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Contact List for Rulemaking Questions or Concerns

For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult
with the agencies below. The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address,
but are not inclusive.

Rule Notices, Filings, Register, Deadlines, Copies of Proposed Rules, etc.

Office of Administrative Hearings
Rules Division

Capehart-Crocker House

424 North Blount Street

Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-2817

contact: Molly Masich, Codifier of Rules
Dana Vojtko, Publications Coordinator
Julie Edwards, Editorial Assistant
Felicia Williams, Editorial Assistant

Rule Review and Legal Issues
Rules Review Commission
1307 Glenwood Ave., Suite 159
Raleigh, North Carolina 27605

contact: Joe DeLuca Jr., Commission Counsel
Bobby Bryan, Commission Counsel
Angela Person, Administrative Assistant
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Reuben Young
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jeffreyh@ncleg.net

County and Municipality Government Questions or Notification
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215 North Dawson Street
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2) notices of rule-making proceedings;

(3)  text of proposed rules;

(4)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal
incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165;

(6)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(7)  final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H;

(8)  orders of the Tax Review Board issued under
G.S. 105-241.2; and

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina
Register is not included. The last day of the period so
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday,
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday
for employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State
employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.

FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY: This date is
the first legislative day of the next regular session of
the General Assembly following approval of the rule
by the Rules Review Commission. See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules.
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EXECUTVE ORDERS

MICHAEL F. EASLEY
GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 134
EXTENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 123
EMERGENCY RELIEF FOR DAMAGE CAUSED BY DROUGHT

By the power vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and laws of the State of
North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

Executive Order No. 123, regarding emergency relief for damage caused by the drought,
is hereby extended until January 31, 2008, based on a review of current market and weather
conditions and on the recommendation of the Commissioner of the North Carolina Department
of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

This order is effective immediately and shall remain in affect for 30 days or the duration
of the emergency whichever is less.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, [ have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this twentieth day of
December in the year of our Lord two thousand and seven, and of the Independence of the

United States of America the two hundred and thirty-second.

Michael F. Easley
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. !
Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

Note from the Codifier: This Section contains public notices that are required to be published in the Register or have been approved
by the Codifier of Rules for publication.

Note from the Codifier

North Carolina Register
Volume 22, Issue 14
January 15, 2008

The print copy of the NC Register, Volume 22, Issue 14 January 15, 2008, distributed by Lexis-Nexis included formatting errors to
proposed rules. The formatting errors for some rules did not include strike through and underlining of text. No words or text were
omitted.

The proposed rules, as published by the Office of Administrative Hearings in the official on the internet NC Register as required by

G.S. 150B-21.24, were correctly formatted.
http://www.ncoah.com/rules/register/Volume22Issue14January152008.pdf

For the convenience of the print copy recipients, the text of the proposed rules contained in the notices published in the January 15

issue are reprinted below.

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES
CHAPTER 42 - GASOLINE AND OIL INSPECTION
BOARD

SECTION .0100 - PURPOSE AND DEFINITIONS

02 NCAC 42 .0102 DEFINITIONS

Except as otherwise defined in Chapter 119, North Carolina
General Statutes, the definitions applicable in this Chapter are as
follows:

(1) "ASTM" means the—Awmerican—Seeciety—for

Festing-and Materials—ASTM International.
(2) "Approved lead substitute" means an EPA

registered gasoline additive formulated to
reduce valve seat recession in engines
designed to operate on leaded gasoline.

(3) "Biodiesel" means a fuel comprised of mono-
alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived
from vegetable oils or animal fats, designated
B100. and meeting the requirements of ASTM
D 6751.

4) "Biodiesel Blend" means a blend of biodiesel
meeting ASTM D 6751 with petroleum-based
diesel fuel meeting ASTM D 975 or fuel oil
meeting ASTM D 396 and designated BXX,
where XX represents the volume percentage of
biodiesel in the blend.

)5) "Board" means the Gasoline and Oil
Inspection Board.
“(6) "Cetane number" means the relative ignition

quality of diesel fuels by the ASTM Cetane
Method B-643-D 613.

"Denatured fuel ethanol" means ethanol
meeting the provisions of ASTM DB-4806,-D
4806,"Standard Specification for Denatured
Fuel Ethanol to be Blended with Gasolines for

Use as an Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine

Fuel."

@0)(8) "Director" means the direeter-Director of the
Standards Division of the North Carolina
Department of Agrienlture—Agriculture and
Consumer Services.

@BH(9) "Distributor" means any person who transports
or stores or causes the transportation or storage
of gasoline at any point between any gasoline
refinery or importer's facility and any retail
outlet or wholesale purchaser-consumer's
facility.

&)
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IN ADDITION

10) "E85" means a petroleum product that is a
blend of denatured ethanol and gasoline or
natural gasoline of which the ethanol portion is
nominally 70 to 85 percent ethanol by volume
and meeting the requirements of ASTM D
5798.

é2)(11) "EPA" means the United States Environmental
Protection Agency.

#3)(12) "Leaded" means any  gasoline  or
gasoline-oxygenate blend which contains more
than 0.05 gram lead per U.S. gallon (0.013
gram lead per liter) or contains an approved
lead substitute which provides a lead
equivalency of at least 0.10 gram lead per U.S.
gallon (0.026 gram per liter).

€4 (13) "Liquefied petroleum gas" means any material
which is composed predominantly of any of
the following hydrocarbons or mixtures of
same: propane, propylene, butanes (normal or
iso-butane), and butylenes.

&5)(14) "Motor Octane Number" means the number
describing the relative anti-knock
characteristic of a motor fuel determined by

ASTM Motor Method (B-2766). (D 2700).
" 1 "

cH6) W jg],]] g he-definii jg

(15) "NCWM" means the National Conference on
Weights and Measures.

(16) "NIST" means the National Institute of
Standards and Technology.

(17 "Octane Index" means the number obtained by
adding the research octane number and the
motor octane number and dividing the sum by
two.

" 1 "

Eahrenheit:

H9(18) "Oxygenate" means any substance which,
when added to gasoline, increases the amount
of oxygen in that gasoline, and which has been
approved by EPA for use in gasoline.

" M " M

26) Y&l gl hicl ”3g
that gaseline-

(19) "Premium Diesel" means a refined middle
distillate petroleum product that meets the
specifications of ASTM D 975 and NIST
Handbook 130, Uniform Engine Fuels
Petroleum Products and Automotive
Lubricants Regulation, section 2.2.1.

£2H(20) "Qualitative word or term" means any word or
term used in a brand name which by definition
or customary usage indicates a level of quality,
classification, grade, or designation.

£22)(21) "Regular" when used as part of a brand name
or as a grade designation for gasoline or
gasoline-oxygenate blend shall be construed to
mean a—leaded—an unleaded regular grade
commercial automotive gasoline or
gasoline-oxygenate blend—unless—the—brand

o desionati | e 1l

equivalentmeaning—blend.

(22) "Renewable Diesel Fuel" means a fuel which
is not a mono-alkyl ester; meets the
registration requirements for fuels and fuel
additives established by the Environmental
Protection Agency under section 7545 of the
Clean Air Act; is intended for use in engines
that are designed to run on conventional,
petroleum derived diesel fuel; is derived from
nonpetroleum renewable resources including
but not limited to, vegetable oil, animal
wastes, including poultry fats and poultry
wastes, and other waste materials, or
municipal solid waste and sludges and oils
derived from wastewater and the treatment of
wastewater; and meets the latest version of
ASTM specification D 975.

(23) "Research Octane Number" means the number
describing the relative anti-knock
characteristic of a motor fuel determined by

ASTM Research Method (B-2699)- (D 2699).
" 1"
4 EEIE. E ]E E” ype 55:: oTpare .SIE

or-a-whelesale-purchaser-consumer-
%@ - . . . - . .

"Retail" means the sale or offering for sale of
gasoline to the ultimate consumer for use in a
motor vehicle.

B 5

2H(25) "Substantially Similar" rule means the B-S-
United States Environmental Protection
Agency's "Substantially Similar" rule, Section
211 (f) (1) of the Clean Air Act [42 U.S.C.
7545 (f) (1)].

28)(26) "Terminal" means a facility at which gasoline
is dispensed into trucks for transportation to
retail outlets or wholesale purchaser-consumer
facilities.

" "

BH(27) "Unleaded" means any gasoline or
gasoline-oxygenate blend to which no lead or
phosphorus compounds have been
intentionally added and which contains not
more than 0.05 gram lead per U.S. gallon
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IN ADDITION

(0.013 gram lead per liter) and not more than
0.005 gram phosphorus per U.S. gallon
(0.0013 gram phosphorus per liter).

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1.

SECTION .0200 - QUALITY OF LIQUID FUEL
PRODUCTS

02 NCAC 42 .0201 STANDARD SPECIFICATIONS

(a) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM DB-4814—-D 4814."Standard
Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as

standard specification for gasoline with the following
modifications:

(1) Applications for temporary exceptions to

vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio

specifications ~as  provided in  this
Subparagraph may be made to the
direetor-Director. Said applications shall
contain evidence satisfactory—to—the—director
that outlets marketing gasoline in North
Carolina cannot feasibly-be supplied from bulk
terminals furnishing specified volatility level
gasoline or that customary sources of supply
have been temporarily interrupted by product
shortage and alternate sources furnishing
specified volatility level gasoline are not
available. Such temporary exceptions granted
shall apply only until the next meeting of the
beard-Board at which time the beard-Board
shall establish the duration of the exception;

2) The minimum lead content for gasoline
registered or labeled as "leaded" er =
shall be as defined in Rule—0102—eof this
Chapters-02 NCAC 42 .0102;

3) Vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio seasonal
specifications as listed in this Subparagraph
may be extended for a maximum period of 15
days to allow for the disbursement of old
stocks. However, new stocks of a higher
volatility classification shall not be offered for
retail sale prior to the effective date of the
higher volatility classification.

(b) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM DB-48t4—D 4814,"Standard
Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as
standard specification for alcohol blends with the following
modifications:

(1) A vapor pressure tolerance not exceeding one
pound per square ineh:inch for ethanol blends
of up to 10 percent;

2) Vapor pressure and-vaperiiquid-ratio-seasonal
specifications as listed in this Subparagraph
may be extended for a maximum period of 15
days to allow for the disbursement of old
stocks. However, new stocks of a higher
volatility classification shall not be offered for
retail sale prior to the effective date of the
higher volatility classification;

3) Applications for temporary exceptions to
vapor pressure and—vaperdiquid—ratio
specifications as  provided in  this
Subparagraph may be made to the
direetor-Director. ~ Said applications shall
contain evidence satisfactory to the direetor
Director that outlets marketing gasoline in
North Carolina cannot feasibly be supplied
from bulk terminals furnishing specified
volatility level gasoline or that customary
sources of supply have been temporarily
interrupted by product shortage and alternate
sources furnishing specified volatility level
gasoline are not available. Such temporary
exceptions granted shall apply only until the
next meeting of the beard-Board at which time
the beard-Board shall establish the duration of
the exception;

@) The minimum temperature at 50 percent
evaporated shall be 158-degrees E-(70-degrees
€ 150 degrees F (66 degrees C) as
determined by ASTM Test Method B-86:-D
86 for ethanol blends of up to 10 percent;

5) The minimum lead content for
gaseline/oxygenate—gasoline and  alcohol
blends registered or labeled as "leaded" ef
“regular'shall be as defined in Rele-0102-of
this-Chapter;: 02 NCAC 42 .0102;

6) Octane rating shall not be less than the octane
index certified on the brand name registration
as required by 2 02 NCAC 42 .0500;

@) All blends, both leaded and unleaded, shall be
blended according to the EPA "Substantially
Similar" rule or an EPA waiver for unleaded
fuel,

®) Water tolerance shall be such that no phase
separation occurs when subjected to a
temperature equal to the temperatures
specified in Fable-4-ASTM-DB-4814—the table
for "Maximum Temperature for Phase
Separation, °C," ASTM D 4814;

9 The vapor/liquid ratio specification shall be
waived for ethanol blends of up to 10 percent.
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IN ADDITION

(c) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM DB-975.-D 975, "Standard
Specification for Diesel Fuel Oils" as standard specification for
diesel motor fuels and renewable diesel fuels with the following
modification: For diesel motor fuel grade 2-D, the minimum
flash point as determined by ASTM Test Method B-56-D 56
shall be 115 degrees E(46-degrees-€)-F (46 degrees C).

(d) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM B-396—-D 396, "Standard
Specification for Fuel Oils" as standard specification for fuel
oils—oils and blends of biodiesel and fuel oil.

(e) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM DB-3699-D 3699, "Standard
Specification for Kerosene" as standard specification for
kerosenes with the following modification: For grade 2-K, the
presence or absence of coloring matter shall in no way be
determinative of whether a substance meets the requirements of
this grade of kerosene.

(f) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM D 6751, "Standard
Specification for Biodiesel (B100) Blend Stock for Distillate
Fuels" as standard specification for biodiesel (B100) and for B99
(a_blend of 99 percent biodiesel and one percent petroleum
diesel).

(2) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, ASTM D 5798. "Standard
Specification for Fuel Fthanol (Ed75-Ed85) for Automotive
Spark-Ignition Engines" as standard specification for E85 fuel
ethanol.

(h) The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent
amendments and editions, NIST Handbook 130, "Uniform
Engine Fuels, Petroleum Products and Automotive Lubricants
Regulation," section 2.2.1 "Premium Diesel Fuel" as the
standard specification of premium diesel fuels in addition to
ASTM D 975. Copies of this document may be obtained at no
cost from the NIST Web site -
http://ts.nist.gov/WeightsandMeasures/.

H(1) In addition to meeting all specification requirements as set
forth in this Rule, each fuel must be suitable for the intended
use. Motor fuels shall not contain concentrations of methyl
tertiary butyl ether (MTBE) in violation of G.S. 119-26.3.

() ASTM documents adopted by reference herein are
available for inspection in the Offiee-office of the Director of the
Standards Division and may be obtained from ASTM;—1916
ASTM—ASTM International, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, PO Box
C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959 or their Web site -
www.astm.org, at the following cost for each document: D 396,
thirty-five dollars ($35.00); D 975. forty-one dollars ($41.00); D
3699, thirty dollars ($30.00); D 4814, forty-seven dollars
($47.00); D 5798, thirty-five dollars ($35.00); and D 6571,
thirty-five dollars ($35.00).

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 119-26.3; 150B-14.

SECTION .0300 - SALE OF GASOLINE

02 NCAC 42 .0301 GASOLINE SOLD UNDER
LABEL NAME OR BRAND

(a) All gasoline sold at wholesale or retail in North Carolina
shall be sold under the label, name, or brand name under which
the gasoline was first purchased for resale in North Carolina,
except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(b) The owner of any gasoline purchased for sale-er-resale in
North Carolina may sell such gasoline under a label, name, or
brand other than that under which the gasoline was purchased
provided that a retice-ofintentionto-change-the-labelname,or
brand-Motor Fuel Brand Name Registration form is filed with
the direeter—Director.

Authority G.S. 119-26.
SECTION .0400 - DISPENSING DEVICES AND PUMPS

02 NCAC 42 .0401
DEVICES

(a) For the purpose of product identity, each dispensing device
used in the retailing of any motor fuel shall be plainly and
conspicuously labeled with the following:

) for—gaseline,—For gasoline and gasoline-
oxygenate blends of up to 10 percent ethanol,
the registered brand name;

2) fer-For diesel fuel, the registered brand name
plus a descriptive or generic label if the
registered brand name does not adequately
identify the type andfer-grade of product;

3) For biodiesel and biodiesel blends, the
registered brand name plus a descriptive or
generic label if the registered brand name does
not adequately identify the type or grade of
product;
for-For gasoline-oxygenate blends containing
at least one percent by volume of methanol,
the registered brand name plus an additional
label which states that the blend "contains
methanol." The label shall be composed of
letters at least one inch in height, minimum
one-eighth inch stroke, which contrast
distinctly with the label background and shall
be affixed to the dispenser front panel in a
position clear and conspicuous from the
driver's position. Exceptions to this Rule are:
(A) for-For fuels not covered by an EPA

waiver, the additional label shall

identify the percent by volume of
ethanol or methanol in the blend; and
(B) for—For fuels meeting the EPA's

"Substantially Similar" rule and

which do not contain methanol, no

additional label is required—required;

(%) For E85 fuel ethanol, the registered brand
name.

(b) Each dispensing device used in the retailing of products
other than motor fuel shall be plainly and conspicuously labeled
as follows:

LABELING OF DISPENSING

(4)
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(1) Kerosene shall be labeled as either 1-K
Kerosene or 2-K Kerosene. In addition, each
dispenser shall contain one of the following
legends as appropriate:

(A) On 1-K kerosene dispensers, the
legend "Suitable For Use In Unvented
Heaters"; or

(B) On 2-K kerosene dispensers, the
legend "May Not Be Suitable For Use
In Unvented Heaters";

2) Other products shall be labeled with either the
applicable generic name or a brand name
which identifies the type of product.

(¢) Whenever a motor fuel or other product provided for in this
Section is offered for sale, sold, or delivered at retail in barrels,
casks, cans, or other containers, each container shall be labeled
in accordance with this Section and in accordance with 15
U.S.C. 1451 et. seg-seq., the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act.
(d) If a dispenser is so designed that twe—one or more
hese/nezzles—which—are-hoses connected to a common housing
dispense more than one type or grade of product, means shall be
provided to clearly indicate the identity of the product being
dispensed from each hesefozzle—hose.

Authority G.S. 119-27.
SECTION .0500 - REGISTRATION AND BRANDING

02 NCAC 42 .0501 BRANDING AND
REGISTRATION OF MOTOR FUELS

(a) All motor fuels offered for sale, sold, or delivered to a
purchaser in this State shall be branded, and each and every

brand name shall be registered,—together—with—equality

speeifieations;—registered with the direetor—Director on forms
provided by the direetor—Inhis-diseretionsthe-direetor-Director.

The Director:

(N may require written—eertification—or—other
satisfaetory—evidenee—proof of compliance for
any motor fuel which is subject to federal

Federal waiver requirements or other
applicable laws or regulations; and

(2) may require any person desiring to register a
motor fuel for which there exists no generally
recognized  classification, basic  quality
standards, or performance record, to submit, in
writing, the following:

(A) certified test data and performance
evaluations; and
(B) detailed chemical
characteristics.
This information shall be from independent sources of
recognized qualification or otherwise satisfactory to the direetor;
Director, and shall be submitted before an application for
registration will be considered.
(b) Any brand name registration under this Section shall in no
way supersede federal—Frademark—Faw—Federal or state
trademark law or state BrandnameFaw—brand name law.

and physical

Authority G.S. 119-26.

SECTION .0800 - OXYGENATED GASOLINE

02 NCAC 42 .0801

PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 143-215.107.

02 NCAC 42 .0802 OXYGEN CONTENT
I addit | . i Section_0200-of this C} ’

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 143-215.107.

02 NCAC 42 .0803 RECORD KEEPING AND
TRANSFER REQUIREMENTS

(&) ; H p;* ?e’s *ﬂ] ﬁ]*]e gasoline dismbuiaeﬂ networls s deself. ibed
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and—whichservecontrolareas—shall-maintain  Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 143-215.107.

] nine the_followine ink o
A)——The—owner(s)—of —each—bateh—of 02 NCAC 42 .0804 GASOLINE DISPENSER
caseline: LABELING

partiesfrom—whem—all shipments—of  Authority G.S. 119-26.1; 119-27; 143-215.107.

gaseline—were—purchased-orreeetved;

and—the—dates—when—they—were 02 NCAC 42 .0805 SAMPLING, TESTING AND

reecived: OXYGEN CONTENT CALCULATIONS
B)—Data—en—everyshipment—of-gaseline —Samphinemethodologiesusedto-determine

" L area. et in ASTM soccification DAY1A.
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-

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 143-215.107.

02 NCAC 42 .0806
ENFORCEMENT

E—Purirethe HrstH-days—ofthe controlpertod—oasotine

COMPLIANCE AND

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 119-27; 143-215.107.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES

SECTION .0700 - HEALTH AND OTHER STANDARDS
FOR CENTER STAFF

o PP
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10A NCAC 09 .0705
REQUIREMENTS
(a) At least one staff member shall be knowledgeable of and
able to recognize common symptoms of illness.

(b) Staff who have completed within—thelast—three—years—a
course in basic first aid-aid, shall be present at all times children
are present._First aid training shall be renewed on or before
expiration of the certification or every three years, whichever is
less. The number of staff required to complete the course shall
be based on the number of children present as shown in the
following chart:

SPECIAL TRAINING

Number of staff trained in
first aid required

1-29 1 staff

30-79 2 staff

80 and above 3 staff

Number of children present

Verification of each required staff person's completion of this
course shall be maintained in the person's individual personnel
file in the center. The basic first aid course shall address
principles for responding to emergencies, resene-breathing; and
techniques for handling common childhood injuries, accidents
and illnesses such as: choking, burns, fractures, bites and stings,
wounds, scrapes, bruises, cuts and lacerations, poisoning,
seizures, bleeding, allergic reactions, eye and nose injuries and
sudden changes in body temperature.

(c) A first aid information sheet shall be posted in a prominent
place for quick referral. An acceptable form may be requested
free of charge from the North Carolina Child Care Health and
Safety Resource Center.

(d) Each child care center shall have at least one person on the
premises at all times, and at least one person who accompanies
the children whenever they are off the premises, who has current

certification in sueeessfully-completed-withinthelast 12 -menths

a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course provided by either
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the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross or
other organizations approved by the Division. Other
organizations shall be approved if the Division determines that
the courses offered are substantially equivalent to those offered
by the American Red Cross. Successfully completed is defined
as demonstrating competency, as evaluated by the instructor, in
performing CPR. The course shall provide training in CPR
appropriate for the ages of children in care. Documentation of
successful completion of the course from the American Heart
Association, the American Red Cross, or other organization
approved by the Division shall be on file in the center.

(e) Staff shall complete at least four clock hours of training in
safety. This training shall address playground safety hazards,
playground supervision, maintenance and general upkeep of the
outdoor area, and age and developmentally appropriate
playground equipment. Staff counted to comply with this Rule
shall have six months from the date of employment, or from the
date a vacancy occurs, to complete the required safety training.
The number of staff required to complete this training shall be as
follows:

(1) In centers with a licensed capacity of less than
30 children, at least one staff person shall
complete this training.

2) In centers with a licensed capacity of 30 or
more children, at least two staff, including the
administrator, shall complete this training.

(f) In centers that are licensed to care for infants ages 12 months
and younger:

(1) the center director and any child care provider
scheduled to work in the infant room,
including volunteers counted in staff/child
ratios, shall complete ITS-SIDS training;

) ITS-SIDS training shall be completed within
four months of the individual assuming
responsibilities in the infant room or as an
administrator, or within four months of these
rules becoming effective, whichever is later,
and shall be completed again every three years
from the completion of previous ITS-SIDS
training;

3) Completion of ITS-SIDS training may be
included once every three years in the number
of hours needed to meet annual in-service
training requirements in Section .0700 of this
Chapter;

4) Individuals who have completed initial ITS-
SIDS training prior to this Rule becoming
effective shall not be required to repeat the
training until three years from the completion
of initial ITS-SIDS training; and

(5) Prior to an individual assuming responsibility
for the care of an infant, the center's safe sleep
policy for infants shall be reviewed with the
individual as required by Rule .0707(a) of this
Section.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(1),(8); 143B-168.3.

SECTION .1700 -FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME
REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 09 .1705 HEALTH AND TRAINING
REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME
OPERATORS

(a) Prior to receiving a license, each family child care home
operator shall:

€)) Complete and keep on file a health
questionnaire which attests to the operator's
physical and emotional ability to care for
children. The Division may require a written
statement or medical examination report
signed by a licensed physician or other
authorized health professional if there is
reason to believe that the operator's health may
adversely affect the care of the children.

2) Obtain written proof that he or she is free of
active tuberculosis. The results indicating the
individual is free of active tuberculosis shall
be obtained within 12 months prior to applying
for a license.

3) Complete within 12 months prior to applying
for a license a basic first aid course that at a
minimum, shall address principles for

responding to emergencies, techniques—for
resetebreathing—and techniques for handling

common childhood injuries, accidents and
illnesses such as: choking, burns, fractures,
bites and stings, wounds, scrapes, bruises, cuts
and lacerations, poisoning, seizures, bleeding,
allergic reactions, eye and nose injuries and
sudden changes in body temperature.

@) Successfully complete within 12 months prior
to applying for a license a course by the
American Heart Association or the American
Red Cross or other organizations approved by
the Division, in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR) appropriate for the ages of children in
care. Other organizations will be approved if
the Division determines that the courses
offered are substantially equivalent to those
offered by the American Red Cross.
Successfully completed is defined as
demonstrating competency, as evaluated by
the instructor, in  performing CPR.
Documentation of successful completion of
the course from the American Heart
Association, the American Red Cross, or other
organization approved by the Division shall be
on file in the home.

(b) After receiving a license, an operator shall:

(D Update the health questionnaire referenced in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule annually. The
Division may require the operator to obtain
written proof that he or she is free of active
tuberculosis.

2) Complete a first aid course as referenced in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule every three years.
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)

(4)

)

First aid training shall be renewed on or before
expiration of the certification or every three

years, whichever is less.

Sueecessfully—eomplete—a—Have  current
certification in CPR eeourse—annually—as

referenced in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

If licensed to care for infants ages 12 months

and younger, complete ITS-SIDS training

within four months of receiving the license, or
within four months of this rule becoming
effective, whichever is later, and complete it
again every three years from the completion of
previous ITS-SIDS training. Completion of

ITS-SIDS training may be included once every

three years in the number of hours needed to

meet the annual in-service training
requirement in Paragraph (b) (5) of this Rule.

Individuals who have completed initial ITS-

SIDS training prior to this rule becoming

effective shall not be required to repeat the

training until three years from the completion
of initial ITS-SIDS training.

Complete 12 clock hours of annual in-service

training in the topic areas required by G.S.

110-91(11), except that persons with at least

10 years work experience as a caregiver in a

regulated child care arrangement shall

complete eight clock hours of annual in-
service training.

(A) Only training which has been
approved by the Division as
referenced in Rule .0708 of this
Subehapter—Chapter  shall count
toward the required hours of annual
in-service training.

(B) The operator shall maintain a record
of annual in-service training activities
in which he or she has participated.
The record shall include the subject
matter, the topic area in G.S. 110-
91(11) covered, the name of the
training provider or organization, the
date training was provided and the
number of hours of training
completed. First aid training may be
counted no more than once every
three years.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 143B-168.3.

10A NCAC 09 .1721
RECORDS

REQUIREMENTS FOR

(a) The operator shall maintain the following health records for
each child who attends on a regular basis, including his or her
own preschool child(ren):

()
2

a copy of the child's health assessment as
required by G.S. 110-91(1);
a copy of the child's immunization record,

3)

“)

a health and emergency information form
provided by the Division that is completed and
signed by a child's parent. The completed
form shall be on file the first day the child
attends. An operator may use another form
other than the one provided by the Division, as
long as the form includes the following
information:

(A) the child's name, address, and date of
birth;

(B) the names of individuals to whom the
child may be released,

© the general status of the child's health;

D) any allergies or restrictions on the
child's participation in activities with
specific instructions from the child's
parent or physician;

(E) the names and phone numbers of
persons to be contacted in an
emergency situation;

F the name and phone number of the

child's physician and preferred
hospital; and
(G) authorization for the operator to seek

emergency medical care in the
parent's absence;
when medication is administered,
authorization for the operator to administer the
specific medication according to the parent's or
physician's instructions.

(b) The operator shall complete and maintain other records
which shall include:

()

2

3)

4)

documentation for the operator's procedures in
emergency situations, on a form which shall be
provided by the Division;

documentation that monthly fire drills are
practiced. The documentation shall include
the date each drill is held, the time of day, the
length of time taken to evacuate the home, and
the operator's signature;

incident reports that are completed each time a
child receives medical treatment by a
physician, nurse, physician's assistant, nurse
practitioner, community clinic, or local health
department, as a result of an incident occurring
while the child is in the family child care
home. Each incident shall be reported on a
form provided by the Division, signed by the
operator and the parent, and maintained in the
child's file. A copy shall be mailed to a
representative of the Division within seven
calendar days after the incident occurs;

an incident log which is filled out any time an
incident report is completed. This log shall be
cumulative and maintained in a separate file
and shall be available for review by a
representative of the Division. This log shall
be completed on a form supplied by the
Division;
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5) documentation that a monthly check for
hazards on the outdoor play area is completed.
This form shall be supplied by the Division
and shall be maintained in the family child
care home for review by a representative of the
Division; and

(6) Accurate daily attendance records for all
children in care, including the operator's own
preschool children. The attendance record
shall indicate the date and time of arrival and
departure for each child.

(c) Written records shall be availableforreviewapenrequest;
by—arepresentative—ofthe Diviston—and-shall be-maintained as

follows:

1) All children's records as required in this
Chapter, except medication permission slips as
required in Rule .1720(c)(13) of this Section,
must be kept on file one year from the date the
child is no longer enrolled.

(2) Additional caregiver records as required in this
Chapter shall be maintained on file one year
from the employee's last date of employment.

(3) Current program records as required in this
Chapter shall be maintained on file for as long
as the license remains. Prior versions shall be
maintained based on the time frame in the
following charts:

(A) A minimum of 30 days from the
revision or replacement date:

Record Rule
Daily Schedule 1718(13)
Infant Feeding | .1718(6)
Schedule
SIDS Sleep | .1724(8)
Chart/Visual
Check
B A minimum of one year from the

revision or replacement date:

Record Rule
Attendance 1721 (b)(6)
Emergency Numbers | .1720(a)(8)
Emergency 1721(b)(1)
Procedures Form

Field .1723(1)
Trip/Transportation

Permission

Fire Drill Log A721(b)(2)
Incident Log .1721(b)(4)
Playground 1721(b)(5)
Inspection

Pet Vaccinations .1720(d)(10)

4 Well-water _analysis, pool inspection and
inspections for local ordinances as referenced
in Rules .1720(d)(1), .1719(7), and .1702(d) of
this Section shall remain on file at the family
child care home for as long as the license
remains valid.

%) Records may be maintained in a paper format
or electronically, except that records that
require a signature of a staff person or parent
shall be maintained in a paper format.

(6) All records required in this Chapter shall be
available for review by a representative of the
Division.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(1),(9).
SECTION .2300 - FORMS

10A NCAC 09 .2318 RETENTION OF FORMS AND

REPORTS BY AN OPERATOR

(a) All children's records as required in this Chapter, except the
Medication Permission Slip as referenced in Rule .0803(13) of
this Chapter, shall be maintained on file for at least one year
from the date the child is no longer enrolled in the center.

(b) All personnel records as required in this Chapter shall be
maintained on file at least one year from the date the employee
is no longer employed.
(c) Current program records shall be maintained on file for as
long as the license remains valid. Prior versions shall be
maintained based on the time frame in the following charts:

1) A minimum of 30 days from the revision or

replacement date:

Record Rule
Activity Plan .0508 (a)
Allergy Postings .0901(e)
Feeding Schedule .0902
Menu .0901(b)
SIDS Sleep | .0606(a)(7)
Chart/Visual Check

2) A minimum of one year from the revision or
replacement date:

| Record | Rule
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Attendance G.S. 110-91(9)
Daily Schedule .0508(a)
Emergency Medical

Care Plan .0802(a)
Fire Drill Log .0302(d)(4)
Incident Log .0802(e)
Playground .0604(q)
Inspection

Safe  Arrival and | .1003(b)
Departure

Procedures

(d) All building, fire, sanitation and pool inspections as
referenced in G.S. 110-91; Rules .0302 and .1403 of this Chapter
shall remain on file at the center for as long as the license
remains valid.

Records may be maintained in a paper format or
electronically, except that records that require a signature of a
staff person or parent shall be maintained in a paper format.

() All records required in this Chapter shall be available for
review by a representative of the Division.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(9); 143B-168.3.
SECTION .2500 - CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN

10A NCAC 09 .2511
REQUIREMENTS

OTHER STAFF

Authority G.S. 110-91(8),(11); 143B-168.3.

skosk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok sk sk

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 13D — RULES FOR THE LICENSING OF
NURSING HOMES

SECTION .2200 - GENERAL STANDARDS OF
ADMINISTRATION

10A NCAC 13D .2210 REPORTING AND
INVESTIGATING ABUSE, NEGLECT OR
MISAPPROPRIATION

(a) TFhe-A facility shall take reasenable-measures to prevent
patient abuse, patient neglect, or misappropriation of patient
property, including but not limited to orientation and instruction
of facility staff on patients' rights, and the screening of and
requesting of references for all prospective employees.

(b) The administrator shall ensure that the Health Care
Personnel Registry Section of the Division of Health Service

Regulation is notified within 24 hours er-as-seen-as—praeticable

picepeﬂzy— f the health care facﬂlty becommg aware of all
allegations against health care personnel as defined in G.S.

131E-256(a)(1), which includes abuse, neglect, misappropriation
of resident property, misappropriation of the property of the
facility, diversion of drugs belonging to a health care facility or a
resident, fraud against a health care facility or a resident, and
injuries of unknown source in accordance with 42 CFR
subsection 483.13 which is incorporated by reference.

(c) The facility shall thereughly—investigate allegations of
patient abuse, patient neglect, or misappropriation of patient
property in accordance with 42 CFR subsection 483.13 which is
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments,
and shall document all relevant information pertaining to such
investigation and shall take whatever steps are necessary to
prevent further incidents of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of
patient property while the investigation is in progress. Cepies-of
the—The Code of Federal Regulations—Regulations, Title 42,
Public Health, Part 430 to the end, revised as of October 1, 2005,
Description Item 572-B.may be purchased from the
Superintendent-ef Deeuments;-U.S. Government Printing Office,
P.O. Box 3H954PA 152027954 979050, St. Louis, MO
63197-9000, for—thirty—eight—delars—($38.00)—and—may—be

purchased—with—a—erediteard-by a direct telephone call to the
G.P.O. at 202y 512-1800.(866) 512-1800 or online at

http://bookstore.gpo.gov/ or accessed electronically at
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/.

(d) The administrator shall ensure that the report of
investigation is printed or typed and postmarked to the Health
Care Personnel Registry Section of the Division of Health
Service Regulation within five working days of the allegation.
The report shall include the date and time of the alleged incident
of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property; the patient's
full name and room number; details of the allegation and any
injury; names of the accused and any witnesses; names of the
facility staff who investigated the allegation; results of the
investigation; and any corrective action that may have been
taken by the facility.

(e) The facility shall not employ any person with a substantiated
finding on the North Carolina Health Care Personnel Registry.

Authority G.S. 131E-104; 131E-131; 131E-255; 131E-256.

