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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns 
 
For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult 
with the agencies below.  The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address, 
but are not inclusive. 
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 Tammara Chalmers, Editorial Assistant tammara.chalmers@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3083 
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 Bobby Bryan, Commission Counsel bobby.bryan@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3079 
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545 Legislative Office Building 
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contact:  Karen Cochrane-Brown,  Staff Attorney  karenc@ncleg.net 
 Jeff Hudson, Staff Attorney  jeffreyh@ncleg.net 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 
 

GENERAL 
 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) notices of rule-making proceedings; 
(3) text of proposed rules; 
(4) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal 

incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165; 
(6) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(7) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; 

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board issued under 
G.S. 105-241.2; and 

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the 
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina 
Register is not included.  The last day of the period so 
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until 
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first 
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of 
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday 
for employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is 
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State 
employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR 
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY:  This date is 
the first legislative day of the next regular session of 
the General Assembly following approval of the rule 
by the Rules Review Commission.  See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 
days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 
TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services intends 
to amend the rule cited as 02 NCAC 09L .1111. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2010 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person 
may request a public hearing on the proposed rules by 
submitting a request in writing no later than October 30, 
2009, to James W. Burnette, Jr., Secretary, NC Pesticide 
Board, 1090 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule change 
would increase the fee for private pesticide applicator 
certification or recertification from $6.00 to $10.00.  The fee 
increase is necessary to offset the costs of the certification 
program. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Any person may object to the proposed rules 
by submitting a written statement of objection(s) to James W. 
Burnette, Jr., Secretary, NC Pesticide Board, 1090 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  James W. Burnette, Jr., 
Secretary, NC Pesticide Board, 1090 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1090; phone (919) 733-3556; fax (919) 
733-9796; email james.burnette@ncagr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 09 - FOOD AND DRUG PROTECTION 

DIVISION 
 

SUBCHAPTER 09L - PESTICIDE SECTION 
 
SECTION .1100 - PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR 

CERTIFICATION 
 
02 NCAC 09L .1111 CERTIFICATION  
/RECERTIFICATION FEE 
A nonrefundable fee of six dollars ($6.00) ten dollars ($10.00) 
shall be required for private pesticide applicator certification 
or recertification. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-440(b). 
 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Child Care Commission intends to adopt the rules 
cited as 10A NCAC 09 .0501, .1703, amend the rules cited as 
10A NCAC 09 .0102, .0302, .0304, .0508-.0511, .0604, .0606, 
.0701-.0702, .0802, .0901, .1403, .1702, .1718, .1721, .1724, 
.2201, .2501-.2506, .2508, .2510, .2801-.2802 and repeal the 
rules cited as 10A NCAC 09 .1505, .2803, .2810-.2816. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 5, 2009 
Time:  2:30 p.m. 
Location:  NC Division of Child Development, 319 
Chapanoke Road, Suite 120, Raleigh, NC  27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Child Care 
Commission is proposing rule changes in the areas of 
children's health and nutrition, enriching outdoor activities 
and quality school-age care, based on research reviewed on 
outdoor learning environments, quality activities for school-



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

492 

age care, and preventing obesity in young children.  Other 
changes are reformatting or a change in placement of existing 
rules that are already being followed and enforced. 
The Commission will repeal rules in Section .2800 that pertain 
to the three component Star Rated License System.  In the 
2005 Legislative Session a bill was passed to make 
improvements to NC's Star Rated License System.  In the past, 
Star Ratings of 2 to 5 Stars were determined based on a 
program's compliance history, education standards, and 
programs standards.  Under the new system and in 
accordance to G.S. 110-90(4) a minimum compliance history 
is now required and the Star Ratings are based on education 
and program standards.  All programs have now transitioned 
to the two component system and the two component rules are 
currently being followed, therefore, rules referencing the three 
component system are no longer needed and will be repealed. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Anyone wishing to comment on these 
proposed rules or to request copies of the rules should contact 
Dedra Alston, Rule-making Coordinator, NC Division of Child 
Development, 2201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-
2201, at 919-890-7060 or Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov.  
Written comments will be accepted through December 14, 
2009.  Oral comments may be made during the public hearing.  
The Commission Chairperson may impose time limits for oral 
remarks. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Dedra Alston, 2201 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-2201, phone (919)890-
7060, fax (919)662-4568, email dedra.alston@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0102 DEFINITIONS 
The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as 
follows except when the content of the rule requires a different 
meaning.  The definitions prescribed in G.S. 110-86 also apply 
to these Rules. 

(1) "Agency" as used in Section .2200 of this 
Chapter, means Division of Child 
Development, Department of Health and 
Human Services located at 319 Chapanoke 
Road, Suite 120, Raleigh, North Carolina 
27603. 

(2) "Appellant" means the person or persons 
who request a contested case hearing. 

(3) "Basic School-Age Care Training" (BSAC 
Training) means the specialized training on 
the elements of quality afterschool care for 
school-age children, developed for and 
approved by the Division of Child 
Development.  Equivalent training may be 
approved if the Division determines that the 
content of the training offered is 
substantially equivalent to the BSAC 
training.  seven clock hours of training 
developed by the North Carolina State 
University Department of 4-H Youth 
Development for the Division of Child 
Development on the elements of quality 
school-age care.  

(4) "Child Care Program" means a single center 
or home, or a group of centers or homes or 
both, which are operated by one owner or 
supervised by a common entity. 

(5) "Child care provider" as defined by G.S. 
110-90.2 (a) (2) a. and used in Section .2700 
of this Chapter, includes the following 
employees who have contact with the 
children in a child care program:  facility 
directors, administrative staff, teachers, 
teachers' aides, cooks, maintenance 
personnel, and drivers. 

(6) "Child Development Associate Credential" 
means the national early childhood 
credential administered by the Council for 
Early Childhood Professional Recognition. 

(7) "Developmentally appropriate" means 
suitable to the chronological age range and 
developmental characteristics of a specific 
group of children. 

(8) "Division" means the Division of Child 
Development within the Department of 
Health and Human Services. 

(9) "Drop-in care" means a child care 
arrangement where children attend on an 
intermittent, unscheduled basis. 

(10) "Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale 
- Revised edition" (Harms, Clifford, and 
Cryer, and Clifford, 1998, 2005, published 
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by Teachers College Press, New York, NY) 
is the instrument used to evaluate the quality 
of care received by a group of children in a 
child care center, when the majority of 
children in the group are two and a half 
years old through five years old, to achieve 
three or more points for the program 
standards of a rated license.  This instrument 
is incorporated by reference and includes 
subsequent editions.  Individuals wishing to 
purchase a copy may call Teachers College 
Press at 1-800-575-6566.  The cost of this 
scale in June 2009 August 2006 is sixteen 
nineteen dollars and ninety-five cents 
($16.95). ($19.95). A copy of this 
instrument is on file at the Division at the 
address given in Item (1) of this Rule and is 
available for public inspection during 
regular business hours. 

(11) "Family Child Care Environment Rating 
Scale – Revised edition" "Family Day Care 
Rating" ( Harms Harms, Cryer and Clifford, 
1989, 2007, published by Teachers College 
Press, New York, NY) is the instrument 
used to evaluate the quality of care received 
by children in family child care homes to 
achieve three or more points for the program 
standards of a rated license.  This instrument 
is incorporated by reference and includes 
subsequent editions.  Individuals wishing to 
purchase a copy may call Teachers College 
Press at 1-800-575-6566.  The cost of this 
scale in August 2006 June 2009 is fifteen 
nineteen dollars and ninety-five cents 
($15.95). ($19.95).  A copy of this 
instrument is on file at the Division at the 
address given in Item (1) of this Rule and is 
available for public inspection during 
regular business hours. 

(12) "First aid kit" is a collection of first aid 
supplies (such as bandages, tweezers, 
disposable nonporous gloves, micro shield 
or face mask, liquid soap, cold pack) for 
treatment of minor injuries or stabilization 
of major injuries.  

(12)(13) "Group" means the children assigned to a 
specific caregiver or caregivers, to meet the 
staff/child ratios set forth in G.S. 110-91(7) 
and this Chapter, using space which is 
identifiable for each group. 

(14) "Health care professional" is defined as: 
(a) a physician licensed in North 

Carolina; 
(b) a nurse practitioner approved to 

practice in North Carolina; 
(c) a registered nurse who holds an 

unencumbered license to practice in 
North Carolina; 

(d) a nurse with a Bachelor of Science 
degree or higher in nursing who 
holds an unencumbered license to 
practice in North Carolina; or 

(e) a certified physician assistant. 
(13)(15) "Household member" means a person who 

resides in a family home as evidenced by 
factors including, maintaining clothing and 
personal effects at the household address, 
receiving mail at the household address, 
using identification with the household 
address, or eating and sleeping at the 
household address on a regular basis.  

(14)(16) "Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale - 
Revised edition" (Harms, Cryer, and 
Clifford, 1990, 2003, published by Teachers 
College Press, New York, NY) is the 
instrument used to evaluate the quality of 
care received by a group of children in a 
child care center, when the majority of 
children in the group are younger than thirty 
months old, to achieve three or more points 
for the program standards of a rated license.  
This instrument is incorporated by reference 
and includes subsequent editions.  
Individuals wishing to purchase a copy may 
call Teachers College Press at 1-800-575-
6566.  The cost of this scale in August 2006 
June 2009 is sixteen nineteen dollars and 
ninety-five cents ($16.95). ($19.95).  A copy 
of this instrument is on file at the Division at 
the address given in Item (1) of this Rule 
and is available for public inspection during 
regular business hours. 

(15)(17) "ITS-SIDS Training" means the 
Infant/Toddler Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk 
Reduction Training developed for and 
approved by the NC Healthy Start 
Foundation for the Division of Child 
Development for caregivers of children ages 
12 months and younger. 

(16)(18) "Licensee" means the person or entity that is 
granted permission by the State of North 
Carolina to operate a child care facility.  The 
owner of said facility shall be the licensee. 

(17)(19) "North Carolina Early Childhood 
Credential" means the state early childhood 
credential that is based on completion of 
coursework and standards found in the 
North Carolina Early Childhood Instructor 
Manual (published by the NC Community 
College System Office).  These standards 
are incorporated by reference and include 
subsequent amendments. A copy of the 
North Carolina Early Childhood Credential 
requirements is on file at the Division at the 
address given in Item (1) of this Rule and is 
available for public inspection or copying at 
no charge during regular business hours. 
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(18) "Operator" means the person or entity held 
legally responsible for the child care 
business.  The terms "operator", "sponsor", 
or "licensee" may be used interchangeably. 

(19)(20) "Owner" means any person with a five 
percent or greater equity interest in a child 
care facility. facility, however, stockholders 
of corporations who own child care facilities 
are not subject to mandatory criminal history 
checks pursuant to G.S. 110-90.2 and G.S. 
110-91(8) unless they are involved in day-
to-day operations of the child care facility. 

(20)(21) "Parent" means a child's parent, legal 
guardian, or full-time custodian. 

(21)(22) "Part-time care" means a child care 
arrangement where children attend on a 
regular schedule but less than a full-time 
basis. 

(22)(23) "Passageway" means a hall or corridor. 
(23)(24) "Person" means any individual, trust, estate, 

partnership, corporation, joint stock 
company,   consortium, or any other group, 
entity, organization, or association. 

(24)(25) "Preschooler" or "preschool-aged 
"preschool-age child" means any child who 
does not fit the definition of school-aged 
school-age child in this Rule. 

(25)(26) "School-Age Care Environment Rating 
Scale" (Harms, Jacobs, and White, 1996, 
published by Teachers College Press) is the 
instrument used to evaluate the quality of 
care received by a group of children in a 
child care center, when the majority of the 
children in the group are older than five 
years, to achieve three or more points for the 
program standards of a rated license.  This 
instrument is incorporated by reference and 
includes subsequent editions.  Individuals 
wishing to purchase a copy may call 
Teachers College Press at 1-800-575-6566.  
The cost of this scale in August 2006 June 
2009 is fifteen nineteen dollars and ninety-
five cents ($15.95). ($19.95).  A copy of this 
instrument is on file at the Division at the 
address given in Item (1) of this Rule and is 
available for public inspection during 
regular business hours. 

(26)(27) "School-aged "School-age child" means any 
child who is attending or who has attended, 
a public or private grade school or 
kindergarten and meets age requirements as 
specified in G.S. 115C-364. 

(27)(28) "Seasonal Program" means a recreational 
program as set forth in G.S. 110-86(2)(b). 

(28)(29) "Section" means Division of Child 
Development. 

(29)(30) "Substitute" means any person who 
temporarily assumes the duties of a staff 

person for a time period not to exceed two 
consecutive months. 

(30)(31) "Temporary care" means any child care 
arrangement which provides either drop-in 
care or care on a seasonal or other part-time 
basis and is required to be regulated 
pursuant to G.S. 110-86. 

(32) "Track-Out Program" means any child care 
provided to school-age children when they 
are out of school on a year-round school 
calendar. 

(31)(33) "Volunteer" means a person who works in a 
child care facility and is not monetarily 
compensated by the facility. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .0300 - PROCEDURES FOR OBTAINING A 
LICENSE 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0302 APPLICATION FOR A  
LICENSE FOR A CHILD CARE CENTER 
(a)  The individual who will be legally responsible for the 
operation of the center, which includes assuring compliance 
with the licensing law and standards, shall apply for a license 
using the form provided by the Division.  If the operator will 
be a group, organization, or other entity, an officer of the 
entity who is legally empowered to bind the operator shall 
complete and sign the application. 
(b)  The applicant shall arrange for inspections of the center by 
the local health, building and fire inspectors.  The applicant 
shall provide an approved inspection report signed by the 
appropriate inspector to the Division representative. 

(1) A provisional classification may be accepted 
in accordance with Rule .0401(1) of this 
Subchapter.  Chapter. 

(2) When a center does not conform with a 
specific building, fire, or sanitation standard, 
the appropriate inspector may submit a 
written explanation of how equivalent, 
alternative protection is provided.  The 
Division may accept the inspector's 
documentation in lieu of compliance with 
the specific standard. Nothing in this 
Regulation is to preclude or interfere with 
issuance of a provisional license pursuant to 
Section .0400 of this Subchapter.  Chapter. 

(c)  The applicant, or the person responsible for the day-to-day 
operation of the center, shall be able to describe the plans for 
the daily program, including room arrangement, staffing 
patterns, equipment, and supplies, in sufficient detail to show 
that the center shall comply with applicable requirements for 
activities, equipment, and staff/child ratios for the capacity of 
the center and type of license requested.  The applicant shall 
make the following written information available to the 
Division for review to verify compliance with provisions of 
this Subchapter Chapter and the licensing law: 

(1) daily schedules; 
(2) activity plans; 
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(3) emergency care plan; 
(4) discipline policy; 
(5) incident reports; 
(6) incident logs; and 
(7) a copy of the certified criminal history check 

for the applicant, or the applicant's designee 
as defined in Rule .2701(g) of this 
Subchapter, Chapter, from the Clerk of 
Superior Court's office in the county or 
counties where the individual has resided 
during the previous 12 months. 

(d)  The applicant shall, at a minimum, demonstrate to the 
Division representative that measures shall be implemented to 
have the following information in the center's files and readily 
available to the representative for review: 

(1) Staff records which include an application 
for employment and date of birth; 
documentation of previous education, 
training, and experience; medical and health 
records; documentation of participation in 
training and staff development activities; 
and required criminal records check 
documentation; 

(2) Children's records which include an 
application for enrollment; medical and 
immunization records; and permission to 
seek emergency medical care; 

(3) Daily attendance records;  
(4) Daily records of arrival and departure times 

at the center for each child; 
(4)(5) Records of monthly fire drills giving the 

date each drill is held, the time of day, the 
length of time taken to evacuate the 
building, and the signature of the person 
who conducted the drill; 

(5)(6) Records of monthly playground inspections 
documented on a checklist provided by the 
Division; and 

(6)(7) Records of medication administered. 
(e)  The Division representative shall measure all rooms to be 
used for child care and shall assure that an accurate sketch of 
the center's floor plan is part of the application packet.  The 
Division representative shall enter the dimensions of each 
room to be used for child care, including ceiling height, and 
shall show the location of the bathrooms, doors, and required 
exits on the floor plan. 
(f)  The Division representative shall make one or more 
inspections of the center and premises to assess compliance 
with all applicable requirements. 

(1) If all applicable requirements of G.S. 110 
and this Section are met, the Division shall 
issue the license. 

(2) If all applicable requirements of G.S. 110 
and this Section are not met, the 
representative may recommend issuance of a 
provisional license in accordance with 
Section .0400 of this Subchapter Chapter or 
the representative may recommend denial of 
the application.  Final disposition of the 

recommendation to deny is the decision of 
the Secretary. 

(3) The license shall be displayed in an area that 
parents are able to view daily. 

(g)  When a person applies for a child care center license, the 
Secretary may deny the application for the license under the 
following circumstances: 

(1) if any child care facility license previously 
held by that person has been denied, revoked 
or summarily suspended by the Division; 

(2) if the Division has initiated denial, 
revocation or summary suspension 
proceedings against any child care facility 
license previously held by that person and 
the person voluntarily relinquished the 
license; 

(3) during the pendency of an appeal of a 
denial, revocation or summary suspension of 
any child care facility license previously 
held by that person; 

(4) if the Division determines that the applicant 
has a relationship with an operator or former 
operator who previously held a license under 
an administrative action described in 
Subparagraph (g)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule.  
As used in this Rule, an applicant has a 
relationship with a former operator if the 
former operator would be involved with the 
applicant's child care facility in one or more 
of the following ways: 
(A) would participate in the 

administration or operation of the 
facility; 

(B) has a financial interest in the 
operation of the facility; 

(C) provides care to children at the 
facility; 

(D) resides in the facility; or 
(E) would be on the facility's board of 

directors, be a partner of the 
corporation, or otherwise have 
responsibility for the administration 
of the  business; 

(5) based on the person's previous non-
compliance as an operator with the 
requirements of G.S. 110 and this 
Subchapter;  Chapter; or 

(6) if abuse or neglect has been substantiated 
against the person. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(2); 110-88(5); 110-91; 110-92; 
110-93; 110-99; 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0304 ON-GOING REQUIREMENTS  
FOR A PERMIT 
(a)  Each operator shall schedule a fire inspection within 12 
months of the center's previous fire inspection. The operator is 
responsible for notifying the local fire inspector when it is 
time for the center's annual fire inspection. The operator shall 
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submit the original of the completed annual fire inspection 
report to the Division's representative within one week of the 
inspection visit on the form provided by the Division. 
(b)  Each center shall be inspected at least annually by an 
Environmental Health Specialist for compliance with 
applicable sanitation requirements adopted by the Commission 
for Public Health as described in 15A NCAC 18A .2800. 
(c)  A new building inspection shall not be required unless the 
operator plans to begin using space not previously approved 
for child care, has made renovations to the building, has added 
new construction, or wants to remove any restriction related to 
building codes currently on the permit. 
(d)  When the Division's representative documents 
noncompliance during a visit, the representative may: 

(1) Advise the operator to submit written 
verification that the noncompliance has been 
corrected; 

(2) Return to the center for an unannounced 
visit at a later date to determine if 
compliance has been achieved; or 

(3) Recommend issuance of a provisional 
license in accordance with Section .0400 of 
this Chapter or recommend the revocation of 
the permit or administrative actions in 
accordance with Section .2200 of this 
Chapter. 

(e)  The Division shall assess the compliance history of a 
center by evaluating the violations of requirements that have 
occurred.  Demerits shall be assigned for each occurrence of 
violations of these requirements: supervision of children (6 
points), staff/child ratio (6 points), staff qualifications and 
training (2-5 points), health and safety practices (3-6 points), 
discipline (6 points), developmentally appropriate activities 
(2-4 points), adequate space (6 points), nutrition and feeding 
practices (1-3 points), program records (1-3 points), and 
transportation (1-3 points), if applicable. The point value of 
each demerit shall be based on the potential detriment to the 
health and safety of children. A compliance history percentage 
shall be calculated each year by subtracting the total number 
of demerits from the total demerits possible and converting to 
a percentage. The yearly compliance history percentage shall 
be averaged over the specified time period as in accordance 
with G.S. 110-90(4) for the compliance history percentage 
referenced in this Rule.  A copy of the Division compliance 
history score sheet used to calculate the compliance history 
percentage is available for review at the address given in Rule 
.0102 of this Section. 
(f)  Each center shall maintain accurate records and documents 
as described in Rule .0302(c) and (d) of this Section, and these 
records and documents shall be made available to the Division 
for review to verify compliance with provisions of this 
Chapter and the General Statute.   
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-93; 143B-168.3; 150B-
3. 
 

SECTION .0500 - AGE AND DEVELOPMENTALLY 
APPROPRIATE ENVIRONMENTS FOR CENTERS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0501 STAFF/CHILD  
INTERACTIONS 
Staff will relate to children in positive ways by helping them 
feel welcome and comfortable, treating them with respect, 
listening to what they say, responding to them with acceptance 
and appreciation and participating in many activities with the 
children.  Staff shall: 

(1) Make eye contact whenever possible when 
speaking to children. 

(2) Engage children in conversation to share 
experiences, ideas and opinions. 

(3) Help children develop problem-solving 
skills.   

(4) Facilitate learning by providing positive 
reinforcement, encouraging efforts and 
recognizing accomplishments. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(8), (11); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0508 ACTIVITY SCHEDULES AND  
PLANS FOR CENTERS 
(a)  All centers shall have a schedule for each group of 
children posted for easy reference by parents and by 
caregivers. 

(1) When children two years old or older are in 
care, the schedule shall: 
(1)(A) The schedule shall show Show 

blocks of time usually assigned to 
types of activities and shall include 
periods of time for both active play 
and quiet play or rest. 

(2)(B) Blocks Show blocks of time shall 
show activities that are scheduled 
for activities for indoor and outdoor 
areas. 

(3)(C) The activities and allotted times 
reflected in the schedule shall be 
Reflect times and activities that are 
developmentally appropriate for the 
children in care. 

(4) When children two years old or 
older are in care, the schedule shall 
also reflect daily opportunities for 
both free-choice and teacher-
directed activities.   

(D) Reflect daily opportunities indoors 
and outdoors for: 
(i) Free-choice activities; 
(ii) Teacher-directed 

activities; and 
(iii) A minimum total of one 

hour of outdoor time 
throughout the day, if 
weather conditions permit.  
Centers that operate for 
four hours per day or less 
shall provide a minimum 
total of 30 minutes of 
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outdoor time daily, if 
weather conditions permit. 

(2) When children under two years old are in 
care, the schedule shall include regular daily 
events such as arrival and departure, free 
choice times, outside time and teacher-
directed activities.  Interspersed among the 
daily events shall be individualized 
caregiving routines such as eating, napping 
and toileting.  There shall be a minimum of 
30 minutes of outdoor time throughout the 
day either as part of a small group, whole 
group, or individual activity, if weather 
conditions permit.  

(b)  All centers shall develop a written plan of 
developmentally appropriate activities designed to stimulate 
social, emotional, intellectual and physical development for 
each group of children in care. 

(1) The activity plan shall always be current and 
accessible for easy reference by parents and 
caregivers. 

(2) The activity plan shall include at least one 
daily activity for each developmental goal 
specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.  
Activities which allow children to choose to 
participate with the whole group, part of the 
group, or independently shall be identified.  
The plan shall reflect that the children have 
at least four different activities in which they 
may choose to participate on a daily basis. 
daily, at least one of which is outdoors, if 
weather conditions permit. 

(3) The activity plan shall also include a daily 
gross motor activity which may occur 
indoors or outdoors.   

(c)  The schedule and activity plan may be combined as one 
document that shall always be current and posted for easy 
reference by parents and caregivers. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(2),(12); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0509 ACTIVITIES: GENERAL  
REQUIREMENTS FOR CENTERS 
The learning environment consists of the indoor and outdoor 
area which encourages child initiated and teacher supported 
activities as follows: 

(a)(1) Each center shall have developmentally 
appropriate equipment and materials 
accessible on a daily basis. 

(b)(2) The materials and equipment indoors and 
outdoors shall be sufficient to provide a 
variety of play experiences which promote 
the children's social, emotional, intellectual 
and physical development. 

(c)(3) Teacher-made and home-made equipment 
and materials may be used if they are safe 
and functional.  Materials and equipment 
that are accessible to children shall not be 
coated or treated with, nor shall they 

contain, toxic materials such as creosote, 
pentacholorphenol, tributyl tin oxide, 
dislodgeable arsenic and any finishes which 
contain pesticides. 

(d)(4) Developmentally appropriate equipment and 
materials shall be provided for a variety of 
outdoor activities which allow for vigorous 
play and large muscle development. Each 
child shall have the opportunity for outdoor 
play each day that weather conditions 
permit.  The center shall provide space and 
time for vigorous indoor activities when 
children cannot play outdoors. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(2),(12); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0510 ACTIVITY AREAS:  
PRESCHOOL CHILDREN TWO YEARS AND OLDER 
(a)  Each center shall have equipment and materials available 
in activity areas on a daily basis.  Centers with a licensed 
capacity of three 3 to 12 children located in a residence are not 
required to have activity areas, but must have equipment and 
materials available daily both indoors and outdoors for the 
children in care. 
(b)  An activity area is an identifiable space which is 
accessible to the children and where related equipment and 
materials are kept in an orderly fashion. 
(c)  Each activity area shall contain enough materials to allow 
three related activities to occur at the same time.  The 
materials and equipment shall be in sufficient quantity to 
allow at least three children to use the area regardless of 
whether the children choose the same or different activities. 
(d)  Each center shall make at least four of the activity areas 
listed in G.S. 110-91(12) available daily to preschool children 
two years or older as follows: 

(1) Centers with a licensed capacity of 30 or 
more children shall have at least four 
activity areas available in the space occupied 
by each group of children. 

(2) Centers with a licensed capacity of less than 
30 children shall have at least four activity 
areas available daily.  Separate groups of 
children may share use of the same activity 
areas. 

(3) Centers with a licensed capacity of three 3 to 
12 children located in a residence shall have 
at least four types of activities available 
daily. 

(e)  In addition to the activity areas which are available each 
day, each center shall have materials and equipment in 
sufficient quantity, as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 
to ensure that activities are made available at least once per 
month in each of the five activity areas listed G.S. 110-91(12). 
(f)  Each center shall provide materials and opportunities for 
music and rhythm activities, science and nature activities, and 
sand and water play for each group of children at least weekly, 
once per month. indoors or outdoors. 
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(g) When screen time, including, but not limited to, television, 
videos, video games, and computer usage, is provided, it shall 
be: 

(1) Offered only as a free-choice activity, 
(2) Limited to no more than a total of two and a 

half hours per week, per child, and 
(3) Used to meet a developmental goal. 

Usage time periods may be extended for specific special 
events, projects, or occasions such as a current event, holiday, 
or birthday celebration.  
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(6),(12); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0511 ACTIVITIES FOR CHILDREN  
UNDER TWO YEARS OF AGE 
(a)  Each center shall have developmentally appropriate toys 
and activities for each child to promote the child's physical, 
emotional, intellectual and social well-being including 
appropriate books, blocks, dolls, pretend play materials, 
musical toys, sensory toys, and fine motor toys. 

(1) The materials shall be kept in an identifiable 
space where related equipment and materials 
are kept in identifiable groupings and must 
be made available to the children for a 
substantial portion of each day. 

(2) The materials shall be offered in sufficient 
quantity to allow all children to use them at 
some point during the day and to allow for a 
range of choices with duplicates of the most 
popular toys.  

(3) Caregivers shall make provisions for the 
promotion of physical development for a 
substantial portion of the day which shall 
include varied, developmentally appropriate 
physical activities.  A safe clean, uncluttered 
area that allows freedom of movement shall 
be available for infants to crawl or creep and 
for toddlers to move around. both indoors 
and outdoors. 

(4) Hands-on experiences, including both 
familiar and new activities, shall be 
provided to enable the infant or toddler to 
learn about himself and the world. world 
both indoors and outdoors. 

(b)  The center shall provide time and space for sleeping, 
eating, toileting, diaper changing, and playing according to 
each child's individual need. 
(c)  The caregivers shall interact in a positive manner with 
each child every day, including the following ways:  

(1) Caregivers shall respond promptly to an 
infant or toddler's physical and emotional 
needs, especially when indicated by crying 
through actions such as but not limited to the 
following: feeding, diapering, holding, 
positive touching, smiling, talking and eye 
contact. 

(2) The caregiver shall recognize the special 
difficulties of infant and toddler separations 
and assist families, infants, and toddlers to 

make the transition from home to center as 
gently as possible, such as a phased-in 
orientation process to allow infants and 
toddlers to experience limited amounts of 
time at the center before becoming fully 
integrated.  

(3) A caregiver or team of caregivers shall be 
assigned to each infant or toddler as the 
primary caregiver(s) who shall be 
responsible for care the majority of the time. 

(4) The caregiver shall make provision for 
constructive guidance and the setting of 
limits that the child can understand which 
foster the infant's or toddler's ability to be 
self-disciplined, as appropriate to the child's 
age and development. 

(5) In drop-in centers, effort shall be made to 
place an infant or toddler, who uses the 
center frequently, with the same caregiver. 

(d)  Each child shall have the opportunity to be outdoors daily 
when weather conditions permit. 
(e)(d)  While awake, each child under the age of 12 months 
shall be given the opportunity each day to play while 
positioned on his or her stomach. 
(e)  Screen time, including, but not limited to television, 
videos, video games, and computer usage, shall be prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(2),(12); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .0600 - SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0604 GENERAL SAFETY  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Potentially hazardous items, such as firearms and 
ammunition, archery equipment, hand and power tools, nails, 
chemicals, lawn mowers, gasoline or kerosene, archery 
equipment, propane stoves, whether or not intended for use by 
children, shall be stored in locked areas or with other 
appropriate safeguards, or shall be removed from the 
premises.   
(b)  Firearms and ammunition are prohibited in a licensed 
child care program unless carried by a law enforcement 
officer. 
(b)(c)  Electrical outlets not in use which are located in space 
used by the children shall be covered with safety plugs unless 
located behind furniture or equipment that cannot be moved 
by a child. 
(c)(d)  Electric fans shall be mounted out of the reach of 
children or shall be fitted with a mesh guard to prevent access 
by children. 
(d)(e)  All electrical appliances shall be used only in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 
(e)(f)  Electrical cords shall not be accessible to infants and 
toddlers.  Extension cords, except as approved by the local fire 
inspector, shall not be used.  Frayed or cracked electrical cords 
shall be replaced. 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

499 

(f)(g)  All materials used for starting fires, such as matches 
and lighters, shall be kept in locked storage or shall be stored 
out of the reach of children. 
(g)(h)  Smoking is not permitted in space used by children 
when children are present.  All smoking materials shall be 
kept in locked storage or out of the reach of children. 
(h)(i)  Fuel burning heaters, fireplaces and floor furnaces shall 
be provided with a protective screen attached securely to 
substantial supports to prevent access by children and to 
prevent objects from being thrown into them. 
(i)(j)  Plants that are toxic shall not be in indoor or outdoor 
space that is used by or is accessible to children. 
(j)(k)  Air conditioning units shall be located so that they are 
not accessible to children or shall be fitted with a mesh guard 
to prevent objects from being thrown into them. 
(k)(l)  Gas tanks shall be located so they are not accessible to 
the children or shall be in a protective enclosure or surrounded 
by a protective guard. 
(l)(m)  Cribs and playpens shall be placed so that the children 
occupying them shall not have access to cords or ropes, such 
as venetian blind cords. 
(m)(n)  Once a day, prior to initial use, the The indoor and 
outdoor premises shall be checked daily for debris, vandalism, 
and broken equipment.  Debris shall be removed and disposed.  
(n)(o)  Plastic bags, toys, and toy parts small enough to be 
swallowed, and materials that can be easily torn apart such as 
foam rubber and styrofoam, shall not be accessible to children 
under three years of age, except that styrofoam plates and 
larger pieces of foam rubber may be used for supervised art 
activities and styrofoam plates may be used for food service. 
Latex and rubber balloons shall not be accessible to children 
under five years of age. 
(o)(p)  When non-ambulatory children are in care, a crib or 
other device shall be available for evacuation in case of fire or 
other emergency.  The crib or other device shall be fitted with 
wheels in order to be easily moveable, have a reinforced 
bottom, and shall be able to fit through the designated fire 
exit.  For centers that do not meet institutional building code, 
and the exit is more than eight inches above grade, the center 
shall develop a plan to ensure a safe and timely evacuation of 
the crib or other device.  This plan shall be demonstrated to a 
Division representative for review and approval.  During the 
monthly fire drills required by Rule 10A NCAC 09 
.0302(d)(4), the evacuation crib or other device shall be used 
in the manner described in the evacuation plan. 
(q)  A first aid kit must always be available on site.   
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(3),(6); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0606 SAFE SLEEP POLICY 
(a)  Each center licensed to care for infants aged 12 months or 
younger shall develop and adopt a written safe sleep policy 
that: 

(1) specifies that caregivers shall place infants 
aged 12 months or younger on their backs 
for sleeping, unless:  
(A) for an infant aged six months or 

less, the center receives a written 
waiver of this requirement from a 

health care professional, provider, 
as defined in G.S. 58-50-61(a)(8); 
or 

(B) for an infant older than six months, 
the center receives a written waiver 
of this requirement from a health 
care  professional, provider, as 
defined in G.S. 58-50-61(a)(8),  or 
a parent, or a legal guardian;   

(2) specifies whether pillows, blankets, toys, or 
other objects may be placed with a sleeping 
infant aged 12 months or younger, and if so, 
specifies the number and types of allowable 
objects;   

(3) specifies that nothing shall be placed over 
the head or face of an infant aged 12 months 
or younger when the infant is laid down to 
sleep;  

(4) specifies that the temperature in the room 
where infants aged 12 months or younger 
are sleeping does not exceed 75� F; 

(5) specifies the means by which caregivers 
shall visually check on sleeping infants aged 
12 months or younger; 

(6) specifies the frequency with which 
caregivers shall visually check on sleeping 
infants aged 12 months or younger; 

(7) specifies how caregivers shall document 
compliance with visually checking on 
sleeping infants aged 12 months or younger 
with such documents to be maintained for a 
minimum of one month;   

(8) specifies any other steps the center shall take 
to provide a safe sleep environment for 
infants aged 12 months or younger. 

(b)  The center shall post a copy of its safe sleep policy or a 
poster about infant safe sleep practices in a prominent place in 
the infant room.   
(c)  A copy of the center's safe sleep policy shall be given and 
explained to the parents of an infant aged 12 months or 
younger on or before the first day the infant attends the 
center.  The parent shall sign a statement acknowledging the 
receipt and explanation of the policy.  The acknowledgement 
shall contain: 

(1) the infant's name; 
(2) the date the infant first attended the center;  
(3) the date the center's safe sleep policy was 

given and explained to the parent; and  
(4) the date the parent signed the 

acknowledgement.   
The center shall retain the acknowledgement in the child's 
record as long as the child is enrolled at the center. 
(d)  If a center amends its safe sleep policy, it shall give 
written notice of the amendment to the parents of all enrolled 
infants aged 12 months or younger at least 14 days before the 
amended policy is implemented.  Each parent shall sign a 
statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation of the 
amendment.  The center shall retain the acknowledgement in 
the child's record as long as the child is enrolled at the center. 
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(e)  A health care provider's professional's or parent's waiver 
of the requirement that all infants aged 12 months or younger 
be placed on their backs for sleeping as specified in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule shall: 

(1) bear the infant's name and birth date; 
(2) be signed and dated by the infant's physician 

health care professional or parent; and 
(3) specify the infant's authorized sleep 

positions;  
The center shall retain the waiver in the child's record as long 
as the child is enrolled at the center.   
(f)  For each infant with a waiver on file at the center as 
specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a notice shall be posted 
for quick reference near the infant's crib, bassinet, or play pen 
that shall include: 

(1) the infant's name; 
(2) the infant's authorized sleep position; and 
(3) the location of the signed waiver. 

No confidential medical information, including an infant's 
medical diagnosis, shall be shown on the notice. 
(g)  The center's safe sleep policy shall be developed and 
shared with parents of infants currently enrolled within 30 
days of this Rule becoming effective. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(15); 143B-168.3. 
 
SECTION .0700 - HEALTH AND OTHER STANDARDS 

FOR CENTER STAFF 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0701 HEALTH STANDARDS FOR  
STAFF 
(a)  All personnel, including the director, shall have on file 
within 60 days of the date of employment, a statement signed 
by a health care professional licensed physician or an 
authorized health professional under his/her supervision, that 
indicates that the person is emotionally and physically fit to 
care for children.  When submitted the medical statement shall 
not be older than 12 months.  For the purposes of this Rule, an 
authorized health professional means a nurse practitioner or 
physician assistant currently approved to perform medical acts 
by the North Carolina Board of Medical Examiners. 
(b)  The Division, or the director of the child care center, may 
request another evaluation of an employee's emotional and 
physical fitness to care for children when there is reason to 
believe that there has been deterioration in the person's 
emotional or physical fitness to care for children. 
(c)  A test showing each employee, including the director, to 
be free of active tuberculosis is required prior to employment.  
The results indicating the individual is free of active 
tuberculosis shall be obtained within the 12 months prior to 
the date of employment. 
(d)  Each employee, including the director, shall also annually 
submit a medical statement from a licensed physician or a 
authorized health care professional, professional as defined in 
(a) of this Rule, or must complete a health questionnaire 
giving information about the status of his/her health on a form 
provided by the Division. 

(e)  Staff medical statements, proof of a tuberculosis test, and 
completed health questionnaires shall be included in the 
employee's individual personnel file in the center. 
(f)  Emergency medical care information shall be on file for 
each individual staff person.  That information shall include 
the name, address, and telephone number of the person to be 
contacted in case of an emergency, the responsible party's 
choice of health care provider, professional, and preferred 
hospital; any chronic illness the individual has and any 
medication taken for that illness; and any other information 
that has a direct bearing on assuring safe medical treatment for 
the individual.  This emergency medical care information shall 
be on file in the center on the staff person's first day of 
employment. employment and shall be updated at least 
annually. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(8),(9); 143B-168.3. 
  
