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INFORMATION ABOIT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and

institutions.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and twenty dollars ($120.00) for 24

issues. Individual issues may be purchased for ten dollars

($10.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings, PO Drawer

27447, Raleigh, NC 27611-7447.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutory authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may

request a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments;

the text of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the

reason for the proposed action: a reference to the statutory

authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North

Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can take

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule that

differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment

period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file the

rule with the Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).

A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 business

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication in the North Carolina Administrative

Code (NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication in the NCAC.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions

in G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines that the findings

meet the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1. the rule is entered into the

NCAC. If the Codifier determines that the findings do not meet

the criteria, the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may
supplement its findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an

additional review or the agency may respond that it will remain

with its initial position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the

rule into the NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either

when the Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the

sixth business day after the agency resubmits the rule without

change. The temporary rule is in effect for the period specified in

the rule or 180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a

temporary rule must begin rule-making procedures on the

permanent rule at the same time the temporary rule is filed with

the Codifier.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 40 occupational licensing boards. Compilation and

publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-21 .18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by

chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per each additional page.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC
should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

(2) The full publication and supplement service is printed

and distributed by Barclays Law Publishers. It is

available in hardcopy, CD-ROM and diskette format.

For subscription information, call 1-800-888-3600.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 10:01 NCR 1-67, April 3, 1995 refers to

Volume 10, Issue 1, pages 1 through 67 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 3, 1995.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Office of Administrative Hearings, ATTN: Rules Division, PO Drawer 27447. Raleigh,

NC 27611-7447. (919) 733-2678, FAX (919) 733-3462.
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 2 - DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C Structural Pest Control

Committee intends to amend rule cited as 2 NCAC 34 . 0904.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on June

8, 1995 at the Board Room (Room 357), Agriculture

Building, 2 W. Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601.

Reason for Proposed Action:

unregistered pesticides.

To prohibit the use of

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present their

views either orally or in writing at the hearing or prior to

the hearing by mail, addressed to the Chairman of the North

Carolina Structural Pest Control Committee, P.O. Box

27647, Raleigh, NC 27611. This proposed rule was re-

quested by rulemaking petition submitted to and approved by

the Structural Pest Control Committee.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state finds.

CHAPTER 34 - STRUCTURAL PEST
CONTROL DIVISION

SECTION .0900 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES
OF LICENSEE

.0904 PROHIBITED ACTS
(a) No reference shall be made by any certified applica-

tor, licensee, business establishment or business entity in

any form of advertising that would indicate approval,

endorsement or recommendation by the committee, or by

any agency of the federal government or North Carolina

State, county, or city government.

(b) The use of a structural pest control license(s), certi-

fied applicator's identification card(s), registered techni-

cian's identification card(s) or licensee identification card(s)

for any purpose other than identification is prohibited.

(c) In solicitation of structural pest control business, no

licensee or his employees shall claim that inspections or

treatments are required, authorized, or endorsed by any

agency of the federal government or North Carolina State,

county, or city government unless said agency states that an

inspection and/or treatment is required for a specific

structure.

(d) No licensee shall advertise, in any way or manner, as

a contractor for structural pest control services, in any

phase(s) of work for which he does not hold a valid li-

censees) as provided for under G.S. 106-65. 25(a), unless

said licensee shall hold a valid certified applicator's identifi-

cation card or registered technician's identification card, as

provided for under G.S. 106-65.31, as an employee of a

person who does hold a valid state license(s) covering

phases of structural pest control work advertised.

(e) The impersonation of any North Carolina State,

county, or city inspector or any other governmental official

is prohibited.

(0 No licensee, certified applicator or registered techni-

cian's identification card holder shall advertise or hold

himself out in any mariner in connection with the practice of

structural pest control as an entomologist, plant pathologist,

horticulturist, public health engineer, sanitarian, and the

like, unless such person shall be qualified in such field(s) by

required professional and educational standards for the title

used.

(g) No certified applicator, licensee or his employees

shall represent to any property owner or his authorized

agent or occupant of any structure that any specific pest is

infesting said property, structure, or surrounding areas

thereof, unless strongly supporting visible evidence of such

infestation exists.

(h) No certified applicator or licensee or their employees

shall authorize, direct, assist, or aid in the publication,

advertisement, distribution, or circulation of any material by

false statement or representation concerning the licensee's

structural pest control business or business of the company
with which he is employed.

(i) No certified applicator or licensee or their employees

shall advertise or contract in a company name style contra-

dictory to that shown on the certified applicator's identifica-

tion card or license certificate.

(j) No certified applicator shall use any name style on his

certified applicator's identification which contains the words

"exterminating", "pest control" or any other words which

imply that he provides pest control services for a valuable

consideration unless he is a licensee or a duly authorized

agent or employee of a licensee.

(k) No licensee issued an inactive license shall engage in

any phase of structural pest control.

(1) No certified applicator or licensee or their employees

shall apply any unregistered substance, that consists of or

contains an active ingredient that can be used as a pesticide

or to manufacture a pesticide, in conjunction with, any

registered pesticide, before, during, or after the registered

pesticide is applied for the control of household pests.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-65.29.

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the DHR/Division of Medical Assistance

intends to amend rules cited as 10 NCAC 26H .0302, .0304

- .0305, .0308- .0309.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.
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PROPOSED RULES

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 1:30 p.m. on June

14, 1995 at the North Carolina Division of Medical Assis-

tance, 1985 Uinstead Drive, Room 132, Raleigh, NC

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed changes to the

ICF-MR reimbursement plan are the result of an indepth

study of the ICF-MR industry by the Division of Medical

Assistance. The consulting firm of Myers and Stauffer

studied the industry under contract #MA-075-93 and recom-

mended an acuity based reimbursement model. The ICF-MR

Management Team (comprised of representatives from

affected state agencies) and the ICF-MR providers evaluated

the Mxers and Stauffer study and formulated the proposed

plan. The proposed plan has been endorsed by the three

ICF-MR provider associations.

Comment Procedures: Written comments concerning this

rule-making action must be submitted by June 14, 1995 to:

Division of Medical Assistance, 1985 Umstead Drive,

Raleigh, NC 27603, ATTN: Portia Rochelle, APA Coordina-

tor. Oral comments may be presented at the hearing. In

addition, a fiscal note is available upon written request from

the same address.

Fiscal Note: These Rules affect the expenditure or distribu-

tion of State funds subject to the Executive Budget Act,

Article 1 of Chapter 143.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 26H - REIMBURSEMENT PLANS

SECTION .0300 - ICF-MR PROSPECTIVE RATE
PLAN

.0302 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
(a) Financial reports shall include the following:

(1) Budget reports: Each provider shall include

appropriate budget information in its application

for an initial rate for a new facility:

(A) The budget shall reflect the projected annual

operating results of each of the two years

subsequent to the commencement of operating

said facility.

(B) The budget information used to support the

Certificate of Need award shall be provided to

the Division of Medical Assistance on or

before 30 days prior to the enrollment of said

facility by the Medicaid program.

(C) Budgets are not deemed to be appropriately

filed unless they are properly prepared, in

accordance to rules established by the Division

of Medical Assistance.

(2) Cost reports: Each facility that receives pay-

ments from the North Carolina Medicaid Pro-

gram shall prepare and submit a separate annual

cost report of its costs, a working trial balance

related to reimbursement, and other financial

information as requested by the Division of

Medical Assistance. Providers that have an

approved combined uniform rate in accordance

with Rule .0304 Paragraph (n) of this reimburse-

ment plan shall file a combined cost report that

is supported by the individual facility cost re-

ports. For these providers, the combined cost

report shall be filed with the Division of Medical

Assistance Audit Section while the individual

facility cost reports should be filed with the

Division of Medical Assistance Rate Setting

Section.

(A) The cost report shall cover a 12 month period,

from July 1 to the following June 30, unless

another time frame is specified by the Division

of Medical Assistance.

(B) The cost report shall be submitted to the state

on or before the September 30 that immedi-

ately follows the June 30 year end. The
Division of Medical Assistance may grant an

extension of time of up to 30 days for filing

the cost report, upon showing of just cause in

writing by the provider.

(C) For new facilities a cost report shall be sub-

mitted for the period beginning with the date

of certification and ending on the following

June 30.

(D) The cost report shall be submitted on the

medium and in the format based on the Chart

of Accounts specified by the Division of

Medical Assistance. All costs shall be shown

on the cost reports in accordance with rules

established by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance. A cost report that does not meet the

requirements of the Division of Medical Assis-

tance is deemed not to be filed.

(E) Currently filed cost reports shall reflect the

decisions and judgments expressed by the

Division of Medical Assistance auditors on

previous cost reports.

(F) All related organizations shall file a Medicaid

cost statement identifying their costs, adjust-

ments to costs, and allocation of costs along

with the ICF-MR facility's cost report. A
home office, or parent company, shall be

recognized as a related organization.

Auditable records to support these costs shall

be made available to the Division of Medical

Assistance and its designated contract auditors.

Undocumented costs shall be disallowed for

Medicaid reimbursement.

(G) Cost reports shall clearly identify related party

transactions. Failure to do so may result in

the related cost being disallowed for Medicaid

reimbursement purposes.

(H) A combined cost report may only be filed for
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PROPOSED RULES

facilities that use the same cost settlement

methodology and have a uniform rate, as

approved by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance.

(b) Additional information reporting requirements for

facilities shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

(1) Each facility providing day treatment services

shall be required to submit, in conjunction with

the cost report, a separate report itemizing the

actual expense attributable to the provision of

day treatment services and the actual number of

client days associated with said expense.

(2) Each provider operating a facility, upon the

request of the Division of Medical Assistance,

shall submit statistical data and other information

relevant to the administration and operation of

said facility. Such reports shall be submitted

within the time frames authorized in the request.

(3) Each provider that issues an annual report to its

shareholders shall file a copy of said report with

the Division of Medical Assistance. Said report

shall be filed within 30 days of its issuance to

the shareholders.

(4) Each provider that has a compensatory stock

option plan shall file a copy of said plan with the

Division of Medical Assistance, within 30 days

of its implementation.

(5) A provider shall file an information report with

the Division of Medical Assistance within 30

days of receiving notification from either the

North Carolina Department of Revenue or the

Internal Revenue Service that items, previously

reported and allowed on a cost report, have been

disallowed on the provider's associated tax

return.

(c) Requirements for certification of financial reports.

(1) Each provider that operates a facility shall

complete the required financial reports in accor-

dance with the following rules and in the order

of priority stated:

(A) Cost shall be represented in accordance with

the specific provisions of the plan as set forth

in this Rule.

(B) Costs shall be reported in conformance with

the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Man-

ual, HCFA 15, which is hereby incorporated

by reference with including subsequent

changes amendments and editions, amend

ments pursuant to G.S. 150B 14(a)(2)(C).

Said manual is commonly referred to as the

HIM- 15 manual and is available for inspection

at the Division of Medical Assistance, 1985

Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina

27603. Copies may be obtained from the

Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Govern-

ment Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402-

9325 at a cost of three hundred fifty seven

dollars ($357.00). Tel: (202) 783-3238.

(C) Costs shall be reported in conformance with

generally accepted accounting principles.

(D) Governmental institutions have the option of

using the accrual or cash method of account-

ing.

(2) Cost reports prepared for facilities shall be

certified for their compliance with Subparagraph

(c)(1) of this Rule by the provider's executive

director or designated officer.

(3) Budget reports prepared for facilities shall be

certified for their fair representation of antici-

pated disbursements and receipts related to the

Medicaid ICF-MR program by the provider's

executive director or designated officer.

(d) Requirements for the revision of financial reports shall

include the following:

(1)

(2)

(3)

In the event the Division of Medical Assistance

determines a cost report does not meet the

requirement of the Division of Medical Assis-

tance during a detailed review, the provider shall

have 30 days from the date of said notification

to submit a revised cost report or additional

data. Such revised data or report shall be

certified by the provider's executive director or

designated officer.

In the event that the provider discovers that a

report submitted to the Division of Medical

Assistance is incomplete, inaccurate or incorrect

the provider shall immediately notify the Divi-

sion of Medical Assistance that such error(s)

exist. The provider shall have 30 days from the

date of said notification to submit a revised

report or additional data. Such data or report

shall meet the certification requirements of the

report being corrected.

Failure to file the corrected reports on a timely

basis in accordance to either Subparagraph (d)(1)

or (2) of this Rule shall result in the related

report being considered not filed and subject to

the provisions under this Rule related to the

failure to file said reports. However, the Divi-

sion of Medical Assistance may grant an exten-

sion of time of up to 30 days to file said cor-

rected reports, upon the showing of just cause

by the provider in writing.

Authority G.S. W8A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42 C.F.R.

447, Subpart C.

.0304 RATE SETTING METHODS FOR NON-STATE
FACILITIES

—(ft)

—

A prospective- rate is determined annually for each

non state facility to be effective for dates—of service for a

12 month rate period beginning each July 1.—The prospec

tivo rate shall be paid to the provider for every Medicaid

eligible day during the applicable rate year.—The prospective

10:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1995 230



PROPOSED RULES

rate may be determined after the effective date and paid

retroactively to that date .
—Each non state facility, except

those facilities whore Paragraph (v) of thio Rule appli es,

shall be classified into one of the following groups:

f4-) Group 1 Facilities with six beds or loss and

provider owns l ess than 150 total beds in said

faciliti e s.

-m-

-m-

Group 2—Facilities with six beds or loos and

provider own s 150 or more beds in said facili

Group 3—Facilities with sev en to 15 beds.

Group 1—Facilities with 16 to 40 beds.

Group 5—Facilities with over 4 beds.

-m- Faoiliti es with medioally—fragileGroup 6

clients.—For rate reimbursement purposes under

this plan, medically fragile clients are defined as

any individual with complex medical problems

who have chronic debilitating diseases or condi

tions of one or more physiological or organ

systems which generally make them dependent

upon—24 hour—a—day

—

mcdical/nursing/health

supervision or intervention,

(b) Facilities shall be reclassifi ed into appropriate groups

as defined in Paragraph (a) of this Rulo when necessary.

(+) When a facility is reclassified, the rate will be

adjusted retroactively back to the date of the

event that caused—the reclassification. Thio

adjustment shall give full consideration to any

reclassification based on the change in facts or

circumstances during the year.
—Overpayments

related to this retroactive rate adjustment shall

be repaid to the Medicaid program.—Underpay

ments related to this retroactive rate adjustment

shall be paid to the provide r.

^3-) Th e provider shall bo given the opportunity to

appoal the merits of the reclassification of any

facility, prior to any decision by the Division of

Medical Assistance .

f3-) The provider shall be notified in writing 30 days

before the implementation of new rates resulting

from the reclassification of any facility.

(-4-) The providers and—the

—

Division of M edical

Asoiotanoe ohall make every reasonabl e effort to

ensure that each and every facility i s properly

classified for rate setting purposes.

—fe-)

—

Rates are derived from e ither filed, desk or field

audited cost reports for the 1991 1992 base year period.

The rate setting impact of a facility filing a les s than full

year's cost report in the base year shall be fully considered

by th e Division of M edical Assistance in determining the

appropriate per di em rate .

—(-d-)

—

Rates developed from filed co s t reports may be

retroactively adjusted if there is found to exist more than a

two percent difference between the filed per diem coot and

e ither the desk audited or field audited per di em cost for the

same reporting period.—Rates developed from desk audited

cos t report s may bo retroactively adjusted if there is found

to oxi3t moro than a two—percent difference between the

dook audited per diem oost and the field audited pe r diom

oost for the same reporting period.
—The rate adjustment

may be made after written notification to the provider 30

days prior to implementation of the rate adjustment.

( e ) Each prospective rate consists of the sum of the throo

components as follows:

(-+-» Property ownership and use (POU):

(£} Administrative and General and Operation and

Maintenance of Plant (AG/OMP);

f3-) Direct care .

—(f) The POL) rate is based on the Medicaid coot reflected

in the POU cost eentor as shown on the 1992 cost report

format, except for POU costs related to day programs are

treated like all other day program costs and therefore are

cons idered to be direct care costs.

(g) The AG/OMP rate is based on the sum of the Medic

aid oost re flected in the AG, housekeeping and OMP coot

centers as shown on the 1992 oost report format, except for

the following:

(-B Labor related OMP costs arc considered to be

direct care costs.—Non labor related OMP costs,

as re fl ected in the 1992 oost report format, are

included as OMP costo for determining the

AG/OMP component of a facility' s rate.

f24 Non labor re lated housekeeping costs, as re

fleeted in the

—

1992 oost report—format,—a*e

included as OMP costs for determining the

AG/OMP component of a facility's rate.—Labor

related housekeeping costs are considered to bo

direct oare costs.

f3-) OMP and housekeeping costs related to day

programs are treated like all other day program

coots and there fore are considered to be direct

oare costs.

(h) The direct care rate is based on the Medicaid cost as

shown on the 1992 cost report format, less the costs related

to POU and AG/OMP disouoood in Paragraphs (f) and (g)

of this Rule .

(i) The facility' s total per diem rate shall be limited to the

lesser of the actual amount incurred in the base year or the

sum of the fiftieth percentile of each oost category, achi eved

by the re lated facility group in the base year.

(j) Exceptions to the fiftieth peroontilo cost category cap

included in Paragraph (i) arc, as follows:

(4-) Facility Group 2—The per di em amounts for

each of the three oost categori es are to be liiri '

ited to reasonable amounts as determined by the

Division of Medical Assistance.

(5-) Facility Group 3—POU co o t s are limit ed to an

amount which is de termined to be reasonable by

the Division of Medical A ssistance.—The rate

for a facility in this group is the lower of the

facility's actual costs during the base year, or

th e sum of the POU, as de termined—in this

Subparagraph.—and

—

the AG/OMP and—direct

costs, as determined in accordance with Para
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graph (i) of thia Rulo.

£3) Faoility Group <\—Coat oategorieo are limited to

tho coot inourrod in tho base year by the facility

in thia category determined to represent fair and

reasonable coots for thia group as determined by

tho Division of Medioal Aooiotanoe ,

(4) Faoility Group 5—Cost categories are limited to

tho weighted average cost incurred by the facili

tios in this group during tho base year,

(k) If, during a ooot reporting period, allowable costs are

loas than prospective payments that are not based on an

appeal, then a provider may retain one half of said diffor

once, up to an amount of five dollars ($5.00) per patient

4ay-.—The balanoe of unexpended payments shall be re

funded to the Division of Medioal Assistance .
—If allowable

annual change in tho implicit price deflator

for the Gross National Product as provided

by the North Carolina Office of State

Budgot and Management,

(iii) Fixed.—No price level adjustment shall be

made for this oategory.

(-D)—The

—

weights—computed—in

—

Subparagraph

(1)(1)(B) of this Rulo shall be multiplied times

tho rates computed in Paragraph (c) of this

Rule . These weighted rates shall bo added to

obtain the composite inflation rate,

(m) Tho initial rate for facilities that havo boon awarded

a Cortifioato of Nood on or after January 1, 1993 is ostab

lished at the lower of the fair and reasonabl e coots in the

provider's budge t, as determined by the Division of Medical

costs aro loss than prospective payments that aro based on Assistance, or tho projected costs in the provider's Cortifi

an appeal, then all of tho unexpended payments during tho oato of Need application adjusted from the projected opening

year of tho appeal ohall be refunded to the Division of date in the Certificate of Need application to the current rate

period in which the faoility is cortifi ed based on the price

level change methodology sot forth in Paragraph (1) of this

Rulo, or tho average current rate paid to facilities in the

appropriate faoility group as determined by Division of

Medioal Assistance , or the rate currently paid to the owning

provider, if tho provider currently has an—approved chain

rato for facilities in tho related facility category.—The rate

may bo robaood to the actual oost inourrod in tho first full

Medioal Assistance .
—For years subsequent to the year of

appeal, a provider may retain one half the unexpended

payment, up to an amount of five dollars ($5.00) per patient

day, if tho appeal rate is at or below the oost oap established

for th e applioabl e faoility group.—However, if the appeal

rate is above tho applicable cost cap in subsequent years,

then all of tho unoxpondod payments shall bo returned to tho

Division of Modioal—Assistance . Cost in oxooss of a

faoility's total prospective payment rato are not roimburs year of normal operations in the year after an audit of the

able. first year of normal operation is completed.

—(-B For facilities that have been awarded a Certifi

cate of Need before January 1, 1993, tho initial

rate is established at the lower of the fair and

reasonable costs in tho provider's budget, as

determined by tho Division of Medical Ass is

tance , or the projected oosts in the provide r's

Certificate of Nood application adjusted from the

projected opening date in tho Certificate of Need

application to tho current rate period in which

the faoility i s certifi ed based on the price level

change methodology se t forth in Paragraph (1) of

this Rule, or the maximum rate paid to facilities

in tho appropriate facility group, or the rate

currently paid to the owning provider, if the

provider ha3 an approved chain rate for fac i lities

in the related facility category.—Tho rate may be

rebasod to the actual cost incurred in the first

full year of normal operations in the year afte r

an audit of the firs t year of norma l operation i s

completed

.

—(+)

—

To oomputo each facility' s current prospective rato,

the total rate established by Paragraphs (a) through (j) of

this Rulo is adjusted for prioe l eve l changes sinoe tho base

yoar.—No inflation factor for any provider shall oxcood tho

maximum amount permitted for that provider by federal or

state law and regulations.

(4^ Prioe leve l
—adjustment—factors are oomputed

using aggregate base year costs in tho following

manner:

(-A-)

—

Costs shall be separated into three groups:

-dh Labor,

-ft*) Non labor,

-fm) Fixed.

-f&)

—

The relative weight of eaoh oost group is

calculated to the seoond decimal—point by

dividing tho total costs of each group (labor,

nonlabor, and fixed) by tho total industry cost.

-(G)- Prioo leve l adjustment faotoro for each oost

group ohall be establi shed as follows:

-fi) Labor.—The percentage change for labor

oo s t s is based on tho projected average

hourly wage of North Carolina service

worke rs.—Salari es for all personnel shall

bo limited to level s of oomparablo posi

tion s in state owned facilities or levels

specified by the Division of Medioal Assis

tance .

-fit) Nonlabor. Tho percentage change—fef

nonlabor costs is based on the projected

-(3} In tho event of a change in ownership, the new

owner receives no more than the rate of payment

assigned to the previous owne r.

-(3) Except in cases wherein tho provider has failed

to file supporting information as requested by

the Division of M edioal Assistanc e , initial rat es

shall be granted to now enrolled—facilitie s no

later than 60 days from the provider's filing of

properly prepared budgets and supporting infor
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-W
mation.

The initial rote for a new facility shall be appli

cable to all dateo of service oommenoing with

the date the facility is certificated by the Medio

aid Program.

—(n) A provider with more than one facility in a particular

facility group, except Group 5, may be allowed to reoover

costs through a combined uniform rato for all facilities in a

particular facility group.

(4-) Combined uniform rate s for chain providers

within a particular facility group may be ap

proved upon written request from the provider

and after review by the Division of Medical

f2-) An approved oombinod uniform rate must be

applied to all facilities owned by the chain

provider in a particular facility group.

(3} In determining a combined uniform rate for a

particular facility group, the weighted average of

each facility's rate, calculated in accordance to

all other provisions of this Rule, shall bo usod.

-W- A combined uniform rate approved for chain

providers prior to July 1. 1993. is considered to

be void subsequent to July 1, 1993, if the com
bined uniform rate is inconsistent with the rate

sotting provisions of this Section.

(a) A prospective rate is determined annually for each

non-state facility to be effective for dates of service for a 12

month rate period beginning each July h The prospective

rate shall be paid to the provider for every Medicaid eligible

day during the applicable rate year. The prospective rate

may be determined after the effective date and paid retroac-

tively to that date. The prospective rate may be changed

due to a rate appeal under Rule .0308 of this Section or

facility reclassification under Paragraph (b) of this Rule-

Each non-state facility, except those facilities where Para-

graph (v) of this Rule applies, shall be classified into one of

the following groups:

(1) Group 1; Facilities with 32 beds or less.

Group 2_: Facilities with more than 32 beds.

Group 3_; Facilities with medically fragile cli-

ents. For rate reimbursement purposes under

this Rule medically fragile clients are defined as

any individual with complex medical problems

who have chronic debilitating diseases or condi-

01

tions of one or more physiological or organ

systems which generally make them dependent

upon 24-hour a day medical/nursing/health

supervision or intervention.

(4) Facilities in group \ or 2 in Subparagraph (a)(1)

or (2J of this Rule shall be further classified in

accordance to the level of disability of the

facility's clients, as measured by the Develop-

mental Disabilities Profile (DPP) assessment

instrument. A summary of the levels of disabil-

ity is shown in the following chart:

Level

FACILITY
DPP SCORE

Low High

I 200.00 300.00

2 125.00 199.99

3 100.00 124.99

4 75.00 99.99

5 50.00 74.99

fb) Facilities shall be reclassified into appropriate groups

as defined in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(1) When a facility is reclassified, the rate will be

adjusted retroactively back to the date of the

event that caused the reclassification. This

adjustment shall give full consideration to any

reclassification based on the change in facts or

circumstances during the year. Overpayments

related to this retroactive rate adjustment shall

be repaid to the Medicaid program. Underpay-

ments related to this retroactive rate adjustment

shall be paid to the provider.

(2) The provider shall be given the opportunity to

appeal the merits of the reclassification of any

facility, prior to any decision by the Division of

Medical Assistance.

(3) The provider shall be notified in writing 30 days

before the implementation of new rates resulting

from the reclassification of any facility.

(4) The providers and the Division of Medical

Assistance shall make every reasonable effort to

ensure that each and every facility is properly

classified for rate setting purposes.

(5) A provider shall file any request for facility

reclassification in writing with the Division of

Medical Assistance no later than 60 days subse-

quent to the proposed reclassification effective

date.

(6) For facilities certified prior to July J^ 1993, the

facility DPP score calculated in the Myers and

Stauffer study shall be used to establish proper

classification at July 1^ 1995.

(7) For facilities certified after June 30, 1993, the

most recent facility PPP score shall be used to

establish proper classification.

(8) A facility reclassification review shall use the

most current facility DPP score.

(9) The DPP score shall be calculated based on the

methodology used in the State of Kansas and

included in the Myers and Stauffer study.

( 10) A facility's PPP score shall be subject to inde-
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pendent validation by the Division of Medical

Assistance.

(11) A new facility that has not had a DPP survey

conducted on its clients shall be categorized as

a level 2 facility for rate setting purposes,

pending completion of the DPP survey. Upon
completion of the DPP survey, the facility shall

be subject to reclassification and rates will be

adjusted retroactively back to the date of certifi-

cation. Overpayments related to this retroactive

adjustment shall be paid to the Medicaid pro-

gram. Underpayments related to this retroactive

rate adjustment shall be paid to the provider.

(c) Facility rates under this Rule shall be established at

July J^ 1995, under the following:

(1) For facilities certified prior to July 1^ 1993,

rates shall be derived from the 1993 cost re-

ports, as reflected in the Myers and Stauffer

study.

(2) For facilities certified during fiscal year 1993-

1994, the fiscal year 1994 facility specific cost

report shall be used to derive rates.

(3) For facilities certified during fiscal year 1994-

1995, the fiscal year 1995 facility specific cost

report shall be used to derive rates.

(A) Rates for these facilities shall not be adjusted,

except for the impact of inflation under Para-

graph £k) of this Rule, until the fiscal year

1995 cost report has been properly reviewed.

Rates for these facilities shall be adjusted

retroactively back to July 1^ 1995, once the

fiscal year 1995 facility specific cost report has

been properly reviewed. Overpayments re-

lated to this retroactive rate adjustment shall be

repaid to the Medicaid program. Underpay-

ments related to this retroactive rate adjustment

shall be paid to the provider.

(4) Facilities with rates established during a rate

appeal proceeding with the Pivision of Medical

Assistance during fiscal years 1994 or 1995 shall

not have their rates established in accordance

with Subparagraph (c)(1), (c)(2), or (c)(3) of

this Rule.

(A) The rates for these facilities shall remain at the

level approved in the rate appeal proceeding

adjusted only for inflation, as reflected in

Paragraph £k) of this Rule.

(d) For facilities certified after June 30, 1993, rates

developed from filed cost reports for fiscal years subsequent

to 1993 may be retroactively adjusted if there is found to

exist more than a two percent difference between the filed

per diem cost and either the desk audited or field audited

per diem cost for the same reporting period. Rates devel-

oped from desk audited cost reports may be retroactively

adjusted if there is found to exist more than a two percent

difference between the desk audited per diem cost and the

field audited per diem cost for the same reporting period.

The rate adjustment may be made after written notification

to the provider 30 days prior to implementation of the rate

adjustment.

(e) Each prospective rate developed in accordance with

Subparagraph (c)(1), (c)(2), or (c)(3) of this Rule consists

of the sum of two components as follows:

(1) Indirect care rate.

(2) Pirect care rate.

(f) A uniform industry wide indirect care rate is estab-

lished for each facility category shown under Subparagraph

(a)(1), (a)(2), or (a)(3) of this Rule.

(1) The indirect rate for group I facilities is based

on the fiftieth percentile of the following costs

incurred by all group \ facilities with six beds or

less, except those related by common ownership

or control to more than 40 said facilities:

(A) The sum of the cost of property ownership and

use, administrative and general, and operation

and maintenance of plant, as determined by the

Myers and Stauffer study performed on the

1993 base year cost reports.

(2) The indirect rate for group 2 facilities is based

on the fiftieth percentile of the costs noted in

Part (f)(1)(A) of this Rule incurred by the group

2 facilities, as determined by the Myers and

Stauffer study performed on the 1993 base year

cost reports.

(3) The indirect rate for group 3 facilities is based

on the fiftieth percentile of the costs noted in

Part (f)(1)(A) of this Rule incurred by the group

3 facilities, as determined by the Myers and

Stauffer study performed on the 1993 base year

cost reports.

