize 
the sediment, nutrients and other pollution that 
convey to waterbodies 

• Realignment of existing roadside drainage ditches 
retaining the design dimensions, provided that no 
additional travel lanes are added and the minimum 
required roadway typical section is used based on 
traffic and safety considerations 

• New or altered drainage ditches, roadside ditches 
and stormwater outfalls provided that a stormwater 
management facility is installed to control nitrogen 
and attenuate flow before the conveyance discharges 
through the riparian buffer 

• New drainage ditches, roadside ditches and 
stormwater conveyances applicable to linear projects 
that do not provide a stormwater management 
facility due to topography constraints provided that 
other practicable BMPs are employed 

  
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

 
 

X 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 

Drainage of a pond in a natural drainage way provided 
that a new riparian buffer that meets the requirements 
of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule is established adjacent 
to the new channel. 

X   

Driveway crossings of streams and other surface 
waters subject to this Rule:  
• Driveway crossings on single family residential lots 

that disturb equal to or less than 25 linear feet or 
2,500 square feet of riparian buffer 

• Driveway crossings on single family residential lots 
that disturb greater than 25linear feet or 2,500 square 
feet of riparian buffer 

• In a subdivision that cumulatively disturb equal to or 
less than 150 linear feet or one-third of an acre of 
riparian buffer 

• In a subdivision that cumulatively disturb greater 
than 150 linear feet or one-third of an acre of 
riparian buffer 

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

Driveway impacts other than crossing of a stream or 
other surface waters subject to this Rule  

   
X 

Fences: 
• Fences provided that disturbance is minimized and 

installation does not result in removal of trees as 
defined in this Rule 

• Fences provided that disturbance is minimized and 
installation results in removal of trees as defined in 
this Rule 

 
X 

 
 
 
 

X 

 
 

Forest harvesting - see Item (16) of this Rule    
Fertilizer Application:  
One-time fertilizer application to establish vegetation 

 
X 

  

Grading and revegetation in Zone 2 provided that 
diffuse flow and the health of existing vegetation in 
Zone 1 is not compromised and disturbed areas are 
revegetated with native vegetation 

X  
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

Greenway / hiking trails: 
Designed, constructed and maintained to provide the 
maximum nutrient removal and erosion protection, to 
have the least adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat, and to protect water quality to the maximum 
extent practical. 

 
 

 
 
 

X 
 
 

 

Historic preservation: 
Designed, constructed and maintained to provide the 
maximum nutrient removal and erosion protection, to 
have the least adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat, and to protect water quality to the maximum 
extent practical 

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

 

Maintenance access of modified natural streams: a 
grassed travel way on one side of the water body when 
less impacting alternatives are not practical.  The width 
and specifications of the travel way shall be only that 
needed for equipment access and operation.  The travel 
way shall be located to maximize stream shading. 

  
X 

 

Mining activities: 
• Mining activities that are covered by the Mining Act 

provided that new riparian buffers that meet the 
requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule are 
established adjacent to the relocated channels 

• Mining activities that are not covered by the Mining 
Act or where new riparian buffers that meet the 
requirements or Items (7) and (8) of this Rule are not 
established adjacent to the relocated channels 

• Wastewater or mining dewatering wells with 
approved NPDES permit 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

Playground equipment: 
• Playground equipment on single family lots 
provided that installation and use does not result in 
removal of vegetation  
• Playground equipment installed on lands other than 
single-family lots or that requires removal of 
vegetation 

 
X 

 
 
 
 

X 
 

 

Ponds in natural drainage ways, excluding dry ponds: 
• New ponds provided that a riparian buffer that meets 
the requirements of Items (7) & (8) of this Rule is 
established adjacent to the pond 
• New ponds where a riparian buffer that meets the 
requirements of Items (7) & (8) of this Rule is NOT 
established adjacent to the pond 

  
X 

 
 
 
 

X 

Protection of existing structures, facilities and stream 
banks when this requires additional disturbance of the 
riparian buffer or the stream channel 

 
 

X  

Railroad impacts other than crossings of streams and 
other surface waters subject to this Rule. 

  X 

Railroad crossings of streams and other surface waters 
subject to this Rule: 
• Railroad crossings that impact equal to or less than 

40 linear feet of riparian buffer 
• Railroad crossings that impact greater than 40 linear 

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 

X 
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet or one-
third of an acre of riparian buffer 

• Railroad crossings that impact greater than 150 
linear feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer  

 
X 

Recreational and accessory structures: 
• Total footprint of gazebos and sheds in Zone 2, 

provided they are not prohibited under local water 
supply ordinance less than or equal to 150 square 
feet per lot  

• Total footprint gazebos and sheds in Zone 2, 
provided they are not prohibited under local water 
supply ordinance of more than 150 square feet per 
lot 

• Wooden-slatted decks (and associated steps) that are 
at least 8 feet in height and vegetation is not 
removed from Zone 1 for the installation and that it 
meets the requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this 
Rule  

• Wooden-slatted decks (and associated steps) that are 
not at least 8 feet in height or vegetation is removed 
from Zone 1 for the installation and that it meets the 
requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule  

 
 
 

 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

Removal of previous fill or debris provided that diffuse 
flow is maintained and vegetation is restored 

X   

Road crossings of streams and other surface waters 
subject to this Rule: 
• Road crossings that impact equal to or less than 40 

linear feet of riparian buffer 
• Road crossings that impact greater than 40 linear 

feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet or one-
third of an acre of riparian buffer 

• Road crossings that impact greater than 150 linear 
feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 

Road impacts other than crossings of streams and other 
surface waters subject to this Rule 

  X 

Road relocation of existing private access roads 
associated with public road projects where necessary 
for public safety: 
• Less than or equal to 2,500 square feet of buffer 

impact 
• Greater than 2,500 square feet of buffer impact 

  
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
Stormwater BMPs:  
• Wet detention, bioretention, and constructed 

wetlands in Zone 2 if diffuse flow of discharge is 
provided into Zone 1 

• Wet detention, bioretention, and constructed 
wetlands in Zone 1 

  
X 
 
 

 
 
 
 

X 

Scientific studies and stream gauging: 
• In Zones 1 and 2 if they are designed, constructed 

and maintained to protect water quality to the 
maximum extent practical. 

 
X 

 
 
 

 

Streambank or shoreline stabilization  X  
Temporary roads provided that the disturbed area is    
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

restored to pre-construction topographic and 
hydrologic conditions immediately after construction is 
complete and replanted immediately with comparable 
vegetation, except that the tree planting may occur 
during the dormant season.  A one time application of 
fertilizer may be utilized to establish vegetation.  At 
the end of five years the restored buffer shall comply 
with the restoration criteria in Item (9) of Rule 15A 
NCAC 02B .0252: 
• Less than or equal to 2,500 square feet of buffer 

disturbance 
• Greater than 2,500 square feet of buffer disturbance  
• Associated with culvert installation, bridge 

construction or replacement 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
X 

Temporary sediment and erosion control devices 
provided that the disturbed area is restored to pre-
construction topographic and hydrologic conditions 
immediately after construction is complete and 
replanted immediately with comparable vegetation, 
except that tree planting may occur during the dormant 
season.  A one-time application of fertilizer may be 
used to establish vegetation.  At the end of five years 
the restored buffer shall comply with the restoration 
criteria in Item (9) of Rule 15A NCAC 02B .0252: 
• In Zone 2 only provided ground cover is established 

within the timeframes required by the Sedimentation 
and Erosion Control Act and that the vegetation in 
Zone 1 is not compromised and that discharge is 
released as diffuse flow in accordance with Item (8) 
of this Rule 

• In Zones 1 and 2 to control impacts associated with 
uses approved by the local government or that have 
received a variance provided that sediment and 
erosion control for upland areas is addressed to the 
maximum extent practical outside the buffer 

• In-stream temporary erosion and sediment control 
measures for work within a stream channel that is 
authorized under Section 401 and 404 of the Federal 
Water Pollution Control Act 

• In-stream temporary erosion and sediment control 
measures for authorized work within a stream 
channel 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Utility- Non-electric utility lines: 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 

2 only4, 5 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 

1 only4, 5 

  
X 

 
 
 

X 

Utility-Non-electric utility line perpendicular crossings 
of streams and other surface waters subject to this 
Rule4, 5:  
• Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 

than 40 linear feet of riparian buffer with a 

 
 
 
 

X 
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

maintenance corridor equal to or less than 10 feet in 
width 

• Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 
than 40 linear feet of riparian buffer with a 
maintenance corridor greater than 10 feet in width 

• Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet of 
riparian buffer with a maintenance corridor equal to 
or less than 10 feet in width 

• Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet of 
riparian buffer with a maintenance corridor greater 
than 10 feet in width 

• Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 150 
linear feet of riparian buffer 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 

Utility-Overhead electric utility lines: 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 2 

only4, 5 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 1 

2,3,4, 5 

 
 
 

 
X 
 

 
 
 

X 

Utility-Overhead electric utility line perpendicular 
crossings of streams and other surface waters subject 
to this Rule 2, 3,4, 5: 
• Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 

than 150 linear feet of riparian buffer  
• Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 150 

linear feet of riparian buffer 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
 

 

Utility-Underground electric utility lines: 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 2 

only2 
• Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 
11,4 

 
X 
 

X 
 

  

Utility-Underground electric utility line perpendicular 
crossings of streams and other surface waters subject 
to this Rule: 
• Perpendicular crossings that disturb less than or 

equal to 40 linear feet of riparian buffer3, 4, 5 
• Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet of riparian buffer3, 4, 5 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Vegetation management: 
• Emergency fire control measures provided that 

topography is restored 
• Periodic mowing and harvesting of plant products in 

Zone 2 only 
• Planting vegetation to enhance the riparian buffer 
• Pruning forest vegetation provided that the health 

and function of the forest vegetation is not 
compromised 

• Removal of individual trees which are in danger of 
causing damage to dwellings, other structures or 
human life 

• Removal of individual trees that are dead, diseased 
or damaged. 

 
X 
 

X 
 

X 
 

X 
 
 

X 
 
 

X 
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Use Exempt Potentially 
Allowable  

Potentially 
Allowable 
with 
Mitigation 

• Removal of poison ivy 
• Removal of understory nuisance vegetation as 

defined in: 
Smith, Cherri L. 1998. Exotic Plant Guidelines. Dept. 
of Environment and Natural Resources. Division of 
Parks and Recreation. Raleigh, NC. Guideline #30 

 
X 
X 
 
 

Vehicle access to water dependent structures 
• Vehicular access roads leading to water dependent 

structures as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0202, 
provided they do not cross the surface water and 
have a minimum practicable width not exceeding 
ten feet 

  
X 

 

Water dependent structures as defined in 15A NCAC 
02B .0202  

 
 

 
X 

 

Water supply reservoirs: 
• New reservoirs provided that a riparian buffer that 

meets the requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this 
Rule is established adjacent to the reservoir 

• New reservoirs where a riparian buffer that meets 
the requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule is 
not established adjacent to the reservoir 

  
X 

 
 
 
 

X 

Water wells 
• Single family water wells 
 
• All water wells other than single family water wells 

 
X 

 
 

X 

 

Wetland stream and buffer restoration 
• Wetland, stream and buffer restoration that requires 

DWQ approval for the use of a 401 Water Quality 
Certification 

• Wetland, stream and buffer restoration that does 
NOT require DWQ approval for the use of a 401 
Water Quality Certification 

 
X 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

X 

 

Wildlife passage structures  X  
1 Provided that:  

• Heavy equipment is not used in Zone 1 
• Vegetation is not compromised in the portions of Zone 

1 and Zone 2 that are not impacted 
• Trees that are cut down are removed by chain 
• No permanent felling of trees occurs in the protected 

buffers or in the streams 
• Stump removal is performed only by grinding 
• At the completion of the project the disturbed area is 

stabilized with native vegetation 
• Zones 1 & 2 meet the requirements of (7) and (8) of this 

Rule. 
2 Provided that, in Zone 1, all of the following BMPs for 
overhead utility lines are used.  If all of these BMPs are not 
used, then the overhead utility lines shall require a no practical 
alternative evaluation by the local government, or the Director 
for the cases involving activities listed in Item (3) of this Rule. 

• A minimum zone of 10 feet wide immediately adjacent 
to the water body shall be managed such that only 

vegetation that poses a hazard or has the potential to 
grow tall enough to interfere with the line is removed. 

• Woody vegetation shall be cleared by hand.  No land 
grubbing or grading is allowed. 

• Vegetative root systems shall be left intact to maintain 
the integrity of the soil.  Stumps shall remain where 
trees are cut. 

• Riprap shall not be used unless it is necessary to 
stabilize a tower. 

• No fertilizer shall be used other than a one-time 
application to re-establish vegetation. 

• Construction activities shall minimize the removal of 
woody vegetation, the extent of the disturbed area, and 
the time in which areas remain in a disturbed state. 

• Active measures shall be taken after construction and 
during routine maintenance to ensure diffuse flow of 
stormwater through the buffer. 

• In wetlands, mats shall be utilized to minimize soil 
disturbance. 
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3 Provided that poles or towers shall not be installed within 10 
feet of a water body unless the local government or the Director 
for the cases involving activities listed in Item (3) of this Rule 
completes a no practical alternative evaluation as defined in Item 
(11) of this Rule. 
4 Provided that, in Zone 1, all of the following BMPs for 
underground utility lines are used.  If all of these BMPs are not 
used, then the underground utility line shall require a no 
practical alternative evaluation by the local government or the 
Director for the cases involving activities listed in Item (3) of 
this Rule, as defined in Item (11) of this Rule. 

• Woody vegetation shall be cleared by hand.  No land 
grubbing or grading is allowed. 

• Vegetative root systems shall be left intact to maintain 
the integrity of the soil.  Stumps shall remain, except in 
the trench, where trees are cut. 

• Underground cables shall be installed by vibratory plow 
or trenching. 

• The trench shall be backfilled with the excavated soil 
material immediately following cable installation. 

• No fertilizer shall be used other than a one-time 
application to re-establish vegetation. 

• Construction activities shall minimize the removal of 
woody vegetation, the extent of the disturbed area, and 
the time in which areas remain in a disturbed state. 

• Active measures shall be taken after construction and 
during routine maintenance to ensure diffuse flow of 
stormwater through the buffer. 

• In wetlands, mats shall be utilized to minimize soil 
disturbance. 

5  Perpendicular crossings are those that intersect the surface 
water at an angle between 75 degrees and 105 degrees. 
 

(10) REQUIREMENTS FOR CATEGORIES OF 
USES.  Uses designated as exempt, potentially 
allowable, and potentially allowable with 
mitigation in Item (9) of this Rule shall have 
the following requirements: 
(a) EXEMPT.  Uses designated as 

exempt are allowed within the 
riparian buffer.  Exempt uses shall be 
designed, constructed and maintained 
to minimize soil disturbance and to 
provide the maximum water quality 
protection practicable, including 
construction, monitoring, and 
maintenance activities.  In addition, 
exempt uses shall meet requirements 
listed in Item (9) of this Rule for the 
specific use;   

(b) POTENTIALLY ALLOWABLE.  
Uses designated as potentially 
allowable require a written buffer 
authorization from the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving activities listed in 
Item (3) of this Rule for impacts 
within the riparian buffer provided 

that there are no practical alternatives 
to the requested use pursuant to Item 
(11) of this Rule;  

(c) POTENTIALLY ALLOWABLE 
WITH MITIGATION.  Uses 
designated as potentially allowable 
with mitigation require written 
authorization from the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving activities listed in 
Item (3) of this Rule for impacts 
within the riparian buffer provided 
that there are no practical alternatives 
to the requested use pursuant to Item 
(11) of this Rule and an appropriate 
mitigation strategy has been approved 
pursuant to Item (15) of this Rule; 
and   

(d) PROHIBITED.  Uses that are not 
designated in Item (9) of this Rule are 
considered prohibited in the riparian 
buffers.   

(11) DETERMINATION OF "NO PRACTICAL 
ALTERNATIVES." Persons who wish to 
undertake uses designated as allowable or 
allowable with mitigation shall submit a 
request for a "no practical alternatives" 
determination to the local government or the 
Director for the cases involving activities 
listed in Item (3) of this Rule.  The applicant 
shall certify that the criteria identified in Sub-
Item (a) of this Item are met.  The local 
government, or the Director for the cases 
involving activities listed in Item (3) of this 
Rule, shall grant an Authorization Certificate 
upon a "no practical alternatives" 
determination.  The procedure for making an 
Authorization Certificate shall be as follows: 
(a) For any request for an Authorization 

Certificate, the local government, or 
the Director for the cases involving 
activities listed in Item (3) of this 
Rule, shall review the entire project 
and make a finding of fact as to 
whether the following requirements 
have been met in support of a "no 
practical alternatives" determination: 
(i) The basic project purpose 

cannot be practically 
accomplished in a manner 
that would better minimize 
disturbance, preserve aquatic 
life and habitat, and protect 
water quality; 

(ii) The use cannot practically 
be reduced in size or density, 
reconfigured or redesigned 
to better minimize 
disturbance, preserve aquatic 
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life and habitat, and protect 
water quality; and 

(iii) Best management practices 
shall be used if required to 
minimize disturbance, 
preserve aquatic life and 
habitat, and protect water 
quality; 

(b) Requests for an Authorization 
Certificate shall be reviewed and 
either approved or denied within 60 
days of receipt of a complete 
submission based on the criteria in 
Sub-Item (a) of this Item and the 
local ordinance or ordinances 
enforcing this Rule by the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving activities listed in 
Item (3) of this Rule.  Failure to issue 
an approval or denial within 60 days 
shall constitute that the applicant has 
demonstrated "no practical 
alternatives."  An Authorization 
Certificate shall be issued to the 
applicant, unless: 
(i) The applicant agrees, in 

writing, to a longer period; 
and 

(ii) Applicant fails to furnish 
requested information 
necessary to the local 
government's decision or the 
Director's decision for the 
cases involving activities 
listed in Item (3) of this 
Rule; 

(c) The local government, or the Director 
for the cases involving activities 
listed in Item (3) of this Rule, may 
attach conditions to the Authorization 
Certificate that support the purpose, 
spirit and intent of the riparian buffer 
protection program.  Complete 
submissions shall include the 
following: 
(i) The name, address and 

phone number of the 
applicant; 

(ii) The nature of the activity to 
be conducted by the 
applicant; 

(iii) The location of the activity, 
including the jurisdiction; 

(iv) A map of sufficient detail to 
accurately delineate the 
boundaries of the land to be 
utilized in carrying out the 
activity, the location and 
dimensions of any 

disturbance in riparian 
buffers associated with the 
activity, and the extent of 
riparian buffers on the land; 

(v) An explanation of why this 
plan for the activity cannot 
be practically accomplished, 
reduced or reconfigured to 
better minimize disturbance 
to the riparian buffer, 
preserve aquatic life and 
habitat and protect water 
quality; and 

(vi) Plans for any best 
management practices 
proposed to be used to 
control the impacts 
associated with the activity: 
and 

(d) Any disputes over determinations 
regarding Authorization Certificates 
shall be referred to the local 
government's appeals process for a 
decision, or to the Director for 
determinations involving lands of 
activities listed in Item (3) of this 
Rule.  The Director's decision is 
subject to review as provided in G.S. 
150B Articles 3 and 4.   

(12) VARIANCES.  Persons who wish to 
undertake prohibited uses may pursue a 
variance.  The local government may grant 
only minor variances.  For major variances, 
local governments shall prepare preliminary 
findings and submit them to the Commission 
for approval.  The variance request procedure 
shall be as follows: 
(a) There are practical difficulties or 

unnecessary hardships that prevent 
compliance with the riparian buffer 
protection requirements.  Practical 
difficulties or unnecessary hardships 
shall be evaluated in accordance with 
all of the following: 
(i) If the applicant complies 

with the provisions of this 
Rule, he or she can secure no 
reasonable return from, nor 
make reasonable use of, his 
or her property.  Merely 
proving that the variance 
would permit a greater profit 
from the property shall not 
be considered adequate 
justification for a variance.  
Moreover, the local 
government, or the Director 
for the cases involving 
activities listed in Item (3) of 
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this Rule, shall consider 
whether the variance is the 
minimum possible deviation 
from the terms of this Rule 
that shall make reasonable 
use of the property possible; 

(ii) The hardship results from 
application of this Rule to 
the property rather than from 
other factors such as deed 
restrictions or other 
hardship; 

(iii) The hardship is due to the 
physical nature of the 
applicant's property, such as 
its size, shape, or 
topography, and is unique to 
the applicant's property 
rather than the result of 
conditions that are 
widespread.  If other 
properties are equally 
subject to the hardship 
created in the restriction, 
then granting a variance 
would be a special privilege 
denied to others, and would 
not promote equal justice; 
and 

(iv) The applicant did not cause 
the hardship by knowingly 
or unknowingly violating 
this Rule. 

(b) The variance is in harmony with the 
general purpose and intent of the 
State's riparian buffer protection 
requirements and preserves its spirit; 
and 

(c) In granting the variance, the public 
safety and welfare have been assured, 
water quality has been protected, and 
substantial justice has been done. 

(13) MINOR VARIANCES. A minor variance 
request pertains to activities that are proposed 
to impact only Zone 2 or any portion of Zone 2 
of the riparian buffer.  Minor variance requests 
shall be reviewed and approved based on the 
criteria in Sub-Item (12)(a) of this Rule by the 
local government pursuant to G.S. 153A-
Article 18, or G.S. 160A-Article 19.  The local 
government may attach conditions to the 
variance approval that support the purpose, 
spirit and intent of the riparian buffer 
protection program.  Request for appeals to 
decisions made by the local government shall 
be made through the local government's 
appeals process, or to the Director for 
determinations involving activities listed in 
Item (3) of this Rule.  The Director's decision 

is subject to review as provided in G.S. 150B 
Articles 3 and 4. 

