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TNFORMATTON ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMTNTSTRATTVR CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER TEMPORARY RULES

TTie North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and

institutions.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and five dollars (S105.00) for 24 issues.

Individual issues may be purchased for eight dollars (S8.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings,

P. 0. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N. C. 27611-7447.

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions in

G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines that the findings meet
the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1, the rule is entered into the NCAC. If

the Codifier determines that the fmdings do not meet the criteria,

the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may supplement its

findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an additional review

or the agency may respond that it will remain with its initial

position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the rule into the

NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either when the

Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the sixth

business day after the agency resubmits the rule without change.

The temporary rule is in effect for the period specified in the rule or

180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the

same time the temporary rule is filed with the Codifier.

ADOPTION AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutory authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may request

a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments; the text

of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the reason

for the proposed action; a reference to the statutory authority for the

action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North

Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can take

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule tliat

differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment
period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

the rule with the Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).
A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 business

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication in the North Carolina Administrative Code
(NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication in the NCAC.

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages of

material of which approximately 35% of is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

150B-21.18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by
chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents (32.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents (SO. 15) per each additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in

excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly
with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the

full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars

(S750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased

with supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication are available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC should be

directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1, 1986.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Office of

Administrative Hearings, ATTN: Rules Division, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447, (919)

733-2678.
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

ISotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N. C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC 13 .0518.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1, 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on May 5, 1994 at the Dobbs Building, 3rd

Floor Hearing Room, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Reason for Proposed Action: To set forth proce-

dures for continuing education requirements for

bail bondsmen.

(comment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Fred Mohn at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

N.C. 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call Fred Mohn at (919) 733-2200 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

CHAPTER 13 - SPECIAL SERVICES
DIVISION

SECTION .0500 - BAIL BONDSMEN AND
RUNNERS

.0518 CONTINUING EDUCATION
(a) Except as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c)

of this Rule, the license of any bail bondsman who

fails to meet the minimum continuing education

requirements of G.S. 58-7 1 -7 1(b) is subject to

suspension under G.S. 58-71-80.

(h) The Commissioner shall notify a bail bonds-

man who appears to have failed to meet the re-

quirements of G.S. 58-7 1-7 Kb) that the bail

bondsman's license will be suspended unless the

bail bondsman shows that he has complied with the

requirements within a 90-dav period after receiving

the notice. Notice shall be forwarded to the bail

bondsman's address, as shown in the records of

the Special Services Division, by certified mail.

Ninety-three days after mailing such notice, if no

affidavit is filed with the Department by the bail

bondsman showing that the bail bondsman has

complied with the requirements of G.S.

58-71-7irb), the bail bondsman's license shall be

suspended by order of the Commissioner.

(c) If the bail bondsman responds to the notice,

the Department shall review all affidavits and other

documents filed by the bail bondsman to determine

whether the bail bondsman has complied with the

requirements of G.S. 58-71-71(b) within the

90-dav period. If the Commissioner determines

that the bail bondsman is in compliance with G.S.

58-71-71(b), he shall enter an appropriate order.

If the Commissioner determines that the bail

bondsman has not shown compliance with G.S.

58-7 1-7 1(b) within the 9Q-day period, then the

Commissioner shall enter an order suspending the

bail bondsman's license.

Statutory Authority G.S 58-2-40; 58-71-71
(f).

JSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rules cited as 11 NCAC 18 .0019

- .0021.

Ihe proposed effective date of this action is July

1, 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on May 5, 1994 at the Dobbs Building, 3rd

Floor Hearing Room, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Ixeason for Proposed Action: Establishes further

guidelines for annual certification of MEWAs.

L^omment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Wblter James at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

N.C. 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call miter James at (919) 733-3284 or

Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

CHAPTER 18 - MULTIPLE EMPLOYER
WELFARE ARRANGEMENTS

.0019 "QUALIFIED ACTUARY";
MAXIMUM NET RETENTION
FILING

(a) As used in this Rule and in if NCAC 18

.0020 and 11 NCAC 18 .0021. "qualified actuary"

means an individual who is either an Associate or

Fellow of the Society of Actuaries or a Member of

9:2 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER April 15, 1994 76



PROPOSED RULES

the American Academy of Actuaries and who has

at least five years of actuarial experience with

MEWAS.
(b) Every year each MEWA shall calculate its

maximum net retention limit in accordance with 1

1

NCAC 18 .0018. This calculation must be per-

formed before the anniversary date of the

MEWAs stop-loss insurance contract and shall be

filed, no later than 30 days before the anniversary

date of the stop-loss insurance contract, with the

Actuarial Services Division of the Department.

This calculation shall include the numerical results

of all steps in JJ. NCAC 18 .0018 and shall be

performed by a qualified actuary.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-49-40(c).

.0020 CERTIFICATION OF RESERVES
FILING

Every year each MEWA shall file the following

actuarial certifications executed by a qualified

actuary in the following manner:

.0018. unless the Commissioner of

Insurance has approved such higher limits

as described in 1 1 NCAC 18 .0018(d).

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-49-40(c).

.0021 CERTIFICATION OF RATES FILING
Every year each MEWA shall file the following

actuarial certification executed by a qualified

actuary in the following manner:

^ (Name of Qualified Actuary")

am a qualified actuary as defined

in 11 NCAC 18 .0Q19(a) and I

certify that the rates developed

for (Name of MEWA) are

calculated in an actuarially sound

manner and that these rates are

adequate, not excessive, and not

unfairly discriminatory."

Statutory' Authority' G. S. 58-2-40; 58-49-40(c).

^ (Name of Qualified Actuary) am a qualified

actuary as defined by U NCAC 18 .0Q19(a) and

I have reviewed:"

£1} 11 NCAC 18 .0015 titled. "Minimum

Reser\'e Standards. " and I certify that if

the adequacy of the MEWAs reserves

requires reserves in excess of the

minimum standards described in 1

1

NCAC 18 .0016 and U NCAC 18

.(X)17. then such increased reserves will

be held and considered the minimum
reserves for (Name of MEWA).

£2} 11 NCAC 18 .0016 titled. "Claim

Resen.'es. " and I certify that the

MEWAs claim reserves are being

calculated in an actuarially sound manner

that produces reserves at least as great as

those prescribed in 11 NCAC 18 .0016.

ii) 11 NCAC 18 .0017 titled. "Premium

Reser%'es. " and I certify that the

MEWAs premium reserves are being

calculated in an actuarially sound manner

that produces reserves at least as great as

those prescribed in 11 NCAC 18 .0017.

14} 11 NCAC 18 .0018 titled. "Maximum
Net Retention Standard." and I certify

that the MEWAs maximum net retention

limits are being calculated in an

actuarially sound manner that produces

maximum net retention limits no greater

than those prescribed in H NCAC 18

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT
OF LABOR

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Department of

Labor intends to amend rule cited as 13 NCAC
07F .OWL

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

3L 1994

1 he public hearing mil be conducted at 10;00

a.m. on May 4. 1994 at the Seaboard Building

Conference Room, 413 N. Salisbury Street, Ra-

leigh, NC.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Federal law re-

quires that the North Carolina Dept. of Labor,

Division of Occupational Safety & Health adopt

federal OSHA rules/standards, but in this case

NCDOL/OSHA is adopting a more protective

version of this Rule.

L^omment Procedures: Persons wanting to pres-

ent oral testimony at the hearing should provide a

written summary of the proposed testimony to the

Division three business days prior to the hearing

date. Written comments will be accepted until

May 18, 1994. Direct all correspondence to Jill

77 9:2 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER April 15, 1994



PROPOSED RULES

F. Cramer NCDOL/OSHA, 413 N. Salisbury St.,

Raleigh, NC 27603-5942.

CHAPTER 7 - OSHA

SUBCHAPTER TF - STANDARDS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INDUSTRY
STANDARDS

.0101 GENERAL INDUSTRY
(a) The provisions for the Occupational Safety

and Health Standards for General Industry, Title

29 of the Code of Federal Regulations Part 1910,

are incorporated by reference except tbat as fol-

lows:

(1) within Subpart H - Hazardous Materi-

als, 29 CFR 1910.120, Hazardous

waste operations and emergency re-

sponse, 29 CFR 1910.120(q)(6) is

amended by adding a new level of

training:

"(vi) First responder operations

plus level. First responders at

operations plus level are individu-

als who respond to hydrocarbon

fuel tank leaks for purposes of

stopping the release where the

leaking tanks contain a hydrocar-

bon fuel which is used to propel

the vehicle on which the tank is

located. Only those vehicles

designed for highway use or those

used for industrial, agricultural or

construction purposes are cov-

ered. First responders at the

operations plus level shall have

received at least training equal to

first responder operations level

and in addition shall receive

training or have had sufficient

experience to objectively demon-

strate competency in the follow-

ing areas and the employer shall

so certify:

(A) Know how to select and

use proper specialized

personal protective

equipment provided to

the first responder at

operations plus level;

(B) Understand basic
hazardous materials

terms as they pertain to

hydrocarbon fuels;

(C) Understand hazard and

risk assessment
techniques that pertain to

gasoline, diesel fuel,

propane and other

hydrocarbon fuels;

(D) Be able to perform

control, containment,

and/or confinement

operations for gasoline,

diesel fuel, propane and

other hydrocarbon fuels

within the capabilities of

the available resources

and personal protective

equipment; and

(E) Understand and know

how to implement

decontamination
procedures for
hydrocarbon fuels."

(lA) Subpart R ;; Special Industries ^^

incorporation by reference of final rule

for 29 CFR 1910.269, Electric Power

Generation. Transmission, and

Distribution, including Appendices A
through E. published in 59 FR (January

31, 1994) pages 4437 ; 4475 and

adopted by the North Carolina

Department of Labor on July 31. 1994,

except that 29 CFR 1910.269(g)(n

through 1910.269(g)(2)(v) is amended

to read as follows :

"(g) Personal protective equipment. (1)

General. Personal protective equipment shall meet

the requirements of Subpart I of this Part.

(la) Definitions. £i} 'Fall

arrest equipment' means any

equipment that halts the

accidental fall of the user and

shall consist of the following: an

anchorage, fall arrester, lanyard,

shock (energy) absorber, body

harness, retractable lifeline, and a

vertical or horizontal lifeline

which is assembled for the

purpose of arresting any

accidental fall of jts user.

(ii) 'Fall protection equipment'

means any equipment that either

prevents the user from moving

into an area that presents the

hazard of falling or arrests any

fall,

(iii) 'Travel restricting

9:2 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER April 15, 1994 78



PROPOSED RULES

equipment' means any equipment

that prevents the user from

moving into an area that presents

the hazard of falling and may

consist of some or all of the

following: an anchorage, lanyard,

body belt, body harness, and a

vertical or horizontal lifeline

which is assembled for the

purpose of preventing its user

from moving into a faU hazard

area.

(iv) 'Work positioning

equipment' means any equipment

that provides a primary means of

support with relative comfort for

its user at the workplace or

workstation.

(2) Fall protection. £1}

Personal fall arrest equipment

shall meet the requirements of

ANSI Z359.1 (1992).

(ii) Body belts and safety straps

for work positioning shall meet

the requirements of §1926.959 of

this Chapter.

(iii) Body belts, safety straps.

lanyards, lifelines, and body

harnesses shall be inspected

before use each day to determine

that the equipment is in safe

working condition. Defective

equipment shall not be used.

(iv) Lifelines shall be protected

against being cut or abraded.

(v) Fall arrest equipment

meeting the requirements of

ANSI Z359.1 (1992) shall be m
workconstant use with any

positioning or travel restricting

equipment in use by employees

working at elevated locations

more than 4 feet (1.2 m) above

the ground on metal, concrete

and/or wood poles, lattice and

non-lattice towers. substation

structures, within the baskets of

all extensible and articulating

boomed aerial equipment, and in

all generating stations.

Anchorages and anchor points,

and vertical and horizontal

lifelines shall have a tensile

strength capable of supporting a

static load of five thousand

(5.000) pounds.

"

29 CFR
1910.269 as amended is effective

on July IL 1994. except for 29

CFR 1910.269(a)(2) Trainins

which is effective on January 31.

1995.

hidiior's Note: (2) Proposed text was

published in Volume 8, Issue 18 of the North

Carolina Register.

(b) The parts of the Code of Federal Regulations

adopted by reference in this Subchapter shall not

automatically include any subsequent amendments

thereto, except as follows:

(1)

(2)

ill

(41

£5}

Subpart H — Hazardous Materials —

technical corrections at

1910.109(g)(4)(v), Explosives and

Blasting Agents, published in 58 FR
(March 29, 1993) page 16496 and

adopted by the North Carolina

Department of Labor on December 3 1

,

1993;

Subpart H — Hazardous Materials —

technical corrections at

1910.110(d)(ll), Storage and Handling

of Liquefiold Liquefied Petroleum

Gases, published in 58 FR (March 19.

1993) page 15089 and adopted by the

North Carolina Department of Labor on

December 31, 1993;

Subpart I zz Personal Protective

Equipment ;; revisions to 1910.137,

Electrical Protective Equipment,

published in 59 FR (January 3 1 , 1994)

pages 4435 ^ 4437 and adopted by the

North Carolina Department of Labor on

July 31. 1994;

(3^ Subpart J — General Environmental

Controls — typographical and clarifying

corrections at 1910.146,
Permit-Required Confined Spaces,

published in 58 FR (June 29. 1993)

pages 34844 - 34851 and adopted by

the North Carolina Department of

Labor on September 24, 1993;

corrections are to final rule for

Permit-Required Confined Spaces as

originally published in 58 FR 4462

(January 14. 1993);

Subpart S zz Electrical — amendment to

citation authority for Subpart S of 1910.

and amendments to Notes 2 and 3 for

1910.133(c)(1) and the Note for

1910.133(c)(3). published in 59 fE
(January 31. 1994) pages 4475 -_ 4576

79 9:2 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER April 15, 1994



PROPOSED RULES

and adopted by the North Carolina

Department of Labor on July 31. 1994;

(6) {4) Subpart Z -- Toxic and Hazardous

Substances

:

(A) Revocation of exposure limits in

"Final rule limits" columns of Table

Z-l-A at 1910.1000, Air

Contaminants, published in 58 FR
(June 30, 1993) pages 35338 - 35351

and adopted by the North Carolina

Department of Labor on September

24, 1993.

(B) Correction to Table Z-3 Mineral Dust

at 1910.1000, Air Contaminants,

published in 58 FR (July 27, 1993)

page 40191 and adopted by the North

Carolina Department of Labor on

December 31, 1993.

(C) Typographical and technical

corrections at 1910.1027, Cadmium,

published in 58 FR (April 23, 1993)

pages 21778 - 21787 and adopted by

the North Carolina Department of

Labor on September 24, 1993;

corrections are to final rule for

Occupational Exposure to Cadmium

as originally published in 57 FR
42101 (September 14, 1992).

(c) Copies of the applicable Code of Federal

Regulations sections referred to in this Subchapter

are available to the public. Please refer to 13

NCAC 7A .0302 for the costs involved and from

whom copies may be obtained

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-131; 95-133; 150B-

21.6.

TITLE ISA - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the DEHNR-DEM/Air Quality

intends to amend rules cited as 15A NCAC 2D
.1301, .1302 and .1304.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

November 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. on May 16, 1994 at the Forsyth County

Public Library' Auditorium, 660 West 5th Street,

Winston-Salem, NC.