%k k ok ok % ok ok ok ok ok ok k% %k ok ok ok ok %

CHAPTER 28 - MENTAL HEALTH: STATE OPERATED
FACILITIES AND SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 28C - DIGNITY AND RESPECT

SECTION .0200 - ESTHETIC AND HUMANE
ENVIRONMENT

10A NCAC 28C .0201
ENVIRONMENT

(a) The State Facility Director shall assure the provision of an
esthetic and humane environment which enhances the positive

STATE FACILITY
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self-image of the client and preserves human dignity. This
includes:

(1 providing warm and cheerful furnishings;
(2) providing flexible and humane schedules; and
3) directing state facility employees to address

clients in a respectful manner;-and manner.

i l b1 T
whe-wish-te-smoke-tobaceo-and-areasfornon-
smokers-asrequested:

(b) The State Facility Director shall also, to the extent possible,
make every effort to:

(1) provide a quiet atmosphere for uninterrupted
sleep during scheduled sleeping hours; and
2) provide areas accessible to the client for

personal privacy, for at least limited periods of
time, unless determined inappropriate by the
treatment team.

Authority G.S. 122C-51; 131E-67; 143B-147.

%k ok k ok kK ok ok ok ok ok ok ok kK % % % ok k%

CHAPTER 46 - LOCAL STANDARDS

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT
STAFF

10A NCAC 46 .0301 MINIMUM STANDARD
HEALTH DEPARTMENT: STAFFING

(a) A minimum standard health department shall consist of at
least a full-time health director, a full-time public health nurse, a
full-time registered sanitarian, and a full-time secretary.

(b) Full-time means that the employee's full time occupation is
in public health. The employee is not necessarily employed full
time in one department.

(c) All local health department nurses shall either:

(1) Have a nursing degree from a baccalaureate
school accredited by the National League for
Nurstngs—Nursing or the Commission on
Collegiate Nursing Education; or

2) Complete within one year of employment with
the health department an introductory course
in principles and practices of public health and
public health nursing sponsored by the
Department. The curriculum for the course
will be developed by the Department with
input from local health departments and
schools of nursing.

Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-9.
skosk ok sk sk sk sk sk sk sk osk sk sk sk ok ok sk sk sk sk
CHAPTER 67 — SOCIAL SERVICES - PROCEDURES
SUBCHAPTER 67A - GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATION

10A NCAC 67A .0107 FORMS
(@) In order to comply with the budgeting, planning and
reimbursement requirements of G.S. Chapter 108A and 45 CFR
228.17, each county department of social services shall complete
all forms specified by the Department of Health and Human
Services.
(b) The forms, initial service client information record, and
service client information change notice, shall be completed by
the case manager for each client requesting social services. All
required fields must be completed and required fields not
properly completed shall be considered an error and returned to
the worker. Clients may refuse to provide their social security
numbers and shall not be denied benefits, but the seetal-seetrity
’ . . . .
1 Fsocial 1 he Noth C g]' E'i" 3?
Seetal-Serviees;-worker identification numbers of case managers
are required in order to allocate costs for federal financial
participation.
(¢c) The form, worker daily report of services to clients, shall be
completed by the county services workers and division of
services for the blind services workers. This form provides
information to meet reporting requirements at the federal, state
and local levels and will provide the basis for county
reimbursement. All required fields must be completed and
required fields not properly completed shall be considered an
error and returned to the worker. The seeial-seeuritynumbers-of

ol . he North Carolina Divisi F Social Servi
worker identification numbers of service workers are required in
order to allocate costs for federal financial participation.

Authority G.S. 75-62; 143B-153; 45 CFR 228.17; 5 USC 552a.

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

CHAPTER 07 - OFFICE OF OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY
AND HEALTH

13 NCAC 07F.0104
EQUIPMENT

read:

PERSONAL PROTECTIVE

Authority G.S. 95-131; 95-133; 150B-21.6.
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TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 - DENTAL EXAMINERS
SUBCHAPTER 16G — DENTAL HYGIENISTS
SECTION .0100 — DENTAL HYGIENISTS

21 NCAC 16G .0101
DELEGATED

A dental hygienist may be delegated appropriate functions to be
performed under the direct control and supervision of a dentist
who shall be personally and professionally responsible and liable
for any and all consequences or results arising from performance
of such acts and functions. In addition to the functions set out in
G.S. 90-221(a) and 21 NCAC 16H .0201, functions which may
be delegated to a dental hygienist include:

(1) Take impressions for study models and
opposing casts which will not be used for
construction of permanent dental appliances,
but which may be used for the fabrication of
adjustable orthodontic applianees:—appliances,
nightguards and the repair of dentures or
partials;

2) Apply sealants to teeth that do not require
mechanical alteration prior to the application
of such sealants, provided that a dentist has
examined the patient and prescribed the

FUNCTIONS WHICH MAY BE

procedure;
3) Insert matrix bands and wedges;
4 Place cavity bases and liners;
(5) Place and/or remove rubber dams;
(6) Cement temporary  restorations  using

temporary cement;

(7 Apply acid etch materials/rinses;

(®) Apply bonding agents;

) Remove periodontal dressings;

(10) Remove sutures;

(11 Place gingival retraction cord;

(12) Remove excess cement;

(13) Flush, dry and temporarily close root canals;

(14) Place and remove temporary restorations;

(15) Place and tie in or untie and remove
orthodontic arch wires;

(16) Insert interdental spacers;

(17) Fit (size) orthodontic bands or brackets;

(18) Apply dentin desensitizing solutions;

(19) Perform periodontal screening;

(20) Perform periodontal probing;

21 Perform subgingival exploration for or
removal of hard or soft deposits;

(22) Perform sulcular irrigation;

(23) Apply sulcular antimicrobial or antibiotic
agents which are resorbable;

(24) Perform extra-oral adjustments which affect
function, fit, or occlusion of any temporary
restoration or appliance; and

(25) Initially form and size orthodontic arch wires
and place arch wires after final adjustment and
approval by the dentist.

Authority G.S. 90-221; 90-223(b).

21 NCAC 16G .0103 PROCEDURES PROHIBITED
Those procedures which require the professional education and
skill of a dentist and may not be delegated to a dental hygienist
shall include, but shall not be limited to:

@) Comprehensive examination, diagnosis and
treatment planning;
2 Surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft

tissues, including laser, air abrasion or micro-
abrasion procedures;

3) Placement or removal of  sulcular
nonresorbable agents;

4) The issuance of prescription  drugs,
medications or work authorizations;

%) Taking of impressions for final fixed or
removable restorations or

prostheses:protheses, except as provided for in
Rule .0101(1) of this Chapter;

6) Final placement or intraoral adjustment of a
fixed or removable appliance;
(7 Intraoral occlusal adjustments which affect

function, fit, or occlusion of any temporary or
permanent restoration or appliance;

(®) Extra-oral occlusal adjustments which affect
function, fit, or occlusion of any permanent
restoration or appliance;

) Performance of direct
pulpotomy;

(10) Placement of sutures;

(11) Final placement or cementation of orthodontic
bands or brackets;

(12) Placement or cementation of final restorations;

(13) Administration of any anesthetic by any route
except the administration of topically-applied
agents intended to anesthetize only cutaneous
tissue; and

(14) Intraoral use of a high speed handpiece.

pulp capping or

Authority G.S. 90-221(a); 90-223(b).
SUBCHAPTER 16H - DENTAL ASSISTANTS
SECTION .0100 - CLASSIFICATION AND TRAINING

21 NCAC 16H .0203 PERMITTED FUNCTIONS OF
DENTAL ASSISTANT II

A Dental Assistant II may perform any and all acts or procedures
which may be performed by a Dental Assistant 1. In addition, a
Dental Assistant I may be delegated the following functions to
be performed under the direct control and supervision of a
dentist who shall be personally and professionally responsible
and liable for any and all consequences or results arising from
the performance of such acts and functions:
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(1) Take impressions for study models and
opposing casts which will not be used for
construction of dental appliances, but which
may be used for the fabrication of adjustable
orthodontic apphanees;———appliances,
nightguards and the repair of dentures or
partials;

2) Apply sealants to teeth that do not require
mechanical alteration prior to the application
of such sealants, provided a dentist has
examined the patient and prescribed the

procedure;
3) Insert matrix bands and wedges;
4 Place cavity bases and liners;
(5) Place and/or remove rubber dams;
(6) Cement temporary  restorations  using

temporary cement;

(7 Apply acid etch materials/rinses;

(®) Apply bonding agents;

9) Remove periodontal dressings;

(10) Remove sutures;

(1D Place gingival retraction cord;

(12) Remove excess cement;

(13) Flush, dry and temporarily close root canals;

(14) Place and remove temporary restorations;

(15) Place and tie in or untie and remove
orthodontic arch wires;

(16) Insert interdental spacers;

17 Fit (size) orthodontic bands or brackets;

(18) Apply dentin desensitizing solutions;

(19) Perform extra-oral adjustments which affect
function, fit or occlusion of any temporary
restoration or appliance;

(20) Initially form and size orthodontic arch wires
and place arch wires after final adjustment and
approval by the dentist;

21 Polish the clinical crown using only;

(a) a hand-held brush and appropriate
polishing agents; or
(b) a combination of a slow speed
handpiece (not to exceed 10,000 rpm)
with attached rubber cup or bristle
brush, and appropriate polishing
agents.
Before a Dental Assistant II can utilize a slow speed handpiece
with rubber cup or bristle brush attachment, a formal educational
course in coronal polishing consisting of at least 7 hours shall be
completed. A polishing procedure shall in no way be
represented to the patient as a prophylaxis and no specific charge
shall be made for such unless the dentist has performed an
evaluation for calculus, deposits, or accretions and a dentist or
dental hygienist has removed any substances detected.

Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9); 90-48.

SUBCHAPTER 161 - ANNUAL RENEWAL OF DENTAL
HYGIENIST LICENSE

SECTION .0100 - ANNUAL RENEWAL

21 NCAC 161 .0104
EDUCATION

(a) The number of hours completed to satisfy the continuing
education requirement shall be indicated on the renewal
application form submitted to the Board and certified by the
hygienist. Upon request by the Board or its authorized agent, the
hygienist shall provide official documentation of attendance at
courses indicated. Such documentation shall be provided by the
organization offering or sponsoring the course. Documentation
must include:

(1 the title;

REPORTING CONTINUING

2) the number of hours of instruction;

3) the date of the course attended,;

4) the name(s) of the course instructor(s); and

%) the name of the organization offering or

sponsoring the course.
(b) All records, reports and certificates relative to continuing
education hours must be maintained by the licensee for at least
two years and shall be produced upon request of the Board or its
authorized agent.
(c) Dental hygienists shall receive four hours credit per year for
continuing education when engaged in the following:

(1) service on a full-time basis on the faculty of an
educational institution with direct involvement
in education, training, or research in dental or
dental auxiliary programs; or

2) affiliation with a federal, state or county
government agency whose operation is
directly related to dentistry or dental
auxiliaries.

Verification of credit hours shall be maintained in the manner
specified in this Rule.

(d) Evidence of service or affiliation with an agency as specified
in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be in the form of verification
of affiliation or employment which is documented by a director
or an official acting in a supervisory capacity.

(e) Hygienists who work at least 20 hours per week in an
institution or entity described in Subparagraph (c)(1) or (2) of
this Rule shall receive two hours credit per year for continuing
education.

Authority G.S. 90-225.1.

SUBCHAPTER 16R - CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENTS: DENTISTS

SECTION .0100 — CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 16R .0106 EXEMPTION FROM AND
CREDIT FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

(a) Dentists may request exemption from continuing education
requirements by submitting evidence in writing to the Board of
retirement or semi-retirement from the practice of dentistry. A
retired dentist is a dentist who never practices dentistry. A semi-
retired dentist is a dentist who practices on an occasional basis
not to exceed 100 clock hours in a calendar year. A dentist who
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can demonstrate a disabling condition may request a variance in
continuing education hours during a particular period. Written
documentation of a disabling condition that interferes with the
dentist's ability to complete the required hours shall be provided
to the Board. The Board may grant or deny requests for variance
in continuing education hours based on a disabling condition on
a case by case basis, taking into consideration the particular
disabling condition involved and its affect on the dentist's ability
to complete the required hours. In considering the request, the
Board may require additional documentation substantiating any
specified disability.

(b) In those instances where continuing education is waived and
the exempt individual wishes to resume practice, the Board shall
require continuing education courses in accordance with Rule
.0103 of this Section when reclassifying the licensee. The Board
may require those licensees who have not practiced dentistry for
a year or more to undergo a bench test prior to allowing the
licensee to resume practice when there is indication of inability
to practice dentistry.

(c) Dentists shall receive 10 hours credit per year for continuing
education when engaged in any of the following:

(1) service on a full-time basis on the faculty of an
educational institution with direct involvement
in education, training, or research in dental or
dental auxiliary programs; or

2) affiliation with a federal, state or county
government agency whose operation is
directly related to dentistry or dental
auxiliaries. Verification of credit hours shall
be maintained in the manner specified in Rule
.0105 of this Section.

(d) Dentists who work at least 20 hours per week in an
institution or entity described in Subparagraph (c)(1) or (2) of
this Rule shall receive five hours credit per year for continuing
education.

Authority G.S. 90-31.1; 90-38.

TITLE 25 - STATE PERSONNEL
CHAPTER 1 - OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL
SUBCHAPTER 1C - PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION
SECTION .0200 - GENERAL EMPLOYMENT POLICIES

25 NCAC 01C .0215 EMPLOYMENT CONTRACTS
(a) Except as to apprenticeship agreements executed according
to _the provisions of N.C.G.S. Chapter 94 and except as to
provisions of Paragraph (b) below, the following provisions
apply to employment contracts:
(1) No persen—employee shall be required, as a
condition of employment subject to N.C.G.S.
Chapter 126 to enter into a contractual
arrangement with any state agency as defined
in 25 NCAC 01A .0103er—university for

employment with that agency er—university.

; T Pt | f

) No state agency eruniversity-may require, as a
condition of employment, that a—persenan
employee agree, in writing or otherwise, to a
minimum specified length of employment;

f o coshi &t ol

(€) No state agency may prohibit, as a condition
of initial or continued employment, any persen
employee from transferring to another state
agency or university.

@) No state agency eruniversity may require, as a
condition of employment, that a—persenan
employee agree, in writing or otherwise, that a
payment be made to the employing agency if a
minimum specified period of employment is
not met.

%) No agency may require the repayment of the
cost of job training required by the employing
agency as a condition of continued
employment.

(b) An agency that provides all or part of the cost of professional
development seminars or other educational opportunities to
employees that are not a requirement for the job and that are in
excess of $5000 may condition the provision of agency funds
upon agreement of the employee to repay the funds subject to
the following conditions:

(D) The employee is informed
repayment provisions in advance,

2) The amount of time that the agency expects
the employee to remain employed is clearly
specified and does not exceed one year,

3) The prorated amount that the employee will
have to repay for each month the employee
leaves prior to the end of the term is clearly
specified in the agreement, and

(4) The terms of the agreement are reduced to
writing and the employee and the human
resources director both sign the agreement.

about the

Authority G.S. 94; 126-4.
SECTION .0400 - APPOINTMENT

25 NCAC 01C .0414 CONTRACTUAL WORKER

(a) Notwithstanding 25 NCAC 1C .0215. an agency may
employ individuals pursuant to a contract if the individuals are
engaged to perform on-going professional or technical services
in the areas of medicine or health care, engineering, information
technology, or other highly specialized or difficult to recruit
areas. Agency contracts with independent contractors under the
applicable IRS regulations are not subject to this rule.

(b) Contracts for persons hired under this appointment type may
be for any period of time up to three years. Such contracts shall
include, as a minimum, the duration of the contract, the amount
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of compensation to be received under the contract, and other
matters necessary for the parties to have an accurate
understanding of the respective obligations of the contract. The
contract shall include a provision that the individual is subject, at
a minimum, to Articles 6 and 7 of Chapter 126 of the General
Statutes.  If the agency is providing any benefits to the
individual, e.g., health insurance, retirement, the contract must
so_state; otherwise, the contract must contain a provision
whereby both parties agree and acknowledge that no benefits
are being provided or received under the contract. The contract
may also contain a renewal provision but such a provision must
be contingent upon the written agreement of both parties.

(c¢) An individual working pursuant to a contract is subject to
the terms of the contract and is not entitled to any benefits
except as expressly stated in the contract. The provisions of
Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes, the State
Personnel Manual, and Title 25 of the Administrative Code are
only deemed to be terms of the contract insofar as they are
specifically incorporated by reference in the contract.

Authority G.S. 126-4.
SUBCHAPTER 1H - RECRUITMENT AND SELECTION

SECTION .0700 - PRIORITY CONSIDERATION:
GENERAL PROVISIONS

25 NCAC 01H .0701 GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) It is recognized that certain applicants for positions of State
employment may receive a priority over other applicants for the
position. Priority consideration in certain situations may be
accorded to the following applicants:

(1) Career State employees applying for a position
that is a higher salary grade (or salary grade
equivalency) as provided in 25 NCAC 01H
.0800;

2) Career State employees who have received
written notification of imminent separation
due to a reduction in force;

3) Eligible employees in positions which are
designated as exempt policymaking and who
have less than 10 years of cumulative State
service in subject positions as provided in 25
NCAC 01H .1000;

@) Eligible employees in positions which are
designated as exempt managerial and who
have less than 10 years of cumulative State
service in subject positions and who have been
removed from the exempt position for reasons
other than cause but not because the
employee’s selection violated G.S. 126-14.2,
as provided in 25 NCAC 01H .1000;

(5) Eligible employees in positions which are
designated as exempt managerial and who
have less than 10 years of cumulative State
service and who have been removed from the
exempt managerial position because the
employee's selection violated G.S. 126-14.2,
as provided in 25 NCAC 01H .1000; and

6) Eligible veterans applying for initial
employment or subsequent employment an
initial—pesitien—in State government, as
provided in 25 NCAC 01H .1100.

(b) The priority consideration listed in Subparagraph (a)(6) of
this Rule may only be asserted against substantially equal or less
qualified non-veteran outside applicants or other State
employees who do not fall into any of the categories listed in
Subparagraphs (a)(1) — (a)(5) of this Rule.

(c) The priority consideration listed in Subparagraphs (a)(3),
(a)(4) and (a)(5) of this Rule may be defeated by an employee
with the priority listed in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule or by
a current State employee who has greater cumulative State
service in positions subject to the State Personnel Act. The
selected applicant must meet the minimum qualifications,
including training, experience, competencies and knowledge,
skills and abilities.

Authority G.S. 126-4.
SECTION .1100 - VETERANS' PREFERENCE

25 NCAC 01H .1102
PREFERENCE

In order to claim veterans' preference, all eligible persons shall
submit a DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from
Active Duty, along with a State Application for Employment
(PD-107 or its equivalent) to the appointing authority.
Appointing authorities are responsible for verifying eligibility
and may request additional documentation as is necessary to
ascertain eligibility. Eligible veterans shall meet the minimum
qualifications, as defined in 25 NCAC O01H .0635, for the
position.

CLAIMING VETERANS'

Authority G.S. 126-4(4); 126-4(10); 128-15.

25 NCAC 01H .1103 ALLEGATION OF DENIAL OF
VETERANS' PREFERENCE

Any claim or allegation that veterans' preference has not been
accorded to an eligible veteran shall be filed with the State
Personnel Commission through the established contested case
procedures of the Office of Administrative Hearings. Such
claims shall be filed in a manner consistent with the
requirements of G.S. 150B-23 and G.S. 126-38. Such claims
shall be heard as contested cases pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article
3. The State Personnel Commission may, upon a finding that
veterans' preference was denied in violation of these Rules, order

the hiringorreinstatementemployment, subsequent employment,

promotion, reassignment or horizontal transfer of any affected
person, as well as any other remedy necessary to correct the

violation.

Authority G.S. 126-4(10); 126-4(11); 126-34.1(b)(4); 126-37;
126-38; 150B-2(2); 150B, Article 3.

25 NCAC 01H .1104 APPLICATION OF THE
VETERANS' PREFERENCE
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(a) The—Veterans’ preference te_shall be accorded eligible
veterans, as defined in 25 NCAC 01H .1105.—shalapply—in

initial selection-and reductioninforeesituations-oenly- by giving

fe)(b) After applying the—preferenee; preference to candidates
from outside the State government structure, upon initial

employment or subsequent employment as outlined in Paragraph

additional credit as follows:
®)(1) In initial seleetieremployment, subsequent
employment, promotion, reassignment, and
horizontal  transfer  procedures, = where
numerically scored examinations are used in
determining the relative ranking of candidates,
10 points shall be awarded to eligible veterans.
)2) In initial seleetion;employment, subsequent

employment, promotion, reassignment, and

horizontal transfer  procedures  where
structured interview, assessment center,
in-basket, or any other procedure, not

numerically scored, is used to qualitatively
assess the relative ranking of candidates, the
veteran who has met the minimum
qualification requirements for the vacancy, and
who has less than four years of related military
experience beyond that necessary to minimally
qualify, shall also receive additional
experience credit for up to four years of
unrelated military service._ The spouse or
dependent shall not receive additional
experience credit for the veteran's unrelated
military service. To determine the amount of
additional experience credit to be granted for
unrelated military service, first determine the
amount of related military service possessed
by the eligible veteran beyond that required to

meet the minimum qualifications, then apply
the followmg (d)—”Phﬁn&uﬂt—@f—&dd—lﬂ@ﬂﬁl

(A) If the total of such experience equals
or exceeds four years, the additional
credit for unrelated military service
does not apply.

(B) If the total of such experience is less
than four years, the veteran shall
receive direct experience credit for
unrelated military service in an
amount not to exceed the difference
between the eligible veteran's related
military service and the four-year
maximum credit that may be granted.

3) In  reduction-in-force  situations, when
calculating length of service, the eligible
veteran shall be accorded one year of State
service for each year or fraction thereof of
military service, up to a maximum of five
years credit. This additional credit does not
count as total state service.

(a)(1) or (2) above, the gqualified-eligible veteran shall be hired

when the veteran's overall qualifications are substantially equal
to the non-veterans in the applicant pool as provided in 25
NCAC 01H .0701(b). Substantially equal qualifications occur
when the employing agency cannot make a reasonable
determination that the qualifications held by one or more
applicants are significantly better suited for the position than the
qualifications held by another applicant.

nen-veterans—in—the—applicant—poel—The spouse,

spouse or surviving dependent of that veteran may claim sueh
employment—_veterans' preference without regard to whether
such preference has been claimed previously by the veteran.

(d) For promotion, reassignment and horizontal transfer, after

applying the preference to veterans who are current State

surviving

employees as explained under "Determining Military Service
Credit," the eligible veteran competes with all other applicants

who have substantially equal qualifications.

Authority G.S. 126-4(4); 126-4(10); 128-15.

SUBCHAPTER 11 - SERVICE TO LOCAL
GOVERNMENT

SECTION .2000 - APPOINTMENT AND SEPARATION

25 NCAC 011 .2002
AND DURATION
(a) Probationary Appointment:
€)) Individuals receiving original appointments to
permanent positions must serve a probationary

period. Pefseﬂs—bemg—h&ed—aﬁer—leaﬂﬂg

TYPES OF APPOINTMENTS

This period is an essential extension of the
selection process, and provides the time for
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2

effective adjustment of the new employee or
elimination of those whose performance will
not meet acceptable standards._ Persons being
rehired after leaving employment in a position
subject to G. S. 126 who have achieved career
status and have not experienced a break in
service, and employees voluntarily accepting
promotions, transfers or demotions in another
county, in a department of social services,
mental health program, county or district
public health program or emergency
management program who have achieved
career status and have not experienced a break
in service shall not be required to serve a new
probationary period, except for the purpose of
determining  eligibility for benefits or
compensation under local government policy.
The length of the probationary period shall not
be less than three nor more than nine months
of either full-time or part-time employment.
The length is dependant upon the complexity
of the position and the rapidity of progress
made by the particular individual in the
position. When the employee's performance
meets the required standard of work, after at
least three months and not more than nine
months in the position, the employee shall be
given permanent status unless in a trainee
appointment. If the desired level of
performance is not achieved within nine
months after initial appointment, the employee
shall be separated from service unless in
trainee status; an employee with a trainee
appointment is expected to make a satisfactory
progress, but is not permanent until he has
completed the training period.

S Atwtnedurie - probationarypertod—an

3)

neludi '
Employment in a temporary appointment may
be toward the probationary period at the
discretion of the appointing authority.
Employment in an intermittent or emergency
appointment shall not be credited toward the
probationary period.

(b) Trainee Appointment:

()

A trainee appointment may be made to a
position in any class for which the
specification includes special provisions for a
trainee progression leading to a regular
appointment. An individual may not be
appointed as a trainee if he/she possesses the
acceptable training and experience for the
class.

2

3)

“)

The specification for each class in which a
trainee appointment is authorized will define
the minimum qualifications for the trainee
appointment and the minimum qualifications
for a regular probationary appointment. It is,
of course, expected that the individual will
progress through supervised experience to a
minimum level of satisfactory performance in
the position during a period of time indicated
by the difference between the amounts of
experience required for the two types of
appointments. This limit does not include time
spent on educational leave or additional time
required to participate in a work-study
program designed to meet educational
requirements for the class. An employee may
not remain on a trainee appointment beyond
the time he meets the educational and
experience requirements for the class. After
the employee has successfully completed all
educational and experience requirements he
shall be given probationary or permanent
status in the position or shall be separated. If
the period of the trainee appointment equals or
exceeds nine months, the employee must be
given permanent status or be separated at the
completion of the trainee period.

If an employee with permanent status in
another class accepts a trainee appointment,
the permanent status will be waived for the
duration of the trainee appointment. The
employee can regain permanent status either
through successful completion of the trainee
appointment, by reinstatement to the class in
which he previously held status, or by transfer
to a position in a class for which he/she would
have been eligible based on previous
permanent status.

A former employee who does not meet the
minimum requirements of the class to which
he is being appointed shall be given a trainee
appointment. All requirements for the trainee
appointment must be satisfied prior to
attaining permanent status.

(c) Permanent Appointment. A permanent appointment is an
appointment to a permanently established position when the
incumbent is expected to be retained on a permanent basis.
Permanent appointments follow the satisfactory completion of a
probationary and/or trainee appointment, or may be made upon
reinstatement of a qualified employee.

(d) Time-Limited Appointment.

may be made to:

(M

2

A time-limited appointment

a permanent position that is vacant due to the
incumbent's leave of absence and when the
replacement employee's services will be
needed for a period of one year or less; or

to a permanent position that has an established
duration of no more than two years. Such
appointment shall not be made for less than six
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months. If at the end of the two year

time-limited appointment, the work is

expected to continue and the position becomes

permanent, the employee should be given a

permanent appointment. A time-limited

appointment is distinguished from a temporary
appointment by the greater length of time, and
from the regular permanent appointment by its
limited duration.
(e) Temporary Appointment. A temporary appointment may be
made to a permanent or temporary position. The appointment
shall be limited to a maximum duration of 12 months.
(f) Pre-Vocational Student Appointment. This appointment is
to be used to enable students to gain practical knowledge of their
particular occupational area of interest. A suitable plan for
training under close supervision must be developed for the
individual. In the case of a co-operative, work study, internship,
or similar appointment, the time schedule for work must be
determined. The basis of eligibility and selection for such an
appointment shall be outlined in a formal plan developed by the
participating agencies for each type and level of student
involvement. Upon successful completion of their training,
individuals may be considered for any vacant position for which
qualified.
(g) Emergency Appointment:

(D) An emergency appointment may be made
when an emergency situation exists requiring
the services of an employee before it is
possible to identify a qualified applicant
through the regular selection process. When it
is determined that an emergency appointment
is necessary, all other requirements for
appointments will be waived.

(2) An emergency appointment may be made for a
period of up to 60 work days (consecutive or
non-consecutive), or a total of 480 hours "in
pay status". Any one individual may not
receive successive emergency appointments
with the same department or agency. At least
three calendar months must elapse before that
department or agency can give the same
individual another emergency appointment.

(h) Appointment of Incumbents in Newly-Covered Programs:

(1) Upon extension of State Personnel Act
requirements to a program, position, or group
of positions, the incumbent(s) may be
appointed with permanent status in his
classifications under any of the following
circumstances:

(A) The employee is qualified for
reinstatement on the basis of previous
permanent status in a comparable
position; or

(B) The employee has at least three
months of satisfactory service in the
program or agency, as certified by the
appointing  authority, and the
appointing authority recommends that

the employee be granted permanent
status.

2) If the agency fails to grant permanent status
within nine months from the initial coverage
then the incumbent must be terminated.
Employees given trainee appointments will be
given permanent status consistent with other
trainee appointments.

3) Incumbents who have less than three months
of service with the agency shall be continued
with no status until they are granted permanent
status or terminated as required in this Rule.
Employees with more than three months but
less than nine months services in the agency
may be continued without status until nine
months have elapsed. At the end of nine
months, however, the incumbent must be
granted permanent status or terminated.

(1) Work Against Appointment. When qualified applicants are
unavailable and there is no trainee provision for the
classification of the vacancy, the appointing authority may
appoint an employee below the level of the regular classification
in a work-against situation. A work-against appointment is for
the purpose of allowing the employee to gain the qualifications
needed for the full class through on-the-job experience. The
appointee must meet the minimum training and experience
standard of the class to which initially appointed. A
work-against appointment may not be made when applicants are
available who meet the training and experience requirements for
the full class, and for the position in question.

Authority G.S. 126-4.

25 NCAC 011 .2006 BREAK IN SERVICE

(a) A break in service occurs when an employee is in non-pay
status for more than 31 calendar days. (An employee is in pay
status when working, when on paid leave or when on workers'
compensation leave. An employee is not in pay status after the
last day of work when separated because of resignation,
dismissal, death, retirement or reduction in force.) Periods of
leave without pay do not constitute a break in service.

(b) A break in service does not occur when an employee moves
from one local government agency subject to G. S. 126 to
another local government agency subject to G. S. 126 without
being in non-pay status for more than 31 calendar days.

(c) A break in service does not occur when an employee moves
from a local government agency subject to G. S. 126 to a state
agency or university without being in non-pay status for more
than 31 calendar days.

(d) A break in service does not occur when an employee moves
from a state agency or university from a position subject to G. S.
126 to a local government agency subject to G. S. 126 without
being in non-pay status for more than 31 calendar days.

Authority G.S. 126-4.

SECTION .2300 - DISCIPLINARY ACTION:
SUSPENSION, DISMISSAL AND APPEALS
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25 NCAC 011 .2301 JUST CAUSE FOR
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

(a) Any employee, regardless of occupation, position, or
profession may be warned, demoted, suspended or dismissed by
the appointing authority. Such actions may be taken against
employees with permanentstatus,—as—definedin 25 NCACH
2002(a)2); career status as defined in G. S. 126-1.1 only for
just cause. The degree and type of action taken shall be based
upon the sound and considered judgment of the appointing
authority in accordance with the provisions of this Rule. When
just cause exists the only disciplinary actions provided for under
this Section are:

(1) Written warning;
2) Disciplinary suspension without pay;
3) Demotion; and

4 Dismissal.

(b) At any time during the period prior to achieving career
status, including during the probationary period, an employee
may be separated from service for causes related to performance
of duties or for personal conduct detrimental to the agency
without right of appeal or hearing. The employee must be given
notice of dismissal, including reasons. Such notice may be, but
is not required to be, in writing.

)(c) There are two bases for the discipline or dismissal of
employees under the statutory standard of "just cause" as set out
in G.S. 126-35. These two bases are:

(1 Discipline or dismissal imposed on the basis of
unsatisfactory job performance, including
grossly inefficient job performance.

2) Discipline or dismissal imposed on the basis of
unacceptable personal conduct.

e)(d) Either unsatisfactory or grossly inefficient job
performance or unacceptable personal conduct, as defined in 25
NCAC 11 .2302(a); .2303(a); and .2304(b), constitutes just cause
for discipline or dismissal. The categories are not mutually
exclusive, as certain actions by employees may fall into both
categories, depending upon the facts of each case. No
disciplinary action shall be invalid solely because the
disciplinary action is labeled incorrectly.

d)(e) The imposition of any disciplinary action shall comply
with the procedural requirements of this Section.

Authority G.S. 126-35.
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NOTICE OF CORRECTION FOR NOTICE OF INTENT TO REDEVELOP A BROWNFIELDS PROPERTY
M.H.O.C., LLC

Please take notice that the address of the property subject to the Summary of Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields Property
published by M.H.O.C., LLC in the January 15, 2008 edition of the NC Register is not 3600 North Graham Street, Charlotte, North
Carolina, but 3606 North Graham Street.
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SUMMARY OF NOTICE OF
INTENT TO REDEVELOP A BROWNFIELDS PROPERTY
Edgemont Realty, LL.C

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 130A-310.34, Edgemont Realty, LLC has filed with the North Carolina Department of Environment and
Natural Resources (“DENR”) a Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields Property (“Property”) in Durham, Durham County, North
Carolina. The Property, the former site of the Golden Belt Manufacturing Co., consists of 5.478 acres and is located at 807 East Main
Street. Environmental contamination exists on the Property in soil and groundwater. Edgemont Realty, LLC_has committed itself to
redevelopment of the Property for no uses other than mixed use that may include office, high-density residential, retail, light
manufacturing, institutional and, with prior written DENR approval, other commercial use. The Notice of Intent to Redevelop a
Brownfields Property includes: (1) a proposed Brownfields Agreement between DENR and Edgemont Realty, LLC, which in turn
includes (a) a map showing the location of the Property, (b) a description of the contaminants involved and their concentrations in the
media of the Property, (c) the above-stated description of the intended future use of the Property, and (d) proposed investigation and
remediation; and (2) a proposed Notice of Brownfields Property prepared in accordance with G.S. 130A-310.35.

The full Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields Property may be reviewed at the Durham County Library, 300 N.
Roxboro Street, Durham, NC 27701 by contacting Lynn Richardson at that address or at (919) 560-0171; or at the offices of the N.C.
Brownfields Program (where DENR will provide auxiliary aids and services for persons with disabilities who wish to review the
documents), 401 Oberlin Rd., Suite 150, Raleigh, NC 27605 by contacting Shirley Liggins at that address, at
shirley.liggins@ncmail.net, or at (919) 508-8411.

