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chapters, are mandatory.  The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title.  Each major department in the North 
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Note:  Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards. 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  

 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  Time is 
computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
GENERAL 

 
The North Carolina Register shall be 
published twice a month and contains the 
following information submitted for 
publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) notices of rule-making proceedings; 
(3) text of proposed rules; 
(4) text of permanent rules approved by 

the Rules Review Commission; 
(5) notices of receipt of a petition for 

municipal incorporation, as required 
by G.S. 120-165; 

(6) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(7) final decision letters from the U.S. 

Attorney General concerning 
changes in laws affecting voting in a 
jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as 
required by G.S. 120-30.9H; 

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board 
issued under G.S. 105-241.2; and 

(9) other information the Codifier of 
Rules determines to be helpful to the 
public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in 
the schedule, the day of publication of the 
North Carolina Register is not included.  
The last day of the period so computed is 
included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday, in which event the period 
runs until the preceding day which is not a 
Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES  
 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on 
the first and fifteen of each month if the 
first or fifteenth of the month is not a 
Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State 
Personnel Commission.  If the first or 
fifteenth of any month is a Saturday, 
Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that 
day will be published on the day of that 
month after the first or fifteenth that is not 
a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for State 
employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for 
filing for any issue is 15 days before the 
issue date excluding Saturdays, Sundays, 
and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF RULE-MAKING PROCEEDINGS 
 
END OF COMMENT PERIOD TO A NOTICE OF 
RULE-MAKING PROCEEDINGS:  This date is 60 
days from the issue date.  An agency shall 
accept comments on the notice of rule-making 
proceeding until the text of the proposed rules 
is published, and the text of the proposed rule 
shall not be published until at least 60 days 
after the notice of rule-making proceedings 
was published. 
 
EARLIEST REGISTER ISSUE FOR PUBLICATION 
OF TEXT:  The date of the next issue following 
the end of the comment period. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 
 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
The hearing date shall be at least 15 days 
after the date a notice of the hearing is 
published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
(1) RULE WITH NON-SUBSTANTIAL 
ECONOMIC IMPACT: An agency shall 
accept comments on the text of a proposed 
rule for at least 30 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public 
hearings held on the proposed rule, 
whichever is longer. 
(2) RULE WITH SUBSTANTIAL 
ECONOMIC IMPACT: An agency shall 
accept comments on the text of a proposed 
rule published in the Register and that has 
a substantial economic impact requiring a 
fiscal note under G.S. 150B-21.4(b1) for 
at least 60 days after publication or until 
the date of any public hearing held on the 
rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES 
REVIEW COMMISSION:  The Commission 
shall review a rule submitted to it on or 
before the twentieth of a month by the last 
day of the next month. 
 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT 
REGULAR SESSION OF THE GENERAL 
ASSEMBLY:  This date is the first 
legislative day of the next regular session 
of the General Assembly following 
approval of the rule by the Rules Review 
Commission.  See G.S. 150B-21.3, 
Effective date of rules.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 26 
WATER SYSTEM PROTECTION 

 
In light of the continuing drought and the obvious necessity of protecting North Carolina’s water supply for all necessary 

individual and industrial uses, and under the legal authority vested in me as Governor by provisions including, but not limited to, 
Article III of the Constitution of North Carolina, N.C.G.S. § 143-341(8) and N.C.G.S. § 147-12, I hereby ORDER that: 
 

(1) All state government agencies discontinue “non-essential” water use until further notice; and, (2) All such agencies 
immediately develop and begin implementing long term, financially feasible conservation measures. 
 

Furthermore, I hereby REQUEST that all other state-sponsored institutions comply with the above directives. 
 

In addition, I hereby ESTABLISH a Water System Protection Team chaired by the Secretaries of Crime Control and Public 
Safety, and Environment and Natural Resources.  The team may include representatives of the state Departments of Administration, 
Agriculture, and Commerce, and shall work closely with the League of Municipalities, the Association of County Commissioners, and 
other local leaders. 
 

The team's principal duties will include: 
 
• providing guidelines to assist state agencies and state-sponsored institutions in complying with this Executive Order and 

monitoring compliance; 
 
• assisting drought-stricken communities in enhancing conservation efforts and assessing water supply capacity, and; 
 
• providing technical assistance, expedited permits, and other support. 

 
The team will also work closely with, and act upon the recommendations of, the Drought Monitoring Council and will assist 

ongoing efforts to secure adequate federal assistance. 
 
 This Executive Order is effective August 15, 2002. 
 

Done in the Capital City of Raleigh, North Carolina, this 15th day of August 2002. 
 

________________________________ 
MICHAEL F. EASLEY 
GOVERNOR 

 
ATTEST: 

 
________________________________ 
ELAINE F. MARSHALL 
SECRETARY OF STATE 
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This Section contains public notices that are required to be published in the Register or have been approved by the Codifier of 
Rules for publication. 

 
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA    BEFORE THE  
               TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
COUNTY OF WAKE 
 
IN THE MATTER OF:    ) 
The Proposed Assessment of Additional ) 
Income Tax for the Taxable Year 1996 )  ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION 
by the Secretary of Revenue   )  NUMBER: 386  
     ) 
  vs.   ) 
     ) 
John H. and Helena L. Rhinehart,  ) 
   Taxpayers ) 
 
 THIS MATTER is before the Regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter "Regular Board") upon petition for administrative 
review filed by John H. and Helena L. Rhinehart (hereinafter "Taxpayers") regarding the final decision of Michael A. Hannah, 
Assistant Secretary of Revenue (hereinafter "Assistant Secretary"), entered on November 27, 2000, sustaining the proposed 
assessment of additional income tax for taxable year 1996. 
 
 Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.1, the Department of Revenue mailed the Taxpayers a Notice of Individual Income Tax Assessment 
dated March 26, 2000, assessing tax, and accrued interest totaling $2,581.23 for the taxable year 1996.  The Taxpayers objected to the 
assessment and filed a request for hearing.  After conducting a hearing, the Assistant Secretary of Revenue entered a final decision on 
November 27, 2000, sustaining the proposed assessment.  Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2, the Taxpayers filed a notice of intent and 
petition for administrative review of the Assistant Secretary's Final Decision with the Tax Review Board.   
 

Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2(c), the Board has examined the petition, and the records and documents transmitted by the 
Secretary of Revenue pertaining to this matter; and it appearing to the Board that the Taxpayers' petition should be dismissed since the 
grounds and arguments upon which relief is sought have been repeatedly deemed by the Courts to be lacking in legal merit.  Thus, the 
Board concludes that Taxpayers ' petition is frivolous and is filed for the purpose of delay.  
 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUGED AND DECREED that Taxpayers' petition for review be and is hereby 
Dismissed. 
 

Made and entered into the 10th day of July 2002. 
 
      TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
     Signature       
      Richard H. Moore, Chairman  
      State Treasurer 
 
     Signature       
      Jo Anne Sanford, Member 
      Chair, Utilities Commission 
 
     Signature       
      Noel L. Allen, Appointed Member 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA    BEFORE THE  
               TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
COUNTY OF WAKE 
 
IN THE MATTER OF:    ) 
The Proposed Assessment of Additional ) 
Income Tax for the Taxable Year 1994,  )  ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION 
1995, and 1996 by the Secretary of Revenue )  NUMBER: 387  
     ) 
  vs.   ) 
     ) 
Christopher J. DuHaime,   ) 
   Taxpayers ) 
 
 THIS MATTER is before the Regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter "Regular Board") upon petition for administrative 
review filed by Christopher J. DuHaime (hereinafter "Taxpayers") regarding the final decision of Marilyn R. Mudge, then Acting 
Assistant Secretary of Revenue (hereinafter "Assistant Secretary"), entered on July 9, 2001, sustaining the proposed assessment of 
additional income tax for taxable years 1994, 1995 and 1996. 
 
 Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.1, the Department of Revenue mailed the Taxpayer Notices of Individual Income Tax Assessments 
dated May 6, 2000, assessing tax, penalties and accrued interest for the taxable years 1994, 1995, 1996.  The Taxpayer objected to the 
assessments and filed a request for hearing.  After conducting a hearing, the Acting Assistant Secretary of Revenue entered a final 
decision on July 9, 2001, sustaining the proposed assessments.  Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2, the Taxpayer filed a notice of intent and 
petition for administrative review of the Assistant Secretary's Final Decision with the Tax Review Board.   
 

Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2(c), the Board has examined the petition, and the records and documents transmitted by the 
Secretary of Revenue pertaining to this matter; and it appearing to the Board that the Taxpayer's petition should be dismissed since the 
grounds and arguments upon which relief is sought have been repeatedly deemed by the Courts to be lacking in legal merit.  Thus, the 
Board concludes that Taxpayer's petition is frivolous and is filed for the purpose of delay. 
 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUGED AND DECREED that Taxpayer's petition for review be and is hereby 
Dismissed. 
 

Made and entered into the 10th day of July 2002. 
 
      TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
     Signature       
      Richard H. Moore, Chairman  
      State Treasurer 
 
     Signature       
      Jo Anne Sanford, Member 
      Chair, Utilities Commission 
 
     Signature       
      Noel L. Allen, Appointed Member 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA    BEFORE THE  
               TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
COUNTY OF WAKE 
 
IN THE MATTER OF:    ) 
The Proposed Assessment of Additional ) 
Income Tax for the Taxable Year 1999 )  ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION 
by the Secretary of Revenue  )  NUMBER: 388  
     ) 
  vs.   ) 
     ) 
James B. and Melanie A. Dunham,  ) 
   Taxpayers ) 
 
 THIS MATTER is before the Regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter "Regular Board") upon petition for administrative 
review filed by James B. and Melanie A. Dunham (hereinafter "Taxpayers") regarding the final decision of Marilyn R. Mudge, then 
Acting Assistant Secretary of Revenue (hereinafter "Assistant Secretary"), entered on May 3, 2001, sustaining the proposed 
assessment of additional income tax for tax year 1999. 
 
 Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.1, the Department of Revenue mailed the Taxpayers a Notice of Individual Income Tax Assessment 
dated August 23, 2000, assessing tax, a twenty-five percent negligence penalty and accrued interest totaling $1,852.72 for the tax year 
1999. The Taxpayers objected to the assessment and filed a request for hearing.  After conducting a hearing, the Acting Assistant 
Secretary of Revenue entered a final decision on May 3, 2001, sustaining the proposed assessment.  Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2, the 
Taxpayer filed a notice of intent and petition for administrative review of the Assistant Secretary's Final Decision with the Tax Review 
Board.   
 

Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2(c), the Board has examined the petition, and the records and documents transmitted by the 
Secretary of Revenue pertaining to this matter; and it appearing to the Board that the Taxpayers' petition should be dismissed since the 
grounds and arguments upon which relief is sought have been repeatedly deemed by the Courts to be lacking in legal merit.  Thus, the 
Board concludes that Taxpayers' petition is frivolous and is filed for the purpose of delay. 
 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUGED AND DECREED that Taxpayer's petition for review be and is hereby 
Dismissed. 
 

Made and entered into the 10th day of July 2002. 
 
      TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
     Signature       
      Richard H. Moore, Chairman  
      State Treasurer 
 
     Signature       
      Jo Anne Sanford, Member 
      Chair, Utilities Commission 
 
     Signature       
      Noel L. Allen, Appointed Member 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA     BEFORE THE  
                TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
COUNTY OF WAKE 
 
IN THE MATTER OF:     ) 
The Proposed Assessment of Sales and Use  ) 
Tax for the period of October 1, 1992 through )  ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION 
September 39, 1998 by the Secretary of  )  NUMBER: 389  
Revenue      ) 
  vs.    ) 
      ) 
Capital Area Soccer League, Inc.   ) 
 

This Matter was heard before the Regular Tax Review Board (hereinafter "Board") in the City of Raleigh, Wake County, 
North Carolina, in the office of the State Treasurer on April 16, 2002, upon a petition filed by Capital Area Soccer League, Inc., 
formerly Raleigh Soccer League, Inc., (hereinafter "Taxpayer") for administrative review of the Final Decision of the Secretary of 
Revenue entered on July 9, 2001, sustaining the proposed assessment of sales and use tax for the period of October 1, 1992 through 
September 31, 1998. 
 Chairman Richard H. Moore, State Treasurer, presided over the hearing with Jo Anne Sanford, Chair, Utilities Commission 
and duly appointed member, Noel L. Allen, Attorney at Law participating.  Robert V. Bode, Attorney at Law, represented the 
Taxpayer at the hearing. Kay Linn Miller Hobart, Assistant Attorney General, appeared at the hearing on behalf of the Secretary of 
Revenue. 

On October 30, 1998, the Department of Revenue completed a sales and use tax audit of the Taxpayer's records and proposed 
to assess additional tax, penalties and interest because Taxpayer failed to remit use tax on taxable purchases from out-of-state vendors.  
Taxpayer objected to the assessment on the basis that it would be eligible for a refund of sales and use tax under G.S. 105-164.14(b).  
Even though the hearing before the Secretary was a direct result of the audit assessment, the primary issue considered by the Secretary 
was whether the Taxpayer is eligible for a refund of sales and use tax paid pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-164.14(b).  

Pursuant to G.S. 105-241.2, the Taxpayer appeals from an adverse decision of the Secretary of Revenue sustaining an 
assessment of use tax on Taxpayer's purchases of tangible personal property from vendors who did not collect sales tax.  The Taxpayer 
is a nonprofit organization that sponsors and participates in a number of activities, which promote the sport of soccer in the Raleigh 
area.  The Taxpayer made purchases of various equipment and supplies for use by the organization from out-of-state retailers who did 
not collect the North Carolina sales or use tax. 
 

ISSUES  
 

The issues considered by the Assistant Secretary of Revenue in rendering the final decision in this matter are stated as 
follows: 
 

1. Is the Taxpayer liable for use tax on its purchases of tangible personal property for storage, use, or consumption? 
2. Is the Taxpayer eligible for a refund of sales and use tax paid pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-164.14(b)? 

 
EVIDENCE 

 
 The evidence presented at the hearing before the Secretary of Revenue and included in the record for the Board's review is 
stated as follows: 

 
1. Copy of memorandum dated March 13, 2001 from the Secretary of Revenue to the Acting Assistant Secretary of 

Administrative Hearings, designated Exhibit E-1. 
2. Copy of face sheet of auditor's report and comments dated October 30, 1998, designated Exhibit E-2. 
3. Copy of letter dated November 30, 1998, with attachments, from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Sales and Use Tax 

Division, designated Exhibit E-3. 
4. Copy of letter dated January 15, 1999 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated 

Exhibit E-4. 
5. Copy of letter dated February 24, 1999 from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Sales and Use Tax Division, designated 

Exhibit E-5. 
6. Copy of letter dated March 16, 1999 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated 

Exhibit E-6. 
7. Copy of letter dated April 28, 1999 and Constitution and Bylaws from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Sales and Use Tax 

Division, designated Exhibit E-7. 
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8. Copy of letter dated April 29, 1999 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit 
E-8. 

9. Copy of letter dated June 3, 1999 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit E-
9. 

10. Copy of letter dated October 14, 1999 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated 
Exhibit E-10. 

11. Copy of letter dated October 14, 1999 from the Assistant Secretary of Revenue to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated 
Exhibit E-11.  

12. Copy of letter dated November 4, 1999 from the Assistant Secretary of Revenue to the Taxpayer's Attorney, 
designated Exhibit E-12. 

13. Schedule of refund claims submitted to the Department with letters denying claims, designated Exhibit E-13. 
14. Copies of Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws submitted by the Taxpayer, designated Exhibit E-14.  
15. Copy of Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax, designated Exhibit E-15. 
16. Copy of document entitled "CASL Community Services Information," designated Exhibit E-16. 
17. Copy of letter dated February 16, 2000 from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Department, designated Exhibit E-17. 
18. Copy of letter dated March 3, 2000 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxp ayer's CPA, designated Exhibit 

E-18. 
19. Copy of letter dated June 5, 2000 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit E-

19. 
20. Copy of letter dated September 24, 2000 from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Sales and Use Tax Division, designated 

Exhibit E-20. 
21. Copy of letter dated October 3, 2000 from the Sales and Use Tax Division to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated 

Exhibit E-21. 
22. Copy of letter dated October 6, 2000 from the Assistant Secretary to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit E-22. 
23. Copy of letter dated October 13, 2000 from the Taxpayer's CPA to the Assistant Secretary, designated Exhibit E-23. 
24. Copy of letter dated November 9, 2000 from the Assistant Secretary to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit E-

24. 
25. Copy of letter dated December 27, 2000 from the Assistant Secretary to the Taxpayer's CPA, designated Exhibit E-

25. 
26. Copy of letter dated March 5, 2001 from the Acting Assistant Secretary of Revenue to the Taxpayer's CPA, 

designated Exhibit E-26.  
27. Brochure entitled 2000-2001 Community Services Information, designated Exhibit TP-1. 
28. Excerpts from newsletter, designated Exhibit TP-2. 
29. Copy of letter from Michael A. Kanters, Ph.D., designated Exhibit TP-3. 
30. Copy of letter dated September 21, 2000 from Deborah S. Maffeo, CPA, to the Taxpayer. 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
The Board reviewed the following findings of fact made by the Assistant Secretary of Revenue in the final decision issued in 

this matter: 
 

1. Capital Area Soccer League, Inc., (formerly Capital Area Classic Soccer Association) (hereinafter, the Taxpayer) is 
a nonprofit corporation that coordinates soccer leagues in the Raleigh area.  The corporation is recognized as a 
501(c)(3) corporation by the Internal Revenue Service. 

2. The Taxpayer generates receipts primarily from dues and fees paid by its approximately 23,000 members. The 
amount of dues and fees paid by each member varies based on the type of league in which the member is 
participating.  Secondary sources of revenue include advertising and donations. 

3. The Taxpayer's articles of incorporation set out the purposes for which the corporation is organized as follows:  "To 
foster, promote, and advance the cause of youth soccer within the territory of the jurisdiction of the Capital Area 
Classic Soccer Association and to guard the interest of the teams in the Capital Area Classic Soccer Association 
[and] [t]o foster local, state, national, and international amateur sports competition in the best interest of those 
players participating." 

4. In addition to coordinating league play for children and adults, the Taxpayer provides the following:  financial aid to 
approximately 250 children who could not otherwise participate in soccer leagues; an annual college scholarship 
valued at $2,500.00; allowing other organizations to use its fields; and maintenance of fields owned by local 
governments and schools in exchange for use of the fields by the Taxpayer.  The Taxpayer conducts free clinics 
providing instruction and training related to the sport  of soccer for coaches and players. 

5. The Taxpayer was not registered for sales and use tax purposes at the time the audit began. 
6. The Taxpayer made purchases of supplies, equipment, clothing, and similar items from out-of-state retailers who did 

not collect the North Carolina sales or use tax; the Taxpayer makes no retail sales. 
7. The Taxpayer did not accrue and remit to the Department the applicable use tax on out-of-state purchases. 
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8. The auditor assessed use tax, penalties, and interest for the audit period. 
9. The Taxpayer does not contest its liability for payment of the use tax or object to the amount of use tax assessed. 
10. The Taxpayer had previously filed refund claims under N.C.G.S. 105-164.14(b) for sales and use tax paid on 

property purchased for use; the claims were denied. 
11. The Taxpayer timely requested a hearing before the Secretary of Revenue. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
The Board reviewed the following conclusions of law made by the Assistant Secretary in the final decision: 

 
1. The Taxpayer is liable for use tax on purchases from out-of-state retailers who did not collect the North Carolina 

tax.  
2. The Notice of Proposed Assessment for the period was properly issued pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-241.1. 
3. The Taxpayer is an amateur sports organization that coordinates the play of soccer for its members and promotes the 

sport of soccer.   
4. The Taxpayer is not an educational institution or charitable organization within the meaning of N.C.G.S. 105-

164.14(b). 
5. The Taxpayer is not eligible for a refund of sales and use tax paid on its purchases of tangible personal property for 

use. 
6. The Taxpayer's requests for refunds were properly denied. 

 
DECISION 

 
 The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board is governed by G.S. 105-241.2(b2).  After 
the Board conducts a hearing this statute provides in pertinent part: "The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase the 
assessment or decision of the Secretary."  
 On administrative review to this Board, the Taxpayer is seeking reversal of the Assistant Secretary's final decision and is 
objecting to the proposed assessment on the basis that it would be eligible for a refund of sales and use tax under G.S. 105-164.14(b).  
In the petition, the Taxpayer asserts that there is sufficient evidence in the record to show that the Taxpayer conducts charitable and 
educational activities which benefit the area youth and children and serves an educational and charitable function that would otherwise 
have to be performed by the school system or other governmental entity.  
 The Board, having conducted a hearing in this matter and having considered the petition, the briefs, the arguments of counsel, 
the final decision and the record of the proceeding before the Assistant Secretary, determines that there is sufficient evidence in the 
record to find that the Taxpayer is an educational institution and/or charitable organization within the meaning of N.C.G.S. 105-
164.14(b).  Thus, the Taxpayer is not liable for use tax on its purchases of tangible personal property for use and is eligible for a 
refund of sales and use tax paid pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-164.14(b). 
 
 IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Secretary of Revenue's final decision be and is hereby Reversed. 
 

Made and entered into the 10th day of July 2002. 
 
      TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
     Signature       
      Richard H. Moore, Chairman  
      State Treasurer 
 
     Signature       
      Jo Anne Sanford, Member 
      Chair, Utilities Commission 
 
     Signature       
      Noel L. Allen, Appointed Member 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA     BEFORE THE  
                TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
COUNTY OF WAKE 
 
IN THE MATTER OF:     ) 
The Proposed Assessment of Unauthorized  ) 
Substance Tax dated July 6, 2001 by the  )  ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION 
Secretary of Revenue of North Carolina  )  NUMBER: 390  
      ) 
  vs.    ) 
      ) 
Arnold Bertram Deshong    ) 
Taxpayer     ) 
 
 This Matter was heard before the Tax Review Board (hereinafter "Board") in the City of Raleigh, North Carolina on 
Thursday, April 16, 2002, upon Arnold Bertram Deshong's (hereinafter "Taxpayer") petition for administrative review of the Final 
Decision of the Assistant Secretary of Revenue entered on November 27, 2001, sustaining the assessment of unauthorized substance 
tax for the period of July 6, 2001.  
 Chairman Richard H. Moore, State Treasurer, presided over the hearing with Jo Anne Sanford, Chair, Utilities Commission 
and duly appointed member, Noel L. Allen, Attorney at Law participating.  Attorney Joseph A. Williams appeared at the hearing on 
Taxpayer's behalf.  David J. Adinolfi, II, Associate Attorney General, represented the Secretary of Revenue at the hearing. 
 Pursuant to G.S. 105-113.111(a) and G.S. 105-241.1, a Notice of Unauthorized Substance Tax Assessment was issued to the 
Taxpayer on July 6, 2001 by Enforcement Agent Tony Staley of the Unauthorized Substance Tax Division, assessing $1,513,778.00 
tax, $605,511.20 penalty and $9,755.46 interest, for a total liability of $2,129,044.66.  The assessment alleged that on June 10, 2001, 
the Taxpayer was in unauthorized possession of 953.50 pounds of marijuana. The Taxpayer protested the assessment and requested a 
hearing before the Secretary of Revenue.  On October 24, 2001, Eugene J. Cella, Assistant Secretary conducted a hearing upon 
Taxpayer's timely application and objection to the proposed assessment.  The Assistant Secretary issued a final decision sustaining the 
proposed assessment against the Taxpayer. Thereafter, the Taxpayer timely filed a petition for administrative review of the final 
decision with the Board.   
 

ISSUES  
 

The issues considered by the Board upon administrative review of this matter are stated as follows: 
 

1. Did the Taxpayer have actual and/or constructive possession of marijuana? 
1. Is the Taxpayer subject to the assessment of unauthorized substance excise tax?  

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
 The Board reviewed the following findings of fact in the Assistant Secretary's decision in this matter: 

 
1. Assessment of Unauthorized Substance Tax was made against the Taxpayer on July 6, 2001, in the sum of 

$1,513,778.00 tax, $605,511.20 penalty and $9,755.46 interest, for a total liability of $2,129,044.66, based on 
possession of 432,507.6 grams of marijuana. 

2. The Taxpayer made a timely objection and application for a hearing.  
3. Neither the Taxpayer nor anyone representing the Taxpayer appeared at the hearing to offer arguments or evidence 

in support of the objection to the assessment. 
4. On June 10, 2001, the Taxpayer possessed 432,507.6 grams of marijuana. 
5. No tax stamps were purchased for or affixed to the marijuana as required by law. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
 The Board reviewed the following conclusions of law made by the Assistant Secretary in his decision regarding this matter: 
 

1. An assessment of tax is presumed to be correct. 
2. The burden is upon the Taxpayer who objects to an assessment to overcome that presumption and that burden was 

not met. 
3. The Taxpayer possessed 432,507.6 grams of marijuana on June 10, 2001 and was therefore a dealer as that term is 

defined in G.S. 105-113.106(3). 
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4. The Taxpayer is liable for $1,513,778.00 tax, $605,511.20 penalty and interest until date of full payment. 
 

DECISION   
 

The scope of administrative review for petitions filed with the Tax Review Board is governed by G.S. 105-241.2(b2).  After 
the Board conducts a hearing this statute provides in pertinent part:  "The Board shall confirm, modify, reverse, reduce or increase the 
assessment or decision of the Secretary."  

On June 10, 2001, Sergeant T. L. Cardwell, of the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, stopped a tractor-trailer, driven by 
Harold Edward Massey, for speeding on I-40 in Greensboro, NC.  Sergeant Cardwell requested to review the logbook and bill of 
lading and found that the documents confirmed the travels and cargo contained in the vehicle.  Sergeant Cardwell issued a warning 
ticket to Mr. Massey and requested permission to search the vehicle. The Taxpayer, who did not own the vehicle but was the main 
driver, consented to the search of the vehicle. Upon searching the vehicle, Sergeant Cardwell discovered several large cardboard boxes 
containing marijuana.  Thereafter, the Taxpayer was arrested and charged with trafficking 953.5 pounds of marijuana.  At the time of 
the search, the Taxpayer denied knowledge of the marijuana that was found in the tractor-trailer.   
 In the petition for review, the Taxpayer contends that the Assistant Secretary's decision should be reversed because he was 
unaware of the presence of the marijuana in the tractor-trailer and because the criminal charges against him were dismissed. In fact, 
the District Attorney entered an order of dismissal on February 2, 2002, after an eight-month investigation, because there was 
insufficient evidence to show that the Taxpayer had knowledge of the existence of the controlled substance in the tractor-trailer.  

The Board having conducted a hearing in this matter and having considered the petition, the brief, the final decision and the 
documents of record, remands this matter back to the Assistant Secretary for a further proceeding to consider all matters of record.  In 
particular, the Assistant Secretary should determine if there were any defects to the bill of lading since the record implies that the 
trailer was under seal.  The Assistant Secretary should also consider the District Attorney's dismissal of the charges against the 
Taxpayer since there was insufficient evidence to show that he had knowledge of the existence of the marijuana in the trailer. 

 
THEREFORE, it is the decision of the Board to Remand this matter back to the Assistant Secretary for a further 

proceeding. 
 

Made and entered into the 10th day of July 2002. 
 
      TAX REVIEW BOARD 
 
     Signature       
      Richard H. Moore, Chairman  
      State Treasurer 
 
     Signature       
      Jo Anne Sanford, Member 
      Chair, Utilities Commission 
 
     Signature       
      Noel L. Allen, Appointed Member 
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SUMMARY OF NOTICE OF 

INTENT TO REDEVELOP A BROWNFIELDS PROPERTY 
 

City of Charlotte 
 
Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-310.34, the City of Charlotte has filed with the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural 
Resources ("DENR") a Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields Property ("Property") in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, North 
Carolina.  The Property consists of approximately 6 acres, and is located at the southwest corner of South Cedar Street and West 
Fourth Street near the practice fields of the National Football League's Carolina Panthers.  Environmental contamination exists on the 
Property in groundwater.  The City of Charlotte has committed itself to allow no use of the Property, initially by Johnson & Wales 
University, other than for dormitories, apartments, offices, classrooms, recreational facilities, open space, entertainment venues, retail 
businesses and parking. The Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields Property includes: (1) a proposed Brownfields Agreement 
between DENR and the City of Charlotte, which in turn includes (a) a legal description of the Property, (b) a map showing the 
location of the Property, (c) a description of the contaminants involved and their concentrations in the media of the Property, (d) the 
above-stated description of the intended future use of the Property, and (e) proposed investigation and remediation; and (2) a proposed 
Notice of Brownfields Property prepared in accordance with G.S. 130A-310.35.  The full Notice of Intent to Redevelop a Brownfields 
Property may be reviewed at the offices of the City of Charlotte, 600 East Fourth Street, Seventh Floor, Charlotte, NC 28208 by 
contacting the City Clerk at that address or at (704) 336-2248; or at 401 Oberlin Rd., Raleigh, NC 27605 by contacting Scott Ross at 
that address, at scott.ross@ncmail.net, or at (919) 733-2801, ext. 328.  Written public comments may be submitted to DENR within 60 
days after the summary of the Notice of Intent is published in the North Carolina Register or in a newspaper of general circulation 
serving the area in which the Brownfields Property is located, whichever is later. Written requests for a public meeting may be 
submitted to DENR within 30 days after the public comment period begins. All such comments and requests should be addressed as 
follows: 
 

Mr. Bruce Nicholson 
Head, Special Remediation Branch 
Superfund Section 
Division of Waste Management 
NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
401 Oberlin Road, Suite 150 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27605 
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A Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is a statement of subject matter of the agency's proposed rule making.  The agency must 
publish a notice of the subject matter for public comment at least 60 days prior to publishing the proposed text of a rule.  
Publication of a temporary rule serves as a Notice of Rule-making Proceedings and can be found in the Register under the 
section heading of Temporary Rules.  A Rule-making Agenda published by an agency serves as Rule-making Proceedings and can 
be found in the Register under the section heading of Rule-making Agendas.  Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 
TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 
CHAPTER 07 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES  

 
Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC 
Private Protective Services Board in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.2.  The agency shall subsequently publish in the 
Register the text of the rule(s) it proposes to adopt as a result of 
this notice of rule-making proceedings and any comments 
received on this notice. 
 
Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-making:  12 
NCAC 07D .0202, .0702, .0802, .0903 and any rules involving 
fees for licenses, permits, or certifications.  Other rules may be 
proposed in the course of the rule-making process. 
 
Authority for the Rule-making:  G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9 
 
Statement of the Subject Matter:  The above-referenced rules 
impose specific fees for licenses, permits, and certifications. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board will be considering 
the possibility of raising fees for licenses, permits, and 
certifications. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be sent to W. 
Wayne Woodard, 1631 Midtown Place, Raleigh, NC 27609.  
Telephone (919) 875-3611. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 07 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES  
 
Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC 
Private Protective Services Board in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.2.  The agency shall subsequently publish in the 
Register the text of the rule(s) it proposes to adopt as a result of 
this notice of rule-making proceedings and any comments 
received on this notice. 
 
Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-making:  12 
NCAC 07D .1200.  Other rules may be proposed in the course of 
the rule-making process. 
 
Authority for the Rule-making:  G.S. 74C-3(a)(4); 74C-5 
 
Statement of the Subject Matter:  Licensing requirements for 
those engaged in the courier profession in North Carolina. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  No rules exist to set forth the 
specific licensing and registration requirements for those 
individuals engaged in the courier profession in North Carolina, 

and the Board believes that such regulations should be 
considered for adoption as rules. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be sent to W. 
Wayne Woodard, 1631 Midtown Place, Raleigh, NC 27609.  
Telephone (919) 875-3611. 
 

 
TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES  
 

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 
 
Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by DENR 
Commission for Health Services in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.2.  The agency shall subsequently publish in the Register the 
text of the rule(s) it proposes to adopt as a result of this notice of 
rule-making proceedings and any comments received on this 
notice. 
 
Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-making:  15A 
NCAC 13A .0101, .0109, .0113.  Other rules may be proposed in 
the course of the rule-making process. 
 
Authority for the Rule-making:  G.S. 130A-294(c); 150B-21.6 
 
Statement of the Subject Matter:   
15A NCAC 13A .0101 – General – Establishes the State agency 
which will administer the hazardous waste management 
program, makes State substitutions for federal agencies and 
incorporates into the rules certain publications. 
15A NCAC 13A .0109 – Standards for Owners and Operators of 
Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facilities – 
Part 264 establishes standards for owners and/or operators of 
hazardous waste facilities (treatment, storage or disposal 
facilities). 
15A NCAC 13A .0113 – The Hazardous Waste Permit Program 
– Part 270 – Establishes permit application information 
requirements and permit procedures. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 13A .0101 – To update the cost of the rule book to 
$32.00 to cover mailing and printing. 
15A NCAC 13A .0109 –Paragraph(s) expanded to include 40 
CFR 264.550, 264.551 and 264.555.  The title for Part 264 
Subpart S "Corrective Action for Solid Waste Management 
Units," is revised to read "Special Provisions for Cleanup."  
15A NCAC 13A .0113 – 40 CFR 270.235, Subpart I, 
"Integration with Maximum Achievable Control Technology 
(MACT) Standards", is being added to provide options for 
incinerators and cement and lightweight aggregate kilns to 
minimize emissions from startup. 
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Comment Procedures:  Written comments may be submitted to 
Jill Pafford, Chief, Hazardous Waste Section, Division of Waste 
Management, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1646.
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This Section contains the text of proposed rules.  At least 60 days prior to the publication of text, the agency published a Notice of 
Rule-making Proceedings.  The agency must accept comments on the proposed rule for at least 30 days from the publication date, 
or until the public hearing, or a later date if specified in the notice by the agency.  The required comment period is 60 days for a 
rule that has a substantial economic impact of at least five million dollars ($5,000,000).  Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 
TITLE 05 – DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Correction intends to adopt the rules cited as 
05 NCAC 06 .0101-.0102, .0201, .0301, .0401.  Notice of Rule-
making Proceedings was published in the Register on March 1, 
2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 16, 2002 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  Randall Building, 1st Floor Conference Room, 831 
W. Morgan St., Raleigh, NC  
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  These Rules are submitted 
pursuant to S.L. 2001-378 Senate Bill 137 Section 4 which 
states, "The Department of Correction shall adopt rules to 
implement provisions of this act."  A copy of the act and the 
rules are attached for review. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Dennis Rowland, 4620 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC 27699-4260.  Comments will be accepted through October 
16, 2002.  
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 06 - PRIVATE CORRECTIONAL SERVICE 

PROVIDERS 
 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 
 
05 NCAC 06 .0101 APPLICTION 
The following standards apply to the hiring and training of 
private correctional service providers. 
 
Authority S.L. 2001-378. 
 
05 NCAC 06 .0102 PURPOSE 
The purpose of these Rules is to establish the relevant and 
essential hiring and training standards, methods to verify 
compliance with the standards and the method of monitoring the 
standards by the Department of Correction for officers and 
security supervisors employed by private correctional service 
providers operating within the State. 
 
Authority S.L. 2001-378. 

 
SECTION .0200 – HIRING 

 
05 NCAC 06 .0201 HIRING STANDARDS 
Private correctional service providers are required to meet the 
same relevant and essential minimum pre-employment standards 
for their correctional officers and security supervisors as have 
been established for officers and supervisors for the Department 
of Correction. 

(1) Future applicants for employment as private 
correctional officers or security supervisors: 
(a) Must be a high school graduate or 

have GED certificate; 
(b) Must be at least 20 years of age; 
(c) Must be a U.S. Citizen; 
(d) Must pass a physical examination to 

determine fitness for duty; 
(e) Must pass a urinalysis performed by 

qualified physician using a lab that 
protects the chain of custody; 

(f) Must pass a local, state and national 
criminal background check through 
the National Crime Information 
Center (NCIC) and cleared through 
the FBI fingerprinting clearance 
process; 

(g) Must have a completed background 
investigation that consists of 
verification of age, education, and 
employment; 

(h) Must be personally interviewed by 
the Department Head or designee; 

(i) Must have no felony conviction for 
10 years; 

(j) Must have no conviction of a 
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 
09G.0102(10) for three years; 

(k) Must have an evaluation and 
suitability for employment certified 
and documented by a state licensed 
psychologist; and 

(l) Must be truthful in providing all 
required information as prescribed by 
the application process. 

(2) With respect to private correctional officers or 
security supervisors already employed as of 
the effective date of these Rules, the 
Department of Correction shall verify that 
correctional officers and security supervisors 
working for private correctional service 
providers have met the essential hiring 
standards.  To accomplish this the department 
will: 



PROPOSED RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
476 

(a) Require the private correctional 
service providers to submit a 
"Verification of Employment 
Standards" checklist for each 
correctional officer and security 
supervisor to the department.  In 
addition to the applicant's name, 
social security number, position title 
and effective date of employment, the 
checklist will, at a minimum, verify 
that all essential employment 
standards as described in Item (1) of 
this Rule have been completed.  The 
verification of employment form will 
contain an authorizing signature line 
and a space to record the date; 

(b) Upon receipt of the Verification of 
Employment Standards checklist by 
the Department of Correction, 
departmental staff will review the 
checklist and respond in a 
memorandum to the private 
correctional service provider as to 
whether the individual applicant 
meets or does not meet the minimum 
essential employment standards; 

(c) To verify if a correctional officer or 
security supervisor who pleads no 
contest to, pleads guilty to or is found 
guilty of a felony or misdemeanor 
criminal offense is eligible for 
employment or continued 
employment, the private correctional 
service provider will submit a 
"Notification Form for Criminal 
Convictions" to the Department of 
Correction for review.  This form will 
include at a minimum the employee's 
name, social security number, and 
position title.  The form will also 
include the date of arrest, nature of 
the offense (including the general 
statute number), court of jurisdiction, 
the specific plea, date of disposition 
and a description of the disposition.  
The form will be signed and dated by 
an authorized private correctional 
service provider representative and 
forwarded to the Department of 
Correction for review.  The form will 
contain space for Department of 
Correction personnel to verify if the 
employee meets or continues to meet 
the essential employment standards;  

(d) Upon receipt of the Notification Form 
or Criminal Convictions by the 
Department of Correction, 
departmental staff will review the 
form and note if in the Department's 
opinion the employee meets or 
continues to meet the minimum 

essential employment standards.  The 
form will then be signed and dated by 
an authorized NCDOC representative 
and returned to the private 
correctional service provider; and  

(e) Should a correctional officer or 
security supervisor previously 
designated as meeting the minimum 
essential employment standards be 
separated from employment the 
private correctional service provider 
will submit a "Report of Separation" 
form to the Department of Correction 
Personnel Office.  This form will 
contain at a minimum the separated 
employee's name, social security 
number, position title and date of 
separation.  The form will be signed 
and dated by an authorized 
representative of the private 
correctional service provider. 

 
Authority S.L. 2001-378. 
 

SECTION .0300 – TRAINING 
 
05 NCAC 06 .0301 TRAINING STANDARDS 
Correctional officers and security supervisors employed by a 
private correctional service provider must successfully complete 
a training curriculum that meets or exceeds the standards 
required by the Criminal Justice Education and Training 
Standards Commission.  In order to accomplish this the private 
correctional service provider will: 

(1) Submit its training curriculum and all relevant 
documents related to training to the North 
Carolina Department of Correction; 

(2) The North Carolina Department of Correction 
will review the training curriculum and related 
information and will certify in writing to the 
private correctional service provider that it 
meets or does not meet the standards of the 
Criminal Justice Education and Training 
Standards Commission.  Should the 
Department determine that the curriculum fails 
to meet the standards, it will provide direction 
related to the problem areas and allow the 
private provider to resubmit only those 
portions in question; 

(3) The Department of Correction shall verify that 
correctional officers and security supervisors 
working for private correctional service 
providers have met the essential training 
standards.  To accomplish this the department 
will require the private correctional service 
providers to submit a "Verification of Training 
Standards" checklist for each correctional 
officer and security supervisor to the 
department.  In addition to the applicant's 
name, social security number, position title 
and effective date of employment, the 
checklist will, at a minimum, verify that all 
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essential training standards contained within 
the approved curriculum have been completed.  
The verification of training form will contain 
an authorizing signature line and a space to 
record the date; 

(4) Upon receipt of the Verification of Training 
Standards checklist by the Department of 
Correction, departmental staff will review the 
checklist and respond in a memorandum to the 
private correctional service provider as to 
whether the individual applicant meets or does 
not meet the training standards; and 

(5) Once approved, future changes to the training 
curriculum that could substantially affect its 
approval will be submitted to the Department 
of Correction for additional review. 

 
Authority S.L. 2001-378. 
 

SECTIO N .0400 – COMPLIANCE 
 
05 NCAC 06 .0401 REVIEW OF COMPLIANCE 
The Department of Correction may monitor and audit private 
correctional service provider's records related to the essential 
hiring and training standards.  To facilitate this function the 
private correctional service provider is required to maintain 
individual personnel files and training records for each 
correctional officer and security supervisor.  These files and 
records will: 

(1) Contain all necessary documentation required 
to verify that an individual correctional officer 
or security supervisor meets the minimum 
relevant hiring standards; 

(2) Contain all necessary documentation required 
to verify that an individual correctional officer 
or security supervisor has completed the 
approved training standards; and 

(3) Be accessible upon request to Department of 
Correction personnel for review and audit.  
Should the Department of Correction have 
concerns or require additional information 
related to the hiring and/or training standards 
of any individual correctional officer or 
security supervisor, they may request 
additional information be provided. 

 
Authority S.L. 2001-378. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Department of Environment and Natural Resources / Parks 
and Recreation Authority intends to amend the rules cited as 
15A NCAC 12K .0102-.0103, .0106-.0108.  Notice of Rule-
making Proceedings was published in the Register on April 15, 
2002. 
 
Proposed Effecti ve Date:  April 1, 2003 
 

Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 3, 2002 
Time:  2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. 
Location:  Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room, 512 
N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Recently approved legislation 
states that public authorities as defined by G.S. 159-7 are 
eligible to apply for PARTF grants to local governments.  
Legislation also states that the approved value of donated land 
can be used as local matching funds. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments will be accepted through 
October 16, 2002.  Letters must be legible and signed.  Include a 
phone number.  Please send comments to Mr. Bayard Alcorn, 
NC Division of Parks and Recreation, MSC 1615, Raleigh, NC 
27699-1615.  If you have questions, please call Mr. Alcorn at 
(919) 715-2659 or Email (bayard.alcorn@ncmail.net). 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State  15A NCAC 12K .0106 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 15A NCAC 12K .0102-.0103, .0107-.0108 

 
CHAPTER 12 - PARKS  AND RECREATION AREA RULES  
 

SUBCHAPTER 12K - PARKS AND RECREATION 
TRUST FUND GRANTS FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
15A NCAC 12K .0102 ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS 
All county governments and incorporated municipalities  of the 
State of North Carolina are eligible to submit applications.  
Eligible applicants also include public authorities, as defined by 
G.S. 159-7, that are authorized to acquire land and/ or develop 
facilities for public recreation purposes. 

(1) Multiple municipalities and counties Eligible 
applicants may apply jointly for a project. 

(2) School administrative units may submit a joint 
application with an incorporated municipality 
or county eligible applicant for funding of 
facilities. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-44.15. 
 
15A NCAC 12K .0103 FUNDING CYCLE 
Annual funding schedule dates shall be the following: 

(1) An announcement letter describing the funding 
schedule and how to apply shall be mailed to 
all eligible applicants by September 30.  This 
information shall be made available to other 
interested parties who contact the Department 
of Environment and Natural Resources 
(Department) at: NC Division of Parks and 
Recreation, PO Box 27687, Raleigh, North 
Carolina 27611-7687. 

(2) Local governments Applicants may request a 
maximum of two hundred fifty thousand 
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dollars ($250,000) in PARTF assistance with 
each application. 

(3) Applications shall be received by the 
Department or its designee by 5:00 p.m. on 
January 31.  If the deadline falls on a weekend 
or holiday, applications are due by 5:00 p.m. 
on the following business day. 

(4) The Authority shall meet within 120 days of 
the application deadline to select projects for 
funding.  The Authority will meet within 30 
days after the end of the fiscal year to select 
projects for funding using revenues credited to 
PARTF during the fourth quarter 

 
Authority G.S. 113-44.15. 
 
15A NCAC 12K .0106 GRANT AGREEMENT  
(a)  Upon Authority approval, a written agreement shall be 
executed between the grant recipient(s) and the Authority on 
behalf of the Department.  
(b)  The agreement shall define the Department's and grant 
recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period, 
project scope and the amount of grant assistance.  
(c)  The approved application and support documentation shall 
become a part of the grant agreement.  
(d)  State Clearinghouse environmental review comments made 
as a result of application review shall be addressed by the 
applicant prior to execution of the project agreement.  Projects 
judged to have a significant environmental impact shall submit 
an environmental assessment.  
(e)  The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent 
and approval by the Department on behalf of the Authority  and 
the grant recipient(s).  The grant recipient(s) shall submit in 
writing to the Department a formal amendment request for 
approval.  The Department may approve the amendment based 
on local circumstances which justify the amendment request. 
(f)  Projects may not begin until the Authority on behalf of the 
Department and grant recipient(s) sign the agreement unless a 
waiver has been requested by the applicant in writing and 
approved by the Authority or its executive committee.  Waivers 
may only be granted for land acquisition projects requiring 
action prior to the anticipated signing of the agreement.  A 
waiver shall be in effect for one year from the date of approval.  
A project receiving a waiver shall not receive preferential 
treatment in funding decisions. 
(g)  Following execution of the grant agreement, a check in the 
amount of the approved grant shall be presented to the grant 
recipient(s).  the Department will reimburse the grant recipient  
for expenditures related to the project scope. All reimbursements 
will be approved by the Department and will total an amount 
that is less than or equal to the grant amount. 
(h)  Complete accounting records including a certified project 
data sheet and performance report verifying eligible costs shall 
be submitted by the grant recipient(s) to the Department for 
approval prior to or at the time of the close-out inspection.  The 
Department shall approve the accounting when the records are 
consistent with the project agreement and budget.  
 
Authority G.S. 113-44.15. 
 
15A NCAC 12K .0107 MATCHING REQUIREMENTS 

The local governmental unit applicant shall match PART F funds 
on a dollar-for-dollar basis.  The approved value of land that is 
donated to the applicant may be applied to the matching 
requirement of the applicant. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-44.15. 
 
15A NCAC 12K .0108 ELIGIBLE PROJECTS AND  
COSTS 
(a)  PARTF grants are awarded to grantees for projects that are 
for the sole purpose of providing local park and recreation 
opportunities to the public.  Applicants Grantees may request 
receive funds for the following types of projects: 

(1) Acquisition.  Fee simple acquisition of real 
property for the following: future recreational 
development and to protect areas with 
outstanding natural or scenic resources.  
(A) Applicants Grantees acquiring 

property for recreation development 
have up to five years from when the 
Authority and the applicant sign the 
grant agreement to begin developing 
recreation facilities. 

(B) Applicants Grantees acquiring 
property to protect areas with 
outstanding natural or scenic 
resources must open these areas to the 
general public to the extent that the 
resources will not be seriously 
impaired. 

(2) Development.  Projects for the construction, 
expansion, and renovation/repair of the 
following: 
(A) Primary facilities including outdoor 

and indoor recreation facilities.  
Examples include camping facilities, 
picnic facilities, sports and playfields, 
trails, swimming facilities, 
boating/fishing facilities, spectator 
facilities, gymnasiums, etc. 

(B) Support facilities and improvements 
such as roads, parking areas, 
accessibility features, utilities, 
landscaping, and other infrastructure 
projects, that would have little or no 
recreational value without the 
primary recreation facilities. 

(b)  Other criteria for determining eligible projects and costs 
include: 

(1) Only development on or acquisition of a single 
project site is eligible for PARTF assistance. 

(2) Utility lines developed with PARTF assistance 
shall be placed underground. 

(3) Certain incidental project costs shall be 
eligible for PARTF assistance including 
appraisals, architectural and engineering fees, 
pre-agreement planning costs and contingency 
fees as follows: 
(A) Pre-agreement costs such as site 

planning, preliminary designs, 
preparation of cost estimates, 
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construction drawings and 
specifications may not exceed 15 
percent of the total development costs 
and must be incurred within one year 
of the application submission date. 

(B) Incidental appraisal costs such as 
appraisals, title work, surveys and 
attorney fees may not exceed five 
percent of the appraised fair market 
value of the property. 

(C) Architectural and engineering fees 
may not exceed 10 percent of the total 
development cost of the proposed 
project. 

(D) A contingency amount may be 
included in the development cost 
estimates, but may not exceed five 
percent of total development costs. 

(4) PARTF-assisted facilities on school property 
shall not be recreational facilities generally 
provided by the school for the use of their 
students.   

 
Authority G.S. 113-44.15. 
 

 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

 
CHAPTER 08 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina State Board of CPA Examiners intends to 
adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08H .0106; 08M .0105-.0107; 
amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08A .0201, .0301; 08F .0101, 
.0103, .0105, .0110-.0111, .0113, .0504; 08G .0401, .0403-
.0404, .0406, .0409; 08H .0101; 08J .0108, .0110-.0111; 08N 
.0202-.0203, .0205, .0208, .0211, .0302, .0305, .0402 and repeal 
the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08A .0315; 08M .0101-.0104, .0201-
.0202, .0204, .0206-.0207, .0301-.0306, .0401-.0403.  Notice of 
Rule-making Proceedings was published in the Register on June 
17, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 18, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  North Carolina State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 
Oberlin Rd., Raleigh, NC  
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt, amend, and repeal 
language resulting from legislation, changes in the Uniform 
Accountancy Act, changes in the administration of peer review 
and changes for the computer-based Uniform CPA Examination. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Robert N. Brooks, NC State Board of CPA 
Examiners, PO Box 12827, Raleigh, NC 27605-2827, phone 
(919)733-1425, fax (919)733-4209, email 

rnbrooks@bellsouth.net.  Comments will be accepted through 
October 18, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SUBCHAPTER 08A - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 
SECTION .0200 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 
 
21 NCAC 08A .0201 ELECTION OF OFFICERS 
The Board shall annually, prior to August 31 March 31of each 
year, elect a President, Vice-President and Secretary-Treasurer.  
However, in any year when appointments to the Board 
anticipated under the provisions of G.S. 93-12 have not been 
made prior to August 31, the election shall be made at the next 
meeting subsequent to the actual appointments.  The current 
officers, even though their term be expired, shall serve until their 
successors are elected and qualified.  
 
Authority G.S. 93-12. 
 

SECTION .0300 - DEFINITIONS 
 
21 NCAC 08A .0301 DEFINITIONS 
(a)  The definitions set out in G.S. 93-1(a) shall apply when 
those defined terms are used in 21 NCAC 8. 
(b)  In addition to the definitions set out in G.S. 93-1(a), the 
following definitions and other definitions in this Section apply 
when these terms are used in 21 NCAC 8: 

(1) "Active," when used to refer to the status of a 
person, describes a person who possesses a 
North Carolina certificate of qualification and 
who has not otherwise been granted "Retired," 
"Inactive," or "Conditional" status; 

(2) "Agreed upon procedure" means a client has 
engaged a CPA to issue a report of findings 
based on specific procedures performed on 
specific subject matter of specified elements, 
accounts, or accounting information that is 
part of but significantly less than a financial 
statement; 

(3) "AICPA" means the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants; 

(4) "Applicant" means a person who has applied 
to take the CPA examination; 

(5) "Attest service" means: 
(A) any audit; 
(B) any review of a financial statement; 
(C) any compilation of a financial 

statement when the CPA expects, or 
reasonably might expect, that a third 
party will use the compilation and the 
CPA does not disclose a lack of 
independence;  

(D) any examination of prospective 
financial information; and 
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(E)  any agreed upon procedure; 
(6) "Audit" means an examination of financial 

statements of a person by a CPA, conducted in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing 
standards, to determine whether, in the CPA's 
opinion, the statements conform with generally 
accepted accounting principles or, if 
applicable, with another comprehensive basis 
of accounting; 

(7) "Board" means the North Carolina State Board 
of Certified Public Accountant Examiners; 

(8) "Calendar year" means the 12 months 
beginning January 1 and ending December 31; 

(9) "Candidate" means a person whose application 
to take the CPA examination has been 
accepted and who may sit for the CPA 
examination; 

(10) "Client" means a person who orally or in 
writing agrees with a licensee to receive any 
professional services; 

(11) "Commission" means compensation, except a 
referral fee, for recommending or referring any 
product or service to be supplied by another 
person; 

(12) "Compilation of a financial statement" means 
presenting in the form of a financial statement 
information that is the representation of any 
other person without the CPA's undertaking to 
express any assurance on the statement; 

(13) "Conditional," when used to refer to the status 
of a person, describes a person who holds a 
North Carolina certificate of qualification 
under certain conditions as imposed by the 
Board, such as additional requirements for 
failure to complete the required CPE hours in a 
calendar year; 

(14) "Contingent fee" means a fee established for 
the performance of any service pursuant to an 
arrangement in which no fee will be charged 
unless a specified finding or result is attained, 
or in which the amount of the fee is otherwise 
dependent upon the finding or result of such 
service; 

(15) "CPA" means certified public accountant; 
(16) “CPA firm” means a sole proprietorship, a 

partnership, a professional corporation, a 
professional limited liability company, or a 
registered limited liability partnership which 
uses "certified public accountant(s)" or 
"CPA(s)" in or with its name or offers to or 
renders any attest services in the public 
practice of accountancy; 

(17) "CPE" means continuing professional 
education; 

(18) "Disciplinary action" means revocation or 
suspension of, or refusal to grant, membership, 
or the imposition of a reprimand, probation, 
constructive comment, or any other penalty or 
condition; 

(19) "Examination of prospective financial 
information" means an evaluation by a CPA 
of: 
(A) a forecast or projection, 
(B) the support underlying the 

assumptions in the forecast or 
projection, 

(C) whether the presentation of the 
forecast or projection is in conformity 
with AICPA presentation guidelines, 
and 

(D) whether the assumptions in the 
forecast or projection provide a 
reasonable basis for the forecast or 
projection; 

(20) "FASB" means the Financial Accounting 
Standards Board; 

(21) "Forecast" means prospective financial 
statements that present, to the best of the 
responsible party's knowledge and belief, an 
entity's expected financial position, results of 
operations, and changes in financial position 
or cash flows that are based on the responsible 
party's assumptions reflecting conditions it 
expects to exist and the course of action it 
expects to take; 

(22) "GASB" means the Governmental Accounting 
Standards Board; 

(23) "Inactive," when used to refer to the status of a 
person, describes one who has requested 
inactive status and been approved by the 
Board and who does not use the title "certified 
public accountant" nor does he or she allow 
anyone to refer to him or her as a "certified 
public accountant," and neither he or she nor 
anyone else refers to him or her in any 
representation as described in 21 NCAC 08A 
.0308(b). 