(4) The indirect rates established under Subpara-

graphs (f)(1), (f)(2), and (f)(3) of this Rule shall

be reduced as determined based on industry cost

analysis by an amount not to exceed four percent

to account for expected operating efficiencies.

(g) The direct care rate for facilities certified prior to July

ii 1993, is based on the Myers and Stauffer study per-

formed on the 1993 base year cost reports.

( 1) The direct care rate for all facilities certified

during fiscal years subsequent to fiscal year

1993 is based on the first facility specific cost

report filed after certification. Based on said

cost report, the direct care rate is equal to the

sum of aU allowable costs reflected in the ICF-

MR cost report cost centers, as included in the

1CF-MR cost report format effective July J^

1993, except for the following indirect cost

centers:

(A) Property Ownership and Use

(B) Operation and Maintenance of Plant and

Housekeeping-Non-Labor

(C) Administrative and General

(2) The direct care rate shall be limited to the lesser

of the actual amount incurred in the base year or

10:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1995 234



PROPOSED RULES

the cost limit derived from the fiftieth percentile

of direct care costs incurred by the related

facility group in the fiscal year 1993 base year,

based on the Myers and Stauffer study.

(3) The fiftieth percentile cost limit shall be reduced

by one percent each year, for the four year

period beginning July \± 1996, in order to

account for expected operating efficiencies, as

determined based on industry cost analysis.

(4) The fiftieth percentile cost limit shall be in-

creased each year by price level changes calcu-

lated in accordance with Paragraph (k) of this

Rule.

(h) The indirect rate shall not be subject to cost settle-

ment.

(1) Costs above the indirect rate shall not be paid to

the provider.

(2) Costs savings below the indirect rate shall not be

recouped from the provider.

(ij The direct care rate shall be subject to cost settlement,

based on the cost report, subject to audit, filed with the

Division of Medical Assistance.

(1) Costs above the direct rate shall not be paid to

the provider.

(2) Cost savings below the direct rate shall be

recouped from the provider.

(j) Facilities with rates established during a rate appeal

proceeding with the Division of Medical Assistance during

fiscal years 1994 or 1995 may choose to cost settle under

the provisions of Paragraphs (h) and £i} of this Rule, or

under the following procedure:

(1) If^ during a cost reporting period, total allowable

costs are less than total prospective payments,

then a provider may retain one-half of said

difference, up to an amount of five dollars

($5.00) per patient day. The balance of unex-

pended payments shall be refunded to the Divi-

sion of Medical Assistance. Costs in excess of

a facility's total prospective payment rate are not

reimbursable.

Ql

LAI

The facilities subject to the Paragraph shall make

the election on cost settlement methodology on

or before the filing of the annual cost report

with the Division of Medical Assistance.

An election to follow the cost settlement proce-

dures of Paragraphs (h) and (i] of this Rule shall

be irrevocable.

(4) Rates established for these facilities during

future rate appeal proceedings shall be subject to

the cost settlement procedures of Paragraphs (h)

and (i) of this Rule.

(k) To compute each facility's current prospective rate,

the direct and indirect rates established by Paragraphs (f)

and (g) of this Rule are adjusted for price level changes

since the base year. No inflation factor for any provider

shall exceed the maximum amount permitted for that

provider by federal or state law and regulations.

(1) Price level adjustment factors are computed

using aggregate costs in the following manners:

(A) Costs shall be separated into three groups:

(i) Labor,

(ii) Non-labor,

(iii) Fixed.

(B) The relative weight of each cost group is

calculated to the second decimal point by

dividing the total costs of each group (labor,

nonlabor, and fixed) by the total cost of the

three categories.

(C) Price level adjustment factors for each cost

group shall be established as follows:

(i) Labor. The percentage change for labor

costs is based on the projected average

hourly wage of North Carolina service

workers. Salaries for all personnel shall

be limited to levels of comparable posi-

tions in state owned facilities or levels

specified by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance.

(ii) Nonlabor. The percentage change for

nonlabor costs is based on the projected

annual change in the implicit price deflator

for the Gross National Product as provided

by the North Carolina Office of State

Budget and Management.

(iii) Fixed. No price level adjustment shall be

made for this category.

(D) The weights computed in Part (k)(l)(B) of this

Rule shall be multiplied times the rates com-

puted in Part (10(1X0 of this Rule. These

weighted rates shall be added to obtain the

composite inflation rate to be applied to both

the direct and indirect rates.

(1) Effective July J^ 1995, any rate reductions resulting

from this Rule shall be implemented based on the following

deferral methodology:

Rates shall be reduced for the excess of currentLU

01

(3)

rates over base year costs plus inflation.

Rates shall be reduced a maximum of 50 percent

of the fiscal 1996 inflation rate for the excess of

actual costs over applicable cost limits. This

reduction shall result in the facility receiving at

a minimum 50 percent of the 1996 inflation rate.

Any excess reduction shall be carried forward to

future years.

Total reduction in future years related to the

excess reduction carried forward from Subpara-

graph (1)(2) of this Rule, shall not exceed the

annual rate of inflation. This reduction shall

result in the facility receiving at a minimum the

rate established in Paragraph (1)(2) of this Rule.

Any excess reduction shall be carried forward to

future years, until the established rate equals that

generated by Paragraphs (f), (g), and (k) of this

Rule.
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(4) Rates calculated based on Subparagraphs (1)(2)

and (3) of this Rule shall be cost settled based

on the provisions of Subparagraph (i)(l) of this

Rule until the fiscal year that the facility re-

ceives full price level increase under Paragraph

00 of this Rule.

(A) A provider may make an irrevocable election

to cost settle under the provisions of Para-

graphs £h) and (i) of this Rule during the

deferral period.

(B) Once the rates calculated based on Subpara-

graphs (1X2) and (3) of this Rule reach the

fiscal year that the facility receives the full

price level increase under Paragraph (TO, then

said fiscal year's rates shall be cost settled

based on Paragraphs (h) and (i) of this Rule.

(C) Chain providers are allowed to file combined

cost reports, for cost settlement purposes, for

facilities that use the same cost settlement

methodology and have the same uniform rate.

(D) A provider may request from the Division of

Medical Assistance permission to continue cost

settlement under Subparagraph (i)(l) of this

Rule after the deferral period expires. Said

request shall be made each year. 30 days prior

to the cost report due date.

(m) The initial rate for facilities that have been awarded

a Certificate of Need is established at the lower of the fair

and reasonable costs in the provider's budget, as determined

by the Division of Medical Assistance, or the projected

costs in the provider's Certificate of Need application,

adjusted from the projected opening date in the Certificate

of Need application to the current rate period in which the

facility is certified based on the price level change method-

ology set forth in Paragraph (k) of this Rule, or the rate

currently paid to the owning provider, if the provider

currently has an approved chain rate for facilities in the

related facility category. The rate may be rebased to the

actual cost incurred in the first full year of normal opera-

tions in the year an audit of the first year of normal opera-

tion is completed.

(1) In the event of a change in ownership, the new

owner receives no more than the rate of payment

assigned to the previous owner.

(2) Except in cases wherein the provider has failed

to file supporting information as requested by

the Division of Medical Assistance, initial rates

shall be granted to new enrolled facilities no

later than 60 days from the provider's filing of

properly prepared budgets and supporting infor-

mation.

(3) The initial rate for a new facility shall be appli-

cable to aU dates of service commencing with

the date the facility is certified by the Medicaid

Program.

(4) The initial rate for a new facility shall not be

entered into the Medicaid payment system until

the facility is properly enrolled in the Medicaid

program and a Medicaid identification number

has been assigned to the facility by the Division

of Medical Assistance,

(n) A provider with more than one facility may be

allowed to recover costs through a combined uniform rate

for all facilities.

(1) Combined uniform rates for chain providers

shall be approved upon written request from the

provider and after review by the Division of

Medical Assistance.

(2) In determining a combined uniform rate for a

particular facility group, the weighted average of

each facility's rate, calculated in accordance to

all other provisions of this Rule, shall be used.

(o) Each out-of-state provider shall be reimbursed at the

lower of the applicable North Carolina rate, as established

by this plan for in-state facilities, or the provider's per diem

rate as established by the state in which the provider is

located. An out-of-state provider is defined as a provider

that is enrolled in the Medicaid program of another state and

provides ICF-MR services to a North Carolina Medicaid

client in a facility located in the state of enrollment. Rates

for out- of-state providers are not subject to cost settlement.

(p) Under no circumstances shall the Medicaid per diem

rate exceed the private pay rate of a facility.

(q) Should the Division of Medical Assistance be unable

to establish a rate for a facility, based on this Rule and the

applicable facts known, the Division of Medical Assistance

may approve an interim rate.

(1) The interim rate shall not exceed the rate cap

established under this Section for the applicable

facility group.

(2) The interim rate shall be replaced by a perma-

nent rate, effective retroactive to the commence-

ment of the interim rate, by the Division of

Medical Assistance, upon the determination of

said rate based on this Rule and the applicable

facts.

(3) The provider shall repay to the Division of

Medical Assistance any overpayment resulting

from the interim rate exceeding the subsequent

permanent rate.

(r) In addition to the prospective per diem rate developed

under this Section, effective July 1, 1992, an interim

payment add on shall be applied to the total rate to cover the

estimated cost required under Title 29, Part 1910, Subpart

2, Section 1910.1030 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

The interim rate shall be subject to final settlement reconcil-

iation with reasonable cost to meet the requirements of

Section 1910.1030. The final settlement reconciliation shall

be effectuated during the annual cost report settlement

process. An interim rate add on to the prospective rate shall

be allowed, subject to final settlement reconciliation, in

subsequent rate periods until cost history is available to

include the cost of meeting the requirements of Section

1910.1030 in the prospective rate. This interim add on shall
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be removed, upon 10 days written notice to providers,

should it be determined by appropriate authorities that the

requirements under Title 29, Part 1910, Subpart 2, Section

1910.1030 of the Code of Federal Regulations do not apply

to ICF-MR facilities.

(s) All rates, except those noted otherwise in this Rule,

approved under this Rule are considered to be permanent.

(t) In the event that the rate for a facility cannot be

developed so that it shall be effective on the first day of the

rate period, due to the provider not submitting the required

reports by the due date, the average rate for facilities in the

same facility group, or the facility's current rate, whichever

is lower, shall be in effect until such time as the Division of

Medical Assistance can develop a new rate.

(u) When the Division of Medical Assistance develops a

new rate for a facility for which a rate was paid in accor-

dance with Paragraph (t) of this Rule, the rate developed

shall be effective on the first day of the second month

following the receipt by the Division of Medical Assistance

of the required reports. The Division of Medical Assistance

may, upon its own motion or upon application and just

cause shown by the provider, within 60 days subsequent to

submission of the delinquent report, make the rate retroac-

tive to the beginning of the rate period in question. Any
overpayment to the provider resulting from this temporary

rate being greater than the final approved prospective rate

for the facility shall be repaid to the Medicaid Program.

(v) ICF-MR facilities meeting the requirements of the

North Carolina Division of Facility Services as a facility

affiliated with one or more of the four medical schools in

the state and providing services on a statewide basis to

children with various developmental disabilities who are in

need of long-term high acuity nursing care, dependent upon

high technology machines (i.e. ventilators and other support-

ive breathing apparatus) monitors, and feeding techniques

shall have a prospective payment rate that approximates cost

of care. The payment rate may be reviewed periodically,

no more than quarterly, to assure proper payment. A cost

settlement at the completion of the fiscal period year end is

required. Payments in excess of cost are to be returned to

the Division of Medical Assistance.

(w) A special payment in addition to the prospective rate

shall be made in the year that any provider changes from the

cash basis to the accrual basis of accounting for vacation

leave costs. The amount of this payment shall be deter-

mined in accordance with Title XVIII allowable cost

principles and shall equal the Medicaid share of the vacation

accrual that is charged in the year of the change including

the cost of vacation leave earned for that year and all

previous years less vacation leave used or expended over the

same time period and vacation leave accrued prior to the

date of certification. The payment shall be made as a lump

sum payment that represents the total amount due for the

entire fiscal year. An interim payment may be made based

on an estimate of the cost of the vacation accrual. The

payment shall be adjusted to actual cost after audit.

(x) The annual prospective rate, effective beginning each

July 1, for facilities that commenced operations under the

Medicaid Program subsequent to the base year used to

establish rates, and therefore did not file a cost report for

the base year, shall be based on the facility's initial rate,

established in accordance with Paragraph (m) of this Rule,

and the applicable price level changes, in accordance with

Paragraph (1) of this Rule.

Authority- G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42 C.F.R.

Part 447, Subpart C.

.0305 ALLOWABLE COSTS
(a) To be considered allowable, costs shall not exceed fair

and reasonable levels as determined by Division of Medical

Assistance, and shall be required to provide necessary client

care under the Medicaid Program.

( 1 ) The cost of goods or services sold to non-Medic-

aid clients shall be excluded in determining the

allowable client related expenses reimbursable

under the Medicaid program. If the provider

has not determined the cost of such items, the

revenue generated from such sales shall be used

to offset the total cost of such services.

(2) Examples of sources of such income items

include, but are not limited to:

(A) supplies and drugs sold by the facility for use

by nonresidents.

(B) telephone and telegraph services for which a

charge is made,

(C) discount on purchases,

(D) employee rental of living quarters,

(E) cafeterias,

(F) meals provided to staff or a client's guest for

which there is a charge,

(G) lease of office and other space by concession-

aires providing services not related to interme-

diate care facility services,

(H) interest income except for income earned of

qualified pension funds and income from gifts

or grants which are donor restricted.

(b) Except where specific rules concerning allowability of

costs are stated herein, the Division of Medical Assistance

shall use as its major determining factor in deciding on the

allowability of costs, the Medicare Provider Reimbursement

Manual, published by the U.S. Department of Health and

Human Services' Health Care Financing Administration

(HCFA). Where specific rules stated herein or in HIM- 15

are silent concerning the allowability of costs, the Division

of Medical Assistance shall determine allowability of costs

based on a case specific review taking into consideration the

reasonableness of said costs and their relationship to client

care and generally accepted accounting principles, consistent

with this Rule.

(c) As determined by the Division of Medical Assistance,

expenses or portion of expenses reported by an individual

facility that are not reasonably related to the efficient and

economical provision of care in accordance to the require-
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ments of this Rule, because of either the nature or amount

of the item, shall not be allowed.

(1) Reasonable compensation, as determined by

Division of Medical Assistance, of individuals

employed by a provider is an allowable cost,

provided such employees are engaged in client

related functions and that the compensation is

reasonable in light of industry historical data.

The historical data shall include, but not be

limited to, salary levels for similar services in

the same market in which the facility is located.

(2) Payroll records shall be maintained by the

provider to substantiate the staffing costs re-

ported to the Division of Medical Assistance.

Payroll records shall indicate each employee's

classification, hours worked, rate of pay, and the

functional area to which the employee was

assigned and actually worked. If an employee

performs duties in more than one cost center,

the provider shall maintain periodic time studies

in order to allocate salary and wage costs to the

appropriate cost centers, as determined by the

Division of Medical Assistance. These periodic

time studies shall be maintained in accordance

with the Medicare Provider Reimbursement

Manual.

(3) The Division of Medical Assistance shall not

reimburse costs related to excess staff.

(4) Compensation for owners is allowable only for

duties which otherwise would require the em-

ployment of another individual in the provision

of ICF-MR related services. Said compensation

shall be limited to a reasonable amount, as

determined by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance, not to exceed that paid in the local market

place for similar type duties. Compensation for

owners is not allowable where the services are

not related to the provision of ICF-MR related

services.

(d) As determined by the Division of Medical Assistance,

costs which are not properly related to client care or

treatment, and which principally afford diversion, entertain-

ment or amusement to owners, operators, or employees of

the facility shall not be allowed.

(e) As determined by the Division of Medical Assistance,

costs for any interest expense related to funding expenses in

excess of a fair and reasonable amount, or penalty imposed

by governmental agencies or courts and the costs of insur-

ance policies obtained solely to insure against such penalty,

shall not be allowed.

(f) As determined by the Division of Medical Assistance,

costs of contributions or other payments to political parties,

candidates or organizations shall not be allowed.

(g) As determined by the Division of Medical Assistance,

only that portion of dues paid to any professional association

which has been demonstrated to be reasonable in amount

and attributable to Medicaid Program related expenditures

other than for lobbying or political contributions shall be

allowed. The burden of proof shall be on the provider to

justify the inclusion of any professional association dues.

Association budgets may be considered in determining said

justification.

(h) Any cost of the sale, purchase, alteration, construc-

tion, rehabilitation or renovation of a physical plant or

interest in real property shall be considered allowable up to

the amount approved by the Division of Medical Assistance.

Cost is limited by the applicable provisions of Paragraphs (i)

and (1) of this Rule. Cost is allowable only to the extent it

is necessary for the provision of adequate client care under

this Rule, as determined by the Department of Human
Resources. Cost, and the associated financing, equal to or

greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) related to

existing facilities or the construction of replacement facilities

is subject to prior Division of Medical Assistance approval.

Providers shall not incur said costs in a piece meal fashion

in order to avoid the ten thousand dollars ($10,000) limit.

Failure to acquire prior approval may result in the disallow-

ance of said cost from Medicaid reimbursement.

( 1 ) The provider shall file the necessary documenta-

tion to support the justification for the proposed

expenditure and related financing with the

Division of Medical Assistance no later than 90

days prior to the proposed transaction's com-

mencement date.

(2) The Division of Medical Assistance shall render

a decision in writing to the provider on the

propriety of the proposed transaction no later

than 30 days prior to the proposed transaction's

commencement date.

(3) The time requirements of Subparagraphs (h)(1)

and (2) of this Rule may be altered, with just

cause shown, by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance.

(4) For any transaction resulting in a change of

ownership, the valuation of the asset shall be

limited to the lesser of the allowable acquisition

cost of the asset to the first owner of record who
has received Medicaid payment for said asset,

less any accumulated depreciation, plus any

allowable improvements, or the acquisition cost

of the asset to the new owner. Payment of rent

by the Medicaid enrolled provider to the lessor

of a facility shall constitute Medicaid payments

under this Rule.

(5) Costs (including legal fees, accounting and

administrative costs, travel costs, and the costs

of feasibility studies) attributable to the negotia-

tion or settlement of the sale or purchase of any

capital asset (by acquisition or merger) for

which any payment has previously been made

under Medicaid, shall not be allowable for

reimbursement.

(6) An exception may be applied by the Division of

Medical Assistance to the requirements of either
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Subparagraph (h)(4) or (5) of this Rule, if it can

be proven that the change in ownership shall

result in increasing the level of care provided to

the facility's clients up to the level required by

the Division of Facility Services.

(A) In order to meet this exception, it shall be

proven that the previous facility owner was not

providing, and was incapable of providing,

adequate client service, as determined by the

Department of Human Resources.

(B) The burden of proof in supporting this excep-

tion is on the provider. The provider shall

request, in writing, consideration of this ex-

ception from the Division of Medical Assis-

tance.

(C) Consideration of this exception may result in

the Division of Medical Assistance allowing

some or all of the costs in Subparagraph (h)(5)

for Medicaid reimbursement.

(D) Consideration of this exception may result in

the Division of Medical Assistance allowing a

substitute valuation for the transferred property

under Subparagraph (h)(4) that is greater than

the limit noted, but in no instance greater than

the acquisition cost of the asset to the new

owner.

(i) A facility's annual rental payments for real property

may be considered an allowable cost subject to the following

conditions and the limits included in Paragraph (i)(l) of this

Rule:

( 1

)

The lease is reviewed by and acceptable to the

Division of Medical Assistance.

(A) The lease shall not be acceptable if the associ-

ated asset(s) are not needed for client care as

determined by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance.

(B) The lease shall not be acceptable if alternate

means of financing is deemed available and

more economical. In making this determina-

tion all aspects of the economic impact of the

lease shall be examined, including length of

lease, the cost of the asset to the owner, and

the incremental rate of return provided to the

lessor. In addition, the leasee's incremental

implicit rate of interest and financial position

shall be considered.

(C) The test of reasonableness shall take into

account the agreement between the owner and

the tenant regarding the payment of related

property costs.

(D) Absent clear justification to the contrary,

material capital improvements to leased prop-

erty that are necessary to maintain the asset in

its ordinary' state of usability at the commence-

ment of the lease, shall be the responsibility of

the lessor. Examples of said costs are roof or

utility service replacement due to reasons

beyond the prudent control of the lessee.

(E) Effective July 1, 1993, requests for prior

approval of new leases and lease renewals

must be submitted whenever possible at least

120 days prior to the last date for the exercise

of the lease or lease renewal option. HUD
leases with individual ICF-MR clients are not

subject to this requirement.

(F) Failure to acquire prior approval of leases and

lease renewals may result in the disallowance

of said cost from Medicaid reimbursement.

(2) The lease shall be considered an arm's-length

transaction under HIM-15. Leases failing the

HIM- 15 arm's-length transaction test shall be

reimbursed at the leased asset's reasonable cost

of depreciation, interest, if any, and other

related expenses, including but not limited to

reasonable maintenance costs, as determined by

the Division of Medical Assistance. It is the

responsibility of the provider to maintain

auditable records to document these ownership

costs to the Division of Medical Assistance or its

designated contract auditors. Undocumented

costs may be disallowed.

(3) The lease amount is comparable to similar leases

for properties with similar functions in the same

geographical area.

(4) The lease agreement between unrelated parties

shall include the provision that the amount of

rental to be paid by the lessee to the lessor shall

not, in any event, exceed the amount approved

by the Division of Medical Assistance.

(j) Depreciation shall be an allowable cost when based

upon factors of historical costs and useful life. Depreciation

shall be subject to the provisions of this Paragraph and

Subparagraph (j)(l) of this Rule. For the purpose of this

Section:

(1) Unless an exception is made by the Division of

Medical Assistance, the useful life shall be the

higher of the reported useful life or that from

the Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable

Hospital Assets (1988 edition), which is incorpo-

rated by reference with subsequent changes and

amendments. A copy of the Useful Lives of

Depreciable Hospital Assets can be obtained by

writing to the American Hospital Association.

840 Lake Shore Drive, Chicago Illinois, 60611,

at a cost of thirty one dollars and ninety-five

cents ($31.95) per copy. In certain instances, a

useful life that is based upon historical experi-

ence as shown by documentary evidence and

approved by the Division of Medical Assistance

may be allowed. Should the provider desire a

depreciation rate different from that based on the

general Rule in Subparagraph (j)( 1 ) of this Rule,

then said provider shall make the request in

writing to the Division of Medical Assistance.
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Upon review and analysis, the Division of

Medical Assistance shall make a determination

in writing as to the reasonableness of said re-

quest.

(2) The depreciation method used shall be the

straight-line method.

(3) Unless an exception is granted by the Division

of Medical Assistance, depreciated rates shall be

applied uniformly and consistently, in accor-

dance with this Rule and generally accepted

accounting principles. Should the provider

discover that depreciation has been improperly

recorded in prior years, then the provider shall

within 30 days report the error to the Division

of Medical Assistance. The impact of the error

on the provider's rate shall be fully considered

by the Division of Medical Assistance and a rate

adjustment may be made, with due cause shown.

Failure to record depreciation properly may

result in disallowance for Medicaid reimburse-

ment purposes.

(4) Depreciation paid to the provider by the Medic-

aid Program shall be prudently used by said

provider to meet the financial requirements of

providing adequate service to the ICF-MR
clients.

(A) Payment to related parties for costs disallowed

by this Rule for Medicaid reimbursement may

be considered imprudent use of depreciation

reimbursement.

(B) Imprudent use of Medicaid reimbursement of

depreciation may result in the provider being

required by the Division of Medical Assistance

to fund the depreciation through a qualified

independent entity or disallowance of deprecia-

tion for Medicaid reimbursement.

(5) In order to substantiate depreciation expense for

Medicaid reimbursement purposes, the property

records shall include, at a minimum, all of the

following, for assets purchased on or after July

1, 1993:

(A) The depreciation method used,

(B) A description of the asset,

(C) The date the asset was acquired,

(D) The cost of the asset,

(E) The salvage value of the asset,

(F) The depreciation cost,

(G) The estimated useful life of the asset,

(H) The depreciation expense each year

(1) The accumulated depreciation.

(6) The recovery of losses associated with the

disposal or abandonment of assets used to pro-

vide necessary services to the Medicaid program

shall be determined on a case by case basis.

Requests for recovery shall be made in writing

and are subject to prior Division of Medical

Assistance approval. Failure to acquire approval

may result in the disallowance of said costs.

(7) The treatment of gains associated with the

disposal of assets used to provide necessary

services to the Medicaid program shall be based

on this Rule and the HIM-15.

(k) Interest cost may be considered an allowable cost

subject to the following conditions, and the limits included

in Paragraph (k)(l) of this Rule:

(1) Interest for capital indebtedness, where the

interest expense results from the initial financing

of the capital indebtedness and the capital indebt-

edness represents all or part of the current

Division of Medical Assistance approved value

of the property. The property shall be necessary

for the provision of adequate service, as deter-

mined by the Department of Human Resources,

to the clients of the ICF-MR facility. The

financing shall be prudently incurred.

(2) The interest rate shall not be in excess of the

amount a prudent borrower would pay at the

time the loan was incurred. In determining the

reasonableness of the interest rate, all associated

factors at the time the loan was incurred shall be

considered, including, but not limited to the

following:

(A) Current market rates of interest in the econ-

omy.

(B) Industry specific rates of interest.

(C) Provider specific financial position.

(3) The loan agreement shall be entered into be-

tween parties not related through control, owner-

ship, affiliation, or personal relationship as

defined in HIM-15, unless this provision is

waived in writing by the Division of Medical

Assistance. Such waiver shall be based on, but

not limited to, a demonstration of need for the

indebtedness and cost savings resulting from the

transaction. The burden of proof shall be on the

provider to provide proper support and justifica-

tion for such waiver to the Division of Medical

Assistance. Loans from a related party must be

clearly identified and reported separately on the

annual cost report.

(4) Interest expense on working capital indebtedness

is allowable, subject to the Division of Medical

Assistance's approved level of working capital,

and subject to the standards listed of this Rule.

(A) Interest on excess working capital is specifi-

cally denied.

(B) Working capital shall be established at the

level necessary to support the facility's opera-

tions, after taking into full consideration the

lead/lag impact of the facility's expenditures

and reimbursements.

(5) Interest expense for capital indebtedness where

the interest expense results from the refinancing

of the capital indebtedness, and the refinancing
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has the prior approval of the Division of Medi-

cal Assistance, shall be allowed in that amount

associated with the outstanding principal prior to

refinancing. Interest costs may be allowed in

excess of the amount associated with the out-

standing principal balance prior to refinancing,

if the purpose of the debt is to acquire assets to

be used for care of persons served by the facility

and all other applicable requirements of this

Rule are met. Interest expense resulting from

the inclusion of the closing costs, such as, but

not limited to, attorney's fees, recording costs

and points in the refinancing transaction shall be

considered allowable.

(A) The provider should file all necessary docu-

ments supporting its request for refinancing

prior approval to the Division of Medical

Assistance no later than 120 days prior to the

proposed refinancing date.

(B) The Division of Medical Assistance shall

render a decision regarding the prior approval

request no later than 30 days prior to the

proposed refinancing date.

(C) Based upon just cause shown, the Division of

Medical Assistance may waive the time re-

quirements included in Parts (k)(5)(A) and (B)

of this Rule, but in all cases there shall be

enough time allowed to evaluate the proposed

refinancing.

(6) In all cases, in order for the interest expense to

be allowable it shall be necessary to satisfy a

financial need related to the adequate provision

of recipient care, as determined by the Division

of Medical Assistance. Loans which result in

excess funds or investments are not considered

necessary.

(7) Interest expense may not be allowable when

related to loans that failed to receive prior

approval, as required, from the Division of

Medical Assistance.

(8) In no event shall interest expense be allowed on

a facility's cost that is deemed to be excessive.

(1) The annual capital cost or lease expense limitations

shall apply:

(1) To all facilities with 21 or more beds and to

facilities consisting of multiple detached build-

ings in which at least one contains nine certified

beds. The facilities covered by this limit shall

have been awarded a Certificate of Need before

January 1, 1993. The annual capital cost or

lease expense limit shall be the lesser of actual

cost or the sum of Parts (A) and (B) as follows:

(A) The annual depreciation on plant and fixed

equipment that would be computed on assets

equal to thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) per

bed (capital recovery base) during fiscal year

1982-83 adjusted for changes in the following

cost indexes:

(i) For the period after 1982-83 and through

the period 1991-92 the capital recovery

base shall be adjusted for changes in the

Dodge Building Cost Index of North Caro-

lina Cities.

(ii) For the period beginning July 1, 1992 the

capital recovery base shall be adjusted for

changes in the implicit price deflator for

residential structures as provided by the

Office of State Budget and Management.

Depreciation expense shall be computed

using the straight line method of deprecia-

tion and the useful life standards estab-

lished by the American Hospital Associa-

tion.

(B) An interest allowance equal to 10 percent of

the capital recovery base used to compute

annual depreciation on plant and fixed equip-

ment.

(C) This annual capital cost or lease expense limit

does not apply to leases in effect prior to

August 3, 1983.

(2) To all facilities that have been awarded a Certifi-

cate of Need on or after January 1, 1993, the

annual capital cost or lease expense shall be

limited to the lesser of actual cost or the fair and

reasonable depreciation and interest expense

calculated on the capital recovery base in effect

at the time of certification and enrollment into

the Medicaid program.

(A) Depreciation expense shall be computed using

the straight line method of depreciation and the

useful life standards established by the Ameri-

can Hospital Association.

(B) Interest expense is computed using a 10 per-

cent rate of interest.

