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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMTNTSTRATTVF, rODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER TEMPORARY RULES

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and

institutions.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and five dollars (SI 05.00) for 24 issues.

Individual issues may be purchased for eight dollars (S8.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings,

P. 0. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N. C. 27611-7447.

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions in

G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines thai the findings meet

the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1, the rule is entered into the NCAC. If

the Codifier determines that the fmdings do not meet the criteria,

the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may supplement its

findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an additional review

or the agency may respond that it will remain with its inir-

position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the rule into the

NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either when the

Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the sixth

business day after the agency resubmits the rule without change.

The temporary rule is m effect for the period specified in the rule or

180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the

same time the temporary rule is filed with the Codifier.

ADOPTION AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutor>' authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may request

a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments; the text

of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the reason

for the proposed action; a reference to the statutory authority for the

action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North

Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can lake

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule thai

differs substantially from ihe proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment
period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

the rule with ihe Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).
A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 busmess

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication in the North Carolina Administrative Code

(NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication Ln the NCAC.

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,CX)0 letter size, single spaced pages of

material of which approximately 35% of is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

150B-21.18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by
chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents (S2.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents (SO. 15) per each additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in

excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly
with replacement pages. A one year subscription lo ihe

full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars

(S750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased

with supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication are available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC should be

directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1, 1986.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Office of

Administrative Hearings, ATTN: Ru es Division, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 -7447, (919)

733-2678.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 31

STATE COMMISSION ON NATIONAL
AND COMMUNITY SERVICE

WHEREAS, the increasing realization of the

importance of volunteerism and civic participation,

the growing recognition of community service as

a means of community and state problem-solving,

and the revival of national service as an avenue for

addressing many of the country's unmet social,

environmental, educational, and public safety

needs have revealed new options for enhancing the

quality of life for North Carolinians; and

WHEREAS, promoting the capability of North

Carolina's people, communities, and enterprises to

work collaboratively is vital to the long-term

prosperity of this state; and

WHEREAS, building and encouraging communi-

ty service as an integral part of the formula to our

growth as a state and as a nation requires coopera-

tive efforts by the public sector, the private sector,

the nonprofit sector, and partnerships among these

sectors; and

WHEREAS, a State commission is necessary to

advise and assist in the development of a compre-

hensive, statewide service plan for promoting

volunteer involvement and citizen participation in

North Carolina;

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in

me as Governor by the Constitution and laws of

North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section L Establishment.

The State Commission on National and Commu-
nity Service ("Commission") is hereby established

to encourage community service and volunteer

participation as a means of community and state

problem-solving; to promote and support voluntary

citizen involvement in government and private

programs throughout the state; to develop a long-

term, comprehensive vision and plan for action for

community service initiatives in North Carolina;

and to serve as the state's liaison to national and

state organizations which support its mission.

Section 2. Membership.

A. Members of the Commission shall be ap-

pointed by the Governor on a bipartisan basis. It

shall consist of no fewer than 15 and no more than

25 members. Not more than 50 percent of the

Commission plus one member may be from the

same political party. To the extent possible, it

shall be balanced according to race, ethnicity, age,

disability, and gender. In establishing the Com-
mission, the Governor shall appoint one-third of

the initial members for a term of one year; one-

third for a term of two years; and one-third for a

term of three years. Following expiration of these

initial terms, all appointments shall be for three-

year terms. Members may not serve two consecu-

tive terms.

B. The Commission shall include:

(1) An individual with expertise in the educa-

tional, training, and developmental needs

of youth, particularly disadvantaged

youth

.

(2) An individual with experience in promot-

ing the involvement of older adults in

service and volunteerism.

(3) A representative of community-based

agencies or community-based organiza-

tions within the State.

(4) The Superintendent of the Department of

Public Instruction, or his designee.

(5) A representative of local governments in

the State.

(6) A representative of local labor organiza-

tions in the State.

(7) A representative of business.

(8) An individual between the ages of 16 and

25 who is a participant or supervisor in a

volunteer or service program.

(9) A representative of the Corporation for

National and Community Service de-

scribed in Section 122(a) of the United

States Public Law 103-82 ("PL."), as a

non-voting, ex officio member.

C. The Commission may include:

(1) Members selected from among local

educators.

(2) Members selected from among experts in

the delivery of human, educational,

environmental, or public safety services

to communities and persons.

(3) Representatives of Native American

tribes.

(4) Members selected from among out-of-

school youth or other at-risk youth.

(5) Representatives of entities that receive

assistance under the Domestic Volunteer

Service Act of 1973 (42 U.S.C. 4950 et

seq.)

D. Not more than 25 percent of the Commission

members may be employees of state government,

though additional state agency representatives may

sit on the Commission as non-voting, ex officio
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EXECUTIVE ORDER

members.

E. Vacancies among the members shall be filled

by the Governor to serve for the remainder of the

term.

Section 3. Officers.

The Officers of the Commission shall be Chair,

Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. All officers

shall be elected by the voting Commission mem-

bers from among their ranks and shall serve for a

term of one year. Vacancies in any offices shall

be filled with an election by the Commission for

the remainder of the unexpired term.

a. Chair: It shall be the responsibility of

the Chair to preside at all meetings of the

Commission; to appoint all committee

chairs; to assist all chairs in the planning

of committee activities; to supervise all

chairs as to the management of commit-

tee plans; to authorize and execute the

wishes of the board; to call all special

meetings with the approval of the

Governor's Office of Citizen Affairs

Director; and to be an ex officio member

of all committees.

b. Vice-Chair: The Vice-Chair shall assist

the Chair, and, in the absence of the

Chair, perform those duties. The Vice-

Chair shall accept special assignments

from the Chair and perform other duties

as delegated by the Commission.

c. Secretary: The Secretary shall be

responsible for the minutes of the

meetings of the Commission and the

Executive Committee; shall keep an

updated list of names, addresses, and

telephone numbers of all Commission and

Standing Committee members; and shall

keep a record of attendance at meetings.

d. Treasurer: The Treasurer shall oversee

the preparation of all funding

applications. The Treasurer shall also

report on finances to the Commission at

each meeting.

Section 4. Governor's Voluntary Advisory

Council.

The Commission is the successor group to the

Governor's Voluntary Advisory Council, formed

by Martin Administration Executive Order 139.

Therefore, all its functions and records shall be

transferred to the Commission. That Council is

hereby disbanded and the Executive Order, as

amended by Order 185, is hereby rescinded.

Section 5. Standing Committees.

The standing Committees shall advise and assist

the Commission in carrying out its duties and

responsibilities. Committee chairs shall be

appointed by the Commission Chair from among

Commission members, but the committees'

members need not be limited to Commission

members. The Commission Chair, in consultation

with the Committee Chairs, shall name the

committees' members. Standing Committees of

the Commission shall include:

a. Youth Voice: The Standing Committee

on Youth Voice shall have no more than

fifteen members between the ages of 16

and 25. It responsibilities shall include

developing and recommending policies

and programs to the Commission as well

as bringing the perspective of young

people to all Commission discussions and

decisions.

b. Volunteer Recognition: The Standing

Committee on Volunteer Recognition

shall assist with the implementation of

Governor's awards relating to exemplary

volunteer service in the State; work with

individual communities to develop local

recognition programs; and explore

additional opportunities to recognize

individuals and organizations addressing

community needs through volunteer

service.

c. Evaluation: The Standing Committee on

Evaluation shall evaluate each program

funded by the Corporation for National

and Community Service (described in the

RL. 103-82) and state organizations

which support the purpose of the

Commission to assure their on-going

quality.

d. Community Collaboration: The Standing

Committee on Community Collaboration

shall promote communication and

information sharing between state and

local private and public initiatives to meet

community needs.

e. Resource Development: The Standing

Committee on Resource Development

shall develop and implement strategies to

secure local, state, and federal resources

to reinforce, expand, and initiate quality

community programs across the state.

Section 6. Meetings.

The Commission shall meet at least quarterly.

Failure to attend at least 75 percent of called
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EXECUTIVE ORDER

meetings in any calendar year shall result in

removal from the Commission. A quorum shall

consist of a simple majority of voting members.

Section 7. Duties.

The Commission shall, in the performance of its

tasks and functions:

a. Ensure that its funding decisions meet all

federal and state statutory requirements.

b. Recommend innovative, creative,

statewide service programs to increase

volunteer participation in all age groups

and community-based problem-solving

among diverse participants.

c. Develop and implement a centralized,

organized system of obtaining

information and technical support

concerning volunteerism and community

service recruitment, projects, training

methods, materials, and activities

throughout North Carolina. Share such

information and support upon request.

d. Promote strong interagency collaboration

as an avenue for maximizing resources

and provide that model on the State level

.

e. Provide public recognition and support of

individual volunteer efforts and

successful or promising private sector

initiatives and public/private partnerships

which address community needs.

f. Stimulate increased community awareness

of the impact of volunteer services in

North Carolina.

g. Utilize local, state, and federal resources

to reinforce, expand, and initiate quality

service programs.

h. Assist the Governor's Office of Citizen

Affairs in the planning and

implementation of volunteer programs.

i. Serve as the state's liaison and voice to

appropriate national and state

organizations which support its mission.

j. Prepare a national three-year service plan

for the State which follows state and

federal guidelines.

k. Prepare the financial assistance

applications of the State under Sections

117B and 1301 of the PL. 103-82.

1. Assist in the preparation of the

application of the North Carolina

Department of Public Instruction for

assistance under Section 113 of the PL.
103-82.

m. Prepare the State's application under

Section 130 for the approval of service

positions such as the national service

educational award described in Subtitle D
of the PL. 103-82.

n. Make technical assistance available to

enable applicants for assistance under

Section 121 to plan and implement

service programs; and to apply for

assistance under the federal service laws

such as the PL. 103-82.

o. Assist in the provision of health care and

child care benefits under Section 140 to

participants in national service programs

that receive assistance under Section 121

of the PL. 103-82.

p. Develop a state system for the

recruitment and placement of participants

in programs that receive assistance under

the national service laws and disseminate

information concerning national service

programs that receive such assistance or

approved national service positions.

q. Administer the State's grant program in

support of national service programs

(using assistance provided to the State

under Section 121 of the PL. 103-82)

including selection, oversight, and

evaluation of grant recipients.

r. Coordinate its functions (including re-

cruitment, public awareness, and training

activities) with any division of the federal

ACTION program or the Corporation for

National and Community Services out-

lined in the PL. 103-82.