(14) MAJOR VARIANCES.  A major variance 
request pertains to activities that are proposed 
to impact any portion of Zone 1 of the riparian 
buffer.  If the local government, or the 
Director for the cases involving activities 
listed in Item (3) of this Rule, has determined 
that a major variance request meets the 
requirements in Sub-Item (12)(a) of this Rule, 
then it shall prepare a preliminary finding and 
submit it to the Commission for approval.  
Within 90 days after receipt by the local 
government, or the Director for the cases 
involving activities listed in Item (3) of this 
Rule, the Commission shall review 
preliminary findings on major variance 
requests.  The Commission may choose to 
approve, approve with conditions, or deny the 
major variance. 

(15) MITIGATION. Persons who wish to 
undertake uses designated as allowable with 
mitigation shall meet the following 
requirements in order to proceed with their 
proposed use. 
(a) Obtain a determination of "no 

practical alternatives" to the proposed 
use pursuant to Item (11) of this Rule; 
and 

(b) Obtain approval for a mitigation 
proposal pursuant to 15A NCAC 02B 
.0252. 

(16) REQUIREMENTS SPECIFIC TO FOREST 
HARVESTING.  The following requirements 
shall apply for forest harvesting operations and 
practices:    
(a) The following measures shall apply 

in the entire riparian buffer: 
(i) Logging decks and sawmill 

sites shall not be placed in 
the riparian buffer; 

(ii) Access roads and skid trails 
shall be prohibited except 
for temporary and permanent 
stream crossings established 
in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 01I .0203.  
Temporary stream crossings 
shall be permanently 
stabilized after any site 
disturbing activity is 
completed; 

(iii) Timber felling shall be 
directed away from the 
stream or water body; 

(iv) Skidding shall be directed 
away from the stream or 
water body and shall be done 
in a manner that minimizes 
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soil disturbance and prevents 
the creation of channels or 
ruts; 

(v) Individual trees may be 
treated to maintain or 
improve their health, form or 
vigor; 

(vi) Harvesting of dead or 
infected trees or other timber 
cutting techniques necessary 
to prevent or control 
extensive tree pest and 
disease infestation shall be 
allowed. These practices 
must be approved by the 
Division of Forest Resources 
for a specific site pursuant to 
15A NCAC 01I .0100-.0209.  
The Division of Forest 
Resources must notify the 
local government of all 
approvals; 

(vii) Removal of individual trees 
that are in danger of causing 
damage to structures or 
human life shall be allowed; 

(viii) Natural regeneration of 
forest vegetation and 
planting of trees, shrubs, or 
ground cover plants to 
enhance the riparian buffer 
shall be allowed provided 
that soil disturbance is 
minimized. Plantings shall 
consist primarily of native 
species; 

(ix) High-intensity prescribed 
burns shall not be allowed; 

(x) Application of fertilizer shall 
not be allowed except as a 
one-time use that is 
necessary for permanent 
stabilization; and 

(xi) Broadcast application of 
fertilizer or herbicides to the 
adjacent forest stand shall be 
conducted so that the 
chemicals are not applied 
directly to or allowed to drift 
into the riparian buffer; 

(b) In Zone 1, forest vegetation shall be 
protected and maintained. Selective 
harvest as provided for below is 
allowed on forest lands that have a 
deferment for use value under 
forestry in accordance with G.S. 105-
277.2 through 277.6 or on forest 
lands that have a forest management 
plan prepared or approved by a 

registered professional forester.  
Copies of either the approval of the 
deferment for use value under 
forestry or the forest management 
plan shall be produced upon request.  
For such forest lands, selective 
harvest is allowed in accordance with 
the following: 
(i) Tracked or wheeled vehicles 

are permitted for the purpose 
of selective timber 
harvesting where there is no 
other practical alternative for 
removal of individual trees 
provided activities comply 
with forest practices 
guidelines for water quality 
as defined in Rule 15A 
NCAC 01I .0101 through 
.0209, and provided no 
equipment shall operate 
within the first 10 feet  
immediately adjacent to the 
stream except at stream 
crossings designed, 
constructed and maintained 
in accordance with Rule 15A 
NCAC 01I .0203; 

(ii) Soil disturbing site 
preparation activities are not 
allowed; and 

(iii) Trees shall be removed with 
the minimum disturbance to 
the soil and residual 
vegetation: and 

(c) In addition to the requirements of (b) 
in this Item, the following provisions 
for selective harvesting shall be met: 
(i) The first 10 feet of Zone 1 

directly adjacent to the 
stream or waterbody shall be 
undisturbed except for the 
removal of individual high 
value trees as defined 
provided that no trees with 
exposed primary roots 
visible in the streambank be 
cut unless listed as an 
exempt activity under 
Vegetation Management in 
the Table of Uses (9) of this 
Rule. 

(ii) In the outer 20 feet of Zone 
1, a maximum of 50 percent 
of the trees greater than five 
inches DBH may be cut and 
removed.  The reentry time 
for harvest shall be no more 
frequent than every 15 years, 
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except on forest plantations 
where the reentry time shall 
be no more frequent than 
every five years.  In either 
case, the trees remaining 
after harvest shall be as 
evenly spaced as possible; 
and 

(iii) In Zone 2, harvesting and 
regeneration of the forest 
stand shall be allowed in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 
01I .0100 through .0209 as 
enforced by the Division of 
Forest Resources.  

(17) RULE IMPLEMENTATION.  This Rule shall 
be implemented as follows: 
(a) For activities listed in Item (3) of this 

Rule, the Division shall implement 
the requirements of this Rule as of its 
effective date; 

(b) Within six months of the effective 
revision date of this Rule, local 
governments shall review, revise as 
necessary, and submit a local 
program including all necessary 
ordinances to the Division for review.  
The local program shall detail local 
government buffer program 
implementation including but not 
limited to such factors as a method 
for resolution of disputes involving 
Authorization Certificate or variance 
determinations, a plan for record 
keeping, and a plan for enforcement.  
Local governments shall use the 
Division's publication, Identification 
Methods for the Origins of 
Intermittent and Perennial Streams, v 
3.1 February 28, 2005 available at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/swp/
ws/401/waterresources/streamdetermi
nations to  
establish the existence of streams;  

(c) Within six months of the Division 
approval of the revised local 
ordinance, the local government shall 
implement their revised buffer 
program; 

(d) Upon implementation, subject local 
governments shall submit annual 
reports to the Division summarizing 
their activities in implementing each 
of the requirements in Item (4) of this 
Rule; 

(e) The Division shall regularly audit 
local programs to ensure rule 
implementation; and 

(f) If a local government fails to adopt or 
adequately implement its program as 
called for in this Rule, the Division 
may take appropriate enforcement 
action as authorized by statute, and 
may choose to assume responsibility 
for implementing that program until 
such time as it determines that the 
local government is prepared to 
comply with its responsibilities. 

(18) Where the standards and management 
requirements for riparian areas are in conflict 
with other laws, regulations, and permits 
regarding streams, steep slopes, erodible soils, 
wetlands, floodplains, forest harvesting, 
surface mining, land disturbance activities, or 
other environmental protection areas, the more 
restrictive shall apply. 

(19) The existing water supply requirement in Rule 
.0216(3)(b) of this Section that stipulates a 100 
foot vegetated buffer, adjacent to perennial 
streams, for all new development activities 
which utilize the high density option, applies 
to the entire Randleman Lake watershed.  The 
first 50 feet of these riparian areas on either 
side of these waters must also be protected in 
accordance with all the requirements of this 
Rule. 

(20) OTHER LAWS, REGULATIONS AND 
PERMITS.  In all cases, compliance with this 
Rule does not preclude the requirement to 
comply with all other federal, state and local 
regulations and laws. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0252 RANDLEMAN LAKE WATER  
SUPPLY WATERSHED:  MITIGATION PROGRAM FOR  
PROTECTION AND MAINTENANCE OF EXISTING  
RIPARIAN BUFFERS 
The following are the requirements for the Riparian Buffer 
Mitigation Program for the Randleman Lake Water Supply 
Watershed. 

(1) PURPOSE.  The purpose of this Rule is to set 
forth the mitigation requirements that apply to 
the Randleman Lake Water Supply Watershed 
existing riparian buffer protection program, as 
described in Rule 15A NCAC 02B .0250. 

(2) APPLICABILITY.  This Rule applies to 
persons who wish to impact a riparian buffer 
in the Randleman Lake water supply 
watershed when one of the following applies: 
(a) A person has received an 

Authorization Certificate pursuant to 
15A NCAC 02B .0250 for a proposed 
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use that is designated as potentially 
allowable with mitigation; and  

(b) A person has received a variance 
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02B .0250 
and is required to perform mitigation 
as a condition of a variance approval. 

(3) THE AREA OF MITIGATION.  The required 
area of mitigation shall be determined by 
either the Division or the delegated local 
authority according to the following: 
(a) The impacts in square feet to each 

zone of the riparian buffer shall be 
determined by the Division or the 
delegated local authority by adding 
the following: 
(i) The area of the footprint of 

the use causing the impact to 
the riparian buffer; 

(ii) The area of the boundary of 
any clearing and grading 
activities within the riparian 
buffer necessary to 
accommodate the use; and  

(iii) The area of any ongoing 
maintenance corridors 
within the riparian buffer 
associated with the use: and 

(b) The required area of mitigation shall 
be determined by applying the 
following multipliers to the impacts 
determined in Sub-item (3)(a) of this 
Rule to each zone of the riparian 
buffer: 
(i) Impacts to Zone 1 of the 

riparian buffer shall be 
multiplied by 3; 

(ii) Impacts to Zone 2 of the 
riparian buffer shall be 
multiplied by 1.5; and 

(iii) Impacts to wetlands within 
Zones 1 and 2 of the riparian 
buffer that are subject to 
mitigation under 15A NCAC 
02H .0506 shall comply with 
the mitigation ratios in 15A 
NCAC 02H .0506. 

(4) THE LOCATION OF MITIGATION. The 
mitigation effort shall be the same distance 
from the Cape Fear River or its tributaries and 
within the watershed of Lake Randleman as 
the proposed impact, or closer to the Cape 
Fear River and within the watershed of Lake 
Randleman than the impact, and as close to the 
location of the impact as feasible.  

(5) ISSUANCE OF THE MITIGATION 
DETERMINATION.  The Division or the 
delegated local authority shall issue a 
mitigation determination that specifies the 

required area and location of mitigation 
pursuant to Items (3) and (4) of this Rule. 

(6) OPTIONS FOR MEETING THE 
MITIGATION DETERMINATION.  The 
mitigation determination made pursuant to 
Item (5) of this Rule may be met through one 
of the following options: 
(a) Payment of a compensatory 

mitigation fee to the Riparian Buffer 
Restoration Fund pursuant to Item (7) 
of this Rule; 

(b) Donation of real property or of an 
interest in real property pursuant to 
Item (8) of this Rule; and 

(c) Restoration or enhancement of a non-
forested riparian buffer.  This shall be 
accomplished by the applicant after 
submittal and approval of a 
restoration plan pursuant to Item (9) 
of this Rule. 

(7) PAYMENT TO THE RIPARIAN BUFFER 
RESTORATION FUND.  Persons who choose 
to satisfy their mitigation determination by 
paying a compensatory mitigation fee to the 
Riparian Buffer Restoration Fund shall do so 
in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B .0269. 

(8) DONATION OF PROPERTY.  Persons who 
choose to satisfy their mitigation 
determination by donating real property or an 
interest in real property shall meet the 
following requirements: 
(a) The donation of real property 

interests may be used to either 
partially or fully satisfy the payment 
of a compensatory mitigation fee to 
the Riparian Buffer Restoration Fund 
pursuant to Item (7) of this Rule.  The 
value of the property interest shall be 
determined by an appraisal performed 
in accordance with Sub-Item (8)(d) 
(iv) of this Rule.  The donation shall 
satisfy the mitigation determination if 
the appraised value of the donated 
property interest is equal to or greater 
than the required fee.  If the appraised 
value of the donated property interest 
is less than the required fee calculated 
pursuant to Item (7) of this Rule, the 
applicant shall pay the remaining 
balance due; 

(b) The donation of conservation 
easements to satisfy compensatory 
mitigation requirements shall be 
accepted only if the conservation 
easement is granted in perpetuity;  

(c) Donation of real property interests to 
satisfy the mitigation determination 
shall be accepted only if such 
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property meets all of the following 
requirements: 
(i) The property shall be located 

within an area that is 
identified as a priority for 
restoration in the Basinwide 
Wetlands and Riparian 
Restoration Plan developed 
by the Department pursuant 
to G.S. 143-214.10 or shall 
be located at a site that is 
otherwise consistent with the 
goals outlined in the 
Basinwide Wetlands and 
Riparian Restoration Plan; 

(ii) The property shall contain 
riparian buffers not currently 
protected by the State's 
riparian buffer protection 
program that are in need of 
restoration; 

(iii) The restorable riparian 
buffer on the property shall 
have a minimum length of 
1000 linear feet along a 
surface water and a 
minimum width of 50 feet as 
measured horizontally on a 
line perpendicular to the 
surface water; 

(iv) The size of the restorable 
riparian buffer on the 
property to be donated shall 
equal or exceed the acreage 
of riparian buffer required to 
be mitigated under the 
mitigation responsibility 
determined pursuant to Item 
(3) of this Rule; 

(v) The property shall not 
require excessive measures 
for successful restoration, 
such as removal of structures 
or infrastructure.  
Restoration of the property 
shall be capable of fully 
offsetting the adverse 
impacts of the requested use; 

(vi) The property shall be 
suitable to be successfully 
restored, based on existing 
hydrology, soils, and 
vegetation;  

(vii) The estimated cost of 
restoring and maintaining 
the property shall not exceed 
the value of the property 
minus site identification and 
land acquisition cost; 

(viii) The property shall not 
contain any building, 
structure, object, site, or 
district that is listed in the 
National Register of Historic 
Places established pursuant 
to Public Law 89-665, 16 
U.S.C. 470 as amended; 

(ix) The property shall not 
contain any hazardous 
substance or solid waste; 

(x) The property shall not 
contain structures or 
materials that present health 
or safety problems to the 
general public.  If wells, 
septic, water or sewer 
connections exist, they shall 
be filled, remediated or 
closed at owner's expense in 
accordance with state and 
local health and safety 
regulations; 

(xi) The property and adjacent 
properties shall not have 
prior, current, and known 
future land use that would 
inhibit the function of the 
restoration effort; and 

(xii) The property shall not have 
any encumbrances or 
conditions on the transfer of 
the property interests: and 

(xiii) The location of the donation 
of real property shall comply 
with the requirements in 
Item (4) of this Rule. 

(d) At the expense of the applicant or 
donor, the following information 
shall be submitted to the local 
governments, except state and federal 
entities shall submit to the Division, 
with any proposal for donations or 
dedications of interest in real 
property: 
(i) Documentation that the 

property meets the 
requirements laid out in Sub-
Item (8)(c) of this Rule; 

(ii) US Geological Survey 
1:24,000 (7.5 minute) scale 
topographic map, county tax 
map, USDA Natural 
Resource Conservation 
Service County Soil Survey 
Map, and county road map 
showing the location of the 
property to be donated along 
with information on existing 
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site conditions, vegetation 
types, presence of existing 
structures and easemants; 

(iii) A current property survey 
performed in accordance 
with the procedures of the 
North Carolina Department 
of Administration, State 
Property Office as identified 
by the State Board of 
Registration for Professional 
Engineers and Land 
Surveyors in "Standards of 
Practice for Land Surveying 
in North Carolina."  Copies 
may be obtained from the 
North Carolina State Board 
of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and 
Land Surveyors, 3620 Six 
Forks Road, Suite 300, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 
27609; 

(iv) A current appraisal of the 
value of the property 
performed in accordance 
with the procedures of the 
North Carolina Department 
of Administration, State 
Property Office as identified 
by the Appraisal Board in 
the "Uniform Standards of 
Professional North Carolina 
Appraisal Practice."  Copies 
may be obtained from the 
Appraisal Foundation, 
Publications Department, 
P.O. Box 96734, 
Washington, D.C. 20090-
6734; and  

(v) A title certificate.  
(9) RIPARIAN BUFFER RESTORATION OR 

ENHANCEMENT.  Persons who choose to 
meet their mitigation requirement through 
riparian buffer restoration or enhancement 
shall meet the following requirements: 
(a) The applicant may restore or enhance 

a non-forested riparian buffer if either 
of the following applies: 
(i) The area of riparian buffer 

restoration is equal to the 
required area of mitigation 
determined pursuant to Item 
(3) of this Rule; and 

(ii) The area of riparian buffer 
enhancement is three times 
larger than the required area 
of mitigation determined 

pursuant to Item (3) of this 
Rule; 

(b) The location of the riparian buffer 
restoration or enhancement shall 
comply with the requirements in Item 
(4) of this Rule; 

(c) The riparian buffer restoration or 
enhancement site shall have a 
minimum width of 50 feet as 
measured horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to the surface water; 

(d) Enhancement and restoration shall 
both have the objective of 
establishing a forested riparian buffer 
according to the requirements of this 
Item.  Enhancement, shall be 
distinguished from the restoration 
based on existing buffer conditions.  
Where existing woody vegetation is 
sparse, that is greater than or equal to 
100 trees per acre, but less than 200 
trees per acre, a buffer may be 
enhanced.  Where existing woody 
vegetation is absent, that is less than 
100 trees per acre, a buffer may be 
restored; 

(e) The applicant shall first receive an 
Authorization Certificate for the 
proposed use according to the 
requirements of 15A NCAC 02B 
.0250.  After receiving this 
determination, the applicant shall 
submit a restoration or enhancement 
plan for approval by the local 
government, except for state and 
federal entities that shall submit a 
restoration or enhancement plan for 
approval to the Division.  The 
restoration or enhancement plan shall 
contain the following: 
(i) A map of the proposed 

restoration or enhancement 
site; 

(ii) A vegetation plan.  The 
vegetation plan shall include 
a minimum of at least two 
native hardwood tree species 
planted at a density 
sufficient to provide 320 
trees per acre at maturity; 

(iii) A grading plan.  The site 
shall be graded in a manner 
to ensure diffuse flow 
through the riparian buffer; 

(iv) A fertilization plan; and 
(v) A schedule for 

implementation; 
(f) Within one year after the Division has 

approved the restoration or 
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enhancement plan, the applicant shall 
present proof to the Division that the 
riparian buffer has been restored or 
enhanced.  If proof is not presented 
within this timeframe, then the person 
shall be in violation of the State's or 
the delegated local authority's riparian 
buffer protection program; 

(g) The mitigation area shall be placed 
under a perpetual conservation 
easement that will provide for 
protection of the property's sediment 
removal functions; and 

(h) The applicant shall submit annual 
reports for a period of five years after 
the restoration or enhancement 
showing that the trees planted have 
survived and that diffuse flow 
through the riparian buffer has been 
maintained.  The applicant shall 
replace trees that do not survive and 
restore diffuse flow if needed during 
that five-year period. 

 
History Note: Authority 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-
215.3(a)(1); S.L. 1998, c. 221; 
Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0208 USE STANDARDS 
(a)  General Use Standards 

(1) Uses which are not water dependent shall not 
be permitted in coastal wetlands, estuarine 
waters, and public trust areas.  Restaurants, 
residences, apartments, motels, hotels, trailer 
parks, private roads, factories, and parking lots 
are examples of uses that are not water 
dependent.  Uses that are water dependent 
include: utility crossings, docks, wharves, boat 
ramps, dredging, bridges and bridge 
approaches, revetments, bulkheads, culverts, 
groins, navigational aids, mooring pilings, 
navigational channels, access channels and 
drainage ditches. 

(2) Before being granted a permit, the CRC or 
local permitting authority shall find that the 
applicant has complied with the following 
standards: 
(A) The location, design, and need for 

development, as well as the 
construction activities involved shall 
be consistent with the management 
objective of the Estuarine and Ocean 
System AEC and shall be sited and 
designed to avoid significant adverse 
impacts upon the productivity and 
biologic integrity of coastal wetlands, 
shellfish beds, submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the Marine 
Fisheries Commission, and spawning 
and nursery areas. 

(B) Development shall comply with state 
and federal water and air quality 
standards. 

(C) Development shall not cause 
irreversible damage to documented 
archaeological or historic resources as 
identified by the N.C. Department of 
Cultural Resources. 

(D) Development shall not increase 
siltation. 

(E) Development shall not create stagnant 
water bodies. 

(F) Development shall be timed to avoid 
significant adverse impacts on life 
cycles of estuarine and ocean 
resources. 

(G) Development shall not jeopardize the 
use of the waters for navigation or for 
other public trust rights in public trust 
areas including estuarine waters. 

(3) When the proposed development is in conflict 
with the general or specific use standards set 
forth in this Rule, the CRC may approve the 
development if the applicant can demonstrate 
that the activity associated with the proposed 
project will have public benefits as identified 
in the findings and goals of the Coastal Area 
Management Act, that the public benefits 
outweigh the long range adverse effects of the 
project, that there is no reasonable alternate 
site available for the project, and that all 
reasonable means and measures to mitigate 
adverse impacts of the project have been 
incorporated into the project design and shall 
be implemented at the applicant's expense.  
Measures taken to mitigate or minimize 
adverse impacts shall include actions that will: 
(A) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by 

limiting the magnitude or degree of 
the action; 

(B) restore the affected environment; or 
(C) compensate for the adverse impacts 

by replacing or providing substitute 
resources. 

