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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATTVE CODF.

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains infonnalion relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the stale and to various state officials and

institutions.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and five dollars (S105.00) for 24 issues.

Individual issues may be purchased for eight dollars (S8.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings,

P. 0. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N. C. 2761 1-7447.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions in

G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines that the findings meet
the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1, the rule is entered into the NCAC. If

the Codifier determines that the findings do not meet the criteria,

the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may supplement its

findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an additional review

or the agency may respond that it will remain with its initial

position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the rule into the

NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either when the

Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the sixth

business day after the agency resubmits the rule without change.

The temporary rule is in effect for the period specified in the rule or

180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the

same time the temporary rule is filed with the Codifier.

ADOPTION AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutory authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may request

a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments; the text

of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the reason

for the proposed action; a reference to the statutory authority for the

action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North

Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can take

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule that

differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment
period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

the rule with the Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).
A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 busmcss

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication m the North Carolina Admimstrative Code
(NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgatmg

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication in the NCAC.

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages of

material of which approximately 35% of is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

150B-21.18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by

chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents (S2.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents (SO. 15) per each additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in

excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly
with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the

full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars

(5750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased

with supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication are available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC should be

directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1, 1986.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT Office of

Administrative Hearin gs. ATTN: Ru es Division, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 -7447, (919)

733-2678.
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NORTH CAROLEVA REGISTER
Publication Schedule

(July 1993 - May 1994)

Volume

and

Issue

Number

Issue

Date

Last Da>'

for

Filmg

Last Day

for Elec-

tronic

Filing

Earliest

Date for

Public

Heanng

15 days

from

notice

* End of

Required

Comment
Period

30 days

from

nonce

I jjst Day

to Submit

to RRC

** Earliest

Effective

Date

8:7 07/01/93 06/10/93 06/17/93 07/16/93 08/02/93 08/20/93 10/01/93

S:S 07/15/93 06/23/93 06/30/93 07/30/93 08/16/93 08/20/93 10/01/93

8:9 08/02/93 07/12/93 07/19/93 08/17/93 09/01/93 09/20/93 11/01/93

8:10 08/16/93 07/26/93 08/02/93 08/31/93 09/15/93 09/20/93 11/01/93

8:11 09/01/93 08/11/93 08/18/93 09/16/93 10/01/93 10/20/93 12/01/93

8:12 09/15/93 08/24/93 08/31/93 09/30/93 10/15/93 10/20/93 12/01/93

8:13 10/01/93 09/10/93 09/17/93 10/18/93 11/01/93 11/22/93 01/01/94

8:14 10/15/93 09/24/93 10/01/93 11 01/93 11/15/93 11/22/93 01/01/94

8:15 11/01/93 10/11/93 10/18/93 11/16/93 12/01/93 12/20/93 02/01/94

8:16 11/15/93 10/22/93 10/29/93 11/30/93 12/15/93 12/20/93 02/01/94

8:17 12/01/93 11/05/93 11/15/93 12/16/93 01/03/94 01/20/94 03/01/94

8:18 12/15/93 11/24/93 12/01/93 12/30/93 01/14/94 01/20/94 03/01/94

8:19 01/03/94 12/08/93 12/15/93 01/18/94 02/02/94 02/21/94 04/01/94

8:20 01/14/94 12/21/93 12/30/93 01/31/94 02/14/94 02/21/94 04/01/94

8:21 02/01/94 01/10/94 01/18/94 02/16/94 03/03/94 03/21/94 05/01/94

8:22 02/15/94 01/25/94 02/10/94 03/02/94 03/17/94 03/21/94 05/01/94

8:23 03/01/94 02/08/94 02/15/94 03/16/94 03/31/94 04/20/94 06/01/94

8:24 03/15/94 02/22/94 03/10/94 03/30/94 04/14/94 04/20/94 06/01/94

9:1 04/04/94 03/11/94 03/18/94 04/19/94 05/04'94 05/20/94 07/01/94

9:2 04/15/94 03/24/94 03/31/94 05/02/94 05/16/94 05/20/94 07/01/94

9:3 05/02/94 04/11/94 04/18/94 05/17/94 06/01/94 06/20/94 08/01/94

9:4 05 16 '94 04/25/94 05/02/94 05/31/94 06/15/94 06/20/94 08/01/94

Sole: Time is computed according to the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

* An agency must accept comments for at least 30 days after the proposed text is published or until the date

of any public hearing, whichever is longer. See G.S. I50B-2I. 2(f) for adoption procedures.

** The "Earliest Effective Date " is computed assuming that the agency follows the publication schedule above,

that the Rules Rexiew Commission approves the nde at the next ccdendar month meeting after submission, and

that RRC delivers the rule to the Codifier of Rules five (5) business days before the 1st business day of the next

calendar month.

Re\ised 07/93



IN ADDITION

I his Section contains public notices that are required to he published in the Register or have been

approved by the Codifier of Rules for publication.

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

JPT:MAP:EMP:emr Voting Section

DJ 166-012-3 P.O. Box 66128

93-4086 Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

December 16, 1993

DeWitt F. McCarley, Esq.

City Attorney

P O. Box 7207

Greenville, North Carolina 27835-7207

Dear Mr. McCarley:

This refers to eight annexations (Ordinance Nos. 2680-2683, 2698, and 2705-2707) and the

designation of the annexed areas to single-member districts for the City of Greenville in Pitt County, North

Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as

amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on October 22, 1993.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the specified changes. However, we note

that Section 5 expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar subsequent

litigation to enjoin the enforcement of the changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section

5 (28 C.F.R. 51.41).

Sincerely,

James P. Turner

Acting Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Steven H. Rosenbaum

Chief, Voting Section

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 1942



PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT
OF HUMAN RESOURCES

I\otice is hereby- given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the DHR-Division of Medical

Assistance intends to adopt rules cited as 10 NCAC
26B .0124, 26H .0511 and 261 .0301 - .0305.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on February 15. 1994 at the North Carolina

Division of Medical Assistance. 1985 Utnstead

Drive. Room 132. Raleigh. NC 27603.

iCeason for Proposed Action:

10 NCAC 26B .0124 - Rule necessary to establish

targeted case management for persons with con-

firmed medical diagnosis of HIV disease.

10 NCAC 26H .0511 - Rule necessary to establish

reimbursement methodologyfor HIV Case Manage-

ment Services.

10 NCAC 261 .0301 - .0305 - Adoption of rules

necessary to provide transfer and discharge appeal

procedures for nursing facility residents.

(^onwient Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning these Rules must be submitted by February

14. 1994. to: Division of Medical Assistance,

1985 Umstead Drive. Raleigh. NC 27603 ATTN:

Clarence Ervin, APA Coordinator. Oral comments

mux be presented at the hearing. In addition, a

fiscal impact statement is available upon written

request from the same address.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL
ASSISTANCE

SL^BCHAPTER 26B - MEDICAL
ASSISTANCE PROMDED

SECTION .0100 - CENTRAL

.0124 HIV CASE MANAGEMENT
(a) The components of HIV case management

are listed below. In order to be reimbursed by the

Di\ ision of Medical Assistance, a pro\ider shall

proNJde all of these components:

( 1 ) Evaluation of the client's situation to

determine the need for initial case

management ser\ ices:

121

141

15}

16]

18)

Comprehensive

client's health

assessment of the

care, psychosocial.

environmental and financial needs;

Development and implementation of a

plan of care which includes goals,

services to be provided and progress

notes:

Coordination of service delivery when
multiple providers or programs are

involved in care provision:

Monitoring to ensure that services

received meet the client's needs and are

consistent with good quality' of care:

Follow-up an assessment to determine

the continued appropriateness of

services, the correct level of care, and

the continued need for services:

Discharge of the client from service;

and

Locating and helping access available

systems, resources and services within

the community to meet the client's

needs.

(b) Persons are eligible to receive HIV case

management services if they:

(1) Have a medical diagnosis of HIV
disease: and

Are eligible for regular Medicaid

services: and

Are not institutionalized; and

Are not recipients of other Medicaid-

reimbursed case management services

proN'ided through the State's home and

community-based v.'aivers or the State

Plan.

(c) Provider Qualifications. Providers of HIV
case management services shall:

(1

)

Be enrolled in accordance with section

1902(a)(23) of the Social Security Act;

and

(2) Meet applicable State and Federal Laws

governing the participation of providers

in the Medicaid program: and

£3] Be certified bv the AIDS Care Branch.

Division of Adult Health Promotion.

Department of Environment. Health and

Natural Resources as a qualified HIV
case management pro\'ider. To be

certified, a provider must:

(A) Submit an application to the AIDS
Care Branch that includes the

provider's plans for j^

(i) ProN'ision of al] the HIV case

management components m 10

NCAC 268 .0124(a): and

(2)

ill

(4)

1943 8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994



PROPOSED RULES

(ii) Quality assurance, including the

monitoring and evaluation of case

management records.

(B) Have qualified case managers with

supervision provided by a supervisor

who meets the requirements in 10

NCAC 26B .0124(d), except that case

managers qualified under 10 NCAC
268 .0124(e)(4) shall have aU their

charts reviewed and signed by a such

a supervisor,

(d) Supervisor Qualification. An HIV case

management supervisor shall meet the following

qualifications:

(1) Have a master's level degree in a

human service area including, but not

limited to. Social Work. Sociology.

Child Development. Maternal and Child

Health. Counseling. Psychology or

Nursing and one year of experience jn

case management; or

(2) Have a bachelor's degree in a human

service including, but not limited to.

Social Work. Sociology, Child

MaternalDevelopment,

Health. Counseling.

and Child

Psychology or

Nursing and two years experience m
case management,

(e) Case Manager Qualifications. HIV case

managers shall meet the following qualifications:

(1) Have a master's degree in a human

service area including, but not limited

to. Social Work. Sociology. Child

Development. Matern al and Child

Health. Counseling. Psychology or

Nursing; or

(2) Have a bachelor's level degree in a

human service area including, but not

limited to. Social Work. Sociology.

Child Development. Maternal and Child

Health, Counseling, Psychology or

Nursing and two years experience

working in human services; or

(3) Be a licensed Registered Nurse. Nurse

Practitioner. Physician Assistant or

Certified Substance Abuse Counselor

with two years experience working in

human services.

(4) Have a high school diploma and two

years experience providing HIV case

management. A person who qualifies

under 10 NCAC 268 .0124 (e)(4) may

serve as an HIV case manager for five

years from date of employment as an

HIV case manager in an agency

certified to provide HIV case

management ^ If an agency is not a

certified HIV case management

provider at the time of the person's

employment a^ an HIV case manager,

the five year time period begins with

the agency's certification date. After

the five year period ends, the person

must meet HIV case manager

requirements defined in 10 NCAC 268
.0124 (c)(1). (2), or £3J in order to

continue to providing HIV case

management services

(5) HIV case manages shall attend, at least

annually, training sessions approved by

the AIDS Care Branch. Division of

Adult Health Promotion. Department of

Environment. Health and Natural

Resources.

Authority G.S. W8A-25(h); 108A-54; 42 C.F.R.

440.169; Social Security Act 1915(b).

SUBCHAPTER 26H - REIMBURSEMENT
PLANS

SECTION .0500 - REIMBURSEMENT
FOR SERVICES

.0511 CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES
Medicaid reimbursement for HIV case

management providers shall be the same per unit

rate (one unit ^ fifteen minutes) for all providers

and shall be determined annually by the Division

of Medical Assistance. This reimbursement

limitation shall become effective in accordance

with the provisions of G.S. 108A-55 (c).

Statutory Authority G.S 108A-25(b); 108A'54;

1915 (g) of the Social Security Act.

SUBCHAPTER 261 - PROCEDURAL RULES

SECTION .0300 - HEARINGS:
TRANSFER AND DISCHARGES

.0301 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions shall apply throughout

this Subchapter:

(1) "Division"means the North Carolina

Division of Medical Assistance of the

Department of Human Resources.

(2) "Hearing Officer" means the person

designated to preside over hearings

between a resident and a nursing facility

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 1944
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15}

provider regarding transfers and

discharges.

"Hearing Unit" means the Chief Hearing

Officer and his staff in the Division of

Medical Assistance. Department of

Human Resources.

"Notice of Transfer and Discharge form"

i6)

means the form developed by the

Division.

"Request for Hearing" means a clear

expression, in exiting by the resident or

family member or legal representati\'e of

the resident, that the resident wants to

appeal the facility's decision to transfer

or discharge.

The "Request for Hearing form" means

the form developed by the Division.

Aurhorin G.S. W8A-25(h): 42 USCS 1396r(e)(3),

(f)(3): 42 C.F.R. 483.5: 42 C.ER. 483.12: 42

C.ER. 483.202: 42 C.ER. 483.206.

.0302 TR\N'SFER AND DISCRARGE
REQUIREMENTS

(a) A resident and, if kno\'>n. a family member

or legal representati\e of the resident, shall be

notified in N^xiting of a facility's decision to

transfer or discharge the resident. The Notice of

Transfer or Discharge form shall be used by a

facility v^'hen gi\'ing notice of a transfer or

discharge.

(b) Failure to complete the Notice of Transfer or

Discharge form shall result m the notice of the

transfer or discharge being ineffective.

(c) The resident shall be handed the Notice of

Transfer or Discharge form on the same day that

it is dated

.

of the notice of Transfer oridi A copy

Discharge form shall be mailed to the family

member or legal representative on the same day

that jt is dated.

(e) The facility shall provide a Request for

Hearing Form to the resident and family member

or legal representati\'e simultaneously with the

Notice of Transfer or Discharge form.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b): 42 USCS 1396r(e)(3),

(f)(3): 42 C.ER. 483.5: 42 C.ER. 483.12: 42

C.ER. 483.202: 42 C.ER. 483.206.

.0303 INITL\TDSG A HEARING
(a) in order to initiate an appeal of a facility's

intent to transfer or discharge, a resident or family

member or legal representati\e shall submit a

written request for a hearing to the Hearing Unit.

The request for hearing must be received by the

Hearing Unit within eleven (1 1) calendar days

from the date of the facility's notice of transfer or

discharge. If the eleventh day falls on a Saturday.

Sunday or legal holiday, then the period during

which an appeal may be requested shall run until

the end of the next day which is not a Saturday.

Sunday or legal holiday.

(b| The request for hearing shall be submitted to

the Hearing Unit by mail, or facsimile, or hand

deli\'ery.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b): 42 USCS 1396r(e)(3),

(f)(3): 42 C.ER. 483.12.

.0304 HEARING PROCEDURES
(a) Upon timely receipt of a request for a

hearing, the Hearing Unit shall promptly notify the

facility of _the request.

(b) The parties shall be notified by certified mail

of the date, time and place of the hearing. If the

hearing is to be conducted In person, h shall be

held in Raleigh. North Carolina.

(c) At least five working days prior to the

hearing, the facility administrator shall make
available to tlie resident all documents and records

to be used at the hearing. The facility

administrator shall forward identical information to

the Hearing Unit, to be received at least five

working days prior to the hearing.

(d) The hearing officer may grant continuances

for good cause.

(e) The hearing officer may dismiss a request

for hearing if ihe resident or family member or

legal representati\'e of tiie resident fails to appear

at a scheduled hearing without good cause.

(f) The hearing officer may proceed to conduct

a scheduled hearing if a facility representative fails

to appear at a scheduled hearing without good

cause.

(g) The Rules of Civil Procedures as contained

in G.S. 1 A-1 and the General Rules of Practice for

the Superior and District Courts as authorized by

G.S. 7A-34 and found in tlie Rules Volume of the

North Carolina General Statutes shall not apply fn

any hearings held by a Division Hearing Officer

unless another specific statue or rule provides

otherwise. Disision hearings are not hearings

within the meaning of G.S. 150B and shall not be

goN'erned by the provisions of that Chapter unless

otherwise stated [n these Rules. Parties may be

represented by counsel at the hearing.

Authority G.G. 108A-25(b): G.S 150B-25(a); 42

USCS I396r(c)(3). (f)(3): 42 C.ER. 483.12.

1945 8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994
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.0305 HEARING OFFICER'S
FINAL DECISION

The Hearing Officer's final decision shall uphold

or reverse the facility's decision. Copies of the

final decision shall be mailed via certified mail to

the parties.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 USCS 1396r(e)(3),

(f)(3): 42 C.F.R. 483.12.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT
OF INSURANCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N. C. Department of Insurance

intends to repeal rules cited as 11 NCAC IIB

.0112. .0138; lie .0120; IID .0102 - .0103.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will he conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 2, 1994 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

of its business hag been assumed by a

solvent company licensed to do busines s

in North Carolina and approved by the

Commissioner;

0) Certified affidavit from the withdrawing

company indicating the amount and the

type of ri sks to be taken by the assuming

company; and executed on form dosignat

ed as 11 NCAC llA .0489;

{A) Receipt of appropriate "Annual Statement

Blank" of the withdrawing company for

calendar year ending—after withdrawal

date, including the North Carolina busi

ncss page;

{§) Expiration of a minimum of three years

after date of withdrawal; and

(6) The Commis sioner finds that return of

the deposit is appropriate.

No cons ideration will be given to the return of

deposits if Q withdrawing company has its North

Carolina—business—assumed—by—sfl

—

unlicensed

company until the Commi ssioner has determined to

bis satisfaction that its liabilities , whether fixed or

contingent upon its contracts to persons residing in

this state or having policies upon property situated

in this state, have been satisfied or have been

terminated.

Jxeason for Proposed Action: Rules unnecessary

due to statute changes.

(comment Procedures: W-itten comments may be

sent to Ray Martinez at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made at the

public hearing. Anyone having questions should

call Ray Martinez at (919) 733-5633 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

CHAPTER 11 FINANCIAL EVALUATION
DIVISION

Statutory Authority G.S 58-9(1); 58-187.

.0138 TYPES OF SECURITIES ELIGIBLE
FOR DEPOSIT

Statutory or Administrative Depo s its of Securities

must be comprised of Treasury Bonds or Notes of

the United States of America, bonds of the State of

North Carolina or any of ita counties or municipal

ities or certificates of deposit of building and loan

associations and banks situated in the State of

North—Carolina—regi stered—as

—

required—hf—the

Master Trust Bank. See also 1 1 NCAC IIB .0102

and .0103.

SUBCHAPTER IIB - SPECIAL PROGRAMS

SECTION .0100 - SECURITIES

.0112 RETURN OF SECURITIES ON
DEPOSIT

Any

—

company—previously—licensed—ifl

—

North

Carolina will have its deposit returned when all of

the following conditions have been met:

(+^ Written request from—company asking

that its deposit be returned;

{5^ Certified copies of the asGumption and

reinsurance agreement indicating that all

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-7.5; 58-9.

SUBCHAPTER IIC - ANALYSIS AND
EXAMINATIONS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0120 VALUATION OF INVESTMENTS:
VALUATIONS OF SECURITIES
MANUAL

Except as they may conflict with a valuation

basis specifically authorized by the in surance laws

of North Carolina, the investments in securities by

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 1946



PROPOSED RULES

insurance companies shall be valued in accordance

with the procedures and instruction s contained in

the Valuations of Securities Manual, in the form

described by 11 NCAC llA .0488. which is

prepared annually by the securities x'aluation office

of the National j\ssociation of Insurance Commis

sioners and as may be amended or revised from

time to time by the National ;\ssociation of Insur

ance Commissioners.

Statuton- Authority- G.S. 58-9: 58-79; 58-79. 1.

SUBCHAPTER IID - PROX\:
LIQUIDATION AND MERGER

SECTION .0100 - CENTRAL PROVISIONS

.0102 REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF
LICENSE: FOREIGN EVSURANCE

Upon receipt of notification from the Commi s

sioner of Insurance of the domiciliary state that a

foreign insurance company licen sed in thi s state

has been placed in rehabilitation or conservatorship

or for any other reason has been required to cease

the v\Titing of new business, the Commissioner

shall revoke or suspend the license of subject

company and cau s e publication of notice of rcvo

cation—or suspen s ion in—tfee

—

manner and form

prescribed by 11 NCAC IID .0103 and 11 NCAC
1 1 A .0456. respecti\'ely.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-37.

.0103 PL^LICATION OF NOTICE OF
REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION

Publication of the notice of revocation or suspen

s ion of the licen se of a foreign in surance company

shall be made in the form designated as 1 1 NCAC
1 1 .

'X .0456 and shall be publi shed at least once in

the major morning newspapers in the Cities of

Wilmington. Raleigh. Greensboro. Charlotte and

Ashe\'ille. North Carolina.

Statutory- Authority- G.S. 58-37.

>fi'^'^>fi^>/^'>fi>i^>fi>^ >fi >fi >fi

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC IIC
.0133.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 2, 1994 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, NC 27611.

IVeason for Proposed Action: To establish ac-

counting standards and examples for reinsurance

transactions between licensed life and health

insurance companies and reinsurance companies.

Lyomment Procedures: Witten cormnents may be

sent to Ray Martinez at RO. Box 26387, Raleigh,

NC 2 761 1 . Oral presentations may be made at the

public hearing. Anyone having questions should

call Ray Martinez at (919) 733-5633 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

hiditor's Note: This Rule has been filed as a

temporary adoption effective January 21, 1994

for a period of 180 days or until the permanent
rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 11 FINANCIAL EVALUATION
DIVISION

SL^CIL\PTER lie - ANALYSIS AND
EXAMINATIONS

SECTION .0100 - GENTIL\L PROVISIONS

.0133 ACCOL^NTEVG FOR LIFE AND
HEALTH REINSURANCE
AGREEMENTS

When an insurer cedes business applicable to

G.S. 58-7-31(d)( 1 ). the insurer must account for

the transaction in accordance with G.S.

58-7-31(d)(2). For the purpose of this Rule, any

increase in surplus shall be accounted for as

illustrated in the following examples:

( 1 ) on the last day of calendar year N.

company XYZ pays a twenty million

dollar (S20.000.000) initial commission

and expense allowance to company ABC
for reinsuring an existing block of

business. Assuming a 34 percent tax

rate, the next increase in surplus at

inception js thirteen million tv,'o hundi^d

thousand dollars ($13.200.000) [twenty

million minus six million eight hundred

thousand dollars ($20 million ; $6.8
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million)] which is reported on the

"Aggregate write-ins for gains and losses

in surplus" line in the Capital and

Surplus account. Six million eight

hundred thousand dollars ($6.800.000)

[34 percent of twenty million dollars

($20.000.000)1 is reported as income on

the "Commissions and expense

allowances on reinsurance ceded " line of

the Summary of Operations.

At the end of year N + 1 the business has(2) At the end of

earned four million dollars ($4.000.000).

ABC has paid five hundred thousand

dollars ($500.000) m profit and risk

charges in arrears for the year and has

received a one million dollar

($1.000.000) experience refund.

Company ABC's annual statement would

report one million six hundred and fifty

thousand dollars ($1.650,000) 1(66% of

four million dollars ($4.000.000) : one

million dollars ($1.000.000) ; five

hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) up

to a maximum of thirteen million two

hundred thousand dollars ($13.200,000)1

on the "Commissions and expense

allowance on reinsurance ceded" line of

the Summary of Operations, and ; one

million six hundred and fifty thousand

dollars ($1.650.000) on the "Aggregate

write-ins for gains and losses in surplus"

line of the Capital and Surplus account.

The experience refund would be reported

separately as a miscellaneous income

item in the Summary of Operations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40: 58-7-31.

l\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rules cited as 1 1 NCAC 1 IF .0201

- .0208.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 2, 1994 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room. 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: To establish mini-

mum reserve standards for health insurance poli-

cies in accordance with state law.

i^omment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Wilter James at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made at the

public hearing. Anyone having questions should

call miter James at (919) 733-3284 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

tLditor's Note: The following rules have been

filed as temporary adoptions effective for a period

of 180 days or until the permanent rule becomes

effective, whichever is sooner:

11 NCAC 11F .0201 - .0206, .0208 - Eff. Janu-

ary 21, 1994.

11 NCAC IIF .0207 - Eff. January 1, 1994.

CHAPTER 11 FINANCIAL EVALUATION
DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER IIF - ACTUARIAL

SECTION .0200 - HEALTH INSURANCE
MINIMUM RESERVE STANDARDS

.0201 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section and in the Statement of

Actuarial Opinion required by the NAIC Annual

Statement Instructions pursuant to G.S. 58-2-165:

(1) "Annual claim cost" means the net annual

cost per unit of benefit before the addi-

tion of expenses, including claim settle-

ment expenses, and a margin for profit or

contingencies. For example, the annual

claim cost for a one hundred dollar

($100.00) monthly disability benefit, for

a maximum disability benefit period of

one year, with an elimination period of

one week, with respect to a male at age

35. in a certain occupation might be

twelve dollars ($12.00), while the gross

premium for this benefit might be

eighteen dollars ($18.00). The additional

six dollars ($6.00) would cover expenses

and profit or contingencies.

(2) "Claims accrued" means that portion of

claims incurred on or before the

valuation date that result ijn liability of

the insurer for the payment of benefits

for medical services that have been

rendered on or before the valuation date.
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and for the payment of benefits for days

of hospitalization and days of disability

that have occurred on or before the

valuation date, that the insurer has not

paid as of the valuation date, but for

which it is liable, and will have to pay

after the \aluation date. This liability is

sometimes referred to as a liability for

"accrued" benefits. A claim reser\e.

which represents an estimate of this

accrued claim liability. must be

established.

(3) "Claims reported" means when an insurer

has been informed that a claim has been

incurred, rf the date reported is on or

before the valuation date, the claim is

considered as a reported claim for annual

statement purposes.

(4) "Claims unaccrued" means that portion of

claims incurred on or before the

\'aluation date that result jji liability of

the insurer for the payment of benefits

for medical services expected to be

rendered after the valuation date, and for

benefits expected to be payable for days

of hospitalization and days of disability

occurring after the \aluation date. TTiis

liability is sometimes referred to as a

liability for "unaccrued" benefits. A
claim reserve. v.'hich represents an

estimate of the unaccrued claim payments

expected to be made (that may or may

not be discounted with interest), must be

established.

(5) "Claims unreported" means when an

insurer has not been informed, on or

before the \'aluation date, concerning a

claim that has been incurred on or before

the valuation date, the claim is

considered as an unreported claim for

annual statement purposes.

(6) "Date of disablement" means the earliest

date the insured js considered as being

disabled under the definition of disability

in the contract, based on a doctor's

evaluation or other e\idence. Normally

this date will coincide with the start of

any elimination period.

(7) "Elimination period" means a specified

number of days, weeks, or months

starting at the beginning of each period

of loss, during which no benefits are

payable.

(8) "Gross premium" means the amount of

premium charged by the insurer. ft

includes the net premium (based on

claim-cost) for the risk, together with any

loading for expenses. profit or

contingencies.

(9) "Group insurance" means blanket

insurance and franchise insurance and

any other forms of group insurance.

(10) "Level premium" means a premium

calculated to remain unchanged

throughout either the lifetime of the

policy, or for some shorter projected

period of years. The premium need not

be guaranteed; in which case, although ft

is calculated to remain level, it may be

changed ff any of the assumptions on

which ft v>'as based are revised at a later

time. Generally, the annual claim costs

are expected to increase each year and

the insurer, instead of charging premiums

that correspondingly increase each year,

charges a premium calculated to remain

level for a period of years or for the

lifetime of the contract. In this case the

benefit portion of the premium is more

than needed to provide for the cost of

benefits during the earlier years of the

policy and less than the actual cost in the

later years. The building of a

prospective contract reserve is a natural

result of level premiums.

(1 1) "Long-term care insurance" has the same

meaning as in G.S. 58-55-20(4); and also

means a policy or certificate that provides

for payment of benefits based upon

cognitive impairment or the loss of

functional capacity.

(12) "Modal premium" means the premium

paid on a contract based on a premium

term that could be annual, semi-annual,

quarterly, monthly, or weekly. Thus rf

the annual premium fs one hundred

dollars ($100.00) and if. instead, monthly

premiums of nine dollars ($9.00) are paid

then the modal premium is nine dollars

($9.00).

(13) "Negati\'e reser\'e" means a terminal

reserve that has a value of less than zero

resulting from benefits that decrease with

adsancing age or duration.

( 14) "Preliminary term reserve method"

means the method of \aluation under

which the valuation net premium for each

\'ear falling within the preliminary' term

period is exactly sufficient to co\er the

expected incurred claims of that year, so
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(151

(16)

M

ib]

(17)

(18)

that the terminal reserves will be zero at

the end of the year. As of the end of the

preliminary term period, a new constant

valuation net premium (or stream of

changing valuation premiums) becomes

applicable such that the present value of

all such premiums is equal to the present

value of all claims expected to be

incurred following the end of the

preliminary term period.

"Present value of amounts not ycX due on

claims" means the reserve for claims

unaccrued, which may be discounted at

interest.

means all items of benefit

in

"Reserve"

liability, whether the nature of

incurred claim liability or in the nature of

contract liability relating to future periods

of coverage, and whether the liability is

accrued or unaccrued. An insurer under

its contracts promises benefits that result

in:

Claims that have been incurred, that is.

for which the insurer has become

obligated to make

before the valuation

payment, on or

date. On these

claims, payments expected to be made

after the valuation date for accrued and

unaccrued benefits are liabilities of the

insurer that should be provided for by

establishing claim reserves; or

Claims that are expected to be incurred

after the valuation date. Any present

liability of the insurer for these future

claims should be provided for by the

establishment of contract reserves and

unearned premium reserves.

"Terminal reserve" means the reserve at

the end of a contract year, and js defined

as the present value of benefits expected

to be incurred after that contract year

minus the present value of future

valuation net premiums.

"Unearned premium reserve" means the

value of that portion of the premium paid

or due to the insurer that is applicable to

the period of coverage extending beyond

the valuation date. Thus if an annual

premium of one hundred twenty dollars

($120.00) was paid on November L,

twenty dollars ($20.00) would be earned

as of December 31 and the remaining one

hundred dollars ($100.00) would be

unearned. The unearned premium

reserve could be on a gross basis as in

this example, or on a valuation net

premium basis.

(19) "Valuation net modal premium" means

the modal fraction of the valuation net

annual premium that corresponds to the

gross modal premium m effect on any

contract to which contract reserves apply.

Thus if the mode of payment fn efl'ect ]s

quarterly, the valuation net modal

premium is the quarterly equivalent of

the valuation net annual premium.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k).

.0202 GENERAL
(a) This Section applies to aU accident and

health insurance coverages under G.S. 58. Articles

50 through 55.

(b) When an insurer determines that adequacy of

its insurance reserves requires reserves in excess

of the minimum standards specified in this Section,

such increased reserves shall be held and shall be

considered the minimum reserves for that insurer.

(c) With respect to any block of contracts, or

with respect to an insurer's accident and health

business as a whole, a prospective gross premium

valuation is the ultimate test of reserve adequacy

as of a given valuation date. Such a gross

premium valuation shall take into account, for

contracts in force, m a claims status, or m a

continuation of benefits status on the valuation

date, the present value as of the valuation date of:

all expected benefits unpaid, all expected expenses

unpaid, and all unearned or expected premiums,

adjusted for future premium increases reasonably

expected to be 2III into effect. Such a gross

premium valuation shall be performed whenever a

significant doubt exists as to reserve adequacy with

respect to any major block of contracts or with

respect to the insurer's accident and health

business as a whole. If inadequacy is found to

exist, immediate loss recognition shall be made

and the reserves restored to adequacy. Adequate

reserves (inclusive of claim, premium, and

contract reserves, if any) shall be held with respect

to all contracts, regardless of whether contract

reserves are required for such contracts under this

Section.

(d) Whenever minimum reserves, as specified in

this Section, exceed reserve requirements as

determined by a prospective gross premium

valuation, such minimum reserves remain the

minimum requirement under this Section.

(e) Adequacy of an insurer's accident and health

insurance reserves is to be determined on the basis
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of claim reserves, premium reserves, and contract

reserves, as required in il NCAC 1 IF .0203

through il NCAC IIF .0205. combined.

However, those rules are to emphasize the

importance of determining appropriate reserves for

each of those three reserve categories separately.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40: 58-58-50(lc).

.0203 CLAIM RESERVES
(a) General:

( 1) Claim reser\'es are required for all

incurred but unpaid claims on all

accident and health insurance contracts.

(2) Appropriate claim expense reserves are

required with respect to the estimated

expense of settlement of aU incurred but

unpaid claims.

(3) All such reserves for prior valuation

years are to be tested for adequacy and

reasonableness along the lines of claim

runoff schedules in accordance with the

statutory financial statement including

consideration of any residual unpaid

liability.

(b) Minimum Standards for Claim Reserves:

(1) Disability Income:

(A) The maximum interest rate for claim

reserves is specified in U. NCAC I IF

.0207.

(B) Minimum standards with respect to

morbidity are those specified in 1

1

NCAC IIF .0207; except that, at the

option of the insurer:

(i) For claims with a duration from

date of disablement of less than

two years, reserves may be based

on the insurer's experience, if

such experience is considered

credible. or upon other

assumptions designed to place a

sound value on the liabilities.

(ii) For group disability income

claims \\'ith a duration from date

of disablement of more than two

years but less than five years,

reserves may, with the approval

of the Commissioner, be based on

the insurer's experience for which

the insurer maintains underwriting

and claim administration control.

The request for such approval of

a plan of modification to the

reser\'e basis must include:

(I) An analysis of the credibility

of the experience;

(II) A description of how all the

insurer's experience [s

proposed to be used in setting

reserves;

(III) A description and
quantification of the margins to

be included;

(IV) A summary of the financial

impact that the proposed plan

of modification would have

had on the insurer's last filed

annual statement; and

(V) A copy of the approval of the

proposed plan of modification

by the Commissioner of the

state of domicile.

(C) For contracts with an elimination

period, the duration of disablement

should be measured as dating from

the time that benefits would have

begun to accrue had there been no

elimination period.

(2) All Other Benefits:

(A) The maximum interest rate for claim

reserves is specified in jT NCAC IIF

.0207.

(B) The reserve, with respect to morbidity

or other contingency, should be based

on the insurer's experience, jf such

experience is considered credible, or

upon other assumptions designed to

place a sound value on the liabilities.

(c) Any generally accepted or reasonable

actuarial method or combination of methods may

be used to estimate all claim liabilities. The

methods used for estimating liabilities generally

may be aggregate methods; or various reserve

items may be separately valued. Approximations

based on groupings and averages may also be

employed. Adequacy of the claim reserves,

however, shall be determined in the aggregate.

Statutory Authority G. S 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k).

.0204 PREMIUM RESERVES
(a) General:

(1) Unearned premium reserves are

required for all contracts with respect to

the period of coverage for which

premiums, other than premiums paid m
advance, have been paid beyond the

date of valuation.

(2) If premiums due and unpaid are carried

as an asset, such premiums must be
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13)

treated as premiums in force, subject to

unearned prem i u m reserve

determination. The value of unpaid

commissions, premium taxes, and the

cost of collection associated with due

and unpaid premiums must be carried

as an offsetting liability.

The ^ross premiums paid ]n advance

for a period of coverage commencing

after the next premium due date that

follows the date of valuation may be

appropriately discounted to the

valuation date and shall be held either

as a separate liability or as an addition

to the unearned premium reserve that

would otherwise be required as a

minimum.