(C) The capital recovery base is established as

thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) of plant and

fixed equipment assets per bed during the

fiscal year 1982-83 adjusted for the changes in

the cost indexes contained in Subparagraphs

(1)(1)(A), (i) and (ii) of this Rule.

(D) Recovery of the cost of material additions to

plant and fixed equipment subsequent to certif-

ication and enrollment in the Medicaid pro-

gram shall be subject to review on a case by

case basis, consistent with the provisions of

this Rule.

(E) This capital cost or lease expense limitation

should be considered the absolute maximum
allowable for Medicaid reimbursement. In

evaluating the reasonableness of a particular

facility's capital cost or lease expense, regional

costs of land and construction should be con-

sidered. In cases where the reasonable re-

gional costs are less than those derived from
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Subparagraph (1)(2)(C) of this Rule, then the

regional costs should be used in determining

the appropriate capital cost or lease expense

limitations,

(i) Generally, in determining fair and reason-

able facility cost, the average cost of

similar construction in the same local area

should be used. This test of reasonable-

ness should be applied to all components

of the facility's construction cost, includ-

ing square footage and per unit costs,

(ii) Absent strong, clear justification to the

contrary, no six bed facility shall be al-

lowed to recover capital cost and lease

expense related to square footage in excess

of 3200 square feet.

(3) Failure to provide supporting evidence of actual

facility cost incurred may result in disallowance

of said cost,

(m) For providers whose annual reimbursement from the

Medicaid program exceeds one million dollars ($1,000,000,)

all contracts with related parties as defined by HIM-15 in

the amount often thousand dollars ($10,000) or more shall

receive prior approval from the Division of Medical

Assistance.

(1) Failure to file said contracts with the Division of

Medical Assistance may result in disallowance of

the related cost from Medicaid reimbursement.

(2) The contracts should be filed with the Division

of Medical Assistance 90 days prior to the

effective date of said contracts.

(n)—Restricted funds aro funds expended by the facility

which include grants, gifts, and income from endowments,

whether oaoh or otherwise , whioh shall be used only for a

spooifio purpose as designated—by the donor or grant

instrument.—Items purchased with restricted funds are to bo

excluded from the Medicaid cost report.—Unrestricted funds

are funds expended by the provider whioh inoludo grants,

gifts, and inoome from endowments, cash or otherwise
,

given to a provider without restriction by the donor as to

thoir uso. Items purchased with unrestricted funds aro to bo

exoludod from the Medioaid oost report.

(n) Unrestricted grants, gifts, and income from endow-

ments are funds, cash or otherwise, given to a provider

without restriction by the donor as to their use. Restricted

or designated grants, gifts and income from endowments are

funds, cash or otherwise, which must be used only for a

specific purpose designated by the donor. This does not

refer to unrestricted grants, gifts, or income from endow-

ments which have been restricted for a specific purpose by

the provider.

(1) Costs reflected on the Medicaid cost report that

are supported from unrestricted or restricted

funds shall be offset by said funds on the cost

report.

(2) In determining the period in which funds are

deemed used, the following shall be considered:

12}

14)

15}

16}

12}

(A) If the terms of the contribution state the period

of time during which the funds are to be

applied, then said funds shall be deemed used

in the designated period.

(B) If the terms of the contribution do not state the

period of time during which the funds are to

be applied, then said funds shall be deemed

used in the year of receipt unless the prepon-

derance of evidence supports a different con-

clusion. Evidence to be considered on this

matter includes, but is not limited to, the

following:

(i) The decision of the Board of Directors or

management when to prudently use the

funds, consistent with the provider's fidu-

ciary responsibility,

(ii) Intentions of the contributor,

(iii) Supporting documentation, including gen-

eral ledger accounting.

In determining what costs are supported by the

funds, the preponderance of evidence shall be

considered; including but not limited to, the

following:

(A) The decision of the Board of Directors or

management, consistent with the provider's

fiduciary responsibility.

(B) Intentions of the contributor.

(C) Supporting documentation, including general

ledger accounting.

Consistent with the intentions of the contributor,

the funds may be used to support any of the

following costs:

(A) Non-Medicaid program costs.

(B) Medicaid program allowable costs.

(C) Medicaid program unallowable costs.

Consistent with the intentions of the contributor,

and absent the preponderance of evidence to the

contrary, the funds shall be deemed used to

support Medicaid program allowable costs.

The revenue offset in Subparagraph (1) of this

Paragraph may be reduced by the reasonable

cost of acquiring the contributed funds.

(A) Reasonable costs are those incurred by an

economic and efficient provider.

(B) The provider's general ledger and supporting

documents should support the level of acquisi-

tion cost.

(C) The revenue offset shall not be reduced below

zero.

Providers are encouraged to raise these funds to

offset Medicaid allowable costs.

(o) When multiple facilities or operations are owned by

a single entity with a central office, the central office

records shall be maintained as a separate set of records with

costs and revenues separately identified and appropriately

allocated to individual facilities. Allocation of central office

costs shall be reasonable and conform to the directives of
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the Division of Medical Assistance and generally accepted

accounting principles. Such costs are allowable only to the

extent that the central office is providing services related to

client care and the provider can demonstrate that the central

office costs improved efficiency, economy, or quality of

recipient care. The burden of demonstrating that costs are

client related lies with the provider.

( 1 ) If a provider has business enterprises other than

those reimbursed by Medicaid, then the reve-

nues, expenses, statistical and financial records

for such enterprises shall be clearly identifiable

from the records of the operations reimbursed

by Medicaid.

(2) If an audit establishes that records are not main-

tained so as to clearly identify Medicaid infor-

mation, none of the co-mingled costs shall be

recognized as Medicaid allowable costs and the

provider's rate shall be adjusted to reflect the

disallowance as of the earlier of the commence-

ment of the rate period related to the co-mingled

costs, or the commencement of the co-mingling

of said costs.

(3) After the co-mingled costs have been satisfacto-

rily allocated and reported to the Division of

Medical Assistance, and based on good cause

shown, the Division of Medical Assistance may

retroactively adjust the facility's rate.

(4) Central office costs are generally charged to the

Administrative and General cost center. In some

cases, however, certain personnel costs which

are direct patient care oriented may be allocated

to direct care cost centers if time records are

maintained to document the performance of

direct patient care services. No home office

overhead may be so allocated. The basis of this

allocation among facilities participating in the

North Carolina Medicaid program may be:

(A) specific time records of work performed at

each facility,

(B) client days in each facility to which the costs

apply relative to the total client days in all the

facilities to which the costs apply, or

(C) any other allocation method approved by the

Division of Medical Assistance.

(p) All criteria and limitations used by the Division of

Medical Assistance to subject individual provider cost data

to tests of reasonableness shall be made available to a

provider upon written request. In determining reasonable-

ness of costs, the Division of Medical Assistance may

compare major cost centers or total costs of similar provid-

ers and may request satisfactory documentation from

providers whose cost does not appear to be reasonable.

Similar providers are those with like levels of client care,

size, and geographic location.

(q) Start-up costs are costs incurred by an ICF-MR
facility while preparing to provide services at said facility.

It includes the cost incurred by providers to provide services

at the level necessary to obtain certification less any revenue

or grants related to start-up. The North Carolina Medicaid

Program shall reimburse these start-up costs up to a maxi-

mum equal to the facility's rate times its beds times 120

days.

(1) Effective for all facilities whose Certificate of

Need was granted on or after January 1, 1993,

the start-up cost reimbursement shall be added to

the facility's per diem rate calculated in accor-

dance to the related provisions of this plan.

These start-up costs shall be amortized over a 36

month period and shall be reported as adminis-

trative and general in the cost report. No ad-

vance of these start-up costs shall be made.

These costs shall not be included in calculating

the facility's total AG/OMP costs for rate setting

purposes in accordance with this Rule.

(2) Effective for all facilities whose CON was

granted prior to January 1, 1993, the start-up

reimbursement shall be made in addition to the

facility's per diem rate. No advance of start-up

funds shall be made prior to the submission of

the start-up cost report. An interim payment not

to exceed 80 percent of the allowable start-up

costs can be made at the written request of a

provider after a start-up cost report has been

filed. The remaining balance of appropriately

incurred start-up costs shall be paid after the

desk audit of the start-up cost report has been

completed. Any balance due to the Medicaid

program shall be repaid promptly.

(3) A start-up cost report shall be filed in accor-

dance to the guidelines established by the Divi-

sion of Medical Assistance.

(A) The start up cost report shall be filed with the

Division of Medical Assistance Audit Section.

(B) Schedule E of the start up cost report shall be

filed with the Division of Medical Assistance's

Rate Setting Section.

(4) Allowable start-up costs may include, but not be

limited to:

(A) personal services expenses,

(B) utility expenses,

(C) property taxes,

(D) insurance expenses,

(E) employee training expenses,

(F) housekeeping expenses,

(G) repair and maintenance expenses,

(H) administrative expenses.

(5) All costs that are properly identifiable as organi-

zation costs shall be classified as such and

excluded from start-up costs.

(6) Cost related to increasing bed capacity in an

existing facility shall not be treated as start-up

costs.

(r) Only that portion of management fees that is directly

related to client care and is not otherwise functionally
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covered by the current staffing pattern is allowable in the

calculation of a facility's actual, allowable, and reasonable

costs. Management fees on a per diem basis shall be

limited to seven percent of the maximum intermediate care

rate for nursing facilities enrolled in the Medicaid Program.

Management fees are charged to the Administrative and

General Cost Center. In some cases, however, a portion of

a management fee may be allocated to a direct patient care

cost center if time records are maintained to document the

performance of direct patient care services. The amount so

allocated may be equal only to the salary and fringe benefits

of persons who are performing direct patient care services

while employed by the management company. Records to

support these costs shall be made available to staff of the

Division of Medical Assistance. The basis of this allocation

among facilities participating in the North Carolina Medicaid

program may be:

(1) specific time records of work performed at each

facility, or

(2) client days in each facility to which the costs

apply relative to the total client days in all

facilities to which the costs apply.

(s) The following costs are considered non-allowable

facility costs because they are not related to client care or

are specifically disallowed under the North Carolina State

Plan:

(1) bad debts;

(2) advertising, except personnel want ads, and one

line yellow page (indicating facility address):

(3) charity, courtesy allowances, discounts, refunds,

rebates and other similar items granted by the

provider;

(4) life insurance (except for employee group plans

and reasonable key man life insurance premiums

required by financial institutions in an outstand-

ing loan agreement);

(5) prescription drugs and insulin (available to

recipients under the State Medicaid Drug Pro-

gram);

(6) vending machine expenses;

(7) state or federal corporate income taxes, plus any

penalties and interest;

(8) telephone, television, or radio for personal use

of client;

(9) retainers, unless itemized services of equal value

have been rendered;

(10) fines or penalties;

(11) ancillary costs that are billable to Medicare or

other third party payors;

(12) property taxes and other expenses related to real

estate deemed by the Division of Medical Assis-

tance to be in excess of the reasonable amount

needed for the physical facility;

(13) property taxes, insurance, maintenance and other

expenses related to facility costs deemed by the

Division of Medical Assistance to be in excess

of the reasonable amount necessary for quality

client care;

(14) costs associated with lawsuits filed against the

Department of Human Resources which are not

upheld by the courts;

(15) personal use of company assets resulting in

unreasonable levels of compensation;

(16) meals provided to employees not involved in the

modeling process required to meet the clients'

habilitation plan;

(17) charitable contributions;

(18) costs related to excessive or unnecessary levels

of care;

(19) interest associated with Medicaid overpayment

repayment plans agreed to by both the provider

and the Division of Medical Assistance;

(20) costs related to frivolous appeals;

(21) costs resulting from provider negligence;

(22) costs related to any illegal activity;

(23) costs disallowed on the associated tax return by

the Internal Revenue Service or the North Caro-

lina Department of Revenue, unless specifically

allowable under this plan;

(24) promotional items designed to promote the

provider's public image;

(25) costs associated with the interests of provider

shareholders and not direct care related;

(26) costs related to client care incurred in prior

years, unless specific approval acquired from the

Division of Medical Assistance;

(27) country club dues.

(t) Providers shall use a competitive bidding process in

order to purchase or lease vehicles.

(1) Providers shall explore cost differentials between

leasing and purchasing of vehicles and shall

choose the least expensive alternative.

(2) Daily logs detailing the use of vehicles shall be

maintained by the provider.

(u) Purchase of services, major renovations, capital

equipment, and supplies that exceed five thousand dollars

($5,000) annually per facility shall be reasonably made

consistent with the prudent buyer provisions of the HCFA-
15.

(v) Reasonable costs associated with self-insurance

programs are allowable, as determined by the Division of

Medical Assistance. All material facts related to said

programs shall be disclosed to the Division of Medical

Assistance. Failure to disclose may result in the disallow-

ance of said costs.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42 C.F.R.

447, Subpart C.

.0308 RATE APPEALS
(a) The Division of Medical Assistance shall consider

only the following appeals for adjustment to the rates which

would result in an annual rate increase to the provider from

the Medicaid Program of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or
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more.

(1) Appeals because of changes in the information

used to calculate a facility's prospective rate.

(2) Appeals for significant increases or decreases in

a facility's overall base period operating costs

due to, but not limited to, implementation of

new programs, changes in staff or service,

changes in the characteristics or number of

clients, changes in a financing agreement, capital

renovations, expansions or replacements which

have been either mandated or approved by the

Division of Medical Assistance and, except in

life-threatening situations, approved in advance

by the applicable State agencies.

(3) In order for said changes to be considered, they

shall be consistent with all of the provisions of

this plan.

(4) Upon proper notification to the provider in

writing, the Division of Medical Assistance may

instigate a proceeding to reduce the provider's

rates. A rate reduction proceeding may be

initiated upon the determination of just cause by

the Division of Medical Assistance. Grounds

for just cause may include, but are not limited

to, the following:

(A) The provider has achieved material over col-

lections of Medicaid funds derived from the

prospective rate being greater than reasonable

Medicaid costs.

(B) Changes in Federal or State laws or regula-

tions resulting in material operational cost

savings.

(C) Material changes in client profile resulting in

the need for less costly services.

(D) The burden of proof shall be on the Division

of Medical Assistance to prove the need for

said rate reduction.

(5) In determining a fair and reasonable rate under

appeal, the Division of Medical Assistance shall

take into consideration all funds available to the

provider from the Medicaid program and patient

liability. Providers are expected to utilize all

available funds to provide the services that their

clients need.

(6) Reasonable occupancy factors, as established by

the Division of Medical Assistance, shall be

utilized in establishing fair and reasonable rates

in the appeal process.

(7) Prospective rates determined under the rate

appeal mechanism may be applied retroactively

to the later of the beginning of the rate year in

which said appeal was filed, or the date of

certification of the related facility, or the effec-

tive date during the facility's current rate year of

the item(s) that caused the need for the change

in rates.

(8) The Division of Medical Assistance shall not pay

interest on the final dollar settlement resulting

from the retroactive impact of any rate appeals.

(b) Notification of appeal:

(1) In order to appeal a rate the facility shall send to

the Division of Medical Assistance an appeal

application in writing either within 60 days ef

the facility rseeiving the rate computation or

within 60 days of tho beginning of the rate

period in question subsequent to the proposed

effective date of the appeal rate .

(2) The appeal application shall set forth the basis

for the appeal and the issues of fact. Appropri-

ate documentation shall accompany the applica-

tion and the Division of Medical Assistance may
request in writing such additional documentation

as it deems necessary.

(c) The burden of proof on appeal shall be on the facility

to present clear and convincing evidence to demonstrate the

rate requested in the appeal is necessary to ensure efficient

and economical operation, and meets the criteria of this

Rule.

(d) There shall be a written notification by the Division

of Medical Assistance of the final decision on the facility's

rate appeal. However, at no point in the appeal process

shall the facility have a right to an interim report of any

determinations made by any of the parties to the appeal.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42 C.F.R.

447, Subpart C.

.0309 AUDITS
(a) Each facility shall maintain the statistical and financial

records which formed the basis of the reports required by

this Rule and submitted to the Division of Medical Assis-

tance for five years from the date on which the reports were

submitted or due, whichever is later, or for such longer

periods as may be required under State or Federal law.

Each cost report shall be verified by the state agency or its

representative for completeness, accuracy, and reasonable-

ness through a desk audit. Field audits shall be performed

as required. When a combined cost report is filed under

this plan, only the combined cost report is subject to desk

and field audit, unless the Division of Medical Assistance

determines that the supporting individual facility cost reports

need to be audited.

fb) All such records shall be subject to audit for a period

of five years from the later of the date on which all required

reports were filed with the Division of Medical Assistance

or the date on which such reports were due.

(1) Desk or field audits shall be conducted by the

Division of Medical Assistance, its designated

contract auditors, or other governmental agen-

cies at a time and place and in a manner deter-

mined by said governmental agencies.

(2) The audits may be performed on any financial or

statistical records required to be maintained.

(3) Any findings of a described audit of this Rule
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shall constitute grounds for recoupment at the

discretion of the Division of Medical Assistance,

provided that such audit finding relates to the

allowable costs,

(c) All filed cost reports shall be desk audited and

tentative settlements made in accordance with the provisions

of this plan. This settlement is issued within 180 days of

the date the cost report was filed or within 272 days of the

end of the June 30 fiscal year reflected in the cost report,

whichever is later. The state may elect to perform field

audits on any filed cost reports within three years of the date

of filing and issue a final settlement on a time schedule that

conforms to Federal law and regulation. If the state decides

not to field audit a facility a final reimbursement notice may

be issued based on the desk audited settlement. The state

may reopen and field audit any cost report after the final

settlement notice in order to comply with Federal law and

regulation or to enforce laws and regulations prohibiting

abuse of the Medicaid Program and particularly the provi-

sions of this reimbursement plan. Those changes to the

Payment for Services Prospective- Reimbursement Plan for

ICF MR Faoilitioo will become effective when the Health

Care Finanoing Adminiotration, U.S. Department Health and

Human Services, approves amendment submitted to HCFA
by the Director of the Division of Medical Assistance on or

about July 1, 1993 as ffllA 93 12, wherein the Direotor

proposes amendmonto of the State Plan to amend Payment

for Services—Prospective Reimbursement Plan for ICF MR
Facilities.

(1) These changes to the Payment for Services

Prospective Reimbursement Plan for ICF-MR
Facilities will become effective when the Health

Care Financing Administration, U.S. Depart-

ment of Health and Human Services, approves

amendment submitted to HCFA by the Director

of the Division of Medical Assistance on or

about July 1, 1995 as #MA 95-03, wherein the

Director proposes amendments of the State Plan

to amend Payment for Services ; Prospective

Reimbursement Plan for ICF-MR Facilities.

Reason for Proposed Action: Establishes criteria to be in

compliance with G.S. 58-33-130(d)(5).

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to

George Brown at 430 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC
27611. Oral presentations may be made at the public

hearing. Anyone having questions should call George

Brown at (919) 733-7487.

Fiscal Note: 77715- Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

CHAPTER 6 - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 6A - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION

SECTION .0800 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

.0812 SPECIAL CASES
(a) In addition to the courses in 11 NCAC 6A .0803, the

Commissioner may prepare courses to address and remedy

deficiencies in licensee professional performance or conduct

detected by the Commissioner through analyses of consumer

complaints or from Departmental audits or examinations of

insurance companies, licensees, or insurance agencies or

brokerages.

(b) The Commissioner may require such courses for

specific insurance companies, licensees in certain geographic

territories, or licensees in general, depending on the types

of complaints or the nature of the examination or audit

findings.

(c) The Commissioner may require individual licensees to

remedial or rehabilitative courses because of complaints or

examination or audit findings:

(1) showing a pattern of irregularities in profes-

sional performance or conduct; or

£2} resulting in the finding of civil violations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-130.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42 C.F.R.

447, Subpart C. TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT,
HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Department of

Insurance intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC 6A .0812.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Com-

mission (EMC) - DEHNR intends to amend rule cited as

15A NCAC 2B .0304.

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 1996.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on June

5, 1995 at the Third Floor Hearing Room, Dobbs Building,

430 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27611.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing (must

be requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person

may request that the Environmental Management Commis-

sion conduct a public hearing on the proposed reclassifica-

tion by submitting a written request for a public hearing,
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postmarked no later than May 30, 1995, to Steve Zoufaly,

Division of Environmental Management, Water Quality

Section, P.O. Box 29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535.

Reason for Proposed Action: Stokely Hollow is a small

stream located in Madison County. The stream is currently

classified as WS-I1 (water supply) since it was believed that

this was a source of drinking water for the Town of Hot

Springs. However, it has come to our attention that Stokely

Hollow is not used as a raw drinking water source. The

proposal is to remove the current WS-Il classification and

apply a C classification. This action would remove the

requirement that Madison County adopt and implement a

drinking water supply protection program for Stokely

Hollow. In addition, the prohibition for new wastewater

discliargers would no longer be applicable as implemented

by DEM.

Comment Procedures: All persons interested in the pro-

posed reclassification are encouraged to submit written

comments. Comments must be postmarked by June 14,

1995, and submitted to Steve Zoufaly, Division of Environ-

mental Management, Water Quality Section, P.O. Box

29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2B - SURFACE WATER
STANDARDS: MONITORING

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM
CLASSIFICATIONS

.0304 FRENCH BROAD RIVER BASIN
(a) Places where the schedules may be inspected:

(1) Clerk of Court:

Avery County

Buncombe County

Haywood County

Henderson County

Madison County

Mitchell County

Transylvania County

Yancey County

(2) North Carolina Department of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources

Asheville Regional Office

Interchange Building

59 Woodfin Place

Asheville, North Carolina

(b) Unnamed Streams. Such streams entering Tennessee

will be classified "B."

(c) The French Broad River Basin Schedule of Classifica-

tions and Water Quality Standards was amended effective:

(1) September 22, 1976;

(2) March 1, 1977;

(3) August 12, 1979;

(4) April 1, 1983;

(5) August 1, 1984;

(6) August 1, 1985;

(7) February 1, 1986;

(8) May 1, 1987;

(9) March 1, 1989;

(10) October 1, 1989;

(11) January 1, 1990;

(12) August 1, 1990;

(13) August 3, 1992;

(14) October 1, 1993.

(d) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective March 1, 1989 as follows:

(1) Cataloochee Creek (Index No. 5-41) and all

tributary waters were reclassified from Class

C-trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and

Class C ORW.
(2) South Fork Mills River (Index No. 6-54-3)

down to Queen Creek and all tributaries were

reclassified from Class WS-I and Class

WS-III-trout to Class WS-I ORW and Class

WS-III-trout ORW.
(e) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective October 1, 1989 as follows: Cane River (Index

No. 7-3) from source to Bowlens Creek and all tributaries

were reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to Class

WS-III trout and Class WS-ITI.

(f) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective January 1, 1990 as follows: North Toe River

(Index No. 7-2) from source to Cathis Creek (Christ

Branch) and all tributaries were reclassified from Class C
trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout and Class WS-III.

(g) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective August 3. 1992 with the reclassification of all

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of

WS-I, WS-D or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the

revised water supply protection rules, (15A NCAC 2B
.0100, .0200 and .0300) which became effective on August

3, 1992. In some cases, streams with primary classifica-

tions other than WS were reclassified to a WS classification

due to their proximity and linkage to water supply waters.

In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS classifi-

cation to an alternate appropriate primary classification after

being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or

identified as not being used for water supply purposes.

(h) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective October 1, 1993 as follows: Reasonover Creek

[Index No. 6-38- 14-( 1 )] from source to Reasonover Lake
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Dam and all tributaries were reclassified from Class B Trout

to Class WS-V and B Trout, and Reasonover Creek [Index

No. 6-38-14-(4)] from Reasonover Lake Dam to Lake Julia

Dam and all tributaries were reclassified from Class C Trout

to Class WS-V Trout.

(i) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the French Broad River Basin was amended

effective January J^ 1996 as follows: Stokely Hollow

rindex Numbers 6-121, 5-(l) and 6-121. 5-(2)l from source

to mouth of French Broad River has been reclassified from

Class WS-II and Class WS-II CA to Class C.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1;

143-215. 3(a)(1).

******************

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Com-
mission (EMC) - DEHNR intends to amend rule cited as

15A NCAC2B .0316.

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 1996.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing (must

be requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person

may request that the Environmental Management Commis-

sion conduct a public hearing on the proposed reclassifica-

tion by submitting a written request for a public hearing,

postmarked no later than May 30, 1995, to Steve Zoufaly,

Division of Environmental Management, Water Quality

Section, P.O. Box 29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535.

Reason for Proposed Action: The City of Washington,

Beaufort County, requested the reclassification of Tranters

Creekfrom its current water supply classification of WS-IV
CA (Critical Area) and WS-TV. The City no longer uses

Tranters Creek as a raw water supply source and has

converted to groundwater (wells). The proposal would

remove the WS-IV classification and consider the watershed

for a WS-V or C classification. In either case the local

governments having land use jurisdiction within the water-

shed would not be required to adopt and implement land use

requirements for drinking water supply protection. There

are no categorical prohibitions on wastewater discharge

permits for either a WS-V or C classification.

Comment Procedures: All persons interested in the pro-

posed reclassification are encouraged to submit written

comments. Comments must be postmarked by June 14,

1995, and submitted to Steve Zoufaly, Division of Environ-

mental Management, Water Quality Section, P.O. Box
29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM
CLASSmCATIONS

.0316 TAR-PAMLICO RIVER BASIN
(a) Places where the schedule may be inspected:

(1) Clerk of Court:

Beaufort County

Dare County

Edgecombe County

Franklin County

Granville County

Halifax County

Hyde County

Martin County

Nash County

Pamlico County

Person County

Pitt County

Vance County

Warren County

Washington County

Wilson County

(2) North Carolina Department of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources:

(A) Raleigh Regional Office

3800 Barrett Drive

Raleigh, North Carolina

(B) Washington Regional Office

1424 Carolina Avenue

Washington, North Carolina

(b) Unnamed Streams. All drainage canals not noted in

the schedule are classified "C Sw," except the main drain-

age canals to Pamlico Sound and its bays which will be

classified "SC."

(c) The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Schedule of Classifica-

tion and Water Quality Standards was amended effective:

(1) March 1, 1977;

(2) November 1, 1978;

(3) June 8, 1980;

(4) October 1, 1983;

(5) June 1, 1984;

(6) August 1, 1985;

(7) February 1, 1986;

(8) August 1, 1988;

(9) January 1, 1990;

(10) August 1, 1990;

(11) August 3, 1992;

(12) April 1, 1994.

(d) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin has been

amended effective August 1, 1988 as follows:

(1) Tar River (Index No. 28-94) from a point 1.2

miles downstream of Broad Run to the upstream

side of Tranters Creek from Class C to Class B.

(e) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin has been

amended effective January 1, 1990 by the reclassification of
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Pamlico River and Pamlico Sound [Index No. 29-(27)]

which includes all waters within a line beginning at Juniper

Bay Point and running due south to Lat. 35° 18' 00", long.

76° 13" 20", thence due west to lat. 35° 18" 00", long 76°

20' 00", thence northwest to Shell Point and including Shell

Bay, Swanquarter and Juniper Bays and their tributaries, but

excluding the Blowout, Hydeland Canal, Juniper Canal and

Quarter Canal were reclassified from Class SA and SC to

SA ORW and SC ORW.
(f) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality-

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin has been

amended effective January 1, 1990 by adding the supple-

mental classification NSW (Nutrient Sensitive Waters) to all

waters in the basin from source to a line across Pamlico

River from Roos Point to Persimmon Tree Point.

(2) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality-

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin was amended

effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of

WS-I. WS-II or WS-DT). These waters were reclassified to

WS-I. WS-II, WS-m, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the

revised water supply protection rules, (15A NCAC 2B

.0100. .0200 and .0300) which became effective on August

3. 1992. In some cases, streams with primary classifica-

tions other than WS were reclassified to a WS classification

due to their proximity and linkage to water supply waters.

In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS classifi-

cation to an alternate appropriate primary classification after

being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or

identified as not being used for water supply purposes.

(h) The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin was amended

effective April 1, 1994 with the reclassification of Blounts

Creek from Herring Run to Blounts Bay [Index No.

29-9-H3)] from Class SC NSW to Class SB NSW.

(jj The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality

Standards for the Tar-Pamlico River Basin was amended

effective January _L 1996 as follows:

Option Number I

(_Q Tranters Creek [Index Numbers 28-103- (4.5),

28-103- (13.5). 28-103- (14.5) and

28-103-( 16.5)1 from a point 1.5 miles upstream

of Turkey Swamp to the City of Washington's

former auxiliary water supply intake, including

tributaries, from Class WS-IV Sw NSW and

Class WS-IV CA Sw NSW to Class WS-V Sw
NSW.
Option Number 2

(2J Tranters Creek [Index Numbers 28-103- (4.5),

28-103- (13.5). 28-103- (14.5) and

28-103-(16.5)l from a point 1 .5 miles upstream

of Turkey Swamp to the City of Washington's

former auxiliary water supply intake, including

tributaries, from Class WS-IV Sw NSW and

Class WS-IV CA Sw NSW to Class C Sw
NSW.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1;

143-215. 3(a)(1).

******************

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the NC Wildlife Resources Commission

intends to amend rule cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0202 with

changes from the proposed text noticed in the Register

Volume 9, Issue 18, pages 1427-1430 and Volume 10, Issue

1 , pages 26-35.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1 , 1995.

Reason for Proposed Action: To regulate the harvest of

bear by setting seasons in Craven and Jones Counties.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present their

views either orally or in writing at the hearing. In addition,

the record of hearing will be open for receipt of written

commentsfrom May 15, 1995 through June 15, 1995. Such

written comments must be delivered or mailed to the N. C.

Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh. N.C. 27604-1188.

Editor's Note: An agency may not adopt a rule that differs

substantially from the text of a proposed rule published in

the Register, unless the agency publishes the text of the

proposed different rule and accepts comments on the new-

textfor at least 30 days after the publication of the new text.