(4) Primary nursery areas are those areas in the 
estuarine and ocean system where initial post 
larval development of finfish and crustaceans 
takes place.  They are usually located in the 
uppermost sections of a system where 
populations are uniformly early juvenile 
stages.  They are designated and described by 
the N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission (MFC) 
and by the N.C. Wildlife Resources 
Commission (WRC). 

(5) Outstanding Resource Waters are those 
estuarine waters and public trust areas 
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classified by the N.C. Environmental 
Management Commission (EMC).  In those 
estuarine waters and public trust areas 
classified as ORW by the EMC no permit 
required by the Coastal Area Management Act 
shall be approved for any project which would 
be inconsistent with applicable use standards 
adopted by the CRC, EMC, or MFC for 
estuarine waters, public trust areas, or coastal 
wetlands.  For development activities not 
covered by specific use standards, no permit 
shall be issued if the activity would, based on 
site specific information, degrade the water 
quality or outstanding resource values. 

(6) Beds of submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV) 
are those habitats in public trust and estuarine 
waters vegetated with one or more species of 
submergent vegetation.  These vegetation beds 
occur in both subtidal and intertidal zones and 
may occur in isolated patches or cover 
extensive areas.  In either case, the bed is 
defined by the Marine Fisheries Commission.  
Any rules relating to SAVs shall not apply to 
non-development control activities authorized 
by the Aquatic Weed Control Act of 1991 
(G.S. 113A-220 et seq.). 

(b)  Specific Use Standards 
(1) Navigation channels, canals, and boat basins 

shall be aligned or located so as to avoid 
primary nursery areas, shellfish beds, beds of 
submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by 
the MFC, or areas of coastal wetlands except 
as otherwise allowed within this Subchapter.  
Navigation channels, canals and boat basins 
shall also comply with the following 
standards: 
(A) Navigation channels and canals may 

be allowed through fringes of 
regularly and irregularly flooded 
coastal wetlands if the loss of 
wetlands will have no significant 
adverse impacts on fishery resources, 
water quality or adjacent wetlands, 
and, if there is no reasonable 
alternative that would avoid the 
wetland losses. 

(B) All dredged material shall be 
confined landward of regularly and 
irregularly flooded coastal wetlands 
and stabilized to prevent entry of 
sediments into the adjacent water 
bodies or coastal wetlands. 

(C) Dredged material from maintenance 
of channels and canals through 
irregularly flooded wetlands shall be 
placed on non-wetland areas, remnant 
spoil piles, or disposed of by a 
method having no significant, long-
term wetland impacts.  Under no 

circumstances shall dredged material 
be placed on regularly flooded 
wetlands.  New dredged material 
disposal areas shall not be located in 
the buffer area as outlined in 15A 
NCAC 07H .0209(d)(10). 

(D) Widths of excavated canals and 
channels shall be the minimum 
required to meet the applicant's needs 
but not impair water circulation. 

(E) Boat basin design shall maximize 
water exchange by having the widest 
possible opening and the shortest 
practical entrance canal. Depths of 
boat basins shall decrease from the 
waterward end inland. 

(F) Any canal or boat basin shall be 
excavated no deeper than the depth of 
the connecting waters. 

(G) Construction of finger canal systems 
shall not be allowed.  Canals shall be 
either straight or meandering with no 
right angle corners. 

(H) Canals shall be designed so as not to 
create an erosion hazard to adjoining 
property. Design may include 
shoreline stabilization, vegetative 
stabilization, or setbacks based on 
soil characteristics. 

(I) Maintenance excavation in canals, 
channels and boat basins within 
primary nursery areas and areas of 
submerged aquatic vegetation as 
defined by the MFC shall be avoided.  
However, when essential to maintain 
a traditional and established use, 
maintenance excavation may be 
approved if the applicant meets all of 
the following criteria: 
(i) The applicant demonstrates 

and documents that a 
water-dependent need exists 
for the excavation;  

(ii) There exists a previously 
permitted channel that was 
constructed or maintained 
under permits issued by the 
State or Federal government.  
If a natural channel was in 
use, or if a human-made 
channel was constructed 
before permitting was 
necessary, there shall be 
evidence that the channel 
was continuously used for a 
specific purpose;  

(iii) Excavated material can be 
removed and placed in a 
disposal area in accordance 
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with Part (b)(1)(B) of this 
Rule without impacting 
adjacent nursery areas and 
submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by the 
MFC; and 

(iv) The original depth and width 
of a human-made or natural 
channel shall not be 
increased to allow a new or 
expanded use of the channel. 

This Part does not affect restrictions 
placed on permits issued 
after March 1, 1991. 

(2) Hydraulic Dredging 
(A) The terminal end of the dredge 

pipeline shall be positioned at a 
distance sufficient to preclude erosion 
of the containment dike and a 
maximum distance from spillways to 
allow settlement of suspended solids. 

(B) Dredged material shall be either 
confined on high ground by retaining 
structures or deposited on beaches for 
purposes of renourishment, if the 
material is suitable in accordance 
with the Rules in this Subchapter 
except as provided in Part (G) of this 
Subparagraph. 

(C) Confinement of excavated materials 
shall be landward of all coastal 
wetlands and shall employ soil 
stabilization measures to prevent 
entry of sediments into the adjacent 
water bodies or coastal wetlands. 

(D) Effluent from diked areas receiving 
disposal from hydraulic dredging 
operations shall be contained by pipe, 
trough, or similar device to a point 
waterward of emergent vegetation or, 
where local conditions require, below 
normal low water or normal water 
level. 

(E) When possible, effluent from diked 
disposal areas shall be returned to the 
area being dredged. 

(F) A water control structure shall be 
installed at the intake end of the 
effluent pipe. 

(G) Publicly funded projects shall be 
considered by review agencies on a 
case-by-case basis with respect to 
dredging methods and dredged 
material disposal in accordance with 
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

(H) Dredged material from closed 
shellfish waters and effluent from 
diked disposal areas used when 
dredging in closed shellfish waters 

shall be returned to the closed 
shellfish waters. 

(3) Drainage Ditches 
(A) Drainage ditches located through any 

coastal wetland shall not exceed six 
feet wide by four feet deep (from 
ground surface) unless the applicant 
shows that larger ditches are 
necessary. 

(B) Dredged material derived from the 
construction or maintenance of 
drainage ditches through regularly 
flooded marsh shall be placed 
landward of these marsh areas in a 
manner that will insure that entry of 
sediment into the water or marsh will 
not occur. Dredged material derived 
from the construction or maintenance 
of drainage ditches through 
irregularly flooded marshes shall be 
placed on  non-wetlands wherever 
feasible. Non-wetland areas include 
relic disposal sites. 

(C) Excavation of new ditches through 
high ground shall take place landward 
of an earthen plug or other methods 
to minimize siltation to adjacent 
water bodies. 

(D) Drainage ditches shall not have a 
significant adverse impact on primary 
nursery areas, productive shellfish 
beds, submerged aquatic vegetation 
as defined by the MFC, or other 
estuarine habitat.  Drainage ditches 
shall be designed so as to minimize 
the effects of freshwater inflows, 
sediment, and the introduction of 
nutrients to receiving waters.  Settling 
basins, water gates and retention 
structures are examples of design 
alternatives that may be used to 
minimize sediment introduction. 

(4) Nonagricultural Drainage 
(A) Drainage ditches shall be designed so 

that restrictions in the volume or 
diversions of flow are minimized to 
both surface and ground water. 

(B) Drainage ditches shall provide for the 
passage of migratory organisms by 
allowing free passage of water of 
sufficient depth. 

(C) Drainage ditches shall not create 
stagnant water pools or changes in the 
velocity of flow. 

(5) Marinas.  Marinas are defined as any publicly 
or privately owned dock, basin or wet boat 
storage facility constructed to accommodate 
more than 10 boats and providing any of the 
following services: permanent or transient 
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docking spaces, dry storage, fueling facilities, 
haulout facilities and repair service.  Excluded 
from this definition are boat ramp facilities 
allowing access only, temporary docking and 
none of the preceding services.  Expansion of 
existing facilities shall comply with these 
standards for all development other than 
maintenance and repair necessary to maintain 
previous service levels.  Marinas shall comply 
with the following standards: 
(A) Marinas shall be sited in non-wetland 

areas or in deep waters (areas not 
requiring dredging) and shall not 
disturb shellfish resources, 
submerged aquatic vegetation as 
defined by the MFC, or wetland 
habitats, except for dredging 
necessary for access to high-ground 
sites.  The following four alternatives 
for siting marinas are listed in order 
of preference for the least damaging 
alterative; marina projects shall be 
designed to have the highest of these 
four priorities that is deemed feasible 
by the permit letting agency: 
(i) an upland basin site 

requiring no alteration of 
wetland or estuarine habitat 
and providing flushing by 
tidal or wind generated 
water circulation or basin 
design characteristics; 

(ii) an upland basin site 
requiring dredging for access 
when the necessary dredging 
and operation of the marina 
will not result in significant 
adverse impacts to existing 
fishery, shellfish, or wetland 
resources and the basin 
design shall provide flushing 
by tidal or wind generated 
water circulation; 

(iii) an open water site located 
outside a primary nursery 
area which utilizes piers or 
docks rather than channels 
or canals to reach deeper 
water; and 

(iv) an open water marina 
requiring excavation of no 
intertidal habitat, and no 
dredging greater than the 
depth of the connecting 
channel. 

(B) Marinas which require dredging shall 
not be located in primary nursery 
areas nor in areas which require 
dredging through primary nursery 

areas for access. Maintenance 
dredging in primary nursery areas for 
existing marinas shall comply with 
the standards set out in Part (b)(1)(I) 
of this Rule. 

(C) To minimize coverage of public trust 
areas by docks and moored vessels, 
dry storage marinas shall be used 
where feasible. 

(D) Marinas to be developed in waters 
subject to public trust rights (other 
than those created by dredging upland 
basins or canals) for the purpose of 
providing docking for residential 
developments shall be allowed no 
more than 27 square feet of public 
trust areas for every one linear foot of 
shoreline adjacent to these public 
trust areas for construction of docks 
and mooring facilities.  The 27 square 
feet allocation shall not apply to 
fairway areas between parallel piers 
or any portion of the pier used only 
for access from land to the docking 
spaces. 

(E) To protect water quality in 
shellfishing areas, marinas shall not 
be located within areas where 
shellfish harvesting for human 
consumption is a significant existing 
use or adjacent to such areas if 
shellfish harvest closure is anticipated 
to result from the location of the 
marina.  In compliance with 33 U.S. 
Code Section 101(a)(2) of the Clean 
Water Act and North Carolina Water 
Quality Standards adopted pursuant 
to that section, shellfish harvesting is 
a significant existing use if it can be 
established that shellfish have been 
regularly harvested for human 
consumption since November 28, 
1975 or that shellfish are propagating 
and surviving in a biologically 
suitable habitat and are available and 
suitable for harvesting for the purpose 
of human consumption.  The Division 
of Coastal Management shall consult 
with the Division of Marine Fisheries 
regarding the significance of shellfish 
harvest as an existing use and the 
magnitude of the quantities of 
shellfish that have been harvested or 
are available for harvest in the area 
where harvest will be affected by the 
development. 

(F) Marinas shall not be located without 
written consent from the leaseholders 
or owners of submerged lands that 



APPROVED RULES 
 

 
25:01                                                                NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                           JULY 1, 2010 

70 

have been leased from the state or 
deeded by the state. 

(G) Marina basins shall be designed to 
promote flushing through the 
following design criteria: 
(i) the basin and channel depths 

shall gradually increase 
toward open water and shall 
never be deeper than the 
waters to which they 
connect; and 

(ii) when possible, an opening 
shall be provided at opposite 
ends of the basin to establish 
flow-through circulation. 

(H) Marinas shall be designed so that the 
capability of the waters to be used for 
navigation or for other public trust 
rights in estuarine or public trust 
waters are not jeopardized while 
allowing the applicant access to deep 
waters. 

(I) Marinas shall be located and 
constructed so as to avoid adverse 
impacts on navigation throughout all 
federally maintained channels and 
their boundaries as designated by the 
US Army Corps of Engineers.  This 
includes mooring sites (permanent or 
temporary); speed or traffic 
reductions; or any other device, either 
physical or regulatory, that may cause 
a federally maintained channel to be 
restricted. 

(J) Open water marinas shall not be 
enclosed within breakwaters that 
preclude circulation sufficient to 
maintain water quality. 

(K) Marinas which require dredging shall 
provide areas in accordance with Part 
(b)(1)(B) of this Rule to 
accommodate disposal needs for 
future maintenance dredging, 
including the ability to remove the 
dredged material from the marina 
site. 

(L) Marina design shall comply with all 
applicable EMC requirements for 
management of stormwater runoff.  
Stormwater management systems 
shall not be located within the 30-foot 
buffer area outlined in 15A NCAC 
07H .0209(d). 

(M) Marinas shall post a notice 
prohibiting the discharge of any 
waste from boat toilets and listing the 
availability of local pump-out 
services. 

(N) Boat maintenance areas shall be 
designed so that all scraping, 
sandblasting, and painting will be 
done over dry land with collection 
and containment devices that prevent 
entry of waste materials into adjacent 
waters. 

(O) All marinas shall comply with all 
applicable standards for docks and 
piers, shoreline stabilization, 
dredging and dredged material 
disposal of this Rule. 

(P) All applications for marinas shall be 
reviewed by the Division of Coastal 
Management to determine their 
potential impact to coastal resources 
and compliance with applicable 
standards of this Rule.  Such review 
shall also consider the cumulative 
impacts of marina development in 
accordance with G.S. 113A-120(10). 

(Q) Replacement of existing marinas to 
maintain previous service levels shall 
be allowed provided that the 
development complies with the 
standards for marina development 
within this Section. 

(6) Piers and Docking Facilities. 
(A) Piers shall not exceed six feet in 

width.  Piers greater than six feet in 
width shall be permitted only if the 
greater width is necessary for safe 
use, to improve public access, or to 
support a water dependent use that 
cannot otherwise occur. 

(B) The total square footage of shaded 
impact for docks and mooring 
facilities (excluding the pier) allowed 
shall be 8 square feet per linear foot 
of shoreline with a maximum of 
2,000 square feet.  In calculating the 
shaded impact, uncovered open water 
slips shall not be counted in the total.  
Projects requiring dimensions greater 
than those stated in this Rule shall be 
permitted only if the greater 
dimensions are necessary for safe use, 
to improve public access, or to 
support a water dependent use that 
cannot otherwise occur.  Size 
restrictions shall not apply to marinas. 

(C) Piers and docking facilities over 
coastal wetlands shall be no wider 
than six feet and shall be elevated at 
least three feet above any coastal 
wetland substrate as measured from 
the bottom of the decking. 

(D) A boathouse shall not exceed 400 
square feet except to accommodate a 
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documented need for a larger 
boathouse and shall have sides 
extending no farther than one-half the 
height of the walls and only covering 
the top half of the walls.  
Measurements of square footage shall 
be taken of the greatest exterior 
dimensions.  Boathouses shall not be 
allowed on lots with less than 75 
linear feet of shoreline.  Size 
restrictions shall not apply to marinas. 

(E) The total area enclosed by an 
individual boat lift shall not exceed 
400 square feet except to 
accommodate a documented need for 
a larger boat lift. 

(F) Piers and docking facilities shall be 
single story.  They may be roofed but 
shall not be designed to allow second 
story use. 

(G) Pier and docking facility length shall 
be limited by: 
(i) not extending beyond the 

established pier or docking 
facility length along the 
same shoreline for similar 
use; (This restriction shall 
not apply to piers 100 feet or 
less in length unless 
necessary to avoid 
unreasonable interference 
with navigation or other uses 
of the waters by the public); 

(ii) not extending into the 
channel portion of the water 
body; and 

(iii) not extending more than 
one-fourth the width of a 
natural water body, or 
human-made canal or basin.  
Measurements to determine 
widths of the water body, 
canals or basins shall be 
made from the waterward 
edge of any coastal wetland 
vegetation that borders the 
water body.  The one-fourth 
length limitation shall not 
apply in areas where the 
U.S. Army Corps of Engi-
neers, or a local government 
in consultation with the 
Corps of Engineers, has 
established an official 
pier-head line.  The one-
fourth length limitation shall 
not apply when the proposed 
pier is located between 
longer piers or docking 

facilities within 200 feet of 
the applicant's property.  
However, the proposed pier 
or docking facility shall not 
be longer than the pier head 
line established by the 
adjacent piers or docking 
facilities, nor longer than 
one-third the width of the 
water body. 

(H) Piers or docking facilities longer than 
400 feet shall be permitted only if the 
proposed length gives access to 
deeper water at a rate of at least 1 foot 
each 100 foot increment of length 
longer than 400 feet, or, if the 
additional length is necessary to span 
some obstruction to navigation.  
Measurements to determine lengths 
shall be made from the waterward 
edge of any coastal wetland 
vegetation that borders the water 
body. 

(I) Piers and docking facilities shall not 
interfere with the access to any 
riparian property and shall have a 
minimum setback of 15 feet between 
any part of the pier or docking facility 
and the adjacent property owner's 
areas of riparian access.  The line of 
division of areas of riparian access 
shall be established by drawing a line 
along the channel or deep water in 
front of the properties, then drawing a 
line perpendicular to the line of the 
channel so that it intersects with the 
shore at the point the upland property 
line meets the water's edge.  The 
minimum setback provided in the rule 
may be waived by the written 
agreement of the adjacent riparian 
owner(s) or when two adjoining 
riparian owners are co-applicants.  
Should the adjacent property be sold 
before construction of the pier or 
docking facility commences, the 
applicant shall obtain a written 
agreement with the new owner 
waiving the minimum setback and 
submit it to the permitting agency 
prior to initiating any development of 
the pier. Application of this Rule may 
be aided by reference to the approved 
diagram in 15A NCAC 07H .1205(q) 
illustrating the rule as applied to 
various shoreline configurations.  
Copies of the diagram may be 
obtained from the Division of Coastal 
Management.  When shoreline 
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configuration is such that a 
perpendicular alignment cannot be 
achieved, the pier shall be aligned to 
meet the intent of this Rule to the 
maximum extent practicable as 
determined by the Director of the 
Division of Coastal Management. 

(J) Applicants for authorization to 
construct a pier or docking facility 
shall provide notice of the permit 
application to the owner of any part 
of a shellfish franchise or lease over 
which the proposed dock or pier 
would extend.  The applicant shall 
allow the lease holder the opportunity 
to mark a navigation route from the 
pier to the edge of the lease. 

(7) Bulkheads  
(A) Bulkhead alignment, for the purpose 

of shoreline stabilization, shall 
approximate the location of normal 
high water or normal water level. 

(B) Bulkheads shall be constructed 
landward of coastal wetlands in order 
to avoid significant adverse impacts 
to the resources. 

(C) Bulkhead backfill material shall be 
obtained from an upland source 
approved by the Division of Coastal 
Management pursuant to this Section, 
or if the bulkhead is a part of a 
permitted project involving 
excavation from a non-upland source, 
the material so obtained may be 
contained behind the bulkhead. 

(D) Bulkheads shall be permitted below 
normal high water or normal water 
level only when the following 
standards are met: 
(i) the property to be 

bulkheaded has an 
identifiable erosion problem, 
whether it results from 
natural causes or adjacent 
bulkheads, or it has unusual 
geographic or geologic 
features, e.g. steep grade 
bank, which will cause the 
applicant unreasonable 
hardship under the other pro-
visions of this Rule; 

(ii) the bulkhead alignment 
extends no further below 
normal high water or normal 
water level than necessary to 
allow recovery of the area 
eroded in the year prior to 
the date of application, to 
align with adjacent 

bulkheads, or to mitigate the 
unreasonable hardship re-
sulting from the unusual 
geographic or geologic 
features; 

(iii) the bulkhead alignment will 
not adversely impact public 
trust rights or the property of 
adjacent riparian owners; 

(iv) the need for a bulkhead 
below normal high water or 
normal water level is do-
cumented by the Division of 
Coastal Management; and 

(v) the property to be 
bulkheaded is in a non-
oceanfront area. 

(E) Where possible, sloping rip-rap, 
gabions, or vegetation shall be used 
rather than bulkheads. 

(8) Beach Nourishment 
(A) Beach creation or maintenance may 

be allowed to enhance water related 
recreational facilities for public, 
commercial, and private use 
consistent with the following: 
(i) Beaches may be created or 

maintained in areas where 
they have historically been 
found due to natural 
processes. 

(ii) Material placed in the water 
and along the shoreline shall 
be clean sand and free from 
pollutants.  Grain size shall 
be equal to that found 
naturally at the site. 

(iii) Beach creation shall not be 
allowed in primary nursery 
areas, nor in any areas where 
siltation from the site would 
pose a threat to shellfish 
beds. 

(iv) Material shall not be placed 
on any coastal wetlands or 
submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by 
MFC. 

(v) Material shall not be placed 
on any submerged bottom 
with significant shellfish 
resources as identified by the 
Division of Marine Fisheries 
during the permit review. 

(vi) Beach construction shall not 
create the potential for 
filling adjacent navigation 
channels, canals or boat 
basins. 
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(B) Placing unconfined sand material in 
the water and along the shoreline 
shall not be allowed as a method of 
shoreline erosion control. 

(C) Material from dredging projects may 
be used for beach nourishment if: 
(i) it is first handled in a 

manner consistent with 
dredged material disposal as 
set forth in this Rule. 