Written public comments may be submitted to DENR within 30 days after the date this Notice is published in a newspaper of
general circulation serving the area in which the brownfields property is located, or in the North Carolina Register, whichever is later.
Written requests for a public meeting may be submitted to DENR within 21 days after the period for written public comments begins.
Thus, if Edgemont Realty, LLC, as it plans, publishes this Summary in the North Carolina Register after it publishes the Summary in a
newspaper of general circulation serving the area in which the brownfields property is located, and if it effects publication of this
Summary in the North Carolina Register on the date it expects to do so, the periods for submitting written requests for a public
meeting regarding this project and for submitting written public comments will commence on February 2, 2008. All such comments
and requests should be addressed as follows:

Mr. Bruce Nicholson
Brownfields Program Manager
Division of Waste Management
NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
401 Oberlin Road, Suite 150
Raleigh, North Carolina 27605
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Notice of Application for Innovative Approval of a Wastewater System for On-site Subsurface Use

Pursuant to NCGS 130A-343(g), the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) shall publish a
Notice in the NC Register that a manufacturer has submitted a request for approval of a wastewater system, component, or device for
on-site subsurface use. The following applications have been submitted to DENR:

Application by:

For:
And

Application by:

For:
And

Application by:

For:
And

Application by:

For:
And

Application by:

For:

DENR Contact:

Mike Price
Norweco, Inc

220 Republic St
Norwalk, OH 44857

Revised Innovative Approval for "Singulair® ATU/Sand Filter" advanced wastewater pretreatment system

Mike Hoover

North Carolina State University, Dept of Soil Science
Box 7619

Raleigh, NC 27695-7619

Revised Innovative Approval for "Pressure Dosed Sand Filter" advanced wastewater pretreatment system

Bord na Mona

Environmental Products US, Inc
PO Box 77457

Greensboro, NC 27417

Revised Innovative Approval for "Peat Filter" advanced wastewater pretreatment system

Mark Lubbers

Aquapoint, Inc

241 Duchaine Blvd

New Bedford, MA 02745

Revised Innovative Approval for "Bioclere" advanced wastewater pretreatment system

Eric Valentine

American Manufacturing Company
PO Box 97

Elkwood, VA 22718-0097

Revised Innovative Approval for "American Perc-Rite®"

Subsurface drip wastewater dispersal system
Ted Lyon

1-919-715-3274

Fax: 919-715-3227

ted.lyon@ncmail.net

These applications may be reviewed by contacting the applicant or at 2728 Capital Blvd., Raleigh, NC, On-Site Water Protection
Section, Division of Environmental Health. Draft proposed innovative approvals and proposed final action on the application by
DENR can be viewed on the On-Site Water Protection Section web site: http://www.deh.enr.state.nc.us/osww_new/new1//index.htm.
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Written public comments may be submitted to DENR within 30 days of the date of the Notice publication in the North Carolina
Register. All written comments should be submitted to Mr. Ted Lyon, Chief, On-site Water Protection Section, 1642 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1642, or ted.lyon@ncmail.net, or fax 919.715.3227. Written comments received by DENR in accordance
with this Notice will be taken into consideration before a final agency decision is made on the innovative subsurface wastewater
system application.
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U.S. Department of Justice RECEIVED JAN 02 707
Civil Rights Division
CC:MSR:RT:par
DJ 166-012-3

Voting Section - NWB ‘l. 3
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW r==] -
20()?_5565 Washington, DC 20530 : ‘;:;' o
- \ T
oM

P B Cj
% i B | —
December 28, 2007 = -

)

Adam Mitchell, Esq.
Tharrington Smith
P.O. Box 1151

Raleigh, North Carolina 27605-1151
Dear Mr. Mitchell:

This refers to the Session Law 2007-272 (H.B. 922) which changes the general election
date, filing dates, and ballot language for the Bertie County Board of Education in Bertie

County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. 1973¢c. We received your submission on November 1, 2007.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the specified changes. However,
we note that Section 5 expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does

not bar subsequent litigation to enjoin the enforcement of the changes. Procedures for the
Administration of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act (28 C.F.R. 51.41).

Sincerely,

Thmnisn) iﬂwﬁfﬂ/ |

Christopher Coates
Acting Chief, Voting Section
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE
TAX REVIEW BOARD

COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE MATTER OF:

The Proposed Assessment of Additional )
Sales and Use Tax for the period of January )
1, 2000 through January 31, 2005 bythe )
Secretary of Revenue of North Carolina ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION
NUMBER:__ 511

Docket Number 2005-416

Robert C. Grindstaff d/b/a BTJ Cabinet
Door Company,
Appellant

)
)
)
vs. )
)
)
)

This Matter was heard before the regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter “Board”)
in the City of Raleigh, Wake County, North Carolina, in the office of the State Treasurer,
on Wednesday, September 5, 2007 pursuant to the petition of Robert C. Grindstaff d/b/a
BTIJ Cabinet Door Company (hereinafter “Appellant™) for administrative review of the
final decision entered by the Assistant Secretary of Revenue on July 24, 2006 affirming
the proposed assessment and declaring that the assessment was immediately due and
collectible.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1, an assessment was proposed for
additional sales and use tax for the period of January 1, 2000 through January 31, 2005.
The Appellant contested the assessment and requested a hearing before the Secretary of
Revenue. After conducting a hearing, the Assistant Secretary of Revenue affirmed the
proposed assessment but waived penalties. From the Assistant Secretary’s final decision,
Appellant filed a notice of intent and petition for administrative review with the Board
pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2. Prior to review the record in the matter and
Appellant’s petition, the Board ruled upon the Department’s of Revenue’s motion to
strike.

The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board
is governed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2(b2). After the Tax Review Board conducts
an administrative hearing, this statute provides in pertinent part:

(b2). “The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase
the assessment or decision of the Secretary.”

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1(a), a proposed tax assessment is
presumed to be correct and the burden is on the taxpayer to rebut that presumption. In
order to rebut the presumption, the taxpayer must offer evidence to show that the
assessment is not correct.

Page 1 of 2

22:15

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2008

1386



IN ADDITION

It appearing to the Board, after conducting an administrative hearing in this

matter, during which counsel appeared and presented oral argument on appellant’s behalf,
and reviewing the petition, documents and records from the hearing before the Assistant
Secretary, that the appellant did offer evidence to rebut the presumption. Thus, the Board
orders that the Department recalculate taxes and statutory interest due and exclude all

amounts related to “Gaston Custom Woodworks.”

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the additional sales and use tax
assessment for the period of January 1, 2000 through January 31, 2005 is reduced as

indicated by excluding transactions with Gaston Custom Woodworks.

\‘\l ‘"“lj“.'
LINg,

Page 2 of 2

TAX REVIEW BOARD

ef Dzuty Treasurer, on behalf

Stacey A. Pl%ps Chi
of Richard H. Moore, Chairman, State Treasurer

Edward S. Finley, Jr. Chair
North Carolina Utilities Commis$ion

A./ &«Z -"‘""\
George W. Bo))fan, Esquire
Appointed Member
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE

: TAX REVIEW BOARD
COUNTY OF WAKE
IN THE MATTER OF:

The Proposed Assessment of Additional
Income Tax for the Taxable Years 2001
And 2002 by the Secretary of Revenue

Of North Carolina ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION
NUMBER:__ 512
Docket Number 2006-316

VS.

Susan M. Johnson,
Appellant

This Matter was heard before the regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter “Board”)
in the City of Raleigh, Wake County, North Carolina, in the office of the State Treasurer,
on Thursday, October 25, 2007 pursuant to the petition of Susan M. Johnson (hereinafter
“Appellant”) for administrative review of the final decision entered by the Assistant
Secretary of Revenue on June 11, 2007 affirming the proposed assessment of additional
income tax for the taxable years of 2001 and 2002.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1, an assessment proposing additional
income tax for taxable years 2001 and 2002 was mailed to Appellant. Appellant
protested the assessment and requested a hearing before the Secretary of Revenue. After
conducting a hearing, the Assistant Secretary of Revenue sustained the proposed
assessment. From the Assistant Secretary’s final decision, Appellant filed a notice of
intent and petition for administrative review with the Board pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §
105-241.2.

The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board
is governed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2(b2). After the Tax Review Board conducts
an administrative hearing, this statute provides in pertinent part:

(b2). “The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase
the assessment or decision of the Secretary.”

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1(a), a proposed tax assessment is
presumed to be correct and the burden is on the taxpayer to rebut that presumption. In
order to rebut the presumption, the taxpayer must offer evidence to show that the
assessment is not correct.

It appearing to the Board, after conducting an administrative hearing in this
matter, during which the appellant appeared, and reviewing the Assistant Secretary’s final
decision, that the findings of fact made by the Assistant Secretary were supported by
competent evidence in the record, that based upon the findings of fact, the Assistant
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Secretary’s conclusions of law were fully supported by the findings of fact, and that the
final decision of the Assistant Secretary was supported by the conclusions of law;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Assistant Secretary’s final decision is
AFFIRMED.

TAX REVIEW BOARD

oL

Stacey A. Phipp’s, Chief Deputy Treasurer, on behalf
of Richard H. Moore, Chairman, State Treasurer

A

Edward S. Finley, Jr., Chair
North Carolina Utilities Commission

P
A W g P
George W. Boyl/an, Esquire
Appointed Member
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE
TAX REVIEW BOARD

COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE MATTER OF:

The Proposed Assessment of Gift Tax
For the Taxable Year 2003 by the Secretary
Of Revenue of North Carolina

ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION
NUMBER:_513

vs.

Cale S. Lewis,

)
)
)
)
)
) Docket Number 2006-63
)
)
)
)

Appellant

This Matter was heard before the regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter “Board™)
in the City of Raleigh, Wake County, North Carolina, in the office of the State Treasurer,
on Thursday, October 25, 2007 pursuant to the petition of Cale S. Lewis (hereinafter
“Appellant”) for administrative review of the final decision entered by the Assistant
Secretary of Revenue on September 21, 2007 holding that the proposed assessment of gift
tax, penalties, and interest was lawful and proper, and sustaining the assessment in the
entirety.

On November 23, 2005, a Notice of Gift Tax Assessment for the 2003 tax year
was mailed to Appellant, proposing an assessment of gift tax, penalties, and interest.
Appellant protested the proposed assessment and requested a hearing before the Secretary
of Revenue. After conducting a hearing, the Assistant Secretary of Revenue sustained the
proposed assessment. From the Assistant Secretary’s final decision, Appellant filed a
notice of intent and petition for administrative review with the Board pursuant to N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2.

The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board
is governed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2(b2). Afier the Tax Review Board conducts
an administrative hearing, this statute provides in pertinent part:

(b2). “The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase
the assessment or decision of the Secretary.”

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1(a), a proposed tax assessment is
presumed to be correct and the burden is on the taxpayer to rebut that presumption. In
order to rebut the presumption, the taxpayer must offer evidence to show that the
assessment is not correct.

It appearing to the Board, after conducting an administrative hearing in this
matter, during which appellant and counsel appeared and presented oral argument, and
reviewing the Assistant Secretary’s final decision, that the findings of fact made by the
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Assistant Secretary were supported by competent evidence in the record that a gift was
made in this matter, that based upon the findings of fact, the Assistant Secretary’s
conclusions of law were fully supported by the findings of fact, and that the final decision
of the Assistant Secretary was supported by the conclusions of law that a gift was made
by Appellant; however, the Board finds that the market value of the property subject to
the gift was $200,000.00 as of the taxable year of the gift tax assessment. Therefore, the
gift tax assessment shall be reduced accordingly, and the penalty imposed against
Appellant is waived.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Assistant Secretary’s final decision is
affirmed as to a gift made by Appellant in this matter; but the amount of the gift tax
assessment is reduced, and the penalty imposed against Appellant is waived.

TAX REVIEW BOARD

déﬁquf&u;ﬂ

Stacey A. Phii)ps, Chief Deputy Treasurer, on behalf
of Richard H. Moore, Chairman, State Treasurer

Edward S. Finley, Jr. Chair )
North Carolina Utilities Commissibn

(A Y

Geérge w. Bcgrlan, Esquire
Appointed Member
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE

: TAX REVIEW BOARD
COUNTY OF WAKE
IN THE MATTER OF:

The Proposed Denial of Refunds on Motor )
Fuels Tax Division’s Highway Use of Dyed )
Diesel Fuel and Dispensing Non-Tax-Paid )
Motor Fuel into Highway Vehicle Civil
Penalty Assessments, dated December 28,
2004,
And
Administrative Decision
Number: __ 514
Docket Number 2005-61

)

)

)

)

)
The Proposed Denial of Refund on Motor )
Fuels Tax Division’s Proposed Bulk User )
Audit Tax Assessment Issued on February 1,)
)

)

)

)

)

)

)

2005, by the Secretary of Revenue of the
State of North Carolina,

Vs.

Donald Grady Ward,
Appellant

This Matter was heard before the regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter “Board”)
in the City of Raleigh, Wake County, North Carolina, in the office of the State Treasurer,
on Thursday, October 25, 2007 pursuant to the petition of Donald Grady Ward
(hereinafter “Appellant”) for administrative review of the final decision entered by the
Honorable Eugene J. Cella, Assistant Secretary of Revenue on July 26, 2006. In the final
decision, the Assistant Secretary affirmed in its entirety the civil penalty assessment for
unlawful use of off-road fuel for non-highway purposes.

On November 30, 2004, a North Carolina Highway Patrol officer observed
Appellant, a tractor dealer, at an Exxon station pumping off-road fuel into the supply tank
of his Ford truck, which is a licensed highway vehicle. Signs were prominently located
above the two diesel pumps, which are located beside a kerosene pump at the Exxon
station. A sign at the pump on the left states “Highway Diesel”(i.e., on-road fuel), while
the sign over the middle pumps states “Off Road Diesel” (i.e., off-road fuel). In addition
to the large signs displayed above the pumps, each diesel pump displays additional
information, which explains the type of fuel dispensed by each pump. The signs above
the pumps are easily distinguishable at night because of lights.
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On December 28, 2004, the North Carolina Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels
Tax Division (“Division™) issued a civil penalty against Appellant pursuant to N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 105-449.117(a). Appellant paid the assessment under protest. In addition to the
penalty for use -of off-road fuel in a highway vehicle under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-
449.117(a), the Division issued Appellant a civil penalty assessment as provided in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 105-449.118.

Appellant protested the assessments and requested a hearing before the Secretary
of Revenue. After conducting a hearing, the Assistant Secretary of Revenue sustained the
proposed assessments. From the Assistant Secretary’s final decisions, Appellant filed a
notice of intent and petition for administrative review with the Board pursuant to N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2.

The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board
is governed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.2(b2). After the Tax Review Board conducts
an administrative hearing, this statute provides in pertinent part:

(b2). “The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase
the assessment or decision of the Secretary.”

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.1(a), a proposed tax assessment is
presumed to be correct and the burden is on the taxpayer to rebut that presumption. In
order to rebut the presumption, the taxpayer must offer evidence to show that the
assessment is not correct.

It appearing to the Board, after conducting an administrative hearing in this
matter, during which appellant and counsel did not appear, and reviewing the Assistant
Secretary’s final decision, that the findings of fact made by the Assistant Secretary were
supported by competent evidence of record, that based upon the findings of fact, the
Assistant Secretary’s conclusions of law were fully supported by the findings of fact, and
that the final decision of the Assistant Secretary was supported by the conclusions of law;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Assistant Secretary’s final decision is
AFFIRMED.

Made and entéred into the 20th day of December 2007.

22:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2008

1393



IN ADDITION

TAX REVIEW BOARD
\\“ulllu“h %@i{ d WM"
o \OUNA, 5 7, Stacey A. Phipps, Chief Deputy Treasurer, on behalf

of Richard H. Moore, Chairman, State Treasurer

(

Edward S. Finley, jr., Chair
North Carolina Utilities Commission

Y S ey o

George W. Boylafl, Esquire
Appointed Member
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PROPOSED RULES

days.
Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND
NATURAL RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the North Carolina Marine Fisheries Commission intends to
adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 030 .0112 and amend the
rules cited as 15A NCAC 03J .0304; 03M .0202; 030 .0101,
.0402, .0404, .0501, .0503; 03Q .0107.

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2008

Public Hearing:

Date: February 19, 2008, Tuesday

Time: 7:00 p.m.

Location: DENR Regional Office, 942 Washington Square Mall,
Washington, NC 27889

Public Hearing:

Date: February 21, 2008, Thursday

Time: 7:00 p.m.

Location: UNCW Center for Marine Science, 5600 Marvin K.
Moss Lane, Wilmington, NC 28409

Reason for Proposed Action:

15A NCAC 03J .0304 — Amendments to this rule are proposed
to create a season for the use of electrical fishing devices in joint
waters of the Cape Fear River, in order to protect sunfish
populations.

15A NCAC 03M .0202 — The 2004 Estuarine Striped Bass
Fishery Management Plan was approved by the Marine
Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission,
with an allowance for additional data collection for determining
measures to address two specific management actions in the
Central Southern Management Area. These management
actions are to reduce mortality in the recreational fishery and to
reduce discards in the commercial large mesh gill net fishery.
In response to the results of the additional data collected,
amendments to this rule are proposed to help conserve available
spawning stock of striped bass to rebuild the population of the
species.

15A NCAC 030 .0101 — General Statute 113-174.3, regarding
the For Hire Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing License, was
modified. This modification requires a change in the current
rule in order to clarify certifications that for-hire boat captains
must possess and documentation requirements that for-hire boat
captains must meet when applying for a For Hire Blanket
Coastal Recreational Fishing License.

15A NCAC 030 .0112 — General Statute 113-174.3, regarding
the For Hire Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing License, was
modified. In response, this rule is proposed for adoption in

order to clarify all license requirements that a for-hire vessel
operator must meet and all conditions that a for-hire vessel
operator must abide when engaged in for-hire recreational
fishing activities.

15A NCAC 030 .0402, .0404 — The Fisheries Reform Act (FRA)
of 1997 placed a cap on the number of Standard Commercial
Fishing Licenses (SCFLs) available to new entrants. In
response, the Marine Fisheries Commission (MFC) created a
License Eligibility Board. The Board may approve an
application for a SCFL if certain criteria are met by the
applicant that demonstrate participation in the commercial
fishing industry. Since there is a limited number of SCFLs they
have acquired a monetary value. Often when individuals
transfer a SCFL they are financially compensated by the person
receiving the license. Over the last two years there has been an
increase in the number of short-term transfers of SCFLs. The
majority of these licenses are acquired for the purpose of sale
and thus do not meet the spirit of the FRA or the intent of the
MFC. Amendments to these rules are needed to address the
transfer of SCFLs obtained through the License Eligibility
Board.

15A NCAC 030 .0501 — Proclamation M-12-2006 mandates a
For Hire Fishing Permit for vessels that do not possess a For
Hire Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing License for the
number of persons on the vessel engaged in for-hire fishing. The
proclamation outlines the requirements to obtain the For Hire
Fishing Permit. This rule is proposed for amendment to move
the For Hire Fishing Permit from proclamation to permanent
rule.

15A NCAC 030 .0503 — Proclamation M-12-2006 mandates a
For Hire Fishing Permit for vessels that do not possess a For
Hire Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing License for the
number of persons on the vessel engaged in for-hire fishing. The
proclamation outlines the specific conditions permitted persons
must abide. This rule is proposed for amendment to move the
For Hire Fishing Permit specific conditions from proclamation
to permanent rule.

15A NCAC 03Q .0107 — The 2004 Estuarine Striped Bass
Fishery Management Plan was approved by the Marine
Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission,
with an allowance for additional data collection for determining
measures to address two specific management actions in the
Central Southern Management Area. These management
actions are to reduce mortality in the recreational fishery and to
reduce discards in the commercial large mesh gill net fishery.
In response to the results of the additional data collected,
amendments to this rule are proposed to help conserve available
spawning stock of striped bass to rebuild the population of the
species. Amendments are also proposed to create an area
closure for the use of electrical fishing devices downstream of
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the three locks and dams on the Cape Fear River, to address
user conflicts.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: If you have any objections to the proposed
rules, please forward a typed or handwritten letter indicating
your specific reasons for your objections to the following
address: NC Division of Marine Fisheries, Catherine Blum,
Rulemaking Coordinator, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC
28557

Comments may be submitted to: Catherine Blum, P.O. Box
769, Morehead City, NC 28557, phone (252) 808-8013, fax
(252) 726-0254, email catherine.blum@ncmail.net

Comment period ends: April 1, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:
State
Local
Substantive (>$3,000,000)
None

(|

CHAPTER 03 - MARINE FISHERIES

SUBCHAPTER 03J - NETS, POTS, DREDGES, AND
OTHER FISHING DEVICES

SECTION .0300 — POTS, DREDGES, AND OTHER
FISHING DEVICES

15A NCAC 03J .0304 ELECTRICAL FISHING DEVICE
It is fawfalunlawful to take catfish by the use of a hand-operated
device generating pulsating electrical current in the Cape Fear
River between—except from 800 feet downstream of Lock and
Dam No. 1 in Bladen County dewnstream-to where the Black
River joins the Cape Fear River—River from July 1 to March 1.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52.
SUBCHAPTER 03M - FINFISH

SECTION .0200 - STRIPED BASS

15A NCAC 03M .0202 SEASON, SIZE AND HARVEST
LIMIT: INTERNAL COASTAL WATERS
€@ The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or
all the following restrictions on the taking of striped bass in a
commercial fishing operation or for recreational purposes in
internal coastal waters—waters during the period from October 1
through April 30:
(1) Specify season—or—seasons:—fishing days and
times,
A)—forrecreational purpeses:
2 Specify areas, but shall not include coastal
waters of the Cape Fear River,
3) Specify quantity, except possession shall not
exceed:
(a) more than three fish in any one day in
the Albemarle Sound Management
Area as designated in 15A NCAC
03R .0201, and
(b) more than two fish in any one day in
the joint and coastal fishing waters of

the Central Southern Management
Area as designated in 15A NCAC

03R .0201.
4) Specify means/methods,
(5) Specify size, but the minimum size specified
shall not be less than 18 inches total length,

and

(6) Require submission of statistical and

biological data.
Fish that do not meet the minimum size limit specified by
proclamation shall immediately be returned to the waters from
which taken regardless of condition.

by—The Fisheries Directormay;-by-proclamation; impese-any-of

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.52.

SUBCHAPTER 030 — LICENSES, LEASES AND
FRANCHISES

SECTION .0100 — LICENSES

15A NCAC 030 .0101 PROCEDURES AND
REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN LICENSES,
ENDORSEMENTS AND COMMERCIAL FISHING
VESSEL REGISTRATIONS

(@) To obtain any Marine Fisheries licenses, endorsements,
commercial fishing vessel registrations except Recreational
Fishing Tournament Licenses to Sell Fish and Land or Sell
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Licenses,

the following

information is required for the

application by the licensee, a responsible party or person holding
a power of attorney:

(1

2

)

(4)

)

(6)

()
(®)

)

(10)

(11)

Full name, physical address, mailing address,
date of birth, and signature of the licensee on
the application.  If the licensee is not
appearing before a license agent or a
representative of the Division, the licensee's
signature on the application shall be notarized;
Current picture identification of licensee or
responsible party; acceptable forms of picture
identification are driver's license, state
identification card, military identification card,
resident alien card (green card) or passport or
if purchased by mail, a copy thereof;
Certification that the applicant does not have
four or more marine or estuarine resource
violations during the previous three years,
except Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing
Licenses;

Valid documentation papers or current motor
boat registration or copy thereof when
purchasing a commercial fishing vessel
registration. If an application for transfer of
documentation is pending, a copy of the
pending application and a notarized bill of sale
may be submitted;

Current articles of incorporation and a current
list of corporate officers when purchasing a
license or commercial fishing vessel
registration in a corporate name. In the case of
incorporation of an individual fishing vessel,
the name of the master of that vessel shall also
be specified. It is unlawful to fail to notify the
Morehead City Office of the Division of
Marine Fisheries within five days of change of
the master specified for that vessel;

If a partnership is established by a written
partnership agreement, a current copy of such
agreement shall be provided when purchasing
a license, endorsement or commercial fishing
vessel registration in a partnership name;

For nonresidents, certification of the state of
residency;

In addition to the information required in G.S.
113-169.4, linear length of pier when
purchasing an Ocean Fishing Pier License;

In addition to the information required in G.S.
113-171.1, current aircraft registration and list
of operator(s) when purchasing a Spotter Plane
License;

In addition, for fish dealers licenses, the
physical address of the established location
where business is conducted and, if different,
the address where records are kept;

When purchasing a Fish Dealer License with
clam or oyster categories or a consolidated
license, the applicant shall provide wvalid

(12)

(13)

certification as a North Carolina certified
shellfish dealer;

In addition, for the Ocean Fishing Pier Blanket
Coastal Recreation Fishing License, a valid
Ocean Fishing Pier License issued in the name
of the applicant or copy thereof.

In addition, for the For Hire Blanket Coastal

Recreational Fishing License, the applicant

shall provide:

(A) A valid certification from the United
States Coast Guard (USCG) that
allows carrying six or fewer
passengers or a certification from the
USCG that allows carrying more than
six passengers; and

(B) Valid documentation papers _ or
current motor boat registration or
copies thereof for the vessel engaged
as for-hire. If an application for
transfer of documentation is pending,
a copy of the pending application and
a_notarized bill of sale may be
submitted.

(b) License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean.

M

2

3)

“)

)

To qualify for a License to Land Flounder

from the Atlantic Ocean, the applicant shall:

(A) have landed in North Carolina at least
1,000 pounds of flounder from a
single vessel each year from the
Atlantic Ocean during any two of the
1992-93, 1993-94, 1994-95 license
years for which the person had a
vessel that was licensed to land in
North Carolina; and

(B) have been licensed under G.S. 113-
152 or 113-153 during any two of the
1992-93, 1993-94, or 1994-95 license

years; and
©) hold a valid Standard or Retired
Standard Commercial Fishing

License or valid Land or Sell License.
It is lawful for a person to hold Licenses to
Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean equal
to the number of vessels that he owns that
individually met the eligibility requirements of
Parts (b)(1)(A) and (b)(1)(B) of this Rule.
The License to Land Flounder from the
Atlantic Ocean is only valid when used on the
vessel specified at the time of license issuance.
At the time of issuance, the applicant for the
License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic
Ocean shall specify the name of the master of
the vessel for each License to Land Flounder
from the Atlantic Ocean issued.
Applicants for a License to Land Flounder
from the Atlantic Ocean shall complete an
application form provided by the Division of
Marine Fisheries and submit it to the
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Morehead City Office of the Division of
Marine Fisheries for processing.

(6) It is unlawful for the holder of the License to
Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean to fail
to notify the Morehead Office of the Division
of Marine Fisheries within five days of change
as to the master identified on the license.

@) Licenses to Land Flounder from the Atlantic
Ocean are issued for the current license year
and expire on June 30.

(c) To obtain a Recreational Fishing Tournament License to Sell
Fish, the tournament organizer shall apply with the Division of
Marine Fisheries at least 30 days prior to the starting date of the
tournament with the following required information:

(1 Full name, physical address, mailing address,
date of birth, signature of the tournament
organizer, name of tournament, and dates of
tournament on the license application. If the
licensee is not appearing before a
representative of the Division, the licensee's
signature shall be notarized on the application.

2) Current picture identification of tournament
organizer; acceptable forms of picture
identification are driver's license, state
identification card, military identification card,
or passport, or if purchased by mail, a copy
thereof.

(d) To obtain a Land or Sell License, the following information
is required for a proper application:

(1) Full name, physical address, mailing address,
date of birth, and signature of the responsible
party or master for the vessel on the license
application. If the licensee is not appearing
before a representative of the Division, the
licensee's signature on the application shall be
notarized on the application;

) Current picture identification of responsible
party or master; acceptable forms of picture
identification are driver's license, state
identification card, military identification card,
or passport or if applying by mail, a copy

thereof;
3) Valid documentation papers or current motor
boat registration or copy thereof when

purchasing a commercial fishing vessel
registration. If an application for transfer of
documentation is pending, a copy of the
pending application and a notarized bill of sale
may be submitted.
Fees shall be based on the vessel's homeport as it appears on the
U.S. Coast Guard documentation papers or the State in which
the vessel is registered.
(e) Proof of residency in North Carolina for:
(1) Standard Commercial Fishing License or
Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License
shall require a notarized certification from the
applicant that the applicant is a resident of the
State of North Carolina as defined by G.S.
113-130(4); and

(A) a notarized certification from the
applicant that a North Carolina State
Income Tax Return was filed for the
previous calendar or tax year as a
North Carolina resident; or

B) a notarized certification that the
applicant was not required to file a
North Carolina State Income Tax
Return for the previous calendar or
tax year; or

© military  identification,  military
dependent identification and
permanent change of station orders or
assignment orders substantiating
individual's active duty assignment at
a military facility in North Carolina.

2) All other types of licenses:

(A) North Carolina voter registration
card; or

B) Current North Carolina Driver's
License; or

© Current North Carolina Certificate of
Domicile; or
(D) Current North Carolina Identification
Card issued by the North Carolina
Division of Motor Vehicles; or
(E) Military  identification,  military
dependent identification and
permanent change of station orders or
assignment orders substantiating
individual's active duty assignment at
a military facility in North Carolina.
(f) Applications submitted without complete and required
information shall be deemed incomplete and shall not be
considered further wuntil resubmitted with all required
information.
(g) It is unlawful for a license or registration holder to fail to
notify the Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a
change of address.
(h) Licenses are available at Offices of the Division or by mail
from the Morehead City Office, unless otherwise specified. In
addition, Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses are available
at Wildlife Service Agents who have been designated as agents
of the Department.
(i) To renew any Marine Fisheries licenses, endorsements, and
commercial fishing vessel registration, except Recreational
Commercial Gear Licenses, the following is required for the
renewal application by the licensee, a responsible party or
person holding a power of attorney;

(1) The information required in Subparagraphs
(a)(4), (a)(5), and (a)(6) of this Rule are only
required if a change has occurred since the last
issuance of license, endorsement or
commercial fishing vessel registration.

2) Certification that articles of incorporation and
list of corporate officers, if incorporated,
written partnership agreement, if written
partnership, or documentation papers or motor
boat registration previously provided for initial
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license purchase are still valid and current for
renewal.

3) Current and valid state driver's license or state
identification picture identification numbers
and expiration dates shall be verified on mail
license renewal applications or any other
electronic license renewal process, otherwise
the licensee shall provide a photocopy for
renewal by mail or visit a Division License
Office and present a current and valid picture
identification pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2)
of this Rule.

4 The licensee's or responsible party's signature
on the application shall certify all information
as true and accurate. Notarization of signature
on renewal applications is not required.

(5) The Division of Marine Fisheries may require
current copies of documentation for licenses,
endorsements, commercial fishing vessel
registration on renewal when necessary to
verify  inconsistent information or the
information cannot be verified by independent
sources.

(6) If the linear length of the pier has not changed
for the Ocean Fishing Pier License renewal,
the responsible party shall certify that the
length is accurate; otherwise, a Marine Patrol
Officer's signature is required to certify the
linear length before the license can be
renewed.

(7 Certification that shellfish dealer certification
by North Carolina previously provided for
issuance of Fish Dealer License with clam or
oyster categories or consolidated license is still
valid and current for renewal.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168; 113-168.1-6; 113-169; 113-
169.2-5; 113-171.1; 113-174.3; 113-174.4; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030.0112 FOR HIRE COASTAL
RECREATIONAL FISHING

(a) It is unlawful to operate a For Hire Vessel unless the vessel
operator _possesses _either the For Hire Blanket Coastal
Recreational Fishing License (CRFL) for the vessel or a
Division of Marine Fisheries For Hire Fishing Permit for the
vessel as provided in 15A NCAC 030 .0503(k).

(b) It is unlawful for a For Hire Vessel operator to operate under
the For Hire Blanket CRFL without:

(1) Holding the USCG certification required in
15A NCAC 030 .0101(a)(13);

2) Having the For Hire Blanket CRFL for the
vessel or copy thereof in possession and ready
at hand for inspection; and

(3) Having current picture identification in
possession and ready at hand for inspection.

(c) It is unlawful for the holder of the For Hire Blanket CRFL to
fail to participate in and provide complete and accurate
information as requested by the Division for biological sampling
and survey programs.

(d) It is unlawful to fail to display a current For Hire Blanket
CRFL decal mounted on an exterior surface of the vessel so as to
be plainly visible when viewed from the port side while engaged
in for-hire recreational fishing.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-174.3; 143B-289.52.

SECTION .0400 — STANDARD COMMERCIAL LICENSE
ELIGIBILITY

NOTE: 15A NCAC 030 .0402 was published in the September
4, 2007 North Carolina Register, Volume 22, Issue 05, page 293.
Proposed amendments to this rule, as published, are shown
below in italics and have an earliest effective date of February 1,
2008. Additional proposed amendments to this rule are shown
below in regular font.

15A NCAC 030 .0402 APPLICATION PROCESS

(a) Application forms for determination of eligibility for the
Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses Eligibility Pool shall be
available at all offices of the Division of Marine Fisheries and
must be submitted to the Morehead City Office of the Division
of Marine Fisheries for processing.

() ‘H;“.;E;HE. >IoFaetermi EEEII.E i ;.II.EIIQIEIIIIE? OF the Standare

{e)(b) Only one application per individual for determination of
eligibility for the Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses
Eligibility Pool shall be accepted or may be pending at any one
time. An applicant may ealy have only one entry in the
eligibility pool at any one time.

{d)(c) Individuals who currently hold or are eligible to purchase
a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License
shall not be eligible to apply for additional Standard Commercial
Fishing Licenses through the Standard Commercial Fishing
Licenses Eligibility Pool.

{e)(d) If an applicant has died or becomes ineligible and is
subsequently selected from the eligibility pool, that license
eligibility shall automatically revert to the eligibility pool.

{H(e) Persons claiming retirement from commercial fishing or
transferring their Standard Commercial Fishing License may not
apply for pool eligibility for two years from the date of the last
transfer—transfer except as provided in 15A NCAC 030
.0404(3).

{g)(f) Applicants shall notify the Division of Marine Fisheries
within 30 days of a change of address.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 143B-289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4:24.

NOTE: 15A NCAC 030 .0404 was published in the September
4, 2007 North Carolina Register, Volume 22, Issue 05, pages
293-294. Proposed amendments to this rule, as published, are
shown below in italics and have an earliest effective date of
February 1, 2008. Additional proposed amendments to this rule
are shown below in regular font.
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15A NCAC 030 .0404

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

In determining eligibility of an application for the Standard
Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool, the Eligibility
Board shall apply the following criteria:

(1)

2

Involvement in Commercial Fishing:

(a) Significant involvement in the
commercial fishing industry for three
of the last five years; or

(b) Significant involvement in
commercial fishing or in the
commercial fishing industry prior to
the last five years; or

{e}(c) In the case of an applicant Who has

turned-is under 16 in-the-yearpriorto
apphication,—years of age, significant

involvement in commercial fishing
for two out of the last five years prier
to—reaching—the—age—of 16—with a

parent, legal guardian, grandparent or
other—adult—family—member;—other
adult; or

H(d) Significant famihy-involvement of the
applicant’s family in commercial
fishing—for-thelast-five-years:fishing.
For the purpose of this Sub-item,
family shall include mother, father,
brother, sister, spouse, children,
grandparents or legal guardian.

