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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns

For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult
with the agencies below. The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address,
but are not inclusive.

Rule Notices, Filings, Register, Deadlines, Copies of Proposed Rules, etc.

Office of Administrative Hearings
Rules Division
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Julie Edwards, Editorial Assistant
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27605
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Bobby Bryan, Commission Counsel
Angela Person, Administrative Assistant
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-8005
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1) temporary rules;

(2)  naotices of rule-making proceedings;

(3) text of proposed rules;

(4) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal
incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165;

(6) Executive Orders of the Governor;

(7)  final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H;

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board issued under
G.S. 105-241.2; and

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina
Register is not included. The last day of the period so
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday,
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday
for employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State
employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.

FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY: This date is
the first legislative day of the next regular session of
the General Assembly following approval of the rule
by the Rules Review Commission. See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules.

This publication is printed on permanent, acid-free paper in compliance with G.S. 125-11.13



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

MICHAEL F. EASLEY
GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 142
PROCLAMATION OF STATE OF EMERGENCY
BY THE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

Section 1. I have determined that a state of emergency, as defined in Chapter 160A of
the North Carolina General Statutes, exists in Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington counties, due to a
wildfire, which began on June 1, 2008, and which has threatened the health, safety, and
protection of citizens and produced hazardous travel conditions.

Section 2. Pursuant to Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General Statutes, I, therefore,
proclaim the existence of a state of emergency in Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington counties.

Section 3. I hereby order all state and local government entities and agencies to
cooperate in the implementation of the provisions of this proclamation and the provisions of the
North Carolina Emergency Operations Plan.

Section 4. 1 hereby delegate to Bryan E. Beatty. Secretary of Crime Control and Public
Safety, and/or his designee, all power and authority granted to me and required of me by Chapter
166A of the North Carolina General Statutes for the purpose of implementing the said
Emergency Operations Plan and to take such further action as is necessary to promote and secure
the safety and protection of the populace in the declared counties.

Section 5. Further, Bryan E. Beatty, Secretary of Crime Control and Public Safety. as
chief coordinating officer for the State of North Carolina, shall exercise the powers prescribed in
N.C.G.S. § 143B-476.

Section 6. I hereby order this proclamation: (a) to be distributed to the news media and
other organizations calculated to bring its contents o the attention of the general public; (b)
unless the circumstances of the state of emergency prevent or impede, to be promptly filed with
the Secretary of Crime Control and Public Safety, the Secretary of State, and the clerks of
superior court in the counties to which it applies; and (c) to be distributed to others as necessary
to assure proper implementation of this proclamation.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Section 7. This proclamation shall become effective immediately and shall continue until
it is terminated in writing.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal

of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this sixth day of June in the
year of our Lord two thousand and eight, and of the Independence of the United States of

America the two hundred and thirty-second.
7

Michacl F. Easlcy
Governor

ATTEST:

] .,- ), P ; I - . ‘/
e i ;/{/ /ﬂu-"%{,- C/
‘ Elaine F. Mérshall
Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

JKT:MSR:ANS:maf Voting Section - NWB.

DJ 166-012-3 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
2007-3189 Washington, DC 20530
2007-3371

July 26, 2007

Mr. David A. Holec

City Attorney

P.O. Box 7207

Greenville, North Carolina 27835-7207

Dear Mr. Holec:

This refers to eight annexations (Ordinance Nos. 07-58 through 07-60, and 07-75 through
07-79 (2007)) and their designation to districts of the City of Greenville in Pitt County, North
Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42
U.S.C. 1973¢c. We received your submissions on June 19 and July 5, 2007.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the specified changes. However,
we note that Section 5 expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does
not bar subsequent litigation to enjoin the enforcement of the changes. In addition, as authorized
by Section 5, we reserve the right to reexamine these submissions if additional information that
would otherwise require an objection comes to our attention during the remainder of the sixty-
day review period. Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act (28
C.F.R.51.41 and 51.43).

Sincerely,

AT D

%’ John Tanner
Chief, Voting Section
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IN ADDITION

Note from the Codifier

Approved Rules Pending the General Assembly

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission subject to review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3 by the General Assembly in the
session beginning in May 2008 have completed 30 legislative days. The rules pending this session have been entered into the NC

Administrative Code with the exceptions listed below.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, if a bill that specifically disapproves a rule is introduced in either house of the General Assembly before
the thirty-first legislative day of that session, the rule becomes effective on the earlier of either the day an unfavorable final action is
taken on the bill or the day that session of the General Assembly adjourns without ratifying a bill that specifically disapproves the rule.
A rule that is specifically disapproved by a bill ratified by the General Assembly before it becomes effective does not become

effective.

Legislation has been introduced to disapprove the following rules:

AGRICULTURE
02 NCAC 09E .0116 Unpasteurized Milk

BANKS, OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

04 NCAC 03M .0101 Definitions

04 NCAC 03M .0205 Financial Responsibilities

04 NCAC 03M .0301 Approval of Providers and Programs

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL
Fire Code 903.2.1.2 Group A-2 Sprinklers

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

14A NCAC 09H .0308  Definitions

14A NCAC 09H .0310  Securing Vehicles When Operator is Arrested
14ANCAC 09H .0311  Vehicles Transported & Stored Over Objection of Owner
14A NCAC 09H .0313  Transporting and Storing Vehicle

14A NCAC 09H .0314  Notification

14A NCAC 09H .0315  Release of Vehicles

14A NCAC 09H .0316  Vehicle Inventory

14ANCAC 09H .0317  Reimbursement of Wrecker

14A NCAC 09H .0320  Rotation, Zone, Contract, and Deviation from System
14ANCAC 09H .0321  Rotation Wrecker Service Regulations

14A NCAC 09H .0322  Recording Wrecker Requests/Incidents

14A NCAC 09H .0323  Sanctions for Violations

14A NCAC 09H .0324  Hearing Procedures

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
15A NCAC 02H .1005  Stormwater Requirements: Coastal Counties
15A NCAC 02R .0402  Schedule of Fees

NURSING
21 NCAC 36 .0318 Faculty

STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSION

25 NCAC 01C .0216 Temporary Employment Services

25 NCAC 01C .0217 OSP Temporary Employment Service
25 NCAC 01C .0405 Temporary Appointment

25 NCAC 01C .0407 Temporary Part-time Appointment

RRC
Approved

10/18/07

03/20/08
03/20/08
03/20/08

09/20/07

03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07
03/15/07

03/20/08
10/18/07

06/28/07

05/17/07
05/17/07
05/17/07
05/17/07

Bill Ratified
Introduced

HB 2524 *

SB 2164
SB 2164
SB 2164

SB 1675

HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789
HB 2789

HB 2138
HB 2795

SB 1662 *

HB 2748
HB 2748
HB 2748
HB 2748

* % * *
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PROPOSED RULES

days.
Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the North Carolina Board of Agriculture intends to amend the
rule cited as 02 NCAC 38 .0601.

Proposed Effective Date: November 1, 2008

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person may
request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a
request in writing no later than July 30, 2008, to David S.
McLeod, Secretary, NC Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001.

Reason for Proposed Action: This rule permits motor fuel
retail outlets with annual sales of less than 60,000 gallons to use
the half-pricing method of displaying the price per gallon when
their dispensers are not capable of displaying the full price.
With the recent rise in motor fuel prices, more retail outlets are
affected by these equipment limitations. It would cause an
economic hardship for these smaller volume outlets to have to
purchase new equipment. The proposed rule change would
increase the sales volume limit from 60,000 to 600,000 gallons
per year, but establish a sunset on use of half-pricing method of
January 1, 2011.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Any person may object to the proposed rules by
submitting a written statement of objection(s) to David S.
McLeod, Secretary, NC Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001.

Comments may be submitted to: David S. McLeod, 1001 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001, phone (919) 733-
7125 extension 238, fax (919) 716-0090, email
david.mcleod@ncmail.net

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written

objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:
State
Local
Substantive (>$3,000,000)
None

(I

CHAPTER 38 - STANDARDS DIVISION
SECTION .0600 - SALE OF PETROLEUM PRODUCTS

02 NCAC 38 .0601 RETAIL MOTOR FUEL
DISPENSERS/HALF-PRICING
(@) All retail motor fuel dispensing outlets shall sell motor fuel
by the full price per gallon method, except as provided in (b) of
this Rule.
(b) Retail-Until January 1, 2011, retail motor fuel dispensing
outlets which sell 68;800 600,000 gallons of motor fuel or less
per each 12 month period may sell motor fuel by the half-price
per gallon method, (except as provided in 02 NCAC 38 .0603).
(c) All motor fuel dispensers using the half-pricing method shall
bear the following statements on each dial face:
(@) "CAUTION: DUE TO A SHORTAGE OF
COMPUTER PARTS THIS DISPENSER
INDICATES ONLY 1/2 THE TOTAL SALE
PRICE." This statement must be composed of
one-fourth inch letters and must be located
above or to the side of the sale price indicator;
2 "1/2 TOTAL SALE." This statement must be
composed of three-fourths inch letters and
must be affixed to cover the total sale or total
price identification statement of the dial face;
3) "GALLONS." No change;
4) "CENTS PER 1/2 GALLON INCLUDING
TAX." This statement must be composed of
three-eights inch letters and must be affixed to
cover the cents or price per gallon statement
on the dial face;
(5) "$ _ PER GALLON." This statement must
contain three-eights inch letters and must be
located directly beneath the statement
described in (4) of this Paragraph and must
have the full price per gallon written in the
blank space.
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PROPOSED RULES

(d) The sale of motor fuel through those dispensers as described
in (c) of this Rule shall be priced in even tenths of a cent
(example: $1.002, $1.004, etc.).