10A NCAC 09 .0702 STANDARDS FOR  
SUBSTITUTES AND VOLUNTEERS 
(a)  The substitute staff and volunteers who are counted in the 
child care staff/child ratio shall comply with the health 
standards contained in this Section. 
(b)  All substitutes and volunteers not included in the child 
care staff/child ratio shall complete the health questionnaire 
described in Rule .0701 of this Section prior to the first day of 
work and will complete a health questionnaire annually 
thereafter as long as they continue to work in the center. 
(c)  A test showing each substitute and volunteer is free of 
active tuberculosis is required prior to the first day of work.  
The results of the test shall be obtained within the 12 months 
prior to employment or the beginning of the volunteer activity.  
This requirement shall apply only to individuals who 
volunteer more than once per week. 
(d)  The age of substitute staff and volunteers shall be verified 
prior to the first day of work by documenting the substitute 
staff or volunteer's date of birth in the individual's record.  
Any substitute teacher shall be at least 18 years old and 
literate. 
(e)  Emergency medical care information as described in Rule 
.0701(f) of this Section shall be on file for all substitutes and 
volunteers on the person's first day of work. work and shall be 
updated at least annually. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(8),(9); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .0800 - HEALTH STANDARDS FOR 
CHILDREN 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0802 EMERGENCY MEDICAL  
CARE 
(a)  Each child care center shall have a written plan which 
assures that emergency medical care is available or can be 
obtained for children.  The plan shall be reviewed during staff 
orientation with new staff and with all staff at least twice each 
year.  This plan shall give the procedures to be followed to 
assure that any child who becomes ill or is injured and 
requires medical attention while at the center, or while 
participating in any activity provided or sponsored by the 
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center, receives appropriate medical attention.  The following 
information shall be included in the center's emergency 
medical care plan: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of 
a health care professional; physician, nurse, 
physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, 
community clinic, or local health department 
that is available to provide medical 
consultation; 

(2) The name, address, and telephone number of 
the emergency room to be used when the 
parents or family physician family's health 
care professional cannot be reached or when 
transporting the ill or injured child to the 
person's preferred hospital could result in 
serious delay in obtaining medical attention; 

(3) Designation of a means of transportation 
always available for use in the event of a 
medical emergency; 

(4) The name of the person, and his or her 
alternate, at the center, responsible for 
determining which of the following is 
needed, carrying out that plan of action, and 
assuring that appropriate medical care is 
given: 
(A) Simple first aid given at the center 

for an injury or illness needing only 
minimal attention; 

(B) Advice from previously identified 
medical consultant in order to 
decide if care is to be given at the 
center or if the ill or injured child is 
to be transported to a designated 
medical resource; or 

(C) Immediate transportation of the 
child to a designated medical 
resource for appropriate treatment; 

(5) The person(s) at the center responsible for: 
(A) Assuring that the signed 

authorization described in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule is taken 
with the ill or injured child to the 
medical facility; 

(B) Accompanying the ill or injured 
child to the medical facility; 

(C) Notifying a child's parents or 
emergency contact person about the 
illness or injury and where the child 
has been taken for treatment; 

(D) Notifying the medical facility about 
the ill or injured child being 
transported for treatment; and 

(E) Obtaining substitute staff, if 
needed, to maintain required 
staff/child ratio and adequate 
supervision of children who remain 
in the center; 

(6) A statement giving the location of the 
telephone located on the premises which is 

in good working condition and is always 
available for use in case of emergency.  
Telephone numbers for the fire department, 
law enforcement office, emergency medical 
service, and poison control center shall be 
posted near the telephone.  A telephone 
located in an office in the center that is 
sometimes locked during the time the 
children are present cannot be designated for 
use in an emergency. 

(b)  Emergency medical care information shall be on file for 
each individual child.  That information shall include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the parent or other 
person to be contacted in case of an emergency, the 
responsible party's choice of health care provider, professional 
and preferred hospital; any chronic illness the individual has 
and any medication taken for that illness; and any other 
information that has a direct bearing on assuring safe medical 
treatment for the child.  This emergency medical care 
information shall be on file in the center on the child's first day 
of attendance. attendance and shall be updated at least 
annually. 
(c)  Each child's parent, legal guardian, or full-time custodian 
shall sign a statement authorizing the center to obtain medical 
attention for the child in an emergency.  That statement shall 
be on file on the first day the child attends the center.  It shall 
be easily accessible to staff so that it can be taken with the 
child whenever emergency medical treatment is necessary. 
(d)  An incident report shall be completed each time a child 
receives medical treatment by a physician, nurse, physician's 
assistant, nurse practitioner, health care professional, 
community clinic, or local health department, as a result of an 
incident occurring while the child is at the child care center.  
This incident report shall include, at a minimum: child's name, 
date and time of incident, part of body injured, type of injury, 
names of adult witnesses to incident, description of how and 
where incident occurred, piece of equipment involved (if any), 
treatment received and steps taken to prevent reoccurrence.  
This report shall be signed by the person completing it and by 
the parent, and maintained in the child's file.  A copy of the 
incident report shall be mailed to a representative of the 
Division within seven calendar days after treatment. 
(e)  An incident log shall be completed any time an incident 
report is completed.  This log shall be cumulative and 
maintained in a separate file and shall be available for review 
by a representative of the Division.  This log shall be 
completed on a form provided by the Division. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(9); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .0900 - NUTRITION STANDARDS 
 
10A NCAC 09 .0901 GENERAL NUTRITION  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Meals and snacks served shall comply with the Meal 
Patterns for Children in Child Care standards which are based 
on the recommended nutrient intake judged by the National 
Research Council to be adequate for maintaining good 
nutrition.  The types of food, number and size of servings shall 
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be appropriate for the ages and developmental levels of the 
children in care.  The Meal Patterns for Children in Child Care 
nutrition standards are incorporated by reference and include 
subsequent amendments.  A copy of these standards is 
available free of charge from the Division at the address in 
Rule .0102(1) of this Subchapter. Chapter. 
(b)  Menus for nutritious meals and snacks shall be planned at 
least one week in advance.  At least one dated copy of the 
current week's menu shall be posted where it can be seen 
easily by parents and food preparation staff when food is 
prepared or provided by the center, except in centers with a 
licensed capacity of three 3 to 12 children located in a 
residence.  A variety of food shall be included in meals and 
snacks.  Any substitution will be of comparable food value 
and will be recorded on the menu. 
(c)  When children bring their own food for meals or snacks to 
the center, if the food does not meet the nutritional 
requirements specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the center 
must provide additional food necessary to meet those 
requirements. 
(d)  Drinking water must be freely available to children of all 
ages and offered at frequent intervals.  Approved drinking 
fountains or individual drinking utensils shall be provided.  
When a private water supply is used, it must be tested by and 
meet the requirements of the Department of Environment and 
Natural Resources. 
(e)  Children's special diets or food allergies shall be posted in 
the food preparation area and in the child's eating area. 
(f)  The food required by special diets may be provided by the 
center or may be brought to the center by the parents.  If the 
diet is prescribed by a health care provider, professional, a 
statement signed by the health care provider professional shall 
be on file at the center and written instructions shall be 
provided by the child's parent, health care provider, 
professional, or a registered dietitian.  If the diet is not 
prescribed by a health care provider, professional, written 
instructions shall be provided by the child's parent and shall be 
on file at the center. 
(g)  Food and beverages with little or no nutritional value 
served as a snack, such as sweets, fruit drinks, soft drinks, etc., 
will be available only for special occasions. 
(h)  The center shall provide seating and an electrical outlet, if 
needed, for mothers while they are breastfeeding or expressing 
milk. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(2); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .1400 - SPACE REQUIREMENTS 
 
10A NCAC 09 .1403 AQUATIC ACTIVITIES 
(a)  The requirements in this Rule apply to aquatic activities, 
which are defined as activities that take place in, on, or around 
a body of water such as swimming, swimming instruction, 
wading, visits to water parks, and boating.  Aquatic activities 
do not include water play activities such as water table play, 
slip and slide activities, or playing in sprinklers.   
(b)  For every 25 children in care participating in aquatic 
activities, there shall be at least one person who has a current 
life guard training certificate issued by the Red Cross or other 

training determined by the Division to be equivalent to the 
Red Cross training, appropriate for both the type of body of 
water and type of aquatic activities. These certified lifeguards 
shall not be counted in the required staff-child ratios 
referenced in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.  
(c)  Children under the age of three shall not participate in 
aquatic activities except, to the extent necessary, to implement 
any child's Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) or 
Individualized Education Program (IEP). 
(d)  The following staff-child ratios shall be maintained 
whenever children participate in aquatic activities: 

Age of Children   Ratio Staff/Children 
   3 to 4 Years   1/8 
   4 to 5 Years   1/10 
5 Years and Older  1/13 

Notwithstanding the staff-child ratios, at no time shall there be 
fewer than two staff members supervising the aquatic activity. 
(e)  Children shall be adequately supervised by center staff at 
all times while participating in aquatic activities.  Adequate 
supervision shall mean that half of the center staff needed to 
meet the staff-child ratios in Paragraph (d) of this Rule is in 
the water and the other half is out of the water.  If an uneven 
number of staff are needed to meet the required staff-child 
ratios, the majority shall be in the pool.  Staff shall be 
stationed in pre-assigned areas that will enable them at all 
times to hear, see, and respond quickly to the children who are 
in the water and children who are out of the water.  Children 
shall not enter the water before center staff are stationed in 
their pre-assigned areas.  Center staff shall devote their full 
attention to supervising the children in their pre-assigned areas 
of coverage and shall communicate with one another about 
children moving from one area to another area. 
(f)  Prior to children participating in aquatic activities, the 
center shall develop policies that address the following: 

(1) aquatic safety hazards; 
(2) pool and aquatic activity area supervision 

including restroom or changing room use; 
(3) how discipline is handled during aquatic 

activities; and 
(4) the facility's specific field trip and 

transportation policies and procedures. 
(g)  Before staff first supervise children on an aquatic activity, 
and annually thereafter, staff shall sign and date statements 
that they have reviewed: 

(1) the center policies as specified in Paragraph 
(f) of this Rule;  

(2) any specific guidelines provided by the pool 
operator or other off-site aquatic facility; 
and 

(3) the requirements of this Rule.  
The current statement shall be maintained in the staff person's 
personnel file for one year or until it is superseded by a new 
statement. 
(h)  Any outdoor swimming pool which is located on the child 
care facility premises shall be enclosed by a fence and shall be 
separated from the remaining outdoor play area by that fence. 
(i)  Swimming pool safety rules shall be posted near any 
swimming pool located on the child care facility premises.  At 
a minimum, these Rules shall state: 
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(1) the location of a first-aid kit; 
(2) that only water toys are permitted; 
(3) that children shall not run or push one 

another; 
(4) that swimming is allowed only when an 

adult is present; and 
(5) that glass objects are not allowed. 

(j)  All swimming pools used by children shall meet the 
"Rules Governing Public Swimming Pools" in accordance 
with 15A NCAC 18A .2500 which are incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent amendments.  A copy of these 
Rules is on file with the Division of Child Development, 319 
Chapanoke Road, Raleigh, NC 27626, 27603, or may be 
obtained at no cost by writing the North Carolina Division of 
Environmental Health, 1630 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699-1630. 
(k)  Children shall wear an age or size appropriate life jacket 
whenever they participate in boating, rafting or canoeing 
activities. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-91(1),(6); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .1500 - TEMPORARY CARE 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1505 BUILDING APPROVAL FOR  
SCHOOL-AGED CARE 
Any building which is currently approved for school 
occupancy and which houses a public or private school during 
the school year shall be considered an approved building to 
house any temporary care arrangement for school-aged 
children only.  The operator of the arrangement will be 
responsible for obtaining and submitting copies of all 
applicable inspection reports to document such approval. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-92; 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .1700 –FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
10A NCAC 09 .1702 APPLICATION FOR A  
LICENSE FOR A FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME 
(a)  Any person who plans to operate a family child care home 
shall apply for a license using a form provided by the 
Division.  The applicant shall submit the completed 
application, which complies with the following, to the 
Division: 

(1) Only one licensed family child care home 
shall operate at the location address of any 
home. 

(2) The applicant shall list each location address 
where a licensed family child care home will 
operate. 

(b)  When a family child care home will operate at more than 
one location address by cooperative arrangement among two 
or more families, the following procedures shall apply: 

(1) One parent whose home is used as a location 
address shall be designated the coordinating 

parent and shall co-sign the application with 
the applicant. 

(2) The coordinating parent is responsible for 
knowing the current location address at all 
times and shall provide the information to 
the Division upon request. 

(c)  The applicant shall assure that the structure in which the 
family child care home is located complies with the following 
requirements: 

(1) The North Carolina Building Code for 
family child care homes or have written 
approval for use as a family child care home 
by the local building inspector as follows: 
(A) Meet North Carolina Residential 

Building Code or be a 
manufactured home bearing a third 
party inspection label certifying 
compliance with the Federal 
Manufactured Home Construction 
and Safety Standards or certifying 
compliance with construction 
standards adopted and enforced by 
the State of North Carolina.  
Homes shall be installed in 
accordance with North Carolina 
Manufactured/Mobile Home 
Regulations published by the NC 
Department of Insurance.  
Exception:  Single wide 
manufactured homes will be 
limited to a maximum of three 
preschool-aged preschool-age 
children (not more than two may be 
two years of age or less) and two 
school-aged school-age children. 

(B) All children are kept on the ground 
level with an exit at grade. 

(C) All homes are equipped with an 
electrically operated (with a battery 
backup) smoke detector, or one 
electrically operated and one 
battery operated smoke detector 
located next to each other. 

(D) All homes are provided with at 
least one five lb. 2-A: 10-B: C type 
extinguisher readily accessible for 
every 2,500 square feet of floor 
area. 

(E) Fuel burning space heaters, 
fireplaces and floor furnaces which 
are listed and approved for that 
installation and are provided with a 
protective screen attached securely 
to substantial supports will be 
allowed.  However, unvented fuel 
burning heaters and portable 
electric space heaters of all types 
are prohibited. 
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(2) All indoor areas used by children are heated 
in cool weather and ventilated in warm 
weather. 

(3) Hot pipes or radiators which are accessible 
to the children are covered or insulated. 

(4) Accommodations for breastfeeding mothers 
shall be provided that include seating and an 
electrical outlet for mothers while they are 
breastfeeding or expressing milk. 

(d)  The applicant shall also submit supporting documentation 
with the application for a license to the Division.  The 
supporting documentation shall include a copy of the certified 
criminal history check from the Clerk of Superior Court's 
office in the county or counties where the applicant and any 
household member(s) over age 15, have resided during the 
previous 12 months; a copy of documentation of completion 
of a first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course; 
proof of negative results of the applicant's tuberculosis test 
completed within the past 12 months; a completed health 
questionnaire; a copy of current pet vaccinations for any pet in 
the home; a negative well water bacteriological analysis if the 
home has a private well; copies of any inspections required by 
local ordinances; and any other documentation required by the 
Division according to these Rules to support the issuance of a 
license. 
(e)  Upon receipt of a complete application and supporting 
documentation, a Division representative shall make an 
announced visit to each home unless the applicant meets the 
criteria in Paragraph (g) of this Rule to determine compliance 
with the requirements to offer technical assistance when 
needed, and to provide information about local resources. 

(1) If all applicable requirements of G.S. 110 
and this Section are met, a license shall be 
issued. 

(2) If the applicable requirements are not met 
but the applicant has the potential to comply, 
the Division representative shall establish 
with the applicant a time period for the 
home to achieve full compliance. If the 
Division representative determines that all 
applicable requirements are met within the 
established time period, a license shall be 
issued. 

(3) If all applicable requirements are not met or 
cannot be met within the established time, 
the Division shall deny the application.  
Final disposition of the recommendation to 
deny is the decision of the Division. 

(f)  The Division may allow the applicant to temporarily 
operate prior to the Division representative's visit described in 
Paragraph (e) of this Rule, when the applicant is currently 
licensed as a family child care home operator, needs to 
relocate, notifies the Division of the relocation, and the 
Division representative is unable to visit before the relocation 
occurs.  A person is not able to operate legally until he or she 
has received from the Division either temporary permission to 
operate or a license. 

(g)  When a person applies for a family child care home 
license, the Secretary may deny the application for the license 
under the following circumstances: 

(1) if any child care facility license previously 
held by that person has been denied, revoked 
or summarily suspended by the Division; 

(2) if the Division has initiated denial, 
revocation or summary suspension 
proceedings against any child care facility 
license previously held by that person and 
the person voluntarily relinquished the 
license; 

(3) during the pendency of an appeal of a 
denial, revocation or summary suspension of 
any child care facility license previously 
held by that person; 

(4) if the Division determines that the applicant 
has a relationship with an operator or former 
operator who previously held a license under 
an administrative action described in 
Subparagraph (g)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule.  
As used in this Rule, an applicant has a 
relationship with a former operator if the 
former operator would be involved with the 
applicant's child care facility in one or more 
of the following ways: 
(A) would participate in the 

administration or operation of the 
facility; 

(B) has a financial interest in the 
operation of the facility; 

(C) provides care to the children at the 
facility; 

(D) resides in the facility; or 
(E) would be on the facility's board of 

directors, be a partner of the 
corporation, or otherwise have 
responsibility for the administration 
of the business; 

(5) based on the person's previous non-
compliance as an operator with the 
requirements of G.S. 110 and this 
Subchapter; Chapter; or 

(6) if abuse or neglect has been substantiated 
against the person, or if abuse or neglect was 
substantiated against a household member. 

(h)  Use of the license is limited to the following conditions: 
(1) The license cannot be bought, sold, or 

transferred from one individual to another. 
(2) The license is valid only for the location 

address/addresses listed on it. 
(3) The license must be returned to the Division 

in the event of termination, revocation, 
suspension, or summary suspension. 

(4) The license shall be displayed in a 
prominent place that parents are able to view 
daily and shall be shown to each child's 
parent when the child is enrolled. 
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(i)  A licensee is responsible for notifying the Division 
whenever a change occurs which affects the information 
shown on the license. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-91; 110-93; 110-99; 
143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .1703 CAREGIVER INTERACTIONS 
Caregivers will relate to children in positive ways by helping 
them feel welcome and comfortable, treating them with 
respect, listening to what they say, responding to them with 
acceptance and appreciation and participating in many 
activities with the children.  Caregivers shall: 

(1) Make eye contact whenever possible when 
speaking to children. 

(2) Actively engage children in conversation to 
share experiences, ideas and opinions. 

(3) Help children develop problem-solving 
skills.   

(4) Facilitate learning by providing positive 
reinforcement, encouraging efforts and 
recognizing accomplishments. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(8), (11); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .1718 REQUIREMENTS FOR DAILY  
OPERATIONS 
The operator shall provide the following on a daily basis for 
all children in care: 

(1) Meals and snacks which comply with the 
Meal Patterns for Children in Child Care 
standards which are based on the 
recommended nutrient intake judged by the 
National Research Council to be adequate 
for maintaining good nutrition. The types of 
food and number and size of servings shall 
be appropriate for the ages and 
developmental levels of the children in care. 
The Meal Patterns for Children in Child 
Care nutrition standards are incorporated by 
reference and include subsequent 
amendments. A copy of these standards is 
available free of charge from the Division at 
the address in Rule .0102 of this Chapter. 

(2) No child shall go more than four hours 
without a meal or a snack being provided. 

(3) Drinking water shall be freely available to 
children and offered at frequent intervals. 

(4) When milk, milk products, or fruit juices are 
provided by the operator, only pasteurized 
products or products which have undergone 
an equivalent process to pasteurization shall 
be used. Any formula which is prepared by 
the operator shall be prepared according to 
the instructions on the formula package or 
label, or according to written instructions 
from the child's health care provider. 
professional. 

(5) Each infant shall be held for bottle feeding 
until able to hold his or her own bottle.  
Bottles shall not be propped.  Each child 
shall be held or placed in feeding chairs or 
other age-appropriate seating apparatus to be 
fed. 

(6) The parent or health care provider 
professional of each child under 15 months 
of age shall provide the operator an 
individual written feeding schedule for the 
child. This schedule shall be followed at the 
home. This schedule shall include the child's 
name, be signed by the parent or health care 
provider, professional, and be dated when 
received by the operator. Each infant's 
schedule shall be modified in consultation 
with the child's parent or health care 
provider professional to reflect changes in 
the child's needs as he or she develops. 

(7) Frequent opportunities for outdoor play or 
fresh air. Developmentally appropriate 
equipment and materials shall be provided 
for a variety of outdoor activities which 
allow for vigorous play, large and small 
muscle development and social, emotional, 
and intellectual development.  Each child 
shall have the opportunity for outdoor play 
each day that weather conditions permit.  
The operator shall provide space and time 
for vigorous indoor activities when children 
cannot play outdoors. 

(8) An individual sleeping space such as a bed, 
crib, play pen, cot, mat, or sleeping bag with 
individual linens for each pre-school aged 
child in care for four hours or more, or for 
all children if overnight care is provided, to 
rest comfortably.  Individual sleep 
requirements for infants aged 12 months or 
younger shall be provided for as specified in 
10A NCAC 09 .1724(a)(2).  Linens shall be 
changed weekly or whenever they become 
soiled or wet.   

(9) A quiet, separate area which can be easily 
supervised for children too sick to remain 
with other children.  Parents shall be notified 
immediately if their child becomes too sick 
to remain in care. 

(10) Adequate supervision as described below:  
(a) For children who are awake, staff 

shall interact with the children 
while moving about the indoor or 
outdoor area, and shall be able to 
hear and see the children at all 
times, except when emergencies 
necessitate that direct supervision is 
impossible for brief periods of 
time.   

(b) For children who are sleeping or 
napping, the staff are not required 
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to visually supervise them, but shall 
be able to hear and respond quickly 
to them.  Children shall not sleep or 
nap in a room with a closed door 
between the children and the 
supervising staff.  The staff shall be 
on the same level of the home 
where children are sleeping or 
napping.   

(11) A safe sleep environment by ensuring that 
when a child is sleeping or napping, bedding 
or other objects shall not be placed in a 
manner that covers the child's face. 

(12) The opportunity each day for each child 
under the age of 12 months to play while 
awake while positioned on his or her 
stomach. 

(13) Developmentally appropriate activities as 
planned on a written schedule. Materials or 
equipment shall be available indoors and 
outdoors to support the activities listed on 
the written schedule. The written schedule 
shall: 
(a) Show blocks of time usually 

assigned to types of activities and 
shall include periods of time for 
both active play and quiet play or 
rest; and 

(b) Be displayed in a place where 
parents are able to view; and 

(c) Reflect daily opportunities for both 
free-choice and guided activities. 
activities;  

(d) Include a minimum of one hour of 
outdoor play throughout the day, if 
weather conditions permit; and 

(e) Include a daily gross motor activity 
which may occur indoors or 
outdoors. 

(14) When screen time, including, but not limited 
to television, videos, video games, and 
computer usage, is provided, it shall be: 
(a) Offered only as a free choice 

activity,  
(b) Limited to no more than two and a 

half hours per week for each child 
two years of age and older,  

(c) Used to meet a developmental goal.   
Usage time periods may be extended for 
specific special events, projects, occasions 
such as a current event, homework, holiday, 
or birthday celebration.  Screen time is 
prohibited for children under the age of two 
years.  The operator shall offer alternate 
activities for children under the age of two 
years. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(2),(12). 
 

10A NCAC 09 .1721 REQUIREMENTS FOR  
RECORDS   
(a) The operator shall maintain the following health records 
for each child who attends on a regular basis, including his or 
her own preschool child(ren): 

(1) a copy of the child's health assessment as 
required by G.S. 110-91(1); 

(2) a copy of the child's immunization record; 
(3) a health and emergency information form 

provided by the Division that is completed 
and signed by a child's parent.  The 
completed form shall be on file the first day 
the child attends.  An operator may use 
another form other than the one provided by 
the Division, as long as the form includes 
the following information: 
(A) the child's name, address, and date 

of birth; 
(B) the names of individuals to whom 

the child may be released; 
(C) the general status of the child's 

health; 
(D) any allergies or restrictions on the 

child's participation in activities 
with specific instructions from the 
child's parent or physician; 

(E) the names and phone numbers of 
persons to be contacted in an 
emergency situation; 

(F) the name and phone number of the 
child's physician and preferred 
hospital; and 

(G) authorization for the operator to 
seek emergency medical care in the 
parent's absence; 

(4) when medication is administered, 
authorization for the operator to administer 
the specific medication according to the 
parent's or physician's instructions. 

(b)  The operator shall complete and maintain other records 
which include: 

(1) documentation of the operator's procedures 
in emergency situations, on a form which is 
provided by the Division; 

(2) documentation that monthly fire drills are 
practiced.  The documentation shall include 
the date each drill is held, the time of day, 
the length of time taken to evacuate the 
home, and the operator's signature; 

(3) incident reports that are completed each time 
a child receives medical treatment by a 
physician, nurse, physician's assistant, nurse 
practitioner, community clinic, or local 
health department, as a result of an incident 
occurring while the child is in the family 
child care home.  Each incident shall be 
reported on a form provided by the Division, 
signed by the operator and the parent, and 
maintained in the child's file.  A copy shall 
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be mailed to a representative of the Division 
within seven calendar days after the incident 
occurs; 

(4) an incident log which is filled out any time 
an incident report is completed.  This log 
shall be cumulative and maintained in a 
separate file and shall be available for 
review by a representative of the Division. 
 This log shall be completed on a form 
supplied by the Division; 

(5) documentation that a monthly check for 
hazards on the outdoor play area is 
completed. This form shall be supplied by 
the Division and shall be maintained in the 
family child care home for review by a 
representative of the Division; and 

(6) Accurate daily attendance records for all 
children in care, including the operator's 
own preschool children.  The attendance 
record shall indicate the date and time of 
arrival and departure for each child. 

(c)  Written records shall be maintained as follows: 
(1) All children's records as required in this 

Chapter, except medication permission slips 
as required in Rule .1720(c)(13) of this 
Section, must be kept on file one year from 
the date the child is no longer enrolled.  

(2) Additional caregiver records as required in 
this Chapter shall be maintained on file one 
year from the employee's last date of 
employment. 

(3) Current program records as required in this 
Chapter shall be maintained on file for as 
long as the license remains. remains valid. 
Prior versions shall be maintained based on 
the time frame in the following charts: 
(A) A minimum of 30 days from the 

revision or replacement date: 
Record Rule 
Daily Schedule  .1718(13)  
Infant Feeding 
Schedule 

.1718(6) 

SIDS Sleep 
Chart/Visual Check 

.1724(8) 

(B) A minimum of one year from the 
revision or replacement date: 

Record  Rule 
Attendance .1721 (b)(6) 
Emergency Numbers .1720(a)(8) 
Emergency Procedures 
Form 

.1721(b)(1) 

Field Trip/Transportation 
Permission 

.1723(1) 
  

Fire Drill Log  .1721(b)(2) 
Incident Log  .1721(b)(4) 
Playground Inspection .1721(b)(5) 
Pet Vaccinations .1720(d)(10) 

(4) Well-water analysis, pool inspection and 
inspections for local ordinances as 
referenced in Rules .1720(d)(1), .1719(7), 
and .1702(d) of this Section shall remain on 
file at the family child care home for as long 
as the license remains valid.  

(5) Records may be maintained in a paper 
format or electronically, except that records 
that require a signature of a staff person or 
parent shall be maintained in a paper format.  

(6) All records required in this Chapter shall be 
available for review by a representative of 
the Division. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(1), (9). 
 
10A NCAC 09 .1724 SAFE SLEEP POLICY 
(a)  Each operator licensed to care for infants aged 12 months 
or younger shall develop and adopt a written safe sleep policy 
that: 

(1) specifies that the operator shall place infants 
aged 12 months or younger on their backs 
for sleeping, unless:  
(A) for an infant aged six months or 

less, the operator receives a written 
waiver of this requirement from a 
health care provider, professional; 
as defined in G.S. 58-50-61(a)(8);  
or 

(B) for an infant older than six months, 
the operator receives a written 
waiver of this requirement from a 
health care provider,  professional, 
as defined in G.S. 58-50-61(a)(8),  
or a parent, or a legal guardian;  

(2) specifies that infants aged 12 months or 
younger shall be placed in a crib, bassinet or 
play pen with a firm padded surface when 
sleeping; 

(3) specifies whether pillows, blankets, toys, 
and other objects may be placed in a crib 
with a sleeping infant aged 12 months or 
younger, and if so, specifies the number and 
types of allowable objects; 

(4) specifies that nothing shall be placed over 
the head or face of an infant aged 12 months 
or younger when the infant is laid down to 
sleep;  

(5) specifies that the temperature in the room 
where infants aged 12 months or younger 
are sleeping does not exceed 75 F; 

(6) specifies the means by which the operator 
shall visually check sleeping infants aged 12 
months or younger; 

(7) specifies the frequency with which the 
operator shall visually check sleeping 
infants aged 12 months or younger; 

(8) specifies how the operator shall document 
compliance with visually checking on 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

508 

sleeping infants aged 12 months or younger, 
with such documents to be maintained for a 
minimum of one month; 

(9) specifies any other steps the operator shall 
take to provide a safe sleep environment for 
infants aged 12 months or younger. 

(b)  The operator shall post a copy of the safe sleep policy or a 
poster about safe sleep practices in a prominent place in the 
infant sleeping room or area.   
(c)  A copy of the operator's safe sleep policy shall be given 
and explained to the parents of an infant aged 12 months or 
younger on or before the first day the infant attends the home.  
The parent shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt 
and explanation of the policy.  The acknowledgement shall 
contain: 

(1) the infant's name; 
(2) the date the infant first attended the home;  
(3) the date the operator's safe sleep policy was 

given and explained to the parent; and  
(4) the date the parent signed the 

acknowledgement.  
The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the child's 
record as long as the child is enrolled at the home. 
(d)  If an operator amends a home's safe sleep policy, the 
operator shall give written notice of the amendment to the 
parents of all enrolled infants aged 12 months or younger at 
least 14 days before the amended policy is implemented.  Each 
parent shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and 
explanation of the amendment.  The operator shall retain the 
acknowledgement in the child's record as long as the child is 
enrolled at the home. 
(e)  A health care professional's physician's or parent's waiver 
of the requirement that all infants aged 12 months or younger 
be placed on their backs for sleeping shall: 

(1) bear the infant's name and birth date; 
(2) be signed and dated by the infant's physician 

health care professional or parent; and 
(3) specify the infant's authorized sleep 

positions;  
The operator shall retain the waiver in the child's record as 
long as the child is enrolled at the home. 
(f)  For each infant with a waiver on file at the home as 
specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a notice shall be posted 
for quick reference near the infant's crib, bassinet, or play pen 
that shall include: 

(1) the infant's name; 
(2) the infant's authorized sleep position; and 
(3) the location of the signed waiver. 

No confidential medical information, including an infant's 
medical diagnosis, shall be shown on the notice. 
(g)  The home's safe sleep policy shall be developed and 
shared with parents of infants currently enrolled within 30 
days of this Rule becoming effective. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(15); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .2200 - ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS AND 
CIVIL PENALTIES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2201 ADMINISTRATIVE  
PENALTIES: GENERAL PROVISIONS 
(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 110-102.2, the secretary or designee may 
order one or more administrative penalties against any 
operator who violates any provision of Article 7 of Chapter 
110 of the General Statutes or of this Chapter. 
(b)  Nothing in this Section shall restrict the Secretary from 
using any other statutory or civil penalty available.  A civil 
penalty in accordance with G.S. 110-103.1 and Section .2200 
of this Chapter may be imposed in conjunction with any other 
administrative activity. 
(c)  The issuance of an administrative penalty may be 
appealed pursuant to G.S. 150B-23. 
(d)  Following the substantiation of any abuse or neglect 
complaint or the issuance of any administrative action against 
a child care facility, the operator shall shall, within 30 days, 
notify the parents of the children currently enrolled that a 
complaint was substantiated or that an administrative action 
was taken against the facility, including administrative actions 
that may be stayed pending appeal.  The notification shall be 
in writing and shall include information on the nature of the 
substantiated complaint or the type of administrative action 
taken.  The operator shall maintain copies of documentation of 
the substantiated complaint investigation or the administrative 
action issued against the facility for the past three years in a 
binder, which shall be accessible to parents.  The written 
notice shall state where the binder containing copies of the 
substantiated complaint investigation or administrative action 
may be found on site for review by the parents.  The operator 
shall document the date that the written notice was given to all 
parents. parents and maintain written documentation that all 
parents of children currently enrolled at the facility have 
received said notice. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-102.2; 110-103.1; 143B-168.3; 
150B-23. 
 

SECTION .2500 - CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE 
CHILDREN 

 
10A NCAC 09 .2501 SCOPE 
The regulations in this Section apply to all child care centers 
offering care to three or more school-aged school-age children 
exclusively or as a component of any other program.  All rules 
in this Subchapter Chapter pertaining to full-time, part-time, 
or seasonal child care shall apply to programs for school-aged 
school-age children shall apply except as provided in this 
Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(3); 110-91; 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2502 SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR  
LICENSURE 
A center providing care for school-aged children exclusively 
shall be issued a license restricting care to school-aged 
children as defined in Rule .0102 of this Chapter.  A center 
providing care for school-aged school-age children 
exclusively on a seasonal basis between May 15 and 
September 15 shall be licensed as a summer day camp.  A 
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track-out program that operates all four tracks for more than 
four hours per day must be licensed. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(1); 110-91; 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2503 BUILDING CODE  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Building code requirements adopted by reference in 
Section .1300 of this Subchapter Chapter shall apply for a 
facility providing care to school-age children except in the 
following situations: when any preschool-age child is also in 
care.  

(b)(1) Any building which is currently approved 
for school occupancy and which houses a 
public or private school during the school 
year shall be considered an approved 
building to house a facility serving 
school-age children exclusively.  The 
operator shall be responsible for obtaining 
and submitting copies of all applicable 
inspection reports. 

(c)(2) For the purpose of carrying out the 
provisions of G.S. 110-91(4) for summer 
day camps not covered by Paragraphs (a) or 
(b) of this Rule, the following North 
Carolina Building Codes shall apply to the 
structure described in Rule .2504(b):  
.2504(b) of this Section: 
(1)(A) When the authorized capacity of 

the facility is less than 30 children, 
the structure shall, at the minimum, 
meet the requirements for 
residential occupancy as prescribed 
in Volume IB of the North Carolina 
Building Code.  Children may use 
only those floors which have at 
least one grade level exit. 

(2)(B) When the authorized capacity of 
the facility is more than 29 
children, but less than 100 children, 
the structure shall, at the minimum, 
meet the North Carolina Building 
Code requirements for business 
occupancy. 

(3)(C) When the authorized capacity of 
the facility is more than 99 
children, the structure shall, at the 
minimum, meet the North Carolina 
Building Code requirements for 
assembly occupancy, or 
educational occupancy or 
institutional occupancy. 

(d)(b)  A copy of the North Carolina Building Code is on file 
at the Division of Child Development at the address given in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter Chapter and shall be available 
for public inspection during regular business hours. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(2); 110-91(4); 143B-168.3. 
 

10A NCAC 09 .2504 SPACE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  All space requirements specified in Section .1400 apply 
when a facility provides care for school-age children and any 
preschool child is also in care, or when a program which 
provides care exclusively for school-age children routinely 
operates indoors in a permanent structure for more than 25 
percent of each day.  A gymnasium or other single use room 
may be included in the space measured for licensed capacity 
when used as primary space. 
(b)  A facility licensed as a summer day camp shall have a 
permanent structure located at the home base which is the 
primary site of the summer day camp activities.  The 
permanent structure may be a building or permanent roofed 
shelter with overhang.  The summer day camp shall meet one 
of the following space requirements: 

(1) When activities for children are routinely 
conducted outdoors or off the premises for 
at least 75 percent of each day, a minimum 
of ten 10 square feet per child of indoor 
space, exclusive of kitchens, hallways, 
restrooms, closets, and storage areas, shall 
be provided. 

(2) When the camp's home base does not 
provide ten 10 square feet of primary space 
indoors, the camp shall provide notarized 
copies of all letters, agreements, or contracts 
with other facilities which guarantee that 
children will be accommodated comfortably 
indoors in the event of inclement weather. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(3), (6); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2505 HEALTH REQUIREMENTS  
FOR CHILDREN 
(a)  All requirements of Section .0800 of this Subchapter 
Chapter apply to school-age child care arrangements with the 
following exceptions: 

(1) A medical examination report shall not be 
required for any child enrolled in an 
accredited or approved public or private 
school. 

(2) Rule .0806 does not apply. 
(3) If the a summer day camp maintains its 

master records for children and staff in a 
central location, emergency information for 
each staff person and child shall always be 
on site.  The emergency information on site 
shall include the name and telephone 
numbers of the child's parent or other 
responsible person, the child's or staff 
person's physician health care professional 
or preferred hospital, any chronic illnesses 
and medication taken for that illness, any 
allergy and recommended treatment for that 
allergy, and any other information that has a 
direct bearing on medical treatment and safe 
care.  The parent's signed permission to 
obtain medical attention must also be on site 
with the child. 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

510 

(b)  All requirements specified in the Nutrition Section .0900 
of this Chapter apply. apply when any preschool child is in 
care or when food is provided by the facility. 
(c)  If food is prepared at the summer day camp, the 
regulations regarding sanitary facilities, food preparation and 
service for summer camps as adopted by the Commission for 
Public Health and codified in 15A NCAC 18A .1000 shall 
apply.  If food is prepared at a licensed track-out program, the 
sanitation requirements of child care centers must be met. 
(d)  If food is brought from home by children or catered, the 
following requirements apply: 

(1) Sanitary cold storage shall be provided for 
perishable snacks or lunches brought from 
home. 

(2) Safe drinking water shall be available at all 
times regardless of where activities are 
provided. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1), (2); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2506 GENERAL SAFETY  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  First aid equipment shall always be available regardless of 
where activities are provided. 
(b)  All regulations in Rule .1403 regarding swimming pools 
apply. 
(c)  Potentially hazardous items, such as archery equipment, 
firearms and ammunition, hand and power tools, nails, 
chemicals, or propane stoves, or chemicals shall be used by 
children only when adult supervision is provided.  Such 
potentially hazardous items, whether or not intended for use 
by the children, shall be stored in locked areas or with other 
appropriate safeguards, or shall be removed from the 
premises. 
(d)  All children shall be adequately supervised.  Adequate 
supervision means staff shall be with the group of children and 
able to hear and see each child in his/her care, except: 

(1) Children who are developmentally able may 
be permitted to go to the restroom 
independently, provided that: 
(A) Staff members' proximity to 

children assures immediate 
intervention to safeguard a child 
from harm; and 

(B) Individuals who are not staff 
members may not enter the 
restroom area while in use by any 
child; and 

(C) Children up to nine years of age are 
supervised by staff members who 
are able to hear the child.  Children 
nine years of age and older are not 
required to be directly supervised, 
however, staff members shall know 
the whereabouts of children who 
have left their group to use the 
restroom. 

(2) Adequate supervision for children ages nine 
and older means that staff shall be with the 

group of children and able to hear or see 
each child in his/her care.  A staff member 
shall accompany any children that leave the 
group to go indoors or outdoors. 

(3) When emergencies necessitate that direct 
supervision is impossible for brief periods of 
time. 