Fiscal Note: Tliis Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES
AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND
TRAPPING

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING

.0202 BEAR
(a) Open Seasons shall be from the:

(1) Monday on or nearest October 15 to the Satur-

day before Thanksgiving and the third Monday

after Thanksgiving to January 1 in and west of

the boundary formed by NC 16 from the Vir-

ginia State line to Wilkesboro and NC 18 from

Wilkesboro to the South Carolina State line.

(2) Second Monday in November to the following

Saturday and the third Monday after Thanksgiv-

ing to the following Wednesday in all of Beau-

fort, Camden, Craven, Dare. Gates, Hyde.

Jone3 , Pamlico, Pasquotank, Tyrrell, and Wash-

ington Countie s: counties: and in the following

parts of counties: that part of
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)

Bertie^ Count)' that part southeast of US 17T and

that part of

Chowani Count)' that part north of a line formed

by SR 1002, SR 1222 and SR 1221 . and in

Craven: except Game Lands

Currituck! Count)': except Knotts Island and the

Outer Banks that part went of the Intraooactnl

waterway that is south or west of a lino formed

by Highway 31 to Silgo, Highway 168 through

Baroo, then Highway 158 to the Intraooastal

waterway; aloo that part oaot of the Intraooastnl

waterway and west of a lino formed through the-

contor of Currituck Sound and North Landing

River-

Hertford: that part east of NC 45

Martin: that part east of US 17

Jones: except Game Lands.

(3) Second Monday in November to January 1 in all

of Bladen, Carteret, Duplin, New Hanover,

Onslow and Pender Countios; counties and in the

following parts of counties:

in that part of Cumberland^ Count)' that part

south of NC 24 and east of the Cape Fear Rivert

and in that part of Sampson^ county that part

south of NC 24.

(4) Second Monday in December to January 1 in

Brunswick and Columbus Counties.

(b) No Open Season. There is no open season in any

area not included in Paragraph (a) of this Rule or in those

parts of counties included in the following posted bear

sanctuaries:

Avery, Burke and Caldwell Countios coun-

ties—Daniel Boone bear sanctuary

Beaufort, Bertie and Washington Counties

counties —Bachelor Bay bear sanctuary

Beaufort and Pamlico Countios counties—Gum
Swamp bear sanctuary

Bladen County-Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary

Brunswick County—Green Swamp bear sanctuary

Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and

Transylvania Counti es counties—Pisgah bear

sanctuary

Carteret, Craven and Jones Countioa coun-

ties—Croatan bear sanctuary

Clay County—Fires Creek bear sanctuary

Currituck County—North River bear sanctuary

Dare County—Bombing Range bear sanctuary

Haywood County—Harmon Den bear sanctuary

Haywood County—Sherwood bear sanctuary

Hyde County—Gull Rock bear sanctuary

Hyde County—Pungo River bear sanctuary

Jackson County—Panthertown-Bonas Defeat bear

sanctuary

Jones and Onslow Counti es counties—Hofmann
bear sanctuary

Macon County—Standing Indian bear sanctuary

Macon County—Wayah bear sanctuary

Madison County—Rich Mountain bear sanctuary

McDowell and Yancey Countios counties—Mt.
Mitchell bear sanctuary

Mitchell and Yancey Countioa counties—Flat Top

bear sanctuary

Wilkes County—Thurmond Chatham bear sanctu-

ary

(c) Bag limits shall be:

(1) daily, one;

(2) possession, one;

(3) season, one.

(d) Kill Reports. The carcass of each bear shall be

tagged and the kill reported as provided by 15A NCAC 10B

.0113.

Statutory Authority G.S.

113-305.

113-134; 113-291.2; 113-291.7;

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the NC Wildlife Resources Commission

intends to amend rule cited as 15A NCAC 10D .0003.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing (must

be requested in writing within 15 days of notice): A request

for a public hearing must be in writing and submitted to

Director's Office, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC
27604-1188 by May 30, 1995.

Reason for Proposed Action:

other activities on game lands.

To regulate hunting and

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present their

views either orally or in writing at the hearing. In addition,

the record of hearing will be open for receipt of written

commentsfrom May 15, 1995 through June 16, 1995. Such

written comments must be delivered or mailed to the N. C.

Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS
REGULATIONS

.0003 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS
(a) Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on

any designated game land shall be under the influence of

alcohol or any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with special

restrictions regarding the use of the Blue Ridge Parkway

where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule.

(b) Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle
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on game lands in such a manner as to block traffic, gates or

otherwise prevent vehicles from using any roadway.

(c) Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for

the purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached

bv nails, screws, bolts or wire to a tree on any game land

designated herein. This prohibition shall not apply to

la2-screw steps or portable stands that are removed after use

with no metal left remaining in or attached to the tree.

(d) Time and Manner of Taking. Except where closed to

hunting or limited to specific dates by this Chapter, hunting

on game lands is permitted during the open season for the

game or furbearing species being hunted. On managed

waterfowl impoundments, hunters shall not enter the posted

impoundment areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted

hunting dates, and hunting is prohibited after 1:00 p.m. on

such hunting dates; decoys may not be set out prior to 4:00

a.m. and must be removed by 3:00 p.m. each day. No

person shall operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an

internal combustion engine on a managed waterfowl im-

poundment.

No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any

bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part

thereof, or possess any bird or animal which has been so

mutilated.

N'o person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game

land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written

authorization of the commission or its agent. A decision to

grant or deny authorization shall be made based on the best

management practices for the wildlife species in question.

No person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or

game animals attracted to such foods.

No live wild animals or wild birds shall be removed from

any game land.

(e) Hunting Dates: For purposes of this Section "East-

em" season refers to seasons set for those counties or parts

of counties listed in 15A NCAC 10B .0203(b)(1)(A);

"Central" season refers to seasons set for those counties or

parts of counties listed in 15A NCAC 10B .0203(b)(1)(D);

"Northwestern" season refers to seasons set for those

counties or parts of counties listed in 15A NCAC 10B

.0203(b)(1)(B); "Western" season refers to seasons set for

those counties or parts of counties listed in 15A NCAC 10B

.0203(b)(1)(C).

(1) Doves may be taken on the following game

lands and dove hunting is limited to Mondays.

Wednesdays. Saturdays and to Thanksgiving,

Christmas and New Year's Days within the

federally-announced season:

Guilford Count}'—Guilford Count}' Farm Game
Land

Lenoir County—Caswell Farm Game Land

(2) Any game may be taken during the open seasons

on the following game lands and hunting is

limited to Mondays, Wednesdays. Saturdays and

Thanksgiving. Christmas and New Year's Days.

In addition, deer may be taken with bow and

arrow on the opening da}' of the bow and arrow

season for deer. Special hunts on other davs

may also be set up for participants in the Dis-

abled Sportsman Program. Raccoon and opos-

sum hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on

Tuesdays, until 7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and

until midnight on Saturdays. Additional restric-

tions apply as indicated in parentheses following

specific designations:

Ashe Count}—Carson Woods Game Land

Bladen Count}—Bladen Lakes State Forest Game
Lands (Handguns ma}' not be carried and. except

for muzzle-loaders, rifles larger than .22 caliber

rimfire may not be used or possessed. On the

Breece Tract and the Singletan' Tract deer and

bear may be taken only by still hunting. Deer

of either sex ma}' be taken Mondays. Wednes-

days, and Saturdays from the first Wednesday

after Thanksgiving through the following

Wednesday. Deer of either sex ma}' also be

taken the Saturday preceding Eastern bow season

with bow and arrow and the Friday preceding

the Eastern muzzle-loading season with any legal

weapon (with weapons exceptions described in

this Paragraph) by participants in the Disabled

Sportsman Program. Wild turkey hunting is by

permit only.)

Caswell Count}—Caswell Game Land—(Deer of

either sex may also be taken the Friday preced-

ing the Central muzzle-loading season by partici-

pants in the Disabled Sportsman Program.)

Catawba and Iredell Counties—Catawba Game
Land (No deer may be taken from the tract

known as Island Point and deer may be taken

with bow and arrow only from the tract known

as Molly's backbone.)

Onslow Count}—White Oak River Impoundment

Game Land (In addition to the dates above

indicated, waterfowl may be taken on the open-

ing and closing days of the applicable waterfowl

seasons.

)

Pender County—Holly Shelter Game Land (In

addition to the dates above indicated, waterfowl

ma}' be taken on the opening and closing days of

the applicable waterfowl seasons. Deer of either

sex may be taken on Mondays. Wednesdays,

and Saturdays from the first Wednesday after

Thanksgiving through the fourth Saturday after

Thanksgiving.) Deer of either sex ma}' also be

taken the Friday preceding the Eastern muzzle-

loading season with any legal weapon and the

Saturday preceding Eastern bow season with

bow and arrow by participants in the Disabled

Sportsman Program.)

Richmond. Scotland and Moore Coun-

ties—Sandhills Game Land (The regular gun

season for deer consists of the open hunting

dates from the second Monday before Thanks-
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giving to the third Saturday after Thanksgiving

except on the field trial grounds where the gun

season is from the second Monday before

Thanksgiving to the Saturday following Thanks-

giving. Deer may be taken with bow and arrow

on all open hunting dates during the bow and

arrow season, as well as during the regular gun

season. Deer may be taken with muzzle-loading

firearms on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday

of the second week before Thanksgiving week,

and during the regular gun season. Either sex

deer hunting with any legal weapon is permitted

on all areas the Thursday and Friday prior to the

muzzle-loading season described in this Para-

graph for participants in the Disabled Sportsman

Program. Except for the deer seasons above

indicated and the managed either-sex permit

hunts, the field trial grounds are closed to all

hunting during the period October 22 to March

31. In addition to the regular hunting days,

waterfowl may be taken on the opening and

closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. Dove

hunting on the field trial grounds will be prohib-

ited from the second Sunday in September

through the remainder of the hunting season.)

Robeson County—Robeson Game Land

Robeson County—Bullard and Branch Hunting

Preserve Game Land

Sampson County—Sampson Game Lands

Stokes County—Sauratown Plantation Game
Land

Wayne County—Cherry Farm Game Land, the

use of centerfire rifles and handguns is prohib-

ited

Yadkin County—Huntsville Community Farms

Game Land

(3) Any game may be taken on the following game

lands during the open season, except that:

(A) Bears may not be taken on lands designated

and posted as bear sanctuaries;

(B) Wild boar may not be taken with the use of

dogs on such bear sanctuaries, and wild boar

may be hunted only during the bow and arrow

seasons, the muzzle-loading deer season and

the regular gun season on male deer on bear

sanctuaries;

(C) On game lands open to deer hunting located in

or west of the counties of Rockingham,

Guilford, Randolph, Montgomery and Anson,

the following rules apply to the use of dogs

during the regular season for hunting deer with

guns:

(i) Except for the counties of Cherokee, Clay,

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk,

and Swain, game birds may be hunted

with dogs.

(ii) In the counties of Cherokee, Clay, Gra-

ham, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk, and

Swain, small game in season may be

hunted with dogs on all game lands except

on bear sanctuaries;

(D) On Croatan, Jordan, and Shearon Harris Game
Lands, and posted waterfowl impoundments on

Goose Creek Game Lands, waterfowl may be

taken only on Mondays, Wednesdays, Satur-

days; on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New
Year's Days; and on the opening and closing

days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

After November 1, on the Pamlico Point,

Campbell Creek, and Spring Creek impound-

ments, located on the Goose Creek Game
Lands, a special permit is required for hunting

on opening and closing days of the duck sea-

sons, Saturdays of the duck seasons, and on

Thanksgiving and New Year's day;

(E) On the posted waterfowl impoundments of

Gull Rock Game Land hunting of any species

of wildlife is limited to Mondays, Wednes-

days, Saturdays; Thanksgiving, Christmas, and

New Year's Days; and the opening and closing

days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;

(F) On bear sanctuaries in and west of Madison,

Buncombe, Henderson and Polk Counties dogs

may not be trained or allowed to run unleashed

between March 1 and October 1 1

;

(G) On Anson, Chatham, Jordan, New Lake, Pee

Dee River, Pungo River, Shearon Harris and

Gull Rock Game Lands deer of either sex may
be taken from the first Wednesday after

Thanksgiving through the third Saturday after

Thanksgiving.

(H) On Burner-Falls of Neuse and Person Game
Lands waterfowl may be taken only on Tues-

days, Thursdays and Saturdays, Christmas and

New Year's Days, and on the opening and

closing days of the applicable waterfowl sea-

sons;

(I) On Alcoa southeast of NC 49, Angola Bay,

Butner-Falls of Neuse, Goose Creek, Hofmann

Forest, Sutton Lake and Uwharrie Game
Lands deer of either sex may be taken from

the first Wednesday after Thanksgiving

through the following Saturday;

(J) On Croatan and Neuse River Game Lands deer

of either sex may be taken from the first

Wednesday after Thanksgiving through the

following Tuesday;

(K) On Croatan Game Lands in Jones and Craven

Counties bear season extends from the second

Monday in November to the following Satur-

day;

(L) (K^Horseback riding is allowed on the Caswell

and Thurmond Chatham game lands only
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during June, July, and August and on Sundays

during the remainder of the year except during

open turkey and deer seasons. Horseback

riding is allowed only on roads opened to

vehicular traffic. Participants must obtain a

game lands license prior to engaging in such

activity;

(M) (t)On the posted waterfowl impoundments on

the Jordan and Butner-Falls of Neuse game

lands a special permit is required for all water-

fowl hunting.

(N) (M)Additional restrictions or modifications

apply as indicated in parentheses following

specific designations:

Alexander and Caldwell Counties—Brushy

Mountains Game Lands

Anson County—Anson Game Land

Anson, Montgomery, Richmond and Stanly

Counties—Pee Dee River Game Lands (Use of

centerfire rifles prohibited in that portion in

Anson and Richmond counties N. of US-74.)

Ashe County—Elk Ridge Game Lands

Ashe County—Cherokee Game Lands

Ashe and Watauga Counties—Elk Knob Game
Land

Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell,

Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Madison,

McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania. Watauga

and Yancey Counties—Pisgah Game Lands

(Harmon Den and Sherwood Bear Sanctuaries

in Haywood County are closed to hunting

raccoon, opossum and wildcat. Training

raccoon and opossum dogs is prohibited from

March 1 to October 1 1 in that part of Madison

Count}' north of the French Broad River, south

of US 25-70 and west of SR 1319.)

Bertie—Bertie Count}' Game Land

Bertie, Halifax and Martin Counties—Roanoke

River Wetlands (Hunting is by Permit only.

Vehicles are prohibited on roads or trails

except those operated on official Commission

business or by permit holders.)

Bertie and Washington Counties—Bachelor Bay

Game Lands

Beaufort and Pamlico Counties—Goose Creek

Game Land

Brunswick County—Green Swamp Game Land

Burke and Cleveland Counties—South Moun-

tains Game Lands

Caldwell. Watauga and Wilkes Coun-

ties—Yadkin Game Land

Carteret. Craven and Jones Counties—Croatan

Game Lands

Chatham County—Chatham Game Land

Chatham. Durham, Orange, and Wake Coun-

ties—Jordan Game Lands (On areas posted as

"archery zones" hunting is limited to bow and

arrow. Horseback riding, including all equine

species, is prohibited. Target shooting is

prohibited.)

Chatham and Wake Counties—Shearon Harris

Game Land

Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon,

Swain and Transylvania Counties—Nantahala

Game Lands. Raccoon and opossum may be

hunted only from sunset Friday until sunrise

on Saturday and from sunset until 12:00 mid-

night on Saturday on Fires Creek Bear Sanctu-

ary in Clay County and in that part of Chero-

kee County north of US 64 and NC 294, east

of Persimmon Creek and Hiwassee Lake,

south of Hiwassee Lake and west of Nottely

River; in the same part of Cherokee Count}'

dog training is prohibited from March 1 to

October 11. It is unlawful to train dogs or

allow dogs to run unleased on any game land

in Graham County between March 1 and

October 11.

Chowan County—Chowan Game Land

Cleveland County—Gardner-Webb Game Land

Craven County—Neuse River Game Land

Currituck County—North River Game Land

Currituck County—Northwest River Marsh

Game Land

Dare County—Dare Game Land (No hunting

on posted parts of bombing range. The use

and training of dogs is prohibited from March

1 through June 30.)

Davidson, Davie, Montgomery. Rowan and

Stanly Counties—Alcoa Game Land

Davidson County—Linwood Game Land

Davidson. Montgomery and Randolph Coun-

ties—Uwharrie Game Land

Duplin and Pender Counties—Angola Bay

Game Land

Durham, Granville and Wake Coun-

ties—Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land (On

that part marked as the Penny Bend Rabbit

Research Area no hunting is permitted.

Horseback riding, including all equine species,

is prohibited. Target shooting is prohibited.)

Gates County—Chowan Swamp Game Land

Henderson. Polk and Rutherford Coun-

ties—Green River Game Lands

Hyde County—Gull Rock Game Land

Hyde County—Pungo River Game Land

Hyde and Tyrrell Counties—New Lake Game
Land

Jones and Onslow Counties—Hofmann Forest

Game Land

Lee County—Lee Game Land

McDowell and Rutherford Coun-

ties—Dysartsville Game Lands

Moore County—Moore Game Land
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New Hanover County—Sutton Lake Game
Land

Pender County—Northeast Cape Fear Game
Land

Person County—Person Game Land

Transylvania County—Toxaway Game Land

(Deer of either sex may be taken with a bow

and arrow on the Saturday prior to the first

segment of the Western bow and arrow season

by participants of the Disabled Sportsman

Program.)

Tyrrell and Washington Counties—Lantern

Acres Game Land

Vance County—Vance Game Land. (The use

of dogs, centerfire rifles and handguns for

hunting deer is prohibited on the Nutbush

Peninsula tract of Vance Game Lands.)

Wilkes County—Thurmond Chatham Game
Land (Deer of either sex may be taken with

bow and arrow on the Saturday prior to North-

western bow and arrow season by participants

of the Disabled Sportsman Program.)

(4) Deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt

dates indicated by holders of permits to partici-

pate in managed hunts scheduled and conducted

in accordance with this Subparagraph on the

game lands or portions of game lands included

in the following schedule:

Thursday and Friday of the week before Thanks-

giving Week:

Sandhills east of US 1

Sandhills west of US 1

Application forms for permits to participate in

managed deer hunts on game lands, together

with pertinent information and instructions, may

be obtained from hunting and fishing license

agents and from the Wildlife Resources Com-
mission. Completed applications must be re-

ceived by the Commission not later than the first

day of September next preceding the dates of

hunt. Permits are issued by random computer

selection, are mailed to the permittees prior to

the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter

making a kill must tag the deer and report the

kill to a wildlife cooperator agent.

(5) The following game land and refuges are closed

to all hunting except to those individuals who
have obtained a valid and current permit from

the Wildlife Resources Commission:

Bertie, Halifax and Martin Counties—

Roanoke River Wetlands;

Bertie County—Roanoke River National

Wildlife Refuge.

Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those

parts of bombing range posted against

hunting)

Davie—Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl

Refuge

Gaston, Lincoln and Mecklenburg Coun-

ties—Cowan's Ford Waterfowl Refuge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2;

113-291.5; 113-305.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Department of

Transportation intends to amend rule cited as 19A NCAC 2D
.0801.

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 1995.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing (must

be requested in writing within 15 days of notice): A demand

for a public hearing must be made in writing and mailed to

Emily Lee, N.C. DOT, PO Box 25201, Raleigh, NC 27611.

The demand must be received within 15 days of this Notice.

Reason for Proposed Action: The changes reflect a

reorganization in the Division of Highways and the necessity

for bidders to requalify biennially rather than annually.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may submit

written comments on the proposed rule by mailing the

comments to Emily Lee, N.C. DOT, PO Box 25201, Ra-

leigh, NC 27611 , within 30 days after the proposed rule is

published or until the date ofany public hearing held on the

proposed rule, whichever is longer.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS

SUBCHAPTER 2D - HIGHWAY OPERATIONS

SECTION ,0800 - PREQUALIFICATION:
ADVERTISING AND BIDDING REGULATIONS

.0801 PREQUALIFYING TO BID:

REQUALIFICATION
(a) In order to ensure that contracts are awarded to

responsible bidders, prospective bidders shall prequalify

with the Department. The requirements for prequalification

are as follows:

(1) Applicant must submit a completed NCDOT
Experience Questionnaire along with any addi-

tional supporting information requested by the

Department.

(2) Applicant must demonstrate that he has sufficient

ability and experience in related highway con-
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struction projects to perform the work specified

in NCDOT contracts, including the type and

dollar value of previous contracts.

(3) Applicant must demonstrate a history of success-

ful performance and completion of projects in a

timely manner, subject to contractual time

adjustments.

(4) Applicant must demonstrate the financial ability

to furnish bonds as specified in G.S. 44A-26.

(5) Applicant must demonstrate sufficient available

equipment to perform highway construction

contracts in a timely manner.

(6) Applicant must demonstrate sufficient available

experienced personnel to perform highway

construction contracts. The identities and quali-

fications of both management and labor work

force shall be provided.

(7) Applicant must provide names and addresses of

persons for whom the firm has performed re-

lated type work. Responses from the references

must be on Department of Transportation forms

and must be received by the Department prior to

evaluating the request for prequalification.

(8) Applicant must provide any information re-

quested concerning the corporate and operational

management structure of the company, the

identity of persons or entities owning stock or

other equity interest in the company, and the

relationship between the applicant and any other

company prequalified with the Department or

applying for prequalification.

Any prospective bidder, not prequalified, may request a

NCDOT Experience Questionnaire form from the State

Highway Construction and Materials Contractual Sen-ices

Engineer, Division of Highways, Department of Transporta-

tion. P.O. Box 25201, Raleigh, NC 27611. The Experience

Questionnaire form must be completed in its entirety and

signed by an officer of the firm; the officer's signature shall

be notarized. In addition to submitting the Experience

Questionnaire form as set forth in this Rule, the prospective

bidder shall submit supporting information in a format of

his'her choosing to address the requirements listed in this

Rule. All required statements and documents shall be filed

with the State Highway Construction and Materials Engineer

by the prospective bidder at least two weeks prior to the

date of opening of bids. A bid shall not be opened unless

all prequalification requirements have been met by the

bidder and have been found to be acceptable by the Chief

Engineer-Operations.

(b) Upon a determination by the Department that all

prequalification requirements have been met, the applicant

shall be assigned a Prequalification Number. This

Prequalification Number shall thereafter be assigned to all

applicants for prequalification or requalification which the

Department determines are under sufficient common
ownership and management control to warrant

prequalification as a single entity. This determination by the

Department shall be based on the information submitted with

the Experience Questionnaire and any other information

obtained by the Department.

(c) Bidders shall comply with all applicable laws regulat-

ing the practice of general contracting as contained in G.S.

87.

(d) All bidders must requalify annually biennially . To
requalify, the prospective bidder must submit a completed

Experience Questionnaire form, acceptable to the State

Highway Construction and Materials Engineer, on or before

the anniversary date of the original prequalification.

Experience Questionnaire forms shall be furnished approxi-

mately 30 days prior to the anniversary date and must be

completed and executed in the same manner as the original

form. The Experience Questionnaire form shall be submit-

ted to the State Contractual Services Engineer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 136-18(1); 136-28.1; 136-44.1;

136-45; 143B-350(f).

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS

CHAPTER 8 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC
ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina State Board of

Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to amend
rules cited as 21 NCAC 8F .0105; 8G .0401; 8J .0005,

.0008; 8M .0102, .0104, .0306, .0401; 8N .0203, .0302,

.0307; and adopt 21 NCAC 8F .0113.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on June

19, 1995 at the NC State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101

Oberlin Road, Suite 104, Raleigh. NC 27605.

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 8F .0105 - Establishes the requirements for re-

exam candidates affected by statute change.

21 NCAC 8F .0113 - Establishes the time frame for request

for a review of an examination.

21 NCAC 8G .0401 - Clarifies a reference within the rule.

21 NCAC 8J .0005 - Changes a reference within the rule.

21 NCAC 8J .0008 - Clarifies the types of information to be

included with firm registration.

21 NCAC 8M .0102 - Clarifies the annual SQR registration

requirements for firms.

21 NCAC 8M .0104 - Updates the list of quality review

programs required by the Board.

21 NCAC 8M .0306 - Clarifies the type of information to be

included with an SQR report.

21 NCAC 8M .0401 - Clarifies the types of information to

be reviewed by the SQR Committee.

21 NCAC 8N .0203 - Sets out the types of conduct which
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are considered discreditable.

21 NCAC 8N .0302 - Clarifies the requirements of a CPA
providing ancillary practice services.

21 NCAC 8N .0307 - Clarifies the requirements for firm

names and style ofpractice.

Comment Procedures: Any person interested in these rules

may present written comments to the Board office no later

than 8:30 a.m. on June 19, 1995. Anyone planning to

attend or present oral comments relevant to the action

proposed at the public rule-making hearing should notify the

receptionist at the Board office by noon on June 2, 1995.

Those individuals wishing to make oral comments should

indicate which proposals they are speaking to and whether

they will speak in favor or against the proposal. Anyone

speaking on the proposals will be limited to a total of 10

minutes.

Fiscal Note: These Rules do not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SUBCHAPTER 8F - REQUIREMENTS FOR
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT
EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATE

APPLICANTS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0105 CONDITIONING REQUIREMENTS
(a) Passing Grades. A candidate shall be required to pass

all sections of the examination with a grade of 75 or higher.

(b) Conditional Credit. If a candidate does not pass all of

the sections in one sitting, conditional credit can be retained

for passed sections subject to the following:

(1) No conditional credit can be retained until the

candidate has first passed at least two sections in

one sitting;

(2) To receive conditional credit for any section the

candidate must sit for and make a grade of at

least 50 on all unpassed sections; and

(3) The conditional credit is good through the six

succeeding times the exam is offered by the

Board.

(c) Military Service. A candidate who was or is in active

military service after receiving conditional credit shall have

only those exams for which that candidate applied and was

approved during active military service counted as succeed-

ing examinations.

(d) Section Equivalency. For purposes of conditional

credit, the following pre- and post-May 1994 exam sections

are equivalent:

(1) accounting practice equals accounting and re-

porting;

(2) accounting theory equals financial accounting

and reporting;

(3) auditing equals auditing; and

(4) business law equals business law and profes-

sional responsibilities.

(e) A candidate who has conditional credit prior to

January Xi 1997, may continue to apply to sit for the

examination as long as the conditional credit is valid. A
candidate who no longer has valid conditional credit after

January J^ 1997, will be required to meet all education

requirements in effect at the time of their subsequent

application.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5).

.0113 CANDIDATE'S REQUEST TO REVIEW
UNIFORM CPA EXAMINATION

The Board will allow a North Carolina candidate to

request a review of the Uniform CPA Examination. The

request for a review must be made no later than 60 days

after the uniform national grade release date of the examina-

tion in question.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(3).

SUBCHAPTER 8G - CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL
EDUCATION (CPE)

SECTION .0400 - CPE REQUIREMENTS

.0401 CPE REQUIREMENTS FOR CPAS
(a) In order for a CPA to receive CPE credit for a

course:

(1) the CPA must attend or complete the course;

(2) the course must meet the requirements set out in

21 NCAC 8G .0404(a) or (d); and

(3) the course must increase the professional compe-

tency of the CPA.

(b) The Board approves sponsors of CPE courses and not

particular courses. A CPE course provided by an approved

sponsor is presumed to meet the CPE requirements set forth

in 21 NCAC 8G .0404(a) if the sponsor has indicated that

the course meets those requirements. However, it is up to

the individual CPAs attending the course and desiring to

claim CPE credit for it to assess whether it increases their

professional competency.

(c) A course that increases the professional competency

of a CPA is a course in an area of accounting in which the

CPA practices or is planning to practice in the near future,

or in the area of professional ethics or an area related to the

profession, and is taught at a level which challenges the

CPA.

(d) Because of differences in the education and experience

of CPAs, a course may contribute to the professional

competence of one CPA but not another. Each CPA must

therefore exercise judgment in selecting courses for which

CPE credit is claimed and choose only those that contribute

to that CPA's professional competence.

(e) Active CPAs must complete 40 CPE hours, computed

in accordance with 21 NCAC 8G .0409, by December 31 of

each year, except as follows:
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( 1

)

CPAs having certificate applications approved by

the Board in April-June must complete 30 CPE
hours during the same calendar year.

(2) CPAs having certificate applications approved by

the Board in July-September must complete 20

CPE hours during the same calendar year.

(3) CPAs having certificate applications approved by

the Board in October-December must complete

10 CPE hours during the same calendar year.

(f) There are no CPE requirements for retired or inactive

CPAs.

(g) Any CPE hours completed during the calendar year

in which the certificate is approved may be used for that

year's requirement even if the hours were completed before

the certificate was granted. When a CPA has completed

more than the required number of hours of CPE in any one

calendar year, the extra hours, not in excess of 20 hours,

may be carried forward and treated as hours earned in the

following year.

(h) Any CPE hours used to satisfy the requirements for

change of status as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0005 (b)-ef

(e), for reinstatement as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0006, or

for application for a new certificate as set forth in 21 NCAC
81 .0004 may also be used to satisfy the annual CPE
requirement set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule.

(i) It is the CPA's responsibility to maintain records

substantiating the CPE credits claimed for the current year

and for each of the four calendar years prior to the current

year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(8b).

SUBCHAPTER 8J - RENEWALS AND
REGISTRATIONS

.0005 RETIRED AND INACTIVE STATUS:
CHANGE OF STATUS

(a) A CPA may apply to the Board for change of

status to retired status or inactive status provided the

CPA meets the description of the appropriate status as

defined in 21 NCAC 8A .0301. Application for any

status change may be made on the annual certificate

renewal form or another form provided by the Board.