(e) Advertised pricing shall be by the price per gallon.

Authority G.S. 81A-2; 81A-23.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the DHHS/Division of Services for the Blind intends to amend
the rules cited as 10A NCAC 63C .0202, .0204.

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2009

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person may
request a public hearing on the proposed rules by contacting the
Assistant Director of Services for the Blind at (919) 733-9822 no
later than July 30, 2008.

Reason for Proposed Action: Request of the Committee of
Blind Vendors and with the support of the Division.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Submit a written request to: Debbie Jackson,
Director, DHHS Division of Services for the Blind, 2601 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2601.

Comments may be submitted to: Mary Flanagan, DHHS
Division of Services for the Blind, 2601 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, NC 27699-2601, phone (919) 733-9822, fax (919) 733-
9769, email mary.flanagan@ncmail.net

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:

] State
] Local
] Substantive (>$3,000,000)

|Z None
CHAPTER 63 - SERVICES FOR THE BLIND

SUBCHAPTER 63C - BUSINESS ENTERPRISES
PROGRAM

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING AND PLACEMENT

10A NCAC 63C .0202 ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING
(@) The Division shall interview prospective licensees as
referred by the rehabilitation program and shall make written
recommendations to the Chief of Business Enterprises
concerning the potential of the referral commensurate 5with the
specific job requirements of the Business Enterprises Program.
(b) To be licensed:

Q) The consumer must meet the definition of
legally blind as outlined in 34 CFR 395.1;

2 The consumer must be at least 18 years of age;

?3) The consumer must be physically able to
perform all the duties as further detailed in this
Chapter,;

4) All consumers must be evaluated for and
demonstrate proficiency of skill in basic
mobility,  activities of daily living,
mathematics and basic food service practices;

(5) The consumer must be familiar with the rules
and regulations for Business Enterprises
facility operators. The consumer must
successfully complete the Business Enterprises
training program sponsored by the Division
and must be certified by the Division as
capable of operating a Business Enterprises
facility;and-facility;

(6) The consumer must be a citizen of the United
States. The consumer must have no previous
conviction(s) of any felony class A through E-
E; and

@) The consumer must have no previous
conviction(s) of any felony class A through E.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107.

10A NCAC 63C .0204 FILLING OF VACANCIES

(@) The Division shall make available a listing of available
Business Enterprises facilities to all licensees.

(b) Licensees who wish to apply for any of the locations listed
may forward an application to the office of the Chief of Business
Enterprises.

(c) Transfers and promotions shall be based on the following
procedures:

1) The Division shall send a notice of available
facilities to all operators and licensees on the
last 10 working day of the month. The notice
shall provide a short description of the
vacancy and who to contact for more
information.
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PROPOSED RULES

@)

)

(4)

Q)

(6)

()

9)(8)

All applications shall be post-marked by the
10th of the following month and mailed to the
office of the Chief of Business Enterprises.
Interviews shall be conducted on the second
Friday of the month which follows the
application deadline.

At least 10 working days prior to the
interview, the Business Enterprises Counselor
who works with the applicant shall calculate
the applicant's points for sanitation, seniority,
Financial ~ Analysis/Operating  Standards
[Subparagraphs (d), (1), (2), (3) of this Rule]
and inform the applicant of his point total.
The applicant shall have five working days to
review the point total and request any
adjustments.

After adding together the points from the
sanitation, seniority, Financial
Analysis/Operating ~ Standards, ~ Customer
Relations and Oral Exam/Interview Sections
[Subparagraphs (d), (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6),
(7) of this Rule] for each applicant, the
applicant with the highest point total (if above
60 points) shall be awarded the vacancy. If the
applicant with the highest point total declines
to accept the location, it shall be offered to the
next highest applicant (if above 60 points) and
so on. In the case of an exact tie, the applicant
with the most time in the Business Enterprises
Program shall be awarded the location.
Applicants shall be notified as soon as possible
after their interview whether or not they have
been awarded a location. This notification
shall be by telephone and followed up in
writing.

Upon being awarded a location, the applicant
shall have 30 days to fill the vacancy. The
Division shall agree to a different time frame if
adhering to the 30-day time frame would cause
a hardship to the applicant awarded the
facility. The location shall not be filled for 15
working days following the award to allow
time for administrative appeals to be filed. If
an appeal is filed, the location shall not be
filled until the appeal is resolved. If there is
only one applicant for a location, the 15-day
waiting period shall not apply.

If an applicant is awarded a facility and has
not had an Operator Agreement with the
Agency in the last two years, and the applicant

€6)(9)

did not meet his financial analysis and
operating standards for the last 12 months that
his agreement was in effect, the applicant shall
repeat the necessary on-the-job-training. The
Interview Committee may also recommend
refresher course training to assure qualified
management.

Licensees/operators not selected may file an
administrative appeal as provided for in
Subchapter 63C Section .0400. The fifteen-
day limit to file an appeal shall begin from the
date the licensee/operator is informed by
telephone of the results of the award.

{£1)(10) An applicant must have operated a Business

Enterprises location for six months prior to the
cut-off date for calculating financial
performance according to standards to be
considered an operator, otherwise, the operator
shall be in licensee status. The cut-off date is
defined as the 12-month period ending with
the last day of the same month in which the
vacancy is advertised.

{&2(11) If an operator leaves the Business Enterprises

Program and then applies for a location within
months of leaving, his financial performance
according to standards for the 12 months prior
to his leaving shall be used to calculate points
in the Financial Performance Section.

3)(12) Financial analyses of facilities shall be done

every two years. The analysis shall be on the
facility not the operator; however, an operator
may request a new analysis after at least four
months in the new facility. If an applicant's
financial analysis is mere-than—two-years—old
but less than two and-ene-half-years old and
the applicant's performance is neither above
100% nor below 85% on either measure, the
financial analysis shall be considered current.

{&4)(13) An applicant who does not hold the required

level of license for the vacancy may be
awarded the facility contingent upon
successfully completing the required training.
Applicants who hold the required level of
license but have not operated a facility at that
level for at least two years shall complete
refresher on-the-job training if the applicant
did not meet his financial analysis and
operating standards for the last 12 months that
his agreement was in effect.

{45)(14) An operator may not sit on the Interview

Committee for a location for which he/she is
applying or if a member of his/her immediate
family has applied for a vacant facility. For
this purpose immediate family shall be defined
as spouse, parent, child, brother and sister.
Also included are the step, half and in-law
relationships. If the Vice-Chairman and the
Chairman of the Elected Committee of
Vendors and the Chairman of the sub-
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committee on Transfer and Promotion are all
restricted from sitting on the Interview
Committee under this Rule, those three must
pick another Elected Committee of Vendors
member to sit on the Interview Committee.

££6)(15) The schedule for awarding vacancies may be

changed to accommodate holidays, too many
applications to process in one day, or at any
time necessary due to program conflicts as
determined by the chief of Business
Enterprises and the Vice-Chairman of the
Elected Committee of Vendors. All applicants
shall be notified in writing of the date, time
and place of their interview.

&1(16) Applicants shall be reimbursed for their

expenses to come to the interview at the state's
established per diem rates. The Business
Enterprises Program shall only reimburse for
two interviews per year. After that, applicants
shall bear their own expenses for coming to
interviews. Licensees who have active
rehabilitation cases shall be reimbursed
through the rehabilitation program.