(e)  Children shall wear life jackets whenever they participate 
in boating, rafting or canoeing activities and children Children 
riding bicycles shall must wear bicycle safety helmets.   
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91; 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2508 AGE APPROPRIATE  
ACTIVITIES 
(a)  Child care facilities which provide care to school-age 
children shall provide activities appropriate to the age age, 
needs and interests of the children. 
(b)  Opportunities must be provided for children to participate 
in the planning and the implementation of activities.  
(b)(c)  Facilities, other than those operating under the 
provisions of G.S. 110-106, which routinely operate a program 
of care indoors for school-age children for more than 25 
percent of each day in space designated and approved by the 
Division for that purpose shall make activities which are 
appropriate for the ages of children in care available on a daily 
basis.  Facilities which operate a school-age component for 
three or fewer hours per day shall make at least three of the 
following activities available daily; those which operate a 
school-age component for more than three hours per day shall 
make at least four of the following activities available daily:  

(1) Homework with assistance available as 
needed from center personnel; 

(2) Reading activities; 
(3) Hands-on academic enrichment activities 

including but not limited to language, math, 
science, social studies, or foreign language 
activities; 

(4) Structured or unstructured physical 
activities; 

(5) Health education or wellness activities: 
(6) Social skills, life skills or problem-solving 

activities;  
(7) Creative arts activities;  
(8) Community awareness activities;  
(9) Cultural activities; 
(10) Career development activities;  
(11) Games or manipulatives; 
(12) Sand or water play; 
(13) Technology skill-building activities.  
(1) active outdoor play, 
(2) arts and crafts, 
(3) block play, 
(4) books and language, 
(5) carpentry, 
(6) community awareness, 
(7) creative art, 
(8) cultural studies, 
(9) dramatic play, 
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(10) environmental studies, 
(11) field trips, 
(12) food experiences, 
(13) games for individuals and small groups, 
(14) health and safety, 
(15) life-related chores, 
(16) money-making projects, 
(17) music, rhythm and creative movement, 
(18) number concepts, 
(19) problem solving, 
(20) sand and water play, 
(21) science and nature, 
(22) self help skills, 
(23) sewing. 

(c)  When activities for children are routinely conducted 
outdoors or off the premises for at least 75 percent of each 
day, equipment and materials shall be provided to enable 
children to participate in at least three different activities each 
day. 
(d)  All equipment and materials used by school-age children 
shall be appropriate for the age and size of the children using 
the items. 
(e)  When screen time, including, but not limited to, television, 
videos, video games, and computer usage, is provided, it shall 
be: 

(1) Offered as a free choice activity; 
(2) Limited to no more than two and a half 

hours per week, per child; and  
(3) Used to meet a developmental goal.   

Usage time periods may be extended for specific special 
events, projects, or occasions such as a current event, 
homework, researching topics, holiday, or birthday 
celebration. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(6), (12); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2510 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 
(a)  The individual who is responsible for ensuring the 
administration of the program, whether on-site or off-site, 
shall: 

(1) Prior to employment, have at least 400 hours 
of verifiable experience working with 
school-aged school-age children in a 
licensed child care program or 600 hours of 
verifiable experience working with school-
aged school-age children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting; or have an 
undergraduate, graduate, or associate 
degree, with at least 12 semester hours in 
school-age care related coursework; and  

(2) Meet the requirements for a child care 
administrator in G.S. 110-91(8). 

(b)  At least one individual who is responsible for planning 
and ensuring the implementation of daily activities for a 
school-age program (program coordinator) shall: 

(1) Be at least 18 years old and have a high 
school diploma or its equivalent prior to 
employment;  

(2) Have completed two semester credit hours 
in child and youth development and two 
semester credit hours in school-age 
programming.  Each individual who does 
not meet this requirement shall enroll in 
coursework within six months after 
becoming employed and shall complete this 
coursework within 18 months of 
enrollment.  An individual who meets the 
staff requirements for administrator or lead 
teacher shall be considered as meeting the 
requirements for program coordinator, 
provided the individual completes Basic 
School-Age Care (BSAC) training; 
Training, or its equivalent; and 

(3) In a part day program be on site when 
children are in care.  For a full day program 
be on site for two thirds of the hours of 
operation.  This includes times when the 
individual is off site due to illness or 
vacation. 

(c)  Staff who are responsible for supervising groups of 
school-aged school-age children (group leaders) shall be at 
least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or its 
equivalent prior to employment, and shall complete the BSAC 
Training.  Training, or its equivalent. 
(d)  Staff who assist group leaders (assistant group leaders) 
shall be at least 16 years of age and shall complete the BSAC 
training. Training, or its equivalent. 
(e)  The individual who is on-site and responsible for the 
administration of the school-age component of a center which 
also provides care to preschool-age children, shall meet the 
requirements for child care administrator in G.S. 110-91(8) 
and Section .0700 of this Chapter. 
(f)  When an individual has responsibility for both 
administering the program and planning and ensuring the 
implementation of the daily activities of a school-age program, 
the individual shall meet the staff requirements for an 
administrator and shall complete the BSAC Training. 
Training, or its equivalent. 
(g)  Completion of the BSAC Training course, or its 
equivalent, counts toward meeting five hours of one year's 
annual on-going training requirements in Section .0700 of this 
Chapter. 
(h)  Individuals who completed seven hours of school-age 
program training as approved by the Division prior to July 1, 
2000 are not required to complete the BSAC Training.   
(i)(h)  As used in this Rule, the term "experience working with 
school-aged school-age children" means experience working 
with school-aged school-age children as an administrator, 
program coordinator, group leader, assistant group leader, lead 
teacher, teacher, or aide. 
(j)(i) All staff shall receive on-site training and orientation as 
follows:  

(1) Within the first two weeks of assuming 
responsibility for supervising a group of 
children, each employee shall complete at 
least six clock hours of training on: 
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(A) the recognition of the signs and 
symptoms of child abuse or neglect 
and in the employee's duty to report 
suspected abuse and neglect; 

(B) the center's operational policies; 
(C) adequate supervision of children, 

taking into account their age, 
emotional, physical, and cognitive 
development. 

(2) Within the first six weeks of assuming 
responsibility for supervising a group of 
children, each employee shall complete at 
least three additional clock hours of training 
on maintaining a safe and healthy 
environment and developmentally 
appropriate activities for school-age 
children. 

(k)(j)  Staff in part-time or full day part-time, full day, or 
track-out school-age care programs required to complete 
BSAC Training or its equivalent, shall do so within three 
months of becoming employed.  Staff in seasonal school-age 
care summer day camp programs required to complete BSAC 
Training or its equivalent, shall do so within six four weeks of 
becoming employed. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(8),(11); 143B-168.3. 
 

SECTION .2800 - VOLUNTARY RATED LICENSES 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2801 SCOPE 
(a)  This Section shall apply to all child care facilities that 
have achieved a voluntary rated license of two stars or higher 
or that apply to be assessed for a voluntary rated license of 
two stars or higher.   
(b)  A child care facility is eligible for a voluntary rated 
license of two through five stars. 
(c)  No requirement in any component of a two-star or higher 
rating shall be less than the requirements for a one-star rating 
described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter.  Prior to issuance 
of an initial two through five-star rating, all minimum 
requirements in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter must be in 
compliance at the time the program is assessed.  The 
requirements for a voluntary rated license of two stars or 
higher are in addition to the minimum standards found in G.S. 
110-91 and this Chapter. 
(d)  Any program operating prior to January 1, 2006 may 
choose to be assessed for a star rating as described in Rules 
.2803-.2816 of this Section until January 1, 2008.  The 
operator may request assessment of their star rating based on 
Rules .2817 - .2823 of this Section prior to that date. 
(e)  For any program that began operation after January 1, 
2006 and applies for a voluntary rated license of two through 
five stars, the rating shall be assessed according to Rules .2817 
- .2823 of this Section. 
(f)(d)  Nothing in this Section is to preclude or interfere with 
issuance of an administrative action as allowed by G.S. 110 
and this Chapter.  
(g)(e)  As used in this Section a two component license refers 
to a license issued based on an evaluation of program 

standards and education standards.  A three component license 
refers to a license issued based on an evaluation of program 
standards, education standards and compliance history. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2802 APPLICATION FOR A  
VOLUNTARY RATED LICENSE 
(a)  After a licensed child care center or home has been in 
operation for a minimum of six consecutive months, the 
procedures in this Rule shall apply to request an initial two- 
through five-star rated license or to request that a rating be 
changed to a two- through five-star rated license. 
(b)  The operator shall submit a completed application to the 
Division for a voluntary rated license on the form provided by 
the Division. 
(c)  An operator may apply for a star rating based on the total 
number of points achieved for each component of the 
voluntary rated license.  In order to achieve a two- through 
five-star rating, for a three component license the minimum 
score achieved must be a least five points as follows: 

TOTAL NUMBER OF POINTS RATING 
5 through 7  Two Stars 
8 through 10  Three Stars 
11 through 13  Four Stars 
14 through 15  Five Stars 

In order to achieve a two- through five-star rating, for a two 
component license the minimum score achieved must be a 
least four points as follows: 

TOTAL NUMBER OF POINTS RATING 
4 through 6  Two Stars 
7 through 9  Three Stars 
10 through 12  Four Stars 
13 through 15  Five Stars 

(d)  A Division representative shall assess the facility 
requesting a voluntary rated license to determine if all 
applicable requirements have been met to achieve the score for 
the requested star rating.  The assessment may include a 
review of Division records and site visits. 
(e)  The Division shall provide for Infant/Toddler 
Environment Rating Scale Revised edition, Early Childhood 
Environment Rating Scale - Revised edition, School-Age Care 
Environment Rating Scale, or Family Day Care Rating Scale 
assessments to be completed, as appropriate for the program, 
free of charge to operators requesting an initial three or more 
points for program standards. 
(f)  Upon completion of the Division's assessment: 

(1) If the assessment indicates all the applicable 
requirements to achieve the score for the 
requested rating have been met, the Division 
shall issue the rating. 

(2) If the assessment indicates all the applicable 
requirements to achieve the score for the 
requested rating are not met, the Division 
shall notify the operator of the requirements 
that were not met and the requested 
voluntary rating shall not be issued. 
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(A) Accept the rating for which the 
Division has found the operator to 
be eligible;  

(B) Withdraw the request and reapply 
when the identified requirements to 
achieve the score for the requested 
rating have been met; or 

(C) Appeal the denial of the requested 
rating as provided in G.S. 110-94.  

 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2803 PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR  
A THREE COMPONENT RATED LICENSE FOR  
CHILD CARE CENTERS 
(a)  This Rule applies to evaluating the program standards for 
a three component rated license for child care centers. 
(b)  To achieve two points for program standards, the center 
shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rules .2804 - 
.2810(b) of this Section, except that either the space 
requirements in Rule .2809 of this Section or the staff/child 
ratio requirements in Rule .2810(b) of this Section shall be 
met. 
(c)  To achieve three points for program standards, the center 
shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rules .2804 -
.2810(b) of this Section, and have an average score of 4.0 on 

the appropriate environment rating scale referenced in Rule 
.2802(e) of this Section in each classroom evaluated. 
(d)  To achieve four points for program standards, the center 
shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rules .2804 - 
.2810(b) of this Section, and have an average score of 4.5 on 
the appropriate environment rating scale referenced in Rule 
.2802(e) of this Section in each classroom evaluated. 
(e)  To achieve five points for program standards, the center 
shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rules .2804 – 
.2810(c) of this Section, and have an average score of 5.0 on 
the appropriate environment rating scale referenced in Rule 
.2802(e) of this Section in each classroom evaluated. 
(f)  For centers with a licensed capacity of three to twelve 
children located in a residence, a Family Day Care Rating 
Scale shall be the rating scale used in Paragraphs (c), (d), and 
(e) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2810 STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A  
THREE COMPONENT RATED LICENSE 
(a)  This Rule applies to evaluating the staff/child ratios and 
maximum group sizes for the program standards for a three 
component rated license for child care centers. 
(b)  The center shall comply with the following staff/child 
ratios and maximum group sizes. 

 
AGE OF CHILDREN  RATIO STAFF/CHILDREN MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE 

0 to 12 Months    1/5    10 
1 to 2 Years    1/6    12 
2 to 3 Years    1/9    18 
3 to 4 Years    1/10    20 
4 to 5 Years    1/13    25 
5 to 6 Years    1/15    25 
6 Years and Older   1/20    25 

 
(c)  To earn five points for program standards, the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes. 

 
MAXIMUM 

AGE    RATIO STAFF/CHILDREN GROUP SIZE 
0 to 12 Months    1/4    8 

1 to 2 Years    1/5    10 
2 to 3 Years    1/8    16 
3 to 4 Years    1/9    18 
4 to 5 Years    1/12    24 
5 to 6 Years    1/14    25 
6 Years and Older   1/19    25 

 
(d)  The provisions of rules 10A NCAC 09 .0712(a)(1), (2) 
and .0713(b) through (j) shall apply in evaluating the 
staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes within this Rule. 
(e)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be 
posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to 
view at all times. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
 
 

10A NCAC 09 .2811 EDUCATION STANDARDS  
FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE  
CENTERS 
(a)  To achieve two points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the center shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) The on-site administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level I North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 
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(B) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(2) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 
or more, there shall be a second 
administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 
hours per week who shall have the Level I 
North Carolina Early Childhood 
Administration Credential or its equivalent. 

(3) All lead teachers shall have the North 
Carolina Early Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent, and 75% of the lead teachers 
shall have: 
(A) Completed or be enrolled in 3 

semester hours in early childhood 
education or child development 
(not including North Carolina Early 
Childhood Credential coursework); 
or 

(B) One year of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(4) 50% of the teachers counted in staff/child 
ratios shall have: 
(A) Completed or be enrolled in two 

semester hours in early childhood 
education or child development; or 

(B) One year of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(5) For centers with a school-age care 
component, the following requirements shall 
also apply. Completion of these 
requirements may count toward meeting 
education and experience requirements in 
Paragraph (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule. 
(A) If none of the administrator's 

verifiable experience includes 
working with school aged-children 
in a school-age care or camp 
setting, he or she shall complete the 
Basic School-Age Care (BSAC) 
Training. 

(B) The individual designated as the 
program coordinator as allowed in 
Rule .2510 shall have at least 200 
hours of verifiable experience 
working with school-aged children 
in a licensed child care program; or 
have at least 300 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting; or 
have completed or be enrolled in at 
least two semester hours of school-
age care related coursework. 

(C) For centers with a school-age care 
component with 200 or more 
school-aged children enrolled, there 
shall be two program coordinators 
on site, one of whom shall not have 
concurrent group leader 

responsibilities.  The additional 
program coordinator shall meet the 
staff requirements in Rule .2510 of 
this Chapter. 

(b)  To achieve three points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the center shall meet the following 
requirements. 

(1) The on-site administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level I North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) Six semester hours in early 
childhood education or child 
development (not including North 
Carolina Early Childhood 
Administration Credential 
coursework); and 

(C) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(2) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 
or more, there shall be a second 
administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 
hours per week who shall have the Level I 
North Carolina Early Childhood 
Administration Credential or its equivalent. 

(3) All lead teachers shall have the North 
Carolina Early Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent, and 75% of the lead teachers 
shall have: 
(A) Three semester hours in early 

childhood education or child 
development (not including North 
Carolina Early Childhood 
Credential coursework); or 

(B) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(4) 50% of the teachers counted in staff/child 
ratios shall have: 
(A) Completed or be enrolled in the 

North Carolina Early Childhood 
Credential or its equivalent; or 

(B) Completed or be enrolled in four 
semester hours in early childhood 
education or child development; or 

(C) Three years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(5) For centers with a school-age care 
component, the following requirements shall 
also apply.  Completion of these 
requirements may count toward meeting 
education and experience requirements in 
Paragraph (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule. 
(A) The administrator shall have at 

least 300 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program, or at least 450 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
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unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting, or shall complete the BSAC 
Training. 

(B) The individual designated as the 
program coordinator as allowed in 
Rule .2510 shall have at least 400 
hours of verifiable experience 
working with school-aged children 
in a licensed child care program; or 
have at least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting; or 
have completed at least two 
semester hours of school-age care 
related coursework. 

(C) For centers with a school-age care 
component with 200 or more 
school-aged children enrolled, there 
shall be two program coordinators 
on site; one of whom shall not have 
concurrent group leader 
responsibilities.  The additional 
program coordinator shall meet the 
staff requirements of Rule .2510 of 
this Subchapter. 

(D) 25% of the individuals designated 
as group leaders as allowed in Rule 
.2510 shall have at least 100 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in a 
licensed child care program; or 
have at least 150 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting; or 
have completed or be enrolled in at 
least two semester credit hours of 
school-age care related coursework. 

(c)  To achieve four points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the center shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) The on-site administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level II North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(2) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 
or more, there shall be a second 
administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 
hours per week who shall have the Level I 
North Carolina Early Childhood 
Administration Credential or its equivalent. 

(3) All lead teachers shall have the North 
Carolina Early Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent, and 75% shall have: 
(A) Nine semester hours in early 

childhood education or child 

development (not including the 
North Carolina Early Childhood 
Credential coursework); and 

(B) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(4) 50% of the teachers counted in staff/child 
ratios shall have: 
(A) The North Carolina Early 

Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent; or 

(B) Four semester hours in early 
childhood education or child 
development; or 

(C) Five years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(5) For centers with a school-age care 
component, the following requirements shall 
also apply. Completion of these 
requirements may count toward meeting 
education and experience requirements in 
Paragraph (c)(1) through (c)(4) of this Rule. 
(A) The administrator shall have at 

least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program, or at least 900 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting, or shall complete the BSAC 
Training. 

(B) The individual designated as the 
program coordinator as allowed in 
Rule .2510 of this Subchapter shall 
have at least 900 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 1350 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting; and have completed at least 
four semester hours of school-age 
care related coursework. 

(C) For centers with a school-age care 
component with 200 or more 
school-aged children enrolled, there 
shall be two program coordinators 
on site, one of whom shall not have 
concurrent group leader 
responsibilities.  The additional 
program coordinator shall meet the 
staff requirements in Rule .2510 of 
this Subchapter. 

(D) 50% of the individuals designated 
as group leaders as allowed in Rule 
.2510 of this Subchapter shall have 
at least 300 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
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aged children in a licensed child 
care program; or have at least 450 
hours of verifiable experience 
working with school-aged children 
in an unlicensed school-age care or 
camp setting; or have completed at 
least two semester credit hours of 
school-age care related coursework. 

(E) Assistant group leaders shall be at 
least 18 years of age. 

(d)  To achieve five points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the center shall meet the following 
requirements. 

(1) The on-site administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level III North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) Four years of full-time verifiable 
work experience in an early 
childhood center teaching young 
children, or four years of 
administrative experience, or four 
years of a combination of both. 

(2) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 
or more, there shall be a second 
administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 
hours per week who shall have the Level I 
North Carolina Early Childhood 
Administration Credential or its equivalent. 

(3) All lead teachers shall have the North 
Carolina Early Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent, and 75% of the lead teachers 
shall have: 
(A) At least an A.A.S. degree in early 

childhood education or child 
development or an A.A.S. degree in 
any major with 12 semester hours 
in early childhood education or 
child development; and 

(B) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood work experience. 

(4) 50% of the teachers counted in staff/child 
ratios shall have: 
(A) The North Carolina Early 

Childhood Credential or its 
equivalent; and 

(B) Four semester hours in early 
childhood education or child 
development (not including North 
Carolina Early Childhood 
Credential coursework); and 

(C) Two years of full-time verifiable 
early childhood experience. 

(5) For centers with a school-age care 
component, the following requirements shall 
also apply. Completion of  these 
requirements and may count toward meeting 
education and experience requirements in 
Paragraph (d) (1) through (d)(4) of this Rule. 

(A) The administrator shall have at 
least 900 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program,  or at least 1350 
hours of verifiable experience 
working with school-aged children 
in an unlicensed school-age care or 
camp setting, or shall complete the 
BSAC Training. 

(B) The individual designated as the 
program coordinator as allowed in 
Rule .2510 of this Chapter shall 
have at least 900 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 1350 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting, and have completed at least 
six semester hours of school-age 
care related coursework; or shall 
have at least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 900 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting, and have completed at least 
nine semester hours of school-age 
care related coursework. 

(C) For centers with a school-age care 
component with 200 or more 
school-aged children, there shall be 
two program coordinators on site, 
one of whom shall not have 
concurrent group leader 
responsibilities.  The additional 
program coordinator shall meet the 
minimum staff requirements in 
Rule .2510 of this Subchapter. 

(D) 75% of the individuals designated 
as group leaders as allowed in Rule 
.2510 of this Chapter shall have at 
least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 900 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school age care or camp 
setting; or shall have completed at 
least two semester hours of school-
age care related coursework and 
have completed or be enrolled in at 
least two additional semester credit 
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hours of school-age related 
coursework. 

(E) Assistant group leaders shall be at 
least 18 years of age. 

(e)  For centers with a licensed capacity of three to twelve 
children located in a residence, when an individual has 
responsibility both for administering the child care program 
and for planning and implementing the daily activities of a 
group of children, the educational requirements for lead 
teacher in this Rule shall apply.  All other teachers shall 
follow the educational requirements for teachers in this Rule. 
(f)  As used in this Rule, the definition of the term "experience 
working with school-aged children" in Rule .2510(i) of this 
Chapter shall apply. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2812 EDUCATION STANDARDS  
FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE ONLY TO  
SCHOOL-AGED CHILDREN 
(a)  For child care programs that serve school-aged children 
only, the following staff education requirements apply instead 
of those in Rule .2804 of this Subchapter. 
(b)  To achieve two points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the school-age care program shall 
meet the following requirements: 

(1) The administrator shall have a Level I North 
Carolina Early Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent. 

(2) The program coordinator shall have 
completed the coursework or the 
requirements for staff described in Rule 
.2510(b)(2); and have 
(A) At least 200 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program, or 

(B) At least 300 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting, or 

(C) Completed or be enrolled in at least 
two additional semester credit 
hours of school-age care related 
coursework.  

(c)  To achieve three points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the school-age care program shall 
meet the following requirements. 

(1) The administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level I North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) At least 300 additional hours of 
verifiable experience working with 
school-aged children in a licensed 
child care program, or at least 450 
additional hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-

aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting. 

(2) The program coordinator shall have 
completed the coursework or the 
requirements for staff described in Rule 
.2510(b)(2); and have 
(A) At least 400 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program, or 

(B) At least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting or  

(C) Completed at least two additional 
semester credit hours of school-age 
care related coursework.  

(3) Twenty-five percent of group leaders shall 
have:  
(A) At least 100 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program, or   

(B) At least 150 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting, or  

(C) Completed or be enrolled in at least 
two semester credit hours of 
school-age care related coursework. 

(d)  To achieve four points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the school-age care program shall 
meet the following requirements. 

(1) The administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level II North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) At least 600 additional hours of 
verifiable experience working with 
school aged children in a licensed 
child care program, or at least 900 
additional hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting. 

(2) The program coordinator shall have 
completed the coursework or the 
requirements for staff described in Rule 
.2510(b)(2); and have 
(A) At least 900 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
age children in a licensed child care 
program or at least 1350 hours of 
verifiable experience working with 
school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting; and  
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(B) Completed at least four additional 
semester credit hours of school-age 
care related coursework.  

(3) Fifty percent of group leaders shall have: 
(A) At least 300 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed school-
age care or camp setting, or 

(B) At least 450 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in an unlicensed 
school-age care or camp setting, or 

(C) Completed at least two semester 
credit hours of school-age care 
related coursework; 

(4) Assistant group leaders shall be at least 18 
years old. 

(e)  To achieve five points for education standards for a star 
rating, child caring staff in the school-age care program shall 
meet the following requirements. 

(1) The administrator shall have: 
(A) A Level III North Carolina Early 

Childhood Administration 
Credential or its equivalent; and 

(B) At least 900 additional hours of 
verifiable experience performing 
administrative duties in a licensed 
child care program serving school-
aged children, or at least 1350 
additional hours of verifiable 
experience performing 
administrative duties in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting. 

(2) The program coordinator shall have 
completed the coursework or the 
requirements for staff described in Rule. 
2510(b)(2); and have 
(A) At least 900 hours of verifiable 

experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 1350 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age or camp 
setting, and completed at least six 
additional semester credit hours of 
school-age care related 
coursework; or 

(B) At least 600 hours of verifiable 
experience working with school-
aged children in a licensed child 
care program or at least 900 hours 
of verifiable experience working 
with school-aged children in an 
unlicensed school-age care or camp 
setting, and completed at least nine 
additional semester credit hours of 
school-age care related coursework. 

(3) Seventy-five percent of group leaders shall 
have: 
(A) At least 600 hours of experience 

working with school-aged children 
in a licensed child care program; or 

(B) At least 900 hours of experience 
working with school-aged children 
in an unlicensed school-age care or 
camp setting; or 

(C) Completed at least two semester 
credit hours of school-age care 
related coursework and have 
completed or be enrolled in at least 
two additional semester credit 
hours of school-age care related 
coursework. 

(4) Assistant group leaders shall be at least 18 
years old. 

(f)  Unless otherwise stated in this Rule, group leaders and 
assistant group leaders shall meet the minimum qualifications 
required in Rule .2510 of this Chapter, including completion 
of BSAC Training.  
(g)  For programs with a licensed capacity of 200 or more 
school-aged children, there shall be two program coordinators 
on site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader 
responsibilities.  The additional program coordinator shall 
meet the staff requirements in Rule .2510 of this Chapter. 
(h)  As used in this Rule, the definition of the term 
"experience working with school-aged children" in Rule 
.2510(i) of this Chapter shall apply. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 110-91; 143B-168. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2813 COMPLIANCE HISTORY  
STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD  
CARE CENTERS 
(a)  To achieve two points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a center shall have a compliance history 
rating of 65% or higher as assessed by the Division.   
(b)  To achieve three points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a center shall have a compliance history 
rating of 70% or higher as assessed by the Division.   
(c)  To achieve four points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a center shall have a compliance history 
rating of 75% or higher as assessed by the Division.  
(d)  To achieve five points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a center shall have a compliance history 
rating of 80% or higher as assessed by the Division.   
(e)  The Division shall assess the compliance history by 
evaluating the violations of requirements that have occurred 
over the previous three years or during the length of time the 
center has been operating, whichever is less.  Demerits shall 
be assigned for each occurrence of violations of these 
requirements:  supervision of children (6 points), staff/child 
ratio (6 points), staff qualifications and training (2-5 points), 
health and safety practices (3-6 points), discipline (6 points), 
developmentally appropriate activities (2-4 points), adequate 
space (6 points), nutrition and feeding practices (1-3 points), 
program records (1-3 points), sanitation inspections (6 points), 
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and transportation (1-3 points), if applicable.  The point value 
of each demerit shall be based on the potential detriment to the 
health and safety of children.  A compliance history 
percentage shall be calculated each year by subtracting the 
total number of demerits from the total demerits possible and 
converting to a percentage.  The yearly compliance history 
percentage shall be averaged over three years for the 
compliance history percentages referenced in this Rule.  A 
copy of the Division compliance history score sheet used to 
calculate the compliance history percentage is available for 
review at the address given in Rule .0102 of this Subsection. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2814 PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR  
A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE  
HOMES 
(a)  To achieve two points for program standards for a star 
rating, the operator shall have written operational policies and 
procedures that include information about meal and snack 
practices, daily activities, parent involvement, health and 
safety practices, infection control/ill child exclusion/inclusion, 
and business practice. 
(b)  To achieve three points for program standards for a star 
rating, the operator shall: 

(1) Have written operational policies and 
procedures that include information about 
meal and snack practices, daily activities, 
parent involvement, health and safety 
practices, infection control/ill child 
exclusion/inclusion, and business practice; 
and 

(2) Have an average score of 4.0 or higher on 
the Family Day Care Rating Scale or be 
accredited by a national organization 
approved by the Division.  Organizations 
shall be approved if the Division determines 
that the accreditation standards are 
substantially equivalent to those of the 
National Association for Family Child Care.  

(c)  To achieve four points for program standards for a star 
rating, the operator shall: 

(1) Have written operational policies and 
procedures that include information about 
meal and snack practices, daily activities, 
parent involvement, health and safety 
practices, infection control/ill child 
exclusion/inclusion, and business practice; 
and 

(2) Have an average score of 4.5 or higher on 
the Family Day Care Rating Scale or be 
accredited by a national organization 
approved by the Division.  Organizations 
shall be approved if the Division determines 
that the accreditation standards are 
substantially equivalent to those of the 
National Association for Family Child Care; 
and 

(3) Be a member of a national, state, or local 
professional organization.  

(d)  To achieve five points for program standards for a star 
rating, the operator shall: 

(1) Have written operational policies and 
procedures that include information about 
meal and snack practices, daily activities, 
parent involvement, health and safety 
practices, infection control/ill child 
exclusion/inclusion, and business practice; 
and 

(2) Have an average score of 5.0 or higher on 
the Family Day Care Rating Scale or be 
accredited by a national organization 
approved by the Division.  Organizations 
shall be approved if the Division determines 
that the accreditation standards are 
substantially equivalent to those of the 
National Association for Family Child Care; 
and 

(3) Be a member of a national, state, or local 
professional organization; and 

(4) Of the five preschoolers allowed to be 
enrolled, no more than three children shall 
be under one year of age. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2815 EDUCATION STANDARDS  
FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE  
HOMES 
(a)  To achieve two points for educational standards for a rated 
license, the operator shall have completed: 

(1) The North Carolina Family Child Care 
Credential or its equivalent; or 

(2) At least four semester credit hours in early 
childhood education or child development; 
or 

(3) At least 10 years of full-time verifiable early 
childhood work experience and six 
additional clock hours of annual in-service 
training. 

(b)  To achieve three points for education standards for a rated 
license, the operator shall have completed: 

(1) The North Carolina Family Child Care 
Credential or its equivalent and three 
semester credit hours in early childhood 
education or child development (not 
including the North Carolina Family Child 
Care Credential coursework) and one year of 
full-time verifiable early childhood work 
experience; or 

(2) The North Carolina Family Child Care 
Credential or its equivalent and five years of 
full-time verifiable early childhood work 
experience; or 

(3) At least six semester hours of early 
childhood education/child development 
coursework and one year of full-time 
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verifiable early childhood work experience; 
or 

(4) At least an A.A.S. degree in any major with 
at least six semester credit hours in early 
childhood education/child development 
coursework and six months of full-time 
verifiable early childhood work experience; 
or 

(5) At least an A.A.S. degree. in early childhood 
education/child development and three 
months of full-time verifiable early 
childhood work experience. 

(c)  To achieve four points for education standards for a rated 
license, the operator shall have completed: 

(1) The North Carolina Family Child Care 
Credential or its equivalent and six semester 
credit hours in early childhood education or 
child development (not including the North 
Carolina Family Child Care Credential 
coursework) and two years of full-time 
verifiable early childhood work experience; 
or 

(2) At least nine semester hours of early 
childhood education/child development 
coursework and two years of full-time 
verifiable early childhood work experience; 
or 

(3) At least an A.A.S. degree in any major with 
at least nine semester credit hours in early 
childhood education/child development 
coursework and eighteen months of full-
time verifiable early childhood work 
experience; or 

(4) At least an A.A.S. in early childhood 
education/child development and one year 
of full-time verifiable early childhood work 
experience. 

(d)  To achieve five points for education standards for a rated 
license, the operator shall have completed: 

(1) At least an A.A.S. degree in any major with 
at least twelve semester credit hours in early 
childhood education/child development 
coursework and two years of full-time 
verifiable early childhood work experience; 
or 

(2) At least an A.A.S. in early childhood 
education/child development and 18 months 
of full-time verifiable early childhood work 
experience. 

 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
10A NCAC 09 .2816 COMPLIANCE HISTORY  
STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY  
CHILD CARE HOMES 
(a)  To achieve one point for compliance history standards for 
a star rating, a family child care home shall have a compliance 
history of 60% - 64% as assessed by the Division. 

(b)  To achieve two points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a family child care home shall have a 
compliance history of 65% - 69% as assessed by the Division. 
(c)  To achieve three points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a family child care home shall have a 
compliance history of 70% - 74% as assessed by the Division. 
(d)  To achieve four points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a family child care home shall have a 
compliance history of 75% - 79% as assessed by the Division. 
(e)  To achieve five points for compliance history standards 
for a star rating, a family child care home shall have a 
compliance history of 80% or higher as assessed by the 
Division. 
(f)  The Division shall assess the compliance history by 
evaluating the violations of requirements that have occurred 
over the previous three years or during the length of time the 
family child care home has been operating, whichever is less.  
Demerits shall be assigned for each occurrence of violations 
within these categories:  supervision of children (6 points), 
exceeding capacity (6 points), staff qualifications and training 
(2-5 points), health and safety practices (3-6 points), discipline 
(6 points), developmentally appropriate activities (2-4 points), 
adequate space (6 points), nutrition and feeding practices (1-3 
points), program records (1-3 points), and transportation (1-3 
points), if applicable.  When a range of points is listed, the 
minimum and maximum number of demerits possible for the 
violations within these categories are indicated.  The point 
value of each demerit for violations within the categories shall 
be based on the potential detriment to the health and safety of 
children.  A compliance history percentage shall be calculated 
each year by subtracting the total number of demerits on each 
visit from the total demerits possible during a 12 month period 
based on the services provided and converting to a percentage.  
The yearly compliance history percentage shall be averaged 
over three years for the compliance history percentage 
referenced in this Rule.  A copy of the Division compliance 
history score sheet used to calculate the compliance history 
percentage is available for review at the address given in Rule 
.0102 of this Chapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 
 
 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Insurance intends to adopt the rule cited as 
11 NCAC 05A .0801. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 20, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  3rd Floor, Dobbs Building, 430 N. Salisbury Street, 
Raleigh, NC  27603 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule is necessary because 
of the enactment of Article 92 of Chapter 58 known as the 
"Fire-Safety Standard and Firefighter Protection Act" (2007-
451, s.1.) 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The Department of Insurance will accept 
written objections to this rule until the expiration of the 
comment period on December 14, 2009. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Karen E. Waddell, 1201 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1201; phone (919) 
733-4529; fax (919) 733-6495; email 
karen.waddell@ncdoi.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 05 - OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

 
SUBCHAPTER 05A - FIRE AND RESCUE 

 
SECTION .0800 - CIGARETTE FIRE-SAFETY 

STANDARDS 
 
11 NCAC 05A .0801 CERTIFICATIONS 
(a)  Certifications and fees submitted pursuant to G.S. 58-92-
20 shall be sent to: 

NCDOI-OSFM 
NC Fire Safety Programs 
1202 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC  27699-1202 

(b)  OSFM shall return incomplete certifications.  The 
submitter shall complete or correct the original submittal 
within 90 days after the date of return.  If the submitter fails to 
return a completed or corrected submittal within the 90-day 

period, the submitter shall pay the fee specified in G.S 58-92-
20(e) for each subsequent submittal. 
(c)  Payment of all fees under Article 92 of Chapter 58 of the 
General Statutes shall be remitted by way of a check drawn on 
a bank.  As used in this Paragraph, "bank" has the meaning set 
forth in Section 2(c) of the Bank Holding Company Act of 
1956, as amended (12 U.S.C. 1841(c)). 
 
Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-92-20; 58-92-35; 58-92-30(g). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Insurance intends to adopt the rules cited 
as 11 NCAC 05D .0101-.0115. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 5, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  322 Chapanoke Road, Raleigh, NC  27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Needs to be in compliance 
with newly enacted S.L. 2009-507 and for public safety and 
health concerns. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The Department of Insurance will accept 
written objections to this rule until the expiration of the 
comment period on December 14, 2009. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Karen E. Waddell, 1201 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1201, phone 
(919)733-4529, fax (919)733-6495, email 
Karen.waddell@ncdoi.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided 
in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
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 None 
 

CHAPTER 05 – OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
 

SUBCHAPTER 05D – PYROTECHNICS 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0101 DEFINITIONS  
As used in this Subchapter: 

(1) "Assistant display operator." -- As described 
in G.S. 58-82A-1(a)(1). 

(2) "ATF." -- The federal Bureau of Alcohol, 
Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives 

(3) "Display operator." -- An individual who 
exhibits, uses, handles, manufactures, or 
discharges pyrotechnics at a concert or 
public exhibition in this State.  

(4) "NFPA." -- The National Fire Protection 
Association. 

(5) "OSFM." -- The Office of State Fire 
Marshal in the North Carolina Department 
of Insurance.  

(6) "Permit." -- A display operator permit. 
(7) "Permittee." – An individual to whom a 

display operator permit has been issued by 
OSFM under Article 82A of Chapter 58 of 
the General Statutes and this Subchapter. 

(8) "Proximate audience display." -- A display 
of special effects fireworks that occurs 
within a building or structure or that occurs 
outside before an audience closer than 75 
feet to the pyrotechnics in accordance with 
NFPA 1126. 

(9) "Pyrotechnics." -- As defined in G.S. 14-
414. 

 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0102 DISPLAY OPERATORS'  
IDENTIFICATION BADGES 
OSFM shall issue an identification badge to a display operator 
and an assistant display operator at the same time it issues a 
permit to the display operator or assistant display operator. 
The display operator or assistant display operator shall be in 
possession of, and display his or her identification badge in a 
conspicuous location on his or her person, at all times during 
the delivery, setup, and performance of the display.   
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0103 DISPLAY OPERATOR'S  
PERMIT  
(a)  In addition to the requirements in G.S. 58-82A-3(b), 
OSFM shall not issue a permit to any individual who has 
applied for a permit unless the applicant: 

(1) Has an ATF letter of clearance and one of 
the following: 
(A) An ATF license or permit. 

(B) An affidavit from an ATF license 
holder by whom the applicant is 
employed or with whom the 
applicant has contracted.  
Notification of a change in 
employment or contract status is 
the permittee's and the affidavit 
signatory's responsibility.  

(b)  The applicant shall provide proof of successful completion 
of the training program referenced in G.S. 58-82A-2 or 
another program that OSFM determines to be substantially 
equivalent.  
(c)  The applicant must achieve a passing score of 80 on the 
written examination required by G.S. 58-82A-3(b)(4).  
(d)  The applicant shall submit evidence of active participation 
in the safe performance of six pyrotechnic displays. The 
applicant shall have performed the duties of a display operator 
in at least three of these displays, under the supervision of a 
display operator. 
(e)  In order to have the authority to operate proximate 
audience displays as a permittee, the applicant shall submit 
evidence of active participation in the safe performance of 10 
proximate audience displays. The applicant must have 
performed the duties of a display operator in at least three of 
these displays, under the supervision of the proximate 
audience display operator.  Only the requirements of this 
Paragraph and the requirements in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 
this Rule apply to persons who will operate proximate 
audience displays as permittees. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0104 ASSISTANT DISPLAY  
OPERATOR'S PERMIT 
OSFM shall not issue a assistant display operator's permit to 
any individual who has applied for the permit unless the 
applicant:  

(1) Is at least 18 years of age.  
(2) Has an ATF letter of clearance and one of 

the following: 
(a) An ATF license or permit. 
(b) Submits or causes to be submitted 

an affidavit from an ATF license 
holder by whom the assistant is 
employed or with whom the 
applicant has contracted.  
Notification of a change in 
employment or contract status is 
the assistant's and the affidavit 
signatory's responsibility.  