Section 8. Administration and Expenses.

The Governor's Office of Citizen Affairs shall

provide necessary administrative and staff support

services to the Commission. The Commission is

authorized to accept funds and in-kind services

from other state and federal entities, as authorized

by the North Carolina Executive Budget Act. No
per diem allowance shall be paid to members of

the Commission. Members of the Commission

and staff may receive necessary travel and subsis-

tence expenses in accordance with state laws.

These expenses shall be paid from federal funds

where possible. If federal funds are not available,

these expenses may be paid only if the Governor's

Office has sufficient funds.

This Order is effective immediately.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina, this the 1st day

of October, 1993.
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IN ADDITION

1 his Section contains public notices that are required to be published in the Register or have been fl

approved by the Codifier of Rules for publication.

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

JPT:GS:CEI:tlb Voting Section

DJ 166-012-3 P.O. Box 66128

93-2847 Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

October 12, 1993

DeWitt F. McCarley, Esq.

City Attorney

P. O. Box 7207

Greenville, North Carolina 27835-7207

Dear Mr. McCarley:

This refers to four annexations [Ordinance Nos. 2631, 2637-2639 (1993)] and their designation to

districts of the City of Greenville in Pitt County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General

pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your

submission on August 12, 1993.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the specified changes. However, we note

that Section 5 expressly provides that the feilure of the Attorney General to object does not bar subsequent

litigation to enjoin the enforcement of the changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section

5 (28 C.ER. 51.41).

Sincerely,

James P. Turner

Acting Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Steven H. Rosenbaum

Chief, Voting Section

{
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF
HUMAN RESOURCES

J\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Division of Aging intends to

adopt rules cited as 10 NCAC 22T.0101, .0201 -

.0205; 22U .0101 - .0102, .0201 - .0205; 22V

.0101, .0201 - .0203; 22W .0101 - .0102, .0201 -

.0205.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p.m. on November 16, 1993 at the Division of

Aging, 693 Palmer Dr , Room 127, Raleigh, N. C.

27626-0531.

ixeason for Proposed Action:

10 NCAC 22T.0101, .0201 - .0203 - Implementa-

tion of policy for providing health screening

services for older persons.

10 NCAC 22U .0101 - .0102, .0201 - .0205 -

Implementation of policy for providing senior

companion services to older persons.

10 NCAC 22V. 0101, .0201 - .0203 - Implementa-

tion of policy to provide a volunteer development

program for older persons.

10 NCAC 22W .0101 - .0102, .0201 - .0205 -

Implementation of policy to provide home health

services to older persons.

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be

received by the Director of the Division of Aging

through December 1 , 1993. Verbal comments will

be heard at the public hearing.

CHAPTER 22 - OFFICE FOR AGING

SUBCHAPTER 22T - HEALTH SCREEIVING
SERVICES

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE OF SERVICE

.0101 SCOPE OF HEALTH SCREENING
SERVICES

As used in this Subchapter, the following defini-

tion of Health Screening Services shall apply.

Health Screening Services consist of:

(1) an evaluation of personal and family

medical history information:

(2) testing for diseases or health problems so

as to detect problems or abnormalities or

to identify factors that may make a per-

son at risk for a health condition or

problem: and

(3) health counseling and referral for those

individuals identified to be at risk of

health problems or to have abnormalities.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

SECTION .0200 - SERVICE PROVISION

.0201 PROVISION OF HEALTH
SCREENING SERVICES

(a) Health Screening Services shall:

(1) be provided at facilities that are able to

ensure individual privacy while con-

ducting screening activities;

(2) include, at a minimum, basic screenings

of height and weight, blood pressure.

and visual acuity;

(3) include a medical history questionnaire

for participants; and

(4) provide individualized counseling to

participants.

(h) Medical treatment may not be provided as

part of the health screening service.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0202 ELIGIBILITY FOR HEALTH
SCREENING SERVICES

Persons eligible for Health Screening Services

shall include persons 60 years of age or older:

(1) who are at the highest risk of having or

developing health problems;

(2) who have not sought primary medical

care: and

(3) who may be at risk of developing health

problems.

Statutory Authority G.S 143B- 181. 1(c).

.0203 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS
All personnel providing services shall meet

relevant licensure and certification requirements

established by North Carolina General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S 143B-181.1(c).

SUBCHAPTER 22U - SENIOR COMPANION

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE OF SERVICE
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.0101 SCOPE OF SENIOR COMPANION
Primary Service. Senior Companion programs

serve a dual purpose:

(1) the Senior Companion program provides

part-time stipended volunteer community

service opportunities for low-income

persons aged 60 and over; and

(2) the Senior Companion program provides

one-on-one assistance to adults who have

developmental disabilities or other medi-

cal or social problems or both who would

benefit from companionship, therefore

preventing isolation.

Statutory^ Authority G.S. 1438-181.1(c).

.0102 DEFINITION OF VOLUNTEER
STATION

Volunteer Station is a public agency, private

non-profit organization, or proprietary health care

agency or organization that accepts responsibility

for assignment and supervision of Senior Compan-

ions.

Statutory^ Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

SECTION .0200 - SERVICE PROVISION

.0201 SENIOR COMPANION ELIGIBILITY
Older adults 60 years of age or older, whose

income is below 125 percent of the federally

established poverty level, may apply to become

Senior Companions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0202 LETTER OF AGREEMENT
(a) Volunteer stations managing in-home place-

ments shall develop a Letter of Agreement with the

Senior Companion and the individual receiving

Senior Companion services authorizing and de-

scribing the Senior Companion's activities in each

home.

(b) The individual receiving Senior Companion

services, or his or her legal representative(s), and

the volunteer station staff" must sign the Letter of

Agreement.

Statutory Authority^ G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0203 HOURS
Senior Companions must serve 20 hours of

volunteer service per week.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0204 TRAINING AND COMPETENCY
Senior Companions must receive at least 40

hours of pre-service orientation and four hours of

monthly in-service training from the volunteer

station.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0205 TERMINATION
Terminating individuals receiving Senior Com-

panion services, for reasons such as increased

medical needs, family or friends assuming the

caregiving role, or the relationship between the

Senior Companion and the individual receiving

Senior Companion services is no longer benefiting

either individual, must be made jointly by the

project and the volunteer station stafl".

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

SUBCHAPTER 22V - VOLUNTEER
PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE OF SERVICE

.0101 SCOPE OF VOLUNTEER PROGRAM
DEVELOPMENT SERVICE

Volunteer Program Development is the develop-

ment of a systematic process of utilizing volunteers

of all ages to assist in providing services to older

adults within the community.

Statutory Authority G.S 143B-181.1(c).

SECTION .0200 - SERVICE PROVISION

.0201 NEEDS ASSESSMENT
(a) Each agency providing Volunteer Program

Development must conduct or update, or both, an

annual needs assessment to determine the need for

volunteers to assist in providing services to older

adults within the community.

fb) If the needs assessment indicates the need for

volunteers, then the agency shall:

(1) develop and maintain a file of potential

volunteer opportunities;

(2) design written job descriptions for each

volunteer assignment which include job

title, job res ponsibilities, required

training or orientation, or both regard-

ing the assignment, date and time of

assignment, location of assignment,

extent of commitment. level of

on-the-job supervision needed, and

name of supervisor;
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£6}

m
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(10)

iiii

(12)

promote volunteer involvement through

use of the media and other public

relations techniques;

interview volunteers for assessment of

skills and assignments;

develop written procedures regarding .

acceptance, denial, or termination of

volunteers;

negotiate time commitments from each

volunteer for each assignment;

establish and maintain a system of

recording volunteer hours;

provide orientation and training for

volunteers prior to or at time of

assignment:

provide for supervision of volunteers;

monitor and evaluate volunteer

assignment and performance;

provide formal recognition of

volunteers; and

develop and maintain personnel files on

all volunteers.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c).

.0202 ADEQUACY OF INSURANCE
Agency's providing Volunteer Program

Development shall provide liability insurance

coverage for volunteers providing volunteer duties.

Statutory Authority G.S 143B- 181.1(c).

.0203 DOCUMENTATION
(a) Each agency providing Volunteer Program

Development must maintain a log of active

volunteers and their assignments.

(b) The log must include the volunteer's name,

date of enrollment, and volunteer assignment.

Statutory Authority G.S 143B-181. 1(c).

SUBCHAPTER 22W - HOME HEALTH
SERVICES

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE OF SERVICES

.0101 SCOPE OF HOME HEALTH
SERVICES

As used in this Subchapter, the following

definition of Home Health Services shall apply:

(1) Home Health Services provide skilled

medical services to individuals in need of

such services with the goal of

maintaining or improving the individual's

health status within the individual's

home.

(2) Allowable Home Health Services include:

skilled nursing, physical therapy, speech

therapy, occupational therapy, medical

social services, and nutrition care.

(3) Home Health Services shall be prescribed

by a physician.

Statutory Authority G.S 131E-142; 143B-181.1(c).

.0102 DESCRIPTION OF HOME HEALTH
SERVICES

As used in this Subchapter, the following

descriptions of Home Health Services shall apply

for older adults:

(I) Nursing Services are offered by a

licensed home care agency and are

provided by a registered nurse or a

licensed practical nurse under the

supervision of a registered nurse, and in

accordance with the North Carolina

Nursing Practice Act, G.S. 90, Article

9A and the plan of care.

Physical Therapy is ofFered by a licensed

home care agency and is performed by a

licensed physical therapist or a licensed

physical therapy assistant under the

supervision of a licensed physical

therapist and in accordance with G.S. 90,

Article 18B, Physical Therapy, and the

plan of care.

12}

14]

£5}

(3) Occupational TTierapy is offered by a

licensed home care agency and provided

by licensed occupational therapists or

occupational therapy assistants as defined

in G.S. 90, Article 18D, Occupational

Therapy, and in accordance with the plan

of care.

16}

Speech Therapy is offered by a licensed

home care agency and provided by a

North Carolina licensed speech therapist

as defined in G.S. 90, Article 22, North

Carolina Licensure Act for Speech and

Language Pathologists and in accordance

with the plan of care.

Medical Social Services are offered by a

licensed home care agency and is

provided by a master's degree social

worker or by a medical social worker

assistant under the supervision of a

master's degree social worker and ]n

accordance with the plan of care.