(b) A CPA who does not meet the description of

inactive or retired as defined in 21 NCAC 8A .0301 may

not be or remain on inactive or retired status.

(c) A CPA on retired status may change to active

status by:

(1) paying the certificate renewal fee for the

license year in which the application for

change of status is received; and

(2) furnishing the Board with evidence of satisfac-

tory completion of 40 hours of acceptable

CPE courses during the 12 month period

immediately preceding the application for

change of status. Eight of the required hours

must be credits derived from a course or

examination in North Carolina accountancy

statutes and rules (including the Code of

Professional Ethics and Conduct contained

therein) as set forth in 21 NCAC 8G .0401 (a)

8F .0504 .

(d) A CPA on retired status may change to inactive

status by surrendering his or her certificate.

(e) Any individual on inactive status may change to

active status by complying with the requirements of 21

NCAC 8J .0006(c).

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(8); 93-1 2(8b).

.0008 FIRM REGISTRATION
(a) All CPA firms must register with the Board within 30

days after opening a North Carolina office or beginning a

new firm unless they are a professional corporation,

professional limited liability company, or registered limited

liability partnership, in which case they must register prior

to formation pursuant to 21 NCAC 8K .0104.

(b) In addition to the initial registration required by

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all CPA firms must register

annually by January 3 1 with the Board upon forms provided

by the Board.

(c) The information provided by the registration shall

include:

(1) Either an application for exemption from SQR,

a request to be deemed in compliance with SQR
or registration for SQR, pursuant to 21 NCAC
8M .0102 and .0104;

(2) For all firms not exempt from the SQR pro-

gram, with the registration immediately follow-

ing its review, the affidavit statement required

by 21 NCAC 8M .0102(d);

(3) For all North Carolina offices, an office regis-

tration form indicating the name of the office

supervisor, the location of the office and its

telephone number;

(4) For all partnerships or registered limited liability

partnerships, a list of all resident and nonresi-

dent partners of the partnership;

(5) For all professional limited liability companies,

the information set forth in 21 NCAC 8K
.0104(d);

(6) For all incorporated firms, the information set

forth in 21 NCAC 8K .0104(d);

(7) For all firms, the appropriate registration fees

as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0010; and

(8) For all new firms, the percentage of ownership

held individually by each partner, shareholder,

or member:

(A) in the new firm; and

(B) at the year-end in each firm in which that

partner, member, or shareholder was a part-

ner, member, or shareholder during the pre-

ceding two years.
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(d) All information provided for registration with the

Board shall pertain to events of and action taken during the

year preceding the year of registration. The last day of the

preceding calendar year is the "year-end".

(e) With regard to Paragraph (c)(3) of this Rule, one

representative of a firm may file all documents with the

Board on behalf of the firm's offices in North Carolina.

However, responsibility for compliance with this Rule will

remain with each office supervisor.

(0 With regard to Paragraph (c)(4) or (c)(5) of this Rule,

one annual listing by a representative of the partnership,

registered limited liability partnership, or professional

limited liability company shall satisfy the requirement for all

partners or members of the firm. However, each partner or

member shall remain responsible for compliance with this

Rule. The absence of a filing under Paragraph (c)(4) or

(c)(5) of this Rule shall be construed to mean that no

partnership, registered limited liability partnership, or

professional limited liability company exists.

(g) Notice that a firm has dissolved or any change in the

information required by Paragraph (c)(3) of this Rule must

be delivered to the Board's office within 30 days after the

change or dissolution occurs.

(h) Upon written petition by a firm, the Board may. in its

discretion, grant the firm a conditional registration for a

period of 60 days or less, if the firm shows that circum-

stances beyond its control prohibited it from registering with

the Board, completing a quality review or notifying the

Board of change or dissolution pursuant to Paragraphs (a),

(b), (c), and (g) of this Rule. The Board may grant a

second extension under continued extenuating circumstances.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-12; 57C-1; 57C-2; 59-

84.2; 93-12(8a); 93-12(8c).

SUBCHAPTER 8M - STATE QUALITY REVIEW PROGRAM

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL SQR REQUIREMENTS

.0102 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
(a) A firm which has not performed any audits, reviews or compilations during the 12 months prior to the year-end of

the registration required by 21 NCAC 8J .0008(a) and (b) shall be exempt from the SQR program for the 12 months

following the year-end but not from registering with the Board.

(b) Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each ongoing firm must complete an SQR within 12 months following

the year-end of each registration unless it has completed an SQR within 24 months prior to the year-end.

(c) Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a new firm shall complete its initial SQR within 24 months of the

date of its initial registration pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0008(a).

(d) Every firm not exempt from SQR by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, after completion the exit conference of a quality

review, must procure an affidavit a statement signed by the review team captain, a statement signed by a member of the firm

being reviewed, or letter of acceptance from an approved review program, stating that the firm has completed an SQR or

one of the review programs listed or referred to in 21 NCAC 8M .0104. The firm shall submit the affidavit statement or

documentation with the annual registration following the review as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0008(c)(2).

(e) For purposes of this Rule, an SQR is complete when the review team has delivered its report required by 21 NCAC
8M .0306 to the reviewed firm. Any quality review other than SQR is complete when the review team has delivered its final

report to the reviewed firm. If mailed, a report shall be deemed delivered when postmarked.

Note: For example, firm C was incorporated on June 1 , year one. During that year it performed accounting and auditing

services and, therefore, was not exempt from the SQR program. It continued to do auditing and accounting work for the

next three years (years two, three and four) but it did not do any audits, reviews, or compilations in years five and six. In

year seven, the firm completed several compilations but, in year eight, it did not issue any audits, reviews, or compilations.

In year nine, the corporation dissolved, at which time it notified the Board of its dissolution pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J

.0008(g). The following chart shows the history of firm C as it relates to the SQR program, SQR fees it was required to

pay pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0010, and when and why it was required to complete an SQR pursuant to this Rule.

Year Audits, Reviews or

Compilations Performed

Fee Completion of SQR
Required and Rationale

2

3

Yes

Yes

Yes

SQR Fee

SQR Fee

SQR Fee

A new firm has 24 months to complete SQR
- 21 NCAC 8M .0102(c); the firm is re-

quired to

complete SQR before June 1, year 3.

Completes SQR on May 15, year 3 (within

24 months of its inception) 21 NCAC 8M
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Yes

No

No

Yes

SQR Fee

Exempt Fee

Exempt Fee

SQR Fee

.0102(c).

Not required to complete SQR in year 5 because

the firm completed SQR on May 15, year 3 i

(within 24 months of year-end of year 4) - 21 "

NCAC 8M .0102(b).

No

Yes

Will not be required to complete SQR in year 6

because it is exempt - 21 NCAC 8M .0102(a).

Not required to complete SQR in year 7 because

it is exempt - 21 NCAC 8M .0102(a).

Will be required to complete SQR in year 8

because it has not completed SQR within 24

months of year-end of year 7 (last SQR was

completed May 15. year 3) - 21 NCAC 8M
.0102(b).

Exempt Fee Completes SQR pursuant to its registration in

year 7-21 NCAC 8M .0102(b).

Not required to register or pay a fee at year-end

of year 9 because firm dissolved during year 9

and properly notified the Board - 21 NCAC 8J

.0008(g).

No Fee

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(7b); 93-1 2(8c).

.0104 FIRMS DEEMED EV COMPLIANCE
(a) Firms which have participated in one of the review

programs set forth in either Paragraph (Id) of this Rule or

the list referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, rather

than SQR, within the applicable time period prescribed

by 21 NCAC 8M .0102(b) and (c) are deemed to be in

compliance with the SQR program.

(b) The following quality review programs are found

by the Board to be of the type required by the Board in

its SQR program:

( 1 ) AICPA Division for CPA Firms SEC Practice

Section, and

<-2-> AICPA—Division—fef

—

CPA—Firms—Private

Companie s Practice Section, and

(2) 0} AICPA Quality Peer Review Program.

(c) Other quality review programs may be of the type

required by the Board in its SQR program. A list of

such programs will be maintained at the Board offices

and mailed to any firm upon request.

(d) Pursuant to G.S. 93-12(8c), a firm which contem-

plates undergoing a quality review program other than

the SQR program or those listed or referred to in Para-

graphs (b) and (c) of this Rule may request a determina-

tion from the Board whether the quality review program

is of the type required by the Board in the SQR program.

The firm shall supply all information requested of it by

the Board and, within two months of the month all

information requested has been received by the Board, I

the Board shall make its determination and notify the

firm.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(8c)(e).

SECTION .0300 - REVIEW TEAM:
QUALIFICATIONS AND DUTIES

.0306 REPORTrNG REQUIREMENTS
(a) The review team shall deliver an SQR report and the

affidavit statement required by 21 NCAC 8M .0102(d) to

the participating firm within 60 days after all of the engage-

ments which are to be reviewed have been delivered to it.

Beginning January 1. 1996, the review team shall also

deliver its SQR report to the SQR Advisory Committee by

the same date.

(b) The SQR report and a letter of comment, if any, shall

be written and issued on the letterhead of the team captain's

firm and shall either be unmodified, modified, or adverse.

(c) It is suggested that a letter of comment be issued if

the report is modified or adverse. A letter of comment, if

issued, shall provide reasonably detailed recommendations

for remedial, corrective actions by the participating firm so

that the SQR Committee can evaluate whether the firm's

response to significant deficiencies noted in the review is a
|

positive one, consistent with the objectives of the SQR
"

program, and whether the actions taken or planned by the
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participating firm appear appropriate in the circumstances.

(d) The SQR report shall describe the limited scope of the

review and shall not express an opinion or any form of

assurance about the reviewed firm's quality control policies

and procedures for its accounting practice. It shall state

whether anything came to the attention of the review team

which caused them to believe that any of the engagements

submitted for review did not conform with the requirements

of professional standards in all material respects and, if

applicable, describe the general nature of significant depar-

tures from those standards.

(e) An unmodified report includes the review team's

conclusion that nothing came to its attention that caused its

members to believe that the engagements submitted for

review did not conform with the requirements of profes-

sional standards in all material respects.

(f) A modified report includes the review team's conclu-

sion that nothing came to its attention that caused its

members to believe that the engagements submitted for

review did not conform with the requirements of profes-

sional standards in all material respects with the exception

of certain reservations which are noted in the report.

(g) An adverse report includes the review team's conclu-

sion that the participating firm did not have reasonable

assurance of conforming with professional standards in the

conduct of its accounting practice during the year under

review.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1 2(8c).

SECTION .0400 - SQR ADVISORY COMMITTEE

.0401 SQR ADVISORY COMMITTEE -

MEMBERS AND DUTIES
(a) The SQR Advisory Committee shall consist of six

CPAs appointed by the Board and one Board member

appointed by the Board's President.

(b) The SQR Committee shall:

(1) review all initial firm registrations submitted to

the Board pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0008(a);

(2) review all affidavits statements submitted by

review team captains to the reviewed firm

pursuant to 21 NCAC 8M .0102(d) and submit-

ted to the Board pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J

.0008(c)(2);

(3) beginning January 1, 1996, review all modified

and adverse SQR reports and letters of com-

ments, if any, submitted by review team captains

under the SQR program;

(4) consider all objections filed pursuant to 21

NCAC 8M .0402(a); and

(5) make recommendations to the Board consistent

with these Rules concerning each of Subpara-

graphs (b)(1) through (4).

(c) Prior to making any recommendations to the Board,

the Committee shall give notice of its proposed recommen-

dation to the firm to which the recommendation pertains.

(d) The Committee shall also recommend remedial action

to participating firms receiving modified or adverse reports

which, if followed, could increase the participating firm's

ability to perform quality services in the public practice of

accounting.

(e) The Committee shall report at least annually to the

Board on its activities and, further, at any time the Board

requests a special report.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(2); 93-1 2(8c).

SUBCHAPTER 8N - PROFESSIONAL ETHICS
AND CONDUCT

SECTION .0200 - RULES APPLICABLE TO
ALL CPAs

.0203 DISCREDITABLE CONDUCT PROHIBITED
(a) Discreditable Conduct. A CPA shall not engage in

conduct discreditable to the accounting profession.

(b) Prohibited Discreditable Conduct. Discreditable

conduct includes but is not limited to:

(1) acts that reflect adversely on the CPA's honesty,

integrity, trustworthiness, good moral character,

or fitness as a CPA in other respects; &e

(2) stating or implying an ability to improperly

influence a governmental agency or official; or

official.

(3) failing to comply with any order issued by the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9).

SECTION .0300 - RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL
CPAs WHO USE THE CPA TITLE IN OFFERING
OR RENDERING PRODUCTS OR SERVICES TO

CLIENTS

.0302 FORMS OF PRACTICE
(a) Authorized Forms of Practice. A CPA shall not

directly or indirectly offer or render accounting services

(including tax and management advisory services) to clients

except through a duly authorized CPA sole proprietorship,

partnership of CPAs, CPA Professional Corporation,

Professional Limited Liability Company, or Registered

Limited Liability Partnership.

(b) Authorized Partners. A CPA shall not engage in the

public practice of accountancy with a partner who is anyone

other than the holder of an unrevoked and currently valid

CPA certificate.

(c) Ancillary Practice. A CPA may, through another

lawful form of professional practice, offer or render such

non-attest accounting services as are ancillary to another

learned profession regulated by a statutorily authorized

licensing board in this state; further provided, the CPA is

licensed by the respective licensing board and offers or

renders those services through a business form authorized
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by the respective licensing board and does not hold out the

non-CPA firm as CPA firm. Any such CPA must neverthe-

less register for SQR as an exempt individual practitioner.

(d) Firm Registration Required. A CPA shall not engage

in the public practice of accountancy through a firm which

is in violation of the registration requirements of 21 NCAC
8J .0008, 8J .0010, or the SQR requirements of 21 NCAC
8M .0102.

(e) Supervision of CPA Offices. Every CPA office or

CPA firm in North Carolina shall be actively and locally

supervised by a designated actively licensed North Carolina

CPA whose primary responsibility and a corresponding

amount of time shall be work performed in that office.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9).

.0307 FIRM NAMES
(a) Deceptive Names Prohibited. A CPA or CPA firm

shall not trade upon the CPA title through use of any name

that would have the capacity or tendency to deceive.

fb) Style of Practice. It is considered misleading if a firm

practices under a name or style which would tend to imply

the existence of a partnership or registered limited liability

partnership or a professional corporation or professional

limited liability company of more than one shareholder or

member or an association when in fact there is no partner-

ship nor is there more than one shareholder or member in

the firm. For example, no firm having just one owner may

have as a part of its name the words "associates" or "com-

pany" or their abbreviations.

(c) Assumed Names Subject to Approval. Before any

firm uses an assumed name (as described in G S. 66-68) it

must submit the proposed name for Board approval.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 93-12(9).

******************

CHAPTER 10 - BOARD OF
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N. C. Board of Chiropractic Exam-

iners intends to amend rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0203.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1 , 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 12:00 (noon) on

June 10. 1995 at the Holiday Inn Four Seasons, 3121 High

Point Road at 1-40, Greensboro, NC 27407.

Reason for Proposed Action: To bring the North Carolina

chiropractic examination into conformity with changes in the

examination given to all licensure applicants by the National

Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

Comment Procedures: Interested parties may file written

comments through June 14, 1995. Comments should be

addressed to:

Vance C. Kinlaw, Attorney

N. C. Board of Chiropractic Examiners

201 W. Market Street, Suite 409

Greensboro, NC 27401.

Fiscal Note: This Rule does not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHmOPRACTIC

.0203 EXAMINATIONS
(a) Eligibility. Only those applicants who meet the

requirements of G.S. 90-143, or in the case of reciprocity

applicants, G.S. 90-143.1, and who have submitted a timely

and complete written application pursuant to 21 NCAC 10

Rule .0202 shall be allowed to take the examination.

fb) Date of Examination. The examination shall be given

twice annually. The spring examination shall commence on

the first Saturday after the first Tuesday in June. The fall

examination shall commence on the first Saturday after the

first Tuesday in November. Applicants eligible for exami-

nation will be notified of the exact date, time and location

of the examination as soon as possible after their written

applications have been approved by the Board.

(c) Structure of Examination.—The examination shall be

given over a two day period.
—It ohall consist of a written

portion and an oral portion:

(+) The written portion shall include que stions on

the mandatory studios listed in G.S. 90 1 43, and

may include questions on the following addi

tional subjects : chiropractic analy s i s ,

symptomology, spinography. nutrition, x ray,

ethics , chiropractic procedures, and physiologi

oal therapeutics.

(-2) Die oral portion is intended to tost the appli

cant's proficiency in the practical aspects of

chiropractic and to augment the information

submitted in his written application.—The oral

portion may include quest ions on the following

subjects: x ray, general offico practice, chiro

practic analysi s , procedure, examination, diagno

si s , and treatment.

(34 The oral portion may be given at any time

during the examination period.—If an applicant

has not completed the written portion at the time

he is called for oral examination, ho shall bo

allowed to resume the written portion at tho

point whore he was interrupted.

(4) No portion of tho examination is open book, and

no re ference material of any kind ohall bo al

low ed in the examination area.

(c) National Boards. In order to be eligible to take the

North Carolina examination, an applicant must first have

taken and passed each of the following examinations given

by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners: Part J^
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Part 2j Part 3± Physical Therapy. It shall be the applicant's

responsibility to arrange for his test results from the

National Board examinations to be reported to the North

Carolina Board in advance of examination weekend,

(d) Acceptance of Diplomatos.—Tho writton examination

given by the North Carolina Board of Examiners is prepared

by the National Board of Examiners and is a duplication of

the national examination with the exception of questions in

x ray. jurisprudence, physiological therapeutics and diagno

si«T

—

Therefore , an applicant who has already passed tho

national—

e

xamination—and

—

been—accorded—the status—&f

Diplomate may omit all of tho North Carolina writton

xamination except those questions pertaining to x ray,

urioprudenoe ,

—physiologioal—therapeutios—and diagnosis.jurisprude

Howevor, the Diplomate must take the oral examination in

its entirety.

(+) Diplomatos seeking exemption from duplicative

portions of the written examination shall certify'

their status to tho Board prior to tho date of

examination.

f2-) Unless released early by tho Board, Diplomatos

must be present during the entire two day testing

period so that their oral examinations may be

given without disrupting the examination sched

(d) Nature of Examination. The North Carolina examina-

tion is intended to test an applicant's proficiency in the

practical aspects of chiropractic and to augment the informa-

tion submitted in his written application. The examination

is administered orally and may may include questions on the

following subjects: x-ray; general office practice; and

chiropractic analysis, procedure, examination, diagnosis and

treatment. No portion of the examination is open-book, and

no reference material of any kind shall be allowed in the

examination area.

(e) Passing Grade. To pass the examination, an applicant

must answer correctly a minimum of 65 percent of the

questions on each subject and must also answer correctly an

average of 75 percent of all the questions on the examina-

tion. An applicant who fails because of a deficiency in only

one subject may be re-examined in that subject the next time

the examination is given and shall not be required to pay

another application fee. An applicant who fails the exami-

nation for any other reason must re-take the entire examina-

tion and pay another application fee.

(0 Review of Examination Results. An applicant who
has been denied licensure because of failing examination

grades may request a review of his answers provided his

request is made in writing and received by the secretary not

later than 20 days after issuance of the examination results.

The review shall be limited to a re-tabulation of the appli-

cant's test scores to make certain no clerical errors were

made in grading. Applicants shall not be permitted to

discuss their examinations with Board members, graders or

test administrators.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.

******************

CHAPTER 37 - BOARD OF NURSING HOME
ADMINISTRATORS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina State Board of
Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators intends to

amend rules cited as 21 NCAC 37 .0101 and .0904.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing (must

be requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Anx
requestfor a public hearing on these rules must be made in

writing and directed to Jane Ahemathey, Executive Director,

N.C. State Board of Nursing Home Administrators, 3701

National Drive , Suite 123, Raleigh, NC 27612 by 4:00 p.m.

on May 31, 1995.

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 37 .0101 - To remove unnecessary language

regarding providing a copy ofBoard rules to candidates for
licensure, since a copy of such rules is included in the

application package.

21 NCAC 37 .0904 - To increase the fee required for
biennial licensure renewal.

Comment Procedures: Written comments must be submit-

ted to the Board office by 9:00 a.m. on June 14, 1995.

Fiscal Note: These Rules do not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 COPIES OF RULES
Copies of the Rules in this Chapter may be obtained

from the Office of Administrative Hearings, Raleigh,

N.C, for a small charge for duplication purposes. The
Board will provide one free copy to each licensed

administrator and candidates for licensure .

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-285.

SECTION .0900 - LICENSES

.0904 BIENNIAL REGISTRATION
REQUIREMENTS

(a) Upon making application for a new certificate of

registration a licensee shall pay a biennial licensure fee

of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) three hundred

dollars ($300.00) .

(b) Such licensee shall provide documentation of the

completion of 30 hours of continuing education approved
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by the Board during each biennial period.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286.

******************

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Real Estate Com-

mission intends to amend rules cited as 21 NCAC 58A

.0403. .0503 and .0505. The italicized text in 21 NCAC
5SA .0505(a) is proposed to be deleted from the rule

effective Julx 1 , 1995 and was published in Volume 10, Issue

2 of the North Carolina Register. (10:2 NCR 157-166, April

17. 1995)

Temporary: These Rules were filed as temporary amend-

ments effective April 24, 1995 for a period of 180 days or

until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is

sooner.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on June

6. 1995 at the North Carolina Real Estate Commission,

1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC

Reason for Proposed Action: To codify changes in

requirements and procedures concerning license examina-

tions and license renewal fees in light of the General

Assembly's ratification of House Bill 33 on April 4, 1995.

Comment Procedures: Comments regarding the rules may

be made orally or submitted in writing at the public hearing.

Written comments not submitted at the hearing may be sent

to or delivered to Mr. Stephen L. Fussell c/o North Carolina

Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 17100, Raleigh, NC
27619-7100, so as to be received by June 14, 1995.

Fiscal Note: These Rules do not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

SUBCHAPTER 58A - REAL ESTATE BROKERS
AND SALESMEN

SECTION .0400 - EXAMINATIONS

,0403 RE-EXAMINATION
If an applicant fails to pass the initial examination for

which ho has been schedul ed,—he will be re schedul ed

without additional fee for one re examination at a time and

place de signated by the executive director. If an applicant

fails to pass his re examination an examination or fails to

appear for and take any examination for which he has been

scheduled, he shall make written application to the Commis-

sion upon a prescribed form accompanied by the appropriate

fee, if he wishes to obtain a real estate license.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-4(b),(d).

SECTION .0500 - LICENSING

.0503 LICENSE RENEWAL; PENALTY FOR
OPERATING WHILE LICENSE EXPIRED

(a) All real estate broker, salesman or corporate broker

licenses issued by the Commission under Article 1 , Chapter

93A of the General Statutes shall expire on the 30th day of

June following issuance. Any licensee desiring renewal of

a license shall apply for renewal within 45 days prior to

license expiration by submitting a renewal application on a

form prescribed by the Commission and submitting with the

application the required renewal fee of twenty five dollars

($25.00) .

(b) Beginning in 1995, any person desiring to renew his

license on active status shall, upon the second renewal of

such license following initial licensure, and upon each

subsequent renewal, have obtained all continuing education

required by G.S. 93A-4A and Rule .1702 of this Subchap-

ter.

(c) A person renewing a license on inactive status shall

not be required to have obtained any continuing education

in order to renew such license; however, in order to

subsequently change his license from inactive status to active

status, the licensee must satisfy the continuing education

requirement prescribed in Rule .1703 of this Subchapter.

(d) Any person or corporation which engages in the

business of a real estate broker or salesman while his or its

license is expired is subject to the penalties prescribed in

Chapter 93A of the General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(c),(d); 93A-4A;

93A-6.

.0505 REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED LICENSE
(a) Licenses expired for not more than 1 2 months may be

reinstated upon proper application and payment of the

twenty five dollar ($25.00) required renewal fee plus five

dollar ($5.00) late filing fee. In order to reinstate such

license on active status for a license period beginning on or

after July 1, 1995, the applicant shall also present evidence

satisfactory to the Commission of having obtained such

continuing education as is required by Rule .1703 of this

Subchapter to change an inactive license to active status.

status, except that the time during which the license was

expired siiall also count as inactive time for the purpose of

determining the amount of continuing education elective

credit hours required. A person reinstating such a license

on inactive status shall not be required to have obtained any

continuing education in order to reinstate such license;

however, in order to subsequently change his reinstated

license from inactive status to active status, the licensee
'

must satisfy the continuing education requirement prescribed

in Rule .1703 of this Subchapter and the time during which
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the license was expired shall also count as inactiw time for

the purpose ofdetermining the amount of continuing educa

tion elective credit hours required .

(b) Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than 12

months may be considered upon proper application and

payment of a thirty dollar ($30.00) fee. Applicants must

satisfy the Commission that they possess the current knowl-

edge, skills and competence necessary to function in the real

estate business in a manner that protects and serves the

public interest. In this regard, the Commission may require

such applicants to complete real estate education and/or pass

the license examination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(c),(d); 93A-4A.

CHAPTER 60 - BOARD OF REFRIGERATION
EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the State Board of Refrigeration Exam-

iners intends to amend rules cited as 21 NCAC 60 .0102,

.0204, .0314, and .1102.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on June

9, 1995 at 410 Oberlin Road, Suite 410, Raleigh, NC
27605.

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 60 .0102 .1102 - corrects address.

21 NCAC 60 .0204 - redefines grade to pass examination.

21 NCAC 60 .0314 - clarifies use of license.

Comment Procedures: All persons interested in this matter

are invited to attend the public hearing. The State Board of

Refrigeration Examiners will receive mailed written com-

ments postmarked no later than June 14, 1995. More

information may be obtained by contracting the Board

Office, P.O. Box 30693, Raleigh, NC 27622, 919-781-1602.

Fiscal Note: These Rules do not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or statefunds.

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND
DEFINITIONS

.0102 OFFICE OF BOARD
The Board's office is located at 3716 National Dr., Suite

450 410 Oberlin Road, Suite 410 , Raleigh, North Carolina.

The Board's mailing address is P.O. Box 30693 10666 ,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27622 27605 . The Board's rules

are available for inspection at this office during regular

office hours. The materials used in rule-making decisions

will be available for inspection at said office.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-54; 150B-11(2).

SECTION .0200 - EXAMINATIONS

.0204 SCORING EXAMINATIONS
Refrigeration contractor examinations are divided into four

parts, "A," "B," "C" and "D." Each part of the examination

carries an equal weight of 25 percent of the total grade

score. Each applicant must make an average grade of at

least successfully complete 70 percent of each part to pass

an examination. Each candidate who passes an examination

is issued a refrigeration contractor's license. Each person

who fails an examination is notified of his average score and

the parts of the examination which he failed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-54; 87-58.

SECTION .0300 - LICENSES AND FEES

.0314 USE OF LICENSE
(a) The licensed contractor shall not permit the use of his

license by any other person.

(b) All refrigeration contracting business, including all

business advertising and the submission of all documents

and papers by a licensee of the Board shall be conducted in

the exact name in which the refrigeration contracting license

is issued.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-54; 87-57.

SECTION .1100 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS:
DECISIONS: RELATED RIGHTS AND

PROCEDURES

.1102 PREFERRING CHARGES
Any person who believes that any refrigeration contractor

is in violation of the provisions of G.S. 87-59 may prefer

charges against such contractor by setting forth the charges

in writing with particularity including, but not limited to, the

date and place of the alleged violation. Such charges shall

be signed and sworn to by the party preferring such charges

and filed with the Executive Director of the State Board of

Refrigeration Examiners at the office of the Board, 3716

National Drive 410 Oberlin Road, Suite 410 , P.O. Box

30695 10666 , Raleigh, North Carolina 2-7632 27605 .

Statutory Authority G. S. 87-59.

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE
PERSONNEL

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the State Personnel Commission intends

to amend rules cited as 25 NCAC 1C .0402-. 0408; ID
.0201, .0205, .0207, .0211, .0808, .1001, .1009, .1201,

.1204, .1401, .1801 - .1802, .2001; IE .0804; IK .0312;
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and repeal 25 NCAC 1C .0207.

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 1995.

A Public Hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on June

8, 1995 at the State Personnel Development Center, 101

West Peace Street, Raleigh, NC 27604.

Reason for Proposed Action: These Rules are proposed to

be amended in order to provide clarification to state agen-

cies and universities on appointments, i.e. probationary,

trainee, permanent, time-limited, temporary, permanent

part-time, temporary part-time and intermittent. The rules

relating to extended duty are proposed to be amended in

order to provide for physicians , as well as other medical

personnel which are approved by the Office of State Person-

nel, to be employedfor extended duty. These rules are also

proposed to be amended in order to extend the provision for

paying additional straight-time for extended duty to all

medically related areas for positions that are exempt from

the Fair Labor Standards Act and limits the number of

extended duty hours to 20 hours per week.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present

statements either orally or in writing at the Public Hearing

or in writing prior to the hearing by mail addressed to:

Patsy Smith Morgan, Office of State Personnel, 116 West

Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603.

Fiscal Note: These Rules do not affect the expenditures or

revenues of local government or state funds.

CHAPTER 1 - OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL

SUBCHAPTER 1C - PERSONNEL
ADMINISTRATION

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL EMPLOYMENT
POLICY

.0207 MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS
(*)

—

An employee will not be required to separate from

state servicess been )f age alone prior to reaching retire

ment age.—However, earlier retirement or termination may

be necessary if. through established medical examination

procedures, an employee is found not physically fit for the

performance of his duties.

fb)

—

If the agency head has reason to believe that an

employee is not physically capabl e of properly performing

his assigned duties, he may require the employee to have a

physical examination.—In such cases, the following proco

dures will apply:

fH Upon reques t by an agency head, th e Office of

State

—

Personne l.—in

—

cooperation—with—North

Carolina Memorial Hospital, will designate an

internist located in reasonable proximity to the

employee 's place of residence .

f£) The agency head, upon receiving notice of the

designated internist, will make an appointment

for the examination and inform th e employee as

to the place and time.

f3-) The agency head shall prepare a detailed state

ment of the duties and responsibilities required

of the employee and will forward such informa

tion to the North Carolina Memorial Hospital.