(c) Has read and understands OSFM 
fireworks safety guidelines and 
correctly answered 80 of the 
questions contained in the 
guidelines. 

 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
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11 NCAC 05D .0105 ASSISTANT DISPLAY  
OPERATOR'S CERTIFICATION 
(a)  An individual may assist with the set up, safety, firing, and 
removal of pyrotechnics displays without a permit as long as 
the assistant does not handle pyrotechnics materials covered 
under the ATF licensing requirements, provided the 
individual: 

(1) Is at least 18 years of age. 
(2) Has read and understands OSFM fireworks 

safety guidelines and correctly answered 80 
of the questions contained in the guidelines. 

(3) Signs the OSFM fireworks safety guidelines 
form and provides a fire code official with 
the signed form.  

(4) Is certified on the site of the pyrotechnics 
display by the fire code official at the time 
of the pre-show site inspection. 

(b)  As used in this rule, "fire code official" means an 
individual certified by the North Carolina Code Officials 
Qualification Board as the primary official responsible for the 
enforcement of the North Carolina Fire Code within a county 
or city. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0106 APPLICATION FOR PERMIT 
(a)  All applications for a permit shall be signed by the 
applicant and submitted on forms provided by OSFM and 
must be accompanied by the following additional information: 

(1) A copy of the applicant's driver's license or 
other government issued identification that 
includes the date of birth and photograph. 

(2) A photograph, approximately 2" x 2", taken 
within the preceding two years. The 
photograph must show the applicant from a 
front view with his or her full-face and head 
and shoulders visible. OSFM will reject 
photographs showing the applicant wearing 
sunglasses, hats, scarves, or any objects that 
obscure the applicant's identity.  

(3) A copy of the applicant's ATF letter of 
clearance and ATF license or permit. 

(4) The applicable permit fee.  
(b)  Upon receipt and review of the application, OSFM shall 
issue the appropriate permission letter to take an examination 
or shall notify the applicant of the reason for the denial of the 
permit.  
(c)  OSFM shall issue a temporary permit to an individual 
until OSFM receives an ATF letter of clearance and the ATF 
license or permit.  Upon receipt of the ATF letter of clearance 
and the ATF license or permit, the temporary permit shall 
expire upon issuance of the appropriate permit or notification 
of denial of the permit.  
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0107 EXAMINATION 
(a)  An applicant must complete a written examination 
designed to demonstrate the applicant's knowledge of Article 

54 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes, this Subchapter, and 
NFPA 1123, NFPA 1126 standards relating to safe practices 
for the storage, use, handling, discharge and display of 
pyrotechnics administered by OSFM and achieve a passing 
score of at least 80.  
(b)  The examination shall be approved by OSFM and shall be 
given at times scheduled by OSFM during each calendar year.  
(c)  Persons who do not pass the examination may retake the 
examination after 30 days.   
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0108 APPLICATION FOR  
RECIPROCITY 
(a)  Display operators who are licensed or permitted in other 
states shall submit: 

(1) the OSFM permit application. 
(2) the state license or state permit for which the 

applicant is seeking reciprocity.  
(3) a letter from the reciprocal state issuing 

agency indicating stating that the applicant's 
license or permit is in good standing. 

(4) A copy of the applicant's ATF letter of 
clearance and ATF license or permit. 

(b)  The applicant shall be at least 21 years of age at the time 
of application.  
(c)  The applicant must have an ATF letter of clearance and 
one of the following: 

(1) An ATF license or permit. 
(2) An affidavit from an ATF license holder by 

whom the applicant is employed or with 
whom the applicant has contracted.  
Notification of a change in employment or 
contract status is the permittee's and the 
affidavit signatory's responsibility.  

 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0109 PERMIT RENEWAL 
(a)  A permit is valid for three years from the date of issuance.  
(b)  Permittees may apply for renewal of their permits during 
the 60-day period before and 60-day period after the permit 
expiration date by submitting a renewal application on forms 
provided by OSFM, together with the required fee.  
(c)  Any permit that is not renewed within 60 days after its 
expiration shall be cancelled. Any requests after that date to 
renew or restore shall be treated as a new application.  
(d)  During the 60-day period after the permit expiration, no 
permittee shall engage in any conduct or activities for which a 
permit is required until the permit is renewed or issued as a 
new permit. 
(e)  In addition, a permittee seeking to renew his or her permit 
shall include with the renewal application evidence that the 
permittee participated in at least:  

(1) Two pyrotechnic displays as a display 
operator. 

(2) Three proximate audience displays if the 
permittee is authorized to operate proximate 
audience displays. 
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(f)  A permittee who is serving in the armed forces of the 
United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension 
of time to file a tax return shall be granted an extension of 
time to pay any permit renewal application fee as a condition 
of renewing a permit. The extension is for the same period that 
would apply if the fee were a tax. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0110 FEES 
Applicants and permittees shall pay the following 
nonrefundable fees to OSFM for administration of 
pyrotechnics training and permitting: 

(1) Display operator initial permit application 
   $100.00 

(2) Display operator permit renewal application 
   $100.00 

 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0111 NOTIFICATION TO OSFM 
(a)  Written communications to OSFM shall be mailed to:  

Office of the State Fire Marshal  
Pyrotechnic Permitting  
1202 Mail Service Center  
Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-3400  

(b)  A permittee shall notify OSFM in writing within seven 
calendar days after any of the following events:  

(1) Discovery that his/her permit has been lost, 
stolen, or destroyed.  

(2) The permittee's ATF license has expired or 
ATF has terminated, suspended, or revoked 
the permittee's license or letter of clearance. 
The permittee shall also send a copy of any 
written notice of termination, suspension, or 
revocation to OSFM.  

(3) The permittee's reciprocal out-of-state 
license or permit has been terminated, 
suspended, or revoked. The permittee shall 
also send OSFM a copy of any written 
notice of termination, suspension, or 
revocation.  

(4) A conviction of any felony in any state. 
(5) A conviction relating to the operation of a 

motor vehicle while impaired or any 
conviction or action resulting in a 
suspension of a commercial drivers license. 

(6) A violation of any requirement of a permit 
issued under G.S. 14-413. 

(7) A conviction of a crime under Article 54 of 
Chapter 14 of the General Statutes. 

(8) A change in employment that nullifies the 
affidavit submitted to obtain the applicant's 
permit.  Until this notification is received 
from the employer or permittee, the 
permittee is still considered as working 
under the ATF license of the signatory of the 
affidavit.  

(c)  A permittee shall notify OSFM in writing within 10 days 
after a change in the permittee's address or name. The 
permittee shall send OSFM proof that the change in address or 
name had been done in accordance with the law.  
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0112 REPLACEMENT AND  
DUPLICATE PERMIT 
(a)  If a permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, the 
permittee shall notify OSFM. Upon receipt of the written 
notification, OSFM will issue a replacement permit.  
(b)  If a permit becomes worn or damaged to the extent that it 
is illegible in any respect, or if the permittee changes his or her 
address or name, the permittee shall return the permit to 
OSFM. Upon receipt of the original permit and proof of any 
changes necessary to maintain correct information, OSFM will 
issue a replacement permit.  
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0113 REPORT OF THEFT OR LOSS  
OF PYROTECHNICS 
(a)  A permittee shall report the theft or loss of pyrotechnics to 
the county sheriff or city police, to ATF and to OSFM, by 
telephone, within eight hours after the permittee discovers the 
theft or loss.  OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during 
normal working hours and at the North Carolina Highway 
Patrol dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal 
working hours.  
(b)  Within 24 hours after discovery of the loss or theft, the 
permittee shall provide OSFM written notice that includes a 
complete description of the pyrotechnics, including the 
manufacturer, brand name, any manufacturer marking and 
quantity, and a description of the circumstances surrounding 
the theft or loss. The written notice shall also specifically 
name the law enforcement agencies contacted by the permittee 
under Paragraph (a) of this Rule.  
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0114 REPORT OF INJURY OR  
PROPERTY DAMAGE  
(a)  A permittee shall notify OSFM within eight hours after 
any of the following incidents:  

(1) A fire causing property damage. 
(2) An injury to any person caused by the 

display resulting in hospitalization. 
(3) Damage to property resulting from the 

display.  
(b)  OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during normal 
working hours and at the North Carolina Highway Patrol 
dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal working 
hours.  
(c)  The permittee shall submit a written report to OSFM 
within three days after a pyrotechnics display conducted by 
the permittee if any of the following occurred:  

(1) Any of the incidents identified in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule.  
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(2) Whenever a defective pyrotechnic product 
or equipment was used or observed.  

 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0115 INSPECTIONS  
(a)  A permittee shall make any records required under Article 
54 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes and Article 82A of 
Chapter 58 of the General Statutes available to authorized 
representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire marshal.  
(b)  A permittee shall allow the display site, storage facility, or 
delivery point to be inspected at all times by authorized 
representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire marshal.  
 
Authority G.S. 58-82A-1. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Insurance intends to adopt the rule cited as 
11 NCAC 12 .0331 and .0461. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 13, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  3rd Floor, Dobbs Building, 430 N. Salisbury Street, 
Raleigh, NC  27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
11 NCAC 12 .0331 – The statute provides that insurers shall 
inform applicants for individual major medial insurance for 
whom they make decision to NOT issue coverage or to only 
issue coverage with exclusionary riders of the existence of the 
High Risk Pool since those specific adverse underwriting 
decisions make the applicant eligible for coverage through the 
risk pool.  The new statutes give the COI authority to adopt a 
rule to specify the content and other specifics of the notice.  
That is what this proposed rule – 12 .0331 does. 
11 NCAC 12 .0461 - This model regulation establishes 
standards for the use of senior-specific certifications and 
professional designations by insurance producers in the sale 
of life insurance and annuities to all consumers regardless of 
age.  It makes it an unfair and deceptive act or practice for an 
insurance producer to use a senior-specific certification or 
professional designation that indicates or implies in such a 
way as to mislead a purchaser or prospective purchaser that 
the insurance producer has special certification or training in 
advising or servicing seniors in connection with the 
solicitation, sale or purchase of a life insurance or annuity 
product. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The Department of Insurance will accept 
written objections to this rule until the expiration of the 
comment period on December 14, 2009. 
 

Comments may be submitted to:  Karen E. Waddell, 1201 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1201; phone (919) 
733-4529; fax (919) 733-6495; email 
karen.waddell@ncdoi.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission.  If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided 
in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule.  The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission.  If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 12 - LIFE AND HEALTH DIVISION 

 
SECTION .0300 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
11 NCAC 12 .0331 HEALTH INSURANCE RISK  
POOL NOTICE LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 58-3-276 are 
incorporated by reference. 
(b)  Notices required under G.S. 58-3-276 shall be provided by 
the insurer by first-class mail to the applicant's current address 
or, if not known, to the applicant's last known address, 
whether the application was taken by paper or electronically. 
The notice shall be in Times New Roman 10-point font or 
other equivalent font and contain the following wording: 
"In response to your application for individual health 
insurance coverage, you have received from [INSERT 
INSURER'S NAME] (i) a notice of a denial of coverage or (ii) 
an offer of coverage with a conditional rider that limits the 
coverage.  We are therefore required to inform you that you 
may be eligible for health insurance coverage through the 
North Carolina Health Insurance Risk Pool, known as 
"Inclusive Health."   
Inclusive Health is a state subsidized health insurance 
coverage option for individuals with pre-existing medical 
conditions who either are unable to qualify for or cannot find 
more affordable individual health insurance coverage.  
Inclusive Health's premiums are not based on specific medical 
conditions and are capped by law.  You cannot be rejected by 
Inclusive Health because of health conditions. You may 
contact the North Carolina Health Insurance Risk Pool for 
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information on specific eligibility criteria and the type of 
benefit plans available at:  

North Carolina Health Insurance Risk Pool, dba Inclusive 
Health 

P.O. Box 30909 
Raleigh, NC 27622 

(866) 665-2117 
www.inclusivehealth.org 

The Consumer Services Division of the North Carolina 
Department of Insurance is available to assist you with your 
questions about health insurance.  You may contact the 
Consumer Services Division at:  
North Carolina Department of Insurance – Consumer Services 

Division 
1201 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201 

800-546-5664 - in North Carolina only 
919-807-6750 - outside North Carolina" 

(c)  The notice required under this Rule may be delivered to an 
applicant along with the notice required by G.S. 58-39-55 
relating to the adverse underwriting decision described in G.S. 
58-50-195(a)(1) and G.S. 58-50-195(a)(2) when the adverse 
underwriting decision notice is provided in writing. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-276. 
 

SECTION .0400 - LIFE: GENERAL NATURE 
 
11 NCAC 12 .0461 USE OF SENIOR-SPECIFIC  
CERTIFICATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL  
DESIGNATIONS 
(a)  This Rule applies to the solicitation, sale, or purchase of, 
or advice made in connection with a life insurance or annuity 
product on and after the effective date of this Rule. 
(b)  The NAIC Model Regulation on the Use of Senior-
Specific Certifications and Professional Designations ("Model 
Regulation"), as adopted by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners at the Fall National Meeting of 
2008, including subsequent amendments and editions, is 
hereby incorporated by reference.  Copies of the Model 
Regulation are available free of charge from the Life and 
Health Division by email at l&hinbox@ncdoi.gov or the 
Department of Insurance Website at www.ncdoi.com. 
(c)  As used in the Model Regulation, "reference to State 
unfair trade practices act" means Article 63 of Chapter 58 of 
the General Statutes and "insert reference to enabling 
legislation" means G.S. 58-63-75. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-75. 
 
 
TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Environmental Management Commission intends to adopt 
the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0252 and amend the rules 
cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0248 and .0250. 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 19, 2009 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  City of High Point Municipal Building, Council 
Chambers, 211 South Hamilton Street, High Point, NC  27260 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 02B .0248 – The proposed amendment to this rule 
is intended to remove Item (c) of this Rule due to the updated 
variance language in the newly proposed amendments to 15A 
NCAC 02B .0250. 
15A NCAC 02B .0250 – The proposed amendments to this 
rule will make the Randleman buffer program easier to 
understand and implement. 
15A NCAC 02B .0252 – The proposed adoption of this rule is 
necessary in order to provide an avenue for mitigation that is 
required for the proposed amendments to 15A NCAC 02B 
.0250. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  You may attend the public hearings and make 
relevant verbal comments, and/or submit written comments, 
data or other relevant information by December 14, 2009.  
The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may 
speak at the public hearings so that all those who wish to 
speak may have an opportunity to do so.  
The EMC is very interested in all comments pertaining to the 
proposed amendments and proposed rules.  All persons 
interested and potentially affected by the proposals are 
strongly encouraged to read this entire notice and make 
comments on the proposed new rule and the proposed 
amendments to the existing rules.  The EMC may not adopt a 
rule that differs substantially from the text of the proposed 
rule published in this North Carolina Register unless the EMC 
publishes the text of the proposed different rule in the North 
Carolina Register and accepts comments on the proposed 
different rule (G.S. 150B-21.2(g)).  Written comments may be 
submitted to:  Adriene Weaver, DENR/Division of Water 
Quality, Planning Section, 1617 mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC 27699-1617, adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov, or by fax at 
(919) 807-6497. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Adriene Weaver, 
DENR/Division of Water Quality, Planning Section, 1617 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1617; phone (919) 
807-6414; fax (919) 807-6497; email 
adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
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requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  A copy of the fiscal note can be obtained 
from the agency. 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

COMMISSION 
 

SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND 
WETLAND STANDARDS 

 
SECTION .0200 - CLASSIFICATIONS AND WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO SURFACE 
WATERS AND WETLANDS OF NORTH CAROLINA 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0248 RANDLEMAN LAKE WATER  
SUPPLY WATERSHED: NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT  
STRATEGY 
(a)  All waters of the Randleman Lake (Deep River) water 
supply watershed are classified for water supply uses and 
designated by the Environmental Management Commission as 
a Critical Water Supply Watershed pursuant to G.S. 143-
214.5(b).  The following rules shall be implemented for the 
entire drainage area upstream of the Randleman Lake Dam: 

(1) Rule .0249 of this Section for Wastewater 
Discharges, 

(2) Rule .0250 of this Section for Protection and 
Maintenance of Riparian Areas, and 

(3) Rule .0251 of this Section for Urban 
Stormwater Management. 

(b)  Failure to meet the requirements of the Rules in this 
Section may result in the imposition of enforcement measures 
as authorized by G.S. 143-215.6A (civil penalties), G.S. 143-
215.6B (criminal penalties), and G.S. 143-215.6C (injunctive 
relief). 
(c)  Development activities may be granted minor and major 
variances from the requirements of Rules .0250 and .0251 of 
this Section based on the process stated in 15A NCAC 2B 
.0104(r).  However, for the purposes of Rules .0250 and .0251 
of this Section, minor and major variances shall be defined as 
a variance from the more stringent Randleman Lake 
stormwater management requirements for the lower watershed 
and the more stringent riparian area requirements for the upper 
and lower watersheds. 
 

Authority G. S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.6A; 143-215.6B; 143-215.6C. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0250 RANDLEMAN LAKE WATER  
SUPPLY WATERSHED: PROTECTION AND  
MAINTENANCE OF EXISTING RIPARIAN BUFFERS 
The following is the management strategy for maintaining and 
protecting riparian areas in the Randleman Lake watershed: 

(1) Within 270 days of the effective date of this 
Rule, all local governments with 
jurisdictions in the Randleman Lake 
watershed shall submit to the EMC for 
approval, local water supply ordinances, or 
modifications to existing ordinances, which 
include protection of riparian areas as 
provided in this Rule.  Local governments 
shall use the following provisions in 
applying this Rule: 
(a) Riparian areas shall be protected 

and maintained in accordance with 
this Rule on all sides of surface 
waters in the Randleman Lake 
watershed such as intermittent 
streams, perennial streams, lakes, 
and ponds, as indicated on the most 
recent version of either the United 
States Geological Survey 1:24,000 
scale (7.5 minute quadrangle) 
topographic maps or the Soil 
Survey maps developed by USDA-
Natural Resource Conservation 
Service, or other site-specific 
evidence that indicates to the 
Division of Water Quality (DWQ) 
the presence of waters not shown 
on either of these two maps or, as 
provided in Sub-Item (2)(b) of this 
Rule, evidence that no actual 
stream or waterbody exists; 

(b) Local governments may, if they 
choose to do so, develop detailed 
stream network maps for the 
watershed based on these USGS 
and USDA-NRCS maps or criteria, 
approved by the Division of Water 
Quality, showing the presence or 
absence of a stream.  These maps 
shall be submitted to the Division 
for approval by any local 
government wishing to use this 
method of implementation of 
riparian area protection.  After 
these detailed stream network maps 
are approved by the Division, 
riparian areas shall be protected 
and maintained in accordance with 
this Rule on all sides of surface 
waters in the Randleman Lake 
watershed as delineated on these 
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approved stream network maps; 
and 

(c) Exceptions to the requirements of 
this Rule for riparian areas are 
described in Sub-Items (2)(a)-(h) of 
this Rule.  Maintenance of the 
riparian areas shall be such that, to 
the maximum extent possible, sheet 
flow of surface water is achieved.  
This Rule specifies requirements 
that shall be implemented in 
riparian areas to ensure that the 
pollutant removal functions of the 
riparian area are protected and 
maintained.  All local governments 
that have land use authority within 
the proposed Randleman Lake 
water supply watershed shall adopt 
and enforce this Rule through local 
water supply and other local 
ordinances.  Ordinances shall 
require that all riparian protection 
areas are recorded on new or 
modified plats.  No building 
permits shall be issued and no new 
development shall take place in 
violation of this Rule. 

(2) The following waterbodies and land uses are 
exempt from the riparian area protection 
requirements: 
(a) Ditches and manmade 

conveyances, other than modified 
natural streams, which under 
normal conditions do not receive 
drainage from any tributary ditches, 
canals, or streams, unless the ditch 
or manmade conveyance delivers 
runoff directly to waters classified 
in accordance with 15A NCAC 2B 
.0100; 

(b) Areas mapped as intermittent 
streams, perennial streams, lakes, 
ponds, or estuaries on the most 
recent versions of United States 
Geological Survey 1:24,000 scale 
(7.5 minute quadrangle) 
topographic maps or soil survey 
maps where no perennial 
waterbody, intermittent waterbody, 
lake, pond or estuary actually exists 
on the ground; 

(c) Ponds and lakes created for animal 
watering, irrigation, or other 
agricultural uses that are not part of 
a natural drainage way that is 
classified in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 2B .0100; 

(d) Water dependent structures as 
defined in 15A NCAC 2B .0202, 

provided that they are located, 
designed, constructed and 
maintained to provide maximum 
nutrient removal, to have the least 
adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat and to protect water quality; 

(e) The following uses where no 
practical alternative exists.  A lack 
of practical alternatives may be 
shown by demonstrating that, 
considering the potential for a 
reduction in size, configuration or 
density of the proposed activity and 
all alternative designs, the basic 
project purpose cannot be 
practically accomplished in a 
manner which would avoid or 
result in less adverse impact to 
surface waters.  Also, these 
structures shall be located, 
designed, constructed, and 
maintained to have minimal 
disturbance, to provide maximum 
nutrient removal and erosion 
protection, to have the least adverse 
effects on aquatic life and habitat, 
and to protect water quality to the 
maximum extent practical through 
the use of best management 
practices: 
(i) Road crossings, railroad 

crossings, bridges, airport 
facilities, and utility 
crossings if conditions 
specified in Sub-
Item(2)(e) of this Rule are 
met. 

(ii) Stormwater management 
facilities and ponds, and 
utility construction and 
maintenance corridors for 
utilities such as water, 
sewer or gas, in Zone 2 of 
the riparian area as long as 
the conditions specified in 
Sub-Item (2)(e) of this 
Rule are met and they are 
located at least 30 feet 
from the top of bank or 
mean high water line.  
Additional requirements 
for utility construction and 
maintenance corridors are 
listed in Sub-Item (2)(f) of 
this Rule; 

(f) A corridor for the construction and 
maintenance of utility lines, such as 
water, sewer or gas, (including 
access roads and stockpiling of 
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materials) running parallel to the 
stream and located within Zone 2 
of the riparian area, as long as no 
practical alternative exists, as 
defined in Sub-Item (2) (e) of this 
Rule, and best management 
practices are installed to minimize 
runoff and maximize water quality 
protection to the maximum extent 
practicable.  Permanent, maintained 
access corridors shall be restricted 
to the minimum width practicable 
and shall not exceed 10 feet in 
width except at manhole locations.  
A 10 feet by 10 feet perpendicular 
vehicle turnaround shall be allowed 
provided they are spaced at least 
500 feet apart along the riparian 
area; 

(g) Stream restoration projects, 
scientific studies, stream gauging, 
water wells, passive recreation 
facilities such as boardwalks, trails, 
pathways, historic preservation and 
archaeological activities, provided 
that they are located in Zone 2 and 
are at least 30 feet from the top of 
bank or mean high water line and 
are designed, constructed and 
maintained to provide the 
maximum nutrient removal and 
erosion protection, to have the least 
adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat, and to protect water quality 
to the maximum extent practical 
through the use of best 
management practices.  Activities 
that must cross the stream or be 
located within Zone 1, are allowed 
as long as all other requirements of 
this Item are met; and 

(h) Stream crossings associated with 
timber harvesting, if performed in 
accordance with the Forest 
Practices Guidelines Related to 
Water Quality (15A NCAC 1J 
.0201-.0209). 

(3) The protected riparian area shall have two 
zones as follows: 
(a) Zone 1 is intended to be an 

undisturbed area of vegetation. 
(i) Location of Zone 1:  Zone 

1 begins at the top of bank 
for intermittent streams 
and perennial streams and 
extends landward a 
distance of 30 feet on all 
sides of the waterbody, 
measured horizontally on 

a line perpendicular to the 
waterbody.  For all other 
waterbodies, Zone 1 
begins at the top of bank 
or mean high water line 
and extends landward a 
distance of 30 feet, 
measured horizontally on 
a line perpendicular to the 
waterbody. 

(ii) The following practices 
and activities are allowed 
in Zone 1: 
(A) Natural 

regeneration of 
forest vegetation 
and planting 
vegetation to 
enhance the 
riparian area if 
disturbance is 
minimized, 
provided that any 
plantings shall 
primarily consist 
of locally native 
trees and shrubs; 

(B) Selective cutting 
of individual 
trees in Zone 1, 
where forest 
vegetation as 
defined in Rule 
.0202 of this 
Section exists, as 
long as the 
following 
conditions are 
met every 100 
feet on each side 
of the stream; 

(I) Of existing trees 
12-inches and 
greater diameter 
breast height 
(dbh), a 
minimum of five 
trees must remain 
uncut; 

(II) Trees 12-inches 
and greater dbh 
may be harvested 
based on the 
following 
equation:  
Number of Trees 
harvested = 
(Total number of 
trees greater than 
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12-inches dbh - 
5) / 2; 

(III) No trees less than 
12-inches dbh 
may be harvested 
unless exceptions 
provided in this 
Rule are met; 

(IV) Trees may not be 
harvested more 
frequently than 
every 10 years; 
and 

(V) No tracked or 
wheeled 
equipment are 
allowed; 

(C) Horticulture or 
silvicultural 
practices to 
maintain the 
health of 
individual trees; 

(D) Removal of 
individual trees 
which are in 
danger of causing 
damage to 
dwellings, other 
structures or the 
stream channel; 

(E) Removal of dead 
trees and other 
timber cutting 
techniques 
necessary to 
prevent extensive 
pest or disease 
infestation if 
recommended by 
the Director, 
Division of 
Forest Resources 
and approved by 
the Director, 
Division of 
Water Quality; 
and 

(F) Ongoing 
agricultural 
operations 
provided that 
existing forest 
vegetation is 
protected. 

(iii) The following practices 
are not allowed in Zone 1: 
(A) Land-disturbing 

activities and 

placement of fill 
and other 
materials, other 
than those 
allowed in Items 
(2) and (3)(a)(ii) 
of this Rule; 

(B) New 
development, 
except as 
provided in Sub-
Items (2)(d), 
(2)(e) and (2)(f) 
of this Rule; 

(C) New on-site 
sanitary sewage 
systems which 
use ground 
adsorption; 

(D) The application 
of fertilizer; and 

(E) Any activity that 
threatens the 
health and 
function of the 
vegetation 
including, but not 
limited to, 
application of 
chemicals in 
amounts 
exceeding the 
manufacturer’s 
recommended 
rate, uncontrolled 
sediment sources 
on adjacent lands, 
and the creation 
of any areas with 
bare soil. 

(b) Zone 2 is intended to provide 
protection through a vegetated 
riparian zone which provides for 
diffusion and infiltration of runoff 
and filtering of pollutants. 
(i) Location of Zone 2:  Zone 

2 begins at the outer edge 
of Zone 1 and extends 
landward a minimum of 
20 feet as measured 
horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to the 
waterbody.  The combined 
minimum width of Zones 
1 and 2 shall be 50 feet on 
all sides of the waterbody. 

(ii) The following practices 
and activities are allowed 
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in Zone 2 in addition to 
those allowed in Zone 1: 
(A) Periodic mowing 

and removal of 
plant products 
such as timber, 
nuts, and fruit is 
allowed provided 
the intended 
purpose of the 
riparian area is 
not compromised 
by harvesting, 
disturbance, or 
loss of forest or 
herbaceous 
ground cover; 
and 

(B) Grading and 
timber harvesting 
provided that 
vegetated ground 
cover be 
established 
immediately 
following 
completion of the 
land-disturbing 
activity. 

(iii) The following practices 
and activities are not 
allowed in Zone 2: 
(A) New 

development, 
except as 
provided in Sub-
Items (2)(e) and 
(2)(f) of this 
Rule; 

(B) New on-site 
sanitary sewage 
systems which 
use ground 
adsorption; 

(C) Any activity that 
threatens the 
health and 
function of the 
vegetation 
including, but not 
limited to, 
application of 
chemicals in 
amounts 
exceeding the 
manufacturer’s 
recommended 
rate, uncontrolled 
sediment sources 

on adjacent lands, 
and the creation 
of any areas with 
bare soil. 

(4) Timber removal and skidding of trees shall 
be directed away from the water course or 
water body.  Skidding shall be done in a 
manner to prevent the creation of ephemeral 
channels perpendicular to the water body.  
Any tree removal must be performed in a 
manner that does not compromise the 
intended purpose of the riparian area and is 
in accordance with the Forest Practices 
Guidelines Related to Water Quality (15A 
NCAC 1J .0201-.0209). 

(5) Maintenance of sheet flow in Zones 1 and 2 
is required in accordance with this Item. 
(a) Sheet flow must be maintained to 

the maximum extent practical 
through dispersing concentrated 
flow and re-establishment of 
vegetation to maintain the 
effectiveness of the riparian area. 

(b) Concentrated runoff from new 
ditches or manmade conveyances 
must be dispersed into sheet flow 
before the runoff enters Zone 2 of 
the riparian area.  Existing ditches 
and manmade conveyances, as 
specified in Sub-Item (2)(a) of this 
Rule, are exempt from this 
requirement; however, care shall be 
taken to minimize pollutant loading 
through these existing ditches and 
manmade conveyances from 
fertilizer application or erosion. 

(c) Periodic corrective action to restore 
sheet flow shall be taken by the 
landowner if necessary to impede 
the formation of erosion gullies 
which allow concentrated flow to 
bypass treatment in the riparian 
area. 

(6) Periodic maintenance of modified natural 
streams such as canals is allowed provided 
that disturbance is minimized and the 
structure and function of the riparian area is 
not compromised.  A grassed travelway is 
allowed on one side of the waterbody when 
alternative forms of maintenance access are 
not practical.  The width and specifications 
of the travelway shall be only that needed 
for equipment access and operation.  The 
travelway shall be located to maximize 
stream shading. 

(7) Where the standards and management 
requirements for riparian areas are in 
conflict with other laws, regulations, and 
permits regarding streams, steep slopes, 
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erodible soils, wetlands, floodplains, forest 
harvesting, surface mining, land disturbance 
activities, or other environmental protection 
areas, the more protective shall apply. 

(8) The existing water supply requirement in 
Rule 2B .0216(3)(b) of this Section that 
stipulates a 100 foot vegetated buffer, 
adjacent to perennial streams, for all new 
development activities which utilize the high 
density option, applies to the entire 
Randleman Lake watershed.  The first 50 
feet of these riparian areas on either side of 
these waters must also be protected in 
accordance with all the requirements of this 
Rule. 

Protection of the pollutant removal and other water quality 
services provided by riparian buffers throughout the watershed 
is an important element of the overall Randleman water supply 
pollutant strategy. The following is the management strategy 
for maintaining and protecting riparian areas in the Randleman 
Lake watershed: 

(1) PURPOSE.  The purposes of this Rule shall 
be for the local governments listed in 15A 
NCAC 02B .0250, and in certain cases 
stated in this Rule the Division, to protect 
and preserve existing riparian buffers 
throughout the Randleman Lake watershed 
as generally described in 15A NCAC 02B 
.0250, in order to maintain their nutrient 
removal and stream protection functions. 
Additionally this Rule will help protect the 
water supply uses of Randleman Lake and 
of designated water supplies throughout the 
Randleman Lake water supply watershed.  
Local programs shall be established to meet 
or exceed the minimum requirements of this 
Rule.  However, the Division shall assume 
responsibility for applying the requirements 
of this Rule to buffer activities by state and 
federal entities.  The requirements of this 
Rule shall supersede all buffer requirements 
stated in 15A NCAC 02B .0214 through 
.0216 as applied to WS-II, WS-III, and WS-
IV waters in the Randleman Lake 
watershed.  Parties subject to this Rule may 
choose to implement more stringent rules, 
including the one-hundred foot buffer 
requirement set out in Sub-item (3)(b)(i) of 
15A NCAC 02B .0214 through .0216 for 
high-density developments. 

(2) DEFINITIONS.  For the purpose of this 
Rule, these terms shall be defined as 
follows: 
(a) 'Access Trails' means pedestrian 

trails constructed of pervious or 
impervious surfaces, and related 
structures to access a surface water 
including (but not limited to) 
boardwalks, steps, rails, signage. 

(b) 'Archaeological Activities' means 
activities conducted by a 
Registered Professional 
Archaeologist (RPA). 

(c) 'Airport Facilities' means all 
properties, facilities, buildings, 
structures, and activities that satisfy 
or otherwise fall within the scope 
of one or more of the definition or 
uses of the words or phrases 'air 
navigation facility', 'airport', or 
'airport protection privileges' under 
G.S. 63-1; the definition of 
'aeronautical facilities' in G.S. 63-
79(1); the phrase 'airport facilities' 
as used in G.S. 159-48(b)(1); the 
phrase 'aeronautical facilities' as 
defined in G.S. 159-81 and G.S. 
159-97; and the phrase 'airport 
facilities and improvements' as 
used in Article V, Section 13, of 
the North Carolina Constitution, 
which shall include, without 
limitation, any and all of the 
following: airports, airport 
maintenance facilities, clear zones, 
drainage ditches, fields, hangars, 
landing lighting, airport and 
airport-related offices, parking 
facilities, related navigational and 
signal systems, runways, 
stormwater outfalls, terminals, 
terminal shops, and all appurtenant 
areas used or suitable for airport 
buildings or other airport facilities, 
and all appurtenant rights-of-way; 
restricted landing areas; any 
structures, mechanisms, lights, 
beacons, marks, communicating 
systems, or other instrumentalities 
or devices used or useful as an aid, 
or constituting an advantage or 
convenience to the safe taking off, 
navigation, and landing of aircraft, 
or the safe and efficient operation 
or maintenance of an airport or 
restricted landing area; easements 
through, or interests in, air space 
over land or water, interests in 
airport hazards outside the 
boundaries of airports or restricted 
landing areas, and other protection 
privileges, the acquisition or 
control of which is necessary to 
ensure safe approaches to the 
landing areas of airports and 
restricted landing areas, and the 
safe and efficient operation of 
thereof and any combination of any 
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or all of such facilities.  
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the 
following shall not be included in 
the definition of 'airport facilities': 
(i) Satellite parking facilities; 
(ii) Retail and commercial 

development outside of 
the terminal area, such as 
rental car facilities; and 

(iii) Other secondary 
development, such as 
hotels, industrial facilities, 
free-standing offices and 
other similar buildings, so 
long as these facilities are 
not directly associated 
with the operation of the 
airport, and are not 
operated by a unit of 
government or special 
governmental entity such 
as an airport authority. 

(d) 'Channel' means a natural water-
carrying trough cut vertically into 
low areas of the land surface by 
erosive action of concentrated 
flowing water or a ditch or canal 
excavated for the flow of water. 
(Current definition in Forest 
Practice Guidelines Related to 
Water Quality, 15A NCAC 
01I.0102) 

(e) 'DBH' means diameter at breast 
height of a tree measured at 4.5 feet 
above ground surface level. 

(f) Ditch means a man-made, open 
drainage way in or into which 
excess surface water or 
groundwater from land, stormwater 
runoff, or floodwaters flow either 
continuously or intermittently 
drain. 

(g) 'Ephemeral stream' means a feature 
that carries only stormwater in 
direct response to precipitation with 
water flowing only during and 
shortly after large precipitation 
events.  An ephemeral stream may 
or may not have a well-defined 
channel, the aquatic bed is always 
above the water table, and 
stormwater runoff is the primary 
source of water.  An ephemeral 
stream typically lacks the 
biological, hydrological, and 
physical characteristics commonly 
associated with the continuous or 
intermittent conveyance of water. 

(h) 'Forest plantation' means an area of 
planted trees that may be conifers 
(pines) or hardwoods.  On a 
plantation, the intended crop trees 
are planted rather than naturally 
regenerated from seed on the site, 
coppice (sprouting), or seed that is 
blown or carried into the site. 

(i) 'Greenway/Hiking Trails' means 
pedestrian trails constructed of 
pervious and impervious surfaces 
and related structures including but 
not limited to boardwalks, steps, 
rails, and signage, and that 
generally run parallel to the surface 
water. 

(j) 'High Value Tree' means a tree that 
meets or exceeds the following 
standards: for pine species, 14 inch 
DBH or greater or 18 inch or 
greater stump diameter; and, for 
hardwoods and wetland species, 16 
inch DBH or greater or 24 inch or 
greater stump diameter. 

(k) 'Intermittent stream' means a well-
defined channel that contains a 
continuous flow of water for only 
part of the year, typically during 
winter and spring when the aquatic 
bed is below the water table.  The 
flow may be heavily supplemented 
by stormwater runoff.  An 
intermittent stream often lacks the 
biological and hydrological 
characteristics commonly 
associated with the continuous 
conveyance of water. 

(l) 'Modified natural stream' means an 
on-site channelization or relocation 
of a stream channel and subsequent 
relocation of the intermittent or 
perennial flow as evidenced by 
topographic alterations in the 
immediate watershed.  A modified 
natural stream must have the 
typical biological, hydrological, 
and physical characteristics 
commonly associated with the 
continuous conveyance of water. 

(m) 'Perennial stream' means a well-
defined channel that contains water 
year round during a year of normal 
rainfall with the aquatic bed located 
below the water table for most of 
the year.  Groundwater is the 
primary source of water for a 
perennial stream, but it also carries 
stormwater runoff.  A perennial 
stream exhibits the typical 
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biological, hydrological, and 
physical characteristics commonly 
associated with the continuous 
conveyance of water. 

(n) 'Perennial waterbody' means a 
natural or man-made watershed that 
stores surface water permanently at 
depths sufficient to preclude 
growth of rooted plants, including 
lakes, ponds, sounds, non-stream 
estuaries and ocean. For the 
purpose of the State’s riparian 
buffer protection program, the 
waterbody must be part of a natural 
drainage way (i.e., connected by 
surface flow to a stream). 

(o) 'Shoreline stabilization' is the in-
place stabilization of an eroding 
shoreline.  Stabilization techniques 
which include "soft" methods or 
natural materials (such as root 
wads, or rock vanes) may be 
considered as part of a restoration 
design.  However, stabilization 
techniques that consist primarily of 
"hard" engineering, such as 
concrete lined channels, rip rap, or 
gabions, while providing bank 
stabilization, shall not be 
considered stream restoration. 