(b) Minimum Standards for Unearned Premium

Reserves:

(1) The minimum unearned premium

reserve with respect to any contract is

the pro rata unearned modal premium

that applies to the premium period

beyond the valuation date, with such

premium determined on the basis of:

(A) The valuation net modal premium on

the contract reserve basis applying to

the contract; or

(B) The gross modal premium for the

contract if no contract reserve applies.

(2) However, in no event may the sum of

the unearned premium and contract

reserves for all contracts of the insurer

subject to contract reserve requirements

be less than the gross modal unearned

premium reserve on all such contracts.

as of the date of valuation. Such

reserve shall never be less than the

expected claims for the period beyond

the valuation date represented by such

unearned premium reserve, to the

extent not provided for elsewhere.

(c) The insurer may employ suitable

approximations and estimates, including groupings,

averages, and aggregate estimation, in computing

premium reserves. Such approximations or

estimates shall be tested periodically to determine

their continuing adequacy and reliability.

Statutory Authority G. S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k).

.0205 CONTRACT RESERVES
(a) General:

(1 ) Contract reserves are required, unless

otherwise specified in H NCAC 1 IF

.0205(a)(2) for:

(A) All individual and group contracts

with which level premiums are used;

or

(B) All individual and group contracts

with respect to which, due to the

gross premium pricing structure at

issue, the value of the future benefits

at any time exceeds the value of any

appropriate future valuation net

premiums at that time. The values

specified in U NCAC IIF

.0205(1 )(B) shall be determined on

the basis specified in JJ. NCAC 1 IF

.0205(b).

(2) Contracts not requiring a contract

reserve are:

Contracts that cannot be continued

after one year from issue; or

Contracts already in force on the

effective date of these standards for

which no contract reserve was

required under the immediately

preceding standards.

The contract reserve is in addition to

claim reserves and premium reserves.

The methods and procedures for

contract reserves shall be consistent

with those for claim reserves for any

contract, or else appropriate adjustment

must be made when necessary to assure

provision for the aggregate liability.

The definition of the date of incurral

must be the same i

(A)

IB]

01

14)

both

determinations.

(b) Minimum Standards for Contract Reserves

:

[1} Basis:

(A) Minimum standards with respect to

morbidity are those set forth in 1

1

NCAC IIF .0207. Valuation net

premiums used under each contract

must have a structure consistent with

the gross premium structure at issue

of the contract as this relates to

advancing age of insured, contract

duration and period for which gross

premiums have been calculated.

Contracts for which tabular morbidity

standards are not specified in 1

1

NCAC IIF .0207 shall be valued

using tables established for reserve

purposes by a qualified actuary and

acceptable to the Commissioner.

(B) The maximum interest rate is

specified in 11 NCAC IIF .0207.
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(C) Termination rates used in the

computation of reserves shall be on

the basis of a mortality table as

specified in U NCAC IIF .0207

except as noted in Subparts

(bKl)(C)(i) and iiiJ of this Rule.

Under contracts for which premium

rates are not guaranteed, and where

the effects of insurer underwriting are

specifically used by contract duration

in the valuation morbidity standard.

or for return of premium or other

deferred cash benefits, total

termination rates may be used at ages

and durations where these exceed

specified mortality table rates, but not

in excess of the lesser of:

(j} Eighty percent of tlie total

termination rate used in the

calculation of the gross premiums.

or

(ii) Eight percent.

Where a morbidity standard specified

in ii NCAC IIP .0207 is on an

aggregate basis. such morbidity

standard may be adjusted to reflect

the efl'ect of insurer underwriting by

contract duration. The adjustments

must be appropriate to the

underwriting and be acceptable to the

Commissioner.

(D) Reserve Method:

ill

ihl

fiii)

For insurance except long-term

care and return of premium or

other deferred cash benefits, the

minimum reserve is the reserve

calculated on tlie two-year full

preliminary term method; that is.

under which the terminal reserve

is zero at tlie first and also the

second contract anniversary.

For long-term care insurance, the

minimum reserve is the reserve

calculated on the one-year full

preliminary term method.

For return of premium or other

deferred cash benefits. the

minimum reserve is the reserve

calculated as follows:

m

im

On the one year preliminary

term method if such benefits

are provided at any time

before the 20th anniversary;

On tlie two year preliminary'

term method if such benefits

are only provided on or after

the 20th anniversary.

(iv) The preliminary term method may
be applied only in relation to the

date of issue of a contract.

Reserve adjustments introduced

later, as a result of rate increases.

revisions in assumptions (e.g..

projected inflation rates) or for

other reasons, are to be applied

immediately as of the effective

date of adoption of tlie adjusted

basis.

(E) Negative reserves on any benefit may

be offset against positive reserves for

other benefits in the same contract.

but the total contract reserve with

respect to all benefits combined may

not be less than zero.

(c) Provided the contract reserve on all contracts

to which an alternative method or basis is applied

is not less in tlie aggregate than the amount

determined according to tlie applicable standards

specified in this Rule; an insurer may use any

reasonable assumptions as to interest rates.

termination or mortality rates, and rates of

morbidity or other contingency. Also, subject to

the preceding condition, the insurer may employ

methods other than the methods stated in this Rule

in determining a sound value of its liabilities under

such contracts, including, but not limited to the

following: the net level premium method; the

one-year full preliminary term method; prospective

valuation on the basis of actual gross premiums

with reasonable allowance for future expenses; the

use of approximations such as those involving age

groupings, groupings of several years of issue.

average amounts of indemnity, grouping of similar

contract forms; the computation of tlie reserve for

one contract benefit as a percentage of^ or by other

relation to. the aggregate contract reserves

exclusive of Uie benefit or benefits so valued; and

the use of a composite annual claim cost for all or

any combination of the benefits included in the

contracts valued.

(d) Annually, an appropriate review shall be

made of tlie insurer's prospective contract

liabilities on contracts \alued by tabular reserves,

to determine the continuing adequacy and

reasonableness of ihe tabular reserves giving

consideration to future gross premiums. The

insurer shall make appropriate increments to such

tabular reserves if such tests indicate that the basis

of such reserves is no longer adequate; subject.

however, to the minimum standards of 1 1 NCAC
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IIF .0205fb). If an insurer has a contract or a

group of related similar contracts, for which future

gross premiums will be restricted by contract,

insurance department regulations, or for other

reasons, such that the future gross premiums

reduced by expenses for administration,

commissions, and taxes will be insufficient to

cover future claims, the insurer shall establish

contract reserves for such shortfall in the

aggregate.

Statutory^ Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(1).

.0206 REINSURANCE
Increases to, or credits against reserves carried,

arising because of reinsurance assumed or

reinsurance ceded, must be determined in a

manner consistent with these minimum reserve

standards and with all applicable provisions of the

reinsurance contracts that affect the insurer's

liabilities.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k).

.0207 SPECIFIC STANDARDS FOR
MORBIDITY, INTEREST AND
MORTALITY

(a) Minimum morbidity standards for valuation

of specified individual contract accident and health

insurance benefits are as follows:

(1) Disability Income Benefits Due to

Accident or Sickness.

(A) Contract Reserves:

(i) Contracts issued on or after

January J_, 1965 and before

January i, 1986: The 1964

Commissioners Disability Table

(64 CDT).

(ii) Contracts issued on or after

January L 1994: The 1985

Commissioners Individual

Disability Tables A (85C1DA); or

The 1985 Commissioners

Individual Disability Tables B

(85CIDB).

(iii) Contracts issued during the years

1986 through 1993:

Optional use of either the 1964 or the

1985 Tables.

(iv) Each insurer shall elect, with

respect to all individual contracts

issued in any one statement year,

whether it will use Tables A or

Tables B as the minimum

standard. The insurer may.

however, elect to use the other

tables with respect to any

subsequent statement year.

(B) Claim Reserves: The minimum
morbidity standard in effect for

contract reserves on currently issued

contracts, as of the date the claim is

incurred.

(2) Hospital Benefits, Surgical Benefits and

Maternity Benefits (Scheduled benefits

or fixed time period benefits only).

(A) Contract Reserves

:

(i) Contracts issued on or after

January _L 1955, and before

TheJanuary L. 1982

Intercompany

Tables.

1956

Hospital-Surgical

(ii) Contracts issued on or

January i, 1982: The

after

1974

Medical Expense Tables, Table

A, Transactions of the Society of

Actuaries, Volume XXX, pg. 63.

Refer to the paper (in the same

volume, pg. 9j to which this table

is appended, including its

discussions. for methods of

adjustment for benefits not

directly valued in Table A:

of"Development

Medical Expense

the 1974

Benefits,"

IB]

13]

lA]

Houghton and Wolf.

Claim Reserves: No specific

standard. See U NCAC IIF

.0207(a)(5).

Cancer Expense Benefits (Scheduled

benefits or fixed time period benefits

only).

Contract Reserves: Contracts issued

on or after January 1. 1986: The 1985

NAIC Cancer Claim Cost Tables.

(B) Claim Reserves

:

standard. See 11

No specific

NCAC IIF

.0207(a)(5).

(4) Accidental Death Benefits.

(A) Contract Reserves: Contracts issued

on or after January 1. 1965: The 1959

Accident Death Benefits Table.

(B) Claim Reserves : Actual amount

incurred.

(5) Other Individual Contract Benefits.

(A) Contract Reserves: For all other

individual contract benefits, morbidity

assumptions are to be determined as

provided in the reserve standards.

(B) Claim Reserves : For all benefits
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other than disability, claim reserves

are to be determined as provided in

the standards,

(b) Minimum morbidity standards for valuation

of specified group contract accident and health

insurance benefits are as follows:

(1) Disability Income Benefits Due to

Accident or Sickness.

(A) Contract Reserves:

(i) Contracts issued before January 1

,

1994: The same basis, jf any, as

that employed by the insurer as of

January 1. 1994;

(ii) Contracts issued on or after

January L 1994: The 1987

Commissioners Group Disability

Income Table (87CGDT).

(B) Claim Reserves

:

(i) For claims incurred on or after

January i, 1994: The 1987

Commissioners Group Disability

Income Table (87CGDT);

(ii) For claims incurred before

January L^ 1994: Use of the

87CGDT is optional.

(2) Other Group Contract Benefits.

(A) Contract Reser\es: For all other

group contract benefits, morbidity

assumptions are to be determined as

provided m the reserve standards.

(B) Claim Reserves : For all benefits

other than disability, claim reserves

are to be determined as provided in

the standards.

Maximum interest rate standards for

valuation of accident and health insurance benefits

are as follows:

ill For contract reserves the maximum
interest rate is the maximum rate

permitted by law in the valuation of

whole life insurance issued on the same

date as the accident and health

insurance contract.

ID

ill

For claim reserves on contracts that

require contract reserves, the maximum
interest rate is the maximum rate

permitted by law in the valuation of

u'hoie life insurance issued on the same

date as the claim incurral date.

For claim reserves on contracts not

requiring contract reserves. the

maximum interest rate is^ the maximum
rate permitted by law in the valuation

of single premium immediate annuities

issued on the same date as the claim

incurral date, reduced by one hundred

basis points,

(d) Mortality standards for valuation of accident

and health insurance benefits are as follows:

m Except as provided for in \A NCAC
IIF .Q207(d)(2). the mortality basis

used shall be according to a table (but

without use of selection factors)

permitted by law for the valuation of

whole life insurance issued on the same

date as the accident and health

insurance contract.

121 Other mortality tables adopted by the

NAIC and promulgated by the

Commissioner may be used in the

calculation of the minimum reserves if

appropriate for the type of benefits and

if approved by the Commissioner The

request for such approval must include

the proposed mortality table and the

reason that the standard specified m 1

1

NCAC 1 1 F .0207(d)( 1 ) \s

inappropriate.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k).

.0208 RESERVES FOR WAIVER OF
PRE^^UM

(a) Tabular reserves using the 1964 CDT. 1985

CIDA or 1985 CIDB tables, i.e. disability

valuation tables based on exposures that include

contracts on premium waiver as in-force contracts,

should value reserves on the following basis:

(I) Claim reserves should include reserves

for premiums expected to be waived,

valuing as a minimum the valuation net

premium being waived.

Premium reserves should include

contracts on premium waiver as

in-force contracts. valuing as a

minimum the unearned modal valuation

121

131

net premium being waived.

Contract reserves should include

recognition of the wai\'er of premium

benefit in addition to other contract

benefits provided for, valuing as a

minimum the valuation net premium to

be waived.

(b) If an insurer is. instead, valuing reserves on

what is truly an active life table, or if a specific

valuation table is not being used but the insurer's

gross premiums are calculated on a basis that

includes in the projected exposure only those

contracts for v^hich premiums are being paid, then

jt ma\' not be necessary' to pro\ide specifically for
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waiver of premium reserves. Any insurer using

such a true "active life" basis should carefully

consider, however, whether or not additional

liability should be recognized on account of premi-

ums waived during periods of disability or during

claim continuation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40: 58-58-50(lc).

HCFA 1450 (UB 92), or a substantively similar,

claim form. On and after January L, 1994, all

claims submitted by noninstitutional health care

providers to health benefit plans shall be submitted

on the HCFA 1500, or a substantively similar,

claim form

.

Statutory Authority G.S 58-2-40; 58-3-171.

niotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC 12 .0560.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 2, 1994 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh. NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Prescribes Uniform

Claim Forms that are submitted to health benefit

plans for health care providers.

i^onunent Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Rodney Finger at P.O. Bo.x 26387, Ra-

leigh, NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made

at the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call Rodney Finger at (919) 733-5060 or

Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

tLditor's Note: This Rule has been filed as a

temporary adoption effective January 1, 1994 for

a period of 180 days or until the permanent rule

becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 12 - LIFE AND HEALTH
DIVISION

SECTION .0500 - ACCIDENT AND
HEALTH: GENERAL NATURE

.0560 UNIFORM CLAIM FORMS
(a) As used in this Rule, "health benefit plan"

has the same meaning as in G.S. 58-3-171(c).

(b) On and after January L, 1994, all claims

submitted by institutional health care providers to

health benefit plans shall be submitted on the

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department cf Insurance

intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC 15 .0012.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p. m. on January 31 , 1994 at the Medical Database

Commission, 112 Cox Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Incorporates

descriptions of successor claim forms by reference

into the rules where necessitated by federal or

state law or regulatory changes.

i^omment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Jim Hazelrigs at the Medical Database

Comm., 112 Cox Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27605.

Oral presentations may be made at the public

hearing. Anyone having questions should call Jim

Hazelrigs at (919) 733-7141 or Ellen Sprenkel at

(919) 733-4529.

tLditor's Note: This Rule has been filed as a

temporary adoption effective January 1, 1994 for

a period of 180 days or until the permanent rule

becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 15 - MEDICAL DATABASE
COMMISSION

.0012 SUCCESSOR FORMS
All references in this Section to claim forms,

such as "HCFA 1500" and "UB-82", include

references to their successor forms, such as

"HCFA 1450" and "UB-92", that are developed

pursuant to federal law under the auspices of

HCFA, the National Uniform Billing Committee,

or the North Carolina State Uniform Billing
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Committet;.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-212(h).

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMEIVT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rules cited

as ]5A NCAC 1OF .0310. .0330. .0336 and adopt

15A NCAC WF .0366.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 7, 1994 at the Archdale Build-

ing. Room 332. 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh,

NC 27604-1188.

Jxeason for Proposed Action: To establish a

restricted speed zone on a designated body of

water

i^onunent Procedures: Interested persons may

present their views either orally or in writing at

the hearing. In addition, the record of hearing

will be open for receipt of written comments from

January 14. 1994 to February 14. 1994. Such

written conmients must be delivered or mailed to

the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission. 512 N.

Salisbury Street . Raleigh. NC 27604-1 188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE
RESOURCES AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER lOF - MOTORBOATS
AND WATER SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER
SAFETY REGULATIONS

.0310 DARE COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the

following waters and portions of waters:

(1) Manteo. Doughs Creek adjacent to

Shallowbag Bay and all canals situated

within the territorial limits of the Town

of Manteo.

(2) Hatteras. The waters of Hatteras Har-

bor and Muddy Creek bounded on the

north and south by the high-water

mark, on the west by a straight line

between channel markers number 20

and 17, and on the east by the mouth of

Muddy Creek at Sandy Bay;

(3) Mann's Harbor. The waters of Ferry

Dock Road Canal;

(4) Nags Head

(A) Those waters contained within the

canals of Old Nags Head Cove Devel-

opment;

(B) The Roanoke Sound inlets at Pond

Island on either side of Marina Drive

extending north from US 64-264;

(5) Wanchese.

(A) The waters of Wanchese Harbor;

(B) The Canal from its beginning where it

connects with the Roanoke Sound

south of the dead end road SR 1141

extending northwest roughly parallel

to SR 1141 and SR 1142, then west-

ward roughly parallel to NC 345, and

finally curving to the southwest

roughly parallel to the C.B. Daniels

Road to its end.

(6) Stumpy Point Canal. That portion of

Stumpy Point Canal beginning at the

Wildlife Resources Commission boating

access area and extending inland for a

distance of 3,600 feet:

(7) Stumpy Point Basin. That portion of

the Stumpy Point Basin, at the head of

the Stumpy Point Bay, which is next to

Highway 264 in the dock area and

designated by the appropriate markers.

(8) Town of Southern Shores. The waters

contained in the canals and lagoons

within the territorial limits of the Town

of Southern Shores:

(9) Colington Harbour. The waters

contained in the canals of Colington

Harbour;

(10) Kitty Hawk. Those w^aters contained in

the canals of Kitty Hawk Landing

Subdivision.

(11) Washington Baum Bridge. Those

waters of the Roanoke Sound from

marker 24B north of the bridge to

marker 24A south of the bridge, and 50

yards east of the navigation span west

to the shore as designated by the

appropriate markers.

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate any

motorboat or vessel at greater than no-wake speed
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within any of the regulated areas described in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers.

Subject to the approval of the United States Coast

Guard and the United States Army Corps of

Engineers, the following agencies are designated

suitable agencies for placement and maintenance of

markers implementing this Rule as to the regulated

areas listed in the several Subparagraphs of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule:

(1) the Board of Commissioners of the

Town of Manteo as to the areas

indicated in Subparagraph (1);

the Board of Commissioners of Dare

County as to the areas indicated in

Subparagraphs (2) through (7)^ and (9)

and (11) ;

the Board of Commissioners of the

Town of Southern Shores as to the

areas indicated in Subparagraph (8);

the Board of Commissioners of the

(2)

(3)

14]

Town of Kitty Hawk as to the areas

indicated in Subparagraph (a)(10).

Statutory Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

.0330 CARTERET COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the

following waters in Carteret County:

(1) the waters of Money Island Slough

beginning at the east end of Money

Island near the Anchorage Marina Basin

and ending at the west end of Money

Island where Brooks Avenue deadends

at the slough;

(2) the waters of Taylor Creek located

within the territorial limits of the Town

of Beaufort;

(3) the waters of Pelletier Creek beginning

at the entrance to Pelletier Creek at the

Intracoastal Waterway and ending at

U.S. Highway 70;

(4) the waters of Bogue Sound in Morehead

City between Sugar Loaf Island and the

seawall on the south side of Evans,

Shepard and Shackleford Streets and

bounded on the east by the State Ports

Authority and on the west by the

eastern right-of-way margin of South

13th Street extended;

(5) the waters of Gallant's Channel from

the US 70 crossing over the Grayden

Paul bridge to Taylor's Creek;

(6) the waters of Cedar Island Bay and

Harbor from U.S. 70 to Cedar Island

Bay Channel Light 8;

(7) the waters of Radio Island Creekr;

(8) the waters of Spooners Creek beginning

100 feet south of the bulkhead area in

the entrance to Spooners Creek and

extending approximately 500 feet up

Spooners Creek to a point on the north

side of the first fork to the east as

indicated by the appropriate markers.

(b) Speed Limit. It is unlawful to operate a

motorboat or vessel at a speed greater than

no-wake speed while on the waters of the regulated

areas designated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers.

The Board of Commissioners of Carteret County,

with respect to the regulated areas designated in

Subparagraphs (1), (3), (5), (6)^ (7^ and (7) (S) of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and the Board of

Commissioners of the Town of Beaufort, with

respect to the regulated area designated in

Subparagraph (2) of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

and the Board of Commissioners of Morehead

City, with respect to Subparagraph (4) of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, are designated as

suitable agencies for placement and maintenance of

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the

approval of the United States Coast Guard and the

United States Army Corps of Engineers.

Statutory Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

.0336 NORTHAMPTON AND
WARREN COUNTIES

(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies only to

that portion of Lake Gaston which lies within the

boundaries of Northampton and Warren Counties

County .

(b) Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person

shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake

speed while within a marked mooring area

established with the approval of the Executive

Director, or his representative, on the waters of

Gaston Lake in Northampton and Warren Counties

County .

(c) Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No
person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-

wake speed within 50 yards of any marked boat

launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat

storage structure, or boat service area on the

waters of the regulated areas described in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(d) Restricted Swimming Areas. No person

operating or responsible for the operation of a

vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public

swimming area established with the approval of the
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Executive Director, or iiis representati\'e, on the

waters of Gaston Lake in Northampton and

Warren Counties County .

(e) Placement and Maintenance of Markers.

The Board of Commissioners of Northampton

County and Warren County ts are designated a as

suitable agency agencies for placement and

maintenance of the markers implementing this

Rule, subject to the appro\'al of the United States

Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of

Engineers. With regard to marking Gaston Lake,

all of the supplementary standards listed in Rule

.0301(g) of this Section shall apply.

Statutory Authority G. S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

.0366 MACON COUNTi'
(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the

following waters of Natahala Lake: that area

within 50 yards of the Lakes End Boat Dock.

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a

vessel at greater than no-v.ake speed in the waters

of the regulated area specified in Paragraph (a) of

this Rule.

(c) Placement and Maintenance of ^Markers.

The Board of Commissioners of Macon County is

designated a suitable agency for placement and

maintenance of the markers implementing this

Rule.

Statutory- Authority' G. S. 75A-3: 75A-15.

>f >f if if i^ >f ^ ^^^^c^:^;;::*;:^:^:-;

iS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-2I.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule cited as

15A NCAC 101 .0001.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May

1. 1994.

1 he public hearings will be conducted at:

7:00 p.m.

February 7, 1994

Ashexille

Buncombe Count}- Courthouse

60 Court Plaza

Room 1 , 7th Floor

Asheville. NC

7:00 p.m.

February 8, 1994

Winston-Salem

Forsyth County

Agricultural Center

1450 Fairchild Drive

Winston-Salem, NC

7:00 p.m.

February 10. 1994

Raleigh

Archdale Building

Ground Floor Hearing Room
512 Salisbury Street

Raleigh. NC

7:00 p.m.

February 14, 1994

Wilmington

New Hanover Counts- Courthouse

316 Princess Street

Wilmington , NC

Ixeason for Proposed Action: To establish defini-

tions and criteria for critical habitat.

(comment Procedures: Interested persons ma\

present their \iews either orally or in writing at

the hearing. In addition, the record of hearing

will he open for receipt of written comments from
January- 14. 1994 to February- 25. 1994. Such

written comments must be delivered or mailed to

the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N.

Salisbury- Street. Raleigh. NC 27604-1 188.

SUBCHAPTER 101 - ENDANGERED
AND THREATENTD SPECIES

.0001 DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this Subchapter, the follow-

ing definition shall apply:

(1) "Species" means any ta.xonomic grouping

of wildlife the adult members of which

interbreed and reproduce their kind;

(2) "Critical habitat" means any habitat

v'.'hich is considered essential to the con-

servation of an endangered or threatened

wildlife species as listed in Rules .0003

and .0004 of this Subchapter.

fa) Critical habitats are recommended for

Commission adoption by the Nongame
Wildlife Ad\ison,' Committee based on

the best available scientific evidence^

(b) Critical habitats shall include those
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Ic}

Id}

areas within the geographical area

occupied by the species, on which are

found those physical or biological

features which are essential to the

conservation of the species and which

may require special management con-

siderations or protection; and shall also

include specific areas outside the geo-

graphical area occupied by the species

that are determined to be essential to

the conservation of the species and

which may require special management

considerations or protection.

Critical habitat shall not include the

entire geographical area which can be

occupied by the threatened or endan-

gered species unless the management

and protection of this area has been

determined to be essential to the conser-

vation of the species.

Critical habitat designations shall be

listed in Rule .0006 of this Subchapter

and may be used by the North Carolina

Environmental Management Commis-

sion in classifying and assigning stan-

dards of water quality under 15A

NCAC 2B .0101.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-

333; 143-239.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING BOARDS

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina State Board of

Dental Examiners intends to amend rules cited as

21 NCAC 16F .0002 - .0005, .0007 - .0008.

.0010; adopt 161 .0002 - .0004, .0006; 16R .0001

- .0005; 16S .0101 - .0102 and .0201 - .0205.

Tlie following rules are being recodified: 21

NCAC 161 .0002 to .0005; 21 NCAC 161 .0003 to

.0007; 21 NCAC 161 .0004 to .0008. and 21

NCAC 161 . 0005 to . 0009.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will he conducted at 2:00

p.m. cm February 18, 1994 at the Office of the

North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners,

Chatham Building of the Roger Executive Center,

3716 National Drive, Suite 221, Raleigh, North

Carolina.

Keason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 16F .0002 - To require applicants for

certification that all managers and members of a

professional limited liability company are licensed

to practice dentistry to submit certain information.

21 NCAC 16F .0003 - To require that limited

liability company designations shall consist only of
the words "Professional Limited Liability Compa-
ny", or "PL.L.C. ".

21 NCAC 16F .0004 - To require that applications

for a certificate of registration of a PL.L.C he

accompanied by a certified copy of the articles of
organizjation.

21 NCAC 16F .0005 - To require that a limited

liability company submit its applicationfor renewal

at least twenty days prior to the date of expiration

of the certificate.

21 NCAC 16F .0007 - To require that amendments

to articles of organization be forwarded to the

Board's office within ten days after filing.

21 NCAC 16F .0008 - To prohibit limited liability

companies from employing in clinical positions

nwre than two dental hygienists at the same time

for each dentist actively engaged in the practice of
dentistry.

21 NCAC 16F .0010 - To require that all required

documents submitted to the Board by a limited

liability company be attested to by the managers of
the limited liability company and duly acknowl-

edged before a notary public or some other officer

qualified to administer oaths.

21 NCAC 161 .0002 - To require that as a condi-

tion of license renewal, each dental hygienist must

complete a minimum of six clock hours of continu-

ing education courses per calendar year.

21 NCAC 161 .0003 - To require that continuing

education courses must be directly related to

patient care or patient safety and to set out ap-

proved ccmtinuing education course sponsors.

21 NCAC 161 .0004 - To set out requirements for

the reporting of continuing education and to

require that all records, reports and certificates

relative to continuing education credit hours must

be maintained by the licensee for at least three

years.

21 NCAC 161 .0006 - To set out the penalty for

non-compliance with continuing education require-

ment.

21 NCAC 16R .0001 - To require that as a condi-

tion of license renenal, every dentist must com-

plete a minimum offifteen clock hours of continu-

ing education courses per calendar year
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21 NCAC 16R .0002 - To require that continuing

education courses must he directly related to

patient care or patient safety and to set out ap-

proved continuing education course sponsors.

21 NCAC 16R .0003 - To set out requirements for

the reporting (f continuing education and to

require that all records, reports and certificates

relative to continuing education credit hours must

he maintained hy the licensee for at least three

years.

21 NCAC 16R .0004 - To set out the penalty for

non-compliance with the continuing education

requirement.

21 NCAC 16R .0005 - To allow exemptions from

continuing education requirements for dentists that

are retired from the practice of dentistry.

21 NCAC 16S .0101 - To define certain terms of

the Caring Dentist Program.

21 NCAC 16S .0102 - To require the Board to

enter into agreements to establish the Caring

Dentist Program and to set out the requirements of

such agreements.

21 NCAC 168 .0201 - To set out the sources of

receipt of information concerning suspected im-

pairment and how this information shall be used.

21 NCAC 165 .0202 - To require that information

received hy the program must remain confidential

but that infornwtion received as a result of a

Board referral shall be freely exchanged with the

Board or its authorized agents.

21 NCAC 16S .0203 - To set out guidelines for

intervention and referral and to require that

information about any dentist licensed by the

Board shall be reported to the Board if certain

determinations are made.

21 NCAC 16S .0204 - To require that a treatment

source or facility receiving referrals from the

program must be continually monitored to deter-

mine its ability to provide certain services.

21 NCAC 16S .0205 - To set out requirements for

monitoring rehabilitation and perfortyuince after

treatment.

(comment Procedures: Any person desiring to

present oral data, views, or arguments on the

proposed rules must, at least ten (JO) days prior to

the proposed hearing, file a notice with the Board.

Notice of such request to appear or failure to give

timely notice may be waived by the Board in its

discretion. Comments should be limited to five

minutes. .Any person permitted to make an oral

presentation is directed to submit a written state-

ment of such presentation to the Board prior to or

at the time of such hearing. Tlie Board's address

is Post Office Box 32270, Raleigh. North Carolina

27622-2270. Any person may file written submis-

sion of convnents or argument at any time up to

and including February 18, 1994.

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF
DENTAL EXA^^NERS

SUBCHAPTER 16F - PROFESSIONAL
CORPORATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL
LINHTED LIABILITY' COMPANIES

.0002 APPLICATION
Applications for certification that all proposed

owners of stock in a professional corporation or all

managers and members of a professional limited

liability company are licensed to practice dentistry

shall be submitted by letter to the Board's office

requesting such certification, and setting forth the

following information:

(1) The proposed name of the corporation or

professional limited liability company ;

(2) The names of all proposed owners of the

shares of stock to be issued by the corpo-

ration, or all members and managers of

the professional limited liability company

together with their addresses and current

dental license numbers; and

(3) The name or names of the proposed

incorporators or the members who exe-

cuted the articles of organization of the

professional limited liability company ,

their addresses, and the current dental

license numbers of such of them as are

duly licensed to practice dentistry in the

State of North Carolina.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 55B-4(4}; 570-2-01; 90-

48.

.0003 CORPORATE OR LI^^TED
LIABILITY' COMPANY NAME

Corporate or limited liability company designa-

tions shall consist only of the words. "Professional

Association," or the abbreviation. "P. A.", for

professional corporations and "Professional Limit-

ed Liability Company, or "P. L.L.C." for profes-

sional limited liability companies. , and all All

corporate names shall be also contain the name or

surname of one or more of the shareholders or

members .

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-5: 57C-2-01: 57C-2-

30: 90-48.
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.0004 CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
(a) Application for a certificate of registration

shall be made in writing to the Board, and shall be

submitted upon the form provided by the Board for

that purpose. The application shall be

accompanied by a certified copy of the certificate

of incorporation and articles of incorporation of a

P.A. or a certified copy of the articles of

organization of a P.L.L.C . together with a check

in the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00) in payment

of the registration fee.

(b) The initial certificate of registration shall

remain efl'ective for one year from the date of

issuance thereof, unless suspended or terminated as

by law provided, and each subsequent renewal of

the certificate shall be effective for a period of one

year from the date of issue.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57C-2-01; 90-48.

.0005 APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
At least 20 days prior to the date of expiration of

the certificate, the corporation or limited liability

company shall submit its written application for

renewal upon a form to be provided by the Board.

The application must be accompanied by a check

in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in

payment of the renewal fee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57C-2-01: 90-48.

.0007 AMENDMENTS TO ARTICLES OF
INCORPORATION OR
ORGANIZATION

Amendments to the articles of incorporation or

articles of organization shall be forwarded to the

Board's office within ten days after the filing of

the same in the office of the Secretary of State of

North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G. S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01; 57C-2-

22; 90-48.

.0008 EMPLOYMENT OF DENTAL
HYGIENIST

No corporation or limited liability company shall,

at one and the same time, employ in clinical

positions more than two dental hygienists for each

dentist actively engaged in the corporate practice

of dentistry.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-223(b); 90-233(b).

.0010 CORPORATE OFFICERS OR
MANAGERS MUST EXECUTE

DOCUMENTS
All documents required by these rules to be

submitted to the Board by the corporation or

limited liability company shall be executed by the

president or vice president of the corporation^ and

attested to by the secretary/treasurer or by the

managers of the limited liability company , and

duly acknowledged before a notary public or some

other officer qualified to administer oaths.

Statutory Authority G.S. 558-12; 57C-2-01; 90-48.

SUBCHAPTER 161 -ANNUAL
RENEWAL OF DENTAL
HYGIENIST LICENSE

.0002 CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIRED

As a condition of license renewal, each dental

hygienist must complete a minimum of 6 clock

hours of continuing education courses per calendar

year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-225.1.

.0003 APPROVED COURSES AND
SPONSORS

(a) Courses in satisfaction of this requirement

must be directly related to patient care or patient

safety. Hours spent reviewing dental or dental

hygiene publications or videos shall not count

toward fulfilling the continuing education

requirement.

(b) Approved continuing education course

sponsors include:

(1) providers recognized by the American

Dental Association's Continuing

Education Recognition Program, the

Academy of General Dentistry, the

American Dental Hygienists'

Association, or components of such

organizations;

North Carolina Area Health Education

ill

14]

Centers;

educational institutions with dental or

dental hygiene schools or departments;

and

state or local societies or associations or

formally structured study clubs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-225.1.

.0004 REPORTING CONTINUING
EDUCATION

(a) The number of hours completed to satisfy
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this requirement shiall be indicated on the renewal

application form submitted to the Board and

confirmed by the hygienist's signature. Upon

request by the Board or its authorized agent, the

hygienist shall provide official documentation of

attendance at courses indicated. Such

documentation must include:

(1

)

the title and a course description;

(2) the number of hours of instruction;

(3) the date and location of the course

attended;

(4) the name(s) of the course instructor(s);

and

(5) the name of the organization offering or

sponsoring the course.

(b) All records, reports and certificates relative

to continuing education credit hours must be

maintained by the licensee for at least three years

and shall be produced upon request of the Board

or Us authorized agent. Documentation showing

completion of reported hours of course work will

be required of licensees on a random basis.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 90-225.1.

.0006 PENALTY' FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
WITH CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENT

If the applicant for a renewal certificate fails to

provide proof of completion of reported continuing

education hours as required by Rules .0002 and

.0004 of this Subchapter, the Board may refuse to

issue a renewal certificate until such time as the

licensee completes the required hours of education

and meets all other qualifications for renewal

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-225. 1.

SUBCHAPTER 16R - CONTINUING
EDUCATION REQLTREMENTS:

DENTISTS

.0001 CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIRED

As a condition of license renewal, every dentist

must complete a minimum of J_5 clock hours of

continuing education courses per calendar year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-31.1.

.0002 APPROVED COURSES AND
SPONSORS

(a) Courses in satisfaction of this requirement

must be directly related to patient care or patient

safety. Hours spent reviewing dental journals.

publications or videos shall not count toward

fulfilling the continuing education requirement.

(b) Approved continuing education course

sponsors include:

(1) those recognized by the Continuing

Education Recognition Program of the

American Dental Association;

(2)

(3)

14)

£51

the Academy of General Dentistry;

North Carolina Area Health Education

Centers;

educational institutions with dental or

dental hygiene schools or departments;

and

state or local societies or associations or

formally structured study clubs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-31.1.