Nutrition Care Services are ofiFered by a

licensed home care agency and provided

by a licensed dietitian or nutritionist ]n
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accordance with the Dietetics and

Nutrition Practice Act as defined in G.S.

90. Article 25 and in accordance with

physician's signed orders.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142; 143B-181. 1(c).

SECTION .0200 - SERVICE PROVISION

.0201 ELIGIBILITY FOR HOME HEALTH
SERVICES

Individuals eligible for services must be 60 years

of age or older and m need of physician prescribed

medical care which they or their caregiver are

unable to adequately provide and which can be

provided safely in their own home.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142: 143B-181.1(c).

.0202 SERVICE DELIVERY
(a) Home Health Services are skilled health

services which shall be provided on an intermittent

basis to clients in need of medical care which can

be provided in their own home.

(b) All personnel providing services including

nursing. physical therapy. speech therapy,

occupational therapy, medical social services or

nutrition care activities shall assure that all efforts

complement one another and support the care plan.

(c) Service delivery requirements include:

(1) Documenting each client contact in

client record;

(2) Making an assessment of each client

upon referral;

(3) Assisting with the development of a

care plan which is authorized by the

physician responsible for the client's

medical care;

(4) Reassessing clients and reviewing the

plan of care according to policies and

procedures of the home health agency;

(5) Notifying the physician responsible for

the client's medical care of any

changes, such as the client's physical or

environmental conditions, that suggest

a need to alter the plan of care;

(6) Administering drugs and treatments

only as directed by the physician

responsible for the client's medical

care;

(7) Signing of written or verbal orders or

both by the physician responsible for

the client's medical care within two

weeks of issuing the order(s). The

registered nurse shall record verbal

orders provided by the Physician re-

sponsible for the client's medical care

involving drugs and nursing treatments;

(8) Verbal orders for allied health services

other than nursing shall be given to

either a licensed nurse or the appropri-

ate health care professional as defined

in 10 NCAC 3L .0901. recorded and

signed by the person receiving the

orders and countersigned by the physi-

cian responsible for the client's medical

care within two weeks of issuing the

order(s);

(9) Reviewing all medications a client may
be taking to identify possible ineflFective

drug therapy or adverse reactions,

significant side effects, drug allergies,

contraindicated medication, and report-

ing any problems to the physician re-

sponsible for the client's medical care;

and

(10) The availability of a qualified individu-

al, such as a physician or public health

nurse, at all times during operating

hours.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142; 1438-181. 1(c).

.0203 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS
(a) Skilled nursing and other therapeutic services

shall be provided under the supervision and direc-

tion of a physician or a registered nurse.

(b) Staff qualifications shall be documented in

the personnel records and include:

(1) documentation of a current North Caro-

lina license to perform the home health

service provided;

(2) performance evaluations; and

(3) required health examinations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142; 143B-181.1(c).

.0204 CLIENT RECORDS
(a) Records shall be kept for each Home Health

Services client and shall include the following

admission data:

(1) identification data (name, telephone

number, date of birth, sex, marital

status, social security number):

source of referral;

name of physician(s) responsible for the

client's care;

admission and discharge dates from

hospital or other institutions when

applicable;

12}

£31

14]
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15}

£6}

assessment of home environment;

names of family members, next of kin

or legal guardian or both;

£7} a copy of the Client's Bill of Rights and

documentation showing that each client

has received a copy of his rights and,

responsibilities; and

(8) a signed Advanced Directive, if submit-

ted by the client,

(b) Records shall also include the following

service data:

ill

(21

(31

i4i

15}

16}

client's diagnosis:

physician's orders for pharmaceuticals

and medical treatments

;

initial assessment by appropriate profes-

sionah

a record of all services provided with

entries dated and signed by the individ-

ual providing the service;

identification of problems, the establish-

ment of goals and proposed interven-

tions;

discharge summary which includes an

overall summary of the services provid-

ed by the agency and the date and

reason for discharge. When a specific

service to a client is terminated and

other services continued, there shall be

documentation of the date and reason

for terminating the specific service; and

(7) evidence, as documented in the client

records, of coordination of services

when the client is receiving more than

one home care service,

(c) Clients' records shall be retained for at least

five years from the date of the most recent dis-

charge of the client.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142; 143B-181.1(c).

.0205 QUALITY ASSURANCE
Home Health Services shall be provided by an

agency licensed as a home care agency in North

Carolina in accordance with the North Carolina

Home Care Licensure Act G.S 131E-142.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131E-142; 143B-181.1(c).

******************

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Social Services Commission

intends to adopt rules cited as 10 NCAC 35E
.0322, 35F .0201. .0301 - .0308, 42A .0601 -

.0608; amend 35D .0303, 35E .0104 - .0106,

.0308; 41F .0704. 42J .0003, 42Q, .0014, 42R

.0204, 46G .0214, 46H .0104, 47B .0404 and
repeal 35E .0306, 35F .0101 - .0103, .0106 -

.0108 and 42A .0308 - .0309.

Ihe proposed effective date of these actions are:

February 1, 1994

10 NCAC 41F . 0704

10 NCAC 46G .0214

10 NCAC 46H .0104

March 1. 1994

10 NCAC 35F . 0201 . . 0301 -
. 0308

10 NCAC35D .0303

10 NCAC42Q .0014

10 NCAC42R .0204

10 NCAC 35F .0101 - .0103

10 NCAC 35F . 0106 -
. 0108

10 NCAC 35E .0104 - .0106

10 NCAC 35E .0308

10 NCAC 42J .0003

10 NCAC 35E .0306

10 NCAC 42A .0308 - .0309

10 NCAC 35E .0322

10 NCAC 42A .0601 - .0608

July 1. 1994

10 NCAC47B .0404

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 1. 1993 at the Albemarle

Building. 9th Floor Conference Room. 325 North

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

10 NCAC 35D .0303, 35F .0101 - .0103, .0106 -

.0108, .0201, .0301 - .0308, 42Q .0014, 42R

.0204 - To establish service cost-sharing require-

ments which will replace fee for services require-

ments.

10 NCAC 35E .0104 - To update the definition of

State's Established Income.

10 NCAC 35E .0105 - To update rule language

which references family income andfamily size; to

remove child day care services, for which eligibili-

ty is now governed by 10 NCAC 46H .0200. and;

to correct a typographical error.

10 NCAC 35E .0106, .0308, 42J .0003 - To

reflect that Foster Care Services for Adults has a

new title. Adult Placement Services; and to narrow
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the scope ofHealth Support Services as placements

of adults in residential health care facilities wll be

required in rules governing Adult Placement

Services.

10 NCAC 35E .0306, 42A .0308 - .0309 - To

eliminate the current rules governing Foster Care

Serxices to Adults since these requirements will be

included in Adult Placement Ser\ices.

10 NCAC 35E .0322, 42A .0601 - .0608 - To

establish rules governing Adult Placement Services

administered by county departments of social

services.

10 NCAC 41F .0704 - Effective July 1, 1993 the

Health Services Commission repealed APA rules

requiring inspections of family foster homes.

Therefore, the Division of Social Serxices is re-

questing that county social workers monitor ten

items on an Enxironmental Conditions Checklist

which has been prepared by the Child Welfare

Standards staffofthe NC Division of Social Servic-

es.

10 NCAC 46G .0214 - To comply with new state

legislation: G.S ] 1 0-10].].

10 NCAC 46H .0104 - To enable county depart-

ments ofsocial services to determine the priority in

which children eligiblefor day care subsidy will be

served when finds are insufficient to serx'e all

eligible children.

10 NCAC 47B .0404 - This rule is proposed at the

request of the Department of Human Resources in

order to better serve the rest home population.

(comment Procedures: Comments may be pre-

sented in writing anytime before or at the public

hearing or orally at the hearing. Time limits for

oral remarks may be imposed by the Commission

Oiairman. Any person may request copies of

these rules by calling or xwiting Mary- Beach

Shuping. Division of Social Serxices. 325 North

Salisbury Street. Raleigh, NC 27603, (919) 733-

3055.

CHAPTER 35 - FAMILY SERVICES

the following:

(1) The individual has foiled to cooperate

with the agency in determining (or rede-

termining) eligibility;

(2) The individual cannot be located to allow

for determination (or redetermination) of

eligibility;

(3) The individual has been determined to be

not eligible for the services requested on

the basis that he does not meet (or be-

cause of changing circumstances, no

longer meets) the conditions of eligibility

for the program funding sources under

which the service is provided or the

definition of the target population for

receipt of the service;

(4) The service is not available in the county

in which the individual lives;

(5) There is reasonable certainty that the

service will not be available in sufficient

time to ensure its prompt provision, as

set forth in Section .05(X) of this Sub-

chapter;

(6) The agency has exhausted its funds for

the provision of the service for that pro-

gram year;

(7) The individual has notified the agency

that he no longer wants or needs the

service;

(8) The agency has determined that the indi-

vidual is no longer able to avail himself

of the service because he has moved to

another county or has been admitted to

an institution;

(9) The individual has refused to pay re

quired fees;

(9) f4#)The individual has failed to utilize

the service or to cooperate in service

delivery;

(10) f44^The individual fails to meet any other

conditions set forth in policies governing

delivery of the service.

Statutorx Authoritx- G.S. 143B-153.

SUBCHAPTER 35D - CONDITIONS
FOR PROVISION OF SERVICES

SECTION .0300 - ELIGIBILITY'

DETERMINATION

SUBCHAPTER 35E - SOCIAL
SERVICES BLOCK GRANT (TITLE XX)

SECTION .0100 - CONDFIIONS
OF ELIGIBILriY

.0303 BASIS FOR DENIAL OR
TERMINATION OF SERVICES

Reasons for denial of an application for services

and reasons for the termination of services include

.0104 DEFINITION OF ESTABLISHED
INCOME

The established income is the median income

150% of the Federal Poverty Level of 1992 set by
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the federal government and printed in Volume 44,

57 . No. 37 3r, page 5456 of the Federal Register

of 1979. 1992 adopted by referenoc aooording to

G.S. 150B 1 4 (b) . A copy of page 5456 of Volume

57. No. 31 of the Federal Register may be ob-

tained from the Planning and Information Section.

N.C. Division of Social Services. 325 N. Salisbury

Street. Raleigh. NC 27603. (919) 733-4530. at a

cost of ten cents ($.10) at the time of adoption of

this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0105 MAXIMUM EVCOME LEVELS
FOR SERVICES

(a) Sixty Percent of Established Income. An
individual whose income unit's gross monthly

family income is less than 60 percent of the state's

established income, adjusted according to family

size of the income unit as defined in Rule .0103 of

this Section , may be eligible for child day care

services, transportation services- or federally

funded abortion and sterilization resource items of

health support services funded under the Social

Services Block Grant (Title XX) aed if available in

the county in which he lives.