(24) "IRS" means the Internal Revenue Service; 
(25) "Jurisdiction" means any state or territory of 

the United States or the District of Columbia; 
(26) "License year" means the 12 months beginning 

July 1 and ending June 30; 
(27) "Member of a CPA firm" means any CPA who 

has an equity ownership interest in a CPA 
firm;  

(28) "NASBA" means the National Association of 
State Boards of Accountancy; 

(29) "NCACPA" means the North Carolina 
Association of Certified Public Accountants; 

(30) "North Carolina office" means any office 
physically located in North Carolina; 

(31) "Participating CPA firm" means a CPA firm 
participating in the SQR program. It does not 
include CPA firms exempt by reason of 21 
NCAC 8M .0102(a) or deemed in compliance 
pursuant  to 21 NCAC 8M .0104; 

(32)(31) "Person" means any natural person, 
corporation, partnership, professional limited 
liability company, registered limited liability 
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partnership, unincorporated association, or 
other entity; 

(33)(32) “Professional” means arising out of or related 
to the particular knowledge or skills associated 
with CPAs; 

(34)(33) "Projection" means prospective financial 
statements that present, to the best of the 
responsible party's knowledge and belief, 
given one or more hypothetical assumptions, 
an entity's expected financial position, results 
of operations, and changes in financial 
position or cash flows that are based on the 
responsible party's assumptions reflecting 
conditions it expects would exist and the 
course of action it expects would be taken 
given such hypothetical assumptions; 

(35)(34) "Referral fee" means compensation for 
recommending or referring any service of a 
CPA to any person; 

(36)(35) "Retired," when used to refer to the status of a 
person, describes one possessing a North 
Carolina certificate of qualification who 
verifies to the Board that the applicant does 
not receive or intend to receive in the future 
any earned compensation for current personal 
services in any job whatsoever and will not 
return to active status. However, retired status 
does not preclude volunteer services for which 
the retired CPA receives no direct nor indirect 
compensation so long as the retired CPA does 
not sign any documents, related to such 
services, as a CPA;   

(37)(36) "Revenue Department" means the North 
Carolina Department of Revenue; 

(38)(37) "Review" means to perform an inquiry and 
analytical procedures that permit a CPA to 
determine whether there is a reasonable basis 
for expressing limited assurance that there are 
no material modifications that should be made 
to financial statements in order for them to be 
in conformity with generally accepted 
accounting principles or, if applicable, with 
another comprehensive basis of accounting;  

(39) "SQR Advisory Committee" means the State 
Quality Review Advisory Committee to the 
Board;  

(40) "SQR Program" means the State Quality 
Review Program of the North Carolina State 
Board of Certified Public Accountant 
Examiners; 

(41) "SQR Review team" means that team of CPAs 
which reviews a CPA firm pursuant to the 
requirements of Subchapter 8M. A review 
team may be comprised of one or more 
members; 

(42) "SQR Review team captain" means that 
member of a review team who is responsible 
for the review and supervises the other 
members of the team;  

(43)(38) "SQR Reviewer" "Reviewer" means a member 
of a review team including the review team 
captain; 

(44)(39) "Suspension" means a revocation for a 
specified period of time. A CPA may be 
reinstated after a specific period of time if the 
CPA has met all conditions imposed by the 
Board at the time of suspension; and 

(45)(40) "Trade name" means a name used to designate 
a business enterprise.  

 
Authority G.S. 93-1; 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08A .0315 NEW CPA FIRM, ONGOING  
CPA FIRM 
(a)  When the members of a CPA firm elect to divide the CPA 
firm such that two or more CPA firms are created, one CPA firm 
may be the ongoing CPA firm and the other CPA firms may be 
new CPA firms, or all may be new CPA firms.  The ongoing 
CPA firm, if any, is the CPA firm the members of which own 
more than 50 percent of the ownership of the predecessor CPA 
firm prior to the division. 
(b)  When two or more CPA firms merge, the resulting CPA 
firm may be an ongoing CPA firm (successor to one of the 
predecessor CPA firms) or it may be a new CPA firm.  The 
resulting CPA firm is an ongoing CPA firm if any percentage of 
ownership greater than 50 percent of one of the predecessor 
CPA firms end up owning a percentage of the resulting CPA 
firm greater than 50 percent. 
(c)  For purposes of this Rule, "percentage of ownership" refers 
to the percentage of the CPA firm owned aggregately by the 
group of CPA firm members in question.  Percentage of 
ownership is determined based upon the number of shares held 
by the group if the CPA firm is a professional corporation or a 
professional limited liability company, or, if the CPA firm is a 
partnership or registered limited liability partnership, the 
percentage of capital owned by the group. 
(d)  A change in an entity's form (for example, incorporation of 
what was a partnership) does not create a new CPA firm. 
(e)  A new CPA firm is not created by the addition of a 
member(s) not acquiring a percentage of ownership greater than 
50 percent.  Neither is a new CPA firm created by the loss of a 
member(s) by retirement or death, provided the remaining 
members have purchased or are purchasing the retired or 
deceased members' ownership, regardless of whether the retired 
or deceased member(s) owned more than 50 percent of the CPA 
firm. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-1; 93-12(8c). 
 
SUBCHAPTER 08F - REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED 

PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINATION AND 
CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
21 NCAC 08F .0101 TIME AND PLACE OF CPA  
EXAMINATIONS 
(a)  The Board shall hold the CPA examination twice a year. 
(b)  Ordinarily the CPA examination shall be held in May and 
November; however, the place or places in North Carolina 
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where it is to be held and the exact dates of it shall be designated 
by the Board. 
(c)  The Board shall announce the time and place for holding 
each CPA examination at least 60 days prior to the date thereof. 
(d)  Effective with the administration of the computer-based 
CPA Examination, the CPA Examination will be available at 
sites, dates and times designated by the Board.  
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(4). 
 
21 NCAC 08F .0103 FILING OF EXAMINATIO N  
APPLICATIONS AND FEES 
(a)  All applications for CPA examinations shall be filed with the 
Board, accompanied by the examination fee. The Board sets the 
fee for each examination at the amount that enables the Board to 
recover its costs in administering the examination. If a check or 
credit card authorization fails to clear the bank, the application 
shall be deemed incomplete and returned. 
(b)  Completed initial applications shall be postmarked with 
proper postage not later than the last day of January for the 
spring examination and not later than the last day of July for the 
fall examination. Completed re -exam applications shall be 
postmarked with proper postage not later than the last day of 
February for the spring examination and not later than the last 
day of August for the fall examination. If one of those dates falls 
on a weekend or federal holiday, the application shall be 
postmarked or received in the Board office on the next business 
day. Only a U.S. Postal Service cancellation shall be considered 
as the postmark. If an application is sent to the Board office via a 
private delivery service, the date the package is received by the 
delivery service shall be considered as the postmark. 
(c)  The initial application filed to take the examination shall 
include supporting documentation demonstrating that all legal 
requirements have been met, such as: 

(1) minimum legal age; 
(2) education; 
(3) experience, if required in order to qualify for 

the examination; and 
(4) good moral character. 
(5) Any person born outside the United States 

shall furnish to the Board office evidence of 
citizenship; evidence of resident alien status; 
or 
(A) other bona fide evidence that the 

applicant is legally allowed to remain 
in the United States for the purposes 
of becoming a U.S. citizen; or 

(B) a notarized affidavit of intention to 
become a U.S. citizen; or 

(C) evidence that the applicant is a citizen 
of a foreign jurisdiction which 
extends to citizens of this state like or 
similar privileges to be examined. 

(d)  Official transcripts (originals – not photocopies) signed by 
the college registrar and bearing the college seal are required to 
prove education and degree requirements. A letter from the 
college registrar of the school may be filed as documentation 
that the applicant has met the graduation requirements if the 
degree has not been awarded and posted to the transcript. 
However, no examination grades shall be released until an 
official transcript is filed confirming the information supplied in 

the college registrar's letter. All applicants submitting transcripts 
from foreign schools for consideration of degree and of meeting 
accountancy course requirements shall have had the transcript(s) 
evaluated by Foreign Academic Credential Service, Inc. (FACS) 
or a comparable educational evaluation service. Applicants shall 
determine that their transcripts contain all information required 
by these Rules. 
(e)  If experience is required to qualify for examination, 
affidavits shall be prepared and signed by employers on forms 
supplied by the Board. 
(f)  In order to document good moral character as required by 
Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule, three certificates of good moral 
character signed by persons not related by blood or marriage to 
the applicant shall accompany the application. 
(g)  All applications for re-examination shall be accompanied by 
three new certificates of moral character. No additional 
statements and affidavits regarding experience and education 
shall be required for applications for re -exa mination. 
(h)  An applicant shall include as part of any application for the 
CPA examination a statement of explanation and a certified copy 
of court records if the applicant has been convicted or found 
guilty of or pleaded nolo contendere to any felony, or to any 
other criminal offense of which an essential element is: 

(1) dishonesty, deceit, or fraud; 
(2) violation of a federal or state tax law; or 
(3) commission of any act or conduct discreditable 

to the accountancy profession in violation of 
the Rules of Professional Ethics and Conduct 
for Certified Public Accountants, unless such 
information has been furnished in a previous 
application filed with the Board. 

(i)  If an applicant has been denied any license by any state or 
federal agency, the applicant shall include as part of the 
application for the CPA examination a statement explaining such 
denial. An applicant shall include a statement of explanation and 
a certified copy of applicable license records if the applicant has 
been registered with or licensed by a state or federal agency and 
has been disciplined by that agency. 
(j)  Two recent identical photographs shall accompany the 
application for the CPA examination. These photographs shall 
have been taken within the last six months. The photographs 
shall be of the applicant alone, 2x2 inches in size, with an image 
size from the bottom of the chin to the top of the head, including 
hair, of between 1 and 1-3/8 inches. Photographs shall be clear, 
front view, full face, taken in normal street attire without a hat or 
dark glasses, and printed on thin paper with a plain light 
background. They shall be capable of withstanding a mounting 
temperature of 225 degrees Fahrenheit (107 degrees Celsius). 
They may be in black and white or in color. Snapshots, most 
vending-machine prints, and magazine or full-length 
photographs are unacceptable. Photographs retouched so that the 
applicant's appearance is changed are unacceptable. Applicants 
shall write their names on the back of their photos. 
(k)  If an applicant's name has legally changed and is different 
from the name on any transcript or other document supplied to 
the Board, the applicant shall furnish copies of the documents 
legally authorizing the name change. 
(l)  Effective with the administration of the computer-based CPA 
Examination, candidates shall file initial and re-exam 
applications to sit for the CPA Examination. 
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(m)   Effective with the administration of the computer-based 
CPA Examination, examination fees will be valid for a six-
month period from the date of the notice to schedule. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-12(5). 
 
21 NCAC 08F .0105 CONDITIONING  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Passing Grades. A candidate shall be required to pass all 
sections of the examination with a grade of 75 or higher. 
(b)  Conditional Credit. If a candidate does not pass all of the 
sections in one sitting, conditional credit may be retained for 
passed sections subject to the following: 

(1) No conditional credit may be retained until the 
candidate has first passed at least two sections 
in one sitting;  

(2) To receive conditional credit for any section 
the candidate must sit for and make a grade of 
at least 50 on all unpassed sections; and 

(3) The conditional credit is good through the six 
succeeding times the exam is offered by the 
Board. 

(c)  Military Service. A candidate who was or is in active 
military service after receiving conditional credit shall have only 
those exams for which that candidate applied and was approved 
during active military service counted as succeeding 
examinations. 
(d)  A candidate who has conditional credit prior to January 1, 
1997, may continue to apply to sit for the examination as long as 
the conditional credit is valid. A candidate who no longer has 
valid conditional credit after January 1, 1997, shall be required 
to meet all education requirements in effect at the time of their 
subsequent application. 
(e)  Effective with the administration of the computer-based 
CPA Examination, a candidate is subject to the following 
requirements: 

(1) A candidate shall be required to obtain a 
minimum score on each section designated as 
passing by the AICPA and the Board;  

(2) A candidate may sit for any section of the 
examination individually;  

(3) A candidate may sit for any section of the 
examination up to four times during a one-year 
period but not more than one time in a three-
month period; 

(4) A candidate shall receive conditional credit on 
the passage of his or her first section(s) of the 
examination; such credit(s) shall be valid for 
an 18-month period which begins on the date 
the first section(s) passed is taken; and 

(5) A candidate having earned conditional credits 
on the paper-and-pencil CPA Examination has 
until October 31, 2005, or 18 months after 
administration of the last paper-and-pencil 
examination to pass the remaining section(s) 
before the credits earned under the paper-and-
pencil examination expire. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5). 
 
21 NCAC 08F .0110 PROCTORING OTHER  

JURISDICTIONS’ CANDIDATES 
(a)  As a courtesy to other state accountancy jurisdiction boards, 
and on their behalf, this Board shall proctor, in North Carolina, 
candidates taking the CPA examination. The following 
procedures shall be followed by persons desiring to be proctored 
in this state. 
(b)  A request for proctoring shall be on a form provided by the 
Board and shall contain evidence from the home state 
accountancy jurisdiction board that it has approved the 
candidate's examination application and the proctoring request. 
(c)  The request for proctoring form shall be delivered to the 
Board office not later than April 1 for the May CPA examination 
and not later than October 1 for the November CPA 
examination. 
(d)  The approval of the proctoring request shall be at the 
discretion of the Board and is not promised to any applicant. 
Factors considered in the decision shall include, but not be 
limited to, space availability, reasons for the proctoring request, 
date the application was received, reasons for any previous 
proctoring requests, and any special circumstances requested by 
the home state accountancy jurisdiction board or applicant. 
(e)  Effective with the administration of the computer-based 
CPA Examination, the Board shall have the discretion to limit 
other jurisdictions' candidates from testing in any testing center 
in North Carolina. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12. 
 
21 NCAC 08F .0111 INELIGIBILITY DUE TO   
VIOLATION OF ACCOUNTANCY ACT 
(a)  A person may not be eligible to take the CPA examination or 
receive the North Carolina certificate of qualification as a CPA 
if the Board determines that the person has engaged in conduct 
that would constitute a violation of G.S. 93 or the Rules of 
Professional Ethics and Conduct. 
(b)  Any individual found to have engaged in conduct which 
subverts, or attempts to subvert the CPA Examination process 
may, at the discretion of the Board, have his or her scores on the 
examination withheld and/or declared invalid, be disqualified 
from holding the CPA certification and may be subject to the 
imposition of other appropriate sanctions. 
(c)  Conduct which subverts or attempts to subvert the 
examination process includes but is not limited to: 

(1) conduct which violates the standard of the test 
administration such as communicating with 
any other examinee during the administration 
of the examination; 

(2) having in one's possession during the 
administration of the examination any books, 
notes, written or printed material, or data of 
any other kind, other than the distributed 
examination materials; 

(3) failure to cooperate with testing officials;  
(4) conduct which violates the credentialing 

process, such as falsifying or misrepresenting 
educational credentials or other information 
required for admission to the examination, 
impersonating an examinee, or having an 
impersonator take the examination on 
another's behalf; 
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(5) conduct which violates the nondisclosure 
prohibitions of the examination or aiding or 
abetting another in doing so; and 

(6) retaking or attempting to retake an 
examination section by an individual holding a 
valid CPA certificate in this State or a 
candidate who has unexpired credit for having 
already passed the same examination section 
unless directed to do so by the Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(5); 93-12(9). 
 
21 NCAC 08F .0113 CANDIDATE'S REQUEST TO  
REVIEW CPA EXAMINATION 
The Board shall allow a North Carolina candidate the privilege 
to review the Uniform his or her CPA Examination.Examination 
within 60 days after the release of the grades in question.  The 
request for a review must be made no later than sixty (60) days 
after the uniform national grade release date of the examination 
in question. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12. 
 
SECTION .0500 - APPLICATIONS FOR CERTIFICATES  

 
21 NCAC 08F .0504 CANDIDATES' ACCOUNTANCY  
LAW COURSE REQUIREMENT 
(a)  Within one year prior to applying for certification, all 
candidates for original or reciprocal certification must pass an 
open book examination on the North Carolina Accountancy 
Statutes and Rules, including the Rules of Professional Ethics 
and Conduct contained therein. 
(b)  In lieu of taking the examination, a candidate may complete 
an eight-hour CPE course on the subject of the examination 
within one year prior to applying for the CPA certificate. Such 
course or examination must meet the requirements of 21 NCAC 
08G .0404(a). This course may count toward the candidate's 
annual CPE requirement. 
(c)  A non-resident candidate for a reciprocal application must 
comply with Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule within 120 days of 
receiving his or her CPA certificate or the certificate shall expire 
and the individual shall reinstate the certificate pursuant to 21 
NCAC 8J .0106. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8a). 
 

SUBCHAPTER 08G - CONTINUING PROFESSIO NAL 
EDUCATION (CPE) 

 
SECTION .0400 - CPE REQUIREMENTS 

 
21 NCAC 08G .0401 CPE REQUIREMENTS FOR  
CPAS 
(a)  In order for a CPA to receive CPE credit for a course: 

(1) the CPA must attend or complete the course; 
(2) the course must meet the requirements set out 

in 21 NCAC 08G .0404(a) or (d); (c); and 
(3) the course must increase the professional 

competency of the CPA. 
(b)  The Board approves registers sponsors of CPE courses . and 
not particular courses. A CPE course provided by an approved a 

registered sponsor is presumed to meet the CPE requirements set 
forth in 21 NCAC 8G .0404(a) if the sponsor has indicated that 
the course meets those requirements. However, it is up to the 
individual CPAs attending the course and desiring to claim CPE 
credit for it to assess whether it increases their professional 
competency. 
(c)  A course that increases the professional competency of a 
CPA is a course in an area of accounting in which the CPA 
practices or is planning to practice in the near future, or in the 
area of professional ethics or an area related to the profession, 
and is taught at a level which challenges the CPA. 
(d)  Because of differences in the education and experience of 
CPAs, a course may contribute to the professional competence 
of one CPA but not another. Each CPA must therefore exercise 
judgment in selecting courses for which CPE credit is claimed 
and choose only those that contribute to that CPA's professional 
competence. 
(e)  Active CPAs must complete 40 CPE hours, computed in 
accordance with 21 NCAC 08G .0409 by December 31 of each 
year, except as follows: 

(1) CPAs having certificate applications approved 
by the Board in April-June must complete 30 
CPE hours during the same calendar year. 

(2) CPAs having certificate applications approved 
by the Board in July-September must complete 
20 CPE hours during the same calendar year. 

(3) CPAs having certificate applications approved 
by the Board in October-December must 
complete 10 CPE hours during the same 
calendar year. 

(f)  There are no CPE requirements for retired or inactive CPAs. 
(g)  Any CPE hours completed during the calendar year in which 
the certificate is approved may be used for that year's 
requirement even if the hours were completed before the 
certificate was granted. When a CPA has completed more than 
the required number of hours of CPE in any one calendar year, 
the extra hours, not in excess of 20 hours, may be carried 
forward and treated as hours earned in the following year.  A 
CPA may not claim CPE credit for courses taken in any year 
prior to the year of certification. 
(h)  Any CPE hours used to satisfy the requirements for change 
of status as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0105, for reinstatement as 
set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106, or for application for a new 
certificate as set forth in 21 NCAC 08I. 0104 may also be used 
to satisfy the annual CPE requirement set forth in Paragraph (e) 
of this Rule. 
(i)  It is the CPA's responsibility to maintain records 
substantiating the CPE credits claimed for the current year and 
for each of the four calendar years prior to the current year. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 
 
21 NCAC 08G .0403 QUALIFICATION OF CPE  
SPONSORS 
(a)  The Board approves registers sponsors of CPE courses and 
not particular courses. The Board will maintain a list of sponsors 
which have agreed to conduct programs in accordance with the 
standards for CPE set forth in 21 NCAC 08G .0404. Such 
sponsors shall indicate their agreement by signing a CPE 
program sponsor agreement form provided by the Board. These 
sponsors are approved registered sponsors. 
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(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, sponsors of 
continuing education programs which are listed in good standing 
on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors maintained by the 
NASBA are also approved considered to be registered CPE 
sponsors. sponsors with the Board. These sponsors, however, do 
not have to are not required to sign a CPE program sponsor 
agreement form with this Board. 
(c)  The CPE Advisory Committee to the Board may give its 
opinion to an approved sponsor of whether a particular course 
would contribute to the professional competence of some, if not 
all, CPAs or the course meets the requirements of 21 NCAC 8G 
.0404(a). If the sponsor disagrees with the committee's opinion, 
the sponsor may request a declaratory ruling from the Board. 
The committee's opinion is advisory only and is not binding on 
the Board. 
(d)(c) In the CPE program sponsor agreement with the Board, 
the approved registered sponsor will agree to: 

(1) allow the Board to audit courses offered by the 
sponsor in order to determine if the sponsor is 
complying with the terms of the agreement; 
agreement and shall refund the registration fee 
if requested; 

(2) have an individual who did not prepare the 
course review each course to be sure it meets 
the standards in this Rule; 

(3) state the following in every brochure or other 
publication or announcement concerning a 
course: 
(A) the general content of the course and 

the specific knowledge or skill taught 
in the course; 

(B) any prerequisites for the course and 
any advance preparation; preparation 
required for the course and if none, 
that should be stated; 

(C) the level of the course, such as basic, 
intermediate, or advanced; 

(D) the teaching methods to be used in 
the course; 

(E)  the amount of recommended CPE 
credit a CPA who takes the course 
could claim; and 

(F) the date the course is offered, if the 
course is offered only on a certain 
date, and, if applicable, the location; 

(4) ensure that the instructors or presenters of the 
course are qualified to teach the subject matter 
of the course and to apply the instructional 
techniques used in the course; 

(5) evaluate the performance of an instructor or 
presenter of a course to determine whether the 
instructor or presenter is suited to serve as an 
instructor or presenter in the future; 

(6) encourage participation in a course only by 
those who have the appropriate education and 
experience; 

(7) distribute course materials to participants in a 
timely manner; 

(8) use physical facilities for conducting the 
course that are consistent with the instructional 
techniques used; 

(9) assign accurately the number of CPE credits 
each participant may be eligible to receive by 
either: 
(A) monitoring attendance at a group 

course; or 
(B) testing in order to determine if the 

participant has appropriately learned 
the material presented; 

(10) provide, before the course's conclusion, an 
opportunity for the attendees to evaluate the 
quality of the course by questionnaires, oral 
feedback, or other means, in order to 
determine whether the course's objectives have 
been met, its prerequisites were necessary or 
desirable, the facilities used were satisfactory, 
and the course content was appropriate for the 
level of the course; 

(11) inform instructors and presenters of the results 
of the evaluation of their performance; 

(12) systematically review the evaluation process to 
ensure its effectiveness; 

(13) retain for five years from the date of the course 
presentation or completion: 
(A) a record of participants completing 

course credit requirements; 
(B) an outline of the course (or 

equivalent); 
(C) the date and location of presentation; 
(D) the participant evaluations or 

summaries of evaluations; 
(E)  the documentation of the instructor's 

qualifications; and 
(F) the number of contact hours 

recommended for each participant; 
(14) have a visible, continuous and identifiable 

contact person who is charged with the 
administration of the sponsor's CPE programs 
and has the responsibility and is accountable 
for assuring and demonstrating compliance 
with these rules by the sponsor or by any other 
organization working with the sponsor for the 
development, distribution and/or presentation 
of CPE courses; 

(15) develop and promulgate policies and 
procedures for the management of grievances 
including, but not limited to, tuition and fee 
refunds; 

(16) possess a budget and resources that are 
adequate for the activities undertaken and their 
continued improvement; and 

(17) provide persons completing course 
requirements with written proof of completion 
indicating the participant's name, the name of 
the course, the date the course was held or 
completed, the sponsor's name and address, 
and the number of CPE hours calculated and 
recommended in accordance with 21 NCAC 
08G .0409. 

(e)(d) Failure of an approved a registered sponsor to comply 
with the terms of the CPE program sponsor agreement shall be 
grounds for the Board to terminate the agreement, to remove the 
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approved registered sponsor's name from the list of approved 
registered sponsors and to notify the public of this action.  
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 
 
21 NCAC 08G .0404 REQUIREMENTS FOR CPE  
CREDIT 
(a)  A CPA shall not be granted CPE credit for a course unless 
the course: 

(1) is in one of the six fields of study recognized 
by the Board and set forth in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule; 

(2) is actually developed by an individual who has 
education and work experience in the subject 
matter of the course; and 

(3) uses instructional techniques and materials that 
are current and accurate. 

(b)  The six fields of study recognized by the Board are based on 
the subject areas that are set forth in the AICPA National CPE 
Curriculum. The six fields are accounting and auditing, 
consulting services, management, personal development, 
specialized knowledge and applications, and taxation. 

(1) The accounting and auditing field of study 
includes accounting and financial reporting 
subjects, the body of knowledge dealing with 
recent pronouncements of authoritative 
accounting principles issued by the 
standard-setting bodies, and any other related 
subject generally classified within the 
accounting discipline. It also includes auditing 
subjects related to the examination of financial 
statements, operations systems, and programs; 
the review of internal and management 
controls; and the reporting on the results of 
audit findings, compilation, and review. 

(2) The consulting services field of study deals 
with all consulting services provided by 
professional accountants —management, 
business, personal, and other. It includes 
management consulting services and personal 
financial planning services. This field also 
covers an organization's various systems, the 
services provided by consultant practitioners, 
and the engagement management techniques 
that are typically used. An organization's 
systems include those dealing with planning, 
organizing, and controlling any phase of 
individual financial activity and business 
activity. Services provided encompass those 
for management, such as designing, 
implementing, and evaluating operating 
systems for organizations, as well as business 
consulting services and personal financial 
planning. 

(3) The management field of study considers the 
management needs of individuals primarily in 
public practice, industry, and government. 
Some subjects concentrate on the practice 
management area of the public practitioner, 
such as organizational structures, marketing 
services, human resource management, and 

administrative practices. For individuals in 
industry, there are subjects dealing with the 
financia l management of the organization, 
including information systems, budgeting, and 
asset management, as well as items covering 
management planning, buying and selling 
businesses, contracting for goods and services, 
and foreign operations. For CPAs in 
government, this curriculum embraces 
budgeting, cost analysis, human resource 
management, and financial management in 
state and local governmental entities. In 
general, the emphasis in this field is on the 
specific management needs of CPAs and not 
on general management skills. 

(4) The personal development field of study 
includes becoming a competent people 
manager, which covers such skills as 
communications, managing the group process, 
and dealing effectively with others in 
interviewing, counseling, and career planning. 
Public relations and professional ethics are 
also treated. 

(5) The specialized knowledge and applications 
field of study treats subjects related to 
specialized industries, such as not-for-profit 
organizations, health care, and oil and gas. An 
industry is defined as specialized if it has 
unusual: 
(A) forms of organization; 
(B) economic structure; 
(C) sources of financing; 
(D) statutory or regulatory requirements; 
(E)  marketing or distribution; 
(F) terminology;  
(G) technology;  
(H) accounting principles and practices; 
(I) tax problems; 
(J) consulting services required; or 
(K) audit issues. 

(6) The taxation field of study includes subjects 
dealing with tax compliance and tax planning. 
Compliance covers tax return preparation and 
review and IRS examinations, ruling requests, 
and protests. Tax planning focuses on applying 
tax rules to prospective transactions and 
understanding the tax implications of unusual 
or complex transactions. Recognizing 
alternative tax treatments and advising the 
client on tax saving opportunities are also part 
of tax planning. 

(c)  In addition to courses sponsored by approved sponsors, the 
The following may qualify as acceptable types of continuing 
education programs, provided the programs comply with the 
requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(1) professional development programs of national 
and state accounting organizations; 

(2) technical sessions at meetings of national and 
state accounting organizations and their 
chapters; 
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(3) courses taken at regionally accredited colleges 
and universities; 

(4) educational programs that are designed and 
intended for continuing professional education 
activity conducted within an association of 
accounting firms; and 

(5) correspondence courses that are designed and 
intended for continuing professional education 
activity. A CPA may claim credit for a course 
offered by a non-approved –registered sponsor 
provided that the course meets the 
requirements of 21 NCAC 08G .0403(d)(c), 
08G .0404, and 21 NCAC 08G .0409. The 
CPA shall maintain documentation proving 
that the course met these standards. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, CPE credit may 
be granted for teaching a CPE course or authoring a publication 
as long as the preparation to teach or write increased the CPA's 
professional competency and was in one of the six fields of 
study recognized by the Board and set forth in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule. 
(e)  CPE credit shall not be granted for a self-study course if the 
material that the CPA must study to take the examination is  not 
designed for CPE purposes. This includes periodicals, guides, 
magazines, subscription services, books, reference manuals and 
supplements which contain an examination to test the 
comprehension of the material read. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 
 
21 NCAC 08G .0406 COMPLIANCE WITH CPE  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  All active CPAs shall file with the Board a completed CPE 
reporting form by the July 1 renewal date of each year. 
(b)  If a CPA fails to complete the CPE requirements prior to the 
end of the previous calendar year but the CPA has completed 
them by June 30, the Board may, in its discretion: 

(1) change the CPA's status from active to 
conditional, require the payment of a civil 
penalty of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and 
may impose any conditions that the Board 
considers appropriate in the circumstances, as 
a penalty for the first such failure within a five 
calendar year period; 

(2) place the CPA on conditional status again and 
require the payment of a civil penalty of one 
two hundred fifty dollars ($100.00) ($250.00) 
for the second such failure within a five 
calendar year period; and 

(3) deny the renewal of the CPA's certificate for a 
period of not less than 30 days and until the 
CPA meets the reinstatement requirements set 
forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106 for the third such 
failure within a five calendar year period. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 93-12(9)(e). 
 
21 NCAC 08G .0409 COMPUTATION OF CPE  
CREDITS 
(a)  Group Courses: Non-College. CPE credit for a group course 
that is not part of a college curriculum shall be given based on 

contact hours. A contact hour shall be 50 minutes of instruction.  
One-half credits shall be equal to 25 minutes after the first credit 
hour has been earned in a formal learning activity.  Credit shall 
be granted only for full contact hours. For example, a group 
course lasting 100 minutes shall be two contact hours and thus 
two CPE credits, and a credits.  A group course lasting between 
50 and 100 75 minutes shall be only one and one-half contact 
hour hours and thus only one and one-half CPE credit. credits.  
When individual segments of a group course shall be less than 
50 minutes, the sum of the individual segments shall be added to 
determine the number of contact hours. For example, five 30-
minute presentations shall be 150 minutes, which shall be three 
contact hours and three CPE credits. No credit shall be allowed 
for a segment unless the participant completes the entire 
segment. 
(b) Completing a College Course. CPE credit for completing a 
college course in the college curriculum shall be granted based 
on the number of credit hours the college gives the CPA for 
completing the course. One semester hour of college credit shall 
be 15 CPE credits; one quarter hour of college credit shall be ten 
CPE credits; and one continuing education unit (CEU) shall be 
ten CPE credits. If a college course does not carry credit, CPE 
credit for the course shall be based on the number of contact 
hours of the course using the formula set out in Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule. However, under no circumstances shall CPE credit be 
given to a CPA who audits a college course. 
(c)  Self Study. CPE credit for a self-study course shall be given 
based on the average number of contact hours needed to 
complete the course. One-half of the The average completion 
time shall be allowed for CPE credit. A sponsor must determine, 
on the basis of pre-tests, the average number of contact hours it 
takes to complete a course.  CPE credit for self-study courses 
shall be limited to no more than 50 percent of a CPA's required 
CPE credits for a year. 
(d)  Instructing a CPE Course. CPE credit for teaching or 
presenting a CPE course for CPAs shall be given based on the 
number of contact hours spent in preparing and presenting the 
course. No more than 50 percent of the CPE credits required for 
a year shall be credits for preparing for and presenting a course. 
CPE credit for preparing for and presenting a course shall be 
allowed only once a year for a course presented more than once 
in the same year by the same CPA. 
(e)  Authoring a Publication. CPE credit for published articles 
and books shall be given based on the number of contact hours 
the CPA spent writing the article or book. No more than 25 
percent of a CPA's required CPE credits for a year shall be 
credits for published articles or books. 
(f)  Instructing a College Course. CPE credit for instructing a 
graduate level college course shall be given based on the number 
of credit hours the college gives a student for successfully 
completing the course, using the calculation set forth in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Credit shall not be given for 
instructing an undergraduate level course. In addition, no more 
than 50 percent of the CPE credits required for a year shall be 
credits for instructing a college course and, if CPE credit shall 
also be claimed under Paragraph (d) of this Rule, no more than 
50 percent of the CPE credits required for a year shall be credits 
claimed under Paragraph (d) and this Paragraph. CPE credit for 
instructing a college course shall be allowed only once for a 
course presented more than once in the same year by the same 
CPA. 
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(g)  Interactive Self-Study. CPE credit for interactive self-study 
shall be based on a program designed to use interactive learning 
methodologies that simulate a classroom learning process by 
employing computer software, other course material, or 
administrative systems that provide significant ongoing, 
interactive feedback to the learner regarding their learning 
progress. The sponsor must determine the CPE credit to be 
allowed based on the average number of contact hours needed to 
complete the course. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 
 

SUBCHAPTER 08H – RECIPROCITY 
 
21 NCAC 08H .0101 RECIPROCAL CERTIFICATES 
(a)  A person from another jurisdiction who desires to offer or 
render professional services as a CPA to his or her emp loyer or a 
client in this state shall meet all the requirements imposed on an 
applicant under G.S. 93-12(5) or the requirements of G.S. 93-
12(6). 
(b)  The fee for a reciprocal certificate shall be the maximum 
amount allowed by G.S. 93-12(7a). 
(c)  An applicant for a reciprocal certificate shall meet the 
following requirements: 

(1) The applicant has the legal authority to use the 
CPA title and to practice public accountancy 
in a jurisdiction. 

(2) The applicant has received a passing score of 
at least 75 on each part of the Uniform CPA 
Examination. 

(d)  An applicant applying for a reciprocal certificate under G.S. 
93-12(6) must meet the following requirements which the Board 
considers to be substantially equivalent to those of G.S. 93-
12(5): 

(1) The applicant shall have 150 semester hours of 
college or university education including a 
bachelors or higher degree with a 
concentration in accounting and other courses 
that the Board may require from a college or 
university that is acceptable to the Board and 
one year of experience in the field of 
accounting verified by a certified public 
accountant who was the applicant's direct 
supervisor; or 

(2) The applicant: 
(A) within 10 years immediately 

preceding the filing date of the 
application, has had four two years of 
experience in the field of accounting 
under the direct supervision of a CPA 
who held a valid license during the 
period of direct supervision in any 
state or territory of the United States 
or the District of Columbia; or 

(B) has 10 eight years of experience in  
the field of accounting, or 10 eight 
years of experience teaching 
accounting as defined and calculated 
in 21 NCAC 08F .0409, or any 
combination of such experience 
earned within the 12 years 

immediately preceding the filing date 
of the application; and 

(3) During the two years preceding the applicant's 
filing date for a reciprocal certificate, the 
applicant has completed 80 hours of CPE in 
courses meeting the requirements of 21 NCAC 
08G .0401(a). However, an applicant who 
received his or her initial CPA license within 
four years from the filing date of the 
application for a reciprocal certificate is 
exempt from this CPE requirement. 

(e)  An applicant for change in status, reissuance, or 
reinstatement of a reciprocal certificate that was inactive, 
forfeited, or retired more than 10 years before the date of 
reapplication, must comply with all current requirements for a 
reciprocal certificate. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(6); 93-12(7a). 
 
21 NCAC 08H .0106 NON-RESIDENT  
NOTIFICATION 
(a)  An individual whose principal place of business is outside 
this State must notify the Board that he or she intends to perform 
or offers to perform services in this State as a CPA and such 
notification shall be made on a form supplied by the Board no 
later than 30 days after the intent to perform or offer to perform 
services. 
(b)  Notification to the Board will be valid until December 31 of 
each year at which time the individual must renew his or her 
notification within 30 days or his or her privilege to perform or 
offer to perform services in this state as a CPA is terminated. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-10. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 08J - RENEWALS AND 
REGISTRATIONS 

 
21 NCAC 08J .0108 CPA FIRM REGISTRATION 
(a)  All CPA firms shall register with the Board within 30 days 
after opening a North Carolina office or beginning a new CPA 
firm unless they are a professional corporation, professional 
limited liability company, or registered limited liability 
partnership, in which case they shall register prior to formation 
pursuant to 21 NCAC 08K .0104 and .0301. 
(b)  In addition to the initial registration required by Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule, all CPA firms shall register annually by January 
31 with the Board upon forms provided by the Board. 
(c)  The information provided by the registration shall include: 

(1) Either an application for exemption from SQR, 
peer review, a request to be deemed in 
compliance with SQR peer review or 
registration for SQR, peer review, pursuant to 
21 NCAC 08M .0102 and .0104; .0105; 

(2) For all CPA firms not exempt from the SQR 
peer review program, with the registration 
immediately following its review, the affidavit 
information required by 21 NCAC 08M 
.0102(d); .0106(a); 

(3) For all North Carolina offices, an office 
registration form indicating the name of the 
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office supervisor, the location of the office and 
its telephone number; 

(4) For all partnerships or registered limited 
liability partnerships, a list of all resident and 
nonresident partners of the partnership; 

(5) For all professional limited liability 
companies, the information set forth in 21 
NCAC 08K .0104(d); 

(6) For all incorporated CPA firms, the 
information set forth in 21 NCAC 08K 
.0104(d);  

(7) For all CPA firms, the appropriate registration 
fees as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0110; and 

(8) For all new CPA firms, the percentage of 
ownership held individually by each owner 
who has five percent or more of ownership: 
(A) in the new CPA firm; and 
(B) at the year-end in each CPA firm in 

which that owner was an owner 
during the preceding two years. 

(9) For all changes in ownership of a CPA firm, 
the percentage of ownership held individually 
by each owner who has five percent or more of 
ownership. 

(d)  All information provided for registration with the Board 
shall pertain to events of and action taken during the year 
preceding the year of registration. The last day of the preceding 
calendar year is the "year-end". 
(e)  With regard to Paragraph (c)(3) of this Rule, one 
representative of a CPA firm may file all documents with the 
Board on behalf of the CPA firm's offices in North Carolina. 
However, responsibility for compliance with this Rule shall 
remain with each office supervisor. 
(f)  With regard to Paragraph (c)(4) or (c)(5) of this Rule, one 
annual listing by a representative of the partnership, registered 
limited liability partnership, or professional limited liability 
company shall satisfy the requirement for all owners of the CPA 
firm. However, each owner shall remain responsible for 
compliance with this Rule. The absence of a filing under 
Paragraph (c)(4) or (c)(5) of this Rule shall be construed to mean 
that no partnership, registered limited liability partnership, or 
professional limited liability company exists. 
(g)  Notice that a CPA firm has dissolved or any change in the 
information required by Paragraph (c)(3) of this Rule shall be 
delivered to the Board's office within 30 days after the change or 
dissolution occurs. A professional corporation or professional 
limited liability company which is dissolving shall deliver the 
Articles of Dissolution to the Board's office within 30 days of 
filing with the Office of the Secretary of State. 
(h)  Upon written petition by a CPA firm, the Board may, in its 
discretion, grant the CPA firm a conditional registration for a 
period of 60 days or less, if the CPA firm shows that 
circumstances beyond its control prohibited it from registering 
with the Board, completing a quality review or notifying the 
Board of change or dissolution pursuant to Paragraphs (a), (b), 
(c), and (g) of this Rule. The Board may grant a second 
extension under continued extenuating circumstances. 
(i)  A complete registration, as required by 21 NCAC 08J 
.0108(b) and (c), shall be postmarked with proper postage not 
later than the last day of January unless that date falls on a 
weekend or federal holiday, in which case the registration shall 

be postmarked or received in the Board office on the next 
business day. Only a U.S. Postal Service cancellation shall be 
considered as the postmark. If a registration is sent to the Board 
office via a private delivery service, the date the package is 
received by the delivery service shall be considered as the 
postmark. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-12; 57C-1; 57C-2; 59-84.2. 
 
21 NCAC 08J .0110 REGISTRATION FEES  
The annual registration fees shall be as follows: 

(1) For participation within SQR or for a request 
to be deemed in compliance with SQR, 
seventy-five dollars ($75.00) plus five dollars 
($5.00) for each additional North Carolina 
office of the CPA firm not excused from SQR 
by 21 NCAC 8M .0204; 

(2)(1) For all professional corporations or 
professional limited liability companies, 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00); and 

(3)(2) For all non-incorporated CPA firms which 
have offices both within and outside the state 
of North Carolina, whether sole 
proprietorships, partnerships, or registered 
limited liability partnerships, an amount equal 
to two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2,500.00) or the number of CPA members of 
the CPA firm multiplied by ten dollars 
($10.00), whichever is less. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-11; 55B-12; 57C-1; 57C-2; 59-84.2. 
 
21 NCAC 08J .0111 COMPLIANCE WITH CPA FIRM  
REGISTRATION 
If a CPA firm fails to comply with any part of 21 NCAC 08J 
.0108, or 08J .0110, or 8M .0102, the Board may take 
disciplinary action against the CPA firm's members. Such 
discipline may include: 

(1) a conditional license upon such conditions as 
the Board may deem appropriate for non-
compliance of less than 60 days; 

(2) a conditional license and one hundred dollar 
($100.00) civil penalty for non-compliance in 
excess of 60 days but not more than 120 days; 

(3) a suspension of each member's CPA certificate 
for a period of not less than 30 days for non-
compliance in excess of 120 days. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-1; 57C-2; 59-84.2. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 08M - STATE QUALITY REVIEW  
PROGRAM 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL SQR REQUIREMENTS 

 
21 NCAC 08M .0101 PURPOSE 
The Board has adopted a state quality review (SQR) program to 
help CPA professionals in the public practice of accountancy 
maintain the quality of their audits, reviews, compilations, and 
agreed upon procedures.  
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Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0102 REGISTRATION  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  A CPA firm which has not performed any audits, reviews, 
compilations, or agreed upon procedures during the 12 months 
prior to the year-end of the registration required by 21 NCAC 8J 
.0108(a) and (b) shall be exempt from the SQR program for the 
12 months following the year-end but not from registering with 
the Board. 
(b)  Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each 
ongoing CPA firm shall complete an SQR within 24 months 
following the year-end of each registration unless it has 
completed an SQR within 24 months prior to the year-end. 
(c)  Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a new CPA 
firm shall complete its initial SQR within 24 months of the date 
of its initial registration pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0108(a). 
(d)  Every CPA firm not exempt from SQR by Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule, after completion of a quality review, shall procure a 
statement signed by the review team captain, a statement signed 
by a member of the CPA firm being reviewed, or letter of 
acceptance from an approved review program, stating that the 
CPA firm has completed an SQR or one of the review programs 
listed or referred to in 21 NCAC 8M .0104.  The CPA firm shall 
submit the statement or documentation with the annual 
registration following the review as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J 
.0108(c)(2). 
(e)  For purposes of this Rule, an SQR is complete when the 
review team has delivered its report required by 21 NCAC 8M 
.0306 to the reviewed CPA firm.  Any quality review other than 
SQR is complete when the review team has delivered its final 
report to the reviewed CPA firm.  If mailed, a report shall be 
deemed delivered when postmarked. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(7b); 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0103 PROHIBITION OF ABUSE 
CPA firms shall not rearrange their structure or act in any other 
manner with the intent to avoid participation in SQR. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0104 CPA FIRMS DEEMED IN  
COMPLIANCE 
(a)  CPA firms which have participated in one of the review 
programs set forth in either Paragraph (b) of this Rule or the list 
referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, rather than SQR, within 
the applicable time period prescribed by 21 NCAC 8M .0102(b) 
and (c) are deemed to be in compliance with the SQR program. 
(b)  The following quality review programs are found by the 
Board to be of the type required by the Board in its SQR 
program: 

(1) AICPA Division for CPA Firms SEC Practice 
Section, and 

(2) AICPA Peer Review Program. 
(c)  Other quality review programs may be of the type required 
by the Board in its SQR program, which is equivalent to the 
guidelines of the AICPA Peer Review Program.  A list of such 
programs will be maintained at the Board offices and mailed to 
any CPA firm upon request. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 93-12(8c), a CPA firm which contemplates 
undergoing a quality review program other than the SQR 
program or those listed or referred to in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 
this Rule may request a determination from the Board whether 
the quality review program is of the type required by the Board 
in the SQR program, which is equivalent to the guidelines of the 
AICPA Peer Review Program.  The CPA firm shall supply all 
information requested of it by the Board and, within two months 
of the month all information requested has been received by the 
Board, the Board shall make its determination and notify the 
CPA firm. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c)(e). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0105 PEER REVIEW  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  A CPA or CPA firm providing any of the following services 
to the public shall participate in an approved peer review 
program: 

(1) Audits; 
(2) Reviews of financial statements; 
(3) Compilations of financial statements; 
(4) Examinations of prospective financial 

statements; 
(5) Compilations of prospective financial 

statements; 
(6) Agreed-upon procedures of prospective 

financial statements; 
(7) Examination of written assertions; and 
(8) Agreed-upon procedures of written assertions. 

(b)  A CPA or CPA firm not providing any of the services listed 
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule is exempt from peer review until 
the issuance of the first report provided to a client. 
(c)  A CPA, a new CPA firm or a CPA firm exempt from peer 
review now providing any of the services in Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule shall furnish to the peer review program their first peer 
review report, the letter of comments, the letter of response, and 
any work papers required for the peer review program within 24 
months of the issuance of the first report provided to a client.  
(d)  Participation in and completion of one of the following peer 
review programs is required: 

(1) AICPA Division for CPA Firms SEC Practice 
Section; 

(2) AICPA Peer Review Program;  
(3) NCACPA Peer Review Program; and 
(4) Any other peer review program approved in 

advance by the Board. 
(e)  CPA firms shall not rearrange their structure or act in any 
manner with the intent to avoid participation in peer review. 
(f)  A CPA firm which does not have offices in North Carolina 
and which has not provided any services as listed in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule to North Carolina clients is not required to 
participate in a peer review program. 
(g)  Subsequent peer reviews of a CPA firm are due three years 
and six months from the year end of the 12 month period of the 
first peer review unless granted an extension by the peer review 
program and this Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(7b); 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0106 COMPLIANCE 
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(a)  A CPA firm registered for peer review shall provide to the 
Board the following: 

(1) Peer review due date; 
(2) Year end date; 
(3) Final Letter of Acceptance from peer review 

program within 60 days of the date of the 
letter; and 

(4) A package to include the Peer Review Report, 
Letter of Comments, Letter of Response and 
Final Letter of Acceptance for all modified 
and adverse reports issued by a peer review 
program within 60 days of the date of the Final 
Letter of Acceptance. 

(b)  A peer review is not complete until the Final Letter of 
Acceptance is issued by the peer review program with the new 
due date. 
(c)  If a CPA firm fails to comply with 21 NCAC 08M 
.0105(c)(d)(g), the Board may take disciplinary action against 
the CPA firm's members which may include: 

(1) a conditional license and one hundred dollars 
($100.00) civil penalty upon conditions as the 
Board may deem appropriate for non-
compliance of less than 60 days; 

(2) a conditional license and two hundred fifty 
dollars ($250.00) civil penalty for non-
compliance in excess of 60 days but not more 
than 120 days; and 

(3) a suspension of each member's CPA certificate 
for a period of not less than 30 days and a civil 
penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for 
non-compliance in excess of 120 days. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(7b); 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0107 ETHICAL DUTIES OF  
REVIEWER 
(a)  A reviewer shall be independent with respect to the reviewed 
CPA firm. 
(b)  Independence is imp aired if a reviewer: 

(1) performs a peer review of a CPA firm which 
performed the most recent peer review of the 
reviewer's CPA firm; 

(2) performs a peer review of a CPA firm an 
employee or member of which performed or 
participated in the performance of the most 
recent peer review of the reviewer's CPA firm; 
or 

(3) has any direct or indirect financial interest in a 
reviewed CPA firm's client and reviews 
engagements performed for that client. 

(c)  Paragraph (b) of this Rule does not include all instances 
where a reviewer's independence would be impaired. In 
considering whether independence is impaired, the reviewer 
shall consider the effect of family and other relationships and the 
possible appearance of loss of independence as a result of those 
relationships. 
(d)  A reviewer shall not have a conflict of interest with respect 
to the reviewed CPA firm or the clients whose engagements are 
selected for review. 

(e)  A reviewer shall avoid contacts with the reviewed CPA 
firm's clients or personnel that could be asserted to be evidence 
of a conflict of interest. 
(f)  Information concerning the participating CPA firm or its 
clients or personnel that is obtained as a consequence of the 
review is confidential and must not be disclosed to anyone not 
involved in the peer review process. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(7b); 93-12(8c). 
 

SECTION .0200 - DUTIES OF THE REVIEWED FIRM 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0201 SELECTION OF  
ENGAGEMENTS TO BE REVIEWED 
(a)  Each office of the reviewed CPA firm not excused under 21 
NCAC 8M .0204 shall select a set of engagements to be 
submitted for review as required by the programs listed in 21 
NCAC 8M .0104(b)(1) and (2). 
(b)  A set of engagements for review shall include the 
accountant's report and financial statements for one audit, one 
review, one compilation, and one agreed upon procedure, if 
these levels of service have been performed by the office within 
the 12 months preceding the year-end.   If one or more levels of 
service have not been performed, the office shall select reports 
of the next highest level of service for reports required to be 
submitted.  If, of the levels of service, only compilations have 
been performed by the office, the set of engagements shall 
include at least one compilation report on a complete set of 
financial statements which includes disclosures and one 
compilation report on a financial statement where management 
has elected to omit substantially all of the disclosures normally 
required by generally accepted accounting principles set forth in 
21 NCAC 8N .0209, if both types of compilations are 
performed. 
(c)  The set of engagements, if possible, shall include clients 
operating in different industries.  For example, submission of 
one governmental audit, one manufacturing review and one 
contractor compilation would satisfy this requirement. 
(d)  If a CPA firm to be reviewed does a governmental audit, at 
least one shall be included in the set of engagements. 
(e)  An office of the reviewed CPA firm not participating in the 
programs listed in 21 NCAC 8M .0104(b)(1) and (2) shall select 
a set of engagements to be submitted for review as required by 
the applicable AICPA Peer Review Program. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0202 NOTICE TO CLIENTS 
The participating CPA firm may advise its clients that it will 
participate in a quality review required by the Board and that the 
client's accounting or auditing work may be part of the review 
process.  
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0204 CERTAIN OFFICES EXCUSED 
The following offices of participating CPA firms are not 
required to partic ipate in the SQR program: 

(1) offices which are not North Carolina offices, 
and which have not performed any audits, 
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reviews, compilations, or agreed upon 
procedures for clients in North Carolina; and 

(2) North Carolina offices which have not 
performed any audits, reviews, compilations, 
or agreed upon procedures for the 12 months 
prior to the year-end set forth in 21 NCAC 8J 
.0108. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0206 SELECTION OF A REVIEW  
TEAM 
(a)  A participating CPA firm shall select the review team which 
will perform the CPA firm's SQR.  
(b)  The participating CPA firm shall see that the review team is 
qualified under 21 NCAC 8M .0301 and engaged to perform the 
review in accordance with the standards for the performance of 
SQR set forth in 21 NCAC 8M .0302B.0306. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0207 DUTY TO RESPOND TO  
QUESTIONS 
(a)  The participating CPA firm shall respond promptly to 
questions raised during the review process by any member of the 
review team, whether oral or written. 
(b)  The participating CPA firm shall respond in writing to 
questions raised by the SQR report required by 21 NCAC 8M 
.0306 within 30 days from the date the report is delivered to it.  
The letter of response shall be addressed to the SQR Committee 
and a copy sent to the review team captain. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 

SECTION .0300 - REVIEW TEAM: QUALIFICATIONS 
AND DUTIES 

 
21 NCAC 08M .0301 QUALIFICATIONS OF  
REVIEWERS AND TEAM CAPTAINS 
(a)  A reviewer must be a CPA on active status licensed in any 
state of the United States, be in good standing with the CPA 
boards by which (s)he is licensed to practice public accounting, 
possess current knowledge of the code of professional ethics and 
conduct, and possess current knowledge of the accounting and 
auditing standards applicable to the engagements to be reviewed 
by him/her.  However, (s)he need not possess knowledge of the 
applicable accounting and auditing standards with regard to 
every engagement involved in the review, unless (s)he is the 
only member of a review team. 
(b)  A reviewer shall not have been disciplined for violation of 
21 NCAC 8N .0202 or .0408 within the five years preceding the 
date the review engagement is entered. 
(c)  The review team captain: 

(1) must have five years' experience or more as a 
CPA in the accounting and auditing function; 

(2) must be a member or employee of a CPA firm 
which has completed an SQR or other quality 
review listed or referred to in 21 NCAC 8M 
.0104 within the last three years but which has 
not received an adverse report on its most 
recent quality review; 

(3) must be a manager (or the equivalent) within 
his/her CPA firm; and 

(4) must have day-to-day involvement in auditing 
and accounting procedures which is 
sufficiently comprehensive to enable him/her 
to perform and oversee the SQR with 
professional expertise. 