Jxeason for Proposed Action: To correct a

reference to remove Greensboro/Winston-

Salem/High Point MSA from the oxygenated

gasoline requirement to establish a triggering

mechanism for maintenance areas.

i^omment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearings. Am' person desiring to comment for

more than three minutes is requested to submit a

written statement for inclusion in the record of

proceedings at the public hearing. The hearing

record hHI remain open until June 15, 1994, to

receive additional written statements.

Comments should be sent to and additional

information concerning the hearing or the

proposals may be obtained by contacting:

Mr. Thomas C Allen

Division of Environmental Management

P O Box 29535

Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0535

(919) 733-1489

r'iscal Note: 1 hese Rules affect the expenditures

or revenues of local funds. A fiscal note was

submitted to the Fiscal Research Division on

March 24, 1994, OSBM on March 24, 1994, N. C.

League of Municipalities on March 4, 1994, and

N. C. Association of County Commissioners on

March 4, 1994.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2D - AIR POLLUTION
CONTROL REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .1300 - OXYGENATED
GASOLINE STANDARD

.1301 PURPOSE
This Section sets forth oxygenated gasoline

standards in areas where an oxygenated gasoline

program is implemented pursuant to State law for

all gasoline sold wholesale for use or for all

gasoline sold retail, offered for use, dispensed, or

otherwise provided for use in any spark-ignition

engine other than aircraft in the areas defined in

Rule .13024a) of this Section during the time

periods defined in Rule .1302{c}{b) of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S.143-215. 3(a)(1); 143-
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215. 107(a)(3). (7).

.1302 APPLICABILITY
(a) This Section applies to gasoline identified in

Rule .1301 of this Section during the time period

described in Paragraph (¥) {c} of this Rule in th«

two areas identified aa follows:

{^ the Raleigh/Durham Metropolitan

Statistical Area consisting of Durham,

Franklin, Orange, and Wake Counties^-j

(3^ the Groonoboro/Winston Salem/High

Point—Metropolitan Statistical—Area

oonsiating of Davio, Davidaon, Forsyth.

Guilford, Randolph, Stokes, and

(b)

Yadkin Countieo.

This Section shall apply to gasoline

identified in Rule .1301 of this Section during the

time period described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule

in any of the following areas, and in that area

only, when the Director notices in the North

Carolina Register that the area is in violation of

the ambient air quality standard for carbon

monoxide:

(1) the Greensboro/Winston-Salem/High

Point Metropolitan Statistical Area

consisting of Davie, Davidson, Forsyth,

Guilford, Randolph, Stokes, and

Yadkin Counties; or

(2] the Charlotte/Gastonia/Rock Hill

Metropolitan Statistical Area consisting

of Cabarrus, Gaston, Mecklenburg, and

Union Counties.

Violations of the ambient air quality standard for

carbon monoxide shall be determined in

accordance with 40 CFR 50.8.

^(c) This Section applies to gasoline identified

in Rule .1301 of this Section and in the counties

identified in Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule for

the four-month period beginning November 1 and

running through the last day of February of the

following year. The first such period begins

November 1 , 1 992^ for areas identified in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule . For areas identified in

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the first such period

shall begin on the first November i following the

notice of violation in the North Carolina Register.

4^(d) Gasoline in storage^

(1) within the counties identified in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule prior to

November 1; or

(2) within the counties identified in

Paragraph (b) of this Rule prior to

November 1 of the year in which this

Section goes into effect

at a dispensing facility having total gasoline tank

capacity of less than 550 gallons or a total weekly

dispensing rate of less than 550 gallons is

exempted from Rule .1304 of this Section, but any

gasoline supplied to the facility during the period

identified in Paragraph (b) or £c) of this Rule shall

comply with Rule .1304 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215. 3(a)(1); 143-

215. 107(a)(3), (7).

.1304 OXYGEN CONTENT STANDARD
(a) Gasolino With the exception in Paragraph fb")

of this Rule, gasoline to which this Section applies

shall have an oxygen content of not less than 2.7

percent by weight during the period defined in

Paragraph (fe)Ic} of Rule .1302 of this Section.

£b} After October 31, 1994, if the Director

notices in the North Carolina Register that the

Raleigh/Durham Metropolitan Statistical Area is in

violation of the ambient air quality standard for

carbon monoxide, gasoline to which this Section

applies sold in the Raleigh/Durham Metropolitan

Statistical Area shall have an oxygen content of not

less than 3.1 percent by weight during the period

defined in Paragraph (c) of Rule .1302 of this

Section. The first such period shall begin on the

first November 1 following the notice of violation

in the North Carolina Register. Violations of the

ambient air quality standard for carbon monoxide

shall be determined in accordance with 40 CFR
50.8.

Statutory Authority G.S 143-21 5. 3(a)(1); 143-

215. 107(a)(3), (7).

* * * *

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR - Division of Environ-

mental Management intends to amend rule cited as

15A NCAC2L .0202.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

September 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. on May 12, 1994 at the Archdale Building,

Ground Floor Hearing Room, 512 North Salisbury

Street, Raleigh NC 27604.

ixeason for Proposed Action: Will provide
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groundwater standards for eight (8) substances.

These chemicals are Boron, Butylbenzyl phthalate,

Di-n-Octyl phthalate, Diundecyl phthalate

(Santicizer 711), Fluorene, Naphthalene,

Phenanthrene, and Phenol. Action to consider

adoption of standards for these eight substances as

groundwater standards is necessary to satisfy

requirements of 15A NCAC 2L .0202(c).

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may

contact David Hance at (919) 733-3221 for more

information. Oral comments may be made during

the hearing. All written comments must be

submitted by May 16, 1994. Written copies of oral

statements exceeding three minutes are requested.

Oral statements may be limited at the discretion of

the hearing officer Mail comments to: David

Hance, DEHNR-DEM Groundwater Section, P.O.

Box 29535, Raleigh, N. C. 27626-0535.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2L - GROUNDWATER
CLASSIFICATION AND STANDARDS

SECTION .0200 - CLASSIFICATION
AND GROUNDWATER QUALITY

STANDARDS

,0202 GROUNDWATER QUALITY
STANDARDS

(a) The groundwater quality standards for the

protection of the groundwaters of the state are

those specified in this Rule. They are the

maximum allowable concentrations resulting from

any discharge of contaminants to the land or

waters of the state, which may be tolerated without

creating a threat to human health or which would

otherwise render the groundwater unsuitable for its

intended best usage.

(b) The groundwater quality standards for

contaminants specified in Paragraphs (g) and (h) of

this Rule shall be as listed, except that:

(1) Where the standard for a substance is

less than the practical quantitation limit,

the detection of that substance at or

above the practical quantitation limit

shall constitute a violation of the

standard.

(2) Where two or more substances exist in

combination, the Director shall consider

the effects of chemical interactions as

determined by the Division of

Epidemiology and may establish

maximum concentrations at values less

than those established in accordance

with Paragraphs (c) and (g) of this

Rule. In the absence of information to

the contrary, the carcinogenic risks

associated with carcinogens present

shall be considered additive and the

toxic effects associated with

non-carcinogens present shall also be

considered additive.

(3) Where naturally occurring substances

exceed the established standard, the

standard will be the naturally occurring

concentration as determined by the

Director.

(c) Except for tracers used in concentrations

which have been determined by the Division of

Epidemiology to be protective of human health,

and the use of which has been permitted by the

Division, substances which are not naturally

occurring and for which no standard is specified

shall not be permitted in detectable concentrations

in Class GA or Class GSA groundwaters. Any

person may petition the Director to establish an

interim maximum allowable concentration for an

unspecified substance, however, the burden of

demonstrating those concentrations of the

substance which correspond to the levels described

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule rests with the

petitioner. The petitioner shall submit relevant

toxicological and epidemiological data, study

results, and calculations necessary to establish a

standard in accordance with the procedure

prescribed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. Within

three months after the establishment of an interim

maximum allowable concentration for a substance

by the Director, the Director shall initiate action to

consider adoption of a standard for that substance.

(d) Groundwater quality standards for substances

in Class GA and Class GSA groundwaters are

established as the lesser of:

(1) Systemic threshold concentration

calculated as follows: [Reference Dose

(mg/kg/day) x 70 kg (adult body

weight) x Relative Source Contribution

(.10 for inorganics; .20 for organics)] /

[2 liters/day (avg. water consumption)];

(2) Concentration which corresponds to an

incremental lifetime cancer risk of

1x10*;

(3) Taste threshold limit value;

(4) Odor threshold limit value;

(5) Maximum contaminant level; or

(6) National secondary drinking water
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standard.

(e) The following references, in order of prefer-

ence, shall be used in establishing concentrations

of substances which correspond to levels described

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(1) Integrated Risk Information System

(U.S. EPA).

(2) Health Advisories (U.S. EPA Office of

Drinking Water).

(3) Other health risk assessment data pub-

lished by U.S. EPA.

(4) Other appropriate, published health risk

assessment data, and scientifically valid

peer-reviewed published toxicological

data.

(f) Groundwater quality standards specified in

Paragraphs (g) and (Ti) of this Rule and interim

maximum allowable concentrations established

pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be

reviewed on a biennial basis. Appropriate modifi-

cations to established standards will be made in

accordance with the procedure prescribed in

Paragraph (d) of this Rule where modifications are

considered appropriate based on data published

subsequent to the previous review.

(g) Class GA Standards. Where not otherwise

indicated, the standard refers to the total concen-

tration in milligrams per liter of any constituent in

a dissolved, colloidal or particulate form which is

mobile in groundwater. This does not apply to

sediment or other particulate matter which is

preserved in a groundwater sample as a result of

well construction or sampling procedures.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

£6)

18)

V™7

m)
{^
{^

04)

(\f,\

acetone: 0.7

acrylamide (propenamide): 0.00001

arsenic: 0.05

barium: 2.0

benzene: 0.001

boron: 0.32

(7) bromoform (tribromomethane)

:

0.00019

butylbenzyl phthalate: 0.10

£9) cadmium: 0.005

(10) carbofuran: 0.036

carbon tetrachloride: 0.0003iiii

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

la^chlordane: 2.7 x

chloride: 250.0

chlorobenzene: 0.05

chloroform (trichloromethane)

:

0.00019

(16) 2-chlorophenol: 0.0001

(17) chromium: 0.05

(18) cis-l,2-dichlonoethene: 0.07

(19) coliform organisms (total): 1 per

100 milliliters

fW)

(~n,\

(20) color: 15 color units

(21) copper: 1 .0

(22) cyanide: 0.154

(23) 2, 4-D (2,4-dichlorophenoxy

acetic acid): 0.07

(24) l,2-dibromo-3-chloropropane:

2.5 X 10-"')

(25) dichlorodifluoromethane

(Freon-12; Halon): 1.4

(26) 1,1 dichloroethane: 0.7

(27) 1,2-dichloroethane (ethylene

dichloride): 0.00038

(28) 1,1-dichlonoethylene (vinylidene

chloride): 0.007

43^ (29) 1,2-dichloropropane: 0.00056

(3^ (30) di-n-butyl (or dibutyl) phthalate

(DBP): 0.7

^39) (31) diethylphthalate (DEP): 5.0

(^ (32) di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate

(DEHP): 0.003

(33) di-n-octvl phthalate: 0.14

^m (34) p-dioxane (1,4-diethylene

dioxide): 0.007

m) (35) dioxin: 2.2 x lO"'"

(^ (36) dissolved solids (total): 500

(37) diundecvl phthalate (Santicizer 711):

0.14

m) (38) endrin: 0.002

im (39) epichlorohvdrin
(l-chloro-2,3-epoxypropane): 0.00354

4^ (40) ethylbenzene: 0.029

^*7) (41) ethylene dibromide (EDB;

1,2-dibromoethane): 4.0 x lO""

{^ (42) ethylene glycol: 7.0

(43) fluorene: 0.28

#9) (44) fluoride: 2.0
(AC\\ (45) foaming agents: 0.5

{44^ (46) gross alpha (adjusted)particle

activity (excluding radium-226 and

uranium): 15 pCi/1

443) (47) heptachlor: 8.0 x lO'*

{A^ (48) heptachlor epoxide: 4.0 x lO"^

(44) (49) heptane: 2.1

44§) (50) hexachlorobenzene
(perchlorobenzene): 0.00002

(46) (51) n-hexane: 0.42

{47) (52) iron: 0.3

(48) (53) lead: 0.015

{49) (54) lindane: 2.0 x 10^

m) (55) manganese: 0.05

(^ (56) mercury: 0.0011

(§3) (57) metadichlorobenzene

(1,3-dichlonDbenzene): 0.62

^^ (58) methoxychlor: 0.035

{§4) (59) methylene chloride
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(5j)

(62)

(71)

(72)

/•/;<;
-I

f^

(dichloromethane): 0.(X)5

(60) methyl ethyl ketone (MEK;

2-butanone): 0.17

(61) methyl tert-butyl ether (MTBE):

0.2

naphthalene: 0.021

(63) nickel: 0.1

(64) nitrate: (as N) 10.0

(65) nitrite: (as N) 1 .0

(66) orthodichlorobenzene

(1,2-dichlonDbenzene): 0.62

(67) oxamyl: 0.175

(68) paradichlorobenzene

(l,4-dichlon3benzene): 0.075

(69) pentachlorophenol: 0.0003

(70) Ph: 6.5 - 8.5

phenanthrene: 0.21

phenol: 0.30

(73) radium-226 and radium-228

(combined): 5 Pci/1

(74) selenium: 0.05

(75) silver: 0.018

(76) styrene (ethenylbenzene) : 0.1

(77) sulfate: 250.0

(78) tetrachloroethylene

(perchloroethylene; PCE): 0.0007

(79) toluene (methyjbenzene): 1.0

(80) toxaphene: 3.1 x la''

(81) 2, 4, 5,-TP (Silvex): 0.05

(82) trans- 1,2-dichloroethene: 0.07

(83) 1,1,1 -trichloroethane (methyl

chloroform): 0.2

(84) trichloroethylene (TCE): 0.0028

trichlorofluoromethane: 2.1

vinyl chloride (chloroethylene):

10^

xylenes (o-, m-, and p-): 0.53

zinc: 2.1

The standards for this

same as those for Class GA

(85)

(86)

1.5 X

{W) 187}

{80) 188}

(h) Class GSA Standards

class shall be the

except as follows:

(1) chloride: allowable increase not to

exceed 100 percent of the natural

quality concentration.

(2) total dissolved solids: 1000 mg/1.

(i) Class GC Waters.

(1) The concentrations of substances which,

at the time of classification exceed the

standards applicable to Class GA or

GSA groundwaters shall not be caused

to increase, nor shall the concentrations

of other substances be caused to exceed

the GA or GSA standards as a result of

further disposal of contaminants to or

beneath the surface of the land within

the boundary of the area classified GC.

(2) The concentrations of substances which,

at the time of classification, exceed the

standards applicable to GA or GSA
groundwaters shall not be caused to

migrate as a result of activities within

the boundary of the GC classification,

so as to violate the groundwater or

surfece water quality standards in

adjoining waters of a different class.

(3) Concentrations of specific substances,

which exceed the established standard

at the time of classification, shall be

listed in Section .0300 of this

Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 1438-282(2).

jyiotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule cited as

15ANCAC IOC .0302.