(b) Eighty Percent of Established Income. An
individual whose income unit's gross monthly

family income is as much as 60 percent but less

than 80 percent of the state's established income,

adjusted according to family size of the income

unit as defined in Rule .0103 of this Section , may

be eligible for federally funded abortion and

sterilization resource items of health support

services if available in the county in which he

lives, the following service or resource items if

available in the county in which he lives:

f4^ child day care services ; and

{3) federally funded abortion and stcriliza

tion resource items of health support

services.

{e) One hundred Percent of Estoblished Income.

An individual whose gross monthly family income

is as much as 80 percent but does not exceed 100

percent of the state's established income, adjusted

according to family size, may be eligible for child

day care services if it is available in the county in

which he lives.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a)b..

.0106 WITHOUT REGARD TO
INCOME STATUS

Individuals may be determined eligible for the

following services on the basis of need for the

service and without regard to their income:

(1) adoption services;

(2) foster care services for adultst placement

services;

(3) foster care services for children;

(4) protective services for adults;

(5) protective services for children;

(6) child day care services, transportation

services, and federally funded abortion

and sterilization resource items of health

support services funded under the Social

Services Block Grant (Title XX) that are

needed in conjunction with protective

services may be provided without regard

to income during the first 12 months that

protective services are provided if such

service is available in the county in

which the individual lives and the agency

has received a report pursuant to G.S.

7A-543 or G.S. 108A-102, has initiated

protective services in accordance with

program policies, and has determined that

such other services are needed to support

the provision of protective services;

(7) delinquency prevention (including resi-

dential care);

(8) employment and training support services

(including transportation and resource

items);

(9) health support services (including trans-

portation and resources for the aging,

disabled or handicapped but excluding

sterilization and abortion resource items);

(10) individual and family adjustment services

(including camping component);

(11) problem pregnancy (including residential

care);

(12) community living services;

(13) day care services for adults;

(14) housing and home improvement services

(including resource items);

(15) in-home aide services (levels I through

IV) as described in Subchapter 10 NCAC
42H .0903 and .0904^^ which js incorpo-

rated by reference, including subsequent

amendments and editions. Copies of

these Rules may be obtained from the

Office of Administrative Hearings. Post

Office Drawer 27447. Raleigh, NC
27611-7447. (919) 733-2678. at a cost of

two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for up

to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15) for

each additional page at the time of the

adoption of this Rule;

(16) personal and family counseling;
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(17) preparation and delivery of meals; and

(18) residential treatment for the emotionally

disturbed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a)b.

SECTION .0300 - SERVICE
DEFINITIONS

.0306 FOSTER CARE SERVICES
FOR ADULTS

\€t)—Primary Service.—Foster care services for

adults means assistance directly to, or on behalf

of, aging, blind or disabled individuals and other

adults in need of such service in finding licensed

substitute homes suitable to the particular needs of

such individuals when they are unable to remain in

their own homes or when such service is needed to

enable adults to move out of institutional core.

Services include assessment with the individual, or

his family, or both, considering the appropriate

ness of and need for initial or continued place

mcnt;—determining the need and arranging for

appropriate services to support the social, emotion

al, and physical well being of the individual during

the placement including counseling to help the

individual attain and maintain an adequate ps^'cho

social adjustment; and counseling and casework

services to support and strengthen the individual's

relationship with his own family.—Services also

include recruitment.—study and development of

family—eare

—

homes—a&d

—

group—eare

—

facilities,

evaluation and periodic re evaluation to determine

if the home or facility' meets the needs of the

individual s it serves, and consultation and technical

assistance to help family care homes and group

care facilities to expand and improve the quality' of

care provided.

{b)

—

Components. None.

(c) Resource Items.—None.

(d) Target Population. Aging, blind, or disabled

individuals (18 years or older) or other adults

needing to find licen sed sub stitute homes when

unable to stay in own home or moving out of

institutional care.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0308 HEALTH SUPPORT SERVICES
(a) Primary Service. Health support services

means helping individuals and families to recog-

nize health needs including those related to alcohol

and drug abuse; to cope with incapacities and

limited functioning resulting from aging, disability,

or handicap and to choose, obtain and use resourc-

es and mechanisms of support under Medicaid

(including the early and periodic screening, diag-

nosis and treatment program), medicare, maternal

and child health programs and from other public or

private agencies or providers of health services;

counseling and planning, as appropriate, with

individuals, families, and health providers to help

assure continuity of treatment and the carrying out

of health recommendations; and helping individu-

als to secure admission to medical institutions and

children to secure admission to other health-related

facilities as needed; and family planning services

as described in (2) of this Rule. At county option,

transportation, when not otherwise available, may

be provided as necessary to access needed medical

and health care resources.

(b) Components. Family planning services to

enable individuals and families to voluntarily limit

the family size or to space the children, and to

prevent or reduce the incidence of births out of

wedlock. Such services include educational

activities, the provision of printed materials,

counseling about family planning and genetics, and

help in utilizing medical and educational services

available in the community and state. Also includ-

ed are educational services in human sexuality

appropriate to an individual's emotional and social

adjustment and physical development.

(c) Resource Items.

(1) Mandated Resources:

(A) For individuals who are recipients of

AFDC, SSI, or protective services or

whose family income is less than 80

percent of the state's established

income maximum for social services

eligibility, payment for medical ser-

vices for nontherapeutic sterilization

and payment for abortion in cases

where the mother's life would be

endangered if the fetus were carried

to term.

(B) For women who are recipients of

AFDC, SSI, or protective services or

whose income does not exceed 50

percent of the state's established

income maximum for social services

eligibility, payment for abortion under

the state abortion fund.

(2) Optional Resources. At county option

any combination of the following re-

source items may be provided as need-

ed and appropriate to enable aging,

disabled or handicapped individuals to

attain or maintain the highest level of

functioning possible, to promote their
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I

I

I

well-being and to prevent or reduce

inappropriate institutional care.

(A) Assistance with communication to

enable individuals to utilize needed

health and medical resources and

other community services and re-

sources through the provision of

interpreters for the deaf and the provi-

sion of telephones when not otherwise

available for the aging, disabled, or

handicapped who are alone and home-

bound, or who have a health or medi-

cal condition which necessitates ready

access to or frequent use of a tele-

phone in their home.

(B) Mobility assistance for aging, disabled

and handicapped persons, through the

installation of ramps, rails and other

safety measures at the individual's

home and the provision of escort

service to health facilities and other

needed resources for individuals

unable to travel or wait alone.

(C) Arranging for or providing friendly

visitors or companions for part of a

day to assist individuals who, because

of frailty, physical or mental disability

or social isolation, have limited con-

tacts with other people. Such com-

panionship service oflFers mental and

physical stimulation and provides an

opportunity for observation as to the

need for professional help of any

kind.

(D) Provision of special health needs and

supplies such as ostomy supplies,

oxygen, bandages, orthopedic and

other appliances needed by aging and

disabled individuals in their own

homes and not available through

Medicaid, Medicare or resources

without cost.

(d) Target Population:

(1) individuals or families experiencing

health related problems;

(2) for the family planning component,

individuals (male or female) who are of

age to produce children.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0322 ADULT PLACEMEIVT SERVICES
(a) Primary Service. Adult Placement Services

are activities necessary to assist aging or disabled

individuals and their families or representatives in

finding substitute homes or residential health care

facilities suiteble to their needs when they are

unable to remain in their current living situations.

Activities include completing an initial screening

and assessment while providing counseling to help

the individual and his family or representative to

determine the need for initial or continued place-

ment; assisting in the process for completing

necessary financial applications and medical

evaluations; helping to locate and secure placement

in a suitable setting and level of care; supporting

an individual and his family or representative in

the individual's transition from one location to

another; and providing counseling and other

services to help the individual adjust to the new

setting and maintain the placement. Adult Place-

ment Services also include assisting individuals,

when requested, to return to more independent

settings in the community, or to relocate in more

appropriate settings when new levels of care are

needed.

Adult Placement Services must be provided by

every county department of social services.

(b) Components. None.

(c) Resource Items. None.

(d) Target Population. An individual is consid-

ered to be in the target population if Adult Place-

ment Services are appropriate and desired based on

one of the following client needs:

(1) Adults who are unable to maintain

themselves in their own homes indepen-

dently or with available community or

family supports.

(2) Adults who are living in substitute

homes, residential health care facilities

or institutions, and who need assistance

in relocating due to changes in the level

of care needed or other factors indicat-

ing that alternative settings may be

more appropriate.

(3) Adults who are living in substitute

homes, residential health care facilities

or institutions, and who need assistance

in returning to more independent living

arrangements in the community.

(4) Adults who are living in substitute

homes or residential health care facili-

ties, and who need assistance in adjust-

ing to or maintaining their placements

due to individual or family problems or

a lack of resources.

This target population includes wards for whom
the director or assistant director of the county

department of social services js the guardian.

(e) Once an individual is determined to be in the
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target population. Adult Placement Services are

provided in the following order of priority:

(1) Adults receiving protective services for

whom Adult Placement Services is in

their protective services plans.

(2) Adults who are at risk of abuse, ne-

glect, or exploitation because:

(A) they need assistance with activities of

daily living, instrumental activities of

daily living, or health care and they

have no caregiver, or the caregiver is

not able, willing or responsible to

provide the amount or type of assis-

tance needed; or

(B) they were previously abused, neglect-

ed or exploited and the conditions

leading to that situation continue to

exist.

(3) Adults who have problems which place

them at risk of losing their current

living situations.

(4) Adults who do not meet any of the first

three priority groups but whose quality

of life would be improved with Adult

Placement Services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SUBCHAPTER 35F - SERVICE
COST-SHAREVG

protective scrvicca, as described in 10

NCAC 4 11 and 10 NCAC 42V up to a

maximum of 12 months from the time

protective scrvicos arc initiated;

•(§) child welfare services provided aa part

of permanency planning preventive or

reunification services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0102 SERVICES FOR WHICH FEES
ARE CHARGED

Fees must be charged for the following services

or resource items when these services are provided

to individuals whose gross monthly income is at or

above 100 percent of the state's established income

[median income printed in Volume 11. No. 27 of

the Federal Register of 1979 adopted by reference

according to G.S. 150B 1 4 (l3)] adjusted according

to the number of persons contained in the income

llflil

.