.0003 REPORTING OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION

(a) The number of hours completed shall be

indicated on the renewal application form

submitted to the Board and confirmed by the

dentist's signature. Upon request by the Board or

its authorized agent, the dentist shall provide

official documentation of attendance at courses

indicated. Such documentation must include:

i2J

the title and a description of the course;

the number of hours of instruction;

the date and location of the course

attended;

(4) the name(s) of the course instructor(s);

and

(5) the name of the organization offering or

sponsoring the course.

(b) All records, reports and certificates relative

to continuing education credit hours must be

maintained by the licensee for at least three years

and shall be produced upon request of the Board

or its authorized agent. Documentation showing

completion of reported hours of course work will

be required of licensees on a random basis.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-31.1.

.0004 PENALTV FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
WITH CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUTREMENT

If the applicant for a renewal certificate fails to

provide proof of completion of reported continuing

education hours as required by Rules .0001 and

.0003 of this Subchapter, the Board may refuse to

issue a renewal certificate until such time as the

licensee completes the required hours of education

and meets all other qualifications for renewal

.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 90-31.1.

.0005 EXEMPTION FROM CONTINUING
EDUCATION

(a) Dentists may request exemption from

continuing education requirements by submitting

evidence in writing to the Board that the dentist is

retired from the practice of dentistry.

(b) In those instances where continuing education

is waived and the exempt individual wishes to

resume practice, the Board shall require continuing

education courses when re-classifying the licensee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-31.1.

SUBCHAPTER 16S - IMPAIRED DENTIST
PROGRAM

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0101 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions are applicable to

impaired dentist programs established in

accordance with G.S. 90-48.2:

(1) "Board" means the North Carolina State

Board of Dental Examiners;

(2) "Impairment" means chemical

dependency or mental illness;

(3) "Board of Directors" means individuals

comprising the oversight panel consisting

of representatives from the North

Carolina Dental Society, the Board, and

the UNC School of Dentistry established

to function as a supervisory body to the

Caring Dentist Program;

(4) "Director" means the person designated

by the Board of Directors to organize and

coordinate the activities of the Caring

Dentist Program;

(5) "Caring Dentist Program " means the

program established through agreements

between the Board and special impaired

dentist peer review organizations formed

by the North Carolina Dental Society

made up of Dental Society members

designated by the Society, the Board, and

the UNC School of Dentistry to conduct

peer review activities as provided in G.S.

$90-48. 2(a).

(6) "Caring Dentist Program members"

means volunteer Dental Society members

selected by the Board of Directors from

peer review organizations to serve as

parties to interventions. to direct

impaired dentists into treatment, and as

monitors of those individuals receiving

treatment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-48; 90-48.2.

.0102 BOARD AGREEMENTS WITH
PEER REVIEW ORGANIZATIONS

The Board shall enter into agreements with

special impaired dentist peer review organizations,

pursuant to G.S. 90-48.2, to establish the Caring

Dentist Program to be supervised by the Board of

Directors. Such agreements shall provide for:

(1) investigation, review and evaluation of

records, reports, complaints, litigation,

and other information about the practice

and practice patterns of licensed dentists

as may relate to impaired dentists;

(2) identification, intervention, treatment,

referral . and follow up care of impaired

dentists; and

(3) due process rights for any subject dentist.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-48; 90-48.2.

SECTION .0200 - GUIDELINES FOR
PROGRAM ELEMENTS

.0201 RECEIPT AND USE OF
INFORMATION OF
SUSPECTED IMPAIRMENT

(a) Information concerning suspected impairment

may be received by the Caring Dentist Program

through any of the following sources:

(1) reports of physicians, psychologists or

counselors;

(2) reports from family members, staff or

other individuals;

(3) self-referral; or

(4) referral by the Board.

(b) When information of suspected impairment

is received, the Program shall conduct an

investigation and routine inquiries to determine the

validity of the report.

(c) Dentists suspected of impairment may be

required to submit to personal interviews if the

investigation and inquiries indicate the report of

impairment may be valid.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-48; 90-48.2.

.0202 CONFIDENTIALITY
Information received by the Program shall

remain confidential and shall not be released to

any party outside the membership of the Program.

However, information received as a result gf a
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Board referral shall be freely exchanged with the

Board or its authorized agents.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-48: 90-48.2.

.0203 ENJTERVENTION AND REFERRAL
(a) Following an investigation, if an impairment

is determined to exist and confirmed, an

intervention shall be conducted using specialized

techniques designed to assist the dentist in

acknowledging responsibility for dealing with the

impairment. The dentist shall be referred to an

appropriate treatment source.

(b) Following an investigation, intervention, or

treatment, or upon receipt of a complaint or other

information. a peer review organization

participating in the Caring Dentist Program shall

report to the Board detailed information about any

dentist licensed by the Board, if it js determined

that:

the dentist constitutes an imminentm
12}

danger to the public or himself:

the dentist refuses to cooperate with the

program. refuses to submit to

treatment, or is still impaired after

treatment and exhibits professional

incompetence; or

(3) it reasonably appears that there are

other grounds for disciplinary action.

(c) Program members may consult with medical

professionals and treatment sources as necessary m
carrying out the Program's directives.

(d) Interventions shall be arranged and

conducted as expeditiously as possible. When
interventions are conducted as a direct result of a

Board-initiated referral, a Board representative

may be present.

(e) Treatment sources shall be evaluated and

determined applicable before an individual is

referred for treatment, and any treatment contracts

or aftercare agreements shall be documented and

recorded by the Program.

Statuton- Authority G.S. 90-48; 90-48.2.

.0204 MONITORING TREATMENT
A treatment source or facility receiving referrals

from the Program shall be continually monitored

to determine its ability to provide:

(I ) adequate medical and non-medical staff-

ing;

appropriate treatment;

affordable treatment;

i2j

13]

i4] adequate facilities; and

appropriate post-treatment support.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-48; 90-48.2.

.0205 MONITORING REHABILITATION
ANT) PERFORMANCE AFTER
TREATMENT

(a) Program members shall monitor dentists

following treatment. Testing for impairment shall

be conducted until rehabilitation has been accom-

plished.

(b) Treatment sources shall submit reports to the

Director concerning a dentist's rehabilitation and

performance.

(c) Impaired dentists shall submit to periodic

personal interviews before the Director or Program

members designated by the Director; or, for those

referred to the Program by the Board, before the

Board's agents. The frequency of personal inter-

views shall be determined by the dentist's ability

to accomplish rehabilitation and adequately per-

form after treatment.

(d) Complete records shall be maintained by the

Program on al] dentists reporting for assistance,

treatment, or monitoring and such records shall

remain confidential in accordance with G.S. 90-

48.2(e).

(e) The Program shall maintain statistical infor-

mation regarding impairment, to be reported to the

Board periodically, but no less than once a year.

(f) The Program shall compile and report infor-

mation periodically to the Board regarding investi-

gations, reports, complaints, intervention, treat-

ment, referral , rehabilitation and follow up care of

impaired dentists. Such reports shall not identify

the subject dentist unless the dentist was referred

by the Board or a determination under Rule

.0203(b) of this Section has been made.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-48; 90-48.2.

iSotice /> hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Board of Medical Examiners of

the State of North Carolina intend.^' to repeal rules

cited as 21 NCAC 32L .0001 - .0012; and adopt

rules cited as 21 NCAC 320 .0001 - .0021.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on February 4, 1994 at the NC Medical

Board. 1203 Front St. , Raleigh. N. C.
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Keason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 32L .0001 - .0012 - Repealing Subchap-

ter 32L and adopting new PA rules under 320.

21 NCAC 320 .0001 - .0021 - To adopt rules that

bring PA practice in NC into conformity with

national standards.

(comment Procedures: Persons interested may

present written or oral statements relevant to the

actions proposed at a hearing to be held as indi-

cated above. Written statements not presented at

the hearing should be directed before February 14.

1994 to the following address: Administrative

Procedures, NC Medical Board, P O. Box 26808,

Raleigh. NC 27611-6808.

CHAPTER 32 - BOARD OF MEDICAL
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 32L - APPROVAL OF
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS

.0001 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to this Subchap

teff

{\) "Physioian j\ssistant or PA" means an

auxiliary, paramedical person who funo

tions at the direction of or under the

supervision of a physioian licensed by the

Board and who performs tasks tradition

ally performed by the physician, such as

history—taking.—physical—

e

xamination,

diagnosis, and treatm ent.

^3) "Physician—Assistant Applicant"—m eans

the

—

individual—upon whose behalf an

application i s submitted who may func

tion before approval by the Board in the

same manner in which he functioned as a

student under strict supervision as out

lined in Rul e .0002 of thi s Subchapte r.

(^3 "Supervi sion"—means—the

—

physician's

function of overseeing.—managing, and

directing the m edical acts performed by

the PA as outlined in Rule .0009 of this

Subchapte r.

{4) "Primary Supervising Physician" means

th e phys ician who. by signing the appli

cation to th e Board, accepts full medical

administrative responsibility for the PA's

m edical activitie s and conduct at all tim es

wheth e r he pe rsonally is providing supe r

vi sion or supervision is be ing provided

by a Back up Supervi sing Phys ician. The

k^

(6)-

Primary—Supervising—Phys ioian—

s

hall

assume total re sponsibility to a ssure the

Board that the PA i s s ufficiently qualified

by education and training to perform al l

medical act s required of the PA and s hall

assume total res ponsibility for the PA s

performance—m—the

—

particular—ftekl

—

Bf

fields in which the PA is expeotod to

perform medioal aet s .

"Baok up Supervising Physioian" means

the phys ician who. by signing the appli

cation to the Board, accepts the re spon s i

bility to be—available—te—

s

upervise the

IWs

—

activitie s—in—the

—

absence—of the

Primary Supervising Phys ician only in

the practice s ites listed in the application

approved by the Board.—The Back up

Supervising Physician is respon s ible for

the activities of the PA only when he is

providing supervision.

"Formulary" moans the doeument v»'hich

lists generic eategorica of drugs to be

prescribed,—ordered,—©f

—

dispensed—hy

physician extenders under written stand

ing orders from the supervi si ng phys ician

fef

—

patient—eaf=e

—

m—approved—practice

s ite s .

"Approved—practice—sites"—means—eftiy

those practice sites specifically listed in

the approved application on file in the

Board's—office—m—which—the—PA—may
legally perform medical acts.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0002 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT APPLICANT
STATUS

The Physician Assistant Applicant status may be

used only by an individual whose applicat ion for

approval as a Physioian Assistant has been re

ceived—ifl—the

—

Board' s

—

office. The

—

Physician

Aijsistant Applicant status may not be used to "try

out" a job or v»'ork temporarily in a job in which

the individual does not intend to obtain Board

approval.—In the event the individual leaves the

job in which he has v»'orked as a Physician Assis

tant Applicant before Board approval i s granted,

the individual mu st submit a written explanation to

the Board before he may work in the Physician

As s i stant Applicant status in another job.

t4^ The Physician As s i stant Applicant statu s

applies to:

{ft) an individual newly graduated from a

PA training program; or

fb) an individual coming to North Carolina

m-
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for the first time who has worked provi

ou s ly as a PA in another state.

^ A Phys ieian Assistant Applieant.

described—m

—

Subparagraph—( 1 ) of this

Rule, may function before approval by

the Board under strict supervision with

the following limitations:

•(*) wear—identification—as—a

—

"Physician

/Vssistant Applicant";

fb-) have no prescribing privileges;

i^ hav e immediate physician
countersigning of all—notations—in all

patient charts in all practice location s ;

fd) have no remote practice sites. (The

supcrx'ising physieian must always be

physically present in the practice site in

which the applicant is working.)

(^^ The Physician j\ssistant Applicant statu s

does not apply to an indix'idual previously

approved as a PA in North Carolina in

another—practice—situation—which—has

terminated who is seeking appro\'al in a

new job.—The previously approved PA

may function prior to approval of the

new job as follows :

fa-) wear—identification—as—a

—

"Physician

/Vssistant";

i^ ttse

—

prescribing—number—prcxiously

issued—by—tte

—

Board—for prescribing

pri\'ilcges;

{ej have

—

physician—countersigning—of all

notation s

—

in all—patient charts—in all

practice—location s within 24 hours of

PA/patient contact.

Statutory Authorit}- G.S. 90-18(13).

.0003 REQUIREMENTS FOR PA
APPROVAL

fa^

—

Before being appros'cd by the Board, an

applicant mu s t:

f4-) Be of good moral characte r.

(3-) Give evidence that he has successfully

completed—a—PA

—

training—program

recognized by the Board as set forth in

Rule .0006 of this Subchapter.

fb-)

—

Initial appro\'al may be denied for any of the

reasons set forth in Rule .0007 of thi s Subchapter.

as well—as

—

failure to s ati sfy' the—Board of the

qualifications of the—PA training program from

which the applicant graduated as set forth in Rule

.0006 of this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13).

.0004 APPLICATION FOR PA APPROVAL
fa^

—

Application for approval of a PA must be

made upon forms supplied by the Board and mu st

be submitted jointly by the PA and supervising

physicians with whom the PA will work.

fb^

—

Application form s submitted to the Board

must be complete in every detail and in every

supporting document required must be submitted

by the deadline set by the Board in order that the

application may be considered appropriately.

fe)

—

If for any reason a PA di scontinues working

under the supervision of the primary physician

who submitted the application under which the PA

is approved, the Board shall be notified and the

PA's approval shall automatically terminate until

such time as a new application is approved by the

Board.

(d) The following applications for changes in the

PA practice may be admini stratively approved by

th e Board's stafF and reported to the Board at each

meeting:

t4^) routine job changes of a PA previously

approved in N.C.

;

{3^ additional job under a new primary

supervising phys ician;

03 change ©f primary supervising

physician when that is the only change

txxlcing place in a currently approved PA
practice site;

{A) addition ef back up supervising

physicians to a currently approved PA

practice site;

(§3 addition—of practice—sites

—

under—the

superx'ision of the currently approved

primary supervising physician;

i€) temporary approval for second site on

relief basis not to exceed two months.

fe)

—

Admini strative approval is not automatic for

the applications listed in thi s Rule.—TTie changes

may be admini stratively approved at the di scretion

of the Board's staff.—Changes cannot be proces sed

admini stratively but must be considered by th e

Board—as

—

follows :—if—any—ef—the

—

background

questions—are

—

answered—"yes"—by—the—R\—or

primary supervi s ing physician; or if the PA or any

of—the

—

supervising—physicians—li sted—have—an

investigative, complaint, or public file.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0005 PRESCRIBING PRIVILEGES
fa) The

—

PA—Applicant—and—tbe

—

supervising

physician s shall acknowledge in the application

that they are familiar with laws and rule s of the

Board regarding prescribing; and shall agree to
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comply with these lawa and rules by incorporating

the lawa and rulca. including the Formulary, into

their written standing orders.

{b) The

—

generic—categories—listed—m—the

Formulary are based on the American Hospital

Formulary Service published by the American

Society of Hospital Pharmacists.—The Formulary

is adopted by reference by the Board as a part of

thi s Rule in accordance with provi sions of G.S.

150B 1 4(c).

{e)—The prescribing stipulations contained in

these rules and in the Formulary apply to writing

prescriptions.—ordering—the

—

administration—of

medications in out patient and inpatient settings ,

and dispensing medications. Approval to dispense

must be obtained from the Board of Pharmacy.

{4)—Prescribing stipulations arc as follows:

{V) Controlled Substances:

{A)—No controlled substances (Schedules

2. 2N. 3. 3N. 4 , 5) defined by the

State and Federal Controlled

Substances Acts may be prescribed,

ordered, or di spensed.

fB)

—

Verbal orders given to the PA by the

supervising phy s ician f^f

admini stration—ef—a

—

controlled

substance to a specific patient may be

entered into the patient chart by the

PA just as an RN may transcribe a

physician's verbal order into a patient

chart.

f3^ Parenteral Medications—No parenteral

preparations may be prescribed,

-&F

—

admini stered

order—»f—tije

ordered,—dispensed,

unless—under—the-

supervising physician as set forth in

Paragraph (d)(3)(B) of thi s Rule with

the

—

exception—ef

—

those—med ications

listed on the Formulary as allovi^ed.

^ Excluded Drugs:

(A) Any pure form or combination of the

generic classes of drugs listed in the

Formulary may be prescribed.

ordered, or di spensed, unle s s the drug

or class of drug is listed as excluded

from the Formulary.

fB)

—

The PA may prescribe an excluded

drug or class of drug only as follows:

fh) after—the

—

patient has

—

been

previou s ly seen by the supervising

physician for initial treatment of

that illness and a written order has

been entered into the chart by the

phys ician for future treatment by

the PA; or

ftt^ upon a specific written or verbal

order obtained from the

supervising phys ician before the

prescription or order is issued by

the PA.

^G^—Such a prescription or order written

as described in Paragraph (d)(3)(B) of

this Rule must be signed by the PA
with a notation that it i s i ssued on the

specific—order—of—the

—

supervising

physician.—For example: Mary Smith.

PA. on order of John Doe. M.D.

(4^ Refill s A

—

prescription—may—net

indicate a refill with the exception of

birth control medications which may be

issued for a period not to exceed one

(5^ Dosage—Units Amount—ef

—

drug

prescribed, ordered, or dispensed can

be no more than 100 dosage units or a

one month supply with the exception of

birth control medications which may be

issued for a period not to exceed one

ycQ.r.

{h) Prescription Notations Every

prescription—must—be

—

noted—en—the

patient's chart.—A second prescription

fef—the

—

same—medication—m»f—be

authorized by telephone by the PA and

must be entered on the patient's chart

and countersigned by the supervi s ing

phy s ician within the specified

countersigning time approved by the

Board.

f?^ Prescribing Number A prescribing

number is assigned by the Board to a

PA upon approval by the Board.—This

number must appear on all prescriptions

issued by the PA. The

—

prescribing

number is used as the PA's Approval

Number.

Prescription—Blank—Format AH-(8^
prescriptions—issued—by—a

—

VA—

s

hall

contain the name and telephone number

of the supervi s ing physician: the name,

practice address, telephone number, and

prescribing number of the PA. as well

as all information required by law.—

A

suggested prescription format hs

included in the application packet.

f9) Pre signed Prescription Blanks The

supervising physician—shall—net

—

leave

pre signed prescription forms for u se by

the PA.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13): 90-18.1;

1SOB- 14(c).

.0006 REQUIREMENTS FOR
RECOGNITION OF PA TRAINING
PROGRAMS

AW—FV^t

—

training—programs—approved—^/—th«

American Medical Association Council on Medical

Education (AMA) arc recognized by the Board.

{+) Application—fef

—

recognition—©f—a

—

PA

training—program—not approved—by the

AMA—shall—be

—

made—by

—

letter—and

supporting documents from the Director

of the program and must demonstrate to

the satisfaction of the Board that such

program fulfills ih^ following

requirements:

{a) Sponsorship The

—

training program

must—be spon sored by a college or

university w i t h appropriate

arrangements for the clinical training of

•its

—

students.—s«eh—as—a

—

hospital

maintaining a teaching program.—There

must be e\'idence that the program has

education as its primary orientation and

objective.

fb) Director The program must be under

the superx'ision of a qualified director,

who has at his disposal the resource s of

competent personnel adequately trained

in the administration and operation of

educational program s .

fe) Facilities Adequate space, light and

modern equipment mu s t be provided for

aH

—

teaching—functions. A

—

library.

containing up to date textbooks-

scientific—periodicals.—and

—

reference

material pertaining to clinical medicine,

its underlying scientific di sciplines , and

tts s pecialtie s . shall be readily

accessible to students and faculty.

f#) Curriculum The

—

curriculum—Hwst

provide—adequate—in struction—m—the

basic—sciences—underlying—medical

practice to provide the trainee with an

understanding of the nature of disease

processes—and—

s

ymptom s .
—abnormal

tests, and drug actions.—This must be

combined with instruction, observation.

and

—

participation—in

—

history—talcing,

physical exflmination.—and therapeutic

procedures. This

—

should—be—

m

sufficient depth to enable the graduate

to integrate and organize hi storical and

physical finding s . The didactic

instruction shall follow a planned and

progressive outline and shall include an

appropriate mixture—©f

—

classroom

lectures. textbook assignments.

discussions, demonstrations, and similar

activities.—Instruction—

s

hall—include

practical in struction mtd clinical

experience under qualified supervision

sufficient to provide understanding of a

sktH—ifl

—

performing—those—clinical

functions which the PA may be asked

to perform.—There must be sufficient

evaluative procedures te assure

adequate—evidence—ef

—

competcnoc.

Although the student may conccntmtc

his effort and hi s intere s t in a particular

specialty of medicine, the program must

in sure that he possesses a broad general

understanding of medical practice and

therapeutic techniques .

fe) Length of Program Although some

variation—may—be

—

possible—fef—the

individual student. dependent ©ft

aptitude. previou s education and

experience.—the

—

curriculum—shaH—be

des igned—te

—

require—twe—©f

—

more

academic years for completion.

tf) Faculty The program—must have a

faculty competent to teach the didactic

and clinical material which comprises

the

—

curriculum. The

—

faculty—shaH

include at least one instructor who i s a

graduate—©f

—

medicine.—licensed—t©

practice in the location of the school,

whose training and experience enable

him to properly supervise progress and

teaching in clinical subjects.—He shall

be in attendance for sufficient time to

insure proper expo sure of the student to

clinical—teaching—and

—

pmctice. The

program may utilize instructors other

than physicians, but sufficient exposure

to clinical medicine mu s t be prox'ided to

in sure understanding of the patient, his

problem.—and—the

—

diagnostic—and

therapeutic responses to thi s problem.

(§3 Entrance Requirements The program

mu s t.—through—appropriate—

e

ntrance

requirements.—insure—that

—

candidates

accepted for training possess:

i+) ability—t©—ase

—

written—and

—

spoken

language in eflFective communication

with physicians, patients, and others ;

•(iij

—

quantification s kill s to insure prope r

calculation and interpretation of tests;
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{i«)

—

behavioral charactcri fitics of honesty

and dependability; and

(tv)

—

high ethical and moral standards, in

order to—safeguard—the

—

interest—©f

patients and others.

f3^ To retain its recognition by the Board, a

recognized program shall:

{et) make

—

available—te—the

—

Board—the

operating budget and yearly summaries

of case loads and educational activities

done—by

—

clinical—affiliates,—including

volume of outpatient visits and number

of inpatients;

(b) maintain a satisfactory record of the

entrance qualifications ef and

evaluations of all work done by each

student, which shall be available to the

Board; and

^e^ notify the—Board—m

—

writing of any

major changes in the curriculum or a

change—m—the

—

directorship—ef—the

program

.

f^3 Recognition—ef—a

—

program—m»f—be

withdrawn when, in the opinion of the

Board, the program fails to maintain the

educational standards described in this

Rule.—When a program has not been in

operation for a period of Vwo consecutive

years, recognition will automatically be

withdrawn. Withdrav»'al of recognition

from a program will in no way affect the

status of a PA who graduated from the

program while it was recognized and who

has been approved by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13).

.0007 TERMINATION OF PA APPROVAL
The approval of a PA may be terminated by the

Board—v»'hen,—after due—notice and—hearing—m
accordance with provisions of Article 3A of G.S.

150B, it shall find:

fH that the PA has held himself out or

permitted another to represent him as a

licensed physician;

f3) that—the—R\—has

—

engaged—m—(he

performance of medical act s other than at

the direction of. or under the supervision

of, a phys ician licen sed by the Board

who is approved by the Board to be a

supervising physician;

0) that the PA has performed a medical act

for which the PA is not approved or for

which—the—R\

—

vs—net

—

qualified—by
education—and

—

training—te

—

perform

,

f4^

including prescribing, ordering, ©f

dispensing—drugs—net

—

allowed—hy—the

Formulary;

that—(he

—

W\—is

—

impaired—physically.

mental l y, or professionally ao a result of

using mind altering chemicals;

that the PA has been convicted in any(^

f^

court,—of a felony—or other criminal

offen se;

that—(he

—

YV\—\%—adjudicated—mentally

incompetent or that the PA's mental or

physical condition renders the PA unable

to safely function as a PA;

irh that the PA has failed to comply with any

of the provi sion s of this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13).

.0008 METHOD OF IDEIVTIFICATION
The

—

PA shall—wear an appropriate name tag

spelling out the words "Physician Assistant".

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13).

.0009 SUPERVISION OF A PA
Supervision shall be provided by the responsible

physician as follows:

(4-) Availability:

fa) The

—

supervising—physician—shaH—be

available for direct communications by

radio, telephone, e-r

telecommunications .

^ The

—

supervising—physician—shall—be

available on a regularly scheduled basis

for referrals of patients from the PA.

(3) Written Standing Orders :

{tt) The supervising physician shall provide

in each practice location, for u se by the

PA and for referral by other personnel,

written—standing—orders—and

—

drug

protoco l s—t©

—

cove r—most—commonly

encountered problems in the practice

setting.

fb) The

—

written—standing—orders

—

shall

include—a

—

predetermined—pten—fef

emergency services .

{e) The PA shall refer a patient to another

physician—other—(han—an

—

approved

supervising physician only i-n

accordance wi(h written standing

orders.

(5) Counters igning:

(a) The—(H»e

—

interval—between—(he—R¥s
contact—with—(he

—

patient—and

—

chart

review—and

—

countersigning—hf—(he
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supcrviaing physician shall be 72 houre.

{%) A longer countersigning time interval

may be considered by the Board upon

specific request.—The reques t should

explain—ttw

—

practice—circum stances

which nece ss itate rthe longer

countersigning interval.

fe) All entries by a PA into patient charts

in all approved practice location s mu s t

be countersigned—by

—

the supervising

physician.—Entries include but are not

limited—ten—progress

—

notes ;
—treatment

rendered; tests or procedures ordered;

and notation s of prescriptions or orders,

and drugs dispensed or administered.

f4) Supervision Arrangements:

{e^ If the PA is to perform dutie s away

from—the—

s

upervi s ing—physician,—the

application—mu s t
—clearly—specify—the

circumstances which would ju stify thi s

action and the supervi sory arrangements

established to protect the patient.

fb) Details must be submitted describing

distance.—time.—topography.—physical

characteri stics. and communication

ability—between—the—Rr\—and—the

supervising physician.

^&) Supervi s ing Phys ician s :

ittj A

—

physician—m—a

—

graduate—medical

education—program.—whether—fully

licensed or holding only a resident's

training license, cannot be named as a

supervising phys ician.

fb) A

—

phys ician—m—a

—

graduate—medical

education program who is aJs©

practicing—in a non training situation

may supervi se physician as s i stants in

the

—

non training—situation—if—feHy

licensed.

fe^ All physicians who may supervise the

PA in any manner must be approved by

the

—

Board—before—{^t

—

supervision

occurs.

t^) The PA must be prepared to demonstrate

upon request to a membe r of the Board,

or its delegates, the ability to perform the

medical acts as signed by the supervising

physician.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13).

.0010 ANNUAL REGISTRATION OF PA
APPROVAL

{Br)—Physician ;\3s i 3tants approved under these

rules shall register their approval annually with the

Board by July 1 of each year on forms supplied by

the

—

Board—and

—

shall—be

—

accompanied—h^—

a

registration fee of thirty five dollars ($35.00).

fb)

—

In the event failure to register continues for

a period of 30 days, formal action may be taken

against the approval of the PA by the Board after

notice—and

—

hearing—tn

—

accordance—with

—

G.S.

150B 38.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-15.1.

.0011 FEES
(a)

—

An application fee of one hundred and fifty

dollars ($150.00) shall be paid at the time of the

initial application for approval and each subsequent

application for job change.

fb)

—

An application foe of one hundred dollars

($1(X).00) s hall be paid at the time of application

for a change—of primary supervising phys ician

when that i s the only change in the PA employ

ment situation.

fe)

—

The fee for annual registration, due July 1.

is thirty five dollars ($35.00).

(d) No portion of the fees in this Rule is refund -

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-15.

.0012 PA FORMS
The

—

following—documents—regarding—phys ician

assistants may be obtained from the Board' s office:

m Rules for Approval of Physician jXa s is

tants. Subchapter 32L;

(3^ Formulary;

^ North Carolina Laws Regarding Physi

eian

—

Assistants.—St*—90 1 8(13) and

90 18.1;

{Ar) Application for PA Approval;

f§) Statement of Approval, upon being ap

proved

;

{hj Application—tef

—

Annual—Registration,

mailed during June to all Physician Assis

tants approved by May I

;

(7^ Certificate of Registration, upon register

iflfr

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-11.
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.0001

The

ter:

ill

12]

SUBCHAPTER 320 - PHYSICIAN
ASSISTANT REGULATIONS

DEFINITIONS
following definitions apply to this Subchap-

I3J

i4j

15]

(a)

"Board" means the Board of Medical

Examiners of the State of North Caroli-

na.

"Physician Assistant" means a person

licensed by the Board to perform medical

acts, tasks, or functions under the super-

vision of a physician licensed by the

Board and who performs tasks tradition-

ally performed by the physician and who

has graduated from a physician assistant

or surgeon assistant program accredited

by the accrediting agency approved by

the Board.

"Physician Assistant License" means the

document issued by the Board showing

approval for the physician assistant to

perform medical acts, tasks, or functions

under North Carolina law.

"Registration" means paying an annual

fee and updating practice information

requested by the Board as outlined in

Rule .0005 of this Subchapter.

"Supervising Physician" means a physi-

cian licensed to practice medicine by the

Board and authorized by the Board to

supervise physician assistants.

The "Primary Supervising Physician" is

the physician who, by signing the appli-

cation to the Board, accepts full respon-

sibility for the physician assistant's

medical activities and professional

conduct at aU times whether he person-

ally is providing supervision or if su-

pervision is being provided by a

Back-up Supervising Physician. The

Primary Supervising Physician shall

assume total responsibility to assure the

Board that the physician assistant is

sufficiently qualified by education and

training to perform all medical acts

required of the physician assistant and

shall assume total responsibility for the

physician assistant's performance in the

particular field or fields in which the

physician assistant ]s expected to

perform medical acts. No more than

two physician assistants may be

currently registered to a primary

supervising physician.

(b) The "Back-up Supervising Physician"

means the physician who, by signing

the application to the Board, accepts the

responsibility to supervise the physician

assistant's activities in the absence of

the Primary Supervising Physician only

in the practice sites listed in the

application approved by the Board.

The Back-up Supervising Physician js

responsible for the activities of the

physician assistant only when he is

providing supervision.

(6) "Supervision" means overseeing the

activities of, and accepting the

responsibility for, the medical services

rendered by a physician assistant in a

manner approved by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0002 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSE
Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter,

an individual shall be licensed by the Board before

the individual may practice as a physician

assistant. The Board may grant a license as a

physician assistant to an applicant who:

( 1

)

submits an application on forms approved

by the Board;

(2) pays the appropriate fee as determined by

the Board;

il)

14]

15)

16)

17)

18)

has successfully completed an educational

program for physician assistants or

surgeon assistants accredited by the

Board-approved accrediting agency and

has passed a certifying examination

approved by the Board if initially

licensed after April L, 1994;

certifies that he or she [s mentally and

physically able to engage safely m
practice as a physician assistant;

has no licensure, certification, or

registration as a physician assistant under

current discipline, revocation, suspension

or probation for cause resulting from the

applicant's practice as a physician

assistant, unless the Board considers such

condition and agrees to licensure;

is of good moral character;

othersubmits to the Board any

information the Board deems necessary to

evaluate the applicant's qualifications;

and

has been approved by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-6: 90-18(13): 90-18. 1.
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.0003 TEMPORARY LICENSE
The Board may grant a temporary license to an

applicant who meets the qualifications for licensure

except that the applicant has not yet taken a

Board-approved certifying examination or the

applicant has taken a Board-approved certifying

examination and is awaiting the results. A
temporary license is valid:

(1) for one year from the date of issue;

until the results of an applicant's12]

13J

examination are available; or

until the Board makes a final decision on

the applicant's request for licensure;

whichever comes first. The Board may

extend a temporary license, upon a

majority vote of the Board members, for

a period not to exceed one year. Under

no circumstances may the Board grant

more than one extension of a temporary

license.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0004 INACTIVE LICENSE STATUS
Any physician assistant who notifies the Board in

writing may elect to place his or her license on an

inactive status. A physician assistant with an

inactive license shall not practice as a physician

assistant. Any licensee who engages in practice

while his or her license is lapsed or on inactive

status shall be considered to be practicing without

a license, which shall be grounds for discipline

under 21 NCAC 320 .0016. A physician assistant

requesting restoration from inactive status shall be

required to gay the current renewal fee and shall

be required to meet the criteria for renewal as

specified in 21 NCAC 320 .0005.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0005 ANNUAL REGISTRATION
Each person who holds a license as a physician

assistant jn this state will, upon notification from

the Board, annually renew said license by:

( I ) submitting the fee required in Rule .0021

of this Subchapter;

completing the appropriate forms; and

meeting any other requirement set forth

by the Board.

12]

13]

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.

.0006 CONTINUING MEDICAL
EDUCATION

In order to maintain physician assistant licensure.

documentation must be maintained by the

physician assistant of 100 hours of continuing

medical education (CME) for every two year

period, at least 40 of which must be American

Medical Association Category I or equivalent.

CME documentation must be available for

inspection by the Board or an agent of the Board

upon request.

The physician assistant who wishes to prescribe

controlled substances shall complete at least three

hours of CME every two years on the medical and

social effects of the misuse and abuse of alcohol,

nicotine, prescription drugs (including controlled

substances) and illicit drugs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.

.0007 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSE
Nothing herein shall be construed to require

licensure under 21 NCAC 320 of:

(1

)

a physician assistant student enrolled in a

physician assistant or surgeon assistant

educational program accredited by the

Board-approved accrediting agency;

(2) a physician assistant employed ]n the

service of the federal government while

performing duties incident to that

employment; or

(3) agents or employees of physicians who
perform delegated tasks fn the office of a

physician but who are not rendering

services as a physician assistant or

identifying themselves as a physician

assistant.

Statutory: Authority G.S 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0008 SCOPE OF PRACTICE
Physician assistants perform medical acts, tasks

or functions with physician supervision. Physician

assistants perform those duties and responsibilities,

including the prescribing and dispensing of drugs

and medical devices, that are delegated by their

supervising physician(s).

Physician assistants shall be considered the

agents of their supervising physicians in the

performance of all practice-related activities,

including but not limited to. the ordering of

diagnostic, therapeutic and other medical services.

Statutory Authority- G.S 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0009 PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY
A physician assistant is authorized to prescribe,

order, compound, dispense, and administer drugs
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and medical devices subject to the following

conditions:

(1) The physician assistant has been assigned

a license number by the Board which

shall be shown on the written

prescription.

(2) The physician assistant has received from

the supervising physician written

instructions for prescribing drugs and a

written policy for periodic review by the

physician of the drugs prescribed.

(3) For compounding and dispensing drugs,

the physician assistant shall have made

arrangements with a licensed pharmacist

for consultation and general supervision,

and shall comply with the rules of the

N.C. Board of Pharmacy governing this

function.

(4) In order to prescribe controlled

substances, the primary supervising

physician and the physician assistant must

sign the statement that they have read and

understand the PEA MID-LEVEL
PRACTITIONERS MANUAL and tjie

information sheet provided by the Board.