For the purposes of this Rule, significant
involvement means persons or corporations
who are engaged in the actual taking of fish;
fish for sale, from the waters of the State, or
other states, jurisdictions, or federal waters, or
any licensed dealer or the dealer's employees
who purchases fish at the point of landing—er
their—employees—at—the—peint—eof landing.
Significant involvement does not include
activities such as those who transport fish from
the point of landing; those who sell or make
commercial or recreational fishing gear; those
who operate bait and tackle sheps; unless they
are engaged in the actual taking of bait for
sale; or those who work in fish markets or crab
picking operations.

Compliance with Applicable Laws and

Regulations:

(a) The applicant shall not have any
licenses, endorsements or commercial
fishing vessel registrations issued by
the Division of Marine Fisheries or
the right to hold such under

3)

suspension or revocation at the time
of application or during the eligibility

review; or
(b) If selected for the Standard
Commercial Fishing License

Eligibility Pool, the applicant shall
become ineligible for the Standard
Commercial Fishing License
Eligibility Pool if any licenses,
endorsements or registrations or the
right to hold such issued by the
Division of Marine Fisheries are
suspended or revoked; or
(©) Four convictions within the last three
years or the number of convictions
which would cause suspension or
revocation of license, endorsement, or
registration within the last three years
shall result in the application being
denied; or
(d) A record of habitual violations
evidenced by eight or more
convictions in the last 10 years shall
result in the application being denied.
For purposes of eligibility for the Standard
Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool,
the term convictions shall include but not be
limited to any conviction for violation of any
provision of G-S—H3—Chapter 113 of the
North Carolina General Statutes and any rule
implementing or authorized by such statutes;
any conviction for violation of G.S. 76-40 and
any rule implementing or authorized by such
statute; any conviction of G-S—F5A—Chapter
75A of the North Carolina General Statutes
and any rule implementing or authorized by
such statutes; any conviction for violation of
any provision of Article 7 of GS—43B
Chapter 143B of the North Carolina General
Statutes and any rule implementing or
authorized by such statutes; any conviction of
resist, obstruct, or delay involving a Marine
Patrol Officer or Wildlife Officer under G.S.
14-223; and any conviction involving
assaultive behavior toward a Marine Patrol
Officer or other governmental official of the
Department of Environment and Natural
Resources or the Wildlife Commission.
Applicants for the Standard Commercial
Fishing License Eligibility Pool must provide
certification that the applicant does not have
four or more marine or estuarine resource
violations during the previous three years.
The responsible party shall not have

(4)

transferred a Standard Commercial Fishing
License granted by the Eligibility Board.

All applicants for the Standard Commercial
Fishing License Eligibility Pool must meet all
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other statutory eligibility requirements for the
Standard Commercial Fishing License.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.2; 143B-289.52;
S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24.

SECTION .0500 — PERMITS

15A NCAC 030 .0501 PROCEDURES AND
REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS

(a) To obtain any Marine Fisheries permit, the following
information is required for proper application from the applicant,
a responsible party or person holding a power of attorney:

(1 Full name, physical address, mailing address,
date of birth, and signature of the applicant on
the application. If the applicant is not
appearing before a license agent or the
designated Division contact, the applicant's
signature on the application shall be notarized;

2) Current picture identification of applicant,
responsible party and, when applicable, person
holding a power of attorney; acceptable forms
of picture identification are driver's license,
current North Carolina Identification card
issued by the North Carolina Division of
Motor Vehicles, military identification card,
resident alien card (green card) or passport or
if applying by mail, a copy thereof;

3) Full names and dates of birth of designees of
the applicant who shall be acting under the
requested permit where that type permit
requires listing of designees;

4 Certification that the applicant and his
designees do not have four or more marine or
estuarine resource convictions during the
previous three years;

5) For permit applications from business entities,
the following documentation is required:

(A) Business Name;

(B) Type of Business Entity: Corporation,
partnership, or sole proprietorship;

© Name, address and phone number of
responsible  party and  other
identifying information required by
this Subchapter or rules related to a

(6)

copies of current business privilege

tax certificates, if applicable.
Additional information as required for specific
permits.

(b) A permittee shall hold a valid Standard or Retired Standard
Commercial Fishing License in order to hold a:

()
@)

A3)

Pound Net Permit;

Permit to Waive the Requirement to Use
Turtle Excluder Devices in the Atlantic Ocean;
or

Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear
Permit.

(c) A permittee and his designees shall hold a valid Standard or
Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish
Endorsement or a Shellfish License in order to hold a:

(M
2
(€)
4)

®)

Permit to Transplant (Prohibited) Polluted
Shellfish;

Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed
Management Areas;

Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for Oysters
or Clams on Shellfish Leases or Franchises;
Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from
Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; or

Depuration Permit.

(d) A permittee shall hold a valid:

(M

@)

Fish Dealer License in the proper category in
order to hold Dealer Permits for Monitoring
Fisheries Under a Quota/Allocation for that
category; and

Standard Commercial Fishing License with a
Shellfish Endorsement, Retired Standard
Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish
Endorsement or a Shellfish License in order to
harvest clams or oysters for depuration.

(e) Aquaculture Operations/Collection Permits:

(M

@)

A permittee shall hold a valid Aquaculture
Operation Permit issued by the Fisheries
Director to hold an Aquaculture Collection
Permit.

The permittee or designees shall hold
appropriate licenses from the Division of
Marine Fisheries for the species harvested and
the gear used under the Aquaculture Collection
Permit.

(f) Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:

specific permit; €] Application for an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass

(D) For a corporation, current articles of Commercial Gear Permit must be made prior
incorporation and a current list of to November 1 of each year. A person shall
corporate officers when applying for declare one of the following gears for an initial
a permit in a corporate name; Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear

(E) For a partnership, if the partnership is Permit and at intervals of three consecutive
established by a written partnership license years thereafter:
agreement, a current copy of such (A) gill net;
agreement shall be provided when B) trawl; or
applying for a permit; © beach seine.

F For business entities, other than For the purpose of this Rule, a beach seine is
corporations, copies of current defined as a swipe net constructed of multi-
assumed name statements if filed and filament or multi-fiber webbing fished from

the ocean beach that is deployed from a vessel
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launched from the ocean beach where the
fishing operation takes place.
Gear declarations are binding on the permittee
for three consecutive license years without
regard to subsequent annual permit issuance.
2) A person is not eligible for more than one
Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear
Permit regardless of the number of Standard
Commercial  Fishing Licenses, Retired
Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses or
assignments held by the person.

3) The annual, nonrefundable permit fee is ten
dollars ($10.00).
(g) For Hire Fishing Permit:
1) The permittee shall hold a valid certification

from the United States Coast Guard (USCG)
that allows carrying six or fewer passengers or
a certification from the USCG that allows
carrying more than six passengers;

(2) The  permittee  shall  provide  valid
documentation papers or current motor boat
registration or copies thereof for the vessel
engaged as for-hire. If an application for
transfer of documentation is pending, a copy
of the pending application and a notarized bill
of sale may be submitted.

¢2)(h) Applications submitted without complete and required
information shall not be processed until all required information
has been submitted. Incomplete applications shall be returned to
the applicant with deficiency in the application so noted.

@(1) A permit shall be issued only after the application has
been deemed complete by the Division of Marine Fisheries and
the applicant certifies to fully abide by the permit general and
specific conditions established under 15A NCAC 03] .0107,
03K .0103, 03K .0104, 03K .0107, 03K .0206, 03K .0303, 03K
.0401, 030 .0502, and 030 .0503 as applicable to the requested
permit.

() The Fisheries Director, or his agent may evaluate the
following in determining whether to issue, modify or renew a
permit:

(1) Potential threats to public health or marine and
estuarine resources regulated by the Marine
Fisheries Commission;

) Applicant's  demonstration of a wvalid
justification for the permit and a showing of
responsibility as determined by the Fisheries

Director;
3) Applicant's history of habitual fisheries
violations evidenced by eight or more

violations in 10 years.
(k) The applicant shall be notified in writing of the denial or
modification of any permit request and the reasons therefor. The
applicant may submit further information, or reasons why the
permit should not be denied or modified.
do(1) Permits are valid from the date of issuance through the
expiration date printed on the permit. Unless otherwise
established by rule, the Fisheries Director may establish the
issuance timeframe for specific types and categories of permits
based on season, calendar year, or other period based upon the

nature of the activity permitted, the duration of the activity,
compliance with federal or state fishery management plans or
implementing rules, conflicts with other fisheries or gear usage,
or seasons for the species involved. The expiration date shall be
specified on the permit.

@(@m) To renew a permit, the permittee shall file a certification
that the information in the original application is still valid, or a
statement of all changes in the original application and any
additional information required by the Division of Marine
Fisheries.

@) (n) For initial or renewal permits, processing time for
permits may be up to 30 days unless otherwise specified in this
Chapter.

@)(0) It is unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the
Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name
or address.

) (p) It is unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the
Division of Marine Fisheries of a change of designee prior to use
of the permit by that designee.

é)(q) Permit applications shall be available at all Division
Offices.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.3; 113-182; 113-
210; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030 .0503 PERMIT CONDITIONS;
SPECIFIC
(a) Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit:
€)) It is unlawful to use horseshoe crabs for
biomedical purposes without first obtaining a
permit.
2) It is unlawful for persons who have been

issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use

Permit to fail to submit a report on the use of

horseshoe crabs to the Division of Marine

Fisheries due on February 1 of each year.

Such reports shall be filed on forms provided

by the Division and shall include a monthly

account of the number of crabs harvested,

statement of percent mortality up to the point

of release, and a certification that harvested

horseshoe crabs are solely used by the

biomedical facility and not for other purposes.

3) It is unlawful for persons who have been

issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use

Permit to fail to comply with the Atlantic

States ~ Marine  Fisheries =~ Commission

Horseshoe Crab Fisheries Management Plan

monitoring and tagging requirements for

horseshoe crabs. Copies of this plan are

available from the Atlantic States Marine

Fisheries Commission, 1444 Eye Street, NW,

6th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, (202) 289-

6400, or the Division of Marine Fisheries'
Morehead City Office.

(b)  Dealers Permits for Monitoring Fisheries under a

Quota/Allocation:
@) During the commercial season opened by
proclamation or rule for the fishery for which a
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2

Dealers Permit for Monitoring Fisheries under

a Quota/Allocation permit is issued, it is

unlawful for fish dealers issued such permit to

fail to:

(A) Fax or send via electronic mail by
noon daily, on forms provided by the
Division, the previous day's landings
for the permitted fishery to the dealer
contact designated on the permit.
Landings for Fridays or Saturdays
shall be submitted on the following
Monday. If the dealer is unable to
fax or electronic mail the required
information, the permittee shall call
in the previous day's landings to the
dealer contact designated on the
permit but shall maintain a log
furnished by the Division;

(B) Submit the required log to the
Division upon request or no later than
five days after the close of the season
for the fishery permitted;

©) Maintain faxes and other related
documentation in accordance with
15A NCAC 031.0114;

(D) Contact the dealer contact daily
regardless of whether or not a
transaction for the fishery for which a
dealer is permitted occurred;

(E) Record the permanent dealer
identification number on the bill of
lading or receipt for each transaction
or shipment from the permitted
fishery.

Striped Bass Dealer Permit:

(A) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to
possess, buy, sell or offer for sale
striped bass taken from the following
areas without first obtaining a Striped
Bass Dealer Permit validated for the
applicable harvest area:

(1) Atlantic Ocean;
(i1) Albemarle Sound
Management Area as

designated in 15A NCAC
03R .0201; and
(iii) The joint and coastal fishing

waters of the
Central/Southern
Management Area as
designated in 15A NCAC
03R .0201.

(B) No permittee shall possess, buy, sell
or offer for sale striped bass taken
from the harvest areas opened by
proclamation without having a North
Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries
issued valid tag for the applicable
area affixed through the mouth and

3)

“)

gill cover, or, in the case of striped
bass imported from other states, a
similar tag that is issued for striped
bass in the state of origin. North
Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries
striped bass tags shall not be bought,
sold, offered for sale, or transferred.
Tags shall be obtained at the North
Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries
Offices. The Division of Marine
Fisheries shall specify the quantity of
tags to be issued based on historical
striped bass landings. It is unlawful
for the permittee to fail to surrender
unused tags to the Division upon
request.

Albemarle Sound Management Area for River

Herring Dealer Permit: It is unlawful to

possess, buy, sell or offer for sale river herring

taken from the following area without first
obtaining an Albemarle Sound Management

Area for River Herring Dealer Permit:

Albemarle Sound Management Area for River

Herring is defined in 15A NCAC 03] .0209.

Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit:

(A) It is unlawful for a Fish Dealer to
allow vessels holding a valid License
to Land Flounder from the Atlantic
Ocean to land more than 100 pounds
of flounder from a single transaction
at their licensed location during the
open season without first obtaining an
Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer
Permit. The licensed location shall
be specified on the Atlantic Ocean
Flounder Dealer Permit and only one
location per permit shall be allowed.

(B) It is unlawful for a Fish Dealer to
possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale
more than 100 pounds of flounder
from a single transaction from the
Atlantic Ocean without first obtaining
an Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer
Permit.

(c) Blue Crab Shedding Permit: It is unlawful to possess more
than 50 blue crabs in a shedding operation without first
obtaining a Blue Crab Shedding Permit from the Division of

Marine Fisheries.

(d) Permit to Waive the Requirement to Use Turtle Excluder
Devices in the Atlantic Ocean:

()

It is unlawful to trawl for shrimp in the
Atlantic Ocean without Turtle Excluder
Devices installed in trawls within one nautical
mile of the shore from Browns Inlet (34°
35.7000" N latitude) to Rich's Inlet (34°
17.6000" N latitude) without a valid Permit to
Waive the Requirement to Use Turtle Excluder
Devices in the Atlantic Ocean when allowed
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(¢) Pound Net Set Permits.

2)

)
“4)

)

by proclamation from April 1
November 30.

It is unlawful to tow for more than 55 minutes
from April 1 through October 31 and 75
minutes from November 1 through November
30 in this area when working under this
permit. Tow time begins when the doors enter
the water and ends when the doors exit the
water.

It is unlawful to fail to empty the contents of
each net at the end of each tow.

It is unlawful to refuse to take observers upon
request by the Division of Marine Fisheries or
the National Marine Fisheries Service.

It is unlawful to fail to report any sea turtle
captured. Reports shall be made within 24
hours of the capture to the Marine Patrol
Communications Center by phone. All turtles
taken incidental to trawling shall be handled
and resuscitated in accordance  with
requirements specified in 50 CFR 223.206,
copies of which are available via the Internet
at www.nmfs.gov and at the Division of
Marine Fisheries, 127 Cardinal Drive
Extension, Wilmington, North Carolina 28405.
Rules setting forth specific

through

conditions for pound net sets are set forth in 15A NCAC 03]

.0107.

(f) Aquaculture Operations/Collection Permits:

()

2

©)

It is wunlawful to conduct aquaculture

operations utilizing marine and estuarine

resources  without first securing an

Aquaculture Operation Permit from the

Fisheries Director.

It is unlawful:

(A) To take marine and estuarine
resources from coastal fishing waters
for aquaculture purposes without first
obtaining an Aquaculture Collection
Permit from the Fisheries Director.

(B) To sell, or use for any purpose not
related to North Carolina aquaculture,
marine and estuarine resources taken
under an Aquaculture Collection
Permit.

©) To fail to submit to the Fisheries
Director an annual report due on
December 1 of each year on the form
provided by the Division the amount
and disposition of marine and
estuarine resources collected under
authority of this permit.

Lawfully permitted shellfish relaying activities

authorized by 15A NCAC 03K .0103 and

.0104 are exempt from requirements to have

an Aquaculture Operation or Collection Permit

issued by the Fisheries Director.

“)

®)

Aquaculture Operations/Collection Permits
shall be issued or renewed on a calendar year
basis.

It is unlawful to fail to provide the Division of
Marine Fisheries with a listing of all designees
who will be acting under an Aquaculture
Collection Permit at the time of application.

(g) Scientific or Educational Collection Permit:

(1

2

3)

“)

)

It is unlawful for individuals or agencies
seeking exemptions from license, rule,
proclamation or statutory requirements to
collect for scientific or educational purposes as
approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries
any marine and estuarine species without first
securing a Scientific or Educational Collection
Permit.

It is unlawful for persons who have been
issued a Scientific or Educational Collection
Permit to fail to submit a report on collections
to the Division of Marine Fisheries due on
December 1 of each year unless otherwise
specified on the permit. The reports shall be
filed on forms provided by the Division.
Scientific or Educational Collection Permits
shall be issued on a calendar year basis.

It is unlawful to sell marine and estuarine
species taken under a Scientific or Educational
Collection Permit:

(A) without the required license(s) for

such sale;

B) to anyone other than a licensed North
Carolina fish dealer; and

© without authorization stated on the

permit for such sale.

It is unlawful to fail to provide the Division of
Marine Fisheries a listing of all designees who
will be acting under Scientific or Educational
Collection Permits at the time of application.
The permittee or designees utilizing the permit
shall call or fax the Division of Marine
Fisheries Communications Center not later
than 24 hours prior to use of the permit,
specifying activities and location.

(h) Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit:

(M

2

(€)

It is unlawful to cultivate oysters in containers
under docks for personal consumption without
first obtaining an Under Dock Oyster Culture
Permit.

An Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit shall
only be issued in accordance with provisions
set forth in G.S. 113-210(c).

The applicant shall complete and submit an
examination, with a minimum of 70 percent
correct answers, based on an educational
package provided by the Division of Marine
Fisheries pursuant to G.S. 113-210(j). The
examination demonstrates the applicant's
knowledge of:

(A) the application process;
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(4)

(B) permit criteria;

© basic oyster biology and culture
techniques;

(D) shellfish harvest area closures due to
pollution;

(E) safe handling practices;

F permit conditions; and

(G) permit revocation criteria.

Action by an Under Dock Oyster Culture
Permit holder to encroach on or usurp the legal
rights of the public to access public trust
resources in coastal fishing waters shall result
in permit revocation.

(i) Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:

(1)

2)

It is unlawful to take striped bass from the
Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing
operation without first obtaining an Atlantic
Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit.
It is unlawful to use a single Standard
Commercial Fishing License, including
assignments, to obtain more than one Atlantic
Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit
during a license year.

(j) Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit:

(1

2

€)

“4)

It is unlawful for the responsible party seeking
exemption from recreational fishing license
requirements for eligible individuals to
conduct an organized fishing event held in
coastal or joint fishing waters without first
obtaining a Coastal Recreational Fishing

License Exemption Permit.

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License

Exemption Permit shall only be issued for

recreational fishing activity conducted solely

for the participation and benefit of one of the
following groups of eligible individuals:

(A) Individuals with physical or mental
limitations;

(B) Members of the United States Armed
Forces and their dependents, upon
presentation of a valid military
identification card, for military
appreciation;

© Individuals receiving instruction on
recreational fishing techniques and
conservation practices from
employees of state or federal
agencies, or instructors affiliated with
educational institutions; and

(D) Disadvantaged youths.

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License

Exemption Permit is valid for the date(s), time

and physical location of the organized fishing

event for which the exemption is granted and
the time period shall not exceed one year from
the date of issuance.

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License

Exemption Permit shall only be issued when

all of the following, in addition to the

information required in 15A NCAC 030

.0501, is submitted to the Fisheries Director in

writing a minimum of 30 days prior to the

event:

(A) The name, date(s), time and physical
location of the event;

B) Documentation that substantiates
local, state or federal involvement in
the organized fishing event, if

applicable;
© The cost or requirements, if any, for
an individual to participate in the
event; and
(D) An estimate of the number of
participants.
(k) For Hire Fishing Permit:
(1) It is unlawful to operate a For Hire Vessel

unless the vessel operator possesses either the

For Hire Blanket Coastal Recreational Fishing

License (CRFL) for the vessel as provided in

15A NCAC 030 .0112 or a Division of

Marine Fisheries For Hire Fishing Permit for

the vessel.

(2) It is unlawful for a For Hire vessel operator to
operate_under the For Hire Fishing Permit
without:

(A) Holding the USCG certification
required in  15A NCAC 030
.0501(g)(1);

(B) Having the For Hire Fishing Permit
for the vessel or copy thereof in
possession _and ready at hand for
inspection;

(&) Having current picture identification
in possession and ready at hand for
inspection.

(3) It is unlawful for the permittee to fail to notify
the Division immediately of any changes to
information provided on the permit.

(4) It is unlawful to fail to display a current For
Hire Fishing Permit decal mounted on an
exterior surface of the vessel so as to be
plainly visible when viewed from the port side
while engaged in for-hire recreational fishing.

(5) The For Hire Fishing Permit is valid for one
year from the date of issuance.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.3; 113-182; 113-
210; 143B-289.52.

SUBCHAPTER 03Q - JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES:
CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS: JOINT

15A NCAC 03Q .0107 SPECIAL REGULATIONS:
JOINT WATERS

In order to effectively manage all fisheries resources in joint
waters and in order to confer enforcement powers on both

22:15

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2008

1405



PROPOSED RULES

fisheries enforcement officers and wildlife enforcement officers
with respect to certain rules, the Marine Fisheries Commission
and the Wildlife Resources Commission deem it necessary to
adopt special rules for joint waters. Such rules supersede any
inconsistent rules of the Marine Fisheries Commission or the
Wildlife Resources Commission that would otherwise be
applicable in joint waters under the provisions of 15A NCAC
03Q .0106:
(1) Striped Bass
(a) It is unlawful to possess any striped
bass or striped bass hybrid takenby
any-means—whieh-that is less than 18
inches long (total length).
(b) It is unlawful to possess striped bass
or_striped bass hybrids between 22
and 27 inches (total length) in joint
fishing waters of the Central Southern
Management Area as designated in
15A NCAC 03R .0201.
(c) It is unlawful to possess striped bass
or_striped bass hybrids May through
September in the fishing waters of the
Central Southern Management Area

and the Albemarle Sound
Management Area.
(d) It is unlawful to possess striped bass

or striped bass hybrids taken from the
joint waters of the Cape Fear River.

It is unlawful to possess more than
one daily creel limit of striped bass or
their—striped bass hybrids, in the
aggregate, per person per day,
regardless of the number of
management areas fished.fished;—and

fish-pessessed-by-the-individual st
1]"f§ |

() Possession of fish shall be assessed
for the creel and size limits of the
management area in which the
individual is found to be fishing,
regardless of the size or creel limits
for other management areas visited by
that individual in a given day.

It is unlawful to engage in net fishing
for striped bass or striped bass
hybrids in joint waters except as
authorized by rules of the Marine
Fisheries Commission.

) Lake Mattamuskeet:

(a) It is unlawful to set or attempt to set
any gill net in Lake Mattamuskeet
canals designated as joint waters.

(b) It is unlawful to use or attempt to use
any trawl net or seines in Lake
Mattamuskeet canals designated as
joint waters.

b)(e)

) (2)

3) Cape Fear River. It is unlawful to use or
attempt to use any net—er—net, net stakes or
electrical fishing device within 800 feet of the
dam at Lock No.1 on the Cape Fear River.

4) Shad: It is unlawful to possess more than 10
American shad or hickory shad, in the
aggregate, per person per day taken by hook-
and-line.

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 143B-289.52.

skock ok sk sk ok ok sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok sk

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that
the Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rules
cited as 15A NCAC 13B .0101, .0201, .0203, .0502.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2008

Public Hearing:

Date: February 18, 2008

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: 401 Oberlin Road, Raleigh, NC 27605, Division of
Waste Management Conference Rooms 1 & 2

Reason for Proposed Action: These rule changes are intended
to clarify and renumber definitions, provide increased clarity of
regulatory guidance in the areas of open dumps and permit
denial, provide better clarification of existing groundwater
rules, and correction of misstatement.

Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a
proposed rule: Persons may submit written objections to the
proposed rules by contacting: Ellen Lorscheider, DENR-
Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section, 1646 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; fax (919) 733-4810;
or email ellen.lorscheider@ncmail.net

Comments may be submitted to: Ellen Lorscheider, Planning
and Programs Branch Head, NC DENR Division of Waste
Management, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1646, phone (919) 508-8400, fax (919) 733-4810, email
ellen.lorscheider@ncmail.net

Comment period ends: April 1, 2008

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S.
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions
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concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721.

Fiscal Impact:
] State
Local

L]
] Substantive (>$3,000,000)
X

None

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

15A NCAC 13B .0101

DEFINITIONS

The definitions in G.S. 130A-290 and the following definitions
shall apply throughout this Subchapter:

850

5HQ2)

&4
()

“40)8)

63509

"Agricultural Waste" means waste materials
produced from the raising of plants and
animals, including animal manures, bedding,
plant stalks, hulls, and vegetable matter.
"Airport" means public-use airport open to the
public without prior permission and without
restrictions within the physical capacities of
available facilities.

"Backyard Composting” means the on-site
composting of yard waste from residential
property by the owner or tenant for
non-commercial use.

"Blood products" means all bulk blood and
blood products.

"Cell" means compacted solid waste
completely enveloped by a compacted cover
material.

"Compost" means decomposed, humus-like
organic matter, free from pathogens, offensive
odors, toxins or materials harmful at the point
of end use. Compost is suitable for use as a
soil conditioner with varying nutrient values.
"Compost Facility" means a solid waste
facility which utilizes a controlled biological
process of degrading non-hazardous solid
waste. A facility may include materials
processing and hauling equipment; structures
to control drainage; and structures to collect
and treat leachate; and storage areas for the
incoming waste, the final products, and
residual materials.

"Composting" means the controlled
decomposition of organic waste by naturally
occurring bacteria, yielding a stable,
humus-like, pathogen-free final product
resulting in volume reduction of 30 - 75
percent.

"Composting Pad" means a surface, whether
soil or manufactured, where the process of
composting takes place, and where raw and
finished materials are stored.

4H(0)

&L

&(12)

66)(13)

(14)
H(3)

€8(16)

62517

©08)

€49)(20)

&hH2L)

649(22)

"Curing" means the final state of composting,
after the majority of the readily metabolized
material has been decomposed, in which the
compost material stabilizes and dries.
"Demolition landfill" means a sanitary landfill
that is limited to receiving stumps, limbs,
leaves, concrete, brick, wood, uncontaminated
earth or other solid wastes as approved by the
Division.

"Division" means the Director of the Division
of Selid-Waste Management or the Director's
authorized representative.

"Erosion control measure, structure, or device"
means physical devices constructed, and
management practices utilized, to control
sedimentation and soil erosion such as silt
fences, sediment basins, check dams, channels,
swales, energy dissipation pads, seeding,
mulching and other similar items.

"Explosive gas" means Methane (€H—4)-
(CHy).

"Federal act" means the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, P.L.
94-580, as amended.

"Floodplain" means the lowland and relatively
flat areas adjoining inland and coastal waters,
including flood-prone areas of offshore
islands, which are inundated by the 100-year
flood.

"Foreign Matter" means metals, glass, plastics,
rubber, bones, and leather, but does not
include sand, grit, rocks or other similar
materials.

"Hazardous waste landfill facility" means any
facility or any portion of a facility for disposal
of hazardous waste on or in land in accordance
with rules promulgated under this article.
"Incineration" means the process of burning
solid, semi-solid or gaseous combustible
wastes to an inoffensive gas and a residue
containing little or no combustible material.
"Industrial Process Waste" means any solid,
semi-solid, or liquid waste generated by a
manufacturing or processing plant which is a
result of the manufacturing or processing
process. This definition does not include
packaging materials associated with such
activities.

"Industrial Solid Waste Landfill" means a
facility for the land disposal of "industrial
solid waste" as defined in Item (11) of Rule
.1602 of this Subchapter, and is not a land
application unit, surface impoundment,
injection well, or waste pile, as defined under
40 CFR Part 257.

"Land clearing and inert debris landfill" means
a facility for the land disposal of land clearing
waste, concrete, brick, concrete block,
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63)(23)

GH(24)

G2(25)

&3)(26)

6027

GhH(28)

4529

“42(30)

G631

&H(32)

G89H(33)

uncontaminated soil, gravel and rock,
untreated and unpainted wood, and yard trash.
"Land clearing waste" means solid waste
which is generated solely from land clearing
activities such as stumps, trees, limbs, brush,
grass, and other naturally occurring vegetative
material.

"Leachate" means any liquid, including any
suspended components in liquid, that has
percolated through or drained from solid
waste.

"Lower explosive limit" means the lowest
percent by volume of a mixture of explosive
gases which will prepegate-propagate a flame
in air at 258€—25 degrees Celsius and
atmospheric pressure.

"Microbiological wastes" means and includes
cultures and stocks of etiologic agents. The
term includes cultures of specimens from

medical, pathological, pharmaceutical,
research, commercial, and industrial
laboratories.

"Mulch" means a protective covering of

various substances, especially organic, to
which no plant food has been added and for
which no plant food is claimed. Mulch is
generally placed around plants to prevent
erosion, compaction, evaporation of moisture,
freezing of roots, and weed growth.
"One-hundred year flood" means a flood that
has a one percent or less chance of recurring in
any year or a flood of a magnitude egualled
equaled or exceeded once in 100 years on the
average over a significantly long period.

"Open burning" means any fire wherein the
products of combustion are emitted directly
into the outdoor atmosphere and are not
directed thereto through a stack or chimney,
incinerator, or other similar devices.
"Pathogens" means organisms that are capable
of producing infection or diseases, often found
in waste materials.

"Pathological wastes" means and includes
human tissues, organs, body parts, secretions
and excretions, blood and body fluids that are
removed during surgery and autopsies; and the
carcasses and body parts of all animals that
were exposed to pathogens in research, were
used in the production of biologicals or in the
in vivo testing of pharmaceuticals, or that died
of known or suspected infectious disease.
"Putrescible"” means solid waste capable of
being decomposed by microorganisms with
sufficient rapidity as to cause nuisances from
odors and gases, such as kitchen wastes, offal
and carcasses.

"Radioactive waste material" means any waste
containing radioactive material as defined in
G.S. 104E-5(14).

#9(34) "Regulated Medical Waste" means blood and
body fluids in individual containers in volumes
greater than 20 ml, microbiological waste, and
pathological waste that have not been treated
pursuant to Rule .1207 of this Subchapter.

“4D(35) "Residues from Agricultural Products and
Processing" means solids, semi-solids or liquid
residues from food and beverage processing
and handling; silviculture; agriculture; and
aquaculture operations that are non-toxic,
non-hazardous, and contain no domestic
wastewater.

£20)(36) "Respondent" means the person against whom
an administrative penalty has been assessed.

£H(37) "Runoff" means the portion of precipitation
that drains from an area as surface flow.

22)(38) "Sediment" means solid particulate matter both
mineral and organic, that has been or is being
transported by water, air, gravity, or ice from
its site of origin.

£23)(39) "Sharps" means and includes
syringes, and scalpel blades.

£24)(40) "Siltation" means sediment resulting from
accelerated erosion which is settleable or
removable by properly designed, constructed,
and maintained control measures and which
has been transported from its point of origin
within the site land-disturbing activity and
which has been deposited, or is in suspension
in water.

“433(41) "Silviculture Waste" means waste materials
produced from the care and cultivation of
forest trees, including bark and woodchips.

443(42) "Soil Group I" means soil group I as defined in
I5A NCAC 13B .0807(a)(1)(A) of the Septage
Management Rules.

51H(43) "Soil Scientist" means an individual who is a
Certified Professional Soil Scientist or Soil
Specialist by American Registry of Certified
Professional in Agronomy, Crops, and Soils
(ARCPACS) or an individual that
demonstrates  equivalent experience  or
education.

25)(44) "Solid waste collector" means any person who
collects or transports solid waste by whatever
means, including but not limited to, highway,
rail, and navigable waterway.

£26)(45) "Solid waste generator" means any person who
produces solid waste.

2H(46) "Spoiled food" means any food which has
been removed from sale by the United States
Department of Agriculture, North Carolina
Department of Agriculture, Food and Drug
Administration, or any other regulatory agency
having jurisdiction in determining that food is
unfit for consumption.

28)(47) "Steam sterilization" means treatment by
steam at high temperatures for sufficient time
to render infectious waste non-infectious.

needles,
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£29(48) "Transfer facility" means a permanent
structure with mechanical equipment used for
the collection or compaction of solid waste
prior to the transportation of solid waste for
final disposal.

30)(49) "Treatment and processing facility" means a
facility used in the treatment and processing of
putreseible-solid waste for final disposal or for
utilization by reclaiming or recycling.

" "

BH(50) "Vector" means a carrier, usually an arthropod,
that is capable of transmitting a pathogen from
one organism to another.

B32)(51) "Water supply watershed" means an area from
which water drains to a point or impoundment,
and the water is then used as a source for a
public water supply.

33)(52) "Water table" means the upper limit of the
portion of the ground wholly saturated with
water.

“45)(53) "Windrow" means an elongated compost pile
(typically eight feet wide by ten feet high).

84(54) "Working face" means that portion of the land
disposal site where solid wastes are
discharged, spread, and compacted prior to the
placement of cover material.

(55) "Yard trash" means solid waste resulting from
landscaping and yard maintenance such as
brush, grass, tree limbs, and similar vegetative
material.

46)(56) "Yard Waste" means "Yard Trash" and
"Land-clearing Debris" as defined in G.S.
130A-290, including stumps, limbs, leaves,
grass, and untreated wood.

Authority G.S. 130A-294.

SECTION .0200 - PERMITS FOR SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT FACILITIES

15ANCAC 13B.0201 PERMIT REQUIRED

(a) No person shall-establish-oralowto-be-established-onhis
land—a—selid—waste—management—taethity—eor—otherwise treat,
process, store, or dispose of solid waste-urless—a—permitfor-the
faetlity has-been—obtainedfrom-the Division-_or arrange for the

treatment, processing, storage or disposal of solid waste except
at a solid waste management facility permitted by the Division
for such activity.

(b) No person shall cause, suffer, allow, or permit the treatment,
storage, or processing of solid waste upon any real and/or
personal property owned, operated, leased, or in any way
controlled by that person without first obtaining a permit for a
solid waste management facility from the Division authorizing
such activity.

(c) No solid waste management facility shall be established,

operated, maintained, constructed, expanded, modified, or closed
without an appropriate and currently valid permit issued by the

Division. It is the responsibility of every owner and operator of
a proposed solid waste management facility to apply for a permit
for the facility. The term "owner" shall include record owners of
the land where the facility is located or proposed to be located
and holders of any leasehold interest, however denominated, in
any part of the land and/or structures where the facility is located
or proposed to be located.

)(d) The permit, except for land clearing and inert debris
permits, shall have two parts, as follows:

) A permit to construct a solid waste
management facility shall be issued by the
Division after site and construction plans have
been approved and it has been determined that
the facility can be operated in accordance with
Article 9 of Chapter 130A and the applicable
rules set forth in this Subehapter-Subchapter,
and so as to provide reasonable protection to
the environment and the public health. An
applicant shall not clear or grade land or
commence construction for a solid waste
management facility until a construction
permit has been issued.