(p) 'Stream restoration' is defined as 
the process of converting an 
unstable, altered or degraded 
stream corridor, including adjacent 
riparian zone and flood-prone areas 
to its natural or referenced, stable 
conditions considering recent and 
future watershed conditions.  This 
process also includes restoring the 
geomorphic dimension, pattern, 
and profile as well as biological 
and chemical integrity, including 
transport of water and sediment 
produced by the stream's watershed 
in order to achieve dynamic 
equilibrium.  'Referenced' or 
'referenced reach' means a stable 
stream that is in dynamic 
equilibrium with its valley and 
contributing watershed.  A 
reference reach can be used to 
develop natural channel design 
criteria for stream restoration 
projects.  'Stream' means a body of 
concentrated flowing water in a 
natural low area or natural channel 
on the land surface. 

(q) 'Stump diameter' means the 
diameter of a tree measured at six 

inches above the ground surface 
level. 

(r) 'Surface waters' means all waters of 
the state as defined in G.S. 143-212 
except underground waters and 
wetlands. 

(s) 'Temporary road' means a road 
constructed temporarily for 
equipment access to build or 
replace hydraulic conveyance 
structures such as bridges, culverts, 
or pipes or water dependent 
structures, or to maintain public 
traffic during construction and is 
restored upon completion of 
construction. 

(t) 'Tree' means a woody plant with a 
DBH equal to or exceeding five 
inches or a stump diameter 
exceeding six inches. 

(3) APPLICABILITY.  This Rule shall apply to 
all local governments with jurisdictions in 
the Randleman Lake watershed. Local 
governments shall apply the requirements of 
this Rule throughout their jurisdictions 
within the Randleman Lake watershed with 
the exception of activities on lands in state 
and federal ownership.  In those areas in the 
Randleman Lake watershed, the Division 
shall apply the requirements of this Rule 
wherever local governments are referenced 
unless otherwise indicated. 

(4) REQUIREMENTS.  All local governments 
subject to this Rule shall develop riparian 
buffer protection programs and ordinances 
for approval by the Commission, 
incorporating the minimum standards 
contained in Rule.  This Rule shall apply to 
50 foot wide riparian buffers directly 
adjacent to surface waters in the Randleman 
watershed (intermittent and perennial 
streams, lakes, reservoirs, and ponds) 
excluding wetlands.  Wetlands adjacent to 
surface waters or within 50 feet of surface 
waters, shall be considered as part of the 
riparian buffer but are regulated pursuant to 
15A NCAC 02H. 0506. 
(a) Surface waters shall be subject to 

this Rule if the feature is 
approximately shown on any of the 
following references, and shall not 
be subject if it does not appear on 
any of these references; 
(i) The most recent version of 

the United States 
Geological Survey 
1:24,000 scale (7.5 minute 
quadrangle) topographic 
maps; 
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(ii) The most recent version of 
the hardcopy soil survey 
maps developed by 
USDA-Natural Resource 
Conservation Service; or 

(iii) Other Environmental 
Management Commission 
(EMC) approved stream 
maps Once approved by 
the EMC, the stream maps 
will be made available to 
the public and will replace 
the requirement of using 
the United States 
Geological Survey 
1:24,000 scale (7.5 minute 
quadrangle) topographic 
maps and the hardcopy 
soil survey maps 
developed by USDA-
Natural Resource 
Conservation Service 
maps. 

(b) Where the specific origination 
point of an intermittent or perennial 
stream is in question, parties 
subject to this Rule shall use the 
latest version of the Division 
publication, Identification Methods 
for the Origins of Intermittent and 
Perennial Streams, available at: 
http://h2o.enr.state.nc.us/ncwetland
s/documents/NC_Stream_ID_Manu
al.pdf, to establish that point; 

(c) Local governments may, if they 
choose to do so, develop detailed 
stream network maps for the 
watershed based on these USGS 
and USDA-NRCS maps or criteria, 
approved by the Director, showing 
the presence or absence of a 
stream. These maps shall be 
submitted to the Director for 
approval by any local government 
wishing to use this method of 
implementation of riparian area 
protection. After these detailed 
stream network maps are approved 
by the Director, riparian areas shall 
be protected and maintained in 
accordance with this Rule on all 
sides of surface waters in the 
Randleman Lake watershed as 
delineated on these approved 
stream network maps; 

(d) Personnel from delegated local 
governments that are assigned to 
perform stream determinations, 
shall successfully complete the 

Division's Surface Water 
Identification Training and 
Certification Class within three 
years of the effective revision date 
of this Rule; 

(e) All local governments that have 
land use authority within the 
proposed Randleman Lake water 
supply watershed shall adopt and 
enforce this Rule through local 
water supply and other local 
ordinances. Ordinances shall 
require that all riparian protection 
areas are recorded on new or 
modified plats. No new clearing, 
grading, or development shall take 
place and no new building permits 
shall be issued in violation of this 
Rule; and 

(f) Parties subject to this Rule shall 
abide by all State rules and laws 
regarding waters of the state 
including 15A NCAC 02H .0500, 
15A NCAC 02H .1300, and 
Sections 401 and 404 of the Federal 
Clean Water Act. 

(5) EXEMPTION TO WHEN AN ON-SITE 
DETERMINATION SHOWS THAT 
SURFACE WATERS ARE NOT 
PRESENT.  When a landowner or other 
affected party believes that the maps have 
inaccurately depicted surface waters, he or 
she shall consult the delegated local 
authority.  Upon request, the delegated local 
authority shall make onsite determinations.  
Local governments may also accept the 
results of site assessments made by other 
parties who have successfully completed the 
Division's Surface Water Identification 
Training Certification course and are 
sanctioned by the Division to make such 
determinations. Any disputes over on-site 
determinations shall be referred to the local 
Board of Adjustment or other local appeals 
process in writing.  For projects proposed 
for state and federal lands, any disputes shall 
be referred to the Director in writing.  A 
determination of the Director as to the 
accuracy or application of the maps is 
subject to review as provided in Articles 3 
and 4 of G.S. 150B.  Surface waters that 
appear on the maps shall not be subject to 
this Rule if an on-site determination shows 
that they fall into one of the following 
categories: 
(a) Ditches and manmade 

conveyances, to include manmade 
stormwater conveyances, other than 
modified natural streams, which 
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under normal conditions do not 
receive drainage from any tributary 
ditches, canals, or streams, unless 
the ditch or manmade conveyance 
delivers runoff directly to waters 
classified in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 02B .0100; 

(b) Areas mapped as intermittent 
streams, perennial streams, lakes, 
ponds, or estuaries on the most 
recent versions of United States 
Geological Survey 1:24,000 scale 
(7.5 minute quadrangle) 
topographic maps, hard-copy soil 
survey maps or other EMC 
approved stream maps where no 
perennial waterbody, intermittent 
waterbody, lake, pond or estuary 
actually exists on the ground;  

(c) Ephemeral streams; and  
(d) Ponds and lakes created for animal 

watering, irrigation, or other 
agricultural uses that are not part of 
a natural drainage way that is 
classified in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 02B .0100.  Ponds are part 
of a natural drainage way when 
they are hydrologically connected 
(i.e. the pond is fed by an 
intermittent or perennial stream) or 
when they have a direct discharge 
point to an intermittent or perennial 
stream. 

(6) EXEMPTION TO REQUIREMENTS 
WHEN EXISTING USES ARE PRESENT 
AND ONGOING.  This Rule shall not apply 
to portions of the riparian buffer where a use 
is existing and ongoing according to the 
following: 
(a) A use shall be considered existing 

and ongoing if it was present within 
the riparian buffer as of the 
effective date of the local ordinance 
or local ordinances enforcing this 
Rule and has continued to exist 
since that time.  For state and 
federal entities, a use shall be 
considered existing and ongoing if 
it was present within the riparian 
buffer as of the effective date of 
this Rule and has continued to exist 
since that time.  Existing uses shall 
include, but not limited to, 
agriculture, buildings, industrial 
facilities, commercial areas, 
transportation facilities, maintained 
lawns, utility lines and on-site 
sanitary sewage systems any of 
which involve either specific, 

periodic management of vegetation 
or displacement of vegetation by 
structures or regular activity.  Only 
the portion of the riparian buffer 
that contains the footprint of the 
existing use is exempt from this 
Rule.  Change of ownership 
through purchase or inheritance is 
not a change of use.  Activities 
necessary to maintain uses are 
allowed provided that the site 
remains similarly vegetated, no 
impervious surface is added within 
50 feet of the surface water where 
it did not previously exist as of the 
effective date of the local ordinance 
or local ordinances enforcing this 
Rule, and existing diffuse flow is 
maintained.  Grading and 
revegetating Zone 2 is allowed 
provided that the health of the 
vegetation in Zone 1 is not 
compromised, the ground is 
stabilized and existing diffuse flow 
is maintained. 

(b) A use shall be considered existing 
if projects or proposed 
development are determined by the 
local government, or the Director 
for the cases involving state or 
federal entities, to meet at least one 
of the following criteria:  
(i) Project requires a 401 

Certification/404 permit 
and these were issued 
prior to the effective date 
of the local ordinance or 
local ordinances enforcing 
this Rule, and prior to the 
effective date of this Rule 
for state and federal 
entities; 

(ii) Projects that require a 
state permit, such as 
landfills, NPDES 
wastewater discharges, 
land application of 
residuals and road 
construction activities, 
have begun construction 
or are under contract to 
begin construction and 
had received all required 
state permits and 
certifications prior to the 
effective date of the local 
ordinance or ordinances of 
this Rule, and prior to the 
effective date of this Rule 
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for state and federal 
entities.  

(c) This Rule shall apply at the time an 
existing use is changed to another 
use. Change of use shall include, 
but not limited to the initiation of 
any activity not defined as existing 
and ongoing in either Sub-Item 
(6)(a) or (6)(b) of this Rule. 

(7) ZONES OF THE RIPARIAN BUFFER.  
The protected riparian buffer shall have two 
zones as follows: 
(a) Zone 1 shall consist of a vegetated 

area that is undisturbed except for 
uses provided for in Item (9) of this 
Rule. The location of Zone 1 shall 
be as follows: 
(i) For intermittent and 

perennial streams, Zone 1 
shall begin at the most 
landward limit of the top 
of the bank or the rooted 
herbaceous vegetation and 
extend landward a 
distance of 30 feet on all 
sides of the surface water, 
measured horizontally on 
a line perpendicular to a 
vertical line marking the 
edge of the top of the 
bank. 

(ii) For ponds, lakes and 
reservoirs located within a 
natural drainage way, 
Zone 1 shall begin at the 
most landward limit of the 
normal water level or the 
rooted herbaceous 
vegetation and extend 
landward a distance of 30 
feet, measured 
horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to a vertical 
line marking the edge of 
the surface water or rooted 
herbaceous vegetation. 

(b) Zone 2 shall consist of a stable, 
vegetated area that is undisturbed 

except for uses provided for in Item 
(9) of this Rule.  Grading and 
revegetating Zone 2 is allowed 
provided that the health of the 
vegetation in Zone 1 is not 
compromised.  Zone 2 shall begin 
at the outer edge of Zone 1 and 
extend landward 20 feet as 
measured horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to the surface water.  
The combined width of Zones 1 
and 2 shall be 50 feet on all sides of 
the surface water. 

(8) DIFFUSE FLOW REQUIREMENT.  
Diffuse flow of runoff shall be maintained in 
the riparian buffer by dispersing 
concentrated flow and reestablishing 
vegetation. 
(a) Concentrated runoff from new 

ditches or manmade conveyances 
shall be converted to diffuse flow at 
non-erosive velocities before the 
runoff enters Zone 2 of the riparian 
buffer. 

(b) Periodic corrective action to restore 
diffuse flow shall be taken if 
necessary to impede the formation 
of erosion gullies. 

(c) Corrective action to restore diffuse 
flow shall be taken if necessary to 
impede the formation of erosional 
gullies. No new stormwater 
conveyances are allowed through 
the buffers except for stormwater 
management ponds provided for in 
Item (9) of this Rule. 

(9) TABLE OF USES.  The following chart sets 
out the uses and their designation under this 
Rule as exempt, allowable, or allowable 
with mitigation.  All uses not designated as 
exempt, allowable, or allowable with 
mitigation are considered prohibited and 
may not proceed within the riparian buffer 
unless a variance is granted pursuant to Item 
(12) of this Rule. The requirements for each 
category are given in Items (10) of this Rule.
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Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Access trails:  Pedestrian access trails leading to the 
surface water, docks, fishing piers, boat ramps and 
other water dependent activities: 
•Pedestrian access trails that are restricted to the 
minimum width practicable and do not exceed 4 feet in 
width of buffer disturbance, and provided that 
installation and use does not result in removal of trees 
as defined in this Rule and no impervious surface is 
added to the riparian buffer 
•Pedestrian access trails that exceed 4 feet in width of 
buffer disturbance, the installation or use results in 
removal of trees as defined in this Rule or impervious 
surface is added to the riparian buffer 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Airport facilities: 
•Airport facilities that impact equal to or less than 150 
linear feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 
•Airport facilities that impact greater than 150 linear 
feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 
•Activities necessary to comply with FAA 
requirements (e.g. radar uses or landing strips)1 

  
X 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 

X 

Archaeological activities: 
•In Zones 1 and 2 and are designed, constructed and 
maintained to provide the maximum sediment removal 
and erosion protection, to have the least adverse effects 
on aquatic life and habitat, and to protect water quality 
to the maximum extent practical. 

 
 

X 

  

Bridges   X  
Canoe access provided that installation and use does 
not result in removal of trees as defined in the Rule and 
no impervious surface is added to the buffer. 

 
X 

  

Dam maintenance activities: 
•Dam maintenance activities that do not cause 
additional buffer disturbance beyond the footprint of 
the existing dam or those covered under a U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers Nationwide Permit  
•Dam maintenance activities that do cause additional 
buffer disturbance beyond the footprint of the existing 
dam or those not covered under a U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers Nationwide Permit  

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Drainage ditches, roadside ditches and stormwater 
outfalls through riparian buffers: 
•Existing drainage ditches, roadside ditches, and 
stormwater outfalls provided that they are managed to 
minimize the sediment, nutrients and other pollution 
that convey to waterbodies 
•New drainage ditches, roadside ditches and 
stormwater outfalls provided that a stormwater 
management facility is installed to control nitrogen and 
attenuate flow before the conveyance discharges 
through the riparian buffer 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Drainage of a pond in a natural drainage way provided 
that a new riparian buffer that meets the requirements 
of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule is established adjacent 
to the new channel. 

X   
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Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Driveway crossings of streams and other surface 
waters subject to this Rule:  
•Driveway crossings on single family residential lots 
that disturb equal to or less than 40 linear feet or 2,500 
square feet of riparian buffer 
•Driveway crossings on single family residential lots 
that disturb greater than 40 linear feet or 2,500 square 
feet of riparian buffer 
•In a subdivision that cumulatively disturb equal to or 
less than 150 linear feet or one-third of an acre of 
riparian buffer 
•In a subdivision that cumulatively disturb greater than 
150 linear feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
Driveway impacts other than crossing of a stream or 
other surface waters subject to this Rule  

   
X 

Fences: 
•Fences provided that disturbance is minimized and 
installation does not result in removal of trees as 
defined in this Rule 
•Fences provided that disturbance is minimized and 
installation results in removal of trees as defined in this 
Rule 

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Forest harvesting - see Item (14) of this Rule    
Fertilizer Application:  
One-time fertilizer application to establish vegetation 

 
X 

  

Grading and revegetation in Zone 2 provided that 
diffuse flow and the health of existing vegetation in 
Zone 1 is not compromised and disturbed areas are 
revegetated with native vegetation 

 
X 

  

Greenway / hiking trails: 
Designed, constructed and maintained to provide the 
maximum nutrient removal and erosion protection, to 
have the least adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat, and to protect water quality to the maximum 
extent practical. 

  
 
 

X 
 
 

 

Historic preservation: 
Designed, constructed and maintained to provide the 
maximum nutrient removal and erosion protection, to 
have the least adverse effects on aquatic life and 
habitat, and to protect water quality to the maximum 
extent practical 

 
 

X 

  

Maintenance access of modified natural streams: a 
grassed travel way on one side of the water body when 
less impacting alternatives are not practical.  The width 
and specifications of the travel way shall be only that 
needed for equipment access and operation.  The travel 
way shall be located to maximize stream shading. 

  
X 
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Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Mining activities: 
•Mining activities that are covered by the Mining Act 
provided that new riparian buffers that meet the 
requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule are 
established adjacent to the relocated channels 
•Mining activities that are not covered by the Mining 
Act OR where new riparian buffers that meet the 
requirements or Items (7) and (8) of this Rule are not 
established adjacent to the relocated channels 
•Wastewater or mining dewatering wells with 
approved NPDES permit 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
X 

 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

Non-electric utility lines: 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 2 
only4, 5 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 1 
only4, 5 

  
X 

 
 
 

X 

Non-electric utility line perpendicular crossings of 
streams and other surface waters subject to this Rule4, 

5:  
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 
than 40 linear feet of riparian buffer with a 
maintenance corridor equal to or less than 10 feet in 
width 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 
than 40 linear feet of riparian buffer with a 
maintenance corridor greater than 10 feet in width 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet of 
riparian buffer with a maintenance corridor equal to or 
less than 10 feet in width 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet of 
riparian buffer with a maintenance corridor greater 
than 10 feet in width 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 150 
linear feet of riparian buffer 

 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 
Overhead electric utility lines: 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 2 
only4, 5 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 1 
2,3,4, 5 

  
X 
 

 
 
 

X 

Overhead electric utility line perpendicular crossings 
of streams and other surface waters subject to this Rule 
2, 3,4, 5: 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb equal to or less 
than 150 linear feet of riparian buffer  
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 150 
linear feet of riparian buffer 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

541 

 
Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Playground equipment: 
•Playground equipment on single family lots provided 
that installation and use does not result in removal of 
vegetation  
•Playground equipment installed on lands other than 
single-family lots or that requires removal of 
vegetation 

 
X 

 
 
 
 

X 
 

 

Ponds in natural drainage ways, excluding dry ponds: 
•New ponds provided that a riparian buffer that meets 
the requirements of Items (7) & (8) of this Rule is 
established adjacent to the pond 
•New ponds where a riparian buffer that meets the 
requirements of Items (7) & (8) of this Rule is NOT 
established adjacent to the pond 

  
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

Protection of existing structures, facilities and stream 
banks when this requires additional disturbance of the 
riparian buffer or the stream channel 

 X  

Railroad impacts other than crossings of streams and 
other surface waters subject to this Rule. 

  X 

Railroad crossings of streams and other surface waters 
subject to this Rule: 
•Railroad crossings that impact equal to or less than 40 
linear feet of riparian buffer 
•Railroad crossings that impact greater than 40 linear 
feet but equal to or less than 150 linear feet or one-
third of an acre of riparian buffer 
•Railroad crossings that impact greater than 150 linear 
feet or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer  

 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
Recreational and accessory structures: 
•Total footprint of gazebos and sheds in Zone 2, 
provided they are not prohibited under local water 
supply ordinance less than or equal to 150 square feet 
per lot  
•Total footprint gazebos and sheds in Zone 2, provided 
they are not prohibited under local water supply 
ordinance of more than 150 square feet per lot 
•Wooden-slatted decks (and associated steps) that are 
at least 8 feet in height and vegetation is not removed 
from Zone 1 for the installation and that it meets the 
requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule  
•Wooden-slatted decks (and associated steps) that are 
not at least 8 feet in height and/or vegetation is 
removed from Zone 1 for the installation and that it 
meets the requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this 
Rule  

  
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

Removal of previous fill or debris provided that diffuse 
flow is maintained and vegetation is restored 

X   



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

542 

 
Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Road crossings of streams and other surface waters 
subject to this Rule: 
•Road crossings that impact equal to or less than 40 
linear feet of riparian buffer 
•Road crossings that impact greater than 40 linear feet 
but equal to or less than 150 linear feet or one-third of 
an acre of riparian buffer 
•Road crossings that impact greater than 150 linear feet 
or one-third of an acre of riparian buffer 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
Road impacts other than crossings of streams and other 
surface waters subject to this Rule 

  X 

Road relocation of existing private access roads 
associated with public road projects where necessary 
for public safety: 
•Less than or equal to 2,500 square feet of buffer 
impact 
•Greater than 2,500 square feet of buffer impact 

  
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
Stormwater BMPs:  
•Wet detention, bioretention, and constructed wetlands 
in Zone 2 if diffuse flow of discharge is provided into 
Zone 1 
•Wet detention, bioretention, and constructed wetlands 
in Zone 1 

  
X 
 
 

 
 
 
 

X 

Scientific studies and stream gauging: 
•In Zones 1 and 2 if they are designed, constructed and 
maintained to provide the maximum nutrient removal 
and erosion protection, to have the least adverse effects 
on aquatic life and habitat, and to protect water quality 
to the maximum extent practical. 

 
 

X 

  

Streambank or shoreline stabilization  X  
Temporary roads provided that the area is to be 
restored to pre-construction conditions immediately 
after construction is complete and replanted 
immediately with trees if trees existed at the site prior 
to construction.  At the end of five years the restored 
buffer shall consist (at a minimum) of two different 
hardwood species at a density 320 trees per acre, 
unless otherwise approved by the DWQ.  If plantings 
of trees can not be done immediately upon completion 
of construction, the buffer shall be stabilized with grass 
and the plantings of trees shall occur during the 
growing season.  A one time application of fertilizer 
may be utilized to establish vegetation of restored 
areas: 
•Temporary roads that disturb less than 2,500 square 
feet. 
•Temporary roads that disturb greater than 2,500 
square feet  
•Temporary roads for culvert installation, bridge 
construction or replacement 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 

X 
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Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Temporary sediment and erosion control devices 
provided that temporary impact sites are restored to 
pre-construction conditions (including topography and 
vegetation).  Restoration of previously wooded areas 
shall be conducted as soon as practicable and not later 
than sixteen (16) months after construction and shall 
include planting of trees and so that at the end of five 
years shall consist (at a minimum) of two different 
hardwood species at a total density of 320 trees per 
acre unless otherwise approved by the DWQ: 
•In Zone 2 only provided ground cover is re-
established within the timeframe required by the 
Sedimentation and Erosion Control Act and that the 
vegetation in Zone 1 is not compromised and that 
discharge is released as diffuse flow in accordance 
with Item (8) of this Rule 
•In Zones 1 and 2 to control impacts associated with 
uses approved by the local government or that have 
received a variance provided that sediment and erosion 
control for upland areas is addressed to the maximum 
extent practical outside the buffer 
•In-stream temporary erosion and sediment control 
measures for authorized work within a stream channel 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Underground electric utility lines: 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 2 
only2 
•Impacts other than perpendicular crossings in Zone 
11,4 

 
X 
 
 

X 

  

Underground electric utility line perpendicular 
crossings of streams and other surface waters subject 
to this Rule: 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb less than or equal 
to 40 linear feet of riparian buffer3, 4, 5 
•Perpendicular crossings that disturb greater than 40 
linear feet of riparian buffer3, 4, 5 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
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Use 

 
Exempt 

Potentially 
Allowable 

Potentially 
Allowable 

with 
Mitigation 

Vegetation management: 
•Emergency fire control measures provided that 
topography is restored 
•Periodic mowing and harvesting of plant products in 
Zone 2 only 
•Planting vegetation to enhance the riparian buffer 
•Pruning forest vegetation provided that the health and 
function of the forest vegetation is not compromised 
•Removal of individual trees which are in danger of 
causing damage to dwellings, other structures or 
human life 
•Removal of individual trees that are dead, diseased or 
damaged. 
•Removal of poison ivy 
•Removal of understory nuisance vegetation as defined 
in: 
Smith, Cherri L. 1998. Exotic Plant Guidelines. Dept. 
of Environment and Natural Resources. Division of 
Parks and Recreation. Raleigh, NC. Guideline #30 

 
X 
 

X 
 

X 
X 
 
 

X 
 

X 
 

X 
X 

  

Vehicle access to water dependent structures 
•Vehicular access roads leading to surface waters for 
the purpose of accessing water dependent activities as 
defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0202, that are restricted to 
the minimum width practicable not exceed eight feet in 
width 

  
 

X 

 

•Water dependent structures as defined in 15A NCAC 
02B .0202  

  
X 

 

Water supply reservoirs: 
•New reservoirs provided that a riparian buffer that 
meets the requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this 
Rule is established adjacent to the reservoir 
•New reservoirs where a riparian buffer that meets the 
requirements of Items (7) and (8) of this Rule is NOT 
established adjacent to the reservoir 

  
X 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

Water wells 
•Single family water wells 
•All water wells other than single family water wells 

 
X 

 
 

X 

 

Wetland stream and buffer restoration 
•Wetland, stream and buffer restoration that requires 
DWQ approval for the use of a 401 Water Quality 
Certification 
•Wetland, stream and buffer restoration that does NOT 
require DWQ approval for the use of a 401 Water 
Quality Certification 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Wildlife passage  X  
 
1  Provided that: 

•Heavy equipment is not used in Zone 1 
•Vegetation is not compromised in the portions of Zone 1 and Zone 2 that are not impacted 
•Trees that are cut down are removed by chain 
•No permanent felling of trees occurs in the protected buffers or in the streams 
•Stump removal is only preformed by grinding 
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•At the completion of the project the disturbed area is stabilized with native vegetation 
•Zones 1 & 2 meet the requirements of (7) and (8) of this Rule. 

2  Provided that, in Zone 1, all of the following BMPs for overhead utility lines are used.  If all of these BMPs are not used, then the 
overhead utility lines shall require a no practical alternative evaluation by the local government, or the Director for the cases involving 
state or federal entities, as defined in Item (11) of this Rule 

•A minimum zone of 10 feet wide immediately adjacent to the water body shall be managed such that only vegetation that 
poses a hazard or has the potential to grow tall enough to interfere with the line is removed. 
•Woody vegetation shall be cleared by hand.  No land grubbing or grading is allowed. 
•Vegetative root systems shall be left intact to maintain the integrity of the soil.  Stumps shall remain where trees are cut. 
Riprap shall not be used unless it is necessary to stabilize a tower. 
•No fertilizer shall be used other than a one-time application to re-establish vegetation. 
•Construction activities shall minimize the removal of woody vegetation, the extent of the disturbed area, and the time in 
which areas remain in a disturbed state. 
•Active measures shall be taken after construction and during routine maintenance to ensure diffuse flow of stormwater 
through the buffer. 
•In wetlands, mats shall be utilized to minimize soil disturbance. 

3  Provided that poles or towers shall not be installed within 10 feet of a water body unless the local government, or the Director for 
the cases involving state or federal entities, completes a no practical alternative evaluation as defined in Item (11) of this Rule. 
4  Provided that, in Zone 1, all of the following BMPs for underground utility lines are used.  If all of these BMPs are not used, then 
the underground utility line shall require a no practical alternative evaluation by the local government, or the Director for the cases 
involving state or federal entities, as defined in Item (11) of this Rule. 

•Woody vegetation shall be cleared by hand.  No land grubbing or grading is allowed. 
•Vegetative root systems shall be left intact to maintain the integrity of the soil.  Stumps shall remain, except in the trench, 
where trees are cut. 
•Underground cables shall be installed by vibratory plow or trenching. 
•The trench shall be backfilled with the excavated soil material immediately following cable installation. 
•No fertilizer shall be used other than a one-time application to re-establish vegetation. 
•Construction activities shall minimize the removal of woody vegetation, the extent of the disturbed area, and the time in 
which areas remain in a disturbed state. 
•Active measures shall be taken after construction and during routine maintenance to ensure diffuse flow of stormwater 
through the buffer. 
•In wetlands, mats shall be utilized to minimize soil disturbance. 

5  Perpendicular crossings are those that intersect the surface water at an angle between 75 degrees and 105 degrees. 
(10) REQUIREMENTS FOR CATEGORIES OF 

USES.  Uses designated as exempt, 
allowable, and allowable with mitigation in 
Item (9) of this Rule shall have the 
following requirements: 
(a) EXEMPT.  Uses designated as 

exempt are allowed within the 
riparian buffer.  Exempt uses shall 
be designed, constructed and 
maintained to minimize soil 
disturbance and to provide the 
maximum water quality protection 
practicable, including construction, 
monitoring, and maintenance 
activities,.  In addition, exempt uses 
shall meet requirements listed in 
Item (9) of this Rule for the 
specific use. 

(b) POTENTIALLY ALLOWABLE.  
Uses designated as potentially 
allowable require a written buffer 
authorization from the local 

government, or the Director for the 
cases involving state or federal 
entities for impacts within the 
riparian buffer provided that there 
are no practical alternatives to the 
requested use pursuant to Item (11) 
of this Rule. 

(c) POTENTIALLY ALLOWABLE 
WITH MITIGATION.  Uses 
designated as potentially allowable 
with mitigation require written 
authorization from the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving state or federal 
entities for impacts within the 
riparian buffer provided that there 
are no practical alternatives to the 
requested use pursuant to Item (11) 
of this Rule and an appropriate 
mitigation strategy has been 
approved pursuant to Item (13) of 
this Rule. 
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(d) PROHIBITED.  Uses that are not 
designated in Item (9) of this Rule 
are considered prohibited in the 
riparian buffers. 

(11) DETERMINATION OF "NO PRACTICAL 
ALTERNATIVES." Persons who wish to 
undertake uses designated as allowable or 
allowable with mitigation shall submit a 
request for a "no practical alternatives" 
determination to the local government or the 
Director for the cases involving state or 
federal entities.  The applicant shall certify 
that the criteria identified in Sub-Item 
(11)(a) of this Rule are met.  The local 
government, or the Director for the cases 
involving state or federal entities, shall grant 
an Authorization Certificate upon a "no 
practical alternatives" determination.  The 
procedure for making an Authorization 
Certificate shall be as follows: 
(a) For any request for an 

Authorization Certificate, the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving state or federal 
entities, shall review the entire 
project and make a finding of fact 
as to whether the following 
requirements have been met in 
support of a "no practical 
alternatives" determination: 
(i) The basic project purpose 

cannot be practically 
accomplished in a manner 
that would better 
minimize disturbance, 
preserve aquatic life and 
habitat, and protect water 
quality; 

(ii) The use cannot practically 
be reduced in size or 
density, reconfigured or 
redesigned to better 
minimize disturbance, 
preserve aquatic life and 
habitat, and protect water 
quality; and 

(iii) Best management 
practices shall be used if 
necessary to minimize 
disturbance, preserve 
aquatic life and habitat, 
and protect water quality. 

(b) Requests for an Authorization 
Certificate shall be reviewed and 
either approved or denied within 60 
days of receipt of a complete 
submission based on the criteria in 
Sub-Item (11)(a) of this Rule and 
the local ordinance or ordinances 

enforcing this Rule by the local 
government, or the Director for the 
cases involving state or federal 
entities.  Failure to issue an 
approval or denial within 60 days 
shall constitute that the applicant 
has demonstrated "no practical 
alternatives."  An Authorization 
Certificate shall be issued to the 
applicant, unless: 
(i) The applicant agrees, in 

writing, to a longer period; 
and 

(ii) Applicant fails to furnish 
requested information 
necessary to the local 
government's decision or 
the Director's decision for 
the cases involving state 
or federal entities. 

(c) The local government, or the 
Director for the cases involving 
state or federal entities, may attach 
conditions to the Authorization 
Certificate that support the purpose, 
spirit and intent of the riparian 
buffer protection program. 
Complete submissions shall include 
the following: 
(i) The name, address and 

phone number of the 
applicant; 

(ii) The nature of the activity 
to be conducted by the 
applicant; 

(iii) The location of the 
activity, including the 
jurisdiction; 

(iv) A map of sufficient detail 
to accurately delineate the 
boundaries of the land to 
be utilized in carrying out 
the activity, the location 
and dimensions of any 
disturbance in riparian 
buffers associated with the 
activity, and the extent of 
riparian buffers on the 
land; 

(v) An explanation of why 
this plan for the activity 
cannot be practically 
accomplished, reduced or 
reconfigured to better 
minimize disturbance to 
the riparian buffer, 
preserve aquatic life and 
habitat and protect water 
quality; and 
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(vi) Plans for any best 
management practices 
proposed to be used to 
control the impacts 
associated with the 
activity. 

(d) Any disputes over determinations 
regarding Authorization 
Certificates shall be referred to the 
local government's appeals process 
for a decision, or to the Director for 
determinations involving lands of 
state and federal entities.  The 
Director's decision is subject to 
review as provided in G.S. 150B 
Articles 3 and 4. 

(12) VARIANCES.  Persons who wish to 
undertake prohibited uses may pursue a 
variance.  The local government may only 
grant minor variances.  For major variances, 
local governments shall prepare preliminary 
findings and submit them to the Commission 
for approval.  The variance request 
procedure shall be as follows: 
(a) There are practical difficulties or 

unnecessary hardships that prevent 
compliance with the riparian buffer 
protection requirements.  Practical 
difficulties or unnecessary 
hardships shall be evaluated in 
accordance with the following: 
(i) If the applicant complies 

with the provisions of this 
Rule, he/she can secure no 
reasonable return from, 
nor make reasonable use 
of, his/her property.  
Merely proving that the 
variance would permit a 
greater profit from the 
property shall not be 
considered adequate 
justification for a variance.  
Moreover, the local 
government, or the 
Director for the cases 
involving state or federal 
entities, shall consider 
whether the variance is the 
minimum possible 
deviation from the terms 
of this Rule that shall 
make reasonable use of 
the property possible. 

(ii) The hardship results from 
application of this Rule to 
the property rather than 
from other factors such as 

deed restrictions or other 
hardship. 

(iii) The hardship is due to the 
physical nature of the 
applicant's property, such 
as its size, shape, or 
topography, which is 
different from that of 
neighboring property. 

(iv) The applicant did not 
cause the hardship by 
knowingly or 
unknowingly violating this 
Rule. 

(v) The applicant did not 
purchase the property after 
the effective date of this 
Rule, and then request a 
variance. 

(vi) The hardship is unique to 
the applicant's property, 
rather than the result of 
conditions that are 
widespread.  If other 
properties are equally 
subject to the hardship 
created in the restriction, 
then granting a variance 
would be a special 
privilege denied to others, 
and would not promote 
equal justice. 

(b) The variance is in harmony with 
the general purpose and intent of 
the State's riparian buffer protection 
requirements and preserves its 
spirit; and 

(c) In granting the variance, the public 
safety and welfare have been 
assured, water quality has been 
protected, and substantial justice 
has been done. 

(13) MINOR VARIANCES.  A minor variance 
request pertains to activities that are 
proposed only to impact any portion of Zone 
2 of the riparian buffer.  Minor variance 
requests shall be reviewed and approved 
based on the criteria in Sub-Item (12)(a) of 
this Rule by the local government pursuant 
to G.S. 153A-Article 18, or G.S. 160A-
Article 19.  The local may attach conditions 
to the variance approval that support the 
purpose, spirit and intent of the riparian 
buffer protection program.  Request for 
appeals to decisions made by the local 
government shall be made through the local 
government's appeals process, or to the 
Director for determinations involving state 
and federal entities.  The Director's decision 
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is subject to review as provided in G.S. 
150B Articles 3 and 4. 

(14) MAJOR VARIANCES.  A major variance 
request pertains to activities that are 
proposed to impact any portion of Zone 1 or 
any portion of both Zones 1 and 2 of the 
riparian buffer.  If the local government, or 
the Director for the cases involving state or 
federal entities, has determined that a major 
variance request meets the requirements in 
Sub-Item (12)(a) of this Rule, then it shall 
prepare a preliminary finding and submit it 
to the Commission for approval.  Within 90 
days after receipt by the local government, 
or the Director for the cases involving state 
or federal entities, the Commission shall 
review preliminary findings on major 
variance requests.  The following actions 
shall be taken depending on the 
Commission's decision on the major 
variance request: 
(a) Upon the Commission's approval, 

the local government shall issue a 
final decision granting the major 
variance. The Director shall issue 
the final decision for the cases 
involving state or federal entities. 

(b) Upon the Commission's approval 
with conditions or stipulations, the 
local government shall issue a final 
decision, which includes these 
conditions or stipulations.  The 
Director shall issue a final decision 
for the cases involving state or 
federal entities. 

(c) Upon the Commission's denial, the 
local government shall issue a final 
decision denying the major 
variance. The Director shall issue a 
final decision for the cases 
involving state or federal entities. 

(15) MITIGATION.  Persons who wish to 
undertake uses designated as allowable with 
mitigation shall meet the following 
requirements in order to proceed with their 
proposed use. 
(a) Obtain a determination of "no 

practical alternatives" to the 
proposed use pursuant to Item (11) 
of this Rule; and 

(b) Obtain approval for a mitigation 
proposal pursuant to 15A NCAC 
02B .0252. 

(16) REQUIREMENTS SPECIFIC TO FOREST 
HARVESTING.  The following 
requirements shall apply for forest 
harvesting operations and practices: 
(a) The following measures shall apply 

in the entire riparian buffer: 

(i) Logging decks and 
sawmill sites shall not be 
placed in the riparian 
buffer. 

(ii) Access roads and skid 
trails shall be prohibited 
except for temporary and 
permanent stream 
crossings established in 
accordance with 15A 
NCAC 01I .0203.  
Temporary stream 
crossings shall be 
permanently stabilized 
after any site disturbing 
activity is completed. 

(iii) Timber felling shall be 
directed away from the 
stream or water body. 

(iv) Skidding shall be directed 
away from the stream or 
water body and shall be 
done in a manner to 
prevent the creation of 
ephemeral channels 
perpendicular to the water 
body. 

(v) Individual trees may be 
treated to maintain or 
improve their health, form 
or vigor. 

(vi) Harvesting of dead or 
infected trees or other 
timber cutting techniques 
necessary to prevent or 
control extensive tree pest 
and disease infestation 
shall be allowed.  These 
practices must be 
approved by the Division 
of Forest Resources for a 
specific site pursuant to 
the rule.  The Division of 
Forest Resources must 
notify the local 
government of all 
approvals. 

(vii) Removal of individual 
trees that are in danger of 
causing damage to 
structures or human life 
shall be allowed. 

(viii) Natural regeneration of 
forest vegetation and 
planting of trees, shrubs, 
or ground cover plants to 
enhance the riparian buffer 
shall be allowed provided 
that soil disturbance is 
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minimized. Plantings shall 
consist primarily of native 
species. 

(ix) High-intensity prescribed 
burns shall not be allowed. 

(x) Application of fertilizer 
shall not be allowed 
except as a one-time use 
that is necessary for 
permanent stabilization.  
Broadcast application of 
fertilizer or herbicides to 
the adjacent forest stand 
shall be conducted so that 
the chemicals are not 
applied directly to or 
allowed to drift into the 
riparian buffer. 