 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0302 INDEPENDENCE FROM A  
REVIEWED CPA FIRM 
(a)  A reviewer shall be independent with respect to the reviewed 
CPA firm. 
(b)  Independence is impaired if a reviewer: 

(1) performs an SQR of a CPA firm which 
performed the most recent quality review of 
the reviewer's CPA firm;  

(2) performs an SQR of a CPA firm an employee 
or member of which performed or participated 
in the performance of the most recent quality 
review of the reviewer's CPA firm; or 

(3) has any direct or indirect financial interest in a 
reviewed CPA firm's client and reviews 
engagements performed for that client. 

(c)  Paragraph (b) of this Rule does not include all instances 
where a reviewer's independence would be impaired.  In 
considering whether independence is impaired, the reviewer 
shall consider the effect of family and other relationships and the 
possible appearance of loss of independence as a result of those 
relationships. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0303 CONFLICT OF INTEREST 
(a)  A reviewer shall not have a conflict of interest with respect 
to the reviewed CPA firm or the clients whose engagements are 
selected for review. 
(b)  A reviewer shall avoid contacts with the reviewed CPA 
firm's clients or personnel that could be asserted to be evidence 
of a conflict of interest. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0304 PERFORMING THE REVIEW –  
REVIEWER'S DUTIES  
(a)  The objective of the review shall be to determine that the 
financial statements and related accountant's report on the audit, 
review or compilation engagements submitted for review do not 
depart in a material respect from the requirements of 
professional standards set forth in 21 NCAC 8N .0209B.0211, 
.0304, and .0403B.0406. 
(b)  The review team shall read the financial statements 
submitted by the participating CPA firm and the accountant's 
audit, review or compilation report thereon. 
(c)  The review team must determine whether each of the 
accountant's report and financial statements conform with the 
applicable professional standards set forth in 21 NCAC 8N 
.0209B.0211, .0304, and .0403B.0406. 
(d)  Before issuing its SQR report pursuant to 21 NCAC 8M 
.0306, the review team may raise questions with the participating 
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CPA firm either orally or in written form to resolve questions 
which come to their attention during a review. 
(e)  The review team shall document the work performed using 
programs and checklists which provide a reasonable basis for 
their SQR report. 
(f)  A review team shall not issue an SQR report, pursuant to 21 
NCAC 8M .0306, unless it has complied with the applicable 
review standards and requirements. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0305 CONFIDENTIALITY 
Information concerning the participating CPA firm or its clients 
or personnel that is obtained as a consequence of the review is 
confidential and must not be disclosed to anyone not involved in 
the SQR process. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0306 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  The review team shall deliver an SQR report and the 
statement required by 21 NCAC 8M .0102(d) to the participating 
CPA firm within 60 days after all of the engagements which are 
to be reviewed have been delivered to it.  Beginning January 1, 
1996, the review team shall also deliver its SQR report to the 
SQR Advisory Committee by the same date. 
(b)  The SQR report and a letter of comment, if any, shall be 
written and issued on the letterhead of the team captain's CPA 
firm and shall either be unmodified, modified, or adverse. 
(c)  It is suggested that a letter of comment be issued if the report 
is modified or adverse.  A letter of comment, if issued, shall 
provide reasonably detailed recommendations for remedial, 
corrective actions by the participating CPA firm so that the SQR 
Committee can evaluate whether the CPA firm's response to 
significant deficiencies noted in the review is a positive one, 
consistent with the objectives of the SQR program, and whether 
the actions taken or planned by the participating CPA firm 
appear appropriate in the circumstances. 
(d)  The SQR report shall describe the limited scope of the 
review and shall not express an opinion or any form of assurance 
about the reviewed CPA firm's quality control policies and 
procedures for its accounting practice.  It shall state whether 
anything came to the attention of the review team which caused 
them to believe that any of the engagements submitted for 
review did not conform with the requirements of professional 
standards in all material respects and, if applicable, describe the 
general nature of significant departures from those standards. 
(e)  An unmodified report includes the review team's conclusion 
that nothing came to its attention that caused its members to 
believe that the engagements submitted for review did not 
conform with the requirements of professional standards in all 
material respects. 
(f)  A modified report includes the review team's conclusion that 
nothing came to its attention that caused its members to believe 
that the engagements submitted for review did not conform with 
the requirements of professional standards in all material 
respects with the exception of certain reservations which are 
noted in the report. 
(g)  An adverse report includes the review team's conclusion that 
the participating CPA firm did not have reasonable assurance of 

conforming with professional standards in the conduct of its 
accounting practice during the year under review. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(8c). 
 

SECTION .0400 - SQR ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0401 SQR ADVISORY COMMITTEE –   
MEMBERS AND DUTIES 
(a)  The SQR Advisory Committee shall consist of six CPAs 
appointed by the Board and one Board member appointed by the 
Board's President. 
(b)  The SQR Committee shall: 

(1) beginning January 1, 1996, review all 
modified and adverse SQR reports and letters 
of comments, if any, submitted by review team 
captains under the SQR program;  

(2) consider all objections filed pursuant to 21 
NCAC 8M .0402(a); and 

(3) make recommendations to the Board 
consistent with these Rules concerning each of 
Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this Rule. 

(c)  Prior to making any recommendations to the Board, the 
Committee shall give notice of its proposed recommendation to 
the CPA firm to which the recommendation pertains. 
(d)  The Committee shall also recommend remedial action to 
participating CPA firms receiving modified or adverse reports 
which, if followed, could increase the participating CPA firm's 
ability to perform quality services in the public practice of 
accounting. 
(e)  The Committee shall report at least annually to the Board on 
its activities and, further, at any time the Board requests a special 
report. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(2); 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0402 OBJECTIONS TO SQR  
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
(a)  A participating CPA firm may file an objection with the 
SQR Advisory Committee with regard to an SQR report within 
30 days from the date the report is delivered pursuant to 21 
NCAC 8M .0306(a).  In any other matter before the Committee, 
a CPA firm to which a proposed recommendation pertains may 
file an objection within 30 days from notice of the Committee's 
recommendation. 
(b)  All objections shall be in writing and shall be addressed to 
the Committee at the Board's address set forth in 21 NCAC 8A 
.0102.  Objections are filed when received by the Board. 
(c)  An objection concerning an SQR report shall contain: 

(1) the name of the reviewed CPA firm;  
(2) the name of the review team captain; 
(3) the date the review was completed; 
(4) the conclusions made in the report to which 

the participating CPA firm objects; and 
(5) in sufficient detail, the participating CPA 

firm's reasons for objecting to the report's 
conclusions. 

(d)  Objections to proposed recommendations of the Committee 
shall identify the proposed recommendation and shall state the 
CPA firm's reasons for disagreeing with the Committee's 
proposed recommendation in sufficient detail. 
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Authority G.S. 93-12(2); 93-12(8c). 
 
21 NCAC 08M .0403 REVIEW OF PROTEST 
(a)  Within 60 days of receiving an objection from a CPA firm, 
the SQR Advisory Committee shall render its determination in 
response to the objection.  It may, in its discretion, propose to 
recommend to the Board that the SQR report be amended or 
alter the recommendation it has proposed to make to the Board. 
(b)  During its review of any matter raised by an objection, the 
SQR Advisory Committee may gather information (including 
any review team's work papers, checklists, and all other 
information submitted to a review team by a participating CPA 
firm) and conduct interviews, including interviews of members 
of a review team or the objecting CPA firm. 
(c)  If the CPA firm and the Committee are unable to resolve the 
matter informally, the Committee shall submit its 
recommendation to the Board with notice to the objecting CPA 
firm.  The objecting CPA firm then has 30 days from such notice 
to object to such recommendation by filing an objection with the 
Board.  The objection shall comply with the requirements of 21 
NCAC 8M .0402(d) and is filed when received by the Board. 
(d)  The Board shall review the recommendation of the 
Committee and the objection and then, if the matter is not 
resolved informally, the Board or the CPA firm may set the 
matter for hearing pursuant to Article 3A of G.S. 150B. 
 
Authority G.S. 93-12(2); 93-12(8c); 150B-2(2); 150B-41(c). 
 

SUBCHAPTER 08N - PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND 
CONDUCT 

 
SECTION .0200 - RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL CPAS 

 
21 NCAC 08N .0202 DECEPTIVE CONDUCT  
PROHIBITED 
(a)  Deception Defined. A CPA shall not engage in deceptive 
conduct. Deception includes fraud or misrepresentation and 
representations or omissions which a CPA either knows or 
should know have a capacity or tendency to deceive. Deceptive 
conduct is prohibited whether or not anyone has been actually 
deceived. Deception includes not only deceptive statements but 
also includes the knowing failure to disclose material facts. 
(b)  Prohibited Deception. Prohibited conduct under this Section 
includes but is not limited to deception in:  

(1) obtaining or maintaining employment;  
(2) obtaining or keeping clients;  
(3) obtaining or maintaining certification, retired 

status, or exemption from SQR; peer review; 
(4) reporting CPE credits;  
(5) certifying the character or experience of exam 

or certificate applicants;  
(6) implying abilities not supported by valid 

education, professional attainments, or 
licensing recognition;  

(7) asserting that services or products sold in 
connection with use of the CPA title are of a 
particular quality or standard when they are 
not;  

(8) creating false or unjustified expectations of 
favorable results;  

(9) using or permitting another to use the CPA 
title in a form of business not permitted by the 
accountancy laws or rules; 

(10) permitting anyone not certified in this state 
(including one licensed in another state) to 
unlawfully use the CPA title in this state or to 
unlawfully operate as a CPA firm in this state; 
or 

(11) falsifying a review, report, or any required 
program or checklist of any qualitypeer review 
program. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 
21 NCAC 08N .0203 DISCREDITABLE CONDUCT  
PROHIBITED 
(a)  Discreditable Conduct. A CPA shall not engage in conduct 
discreditable to the accounting profession. 
(b)  Prohibited Discreditable Conduct. Discreditable conduct 
includes but is not limited to: 

(1) acts that reflect adversely on the CPA's 
honesty, integrity, trustworthiness, good moral 
character, or fitness as a CPA in other 
respects; 

(2) stating or implying an ability to improperly 
influence a governmental agency or official; or 

(3) failing to comply with any order issued by the 
Board. Board; or 

(4) failing to fulfill the terms of a peer review 
engagement contract. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 
21 NCAC 08N .0205 CONFIDENTIALITY 
(a)  Nondisclosure. A CPA shall not disclose any confidential 
information obtained in the course of employment or a 
professional engagement except with the consent of the 
employer or client.  
(b)  Exceptions. This Rule shall not be construed:  

(1) to relieve a CPA of any report obligations 
pertaining to Section .0400 of this Subchapter; 
or  

(2) to affect in any way the CPA's compliance 
with a validly issued subpoena or summons 
enforceable by this Board or by order of a 
court; or  

(3) to preclude the CPA from responding to any 
inquiry made by the AICPA Ethics Division or 
Trial Board, by a duly constituted investigative 
or disciplinary body of a state CPA society, or 
under state statutes; or  

(4) to preclude the disclosure of to disclose 
confidential client information necessary for 
the SQR peer review process or for any quality 
review program. program; or 

(5) to preclude the CPA from assisting the Board 
in enforcing the accountancy statutes and 
rules. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9).  
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21 NCAC 08N .0208 REPORTING CONVICTIONS,  
JUDGMENTS, AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
(a)  Criminal Actions. A CPA shall notify the Board within 30 
days of any conviction or finding of guilt of, or pleading of nolo 
contendere to:  

(1) a felony; or  
(2) any crime an essential element of which is 

dishonesty, deceit, fraud, a violation of federal 
or state tax law, or a violation of the rules of 
Professional Ethics and Conduct contained in 
this Subchapter.  

(b)  Civil Actions. A CPA shall notify the Board within 30 days 
of any judgment or settlement in a civil suit, bankruptcy action, 
administrative proceeding, or binding arbitration, the basis of 
which is grounded upon an allegation of professional negligence, 
gross negligence, dishonesty, fraud, misrepresentation, 
incompetence, or violation of any federal or state tax law and 
which was brought against either the CPA or a North Carolina 
office of a CPA firm of which the CPA was a managing partner. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 
21 NCAC 08N .0211 RESPONSIBILITIES  IN TAX  
PRACTICE 
(a)  Standards for Tax Services. A CPA shall not render services 
in the area of taxation unless the CPA has complied with the 
standards for tax services.  
(b)  Statements on Responsibilities Standards for Tax Services. 
The Statements on Responsibilities in Tax Practice Standards for 
Tax Services issued by the AICPA, including subsequent 
amendments and editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as 
provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, and shall be considered as the 
approved standards for tax services for the purposes of 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.  
(c)  Departures. Departures from the statements listed in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule must be justified by those who do not 
follow them.  
(d)  Copies of Standards. Copies of the Statements of 
Responsibilities in Tax Practice on Standards for Tax Services 
may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as described in 21 
NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be obtained from the AICPA, 
1211 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10036 as part of 
the "AICPA Professional Standards.” They are available at cost, 
which is approximately twenty-eight dollars ($28.00) in 
paperback form or two hundred dollars ($200.00) in looseleaf 
subscription form. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 

SECTION .0300 - RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL CPAS 
WHO USE THE CPA TITLE IN OFFERING OR 

RENDERING PRODUCTS OR SERVICES TO CLIENTS 
 
21 NCAC 08N .0302 FORMS OF PRACTICE 
(a)  Authorized Forms of Practice. A CPA who uses CPA in or 
with the name of the business or offers or renders attest services 
in the public practice of accountancy to clients shall do so only 
through a duly authorized sole proprietorship, partnership, 
Professional Corporation, Professional Limited Liability 
Company, or Registered Limited Liability Partnership.  

(b)  Authorized Ownership. A CPA firm may have a minority 
ownership of up to 49 percent owned by non-CPAs. non-CPAs 
with the exception of Professional Corporations organized under 
G.S. 55B or Professional Limited Liability Companies organized 
under G.S. 57C which shall not have any non-CPA ownership. A 
CPA firm shall have majority ownership of at least 51 percent 
and be controlled in law and fact by holders of valid CPA 
certificates who have the unrestricted privilege to use the CPA 
title and to practice public accountancy in a jurisdiction and at 
least one whom shall be licensed by this Board. 
(c)  CPA Firm Registration Required. A CPA shall not offer or 
render professional services through a CPA firm which is in 
violation of the registration requirements of 21 NCAC 08J 
.0108, 08J .0110, or 08M .0102. .0101. 
(d)  Supervision of CPA Firms. Every North Carolina office of a 
CPA firm registered in North Carolina shall be actively and 
locally supervised by a designated actively licensed North 
Carolina CPA whose primary responsibility and a corresponding 
amount of time shall be work performed in that office.  
(e)  CPA Firm Requirements for Non-CPA Ownership. A CPA 
firm and its designated supervising CPA partner shall be held 
accountable for the following in regard to a non-CPA owner: 

(1) a non-CPA owner shall be a natural person or 
a general partnership or limited liability 
partnership directly owned by natural persons; 

(2) a non-CPA owner shall actively participate in 
the business of the firm or an affiliated entity 
as his or her principal occupation; 

(3) a non-CPA owner shall comply with all 
applicable accountancy statutes and the 
administrative code; 

(4) a non-CPA owner shall be of good moral 
character and shall be dismissed and 
disqualified from ownership for any conduct 
that, if committed by a licensee, would result 
in a discipline pursuant to G.S. 93-12(9); 

(5) a non-CPA owner shall report his or her name, 
home address, home phone number, and social 
security number on the CPA firm's 
registration; and  

(6) a non-CPA owner's name may not be used in 
the name of the CPA firm or held out to clients 
or the public that implies the non-CPA owner 
is a CPA. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9).  
 
21 NCAC 08N .0305 RETENTION OF CLIENT  
RECORDS 
(a)  Return upon Demand. A CPA must return client records in 
his or her possession to the client after a demand is made for 
their return. If the client is a partnership, records shall be 
returned upon request to any of its general partners. If the client 
is a limited partnership or a registered limited liability 
partnership, records shall be returned upon request to the general 
partner(s) and the managing partner or his or her designated 
individual respectively.  If the client is a corporation, records 
shall be returned upon request to its president. If the client is a 
limited liability company, records shall be returned upon request 
to the manager.  Joint records shall be returned upon request to 
any party. The records must be returned immediately upon 
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demand unless circumstances make some delay reasonable in 
order to retrieve a closed file or to extract the CPA's work papers 
described in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. If the records cannot be 
returned immediately upon demand, the CPA shall immediately 
notify the client of the date the records will be returned. Nothing 
in this Rule shall be interpreted to require a CPA to pay delivery 
costs when the records are returned to the client and the business 
does not sell or serve to the CPAs. 
(b)  Return of Original Records. If a CPA is engaged to perform 
certain work for a client, the CPA is only required to return or 
furnish copies of those records originally given to the CPA by 
the client if one of the following occurs:  

(1) the engagement is terminated prior to the 
completion of such work, or  

(2) the CPA's work product has neither been 
received nor paid for by the client. 

(c)  Retention to Force Payment. A CPA shall not retain a 
client's records in order to force payment of any kind. 
(d)  Work Papers Included in Client Records. Work papers are 
usually the CPA's property and need not be surrendered to the 
client. However, in some instances  work papers will contain data 
which should properly be reflected in the client's books and 
records but for convenience have not been duplicated therein 
with the result that the client's records are incomplete. In such 
instances, the portion of the work papers containing such data 
constitutes part of the client's records, and copies shall be given 
to the client along with the rest of the client's records. Work 
papers considered part of the client's records include but are not 
limited to:  

(1) Worksheets in lieu of original entry (e.g., 
listings and distributions of cash receipts or 
cash disbursements on columnar work paper);  

(2) Worksheets in lieu of general ledger or 
subsidiary ledgers, such as accounts 
receivable, job cost and equipment ledgers, or 
similar types of depreciation records;  

(3) All adjusting and closing journal entries and 
supporting details not fully set forth in the 
journal entry; and  

(4) Consolidating or combining journal entries 
and worksheets and supporting detail used in 
arriving at final figures incorporated in an end 
product such as financial statements or tax 
returns.  

(e)  Work Papers Belonging to the CPA. Work papers developed 
by the CPA incident to the performance of an engagement which 
do not result in changes to the client's records, or are not in 
themselves part of the records ordinarily maintained by such 
clients, are solely the CPA's work papers and are not the 
property of the client. For example, the CPA may make 
extensive analyses of inventory or other accounts as part of the 
selective audit procedures. These analyses are considered to be a 
part of the CPA's work papers, even if the analyses have been 
prepared by client personnel at the request of the CPA. Only to 
the extent these analyses result in changes to the client's records 
would the CPA be required to furnish the details  from the work 
papers in support of the journal entries recording the changes, 
unless the journal entries themselves contain all necessary 
details.  
(f)  Reasonable Fees for Copies. Nothing in this Rule shall be 
construed to require the CPA to furnish a client with copies of 

the client's records already in the client's possession. However, if 
the client asserts that such records have been lost, or are 
otherwise not in the client's possession, the CPA shall furnish 
copies of the records within a reasonable t ime for a fee. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 

SECTION .0400 - RULES  APPLICABLE TO CPAS 
PERFORMING ATTEST SERVICES 

 
21 NCAC 08N .0402 INDEPENDENCE 
(a)  A CPA, or the CPA's firm, who is performing an 
engagement in which the CPA, or the CPA's firm, will issue a 
report on financial statements of any client (other than a report in 
which lack of independence is disclosed) must be independent 
with respect to the client in fact and appearance.  
(b)  Independence is shall be considered to be impaired if, for 
example, during the period of the professional engagement, or at 
the time of issuing the report, the CPA or the CPA’s firm: a 
covered individual: 

(1) had or was committed to acquire any direct or 
material indirect financial interest in the client;  

(2) was a trustee of any trust or executor or 
administrator of any estate that had or was 
committed to acquire any direct or material 
indirect financial interest in the client; client; 
and  
(A) The covered individual had the 

authority to make investment 
decisions for the trust or estate; or 

(B) The trust or estate owned more than 
10 percent of the client's outstanding 
equity securities or other ownership 
interests or the value of the trust's or 
estate's holdings in the client 
exceeded ten percent of the total 
assets of the trust or estate; 

(3) had a joint or closely held business investment 
with the client or any officer, director, or 
principal stockholder thereof which that was 
material in relation to the net worth of the 
client, the CPA, or the CPA's firm;  or covered 
individual; or 

(4) had any loan to or from the client or any 
officer, director, or principal stockholder 
thereof other than loans of the following kinds 
made by a financial institution under normal 
lending procedures, terms, and requirements: 
of the client, or any individual owning 10 
percent or more of the client's outstanding 
equity securities or other ownership interests. 
(A) loans obtained by the CPA or the 

CPA’s firm which are not material in 
relation to the net worth of the 
borrower;  

(B) home mortgages; and  
(C) other secured loans, except those 

secured solely by a guarantee of the 
CPA or the CPA’s firm.  

(c)  Independence shall be considered to be impaired if during 
the period of the professional engagement, a shareholder, a 
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member, a partner or professional employee of the firm, his or 
her immediate family, or any group of such persons acting 
together owned more than five percent of a client's outstanding 
equity securities or other ownership interests.  
(c)(d) Independence will also shall be considered to be 
impaired if, during the period covered by the financial 
statements, or during the period of the professional engagement, 
or at the time of issuing the report, the CPA: a shareholder, a 
member, a partner or professional employee of the firm was 
simultaneously associated with the client as a(n):  

(1) was connected with the client as a promoter, 
underwriter, voting trustee, director, Director, 
officer, employee, or in any capacity 
equivalent to that of a member of 
management; management or of an employee; 
or; 

(2) Promoter, underwriter, or voting trustee; or  
(2)(3) was a trustee Trustee for any person pension or 

profit-sharing trust of the client.  
(e)  " Covered person" is: 

(1) A person on the attest engagement team;  
(2) A person in a posit ion to influence the attest 

engagement; 
(3) A partner or manager who provides nonattest 

services to the attest client beginning once he 
or she provides 10 hours of nonattest services 
to the client within any fiscal year and ending 
on the later of the date:  
(A) the firm signs the report on the 

financial statements for the fiscal year 
during which those services were 
provided; or  

(B) he or she no longer expects to provide 
10 or more hours of nonattest services 
to the attest client on a recurring 
basis; 

(4) A partner in the office in which the lead attest 
engagement partner primarily practices in 
connection with the attest engagement; 

(5) The firm, including the firm's employee 
benefit plans; or  

(6) An entity whose operating, financial, or 
accounting policies can be controlled (as 
defined by generally accepted accounting 
principles (GAAP) for consolidation purposes) 
by any of the individuals or entities described 
in Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule or by 
two or more such individuals or entities if they 
act together;  

(d)(f)  The examples in this Rule are not intended to be all-
inclusive. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 12 - LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 
CONTRACTORS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors 

intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 12 .0202, .0503, 
.0701, .0703.  Notice of Rule-making Proceedings was published 
in the Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 9, 2002 
Time:  2:00 p.m. 
Location:  Glenwood Place, 3739 National Dr., Cumberland 
Building, Suite 225, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend licensure 
classification to require an audited financial statement with a 
classified balance sheet for renewal while licensee is in 
bankruptcy; to amend notice requirements for charges of 
improper practice once a charge is referred to the review 
committee; and to clarify that when a license renewal fee is paid 
by a check which is subsequently returned because of insufficient 
funds, license renewal is treated as never having been renewed. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Mark D. Selph, North Carolina Licensing Board for 
General Contractors, PO Box 17187, Raleigh, NC 27619.  
Comments will be accepted through October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State  21 NCAC 12 .0701 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None  21 NCAC 12 .0202, .0503, .0703 

 
SECTION .0200 - LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

 
21 NCAC 12 .0202 CLASSIFICATION 
(a)  A general contractor must be certified in one of five 
classifications.  These classifications are: 

(1) Building Contractor.  This classification 
covers all types of building construction 
activity including but not limited to:  
commercial, industrial, institutional, and all 
types of residential building construction; 
covers parking decks; all site work, grading 
and paving of parking lots, driveways, 
sidewalks, curbs, gutters, and septic water and 
wastewater systems which are ancillary to the 
aforementioned types of construction; 
structures and improvements; and covers the 
work done under the specialty classifications 
of S(Concrete Construction), S(Insulation), 
S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry 
Construction), S(Roofing), S(Metal Erection), 
and S(Swimming Pools). 

(2) Residential Contractor.  This classification 
covers all types of construction activity 
pertaining to the construction of residential 
units which are required to conform to the 
residential building code adopted by the 
Building Code Council pursuant to G.S. 143-
138; covers all site work, driveways, 
sidewalks, and septic water and wastewater 
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systems ancillary to the aforementioned 
construction; structures and improvements and 
covers the work done as part of such 
residential units under the specialty 
classifications of S(Insulation), S(Masonry 
Construction), S(Roofing), and S(Swimming 
Pools). 

(3) Highway Contractor.  This classification 
covers all types of highway construction 
activity including but not limited to:  grading, 
paving of all types, installation of exterior 
artificial athletic surfaces, relocation of public 
and private utility lines ancillary to the 
principal project, bridge construction and 
repair, parking decks, sidewalks, curbs, gutters 
and storm drainage.  Includes installation and 
erection of guard rails, fencing, signage and 
ancillary highway hardware; covers paving 
and grading of airport and airfield runways, 
taxiways, and aprons, including the installation 
of signage, runway lighting and marking; and 
covers work done under the specialty 
classifications of S(Boring and Tunneling), 
S(Concrete Construction), S(Marine 
Construction) and S(Railroad Construction).  
If the contractor limits his activity to grading 
and does no other work described herein, upon 
proper qualification the classification of 
H(Grading and Excavating) may be granted. 

(4) Public Utilities Contractor.  This classification 
includes those whose operations are the 
performance of construction work on septic 
water and wastewater systems and on the 
subclassifications of facilities set forth in G.S. 
87-10(3).  The Board may issue a license to a 
public utilities contractor that is limited to any 
of the subclassifications set forth in G.S. 87-
10(3) for which the contractor qualifies.  
Within appropriate subclassification, a public 
utilities contractor license covers work done 
under the specialty classifications of S(Boring 
and Tunneling), PU(Communications), 
PU(Fuel Distribution), PU(Electrical-Ahead of 
Point of Delivery), and S(Swimming Pools). 

(5) Specialty Contractor.  This classification shall 
embrace that type of construction operation 
and performance of contract work outlined as 
follows: 
(A) H(Grading and Excavating).  Covers 

the digging, moving and placing of 
materials forming the surface of the 
earth, excluding air and water, in such 
a manner that the cut, fill, excavation, 
grade, trench, backfill, or any similar 
operation can be executed with the 
use of hand and power tools and 
machines commonly used for these 
types of digging, moving and material 
placing.  Covers work on earthen 
dams and the use of explosives used 
in connection with all or any part of 

the activities described in this 
Subparagraph.  Also includes clearing 
and grubbing, and erosion control 
activities. 

(B) S(Boring and Tunneling).  Covers the 
construction of underground or 
underwater passageways by digging 
or boring through and under the 
earth's surface including the bracing 
and compacting of such passageways 
to make them safe for the purpose 
intended.  Includes preparation of the 
ground surfaces at points of ingress 
and egress. 

(C) PU(Communications).  Covers the 
installation of the following:  
(i) All types of pole lines, and 

aerial and underground 
distribution cable for 
telephone systems; 

(ii) Aerial and underground 
distribution cable for Cable 
TV and Master Antenna TV 
Systems capable of 
transmitting R.F. signals; 

(iii) Underground conduit and 
communication cable 
including fiber optic cable; 
and 

(iv) Microwave systems and 
towers, including 
foundations and excavations 
where required, when the 
microwave systems are 
being used for the purpose of 
transmitting R.F. signals;  
and installation of PCS or 
cellular telephone towers 
and sites. 

(D) S(Concrete Construction).  Covers 
the construction and installation of 
foundations, pre-cast silos and other 
concrete tanks or receptacles, 
prestressed components, and gunite 
applications, but excludes bridges, 
streets, sidewalks, curbs, gutters, 
driveways, parking lots and 
highways. 

(E)  PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of 
Delivery).  Covers the construction, 
installation, alteration, maintenance 
or repair of an electrical wiring 
system, including sub-stations or 
components thereof, which is or is 
intended to be owned, operated and 
maintained by an electric power 
supplier, such as a public or private 
utility, a utility cooperative, or any 
other properly franchised electric 
power supplier, for the purpose of 
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furnishing electrical services to one or 
more customers. 

(F) PU(Fuel Distribution).  Covers the 
construction, installation, alteration, 
maintenance or repair of systems for 
distribution of petroleum fuels, 
petroleum distillates, natural gas, 
chemicals and slurries through 
pipeline from one station to another. 
Includes all excavating, trenching and 
backfilling in connection therewith.  
Covers the installation, replacement 
and removal of above ground and 
below ground fuel storage tanks. 

(G) PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines). 
Covers construction work on water 
and sewer mains, water service lines, 
and house and building sewer lines as 
defined in the North Carolina State 
Building Code, and covers water 
storage tanks, lift stations, pumping 
stations, and appurtenances to water 
storage tanks, lift stations and 
pumping stations.  Includes pavement 
patching, backfill and erosion control 
as part of such construction. 

(H) PU(Water Purification and Sewage 
Disposal).  Covers the performance of 
construction work on septic water and 
wastewater systems, water and 
wastewater treatment facilities and 
covers all site work, grading, and 
paving of parking lots, driveways, 
sidewalks, and curbs and gutters 
which are ancillary to such 
construction of water and wastewater 
treatment facilities.  Covers the work 
done under the specialty 
classifications of S(Concrete 
Construction), S(Insulation), 
S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry 
Construction), S(Roofing), and 
S(Metal Erection) as part of such 
work on water and wastewater 
treatment facilities. 

(I) S(Insulation).  Covers the installation, 
alteration or repair of materials 
classified as insulating media used for 
the non-mechanical control of 
temperatures in the construction of 
residential and commercial buildings. 
Does not include the insulation of 
mechanical equipment and ancillary 
lines and piping. 

(J) S(Interior Construction).  Covers the 
installation of acoustical ceiling 
systems and panels; drywall partitions 
(load bearing and non-load bearing), 
lathing and plastering, flooring and 
finishing, interior recreational 
surfaces, window and door 

installation, and installation of 
fixtures, cabinets and millwork.  
Includes the removal of asbestos and 
replacement with non-toxic 
substances. 

(K) S(Marine Construction).  Covers all 
marine construction and repair 
activities and all types of marine 
construction in deep-water 
installations and in harbors, inlets, 
sounds, bays, and channels; covers 
dredging, construction and 
installation of pilings, piers, decks, 
slips, docks, and bulkheads.  Does not 
include structures required on docks, 
slips and piers. 

(L)  S(Masonry Construction).  Covers the 
installation, with or without the use of 
mortar or adhesives, of the following: 
(i) Brick, concrete block, 

gypsum partition tile, 
pumice b lock or other 
lightweight and facsimile 
units and products common 
to the masonry industry; 

(ii) Installation of fire clay 
products and refractory 
construction; and 

(iii) Installation of rough cut and 
dressed stone, marble panels 
and slate units, and 
installation of structural 
glazed tile or block, glass 
brick or block, and solar 
screen tile or block. 

(M) S(Railroad Construction).  Covers the 
building, construction and repair of 
railroad lines including: 
(i) The clearing and filling of 

rights-of-way; 
(ii) Shaping, compacting, setting 

and stabilizing of road beds; 
(iii) Setting ties, tie plates, rails, 

rail connectors, frogs, switch 
plates, switches, signal 
markers, retaining walls, 
dikes, fences and gates; and 

(iv) Construction and repair of 
tool sheds and platforms. 

(N) S(Roofing).  Covers the installation 
and repair of roofs and decks on 
residential, commercial, industrial, 
and institutional structures requiring 
materials that form a water-tight and 
weather-resistant surface.  The term 
"materials" shall be defined for 
purposes of this Subparagraph to 
include, among other things, cedar, 
cement, asbestos, clay tile and 
composition shingles, all types of 
metal coverings, wood shakes, single 
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ply and built-up roofing, protective 
and reflective roof and deck coatings, 
sheet metal valleys, flashings, gravel 
stops, gutters and downspouts, and 
bituminous waterproofing. 

(O) S(Metal Erection).  Covers: 
(i) The field fabrication, 

erection, repair and 
alteration of architectural 
and structural shapes, plates, 
tubing, pipe and bars, not 
limited to steel or aluminum, 
that are or may be used as 
structural members for 
buildings, equipment and 
structure; and 

(ii) The layout, assembly and 
erection by welding, bolting 
or riveting such metal 
products as, but not limited 
to, curtain walls, tanks of all 
types, hoppers, structural 
members for buildings, 
towers, stairs, conveyor 
frames, cranes and crane 
runways, canopies, carports, 
guard rails, signs, steel 
scaffolding as a permanent 
structure, rigging, flagpoles, 
fences, steel and aluminum 
siding, bleachers, fire  
escapes, and seating for 
stadiums, arenas, and 
auditoriums. 

(P) S(Swimming Pools).  Covers the 
construction, service and repair of all 
swimming pools.  Includes: 
(i) Excavation and grading; 
(ii) Construction of concrete, 

gunite, and plastic-type 
pools, pool decks, and 
walkways, and tiling and 
coping; and 

(iii) Installation of all equipment 
including pumps, filters and 
chemical feeders.  Does not 
include direct connections to 
a sanitary sewer system or to 
portable water lines, nor the 
grounding and bonding of 
any metal surfaces or the 
making of any electrical 
connections. 

(Q) S(Asbestos).  This classification 
covers renovation or demolition 
activities involving the repair, 
maintenance, removal, isolation, 
encapsulation, or enclosure of 
Regulated Asbestos Containing 
Materials (RACM) for any 
commercial, industrial, or 

institutional building, whether public 
or private.  It also covers all types of 
residential building construction 
involving RACM during renovation 
or demolition activit ies. 

(b)  An applicant may be licensed in more than one classification 
of general contracting provided the applicant meets the 
qualifications for the classifications, which includes passing the 
examination for the classifications in question.  The license 
granted to an applicant who meets the qualifications for all 
classifications will carry with it a designation of "unclassified." 
 
Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10. 
 

SECTION .0500 - LICENSE 
 
21 NCAC 12 .0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE  
(a)  Form. An application for renewal requires the holder of a 
valid license to set forth whether there were any changes made 
in the status of the licensee's business during the preceding year 
and also requires the holder to give a financial statement for the 
business in question. The financial statement need not be 
prepared by a certified public accountant or by a qualified 
independent accountant but may be completed by the holder of a 
license on the form itself. However, the Board may require a 
license holder to submit an audited financial statement if there is 
any evidence indicating that the license holder may be unable to 
meet h is financial obligations. Except as provided herein, 
evidence of financial responsibility shall be subject to approval 
by the Board in accordance with the requirements of Rule .0204 
of this Chapter. A licensee may be required to provide evidence 
of continued financial responsibility satisfactory to the Board 
should circumstances render such evidence necessary, and shall 
provide the Board with a copy of any bankruptcy petition filed 
by the licensee within 30 days of its filing.  A licensee in 
bankruptcy shall provide to the Board an audited financial 
statement with a classified balance sheet as part of any 
application for renewal. 
(b) Display. The certificate of renewal of license granted by the 
Board, containing the signatures of the Chairman and the 
Secretary-Treasurer, must be displayed at all times by the 
licensee at his place of business. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10. 
 

SECTION .0700 - BOARD DISCIPLINARY 
PROCEDURES 

 
21 NCAC 12 .0701 IMPROPER PRACTICE  
(a)  Preferring Charges. Any person who believes that any 
licensed general contractor is in violation of the provisions of 
G.S. 87-11 may prefer charges against that person or corporation 
by setting forth in writing those charges and swearing to their 
authenticity. The charges are to be filed with the Secretary-
Treasurer of the Board at the Board's address in Rule .0101 of 
this Chapter. 
(b)  Preliminary or Threshold Determination. 

(1) A charge, properly filed, is initially referred to 
the review committee. 

(2) The review committee is a committee made up 
of the following individuals: 
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(A) one member of the Board; and 
(B) the legal counsel of the Board; and 
(C) the Secretary-Treasurer. 

(3) The review committee is specifically delegated 
the responsibility of determining, prior to a 
full-scale hearing, whether or not a charge is 
unfounded or trivial. The decision of the 
review committee is final. 

(4) Once a charge is referred to the review 
committee, a written notice of and detailed 
explanation of the charge is forwarded to the 
person or corporation against whom the charge 
is made and a response is requested of the 
person or corporation so charged to show 
compliance with all lawful requirements for 
retention of the license. Notice of the charge 
and of the alleged facts or alleged conduct 
shall be given personally or by registered mail, 
return receipt requested. by first class mail to 
the last known address of the person or 
corporation. 

(5) If the respondent denies the charge brought 
against him, then, in the sole discretion of the 
review committee, a field investigation may be 
performed by an investigator retained by the 
Board. 

(6) After all preliminary evidence has been 
received by the review committee, it makes a 
threshold determination of the charges 
brought. From the evidence, it recommends to 
the Board that: 
(A) The charge be dismissed as 

unfounded or trivial;  
(B) When the charge is admitted as true 

by the respondent, the Board accept 
the respondent's admission of guilt 
and order the respondent not to 
commit in the future the specific act 
or acts admitted by him to have been 
violated and, also, not to violate any 
of the acts of misconduct specified in 
G.S. 87-11 at any time in the future; 
or 

(C) The charge, whether admitted or 
denied, be presented to the full Board 
for a hearing and determination by 
the Board on the merits of the charge 
in accordance with the substantive 
and procedural requirements of the 
provisions of Section .0800 of this  
Chapter and the provisions of G.S. 
87-11. 

(7) Notice of the threshold determination of the 
review committee shall be given to the party 
against whom the charges have been brought 
and the party preferring the charge within ten 
days of the review committee's decision. 
Though it is not forbidden to do so, the review 
committee is not required to notify the parties 
of the reasons of the review committee in 
making its threshold determination. 

(c)  Board Determination. The Board, in its discretion, may 
choose to hold a hearing on the merits of any disputed charge. 
After a hearing, in accordance with the hearing requirements of 
Section .0800 of this Chapter, the Board shall make a 
determination of the charge in light of the requirements of G.S. 
87- 11. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-11; 150B-3; 150B-38. 
 
21 NCAC 12 .0703 FEE FOR SUBMITTAL OF BAD  
CHECK 
(a)  In addition to making the check good, any person, firm or 
corporation submitting to the Board a check which is 
subsequently returned to the Board because of insufficient funds 
at or no account in a bank will be charged any penalty fee 
allowed by statute for processing the check. 
(b)  Until such time as the payor of the bad check has made the 
check good and paid the prescribed penalty fee, the payor will 
not be eligible to take an examination, review an examination, 
obtain a license or have his license renewed. 
(c)  Any license which has been issued or renewed based on the 
payment of a check which is subsequently returned to the Board 
for reasons stated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule will be declared 
invalid until such time as the payor has made the check good and 
paid the prescribed fee.  The invalidity shall commence from the 
date of issuance of the license or renewal. 
(d)  Payment to the Board for making good such bad check and 
for the prescribed fee shall be made in the form of a cashier's 
check or money order. 
(e)  All examination, license and license renewal applications 
provided by the Board shall contain information in a 
conspicuous place thereon clearly advising the applicant of the 
applicable bad check penalty. fee. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-10; 25-3-506. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt 
the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16L .0104; 16R .0101-.0102 and 
amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 16B .0304-.0305, .0315; 16C 
.0202-.0203, .0305; 16E .0101; 16I .0101-.0102, .01060.0107; 
16M .0101-.0102; 16P .0105; 16R .0103-.0107.  Notice of Rule-
making Proceedings was published in the Register on July 15, 
2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 11, 2002 
Time:  8:00 a.m. 
Location:  15100 Weston Parkway, Suite 101, Cary, NC  
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To revise and clarify 
requirements for application for dental licensure and for 
renewal of dental license; to revise and clarify requirements for 
application for dental hygienist licensure and renewal of dental 
hygienist license; to revise and clarify requirements for 
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reexamination for dentists and dental hygienist licensure; to 
revise and clarify eligibility requirements for dental hygienist 
provisional licensure; to revise and clarify continuing education 
requirements for dentists and dental hygienist; to revise rules for 
advertisement of dental services as a specialist; to increase 
certain fees for dentists and dental hygienists; and to adopt rule 
governing the election of Board members. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Lisa Thompson, NC State Board of Dental 
Examiners, 15100 Weston Pkwy, Suite 101, Cary, NC 27513.  
Comments will be received through October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SUBCHAPTER 16B - LICENSURE EXAMINATION: 

DENTISTS 
 

SECTION .0300 – APPLICATION 
 
21 NCAC 16B .0304 OTHER REQUIREMENTS  
Applicants who are licensed in other states shall furnish 
verification of licensure from the secretary of the dental board of 
each state in which they are licensed. Letters of recommendation 
must be received in the Board's office before the application is 
considered complete. A photograph, taken within six months 
prior to the date of the application, must be affixed to the 
application. A second photograph, not over two inches in height, 
must be paper-clipped to the application to be used as part of the 
identification badge. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30; 90-48. 
 
21 NCAC 16B .0305 TIME FOR FILING 
The completed application, fee, photographs, and undergraduate 
college and dental school transcripts must be postmarked or 
received in the Board's office at least 90 days prior to the date of 
examination.  Dental school transcripts for those still in dental 
school must be sent in upon graduation and before the 
examination date.  All data received by the Board concerning the 
applicant shall be part of the application and shall be retained as 
part of the record. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30; 90-48. 
 
21 NCAC 16B .0315 REEXAMINATION  
(a) A complete application, except for school transcripts and 
National Board scores, is required in case of reexamination. 
(b) Any applicant who has failed both the written and clinical 
portions of the examination three times or who has failed the 
clinical portion of the examination three times, regardless of 
having passed the written portion of the examination, shall 
successfully complete an additional course of study in clinical 
dentistry encompassing at least one academic year, such course 
of study as determined by the Board shall be in the area or areas 
of deficiency exhibited on the examination.examination and 
shall provide additional experience and expertise in clinical 

dentistry for the applicant.  Such applicant must send evidence 
of the additional study, along with the application, before being 
admitted for reexamination.  
(c) Any applicant who has passed the clinical portion of the 
examination but has failed the written portion of the examination 
may retake the written portion of the examination two additional 
times during a one year period from the date of the initial 
examination and need not retake the clinical portion of the 
examination.  If the applicant does not pass the written portion 
of the examination within the one year period, the applicant must 
retake both the written and clinical portions of the examination 
upon reexamination subsequent to the one year period.  Any 
applicant who has passed the clinical portion of the examination 
but has failed the written portion of the examination three times 
shall successfully complete an additional course of study, such 
course of study as determined by the Board shall be in the area 
or areas of deficiency exhibited on the examination.  Such 
applicant must send evidence of the additional study, along with 
the application, before being admitted for reexamination.  
(d) Any applicant who has passed the written portion of the 
examination but has failed the clinical portion of the 
examination need not retake the written portion of the 
examination upon subsequent reexamination during that 
calendar year. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30; 90-48. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16C - LICENSURE EXAMINATION: 
DENTAL HYGIENIST 

 
SECTION .0200 - QUALIFICATIONS 

 
21 NCAC 16C .0202 QUALIFICATION FOR  
APPLICATION 
An applicant for licensure as a dental hygienist must be a 
graduate of and have a diploma from a reputable university or 
college accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 
(CDA) of the American Dental Association.  Dental hygienist 
applications will be accepted from students currently enrolled in 
schools of dental hygiene who expect to graduate prior to the 
examination. Such applications will automatically be denied if 
the applicant should fail to complete the required course of study 
satisfactorily. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224. 
 
21 NCAC 16C .0203 TRANSCRIPTS REQUIRED  
Applicants shall furnish transcripts of dental hygiene school or 
college credits. a high school transcript or high school 
equivalency certificate or other verification of high school 
graduation, and dental hygiene school or college transcripts.  
These transcripts are to accompany the application, or may be 
mailed to the Board's office from the record department of each 
school attended.  Transcripts must be postmarked or received in 
the Board office by the application deadline date. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224. 
 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION 
 
21 NCAC 16C .0305 TIME FOR FILING  
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The completed application, fee, photographs, and high school 
transcripts or high school equivalency certificate or other 
verification of high school graduation, and dental hygiene school 
or college transcripts, must be postmarked or received in the 
Board's office at least 90 days prior to the date of the 
examination. Dental hygiene school transcripts for those still in 
dental hygiene school must be sent in before the examination 
date. All data received by the Board concerning the applicant 
shall become a part of the required application and shall be 
retained as part of the record. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16E - PROVISIONAL LICENSURE: 
DENTAL HYGIENIST 

 
21 NCAC 16E .0101 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
(a) No person shall be eligible for provisional licensure under 
the provisions of G.S. 90-226 who has not been licensed to 
practice dental hygiene in another jurisdiction for a period of not 
less than two years preceding the date of application for 
provisional licensure. 
(b) An applicant for provisional licensure must present to the 
Board satisfactory documentary evidence satisfactory to the 
Board that he is in of good standing with the dental licensing 
agency agency(s)of the jurisdiction jurisdiction(s)wherein he the 
applicant is then currently or has ever been licensed to practice 
dental hygiene. 
(c) No person shall be eligible for provisional licensure who has 
been censured, disciplined, or punished by any dental licensing 
agency or dental organization for violation of professional ethics 
or the laws of any jurisdiction. 
(d) No person shall be eligible for provisional licensure without 
having successfully completed the Dental Hygiene National 
Board Examination.  
 
Authority G.S. 90-226. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16I - ANNUAL RENEWAL OF DENTAL 
HYGIENIST LICENSE 

 
21 NCAC 16I .0101 APPLICATIONS 
An application form for a dental hygiene renewal certificate 
shall be adopted from time to time by the Board and shall be 
designed to obtain information that the Board deems necessary 
and requisite as required by law.  A renewal application must be 
submitted to postmarked or received in the Board's office on or 
before January 1 January 31 of each year.year for renewal 
without penalty.  All applications submitted to the Board must 
be completed in full. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-227. 
 
21 NCAC 16I .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
REQUIRED  
(a) As a condition of license renewal, each dental hygienist must 
complete a minimum of six nine clock hours of continuing 
education each calendar year.  Two Three of the six nine clock 
hours may be acquired through home study courses. self-study 
courses offered by approved sponsors as set out in Rule .0103, 
Paragraph (b) of this Section.  The Board shall approve those 

courses which provide comprehensive information and training 
necessary to the practice of dental hygiene. For home study self-
study courses to be counted towards applied to this continuing 
education requirement, the hygienist must successfully complete 
a test following the course and obtain a certificate of completion.  
Current certification in CPR is required in addition to the 
mandatory continuing education hours. 
(b) A dental hygienist who can demonstrate a disabling 
condition may request a variance in required continuing 
education hours during a particular period. Written 
documentation of a disabling condition that interferes with the 
hygienist's ability to complete the required hours shall be 
provided to the Board.  The Board may grant or deny such 
requests on a case by case basis.  In considering the request, the 
Board may require additional documentation substantiating any 
specified disability. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-225.1. 
 
21 NCAC 16I .0106 FEE FOR LATE FILING 
If the application for a renewal certificate, accompanied by the 
fee required, is not postmarked nor received by the Board in the 
Board's office before January 31 of each year, an additional fee 
of fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be charged for the renewal 
certificate.  A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be 
charged for each duplicate of any license or certificate issued by 
the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-227; 150B-19(5). 
 
21 NCAC 16I .0107 LICENSE VOID UPON FAILURE  
TO RENEW 
If an application for a renewal certificate accompanied by the 
renewal fee, plus the additional late filing fee, is not postmarked 
nor received by the Board in the Board's office before March 31 
of each year, the license becomes void.  Should the license 
become void due to failure to timely renew, the applicant must 
apply for reinstatement.   
 
Authority G.S. 90-277. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 16L - BOARD OF DENTAL ELECTIONS 

 
21 NCAC 16L .0104 SOLICITATIONS FOR VOTES 
Solicitations for votes shall not: 

(1) be false and misleading or imply endorsement 
by the Board; 

(2) contain a material misrepresentation of fact; 
(3) misrepresent credentials, degrees, education, 

or experience of the candidate; 
(4) include false or misleading testimonials or 

endorsements; 
(5) mislead or deceive because only partial 

disclosure of relevant facts are made; 
(6) contain representations or implications that the 

solicitation materials were generated by the 
Board; or 

(7) use or refer to the Board's name or any 
variation of the Board's name on the 
candidate's letterhead, envelopes, postcards or 
other printed or electronic media. 



PROPOSED RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
504 

 
Authority G.S. 90-22; 90-48. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16M - FEES PAYABLE 
 
21 NCAC 16M .0101 DENTISTS  
(a) The following fees shall be payable to the Board:```  ̀

(1) Application for general dentistry  
examination   $500.00 

(2) Application for instructor's license or renewal 
thereof    $140.00 

(3) Application for provisional license $100.00 
(4) Application for intern permit or renewal 

thereof   $100.00 $150.00 
(5) Certificate of license to a resident  

dentist desiring to change to another state  
or territory   $  25.00 

(6) Duplicate license   $  25.00 
(7) Reinstatement of license after retirement from 

practice in this State   $225.00 
(8) Penalty fee for late renewal of any license or 

permit     $  50.00 
(b) Each dentist renewing his license to practice dentistry in 
North Carolina shall be assessed a fee of twenty-five dollars 
($25.00) forty dollars ($40.00) in addition to the annual renewal 
fee, to be contributed to the operation of the North Carolina 
Caring Dental Professionals . 
 
Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-39; 90-48. 
 
21 NCAC 16M .0102 DENTAL HYGIENISTS  
(a) The following fees shall be payable to the Board: 

(1) Application for examination $125.00  
(2) Reinstatement of license after  

retirement from practice in this  
State    $  60.00  

(3) Application for provisional  
licensure   $  60.00  

(4) Certificate to a resident dental  
hygienist desiring to change to  
another state or territory  $  25.00  

 (b) Each dental hygienist renewing his or her license to practice 
dental hygiene in North Carolina shall be assessed a fee of 
fifteen dollars ($15.00), twenty-five dollars ($25.00), in addition 
to the annual renewal fee, to be contributed to the operation of 
the North Carolina Caring Dental Professionals. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-232. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16P - ADVERTISEMENT OF DENTAL 
SERVICES 

 
21 NCAC 16P .0105 ADVERTISING AS A  
SPECIALIST 
Only dentists who have successfully completed a postdoctoral 
course approved by the American Dental Association 
Commission on Accreditation in a specialty area recognized by 
the ADA, have announced a limitation of practice prior to 1967, 
ADA or have been approved by one of the specialty examining 
Boards recognized by the ADA and have in fact restricted their 
practices to such specialty may announce a specialty practice 

and advertise as a specialist.  Nothing in this Section shall be 
construed to prohibit a dentist who does not qualify as a 
specialist under the preceding paragraph from restricting his 
practice to one or more specific areas of dentistry or from 
advertising the availability of his services. Such advertisements 
may not, however, include the terms "specialist," "specialty," or 
"specializing," or "limited to," and must state that the services 
advertised are to be provided by a general dentist. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-41(a)(16),(17),(18); 90-48. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16R - CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS: DENTIS TS 

 
21 NCAC 16R .0101 APPLICATIONS 
An application form for a dental license renewal certificate shall 
be adopted from time to time by the Board and shall be designed 
to obtain information that the Board deems necessary and 
requisite as required by law.  A renewal application must be 
postmarked or received in the Board's office before January 31 
of each year for renewal without penalty.  All applications 
submitted to the Board must be completed in full. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-31. 
 
21 NCAC 16R .0102 FEE FOR LATE FILING 
If the application for a renewal certificate, accompanied by the 
fee required, is not postmarked nor received in the Board's office 
before January 31 of each year, an additional fee of fifty dollars 
($50.00) shall be charged for the renewal certificate.  
 
Authority G.S. 90-31.  
 
21 NCAC 16R .0101 .0103 CONTINUING  
EDUCATION REQUIRED 
As a condition of license renewal, every dentist must complete a 
minimum of 15 18 clock hours of continuing education each 
calendar year. Three Seven of the 15 18 clock hours may be 
acquired through home study courses.self-study courses offered 
by approved sponsors as set out in Rule .0104 Paragraph (b) of 
this Section.  The Board shall approve those courses which 
provide comprehensive information and training necessary to the 
practice of dentistry.  For home study self-study courses to be 
counted towards applied to this continuing education 
requirement, the dentist must successfully complete a test 
following the course and obtain a certificate of completion.  
Current certification in CPR is required in addition to the 
mandatory continuing education hours. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-31.1. 
 
21 NCAC 16R .0102 .0104 APPROVED COURSES  
AND SPONSORS 
(a) Courses allowed to satisfy the continuing education 
requirement must be directly related to clinical patient care.  
Hours spent reviewing dental journals, publications or videos 
shall not count toward fulfilling the continuing education 
requirement, with the exception of home study self-study 
courses as described in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. Rule  
.0103 of this Section. 
(b) Approved continuing education course sponsors include: 
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(1) those recognized by the Continuing Education 
Recognition Program Of the American Dental 
Association; 

(2) the Academy of General Dentistry; 
(3) North Carolina Area Health Education 

Centers; 
(4) educational institutions with dental, dental 

hygiene or dental assisting schools or 
departments; 

(5) national, state or local societies or 
associations; and 

(6) local, state or federal governmental entities. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-31.1. 
 