2 A permit to operate a solid waste management
facility may not be issued unless it has been
determined that the facility has been
constructed in  accordance  with  the
construction permit, that any pre-operative
conditions of the construction permit have
been met, and that the construction permit has
been recorded, if applicable, in accordance
with Rule .0204 of this Section.

te)(e) Land clearing and inert debris facilities may be issued a
combined permit to construct and operate the facility.

(f) Land clearing and inert debris facilities subject to Rule
.0563 Item (1) may construct and operate after notification as
provided for under Rule .0563 Item (2).

€e)(g) Permits, including those issued prior to the effective date
of this Rule, shall be reviewed every five years. Modifications,
where necessary, shall be made in accordance with rules in
effect at the time of review for those areas of a permitted
sanitary landfill site which have not previously received solid
waste.

H(h) All solid waste management facilities shall be operated in
conformity with these Rules and in such a manner as to prevent
the creation of a nuisance, unsanitary conditions, or potential
public health hazard.

Authority G.S. 130A-294.

15A NCAC 13B .0203
DENIAL

(a) Upon receipt of a permit application, the Division shall
review the request to assure that all provisions of these Rules,
the Solid Waste Management Act, and the Federal Act, will be
met. Based on its review, the Division shall either approve or
deny the request in writing.

(b) When an application is approved, the applicant shall be
mated-provided a permit. If the approval is contingent upon

PERMIT APPROVAL OR
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certain conditions being met by the applicant, such conditions
shall be noted on the permit.

(c) Before receiving solid waste en—at a new—site;—newly
permitted facility, an inspection shall be made by a
representative of the Division to assure that the site is prepared
in accordance with the permit—permit, and the permit shall be
recorded with the Register of Deeds in the county where the
facility is located in accordance with the recordation
requirements set out in 15A NCAC 13B .0204.

(d) By receiving solid waste en-anew-site;-the-appheantshall-be
considered—to—have—accepted—the—econditions—at a permitted

facility, the permittee(s) shall be considered to have accepted the
conditions of the permit and shall comply with the conditions of
the permit.
(¢) When the Division denies a permit for a solid waste
management facility, it shall state in writing the reason for such
denial and shall also state its estimate of the changes in the
applicant's proposed activities or plans which will be required in
order that the applicant may obtain a permit. A denial shall be
without prejudice to-the-person'sright-to-a-hearing-orforfilinga
future—request-to the submission of a future application for a
permit after revisions are made to meet objections specified as
reasons for denial. Reasons for denial are=-include:

(1) Submission of incomplete information;

2) Failure to meet the-applicable requirements set

feﬂh—m—SeeHe&s—O%@O—@éLOO—aﬂd—%OQOf thls

apphiedfor-Subchapter; or
3) TFhe-past-conduet-by-the-applicant,as-defined

this—State;—Failure to _meet any applicable
requirement or standard set forth in Article 9
of Chapter 130A of the N.C. General Statutes:
or
4) Any other reasons which would prevent the
solid waste facility or site from being operated
in accordance with Article 9, Chapter 130A of
the General Statutes, these Rules, the Federal
Act, or acceptable engineering or public health
and environmental standards.
(f) Appeals of permit decisions shall be in accordance with
Article 3 of N.C.G.S., Chapter 150B, and the Rules adopted
thereunder.

Authority G.S. 130A-294.

SECTION .0500 - DISPOSAL SITES

15A NCAC 13B.0502 OPEN DUMPS
A—persen—Any person(s)operating or having operated an open
dump for disposal of solid waste or a-anyperser person(s)who
ewns-owns, leases or otherwise controls land on which such an
open dump is or has been operating shall immediately close the
site in accordance with the following requirements:
€] Implement effective vector control, including
baiting for at least two weeks after closing, to

prevent vector migration to adjacent
properties;
2) If the site is deemed suitable by the Division,

compact and cover existing solid waste in
place with one foot or more of suitable
compacted earth;—a—econdition—of closing—the
3 f £ ah g .

il . | ] 'lf ,
Les-earth. Closing the site by this method is
conditioned upon the further requirement that
the waste disposal location and development
and conveyance restrictions prohibiting the
disturbance of the solid waste disposal site be
recorded by the property owner with the
Register of Deeds in the county where the site
is located. The Division shall provide the
property owner with the development and
conveyance restrictions to be recorded for that
site. Copies of the recordation procedure may
be obtained from and inspected at the Bivision
of Selid-Waste Management:-Division;

3) If the site is deemed unsuitable by the
Division, remove and place solid waste in an
approved disposal site or facility;

4) Implement erosion control measures by
grading and seeding; and

5) Prevent unauthorized entry to the site by
means of gates, chains, berms, fences, and
other security measures approved by the
Division and post signs indicating closure for a
period designated by the Division not to
exceed one year.

Authority G.S. 130A-294.
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The
rules that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was
required to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-
21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on December 13, 2007.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE
NOTICE OF TEXT

AGRICULTURE, COMMISSIONER OF

Evaluation of Applications 02 NCAC 58 .0105% 22:04 NCR
Grant Agreement 02 NCAC 58 .0106* 22:04 NCR
Reporting 02 NCAC 58 .0107* 22:04 NCR

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Dosage & Age Requirements for Immunization 10A NCAC 41A .0401* 22:02 NCR

HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD

Fee Schedule 11 NCAC 08 .1011* 22:04 NCR
Application for Original Approval of an Elective Coarse 11 NCAC 08 .1319 22:04 NCR
JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF

Minimum Standards for Company Police Officers 12 NCAC 021 .0202%* 22:01 NCR
Liability Insurance 12 NCAC 021 .0210%* 22:01 NCR
Suspension or Denial of Agency Certification 12 NCAC 021 .0211%* 22:01 NCR
Suspension, Revocation or Denial of Officer Commission 12 NCAC 021 .0212%* 22:01 NCR
Summary Suspensions 12 NCAC 021 .0214%* 22:01 NCR
Tenure 12 NCAC 02I .0301* 22:01 NCR
Prohibited Acts 12 NCAC 021 .0304%* 22:01 NCR

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD

Requirements for a Firearms Trainer Certificate 12 NCAC 07D .0901* 21:16 NCR
Post-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 12 NCAC 07D .0908* n/a G.S.150B-21.5(a)(5)
Unarmed Guard Trainer Certificate 12 NCAC 07D .0909 21:16 NCR
Renewal of an Unarmed Guard Trainer Certificate 12 NCAC 07D .0911%* 21:16 NCR

SHERIFFS EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
Definitions 12 NCAC 10B .0103* 22:04 NCR

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION
Allocation Guidelines and Procedures 15A NCAC 061 .0103* 22:01 NCR

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Alcoa Power Generating Inc. Hydroelectric Station Safety 15A NCAC 10F .0374* 21:19 NCR

Duke Energy Corporation Hydroelectric Station Safety 15A NCAC 10F .0375* 21:19 NCR

Zones
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SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF

Instructor Certification - Scope 18 NCAC 07B .0701* 21:05 NCR
Instructor Certification - General 18 NCAC 07B .0702%* 21:05 NCR
Timing of Instructor Certification Application 18 NCAC 07B .0703* 21:05 NCR
Department Rejection of Applications 18 NCAC 07B .0704* 21:05 NCR
Fees 18 NCAC 07B .0705* 21:05 NCR
Verification that Applicant Continues to Meet 18 NCAC 07B .0706* 21:05 NCR
Requirement...

Other Verifications 18 NCAC 07B .0707* 21:05 NCR
Evidence of Minimum Experience 18 NCAC 07B .0708%* 21:05 NCR
Journal as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07B .0709* 21:05 NCR
Employer Affidavit as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07B .0710%* 21:05 NCR
Alternative Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07B .0711* 21:05 NCR
Recommendations 18 NCAC 07B .0712%* 21:05 NCR
Oral Presentation Requirement for Applicant 18 NCAC 07B .0713* 21:05 NCR
Notary Public Instructor Certification and Recertificatio... 18 NCAC 07B .0714* 21:05 NCR
Additional Requirements 18 NCAC 07B .0715%* 21:05 NCR
Minimum Instructional Duties of Certified Notary Public 18 NCAC 07B .0716* 21:05 NCR
L.

Evaluations of Instruction 18 NCAC 07B .0717* 21:05 NCR
Eligibility for Recertification as Notary Public Instructor 18 NCAC 07B .0718%* 21:05 NCR
Notary Public Instructors Recertification Requirements 18 NCAC 07B .0719* 21:05 NCR
Denial of Notary Public Instructor Certification or Recer... 18 NCAC 07B .0720%* 21:05 NCR
COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Cleanliness of Operators 21 NCAC 14H .0111 22:05 NCR
Cleanliness of Scissors, Shears, Razors and Other 21 NCAC 14H .0113* 22:05 NCR
Equipment

Prohibited Practices 21 NCAC 14H .0121* 22:05 NCR
LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF

Application of Professional Seal 21 NCAC 26 .0207* 21:13 NCR
Examination 21 NCAC 26 .0301* 21:13 NCR
Certificate of Reciprocity 21 NCAC 26 .0303* 21:13 NCR
LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS REGISTRATION BOARD

Fees 21 NCAC 28 .0107* 22:05 NCR
MEDICAL BOARD

Application Forms 21 NCAC 32B .1101 22:06 NCR
Fee 21 NCAC 32B .1102 22:06 NCR
Personal Interview 21 NCAC 32B .1103 22:06 NCR
Routine Inquiries 21 NCAC 32B .1104%* 22:06 NCR
CME 21 NCAC 32B .1105 22:06 NCR
Application Forms 21 NCAC 32B .1201 22:06 NCR
Letters of Recommendation 21 NCAC 32B .1202 22:06 NCR
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Fee 21 NCAC 32B .1203 22:06 NCR
Personal Interview 21 NCAC 32B .1204 22:06 NCR
Routine Inquiries 21 NCAC 32B .1205* 22:06 NCR
ECFMG Certification 21 NCAC 32B .1206 22:06 NCR
TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 6) listed attachments.

CONSUMER SERVICES

02 NCAC 58 .0105
APPLICATIONS
(a) Applicants for funding from the ADFPTF shall submit two
unbound complete applications suitable for photocopying.
Applications must be sent by Fed-Ex, UPS, certified mail, or
hand-delivered to: NCDA&CS, NCADFP Trust Fund at 2 West
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601.

(b) Two  separate  applications are online at
http://www.ncadfp.org/ or available from the Department as
noted in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule.

(c) To be eligible for consideration for funding for agricultural
conservation easements or agricultural agreements, applicants
shall complete the Agricultural Development and Farmland
Preservation Application Form for Conservation Easements and

EVALUATION OF

Agricultural Agreements which contain the following
information:
(1) identifying information;
(2) a description of the type of organization of the
applicant;
3) project affiliations, matching funds, and
partnerships;
4) whether funds are for an agricultural

conservation easement or an agricultural
agreement and the term years;

(5) current land value assessment, requested
amount of funds, estimated easement value,
project completion date;

(6) operation management plans;

(7 values relevant to the easement;

(®) agricultural, horticultural, or forestry property
inventory;

C) what transition plans are in place to continue

operations for the future;

(10) threats of conversion;
(11) conservation and environmental concerns; and
(12) listed attachments.

(d) To be eligible for consideration for funding for agricultural
development programs, applicants shall complete the
Agricultural Development and Farmland Preservation
Application Form for Public and Private Enterprise Programs,
which contain the following information:

(1) identifying information;

2) a description of the type of organization of the
applicant;

3) project affiliations, matching funds, and
partnerships;

4 a description of goals, target audience, and

success measurements; and

(e) Each completed application shall be evaluated by the staff
based on the information provided in the application and in
accordance with the ADFPTF criteria described in this Rule.

(f) The staff shall review all applications for completeness. If
an application is incomplete after the application deadline, the
applicant may be asked to reapply for the next grant cycle,
which will be publicly announced by the Commissioner on an
annual basis.

(g) During the review and evaluation of proposals, the staff
shall report to the Commissioner on any site visits that may be
required for full consideration of the grant proposal.

(h)  The Advisory Committee shall review the project
evaluations and other relevant data prepared by the applicant and
by ADFPTF staff. The Advisory Committee shall make
recommendations to the Commissioner on projects for funding.
(i) The Commissioner and Advisory Committee shall consider
the relative needs of the farmland preservation project and
determine the proportion of available funds to be allocated for
each eligible project.

(j) Grants shall be awarded contingent on the availability of
sufficient funds to do so. Funds shall be conveyed to grantees
through contracts with the Trust Fund. If the Commissioner
determines that grant funds are not being used for the purpose
for which they were awarded, the Trust Fund may cease making
payments under the grant schedule until the problem has been
resolved or may demand immediate return of any unspent money
and interest from the grant. Grantees must reimburse the Trust
Fund any funds that are determined to have not been spent for
the purpose for which they were granted. Grantees must return
any grant money which remains unspent at the conclusion of the
grant project, with any interest earned on grant money.

(k) The following general criteria shall be used to evaluate
conservation easement or agricultural agreement projects only:

€] parcel information;
2 planning for the future; and
3) site visits.

(I) The following general criteria shall be used to evaluate
agricultural development programs only:

) project description;
) project implementation; and
3) applicant interview.

(m) The Commissioner and Advisory Committee shall also
consider the following factors when evaluating projects:

€] the geographic distribution of projects;

2) the presence or absence of other funding
sources;

3 the level of compliance with prior grant
agreements;

4) the amount of funds available;

%) the amount of funds requested;
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(6) priority funding map; and
(7 other relevant information in the application.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 106-744;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

02 NCAC 58 .0106 GRANT AGREEMENT

(a) Upon approval, a written agreement shall be executed
between the grant recipient(s) and the Commissioner.

(b) The agreement shall define the Commissioner's and grant
recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period,
project scope and the amount of grant assistance.

(c) The approved application and support documentation shall
become a part of the grant agreement.

(d) The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent
and approval by the Commissioner and the grant recipient(s).
The grant recipient(s) shall submit a written request to the
Commissioner.

(e) Projects may not begin until the Commissioner and grant
recipient(s) sign the agreement.

(f) The agreement shall include a requirement that, in any
agricultural conservation easement funded by the ADFPTF, the
State of North Carolina shall have the right to enforce the
easement if the grantee of the easement fails to do so.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 106-744;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

02 NCAC 58 .0107 REPORTING

(a) Grant recipients shall submit written progress reports at six-
month intervals or upon completion of the project, whichever is
sooner. Written reports shall describe the status of the project,
progress toward achieving program objectives, notable
occurrences and any problems encountered and steps taken to
overcome the problems. Upon completion of the project, the
successful applicant must make a final written report to the
Commissioner which shall include project accomplishments and
benefits, all expenditures by line item as established in the
project budget, and verification of the number of hours or money
in matching funds.

(b) The staff shall review the progress reports for completeness,
which shall include a showing of how the project is meeting its
stated goals and performance standards. If the staff finds that
the report is deficient in showing how the project is meeting its
stated goals and performance standards, the grantee shall be
notified of the deficiency and must provide a changed and
corrected report within 30 working days. If a corrected or
changed report is not received within 30 working days, the Trust
Fund may withhold the next grant payment.

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-744;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 41A .0401 DOSAGE AND AGE
REQUIREMENTS FOR IMMUNIZATION
(a) Every individual in North Carolina required to be immunized
pursuant to G.S. 130A-152 through 130A-157 shall be
immunized against the following diseases by receiving the
specified minimum doses of vaccines by the specified ages:

€)) Diphtheria, tetanus, and whooping cough

vaccine -- five doses: three doses by age seven

months and two booster doses, one by age 19

months and the second on or after the fourth

birthday and before enrolling in school for the
first time. However:

(A) Individuals who receive the first
booster dose of diphtheria, tetanus,
and whooping cough vaccine on or
after the fourth birthday are not
required to have a second booster
dose;

(B) Individuals attending colleges and
universities are required to have three
doses of tetanus/diphtheria toxoid,
one of which must have been within
the last 10 years. Those individuals
enrolling in college or university for
the first time on or after July 1, 2008

must have had three doses of
tetanus/diphtheria toxoid and a
booster dose of

tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine if
a  tetanus/diphtheria  toxoid or
tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis ~ vaccine
has not been administered within the
past 10 years. A dose of
tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine is
not required for any student over the
age of 64 years;
©) A booster dose of
tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine is
required for individuals attending
public school who are entering the
sixth grade on or after August 1,
2008, if five years or more have
passed since the last dose of
tetanus/diphtheria toxoid. A booster
dose of tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis
vaccine is required for individuals not
attending public schools who are 12
years of age on or after August 1,
2008, if five years or more have
passed since the last dose of
tetanus/diphtheria toxoid. However,
pertussis (whooping cough) vaccine
is not required for individuals
between 7 years of age through the
fifth grade for those attending public
schools and 7 through 12 years of age
for those not attending public schools.
2) Poliomyelitis vaccine--four doses: two doses
of trivalent type by age five months; a third
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€)

(4)

dose trivalent type before age 19 months, and

a booster dose of trivalent type before

enrolling in school for the first time.

However:

(A) An individual attending school who
has attained his or her 18th birthday
is not required to receive polio
vaccine;

(B) Individuals who receive the third
dose of poliomyelitis vaccine on or
after the fourth birthday are not
required to receive a fourth dose;

©) The requirements for booster doses of
poliomyelitis vaccine do not apply to
individuals who enrolled for the first
time in the first grade before July 1,
1987.

Measles (rubeola) vaccine--two doses of live,

attenuated vaccine administered at least 28

days apart: one dose on or after age 12 months

and before age 16 months and a second dose
before enrolling in school for the first time.

However:

(A) An individual who has been
documented by serological testing to
have a protective antibody titer
against measles is not required to
receive measles vaccine;

(B) An individual who has been
diagnosed prior to January 1, 1994,
by a physician licensed to practice
medicine as having measles (rubeola)
disease is not required to receive
measles vaccine;

©) An individual born prior to 1957 is
not required to receive measles
vaccine;

(D) The requirement for a second dose of
measles vaccine does not apply to
individuals who enroll in school or in
college or university for the first time
before July 1, 1994.

Rubella vaccine--one dose of live, attenuated

vaccine on or after age 12 months and before

age 16 months. However:

(A) An individual who has been
documented by serologic testing to
have a protective antibody titer
against rubella is not required to
receive rubella vaccine;

(B) An individual who has attained his or
her fiftieth birthday is not required to
receive rubella vaccine except in
outbreak situations;

© An individual who entered a college
or university after his or her thirtieth
birthday and before February 1, 1989
is not required to meet the

)

(6)

(7

requirement for rubella vaccine
except in outbreak situations.

Mumps vaccine--one dose of live, attenuated

vaccine administered on or after age 12

months and before age 16 months and a

second dose before enrolling in school, college

or university for the first time. However:

(A) An individual born prior to 1957 is
not required to receive mumps
vaccine;

B) The requirements for mumps vaccine
do not apply to individuals who
enrolled for the first time in the first
grade before July 1, 1987 or in
college or university before July 1,
1994;

©) An individual who has been
documented by serological testing to
have a protective antibody titer
against mumps is not required to
receive mumps vaccine;

(D) An individual entering school,
college or university prior to July 1,
2008 is not required to receive a
second dose of mumps vaccine.

Haemophilus influenzae, b, conjugate vaccine-

-three doses of HbOC or PRP-T or two doses

of PRP-OMP before age seven months and a

booster dose of any type on or after age 12

months and by age 16 months. However:

(A) Individuals born before October 1,
1988 are not required to be

vaccinated  against  Haemophilus
influenzae, b;
(B) Individuals who receive the first dose

of Haemophilus influenzae, b,
vaccine on or after 12 months of age
and before 15 months of age are
required to have only two doses of
HbOC, PRP-T or PRP-OMP;

©) Individuals who receive the first dose
of  Haemophilus influenzae, b,
vaccine on or after 15 months of age
are required to have only one dose of
any of the Haemophilus influenzae
conjugate vaccines, including PRP-D;

(D) No individual who has passed their
fifth birthday is required to be
vaccinated  against Haemophilus
influenzae, b.

Hepatitis B vaccine--three doses: one dose by

age three months, a second dose before age

five months and a third dose by age 19

months. However:

(A) The last dose of the hepatitis B
vaccine  series shall not be
administered prior to 24 weeks of
age;
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(B) Individuals born before July 1, 1994
are not required to be vaccinated

against hepatitis B.

() Varicella vaccine--1 dose administered on or
after age 12 months and before age 19 months.
However:

(A) An individual with a laboratory test

indicating immunity or with a history
of varicella disease, documented by a
health care provider, parent, guardian
or person in loco parentis is not
required to receive varicella vaccine.
Serologic proof of immunity or
documentation of previous illness
must be presented whenever a
certificate  of immunization s
required by North Carolina General
Statute. The documentation shall
include the name of the individual
with a history of varicella disease and
the approximate date or age of
infection. Previous illness shall be
documented by:

(1) a written statement from a
health care provider
documented on or attached
to the lifetime immunization

card or certificate  of
immunization; or
(i1) a written statement from the

individual's parent, guardian
or person in loco parentis
attached to the lifetime
immunization card or

certificate of immunization.
(B) An individual born prior to April 1,
2001 is not required to receive

varicella vaccine.
(b) The healthcare provider shall administer immunizations in
accordance with this Rule. However, if a healthcare provider
administers vaccine up to and including the fourth day prior to
the required minimum age, the individual dose is not required to
be repeated. Doses administered more than 4 days prior to the
requirements are considered invalid doses and shall be repeated.
(c) The State Health Director may suspend temporarily any
portion of the requirements of this Rule due to emergency
conditions, such as the unavailability of wvaccine.  The
Department shall give notice in writing to all local health
departments and other providers currently receiving vaccine
from the Department when the suspension takes effect and when
the suspension is lifted. When any vaccine series is disrupted by
such a suspension, the next dose shall be administered within 90
days of the lifting of the suspension and the series resumed in
accordance with intervals determined by the most recent
recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 130A-152(c); 130A-155.1;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1977;

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of
180 days to expire on July 29, 1988;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; October 1, 1994; January 1,
1994; January 4, 1993;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 23, 2000; August 20,
1999; May 21, 1999;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 17, 2002; April 1, 2002;
February 18, 2002; August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; November 1, 2005; January 1,
2005; April 1, 2003.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

11 NCAC 08 .1011 FEE SCHEDULE
(@) The following fees apply to the licensure of home
inspectors:
Application for Home Inspector License $25.00
Application for Associate Home Inspector License

$15.00
Home Inspector Examination $75.00
Associate Home Inspector Examination $75.00

Initial Issuance of Home Inspector License $150.00
Initial Issuance of Associate Home Inspector License

$100.00
Annual Renewal of Home Inspector License

$150.00
Annual Renewal of Associate Home Inspector License

$100.00
Late Renewal Penalty Fee - Home Inspector License

$25.00
Late Renewal Penalty Fee - Associate Home Inspector
License $15.00
Copies of Board Rules and License Standards

$5.00

(b) The home inspector and the associate home inspector initial
issuance license fees are due after successful completion of the
examination. The Board shall not issue a license until it receives
the appropriate fee. The license is valid from the date of issue
until the following September 30.

(c) The one hundred fifty dollar ($150. 00) fee for the Annual
Renewal of Home Inspector License and the one hundred dollar
($100.00) fee for the Annual Renewal of Associate Home
Inspector License assessed under Paragraph (a) of this Rule are
suspended for a one-year period beginning October 1, 2008,
ending on September 30, 2009. This license fee suspension does
not apply to late license renewals or any inactive licenses that
are not currently active on October 1, 2008.

History Note:
151.57;
Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria
for temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Authority G.S 143-151.49; 143-151.55; 143-
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Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

11 NCAC 08 .1319 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL
APPROVAL OF AN ELECTIVE COURSE

A person seeking original approval of a proposed elective course
shall make application on a form prescribed by the Board. The
course shall be submitted to the Board for approval no less than
45 days before the course presentation date. The Board shall not
accept an application for original approval between July 1 and
September 30. This restriction shall not apply when an applicant
is seeking approval to conduct a course for which another
sponsor has obtained approval. The applicant shall submit a
nonrefundable fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) per

Subchapter to be administered by a
representative  of the North Carolina
Department of Justice. The Company Police
Administrator shall advise in writing of test
dates and sites at least five days prior to the
examination. In the event an applicant fails to
successfully complete the examination, only
one re-test is allowed. Upon an applicant's
failure to successfully complete the second
test, the applicant must successfully complete
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training
coursework prior to re-testing, pursuant to 12
NCAC 09C .0402;

course which may be in the form of a check or money order 4 meet the minimum standards for criminal
payable to the Home Inspector Licensure Board.  The justice officers established by the North
application shall be accompanied by a copy of the course plan or Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
instructor's guide for the course and a copy of materials that will Training Standards Commission, appearing in
be provided to students. An applicant that is not a resident of Title 12, Chapter 09 of the North Carolina
North Carolina shall also file with the application a consent to Administrative Code; which Standards are
service of process and pleadings. hereby incorporated by reference, and shall
automatically include any later amendments
History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49(13); 143-151.64; and editions of the referenced material;
Eff. July 18, 2002; 5) applicants who do not hold general
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008. certification as a law enforcement officer
issued by the Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission or the North
TITLE 12 = DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training
Standards Commission, must submit to and
12NCAC 021.0202  MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR successfully ~~ complete  a  polygraph
COMPANY POLICE OFFICERS examination administered by the State Bureau
(a) Every company police officer must meet the following of Investigation;
requirements to obtain and maintain a company police (6) be at least 20 years of age;
commission: @) have produced a negative result on a drug
(1) be a citizen of the United States; screen administered according to the following
) be a high school graduate (means graduation specifications: .
from a high school that meets the compulsory (A) the drug screen shall be a urine test
attendance requirements in the jurisdiction in consisting of an initial screening test
which the school is located), or have passed using an immunoassay method and a
the General Educational Development Test confirmatory ~test on an initial
indicating high school equivalency; A specific positive test result using a gas
exception to this educational requirement is chromatography mass spectrometry
granted to: (GC/MS) or other initial gnd
(A) an applicant who was the holder of a COHﬁrmatory tests as may, from time
valid company police commission on to time, be authorized or mandated by
June 30, 1972; or the Department of Health and Human
(B) an applicant certified as a law Serv.ices for Federal Workplace Drug
enforcement officer by the Criminal Testing Programs;
Justice Education and Training (B) a ‘che'un of custody ) shall be
Standards Commission on March 14, maintained on the specimen from
1973. collection to the eventual discarding
In either case, the exception is not of the specimen;
applicable if the applicant has had © the drugs .whose use sha@l be tes:ted
more than a 12 month break in for shall include cannabis, cocaine,
service; phencyclidine (PCP), opiates and
(3) have attained a score of not less than 80 amphetamines or their metabolites;
percent on a written examination of basic D) the test threshold values established
knowledge of laws of arrest, search, and by the Department of Health and
investigation, and of the rules in this Human  Services ~ for  Federal
Workplace Drug Testing Programs
22:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2008

1417



APPROVED RULES

®)

are hereby incorporated by reference,
and shall automatically include any
later amendments and editions of the
referenced material;

(E) the test conducted shall be not more
than 60 days old, calculated from the
time when the laboratory reports the
results to the date of employment;

F the laboratory conducting the test
must be nationally certified for
federal workplace drug testing
programs by the Substance Abuse
and  Mental Health  Services
Administration, Center for Substance
Abuse Prevention, Division of
Workplace Programs, and must
adhere to applicable federal rules,
regulations and guidelines pertaining
to the handling, testing, storage and
preservation of samples, except that
individual agencies may specify other
drugs to be tested for in addition to
those drugs set out in Part (C) of this
Subparagraph; and

(G) every agency head shall arrange for a
licensed physician to review drug
tests reported by the laboratory;

notify the Company Police Administrator in

writing of all criminal offenses for which the

officer is arrested for or charged with, pleads
no contest, pleads guilty, or is found guilty of,
as well as all Domestic Violence Orders (50B)
which are issued by a judicial official. This
includes all criminal offenses except minor
traffic infraction offenses and specifically
includes any offense of Driving Under the

Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired

(DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for

purposes of this Subparagraph as an offense

where the maximum punishment allowable is

60 days or less. The notifications required for

an arrest or charge must specify the nature of

the offense and date of arrest or charge.

Further notifications required must specify the

nature of the offense, the court in which the

case was handled and the date of the
conviction or adjudication. All notifications
must be received by the Company Police

Administrator within five days of the date of

the arrest or charge and case disposition.

Applicants and officers required to notify the

Company Police Administrator under this

Subparagraph shall also make the same

notification to their Department Head within

five days of the date the case was disposed of
in court. However, the notification to the

Company Police Administrator does not

excuse the officer from making an independent

notification otherwise required by either the

Criminal Justice Education and Training

Standards Commission or the Sheriffs'
Education and Training Standards
Commission. The notifications required by

this Subparagraph are required while the
application is pending as well as, subsequent
to a commission being issued;
9) be of good moral character within the meaning
of: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771
appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 076 (1975; State v.
Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In
re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989);
In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55
S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C.
162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow,
309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and
their progeny;
(10) not have committed or been convicted of a
crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 021
.0212(a) or (b), such that the applicant would
be ineligible for commissioning as a Company
Police officer; and
(11) submit to a background investigation as
specified in 12 NCAC 021 .0205.
(b) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applications
for commission and shall also be applicable at all times during
which the officer holds commission with the company police
program.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74E-4;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. September 9, 1976;

Readopted Eff. January 5, 1978;

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; September 1, 1981;
Temporary Amendment Eff. March 23, 1990 for a Period of 180
Days to Expire on September 20, 1990;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 2, 1993; September 1,
1990.

12 NCAC 021.0210 LIABILITY INSURANCE
(a) Any applicant for a non-public company police agency
certification must file with the Company Police Administrator,
either a copy of the liability insurance policy or a certificate of
self insurance, at the following address:
Company Police Administrator
Company Police Program
Post Office Drawer 310
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0310
Telephone: (919) 716-6472
(b) The insurance carrier shall deliver any notice of cancellation
of liability insurance by certified mail, return receipt requested,
to the following address:
Company Police Administrator
Company Police Program
Post Office Drawer 310
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0310
Telephone: (919) 716-6472
(c) The insurance carrier shall deliver a declaration of insurance
statement by certified mail, return receipt requested, at the
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beginning of each new insurance coverage period, to the
following address:
Company Police Administrator
Company Police Program
Post Office Drawer 310
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0310

History Note: Authority G.S. 74E-3; 74E-4;
Eff. August 2, 1993;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 1, 1996.

12 NCAC 021.0211 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION
OR DENIAL OF AGENCY CERTIFICATION

(a) A company police agency certification may be suspended,
revoked or denied upon a finding that the agency has:

(1) failed to pay any required fees;

2) failed to produce or maintain a copy of a
liability insurance policy or a certificate of self
insurance;

3) failed to meet any of the requirements for
certification provided in 12 NCAC 021 .0203;

4 failed to provide any of the required
documentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 021
.0203;

(5) failed to allow for the reasonable inspection of
the Company Police agency records pursuant
to G.S. 74E-4(3);

(6) failed to ensure compliance by the agency's
company police officers of any and all in-
service training requirements as specified by
12 NCAC 09E .0100;

(7 failed to submit the required in-service training
compliance reports as required by 12 NCAC
09E .0100;

(8) failed to submit any and all reports,
notification or other information required by
the rules in this Subchapter;

9 knowingly made a material misrepresentation
of any information required for certification or
commissioning from the Company Police
Administrator or the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission or the North Carolina Sheriff's

Education and Training Standards
Commission;

(10) knowingly and willfully by any means of false
pretense, deception, defraudation,

misrepresentation or cheating whatsoever,
obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training,
certification or commissioning from the
Company Police Administrator, the North
Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission or the North
Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training
Standards Commission;

(11 aided another in obtaining or attempting to
obtain credit, training, or certification from the
Company Police Administrator, the North
Carolina Criminal Justice Education and

Training Standards Commission or the North
Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training
Standards Commission by means of deceit,
fraud or misrepresentation or cheating;
(12) failed to ensure that any employee not
commissioned as a company police officer is
not violating a prohibition set forth in 12
NCAC 021 .0304; or
13) fails to maintain at least one employee who is
commissioned, pursuant to 12 NCAC 02I
.0203(b), and to maintain at least one contract
for services.
(b) An agency whose certification has been suspended, revoked,
or denied may appeal the action in accordance with the
provisions of G.S. 150B.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74E-4;
Eff. August 2, 1993;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

12 NCAC 021 .0212 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION,
OR DENIAL OF OFFICER COMMISSION

(a) A company police commission shall be revoked or denied
upon a finding that the officer has committed or been convicted
of:

€)) any felony unless granted an unconditional
pardon of innocence; or
2) any crime for which the authorized

punishment could have been imprisonment for
more than two years.
(b) The Attorney General, or his designee, may revoke,
suspend, or deny the commission of a company police officer
when the Company Police Administrator finds that the applicant
for commission or the commissioned company police officer has
committed or been convicted of:
) a crime or unlawful act as defined in 12
NCAC 09A .0103(23)(b) as a Class B
misdemeanor and which occurred after the
date of initial certification;
2) a crime or unlawful act as defined in 12
NCAC 09A .0103(23)(b) as a Class B
misdemeanor within a five-year period prior to
the date of certification;
3) four or more crimes or unlawful acts as
defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(23)(b) as
Class B misdemeanors regardless of the date
of commission or conviction;
4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts as
defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(23)(a) as a
Class A misdemeanor, each of which occurred
after the date of initial certification; or
(5) any combination of four or more crimes or
unlawful acts defined in 12 NCAC 09A
.0103(23)(a) as a Class A misdemeanor or
defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(23)(b) as a
Class B misdemeanor regardless of the date of
commission or conviction.
(¢) A company police commission shall be revoked or denied
upon a finding that:
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(1) the officer lacks good moral character as
referred to in G.S. 17C-10(c) and 12 NCAC
021.0202(a)(9);

2) the officer fails to meet any of the required
standards as specified in 12 NCAC 021 .0202;

3) the officer has been terminated from
employment with the company police agency
for which the officer is commissioned or is no
longer employed with such company police

agency;

4 the officer has committed any act prohibited
by 12 NCAC 021 .0304;

(5) the certification of the company police agency

with which the officer is commissioned is
terminated, suspended or revoked.

(6) knowingly made a material misrepresentation
of any information required for commissioning
or certification from the Company Police
Administrator, the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission or the North Carolina Sheriffs'

Education and Training Standards
Commission; or
(7 has been denied certification or had such

certification suspended or revoked by the
North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission, the North
Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training
Standards Commission or a similar North
Carolina, out of state or federal approving,
certifying or licensing agency.