(ii) it is allowed to dry prior to 
being placed on the beach; 
and 

(iii) only that material of 
acceptable grain size as set 
forth in Subpart (b)(8)(A)(ii) 
of this Rule is removed from 
the disposal site for 
placement on the beach.  
Material shall not be placed 
directly on the beach by 
dredge or dragline during 
maintenance excavation. 

(D) Beach construction shall comply with 
state and federal water quality 
standards. 

(E) The renewal of permits for beach 
nourishment projects shall require an 
evaluation by the Division of Coastal 
Management of any adverse impacts 
of the original work. 

(F) Permits issued for beach nourishment 
shall be limited to authorizing beach 
nourishment only one time.  Permits 
may be renewed or modified for 
maintenance work or repeated need 
for nourishment. 

(9) Groins 
(A) Groins shall not extend more than 25 

feet waterward of the normal high 
water or normal water level unless a 
longer structure is justified by site 
specific conditions and by an 
individual who meets any North 
Carolina occupational licensing 
requirements for the type of structure 
being proposed and approved during 
the application process. 

(B) Groins shall be set back a minimum 
of 15 feet from the adjoining riparian 
lines.  The setback for rock groins 
shall be measured from the toe of the 
structure.  This setback may be 
waived by written agreement of the 
adjacent riparian owner(s) or when 
two adjoining riparian owners are 
co-applicants.  Should the adjacent 
property be sold before construction 
of the groin commences, the applicant 

shall obtain a written agreement with 
the new owner waiving the minimum 
setback and submit it to the 
permitting agency prior to initiating 
any development of the groin. 

(C) Groins shall pose no threat to 
navigation. 

(D) The height of groins shall not exceed 
one foot above normal high water or 
normal water level. 

(E) No more than two structures shall be 
allowed per 100 feet of shoreline 
unless the applicant provides 
evidence that more structures are 
needed for shoreline stabilization. 

(F) "L" and "T" sections shall not be 
allowed at the end of groins. 

(G) Riprap material used for groin 
construction shall be free from loose 
dirt or any other pollutant and of a 
size sufficient to prevent its 
movement from the site by wave and 
current action. 

(10) "Freestanding Moorings". 
(A) A "freestanding mooring" is any 

means to attach a ship, boat, vessel, 
floating structure or other water craft 
to a stationary underwater device, 
mooring buoy, buoyed anchor, or 
piling (as long as the piling is not 
associated with an existing or 
proposed pier, dock, or boathouse). 

(B) Freestanding moorings shall be 
permitted only: 
(i) to riparian property owners 

within their riparian 
corridors; or 

(ii) to any applicant proposing to 
locate a mooring buoy 
consistent with a water use 
plan that is included in either 
the local zoning or land use 
plan. 

(C) All mooring fields shall provide an 
area for access to any mooring(s) and 
other land based operations that shall 
include wastewater pumpout, trash 
disposal and vehicle parking. 

(D) To protect water quality of 
shellfishing areas, mooring fields 
shall not be located within areas 
where shellfish harvesting for human 
consumption is a significant existing 
use or adjacent to such areas if 
shellfish harvest closure is anticipated 
to result from the location of the 
mooring field. In compliance with 
Section 101(a)(2) of the Federal 
Water Pollution Control Act, 33 



APPROVED RULES 
 

 
25:01                                                                NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                           JULY 1, 2010 

74 

U.S.C. 1251 (a)(2), and North 
Carolina Water Quality Standards 
adopted pursuant to that section, 
shellfish harvesting is a significant 
existing use if it can be established 
that shellfish have been regularly 
harvested for human consumption 
since November 28, 1975 or that 
shellfish are propagating and 
surviving in a biologically suitable 
habitat and are available and suitable 
for harvesting for the purpose of 
human consumption.  The Division of 
Marine Fisheries shall be consulted 
regarding the significance of shellfish 
harvest as an existing use and the 
magnitude of the quantities of 
shellfish that have been harvested or 
are available for harvest in the area 
where harvest will be affected by the 
development. 

(E) Moorings shall not be located without 
written consent from the leaseholders 
or owners of submerged lands that 
have been leased from the state or 
deeded by the state. 

(F) Moorings shall be located and 
constructed so as to avoid adverse 
impacts on navigation throughout all 
federally maintained channels.  This 
includes mooring sites (permanent or 
temporary), speed or traffic 
reductions, or any other device, either 
physical or regulatory, which may 
cause a federally maintained channel 
to be restricted. 

(G) Open water moorings shall not be 
enclosed within breakwaters that 
preclude circulation and degrade 
water quality in violation of EMC 
standards. 

(H) Moorings and the associated land 
based operation design shall comply 
with all applicable EMC requirements 
for management of stormwater 
runoff. 

(I) Mooring fields shall have posted in 
view of patrons a notice prohibiting 
the discharge of any waste from boat 
toilets or any other discharge and 
listing the availability of local pump-
out services and waste disposal. 

(J) Freestanding moorings associated 
with commercial shipping, public 
service or temporary construc-
tion/salvage operations may be 
permitted without a public sponsor. 

(K) Freestanding mooring buoys and piles 
shall be evaluated based upon the arc 

of the swing including the length of 
the vessel to be moored.  Moorings 
and the attached vessel shall not 
interfere with the access of any 
riparian owner nor shall it block 
riparian access to channels, deep 
water, etc. which allows riparian 
access.  Freestanding moorings shall 
not interfere with the ability of any 
riparian owner to place a pier for 
access.   

(L) Freestanding moorings shall not be 
established in submerged cable/pipe 
crossing areas or in a manner that 
interferes with the operations of an 
access through any bridge. 

(M) Freestanding moorings shall be 
marked or colored in compliance with 
U.S. Coast Guard and the WRC 
requirements and the required 
marking maintained for the life of the 
mooring(s). 

(N) The type of material used to create a 
mooring must be free of pollutants 
and of a design and type of material 
so as to not present a hazard to 
navigation or public safety. 

(11) Filling of Canals, Basins and Ditches - 
Notwithstanding the general use standards for 
estuarine systems as set out in Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule, filling canals, basins and ditches 
shall be allowed if all of the following 
conditions are met: 
(A) the area to be filled was not created 

by excavating lands which were 
below the normal high water or 
normal water level;  

(B) if the area was created from wetlands, 
the elevation of the proposed filling 
does not exceed the elevation of said 
wetlands so that wetland function will 
be restored;  

(C) the filling will not adversely impact 
any designated primary nursery area, 
shellfish bed, submerged aquatic 
vegetation as defined by the MFC, 
coastal wetlands, public trust right or 
public trust usage; and 

(D) the filling will not adversely affect 
the value and enjoyment of property 
of any riparian owner. 

(12) "Submerged Lands Mining" 
(A) Development Standards.  Mining of 

submerged lands shall meet all the 
following standards:  
(i) The biological productivity 

and biological significance 
of mine sites, or borrow sites 
used for sediment extraction, 
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shall be evaluated for 
significant adverse impacts 
and a protection strategy for 
these natural functions and 
values provided with the 
state approval request or 
permit application; 

(ii) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 
artificial reefs, seaweed 
communities, and significant 
benthic communities 
identified by the Division of 
Marine Fisheries or the 
WRC shall be avoided; 

(iii) Mining shall avoid 
significant archaeological 
resources as defined in Rule 
.0509 of this Subchapter; 
shipwrecks identified by the 
Department of Cultural 
Resources; and unique 
geological features that 
require protection from 
uncontrolled or incompatible 
development as identified by 
the Division of Land 
Resources pursuant to G.S. 
113A-113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Mining activities shall not be 
conducted on or within 500 
meters of significant 
biological communities 
identified by the Division of 
Marine Fisheries or the 
WRC; such as high relief 
hard bottom areas.  High 
relief is defined for this 
standard as relief greater 
than or equal to one-half 
meter per five meters of 
horizontal distance; 

(v) Mining activities shall be 
timed to minimize impacts 
on the life cycles of 
estuarine or ocean resources; 
and 

(vi) Mining activities shall not 
affect potable groundwater 
supplies, wildlife, 
freshwater, estuarine, or 
marine fisheries.  

(B) Permit Conditions.  Permits for 
submerged lands mining may be 
conditioned on the applicant 
amending the mining proposal to 
include measures necessary to insure 
compliance with the provisions of the 
Mining Act and the rules for 
development set out in this 

Subchapter.  Permit conditions shall 
also include: 
(i) Monitoring shall be required 

of the applicant to ensure 
compliance with all 
applicable development 
standards; and 

(ii) A determination of the 
necessity and feasibility of 
restoration shall be made by 
the Division of Coastal 
Management as part of the 
permit or consistency review 
process.  Restoration shall be 
necessary where it will 
facilitate recovery of the pre-
development ecosystem.  
Restoration shall be 
considered feasible unless, 
after consideration of all 
practicable restoration 
alternatives, the Division of 
Coastal Management 
determines that the adverse 
effects of restoration 
outweigh the benefits of the 
restoration on estuarine or 
ocean resources.  If 
restoration is determined to 
be necessary and feasible, 
then the applicant shall 
submit a restoration plan to 
the Division of Coastal 
Management prior to the 
issuance of the permit. 

(C) Dredging activities for the purposes 
of mining natural resources shall be 
consistent with the development 
standards set out in this Rule. 

(D) Mitigation.  Where mining cannot be 
conducted consistent with the 
development standards set out in this 
Rule, the applicant may request 
mitigation approval under 15A 
NCAC 7M .0700. 

(E) Public Benefits Exception.  Projects 
that conflict with these standards, but 
provide a public benefit, may be 
approved pursuant to the standards 
set out in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 
Rule. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 
113A-113(b); 113A-124; 
Eff. September 9, 1977; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; April 1, 1993; February 1, 
1993; November 30, 1992; 
RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. March 21, 1996; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1996. 
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15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN  
HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 
(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 
seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 
of the Subchapter if all other provisions of this Subchapter and 
other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 
(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 

sand or gravel; 
(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 

500 square feet; 
(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 

.0308(c) of this Subchapter; 
(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 
(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with 

a foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 
packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 
square feet or less; 

(7) temporary amusement stands;  
(8) sand fences; and 
(9) swimming pools. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 
landward of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 
whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 
primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 
of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 
overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 
continued existence or use of an associated principal 
development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 
local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all 
other non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 
(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 
Rule .0306(a) of this Subchapter would preclude placement of 
permanent substantial structures on lots existing as of June 1, 
1979, buildings shall be permitted seaward of the applicable 
setback line in ocean erodible areas, but not inlet hazard areas or 
unvegetated beach areas, if each of the following conditions are 
met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean 
the maximum feasible distance possible on the 
existing lot and the development is designed to 
minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward 
of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 
whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front 
of a frontal dune, but is entirely behind the 
landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 
following design standards, which are in 
addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 
this Subchapter. 
(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 

that extends to at least four feet below 
mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 
no more than 1,000 square feet, and 
the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 
feet.  For the purpose of this Section, 
roof-covered decks and porches that 
are structurally attached shall be 
included in the calculation of 
footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 
constructed of clay, packed sand or 
gravel except in those cases where the 
development does not abut the ocean 
and is located landward of a paved 
public street or highway currently in 
use.  In those cases concrete, asphalt 
or turfstone may also be used; 

(D) No portion of a building’s total floor 
area, including elevated portions that 
are cantilevered, knee braced or 
otherwise extended beyond the 
support of pilings or footings, may 
extend oceanward of the total floor 
area of the landward-most adjacent 
building.  When the geometry or 
orientation of a lot precludes the 
placement of a building in line with 
the landward most adjacent structure 
of similar use, an average line of 
construction shall be determined by 
the Division of Coastal Management 
on a case-by-case basis in order to 
determine an ocean hazard setback 
that is landward of the vegetation 
line, static vegetation line or 
measurement line, whichever is 
applicable, a distance no less than 60 
feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 
other state and local regulations are met.  If the 
development is to be serviced by an on-site 
waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 
for such a system shall be submitted as part of 
the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  Reconfiguration and development of lots and projects that 
have a grandfather status under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 
be allowed provided that the following conditions are met: 

(1) Development is setback from the first line of 
stable natural vegetation a distance no less 
than that required by the applicable exception; 

(2) Reconfiguration shall not result in an increase 
in the number of buildable lots within the 
Ocean Hazard AEC or have other adverse 
environmental consequences. 

For the purposes of this Rule, an existing lot is a lot or tract of 
land which, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described in a 
recorded plat and which cannot be enlarged by combining the lot 
or tract of land with a contiguous lot(s) or tract(s) of land under 
the same ownership.  The footprint is defined as the greatest 
exterior dimensions of the structure, including covered decks, 
porches, and stairways, when extended to ground level. 
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(d)  The following types of water dependent development shall 
be permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of 
Rule .0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this 
Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 
(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges and causeways and accessways 
to such bridges. 

(e)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated with 
an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 
conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 
fishing and other recreational purposes 
whether on a commercial, public, or nonprofit 
basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 
ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 
limited to restaurants and retail services.  
Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 
shall be prohibited; 

(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 
of two stories; 

(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint 
of 5,000 square feet and shall be located 
landward of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 
exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint 
of 5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 
all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 

(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 
unusable, replacement or expansion of the 
associated pier house shall be permitted only if 
the pier is being replaced and returned to its 
original function. 

(f)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does 
not induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 
construction of single family piers and small scale erosion 
control measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront 
processes, shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront portions of 
shoreline that exhibit features characteristic of an Estuarine 
Shoreline.  Such features include the presence of wetland 
vegetation, and lower wave energy and erosion rates than in the 
adjoining Ocean Erodible Area.  Such development shall be 
permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 
Subchapter.  For the purpose of this Rule, small scale is defined 
as those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 
NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 07K .0203. 
(g)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 
offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 
that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 
ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 
frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule 07H 
.0305, in such a manner so as to ensure that the 
placement of the transmission lines involves 
no alteration or removal of the primary or 
frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 
lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 
to endanger the public or the public's use of 
the beach. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 
113A-113(b)(6)a; 113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-
124; 
Eff. February 2, 1981; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; February 1, 2006; September 17, 
2002 pursuant to S.L. 2002-116; August 1, 2000; August 1, 
1998; April 1, 1996; April 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; January 
1, 1991; April 1, 1987. 
 
 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
19A NCAC 02D .0607 PERMITS-WEIGHT,  
DIMENSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
(a)  Vehicle/vehicle combinations with non-divisible overwidth 
loads are limited to a maximum width of 15 feet.  After review 
of documentation of variances, the State Highway Administrator 
or his designee may authorize the issuance of a permit for 
movement of loads in excess of 15 feet wide in accordance with 
19A NCAC 02D .0600 et seq.  Exception:  A mobile/modular 
unit with maximum measurements of 16 feet wide unit and a 3 
inch gutter edge may be issued a permit. If blades of 
construction equipment or front end loader buckets cannot be 
angled to extend no more than 14 feet across the roadway, they 
shall be removed.  A blade, bucket or other attachment that is an 
original part of the equipment as manufactured may be hauled 
with the equipment without being considered a divisible load.  A 
14 feet wide mobile/modular home unit with a roof overhang not 
to exceed a total of 12 inches may be transported with a bay 
window, room extension, or porch providing the protrusion does 
not extend beyond the maximum 12 inches of roof overhang or 
the total width of overhang on the appropriate side of the home.  
An extender shall be placed on the front and rear of the mobile 
home with a length to extend horizontally equal to but not 
beyond the extreme outermost edge of the home's extension.  
The extenders shall have retro-reflective sheeting, a minimum of 
4 inches, which shall be Type III high intensity (encapsulated 
lens) or Type IV high performance (prismatic) with alternating 
fluorescent yellow and black diagonal stripes sloping towards 
the outside of the home with a minimum area of 288 square 
inches.  The bottom of the extenders shall be 6 feet to 8 feet 
above the road surface with a 5 inch amber flashing beacon 
mounted on the top of each extender.  Authorization to move 
commodities wider than 15 feet in width shall be denied if 
considered by the issuing agent to be unsafe to the traveling 
public or if the highway cannot accommodate the move due to 
width. 
(b)  A single trip permit shall be issued vehicle specific not to 
exceed a width in excess of 15 feet for all movements unless 
authorized by the State Highway Administrator or his designee 
after analysis of the proposed load and evaluation of the 
proposed route of travel.  Exception:  A mobile/modular unit 
with maximum measurements of 16 feet wide unit and a 3 inch 
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gutter edge may be issued a permit.  Permits for house moves 
may be issued as specified in G.S. 20-356 through G.S. 20-372. 
(c)  An annual oversize/overweight permit may be issued as 
follows: 

(1) for unlimited movement without an escort on 
all North Carolina highways, where permitted 
by the posted road and bridge limits, for 
vehicle/vehicle combinations transporting 
general non-divisible commodities which has a 
minimum extreme wheelbase of 51 feet and 
which does not exceed:  width of 12 feet; 
height of 13 feet, 6 inches; length of 75 feet; 
gross weight of 90,000 pounds; and axle 
weights of 12,000 pounds steer axle, 25,000 
pounds single axle, 50,000 pounds tandem 
axle, and 60,000 pounds for a three or more 
axle grouping. 

(2) for unlimited movement without the 
requirement of an escort on all North Carolina 
highways, where permitted by the posted road 
and bridge limits, for four or five axle self-
propelled equipment or special mobile 
equipment capable of traveling at a highway 
speed of 45 miles per hour which has a 
minimum wheel base of 30 feet and which 
does not exceed:  width of 10 feet; height of 13 
feet, 6 inches; length of 45 feet with front and 
rear overhang not to exceed a total of 10 feet; 
gross weight of 90,000 pounds; axle weights 
of 20,000 pounds single axle; 50,000 pounds 
tandem axle; and 60,000 pounds for a three or 
more axle grouping. 

(3) for unlimited movement with the requirement 
of an escort vehicle on all North Carolina 
highways, where permitted by the posted 
bridge and load limits, for vehicles/vehicle 
combinations transporting farm equipment and 
which does not exceed:  a width of 14 feet; a 
height of 13 feet 6 inches; and a weight as set 
forth in G.S. 20-118(b)(3). 

(4) for mobile/modular homes with a maximum 
height of 13 feet 6 inches being transported 
from the manufacturer to a North Carolina 
mobile/modular home dealership with a width 
not to exceed a 14 feet unit with an allowable 
roof overhang not to exceed a total of  12 
inches or a 16 feet wide unit with a 3 inch 
gutter edge.  These mobile/modular homes 
shall be authorized to travel on designated 
routes approved by the Department of 
Transportation considering construction work 
zones, highway lane widths, origin and 
destination or other factors to ensure safe 
movement. 

(5) to the North Carolina licensed mobile/modular 
home retail dealer and the transporter for 
delivery of mobile/modular homes not to 
exceed a maximum width of a 14 feet unit 
with a total roof overhang not to exceed 12 

inches and a height of 13 feet 6 inches.  The 
annual permit shall be valid for delivery of 
mobile/modular homes within a maximum 25-
mile radius of the dealer location.  
Confirmation of destination for delivery shall 
be carried in the permitted towing unit readily 
available for law enforcement inspection. 

(d)  The maximum weight permitted on a designated route is 
determined by the bridge capacity of bridges to be crossed 
during movement.  The route traveled from a specific origin to a 
specific destination must be included within one permitted route 
of travel.  Moves exceeding weight limits for highways or bridge 
structures shall be denied if considered by the issuing agent to be 
unsafe or if they may cause damage to such highway or 
structure.  A surety bond shall be required if the Department 
determines it is necessary to cover the cost of potential damage 
to pavement, bridges or other damages incurred during the 
permitted move. 
(e)  The standards for analysis, extreme wheelbase requirements, 
weight distribution and axle configuration requirements are 
based on a Department of Transportation engineering study with 
consideration of the infrastructure being crossed along the 
permitted route of travel.  The maximum permittable weights are 
as follows: 

(1) The maximum single trip and annual permit 
weight allowed for a specific vehicle or 
vehicle combination not including off highway 
construction equipment without an engineering 
study is: 
Steer Axle  12,000 pounds 
Single axle  25,000 pounds 
2 axle tandem  50,000 pounds 
3 or more axle group 60,000 pounds 
3 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 70,000 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 
4 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 90,000 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 
5 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 94,500 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 
5 axle vehicle combination may have a 
maximum gross weight up to 112,000 pounds 
based on the engineering study. 
6 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 108,000 pounds based on 
the engineering study. 
6 axle vehicle combination may have a 
maximum gross weight up to 120,000 pounds 
based on the engineering study. 
7 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 122,000 pounds based on 
the engineering study. 
7 axle vehicle combination may have a 
maximum gross weight up to 132,000 pounds 
based on the engineering study. 
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7 or more axle vehicle combination with a 
gross weight exceeding 132,000 pounds 
requires the engineering study. 

(2) The maximum permit weight allowed for self 
propelled off highway construction equipment 
with low pressure/flotation tires is: 
Single axle  37,000 pounds 
Tandem axle  50,000 pounds 
2 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 70,000 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 
3 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 80,000 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 
4 axle single vehicle may have a maximum 
gross weight up to 90,000 pounds based on the 
engineering study. 

(3) A vehicle combination consisting of a power 
unit and trailer hauling a sealed ship container 
may qualify for a specific route overweight 
permit not to exceed 94,500 pounds provided 
the vehicle: 
(A) Is going to or from a designated 

seaport (to include in state and out of 
state) and has been or shall be 
transported by marine shipment; 

(B) Is licensed for the maximum 
allowable weight for a 51 feet 
extreme wheelbase measurement 
specified in G.S. 20-118; 

(C) Does not exceed maximum 
dimensions of width, height and 
length specified in Chapter 20 of the 
General Statutes; 

(D) Is a vehicle combination with at least 
five axles; and 

(E) Has proper documentation (shippers 
bill of lading or trucking bill of 
lading) of sealed commodity being 
transported available for law 
enforcement officer inspection. 