(b) In Zone 1, forest vegetation shall 
be protected and maintained.  
Selective harvest as provided for 
below is allowed on forest lands 
that have a deferment for use value 
under forestry in accordance with 
G.S. 105-277.2 through 277.6 or on 
forest lands that have a forest 
management plan prepared or 
approved by a registered 
professional forester.  Copies of 
either the approval of the deferment 
for use value under forestry or the 
forest management plan shall be 
produced upon request.  For such 
forest lands, selective harvest is 
allowed in accordance with the 
following: 
(i) Tracked or wheeled 

vehicles are not permitted 
except at stream crossings 
designed, constructed and 
maintained in accordance 
with 15A NCAC 01I 
.0203; 

(ii) Soil disturbing site 
preparation activities are 
not allowed; and 

(iii) Trees shall be removed 
with the minimum 
disturbance to the soil and 
residual vegetation. 

(c) The following provisions for 
selective harvesting shall be met 
every 100 feet on each side of the 
stream: 
(i) The first 10 feet of Zone 1 

directly adjacent to the 
stream or waterbody shall 
be undisturbed except for 
the removal of individual 

high value trees as defined 
provided that no trees with 
exposed primary roots 
visible in the streambank 
be cut. 

(ii) In the outer 20 feet of 
Zone 1, a maximum of 50 
percent of the trees greater 
than five inches DBH may 
be cut and removed.  The 
reentry time for harvest 
shall be no more frequent 
than every 15 years, 
except on forest 
plantations where the 
reentry time shall be no 
more frequent than every 
five years.  In either case, 
the trees remaining after 
harvest shall be as evenly 
spaced as possible. 

(iii) In Zone 2, harvesting and 
regeneration of the forest 
stand shall be allowed in 
accordance with 15A 
NCAC 01I .0100 through 
.0200 as enforced by the 
Division of Forest 
Resources. 

(17) RULE IMPLEMENTATION.  This Rule 
shall be implemented as follows: 
(a) For state and federal entities, the 

Division shall implement the 
requirements of this Rule as of its 
effective date. 

(b) Within six months of the effective 
revision date of this Rule, local 
governments shall review, revise as 
necessary, and submit a local 
program including all necessary 
ordinances to the Division for 
review.  The local program shall 
detail local government buffer 
program implementation including 
but not limited to such factors as a 
method for resolution of disputes 
involving Authorization Certificate 
or variance determinations, a plan 
for record keeping, and a plan for 
enforcement.  Local governments 
shall use the latest version of the 
Division's publication, 
Identification Methods for the 
Origins of Intermittent and 
Perennial Streams, available at 
http://h2o.enr.state.nc.us/ncwetland
s/regcert.html, to establish the 
existence of streams. 
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(c) Within six months of the Division 
approval of the revised local 
ordinance, the local government 
shall implement their revised buffer 
program. 

(d) Upon implementation, subject local 
governments shall submit annual 
reports to the Division 
summarizing their activities in 
implementing each of the 
requirements in Item (4) of this 
Rule. 

(e) The Division shall regularly audit 
local programs to ensure rule 
implementation. 

(f) If a local government fails to adopt 
or adequately implement its 
program as called for in this Rule, 
the Division may take appropriate 
enforcement action as authorized 
by statute, and may choose to 
assume responsibility for 
implementing that program until 
such time as it determines that the 
local government is prepared to 
comply with its responsibilities. 

(18) Where the standards and management 
requirements for riparian areas are in 
conflict with other laws, regulations, and 
permits regarding streams, steep slopes, 
erodible soils, wetlands, floodplains, forest 
harvesting, surface mining, land disturbance 
activities, or other environmental protection 
areas, the more protective shall apply. 

(19) The existing water supply requirement in 
Rule .0216(3)(b) of this Section that 
stipulates a 100 foot vegetated buffer, 
adjacent to perennial streams, for all new 
development activities which utilize the high 
density option, applies to the entire 
Randleman Lake watershed.  The first 50 
feet of these riparian areas on either side of 
these waters must also be protected in 
accordance with all the requirements of this 
Rule. 

(20) OTHER LAWS, REGULATIONS AND 
PERMITS.  In all cases, compliance with 
this Rule does not preclude the requirement 
to comply with all federal, state and local 
regulations and laws. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-215.3(a)(1). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0252 RANDLEMAN LAKE WATER  
SUPPLY WATERSHED:  MITIGATION PROGRAM  
FOR PROTECTION AND MAINTENANCE OF  
EXISTING RIPARIAN BUFFERS 
The following are the requirements for the Riparian Buffer 
Mitigation Program for the Randleman Lake Water Supply 
Watershed. 

(1) PURPOSE.  The purpose of this Rule is to 
set forth the mitigation requirements that 
apply to the Randleman Lake Water Supply 
Watershed existing riparian buffer 
protection program, as described in 15A 
NCAC 02B .0250. 

(2) APPLICABILITY.  This Rule applies to 
persons who wish to impact a riparian buffer 
in the Randleman Lake water supply 
watershed when one of the following 
applies: 
(a) A person has received an 

Authorization Certificate pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02B .0250 for a 
proposed use that is designated as 
"allowable with mitigation." 

(b) A person has received a variance 
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02B .0250 
and is required to perform 
mitigation as a condition of a 
variance approval. 

(3) THE AREA OF MITIGATION.  The 
required area of mitigation shall be 
determined by either the Division or the 
delegated local authority according to the 
following: 
(a) The impacts in square feet to each 

zone of the riparian buffer shall be 
determined by the Division or the 
delegated local authority by adding 
the following: 
(i) The area of the footprint 

of the use causing the 
impact to the riparian 
buffer. 

(ii) The area of the boundary 
of any clearing and 
grading activities within 
the riparian buffer 
necessary to accommodate 
the use. 

(iii) The area of any ongoing 
maintenance corridors 
within the riparian buffer 
associated with the use. 

(b) The required area of mitigation 
shall be determined by applying the 
following multipliers to the impacts 
determined in Sub-item (3)(a) of 
this Rule to each zone of the 
riparian buffer: 
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(i) Impacts to Zone 1 of the 
riparian buffer shall be 
multiplied by 3. 

(ii) Impacts to Zone 2 of the 
riparian buffer shall be 
multiplied by 1.5. 

(iii) Impacts to wetlands 
within Zones 1 and 2 of 
the riparian buffer that are 
subject to mitigation under 
15A NCAC 02H .0506 
shall comply with the 
mitigation ratios in 15A 
NCAC 02H .0506. 

(4) THE LOCATION OF MITIGATION.  The 
mitigation effort shall be the same distance 
from the Cape Fear River and Lake 
Randleman as the proposed impact, or closer 
to the Cape Fear River and Lake Randleman 
than the impact, and as close to the location 
of the impact as feasible. 

(5) ISSUANCE OF THE MITIGATION 
DETERMINATION.  The Division or the 
delegated local authority shall issue a 
mitigation determination that specifies the 
required area and location of mitigation 
pursuant to Items (3) and (4) of this Rule. 

(6) OPTIONS FOR MEETING THE 
MITIGATION DETERMINATION.  The 
mitigation determination made pursuant to 
Item (5) of this Rule may be met through 
one of the following options: 
(a) Payment of a compensatory 

mitigation fee to the Riparian 
Buffer Restoration Fund pursuant 
to Item (7) of this Rule. 

(b) Donation of real property or of an 
interest in real property pursuant to 
Item (8) of this Rule. 

(c) Restoration or enhancement of a 
non-forested riparian buffer.  This 
shall be accomplished by the 
applicant after submittal and 
approval of a restoration plan 
pursuant to Item (9) of this Rule. 

(7) PAYMENT TO THE RIPARIAN BUFFER 
RESTORATION FUND.  Persons who 
choose to satisfy their mitigation 
determination by paying a compensatory 
mitigation fee to the Riparian Buffer 
Restoration Fund shall meet the following 
requirements: 
(a) SCHEDULE OF FEES:  The 

amount of payment into the Fund 
shall be determined by multiplying 
the acres or square feet of 
mitigation determination made 
pursuant to Item (5) of this Rule by 
ninety-six cents ($ .96) per square 

foot or forty-one thousand, six 
hundred and twenty-five dollars 
($41,625) per acre. 

(b) The required fee shall be submitted 
to the Division of Water Quality, 
401 Wetlands Certification Unit, 
MAIL SERVICE CENTER 1650, 
RALEIGH, NC 27699-1650 prior 
to any activity that results in the 
removal or degradation of the 
protected riparian buffer for which 
a "no practical alternatives" 
determination has been made. 

(c) The payment of a compensatory 
mitigation fee may be fully or 
partially satisfied by donation of 
real property interests pursuant to 
Item (8) of this Rule. 

(d) The Division shall review the fee 
outlined in Sub-item (7)(a) of this 
Rule every two years and compare 
it to the actual cost of restoration 
activities conducted by the 
Department, including site 
identification, planning, 
implementation, monitoring and 
maintenance costs.  Based upon 
this biennial review, the Division 
shall recommend revisions to Sub-
item (7)(a) of this Rule when 
adjustments to this Schedule of 
Fees are deemed necessary. 

(8) DONATION OF PROPERTY.  Persons 
who choose to satisfy their mitigation 
determination by donating real property or 
an interest in real property shall meet the 
following requirements: 
(a) The donation of real property 

interests may be used to either 
partially or fully satisfy the 
payment of a compensatory 
mitigation fee to the Riparian 
Buffer Restoration Fund pursuant 
to Item (7) of this Rule.  The value 
of the property interest shall be 
determined by an appraisal 
performed in accordance with Sub-
item (8)(d)(iv) of this Rule.  The 
donation shall satisfy the mitigation 
determination if the appraised value 
of the donated property interest is 
equal to or greater than the required 
fee.  If the appraised value of the 
donated property interest is less 
than the required fee calculated 
pursuant to Sub-item (7)(a) of this 
Rule, the applicant shall pay the 
remaining balance due. 
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(b) The donation of conservation 
easements to satisfy compensatory 
mitigation requirements shall be 
accepted only if the conservation 
easement is granted in perpetuity. 

(c) Donation of real property interests 
to satisfy the mitigation 
determination shall be accepted 
only if such property meets all of 
the following requirements: 
(i) The property shall be 

located within an area that 
is identified as a priority 
for restoration in the 
Basinwide Wetlands and 
Riparian Restoration Plan 
developed by the 
Department pursuant to 
G.S. 143-214.10 or shall 
be located at a site that is 
otherwise consistent with 
the goals outlined in the 
Basinwide Wetlands and 
Riparian Restoration Plan. 

(ii) The property shall contain 
riparian buffers not 
currently protected by the 
State's riparian buffer 
protection program that 
are in need of restoration. 

(iii) The restorable riparian 
buffer on the property 
shall have a minimum 
length of 1000 linear feet 
along a surface water and 
a minimum width of 50 
feet as measured 
horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to the 
surface water. 

(iv) The size of the restorable 
riparian buffer on the 
property to be donated 
shall equal or exceed the 
acreage of riparian buffer 
required to be mitigated 
under the mitigation 
responsibility determined 
pursuant to Item (3) of this 
Rule. 

(v) The property shall not 
require excessive 
measures for successful 
restoration, such as 
removal of structures or 
infrastructure.  Restoration 
of the property shall be 
capable of fully offsetting 

the adverse impacts of the 
requested use; 

(vi) The property shall be 
suitable to be successfully 
restored, based on existing 
hydrology, soils, and 
vegetation; 

(vii) The estimated cost of 
restoring and maintaining 
the property shall not 
exceed the value of the 
property minus site 
identification and land 
acquisition costs. 

(ix) The property shall not 
contain any building, 
structure, object, site, or 
district that is listed in the 
National Register of 
Historic Places established 
pursuant to Public Law 
89-665, 16 U.S.C. 470 as 
amended. 

(x) The property shall not 
contain any hazardous 
substance or solid waste. 

(xi) The property shall not 
contain structures or 
materials that present 
health or safety problems 
to the general public.  If 
wells, septic, water or 
sewer connections exist, 
they shall be filled, 
remediated or closed at 
owner's expense in 
accordance with state and 
local health and safety 
regulations. 

(xii) The property and adjacent 
properties shall not have 
prior, current, and known 
future land use that would 
inhibit the function of the 
restoration effort. 

(xiii) The property shall not 
have any encumbrances or 
conditions on the transfer 
of the property interests. 

(d) At the expense of the applicant or 
donor, the following information 
shall be submitted to the local 
governments, except state and 
federal entities shall submit to the 
Division, with any proposal for 
donations or dedications of interest 
in real property: 
(i) Documentation that the 

property meets the 
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requirements laid out in 
Sub-Item (8)(c) of this 
Rule. 

(ii) US Geological Survey 
1:24,000 (7.5 minute) 
scale topographic map, 
county tax map, USDA 
Natural Resource 
Conservation Service 
County Soil Survey Map, 
and county road map 
showing the location of 
the property to be donated 
along with information on 
existing site conditions, 
vegetation types, presence 
of existing structures and 
easements. 

(iii) A current property survey 
performed in accordance 
with the procedures of the 
North Carolina 
Department of 
Administration, State 
Property Office as 
identified by the State 
Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers 
and Land Surveyors in 
"Standards of Practice for 
Land Surveying in North 
Carolina."  Copies may be 
obtained from the North 
Carolina State Board of 
Registration for 
Professional Engineers 
and Land Surveyors, 3620 
Six Forks Road, Suite 300, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 
27609. 

(iv) A current appraisal of the 
value of the property 
performed in accordance 
with the procedures of the 
North Carolina 
Department of 
Administration, State 
Property Office as 
identified by the Appraisal 
Board in the "Uniform 
Standards of Professional 
North Carolina Appraisal 
Practice."  Copies may be 
obtained from the 
Appraisal Foundation, 
Publications Department, 
P.O. Box 96734, 
Washington, D.C. 20090-
6734. 

(v) A title certificate. 
(9) RIPARIAN BUFFER RESTORATION OR 

ENHANCEMENT.  Persons who choose to 
meet their mitigation requirement through 
riparian buffer restoration or enhancement 
shall meet the following requirements: 
(a) The applicant may restore or 

enhance a non-forested riparian 
buffer if either of the following 
applies: 
(i) The area of riparian buffer 

restoration is equal to the 
required area of mitigation 
determined pursuant to 
Item (3) of this Rule. 

(ii) The area of riparian buffer 
enhancement is three 
times larger than the 
required area of mitigation 
determined pursuant to 
Item (3) of this Rule. 

(b) The location of the riparian buffer 
restoration or enhancement shall 
comply with the requirements in 
Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) The riparian buffer restoration or 
enhancement site shall have a 
minimum width of 50 feet as 
measured horizontally on a line 
perpendicular to the surface water. 

(d) Enhancement and restoration shall 
both have the objective of 
establishing a forested riparian 
buffer according to the 
requirements of this Item.  
Enhancement, shall be 
distinguished from the restoration 
based on existing buffer conditions.  
Where existing woody vegetation is 
sparse, that is greater than or equal 
to 100 trees per acre, but less than 
200 trees per acre, a buffer may be 
enhanced.  Where existing woody 
vegetation is absent, that is less 
than 100 trees per acre, a buffer 
may be restored. 

(e) The applicant shall first receive an 
Authorization Certificate for the 
proposed use according to the 
requirements of 15A NCAC 02B 
.0250.  After receiving this 
determination, the applicant shall 
submit a restoration or 
enhancement plan for approval by 
the local government, except for 
state and federal entities that shall 
submit a restoration or 
enhancement plan for approval to 
the Division.  The restoration or 
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enhancement plan shall contain the 
following. 
(i) A map of the proposed 

restoration or 
enhancement site. 

(ii) A vegetation plan.  The 
vegetation plan shall 
include a minimum of at 
least two native hardwood 
tree species planted at a 
density sufficient to 
provide 320 trees per acre 
at maturity. 

(iii) A grading plan.  The site 
shall be graded in a 
manner to ensure diffuse 
flow through the riparian 
buffer. 

(iv) A fertilization plan. 
(v) A schedule for 

implementation. 
(f) Within one year after the Division 

has approved the restoration or 
enhancement plan, the applicant 
shall present proof to the Division 
that the riparian buffer has been 
restored or enhanced.  If proof is 
not presented within this 
timeframe, then the person shall be 
in violation of the State's or the 
delegated local authority's riparian 
buffer protection program. 

(g) The mitigation area shall be placed 
under a perpetual conservation 
easement that will provide for 
protection of the property's 
sediment removal functions. 

(h) The applicant shall submit annual 
reports for a period of five years 
after the restoration or 
enhancement showing that the trees 
planted have survived and that 
diffuse flow through the riparian 
buffer has been maintained.  The 
applicant shall replace trees that do 
not survive and restore diffuse flow 
if needed during that five-year 
period. 

 
Authority 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-215.3(a)(1); S.L. 1998, 
c. 221. 
 
 

TITLE 18 – DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 
STATE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of the Secretary of State intends to adopt the 
rule cited as 18 NCAC 06B .0201. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 30, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. 
Location:  Old Revenue Building, 2 S. Salisbury Street, 
Raleigh, NC  27601 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule is an 
incorporation by reference of the Model Senior Designation 
Rule adopted by the North American Security Administrators 
Association (NASAA) on March 20, 2008.  The rule will apply 
to the natural persons currently registered as securities 
dealers or salesmen and as investment advisers or investment 
adviser representatives.  In North Carolina, securities and 
investment registrants are prohibited by law from engaging in 
dishonest or unethical conduct.  The proposed rule merely 
clarifies the extent of already prohibited conduct as well as 
what constitutes permissible conduct. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Written comments, including objections, may 
be sent to:  Ann B. Wall, General Counsel, Department of the 
Secretary of State, P.O. Box 29622, Raleigh, NC 27626-0622, 
phone (919) 807-2230, fax (919) 807-2010, and email 
rules@sosnc.com. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Ann B. Wall, General 
Counsel, Department of the Secretary of State, P.O. Box 
29622, Raleigh, NC 27626-0622; phone (919) 807-2230; fax 
(919) 807-2010; email rules@sosnc.com 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
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 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 06 – SECURITIES DIVISION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 06B - GENERAL 

 
18 NCAC 06B .0201 SENIOR DESIGNATION AS  
DISHONEST OR UNETHICAL PRACTICE 
(a)  This Rule applies to natural persons registered with the 
Division as securities dealers, securities salesmen, investment 
advisers or investment adviser representatives. 
(b)  The NASAA Model Rule On The Use of Senior-Specific 
Certifications and Professional Designation, as adopted March 
20, 2008, including subsequent amendments and editions, is 
hereby incorporated by reference.  Copies of the NASAA 
Model Rule On The Use of Senior-Specific Certifications and 
Professional Designation are available free of charge on the 
Division's web page at www.sosnc.com or at the NASAA web 
site, www.nasaa.org, under "Adopted Model Rules." 
(c)  As used in the Model Rule, the "appropriate State 
securities act provisions" are G.S. 78A-39 and 78C-19. 
 
Authority G.S. 78A-39; 78A-49; 78C-19; 78C-30; 150B-21.6. 
 
 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 
AND COMMISSIONS 

 
CHAPTER 46 – NORTH CAROLINA BOARD OF 

PHARMACY 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the 
rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .1613. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  December 15, 2009 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC  27517 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To provide rules for an 
extension of time to pay license or registration renewal fees 
and for a waiver of continuing education requirements for 
certain members of the Armed Forces, as required by Session 
Law 2009-458. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Any person may object to the proposed 
adoption by attending the public hearing on December 15, 
2009 and/or by submitting a written objection by December 
14, 2009 to Jay Campbell, Executive Director, North Carolina 
Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel 
Hill, NC 27517, fax (919) 246-1056, email 
jcampbell@ncbop.org.  The North Carolina Board of 

Pharmacy is interested in all comments pertaining to the 
proposed rule.  All persons interested and potentially affected 
by the proposal are strongly encouraged to read this entire 
notice and make comments on the proposed rule. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 
246-1056; email jcampbell@ncbop.org 
 
Comment period ends:  December 15, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS 

 
21 NCAC 46. 1613 EXTENSION PERIOD FOR  
CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES 
(a)  Definitions. 

(1) "Eligible licensee" means a pharmacist who 
holds a license in good standing from the 
Board of Pharmacy, who serves the armed 
forces of the United States, and who is 
eligible for an extension of time in which to 
file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 105-249.2.  
"Eligible licensee" includes a pharmacist 
who holds a Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner 
credential and/or who is a pharmacist 
vaccinator. 

(2) "Eligible registrant" means a pharmacy 
technician, dispensing physician, dispensing 
nurse practitioner or dispensing physician 
assistant who holds a registration in good 
standing from the Board of Pharmacy, who 
serves the armed forces of the United States, 
and who is eligible for an extension of time 
in which to file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 
105-249.2. 
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(3) "Extension period" means the time period 
specified in 26 U.S. Code 7508. 

(4) "Good standing" means a license or 
registration that is not suspended, revoked or 
subject to a current disciplinary order. 

(b)  Extension of time to pay license or registration renewal 
fee and waiver of continuing education requirements. 

(1) An eligible licensee or registrant shall, 
where possible, notify the Board of 
eligibility for the extension period before his 
or her current license or registration expires.  
Upon such notification, the Board will 
maintain the license or registration in active 
status through the extension period. 

(2) If an eligible licensee or registrant is unable 
to notify the Board of eligibility for the 
extension period before his or her current 
license or registration expires, upon receipt 
and acceptance of a renewal application 
within the extension period, the expired 
license or registration shall be deemed 
retroactively to have not expired. 

(3) Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46. 1612(a) and 
21 NCAC 46. 3301(a), an eligible licensee 
or registrant who submits a renewal 
application and pays the renewal fee 
required by the Board within the extension 
period shall not be deemed to hold a lapsed 
license or registration subject to 
reinstatement fees. 

(4) Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46. 2201, 21 
NCAC 46. 3101(d), and 21 NCAC 46. 
2507(d), an eligible licensee may renew his 
or her license within the extension period 
despite being unable to complete the 
specified continuing education requirements. 

(5) A licensee or registrant shall provide proof 
of eligibility for the extension period when 
the licensee or registrant submits the 
renewal application. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-18.1; 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 90-85.15A; 90-
85.17; 90-85.21(b); 90-85.24; 90-85.26A; 93B-15. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 57 – NORTH CAROLINA APPRAISAL 
BOARD 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Appraisal Board intends to amend the 
rules cited as 21 NCAC 57A .0201, .0204, .0405, .0407; 57B 
.0101-.0103, .0303-.0304, .0306-.0307, .0603, .0606, .0608, 
and .0611. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2010 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  November 10, 2009 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  North Carolina Appraisal Board, 5830 Six Forks 
Road, Raleigh, NC  26709 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  There is a lack of available 
precertification courses, so on-line courses are now 
necessary.  Changes are required to bring continuing 
education rules into conformance with federal requirements.  
Other changes are made for clarification purposes to address 
confusion in existing rules. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Submit written comments to Roberta 
Ouellete, Legal Counsel, North Carolina Appraisal Board, 
5830 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 or appear at the 
public hearing on November 10, 2009. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Roberta Ouellette, Legal 
Counsel, North Carolina Appraisal Board, 5830 Six Forks 
Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; email Roberta@ncab.org 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission of the adoption of the Rule.  If the 
Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
Fiscal Impact: 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
 

SUBCHAPTER 57A - REGISTRATION LICENSING, 
CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE 

 
SECTION .0200 - TRAINEE REGISTRATION, 

APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR  
TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND APPRAISER  
CERTIFICATION 
(a)  Applicants for trainee registration and for certification as a 
certified real estate appraiser must satisfy the qualification 
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requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and in this Section.  All 
precertification education required by 21 NCAC 57B .0101, 
.0102, and .0103 must have been obtained in a classroom 
setting.  No credit will be given for these courses taken by any 
other method, such as correspondence school courses or 
computer based courses. 
(b)  Applicants for trainee registration shall have completed, 
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 
application is made, 90 hours of education as set forth in 21 
NCAC 57B .0101 or education found by the Board to be 
equivalent to such courses.  Applicants for trainee registration 
must possess a high school diploma or a GED. 
(c)  Applicants for certification as a certified residential real 
estate appraiser shall have completed, within the five-year 
period immediately preceding the date application is made, 
200 hours of education as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or 
education found by the Board to be equivalent to such courses.  
In addition, applicants for certification as a certified residential 
real estate appraiser must hold an Associate's degree, or 
higher, from an accredited college, junior college, community 
college, or university.  In lieu of the Associate's degree 
requirements, applicants shall have successfully completed 21 
semester credit hours in the following collegiate subject matter 
courses from an accredited college or university: English 
composition, principles of economics (macro or micro), 
finance, algebra, geometry or higher mathematics, statistics, 
introduction of computers, including word processing and 
spreadsheets, and business or real estate law. Applicants shall 
have obtained at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience 
acquired within the five-year period immediately preceding 
the date application is made and over a minimum period of 
two calendar years.  Applicants must have been engaged in 
real estate appraising for at least two calendar years prior to 
the date application is made.  At least 50 percent of this 
appraisal experience must have been of one to four family 
residential properties in which the sales comparison approach 
was utilized in the appraisal process. 
(d)  Applicants for certification as a certified general real 
estate appraiser shall have completed 300 hours of education  
as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0103 or education found by the 
Board to be equivalent to such courses.  In addition, applicants 
for certification as a certified general estate appraiser must 
hold a Bachelor's, or higher, from an accredited college or 
university.  In lieu of the Bachelor's degree requirements, 
applicants shall have successfully completed 30 semester 
credit hours in the following collegiate subject matter courses 
from an accredited college university: English composition, 
micro economics, macro economics, finance, algebra, 
geometry or higher mathematics, statistics, introduction of 
computers, including word processing and spreadsheets, 
business or real estate law, and two elective courses in 
accounting, geography, business management or real estate.  
Applicants shall have obtained at least 3,000 hours of 
appraisal experience acquired within the five-year period 
immediately preceding the date application is made and over a 
minimum period of two and a half calendar years of which at 
least 50 percent must have been in appraising non-residential 
real estate.  Applicants must have been engaged in real estate 
appraising for at least two and one-half calendar years prior to 

the date application is made.  At least 50 percent of the non-
residential appraisal experience must have been of special use 
properties such as schools, churches, or hospitals in which the 
income approach is not applicable or of improved properties in 
which the income approach was utilized in the appraisal 
process. 
(e)  Applicants for certification who are currently registered 
trainees must submit a complete copy of their complete 
appraisal log. Applicants for certification who are currently 
licensed or certified appraisers must submit an appraisal log 
showing that they possess the requisite amount and length of 
experience as set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule.  
All applicants shall provide to the Board copies of appraisal 
reports in support of experience credit.  In order for an 
appraisal to be given experience credit, it must comply with 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP) and with any applicable state statutes or rules. 
(f)  When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes 
a certified real estate appraiser, his previous registration or 
licensure shall be immediately canceled by the Board.  When a 
certified residential real estate appraiser becomes certified as a 
general real estate appraiser, his previous certification shall be 
immediately canceled by the Board. 
(g)  In the event that the Board asks an applicant to submit 
updated information or provide further information necessary 
to complete the application and the applicant fails to submit 
such information within 90 days following the Board's 
request, the Board shall cancel the applicant's application and 
the application fee shall be retained by the Board. An 
applicant whose application has been cancelled and who 
wishes to obtain a registration or certificate must start the 
licensing process over by filing a complete application with 
the Board and paying all required fees. 
(h)  An applicant may request that his or her application be 
withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the 
Appraisal Board on the application. 
(i)  If an application is withdrawn, cancelled or denied, the 
applicant must wait six months from the date the application is 
withdrawn, cancelled or denied to file a new application. 
(j)  If an applicant has a current open complaint before the 
North Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing 
board from any other state, or if the applicant has pending 
criminal charges in this or any state, the application shall be 
accepted but no further action shall be taken on the application 
until the complaint or criminal charges are resolved.  For the 
purposes of this Section, criminal charges do not include 
speeding tickets or traffic infractions. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees and 
certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 
license or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present 
evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained 
continuing education as required by this Section.  Trainees and 
appraisers who initially registered with the Board after 
January 1 of an odd numbered year are not required to show 
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continuing education credit for renewal of their registration in 
that odd numbered year. 
(b)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who must 
complete continuing education pursuant to .0204(a) must 
complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 1 of 
every odd numbered year.  Except as provided in Paragraphs 
(g) and (h) of this Rule, such education must have been 
obtained by taking courses approved by the Board for 
continuing education purposes, at schools approved by the 
Board to offer such courses.  Such education must relate to 
real estate appraisal and must contribute to the goal of 
improving the knowledge, skill and competence of trainees, 
and licensed and certified real estate appraisers.  There is no 
exemption from the continuing education requirement for 
trainees or appraisers whose registered, licensed or certified 
status has been upgraded to the level of licensed residential, 
certified residential or certified general appraiser since the 
issuance or most recent renewal of their registration, license or 
certificate, and courses taken to satisfy the requirements of a 
higher level of certification may not be applied toward the 
continuing education requirement. Trainees, licensees and 
certificate holders may not take the same continuing education 
course more than once during the two year continuing 
education cycle. 
(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a 
minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction 
on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application 
of appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of 
various types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; 
laws, rules or guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of 
practice and ethics; building construction; financial or 
investment analysis; land use planning or controls; feasibility 
analysis;  statistics; accounting; or similar topics.  The trainee, 
license or certificate holder must have attended at least 90 
percent of the scheduled classroom hours for the course in 
order to receive credit for the course. 
(d)  Each trainee, licensee and certificate holder who is 
required to complete continuing education pursuant to 
.0204(a) must, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education 
required in .0204(b) of this section, complete the seven hour 
National USPAP update course, as required by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation, or its 
equivalent, prior to June 1 of every odd numbered year. 
(e)  A licensee who elects to take approved continuing 
education courses in excess of the requirement shall not carry 
over into the subsequent years any continuing education 
credit. 
(f)  Course sponsors must provide a certificate of course 
completion to each trainee, licensee and certificate holder 
satisfactorily completing a course.  In addition, course 
sponsors must send directly to the Board a certified roster of 
all who successfully completed the course.  This roster must 
be sent within 15 days of completion of the course, but not 
later than June 15 of each year.  In order to renew a 
registration, license or certificate in a timely manner, the 
Board must receive proper proof of satisfaction of the 
continuing education requirement prior to processing a 
registration, license or certificate renewal application.  If 
proper proof of having satisfied the continuing education 

requirement is not provided, the registration, license or 
certificate shall expire and the trainee, licensee or certificate 
holder shall be subject to the provisions of Rules .0203(e) and 
.0206 of this Section. 
(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
may request that the Board grant continuing education credit 
for a course taken by the trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
that is not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education 
activity equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making 
such request and submitting a non-refundable fee as 
prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of 
appraisal education activity to be evaluated.  Continuing 
education credit for a non-approved course shall be granted 
only if the trainee, licensee or certificate holder provides 
satisfactory proof of course completion and the Board finds 
that the course satisfies the requirements for approval of 
appraisal continuing education courses with regard to subject 
matter, course length, instructor qualifications, and student 
attendance.  Appraisal education activities for which credit 
may be awarded include, but are not limited to, teaching 
appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 
development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects.  
Up to 14 hours of continuing education credit may be granted 
in each continuing education cycle for participation in 
appraisal education activities.  Trainees or licensed or certified 
appraisers who have taught an appraisal course or courses 
approved by the Board for continuing education credit shall be 
deemed to have taken an equivalent course and shall not be 
subject to the fee prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-8 (d), provided 
they submit verification satisfactory to the Board of having 
taught the course(s).  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
who teaches a Board-approved continuing education course 
may not receive continuing education credit for the same 
course more than once every two years, regardless of how 
often he teaches the course.  Requests for equivalent approval 
for continuing education credit must be received before June 
15 of an odd-numbered year to be credited towards the 
continuing education requirement for that odd-numbered year.  
Equivalent approval shall be granted only for courses that are 
7 hours or longer, and will only be granted in seven hour 
increments. 
(h)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder may receive 
continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-
approved prelicensing or precertification courses courses, 
other than Basic Appraisal Principles and Basic Appraisal 
Procedures, or their approved equivalents. These courses 
cannot be used for both continuing education credit and for 
credit for licensing purposes. In order to receive continuing 
education credit for these courses, the examination must be 
taken. Trainee, licensees and certificate holders who wish to 
use a prelicensing precertification course for continuing 
education credit must comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 
57B .0604. 
(i)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder who resides in 
another state and is currently licensed by the appraiser 
certification board of that state may satisfy the requirements of 
this section by providing a current letter of good standing from 
the resident state showing that the licensee has met all 
continuing education requirements in the resident state.  A 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

559 

trainee, licensee or certificate holder who became licensed in 
North Carolina by reciprocity and now resides in North 
Carolina may renew by letter of good standing for his or her 
first renewal as a resident of North Carolina only if the trainee 
or appraiser moved to North Carolina on or after January 1 of 
an odd numbered year. If a trainee or appraiser was a resident 
of this state before January 1 of an odd-numbered year, the 
trainee or appraiser must comply with the requirements of this 
section regardless of how the registration, license or certificate 
was obtained. 
(j)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder who returns from 
active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-
numbered year will be allowed to renew his or her registration, 
license or certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the 
required continuing education is not completed before June 1 
of that year.  All required continuing education must be 
completed within 180 90 days of when the trainee, licensee or 
certificate holder returns from active duty.  Failure to 
complete the required continuing education within 180 90 
days will be grounds for revocation. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
SECTION .0400 - GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 

 
21 NCAC 57A .0405 APPRAISAL REPORTS 
(a)  Each written appraisal report prepared by or under the 
supervision of a licensed or certified real estate appraiser shall 
bear the signature of the licensed or certified appraiser, the 
license or certificate number of the licensee or certificate 
holder in whose name the appraisal report is issued, and the 
designation "licensed residential real estate appraiser," 
"certified residential real estate appraiser," or "certified 
general real estate appraiser," as applicable.  Each such 
appraisal report shall also indicate whether or not the licensed 
or certified appraiser has personally inspected the property, 
and shall identify any other person who assists in the appraisal 
process other than by providing clerical assistance.  Such 
identification must be placed in the body of the report.  
Appraisers shall personally affix their signature to their 
appraisal reports and shall not allow any other person or entity 
to affix their signature.  Trainees are not required to affix their 
signatures to appraisal reports, but if they do so, they must 
personally affix their signature and shall not allow any other 
person or entity to affix their signature. Trainees and 
appraisers shall sign their reports with the same name and in 
the same manner as it printed on their pocket cards. 
(b)  Every licensed and certified real estate appraiser shall 
affix or stamp to all appraisal reports a seal which shall set 
forth the name and license or certificate number of the 
appraiser in whose name the appraisal report is issued and 
shall identify the appraiser as a "licensed residential real estate 
appraiser", a "certified residential real estate appraiser", or as a 
"certified general real estate appraiser", as applicable. The seal 
must be legible, must conform to the seal authorized by the 
Board at time of initial licensure or certification, and must be a 
minimum of 1 inch in diameter.  Appraisers shall personally 
affix their seal to their appraisal reports and shall not allow 

any other person or entity to affix their seal. Registered 
trainees are prohibited from using a seal on appraisal reports. 
(c)  A licensed or certified real estate appraiser who signs an 
appraisal report prepared by another person, in any capacity, 
shall be responsible for the content and conclusions of the 
report. 
(d)  A written appraisal report shall be issued on all real estate 
appraisals performed in connection with federally related 
transactions. 
(e)  Appraisers shall keep a log of all appraisals performed.  
The log shall contain, at a minimum, the appraiser's license or 
certificate number, the street address of the subject property, 
the date the report was signed, the name of anyone assisting in 
the preparation of the report and the name of the client.  These 
logs shall be updated at least every 30 days. 
(f)  Any appraiser who signs an appraisal report is entitled to 
make or retain a copy of that appraisal report, as long as the 
copy is made at the time the report is prepared.  Any appraiser 
who signs an appraisal report must be given a copy of the 
appraisal report and the work file upon request for the purpose 
of submission or the report and work file to the Appraisal 
Board, compliance with due process of law, such as a 
subpoena, submission to a peer review committee, or in 
accordance with retrieval arrangements made by the appraiser 
and the person or entity retaining the report and work file. 
(g)  Appraisal reports transmitted electronically to clients shall 
be sent in a secure and unalterable format, such as Adobe 
PDF. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 
(a)  A licensed or certified real estate appraiser may engage a 
registered trainee to assist in the performance of real estate 
appraisals, provided that the licensed or certified real estate 
appraiser: 

(1) has been licensed or certified for at least two 
years; 

(2) has no more than one trainee working under 
his or her supervision at any one time, if the 
supervisor is a licensed real estate appraiser.  
A certified residential appraiser may have 
two trainees working under his or her 
supervision at any one time.  Once at least 
one of those trainees has completed 50 
percent of the required appraisal experience 
to upgrade, a certified residential appraiser 
may add another trainee.  At no time may a 
certified residential appraiser have more 
than three trainees working under his or her 
supervision.  A certified general may have 
three trainees working under his or her 
supervision.  Prior to the date any trainee 
begins performing appraisals under his or 
her supervision, the supervisor must inform 
the Board of the name of the trainee.  The 
supervisor must also inform the Board when 
a trainee is no longer working under his or 
her supervision; 
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(3) actively and personally supervises the 
trainee on all appraisal reports and appraisal 
related activities until the trainee is no 
longer under his or her supervision; 

(4) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 
data used in connection with appraisals in 
which the services of a trainee is utilized, 
and assures that research of general and 
specific data has been adequately conducted 
and properly reported, application of 
appraisal principles and methodologies has 
been properly applied, that the analysis is 
sound and adequately reported, and that any 
analysis, opinions, or conclusions are 
adequately developed and reported so that 
the appraisal report is not misleading; 

(5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 
of this Section regarding appraisal reports; 

(6) prepares and furnishes to each trainee, 
whose services were utilized in connection 
with the appraisal, a report describing the 
nature and extent of assistance rendered by 
the trainee in connection with the appraisal, 
and places a copy of such report in the 
supporting file for the appraisal within 30 
days of the date the appraisal report was 
signed.  In addition, the supervisor must 
make available to the trainee a copy of every 
appraisal report where the trainee performs 
more than 75 percent of the work on the 
appraisal; and  

(7) has not received any disciplinary action 
regarding his or her appraisal license or 
certificate from the State of North Carolina 
or any other state within the previous two 
years.  For the purposes of this Section, 
disciplinary action means an active 
suspension or a revocation. 