1 he proposed effective date of this action

October 1. 1994.

IS

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on May 9, 1994 at the Archdale Building,

3rd Floor Conference Room, 512 N. Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

ixeason for Proposed Action: To prohibit the

taking of spotted (speckled) sea trout with special

fishing devices in inland waters.

L^onwient Procedures: Interested persons may

present their views either orally or in writing at

the hearing. In addition, the record of hearing

will be open for receipt of written comments from

April 15, 1994 to May 16. 1994. Such written

comments must be delivered or mailed to the N. C.

Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES
AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER IOC - INLAND FISHING
REGULATIONS
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SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH

.0302 MANNER OF TAKING
INLAND GAME FISHES

Except as provided below, it is unJawful for any

person to take inJand game fishes from any of the

waters of North Carolina by any method other than

with hook and line. Landing nets may be used to

land fishes caught on hook and line. Game fishes

taken incidental to commercial fishing operations

in joint fishing waters or coastal fishing waters

shall be immediately returned to the water un-

harmed. Game fishes taken incidental to the use

of licensed special devices for taking nongame

fishes from inland fishing waters as authorized by

15A NCAC IOC .0407 shall be immediately

returned to the water unharmed , except that spot

ted sea trout may bo retained without limit .

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273;

113-292; 113-302.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

I\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Department of

Transportation intends to amend rule cited as 19A

NCAC 2B .0221.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

August 1, 1994.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing

(must be requested in writing within 15 days of

notice); A demand for a public hearing must be

made in writing and mailed to Emily Lee, Depart-

ment of Transportation , P. O. Box 25201 , Raleigh
,

NC 27611. The demand must be received within

15 days of this Notice.

AVeason for Proposed Action; Amendments

increase the distances from an interchange that

facilities may be located to qualify for erection of

General Motorist Services signs.

L^omment Procedures; Any interested person may

submit written comments on the proposed rule by

mailing the comments to Emily Lee, Department of

Transportation. PO. Box 25201, Raleigh, NC
27611 within 30 days after the proposed rule is

published or until the date of any public hearing

held on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS

SUBCHAPTER 2B - HIGHWAY PLANNING

SECTION .0200 - TRAFFIC ENGINEERING

.0221 GENERAL MOTORIST SERVICES
SIGNS

(a) General Motorist Services Signs mean signs

that provide travelers with directional information

for essential motorist services. The signs carry

word legends GAS, DIESEL, LP (PROPANE)
GAS. FOOD, LODGING, PHONE, HOSPITAL,
and TOURIST INFORMATION CENTER with

appropriate directional legend, and the exit number

where applicable. The cost associated with Gener-

al Motorist Services Signs is the responsibility of

the Department of Transportation.

(b) Specific Services Signs mean signs erected

under the Specific Information Signing Program as

described in G.S. 136-140.7. These signs provide

travelers with business identification and direction-

al information for essential motorist services. The

signs carry word legends GAS, FOOD, LODG-
ING and CAMPING with appropriate directional

legend, the exit number where applicable, and one

or more business logos. The cost associated with

Specific Services Signs is borne by the businesses

whose logos are shown on the signs through initial

and annual fees paid to the Department of Trans-

portation.

(c) State Rural Primary' System. Signing for

general motorist services shall be installed only on

rural fully controlled access highways and shall be

in conformance with the "Manual on Uniform

Traffic Control Devices. " Requests for signing for

general motorist services shall be directed to the

highway division engineer having jurisdiction in

the county in which the sign is proposed. If ap-

proved, services signing shall be installed and

maintained by the Department of Transportation.

(d) General Requirements for All Services. The

requirements in this Paragraph shall be applied in

determining the placement of service signs on the

interstate or rural fully controlled access highways.

Service signs shall be erected only at grade sepa-

rated interchanges. A fully controlled access

highway shall have neither a minimum length

requirement nor minimum number of interchanges

requirement to qualify for erection of service

signs. A facility shall meet the specific require-

ments for signs in Paragraph (e). It shall have an

outside coin-operated telephone in the immediate
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vicinity of the business (within the intersection

area, at an adjacent business or across the road),

which is accessible. A business phone at an

adjacent business is not a public telephone for a

particular applicant business. The maximum

distance that a "Gas", "Diesel", "LP (PROPANE)

Gas", "Food", or "Lodging" service can be locat-

ed from the facility shall not exceed one mile, with

the maximum—diotanoeo—being—three

—

miles—fef

"Food" and "Lodging", and five miles for "Camp

ing", three miles in either direction via an

all-weather road. Where no qualifying services

exist within three miles, the maximum distance

may be increased to six miles, provided the total

travel distance to the business and return to the

interchange does not exceed 12 miles. When the

nearest qualifying service is located more than

three miles from the facility, the distance to the

service shall be shown on the service sign at the

ramp terminal. The maximum distance for

"Camping" service shall not exceed 10 miles.

Said distances shall be measured from the point on

the interchange crossroad, coincident with the

centerline of the facility route median, along the

roadways to the respective motorist service. The

point to be measured to for each business is a

point on the roadway that is perpendicular to the

comer of the nearest wall of the business to the

interchange. The wall to be measured to shall be

that of the main building or office. Walls of sheds

(concession stands, storage buildings, separate

restrooms, etc.) whether or not attached to the

main building are not to be used for the purposes

of measuring. If the office (main building) of a

business is located more than 0.2 mile from a

public road on a private road or drive, the distance

to the office along the said drive/road shall be

included in the overall distance measured to

determine whether or not the business qualifies for

business signing. The office shall be presumed to

be at the place where the services are provided.

(e) Specific Requirements for Erection of

General Motorist Services Signs:

(1) Gas, Diesel, LP (PROPANE) Gas, and

Associated Services. Criteria for

erection of a Gas service sign, a Diesel

service sign, or an LP (PROPANE) Gas

Service sign shall include:

(A) appropriate licensing to operate as

required by law;

(B) vehicle services for fuel, motor oil,

tire repair (by an employee) and

water;

(C) restroom facilities and drinking water

suitable for public use;

(D) an on-premise attendant to collect

monies, make change, and make or

arrange for tire repairs; and

(E) year-round operation at least 16

continuous hours per day, 7 days a

week.

(2) Food. Criteria for erection of a Food

service sign shall include:

(A) appropriate licensing to operate as

required by law, and a permit to

operate by the health department;

(B) year-round operation at least 12

continuous hours per day to serve

three meals a day (sandwich type

entrees may be considered a meal)

(breakfast, lunch, supper), 7 days a

week;

(C) indoor seating for at least 20 persons;

and

(D) public restroom facilities.

(3) Lodging. Criteria for erection of a

Lodging service sign shall include:

(A) appropriate licensing to operate as

required by law, and a permit to

operate by the health department;

(B) sleeping accommodations consisting

of a minimum of 10 units, each

including bathroom and sleeping

rooms;

(C) off-street vehicle parking for each

lodging room for rent; and

(D) year-round operation.

(4) Camping. Criteria for erection of a

Camping service sign shall include:

(A) appropriate licensing to operate as

required by law;

(B) meeting all sfate and county health

and sanitation codes, and having

water and sewer systems which have

been duly inspected and approved by

the local health authority. The

operator shall present evidence of

such inspection and approval;

(C) at least 10 campsites with

accommodations for all types of

travel-trailers, tents and camping

vehicles;

(D) parking accommodations to meet

current demand;

(E) continuous operation, 7 days a week

during business season.

A business sign shall be removed or

masked by the Department during off"

seasons, if the campground is operated

on a seasonal basis.
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(5) Phone. Signs may be posted for a

phone location only in respect to

outdoor telephone booths where service

is available on a twenty-four hour basis.

(6) Hospital. Hospital signs shall consist

of the word "Hospital" along the main

roadway and the blue "H" at the end of

the ramp. The blue "H" shall be used

to trailblaze from the ramp terminal to

the hospital where needed. The intent

of providing "Hospital" signs along

interstate or controlled access highways

is to direct unfemiliar motorists to a

hospital in case there is a need for

emergency medical services. The blue

"Hospital" sign shall be used on the

interstate or controlled access

highways. These hospital signs shall be

used only for hospitals equipped to

handle emergency cases with a

physician on duty 24 hours each day

and within a practical distance from the

interchange. A blue sign showing the

name of the hospital at the end of the

ramp along with the proper directional

arrow may be provided when a traffic

engineering investigation has shown the

need. Trailblazer signs where

necessary shall mark the route to the

hospital using the blue "H". Use of the

name of the hospital on green

directional signs along conventional

(non-interstate or non-controlled access)

type streets and roads when a traffic

engineering investigation has shown

they are needed may be permitted.

These green directional signs apply

only to those hospitals which do not

provide the 24-hour emergency service.

(7) Service signs shall not be erected on

non-controlled or partially controlled

access facilities or at locations within or

near municipalities where it is obvious

to the motorist that services are

available.

(f) Tourist Information Center. Tourist

information center service signing may be

approved and installed by the Department of

Transportation when the following conditions are

met:

(1) The motorist using the highway in a

particular direction must be able to

leave and return to the highway via the

same interchange and continue in the

same direction of travel.

(2) The service must be located in a rest

area on the freeway or within one mile

of the interchange off ramp and on a

direct route from the freeway.

(3) The service must operate continuously

for at least eight hours per day, seven

days per week, and 360 days per year.

(4) At least one separate and trained

attendant with knowledge of tourist

facilities in the state shall be on duty to

service visitors during all hours of

operation.

(5) The facility must have available at no

charge to visitors complete information

on tourist facilities in the state; such as

lodging, auto service, food, medical,

recreational, historical and scenic sites;

and it must also be readily available

when attendant is off duty.

(6) The service must be housed in a

separated area from other facilities in

an appropriate building to provide an

area, heated in winter and cooled in

summer, of not less than 625 square

feet of floor area for displays and

lounge devoted for providing this

service.

(7) The service must have at least one 50

pocket rack for noncommercial public

service materials and displays.

(8) The service must have rest room

facilities available at no cost to the

visitor and designed for use by

handicapped individuals.

(9) The service must have drinking water

approved by appropriate local authority.

(10) The service must have a public

telephone designed for use by

handicapped individuals.

(11) The service must have off-street

parking at no cost to the motorist and

must have curb cuts and ramps for the

handicapped.

(12) Any displays, literature, magazines,

etc., that would be judged by the

Department to be offensive to visitors

with children must not be readily

visible.

(13) The service must provide designated

facilities for pets.

(14) The name of the operating agency,

community, group or enterprise shall

not appear in the legend of any sign.

(g) Removal of General Motorist Services Signs.

(1) If municipal limits are revised so that
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between the previous interchange and 800

feet in advance of the exit direction sign

for the interchange from which the ser-

vices are available. There shall be at

least 800 feet spacing between the panels

and other signs. In the direction of

traffic, the successive panels shall be

those for "CAMPING", "LODGING",
"FOOD", and "GAS" in that order. A
combination type panel may be used in

remote rural areas of the Interstate Sys-

tem, or other fully controlled access

highway and when space does not permit

all signs and only two of each type of

service is available at the location. A
maximum of three business signs may

appear below each respective service on

a combination type panel. If all four

services are available, "GAS" and

"FOOD" shall be combined on one sign,

and "LODGING" and "CAMPING" shall

be combined on one sign. When the

number of business facilities at a rural

interchange are increased to more than

three for one or more services, existing

combination service business signing

must be removed and replaced with sign

panels, dedicated to each service. If the

spacing limitations prohibit the erection

of Specific Information Panels for all of

the types of services available, preference

shall be given to "GAS", "FOOD",

"LODGING" or "CAMPING" services in

that order. No panels shall be erected

where minimum spacing limitations

cannot be met.

If a panel (s) cannot be erected due to spacing

limitations, a supplemental service sign, which lists

the additional services available, may be erected

below existing sign(s). Not more than three

services may be erected below an existing sign.

(5) On each exit ramp, a ramp panel for the

qualified type of motorist service may be

erected.

If all of the qualified services are visible from the

exit ramp terminal, ramp panels are not required.

(6) The ramp panel shall be erected as de-

tailed on the signing plans for the inter-

change. If conditions permit, the succes-

sive panels along the ramp in the direc-

tion of traffic shall be those for "CAMP-
ING", "LODGING", "FOOD", and

"GAS" in that order.

(7) If there is insufficient space on the ramp

or the mainline for all the panels, priority

shall be given to "GAS", "FOOD",
"LODGING", then "CAMPING" servic-

es in that order. If panel(s) cannot be

erected on a ramp due to spacing limita-

tions, a supplemental service sign, which

lists the additional services available,

may be erected.

(8) Panels shall not be erected at an inter-

change where the motorist cannot conve-

niently re-enter the freeway and continue

in the same direction of travel. Panels

shall not be erected at any intorohango

with another controlled acoeao facility'.

Authority G.S. 136-89.56; 136-137; 136-139;

143B-346; 143B-348; 143B-350(f); 23 C.F.R. 750,

Subpart A; 23 U.S.C. 131(f).

* * * *

ISotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Department of Transportation,

Division of Motor Vehicles, School Bus and Traffic

Safety Section intends to amend rules cited as 19A

NCAC 03G . 0207; 031 . 0202, . 0307. . 0501 , . 0503.

.0601, .0602, .0701 and .0703.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. - 3:00 p.m. on May 4. 1994 at the Division

of Motor Vehicles Building, Annex Room 201

(Corference Room), 1100 New Bern Avenue,

Raleigh, NC 27697.

treason for Proposed Action:

19A NCAC 03G .0207 - The commercial driver

license is to go to a five-year renewal cycle.

These requirements for school bus driver certifica-

tion are tied to the CDL cycle. The transition

period will entail CDLs of a minimum of three

years ' and a maximum of seven years ' validity.

The proposed formulation posits per-year require-

ments which meet any eventuality.

19A NCAC 031 .0202 - Tliis item adds one re-

quirement for obtaining an original Commercial

Driver Training School license. This should help

the schools meet their obligations before they have

an emergency.

19A NCAC 031 .0307 - This addition to (l)(b)

requires that a person taking driver training in a
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Commercial Driver Training School be covered by

a permit while operating the driver training car.

The addition to (2) makes more specific that a

person with a learner 's permit has the book knowl-

edge necessary, needs only in-car physical driving

practice, and cannot be required by a school to

pay money unnecessarily.

19A NCAC 031 .0501 & .0503 - These changes

stiffen the requirements for certification as a

private commercial driver training instructor,

requiring a cleaner driving record for a longer

period of time. They also would require a crimi-

nal check.

19A NCAC 031 .0601 - .0602 - Strictly speaking,

these amendments represent no change at all. The

wording of the proposal is the same; it is merely

shiftedfrom . 0602 to . 0601 , as the more appropri-

ate location for the statement. The component

parts of .0602 are re-lettered/ re-numbered to

reflect the removal offormer (b).

19A NCAC 031 .0701 & .0703 - The change in

.0701 doubles the face value of the bond covering

a commercial driver training school against

liability. Adding the city to the address advertized

will aid the consumer in deciding his costs of

travel before signing with the school.

l^omment Procedures: Interested persons may

pre-register to speak at the public hearing by

contacting Mark Fountain, NC DMV, School Bus

and Traffic Safety Section, 1100 New Bern Avenue,

Raleigh, N. C. 27697 (919) 733-3046 no later than

two days prior to the hearing. A 10-minute speak-

ing time will be observed. Written comments will

also be accepted and should be sent to Mr. Foun-

tain at the above address no later than May 16,

1994.