The Board also strongly suggests that the

physician and physician assistant continue

to update their knowledge of the

indications for these substances and their

abuse potentials. All prescriptions for

substances falling within the categories 1^

2N, 3 and 3N shall not exceed a

legitimate seven day supply.

(5) The physician assistant shall comply with

other relevant laws and regulations.

(6) A prescription issued by a physician

assistant shall display the name and

telephone number of the responsible

supervising physicians (primary or

back-up); the name, practice address,

telephone number, and prescribing

number of the physician assistant, as well

as aU information required by law.

(7) Physician assistants may request, receive,

and sign for professional samples and

may distribute professional samples to

patients complying with appropriate

federation and state regulations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0010 SUPERVISION OF PHYSICIAN
ASSISTANTS

Supervision shall be continuous but shall not be

construed as necessarily requiring the physical

presence of the supervising physician at the time

and place that the services are rendered.

It is the obligation of each team of physician(s)

and physician assistant(s) to ensure that the

physician assistant's scope of practice js identified;

that delegation of medical tasks |s appropriate to

the physician assistant's level of competence; that

the relationship of. and access to. the supervising

physician js defined; and that a process for

evaluation of the physician assistant's performance

is established. A statement clearly describing

these supervisory arrangements in all settings must

be signed by both the supervising physician and

the physician assistant and shall be kept on file at

all practice sites.

The time interval between the physician

assistant's contact with the patient and chart review

and countersigning by the supervising physician

may be a maximum of seven days for outpatient

(clinic/office) charts. Entries by a physician

assistant into patient charts of inpatients (hospital,

long term care institutions) must comply with the

rules and regulations of the institution, but at a

minimum, the initial workup and treatment plan,

and the discharge summary, must be countersigned

by the supervising physician, within seven days of

the time of generation of these notes; and, in the

acute inpatient setting, the initial work-up. orders

and treatment plan must be signed and dated

within two working days.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.001 1 SUPERVISING PHYSICIANS
A physician wishing to supervise a physician

assistant must:

(1) be licensed to practice medicine by the

Board;

(2) notify the Board of the physician's intent

to supervise a physician assistant; and.

(3) submit a statement to the Board that the

physician will exercise supervision over

the physician assistant in accordance with

any rules adopted by the Board and that

the physician will retain professional and

legal responsibility for the care rendered

by the physician assistant.

(4) It is the responsibility of the supervising

physician to ensure that the physician

assistant has adequate back-up for any

procedure performed by the physician

assistant, in any practice location (office,

home, hospital, etc.).

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.
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.0012 NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO
PRACTICE

(a) Prior to the performance of any medical

acts, tasks, or functions, a physician assistant

licensed by the Board will submit notification of

such intent on forms provided by the Board. The

physician assistant applicant may be provisionally

approved by the Board's administrative staff to

begin performing medical acts, tasks, and

functions upon receipt of the application form in

the Board's office subject to final approval by the

Board. Such notification shall include:

( 1

)

the name, practice address, and

telephone number of the physician

assistant; and

(2) the name, practice address, and

telephone number of the supervising

physician(s).

(b) The physician assistant shall notify the Board

of any changes or additions in a previously

approved practice setting or in supervising

physicians within 15 days of the occurrence.

(c) Intent to practice forms must be submitted

for each additional job under a new primary

supervising physician.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0013 SATELLITE SETTINGS
Nothing contained herein shall be construed to

prohibit the rendering of services by a physician

assistant in a setting geographically remote from

the supervising physician.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0014 EXCLUSIONS OF LIMITATIONS ON
EMPLO^TVEENT

Nothing herein shall be construed to limit any

lawful employment arrangement of a physician

assistant licensed under this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0015 ASSUIVIPTION OF PROFESSIONAL
LIABILITY

The legal responsibility for the physician

assistant's patient care activities shall be that of the

supervising physician(s), including when the

physician assistant provides care and treatment for

patients in health care facilities.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13): 90-18.1.

.0016 VIOLATIONS

The Board may, following the exercise of due

process, in accordance with provisions of Article

3A of G.S. 150B, discipline any physician

assistant who:

(1) fraudulently or deceptively obtains or

attempts to obtain a license;

(2) fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;

(3) is convicted of a felony;

(4) is an habitual user of intoxicants or drugs

to such an extent that the physician

assistant is unable to safely perform

medical acts;

(5) has been adjudicated as mentally

incompetent or has a mental condition

that renders the physician assistant unable

to safely perform medical acts;

(6) has committed an act of moral turpitude;

(7) represents himself or herself as a

physician;

(8) any violation of the Federal Controlled

Substances law; or

(9) lacks professional competence to perform

medical acts with a reasonable degree of

skill and safety for patients. In this

connection, the Board may consider

action of a physician assistant indicating

failure to properly treat a patient and may

require such physician assistant to submit

to inquiries or examinations, written or

oral, by members of the Board or by

others licensed to practice m this State,

as the Board deems necessary to

determine the professional qualifications

of such licensee.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-]4(a)(] 1): 90-18(13);

90-18.1.

.0017 DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY
The Board, upon finding that a physician

assistant has committed any ofi"ense described in

Rule .0017 of this Subchapter, may after due

process:

iii

01
13]

141

(5)

16J

refuse to grant a license:

administer a reprimand;

revoke, suspend, limit, or otherwise

restrict a license;

require a physician assistant to submit to

the care or counseling or treatment by a

physician(s) designated by the Board;

suspend enforcement of ks finding

thereof and place the physician assistant

on probation with the right to vacate the

probationary order for noncompliance; or

restore or reissue, at its discretion, a
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license and impose any disciplinary or

corrective measure which it may have

imposed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.

.0018 LOCUM TENENS PERMIT
Locum tenens means the temporary provision of

services at a specific site by a substitute physician

assistant provider.

The Board may grant a locum tenens permit to

any applicant who is licensed m the state. The

permit may be granted by an authorized represen-

tative of the Board. Such applications for locum

tenens permits will be reviewed at the next regu-

larly scheduled Board meeting. The duration of a

locum tenens permit shall be finite and shall not

exceed six months.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.

.0019 TITLE AND PRACTICE
PROTECTION

(a) Any person not licensed under this Subchap-

ter is in violation of G.S. 90-18 and js subject to

penalties applicable to the unlicensed practice of

medicine if he or she:

holds himself or herself out as a physi-

cian assistant;

12] uses any combination or abbreviation of

the term "physician assistant" to indi-

cate or imply that he or she is a physi-

cian assistant; or

(3) acts as a physician assistant without

bein^ license by the Board.

(b) An unlicensed physician shall not be permit-

ted to use the title of "physician assistant" or to

practice as a physician assistant unless he or she

fulfills the requirements of this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

.0020 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
Physician assistants licensed under this Subchap-

ter shall keep proof of current licensure available

for inspection at their primary place of practice

and shall, when engaged in their professional

activities, wear a name tag identifying themselves

as a "physician assistant."

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13); 90-18. 1.

.0021 FEES
The Board charges the following application fees:

(1) Physician Assistant License Application -

one hundred dollars ($100.00).

(2) Temporary License Application - one

hundred dollars ($100.00).

(3) Intent to Practice Application - two hun-

dred dollars ($200.00).

(4) Application for Addition of Back-up

Supervising Physicians - fifty dollars

($50.00).

(5) Change of Primary Supervising Physician

Application - one hundred dollars

($100.00).

(6) Locum Tenens Practice Application - one

hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00).

(7) Annual Registration Application Fee -

one hundred dollars ($100.00).

Application fees are non-refundable.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-18(13); 90-18.1.

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Real Estate

Appraisal Board intends to adopt rules cited as 21

NCAC 57A .0101 - .0102, .0201 - .0210, .0301 -

.0306, .0401 - .0408, .0501; 573 .0101 - .0104,

.0201 - .0212, .0301 -.0307, .0401 - .0403, .0501

- .0503, .0601 - .0612; 57C.0101 - .0104, .0201.

.0301 - .0303, and .0401.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1994

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 16, 1994 at the North Raleigh

Hilton, 3415 Wjke Forest Road, Raleigh, NC.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 57A .0101 - .0102, .0201 - .0210,

.0301 - .0306, .0401 - .0408, .0501 - To codify

the procedures and practice requirements of the

North Carolina Appraisal Board regarding the

licensure, certification, and practice of real estate

appraisers.

21 NCAC 57B .0101 -.0104, .0201 - .0212, .0301

- .0307, .0401 - .0403, .0501 - .0503, .0601 -

.0612 -To codify the procedures and practice

requirements of the Real Estate Appraisal Board

regarding Real Estate Appraiser Education.

21 NCAC 57C .0101 - .0104, .0201, .0301 -

. 0303, . 0401 - To codify the procedure and prac-

tice requirements of the Real Estate Appraisal
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Board regarding administrative rule nuiking and SECTION .0100 - APPLICATION FOR
administrative hearings. REAL ESTATE APPRAISER

LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE

C^onvnent Procedures: Comments regarding these FORM
rules may he nuide orally or submitted in writing . , • u . n r .• r- - '^ A person who wishes to file an application for a
at the public hearine. Written conunents not

i » . • i- _.c .' * real estate appraiser license or certificate may
submitted at the hearine may he delivered to Ms. ut ti.. At . . .u^^

- obtain the required form upon request to the
Anita Burt do North Carolina Real Estate Com- d ^ i i .u f n ^ • ^Board, in general, the form calls for information
mission. P.O. Bo.x 17100, Raleivh, North Carolina , ., , ., , , , ,,^ such as the applicant s name and address, the
27619. so as to be received b\' the hearing date. r - •

i
. u^ applicant s social security number, a recent pass-

port size photograph of the applicant, places of
CHAPTER 57 - REAL ESTATE

residence and employment, education, and such
APPRAISAL BOARD "T ~7 —I

—^
T^ \—, —

T

other information as may be necessary to identify

the applicant and determine his qualifications and
SUBCHAPTER 57A - LICENSING. '^ t

—
7- :^fr~,' fitness for licensure or certification.

CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(a); 93E-1-10.

.0102 FILING AND FEES
(a) Each application for licensure or for certification must be filed in the proper form and must be

accompanied by the required application fee plus such additional fee as the Board may from time to time

establish to defray the cost of any competency examination administered by a private testing service. The

Board may reject and return to the applicant any application which is incomplete, not m proper form, or

not accompanied by the required fee or fees. Application fees accompanying complete applications

submitted in proper form are not refundable.

(b) The following fees shall be charged:

(1) application for original residential appraiser license $150.00;

(2) application for original residential appraiser certificate $150.00;

(3) application for original general appraiser certificate $150.00.

(c) Payment of application fees shall be made by certified check, bank check or money order payable to

the North Carolina Appraisal Board.

Statutor\^ Authority- G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0200 - APPRAISER LICENSING
AND CERTIFICATION

.0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR
APPRAISER LICENSURE AND
CERTIFICATION

(a) Applicants for licensure as a state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser and for certification

as a state-certified real estate appraiser must satisfy

the qualification requirements stated in G.S. 93E-

1-6 as further set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1). (2)

and (3) of this Rule, provided however that licen-

sure as a state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser is not prerequisite for certification as a

state-certified residential or general real estate

appraiser:

(1) Applicants for licensure as a state-li-

censed residential real estate appraiser

shall have completed, within the five-

year period immediately preceding the

date application is made, courses [n

Introduction to Real Estate Appraisal.

Valuation Principles and Practices, and

Applied Residential Property Valuation

each consisting of at least 30 classroom

hours of instruction, or appraisal educa-

tion found by the Board to be equiva-

lent to such courses; and have at least

2.000 hours of appraisal experience.

(2) Applicants for certification as a state

-

certified residential real estate apprais-

er, within the five-year period immedi-

ately preceding the date application is

made, shall have completed those

courses required for licensure as a

state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser or equivalent education and.

in addition, a course fn Introduction to

Income Property Appraisal consisting of

at least 30 classroom hours of instruc-
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tion or equivalent education; and shall

have obtained as least 2,000 hours of

appraisal experience acquired over a

minimum period of two calendar years.

(3) Applicants for certification as a state-

certified general real estate appraiser,

within the five-year period immediately

preceding the date application is made,

shall have completed those courses

required for certification as a state-

certified residential real estate appraiser

or equivalent education and, in addi-

tion, courses in Advanced Income

Capitalization Procedures and Applied

Income Property Valuation each con-

sisting of at least 30 classroom hours of

instruction or equivalent education; and

shall have obtained at least 2,000 hours

of appraisal experience acquired over a

minimum period of two calendar years

of which at least 50 percent must have

been in appraising non-residential real

estate.

(h) When a state-licensed real state appraiser

becomes certified as a state-certified real estate

appraiser, his licensure shall be immediately

canceled by the Board. When a state-certified

residential real estate appraiser becomes certified

as a state-certified general real estate appraiser, his

certification as a state-certified residential real

estate appraiser shall be immediately canceled by

the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-6: 93E-1-10.

.0202 CHARACTER
(a) At a meeting of the Appraisal Board follow-

ing each real estate appraiser licensing or certifica-

tion examination, the applicants who have passed

the examination shall be considered for licensure

or certification. When the moral character of an

applicant is in question, action by the Board will

be deferred until the applicant has affirmatively

demonstrated that he possesses the requisite truth-

fulness, honesty and integrity.

(b) When the moral character of an applicant js

in question, the Board shall notify the applicant

and the applicant shall be entitled to demonstrate

his character and fitness for licensure or certifica-

tion at a hearing before the Board.

(c) Notice to the applicant that his moral charac-

ter is in question shall be in writing, sent by

certified mail, return receipt requested, to the

address shown upon the application. The applicant

shall have 60 days from the date of receipt of this

notice to request a hearing before the Board.

Failure to request a hearing within this time shall

constitute a waiver of the applicant's right to a

hearing on his application for licensing or certifi-

cation, and the application shall be deemed denied.

Nothing in this Rule shall be interpreted to pre-

vent an applicant from re-applying for licensure or

certification .

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-W.

.0203 LICENSE AND CERTIFICATE
RENEWAL

(a) A holder of an appraiser license or certificate

desiring the renewal of such license or certificate

shall, during the month of June, apply for same m
writing upon the form approved by the Board and

shall forward the required fee of two hundred

dollars ($200.00). Forms are available upon

request to the Board.

(b) All licensees and certificate holders either

active or inactive, resident or non-resident who are

required by G.S. 93E-1-7 to complete continuing

education as a condition of renewal, shall be

required to satisfy the continuing education re-

quirements set forth m Rule .0204 of this Section.

(c) An applicant applying for renewal of a

license or certificate obtained by reciprocity must

submit with the renewal application a current

license history from the appraiser regulatory

authority of the state upon whose qualification

requirements the reciprocal license or certificate

was granted showing that the applicant is currently

licensed or certified in good standing. Submission

of false or misleading information to the Board m
connection with license or certificate renewal shall

constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(d) Any person who acts or holds himself out as

a state-licensed or state-certified real estate ap-

praiser while his appraiser license or certificate is

expired will be subject to disciplinary action and

penalties as prescribed in Chapter 93E of the

North Carolina General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-7(a) and (b); 93E-

1-10.

.0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION
(a) All real estate appraiser licensees and certifi-

cate holders shall, upon the second renewal of

their license or certificate following their initial

licensure or certification by the Board, and upon

each subsequent renewal, present evidence satisfac-

tory to the Board of having obtained, within the

immediately preceding licensing/certification

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 1978



PROPOSED RULES

period (July _U June 30) education consisting of at

least ten classroom hours of instruction. Addition-

al hours of approved instruction may be carried

forward and recognized for purposes of meeting

the continuing education requirement only as

provided In Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Except as

provided in Paragraphs (f) and £g] of this Rule,

such education must have been obtained by taking

courses approved by the Board for continuing

education purposes. Such education must relate to

real estate appraisal and must contribute to the

goal of improving the knowledge, skill and compe-

tence of state-licensed and state-certified real estate

appraisers. There js no exemption from the

continuing education requirement for appraisers

whose licensed or certified status has been upgrad-

ed to the level of certified residential or certified

general appraiser since the issuance or most recent

renewal of their license or certificate, and courses

taken to satisfy the requirements or a higher level

of certification may not be applied toward the

annual continuing education requirement.

(b) Each appraisal continuing education course

must involve a minimum of three and one-half

classroom hours of instruction on real estate

appraisal or related topics such as the application

of appraisal concepts and methodology to the

appraisal of various types of property; specialized

appraisal techniques; laws, rules or guidelines

relating to appraisal; standards of practice and

ethics; building construction; financial or invest-

ment analysis; land use planning or controls;

feasibility analysis; statistics; accounting; and

similar topics. The license or certificate holder

must have attended at least 90 percent of the

scheduled classroom hours for the course in order

to receive credit for the course.

(c) A licensee who elects to take approved

continuing education courses in excess of the

minimum requirement of ten hours per year may

carry over into subsequent years a maximum of 20

hours of continuing education credit. Credit for

extra hours of approved continuing education may

not be carried forward more than two years, and

no credit may be applied retroactively.

(d) Course sponsors must provide a prescribed

certificate of course completion to each licensee

and certificate holder satisfactorily completing a

course. The licensee or certificate holder should

submit the original of this certificate to the Board

as soon as possible after completing the course and

must submit such certificate not later than the next

June 30 following course completion, fn order to

renew a license or certificate in a timely manner.

the Board must have received from the licensee or

certificate holder proper proof of his having fully

satisfied the continuing education requirement

prior to processing his license or certificate renew-

al application. If a licensee or certificate holder

fails to provide by June 30 of any year proper

proof of having fully satisfied the continuing

education requirement, his license or certificate

will expire as of that date and he will be subject to

the provisions of Rules .0203(d) and .0206 of this

Section.

(e) A course may be taken only once for contin-

uing education credit within a three-year period.

(f) A current or former licensee or certificate

holder may request that the Board grant continuing

education credit for a course taken by the licensee

or certificate holder that is not approved by the

Board, or for appraisal education activity equiva-

lent to a Board-approved course, by making such

request on a form prescribed by the Board and

submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars

($50.00) for each course or type of appraisal

education activity to be evaluated. Continuing

education credit for a non-approved course will be

granted only if the licensee or certificate holder

provides satisfactory proof of course completion

and the Board finds that the course satisfies the

requirements for approval of appraisal continuing

education courses with regard to subject matter,

course length, instructor qualifications, and student

attendance. Appraisal education activities for

which credit may be awarded include, but are not

limited to. teaching appraisal courses, authorship

of appraisal textbooks, and development of instruc-

tional materials on appraisal subjects. The award-

ing of credit for such activities is wholly discre-

tionary on the part of the Board. Licensed or

certified appraisers who between July \ and June

30 of the period for which continuing education

credit is requested have taught an appraisal course

or courses approved by the Board for continuing

education credit will be deemed to have taken an

equivalent course and will not be subject to the

fifty ($50.00) fee, provided they submit verifica-

tion satisfactory to the Board of having taught the

course(s).

(g) A state-licensed or state-certified residential

real estate appraiser may fully satisfy the continu-

ing education requirement by taking the Applied

Residential Property Valuation (R-3) pre-licensing

and pre-certification course, provided that he has

not taken such course within the previous three

years. A state-certified general real estate apprais-

er may fully satisfy the continuing education

requirement by taking either the Applied Residen-

tial Valuation (R-3) pre-licensing and pre-certifica-
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tion course or the Applied Income Property Valua-

tion (G-3) pre-certification course, provided that he

has not taken either of these courses within the

previous three years.

(h) A licensee or certificate holder may request

in writing and be granted an extension of time to

satisfy the continuing education requirements if he

provides evidence satisfactory to the Board that he

was unable to obtain the necessary education due

to an incapacitating illness, military assignment

outside the 50 states, or similar condition. If an

extension of time js granted, the licensee or certifi-

cate holder will be permitted to renew or reinstate.

as appropriate, his license or certificate for that

period of time for which the extension was grant-

ed. The granting of such request and the length of

any extension of time granted are wholly discre-

tionary on the part of the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-7(a) and (h); 93E-

l-8(d): 93E-1-10.

.0205 INACTIVE STATUS
(a) A licensee or certificate holder shall be

assigned by the Board to inactive status upon

written request to the Board.

(b) A licensee or certificate holder whose ap-

praiser license or certificate is on inactive status

shall be returned to active status upon making a

written request to the Board.

(c) A licensee or certificate holder on inactive

status shall not be entitled to act as a state-licensed

or state-certified real estate appraiser; however, in

order to continue to hold an appraiser license or

certificate, the licensee or certificate holder whose

license or certificate is on inactive status must

renew his license or certificate, including payment

of the prescribed renewal fee and completion of all

continuing education.

(d) TTie Board may take disciplinary action

against a licensee or certificate holder on inactive

status.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-7; 93E-1-10.

.0206 EXPIRED LICENSE OR
CERTIFICATE

(a) Expired real estate appraiser licenses and

certificates may be reinstated within 12 months

ing education that would have been required had

the license or certificate been continuously re-

newed .

(b) Licenses and certificates expired for more

than 12 months may be considered for reinstate-

after expiration upon proper application, payment

to the Board of the two hundned dollar ($200.00)

renewal fee plus a late filing fee of five dollars

($5.00) per month for each month or part thereof

that such license or certificate is lapsed, and

provision of proof of having obtained the continu-

ment upon proper application, payment of the one

hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) original license or

certificate fee, payment of the sixty dollar ($60.00)

late filing fee, and provision of proof of having

obtained continuing education equal to the total

number of classroom hours that would have been

required had the license or certificate been contin-

uously renewed. Such applications will be re-

viewed by the Board to determine whether an

examination and/or additional real estate appraisal

education will be required.

Statutory Authorit}' G.S. 93E-]-6(h), 93E-1-7: 93E-

1-10.

.0207 PA\TVIENT OF LICENSE AND
CERTIFICATE FEES

Checks given the Board in payment of real estate

appraiser license and certificate fees which are

returned unpaid shall be considered cause for

license or certificate denial, suspension, or revoca-

tion.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0208 REPLACEMENT LICENSE
OR CERTIFICATE FEE

A licensee or certificate holder may, by filing a

prescribed form and paying a five dollar ($5.00)

fee to the Board, obtain a duplicate real estate

appraiser license or certificate or pocket card to

replace an original license certificate or pocket

card which has been lost, damaged or destroyed or

if the name of the licensee or certificate holder has

been lawfully changed. The Board, at its discre-

tion, may require a licensee or certificate holder

requesting a duplicate license or certificate to

submit an affidavit stating the reason for the

request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-7(J); 93E-1-W.

.0209 FEDERAL APPRAISER REGISTRY
Licensees and certificate holders who are quali-

fied for enrollment in the federal roster or registry

of state-licensed and state-certified real estate

appraisers may apply for enrollment or for the

renewal or reinstatement of such enrollment in

writing upon a form approved by the Board. The

application form must be accompanied by a fee of
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S20 plus any additional fee that may be required

by the appropriate federal asency or instrumentali-

Statutory- Authority G.S. 93E-1-W: 93E-l-l}fd).

.0210 TEMPORARY PRACTICE
(a) A real estate appraiser from another state

who is licensed or certified by the appraiser

licensing or certifying agency in such state may

apply for registration to receive temporary' apprais-

er licensing or certification privileges in this State

by filing with the Board a notarized application on

a form prescribed by the Board for such purpose

which shall set forth and include:

(1

)

the applicant's name, address, social

security number and such other infor-

mation as may be necessary to identify

the applicant:

an original statement by the appraiser

licensing or certif\'ing agency in the

applicant's resident state issued under

seal no more than thirty days prior to

the application date setting forth:

(A) the applicant's name, business name

and address;

(B) the type license or certificate held by

the applicant and the license or certifi-

cate number;

(C) the dates of licensure or certification

and the expiration date of the

applicant's current license or

12}

iDj

certificate;

whether or not the license or

certificate was issued as a result of

passing a

examination.

license/certification

by reciprocity, or by

some other means; and

(E) a complete record of any disciplinary

actions taken or disciplinary

proceedings pending against the

applicant;

(3) an irrevocable consent that service of

process in any action against the

applicant arising out of the applicant's

appraisal activities in this State may be

made by deliven,' of the process on the

Executi\'e Director of the Board;

(4) a statement that the applicant has read

and agrees to abide by all appraiser

laws and rules iji this State and agrees

to cooperate with any investigation

initiated by the Board including supply-

ing relevant documents and personally

appearing before the Board or the

Board's investigators:

(5) information sufficient to identify the

appraisal assignment to be performed

under the temporary practice permit,

including the projected beginning and

ending dates for performing such ap-

praisal assignment, but shall not require

the applicant to di\ulge any information

concerning the appraisal assignment

which would breach the applicant's

duty of confidentiality to his client

under the provisions of the Uniform

Standards of Professional Appraisal

Practice; and

(6) such other information as may be nec-

essary to determine the applicant's

eligibility for temporary appraisal H^

censing or certification privileges in this

State.

(h) Upon filing a properly completed application

accompanied by a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) and

otherwise satisfying the Appraisal Board as to his

qualifications, eligibility and moral fitness for

temporary licensing or certification privileges, an

applicant shall be granted a temporary practice

permit by the Board authorizing the applicant to

perform jn this State the appraisal assignment

described in such application, provided that the

length of time projected by the applicant for

completion of the assignment is reasonable given

the scope and complexity of the assignment.

(c) Licensing and certification privileges granted

under the provisions of this Rule shall expire upon

the completion of the appraisal assignment de-

scribed in the application for temporary licensing

or certification privileges or on the expiration date

set forth in the temporary practice permit, which-

ever shall come first. However, upon a showing

by the permittee satisfactory to the Appraisal

Board that, notwithstanding the permittee's diligent

attention to the appraisal assignment, additional

time is needed to complete the assignment, the

Board shall extend the licensing or certification

privileges granted under the permittee's temporary

practice permit to afiFord him additional time to

complete the appraisal assignment.

(d) Persons granted temporan,' licensing or

certification privileges under this Rule shall not

advertise or otherwise hold themselves out as

being a North Carolina state-licensed or state

-

certified appraiser.

Statutory Authority- G.S 93E-l-9(c) and (d); 93E-

1-10; Title XI, Section 1122(a); 12 U.S.C.

3351 fa).
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SECTION .0300 - APPRAISER
EXAMINATIONS

.0301 TIME AND PLACE
Examinations for real estate appraiser licenses

and certificates will be scheduled at such times and

places as determined by the Executive Director

and the Board-approved private testing service.

Applicants will be scheduled for examination based

on their successful completion of appraiser qualifi-

cation requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and

filing an application with the Board. Violation of

examination procedures and instructions shall be

grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a

license or certificate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(c); 93E-1-W.

.0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND
PASSING SCORES

(a) The examination for licensure as a state-

licensed real estate appraiser and for certification

as a state-certified residential real estate appraiser

shall test applicants on the following subject areas:

Influences on Real Estate Value;

Legal Considerations in Appraisal:

Types of Value;

Economic Principles;

Real Estate Markets and Analysis;

Valuation Process;

Property Description:

Highest and Best Use Analysis;

Appraisal Statistical Concepts;

Sales Comparison Approach;

Site Value;

Cost Approach;

Income Approach (Gross Rent Multipli-

ers. Estimation of Income and Expens-

es. Operating Expense Ratios);

Valuation of Partial Interests; and

Appraisal Standards and Ethics.

(b) In addition to the subjects areas listed in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the examination for

certification as a state-certified general real estate

appraiser shall test applicants on the following

subject areas:

(1) Direct Capitalization;

(2) Cash Flow Estimates;

(3) Measures of Cash Flow; and

(4) Discounted Cash Flow Analysis.

(c) Prior to taking the examination, applicants

will be informed of the score required to pass.

Applicants who pass the examination will only be

notified that they have passed . Applicants who

ill

12]

13)

i41

15]

16]

01
18]

£9]

(10)

Oi]
(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

have failed will be informed of their actual score.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(c); 93E-1-10.

.0303 RE-EXAJVUNATION
If an applicant for a real estate appraiser license

or certificate fails to pass or appear for any exami-

nation for which he has been scheduled by the

Board-approved private testing service, he shall re-

apply for examination and shall pay the prescribed

examination testing fees to the Board-approved

private testing service.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(b) and (c); 93E-

1-10.

,0304 CHEATING AND RELATED
MISCONDUCT

Applicants shall not cheat or attempt to cheat on

an examination by any means, including both

giving and receiving assistance, and shall not

communicate in any manner for any purpose with

any person other than an examination supervisor

during an examination. Violation of this Rule

shall be grounds for dismissal from an examina-

tion, invalidation of examination scores, and denial

of a real estate appraiser license or certificate, as

well as for disciplinary action if the applicant holds

an appraiser license or certificate.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-6(c); 93E-1-10.

.0305 CONFIDENTIALITY OF
EXAMINATIONS

Licensing and certification examinations are

confidential. No applicant, licensee, or certificate

holder shall obtain, attempt to obtain, receive or

communicate to other persons examination ques-

tions. Violation of this Rule shall be grounds for

denial of a real estate appraiser license or certifi-

cate if the violator is an applicant and disciplinary

action if the violator holds an appraiser license or

certificate.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-6(c); 93E-1-10.

.0306 EXAMINATION REVIEW
(a) An applicant who fails an examination may

review his examination in the presence of a Board-

designated representative. Applicants who review

their examinations may not be accompanied by any

other person at a review session, nor may any

other person review an examination on behalf of

an applicant. Applicants who pass an examination

may not review their examinations.
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(b) TTie Board will establish and publish a

schedule for examination review. An applicant

who fails to review his examination at the

established date and time will be deemed to have

waived his right to review his examination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(c); 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0400 - GENfERAL APPRAISAL
PRACTICE

.0401 USE OF TITLES
(a) A state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser shall utilize the term "state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser" and a state

-

certified residential real estate appraiser shall

utilize the term "state-certified residential real

estate appraiser" when performing an appraisal of

real estate or any interest therein, and when

referring to himself as an appraiser. A state-

certified general real estate appraiser shall utilize

either the term "state-certified general real estate

appraiser" or "state-certified residential/general

real estate appraiser" when performing appraisals

of all types of real estate or any interest therein,

and when referring to himself as an appraiser.

(b) Licensure or certification as a real estate

appraiser is granted only to persons and does not

extend to a business entity operated by a state-

licensed or state-certified real estate appraiser.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0402 DISPLAY OF LICENSES
ANT) CERTIFICATES

(a) The real estate appraiser license or certificate

of a state-licensed or state-certified real estate

appraiser shall be prominently displayed at the

appraiser's place of business, provided that the

license or certificate of a managing appraiser and

the license or certificate of each licensee or

certificate holder engaged in real estate appraisal

acti\'ities at the office of the managing appraiser

shall be prominently displayed at such office.

(b) The annual license or certificate renewal

pocket card issued by the Board to each state

-

licensed or state-certified real estate appraiser shall

be retained by the licensee or certificate holder as

evidence of licensure or certification.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0403 ADVERTISING
(a) When advertising or otherwise holding

himself out as a real estate appraiser, a state

-

licensed residential real estate appraiser shall

identify himself as a "state-licensed residential real

estate appraiser", a state-certified residential real

estate appraiser shall identify himself as a "state-

certified residential real estate appraiser", and a

state-certified general real estate appraiser shall

identify himself as either a "state-certified general

real estate appraiser" or a "state-certified residen-

tial/general real estate appraiser ".

(b) A state-licensed or state-certified real estate

appraiser doing business as a partnership, associa-

tion, corporation or other business entity shall not

represent in any manner to the public that the

partnership, association, corporation or other

business entity is either licensed or certified by the

State of North Carolina to engage in the business

of real estate appraising.

(c) In the event that any licensee or certificate

holder shall advertise in any manner using a firm

name, corporate name, or an assumed name which

does not set forth the surname of the licensee or

certificate holder, he shall first notify' the Board in

writing of such name and furnish the Board with a

copy of each registration of assumed name certifi-

cate filed with the office of the county register of

deeds in compliance with Section 66-68, North

Carolina General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0404 CHANGE OF NAME OR
ADDRESS

All licensees and certificate holders shall notify

the Board in writing of each change of business

address, residence address, or trade name within

ten days of said change. The address shall be

sufficiently descriptive to enable the Board to

correspond with and locate the licensee or certifi-

cate holder.

Statutory- Authority G.S 93E-1-I0.

.0405 APPRAISAL REPORTS
(a) Each written appraisal report prepared by or

under the direction of a state-licensed or state-

certified real estate appraiser shall bear the signa-

ture of the state-licensed or state-certified apprais-

er, the license or certificate number of the licensee

or certificate holder in whose name the appraisal

report is issued, and the designation "state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser", "state-certified

residential real estate appraiser", or the designation

"state-certified general real estate appraiser", or

"state-certified residential/general real estate

appraiser", as applicable. Each such appraisal
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report shall also indicate whether or not the state-

licensed or state-certified appraiser has personally

inspected the property, and shall identify any other

person who assists in the appraisal process other

than by providing clerical assistance.

(b) Every state-licensed and state-certified real

estate appraiser shall affix or stamp to all appraisal

reports a seal of a design authorized by the Board

which shall set forth the name and license or

certificate number of the appraiser in whose name

the appraisal report is issued and shall identify the

appraiser as a "state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser", a "state-certified residential real estate

appraiser", or as a "state-certified general real

estate appraiser" or "state-certified residential/-

general real estate appraiser", as applicable.

(c) A state-licensed or state-certified real estate

appraiser who signs an appraisal report prepared

by another person, including a subcontractor,

acting under the direction or supervision of the

appraiser shall be fully responsible for the content

of the report.

(d) A written appraisal report shall be issued on

all real estate appraisals performed in connection

with federally related transactions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0406 MANAGING APPRAISER
(a) A "managing appraiser" shall be designated

with the Board for each appraisal firm and each

combined real estate brokerage and appraisal firm

for which real estate appraisals are performed by:

(1) two or more state-licensed or state-

certified real estate appraisers who are

employed by or associated with the

firm; or

(2) unlicensed or uncertified assistants,

other than clerical employees, who are

employed by or associated with the firm

and who assist a state-licensed or state

-

certified real estate appraiser in the

performance of real estate appraisals.

If one or more state-certified general real estate

appraisers is employed by or associated with the

firm, the managing appraiser must be a state-

certified general real estate appraiser. If one or

more state-certified residential real estate apprais-

ers is employed by or associated with the firm, the

managing appraiser must be a state-certified

residential or general real estate appraiser. If only

state-licensed residential real estate appraisers are

employed by or associated with the firm, the

managing appraiser may be a state-licensed resi-

dential real estate appraiser.

(b) The designated managing appraiser shall be

responsible for:

(1) the proper display of licenses and cer-

tificates of all state-licensed and state-

certified real estate appraisers employed

by or associated with the firm, and

ascertaining whether each licensee or

certificate holder employed by or asso-

ciated with the firm has complied with

Rule .0203 of this Subchapter;

(2) the proper notification to the Board of

any change of business address or trade

name of the firm and the registration of

any assumed business name adopted by

the firm for its use;

(3) the proper conduct of advertising of

appraisal services by or in the name of

the firm;

(4) the proper retention and maintenance of

records relating to appraisals conducted

by or on behalf of the firm;

(5) the maintenance of a record for each of

the firm's unlicensed and uncertified

assistants that generally describes the

nature and extent of assistance rendered

in connection with each appraisal; and

(6) the maintenance of a record for each of

the firm's state-licensed and state-certi-

fied residential real estate appraisers

that generally describes the nature and

extent of assistance rendered by the

state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser when assisting a state-certified

residential or general real estate ap-

praiser and any assistance rendered by

the state-certified residential real estate

appraiser when assisting a state-certified

general real estate appraiser in perform-

ing an appraisal.