(d) An officer whose certification has been suspended, revoked,

or denied may appeal the action in accordance with the

provisions of G.S. 150B.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74E-4;
Eff. August 2, 1993;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

12 NCAC 021.0214 SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS
(a) The Company Police Administrator, through designation by
the Attorney General, may summarily suspend the commission
of the company police officer before the commencement of
proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification
when, in the opinion of the Company Police Administrator, the
public health, safety, or welfare requires this emergency action
of summary suspension. The Attorney General has determined
that the following conditions specifically affect the public health,
safety, or welfare, and therefore, the Company Police
Administrator may utilize summary suspension when:
(1) the person has committed or been convicted of
a violation of the criminal code which would
require a revocation or denial of certification;
2) the person has been convicted of any felony
(unless granted an unconditional pardon of
innocence) or any crime for which the
authorized punishment could have been
imprisonment for more than two years;

3) the commissioned company police officer fails
to complete the minimum in-service training
requirements as prescribed in Title 12, Chapter
09 of the North Carolina Administrative Code;
or

4 the commissioned company police officer
produces a positive result on a drug screening
administered as set out in 12 NCAC 021
.0202(7).

(b) A summary suspension is effective on the date specified in
the order of the summary suspension or upon the service of the
certified copy of the order at the last known address of the
person, whichever is later. The summary suspension shall
remain in effect during the proceedings.

(¢)  Upon verbal notification by the Company Police
Administrator that the company police commission of any
officer is being summarily suspended by written order, the
Department Head of the company police agency shall take such
steps as are necessary to ensure that the officer does not perform
duties requiring a company police commission through the
Attorney General.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74E-4; 74E-10; 150B-3;
Eff. August 2, 1993;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

12 NCAC 021.0301 TENURE
(a) A company police agency certification shall remain in effect
until:

€)) The Attorney General directs termination; or

2) The required liability insurance is terminated
or suspended by the agency's insurance carrier.

(b) A company police officer commission shall remain in effect
until:

) The Attorney General directs termination;

2) The company police officer ceases to be
employed by a company police agency;

3) The agency by which the officer is employed
no longer exists;

@) Evidence is presented that the person has
committed an act which would have originally
caused denial of the application or an act
prohibited by Rule .0304 of this Section; or

6) Either the Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission or the North
Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training
Standards Commission suspends or revokes an
officer's certification for cause.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74E-4; 74E-6; 74E-10;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. January 5, 1978;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 2, 1993; September 1,
1990; November 1, 1984; September 1, 1981.

12 NCAC 021.0304 PROHIBITED ACTS

In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in the rules
in this Subchapter and in G.S. Chapter 74E, a company police
officer shall not commit the following acts:
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(1
2)

3)

“4)

)

(6)

(M

use of excess force while in the performance
of his official duties;
carrying a concealed weapon except:

(a) when on his own business property or
at home;

(b) when employed as a company police
officer, while on duty and in

compliance with G.S. 14-269(b)(4)
and G.S. 74E-6; or
(c) when off duty and in compliance with
G.S. 14-269(b)(5).
activating or operating a red light in or on any
vehicle in this State unless such vehicle is
exempted from the provisions of G.S. 20-
130.1(b);
activating or operating a blue light in or on any
vehicle in this State except when operating a
motor vehicle used primarily by company or
railroad police in the performance of his
official duties:

(a) when in property jurisdiction
limitations  specifically  described
under G.S. 74E-6;

(b) when in continuous or immediate

pursuit of a person for an offense
committed upon real property owned
by or in the possession or control of
his employer or real property or in the
possession and control of a person
who has contracted with the employer
to provide on-site police security
personnel services for the property; or
(c) during the transportation of an
arrestee, which the company police
agency has taken into custody;
activating or operating a siren when operating
any motor vehicle used primarily by any
company police agency in the performance of
his official duties when outside of the property
jurisdiction limitations specifically described
under G.S. 74E-6 unless in immediate and
continuous pursuit;
representing in any manner at any time that he
is a federal, state, county, or municipal law
enforcement officer, while in performance of
official duties as a company police officer
within his territorial jurisdiction.
impeding traffic, stopping motorists or
pedestrians, or in any manner imposing or
attempting to impose his will upon another
person as police authority unless:
(a) he is on the property specifically
described under G.S. 74E-6; or
(b) when in immediate and continuous
pursuit of any person for an offense
which occurred within the property
jurisdiction limitations specifically
described under G.S. 74E-6;

®)

)

History Note:

using or attempting to use authority granted
under a company police commission pursuant
to this Subchapter outside the political
boundaries of North Carolina; or

violating Rule .0306 of this Section.

Authority G.S. 74E-4; 74E-6; T4E-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. January 5, 1978;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 2, 1993; November 1,
1984; April 9, 1980; December 28, 1979.

12 NCAC 07D .0901

s sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok sk sk sk sk sk ook ok ok

REQUIREMENTS FOR A

FIREARMS TRAINER CERTIFICATE
(a) Firearms trainer applicants shall:

(M
@)

3)

4)

)
(6)

meet the standards established by 12 NCAC
07D .0703;

have a minimum of one year supervisory
experience in security with a contract security
company or proprietary security organization,
or one year experience with any federal, U.S.
military, state, county or municipal law
enforcement agency,

attain a 90 percent score on a firearm's course
approved by the Board and the Attorney
General, with a copy of the firearm's course

certificate to be kept on file in the
administrator's office;
successfully complete a training course

approved by the Board and the Attorney
General which shall consist of minimum of 40
hours of classroom and practical range training
in handgun and shotgun safety and
maintenance, range operations, night firearm
training, control and safety procedures, and
methods of handgun and shotgun firing;

pay the certified trainer application fee
established in 12 NCAC 07D .0903(a)(1); and
successfully complete the requirements of a
Unarmed Trainer Certificate established by 12
NCAC 07D .09009.

(b) A Firearms Trainer Certificate shall expire two years after
the date of issuance.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; November 1,

1991.

12 NCAC 07D .0908

POST-DELIVERY REPORT FOR

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES
Firearms Trainers shall submit to the Board a post-delivery
report for all firearms training courses required by 12 NCAC
07D .0807 within 20 days after completion of the firearms
training. The report shall be submitted on a Board form and
shall contain the following information:

M

Certified Firearms Trainer's name;
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2) Date, time, and location of classroom training;

3) Date, time, and location of range qualification;

4 Full name of the students who completed the
firearms training course;

%) Classroom exam score for each student
completing the firearms training course;

(6) Range score for each student completing the
firearms training course; and

(7 Certified Firearms Trainer's signature.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 2, 2002;
Temporary Adoption Expired July 29, 2003;

Eff. December 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

12 NCAC 07D .0909
CERTIFICATE

(a) To receive an unarmed guard trainer certificate, an applicant
shall meet the following requirements:

(1) comply with the requirements of 12 NCAC
07D.0703;

2) have a minimum of one year experience in
security with contract security company or
proprietary security organization, or one year
experience with any federal, U.S. military,
state, county or municipal law enforcement
agency;

3) successfully complete a training course
approved by the Board and the Attorney
General which shall consist of a minimum of
24 hours classroom instruction to include the
following topic areas:

(A) civil liability for the security trainer -
two hours;

(B) interpersonal communications  in
instruction — three hours;

© teaching adults — four hours;

UNARMED GUARD TRAINER

(D) principles of instruction - one hour;
(E) methods and strategies of instruction
- one hour;
(F) principles of instruction: audio-visual
aids - three hours; and
(G) student performance: 45 minute
presentation.
4) favorable recommendation from  the
employing or contracting licensee; and
(5) comply with the application process for an

Unarmed Trainer Certificate as set forth in 12
NCAC 07D .0910.
(b) In lieu of completing the training course set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the
Board a Criminal Justice General Instructor Certificate from
North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission or any training certification that meets or
exceeds the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule
and is approved by the Director of PPS.
(c) An Unarmed Guard Trainer Certificate shall expire two
years after the date of issuance.

History Note:
13;
Eff. October 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-

12 NCAC 07D .0911 RENEWAL OF AN UNARMED
GUARD TRAINER CERTIFICATE
Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed guard trainer
certificate shall complete a board renewal form. This form shall
be submitted not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the
applicant's current certificate. In addition, the applicant shall
include the following:
) the renewal fee set forth in 12 NCAC 07D
.0903(a)(3);
(2) certification of a minimum of 16 hours of
Board approved armed or unarmed instruction
performed during the current unarmed guard
trainer certification period; and
3) statement verifying the classes taught during
the current unarmed guard trainer certification
period on a form prescribed by the Board.

History Note:
13;
Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008.

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-

sk ook sk sk sk ok ok sk sk ook ok sk ok sk ok sk ok ook ok ook

12 NCAC 10B .0103 DEFINITIONS

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 17E-2, the
following definitions apply throughout this Chapter, unless the
context requires otherwise:

) "Appointment" as it applies to a deputy sheriff
means the date the deputy's oath of office is
administered; and as it applies to a detention
officer means either the date the detention
officer's oath of office was administered, if
applicable, or the detention officer's actual
date of employment as reported on the Report
of Appointment (Form F-4) by the employing
agency, whichever is earlier; and as it applies
to a telecommunicator, the telecommunicator's
actual date of employment as reported on the
Report of Appointment (Form F-4T).

2) "Convicted" or "Conviction" means for
purposes of this Chapter, the entry of:

(a) a plea of guilty;

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury,
judge, magistrate, or  other
adjudicating body, tribunal, or
official, either civilian or military; or

(©) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere,
or the equivalent.
3) "Department Head" means the chief

administrator of any criminal justice agency or
communications center.  Department head
includes the sheriff or a designee appointed in
writing by the Department head.
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“4)

)
(6)

()

®)

)

(10)

"Director" means the Director of the Sheriffs'
Standards Division of the North Carolina
Department of Justice.

"Division" means the Sheriffs' Standards
Division.

"High School Graduation" means successful
completion of all requirements for either
public or non-public schools, including
passing any required competency tests,
established by the State Board of Education or
other entity having jurisdiction where the
student graduated at the time the student
finished high school. A certificate or diploma
reflecting the person accomplished some but
not all graduation requirements is not
sufficient. The high school must meet the
compulsory attendance requirements in the
jurisdiction in which the school is located.
"Enrolled" means that an individual is
currently participating in an on-going
presentation of a commission-certified basic
training course which has not been concluded
on the day probationary certification expires.
"Essential Job Functions" means those tasks
deemed by the agency head to be necessary for
the proper performance of a justice officer.
"Lateral Transfer" means certification of a
justice officer when the applicant for
certification has previously held general or
grandfather certification as a justice officer or
a criminal justice officer as defined in G.S.
17C-2(c), excluding state correctional officers,
state probation/parole officers, and state youth
services officers, provided the applicant has
been separated from a sworn law enforcement
position for no more than one year, or has had
no break in service.

"Misdemeanor" means those criminal offenses
not classified by the North Carolina General
Statutes, the United States Code, the common
law, or the courts as felonies. Misdemeanor
offenses are classified by the Commission as
follows:

(a) "Class A Misdemeanor" means:

(1) an act committed or omitted
in violation of any common
law, duly enacted ordinance
or criminal statute of this
state which is not classified
as a Class B Misdemeanor
pursuant to Sub-item (10)(b)
of this Rule. Also
specifically included herein
as a Class A Misdemeanor is
the offense of driving while
impaired, if the offender was
sentenced under punishment
level three [G.S. 20-179(1)],
level four [G.S. 20-179()],

(i)

(iii)

or level five [G.S. 20-
179(k)]. All other traffic
offenses under Chapter 20
(motor vehicles) are not
classified as Class A
Misdemeanors.

acts committed or omitted in
North Carolina prior to
October 1, 1994 in violation
of any common law, duly
enacted ordinance or
criminal statute, of this state
for which the maximum
punishment allowable for the
designated offense included
imprisonment for a term of
not more than six months.
Also specifically included
herein as a Class A
Misdemeanor is the offense
of driving while impaired, if
the offender was sentenced
under punishment level three
[G.S. 20-179(1)], level four
[G.S. 20-179(G)], or level
five [G.S. 20-179(k)]. All
other traffic offenses under
Chapter 20 (motor vehicles)
are not classified as Class A
Misdemeanors.

any act committed or
omitted in violation of any
common law, duly enacted
ordinance, criminal statute
of any jurisdiction other than
North Carolina, either civil
or military, for which the
maximum punishment
allowable for the designated
offense under the laws,
statutes, or ordinances of the
jurisdiction in which the
offense occurred includes
imprisonment for a term of
not more than six months.
Specifically excluded from
this grouping of "Class A
Misdemeanor" criminal
offenses for jurisdictions
other than North Carolina,
are motor vehicle or traffic
offenses  designated as
misdemeanors under the
laws of other jurisdictions,
or duly enacted ordinances
of an authorized
governmental entity with the
exception of the offense of
driving  while  impaired
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which is expressly included
herein as a class A
misdemeanor, if the offender
could have been sentenced
for a term of not more than
six months.

(b) "Class B Misdemeanor" means:

(i)

(i)

an act committed or omitted
in violation of any common
law, criminal statute, or
criminal traffic code of this
state which is classified as a
Class B Misdemeanor as set
forth in the "Class B
Misdemeanor Manual" as
published by the North
Carolina  Department of
Justice and shall
automatically include any
later = amendments and
editions of the incorporated
material as provided by G.S.
150B-21.6. Copies of the
publication may be obtained
from the North Carolina
Department of Justice, Post
Office Box 629, Raleigh,
North  Carolina  27602.
There is no cost per manual
at the time of adoption of
this Rule.

acts committed or omitted in
North  Carolina prior to
October 1, 1994 in violation
of any common law, duly
enacted ordinance, or
criminal statute, of this state
for which the maximum
punishment allowable for the
designated offense included
imprisonment for a term of
more than six months but not
more than two  years.
Specifically excluded from
the grouping of "Class B
misdemeanors"  committed
or omitted in North Carolina
prior to October 1, 1994 are
motor vehicle or traffic
offenses designated as being
misdemeanors under G.S. 20
(motor vehicles), with the
following exceptions: "Class
B misdemeanors" committed
or omitted in North Carolina
prior to October 1, 1994
expressly include, either first
or subsequent offenses of
G.S. 20-138(a) or (b), G.S.

(11)

(12)

20-166 (duty to stop in the
event of an accident), G.S.
20-138.1 (impaired driving)
if the defendant was
sentenced under punishment
level one [G.S. 20-179(g)] or
punishment level two [G.S.
20-179(h)] for the offense,
and shall also include a
violation of G.S. 20-28(b)
[driving  while  license
permanently revoked or
suspended].

(iii) any act committed or
omitted in violation of any
common law, duly enacted
ordinance, or  criminal
statute of any jurisdiction
other than North Carolina,
either civil or military, for
which the maximum
punishment allowable for the
designated offense under the
laws, statutes, or ordinances
of the jurisdiction in which
the offense occurred
includes imprisonment for a
term of more than six
months but not more than
two years. Specifically
excluded from this grouping
of "Class B Misdemeanor"
criminal offenses for
jurisdictions  other  than
North Carolina, are motor
vehicle or traffic offenses
designated as being
misdemeanors under the
laws of other jurisdictions
with the following
exceptions: Class B
Misdemeanor does expressly
include, either first or
subsequent  offenses  of
driving while impaired if the
maximum allowable
punishment is for a term of
more than six months but not
more than two years, and
driving while license
permanently  revoked or
permanently suspended.

"Felony" means any offense designated a
felony by the laws, statutes, or ordinances of
the jurisdiction in which the offense occurred.
"Dual Certification" means that a justice
officer holds probationary, general, or
grandfather certification in two or more of the
following positions with the same agency:
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(a) deputy sheriff; curriculum offered by the respective
(b) detention officer; state or federal entity; and
(c) telecommunicator. (b) an independent oath of office
(13) "Detention Officer" means any person providing for the execution of the
performing responsibilities, either on a full- laws of the respective state or federal
time, part-time, permanent or temporary basis, jurisdiction.
which includes the control, care, and (18) "General Powers of Arrest" means the
supervision of any inmates incarcerated in a authority to enforce the state or federal laws
county jail or other confinement facility under within the officer's territorial and subject
the direct supervision and management of the matter jurisdiction to include the authority to
sheriff. "Detention Officer" shall also mean arrest and cite offenders under the laws of the
the administrator and the other custodial jurisdiction. These powers must be conferred
personnel of district confinement facilities as on the officer by virtue of occupying a sworn
defined in G.S. 153A-219. law enforcement position. General powers of
(14) "Deputy Sheriff" means any person who has arrest means those powers, even though
been duly appointed and sworn by the sheriff limited by subject matter jurisdiction, which
and who is authorized to exercise the powers may be exercised as a routine responsibility of
of arrest in accordance with the laws of North the office. General powers of arrest does not
Carolina. mean those powers of arrest conferred by
(15) "Telecommunicator" means any person virtue of a special appointment or those
performing responsibilities, either on a full- granted as an incidental, as opposed to a
time, part-time, permanent or temporary basis, primary, function of the office.
for communication functions to include (19) "In-Service Training Coordinator" means the
receiving calls or dispatching for emergency person designated by the Department Head to
and law enforcement services. administer the agency's in-service training
(16) "Commission" as it pertains to criminal program.

offenses means a finding by the North
Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training History Note:  Authority G.S. 17E-7:
Standards Commission or an administrative Eff. January 1, 1989;
body, pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B,  Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993;
that a person performed the acts necessary to ~ Temporary October 1, 1994 for a period of 180 days or until the
satisfy the elements of a specified criminal  permanent rule become effective whichever is sooner;
offense. Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; March 1, 1995;
17) "Sworn Law Enforcement Position" means a  Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998;
position with a criminal justice agency of the Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; January 1, 2006; August 1,
United States, any state, or a political 2000; August 1, 1998.
subdivision of any state which, by law, has
general power of arrest and requires each of
the following:
(a) successful completion of the Basic
Law Enforcement Training

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

15A NCAC 061.0103 ALLOCATION GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES

(a) The Commission shall allocate the cost share funds to the districts in the designated program areas. To receive fund allocations,
each district designated eligible by the commission shall submit an annual strategy plan to the commission at the beginning of each
fiscal year. Funds may be allocated to each district and the Division for any or all of the following purposes:

(N Cost share and cost share incentive payments,
2) technical assistance and administrative assistance, and
3) statewide or local education and outreach activities.

(b) The Commission shall consider the relative needs of the program for BMP implementation, local technical assistance, and
education to determine the proportion of available funds to be allocated for each eligible purpose prior to allocating funds to districts
and the Division.

(c) Funds for cost share and cost share incentive payments shall be allocated to the districts at the beginning of the fiscal year and
whenever the Commission determines that sufficient funds are available to justify a reallocation. Districts shall be allocated monies
based on the identified level of nonpoint source pollution problems and the respective district's BMP installation goals as
demonstrated in the district annual strategy plan. The allocation method used for disbursement of funds is based on the score of each
respective district for those parameters approved by the Commission pursuant to Subparagraph (9) of this Paragraph. The points each
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district scores on each parameter are totaled and proportioned to the total dollars available under the current program year funding
according to the following formula:

(1) Sum of Parameter Points = Total Points
2) Percentage Total X Total Dollars = Dollars Available
Points Each District Available to Each District
3) The minimum allocated to a particular district shall be one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) per program year,

unless the district requests less than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500).

@) If a district requests less than the dollars available to that district in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, then the
excess funds beyond those requested by the district shall be allocated to the districts who did not receive their full
requested allocation using the same methodology described in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.

(5) 95 percent of the total program funding shall be allocated to the district accounts in the initial allocation. The
Division shall retain five percent of the total funding in a contingency fund to be used to respond to an emergency or
natural disaster. If the funds are not needed to respond to an emergency, then the contingency fund shall be
allocated at the March meeting of the Commission.

(6) The Commission may recall funds allocated to a district during a fiscal year that have not been encumbered to an
agreement at any time if it determines the recalled funds are needed to respond to an emergency or natural disaster.

(7 At any time a district may submit a revised strategy plan and apply to the Commission for additional funds.

(8) CPOs that encumber funds under the current year must be submitted to the Division by 5:00 p.m. on the first
Wednesday in June.

) Districts shall be allocated funds based on their respective data for each of the following parameters:
(A) Relative rank of the number of miles of stream identified as less than fully supporting due to nonpoint

source pollution as reported in the North Carolina Water Quality Assessment and Impaired Waters List and
the most recent Basinwide Water Quality Plan for each river basin, where the source of pollution is not
solely due to agriculture. (20 percent) The North Carolina Water Quality Assessment and Impaired Waters
list and the Basinwide Water Quality Plans are produced by the Division of Water Quality.
B) Relative rank of the percentage of the county draining to waters classified as Outstanding Resource Waters,
High Quality Waters, Trout, or Shellfishing (open) on the current schedule of Water Quality Standards and
Classifications. (20 percent)
© The percentage of each county covered by NPDES Phase I and Phase II requirements. (20 percent)
(D) Relative rank of population density for the county. (20 percent)
(E) Relative rank of the percentage of a county's land area that is located within drinking water assessment
areas, as delineated by the Public Water Supply Section of the Division of Environmental Health. (20
percent)
(d) The funds available for technical and administrative assistance shall be allocated by the Commission based on the needs as
expressed by the district and needs to accelerate the installation of BMPs in the respective district. Each district may use these monies
to fund new positions or to accelerate present technical assistance. Districts must provide an itemized budget to the division in order
to qualify for technical assistance funds. N.C. Community Conservation Assistance Program technical assistance funds may be used
for technical assistance with the district matching at least 50 percent of the total. Each district to which funds are allocated for
technical assistance shall demonstrate to the Commission that matching funds are available prior to any expenditure of funds. The
allocation method used for disbursement of funds is based on the score of each respective district for those parameters approved by the
Commission pursuant to Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph. The points each district scores for each parameter are totaled and
proportioned to the total dollars available under the current program year fundmg according to the following formula:

(1) Sum of Parameter Points = Total Points
2) Percentage Total X Total Dollars = Dollars Available
Points Each District Available to Each District

3) If a district requests less than the dollars available to that district in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, then the
excess funds beyond those requested by the district shall be allocated to the districts who did not receive their full
requested allocation using the same methodology described in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph.

4 Priority for funding shall be based upon the following parameters:

(A) Whether the position is presently funded by Community Conservation Assistance Program technical
assistance funds. (25 percent)
(B) The proportion of Community Conservation Assistance Program funds for cost share and cost share

incentive allocated to districts served by this technical assistance request (normalized to 1 to 100 scale by
multiplying each district's score by a factor such that the product of the highest score for this parameter is
100) (50 percent), and
© The amount of additional funds leveraged by grants and other funds committed to districts served by this
technical assistance request (normalized to 1 to 100 scale by multiplying each district's score by a factor
such that the product of the highest score for this parameter is 100). (25 percent)
(5) Subject to availability of funds and local match, provide support for technical assistance for every district.
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(6)

()

District technicians may be jointly funded by more than one district to accelerate the program in each participating
district. Each district must be eligible for cost sharing in the program. Requests for funding (salary, FICA,
insurance, etc.) of a shared position must be presented to the division by all concerned districts and the division shall
cost share to the billing district at a 50-50 rate based on the portion of the FTE provided each respective district. A
shared position must be officially housed in one specific district and cost share for support items (office rent,
telephone, etc.) shall be paid to one district only.

Funds, if available, may be allocated to each participating district to provide for administrative costs under this
program. These funds shall be used for clerical assistance and other related program administrative costs and shall
be matched with in-kind funds of an equal amount from the district.

(e) The funds available for the education and outreach purpose shall be allocated by the Commission based on the needs as expressed
by the district and needs to accelerate the installation of BMPs in that respective district. Districts and the Division may use these
funds for holding workshops for potential applicants and for developing, duplicating, and distributing outreach materials or signs.

Districts must provide an itemized budget to the Division in order to qualify for education and outreach funds.

Education and

outreach funds shall be allocated to each district in accordance with the following formula:

(1 Each district shall receive the lesser of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or the result of the following equation:
Total Dollars x Total Dollars + Total Dollars = Dollars Available to
Available Requested by Each Requested by All Each District
District Districts
2) If more funds are available for allocation than are requested by districts or the Division, then the excess funds shall

be added to the funds to be allocated for cost share and cost share incentive payments.

History Note:
Eff. January 1, 2008.
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15A NCAC 10F .0374 ALCOA POWER GENERATING
INC. HYDROELECTRIC STATION SAFETY ZONES

(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the area one hundred
feet upstream or downstream from the stations and dams (and
associated structures, abutments and equipment of these stations
and dams) listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule.

(b) Fishing. Except as otherwise provided in this Paragraph or
in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, no person may enter the waters
within the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule. Persons engaged in fishing within the regulated areas
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may enter these waters in
connection with such fishing activities provided that they shall

wear at all times a U.S. Coast Guard approved personal
floatation device in serviceable condition and of appropriate size
for the wearer.

(c) Boating. Any person in or upon a boat, raft or other floating
object that enters into the regulated areas described in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule shall wear at all times a U.S. Coast Guard
approved personal floatation device in serviceable condition and
of appropriate size for the wearer. No vessel may tie off to any
part of the hydroelectric station structure or the accessory
portions thereof within regulated areas described in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule, or to anchor or otherwise secure a vessel in
these areas.

(d) Paragraph (c) of this Rule does not apply to persons who
enter with consent of Alcoa Power Generating, Inc. for the
purpose of maintaining, repairing or evaluating facilities of
Alcoa Power Generating, Inc.; law enforcement or emergency
personnel; or NC state employees acting in an official capacity.
(e) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. Alcoa Power
Generating, Inc. is designated as a suitable entity for placement

Authority G.S. 139-4; 139-8; 143-215.74M; 143B-294;

and maintenance of buoys and other signs implementing this
Rule.
(f) Alcoa Power Generating Inc., hydroelectric stations affected
by this Rule:
(1 Narrows Hydroelectric Station in Yadkin
River in Stanly and Montgomery Counties;
2) High Rock Hydroelectric Station in Yadkin
River in Rowan and Davidson Counties.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

15A NCAC 10F .0375 DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION
HYDROELECTRIC STATION SAFETY ZONES

(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the area one hundred
feet upstream or downstream from the stations and dams (and
associated structures, abutments and equipment of these stations
and dams) listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule.

(b) Fishing. Except as otherwise provided in this Paragraph or
in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, no person may enter the waters
within the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule. Persons engaged in fishing within the regulated areas
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may enter these waters in
connection with such fishing activities provided that they shall
wear at all times a U.S. Coast Guard approved personal
floatation device in serviceable condition and of appropriate size
for the wearer.

(c) Boating. Any person in or upon a boat, raft or other floating
object that enters into the regulated area described in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule shall wear at all times a U.S. Coast Guard
approved personal floatation device in serviceable condition and
of appropriate size for the wearer. No vessel may tie off to any
part of the dam structure or the accessory portions thereof within
regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, or to
anchor or otherwise secure a vessel in these areas.
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(d) Paragraph (c) of this Rule does not apply to persons who
enter with consent of Duke Energy Corporation for the purpose
of maintaining, repairing or evaluating facilities of Duke Energy
Corporation; law enforcement or emergency personnel; or North
Carolina state employees acting in an official capacity.

(e) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. Duke Energy
Corporation is designated as a suitable entity for placement and
maintenance of buoys and other signs implementing this Rule.
(f) Duke Energy Corporation hydroelectric stations and dams
affected by this Rule:

(1) Bridgewater Hydroelectric Station (Paddy
Creek Dam, Linville Dam and Catawba Dam)
in the Catawba River in Burke and McDowell
counties;

2) Cowans Ford Hydroelectric Station (Cowans
Ford Dam) in the Catawba River in Lincoln
and Mecklenburg counties;

3) Lookout Hydroelectric Station (Lookout Dam)
in the Catawba River in Catawba and Iredell
counties;

4) Mountain  Island  Hydroelectric ~ Station
(Mountain Island Dam) in the Catawba River
in Gaston and Mecklenburg counties;

(5) Oxford Hydroelectric Station (Oxford Dam) in
the Catawba River in Alexander and Catawba
counties;

(6) Rhodhiss Hydroelectric Station (Rhodhiss
Dam) in the Catawba River in Burke and
Caldwell counties; and

(7N Tuxedo Hydroelectric Station (Tuxedo Dam)
in the Green River in Henderson County.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

TITLE 18 — OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF STATE

18 NCAC 07B .0701
— SCOPE

(a) Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 10B-14 and this
Section, notaries public shall comply with all requirements for
certification or recertification as a notary public instructor as set
forth in this Chapter.

(b) A notary public who is a licensed member of the North
Carolina State Bar shall comply with all requirements of this
Chapter in order to obtain certification or recertification as a
notary public instructor.

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0702
- GENERAL
Applicants for notary public instructor certification shall:
(1 Complete the Department's notary public
instructor application form and submit it to the
Department;

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

2 Comply with the requirements of Rule .0708
through Rule .0711 of this Chapter regarding
verification of 12 months of experience;

3) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0712
of this Chapter regarding recommendations;

4 Comply with the requirements of Rule .0713
of this Chapter regarding an oral presentation
of a notary public course curriculum lesson;

%) Make a passing grade on the final examination
in the notary public instructor certification
course as set forth in Rule .0714 of this
Chapter; and

(6) Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 10B-
14(c) and Rule .0705 of this Chapter, pay the
required fee.

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0703 TIMING OF INSTRUCTOR
CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

An application for notary public instructor certification or
recertification shall not be submitted to the Division during the
period of any sanction issued by the Division.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0704
APPLICATIONS
The Department shall reject a notary instructor certification or
recertification application which is received:
€] While an investigation into the applicant's
performance of the duties of a notary public or
notary public instructor is open; or
2 During the period of any sanction issued by
the Division.

DEPARTMENT REJECTION OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0705 FEES

(a) The fee required by G.S. 10B-14 for certification and
recertification as a notary public instructor shall be paid in
accordance with Rule .0105 of this Chapter.

(b) A person asserting that he or she is not required to submit a
fee pursuant to G.S. 10B-14(c) shall include verification that as
of the date of application the applicant is currently employed as
a register of deed, clerk of court or is the Director or an
authorized employee of the Secretary as set forth in G.S. 10B-
14(c).

(c) The Secretary may refuse to administer the notary public
instructor certification examination to an applicant who has
failed to pay the fee required for certification or recertification as
a notary public instructor before the examination date.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.
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18 NCAC 07B .0706 VERIFICATION THAT
APPLICANT CONTINUES TO MEET REQUIREMENTS
FOR A NOTARY COMMISSION

An applicant for notary public instructor certification or
recertification shall verify that:

(1) The applicant continues to meet each of the
qualifications for a notary commission found
in G.S. 10B-5 and 10B-7; and

) With regard to changes requiring notification
to the Division pursuant to Rule .0107 of this
Chapter, verify:

(a) That there have been no changes

requiring  notification  to  the
Department;

(b) That there have been changes
requiring  notification to  the

Department and that the applicant has
made all required notifications; or

(©) That there have been changes
requiring  notification  to  the
Department and the applicant has not
previously made the required
notification to the Department but is
including the notification with the
application.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0707 OTHER VERIFICATIONS
An applicant for notary public instructor certification shall verify
that he or she:
(1) Possesses and has read the current notary
public guidebook; and
2) Has read Chapter 10B of the General Statutes
and this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0708
EXPERIENCE

(a) For purposes of these Rules a notarial act is an act set out in
G.S. 10B-20(a).

(b) For purposes of demonstrating the experience required by
G.S. 10B-14(a)(2), an applicant shall show evidence of
performing notarial acts during each month of the 12 months
immediately preceding the application to become a certified
notary instructor.

(¢) Evidence of performance of notarial acts shall be presented
by one of the methods set forth in Rule .0709 through Rule
.0711 of this Chapter.

EVIDENCE OF MINIMUM

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0709
EXPERIENCE

(a) An applicant for notary public instructor certification may
submit a journal of notarial acts as evidence of experience
performing notarial acts.

(b) The submitted journal shall, at a minimum, include:

JOURNAL AS EVIDENCE OF

€)) The dates on which notarial acts were
performed;
2) The type of notarial act performed; and

3) The name(s) of the party(ies) for whom each
notarial act was performed.
(c) The applicant shall submit an affidavit verifying that the
information in the journal submitted in compliance with this
Rule is true and correct.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0710 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT AS
EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE
(a) An applicant for notary public instructor certification may
submit an affidavit from his or her employer verifying that the
applicant has had experience performing notarial acts.
(b) The submitted affidavit shall, at a minimum, include the
following:
(1) The name of the corporation, business,
individual or entity employing the applicant;
2) The full name of the person verifying the
applicant's experience;

3) The authority of the person to verify the
applicant's experience, including his or her
title;

4) The address, telephone number and, if

applicable, email address of the person
verifying the applicant's experience;

%) A narrative description of the reasons the
applicant has performed notarial acts while
employed by the person or entity submitting
the affidavit; and

(6) Verification that the applicant has performed
at least one notarial act during each of the 12
immediately preceding months.

(c) The submitted affidavit may also contain a recommendation
pursuant to Rule .0712 of this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0711
EXPERIENCE

An applicant for notary public instructor certification may
submit evidence of experience performing notarial acts other
than a journal or employer affidavit, provided the evidence
includes:

) An affidavit from the applicant verifying that
the applicant has performed at least one
notarial act in each of the 12 immediately
preceding months; and

ALTERNATIVE EVIDENCE OF
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2) An affidavit from at least one person unrelated
to the applicant by birth, marriage or adoption
which establishes that the applicant has
performed at least one notarial act during each
of the 12 months immediately preceding the
application.

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0712 RECOMMENDATIONS

A notary public instructor certification applicant shall submit
three recommendations on the Division's recommendation form
from persons unrelated to the applicant by birth, marriage or
adoption.

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0713 ORAL PRESENTATION
REQUIREMENT FOR APPLICANT

(a) A notary public instructor certification student shall provide
an oral presentation of a section of the notary public curriculum
which shall be evaluated according to the standards set forth in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

(b) A passing grade on the notary public instructor certification
oral presentation shall be 80 percent.

(c) The oral presentation of a notary public instructor
certification student shall be graded for instructional ability
using standards including the notary public instructor student's:

(1) Voice quality (projection, articulation, speech
rate);

2) Verbal skill (fluency and clarity);

3) Physical appearance and mannerisms (attire,
posture, body language, eye contact,
movement) to project a professional
demeanor;

4 Professional qualities of the instructor
(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, enthusiasm,
sensitivity);

(5 Selection and use of training aids (use of

writing surface and other aids, effective use of
multimedia, transparencies, and slides, relates
aids to objectives, and use of aids when

scheduled);

(6) Presentation of information in logical
sequence;

(7 Timing of presentation to allow for sufficient
time for questions and discussion,;

() Transition of subjects with continuous

progression and development of lesson;

9) Emphasis of key points and frequent
summarization of topics to entire lesson or
course and use of examples to clarify the
subjects;

(10) Frequent establishment of relevance of the
topics to entire lesson or course and use of
examples to clarify the subjects; and

(11) Following the Division's
curriculum.