CHAPTER 3 - DIVISION
OF MOTOR VEHICLES

SUBCHAPTER 3G - SCHOOL BUS
AND TRAFFIC SAFETY SECTION

SECTION .0200 - SCHOOL BUS
DRIVER TRAINING

.0207 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION
Every driver must be re-certified at the time of

the expiration of his Commercial Driver License

every four years upon passing the three written

tests (general knowledge, passenger transport, and

air brakes), a pre-trip test, a road test or route

observation, the three road teota (pro trip inspeo

tion,—boflio skillo, and road), and an eye test. A
driver may be exempted from the written tests,

provided he has accumulated no more than three

points on his driving record a driving record oloor

of any oonviotion for a moving violation since his

last certification and has had at least one hour fe«f

hours of in-service training for each year since his

last certification. A driver whose certification

expires may be re-certified within thirty days in

the same manner as though his certification had

not expired. Any driver whose certification

expires for more than thirty days may be re-certi-

fied within the next year four years following the

expiration upon passing the three written tests

(general knowledge, passenger transport, and air

brakes) , the three skills road tests (pre-trip inspec-

tion, basic skills, and road), and an eye test. If

more than one year has four years have elapsed

since the expiration of the most recent certifica-

tion, the applicant must complete the full training

course required of a beginning driver.

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-39(b); 20-218.

SUBCHAPTER 31 - RULES AND
REGULATIONS GOVERNING

THE LICENSING OF COMMERCIAL
DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS

AND INSTRUCTIONS

SECTION .0200 - REQUIREMENTS AND
APPLICATIONS FOR COMMERCIAL

DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS

.0202 ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Each original application for a commercial driver

training school license shall consist of the follow-

ing:

(1) Application for license;

(2) Personal history statement (Form SBTS-

601, available from the School Bus and

Traffic Safety Section) of owner-operator

or manager;

(3) Proposed plan of operation;

(4) Proof of liability insurance;

(5) Sample copies of contracts;

(6) A check or money order in the amount of

forty dollars ($40.00). This fee is due

for both original and renewal applications

for license;

(7) Certificate of assumed name;

(8) Surety Bond;

(9) A report from the appropriate agency

indicating that the location or locations

meet fire safety standards;
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(10) A copy of the deed, lease, or other legal

instruments authorizing the school to

occupy such locations;

(11) List of fees for all services oflFered by the

school; afldr

(12) A copy of lease agreement if leasing

vehicles! and

(13) A copy of the business insurance cover-

ing injury to a student.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

SECTION .0300 - SCHOOL LOCATION:
PHYSICAL FACILITIES: AND
COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

.0307 COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
Commercial driver training schools are autho-

rized to teach the following courses:

(1) For unlicensed persons 18 years of age or

older, a course as follows:

(a) Classroom Instruction. A minimum of

six hours, including (but not limited to)

rules of the road and other laws affect-

ing the operation of motor vehicles,

safe driving practices, pedestrian safety,

and the general responsibilities of the

driver.

(b) Behind-the-Wheel Instruction. A mini-

mum of six hours, including instruction

and practice in all the basic physical

skills necessary for proper control of a

motor vehicle in all normal driving

situations, such as starting, stopping,

steering and turning, controlling the

vehicle in traffic, backing, and parking.

A valid learner's permit issued by the

Driver License Section of the Division

is required.

(c) A person holding a valid learner's

permit issued by the Driver License

Section of the Division shall not be

required to take the six hours of class-

room instruction set forth in (l)(a) of

this Rule.

(d) A person holding a valid learner's

permit or driver's license issued by the

Driver License Section of the Division

may contract for any portion of the six-

hour behind-the-wheel instruction.

(2) For licensed persons a course for purpos-

es of driver improvement, such as im-

proving their knowledge and skill in the

operation of a motor vehicle. A person

holding a valid learner's permit issued by

the Driver License Section of the Divi-

sion shall not be required to take the six

hours of classroom instruction.

(3) For unlicensed persons under the age of

18 years, a course which must be ap-

proved by the Commissioner and the

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

as follows:

(a) Classroom Instruction shall not include

workbook assignments or other work

out of the presence of an instructor. A
minimum of 30 hours shall be taught,

consisting of instruction in:

(i) highway transportation: its social and

economic influence upon life in

America;

(ii) drivers: their physical and mental

characteristics and how their

capabilities and limitations influence

the traffic scene;

(iii) the automobile: its construction,

maintenance, and safe operation;

(iv) traffic law and enforcement: laws of

nature and man-made laws; and their

relationship to traffic safety;

(v) pedestrians and bicycles: their

influence upon the traffic scene;

(vi) engineering: its influence upon

automobiles, highways, traffic

controls, and people;

(vii) driving while impaired: six hours of

instruction on the effects of drinking

upon driving and upon accident and

death rates; and

(viii) rights and privileges of handicapped

persons; their rights to use flags,

placards, cards, license plates, and

parking places.

(b) Behind-the-Wheel Instruction. A
minimum of six hours, actually under

the wheel, including:

(i) femiliarization with the automobile;

the use of its controls; and the

development of skills essential to safe

operation in traffic; and

(ii) driving in traffic with the instructor in

a dual control car to develop abilities

needed to follow the soundest course

of action in responding to complex

situations.

(c) Restrictions:

(i) Behind-the-Wheel instruction shall be

ofl'ered to a student only after he has

successfully completed the classwork

section. If a student has contracted for
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both classwork and behind-the-wheel

training, behind-the-wheel training

may begin after classwork starts and

before classwork has been completed.

At no time shall a student be taken

out of class to attend behind-the-wheel

training.

(ii) No student shall operate a motor

vehicle upon any public street or

highway unless such student shall

have in his immediate possession a

valid Restricted Instruction Permit

issued by the Division.

(iii) No more than three hours of behind-

the-wheel training shall be given in

any one day. A written record

indicating the date and time of this

training shall be kept on file for each

student. The record must be signed

by the student and shall not include

any hours of observation of other

students, i.e. mere presence in the car

while someone else is driving,

(d) Other requirements:

(i) Plans for the content of the

curriculum, its organization, and

presentation shall be submitted on

Form SBTS-610 for the approval of

the Commissioner and the State

Superintendent of Public Instruction.

In addition, lesson plans for each of

the 30 hours must be submitted.

(ii) Textbooks for use in the classwork

section shall be chosen from those

approved by the State Superintendent

of Public Instruction.

(iii) Instructors must be approved by both

the Commissioner and the State

Superintendent of Public Instruction.

(iv) All expenses incurred in offering and

teaching these courses shall be paid

by the persons enrolled therein or the

school offering the course.

(v) A student may enroll for either the

classroom work or behind-the-wheel

instruction, or both. A school may

accept certification of satisfectory

completion of classroom instruction

from any school authorized to offer

such a course, provided the certificate

(Form SBTS-611A) is signed by the

principal of the public school, or the

superintendent of the administrative

unit of which it is a part, or the

executive ofl^cer of a non-public

secondary school. All SBTS-611A
forms shall be mailed or taken

directly to the high school for

completion by the commercial school

owner or instructor. Under no

circumstances shall the form be given

to the student.

(vi) Schools offering this course shall

issue to their students upon

satisfactory completion of either or

both parts of the course a certificate

furnished by the Division (Form

SBTS-611). This certificate verifies

only the training taught by the

commercial school. The student's

name on this certificate must be as it

appears on his birth certificate.

Schools shall be accountable to the

Division for all certificates issued to

them.

(vii) The student, upon submitting

certification of satisfactory completion

of both parts of the driver education

course, shall be eligible for licensing

as provided by law. Such

certification may be from either or

both a public or non-public secondary

school or a commercial driver training

school.

(viii) Schools shall submit reports to the

Division, as may be required by the

Division; and their books and records

shall be open to inspection by

Division representatives at ail

reasonable times.

(e) A person satisfactorily completing the

thirty and six hour course who desires

additional training may contract for any

portion of the six-hour behind-the-wheel

instruction.

(4) For licensed persons taking a course

offered by a restricted commercial driver

training school, the following courses are

authorized:

(a) curriculum for evaluation and

improvement for licensed adult drivers

only, utilizing over-the-road observation

in vehicles not owned by the school or

equipment such as driving simulators;

(b) professional curricula, including one or

more of the following:

(i) police pursuit driving,

(ii) auto-cross driving,

(iii) emergency-vehicle driving, or

(iv) road and track racing.
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(5) Instructor training program, the

requirements for which are:

(a) the school must be licensed one full

year prior to approval;

(b) all work must be with an instructor

licensed as an Instructor Trainer;

(c) a proposed plan of operation must be

submitted to the Division outlining the

training schedule, including instruction

in:

(i) using effective teaching methods,

(ii) writing lesson plans,

(iii) reviewing of Rules Governing the

Licensing of Commercial Driver

Training Schools and Instructors,

(iv) using audio visual equipment and

teaching aids,

(v) filling out fully and properly all

commercial school forms, and

(vi) listing names of Instructor Trainers to

be employed for the training program.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

SECTION .0500 - REQUIREMENTS AND
APPLICATIONS FOR DRIVER
TRAINING INSTRUCTOR

.0501 REQUIREMENTS
(a) Each instructor of a commercial driver

training school or branch shall:

(1) be of good moral character;

(2) have at least four years of experience as

a licensed operator of a motor vehicle;

(3) not have been convicted of a felony or

convicted of a misdemeanor involving

moral turpitude in the 10 years

immediately preceding the date of

application;

(4) not have had a revocation or suspension

of his driver's license in the five fe«f

years immediately preceding the date of

application^ and not have had a

revocation or suspension for DWI for a

period of seven years ;

(5) have graduated from high school or

hold a high school equivalency

certificate;

(6) not have had convictions for moving

violations totaling five seven or more

points in the three years preceding the

date of application;

(7) have completed the 80-contact-hour,

community-college course for driver

education teachers; an equivalent course

approved by the Commissioner, or an

Instructor Trainer Program conducted

by an approved Commercial Driver

Training School within four years prior

to application ;

(8) successfully complete the written test

administered by a Driver Education

Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(9) successfully complete the Miller Road

Test given by a Driver Education

Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(10) be given a three month probation period

until evaluated and recommended by a

Driver Education Specialist;

(11) submit a criminal background check

from the Clerk of Court for each

county of residence for the past ten

years .

(b) An applicant may apply for an instructor's

learner's permit which would be valid for three

months. To be eligible for an instructor's

learner's permit, the applicant shall meet

requirements Subparagraph (a) (1) through (6); and

shall:

(1) submit an Instructor Application with

an eight dollar ($8.00) application fee,

copy of high school diploma or high

school equivalency certificate, and

physical examination form;

(2) successfully complete 40 hours of

classwork as a student at an approved

commercial driver training school to

consist of:

(A) 30 hours in the basic driver education

classwork;

(B) an additional 10 hours in practice

teaching. writing lesson plans,

reviewing the rules of this

Subchapter, use of audio visual

equipment and teaching aids and

familiarization of commercial school

forms;

(3) successfully complete six hours of

behind-the- wheel training as a student

at an approved commercial driver

training school;

(4) successfully complete six hours of

observation of behind-the-wheel

instruction of a new driver by a

licensed instructor trainer;

(5) successfully complete the written test

administered by a Driver Education

Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(6) successfiilly complete the Miller Road

Test given by a Driver Education
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Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(7) after completing Subparagraphs (b) (1)

through (6) practice teach in the

presence of an instructor trainer;

(8) successfiilly complete two hours of

classroom instruction while being

observed by a Driver Education

Specialist;

(9) successfully complete two hours of

behind-the-wheel instruction while

being observed by a Driver Education

Specialist;

(10) be recommended by a Driver Education

Specialist to receive an instructor's

license.

(c) An instructor at an approved commercial

driver training school may apply for an Instructor

Trainer license. The Instructor Trainer shall:

(1) have five consecutive years as an active

licensed instructor;

(2) submit an application for Instructor

Trainer License with a fee of eight

dollars ($8.00);

(3) complete two hours of classroom

observation by a Driver Education

Specialist while training instructors, not

driver education student;

(4) complete two hours of behind-the-wheel

observation by a Driver Education

Specialist while training instructors, not

driver education students;

(5) successfully complete the written test

administered by a Driver Education

Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(6) successfully complete the Miller Road

Test given by a Driver Education

Specialist; (Allowed only one retest);

(7) be recommended by a Driver Education

Specialist;

(8) requalify each school year.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

.0503 RENEWAL APPLICATION
(a) Renewal application shall be made by an

instructor annually between May 1 and June 10 of

each year. All licenses expire on June 30 of each

year, and no instructor is permitted to operate with

an expired license. However, applications for

renewal may be accepted for up to 30 days from

the date of expiration. Any license expired for

more than 30 days shall be deemed permanently

lapsed; and renewal of such license must be by the

same process as required for an entirely new
license, with all forms and certifications being

required.

(b) At least once every four years, an instructor

must take the two-semester-hour college credit

course required for the original license; provided,

however, that an equivalent number of hours (64)

(40) can be substituted for this course in the

following manner:

(1) 16 +3 hours (four three for each full

year of the four years) for active and

continuing teaching of driver education;

(2) 48 38 or more hours for attendance at

teacher training workshops and short

courses, professional driver training

meetings and conferences in the field of

driver education which have been

approved in advance by the School Bus

and Traffic Safety Section. Approval is

to be given in the following manner:

(A) Pre-Course (submit for approval):

(i) name and address of agency

sponsoring the workshop, course

or conference;

(ii) title, dates, and location of the

workshop, course, or conference;

(iii) brief description of the workshop,

course, or conference, including

the number of hours;

(B) Post-Course (submit for approval and

credit)

:

(i) proof of attendance, number of

contact hours actually attended,

and passing grade (if applicable);

(ii) brief evaluation of the workshop,

course, or conference.

(c) An accredited driver education teacher with

a current certificate based on the requirements of

the Department of Public Instruction is exempted

from the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this

Rule.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

SECTION .0600 - COIVTRACTS

.0601 REQUIREMENTS
Commercial driver training school contracts with

students shall contain (but are not limited to) the

following information:

(1) the agreed total contract charges and full

terms of payment thereof;

(2) the number, nature, time and extent of

lessons contracted for, including:

(a) classroom instruction:

(i) rate per hour;

(ii) date and time of first lesson and each
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(iii)

subsequent lesson, the length of each

lesson, and the total number of hours;

type of instruction;

(i)

(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

(b) behind-the-wheel instruction:

rate per hour;

date and time of first lesson and each

subsequent lesson, the length of each

lesson, and the total number of hours;

nature of lessons, whether private or

group (no group may consist of more

than the instructor and two students);

rate for use of school vehicle for a

driver's license road test, if an extra

charge is made;

(3) a statement which reads substantially as

follows: "This agreement constitutes the

entire contract between the school and

the student, and any verbal assurances or

promises not contained herein shall bind

neither the school nor the student."^ and

(4) a statement which reads as follows:

"This school is licensed by the State of

North Carolina, Division of Motor

Vehicles."