(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction, 
guidance, and support from the supervisor.  The supervising 
appraiser shall have input into and full knowledge of the 
appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall make any 
necessary and appropriate changes to the report before it is 
transmitted to the client.  In addition, the supervisor must 
accompany the trainee on the inspections of the subject 
property on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 180 
appraisal experience points, whichever comes first, for which 
the trainee will perform more than 75 percent of the work.  
After that point, the trainee may perform the inspections 
without the presence of the supervisor provided that the 
trainee is competent to perform those inspections, and 
provided that the subject property is less than 50 miles from 
the supervisor's primary business location.  The supervisor 
must accompany the trainee on all inspections of subject 
properties that are located more than 50 miles from the 
supervisor's primary business location. 
(c)  The trainee must maintain a log on a form prescribed by 
the Board that includes each appraisal performed by the 
trainee, the type of property appraised, type of appraisal 

performed, complete street address of the subject property, the 
date the report was signed, the points claimed, the name of the 
supervisor for that appraisal, the supervisor's license or 
certificate number, and whether the supervisor accompanied 
the trainee on the inspection of the subject.  The log must 
show all appraisals performed by the trainee and must be 
updated at least every 30 days. 
(d)  An appraiser who wishes to supervise a trainee must 
attend an education program offered by the Appraisal Board 
regarding the role of a supervisor either before such 
supervision begins, or within 90 days after such supervision 
begins.  If the supervisor does not take the class within 90 
days after the supervision begins, the trainee may no longer 
work under the supervision of that supervisor until the class is 
taken, and the supervisor must take the course before he can 
begin supervising a trainee. 
(e)  Trainees must assure that the supervisor has completed 
and sent the Supervisor Declaration Form to the Appraisal 
Board on or before the day the trainee begins assisting the 
supervising appraiser.  Trainees shall not receive appraisal 
experience credit for appraisals performed in violation of this 
Paragraph. 
(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee 
or by a company, firm or partnership in which the trainee has a 
controlling interest. 
(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides 
significant professional assistance in the appraisal process and 
thus is noted in the report as having provided such assistance, 
all licensed and certified appraisers signing that appraisal 
report must have notified the Appraisal Board before the 
appraisal is signed that they are supervisors for the trainee. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 
EDUCATION 

 
SECTION .0100 - COURSES REQUIRED FOR 

REGISTRATION, LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0101 REGISTERED TRAINEE  
COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall complete 
a minimum of 90 hours of precertification education, 
consisting of the following; 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 
and  

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP). 

(b)  Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall 
be approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with the 
rules in this Subchapter.  These courses must be completed 
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within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 
when application for registration is made to the Board. 
(c)  Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking 
Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures 
shall be a prerequisite to taking Residential Market Analysis 
and Highest and Best Use.  The 15 hour USPAP course may 
be taken any time after the successful completion of Basic 
Appraisal Procedures. 
(d)  These four courses must have been obtained in a 
classroom setting.  No credit will be given for these courses 
taken by any other method, such as correspondence school 
courses or on-line courses. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0102 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL  
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Each applicant for certification as a certified residential 
real estate appraiser shall complete a minimum of 200 hours 
of precertification education, consisting of the following: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential 
Sales Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Report Writing and Case Studies; 

(7) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP). 

(8) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(9) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(10) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school. 
(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as 
a trainee may satisfy the educational requirements to become a 
certified residential real estate appraiser by completing the 
following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(2) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential 
Sales Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 
Report Writing and Case Studies; 

(4)  A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(6) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who is currently a licensed residential 
appraiser may satisfy the educational requirements to become 
a certified residential real estate appraiser by completing the 
following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 
Residential Applications and Case Studies; 
and 

(3) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(b)(d)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the 
Board as a trainee or who is not currently licensed by the 
Board as a licensed residential real estate appraiser must have 
completed all required courses within the five-year period 
immediately preceding the date application is made to the 
Board. 
(c)(e)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board 
as a trainee or who is currently licensed by the Board as a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed 
all courses required beyond those required for his current 
registration, licensure or certification within the five-year 
period immediately preceding the date application is made to 
the Board. 
(f)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal 
Procedures, Residential Market Analysis, USPAP and 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach classes 
must have been obtained in a classroom setting. All other 
courses in this section may be taken on-line via the Internet. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL  
ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  An applicant for certification as a certified general real 
estate appraiser shall complete the following precertification 
courses; 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 
Procedures; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and 
Best Use;  

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach; 

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(7) A minimum of 60 hours in General 
Appraiser Income Approach; 
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(8) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies; 

(9) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives; and  

(10) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP). 

Credit for all courses must be earned from a Board-approved 
course sponsor or school, and all courses shall comply with 
the course content standards prescribed in Rule .0302 of this 
Subchapter. 
(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as 
a trainee may satisfy the educational requirements to become a 
general real estate appraiser by completing the following 
education: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and 
Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 60 hours in General 
Appraiser Income Approach; and 

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General 
Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies; 
and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who is currently licensed with the Board as a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements to become a general real estate 
appraiser by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and 
Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, 
Modeling and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 45 hours in General 
Appraiser Income Approach; 

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies; 
and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 
matter electives. 

(d)  An applicant who is currently certified with the Board as a 
certified residential real estate appraiser may satisfy the 
educational requirements to become a general real estate 
appraiser by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and 
Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General 
Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 45 hours in General 
Appraiser Income Approach; and 

(5) A minimum of 10 hours in General 
Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies. 

(e)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board 
as a trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the 
Board as a licensed residential or certified residential real 
estate appraiser must have completed all the required courses 
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 
application is made to the Board. 
(f)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a 
trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the 
Board as a licensed residential or certified residential real 
estate appraiser must have completed all courses required 
beyond those required for his current registration, licensure or 
certification within the five-year period immediately 
preceding the date application is made to the Board. 
(g)  The Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal 
Procedures, USPAP, General Appraiser Market Analysis and 
Highest and Best Use and General Appraiser Income 
Approach classes must have been obtained in a classroom 
setting.  All other courses in this section may be taken on-line 
via the Internet. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 

SECTION .0300 - COURSE STANDARDS FOR 
PRELICENSINGAND PRECERTIFICATION 

EDUCATION 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0303 COURSE COMPLETION  
STANDARDS 
(a)  Academic standards for course completion shall 
reasonably assure that students receiving a passing grade 
possess knowledge and understanding of the subject areas 
prescribed for the course.  A student's grade shall be based 
solely on his or her performance on examinations and on 
graded homework and class work assignments. 
(b)  Course completion requirements shall include a 
comprehensive final course examination which covers all 
prescribed subject areas and which accounts for at least 50 
percent of a student's grade for the course.  Take-home or 
open-book final course examinations are prohibited.  Schools 
and course sponsors may, within 90 days of the course ending 
date, allow a student one opportunity to make up any missed 
course examination or to retake any failed course examination 
without repeating the course, however any make up 
examination shall be comparable to the initial examination 
with regard to the number of questions and overall difficulty, 
and at least 75 percent of the questions in the make up 
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examination shall be different from those used in the initial 
examination. 
(c)  The minimum attendance required for satisfactory course 
completion is 90 percent of all scheduled classroom hours for 
the course. 
(d)  The instructor may offer additional hours of instruction so 
that students can make up lost hours of instruction. 
(e)  Students who are taking a precertification course, other 
than the 15 hour National USPAP course, for continuing 
education credit shall may sit for the final course examination, 
but they are not required to take and pass the examination in 
order to receive continuing education credit.  Students who 
pass the examination and who comply with the provisions of 
this Rule shall be given a course completion certificate. 
Students who do not take and pass the examination but who 
otherwise comply with the provisions of this Rule shall be 
given a certificate of attendance.  Students who are taking the 
course as a result of a conditional dismissal, consent order or 
order of the Board after a hearing must take and pass the 
examination. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0304 COURSE SCHEDULING 
(a)  All courses must have fixed beginning and ending dates, 
and schools and course sponsors may not utilize a scheduling 
system that allows students to enroll late for a course and then 
complete their course work in a subsequently scheduled 
course.  Late enrollment is permitted only if the enrolling 
student can satisfy the minimum attendance requirement set 
forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of Rule .0303 of this Section. 
(b)  Courses may be scheduled in a manner that provides for 
class meetings of up to eight classroom hours in any given 
day; however credit for courses shall be limited to 30 
classroom hours per seven-day period. 
(c)  A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of classroom 
instruction and ten minutes of break time.  For any class 
meeting that exceeds 50 minutes in duration, breaks at the rate 
of 10 minutes per hour must be scheduled and taken at 
reasonable times. 
(d)  Instruction must be given for the minimum hours 
specified in 57B .0101, .0102, and .0103.  Instructors shall not 
accumulate unused break time to end the class early. 
(e)  All courses, except those taught on-line via the Internet, 
must have a minimum number of five students enrolled in 
order for the course to be held. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all 
precertification courses or courses deemed equivalent by the 
Board shall be taught by instructors who possess the fitness 
for licensure required of applicants for trainee registration or 
real estate appraiser certification and either the minimum 
appraisal education and experience qualifications listed in this 
Rule or other qualifications that are found by the Board to be 
equivalent to those listed.  These qualification requirements 

shall be met on a continuing basis.  The minimum 
qualifications are as follows: 

(1) Residential appraiser courses:  200 
classroom hours of real estate appraisal 
education equivalent to the residential 
appraiser education courses prescribed in 
Rules .0101 and .0102 of this Subchapter 
and two years' full-time experience as a 
certified residential or general real estate 
appraiser within the previous five years.  At 
least one-half of such experience must be in 
residential property appraising. 

(2) General appraiser courses:  300 classroom 
hours of real estate appraisal education 
equivalent to the general appraiser education 
courses prescribed in Rules .0101, .0102 and 
.0103 of this Subchapter and three years' 
full-time experience as a general real estate 
appraiser within the previous five years.  At 
least one-half of such experience must be in 
income property appraising.  Instructors 
must also be a certified general real estate 
appraiser and have been so certified for at 
least five years. 

(3) USPAP: certification by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation as an instructor for the National 
USPAP Course.  The instructor must be a 
certified residential or a certified general 
appraiser.  If a USPAP instructor fails to 
renew or loses his or her certification by the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board, the 
instructor must immediately stop teaching 
and notify the Appraisal Board of the loss of 
certification. 

(4) Statistics, modeling and finance: must have 
previously completed this class, or must 
have completed 3 semester hours of 
statistics in an accredited college or 
university. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications 
stated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be utilized to teach 
collectively up to one-fourth of any course, provided that each 
guest lecturer possesses education and experience directly 
related to the particular subject area the lecturer is teaching. 
(c)  Instructors shall conduct themselves in a professional 
manner when performing their instructional duties and shall 
conduct their classes in a manner that demonstrates knowledge 
of the subject matter being taught and mastery of the 
following basic teaching skills: 

(1) The ability to communicate effectively 
through speech, including the ability to 
speak clearly at an appropriate rate of speed 
and with appropriate grammar and 
vocabulary; 

(2) The ability to present instruction in a 
thorough, accurate, logical, orderly, and 
understandable manner, to utilize illustrative 
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examples as appropriate, and to respond 
appropriately to questions from students; 

(3) The ability to effectively utilize varied 
instructive techniques other than straight 
lecture, such as class discussion or other 
techniques; 

(4) The ability to effectively utilize instructional 
aids to enhance learning; 

(5) The ability to maintain an effective learning 
environment and control of a class; and  

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in 
a manner that encourages students to learn, 
that demonstrates an understanding of 
students' backgrounds, that avoids offending 
the sensibilities of students, and that avoids 
personal criticism of any other person, 
agency or organization. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 
instructor must submit to the Board a videotape or DVD in a 
manner and format which depicts the instructor teaching 
portions of a prelicensing course specified by the Board and 
which demonstrates that the instructor possesses the basic 
teaching skills described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 
(e)  The inquiry into fitness shall include consideration of 
whether the instructor has ever had any disciplinary action 
taken on his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other 
professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any 
other state, or whether the instructor has ever been convicted 
of or pleaded guilty to any criminal act.  This inquiry may 
include consideration of whether disciplinary action or 
criminal charges are pending. 
(f)  Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action 
regarding his or her appraisal license or certificate from the 
State of North Carolina or any other state within the previous 
two years.  For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary 
action means a reprimand, suspension (whether active or 
inactive) or a revocation. 
(g)  Proposed precertification instructors who do not meet the 
minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications 
listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their 
qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the 
qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, must supply 
the Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other 
evidence of experience. 
(h)  Persons desiring to become instructors for precertification 
courses must file an application for approval with the Board.  
There is no fee for application for instructor approval.  Once 
an instructor has been approved to teach a specific 
precertification course, that person may teach the course at 
any school or for any course sponsor approved by the 
Appraisal Board to offer precertification courses. 
(i)  Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to 
qualify as instructors for precertification courses. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
 
 
 

21 NCAC 57B .0307 CRITERIA FOR COURSE  
RECOGNITION 
(a)  Schools and course sponsors seeking to offer appraiser 
precertification courses shall make written application to the 
Board and pay applicable fees as required by G.S. 93E-1-8(b). 
(b)  Appraisal subject matter electives offered for 
precertification credit shall meet all other requirements of this 
Chapter.  The content of these electives shall be directly 
related to the appraisal of real property to be approved for 
precertification credit.  Appraisal subject matter elective 
courses shall contain a minimum of 15 hours. 
(c)  Various combinations of courses may be recognized as 
equivalent to the appraiser precertification courses specified in 
57B .0101, .0102 and .0103. 
(d)  The 15 hour USPAP course shall be the 15-hour National 
USPAP Course approved by the Appraiser Qualifications 
Board of the Appraisal Foundation, or its equivalent. 
(e)  The application shall state the name of the instructor for 
the course.  All instructors shall be approved by the Board 
pursuant to 57B .0306(h).  After the course is approved, if a 
school or course sponsor wishes to change instructors, the 
school shall notify the Board of the name of the new instructor 
at least seven calendar days before the proposed change would 
take effect.  If the proposed instructor is not currently 
approved in accordance with 57B .0306(h), the instructor shall 
be approved by the Board before the school or course sponsor 
may change instructors. 
(f)  Course sponsors may offer classes on-line via the Internet.  
The Board must be provided access to the course via the 
internet at a date and time satisfactory to the Board and shall 
not be charged any fee for such access.  To be approved for 
credit, an on-line precertification education course must meet 
all of the conditions imposed by the Rules in this Subchapter 
in advance, except where otherwise noted.  The course must 
be interactive, permitting the participant to communicate, via 
telephone, electronic mail, or a website bulletin board, with 
the presenter and other participants.  The sponsor of an on-line 
course must have a reliable method for recording and 
verifying attendance.  A participant may periodically log on 
and off of an-line course provided the total time spent 
participating in the course is equal to or exceeds the credit 
hours assigned to the program.  The course design and 
delivery mechanism for an on-line course offered on the 
Internet must have received approval from the International 
Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) and by the 
Course Approval Program of the Appraiser Qualifications 
Board.  A course completion certificate must be forwarded to 
the student as stated in Rule .0303(e) of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 

SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 
COURSES 

 
21 NCAC 57B .0603 CRITERIA FOR COURSE  
APPROVAL 
The following requirements must be satisfied in order for 
course sponsors to obtain approval of a course for appraiser 
continuing education credit: 
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(1) The subject matter of the course must 
comply with the requirements of Rule .0204 
of Subchapter 57A and the information to be 
provided in the course must be both accurate 
and current. 

(2) The course must involve a minimum of 
three and one-half classroom hours of 
instruction on acceptable subject matter.  A 
classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of 
classroom instruction and 10 minutes of 
break time. Instruction must be given for the 
full number of hours for which credit is 
given. Instructors may not accumulate 
unused break time to end the class early. 

(3) The course instructor(s) must: 
(a) possess the fitness for licensure 

required of applicants for trainee 
registration, real estate appraiser 
licensure or certification; and 

(b) either: 
(i) two years' full-time 

experience that is directly 
related to the subject 
matter to be taught; 

(ii) a baccalaureate or higher 
degree in a field that is 
directly related to the 
subject matter to be 
taught; 

(iii) two years' full-time 
experience teaching the 
subject matter to be 
taught; 

(iv) an equivalent combination 
of such education and 
experience; or 

(v) be approved by the Board 
pursuant to 57B. 
0606(11). 

(4) If two or more instructors shall be utilized to 
teach a course during the approval period 
and the course shall be taught in states other 
than North Carolina, it is sufficient for the 
course sponsor to show that it has minimum 
instructor requirements comparable to these 
requirements.  The inquiry into fitness shall 
include consideration of whether the 
instructor has had any disciplinary action 
taken on his or her appraisal license or any 
other professional license in North Carolina 
or any other state, or whether the instructor 
has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to 
any criminal act. 

(5) The course must be one involving a 
qualified instructor who, except as noted in 
Item (6) of this Rule, shall be physically 
present in the classroom at all times and who 
shall personally provide the instruction for 
the course.  The course instructor may 

utilize videotape instruction, remote 
television instruction or similar types of 
instruction by other persons to enhance or 
supplement his personal instruction; 
however, such other persons shall not be 
considered to be the course instructor and 
the course instructor must be physically 
present when such indirect instruction by 
other persons is being utilized.  No portion 
of the course may consist of correspondence 
instruction.  The instructor must comply 
with Rule .0306(c) of this Subchapter. 
Instructors for the National USPAP courses 
must be certified by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation.  No current Appraisal Board 
member shall be qualified to teach a 
continuing education course except for the 
seven hour National USPAP course. 

(6) A trainee or appraiser may receive up to 14 
hours of credit every two years in the period 
ending on June 1 of each odd numbered year 
for participation in a course on a computer 
disk or offered on-line via the Internet.  A 
sponsor seeking approval of a computer-
based education course must submit a 
complete copy of the course on the medium 
that is to be utilized and must make 
available at the sponsor's expense all 
hardware and software necessary for the 
Board to review the submitted course.  In 
the case of an internet-based course, the 
Board must be provided provide the Board 
access to the course via the internet at a date 
and time satisfactory to the Board and the 
Board shall not be charged any fee for such 
access.  To be approved for credit, a 
computer-based continuing education an on-
line course must meet all of the conditions 
imposed by the Rules in this Subchapter in 
advance, except where otherwise noted.  The 
course must be interactive, permitting the 
participant to communicate, via telephone, 
electronic mail, or a website bulletin board, 
with the presenter and other participants.  
The sponsor of an on-line course must have 
a reliable method for recording and 
verifying attendance.  The sponsor of a 
course on a computer disk must demonstrate 
that there is a reliable method for the user or 
the sponsor to record and verify 
participation in the course.  A participant 
may periodically log on and off of a 
computer-based an on-line continuing 
education course provided the total time 
spent participating in the course is equal to 
or exceeds the credit hours assigned to the 
program.  The course design and delivery 
mechanism for an on-line course offered on 
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the Internet must have received approval 
from the International Distance Education 
Certification Center (IDECC). (IDECC) and 
the Appraiser Qualifications Board.  A 
course completion certificate must be 
forwarded to the student as stated in Rule 
.0607 of this Section, and a course roster 
must be sent to the Appraisal Board in 
accordance with Rule .0608 of this Section. 

(7) The course must be an educational program 
intended to improve the knowledge, skill 
and competence of trainees, and licensed 
and certified real estate appraisers.  
Activities not eligible for approval as a 
continuing education course include in-
house training programs of a firm, 
organization or agency, trade conferences or 
similar activities. 

(8) The course sponsor must certify that the 
course shall be conducted in accordance 
with the operational requirements stated in 
Rule .0606 of this Section and that the 
course sponsor will comply with all other 
applicable rules contained in this Section. 

(9) The course title may not include the words 
"Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice" or "USPAP" unless the 
course is either the 15 hour National USPAP 
course or the 7 hour National USPAP update 
course.  If the course is the 7 hour National 
USPAP course, the course title must state 
which edition of USPAP will be taught in 
that specific course. 

(10) Each course must utilize a textbook or 
course materials that have been approved by 
the Board. 

(11) If the course content is related to 
technology, such as software, hardware, 
electronic devices, manuals, or databases, 
the course shall be developed specifically 
for utilization in the real estate appraisal 
business in order to be approved for 
continuing education credit.  Such courses 
shall not require the student to purchase 
specific products, and shall not use the 
course to sell or advertise particular products 
or software. 

 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL  
REQUIREMENTS 
Course sponsors must at all times assure compliance with the 
criteria for course approval stated in Rule .0603 of this Section 
and must also comply with the following requirements relating 
to scheduling, advertising and conducting approved appraisal 
continuing education courses: 

(1) Courses must be scheduled and conducted in 
a manner that limits class sessions to a 

maximum of eight classroom hours in any 
given day and that includes appropriate 
breaks for each class session.  A classroom 
hour consists of 50 minutes of classroom 
instruction and ten minutes of break time.  
For any class meeting that exceeds 50 
minutes in duration, breaks at the rate of ten 
minutes per hour must be scheduled and 
taken at reasonable times.  

(2) Course sponsors must not utilize advertising 
of any type that is false or misleading in any 
respect.  If the number of continuing 
education credit hours awarded by the Board 
for a course is less than the number of 
scheduled classroom hours for the course, 
any course advertisement or promotional 
materials which indicate that the course is 
approved for appraiser continuing education 
credit in North Carolina must specify the 
number of continuing education credit hours 
awarded by the Board for the course. 

(3) Course sponsors must, upon request, provide 
any prospective student a description of the 
course content sufficient to give the 
prospective student a general understanding 
of the instruction to be provided in the 
course. 

(4) Courses must be conducted in a facility that 
provides an appropriate learning 
environment.  At a minimum, the classroom 
must be of sufficient size to accommodate 
comfortably all enrolled students, must 
contain a student desk or sufficient 
worktable space for each student, must have 
adequate light, heat, cooling and ventilation, 
and must be free of distractions that would 
disrupt class sessions.  Sponsors are required 
to comply with all applicable local, state and 
federal laws and regulations regarding 
safety, health and sanitation.  Sponsors shall 
furnish the Board with inspection reports 
from appropriate local building, health and 
fire inspectors upon the request of the 
Board. Sponsors must supply separate 
restroom facilities for males and females.  
Classes may not be held in a personal 
residence under any circumstances. 

(5) The course sponsor must require students to 
attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 
classroom hours in order to satisfactorily 
complete the course, even if the number of 
continuing education credit hours awarded 
by the Board for the course is less than the 
number of scheduled classroom hours.  
Attendance must be monitored during all 
class sessions to assure compliance with the 
attendance requirement.  Instruction must be 
given for the number of hours for which 
credit is given. Instructors may not 
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accumulate unused break time to end the 
class early. 

(6) Instructors must require reasonable student 
attentiveness during class sessions.  Students 
must not be permitted to engage in activities 
that are not related to the instruction being 
provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application 
fee is required by Rules .0602(b) and 
.0611(b) of this Section must fairly 
administer course cancellation and fee 
refund policies.  In the event a scheduled 
course is canceled, reasonable efforts must 
be made to notify preregistered students of 
the cancellation and all prepaid fees received 
from such preregistered students must be 
refunded within 30 days of the date of 
cancellation or, with the student's 
permission, applied toward the fees for 
another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, the course 
sponsor must submit to the Board a 
videotape in a manner and format which 
depicts the instructor teaching portions of 
any continuing education course specified 
by the Board and which demonstrates that 
the instructor possesses the basic teaching 
skills described in Rule .0306(c) of this 
Section. 

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board 
with the dates and locations of all classes the 
sponsor is or will be offering in the State of 
North Carolina at least 30 calendar days 
before such class is offered, unless 
circumstances beyond the control of the 
course sponsor require that the course be 
rescheduled.  If the dates or location of the 
classes change after such information is 
provided to the Board, the course sponsor 
must notify the Board of such changes. 

(10) Course sponsors must participate in the 
Board's course and instructor evaluation 
program.  Course sponsors must require that 
students complete a course evaluation form 
upon completion of the course, and shall 
tally the results of the evaluations onto one 
form.  Course sponsors must also send the 
completed course evaluation forms and the 
tally to the Board together with the roster 
required pursuant to 21 NCAC 57B .0608. 

(11) Persons desiring to become instructors for 
continuing education courses must file an 
application for approval with the Board.  
There is no fee for application for instructor 
approval.  Once an instructor has been 
approved to teach a specific course, that 
person may teach the course for any course 
sponsor approved by the Appraisal Board to 
offer continuing education courses. An 

approved instructor If an instructor has any 
disciplinary action taken on his or her 
appraisal license or any other professional 
license in North Carolina or any other state, 
or if the instructor has been convicted of or 
pleaded guilty to any criminal act, the school 
or course sponsor must report that fact to the 
Board within 15 business days. if any 
disciplinary action has been taken on his or 
her appraisal license or any other 
professional license in North Carolina or any 
other state, or whether the instructor has 
been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any 
criminal act. 

(12) All courses, except those taught on 
computer disk or on-line via the Internet, 
must have a minimum number of five 
students enrolled in the course. No credit 
will be given to any student in a continuing 
education class if there are only one or two 
students who complete the class. 

 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0608 SPONSOR REPORTING OF  
CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT 
Course sponsors must, within 15 days of course completion 
but no later than June 15 of each year, submit to the Board a 
roster of all North Carolina registered trainees, licensed and 
certified appraisers who satisfactorily completed the course.  
The roster must be sent by regular mail together with the 
course evaluation forms required by 21 NCAC 57B .0606(10).  
Rosters sent by fax or other electronic means shall not be 
accepted. Rosters from on-line courses only may be sent by 
fax or by other electronic means. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-1. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0611 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL  
AND FEES 
(a)  Board approval of appraisal continuing education courses 
expires on the next December 31 following the date of 
issuance.  In order to assure continuous approval, applications 
for renewal of Board approval, accompanied by the prescribed 
renewal fee, must be filed with the Board annually on or 
before December 1.  All applications for renewal of course 
approval received on or before December 1, which are 
incomplete as of that date, as well as all applications for 
renewal of course approval submitted after December 1, shall 
be treated as original applications for approval of continuing 
education courses.  Schools and course sponsors must send a 
copy of all course materials upon the third renewal of a 
continuing education course. 
(b)  The annual fee for renewal of Board approval shall be that 
specified in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course for which 
renewal of approval is requested, provided that no fee is 
required for course sponsors that are exempted from original 
application fees by Rule .0602(b) of this Section.  The fee is 
non-refundable. 
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Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c),(d); 93E-1-10. 
 
 

TITLE 23 – STATE BOARD OF COMMUNITY 
COLLEGES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges 
intends to amend the rule cited as 23 NCAC 02C .0301. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2010 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To demand a 
public hearing please send the written demand to Q. Shanté 
Martin, NC Community College System, 200 West Jones 
Street, 5001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-5001 or 
by emailing the demand to 
publiccomments@nccommunitycolleges.edu.  Demands must 
be received within 15 days of the publication of the proposed 
rule in the North Carolina Register. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board of Community 
Colleges seeks to establish a policy addressing the admission 
of undocumented immigrants to community colleges. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Written objections shall be addressed to 
President, NC Community College System Office, 5001 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-5001 within the comment 
period and must be post marked by 11:59 p.m. on the last day 
of the comment period. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Q. Shanté Martin, 200 W. 
Jones Street, 5001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
5001; email publiccomments@nccommunitycolleges.edu 
 
Comment period ends:  December 14, 2009 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption 
of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule.  If 
the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 
objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective 
as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).  The Commission will 
receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following 
the day the Commission approves the rule.  The Commission 
will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand 
delivery, or facsimile transmission.  If you have any further 
questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-
431-3000. 
 
 

Fiscal Impact: 
 State 
 Local 
 Substantial Economic Impact (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 02 - COMMUNITY COLLEGES 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02C - COLLEGES: ORGANIZATION 

AND OPERATIONS 
 

SECTION .0300 - STUDENTS 
 
23 NCAC 02C .0301 ADMISSION TO COLLEGES 
(a)  Each college shall maintain an open-door admission 
policy to all applicants who are legal residents of the United 
States and who are either high school graduates or who are at 
least 18 years of age.  Student admission processing and 
placement determination shall be performed by the officials of 
each college.  Admission requirements for an emancipated 
minor shall be the same as for an applicant 18 years old or 
older.  Provisions with respect to admission of minors are set 
forth in Rule .0305 of this Section. 
(b)  For the purposes of this Section, "undocumented 
immigrant" means any immigrant who is not lawfully present 
in the United States. Community colleges shall admit 
undocumented immigrants under the following conditions: 

(1) Community colleges shall admit an 
undocumented immigrant only if he or she 
attended and graduated from a United States 
public high school, private high school, or 
home school that operates in compliance 
with State or local law. 

(2) When determining who is an undocumented 
immigrant, community colleges shall use 
federal immigration classifications. 

(3) Undocumented immigrants admitted under 
Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph may not 
receive state or federal financial aid in the 
form of a grant or loan. 

(4) An undocumented immigrant admitted 
under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph 
may not be considered a North Carolina 
resident for tuition purposes.  All 
undocumented immigrants admitted under 
Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph must be 
charged out of state tuition whether or not 
they reside in North Carolina. 

(5) When considering whether to admit an 
undocumented immigrant into a specific 
program of study, community colleges 
should take into account that federal law 
prohibits states from granting professional 
licenses to undocumented immigrants. 

(6) Students lawfully present in the United 
States shall have priority over any 
undocumented immigrant in any class or 
program of study when capacity limitations 
exist. 
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(b)(c)  Boards of trustees may adopt policies regulating 
admission and graduation of students enrolled in courses 
mandated under G.S. 17C, North Carolina Criminal Justice 
Education and Training Standards Commission, or G.S. 17E, 
North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 
Commission.  These policies may limit enrollment to law 
enforcement officers or persons sponsored by law enforcement 
agencies and may require a student to maintain sponsorship by 
a law enforcement agency until completion of the program.  
Policies adopted pursuant to this Paragraph shall be published 
and made available to students and prospective students. 
(c)(d)  Any college suspending or expelling a student for non-
academic disciplinary purposes shall record the suspension or 

expulsion in the student's educational record.  Upon receipt of 
a written request signed by the student and subject to all 
applicable privacy laws, each college shall, in accordance with 
the student's request, inform other colleges and universities of 
the term and circumstances of the student's non-academic 
disciplinary suspension or expulsion, if any.  Boards of 
trustees may adopt polices refusing admission to any applicant 
during any period of time that the student is suspended or 
expelled from any other educational entity. 
 
Authority G.S. 115D-1; 115D-5; 115D-20. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of Rules 
and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on the 
OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days from 
publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 
This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1A 
and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES 

 
Rule-making Agency:  North Carolina Commission for the 
Blind 
 
Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 63F .0402 
 
Effective Date:  September 23, 2009 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  
September 14, 2009 
 
Reason for Action:  Immediate adoption of this rule is 
required to enable the expenditure of ARRA funds received 
from the Federal Government. 
 

CHAPTER 63 – SERVICES FOR THE BLIND 
 

SUBCHAPTER 63F - VOCATIONAL 
REHABILITATION 

 
SECTION .0400 - ECONOMIC NEED 

 
10A NCAC 63F .0402 ECONOMIC NEEDS POLICIES 
(a)  The Division of Services for the Blind shall establish 
economic need for each eligible consumer either 
simultaneously with or prior to the provision of those services 
for which the Division requires a needs test.  The financial 
need of a consumer shall be determined by the financial needs 
test specified in Rule .0403 of this Section.  If the consumer 
has been determined eligible for Social Security benefits under 
Title II or XVI of the Social Security Act, the Division of 
Services for the Blind shall not apply a financial needs tests or 
require the financial participation of the consumer.  A 
financial needs test shall be applied for all consumers 
determined eligible to receive services through the 
Independent Living Rehabilitation Program regardless of SSA 
Title II or Title XVI eligibility. 
(b)  The Division of Services for the Blind shall furnish the 
following services not conditioned on economic need: 

(1) an assessment for determining eligibility and 
priority for services except those non-
assessed services that are provided during an 
exploration of the applicant's abilities, 
capabilities, and capacity to perform in work 
situations through the use of trial work 
experiences or an extended evaluation and 
an assessment by personnel skilled in 
rehabilitation technology; 

(2) assessment for determining rehabilitation 
needs by a qualified vocational 
rehabilitation counselor; 

(3) vocational rehabilitation counseling and 
guidance, including information and support 
services to assist an applicant or consumer 
in exercising informed choice;  

(4) tuition and supplies for Community 
Rehabilitation Program training;  

(5) tuition and fees for: 
(A) community college/college parallel 

and vocational programs up to the 
catalog rate; and 

(B) post-secondary education up to the 
maximum rate charged for the 
North Carolina public university 
system. 

The Division shall require eligible 
consumers applying for training programs 
listed in Parts (b)(5)(A) and (B) of this Rule 
to first apply for all available grants and 
financial aid.  The Division may grant an 
exception to the rate for tuition and required 
fees for post-secondary education specified 
in Part (b)(5)(B) of this Rule when 
necessary to accommodate the special 
training needs of severely disabled 
individuals who must be enrolled in special 
programs designed for severely physically 
disabled students; 

(6) interpreter services including sign language 
and oral interpreter services for applicants or 
consumers who are deaf or hard of hearing 
and tactile interpreting services for 
applicants or consumers who are deaf-blind; 

(7) reader services, rehabilitation teaching 
services, and orientation and mobility 
services; 

(8) job-related services, including job search, 
job placement employment assistance and 
job retention services;  

(9) DSB Rehabilitation Center or fundamental 
independent living rehabilitation adjustment 
services including transportation and 
training supplies contingent on a consumer's 
participation in the program; 

(10) diagnostic transportation; 
(11) on-the-job training; 
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(12) training and associated maintenance and 
transportation costs for Business Enterprises 
Program trainees; 

(13) upward mobility training and associated 
maintenance and transportation costs for 
Business Enterprises Program trainees; 

(14) equipment and initial stocks and supplies for 
state-owned (Randolph-Sheppard) vending 
stands; 

(15) Supported Employment Services; 
(16) personal assistance services provided while 

a consumer with a disability is receiving 
vocational rehabilitation services;  

(17) referral and other services designed to assist 
applicants or consumers with disabilities in 
securing needed services from other 
agencies through agreements developed 
under Section 101(a)(11) of the Act (P.L. 
102-569), if such services are not available 
under this Act and to advise those 
individuals about client assistance programs 
established under the Act; 

(18) transition services for students with 
disabilities that facilitate the achievement of 
the employment outcome identified in the 
student's individualized plan for 
employment except for those services based 
on economic need; and 

(19) technical assistance and other consultation 
services to consumers who are pursuing self-
employment or telecommuting or 
establishing a business operation as an 
employment outcome. 

(c)  The following services shall be provided by the Division 
of Services for the Blind and conditioned on economic need: 

(1) physical and mental restoration services 
(medical services other than diagnostic); 

(2) maintenance for additional costs incurred 
while participating in rehabilitation; 

(3) transportation in connection with the 
rendering of any vocational rehabilitation 
service except where necessary in 
connection with determination of eligibility 
or nature and scope of services; 

(4) services to members of a disabled 
consumer's family necessary to the 
adjustment or rehabilitation of the consumer 
with a disability; 

(5) rehabilitation technology including 
telecommunications, sensory, and other 
technological aids and devices; 

(6) post-employment services necessary to 
assist consumers with visual disabilities to 
maintain, regain or advance in employment 
except for those services not conditioned on 
economic need listed in Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule; 

(7) fees necessary to obtain occupational 
licenses; 

(8) tools, equipment, and initial stocks and 
supplies for items listed in Subparagraphs 
(1) through (7) of this Paragraph; 

(9) expenditures for short periods not to exceed 
30 days of medical care for acute conditions 
arising during the course of vocational 
rehabilitation, which if not cared for, will 
constitute a hazard to the achievement of the 
vocational rehabilitation objective; 

(10) books and other training materials; and  
(11) other goods and services not prohibited by 

the Act (P.L. 102-569), which can 
reasonably be expected to benefit an 
individual with a disability in terms of his 
employability or independent living skill 
development. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the following 
services are not subject to economic need for individuals being 
served through the Vocational Rehabilitation Program: 

(1) books and other training materials required 
for post secondary training; and 

(2) rehabilitation technology including 
telecommunications, sensory aids, and other 
technological aids and devices for 
consumers who have an Individualized Plan 
for Employment (IPE), who are working 
toward an employment goal that requires 
specified technology to attain, regain, or 
maintain employment and who have the 
capability to use the equipment.  

This Paragraph expires July 31, 2011.   
(d)(e)  The Division of Services for the Blind shall publish the 
standard as determined by the Legislature for measuring the 
financial need of consumers with respect to normal living 
requirements and for determining their financial ability to 
meet the cost of necessary rehabilitation services, and for 
determining the amount of agency supplementation required to 
procure the necessary services. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 111-28; 34 C.F.R. 361.48; 34 
C.F.R. 361.5; 34 C.F.R. 361.52; 34 C.F.R. 361.54; P.L. 102-
569, Section 103; S.L. 2009-475; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; June 1, 1993; October 1, 
1990; April 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. September 23, 2009. 
 
 

TITLE 23 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY 
COLLEGES 

 
Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Community Colleges 
 
Rule Citation:  23 NCAC 02D .0329 
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Effective Date:  September 30, 2009 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  
September 21, 2009 
 
Reason for Action:  The General Assembly eliminated the 
$787,877 previously available to regional institutions for 
maintenance of plant.  To help the colleges that had previously 
received these funds manage the elimination of these funds, 
the General Assembly created a Senate Bill (S202 v3) and 
enacted Session Law 2009-451 which specifically directs the 
State Board of Community Colleges to adopt emergency rules 
for the implementation of this new law.  Pursuant to SECTION 
8.17.(b):  "The State Board of Community Colleges shall 
adopt emergency rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1A 
for the 2009-2011 fiscal biennium to grant community 
colleges the flexibility to transfer funds as necessary to 
minimize the impact of budget reductions on the education 
program, including the elimination of State Funding for 
maintenance of plant." 
 

CHAPTER 02 - COMMUNITY COLLEGES 
 

SUBCHAPTER 02D - COMMUNITY COLLEGES: 
FISCAL AFFAIRS 

SECTION .0300 - BUDGETING: ACCOUNTING: 
FISCAL MANAGEMENT 

 
23 NCAC 02D .0329 MAINTENANCE OF PLANT  
FLEXIBILITY 
(a)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a community 
college that received State funds for maintenance of plant 
pursuant to G.S. 115D-31.2 for the 2008-2009 fiscal year may 
use non-instructional State funds allocated to it through the 
institutional support allotment for maintenance of plant for the 
2009-2010 and 2010-2011 fiscal years. 
(b)  The amount of these funds used for the 2009-2010 fiscal 
year for maintenance of plant shall not exceed the total 
amount of maintenance of plant funds received for the 2008-
2009 fiscal year. The amount of these funds used for the 2010-
2011 fiscal year for maintenance of plant shall not exceed 50 
percent of the amount of maintenance of plant funds received 
for the 2008-2009 fiscal year.  This section shall be effective 
for the 2009-2011 fiscal biennium. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 115D-5; S.L. 2009-451, s. 
8.17(b). 
Emergency Adoption Eff. September 30, 2009. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on Thursday, August 20, 2009 9:00 a.m. 
at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any 
rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  
Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3100.  Anyone wishing 
to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before 
the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.  