(f)  Overlength permits shall be limited as follows: 
(1) Single trip permits are limited to 105 feet 

inclusive of the towing vehicle.  Approval may 
be given by the Central Permit Office for 
permitted loads in excess of 105 feet after 
review of geographic route of travel, 
consideration of local construction projects 
and other dimensions of the load.  
Mobile/modular home units shall not exceed a 
length of 80 feet inclusive of a 4 foot trailer 
tongue.  Total length inclusive of the towing 
vehicle is 105 feet. 

(2) Annual (blanket) permits shall not be issued 
for lengths to exceed 75 feet.  Mobile/modular 
home permits may be issued for a length not to 
exceed 105 feet. 

(3) Front overhang may not exceed the length of 3 
feet specified in Chapter 20 unless if 

transported otherwise would create a safety 
hazard.  If the front overhang exceeds 3 feet, 
an overlength permit may be issued. 

(g)  An Overheight Permit Application for heights in excess of 
14 feet must be submitted in writing to the Central Permit Office 
at least two working days prior to the anticipated date of 
movement.  The issuance of the permit does not imply nor 
guarantee the clearance for the permitted load and all vertical 
clearances shall be checked by the permittee prior to movement 
underneath. 
(h)  Movement shall be made between sunrise and sunset 
Monday through Saturday.  Sunday travel may be authorized 
from sunrise to sunset after consideration of the overall 
permitted dimensions.  Exception:  A 16 feet wide 
mobile/modular home unit with a maximum 3 inch gutter edge is 
restricted to travel from 9:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Monday through 
Saturday.  A 16 feet wide unit is authorized to continue 
operation after 2:30 p.m., but not beyond sunset, when traveling 
on an approved route as determined by an engineering study and 
the unit is being exported out-of-state. Additional time 
restrictions may be set by the issuing office if it is in the best 
interest for safety or to expedite flow of traffic.  No movement is 
permitted for a vehicle/vehicle combination after noon on the 
weekday preceding the six holidays of New Years Day, 
Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving 
Day and Christmas Day and no movement is permitted until 
noon on the weekday following a holiday.  If the observed 
holiday falls on the weekend, travel is restricted from 12:00 
noon on the preceding Friday through 12:00 noon on the 
following Monday.  Continuous travel (24 hour/7 day/365 days a 
year) is authorized for any vehicle/vehicle combination up to but 
not to exceed a permitted gross weight of 112,000 pounds 
provided the permitted vehicle has no other over legal dimension 
of width, height or length included in the permitted move.  
Exception:  Self-propelled equipment may be authorized for 
continuous travel with overhang (front or rear or both) not to 
exceed a total of 10 feet provided overhang is marked with high 
intensity glass bead retro-reflective sheeting tape measuring 2 
inches by 12 inches displayed on both sides and the end of the 
extension and on each side of the self-propelled vehicle 24 
inches from the road surface at nearest feasible center point 
between the steer and drive axles.  Any rear overhang must 
display a temporarily mounted brake light and a flashing amber 
light, 8 inches in diameter with a minimum candlepower of 800 
watts.  Permitted vehicles owned or leased by the same company 
or permitted vehicles originating at the same location shall travel 
at a distance of not less than two miles apart.  Convoy travel is 
not authorized except as directed by law enforcement escort. 
(i)  The speed of permitted moves shall be that which is 
reasonable and prudent for the load, considering weight and 
bulk, under conditions existing at the time; however, the 
maximum speed shall not exceed the posted speed limit.  A 
towing unit and mobile/modular home combination shall not 
exceed a maximum speed of 60 miles per hour.  The driver of 
the permitted vehicle shall avoid creating traffic congestion by 
periodically relinquishing the traffic way to allow the passage of 
following vehicles when a build up of traffic occurs. 
(j)  Additional safety measures are as follows: 
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(1) A yellow banner measuring a total length of 7 
feet x 18 inches high bearing the legend 
"Oversize Load" in 10 inches black letters 1.5 
inches wide brush stroke shall be displayed in 
one or two pieces totaling the required length 
on the front and rear bumpers of a permitted 
vehicle/vehicle combination with a width 
greater than 10 feet.  A towing unit 
mobile/modular home combination shall 
display banners of the size specified bearing 
the legend "Oversize ----- feet Load" 
identifying the nominal width of the unit in 
transport.  Escort vehicles shall display 
banners as previously specified with the 
exception of length to extend the entire width 
of the bumpers; 

(2) Red or orange flags measuring 18 inches 
square shall be displayed on all sides at the 
widest point of load for all loads in excess of  
8 feet 6 inches wide but the flags shall be so 
mounted as to not increase the overall width of 
the load; 

(3) All permitted vehicles/vehicle combinations 
shall be equipped with tires of the size 
specified and the required number of axles 
equipped with operable brakes in good 
working condition as provided in North 
Carolina Statutes and Motor Carrier and 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 
regulations; 

(4) Rear view mirrors and other safety devices on 
towing units attached for movement of 
overwidth loads shall be removed or retracted 
to conform with legal width when unit is not 
towing/hauling such vehicle or load; and 

(5) Flashing amber lights shall be used as 
determined by the issuing permit office. 

(k)  The object to be transported shall not be loaded or parked, 
day or night, on the highway right of way without specific 
permission from the office issuing the permit after confirmation 
of an emergency condition. 
(l)  No move shall be made when weather conditions render 
visibility less than 500 feet for a person or vehicle.  Moves shall 
not be made when highway is covered with snow or ice or at any 
time travel conditions are considered unsafe by the Division of 
Highways, State Highway Patrol or other Law Enforcement 
Officers having jurisdiction.  Movement of a mobile/modular 
unit exceeding a width of 10 feet is prohibited when wind 
velocities exceed 25 miles per hour in gusts. 
(m)  All obstructions, including traffic signals, signs and utility 
lines shall be removed immediately prior to and replaced 
immediately after the move at the expense of the mover, 
provided arrangements for and approval from the owner is 
obtained.  In no event are trees, shrubs, or official signs to be 
cut, trimmed or removed without personal approval from the 
Division of Highways District Engineer having jurisdiction over 
the area involved.  In determining whether to grant approval, the 
district engineer shall consider the species, age and appearance 

of the tree or shrub in question and its contribution to the 
aesthetics of the immediate area. 
(n)  The Department of Transportation may require escort 
vehicles to accompany oversize or overweight loads.  The 
weight, width of load, width of pavement, height, length of 
combination, length of overhang, maximum speed of vehicle, 
geographical route of travel, weather conditions and restricted 
time of travel shall be considered to determine escort 
requirements. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-18(5); Board of 
Transportation Minutes for February 16, 1977 and November 
10, 1978; 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; December 29, 1993; October 1, 
1991; October 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 10, 2002; December 31, 
2000; October 1, 2000; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2002. 
 
 
TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 12 - LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 
CONTRACTORS 

 
21 NCAC 12 .0208 CONSTRUCTION  
MANAGEMENT 
(a)  The term "undertakes to superintend or manage" as used in 
G.S. §87-1 to describe a person, firm, or corporation deemed to 
be a general contractor means that the person, firm, or 
corporation is responsible for superintending or managing the 
construction of an entire project, and either contracts directly 
with subcontractors to perform the construction for the project or 
is compensated for superintending or managing the project based 
upon the cost of the project or the time taken to complete the 
project.  The person, firm, or corporation must hold a general 
contracting license in the classifications and limitation 
applicable to the construction of the project. 
(b)  The term "undertakes to superintend or manage" described 
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule does not include the following: 

(1) an architect or engineer licensed in North 
Carolina who is supervising the execution of 
design plans for the project owner and who 
does not contract directly with subcontractors 
to perform the construction for the project; or 

(2) subject to the conditions stated within this 
Subparagraph and Paragraph (c), any person, 
firm, or corporation retained by an owner of 
real property as a consultant, agent, or advisor 
to perform development-related functions, 
including: 
(A) assisting with site planning and 

design, 
(B) formulating a development scheme, 
(C) obtaining zoning and other 

entitlements, 
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(D) tenant selection and negotiation, 
(E) interfacing and negotiating with the 

general contractor, engineer, 
architect, other construction and 
design professionals and other 
development consultants with whom 
the land owner separately contracts, 
including, negotiating contracts on 
the owner's behalf, assisting with 
scheduling issues, ensuring that any 
disputes between such parties are 
resolved to the owner's satisfaction, 
and otherwise ensuring that such 
parties are proceeding in an efficient, 
coordinated manner to complete the 
project, 

(F) providing cost estimates and 
budgeting, 

(G) monitoring the progress of 
development activities performed by 
other parties, 

(H) arranging and negotiating 
governmental incentives and 
entitlements, and 

(I) selecting and sequencing sites for 
development. 

(c) The exclusions set forth in Subparagraph (b)(2) do not apply, 
however, unless the following conditions are satisfied: 

(1) the owner has retained a licensed general 
contractor or licensed general contractors to 
construct the entire project or to directly 
superintend and manage all construction work 
in which the person, firm or corporation has 
any involvement and which would otherwise 
require the use of a licensed general 
contractor, and 

(2) the use of the person, firm or corporation will 
not impair the general contractor's ability to 
communicate directly with the owner and to 
verify the owner's informed consent and 
ratification of the directions and decisions 
made by the person, firm or corporation to the 
extent that such directions or decisions affect 
the construction activities otherwise requiring 
the use of a licensed general contractor. For 
the purposes of this Subparagraph, the general 
contractor is entitled to make a written demand 
for written verification from the owner of any 
directions given or decisions made by such a 
person, firm or corporation on the owner's 
behalf.  In that regard, if the general contractor 
delivers a written request directly to the owner 
asking that the owner confirm in writing that 
the owner desires that the general contractor 
perform consistent with a direction or decision 
made by such person, firm or corporation: 
(A) the general contractor shall not be 

obligated to follow such direction or 
decision in question until such time as 

the owner provides written 
verification of the direction or 
decision; and 

(B) if the third party person, firm or 
corporation whose direction or 
decision is being questioned by the 
general contractor attempts to itself 
provide the confirmation requested 
from the owner by the general 
contractor as provided above, such 
person, firm or corporation shall be 
deemed to be "undertaking to 
superintend or manage" as described 
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 
Eff. May 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 
EXAMINERS 

 
21 NCAC 14A .0401 LICENSE RENEWAL WAIVER  
FOR ARMED FORCES 
Licensees in good stand and serving in the armed forces of the 
United States are allowed an extension on license renewal 
payment and required continuing education hours as permitted 
G.S. 93B-15. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 
Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 14G .0103 SPACE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  The Cosmetic Art Board shall issue letters of approval only 
to cosmetic art schools that have at least 2,800 square feet of 
inside floor space for 20 stations or 4,200 square feet of inside 
floor space for 30 stations located within the same building.  An 
additional 140 square feet of floor space is required for each 
station above 20 stations, up to and including a total of 30 
stations.  Thereafter, an additional 40 square feet is required for 
each station in excess of 30 stations.  For purpose of this Rule, 
the day and night classes is counted as separate enrollments.  A 
school may have a recitation room located in an adjacent 
building or another building within 500 feet of the main 
cosmetology building. 
(b)  Each cosmetic art school must have no less than 20 
hairdressing stations, arranged to accommodate not less than 20 
students and arranged so that the course of study and training 
cosmetology, as prescribed in 21 NCAC 14J .0306, may be 
given.  All stations must be numbered numerically. 
(c)  Cosmetic art schools must have a beginner department 
containing sufficient space to comfortably accommodate at least 
10 students and having at least 40 inches between mannequins. 
(d)  The Board shall issue a letter of approval only to manicurist 
schools that have at least 1,000 square feet of inside floor space 
located within the same building. 
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(e)  Manicurist schools with 1,000 square feet of inside floor 
space shall enroll no more than 20 students at one time, and for 
each student enrolled in addition to 20 students, 40 square feet of 
inside floor space must be provided. 
(f)  Manicurist schools must have 10 manicurist tables and chairs 
a minimum of two feet apart, side to side, arranged to 
comfortably accommodate ten students. 
(g)  The Board shall issue a letter of approval only to esthetician 
schools that have at least 1,500 square feet of inside floor space 
located within the same building. 
(h)  Esthetician schools with 1,500 square feet of inside floor 
space shall enroll no more than 20 students at one time, and for 
each student enrolled in addition to 20 students, 50 square feet of 
inside floor space must be provided. 
(i)  The Board shall issue a letter of approval only to natural hair 
care schools that have at least 2000 square feet of inside floor 
space located within the same building. 
(j)  Natural hair care schools with 2000 square feet of inside 
floor space shall enroll no more than 20 students at one time, and 
for each student enrolled in addition to 20 students, 50 square 
feet of inside floor space must be provided.  Schools combining 
manicuring, esthetics and natural hair care training programs 
with 2000 feet of inside floor space shall enroll no more than a 
total of 20 students at one time and for each student enrolled in 
addition to 20 students, 50 square feet of inside floor space must 
be provided.  Equipment requirements for manicuring, esthetics 
and natural hair care schools shall be followed. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1995; January 1, 1992; May 1, 1991; 
January 1, 1989; May 1, 1998; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 
August 1, 2000. 
 
21 NCAC 14G .0107 EQUIPMENT AND TEACHERS 
(a)  A cosmetic art school shall have the necessary classrooms 
and equipment for teaching as required by Subchapters 14I, 14J, 
14K and 14O and shall provide a staff of cosmetic art teachers 
licensed by the Board. 
(b)  The Board shall not accept an application for a letter of 
approval until all furniture, supplies and equipment as prescribed 
by the Rules in this Chapter have been installed and the entire 
school is complete. 
(c)  All courses in a cosmetic art school must be taught by a 
licensed cosmetology teacher, except that manicuring courses 
may be taught by either a licensed cosmetology teacher or a 
licensed manicurist teacher, natural hair care courses may be 
taught by either a licensed cosmetology teacher or a licensed 
natural hair care teacher, and esthetics courses may be taught by 
either a licensed cosmetology teacher or a licensed esthetician 
teacher. 
(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a licensed 
cosmetologist not licensed to teach cosmetic art may substitute 
for a cosmetology, esthetician, natural hair care or manicurist 
teacher; a licensed manicurist not licensed as a manicurist 
teacher may substitute for a manicurist teacher; a licensed 
natural hair care specialist not licensed as a natural natural hair 

care teacher may substitute for a natural hair care teacher; and a 
licensed esthetician not licensed as an esthetic teacher may 
substitute for an esthetician teacher.  In no event may such a 
substitution last for more than 15 working days per year per 
teacher. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-11; 88B-16; 88B-
22; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; November 1, 
2005; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1991; January 1, 1989. 
 
21 NCAC 14I .0105 TRANSFER OF CREDIT 
(a)  In order that hours may be transferred from one cosmetic art 
school to another, a student must pass an entrance examination 
given by the school to which the student is transferring. 
(b)  A cosmetology student must complete at least 500 hours in 
the cosmetic art school certifying his or her application for the 
state board examination. 
(c)  Upon written petition by the student, the Board shall make 
an exception to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule if the student shows that circumstances beyond the 
student's control prohibited him or her from completing 500 
hours at the school that certifies his or her application. 
(d)  A student who transfers from a cosmetology curriculum to a 
manicuring, natural hair care or an esthetics curriculum shall not 
receive credit for hours received in the cosmetology curriculum. 
(e)  A student who transfers from a manicuring, natural hair care 
or an esthetic curriculum to a cosmetology curriculum shall not 
receive credit for hours received in the manicuring, natural hair 
care or an esthetic curriculum. 
(f)  If a student is transferring from another state, the student 
shall submit certification of hours and performances to the 
cosmetic art school in which they are enrolled. 
(g)  Licensed manicuring, natural hair care or estheticians may 
apply up to 50 percent of required hours earned toward another 
cosmetic art curriculum. 
(h)  Up to 50 percent of all credit earned in an approved 
esthetician, natural hair care or manicurist teacher training 
program may be transferred to a cosmetology teacher training 
program.  A maximum of 160 hours earned in either an 
esthetician, natural hair care or manicurist teacher training 
program may be transferred between programs. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-7; 88B-8; 88B-9; 
88B-10; 88B-10.1; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; July 1, 2006; 
December 1, 2004; February 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; 
December 1, 1993; January 1, 1991; January 1, 1989; April 1, 
1988. 
 
21 NCAC 14I .0107 REPORT OF ENROLLMENT 
(a)  A cosmetic art school shall report cosmetology enrollments 
to the Board not later than 30 working days after a student 
enrolls in school.  A cosmetic art school shall report manicurist, 
natural hair care specialist and esthetician enrollments to the 
Board not later than 15 working days after a student enrolls in 
school.  If a student's enrollment is not reported within 30 
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working days for cosmetology and 15 working days for 
esthetician, natural hair care specialist and manicurist, the 
cosmetic art school shall file a copy of the student's daily time 
records when it reports the student's enrollment. 
(b)  The school must report the enrollment of students prior to 
the student applying for the cosmetologist, manicurist, natural 
hair care specialist or esthetician examination and before any 
hours can be credited. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-9; 88B-10; 88B-
10.1; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1991; January 1, 1989; 
April 1, 1988; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Amendment Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; August 1, 
2000; April 1, 1999. 
 
21 NCAC 14I .0108 SEAL 
Each cosmetic art school must have a unique, raised seal 
identifying the school and physical location to be used on all 
applications, reports, drop-out notices, and other official papers.  
Electronically sent enrollments and drop-out notices are 
exempted from this requirement. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; April 1, 1991; January 
1, 1989. 
 
21 NCAC 14I .0301 RECITATION ROOM 
(a)  Each cosmetic art school shall have a recitation room, of no 
less than 300 square feet with a minimum one-side width or 
depth of 12 feet and shall accommodate no more than 20 
students, which shall be equipped with desks or chairs suitable 
for classroom work, chair(s) suitable for demonstrating 
cosmetology practices, a dry erase board, and charts, except that 
the demonstration chair(s) in a manicurist school need be 
suitable only for demonstrating manicuring and pedicuring 
practices. 
(b)  Charts in the recitation room shall include those with 
illustrations of the skin, bones, muscles, and nerves of the head, 
neck, feet, and hands, except that the set of charts in a manicurist 
school need not include those illustrating the head and neck.  
The set of charts in a natural hair care school need not include 
those illustrating the feet and hands. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; April 1, 1991; 
January 1, 1989. 

21 NCAC 14J .0106 EQUIPMENT FOR BEGINNER  
DEPARTMENT 
The beginner department shall be equipped with the following 
minimum equipment for every 20 students in the department: 

(1) one manicure table and stool; 
(2) two shampoo bowls and chairs, each bowl 

must be at least 40 inches apart center of bowl 
to center of bowl; 

(3) one mannequin with hair per student; 
(4) thermal styling equipment for the purpose of 

curling or straightening the hair; 
(5) visual aids; 
(6) one mannequin practice table to accommodate 

at least ten students; and 
(7) five dozen cold wave rods for each student in 

the department. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; May 1, 2007; January 1, 1989; 
April 1, 1988. 
 
21 NCAC 14J .0206 EQUIPMENT IN ADVANCED  
DEPARTMENT 
The advanced department must be equipped with the following 
equipment: 

(1) for departments with 20 to 29 stations, two 
manicure tables and stools; 

(2) for departments with 30 or more stations, four 
manicure tables and stools; 

(3) for departments with 20 to 29 stations, eight 
dryers and chairs; 

(4) for departments with 30 or more stations, 12 
dryers and chairs; 

(5) eight shampoo bowls and chairs, each bowl 
must be at least 40 inches apart center of bowl 
to center of bowl; 

(6) 20 dressing tables and styling chairs; 
(7) for departments with 20 to 29 stations, one 

facial chair; 
(8) for departments with 30 or more stations, two 

facial chairs; and  
(9) thermal styling equipment for the purpose of 

curling or straightening the hair. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2004; August 
1, 1998; October 1, 1990; January 1, 1989; April 1, 1988. 

 
21 NCAC 14J .0207 LIVE MODEL/MANNEQUIN PERFORMANCE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  The following live model/mannequin performance completions shall be done by each student in the advanced department before 
the student is eligible to take the cosmetologist's examination.  Sharing of performance completions is not allowed.  Credit for a 
performance shall be given to only one student. 
 

1200 Hours  1500 Hours 
Live Model Maniq.   Live Model Maniq. 
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(1) scalp and hair treatments 
with massage    8   10 

(2) fullhead fingerwave and style  3 OR 3 5 OR 5 
(3) fullhead pincurl and style   3 OR 3 5 OR 5 
(4) Hair Styling – sets, blowdrying 

Thermal press/flat iron, artificial hair 80  56 100  70 
(5) haircuts     60  8 75  10 
(6) chemical reformation or permanent  

waving and relaxers   16  12 20  15 
(7) temporary color    3   5 
(8) Color Application – semi, demi, 

Permanent color, and hair lightening 24  8 30  10 
(9) Multidimensional Color – low/high 

Lighting, cap, bleach   3  8 5  10 
(10) lash and brow tinting   2   4 
(11) Nail Care – manicures and pedicures 12     15 
(12) artificial nails (sets)   4 OR 4 4 OR 4 
(13) facials with massage/makeup  3   10 
(14) hair removal    3   5 

 
(b)  Certification of live model or mannequin performance 
completions is required along with the application for the 
examination. 
(c)  A live model may be substituted for a mannequin for any 
mannequin service. 
(d)  All mannequin services may be performed using a simulated 
product. 