If either the school or the instructor fails to

comply with the provisions of any contract or

agreement between the school and the student, the

school shall refund, on a qto rata basis, all monies

collected from the student as consideration for the

performance of the contract or the agreement.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

.0602 PROfflBITED CONTRACT
PROVISIONS

{a) Commercial driver training school contracts

shall not contain the following:

(1) the statement "no refund" or its

equivalent; The contract may, however,

contain a statement that "The school will

not refund any tuition monies or any part

thereof when actual services have been

rendered";

(2) any statement to the effect that a driver's

license is guaranteed or otherwise

promised as a result of the driver's

license training course.

^fe)

—

If either the school or the inetructor fails to

comply with the provisions of any oontraot or

agreement between the school and the student, the

school shall refund, on a pro rata basis, all monies

collected from the student as oonsidemtion for the

performance of the contract or the agreem ent.

Statutory Authority G. S. 20-322 through 20-324.

SECTION .0700 - BONDING
AND ADVERTISING

.0701 BONDS
Prior to license approval, a school shall file with

the Division a continuous "cash" or "surety" bond

written by a company licensed to do business in

North Carolina in the amount of five thousand

dollars ($5,(XX)) two thousand five hundred dollars

($2,500) to indemnify any student against loss or

damage arising out of the school's breach of

contract between the school and the student (Form

SBTS-606).

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-322 through 20-324.

.0703 ADVERTISING
A commercial driver training school may

advertise by whatever method it sees fit with the

following exceptions:

(1) The address of a telephone-answering

service, when it is not the same as the

principal place of business of the school,

shall not be shown in any medium of

advertising or telephone directory. Nor

shall any telephone directory listing or

yellow page advertisement show a

telephone number for a school unless it

also shows a valid address^ including the

city, for the principal place of business of

the school.

(2) No advertisement shall indicate in any

way that a school can or will issue or

guarantee the issuance of a driver's

license, or imply that preferential or

advantageous treatment from the Division

can be obtained.

(3) A school may state in an advertisement

that it has been approved and licensed by

the Division.

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-322 through 20-324.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING BOARDS

CHAPTER 26 - LICENSING BOARD
OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS

ISotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Board of

Landscape Architects intends to amend rule cited

as 21 NCAC 26 .0105.
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The proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on May 2, 1994 at the N. C. Board ofLand-

scape Architects, 3733 Benson Drive, Raleigh, NC
27609.

Reason for Proposed Action: Raise fees to cover

costs.

i^omment Procedures: Written convnent must be

submitted up to and including May 16, 1994 to the

N. C. Board ofLandscape Architects, 3733 Benson

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609.

SECTION .0100 -STATUTORY AND
ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS

.0105 FEES
(a) Application fees shali be as follows:

(1) For registration as a Landscape Archi-

tect - one hundred dollars ($100.00).

(2) For corporate certificate of registration

- one hundi^ dollars ($100.00).

(b) The Certificate of Permit for a temporary

permit shall be one hundred fifty dollars

($150.00).

(c) Examination fees shall be three hundred

ninety five dollaro ($395.00) four hundred fifty

dollars ($450.00) for a complete examination, and

shall be paid prior to the examination.

(d) Fees for portions of examinations will be

based on the actual charges to the board for pro-

curing, administering and grading the portion of

the exam. The fees shall be paid prior to the

examination.

(e) The fee for license by reciprocity shall be

one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00).

(f) The fee for a corporate certificate of registra-

tion shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00).

(g) The fee for the annual renewal of any

certificate of registration shall be seventy—fij.«

dollars ($75.00) one hundred dollars ($100.00) .

(h) Annual renewal fees received after July 1 of

each year shall be subject to the assessment of a

late payment penalty according to the following

schedule:

(1) After July 1 - ten dollars ($10.00);

(2) After September 1 - fifteen dollars

($15.00);

(3) After October 1 - twenty dollars

($20.00);

(4) After November 1 - twenty five dollars

($25.00);

(5) After December 1 - thirty dollars

($30.00);

(6) After January 1 - thirty five dollars

($35.00);

(7) After February 1 - forty dollars

($40.00);

(8) After March 1 - forty five dollars

($45.00);

(9) After April 1 - fifty dollars ($50.00).

(i) The fee for re-issue of a lost or damaged

certificate or permit is ten dollars ($10.00).

Statutory Authority G.S. 89A-3(c); 89A-6.

CHAPTER 50 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS
OF PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE

SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS

Jylotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the State Board of Examiners of

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors

intends to amend rule cited as 27 NCAC 50 .0306;

and adopt rule cited as 21 NCAC 50 .1104.

Ihe proposed effective date of this action is

August 1, 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 8:30

a.m. on June 8, 1994 at the State Board of Exam-

iners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler

Contractors, 801 Hillsborough St., Suite 403,

Raleigh, NC 27603.

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 50 .0306 - To clarify type and extent of

practical experience required of applicant for

examination.

21 NCAC 50 .1104 - To recover cost of providing

documents and returned checks.

(comment Procedures: Persons wishing to present

oral data, views or argument on a proposed rule

or rule change may file a notice with the Board at

least 10 days prior to the public hearing at which

the person wishes to speak. Comments should be

limited to 10 minutes. The address of the Board is

801 Hillsborough St., Suite 403, Raleigh, N.C.
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Written comments or arguments may be presented

at any time before June 8, 1994.

SECTION .0300 - EXAMEVATIONS

.0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF
LICENSE

(a) All applicants for regular examinations shall

file an application in the office of the executive

secretary on or before the date set out on the

examination application form, which date shall be

no more than 60 days prior to the examination.

(b) Applicants for the October 1990 each plumb-

ing or heating examination shall present evidence

at the time of application on forms provided by the

Board to establish six months two years on-site

full-time experience in the installation, mainte-

nance, service or repair of plumbing or heating

systems related to the category for which license is

sought, whether or not license was required for the

work performed. One year of experience will be

required of applicant for the April 1991 examina

tions, 18 months experience for the October 1991

examination, and two yoaro of exporionoe for the

April 1992 examination and examinations conduct

ed th ereafte r. After review, the Board may re-

quest additional evidence. Up to one-half the

experience may be in academic or technical train-

ing directly related to the field of endeavor for

which examination is requested. The Board will

pro rate part-time work of less than 40 hours per

week or part-time academic work of less than 15

semester or quarter hours. Practical experience

should directly involve plumbing or heating sys-

tems and may include work as a field superinten-

dent, project manager, journeyman, mechanic or

plant stationary operator directly involved in the

installation, maintenance, service or repair of such

systems. Work as a local government inspector of

plumbing or heating systems while qualified by the

Code Officials Qualification Board, work as a field

representative of this Board or work by a graduate

of an ABET accredited engineering or engineering

technology program with direct on-site involve-

ment with plumbing or heating system construc-

tion, construction supervision, plant engineering or

operation may utilize such work as evidence of

practical experience; provided that Board members

and employees may not sit for examination during

their tenure with the Board.

(c) Applicants who obtain a license will receive

a certificate issued by the Board, bearing the

license number assigned to the qualifying individu-

al.

(d) Fire Sprinkler contractors will meet experi-

ence requirements in accordance with Nicet exami-

nation criteria.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21 (b).

SECTION .1100 -FEES

.1104 FEES FOR COPIES OF RECORDS
AND RETUIWED CHECKS
The Board charges the following fees:

(1) copy of the Register of Licensees ; ^
4.00 each

12}

ill

i4j

copies of license ; 15.00

abstract of license record 15.00

processing fee for returned checks ^

20.00

Statutory Authority G.S. 25-3-512; 87-18;

150B-19.

* * *

CHAPTER 54 - BOARD OF PRACTICING
PSYCHOLOGISTS

jyiotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Psychology

Board intends to adopt rules cited as 21 NCAC 54

.2701 - .2703.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 11:00

a.m. on May 2, 1994 at the Lucy D. Inman Con-

ference Room, 1004 Dresser Court, Ste. 105,

Raleigh, N. C.

Mxeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 54 .2701 - To define health services.

21 NCAC 54 .2702 - To set requirements for

making application as a health service provider

prior to June 30, 1994.

21 NCAC 54 .2703 - To require display of certifi-

cate.

i^omment Procedures: Comments may be submit-

ted in writing or in person at the public hearing or

in writing prior to May 17, 1994 to Martha Storie,

Executive Director, N. C Psychology Board,

University Hall, Appalachian State University,

Boone. NC 28608.
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hiditor's Note: Rule .2701 was filed as a tempo-

rary rule effective April 20, 1994 for a period of

180 days or until the permanent rule becomes

effective, whichever is sooner Rule .2702 was

filed as a temporary rule effective April 20, 1994

for a period of 70 days.

SECTION .2700 - HEALTH SERVICES
PROVIDER CERTIFICATION

,2701 ACTIVITIES INCLUDED
(a) Health services in psychology include the

diagnosis, evaluation, treatment, remediation, and

prevention of: mental, emotional, and behavioral

disorder, disability, and illness; substance abuse:

habit and conduct disorder; and psychological

aspects of physical illness, accident, injury, and

disability. Included are counseling, psycho-

educational, and neuropsychological services

related to the above. Health services include

collateral contacts by a psychologist with families,

caretakers, and other professionals for the purpose

of benefiting a patient or client of that psycholo-

gist, as well as, direct services by a psychologist

to individuals and groups.

(b) Health services in psychology do not include

vocational and educational guidance, the teaching

of psychology, the conduct of psychological

research, or the provision of psychological services

or consultations to organizations or institutions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270. 2(4)(8); 90-270.9.

.2702 REQUIREMENTS BEFORE JUNE 30,

1994

£§1 To be certified as a health services provider

psychologist (HSP-P), licensed psychologists

holding permanent North Carolina licensure must

provide documentation that verifies one of the

following conditions:

(1) The applicant is currently listed in the

National Register of Health Services

Providers in Psychology.

(2) The applicant ]s a diplomate m good

standing of the American Board of

Professional Psychology, except for

diplomates in industrial-organizational

psychology.

(3) The applicant has the equivalent of two

years of full-time experience, as fol-

lows:

(A) Two years of experience are defined

as 3000 hours of practice of which

more than 50% was comprised of

activities meeting the definition in

Rule .2701(a) in this Section, with the

remainder comprised of other forms

of psychological practice (such as

teaching and research), or other activ-

ities associated with a psychology

position (such as administration).

(B) One year of predoctoral internship

may be counted, but other predoctoral

experience (such as practica) will not

be counted.

(C) At least one of these years must be

postdoctoral.

(D) Experience which will not be counted

includes, but is not limited to. experi-

ence which was associated with termi-

nation from a position or major disci-

plinary action against the applicant

due to negligence, lack of compe-

tence, or unethical conduct.

£b} To be certified as a health services provider

psychological associate (HSP-PA). licensed psy-

chological associates holding North Carolina

licensure must provide documentation which

verifies that the applicant has the equivalent of two

years of full-time experience, supervised when
as follows:required.

m Two years of experience are defined as

3(X)Q hours of practice of which more

than 50% was comprised of activities

meeting the definition in Rule .2701(a)

in this Section, with the remainder

comprised of other forms of psycholog-

ical practice (such as teaching and

research)

.

or other activities associated

with a psychology position (such as

administration).

(2) One year of graduate level internship

may be counted, but other graduate

level experience (such as practica) will

not be counted.

(3) At least one of these years must be at a

post-graduate degree level.

(4) Experience which will not be counted

includes, but is not limited to. experi-

ence which was associated with termi-

nation from a position or major disci-

plinary action against the applicant due

to negligence, lack of competence, or

unethical conduct.

(c) The following documentation must be com-

pleted and received in the Board's office prior to

June 30, 1994:

(1) for all applicants, a completed, nota-

rized application form provided by the
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Board and payment of the fifty dollars

($50.00) fee;

(2) for applicants applying under Subpara-

graph (a)(1) of this Rule, a letter from

the National Register of Health Services

Providers in Psychology which verifies

the applicant's current listing in the

Register;

(3) for applicants applying under Subpara-

graph (a)(2) of this Rule, a letter from

the American Board of Professional

Psychology which verifies good stand-

ing diplomate status;

(4) for applicants applying under Subpara-

graph (a)(3) or Paragraph (h) of this

Rule, a listing of experience on the

application form which satisfies the

requirement.

Statutory Authority G. S. 90-270. 9; 90-270. 20(e)(f).

.2703 DISPLAY OF CERTIFICATE
A health services provider certificate shall be

displayed in close proximity to a licensee's licen-

sure certificate in his/her principal place of em-

ployment and in a place that is visible to the

licensee's served clientele.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-270.9; 90-270.20.

TITLE 24 - INDEPENDENT AGENCIES

CHAPTER 5 - STATE HEALTH
PLAN PURCHASING
ALLIANCE BOARD

i\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the State Health Plan Purchasing

Alliance Board intends to adopt rules cited as 24

NCAC 5 .0101 - .0102. .0200 RESERVED and

.0301 - .0303.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on Tuesday, May 17, 1994 at the Department

of Insurance Annex, Hearing Room, 112 Cox

Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27605.

iXeason for Proposed Action: Recently passed

legislation (House Bill 729 as ratified) which is

Article 66 of Chapter 143 and which requires

certain rules to be in place by July 1 , 1994.

(comment Procedures: Written comments may be

submitted to the Board either orally at the hearing

or by writing to the Board and received no later

than May 17, 1994. Written comments should be

directed to: Robert F. Joyce, Executive Director,

112 E. Hargett Street, Suite 101, Raleigh, NC
27601.

hiditor's Note: These Rules were filed as tempo-

rary adoptions effective April 22, 1994 for a

period of 180 days or until the permanent rule

becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNITY
SPONSORS

.0101 PURPOSE
These Rules implement the provisions of Article

66 of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes of North

Carolina, Health Care Purchasing Alliance Act, as

they relate to community sponsors.

Statutory Authority G.S 143-626; 143-629; H.B.

729, Article 66, ch. 143.

.0102 SELECTION
(a) Board Solicitation of Proposals for Commu-

nity Sponsors. The Board may begin to solicit

proposals on April 22. 1994. from any eligible

organization interested in serving as a community

sponsor of a health alliance (hereafter "alliance").

(h) Organizations Eligible. Non-profit organiza-

tions operating for the purpose of furthering

economic opportunities for small businesses shall

be eligible to submit community sponsorship

proposals.

(c) Public Notice. The Board shall solicit

proposals through newspapers, other public media,

and by any other sufficient means U deems appro-

priate.

(d) Time Period for Proposal. The Board shall

allow 120 days for submission of initial proposals

after April 22. 1994.

(e) Information in Proposals. Each organization

submitting a proposal shall include the following

information:

(1) a brief history of the sponsoring organi-

zation and a narrative describing the

strengths in its ability to establish an

alliance;
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(2) an explanation of any proposed coali-

tion with other organizations, and if a

proposed community sponsorship is to

be held jointly by two or more organi-

zations, the proposal shall specify the

physical location for the alliance and

the division of responsibilities among

organizations:

(3) demonstration of an understanding of

the function served by an alliance under

Article 66 of Chapter 143 of the Gener-

al Statutes of North Carolina;

(4) a plan for solicitation and development

of membership for an alliance and

proper communication with member

small employers;

(5^ letters of support from small businesses

and other groups supporting the

organization's bid to be the community

sponsor of an alliance;

(6) a proposed market area to be served by

the alliance and appropriate rationale

for the counties within that market area,

such rationale to include the factors

listed in G.S. 143-626(1);

(7") a timetable for accomplishment of the

following tasks regarding the proposed

alliance:

(A) formation of the alliance as a private,

non-profit corporation, appointment of

its Board members, adoption of its

by-laws and rules of procedure:

(B) appointment of an executive

director/administrator, employment of

staff and/or contractual arrangement

with third parties for administrative

and professional services:

(C) receipt of state grant funds for start-

up costs, purchase of office equipment

and supplies:

(D) development of procedures for

enrollment, for collecting/remitting

premium payments. and for

communication with member small

employers:

(E) negotiation and development of

contracts with Accountable Health

Carriers;

(F) enrollment goals and dates; and

£G} initial enrollment in an alliance's

qualified health care plans;

(8) an annual budget and table of

organization for the proposed alliance.