(d) The Division shall use the following criteria in determining

©)

15 t0 19.99 - 3 points
20 to 24.99 - 4 points
25 and over - 5 points
© Seniority is defined as the amount of
time in yearly increments an
individual has been working in the
Business Enterprises Program as an
operator.  An operator must work
51% of the working days in a month
to receive credit for that month. The
cutoff date for accruing time in the
Program shall be the end of the
month when the wvacancy s
advertised. Business Enterprises
operators shall receive credit for one
year of seniority for any combined
12-month period.
Performance  According to  Financial
Analysis/Operating ~ Standards:  Operating
standards shall be determined by tabulating all
the invoices for purchases for resale for each
facility for a period of three months. The
optimum sales and gross profit percentage
shall be determined by computing the

points: maximum potential for sales and gross profit
Q) Sanitation: without consideration for theft, waste or poor

(A) Ten point maximum; management. Each operator is required to

(B) One point for each sanitation grade maintain  85% of the optimum standard
point above ninety; established for each facility for sales and gross

© Sanitation grade to be arrived at by profit. Eighty-five percent of the optimum
averaging all sanitation  scores sales and gross profit percentage shall be
received during last two years; considered the operating standard for each

(D) Five points shall be subtracted for any facility.
adjusted B grade in the last two years; (A) 50 Points Maximum;

(E) The Business Enterprises Counselor (B) Applicants shall receive 20 points for
shall determine an adjusted grade by meeting or exceeding 85% of their
adding back in any points subtracted sales standard;
for deficiencies over which the © Applicants shall receive 20 points for
operator has no control. Operator meeting or exceeding 85% of their
shall inform Business Enterprises gross profit percentage standard;
Counselor when an inspection has (D) Applicants shall receive five points
occurred so he can review the for meeting or exceeding 92.5% of
inspection and adjust the grade if their sales optimum;
needed. It is the operator's (E) Applicants shall receive five points
responsibility to make sure the for meeting or exceeding 92.5% of
Business Enterprises Counselor has their  gross  profit  percentage
copies of every sanitation inspection optimum;
form from the relevant period so that () Points according to Financial
he or she can calculate an accurate Analysis/Operating Standards in this
grade. Section shall be calculated using the

(2 Seniority: established optimum standards as

(A) Five point maximum; determined by the current financial

(B) Seniority points shall be awarded as analysis for both sales and gross
follows: profit percentages. The optimum
Years in  Business Enterprises standard shall be determined by

Program — Points computing the maximum potential
0 to 4.99 - 0 points sales volume and gross profit
510 9.99 - 1 point percentage for a consecutive three-
10 to 14.99 - 2 points month period.
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(4)

()

() Use sales and gross profit
figures for the twelve-month
period ending with the last
day of the same month in
which the vacancy is
advertised. This is the cut-
off date for financial
performance calculations.

(i) Take the facility's average
monthly sales for the past
twelve months, and calculate
what percentage of the
established optimum it is. If
it is over 85%, the applicant
gets 20 points; if it is 92.5%
or more, the applicant gets
an additional five points.

(iii) Take the facility's gross
profit percentage for the last
twelve months and calculate
what percentage of the
established optimum it is. If
it is over 85%, the applicant
gets 20 points. If it is 92.5%
or more, the applicant gets
an additional five points.

Customer and  Building  Management
Relations:
(A) Five points shall be deducted for each

(B)

written site management complaint in
the past two years, up to a maximum
of 10 points.

If the applicant has more than three
written site management complaints,
he shall not be considered for the
award. No site management
complaint that is more than three
years old may be used against an
operator. Site management is defined
as the property official for the
property on which a BEP facility is
located.

Oral Exam/Interview:

(A)
(B)

(©)
(D)

30 points maximum.

Interview shall be face to face (no

conference calls).

All applicants shall be interviewed.

The Interview Committee shall

consist of:

(M The Chief of Business
Enterprises, or Deputy Chief
or Assistant Director of
Programs and Facilities as
designated by Chief,

(i) The Area Rehabilitation
Supervisor or B.E.
Counselor for the area in
which the vacancy occurs,
and

(E)

(F)

(iii) The Vice-Chairman of the
Elected Committee  of
Vendors or the Chairman in
his absence, or in the
absence of the Chairman, the
Chairman of the Transfer
and Promotion
subcommittee.

Oral Exam part shall consist of 10

questions drawn either from a pool of

standard questions or developed by
the Interview Committee prior to the
interview. The oral exam questions
shall relate to any special needs of the
vacant facility as well as to standard
responsibilities and knowledge areas
of Business Enterprises operators.

Each member of the Interview

Committee  shall  evaluate the

applicant's response to each question

in the oral exam. The applicant shall
receive one point by demonstrating
basic knowledge, the applicant shall
receive one and one-172 half points
for demonstrating above average
knowledge, and the applicant shall be
awarded 1 two points for
demonstrating exceptional knowledge
for each interview question. There
shall be at least one question
involving a calculation and a talking
calculator shall be provided, although
applicants may bring their own. The

oral exam shall yield a possible 20

points.

The interview part shall consist of a

variety of questions in a give and take

format. Each member of the

Interview Committee shall evaluate

the applicant's response to the

interview questions and shall award
up to 10 additional points based on
the applicant's previous food service
experience, knowledge and/or
financial ~ performance. If the
applicant meets the requirements for
the facility, the applicant will receive
five additional points. If the
applicant's qualifications exceed the
requirements of the facility, he may
be awarded up to ten additional
points. The interview shall include
the following elements: questions
related to business philosophy to
promote general discussion to enable
the interview panel to evaluate the
applicant's  expertise, maturity,
experience and ability; a discussion
of any related work experience
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(6)

(G)

outside the Business Enterprises
Program; at least two business math
questions. Since points are awarded
for seniority, time in the Business
Enterprises Program shall not be
considered as a reason to award

points; however, relevant work
experience  in  the  Business
Enterprises  Program  may  be
discussed and taken into

consideration. Applicants may bring
letters of recommendation,
certificates, and other documents that
would aid the Interview Committee in
awarding its discretionary points.
Each interviewer shall award
discretionary points individually and
the total score of Oral Exam and
Interview  points  from  each
interviewer shall be averaged and
added to the applicant's points from
the other Sections.

Licensees and trainees:

(A)

(B)

(©)

A licensee who has no previous
experience in the North Carolina
Business Enterprises Program shall
be assigned 35 points in the Financial
Analysis/Operating Standards
category. If the licensee scores 90%
or above on the National Restaurant
Association's ServSafe exam, he/she
shall be awarded three points in the
sanitation category.

A licensee with previous Business
Enterprises experience shall be
assigned 35 points in the Financial
Analysis/Operating Standards
category. Previous sanitation records
shall be considered, if available; or
the applicant may take the National
Restaurant  Association's ServSafe
exam. If the licensee scores 90% or
above on the ServSafe exam, he/she
shall be given three points in the
Sanitation Section.

Applicants shall have satisfactorily
completed Level | training or have a
Level | license to be interviewed.
The four levels of Business
Enterprises facilities are defined as
follows: Level | has no cooking or
on-site food preparation and includes
only service via vending machines or
over the counter service. To include
snacks, candy, pre-packaged
sandwiches, coffee, and assorted
beverages. Level Il service is similar
to a deli operation where hot and cold
food is prepared on site. Level Il

service includes all of the above with
the addition of a grill and fryer.
Level IV service consists of full-
service cafeteria style facilities. An
applicant shall score at least 60 total
points to be awarded a location. If
the applicant scores at least 55 points
but less than 60 points, the interview
panel may make a conditional award
if the panel agrees it is in the best
interest of the Business Enterprises
Program.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND
NATURAL RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend
the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0311.

Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2009

Public Hearing:

Date: August 14, 2008

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Location: Bladen Community College, Multipurpose/
Auditorium Building, 7418 Highway 41 West, Dublin, NC

Reason for Proposed Action:

Proposed reclassification for portion of Cape Fear River:

The Lower Cape Fear Water and Sewer Authority (“‘Authority’)
has requested that a portion of the Cape Fear River in Bladen
and Cumberland Counties (Cape Fear River Basin) be
reclassified from Class C to Water Supply-IV (WS-1V) Critical
Area (CA) and WS-1V Protected Area (PA). The reason for the
reclassification is to allow a new intake structure to be placed in
the river in order to supply initially Smithfield Packing
Company, and in the future, potentially several southern coastal
plain municipalities with an additional source of potable water.
In October 2004, the Environmental Management Commission
(EMC), the Division of Water Resources, and the Lumber River
Council of Governments (COG) entered into a cooperative
agreement to assure that area groundwater resources are
monitored and "a regional plan for long-range, sustainable
water supply sources is developed” that would include
Smithfield's participation and investigation of additional water
sources, including surface water sources. A regional plan was
developed, the Authority was formed to include representation of
several municipalities, and this proposed reclassification is an
outgrowth of that plan. The proposed CA would extend along
the river from the proposed intake, which is to be placed
approximately 2 miles upstream of County Road 1316, to a point
approximately 0.5 miles upstream of the proposed intake. There
are no named tributaries to the Cape Fear River in the proposed
CA. The proposed PA would extend along the river from a point
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approximately 0.5 miles upstream of the proposed intake to a
point approximately 1 mile upstream of Grays Creek. The
proposed PA includes several entire named tributaries, as well
as the lower portions of many named tributaries, to the Cape
Fear River; most of these waters are presently classified C, and
the remaining waters carry the B classification. Approximately
160 acres of land and 30,628 acres of land will be included in
the new CA and PA, respectively. The waters to be reclassified
meet water supply water quality standards according to 2007
DWQ studies. If reclassified, development and discharge
restrictions will apply. There are several animal operations and
one NPDES wastewater discharger, Dupont Fayetteville Works,
in the proposed water supply watershed; the above-mentioned
animal operations and discharger most likely will not be
impacted by current regulations associated with this
reclassification. There are not any known planned dischargers
and developments in the entire proposed reclassification area
that would likely be impacted by the proposal according to local
government and DWQ staff. Bladen County and Cumberland
County are the local governments with jurisdiction in the
reclassification area, and these local governments would need to
modify water supply watershed protection ordinances within 270
days after the reclassification effective date. Bladen County
supports the reclassification, and Cumberland County does not
object to the proposal.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: You may attend the public hearing and make
relevant verbal comments, and/or submit written comments, data
or other relevant information by September 15, 2008. The
Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may speak
at the public hearing, if necessary, so that all those who wish to
speak may have an opportunity to do so. The EMC is very
interested in all comments pertaining to the proposed
reclassification. All persons interested and potentially affected
by the proposal are strongly encouraged to read this entire
notice and make comments on the proposed reclassification.
The EMC may not adopt a rule that differs substantially from the
text of the proposed rule published in this notice unless the EMC
publishes the text of the proposed different rule and accepts
comments on the new text (See General Statute 150-21.2(g)).
Written comments on the proposed reclassification may be
submitted to Elizabeth Kountis of the Water Quality Planning
Section at the postal address, e-mail address, or fax number
listed in this notice.