No license or certificate holder shall be managing

appraiser of more than one appraisal firm or

combined real estate brokerage and appraisal firm.

(c) Each managing appraiser shall notify the

Board in writing of any change in his status as

managing appraiser within ten days following the

change.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-1-10.

.0407 SUPERVISION OF UNLICENSED
AND UNCERTIFIED ASSISTANTS

A state-licensed or state-certified real estate

appraiser may employ a person or persons not

licensed or certified as a real estate appraiser to

assist in the performance of real estate appraisals.
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provided that the state-licensed or state-certified

real estate appraiser:

( 1

)

actively and personally supervises the

unlicensed and uncertified assistant;

(2) reviews all appraisal reports and support-

ing data used in connection with apprais-

als in which the services of an unlicensed

and uncertified assistant [s utilized;

(3) complies with all provisions of Rule

.0405 of this Section regarding appraisal

reports; and

(4) prepares and furnishes to the managing

appraiser, if applicable, and to each

unlicensed and uncertified assistant whose

services were utilized in connection with

the appraisal, a report on a form pre-

scribed by the Board describing the na-

ture and extent of assistance rendered by

the unlicensed and uncertified assistant in

connection with the appraisal, and places

a copy of such report in the supporting

file for the appraisal.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-3(h): 93E-1-10.

.0408 SUPERVISION OF LICENSED
AND CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL
APPRAISERS

(a) When a state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser assists a state-certified residential or

general real estate appraiser m the performance of

a real estate appraisal and the resulting appraisal

report is to be signed by the state-certified real

estate appraiser, the state-certified real estate

appraiser shall:

(1) actively and personally supervise the

state-licensed real estate appraiser;

(2) review the appraisal report and support-

ing data used in connection with the

appraisal;

(3) comply with all provisions of Rule

0405 of this Section regarding apprais-

al reports; and

(4) prepare and furnish to the managing

appraiser, if applicable, and to each

state-licensed real estate appraiser

whose services were utilized in connec-

tion with the appraisal, a report on a

form prescribed by the Board describ-

ing the nature and extent of assistance

rendered by the state-licensed real

estate appraiser in connection with the

appraisal, and place a copy of such

report in the supporting file for the

appraisal.

(b) When a state-certified residential real estate

appraiser assists a state-certified general real estate

appraiser in the performance of a real estate

appraisal and the resulting appraisal report is to be

signed by the state-certified general real estate

appraiser, the state-certified general real estate

appraiser shall perform those supervisory acts set

forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule with regard to

the activities of the state-certified residential real

estate appraiser.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0500 - STANDARDS OF
APPRAISAL PRACTICE

.0501 APPRAISAL STANDARDS
(a) Every state-licensed and state-certified real

estate appraiser shall, in performing the acts and

services of a state-licensed or state-certified real

estate appraiser, comply with those appraisal

practice standards known as the "Uniform Stan-

dards of Professional Appraisal Practice" promul-

gated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the

Appraisal Foundation, which standards, including

subsequent amendments and editions of those

standards which may from time to time be ap-

proved, are hereby adopted by reference in accor-

dance with G.S. 150B-21 .6. For the purpose of

this Rule, the "Uniform Standards of Professional

Appraisal Practice" shall include the Preamble,

Ethics Provision, Competency Provision, Depar-

ture Provision, Jurisdictional Exception, Defini-

tions, Supplemental Standards, Statements on

Appraisal Standards, and Standards j^ 2_j and 3^

(b) A copy of the portions of the "Uniform

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice"

specified m Paragraph (a) of this Rule is included

in the Board's Licensing and Certification booklet

available free of charge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE
APPRAISAL EDUCATION

SECTION .0100 - COURSES
REQUIRED FOR LICENSURE

OR CERTIFICATION

.0101 LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL
ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE
REQUIREMENTS

Each applicant for licensure as a state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser shall complete the
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following prelicensure courses, each consisting of

a minimum of 30 classroom hours:

(1) Introduction to Real Estate Appraisal (R-

hi
(2) Valuation Principles and Procedures (R-

2); and

(3) Applied Residential Property Valuation

(R-3).

Credit for these courses must be earned from a

Board-approved course sponsor or school and all

courses shall comply with the course content

standards prescribed in Rule .0302 of this Sub-

chapter. These courses must be commenced and

completed sequentially in the order listed and

within the five-year period immediately preceding

the date application for licensure js made to the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(a); 93E'l-8(a);

93E-1-10.

.0102 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER
COURSE REQUIREMENTS

(a) In addition to the courses specified in Rule

.0101 of this Section, an applicant for certification

as a state-certified residential real estate appraiser

is required to complete the following

precertification course involving a minimum of 30

classroom hours: Introduction to Income Property

Appraisal (G-1). TTiis course must be taken after

the applicant's successful completion of the

prelicensing courses specified in Rule .0101 of this

Section. Credit for this course must be earned

from a Board-approved course sponsor or school,

and all courses must be completed sequentially in

the order listed.

(b) An applicant who is not a state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser must have complet-

ed all required courses within the five-year period

immediately preceding the date application is made

to the Board.

(c) An applicant who is a state-licensed residen-

tial real estate appraiser must have completed the

required 30 classroom hour course in Introduction

to Income Property Appraisal (G-1) within the

five-year period immediately preceding the date

application is made to the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-6(h); 93E-l-8(a);

93E-1-I0.

(a) In addition to the courses specified in Rules

.0101 and .0102 of this Section, an applicant for

certification as a state-certified general real estate

appraiser is required to complete the following

precertification courses, each involving a minimum
of 30 classroom hours:

(1) Advanced Income Capitalization (G-2);

and

(2) Applied Income Property Valuation (G-

31
These courses must be commenced and completed

sequentially in the order listed after the applicant's

successful completion of the courses specified in

Rules .0101 and .0102 of this Section. Credit for

all courses must be earned from a Board-approved

course sponsor or school, and all courses shall

comply with the course content standards pre-

scribed in Rule .0302 of this Subchapter.

(b) An applicant who is not a state-licensed or

state-certified residential real estate appraiser must

have completed all the required courses within the

five-year period immediately preceding the date

application is made to the Board.

(c) An applicant who is a state-licensed or state-

certified residential real estate appraiser must have

commenced and completed all courses required

beyond those required for his current licensure or

certification within the five-year period immediate-

ly preceding the date application is made to the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(c); 93E-l-8(a);

93E-1-10.

.0104 COURSE EXEMPTIONS FOR
EQUIVALENT EDUCATION

A person desiring an exemption from the course

requirements stated in Rules .0101, .0102 and

.0103 of this Section must make application for

exemption upon a form prescribed by the Board.

The Board will grant exemptions only upon a

finding that the person requesting the exemption

possesses education determined by the Board to be

equivalent to the course or courses for which

exemption is requested.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-6(a): 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0200 - COURSE SPONSOR
STANDARDS FOR PRELICENSING

AND PRECERTIFICATION EDUCATION

.0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL
ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE
REQUIREMENTS

.0201 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY
This Section establishes minimum standards for

approval of all real estate appraisal prelicensing
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and precertification course sponsors and schools.

These standards must be satisfied in order for

course sponsors and schools to obtain and maintain

approval of their courses for appraiser prelicensinp

and precertification education credit. Schools and

course sponsors must obtain course approval from

the Board prior to conducting prelicensing and

precertification courses and prior to advertising or

otherwise representing that a course is or may be

approved for credit in North Carolina.

Statutory Authority' G.S. 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0202 APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL
Schools and other course sponsors seeking

approval to conduct real estate appraisal

prelicensing courses or precertification courses

must make written application to the Board upon

a form prescribed by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 92E-]-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0203 CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL
Approval to conduct real estate appraisal

prelicensing and/or precertification courses shall be

granted to a school or course sponsor when it is

shown to the satisfaction of the Board that:

(1) the school or course sponsor has

submitted all information required by the

Board;

(2) the school or course sponsor complies

with the standards described in this

Section; and

(3) the courses to be conducted comply with

the standards described in Section .0300

of this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0204 FACILITIES AND EQUIPMEIVT
(a) Sponsors shall certify at the time of

application for approval that classrooms shall be of

sufficient size to accommodate comfortably all

students enrolled in a course, shall have adequate

light, heat, cooling and ventilation and shall be

free of distractions which would disrupt class

sessions.

(b) Classrooms shall contain, at a minimum, a

chalkboard and student desks or worktables

sufficient to accommodate all students enrolled in

a course.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-I-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0205 ENROLLMENT CONTRACTS

Schools and course sponsors shall execute a

written contract with each student enrolled and

shall provide a copy of such contract to the

student. Such contract shall state the amount of

tuition and fees paid, the school's policy regarding

refund of tuition and fees, and the title and dates

of the courses for which the student is enrolled.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0206 ADMISSIONS POLICY AND
PRACTICE

Schools and course sponsors shall not

discriminate in their admissions policy, practice or

general operations against any person on the basis

of familial status, sex, race, color, creed, national

origin, religious preference or handicap. A
statement to this effect shall be included in all

bulletins. catalogues or similar official

publications.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0207 ADMINISTRATION
One person must be designated as the director

for each approved school or course sponsor and

shall be responsible for administrative matters.

The director shall ensure that the policies and

general operations of the school or course sponsor

comply with the provisions of Sections .0200 and

.0300 of this Subchapter. The director must be

possessed of good character and reputation.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-]-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0208 ACCOMMODATIONS FOR
PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

TTie Board may suspend, revoke or deny renewal

of approval of a private real estate school or

course sponsor to conduct appraiser prelicensing

and precertification courses upon finding that any

court of competent jurisdiction has found the

school or course sponsor official or instructor in

the employ of the school or course sponsor to be

in violation of any applicable federal or state law

or regulation prohibiting discrimination on the

basis of disability, requiring places of public

accommodation to be in compliance with

prescribed accessibility standards, or requiring that

courses related to licensing or certification for

professional or trade purposes be ofiFered in a place

and manner accessible to persons with disabilities.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.
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.0209 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE
COMPLETION

Approved schools or course sponsors must

provide each passing student with a course

completion certificate in a format prescribed by

the Board. Certificates of course completion must

be on an official document bearing the letterhead

or insignia of the school or course sponsor and

must have the original signature or signature stamp

of the school or course sponsor director.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0210 COURSE RECORDS
(a) Schools and course sponsors must retain on

file for three years copies of all grade and

attendance records for each approved course and

must make such records available to the Board

upon request.

(b) Schools and course sponsors must retain on

file for two years a master copy of each final

course examination, and such file copy shall

indicate the answer key, course title, course dates

and name of instructor. Examination file copies

shall be made available to the Board upon request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0211 PROGRAM CHANGES
Approved schools and course sponsors must

obtain advance approval from the Board for any

changes to be made with respect to course content,

course completion standards, instructors, or

textbooks as prescribed in Section .0300 of this

Subchapter. Requests for approval of such changes

must be in writing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-W.

.0212 WITHDRAWAL OR DENIAL
OF BOARD APPROVAL

The Board may deny or withdraw approval of

any school or course sponsor upon finding that:

(1) the school or course sponsor director has

refused or failed to comply with any of

the provisions of Sections .0200 and

.0300 of this Subchapter;

(2) the school or course sponsor has made

any false statements or presented any

false information jn connection with an

application for Board approval or renewal

of the sponsor or its courses; or

(3) the school or course sponsor director has

performed any act which constitutes

improper. fraudulent. or dishonest

conduct.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0300 - COURSE STANDARDS
FOR PRELICENSING AND

PRECERTIFICATION EDUCATION

.0301 PURPOSE
This Section establishes minimum standards for

real estate appraisal prelicensing and

precertification courses prescribed by G.S. 93E-1-

6iaL

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a); G.S. 93E-1-

10.

.0302 COURSE CONTENT
(a) All courses shall consist of instruction in the

subject areas and at the competency and

instructional levels prescribed in the Board's

course syllabi. Copies of the syllabi are available

free of charge upon request to the Board.

(b) Courses may also include coverage of

additional related subject areas not prescribed by

the Board; however, any such course must provide

additional class time above the minimum
requirement of the 30 classroom hours for the

coverage of such additional subject areas.

(c) Classroom time and instructional materials

may be utilized for instructional purposes only and

not for promoting the interests of or recruiting

employees for any particular real estate appraiser,

appraisal firm or appraisal trade organization.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-6(a), (b),(c); 93E-

l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0303 COURSE COMPLETION
STANDARDS

(a) Academic standards for course completion

must reasonably assure that students receiving a

passing grade possess adequate knowledge and

understanding of the subject areas prescribed for

the course. A student's grade must be based

solely on his or her performance on examinations

and on graded homework and classwork

assignments.

(b) Course completion requirements must

include a comprehensive final course examination

which covers all prescribed subject areas and

which accounts for at least 50 percent of a

student's grade for the course. Final course

examinations are subject to review and approval by

the Board. Take-home or open-book final course
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examinations are prohibited. Schools and course

sponsors may, within 90 days of the course ending

date, allow a student one opportunity to make up

any missed course examination or to retake any

failed course examination without repeating the

course.

(c) The minimum attendance required for

satisfactory course completion is 80 percent of all

scheduled classroom hours for the course.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0304 COURSE SCHEDULING
(a) All courses must have fixed beginning and

ending dates, and schools and course sponsors may

not utilize a scheduling system that allows students

to enroll late for a course and then complete their

course work in a subsequently scheduled course.

Late enrollment is permitted only if the enrolling

student can satisfy the minimum attendance

requirement set forth in Rule .0303(c) of this

Section.

(b) Courses may be scheduled in a manner that

provides for class meetings of up to eight

classroom hours in any given day and 40

classroom hours in any given seven-day period;

however equivalent credit for courses scheduled

for more than 30 classroom hours per seven-day

period will be limited to 30 classroom hours per

seven-day period.

(c) A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of

classroom instruction and ten minutes of break

time. For any class meeting that exceeds 50

minutes in duration, breaks at the rate of ten

minutes per hour must be scheduled and taken at

reasonable times.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0305 TEXTBOOKS
Each course must utilize a textbook or course

materials which are approved by the Board as well

as any additional instructional materials which may

be prescribed by the Board for such course.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(a): 93E-1-10.

.0306 INSTRUCTOR REQLTREMENTS
(a) Except as indicated in Paragraph fb) of this

Rule, all appraisal prelicensing and precertification

courses or courses deemed equivalent by the Board

must be taught by instructors who possess good

moral character and reputation and either the

minimum appraisal education and experience

qualifications listed in this Rule or other qualifica-

tions that are found by the Rule to be equivalent to

those listed. These qualification requirements must

be met on a continuing basis. The minimum
qualifications are as follows:

(1) Residential appraiser courses: 120

classroom hours of real estate appraisal

education equivalent to the residential

appraiser education courses prescribed

in Rules .0101 and .0102 of this Sub-

chapter and either two years' full-time

experience as a residential real estate

appraiser within the previous five years

or three years' full-time experience as

a general real estate appraiser within

the previous five years, with at least

one-half of such experience being in

residential property appraising. Instruc-

tors must also be either state-certified

residential or state-certified general real

estate appraisers.

(2) General appraiser courses: 180 class-

room hours of real estate appraisal

education equivalent to the general

appraiser education courses prescribed

in Rules .0101, .0102 and .0103 of this

Subchapter and three years' full-time

experience as a general real estate

appraiser within the previous five

years, with at least one-third of such

experience being in income property

appraising. Instructors must also be

state-certified general real estate ap-

praisers.

fb) Guest lecturers who do not possess the

qualifications stated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule

may be utilized to teach collectively up to

one-third of any course, provided that each guest

lecturer possesses education and experience

directly related to the particular subject area he is

teaching.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-]-8(a); 93E-1-10.

.0307 CRITERIA FOR COUTiSE
RECOGNITION

(a) Entities other than approved schools and

course sponsors seeking recognition of their

appraiser prelicensing or precertification courses as

equivalent to the North Carolina appraisal

prelicensing or precertification courses required by

G.S. 93E-1-6 and specified in Rules .0101. .0102

and .0103 of this Subchapter must make written

application to the Board on a form prescribed by

the Board.

(b) Courses must be conducted in accordance
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with the minimum course standards prescribed in

this Section, provided that the following exceptions

to those standards shall apply:

(1) Courses may be structured differently

from those course content requirements

prescribed in the Board's course sylla-

bi; however, appropriate prerequisites

for advanced courses must be estab-

lished and each course for which Board

recognition is sought must consist of a

minimum of J_5 classroom hours.

(2) Various combinations of courses may

be recognized as equivalent to single

North Carolina appraisal prelicensing

and precertification courses; however,

equivalent credit will only be granted in

increments of 30 classroom hours.

applications for renewal of Board approval, ac-

companied by the prescribed renewal fee, must be

filed with the Board annually on or before June _L

All applications for renewal of course approval

received on or before June 30 which are incom-

plete as of that date, as well as all applications for

renewal of course approval submitted after June

30, shall be treated as original course approval

applications.

(b) The annual fee for renewal of Board approv-

al shall be fifty dollars ($50.00) for each course

for which renewal of Board approval is requested.

The fee shall be paid by check payable to the

North Carolina Appraisal board and js non-refund-

able.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-]-8(a).(h): 93E-1-10.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a); 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0400 - COURSE SPONSOR
FEES FOR PRELICENSING AND
PRECERTIFICATION EDUCATION

SECTION .0500 - PRIVATE REAL ESTATE
APPRAISAL SCHOOL FEES FOR

PRELICENSING AND
PRECERTIFICATION

EDUCATION

.0401 APPLICABILITY
This Section applies to aU course sponsors other

than private real estate appraisal schools. North

Carolina colleges, universities, junior colleges,

community or technical colleges accredited by the

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and

agencies of the federal. State or local government.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-1-8 (a),(h); 93E-1-

10.

.0402 ORIGINAL COURSE APPROVAL
FEE

The original application fee shall be three hun-

dred dollars ($300.00) for each course which the

Board is being requested to evaluate and recog-

nize. The fee shall be paid by certified check,

bank check or money order payable to the North

Carolina Appraisal Board and is non-refundable.

A course sponsor may offer approved courses as

frequently as is desired during the period for

which approval is granted without paying addition-

al course fees.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-6(a).(b); 93E-1-I0.

.0403 FEE FOR RENEWAL OF COURSE
APPROVAL

(a) Board approval of courses expires on the

next June 30 following the date of issuance, in

order to assure continuous approval of courses.

.0501 APPLICABILITY
This Section applies to aM private real estate

appraisal schools offering prelicensing and

precertification courses.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(a).(h); 93E-1-10.

.0502 ORIGINAL COURSE APPROVAL
FEE

The original application fee shall be forty dollars

($40. (X)) for each real estate appraisal prelicensing

or precertification course for which the applicant

requests approval. The fee shall be paid by

certified check, bank check or money order

payable to the North Carolina Appraisal Board and

is non-refundable. The school may offer approved

courses as frequently as is desired during the

course approval period without paying additional

course fees.

Statutory Authority G.S93E-l-8(a).(b); 93E-1-10.

.0503 FEE FOR RENEWAL OF COURSE
APPROVAL

(a) Approval of private school courses expires

on the next June 30 following the date of issuance.

In order to assure continuous approval,

applications for renewal of course approval,

accompanied by the prescribed renewal fee, must

be filed with the Board annually on or before June

_L All applications for renewal of course approval
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received on or before June 30 which are

incomplete as of that date, as well as all

applications for renewal of course approval

submitted after June 30. shall be treated as original

course approval applications.

(b) The course renewal fee shall be twenty

dollars ($20.00) for each previously approved

appraisal prelicensing or precertification course for

which the applicant requests continuing approval.

The fee shall be paid by check payable to the

North Carolina Appraisal Board and is non-

refundable.

Statutory Aurhorin- G.S. 93E-l-8(a).(b): 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING
EDUCATION COURSES

.0601 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY
This Section establishes minimum standards for

appraisal continuing education courses authorized

by G.S. 93E-1-8 (c) and required by Rule .0204 of

Subchapter 57A. These standards must be satisfied

in order for course sponsors to obtain and maintain

approval of their courses for appraiser continuing

education credit. Except as provided in Rule

.0602(a) of this Section, any school, organization.

agency, individual, or other entity is eligible to

become a continuing education course sponsor-

Course sponsors must obtain course approval from

the Board prior to conducting the course for

continuing education credit and prior to advertising

or otherwise representing that a course is or may

be approved for continuing education credit in

North Carolina. To request credit for a continuing

education course which has not been approved by

the Board, a licensee or certificate holder must

follow the procedure set forth in 2i NCAC 57A
.0204(f).

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-W.

.0602 APPLICATION AND FEE
(a) Course sponsors seeking approval of their

courses as appraisal continuing education courses

must make written application to the Board on a

form prescribed by the Board. A course sponsor

must be the owner of the proprietary rights to the

course for which approval is sought or must have

the permission of the course owner to seek course

approval

.

If the course for which approval is

sought is one that may be off"ered outside North

Carolina, and the course owner wants the Board to

approve such course when it is conducted outside

North Carolina, application must be made by the

course owner. After receipt of a properly com-

pleted application the Board will review the appli-

cation and notify the sponsor of its decision.

Decisions to approve or withhold approval lie

within the sole discretion of the Board.

(b) The original application fee shall be one

hundried dollars ($100.00) for each course for

which approval is sought, provided that no fee is

required if the course sponsor is an accredited

North Carolina college, university, junior college.

or community or technical college, or if the course

sponsor is an agency of the federal, state or local

government. The fee shall be paid by certified

check, bank check or money order payable to the

North Carolina Appraisal Board and is

non-refundable. A course sponsor may offer

approved courses as frequently as is desired during

the period for which approval js granted without

paying additional fees.

Statutory Authority' G.S. 93E-l-8(c),(d).

.0603 CRITERIA FOR COURSE
APPROVAL

The following requirements must be satisfied in

order for course sponsors to obtain approval of a

course for appraiser continuing education credit:

(1) The subject matter of the course must

comply with the requirements of Rule

.0204 of Subchapter 57A and the

information to be provided in the course

must be both accurate and current.

i2i The course must involve a minimum of

three and one-half classroom hours of

instruction on acceptable subject matter.

A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes

of classroom instruction and 10 minutes

of break time.

ill The course instructor(s) must possess

good moral character and either two

years' full-time experience that is directly

related to the subject matter to be taught.

or a baccalaureate or higher degree in a

field that is directly related to the subject

matter to be taught, or two years'

full-time experience teaching the subject

matter to be taught, or an equivalent

combination of such education and

experience. If two or more instructors

will be utilized to teach a course during

the approval period and the course will

be taught in states other than North

Carolina, it is sufficient for the course

sponsor to show that it has minimum
instructor requirements comparable to
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these requirements.

(4) The course must be one involving a

qualified instructor who will be

physically present in the classroom at all

times and who will personally provide

the instruction for the course. TTie

course instructor may utilize videotape

instruction, remote television instruction

or similar types of instruction by other

persons to enhance or supplement his

personal instruction; however, such other

persons may not be considered to be the

official course instructor and the official

course instructor must be physically

present when such indirect instruction by

other persons is being utilized. No

portion of the course may consist of

correspondence instruction.

(5) The course must be an educational

program intended to improve the

knowledge, skill and competence of

state-licensed and state-certified real

estate appraisers and participation must

be open to all state-licensed and

state-certified real estate appraisers.

Activities not eligible for approval as a

continuing education course include trade

organization conferences. in-house

training programs of a firm, organization

or agency, or similar activities.

(6) The course sponsor must certify that the

course will be conducted in accordance

with the operational requirements stated

in Rule .0606 of this Section and that the

course sponsor will comply with all other

applicable rules contained in this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-W.

.0604 PRELICENSEVG AND
PRECERTIFICATION COURSES

(a) Appraisal prelicensing or precertification

courses conducted by North Carolina approved

schools will not be separately approved as

appraisal continuing education courses.

State-licensed and state-certified appraisers may

obtain continuing education credit for these courses

only to the extent permitted by Rule .0204 of

Subchapter 57A.

(b) Appraisal trade organization courses which

are approved by the Board as equivalent to those

North Carolina appraisal prelicensing or

precertification courses entitled Introduction to

Real Estate Appraisal (R-1 ). Valuation Principles

and Procedures (R-2). Introduction to Income

Property Appraisal (G- 1 ) . and Advanced Income

Capitalization Procedures (G-2) will not be

approved as appraisal continuing education

courses. Other appraisal trade organization

courses which are not approved by the Board

under Section .0300 of this Subchapter as

equivalent to the North Carolina appraisal

prelicensing or precertification courses listed in

this Paragraph, but which are substantially similar

in content and level of instruction to such courses,

will also not be approved as appraisal continuing

education courses.

(c) Appraisal trade organization courses which

are formally recognized by the Board as

equivalent, wholly or in part, to those North

Carolina appraisal prelicensing or precertification

courses entitled Applied Residential Property

Valuation (R-3) and Applied Income Property

Valuation (G-3) will automatically be considered to

be Board-approved continuing education courses.

to the extent permitted by Rule .0204 of

Subchapter 57A, and the appraisal trade

organization is not required to submit an

application for approval of these courses under this

Section; provided, however, that the appraisal

trade organization must at all times assure

compliance with Rules .0606, .0607, and .0608 of

this Section in order to retain such approval for

these courses.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-10.

.0605 CONTINUING EDUCATION
CREDIT HOURS

The course approval issued to a course sponsor

will include the number of hours of continuing

education credit that will be awarded for the

course. The minimum number of continuing

education credit hours awarded for a course will

be three and one-half hours, and the maximum
number of continuing education credit hours

awarded for a course, regardless of its length, will

be thirty hours. Continuing education credit hours

may be carried forward into subsequent licensing

periods only as provided in Rule .0204(c) of

Subchapter 57A.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-1 -8(c); 93E-] -10.

.0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL
REQUIREIVIENTS

Course sponsors must at all times assure

compliance with the criteria for course approval

stated in Rule .0603 of this Section and must also

comply with the fo llowing requirements relating to
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scheduling, advertising and conducting approved

appraisal continuing education courses:

( 1 ) Courses must be scheduled and conducted

in a manner that limits class sessions to a

maximum of eight classroom hours in

any given day and that includes

(2)

il]

14]

15]

(6]

appropriate breaks for each class session.

Course sponsors must not utilize

advertising of any type that is false or

misleading in any respect. If the number

of continuing education credit hours

awarded by the Board for a course is less

than the number of scheduled classroom

hours for the course, any course

advertisement or promotional materials

which indicate that the course is

approved for appraiser continuing

education credit in North Carolina must

specify the number of continuing

education credit hours awarded by the

Board for the course.

Course sponsors must, upon request,

provide any prospective student a

description of the course content

sufficient to give the prospective student

a general understanding of the instruction

to be provided in the course.

Courses must be conducted in a facility

that provides an appropriate learning

environment. At mmimum. the

01

classroom must be of sufficient size to

accommodate comfortably all enrolled

students, must be equipped with student

desks or worktables with chairs for all

enrolled students, must have adequate

light, heat, cooling and ventilation, and

must be free of distractions that would

disrupt class sessions.

The course sponsor must require students

to attend at least 90 percent of the

scheduled classroom hours \n order to

satisfactorily complete the course, even if

the number of continuing education credit

hours awarded by the Board for the

course is less than the number of

scheduled classroom hours. Attendance

must be monitored during all class

sessions to assure compliance with the

attendance requirement-

Instructors must require reasonable

student attentiveness during class

sessions. Students must not be permitted

to engage in activities that are not related

to the instruction being provided.

Course sponsors for which an application

fee is required by Rules .0602rb) and

.061 1(b) of this Section must fairly

administer course cancellation and fee

refund policies. In the event a scheduled

course is canceled, reasonable efforts

must be made to notify preregistered

students of the cancellation and all

prepaid fees received from such

preregistered students must be refunded

within 30 days of the date of cancellation

or, with the student's permission, applied

toward the fees for another course.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c): 93E-1-10.

.0607 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE
COMPLETION

Course sponsors must promptly issue a certificate

of course completion to all students who

satisfactorily complete an approved course. If the

course sponsor is located in North Carolina, the

certificate, which the student must submit to the

Board to verify course completion, must be on a

form or in a format prescribed by the Board and

must bear the original signature or signature stamp

of a person designated by the course sponsor to

sign such certificate. The North Carolina-based

course sponsor must notify the Board jn advance

of the person(s) designated to sign certificates of

course completion for courses conducted in North

Carolina. If the course sponsor is not located in

North Carolina, the certificate provided for

submission to the Board must show the name of

the course sponsor, the name of the course, the

number of classroom hours, the course dates, the

state or city where the course was conducted, and

the full name of the student.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-10.

.0608 SUBMISSION OF COURSE
ROSTER

Course sponsors must, within 30 days of course

completion, submit to the Board a roster of all

North Carolina state-licensed and state-certified

appraisers who satisfactorily completed the course.

Statutory Authority' G.S. 93E-l-8(c): 93E-1-10.

.0609 CHANGES DURING THE
APPROVAL PERIOD

Course sponsors must obtain advance approval

from the Board for any changes to be made jn

approved courses with regard to the number of

classroom hours, course content or instructors.
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Requests for approval of such changes must be ]n

writing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-10.

.0610 COURSE RECORDS
Course sponsors must retain on file for three

years records of student registration and attendance

for each approved course that is conducted and

must make such records available to the Board

upon request.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-10.

.0611 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL
AND FEES

(a) Board approval of appraisal continuing

education courses expires on the next June 30

following the date of issuance. In order to assure

continuous approval . applications for renewal of

Board approval, accompanied by the prescribed

renewal fee, must be filed with the Board annually

on or before June J^ Applications for renewal of

Board-approved continuing education courses

which are not received by June 30 shall be treated

as original applications for approval of continuing

education courses.

(b) The annual fee for renewal of Board

approval shall be fifty dollars ($50.00) for each

course for which renewal of approval is requested,

provided that no fee js required for course

sponsors that are exempted from original

application fees by Rule .0602(b) of th]s Section.

The fee shall be paid by check payable to the

North Carolina Appraisal Board and is

non-refundable.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c),(d); 93E-1-10.

,0612 WITHDRAWAL OR DENIAL
OF APPROVAL

The Board may deny or withdraw approval of

any course upon finding that:

(1) the course sponsor has made any false

statements or presented any false

information in connection with an

application for course approval or

renewal of course approval;

(2) the course sponsor has refused or failed

to comply with any of the provisions of

this Section;

(3) the course sponsor has engaged in a

pattern of consistently canceling

scheduled courses; or

(4) the instruction provided in a course is of

unsatisfactory quality.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-l-8(c); 93E-1-10.

SUBCHAPTER 57C - ADMINISTRATIVE
LAW PROCEDURES

SECTION .0100 - APPRAISAL
BOARD HEARINGS

.0101 FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND
OTHER PLEADINGS

(a) There shall be no specific form required for

complaints. To be sufficient, a complaint shall be

in writing, identify the respondent licensed or

certified appraiser and shall reasonably apprise the

Board of the facts which form the basis of the

complaint.

(b) When investigating a complaint, the scope of

the investigation shall not be limited to the persons

or transactions described or alleged in the

complaint. Persons making complaints may at any

time submit additional information or may
otherwise amend their complaints.

(c) Persons who make complaints are not parties

to contested cases heard by the Board, but may be

witnesses in tlie cases.

(d) There shall be no specific form required for

answers, motions or other pleadings relating to

contested cases before the Board, except they shall

be in writing. To be sufficient, the document must

identify the case to which it refers and reasonably

apprise the Board of ffie matters it alleges,

answers, or requests. In lieu of submission in

writing, motions, requests and other pleadings may

be made on the record during the course of the

hearing before the Board.

(e) Hearings in contested cases before the Board

shall be governed by the provisions of Article 3A
of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-I0.

.0102 PRESIDING OFFICER
The Appraisal Board may designate any of its

members to preside over the hearing in a contested

case. When no designation is made, the Chairman

of the Board shall preside, or, vn his absence, the

Vice Chairman shall preside. The presiding

officer shall rule on motions or other requests

made in a contested case prior to ffie conduct of

the hearing in that case except when the ruling on

the motion would be dispositive of the case.

When the ruling on a motion or request would be

dispositive of the case, the presiding officer shall

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 1994



PROPOSED RULES

make no ruling and the motion or request shall be

determined by a majority of the Board.

Statutory Authorm- G.S. 93E-1-10.

(c) The Board shall decide whether to allow or

deny a rule-making petition.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; I50B-20.

.0103 SUBPOENAS
(a) The Executive Director of the Appraisal

Board and the Board's Legal Counsel shall have

the authority to issue subpoenas in the name of the

Board.

(b) The presiding officer hi a contested case

shall also have the authority to issue subpoenas

relating to that contested case.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-1-10.

.0104 PETITION TO REOPEN
PROCEEDING

(a) After a final decision has been reached by

the Board in a contested case, a party may petition

the Board to reconsider a case. Petitions will not

be granted except when the petitioner can show

that the reasons for reconsidering the case are to

introduce newly discovered evidence which was

not presented at the initial hearing because of some

justifiable, excusable or unavoidable circumstance.

Upon the running of the 30 day period for seeking

judicial review, such petitions will have no effect

(b) Decisions on petitions to reopen cases are

within the discretion of the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-1-10.

SECTION .0200 - PETITIONS FOR RUXES

.0201 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING
HEARINGS

(a) Any person wishing to fije a petition

requesting the adoption, amendment or repeal of a

rule by the Board shall file a written petition with

the Executive Director.

(b) The petition shall include the following

information:

(1 ) name, address and occupation of peti-

tioner;

CD a summary of the proposed action

(adoption, amendment or repeal of a

rule or rules);

(3) a draft of the proposed rule or other

action;

£4} a complete statement of the reason for

the proposed action; and

(5) an identification of the persons or class

of persons most likely to be affected by

the proposed action.

SECTION .0300 - RULE-MAKING

.0301 WRITTEN SUBNflSSIONS
Any person may file a written submission con-

taining data, comments or arguments after publica-

tion of a rule-making notice and prior to the

decision of the Board to adopt, amend or repeal

the rule or rules in question. Written submissions

should be addressed to the Board and should

clearly state the rule or proposed rule to which the

comments are directed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 150B-21.2(e).

.0302 PRESIDING OFFICER
The presiding officer at the hearing shall have

complete control of the proceedings, including:

recognition of speakers, time allotments for pre-

sentations, the right to question speakers, direction

of the discussion, and management of the hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-10.

.0303 RECORD OF PROCEEDESfGS
A record of rule-making proceedings will be

available for public inspection during regular

office hours at the Board's office. This record

will contain the original petition, if any, the

notice, all written memoranda and information

submitted, and a record or summary of oral pre-

sentations, if any, and, in any case where a pro-

posal was rejected, the reason therefor.

Statutory Authority G.S 93E-1-10: I50B-21.