(f) Board Approval

:

(1) The Board shall either approve.

disapprove or seek further information

on proposals within 60 days after the

deadline for submitting proposals. The

Board may re-advertise for new and

additional proposals. Timelines for

submission of new proposals and Board

action on these proposals shall be the

same as those established for initial

requests under this Section; and

(2) After review of the information

provided under Paragraph (e) and

Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule, the

Board shall evaluate the proposal based

on an eligible organization's

demonstrated understanding of the

function and operation of the alliance,

the ability to provide an alliance

structure which will encourage small

business employers to become
members, and the appropriateness of

the proposed market area.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-626; 143-629; H.B.

729, Article 66, cfi. 143.

SECTION .0200 - ALLIANCES
(RESERVED FOR FUTURE

CODIFICATION)

SECTION .0300 ACCOUNTABLE
HEALTH CARRIERS

.0301 PURPOSE
These Rules implement the provisions Article 66

of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes of North

Carolina. Health Care Purchasing Alliance Act, as

they relate to Accountable Health Carriers.

Statutory Authority G.S 143-626; 143-629; H.B.

729, Article 66, ch. 143.

.0302 DESIGNATION PROCESS
(a) Board Review. The Board may begin to

review information on April 22, 1994, from any

eligible carrier interested in being designated as an

Accountable Health Carrier.

(b) Carrier Seeking Designation. A carrier

seeking designation as an Accountable Health

Carrier for the purpose of offering qualified health

care plans through any alliance established

pursuant to Article 66 of Chapter 143 of the

General Statutes of North Carolina must fulfill the

requirements outlined in G.S. 143-629.

(c) Designation and Accreditation Requirements.

A carrier submitting an application (hereinafter ^
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carrier") to the Board for designation as an

Accountable Health Carrier for any type of

qualified health care plan must meet the following

requirements:

(1) presentation of a copy of Its current

license or certificate of authority issued

by the NC Department of Insurance

fhereinafter "the Department") and

appearance on the Department's current

list of carriers with such license or

certificate of authority;

submit a current financial statementm

Q}

lAl

mi

regarding its financial solvency verified

by the Department of Insurance; and

fulfill the requirements in G.S. 143-

629(b)(2)-(10). To fulfill these

requirements, a carrier may:

complete forms, developed by the

Board upon recommendation of the

Designation Review Technical

Advisory Committee (hereinafter "the

Committee"), which specify the

relevant information pertaining to any

or all of the criteria in G.S. 143-

629(b)(2)-(10). After review of such

information, the Board shall make a

determination regarding the carrier's

fulfillment of the criteria at issue, or

the Board shall require a hearing

before the Committee. After such

hearing, the Committee shall provide

a formal written recommendation to

the Board regarding approval or

disapproval of a carrier's fulfillment

of the criteria at issue;

submit for the requirements in G.S.

143-629(b)(2)-(8) appropriate

accreditation certification from the

National Committee on Quality

Assurance and/or the Joint

Commission on Accreditation of

Health Care Organization, and/or

qualification by the United States

Department of Health and Human
Services and/or accreditation

othercertification from any

accreditation organization approved

by the Department pursuant to G.S.

143-629;

(C) submit for the requirement in G.S.

143-629(b)(5) accreditation

certification from the Utilization

Review Accreditation Commission;

and

(D) submit for the requirements in G.S.

143-629(l3)(9)-(10) the required data

elements in a format identical or

substantially similar to ^^e Health

Plan Employer Data and Information

Set ("HEDIS").

(d) Board Evaluation. The Board shall either

approve, disapprove or seek further information on

a designation request within 60 days of the receipt

of information under Paragraph c or within 60

days after the Committee holds a hearing under

Subpart c3(A) of this Rule.

(e) Annual Report. Every Accountable Health

Carrier shall, on or before the first day of April of

each year, file with the Board a sworn statement

by an authorized officer showing its current status

regarding the criteria required for designation as

described in this Section. In the event any

Accountable Health Carrier shall fail to file any

such annual statement or such annual statement

shows a lack of substantial compliance with the

designation criteria, the Board may suspend the

carrier's designation as an Accountable Health

Carrier until such statement shall be properly filed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-626; 143-629; H.B.

729. Article 66, ch. 143.

.0303 DESIGNATION REVIEW
TECHNICAL ADVISORY
COMMITTEE

(a) Composition. The Committee will consist of

the Executive Director of the Board or designee,

serving as Chairman; two representatives from the

North Carolina Department of Insurance; and two

individuals, appointed by the Chairman of the

Board, who are knowledgeable about the

accreditation process for health insurance carriers.

(b) Meetings. Within 30 days after receipt of a

request for a hearing, the Chairman of the

Committee shall set a time and date for the

hearing. With reasonable notice, the Committee

may request additional relevant information from

an applicant to be submitted before, at the time of.

or after the hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-626; 143-629; H.B.

729, Article 66, ch. 143.

.0304 DESIGNATION FORMS FOR
ACCOUNTABLE HEALTH
CARRIERS (RESERVED FOR
FUTURE CODIFICATION)
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1 he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G.S.

143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. 143B-30.2(d).

COMMERCE

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 3F .0202 - Permissible Investments

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

Credit Union

4 NCAC 6C .1401 - Signature Guarantee

Agency Revised Rule

ENVIRONMEI^, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Marine Fisheries

15A NCAC 31 .0010 - Military Prohibited and Restricted Areas

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 3J .0107 - Pound Nets

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 3K .0301 - Size and Harvest Limit

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 30 .0102 - Procedure and Requirements to Purchase License

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 30 .0204 - Marking Shellfish Leases and Franchises

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 30 .0205 - Lease Renewal

Agency Revised Rule

Soil and Water Conservation Commission

15A NCAC 6F .0001 - Purpose

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 6F .0003 - Requirements for Certification of Vhste Mgmi Plans

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 6F .0004 - Approved Best Management Practices (BMPs)

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 6F .0005 - Technical Specialist Designation Procedure

Agency Revised Rule

Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

15A NCAC WD .0002 - General Regulations Regarding Use

Agency Withdrew Rule

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Cont'd 01/20/94

Obj. Removed 02/17/94

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

03/17/94
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HUMAN RESOURCES

Aging

10 NCAC 22T .0101 - Scope of Health Screening Services

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 22T .0201 - Provision of Health Screening Services

10 NCAC 22U .0101 - Scope of Senior Companion

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 22W .0101 - Scope of Home Care Services

Agency Revised Rule

Medical Assistance

10 NCAC 261 . 0304 - Hearing Procedures

Agency Revised Rule

mSURANCE

Financial Evaluation Division

U NCAC lie .0308 - Foreign HMO: Successful Operation

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC IIF .0207 - Specific Standards for Morbidity, Interest and Mortality

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 1 IF .0208 - Reserves for Wiiver of Premium

Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Certified Public Accountant Examiners

21 NCAC 8A .0105 - Purposes and Responsibilities

Agency Repealed Rule

21 NCAC 8F .0103 - Filing of Examination Applications and Fees

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 8F .0112 - Candidate's Request to Sit in Another Jurisdiction

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 8G .0409 - Computation of CPE Credits

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 81 .0008 - Firm Registration

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 8N .0103 - CPAs Outside North Carolina

Agency Withdrew Rule

Landscape Architects

21 NCAC 26 .0209 - Unprofessional Conduct

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 26 .0210 - Dishonest Practice

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 26 .0211 - Incompetence

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

01/20/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/17/94

01/20/94

02/1 7/94
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Medical Examiners

21 NCAC 32B .0402 - Fee

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 32B .0706 - Fee

Agenq,' Revised Rule

21 NCAC 32M .0006 - Prescribing Privileges

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

02/17/94

02/17/94

REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL BOARD

21 NCAC 57A . 0210 - Temporary Practice

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 57B . 0207 - Administration

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 57B .0306 - Instructor Requirements

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 57B .0603 - Criteria For Course Approval

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 57C .0104 - Petition to Reopen Proceeding

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

03/17/94

REVENUE

Individual Income Tax Division

17 NCAC 6B .0612 - Tax Credit for Qualified Business Investments

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

03/17/94

03/17/94

STATE PERSONNEL

Office of State Personnel

25 NCAC ID .0211 - Salary Rate RRC Objection 02/17/94

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 02/1 7/94

25 NCAC ID .0512 - Policy Making/Conjidential Exempt Priority Consideration RRC Objection 02/17/94

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 03/1 7/94

STATE TREASURER

Collateralization of Deposits

20 NCAC 7 .0202 - Amount of Collateral Required to be Pledged

Agency Revised Rule

20 NCAC 7 .0603 - Acceleration of Maturities

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 03/17/94

Obj. Removed 03/17/94

RRC Objection 03/17/94

Obj. Removed 03/17/94
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1 his Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions

along with an index to all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's

Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the decisions listed in the index and not published are available

upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.

AGENCY
CASE

NUMBER ALJ
DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTHt CITATION

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMNOSSION

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Entertainment Group, Inc.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Peggy Sutton Walters

Russell BetTianl Speller d/b/a Cat's Disco v. Alcoholic Bev Ctl Comm.

Edwani Ogunjobi. Club Piccadilli v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm.

Robert Kovalaske, Nick Pikoulas, Joseph MarshburTi, Evangelos Pikoulas,

d/b/a Our Mom's BBQ v. Alcoholic Bever:age Control Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Raleigh Limife, Inc.

COMMERCE

Savings Institutions Division

James E. Byers, et al v. Savings Institutions

CORRECTION

Division of Prisons

Gene Strader v. Department of CotTisction

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

Crime Victims Compensation Commission

James Hugh B^nes v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

James A. Canady v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Virginia Roof v. Department of Crime Control & Public Safety

Mary E. Haskins v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

93 ABC 0719 Gray 03/02/94

93 ABC 0906 Marm 03/18/94

93 ABC 0937 Morrison 03/07/94

93 ABC 1024 West 03/03/94

93 ABC 1029 Gray 03/04/94

93 ABC 1485 Mann 03/11/94

93 COM 1622 Chess

93 CPS 0801

93 CPS 1108

93 CPS 1347

94 CPS 1406

ENVIRONMENT. HEALTH. AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Coastal Management

Gary E. Montalbine v. Division of Coastal Management 93 EHR 1792

Environmentai Health

Environment, Health, & Natural Res. v. Clark Harris S^ Jessie Lee Harris 93 EHR 0924

Environmental Management

Petroleum Installation Equipment Co., Inc. v. Env., Health &. Nat. Res. 93 EHR 0531

Jack Griffin v. Dept. of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources 93 EHR 1030

Solid Waste Management

Roger Sessoms v. EHNR/Asbestos Hazard Management Branch

HUMAN RESOURCES

Division of Child Development

Judith Fridley v. Div of Child Development/Abuse/Neglect Unit 93 DHR 0973

Gloria C. Haith v. Department of Human Resources 93 DHR 1707

03/01/94

94 DOC 0252 Morrison 03/21/94

West 03/28/94

Gray 03/28/94

Nesnow 03/24/94

Gray 03/17/94

Nesnow 03/21/94

Becton 03/03/94

Chess 03/21/94

Becton 03/21/94

93 EHR 095

1

Gray 03/28/94

9:2 NCR 114

Morrison 03/08/94

Nesnow 03/22/94
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AGENCY

Gloria C. Haith v. Daycare Consultant

Charles E. Smith v. Department of Human Resources

Living Woid Day Care, Jonathan LankfonJ v. Dept. of Human Resources

Facility Services

Presbyterian-Orthopaedic Hospital v. Department of Human Resources

Division of Medical Assistance

Division of Medical Assistance v. Catawba Cty Dept. of Social Services

Division of Social Services

Child Enforcement Section

William Heckstall v. Department of Human Resources

Bryan Jeffrey Cole v. Department of Human Resources

Dexter L. Chambers v. Department of Human Resources

Ronald E. Johnson v. Department of Human Resources

Antonio Townsend v. Department of Human Resources

Troy E. Pinkncy v. Department of Human Resources

Walter Lee Corbett v. Department of Human Resources

Nash Andrew Newsome v. Department of Human Resources

Samuel L. Dodd v. Department of Human Resources

JUSTICE

Alarm Systems Licensing Board

Alarm Systems Licensing Boaid v. George P. Baker

Private Protective Services Board

Larry C. Hopkins v. Private Protective Services Boaid

Training and Standards Division

Curtiss Lance Poteat v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

Glenn Travis Stout v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Slds. Comm.
Gregory Blake Mannii^ v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Nancy Watson v. Boaid of Education

Janet L. Wilcox v. Carteret County Boaid of Education

STATE HEALTH BENEFITS OFFICE

Timothy L. Coggins v. Teacheis* & St Erap Comp Major Med Plan

STATE PERSONNEL

Agricultural and Technical State University

Linda D. Williams v. Agricultural and Technical State University

Juanila D. Murphy v. Agricultural and Technical State University

Thomas M. Simpson v. Agricultural and Technical State Univereity

Department of Commerce

Ruth Daniel-fcrry v. Department of Commerce

Department of Correction

Leland K. Williams v. Department of Correction

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

93 DHR 1787 Nesnow 03/14/94

93 DHR 1797 Nesnow 03/21/94

94 DHR 0168 Nesnow 03/23/94

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

93 DHR 0805

93 DHR 1778

93 DOJ 0457

93 DOJ 1618

93 DOJ 0231

93 DOJ 1409

94 DOJ 0048

93 EDO 0234

93 EDO 0451

93 INS 0929

93 OSP 0725

91 OSP 1287

Reilly

West

Chess

Chess

03/11/94

03/04/94

93 CSE 1077 Reilly 03/14/94

93CSE 1091 Beeton 03/30/94

93 CSE 1 124 West 03/28/94

93 CSE 1 125 Becton 03/30/94

93 CSE 1139 Beeton 03/30/94

93 CSE 1148 Mann 03/29/94

93 CSE 1150 Reilly 03/30/94

93 CSE 1170 Mann 03/17/94

93 CSE 1357 Gray 03/31/94

Nesnow 03/10/94

Morrison 03/07/94

Chess 03/28/94

Gray 03/03/94

Gray 03/29/94

Chess 02/28/94

Mann 02/21/94

Morrison 03/04/94

93 OSP 0089 Chess 03/23/94

93 OSP 0708 Morrison 03/16/94

93 OSP 1393 Gray 03/24/94

03/04/94

02/22/94

9:2 NCR 108

9:1 NCR 63
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AGENCY
CASE

NUMBER AU
DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

Department of Crime Control and Public Safety

Fred L. Kcamo,' v. Department of Crime Control & Public Safety

Sylvia Nance v. Department of Crime Control & Public Safety

Department of Human Resources

Inez Latta v. Department of Human Resources

Charla S. Da\'is v. Department of Human Resources

Da\id R. Rodgers v. Timmy Summer^'ille, Stonewall Jackson School

Mental Bealth/Mental Retardation

Yvonne G. Johnson v. Blue Ridge Mental Health

Department of Transportation

Gleim I. Hodge Jr. v. Samuel Hunt, Sec'y Dept of Transportelion

Glenn I. Hodge Jr. v. Samuel Hunt, Sec'y Dept of Transporation

Betsy Johnston Powell v. Department of Transportetion

Cl)de Lem Hairston v. Department of Transportetion

STATE TREASURER

Retirement Systems Division

John C. Russell v. Bd.'TrusleesrTeacheis' & State Employees' Ret. Sys.