(d) A notary public instructor student who fails the oral

presentation portion of the notary public instructor certification

course may schedule one additional oral presentation within

three months of the failure to complete the oral presentation

requirement as required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

notary public

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0714 NOTARY PUBLIC INSTRUCTOR
CERTIFICATION AND RECERTIFICATION
EXAMINATIONS

(a) A passing grade on the notary public instructor certification
or recertification final examination shall be 90 percent.

(b) A notary public instructor certification or recertification
applicant who fails to achieve a passing grade on the final
examination may apply to take the test one additional time
within three months.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0715 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
If the Division receives information or a complaint that gives
reason to question the notary public instructor's eligibility or
ability to perform the duties of a notary public instructor, the
Division may require the notary public instructor to:

€)) Submit to an interview;
2) Submit additional information; or
3) Submit audio and visual documentation such

as a video of actual instruction.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0716 MINIMUM INSTRUCTONAL
DUTIES OF CERTIFIED NOTARY PUBLIC
INSTRUCTORS

(a) A certified notary public instructor shall verify the identity
of each student during the first instructional period and again
prior to administration of the notary public examination by
requiring satisfactory evidence of identity as defined in G.S.
10B-3(22)(a).

(b) A certified notary public instructor shall follow the Division
supplied curriculum for notary public instruction unless the
instructor has been granted approval by the Division for a
variance.

(c) While performing their duties as certified notary public
instructors, certified instructors shall comply with applicable
State and federal laws relating to adult education.

(d) When administering the notary public examination, a
certified notary public instructor shall take steps to prevent
cheating by students taking the notary public examination.

(e) When administering the notary public examination, a
certified notary public instructor shall report to the Division
within two business days if the instructor has reason to believe
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that there has been cheating on a notary public examination by
any student, and shall provide:

(N The name, address and contact information for
any student suspected of cheating; and

2) A narrative description of the instructor's
reasons for believing cheating may have
occurred.

(f) Notary public instructors shall submit student notary public
examination grades to the Division within two business days
after the examination has been administered.

(g) A notary public instructor shall demonstrate a professional
demeanor at all times during instruction and administration of
the duties of a certified notary public instructor.

(h) A notary public instructor shall not use profanity or obscene
language when instructing the notary public course or
administering the notary public examination.

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0717
INSTRUCTION
(a) If the employer of a certified notary public instructor
conducts a written performance evaluation of the instructor at
least once per calendar year, the instructor shall submit a copy of
the performance evaluation to the Department within 30 days
after receipt of the written performance evaluation from the
employer.

(b) If the employer of a certified notary public instructor does
not conduct a written performance evaluation of the instructor at
least once per calendar year, the instructor shall:

(1) Require that his or her notary public course
students in one class each calendar year
complete the Division's student evaluation of
notary public course instructor form; and

2) Shall submit copies of all completed student
evaluation forms to the Division within 30
days of receipt of the completed forms.

(¢) The Department may conduct evaluations of instructional
performance of certified notary public instructors by methods
including:

(1 Surveys of notary public students;

2) Requests for audio-visual recordings of
courses; and

3) Observation of classroom instruction.

EVALUATIONS OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0718 ELIGIBILITY FOR
RECERTIFICATION AS NOTARY PUBLIC
INSTRUCTOR

A notary public instructor shall not be eligible for recertification
as a notary public instructor if the notary public instructor:

(1) Has failed to submit notary public student
examination grades or notary public instructor
evaluations to the Division as required by
Rules .0716 and .0717 of this Chapter;

2 Has been subject to disciplinary action by the
Division in relation to:
(a) The performance of notary public
duties pursuant to Chapter 10B of the
General Statutes or this Chapter; or
(b) The performance of notary public
instructor duties; or
3) Has failed to comply with other requirements
imposed upon a notary or notary public
instructor pursuant to law or rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0719 NOTARY PUBLIC INSTRUCTOR
RECERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

An applicant for recertification as a notary public instructor
shall:

e)) Complete the Department's notary public
instructor application form and submit it to the
Department;

2) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0708
through Rule .0711 of this Chapter regarding
verification of 12 months of experience
performing notarial acts;

3) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0713
of this Chapter regarding an oral presentation
of a notary public course lesson;

5) Make a passing grade on the final examination
in the notary public instructor certification
recertification course as set forth in Rule .0714
of this Chapter;

(6) Except as otherwise provided in Rule .0705 of
this Chapter, pay the required fee; and

@) Submit an affidavit verifying that the applicant
has taught the notary public instructor course
at least twice a year during the two-year
certification period.

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

18 NCAC 07B .0720 DENIAL OF NOTARY PUBLIC
INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION OR
RECERTIFICATION

An application for notary public instructor certification or
recertification may be denied:
€ For any reason for which an application for
commissioning or re-commissioning of a
notary public may be denied; or
2) If an applicant no longer meets the
requirements or fails to comply with the
requirements to be a certified notary public
instructor.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14;
Eff. January 1, 2008.
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TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 14 - COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 14H .0111 CLEANLINESS OF OPERATORS
(a) All operators shall be personally clean and neat.

(b) Every person employed in a beauty establishment shall wear
clean, washable outer garments with sleeves while serving
patrons.

(¢) Each licensee shall wash his or her hands with soap and
water or an equally effective cleansing agent immediately before
and after serving each client.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-4;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; June 1, 1994,

21 NCAC 14H .0113 CLEANLINESS OF SCISSORS:
SHEARS: RAZORS AND OTHER EQUIPMENT
(a) All scissors, shears, razors, and other metal instruments used
while shaping hair must be cleaned and disinfected after each
use in the following manner:
(1) If the implement is not immersible, it shall be
cleaned by wiping it with a clean cloth

moistened with a disinfectant, used in
accordance with the manufacturer's
instructions, that states the solution will

destroy HIV, TB or HBV viruses and

approved by the Federal Environmental

Protection Agency.

2) If it is immersible, it shall be disinfected by
immersion, at least once a day and whenever it
comes in contact with blood, with:

(A) disinfectant, used in accordance with
the manufacturer's instructions, that
states the solution will destroy HIV,
TB or HBV viruses and approved by
the Federal Environmental Protection

Agency.

(B) EPA registered,
hospital/pseudomonacidal
(bactericidal, virucidal, and

fungicidal) and tuberculocidal, that is
mixed and used according to the
manufacturer's directions;

© household bleach in a 10 percent
solution for 10 minutes.

3) If the implement is not used immediately after
cleaning, it must be stored in a clean, closed
cabinet until it is needed.

(b) Furniture, equipment and fixtures must be of a washable
material and kept clean and in good repair.

(c) Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be
disposed in puncture-resistant containers.

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; October 1, 2006; February 1,
2004; August 1, 1998; June 1, 1994; January 1, 1989; April 1,
1988.

21 NCAC 14H .0121 PROHIBITED PRACTICES
(a) Licensed cosmetologists, estheticians, and manicurists shall
not use or possess in a shop any of the following products:

€)) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer a.k.a.
MMA;

2 Razor-type callus shavers designed and
intended to cut growths of skin such as corns
and calluses;

3) Permanent makeup, defined as beautifying the
face by inserting or implanting facial cosmetic
pigment under the surface of the skin or
mucosa; or

4 FDA rated Class III devices.

(b) Class II devices may be used by licensees while under the
direct supervision of a licensed physician.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4;
Eff. April 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; December 1, 2004.

sk ook sk sk sk ok ok sk sk ook sk sk ok ok ok sk ok ok ok ook

CHAPTER 26 — LICENSING BOARD OF LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTS

21 NCAC 26 .0207
PROFESSIONAL SEAL
(a) Use of Seal. The seal(s) of the landscape architect(s)
responsible for the work and the landscape architectural
corporation seal, if appropriate, shall be applied to the following
documents:

APPLICATION OF

(1 Drawings and specifications prepared for
public agency approval,

2) Drawings and specifications issued for the
purpose  of  bidding, negotiation or
construction;

3) Reports of technical nature; and

4) Letters and certificates of professional opinion.

(b) The seal(s) shall be applied only to documents prepared

personally or under the immediate supervision of the landscape

architect whose seal is affixed, except that seals may be applied

to documents that were not prepared by the landscape architect
in the following circumstances:

€] Documents that were initially sealed by an out

of state individual who is a licensed landscape

architect in the state of origin of such plans

may then be reviewed by a North Carolina

Landscape Architect for code conformance,

design adequacy, and site adaptation for the

specific application within North Carolina.

Standard plans, which bear the seal of an

individual who is a licensed landscape

architect, shall be sealed by the North Carolina

Landscape Architect who is assuming
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responsibility. In addition to the seal, a
statement shall be included as follows: "These
plans have been examined by the undersigned.
I have determined that they comply with
existing local North Carolina codes, and have
been properly site adapted for use in this area."
2) Documents that are prepared by another
licensed professional and obtained by the
Landscape Architect may be used to prepare
landscape architectural design documents
provided the origin of the documents and
information prepared by another licensed
professional shall appear on each drawing or
sheet of the documents sealed by the landscape
architect.
(c) Signature and Date. The individual's seal or facsimile
thereof shall have the landscape architect's original signature
across its face and the effective date shall be indicated below or
elsewhere on the document.
(d) Co-authorship. When a document requiring seals has been
co-authored by the landscape architect and another licensed
design professional of another discipline, the landscape architect
shall indicate by notation each portion for which he or she is
responsible.
(e) Failure to use the professional seal according to this Rule
may be deemed by the Board to be "gross malpractice" within
the meaning of G.S. 89A-7.
(f) Electronically transmitted documents and electronic seals
shall be allowed. Documents, including drawings, specifications
and reports, that are transmitted electronically to a client or a
governmental agency shall have the computer-generated seal
removed from the original file, unless signed with a digital
signature as defined in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. After removal
of the seal, the electronic media shall have the following
language inserted in lieu of the signature and date:
This document originally issued and sealed by (name of
sealer), (license number), on (Date of sealing). This
medium shall not be considered a certified document.
Hardcopy documents containing the original seal,
signature, and date may be obtained from (name of
sealer).
(g) The scanned digital files of certified documents that cannot
be altered are not subject to the requirements of Paragraph (f) of
this Rule. The electronic transmission of CAD, vector or other
similar files subject to easy editing are subject to the
requirements of this Paragraph. Easy editing is based on the file
consisting of separate elements that can be modified or deleted
in part or in whole.
(h) Documents to be electronically transmitted that are signed
using a digital signature shall contain the authentication
procedure in a secure mode and a list of the hardware, software
and parameters used to prepare the document(s). Secure mode
means that the authentication procedure has protective measures
to prevent alteration or overriding of the authentication
procedure. The term "digital signature" shall be an electronic
authentication process that is attached to or logically associated
with an electronic document. The digital signature shall be:
(1) Unique to the licensee using it;
2) Capable of verification;

3) Under the sole control of the licensee; and

4) Linked to a document in such a manner that
the digital signature is invalidated if any data
in the document is changed.

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-7;

RRC Objection Eff. June 17, 1993 Due to Lack of Statutory
Authority and Ambiguity;

Eff. August 1, 1993;

RRC Objection cured Eff. January 20, 1994;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; February 1, 1994,

21 NCAC 26 .0301 EXAMINATION

(a) Notice. The Board shall hold at least one examination
during each year and may hold such additional examinations as
may appear necessary. The secretary shall give public notice of
the time and place for each examination at least 60 days in
advance of the date set for the examination.

(b) Examination. The Landscape Architect Registration
Examination published by the Council of Landscape
Architectural Registration Boards shall be the examination given
by the Board, so long as the Board shall remain a member of the
Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards. The
Board may administer a state supplement to the Landscape
Architecture Registration Exam (LARE) as allowed by the
Council.

(¢) "Qualified Applicant" - An applicant is deemed qualified to
take the Landscape Architects Registration Examination (LARE)
upon graduation from a Landscape Architect's Accreditation
Board (LAAB) accredited collegiate curriculum in landscape
architecture and has completed the experience requirements,
both as set forth in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule.

(d) Educational Requirements. In allowing credit for education
in fulfilling the minimum qualification requirements established
by statute, the Board will allow credit for educational experience
as follows: An undergraduate, a masters, or a doctorate degree
from an accredited curriculum approved by the Landscape
Architectural Accreditation Board (LAAB) shall be deemed to
have met the educational requirement.

(e) Experience Requirements.

€)) An applicant shall have a minimum of 8,000
hours of professional experience in landscape
architecture working under the direct
supervision of a registered landscape architect.
In submitting an application to the Board for
registration, a licensed landscape architect
shall certify that the applicant has completed
the number of hours indicated on the form; or

2) An applicant may petition the Board for up to
8,000 hours of experience credit by providing
proof of work experience that is directly
related to the practice of landscape architecture
as defined by G.S. 89A-1(3).

3) Experience credits shall be based on a full-
time work week of 40 hours and a work year
of at least 2,000 hours. Part-time work must
be fully described and can be given
proportional credit.
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4) One cannot receive experience credit if the
work is fulfilling an educational requirement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-4(a), (b);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977,

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 1, 1993; August 1, 1988;
November 1, 1980; July 2, 1979.

21 NCAC 26 .0303
RECIPROCITY
(a) To assure that the requirements of the other state are at least
equivalent to those of this state, an applicant for a certificate of
registration by reciprocity shall show education and experience
equal to those required of applicants residing in this state who
seek registration by examination.
(b) An application for a certificate of registration by reciprocity
must be made on the form provided by the board and must be
accompanied by the fee.
(c) To be approved for a certificate of registration by
reciprocity, the applicant must meet the following requirements:
(1) Provide evidence of having successfully
completed the examination published by the
Council of  Landscape  Architectural
Registration Boards or hold a certificate issued
by the Council of Landscape Architectural
Registration Boards; and
2) Provide certification from the proper official
of any state having a landscape architectural
registration act that the individual is currently
registered and in good standing in that state.
3) In lieu of the requirements of Subparagraph
(1) of this Paragraph an applicant for
reciprocity who was licensed prior to the
adoption of a national examination shall show
proof of having met the requirements of their
licensing state at the time of their licensure.

CERTIFICATE OF

4 Submit such additional information concerning
the applicant's qualifications as may be
requested by the board.

(5) Submit examples of work upon request.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(3); 89A-4(c);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; August 1, 1988; July 1, 1984.
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CHAPTER 28 - REGISTRATION BOARD OF
LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS

21 NCAC 28.0107 FEES
Fees, as authorized by G.S. 89D-5, shall be as follows:
(1) application fee is set in G.S. 89D-5(b)

$75.00
2 initial certificate fee $60.00
?3) all renewal fees $60.00
4 penalty for late renewal fee $25.00

®) duplicate certificate $5.00
(6) examination or re-examination fee
$60.00
N copy of duplicate parchment certificate
$35.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89D-4; 89D-5; 89D-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2008; January 1, 1992; September 1,
1988, October 1, 1983.

sk ok ook sk sk sk ok ook sk sk ok ook sk ok sk ok sk sk ok ok

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD

21 NCAC 32B .1101 APPLICATION FORMS

An applicant for reactivation of a license which has been placed
on inactive status within the past calendar year shall complete
the Board's application forms requesting information regarding
the applicant's personal, education, and professional background.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1102 FEE

A fee of two hundred and sixty three dollars ($263.00) is due at
the time of application. In the event the applicant does not
appear for a scheduled personal interview, licensure is denied, or
the application is withdrawn, no portion of the fee may be
refunded.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-15.1;
Eff. Pending Consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1.

21 NCAC 32B.1103 PERSONAL INTERVIEW

An applicant for reactivation of license may be required to
appear in person for an interview with the Executive Director, a
Board member, or the full Board, upon verification of all
credentials.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1104 ROUTINE INQUIRIES

An applicant for reactivation of license shall request that the
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) submit its Data
Bank inquiry to the Board.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1105 CME

An applicant for reactivation shall submit documentation of
continuing medical education (CME) obtained in the past three
years.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.
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21 NCAC 32B .1201 APPLICATION FORMS

An applicant for reinstatement of a license which has been
inactive for longer than the past calendar year, or which has been
surrendered, revoked or suspended, shall complete the Board's
application forms requesting information regarding the
applicant's personal, education, and professional background.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1202
RECOMMENDATION
An applicant for reinstatement of license shall request that three
letters of recommendation be submitted to the Board on his
behalf. The letters shall be originals addressed to the Board and
shall contain the original signature of the author. One of the
letters shall be from someone who has known the applicant for a
period of 10 years. Two of the letters shall be from physicians
and shall be on Board forms. Recommendations shall not be
from relatives.

LETTERS OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1203 FEE

A fee of three hundred and eighty eight dollars ($388.00) is due
at the time of application. In the event the applicant does not
appear for a scheduled personal interview, licensure is denied or
the application is withdrawn, no portion of the fee may be
refunded.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. Pending Consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1.

21 NCAC 32B .1204 PERSONAL INTERVIEW

An applicant may be required to appear in person for an
interview with the Executive Director, a Board member, or the
full Board upon verification of all credentials.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1205 ROUTINE INQUIRIES
An applicant for reinstatement of license shall request the
following reports be submitted to the Board:

(1) Reports from all state Medical Boards or
agencies in which the applicant has ever held a
medical license indicating the status of the
applicant's license and whether or not the
license has been revoked, suspended,
surrendered, or placed on probation mailed
directly from other state boards or agencies to

the Board.

2 An AMA Physician Profile (requested by
applicant of AMA).

3) FSMB Data Bank inquiry (requested by
applicant of FSMB).

4) AOIA Physician Profile (requested by
applicant of AOIA) if applicant is an
osteopathic physician.

5) Reports from National Practitioner Data Bank
(NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) (requested by
applicant).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.

21 NCAC 32B .1206 ECFMG CERTIFICATION
An applicant for reinstatement of license who is a graduate of a
medical school not approved by LCME or AOA shall furnish an
original ECFMG Certification Status Report of a currently valid
standard certificate of ECFMG. ECFMG certification may be
waived by the Board if the applicant has either:
€ Passed the ECFMG examination and
successfully completed an approved Fifth
Pathway = Program  (original =~ ECFMG
Certification Status Report from the ECFMG
required); or
2) Been licensed in another state on the basis of
written examination prior to the establishment
of ECFMG in 1958.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-6; 90-14; 90-15.1;
Eff. January 1, 2008.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

meeting.

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on Thursday January 17 & February 21,
2008, 10:00 a.m. at 1307 Glenwood Avenue, Assembly Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on
any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual
Commissioners. Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-733-2721.
Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency at least 24 hours prior to the

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jim R. Funderburke - 1st Vice Chair Jennie J. Hayman - Chairman
David Twiddy - 2nd Vice Chair John B. Lewis
Keith O. Gregory Mary Beach Shuping
Jerry R. Crisp Clarence E. Horton, Jr.
Jeffrey P. Gray Daniel F. McLawhorn

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES

February 21, 2008 March 20, 2008
April 17,2008 May 15, 2008

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
January 17, 2008
MINUTES

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, January 17, 2008, in the Assembly Room of the Methodist Building, 1307
Glenwood Avenue, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were: Jerry Crisp, Jim Funderburk, Jeff Gray, Keith Gregory,
Jennie Hayman, Clarence Horton, John Lewis and Dan McLawhorn.

Staff members present were: Joseph DeLuca and Bobby Bryan, Commission Counsel and Angela J. Person, Administrative Assistant.

The following people were among those attending the meeting:

Catherine Blum
Cheryl Gilgo
Clint Pinyan
Rich Carpenter
Sheree Brown
Marvin Waters

DENR/Division of Marine Fisheries

DENR/Division of Marine Fisheries

Board of Pharmacy

DENR/Division of Marine Fisheries

Crime Control and Public Safety/Alcohol Law Enforcement
Crime Control and Public Safety/Alcohol Law Enforcement

Roger Hutchings Crime Control and Public Safety/Alcohol Law Enforcement
Hunter Corn General Public

Ian Palmquist Equality NC

Carolin Bakewell Board of Dental Examiners

Bobby White North Carolina Dental Board

Nancy Pate Department of Environment and Natural Resources

John Rustin North Carolina Family Policy Council

Renee Batts
Jason Culbreth
Cory Menees
Lisa Johnson
Ellie Sprenkel

NCCCS

Carolina Fight Promotions
DHHS/Division of Public Health
DHHS/Division of Social Services
Department of Insurance

Etta Maynard Department of Insurance

Jean Holliday Department of Insurance

Glenda Artis DHHS/Division of Aging and Adult Services

Heather Carter DHHS/Division of Aging and Adult Services

Will Crumbley Office of State Budget and Management

Lee Hoffman DHHS/Division of Health Service Regulation
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Nadine Pfeiffer
Dana Simpson
Peggy Oliver

Sid Harrell

Karen Cochrane Brown
Nellie Riley
Barry Gupton
Rose Williams
Johanna Reese
Delores Joyner
Suzanne Williams
Thomas Wright
Valerie Bateman
Robert Privott

DHHS/Division of Health Service Regulation
Smith Anderson

Office of State Personnel

Department of Environment and Natural Resources
General Assembly Staff

Office of State Personnel

NCDOI/Building Code Council

Department of Insurance

Department of Transportation

Office of State Personnel/State Personnel Commission
NCCCS

Office of State Personnel

Department of Justice/Office of State Personnel
North Carolina Health Board Administration

Lennie Collins Department of Revenue
Gene Cella Department of Revenue
Victor Barbour Department of Transportation

Molly Masich Office of Administrative Hearings
Julie Edwards Office of Administrative Hearings
Dana Vojtko Office of Administrative Hearings
APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 10:10 a.m. with Ms. Hayman presiding. She reminded the Commission members that they have a
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts as required by NCGS 138A-15(e). Chairman Hayman asked for
any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the December 13, 2007 meeting. There were none and the
minutes were approved as distributed.

FOLLOW-UP MATTERS

Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Justice, Commissioner Gray recused himself and did not participate in any
discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is General Counsel and Legislative Agent for the Company Police Association of
North Carolina that is the subject of Rules 12 NCAC 021 .0203, .0305, .0306 and .0501.

12 NCAC 021 .0203, .0305, .0306, .0501 — Department of Justice. The Commission approved the rewritten rules submitted by the
agency contingent on receiving technical changes to .0305 and .0501. The changes were subsequently received.

Prior to the review of the rules from the Private Protective Services Board (PPSB), Commissioner Gray recused himself and did not
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because he teaches the Firearms Instructor Training Course for the Board
on a contract basis. This includes rules in the follow-up matters and rules on the log of permanent rules filings.

12 NCAC 07D .0601 — Private Protective Services Board. No rewritten rule has been submitted and no action was taken

15A NCAC 01N .0101, .0102, .0103, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0502, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606,
.0701, .0704, .0801, .0902 — Environment and Natural Resources. The Commission approved rewritten rules .0103, .0502 and .0902
submitted by the agency as well as the remaining rules.

15A NCAC 07J .0701, .0703 — Coastal Resources Commission. No rewritten rules have been submitted and no action was taken.

19A NCAC 02D .0803, .0807 — Department of Transportation. The Commission approved the rewritten rules submitted by the
agency.

21 NCAC 14A .0101 — Cosmetic Art Examiners. This rule was returned to the agency at the agency’s request.
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Board, Commissioner Lewis recused himself and did not participate in any
discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is a member of the Medical Board. This includes rules in the follow-up matters

and rules on the log of temporary rules filings.

21 NCAC 32B .1207 — Medical Board. The Commission approved the rewritten rule submitted by the agency.
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LOG OF FILINGS
Chairman Haymen presided over the review of the log of permanent rules.

Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Revenue, Commissioner Horton recused himself and did not participate in any
discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is assigned to preside over two cases in which the Secretary of Revenue is a
defendant and which involve the Secretary’s rules and practices.

Prior to the review of the rules from the State Personnel Commission, Commissioner Horton recused himself and did not participate in
any discussion or vote concerning these rules because he is assigned to preside over a pending lawsuit in which the State Personnel
Commission is the primary defendant.

All rules were approved unanimously with the following exceptions:
11 NCAC 06A .0413: Department of Insurance — The rule was withdrawn by the agency and refiled for next month.

12 NCAC 07D .0801: The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity. In (d) it is not clear what is meant by “firearms
certificates”. The term does not appear to be used anywhere else in the agency’s statutes or rules. The technical changes requested
also must be made to this rule. This objection applies to existing language in the rule.

14A NCAC 12 .0102: Alcohol Law Enforcement — The Commission objected to this Rule based on lack of necessity. The majority of
terms defined in this rule are not otherwise used in this Chapter. There is no need to define terms not used.

14A NCAC 12 .0402: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to Rule .0402 based on ambiguity and lack of necessity.
Paragraph (c) prohibits the licensing of any person named in an administrative action or indictment for certain actions. The rule
implies that the prohibition applies even if there is a finding that no violation occurred. It is unclear if this is what is intended. If that
is what the paragraph means, it does not appear that the provision is necessary to accomplish any purpose for which the rule is being
adopted. This objection applies to existing language in the Rule.

14A NCAC 12 .0406: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity. In (5)(A), it s not clear
what standards the division will use in approving examinations.

14A NCAC 12 .0605: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity. In (f), it is not clear
what Amateur Sports Organizations are recognized by the Division, or conversely, what standards the division uses in determining
which to recognize.

14A NCAC 12 .0801: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity and lack of necessity.
In (2), it is not clear what standards the Division representative will use in approving scales. In (3), the allowances in the text are not
consistent with the allowances shown in the chart. For example, there is a three pound allowance for featherweights in the text, not
five pounds in the chart. It is not clear which is to be enforced. It is not necessary to set the allowance in the text and in the chart.
The chart also sets glove size requirements as does Rule .0804. It is not necessary to set the requirements in more than one place.

14A NCAC 12 .0802: Alcohol Law Enforcement - This rule was withdrawn by the agency.

14A NCAC 12 .0804: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity and lack of necessity.
The provisions in (a) and (b) are also in the chart in Rule .0801. It is not necessary for the provisions to be in more than one place. In
(c), it is not clear what brands and models of gloves have been approved by the Division representative, or conversely, what standards
he will use in approving them.

14A NCAC 12 .0805: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity and lack of necessity.
In (a), it is not clear what makes overhead lighting “appropriate”. In (b)(5), it is not clear what standards the Division will use in
approving padding. There is the same issue in (c)(6) and (8). In (c)(7), it is not clear if chain length fencing coated with vinyl is
required for all fencing or just an example of suitable fencing. In (d), it is not clear whether a promoter is required to place video
screens inside a ring, cage, or fenced area if requested by the Division representative. If not, the paragraph does not appear necessary.

14A NCAC 12 .0806: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on lack of statutory authority and
ambiguity. The introductory part of the rule allows the Division to waive the rule without giving the specific guidelines required by
G.S. 150B-19(6), and is therefore outside the agency’s authority. The first sentence in (6) requires a minimum of eight scheduled
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bouts. The second sentence, while unclear because it is not a complete sentence, seems to require exactly eight bouts. It is not clear
what the requirement is.

14A NCAC 12 .0807: Alcohol Law Enforcement — This rule was withdrawn by the agency.
14A NCAC 12 .0810: Alcohol Law Enforcement - This rule was withdrawn by the agency.

14A NCAC 12 .0811: Alcohol Law Enforcement - The Commission objected to this Rule based on ambiguity. In (c), it is not clear if
a high risk contestant must provide the results of only one or all the listed tests.

17 NCAC 04C .0901, .0902, .1101, .1705: Department of Revenue — These rules were withdrawn by the agency.
17 NCAC 05D .0114: Department of Revenue — This rule was withdrawn by the agency.

25 NCAC 01L .0102: State Personnel Commission — The Commission objected to this Rule based on lack of authority and ambiguity.
In (a) line 11 this rule adds “sexual orientation” to the list of categories that state agencies are prohibited from using in making
employment decisions as set out in the second sentence, lines 8 — 11. There is no authority cited that allows the State Personnel
Commission to set non-discrimination categories or state policies that are not otherwise set out in statute by the state legislature. G.S.
126-4 does allow and even require that the SPC “shall establish policies and rules governing ... (10) programs of equal opportunity.”
However that does not extend to establishing the actual categories of equal opportunity that are not already established as state policy
by the legislature. Even if there were authority for the rule, it is unclear what is meant by “sexual orientation,” “gender-related
identity or expression” and “perceived” as used in (a) and (c) of this rule. It is unclear whose perception is referred to, i.e., whether it
is the self-perception by the person whose sexual orientation is at issue or the perception by one whose behavior is being regulated by
this rule. Commissioners Funderburk, Gray, Hayman and Lewis voted to accept staffs recommendation to object to this rule.
Commissioners Gregory and McLawhorn voted to oppose staffs recommendation.

Speaking in support of the rule were Thomas Wright, Director of the Office of State Personnel, Nellie Riley, and Valerie Bateman,
attorney for the agency and Ian Palmquist from Equality NC. John Rustin from NC Family Policy Council spoke in opposition of the
rule.

The meeting recessed for a short break at 12:15 p.m. and reconvened at 12:30 p.m.

R202: Building Code Council — This rule was approved but the Commission has received 10 letters of objection to the rule and the
rule is submitted for legislative review.

TEMPORARY RULES
Chairman Hayman presided over the review of the temporary rules. The rules were approved unanimously.
STATE MEDICAL FACILITY PLAN

The Commission found that the Department of Health and Human Services and the State Health Coordinating Council complied with
G.S. 131E-176(25) in adopting the 2008 State Medical Facilities Plan.

COMMISSION PROCEDURES AND OTHER BUSINESS

Commissioner Hayman reminded the Commissioners about signing up for ethics training.
The meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, February 21, 2008 at 10:00 a.m.
Respectfully Submitted,

Angela J. Person
Administrative Assistant

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES
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January 17, 2008 Meeting

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION
Planning Program Activities
Nutrition

Transportation
Records

HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF
Definitions
Information Required of Applicant

Performance Standards

Support Services
Staffing and Staff Training

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Authorized WIC Vendors

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF
Definitions
N.C. Non-Resident Broker's Insurance Bond

North Carolina Notice of Cancellation

Responsibility of Applicant at Examination Site
Licensing of Resident Agent, LTD, Representative and Adju...

Licensing and Broker

Licensing of Nonresident Broker

Licensing of Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser

Adjuster's Learner's Permit

Personal Interviews

General Requirements

Prelicensing Education Schools

Program Directors

Courses

Instructors

Definitions

Licensee Requirements

Carryover Credit
Calculation of ICECS

Hardship
Instructor Qualification

Approval of Courses

Sanctions for Noncompliance

Issuance/Continuation of Provider Approval
Exemptions

10A NCAC 06R
10A NCAC 06R
10A NCAC 06R
10A NCAC 06R

10A NCAC 14C
10A NCAC 14C
10A NCAC 14C
10A NCAC 14C
10A NCAC 14C

10A NCAC 43D

11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11
11

NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 06A
NCAC 12

.0501
.0502
.0503
.0508

.2301
.2302
.2303
2304
.2305

.0706

.0101
0211
0217
.0304
.0402
.0404
.0405
.0408
.0414
.0604
.0701
.0702
.0703
.0704
.0705
.0801
.0802
.0804
.0805
.0807
.0808
.0809
0811
.0813
.0604
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JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF
Application for Company Police Agency

Transfers
Badges, Uniforms, Vehicles and Officer Identification

Agency Retention of Records of Commission

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD
Training Video and Training Test

ALCOHOL LAW ENFORCEMENT

12
12
12
12

12

NCAC 021
NCAC 021
NCAC 021
NCAC 021

NCAC 07D .

Scope

North Carolina State Boxing Authority Section of the ALE ...

Drugs and Foreign Substances

Physical Examination

Permits

Duties of Contestants

Duties of Promoters and Matchmakers

Duties of Managers

Duties of Judges
Duties of Announcers

Duties of Timekeepers

Duties of Seconds

Duties of Trainers

Duties of Physicians

Contracts and Financial Arragements

Weigh-Ins-Boxing

Equipment-Boxing
Scoring-Boxing
Fouls-Boxing
Weigh-Ins-Kickboxing
Equipment-Kickboxing

Scoring-Kickboxing

Fouls-Kickboxing

Toughman Match
Handwraps-Mixed Martial Arts
Scoring-Mixed Martial Arts
Fouls-Mixed Martial Arts

14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12
14A NCAC 12

ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

Purpose
Definitions

Applicable Procedures

Availability of Loans

Loan Restrictions

I5A NCAC 01N .
15A NCAC 01N .
I15A NCAC 01N .
15A NCAC 01N .
I15A NCAC 01N .