SECTION .0400 - DECLARATORY
RULINGS

.0401 REQUTSTS FOR RULINGS:
DISPOSITION OF REQUESTS

(a) All requests for declaratory rulings shall be

written and filed with the Board. The request

must contain the following information:

(1) the name, address and signature of

petitioner;

(2) a concise statement of tlie manner in

which petitioner is aggrieved by the

rule or statute in question, or its poten-

tial application to him;

(3) a statement of the interpretation given
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the statute or rule in question by peti-

tioner;

(4) a statement of the reasons, including

any legal authorities, in support of the

interpretation given the statute or rule

by petitioner.

(b) The Board shall either deny the request,

stating the reasons therefor, or issue a declaratory

ruling. When in its discretion, the Board deter-

mines that the issuance of a declaratory ruling is

undesirable, it may refuse to issue such ruling.

(c) The Board shall not issue a declaratory

ruling when the petitioner or his or her request is

the subject of, or materially related to, a matter

under investigation by the Board or a contested

case before the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93E-1-W.

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Real Estate

Commission intends to amend rules cited as 21

NCAC 58A .0503. .0505; 58D .0203 and .0209.

1 he proposed effective dates of these rules are:

21 NCAC 58A .0503 and .0505 - May 1, 1994.

21 NCAC 58D .0203 and .0209 - April 1, 1994.

Ike public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on February 16, 1994 at the North Raleigh

Hilton, 3415 Wike Forest Road, Raleigh, NC.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 58A .0503 and .0505 - To codify chang-

es in procedures regarding renewal and reinstate-

ment of real estate licenses.

21 NCAC 58D .0203 and .0209 - To codify chang-

es in fees authorized by recent statutory re\'isions

and affecting licensed and certified real estate

appraisers.

i^omment Procedures: Comments regarding these

rules may be made orally or submitted in writing

at the public hearing. Written comments not

submitted at the hearing may be delivered to Ms.

Anita Burt do North Carolina Real Estate Com-

mission, P.O. Bo.x 17100, Raleigh, North Carolina

27619, so as to be received by the hearing date.

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE

COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 58A - REAL ESTATE
BROKERS AND SALESMEN

SECTION .0500 - LICENSING

.0503 LICENSE RENEWAL; PENALTY
FOR NON-RENEWAL

(a) Licenses due to expire June 30. 1994 which

are renewed on or before that date will be renewed

for a period of not less than 13 nor more than 24

months as determined by the last digit of the

licensee's license number. The last digit of each

license number shall correspond to a month of the

calendar year, with the number (1) representing

January and continuing hi sequence with the

number zero representing October. The required

renewal fee shall be prorated according to the

number of months between June 30, 1994 and the

new expiration date based upon an annual renewal

fee of twenty -five ($25.00) dollars. Subsequent

license periods shall be \2 months in length. Any
licensee desiring the renewal of a license which is

due to expire June 30, 1994, shall , during the

month of June, apply for same renewal in writing

within 45 days prior to license expiration by

submitting to the Commission a renewal applica-

tion upon on a form approved by the Commission

and shall forward the required foo of twenty five

dollars ($25.00). accompanied by the required fee.

Forms are available upon request to the Commis-

sion.

(b) All licenses issued by the Commission on or

after July J_j 1994. excluding licenses reinstated as

provided in Rule .0505 of this Section, shall expire

on the last day of the sixth month following issu-

ance unless renewed on or before that date. The

month of license issuance shall be counted in

determining the six-month license period. Subse-

quent license periods shall be 12 months in length.

Any licensee desiring renewal of a license issued

on or after July \^ 1994 shall apply for renewal in

writing within 45 days prior to license expiration

by submitting to the Commission a renewal appli-

cation on a form approved by the Commission

accompanied by the required annual license renew-

al fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). Forms are

available upon request to tlie Commission.

(c) In order to renew a license on active status

for a license period beginning on or after July _L,

1995, any person renewing a license shall, upon

the second renewal of such license following initial

licensure, and upon each subsequent renewal,

present evidence satisfactory to the Commission of
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having obtained all required continuing education.

A person renewing a license on inactive status

shall not be required to have obtained any continu-

ing education in order to renew such license.

ihj (dj Any person or corporation which engag-

es in the business of broker or salesman while his

or its license is lapsed will be subject to the penal-

ties prescribed in the license law.

Srarutory Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(c),(d):

93A-4A(a),(c); 93A-6.

.0505 REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED
LICENSE

Expired licenses may be reinstated within—13

months after expiration upon proper application

and payment of the twenty five dollar ($25.00)

renewal fee plus five dollar ($5.00) late filing fee.

Licenses expired for more than 12 month s may be

considered for reinstatement upon proper applica

tion and payment of thirty dollar ($30.00) fee for

brokers and thirty dollar ($30.00) fee for sales

men.—Such applications will be reviewed by the

Commission to determine whether an examination

and/or real estate education will be required.

(a) Except as provided in Subparagraph (b) of

this Rule, licenses expired for 12 months or fewer

may be reinstated upon proper application and

payment of the twenty-five dollar ($25.00) renewal

fee plus five dollar ($5.(X)) late filing fee. In order

to reinstate such license on active status for a

license period beginning on or after July ]_> 1995.

the applicant shall also present evidence satisfacto-

ry to the Commission of having obtained all

continuing education required for the previous

license period. A person reinstating such a license

on inactive status shall not be required to have

obtained any continuing education in order to

reinstate such license. The reinstated license shall

expire on the last day of the 12th month following

the date the license expired unless renewed on or

before that date.

(b) Licenses expired for 12 months or fewer that

are reinstated between July ]^ 1994 and June 30.

1995 shall be reinstated in accordance with the

license renewal procedures and requirements

described in Rule .05Q3(a) of this Section. Any

licensee desiring reinstatement of his license shall

pay a five dollar ($5.00) late filing fee m addition

to the required license renewal fee.

(c) Reinstatement of licenses expired for more

than 12 months may be considered upon proper

application and payment of a thirty dollar ($30.00)

fee. Applicants must satisfi' the Commission that

they possess the current knowledge, skills and

competence necessary to function in the real estate

business in a manner that protects and serves the

public interest. In this regard, the Commission

may require such applicants to complete real estate

education and/or pass the license examination, and

will make such determination based on the length

of time an applicant's license has been expired, the

applicant's real estate or related education and

experience, and whether the applicant is applying

for reinstatement of the license on active status or

inactive status. Any license reinstated on or after

July L, 1994 which has been expired for more than

12 months shall, upon reinstatement, expire on the

last day of the 12th month following reinstatement

unless renewed on or before that date. The month

of license reinstatement shall be counted in deter-

mining the license period.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(c),(d);

93A-4A(a),(c).

SUBCHAPTER 58D - REAL
ESTATE APPRAISERS

SECTION .0200 - APPRAISER
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION

.0203 LICENSE AND CERTIFICATE
RENEWAL

(a) A holder of an appraiser license or certificate

desiring the renewal of such license or certificate

shall, during the month of June, apply for same in

writing upon the form approved by the Commis-

sion and shall forward the required fee of efie

hundred dollars ($100.00) two hundred dollars

($2(X).0O) . Forms are available upon request to

the Commission.

(b) As a condition of renewal, all licensees and

certificate holders, either active or inactive, resi-

dent or non-resident, shall be required to satisfy

the continuing education requirements set forth in

Rule .0204 of this Section.

(c) An applicant applying for renewal of a

license or certificate obtained by reciprocity must

submit with the renewal application a current

license history from the appraiser regulatory

authority of the state upon whose qualification

requirements the reciprocal license or certificate

was granted showing that the applicant is currently

licensed or certified in good standing. Submission

of false or misleading information to the Board in

connection with license or certificate renewal shall

constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(d) Any person who acts or holds himself out as

a state-licensed or state-certified real estate ap-

1997 8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994



PROPOSED RULES

praiser while his appraiser license or certificate is

expired will be subject to disciplinary action and

penalties as prescribed in Chapter 93A of the

North Carolina General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-74(a),(b); 93A-77.

.0209 FEDERAL APPRAISER REGISTRY
Licensees and certificate holders who are quali-

fied for enrollment in the federal roster or registry

of state-licensed and state-certified real estate

appraisers may apply for enrollment or for the

renewal or reinstatement of such enrollment in

writing upon a form approved by the Commission

accompanied by the fee established for that pur-

pose by the appropriate federal agency or instru-

mentality plus an additional fee of twenty dollars

($20.00) to cover the Commission's administrative

costs associated with this service.

Statutory Authority G.S 93A-79(e); 93A-77.
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1 he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G. S.

143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. 143B-30.2(d).

ADMINISTRATION

State Employees Combined Campaign

1 NCAC 35 .0103 - Organization of the Campaign

Agency' Revised Rule

AGRICULTURE

Aquaculture

2 NCAC 53 .0001 - Aquaculture Licenses

COMMERCE

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 3F .0202 - Permissible Investments

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7H .2002 - Approval Procedures

Agency Responded

No Action

Agency Re\ised Rule

15A NCAC 7H .2004 - General Conditions

Agency Responded

No Action

Agency Revised Rule

Environmental Management

ISA NCAC 2D .0518 - Msc Volatile Organic Compound Emissions

Agency Rexised Rule

ISA NCAC 2D .0948 - VOC Emissions from Transfer Operations

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 2L .0103 - Policy

Agency Re\ised Rule

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

Health: Epidemiology

15A NCAC 19A .0206 - Infection Control - Health Care Settings

RRC Objection 1 1 II 8/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Cont'd 10/21/93

Obj. Cont'd 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 09/1 7/93

Obj. Cont'd 10/21/93

Obj. Cont'd 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Cont'd 10/21/93

Eff. 11/04/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93
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Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC IPC .0703 - Method of Reporting

Agency Revised Rule

Health: Personal Health

15A NCAC 21A .0817 - Grant Proposals

Agency Revised Rule

Laboratory Services

15A NCAC 20A .0006 - Fees

Agency Re\'ised Rule

Mining: Mineral Resources

15A NCAC 5B .0003 - Procedures for Obtaining Permits: Bonding Reqs.

Agency Revised Rule

Solid Waste Management

15A NCAC 13B .1705 - Design, Constr. /Operation/Structural Fill Facilities

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 13B .1708 - Other Uses for Coal Combustion By-products

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 13B .1710 - Annual Reporting

Agency Revised Rule

HUMAN RESOURCES

Facility Services

10 NCAC 3R .2114 - Information Required of Applicant

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 3R .3405 - Required Staffing and Staff Training

Agency Rex'ised Rule

10 NCAC 3R . 3505 - Required Staffing and Staff Training

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 3R .3906 - Required Staffing and Staff Training

Agency Revised Rule

Mental Health: General

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

10 NCAC 14A .1603 recodified as 14U .0303 - Registered Nurse

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 14A . 1903 recodified as 14U .0603 - Space Requirements

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 14A .2204 recodified as 14U .0904 - Treatment or Habilitation Plan

Agency Rexdsed Rule

10 NCAC 14A .2208 recodified as I4U .0908 - Rel Planning/Res/Inpatient Svcs

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC I4A .2304 recodified as 14U . 1004 - Testing Services

Agency Re\'ised Rule

10 NCAC I4A .2404 recodified as I4U .1104 - Invol Admin/Psychotropic Med
Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93
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10 NCAC 14J .0206 - Procedures: Seclusion, Restraints, or Isolation Time Out

Agency Re\'ised Rule

INSURANCE

Financial Evaluation Division

11 NCAC IIB .061 1 - Deposits: Bonds: Excess Insurance - Groups

Agency Re\ised Rule

11 NCAC IIH .0011 - Insolvency or Hazardous Financial Condition

Agency Revised Rule

Agency Revised Rule

Special Services Division

11 NCAC 13 .0318 - Request for Cancellation Notice

Agency Revised Rule

JUSTICE

Departmental Rules

12 NCAC 1 .0106 - ADA Dispute Resolution Procedure

Agency Revised Rule

Private Protective Services

12 NCAC 7D .0108 - Law Enforcement Officers Special Provisions

No Response from Agency

12 NCAC 7D .0203 - Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits

Agency Re\ised Rule

12 NCAC 7D . 0401 - Experience Reqs. a Private Investigator License

Agency Revised Rule

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission

12 NCAC 1OB .1003 - Basic Law Enforcement Certificate

Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Dental Examiners

21 NCAC 16D .0102 - Restrictions on Practice

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 16H .0203 - Permitted Functions of Dental Assistant II

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 16Q .0301 - Sedation Credentials and Permit

Agency Revised Rule

Electrolysis Examiners

21 NCAC 19 .0604 - Program Directors

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 19 .0613 - Student/Teacher Ratio and Equipment

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Cont'd 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/1 8/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/18/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

RRC Objection 10/21/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 10/21/93
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Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

Opticians

21 NCAC 40 .0202 - Registration of Place of Business

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 40 .0314 - Apprenticeship and Internship Requirements: Registration

Agency Revised Rule

Practicing Psychologists

21 NCAC 54 .1605 - Fees

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

11/18/93

11/18/93

Refrigeration Examiners

21 NCAC 60 .0101 - Structure of Board

Agency Repealed Rule

21 NCAC 60 .0207 - Requirements for Examination Applicants

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 1 1 /1 8/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

Therapeutic Recreation

21 NCAC 65 .0005 (Recodified as 21 NCAC 65 .0002)- Meetings

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 65 .0008 (Recodified as 21 NCAC 65 .0004) - Academic -TRS Exam.

21 NCAC 65 .0011 (Recodified as 21 NCAC 65 .0007) - Cert. Ren. Eff. 7/1/95

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 65 .0013 (Recodified as 21 NCAC 65 .0008) - Revocation

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

STATE PERSONNEL

Office of State Personnel

25 NCAC ID .0308 - Salary Increases

Agency Revised Rule

25 NCAC IE .0301 - Sick Leave Credits

Agency Revised Rule

25 NCAC IE .1102 - Maximum Amount

Agency Revised Rule

25 NCAC IE .1105 - Retention of Benefits

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

TRANSPORTATION

Deputy Secretary - Transit, Rail, and Aviation

19A NCAC 6C .0112 - Allowable Project Costs

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 6C .0128 - State Aid to Airports Program Guidance Handbook

Agency Repealed Rule

Director of Administration

RRC Objection 1 1 /1 8/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 11/18/93
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19A NCAC 5B .0101 - Fiscal Section Operations RRC Objection 11/18/93

Agency Revised Rule Ohj. Removed 11/18/93

Division of Highways

19A NCAC 2C .0102 - Minimum Standards for Secondary Roads RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2C .0103 - Addition of Roads to the Secondary Road System RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2C .0204 - Utility Requirements for Subdixision Roads RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Rexised Rule Obj. Removed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2C .0206 - Bridge and Dam Requirements for Subdixision Roads RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Removed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2C .0211 - Street Intersections for Subdivision Streets RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Remoxed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2C .0213 - Subdivision Name Markers RRC Objection 12/16/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 12/16/93

19A NCAC 2D .0502 - Ticket Conditions RRC Objection 11/18/93

Agency Rex'ised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

19A NCAC 2D .0801 - Pre-Qualifymg to Bid: Requalification RRC Objection 09/17/93

No Response from Agency Obj. Contd 10/21/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

19A NCAC 2D .0802 - Invitation to Bid RRC Objection 09/17/93

No Response from Agency Obj. Contd 10/21/93

Agency Rex'ised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

19A NCAC 2D .0803 - Advertisement and Invitations for Bids RRC Objection 09/17/93

No Response from Agency Obj. Contd 10/21/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

19A NCAC 2D . 0821 - Return of Bid Bond or Bid Deposit RRC Objection 09/1 7/93

No Response from Agency Obj. Contd 10/21/93

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

19A NCAC 2E . 0606 - Exceptions to the Policy RRC Objection 11/18/93

Agency Repealed Rule Obj. Removed 11/18/93

Division of Motor Vehicles

I9A NCAC 3B .0616 - Approval: Com School: Conmiunity College Instructors

Agency Rexised Rule

19A NCAC 3B .0620 - Grounds for Revocation or Denial of Certification

Agency Rexised Rule

19A NCAC 3B .0621 - Denial/Revocation: Company Examiner: Instructor Cert.

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3C .0223 - Registration: Motor Homes: Etc

Rule Returned to Agency for Failure to Comply xvith APA

I9A NCAC 3C .0436 - Highxvay Use Tax

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3C .0521 - Taxicab

Agency Rexised Rule

19A NCAC 3D .0231 - Hearings Pursuant to Articles 12 & 15 of Chapter 20

Agency Rexised Rule

19A NCAC 3D .0515 - Safety Inspection Licensing and Procedures

19A NCAC 3D .0602 - Collection of Assessments

Agency Rexised Rule

I9A NCAC 3D .0702 - Information for Manufacturer

Agency Repealed Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Ohj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/18/93

11/18/93

11/18/93

12/16/93

11/18/93

12/16/93

11/18/93

11/18/93

12/16/93

11/18/93

11/18/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93

12/16/93
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19A NCAC 3D .0823 - Vehicle Registration and Identification Required

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3D .0825 - Reproduction of Forms

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3G .0205 - Issuing of Original Certificate

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 31 .0505 - Confidentiality

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3J .0202 - Original Application

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 3J .0604 - Contract Provisions

Agency Rei'ised Rule

RRC' Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC' Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 11/18/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93

RRC Objection 12/16/93

Obj. Removed 12/16/93
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RULES INVALIDATED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court,

Court of Appeals, Superior Court (when available), and the Office of Administrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

{

10 NCAC 261 .0101 - PURPOSE: SCOPE AND NOTICE OF CHANGE IN LEVEL OF CARE
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 10

NCAC 261 .0101 void as applied in Dorothy McNeil Moore v. N. C. Department ofHuman Resources, Division

of Medical Assistance (93 DHR 1342).

10 NCAC 261 .0102 - REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION AND RECIPIEIVT APPEALS
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 10

NCAC 261 .0102 void as applied in Dorotlry McNeil Moore v. N. C Department ofHuman Resources, Division

of Medical Assistance (93 DHR 1342).

10 NCAC 261 .0104 - FORMAL APPEALS
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 10

NCAC 261 .0104 void as applied in Dorothy McNeil Moore v. N. C. Department ofHuman Resources, Division

of Medical Assistance (93 DHR 1342).

i
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

1 his Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions

along with an index to all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's

Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the decisions listed in the index and not published are available

upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings. (919) 733-2698.

AGENCY
CASE

NUMBER ALJ

DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

ADMINISTRATION

LMS Express. Inc. v. Administration. Div of Purchase & Contract

Stauffer Information Systems v. Community Colleges & Administiation

McLaurin Parking Co. v. Administration

Warren H. Amngton Jr. v. Division of Purchase & Contract

Travel. Incorporated v. Administration

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

92 DOA 0735 Morgan 06/04/93

92 DOA 0803 West 06/10/93 8:7 NCR 613

92 DOA 1662 Morrison 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 320

93 DOA 0132 West 07/21/93

93 DOA 0362 Nesnow 11/08/93

Partnership. Phillip Owen Edv^id

Gary Morgan Neugent

V. Azzat Aly Amer

V. Kirty Ronald Eldric^e

V. Gloria Black McDuffie

V. Larry Isacc Hailstock

V. Anthony Ralph Cecchini Jr.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Ann Oldham McDowell

Curtis Ray Lynch v. Alcoholic Be\'erage ConliDl Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Contiol Comm. v. Ezra Everett Rigsbee

Alcoholic Beverage ContrDl Comm. v.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm
Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm
Alcoholic Be\'erage Control Comm
Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm
Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm
Johnnie L. Baker v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

RAMSAC Enterprises, Inc. v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Aubrey Rudolph Wallace

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mermaid. Inc.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Majdi Khalid Wahdan

Cornelius Mines T/A Eborry Lounge v. Alcoholic Beverage Ctl. Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Homer Patrick Godwin Jr.

Alcoholic Beverage ContnDl Comm. v. Wanda Lou Ball

Charles Anthonious Moranl v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm.
Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Billy Fmcher McSwain Jr.

Jean Hoggard Askew v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

ABC Comm. v. Partnership/T/A Corrotheis Comty Ctr & Private Club

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. James El\wod Alphin

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. James William Campbell

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v, Sydner Jan Mulder

Barbara Locklear v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Partnership, T/A Hawk's Landing

Alcoholic Beverage Control Com. v. Thomas Andrisw Reid

Zachary Andre Jones v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mack Ray Chapman

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Bistro Enterprises. Inc.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Richard Donald James Jr.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. George Oliver O'Neal III

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. The Sideline of Wilmir^ton. Inc.

William Vernon Franklin & Gene Carroll Daniels v. ABC Commission

Pink Bell v. ABC Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Joseph Adu

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Citizens Fuel Company

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Citizens Fuel Company

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mohammad Salim Pirini

Linda R. Cunningham v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Charles Edward Hart, Club Paradise v. Alcoholic Beverage Ctl. Comm.
Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Katherine Mary Dufresne

92 ABC 0260 Morgan 04/01/93

92 ABC 0288 Gr^ 05/18/93

92 ABC 0702 West 07/30/93

92 ABC 0978 Gray 05/28/93

92 ABC 1086 Becton 03/22/93

92 ABC 1149 Reilly 09/01/93

92 ABC 1153 Chess 04/26/93

92 ABC 1476 West 05/26/93

92 ABC 1483 Reilly 04/07/93

92 ABC 1690 Morgan 06/29/93

92 ABC 1735 Chess 05/07/93

93 ABC 0002 Morrison 07/02/93

93 ABC 0047 Gray 05/28/93

93 ABC 0076 Gray 08/04/93

93 ABC 0087 Becton 07/06/93 8:9 NCR 785

93 ABC 0118 Morrison 08/04/93

93 ABC 0125 Reilly 05/13/93

93 ABC 0182 Nesnow 07/29/93

93 ABC 0232 Chess 07/20/93

93 ABC 0239 Gray 08/26/93

93 ABC 0255 West 09/10/93

93 ABC 0318 Reilly 07/22/93

93 ABC 0326 Gray 08/26/93

93 ABC 0327 Gray 08/09/93

93 ABC 0354 Morgan 11/10/93 8:17 NCR 1712

93 ABC 0395 West 09/14/93

93 ABC 0407 Becton 10/18/93

93 ABC 0408 Gray 11/01/93

93 ABC 042

1

West 09/13/93

93 ABC 0423 Gray 09/17/93

93 ABC 0430 Reilly 10/07/93

93 ABC 0431 Nesnow 09/01/93

93 ABC 0433 Morgan 11/01/93 8:16 NCR 1553

93 ABC 0462 Becton 10/27/93

93 ABC 0570 Reilly 09/17/93

93 ABC 0595 Morgan 12/20/93

93 ABC 0601 Nesnow 10/28/93 8:16 NCR 1560

93 ABC 0611 West 10/12/93

93 ABC 0613 West 10/11/93

93 ABC 0616 West 10/13/93

93 ABC 0633 Morrison 11/03/93

93 ABC 0644 Gray 08/10/93

93 ABC 0667 Reilly 12/13/93
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AGENCY

Alcoholic Be\-erag!; Control Comm. \'. Jerome Hill T'A Comer Pocket

Venus L. Smith v. Alcoholic Be%crage Control Commission

Alcohlic Be%'erage Control Comm. v. Partnership t/a RJ's Store

Alcholic Be\'erage Control Comm. v. En'in Ray Winstiiad

Alcoholic Be\. Control Comm. v. Mild & Wild, Inc.. Sheila Scholz

CASE
>fUMBER

93 ABC 0672

93 ABC 0701

93 ABC 0860

93 ABC 0890

93 ABC 1475

ALJ

Gray

Becton

Mann

Chess

Nesnow

DATE OF
DECISION

11/23/93

12/08/93

09/29/93

12/30/93

03/23/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

i

COMMERCE

Lcslcr Moore v. Weatherizalion Assistance Program

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

George W. F^ior v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Steven A. Bamer v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Anthony L. Hart v. Victims Compensation Comm.

Jennifer Ayeis v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Janie L. Howard v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Isabelle Hyman v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

James G. Pellom v. Crime Control Sc Public Safety

Norman E. Brown v. Victims Compensation Commission

Moses H. Cone Mem Hosp v. Victims Compensation Comm.

Da\'id &. Jane Spano v. Crime Control <&. Public Safety

Phillip Edward Moore v. Crime Control & Public Safety

Norma Jean Purkett v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Sheila Carter v. Crime Control and Public Safety

John Wllie Leach v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Nellie R. Mangum v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Constance Brown v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Susan Coy v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

Mark A. McCrimmon v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Rendall K. Rolhrock v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

John Pr\^ssley Moore v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

EMPLO^TVIENT SECURITY COMMISSION

93 COM 0105 Gray 03/08/93

91 CPS 1286 Morgan 04/27/93

92 CPS 0453 Nesnow 06/01/93

92 CPS 0937 Chess 03/01/93

92 CPS 1195 Reilly 03/19/93

92 CPS 1787 Reilly 03/26/93

92 CPS 1807 Morrison 05/24/93

93 CPS 0034 Gr^ 05/05/93

93 CPS 0141 West 07/07/93

93 CPS 0152 Nesnow 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 327

93 CPS 0160 Nesnow 07/30/93 8:10 NCR 862

93 CPS 0169 Nesnow 05/20/93

93 CPS 0205 West 08/27/93 8:12 NCR 1171

93 CPS 0249 Morgan 08/25/93

93 CPS 0263 Morrison 05/20/93

93 CPS 0303 Morrison 06/08/93

93 CPS 0351 Reilly 05/24/93

93 CPS 0623 Reilly 09/22/93

93 CPS 0652 Bee ton 12/20/93 8:20 NCR 2016

93 CPS 0821 West 12/28/93

93 CPS 1405 Morrison 12/29/93

William H- Peace HI v. Emplc^ment Security Commission

EN\'IRONMENT, HEALTH. AND NATLTt-AL RESOLTICES

91 EEC 0536 Chess 10/12/93 8:19 NCR 1914

Charles L. Wilson v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

J. Bruce Mulligan v. Errvironment, Health, &. Natrual Resources

Calvin Blythe Davis & George Thomas Da\'is v. EHR
Michael D. Barnes v. Onslow Cty Hlth &. Environment and EHR
WTUiam E. Finck v. Environment. Health. & Natural Resources

Utley C. Stallings v. Environment. Health, & Natural Resources

Dora Mae Blount on behalf of Joseph T. Midgette v. H>de Cty

Bd/Commissioners, H\de Cty Bd/Health, & Environment.

Health, &. Natural Resources

Thomas G. McHugh v. DEHNR
A.J. Ballard Jr., Ttre &. Oil Co.. Inc. v. Env., Health. & Nat. Res.

Safe\».a> Remc^'al. Inc. v. Environment. Health, & Natural Res.

Wliite Oak Chapter of the Izaak Walton League. Inc.. and

National F^rks and Conservation Association, Inc. v.

Division of Solid Waste Management. EHR and H^'wood County

Southchem. Inc. v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

Elizabeth City/I^quotank Cty Mun Airport Auth v. EHNR
W.E. Moulton & Wife, Evelyn Moulton v. Macon County Health Dept.

Interstate Brands Corp & Donald Letfew v. Err.'., Health. & Nat. Res.

Service Oil Company v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Interstate Brands Corp Sl Donald Leffew v. Err.'., Health, &. Nat. Res.

Residents of Camm &, Shell v. Health En\'ironmental - Septic Tank Div.

City of Salisbury v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Resources

Willie M. Watford v. Hertford Gates District Health Department

Standard Speciality Contractors, Inc. v. EHNR

91 EHR 0664 Morgan 03/23/93

91 EHR 0773 West 07/13/93

91 EHR 0794 Morrison 12/02/93

91 EHR 0825 Morgan 06/21/93

92 EHR 0040 Gr^ 06/14/93

92 EHR 0062 Gray 03/15/93

92 EHR 0400 Gray 10/15/93

92 EHR 0742 Becton 12/28/93

92 EHR 0754 Nesnow 08/30/93

92 EHR 0826 West 03/12/93

92 EHR 0881 West 09/14/93

92 EHR 0925 Chess 11/08/93

92 EHR 1140 Gray 04/13/93

92 EHR 1144 Morgan 11/15/93

92 EHR 1201*" Reilly 08/12/93

92 EHR 1205 Reilly 05/27/93

92 EHR 1224*" Reilly 08/12/93

92 EHR 1462 Morrison 08/25/93

92 EHR 1472 Morrison 04/22/93

92 EHR 1600 Chess 03/24/93

92 EHR 1660 Reilly 05/21/93

8:1 NCR 83

i
Consolidated cases.
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AGENCY

Shawqi A. Jaber v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

McLeod Leather & Belting Co., Inc. v. Env., Health. & Natural Res.

Angela Power, Albert Power v. Children's Special Health Svcs.

Rayco Utilities, Inc. v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Erby Lamar Grainger v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Mustafa E. Essa v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

A.J. Holt V. Public Water Supply Section, Div. of Environmental Health

Charlie Gartield McPheison Swine Fann v. Env., Health, & Nat. Res.

Keith Cutler. Kathryn Cutler v. Environment, Health, & Natural Res.

Rosetta Brim^e, Vanessa Pack v. Env. Health of Craven County

R.L. Stowe Mills, Inc. v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

O.C. StaffonJ/Larry Haney v. Montgomery Cty. Health Dept.

Patricia Y. Marshall v. Montgomery Cty Health Dept. & EHR
Fred M. Grooms v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Bobby Anderson v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

Shell Bros. Dist., Inc. v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

Fr^ C. Gosnell & wife, Patricia T. Gosnell v. Env., Health, & Nat. Res.

Holding Bros., Inc. v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Tony Tomson, Diane Clase & William J. Stevenson v. EHR
Tony Tomson, Diane Clasc & William J. Stevenson v. EHR
Hamilton Beach/Proctor-Silex. Inc. v. Environment, Health, & Natrl Res

Tim Whitfield v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Tony Won\;l! v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

L. Terry Fuqua v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Seth B. Gaskill Jr. v. N.C. Coastal Resources Commission

Richaid L. Goodman v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

Monroe Gaskill v. DEHNR-Div. of Coastal Management

Lanny Clifton, Southwind Dev. . Co. v. Div. of Environmental Mgmt.