H^ day care services for adults;

(3^ in home aide services;

i%) preparation and deliver^' of meal s ;

f4) housing and home improvement resource

items only; and

^ personal and family counseling services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SECTION .0100 - FEES FOR
SERVICES

.0101 GENERAL FEE POLICY
(a)

—

No fees will be charged for any services

provided to the following categories of individuals:

t4^ recipients of aid to families with depcn

dent children payments;

f33 recipients—ef

—

supplemental—security

income benefits;

(3^ individuals whose family gros s monthly

income is less than 100 percent of the

state's—established—income—(median

income designated in the Federal Regis

ter of 1979).

(b) No fees will be charged to any client for the

following types of service s :

{Vf protective services for adults;

f3) protective services for children;

{^ information and referral;

{A) any

—

service—provided—m

—

conjunction

with protective services, as described in

10 NCAC 4 11 and 10 NCAC 42V up to

a maximum of 12 month s from the time
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.0103 AMOUNT OF FEES
(a) The amount of the fees charged for those services shall be in accordance with the fee schedule adopted

by the Social Services Commission and published by the Divi sion of Social Services.—Copies of the fee

schedule may be obtained from the Division of Social Services, 325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North

Carolina, 2761 1.—In addition, the fee schedule is available for public inspection during normal bu s iness

hours in the division offices and in each county department of social services.

(b) The fee ochedule is as follows:

FEE SCHEDULE

Monthly

Income—
Family Size

Fee Amount

(As a Percentage

of Service Cost)

100% of

+-

$ 10<\ 811 $ 921 1,104 $1,138 1,365 -40%

*Estab. Income $ 845 985 $1,105 1,288 $1,366 1,592 -m%

200% of

$ 986 1,125

$1,126 1,266

$1,289 1, 473 $1,593 1,820

$1,474 1,657 $1, 821 2,047

$1,267 1, 407

$1,408 above

$1,658 1,84 1

$1, 842 above

$2,048 2,275

$2,276 above

-^m%-

-m%
-90%
-4«0%^

Estab. Income

and above

100% of $1,354 1,624 $1,571 1.884 $1,788 2,1 45 -§&%

^Eatab. Income $1,625 1,895 $1,885 2,198 $2,1 46 2,502 -60%

200% of

$1, 896 2,165

$2,166 2,436

$2,199 2,513 $2,503 2,860

$2,437 2,707

$2,708 above

$2,51 4 2,827

$2,828 3,1 4 1

$2,861 3,217

$3,21 8 3,575

$3,1 42 above $3,576 above

-=m%
-m%
-99%

4m%
Estab. Income

and above

100% of

-»-

$1,828 2,193 $1,869 2,242 $1,910 2,291 -s<m-

^Estab. Income $2,191 2,558 $2,213 2.616 $2,292 2.673 -60%

200% of

$2,559 2,924

$2,925 3,289

$2,617 2,989 $2,674 3,055

$2,990 3,363 $3,056 3, 437

$3,290 3.655

$3,656 above

$3,364 3,737 $3,43 8 3, 8 19

$3,738 above $3, 820 above

-^70%

-m%
-m%
4m%

Estab. Income

and above

100% of

W
$1,950 2,339

44-

$1,991 2.388

n
$2,032 2. 437 -m%-

*Estab. Income $2,3 4 2,729 $2,389 2.786 $2, 438 2.844 -60%

200% of

$2,730 3,119

$3,120 3,509

$2,787 3,185

$3,186 3,583

$2,845 3,250

$3,251 3,657

$3,510 3.899 $3,584 3,98 1 $3,658 4 ,063

$3,900 above $3,982 above $4,064 above

-^70%

-80%

-90%

4«0%
Estab. Income

and above

*

—

Median income designated in the Federal Register of 1979.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.
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.0106 MINIMUM FEE CHARGES
Fee charges will be di sregarded when the total

amount due is less than ten dollars ($10.00) per

month.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0107 NON-PAYMENT OF FEES
Reimbursement to—the

—

county department of

social services or other provider will be terminated

after a service has been provided for as long as

two consecutive months without full payment of

the fee due for provision of that service.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0108 FEES: DEMONSTRATION
PROJECT

Fees—fef

—

chore—

s

ervices—provided—under—tbe

Mecklenburg County Demonstration Project, shall

be charged in accordance with the formula for

determination of fees, available from the Depart

mcnt of Human Resources, Division of Vocational

Rehabilitation.

Statutory Authority' G.S. 143B-153.

SECTION .0200 - PURPOSE

.0201 PURPOSE OF SERVICE
COST-SHAREVG

The purpose of the Service Cost-Sharing Policy

is to extend the availability of services subject to

cost-sharing that are administered by the Division

of Social Services by soliciting from all clients a

portion of the cost for services rendered based

upon their ability to pay. Revenue collected from

clients will be retained by the provider.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SECTION .0300 - SERVICE COST
SHARING REQUIREMENTS

.0301 SERVICES SUBJECT TO
SERVICE COST SHARING

(a) The following services, when provided by

funds administered by the Division of Social

Services, shall be subject to the Service Cost-

Sharing Policies and Procedures

:

(1) Adult Day Care, including Transporta-

tion:

£41

16}

ovations or Repair and Furnishings or

Appliance Purchases only);

In-Home Aide Services;

Personal and Family Counseling;

Preparation and Delivery of Meals.

(b) When any of the services specified in Para-

graph (a) of this Rule are provided to adults or

children as part of a Protective Services Plan,

these individuals will be excluded from any cost-

sharing requirement, up to a maximum of 12

months. Children m foster care and children who
have been approved to receive adoption assistance

are also excluded from the cost-sharing require-

ment. In addition, when any of the services

specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule are provid-

ed to an Aid to Families with Dependent Children

(AFDC) or federally administered Supplemental

Security Income (SSI) applicant or recipient, cost-

sharing requirements do not apply.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0302 INITIAL REVIEW
The following information must be reviewed with

each client who has been determined eligible to

receive a service subject to service cost-sharing:

(1) the policy which requires that all clients

receiving services subject to cost-sharing

be requested to share in the cost of ser-

vices rendered, based upon their ability

to pay;

the purpose of Service Cost-Sharing;

the cost of the service received (actual

cost or fixed rate per unit); actual cost

will typically be an estimated cost based

on the previous year's data for staff" time

and related expenses for rendering servic-

es subject to service cost-sharing; fixed

rate per unit will be the specified contract

rate when purchasing services;

the process by which cost-sharing reve-

nue will be collected;

12]

(3}

14]

(5]

(6]

the individual whom the client should

contact with questions pertaining to ser-

vice cost-sharing; and

the fact that services will not be terminat-

ed for failure to share in the cost of

services rendered.

ill Adult Day Health, including Transpor-

tation;

Housing and Home Improvement (Ren-

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0303 ANNUAL REVIEW
On at least an annual basis, preferably during a

service reassessment, agencies must review the

following information with each individual receiv-
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Lng services subject to the Service Cost-Stiaring

Policy:

(1) the purpose of service cost-sharing;

(2) the agency's cost (actual cost or fixed

rate per unit) to provide the service or

services received; actual cost will typical-

ly be an estimated cost based on the

previous year's data for staff time and

related expenses for rendering services

subject to service cost-sharing; fixed rate

per unit will be the specified contract rate

when purchasing services;

(3) the agency's procedures for collecting

cost-sharing revenue and the individual

whom the client should contact with

questions pertaining to service cost-shar-

ing; and

(4) the fact that services will not be terminat-

ed for failure to share in the cost of

service rendered.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0304 INCOME DETERMINATION
Income may be self-declared by the client or his

designated representative or may be verified at

county option.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

the cost of services rendered; and

(6) space for signatures by the client or

designated representative and the agen-

cy representative indicating that the

form has been reviewed with the client

and the date,

(b) Each client or designated representative shall

be given a copy of the signed cost-sharing form

and a copy shall be kept in the client's file.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0305 SERVICE COST-SHARING FORM
(a) A service cost-sharing form must be com-

pleted for all clients receiving services subject to

cost-sharing. The form must contain the follow-

ing:

(1) the purpose of service cost-sharing;

(2) space to list the service or services

received;

(3) space to indicate the cost (actual cost or

fixed rate per unit) of the service or

services to be received; actual cost will

typically be an estimated cost based on

the previous year's date for steff time

and related expenses for rendering

services subject to cost-sharing; fixed

rate per unit will be the specified con-

tract rate when purchasing services;

(4) information regarding what procedures

the agency will use to request cost-

sharing revenue and whom the client

should contect if he has questions re-

garding service cost-sharing collection

procedures;

(5) a stetement indicating that services will

not be terminated for failure to share in
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.0306 SERVICE COST-SHARING SCHEDULE
(a) The amount of cost-sharing to be requested from clients shall be in accordance with the following cost-

sharing schedule:

Monthly

Income

COST-SHARING SCHEDULE

Size of Income Unit

Minimum
Percentage

(Percentage of

Service Cost)

100% of

Estab. Income

1

I 852-970

971-1.090

1.091-1.209

1.210-1.328

1.329-1.447

1,448-above

$1.149-1.301

1.302-1.516

1.517-1.600

1.601-1.761

1.762-1.952

1,95 3-above

$1.446-1.648

1.649-1.850

1.851-2.053

2.054-2.255

2.256-2.458

2,459-above

30%
40%
50%
60%
75%
100%

100% of

Estab. Income

$1.744-1.987

1.988-2.231

2.232-2.475

2.476-2.719

2.720-2.963

2,964-above

$2.041-2.326

2.327-2.612

2,613-2.897

2.898-3.183

3.184-3.469

3.470-above

$2.339-2.665

2.666-2.992

2.993-3.320

3.321-3.647

3.648-3.975

3.976-above

30%
40%
50%
60%
75%
100%

100% of

Estab. Income

$2.636-3.004

3.005-3.373

3.374-3.743

3.744-4.112

4.113-4.481

4.482-above

8

$2.934-3.343

3.344-3.754

3.755-4.165

4.166-4.576

4.577-4.986

4,987-above

$3.231-3.638

3.684-4.135

4.136-4.587

4.588-5.040

5.041-5.492

5,493 -above

30%
40%
50%
60%
75%
100%

100% of

Estab. Income

10

$3.529-4.022

4.023-4.516

4.517-5.010

5.011-5.504

5.505-5.998

5,999-above

11
$4.826-4.361

4.362-4.897

4.898-5.432

5.433-5.968

5.969-6.504

6,505-above

12
$4.124-4.700

4.701-5.277

5.278-5.856

5.857-6.432

6.433-7.009

7,010-above

30%
40%
50%
60%
75%
100%

Established Income (Estab. Income) as used in this

Rule is defined in W NCAC 35E .0104. which is

incorporated by reference, including subsequent

amendments and editions; Income Unit as used in

this Rule is defined in iO NCAC 35E .0103.

which is incorporated by reference, including

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of

these Rules may be obtained from the Office of

Administrative Hearings. Post Office Drawer

27447. Raleigh. N.C. 27611-7447. (919) 733-

2678. at a cost of two dollars and fifty cents

($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15)

for each additional page at the time of adoption of

this Rule .