(4) Upon—receipt—of the internist's examination

report by Memorial—Hospital.—a revi ew—and
evaluation of the examination report will be

made, taking into consideration the physical

requirement s of the job.—Based upon this re

vi ew, M emorial Hospital will forward to the

agency the result s of the ir evaluation.—This

information will be included as part of the

administrative evaluation in reaching a decision

concerning the employee 's fitness for continued

employment.
Members of the State Highway Patrol are sub(9-

jeet—te—the

—

physical—fitness—requirements—as

provided under the Medical Evaluation Program.

The cost of such phy sical examinations will be

paid by the state agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

SECTION .0400 - APPOINTMENT

.0402 PERMANENT APPOINTMENT
(a) Permanent - A permanent appointment is a permanent

full-time appointment to a permanent full-time established

position. A permanent appointment shall be given when:

the requirements of the probationary period have

been satisfied,

LJJ

(2) an employee in a trainee appointment has com-

pleted all training and experience requirements,

or

(3) a time-limited appointment extends beyond three

years.

(b) A time limited permanent appointment my be made

tor Time-limited Permanent z A time-limited permanent

appointment is an appointment that has a limited duration to:

(1) a permanent position that is vacant due to the

incumbent's leave of absence and when the

replacement employee's services will be needed

for a period of one year or less,

(2) a time-limited permanent position, that has an

established duration of no more than two years.

If an employee is retained in a time-limited

permanent position beyond three years, the

employee shall be designated as having a perma-

nent appointment.

Such appointment—shall not be made for less than six

months.—The appointment may be extended up to one '

additional year upon written request of the employing

agency [on Form PD 105 for (1) of thi s Subsection: and on
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Forms PD 105 and PD 11 8 for (2) of this Subsection] and

approval of the Stnto Poroonnol Direotor. This type of

appointment is distinguished from a temporary appointment

by the longer length of time, and from a regular permanent

appointment by its limited duration. (Sco 25 NCAC II,

Section .1500—Forms, in roforenoo to Forms PD 105 and

PD 11 8 .)

(c) Individuals receiving original appointments in state

government must first serve a probationary appointment

before being eligible for any permanent appointment.

(d) Individuals receiving original appointments in state

government must first serve in a probationary time-limited

appointment before being eligible for a time-limited perma-

nent appointment.

(e) Employees with a permanent appointment earn leave,

and receive total state service credit, retirement and health

benefits, and when applicable, severance pay and priority

reemployment consideration.

(fj Employees with a time-limited permanent appointment

earn leave, and receive total state service credit, retirement

and health benefits. They are not eligible for severance pay

and priority reemployment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0403 TRAINEE APPOINTMENTS
(a) A trainee appointment may be made to a permanent

position when:

ill

(21

(3)

ill

in any class for which the job specification

includes special provisions for a trainee progres-

sion leading to regular appointment,

recruitment efforts fail to attract qualified

candidates,

operating need warrants a trainee, or

the recommended applicant fails to meet mini-

mum State education and experience require-

ments.

fb) The trainee appointment, Like the probationary period,

is also an extension of the selection process and provides the

time for effective adjustment of the new employee or

elimination of those whose performance will not meet

acceptable standards.

(c) Employees with a trainee appointment earn leave, and

receive total state service credit, retirement and health

benefits. When applicable, trainees who have completed six

months of service or who had a permanent appointment

prior to entering a trainee appointment may receive sever-

ance pay and priority reemployment consideration.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0404 PROBATIONARY APPOINTMENTS
(a) Individuals receiving original appointments to perma-

nent or time-limited permanent positions must serve a

probationary period. The probationary periods is an

extension of the selection process and provides the time for

effective adjustment of the new employee or elimination of

those whose performance will not meet acceptable stan-

dards. The maximum length of the probationary period

shall be not less than three nor more than nine months of

either full-time or part-time employment from the actual

date of employment . Within 90 days of employment, prior

to the granting of permanent status, credentials and applica-

tion information provided by the employee must be verified.

Agencies shall inform applicants in writing that credentials

must be verified prior to the granting of a permanent or

time-limited appointment status .

£b) Employees with a probationary appointment earn

leave, and receive total state service credit, retirement and

health benefits. They are not eligible for severance pay or

priority reemployment consideration.

Statutory Authority G. S. 96-29; 126-4.

.0405 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENT
(a) A temporary appointment is an appointment for a

limited term, normally not to exceed three to six months, to

a permanent or temporary position. When sufficiently

justified, a longer period of time may be requested; but in

no case shall the temporary employment period exceed 12

consecutive months. (Exceptions for students and retired

employees: Students are exempt from the 12-months

maximum limit. If retired employees sign a statement that

they are not available for nor seeking permanent employ-

ment, they may have temporary appointments for more than

12 months. "Retired" is defined as drawing a retirement

income and/or social security benefits.)

fb) Employees with a temporary appointment do not earn

leave, or receive total state service credit, health benefits,

retirement credit, severance pay, or priority reemployment

consideration.

Statutory Authority G. S. 126-4.

.0406 PERMANENT PART-TIME
(a) A permanent part-time appointment is an appointment

of less than full-time to a permanent full-time position or to

a permanent part-time budgeted position on a continuing

basis. (Employees with appointments less than full time 20

hours per week earn no benefits.)

fb) Employees with permanent appointments that are 20

hours per week or more earn leave benefits (pro-rated), total

state service credit, and when applicable, severance pay and

priority reemployment consideration. They do not receive

retirement credit or health benefits; however, they may

belong to the group health plan by paving their own premi-

ums.

(c) Employees with permanent appointments that are 30

hours per week or more for at least 9 months per year earn

leave benefits (prorated), total state service credit, retire-

ment credit, health benefits and when applicable, severance

pay and priority reemployment consideration.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.
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.0407 TEMPORARY PART-TIME APPOFNTMENT
A temporary part-time appointment is an appointment of

less than full-time for a limited term normally not to exceed

three to six months. When sufficiently justified, a longer

period of time may be requested; but in no case shall the

temporary employment period exceed 12 consecutive

months. (Exception for students and retired employees:

Students are exempt from the 12-months maximum limit.

If retired employees sign a statement that they are not

available for nor seeking permanent employment, they may

have temporary appointments for more than 12 months.

"Retired" is defined as drawing a retirement income and/or

social security benefits.) Employees with temporary

appointments receive no benefits.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0408 INTERMITTENT APPOINTMENT
An intermittent appointment may be made to positions

needed only for intermittent periods of time. The intermit-

tent service of an individual shall not exceed a total of nine

months during any continuous 12-month period except

during extreme emergencies when such periods of time shall

be extended for the duration of the emergency. Such

duration of time shall be at the discretion of the State

Personne l Director retroactiv e to April 11. 1975. Employ-

ees with intermittent appointments receive no benefits.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

SUBCHAPTER ID - COMPENSATION

SECTION .0200 - NEW APPOINTMENTS

.0201 INITIAL EMPLOYMENT
(a) A new appointment is the initial employment of an

individual to a position or the re-employment of individuals

who are either not eligible for reinstatement or, at the

agency's option, are not offered reinstatement.

(b) An employee entering into state service in a perma-

nent or time-limited permanent position shall be given a

probationary or trainee appointment unless the employee is

eligible for and the agency chooses to make reinstatement to

permanent appointment status . The probationary and trainee

appointment periods are intended to serve as an extension of

the selection process and are used to determine whether the

person will be able to meet acceptable performance stan-

dards for the work for which employed. The employee will

earn all the benefits of a an employee with a permanent

appointment employee during this time.

(c) The duration of a probationary appointment shall be

not less than three nor more than none months of either full-

time or part-time employment. The determination of the

appropriate length will generally depend on the complexity

of the position and the rate of progress of the employee.

(This probationary period is not the same as the probation-

ary period prescribed for criminal justice officers in 12

NCAC 5 .0401.) The duration of the trainee appointment

is established for each regular classification to which trainee

appointment is made.

(d) The conditions of the probationary and trainee

appointments shall be clearly conveyed to the applicant prior

to appointment. During the probationary or trainee period,

the supen'isor has a responsibility to work closely with the

employee in counseling and assisting the employee to

achieve a satisfactory performance level; progress of the

employee should be reviewed during discussions between

the employee and the supervisor. Following the probation-

ary period when the supervisor in consultation with other

appropriate administrators determines that the employee's

performance indicated capability to become a satisfactory

performer and merits retention in the position, the employee

shall be given a permanent appointment to the class. If the

determination is that the employee's performance indicates

that the employee is not suited for the position and cannot

be expected to meet acceptable standards, it is expected that

the employee would be separated from that position.

Employees may also be separated during a probationary or

trainee appointment for causes related to performance of

duties or unacceptable personal conduct. Except in cases of

discrimination, a dismissal under these conditions is not

subject to the right of appeal to the State Personnel Commis-
sion.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0205 EFFECTIVE DATE
(a) A new employee may begin work on any scheduled

workday in a pay period. When the first day of a pay

period falls on a non-workday and the employee begins

work on the first workday of a pay period, the date to begin

work will be shown as the first of the pay period.

(b) The effective date for change to permanent appoint-

ment status shall be the date that it is determined that the

employee meets acceptable performance standards, but not

less than three months from the date of employment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0207 QUALIFICATIONS
The employee must possess at least the minimum educa-

tion and experience requirements, or their equivalent, as set

forth in the class specification. This applies to full-time and

part-time permanent, probationary, trainee, time-limited and

temporary, appointments, part time and where training

requirements have been e stablished in specific areas.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0211 SALARY RATE
(a) The hiring rate of pay for a class, or trainee rate

where applicable shall normally be paid a qualified new

employee. When a special entry rate has been authorized,

that rate may be paid a qualified new employee if the
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agency has made a decision to use the new rate.

(b) A salary above the hiring rate (or applicable special

entry rate) may be requested on the initial appointment or at

the timo the appointment is made permanent, but not to

exceed—the maximum salary published in the vacancy

announcement, when:

f4^ oxtensive recruitment efforts have not produoed

qualified applicants; or

(1) warranted by operational needs or equal pay

considerations; and

(2) the applicant possesses exceptional qualifications

above the hiring requirements of the class spoci

fication,—and operational—needs exist which

juotify filling the position at the salary above the

minimum of the range .
—The additional experi

once and training must bo in the same or clo sely

related area to that 3tatcd as acceptable in the

claoo opeoifioation minimum requirements which

are in the same or a closely related area. Gen-

erally, up to five percent above the minimum

rate may be considered for each qualifying year

of directly related experience or education above

the minimum requirements.

(c) Appointments above the hiring rate are to be avoided

if salary inequities would be created. This shall be consid-

ered carefully in order to avoid present or future inequities.

(d) If a specific salary limitation is published in the

vacancy announcement because of lack of funds or equity

considerations, the initial salary cannot be higher than

posted. However, if it is determined that a higher salary is

warranted based on qualification, the agency may state this

on the PD-105 and if funds are available at the time a

permanent appointment is given, the salary may be adjusted

at that time.

fd)(e) When an employee is given a permanent appoint-

ment after successful completion of either the probationary

period or the trainee period, if the initial salary is at the

hiring rate or trainee rate, it shall be increased to the

minimum rate of the range and may be increased to a higher

rate if the conditions in Paragraph (b) of this Rule are met.

(e)[f) If the salary is at an authorized special entry rate,

it may be increased by five percent above the special entry

rate.

ff-)(g) If the employee is hired at a salary below an

authorized special entry rate because the lower salary is

sufficient to attract applicants but not sufficient to retain the

employee once experience is gained, an adjustment up to the

special entry rate may be made during or at the end of the

probationary period or at such time as performance indi-

cated that it is justified.

fg-)fh) If the initial salary is above the hiring rate, the

agency may elect to increase the salary by 5% or to a higher

rate if the conditions in Paragraph (b) of this Rule are met.

fh)(i) Only with the prior approval of the State Personnel

Director and in well-documented cases which involve

circumstances such as severe labor market conditions or

extraordinary qualifications will salaries be considered

which exceed the limits of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(2).

SECTION .0800 - INITIAL CLASSIFICATION

.0808 SALARY RATE
(a) If the employee is given probationary status and the

salary is below the hiring rate for the range assigned, it

shall be adjusted to the new hiring rate. If the employee is

given a permanent or time-limited permanent appointment

status and the salary is below the minimum rate, it shall be

adjusted to the minimum rate of the range assigned.

(b) If the employee's salary falls within the range as-

signed to the position, it shall remain unchanged.

Statutory Authority G. S. 126-4,

SECTION .1000 - REINSTATEMENT

.1001 DEFINITION
Reinstatement is:

(1) the reemployment in with a permanent appoint-

ment status of a former employee with a porma

nent full-time or permanent part-time (20 hours or

more), permanent, trainee or time-limited appoint-

ment employee with a break in service and within

five years following the date of separation.

Although the employee is eligible for reinstate-

ment to permanent appointment statue , the agency

head my choose to offer reemployment with a

probationary appointment. The employee will

meet all requirements of the probationary period

the same as for original appointments;

(2) the return to a nonpolicy-making position of an

employee who transferred to or occupied a posi-

tion designated as policy-making exempt.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.1009 VETERANS
Veterans. Employees with a permanent. Permanent or

probationary ^ or trainee appointment employees who
resigned or were granted leave without pay to serve in the

Armed Services of the United States are eligible from

reinstatement to the same position or one of like status,

seniority and pay regardless of length of previous service.

If, during military service, an employee is disabled to the

extent that duties of the original position cannot be per-

formed, the employee shall be reinstated to a position with

duties commensurate with the disability, if any such position

is available.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

SECTION .1200 - LONGEVITY PAY
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.1201 PURPOSE
The purpose of longevity pay is to recognize long-term

service of permanent full-time and permanent part-time

(half-time or more) employees with a permanent, probation-

ary, trainee or time-limited appointment who have served at

least ten years with the state.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.1204 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
(a) An employee shall have at least ten years of total

qualifying state service before being eligible for any longev-

ity payments.

(b) The employee must have a full-time permanent

probationary, trainee or time-limited appointment.

(c) An employee's earliest possible date of eligibility for

a longevity payment is the date when ten years of total state

service has been completed. If on the effective date of this

policy an employee has completed the qualifying length of

service but is somewhere between eligibility dates, longevity

payment will not be made until the next longevity anniver-

sary date. In succeeding years, a longevity payment will be

made annually in the pay period in which the employee's

longevity anniversary date falls. Periods of leave without

pay in excess of one-half the workdays and holidays in a

pay period with the exception of military leave and workers'

compensation leave) will delay the longevity anniversary

date.

(d) Credit for the total service requirement shall not be

given for temporary full-time or temporary part-time

employment and periods of leave without pay in excess of

one-half the workdays and holidays in a pay period, with the

exception of military leave and workers' compensation

leave.

(e) Upon change of appointment to temporary or exempt

(except as provided by statute), the employee is ineligible

for continued longevity pay; hence, if the employee has

worked part but not all of one year since the last annual

longevity payment, a pro rata payment shall be made as if

the employee were separating from state service provided

the change is not of a temporary nature. If an employee

goes on leave without pay, longevity shall not be paid until

the employee returns and completes the full year. If,

however, the employee should resign while on leave without

pay, then the pro rata amount for which the employee is

eligible is paid. Exceptions:

(1) An employee going on leave without pay due to

short-term disability may be paid the prorate

amount for which the employee is eligible;

(2) An employee going on extended military leave

without pay shall be paid the prorate amount for

which eligible;

(3) An employee on workers' compensation leave

shall be paid longevity as if working.

(f) Partial Payments:

(1) If an employee separates from a state agency

and receives a partial longevity payment and is

reinstated in another state agency, the balance of

the longevity payment shall be made upon

completion of additional service totaling 12

months since the last full longevity payment, m
The balance due is computed on the annual ^
salary being paid at the completion of the 12

months.

(2) If an employee comes to work in a position that

is subject to the Personnel Act from a system

(such as judicial, county, public schools, etc.)

that has longevity policy which allows partial

payments, it is the responsibility of the receiving

state agency to verify that such payment was or

was not made. Then the state agency would pay

the remainder of the payment when the em-

ployee is eligible,

(g) Total state service is the time of full-time or part-time

(half-time or over) employees with a permanent, trainee,

probationary or provisional time-limited appointment

employment , whether subject to or exempt from the State

Personnel Act. If an employee so appointed is in pay status

or is on authorized military leave for one-half of the

regularly scheduled workdays and holidays in a in-a pay

period, credit shall be given for the entire pay period.

Employees will receive full credit for each pay period they

are in pay status for one-half of their regularly scheduled

workdays and holidays. Credit shall also be given for:

(1) Employment with other governmental units

which are now State agencies (Examples: county

highway maintenance forces. War Manpower I

Commission, Judicial System).

(2) Authorized military leave from any of the gov-

ernmental units for which service credit is

granted provided the employee is reinstated

within the time limits outlined in the State

military leave policies.

(3) Employment with the county Agricultural Exten-

sion Service, Community College system and the

public school system of North Carolina, with the

provision that a school year is equivalent to one

full year (credit for a partial year is given on a

month for month basis of the actual months

worked).

(4) Employment with a local Mental Health, Public

Health, Social Services or Emergency Manage-

ment agency in North Carolina if such employ-

ment is subject to the State Personnel Act.

(5) Employment with the General Assembly (except

for participants in the Legislative Intern Program

and pages). All of the time, both permanent and

temporary, of the employees will be counted.

The full legislative terms of the members will

also be counted.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(5), (10).

SECTION .1400 - SHIFT PREMIUM PAY
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.1401 PURPOSE
It is a policy of the state to provide additional compensa-

tion for non-medically related employees through salary

grade 69, for all employees in the position of Ferry Captain

II in salary grade 70, and for medically related employees

through salary grade 75 who are regularly scheduled to

work on either an evening or night shift:

(1) An employee with a A permanent, probationary^,

er trainee or time-limited appointment employee

who is eligible for shift premium pay shall receive

premium pay for all hours in a shift worked in

which more than half of the scheduled working

hours occur between 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. on

a regular recurring basis.

(Exception: Employees in medically-related

occupations who have a regularly recurring work

schedule in excess of 8 hours each day shall be

paid shift premium pay for the hours actually

worked between 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m., but

only when determined necessary for classes to be

competitive with relevant labor markets.)

Interpretation: "Regularly recurring" shall be

interpreted to mean a position that requires a daily

schedule that is repeated at specified intervals for

an indefinite period of time. In addition, an

employee required to substitute in a position

because of vacancy or the incumbent's absence

that is eligible for shift premium shall receive such

payment for time worked in that position. Shift

premium pay shall not be paid to employees

temporarily placed on a shift or to employees

temporarily employed to work on a shift that

normally receives such pay.

(2) Employees shall not receive shift premium pay for

hours not actually worked. This exclusion in-

cludes such time periods as vacation leave, holi-

days, sick leave, jury duty, and military leave.

(3) Shift premium pay shall be granted in addition to

any other premium pay to which the employee

may be entitled, such as holiday pay.

(4) Shift premium pay is not considered as a part of

annual base pay for classification and pay pur-

poses, nor is it to be recorded in personnel re-

cords as a part of annual base salary. However,

under the state's policy on hours of work and

overtime compensation, shift premium pay must

be included in the calculation of the regular hourly

rate of pay for the purposes of computing over-

time.

(5) Split Shifts. An employee working a regularly

recurring split shift shall receive premium pay in

accordance with this Rule if more than half of the

hours occur between 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. If,

however, only half or less of the hours are in the

stated period, the employee will receive shift

premium pay only for the actual hours worked

between 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4; S.L. 1987, c. 738, s. 9; S.L.

1988, c. 1086, s. 100.

SECTION .1800 - EMPLOYMENT OF
PHYSICIANS FOR EXTENDED DUTY

.1801 PURPOSE
Because of tho critical Critical shortage of coverage on

evening and weekend shifts in certain medically related

areas sometimes make it physicians, it is sometimes impos-

sible to maintain an adequate staff of physicians to meet all

workload requirements. In order to meet such workloads,

a physician svho is an employee of the state who is exempt

from the hours of work and overtime provisions of FLSA
may, if he agrees, be scheduled to work additional hours

beyond his regular work schedule. A list of professional

medically related classed eligible to receive straight-time for

extended duty beyond forty hours per week will be approved

and maintained within the Office of State Personnel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.1802 PAYMENT
(a) If such additional duty involves primarily the direct

care and treatment of patients or other activities which can

be performed only by the employee approved for extended

duty a physician , the employee may be paid for such

additional time on a straight time basis at a rate of pay to be

determined by the nature of the duties to be performed.

Thus, an employee's rate of pay during the additional hours

of work may be either higher, lower, or the same as his

established rate of pay.

(b) Usually the source of funds for payment for such

additional employment will be the funds provided for a

vacant position. Such a position will have been planned

with specific work assignments and will have a proper

classification and pay level. In other cases, there may be

available budgeted special funds for additional hours of such

service. In these cases, it may become necessary to

determine specifically what the work assignments are to be

and to arrive, through proper evaluation, at the correct rate

of pay for those duties.

Statutory Authority G. S. 126-4.

SECTION .2000 - UNEMPLOYMENT
INSURANCE

.2001 COVERAGE
Effective January 1, 1978, the North Carolina General

Assembly provided unemployment insurance coverage for

all temporary and permanent state employees including

temporary, except those exempted by G.S. 96-8(6)1.

Statutory Authority G. S. 96-8(6)j; 96-81.

SUBCHAPTER IE - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS
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SECTION .0800 - MILITARY LEAVE

.0804 PERIODS OF ENTITLEMENT FOR ALL
RESERVE COMPONENTS

(a) Military leave with pay shall be granted to full-time

or part-time permanent, employees with a permanent,

trainee, or probationary appointment trainee and proba

tionary employees for up to 120 working hours (prorated

for part-time employees) during the Federal fiscal year

beginning October 1 and ending on September 30, for any

type of active military duty for members not on extended

active duty.

(b) Although regularly scheduled unit assemblies

occurring on weekends and referred to as "drills" do not

normally require military leave, the employing agency is

required to excuse an employee for all regularly scheduled

military training duty. If necessary the employee's work

schedule shall be appropriately rearranged to enable the

employee to attend these assemblies. To determine the

dates of these regularly scheduled unit assemblies, the

employing agency may require the employee to provide a

unit training schedule which lists training dates for a

month or more in advance. Military leave with pay [from

Paragraph (a) of this Rule] or vacation may be used if

"drills" occur on weekdays.

(c) An employee shall be granted necessary time off

when the employee must undergo a required physical

examination relating to membership in a reserve compo-

nent without charge to leave.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(5).

SUBCHAPTER IK - PERSONNEL TRAINING

SECTION .0300 EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
PROGRAM

.0312 ELIGIBTLITY
(a) Eligible Employees. Full-time or part-time employ-

ees who have gained a permanent appointment status are

eligible for this program. Trainees may be determined as

eligible by management after satisfactory performance for

a period of not less than three months.

(b) Ineligible Employees. Employees m with a tempo-

rary and or probationary appointment status or who do not

meet the minimum educational and experience require-

ments for the job are not eligible for educational assis-

tance. Work-study requirements for trainees shall be

administered in accordance with the extended educational

leave policy.

(c) Eligible Sources. Any accredited high school,

business, community college, technical institute, college,

university, correspondence school or other educational

source approved by the State Personnel Director is

eligible for selection.

(d) Academic courses which are audited are eligible for

educational assistance; however, an employee may be

reimbursed for the same course or course equivalent only

once. Reimbursement requires a statement written on

school letterhead and signed by the instructor that the

employee attended at least 85 percent of the scheduled

class meetings during the academic term.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

271 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1995 10:4



LIST OF RULES CODIFIED

J. he List of Rules Codified is a listing of rules that were filed with OAH in the month indicated.

Key:
Citation = Title, Chapter, Subchapter and Rule(s)

AD = Adopt

AM = Amend

RP = Repeal

With Chgs = Final text differs from proposed text

Corr = Typographical errors or changes that requires no rulemaking

Eff. Date = Date rule becomes effective

Temp. Expires = Rule was filed as a temporary rule and expires on this date or 180 days

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TLE DEPARTMENT

4 Commerce

7 Cultural Resources

10 Human Resources

13 Labor

15A Environment, Health, and

Natural Resources

16 Public Instruction

APRIL 95

TITLE DEPARTMENT

17 Revenue

18 Secretary of State

21 Occupational Licensing Boards

12 - General Contractors

18 - Electrical Contractors

42 - Optometry

58 - Real Estate Commission

23 Community Colleges

Citation AD AM RP
With

Chgs Corr

Eff.

Date

Temp.

Expires

4 NCAC 31 .0101 / / 05/01/95

.0201 / / 05/01/95

.0202 - .0203 / 05/01/95

.0204 / / 05/01/95

.0205 - .0206 / / 05/01/95

.0301 / / 05/01/95

.0401 / 05/01/95

.0402 / / 05/01/95

.0403 / 05/01/95

.0405 - .0406 / / 05/01/95

.0501 / / 05/01/95

.0502 / 05/01/95

.0503 / / 05/01/95

.0601 - .0602 / 05/01/95
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Citation AD AM RP
With

Chgs Corr

Eff.

Date

Temp.

Expires

4 NCAC 31 .0702 - .0703 / 05/01/95

.0705 / / 05/01/95

7 NCAC 2E .0301 / / 05/01/95

10 NCAC 22J .0308 / / 05/01/95

22R .0201 / 05/01/95

.0202 / / 05/01/95

26H .0102 / / 05/01/95

13 NCAC 7F .0501 / 05/01/95

15A NCAC 2D .0104 / / 05/01/95

.0501 /

.0902 / / 05/01/95

.0907 / 05/01/95

.0910 - .0911 / 05/01/95

.0950 / 05/01/95

.0952 / 05/01/95

.0954 / / 05/01/95

.0955 - .0956 /

.1206 /

.1405 - .1408 /

.1501 /

2K .0502 /

2Q .0112 /

10B .0113 / 07/01/95

.0204 - .0206 / 07/01/95

.0209 / / 07/01/95

IOC .0203 / / 07/01/95

.0205 / / 07/01/95

.0305 / 07/01/95

.0305 / / 07/01/95

.0401 / 07/01/95

.0401 / / 07/01/95

.0404 / 07/01/95

.0407 / 07/01/95
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Citation AD AM RP
With

Chgs Corr

Eff.

Date

Temp.

Expires

15A NCAC 10D .0003 - .0004 / / 07/01/95

10E .0004 / / 07/01/95

10F .0330 / / 05/01/95

10H .0801 / 05/01/95

.0807 - .0808 / 05/01/95

10K .0002 / 05/01/95

11 .0104 / / 05/01/95

.0117 / 05/01/95

.0343 / / 05/01/95

.0350 - .0351 / 05/01/95

.0356 / / 05/01/95

.0357 / 05/01/95

.0502 / 05/01/95

.0503 / / 05/01/95

.0504 - .0509 / 05/01/95

.0510 - .0512 / / 05/01/95

.0513 - .0514 / 05/01/95

.0515 / / 05/01/95

.0517 - .0520 / 05/01/95

.0521 - .0523 / 05/01/95

.1625 / 05/01/95

16 NCAC 6C .0207 / / 07/01/95

17 NCAC 1C .0504 - .0505 / 05/01/95

7B .1123 / 05/01/95

.5445 / 05/01/95

9G .0202 / 05/01/95

9J .0204 / 05/01/95

18 NCAC 6 .1201 • 05/01/95

.1210 / 05/01/95

21 NCAC 12 .0208 / 05/01/95

.0506 / 05/01/95

18B .0901 /

42B .0107 / 05/01/95
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Citation AD AM RP
With

Chgs Corr

Eff.

Date

Temp.

Expires

21 NCAC 42B .0110 / 05/01/95

58A .0403 / 04/24/95 180 DAYS

.0503 - .0504 / 04/24/95 180 DAYS

23 NCAC 2E .0604 / / 05/01/95

i
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RRC OBJECTIONS

J he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.9(a). State

agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. 150B-21. 12(a).