21 NCAC 16R .0103 .0105 REPORTING OF  
CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a) The number of hours completed shall be indicated on the 
renewal application form submitted to the Board and confirmed 
by the dentist.  Upon request by the Board or its authorized 
agent, the dentist shall provide official documentation of 
attendance at courses indicated.  Such documentation shall be 
provided by the organization offering or sponsoring the course.  
Documentation must include: 

(1) the title; 
(2) the number of hours of instruction; 
(3) the date of the course attended; 
(4) the name(s) of the course instructor(s); and 
(5) the name of the organization offering or 

sponsoring the course. 
(b) All records, reports and certificates relative to continuing 
education hours must be maintained by the licensee for at least 
two years and shall be produced upon request of the Board or its 
authorized agent.  Evidence of service or affiliation with an 
agency or institution as specified in 21 NCAC 16R .0104 Rule 
.0106 of this Section shall be in the form of verification of 
affiliation or employment which is documented by a director or 
an official acting in a supervisory capacity. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-31.1. 
 
21 NCAC 16R .0104 .0106 EXEMPTION FROM  
AND CREDIT FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a) Dentists may request exemption from continuing education 
requirements by submitting evidence in writing to the Board of 
retirement or semi-retirement from the practice of dentistry.  A 
retired dentist is a dentist who never practices dentistry.  A semi-
retired dentist is a dentist who practices on an occasional basis 
not to exceed 100 clock hours in a calendar year.  A dentist who 
can demonstrate a disabling condition may request a variance in 
continuing education hours during a particular period.  Written 
documentation of a disabling condition that interferes with the 
dentist's ability to complete the required hours shall be provided 
to the Board.  The Board may grant or deny such requests on a 
case by case basis.  In considering the request, the Board may 
require additional documentation substantiating any specified 
disability. 
(b) In those instances where continuing education is waived and 
the exempt individual wishes to resume practice, the Board shall 
require continuing education courses in accordance with 21 
NCAC 16R .0101 Rule .0103 of this Section when reclassifying 

the licensee.  The Board may require those licensees who have 
not practiced dentistry for a year or more to undergo a bench test 
prior to allowing the licensee to resume practice. 
(c) Dentists shall receive 10 hours credit per year for continuing 
education when engaged in any of the following: 

(1) service on a full-time basis on the faculty of an 
educational institution with direct involvement 
in education, training, or research in dental or 
dental auxiliary programs; or 

(2) affiliation with a federal, state or county 
government agency whose operation is 
directly related to dentistry or dental 
auxiliaries. 

(3) Verification of credit hours shall be 
maintained in the manner specified in 21 
NCAC 16R .0103. Rule .0105 of this Section. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-31.1; 90-38. 
 
21 NCAC 16R .0105 .0107 PENALTY/NON- 
COMPLIANCE/CONTINUING EDUCATION 
If the applicant for a renewal certificate fails to provide proof of 
completion of reported continuing education hours for the 
current year as required by 21 NCAC 16R .0101 and .0103 of 
this Subchapter, Rules .0103 and .0105 of this Section, the 
Board may refuse to issue a renewal certificate for the year for 
which renewal is sought, until such time as the licensee 
completes the required hours of education for the current year 
and meets all other qualifications for renewal. Should the 
applicant fail to meet the qualifications for renewal, including 
completing the required hours of continuing education, by 
March 31st, the license becomes void and must be reinstated.  If 
the applicant applies for credit for or exemption from continuing 
education hours and fails to provide the required documentation 
upon request, the Board shall refuse to issue a certificate of 
renewal until such time as the applicant meets the qualifications 
for exemption or credit.  Should the applicant fail to provide the 
required documentation by March 31st, then the license becomes 
void and must be reinstated. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-31.1. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 
NCAC 46 .2507, .3301 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 
46 .1414, .1505, .1601-.1602, .1606, .1801, .1808, .2107, .2109, 
.2502, .2504, .2801, .2803-.2805, .2808.  Notice of Rule-making 
Proceedings was published in the Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 2, 2002 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  Catawba Valley Community College, Auditorium 
(Main Campus), 2550 Hwy. 70 SE, Hickory, NC 
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Date:  October 8, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  The Monroe AHEC Conference Center, (Small 
Dining Room), 2000 Venture Tower Dr., Greenville, NC 
 
Date:  October 9, 2002 
Time:  11:30 a.m. 
Location:  Sheraton Greensboro Hotel at Four Seasons, 
Auditorium II, 3121 High Point Rd., Greensboro, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To revise requirements for 
pharmacist-managers; to revise requirements for drug 
distribution and control in hospitals and other health care 
facilities; to clarify requirements for casting and counting 
ballots; to specify when a pharmacist may or shall refuse to fill 
or refill a prescription order; to set out requirements prior to 
issuance of a license when certain deficiencies are demonstrated 
on the examination for licensure; to revise requirements for 
pharmacy permit applicants and pharmacy permit holders; to 
revise requirements for applicants for license by reciprocity; to 
revise requirements for patient counseling; to revise 
requirements for repackaged pharmaceuticals; to delete term 
"parenteral" from "sterile parenteral pharmaceuticals"; to 
revise requirements for permit holders dispensing sterile 
pharmaceuticals; to set out requirements for administration of 
immunization by pharmacists; to set out requirements for 
election of representatives to the Device and Medical Equipment 
Subcommittee; to set out requirements for registration of 
pharmacy technicians; to revise requirement of personal 
appearance; and to revise requirements for requesting changes 
in prescription orders. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to David R. Work, NC Board of Pharmacy, PO Box 
459, Carrboro, NC 27510-0459.  Comments shall be received 
through October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .1400 - HOSPITALS: OTHER HEALTH 

FACILITIES  
 
21 NCAC 46 .1414 DRUG DISTRIBUTION AND  
CONTROL 
(a) MEDICATION ORDERS. 

(1) Medications shall be dispensed from a health 
care facility pharmacy only upon receipt of a 
medication order.  A mechanism shall be in 
place to verify the authenticity of the 
medication order.  Oral orders shall be put in 
writing immediately and signed within the 
time frame established by regulatory agencies 
and health care facility policies and 
procedures. 

(2) All medication orders shall be received and 
reviewed by a pharmacist and, at a minimum, 
shall contain the: 

(A) patient's name, location and other 
necessary identifying information 
such as history or medical records 
number; 

(B) medication name, strength, dosage 
form, route of and directions for 
administration.  In the absence of a 
facility policy on interpretation of 
routes of administration, the route of 
administration must be specified; 

(C) date the order was written; and 
(D) prescriber's signature (may include 

electronic signature or verification). 
(3) Medication orders for patients requiring 

continuous drug therapy shall be entered into a 
patient medication profile, either manual or 
automated.  The medication profile shall, at a 
minimum, contain the: 
(A) patient's name, location and important 

clinical data such as age, height, 
weight, sex, and allergies; 

(B) medication name, strength, dosage 
form, route of and directions for 
administration; 

(C) medication start date; 
(D) medication discontinuance date; and 
(E)  identification of pharmacist 

responsible for or verifying 
technician entry of the medication 
order. 

(4) Abbreviations used in medication orders shall 
be agreed to, jointly adopted, and published by 
the medical, nursing, pharmacy, and medical 
records staff of the health care facility. 

(5) Medication orders shall be reviewed and 
discontinued or suspended, if appropriate, 
when the patient is transferred to the delivery 
room, operating room, or is admitted from 
another facility.  A method to protect the 
patient from indefinite, open-ended drug 
orders must be provided.  The prescriber shall 
be notified in a timely manner that the order 
shall be stopped before such action takes place 
by one or more of the following: 
(A) the routine monitoring of patient's 

drug therapy by a pharmacist; 
(B) a health care facility-approved, drug 

class-specific, automatic stop order 
policy covering those drug orders not 
specifying a number of doses or 
duration of therapy; or 

(C) a health care facility-approved 
automatic cancellation of all drug 
orders after a predetermined time 
interval unless rewritten by the 
prescriber. 

(6) Health care facilities which credential 
practitioners' for prescribing privileges within 
the facility shall provide the health care 
facility pharmacy with credentialing 
information annually or immediately upon 
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discharge or when privileges are suspended or 
terminated. 

(b) DEVICES.  Devices shall be dispensed in accordance with 
Section .2600 of this Chapter. 
(c) DISPENSING.  In health care facilities with 24 hour 
pharmacy services, all dispensing shall be done by a pharmacist.  
In health care facilities without 24 hour pharmacy services, Rule 
.1413 of this Section shall apply in the absence of a pharmacist. 
(d) LABELING. 

(1) All drugs dispensed from within a health care 
facility pharmacy shall be labeled and 
identified up to the point of administration; 

(2) Whenever a drug is added to a parenteral 
admixture, it shall be labeled with a distinctive 
supplementary label indicating the name and 
amount of the drug added, expiration date, and 
expiration time, if applicable.  For admixtures 
prepared outside the pharmacy, the 
pharmacist-manager shall develop policies and 
procedures for preparation and labeling. 

(e) PARENTERAL MEDICATIONS.  The dispensing of 
parenteral medications shall be done in accordance with Section 
.2800 of this Chapter--Sterile Parenteral Pharmaceuticals. 
(f) PATIENT CARE UNIT MEDICATION INVENTORIES.  
This Paragraph does not apply to nursing facilities, assisted 
living facilities, and adult care homes. 

(1) Non-controlled drugs may be stocked in 
quantities limited to not more than five dosage 
units per drug on a health care facility patient 
care unit when immediate availability is 
deemed essential to the patient's health and 
well-being.  The pharmacist-manager shall 
develop an approved drug list for each health 
care facility location. Drugs shall be stored in 
a manner that prevents unauthorized access 
and shall only be administered to a patient of 
the health care facility pursuant to a 
medication order. 

(2) All controlled substances stocked within a 
health care facility that are not located within 
the facility's pharmacy or automated 
dispensing device must be accompanied by a 
disposition form issued from the pharmacy.  
This document shall at a minimum contain: 
(A) the product name, strength, dosage 

form, and quantity supplied; 
(B) the date transferred to the patient care 

unit by the pharmacy; 
(C) the name of the pharmacy 

representative supplying, and the 
patient care unit representative 
receiving the drug; 

(D) the date, time, and amount of the drug 
removed from the patient care unit 
stock for administration; and 

(E)  the patient name and identification of 
the person acquiring the product. 

(3) Exceptions to this Paragraph shall be made for 
use of automated dispensing devices provided 
that these devices meet all applicable rules for 
controlled substances contained therein. 

(4) When a dose of a controlled substance has 
been prepared for a patient but not used (i.e., 
refused, order canceled, or contaminated), it 
may be destroyed at the patient care unit.  The 
destruction must be witnessed by a health care 
provider, such as a pharmacist, registered 
nurse, or licensed practical nurse.  Details of 
the event, along with the identification of the 
two who affected the destruction, shall be 
documented.  If such record is separate from 
the disposition form, it shall be maintained 
uniformly with the corresponding disposition 
form. 

(g) ANCILLARY DRUG CABINET INVENTORIES. (This 
Paragraph does not apply to nursing facilities, assisted living 
facilities, and adult care homes.)  Drugs that are routinely 
prescribed by the medical staff in a health care facility shall be 
maintained in establishing and maintaining quantities limited to 
not more than five dosage units per drug as a supplementary 
inventory for use only when the pharmacy is closed.  The 
pharmacist-manager shall, in connection with the appropriate 
committee of the health care facility, develop listings of those 
drugs to be included in such inventories.  The pharmacist-
manager shall, at a minimum, assure that: 

(1) access to such drug inventories is by locked 
cabinet(s) or other enclosure(s) constructed 
and secured to deny access to unauthorized 
persons; 

(2) only authorized personnel, as indicated by 
written policies and procedures, shall obtain 
access to the drug inventories; 

(3) only pre-packaged drugs are available therein, 
in amounts sufficient for immediate 
therapeutic requirements.  Drugs shall be 
properly labeled, with drug name, strength, lot 
number and expiration date.  Whenever access 
to such inventory is gained, a copy of the 
record of withdrawal and a copy of the written 
order for new drug orders shall be provided to 
the pharmacy.  The record of withdrawal shall 
contain the following: 
(A) the date of removal of the drug; 
(B) the name, strength, dosage form, and 

quantity of drug removed; 
(C) the name of the patient for whom the 

drug was ordered; 
(D) the name or identification code of the 

authorized personnel removing the 
drug from inventory; 

(4) all drugs are reviewed no less often than 
quarterly to ensure their purity, potency, and 
integrity; and 

(5) written policies and procedures are established 
to implement the requirements of this Rule. 

(h) AUTOMATED DISPENSING OR DRUG SUPPLY 
DEVICES.  Automated Dispensing or Drug Supply Devices 
such as but not limited to Pyxis machines may be utilized in 
health care facility pharmacies and where a pharmacy permit 
exists provided that the pharmacist-manager has developed 
procedures to assure safe and effective use of medications in 
accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1814. 



PROPOSED RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
508 

(i) EMERGENCY KITS. (This Paragraph does not apply to 
adult care homes or assisted living facilities) Drugs and devices 
may be provided in emergency kits for use by authorized 
personnel provided that: 

(1) the pharmacist-manager, or designee, and the 
medical staff of the health care facility jointly 
determine the drugs and devices, by identity 
and quantity, to be included in the kit.  The kit 
shall contain no more than 75 line items.  
Drugs and devices included in the kit shall be 
limited to those for emergency use only and 
are not to be used for any other purpose.  The 
pharmacist-manager shall, in conjunction with 
the medical staff of the health care facility, 
develop and implement written policies and 
procedures to ensure compliance with the 
provisions of this Section; 

(2) the emergency kit contains those drugs and 
devices which may be required to meet the 
immediate therapeutic needs of patients and 
which are not available from any other 
authorized source in sufficient time to prevent 
prolonged discomfort or risk of harm to 
patients; 

(3) the emergency kit shall be stored in a secure, 
readily available location under the 
supervision of the nursing staff and sealed 
with a non-reusable, easily removable seal to 
prevent unauthorized access, and to ensure a 
proper environment for preservation of the 
drugs and devices within them.  Policies and 
procedures shall be established to ensure the 
integrity of the kit at all times; 

(4) the exterior of the emergency kit shall be 
labeled so as to clearly and unmistakably 
indicate that it is an emergency drug kit and is 
for use in emergencies only.  In addition, a 
listing of the drugs and devices contained 
therein, including name, strength, and quantity 
of each drug or device shall be attached.  Each 
emergency kit shall be inspected by a 
pharmacist or his designee every 30 days (90 
days for long-term care facilities) to check for 
expiration dates and the integrity of the seal;  

(5) all drugs and devices contained within the 
emergency kit shall be labeled, if applicable, 
with, at a minimum, the name, strength, lot 
number, manufacturer, and expiration date; 

(6) drugs and devices shall be removed from the 
emergency kit for administration to a patient 
only pursuant to a valid physician's order, by 
personnel authorized by the facility; 

(7) whenever an emergency kit is opened, the 
pharmacy shall be notified. The pharmacist-
manager or designee shall re-stock, re-seal, 
and return the kit to the unit within a 
reasonable length of time in order to prevent 
risk of harm to patients.  The emergency drug 
kits shall be checked by an authorized person 
in accordance with written policies and 
procedures of the health care facility.  In the 

event the kit is opened in an unauthorized 
manner, the pharmacy and other personnel 
designated by the pharmacist-manager of the 
facility shall be notified; and 

(8) CONTROLLED DRUG EMERGENCY 
KITS.  Emergency drugs that are controlled 
substances must be stored in compliance with 
10 NCAC 45G .0410. 

(j) RECORDS. 
(1) The pharmacist-manager shall, in addition to 

the requirements for preserving prescription 
orders as set forth in G.S. 90-85.26, develop a 
system of daily accountability for medication 
compounding and dispensing that shall permit 
the identification of the responsible 
pharmacist. pharmacists and pharmacy 
technicians.  Readily retrievable records of 
accountability shall be maintained for at least 
30 days.  At a minimum, this system shall 
identify all personnel who perform these 
activities and the pharmacist responsible for: 
(A) interpretation and appropriateness of 

new medication orders; 
(B) profile entry of new medication 

orders; 
(C) dispensing of new medication orders 

including stat doses; 
(D) daily cart fills; 
(E)  intravenous admixtures; 
(F) compounded medications; and 
(G) periodically assessing the quality of 

pharmacy procedures for preparation 
and release of drugs and devices for 
replenishment of floor stock, 
ancillary drug supplies, and 
automated dispensing devices in 
locations outside the pharmacy. 

(2) Medication errors resulting from the 
administration of an incorrect medication or 
dose shall be documented and reported to the 
pharmacist-manager.  Documentation shall 
include pertinent chronological information 
and appropriate health care facility forms 
including the identity of individual(s) 
responsible. forms. These documents shall be 
archived in a readily retrievable manner, open 
for inspection, for a period of three years. 

(3) Upon notification of information that 
reasonably suggests that there is a probability 
a prescription drug or device dispensed from a 
location holding a permit has caused or 
contributed to the death of a patient (see 21 
NCAC 46 .2502(k) RESPONSIBILITY OF 
PHARMACIST-MANAGER), the pharmacist-
manager shall retain all documents, labels, 
vial, supplies, substances and internal 
investigative reports relating to the event.  All 
such items shall be maintained by the health 
care facility, accessible to the pharmacist-
manager, and open to the Board of Pharmacy. 
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(4) The pharmacist-manager shall maintain 
records of ordering, receiving, dispensing or 
transfer of controlled substances.  These 
records shall include, but are not limited to the 
following: 
(A) Invoices or other such documents 

verifying the ordering and receipt of 
controlled substances; 

(B) Perpetual inventories of controlled 
substances transferred to patient care 
units and other sites as allowed by 
this Rule (i.e., automated dispensing 
devices, emergency kits, etc.).  These 
inventories shall record the transfer 
date; location transferred to; the 
identity of the drug; strength, dosage 
form, and quantity transferred; 
transferring pharmacist's name; 

(C) Disposition records required by 
Paragraph (f)(4) of this Rule; 

(D) A record of controlled substances 
dispensed directly to the patient to 
include the patient's name; date 
dispensed; dispensing pharmacist's 
name; name, strength, dosage form, 
and quantity of the drug dispensed.  
The records shall also document 
drugs returned and credited; and 

(E)  A perpetual inventory shall be 
maintained on all controlled 
substances awaiting destruction or 
return to a vendor. 

(5) Automated systems may be used to collect and 
store information required by Subparagraph 
(j)(4) of this Rule provided such system allows 
for the immediate retrieval (via CRT display 
and hard-copy printout) of original medication 
order information and dispensing history 
consistent with criteria cited in 21 CFR .1306 
and 10 NCAC 46 .2304. 

(6) With the exception of Subparagraph (j)(l) of 
this Rule, all records required by this Section 
shall be maintained for a period of three years. 
Such records shall be archived in a uniform 
manner, retrievable to the pharmacy within 48 
hours, and open for review, copying, or seizure 
by a member or designated employee of the 
Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-85.32; 90-85.33. 
 

SECTION .1500 - ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: 
EXAMINATIONS 

 
21 NCAC 46 .1505 EXAMINATION  
(a) The examination shall consist of testing in the following 
areas: 

(1) theoretical exa mination including 
pharmacology, pharmacy, chemistry, 
mathematics and practice of pharmacy which 

may be reported separately or combined as one 
score. 

(2) practical pharmacy examination which may be 
reported separately or combined as one score 
including: prescription reading and 
interpretation, drug identifications, 
determination of errors and omissions, 
pharmaceutical jurisprudence, patient 
counseling, drug utilization review, and such 
other reasonable tests of the applicant's ability 
to translate professional knowledge into terms 
of actual practice as the Board may see fit. 

(b) For the purpose of grading or rating, the answers, which shall 
be legible, shall be valued by marks or points based on their 
importance, as determined by the judgment of the examiners. 
(c) In order to pass, an over-all average of 75 is required on both 
the practical and the theoretical sections. Candidates who obtain 
a 75 on the practical pharmacy section or a 75 average on the 
theoretical section are deemed to have passed the respective 
section provided that the candidate obtains a passing score on 
the remaining section in North Carolina within the next 
following two calendar years. A candidate who fails to pass both 
sections of the examination in the two calendar year period must 
retake and pass both sections of the examination. 
(d) At the time of the examination, the Board may designate 
certain questions which, if missed, would cause the candidate to 
obtain continuing education.  The continuing education required 
will be specified by the Board and must be obtained by the 
candidate prior to issuance of a pharmacist license. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.15; 90-85.16. 
 

SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1601 PHARMACY PERMITS  
(a) Applications for pharmacy permits, whether original or 
renewal, shall be made upon forms provided by the Board.  The 
Board shall not issue any original or annual renewal pharmacy 
permit until the Board is satisfied that: 

(1) The pharmacist-manager is sure that at all 
times adequate qualified personnel has been 
secured by the management of the store to 
properly render pharmaceutical service in the 
manner prescribed by law. 

(2) Any and all unlicensed personnel have been 
instructed that they may perform functions 
constituting dispensing only as an aid to and 
under the immediate supervision of a 
registered pharmacist.  No more than two 
unlicensed personnel who spend a majority of 
their time performing functions constituting 
dispensing shall be on duty in the pharmacy 
per pharmacist on duty. 

(3)(2) The pharmacy posts in a location conspicuous 
to the public the specific hours that a 
pharmacist is on duty in the pharmacy.  This 
requirement does not apply to hospitals, 
nursing homes, and similar institutions subject 
to the provisions of Section .1400 of this 
Chapter. 
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(4) The following minimum technical equipment 
is maintained: 
(A) Graduates.  Capable of accurately 

measuring volumes from 1 ml to at 
least 500 ml; 

(B) Mortars and pestles: 
(i) one--glass; 
(ii) one--"Wedgwood"; 

(C) Stirring Rods.  Two different sizes 
made of glass or rubber;  

(D) Ointment slab or suitable substitute; 
(E)  Class A prescription or electronic 

balances and appropriate weights, 
suitable for all required weighings, at 
least one of which must be sensitive 
to six mg; 

(F) Suitable facilities for recording and 
filing prescriptions as required by 
G.S. 90-85.26; 

(G) Spatulas: 
(i) stainless steel, at least three 

assorted sizes; 
(ii) non-metallic, one of any 

size; 
(H) Useable Supplies.  Equipped with 

safety closures where required: 
(i) prescription bottles, 1 to 32 

fluid ounces; 
(ii) dropper bottles, 1/2 to 2 

fluid ounces; 
(iii) assorted pill and tablet 

containers; 
(iv) empty capsules, No. 00 to 

No. 3; 
(v) powder papers; 
(vi) ointment jars, assorted; 
(vii) prescription labels; 
(viii) all appropriate auxiliary 

labels; 
(I) Heating apparatus; 
(J) Refrigerator; 
(K) Reference library, as follows: 

(i) the latest edition of the 
United States 
Pharmacopoeia (USP) and 
National Formulary and 
supplements thereto or a 
standard commentary 
thereon; 

(ii) a copy of the pharmacy laws 
of North Carolina, including 
the North Carolina 
Controlled Substances Act 
and the rules adopted 
pursuant thereto, and the 
North Carolina Pharmacy 
Practice Act and the rules of 
the Board; 

(iii) a copy of the Federal 
Controlled Substances Act 

and the regulations adopted 
pursuant thereto; 

(iv) a Schedule V controlled 
substances register (where 
these preparations are sold 
other than on prescriptions);  

(v) a medical dictionary; 
(vi) current editions of generally 

accepted reference books on 
the following subjects: 
(I) drug interactions, 
(II) clinical 

pharmacology, 
(III) USP Dispensing 

Information or its 
equivalent, and 

(IV) if IV admixture 
services are 
provided, a 
reference on 
Parenteral 
Incompatibilities. 

(3) The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible 
for obtaining and maintaining equipment in the 
pharmacy adequate to meet the pharmaceutical 
care needs of the pharmacy's patients.  The 
pharmacy's reference library shall include a 
medical dictionary and current additions of 
generally accepted reference books on drug 
interactions, clinical pharmacology, USP 
Dispensing Information or its equivalent, and 
if IV admixture services are provided, a 
reference on Parenteral Incompatibilities. 

(5)(4) The pharmacy is equipped with sanitary 
appliances including lavatory facilities with 
hot and cold running water; is adequately 
lighted; and is kept in a clean, orderly, and 
sanitary condition. 

(6)(5) All prescription medications are labeled in 
accordance with G.S. 106-134 and 106-134.1. 

(b) In addition to the requirements for issuance and renewal of a 
pharmacy permit imposed by a statute and by other rules of the 
Board, a permit shall not be issued or renewed to any person to 
operate a pharmacy wherein the prescriptions of medical 
practitioners are compounded or dispensed and distributed when 
such distribution is effected by mail and the practitioner- 
pharmacist-patient relationship does not exist, until the Board is 
satisfied that: 

(1) The pharmacy maintains records of 
prescriptions compounded or dispensed and 
distributed in manner that is readily 
retrievable; 

(2) During the pharmacy's regular hours of 
operation but not less than six days per week, 
for a minimum of forty hours per week, a toll-
free telephone service is provided to facilitate 
communication between patients and a 
pharmacist at the pharmacy who has access to 
the patient's records.  This toll-free number 
must be disclosed on the label affixed to each 
container of dispensed drugs; 
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(3) The pharmacy complies with all lawful orders, 
directions, and requests for information from 
the Boards of pharmacy of all states in which 
it is licensed and all states into which it 
distributes prescription drugs; 

(4) The pharmacy complies with all USP and 
FDA requirements regarding the storage, 
packaging, and shipping of prescription 
medications.  The pharmacist- manager and all 
other pharmacists employed in the pharmacies 
permitted pursuant to this Paragraph shall be 
subject to all Federal and State statutes and 
regulations concerning the dispensing of 
prescription medications including, but not 
limited to, 21 NCAC 46 .1801 and .1805 and 
21 CFR 1306.01, 1306.05, and 1306.21. 

(c) The Board shall not issue an original or renewal permit to 
any person to operate a drugstore or pharmacy as a department 
in or a part of any other business serving the general public 
(except hospitals, nursing homes, and similar institutions subject 
to the provisions of Section .1400 of this Chapter) unless such 
pharmacy facility: 

(1) is physically separated from such other 
business; 

(2) is separately identified to the public both as to 
name and any advertising; 

(3) completes all transactions relative to such 
pharmacy within the registered facility; and 

(4) meets the same requirements for registration as 
all other pharmacies. 

(d) Permits to operate pharmacies, whether original or renewal, 
shall be issued to the pharmacist-manager of such pharmacy 
pursuant to a joint application of the owner and pharmacist-
manager for the conduct and management of said pharmacy.  
The issuance of said permit shall not be complete and the permit 
shall not be valid until it has been countersigned by the 
pharmacist- manager as represented in the application.  The 
permit so issued is valid only so long as the pharmacist-manager 
to whom it was issued assumes the duties and responsibilities of 
pharmacist-manager.  Permits may be reissued at any time to a 
successor pharmacist-manager pursuant to the proper 
amendment of the application for the permit. 
(e) Upon application, the Board may issue and renew separate 
permits for pharmacies operating at one location.  Records for 
each permitted 
pharmacy must be maintained separately.  Prior to issuance of an 
original permit, each pharmacy shall submit a plan to the Board 
that shall assure accountability for the actions of each pharmacy 
at the location. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1602 LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY  
(a) An applicant for licensure without examination, must have: 

(1) Originally been licensed as a pharmacist by an 
examination equivalent to the North Carolina 
examination specified in Rule .1505(a)(1) of 
this Chapter; 

(2) Achieved scores on an equivalent examination, 
such as the NABPLEX examination, which 

would qualify for licensure in this state at the 
time of examination; and 

(3) Been licensed by a state which deems 
licensees from this state to be equivalent to the 
extent that they are suitable for licensure in 
that state without further substantial 
examination; and examination. 

(4) Passed an examination equivalent to the North 
Carolina examination specified in Rule 
.1505(a)(2) of this Chapter or, in lieu of such 
an examination, have practiced pharmacy for 
at least one year, provided that the one year of 
pharmacy practice is determined by the Board 
to be the substantial equivalent to passing the 
practical section of the North Carolina 
examination. 

(b) Negative determination of any of the criteria in this Rule 
would preclude licensure under G.S. 90-85.20. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.20. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1606 REQUIREMENT OF PERSONAL  
APPEARANCE  
Prior to issuance of any original permit or device and medical 
equipment permit, or prior to approval for dispensing by a nurse 
practitioner or physician’s assistant, the following persons must 
appear personally at the Board office on the first Monday of the 
month, the Monday before the monthly Board meeting, or such 
other time as scheduled with the Board's staff: 

(1) the pharmacist-manager for the applicant 
pharmacy; and 

(2) the person in charge of the facility applying for 
the device and medical equipment permit. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-18.1; 90-18.2; 90-85.3(a),(r). 
 

SECTION .1800 - PRESCRIPTIONS 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1801 RIGHT TO REFUSE A  
PRESCRIPTION  
(a) A pharmacist or device and medical equipment dispenser has 
the right and responsibility to may refuse to fill or refill a 
prescription order if, in his professional judgment, it would be 
harmful to the recipient, is not in the recipient's best interest or if 
there is a question as to its validity. The pharmacist or device 
and medical equipment dispenser shall report such incident to 
the licensing board having jurisdiction over the prescriber. 
(b) A pharmacist shall not fill or refill a prescription order if the 
pharmacist knows that the order was issued without a physical 
examination of the patient and in the absence of a prior 
prescriber-patient relationship. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.32. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1808 REPACKAGED  
PHARMACEUTICALS 
A drug product which is manufactured and sold by a 
manufacturer as a generic drug product shall be considered a 
generic drug product, though subsequently repackaged and given 
a brand name. Drugs or devices which have been dispensed 
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previously may be relabeled or repackaged only by the original 
dispensing pharmacy. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6(a); 90-85.32. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1812 CHANGES IN PRESCRIPTION  
ORDERS  
A permit holder or registrant requesting a change from the 
prescription drug originally prescribed to a different prescription 
drug shall disclose to the prescriber and patient at the time of the 
request the specific nature of any business relationship between 
the permit holder or registrant and the manufacturer of the 
requested prescription drug.  If the permit holder or registrant is 
receiving any form of compensation from the manufacturer of 
the requested prescription drug, this information must be 
disclosed also to the prescriber and patient at the time of the 
request. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.32. 
 

SECTION .2100 - ELECTIONS 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2107 BALLOTS: CASTING AND  
COUNTING  
A ballot shall be mailed, with return envelope, to all eligible 
voters in April of each year. A brief description of a nominee's 
qualifications, provided by the nominee and edited, if necessary, 
by the secretary, shall accompany each ballot. Secret ballots 
shall be cast in the envelope provided by mail or delivered to the 
Board office in the envelope provided before May 15. Ballots 
received shall be counted and certified by the Board of 
Pharmacy Elections at the regularly scheduled May Board 
meeting. The Board of Pharmacy Elections shall determine the 
validity of any challenged ballot and mechanical devices may be 
used in compiling election results.  No Board member running 
for re-election may participate in the counting and certification 
of ballots for the election involving the Board member.  The 
secretary-treasurer shall convey the certified election results to 
the Governor. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.7. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2109 DEVICE AND MEDICAL  
EQUIPMENT SUBCOMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES  
(a) The device and medical equipment subcommittee shall 
consist of the following: 

(1) a representative of the medical equipment 
suppliers; 

(2) a representative of the medical oxygen 
suppliers; 

(3) a representative of the rehabilitation 
technology suppliers; and 

(4) a Board member two Board members 
appointed by the President of the Board; and 
Board. 

(5) the Board member representing the public. 
(b) All device and medical equipment permit holders are eligible 
to vote for one representative in each category specified in 
Subparagraphs (a)(1) - (3) of this Rule. The representative must 
practice in the particular area for which he or she is nominated, 
but need not practice exclusively in that area. 

(c) The representatives specified in Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(3) of 
this Rule shall be elected to terms of five years, and may not 
serve more than two consecutive five-year terms.  The 
subcommittee may establish a staggered schedule for the 
elections.  In case of death, resignation or removal from the 
subcommittee, the remaining members of the subcommittee 
shall elect a representative who meets the criteria for the 
position. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22. 
 

SECTION .2500 - MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2502 RESPONSIBILITIES OF  
PHARMACIST-MANAGER 
(a)  The pharmacist-manager shall assure that prescription 
legend drugs and controlled substances are safe and secure 
within the pharmacy. 
(b)  The pharmacist-manager employed or otherwise engaged to 
supply pharmaceutical services may have a flexible schedule of 
attendance but shall be present for at least one-half the hours the 
pharmacy is open or 32 hours a week, whichever is less. 20 hours 
on average per week.  A pharmacist employee not meeting this 
requirement may serve as pharmacist-manager of the permit 
holder temporarily for a period not to exceed 90 days. 
(c)  Whenever a change of ownership or change of 
pharmacist-manager occurs, the successor pharmacist-manager 
shall complete an inventory of all controlled substances in the 
pharmacy within 10 days.  A written record of such inventory, 
signed and dated by the successor pharmacist-manager, shall be 
maintained in the pharmacy with other controlled substances 
records for a period of three years. 
(d)  The pharmacist-manager shall develop and implement a 
system of inventory record-keeping and control which will 
enable that pharmacist-manager to detect any shortage or 
discrepancy in the inventories of controlled substances at that 
pharmacy at the earliest practicable time. 
(e)  The pharmacist-manager shall maintain complete authority 
and control over any and all keys to access to the dispensing area 
of the pharmacy and shall be responsible for the ultimate security 
of the pharmacy.  Only personnel authorized by the pharmacist-
manager shall have access to the dispensing area of the pharmacy.  
A The dispensing area of a pharmacy shall be secured by a 
physical barrier to prohibit unauthorized entry if no pharmacist 
will be present in the pharmacy for a period of 90 minutes or 
more. when unattended by authorized personnel. 
(f)  These duties are in addition to the specific duties of 
pharmacist-managers at institutional pharmacies and pharmacies 
in health departments as set forth in the Rules in this Chapter. 
(g)  A person shall not serve as pharmacist-manager at more than 
one pharmacy at any one time except for limited service 
pharmacies. 
(h)  When a pharmacy is to be closed permanently, the 
pharmacist-manager shall inform the Board and the United 
States Drug Enforcement Administration of the closing, arrange 
for the proper disposition of the pharmaceuticals and return the 
pharmacy permit to the Board's offices within 10 days of the 
closing date.  Notice of the closing shall be given to the public 
by posted notice at the pharmacy at least 30 days prior to the 
closing date and, if possible, 15 days after the closing date.  Such 
notice shall notify the public that prescription files may be 
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transferred to a pharmacy of the patient's or customer's choice 
during the 30 day period prior to the closing date.  During the 30 
day period prior to the closing date, the pharmacist-manager, and 
the pharmacy's owner (if the owner is other than the pharmacist-
manager), shall transfer prescription files to another pharmacy 
chosen by the patient or customer, upon request.  Absent specific 
instructions from the patient or customer, the 
pharmacist-manager, and the pharmacy's owner (if the owner is 
other than the pharmacist-manager), shall transfer prescription 
files to another pharmacy for maintenance of patient therapy and 
shall inform the public of such transfer by posted notice at the 
pharmacy for 15 days after the closing date, if possible.  
Controlled substance records shall be retained for the period of 
time required by law. 
(i) The pharmacist-manager shall ensure that notice of the 
temporary closing of any pharmacy for more than 14 
consecutive days is given to the public by posted notice at the 
pharmacy at least 30 days prior to the closing date, and, if 
possible, 15 days after the closing date.  Such notice shall notify 
the public that prescription files may be transferred to a 
pharmacy of the patient's or customer's choice during the 30 day 
period prior to the closing date. During the 30 day period prior to 
the closing date, the pharmacist-manager, and the pharmacy's 
owner (if the owner is other than the pharmacist-manager), shall 
transfer prescription files to another pharmacy chosen by the 
patient or customer, upon request.   
(j)  The pharmacist-manager shall prepare a plan to safeguard 
prescription records and pharmaceuticals and minimize the 
interruption of pharmaceutical services in the event of a natural 
disaster such as hurricane or flood. 
(k) The pharmacist-manager shall separate from the dispensing 
stock all drug products more than six months out of date. 
(l) The pharmacist-manager shall report to the Board of Pharmacy 
information that reasonably suggests that there is a probability that 
a prescription drug or device dispensed from a location holding a 
permit has caused or contributed to the death of a patient or 
customer.  This report shall be filed in writing on a form provided 
by the Board within 14 days of the owner representative or 
pharmacist-manager's becoming aware of the event.  The 
pharmacist-manager shall retain all documents, labels, vials, 
supplies, substances and internal investigative reports relating to 
the event.  All such items shall be made available to the Board 
upon request. 
(m) The Board shall not disclose the identity of a 
pharmacist-manager who makes a report under Paragraph (l) of 
this Rule, except as required by law.  All reports made under 
Paragraph (l) of this Rule shall not be released except as required 
by law.  
(n) Dispensing errors which are not detected and corrected prior to 
the patient receiving the medication shall be documented and 
reported to the pharmacist-manager.  Documentation shall include 
pertinent chronological information and appropriate forms 
including the identity of individual(s) responsible.  These 
documents, including action taken as part of a quality assurance 
plan, shall be archived in a readily retrievable manner and open 
for review, copying or seizure by the Board or its designated 
employees within 48 hours of a request for inspection for a period 
of three years.  These documents shall be released only to the 
Board or its designated employees pursuant to an investigation 
and shall not otherwise be released except as required by law.  
Upon request by the Board or its designated employees, these 

documents shall be transmitted by the pharmacist-manager to an 
office of the Board. 
(o) In any Board proceeding, the Board shall consider compliance 
with Paragraphs (l) and (n) of this Rule as a mitigating factor and 
noncompliance with Paragraphs (l) and (n) of this Rule as an 
aggravating factor. 
(p) The pharmacist-manager shall develop and maintain a system 
of accountability for medication compounding and dispensing that 
permits the identification of the pharmacists and technicians 
responsible for dispensing each medication.  Records generated 
pursuant to this Paragraph shall be maintained and readily 
retrievable for a period of three years. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-85.25; 90-85.26; 90-85.32. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2504 PATIENT COUNSELING  
(a) "Patient Counseling" shall mean the effective communication 
of information, as defined in this Rule, to the patient or 
representative in order to improve therapeutic outcomes by 
maximizing proper use of prescription medications, devices, and 
medical equipment. This Rule shall apply to pharmacists and to 
registrants under G.S. 90-85.21.  All provisions of this Rule shall 
apply to device and medical equipment permit holders, except 
Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule and except where otherwise 
noted. Specific areas of patient counseling include, but are not 
limited to, those matters listed in this Rule that in the exercise of 
the pharmacist's or registrant's professional judgment are 
considered significant: 

(1) name, description, and purpose of the 
medication; 

(2) route, dosage, administration, and continuity 
of therapy; 

(3) special directions for use by the patient; 
(4) common severe side or adverse effects or 

interactions and therapeutic contraindications 
that may be encountered, including their 
avoidance, and the action required if they 
occur; 

(5) techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; 
(6) proper storage; 
(7) prescription refill information; and 
(8) action to be taken in the event of a missed 

dose. 
(b) An offer to counsel shall be made on new or transfer 
prescriptions at the time the prescription is dispensed or 
delivered to the patient or representative. Ancillary personnel 
may make the offer to counsel, but the pharmacist or registrant 
must personally conduct counseling if the offer is accepted. 
Counseling by device and medical equipment permit holders 
must be conducted by personnel proficient in explaining and 
demonstrating the safe and proper use of devices and equipment. 
The person in charge shall be responsible for ensuring that all 
personnel conducting counseling are proficient in explaining and 
demonstrating the safe and proper use of devices and equipment 
and for documenting the demonstration of such proficiency. The 
offer shall be made orally and in person, whenever practicable, 
or through when delivery occurs at the pharmacy.  When 
delivery occurs outside of the pharmacy, whether by mail, 
vehicular delivery or other means, the offer shall be made either 
orally and in person, or by telephone from the pharmacy to the 
patient.  If delivery occurs outside of the pharmacy, the 
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pharmacy shall provide the patient with access to a telephone 
service that is toll-free for long-distance calls. A pharmacist or 
registrant pharmacy whose primary patient population is 
accessible through a local measured or toll-free exchange need 
not be required to offer toll-free service. Professional judgment 
shall be exercised in determining whether or not to offer 
counseling for prescription refills. An offer to counsel shall be 
communicated in a positive manner to encourage acceptance. 
(c) In order to counsel patients effectively, a reasonable effort 
shall be made to obtain, record, and maintain, if significant, 
patient information, including, but not limited to: 

(1) name, address, telephone number; 
(2) date of birth (age), gender;  
(3) medical history: 

(A) disease state(s);  
(B) allergies/drug reactions; 
(C) current list of non-prescription and 

prescription medications, devices, 
and medical equipment. 

(4) pharmacist, registrant, or permit holder 
comments relevant to the individual's drug 
therapy. A "reasonable effort" shall mean a 
good faith effort to obtain from the patient or 
representative the foregoing patient 
information. Ancillary personnel may collect, 
record, and obtain patient profile information, 
but the pharmacist, registrant, or person in 
charge of the facility holding the device and 
medical equipment permit must review and 
interpret patient profile information and clarify 
confusing or conflicting information. 
Professional judgment shall be exercised as to 
whether and when individual patient history 
information should be sought from other 
health care providers. 

(d) Once patient information is obtained, this information shall 
be reviewed and updated by the pharmacist, registrant, or person 
in charge of the facility holding the device and medical 
equipment permit before each prescription is filled or delivered, 
typically at the point-of-sale or point of distribution to screen for 
potential drug therapy problems due to: 

(1) therapeutic duplication; 
(2) drug-disease contraindication; 
(3) drug-drug interactions, including serious 

interactions with prescription or over-the-
counter drugs; 

(4) incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug 
treatment; 

(5) drug-allergy interactions; and 
(6) clinical abuse/misuse. 

(e) Unless refused by the patient or representative, patient 
counseling shall be provided as follows: 

(1) counseling shall be "face to face" by the 
pharmacist, registrant, or personnel of a device 
and medical equipment permit holder when 
possible or appropriate; 

(2) alternative forms of patient information may 
be used to supplement patient counseling; 

(3) patient counseling, as des cribed in this Rule, 
shall also be required for outpatient and 
discharge patients of hospitals, health 

maintenance organizations, health 
departments, and other institutions; however, 
compliance with this Rule in locations in 
which non-pharmacists are authorized by law 
or regulation to dispense may be accomplished 
by such authorized non-pharmacists; and 

(4) patient counseling, as described in this Rule, 
shall not be required for inpatients of hospitals 
or other institutions where a nurse or other 
licensed health care professional administers 
the medication(s). 

(f) Pharmacies that distribute prescription medication by mail, 
and where the practitioner-pharmacist-patient relationship does 
not exist, shall provide counseling services for recipients of such 
medication in accordance with this Rule. 
(g) Records resulting from compliance with this Rule, including 
documentation of refusals to receive counseling, shall be 
maintained for three years in accordance with Section .2300 of 
this Chapter. 
(h) Personnel of device and medical equipment permit holders 
shall give written notice of warranty, if any, regarding service 
after the sale. The permit holder shall maintain documentation 
demonstrating that the written notice of warranty was given to 
the patient. 
(i) Offers to counsel and patient counseling for inmates need not 
be "face to face," but rather, may be conducted through a 
correctional or law enforcement officer or through printed 
material. A pharmacist, registrant or a device and medical 
equipment permit holder dis pensing drugs or devices or 
delivering medical equipment to inmates need not comply with 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule. However, once such patient 
information is obtained, the requirements of Paragraph (d) of 
this Rule shall be followed. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-85.22; 90-85.32;  
42 U.S.C. 1396r-8(g).  
 
21 NCAC 46 .2507 ADMINISTRATION OF  
IMMUNIZATIONS BY PHARMACISTS 
A pharmacist who has successfully completed a course of 
training approved by the Board, the North Carolina Medical 
Board, and the North Carolina Board of Nursing may administer 
immunizations.   
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.3; 90-85.6. 
 

SECTION .2800 - STERILE PARENTERAL 
PHARMACEUTICALS 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2801 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 
The purpose of this Section is to provide standards for the 
preparation, labeling, and distribution of sterile parenteral 
products by licensed pharmacists, pursuant to an order or 
prescription.  These standards are intended to apply to all sterile 
parenteral products, notwithstanding the location of the patient 
(e.g., home, hospital, nursing home, hospice, doctor's office).  
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2803 REQ/PHARMACIES  
DISPENSING STERILE PHARMACEUTICALS  
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All locations holding a pharmacy permit where sterile 
pharmaceuticals are routinely compounded for dispensing must 
meet the following requirements: 

(1) The location shall have a designated area with 
entry restricted to designated personnel for 
preparing compounded sterile parenteral 
products. This area shall be structurally 
isolated from other areas, with restricted entry 
or access, and must be designed to avoid 
unnecessary traffic and airflow disturbances 
from activity within the controlled facility. It 
shall be used only for the preparation of these 
specialty products. It shall be of sufficient size 
to accommodate a laminar airflow hood and to 
provide for the proper storage of drugs and 
supplies under appropriate conditions of 
temperature, light, moisture, sanitation, 
ventilation, and security. 

(2) The permit-holder preparing sterile parenteral 
products shall have the following equipment in 
addition to that required by Board Rule .1601 
of this Chapter: 
(a) Appropriate environmental control 

devices capable of maintaining at 
least Class 100 conditions in the work 
place where critical objects are 
exposed and critical activities are 
performed; 

(b) Sink with hot and cold running water 
that is convenient to the 
compounding area for the purpose of 
hand scrubs prior to compounding; 

(c) Appropriate disposal containers for 
used needles, syringes, etc., and if 
applicable cytotoxic waste from the 
preparation of chemotherapy agents 
and infectious wastes from patients' 
homes; 

(d) When cytotoxic drug products are 
prepared, appropriate environmental 
control devices also include 
appropriate biohazard cabinetry; 

(e) Refrigerator-freezer with a 
thermometer; 

(f) Temperature controlled delivery 
containers; and 

(g) Infusion devices, if appropriate. 
(3) The permit-holder dispensing sterile 

pharmaceuticals shall maintain inventories of 
the following supplies: Disposable needles, 
syringes, and other supplies need for aseptic 
admixture; disinfectant cleaning solution; 
handwashing agents  with bactericidal action; 
disposable, lint-free towels or wipes; 
appropriate filters and filtration equipment; 
oncology drug spill kit; and disposable masks, 
caps, gowns, and gloves. 

(4) In addition to the requirements of Rule 
.1601(a)(4)(K) of this Chapter, a permit-holder 
dispensing sterile pharmaceuticals shall have 
in its reference library the following reference 

materials: Handbook on Injectable Drugs 
(ASHP); King's Guide to Parenteral 
Admixtures; American Hospital Formulary 
Service; and Procedure for Handling Cytotoxic 
Drugs (ASHP). 

 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2804 RESPONSIBILITIES OF  
PHARMACIST-MANAGER  
The pharmacist-manager of a permit-holder where sterile 
parenteral pharmaceuticals are prepared or dispensed must be 
knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing and 
dispensing compounded, sterile parenteral pharmaceuticals, 
including the principles of aseptic technique and quality 
assurance. The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for the 
development and continuing review of all policies and 
procedures, training manuals, and quality assurance programs. 
Additionally, the pharmacist-manager is responsible for assuring 
that there is a system for disposal of infectious waste within the 
pharmacy in a manner so as not to endanger the public health. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2805 LABELING  
In addition to the standard labeling requirements, containers of 
sterile parenteral pharmaceuticals dispensed to patients shall be 
labeled with instructions for storage to maintain sterility and, for 
anti-neoplastic drugs, appropriate warning labels. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6.  
 
21 NCAC 46 .2808 QUALITY ASSURANCE  
There shall be a documented, ongoing quality assurance control 
program that monitors personnel performance, equipment and 
facilities. Appropriate samples of finished products shall be 
examined with such frequency as will assure that the pharmacy 
is capable of consistently preparing sterile parenteral products 
meeting specifications. Such examination shall include testing 
for microbial contamination. Quality assurance procedures shall 
include: recall procedures; storage and dating of products; 
maintenance of a log of the temperature of the refrigerator and/or 
freezer; routine maintenance and report of laminar flow hood 
certification; replacement on a regular basis of the pre-filters for 
the clean air source with documentation of the replacement 
dates; testing, with written documentation, of the end-product 
for microbial contamination; maintenance of written 
justification, or reference to published standards, for the chosen 
expiration date for compounded products; and regular quality 
assurance audits, including infection control and sterile 
technique audits. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6. 
 

SECTION .3300 – REGISTRATION OF A PHARMACY 
TECHNICIAN 

 
21 NCAC 46 .3301 REGISTRATION 
(a) Following initial registration with the Board, registration of a 
pharmacy technician shall be renewed annually and shall expire 
on December 31.  It shall be unlawful to work as a pharmacy 



PROPOSED RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
516 

technician more than 60 days after expiration of the regis tration 
without renewing the registration.   
(b) The current registration of a pharmacy technician shall be 
conspicuously posted in the pharmacy and must be readily 
available for inspection by agents of the Board.   
(c) The training program described in G.S. 90-85.15A(b) is not 
required for students enrolled in a community college pharmacy 
technician program.   
(d) Volunteer pharmacy technicians providing services at a 
facility which has a pharmacy permit designated as a free clinic 
shall complete the training program described in G.S. 90-
85.15A(b) but need not register with the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.15A. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 50 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 
PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER 

CONTRACTORS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler 
Contractors intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 50 
.0301, .0306, .0505-.0506, .1101-.1102, .1401-.1405, .1408-
.1409.  Notice of Rule-making Proceedings was published in the 
Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  March 15, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 9, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Office of the State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, 
Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, 1109 Dresser Ct., 
Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board proposes to modify 
continuing education requirements to meet needs and concerns 
expressed by licensees and course providers.  Also, the Board 
wishes to receive public comment to evaluate wisdom of creating 
new classes of limited license related to residential fire sprinkler 
systems, inspection and testing of fire sprinkler systems 
generally, and installation of hot water heaters or other 
components of plumbing or heating systems, all in response to 
comments and inquiries from industry.  Reduction in license fees 
and increases in examination fees is being considered. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments may be submitted in writing 
to the Board addressed to the Rulemaking Coordinator at the 
State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire 
Sprinkler Contractors, 1109 Dresser Ct., Raleigh, NC 27609 
with a copy to Board Counsel addressed to John N. Fountain, 
Young Moore and Henderson, PO Box 31627, Raleigh, NC 
27622. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m. on October 16, 
2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 

 None 
 

SECTION .0300 – EXAMINATIONS 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0301 QUALIFICATIONS  
DETERMINED BY EXAMINATION 
(a)  In order to determine the qualifications of an applicant, the 
Board shall provide an examination in writing or by computer in 
the following categories: 

Plumbing Contracting, Class I 
Plumbing Contracting, Class II 
Plumbing Contracting, Limited Water Heater and 
Service  
Heating, Group No. l - Contracting, Class I  
Heating, Group No. 1 - Contracting, Class II 
Heating, Group No. 2 - Contracting, Class I 
Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class I  
Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class II 
Fuel Pip ing 
Fire Sprinkler, Limited Maintenance 

(b)  Each applicant shall be required to read, interpret and 
provide answers to all parts of the examinations required by G.S. 
87-21(b). 
(c)  Applicants for licensure as a fire sprinkler contractor 
contractor, unlimited classification, must submit evidence of 
current certification by the National Institute for Certification 
and Engineering Technology (NICET) for Fire Protection 
Engineering Technician, Level III, subfield of Automatic 
Sprinkler System Layout as the prerequisite for licensure.  
Current certification by NICET is in lieu of separate examination 
conducted by the Board. 
(d) Effective July 1, 2003, the Board issues Limited Residential 
Fire Sprinkler license for use by persons who wish to contract or 
install fire sprinkler systems only in single family detached 
residential structures.  NICET, Level II certification is required 
for license limited to residential systems . Current certification by 
NICET is in lieu of separate examination conducted by the 
Board. 
(e) Effective July 1, 2003, the Board issues Limited Fire 
Sprinkler Maintenance license for use by persons who wish to 
carry out periodic testing, resetting and maintenance of 
previously installed fire sprinkler systems , consistent with NFPA 
25. 
(f) Effective July 1, 2003, the Board issues Limited Plumbing 
Contracting Water Heater and Service license for use by persons 
who wish to engage in contracting or installation of replacement 
water heaters or minor additions to previously installed 
plumbing, heating or air conditioning systems  in residential 
structures. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a); 87-21(b). 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF  
LICENSE 
(a)  All applicants for examinations shall file an application in 
the Board office on a form provided by the Board. 
(b)  Applicants for each plumbing or heating examination shall 
present evidence at the time of application on forms provided by 
the Board to establish the equivalent of two years on-site full-
time experience in the design and installation of plumb ing or 
heating systems related to the category for which license is 
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sought, whether or not license was required for the work 
performed.  One year of experience in the design or installation 
of fuel piping is required for fuel piping license. Practical 
experience shall directly involve plumbing, heating or fuel 
piping and may include work as a field superintendent, project 
manager, journeyman, mechanic or plant stationary operator 
directly involved in the installation, maintenance, service or 
repair of such systems.  Service, maintenance or repair activity 
work as a local government inspector of plumbing or heating 
systems while qualified by the Code Officials Qualification 
Board, work as a field representative of this Board or work by a 
graduate of an ABET accredited engineering or engineering 
technology program with direct on-site involvement with 
plumbing or heating system construction, construction 
supervision, plant engineering or operation may be used as 
evidence of one-half the practical experience required; provided 
that Board members and employees may not sit for examination 
during their tenure with the Board. After review, the Board may 
request additional evidence.  No more than Up to one-half the 
experience may be in academic or technical training training, 
maintenance service or repair directly related to the field of 
endeavor for which examination is requested.  The Board shall 
pro rate part-time work of less than 40 hours per week or part-
time academic work of less than 15 semester or quarter hours  or 
work which involves the kinds of work set out hereafter only 
part of the time. 
(c)  The Board shall issue a license certificate bearing the license 
number assigned to the qualifying individual.   
(d)  Fire Sprinkler contractors shall meet experience 
requirements in accordance with NICET examination criteria.   
(e) Applicants for examination in the Limited Residential Fire 
Sprinkler classification must submit evidence of 4000 hours 
experience in plans, specifications, layout, materials, 
components, water supply and installation of fire sprinkler 
systems . 
(f) Applicants for examination in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 
Maintenance classification must submit evidence of 4000 hours 
experience as a full-time employee of a licensed fire sprinkler 
contractor holding unlimited license, or as a full-time 
maintenance employee in facility maintenance with substantial 
exposure to periodic testing, resetting and maintenance of 
previously installed fire sprinkler systems which is pro-rated to 
equal 4000 hours. 
(g) Applicants for examination in the Limited Water Heater and 
Service classification must submit evidence of 4000 hours 
experience as a full-time employee of a licensed plumbing or 
heating contractor or 4000 hours experience in the service and 
minor repair of plumbing heating or air conditioning systems .  
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b). 
 