(h) Agencies must establish a cost-sharing

schedule for clients whose gross monthly income

is less than the established income as defined in 10

NCAC 35E .0104. which is incorporated by

reference, including subsequent amendments and

editions. Copies of these Rules may be obtained

from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Post

Office Drawer 27447. Raleigh. NC 27611-7447.

(919) 733-2678. at a cost of two dollars and fifty

cents ($2.50) for up to 10 pages and fifteen cents

($.15) for each additional page at tlie time of

adoption of this Rule. In developing this schedule.
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agencies may establish percentages of the cost of

the service or an amount that will be requested

from clients.

(c) Agencies must distribute a copy of the cost-

sharing schedule to all clients receiving services

subject to cost-sharing as defined in Rule .0301 of

this Section. The cost-sharing schedule must

reflect the income ranges and minimum percentag-

es outlined in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(d) Agencies may negotiate higher service cost-

sharing percentages or lower service cost-sharing

percentages than those outlined in Paragraph (a) of

this Rule, based on individual client circumstances.

The client will determine the amount of service

cost-sharing he will pay based upon his individual

financial circumstances.

collected.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0308 TERMINATION OF SERVICES
FOR FAILURE TO SHARE

Services to the client will not be terminated for

failure to share in the cost of services rendered.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

CHAPTER 41 - CHILDREN'S
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 41F - LICENSING
OF FAMILY FOSTER HOMES

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0307 COLLECTION OF COST-SHARING
REVENUE

(a) Agencies must establish policies and proce-

dures governing the collection of cost-sharing

revenue at least quarterly.

(b) Agencies must document that efforts have

been made to collect cost-sharing revenue at least

quarterly from those clients who have agreed to

share in the cost of services. This includes asking

the client at least quarterly to share in the cost of

services subject to cost sharing.

(c) When the county department of social servic-

es directly provides a service subject to cost-

sharing, the county department of social services

must be responsible for collecting and accounting

for cost-sharing revenues.

(d) When a service subject to cost-sharing is

provided by another agency or individual through

a purchase of service contract, that provider or the

county department of social services must be

responsible for collecting and accounting for cost-

sharing revenue. When the provider is responsible

for collecting and accounting for cost-sharing

revenue this must be specified in the contract for

purchase of services.

(e) When a service subject to cost-sharing is

purchased through a local or state- level contract,

the provider must be furnished current information

in writing, via the Services Information System

Client Entry Form (DSS-5027), as to the amount

of the cost-sharing the client has agreed to pay.

This amount is to be collected from the client.

Any change in the amount of cost-sharing must be

transmitted to the provider via a revised DSS-

5027. No cost-sharing amounts other than those

identified on the most current DSS-5027 may be

SECTION .0700 - STANDARDS
FOR LICENSING

.0704 PHYSICAL FACILITY
(a) Fire and Building Safety.

(1) All homes must meet the N. C. Uni-

form Residential Building Code regula-

tions. Volume h—B7 VII. which is

adopted by reference including all

subsequent amendments and editions.

Copies of the Code may be obtained

from the North Carolina Department of

Insurance, Code Council Section, Post

Office Box 26387, Raleigh. North

Carolina. 27611. (919) 733-3901. at a

cost of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) at

the time of adoption of this Rule.

(2) All homes shall be reasonably protected

from all fire hazards.

(A) All exits (i.e., doors, hallways, and

stairs) shall be clear and ready for

use;

(B) an evacuation plan shall be developed,

and all persons in the home shall be

knowledgeable of the plan;

(C) all homes shall have sufficient smoke

detectors and fire extinguishes;

(D) all homes shall have a telephone.

(3) Before a home is fully licensed, and

annually thereafter, it must be inspected

and receive a satisfactory rating on the

fire and building safety inspection

report completed by one of the follow-

ing:

(A) county building inspector;

(B) local fire department official.

(b) Health Regulations.

(1) All homes must meet the minimum
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sanitation standards for a residential

care facility as set forth by the North

Carolina Health Services Commission

and codified in 10 NCAC lOA .0200.

15A NCAC 18A .1600 which is adopt-

ed by reference including all subsequent

amendments and editions. Copies of

this Rule may be obtained from the

Office of Administrative Hearings

(OAH) Post Office Drawer 27447.

Raleigh, NC 27611-7447, (919) 733-

2678. at a cost of two dollars and fifty

cents ($2.50) for ug to ten pages and

fifteen cents ($0.15) for each additional

page at the time of adoption of this

Rule.

(2) Before a home not on public water and

sewer systems, is fully licensed, and

annually thereafter, it must be inspected

by the county sanitarian and receive a

satisfactory rating on the inspection

form for residential care facilities.

(c) Environmental Regulations.

(1) The home and yard shall be maintained

and repaired so that they do not appear

to be hazardous to the children in care.

(2) The house shall be kept free of rodents

and insects and the grounds free of

stray animals.

Outdoor areas shall be well-drained.£3}

£4}

15]

Windows and doors used for ventilation

shall be screened.

The kitchen shall be equipped with a

working stove and refrigerator, and

adequate eating, cooking and drinking

utensils which are properly handled and

stored.

Household equipment and furniture

shall be in good repair.

Inflammable and poisonous substances,

medications and cleaning materials shall

be stored out of the reach of young

children.

Explosive materials, firearms and pro-

jectiles used such as darts, arrows and

BB's shall be stored out of the reach of

all children.

16}

01

18)

19}

(10)

rabies and documentation shall be main-

tained by the foster parent.

(ed) Room Arrangements.

(1) Family Room. Each home shall have a

iamily room which shall be large

Ammunition and firearms shall be

stored in separate locked places.

Household pets shall be vaccinated for

enough to meet the needs of the family

including foster children.

(2) Kitchen and Dining Area. The kitchen

shall be large enough for preparation of

food and cleaning of dishes. The din-

ing area shall be large enough to seat

all members of the family including

foster children.

(3) Bedrooms. Bedrooms shall be clearly

identified as bedrooms and shall not

serve dual functions:

(A) Space. Bedrooms can be shared only

as long as a minimum of 40 square

feet is provided for each child exclud-

ing closet space. Exception to this

standard will be allowed for those

homes in which children were living

prior to July 1. 1983. No additional

children may be placed in the foster

home until the space standard is met.

(B) Sleeping Arrangements:

(i) No child two years of age or

older shall share a bedroom with

an adult except under special

circumstances and with prior

approval from Children's Services

Branch, Foster Care Services.

(ii) Each child shall have his own bed

except:

(I) siblings of same sex may share

a double bed;

(II) two children of the same sex

and near the same age may at

the discretion of the foster

parents and supervising agency

share a double bed, but only if

the children so desire.

(iii) Each bed shall be provided with a

comfortable mattress, proper

support, suitable bed coverings,

and be adequate to accommodate

the child.

(iv) No day bed, convertible sofa, or

other bedding of a temporary

nature shall be used except for

temporary care of up to two

weeks.

(v) Sleeping room shall not be shared

by children of opposite sex. If

exceptions are necessary, these

should be only for children age

five and under.

(vi) Except for infents, sleeping ar-

rangements should be such that

space is provided within the sleep-
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ing room for the child's personal

possessions and for a reasonable

degree of privacy,

(vii) Shared bedrooms should take into

consideration ages of children. It

is recommended that a child under

six should not share a room with

a child over 12. No more than 4

children shall share a room.

(C) Storage. Separate and accessible

drawer space for personal belongings

and sufficient closet space for indoor

and outdoor clothing shall be avail-

able for each child.

(B4) Bathrooms. There shall be adequate

toilet and bathing facilities.

Statutory Authority G.S. 131D-10.5; 143B-153.

CHAPTER 42 - INDIVIDUAL
AND FAMILY SUPPORT

SUBCHAPTER 42A - ADULT
PLACEMENT SERVICES

SECTION .0300 - FOSTER CARE
SERVICES FOR ADULTS

.0308 PLANNING FOR PLACEMENT
INTO DOMICILIARY HOMES

fa)

—

Social workers in the county departments of

social services arc responsible for assisting Individ

uals and their families who need and want this

service, which consists of locating a domiciliary

home—with—the

—

accommodations,—services—and

charges suitable to their needs.—The state divi sion

and county departments of social services arc not

allowed to make referrals to or participate in plans

for placing individuals in domiciliary homes which

do not sign the Civil Rights Statement of Compli

ance (Form DSS 1 464) as required by the Civil

Rights Act of 1964 .

(b) When it is determined that placement into a

domiciliary home is the only solution, placement

planning must begin.—This must include:

fB accepting—and

—

respecting—the

—

adult

client's right to decide on and choose

domiciliary home placement. If his

survival is threatened and he is incapa

blc of making a rational choice, protcc

tivc services may be necessary.—See

Section 6500 of Volume V of the Fami

ly Services Manual for policies related

to protective services;

fS) involving the older person and those

close to him in placement planning;

f^) assisting in the selection of a home
which will best suit his needs;

{4) purpHDseful, guided assi stance in effect

ing the change to a new setting;

f§) supporting the individual during and

after placement through the period of

adjustment to his new setting;

f6) planning with the client, when feasible,

to return home.

fe)

—

As a part of placement planning it i s essen

tial that the client's ambulation capacity, diagnosis

and medications be evaluated and prescribed by his

physician and documented on the FL 2 or MR 2

prior to placement in licensed domiciliary homes .

fd)

—

Service workers work closely with medical

personnel to sec that the appropriate Icind of care

i s secured and that the physician is informed of the

definition of ambulation capacity and requested to

note the ambulation—capacity—on the FL 2 or

MR 2.