Comments may be submitted to: Elizabeth Kountis, DENR/
Division of Water Quality, Planning Section, 1617 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1617, phone (919) 807-6418, fax
(919) 807-6497, email elizabeth.kountis@ncmail.net

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:

] State
[l Local
L] Substantive (>$3,000,000)
X None

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND
WETLAND STANDARDS

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM
CLASSIFICATIONS

15A NCAC 02B .0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN
(a) The Cape Fear River Basin Schedule of Classifications and
Water Quality Standards may be inspected at the following
places:
(1) the Internet at http://h20.enr.state.nc.us/csu/;
and
2 the  North  Carolina  Department  of
Environment and Natural Resources:
(A) Winston-Salem Regional Office
585 Waughtown Street
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
(B) Fayetteville Regional Office
225 Green Street
Systel Building Suite 714
Fayetteville, North Carolina
© Raleigh Regional Office
3800 Barrett Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina
(D) Washington Regional Office
943 Washington Square Mall
Washington, North Carolina
(E) Wilmington Regional Office
127 Cardinal Drive Extension
Wilmington, North Carolina
(P Division of Water Quality
Central Office
512 North Salisbury Street
Raleigh, North Carolina.
(b) The Cape Fear River Basin Schedule of Classification and
Water Quality Standards was amended effective:
Q) March 1, 1977,
2 December 13, 1979;
3) December 14, 1980;
4) August 9, 1981,
(5) April 1, 1982;
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(6) December 1, 1983;
@) January 1, 1985;
(8) August 1, 1985;
9) December 1, 1985;
(10) February 1, 1986;
(11) July 1, 1987;

(12) October 1, 1987;
(13) March 1, 1988;
(14) June 1, 1988;

(15) July 1, 1988;

(16) January 1, 1990;
17) August 1, 1990;
(18) August 3, 1992;
(19) September 1, 1994;
(20) August 1, 1998;
(21) April 1, 1999;

(22) August 1, 2002;
(23) November 1, 2004;
(24) November 1, 26642007;
(25) May 1, 2009.

(c) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin has been amended
effective June 1, 1988 as follows:

Q) Cane Creek [Index No. 16-21-(1)] from source
to a point 0.5 mile north of N.C. Hwy. 54
(Cane Reservoir Dam) including the Cane
Creek Reservoir and all tributaries has been
reclassified from Class WS-I11 to WS-I.
Morgan Creek [Index No. 16-41-1-(1)] to the
University Lake dam including University
Lake and all tributaries has been reclassified
from Class WS-l to WS-I.

(d) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin has been amended
effective July 1, 1988 by the reclassification of Crane Creek
(Crains Creek) [Index No. 18-23-16-(1)] from source to mouth
of Beaver Creek including all tributaries from C to WS-III.

() The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin has been amended
effective January 1, 1990 as follows:

Q) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 18-87) from
southern edge of White Oak River Basin to
western end of Permuda Island (a line from
Morris Landing to Atlantic Ocean), from the
eastern mouth of OIld Topsail Creek to the
southwestern shore of Howe Creek and from
the southwest mouth of Shinn Creek to
channel marker No. 153 including all
tributaries except the King Creek Restricted
Area, Hardison Creek, Old Topsail Creek, Mill
Creek, Futch Creek and Pages Creek were
reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW.
Topsail Sound and Middle Sound ORW Area
which includes all waters between the Barrier
Islands and the Intracoastal Waterway located
between a line running from the western most
shore of Mason Inlet to the southwestern shore
of Howe Creek and a line running from the
western shore of New Topsail Inlet to the

()

()

eastern mouth of OIld Topsail Creek was
reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW.
Masonboro Sound ORW Area which includes
all waters between the Barrier Islands and the
mainland from a line running from the
southwest mouth of Shinn Creek at the
Intracoastal Waterway to the southern shore of
Masonboro Inlet and a line running from the
Intracoastal Waterway Channel marker No.
153 to the southside of the Carolina Beach
Inlet was reclassified from Class SA to Class
SA ORW.
(f) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards
for the Cape Fear River Basin has been amended effective
January 1, 1990 as follows: Big Alamance Creek [Index No.
16-19-(1)] from source to Lake Mackintosh Dam including all
tributaries has been reclassified from Class WS-III NSW to
Class WS-11 NSW.
() The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water supply
waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-1, WS-II or
WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
I, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply
protection rules, (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300)
which became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases,
streams with primary classifications other than WS were
reclassified to a WS classification due to their proximity and
linkage to water supply waters. In other cases, waters were
reclassified from a WS classification to an alternate appropriate
primary classification after being identified as downstream of a
water supply intake or identified as not being used for water
supply purposes.
(h) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
June 1, 1994 as follows:

Q) The Black River from its source to the Cape
Fear River [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 18-68-
(3.5) and 18-65-(11.5)] was reclassified from
Classes C Sw and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw
ORW.
The South River from Big Swamp to the Black
River [Index Nos. 18-68-12-(0.5) and 18-68-
12(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes C Sw
and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW.
Six Runs Creek from Quewhiffle Swamp to
the Black River [Index No. 18-68-2] was
reclassified from Class C Sw to Class C Sw
ORW.
(i) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards
for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective September
1, 1994 with the reclassification of the Deep River [Index No.
17-(36.5)] from the Town of Gulf-Goldston water supply intake
to US highway 421 including associated tributaries from Class C
to Classes C, WS-1V and WS-V CA.
(J) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards
for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective August 1,
1998 with the revision to the primary classification for portions
of the Deep River [Index No. 17-(28.5)] from Class WS-IV to

©)

O]

@)
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Class WS-V, Deep River [Index No. 17-(41.5)] from Class WS-
IV to Class C, and the Cape Fear River [Index 18-(10.5)] from
Class WS-IV to Class WS-V.
(k)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of Buckhorn Creek
(Harris Lake)[Index No. 18-7-(3)] from the backwaters of Harris
Lake to the Dam at Harris Lake from Class C to Class WS-V.
() The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards
for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective April 1,
1999 with the reclassification of the Deep River [Index No. 17-
(4)] from the dam at Oakdale-Cotton Mills, Inc. to the dam at
Randleman Reservoir (located 1.6 mile upstream of U.S. Hwy
220 Business), and including tributaries from Class C and Class
B to Class WS-1V and Class WS-IV & B. Streams within the
Randleman Reservoir Critical Area have been reclassified to
WS-IV CA. The Critical Area for a WS-1V reservoir is defined
as 0.5 mile and draining to the normal pool elevation of the
reservoir. All waters within the Randleman Reservoir Water
Supply Watershed are within a designated Critical Water Supply
Watershed and are subject to a special management strategy
specified in 15A NCAC 02B .0248.
(m) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
August 1, 2002 as follows:

Q) Mill Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-(1), 18-23-
11-(2), 18-23-11-3, 18-23-11-(5)] from its
source to the Little River, including all
tributaries was reclassified from Class WS-1II
NSW and Class WS-111 B NSW to Class WS-
Il NSW HQW@ and Class WS-111 B NSW
HQWG@.
McDeed's Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-4, 18-
23-11-4-1] from its source to Mill Creek,
including all tributaries was reclassified from
Class WS Il NSW and Class WS-111 B NSW
to Class WS-I1l NSW HQW@ and Class WS-
I B NSW HQW@.
The "@" symbol as used in this Paragraph means that if the
governing municipality has deemed that a development is
covered under a "5/70 provision" as described in Rule 15A
NCAC 02B .0215(3)(b)(i)(E) (Fresh Surface Water Quality
Standards for Class WS-I1l Waters), then that development is
not subject to the stormwater requirements as described in rule
15A NCAC 02H .1006 (Stormwater Requirements: High Quality
Waters).
(n) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
November 1, 2004 as follows:

1) A portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-
43-(1)] from a point approximately 0.3 mile
upstream of Town of Siler City upper reservoir
dam to a point approximately 0.3 mile
downstream of Lacy Creek from WS-III to
WS-111 CA.
A portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-
43-(8)] from dam at lower water supply
reservoir for Town of Siler City to a point

()

()

approximately 65 feet below dam (site of
proposed dam) from C to WS-111 CA.