SECTION .0500 - POLICY STATEMENTS AND 
INTERPRETATIVE RULES 

 
21 NCAC 50 .0505 GENERAL SUPERVISION AND  
STANDARD OF COMPETENCE 
(a)  The general supervision required by G.S. 87-26 is that 
degree of supervision which is necessary and sufficient to ensure 
that the contract is performed in a workmanlike manner and with 
the requisite skill and that the installation is made properly, 
safely and in accordance with applicable codes and rules.  

General supervision requires that review of the work done 
pursuant to the license be performed while the work is in 
progress. 
(b)  The Board recognizes the provisions of the North Carolina 
Building Code, including the provisions of codes and standards 
incorporated by reference, to the extent adopted by the Building 
Code Council of North Carolina from time to time as the 
minimum standard of competence applicable to contractors 
licensed by the Board.  Licensees are required to design and 
install systems which meet or exceed the minimum standards of 
the North Carolina State Building Code, Manufacturer's 
specifications and installation instructions and accepted 
standards prevailing in the industry. 
(c) Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance licensees are required to 
be present in person at all times the system is being tripped, reset 
or maintained. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0506 MINOR REPAIRS AND  
ALTERATIONS 
(a)  The connection of a factory installed and inspected mobile 
home drainage system to an existing approved premises sewer 
system, which premises sewer system extends from the septic 
tank or municipal sewer system, constitutes a minor repair or 
replacement.  The connection of a factory installed mobile home 
water system to an existing approved potable water supply on 
the premises constitutes a minor repair or replacement. 
(b)  The initial installation or the subsequent replacement of a 
hot water heater in any structure requires a license in plumbing 
contracting. contracting. except that the replacement of a hot 
water heater, with no change in fuel or energy source, energy use 
rate, routing or sizing of venting or piping, constitutes a minor 
replacement within the meaning of G.S. 87-21(c). 
(c)  The installation of a water purification system which 
interrupts the potable water supply does not constitute a minor 
repair or replacement within the meaning of G.S. 87-21(c). 
(d)  Any connection, repair, or alteration which requires 
interruption of the potable water supply and if poorly performed 
creates substantial risk of contamination of the potable water 
supply is not a minor repair, replacement or alteration. 
(e)  Any connection, repair or alteration which if poorly 
performed creates substantial risk of fire or exposure to carbon 
monoxide, open sewage or other gases is not a minor repair, 
replacement or alteration. 
(f)  The failure to enumerate above any specific type of repair, 
replacement or alteration shall not be construed in itself to 
render said repair, replacement or alteration as minor within the 
meaning of G.S. 87-21(c). 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a)(1); 87-21(a)(5); 87-21(c). 
 

SECTION .1100 - FEES 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1101 EXAMINATION FEES  
(a)  An application to reissue or transfer license to a different 
corporation, partnership or individual name requires a fee of 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00), consistent with G.S. 87-26. 
(b)  An application to issue or transfer license to the license of an 
existing licensee requires a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00), 
consistent with G.S. 87-26. 
(c) Application for license License by examination requires a an 
application fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00), twenty dollars 
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($20.00) consisting of and an application fee of twenty-five 
dollars ($25.00) and an examination fee of seventy-five dollars 
($75.00), sixty dollars ($60.00), which is nonrefundable.  Upon 
passage of the examination, the license fee set forth in 21 NCAC 
50 .1102 or this Rule must be paid to obtain the license within 
45 days of notification of the result of the examination, except 
that anyone passing the examination after Novemb er 1 of any 
year may elect to obtain license for the following year rather 
than the year in which the exam was passed. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-22.1; 87-22; 87-26. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1102 LICENSE FEES  
(a)  Except as set out in this Rule, the annual license fee for 
statewide licenses by this Board is one hundred dollars 
($100.00). 
(b)  The annual license fee for a licensed individual who is not 
actively engaged in business requiring license by reason of full-
time employment as a local government plumbing, heating or 
mechanical inspector and who holds qualifications from the 
Code Officials Qualification Board is fifteen dollars ($15.00). 
(c)  The initial application fee for license as a fire sprinkler 
contractor is one hundred dollars ($100.00). seventy-five dollars 
($75.00).  The annual license fee for statewide licenses issued to 
a fire sprinkler contractor in the name of an individual, 
corporation, partnership or business with a trade name is one 
hundred dollars ($100.00). two-hundred seventy-five dollars 
($275.00). 
(d)  The annual license fee for an individual whose qualifications 
are listed as the second or subsequent individual on a 
corporation, partnership, or business with a trade name under 
Paragraphs (a), (b) or (d) of this Rule is ten dollars ($10.00). 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21; 87-22. 
 

SECTION .1400 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1401 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Beginning with renewals of license for years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2003, each holder of a Plumbing, Heating or 
Fuel Piping license, must have completed six hours of approved 
continuing education during the preceding calendar year as a 
condition of license renewal. 
(b)  Courses must be in areas related to plumbing, heating and 
air conditioning contracting such as the technical and practical 
aspects of:  the analysis of plans and specifications, estimating 
costs, fundamentals of installation and design, equipment, duct 
and pipe sizing, codes, code requirements, fire hazards and other 
subjects as those may relate to engaging in business as a 
plumbing, heating or fuel piping contractor or to plumbing or 
heating systems.  No more than two hours annually may be 
dedicated to business ethics, taxation, payroll, cash management, 
bid and contract preparation preparation, customer relations or 
similar subjects as related to plumbing or heating contracting. 
(c) At least once every three calendar years, each applicant for 
license renewal, other than fire sprinkler licensees, must 
complete a minimum of four hour hours block of instruction 
devoted entirely to N. C. and local building codes including 
recent changes or amendments to those codes . codes , a minimum 
of two hours instruction in system design, a minimum of two 

hours instruction in system installation and a minimum of two 
hours instruction in business courses such as business ethics, 
taxation, payroll, cash management, bid and contract 
preparation, customer relations or similar subjects as related to 
plumbing or heating contracting.  These minimums are part of 
and not in addition to the requirements set out in Paragraph (a) 
of this Rule.  This four hour block may be counted towards the 
required six hours for the calendar year in which the block is 
taken. 
(d)  Persons holding multiple qualifications from the Board must 
complete at least two hours in each qualification, totaling at least 
six hours annually, but are not required to take hours each year 
in each qualification.  Licensees with multiple qualifications are 
expected to take instruction so as to remain current in all areas of 
contracting work in which actively engaged. provided that the 
four hour block described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall take 
priority and no PH-12&3 contractor shall be required to 
complete more than 6 hours annually under this Rule. 
(e)  Licenses may not be renewed without documentation of 
course attendance, course name, course number, content and 
teacher in the form required by the Board.  Falsification or 
misstatement of continuing education information shall be 
grounds for failure to renew licenses and disciplinary action, 
including revocation or suspension of licenses. 
(f)  Continuing Education shall not be required of holders of Fire 
Sprinkler Contractor's licenses, licensed pursuant to the 
minimum requirements of certification for Level II or III, 
subfield of Automatic Sprinkler System Layout, National 
Institute for Certification of Engineering Technologies (NICET), 
provided such persons submit evidence of continued remain in 
compliance with the continuing education requirements of 
NICET. 
(g)  Beginning with renewals of license for years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2003, each holder of a Fire Sprinkler 
Contractor's license not current on the continuing education 
requirements of NICET must complete six hours of approved 
continuing education in areas related to fire sprinkler contracting 
during the preceding calendar year as a condition of license 
renewal. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1402 EXEMPTIONS AND CREDITS 
(a)  Continuing Education courses taken in 1999, 2000, 2001, or 
2002 may be applied to the six hour annual requirement for 2003 
renewals. Thereafter, licensees may not carry over hours from 
one calendar year to the next. 
(b)  Newly licensed individuals will have no continuing 
education requirements for the calendar year in which they first 
become licensed. 
(c)  Licensees who are unable to fulfill the required number of 
hours as the result of illness as certified by an attending 
physician may petition the Board in writing for an exemption or 
request approval of an individualized plan tailored to their 
physical limitations.  Such requests will be dealt with on a case 
by case basis by the Board without undue delay, consistent with 
the requirements applicable to all licensees.   
(d)  Licensees who are over the age of 65, and who will not be 
engaged in bidding supervising or other activities for which 
license is required during the coming year, except as an 
employee of another licensee, may apply to the Board and obtain 
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an exemption.  If exemption is granted and the licensee 
thereafter wishes to engage in activity requiring license, the 
continuing education must be completed and satisfactory proof 
provided to the Board before any activity requiring license is 
undertaken. 
(e)  Instructors in Board-approved courses shall receive be 
continuing education given credit for lecture hours spent 
educating other licensees in approved courses. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1403 COMPUTATION OF  
CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS 
(a)  To obtain one hour of continuing education credit a licensee 
and a course provider sponsor must certify the licensee's 
completion of one hour of actual instruction in a sponsored 
course.  Except with prior approval by the Board, a licensee will 
receive no credit for a course for which the licensee has 
previously received credit in the current or two preceding 
calendar years.  Approval will be granted only for courses on 
building code content and changes therein. 
(b)  Actual instruction does not include introductory remarks, 
breaks, business meetings, marketing of equipment, 
advertisements or time spent on non-approved subjects.  Each 
hour of actual instruction may include one break of 10 minutes 
duration. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-2. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1404 COURSE REQUIREMENTS AND  
LIMITATIONS 
(a)  In order for course credit to be obtained, the course must be 
approved and consist of instruction in areas related to plumbing, 
heating and air conditioning contracting such as the technical 
and practical aspects of: the analysis of plans and specifications, 
estimating costs, fundamentals of installation and design, 
equipment, duct and pipe sizing, codes, code requirements, fire 
hazards and other subjects as those may relate to engaging in 
business as a plumbing, heating or fuel piping contractor or to 
plumbing or heating systems. Business ethics, taxation, payroll, 
cash management, bid and contract preparation preparation, 
customer relations or similar subjects as substantially related to 
plumbing or heating contracting will also be approved. 
(b)  In order for course credit to be obtained, the course must be 
taught by the instructor or alternate listed when the course was 
approved by the Board. 
(c)  Courses shall have a minimum of two hours one hour of 
actual instruction and a maximum of six hours of actual 
instruction, per day. 
(d)  Courses shall be held in facilities conducive to learning.  
Such facilities include community colleges, technical schools, or 
community centers. 
(e)  Courses shall be open to all interested licensees that the host 
facility can reasonably accommodate and for audit by Board 
representatives; courses may not be restricted to employees, 
dealers or members of a particular firm or group. 
(f)  Once listed on the six-month course roster, a course may not 
be cancelled during that six month period. 
(g)  Though courses may have commercial sponsors, the courses 
shall not include promotion of products or services of a 
particular firm or manufacturer. 

(h)  Correspondence, home study, license exam preparation 
(cram) courses shall not be approved. 
(i)  For the information of all licenses, the Board shall maintain a 
calendar of all courses available during a six-month period. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1405 APPROVAL OF COURSES  
(a)  To obtain approval of a course a an applicant provider or 
proposed provider must submit a written application to the board 
on or before the first day of September of each year for courses 
to be offered the following January through June and on or 
before the first day of March each year for courses to be offered 
the following July through December.  at least 45 days before 
the proposed course date which The application must include: 

(1) two substantially complete sets of written 
course materials and a detailed course outline; 
and 

(2) an application cover sheet on a form supplied 
by the Board identifying the applicant, the 
name, training and experience of all speakers, 
the proposed date(s) of the course, the host 
facility, the place where applications for 
enrollment should be sent, the cost, and the 
total continuing education hours being offered. 
offered, and any hours dedicated to the block 
course on code. 

(b)  Preliminary review of course applications shall be carried 
out by a committee appointed by the Board, which will include 
some providers of approved courses.  Committee 
recommendations will be presented to the Board for final 
approval. 
(c)  As a condition of course approval, providers shall agree to 
submit to the board, in the form provided by the Board, and 
within 30 days of the course date set out on the application, an 
alphabetical listing of all licensees who attended and completed 
the course and a copy of any course materials distributed to 
participants together with certification that the course was 
provided consistent with the application. 
(d)  Providers who fail to provide the information set forth in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall not thereafter be approved to 
conduct a course. 
(e)  Licensees may select courses other than those offered by 
pre-approved providers. while attending out of state educational 
functions.  In order to obtain approval, the licensee must submit 
a written application for approval on a form obtained from the 
Board upon completion of each such course.  In lieu of such 
form, an advertising brochure may be submitted, provided the 
brochure includes the topic, content of lecture material, date, 
time, location, name and qualifications of speaker and the 
number of contact hours received upon completion of the 
program.  The licensee must also provide independent 
verification of attendance.  Board evaluation of courses not pre-
approved may result in disapproval.  
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1408 ADVERTISEMENTS BY  
COURSE PROVIDERS OR INSTRUCTORS 
Providers Sponsors of approved courses shall provide an 
advance copy of any brochure or marketing material for review 
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10 days before use and shall include in brochures and course 
descriptions a statement substantially as follows: 

This course has been approved by the North Carolina 
State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating & Fire 
Sprinkler Contractors for continuing education credit 
toward license renewal in the amount of __ hours. 
hours, of which  ___ hours will count towards the four 
hour block on state and local building codes.  This 
course is not sponsored by the Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .1409 TERMINATION OF COURS E OR  
PROVIDER APPROVAL 
The Board may suspend or terminate approval of any course or 
all courses offered by a provider if the Board finds a failure to 
comply with the Board's rules, the course outline, incompetence 
or misconduct of faculty or for misstatements as to content or 
participation, and may specify the conditions under which future 
applications would be favorably considered. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-21(b)(3); 87-22. 
 

* * * * * * * *  * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 57 - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL BOARD 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Appraisal Board intends to amend the rules 
cited as 21 NCAC 57A .0204, .0210, .0401, .0403, .0405; 57B 
.0101-.0103, .0210, .0306, .0603, .0607; 57C .0101-.0102.  
Notice of Rule-making Proceedings was published in the 
Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 14, 2002 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  3900 Barrett Dr., Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Several clerical changes are 
necessary.  The rule amendments will address confusion in the 
sequence of prelicensing courses, and will require trainees to 
have the same continuing education requirements as other 
licensees. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Roberta Ouellette, PO Box 20500, Raleigh, NC 
27619, phone (919)420-7920, fax (919)420-7925, email 
ncab@ncab.org.  Comment period ends October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SUBCHAPTER 57A - REGISTRATION, LICENS ING, 

CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE 
 

SECTION .0200 - APPRAISER LICENSING AND 
CERTIFICATION 

 
21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees and 
certificate holders shall, upon the second renewal of their 
registration, license or certificate following their initial 
registration, licensure or certification by the Board, and upon 
each subsequent renewal, and all registered trainees shall, upon 
the third successive renewal of their registration following their 
initial registration by the Board, present evidence satisfactory to 
the Board of having obtained continuing education as required 
by this Section. 
(b)  Within the immediately preceding licensing/certification 
period for which renewal licensure/certification is sought, 
continuing education consisting of at least fourteen classroom 
hours of instruction must be taken.  Beginning July 1, 2003, each 
trainee, licensee and certificate holder who is required to 
complete continuing education pursuant to .0204(a) must, within 
the immediately preceding licensing/certification period for 
which renewal licensure/certification is sought, complete 28 
hours of continuing education prior to June 30, 2005 and prior to 
June 30 of every odd numbered year thereafter. Except as 
provided in Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, such education 
must have been obtained by taking courses approved by the 
Board for continuing education purposes. Such education must 
relate to real estate appraisal and must contribute to the goal of 
improving the knowledge, skill and competence of trainees, 
state-licensed and state-certified real estate appraisers.  There is 
no exemption from the continuing education requirement for 
trainees or appraisers whose registered, licensed or certified 
status has been upgraded to the level of licensed residential, 
certified residential or certified general appraiser since the 
issuance or most recent renewal of their registration, license or 
certificate, and courses taken to satisfy the requirements of a 
higher level of certification may not be applied toward the 
annual continuing education requirement. 
(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a 
minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction 
on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application 
of appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of 
various types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; laws, 
rules or guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of practice and 
ethics; building construction; financial or investment analysis; 
land use planning or controls; feasibility analysis; statistics; 
accounting; and similar topics.  The trainee, license or certificate 
holder must have attended at least 90 percent of the scheduled 
classroom hours for the course in order to receive credit for the 
course.  
(d)  Beginning July 1, 2003, each trainee, licensee and certificate 
holder who is required to complete continuing education 
pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule must, as part of the 28 
hours of continuing education required in Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule, complete the seven hour Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update course, as 
required by the Appraiser Qualification Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation, or its equivalent, prior to June 30, 2005 and prior to 
June 30 of every odd numbered year thereafter. 
(e)  A licensee who elects to take approved continuing education 
courses in excess of the minimum requirement shall not carry 
over into the subsequent years any continuing education credit.  
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(f)  Course sponsors must provide a prescribed certificate of 
course completion to each trainee, licensee and certificate holder 
satisfactorily completing a course.  In addition, course sponsors 
must send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who 
successfully completed the course.  This roster must be sent 
within 15 days of completion of the course, but not later than 
June 30 of each year. In order to renew a registration, license or 
certificate in a timely manner, the Board must receive proper 
proof of satisfaction of the continuing education requirement 
prior to processing a registration, license or certificate renewal 
application.  If proper proof of having satisfied the continuing 
education requirement is not provided, the registration, license 
or certificate will expire and the trainee, licensee or certificate 
holder will be subject to the provisions of Rules .0203(e) and 
.0206 of this Section. 
(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
may request that the Board grant continuing education credit for 
a course taken by the trainee, licensee or certificate holder that is 
not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity 
equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making such request 
and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for 
each course or type of appraisal education activity to be 
evaluated.  Continuing education credit for a non-approved 
course will be granted only if the trainee, licensee or certificate 
holder provides satisfactory proof of course completion and the 
Board finds that the course satisfies the requirements for 
approval of appraisal continuing education courses with regard 
to subject matter, course length, instructor qualifications, and 
student attendance.  Appraisal education activities for which 
credit may be awarded include, but are not limited to, teaching 
appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 
development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects.  
The awarding of credit for such activities is wholly discretionary 
on the part of the Board.  Licensed or certified appraisers who 
have taught an appraisal course or courses approved by the 
Board for continuing education credit will be deemed to have 
taken an equivalent course and will not be subject to the fifty 
($50.00) fee, provided they submit verification satisfactory to 
the Board of having taught the course(s).  A licensee or 
certificate holder who teaches a Board-approved continuing 
education course may not receive continuing education credit for 
the same course more than once every three years, regardless of 
how often he teaches the course. 
(h)  A trainee, state-licensed or state-certified real estate 
appraiser may receive continuing education credit by taking any 
of the residential Board-approved prelicensing courses or 
precertification courses or their approved equivalents. The 
prelicensing These courses cannot be used for both continuing 
education credit and for credit for licensing purposes.  Trainees, 
licensees and certificate holders who wish to use a prelicensing 
course for continuing education credit must comply with the 
provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 
(i)  A trainee, licensee or certificate holder may request in 
writing and be granted an extension of time to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements if he provides evidence 
satisfactory to the Board that he was unable to obtain the 
necessary education due to an incapacitating illness, military 
assignment outside the 50 states, or similar condition.  If an 
extension of time is granted, the trainee, licensee or certificate 
holder will be permitted to renew or reinstate, as appropriate, his 
registration, license or certificate for that period of time for 

which the extension was granted.  The granting of such request 
and the length of any extension of time granted are wholly 
discretionary on the part of the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-7(a) and (b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0210 TEMPORARY PRACTICE 
(a)  A real estate appraiser from another state who is licensed or 
certified by the appraiser licensing or certifying agency in such 
state may apply for registration to receive temporary appraiser 
licensing or certification privileges in this State by filing a 
notarized application with the Board.  
(b)  Upon filing a properly completed application accompanied 
by a fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) and otherwise 
satisfying the Appraisal Board as to his or her qualifications, 
eligibility and moral fitness for temporary licensing or 
certification privileges, an applicant shall be granted a temporary 
practice permit by the Board authorizing the applicant to 
perform in this State the appraisal assignment described in such 
application, provided that the length of time projected by the 
applicant for completion of the assignment is reasonable given 
the scope and complexity of the assignment.  As part of the 
examination for moral fitness, the Board may consider whether 
an applicant's trainee registration or appraiser license or 
certification is or has been subject to discipline in their resident 
state or any other state, and may consider all other information 
outlined in Rule .0202(c) of this Section. 
(c)  Privileges granted under the provisions of this Rule shall 
expire upon the expiration date set forth in the temporary 
practice permit.  However, upon a showing by the permittee 
satisfactory to the Appraisal Board that, notwithstanding the 
permittee's diligent attention to the appraisal assignment, 
additional time is needed to complete the assignment, the Board 
shall extend the temporary practice privileges granted under the 
permittee's temporary practice permit to afford him additional 
time to complete the appraisal assignment. 
(d)  Persons granted temporary practice privileges under this 
Rule shall not advertise or otherwise hold themselves out as 
being a North Carolina registered trainee or state-licensed or 
state-certified appraiser. 
(e)  A trainee may apply for a temporary practice permit and the 
provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Rule shall apply.  
The supervising appraiser for the trainee must be a North 
Carolina state-licensed or state-certified appraiser.  If not, the 
supervising appraiser must be licensed or certified as a real 
estate appraiser in another state and must also receive a 
temporary practice permit for the same assignment as the 
trainee. The term “trainee” shall include apprentices and others 
who are licensed credentialed and regulated by a state agency to 
perform real estate appraisals under the supervision of a licensed 
or certified appraiser. 
(f)  An applicant for a temporary practice permit may not begin 
performing any appraisal work in this State until the temporary 
practice permit has been issued by the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-9(c) and (d); 93E-1-10; Title XI, Section  
1122(a); 12 U.S.C. 3351(a). 
 

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0401 USE OF TITLES  
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(a)  A trainee shall utilize the term "registered trainee" or 
"trainee real estate appraiser" when performing an appraisal of 
real estate or any interest therein, and when referring to himself 
as a trainee. 
(b)  A state-licensed residential real estate appraiser shall utilize 
the term "state-licensed residential real estate appraiser" and a 
state-certified residential real estate appraiser shall utilize the 
term "state-certified residential real estate appraiser" when 
performing an appraisal of real estate or any interest therein, and 
when referring to himself as an appraiser.  A state-certified 
general real estate appraiser shall utilize either the term "state-
certified general real estate appraiser" or "state-certified 
residential/general real estate appraiser" when performing 
appraisals of all types of real estate or any interest therein, and 
when referring to himself as an appraiser. 
(c)  Trainee registration, licensure or certification as a real estate 
appraiser is granted only to persons and does not ext end to a 
business entity operated by a trainee, state-licensed or state-
certified real estate appraiser. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0403 ADVERTISING 
(a)  When advertising or otherwise holding himself out as a 
trainee or real estate appraiser, a trainee shall identify himself as 
a "registered trainee", trainee" or a "trainee real estate appraiser", 
a state-licensed residential real estate appraiser shall identify 
himself as a "state-licensed residential real estate appraiser", a 
state-certified residential real estate appraiser shall identify 
himself as a "state-certified residential real estate appraiser", and 
a state-certified general real estate appraiser shall identify 
himself as either a "state-certified general real estate appraiser" 
or a "state-certified residential/general real estate appraiser". 
(b)  A registered trainee, state-licensed or state-certified real 
estate appraiser doing business as a partnership, association, 
corporation or other business entity shall not represent in any 
manner to the public that the partnership, association, 
corporation or other business entity is registered, licensed or 
certified by the State of North Carolina to engage in the business 
of real estate appraising. 
(c)  In the event that any trainee, licensee or certificate holder 
shall advertise in any manner using a firm name, corporate 
name, or an assumed name which does not set forth the surname 
of the trainee, licensee or certificate holder, he shall first notify 
the Board in writing of such name and furnish the Board with a 
copy of each registration of assumed name certificate filed with 
the office of the county register of deeds in compliance with 
G.S. 66-68. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57A .0405 APPRAISAL REPORTS 
(a)  Each written appraisal report prepared by or under the 
supervision of a state-licensed or state-certified real estate 
appraiser shall bear the signature of the state-licensed or state-
certified appraiser, the license or certificate number of the 
licensee or certificate holder in whose name the appraisal report 
is issued, and the designation "state-licensed residential real 
estate appraiser", "state-certified residential real estate 
appraiser", or the designation "state-certified general real estate 
appraiser", or "state-certified residential/general real estate 

appraiser", as applicable.  Each such appraisal report shall also 
indicate whether or not the state-licensed or state-certified 
appraiser has personally inspected the property, and shall 
identify any other person who assists in the appraisal process 
other than by providing clerical assistance. 
(b)  Every state-licensed and state-certified real estate appraiser 
shall affix or stamp to all appraisal reports a seal which shall set 
forth the name and license or certificate number of the appraiser 
in whose name the appraisal report is issued and shall identify 
the appraiser as a "state-licensed residential real estate 
appraiser", a "state-certified residential real estate appraiser", or 
as a "state-certified general real estate appraiser" or "state-
certified residential/general real estate appraiser", as applicable.  
Registered trainees are prohibited from using a seal on appraisal 
reports. 
(c)  A state-licensed or state-certified real estate appraiser who 
signs an appraisal report prepared by another person, in any 
capacity, shall be fully responsible for the content and 
conclusions of the report. 
(d)  A written appraisal report shall be issued on all real estate 
appraisals performed in connection with federally related 
transactions. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAIS AL 
EDUCATION 

 
SECTION .0100 - COURSES REQUIRED FOR 

REGISTRATION, LICENS URE OR CERTIFICATION 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0101 REGISTERED TRAINEE, AND  
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAIS ER  
COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee or licensure as a 
state-licensed residential real estate appraiser shall complete 
ninety (90) hours of prelicensing education, consisting of the 
following;  

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Introduction to 
Real Estate Appraisal (R-1); 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Valuation 
Principles and Procedures (R-2); and 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in Applied 
Residential Property Valuation (R-3). 

(b)  Effective January 1, 2003, each Each applicant for 
registration as a trainee or licensure as a state-licensed 
residential real estate appraiser shall complete 90 hours of 
prelicensing education, consisting of the following;  

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Introduction to 
Real Estate Appraisal (R-1); 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Valuation 
Principles and Procedures (R-2);  

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Applied 
Residential Property Valuation (R-3); and 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP)  

(c)(b)  Credit for these courses must be earned from a Board-
approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall 
be approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with these 
rules. These courses must be commenced and completed 
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sequentially in the order listed and within the five-year period 
immediately preceding the date when application for 
registration, licensure or certification is made to the Board. 
(c)  Introduction to Real Estate Appraisal (R-1) shall be a 
prerequisite to taking Valuation Principles and Procedures (R-2), 
and Va luation Principles and Procedures (R-2) shall be a 
prerequisite to taking Applied Residential Property Valuation 
(R-3). 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0102 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL  
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  In addition to the courses specified in Rule .0101 of this 
Section, an applicant for certification as a state-certified 
residential real estate appraiser is required to complete the 
following precertification course involving a minimum of 30 
classroom hours: a minimum of 30 hours in Introduction to 
Income Property Appraisal (G-1).  This course must be taken 
after the applicant's successful completion of the prelicensing 
courses specified in Rule .0101 of this Section.  Credit for this 
course must be earned from a Board-approved course sponsor or 
school, and all courses must be completed sequentially in the 
order listed. school.  
(b)  An applicant who is not currently registered as a trainee or 
currently licensed as a state-licensed residential real estate 
appraiser must have completed all required courses within the 
five-year period immediately preceding the date application is 
made to the Board. 
(c)  An applicant who is currently registered as a trainee or 
currently licensed as a state-licensed residential real estate 
appraiser must have completed the required 30 classroom hour 
course in Introduction to Income Property Appraisal (G-1) 
within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 
application is made to the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL  
ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  In addition to the courses specified in Rules .0101 and .0102 
of this Section, an application for certification as a state-certified 
general real estate appraiser is required to complete the 
following precertification courses, each involving a minimum of 
30 classroom hours: 

(1) Advanced Income Capitalization (G-2); and 
(2) Applied Income Property Valuation (G-3). 

These courses must be commenced and completed sequentially 
in the order listed after the applicant's successful completion of 
the courses specified in Rules .0101 and .0102 of this Section.  
Income Property Appraisal (G-1) shall be a prerequisite for 
Advanced Income Capitalization (G-2), and Advanced Income 
Capitalization (G-2), shall be a prerequisite to Applied Income 
property Valuation (G-3). Credit for all courses must be earned 
from a Board-approved course sponsor or school, and all courses 
shall comply with the course content standards prescribed in 
Rule .0302 of this Subchapter. 
(b)  An applicant who is not currently registered as a trainee 
trainee, or currently licensed as a state-licensed or real estate 
appraiser, or currently certified as a state-certified residential 
real estate appraiser must have completed all the required 

courses within the five-year period immediately preceding the 
date application is made to the Board. 
(c)  An applicant who is a currently registered as a trainee  
trainee, or currently licensed as a state-licensed or real estate 
appraiser, or currently certified as a state-certified residential 
real estate appraiser must have commenced and completed all 
courses required beyond those required for his current licensure 
or certification within the five-year period immediately 
preceding the date application is made to the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
SECTION .0200 – COURSE SPONSOR STANDARDS FOR 

PRELICENSING AND PRECERTIFICATION 
EDUCATION 

 
21 NCAC 57B .0210 COURSE RECORDS 
Schools and course sponsors must: 

(1) retain on file for five years copies of all grade 
and attendance records for each approved 
course and must make such records available 
to the Board upon request;  

(2) retain on file for two years a master copy of 
each final course examination, and such file 
copy shall indicate the answer key, course 
title, course dates and name of instructor.  
Examination file copies shall be made 
available to the Board upon request;  

(3) within 15 days of course completion, but not 
later than June 30 of each year, submit to the 
Board a roster of all students  North Carolina 
trainees and state-licensed and state-certified 
appraisers who satisfactorily completed the 
course, and 

(4) participate in the Board's course and instructor 
evaluation program. 

 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 

SECTION .0300 - COURSE STANDARDS FOR 
PRELICENSING AND PRECERTIFICATION 

EDUCATION 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all 
appraisal prelicensing and precertification courses or courses 
deemed equivalent by the Board shall be taught by instructors 
who possess the fitness for licensure required of applicants for 
trainee registration or real estate appraiser licensure or 
certification and either the minimum appraisal education and 
experience qualifications listed in this Rule or other 
qualifications that are found by the Board to be equivalent to 
those listed.  These qualification requirements shall be met on a 
continuing basis.  The minimum qualifications are as follows: 

(1) Residential appraiser courses: 120 classroom 
hours of real estate appraisal education 
equivalent to the residential appraiser 
education courses prescribed in Rules .0101 
and .0102 of this Subchapter and either two 
years' full-time experience as a residential real 
estate appraiser within the previous five years 
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or three years full time experience as a general 
real estate appraiser within the previous five 
years, with at least one-half of such experience 
being in residential property appraising.  
Instructors must also be either state-certified 
residential or state-certified general real estate 
appraisers. 

(2) General appraiser courses: 180 classroom 
hours of real estate appraisal education 
equivalent to the general appraiser education 
courses prescribed in Rules .0101, .0102 and 
.0103 of this Subchapter and three years' full-
time experience as a general real estate 
appraiser within the previous five years, with 
at least one-third of such experience being in 
income property appraising.  Instructors must 
also be state-certified general real estate 
appraisers. 

(3) USPAP: certification by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation as an instructor for the National 
USPAP Course. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications stated 
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be utilized to teach collectively 
up to one-fourth of any course, provided that each guest lecturer 
possesses education and experience directly related to the 
particular subject area he is teaching. 
(c)  Instructors shall conduct themselves in a professional and 
courteous manner when performing their instructional duties and 
shall conduct their classes in a manner that demonstrates a 
thorough knowledge of the subject matter being taught and 
mastery of the following basic teaching skills: 

(1) The ability to communicate effectively 
through speech, including the ability to speak 
clearly at an appropriate rate of speed and with 
appropriate grammar and vocabulary. 

(2) The ability to present instruction in a thorough, 
accurate, logical, orderly, and understandable 
manner, to utilize illustrative examples as 
appropriate and to respond appropriately to 
questions from students; 

(3) The ability to effectively utilize varied 
instructive techniques other than straight 
lecture, such as class discussion or other 
techniques.  

(4) The ability to effectively utilize instructional 
aids to enhance learning; 

(5) The ability to effectively maintain an effective 
learning environment and effective control of a 
class; 

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in a 
manner that encourages students to learn, that 
demonstrates an understanding of students 
backgrounds, that avoids offending the 
sensibilities of students, and that avoids 
personal criticism of any other person, agency 
or organization. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 
instructor must submit to the Board a videotape in a manner and 
format which depicts the instructor teaching portions of a 
prelicensing course specified by the Board and which 

demonstrates that the instructor possesses the basic teaching 
skills described in Rule .0306(c) of this Section.  
(e)  The inquiry into fitness shall include consideration of 
whether the instructor has ever had any disciplinary action taken 
on his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other 
professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any other 
state, or whether the instructor has ever been convicted of or 
pleaded guilty to any criminal act. 
(f)  Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action 
regarding his or her appraisal license or certificate from the State 
of North Carolina or any other state within the previous two 
years.  For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary action 
means a reprimand, suspension (whether active or inactive) or a 
revocation. 
(g)  Upon request of the Board, instructors who are appraisers 
must supply the Board with copies of sample appraisal reports. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 
 
SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES  
 
21 NCAC 57B .0603 CRITERIA FOR COURS E  
APPROVAL 
The following requirements must be satisfied in order for course 
sponsors to obtain approval of a course for appraiser continuing 
education credit:(1) The subject matter of the course must 

comply with the requirements of Rule .0204 of 
Subchapter 57A and the information to be 
provided in the course must be both accurate 
and current. 

(2) The course must involve a minimum of three 
and one-half classroom hours of instruction on 
acceptable subject matter.  A classroom hour 
consists of 50 minutes of classroom instruction 
and 10 minutes of break time. Instruction must 
be given for the full number of hours for 
which credit is given.  Instructors may not 
accumulate unused break time to end the class 
early.   

(3) The course instructor(s) must: 
(a) possess the fitness for licensure 

required of applicants for trainee 
registration, real estate appraiser 
licensure or certification; and 

(b) either:   
(i) two years' full-time 

experience that is directly 
related to the subject matter 
to be taught;  

(ii) a baccalaureate or higher 
degree in a field that is 
directly related to the subject 
matter to be taught;   

(iii) two years' full-time 
experience teaching the 
subject matter to be taught; 
or 

(iv) an equivalent combination of 
such education and 
experience.   
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(4) If two or more instructors will be utilized to 
teach a course during the approval period and 
the course will be taught in states other than 
North Carolina, it is sufficient for the course 
sponsor to show that it has minimum instructor 
requirements comparable to these 
requirements. The inquiry into fitness shall 
include consideration of whether the instructor 
has had any disciplinary action taken on his or 
her appraisal license or any other professional 
license in North Carolina or any other state, or 
whether the instructor has been convicted of or 
pleaded guilty to any criminal act.  

(5) The course must be one involving a qualified 
instructor who, except as noted in Item (5)(6) 
of this Rule, shall be physically present in the 
classroom at all times and who shall 
personally provide the instruction for the 
course.  The course instructor may utilize 
videotape instruction, remote television 
instruction or similar types of instruction by 
other persons to enhance or supplement his 
personal instruction; however, such other 
persons shall not be considered to be the 
official course instructor and the official 
course instructor must be physically present 
when such indirect instruction by other 
persons is being utilized.  No portion of the 
course may consist of correspondence 
instruction.  The instructor must comply with 
Rule .0306(c) of this Subchapter.  Instructors 
for the National USPAP courses must be 
certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board 
of the Appraisal Foundation. 

(6) Effective for courses attended on or after the 
effective date of this rule, a trainee or 
appraiser may receive up to seven hours of 
credit per renewal period for participation in a 
course on a computer disk or on-line via the 
Internet.  A sponsor seeking approval of a 
computer-based education course must submit 
a complete copy of the course on the medium 
that is to be utilized and, must make available 
at the sponsor's expense, all hardware and 
software necessary for the Board to review the 
submitted course.  In the case of an internet-
based course, the Board must be provided 
access to the course via the internet at a date 
and time satisfactory to the Board and shall not 
be charged any fee for such access. To be 
approved for credit, a computer-based 
continuing education course must meet all of 
the conditions imposed by the Rules in this 
Subchapter in advance, except where 
otherwise noted. The course must be 
interactive, permitting the participant to 
communicate, via telephone, electronic mail, 
or a website bulletin board, with the presenter 
and other participants.   The sponsor of an on-
line course must have a reliable method for 
recording and verifying attendance. The 

sponsor of a course on a computer disk must 
demonstrate that there is a reliable method for 
the user or the sponsor to record and verify 
participation in the course. A participant may 
periodically log on and off of a computer-
based continuing education course provided 
the total time spent participating in the course 
is equal to or exceeds the credit hours assigned 
to the program. A course completion 
certificate must be forwarded to the student as 
stated in Rule .0607 of this Section, and a 
course roster must be sent to the Appraisal 
Board in accordance with Rule .0608 of this 
Section.  

(7) The course must be an educational program 
intended to improve the knowledge, skill and 
competence of trainees, state-licensed and 
state-certified real estate appraisers.  Activities 
not eligible for approval as a continuing 
education course include in-house training 
programs of a firm, organization or agency, or 
similar activities. 

(8) The course sponsor must certify that the 
course will be conducted in accordance with 
the operational requirements stated in Rule 
.0606 of this Section and that the course 
sponsor will comply with all other applicable 
rules contained in this Section. 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57B .0607 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE  
COMPLETION 
Course sponsors must issue a certificate of course completion 
within 15 days of completion of the course to all students who 
satisfactorily complete an approved course.  If the course 
sponsor is located in North Carolina, the certificate, which the 
student must retain for a period of five years, and must bear the 
signature or signature stamp which must be in a color of ink 
other than black of a person designated by the course sponsor to 
sign such certificate.  The North Carolina-based course sponsor 
must notify the Board in advance of the person(s) designated to 
sign certificates of course completion for courses conducted in 
North Carolina.  If the course sponsor is not located in North 
Carolina, the certificate provided for submission to the Board of 
course completion must show the name of the course sponsor, 
the name of the course, the number of classroom hours, the 
course dates, the state or city where the course was conducted, 
and the full name of the student. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 57C - ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 
PROCEDURES 

 
SECTION .0100 - APPRAISAL BOARD HEARINGS  

 
21 NCAC 57C .0101 FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND  
OTHER PLEADINGS  
(a)  There shall be no specific form required for complaints.  To 
be sufficient, a complaint shall be in writing, identify the 
respondent trainee or licensed or certified appraiser and shall 
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reasonably apprise the Board of the facts which form the basis of 
the complaint.  
(b)  When investigating a complaint, the scope of the 
investigation shall not be limited to the persons or transactions 
described or alleged in the complaint.  
(c)  Persons who make complaints are not parties to contested 
cases heard by the Board, but may be witnesses in the cases. 
(d)  There shall be no specific form required for answers, 
motions or other pleadings relating to contested cases before the 
Board, except they shall be in writing.  To be sufficient, the 
document must identify the case to which it refers and 
reasonably apprise the Board of the matters it alleges, answers, 
or requests.  In lieu of submission in writing, motions, requests 
and other pleadings may be made on the record during the 
course of the hearing before the Board. 
(e)  During the course of an investigation of a licensee, the 
Board, through its legal counsel or staff, may send a trainee or 
appraiser one or more Letters of Inquiry requesting the trainee or 
appraiser to respond.  The initial Letter of Inquiry, or 
attachments thereto, shall set forth the subject matter being 
investigated.  Upon receipt of a Letter of Inquiry, the trainee or 
appraiser shall respond within 14 calendar days.  Trainees and 
appraisers shall include with their written response copies of all 
documents requested in a Letter of Inquiry. 
(e)(f)  Hearings in contested cases before the Board shall be 
governed by the provisions of G.S. 150B, Article 3A. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 
21 NCAC 57C .0102 PRESIDING OFFICER 
(a)  The Appraisal Board may designate any of its members to 
preside over the hearing in a contested case.  When no 
designation is made, the Chairman of the Board shall preside, or, 
in his absence, the Vice Chairman shall preside.  The presiding 
officer shall rule on motions or other requests made in a 
contested case prior to the conduct of the hearing in that case 
except when the ruling on the motion would be dispositive of the 
case.  When the ruling on a motion or request would be 
dispositive of the case, the presiding officer shall make no ruling 
and the motion or request shall be determined by a majority of 
the Board. 
(b)  The Chairman of the Board may allow the Board's Executive 
Director to grant the first request for a continuance of a hearing.  
Any subsequent requests for continuance shall be granted only 
by a majority of the Board. the Chairman of the Board.  The 
granting of a continuance is wholly discretionary. 
 
Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 58 – REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Real Estate Commission intends to amend the rules cited 
as 21 NCAC 58A .0107. .0113, .0302, .0502; 58E .0203 and 
repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 58A .0501.  Notice of Rule-
making Proceedings was published in the Register on July 15, 
2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2003 

 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 16, 2002 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Commission is attempting to 
clarify its application processes, record-keeping requirements, 
and principal broker accountability standard. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be submitted 
to Pamela Millward, 1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609.  
Phone (919) 875-3700 or email to pamela@ncrec.state.nc.us.  
Comments will be accepted through October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SUBCHAPTER 58A - REAL ESTATE BROKERS  AND 

SALESMEN 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL BROKERAGE 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0107 HANDLING AND ACCOUNTING  
OF FUNDS 
(a)  All monies received by a licensee acting in his or her 
fiduciary capacity shall be deposited in a trust or escrow account 
maintained by a broker not later than three banking days 
following receipt of such monies except that earnest money 
deposits paid by means other than currency which are received 
on offers to purchase real estate and tenant security deposits paid 
by means other than currency which are received in connection 
with real estate leases shall be deposited in a trust or escrow 
account not later than three banking days following acceptance 
of such offer to purchase or lease; the date of acceptance of such 
offer to purchase or lease shall be set forth in the purchase or 
lease agreement.  All monies received by a salesperson shall be 
delivered immediately to the broker by whom he or she is 
employed. 
(b)  In the event monies received by a licensee while acting in a 
fiduciary capacity are deposited in a trust or escrow account 
which bears interest, the broker having custody over such 
monies shall first secure from all parties having an interest in the 
monies written authorization for the deposit of the monies in an 
interest-bearing account.  Such authorization shall specify how 
and to whom the interest will be disbursed, and, if contained in 
an offer, contract, lease, or other transaction instrument, such 
authorization shall be set forth in a clear and conspicuous 
manner which shall distinguish it from other provisions of the 
instrument. 
(c)  Closing statements shall be furnished to the buyer and the 
seller in the transaction at the closing or not more than five days 
after closing. 
(d)  Trust or escrow accounts shall be so designated by the bank 
or savings and loan association in which the account is located, 
and all deposit tickets and checks drawn on said account as well 
as the monthly bank statement for the account shall bear the 
words "Trust Account" or "Escrow Account."  
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(e)  A licensee shall maintain and retain records sufficient to 
identify the ownership of all funds belonging to others.  Such 
records shall be sufficient to show proper deposit of such funds 
in a trust or escrow account and to verify the accuracy and 
proper use of the trust or escrow account.  The required records 
shall include but not be limited to: 

(1) bank statements. 
(2) canceled checks which shall be referenced to 

the corresponding journal entry or check stub 
entries and to the corresponding sales 
transaction ledger sheets or for rental 
transactions, the corresponding property or 
owner ledger sheets.  When a check is used to 
disburse funds for more than one sales 
transaction, owner, or property, the check shall 
bear a notation identifying each sales 
transaction, owner, or property for which 
disbursement is made, including the amount 
disbursed for each, and the corresponding 
sales transaction, property, or owner ledger 
entries.  When necessary, the check notation 
may refer to the required information recorded 
on a supplemental disbursement worksheet 
which shall be cross-referenced to the 
corresponding check. 

(3) deposit tickets.  For a sales transaction, the 
deposit ticket shall identify the purpose and 
remitter of the funds deposited, the property, 
the parties involved, and a reference to the 
corresponding sales transaction ledger entry.  
For a rental transaction, the deposit ticket shall 
identify the purpose and remitter of the funds 
deposited, the tenant, and the corresponding 
property or owner ledger entry.  When a single 
deposit ticket is used to deposit funds collected 
for more than one sales transaction, property 
owner, or property, the required information 
shall be recorded on the ticket for each sales 
transaction, owner, or property, or the ticket 
may refer to the same information recorded on 
a supplemental deposit worksheet which shall 
be cross-referenced to the corresponding 
deposit ticket. 

(4) a separate ledger sheet for each sales 
transaction and for each property or owner of 
property managed by the broker identifying 
the property, the parties to the transaction, the 
amount, date, and purpose of the deposits and 
from whom received, the amount, date, check 
number, and purpose of disbursements and to 
whom paid, and the running balance of funds 
on deposit for the particular sales transaction 
or, in a rental transaction, the particular 
property or owner of property.  Monies held as 
tenant security deposits in connection with 
rental transactions may be accounted for on a 
separate tenant security deposit ledger for each 
property or owner of property managed by the 
broker.  For each security deposit the tenant 
security deposit ledger shall identify the 
remitter, the date the deposit was paid, the 

amount, the tenant, landlord, and subject 
property.  For each disbursement of tenant 
security deposit monies, the ledger shall 
identify the check number, amount, payee, 
date, and purpose of the disbursement.  The 
ledger shall also show a running balance.  
When tenant security deposit monies are 
accounted for on a separate ledger as provided 
herein, deposit  tickets, canceled checks and 
supplemental worksheets shall reference the 
corresponding tenant security deposit ledger 
entries when appropriate. 

(5) a journal or check stubs identifying in 
chronological sequence each bank deposit and 
disbursement of monies to and from the trust 
or escrow account, including the amount and 
date of each deposit and an appropriate 
reference to the corresponding deposit ticket 
and any supplemental deposit worksheet, and 
the amount, date, check number, and purpose 
of disbursements and to whom paid.  The 
journal or check stubs shall also show a 
running balance for all funds in the account. 

(6) copies of contracts, leases and management 
agreements. 

(7) closing statements and property management 
statements. 

(8) any documents not otherwise described herein 
necessary and sufficient to verify and explain 
record entries. 

Records of all receipts and disbursements of trust or escrow 
monies shall be maintained in such a manner as to create a clear 
audit trail from deposit tickets and canceled checks to check 
stubs or journals and to the ledger sheets.  Ledger sheets and 
journals or check stubs must be reconciled to the trust or escrow 
account bank statements on a monthly basis. To be sufficient, 
records of trust or escrow monies must include a worksheet for 
each such monthly reconciliation showing the ledger sheets, 
journals or check stubs, and bank statements to be in agreement 
and balance. 
(f)  All trust or escrow account records shall be made available 
for inspection by the Commission or its authorized 
representatives in accordance with Rule 21 NCAC 58A .0108. 
(g)  In the event of a dispute between the seller and buyer or 
landlord and tenant over the return or forfeiture of any deposit 
other than a residential tenant security deposit held by a licensee, 
the licensee shall retain said deposit in a trust or escrow account 
until the licensee has obtained a written release from the parties 
consenting to its disposition and or until disbursement is ordered 
by a court of competent jurisdiction.  If it appears to a broker 
holding a disputed deposit that a party has abandoned his or her 
claim, the broker may disburse the money to the other claiming 
parties according to their written agreement provided that the 
broker first makes a reasonable effort to notify the party who has 
apparently abandoned his or her claim and provides that party 
with an opportunity to renew his or her claim to the disputed 
funds. 
(h)  A broker may transfer earnest money deposits in his or her 
possession collected in connection with a sales transaction from 
his or her trust account to the closing attorney or other settlement 
agent not more than ten days prior to the anticipated settlement 
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date. A licensee shall not disburse prior to settlement any earnest 
money in his or her possession for any other purpose without the 
written consent of the parties. 
(i)  The funds of a property owner association, when collected, 
maintained or disbursed by a licensee, are trust monies and shall 
be treated as such in the manner required by this Rule. 
(j)  Every licensee shall safeguard the money or property of 
others coming into his or her possession in a manner consistent 
with the requirements of the Real Estate License Law and the 
rules adopted by the Commission.  A licensee shall not convert 
the money or property of others to his or her own use, apply 
such money or property to a purpose other than that for which it 
was paid or entrusted to him or her, or permit or assist any other 
person in the conversion or misapplication of such money or 
property. 
(k) In addition to the records required by Paragraph (e) of this 
Rule, a licensee acting as agent for the landlord of a residential 
property used for vacation rentals shall create and maintain a 
subsidiary ledger sheet for each property or owner of such 
properties onto which all funds collected and disbursed are 
identified in categories by purpose.  On a monthly basis, the 
licensee shall reconcile the subsidiary ledger sheet sheets to the 
corresponding property or property owner ledger sheet.  In lieu 
of maintaining a subsidiary ledger sheet, the licensee may 
maintain an accounts payable ledger sheet for each owner or 
property and each vendor to whom trust monies are due for 
monies collected on behalf of the owner or property identifying 
the date of receipt of the trust monies, from whom the monies 
were received, rental dates, and the corresponding property or 
owner ledger sheet entry including the amount to be disbursed 
for each and the purpose of the disbursement. The licensee may 
also maintain an accounts payable ledger sheet in the format 
previously described herein for vacation rental tenant security 
deposit monies and vacation rental advance payments. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-3(c). 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0113 REPORTING CRIMINAL  
CONVICTIONS  
Any broker or salesperson who is convicted of any felony or 
misdemeanor or who has disciplinary action taken against him or 
her in connection with any other professional occupational 
license shall file with the Commission a written report of such 
conviction or disciplinary action within 60 days of the final 
judgment or final order in the case.  A form for this report is 
available from the Commission. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6(a); 93A-6(a)(10); 93A-6(b)(2). 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0302 FILING AND FEES  
(a)  All applications for a real estate license must be properly 
completed and must be submitted to the Commission’s office 
accompanied by the appropriate application fee.  Examination 
scheduling of qualified applicants who are required to pass the 
real estate licensing examination shall be accomplished in 
accordance with Rule .0401 of this Subchapter.  An applicant for 
a real estate salesperson license shall not make application for a 
broker license while the salesperson application is pending 
unless the applicant first withdraws the salesperson application. 
(b)  The license application fee shall be thirty dollars ($30.00).  
Applicants electing to take the licensing examination by 

computer must pay, in addition to the license application fee, the 
examination fee charged by the Commission's  authorized testing 
service. 
(c)  An applicant shall update information provided in 
connection with an application or submit a newly completed 
application form without request by the Commission to assure 
that the information provided in the application is current and 
accurate.  Failure to submit updated information prior to the 
issuance of a license may result in disciplinary action against a 
licensee in accordance with G.S. 93A-6(b)(1).  In the event that 
the Commission requests an applicant to submit updated 
information or to provide additional information necessary to 
complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such 
information within 90 days following the Commission's request, 
the Commission shall cancel the applicant's application.  An 
applicant whose license application has been canceled and who 
wishes to obtain a real estate license must start the licensing 
process over by submitting a written application to the 
Commission upon a prescribed form and paying all required 
fees. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-4(a),(d). 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0501 CHARACTER  
(a)  At a meeting of the Commission following each licensing 
examination, the applicants who have passed the examination 
shall be considered for licensing.  When the moral character of 
an applicant is in question, action by the Commission will be 
deferred until the applicant has affirmatively demonstrated that 
he or she possesses the requisite truthfulness, honesty and 
integrity. 
(b)  When the moral character of an applicant is in question, the 
Commission shall notify the applicant and the applicant shall be 
entitled to demonstrate his or her character and fitness for 
licensure at a hearing before the Commission according to the 
provisions of G.S. 150B. 
(c)  Notice to the applicant that his or her moral character is in 
question shall be in writing, sent by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to the address shown upon the application.  The 
applicant shall have 60 days from the date of receipt of this 
notice to request a hearing before the Commission.  Failure to 
request a hearing within this time shall constitute a waiver of the 
applicant's right to a hearing on his or her application for 
licensing, and the application shall be deemed denied.  Nothing 
in this Rule shall be interpreted to prevent an applicant from 
reapplying for licensure. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-4(b),(d). 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0502 BUSINESS ENTITIES  
(a)  Every business entity other than a sole proprietorship shall 
apply for and obtain from the Commission a firm license prior to 
engaging in business as a real estate broker.  An entity which 
changes its business form shall be required to submit a new 
application immediately upon making the change and to obtain a 
new license.  Incomplete applications shall not be acted upon by 
the Commission.  Application forms for partnerships, 
corporations, limited liability companies, associations and other 
business entities required to be licensed as brokers shall be 
available upon request to the Commission and shall set forth the 
name of the entity, the name under which the entity will do 
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business, the address of its principal office, and a list of all 
brokers and salespersons associated with the entity. 
(b)  The application of any partnership, including a general 
partnership, limited partnership and limited liability partnership, 
shall also call for a full description of the organization of the 
applicant and persons affiliated with the applicant, including a 
copy of its written partnership agreement or if no written 
agreement exists, a written description of the rights and duties of 
the several partners; a copy of any Certificate of Limited 
Partnership as may be required by law; past conviction of 
criminal offenses of any general or limited partner; past 
revocation, suspension, or denial of a business or professional 
license of any general or limited partner; and the name and 
residence address of each general and limited partner. 
(c)  The application of a limited liability company shall also call 
for a full description of the organization of the applicant and 
persons affiliated with the applicant, including a copy of its 
Articles of Organization evidencing its authority to engage in the 
business of real estate brokerage; past conviction of criminal 
offenses of any manager or member; past revocation, 
suspension, or denial of a business or professional license of any 
manager or member; and the name and residence address of each 
manager or member. 
(d)  The application of a corporation shall also call for a full 
description of the organization of the applicant and persons 
affiliated with the applicant, including a copy of its Articles of 
Incorporation evidencing its authority to engage in the business 
of real estate brokerage; past conviction of criminal offenses of 
any corporate director, officer, employee or shareholder who 
owns ten percent or more of the outstanding shares of any class; 
past revocation, suspension, or denial of a business or 
professional license to any director, officer, employee or 
shareholder who owns 10 percent or more of the outstanding 
shares of any class; the name and residence address of each 
director and officer of the corporation; and the name and address 
of each person, partnership, corporation, or other entity owning 
10 percent or more of the outstanding shares of any class. 
(e)  The application of any other business entity shall also call 
for a full description of the organization of the applicant and 
persons affiliated with the applicant, including a copy of its 
organizational documents evidencing its authority to engage in 
real estate brokerage; past conviction of criminal offenses of any 
principal in the company; past revocation, suspension or denial 
of a business or professional license of any principal; and the 
name and residence address of each principal.  For purposes of 
this Paragraph, the term "principal" shall mean any person or 
entity who owns the business entity to any extent, or who is an 
officer, director, manager, member, partner or who holds any 
other comparable position. 
(f)  A foreign business entity shall further qualify by filing with 
its application for license a copy of any certificate of authority to 
transact business in this state issued by the North Carolina 
Secretary of State which may be required by law and a consent 
to service of process and pleadings which shall be accompanied 
by a duly certified copy of the resolution of the general partners, 
managers or board of directors authorizing the proper partner, 
manager or officer to execute said consent. 
(g)  After filing a written application with the Commission and 
upon a showing that at least one principal of said business entity 
holds a broker license on active status and in good standing and 
will serve as principal broker of the entity, the entity shall be 

licensed provided it appears that the applicant entity employs 
and is directed by personnel possessed of the requisite 
truthfulness, honesty, and integrity.  The principal broker of a 
partnership of any kind must be a general partner of the 
partnership, the principal broker of a limited liability company 
must be a manager of the company, and the principal broker of a 
corporation must be an officer of the corporation.  A licensed 
business entity may serve as the principal broker of another 
licensed business entity if the principal broker-entity has as its 
principal broker a natural person who is himself licensed as a 
broker.  The natural person who is principal broker shall assure 
the performance of the principal broker's duties with regard to 
both entities. 
(h)  The licensing of a business entity shall not be construed to 
extend to the licensing of its partners, managers, members, 
directors, officers, employees or other persons acting for the 
entity in their individual capacities regardless of whether they 
are engaged in furthering the business of the licensed entity. 
(i)  The principal broker of a business entity shall assume 
responsibility for: 

(1) designating and assuring that there is at all 
times a broker-in-charge for each office and 
branch office of the entity at which real estate 
brokerage activities are conducted; 

(2) renewing the real estate broker license of the 
entity; 

(3) retaining the firm's renewal pocket card at the 
firm and producing it as proof of firm 
licensure upon request and maintaining a 
photocopy of the firm license certificate and 
pocket card at each branch office thereof; 

(4) notifying the Commission of any change of 
business address or trade name of the entity 
and the registration of any assumed business 
name adopted by the entity for its use; and 

(5) notifying the Commission in writing of any 
change of his or her status as principal broker 
within 10 days following the change.change; 

(6) personally reviewing the firm's transaction and 
trust account records whenever there is a 
change of broker-in-charge at the firm or any 
office thereof and, if the records are 
inadequate or incomplete, or if the trust 
account records are out-of- balance, notifying 
the Commission; 

(7) retaining and preserving the transaction and 
trust account records of the firm upon 
termination of his or her status as principal 
broker until a new principal broker has been 
designated with the Commission or, if no new 
principal broker is designated, for the period of 
time for which said records are required to be 
retained by Rule .0108 of this Subchapter; and 

(8) notifying the Commission if, upon the 
termination of his status as principal broker, 
the firm's transaction and trust account records 
cannot be retained or preserved or if the trust 
account records are out-of-balance or have not 
been reconciled as required by Rule .0107(e) 
of this Subchapter. 
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(j)  Every licensed business entity and every entity applying for 
licensure shall conform to all the requirements imposed upon it 
by the North Carolina General Statutes for its continued 
existence and authority to do business in North Carolina. Failure 
to conform to such requirements shall be grounds for 
disciplinary action or denial of the entity's application for 
licensure.  Upon receipt of notice from an entity or agency of 
this state that a licensed entity has ceased to exist or that its 
authority to engage in business in this state has been terminated 
by operation of law, the Commission shall cancel the license of 
the entity. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(a),(b),(d). 
 