 
(e)  Simulated product is not allowed for credit for live model 
performance. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; November 1, 2005. 
 

 
21 NCAC 14J .0208 INTERNSHIPS 
Schools and cosmetic art shops desiring to implement an 
internship program shall follow these requirements: 

(1) Schools wishing to participate in an internship 
program must notify the Board of intent to 
implement a program before credit for an 
internship may be granted.  Cosmetic art shops 
and student selection criteria must be 
submitted along with the notification. 

(2) Schools shall report to the Board all cosmetic 
art shops contracted and students selected to 
participate in the program. 

(3) Internships may be arranged in various time 
frames but shall never exceed 10 percent of a 
student's training period. 

(4) Credit for an internship shall be granted upon 
submission of student hours verification based 
on a daily attendance record.  Hours must be 
recorded on a form approved by the school. 

(5) Students may be assigned a variety of duties, 
but client services are restricted.  Cosmetology 
and natural hair care students may only 
provide shampoo services, manicurist students 
may only remove nail polish and esthetician 
students may only drape and prep clients.  
Cosmetic art shop violation of restrictions or 
school requirements may result in the 
termination of the internship contract and the 
loss of student training hours. 

(6) Students must follow all cosmetic art shop 
employee rules and regulations.  Violations of  

 
cosmetic art shop rules or any misconduct may 
result in dismissal of the intern or loss of 
training hours. 

(7) A licensed teacher need not be in attendance 
during this internship. 

(8) Students participating in the program shall not 
receive compensation for duties performed in 
the cosmetic art shop. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; August 1, 2002. 
 
21 NCAC 14L .0208 SUPERVISION OF COSMETIC  
ART TEACHER TRAINEE 
(a)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee shall be supervised by a 
cosmetic art teacher at all times when the trainee is at a cosmetic 
art school except as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
(b)  A manicurist, natural hair care or esthetician teacher may not 
supervise a cosmetologist teacher trainee with regard to any 
cosmetic art other than manicuring or esthetics, as appropriate. 
(c)  Violation of this Rule is just cause to revoke the Board's 
approval of the cosmetic art school's teacher trainee program for 
a period of one year. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-11; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; April 1, 1991; 
August 1, 1989. 
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21 NCAC 14P .0108 REVOCATION OF LICENSES  
AND OTHER DISCIPLINARY MEASURES 
(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing unlicensed 
practitioners to practice in a licensed cosmetic art shop is: 

(1) 1st offense  $250.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $500.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetology, 
natural hair care, manicuring or esthetics with a license issued to 
another person is: 

(1) 1st offense  $300.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $500.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $1,000.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for altering a license, permit 
or authorization issued by the Board is: 

(1) 1st offense  $300.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for submitting false or 
fraudulent documents is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $1,000.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for refusing to present 
photographic identification is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for advertising by means of 
knowingly false or deceptive statement is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($300.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for permitting an individual to 
practice cosmetic art with an expired license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $300.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(h)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing or attempting to 
practice by fraudulent misrepresentation is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(i)  The presumptive civil penalty for the illegal use or 
possession of equipment or Methyl Methacrylate Monomer 
(MMA) in a cosmetic art shop or school is: 

(1) 1st offense  $300.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $500.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(j)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain footspa 
sanitation records is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $300.00 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-24; 88B-29; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; January 1, 2006; 
April 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001. 
 
21 NCAC 14P .0113 OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF  
COSMETIC ART 
(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to record student's 
hours of daily attendance is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($100.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $300.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report 
withdrawal or graduation of a student within 30 working days is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit 
cosmetology enrollments within 30 working days or manicurist, 
natural hair care specialist and esthetician enrollments within 15 
working days is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to display a copy of 
the sanitation rules is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to post consumer 
sign "Cosmetic Art School - Work Done Exclusively by 
Students" is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 
(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a cosmetic art 
shop to operate within a cosmetic art school is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $600.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for a cosmetic art school that 
is not separated from a cosmetic art shop or other business by a 
solid wall, floor to ceiling, with an separate entrance and a door 
that stays closed at all times is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 
(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 
(3) 3rd offense  $600.00 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-29; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; April 1, 2004. 
 
21 NCAC 14P .0114 COSMETOLOGY  
CURRICULUM 
(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school allowing 
cosmetology students with less than 300 hours credit to work on 
the public.  (Shampoo and scalp manipulations are exempt) is:  

(1) 1st offense   $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense   $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense   $300.00 
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(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school for manicurist 
students with less than 16 hours credit working on the public is: 

(1) 1st offense   $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense   $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense   $300.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school for esthetician 
students with less than 60 hours credit working on the public is: 

(1) 1st offense   $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense   $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense   $300.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school for natural hair 
care students with less than 16 hours credit working on the 
public is: 

(1) 1st offense   $100.00 
(2) 2nd offense   $200.00 
(3) 3rd offense   $300.00 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-29; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2513 DRUG, SUPPLIES AND  
MEDICAL DEVICE REPOSITORY PROGRAM 
(a)  This Rule establishes the Drug, Supplies and Medical 
Device Repository Program as specified in G.S. 90-85.44. 
(b)  Definitions.  Any term defined in G.S. 90-85.44(a) shall 
have the same definition under this Rule. 
(c)  Requirements For a Pharmacy to Participate in Accepting 
and Dispensing Donated Drugs, Supplies and Medical Devices. 

(1) Any pharmacy or free clinic holding a valid, 
current North Carolina pharmacy permit may 
accept and dispense donated drugs, supplies 
and medical devices in accordance with the 
requirements of this Rule and G.S. 90-85.44. 

(2) A dispensing physician registered with the 
Board in compliance with G.S. 90-85.21(b) 
and providing services to patients of a free 
clinic that does not hold a pharmacy permit 
may accept and dispense donated drugs, 
supplies and medical devices in accordance 
with the requirements of this Rule and G.S. 
90-85.44. 

(3) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician shall notify the Board in writing of 
such participation at the time participation 
begins and annually on its permit or 
registration renewal application. 

(4) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician that ceases participation in the 
program shall notify the Board in writing 
within 30 days of doing so and shall submit a 
written report detailing the final disposition of 
all donated drugs, supplies and medical 

devices held by the participating pharmacy or 
dispensing physician. 

(d)  Drugs, Supplies and Medical Devices Eligible for Donation. 
(1) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 

physician may accept donation of a drug, 
supply or medical device meeting the criteria 
specified in G.S. 90-85.44(c). 

(2) The following categories of drugs, supplies 
and medical devices shall not be accepted by a 
participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician: 
(A) A controlled substance, unless 

acceptance of a donated controlled 
substance is authorized by federal 
law. 

(B) Any prescription drug or medical 
device subject to a restricted 
distribution system mandated by the 
United States Food and Drug 
Administration. 

(C) Biologicals, unless donated by the 
manufacturer or a prescription drug 
wholesaler.  A pharmacy may donate 
a biological if the biological has been 
stored according to the manufacturer's 
labeling and has not previously been 
dispensed to a patient or other person. 

(D) Compounded drugs or parenteral 
admixtures. 

(E) Any drug requiring refrigerated 
storage, unless donated by either (a) 
the manufacturer, (b) a prescription 
drug wholesaler or (c) a pharmacy 
that has stored the drug according to 
the manufacturer's labeling and has 
not previously dispensed the drug to a 
patient or other person. 

(e)  Required Records. 
(1) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 

physician that dispenses donated drugs, 
supplies or medical devices to an eligible 
patient shall maintain a written or electronic 
inventory of each donated drug, supply and 
medical device that shall include the 
following: 
(A) The name, strength, dosage form, 

number of units, manufacturer's lot 
number and expiration date. 

(B) The name, address and phone number 
of the eligible donor providing each 
drug, supply or medical device. 

(2) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician shall keep all donated drugs, 
supplies and medical devices physically 
separated from other inventory.  The 
physically separate storage area for donated 
drugs, supplies and medical devices shall be 
identified. 
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(3) In addition to all records required for 
dispensing a prescription drug, supply or 
medical device under the North Carolina 
Pharmacy Practice Act and rules, a 
participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician that dispenses donated drugs, 
supplies or medical devices to an eligible 
patient shall note – either on the face of a 
written prescription or in the electronic record 
of a prescription – that a donated prescription 
drug, supply or medical device was dispensed 
to the patient. 

(4) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician that dispenses donated drugs, 
supplies or medical devices to an eligible 
patient shall maintain patient-specific written 
or electronic documentation of any dispensing 
of a donated non-prescription drug, supply or 
medical device. 

(f)  Eligible Patient. 
(1) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 

physician shall establish and maintain a 
written patient eligibility policy that shall 
conform to the priorities specified in G.S. 90-
85.44(f). 

(2) Donated drugs, supplies or medical devices 
shall be dispensed to patients who are 
residents of North Carolina and meet the 
participating pharmacy's or dispensing 
physician's eligibility criteria. 

(g)  Handling Fee. 
(1) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 

physician may charge a prescription drug 
handling fee to an eligible patient that shall not 
exceed the co-payment established by North 
Carolina Medicaid and required of a North 
Carolina Medicaid beneficiary who receives 
the same prescription drug in the same 
quantity. 

(2) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician may charge a medical device or 
supply handling fee to an eligible patient that 
shall not exceed the co-payment established by 
North Carolina Medicaid and required of a 
North Carolina Medicaid beneficiary to whom 
a brand-name prescription drug is dispensed. 

(3) Nothing in this Rule shall require a 
participating pharmacy or dispensing 
physician to charge an eligible patient a 
handling fee, nor shall a participating 
pharmacy or dispensing physician charge a 
handling fee where doing so is otherwise 
prohibited by law. 

(h)  Confidentiality of Records. 
(1) A participating pharmacy or dispensing 

physician that dispenses donated drugs, 
medical devices or supplies to an eligible 
patient shall remove or alter any labeling or 
other material from a donated drug, supply or 

medical device that could identify the patient 
to whom the donated product was originally 
dispensed so that the identity of that patient 
cannot be determined. 

(2) Records required by this Rule shall be 
governed by the confidentiality provisions of 
G.S. 90-85.36 and the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996. 

(3) Records required by this Rule shall be 
maintained by the participating pharmacy or 
dispensing physician for a period of three 
years. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.26; 90-85.32; 
90-85.44; 
Eff. June 1, 2010. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 58 – REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE 
(a)  Every real estate firm shall designate a broker to serve as the 
broker-in-charge at its principal office and a broker to serve as 
broker-in-charge at any branch office.  No broker shall be 
broker-in-charge of more than one office at a time.  If a firm 
shares office space with one or more other firms, one broker 
may serve as broker-in-charge of each firm at that location.  No 
office or branch office of a firm shall have more than one 
designated broker-in-charge.  A broker who is a sole proprietor 
shall designate himself or herself as a broker-in-charge if the 
broker engages in any transaction where the broker is required to 
deposit and maintain monies belonging to others in a trust 
account, engages in advertising or promoting his or her services 
as a broker in any manner, or has one or more other brokers 
affiliated with him or her in the real estate business.  
Maintenance of a trust or escrow account by a broker solely for 
holding residential tenant security deposits received by the 
broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with 
G.S. 42-50 shall not, standing alone, subject the broker to the 
requirement to designate himself or herself as a broker-in-
charge. A broker desiring to be a broker-in-charge shall declare 
in writing his or her designation as broker-in-charge of an office 
to the Commission on a form prescribed by the Commission 
within 10 days following the broker's designation as broker in 
charge of any office. The broker-in-charge shall, in accordance 
with the requirements of G.S. 93A and the rules adopted by the 
Commission, assume the responsibility at his or her office for: 

(1) the retention of current license renewal pocket 
cards by all brokers employed at the office for 
which he or she is broker-in-charge; the proper 
display of licenses at such office in accordance 
with Rule .0101 of this Section; and assuring 
that each licensee employed at the office has 
complied with Rules .0503, .0504, and .0506 
of this Subchapter; 

(2) the proper notification to the Commission of 
any change of business address or trade name 
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of the firm and the registration of any assumed 
business name adopted by the firm for its use; 

(3) the proper conduct of advertising by or in the 
name of the firm at such office; 

(4) the proper maintenance at such office of the 
trust or escrow account of the firm and the 
records pertaining thereto; 

(5) the proper retention and maintenance of 
records relating to transactions conducted by 
or on behalf of the firm at such office, 
including those required to be retained 
pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Section; 

(6) the proper supervision of provisional brokers 
associated with or engaged on behalf of the 
firm at such office in accordance with the 
requirements of Rule .0506 of this Subchapter; 

(7) the proper supervision of all licensees 
employed at the office for which he or she is 
broker-in-charge with respect to adherence to 
agency agreement and disclosure 
requirements. 

(b)  When used in this Rule, the term: 
(1) "Branch Office" means any office in addition 

to the principal office of a broker which is 
operated in connection with the broker's real 
estate business; and 

(2) "Office" means any place of business where 
acts are performed for which a real estate 
license is required or where monies received 
by a licensee acting in a fiduciary capacity are 
handled or records for such trust monies are 
maintained. 

(c)  To qualify to become a broker-in-charge, a broker shall: 
(1) have a license on active status but not on 

provisional status;  
(2) possess at least two years of full-time real 

estate brokerage experience or equivalent part-
time real estate brokerage experience within 
the previous five years or real estate education 
or experience in real estate transactions that 
the Commission finds equivalent to such 
experience; and 

(3) complete the Commission's 12 classroom hour 
broker-in-charge course either within three 
years prior to designation as a broker-in-
charge or within 120 days following 
designation as a broker-in-charge. 

By submission of a broker-in-charge declaration to the 
Commission, a broker certifies that he or she possesses the 
experience required to become a broker-in-charge and upon 
acknowledgement by the Commission of a completed 
declaration, the broker shall receive his or her broker-in-charge 
designation and be authorized to act as a broker-in-charge.  
Upon his or her designation as broker-in-charge and completion 
of the broker-in-charge course within the time period prescribed 
in Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule, the designated broker-in-
charge acquires the eligibility to be re-designated as a broker-in-
charge at any time in the future after a period of not actively 
serving as a broker-in-charge without having to again satisfy the 

qualification requirements for initial designation stated in this 
Paragraph so long as the broker continuously satisfies the 
requirements to retain such eligibility described in Paragraph (e) 
of this Rule.  A broker-in-charge designation shall be 
immediately terminated if a broker-in-charge fails to complete 
the broker-in-charge course during the required time period or if 
the Commission finds the broker-in-charge does not possess the 
required experience. Upon the request of the Commission, a 
broker shall provide to the Commission evidence that he or she 
possesses the required experience.  A broker who is removed as 
broker-in-charge for failure to timely complete the Commission's 
12 hour broker-in-charge course must first complete the 12 hour 
broker-in-charge course before he or she may again be 
designated as broker-in-charge.  A broker-in-charge, upon 
written request of the Commission or a broker who has been 
affiliated with the broker-in-charge within the previous five 
years, shall provide the Commission or broker an accurate 
written statement regarding the broker's work at the office of the 
broker-in-charge, including the dates of affiliation, average 
number of hours worked per week, and the number and type of 
properties listed, sold, bought, leased, or rented for others by the 
licensee during his or her affiliation with the broker-in-charge. 
(d)  A broker who was the broker-in-charge of a real estate office 
on April 1, 2006, whose broker-in-charge declaration was 
received by the Commission prior to that date, and who 
completed the Commission's broker-in-charge course prior to 
April 1, 2006 or within 120 days following designation as a 
broker-in-charge, may continue to serve as a broker-in-charge 
thereafter until his or her eligibility to serve as a broker-in-
charge is terminated as provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 
(e)  Once a broker has been designated as a broker-in-charge and 
completed the 12 hour broker-in-charge course as prescribed by 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the broker may maintain broker-in-
charge eligibility by timely annual renewal of his or her broker 
license, completion each license year of the four hour mandatory 
continuing education update course prescribed for all licensees 
and known as the "Real Estate Update Course," and completion 
each license year of the four hour special continuing education 
course prescribed by the Commission only for brokers-in-charge 
and known as the "Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course."  
The Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course must be taken 
initially by a broker-in-charge during the first full license year 
following the license year in which the broker was designated as 
a broker-in-charge and must be taken each license year thereafter 
in order for the broker to maintain broker-in-charge eligibility.  
The Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course shall satisfy the 
broker's general continuing education elective course 
requirement, but the broker must also take the mandatory 
continuing education Real Estate Update Course each license 
year.  The Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course is reserved 
exclusively for current brokers-in-charge, and brokers who are 
not currently acting as a broker-in-charge but who desire to 
retain their broker-in-charge eligibility. Only these brokers shall 
receive continuing education elective credit for taking the 
course. 
(f)  A broker's broker-in-charge eligibility and, if currently 
designated as a broker-in-charge, his or her broker-in-charge 
designation shall be terminated upon the occurrence of any of 
the following events: 
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(1) The broker's license expires or the broker's 
license is suspended, revoked or surrendered; 

(2) the broker's license is made inactive for any 
reason, including failure to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements described 
in Rule .1702 of this Subchapter; 

(3) the broker fails to complete the Broker-In-
Charge Annual Review Course described in 
Paragraph (e) of this Rule; or 

(4) the broker is found by the Commission to have 
not possessed the experience required in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule at the time of either 
initial designation as a broker-in-charge or re-
designation as a broker-in-charge. 

When a broker who is a former broker-in-charge desires to be re-
designated as a broker-in-charge following termination of his or 
her broker-in-charge designation or eligibility, he or she must 
first have a license on active status.  The broker then must satisfy 
the experience requirements for initial designation set forth in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and the broker must complete the 12 
hour broker-in-charge course within 120 days following re-
designation, except that if the broker has taken the 12 hour 
broker-in-charge course within the preceding three years, he or 
she has the option to complete the Broker-In-Charge Annual 
Review Course for the current license year within 120 days 
following re-designation as a broker-in-charge in lieu of 
repeating the 12 hour broker-in-charge course.  If a broker who 
has been re-designated as a broker-in-charge and then removed 
as broker-in-charge due to failure to satisfy his education 
requirement within 120 days following re-designation 
subsequently seeks another re-designation as broker-in-charge, 
the broker must first complete the 12 hour broker-in-charge 
course before he or she may again be designated as a broker-in-
charge, even if the broker has completed the 12 hour broker-in-
charge course within the preceding three years. 
(g) A broker-in-charge shall notify the Commission in writing 
that he or she no longer is serving as broker-in-charge of a 
particular office within 10 days following any such change. 
(h) A licensed real estate firm is not required to designate a 
broker-in-charge if it: 

(1) has been organized for the sole purpose of 
receiving compensation for brokerage services 
furnished by its qualifying broker through 
another firm or broker; 

(2) is treated for tax purposes as a Subchapter S 
corporation by the United States Internal 
Revenue Service; 

(3) has no principal or branch office; and  
(4) has no person associated with it other than its 

qualifying broker. 
(i)  A broker-in-charge residing outside of North Carolina who is 
the broker-in-charge of a principal or branch office not located in 
North Carolina is not required to complete the broker-in-charge 
course or the special continuing education course prescribed for 
brokers-in-charge under Paragraph (e) of this Rule.  However, if 
such broker-in-charge either becomes a resident of North 
Carolina or becomes broker-in-charge of an office located within 
North Carolina, then he or she must take the 12 hour broker-in-
charge course within 120 days of such change, unless he or she 

has taken the 12 hour course within the preceding three years.  
Such broker-in-charge shall take the special broker-in-charge 
continuing education course prescribed in Paragraph (e) of this 
Rule during the first full license year following the change and 
each license year thereafter so long as the broker-in-charge 
remains a resident of North Carolina or continues to manage an 
office located in North Carolina. 
(j) A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under 
the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act 
as or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or 
office in North Carolina. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-
4.1; 93A-4.2; 93A-9; 
Eff. September 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; April 
1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2004; April 1, 2004; September 1, 
2002; July 1, 2001; October1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 
1997; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0112 OFFERS AND SALES  
CONTRACTS 
(a)  A broker acting as an agent in a real estate transaction shall 
not use a preprinted offer or sales contract form unless the form 
describes or specifically requires the entry of the following 
information: 

(1) the names of the buyer and seller; 
(2) a legal description of the real property 

sufficient to identify and distinguish it from all 
other property; 

(3) an itemization of any personal property to be 
included in the transaction; 

(4) the purchase price and manner of payment; 
(5) any portion of the purchase price that is to be 

paid by a promissory note, including the 
amount, interest rate, payment terms, whether 
or not the note is to be secured, and other 
material terms; 

(6) any portion of the purchase price that is to be 
paid by the assumption of an existing loan, 
including the amount of such loan, costs to be 
paid by the buyer or seller, the interest rate and 
number of discount points and a condition that 
the buyer must be able to qualify for the 
assumption of the loan and must make every 
reasonable effort to quality for the assumption 
of the loan; 

(7) the amount of earnest money, if any, the 
method of payment, the name of the broker or 
firm that will serve as escrow agent, an 
acknowledgment of earnest money receipt by 
the escrow agent, and the criteria for 
determining disposition of the earnest money, 
including disputed earnest money, consistent 
with Commission Rule .0107 of this 
Subchapter; 

(8) any loan that must be obtained by the buyer as 
a condition of the contract, including the 
amount and type of loan, interest rate and 
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number of discount points, loan term, and who 
shall pay loan closing costs, and a condition 
that the buyer shall make every reasonable 
effort to obtain the loan; 

(9) a general statement of the buyer's intended use 
of the property and a condition that such use 
must not be prohibited by private restriction or 
governmental regulation; 

(10) the amount and purpose of any special 
assessment to which the property is subject 
and the responsibility of the parties for any 
unpaid charges; 

(11) the date for closing and transfer of possession; 
(12) the signatures of the buyer and seller; 
(13) the date of offer and acceptance; 
(14) a provision that title to the property must be 

delivered at closing by general warranty deed 
and must be fee simple marketable title, free of 
all encumbrances except ad valorem taxes for 
the current year, utility easements, and any 
other encumbrances specifically approved by 
the buyer or a provision otherwise describing 
the estate to be conveyed with encumbrances, 
and the form of conveyance; 

(15) the items to be prorated or adjusted at closing; 
(16) who shall pay closing expenses; 
(17) the buyer's right to inspect the property prior to 

closing and who shall pay for repairs and 
improvements, if any; 

(18) a provision that the property shall at closing be 
in substantially the same condition as on the 
date of the offer (reasonable wear and tear 
excepted), or a description of the required 
property condition at closing; and 

(19) a provision setting forth the identity of each 
real estate agent and firm involved in the 
transaction and disclosing the party each agent 
and firm represents. 