A portion of Mud Lick Creek (Index No. 17-
43-6) from a point approximately 0.4 mile
upstream of Chatham County SR 1355 to
Town of Siler City lower water supply
reservoir from WS-I11 to WS-111 CA.

A portion of Lacy Creek (17-43-7) from a
point approximately 0.6 mile downstream of
Chatham County SR 1362 to Town of Siler
City lower water supply reservoir from WS-1I1
to WS-I1I CA.

(o) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications listed below, and
the North Carolina Division of Water Quality maintains a
Geographic Information Systems data layer of these UWLSs.

1) Military Ocean Terminal Sunny Point Pools,
all on the eastern shore of the Cape Fear River
[Index No. 18-(71)] were reclassified to Class
WL UWL as defined in 156A NCAC 02B
.0101.

Salters Lake Bay near Salters Lake [Index No.
18-44-4] was reclassified to Class WL UWL
as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
Jones Lake Bay near Jones Lake [Index No.
18-46-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL UWL
as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
Weymouth Woods Sandhill Seep near Mill
Creek [18-23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class
WL UWL as defined in 15A NCAC 02B
.0101.
Fly Trap Savanna near Cape Fear River [Index
No. 18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL
UWL as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
Lily Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No.
18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL as
defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
Grassy Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No.
18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL as
defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
The Neck Savanna near Sandy Run Swamp
[Index No. 18-74-33-2] was reclassified to
Class WL UWL as defined in 15A NCAC 02B
.0101.
Bower's Bog near Mill Creek [Index No. 18-
23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL
as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
Bushy Lake near Turnbull Creek [Index No.
18-46] was reclassified to Class WL UWL as
defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101.
(p)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality
Standards for the Cape Fear River Basin was amended effective
May 1, 2009 as follows:
(1) a portion of Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-
(26)] (including tributaries) from Smithfield
Packing Company's intake, located
approximately 2 miles upstream of County
Road 1316, to a point approximately 0.5 miles

®)

(4)

o)

©)

(4)

®)

(6)

U]

®)

©)

(10)
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upstream of Smithfield Packing Company's
intake from Class C to Class WS-1V CA.

(2) a portion of Cape Fear River [Index No.18-
(26)] (including tributaries) from a point
approximately 0.5 miles upstream  of
Smithfield Packing Company's intake to a
point approximately 1 mile upstream of Grays
Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV.

Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1).

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the NC State Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the
rules cited as 21 NCAC 16Q .0204, .0303, .0403.

Proposed Effective Date: November 1, 2008

Public Hearing:

Date: August 7, 2008

Time: 7 p.m.

Location: 507 Airport Boulevard, Suite 105, Morrisville, NC

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 16Q .0204 — is proposed for amendment to increase
the fees collected by the Board for inspections and evaluations
of applicants for general sedation permits by $100.

21 NCAC 16Q .0303 — is proposed for amendment to provide
that the Board may charge a fee of $275 for each inspection and
evaluation conducted for applicants seeking a permit to
administer moderate conscious sedation, moderate pediatric
conscious sedation or moderate conscious sedation limited to
oral routes and nitrous oxide.

21 NCAC 16Q .0403 — is proposed for amendment to permit the
Board to charge a $275 inspection fee for inspection and
evaluations of applicants seeking minimal sedation permits.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Written comments may be sent to Bobby D.
White, Chief Operations Officer, NC Dental Board, 507 Airport
Boulevard, Suite 105, Morrisville, NC 27560.

Comments may be submitted to: Bobby White, 507 Airport
Boulevard, Suite 105, Morrisville, NC 27560

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:

] State
[l Local
L] Substantive (>$3,000,000)
X None

SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND
SEDATION

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL ANESTHESIA

21 NCAC 16Q .0204 PROCEDURE FOR
EVALUATION OR INSPECTION
(&) When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the
Board will designate two or more qualified persons, each of
which has administered general anesthesia for at least whem-is
i s | . L
administered-such-fora-minimum-of-three years preceding the
inspection, exclusive of his training in general anesthesia. When
an on-site inspection involves only a facility and equipment
check and not an evaluation of the dentist, thesueh inspection
may be accomplished by one or more evaluators.
(b) Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in
any evaluation.
(c) The inspection team shall determine compliance with the
requirements of the Rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by
assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail".
(d) Each evaluator shall report his recommendation to the
Board, setting forth the details supporting his conclusion. The
Board is not bound by these recommendations. The Board shall
determinemake-the-final-determination-as-te whether er-net-the
applicant has passed the evaluation/inspection and shall notify
the applicant in writing of its decision.se-netify-the-applicant-in
writing

(e) At least a 15-day notice shall be given prior to an evaluation
or inspection. The entire evaluationinspection fee of twe
hundred-—seventy-fivedoHars($275.00)-three hundred seventy
five dollars ($375.00) shall be due 10 days afterfrom the date of
receipt of such notice._An inspection fee of two hundred seventy
five dollars ($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist
receives notice of the inspection of each additional location at
which the dentist administers general anesthesia. A-fee-of-one
hundred—seventy-five-dolars{$175.00)-shall-be-due-10-days
.“9 tl_e daﬁte of eceipt gl II Aetice—pHof t_elall evaluatio o
al‘se_adm#mwma‘l_‘a‘n% j i n

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1.
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SECTION .0300 - PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS
SEDATION

21 NCAC 16Q .0303 TEMPORARY APPROVAL
PRIOR TO SITE INSPECTION
(@) If a dentist meets the requirements of Paragraphs (a) — (e) of
Rule .0301 of this Subchapter, he/she shall be granted temporary
approval to administer moderate conscious sedation, or moderate
pediatric conscious sedation until a permit can be issued. If a
dentist meets the requirements of Paragraph (j) of Rule .0301 of
this Subchapter, he/she shall be granted temporary approval to
administer moderate conscious sedation limited to oral routes
and nitrous oxide inhalation. Temporary approval may be
granted based solely on credentials until all processing and
investigation has been completed. Temporary approval may not
exceed three months. An on-site evaluation of the facilities,
equipment, procedures, and personnel shall be required prior to
issuance of a permanent permit. The evaluation shall be
conducted in accordance with Rules .0204 -.0205 of this
Subchapter, except that evaluations of dentists applying for
moderate conscious sedation permits may be conducted by
dentists who have been issued moderate conscious sedation
permits by the Board and who have been approved by the Board,
as set out in these Rules. Feesreguired-by Rule-0204-of this
A two hundred seventy five dollar
($275.00) inspection fee shall be collected for each site
inspected pursuant to this Rule.
(b) An inspection may be made upon renewal of the permit or
for cause.
(c) Temporary approval shall not be granted to a provisional
licensee or applicants who are the subject of a pending Board
disciplinary investigation or whose licenses have been revoked,
suspended or are subject to an order of stayed suspension or
probation.

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1.
SECTION .0400 - ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION

21 NCAC 16Q .0403 TEMPORARY APPROVAL
PRIOR TO SITE INSPECTION

(@) A dentist whose facility has not been inspected but who has
otherwise met the requirements of Rule .0401 of this Section
may seek temporary approval to administer minimal conscious
sedation until a permit can be issued. Temporary approval may
be granted based solely on credentials until all processing and
investigation has been completed. Temporary approval may not
exceed three months.

(b) Temporary approval shall not be granted to a provisional
licensee to an applicant who is the subject of a disciplinary
investigation or whose license has been revoked or suspended or
is the subject of a probation or stayed suspension order.

(c) A two hundred seventy five dollar ($275.00) fee shall be
collected for each site inspected pursuant to Rule .0401 of this
Section.

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1.

BRI S S S S S i S

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the
rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2107.

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2009

Public Hearing:

Date: September 15, 2008

Time: 5:00 p.m.

Location: North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington
Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517

Reason for Proposed Action: To facilitate the casting and
counting of electronic ballots for the election of members of
North Carolina Board of Pharmacy.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Any person may object to the proposed
amendment by attending the public hearing on September 15,
2008 and/or by submitting a written objection by September 15,
2008 to Jay Campbell, Executive Director, North Carolina
Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel
Hill, NC 27517, fax (919) 246-1056, email
jcampbell@ncbop.org. The North Carolina Board of Pharmacy
is interested in all comments pertaining to the proposed rule.
All persons interested and potentially affected by the proposal
are strongly encouraged to read this entire notice and make
comments on the proposed rule.