.0203
.0305
.0306
.0501

1109

.0101
.0103
.0201
.0301
.0401
.0403
.0404
.0405
.0407
.0408
.0409
.0410
.0411
.0412
.0413
.0501
.0502
.0503
.0504
.0601
.0602
.0603
.0604
.0701
.0803
.0808
.0809

0101
0102
0103
0201
0202
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Determination of Eligibility
Eligible Project Costs

Filing Deadlines
Application Procedures

Project Schedule and Resolution

Assignment of Priorities
General Criteria

Public Health and Compliance

Consolidation

Reliability

Affordability

Source Protection and Management

Determination of Awards and Bypass Procedures
Disbursement of Loans

Interest Rates
Audit

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION
Prohibited Rakes

Shellfish or Seed Management

Prohibited Taking

Bay Scallops - Seasons and Harvest Limits
Soaked or Swelled Bay Scallops Prohibited
Application Process

Eligibility Board Review
Eligibility Criteria

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION
Civil Penalties

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF
Pre-Hearing Conference

Procedure of Hearing

Assistance of Counsel

Failure to Appear
Application for Hearing

Waiver of Time Limitation

Claim for Tax Refund

Tax Refund

Computation and Payment of Amusement Gross Receipts Taxes

Overpayments Applied to Next Year

Purpose

Who May Submit Request

Request for Alternative Apportionment Formula

Time for Filing
Notice of Conference

15A NCAC 0IN
I15A NCAC 0IN
I5A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 0IN
I5A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 0IN
I15A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 01N
I5A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 0IN
I15A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 01N
I5A NCAC 0IN
15A NCAC 01N

15A NCAC 03K
15A NCAC 03K
15A NCAC 03K
15A NCAC 03K
I15A NCAC 03K
15A NCAC 030
15A NCAC 030
15A NCAC 030

I15A NCAC 07]

17 NCACO01C
17 NCACO01C
17 NCACO01C
17 NCAC01C
17 NCACO01C
17 NCACO01C
17 NCAC01C
17 NCACO01C
17 NCAC 04B
17 NCAC 05C
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D

.0301
.0303
.0401
.0402
.0403
.0502
.0601
.0602
.0603
.0604
.0605
.0606
.0701
.0704
.0801
.0902

.0102
.0103
.0304
.0501
.0506
.0402
.0403
.0404

.0409

.0201
.0202
.0203
.0205
.0305
.0307
.0316
.0317
.0302
.1904
.0107
.0108
.0109
.0110
0111
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Who Shall Attend the Conference
Conduct of the Conference

Final Decision
Additional Fire and Lightning Taxes

Group Premiums

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF
Advertisement and Invitations for Bids

Examination of Plans: Specs: Contract: and Site of Work
Purpose and Scope

Definitions
Certification of Firms

Renewal of Certification

Change in Ownership or Control
Decertification

Appeals of Denial of Certification

Goals
Counting Participation Toward Meeting the Goal

Non-Attainment of Goals
Performance Related Replacement of Eligible Firms

Replacement of a Firm Removed by Decertification

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Location

Time for Filing

Temporary Volunteer Dental Permit
Time for Filing

Applications
Penalty/Non-Compliance/Continuing Education Requirement

Fee for Late Filing and Duplicate Licenses

License Void Upon Failure to Renew

Sterilization
General Anesthesia Credentials and Permit

Applications
Fee for Late Filing

Penalty/Non-Compliance/Continuing Education

Eligibility to Practice Hygiene Outside Direct Supervision

Record Keeping
Inspections

MEDICAL BOARD
Ten-Year Qualification

Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists

PHARMACY, BOARD OF

17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05D
17 NCAC 05E
17 NCAC 05E

19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D
19A NCAC 02D

21 NCAC 16A
21 NCAC 16B
21 NCAC 16B
21 NCAC 16C
21 NCAC 16l
21 NCAC 16l
21 NCAC 16l
21 NCAC 16l
21 NCAC 16J
21 NCAC 16Q
21 NCAC 16R
21 NCAC 16R
21 NCAC 16R
21 NCAC 16Z
21 NCAC 16Z
21 NCAC 16Z

21 NCAC32B
21 NCAC 32U

0112
0113
.0115
.0102
.0105

.0803
.0807
.1101
1102
.1103
.1104
.1105
.1106
1107
.1108
.1109
1110
A111
A112

.0104
.0402
.0801
.0402
.0101
.0105
.0106
.0107
.0103
.0201
.0101
.0102
.0107
.0101
.0102
.0103

1207
.0101
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Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists

STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSION
Content and Procedure

Presentations

Requests for Declaratory Ruling

Continuances

Policy
Administration
Wellness [eader
Wellness Committees

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

NC Building Code - Wind-Borne Debris Region
NC Residential Code - Wind-Borne Debris Region
NC Residential Code - Minimum Depth

NC Residential Code - Note 1

NC Residential Code - Table

21 NCAC46 .2507

25 NCAC 01B .0201
25 NCAC 01B .0204
25 NCAC01B .0213
25 NCAC 01B .0439
25 NCAC 01N .0501
25 NCAC 01N .0502
25 NCAC 01N .0503
25 NCAC 01N .0504

1609.2
R202
R403.1.4
R403.1(1)
R403.1

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES
January 17, 2008 Meeting

HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF
Performance Standards

Definitions
Information Required of Applicant

Performance Standards

Facility
Definitions

Information Required of Applicant

Performance Standards

Information Required of Applicant

Information Required of Applicant

Performance Standards
Facility

MEDICAL BOARD
Definitions
Qualifications for License

Inactive License Status

Annual Renewal

Continuing medical Education

Student Anesthesiologist Assistants

Exemption from License

Scope of Practice

10A NCAC 14C .1903
10A NCAC 14C .2101
10A NCAC 14C .2102
10A NCAC 14C .2103
10A NCAC 14C .2106
10A NCAC 14C .2701
10A NCAC 14C .2702
10A NCAC 14C .2703
10A NCAC 14C .3702
10A NCAC 14C .4002
10A NCAC 14C .4003
10A NCAC 14C .4006

21 NCAC 32W .0101
21 NCAC 32W .0102
21 NCAC 32W .0103
21 NCAC 32W .0104
21 NCAC 32W .0105
21 NCAC 32W .0106
21 NCAC 32W .0107
21 NCAC 32W .0108
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Supervision of Anesthesiologist Assistants 21 NCAC 32W .0109
Limitations on Practice 21 NCAC 32w .0110
Title and Practice Protection 21 NCAC 32W .0111
Identification Requirements 21 NCAC 32W .0112
Fees 21 NCAC 32W .0113
Violations 21 NCAC 32W .0114
Practice During a Disaster 21 NCAC 32W .0115
AGENDA

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
Thursday, February 21, 2008, 10:00 A.M.

L Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
IIL. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting and the rules committee meeting
I1I. Follow-Up Matters:
A. Private Protective Services Board — 12 NCAC 07D .0601, .0801(Bryan)
B. Alcohol Law Enforcement — 14A NCAC 12 .0102, .0402, .0406, .0605, .0801, .0804,
.0805, .0806, .0811 (Bryan)
C. Coastal Resources Commission — 15A NCAC 07J .0701, .0703 (Bryan)
D. State Personnel Commission — 25 NCAC 01L .0102 (DeLuca)
Iv. Review of Log of Permanent Rule filings for rules filed between December 21, 2007 and
January 22, 2008 (attached)
V. Review of Temporary Rules
VL Commission Business

e Report from the Rules Committee
e Next meeting: March 20, 2008

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
December 21, 2007 through January 22, 2008

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 44 are from the office for historically underutilized businesses. The rules in Subchapter 44A concern
certification including general provisions (.0100); HUB certification application (.0200); documentation (.0300); third party
challenge (.0400); revocation of HUB certification (.0500); and review (.0600).

Scope 01 NCAC 44A .0101
Adopt/*
Definitions 01 NCAC 44A .0102
Adopt/*
Application 01 NCAC 44A .0201
Adopt/*
Documentation 01 NCAC 44A .0202
Adopt/*
Approval 01 NCAC 44A .0203
Adopt/*
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Duration 01 NCAC 44A .0204
Adopt/*
Changes in Ownership or Management and Control 01 NCAC 44A .0205
Adopt/*
Denial 01 NCAC 44A .0206
Adopt/*
Renewal 01 NCAC 44A .0207
Adopt/*
Inactivity 01 NCAC 44A .0208
Adopt/*
Required Documentation 01 NCAC 44A .0301
Adopt/*
Challenge Initiation 01 NCAC 44A .0401
Adopt/*
HUB Office Investigation 01 NCAC 44A .0402
Adopt/*
Determination 01 NCAC 44A .0403
Adopt/*
HUB Status During Challenge 01 NCAC 44A .0404
Adopt/*
Reasons for Revocation 01 NCAC 44A .0501
Adopt/*
Notice 01 NCAC 44A .0502
Adopt/*
Review 01 NCAC 44A .0601
Adopt/*
Contents 01 NCAC 44A .0602
Adopt/*
Criteria 01 NCAC 44A .0603
Adopt/*
Decision 01 NCAC 44A .0604
Adopt/*
Status Pending Review 01 NCAC 44A .0605
Adopt/*
Appeal 01 NCAC 44A .0606
Adopt/*

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Agent Services Division. The rules in Subchapter 6A cover general provisions (.0100); forms
(.0200); examinations (.0300); licensing (.0400); license renewals and cancellations (.0500); license denials (.0600); prelicensing
education (.0700); continuing education (.0800); and public adjusters (.0900).

Licensing of Business Entities 11 NCAC 06A .0413
Amend/*

The rules in Chapter 8 are the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance electricians (.0400);
qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600); qualification board-standard
certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured housing board (.0900); NC Home
Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of ethics (.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200);
home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and
construction appeals (.1500).
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Alternate Designs and Construction Appeals 11 NCAC 08 .1501
Adopt/*
Time for Appeal and Documents Required 11 NCAC 08 .1502
Adopt/*
Service on Local Authority 11 NCAC 08 .1503
Adopt/*
Response by Local Authority 11 NCAC 08 .1504
Adopt/*
Review of Local Authority Decision 11 NCAC 08 .1505
Adopt/*
Administrative and Judicial Review 11 NCAC 08 .1506
Adopt/*

ALCOHOL LAW ENFORCEMENT

The rules in Chapter 12 are from the boxing authority section of the alcohol law enforcement division including purpose (.0100);
drugs and foreign substances (.0200); physical examination (.0300); permits, licensing and contracts (.0400); boxing (.0500);
kickboxing (.0600); toughman (.0700); and mixed martial arts (.0800).

Appearance-Mixed Martial Arts 14A NCAC 12 .0802
Adopt/*
Seconds Duties-Mixed Martial Arts 14A NCAC 12 .0807
Adopt/*
Amateurs-Mixed Martial Arts 14A NCAC 12 .0810
Adopt/*

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 2 concern environmental management and are promulgated by the Environmental Management Commission
or the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. The rules in Subchapter 02C concern well construction standards
including criteria and standards applicable to water-supply and certain other type wells (.0100); criteria and standards applicable to
injection wells (.0200); and permitting and inspection of private drinking water wells (.0300).

Scope and Purpose 15A° NCAC 02C .0301
Adopt/*
Definitions 15A° NCAC 02C .0302
Adopt/*
Application for Construction Permit 15A° NCAC 02C .0303
Adopt/*
Permitting 15A° NCAC 02C .0304
Adopt/*
Grout Inspection: Certification 15A NCAC 02C .0305
Adopt/*
Well Completion and Certification 15A° NCAC 02C .0306
Adopt/*
Well Data and Records 15A° NCAC 02C .0307
Adopt/*
Appeal Procedure 15A° NCAC 02C .0308
Adopt/*

The rules in Subchapter 2H concern procedures for permits: approvals including point source discharges to the surface waters
(.0100); waste not discharged to surface waters (.0200); coastal waste treatment disposal (.0400); water quality certification (.0500);
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laboratory certification (.0800); local pretreatment programs (.0900); stormwater management (.1000); biological laboratory
certification (.1100); special orders (.1200); and discharges to isolated wetlands and isolated waters (.1300).

Stormwater Requirements: Coastal Counties 15A° NCAC 02H .1005
Amend/*

The rules in Subchapter 2Q are rules relating to applying for and obtaining air quality permits and include general information
(.0100); fees (.0200); application requirements (.0300); acid rain program requirements (.0400); establishment of an air quality
permitting program (.0500); transportation facility requirements (.0600); toxic air pollutant procedures (.0700); and exempt
categories (.0800).

Permit and Application Fees 15A° NCAC 02Q .0203
Amend/*
Inflation Adjustment 15A° NCAC 02Q .0204
Amend/*

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Soil and Water Conservation Commission and are intended to further the state policy of
conserving soil resources and preventing soil erosion and floodwater and sediment damages to the farms, forests, and grazing land
assets of the state.

The rules in Subchapter 06E concern the agriculture cost share program for nonpoint source pollution controls.

Definitions for Subchapter 06E 15A° NCAC O06E .0102
Amend/*
Cost Share and Incentive Payments 15A° NCAC O06E .0105
Amend/*
Cost Share Agreement 15SA NCAC O06E .0107
Amend/*
District Program Operation 15A° NCAC O06E .0108
Amend/*

The rules in Subchapter 61 concern the community conservation assistance program for nonpoint source pollution control.

Cost Share Agreement 15A° NCAC 061 .0107
Adopt/*
District Program Operation 15A° NCAC 061 .0108
Adopt/*

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment and accident
reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions on swimming and other
activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300).

Safety Equipment 15A° NCAC 10F .0201
Amend/*

NC MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

The rules in Subchapter 32V are rules covering licensure of perfusionists and the practice of perfusion. Perfusion primarily
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concerns operating cardiopulmonary bypass systems during cardiac surgery cases.

Fees 21 NCAC 32V 0115
Adopt/*

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 34 are from the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service. The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service
rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400);
out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); and preparation of dead bodies (.0700).

Definitions 21 NCAC 34B .0407
Amend/*
Course Accreditation Standards 21 NCAC 34B .0409
Amend/*
General Course Approval 21 NCAC 34B .0411
Amend/*
Accreditation of Prerecorded Programs and Live Programs B... 21 NCAC 34B .0413
Amend/*
Accreditation of Computer-Based CE 21 NCAC 34B .0414
Amend/*

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 38 cover organization and general provisions (.0100); application for license (.0200); licensing (.0300);
business conduct (.0400); rules (.0500); administrative hearing procedures (.0600); professional corporations (.0700); continuing
competence activity (.0800); supervision, supervisory roles, and clinical responsibilities of occupational therapist and occupational
therapy assistants (.0900); supervision of limited permittees (.1000); and supervision of unlicensed personnel (.1100).

Continuing Duty to Report Certain Crimes and Civil Suits 21 NCAC 38 .0305
Amend/*

PSYCHOLOGY BOARD

The rules in Chapter 54 are from the Board of Psychology and cover general provisions (.1600); application for licensure (.1700);
education (.1800); examination (.1900); supervision (.2000); renewal (.2100); professional corporations (.2200); administrative
hearing procedures (.2300); rulemaking procedures (.2400); rulemaking hearings (.2500); declaratory rulings, (.2600); health
services provider certification (.2700); and ancillary services (.2800).

Criminal History Record Check 21 NCAC 54 .1612
Adopt/*
Information Required 21 NCAC 54 .1701
Amend/*
Senior Psychologist 21 NCAC 54 1707
Amend/*
Reinstatement 21 NCAC 54 2103
Amend/*
HSP-PA Requirements 21 NCAC 54 2706
Amend/*

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

The rules in Chapter 61 are from the Respiratory Care Board and concern organization and definitions (.0100); application for
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Application Process 21 NCAC 61 .0201
Amend/*

Fees 21 NCAC 61 .0204
Amend/*

Inactive Status 21 NCAC 61 .0305
Amend/*
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of
Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698. Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES
Beecher R. Gray

Selina Brooks
Melissa Owens Lassiter

A. B. Elkins 1T
Joe Webster

Don Overby Shannon Joseph
CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
AGENCY NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

ABC Commission v. Agustin Zeferino Hernandez, T/A El Pujido 06 ABC 2275 Chess 10/09/07

ABC Commission v. La Fiesta Mexicana II, Inc., T/A La Fiesta Mexicana 07 ABC 0149 Gray 04/19/07

ABC Commission v. NK Group, Inc., T/A NK Food Mart, 07 ABC 0163 Overby 04/18/07

ABC Commission v. 703 Jonestown, Inc., T/A Red Rooster 07 ABC 0305 Webster 10/04/07

ABC Commission v. Donna Darlene Johnston, T/A Wagon Wheel 07 ABC 0738 Webster 09/20/07

ABC Commission v. Jamal Kamel Hajeh, T/A Pleasant Grove Grocery 07 ABC 0883 Morrison 09/11/07

ABC Commission v. Agustin Zeferino Hernandez 07 ABC 1366 Overby 11/30/07

A list of Child Support Decisions may be obtained by accessing the OAH Website: www.ncoah.com/decisions.

BOARD OF NURSING

Kenneth C. Johnson v. Board of Nursing 07 BON 1679  Overby 12/13/07

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION

Robert White, Jr., v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 07 CPS 0497 Webster 09/12/07

Renee L. Hunter 07 CPS 1408 Joseph 10/24/07

Martha M. McMillan v. Victim and Justice Services 07 CPS 1560 Overby 12/18/07

Eric Triplett v. Victim and Justice Services 07 CPS 1561 Lassiter 12/14/07

Pricilla McAllister v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 1166 Webster 06/14/07

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

DAG, Food and Drug Protection Division, Pesticide Section v. Jeffrey =~ 06 DAG 0636 ~ Webster 10/04/07
A. Oxley

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Hanson Hill Rest Home and Faiger Blackwell v. DHHS, DFS, Adult Care 03 DHR 0945 Overby 04/16/07
Licensure Section

Mary Elizabeth Matthews v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 06 DHR 0485 Mann 10/01/07

Kristen Valerie Kennedy v. Div. of Mental Health/Development Disabilities/ 06 DHR 0984 Mann 05/08/07
Substance Abuse Services at Dix

Eyvette Abbott, Robbie Wilson Community Services, Inc., v. DHHS (DMH/ 06 DHR 1139 Webster 06/06/07
DD/SAS)

Amran Hussein, Trading as Laurinburg Food Mart v. DHHS, Div. of Public ~ 06 DHR 1569 Webster 04/17/07
Health

James Hampton for South Haven Assisted Living v. DHHS, DFS, Mental 06 DHR 1783 Gray 04/23/07
Health Licensure and Certification Section

Burnell Yancey, Jr. v. DHHS, Div. of Medical Assistance 06 DHR 1817 Elkins 05/29/07 22:01 NCR 82

Nidal Dahir, DHHS, Division of Public Health 06 DHR 1916 Lassiter 05/14/07

Mary K. Short for Kathryn M. Short v. DHHS, Division of Mental Health, 06 DHR 2282 Gray 05/18/07

Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse
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Egusta Ford v. DMA, Third Party Recovery 06 DHR 2364 Gray 05/14/07
Stacey M Saylon v. Health Care Personnel Registry 06 DHR 2413 Gray 09/24/07
Koala Day Care Centers, Inc. (6519), Alfred J. Bost, Sharon Purdie v. CACFP 06 DHR 2428 Webster 12/17/07
Annette L. Gwynn v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 07 DHR 0030 Webster 06/08/07
John A. Millan and Cornelia D. Millan v. DHHS 07 DHR 0031 Gray 05/23/07
Doris Durden/MID #945-63-2642K v. DHHS 07 DHR 0055 Overby 06/04/07
Rita Amirahmadi v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 07 DHR 0250 Elkins 06/05/07
Linda S. Little, Littles Day Care 07 DHR 0266 Overby 05/23/07
Kareem S. Scott v. DHHS, DFS 07 DHR 0300 Webster 05/11/07
Chequita Bratcher Carpenter v. DHHS, DFS, Health Care Personnel Registry 07 DHR 0318 Chess 10/31/07
Section
Peter Emeka Nwankwo v. DHHS 07 DHR 0355 Overby 05/04/07
Geraldine Fenner v. DHHS 07 DHR 0367 Overby 05/23/07
Annette L. Gwyn v. DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance 07 DHR 0382 Lassiter 04/16/07
Scottie Dean Beck v. DHHS 07 DHR 0399 Gray 12/04/07
Jessie Duncan v. DHHS 07 DHR 0424 Elkins 06/08/07
Leonard Atkins Jr. v. Rowan County DSS (Ms. Tate) 07 DHR 0464 Gray 06/07/07
Visitacion T Uy v. DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance 07 DHR 0489 Overby 05/10/07
Dorothy Sue Johnson v. DHHS, DFS 07 DHR 0502 Webster 06/15/07
Robin E. Peacock, Bridging to Success, Inc v. DHHS, DFS, Mental 07 DHR 0510 Gray 05/30/07
Health Licensure Section
Samantha A. Amerson v. DHHS 07 DHR 0578 Overby 06/15/07
Sandra Leathers v. DHHS, Division of Child Development 07 DHR 0612 Gray 11/02/07
Anna Trask v. DHHS, Health Care Personnel Registry 07 DHR 0661 Overby 06/15/07
Stacey M. Saylon v. Health Care Personnel Registry 07 DHR 0662 Gray 09/24/07
Carmalitta M. Taylor v. DHHS 07 DHR 0832 Lassiter 08/22/07
Carolyn Tolson v. DHHS 07 DHR 0850 Lassiter 08/22/07
Dorothy Rose, Willie Rose, v. DHHS 07 DHR 0859 Lassiter 10/08/07
Linda Thompson v. DHHS 07 DHR 0862 Lassiter 08/29/07
Barbara F. Lewis v. Division of Child Development, DHHS 07 DHR 0941 Overby 12/04/07
Abundance Safe Haven Inc., Girls I, Terron H. Simpson v. DHHS 07 DHR 1004 Elkins 10/03/07
Keith Beddingfield c/o Thyllis Smith ATFTH Staff, Value Options, Inc. 07 DHR 1059 Overby 10/04/07
Tonya Thompson v. DHHS 07 DHR 1062 Gray 09/07/07
Triangle Alternatives Inc., Dorothy George v. OAH, DHHS Emery E Milliken 07 DHR 1081 Elkins 10/03/07
General Counsel
Gina Fuller v. Value Options 07 DHR 1137 Overby 10/04/07
Marcia Barksdale v. OAH 07 DHR 1138 Elkins 12/03/07
Cynthia Penniegraft Hodges v. DHHS, DFS 07 DHR 1156 Elkins 12/17/07
Kroger Pharmacy v. DHHS 07 DHR 1159 Elkins 10/25/07
Betty Bennett parent of Shantel Boyce v. Medicaid 07 DHR 1193 Overby 10/03/07
Sherri L. Gabel v. Onslow County Department of Social Services 07 DHR 1203 Webster 10/24/07
K&A Food Mart, Hani A. Nahhas v. DHHS, WIC Section 07 DHR 1252 Elkins 12/07/07
Heavenly Healthcare, AD Fulton v. NC DHHS/Division of Medical Asst. 07 DHR 1262 Overby 10/04/07
Terry Johnson, SEBHS/Damien McLean, Shartario Stephens v. DHHS, Div. 07 DHR 1301 Gray 10/24/07
Medical Assistance
Kids Academy, Dawanda Bridges v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health, Child and 07 DHR 1342 Gray 10/19/07
Adult Care Food Program
Erica Smith v. Medicaid/Value Options 07 DHR 1395 Elkins 12/17/07
Dorothy Ross, Willie Ross v. DHHS 07 DHR 1433 Gray 11/29/07
Arc Services, Inc & The Arc of Stanly County, Inc v. DHHS 07 DHR 1443 Lassiter 11/30/07
Michael J. Graves v. DHHS, DFS, Mental Health Licensure and Certification 07 DHR 1468 Overby 10/10/07
Section
Beacon Child Care Center, DHHS, Division of Public Health, Child and Adult 07 DHR 1470 Elkins 10/16/07
Care Food Program
Mary Holder v. DFS/Investigation Unit, Tori R. Green 07 DHR 1489 Elkins 12/17/07
Teresa B. Balch v. Division of Medical Assistance 07 DHR 1502 Overby 12/20/07
Jerry L Martin, Arlene N. Martin v. DHHS 07 DHR 1505 Overby 12/18/07
Joey Tillman v. Value Options 07 DHR 1518 Webster 12/17/07
Liliam Ibekwere for Lillian's Prince and Princess, Inc. v. OAH 07 DHR 1590 Joseph 11/28/07
Margie Alford v. DHHS 07 DHR 1666 Gray 12/03/07
Julia Johnson v. Medicaid 07 DHR 1681 Joseph 12/10/07
Christine Paige v. Medicaid 07 DHR 1853 Joseph 12/14/07
Shaylonda McKimmon/TT&T Services 07 DHR 1972 Gray 12/19/07
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Travis Dan Williams v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 06 DOJ 1198 Webster 04/26/07
Commission
Robert Anthony Wilson v. DOJ, Company Police Program 06 DOJ 1508 Gray 02/16/07
Jerry Hailey v. Insurance Underwriting Assocation 06 DOJ 1528 Gray 10/01/07 22:09 NCR 883
Jeremy Shayne Pearce v. DOJ, Campus Police Program 06 DOJ 2424 Overby 04/16/07
Andre Cornelius Patterson v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 0003 Gray 05/18/07
David Keith Shelton v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 0011 Morrison 03/29/07
Larry Talbert v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 0036 Morrison 04/05/07
Patricia Ann Davis v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 0045 Gray 04/03/07
Kristine A. Conti v. Special Police 07 DOJ 0090 Gray 12/20/07
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Antonio Jose Coles v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 07 DOJ 0142 Overby
Joseph Lester Early IT v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 07 DOJ 0143 Lassiter
Jeffrey S. Moore v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 0468 Morrison
Roy Lee Burgess v. DOJ, Campus Police Program 07 DOJ 0540 Gray
Norman Jerome Turner v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 0599 Overby
Commission
Ronald Calvin Camp Jr, Sherriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 07 DOJ 0727 Joseph
Paul James Dunn v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 07 DOJ 0729 Overby
Frank Burton Scofield v. DOJ, Company Police Program 07 DOJ 0814 Chess
William Brian Martin v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board 07 DOJ 0929 Gray
Clifton Benjamin Faulkner, Sr v. Sherriffs' Education and Training Standards 07 DOJ 1134 Gray
Commission
Dana M. Williams v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 1239 Morrison
Timothy M. McIntyre v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 1257 Morrison
Chris Ray Outen v. Criminal Justice Education & Training Standards Comm. 07 DOJ 1329 Lassiter
William Brian Ivie v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board 07 DOJ 1555 Morrison
Dawn Lajoy Paige v. Private Protective Services Board 07 DOJ 1557 Morrison
Meredith Hulbert Richards Jr v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Stds. Comm. 07 DOJ 1675 Lassiter

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Citizens for the Preservation of Willis Landing, Kenneth M. Seigler v. DOT 07 DOT 0175 Gray

DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER
Sparkle Nicole Jones v. DST and Denise Virginia Lee and Arthur E. Seay, III 05 DST 1612 Gray

Charles R. Franklin, Jr. v. DST, Retirement Systems Division 06 DST 1672 Overby

Elaine Scarlett v. DST, Retirement Systems Division 07 DST 0452 Webster
EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF
Billy Ray Brown v. Department of Public Instruction 02 EDC 1272 Webster

06 EDC 0044 Elkins
06 EDC 1725 Elkins
06 EDC 1780 Elkins

Lynn C. Sasser v. Board of Education
Karen Stallings v. Board of Education
Phyllis Simms v. Board of Education

April Williams Compton v. National Board Certification Committee Public =~ 06 EDC 1816 Webster
Schools of NC

John M. Radford, Jr., v. Dept. of Public Instruction 06 EDC 1841 Webster

Vonnita Hart Taylor v Department of Public Instruction 06 EDC 2203 Webster

Ms. Victoria L. Ruffin v. Board of Education 06 EDC 2218 Overby

Connie R. Austin v. Dept. of Public Instruction 06 EDC 2270 Elkins

Sandra B. Rayne v. State Board of Education, DPI Div. of Human Resources 06 EDC 2277 Lassiter
Management

Jason Forrister v. Dept. of Public Instruction

Merredith Page v. Board of Education 07 EDC 0056 Webster

Jane H. Layton v. Department of Public Instruction 07 EDC 0182 Webster

Corporation for Effective Schooling d/b/a Kestrel Heights School v. Board of 07 EDC 0319 Elkins
Education and DPI

Olga Patricia Cancino v. Public Schools of NC et al. 07 EDC 0904 Chess

Kesia Coleman v. DPI 07 EDC 1142 Elkins

Eric Scott Feltman by parent Edward S. Feltman v. Wilson County Board of 07 EDC 1304 Elkins
Education

Nathaniel J. Mewborn v. Alamance Burlington Schools

07 EDC 0054 Gray

07 EDC 1413 Joseph

DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

George A. Jenkins, Jr, d/b/a Lake Juno Park, Inc., v. Dept. of Environmental 05 EHR 1161 Lassiter
Health

Wayne Smith, Jack in the Box, Inc. v. DENR

Robert D. Bryant v. DENR, Division of Coastal Management and Stanley
L. McCauley

05 EHR 1237 Hunter
05 EHR 2185 Chess

Franklin Grading Co., Inc. v. DENR, Division of Air Quality

Wildcat Investments LLC, James Cook v. Cherokee County Health Depart.
Randy Dockery v. Cherokee County Health Department

Alan Raper v. Cherokee Health Department

Christopher Perry v. Caldwell County Health Department

Franklin Grading Co., Inc. v. DENR, Division Air Quality 06 EHR 1525 Lassiter
Robert Don Foster v. DENR, Div. of Coastal Management 06 EHR 1833 Morrison
Andrew Price v. DENR, Div. of Coastal Management and William F. Canady 06 EHR 1834 Morrison
Conrad McLean v. DENR/Division of Air Quality 06 EHR 2243 Gray
Terry Collins v. DENR, Division of Waste Management 06 EHR 2414 Gray
Riverwalk, LLC v. Town of Highlands 06 EHR 2420 Gray

06 EHR 0239 Lassiter
06 EHR 0631 Gray
06 EHR 0728 Gray
06 EHR 0873 Gray
06 EHR 1010 Elkins

H. Johnston Sifly v. DENR, Div. of Coastal Management
Paul A. Stennett v. DENR, Public Water Supply Section
Daniel R. Wrobleski v. DENR and Coastal Management
James Wallace v. DENR

07 EHR 0040 Gray
07 EHR 0170 Overby
07 EHR 0217 Overby
07 EHR 0600 Elkins

04/03/07
09/28/07
06/08/07
09/25/07
09/19/07

10/17/07
09/19/07
10/10/07
10/16/07
10/17/07

09/12/07
12/21/07
12/10/07
12/21/07
12/20/07
11/27/07

03/27/07

05/23/07

05/14/07

10/12/07

06/14/07

05/04/07
05/08/07
04/02/07
05/18/07

08/17/07
09/20/07
06/01/07
04/02/07
10/31/07

06/22/07
04/19/07
09/18/07
10/29/07

10/10/07
12/17/07
12/04/07

12/12/07

02/16/07

10/02/07
02/16/07

10/01/07
04/23/07
04/23/07
04/23/07
06/05/07
10/01/07
05/11/07
05/11/07
05/03/07
05/01/07
10/01/07

09/06/07
05/04/07
05/08/07
09/18/07

22:01 NCR 85

22:01 NCR 90

22:09 NCR 888

22:14 NCR 1340

22:01 NCR 95
22:01 NCR 95
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Max Plowman v. DENR, Division of Air Quality 07 EHR 0828 Webster 09/25/07

Andre Family LLC v. Carteret County Health Dept 07 EHR 1160 Elkins 10/25/07

BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS

Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors v. C. Phil Wagoner, PLS 07 EHR 0141 Morrison 08/21/07
No. L-2416

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE

Jerry W. Conner (NCDOC#0085045) and James A. Campbell NCDOC# 07 GOV 0238 Morrison 08/09/07 22:04 NCR 280
0063592) v. Council of State

James Edwards Thomas and Marcus Robinson and Archie Lee Billings v. 07 GOV 0264 Morrison 08/09/07 22:04 NCR 280
Council of State

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Toni W. Goodwin v. Teachers and State Employees Comprehensive Major 06 INS 1016 Overby 05/07/07
Medical Plan

Larry Miller v. Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical 06 INS 1236 Overby 04/11/07
Plan

Randall A. Meder v. Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major 06 INS 1413 Overby 07/16/07 22:04 NCR 264
Medical Plan

Barbara Smith Pearce v. State Health Plan 07 INS 0008 Overby 07/12/07 22:04 NCR 273

Phillip J. Adler and Benjamin F. Adler v. Teachers' and State Employees' 07 INS 0037 Overby 10/19/07 22:11 NCR 1158
Comprehensive Major Medical Plan

Robert Francis Payne v. Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major07 INS 1365 Elkins 12/11/07
Medical Plan

MISCELLANEOUS

Sylvia Oliver v. Superior Court Judges, Clerk of Court Judges 07 MIS 1603 Lassiter 10/18/07

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Senora Kemp v. OAH 07 OAH 0776 Lassiter 09/06/07

OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL

Monty Steven Poarch v. Crime Control and Public Safety, State Highway 03 OSP 2004 Lassiter 09/17/07
Patrol

Willie G. Shaw v. Division of Forest Resources 05 OSP 0414 Overby 04/13/07

Deona R. Hooper v. NCCU 06 OSP 1071 Lassiter 04/25/07

Franklin Leaven v. DHHS, DDH 06 OSP 1132 Lassiter 10/17/07

Patrice Bernard v. NC A&T State University 06 OSP 1550 Elkins 06/05/07

Angelia Davis v. UNC-Charlotte 06 OSP 1908 Gray 03/08/07

Toni Edwards v. UNC Greensboro Police Department 06 OSP 2219 Gray 10/04/07

Keith Dial v. Dept. of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 06 OSP 2346 Gray 04/20/07

Larry L. Deyton v. Mitchell County Commission Board 06 OSP 2415 Gray 04/19/07

Rose M. Baltezore v. City of Brevard 07 OSP 0009 Gray 04/03/07

Dorothy H. Williams v. John Umstead Hospital 07 OSP 0265 Lassiter 04/24/07

Pei Wang v. UNC-Chapel Hill 07 OSP 0273 Lassiter 04/19/07

Candace R. Berguson v. Caswell County DSS and Mr. Jeff Earp, County 07 OSP 0294 Lassiter 04/20/07
Manager

Shannon Harris Tadlock v. Wilson County, Department of Public Health 07 OSP 0491 Lassiter 05/07/07

Patricia G. Flanigan v. Fayetteville State University 07 OSP 0503 Overby 05/10/07

Tobias M. Guilluame v. FSU Police & Public Safety 07 OSP 0565 Overby 05/10/07

Archie Andrew Copeland v. Dept. of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency 07 OSP 0976 Lassiter 08/29/07
Prevention

Patricia Bethea Williams v. NC A&T State University 07 OSP 1053 Overby 08/28/07

Amy M. Peck v. NC A&T State University Police Department 07 OSP 1346 Lassiter 11/29/07

Kathleen E. Kicinski v. NC A&T State University 07 OSP 1347 Lassiter 11/29/07

Kevin Edral Douglas v. NCSU 07 OSP 1465 Joseph 12/03/07

Terence G. Westry v. NC A&T State Unversity 07 OSP 1497 Webster 12/17/07

Angela N. Mewborn v. Office of State Auditor 07 OSP 1668 Lassiter 12/07/07

Darrin Ball v. Wildlife Resources Commission 07 OSP 1678 Elkins 12/11/07

Mahatam S. Jailall v. DPI 07 OSP 1978 Overby 12/21/07

SECRETARY OF STATE

Mary C. Brandon v. Department of the Secretary of State 06 SOS 1839 Elkins 04/02/07

Samuel Abraham , pro-se v. SOS, General Counsel Ann Wall 07 SOS 0224 Overby 04/27/07

Mr. Tim Rhodes, President, Event Marketing Services, Inc. v. SOS 07 SOS 0374 Overby 06/14/07

Angela Dozier v. SOS 07 SOS 0912 Gray 08/30/07

Timeka Rene' Jones v. SOS 07 SOS 1309 Lassiter 12/12/07

UNC HOSPITALS

Layton Leach v. UNC Hospital 05 UNC 0449 Bryan 09/07/07
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Mary Lawson v. UNC Hospital

Kenneth Trivette v. UNC Hospitals
Mark A. Parrish v. UNC Hospitals

Carolyn Parker v. UNC Hospitals
Debra B. Davis v. UNC Hospitals

05 UNC 0467

06 UNC 2014
06 UNC 2406

07 UNC 0924
07 UNC 1169

Bryan

Elkins
Elkins

Lassiter
Brooks

09/28/07

04/02/07
06/15/07

09/06/07
10/01/07
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