Blue Ridge Env. Defense League, Inc. v. Env., Health, & Natrl Res

Charies Watson v. DEHNR
Heatcraft Inc. v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
^fUMBER AI.,f DECISION REGISTER CITATION

92 EHR 1784 Becton 07/07/93

93 EHR 0003 Morgan 10/11/93 8:15 NCR 1503

93 EHR 0008 BeeIon 03/24/93

93 EHR 0063 Morrison 09/17/93

93 EHR 0071 Reilly 06/21/93

93 EHR 0146 Gray 03/29/93

93 EHR 0168 West 10/25/93

93 EHR 0181 Reilly 07/23/93 8:10 NCR 870

93 EHR 0185 Morrison 10/20/93

93 EHR 0206 Nesnow 05/20/93

93 EHR 0219 Morrison 08/11/93 8:11 NCR 996

93 EHR 0224 Gray 06/07/93

93 EHR 0252 Gray 10/22/93

93 EHR 0276 West 08/27/93 8:12 NCR 1176

93 EHR 0299 Reilly 06/07/93

93 EHR 0308 Becton 05/18/93

93 EHR 0340 Becton 08/11/93

93 EHR 0380 Nesnow 08/03/93 8:11 NCR 1001

93 EHR 0466*"- Reilly 11/30/93

93 EHR 0467*'- Reilly 11/30/93

93 EHR 0477 Reilly 06/29/93

93 EHR 0520 Gray 12/16/93

93 EHR 0587 Morgan 1 1/08/93

93 EHR 0624 Reilly 11/08/93

93 EHR 0635 Nesnow 11/18/93

93 EHR 0783 Reilly 11/24/93

93 EHR 0802 Chess 10/13/93

93 EHR 0848 Becton 10/20/93

93 EHR 0862 Nesnow 10/11/93

93 EHR 0981 West 12/20/93

93 EHR 1021 Morrison 12/20/93

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION

Human Relations Comm. on behalf of Tyrone Clark V. Myinle Wilson 92 HRC 0560 Becton 09/07/93 8:13 NCR 1287

Human Relations Comm. on behalf of Mareha Crisco V. Hayden Morrison 93 HRC 0167 Reilly 08/18/93 8:12 NCR 1168

HUMAN RESOURCES

O.C. Williams v. Human Resources

Ronald Terry Brown v. Human Resources

Dennis K. King v. Human Resources

Cathy Harris, A/K/A Cathy D. Grubb v. Human Resources

Raymond L. Griffin v. Human Resources

O.C. Williams v. Human Resources

Michael L. Ray v. Human Resources

Randy Chambliss v. Human Resources

Melvin White v. Human Resources

Joseph R. Kavaliauskas Jr. v. Human Resources

Larry D. Bcyd v. Human Resources

Jefferson D. Boylen v. Human Resources

Jetfery D. Williams v. Human Resources

Jerry L. Summers v. Human Resources

Samuel E. Massenbei^ Jr v. Human Resources

William A. Dixon v. Human Resources

Gregory L. Washington v. Human Resources

Edwin Clarke v. Human Resources

Dwayne Allen v. Human Resources

Edwin Ivester v. Human Resources

Connie F Epps, Otis Junior Epps v. Human Resources

Tyrone Aiken v. Human Resourc-es

Everett M. Eaton v. Human Resources

Eugene Johnson v. Human Resources

Edvaid E. Brandon v. Human Resources

James Sisk Jr. v. Human Resources

Thomas M. Birdwell III v. Human Resources

Darren W. Russell v. Human Resources

John Henry Byrd v. Human Resources

91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
91 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE
92 CSE

0036*-

0249

1122

1131

1148

1158*'

1173

1187

1192

1204

1214

1217

1231

1234

1249

1277

0075

0129

0196

0268

1182

1217

1221

1229

1237

1238

1240

1249

1250

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Morrison

Morgan

Morgan

Morgan

Nesnow

Reilly

Gray

Reilly

Nesnow

Gray

Reilly

Reilly

Becton

Reilly

03/30/93

05/17/93

07/28/93

08/24/93

08/24/93

03/30/93

05/17/93

04/28/93

05/17/93

07/29/93

08/24/93

05/17/93

04/28/93

07/28/93

05/17/93

03/04/93

04/01/93

05/17/93

03/31/93

03/30/93

07/22/93

06/17/93

07/27/93

11/16/93

04/16/93

11/17/93

12/09/93

04/20/93

06/04/93
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AGENCY

Aaron James Alford v. Human Resources

Michelle D. Mohle^' v. Human Resources

Gus W, Long Jr. v. Human Resources

Robert E. Watson v. Human Resources

Connell R. Goodson v. Human Resources

B\ run Christopher Williams v. Human Resources

Elijah G. Deanes v. Human Resources

James W. Bell v. Human Resources

Charles W. Stall Jr. v. Human Resources

Wlliam A. Wilson IH v. Human Resources

Enc Stanley Stokes v. Human Resources

Clayton L. Littleton v. Human Resources

Frank E. Johnson v. Human Resources

David Rollins v. Human Resourc-es

Willie Sam Brown v. Human Resources

LyndcU Greene v. Human Resources

Charles Swann v. Human Resourc-es

Joe B. Reece v. Human Resourc'es

Michael Anthoi^' Dean v. Human Resources

Gregory W. Alfotd v. Human Resources

Leroy Snuggs v. Human Resources

James R Miller III v. Human Resources

Herbert H. Fordham v. Human Resources

Jack Dulq v. Human Resources

Jesse B. Williams v. Human Resources

Johnr^ Victor Dcbity v. Human Resources

Larry L. Crowder v. Human Resources

Carlos Bernard Davis v. Human Resources

Ocie C. Williams v. Human Resources

Terrance Freeman \'. Human Resources

Fli^d Excell Slatfotd v. Human Resources

Timothy Brian EUer v. Human Resources

Charles S. Ferrer v. Human Resources

Ronald H. Lockli^ v. Human Resources

Rene Thomas Rittenhouse v. Human Resources

Thomas Edward Williamson v. Human Resources

Roy Chester Robinson v. Human Resources

Lynwood McClinlon v. Human Resources

Timothy Scotl Long \'. Human Resourc^es

Kenneth Lamar Massey v. Human Resources

David W. Williams v. Human Resources

William E. Ingram v. Human Resources

Haa^ld R. Pledger v. Human Resources

Kenneth Wayne Wiggins v. Human Resources

Carl Beard v. Human Resources

Henry Alston Jr. v. Human Resources

Gary Lewis Doster v. Human Resources

Raymond L. Head v. Human Resources

Mark R. Charles v. Human Resources

Michael W. Bentl^ v. Human Resources

Robert D. Knoll Jr. v. Human Resources

Dale Robert Siuhrc v. Human Resources

James T Carter Jr. v. Human Resources

Tommy Malone v. Human Resources

James C. Dixon Jr. v. Human Resources

Timothy R. Currtnce v. Human Resources

Waniell Walker v. Human Resources

Wallace M. Cooper v. Human Resources

Jar\is N. Price v. Human Resources

Thomas L. ^'ates \'. Human Resourc^es

Cleamce Ray T^lor v. Human Resources

Robert E. Tarlton Sr. v. Human Resources

Rodn^' Devard demons v. Human Resources

James A. Coleman \. Human Resources

Lee Richard Jones v. Human Resources

Romeo F Skapple v. Human Resources

Terrial W. Mayberry v. Human Resources

Jeffrey L. Garrett v. Human Resources

CA.»E DATE OF
IVUMBER ALJ DECISION

92CSE 1253 Beeion 12/06/93

92CSE 1256 Nesnow 04/15/93

92 CSE 1263 Gray 08/16/93

92 CSE 1265 RciUy 05/06/93

92 CSE 1267 Gray 12/07/93

92 CSE 1270 Nesnow 04/26/93

92 CSE 1273 Nesnou' 11/17/93

92 CSE 1311 Nesnoft' 05/10/93

92 CSE 1313 Mann 07/06/93

92 CSE 1315 Reilly 12/07/93

92 CSE 1316*^ Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1317 Morrison 09/02/93

92 CSE 1326 Reilly 08/16/93

92 CSE 1334 Morrison 05/06/93

92 CSE 1338 Morrison 09/15/93

92 CSE 1346 Nesnow 04/16/93

92 CSE 1347 West 09/16/93

92 CSE 1355 Mann 10/12/93

92 CSE 1356 Morrison 08/13/93

92 CSE 1358 Gray 10/18/93

92 CSE 1360 Morrison 04/15/93

92 CSE 1361 Gray 04/16/93

92 CSE 1362 Nesnow 07/19/93

92 CSE 1374 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1389 Nesnow 10/12/93

92 CSE 1393 Mann 11/15/93

92 CSE 1396 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1404 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1405 Mann 06/25/93

92 CSE 1411 Mann 06/07/93

92 CSE 1412 Reilly 08/31/93

92 CSE 1414 Reilly 04/20/93

92 CSE 1416 Mann 04/15/93

92 CSE 1418 Nesnow 04/20/93

92 CSE 1421 Nesnow 04/20/93

92 CSE 1422 Reilly 04/20/93

92 CSE 1423 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1424 Reilly 09/15/93

92 CSE 1445 Becton 06/29/93

92 CSE 1447 Reilly 12/07/93

92 CSE 1448 Nesnow 07/19/93

92 CSE 1450 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1455 Morrison 05/20/93

92 CSE 1458 Gray 12/13/93

92 CSE 1459 Reilly 09/08/93

92 CSE 1460 Becton 06/29/93

92 CSE 1461 Morrison 10/21/93

92 CSE 1510 Mann 11/18/93

92 CSE 1511 Becton 11/17/93

92 CSE 1512 Nesnow 06/09/93

92 CSE 1515 Nesnow 11/17/93

92 CSE 1516 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1517 Mann 08/31/93

92 CSE 1520 Mann 05/07/93

92 CSE 1522 Becton 05/11/93

92 CSE 1523 Reilly 09/09/93

92 CSE 1524 Reilly 10/12'93

92 CSE 1527 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1531 Morrison 05/12/93

92 CSE 1535 Gi:ay 05/10/93

92 CSE 1538 Morrison 11/18/93

92 CSE 1536 Gray- 05/17/93

92 CSE 1539 Gray 05/10/93

92 CSE 1540 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1541 Reilly 09/08/93

92 CSE 1545 Gn^- 04/26/93

92 CSE 1546 Reilly 10/12/93

92 CSE 1557 Gra\ 04/22/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

{

{

{
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AGENCY

Edward Kirk v. Human Resources

William C. Hubbaid v. Human Resources

William Michael Przytysz v. Human Resources

Kevin Keith Witmorc v. Human Resources

George A. Rinell v. Human Resources

Edward Fitch v. Human Resources

David Rohinetfc v. Human Resources

Harvey H. Boyd v. Human Resources

Kit C. Elmore v. Human Resources

Brian C. Gilmor^ v. Human Resources

Philip S. Pien^y v. Human Resources

Anthony McLaughlin v. Human Resources

Johnny W. Cooke v. Human Resources

Roland L. EssafF v. Human Resources

Isaac Maxwell v. Human Resources

Donald J. Ray v. Human Resources

Barbara A. Chaperon v. Human Resources

Kenneth Eugene Johnson v. Human Resources

Derrick Carter v. Human Resources

Charles Wayne Pier\:e v. Human Resources

Gregory L. Vemcy v. Human Resources

Donna G. Knotts v. Human Resources

Robert Jerome Sutton v. Human Resources

Donald R. Williams v. Human Resources

McKinlc^ Clyhum v. Human Resources

Henry L. Taylor v. Human Resources

Tony Thorpe v. Human Resources

Jetfery D. Williams v. Human Resources

Ronald Sowell v. Human Resources

Billy Smith v. Human Resources

Rawn Weigel v. Human Resources

Anthoiiy Curry v. Human Resources

John G. Williams v. Human Resources

Larry W. Golden v. Human Resources

William J. Carter v. Human Resources

Mark W. Dean v. Human Resources

Linda D. McDonald v. Human Resources

Tyrone Thomas v. Human Resources

Rilton E. May v. Human Resources

Milton Kendricks v. Human Resources

Joe K. Martin V. Human Resources

Eric Stanley Stokes v. Human Resources

Er^kin J. Thompson v. Human Resources

Larry Thompson v. Human Resources

Billie J. Smith v. Human Resources

Patrick Floyd v. Human Resources

James Eric Frost v. Human Resources

Dennis W. Nolan v. Human Resources

Eric L. Garland v. Human Resources

Ira Alston Jr. v. Human Resources

Elvis Bernard Telfair v. Human Resources

Ronald G. Bolden v. Human Resources

Rodni^ H. Allen, MD v. Human Resources

Donnell E. Byrd v. Human Resources

Marvin Holl^ v. Human Resources

Eddie Short v. Human Resources

Michael Tywan Marsh v. Human Resources

Leroy Jones v. Human Resources

Antonio M. Townsend v. Human Resources

Kevin J. Close v. Human Resources

Norman Gatewood v. Human Resources

Thadius Bonapart v. Human Resources

Ronald Norman v. Human Resources

Joseph Eric Lewis v. Human Resources

Ronald Dean Lowery v. Human Resources

Tamera S. Hatfield v. Human Resources

Michael Wayne Bryant v. Human Resources

James E. Blaknify v. Human Resources

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION

92 CSE 1560 Gray 06/29/93

92CSE 1562 Mann 05/12/93

92 CSE 1565 Bccton 07/23/93

92 CSE 1566 Reilly 11/01/93

92 CSE 1569 Gray 12/09/93

92 CSE 1572 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1573 Mann 07/14/93

92 CSE 1574 Reilly 12/09/93

92 CSE 1575 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1576 Gray 04/26/93

92 CSE 1577 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1582 Gray 06/29/93

92 CSE 1585 Beclon 05/11/93

92 CSE 1588 Morrison 07/26/93

92 CSE 1589 Reilly 04/26/93

92 CSE 1592 Mann 05/19/93

92 CSE 1593 Mann 10/13/93

92 CSE 1594 Reilly 11/01/93

92 CSE 1595 Gray 11/17/93

92 CSE 1596 Morrison 07/14/93

92 CSE 1610 Gray 11/09/93

92 CSE 1611 Morrison 07/16/93

92 CSE 1618 Chess 10/12/93

92 CSE 1622 Nesnow 08/04/93

92 CSE 1623 Morrison 05/20/93

92 CSE 1624 Mann 09/15/93

92 CSE 1625 Chess 07/15/93

92 CSE 1626 Mann 05/19/93

92 CSE 1627 Reilly 07/19/93

92 CSE 1629 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1630 Mann 11/18/93

92 CSE 1631 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1632 Mann 08/10/93

92 CSE 1633 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1637 Nesnow 05/19/93

92 CSE 1538 Reilly 07/15/93

92 CSE 1639 Gray 10/19/93

92 CSE 1640 Mann 07/22/93

92 CSE 1642 Morgan 07/29/93

92 CSE 1647 Gray 12/07/93

92 CSE 1650 Reilly 09/10/93

92 CSE 1652*' Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1653 Gray 11/17/93

92 CSE 1655 Reilly 07/22/93

92 CSE 1656 Gray 07/23/93

92 CSE 1663 Reilly 05/20/93

92 CSE 1669 Mann 11/18/93

92 CSE 1670 Morrison 06/25/93

92 CSE 1671 Mann 07/22/93

92 CSE 1703 Becton 06/16/93

92 CSE 1704 Reilly 09/15/93

92 CSE 1706 Mann 06/25/93

92 CSE 1707 Morrison 11/18/93

92 CSE 1712 Chess 10/22/93

92 CSE 1713 Mann 06/08/93

92 CSE 1714 West 07/15/93

92 CSE 1716 Gray 06/17/93

92 CSE 1718 Gray 06/17/93

92 CSE 1721 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1727 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1728 Chess 10/22/93

92 CSE 1740 Chess 09/21/93

92 CSE 1746 Chess 10/14/93

92 CSE 1748 Becton 08/02/93

92 CSE 1771 West 07/15/93

92 CSE 1772 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1773 Chess 10/22/93

92 CSE 1779 Nesnow 05/13/93
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AGENCY

E- Burt Davis Jr. v. Human Resources

Nelson Fowler Jr. v. Human Resources

Oswinn Blue v. Human Resources

Charles E. Whiteley v. Human Resources

Kelvin D. Jackson v. Human Resources

Linwood Stalon v. Human Resources

Anlhon)' Walson v. Human Resources

Eugene Po\k v. Human Resources

Steve R. Tallent v Human Resources

Charles A. Morgan v. Human Resources

Glenda K. HoUiheld v. Human Resourc^es

Quinton Brii-khouse v. Human Resourc-es

Kenneth W. Williams v. Human Resources

Charles Thompson Jr. v. Human Resources

Barbara W. Catlett v. Human Resources

Laurcl Langford v. Human Resources

Ida Diane Davis v. Human Resources

Hatsuko Klein v. Human Resources

Karen MuUins Martin v. Human Resources

Ora Lee Brinkl*^ v. David T. Flaherty. Secretary of Human Resources

Leon Barbee v. Human Resources

Carrolton of Dunn, Inc. v. Human Resources

Dial>^is Care of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a Dialysis Care of

Cumberland County v. Human Resources. Division of Facility

Services, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of Fayetteville d/b/a Fayetleville Kidni^ Center,

Webb-Loha-'ichan-Melion Rentals, Bio-Medical Applications

of North Carolina. Inc. d/b/a BMA of Raeford and Wcbb-

Lohavichan Rentals

Dialysis Care of North Carolina, Inc.. d/b/a Dial>sis Care of

Cumberland County v. Human Resources, Division of Facility

Serv'ices, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of Fayetteville d/b/a Fayetteville Kidnt^ Center,

Webb-Loha/ichan-Melton Rentals, Bio-Medical Applications

of North Carolina. Inc., d/b/a BMA of Raeforcl and Webb-

Lohavichan Rentals

Bio-Medical Applications of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA
of RaefonJ, Webb-Loha-'ichan-Melton Rentals. Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina. Inc., d/b/a BMA of Fayetteville

d/b/a F^etleviUe Kidnt^ Center and Webb-Loha'ichan Rentals

V. Human Resources. Division of Facility Services, Certificate of

Need Section and Dialysis Care of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a

Dialysis Care of Hoke County

Renal Care of Rocky Mount, Inc. v. Human Resources, Division of

Facility Services, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina, Inc.. d/b/a BMA of Tarborc),

Rocky Mount Nephrology Associates, Inc.. Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Rocky Mount

d/b/a Rocky Mount Kidney Center, and Rocky Mount Kidney Center

Associates

James H. Hunt Jr. v. Division of Medical Assistance

Barbara Jones v. Human Resourc-es

Joyce P. Williams v. Human Resources

Snoopy Day Care, Diane Hamby v. Child Day Care Licensing

Cynthia Reed v. Human Resources

The Neighborhood Center v. Human Resources

Helm's Rest Home, Ron J. Schimpf/Edith H. Wilson v. Human Resources

Jo Ann Kinsey v. NC Memorial Hospital Betty Hulton, Volunteer Svc.

Amy Clara Williamson v. NC Mem Hosp Betty Hulton, Volunteer Svc.

Betty Butler V. Human Resourc-es

Wayne Sanders and Brcnda Sandeis v. Human Resources

Brittha'en. Inc. v. Human Resources & Valdese Nursing Home, Inc.

Samuel Benson v. Office of Admin. Hearings for Medicaid

James W. McCall. Alice V. McCall v. Human Resources

Vemice Whisnant v. Human Resources

Nell Brooks v. Child Day Care Section, Cherokee Cty Dept/Social Svcs

Cabarrus Cty Dept. of Social Svcs. v. Human Resources

Hannah F. Tonkel v. Human Resources

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER AL,J DECISION

92CSE 1780 Gray 11/17/93

93 CSE 0050 Chess 10/18/93

93 CSE 0073 Chess 08/03/93

93 CSE 0183 Beeton 11/10/93

93 CSE 0221 West 08/04/93

93 CSE 0250 Nesnow 08/13/93

93 CSE 0396 Nesncw 08/04/93

93 CSE 0437 Chess 08/11/93

93 CSE 0448 West 10/29/93

93 CSE 0518 West 11/09/93

93 CSE 0545 West 10/11/93

93 CSE 0576 Gray 11/17/93

93 CSE 0590 Reilly 10/18/93

93 CSE 0696 Morrison 09/23/93

92 DCS 0577 West 03/15/93

92 DCS 1181 Gray 05/04/93

92 DCS 1200 Gray 03/29/93

92 DCS 1271 Reilly 05/05/93

92 DCS 1783 West 08/04/93

92 DHR 0608 Chess 08/27/93

92 DHR 0658 Morrison 04/30/93

92 DHR 1101 Morgan 07/26/93

92 DHR U09*' Morgan 06/22/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

92 DHR 1 no** Motgan 06/22/93

92 DHR 1116*' Morgan 06/22/93

92 DHR 1120 Gray 06/18/93

i

8:5 NCR 441

;:4 NCR 392

;:8 NCR 687

8:8 NCR 687

{

8:8 NCR 687

8:8 NCR 687

92 DHR 1145 Becton 05/13/93 8:5 NCR 443

92 DHR 1192 Nesnow 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 313

92 DHR 1275 Gray 03/15/93

92 DHR 1320 Morgan 05/21/93

92 DHR 1329 Chess 05/10/93

92 DHR 1375 Chess 08/02/93

92 DHR 1604 Reilly 05/10/93

92 DHR 1612 Chess 03/08/93

92 DHR 1613 Chess 03/08/93

92 DHR 1614 Chess 03/09/93

92 DHR 1699 Reilly 06/07/93 8:7 NCR 632

92 DHR 1785 Gray 09/17/93

93 DHR 0010 Becton 03/11/93

93 DHR 0102 Morgan 10/05/93

93 DHR 0332 Morgan 09/23/93

93 DHR 0343 Becton 11/29/93 8:18 NCR 1832

93 DHR 0373 Morgan 07/20/93

93 DHR 0378 Nesnow 09/10/93

i
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AGENCY

Fannie Lewis v. Human Resources

Human Resources, Div. of Child Development v. Susan Amato

Katie Kelly v. Human Resources

A.C., by & through her agent & pergonal rep. Hank Neal v. Human Res.

Venola Hall. Agape Day Care v. Human Resources

Warren Cty NC Lucious Hawkins v. Human Resources, C. Robin Britt

Christopher Durrcr, Wilson Memorial Hospital v. Human Resources

Mary McDuffie v. Human Resources Child Development

Darryl A. Richardson v. Human Resources

Home Health Prof., Barbara P. Bradsher, Admin v. Human Resources

Sandra Gail Wilson v. Child Abuse/Neglect, Div. of Child Development

Thomas M. Moss v. Human Resources

Rosa Wall v. Nuree Aide Registry, Charge of Abuse

Frank S. & Susie R. Wells v. New Hano^'er Cty. Dept of Social Svcs.

Mattie and Johni^ Smith v. Lenoir County Department of Social Services

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
>aJMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION

93 DHR 0379 Gray 06/28/93

93 DHR 0418 Morgan 08/26/93

93 DHR 0441 Chess 07/26/93

93 DHR 0529 Nesnow 12/06/93 8:19 NCR 1926

93 DHR 0535 Mann 10/22/93

93 DHR 0540 Gray 12/06/93

93 DHR 0566 Chess 09/17/93

93 DHR 0651 Beeton 09/10/93

93 DHR 0679 Beeton 09/30/93

93 DHR 0737 Chess 09/23/93

93 DHR 0782 Nesnow 09/09/93

93 DHR 0864 Chess 11/05/93

93 DHR 0881 West 12/15/93

93 DHR 0922 Nesnow 11/08/93

93 DHR 1176 Morrison 12/29/93

INSURANCE

Carolyn M. Hair v. St Emplcyees Comprchcnsive Major Medical

Scotland Memorial Hospital, Mary Home Odom v. Bd. /Trustees//

St. of N.C. Teachers' & St. Emp. Comp. Major Medical Plan, and

David G. Devries, as Exec. Admin, of the N.C. Teachers' & St. Emp.

Comp. Major Medical Plan

Phyllis C. Harris v. Teacheis' & St. Emp. Comp. Major Med. Plan

Jarmaine Knight v. Ms. Shirley H. Williams, Insurance

92 INS 1464

92 INS 1791

93 INS 0197

93 INS 1056

Chess

Reilly

Nesnow

West

03/10/93

08/19/93

07/29/93

12/01/93

JUSTICE

Philip B. Gates v. Justice, Attorn^ General's Office

Donald Wdlaid Johnson v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

Jennii^ Michael Bostic v. Sheriffs' Ed. Sl Traning Stds. Comm.

Colin Carlisle M^ers v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Trainii^ Stds. Comm.

Jennir^ Michael Bostic v. Sheriffs' Ed. »S: Traning Stds. Comm.

Michael Charles Kershner v. Criminal Justice Ed &. Training Stds Comm
George Wilton Hawkins v. Criminal Justice Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.

Marilyn Jean Britt v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

Tim McCoy Deck v. Criminal Justice Ed. &, Training Stds. Comm.

Richard Zander Frink v. Criminal Justice Ed. &. Tranir^ Stds. Comm.
Sherri Ferguson Revis v. Sheriffs' Ed. &, Trainii^ Stds. Comm.

Mark Thomas v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Trainii^ Standards Commission

George Wilton Hawkins v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

Noel B. Rice v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Standards Comm.
Lonnie Allen Fox v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Trainir^ Standards Commission

Alarm Systems Licensing Bd. v. Eric Hoover

Alarm Systems Licensing Bd. v. Vivian Darlene Gailher

Rebecca W. Stevenson v. Criminal Justice Ed. &, Trainir^ Stds. Comm.
Lloyd Harrison Bryant Jr. v. Criminal Justice Ed & Training Stds Comm
Wdliam B. Lipscomb v. Private Protective Services Board

Private Protective Svcs. Bd. v. Fr^ D. Rector

Private Protective Svcs. Bd. v. Alan D. Simpson

William M. Medlin v. Sheriffs" Ed. Sc Training Stds. Comm.
Karl L. Halsey Sr. v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Trainir^ Stds. Comm.
Charles Freeman v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.
Shayne K. MacKinnon v. Sheriffs' Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.
Carl Michael O'Byme v. Alarm Systems Licensing Board

Gary D. Cunningham v. Private Pnotective Services Board

Private Protective Services Board v. Michael A. McDonald

Levon Braswell v. Private Protective Services Board

Dale Alvin Rcyd v. Private Protective Services Board

90 DOJ 0353 Morgan 08/30/93 8:13 NCR 1281

92 DOJ 0420 West 11/05/93 8:17 NCR 1705

92 DOJ 0656*' West 06/22/93

92 DOJ 0761 Morrison 05/10/93

92 DOJ 0829*' West 06/22/93

92 DOJ 0869 Morgan 08/11/93

92 DOJ 1081*' Morgan 07/09/93

92 DOJ 1088 Monison 03/16/93

92 DOJ 1367 Chess 04/01/93

92 DOJ 1465 Nesnow 05/28/93

92 DOJ 1756 Gray 03/23/93

93 DOJ 0151 West 04/21/93

93 DOJ 0156*' Morgan 07/09/93

93 DOJ 0174 Morrison 12/13/93

93 DOJ 0196 Morrison 08/09/93

93 DOJ 0201 Becton 07/12/93

93 DOJ 0202 Chess 05/10/93

93 DOJ 0357 Morrison 09/13/93

93 DOJ 0377 Reilly 08/31/93

93 DOJ 0458 Morrison 06/01/93

93 DOJ 0479 Mann 08/19/93

93 DOJ 0480 West 07/21/93

93 DOJ 0569 Chess 10/06/93

93 DOJ 0625 Gray 12/01/93

93 DOJ 0685 Nesnow 12/06/93

93 DOJ 0686 Nesnow 12/16/93

93 DOJ 0844 Nesnow 09/08/93 8:13 NCR 1300

93 DOJ 0845 Reilly 12/22/93

93 DOJ 0975 Gray 11/29/93

93 DOJ 1003 Morrison 12/29/93 8:20 NCR 2020

93 DOJ 1472 Morrison 12/30/93

LABOR

Greensboro Golf Center, Inc. v. Labor

Ronald Dennis Hunt v. Labor

Jeffrey M. McKJnney v. Labor

I^tor Larry C. Taylor Waisaw Church of God Labor

92 DOL 0204

92 DOL 1319

92 DOL 1333

93 DOL 0961

Nesnow 04/15/93

Moi^an 06/17/93

Morrison 06/21/93

West 11/16/93

MORTUARY SCIENCE
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AGENCY

Board oi Mortuary Science v. Triangle Pnineral Chapel, Inc.

PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Arnold O. Herring v. Public Instruction

Frances F. Davis, Parent of Joseph E. Davis v. Public Instrrjctlon

Donna Marie Snyder v. Public Instruction

Virginia Willought^ v. Craven County Boaid of Education

CASE
NUMBER

92 BMS 1 169

ALJ

Reilly

91 EDC 0858 Becton

93 EDC 0628 Mann
93 EDC 073

1

Nesnow'

93 EDC 1143 Mann

DATE OF
DECISION

04/29/93

10/20/93

07/29/93

09/16/93

12/17/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

8:4 NCR 396

i

8:20 NCR 2022

STATE PERSONNEL

Frances K. Pale v. Transportation

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans, Jules R. Hancarl,

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. WiUde, Jerry R. Evans, Jules R. Hancart.

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Ev-ans, Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrtince D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans, Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson. James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans, Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson. James D. Fishel v. Justice

Connie B. Lee v. Justice

Donald Allen Rutschman v. UNC Greensboro, Office of Human Res.

Bemie B. Kellly v. Correction

William H. Peace III v. Emplcymenl Security Commission

Brcnda G. Mitchell v. Comsclion

Walton M- Pittman v. Correction

Adolph Alexander Justice Jr. v. Motor Vehicles, Transportation

Clayton Brewer v. North Carolina State University

Sherman Daye v. Transportetion

Donnie M, Wliite v. Correction

Gregory Samuel Parker v. Environment. Health, & Natural Resources

Renee E. Shepheid v. Winston-Salem State Univeisity

£^"3 Dockery v. Human Resources

Lee R Crosl^ v. Michael Kelly, William Meyer and EHR
William Marshall Bcyd Jr. v. County Commissioners of Hyie &
Certain Board of Health Members

Grcgor\' Samuel Parker v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Resources

Willie Granville Bailt^" v.Winston-Salem State University

Maltie W. Smith v. State Agricultural and Technical University

Julia Spinks v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

James B. Price v. Transporlation

I. Gary Nailling v. UNC-CH
Deborah Barber v. Correction

Lav'eme B. Hill v. Transportation

Timmy D. Wilkins v. Transportation

Sarah W. Britt v. Human Resources. C.A. Dillon School, CPS

Charles Robinson v. Revenue

Arma L. Spencer v. Mecklenburg County Area Mental Health

Herman James Goldstein v. UNC-Chapel Hill el al.

Ronnie H. Mozingo v. Correction

Glinda C. Smith v. Wildlife Resources Commission

Cindy G. Bartlett v. Correction

William Kenneth Smith Jr v. Broughton Hospital (Human Resources)

Larry O. Nobles v. Human Resources

Beatrice Wheless v. Lise M. Miller, University Payroll Off., NC St. Univ.

Tracey Hall v. N.C. Central U, Off. of Scholaiship & Student Aid

Sondra Williams v. Wlnston-Salem State University

Willie Thomas Hope v. Transportetion

David Scales v. Correction

Suzanne Ransle^- Hill v. En\'ironmenl, Health, &. Nat. Res.

Herman James Goldstein v. UNC-Chapel Hill et al.

Charles NL Blackwelder v. Correction

Beatrice Wheless v. Lise M. Miller. University Paynall Off.. NC St. Univ.

John B. Sauls v. Wake County Health Department

F^tti G. Newsome v. Transportetion

88 OSP 0340 Morrison 05/03/93

90OSP1064** Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1065** Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1066** Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1067** Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1068** Mann 05/04/93

91 OSP 0011 Morgan 10/05/93 8:15 NCR 1498

91 OSP 0305 Chess 10/19/93

91 OSP 0344 Morrison 05/27/93

91 OSP 0572 Chess 10/12/93

91 OSP 0625 West 03/08/93 8:1 NCR 75

91 OSP 0805 Morgan 10/06/93

91 OSP 0860 Chess 07/19/93

91 OSP 0941 West 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 306

91 OSP 0951 West 05/07/93

91 OSP 1236 Morgan 04/05/93

91 OSP 1344** Chess 05/20/93

91 OSP 1391 Morgan 04/28/93

92 OSP 0010 Chess 05/03/93

92 OSP 0056 Gray 06/07/93

92 OSP 0090 Gray 08/25/93

92 OSP OISS** Chess 05/20/93

92 OSP 0285 Morrison 03/10/93

92 OSP 0298*"= Reilly 09/14/93

92 OSP 0313 Becton 04/12/93 8:4 NCR 382

92 OSP 0375 Gray 04/13/93

92 OSP 0394 Becton 04/20/93

92 OSP 0396 Chess 03/04/93

92 OSP 0431*" West 03/08/93

92 OSP 0432*^ West 03/08/93

92 OSP 0455 West 05/26/93 8:6 NCR 484

92 OSP 0553 Morgan 07/21/93

92 OSP 0584 Becton 08/16/93

92 OSP 0634 Morrison 05/04/93

92 OSP 0644 Mann 10/11/93

92 OSP 0653 Morrison 03/12/93

92 OSP 0671 Morgan 06/08/93

92 OSP 0684 Becton 05/10/93

92 OSP 0732 Mann 04/23/93

92 OSP 0744*"" Morgan 07/16/93

92 OSP 0815 Morgan 09/16/93

92 OSP 0847 Morrison 08/06/93

92 OSP 0947 Morgan 03/23/93

92 OSP 0989 Chess 06/24/93

92 OSP 0992 Reilly 03/18/93 8:2 NCR 224

92 OSP 1047 Morrison 05/04/93

92 OSP 1082 Morrison 10/15/93 8:15 NCR 1500

92 OSP 1124*"' Morgan 07/16/93

92 OSP 1142 Reilly 03/08/93 8:1 NCR 88

92 OSP 1180 Becton 09/22/93 8:14 NCR 1346

(

i
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AGENCY

Nancy McAllister v. Camden County Department of Social Services

Gilbert Jaeger v. Wake County Alcoholism Treatment Center

Joseph Henry Bishop v. Environment, Health. & Natural Res.

Glenn D. Fuqua v. Rockingham County Boaid of Social Services

Dorothy D. Johnson v. Correction

Willie L. Hudson V. Correction

Brenda K. Campbell v. Emplcyment Security Commission

Christie L. Guthrie v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

Sharon Reavis v. Crime Control & Public Safety

Alphonso Walker v. Human Resources

James B. Price v. Transportation

Jerry L. Jones v. N.C.S.U. Physical Plant

Mattie W. Smith v. State Agricultural and Technical University

Gina Rence Cox v. UNC Chapel Hill

Roland W. Holden v. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Betty Bradsher v. UNC-CH
Anthony M. Little v. Human Resources, John Umstead Hospital

Jannie C. Sykes v. Emplcyment Security Commission

Jamal Al Bakkat-Morris v. Glenn Sexton (DSS)

Rebecca Beauchesne v. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Brenda Kay Barnes v. Human Resources

Larry G. Riddle v. Correction. Division of Prisons

Stevie E. Dunn v. Polk Youth Center

Bufoid D. Viercgge Jr. v. N.C. Stale University, University Dining

Dorothy Ann Harris v. Correction

Brenda B. Miles v. University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Deborah J. Whitfield v. Caswell Center

Karen Canter v. Appalachian State University

Terry Steve Brown v. Iredell County Health Department

Barbara A. Johnson v. Human Resourc-es

Carrie P Smith v. County of Stanly

George W. Allen v. Human Resources. Correction, Agri & EHNR
William G. Fisher v. St Bd of Ed, Albermade City Schools &; Bd of Ed

Grace Jean Washir^lon v. Caswell Center

Ralph Snipes v. Transportation and Correction

Clifton E. Simmons v. Correction

Willie L- James v. Caswell Center

Irvii^ S. Rodgers v. C.A. Dillon, Division of Youth Services

Richard E. Howell v. Correction, Wayne Correctional Center

Brian Dale Earnhardt v. Stale Highway I^trol

F.R. "Don" Bowen v. Human Resources

Michael L. Pegram v. Correction

Jerry D. Doss Sr v. Correction

Odessa Parker v. Durham County Depl. of Social Services

Debbie Renee Robinson v. Correction

Sharon Brandon v. Dorothea Dix Hospital

Shaw Boyd v. Correction

Ida Gaynell Williams v. Wilson County Dept. of Social Services

Linda R. Wharton v. N.C. A & T University

Michael L. Pegram v. Correction

Ralph W. Bureham v. Transportation

Claudius S. Wilson v. Human Resources

Edward D. Day Jr.. John D. Warlick, Gary W. Beecham v. Correction

Edward D. Day Jr., John D. Warlick, Gary W. Beecham v. CoiTection

Carrie Lee Gardner v. Human Resources

Alvin Lamonle Brcedon v. OPC Mental Health

Edvard D. Day Jr., John D. Warlick, Gary W Beecham v. Correction

Hubert L. Holmes v. Transportation

Vemell Ellis Turner v. NC A & T Police Dept, NC Agricultural Tech U
Everette E. Newton v. University of NC at Chapel Hill

Constance Smith-Rogers v. Human Resources

Timothy E. Blevins v. UNC A/K/A Western Carolina University

Xanlippe Blackwill v. Human Resourc-es, Murdoch Center

Wayne Bradley Johnson v. State Computing Center

Harold Kovolenko v. Lynn C. Phillips. Director of Prisons

Daniel Thomas Wheeler. Kye Lee Wheeler v. Caldwell County

Department of Social Services

Terry Johnson v. Correction

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
NUMBER AI4 DECISION REGISTER CITATION

92 0SP 1185 Chess 09/07/93

92 OSP 1204 Reilly 05/10/93

92 OSP 1243 Reilly 03/05/93

92 OSP 1318 Morrison 08/03/93

92 OSP 1395 Nesnow 10/29/93

92 OSP 1468 Beeton 05/26/93

92 OSP 1505 Morrison 03/17/93

92 OSP 1555 Beeton 05/31/93

92 OSP 1606 Morrison 08/19/93 8:12 NCR 1163

92 OSP 1615 Chess 12/16/93

92 OSP 1657 Mann 03/19/93

92 OSP 1661 Chess 07/06/93

92 OSP 1691*'^ Reilly 09/14/93

92 OSP 1692 BeeIon 10/18/93

92 OSP 1715 Beeton 08/30/93 8:13 NCR 1292

92 OSP 1733 Beeton 03/30/93

92 OSP 1734 Beeton 09/01/93

92 OSP 1738 Gray 10/25/93

92 OSP 1741 Beeton 03/24/93

92 OSP 1767 Beeton 10/01/93

92 OSP 1768 Morrison 03/17/93

92 OSP 1774 Gray 04/26/93

92 OSP 1789 Beeton 04/19/93

92 OSP 1796 Morrison 05/27/93

93 OSP 0013 Morrison 09/15/93

93 OSP 0033 Morrison 09/10/93

93 OSP 0064 West 09/20/93

93 OSP 0079 Reilly 06/15/93

93 OSP 0101 Morgan 08/06/93

93 OSP 0103 Morrison 03/17/93

93 OSP 0109 Beeton 04/01/93

93 OSP 01 11 Reilly 04/16/93

93 OSP 0134 Beeton 04/20/93

93 OSP 0153 Morgan 06/03/93

93 OSP 0157 Mann 12/13/93

93 OSP 0159 Morrison 04/21/93

93 OSP 0171 Morgan 05/27/93

93 OSP 0177 West 04/21/93

93 OSP 0245 Gray 08/25/93

93 OSP 0251 Reilly 07/27/93

93 OSP 0253 Morgan 08/06/93

93 OSP 0275** Reilly 06/28/93

93 OSP 0287 Gray 05/17/93

93 OSP 0366 Nesnow 12/15/93

93 OSP 0383 Nesnow 06/07/93

93 OSP 0419 Gray 12/06/93

93 OSP 0438 Morgan 11/12/93 8:18 NCR 1838

93 OSP 0440 Gray 12/01/93

93 OSP 0456 Chess 09/22/93

93 OSP 0472** Reilly 06/28/93

93 OSP 0493 Chess 10/15/93 8:16 NCR 1558

93 OSP 0498 Gray 12/15/93

93 OSP 0522*" Morrison 12/14/93 8:19 NCR 1922

93 OSP 0523*" Morrison 12/14/93 8:19 NCR 1922

93 OSP 0537 Reilly 12/21/93

93 OSP 0551 Gray 11/23/93

93 OSP 0567*"^ Morrison 12/14/93 8:19 NCR 1922

93 OSP 0572 Reilly 08/17/93

93 OSP 0577 Beeton 11/03/93

93 OSP 0589 Reilly 12/07/93

93 OSP 0593 Reilly 12/21/93

93 OSP 0604 Morgan 09/29/93

93 OSP 0632 Reilly 09/01/93

93 OSP 0694 Chess 10/11/93

93 OSP 0697 Nesnow 09/08/93

93 OSP 0752 Nesnow 09/16/93

93 OSP 0757 Gray 10/06/93
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AGENCY

David Henry v. Corrcclion

Kathleen E. Conran v. New Bern Police Dept., City of New Bern; and

City of New Bern Police Civil Service Boaid

Berlon Hamm Jr. v. Wake County Child & Family Services

John R. Woods Sr. v. Wake County Child & Family Services

Coleman F. Tyrance Jr. v. Wake County Child & Family Services

John Augusta Page v. Wake County Child &, Family Services

Thomas James v. Wake County Child & Family Services

James E. Hargrove v. Wake County Child & Family Services

Ricky Harrell v. Wake County Child &. Family Services

Bruce Creecy v. Wake County Child &. Family Services

Dana Phillips v. Administrative Office of the Courts

William G. Beam v. Transportation

Mary U. Rote v. Carteret Community Action, Inc. &. Carteret Cly.