21 NCAC 58E .0203 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA  
FOR ORIGINAL APPROVAL 
(a)  A person seeking original approval as an update course 
instructor must make application on a form prescribed by the 
Commission.  An applicant who is not a resident of North 
Carolina shall also file with the application a consent to service 
of process and pleadings.  No application fee is required.  All 
required information regarding the applicant's qualifications 
must be submitted. 
(b)  The applicant must be truthful, honest and of high integrity. 
(c)  The applicant must be qualified under one of the following 
standards: 

(1) Possession of a baccalaureate or higher degree 
with a major in the field of real estate. 

(2) Possession of a current North Carolina real 
estate broker license, three years active full-
time experience in real estate brokerage within 
the previous ten years, and 30 classroom hours 
of real estate education, excluding prelicensing 
education, within the past three years, such 
education covering topics which are 
acceptable under Commission rules for 
continuing education credit. 

(3) Possession of a current North Carolina real 
estate broker license and experience teaching 
at least ten real estate prelicensing courses 
within the previous five years. 

(4) Possession of a license to practice law in North 
Carolina and three years experience in law 
practice within the previous 10 years, with a 
substantial emphasis on real estate practice. 

(5) Possession of qualifications found by the 
Commission to be equivalent to one or more of 
the above standards, provided that the 
requirement for a current North Carolina real 
estate broker license shall be waived only for 
applicants who qualify under Subparagraph 
(c)(1) or (4) of this Rule. 

(d)  The applicant must possess good teaching skills as 
demonstrated on a videotape portraying the instructor teaching a 
live audience.  The applicant must submit for Commission 
review a videotape in VHS format.  The videotape must be 45-
60 minutes in length and must depict a continuous block of 
instruction on a single real estate or directly related topic.  The 
videotape must be unedited, must show at least a portion of the 
audience, and must have visual and sound quality sufficient to 
enable reviewers to clearly see and hear the instructor.  The 

videotape must have been made within the previous three 
years.one year.  The videotape must demonstrate that the 
instructor possesses the teaching skills described in Rule .0509 
of this Subchapter. 
(e)  An applicant shall be exempt from qualifying under 
Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule if he possesses a current 
North Carolina real estate broker license and a current 
designation as a Distinguished Real Estate Instructor (DREI) 
granted by the Real Estate Educators Association. 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4A. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 

CHAPTER 68 - CERTIFICATION BOARD FOR 
SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONALS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Substance Abuse Professional Certification Board 
intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 68 .0512, and amend 
the rules cited as 21 NCAC 68 .0101, .0202, .0208, .0306, .0406, 
.0606.  Notice of Rule-making Proceedings was published in the 
Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 16, 2002 
Time:  11:00 a.m. 
Location:  NC Council of Community MH/DD/SA Programs, 
1318 Dale Street, Suite 120, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To clarify rules describing 
Registration, Certification, and Educational Requirements. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be submitted 
to Jim Scarborough, PO Box 10126, Raleigh, NC 27605 or 
email to eac@ipass.net.  Comments should be submitted by 
October 16, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0101 DEFINITIONS   
As used in the General Statutes or this Chapter, the following 
terms have the following meaning: 

(1) "Applicant" means a person who submits 
documentation seeking Board status for 
registration or certification. 

(1)(2) "Application packet" means a set of 
instructions and forms required by the Board 
for registration. 

(2)(3) "Approved Supervisor" means a supervisor as 
set out in G.S. 90-113.31.  This is a person 
who fulfills or is in the process of fulfilling the 
requirements for this Board designation 
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pursuant to Rule .0211 of this Chapter by 
completing its academic, didactic and 
experiential requirements. 

(3)(4) "Assessment" means identifying and 
evaluating an individual's strengths, 
weaknesses, problems and needs for the 
development of a treatment or service plan for 
alcohol, tobacco and drug abuse. 

(5) "Clinical Supervision Specific Training" 
means education that directly covers the 
aspects of clinical supervision of a substance 
abuse professional or any of the 12 core 
functions in their clinical application and 
which is provided by a professional whose 
expertise may or may not be in the field of 
substance abuse. 

(4)(6) "Complainant" means a person who has filed a 
complaint pursuant to these Rules. 

(5)(7) "Consultation" means a meeting for 
discussion, decision-making and planning with 
other service providers for the purpose of 
providing substance abuse services. 

(6)(8) "Crisis" means a decisive, crucial event either 
directly or indirectly related to alcohol or drug 
use, in the course of treatment that threatens to 
compromise or destroy the rehabilitation 
effort. 

(7)(9) "Deemed Status Group" means those persons 
who are credentialed as a clinical addictions 
specialist because of their membership in a 
deemed status discipline. 

(8)(10) "Education" means a service which is designed 
to inform and teach various groups; including 
clients, families, schools, businesses, churches, 
industries, civic and other community groups 
about the nature of substance abuse disorders 
and about available community resources. It 
also serves to improve the social functioning 
of recipients by increasing awareness of 
human behavior and providing alternative 
cognitive or behavioral responses to life's 
problems. 

(9)(11) "Full Time" means 2,000 hours per year. 
(12) "General Skill Building" means education 

provided to enhance general skills of a 
substance abuse professional provided by an 
individual who may or may not be a substance 
abuse professional. 

(10)(13) "Impairment" means a mental illness, 
substance abuse or chemical dependency, 
physical illness, or aging problem. 

(11)(14) "Letter of Reference" means a letter that 
recommends a person for certification. 

(12)(15) "Membership In Good Standing" means a 
member's certification is not in a state of 
revocation, lapse, or suspension.  However, an 
individual whose certification is suspended 
and the suspension is stayed is a member in 
good standing during the period of the stay. 

(13)(16) "Passing score" means the score set by the 
entity administering the exam. 

(14)(17) "President" means the President of the Board. 
(15)(18) "Prevention Consultation" means a service 

provided to other mental health, human 
service, and community planning/development 
organizations or to individual practitioners in 
other organizations to assist in the 
development of insights and skills of the 
practitioner necessary for prevention.  

(16)(19) "Prevention performance domains" means 
areas of professional activities to include: 
(a) planning and evaluations, 

evaluations; 
(b) education and skill development, 

development; 
(c) community organization, 

organization; 
(d) public and organizational policy, 

policy; and 
(e) professional growth and 

responsibility. 
(17)(20) "Referral" means identifying the needs of an 

individual that cannot be met by the counselor 
or agency and assisting the individual to utilize 
in utilizing the support systems and 
community resources available. 

(18)(21) "Rehabilitation" means re-establishing the 
functioning needed for professional 
competency. 

(19)(22) "Reinstatement" means an action where the 
Board restores certification or registration to 
an applicant after the applicant completes the 
requirements imposed by the Board. 

(20)(23) "Relapse" means the return to the pattern of 
substance abuse as well as the process during 
which indicators appear prior to the person's 
resumption of substance abuse or a re-
appearance or exacerbation of physical, 
psychological or emotional symptoms of 
impairment. 

(21)(24) "Renewal" means an action by the Board 
granting a substance abuse professional a 
consecutive certification or registration based 
upon the completion of requirements for 
renewal as prescribed by the Board.  

(22)(25) "Revival" means an action by the Board 
granting a substance abuse professional a 
certification or registration following a lapse 
of certification or registration wherein the 
professional must also meet the requirements 
for renewal as prescribed by the Board. 

(23)(26) "Reprimand" means a written warning from 
the Board to a person making application for 
certification by the Board or certified by the 
Board. 

(24)(27) "Respondent" means a person who is making 
application for certification by the Board or is 
certified by the Board against whom a 
complaint has been filed. 

(25)(28) "Sexual activity" means: 
(a) Contact between the penis and the 

vulva or the penis and the anus; 
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(b) Contact between the mouth and the 
penis, the mouth and the vulva, or the 
mouth and the anus; or 

(c) The penetration, however slight, of 
the anal or genital opening of another 
by a hand or finger or by any object 
with an intent to abuse, humiliate, 
harass, degrade, or arouse or gratify 
the sexual desire of any person. 

(26)(29) "Sexual Contact" means the intentional 
touching, either directly or indirectly, of the 
genitalia, anus, groin, breast, inner thigh, or 
buttocks of any person with an intent to abuse, 
humiliate, harass, degrade, or arouse or gratify 
the sexual desire of any person. 

(27)(30) "Substance Abuse Counseling Experience" 
means approved supervised experience that 
may be full time or part-time, paid or 
voluntary, and mu st include all of the 12 core 
functions (Rule .0204 of this Chapter) as 
documented by a job description and 
supervisors evaluation. 

(28)(31) "Substance Abuse Prevention Consultant 
Experience" means approved supervised 
experience that may be full time or part-time, 
paid or voluntary, and must include all of the 
prevention domains referenced by Rule .0206 
of this Chapter and as documented by a job 
description and supervisor's evaluation. 

(32) "Substance Abuse Specific" means education 
which directly addresses content focused upon 
alcohol and other drugs and the substance 
abusing population and is provided for a 
substance abuse professional by one whose 
expertise is in the field of alcohol and other 
drugs. 

(29)(33) "Supervised Practice" means supervision of 
the applicant in the knowledge and skills 
related to substance abuse professionals.  

(30)(34) "Suspension" means a loss of certification or 
the privilege of making application for 
certification. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 
 90-113.41A. 
 

SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION 
 
21 NCAC 68 .0202 REGISTRATION PROCESS FOR  
BOARD CERTIFICATION 
(a)  Individuals may register with the Board at the beginning of 
their entry into the field.  This allows the Board to review the 
applicant's materials including education, training, experience 
and supervision contracts and provide the registrant applicant 
with a clear understanding of his or her standing in the 
certification process. 
(b)  Although early registration is not required, it will provide 
better direction through the process.  To register, the applicant 
shall send the following to the Board: 

(1) Completed registration form provided by the 
Board; 

(2) Documentation of required high school 
graduation or completion of GED, as well as 
documentation of any baccalaureate or 
advanced degree the applicant may have 
completed: 

(3) A signed supervision contract provided by the 
Board documenting the proposed supervision 
process by an approved supervisor;  

(4) A signed form attesting to the applicant's 
commitment to adhere to the ethical standards 
of the Board; 

(5) Documentation of three hours of educational 
training in ethics; and 

(6) A check or money order in the amount of one 
hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) that is non-
refundable and made payable to the Board. 

(c)  Once the materials are determined by the Board to be in 
order the applicant shall be granted registration status. 
(d)  If a registrant Registrant performs services as a counselor, in 
order for this experience to be considered toward certification at 
a later date, the registrant Registrant shall receive supervision 
from an approved supervisor at a ratio of one hour of supervision 
for every ten hours of practice. 
(e)  Registration with the Board shall be for a period of no more 
than five years unless the Registrant resubmits the documents 
and pays the fees set forth in this Rule.  
 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39;  
90-113.40. 
 
21 NCAC 68 .0208 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
REQUIRED FOR COUNSELOR AND PREVENTION  
CONSULTANT RECERTIFICATION 
(a)  Each certified Counselor and Prevention Consultant shall 
receive 60 hours of Board approved education during the current 
certification period which shall be documented.  A minimum of 
30 hours shall be substance abuse specific (SAS) and no more 
than 25 percent or 15 hours can be inservice education.  The 
education may include a combination of hours including 
attending workshops, receiving clinical supervision and 
providing workshops. 
(b)  Recertification educational guidelines as a Substance Abuse 
Professional require: 

(1) No more than 25 percent or 15 hours may be 
inservice education, received within your 
organization by staff of the same employment. 

(2) No more than 25 percent or 15 hours of 
workshop presentation with one hour of 
presentation translating to one hour of 
education.  Workshop presentation shall be a 
part of an event pre-approved by the Board. 

(3) No more that 25 percent or 15 hours of 
Alcohol/Drug Education Traffic School 
(ADETS) and Drug Education School (DES) 
events. 

(4) An applicant shall include documentation of 
each event submitted. 

(5) All applicants shall include six hours of 
HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne pathogens 
training and education and three hours of 
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professional ethics training and education for 
each recertification. 

(6) No more than 25 50 percent self study, pre-
approved by the Board pursuant to Rule .0213 
of this Section.  

(c)  To be recertified, a certified professional must submit the 
following: 

(1) A completed application form with continuing 
education documented; and 

(2) A non-refundable one hundred twenty-five 
dollar ($125.00) recertification fee. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.37; 90-113.38. 
 
SECTION .0300 - CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 
 
21 NCAC 68 .0306 RENEWAL OF INDIVIDUAL  
CERTIFICATION AS CLINICAL ADDICTIONS  
SPECIALIST 
(a)  An applicant who is in the deemed status group shall submit 
the following every two years: 

(1) A completed application form and copy of 
current substance abuse certification from the 
applicant's deemed status professional 
discipline. 

(2) A non-refundable recertification fee of thirty-
five dollars ($35.00). 

(b)  All other individual applicants shall: 
(1) Renew certification as classified by the criteria 

for their original certification every two years. 
(2) Document completing 40 hours of education 

pursuant to Section .0400 of this Chapter, 
during the current certification period.  A 
minimum of 30 hours shall be substance abuse 
specific.  This education may include a 
combination of hours including attending 
workshops, receiving clinical supervision and 
providing workshops. 

(3) Meet recertification educational guidelines as 
a substance abuse professional as follows: 
(A) No more that 25 percent or 10 hours 

may be inservice education, received 
within the applicant's organization by 
staff of the same employment. 

(B) No more that 25 percent or 10 hours 
receiving supervision with two hours 
of supervision translating to one hour 
of education. 

(C) No more than 25 percent or 10 hours 
of workshop presentation with two 
hoursone hour of presentation 
translating to one hour of education.  
Workshop presentation shall be 
pursuant to Rule .0213 of this 
Chapter. 

(D) No more than 25 percent of 10 hours 
of Alcohol/Drug Education Traffic 
School (ADETS) and Drug Education 
School (DES) events. 

(E)  All applicants shall include six hours 
of HIV/AIDS STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education and 
three hours of professional ethics 
training and education for each 
certification. 

(F) No more than 50 percent self study, 
preapproved by the Board pursuant to 
Rule .0213 of this Section. 

(4) A completed application form with continuing 
education documented. 

(5) A non-refundable one hundred twenty-five 
dollar (125.00) recertification fee. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.41A;  
90-113.43. 
 

SECTION .0400 - EDUCATION 
 
21 NCAC 68 .0406 PROCEDURES FOR APPROVAL  
OF SELF-STUDY COURSES  
(a)  Self-study courses may be submitted for approval for 
certification and recertification hours only and shall be 
submitted by the vendor. hours. 
(b)  A copy of all documents including test and documentation 
of completion shall be submitted with the application. 
(c)  At the end of the year for which the course is approved, a list 
of all North Carolina applicants enrolling for the training with 
completion outcome shall be submitted to the Certification 
Board.   
(d)(c)  No more than 25% 50%  of hours for recertification may 
be completed through self-study programs.  
(e)(d)  Self-study courses may not be repeated for credit. 
(f)(e)  A fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) shall be 
submitted for each course.course by the vendor for pre-approval 
by the Board.  Approval is for one year from the date the 
Certification Board approves the application.  A fee of twenty 
five dollars ($25.00) shall be submitted for renewal. 
(g)(f)  Self study approved by IC&RC/AODA, Inc. member 
boards and organizations granted deemed status shall be 
accepted with documentation of completion. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.38; 90-113.40. 
 
SECTION .0500 - ETHICAL PRINCIPLES OF CONDUCT 
 
21 NCAC 68 .0512 RESPONSIBILITY OF  
SUPERVISOR TO SUPERVISEE 
A certified professional serving as a clinical supervisor shall: 

(1) Be aware of his or her influential position with 
respect to students, employees, and 
supervisees, and therefore avoid exploiting the 
trust and dependency of such persons. 

(2) Avoid dual relationships that could impair 
professional judgment, increase the risk of 
exploitation, or potentially cause harm to the 
supervisee.  To implement this standard the 
supervisor shall not: 
(A) Accept family members who are 

related by blood or marriage or a 
member of the supervisor's household 
as students or supervisees; 
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(B) Provide therapy or therapeutic 
counseling to students, employees, or 
supervisees; or  

(C) Solicit or engage in sexual activity or 
contact with students or supervisees 
while providing supervision. 

(3) Be trained in and knowledgeable about 
supervision methods and techniques.  

(4) Shall supervise or consult only within his or 
her knowledge, training, and competency. 

(5) Guide his or her supervisee to perform 
services responsibly, competently, and 
ethically.  The supervisor shall assign to his or 
her employees, supervisees, and students only 
those tasks or duties that these individuals can 
be expected to perform competently, based on 
the supervisee's education, experience, or 
training, either independently or with the level 
of supervision being provided. 

(6) Not disclose the confidential information 
provided by a supervisee except: 
(A) As mandated by law; 
(B) To prevent harm to a client, an 

organization, or other persons 
involved with the supervision; 

(C) Where the supervisee is a respondent 
or defendant in a civil, criminal, or 
disciplinary action; 

(D) In educational or training settings 
where there are multiple supervisors, 
and then only to other professional 
colleagues who share responsibility 
for the performance or training of the 
supervisee; or 

(E)  If consent is obtained in writing, and 
then such information may be 
revealed only: 
(i) In accordance with the terms 

of the consent; and 
(ii) After being clear to the 

supervisee regarding the 
limits to confidentiality 
within the supervisory 
relationship, and pursuant to 
21 NCAC 68 .0508 of the 
North Carolina 
Administrative Code. 

(7) Establish and facilitate a fair and respectful 
process for providing evaluation of 
performance and feedback to a supervisee.  To 
implement this process the supervisee shall be 
informed of the timing of evaluations, 
methods, and levels of competency expected.  

(8) Not endorse students or supervisees for 
certification, licensure, employment, or 
completion of an academic training program if 
they believe the supervisees are not qualified 
for the endorsement.  Supervisors shall 
develop a plan to assist supervisees who are 
not qualified for endorsement to become 
qualified. 

(9) Make financial arrangements for any 
remuneration with supervisees and 
organizations only if these arrangements are 
clear and conform to customary local 
standards as to amount.  All fees shall be 
disclosed to the supervisee prior to the 
beginning of supervision if practicable. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39;  
90-113.40. 
 

SECTION .0600 - GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE AND 
DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 

 
21 NCAC 68 .0606 EFFECT OF ACTIONS OF  
COURT OF OTHER PROFESSIONAL GROUPS 
(a)  If a person certified or applying for certification by the 
Board has been disciplined by another professional organization 
or convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor and that discipline or 
conviction relates to his qualifications or functions as a 
substance abuse professional, the Ethics Committee or the Board 
may take this prior record into consideration when imposing 
disciplinary sanctions. 
(b)  When such prior discipline or conviction is discovered, it 
shall be referred to the Ethics Committee and shall be treated by 
the Ethics Committee in the same manner as a complaint. 
(c)  Such prior discipline or conviction as described in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule shall be presumed to be correct and appropriate.  
In order to overcome this presumption, the respondent mu st 
prove to the Committee's or the Board's satisfaction at least one 
of the following: 

(1) The process was so flawed that the finding of 
the organization or board is without basis; or 

(2) The disciplinary action by the organization or 
board does not bear a reasonable relation to the 
conduct complained of resulting in undue 
punishment. 

(d)  Registrants and certified professionals shall notify the Board 
within 30 days from the date of any conviction or finding of 
guilt, or pleading of nolo contendere for all criminal convictions.  
This reporting shall include DWI convictions but exclude traffic 
infractions. 
(e)  Failure to report these criminal convictions shall be 
considered a violation of the Ethical Principles of Conduct. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;  
90-113.41A; 90-113.43. 
 
 
TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS  

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Office of Administrative Hearings intends to adopt the rules 
cited as 26 NCAC 02C .0112-.0113, amend the rules cited as 26 
NCAC 02C .0104, .0109, .0303, .0305-.0306, .0401-.0403, 
.0502-.0503 and repeal the rule cited as 26 NCAC 02C .0410.  
Notice of Rule-making Proceedings was published in the 
Register on July 15, 2002. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2003 
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Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 18, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  422 N. Blount St., Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To clarify who is authorized to 
sign forms, to allow more to be done electronically versus print 
copies, to update information to citing authorities, availability of 
the Register and Code, to require a copy of supporting 
documentation for review with temporary rules, and make other 
clarifying changes. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments from the public shall be 
directed to Molly Masich, 6714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC 27699-6714 or email Molly.Masich@ncmail.net.  Comments 
will be received through October 18, 2002. 
 
Fiscal Impact 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$5,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 02 – RULES DIVISION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02C - SUBMISSION PROCEDURES FOR 
RULES AND OTHER DOCUMENTS TO BE PUBLISHED 

IN THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND THE 
NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 
26 NCAC 02C .0104 RETURN COPY 
If an agency desires a returned copy of any document submitted 
to OAH, the agency shall submit an additional copy permanently 
marked as the agency's return copy. copy and a self addressed 
envelope with postage affixed or an envelope prepared for state 
government interoffice delivery. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.17; 150B-21.18; 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0109 CITATION TO AUTHORITIES 
(a)  The agency shall cite authorities according to the most 
current edition of the rules of citation contained in "A Uniform 
System of Citation" except as listed in Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule.  "A Uniform System of Citation" is hereby incorporated by 
reference and includes subsequent amendments and editions.  A 
copy may be obtained from the Harvard Law Review 
Association, Gannett House, 1511 Massachusetts Ave., 
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138 at a cost of seven dollars and 
fifty cents ($7.50). sixteen dollars ($16.00). 
(b)  The agency shall cite the following authorities as: 

(1) the General Statutes of North Carolina as 
"G.S. #"; 

(2) the Session Laws of North Carolina as "S.L. 
19xx, c. x, s. x"; "S.L. 20xx-xxx, s. x"; 

(3) an Executive Order issued by the Governor as 
"E.O. #, (Governor's name), (year)"; 

(4) the North Carolina Administrative Code as 
"(Title #) NCAC (Chapter or Subchapter #) 
(.####)"; and 

(5) the North Carolina Register as "(Vol. #) NCR 
(Issue #), (page #)". 

 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.17; 150B-21.18; 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0112 AGENCY FINAL COPY 
(a)  OAH shall send a final draft of an adopted temporary or 
permanent rule to the agency's rule-making coordinator after the 
rule is filed with OAH. 
(b)  If within 10 working days of receipt by the agency OAH 
receives written notification from the agency of any 
typographical errors made by OAH , OAH shall correct the 
errors. 
(c)  OAH shall send final drafts electronically to the rule-making 
coordinator unless electronic transmission is not available. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.5; 150B-21.20. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0113 AUTHORIZATION FOR  
SIGNATURE 
The head of a principal state department may delegate the 
authority to sign forms to another pursuant to G.S. 143B-10(a). 
If the head of a principal state department has delegated this 
authority, then the agency shall submit a copy of such delegation 
with rule filings.  It is necessary to submit only one copy of such 
delegation with all rules filed by an agency for a single month's 
review by the Commission. 
 
Note:  An agency head may not delegate the function of signing 
forms to another person except the head of a principal State 
department may assign or reassign this function under the 
authority provided in G.S. 143B-10(a). That delegation 
authorization does not apply to all agency, boards or commission 
heads. The following is a listing of principal state department 
heads that may delegate the function of signing forms for the 
agency head: 
(1)  Department of Cultural Resources 
(2)  Department of Health and Human Services 
(3)  Department of Revenue 
(4)  Department of Crime Control and Public Safety 
(5)  Department of Correction 
(6)  Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
(7)  Department of Transportation 
(8)  Department of Administration 
(9)  Department of Commerce 
(10) Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.19. 
 

SECTION .0300 - THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0303 AVAILABILITY OF THE  
NORTH CAROLINA REGIS TER 
(a)  An annual A print subscription to the Register Register, 
available in hardcopy, 3 1/2 inch diskette, or email, shall be one 
hundred and ninety-five dollars ($195.00) annually plus NC 
sales tax if applicable. 
(b)  Individual issues print issues, if available, shall be ten 
dollars ($10.00) plus N.C. sales tax if applicable. 
(c)  A person requesting a subscription shall direct the request to:  
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Office of Administrative Hearings 
6714 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714 

phone: 919.733.2678 
fax: 919.733.3462 

email: postmaster@oah.state.nc.us  
(d)  The Register is available, at no charge, on the OAH website: 
http://www.oah.state.nc.us. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.25. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0305 PUBLICATION OF RULE- 
MAKING AGENDA 
(a)  If an agency publishes a rule-making agenda, the agency 
shall submit the agenda, the submission form, and an electronic 
version of the agenda. 
(b)  OAH shall return to the agency an edited copy of the agenda 
and the filed diskette. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.17. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0306 PUBLICATION OF NOTICE OF  
TEXT 
(a)  The agency shall submit its Notice of Text on an OAH 
Notice of Text form.  If the information contained in the notice 
exceeds the space provided on the form, the agency shall also 
submit an electronic version of the information. 
(b)  All rules submitted for publication by an agency at the same 
time, with the same proposed effective date, and with the same 
public hearing date and location if a hearing is scheduled, shall 
be listed on a single form. 
(c)  The agency shall submit the text of the proposed rule and an 
electronic version.  OAH shall return to the agency an edited 
copy of the rule and the filed diskette. 
(d)  A rule proposed to be adopted or amended shall meet the 
following requirements: 

(1) The rule shall contain an introductory 
statement immediately preceding the text.  The 
statement shall contain the rule citation and the 
action proposed to be taken. 

(2) Following the introductory statement, the rule 
number, name, text and history note shall be in 
the form specified in Rule 26 NCAC 02C 
.0108: 
(A) any text to be deleted from an 

existing rule shall be indicated by 
strikeout marks; 

(B) any new or added text shall be 
underlined; and 

(C) punctuation shall be considered a part 
of the previous word, such as: 
(i) when the previous word is 

deleted, the punctuation 
shall also be struck through 
with the previous word; and 

(ii) when punctuation is added 
after an existing word, the 
existing word shall be struck 
through and followed by the 
word and punctuation 
underlined. 

The smallest unit of text to be struck through 
or underlined shall be an entire word or block 
of characters separated from other text by 
spaces. 

(e)  A rule proposed to be repealed shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) The rule shall contain an introductory 
statement.  The statement shall contain the rule 
citation and the action proposed to be taken. 

(2) Following the introductory statement, the rule 
shall contain the number and rule name of the 
rule proposed to be repealed. 

(3) A history note shall follow the rule number 
and name. 

 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.17. 
 

SECTION .0400 - NORTH CAROLINA 
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

 
26 NCAC 02C .0401 SCOPE AND AVAILABILITY 
(a)  The rules in this Section set forth the requirements for 
submitting rules for inclusion in the Code.  The agency shall also 
comply with the requirements in Sections .0100 - .0200 of this 
Subchapter. 
(b)  These Rules apply to agencies subject to G.S. 150B, Article 
2A, as well as those agencies subject to G.S. 150B-21.21(a) and 
(b). 
(c)  The Official North Carolina Administrative Code is 
available by subscription from WestGroup and may be ordered 
directly from West by calling 1-800-762-5272, ordering from the 
online store at http://www.westgroup.com, or by writing to 
WestGroup, 610 Opperman Drive, Eagan, MN 55123. 
(d)  The North Carolina Administrative Code is available, at no 
charge, on the OAH website: http://www.oah.state.nc.us. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.17; 150B-21.18; 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0402 PUBLICATION OF A  
PERMANENT RULE 
The agency shall submit a permanent rule for publication in the 
Code with the following: 

(1) An original submission form and copy (Rule 
.0403 of this Section). 

(2) If applicable, a letter authorizing the signature 
on the submission form (Rule .0113 of this 
Subchapter). 

(2)(3) An original and copies of the permanent rule 
(Rule .0103 of this Subchapter) prepared in 
accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter 
containing: 
(a) an introductory statement (Rule .0404 

of this Section); 
(b) the body of the rule (Rule .0405 of 

this Section); 
(c) any changes in the rule (Rule .0405 of 

this Section); 
(d) the history note (Rule .0406 of this 

Section). 
(3)(4) A return copy, if desired (Rule .0104 of this 

Subchapter). 



PROPOSED RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
537 

(4)(5) An electronic version of the rule prepared in 
accordance with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter 
if the rule differs from the proposed text 
published in the Register or if the rule was not 
published in the Register. 

 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0403 SUBMISSION FOR  
PERMANENT RULE FORM 
(a)  The agency shall submit a completed typed Submission for 
Permanent Rule form for each rule submitted for publication in 
the Code, except that the agency shall submit a single 
Submission for Permanent Rule form for all repealed rules that 
are codified within the same chapter. 
(b)  The agency head or rule-making coordinator shall sign the 
Submission for Permanent Rule form.  If the agency head has 
designated its authority to another pursuant to G.S. 143B-10(a), 
then the agency shall submit a copy of such designation.  It is 
only necessary to submit one copy of such designation with all 
rules filed by an agency for a single month's review by the 
Commission. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0410 AGENCY FINAL COPY OF  
PERMANENT RULES 
(a)  OAH shall send a final draft of a permanent rule to the 
agency's rule-making coordinator after the rule is filed with 
OAH. 
(b)  If within 30 days of the date appearing on the final draft 
OAH receives written notification from the agency of any 
typographical errors made by OAH in entering the rule into the 
Code, OAH shall correct the errors. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.5; 150B-21.20. 
 

SECTION .0500 - TEMPORARY RULES 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0502 PUBLICATION OF A  
TEMPORARY RULE 
The agency shall submit a temporary rule for review by OAH 
and publication in the Code with the following: 

(1) An original Temporary Rule Certification 
form and copy (Rule .0503 of this Section). 

(2) If applicable, a letter authorizing the signature 
on the submission form (Rule .0113 of this 
Subchapter). 

(2)(3) An original and copies of the temporary rule 
(Rule .0103 of this Subchapter) prepared in 
accordance with Rule .0108 of this 
Subchapter, containing: 
(a) an introductory statement (Rule .0404 

of this Subchapter);  
(b) the body of the rule (Rule .0405 of 

this Subchapter);  
(c) the history note (Rule .0406 of this 

Subchapter). 
(3)(4) A return copy, if desired (Rule .0104 of this 

Subchapter). 
(4)(5) An original Notice of Text or Notice of Text 

and Hearing form with copy if publication in 
the Register shall serve as Notice of Text. 

(6) A copy of any legislation, statute, federal 
regulation, or other document supporting the 
grounds for the temporary rule pursuant to 
G.S. 150B-21.1(a). The agency shall highlight 
the information in the document that is 
pertinent to the need for the temporary rule. 

 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.19. 
 
26 NCAC 02C .0503 TEMPORARY RULE  
CERTIFICATION FORM 
(a)  The agency shall submit a completed typed Temporary Rule 
Certification form for a rule to be submitted for publication in 
the Code.  The agency shall submit a single Temporary Rule 
Certification form for temporary rules when: 

(1) the rules are codified within the same chapter 
in the Code; 

(2) the finding for the action is the same; 
(3) the proposed effective date is the same; and 
(4) the rules are submitted at the same time for 

review by the Codifier of Rules. 
(b)  The agency head shall sign the Temporary Rule 
Certification form. If the agency head has designated this 
authority to another pursuant to G.S. 143B-10(a), then the 
agency shall submit a copy of such designation. 
 
Authority G.S. 150B-21.19. 
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This Section includes temporary rules reviewed by the Codifier of Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code and 
includes, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption 
and filing requirements.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(e), publication of a temporary rule in the North Carolina Register serves as a 
notice of rule-making proceedings unless this notice has been previously published by the agency. 

 
TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES  
 
Rule-making Agency:  North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission 
 
Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10C .0211 
 
Effective Date:  September 1, 2002 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by:  Julian Mann, III 
 
Authority for the rulemaking:  G.S. 113-134; 113-292 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Threat of invasive species being 
introduced into waters of the state.  A permanent rule will be 
filed for this temporary rule. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments may be addressed to 
Joan. B. Troy, 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1701. 
 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 
SAFETY 

 
SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 
SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 
15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN  
FISHES  
It is unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, or sell any species 
live individuals of piranha, "walking catfish" (Clarias batrachus), 
snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, formerly 
Ophiocephalidae), black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus) or 
white amur or "grass carp" (Ctenopharyngodon idellus), or to 
stock any of them in the public or private waters of North 
Carolina, except that the triploid grass carp certified to be sterile 
by genetic testing at a federal, state, or university laboratory may 
be bought, possessed and stocked locally for control of aquatic 
vegetation under a permit issued by the Executive Director and 
containing such conditions and limitations as he may deem 
necessary or advisable under the circumstances. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. September 1, 1984; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 
Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Health Services 
 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 19A .0101 
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2002 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by:  Julian Mann 
 
Authority for the rulemaking:  G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 
130A-139; and 130A-141 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  This addition expands the list of 
reportable diseases to include a serious disease condition 
previously not required to be reported to the Division of Public 
Health.  Expansion of the list of reportable diseases to include 
this disease is important if it is to be identified in a timely 
manner and subsequently controlled in an effective manner as 
state resources permit. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be sent to 
Chris G. Hoke, JD, 2001 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001.  
Telephone (919) 715-4168; email: chris.hoke@ncmail.net. 
 

CHAPTER 19 - HEALTH: EPIDEMIOLOGY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 19A - COMMUNICABLE DISEAS E 
CONTROL 

 
SECTION .0100 - REPORTING OF COMMUNICABLE 

DISEASES  
 
NOTE:  The plain underlined and struck-thru text was a 
temporary amendment effective February 18, 2002.  The text in 
bold are the changes to be amended in this temporary rule. 
 
15A NCAC 19A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND  
CONDITIONS 
(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 
be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made 
reportable within the time period specified after the disease or 
condition is reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 
- 7 days; 

(2) anthrax - 24 hours; 
(3) botulism - 24 hours; 
(4) brucellosis - 7 days; 
(5) campylobacter infection - 24 hours; 
(6) chancroid - 24 hours; 
(7) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) - 

7 days; 
(8) cholera - 24 hours; 
(9) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 
(9)(10) cryptosporidiosis - 24 hours; 
(10)(11) cyclosporiasis - 24 hours; 
(11)(12) dengue - 7 days; 
(12)(13) diphtheria - 24 hours; 
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(13)(14) E. coli 0157:H7 infection Escherichia coli, 
shiga toxin-producing - 24 hours; 

(14)(15) ehrlichiosis - 7 days; 
(15)(16) encephalitis, arboviral - 7 days; 
(16)(17) enterococci, vancomycin-resistant, from 

normally sterile site - 7 days; 
(17)(18) foodborne disease, including but not limited to 

Clostridium perfringens, staphylococcal, and 
Bacillus cereus - 24 hours; 

(18)(19) gonorrhea - 24 hours; 
(19)(20) granuloma inguinale - 24 hours; 
(20)(21) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease - 24 

hours; 
(22) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 
(21)(23) Hemolytic -uremic syndrome/thrombotic 

thrombocytopenic purpura - 24 hours; 
(22)(24) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 24 

hours; 
(22)(25) hepatitis A - 24 hours; 
(23)(26) hepatitis B - 24 hours; 
(24)(27) hepatitis B carriage - 7 days; 
(25)(28) hepatitis C, acute - 7 days; 
(26)(29) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed - 7 days; 
(27)(30) legionellosis - 7 days; 
(28)(31) leptospirosis - 7 days; 
(32) listeriosis – 24 hours; 
(29)(33) Lyme disease - 7 days; 
(30)(34) lymphogranuloma venereum - 7 days; 
(31)(35) malaria - 7 days; 
(32)(36) measles (rubeola) - 24 hours; 
(33)(37) meningitis, pneumococcal - 7 days; 
(34)(38) meningococcal disease - 24 hours; 
(35)(39) mumps - 7 days; 
(36)(40) nongonococcal urethritis - 7 days; 
(37)(41) plague - 24 hours; 
(38)(42) paralytic poliomyelitis - 24 hours; 
(39)(43) psittacosis - 7 days; 
(40)(44) Q fever - 7 days; 
(41)(45) rabies, human - 24 hours; 
(42)(46) Rocky Mountain spotted fever - 7 days; 
(43)(47) rubella - 24 hours; 
(44)(48) rubella congenital syndrome - 7 days; 
(45)(49) salmonellosis - 24 hours; 
(46)(50) shigellosis - 24 hours; 
(47)(51) smallpox – 24 hours; 
(48)(52) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease - 7 days; 
(49)(53) syphilis - 24 hours; 
(50)(54) tetanus - 7 days; 
(51)(55) toxic shock syndrome - 7 days; 
(52)(56) toxoplasmosis, congenital - 7 days; 
(53)(57) trichinosis - 7 days; 
(54)(58) tuberculosis - 24 hours; 
(55)(59) tularemia - 24 hours; 
(56)(60) typhoid - 24 hours; 
(57)(61) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) - 7 days; 
(58)(62) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) - 7 days; 
(59)(63) vibrio infection (other than cholera) - 24 

hours; 
(60)(64) whooping cough - 24 hours; 

(65) yellow fever - 7 days. 
(b)  For purposes of reporting; confirmed human 
immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection is defined as a positive 
virus culture; repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 
western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test; 
positive polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test; or other 
confirmed testing method approved by the Director of the State 
Public Health Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 
1990.  In selecting additional tests for approval, the Director of 
the State Public Health Laboratory shall consider whether such 
tests have been approved by the federal Food and Drug 
Administration, recommended by the federal Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of 
State and Territorial Public Health Laboratory Directors. 
Laboratories. 
(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 
tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in 
G.S. 130A-139, laboratories shall report: 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 
following organisms or their products from 
human clinical specimens: 
(A) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic 

fever virus. 
(B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 
(B)(C) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 
(C)(D) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 
(E)  Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 
(D)(F) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 
(E)(G)  Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 
(H)  Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause 

of genital chlamydial infection, 
conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) 
and pneumonia of newborns. 

(F)(I) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 
botulism. 

(G)(J) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 
tetanus. 

(H)(K) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 
cause of diphtheria. 

(I)(L)  Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q 
fever. 

(J)(M) Cryptosporidium parvum, the cause 
of human cryptosporidiosis. 

(K)(N) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 
cyclosporiasis. 

(L)(O) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 
ehrlichiosis. 

(M)(P) Escherichia coli O157:H7, a Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli, a 
cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 
hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 
thrombotic thrombocytopenic 
purpura. 

(N)(Q) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 
tularemia. 
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(O)(R) Hepatitis B virus or any component 
thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 
antigen. 

(P)(S) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 
virus associated with cause of AIDS. 

(Q)(T) Legionella spp., the causes of 
legionellosis. 

(R)(U) Leptospira spp., the causes of 
leptospirosis. 

(V) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 
listeriosis. 

(W) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 
P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 
malaria in humans. 

(X) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 
poliomyelitis. 

(S)(Y) Rabies virus. 
(T)(Z) Rickettsia rickettsii, the cause of 

Rocky Mountain spotted fever. 
(AA) Rubella virus. 
(U)(BB) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 
(V)(CC) Shigella spp., the causes of 

shigellosis. 
(DD) Smallpox virus, the cause of 

smallpox. 
(W)(EE) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 
(X)(FF) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera and 

other vibrioses. 
(GG) Yellow fever virus. 
(Y)(HH) Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 
following organisms from normally sterile 
human body sites: 
(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 
(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 
(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 
(D) Vancomycin -resistant Enterococcus 

spp. 
(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 
(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 
titers to: 
(i) Any arthropod-borne viruses 

associated with meningitis or 
encephalitis in a human. 

(ii) Any hantavirus or 
hemorrhagic fever virus . 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the 
cause of psittacosis. 

(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 
of Q fever. 

(v) Dengue virus. 
(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 
(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus. 
(viii) Mumps virus. 

(ix) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 
cause of Rocky Mountain 
spotted fever. 

(x) Rubella virus. 
(xi) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum 
antibodies to: 
(i) Chlamydia psittaci 
(i)(ii) Hepatitis A virus. 
(ii)(iii) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 
(iii)(iv) Rubella virus. 
(iv)(v) Rubeola (measles) virus. 
(vi) Yellow fever virus. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135;  
130A-139; 130A-141; 
Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of 180 days 
to expire on July 29, 1988; 
Eff. March 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2002; February 18, 
2002; June 1, 2001. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 
Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Health Services 
 
Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 21D .0706 
 
Effective Date:  September 1, 2002 
 
Findings Reviewed and Approved by:  Julian Mann 
 
Authority for the rulemaking:  G.S. 130A-361 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule change is necessary to 
immediately ensure the availability of special nutrition formulas 
for WIC participants.  Vendors will be paid in the same manner 
prior to the implementation of the temporary rule which became 
effective July 1, 2002. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Written comments should be submitted 
to Chris Hoke, Division of Health Services, 1915 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1915. 
 

CHAPTER 21 - HEALTH: PERSONAL HEALTH 
 

SUBCHAPTER 21D - WIC/NUTRITION 
 

SECTION .0700 - WIC PROGRAM FOOD 
DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM 

 
15A NCAC 21D .0706 AUTHORIZED WIC VENDORS 
(a)  Vendor applicants and authorized vendors will be placed 
into peer groups as follows: 

(1) When annual WIC supplemental food sales are 
not yet available, vendor applicants and 
authorized vendors, excluding chain stores, 
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stores under a WIC corporate agreement, 
military commissaries, and free-standing 
pharmacies, will be placed into peer groups 
based on the number of cash registers in the 
store until annual WIC supplemental food 
sales become available.  The following are the 
peer groups based on the number of cash 
registers in the store: 

Peer Group I - - zero to two cash 
registers;  
Peer Group II - - three to five cash  
registers; and 
Peer Group III - - six or more cash  
registers;  

(2) Authorized vendors for which annual WIC 
supplemental food sales is available, and chain 
stores, stores under a WIC corporate 
agreement, military commissaries, and free-
standing pharmacies, will be placed into peer 
groups as follows, except as provided in 
Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule.  

Peer Group I - - two thousand dollars 
($2,000) to one hundred thousand 
dollars ($100,000) annually in WIC 
supplemental food sales at the store; 
Peer Group II - - greater than one 
hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) 
but not exceeding three hundred 
thousand dollars ($300,000) annually 
in WIC supplemental food sales at the 
store; 
Peer Group III - - greater than three 
hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) 
but not exceeding five hundred 
thousand dollars ($500,000) annually 
in WIC supplemental food sales at the 
store; 
Peer Group IV - - chain stores, stores 
under a WIC corporate agreement (20 
or more authorized vendors under one 
agreement) and stores exceeding five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) 
annually in WIC supplemental food 
sales; 
Peer Group V - - military  
commissaries; and 
Peer Group VI - - free-standing 
pharmacies, including free-standing 
pharmacy chain stores and free-
standing pharmacies participating 
under a WIC corporate agreement; 

(3) Annual WIC supplemental food sales is the 
dollar amount in sales of WIC supplemental 
foods at the store within a 12-month period. 

(4) In determining a vendor's peer group 
designation based on annual WIC 
supplemental food sales, the state agency will 
look at the most recent 12-month period for 
which sales data is available.  If the most 
recent available 12-month period of WIC sales 
data ends more than one year prior to the time 

of designation, the peer group designation will 
be based on the number of cash registers in the 
store. 

(5) The state agency may reassess an authorized 
vendor's peer group designation at any time 
during the vendor's agreement period and 
place the vendor in a different peer group if 
upon reassessment the state agency determines 
that the vendor is no longer in the appropriate 
peer group. 

(6) A vendor applicant that is being reauthorized 
following the nonrenewal or termination of its 
Agreement or disqualification from the WIC 
Program will be placed into the peer group the 
store was in at the time of the nonrenewal, 
termination or disqualification, provided that 
no more than one year has passed since the 
nonrenewal, termination or disqualification. 
All other vendor applicants will be placed into 
peer groups in accordance with Subparagraphs 
(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule. 

(b)  To become authorized as a WIC vendor, a vendor applicant 
shall comply with the following vendor selection criteria: 

(1) Accurately complete a WIC Vendor 
Application, a WIC Price List, and a WIC 
Vendor Agreement.  A vendor applicant must 
submit its current highest shelf price for each 
WIC supplemental food listed on the WIC 
Price List; 

(2) At the time of application and throughout the 
term of authorization, submit all completed 
forms to the local WIC progra m, except that a 
corporate entity operating under a WIC 
corporate agreement shall submit one 
completed WIC corporate agreement and the 
WIC Price Lists to the state agency and a 
separate WIC Vendor Application for each 
store to the local WIC agency.  A corporate 
entity operating under a WIC corporate 
agreement may submit a single WIC Price List 
for those stores that have the same prices for 
WIC supplemental foods in each store, rather 
than submitting a separate WIC Price List for 
each store; 

(3) A vendor applicant's current highest shelf price 
for each WIC supplemental food listed on the 
WIC Price List must not exceed the maximum 
price set by the State agency for each 
supplemental food within that vendor 
applicant's peer group, except as provided in 
Part (b)(3)(B) of this Rule; 
(A) The most recent WIC Price Lists 

submitted by authorized vendors 
within the same peer group will be 
used to determine the maximum price 
for each supplemental food.  The 
maximum price will be based on the 
average of the current highes t shelf 
price for each supplemental food 
within a vendor peer group, plus a 
factor to reflect fluctuations in 
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wholesale prices. The state agency 
will reassess the maximum price set 
for each supplemental food at least 
four times a year.  For two of its price 
assessments, the state agency will use 
the WIC Price Lists which must be 
submitted by all vendors by January 1 
and July 1 each year in accordance 
with Subparagraph (c)(31) of this 
Rule.  The other two price 
assessments will be based on WIC 
Price Lists requested from a sample 
of vendors within each peer group in 
March and September of each year;  

(B) If any of the vendor applicant's 
price(s) on its WIC Price List exceed 
the maximum price(s) set by the state 
agency for that applicant's peer group, 
the applicant will be notified in 
writing.  Within 30 days of the date 
of the written notice, the vendor 
applicant may resubmit price(s) that it 
will charge the state WIC Program 
for those foods that exceeded the 
maximum price(s).  If none of the 
vendor applicant's resubmitted prices 
exceed the maximum prices set by the 
state agency, the vendor applicant 
will be deemed to have met the 
requirements of Subparagraph (b)(3) 
of this Rule.  If any of the vendor 
applicant's resubmitted prices still 
exceed the maximum prices set by the 
state agency, or the vendor applicant 
does not resubmit prices within 30 
days of the date of written notice, the 
application will be denied in writing.  
The vendor applicant must wait 90 
days from the date of receipt of the 
written denial to reapply for 
authorization; 

(4) Pass a monitoring review by the local WIC 
program to determine whether the store has 
minimum inventory of supplemental foods as 
specified in Subparagraph (c)(24) of this Rule.  
A vendor applicant who fails this review shall 
be allowed a second opportunity for an 
unannounced monitoring review within 14 
days. If the applicant fails both reviews, the 
applicant shall wait 90 days from the date of 
the second monitoring review before 
submitting a new application; 

(5) Attend, or cause a manager or other authorized 
store representative to attend, WIC Vendor 
Training provided by the local WIC Program 
prior to authorization and ensure that the 
applicant's employees receive instruction in 
WIC program procedures and requirements;  

(6) Mark the current shelf prices of all WIC 
supplemental foods clearly on the foods or 

have the prices posted on the shelf or display 
case at all times;  

(7) The store shall be located at a permanent and 
fixed location within the State of North 
Carolina.  The store shall be located at the 
address indicated on the WIC vendor 
application and shall be the site at which WIC 
supplemental foods are selected by the WIC 
customer; 

(8) The store shall be open throughout the year for 
business with the public at least six days a 
week for a minimum of 40 hours per week 
between 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m.; 

(9) A vendor applicant shall not submit false, 
erroneous, or misleading information in an 
application to become an authorized WIC 
vendor or in subsequent documents submitted 
to the state or local agency; 

(10) The owner(s), officer(s) or manager(s) of a 
vendor applicant shall not be employed, or 
have a spouse, child, or parent who is 
employed by the state WIC program or the 
local WIC program serving the county in 
which the vendor applicant conducts business. 
A vendor applicant shall not have an employee 
who handles, transacts, deposits, or stores 
WIC food instruments who is employed, or 
has a spouse, child, or parent who is employed 
by the state WIC program or the local WIC 
program serving the county in which the 
vendor applicant conducts business; 

(11) WIC vendor authorization shall be denied if in 
the last six years any of the vendor applicant's 
current owners, officers, or managers have 
been convicted of or had a civil judgment 
entered against them for any activity indicating 
a lack of business integrity, including, but not 
limited to, fraud, antitrust violations, 
embezzlement, theft, forgery, bribery, 
falsification or destruction of records, making 
false statements, receiving stolen property, 
making false claims, and obstruction of 
justice; 

(12) A vendor applicant shall not be authorized if it 
is currently disqualified from the Food Stamp 
Program or it has been assessed a Food Stamp 
Program civil money penalty for hardship and 
the disqualification period that otherwise 
would have been imposed has not expired; 

(13) A vendor applicant, excluding chain stores and 
stores under a WIC corporate agreement that 
have a separate manager on site for each store, 
shall not have an owner who holds a financial 
interest in any of the following: 
(A) a Food Stamp vendor which is 

disqualified from participation in the 
Food Stamp Program or has been 
assessed a civil money penalty for 
hardship in lieu of disqualification 
and the time period during which the 
disqualification would have run, had 
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a penalty not been paid, is continuing; 
or 

(B) another WIC vendor which is 
disqualified from participation in the 
WIC Program or which has been 
assessed an administrative penalty 
pursuant to G.S. 130A-22(c1), 
Paragraph (k), or Paragraph (l) of this 
Rule as the result of violation of 
Paragraphs (g), (h)(1)(A), (h)(1)(B), 
(h)(1)(C), (h)(1)(D) or (h)(2)(D) of 
this Rule, and if assessed a penalty, 
the time during which the 
disqualification would have run, had 
a penalty not been assessed, is 
continuing. 