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jim R. Funderburke - 1st Vice Chair Jennie J. Hayman - Chairman 
David Twiddy - 2nd Vice Chair John B. Lewis 

Ralph A. Walker Clarence E. Horton, Jr. 
Jerry R. Crisp Daniel F. McLawhorn 
Jeffrey P. Gray Curtis Venable 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Joe Deluca (919)431-3081 
Bobby Bryan (919)431-3079 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

          October 15, 2009         November 19, 2009 
       December 17, 2009           January 21, 2010 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
September 17, 2009 

MINUTES 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, September 17, 2009, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina.  Commissioners present were: Jerry Crisp, Jeff Gray, Jennie Hayman, Clarence Horton, Curtis Venable, and 
Ralph Walker.  
 
Staff members present were: Joseph DeLuca and Bobby Bryan, Commission Counsel; Tammara Chalmers, Julie Edwards and Dana 
Vojtko. 
 
The following people were among those attending the meeting: 
 
Anca Grozav   Office of State Budget and Management 
Becky Garrett   Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure 
John Randall   Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
Nahale Kalfas   Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
Nancy Pate   Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
Karen Waddell  Department of Insurance 
Felicia Gore Hoover  Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission 
Debra Watts   Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
Eric Smith   Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
Dan Hirschman  Attorney General's Office 
Delores Joyner  State Personnel Commission 
Teresa Townsend  Department of Justice 
Ellen Lorscheider  Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
Michael Scott   Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
Sarah Y. Meacham  Attorney General's Office 
Linda F. Raynor  Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
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APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:08 a.m. with Ms. Hayman presiding.  She reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts as required by NCGS 138A-15(e).  Chairman Hayman asked for 
any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the August 20, 2009 meeting.  There were none and the minutes 
were approved as distributed. 
 
Joe DeLuca introduced Anca Grozav to the Commission.  She is the new economic analyst at the Office of State Budget and 
Management. 
 
FOLLOW-UP MATTERS 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, Commissioner Gray recused 
himself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning this rule because he lobbied on behalf of the Fraternal Order of 
Police for enactment of the law to implement the federal concealed carry law for retired law enforcement officers. 
 
12 NCAC 09B .0301 – Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.  The Commission approved the rule upon 
receiving information that legislation has been enacted giving the Criminal Justice Commission authority to suspend or revoke the 
certification of instructors. 
 
15A NCAC 09C .0119 – Environmental Management Commission.  The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the 
agency. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Gray recused himself and did not participate in 
any discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is legal counsel to the Board. 
 
21 NCAC 06F .0101 – Board of Barber Examiners.  The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the agency. 
 
21 NCAC 06Q .0104 – Board of Barber Examiners.  The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the agency. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Dental Examiners, Commissioner Crisp recused himself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning this rule because his daughter is a dental hygienist. 
 
21 NCAC 16G .1016 – Board of Dental Examiners.  The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the agency. 
 
21 NCAC 64 .0212 – Board of Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists.  The Commission approved the 
rewritten rule submitted by the agency. 
 
21 NCAC 65 .0602 – Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure.  The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the 
agency. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS 
 
Chairman Hayman presided over the review of the log of permanent rules. 
 
All permanent rules were approved unanimously with the following exceptions: 
 
Social Services Commission rules – All rules were withdrawn by the agency. 
 
15A NCAC 13A .0102, .0103, .0106 – Commission for Public Health - The Commission approved these rules, however the 
Commission has received requests from more than 10 persons clearly requesting legislative review of the rule and therefore they are 
subject to a delayed effective date. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .0833 – Commission for Public Health - The Commission objected to provisions in 15A NCAC 13B .0833 (c) and 
(d) based on ambiguity.  It is unclear why the agency requires a permit to be submitted by January 1 – and it is also unclear whether 
the agency actually enforces this requirement – as required by (c) and (d).  In (j) the rule states that permits "issued after January 1 
shall be effective only until December 31 of that calendar year."  It seems that it would be sufficient to allow an applicant to decide 
whether it was worth it to submit an application for whatever period of time it would be valid.  The agency has not cited sufficient 
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authority for the provision in (h) to "refuse to process a permit application" if the applicant has unsettled enforcement actions, 
especially if that application is unrelated to the enforcement action.  If there is a basis for refusing to process the permit independent of 
the enforcement action, the agency is free to act on that basis.  But it is not authorized to refuse to issue the permit merely because 
there is other action pending against the applicant. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .0835, .0836, .0841, .0842 – Commission for Public Health - The Commission objected to these rules based on lack 
of authority.  There is no authority cited for the various provisions in each of those rules requiring a licensed person to perform certain 
jobs.  Although the various occupational licensing acts may actually require that, the rulemaking agency has not been given the 
authority to set qualifications for performing this work. 
 
Commissioners Crisp, Walker, and Venable voted for the motion to object to Rules.0833, .0835, .0836, .0841, .0842 and to approve 
the remainder of the rules from the Commission for Public Health.  Commissioners Gray and Horton voted against the motion. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Personnel Commission, Commissioner Crisp recused himself and did not participate in 
any discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is a state employee. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Office of Administrative Hearings, Commissioner Gray recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these rules because he served as staff attorney for the review of these rules. 
 
COMMISSION PROCEDURES AND OTHER BUSINESS 
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m. 
 
The next scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, October 15, 2009 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
Respectfully Submitted, 
 
 
________________________________ 

       Dana Vojtko 
Publications Coordinator 

 
 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 
September 17, 2009 Meeting 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 
Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09B .0301

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
Delegation 15A NCAC 02C .0119

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
Definitions 15A NCAC 13A .0102
Petitions - Part 260 15A NCAC 13A .0103
Identification and Listing of Hazardous Wastes - Part 261 15A NCAC 13A .0106
Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 13B .0815
Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .0816
Septage Management Firm Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0817
Permit Fees 15A NCAC 13B .0818
Septage Land Application Site Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0819
Septage Detention and Treatment Facility Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0820
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Location of Septage Land Application Sites 15A NCAC 13B .0821
Management of Septage Land Application Sites 15A NCAC 13B .0822
Record Keeping for Septage Management Firms 15A NCAC 13B .0823
Sampling and Analysis 15A NCAC 13B .0824
Standards for Septage Treatment and Detention Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .0825
Land Use and Site Closure 15A NCAC 13B .0826
Transportation of Septage 15A NCAC 13B .0827
Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0828
Appeals 15A NCAC 13B .0829
Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 13B .0830
Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .0831
General Provisions 15A NCAC 13B .0832
Permit Fees 15A NCAC 13B .0834
Location of Septage Land Application Sites 15A NCAC 13B .0837
Management of Septage Land Application Sites 15A NCAC 13B .0838
Record Keeping for Septage Management Firms 15A NCAC 13B .0839
Sampling and Analysis 15A NCAC 13B .0840
Land Use and Site Closure 15A NCAC 13B .0843
Transportation of Septage 15A NCAC 13B .0844
Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 13B .0845
Appeals 15A NCAC 13B .0846
Pilot Plant Studies 15A NCAC 18C .0714
General Requirement 15A NCAC 18C .1301
Tests, Forms and Reporting 15A NCAC 18C .1302
Facility Oversight 15A NCAC 18C .1303
Disinfection 15A NCAC 18C .2002
Analytical and Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 18C .2004
Reporting and Record Keeping Requirements 15A NCAC 18C .2006
Enhanced Filtration and Disinfection 15A NCAC 18C .2007
Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts 15A NCAC 18C .2008
Applicability and Residual Disinfectant Concentrations 15A NCAC 18C .2201
Ground Water Rule 15A NCAC 18C .2202

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 
Measure of Tax Due 17 NCAC 07B .0105
Research Services 17 NCAC 07B .0115
Taxability of Gross Receipts 17 NCAC 07B .1201
Governmental Sale and Purchases 17 NCAC 07B .1701
Sales to Tire Recappers 17 NCAC 07B .1905
Electricity and Other Fuel 17 NCAC 07B .2101
Contractors, Subcontractors, and Retailer-Contractors 17 NCAC 07B .2602
Pre-Fabricated Buildings: Contractors 17 NCAC 07B .2606
Plumbing: Heating Contractors: Purchases 17 NCAC 07B .2608
Broadcasting Equipment 17 NCAC 07B .3102
Motion Picture Production Firms 17 NCAC 07B .3107
Exempt Prosthetic Devices 17 NCAC 07B .3301
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Exempt Durable Medical Equipment 17 NCAC 07B .3302
Commercial Printers and Publishers 17 NCAC 07B .4701
Taxable Optical Supplies 17 NCAC 07B .5004

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
Physical Structure 21 NCAC 06F .0101
Effect of Notice of Violation on License or Certificate 21 NCAC 06Q .0104

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
Drug Testing 21 NCAC 10 .0504

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
Dental Hygiene School Extension Facilities and Off Campus... 21 NCAC 16G .0106

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 
Hearing Screening 21 NCAC 64 .0212

RECREATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE, BOARD OF 
Renewal Requirements for Licensed Recreational Therapist 21 NCAC 65 .0602

STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSION 
Reduction in Force 25 NCAC 01C .1004

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 
Emergency Waiver 26 NCAC 01 .0105
Order for Mediated Settlement Conference 26 NCAC 03 .0201
Selection of Mediator 26 NCAC 03 .0202
Duties of Parties, Representatives, and Attorneys 26 NCAC 03 .0204
Sanctions for Failure to Attend 26 NCAC 03 .0205
Authority and Duties of Mediators 26 NCAC 03 .0206
Compensation of the Mediator 26 NCAC 03 .0207 
 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, October 15, 2009, 9:00 A.M. 
 
 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-Up Matters: 

A. Commission for Public Health – 15A NCAC 13B .0833, .0835, .0836, .0841, .0842 (DeLuca) 

IV. Review of Log of Permanent Rule filings for rules filed between August 21, 2009 and 
September 21, 2009 (attached) 

V. Review of Temporary Rules 

• Department of Labor – 13 NCAC 14 .0303, .0309, .0508, .0901 
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VI. Commission Business 

• Next meeting:  November 19, 2009 
 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

August 21, 2009 through September 21, 2009 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and review 
process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria and standards for 
nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100); intensive care services (.1200); pediatric intensive care services (.1300); 
neonatal services (.1400); hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care facilities (.1500); cardiac catheterization 
equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600); open heart surgery services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700); 
diagnostic centers (.1800); radiation therapy equipment (.1900); home health services (.2000); surgical services and operating 
rooms (.2100); and stage renal disease services (.2200); computed tomography equipment (.2300); immediate care facility/mentally 
retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400); substance abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500); psychiatric beds (.2600); magnetic 
resonance imaging scanner (.2700); rehabilitation services (.2800); bone marrow transplantation services (.2900); solid organ 
transplantation services (.3000); major medical equipment (.3100); lithotriptor equipment (.3200); air ambulance (.3300); burn 
intensive care services (.3400); oncology treatment centers (.3500); gamma knife (.3600); positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700); acute care beds (.3800); criteria and standards for gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service 
facilities (.3900); and criteria and standards for hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Performance Standards 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .1403 

Information Required of Applicant 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .1902 

Performance Standards 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .1903 

Support Services 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .1904 

Staffing and Staff Training 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .1905 

Information Required of Applicant 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .2002 

Performance Standards 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .2103 

Definitions 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 14C .2701 

HHS - DEAF AND HARD OF HEARING, DIVISION OF SERVICES FOR THE 

The rules in Chapter 17 concern the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. 
 
The rules in Subchapter 17D concern interpreter directory and development including interpreter services (.0100); and 
communications services programs (.0200). 

Application Information and Procedures 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 17D .0205 

Eligibility 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 17D .0206 

Certification of Impairment 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 17D .0207 
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Financial Eligibility 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 17D .0210 

HHS - MENTAL HEALTH, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 27 concern mental health community facilities and services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 27G are from either the department or the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and 
Substance Abuse Services including general information (.0100); operation and management rules (.0200); physical plant rules 
(.0300); facility licensing procedures (.0400); area program requirements (.0500); area authority or county program monitoring of 
facilities and services (.0600); accreditation of area programs and services (.0700); waivers and appeals (.0800); general rules for 
infants and toddlers (.0900); partial hospitalization for individuals who are mentally ill (.1100); psychological rehabilitation 
facilities for individuals with severe and persistent mental illness (.1200); residential treatment for children and adolescents who are 
emotionally disturbed or who have a mental illness (.1300); day treatment for children and adolescents with emotional or behavioral 
disturbances (.1400); intensive residential treatment for children and adolescents who are emotionally disturbed or who have a 
mental illness (.1500); residential treatment staff secure facilities for children or adolescents (.1700); psychiatric residential 
treatment facilities for children and adolescents (.1900); specialized community residential centers for individuals with 
developmental disabilities (.2100); before/after school and summer developmental day services for children with or at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development (.2200); adult developmental and vocational programs for individuals 
with developmental disabilities (.2300); developmental day services for children with or at risk for developmental delays or 
disabilities, or atypical development (.2400); early childhood intervention services (ECIS) for children with an at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development and their families (.2500); nonhospital medical detoxification for 
individuals who are substance abusers (.3100); social setting detoxification for substance abuse (.3200); outpatient detoxification for 
substance abuse (.3300); residential treatment/rehabilitation for individuals with substance abuse disorders (.3400); outpatient 
facilities for individuals with substance abuse disorders (.3500); outpatient opioid treatment (.3600); day treatment facilities for 
individuals with substance abuse disorders (.3700); substance abuse services for DWI offenders (.3800); drug education schools 
(DES) (.3900); treatment alternatives to street crimes (TASC) (.4000); substance abuse primary prevention services (.4200); 
therapeutic community (.4300); facility based crises services for individual of all disability groups (.5000); community respite 
services for individuals of all disability groups (.5100); residential therapeutic (habilitative) camps for children and adolescents of 
all disability groups (.5200); day activity for individuals of all disability groups (.5400); sheltered workshops for individuals of all 
disability groups (.5500); supervised living for individuals of all disability groups (.5600); assertive community treatment service 
(.5700); supportive employment for individuals of all disability groups (.5800); case management for individuals of all disability 
groups (.5900); inpatient hospital treatment for individuals who have mental illness or substance abuse disorders (.6000); 
emergency services for individuals of all disability groups (.6100); outpatient services for individuals of all disability groups 
(.6200); companion respite services for individuals of all disability groups (.6300); personal assistants for individuals of all 
disabilities groups (.6400); employment assistance programs (.6500); specialized foster care services (.6600); forensic screening and 
evaluation services for individuals of all disability groups (.6700); prevention services (.6800); consultation and education services 
(.6900); local management entity response to complaints (.7000); and target population (.7100). 

State MH/DD/SA Appeals Panel Administrative Review Proced... 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 27G .0810 

State MH/DD/SA Appeals Panel Hearing Procedures 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 27G .0811 

State MH/DD/SA Appeals Panel Hearing Decisions 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 27G .0812 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41A deal with communicable disease control and include reporting of communicable diseases (.0100); 
control measures for communicable diseases including special control measures (.0200-.0300); immunization (.0400); purchase and 
distribution of vaccine (.0500); special program/project funding (.0600); licensed nursing home services (.0700); communicable 
disease grants and contracts (.0800); and biological agent registry (.0900). 

Infection Prevention - Health Care Settings 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 41A .0206 
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SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 70 concern children's services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 70E concern licensing of family foster homes including foster mutual home assessment (.0100); forms 
(.0200); definitions (.0300); standards for licensing (.0400); licensing regulations and procedures (.0500); general (.0600); licensing 
regulations and procedures (.0700); mutual home assessment (.0800); forms (.0900); capacity (.1000); and standards for licensing 
(.1100). 

Responsibility 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .0702 

New Licenses 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .0703 

Relicensure and Renewal 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .0704 

Termination 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .0707 

Revocation and Denial 
Amend/** 

10A NCAC 70E .0708 

Foster Home 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1001 

Medication 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1102 

Criteria for the Family 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1104 

Conflict of Interest 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1105 

Relationship to Supervising Agency 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1107 

Fire and Building Safety 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1108 

Training Requirements 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70E .1117 

The rules in Subchapter 70F concern child placing agencies: maternity homes and children's camps including general provisions 
(.0100); and organization and administration (.0200). 

Governance 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70F .0201 

Responsibilities of the Governing Body 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70F .0202 

Personnel Policies 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70F .0206 

The rules in Subchapter 70G concern child placing agencies and foster care including general provisions (.0400); minimum 
licensing standards (.0500); and best practice standards (.0300). 

Placement Services 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70G .0503 

Out-of-Home Family Services Agreement for Children Receiv... 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70G .0504 

Physical Restraint Holds, Behavior Management and Discipline 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70G .0512 
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Critical Incidents 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70G .0513 

The rules in Subchapter 70H concern child-placing agencies: adoption including scope (.0200); applicability (.0300); and minimum 
licensing standards (.0400). 

Preplacement Assessment 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70H .0405 

Services to Adoptive Applicants and Families 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70H .0407 

The rules in Subchapter 70I concern the minimum licensing standards for residential child-care including general licensing 
requirements (.0100); minimum licensure standards (.0200); organization and administration (.0300); personnel (.0400); service 
planning (.0500); service delivery (.0600); buildings, grounds and equipment (.0700); best practice standards (.0800); and physical 
plant (.0900). 

Governance 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70I .0301 

Discipline and Behavior Management 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70I .0613 

Application of Physical Plant Requirements 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70I .0901 

Design and Construction 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70I .0902 

Vehicles Used for Transportation of Children 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70I .0918 

The rules in Subchapter 70J concern minimum licensing standards for specialized residential child care programs including 
children's foster care camps (.0100); and emergency shelter care program (.0200). 

Applicability 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70J .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 70K concern residential maternity homes including general provisions (.0100); minimum licensure 
standards (.0200); and physical plant (.0300). 

Personnel 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0201 

Program of Care 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0204 

Design and Construction 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0302 

Kitchen 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0307 

Vehicles Used for Transportation of Residents 
Adopt/* 

10A NCAC 70K .0318 

The rules in Chapter 71 concern adult and family support.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 71L concern the maternity home funds. 

Approval Criteria 
Amend/* 

10A NCAC 71L .0102 

 



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
 

 
24:08                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                 OCTOBER 15, 2009 

582 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 2 concern environmental management and are promulgated by the Environmental Management Commission or 
the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. 
 
The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air pollution sources 
(.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control standards (.0500); air pollutants 
monitoring and reporting (.0600); complex sources (.0800); volatile organic compounds (.0900); motor vehicle emission control 
standards (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions from incinerators (.1200); oxygenated gasoline 
standard (.1300); nitrogen oxide standards (.1400); transportation conformity (.1500); general conformity for federal actions 
(.1600); emissions at existing municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open burning (.1900); transportation 
conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); emission reduction credits (.2300); clean air 
interstate rules (.2400); mercury rules for electric generators (.2500); and source testing (.2600). 

Ozone 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 02D .0405 

PM10 Particulate Matter 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 02D .0409 

PM2.5 Particulate Matter 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 02D .0410 

The rules in Subchapter 2L cover groundwater classifications and standards including general considerations (.0100); classifications 
and groundwater quality standards (.0200); the assignments of underground water classifications (.0300); and risk-based assessment 
and corrective action for petroleum underground storage tanks (.0400). 

Groundwater Quality Standards 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 02L .0202 

The rules in Subchapter 2Q are from the EMC and relate to applying for and obtaining air quality permits and include general 
information (.0100); fees (.0200); application requirements (.0300); acid rain program requirements (.0400); establishment of an air 
quality permitting program (.0500); transportation facility requirements (.0600); toxic air pollutant procedures (.0700); exempt 
categories (.0800); and permit exemptions (.0900). 

Final Action 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 02Q .0518 

Public Participation 
Amend/** 

15A NCAC 02Q .0521 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 7 are coastal management rules.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 7B are land use planning guidelines including introduction (.0600); land use planning (.0700); CAMA land 
use plan review and CRC certification (.0800); and CAMA land use plan amendments (.0900). 

Cama Land Use Plan Amendments 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 07B .0901 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are from the CRC and are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); natural and 
cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or maintenance of bulkheads and 
the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in 
estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); boat ramps along estuarine shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); 
wooden groins in estuarine and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or 
ditches in estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); emergency work 
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requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-water mark in the ocean hazard 
AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); general permit for authorizing minor 
modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); 
marsh enhancement breakwaters for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2100); general permits for 
construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); general permits for replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); general permit 
for placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); emergency general permit, to be initiated 
at the discretion of the secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources for replacement of structures, the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems, and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, or ditches, 
damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms, provided all replacement, reconstruction and maintenance 
excavation activities conform to all current standards (.2500); general permit for construction of wetland, stream and buffer 
mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program 
(.2600); and general permit for the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700). 

Coastal Wetlands 
Amend/* 

15A NCAC 07H .0205 

ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Division of Forest Resources.  
 
The rules in 9C concern division programs including administration (.0100); forest fire control (.0200); pest control (.0300); forest 
management (.0400); forest tree seedlings (.0500); custom forestry services (.0600); Bladen Lakes State Forest (.0700); educational 
state forests (.0800); forest development program (.0900); urban and community forestry (.1000); NC prescribed burning act 
(.1100); and Dupont State Forest (.1200). 

Purpose 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0701 

Construction 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0703 

Permits 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0705 

Hunting 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0707 

Fishing 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0708 

Trespass 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0709 

Firearms 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0710 

Explosives 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0711 

Disposal of Refuse, Garbage, Etc. 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0712 

Flowers, Plants, Minerals, Etc. 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0713 

Warming Fires 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0721 

Enforcement 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0726 

Criminal Penalty 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0727 

Definitions 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0802 
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Construction 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0803 

Territorial Scope 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0804 

Permits 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0805 

Animals at Large 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0814 

Boating 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0815 

Camping 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0816 

Sporting and Game 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0817 

Horses 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0818 

Bicycles 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0819 

Hunting and Fishing 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0820 

Explosives 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0821 

Firearms 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0822 

Fires 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0823 

Disorderly Conduct 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0825 

Intoxicating Beverages and Drugs 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0827 

Commercial Enterprises 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .0828 

Purpose 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1201 

Definitions of Terms 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1202 

Permits 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1203 

Rock or Cliff Climbing and Rappelling 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1204 

Bathing or Swimming 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1205 

Hunting 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1206 

Fishing 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1207 

Animals at Large 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1208 

Boating 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1209 

Camping 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1210 
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Sporting and Games 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1211 

Horses 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1212 

Bicycles 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1213 

Explosives 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1214 

Firearms 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1215 

Fires 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1216 

Disorderly Conduct 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1217 

Intoxicating Beverages 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1218 

Commercial Enterprises 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1219 

Noise Regulations 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1220 

Meetings and Exhibitions 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1221 

ALMS and Contributions 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1222 

Aviation 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1223 

Expulsion 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1224 

Motorized Vehicles: Where Prohibited 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1225 

Flowers, Plants, Minerals, Etc. 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1226 

Fees and Charges 
Repeal/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1227 

Scope 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1228 

Definitions of Terms 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1229 

Permits 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1230 

Rock or Cliff Climbing and Repelling 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1231 

Bathing or Swimming 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1232 

Hunting 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1233 

Fishing 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1234 

Animals at Large 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1235 

Boating 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1236 
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Camping 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1237 

Sports and Games 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1238 

Horses 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1239 

Bicycles 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1240 

Skates, Blades and Boards 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1241 

Explosives 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1242 

Firearms 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1243 

Fires 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1244 

Disorderly Conduct 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1245 

Intoxicating Beverages and Drugs 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1246 

Damage to Buildings, Structures and Signs 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1247 

Commercial Enterprises 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1248 

Noise Regulations 
Adopt/** 

15A NCAC 09C .1249 

Meetings and Exhibitions 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1250 

ALMS and Contributions 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1251 

Aviation 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1252 

Expulsion 
Adopt/** 

15A NCAC 09C .1253 

Motorized Vehicles 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1254 

Flowers, Plants, Minerals, Etc. 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1255 

Trash and Debris 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1256 

Fees and Charges 
Adopt/** 

15A NCAC 09C .1257 

Hours of Operation 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1258 

Enforcement 
Adopt/* 

15A NCAC 09C .1259 

Construction 
Adopt/** 

15A NCAC 09C .1260 

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

The rules in Chapter 50 are from the Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors including rules about organization (.0100); 
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forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); general procedures (.0400); policy statements and interpretative rules (.0500); contested cases 
(.1000); fees (.1100); petitions for rules (.1200); declaratory rulings (.1300); and continuing education (.1400). 

Obtaining Forms 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0202 

Qualifications Determined by Examination 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0301 

Applications: Issuance of License 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0306 

Refund of Deposit 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0307 

Review of Examinations 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0308 

Expanding Scope of License 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0309 

Application for Licensure by Reciprocity 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0310 

Permits 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0402 

Active Employment 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0404 

Multiple Licenses 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0405 

Change of Trade Name 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0408 

Air Conditioning Further Defined 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0501 

General Supervision and Standard of Competence 
Amend/** 

21 NCAC 50 .0505 

Minor Repairs and Alterations 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0506 

Heating: Group 3 License Required 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0508 

Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician License 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0513 

Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor License 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0514 

Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician License 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0515 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation License 
Adopt/* 

21 NCAC 50 .0516 

Informal Procedures 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1006 

License Fees 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1102 

Fees for Copies or Records and Returned Checks 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1104 

Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1401 

Exemptions and Credits 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1402 

Course Requirements and Limitations 21 NCAC 50 .1404 
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Approval of Courses 
Amend/* 

21 NCAC 50 .1405 
 

 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Temporary Rule Filings 

October 6, 2009 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 
The rules in Chapter 14 are from the apprenticeship and training division including general provisions (.0100); requirements and 
qualifications for apprenticeship (.0200); apprenticeship registration (.0300); approval/veterans' training allowances (.0400); de-
registration or withdrawal of approval (.0500); complaints (.0600); emergency procedures (.0700); equal opportunity in 
apprenticeship (.0800); and apprenticeship fees (.0900). 

Registration of Apprentice and Agreement 
Amend/* 

13 NCAC 14 .0303 

Certificate of Completion 
Amend/* 

13 NCAC 14 .0309 

De-Registration or Cancellation of Agreement 
Amend/* 

13 NCAC 14 .0508 

Apprenticeship Registration and Annual Fees 
Adopt/* 

13 NCAC 14 .0901 
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, (919) 431-3000.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at 
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 
FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 
 Beecher R. Gray    Randall May 
 Selina Brooks    A. B. Elkins II 
 Melissa Owens Lassiter   Joe Webster 
 Don Overby 

 
 
  CASE  DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION 
 AGENCY NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION 
 
 
ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 
NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission v. Ciro Maya Maya, T/A 08 ABC 2411 Overby 06/29/09 
 Carolina Sports Arena 
 
N.C. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission v. Du Cong Phan T/A 09 ABC 0565 May 05/18/09 
 Good Food Market 
North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission v. Mayra 09 ABC 0975 Gray 07/28/09 
 Leticia Rodriguez, T/A La Perla Del Pacifico 
N.C. Alcholic Beverage Control Commission v. Roberta White Bridges 09 ABC 1899 May 07/28/09 
 T/A Christina Restaurant and Catering 
 
CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION 
Mary D. Malone v. State of North Carolina, Department of Crime 08 CPS 2463 Gray 07/09/09 
 Control., Victims Compensations Services 
Ricky F. Smith v. Crime Control and Public Safety 08 CPS 2582 May 08/06/09 
Robert Melvin v. Janice Carmichael, NC Crime Victim Compensation 08 CPS 2634 Elkins 06/01/09 
B-Red Enterprises, Inc., Linda Parrish v. Secretary of Crime Control 08 CPS 3043 Webster 06/23/09 
 and Public Safety 
 
Allen Bender, AB's Gravel Driveways, LLC v. North Carolina State 09 CPS 1259 Gray 06/29/09 
 Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Enforcement Section 
Cape Romain Contractors, Inc., Andrew Dupre v. North Carolina 09 CPS 1599 Gray 07/02/09 
 Department of Crime Control and Public Safety, Division of 
 State Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Enforcement Section 
John Emiliani, Jr., v. N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles 09 CPS 1604 Brooks 06/15/09 
Rowland L. Simmons v. North Carolina State Highway Patrol 09 CPS 2087 Brooks 05/19/09 
George Allen Cook (Case #08-35780), v. N.C. Department of Crime 09 CPS 2391 May 07/29/09 
 Control and Public Safety, Victim Compensation Services 
 Division 
Cynthia K. Shreve v. Victims Compensation Program 09 CPS 2404 May 06/23/09 
Allen Robinson v. NCSHP   09 CPS 2449 Overby 06/17/09 
Jeffrey Andrew Kennedy v. NC State Highway Patrol, Citation 09 CPS 2511 May 07/09/09 
 and Notice of Assessment 
Rowland L. Simmons v. North Carolina State Highway Patrol 09 CPS 2885 May 06/11/09 
 
A list of Child Support Decisions may be obtained by accessing the OAH Website:  http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 
 
 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Patricia L. Tiller v. NC Dept. of Health & Human Ser., Health Care 07 DHR 0302 Lassiter 07/14/09 
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 Personnel Registry Sec 
 
Envisions of Life LLC v. Hearing Office – 05 Division of Medical 08 DHR 0967 Lassiter 07/01/09 
 Assistance 
Cynthia Curtis v. Department of Health and Human Services, Division 08 DHR 1485 Brooks 05/07/09 24:07 NCR 408 
 of Health Service Regulation 
Choices Group Home Inc., Victor Vega v. N.C. Department of Health 08 DHR 2404 Gray 07/16/09 
 and Human Service Regulation 
Choices Group Home Inc, Victor Vega v. Office of Administrative 08 DHR 2512 Gray 07/16/09 
 Hearings, Department of Health and Human Services 
Pepper Dawn Kirk-McLendon Peppermint Daycare v. N.C. 08 DHR 2571 Mann 07/07/09 24:07 NCR 416 
 Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Child  
 Development 
Abudant Life Child Care Center, Tiffany D. Monroe v. Division of Child 08 DHR 2954 Elkins 06/03/09 
 Development, June Locklear, Brenda Faircloth 
Amy G. Poteat v. Health Care Personnel Registry 08 DHR 3489 May 06/03/09 
 
Victoria Martin v. Surry County Dept of Health and Human Services 09 DHR 1533 May 06/04/09 
 AFDC/Work First 
Michael Parks Fresh Start Residential Services Inc. v. NC DHHS 09 DHR 1474 Overby 06/17/09 
 Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure 
 Certification 
Spring House Residential Facility v. N.C. Dept. of Health and Human 09 DHR 1482 May 06/19/09 
 Services DHSR MHLC 
Yolanda Portillo v. N.C. Department of Health and Human Services 09 DHR 1558 Webster 07/17/09 
Regina T. Jones v. N.C. Department of Health and Human Services 09 DHR 1859 Webster 06/23/09 
Sharay C. Vinson v. North Carolina Department of Health and  09 DHR 1884 Brooks 07/10/09 
 Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation 
Jason M. Paris (petitioner, Christine O. Jacobs (representing petitioner) 09 DHR 2296 May 07/10/09 
 v. N.C. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
Contour Service, Inc., (MHL #090-101) v. Department of Health 09 DHR 2350 May 07/21/09 
 Services, Division of Health Service Regulation 
Helen Webb v. Department of Health and Human Dept. of Child Dept 09 DHR 2589 Webster 07/17/09 
Lanika Ortega v. North Carolina Department of Health and Human 09 DHR 2637 Lassiter 07/27/09 
 Services 
Brenda V. Patterson v. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 2654 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 2655 Webster 07/17/09 
John Okoroma v. Mecklenburg County Dept. of Social Services 09 DHR 2710 May 07/24/09 
Angela Conner Tawes, Conner's Cape Hatteras Supermarket, Inc v. 09 DHR 2717 Gray 06/15/09 
 North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, 
Sharon M. Hill v. NC Department of Health and Human Services, 09 DHR 2809 Lassiter 07/27/09 
 Division of Health Services and Regulation 
 Division of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Section 09 DHR 2829 Brooks 07/10/09 
Trinia E. McCorkle v. North Carolina Department of Health and  
 Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance 
Kasina L. Davis v. North Carolina Department of Health and Human 09 DHR 2832 Gray 07/01/09 
 Services, Division of Health Service Regulation, Health Care 
 Personnel Registry Section 
Brenda V. Patterson v. N.C. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 2836 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 2837 Webster 07/17/09 
Edward A. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 2838 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 2839 Webster 07/17/09 
Edward A. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 2841 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 3002 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 3003 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. State Department of Social Services 09 DHR 3004 Webster 07/17/09 
Mary's House, Inc., MHL #041-288, Craig Thomas, Executive Director 09 DHR 3008 Mann 07/22/09 
 v. Ms. Emery Milliken, General Counsel, Department of Health 
 and Human Services, Office of Legal Affairs 
Edward A. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 3113 Webster 07/17/09 
Brenda V. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 3114 Webster 07/17/09 
Edward A. Patterson v. Division of Child Development 09 DHR 3503 Webster 07/17/09 
 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
Meherrin Tribe of North Carolina by and through Douglas 
 Patterson v. North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs 09 DOA 2367 Morrison 06/15/09 
 
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION 
Tamika Richardson v. North Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training 08 DOJ 2403 Elkins 05/07/09 24:07 NCR 437 
 Standards Commission 
 
Rufus Thomas Blackwell, III, v. (N.C. Department of Correction) 09 DOC 1296 Overby 07/08/09 
 Department of Payroll & Overpayment Manager 
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Robert Allen Sartori v. K Dufault, C. Bray WCI Mail, Staff Department 09 DOC 3121 Gray 07/01/09 
 of Correction 
 
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
Jackie Marie Daniels v. N.C. Criminal Justice Education and  09 DOJ 0218 Elkins 07/24/09 
 Training Standards Commission 
Tyrone Scott v. North Carolina Private Protective Services Board 09 DOJ 0658 Gray 05/28/09 
Jaime Patrick Clayborne v. Department of Justice Company 09 DOJ 1949 Webster 05/27/09 
 Police Program 
William Marquis Davis v. North Carolina Private Protective Services 09 DOJ 2506 Morrison 06/04/09 
 Board 
Ross Patton Gilmore v. North Carolina Alarm Licensing Board 09 DOJ 2452 Morrison 06/04/09 
Edward A. Patterson v. Attorney General Office 09 DOJ 2840 Webster 07/17/09 
 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
Alvin J. Smith v. NC Div of Motor Vehicles, Driver Ass't Branch 09 DOT 2616 Brooks 06/09/09 
 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 
Donna F. Levi v. Department of State Treasurer 09 DST 0161 Gray 07/17/09 
 
Hilda Harris Member ID: 1725605 v. Department of State Treasurer 09 DST 1290 Overby 05/27/09 
 Retirement Systems Division 
 
EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 
Courtney M. Sears, Petitioner v. Department of Public Instruction 08 EDC 3644 Morrison 06/08/09 
 Licensure Section 
Jennifer Satinsky v. North Carolina State Board of Education 08 EDC 3650 Morrision 06/05/09 
 
Lindsey Forde-Smith v. North Carolina State Board of Education 09 EDC 1848 Gray 07/09/09 
 
DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES 
Old Mill Forestry, LLC v. N.C. Department of Environment and Natural 08 EHR 1806 Lassiter 05/08/09 
 Resources, Division of Water Quality 
Cherokee County Health Department James Pann(managing member, 08 EHR 2986 Gray 05/27/09 
 Creek Ridge Holdings, LLC) v. N.C. Department of Environment 
 and Natural Resources 
 
John C Campbell Folk School, John M Clarke, Bldgs & Ground Mgr v. 09 EHR 1852 Overby 06/03/09 
 NCDENR Public Water Supply Section 
 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
Barbara A Evans v. State Health Plan  09 INS 3067 Lassiter 07/27/09 
 
MISCELLANEOUS 
Rodney Dale v. Judge Angela Hoyle  09 MIS 2704 May 06/09/09 
 
OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL 
Alvita C. Byers v. Elizabeth Cox, The office of Human Resources and 07 OSP 1514 Brooks 05/20/09 24:07 NCR 396 
 The North Carolina School of the Arts 
 
Julie Norris Watson v. NC DPI   08 OSP 0541 Brooks 05/22/09 
Sharon Annette Mercer v. N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles 08 OSP 2293 Webster 08/14/09 24:07 NCR 447 
Jody Lynn Hinson v. N.C. Department of Crime Control and Public 08 OSP 2409 Overby 06/03/09 
 Safety, N.C. Highway Patrol 
Denise Vee v. Cumberland County Department of Public Health 08 OSP 2955 Elkins 07/22/09 24:07 NCR 465 
 
Timothy Strong v. Central Regional Hospital, NC DHHS 09 OSP 2401 Elkins 05/27/09 
Benjamin Hicks v. Central Regional Hospital, NC DHHS 09 OSP 2399 Elkins 05/27/09 
Thomas E. Freeman, Jr. v. NC DHHS/Central Regional Hospital 09 OSP 2826 Webster 07/17/09 
 And Whitaker School 
Cecil L. Glaze v. UNC Charlotte   09 OSP 2884 Mann 07/29/09 
Vickye Williams Herring, NC Employment Security Commission 09 OSP 3501 Elkins 07/30/09 
Hope C. Freeman v. Bladen County Department of, Social Services 09 OSP 3504 Elkins 07/24/09 
 
OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF STATE 
Sarah D. Larson v. N.C. Department of the Secretary of State 08 SOS 1200 Overby 06/04/09 24:07 NCR 478 
 
Robert Lee Evans v. NC Office of Administrative Hearings 09 SOS 2300 Lassiter 06/03/09 
Asali J. Howard v. North Carolina Department of The Secretary 09 SOS 2707 May 07/16/09 
 Of State 
 
UNC HOSPITALS 
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Carlos A Perez-Sanchez v. UNC Hospitals  09 UNC 1294 Overby 06/03/09 
Bobbie Perlow v. UNC Hospitals   09 UNC 1606 Brooks 07/15/09 
Nicole Bryant v. UNC Hospitals   09 UNC 2022 Lassiter 06/16/09 
Cynthia K. Yellock v. UNC Hospitals  09 UNC 2298 Mann 07/21/09 
Jennifer Jacobs v. UNC Hospitals  09 UNC 2409 Mann 07/21/09 
Ryan Rockey v. UNC Hospitals   09 UNC 2587 May 07/15/09 
Mary Ann Strickland v. UNC Hospitals  09 UNC 2712 Overby 06/04/09 
John C. Presley v. UNC Hospitals  09 UNC 4020 Gray 07/21/09 
 
 