Robert A. Slade v. Bd. Trustees /N.C. Local Gcvtl. Emp. Ret. System

Elizabeth M. Dudl^' v. Bd./Trusteesrreachers' & Slate Emplcyees"

Retirement System

91 OS? 0401

92 DSP 1463

93 OSP 1604

West

Reilly

Beeton

03/18/94

03/21/94

93 OSP 0830 Becton 03/28/94

93 OSP 1762 Gray 03/03/94

94 OSP 0087 Chess 03/16/94

03/18/94

93 OSP 0297-' Morrison 03/10/94 9:1 NCR 60

93 OSP 0500*" Morrison 03/10/94 9:1 NCR 60

93 OSP 0550 Morrison 03/28/94

93 OSP 0944 Chess 02/28/94

93 DST 0164 West 03/07/94

93 DST 0785 Becton 03/18/94 9:1 NCR 68

93 DST 1474 Nesnow, 03/28/94

Consolidated cases.
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF CALDWELL

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

93 EDC 0234

NANCY WATSON,
Petitioner,

V.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION; and

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION,
Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

BACKGROUND

This matter came on for hearing before Administrative Law Judge Sammie Chess, Jr. on December

15, 1993, in Lenoir, Caldwell County, North Carolina.

Petitioner filed a petition for a contested case hearing on February 26, 1993. Petitioner alleged that

the Respondent denied her application for experience credit for classroom teaching in the Caldwell County

School system from 1976 to 1991, prior to being certified as a teacher by the Respondent.

At the conclusion of the evidence, the parties were given 45 days following the receipt of the

transcript in which to file proposed findings of feet and conclusions of law pursuant to N.C.G.S. Section

150B-34(b).

APPEARANCES

S. Luke Largess

FERGUSON, STEIN, WALLAS,
ADKINS, GRESHAM & SUMTER, P. A.

Attorney at Law
700 East Stonewall Street

Suite 730

Charlotte, North Carolina

Barbara A. Shaw

Assistant Attorney General

N. C. Department of Justice

P O. Box 629

Raleigh, North Carolina

ISSUES

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

Whether Respondent properly denied Petitioner's application for experience credit for teaching in the

Caldwell County Schools from 1976 to 1991, prior to being certified as a teacher by the Respondent.

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

N.C.G.S. Sections 115C-12(9)a, 295(b), -296(c), -302(e), -325(a)(6), -326, and 16 NCAC .0301-

.0312.
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RULING ON MOTIONS

Respondents' Motion for Summary Judgment was denied.

Based on a preponderance of the evidence admitted into the record of this case, including the

testimony of witnesses and the review of exhibits, and based on the arguments of counsel, both at this hearing

and at an earlier motion for summary judgment, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Caldwell County School System hired Petitioner in August 1976 to teach Art at three

elementary schools within the Granite Falls Township in Caldwell County.

2. The Caldwell County Schools paid Petitioner out of funds from the sales' proceeds of the

Granite Falls Alcohol Beverage Control store that were specially designated for use in the public school in

the Granite Falls Township.

3. For many years Petitioner was the only elementary art teacher in the Caldwell County

Schools.

4. At the time she was hired to teach art. Petitioner did not have formal training as an educator.

She had received private training from various artists and was well known locally for her art, including the

portrait of a retired principal at Granite Falls Elementary School.

5. Petitioner's impact on the children and the Caldwell County School System was of a

profoundly positive nature.

6. Since 1976, Petitioner has taught art to more than 20,000 students. Her other involvements

included designing the curriculum, planning and teaching the lessons, and providing appropriate feedback.

7. Petitioner began coursework towards a Bachelor's Degree and certification after a 1988 report

on Granite Falls Elementary by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), noted her lack of

certification as a program deficiency. SACS had studied Granite Falls several times since 1976, and had

approved of the art program in those prior reports.

8. Petitioner graduated magna cum laude from Lenoir Rhyne College in 1991 and applied for

and obtained a teaching certificate from the Respondents.

9. When applying for her teaching certificate. Petitioner asked for certificate credit for her

teaching experience since 1976. Every certified teacher receives an experience rating as part of her certificate.

That rating establishes the number of years of relevant work experience and determines the teachers' position

on the state salary schedule. Teachers receive a higher salary for each year of experience.

10. The Respondent denied Petitioner's request for experience credit, finding no record that she

was a "teacher" during the period of time of which she sought credit. Petitioner appealed that decision.

1 1

.

Numerous witnesses testified to the fact that Petitioner has been considered a teacher by

administrators, faculty and parents of students of the Caldwell County Schools during the entire time that she

has taught Art. These witnesses included the superintendent, two assistant superintendents, three principals

and two assistant principals who had supervised her, fellow teachers, and parents of her students. All of these

witnesses testified that Petitioner was considered a teacher and had carried out the duties of a teacher since

1976 in a most exemplary manner.

12. The Respondents offered no evidence in opposition to this testimony about Petitioner's duties

and performance. By all of the evidence. Petitioner's classroom performance since 1976 had been superlative.

109 9:2 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER April 15, 1994



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

13. The evidence showed that Petitioner is a naturally gifted teacher who put considerable effort

and creativity into the development of her techniques for teaching art. She has a unique ability to relate her

lessons to the individual abilities of the students. She quickly developed a teaching method in which she

integrated the student's regular academic curriculum into their art lessons.

14. At the hearing, several examples of this integrated technique were described by Petitioner

and other witnesses. One student did a geometry project in high school based on an idea she had learned

years before in Petitioner's art class.

• 15. Petitioner was observed and her teaching performance critiqued- under the standards and

guidelines devised by Respondents, pursuant to N.C.G.S. Section 115C-326, to measure teaching

performance. She received an annual evaluation on the appraisal instrument used for certified teachers and

consistently measured well on those evaluations.

16. In addition to these evaluations, three principals, two assistant principals and a supervising

teacher testified that Petitioner's performance was outstanding. Each of these witnesses had observed

Petitioner's performance. Each had been trained and qualified by the Respondents in the methods used for

evaluating teacher performance and had observed and evaluated other certified teachers as part of their job

responsibilities. Each testified that Petitioner's work as a teacher exceeded the performance standards they

had been trained to recognize.

17. Petitioner is now considered a superior teacher and the evidence shows that her abilities come

from her teaching experience between 1976 and 1991.

18. Even the physical location of her personnel file shows that she was considered a teacher by

her administrators. Her personnel file, containing her performance evaluations as well as other information,

has always been maintained in a "teacher" file drawer at her school. Other non-teaching employees' files,

including those of teacher assistants, are kept in a separate location.

19. Petitioner was considered a teacher by the Caldwell County School in other ways as well.

20. Her success with her integrated method of teaching art was recognized by the Caldwell

County Schools. She was invited to present her methods to other teachers at continuing education seminars,

for which those teachers attending received certificate renewal credits. Petitioner also presented her methods

of teaching art to a seminar of principals and other administrators of the Caldwell County system.

21. Petitioner attended seminars organized by the Caldwell County School for teachers to obtain

renewal credits. She attended these continuing education seminars like any other teacher and was listed by

the administration as a participant eligible for renewal credit.

22. Petitioner was considered a teacher by the faculty at the schools where she worked. She

performed teacher duties, both instructional and non-instructional, served on faculty committees and was

selected as her school's faculty representative to system-wide committees.

23. Respondents produced no testimony to contradict this convincing evidence that Petitioner was

considered a teacher by the Caldwell County School and that her performance exceeded the standards expected

of certified teachers. Indeed, two witnesses presented by the Respondent, Mr. Beane and Mr. Greene,

confirmed that they, too, considered Petitioner to be a teacher. Mr. Greene's children had taken art from

Petitioner and he was very pleased with Petitioner's work with his children.

24. During the period in question, 1976 - 1991, Petitioner was paid less than the salary paid to

teachers on the State's teacher salary scale.

25. Petitioner's initial salary was negotiated without reference to any salary scale in the Caldwell

County Schools as it came from an independent source of funds — the Granite Falls ABC proceeds. Petitioner
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was paid less than other teachers but more than teacher assistants, except for the years immediately preceding

her certification. In those years, the funding for her position no longer came from Granite Falls ABC funds,

which had diminished when other ABC stores opened around Caldwell County; she was paid instead on the

teacher assistant scale out of funds in the regular school budget.

26. At least three vocational teachers in the Caldwell County Schools are certified and paid by

the state as teachers, even though they do not have college degrees. These three teachers have vocational

certificates on the basis of having four years experience in the building trades.

27. In addition to having a certificate based on work experience, these three teachers have each

received 10 to 12 years of certificate experience credit from Respondents based on employment in the building

trades as masons.

28. Respondents have other certification programs in which individuals with less than a four year

degree are certified to teach in certain subject areas and receive experience credit for work performed without

a college degree. JROTC instructors, for example, are certified regardless of level of education and receive

experience credit for any classroom teaching experience in the military, without regard to certification.

29. The Respondents also awarded a lateral entry teaching certificate in Art to a Caldwell County

teacher with a college degree in Psychology. That teacher was certified to teach Art without an academic

background in Art.

30. Respondents also award experience credit for work as a Teacher's Aide performed after being

certified as a teacher.

3 1

.

Petitioner's duties and responsibilities were those of a teacher, and exceeded the duties and

responsibilities of a Teacher's Aide.

After observing the witnesses as they testified and listening to the evidence presented, the undersigned

administrative law judge makes the following additional findings of fact:

1

.

Petitioner exhibited extraordinary teaching qualities and abilities during the period 1976-1991

.

2. Petitioner was held in the highest esteem as a teacher among parents, teachers and

administrators.

3. Petitioner is an unusually gifted teacher and is a credit to teachers everywhere.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1

.

This case is properly before the Office of Administrative Hearings, as Petitioner has presented

a legitimate contested case issue of whether Respondents have acted improperly in denying her application for

experience credit.

2. Petitioner has met all of the procedural requirements for the Office of Administrative Hearings

to review her contested case.

3

.

The feet that Petitioner was not certified to teach or paid on the teacher salary scale between

1976 and 1991 is not dispositive for the question of whether she should receive credit now for that experience.

4. It is clear that Petitioner succeeded as a teacher by the Respondents' own standards for

measuring the performance of certified personnel. The evidence of the quality of her work as a teacher since

1976 is overwhelming and uncontradicted.
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5. From that convincing evidence, this undersigned administrative law judge concludes as a

matter of law that Petitioner was employed as a teacher from 1976 - 1991. Respondents' arguments about

Petitioner's salary, the absence of a college degree or certification do not persuade this Court that Petitioner

was not a teacher during the period in question. It is accepted that Petitioner was not certified and thus was

not paid as a certified employee; but she was, indisputably, an eff'ective, accomplished teacher.

6. We then turn to the question of whether Petitioner should receive certificate credit for her

work as a teacher from 1976 - 1991.

7. Respondents have the discretionary authority to award Petitioner certificate experience credit.

No law expressly prohibits awarding Petitioner experience credit for her work as an art teacher.

8. The issue is whether Respondents' denial of experience credit is reasonable related to the

purposes which experience credit serves, Guthrie y^ Taylor . 279 N.C. 703, 185 S.E.2d 193 (1971).

9. Petitioner's teacher experience does not fit within any of Respondents' existing categories for

experience credit that might apply to vocational teachers, JROTC instructors or lateral entry teachers. But

the Court is convinced that awarding Petitioner experience credit would serve the same purpose as that served

by awarding credit under these other programs.

10. The primary purpose of experience credit is to pay more experienced personnel a higher

salary than less experienced personnel. This salary difl^erential reflects the feet that experienced personnel

are more valuable to a school system.

1 1

.

Petitioner is a valuable, experienced educator. It would be reasonable for her salary to reflect

that experience.

12. Experience credit is available to certain teachers for work experience other than certified

teaching. This policy reflects the feet that this prior non-certified experience prepared the employee for

his/her present role in the classroom and increased that person's ability and value as an educator.

13. Petitioner's experience in the classroom from 1976 - 1991 prepared her for her present role

as much as, if not more than, any form of work experience creditable under these other plans.

14. The policies served by awarding credit in these other categories is also served by awarding

Petitioner credit. This conclusion is supported by the feet the Petitioner's experience has been closely

monitored and evaluated by personnel, trained by Respondents to measure teacher performance. There is no

question about the quality or nature of the experience for which she seeks credit.

15. Given Petitioner's proven record of accomplishment in the classroom, the Court finds that

awarding Petitioner experience credit would serve the interests of the citizens of North Carolina in promoting

quality in public education; and would serve those interests as strongly as any of the policy reasons that

support awarding certificate credit under these other programs.

16. Respondents argument that awarding Petitioner experience credit would condone her

"unlawful" employment as a non-certified teacher is not persuasive.

17. If her employment was unlawful because she was not certified, her employer is responsible

for that action, not Petitioner. Denying her credit has no efl"ect on the employer. As a remedial justification,

denial of credit is illogical and counter-productive.

18. By good fortune, the Caldwell County Schools found a gifted and talented teacher. Petitioner

has proven herself as an exemplary educator. The Respondents should recognize what she has accomplished

for the students of Caldwell County and support her efforts.
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19. Petitioner has performed under the watchful eye of persons trained and certified by

Respondents to supervise teachers and to use objective standards in measuring performance. The Respondents

should recognize that Petitioner has demonstrated her considerable skills and that she has come by them

through her experience. Instead, Respondents censure her for exhibiting those skills prior to being certified.

20. The Administrative Law Judge finds Respondents denial of Petitioner's application for

experience credit to be an oppressive and manifest abuse of its discretionary authority, Pharr v^ Garibaldi .

252 N.C. 803, 1 15 S.E.2d 18 (1960), that is not reasonable related to the purposes of experience credit.

21. It is beyond cavil that Petitioner is a better teacher now because of her teaching experience

between 1976 and 1991; it is irrational that her certificate does not reflect that established, irrefutable feet.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Facts, Conclusions of Law, and a preponderance of the substantial

evidence in the record, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

RECOMMENDED DECISION

It is recommended that Petitioner receive the following relief from Respondents:

a. that comparable to the credit that others teaching without a college degree have received from

Respondents, that Petitioner receive 1 1 years of experience credit for her 15 years of teaching

from 1976 - 1991;

b. that her salary be adjusted to reflect that experience increment, retroactive to May 1991,

when she applied for the experience credit; and

c. that she be awarded the cost of this action, including a reasonable attorneys fee.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of

Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7447, in accordance with North Carolina

General Statute 150B-36(b).

NOTICE

The agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party an

opportunity to file exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in

the agency who will make the final decision. G.S. 150B-36(a).

The agency is required by G.S. 150B-36(b) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and

to furnish a copy to the parties' attorney of record and to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the State Board of Education.

This the 23rd day of February, 1994.

Sammie Chess, Jr.