The requirements of Subparagraph (b)(13) 
shall not be met by the transfer or conveyance 
of financial interest during the period of 
disqualification.  Additionally, the 
requirements of Subparagraph (b)(13) shall not 
be met even if such transfer or conveyance of 
financial interest in a Food Stamp vendor 
under Subparagraph (b)(13)(A) prematurely 
ends the disqualification period applicable to 
that Food Stamp vendor.  The requirements of 
this Subparagraph will apply until the time the 
Food Stamp vendor disqualification otherwise 
would have expired; 

(14) A vendor applicant, excluding free-standing 
pharmacies, must have Food Stamp Program 
authorization for the store as a prerequisite for 
WIC vendor authorization and must provide its 
Food Stamp Program authorization number to 
the state agency; and 

(15) A vendor applicant shall not become 
authorized as a WIC vendor if the store has 
been disqualified from participation in the 
WIC Program and the disqualification period 
has not expired. 

(c)  By signing the WIC Vendor Agreement, the vendor agrees 
to: 

(1) Process WIC program food instruments in 
accordance with the terms of this agreement, 
state and federal WIC program rules, and 
applicable law; 

(2) Accept WIC program food instruments in 
exchange for WIC supplemental foods; 
Supplemental foods are those foods which 
satisfy the requirements of 15A NCAC 21D 
.0501.  The foods, specifications and product 
identification are described in the WIC Vendor 
Manual; 

(3) Provide only the authorized supplemental 
foods listed on the food instrument, accurately 
determine the charges to the WIC program, 
and clearly complete the "Pay Exactly" box on 
the food instrument prior to obtaining the 
countersignature of the WIC customer; The 
WIC customer is not required to get all of the 

supplemental foods listed on the food 
instrument; 

(4) Enter in the "Pay Exactly" box on the food 
instrument only the total amount of the current 
shelf prices, or less than the current shelf 
prices, for the supplemental food actually 
provided and shall not charge or collect sales 
taxes for the supplemental food provided; 

(5) Charge no more for supplemental food 
provided to a WIC customer than to a non-
WIC customer or no more than the current 
shelf price, whichever is less; 

(6) Accept payment from the state WIC Program 
only up to the maximum price set by the state 
agency for each food instrument within that 
vendor's peer group.  The maximum price for 
each food instrument will be based on the 
maximum prices set by the state agency for 
each supplemental food, as described in Part 
(b)(3)(A) of this Rule, listed on the food 
instrument.  A food instrument deposited by a 
vendor for payment which exceeds the 
maximum price will be invalid and returned to 
the vendor. The vendor may receive a 
replacement food instrument through the local 
agency for up to the maximum price set by the 
state agency for that food instrument; 

(7) Not charge the state WIC Program more than 
the maximum price set by the state agency 
under Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule for each 
supplemental food within the vendor's peer 
group; 

(8) For exempt infant formulas and WIC-eligible 
medical foods, excluding the exempt pediatric 
formulas referenced in this Subparagraph 
(c)(8), accept payment from the state WIC 
Program only up to the maximum price 
established by the state agency using the 
Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment Fee 
Schedule published by the North Carolina 
Division of Medical Assistance.  For exempt 
pediatric formulas for high risk infants and 
children with medical conditions associated 
with prematurity and low birth weight, accept 
payment from the state WIC Program only up 
to the maximum price established by the state 
agency.  The maximum price for each formula 
will be the most recently published 
manufacturer's highest wholesale price plus 
the food cost inflation rate adopted by USDA 
which is incorporated by reference with all 
subsequent amendments and editions.  A copy 
of the food cost inflation rate is available at no 
cost from the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Public Health, 
Women's and Children's Health Section, 
Nutrition Services Branch, 1914 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(9)(8) For non-contract brand milk-based and soy-
based infant formulas, excluding exempt infant 
formulas, accept payment from the state WIC 
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Program only up to the maximum price 
established for contract brand infant formulas 
under Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule for the 
vendor's peer group; 

(10)(9) For free-standing pharmacies, provide only 
infant formula and WIC-eligible medical 
foods; 

(11)(10) Excluding free-standing pharmacies, redeem at 
least two thousand dollars ($2,000) annually in 
WIC supplemental food sales.  Failure to 
redeem at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) 
annually in WIC supplemental food sales shall 
result in termination of the WIC Vendor 
Agreement.  The store must wait 180 days to 
reapply for authorization; 

(12)(11) Accept WIC program food instruments only 
on or between the "Date of Issue" and the 
"Participant Must Use By" dates; 

(13)(12) Prior to obtaining the countersignature, enter 
in the "Date Transacted" box the month, day 
and year the WIC food instrument is 
exchanged for supplemental food; 

(14)(13) Ensure that the food instrument is 
countersigned in the presence of the cashier;  

(15)(14) Refuse acceptance of any food instrument on 
which quantities, signatures or dates have been 
altered; 

(16)(15) Not transact food instruments in whole or in 
part for cash, credit, unauthorized foods, or 
non-food items; 

(17)(16) Not provide refunds or permit exchanges for 
authorized supplemental foods obtained with 
food instruments, except for exchanges of an 
identical authorized supplemental food when 
the original authorized supplemental food is 
defective, spoiled, or has exceeded its "sell 
by," "best if used by," or other date limiting 
the sale or use of the food.  An identical 
authorized supplemental food means the exact 

brand, type and size as the original authorized 
supplemental food obtained and returned by 
the WIC customer; 

(18)(17) Clearly imprint the authorized WIC vendor 
stamp in the "Pay the Authorized WIC Vendor 
Stamped Here" box on the face of the food 
instrument; 

(19)(18) Clearly imprint the vendor's bank deposit 
stamp or the vendor's name, address and bank 
account number in the "Authorized WIC 
Vendor Stamp" box in the endorsement; 

(20)(19) Promptly deposit WIC program food 
instruments in the vendor's bank.  All North 
Carolina WIC program food instruments must 
be deposited in the vendor's bank within 60 
days of the "Date of Issue" on the food 
instrument; 

(21)(20) Ensure that the authorized WIC vendor stamp 
is used only for the purpose and in the manner 
authorized by this agreement and assume full 
responsibility for the unauthorized use of the 
authorized WIC vendor stamp; 

(22)(21) Maintain secure storage for the authorized 
WIC vendor stamp and immediately report 
loss of this stamp to the local agency; 

(23)(22) Notify the local agency of misuse (attempted 
or actual) of the WIC program food 
instrument(s); 

(24)(23) Maintain a minimum inventory of 
supplemental foods in the store for purchase.  
Supplemental foods that are outside of the 
manufacturer's expiration date do not count 
towards meeting the minimum inventory 
requirement.  The following items and sizes 
constitute the minimum inventory of 
supplemental foods for vendors in Peer Groups 
I through III of Subparagraph (a)(1) and 
vendors in Peer Groups I through V of 
Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule: 

 
Food Item  Type of Inventory  Quantities Required 
Milk   Whole fluid: gallon  Total of 6 gallons 

    fluid milk 
       -and-  
Skim/lowfat fluid: 
gallon  
Nonfat dry:  quart  Total of 5 quarts 
package    when reconstituted 
        -or- 
Evaporated:  12 oz.  5 cans 
can 

Cheese   2 varieties in 8 or 16 oz.   Total of 6 pounds 
package 

Cereals    4 types (minimum  Total of 12 packages 
package size 12 oz.) 

Eggs   Grade A, large or   6 dozen 
extra-large: white 
or brown: one dozen  
size carton  

Juices   Frozen: 11.5-12 oz.   10 containers 
container 
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Single strength: 46oz  10 containers 
container 
Orange juice must be available  
in frozen and single strength. 
A second flavor must be 
available in frozen or single 
strength.  

Dried Peas and Beans 2 varieties:   3 packages 
one pound package 

or 
Peanut Butter  Plain (smooth,   3 containers 

     crunchy, or whipped; 
No reduced fat): 
18 oz. container 

Infant Cereal  Plain-no fruit added:  6 boxes 
     2 cereal grains  

(one must be rice); 
8-oz. box; brand 
specified in Vendor 

 Agreement 
Infant Formula   milk and soy-based as  62 can 

specified in Vendor  combination 
Agreement; 13 oz. 
concentrate 

Tuna   Chunk light in water:  4 cans 
6-6.5 oz. can 

Carrots   Raw, canned or frozen  2 packages/cans 
14.5-16 oz. size 

All vendors  in Peer Groups I through III of Subparagraph (a)(1) 
and in Peer Groups I through VI of Subparagraph (a)(2) of this 
Rule shall supply milk, soy based, or lactose-free infant formula 
in 32 oz. ready-to-feed or powder within 48 hours of request by 
the state or local agency; 

(25)(24) Ensure that all supplemental foods in the store 
for purchase are within the manufacturer's 
expiration date; 

(26)(25) Permit the purchase of supplemental food 
without requiring other purchases; 

(27)(26) Attend, or cause a manager or other authorized 
store representative to attend, annual vendor 
training class upon notification of class by the 
local agency; 

(28)(27) Inform and train vendor's cashiers and other 
staff on WIC Program requirements; 

(29)(28) Be accountable for the actions of its owners, 
officers, managers, agents, and employees who 
commit vendor violations; 

(30)(29) Allow reasonable monitoring and inspection of 
the store premises and procedures to ensure 
compliance with this agreement and state and 
federal WIC Program rules, regulations and 
law. This includes, but shall not be limited to, 
allowance of access to all WIC food 
instruments at the store and vendor records 
pertinent to the purchase of WIC supplemental 
foods, vendor records of all deductions and 
exemptions allowed by law or claimed in 
filing sales and use tax returns, and vendor 
records of all WIC supplemental foods 
purchased by the vendor, including invoices, 
copies of purchase orders, and any other 

proofs of purchase.  These records must be 
retained by the vendor for a period of three 
years or until any audit pertaining to these 
records is resolved, whichever is later.  Failure 
or inability to provide these records, or 
providing false records for an inventory audit 
shall be deemed a violation of 7 C.F.R. 
246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and Part (g)(2)(A) of this 
Rule; 

(31)(30) Submit a current accurately completed WIC 
Price List when signing this agreement, and by 
January 1 and July 1 of each year.  The vendor 
also agrees to submit a WIC Price List within 
one week of any written request by the state or 
local agency. Failure to submit a WIC Price 
List as required by this Subparagraph within 
30 days of the required submission date shall 
result in disqualification of the vendor from 
the WIC Program in accordance with Part 
(h)(1)(D) of this Rule; 

(32)(31) Reimburse the state agency within 30 days of 
written notification of a claim assessed due to 
a vendor violation that affects payment to the 
vendor or a claim assessed due to the 
unauthorized use of the authorized WIC 
vendor stamp. The state agency has the 
authority to deny payment or assess a claim in 
the amount of the full purchase price of each 
food instrument affected by the vendor 
violation.  Denial of payment by the state 
agency or payment of a claim by the vendor 
for a vendor violation(s) shall not absolve the 
vendor of the violation(s).  The vendor will 
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also be subject to any vendor sanctions 
authorized under this Rule for the vendor 
violation(s); 

(33)(32) Not seek restitution from the WIC customer 
for reimbursement paid by the vendor to the 
state agency or for WIC food instruments not 
paid or partially paid by the state agency.  
Additionally, the vendor may not charge the 
WIC customer for authorized supplemental 
foods obtained with food instruments; 

(34)(33) Not contact a WIC customer outside the store 
regarding the transaction or redemption of 
WIC food instruments; 

(35)(34) Notify the local agency in writing at least 30 
days prior to a change of ownership, change in 
location, cessation of operations, or 
withdrawal from the WIC Program.  Change 
of ownership, change in location of more than 
three miles from the vendor's previous 
location, cessation of operations, withdrawal 
from the WIC Program or disqualification 
from the WIC Program shall result in 
termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement by 
the state agency.  Change of ownership, 
change in location, ceasing operations, 
withdrawal from the WIC Program or 
nonrenewal of the WIC Vendor Agreement 
shall not stop a disqualification period 
applicable to the store; 

(36)(35) Return the authorized WIC vendor stamp to 
the local agency upon termination of this 
agreement or disqualification from the WIC 
Program;  

(37)(36) Offer WIC customers the same courtesies as 
offered to other customers;  

(38)(37) The WIC Vendor Agreement does not 
constitute a license or a property interest.  A 
vendor must reapply to continue to be 
authorized beyond the period of its current 
WIC Vendor Agreement.  Additionally, a store 
must reapply to become authorized following 
the expiration of a disqualification period or 
termination of the Agreement.  In all cases, the 
vendor applicant will be subject to the vendor 
selection criteria of Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 
and 

(39)(38) Comply with all the requirements for vendor 
applicants of Subparagraphs (b)(3) and (b)(6) 
through (b)(14) of this Rule throughout the 
term of authorization.  The state agency may 
reassess a vendor at any time during the 
vendor's period of authorization to determine 
compliance with these requirements.  The state 
agency shall terminate the WIC Vendor 
Agreement of any vendor that fails to comply 
with Subparagraphs (b)(3), (b)(7), (b)(8), 
(b)(10), (b)(11) or (b)(13) during the vendor's 
period of authorization, and sanction and/or 
terminate the Agreement of any vendor that 
fails to comply with Subparagraphs (b)(6), 

(b)(9), (b)(12) or (b)(14) during the vendor's 
period of authorization. 

(d)  By signing the WIC Vendor Agreement, the local agency 
agrees to the following: 

(1) Provide at a minimum annual vendor training 
classes on WIC procedures and regulations; 

(2) Monitor the vendor's performance under this 
agreement in a reasonable manner to ensure 
compliance with the agreement, state and 
federal WIC program rules, regulations and 
policies, and applicable law.  A minimum of 
one-third of all authorized vendors shall be 
monitored within a state fiscal year (July 1 
through June 30) and all vendors shall be 
monitored at least once within three 
consecutive state fiscal years.  Any vendor 
shall be monitored within one week of written 
request by the state agency; 

(3) Provide vendors with the North Carolina WIC 
Vendor Manual, all Vendor Manual 
amendments, blank WIC Price Lists, and the 
authorized WIC vendor stamp indicated on the 
signature page of the WIC Vendor Agreement; 

(4) Assist the vendor with questions which may 
arise under this agreement or the vendor's 
participation in the WIC Program; and 

(5) Keep records of the transactions between the 
parties under this agreement pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 21D .0206. 

(e)  In order for a food retailer or free-standing pharmacy to 
participate in the WIC Program a current WIC Vendor 
Agreement must have been signed by the vendor, the local WIC 
agency, and the state agency. 
(f)  If an application for status as an authorized WIC vendor is 
denied, the applicant is entitled to an administrative appeal as 
described in Section .0800 of this Subchapter. 
(g)  Title 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(i) through (vi) and (xii) are 
incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 
editions. 

(1) In accordance with 7 CFR 246.12(l)(1)(i), the 
State agency shall not allow imposition of a 
civil money penalty in lieu of disqualification 
for a vendor permanently disqualified.  

(2) A pattern, as referenced in 7 C.F.R. 
246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) through (F) and 
246.12(1)(2)(iv), shall be established as 
follows: 
(A) claiming reimbursement for the sale 

of an amount of a specific 
supplemental food item over a 60-day 
period which exceeds the store's 
documented inventory of that 
supplemental food item by 10 percent 
or more.  Failure or inability to 
provide records or providing false 
records required under Subparagraph 
(c)(30) of this Rule for an inventory 
audit shall be deemed a violation of 7 
C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and Part 
(g)(2)(A) of this Rule; 
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(B) two occurrences of vendor 
overcharging within a 12-month 
period; 

(C) two occurrences of receiving, 
transacting and/or redeeming food 
instruments outside of authorized 
channels, including the use of an 
unauthorized vendor and/or an 
unauthorized person within a 12-
month period; 

(D) two occurrences of charging for 
supplemental food not received by 
the WIC customer within a 12-month 
period; 

(E)  two occurrences of providing credit 
or non-food items, other than alcohol, 
alcoholic beverages, tobacco 
products, cash, firearms, ammunition, 
explosives, or controlled substances 
as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802, in 
exchange for food instruments within 
a 12-month period; or 

(F) three occurrences of providing 
unauthorized food items in exchange 
for food instruments, including 
charging for supplemental food 
provided in excess of those listed on 
the food instrument within a 12-
month period. 

(h)  Title 7 C.F.R. Section 246.12(l)(2)(i) is incorporated by 
reference with all subsequent amendments and editions.  Except 
as provided in 7 C.F.R. 246.12 (l)(1)(xii), a vendor shall be 
disqualified from the WIC Program for the following state-
established violations in accordance with the sanction system 
below.  The total period of disqualification shall not exceed one 
year for state-established violations investigated as part of a 
single investigation, as defined in Paragraph (i) of this Rule. 

(1) When a vendor commits any of the following 
violations, the state-established 
disqualification period shall be: 
(A) 90 days for each occurrence of failure 

to properly transact a WIC food 
instrument by not completing the date 
and purchase price on the WIC food 
instrument before obtaining the 
countersignature, by not obtaining the 
countersignature in the presence of 
the cashier, or by accepting a WIC 
food instrument prior to the "Date of 
Issue" or after the "Participant Must 
Use By" dates on the food instrument; 

(B) 60 days for each occurrence of 
requiring a cash purchase to transact a 
WIC food instrument; 

(C) 30 days for each occurrence of 
requiring the purchase of a specific 
brand when more than one WIC 
supplemental food brand is available; 
and 

(D) 30 days for each occurrence of failure 
to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Subparagraph (c)(31) of 
this Rule. 

(2) When a vendor commits any of the following 
violations, the vendor shall be assessed 
sanction points as follows for each occurrence: 
(A) 2.5 points for stocking WIC 

supplemental foods outside of the 
manufacturer's expiration date. 

(B) 5 points for: 
(i) failure to attend annual 

vendor training; 
(ii) failure to stock minimum 

inventory; or 
(iii) failure to mark the current 

shelf prices of all WIC 
supplemental foods clearly 
on the foods or have the 
prices posted on the shelf or 
display case. 

(C) 7.5 points for:  
(i) discrimination on the basis 

of WIC participation 
(separate WIC lines, denying 
trading stamps, etc.); or 

(ii) contacting a WIC customer 
in an attempt to recoup funds 
for food instrument(s) or 
contacting a WIC customer 
outside the store regarding 
the transaction or 
redemption of WIC food 
instruments. 

(D) 15 points for: 
(i) failure to allow monitoring 

of a store by WIC staff when 
required; 

(ii) failure to provide WIC food 
instrument(s) for review 
when requested; 

(iii) failure to provide store 
inventory records when 
requested by WIC staff, 
except as provided in 
Subparagraph (c)(30) and 
Part (g)(2)(A) of this Rule 
for failure or inability to 
provide records for an 
inventory audit; 

(iv) nonpayment of a claim made 
by the State agency; or 

(v) providing false information 
on vendor records 
(application, vendor 
agreement, price list, WIC 
food instrument(s), 
monitoring forms), except as 
provided in Subparagraph 
(c)(30) and Part (g)(2)(A) of 
this Rule for providing false 
records for an inventory 
audit. 
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(3) For the violations listed in Subparagraph (h)(2) 
of this Rule, all sanction points assessed 
against a vendor remain on the vendor's record 
for 12 months or until the vendor is 
disqualified as a result of those points.  If a 
vendor accumulates 15 or more points, the 
vendor shall be disqualified.  The nature of the 
violation(s) and the number of violations, as 
represented by the points assigned in 
Subparagraph (h)(2), are used to calculate the 
period of disqualification.  The formula used 
to calculate the disqualification period is: the 
number of points of the worst offense 
multiplied by 18 days.  18 days shall be added 
to the disqualification period for each point 
over 15 points. 

(i)  For investigations pursuant to this Section, a single 
investigation is: 

(1) Compliance buy(s) conducted by undercover 
investigators within a 12-month period to 
detect the following violations: 
(A) buying or selling food instruments for 

cash (trafficking); 
(B) selling firearms, ammunition, 

explosives, or controlled substances 
as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802, in 
exchange for food instruments; 

(C) selling alcohol or alcoholic beverages 
or tobacco products in exchange for 
food instruments; 

(D) vendor overcharging; 
(E)  receiving, transacting, and/or 

redeeming food instruments outside 
of authorized channels, including the 
use of an unauthorized vendor and/or 
an unauthorized person; 

(F) charging for supplemental food not 
received by the WIC customer; 

(G) providing credit or non-food items, 
other than alcohol, alcoholic 
beverages, tobacco products, cash, 
firearms, ammunition, explosives, or 
controlled substances as defined in 21 
U.S.C. 802, in exchange for food 
instruments; 

(H) providing unauthorized food items in 
exchange for food instruments, 
including charging for supplemental 
food provided in excess of those 
listed on the food instrument; 

(I) failure to properly transact a WIC 
food instrument; 

(J) requiring a cash  purchase to transact 
a WIC food instrument; or 

(K) requiring the purchase of a specific 
brand when more than one WIC 
supplemental food brand is available; 

(2) Monitoring reviews of a vendor conducted by 
WIC staff within a 12-month period which 
detect the following violations: 
(A) failure to stock minimum inventory; 

(B) stocking WIC supplemental food 
outside of the manufacturer's 
expiration date;  

(C) failure to allow monitoring of a store 
by WIC staff when required; 

(D) failure to provide WIC food 
instrument(s) for review when 
requested; 

(E)  failure to provide store inventory 
records when requested by WIC staff; 
or 

(F) failure to mark the current shelf 
prices of all WIC  supplemental foods 
clearly on the foods or have the prices 
posted on the shelf or display case; 

(3) Any other method used by the State or local 
agency to detect the following violations by a 
vendor within a 12-month period: 
(A) failure to attend annual vendor 

training; 
(B) failure to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Subparagraph (c)(31) of 
this Rule; 

(C) discrimination on the basis of WIC 
participation (separate WIC lines, 
denying trading stamps, etc.);  

(D) contacting a WIC customer in an 
attempt to recoup funds or food 
instrument(s) or contacting a WIC 
customer outside the store regarding 
the transaction or redemption of WIC 
food instruments; 

(E)  nonpayment of a claim made by the 
State agency; 

(F) providing false information on vendor 
records (application, vendor 
agreement, price list, WIC food 
instrument(s), monitoring forms); or 

(G) claiming reimbursement for the sale 
of an amount of a specific 
supplemental food item which 
exceeds the store's documented 
inventory of that supplemental food 
item for a specific period of time, or 
failure or inability to provide records 
or providing false records required 
under Subparagraph (c)(30) of this 
Rule for an inventory audit. 

(j)  The Food Stamp Program disqualification provisions in 7 
C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(vii) are incorporated by reference with all 
subsequent amendments and editions. 
(k)  The participant access provisions of 7 C.F.R. 
246.12(l)(1)(ix) and 246.12(l)(8) are incorporated by reference 
with all subsequent amendments and editions.  The existence of 
any of the factors listed in Subparagraphs (l)(3)(A), (l)(3)(B) or 
(l)(3)(C) of this Rule shall conclusively show lack of inadequate 
participant access provided there is no geographic barrier, such 
as an impassable mountain or river, to using the other authorized 
WIC vendors referenced in these Subparagraphs.  The agency 
shall not consider other indicators of inadequate participant 
access when any of these factors exist. 
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(l)  The following provisions apply to civil money penalties 
assessed in lieu of disqualification of a vendor: 

(1) The civil money penalty formula in 07 C.F.R. 
246.12(l)(l)(x) is incorporated by reference 
with all subsequent amendments and editions, 
provided that the vendor's average monthly 
redemptions shall be calculated by using the 
six-month period ending with the month 
immediately preceding the month during 
which the notice of administrative action is 
dated. 

(2) The State agency may also impose civil money 
penalties in accordance with G.S. 130A-22(c1) 
in lieu of disqualification of a vendor for the 
state-established violations listed in Paragraph 
(h) of this Rule when the State agency 
determines that disqualification of a vendor 
would result in undue participant hardship in 
accordance with Subparagraph (l)(3) of this 
Rule. 

(3) In determining whether to disqualify a WIC 
vendor for the state-established violations 
listed in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the agency 
shall not consider other indicators of hardship 
if any of the following factors, which 
conclusively show lack of undue hardship, are 
found to exist: 
(A) the noncomplying vendor is located 

outside of the limits of a city, as 
defined in G.S. 160A-2, and another 
WIC vendor is located within seven 
miles of the noncomplying vendor;  

(B) the noncomplying vendor is located 
within the limits of a city, as defined 
in G.S. 160A-2, and another WIC 
vendor is located within three miles 
of the noncomplying vendor; or 

(C) a WIC vendor, other than the 
noncomplying vendor, is located 
within one mile of the local agency at 
which WIC participants pick up their 
food instruments. 

(4) The provisions for failure to pay a civil money 
penalty in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(6) are 
incorporated by reference with all subsequent 
amendments and editions.   

(m)  The provisions of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(viii) prohibiting 
voluntary withdrawal from the WIC Program or nonrenewal of 
the WIC Vendor Agreement as an alternative to disqualification 
are incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments 
and editions. 
(n)  The provision in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3) regarding prior 
warning to vendors is incorporated by reference with all 
subsequent amendments and editions. 
(o)  The state agency reserves the right to set off payments to an 
authorized vendor if the vendor fails to reimburse the state 
agency in accordance with Subparagraph (c)(32) of this Rule. 
(p)  In accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(7) and 246.12(u)(5), 
North Carolina's procedures for dealing with abuse of the WIC 
program by authorized WIC vendors do not exclude or replace 

any criminal or civil sanctions or other remedies that may be 
applicable under any federal and state law.   
(q)  Notwithstanding other provisions of this Rule, for the 
purpose of providing a one-time payment to a non-authorized 
store for WIC food instruments accepted by the store, an 
agreement for a one-time payment need only be signed by the 
store manager and the state agency.  The store may request such 
one-time payment directly from the state agency.  The store 
manager shall sign an agreement indicating that the store has 
provided foods as prescribed on the food instrument, charged 
current shelf prices or less than current shelf prices, not charged 
sales tax, and verified the identity of the WIC customer.  Any 
agreement entered into in this manner shall automatically 
terminate upon payment of the food instrument in question.  
After entering into an agreement for a one-time payment, a non-
authorized store shall not be allowed to enter into any further 
one-time payment agreements for WIC food instruments 
accepted thereafter. 
(r)  Except as provided in 7 C.F.R. 246.18(a)(2), an authorized 
WIC vendor shall be given at least 15 days advance written 
notice of any adverse action which affects the vendor's 
participation in the WIC Program.  The vendor appeal 
procedures shall be in accordance with 15A NCAC 21D .0800. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 42 U.S.C. 1786;  
7 C.F.R. 246; 
Eff. July 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; October 1, 1993; May 1, 1991; 
December 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 17, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 23, 2000; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002; July 1, 2002. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 
Rule-making Agency:  Well Contractor Certification 
Commission 
 
Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 27 .0301 
 
Effective Date:  September 12, 2002 
 
Findings Objected to on July 12, 2002 by:   Beecher R. Gray 
 
Authority for the rulemaking:  G.S. 87-98.6; 87-98.9; 143B-
301.11; S.L. 2001-440 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The passage of Senate Bill 312 
(Session Law 2001-440) by the General Assembly amended 
certain statutes governing Well Contractor Certification.  
Among the changes specified in this bill, were amendments to 
continuing education requirements.  Over the last few months 
the Well Contractor Certification Commission has examined 
legislative changes in Session Law 2001-440.  As a result of this 
effort, the Commission proposes to change the criteria for 
demonstrating that a well contractor has adequate experience to 
conduct well contractor activities.  The Commission believes 
that requiring well contractors to have two years or 24 months 
of experience is burdensome.  This time frame is reduced from 
twenty-four months to eighteen (18) months.  Under this Rule, 



TEMPORARY RULES 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
550 

letters from businesses, suppliers, and government agencies 
attesting to a well contractor performance will no longer be 
considered as proof that a well contractor meets the experience 
requirement.  Acceptable proof may also include an affidavit 
showing that the well contractor has been working in the trade 
for six months as shown in this Rule if the applicant can furnish 
information showing that he has completed either a Commission 
approved course of study through the NC Community College 
system, an apprenticeship program approved by the Department 
of Labor, or a similar course or apprenticeship approved by the 
Well Contractor Certification Commission.  No other changes 
are being made to these Rules through temporary rulemaking. 
 
A Notice of Intent to Adopt a Temporary Rule pursuant to 
Section 1.5 of Senate Bill 3312 or Session Law 2001-440 was 
published in June 3, 2002. 
A 30 days Notice of Intent was required by statute to adopt a 
temporary rule.  No comments were received that required 
changes to the language of the rule given in the notice published 
on June 3, 2002. 
 
Comment Procedures:  Comments, data, statements and other 
information about this rulemaking may be submitted in writing 
to David A. Hance, DENR, Division of Water Quality, 
Groundwater Section, 1636 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699-1636.  The Well Contractor Certification Commission 
will accept comments on this temporary rule through October 
16, 2002.  Written comments may also be submitted to Mr. 
Hance by facsimile transmission at 919-715-0588 or by email to 
david.hance@ncmail.net.  
 
CHAPTER 27 - WELL CONTRACTOR CERTIFICATION 

RULES 
 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF WELL 
CONTRACTORS 

 
15A NCAC 27 .0301 APPLICATION  
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION 
(a)  The Commission shall accept applications and renewal 
requests for certification as a well contractor from any person 
who is at least 18 years of age and whose application meets all 
the following conditions:  

(1) Each application shall be submitted on forms 
provided by the Commission, which are 
designed for requesting certification as a well 
contractor by way of reexamination, 
certification without examination, or 
temporary certification and just be properly 
and accurately completed and submitted with 
an appropriate fee to the office of the chairman 
of the Commission.  

(2) Each application has been determined as 
complete. Incomplete applications and 
applications not accompanied by an 
appropriate fee and attachments cannot be 
processed and shall be returned to the 
applicant. 

(3) Each application shall contain proof of 
experience as provided in Paragraph (f) of this 
Rule. 

(4) Each application shall include a request for the 
well contractor examination or include 
documentation that the applicant meets the 
requirement for certification without 
examination as provided in Section .0500 of 
this Chapter. 

(b)  Applicants who have intentionally supplied false 
information must wait 12 months before resubmitting an 
application for certification.  
(c)  The Commission shall not schedule an applicant to take the 
required examination until his application has been reviewed and 
the applicant has met all other conditions for certification.  The 
applicant must pass the examination within three attempts or 
within a one year period of time after application submittal or a 
new application shall be required. An applicant who has failed 
the examination after three consecutive attempts shall be 
required to obtain eight PDH units prior to resubmittal of an 
application for certification.  
(d)  A certification shall not be issued until the applicant 
successfully passes the required examination or meets the 
requirements for certification without examination.  
(e)  A certification issued by the Commission shall be valid in 
every county in the state.  
(f)  Proof of two years 18 months experience in well contractor 
activities shall be demonstrated by providing one of the 
following:  

(1) A list of at least 25 wells, together with their 
locations, major use and approximate depth 
and diameter, for which the applicant has 
supervised or assisted in the construction, 
repair or abandonment process.  This list shall 
provide the name and address of the owner or 
owners of each well, and the approximate date 
the construction of each well was completed. 
A copy of the completion report for each well 
shall accompany the list. Completion dates of 
the 25 wells shall be distributed over a 
consecutive 24 18 month period.   

(2) Letters from three persons in a business related 
to well contractor activities (such as, state or 
local government well inspectors, employing 
well contractors, competitors, and well 
materials suppliers) who attest that the 
applicant has been working in a well 
contractor activity for a minimum of 24 
months.  

(3)(2) A letter from at least one currently certified 
well contractor attesting that the applicant has 
been working in a well contractor activity for a 
minimum of 24 18 months.  

(4)(3) Any other proof of working in well contractor 
activities for a minimum of 2418 months may 
be presented to the Commission and may be 
accepted on an individual basis. 

(4) An affidavit from at least one currently 
certified well contractor attesting that the 
applicant has been working for the certified 
well contractor in well construction for a 
minimum of six months may be accepted, if 
the applicant also furnishes proof of 
completion of one of the following: 
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(A) Completion of a course of study in 
well construction techniques 
approved by the Well Contractor's 
Certification Commission and offered 
by a community college within the 
N.C. Department of Community 
Colleges with a passing grade; or 

(B) Completion of an apprenticeship 
program approved by the Well 
Contractor's Certification 
Commission and approved by the 
N.C. Department of Labor in well 
construction; or 

(C) Completion of a similar course of 
study or apprenticeship program as 
approved by the Well Contractor’s 
Certification Commission. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-98.6; 87-98.9; 143B-301.11;  
S.L. 2001-440; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 15, 1998; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 
temporary rule on July 12, 2002; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. September 12, 2002. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on Thursday, September 19, 2002, 10:00 
a.m. at 1307 Glenwood Avenue, Assembly Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule 
before the Commission should submit those comments by Friday, September 13, 2002 to the RRC staff, the agency, and the 
individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-
733-2721.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency at least 24 hours prior to 
the meeting. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
   Appointed by Senate        Appointed by House 
  Thomas Hilliard, III                Paul Powell - Chairman 
     Robert Saunders         Jennie J. Hayman Vice - Chairman 
      Laura Devan            Dr. Walter Futch 
    Jim Funderburke          Jeffrey P. Gray 
     David Twiddy           Dr. John Tart 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 
 

September 19, 2002 
 
 

Commission Review/Administrative Rules 
 Log of Filings (Log #189) 
 July 20, 2002 through August 20, 2002 
 
DHHS/DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
 Optional         10 NCAC 50B .0102 Amend 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE/HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD  
 Definitions        11 NCAC 08 .1101 Amend 
 Purpose and Scope       11 NCAC 08 .1103 Amend 
 General Exclusions       11 NCAC 08 .1105 Amend 
 Air Conditioning        11 NCAC 08 .1112 Amend 
 Interiors         11 NCAC 08 .1113 Amend 
 Insulation and Ventilation       11 NCAC 08 .1114 Amend 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 Elevator, Escalator, Dumbwaiter, and Special Equip     13 NCAC 15 .0701 Adopt 
 Elevator, Escalator, Dumbwaiter, and Special Equip     13 NCAC 15 .0702 Adopt 
 Amusement Device Inspection Fee Schedule     13 NCAC 15 .0703 Adopt 
 Amusement Device Follow Up Inspection Fee    13 NCAC 15 .0704 Adopt 
DENR/COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION  
 Definition of 404 Wetlands      15 NCAC 07B .0702 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .1101 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .1201 Amend 
 Specific Conditions       15 NCAC 07H .1205 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .1301 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .1401 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .2001 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .2101 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .2201 Amend 
 Permit Eligibility Changes       15 NCAC 07H .2401 Amend 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION/STATE PERSONNEL COMMISSIO N 
 Periods of Entitlement for all Reserve Components    25 NCAC 01E .0804 Amend 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
September 19, 2002 
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I. Call to Order and Opening Remarks 
II. Review of minutes of last meeting 
III. Follow Up Matters 

A. Department of Administration -.0104; .0105; .0106; .0206; .0207; .0208 Continued 08/15/02 (DeLuca) 
B. DENR/Environmental Management Commission – 15A NCAC 2H .0103; .0106; .1301; .1302; .1303; .1305 

Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 
C. DENR/Environmental Management Commission – 15A NCA C 2H .1304 Technical Change Not Made 08/15/02 

(Bryan) 
D. DENR/Environmental Management Commission – 15A NCAC 2I .0501; .0502 Technical Change Not Made 

08/15/02 (DeLuca) 
E. DENR/Environmental Management Commission – 15A NCAC 2I .0503 Objection 08/15/02 (DeLuca) 
F. Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 3K  .0104 Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 
G. DENR/Soil and Water Conservation Commission – 15A NCAC 6H .0101; .0102; .0103; .0104; .0105 Objection 

08/15/02 (Bryan) 
H. NC Nursing Board – 21 NCAC 36 .0211; .0218 Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 
I. State Board of Community Colleges – 23 NCAC 2C .0305 Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 
J. State Board of Community Colleges – 23 NCAC 2D .0319 Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 
K. State Board of Community Colleges – 23 NCAC 2E .0402; .0403 Objection 08/15/02 (Bryan) 

IV.  Commission Business 
V. Next meeting: tentatively scheduled for October 17, 2002 
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at the following 
address: http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 
 OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 
 Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 
 Senior Administrative Law Judge 
 FRED G. MORRISON JR. 
 
 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 
 

Sammie Chess Jr.      James L. Conner, II 
Beecher R. Gray     Beryl E. Wade 
Melissa Owens Lassiter    A. B. Elkins II 

 
 
  CASE  DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION 
 AGENCY NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION 
 
ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 
NC ABC Commission v. Acme Retail, Inc. T/A Handy Pantry 01 ABC 1325 Chess 05/21/02 
Randall Ralph Casey T/A Maynards Entertainment v. NC ABC Comm. 01 ABC 1396 Wade 06/26/02 
NC ABC Commission v. Headlights, Inc. T/A Headlights 01 ABC 1473 Wade 06/28/02 
NC ABC Commission v. WDB, Inc. T/A Twin Peeks 02 ABC 0517 Conner 07/15/02 
 
APPRAISAL BOARD 
NC Appraisal Board v. Thomas G. Hildebrandt, Jr. 02 APB 0130 Chess 08/20/02 17:06 NCR 563 
 
UTILITIES COMMISSION 
Tracy Woody v. State of NC Utilities Commission 02 COM 1004 Morrison 08/26/02 
 
CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY 
Hattie Holt v. NC Crime Victims Compensation Commission 00 CPS 1067 Conner 05/30/02 
Linda Hawley v. NC Crime Victims Compensation Commission 02 CPS 0121 Conner 06/14/02 
Lial McKoy v. NC Crime Victims Compensation Commission 02 CPS 0394 Chess 07/26/02 
 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
 
A list of Child Support Decisions may be obtained by accessing the OAH Website:  www.ncoah.com/decisions. 
 
Evelia Williams v. NC DHHS   01 DHR 1750 Conner 07/15/02 
Kathy Mumford v. DHHS, Div. of Facility Services 01 DHR 2253 Chess 07/26/02 
James Bell v. NC DHHS, Div. of Facility Services  01 DHR 2340 Elkins 06/27/02 
Adam Syare v. NCDHHS, Div. of MH/DD/SAS, Southeastern 01 DHR 2352 Conner 06/21/02 
   Regional Mental Health Center 
Effie M. Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human Services  02 DHR 0001 Gray 08/08/02 
Sarah D. Freeman & Tony J. Freeman v. Guilford Co. Mental Health, 02 DHR 0083 Chess 06/07/02 
   The Guilford Center 
Albemarle Home Care & Ginger Parrish, PhD v. NC DHHS, Div. of 02 DHR 0142 Conner 07/22/02 
   Medical Assistance 
Birgit James v. NC Dept. of Health & Human Services  02 DHR 0255 Connor 07/01/02 
Geraldine Rountree Cooper v. DHHS, Div. of Facility Services 02 DHR 0267 Elkins 07/15/02 
Unieca Richardson v. NC DHHS, Division of Facility Services 02 DHR 0286 Chess 06/17/02 
Greg McKinney & Virgie Elaine McKinney v. DHHS 02 DHR 0301 Mann 08/01/02 
Donna R Anderson v. NC DHHS, Broughton Hospital 02 DHR 0340 Gray 08/01/02 
Notisha Utley v. NC DHHS, Division of Facility Services  02 DHR 0379 Conner 07/26/02 
Isa Spaine v. NC Department of Health & Human Services 02 DHR 0403 Chess 06/24/02 
Mooresville Hospital Management Associates, Inc. d/b/a Lake Norman 02 DHR 0541 Chess 08/07/02 
   Regional Medical Center v.DHHS, Div. of Facility Services, Cert. of 
   Need Section 
Eli Maxwell v. NC DHHS, Div. of Facility Services, Health Care Registry 02 DHR 0556 Lassiter  08/08/02 
Robin Lee Arnold v. DHHS, Div. of Facility Services 02 DHR 0558 Conner 08/15/02 
Evelyn Denise Humphrey v. NC DHHS, Div. of Facility Services 02 DHR 0624 Morrison 08/08/02 
James Parks v. NC Dept. of Health and Human Services 02 DHR 0680 Morrison 08/07/02 
Lisa Murphy v. DHHS< Division of Facility Services  02 DHR 0694 Mann 07/26/02 
Mary's Family Care #2, Beulah Spivey v. OAH  02 DHR 0735 Morrison 08/27/02 
Hazel Chea v. Department of Health & Human Services  02 DHR 0795 Mann 06/11/02 
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Carmelita T. England v. Ms. Lisa Moor, Chief Advocate, Black Mtn Ctr. 02 DHR 1033 Chess 08/15/02 
Gloria Dean Gaston v. Office of Administrative Hearings 02 DHR 1081 Morrison 07/26/02 
 
ADMINISTRATION 
San Antioni Equipment Co. v. NC Department of Administration 02 DOA 0430 Chess 06/26/02 
 
JUSTICE 
 
Sara E Parker v. Consumer Protection [sic] & Rosemary D. Revis 02 DOJ 1038 Gray 08/08/02 
 
Alarm Systems Licensing Board 
Seth Paul Barham v. Alarm System Licensing Board 02 DOJ 0552 Gray 06/12/02 
Christopher Michael McVicker v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board 02 DOJ 0731 Gray 06/07/02 
Jeffery Lee Garrett v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board 02 DOJ 0908 Morrison 08/06/02 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
Anthony Davon Webster v. Private Protective Services Board 01 DOJ 1857 Gray 06/07/02 
Benita Lee Luckey v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0530 Elkins 07/12/02 
Orlando Carmichael Wall v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0729 Gray 06/18/02 
Randall G. Bryson v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0730 Gray 06/07/02 
Barry Snadon, Sr. v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0907 Elkins 07/12/02 
Gregory Darnell Martin v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0916 Morrison 08/06/02 
Marvin Ray Johnson v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 0945 Morrison 08/06/02 
Quincey Adam Morning v. Private Protective Services Board 02 DOJ 1084 Morrison 08/06/02 
 
Sheriffs' Education & Training Standards Commission 
Kevin Warren Jackson v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 01 DOJ 1587 Chess 07/16/02 
Jonathan P. Steppe v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0004 Mann 06/28/02 
Jeffrey Beckwith v. Criminal Justice & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0057 Gray 07/15/02 
Thomas B. Jernigan v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0089 Conner 06/25/02 
Katrina L. Moore v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0304 Reilly 07/17/02 
Wallace A. Hough, Jr. v. Criminal Justice & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0474 Morrison 08/08/02 
Keith E. Kilby, Sr. v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0609 Lassiter  08/07/02 
John R. Tucker v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0632 Morrison 06/26/02 
Eddie Kurt Newkirk v. Sheriffs' Education & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0870 Gray 08/28/02 
Joseph Ray Johnson v. Criminal Justice & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 1420 Wade 06/27/02 
Frances Sherene Hayes v. Criminal Justice & Training Stds. Comm. 02 DOJ 0171 Mann 06/04/02 
 
ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES  
Town of Belville v. NC DENR, Div. of Coastal Management 96 EHR 0598 Gray 07/29/02 
Stoneville Furniture Co., Inc. v.  NC DENR, Div. of Air Quality 01 EHR 0976 Chess 07/16/02 
Town of Ocean Isle Beach v. NC DENR  01 EHR 1885 Chess 07/31/02 17:06 NCR 557 
Helen Smith v. NC DENR   02 EHR 0152 Morrison 08/09/02 
Helen R. Bass v. County of Durham   02 EHR 0191 Gray 06/26/02 
Bipin B Patel Rajan, Inc. v. NC DENR, Div. of Waste Management 02 EHR 0244 Gray 06/05/02 
J.B. Hooper v. NC DENR   02 EHR 0285 Conner 08/21/02 
J.L. Hope & wife, Ruth B. Hope v. NC DENR  02 EHR 0395 Mann 06/10/02 
Linda L. Hamrick v. NC DENR   02 EHR 0600 Conner 07/23/02 
Mitchell Oil Company Larry Furr v. DENR  02 EHR 0676 Lassiter  08/07/02 
County of Hertford Producer's Gin, Inc. v. NC DENR, Div. of Air Quality 02 EHR 0690 Chess 06/17/02 
Olivia Freeman POA for Bobby C. Freeman v. Trng. Stds. Comm. 02 EHR 0777 Wade 07/11/02 
 
ENGINEERS AND LAND SURVEYORS  
NC Bd. of Examiners for Engineers & Surveyors v. C Phil Wagoner 01 ELS 0078 Lewis 06/05/02 
 
OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL 
Robin Heavner Franklin v. Lincoln Co. Dept. of Social Services  98 OSP 1239 Conner 08/28/02 
Laura C. Seamons v. NC DHS/Murdoch Center  00 OSP 0522 Wade 06/28/02 
James Edward Robinson v. Off. of Juvenile Justice, 7th Jud. Dist. 00 OSP 0722 Wade 06/28/02 
Andre Foster v. Winston-Salem State University 00 OSP 12161 Mann 06/03/02 17:01 NCR 93 
Berry Eugene Porter v. NC Department of Transportation 01 OSP 0019 Gray 07/03/02 
Linda R. Walker v. Craven County Health Department 01 OSP 0309 Gray 07/12/02 
J Louise Roseborough v. Wm F. Scarlett, Dir. of Cumberland 01 OSP 0734 Morgan 06/06/02 
   County Department of Social Services 
Dennis Covington v. NC Ag. & Tech. State University 01 OSP 1045 Wade 06/28/02 
Reginald Ross v. NC Department of Correction  01 OSP 1122/23 Wade 06/28/02 
Andre Foster v. Winston-Salem State University 01 OSP 13881 Mann 06/03/02 17:01 NCR 93 
Andrew W. Gholson v. Lake Wheeler Rd. Field Lab, NCSU Unit #2 01 OSP 1405 Wade 06/28/02 
Demetrius J. Trahan v. EEO/Title VII, Dir. Cheryl C. Fellers, DOC 01 OSP 1559 Gray 08/13/02 
Wade Elms v. NC Department of Correction  01 OSP 1594 Gray 06/27/02 
Wayne G. Whisemant v. Foothills Area Authority 01 OSP 1612 Elkins 05/30/02 17:01 NCR 103 
Linwood Dunn v. NC Emergency Management  01 OSP 1691 Lassiter  08/21/02 
Gladys Faye Walden v. NC Department of Correction 01 OSP 1741 Mann 07/12/02 
Joy Reep Shuford v. NC Department of Correction 01 OSP 2179 Overby 06/25/02 
Joseph Kevin McKenzie v. NC DOC, Lavee Hamer (Gen. Counsel 01 OSP 2241 Mann 06/05/02 
   to the Section) 
Bryan Aaaron Yonish v. UNC at Greensboro  01 OSP 2274 Conner 06/25/02 
Theressa Truner v. Albemarle Mental Health Center 01 OSP 2331 Gray 07/11/02 
Mark Wayne Faircloth v. NC Forest Service  01 OSP 2374 Conner 06/20/02 

                                                                 
1 Combined Cases 
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Angel J. Miyares v. Forsyth Co. Dept of Public Health & Forsyth Co. 01 OSP 23852 Elkins 08/07/02 
   Board of Health 
Lashaundon Smith v. Neuse Correctional Institution 02 OSP 0064 Elkins 07/03/02 17:03 NCR 329 
Angel J. Miyares v. Forsyth Co. Dept of Public Health & Forsyth Co. 01 OSP 01102 Elkins 08/07/02 
   Board of Health  
Susan Luke aka Susan Luke Young v. Gaston-Lincoln-Cleveland 02 OSP 0140 Conner 06/06/02 
   Area Mental Health "Pathways" 
Mark P. Gibbons v. NC Department of Transportation 02 OSP 0147 Conner 06/14/02 
Jana S. Rayne v. Onslow Co. Behavioral Health Care 02 OSP 0184 Morrison 08/01/02 
Cathy L. White v. NC Department of Corrections 02 OSP 0246 Elkins 05/31/02 
Doris J. Berry v. NC Department of Transportation 02 OSP 0247 Elkins 06/17/02 
William L. Johnson v. Caledonia Farms Ent. Caledonia Prison Farm 02 OSP 0270 Elkins 06/25/02 
Darrell Glenn Fender v. Avery/Mitchell Correctional Institution 02 OSP 0290 Mann 06/14/02 
Alber L. Scott v. UNC General Administration  02 OSP 0336 Elkins 06/10/02 
Michael Forrect Peeler v. NC Department of Transportation 02 OSP 0478 Conner 07/01/02 
Shirley J. Davis v. NC Department of Correction 02 OSP 0486 Elkins 07/11/02 
Alber L. Scott v. UNC General Administration  02 OSP 0498 Elkins 06/10/02 
Harold Phillips v. Durham Co. Dept. of Social Services 02 OSP 0503 Chess 07/30/02 
Michelle G. Minstrell v. NC State University  02 OSP 0568 Chess 06/26/02 
Janet Watson v. Nash Co. DSS, Carl Daughtry, Director 02 OSP 0702 Chess 08/13/02 
Patricia Anthony v. NC Dept. of Correction (Pamlico CI) 02 OSP 0797 Lassiter  08/07/02 
Jerry J Winsett v. Cape Fear Community College 02 OSP 0998 Morrison 08/09/02 
Walter Anthony Martin, Jr. v. Town of Smithfield (Smithfield Police Dept.) 02 OSP 1002 Morrison 07/30/02 
JoAnn A Sexton v. City of Wilson   02 OSP 1041 Morrison 07/25/02 
Alex Craig Fish v. Town of Smithfield (Smithfield Police Dept.) 02 OSP 1060 Morrison 08/09/02 
Carolyn Pickett v. Nash-Rocky Mt. School Systems, Nash-Rocky Mt. 02 OSP 1136 Morrison 07/29/02 
   Board of Education 
James J. Lewis v. Department of Correction  02 OSP 1158 Mann 08/20/02 
 
SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL BOARD 
NC Substance Abuse Professional Certification Board v. Lynn 00 SAP 1573 Chess 05/10/02 
   Cameron Gladden 
 
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA 
Patsy R. Hill v. UNC Hospitals   02 UNC 0458 Conner 08/21/02 17:06 NCR 571 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF 
  ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS  
COUNTY OF BRUNSWICK 01 EHR 1885 
 

  ) 
TOWN OF OCEAN ISLE BEACH,  ) 
 Petitioner, ) 
  ) 
 v. ) DECISION 
  ) 
N.C. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL  ) 
RESOURCES, ) 
 Respondent. ) 
 

 
This matter came on for hearing before the Honorable Sammie Chess, Administrative Law Judge, on the 8th of April, 2002, 

in Carolina Beach, North Carolina. 
 

APPEARANCES  
 

Petitioner: Elva L. Jess, Esquire 
Attorney at Law 
Fairley Jess Isenberb & Green 
P.O. Box 11028 
Southport, NC 28461 

 
Respondent: David G. Heeter, Esquire 

Assistant Attorney General 
N.C. Department of Justice 
P.O. Box 629 
Raleigh, NC 27602-0629 

 
ISSUES  

 
Issue 1.  Whether the Division of Coastal Management properly denied the application by the Town of Ocean Isle Beach for 

a Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) development permit to rebuild approximately 450 feet of an eroded away oceanfront road 
(East First Street) upon finding under N.C. Gen. State. §113A-120(a)(8) that such development was inconsistent with the rules of the 
Coastal Resources Commission and the Town’s land use plan? 
 

Issue 2. Whether the CAMA and rules of the Coastal Resources Commission would deny landowners access to their property 
if the road is not rebuilt? 
 

Issue 3.  Whether a majority of the owners of the adjacent lots are opposed to reopening East First St. and have acquiesced in 
the abandonment of it by building private walkovers to the beach across the road right-of-way and obtaining alternative means of 
access to their lots. 
 

FACTS 
 

1. The Town of Ocean Isle Beach sought a CAMA minor development permit to replace part of East First Street after 
it was destroyed by erosion during Hurricane Floyd in 1999. 
(Respondent’s Exhibits 1 and 2.) 
 

2. The Division of Coastal Management denied the Town’s CAMA permit application upon finding that replacement 
of the road would be inconsistent with the rules of the Coastal Resources Commission and Town’s approved land-use plan.  
(Respondent’s Exhibit 4.) 
 

3. The Town of Ocean Isle Beach filed a hearing petition with the Office of Administrative Hearings to challenge the 
decision by the Division of Coastal Management to deny its permit application.   
 



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
558 

4. For many years, there has been erosion within the Town of Ocean Isle Beach along the oceanfront to the west of 
Shallotte Inlet.  (Stipulations of the Parties, Fact No. 1. Respondent’s Exhibits 5A - F show the progression of erosion along the 
oceanfront.) 
 

5. In 1981, the Department of Transportation ceased maintaining East First Street (said street running parallel to the 
Atlantic Ocean) from Winston-Salem Street eastward toward Shallotte Inlet.  (Stipulation 2.) 
 