{e)

—

When placement is made in a domiciliary

home, form FL 2 or MR 2 is to be completed in

duplicate and routed as follows:

{\^ original in client case record,

(3) copy to the licensed home.

(f) A current FL 2 or MR 2 must be completed

every 12 months or more often if needed with the

ambulation capacity always noted by the physician.

(g)

—

When the res ident enters the domiciliary

home, the following steps shall be completed:

H) The DSS 1865. Resident Register, must

be completed;

(3) At the time of admission the new resi

dent, or his personal representative or

responsible—relative—should—clearly

understand and agree on the services

which arc provided by the home, plans

fef=

—

payment—for these—services—and

personal money that is available to him.

The policies of the home must be in

writing.

0) When the individual i s admitted to the

licensed domiciliary home the written

policies of the home regarding refunds

to the res ident for absences from the

home, moving from the home or death

must be clearly stated.

f4) Plans are made with the new resident

and his family or other representative

for his health care.

f§) Plans arc also made for sufficient cloth

ing and the care of his—clothing to

assure that the resident is always well

groomed.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0309 COUNTY FILES FOR RESIDENTS
(a) There must be a county' file on each resident

in Q group home who has received or is receiving

services under Title XX of the Social Security Act.

(b) When the resident does not '
l^tlDt scri'iccs or

does not need services, the file may be closed.

The one exception to this is when county depart

mcnt of social services staff has been appointed

guardian for a resident who has been adjudicated

incompetent.—In this ease it is anticipated that the

file would remain open for ser>'ices.

fe)

—

The following forms and documentation are

required to support claims for financial participa

tion and must be in the recipient's file:

f4-) FL 2 or MR 2 which verifies the need

for domiciliary home care,

^ ORy

—

correspondence—from—the

—

social

worker to the resident or eorrcspon

dence to the resident' s family or other

agencies about the resident.

0) ps]y'chologiealB—&f—social—evaluations

about the resident.

{4) social summaries from regional psychi

atf4e

—

hospitals—or mental—retardation

centers, and

03 evidence of continued appropriateness

of services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SECTION .0600 - SERVICE
REQUIREMENTS

.0601 INTAKE AND SCREENING
(a) The initial request or referral must be

screened to determine whether the potential client

appears to be in the target population codified in

10 NCAC 35E .0322. which is incorporated by

reference, including subsequent amendments and

editions. Copies of this Rule may be obtained

from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Post

Office Drawer 27447. Raleigh. NC 27611-7447.

(919) 733-2678. at a cost of t.wo dollars and fifty

cents ($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents

($.15) for each additional page at the time of the

adoption of this Rule. Documentation must reflect

how the criteria in the target population were

determined to be met.

(b) When Adult Placement Services are request-

ed, an application must be made in accordance

with 10 NCAC 35D .0200. which is incorporated

by reference, including subsequent amendments

and editions. Copies of this Rule may be obtained

from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Post

Office Drawer 27447. Raleigh. NC 27611-7447.

(919) 733-2678. at a cost of t.wo dollars and fifty

cents ($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents

($.15) for each additional page at the time of the

adoption of this Rule. An application is not

required when the only services provided are

information regarding placement options and

procedures, referral to a more appropriate re-

source, or consultation with another sers'ice pro-

vider.

(c) If an application for Adult Placement Servic-

es has been made by a responsible party for an

individual who then refuses these services, this

refusal must be honored. The social worker must

offer other services and accept an application or

make a referral for other services as requested by

the client. If. however. Adult Placement Services

or other services are authorized by one of the

following legal surrogate decision-makers or by a

court order, the service will be provided as re-

quested:

(1) a legally appointed guardian of the

person or general guardian;

(2) an attorney-in-fact appointed in a dura-

ble Power of Attorney, which grants

relevant duties and is in effect; or

(3) a health care agent appointed in a

Health Care Power of Attorney, which

grants relevant duties and is m eff'ect.

If there is reasonable cause to believe during the

intake and screening, assessment, service planning

or provision of any services that the individual is

an abused, neglected or exploited disabled adult in

need of protective services, an Adult Protective

Services referral must be made. If there are

indications that the individual may be incompetent

as defined in G.S. 35A- 1 101(7) and needs a

guardian to facilitate the provision of services, a

social worker will explore options with the referral

source, family members or within the agency for

facilitating incompetency proceedings and the

appointment of a guardian.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0602 ASSESSMENT AND SUPPORTIVE
COUNSELEVG

(a) A thorough assessment must be conducted of

the client's situation, including strengths and

limitations in the following areas:

(1) physical health;

(2) mental health;

(3) social system;

(4) activities of daily living and instrumen-
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tal activities of daily living;

(5) economic and financial circumstances;

and

(6) environment.

(b) With the exception of the circumstances

listed below the client must be seen personally by

the social worker as many times as is necessary to

do a thorough assessment in the six areas, but a

minimum of one time. The personal contact may

be in a setting other than the client's home, if the

client or others can provide the necessary informa-

tion for an assessment of the client's living envi-

ronment, and, if during the course of the assess-

ment, it does not appear that in-home services will

be needed or appropriate as an alternative to

placement or as an interim service plan.

(c) For the following situations, an assessment

must be done as thoroughly as possible with

information and resources available to the social

worker, without requiring personal contact with

the client to complete the assessment.

(1) a client who is not currently living in

the county in which the application is

made;

£2} a client who is in an emergency situa-

tion, where a placement is needed

quickly and personal contact would be

a barrier to achieving a quick place-

ment:

(3) a client whose case is being transferred

from one social worker to another

within the agency, and an original

assessment which addresses all six

functional areas is available. This

assessment must be updated to reflect

current information;

(4) a client who is already in a facility and

is requesting Adult Placement Services,

and an original assessment which ad-

dresses all six functional areas is avail-

able. This assessment must be updated

to reflect current information.

£cQ Documentetion must reflect the reason the

client was not seen personally in conducting the

assessment.

Statutory Authority G. S. 143B-153.

.0603 SERVICE PLAN>fING
A service plan must be developed which address-

es problems identified during the assessment and

which takes into account client and family

strengths and goals. The client must be involved

in the service planning process as much as he Is

capable of doing so. The service plan must docu-

ment activities to meet goals.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0604 PRE-PLACEMENT PROCEDURES
(a) The county department of social services is

responsible for facilitating the completion and

prior approval of FL-2, MR-2 and Pre-Admission

Screening and Annual Resident Review (PASARR)
Level I screening forms for clients receiving Adult

Placement Services by following procedures

codified in \0 NCAC 42C .2402, 10 NCAC 26A
.0002, 10 NCAC 26B .0108 and .0114, 10 NCAC
26F .0001 and .0002, and the regulations for Pre-

Admission Screening and Annual Resident Review

from the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Acts

(OBRA) of 1987 and 1990 published in the Federal

Register, Volume 57, No. 230, pages 56450-

56514. November 30. 1992. 10 NCAC 42C
.2402, 26A .0002, 263 .0108 and .0114, 26F

.0001 and .0002 are incorporated by reference,

including subsequent amendments and editions.

Copies of these Rules may be obtained from the

Office of Administrative Hearings, Post Office

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, NC 27611-7447. (919)

733-2678, at a cost of two dollars and fifty cents

($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15)

for each additional page at the time of the adoption

of this Rule. Copies of pages 56450-56514 of

Volume 57, No. 230 of the Federal Register may

be obtained from the Planning and Information

Section, NC Division of Social Services, 325 N.

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603-5905, (919)

733-4530, at a cost often cents ($.10) per page at

the time of adoption of this Rule.

{b} The facilitation of FL-2, MR-2 and

PASARR form completion can be accomplished by

informing the client, family or other representative

of procedures for getting the forms completed and

following up to see that the procedures are

followed. If the client is not able to follow the

procedures and has no family or representative

able or willing to do so, the social worker must

work more directly with the physician or other

health care provider to get the form(s) completed.

This includes assisting the client in locating

resources for completion of the form, including

transportation and a physician.

(c) A Consent for the Release of Information

must be obtained for every client who js receiving

Adult Placement Services. The consent must be

obtained according to rules codified in _10 NCAC
24B, which are incorporated by reference,

including subsequent amendments and editions.

Copies of these Rules may be obtained from the
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Office of Administrative Hearings, Post Office

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, NC 27611-7447, (919)

733-2678, at a cost of two dollars and fifty cents

($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15)

for each additional page at the time of the adoption

of this Rule.

(d) Social work staff" must inlfarm applicants for

Adult Placement Services of the availability of

State/County Special Assistance for Adults or

Medicaid to cover the cost of care in a facility,

and the procedures for making an application if

they are interested and have not already applied.

(e) Local agency procedures must be established

to assure that FL-2, MR-2, and PASARR (Level

I screening or notice of final determination) forms

are shared among income maintenance and social

work staff when they have mutual clients.

(f) The social worker must coordinate with

income maintenance staff' regarding the eligibility

of clients receiving Adult Placement Services, and

must assist the client, family or representative in

following procedures to establish eligibility for

income maintenance programs as needed to

facilitate placement or other services.

Statutory Authority G. S. 143B-153.

.0605 LOCATING A BED AND
SECURING PLACEMENT

(a) Social workers in the county departments of

social services are responsible for assisting clients

who are receiving Adult Placement Services and

their families or representatives to locate available

beds in substitute homes, residential health care

facilities, or independent housing in the community

with services and charges suitable to their needs.

County departments are not allowed to make

referrals to or participate in plans for placing

individuals in domiciliary homes, nursing facilities,

or any other facility placement arrangements which

do not comply with the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

or to provide Adult Placement Services to

individuals residing in those homes or facilities.

(b) When an available and appropriate placement

for a client has been located, the social worker

will assist the client and his family or

representative in planning for and facilitating the

admissions process. If the client, family or

representative is not able or willing to follow

admissions procedures, the social worker will

provide more direct assistance as needed to

facilitate the placement.

(c) The social worker must coordinate with

income maintenance stafF £if applicable) to assure

that eligibility for State/County Special Assistance

for Adults or Medicaid is established, assure that

there is an understanding between the facility and

client about how payment will be made, or assist

the client in making alternate arrangements prior

to the date of placement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0606 POST-PLACEMENT ADJUSTMENT
(a) County departments of social services are

responsible for providing or facilitating services to

assist clients receiving Adult Placement Services to

adjust to their placements or independent settings.