(b)  A broker acting as an agent in a real estate transaction shall 
not use a preprinted offer or sales contract form containing: 

(1) any provision concerning the payment of a 
commission or compensation, including the 
forfeiture of earnest money, to any broker or 
firm; or 

(2) any provision that attempts to disclaim the 
liability of a broker for his or her 
representations in connection with the 
transaction. 

A broker or anyone acting for or at the direction of the broker 
shall not insert or cause such provisions or terms to be inserted 
into any such preprinted form, even at the direction of the parties 
or their attorneys. 
(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall apply only to preprinted 
offer and sales contract forms which a broker acting as an agent 
in a real estate transaction proposes for use by the buyer and 
seller.  Nothing contained in this Rule shall be construed to 
prohibit the buyer and seller in a real estate transaction from 
altering, amending or deleting any provision in a form offer to 
purchase or contract nor shall this Rule be construed to limit the 
rights of the buyer and seller to draft their own offers or 
contracts or to have the same drafted by an attorney at law. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 
Eff. July 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; April 1, 2006; October 
1, 2000; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1989. 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0114 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
(a)  Every owner of real property subject to a transfer of the type contemplated by Chapter 47E of the General Statutes, shall complete 
the following residential property disclosure statement and furnish a copy of the complete statement to a purchaser in accordance with 
the requirements of G.S. 47E-4.  The form shall bear the seal of the North Carolina Real Estate Commission and shall read as follows: 
 

[N.C. REAL ESTATE COMMISSION SEAL] 
 

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

 
Instructions to Property Owners 

 
1. G.S. 47E requires owners of residential real estate (single-family homes and buildings with up to four dwelling units) to 

furnish purchasers a property disclosure statement.  This form is the only one approved for this purpose.  A disclosure 
statement must be furnished in connection with the sale, exchange, option and sale under a lease with option to purchase 
(unless the tenant is already occupying or intends to occupy the dwelling).  A disclosure statement is not required for some 
transactions, including the first sale of a dwelling which has never been inhabited and transactions of residential property 
made pursuant to a lease with option to purchase where the lessee occupies or intends to occupy the dwelling.  For a 
complete list of exemptions, see G.S. 47E-2. 

 
2. You must check √ one of the boxes for each of the questions on the reverse side of this form. 
 

a. If you check "Yes" for any question, you must explain your answer and either describe any problem or attach a report from an 
engineer, contractor, pest control operator or other expert or public agency describing it.  If you attach a report, you will not be 
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liable for any inaccurate or incomplete information contained in it so long as you were not grossly negligent in obtaining or 
transmitting the information.  

 
b. If you check "No", you are stating that you have no actual knowledge of any problem.  If you check "No" and you know there 

is a problem, you may be liable for making an intentional misstatement. 
 

c. If you check "No Representation", you have no duty to disclose the conditions or characteristics of the property, even if you 
should have known of them. 

 
* If you check "Yes" or "No" and something happens to the property to make your Statement incorrect or inaccurate (for 

example, the roof begins to leak), you must promptly give the purchaser a corrected Statement or correct the problem. 
 
3. If you are assisted in the sale of your property by a licensed real estate broker, you are still responsible for completing and 

delivering the Statement to the purchasers; and the broker must disclose any material facts about your property which they 
know or reasonably should know, regardless of your responses on the Statement. 

 
4. You must give the completed Statement to the purchaser no later than the time the purchaser makes an offer to purchase your 

property.  If you do not, the purchaser can, under certain conditions, cancel any resulting contract (See "Note to Purchasers" 
below).  You should give the purchaser a copy of the Statement containing your signature and keep a copy signed by the 
purchaser for your records. 

 
Note to Purchasers 

 
If the owner does not give you a Residential Property Disclosure Statement by the time you make your offer 
to purchase the property, you may under certain conditions cancel any resulting contract and be entitled to a 
refund of any deposit monies you may have paid.  To cancel the contract, you must personally deliver or 
mail written notice of your decision to cancel to the owner or the owner's agent within three calendar days 
following your receipt of the Statement, or three calendar days following the date of the contract, whichever 
occurs first. However, in no event does the Disclosure Act permit you to cancel a contract after settlement of 
the transaction or (in the case of a sale or exchange) after you have occupied the property, whichever occurs 
first. 

 
5. In the space below, type or print in ink the address of the property (sufficient to identify it) and your name. Then sign and 

date. 
 

Property Address: ____________________________________________________________________ 
Owner's Name(s): ____________________________________________________________________ 
Owner(s) acknowledge having examined this Statement before signing and that all information is true and 
correct as of the date signed. 
 
Owner Signature: __________________________________________________ Date _________, ____ 
Owner Signature: __________________________________________________ Date _________, ____ 
Purchaser(s) acknowledge receipt of a copy of this disclosure statement; that they have examined it before 
signing; that they understand that this is not a warranty by owner or owner's agent; that it is not a substitute 
for any inspections they may wish to obtain; and that the representations are made by the owner and not the 
owner's agent(s) or subagent(s).  Purchaser(s) are encouraged to obtain their own inspection from a licensed 
home inspector or other professional. 
 
Purchaser Signature: ________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 
Purchaser Signature: ________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 

 
Property Address/Description:___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
[Note: In this form, "property" refers only to dwelling unit(s) and not sheds, detached garages or other buildings.] 
Regarding the property identified above, do you know of any problem (malfunction or defect) with any of the following: 
 
                                                                                                                                                                               No Repre- 
                                                                                                                                                           Yes*    No      sentation 
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1. FOUNDATION, SLAB, FIREPLACES/CHIMNEYS, FLOORS, WINDOWS
(INCLUDING STORM WINDOWS AND SCREENS), DOORS, CEILINGS,
INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR WALLS, ATTACHED GARAGE, PATIO, DECK OR
OTHER STRUCTURAL COMPONENTS including any modifications to them? 

 

  
 
 
□  

  
 
 
□ 

  
 
 
□ 

       
    a.  Siding is: □ Masonry □ Wood □ Composition/Hardboard □ Vinyl □ Synthetic Stucco  
         □ Other ___________________________ 

      
□ 

       
    b.  Approximate age of structure? _______________      □ 
       
2. ROOF (leakage or other problem)?  □  □  □ 
       
    a.  Approximate age of roof covering? ____________      □ 
       
3. WATER SEEPAGE, LEAKAGE, DAMPNESS OR STANDING WATER in the

basement, crawl space or slab? 
  

□ 
  

□ 
  

□ 
       
4. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM (outlets, wiring, panel, switches, fixtures etc.)?  □  □  □ 
       
5. PLUMBING SYSTEM (pipes, fixtures, water heater, etc.)?  □  □  □ 
       
6. HEATING AND/OR AIR CONDITIONING?  □  □  □ 
       
    a.  Heat Source is: □ Furnace □ Heat Pump □ Baseboard □ Other__________      □ 
       
    b.  Cooling Source is: □ Central Forced Air □ Wall/Window Unit(s)  
    □ Other__________ 

      
□ 

       
    c.  Fuel Source is: □ Electricity □ Natural Gas □ Propane □ Oil □ Other ________      □ 
       
7. WATER SUPPLY (including water quality, quantity and water pressure)?  □  □  □ 
       
    a.  Water supply is: □ City/County □ Community System □ Private Well  
    □ Other _______________ 

  
 

    
□ 

       
    b.  Water pipes are: □ Copper □ Galvanized □ Plastic □ Other ________  
    □ Unknown 

      
□ 

       
8. SEWER AND/OR SEPTIC SYSTEM?  □  □  □ 
       
    a.  Sewage disposal system is: □ Septic Tank □ Septic Tank with Pump  
    □ Community System □ Connected to City/County System 
    □ City/County System available □ Straight pipe (wastewater does not go into a septic or 
other sewer system [note: use of this type of system violates state law]) 
    □ Other ___________ 

  
 
 
 

  
 
 
 

  
 
 
□ 

       
9. BUILT-IN APPLIANCES (RANGE/OVEN, ATTACHED MICROWAVE,

HOOD/FAN, DISHWASHER, DISPOSAL, etc.)? 
  

□ 
  

□ 
  

□ 
       
10. PRESENT INFESTATION, OR DAMAGE FROM PAST INFESTATION OF

WOOD DESTROYING INSECTS OR ORGANISMS which has not been repaired? 
  

□ 
  

□ 
  
□ 

       
11. DRAINAGE, GRADING OR SOIL STABILITY OF LOT?  □  □  □ 
       
12. OTHER SYSTEMS AND FIXTURES: CENTRAL VACUUM, POOL, HOT TUB,

SPA, ATTIC FAN, EXHAUST FAN, CEILING FAN, SUMP PUMP, IRRIGATION
SYSTEM, TV CABLE WIRING OR SATELLITE DISH, OR OTHER SYSTEMS? 

  
 
□ 

  
 
□ 

  
 
□ 
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Also regarding the property identified above, including the lot, other improvements, and 
fixtures located thereon, do you have any 

      

       
13. ROOM ADDITIONS OR OTHER STRUCTURAL CHANGES ?  □  □  □ 
       
14. ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARDS (substances, materials or products) including
 asbestos, formaldehyde, radon gas, methane gas, lead-based paint, underground 
 storage tank, or other hazardous or toxic material (whether buried or covered),
 contaminated soil or water, or other environmental contamination)? 

  
 
 
□ 

  
 
 
□ 

        
 
 
□ 

       
15. COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL, OR MILITARY NOISE, ODOR, SMOKE, ETC.

AFFECTING THE PROPERTY? 
 

  
□ 

  
□ 

  
□ 

       
16. VIOLATIONS OF ZONING ORDINANCES, RESTRICTIVE COVENANTS OR

OTHER LAND-USE RESTRICTIONS, OR BUILDING CODES INCLUDING THE 
FAILURE TO OBTAIN PROPER PERMITS FOR ROOM ADDITIONS OR
OTHER STRUCTURAL CHANGES(S)? 

 

  
 
 
□ 

  
 
 
□ 

  
 
 
□ 

17. UTILITY OR OTHER EASEMENTS, SHARED DRIVEWAYS, PARTY WALLS
OR           ENCROACHMENTS FROM OR ON ADJACENT PROPERTY? 

  
□ 

  
□ 

  
□ 

       
18. LAWSUITS, FORECLOSURES, BANKRUPTCY, TENANCIES, JUDGMENTS,
TAX          LIENS, PROPOSED ASSESSMENTS, MECHANICS' LIENS,
MATERIALMENS'                 LIENS, OR NOTICE FROM ANY GOVERNMENTAL
AGENCY that could affect title          to the property? 

  
 
□ 

  
 
□ 

        
 
□ 

       
19. OWNERS' ASSOCIATION OR "COMMON AREA" EXPENSES OR
 ASSESSMENTS? 

  
□ 

  
□ 

  
□ 

       
20. FLOOD HAZARD or that the property is in a FEDERALLY-DESIGNATED 
FLOOD              PLAIN? 

  
□ 

  
□ 

  
□ 

       
21. PRIVATE ROAD(S) OR STREETS adjoining the property?  □  □  □ 
 a.  If yes, do you know of an existing owner's association or maintenance

agreement to maintain the road or street? 
  

□ 
  

□ 
  
□ 

       
 
*  If you answered "Yes" to any of the above questions, please explain (Attach additional sheets, if necessary): 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
In lieu of providing a written explanation, you may attach a written report to this Disclosure Statement by a public agency, engineer, 
land surveyor, geologist, pest control operator, contractor, home inspector or other expert, dealing with matters within the scope of 
that public agency's functions or the expert's license or expertise. 
(b)  The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be reproduced, but the form shall not be altered or amended in any way. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 47E-4(b); 93A-3(c); 93A-6; 
Eff. October 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2006; September 1, 2002; July 1, 2000. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .1705 ATTENDANCE AND  
PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 
In order to receive any credit for satisfactorily completing an 
approved continuing education course, a licensee must attend at 
least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours for the course, 
regardless of the length of the course, and must comply with 
student participation standards described in Rule .0511 of 

Subchapter 58E.  No credit shall be awarded for attending less 
than 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours.  The 10 
percent absence allowance is permitted for any reason at any 
time during the course except that it may not be used to skip the 
last 10 percent of the course unless the absence is for 
circumstances beyond the licensee's control that could not have 
been reasonably foreseen by the licensee and is approved by the 
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instructor.  With regard to the Commission's 12-hour Broker-In-
Charge Course that is taught over two days, a licensee must 
attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours on 
each day of the course and the 10 percent absence allowance 
cited above shall apply to each day of the course. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4A; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2001 FILING 
Each year, the Commission shall compile the reports required by 
G.S. 93B-2(a) and (b) and shall, no later than October 31, file 
the reports with the officials and agencies set forth in the statute. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-2(d); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2002 ESCROW ACCOUNT 
(a)  The Commission shall establish an escrow account or 
accounts with a financial institution or institutions lawfully 
doing business in this state into which the Commission shall 
deposit and hold fees tendered during any period of time when, 
pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d).  The Commission's authority to 
expend funds has been suspended.  The Commission shall keep 
funds deposited into its escrow account or accounts segregated 
from other assets, monies, and receipts for the duration of the 
suspension of the Commission's authority to expend funds. 
(b)  The Commission may deposit into and maintain in its 
escrow account such monies as may be required to avoid or 
eliminate costs associated with the account or accounts. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-2(d); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2101 APPLICABILITY 
This Section shall apply to every broker whose license is not 
revoked, suspended, or surrendered, or who is otherwise the 
subject of a disciplinary order, and who is eligible for an 
extension of time to file a tax return under the provisions of G.S. 
150-249.2 and 26 U.S.C. 7508. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15(b); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2102 POSTPONEMENT OF FEES 
(a)  A Broker described in 21 NCAC 58A .2101 shall not be 
required to pay renewal fees accrued during the time to be 
disregarded described in 26 U.S.C. 7508 until the June 30 
immediately following the end of such time.  The provisions of 
21 NCAC 58A .0504 notwithstanding, during such time and 
until the June 30 immediately thereafter, the license of a broker 
other than a provisional broker shall remain on active status.  
During such time, the license of a provisional broker shall not 
expire, but shall remain on active status only if the provisional 
broker remains under the supervision of a broker-in-charge. 
(b)  All fees postponed by operation of this subsection shall be 
due and payable on June 30 immediately following the time to 
be disregarded as described in 26 U.S.C. 7508. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93B-15(b); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2103 POSTPONEMENT OF  
CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a)  A broker described by 21 NCAC 58A .2101 shall not be 
required to complete the continuing education required as a 
condition of license renewal for any June 30 license expiration 
date if that date falls during the time to be disregarded described 
in 26 U.S.C. 7508 until the June 10 immediately following the 
end of such time to be disregarded.  If such time ends on or after 
May 1, the broker shall have until September 1 of the same year 
to complete the required continuing education. 
(b)  If a broker entitled to a postponement of continuing 
education under this Rule accumulates a deficiency in his or her 
continuing education of 16 or more hours because of the length 
of the time to be disregarded under 26 U.S.C. 7508, the broker 
may satisfy the deficiency by satisfying the requirements of 21 
NCAC 58A .1703(c) established for an inactive broker returning 
to active status. 
(c)  The license of a broker entitled to postponement of 
continuing education under this Rule shall not be placed on 
inactive status for failure to complete continuing education until 
the deadline for completion set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 
has passed. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93B-15(b); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2104 POSTPONEMENT OF  
POSTLICENSING EDUCATION 
A broker described by 21 NCAC 58A .2101 who is a provisional 
broker shall not be required to complete any post-licensing 
education required to be completed during the period to be 
disregarded under 26 U.S.C. 5708 until the 180th day following 
the ending of such period.  The broker's license shall not be 
placed on inactive status or cancelled for his or failure to 
complete the required post-licensing education prior to the 
deadline established in this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93B-15(b); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .2105 PROOF OF ELIGIBILITY 
It shall be the responsibility of every broker eligible for the 
postponement of fees and education requirements established by 
this section to demonstrate his or her eligibility and the 
beginning and ending of the time to be disregarded as described 
in 26 U.S.C. 5708. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93B-15(b); 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58C .0102 APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL 
Schools seeking approval to conduct real estate prelicensing or 
postlicensing courses must make written application to the 
Commission upon a form provided by the Commission. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 
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Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2006; July 1, 1994; May 1, 
1990; February 1, 1989; September 1, 1984. 
 
21 NCAC 58C .0103 CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL 
(a)  After due investigation and consideration, approval shall be 
granted to a school when it is shown to the satisfaction of the 
Commission that: 

(1) The school has submitted a complete and 
accurate application for approval; 

(2) The school is a North Carolina post-secondary 
educational institution licensed or approved by 
the State Board of Community Colleges or the 
Board of Governors of the University of North 
Carolina or a North Carolina private business 
or trade school licensed under G.S. 115D-90; 

(3) The courses to be conducted comply with the 
standards described in Section .0300 of this 
Subchapter; and 

(4) The school has designated one professional-
level employee to serve as the director of all 
the school's real estate prelicensing and 
postlicensing course offerings and, in that 
capacity, be responsible for liaison with the 
Commission and for assuring compliance with 
all Commission rules relating to the conduct of 
such courses regardless of where the courses 
are offered. 

(b)  A North Carolina college or university which grants a 
baccalaureate or higher degree with a major or minor in the field 
of real estate, real estate brokerage, real estate law, real estate 
finance, real estate development, or other similar fields shall 
request that appropriate real estate and related courses in its 
curriculum be approved by the Commission as equivalent to the 
real estate prelicensing education program prescribed by G.S. 
93A-4(a).  The Commission shall grant such approval and shall 
exempt such school from compliance with the course standards 
set forth in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2006; July 1, 1994; May 1, 
1990; February 1, 1989; November 1, 1987. 
 
21 NCAC 58C .0206 ADMINISTRATION 
(a)  One person must be designated as the director of the school.  
The school director shall personally provide direct and active 
supervision of all school operations related to the conduct of real 
estate prelicensing and postlicensing courses and shall assure 
compliance with all statutory and rule requirements governing 
the licensing and operation of the school.  The director shall act 
as the school's contact person for communication with the 
Commission. 
(b)  The school director must be possessed of good character and 
reputation and must satisfy one of the following qualification 
standards: 

(1) hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in the 
field of education; or 

(2) have at least two years full-time experience 
within the past 10 years as an instructor or 
school administrator; or 

(3) possess qualifications which are found by the 
Commission to be substantially equivalent to 
those described in Subparagraph (1) or (2) of 
this Paragraph. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 
Eff. October 1, 1980; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1987; 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 58A .1306 Eff. 
November 27, 1989; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006. 
 
21 NCAC 58C .0302 PROGRAM STRUCTURING  
AND ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  The real estate prelicensing education program shall consist 
of a single course consisting of at least 75 classroom hours of 
instruction.  Schools may establish course admission standards 
that require students to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
school that they possess the basic reading, writing and 
mathematics skills necessary to be successful in the prelicensing 
course, and these standards may include a requirement to 
complete additional instruction prior to enrollment. 
(b)  The real estate postlicensing education program shall consist 
of three courses, prescribed by the Commission in 21 NCAC 
58A .1902, each consisting of at least 30 classroom hours of 
instruction, which may be taken by students in any sequence. 
(c)  The prerequisite for enrollment in a postlicensing course is 
possession of a current North Carolina broker license on 
provisional status; however, schools may admit an unlicensed 
individual to a postlicensing course if the individual 
demonstrates that he or she needs to complete the course for the 
purpose of qualifying for reinstatement of an expired, canceled, 
revoked or surrendered license not on provisional status, or may 
admit any individual regardless of license status if the individual 
demonstrates that he or she is required to complete the course 
pursuant to a disciplinary consent order issued by the 
Commission.  A school shall not knowingly enroll an individual 
in a postlicensing course while the individual is taking another 
postlicensing course at the same school or a different school if 
such enrollment would result in the individual being in class for 
more than 21 classroom hours in any given seven-day period. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(a1); 93A-33; 
Eff. September 1, 1979; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1989; September 1, 1984; September 
1, 1983; January 1, 1981; 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 58A .1102 Eff. 
November 27, 1989; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 5, 1990, For a Period of 180 
Days to Expire on January 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; February 1, 1991; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 5, 1991, For a Period of 180 
Days to Expire on October 2, 1991; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. May 9, 1991, For a Period of 146 
Days to Expire on October 2, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; 
September 1, 2002; October 1, 2000; July 1, 1994; October 1, 
1991. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0304 CRITERIA FOR ELECTIVE  
COURSE APPROVAL 
(a)  The following requirements must be satisfied in order to 
obtain approval of a proposed elective course: 

(1) The applicant must submit all information 
required by the Commission and pay the 
application fee, if applicable; 

(2) The applicant must satisfy the requirements of 
Section .0400 of this Subchapter relating to the 
qualifications or eligibility of course sponsors; 

(3) The subject matter of the course must satisfy 
the elective course subject matter requirements 
set forth in Rule .0305 of this Section and all 
information to be presented in the course must 
be current and accurate; 

(4) The course must involve a minimum of four 
classroom hours of instruction on acceptable 
subject matter.  A classroom hour consists of 
50 minutes of instruction and 10 minutes of 
break time; 

(5) The applicant and the continuing education 
coordinator required by Rule .0405 of this 
Subchapter must be truthful, honest and of 
high integrity.  In this regard, the Commission 
may consider the reputation and character of 
any owner, officer and director of any 
corporation, association or organization 
applying for sponsor approval; 

(6) The proposed instructor(s) for the course must 
possess the qualifications described in Rule 
.0306 of this Section; 

(7) The instructional delivery methods to be 
utilized in the course must either involve live 
instruction in a traditional classroom setting or 
comply with the requirements described in 
Rule .0310 of this Section; 

(8) The applicant must submit an instructor guide 
that includes: 
(A) a course outline describing the 

subject matter and topics to be taught 
in sufficient detail to permit an 
evaluation of the depth and accuracy 
of the subject matter and topics to be 
covered; 

(B) the amount of time to be devoted to 
each major topic and to breaks; 

(C) the learning objective(s) for each 
major topic; and 

(D) the instructional methods and 
instructional aids that will be utilized 
in the course. 