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 31 .0101 - Definitions; Filings

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 31 .0402 - Annual Statement

Agency Revised Rule

DEPARTMENT OF CULTURAL RESOURCES

Art Works in State Buildings Program

7 NCAC 12 .0002 - Transfer of Funds

Rule Withdrawn by Agency

7 NCAC 12 .0003 - Program Administration

Rule Withdrawn by Agency

7 NCAC 12 .0005 - Selection, Installation , and Maintenance

Rule Withdrawn by Agency

7 NCAC 12 .0006 - Maintenance, Repair and Conservation

Rule Withdrawn by Agency

Division of State Library

7 NCAC 2E .0301 - Qualifications for Grants

Agency Revised Rule

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Adult Health

15A NCAC 16A .0104 - Co-Payments

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 16A .0109 - Covered Services

Agency Revised Rule

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7H .0308 - Specific Use Standards For Ocean Hazard Areas

Agency Revised Rule

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

15A NCAC 7M .0202 - Policy Statements

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

Environmental Health

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

Eff
RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

Eff

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

05/04/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

05/04/95

15A NCAC 18A .2801 - Definitions

Rule Approved as Written

15A NCAC 18A .2810 - Specifications for Kitchens, Based on Number/Children

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 18A .3204 - Sewage Disposal

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

01/19/95

02/16/95

01/19/95

02/16/95

03/16/95
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Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 18A .3209 - Tattooing Procedures

Agency Revised Ride

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

Environmental Management

15A NCAC 2D .0902 - Applicability RRC Objection 04/20/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 04/20/95

15A NCAC 2D . 1204 - Reporting and Recordkeeping RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

15A NCAC 2D .1404 - Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

15A NCAC 2D . 1407 - Non-Utility Boilers and Process Heaters RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

15A NCAC 2D . 1414 - Tune-Up Requirements RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

15A NCAC 2K .0501 - Definitions RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

15A NCAC 2D .0502 - Required Minimum Flow for Dams (Not Small Hydro Projects) RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

Parks and Recreation Area Rules

15A NCAC 12K .0103 - Funding Cycle

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 12K .0104 - Application Schedule

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 12K .0105 - Evaluation of Applications

Agency Revised Rule

15.4 NCAC 12K .0106 - Grant Agreement

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 12K .0111 - Program Acknowledgment

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

Radiation Protection

15A NCAC 11 .0104 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 11 .0503 - Equipment Radiation Level Limits

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

15A NCAC IOC .0205 - Public Mountain Trout Waters

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 10F .0330 - Carteret County

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 10K .0001 - Course Requirements

Rule Withdrawn by Agency

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

HUMAN RESOURCES

Aging

10 NCAC 22R .0202 - County Funding Plans

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

04/20/95

04/20/95
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Facility Services

10 NCAC 3R .3030 - Facility and Service Need Determinations

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 3U . 1001 - Seat Restraints

Agency Revised Rule

Medical Assistance

10 NCAC 26H .0104

Rule Withdrawn

10 NCAC 26M .0301

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0302

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0303

10 NCAC 26M .0304

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0305

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0306

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0307

Agency Revised

10 NCAC 26M .0308

INSURANCE

- Cost Reporting: Auditing and Settlements

by Agency

- Program Definition

Rule

- Access to Care

Rule

- Patient Informing

- Relationship with Carolina Access

Rule

- Relationship with EPSDT program

Rule

- Relationship with Sub-Contractors

Rule

- Utilization Review Requirements

Rule

- Enrollee and Sub-Contractor Appeals and Grievances

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

Actuarial Services Division

11 NCAC 16 .0601 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 16 .0602 - HMO General Filing Requirements

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 16 .0607 - HMO Incurred Loss Ratio Standards

Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

21 NCAC 14F .0014 - Salon Renewal RRC Objection

No Response from Agency Obj. Cont'd

21 NCAC 141 .0401 - App. for Lie. by Individuals Who Have Been Convicted of a Felony RRC Objection

No Response from Agency Obj. Cont'd

21 NCAC 141 .0402 - Requests for Preapplication Review of Felony Convictions RRC Objection

No Response from Agency Obj. Cont'd

Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors

21 NCAC 18B .0901 - Applicants Convicted of Crimes

No Response from Agency

Agency Revised Rule

Licensing Board for General Contractors

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Removed

03/16/95

04/20/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

01/19/95

02/16/95

03/16/95
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RRC Objection 11/17/94

Obj. Com 'd 11/17/94

Obj. Cont 'd 12/15/94

Obj. Com 'd 01/19/95

Obj. Com 'd 02/16/95

03/16/95

21 NCAC 12 .0701 - Improper Practice

Rule Withdrawn by Agency 04/20/95

Board of Opticians

21 NCAC 40 .0314 - Apprenticeship and Internship Requirements; Registration

Agency Revised Rule

No Response from Agency

Agency Responded

No Response from Agency

Rule Returned to Agency

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary Education

16 NCAC 6C .0207 - Prospective Teacher Scholarship Loans

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

REVENUE

Sales and Use Tax

17 NCAC 7B .1123 - Certain Sales to Commercial Livestock and Poultry Farmers RRC Objection 03/16/95

Obj. Removed 04/20/95

17 NCAC 7B .5436 - Farmer's Certificate Form: E-599 RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

17 NCAC 7B .5437 - Veterinarian 's Certificate Form: E-567 RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Removed 03/16/95

17 NCAC 7B .5445 - Commercial Swine. Livestock/Poultry Farmers' Cert. Form: E-599S RRC Objection 03/16/95

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Removed 04/20/95

17 NCAC 7B .5462 - Ice Certificate Form

Rule Withdrawn by Agency 03/16/95

SECRETARY OF STATE

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Removed

02/16/95

03/16/95

04/20/95

Notary Public Division

18 NCAC 7 .0301 - Approved Course of Study

No Response from Agency

Rule Returned to Agency

18 NCAC 7 .0302 - Instructors

No Response from Agency-

Rule Returned to Agency

RRC Objection 12/15/94

Obj. Cont 'd 01/19/95

Obj. Cont 'd 02/16/95

RRC Objection 12/15/94

Obj. Cont 'd 01/19/95

Obj. Cont 'd 02/16/95
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

lhis Section contains the full text ofsome of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index

to all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of

the decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the

Office of Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.

AGENCY
CASE

NUMBER ALJ

DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

94 ABC 0787 Gray 03/17/95

94 ABC 1168 Becton 03/07/95

94 ABC 1661 West 05/01/95

94 ABC 1694 Mann 03/29/95

94 ABC 1784 Mann 04/19/95

94 ABC 1803 Mann 04/07/95

95 ABC 0210 Gray 05/01/95

ADMINISTRATION

Division of Purchase and Contract

Senter-Sanders Tractor Corp. v. Admin., Div of Purchase & Contract 94 DOA 0803 Nesnow

State Construction Office

W. M. Piatt & Company v. State Construction Office, DOA 94 DOA 0738 Nesnow

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Norman D. Forbes v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Albert Stanley Tomanec v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Robert Johnson v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Depot Stop N Go, Inc.

Bryan Lynn Whitaker, Susan Ansley Whitaker v. ABC Commission

Diamond Club, Inc. v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Ray E. Bailey v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

Crime Victims Compensation Commission

John Pavlikianidis v. Victims Compensation Commission

Wayne L. Utley v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Kxistine S. Ray v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Shirley Moody Myers v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Thomasine Inman v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Irmgard Gordos v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Ellen Sherwin v. Crime Vic Comp James Byrum Emp/ Baptist Hosp

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH. AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Setzer Bros. Inc. v. Environment, Health, and Natural Resources 94 EHR 1676 Nesnow

John W. VanHoy, Jr. & Adjacent Land Owners v. EHNR 95 EHR 0016 Phipps

and

Shugart Enterprises, Inc.

Coastal Resources

94 CPS 0237 Morrison

94 CPS 1180 Becton

94 CPS 1673 Chess

94 CPS 1674 Chess

94 CPS 1731 Nesnow

94 CPS 1782 Gray

95 CPS 0012 West

03/06/95

04/11/95

03/21/95

03/07/95

04/20/95

04/20/95

03/09/95

03/09/95

03/22/95

03/09/95

03/17/95

10:3 NCR 221

10:2 NCR 176

Howard C. Slack v. Coastal Resources Comm, EHNR

Davidson County Health Department

John Dee Clodfelter v. Davidson County Health Dept.; EHNR

Environmental Health

EEE-ZZZ Lay Drain Compnay, Inc. v. On-Site Wastewater Section,

Division of Environmental Health

95 EHR 0140 Phipps

94 EHR 1037 Chess

94 EHR 0745 Chess

03/22/95

03/13/95

04/24/95

10:2 NCR 185
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AGENCY
CASE

M'MBK.K ALJ
DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

Environmental Management

Empire Power Co. and George Clark v, EHNR, Div. of Env. Mgmt.

and

Duke Power Company

Empire Power Co. and George Clark v. EHNR. Div, of Env. Mgmt.

and

Duke Power Company

92 EHR 0021-' Gray

92 EHR 0053*' Gray

94 EHR 0924 Gray

Hyde County Health Department

Fritzner Henry v. Hyde County Health Department

Macon County Health Department

Four Residents on Genva Circle v. Macon County Health Department 94 EHR 1202 Nesnow

Maternal and Child Health

Philip Haskins \. EHNR, Div. of Maternal & Child Health 94 EHR 1777 Chess

Xew Hanover County Health Department

Gus Kalogiros v. New Hanover Co. (Health Dept.). Adm &. Env. Svcs 94 EHR 1073 Morrison

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

Marsha Dianne McKoy v. DHR, Div. of MH/DD/SAS, Caswell Center 90 EEO 0379 Chess

HUMAN RESOURCES

Helen J. Walls, D/B/A Walls Young World v. Human Resources 94 DHR 1362 Beeton

04/03/95

04/03/95

03/09/95

03/27/95

03/09/95

04,78/95

04/03/95

03/20/95

94 DHR 0849

94 DHR 1771

94 DHR 0565

94 DHR 1783

Mann
Reilly

Gray

Gray

Division of Child Development

lola Malloy V. DHR, Division of Child Development

Esther Elder v. DHR. Division of Child Development

Facility Services

William H. Cooke v. DHR, Division of Facility Services

Mildred Reece, Calvin Reece v. DHR, Division of Facility Svcs,

Domiciliary & Group Care Section

Bingo Licensure Section

The Regular Veterans Association of the United States and the Sixteen 95 DHR 0040 Morrison

Posts of the Regular Veterans Association of the United States and the

Regular Veterans Association Auxiliary Located in the State of North

Carolina v. DHR. Division of Facility Services, Bingo Licensure Section

Certificate of Need Section

The Carrolton of Fayetteville, Inc. and Highland House of Fayetteville. 94 DHR 0197*:
Reilly

Inc. and Richard Allen, Sr. v. DHR, Division of Facility Services,

Certificate of Need Section

and

Pine Manor Rest Home, Inc., d/b/a Pine Manor Health Care

The Carrolton of Fayetteville, Inc. and Highland House of Fayetteville, 94 DHR 0198*2 Reilly

Inc. and Richard Allen, Sr. v. DHR, Division of Facility Services,

Certificate of Need Section

,m,l

Pine Manor Rest Home. Inc., d/b/a Pine Manor Health Care

03/03/95

03/17/95

03/16/95

03/16/95

04/13/95

04/05/95

04/05/95

• Consolidated cases.
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AGENCY

J Retirement Villages, Inc. (Lessor), and Liberty Healthcare Ltd.

Partnership (Lessee) D/B/A Countryside Villa of Duplin v. DHR,

Division of Facility Services, Certificate of Need Section

and

Beaver Properties/Wallace, Inc., and Brian Center Health & Retirement/

Wallace, Inc.

CASE
NUMBER

94 DHR 0403

AI.J

Chess

DATE OF
DECISION

12/14/94

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CfTATION

>

>

Division of Social Services

Child Support Enforcement Section

Daniel J. Carter v. Department of Human Resources

Shawn Dominic Caldwell v. Department of Human Resources

William Zonta Thompson v. Department of Human Resources

Jackie E. Hackney v. Department of Human Resources

Elbert Quick v. Department of Human Resources

Clement McMillan v. Department of Human Resources

James R. Gray v. Department of Human Resources

Lacy Green, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Leon McNair v. Department of Human Resources

Edwin A. Clarke v. Department of Human Resources

Wolfgang R. Walker v. Department of Human Resources

Wyatt Rosehoro v. Department of Human Resources

Lloyd Lane Speake v. Department of Human Resources

Richard L. Hiott v. Department of Human Resources

Henry C. Banks v. Department of Human Resources

Lucille B. Dutter V. Department of Human Resources

Charles Bascom Kiker v. Department of Human Resources

Wade E. Hampton v. Department of Human Resources

Gary Jay Stocks v. Department of Human Resources

Paul E. Strawcutter v. Department of Human Resources

Cary G. Dannelly v. Department of Human Resources

Robert G. Baker v. Department of Human Resources

Bernard T. Wade v. Department of Human Resources

Timothy Brian Eller v. Department of Human Resources

Morgan Pate, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Robert E. Dudley, Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

Julian Lattimore v. Department of Human Resources

James McFadden v. Department o( Human Resources

John C. Kay v. Department of Human Resources

Raymond B. Clontz Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

James C. Rogers v. Department of Human Resources

Ruby Fewell Henry v. Department of Human Resources

Richard Dill v. Department of Human Resources

Ted C. Jenkins v. Department of Human Resources

Anthony J. Gibbons v. Department of Human Resources

Aaron C. Harris v. Department of Human Resources

Donald L. Costello Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

Kelvin L. Lankford V. Department of Human Resources

Jeffrey Thomas Chambers v. Department of Human Resources

Robert J. Holden v. Department of Human Resources

Michael L. Wright v. Department of Human Resources

Terry S. Gurganus v. Department of Human Resources

John Napoleon Window Cross Pullium v. Dept of Human Resources

Michael J. Montroy v. Department of Human Resources

Dennis L. Moore v. Department of Human Resources

James Edward Knox, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

David House v. Department of Human Resources

Aqustin S. Sanchez v. Department of Human Resources

Ricky Ratliff v. Department of Human Resources

Willie McNeil Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Ray Douglas Brickhouse v. Department of Human Resources

Tyron G. Moore v. Department of Human Resources

Paul A. Card v. Department of Human Resources

Damn Yancey v. Department of Human Resources

Douglas L. Lucas v. Department of Human Resources

Gregory D. Simpson v. Department of Human Resources

91 CSE 1103 Morrison 03/03/95

92 CSE 1449 Reilly 03/29/95

92 CSE 1559 Reilly 03/29/95

93 CSE 1088 Chess 03/20/95

93 CSE 1169 Chess 03/08/95

93 CSE 1208 Chess 03/08/95

93 CSE 1268 Chess 03/08/95

93 CSE 1295 Chess 03/08/95

93 CSE 1317 Becton 04/04/95

93 CSE 1319 Chess 03/08/95

93 CSE 1374 Gray 04/28/95

93 CSE 1423 Becton 04/25/95

93 CSE 1451 Chess 03/22/95

93 CSE 1509 Mann 04/21/95

93 CSE 1556 Chess 03/22/95

93 CSE 1558 Chess 03/13/95

93 CSE 1561 Mann 04/21/95

93 CSE 1593 Chess 04/20/95

93 CSE 1652 Chess 03/21/95

93 CSE 1713 Mann 03/13/95

94 CSE 1033 Nesnow 03/24/95

94 CSE 1094 Chess 03/06/95

94 CSE 1101 Becton 04/03/95

94 CSE 1119 Reilly 03/29/95

94 CSE 1127 Mann 03/20/95

94 CSE 1128 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1131 Reilly 03/13/95

94 CSE 1132 West 03/14/95

94 CSE 1143 Chess 04/13/95

94 CSE 1149 Nesnow 03/03/95

94 CSE 1153 Gray 04/04/95

94 CSE 1157 Nesnow 03/16/95

94 CSE 1195 Mann 03/29/95

94 CSE 1218 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1219 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1225 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1228 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1229 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1231 Nesnow 03/03/95

94 CSE 1232 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1237 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1239 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1241 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1244 Morrison 03/13/95

94 CSE 1249 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1254 Reilly 03/13/95

94 CSE 1256 Reilly 03/15/95

94 CSE 1259 West 03/06/95

94 CSE 1261 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1262 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1263 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1264 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1266 Nesnow 03/13/95

94 CSE 1269 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1270 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1272 Becton 03/15/95
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a<;km v

Michael Lynn Avery v. Department of Human Resources

Elvis M. Graham v. Department of Human Resources

Shawn Fonville v. Department of Human Resources

James Lee, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Noah L. Houston, Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

Shannon Vanderaa v. Department of Human Resources

Anthony Murray v. Department of Human Resources

Tommy L. Burchfield v. Department of Human Resources

Gregory A. Rodrigues v. Department of Human Resources

Larry R. Bales v. Department of Human Resources

Karl Philip Jursen v. Department of Human Resources

Otis Lewis Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Robert F. Catoe Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

William Anthony Winchester v. Department of Human Resources

Aaron L. Clark v. Department of Human Resources

Vincent R. Valles Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

Gary W. Gibson v. Department of Human Resources

Mark A. West v. Department of Human Resources

John E. Bolas Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Gary C. Wiggins v. Department of Human Resources

Rhonnie J. Williams v. Department of Human Resources

Danny Ray Hensley v. Department of Human Resources

David C. Glenn v. Department of Human Resources

Ivy M. Harvell v. Department of Human Resources

Terry L. McMillon v. Department of Human Resources

Garry G. Hickman v. Department of Human Resources

Willie Herring v. Department of Human Resources

Joe C. Dean v. Department of Human Resources

Jimmie E. Barnes v. Department of Human Resources

Cecilia Carmosino v. Department of Human Resources

Marvin F. Walker v. Department of Human Resources

Richard J. Almeida v. Department of Human Resources

Michael R French v. Department of Human Resources

John A. Jackson v. Department of Human Resources

Michael R. Roberts v. Department of Human Resources

Cleothis B. Smith v. Department of Human Resources

Leroy Johnson Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

James Patterson v. Department of Human Resources

Thomas Colon v. Department of Human Resources

Walter Swirniak Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Marion Rodriguez v. Department of Human Resources

Jerry L. White Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

Dennis James Grimes v. Department of Human Resources

Scott John Tozzi v. Department of Human Resources

Roger A. Eaton v. Department of Human Resources

Willie J. Rowers Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Jeffrey James Spence v. Department ot Human Resources

Byron C. Alston v. Department of Human Resources

Oliver Lee Wolfe Sr. v. Department of Human Resources

James Tracy Strickland v. Department of Human Resources

Michael K. Reese v. Department of Human Resources

Richard G. Medford, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Theresa Strader v. Department of Human Resources

James F. Williams v. Department of Human Resources

Kennedy C. Uzomba v. Department of Human Resources

Marion A. Ward v. Department of Human Resources

Samuel A. Lewis v. Department of Human Resources

Robert L^e Wall v. Department of Human Resources

James M. Breaden Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Peter G. Coley v. Department of Human Resources

Benjamin Nuriddin v, Department of Human Resources

Robert L. Carter v. Department of Human Resources

Danny Columbus Baker v. Department of Human Resources

Duke William Dupre' v. Department of Human Resources

Audrey Jennings v. Department of Human Resources

Michael A. Camp v. Department o\' Human Resources

Martin J. Miller v. Department of Human Resources

Willie Cherry, Jr v. Department of Human Resources

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

94 CSE 1274 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1275 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1277 Becton 03/06/95

94 CSE 1280 Chess 04/10/95

94 CSE 1284 Chess 04/26/95

94 CSE 1286 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1287 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1289 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1300 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1302 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1303 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1314 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1329 Morrison 03/15/95

94 CSE 1331 Reilly 03/15/95

94 CSE 1332 Reilly 03/15/95

94 CSE 1333 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1334 West 03/06/95

94 CSE 1335 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1336 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1338 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1339 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1340 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1343 Chess 04/20/95

94 CSE 1345 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1346 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1348 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1350 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1351 Morrison 03/15/95

94 CSE 1352 Reilly 03/03/95

94 CSE 1354 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1355 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1357 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1359 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1370 Mann 03/07/95

94 CSE 1371 Mann 03A21/95

94 CSE 1373 Gray 03/15/95

94 CSE 1377 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1378 Morrison 03/15/95

94 CSE 1379 Reilly 03/15/95

94 CSE 1382 West 03/17/95

94 CSE 1385 Nesnow 03/03/95

94 CSE 1387 Nesnow 03/15/95

94 CSE 1388 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1389 Becton 03/15/95

94 CSE 1392 Gray 03/09/95

94 CSE 1393 Morrison 03/15/95

94 CSE 1394 Reilly 03/15/95

94 CSE 1396 Nesnow 03/03/95

94 CSE 1397 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1398 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1412 Gray 03/31/95

94 CSE 1415 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1416 Morrison 03/21/95

94 CSE 1417 Morrison 03/21/95

94 CSE 1420 Reilly 04/03/95

94 CSE 1421 Reilly 03/03/95

94 CSE 1424 Reilly 04/03/95

94 CSE 1425 West 03/31/95

94 CSE 1426 West 03/31/95

94 CSE 1427 West 03/31/95

94 CSE 1429 West 03/31/95

94 CSE 1430 Nesnow 03/24/95

94 CSE 1431 Nesnow 03/24/95

94 CSE 1432 Nesnow 03/24/95

94 CSE 1433 Nesnow 03/24/95

94 CSE 1435 Becton 03/06/95

94 CSE 1436 Becton 03/06/95

94 CSE 1439 Chess 03/03/95

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

i

<
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>

I

>

AGENCY

William V. Glennon v. Department of Human Resources

Alaster Williams v. Department of Human Resources

Henry L. Gibbs v. Department of Human Resources

Roger Gene Fehlhaber v. Department of Human Resources

Beau L. Miller v. Department of Human Resources

Claude E. Alston v. Department of Human Resources

Elizabeth F. West v. Department of Human Resources

John H. Underwood v. Department o{ Human Resources

James T. Dudley Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Lori Davis Humphrey v. Department of Human Resources

Robert L. Freeland, Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Antonio Darden (TV-D #1237637) v. Department of Human Resources

Antonio Darden (IV-D #12801 16) v. Department of Human Resources

Antonio Darden (IV-D #1233347) v. Department of Human Resources

Cyrus R. Luallen v. Department of Human Resources

Harold Dean Horn v. Department of Human Resources

James B. Miller v. Department of Human Resources

Glenn Allison v. Department of Human Resources

Louis R. Salamone v. Department of Human Resources

Randy Norris Willis v. Department of Human Resources

Michael E. Bellamy v. Department of Human Resources

Eddie James Johnson v. Department of Human Resources

Coley C. Matthews v. Department of Human Resources

Willie J. Gadson v. Department of Human Resources

Donald Lee Barcliff v. Department of Human Resources

James W. Nunnery v. Department of Human Resources

William Leroy Watkins v. Department of Human Resources

Peter Ian Oliveira v. Department of Human Resources

Ronald E. Lewis v. Department of Human Resources

Wesley Kelvin Cook v. Department of Human Resources

Carlos L. Robinson v. Department of Human Resources

Eddie O. Toro v. Department of Human Resources

Volna Ramone Gales v. Department of Human Resources

Bruce Kelly Jacobs v. Department of Human Resources

Tony Collins v. Department of Human Resources

Ronald O. Biggs v. Department of Human Resources

Keith Dewayne Senters v. Department of Human Resources

Marvin B. Harris v. Department of Human Resources

Jay C. Edwards, IH v. Department of Human Resources

Mahalon E. White v. Department of Human Resources

Dennis Ray Alexander v. Department of Human Resources

Joseph R. & Linda M. Grooms v. Department of Human Resources

Robert M. Martin v. Department of Human Resources

Ashton Berry Gatlin v. Department of Human Resources

Louis Cragg HI v. Department of Human Resources

Ellen Downing v. Department of Human Resources

Charles R. Hauley v. Department o( Human Resources

Michael L. Schadler v. Department of Human Resources

Owen B. Fisher Jr. v. Department o( Human Resources

Robin Delmar Goods v. Department of Human Resources

Terrenee R. McLaughlin v. Department of Human Resources

Ward F. Miller v. Department of Human Resources

Joel P. Roth v. Department of Human Resources

Atward T. Warren v. Department of Human Resources

Albert Noah Dunlap v. Department of Human Resources

James E. Davis v. Department of Human Resources

Roger T. Benoy v. Department of Human Resources

Spencer P. Johnson v. Department of Human Resources

James A. Bryant v. Department of Human Resources

Conrade Dunklin v. Department of Human Resources

Kenneth J. Balfour v. Department of Human Resources

Willie A. Harris v. Department o( Human Resources

Walter T. Townsend Jr. v. Department o( Human Resources

Dennis W. Nolan v. Department of Human Resources

Roderick Odell Adams v. Department ol' Human Resources

Jonathan L. Payne II v. Department of Human Resources

Charles Scott Wilhoit v. Department of Human Resources

John Kimmons v. Department of Human Resources

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

94 CSE 1444 Mann 03/07/95

94 CSE 1445 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1446 Morrison 03/21/95

94 CSE 1447 Reilly 04/03/95

94 CSE 1452 West 03/07/95

94 CSE 1454 Nesnow 04/17/95

94 CSE 1455 Nesnow 03/07/95

94 CSE 1456 Nesnow 04/17/95

94 CSE 1457 Nesnow 04/28/95

94 CSE 1459 Becton 03/06/95

94 CSE 1460 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1461 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1462 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1463 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1470 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1471 Mann 03/07/95

94 CSE 1472 Mann 03/07/95

94 CSE 1473 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1474 Gray 03/09/95

94 CSE 1476 Morrison 03/21/95

94 CSE 1477 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1478 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1479 Morrison 03/21/95

94 CSE 1480 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1482 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1484 Nesnow 04/17/95

94 CSE 1486 Nesnow 04/17/95

94 CSE 1489 Becton 03/07/95

94 CSE 1491 Becton 03/07/95

94 CSE 1492 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1499 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1500 Mann 03/31/95

94 CSE 1505 Gray 04/07/95

94 CSE 1508 Gray 03/31/95

94 CSE 1511 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1512 Gray 04/07/95

94 CSE 1513 Gray 04/28/95

94 CSE 1533 Morrison 03/02/95

94 CSE 1534 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1537 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1538 Reilly 03/03/95

94 CSE 1539 Reilly 03/07/95

94 CSE 1541 Reilly 03/07/95

94 CSE 1542 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1543 West 03/06/95

94 CSE 1553 Nesnow 03/30/95

94 CSE 1554 Becton 03/07/95

94 CSE 1555 Becton 03/07/95

94 CSE 1562 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1563 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1569 Chess 03/07/95

94 CSE 1571 Chess 04/19/95

94 CSE 1572 West 03/14/95

94 CSE 1573 West 03/31/95

94 CSE 1577 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1578 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1579 Reilly 03/03/95

94 CSE 1580 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1582 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1583 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1584 Morrison 03/07/95

94 CSE 1586 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1587 Gray 04/28/95

94 CSE 1590 Gray 03/31/95

94 CSE 1591 Gray 04/07/95

94 CSE 1592 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1594 Reilly 04/21/95

94 CSE 1596 Nesnow 04/17/95

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION
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AGENCY

Randolph J. Nunn v. Department of Human Re-sources

David Lester Gordon v. Department of Human Resources

Anthony Harrison v, Department of Human Resources

Michael D. Tyree v. Department of Human Resources

Edward Fisher v, Department of Human Resources

Bernard Cooper v. Department of Human Resources

William Gray v. Department of Human Resources

Jimmy R. Jackson v. Department of Human Resources

Mark A. Jones v. Department of Human Resources

Ondino Damota Freitas v. Department of Human Resources

Tony Monzell Perry v. Department of Human Resources

James B. Stokes Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Nelson Bennett v. Department of Human Resources

Eric L. McDonald v. Department of Human Resources

Kenny R- Bradshaw v. Department oi Human Resources

Eddie Harris Jr. v. Department of Human Resources

Robert Larry Martin v. Department of Human Resources

Joseph O. Evans v. Department of Human Resources

Donald E. Kirby v. Department of Human Resources

Paul R. Ross v. Department of Human Resources

Bobby Dain Massey v. Department of Human Resources

Carol Jeanne Deese v. Department of Human Resources

Joyce Ann Wilkinson v. Department of Human Resources

INSURANCE

Billv Gene Campbell v. Department of Insurance

Jl SIR I

Alarm Systems Licensing Board

Patrick P. Sassman v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board

Private Protective Services Board

Lewis Austin Saintsing v. Private Protective Services Board

Marcus T. Williams v. Private Protective Services Board

Melvin Ray Cooper v. Private Protective Services Board

Donnell E. Morrow, Jr. v. Private Protective Services Board

Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Division

Constance F. Laurence v. Sheriffs Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.

LABOR

Occupational Safety & Health Division

Lenoir County Public Schools v. Department of Labor, OSHA

Wage and Hour Division

R.J. Scott, Pres. Pirate Enterprises, inc. v. Labor, Wage &. Hour Div.

PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Glenn D, on behalf of Glenn II. and Glenn II, Individually v. Charlotte-

Mecklenburg County Schools

William Hewett v. State Board of Education

Deborah R. Crouse v. State Board of Education

Bobby G. Little v. Department of Public Instruction

STATE PERSONNEL

Caswell County Health Department

Julie R. Johnson v. Caswell County Health Department

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

94 CSE 1608 Mann 03/21/95

94 CSE 1609 Mann 03/13/95

94 CSE 1615 Beaton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1619 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1621 Beaton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1623 Nesnow 04/17/95

94 CSE 1645 Becton 04/25/95

94 CSE 1648 Gray 03/09/95

94 CSE 1649 Morrison 03/07/95

94 CSE 1650 Reilly 03/07/95

94 CSE 1651 West 04/07/95

94 CSE 1653 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1656 Gray 03/02/95

94 CSE 1657 Morrison 04/06/95

94 CSE 1700 Reilly 04/10/95

94 CSE 1702 Becton 04/07/95

94 CSE 1750 Chess 03/21/95

94 CSE 1766 Chess 03/21/95

94 CSE 1767 Reilly 03/03/95

94 CSE 1778 West 03/06/95

94 CSE 1798 Gray 04/27/95

94 CSE 1814 Morrison 04/27/95

95 CSE 0071 Becton 04'04'95

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

95 INS 0143

94 DOJ 1S25

95 DOJ 0076

°5 DOL 0218

94 DOL 1524

Rally

Reilly

94 DOJ 1000 Chess

94 DOJ 1064 Chess

94 DOJ 1635 Reilly

94 DOJ 1823 Reilly

Morrison

Nes

West

93 EDC 0549 Chess

94 EDC 0533 Grav

95 EDC 0003 Chess

95 EDC 0168 Phipps

04/20/95

03/09/95

03/03/95

02/24/95

03/09/95

03/09/95

04/06 '95

05'01/95

03'23'95

03/16/95

03/31/95

04/10/95

03/20/95

(

10:2 NCR 179

<

94 OSP 0865 Reilly 33 15 95
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>

AGENCY

Department of Correction

Nancy Gilchrist v. Department of Correction

Thomas Wayne Smathers v. Department of Correction

George J. McCIease, Jr. v. Department of Correction

Ruth Kearney v. Department of Correction

Office of the District Attorney

Shannon Caudill v. Office of the District Attorney for Judicial

District 17-B, and Administrative Office of the Courts

FayetteviUe State University

George Benstead v. FayetteviUe State University

Forsyth Stokes Mental Health Center

Michael Howell v. Forsyth Stokes Mental Health Center

Department of Human Resources

Rebecca Johnson v. Human Resources, Special Care Center

Cherry Hospital

William H. Cooke v. DHR, Cherry Hospital

Iredell County Department of Social Services

Vernon E. Grosse v. Iredell County Department of Social Services

Bonnie N. Bellamy v. Iredell County Department of Social Services

CASE
NUMBER AU

DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

94 OSP 0121 West 03/09/95

94 OSP 0590 West 03/23/95

94 OSP 0644 Gray 04/19/95

94 OSP 1807 Becton 03/13/95

95 OSP 0188

94 OSP 1597

94 OSP 0499

95 OSP 0138

93 OSP 1547

94 OSP 0282

94 OSP 0739

Nesnow

Nesnow

Chess

West

Gray

Becton

Chess

Lee-Harnett Area Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Authority

Julie Dyer v. Lee-Harnett Area MH/DD/SA Authority

North Carolina State University

David L. Bauer v. North Carolina State University

Billy Ray Kelly v. NCSU Physical Plant

Orange-Person-Chatham Mental Health

Patricia A. Harris v. Orange-Person-Chatham Mental Health

Department of Transportation

Michael E. Kornegay v. Department of Transportation

UNC Hospitals

David Patrick Malone v. Univ. of NC Hospital at Chapel Hill

Wake County

Mark Morgan v. Wake County

94 OSP 0750

95 OSP 0044

95 OSP 0130

95 OSP 0162

93 OSP 1700

94 OSP 0771

94 OSP 0937

Gray

Morrison

West

West

Gray

Becton

Nesnow

03/20/95

04/04/95

03/24/95

03/31/95

03/16/95

03/09/95

03/01/95

03/20/95

04/25/95

03/22/95

04/11/95

03/24/95

03/14/95

04/28/95

10:01 NCR 48

10:4 NCR 287

>
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMTMSTRATTVE HEARINGS

94 OSP 0937

(
MARK MORGAN,

Petitioner

WAKE COUNTY,
Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The above-captioned matter was heard before Administrative Law Judge Dolores O. Nesnow, on March 6, 1995.

in Raleigh. North Carolina.