Comments may be submitted to: Jay Campbell, 6015
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517, fax (919)
246-1056, email jcampbell@ncbop.org

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:
State
Local
Substantive (>$3,000,000)
None

(I
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SECTION .2100 - ELECTIONS

21 NCAC 46 .2107
COUNTING
(a) The Board shall provide a ballot to all eligible voters in
April of each year that there is an election for Board position(s).
The Board shall employ the following method for balloting:
(1) The Board shall provide access to an
electronic ballot to all eligible voters; and
(2) A paper_ballot shall be mailed, with return
envelope, to al-any eligible voters-in-Aprib-of
each-year—voter who makes a written request
for _a paper ballot in lieu of access to an
electronic ballot and whose request is actually
received by the Board on or before April 20.

(b) A brief-description of a nominee's gualifications,—provided
by-the-neminee-and-edited,H-necessary,by-the-secretary—shall
accompany—each-balot—qualifications shall be accessible to all

eligible voters casting their ballots electronically. The same
description of the nominee's qualifications shall accompany each
paper ballot sent pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule.

(c)_On or before May 15, allSecret ballots shall be cast inthe

envelope-provided-by-mail-er-electronically, physically delivered

to the Board office-in-the-envelope-provided-before-May-15.-or
postmarked, if the ballot is sent by U.S. mail.

(d) Ballots received shall be counted and certified by the Board
of Pharmacy Elections—at the next regularly scheduled May
Board meeting-meeting following an election. The Board of
Pharmacy Elections—shall determine the validity of any
challenged baHet—ballot, and electronic and/or mechanical
devices may be used in compiling election results. No person
running for election or re-election may participate in the
counting and certification of ballots for the election or re-
election involving that person.

(e) The seecretary-treasurer-Executive Director shall convey the
certified election results to the Governor.

BALLOTS: CASTING AND

Authority G.S. 90-85.7.

TITLE 23 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY

COLLEGES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges intends
to amend the rule cited as 23 NCAC 02D .0202.

Proposed Effective Date: November 1, 2008

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): To demand a
public hearing, please send the written demand to Q. Shante
Martin, NC Community College System, 200 West Jones Street,
MSC 5001, Raleigh, NC 27699-5001, or by emailing the
demand to martins@nccommunitycolleges.edu. Demands must
be received within 15 days of the publication of the proposed
rule in North Carolina Register.

Reason for Proposed Action: The State Board of Community
Colleges wants to simplify the process for colleges providing
tuition refunds.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Written objections shall be addressed to
President, NC Community College System Office, 5001 MSC,
Raleigh, NC 27699-5001 within the comment period, and must
be postmarked by 11:59 p.m. on the last day of the comment
period.

Comments may be submitted to: Q. Shante Martin, 200 West
Jones Street, MSC 5001, Raleigh, NC 27603, phone (919) 807-
6961, fax (919) 807-7171, email
martins@nccommunitycolleges.edu

Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:
State
Local
Substantive (>$3,000,000)
None

(I

CHAPTER 02 - COMMUNITY COLLEGES

SUBCHAPTER 02D - COMMUNITY COLLEGES:
FISCAL AFFAIRS

SECTION .0200 - STANDARD STUDENT FEES

23 NCAC 02D .0202 TUITION AND FEES FOR
CURRICULUM PROGRAMS
(@) Tuition:

1) Student Residence Classification. The
classification of students for tuition purposes
shall be made pursuant to G.S. 115B-2, 115D-
39, 116-143.1, 116-143.3, and 116-143.5.

2 Tuition Rates In-State:

(A) A general and uniform tuition rate is
established by the State Board as set
by the Legislature for full-time

23:02

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

JULY 15, 2008




PROPOSED RULES

(3)
(4)

()

(6)

(7)

curriculum students per semester or
term for North Carolina residents.

A North Carolina resident who is a
part-time student shall pay a per
credit hour rate for curriculum
instruction, as established by the State
Board, for any semester or term as set
by the Legislature.

Learning Laboratory. No tuition fees charged.
Tuition Creditable Upon Transfer of Student.
When a student has paid the required tuition at
a college and is given permission to transfer to
another college within the system during the
academic semester for which the tuition was
paid, the college from which the student
transfers shall issue to him a statement
certifying the amounts of tuition that have
been paid, and the college to which he is
transferring shall accept such certificate in lieu
of requiring payment again. [Also, see 23
NCAC 02D .0323(b)(2) which provides
information regarding reporting student hours
in membership.]

Tuition Student Enrolled in More Than One
College. Where a student desires to enroll for
the same semester at two or more colleges of
the system, the total amount of tuition and fees
may be paid to the student's "home" college.
"Home" college is defined as the college
which the student initially registers for classes.
The "home" college shall, in that case, assume
responsibility for arranging with the other
college or colleges for enrolling the student in
appropriate classes without further charge.
Such arrangement shall be made by exchange
of letters between the colleges involved.
Student membership hours for instruction
received shall, in any event, be reported by the
college in which the respective instruction
occurred.

Tuition Rates Out-of-State:

(A) Any full-time curriculum student who
is an out-of-state resident shall pay
tuition fees as established by the State
Board for each semester or term as set
by the Legislature.

An out-of-state resident who is a
part-time student shall pay a per
credit hour rate for curriculum
instruction as established by the State
Board as set by the Legislature.
Tuition Waivers:

(A) Individuals in the categories set forth
in G.S. 115D-5(b) shall be exempt
from tuition for specialized training
courses only, unless otherwise
permitted under this Rule.

College Staff Members. Full-time
college staff members employed for a

(B)

(B)

(B)

9, 10, 11, or 12 month term may
enroll in one curriculum or extension
course per semester, as well as the
summer term, in the system without
payment of tuition or registration fee.
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Program (BLET) for law enforcement
officers. All law enforcement
officers employed by a municipal,
county, state, or federal law
enforcement agency when taking
courses in a state-mandated BLET
training program, are exempt from
tuition payment. Also, trainees shall
be exempt from BLET class tuition if
a letter of sponsorship from a state,
county, or municipal law enforcement
agency is on file at the college.
Individuals meeting the criteria set
forth in G.S. 115B-2 shall not be
charged tuition.
High school students taking courses
pursuant to Paragraph (c) (concurrent
enrollment) and Paragraph (e)
(cooperative high school programs)
of 23 NCAC 02C .0305 of this
Chapter shall not be charged tuition.
Patients in state alcoholic
rehabilitation centers shall not be
charged tuition.
Juveniles committed to  the
Department of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention shall not be
charged tuition.
(H) Prison inmates shall not be charged
tuition.
(b) Pre-Enrollment Deposit. The local board of trustees may
establish a pre-enrollment deposit up to a maximum of fifteen
dollars ($15.00). The pre-enrollment deposit, if established, shall
be required only when a prospective student has made
application for admission and has been accepted. This advance
payment is not refundable unless the class(es) fails to materialize
or a refund is required by the death of the student. This advance
payment shall be deposited to the State Treasurer and credited
against the full tuition due from the student during the regular
registration period. For the purposes of this Rule, any tuition
refund granted shall not include the pre-enrollment deposit of the
student unless a refund is granted when a class fails to
materialize or because of the student's death.
(c) Late Enrollment Fee. A late enrollment fee up to five
dollars ($5.00) may be charged curriculum students registering
after the specific closing date of registration, with such fees
becoming state funds.
(d) Tuition Refunds. Each college shall allow a 100 percent
tuition refund up to and including the census date of the course.
Where a student, having paid the required tuition for a semester,
dies during that semester (prior to or on the last day of
examinations of the college the student was attending), all
tuition and fees for that semester shall be refunded to the estate

©

&)

(E)

(F)

G)
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of the deceased, upon request by the deceased's estate within 90
days of the student's death.

Carolina that make it impossible for them to
complete their course requirements; and
Buy back textbooks through the colleges'
bookstore operations to the extent possible.
Colleges shall use distance learning
technologies and other educational
methodologies to help these students, under
the guidance of faculty and administrative
staff, complete their course requirements.
(f)_Additional Rules for Tuition Refunds.

(1) As used in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the term
"census date” is defined as the official 10
percent point of any semester, term, or course
as noted in the college calendar.
For the purposes of Paragraph (d) of this Rule,
a_student is ineligible for a 100% refund
except when all withdrawals and enrollments
for the student are granted by a single college.
To comply with applicable federal regulations
regarding refunds, federal requlations shall
supersede the state refund requlations provided
in_this Rule to the extent the federal
requlations and  state  regulations  are

contradictory.

O]

(2)

3)

Authority G.S. 115D-5; 115D-39; 116-143.1; P.L. 93-508; S.L.
1995, c. 625.