(9) The proposed time allotments shown in the 
instructor guide must be appropriate for the 

proposed subject matter to be taught.  Unless 
the applicant can demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the Commission that straight 
lecture is the most effective instructional 
method for the course, the instructor guide 
must provide for the use of an appropriate 
variety of instructional methods and 
instructional aids intended to enhance student 
participation, attentiveness, and learning.  
Examples of instructional methods that may be 
appropriate include, but are not limited to, 
instructor-led class discussion, role-playing, 
and in-class individual or group work 
assignments.  Examples of instructional aids 
that may be appropriate include, but are not 
limited to, PowerPoint slides, overhead 
transparencies, video recordings, and 
information from the internet displayed on a 
large screen; 

(10) The course must include handout materials for 
students that provide, in narrative or text form, 
all the information to be presented in the 
course.  This requirement shall not be satisfied 
by using only copies of PowerPoint slides or a 
detailed course outline.  All information 
included in the student materials must be 
current, accurate, explanatory of topics 
covered, consistent with course learning 
objectives, grammatically correct, logically 
organized, and presented in an easy-to-read 
format.  The scope and depth of information 
presented must be appropriate in view of 
course learning objectives and subject matter 
time allotments, and the information presented 
must, except for instruction on changes in 
laws, rules, or practices, include substantial 
coverage of subject matter at a cognitive level 
higher than that expected of entry-level real 
estate licensees.  The quality of reproduced 
student materials must be generally 
comparable to that commonly seen in 
education materials produced by professional 
publishers.  These standards for student 
materials also apply, to the extent they are 
relevant, to student materials other than paper 
materials such as material to be viewed by 
computer that are provided for use by students 
in distance education courses; and 

(11) If an applicant proposes to use copyrighted 
materials in the course, such materials must be 
used in a form approved by the copyright 
holder.  If any copyrighted material is to be 
duplicated by the applicant for use in the 
course, the sponsor must have the specific 
permission of the copyright holder. 

(b)  Applicants requesting approval of distance education 
courses must also comply with the requirements described in 
Rule .0310 of this Section. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; July 1, 
1996; July 1, 1995. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0412 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF  
APPROVAL 
(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw approval of any 
course or course sponsor upon finding that: 

(1) the course sponsor has made any false 
statements or presented any false, incomplete, 
or incorrect information in connection with an 
application for course or sponsor approval or 
renewal of such approval; 

(2) the course sponsor or any official or instructor 
in the employ of the course sponsor has 
refused or failed to comply with any of the 
provisions of this Subchapter; 

(3) the course sponsor or any official or instructor 
in the employ of the course sponsor has 
provided false, incomplete, or incorrect 
information in connection with any reports the 
course sponsor is required to submit to the 
Commission; 

(4) the course sponsor has engaged in a pattern of 
consistently canceling scheduled courses; 

(5) the course sponsor has provided to the 
Commission in payment for required fees a 
check which was dishonored by a bank; 

(6) an instructor in the employ of the course 
sponsor fails to conduct approved courses in a 
manner that demonstrates possession of the 
teaching skills described in Rule .0509 of this 
Subchapter;  

(7) any court of competent jurisdiction has found 
the course sponsor or any official or instructor 
in the employ of the course sponsor to have 
violated, in connection with the offering of 
continuing education courses, any applicable 
federal or state law or regulation prohibiting 
discrimination on the basis of disability, 
requiring places of public accommodation to 
be in compliance with prescribed accessibility 
standards, or requiring that courses related to 
licensing or certification for professional or 
trade purposes be offered in a place and 
manner accessible to persons with disabilities; 

(8) the course sponsor or any official or instructor 
in the employ of the course sponsor has been 
disciplined by the Commission or any other 
occupational licensing agency in North 
Carolina or another jurisdiction; 

(9) the course sponsor or any official or instructor 
in the employ of the course sponsor has 
collected money from licensees for a 
continuing education course, but refuses or 
fails to provide the promised instruction; or 

(10) the course sponsor or any person associated 
with the sponsor has provided to a licensee any 

false, incomplete, or misleading information 
relating to real estate licensing or education 
matters or the licensee's education needs or 
license status. 

(b)  If a licensee who is an approved course sponsor or an 
instructor in the employ of an approved course sponsor engages 
in any dishonest, fraudulent or improper conduct in connection 
with the licensee's activities as a course sponsor or instructor, the 
licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 
93A-6. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4A; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2004; July 1, 2000. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0510 MONITORING ATTENDANCE 
(a)  Sponsors and instructors must monitor attendance for the 
duration of each class session to assure that all students reported 
as satisfactorily completing a course according to the criteria in 
21 NCAC 58A .1705 have attended at least 90 percent of the 
scheduled classroom hours.  Students shall not be admitted to a 
class session after 10 percent of the scheduled classroom hours 
have been conducted.  The 10 percent absence allowance is 
generally permitted for any reason at any time during the course; 
however sponsors and instructors shall not permit students to use 
the 10 percent absence allowance to avoid the last 10 percent of 
the course or to leave the course early unless the absence is for 
circumstances beyond the student's control that could not have 
been reasonably foreseen by the student and is approved by the 
instructor.  With regard to the Commission's 12-hour Broker-In-
Charge Course that is taught over two days, students must attend 
at least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours on each day 
of the course to receive any credit for the course, and the 10 
percent absence allowance restrictions cited above shall apply to 
each day of the course. Students shall not be allowed to sign a 
course completion card, shall not be issued a course completion 
certificate, and shall not be reported to the Commission as 
having completed a course unless the student satisfies the 
attendance requirement.  Sponsors and instructors may not make 
any exceptions to the attendance requirement for any reason. 
(b)  Sponsors must assure that adequate, personnel are present 
during all class sessions to assist the instructor in monitoring 
attendance and performing the necessary administrative tasks 
associated with conducting a course.  A minimum of one person, 
including the instructor, for every 50 students registered for a 
class session shall be utilized for this purpose.  Only one person, 
including the instructor, is necessary for this purpose when the 
class size is 50 or fewer persons. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4A; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2004. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0601 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY 
This Section describes the continuing education course for 
brokers-in-charge prescribed by the Commission in 21 NCAC 
58A .0110(e) and the continuing education course sponsors and 
instructors who are permitted to conduct the course. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-
4.2; 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0603 AUTHORITY TO CONDUCT  
COURSE 
Only continuing education update course sponsors approved 
under Section .0100 of this Subchapter and update course 
instructors approved under Section .0200 of this Subchapter are 
authorized to conduct the Broker-In-Charge Annual Review 
Course.  This authority is automatic for approved update course 
sponsors and instructors and no separate request for approval is 
required.  Loss of approval to sponsor or instruct an update 
course automatically terminates the authority to sponsor or 
instruct the Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course.  Any 
action by a sponsor or instructor that occurs in connection with 
conducting the Broker-In-Charge Annual Review Course shall 
be considered the same under Commission rules as if the action 
had occurred in connection with conducting an update course.  

No persons or entities other than approved update course 
sponsors and instructors will be approved to conduct this course. 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3; 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-
4.2; 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0604 COURSE OPERATIONAL  
REQUIREMENTS 
Authorized sponsors and instructors must provide students a 
copy of the course materials developed by the Commission and 
must conduct the course in accordance with the prescribed 
course materials and the Commission's operational requirements 
for continuing education courses described in Sections .0400 and 
.0500 of this Subchapter. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-
4.2; 
Eff. July 1, 2010. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on Thursday, November 19, 2009 9:00 
a.m. at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on 
any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual 
Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3100.  
Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd 
business day before the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.  

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jim R. Funderburk - 1st Vice Chair Jennie J. Hayman - Chairman 
David Twiddy - 2nd Vice Chair John B. Lewis 

Ralph A. Walker Clarence E. Horton, Jr. 
Jerry R. Crisp Daniel F. McLawhorn 
Jeffrey P. Gray Curtis Venable 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Joe Deluca (919)431-3081 
Bobby Bryan (919)431-3079 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

July 15, 2010  August 15, 2010 
September 16, 2010 October 21, 2010 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:00 A.M. 

 
 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-Up Matters: 

A. Structural Pest Control Committee – 02 NCAC 34 .0331, .1103 (Bryan) 

B. Board of Agriculture – 02 NCAC 48A .1205, .1209 (Bryan) 

C. Board of Agriculture – 02 NCAC 52B .0502, .0603 (Bryan) 

D. Child Care Commission – 10A NCAC 09 .0102, .0511, .2510 (Bryan) 

E. Commission for Public Health – 15A NCAC 18A .2633 (DeLuca) 

F. Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners – 21 NCAC 14B .0605 (DeLuca) 

G. Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners – 21 NCAC 14I .0401 (Bryan) 

H. Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners – 21 NCAC 62 .0404 (DeLuca) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 21, 2010 and June 21, 2010 
 
V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) 

VI. Commission Business 

• Next meeting:  August 19, 2010 
 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
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May 21, 2010 through June 21, 2010 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 
The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2R are organizational rules, policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); structure (.0200); 
publications, records and copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory rulings (.0600); personnel 
policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel 
policies (.1000); local ABC Boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); opening and discontinuance of stores (.1200); 
storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation (.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards 
(.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages 
(.1700); purchase-transportation permits for individuals and mix beverages for permittees (.1800); and sales of liquor to mixed 
beverages permittees (.1900). 

Location and Address 
Amend/* 

04 NCAC 02R .0102

Petition for Adoption of Rules 
Amend/* 

04 NCAC 02R .0402

Direct Shipments 
Amend/* 

04 NCAC 02R .1305

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 
The rules in Chapter 4 are from the Board of Funeral Service and concern the Burial Commission including general provisions 
(.0100); licensing: supervision and audit of mutual burial associations (.0300); and assumptions of assets and liabilities (.0600).  

Name and Address 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0101

Purpose 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0102

Structure 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0103

Merger 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0303

Surplus or Reserve Account 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0304

Bonding 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0305

Definitions 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0601

Notice of N.C. Mutual Burial Association Commission 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0602

Notice to Members of Domestic Mutual Burial Association 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0603

Conduct of Public Meeting 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0604

Approval of Assumption 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0605

Authority to Continue Issuance of Policies 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0606

Issuance of Policies in Excess of Two Hundred Dollars 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0607

Requirements of Companies Writing Policies 
Repeal/* 

04 NCAC 04 .0608
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MENTAL HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
The rules in Chapter 27 concern Mental Health Community Facilities and Services.  
 
The rules in Chapter 27E concern treatment of habilitation rights including protections regarding interventions procedures (.0100); 
protections regarding medications (.0200); and North Carolina interventions quality assurance committee (.0300). 

Scope 
Adopt/* 

10A NCAC 27E .0301

Definitions 
Adopt/* 

10A NCAC 27E .0302

Duties of the NCI Quality Assurance Committee 
Adopt/* 

10A NCAC 27E .0303

Composition of the NCI Quality Assurance Committee 
Adopt/* 

10A NCAC 27E .0304

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 
The rules in Chapter 70 concern children's services. 
 
The rules in Subchapter 70K concern residential maternity homes including general provisions (.0100); minimum licensure 
standards (.0200); and physical plant (.0300). 

Personnel 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0201

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 
The rules in Chapter 7 are coastal management rules. 
 
The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction and general 
comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); natural and cultural 
resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or maintenance of bulkheads and the 
placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1200); boat ramps along estuarine shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in 
estuarine and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in estuarine
waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with attendant structures in 
coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); emergency work requiring a CAMA or a 
dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); 
temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing 
pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline 
protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust 
areas (.2200); replacement of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal 
wetlands (.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures, 
the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems, and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, or 
ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and buffer 
mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program 
(.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).  

Application of Erosion Rate Setback Factors 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 07H .0104

Use Standards 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 07H .0208

FORESTERS, BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR 
The rules in Chapter 20 cover registered foresters. North Carolina forbids the use of the title "Forester," "registered forester," or any 
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other descriptive term including those terms unless the person is registered under this act. It does not forbid the practice of forestry 
or anything that can be done by a registered forester. Forester means a person who by reason of special knowledge and training is 
qualified to engage in the practice of forestry, which is defined as giving professional forestry services, including consultation, 
investigation, evaluation, education, planning, or responsible supervision of any forestry activities requiring knowledge, training, 
and experience in forestry principles and techniques. 

Qualifications for Registration 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0103

Examinations 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0104

Registration Fees 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0106

Delinquent Fees 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0108

Registration Card 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0109

Code of Ethics 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0115

Reciprocity 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0117

Handling of Complaints 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0122

Continuing Education 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0123

Compliance with Annual Reports Requirements 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0124

Petition for Rule-Making--Declaratory Rulings 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0125

Declaratory Rulings: Availability 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 20 .0126

MEDICAL BOARD 
The rules in Chapter 32 are from the Medical Board.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 32B concern license to practice medicine including general provisions (.0100); license by written 
examination (.0200); license by endorsement (.0300); temporary license by endorsement of credentials (.0400); resident's training 
license (.0500); special limited license (.0600); certificate of registration for visiting professors (.0700); medical school facility 
license (.0800); special volunteer license (.0900) prescribing (.1000); reactivation of full license (.1100); and reinstatement of full 
license (.1200). 

Definitions 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0101

Discarding Application Material 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0102

Criminal Background Check 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0104

Federation Credential Verification Service Profile 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0105

Data Bank Reports 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0106

Medical Education 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0301

ECFMG Certification 21 NCAC 32B .0302
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Repeal/* 
Application Forms 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0304

Examination Basis for Endorsement 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0305

Letters of Recommendation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0306

Certified Photograph and Certification of Graduation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0307

Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0308

Personal Interview 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0309

Endorsement Relations 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0311

Routine Inquiries 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0312

Graduate Medical Education and Training 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0313

Passing Exam Score 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0314

Ten-Year Qualification 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0315

Credentials 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0401

Temporary License Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0402

Application Form 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0501

Certification of Graduation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0502

Certified Photograph 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0503

Letters of Recommendation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0504

Appointment Letter 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0505

Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0506

ECFMG Certification 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0507

Medical Education 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0508

Certified Photograph 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0603

Letters of Recommendation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0604

Diploma of Psychological Medicine 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0605

Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0606

ECFMG Certification 21 NCAC 32B .0607
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Repeal/* 
Personal Interview 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0608

Request for the Certificate of Registration 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0701

Medical Licensure 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0702

Limitation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0703

Duration 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0704

Personal Interview 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0705

Fee for Visiting Professors Certificate of Registration 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0706

Certified Photograph 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0707

Definition of Practice 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0901

Qualification for Licensure 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .0902

Application Forms 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1101

Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1102

Personal Interview 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1103

Routine Inquiries 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1104

CME 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1105

Application Forms 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1201

Letters of Recommendation 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1202

Fee 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1203

Personal Interview 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1204

Routine Inquiries 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1205

ECFMG Certification 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1206

Ten-Year Qualification 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1207

Definitions 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1301

Scope of Practice Under Physician License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1302

Application for Physician License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1303

Reinstatement of Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .1350
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Adopt/* 
Reactivation of Physician License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1360

Scope of Practice Under Resident's Training License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1401

Application of Resident's Training License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1402

Scope of Practice Under Special Purpose License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1601

Special Purpose License - Visiting Instructor 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1602

Scope of Practice Under Military Limited Volunteer License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1701

Application for Military Limited Volunteer License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1702

Scope of Practice Under Retired Limited Volunteer License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1703

Application for Retired Limited Volunteer License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1704

Limited Physician License for Disasters and Emergencies 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .1705

Expedited Application for Physician License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32B .2001

The rules in Subchapter 32F deal with the biennial registration. 

Waiver for Licensees Serving on Active Duty in the Armed ... 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32F .0106

The rules in Subchapter 32J concern reinstatement of suspended licenses. 

Application for Reinstatement 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32J .0101

Consideration by Board 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32J .0102

Hearing Upon Denial 
Repeal/* 

21 NCAC 32J .0103

The rules in Subchapter 32R concern Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements. 

Waiver for Licensees Serving on Active Duty in the Armed ... 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 32R .0105

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 
The rules in Subchapter 34A concern board functions including general provisions (.0100); and fees and other payments (.0200). 

Report to General Assembly 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 34A .0203

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations (.0200); 
licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); and preparation of 
dead bodies (.0700). 

Special Procedures for Licensing of Active Military Perso... 21 NCAC 34B .0311
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Adopt/* 

The rules in Subchapter 34D are preneed funeral contract rules including general provisions (.0100); licensing (.0200); operations 
(.0300); and preneed recovery fund (.0400). 

Surety Bonds 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 34D .0203

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 
The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health facilities 
(.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by nurse and physician 
assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections (.2100); continuing education 
(.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments (.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); 
devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); sterile parenteral pharmaceuticals (.2800); product selection (.2900); disposal of 
unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer review program (.3200); and registry of 
pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 46 .1614

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 
The rules in Chapter 64 are from the Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists and include 
general provisions (.0100); interpretative rules (.0200); code of ethics (.0300); rulemaking petitions (.0400); notice of rulemaking 
(.0500); conduct of rulemaking hearings (.0600); declaratory rulings (.0700); contested case hearings (.0800); other matters relating 
to administrative hearings (.0900); and use of speech/language pathology assistants (.1000). 

Remote Location Telepractice 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 64 .0219

COMMUNITY COLLEGES, BOARD OF 
The rules in Chapter 2 concern Community Colleges.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2C deal with the organization and operation of the colleges including trustees and colleges (.0100); 
personnel (.0200); students (.0300); libraries and learning resource centers (.0400); equipment (.0500); college evaluation (.0600); 
and civil rights (.0700). 

Donated or Loaned Property 
Amend/* 

23 NCAC 02C .0503

Special Purchasing Delegation 
Adopt/* 

23 NCAC 02C .0506

STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSION 
The rules in Chapter 1 are from the State Personnel Commission. 
 
The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); sick leave 
(.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave (.1000); other types of 
leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program (.1300); family and medical leave 
(.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); and administrative leave (.1700). 

Purpose 
Amend/* 

25 NCAC 01E .1601

Applicant Information and Application 
Amend/* 

25 NCAC 01E .1602

Uses of Community Service Leave 
Amend/* 

25 NCAC 01E .1604
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The rules in Subchapter 1H concern recruitment and selection including general provisions (.0600); general provision for priority 
consideration (.0700); promotional priority (.0800); reduction-in-force-priority reemployment (.0900); exempt priority consideration 
(.1000); and veteran's preference (.1100). 

Applicant Information and Application 
Amend/* 

25 NCAC 01H .0632
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, (919) 431-3000.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at 
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 
FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 
 Beecher R. Gray    Randall May 
 Selina Brooks    A. B. Elkins II 
 Melissa Owens Lassiter   Joe Webster 
 Don Overby 

 
 

AGENCY CASE 
NUMBER ALJ DATE OF 

DECISION 

PUBLISHED 
DECISION 
REGISTER 
CITATION 

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION     
ABC Commission v. Quickstops of Guilford County, Inc., T/A Road Runner Express (Regional 
 Road) 

09 ABC 5421 Brooks 04/19/10  

ABC Commission v. Ghulam Khan v. T/A West Green Market 09 ABC 4303 Brooks 04/19/10  
ABC Commission v. Sarabjit Kaur v. T/A G&S Food Market 09 ABC 5257 Brooks 04/19/10  
ABC Commission v. Boulos 2, Inc., T/A Akron Texaco 10 ABC 0027 May 04/21/10  
     
CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION     
Ace Wrecker Service Inc, Secretary of Crime Control and Public Safety 09 CPS 2292 Overby 03/31/10  
Alice Conrad v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 09 CPS 6168 Brooks 04/01/10  
     
A list of Child Support Decisions may be obtained by accessing the OAH Website:  http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 
     
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES     
Ward Drug Co. of Nashville Gary Glisson v. DHHS 09 DHR 3830 Webster 04/29/10  
A+ Child Development Center LLC, v. DHHS, Division of Child Development 09 DHR 5443 May 04/27/10  
Gail N. Highsmith v. DHHS 09 DHR 5513 Brooks 05/13/10  
June Rae Crittenden v. Health Care Registry Section, DHHS 09 DHR 6166 Overby 03/29/10  
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