Terry P. Chappell v. Correction

Willie David Moore v. Correction (Piedmont Correctional Inst.)

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

93 OSP 0789 Gray 11/29/93

93 OSP 0797 Morrison 09/21/93

93 OSP 0809 Becton 10/27/93

93 OSP 0810 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0811 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0812 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0813 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0814 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0815 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0816 Becton 11/02/93

93 OSP 0822 West 09/09/93

93 OSP 0828 West 12/29/93

93 OSP 0831 Morrison 12/29/93

93 OSP 0834 Nesnow 10/11/93

93 OSP 1043 Nesnow 12/03/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

i

STATE TREASURER

Juanila M, Braxton v. Bd- of Trustees/Teachers' & St Emp Ret Sys

Herman D. Brooks v. Bd of Trustees/Teachers' & St Emp Ret Sys

Henrietta Sandlin v. Teachers" &. State Emp Comp Major Medical Plan

Frances Billingsley v. Bd/Trustees/Teaoheis' & St. Emp. Ret. S>ys.

Dennis WiUoughby v. Bd./Tnislees/Teacheis' &. St. Emp. Ret. Sys.

Mary Alyce Carmichael v. Bd/Trustecs/Teachers' & St Emp Ret Sys

Shirley M. Smith v. Bd. /Trustees/Teachers' &. St. Emp. Ret. Sys.

W, Rex Perry v. Bd/Trustees/Teacheis' & St Emp Ret Sys

Rory Dale Swiggett v. Bd./Trustees/N.C. Local Govll. Emp. Ret. Sys.

Catherine D. Whitji^ v. Bd./Trustee.s/Teacheis &. St. Emp. Ret. Sys.

91 DST0017 West 09/07/93

91 DST0566 Gray 04/13/93

92 DST 0305 Morgan 04/12/93

92 DST 0996 West 09/20/93

92 DST 1439 West 09/20/93 8:14 NCR 1356

92 DST 1506 Chess 04/08/93

92 DST 1776 Reilly 11/18/93 8:18 NCR 1829

93 DST 0133 West 08/12/93 8:11 NCR 992

93 DST 0198 West 09/28/93 8:14 NCR 1360

93 DST 0727 Reilly 11/18/93

TRANSPORTATION

Yates Construction Co. , Inc. v. Transportation

American S&P Auto v. Commissioner, Div. of Motor Vehicles

William G. Oglesty v. Division of Motor Vehicles

92 DOT 1800 Morgan 03/25/93

93 DOT 1070 Morrison 12/02/93

93 DOT 1375 Morrison 12/29/93
{

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HOSPITALS

Constance V. Graham v. UNC Hospital

Jacqueline Florence v. UNC Hospitals

93 UNC 0269

93 UNC 0355

Morgan

Becton

07/20/93

06/16/93

{
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATrVE HEARINGS

93 CPS 0652

MARK A. McCRIMMON,
Petitioner,

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION
COMMISSION,

Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

This matter was heard before Brenda B. Becton, Administrative Law Judge, on November 4, 1993,

in Carthage, North Carolina.

The Petitioner filed a Petition for a Contested Case Hearing with the Oflice of Administrative

Hearings on June 23, 1993. The Petitioner later filed a Prehearing Statement in which he alleged that the

Respondent actions in denying him compensation were improper in that the Petitioner could not have possibly

foreseen that the proprietor of a convenience store would utilize deadly force to prevent him from fleeing from

the scene of the theft. The undersigned agrees that the use of deadly force was unforeseeable. Therefore,

the Petitioner's misconduct was not a proximate cause of his injury and he is entitled to receive compensation

from the Crime Victims Compensation Fund.

APPEARANCES

Petitioner: CUNNINGHAM, DEDMOND, PETERSEN & SMITH, Attorneys at Law, Southern

Pines, North Carolina; Bruce T. Cunningham, Jr. appearing.

Respondent: Robert T. Hargett, Associate Attorney General, North Carolina Department of

Justice, Raleigh, North Carolina.

ISSUE

Did the Commission properly deny the Petitioner's claim based on the Petitioner's contributory

misconduct?

STATUTES AND RULES AT ISSUE

N.C. Gen. Stat. §15B- 11(b)

STIPULATIONS

1. It is stipulated that in lieu of the testimony of Frederick Eugene Sineath, Mark A.

McCrimmon, Charlie Lemmonds, and Wesley White, the parties stipulate to the admission into evidence of

the transcript of the probable cause hearing in the case of State of North Carolina v, Frederick Eugene Sineath

taken at 11:25 a.m., Thursday, 28 May 1992, and the depositions of Mark A. McCrimmon and Frederick

Eugene Sineath taken 24 September 1993.

2. It is stipulated that all parties have been correctly designated. It is further stipulated that there

is no question as to misjoinder or nonjoinder of parties.

8:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 14, 1994 2016



COXTESTED CASE DECISIONS

EXHIBITS

The following exhibits offered by the Respondent, were received in evidence:

Rl. Transcript of probable cause hearing taken on 28 May 1992.

R2. Deposition transcript of Mark Anthony McCrimmon taken on September 24, 1993.

R3. Deposition transcript of Frederick Eugene Sineath taken on September 24, 1993.

R4. Plaintiffs Answers to Defendant's First Set of Interrogatories, Request for Admissions, and Request

for Production of Documents.

Based upon the official documents in the file, sworn testimony of the witnesses, and other competent

and admissible evidence, the undersigned makes the following:

FINDLNGS OF FACT

Stipulated Facts

1. The Petitioner filed a timely Application for Compensation with the North Carolina Crime Victims

Compensation Commission on 12 December 1992.

2. The Petitioner's claim was subsequently denied by the Respondent based upon a theory of

contributory misconduct, and the Petitioner filed a timely Petition for a Contested Case Hearing with

the Office of Administrative Hearings on or about 22 June 1993.

Adjudicated Facts

3. On March 20, 1992, the Petitioner was in a convenience store, the Hilicrest Trading Post, and was

intoxicated.

4. The Petitioner took $20.00 bill from another customer's hand.

5. The Petitioner had a drink bottle in his left hand and used his right hand to pull open the exit door.

6. The exit door opens to the inside and swings toward the right.

7. The proprietor of the convenience store, Frederick A. Sineath ordered the Petitioner to stop and then

shot the Petitioner in the back as he was opening the exit door

8. The Petitioner fell in the doorway.

9. Mr. Sineath called 91 1 and the Petitioner was transported to a hospital for treatment.

10. As a result of his being shot, the Petitioner is paralyzed.

11. Mr. Sineath has been charged with assault in Moore County Superior Court.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the undersigned Administrative Law Judge makes the

following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Mr. Sineath's use of deadly force to prevent the Petitioner's flight from the premises was criminally
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injurious conduct.

2. The Petitioner's snatching of the twenty dollars and attempting to exit the store with the money and

not paying for the bottle of soda was unlawful and, therefore, misconduct of the type that could bar

an award from the Crime Victim's Compensation Fund.

3. The North Carolina Crime Victims Compensation Act provides that "[a] claim may be denied and an

award of compensation may be reduced upon a finding of contributory misconduct by the claimant

. . .
." N.C. Gen. Stat. §15B-ll(b) (1987). The question of what constitutes "contributory

misconduct" was addressed by the North Carolina Court of Appeals in Evans v^ N.C. Department

of Crime Control and Public Safety . 101 N.C. App. 108, 398 S.E.2d 880 (1990). The Court of

Appeals held that "[c]onsistent with principles of tort law, in order for claimant's misconduct to be

contributory it must combine with criminal action on the part of another to become a 'real efficient

and proximate cause of the injury.'" (Citation omitted).

4. The North Carolina Supreme Court has defined proximate cause as:

a cause which in natural and continuous sequence, unbroken by any new and

independent cause, produced the plaintifl^s injuries, and without which the

injuries would not have occurred, and one from which a person of ordinary

prudence could have reasonably foreseen that such a result, or consequences

of a generally injurious nature, was probable under all the facts as they

existed.

Hairston v, Alexander Tank & Equipment Co. , 310 N.C. 227, 33, 311 S.E.2d 559, 565 (1984)

(emphasis added).

5. The issue revolving around foreseeability in this case is best summarized by the parties different

phrasing of the issue: Petitioner contends that the issue is "Was the action of Mr. Sineath a

reasonably foreseeable result of Mr. McCrimmon's conduct?"; Respondent contends the issue is "Was

it reasonably foreseeable to the petitioner that his misconduct could result in some injury?"

6. In order for the Petitioner's misconduct to be contributory, it must combine with criminal action by

Mr. Sineath to become a "real, efficient and proximate cause of the injury." Evans v^ N.C.

Department of Crime Control and Public Safety , 101 N.C. App. 108, 398 S.E.2d 880 (1990); Crouse

v. Woodruff^, 48 N.C. App. 712, 721, 269 S.E.2d 706,708 (1980).

7. The Court in Evans held, quoting from Adams v. Mills , 312 N.C. 181, 193, 322 S.E.2d 164, 172

(1984), "The test of foreseeability as an element of proximate cause does not require that the actor

should have been able to foresee the injury in the precise manner in which it actually occurred."

Neither is it necessary for the Petitioner to foresee the events which are merely possible, but only

those which are reasonably foreseeable. Id.

8. Foreseeability is that which a person of ordinary prudence would reasonably have foreseen as the

probable consequence of his actions. Bogle v^ Duke Power Co. , 27 N.C. App. 318, 219 S.E.2d 308,

cert. den. 289 N.C. 296, 222 S.E.2d 695 (1967).

9. General principles of tort law state that a person is not entitled to use deadly force to defend personal

property. Thus, neither Mr. Sineath nor the patron were entitled to shoot the Petitioner and it is not

reasonable to hold the Petitioner responsible for being able to foresee that others than himself would

also act in a manner that is beyond what the law allows.

10. It was not reasonably foreseeable that Mr. Sineath would use deadly force to prevent the Petitioner

from fleeing his premises with the patron's twenty dollars and the bottle of soda. Even though it is

not necessary that the Petitioner have foreseen the exact nature of the harm that might befall him, it
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is necessary that he or any reasonable person in his position have been able to foresee a category of

harm. It was foreseeable that either the patron or the store keeper might have given chase, called the

police, or made some effort to prevent the Petitioner's flight. What was not reasonably foreseeable

was that deadly force which was beyond what the law would have allowed would have been utilized

to prevent the Petitioner from escaping.

1 1

.

Since Mr. Sineath's actions were not foreseeable, the Petitioner's misconduct was not a proximate

cause of the injury he sustained and pursuant to the provisions of the Victims Compensation Act and

Evans , supra, the Commission cannot use the Petitioner's misconduct as a basis for denying or

reducing the Petitioner's claim.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

The North Carolina Crime Victims Compensation Commission will make the Final Decision in this

contested case. It is recommended that the Commission adopt the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
set forth above and allow the Petitioner's claim.

DISCUSSION

Although the Victims Compensation Act is primarily intended to provide some compensation to

innocent victims of crime, it nevertheless provides that compensation should only be denied to an individual

whose misconduct is a proximate cause of the injury sustained. Thus, the legislature apparently contemplated

that there would be some instances where a person guilty of misconduct would, nevertheless, be entitled to

compensation as a victim. While the Petitioner because of his own wrong doing is not a very sympathetic

victim, application of the basic principles of tort law to the facts as the Victims Compensation Act directs one

to do, leads to the conclusion that his own misdeed does not bar recovery in this instance.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the Final Decision on the Oflice of Administrative

Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7447, in accordance with North Carolina General

Statutes section 150B-36(b).

NOTICE

Before the Commission makes the FINAL DECISION, it is required by North Carolina General Statutes

section 150B-36(a) to give each party an opportunity to file exceptions to this RECOMMENDED DECISION,

and to present written arguments to those in the agency who will make the final decision.

The agency is required by North Carolina General Statutes section 150B-36(b)to serve a copy of the

Final Decision on all parties and to furnish a copy to the Parties' attorney of record.

This the 20th day of December, 1993.

Brenda B. Becton

Administrative Law Judge
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF EDGECOMBE

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

93 DOJ 1003

LEVON BRASWELL,
Petitioner,

NORTH CAROLINA PRIVATE PROTECTIVE
SERVICES BOARD,

Respondent.

PROPOSAL FOR DECISION

The above-entitled matter was heard before Fred G. Morrison Jr. , Senior Administrative Law Judge,

on December 28, 1993, in Raleigh, North Carolina.

APPEARANCES

The Petitioner appeared pro se. The Respondent was represented by Attorney Charles F. McDarris.

ISSUE

Was the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board (hereinafter Board) correct in denying the

application of Petitioner for unarmed guard registration for lack of good moral character?

STATUTES AND RULES IN ISSUE

G.S. 74C-1 et seq.

12 NCAC 7D .0701 et seq.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioner's application for unarmed guard registration has been denied by the Board because

investigation revealed that he was convicted on April 24, 1985. for assault with a deadly weapon

inflicting serious injury. TTiis conviction was the result of a spat with his wife's grandmother. He
served several months in prison before being paroled from which he was satisfactorily discharged.

He has been rehabilitated.

2. Petitioner served in the armed services and was given an honorable discharge. He attends church

regularly and has a good reputation among associates.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

12 NCAC 7D .0703(3) requires that an applicant for registration be of good moral character. That

rule also provides that a conviction within the last five years of a crime involving violence shall be prima facie

evidence of a lack of good moral character. Petitioner's conviction was more than five years ago. Based on

this evidence, it is concluded that Petitioner does not lack good moral character.

Based upon the foregoing Conclusions of Law, the undersigned makes the following:
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PROPOSAL

That the denial of Petitioner's application for unarmed guard registration be reversed. fl

NOTICE

All parties to this action have the right to file exceptions and proposed finding of fact and to present

oral and written arguments to the Private Protective Services Board before it reaches a final decision. Any

party desiring to exercise this right should contact the Board promptly.

This the 29th of December, 1993.

Fred G. Morrison Jr.

Senior Administrative Law Judge

{

i
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF CRAVEN

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

93 EDC 1143

VIRGINIA WILLOUGHBY,
Petitioner,

CRAVEN COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION,
Respondent.

FINAL DECISION

For Petitioner:

Tliis contested case was heard in the Craven County Courthouse, New Bern, North Carolina, on

December 3, 1993, before Julian Mann, III, Chief Administrative Law Judge. By stipulation, all pending

prehearing motions were merged into the determination of the contested case hearing.

APPEARANCES

Jack Hansel

Attorney at Law
Pamlico Sound Legal Services

P. O. Box 7283

Greenville, North Carolina 27835

Attorney for Petitioner

David S. Henderson

Henderson, Baxter & Alford, P. A.

P O. Drawer U
New Bern, North Carolina 28563

Attorney for Respondent

HTTNESSES

Virginia Willoughby, Petitioner

None

EXHIBITS

For Respondent:

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

For Petitioner: Petitioner's Exhibits #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, and #7

For Respondent: Respondent's Exhibits #1, #2, #3, #4, and #5

ISSLTES

1. Whether Petitioner has standing to maintain this action.

2. Whether the Craven County Board of Education is obligated to provide Danyun Walker with

a free and appropriate education through an appropriate individualized education plan pursuant to State and

federal law.
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3. Whether the Craven County Board of Education is obligated to temporarily enroll Danyun

Walker in its school system and provide him with a free and appropriate education during the pendency of

proceedings to resolve the issue of his ultimate entitlement to the Respondent's educational services.

4. Whether Danyun Walker currently is a resident or a domiciliary of Craven County, North

Carolina.

STIPULATIONS

The Stipulations are contained in the Prehearing Order filed with the Administrative Law Judge

immediately prior to the contested case hearing on December 3, 1993. On the record, the parties stipulated,

without objection, that the time for filing the Final Decision was extended up to and including Friday,

December 17, 1993.

Based upon the Stipulations and the greater weight of the admissible evidence, the undersigned makes

the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter

of this contested case pursuant to Chapters 115C and 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes and the

Individuals With Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seg.

2. Virginia Willoughby is a citizen and resident of Vanceboro, Craven County, North Carolina,

and her grandson, Danyun Walker has been living in her home with her and her husband. Otto Willoughby,

since June, 1993.

3. Danyun Walker is 16 years of age and as of April 1993 was receiving special education

services in the Duval County, Florida public schools in a program for the profoundly mentally handicapped.

Danyun is non-verbal and has been evaluated as profoundly mentally handicapped. (Petitioner's Exhibit #4)

4. In August, 1993, the Petitioner attempted to enroll Danyun Walker in the Craven County

Public Schools for the current school year, after Danyun came to Craven County to live with Petitioner and

her husband. (Respondent's Exhibits #2 and #3; Prehearing Stipulation #3c)

5. The Respondent, through its employees and agents, refused to enroll Danyun in its schools

except on condition that Mrs. Willoughby pursue legal guardianship or court ordered custody of Danyun.

(Respondent's Exhibit #1)

6. Danyun Walker is not being provided with educational services by the Respondent Board of

Education. (Prehearing Stipulation #3d)

7. Respondent Craven County Board of Education is a local educational agency receiving monies

pursuant to the federal Individuals With Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. Section 14(X) et seq .

(Prehearing Stipulation #3e)

8. Respondent is the agency responsible for providing special education services in the Craven

County Schools pursuant to the North Carolina Special Education Act, G.S. 115, Article 9 (hereinafter

referred to as the "State Act"). (Prehearing Stipulation #3e)

9. Danyun Walker's parents are not domiciliaries of Craven County nor the State of North

Carolina, nor do they reside in the State of North Carolina.

10. Based on the uncontroverted and credible testimony of Petitioner, Virginia Willoughby,

Danyun Walker is living with Petitioner with the consent of Danyun's mother, Queenie Walker, and Queenie
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Walker wishes for Danyun to receive a free and appropriate education from the Respondent Board of

Education.

11. Based on the uncontroverted and credible testimony of Petitioner Virginia Willoughby,

Danyun Walker is not living in Craven County merely for the purpose of attending school there but is living

with Mrs. Willoughby because Petitioner and Danyun's mother believe Mrs. Willoughby to be better able to

provide for Danyun's needs in general. It is Danyun's mother's intention that Danyun remain with Petitioner

indefinitely. Danyun's mother is not presently as capable of caring for her son in Florida because of the

absence of her husband from the home and pending graduation of Danyun's 17 year old brother.

12. Based on the uncontroverted and credible testimony of Petitioner Virginia Willoughby, she

is providing for the daily needs of Danyun Walker, including feeding him, clothing him, and assisting with

his activities of daily living and she is acting as a parent for him.

13. Petitioner is now acting as parent for Danyun.

Based upon the foregoing Stipulations and Findings of Fact, the undersigned makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1

.

The Office of Administrative Hearing has jurisdiction over the person and subject matter of

this contested case pursuant to Chapters 115C and 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes and the

Individuals With Disabilities Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seq.

2. Danyun Walker is a child with a disability or disabilities for purposes of IDEA and is a child

with special needs pursuant to the State Act.

3. IDEA provides for procedural safeguards including the right to an impartial due process

hearing for the parents or guardian of a child with a disability. The implementing regulations for IDEA at

34 CFR 300.13 define "parent" for purposes of proceedings under that law to include: "a person acting as

a parent." Therefore, Petitioner has standing to maintain this action pursuant to IDEA and its implementing

regulations.

4. The State Act provides at G.S. 115C-116 for the right of review of proposed decisions

regarding the educational needs of a child with special needs and it provides this right to the "parent,

guardian, or surrogate parent of the child. The State Procedures Governing Programs and Services for

Children with Special Needs at Section .1501(G), defines the word "parent" to include "a person acting as

a parent of a child." Therefore, Petitioner has standing to maintain this action pursuant to the State Act and

regulations.

5. Pursuant to the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended, 29 U.S.C. A. 794 (hereinafter. Section

504), Danyun Walker has a right not to be discriminated against because of handicap or disability in public

education programs receiving federal financial assistance.

6. The State Act at G.S. 115C-110(i) provides "[e]ach local educational agency shall provide

free and appropriate special education and related services ... for all children with special needs who are

residents of, or whose parents or guardians are residents of, the agency's district..." It is clear from a reading

of this section and related statutory provisions, that it does not impose an obligation that a child with special

needs be "domiciled" in the local educational agency's district to be entitled to a free appropriate special

education and related services. The Act only requires that the child be a resident of the district.

7. IDEA at 20 U.S.C. A. Section 1414(a)(1) requires local educational agencies to provide

assurances that all children with disabilities, "residing within the jurisdiction of the local educational agency

are identified, located, and evaluated" etc., and further at Section 1414(a)(5) requires assurances by local

educational agencies to establish an individualized education program for each child with a disability.
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8. The implementing regulations for Section 504 at 34 C.F.R. 104.33(a) provide:

"[a] recipient that operates a public elementary or secondary education program shall

provide a free appropriate public education to each qualified handicapped person who is in

the recipient's jurisdiction, regardless of the nature of severity of the person's handicap."

The official comments following this regulation at page 430 and 431 of the 1992 version of the CFR
state in part:

"Under Sec. 104.33(a), a recipient is responsible for providing a free appropriate

public education to each qualified handicapped person who is in the recipient's jurisdiction.

The word "in" encompasses the concepts of both domicile and actual residence
"

9. Under North Carolina case decisions, the term residence is generally taken to mean one's

place of actual abode, whether temporary or permanent as opposed to "domicile" which denotes one's

permanent, established home. Although a child's domicile may be at the home of his parent, he may also

have a residence elsewhere.

10. Danyun Walker is a resident of Craven County, North Carolina, for purposes of this

proceeding since his present actual place of abode is located there and the Petitioner and Danyun's mother

intend that he reside in Craven County indefinitely. It is not necessary to determine whether or not he is a

domiciliary of Craven County, North Carolina for purposes of this proceeding.

1 1

.

Since Danyun Walker is a resident of Craven County, North Carolina, the Respondent Board

of Education is obligated to provide Danyun Walker with a free and appropriate education and related services

through an appropriate individualized education plan pursuant to Chapter 1 15C of the North Carolina General

Statutes, IDEA, and Section 504.

12. IDEA at 20 U.S.C.A. Section 1415(e)(3) provides that during the pendency of proceedings

such as these relating to the educational rights of a child with disability "if applying for initial admission to

a public school" the child "shall, with the consent of the parents or guardian, be placed in the public school

program until all such proceedings have been completed." The North Carolina Procedures Governing

Programs and Services for Children with Special Needs also require at .1517 that in proceedings such as this

"[i]f the complaint involves an application for initial admission to public school, the child, with the consent

of the parents, must be placed in a public school until the completion of all the proceedings."

13. Appendix C to Part 300 of Title 34 of the Code of Federal Regulations provides some

interpretation of the regulations implementing IDEA. There at page 76 of the CFR revised as of July 1, 1993,

in answer to the question "5. For a child with a disability receiving special education for the first time, when

must an lEP be developed — before placement or after placement," it says in part,

...the lEP must be developed before placement.. The above requirement does not

preclude temporarily placing an eligible child with a disability in a program as part of the

evaluation process -- before the lEP is finalized -- to aid in determining the most appropriate

placement for the child. It is essential that the temporary placement not become the final

placement before the lEP is finalized. In order to ensure that this does not happen, the State

might consider requiring LEAs to take the following actions:

a. Develop an interim lEP for the child that sets out the

specific conditions and timelines for the trial placement...

b. Ensure that the parents agree to the interim placement

before it is carried out, and that they are involved throughout the process of

developing, reviewing, and revising the child's lEP.
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c. Set a specific timeline (E.G. 30 days) for completing the

evaluation and making judgments about the most appropriate placement for

the child.

d. Conduct an lEP meeting at the end of the trial period in

order to finalize the child's lEP. . .

.

14. Consent for Danyun's admission to Respondent's public school system has been given by both

Petitioner and Danyun's mother. Danyun Walker is therefore entitled to immediate placement in the public

school program of the Respondent whether or not the Final Decision herein is appealed for further review.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the undersigned makes the

following:

FINAL DECISION

1. Respondent is charged with the statutory duty to provide Danyun Walker with a free

appropriate public education and related services pursuant to an individual education program.

2. Respondent Board of Education is obligated to immediately place Danyun Walker in its public

school program and provide him with an appropriate temporary educational program as is reasonable during

the pendency of any further appeal or review of this decision, or during any needed evaluation of Danyun for

the purpose of development of his individual education program. Respondent Board of Education should be

guided in its development of an interim lEP for Danyun Walker by the interpretation found in Appendix C
to Part 300 of title 34 of the Code of Federal Regulations, as found in Conclusion of Law #13.

3. This cause is retained for further orders as may be necessary.

NOTICE

In order to appeal this Decision, the person seeking review must file a written notice of appeal with

the North Carolina Superintendent of Public Instruction. The written notice of appeal must be filed within

thirty (30) days after the person is served with a copy of this Decision. G.S. 115C-116(li) and (i).

This the 17th day of December, 1993.

Julian Mann, III

Chief Administrative Law Judge
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

1 he North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two of these,

titles and chapters, are mandatory'. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title. Each major

department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been assigned a title number

Titles are fiirther broken dov,^ into chapters which shall be numerical in order. The other two,

subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Acupuncture 1

2 Agriculture Architecture 2

3 Auditor Auctioneers 4

4 Commerce Barber Examiners 6

5 Correction Certified Public Accountant Exammers 8

6 Council of State Chiropractic Exammers 10

7 Cultural Resources General Contractors 12

8 Elections Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

9 Governor Dental Examiners 16

10 Human Resources Dietetics/Nutrition 17

11 Insurance Electrical Contractors 18

12 Justice Electrolysis 19

13 Labor Foresters 20

14A Cnme Control & Public Safety Geologists 21

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

Resources Landscape Architects 26

16 Public Education Landscape Contractors 28

17 Revenue Mantal and Family Therapy 31

18 Secretary of State Medical Exammers 32

19A Transportation Midwifery Joint Committee 33

20 Treasurer Mortuary Science 34

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Nursing 36

22 Administrative Procedures Nursing Home Administrators 37

23 Community Colleges Occupational Therapists 38

24 Independent Agencies Opticians 40

25 State Personnel Optometry 42

26 Administrative Hearings Osteopathic Examination & Reg. (Repealed) 44

Pharmacy 46

Physical Therapy Examiners 48

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors 56

Real Estate Appraisal Board 57

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work Certification 63

Speech & Language Pathologists & Audiologists 64

Therapeutic Recreation Certification 65

Veterinary' Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1993 - March 1994)

Pages Issue

1
- 92 1

- April

93 - 228 2 - April

229 - 331 3 - May
332 - 400 4 - May
401 - 455 5 - June

456 - 502 6 - June

503 - 640 7 - July

641 - 708 8 - July

709 - 792 9 - August

793 - 875 10 - August

876 - 1006 11 - September

1007 - 1184 12 - September

1185 - 1307 13 - October

1308 - 1367 14 - October

1368 - 1512 15 - November

1513 - 1568 16 - November

1569 - 1719 17 - December

1720 - 1849 18 - December

1850 - 1941 19 - January

1942 - 2031 20 - January

Unless otherwise identified, page references in this Index are to proposed rules.

ADMINISTRATION
Administration's Minimum Criteria, 5

Auxiliary Services, 1724

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority, 232

State Employees Combined Campaign, 1008

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Civil Rights Division, 370

General, 366

Hearings Division, 1480

Rules Division, 367

AGRICULTURE
Aquaculture, 1212

N.C. State Fair, 506

Plant Industry, 513, 1212

Standards Division, 1212

Veterinary Division, 515, 1212

COMMERCE
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 408, 711, 1310

Banking Commission, 408, 798, 1312

Cemetery Commission, 810

Credit Union Division, 1724
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Savings Institutions Division: Savings Institutions Commission, 461

State Ports Authority, 811, 1570

COMMUNITV' COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 1527

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 279, 571, 962, 1405, 1862

Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan, 882

Departmental Rules, 465

Environmental Management, 210, 556, 658, 797, 893, 1254, 1748, 1858

Health Services, 283, 335, 425, 465, 572, 709, 762, 966, 1098, 1417, 1663, 1782, 1850

Marine Fisheries, 28, 568, 1573

Mining: Mineral Resources, 829

NPDES Permit. 710

Radiation Protection, 1662

Soil and Water Conservation Commission, 214, 1322

Vital Records, 1525

Wildlife Resources Commission, 32, 663, 831, 965, 1255, 1409, 1613, 1723, 1773, 1957

Wildlife Resources Commission Proclamation, 1851

Zoological Park, 337

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 4. 407, 460, 795, 880, 1371, 1514, 1569, 1722, 1942

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 7A, 1185

Chapter 150B, 1187

GO\TRNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 1, 93, 229, 332, 401, 456, 641, 793, 876, 1007, 1209, 1308, 1368, 1513, 1720

HUIVL^N RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 815, 1372

Blind, Services for the, 884

Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Services for the, 650

Facility Services, 94, 883, 1014. 1215, 1312, 1519, 1725

Medical Assistance, 25, 414, 553, 712, 888, 1316, 1742, 1943

Medical Care Commission, 644, 1312

Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 7, 413, 516, 1086, 1217,

1852

Social Services Commission, 237, 733, 1091, 1376, 1743

INSLHANCE
Actuarial Services. 555, 657, 1249, 1321, 1403

Agent Services Division, 1399

Engineering and Building Codes Division, 1248

Financial Evaluation Division, 1093, 1317, 1946

Life and Health Division, 1094, 1318, 1400, 1956

Medical Database Commission, 463, 737, 1956

Property and Casualty Division, 1400

Special Services Division, 1096

i
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JUSTICE
Alarm Systems Licensing Board, 761

Attorney General, Office of the, 28

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, 253

Criminal Justice Standards Division, 241

Departmental Rules, 1096

Private Protective Services Board, 252, 890

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission, 738

LABOR
OSHA, 97, 231, 278, 892, 1523, 1744

LICENSEVG BOARDS
Architecture, 43

Certified Public Accountant Examiners, 1418

Chiropractic Examiners, 1806

Cosmetic Art Examiners, 969, 1526

Dental Examiners, State Board of, 763, 1960

Electrolysis Examiners, Board of, 841, 1457

Foresters, Registration for, 674

Geologists, Board of, 285

Landscape Architects, 1256

Medical Examiners, Board of, 591, 1458, 1685, 1965

Mortuary Science, Board of, 45, 342, 971, 1461

Nursing, Board of, 1463

Nursing Home Administrators, 346

Occupational TTierapy, 1469

Opticians, Board of, 1261

Pharmacy, Board of, 47, 354, 1326

Physical Therapy Examiners, 53, 767

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, 360

Practicing Psychologists, Board of, 844, 1807, 1880

Real Estate Appraisal Board, 1976

Real Estate Commission, 53, 364, 1996

Refrigeration Examiners, 1148, 1526

Social Work, Certification Board for, 428, 1808

TTierapeutic Recreation Certification Board. 1328

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
List of Rules Codified, 61, 290, 432, 593, 769, 845, 1264, 1535, 1687, 1881

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary Education, 427, 470, 1873

SECRETARY OF STATE
Land Records Management Division, 1792

STATE PERSONNEL
Office of State Personnel, 286, 972, 1262, 1472

STATE TREASURER
Local Government Commission, 1795

Retirement Systems, 337, 1146
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TAX REVIEW BOARD
Orders of Tax Review, 503, 1516

TRANSPORTATION
Highways, Division of, 669, 836

Motor Vehicles, Division of, 1145, 1875

i
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at

one-half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter

New Total

Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

1 -53 Full Code

1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A

15A

15A

15A

15A

)9/93

1 -38

1 -24

25 -52

1 -4

1 - 2

3 -20

1 - 2

3 -4

1 -4

1 - 12

1 -9

1 -4

I - 2

3A - 3K
3L- 3R

3S - 3W
4- 6

7

8 -9

10

II - 14

15 - 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34-41
42

43 - 51

1 - 19

1 - 12

1 -6

7

8 - 16

1 - 11

1 - 2

3 -6

7

8 -9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

BCD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Govemor/Lt. Governor

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor

OSHA
Labor

Crime Control and

Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management

EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

1 90.00

2 75.00

3 75.00

4 10.00

5 45.00

6 90.00

7 60.00

8 30.00

9

60.00

10 10.00

11 45.00

12 30.00

13 90.00

14

45.00

15 30.00

16 30.00

17 30.00

18 30.00

19 30.00

20 60.00

21 45.00

22 75.00

23 90.00

24 30.00

25 60.00

26 45.00

27 90.00

28 90.00

29 90.00

30 30.00

31 45.00

32 45.00

33

45.00

34 90.00

35 45.00

36 45.00

37 30.00

38 45.00
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Volume Title Chapter

New
Subject Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

39 15A

15A

16

17

17

18

19A

20

21

21

21

22

23

24

25

26

11-18 EHNR 90.00

19-26 EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

1 - 6 Education 30.00

1 - 6 Revenue 75.00

7-11 Revenue 60.00

1 - 8 Secretary' of State 30.00

1 - 6 Transportation 90.00

1 - 9 Treasurer 45.00

1-16 Licensing Boards 75.00

17-37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards

1 - 2 Administrative Procedures 75. (X)

1 - 3 Community Colleges 10.00

1 - 3 Independent Agencies 10.00

1 State Personnel 60.00

1 - 4 Administrative Hearings 10.(30

Subtotal

(North Carolina subscribers add 6% sales tax)

Total

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

51

52

53

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADIMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLEVA 27611-7447
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

ORDER FORM

D Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issus

{$105.00)/year subscription) (N.C. Subscribers please add sales tax.)

D Renew North CaroU)ia Register

D Check Enclosed D Please bill me

Please make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

NAME ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

PHONE

(Return to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1. Present Address
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CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME
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CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
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