TITLE 25 - DEPARTMENT OF STATE PERSONNEL

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the State Personnel Commission intends to amend the rules cited
as 25 NCAC 01C .1009; 01E .0210 and repeal the rule cited as
25 NCAC 01D .0517.

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2008

Public Hearing:

Date: August 13, 2008

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Office of State Personnel, 3™ Floor, Administration
Building, Raleigh, NC

Reason for Proposed Action: To clarify how vacation is paid
when an employee is separated.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: A person may object to these proposed rules by
one of the following methods: 1. A written letter to Peggy
Oliver, HR Policy Administrator, Office of State Personnel, 1331
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1331. 2. An email to
peggy.oliver@osp.nc.gov. 3. A telephone call to Peggy Oliver at
919-807-4832.

Comments may be submitted to: Peggy S. Oliver, 1331 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1331, phone (919) 807-
4832, fax (919) 715-9750, email peggy.oliver@osp.nc.gov

{A)——A-100-percentrefund-shall-be-made-if
to—the—first—day—ofclass(es)—ofthe
academic-semester-or-term-as-noted-in
thecollegecalendar—Also—a-student
s ellgllble I_en 2100 peleen trefund .'I
9“.'8'3‘|F|?. _eg|ste|ed“ s G&ll selled-cue

.

(8 A5-pereent _el_ul ds ta H-be-made

EI € stluele; t;elll_elally Wit d'a”sﬁl.'e. |
i v

c ig pmlee Hpol |t'el .EI e-semester I
than—the—first-week—(seven—calendar
daysy-of-thesemestera—100-percent

: hall ”
el_llelally "“;I d alws on .“ e. class
percentrefund-shal-be-made—if-the
class—priorto—or-on-the-10-percent
pointof-the-class:

{B)——A-100-percentrefund-shall-be-made-if
a-contact-hour—class—prior-to-the-first
day-of-class-of theacademic semeaster
orterm—orH-thecollegeeancels—the
elass—A—75percentretund-shal-be
withdraws—from-a—contact-hour—class
on-or-hefore-the-tenth-calendar day-of
the-elass:

@ Fo-co _II|9|> Wit applyleable federal |egulat|_e S
regarding—refu dSF Ieslelall . |egulatlel_s

) vvaere—a student—havi Ig, pa_lel the . equired
tuition—fo a—semestel gies—during—taat
serester (prior—to—or —oR—thelast —day —of
Exarmt atlze, '5” g'. .H ¢ eellleﬁge ? ¢ SI tudent-was
may-berefunded-to-the estate of the deceased:

.
) For—a elas.s(es) whic tl_e eellelge eelle.ets
into—theStateTreasury—account—the—colege
f loeal refund. policies.
(e) Military Tuition Refund. Upon request of the student, each
college shall:

Q) Grant a full refund of tuition and fees to
military reserve and National Guard personnel
called to active duty or active duty personnel
who have received temporary or permanent
reassignments as a result of military operations
then taking place outside the state of North
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Comment period ends: September 15, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:

] State
|:| Local
] Substantive (>$3,000,000)
|Z| None

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL

SUBCHAPTER 01C - PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION

SECTION .1000 - SEPARATION

25 NCAC 01C .1009
VACATION LEAVE

SEPARATION: PAYMENT OF

Payment for vacation leave shall be in accordance with 25
NCAC 01E .0210.

Authority G.S. 28-A-25-6(a)(c); 126-4.
SUBCHAPTER 01D - COMPENSATION
SECTION .0500 - SEPARATION

25 NCAC 01D .0517 LEAVE

X . ' I - | :
accumulatedvacation-leave:

0 S.IG|E I=ea”ue Fee ulat_eﬁel su;lelleaue at—the—H € 9.'
three-years:

Authority G.S. 126-4(6),(10).
SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS
SECTION .0200 - VACATION LEAVE

25 NCAC 01E .0210
VACATION LEAVE
(a) Lump sum payment for vacation leave is made only at the
time of separation.

(b) When separated from state service due to resignation,
dismissal, reduction-in-force or death, an employee shall be paid
in a lump sum for accumulated vacation leave not to exceed a
maximum of 240 hours. The employee is not entitled to any
scheduled holiday occurring after the last day of work. The
employee ceases to accumulate leave and ceases to be entitled to
take sick leave. The last day of work is the date of separation.
(c) When separated from state service due to service retirement
orretirement, early retirement, or reduction in force, an employee
may-may, at the discretion of management, elect to exhaust
vacation leave after the last day of work but prior to the effective
date of retirement.the separation. All benefits accrue while leave
is being exhausted including holidays that occur during the
period. Unused leave not exhausted shall be paid in a lump sum
not to exceed 240 hours. An employee who was reduced in
force and who had over 240 hours of vacation leave at the time
of separation shall have the excess leave reinstated when
reemployed within one year. The date of separation is as
follows:

SEPARATION: PAYMENT OF

(1) If leave is exhausted, the last day of leave is
the date of separation.
2 If no leave is exhausted, the last day of work is

the date of separation.
(d) If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave,
deductions shall be made from the final salary check.

travel-due:

{H(e) Retirement deduction shall be made from all leave
payments.

{g)(f) Receipt of lump sum leave payment and retirement benefit
shall not be considered as dual compensation.

{h)(g) In the case of a deceased employee, payment for unpaid
salary, leave, and travel must be made, upon establishment of a
valid claim, to the deceased employee's administrator or
executor. In the absence of an administrator or executor,
payment must be made in accordance with the provisions of G.S.
28A-25-6.

Authority G.S. 28A-25-6(a),(c); 126-4.
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina’'s Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of
Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698. Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Beecher R. Gray Randall May
Selina Brooks A. B. Elkins Il
Melissa Owens Lassiter Joe Webster
Don Overby Shannon Joseph
CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
AGENCY NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Partnership T/A C Js Lounge v. ABC Commission 07 ABC 0201  Overby 03/11/08
Benita, Inc., T/A Pantana Bob's v. ABC Commission 07 ABC 1584  Overby 04/21/08 23:01 NCR 141
Original Grad, Inc/ T/A Graduate Food and Pub 07 ABC 1648  Joseph 02/25/08
AM Enterprises of Fayetteville, Inc., T/A Izzy's Sports Bar v. ABC 08 ABC 0371 Lassiter 06/13/08
Commission
Bhavesh Corporation, T/A K&B Foomart v. ABC Commission 08 ABC 0508  Overby 05/19/08

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION
Carrie R. McDougal v. Victims Compensation Services Division 07 CPS 1970 Elkins 05/23/08

Steel Supply and Erection Co., Department of Crime Control and Public
Safety, Division of State Highway Patrol and Department of Revenue 08 CPS 0777 Overby 05/29/08

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Arthur Burch and Margaret and Burch v. Department of Health and 07 DHR 0242  Brooks 04/30/08
Human Services

Judy E. Pettus v. Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Thomas B. Clark, 07 DHR 0535  Webster 05/05/08
lii, Md, Pathologist

Shirley Brooks Dial v. Health Care Personnel Registry 07 DHR 0931  Webster 02/27/08

Midtown Food Mart #2, Kerab Giebrehiwot, Mehreteab Wooldeghebibel 07 DHR 1044  Webster 04/25/08
and Fesseha Zeru

Midtown Food Mart 111, Chenet Haileslassi and Fesseha Zeru v. DHHS 07 DHR 1045  Webster 04/28/08

Mrs. Elizabeth Futrell v. Value Options 07 DHR 1331  Lassiter 06/09/08

Cornell Jones v. DHHS, Division of Health Services Regulation 07 DHR 1399  Joseph 04/22/08

Dianetta Foye v. Division of Child Development, DHHS, Services 07 DHR 1440  Joseph 05/07/08

Ray Dukes, Bright Future Learning Center v. DHHS, Division of Public 07 DHR 1473  Joseph 04/08/08
Health, Child and Adult Care Food Program

Hospice of the Piedmont, Inc., v. DHHS, Division of Health Service 07 DHR 1617  Elkins 05/21/08

Regulation, Licensure and Certification Section and DHHS,
Division of Health Service Regulation, CON Section

Janice Addison v. Value Options 07 DHR 1618  Webster 05/16/08
Rebecca Dehart v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 07 DHR 1650  Elkins 05/21/08
Health Care Personnel Registry Section
Ellen Brown v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Health 07 DHR 1651  Elkins 05/21/08
Care Personnel Registry Section
Joann Lennon v. Value Options Medicaid 07 DHR 1770  Webster 05/16/08
Angeline Currie v. DHHS 07 DHR 1986  Elkins 06/04/08
Tameala Jones v. OAH 07 DHR 1993  Webster 05/16/08
Dianetta Foye v. Division of Child Development, DHHS, Services 07 DHR 2020  Joseph 05/07/08
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Family & Youth Services, Inc. Angela Ford, President v. DHHS, 07 DHR 2057

Division of Medical Assistance Provider Services
Yolanda Jones v. DHHS, Adult Licensure Section