APPEARANCES

Petitioner: Mark Morgan. Petitioner

Pro se.

Respondent: Margaret R Martin, Esq.

Melissa Tripp. Esq.

Assistant Wake County Attorneys

Attorneys for Respondent.

ISSUE

Did the Respondent err in Reducing-in-Force ("RIFing") Petitioner?

WITNESSES

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

Mark Morgan - Petitioner

Carol Lee - Wake County Personnel Dir.

Steve Cline - Wake County Health

Director for Chronic & Communicable Diseases

Leah Devlin - Wake County Health Dir.

Based upon careful consideration of the testimony and evidence presented at the hearing, and the documents and

exhibits received into evidence, the undersigned makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner was a Public Health Dentist I in the Dental Health Program of Wake County Department of

Health and had been so employed for seven years.

2. Petitioner was a permanent State employee.

3. The Dental Health Program is divided into three sections; Dental Health Promotion, Pediatric Clinical

Program. Adult Clinical Program.

4. Petitioner worked in the Pediatric Clinical Program and was assigned, as a Clinical Dentist, to the dental

van which primarily circulated among elementary schools serving the indigent population.
\
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5. The dental van operation was limited to school hours. Although attempts had been made to schedule dental

visits before school and during the after-school hours, those attempts were unsuccessful because the population being served

rode the school bus and could not arrive early or leave late.

6. After the dental van completed a day at the elementary schools. Petitioner would return to the Department

of Health where he would complete the day working in the dental clinic.

7. In the Spring of 1994, the Wake County Department of Health was informed that the Wake County

Commissioners had decided that the budget of the Department of Health would be reduced by approximately 1.3 million

dollars for fiscal year 94/95.

8. The Department of Health subsequently made reductions in its budget by cutting services in the areas of

Administration, Environmental Health, Chronic and Communicable Disease, Maternal and Child Health, and the Dental

Health Program.

9. The Respondent determined that since the Adult Dental Treatment Program was separately funded through

Wake County Medical Center, any reductions in that area would not meet the goal of reducing its budget.

10. Respondent also determined that forty-one thousand dollars ($41,000) could be saved by eliminating the

dental van and RIFing Petitioner's Public Health Dentist I position.

1 1. Prior to August 1994, the Health Director was Leah Devlin, the Deputy Director was Steve Cline, and the

Director of Dental Health was Joanna Irvin.

12. On June 1, 1994, Petitioner received a memorandum from Steve Cline and Joanna Irvin informing him that

in order to meet the required reductions, the Dental Van Program would be eliminated. That memo further informed him

that effective August 31, 1994, his position was being RIF'd.

13. The Dental Health Program employed three full-time Clinical Dentists:

- Petitioner (Dentist I)

- Dr. Joanna Irvin (Dentist III, Director of Dental Health Program)

- Dr. Sam Rudd (Dentist II, Director of Adult Clinical Program)

14. Dr. Rudd was hired in February of 1994 and, at the time of the RJF, was a probationary employee.

15. At the time Dr. Rudd was hired, he was engaged to be married to Wanda Bass, a hygienist in the Dental

Health Section. They subsequently married in July of 1994.

16. Dr. Cline, the Deputy Director, testified, and it is found as fact, that employees of the Health Department

are probationary up to one year. He testified that in his experience he had not known an employee who remained on

probationary status for less than one full year.

17. Petitioner had, on several occasions, acted as the Clinical Adult Dentist, filling the position held by Dr.

Rudd whenever that position was empty.

18. Petitioner had not applied for Dr. Rudd's position because his preference was the treatment of children.

19. Petitioner testified that since the Dental Van Program was limited to school days, a one year work schedule

review showed that he had worked one-third of his time in the dental van and two-thirds of his time in the clinic.

20. Petitioner further testified that his position as a Dentist I was as a children's dentist but that position had

never been identified solely with the dental van.

21. Respondent's RJF Policy provides for appeals subsequent to a RIF. Petitioner followed the steps of appeal.
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22. On August 15, 1994, Petitioner received a letter from Richard Y. Stevens, the County Manager. That letter

informed Petitioner that Mr. Stevens was upholding the determination to RIF the Petitioner. The letter further stated the

following:

"Because you are an employee of the Wake County Department of Health you are subject

to the State Personnel Act. According to Chapter 8- C.2 of the Personnel Administration

Manual, it is your right to file an appeal with the Office of Administrative Hearings now
that you have exhausted Wake County's internal process. You would need to make this

appeal within thirty (30) days.

"

23. Petitioner filed a timely Petition for a Contested Case with the Office of Administrative Hearings.

24. N.C. Gen. Stat. 126-1 1(a) provides that a county may adopt its own personnel policy if it submits that

policy to the State Personnel Commission and if a determination is made that the policy is substantially equivalent to the State

policy.

25. Respondent testified, and it is found as fact, that Wake County submitted its Reduction-in-Force Policy to

State Personnel and a determination was made that the policy was substantially equivalent to the State Personnel RIF

Regulations.

26. The Wake County RIF Policy (Policy) provides the following:

The County Manager will identify the area of layoff in which a Reduction-in-Force

(RIP7) will occur. The area of layoff may include all or any part of county government;

a department, a division, or any organizational or program sub-unit of a department or

division. The RIF may further be defined by classification within the designated area of

layoff.

27. The Policy further provides that in order for there to be an equitable basis for determining the order of

retention, all affected employees in the "area of layoff" are to be evaluated against one another to determine their retention

standing.

28. The Policy further states the following:

All non-status employees (i.e. emergency, temporary, limited term, etc.), including those

who have not completed their probationary period, shall be separated first from county

employment.

29. The State Personnel Rules which apply to non-county State employees, at 25 NCAC 11.2005(3), provide

that no permanent employee shall be separated while there are.... probationary employees serving in the same or related class

unless the permanent employee is not willing to transfer to the position held by the non-permanent employee or the permanent

employee does not have the knowledge or skill to perform the duties of the position of the non-permanent employee.

30. The Respondent presented evidence to show that once it had determined that the area of layoff was the

dental van, there was only one Public Health Dentist position assigned to that program. The Respondent asserts that it was

not required to proceed with a retention analysis since there was only one employee in the "area of layoff.

"

3 1 . Petitioner testified that he is currently employed and does not seek to be reinstated to his position with Wake
County.

32. Petitioner testified that he seeks monetary compensation for one month of unemployment, the costs of one

month's dental health insurance coverage, dental liability insurance, subsidy to his 40 IK, and medical insurance. Petitioner

also seeks one thousand dollars ($1,000) in employment search expenses and one hundred and ten dollars ($1 10.00) in legal

fees.

Based on the above Findings of Fact, the undersigned makes the following:
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Wake County Department of Health was Informed that a reduction of 1.3 million dollars must be made

in their budget.

No "area of layoff" was identified by the County Manager but the administration of the Department of Health

determined that a forty-one thousand dollar ($41,000) cut would be made to the Dental Health Program. Although the Policy

contemplates that the County Manager would define the "area of layoff," the administration identified the "area of layoff"

as the dental van.

Given arguendo that the Department of Health appropriately designated the Dental Program and also appropriately

designated the dental van, the Department then made a critical decision. The Department determined that the policy

provisions relating to retention of employee was not applicable since only one Public Health Dentist (a classification) worked

in the dental van.

The Wake RIF Policy, however, provides that an equitable basis for determining the order of layoff is to evaluate

the employees against one another. The Policy also provides that all non-status employees including those who have not

completed their probationary period shall be separated first from county employment.

Since the Wake RIF Policy must be substantially equivalent to the State Policy, the State regulations have been

examined for clarification. Those regulations clearly provide that no permanent State employee will be RIF'd while there

is a probationary employee in the same class .

The State RIF Policy further provides that the position of a temporary employee in the affected class shall be offered

to the permanent State employee in the same class if that employee has the ability to do the job.

The Wake RIF Policy makes no provision for offering a permanent employee the vacancy of a probationary

employee who has been RIF'd. However, the Wake RIF Policy clearly provides that probationary employees shall be

separated first.

In the instant case, there were three employees in the classification title of Public Health Dentist. Petitioner, Joanna

Irvin, and Samuel Rudd, a probationary employee.

Although Dr. Rudd's program was partially funded through Wake Medical Center, that funding would not have been

lost if Petitioner's position was RIF'd and Petitioner were offered the position of Dr. Rudd, a probationary employee.

Although Dr. Rudd was a Public Health Dentist D and Petitioner was a Public Health Dentist I, Petitioner had filled

Dr. Rudd's position on various occasions. More importantly, Dr. Rudd was a probationary employee. While the Wake RIF
Policy does not overtly provide for permanent State employees to be offered positions of probationary employees, it does

clearly require that a probationary employee be RIF'd before a permanent State employee.

2. Based upon the above, it is concluded that the RIF conducted by the Respondent was improper in that a

probationary employee in the same classification was retained while a permanent State employee was RIF'd.

Based upon the above Conclusions of Law, the undersigned makes the following:

RECOMMENDATION

That Respondent, in lieu of reinstatement, give the Petitioner the remedies requested in Finding of Fact Number
32.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7447, in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 150B-36(b).
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NOTICE

....
The agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party an opportunity to file

exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the agency who will make the final m
decision. G.S. 150B-36(a).

™

The agency is required by G.S. 150B-36fb) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and to furnish a copy

to the parties' attorney of record and to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the Office of State Personnel.

This the 27th day of April, 1995.

Dolores O. Nesnow

Administrative Law Judge

291 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May IS, 1995 10:4



NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

1 he North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two of these, titles

and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title. Each major department in

the North Carolina executive branch of government has been assigned a title number. Titles are firth er

broken down into chapters which shall be numerical in order. The other two, subchapters and sections

are optional subdivisions to be used by agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Acupuncture 1

2 Agriculture Architecture 2

3 Auditor Auctioneers 4

4 Commerce Barber Exammers 6

5 Correction Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

6 Council of State Chiropractic Exammers 10

7 Cultural Resources General Contractors 12

8 Elections Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

9 Governor Dental Exammers 16

10 Human Resources Dietetics/Nutrition 17

11 Insurance Electrical Contractors 18

12 Justice Electrolysis 19

13 Labor Foresters 20

14A Crime Control & Public Safety Geologists 21

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

Resources Landscape Architects 26

16 Public Education Landscape Contractors 28

17 Revenue Marital and Family Therapy 31

18 Secretary of State Medical Exammers 32

19A Transportation Midwifery Joint Committee 33

20 Treasurer Mortuary Science 34

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Nursmg 36

22 Admmistrative Procedures Nursmg Home Admmistrators 37

23 Community Colleges Occupational Therapists 38

24 Independent Agencies Opticians 40

25 State Personnel Optometry 42

26 Admmistrative Hearings Osteopathic Exammation & Reg. (Repealed) 44

27 NC State Bar Pharmacy 46

Physical Therapy Exammers 48

Piumbmg, Heatmg & Fire Sprinkler Contractors 50

Podiatry Exammers 52

Professional Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors 56

Real Estate Appraisal Board 57

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Exammers 62

Social Work Certification 63

Speech & Language Pathologists & Audiologists 64

Therapeutic Recreation Certification 65

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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Agency/Rule Citation
Proposed in

Register

Proposed

Effective

Date

Fiscal Note
Effective

Date
Other Information

State Local

(

ACUPUNCTURE LICENSING BOARD
21 NCAC 01 .0101 10:02 NCR 150 07/01/95

.0401 - .0402 10:02 NCR 150 07/01/95

AGRICULTURE
2 NCAC 34 .0904 10:04 NCR 228 08/01/95

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 08F .0105 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0113 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

08G .0401 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

08J .0005 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0008 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

08M .0102 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0104 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0306 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0401 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

08N .0203 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0302 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

.0307 10:04 NCR 255 08/01/95

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 10 .0203 10:04 NCR 261 08/01/95

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
23 NCAC 02C .0108 10:03 NCR 20S 09/01/95

.0211 10:03 NCR 208 09/01/95

.0306 10:03 NCR 208 09/01/95

CORRECTION
5 NCAC 05 .0001 10:01 NCR 12 07/01/95

CULTURAL RESOURCES
7 NCAC 02F .0002 10:01 NCR 12 07/01/95

ENVIRONMENT HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
15A NCAC 02B .0101

.0104

.0202

.0211

.0301

10:01 NCR
10:01 NCR
10:01 NCR
10:01 NCR
10:01 NCR

13

13

13

13

13

.0304 10:04 NCR 246 01/01/96

.0316 10:04 NCR 246 01/01/96

02D .0520 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.0531 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.0902 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.0909 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.0952 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.1402 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.1406 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.1409 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.1701 - .1702 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

.1801 - .1803 10:01 NCR 13 07/01/95 X X

NPDES Permit 10:02 NCR 56

04B .0028 10:02 NCR 149 07/01/95

07H .0208 10:03 NCR 197 12/01/95

.2201 - ~>?fP 10:03 NCR 204 12/01/95

.2203 10:03 NCR 204 12/01/95 X

.2204 - .2205 10:03 NCR :o4 12/01/95

10B .0202 - .0203 10:01 NCR 26 07/01/95

.0202 10:04 NCR 249 08/01/95

Correction to Notice

Correction to Notice

Correction to Notice

Correction to Notice

Correction to Notice
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Agency/Rule Citation
Proposed in

Register

Proposed Fiscal Note
Effective

Date State Local
Date

>

>

.0214 10:01 NCR 26 07/01/95

10D .0002 - .0003 10:01 NCR 26 07/01/95

.0003 10:04 NCR 250 08/01/95

10F .0317 10:01 NCR 26 07/01/95

Wildlife Proclamation/Striped Bass 10:02 NCR 57 04/10/95

10:03 NCR 195 04/15/95

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act 10:01 NCR

10:03 NCR
02

194

GOVERNOR'S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
Number 72 10:01 NCR 01

Number 73 10:02 NCR 54

Number 74 10:02 NCR 54

Number 75 10:03 NCR 191

Number 76 10:03 NCR 191

HUMAN RESOURCES
10 NCAC 03H .0108 - .0109 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0206 - .0220 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0306 - .0318 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0407 - .0409 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0505 - .0507 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0510- .0517 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0605 - .0609 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0705 - .0712 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0810- .0812 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.0903 - .0911 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

1003 - .1008 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1105 - .1109 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1130- .1136 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1150- .1163 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1204- .1208 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1210 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1306 - .1308 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1405 - .1406 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1408 - .1410 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1501 - .1503 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1612- .1613 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1703 - .1704 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.1804- .1807 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2001 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2101 - .2110 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2201 - .2212 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2301 - .2308 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2401 - .2402 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2501 - .2506 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2601 - .2607 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2701 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2801 - .2802 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.2901 - .2902 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3001 - .3005 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3011 - .3016 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3021 - .3032 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3101 - .3104 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3201 - .3202 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3301 - .3302 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

.3401 - .3404 10:02 NCR 58 09/01/95

18J .0803 10:02 NCR 118 07/01/95

26B .0124 10:02 NCR 118 07/01/95

26H .0302 10:04 NCR 228 08/01/95

.0304 - .0305 10:04 NCR 228 08/01/95

03/06/95

03/15/95

03/27/95

03/30/95

04/03/95
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Proposed in

Register

Proposed

Effective

Date

Fiscal Note
Effective

Date
Other Information

State Local

.0308 - .0309 10:04 NCR 228 08/01/95

26H .0213 10:02 NCR 118 07/01/95

41F .0706 10:03 NCR 196 08/01/95

.0812 10:03 NCR 196 08/01/95

INSURANCE
1 1 NCAC 06A .0812 10:04 NCR 246 08/01/95

JUSTICE
12 NCAC 09A .0204 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

09B .0113 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0201 - .0202 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0205 - .0206 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0210 10:02 NCR 1 22 08/01/95

.0212 - .0214 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0226 - .0228 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0232 - .0233 10:02 NCR 1 22 08/01/95

09C .0401 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0601 10:02 NCR 1 22 08/01/95

09D .0102 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

.0104 - .0106 10:02 NCR 122 08/01/95

LABOR
13 NCAC 10:01 NCR

10:01 NCR
10:02 NCR
10:02 NCR
10:02 NCR
10:02 NCR
10:03 NCR
10:03 NCR

10

12

149

[49

149

149

196

197

01/01/96

01/01/96

10/01/95

01/01/96

01/01/96

02/01/96

01/01/96

01/01/96

12 .0101 10:02 NCR 142 08/01/95

.0303 - .0315 10:02 NCR 142 08/01/95

.0501 - .0502 10:02 NCR 142 08/01/95

.0803 - .0808 10:02 NCR 142 08/01/95

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
10:02 NCR 16'

10:04 NCR 2^2

MEDICAL EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 32H .0102 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.0201 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.0203 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.0408 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.0506 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

0601 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/95

.0602 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.0801 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

.1001 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/96

321 .0003 - .0004 10:02 NCR 151 07/01/95

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS
21 NCAC 37 .0101 10:04 NCR 202 08/01/95

.0302 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

.0404 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

.0502 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

.0603 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

.0904 10:04 NCR 262 08/01/95

.0912 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

.0914 10:03 NCR 206 08/01/95

(

Notice

Notice

Notice

Notice

Notice

Notice

Notice

Notice

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

on Subject

Matter

Matter

Matter

Matter

Matter

Matter

Matter

Matter

Rules Filed 03/95

Rules Filed 04/95

295 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1995 10:4



CUMULATIVE INDEX

>

Agency/Rule Citation
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Effective

Date

Fiscal Note
Effective

Date
Other Information

State Local

PLUMBING, HEATING & FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS
21 NCAC 50 .0402 10:01 NCR 39 09/01/95

.0505 10:01 NCR 39 09/01/95

PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS

>

21 NCAC 53 .0204 - .0211 10:01 NCR 40 07/01/95

.0301 10:01 NCR 40 07/01/95

.0305 - .0310 10:01 NCR 40 07/01/95

.0403 - .0405 10:01 NCR 40 07/01/95

.0601 - .0604 10:01 NCR 40 07/01/95

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
21 NCAC 58A .0110 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0403 10:04 NCR 263 08/01/95

.0503 10:04 NCR 263 08/01/95

.0504 - .0506 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0505 10:04 NCR 263 08/01/95

.1703 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.1707- .1708 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.1710- .1711 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

58E .0103 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0203 - .0204 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0303 - .0305 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0406- .0407 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0506 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

.0515 10:02 NCR 157 07/01/95

REFRIGERATION EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 60 .0102 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0204 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0314 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1102 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

REVENUE
Tax Review Board 10:01 NCR 03

STATE PERSONNEL
25 NCAC 01C .0207 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0402 - .0408 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

01D .0201 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0205 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0207 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0211 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.0808 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1001 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1009 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1201 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1204 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1401 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.1801 - .1802 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

.2001 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

01E .0804 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

01K .0312 10:04 NCR 264 08/01/95

TRANSPORTATION
19A NCAC 02D .0801 10:04 NCR 254 09/01/95

>
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BARCLAYS OFFICIAL NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE - 1995

>
DESCRIPTION

ONE-TIME ANNUAL
PURCHASE SUBSCRIPTION

CODE PRICE PRICE

201 00 00 $63.00 $90.00
201 10 05 $21.00 $30.00
201 10 33 $17.50 $25.00

202 00 00 $98.00 $140.00
202 1 5 09 $28.00 $40.00

202 1 6 34 $21.00 $30.00

202 1 6 43 $21.00 $30.00

202 1 5 48 $21.00 $30.00

202 15 52 $21.00 $30.00

203 00 00 $7.00 $10.00

204 00 00 $87.50 $125.00
204 1 5 02 $12.00 $40.00

204 1 5 03 $24.50 $35.00

204 1 5 06 $14.00 $20.00

204 1 5 09 $14.00 $20.00

204 15 10 $14.00 $20.00

204 15 16 $24.50 $35.00

205 00 00 $56.00 $80.00
205 15 02 $24.50 $35.00

206 00 00 $21.00 $30.00

207 00 00 $21.00 $30.00

208 00 00 $7.00 $10.00

e 209 00 00 $31.50 $45.00

210 00 00 $346.50 $495.00
210 20 10 $45.50 $65.00

210 20 20 $31.50 $45.00

210 20 30 $77.00 $110.00

210 20 40 $119.00 $170.00

210 20 41 $31.50 $45.00

210 20 42 $31.50 $45.00

210 20 43 $28.00 $40.00

210 20 44 $17.50 $25.00

210 20 45 $35.00 $50.00

211 00 00 $63.00 $90.00
211 1001 $56.00 $80.00

211 10 04 $24.50 $35.00

211 10 05 $17.50 $25.00

211 10 06 $28.00 $40.00

211 10 08 $21.00 $30.00

212 00 00 $63.00 $90.00
212 1007 $21.00 $30.00

212 10 09 $31.50 $45.00

212 10 11 $17.50 $25.00

213 00 00 $77.00 $110.00
213 15 06 $14.00 $20.00

213 20 00 $31.50 $45.00

213 15 12 $14.00 $20.00

213 15 13 $14.00 $20.00

213 15 14 $14.00 $20.00

213 15 15 $14.00 $20.00

rwe 214 00 00 $31.50 $45.00
214 00 08 $17.50 $25.00

214 00 11 $14.00 $20.00

Full Title 215 00 00 $276.50 $395.00
215 15 00 $115.50 $165.00

215 15 10 $49.00 $70.00

215 15 20 $49.00 $70.00

215 15 30 $56.00 $80.00

215 15 31 $35.00 $50.00

215 15 32 $17.50 $25.00

TitJe 1 - Dept. of Administration

Division of Purchase & Contract

Federal Block Grant Funds

Full Title

Title 2 - Dept. of Agriculture - Full Tide

Food & Drug Protection Division

Structural Pest Control Committee

Agncultural Markets

Plant Industry

Animal Industry

Title 3 - Dept. of State Auditor - Full Title

Title 4 - Dept. of Commerce - Full Title

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Banking Commission

Credit Union Division

Savings & Loan Division

Industrial Commission/Workers Compensation

Savings Institutions Division

Title 5 - Dept. of Corrections

Division of Prisons

Full Title

I

I

Title 6 - Council of State - Full Title

Title 7 - Dept. of Cultural Resources - Full Title

Title 8 - State Board of Elections - Full Trde

Tide 9 - Offices of the Governor & Lt. Governor - Full Tide

Tide 10 - Dept. of Human Resources - Full Tide

Licensing of Health Facilities

Detention Facilities

Mental Health & Rehabilitation Services

Social Services

Children Services/Day Care

Services for the Aging

Services for the Blind

Services for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing

Employment Opportunities

Tide 1 1 - Dept. of Insurance - Full Tide

Insurance

Consumer Services

Fire & Rescue Services

Agent Services

Engineering & Building Codes

Tide 12 - Dept. of Justice - Full Tide

Private Protective Services

Police & Sheriff's Education & Training Standards

NC Alarm Systems Licensing Board

Tide 1 3 - Dept. of Labor - Full Tide

Mine & Quarry Safety

General Safety/OSHA

Wage & Hour Rules

Boiler & Pressure Vessel Safety

Apprenticeship & Training

Elevator & Amusement Device Safety

Tide 14A - Dept. of Crime Control & Public Safety - Full

Alcohol Law Enforcement

Victims Compensation Fund

Tide 15A - Dept. of Environ., Health, & Nat. Resources
Environmental Management
Air Quality

Water Quality

Land & Waste Management
Solid Waste Management
Underground Storage Tanks



DESCRIPTION

ONE-TIME ANNUAL
PURCHASE SUBSCRIPTION

CODE PRICE PRICE

215 15 40 $31.50 $45.00
215 25 00 5105.00 $150.00
215 25 10 $42.00 $60.00
215 25 20 $35.00 $50.00

215 25 30 $59.50 $85.00
215 25 31 $17.50 $25.00

216 00 00 $21.00 $30.00
216 1006 $21.00 $30.00

217 00 00 $91.00 $130.00
217 15 10 $31.50 $45.00
217 15 20 $56.00 $80.00

217 15 27 $31.50 $45.00

217 15 29 $21.00 $30.00

218 00 00 $21.00 $30.00
218 10 06 $21.00 $30.00

219 00 00 $63.00 $90.00
219 10 02 $28.00 $40.00

219 1003 $35.00 $50.00

220 00 00 $31.50 $45.00

221 00 00 $143.50 $205.00

222 00 00 $0.00 $0.00

223 00 00 $7.00 $10.00

224 00 00 $7.00 $10.00

225 00 00 $42.00 $60.00

226 00 00 $7.00 $10.00

227 00 00 $42.00 $60.00

299 99 98 $375.00 $750.00

266 00 00 .. $750.00
266 50 00 $250.00

288 50 00 $295.00 $475.00
288 80 00 $40.00 $75.00

299 90 00 $16.00

Coastal Management
Environmental Hearth

Radiation/Nuclear Waste

Sanitation

Public Health

Intoxilizer & Breathalyser

Title 16 - Dept. of Public Instruction - Full TitJe

Elementary & Secondary Education

TitJe 1 7 - Dept. of Revenue - Full Title

Taxes on Individuals

Taxes on Business

Sales & Use Tax Division

Motor Fuels Tax Division

Title 18 - Secretary of State - Full TitJe

Securities Division

TirJe 1 9A - Dept. of Transportation - Full Title

Division of Highways

Division of Motor Vehicles

Title 20 - Dept. of the State Treasurer - Full TitJe

TitJe 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards - Full TitJe

TitJe 22 - Administrative Procedures Act - Repealed

Title 23 - Dept. of Community Colleges - Full TitJe

TitJe 24 - Independent Agencies - Full TitJe

TitJe 25 - Office of State Personnel - Full Title

TitJe 26 - Office of Administrative Hearings - Full Title

TitJe 27 - North Carolina State Bar - Full TitJe

North Carolina Administrative Code - Full Code
(Add $85.00 Shipping and Handling)

CD-ROM North Carolina Administrative Code
CD-ROM North Carolina Administrative Code
(When purchased with the Full Code in Print)

Master Index

Master Table of Contents

Binder(s)

METHOD OF PAYMENT: Check Enclosed

VISA MasterCard American Express

CARD HOLDER E

NAME (A3 it appears on card)

SIGNATURE

CUSTOMER INFORMATION

FIRM OR COMPANY NAME

CONTACT NAME

STREET ADDRESS [Required for all shipments)

PO BOX IIF ANY)

TELEPHONE NUMBER

DEPT. OR MAIL STOP

CODE
ONE-TIME

PURCHASE
ANNUAL

SUBSCRIPTION

PRICE QTY TOTALNUMBER PRICE

Binder(s): 77r/«r "Officii/ Nonh Carolina Administrative Code'

299 90 00 $16 00 sach

Subtotal

North Carolina State Sales Tax (6%)

Shipping and Handling

GRAND TOTAL

CITY/STATE/ZIP SUBSCRIBER ACCOUNT NUMBER

Mail to: Barclays Law Publishers

PO Box 3066
South San Francisco, CA 94083-3066

For faster service call (800) 888-3600or fax us at (4151 244-0408
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

a

a

a

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the

($120.00/year subscription. N.C. subscribers please add sales tax.)

issue.

Renew North Carolina Register

Check Enclosed Please bill me

Please make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

NAME_

CITY

ADDRESS

STATE

PHONE

ZIP

(Return to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS

1. Present Address i

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P.O. Drawer 27447

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447

US. POSTAGE*

^7*1.93::
*

H M£T£R 37 28 30 *

4

FIRST CLASS MAIL

585

UNIU. OF NORTH CAROLINA

LAU LIBRARY CBR 3385

VAN HECKE-WETTACH 054-A

CHAPEL HILL NC 27539

(