Administrative Law Judge
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF GUILFORD

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADIVUNISTRATTVE HEARINGS

93 CPS 0801

JAMES HUGH BAYNES,
Petitioner,

V.

N.C VICTIMS COMPENSATION
COMMISSION,

Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

This contested case was heard on December 20, 1993 in High Point, North Carolina.

On December 23, 1993, Petitioner wrote the Administrative Law Judge calling attention to the

Application he had filed with the Crime Victims Compensation Commission. The parties had stipulated that

the Application was genuine and, if relevant and material, could be received into evidence. The Application

was not tendered into evidence by either party.

The Administrative Law Judge, on his own motion, re-opened the record on January 25, 1994 and

ordered the parties to respond to questions set forth in the order re-opening the record. The parties responded

and the record closed on February 10, 1994. As a result of the parties' representations in the letters, the

Application filed by Petitioner with the Commission was added to the record.

APPEARANCES

Petitioner appeared qto se.

Respondent was represented by Associate Attorney General Robert T. Hargett.

ISSUES

Did the Commission err by foiling to compensate Petitioner for the following:1.

a. Future Economic Loss;

b. Replacement Services;

c. Physical Therapy?

BURDEN OF PROOF

The burden is on Petitioner to prove by the greater weight of the substantial evidence that the

Commission erred by failing to compensate Petitioner for claims within the three categories set forth

hereinabove.

WITNESSES

The following testified for Petitioner:

James Hugh Baynes - Petitioner
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The following testified for Respondent:

Nancy Miller - Investigator, North Carolina Crime Victims Compensation Commission

EXHTRITS

The following exhibits were received into evidence:

PI - Physician's notes from Guilford Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Center.

P2 - Physician's notes from Guilford Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Center.

P3 - Letter from Dr. Gerald Plovsky of the Internal Medicine Training Program

at Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital, Greensboro.

Application Form promulgated by the North Carolina Department of Crime

Control and Public Safety, Crime Victims Compensation Commission - filed

by Petitioner on December 31, 1991.

STIPULATIONS

1 . It is stipulated that all parties are properly before the Office of Administrative Hearings and that the

Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter.

2. It is stipulated that all parties have been correctly designated. It is further stipulated that there is no

question as to misjoinder or nonjoinder of parties.

3. The Petitioner filed a timely Application for Compensation with the North Carolina Crime Victims

Compensation Commission on December 31, 1991.

4. The Petitioner's claim was subsequently paid by the Respondent.

Based upon the substantial evidence admitted, the undersigned makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1 . Petitioner James Hugh Baynes (tereafter "Baynes") was the victim of a criminal assault on December

8, 1991.

2. As a result of the assault, Baynes suffered a severely comminuted displaced segmental fracture of the

shaft of the tibia and an oblique fracture of the proximal fibula. On the same day as the assault, Baynes was

placed under spinal anesthesia and an orthopaedic surgeon, David Dye, inserted a rod into Bayne's right tibia.

The rod was locked into place with screws.

3. On September 16, 1993, Dr. Dye wrote that the comminuted fracture of the right tibia was healed

and that Baynes suffered a fifteen percent (15%) permanent, partial disability to the right tibia.

4. On October 4, 1991, two months prior to his assault, Baynes had left his job due to pre-existing

medical conditions. Baynes has not been employed since October 4, 1991.

5. Baynes filed an Application with the Respondent (hereafter "Commission") on December 31, 1991

seeking compensation for injuries suffered during the criminal assault.

6. As a result of the application, the Commission has paid Twelve Thousand Two Hundred Twenty-one
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and One Hundredth Dollars ($12,221.01) to medical care providers on Baynes' behalf to defray expenses

Baynes incurred as a result of the criminal assault. No amounts were paid for physical therapy.

7. Baynes was living with his parents at the time he was assaulted on December 8, 1991 and has been

living with them since that time. Prior to his assault, Baynes helped by keeping the house up, doing yard

work and general house maintenance. Since Baynes' assault, much of that work is not being done or is being

done by friends or Baynes' brother-in-law.

8. Baynes' claim for Replacement Services is based upon his inability to perform the services for his

parents detailed in Finding of Fact #7.

9. "Replacement services loss" is defined by G.S. 15B-2(12) to be:

"expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and necessary services

in lieu of those the injured person would have performed, not for income

but for the benefit of himself or his family, if he had not been injured."

10. The kinds of services Baynes had been performing for his parents are compensable under G.S. 15B-

2(12).

1 1

.

There is no evidence that the friends or brother-in-law are charging anything to perform the services.

12. Baynes states in the Application he filed on December 31, 1991, that he is "UNEMPLOYED".

13. "Future economic loss" is not defined by the Victims Compensation Act. Baynes is claiming,

however, that he has suffered "Economic loss" as that term is defined by G.S. 15B-2(10).

"Economic loss" means, "... economic detriment consisting only of

allowable expense, work loss, and replacement services loss."

14. "Work loss" is defined by G.S. 158-2(14) to mean,

"... loss of income from work that the injured person would have performed

if he had not been injured
"

15. Baynes has not lost income from work he was performing when he was criminally assaulted and

injured.

16. The Application filed by Baynes on December 31, 1991 states, in the part relevant to this contested

case:

IV. MEDICAL EXPENSES INFORMATION

A. Brief description of injuries: "Suffered Fractures of Different Types in 6 Separate

Locations of the Lower Right Leg (Between The Knee and the Ankle)"

C. Will victim be needing additional treatment?

"YES"

If yes, describe: "Possible Physical Therapy, Orthopaedic Surgeon Will Be

Removing a Steel Rod and Screws, Pins Etc. (1 Yr. Aprox.)"

17. The Commission took the position in the hearing of this contested case that amounts could not be paid

for physical therapy because physical therapy was not prescribed during the first year after Baynes' criminal

assault. The Commission took the position that if the physical therapy had been prescribed during the year
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following Baynes' injury, the expenses would have been compensable. No administrative rule or statute was

cited for the position.

18. G.S. 15B-1 1 (a)(2) provides that:

"An award of compensation will be denied if:

The economic loss is incurred after one year from the date of the criminally

injurious conduct that caused the injury or death for which the victim seeks

the award;".

19. No prescription was written for physical therapy. Baynes testified that his orthopaedic surgeon

recommended physical therapy but did not prescribe it because Baynes had no medical insurance.

20. In the letter re-opening the record in this case on January 25, 1994, the Administrative Law Judge

ordered the Commission to state whether its position regarding compensation for physical therapy and surgical

expenses had changed since the hearing in light of Baynes' having written in his application that he would be

needing additional surgery for the removal of the steel rod in his leg and possible physical therapy.

21. The Commission responded in a letter filed February 4, 1994 that it did not amend its position

regarding compensation for physical therapy because it had not been contracted for nor prescribed by Baynes'

doctor within the one year period. The Commission further stated that it believed it had paid for the surgical

expenses related to the removal of the rod from Baynes" leg, but that if those expenses had not been paid, the

Commission would make the payments since it had been placed on notice of the expenses within the one year

period. The Commission further stated that it would be necessary for Baynes to submit any medical bills

before payment could be evaluated.

22. On February 4, 1994, Baynes filed a letter in response to the Administrative Law Judge's letter.

Baynes wrote in the letter that he had incurred a cost of Eight Hundred Sixty-seven Dollars ($867. (X)) from

Guilford Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Center on July 14, 1993 to remove the rod. Baynes also wrote

that he had out of pocket expenses of One Hundred Twenty-six and Twenty Hundredth Dollars ($126.20) for

prescriptions written by his surgeon.

23. Baynes stated further in his letter that,

"Because a decision on my claim was not made until after one year from the

date of the crime, I was denied physical therapy which I am entitled to

under G.S. 15B-2(1). Due to the severity of the injury, it was very impor-

tant that I received the rehabilitation directly after each surgical procedure.
"

(Emphasis added).

24. Baynes filed his application for compensation on December 20, 1991. The Commission initially

approved compensation to Baynes in the amount of Seven Thousand Nine Hundred Fifty-eight and Fifty-nine

Hundred Dollars ($7,958.59) on December 15, 1992. The Commission supplemented the compensation on

May 27, 1993 in the amount of Four Thousand Two Hundred Sixty-two and Forty-two Hundred Dollars

($4,262.42).

ORDER

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(l3), and in my discretion, it is hereby ORDERED that the letter from the

Administrative Law Judge dated January 25, 1994 and the letters in response from the parties filed February

4, 1994, be placed into the record of this contested case.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Based on the foregoing, the undersigned makes the following:
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1

.

From the date Baynes applied for Victims Compensation, the Commission has been on notice that

Baynes anticipated incurring expenses for surgery and physical therapy that, but for the fact the expenses

would be incurred more than one year after the criminal attack that caused the injury to Baynes, would qualify

as "economic loss" compensable pursuant to the North Carolina Crime Victims Compensation Act.

2. Pursuant to G.S. 1 SOB- 1 1(a)(2), an award of compensation will be denied if the economic loss is

incurred after one year from the date of the criminally injurious conduct that caused the injury for which a

victim seeks compensation from the Commission.

3. Baynes did not incur an economic loss for physical therapy within one year of the date of the

criminally injurious conduct that caused his injury.

4. TTie Commission has taken the position in this case that, because it was on notice from the date that

Baynes applied for Victims Compensation that surgery may be required beyond the one year period, it will

pay for such surgery if it receives bills in order to properly evaluate the claim.

The Commission has also been on notice from the date that Baynes applied for Victims Compensation that

physical therapy may be necessary after the rod and pins were removed which would be after one year from

the date of the criminally injurious conduct. It is arbitrary and capricious for the Commission to pay for the

surgery because it was on notice it may occur more than one year after the criminally injurious conduct and

fail to pay for the physical therapy that may be prescribed to follow that surgery.

Based on the foregoing, the undersigned makes the following:

RECOMMENDED DECISION

TTie Commission should act pursuant to 14A NCAC 11 .0502(d) to reopen the investigation of

Baynes' claim. The Commission should set a reasonable period for the receipt of evidence of "allowable

expenses" related to the surgery to remove the rod and pins from Baynes' leg and for the receipt of a

prescription for physical therapy. The Commission should require evidence satisfactory to itself that the

prescription is written because it is medically necessary and was contemplated as a possibility from the date

of the application in this case.

If a prescription is presented, it may be for more therapy than would have been required if Baynes

had been prescribed physical therapy contemporaneously with the surgery installing the rod and pins. If so,

the Commission should require the prescription to delineate how many hours of physical therapy relates to

the second surgery and provide compensation for only that amount.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 2761 1-7447, in accordance with North Carolina General Statute

150B-36(b).

NOTICE

The agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party an

opportunity to file exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the

agency who will make the final decision. G.S. 150B-36(a).
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The agency is required by G.S. 150B-36(b) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and to

furnish a copy to the parties' attorney of record and to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the N. C. Crime Victims

Compensation Commission.

This the 28th day of March, 1994.

Thomas R. West

Administrative Law Judge
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

1 he North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two of these,

titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title. Each major

department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been assigned a title number.

Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical in order. The other two,

subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Acupuncture 1

2 Agriculture Architecture 2

3 Auditor Auctioneere 4

4 Commeice Barber Examiners 6

5 Correction Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

6 Council of State Chiropractic Examiners 10

7 Cultural Resources General Contractors 12

8 Elections Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

9 Governor Dental Examiners 16

10 Human Resources Dietetics/Nutrition 17

11 Insurance Electrical Contractors 18

12 Justice Electrolysis 19

13 Labor Foresters 20

14A Crime Control & Public Safety Geologists 21

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

Resources Landscape Architects 26

16 Public Education I ^ndscape Contractors 28

17 Revenue Marital and Family Therapy 31

18 Secretary of State Medical Examiners 32

19A Transportation Midwifery Joint Committee 33

20 Treasurer Mortuary Science 34

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Nursing 36

22 Administrative Procedures Nursmg Home Administrators 37

23 Community Colleges Occupational Therapists 38

24 Independent Agencies Opticians 40

25 State Personnel Optometry 42

26 Administrative Hearings Osteopathic Examination & Reg. (Repealed) 44

Pharmacy 46

Physical Therapy Examiners 48

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers & I ^nd Surveyors 56

Real Estate Appraisal Board 57

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work Certification 63

Speech & Language Pathologists & Audiologists 64

Therapeutic Recreation Certification 65

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1994 - March 1995)

Pages Issue

1 - 75 1 - April

76 - 122 2 - April

Unless otherwise identified, page references in this Index are to proposed rules.

COMMERCE
Energy Division, 4

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
DEM/Air Quality, 80

Environmental Management, 81

NPDES Permit, 3

Wildlife Resources Commission, 38, 42, 84

FEVAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 2

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 1

HUMAN RESOURCES
Child Day Care Commission, 10

Facility Services, 4

Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 13, 24, 36

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES
State Health Plan Purchasing Alliance Board, 99

INSURANCE
Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangements, 76

Special Services Division, 76

LABOR
OSHA, 77

LICENSING BOARDS
Acupuncture Licensing Board, 44

Landscape Architects, Board of, 95

Nursing, Board of, 45

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, Board of, 96

Practicing Psychologists, Board of, 97

Professional Counselors, Board of Licensed, 50

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
List of Rules Codified, 53
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TRANSPORTATION
Highways, Division of, 85

Motor Vehicles, Division of, 89
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at

one-half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter

New Total

Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

1 -53 Full Code

1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A

15A

15A

15A

15A

1 - 38

1 -24

25-52
1 -4

1 -2

3 -20

1 -2
3-4
1 -4

1 - 12

1 -9

1 -4

I -2

3A-3K
3L- 3R

3S- 3W
4-6
7

8-9
10

II - 14

15- 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34-41
42

43 -51

1 - 19

1 - 12

1 -6

7

8 - 16

1 - 11

1 -2

3 -6

7

8 -9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

Commerce (includes AB(

Commerce

Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Govemor/Lt. Governor

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor

OSHA
Labor

Crime Control and

Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management

EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

1 90.00

2 75.00

3 75.00

4 10.00

5 ::) 45.00

6 90.00

7 60.00

8 30.00

9

60.00

10 10.00

11 45.00

12 30.00

13 90.00

14

45.00

15 30.00

16 30.00

17 30.00

18 30.00

19 30.00

20 60.00

21 45.00

22 75.00

23 90.00

24 30.00

25 60.00

26 45.00

27 90.00

28 90.00

29 90.00

30 30.00

31 45.00

32 45.00

33

45.00

34 90.00

35 45.00

36 45.00

37 30.00

38 45.00



Volume Title Chapter

New
Subject Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

39 15A

15A

16

17

17

18

19A

20

21

21

21

22

23

24

25

26

11 - 18

19 - 26

1 - 6

1 - 6

7- 11

1 - 8

1 - 6

1 - 9

1 - 16

17 - 37

38-70
1 - 2

1 - 3

1 - 3

1 -4

(North Caro

EHNR 90.00

EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

Education 30.00

Revenue 75.00

Revenue 60.00

Secretary of State 30.00

Transportation 90.00

Treasurer 45.00

Licensing Boards 75.00

Licensing Boards 75. (X)

Licensing Boards

Administrative Procedures 75. (X)

Community Colleges 10. (X)

Independent Agencies 10.00

State Personnel 60.00

Administrative Hearings 10.00

Subtotal

ina subscribers add 6% sales tax)

Total

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

51

52

53

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27611-7447
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