6. The Town assumed the maintenance of this segment of East First Street.  (The legal description of the subject 
property is Block 40 of Section A of Ocean Isle Beach pursuant to a map of same that is recorded in the Office of the Register of 
Deeds of Brunswick County at Map Book 3, Pages 178-178A.  However, the property is referred to as the “401-419 Block of East 
First Street” for the purposes of this hearing.)  (Stipulation 3.) 
 

7. This block of odd-numbered lots (401-419) runs between High Point and Lumberton Streets and is within the 
segment of East First Street which the Town began maintaining in 1981.  (Stipulation 4.) 
 

8. As a result of storms and hurricanes, the Town has repaired or replaced several blocks of East First Street over the 
years.  The Town has also replaced the paved roadbed with a graveled roadbed on a block-by-block basis.  (Stipulation 5.) 
 

9. In 1989, Hurricane Hugo badly damaged East First Street, specifically that area in front of the lots denominated for 
address purposes as lots 421 through 429 as well as many homes on the oceanward side of East First Street starting at lot 402 and 
continuing eastwardly.  (Stipulation 6.) 
 

10. By 1993, the oceanfront lots and utility lines in the 421 through 429 block of East First Street had eroded away.  
(Stipulation 7.) 
 

11. In 1993, the road serving the 401-419 block of East First Street was still paved, but the road serving the 421-429 
block was no longer passable and the maintenance of said road area has not been continued.  (Stipulation 8.) 
 

12. In 1996, the paved road serving the 401-419 block of East First Street was badly damaged by Hurricane Bertha.  
(Stipulation 9.) 
 

13. Hurricane Fran also caused some damage in 1996.  (Stipulation 10.) 
 

14. The Town rebuilt this section of the road after these storms, but it was graveled instead of paved.  (Stipulation 11.) 
 

15. In 1999, Hurricane Floyd destroyed the road serving lots 390-419 on East First Street.  (Stipulation 12.) 
 

16. Respondent’s Exhibit 6 was taken shortly after Hurricane Floyd, and it shows where East First St. was washed away 
in the 401-419 block. 
 

17. In early 2000, after all the storm debris had been cleared away, the Town pushed up an emergency sand berm 
system within the road right-of-way.  (Stipulation 13.) 
 

18. Following the storm, the sand berm system was located immediately seaward of the first line of vegetation on lots 
401-419.  (Stipulation 14.) 
 

19. The Town in conjunction with the Department of Transportation replaced the section of road from lot 390 to the 
intersection of High Point and East First Streets with gravel, put in new utilities, and built a sand covered sand bag berm along this 
area.  (Stipulation 15.) 
 

20. During the winter of 2001-02, the beach at Ocean Isle Beach was renourished using public funds.  The 400 block of 
East First Street is in the transition zone.  (Stipulation 16.) 
 

21. A beach renourishment project involves the pumping of sand onto the beach to widen it by rais ing the elevation and 
changing the profile. (Russell, Transcript at Page 28.  
 

22. The renourishment project was completed in the winter of 2001, and Respondent’s Exhibit 7 shows the renourished 
beach on February 12, 2002. (Russell, Tr. pp. 28-29.)  
 

23. The beach has been widened significantly by the renourishment project and will be renourished on a three-year 
cycle.  (Stipulation 17.) 
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24. Because of the widening of the beach, the normal high tide line has moved further seaward, but it will begin to move 

back towards the land as the renourished beach begins to erode. (Russell, Tr. pp. 66-69.) 
 

25. In a major storm, the high tide line will likely move landward. (Russell, Tr. pp. 66-69.) 
 

26. Despite the widened beach, the high tides have come up to the bas e of the sand berm system, and the tide was at the 
base of the berm system some three weeks before the hearing on April 8, 2002. (Cook, Tr. pp. 88-99.)  
 

27. Some photographs taken by the Respondent during a site visit on March 28, 2002, show a rack or tide line at the 
base on the sand berm system from the high tide two weeks previously. (Respondent’s Exhibits 8-D and E . Cook, Tr. p. 94.  Russell, 
Tr. p. 64.) 
 

28. In 2001, the Town of Ocean Isle Beach proposed replacing the washed away graveled road in the 401-419 block of 
East First Street.  (Stipulation 18.) 
 

29. The approximately 16 foot wide by 450 foot long graveled road would be located within what remained of the right-
of-way between High Point and Lumberton Streets.  (Stipulation 19.) 
 

30. Respondent’s Exhibits 8-B, D, and E show the berm on which the road would be rebuilt. 
 

31. The road would be located seaward of the first line of stable natural vegetation that pre-existed the beach 
nourishment project.  (Stipulation 20.) 
 

32. The top of the existing berm system would be graded level to accommodate the road.  The excess sand would be 
used to supplement the berm system seaward of the road.  (Stipulation 21.) 
 

33. The seaward toe of the berm system would be moved some 16 feet closer to the ocean.  (Russell, Tr. pp. 40-41) 
 

34. The graveled road would be located within an area defined by the CAMA rules as the Ocean Erodible and 
High Hazard Flood area of environmental concern (AECs).  (Stipulation 22.) 
 

35. The long-term annual erosion rate at this location is two feet per year.   (Stipulation 23.) 
 

36. The rebuilding of the road would be “development” under NCGS §113A-1-3(5)(a) since it would involve filling, 
excavation, and alteration of the shoreline, and roads fall within the definition of a “structure” as defined in Rule 15A NCAC 7H 
.0106(3). (Russell, Tr. pp. 60-62.) 
 

37. The road is considered a large structure (greater than 5,000 sq. ft. in size) under the rules of the Coastal Resources 
Commission, and pursuant to those rules, it must be located 120 feet or more landward of the first line of stable natural vegetation.  
(Stipulation 24.) 
 

38. The  vegetation line runs landward of and parallel to the road right-of-way.  (Stipulation 25.) along some sand 
fencing as shown on Respondent’s Exhibit 5-B. (Russell, Tr. p. 38.) 
 

39. The normal 60 foot erosion setback runs along the rear of 401 to 419 East First St. (Stipulation 25), but the 120 foot 
erosion setback for large structures is located further landward almost to East Second St. (Russell, Tr. p. 39.) 
 

40. The DCM denied the Town’s permit application under N.C. Gen. Stat. (NCGS) §113A-120(a)(8) of the CAMA 
because the project was inconsistent with the rules of the CRC and the Town’s land use plan.  (Stipulation 26. Respondent’s Exhibit 
4.) 
 

41. The basic problem is that the road would not be setback 120 feet or more landward of the first line of stable natural 
vegetation.  Instead, it would be located seaward of the vegetation line from which the setback is measured.  (Stipulation 27.) 
 

42. The DCM determined that the public’s investment in the road would be jeopardized by erosion during storms.  In 
addition, it determined that the road would interfere with the public’s use of the beach as the shoreline erodes.  (Stipulation 28.) 
 

43. The DCM was also concerned that a safety problem would be created if the rebuilt road was damaged by erosion 
because of the height of the erosion escarpment which would be created and the debris which would be left on the public beach. 
(Russell, Tr. p. 44.) 
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44. Finally, the DCM was concerned that moving the berm seaward some 16 feet would increase the chances of it being 

washed away.  (Russell, Tr. p. 41.) 
 

45. The Town applied to the CRC for a variance from its rules.  (Stipulation 29.) 
 

46. The Town also timely filed a contested case petition with the Office of Administrative Hearings to contest the denial 
of its permit application.  (Stipulation 30.) 
 

47. The Town alleged that the DCM acted improperly because  vehicular access to certain properties will be restricted.  
(Stipulation 31.) 
 

48. John Atkins, the owner of property within the affected block, specifically Lot 4, Block 40, Section A, with a mailing 
address of 413 East First Street, moved to intervene claiming he would be deprived of property because his access to East First Street 
would be denied, but his petition has been dismissed.  (Stipulation 32.) 
 

49. Charles Jones, Assistant Director, DCM, testified about the possibility of using Hatteras type ramps to gain access 
over the beach to the 401-419 block of East First St. if the Town could not replace the road. (Jones, Tr. pp. 72-76. Respondent’s 
Exhibits 14-A and B.) 
 

50. Using 4-wheel drive vehicles, the landowners could gain access to the beach via Hatteras ramps over the sand berm 
at the end of Lumberton and High Point Streets, drive down the beach, and then gain access to their lots via ramps over the berm in 
front of their lots. (Id.) 
 

51. The DCM has permitted a number of Hatteras ramps along the coast but not as far seaward of the vegetation line as 
would be required here. (Id.) 
 

52. A variance would be required from the CRC to allow Hatteras ramps to serve the 401-419 block of East First St., 
and in at least one instance, the CRC has allowed a Hatteras ramp to give an owner vehicular access to his lot from the beach across 
the vegetation line because there was no road access to the lot. (Id.) 
 

53. Mr. Jones believed the DCM would support a variance subject to the normal conditions for Hatteras ramps in order 
to provide access to the 401-419 block of East First Street if no other access were available. (Id.)  
 

54. Since Hurricane Floyd, the owners of the lots abutting the destroyed section of road have been gaining access over 
the lots to their rear and at the ends of the block.   (Stipulation 33.) 
 

55. In addition, the owners of seven of the ten lots between High Point and Lumberton Streets have constructed 
walkways over the pushed up sand berm within the road right-of-way in order to improve the access between their lots and the beach.  
These walkways were constructed over the road right-of-way.  (Stipulation 34.) 
 

56. Mr. Akins has filed suit against the Town of Ocean Isle Beach seeking a mandatory injunction to keep the road in 
proper repair and open for travel as required by NCGS §160A-296, a statute of which the Judge may take judicial notice.  On 
information and belief, the Town feels that Mr. Atkins is the only lot owner who still wants the Town to rebuild the road.  (Stipulation 
35.) 
 

57. The lot owned by Mr. Akins is accessed from East First Street.  His property is bordered on each side and to the rear 
by other improved properties.  (Stipulation 36.) 
 

58. NCGS §136-66.1 provides that the Town shall be responsible for the maintenance, construction and reconstruction 
of all streets within municipalities that are within its street system.  (Stipulation 37.) 
 

59. Chauncey Cook, who is in the business of renting vacation homes, owns two lots which run from East Second St. to 
the closed portion of East First St. These lots are known as 410 East Second St. (Cook, Tr. pp. 79-80.) 
 

60. Mr. Cook testified on his own behalf and that of six other lot owners who are opposed to replacing the closed 
portion of East First St. (Cook, Tr. pp. 80-81.) 
 

61. The owners of  the other six lots had sent him letters indicating their opposition to replacing East First St. 
(Respondent’s Exhibit 10.) 
 



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
561 

62. He also said  that nine of the owners of 401 to 419 East First Street, including Mr. Aikens, had constructed private 
walkovers running from their lots to the public beach over whatever remains of the right-of-way for East First St. (Cook. Tr. pp. 84-
86. Respondent’s Exhibit 9.) 
 

63. In addition, he testified that all of the owners in the 401 to 419 block of East First Street, including Mr. Aikens,  
have obtained access to their lots running from the nearby streets and in some cases over neighboring lots. (Cook, Tr. pp. 82-84. 
Respondent’s Exhibit 10.) 
 

64. Mr. Cook further testified that, even after the beach renourishment project,  the high tide line has come all the way 
up to the base of the pushed up sand berm during northeasters and spring tides, including during a high tide some three weeks prior to 
the hearing. (Cook, Tr. pp. 88- 99.  Russell, Tr. p. 64.) 
 

65. Respondent’s exhibits 16 – 21 are photographs taken shortly before the beach renourishment project and running 
through September, 2001, which show the beach and high tide lines. (Respondent’s Exhibits 16-21.) 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter. 
 

2. The contested case petition by the Town of Ocean Isle Beach was timely filed. 
 

3. Rule 15A NCAC 7H .0306(a)(1) of the CRC requires that all development on this segment of the Ocean Isle 
oceanfront shall be located landward of the erosion setback line as measured from the first line of stable natural vegetation. 
 

4. Because the segment of East First St. which the Town wants to rebuild is considered a large structure under the rules 
of the CRC, the applicable erosion setback is 120 feet measured landward from the vegetation line. Rule 15A NCAC 7H .0306(a)(4). 
 

5. The first line of stable natural vegetation is located along a sand  fence at the rear of the sand berm which was 
pushed up in what remains of the right-of-way for East First St., and this is the point from which the erosion setback should be 
measured. 
 

6. Measuring landward from the vegetation line, the 120 foot erosion setback would  run across the lots which front on 
East Second St. a short distance seaward of that street. 
 

7. The Town proposes rebuilding East First St. along an alignment which is seaward of the point from which the 
erosion setback would be measured, and the road would be located more or less on the public beach. 
 

8. The renourished public beach would not provide any reliable long-term protection to the road since the renourished 
beach will retreat and accrete between the cycles of renourishment and erosion.  
 

9. Replacing the road at the proposed location will expose it to a high threat of erosion, jeopardize the public’s 
investment in it,. and interfere with the use of the public beach and create a safety hazard as the shoreline erodes. 
 

10. The Town’s land use plan provides for the “use of a variety of methods, including CAMA setback requirements and 
a Flood Prevention Ordinance, to discourage the development of property that can reasonably be foreseen as potentially hazardous.” 
Town of Ocean Isle Land use Plan, Section 6.7.2. 
 

11. The proposed location of the rebuilt road is one which can reasonably be foreseen as potentially haza rdous. 
 

12. The Division of Coastal Management properly denied the Town’s CAMA permit application upon finding under 
NCGS §113A-126(a)(8) that the proposed development would be inconsistent with the rules of the CRC and Town’s land use plan.  
 

13. Subject to a variance from the CRC, lot owners in the 401 to 419 block of East First St. could access the beach with 
4-wheel drive vehicles via Hatteras type ramps located at the ends of Highpoint and Lumberton St., drive across the beach, and access 
their lots via Hatteras type ramps over whatever remains of the right-of-way for East First St. 
 

14. The CRC has granted at least one variance to allow a landowner to gain vehicular access across the beach to an 
otherwise inaccessible lot via a Hatteras type ramp. 
 

15. The CAMA and rules of the CRC do not necessarily preclude the owners of lots in the 401 to 419 block of East First 
St. from gaining vehicular access to their property.. 
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16. Except for Mr. Akins, seven of the other property owners in the 401 to 419 block of East First St. do not want the 

road reopened. 
 

17. All of the property owners in the 401 to 419 block of East First St., including Mr. Akins, have acquired access to 
their lot from Highpoint, East Second, or Lumberton St., and sometimes also across their neighbor’s lots, thus negating the need to 
replace East First St.. 
 

18. Nine of the ten property owners in the 401 to 419 block, including Mr. Akins, have constructed private walkovers 
from their lots to the beach over whatever remains of the right-of-way for East First St., thus acquiescing in the Town’s abandonment 
of East First St. 
 

DECISION 
 

That the decision by the Division of Coastal Management to deny the application by the Town of Ocean Isle Beach for a 
CAMA development permit to replace part of East First Street be UPHELD. 
 

ORDER 
 

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of its final decision on the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 in accordance with NCGS §150B-36(b). 
 

NOTICE 
 

The agency making the final decision is this contested case is required to give each party an opportunity to file exceptions to 
this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the agency who will make the final decision. NCGS §150B-
36(b). 
 

The agency is required by NCGS §150B-36(b) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. 
 

This the 31 day of July, 2002. 
__________________________________ 
Sammie Chess, Jr. 
Administrative Law Judge 

 



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

17:06                                                  NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                              September 16, 2002 
563 

 
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF 
  ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS  
COUNTY OF GUILFORD 02 APB 0130 
 

  ) 
N.C. APPRAISAL BOARD ) 
 Petitioner, ) 
  ) 
 v. ) DECISION 
  ) 
THOMAS G. HILDEBRANDT JR., ) 
 Respondent. ) 
 

 
THIS MATTER coming on for hearing and being heard before the Office of Administrative Hearings, the Honorable Sammie 

Chess Jr., Administrative Law Judge presiding, on April 17-18 and April 25, 2002, in High Point, Guilford County, North Carolina; 
 

AND at the call of the case, the staff of the N.C. Appraisal Board, the Petitioner herein, and its counsel, Roberta A. Ouellette, 
and Thomas G. Hildebrandt Jr., the Respondent herein, and his counsel, Vance C. Kinlaw, were present and ready to proceed; 
 
 AND the issues to be resolved are: 

• Whether the Petitioner, the N.C. Appraisal Board, has exceed its authority or jurisdiction, acted 
erroneously, failed to use proper procedure, acted arbitrarily or capriciously or failed to act as required by 
law or rule in pursuing disciplinary sanctions against Respondent, in violation of G.S. 150B-23? 

 
• Whether Respondent, Thomas G. Hildebrandt Jr., failed to comply with G.S. 93E-1-12(a)(9) and Rule 21 

NCAC 57A.0501(a) in performing an appraisal for his client, Philip G. Kirk, Attorney at Law, for use in 
the condemnation action known as Piedmont Triad International Airport v. Sims, Guilford County Superior 
Court case no. 98 CVS 9085? 

 
AND at the close of the hearing, the Court instructed counsel to submit proposed decisions for the Court’s consideration. 

 
 AND after considering the evidence, the arguments of counsel, and the proposed decisions of the parties, the Court makes the 
following: 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. The North Carolina Appraisal Board (“NCAB”) is a duly constituted occupational licensing board charged with the 
responsibility of enforcing the statutes and rules governing the practice of real estate appraisal in this State. 
 
2. Thomas G. Hildebrandt Jr. is a real estate appraiser, duly licensed by the NCAB, and maintaining an office and place of 
business in Greensboro, Guilford County, North Carolina. 
 
3. This matter is a disciplinary complaint brought by the staff of the NCAB alleging that Mr. Hildebrandt, in the performance of 
the appraisal assignment described herein, violated several of the profession standards adopted by the NCAB. 
 
4. On September 10, 1998, the Piedmont Triad Airport Authority (the “Airport”) exercised its statutory right of eminent domain 
and instituted a condemnation action in Guilford County Superior Court to determine the value of a 49-acre parcel of vacant land 
immediately adjacent to the Airport and owned until the date of taking by Dr. Charles Sims (the “landowner”).  Dr. Sims was 
represented in this action by Attorney Philip G. Kirk. In April 1999, Mr. Kirk retained Mr. Hildebrandt to perform an appraisal of the 
condemned property and render an opinion of fair market value for possible use in the litigation. 
 
5. The Airport retained Michael S. Clapp, a licensed appraiser with an office in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, to perform a 
similar appraisal. 
 
6. On November 29, 1999, Mr. Hildebrandt submitted an appraisal report to Mr. Kirk which expressed a value opinion for the 
subject property of $88,500 per acre, or $4,240,000 (later changed to $4,360,000 when an updated survey slightly increased the 
acreage.) 
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7. In mid-April, 2000, Mr. Kirk asked Mr. Hildebrandt to submit a revised appraisal based on two conditions, lack of direct access 
to Airport runways and lack of assemblage of a 2.2 acre parcel on the eastern boundary of the subject property. As a result of 
discovery and court-ordered mediation in the condemnation suit, Mr. Kirk had become concerned that a pre-trial order might be 
entered limiting testimony on these issues, and he believed it prudent to have a fall-back position. 
 
8. Mr. Hildebrandt accepted the changes requested by Mr. Kirk as hypothetical conditions, and on April 24, 2000, submitted an 
amended appraisal report expressing a value opinion of $68,000 per acre, or $3,350,000. 
 
9. The trial of the condemnation action took place before a jury in early June, 2000, and lasted one week. Mr. Hildebrandt was 
called as a witness for the landowner and testified in conformity with his amended appraisal. Mr. Clapp was called as a witness for the 
Airport and testified that in his opinion the subject property was worth $1,150,000, or approximately $23,300 per acre. Neither Mr. 
Clapp’s nor Mr. Hildebrandt’s appraisal reports were submitted into evidence or seen by the jury.  
 
10. The jury returned a verdict that the subject property was worth $53,000 per acre, or $2.61 million. This verdict was accepted by 
the trial judge and entered as the judgment of the court. The Airport did not appeal and promptly paid the landowner. 
 
11. Immediately after the trial ended, Mr. Clapp sent a letter of complaint to the NCAB requesting that it investigate Mr. 
Hildebrandt’s appraisal reports for possible violations of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (“USPAP”). 
 
12. In August 2000, the NCAB staff presented a probable cause summary to the NCAB requesting a finding of probable cause that 
Mr. Hildebrandt had violated certain provisions of USPAP standards 1 and 2. Probable cause was found. 
 
13. On October 13, 2000, legal counsel for the NCAB issued a formal notice of hearing under the contested case provisions of 
Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes. Mr. Hildebrandt filed with the NCAB a motion to transfer this matter to the 
Office of Administrative Hearings. The motion was allowed and the case was assigned in due course to the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge. 
 
14. The following witnesses testified in this disciplinary hearing for the NCAB staff: Donald Rogers, an investigator with the 
NCAB; Michael S. Clapp, a licensed real estate appraiser; Donald S. Johnson, a licensed real estate appraiser; and Philip Humphries, a 
deputy director with the NCAB. The following witnesses testified for the Respondent: Philip G. Kirk, a licensed attorney; William F. 
Mitchell, a licensed civil engineer; David C. Johnson, a licensed real estate appraiser; and the Respondent.   
 

Respondent’s Treatment of Topographic Issues 
 
15. A creek known as Brush Creek bisects the northern third of the subject property, and a portion of the property slopes down to 
the creek and falls within the 100-year flood plain. In the condemnation action, the Airport and the landowner vigorously disputed 
how much of this low-lying acreage would actually be unusable. The jury heard conflicting expert testimony. The expert witness for 
the landowner was Dr. Barrett Kays. 
 
16. Prior to hiring Mr. Hildebrandt, Mr. Kirk had hired Dr. Kays, a soil scientist, to develop a land use plan for the subject property, 
including a topographical analysis. Dr. Kays found that the amount of true wetlands was less than two acres and that the areas in the 
flood plain were not significant because they could be used for buffers, parking lots and natural areas. Dr. Kays prepared a written 
draft of his findings which was made available to Mr. Hildebrandt and became a part of Mr. Hildebrandt’s workfile. 
 
17. Mr. Hildebrandt also had as part of his workfile a survey prepared for the Airport on February 4, 1998 by Regional Land 
Surveyors, Inc. This survey indicated that approximately 16.2 acres were within the 100-year flood plain that adjoins Brush Creek. 
Mr. Hildebrandt did not consider this figure reliable because it was not based on an actual field survey but rather on topographic 
records that predated the construction of Bryan Boulevard and the relocation of Old Oak Ridge Road, two public roads that had 
provided access to the property prior to 1996. 
 
18. Faced with conflicting information as to the amount of unusable land, Mr. Hildebrandt developed his own estimate by 
multiplying the length of the stream by a buffer of two, then three hundred feet. This produced an estimate of five to eight acres that 
would be difficult to develop without significant expense, an area which Mr. Hildebrandt refers to in his appraisal report as 
“floodway.” 
 
19. In his appraisal report, Mr. Hildebrandt states that the topographic characteristics of the property, particularly the 5-8 acres of 
floodway within the 15-17 acres of flood plain surrounding Brush Creek, pose some problems for site development. He acknowledges 
that if the site were considered for local market users of industrial sites, such as standard warehouse distribution, these topographical 
characteristics would result in the site being valued for the land outside the floodway plus a diminished amount for the area in the 
flood plain. However, he states that the utility of these areas would not be diminished if they were used to develop the maximum 
viability of the site by serving as highway intersections, retention ponds, routes for water and sewer line, buffers, greenspace and 
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parking areas. Mr. Hildebrandt further states that a significant portion of the site is above airport grade. Since grading would be 
required to level the upper portions of the site, the dirt above grade could be used to raise a portion of the flood plain to the site grade. 
 
20. Based on the foregoing factors, Mr. Hildebrandt makes what he characterizes as  “modest” negative adjustments for the subject 
property’s topographic deficiencies, -10% for comparable sale no. 1 and -5% for comparable sale no. 2. 
 
21. The NCAB staff alleges that Mr. Hildebrandt did not give adequate weight to the topographical deficiencies of the subject 
property.  
 
22. At this disciplinary hearing, the only witness for the staff who had appraised the subject property was Mr. Clapp. In developing 
his value opinion, Mr. Clapp relied on civil engineers retained by the Airport to provide him with an estimate of the acreage within the 
flood plain. He was compelled to increase his value opinion when the Airport’s engineers reduced their flood plain estimate from 16.2 
to 14.6 acres. In his amended report, he reserved the right to change his value opinion again if the flood plain estimate were further 
revised. 
 
23. Mr. Clapp and Mr. Humphries acknowledged that any appraiser must rely on the conclusions of a civil engineer or soil scientist 
when flood plain, floodway or wetlands are topographical characteristics of the property being appraised. 
 
24. The NCAB staff did not offer any expert testimony from a civil engineer or soil scientist to establish the true amount of 
unusable acreage within the subject property. The staff relied on the hearsay recitation by Mr. Clapp of the Airport engineers’ figure 
of 14.6 acres of flood plain , which was repeated on Exhibit 22, the engineers’ final survey. However, this survey was not introduced 
in the condemnation action because it misstates the overall acreage of the subject property. No witness for the staff testified as to the 
amount of floodway within the subject property, although both Mr. Clapp and Mr. Humphries acknowledged that the floodway would 
be smaller than the flood plain. 
 
25. Under applicable development and land use ordinances in Guilford County, developers are permitted to fill, pave and build on 
flood plain. Floodway can be filled, paved and built upon if the developer obtains F.E.M.A. approval and disturbed buffers are 
mitigated. Both floodway and flood plain may be used to satisfy density requirements. Therefore, even that portion of the subject 
property which could not be inexpensively developed contributed to the overall value of the parcel. 
 
26. Mr. Hildebrandt tendered a licensed civil engineer, William F. Mitchell, as an expert witness to give opinion testimony 
regarding the true amount of acreage within the subject property that could not be developed. Mr. Mitchell was duly qualified, and 
testified that he had twice visited the site to observe its topographical features and look for any common indicators of wetlands, such 
as dead trees or cattails. He saw none, and expressed the opinion that there would be little if any true wetlands on the property. He 
further stated that it would not be difficult or expensive to fill in the flood plain area with soil obtained on-site by grading the higher 
elevations. He expressed the opinion that if a developer elected not to go to the expense of piping Brush Creek, all but six to eight 
acres of the 49-acre parcel could lawfully be developed. If a developer chose to pipe and mitigate, the entire tract could lawfully be 
developed. 
 
27. Mr. Mitchell’s methodology for obtaining his estimate of land that could not be developed without great expense was to 
multiple the length of the stream, 1,160 feet, by its width of approximately 30 feet from bank to bank plus a 200-foot buffer, which 
yields a figure on the low side of about six acres. A second calculation, assuming a 300-foot buffer, yields a figure on the high side of 
about eight acres. 
 
28. Both Mr. Mitchell’s methodology and his conclusions were entirely consistent with the methodology and conclusions of Mr. 
Hildebrandt.  
 
29. Mr. Mitchell’s conclusion that there were none or only minimal true wetlands was consistent with the findings of Dr. Kays. 
 
30. Based on the documented information supplied to him by Dr. Kays, his own observations of the subject property and his 
familiarity with local land use regulations, Mr. Hildebrandt’s conclusion that five to eight acres of the subject property could not be 
easily developed, rather than 14.6 acres, is well-founded and not erroneous. 
 

Respondent’s Analysis of Highest and Best Use 
 
31. The subject property is almo st 48 acres in size. Its single most valuable feature is that it is located immediately adjacent to the 
Airport, sharing a common boundary over 2000 feet long. 
 
32. In his original appraisal report of November 29, 1999, Mr. Hildebrandt notes that the site is suitable for “industrial or 
commercial applications which would typically be located adjacent to or located on a regional/international airport.” Mr. Hildebrandt 
assumes that a 2.2 acre parcel carved out of the site’s eastern border and given by Dr. Sims to a family member could be assembled to 
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make the site more adaptable for such uses. He also assumes that direct access to the Airport’s runways and taxiways could be 
obtained. Based on these assumptions, he concludes that the highest and best use of the property would be an air cargo distribution 
facility. 
 
33. At the request of Mr. Kirk, Mr. Hildebrandt amended his appraisal report by accepting as hypothetical conditions that neither 
assemblage of the 2.2 acre parcel nor direct access to runways and taxiways could be obtained. In a letter to Mr. Kirk dated April 24, 
2000, Mr. Hildebrandt states that “still remaining on the list of available uses would be hotels/motels, rental car facilities and an office 
facility... Among the single users that utilize the entire acreage would be research and development firms participating in the Triad’s 
growth in high technology fields or distribution/service facilities desiring a high visibility campus.” 
 
34. The NCAB staff alleges that in his original appraisal report, Mr. Hildebrandt erred in several respects by concluding that the 
subject property’s highest and best use would be an air cargo distribution facility.  First, the staff contends that N.C.G.S. 40A-65 
prohibits such a conclusion because the purpose of the taking was to build the Federal Express hub, itself an air cargo distribution 
facility. Second, the staff contends that Mr. Hildebrandt’s assumption that direct access to Airport runways and taxiways could be 
obtained was unsupported and that, in fact, such access would be denied. Third, the staff contends that the property was too small, 
even with assemblage, to conceivably be developed into an air cargo distribution facility.   
 
35. Mr. Hildebrandt relies on a Notice of Intent letter from the Airport’s attorney to the landowner dated April 2, 1998 as a 
satisfactory statement of the scope of the project. This letter, appended to the report, states: 
 

“The purpose for which the property is being condemned is to enable the Authority to properly maintain, improve, 
operate, and develop the facilities of the Piedmont Triad International Airport, which is owned by the Authority, by 
permitting the Authority to have property available for the expansion and enlargement of airport facilities, including, 
but not limited to, the cargo handling facilities, and permitting the Authority to better utilize its existing properties 
for aviation purposes.” 

 
36. The reference to “cargo handling facilities” caught the attention of the landowner, who suspected that the airport was abusing 
its power of eminent domain by denying him the opportunity to sell his land directly to Federal Express. He answered the Airport’s 
condemnation action by alleging that the taking was not for a legitimate public purpose, expansion and enlargement of airport 
facilities, but rather for the benefit of a private company, Federal Express. In depositions taken in the early stages of the litigation, the 
executive director of the airport and several members of the Airport’s governing board denied that Federal Express played any part in 
the taking and affirmed that the Airport had intended to acquire the property  for future expansion many years before Federal Express 
came on the scene. 
 
37. Federal Express first announced its intention to construct an air cargo distribution facility at the Airport in late 1997 or early 
1998. In developing his appraisal, Mr. Hildebrandt obtained a significant amount of evidence indicating that the Airport had decided 
to acquire the subject property as early as 1980, long before the announcement by Federal Express. Among the items of evidence he 
collected and documented in his workfile were the following: 

 
a) In 1996, the airport purchased from Dr. Sims a 8.2 acre parcel that was contiguous with the subject property and formed 
a part of his original tract of approximately 60 acres. The Airport paid about $50,000 per acre for this parcel. 

 
b) In 1990 and 1994, the Airport’s Master Plan identified the subject property as land to be acquired by the Airport and 
allocated funding to make the acquisition. The 1990 Master Plan states by implication that the subject property, because of its 
location, is suitable for aviation-related development. The 1994 Master Plan states that the Airport’s own air cargo handling 
facilities should be doubled in capacity within 10 years. This comment is consistent with the reference to “cargo handling 
facilities” in the condemnation notice and lends credibility to the Airport officials’ contention that the proposed Federal 
Express hub was not the purpose of the taking. 

 
38. Mr. Clapp’s understanding of the purpose of the taking was based on the statement of an employee of the Airport who deals 
with real estate, Lisa Elmore. At the time she retained Mr. Clapp, Ms. Elmore told him that the acquisition was in connection with the 
Federal Express facility. This assignment was Mr. Clapp’s first for the Airport, and he had no knowledge of any prior dealings 
between the Airport and Dr. Sims. In particular, he was not aware at the time he was hired, and never  
made himself aware during the course of his employment, that the Airport had purchased a portion of Dr. Sims’ land in 1996.  
 
39. No representative of the airport testified at this disciplinary hearing. However, David C. Johnson, a licensed appraiser who 
prepared a Standard 3 review of Mr. Hildebrandt’s appraisal and who testified in Mr. Hildebrandt’s behalf, contacted the Executive 
Director of the Airport by telephone as part of the research for his review. The Executive Director, Mr. Ted Johnson, confirmed that 
the scope of the project was “long-range airport expansion as opposed to the FedEx hub.” 
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40. Based on the information he had obtained and placed in his workfile concerning the history of the Airport’s announced interest 
in acquiring the subject property,  Mr. Hildebrandt’s conclusion that the purpose of the taking was to enable the airport to carry out its 
long-term expansion plans and not for the purpose of constructing the Federal Express hub is well-founded and not erroneous.  
 
41. By virtue of its contiguous boundary, the subject property has direct physical access to  Airport property. However, the subject 
property has no right of access to airport land by operation of law. Whether to grant or deny access to the public landing area by 
aircraft based on land adjacent to, but not part of, the airport property (“through-the-fence” access) is within the control and discretion 
of the Airport. 
 
42. For purposes of the condemnation action, the Airport took the position that it would not grant aircraft based on the subject 
property access to its runways, taxiways and aprons. This posture was self-serving in that by denying through-the-fence access, the 
Airport unilaterally diminished the market value of the subject property by undermining its potential use as an air cargo handling 
facility.   
 
43. The Airport is obligated to follow the orders and regulations of the Federal Aviation Administration. Mr. Hildebrandt obtained 
and placed in his workfile the relevant FAA publication, “Airport Compliance Requirements.”  In pertinent part, this publication 
states: 
 

“As a general principle, FAA will recommend that airport owners refrain from entering into any agreement which 
grants access to the public landing area by aircraft normally stored and serviced on adjacent property. Exceptions 
can be granted on a case-by-case basis where operating restrictions ensure safety and equitable compensation for use 
of the airport. Examples include: . . .(2)Where an individual or corporation, actually residing or doing business on an 
adjacent tract of land, proposes to gain access to the landing area solely for aircraft use incidental to such residence 
or business without offering any aeronautical services to the public.” 

 
Based on the FAA’s published policy, it appears that the Airport, if it so chose, could apply for and receive FAA approval to grant 
through-the-fence access for a privately-owned air cargo handling facility located on the subject property. 
 
44. As part of his research, Mr. Hildebrandt contacted J. D. Eaton, MAI, a nationally recognized authority on condemnation 
litigation and author of a standard reference work, Real Estate Valuation in Litigation. Mr. Eaton advised him that a similar situation 
had arisen in Arizona, wherein the United States Department of Justice filed suit against a local airport authority to compel the 
authority to grant through-the-fence access. Mr. Hildebrandt telephoned the appraiser for the Justice Department in Arizona and 
confirmed this information. 
 
45. Airports throughout the country have granted through-the-fence access when it was in their economic interest to do so. Mr. 
Donald Johnson, a witness for the NCAB staff, testified of his own knowledge that the international airport in Tampa has granted 
through-the-fence access to a food service facility. 
 
46. Based on the information he obtained and placed in his workfile, Mr. Hildebrandt’s conclusion that through-the-fence access 
would have been granted by the Airport if the Airport had decided that it was economically advantageous to do so is well-founded and 
not erroneous. 
 
47. Mr. Clapp testified that in his opinion the subject property was too small to serve as an air cargo handling facility. He gave no 
factual basis for this opinion, and admitted that his knowledge of air freight distribution centers was limited to what he had read in the 
newspaper about the proposed Federal Express facility.  
 
48. Mr. Donald Johnson, a witness for the NCAB staff, testified that it was probably true that air cargo facilities can be of different 
sizes, with different volumes of cargo passing through. He admitted that it would be possible to put a small air cargo distribution 
facility on the subject property. 
 
49. In his original appraisal report, Mr. Hildebrandt acknowledged that in order for the property to be put to its highest and best use, 
assemblage of a 2.2 acre parcel given by the landowner to a family member would be required, bringing the total site size to 
approximately 50 acres. Although the 2.2 acre parcel had been subsequently acquired by the Airport from the family member, Mr. 
Hildebrandt was obligated by G.S. 40A-65 to consider it as though the family member still owned it. His research, which included 
conversations with the landowner, indicated that the family member had always been amenable to assemblage. 
 
50. Mr. Hildebrandt’s conclusion that the subject property was of sufficient size to serve as an air cargo distribution facility is well-
founded and not erroneous. 
 

Respondent’s Value Opinion; Condemnation Blight 
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51. Condemnation blight is a decrease in the market value of a property attributable to pending condemnation action. It most often 
occurs when a public project is announced years before property acquisition begins. 
 
52. Mr. Clapp and the NCAB staff contend (1) that the purpose for which the subject property was taken is to construct the Federal 
Express facility ; (2) that the Federal Express project was publicly announced in late 1997; (3) that the property was taken on 
September 10, 1998; and (4) that because the interval between the announcement of the project and the date of the taking was less than 
one year, no condemnation blight occurred. 
 
53. Mr. Hildebrandt contends (1) that the purpose for which the subject property was taken is expansion and enlargement of airport 
facilities; (2) that the Airport’s intention to acquire the property became public knowledge as early as 1980 and was conclusively 
confirmed in the Airport Master Plan of 1990; (3) that the property was taken on September 10, 1998; and (4) that because at least 
eight and possibly as many as eighteen or more years elapsed between public awareness of the project and the date of taking, there 
was ample opportunity for condemnation blight to occur. 
 
54. Mr. Clapp found no evidence of condemnation blight.  
 
55. Mr. Hildebrandt found and documented in his workfile the following evidence of condemnation blight: 
 

a) The long-standing policy of the City of Greensboro is that when a developer extends sewer to his property, the sewer 
line must be extended to the boundary of the adjoining property. If the Airport had adhered to this policy in 1980, when it 
extended the sewer line to serve its new passenger terminal and ancillary hotel, the subject property would have had 
inexpensive access to city sewer. But the Airport elected not to extend the sewer beyond the terminal, thus precluding sewer 
service to the subject property. 

 
b) Prior to 1996, the subject property had frontage at grade level on Old Oak Ridge Road and an interchange with Bryan 
Boulevard. However, as part of the implementation of its 1990 Master Plan for expansion, the Airport requested and obtained 
from the Department of Transportation a relocation of the Bryan Boulevard interchange to Inman Road and the elevation of 
Old Oak Ridge Road over Bryan Boulevard, thus depriving the subject property of valuable road access and one of its 
existing interchanges. 

 
c) In the early 1980's, the Airport acquired a parcel of land which was mostly consumed by the widening of Airport 
Parkway to Bryan Boulevard, but a residual strip thirty to fifty feet wide of wooded, unproductive land remained. Situated 
between the northern boundary of the subject property and Airport Parkway, this uneconomic remnant impairs the subject 
property’s visibility. In typical practice, the Airport would have sold this remnant to the adjoining landowner. However, 
Airport officials elected to retain it, knowing that they would eventually be acquiring the subject property. 

 
d) The zoning ordinances for both the City of Greensboro and Guilford County permit the Airport to control the zoning of 
any parcel that has been identified for acquisition in the Airport’s Master Plan. Because a prospective purchaser of the subject 
property would be required to apply to the Airport for re-zoning, the Airport would know of any purchase offers and could 
exert its influence to prevent any use of the property that was incompatible with its expansion plans. 

 
56. It is logical to infer that the Airport’s professed refusal to grant through-the-fence access to the subject property is another 
instance of condemnation blight, similar in character to its refusal to extend its sewer line. 
 
57. When condemnation blight is present, an appraiser is required by G.S. 40A-65 to evaluate the property as though the various 
elements of blight were not present, which in the case of the subject property meant to evaluate the property as though it had ready 
access to sewer, access to roads that formerly served it, good visibility and the potential for sale and re -zoning free of the Airport’s 
influence.  
 
58. Mr. Hildebrandt’s opinion as to the fair market value of the subject property takes into account condemnation blight; Mr. 
Clapp’s does not. This is the predominant reason why their respective value opinions differ significantly. 
 
59. Based on the information that he obtained and placed in his workfile concerning the economic damage sustained by the subject 
property as the result of the Airport’s implementation of its expansion plans over a period of years prior to the taking, Mr. 
Hildebrandt’s conclusion that the property was afflicted by condemnation blight was well-founded and not erroneous. 
 
60. In his original report, but not his revised report, Mr. Hildebrandt applied a 96% adjustment to all four of his comparable sales 
based on the fact that the subject property was immediately adjacent to the Airport (and with assumed runway access) while the 
comparable parcels were some distance away, the closest being on the other side of a road and slightly diagonal to the Airport. 
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61. The NCAB staff acknowledged that some proximity adjustment would be appropriate but contends that 96% is excessive and 
not supported by research. 
 
62. Mr. Hildebrandt derived his proximity adjustment from data he obtained on a three-day site visit to Boise, Idaho. In Boise, an air 
cargo company had purchased a 32-acre tract for future development as a distribution facility. At the time of Mr. Hildebrandt’s visit, 
the property was one-half mile from the airport boundaries, but it would be contiguous if and when a planned runway  were 
completed. Mr. Hildebrandt talked to the sellers of the property and the manager of the Boise airport and obtained data on the airport’s 
demographics, lease rates and capitalization rates. After satisfying himself that the airports and Boise and Greensboro were 
comparable, he was able to calculate that values for offsite property having airport access in Boise would range from an additional 74 
to 118 percent of the Greensboro market. Mr. Hildebrandt selected the midpoint of the calculated range, 96%. 
 
63. The adjustment methodology used by Mr. Hildebrandt was necessary due to the lack of other comparable market indicators, a 
function of the uniqueness of the subject property. His methodology is supported by the research documented in his workfile, is 
consistent with appraisal literature and appears reasonable and not excessive. 
 

USPAP Standard 2 Reporting Issues  
 
64. In his original appraisal report of November 29, 1999, Mr. Hildebrandt notes that the report is in summary format, a notation 
that indicates “a full narrative discussion of all data, analysis or assumptions may not be contained within the report.” 
 
65. Mr. Hildebrandt identifies the intended users of the report as Philip G. Kirk, attorney for the landowner, and any consultants 
Mr. Kirk may retain. 
 
66. Mr. Hildebrandt states that the function and objective of the appraisal being reported is to provide an opinion of the market 
value of the subject property for use as the basis for expert testimony in the condemnation action. 
 
67. Mr. Hildebrandt states that “some departure from [current appraisal] standards may be required under jurisdictional exception. . 
.One such hypothetical condition imposed is that the value opinion must not reflect any increase or decrease in value that is caused by 
the project, the likelihood of acquisition of the property for the project or the condemnation proceeding itself.” This statement is a 
concise and accurate paraphrase of N.C.G.S. 40A-65, which is entitled “Effect of condemnation procedure on value” and is located in 
a chapter of the General Statutes entitled “Eminent Domain.” Mr. Hildebrandt’s statement is merely a formal recitation, in statutory 
parlance, of the concept of condemnation blight/project enhancement.  
 
68. The person to whom this recitation was addressed, Mr. Kirk, is an attorney with great experience in condemnation litigation and 
a thorough command of Chapter 40A. The recitation was intended to alert Mr. Kirk to the fact that Mr. Hildebrandt’s appraisal 
assumes the presence of condemnation blight in various forms and that existing condemnation blight is a factor informing his value 
opinion. Mr. Kirk fully understood what Mr. Hildebrandt was saying and, by virtue of his own expertise, required no further 
explanation to avoid being misled. 
 
69. The NCAB staff alleges that in his appraisal reports, Mr. Hildebrandt failed to state all the assumptions and hypothetical 
conditions that affected his analysis and opinions and failed to explain some of the methods he employed in calculating adjustments 
and correlating sales data. As a result of these failings, his reports were, according to the staff, misleading and lacking in sufficient 
information to enable the intended users to understand the report properly. 
 
70. There was no evidence that any consultant retained by Mr. Kirk read, utilized or in any way relied on Mr. Hildebrandt’s reports; 
the only intended user who testified in the disciplinary hearing was Mr. Kirk.  
 
71. In Mr. Kirk’s opinion, Mr. Hildebrandt’s reports were thorough, complete and credible documents, free of any substantial 
errors of omission or commission and in no way misleading to him. 
 
72. In terms of USPAP standard 2 requirements, Mr. Hildebrandt owed no duty to the Airport’s attorneys or appraisers or any other 
third-party readers. The Airport’s attorneys obtained copies of Mr. Hildebrandt’s reports through a right of discovery arising from the 
condemnation action. They deposed him twice prior to trial, using a critique of his work product supplied by Mr. Clapp and a Standard 
3 review supplied by Mr. Donald Johnson. Any confusion that might have existed in the minds of the Airport’s attorneys or appraisers, 
not a possibility with which Mr. Hildebrandt was required to concern himself in any event, was cured through depositions.  
 

BASED ON THE FOREGOING Findings of Fact, this Court enters the following: 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
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1. The standards of real estate appraisal practice that govern this case are USPAP Standards 1, USPAP Standard 2 and N.C.G.S. 
40A-65. 
 
2. USPAP Standard 1 requires an appraiser to identify the problem to be solved and the scope of the work necessary to solve the 
problem, and to correctly complete the research and analysis necessary to produce a credible appraisal. 
 
3. USPAP Standard 2 requires an appraiser, when reporting the res ults of his appraisal, to communicate his analysis, opinions and 
conclusions in a manner that is not misleading. 
 
4. N.C.G.S. 40A-65 imposes a legal rule of valuation for condemned property that requires an appraiser to disregard any increase 
or decrease in the property’s value caused by the proposed project for which the property is taken, the reasonable likelihood that the 
property would be taken for that project, or the condemnation proceeding in which the property is taken. The statute is the codification 
of the equitable principle that, on the one hand, the government should not be required to pay for additions to a property’s value 
brought about the condemnation “process” (broadly defined), but on the other, the owner should not be forced to absorb any reduction 
in the property’s value brought about by that same condemnation process. 
 
5. Having alleged that Mr. Hildebrandt violated USPAP Standards 1 and 2 and N.C.G.S. 40A -65, the burden of proof is on the 
NCAB staff to show, by the greater weight of the evidence, that any of the alleged violations occurred.  
 
6. After consideration of all the evidence of record, it appears, and the undersigned so holds, that the NCAB staff has failed to 
show by the greater weight of the evidence that Mr. Hildebrandt violated any applicable standard in the performance and reporting of 
the appraisal under scrutiny. 
 

DECISION 
 

 Respondent did not violate applicable statutes or rules in performing an appraisal for his client, Philip G. Kirk, attorney at 
law, for use in the condemnation action known as Piedmont Triad International Airport v. Simms, Guilford County Superior Court 
case no. 98 CVS 9085.  Therefore, the N.C. Appraisal Board should not impose any disciplinary sanctions against Respondent as a 
result of the appraisal in question. 
 

ORDER 
 
 It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6714, in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 150B-36(b). 
 

NOTICE 
 
 The decision of the Administrative Law Judge in this contested case will be reviewed by the agency making the final decision 
according to the standards found in G.S. 150B-36(b),(b1) and (b2).  The agency making the final decision is required to give each 
party an opportunity to file exceptions to the decision of the Administrative Law Judge and to present written argument to those in the 
agency who will make the final decision.  G.S. 150B-36(a). 
 
 The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the N.C. Appraisal Board. 
 

This the 20th day of August, 2002. 
 
       ____________________________________ 
       Sammie Chess, Jr. 
       Administrative Law Judge 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF 
  ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS  
COUNTY OF CUMBERLAND 02 UNC 0458 
 

  ) 
PATSY R. HILL, ) 
 Petitioner, ) 
  ) 
 v. ) DECISION 
  ) 
UNC HOSPITALS, ) 
 Respondent. ) 
 

 
This matter was heard before James L. Conner, II, Administrative Law Judge, on July 8, 2002, in Fayetteville, North 

Carolina.   
 

APPEARANCES 

For Petitioner: Patsy R. Hill, pro se 
Fayetteville, North Carolina 

 
For Respondent: Kathryn Thomas, Assistant Attorney General  

Chapel Hill, North Carolina  
 

ISSUE 
 
Whether UNC Hospitals is entitled to the state income tax refund otherwise due to Petitioner. 
 

APPLICABLE STATUTES AND RULES  
 

N.C. Gen. Stat. Chapter 105A 
 

EXHIBITS 
 

The following exhibits were admitted into evidence: Petitioner’s Exhibit 1 and Respondent’s Exhibits 1, 2, and 3. 
 

WITNESSES  
 

For Petitioner:   Patsy R. Hill (Petitioner) 
For Respondent:   Deborah Fisher 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

Based upon the documents filed in this matter, exhibits admitted into evidence and the sworn testimony of the witnesses, the 
undersigned makes the following findings: 
 

1. On or about June 29, 1999, Ms. Hill was suffering chest pain on her job at Womack Army Medical Hospital, and 
was transferred to UNC Hospitals by air ambulance.  Respondent charged $1423.00 for this service. (T pp 25-26; R Exh 1,3; P Exh 1). 

2. Respondent’s records show that it billed Ms. Hill’s insurance company for the charges on July 16, 1999.  (T pp 18-
19; 32-33).   

3. Respondent normally receives a response from the insurance company, either paying the bill, paying part of it and 
explaining the difference, or denying coverage and explaining that denial.  (T pp 32-40). 

4. In this instance, however, Respondent received nothing back from the insurance company.  Despite this unusual 
silence, Respondent made no effort to determine whether the insurance company had indeed received the bill, to resend the bill, or to 
determine why Respondent had received nothing.  (Id.). 
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5. In contrast to its failure to make even a single follow-up to the insurance company, Respondent sent Ms. Hill bill 
after bill after bill, then, having received no response, sent her account to a collection agency, then, having received no response to 
that effort, sent her account to the Department of Revenue for collection under the Setoff Debt Collection Act.  (T pp. 28-29). 

6. The problem with all this activity in trying to collect from Ms. Hill is that Respondent sent the bills to old addresses.  
Ms. Hill did move several times during the pendency of the collection effort.  However, she reported a new address to the Respondent 
when she went in for surgery later in 1999, and either the admissions department failed to report that address to the billing and 
collections department(s) or the address otherwise did not make it to the collections department records, and no bill was ever sent to 
that address. (T pp 41-42; 50-51) 

7. Respondent and/or other State agencies took Ms. Hill’s tax refund check for 2000 in the amount of $858.55, and 
applied $535.55 of this amount to her air ambulance bill on February 18, 2001.  (T pp 29-30). 

8. Respondent and/or other State agencies took Ms. Hill’s tax refund check for 2001 in the amount of $887.45, and 
applied all of it to her air ambulance bill, which paid the bill in full.  (T pp 17-18).  It is this collection action that is the subject of this 
contested case. 

9. Ms. Hill never received a bill for the ambulance services fro m Respondent until 2002.  (T pp 60-62). 

10. Ms. Hill did not receive actual notice of the ambulance bill until 2002, when her tax refund was taken by the State, 
and she was able to reach someone at the North Carolina Department of Revenue (DOR) who explained the reason the refund was 
taken.   Though she did receive the notice of tax set off in 2001, her tax preparer was unable to tell her the reason for it and she was 
unable to reach anyone at the DOR.  (T pp 56-57; 61-62). 

11. Ms. Hill works at Womack Army Medical Hospital, dealing with insurance claims, and has a good understanding of 
health insurance policies.  She testified that her insurance policy would have covered the ambulance transportation 100 per cent had 
Respondent properly billed the insurance company.  Ms. Hill contacted the insurance company after she discovered the situation with 
this bill in 2002, and the insurance company informed her that they could no longer cover the charges because of the passage of time. 

12. Both witnesses were credible. 

13. Respondent undertook to obtain payment from Ms. Hill’s insurance policy.  Ms. Hill relied in good faith upon 
Respondent’s efforts, knowing that Respondent’s bill would be covered 100 per cent.  Respondent acted negligently in failing to make 
any follow-up whatsoever with the insurance company, despite being put on notice—by the silence of the insurance company—that 
the insurance company had not registered the claim.  Having undertaken to act, and having acted negligently to the detriment of Ms. 
Hill, Respondent cannot now force Ms. Hill to pay for Respondent’s negligence. 

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact, the undersigned Administrative Law Judge makes the following: 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter pursuant to 
Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes. 
 

2. All parties have been correctly designated and there is no question as to misjoinder or nonjoinder.  
 

3. Respondent undertook to obtain payment from Ms. Hill’s insurance policy.  Ms. Hill relied in good faith 
upon Respondent’s efforts, knowing that Respondent’s bill would be covered 100 per cent.  Respondent acted negligently in failing to 
any follow-up whatsoever with the insurance company, despite being put on notice—by the silence of the insurance company—that 
the insurance company had not registered the claim.  Having undertaken to act, and having acted negligently to the detriment of Ms. 
Hill, Respondent cannot now force Ms. Hill to pay for Respondent’s negligence. 

4. Respondent exceeded its authority and jurisdiction, acted erroneously, acted arbitrarily and capriciously, 
and failed to act as required by law or rule when it submitted Petitioner’s bill for collection under the Setoff Debt Collection Act.  
Respondent is not entitled to Petitioner’s State income tax refund. 
 

DECISION 
 

The Respondent shall return to Ms. Hill the entire portion of her State income tax refund that was withheld under the Setoff 
Debt Collection Act ($887.45), and shall treat Ms. Hill’s bill for services rendered on June 29, 1999 as paid in full. 
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ORDER 
 

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the FINAL DECISION on the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-6714, in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-36(b). 
 

NOTICE 
 

The decision of the Administrative Law Judge in this contested case will be reviewed by the agency making the final decision 
according to the standards found in G.S. 150B-36(b)(b1) and (b2).  The agency making the final decision is  required to give each party 
an opportunity to file exceptions to the decision of the Administrative Law Judge and to present written argument to those in the 
agency who will make the final decision.  G.S. 150B-36(a). 
 

The Agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Facility Services. 
 

This the 21st  day of  August, 2002. 
 

_________________________________ 
James L. Conner, II 
Administrative Law Judge 

 