07 DHR 2081

Tianna Troy Legal guardian Mother Traci Lookadoo v. Value Option 07 DHR 2087

Alexis Ford/Linda M McLauglin v. DHHS

Kevin McMillian/Linda M McLaughlin v. DHHS
Maurisha Bethea/Linda McLaughlin v. DHHS
Anna Fields v. Value Options

Larry Hopper v. DHHS

Shelby Davis v. DHHS

Lenora King v. DHHS

Forest Mewborn v. Health Care Personnel Registry
Wilma Jackson v. Value Options

Carmelita Wiggins v. Value Options

Lisa Helms v. DHHS

Mamauie Aytch v. DHHS

Fannie M. Wilson v. OAH

07 DHR 2111
07 DHR 2239
07 DHR 2240
07 DHR 2326
07 DHR 2356

08 DHR 0014
08 DHR 0034
08 DHR 0043
08 DHR 0082
08 DHR 0198
08 DHR 0255
08 DHR 0325
08 DHR 0393

Angela D Seabrooks/The Jabez House LLC v. DHHS/Division of Mental 08 DHR 0403
Health, Developmental and Substance Abuse Services, The Guilford

Center
William McCray Pretty v. DHHS, Division of Facility Services 08 DHR 0411
Earline Ross (Quentin Galloway) v. DHHS (Medicaid) 08 DHR 0549
Frances Milligan v. DHHS 08 DHR 0566
Betty Williams v. DHHS 08 DHR 0570
Susan Nelson v. Medicaid 08 DHR 0573
Brent Morris Per Dedrea Moors (Mother) v. Priscilla Valet, DMA 08 DHR 0585
Brenda M. Finney v. Medicaid 08 DHR 0586
Lakeva Robinson v. DMA/Value Options 08 DHR 0625
Tina Miller v. OAH, DHHS 08 DHR 0661
Michelle D. Mills v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 08 DHR 0712
Faith Davis v. Pride in North Carolina Value Options 08 DHR 0746
Evonne Neal v. Medicaid 08 DHR 0748
Lula Bowden v. OAH 08 DHR 0852
Donovan Harris v. Value Options 08 DHR 0894
Janice Chavis v. DHHS 08 DHR 0923
Frankie Nicole Carter v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 08 DHR 0929
Evangeline Ingram v. Value Options 08 DHR 0997
Maureen Jordan parent of Destinne Jordan v. Value Options 08 DHR 1005
Martha Washington Harper v. DSS 08 DHR 1041
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Dallas Ray Joyner v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 0719

Commission
Richard Junior Hopper v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 1071
Sheldon Avery McCoy v. Criminal Justice Education and Training 07 DOJ 1162

Standards Commission
David Steven Norris v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 1256

Brian Campbell v. Department of Justice, Company Police Program 07 DOJ 1344

John Mark Goodin v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board

07 DOJ 1405

James Lee Rodenberg v. Depart. of Justice, Company Police Program 07 DOJ 1434

Michael L. Scriven v. Private Protective Services Board

07 DOJ 1483

Roger Wayne Mungo, Jr., Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 1510

Commission

Iris Nina Bumpass v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 2071

Commission

Jonathan R. Elam v. Private Protective Services Board
Wilford Odell Hamlin v. Private Protective Services Board

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

08 DOJ 0568
08 DOJ 0713

Kevin Douglas v. Dept. of Justice Criminal Justice Standards, DMV 07 DOT 2221

License and Theft, Holly Springs Police Department

DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER

Patricia V. Leonard v. State Treasurer/Retirement Systems Division 07 DST 1928

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF

Bradford Dale Gulley v. Depart. of Education Attorney Generals Office 07 EDC 1486

Lucretia Burrus v. State Board of Education
Gregory Bates v. DPI, Licensure Section
Heather S. Brame v. State Board of Education

07 EDC 2210
07 EDC 2238
07 EDC 2287

Webster

Webster
Elkins
Elkins
Elkins
Elkins
Joseph
May

Lassiter
Joseph
Elkins
Joseph
Webster
Overby
Elkins
Webster
Joseph

Webster
May
May
Joseph
May
May
Joseph
May
Lassiter
Joseph
Overby
May
May
May
Lassiter
Brooks
Gray
Gray
Brooks

Overby

Webster
Mann

Elkins
Webster
Lassiter
Webster
Elkins
Overby

Webster

Webster
Joseph

Webster

Lassiter

Webster
Webster
Gray
Joseph

05/16/08

05/16/08
05/23/08
06/04/08
06/04/08
06/04/08
06/02/08
06/20/08

05/09/08
05/01/08
05/23/08
06/02/08
05/16/08
06/17/08
05/23/08
06/17/08
06/09/08

06/12/08
06/09/08
06/19/08
06/02/08
06/09/08
06/09/08
06/09/08
05/28/08
06/10/08
06/09/08
05/28/08
06/20/08
06/20/08
06/19/08
05/19/08
06/19/08
06/10/08
06/19/08
06/23/08

04/15/08

02/21/08
04/07/08

04/16/08
02/25/08
04/04/08
02/25/08
03/25/08
05/19/08

05/16/08

05/08/08
05/01/08
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05/07/08
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Hubert Thomas Byrum v. Office of State Superintendent 08 EDC 0619 Gray 06/04/08

DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Robin R. Moore v. DENR, Division of Waste Management 06 EHR 1479 Lassiter 03/24/08

NC Coastal Federation v. DENR, Division of Coastal Management and 07 EHR 0345 Lassiter 04/07/08
Wind over Waves, LLC

Terry Hill DAQ 2007-015 v. DENR, Division of Air Quality 07 EHR 0937 Morrison 04/08/08

Frank Home Construction, Inc. v. Division of Water Quality 07 EHR 1061  Webster 05/12/08

Kenneth & Mary Anne Sutton v. DENR, Division of Coastal 07 EHR 1316 Overby 05/09/08
Management

W Russell Overman Martin County Water & Sewer District v. DENR 08 EHR 0345 Gray 06/10/08
Public Water Supply Section

Ray Poole's Park, Jean Poole v. DENR, Public Water Supply Section 08 EHR 0563  Joseph 05/16/08

Joel M. Walker v. Division of Water Quality Well Contractors 08 EHR 0985  Joseph 06/11/08
Certification Commission

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Sandra Vanderbeek v. Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive 07 INS 1130 Overby 03/12/08
Major Medical Plan

Alesha D Carter v. State Health Plan 07 INS 1858 Lassiter 05/19/08

MISCELLANEOUS

Kevin Edral Douglas v. Wake County District Attorney, DMV 07 MIS 1976 Webster 05/12/08

OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL

Marsha A Early v. Durham County Department of Social Services 01 OSP 0279 Lassiter 04/02/08

Jacqueline B. Maynard v. UNC 07 OSP 0575 Webster 04/08/08

Warren R. Follum v. NCSU 07 OSP 0577 Webster 03/21/08

Sharon P. House v. UNC 07 OSP 0630 Webster 04/08/08

Michael Shelton Woody v. DENR, Division of Forest Resources 07 OSP 1255 Brooks 05/13/08

Kellee M. Buck v. Dare County Department of Social Services 07 OSP 1385 Overby 05/27/08

Dennis E. Hrynkow v. Dept. of Insurance 07 OSP 1400 Joseph 04/03/08

Adley K. Prager v. Dept. of Crime Control and Public Safety and 07 OSP 2011 Webster 05/29/08
Butner Public Safety

Charlene J. Shaw v. Peter Bucholz, Hoke Correctional Institution 07 OSP 2012 Joseph 04/07/08

Jacqueline Burkes v. DOC, Hoke 4320, Mr. Peter Bucholz 07 OSP 2047 Joseph 04/07/08

Charles Jones v. Bryan Beatty, Secretary of Crime Control & Public 07 OSP 2222 Morrison 06/05/08 23:01 NCR 147
Safety and The Dept. of Crime Control & Public Safety (NC
Highway Patrol)

Kimberly James v. UNC-Charlotte 08 OSP 0146 Webster 05/08/08

Nancy Hester v. Guilford County AOC Pretrial Services 08 OSP 0224 Overby 06/19/08

Richard D. Lincoln v. DOT 08 OSP 0801 Gray 05/27/08

Robert M. Hewitt v. Morrison Correctional Institute 08 OSP 0971 Gray 06/26/08

Kenyatta Burrus v. Craven County Clerk of Superior Court 08 OSP 1089 Overby 06/12/08

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

Angelique Thompson v. Respiratory Care Board 07RCB 1176  Gray 03/13/08 23:01 NCR 153

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Parker Bark Company Inc. v. Department of Revenue 08 REV 1228 Overby 06/17/08

UNC HOSPITALS

Rolie Adrienne Webb "Andi" v. UNC Hospitals 08 UNC 0881  Gray 06/11/08

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Lisa Roddy v. Wildlife Resources Commission 08 WRC 0970  Brooks 06/24/08
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