This includes clients for whom the county depart-

ment has facilifated placement arrangements as

well as clients already living in facilities who

request or are referred for services.

(b) Adjustment services include psychosocial

adjustment as well as assuring that supportive

services and financial arrangements are in place.

(c) These services may be facilitated by assuring

that another agency, facility stelT member, family

member or other representative is assisting the

client with adjustment. If another agency, facility

stefl" member, family member or representative is

not assisting the client, the social worker will

provide these services until a satisfactory adjust-

ment has been made or until alternate services are

in place for the client. The county department

must provide or facilitate adjustment services a

minimum of 30 days after the client's admission or

relocation to a facility or other living arrangement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0607 TERMINATION OF ADULT
PLACEMENT SERVICES

(a) Prior to Adult Placement Services being

terminated, the social worker must review avail-

able information and make contacts with signifi-

cant persons to determine whether services need to

be continued, and to reach closure with the client

and involved parties. If there are no identifiable

client needs that can be addressed by the agency,

or those needs are being met by another party.

Adult Placement Services may be terminated in

accordance with policies codified in W NCAC
35D .0300. which is incorporated by reference,

including subsequent amendments and editions.

Copies of this Rule may be obtained from the

Office of Administrative Hearings, Post Office

Drawer 27447. Raleigh. NC 27611-7447. (919)

733-2678, at a cost of two dollars and fifty cents

($2.50) for up to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15)

for each additional page at the time of the adoption
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of this Rule. If Adult Placement Services have

been ordered by the court under Adult Protective

Services, services will terminate when the order

expires.

(b) Contacts may be made in person, by tele-

phone, or by letter but must allow for sufficient

information to be obtained to make a determination

about the need for services.

("c) Documentation must reflect the contacts

which were made to make the determination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

.0608 COORDINATION WITH OTHER
SERVICE PROVIDERS

Documentation in the client's case record must

include information about other agencies or service

providers who are known to be involved with the

client. If any of those parties are involved in

placement, adjustment, or relocation services with

the client, documentation must reflect how these

services are being coordinated so as not to dupli-

cate efForts. If the placement social worker in the

department of social services is the most appropri-

ate or only source of assistance, and the client

meets the criteria in the target population in 10

NCAC 35E .0322, an application must be made in

accordance with 10 NCAC 35D .0200 and Adult

Placement Services provided. 10 NCAC 35E

.0322 and 10 NCAC 35D .0200 are incorporated

by reference, including subsequent amendments

and editions. Copies of these Rules may be

obtained from the Office of Administrative Hear-

ings, Post Office Drawer 27447, Raleigh, NC
27611-7447, (919) 733-2678. at a cost of two

dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for up to ten pages

and fifteen cents ($. 15) for each additional page at

the time of the adoption of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SUBCHAPTER 42J - HEALTH
SUPPORT SERVICES

.0003 SCOPE OF SERVICES
Health support services are casework services

designed to motivate individuals and families to

utilize information and resources which will

promote and preserve their optimum level of

health thus increasing their potential to be happy

and productive citizens:

(1) Helping individuals and families to recog-

nize health needs includes the provision

of counseling, individual or group in-

struction and educational materials fo-

cused on the following:

(a) basic health needs such as nutrition,

exercise, rest, cleanliness, regular

physical examinations, necessary immu-
nizations, perinatal care, maternal and

child health, and family planning;

(b) noticeable physical problems or devel-

opmental disabilities such as speech

impediments, crossed eyes, hearing

difficulties, orthopedic irregularities,

disfiguring scars or birth marks, skin

allergies, dental cares, need for dental

plates or braces, obesity, cerebral pal-

sy, muscular dystrophy, ete.;

(c) identifiable mental health related prob-

lems, such as mental retardation, men-

tal illness, emotional disturbance, alco-

hol or drug abuse;

(d) suspected chronic disease such as ar-

thritis, emphysema, heart disease,

kidney disease, diabetes, cancer, etc.;

(e) communicable disease such as tubercu-

losis, measles, mumps, polio, venereal

diseases, etc.;

(f) physical and occupational therapy;

(2) Helping individuals and families secure

needed health services includes the fol-

lowing:

(a) referring them to appropriate resources

for services and treatment to meet their

individual needs;

(b) providing help, as needed, with apply-

ing for assistance with the costs of

medical and health care;

(c) arranging for supportive services such

as transportation and child care to

enable them to utilize available resourc-

es for diagnosis and treatment;

(3) Counseling and planning with individu-

als, families and health providers to

assure continuity of treatment and carry-

ing out of health recommendation in-

cludes the following;

(a) counseling with individuals and families

as needed, about accepting and adjust-

ing to health limitations;

(b) counseling with individuals and families

regarding the importance of adhering to

prescribed treatment plans by following

doctors' orders and meeting all appoint-

ments for check-ups. treatment and

therapy;

(c) help to individuals and families in

scheduling appointments for continued

treatment and services and in arranging
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for supportive services to enable them

to keep scheduled appointments;

(d) assistance as needed in having prescrip-

tions for medication filled and refilled

including exploration of resources

available to help with the cost of medi-

cation;

(e) assistance in locating and utilizing

ancillary services to support the health

plan such as chore acrvioes, homcmakcr

in-home aide services, day care, prepa-

ration and delivery of meals, services to

meet the special needs of the elderly,

disabled or handicapped, transportation,

etc.;

(f) coordinated planning with health pro-

viders to identify needs, locate resourc-

es and develop strategies for motivating

the individual and his family to carry

out health recommendations;

(g) follow-up periodically with the individ-

ual and his family to assess progress

toward reaching service goals and the

need for continued health support ser-

vices;

(4) Helping individuals to secure admission

to medical institutions and children to

secure admission to other health facilities

includes the following:

(a) counseling with the individual and his

family to help them accept the need for

the recommended level of care and to

work through any negative feelings they

may have about such a move;

(b) assistance in locating appropriate re-

sources and applying for admission;

(c) help in exploring resources available

for assistance with the cost of care;

(d) arranging for supportive services such

as appliances, equipment, supplies,

transportation, etc.;

(e) follow-up after admission and continua-

tion of health support services as need-

ed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SUBCHAPTER 42Q - STATE
EV-HOME SERVICES FUND

.0014 COST-SHARING
Fees Cost-sharing requirements for the following

services provided under the State In-Home Servic-

es Fund shall be determined in accordance with

policies governing fees for sorvicca. service cost-

sharing codified in 10 NCAC 35F^ which is incor-

porated by reference, including subsequent amend-

ments and editions : day care services for adults,

in-home aide services, preparation and delivery of

meals and housing and home improvement fe-

aourcc—items—only, (renovations or repair and

furnishing or appliance purchases only). Copies of

these Rules may be obtained from the Office of

Administrative Hearings. Post Office Drawer

27447. Raleigh. NC 27611-7447.(919)733-2678.

at a cost of two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for

up to ten pages and fifteen cents ($.15) for each

additional page at the time of adoption of this

Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

SUBCHAPTER 42R - ADULT
DAY CARE - STATE FUND

SECTION .0200 - STATE
ADULT DAY CARE FUND

.0204 COST-SHARING
Fees Cost-Sharing Requirements for day care

services for adults provided under the state adult

day care fund shall be determined in accordance

with policies governing foes for scrv'ioca service

cost-sharing , codified in 10 NCAC 35Fj which is

incorporated by reference, including subsequent

amendments and editions. Copies of these Rules

may be obtained from the Office of Administrative

Hearings. Post Office Drawer 27447. Raleigh. NC
27611-7447. (919) 733-2678. at a cost of two

dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for up to ten pages

and fifteen cents ($.15) for each additional page at

the time of the adoption of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

CHAPTER 46 - DAY
CARE RULES

SUBCHAPTER 46G - NONREGISTERED
DAY CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .0200 - REQUIREMEP^ FOR
NONREGISTERED DAY CARE HOMES

.0214 HEALTH AND SAFETY
STANDARDS

Each nonregistered day care home shall comply

with the following requirements in order to main-

tain a safe, healthy and sanitary environment for

children:
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I

I

I

(1) A health and emergency information

form completed and signed by the child's

parents or guardian shall be on file for

each child who attends. The completed

form must be on file on the first day the

child attends with the exception of the

child's immunization record which must

be completed within 30 days after the

first day the child attends. A recom-

mended form is available from the sec-

tion. However, the provider may use

another form provided that form includes

the following information:

(a) the child's name, address, and date of

birth;

(b) the names of individuals to whom the

child may be released;

(c) the general status of the child's health;

(d) any allergies or restrictions on the

child's participation in activities with

specific instructions from the child's

parent or health professional;

(e) the names and phone numbers of per-

sons to be contacted in an emergency

situation;

(f) the name and phone number of the

child's health provider and preferred

hospital;

(g) authorization for the provider to admin-

ister specified medication according to

the parent's instructions, if the parent

so desires;

(h) authorization for the provider to seek

emergency medical care in the parent's

absence;

(i) a record of the child's immunizations as

required pursuant to G.S. 130A-152.

(2) The parent and provider must discuss and

agree upon the methods of discipline to

be used with each child. Corpoml pun -

i shment shall be admini stered only with

the written consent of the parent. The

use of corporal punishment is prohibited

except as stipulated in G.S. 1 10-101.1.

(3) All areas used by the children, indoors

and outdoors, shall be kept clean and

orderly and free of items which are haz-

ardous to children.

(4) First-aid supplies shall be kept in a place

easily accessible to the provider but out

of the reach of children.

(5) A working telephone shall be proximate

to the day care home arrangement. A
written plan shall be developed that

describes how the provider will access

emergency assistance. Emergency phone

numbers shall be readily available.

(6) To assure the safety of children whenever

they are transported, the provider, or any

other transportation provider, shall com-

ply with all applicable state and federal

laws concerning the transportation of

passengers. All children regardless of

age or location in the vehicle shall be

restrained by individual seat belts or child

restraint devices.

(7) Garbage shall be stored in waterproof

containers with tight fitting covers.

(8) The provider shall have sanitary toileting

facilities, and sanitary diaper changing

and handwashing facilities.

(9) Soiled diapers shall be placed in a cov-

ered leak-proof container which is emp-

tied and cleaned frequently.

(10) The provider shall wash her hands after

toileting and after diapering each child.

(11) The provider shall complete and keep on

file the health self-questionnaire form

provided by the section Division .

(12) Each provider shall obtain written proof

that she is free of active tuberculosis

prior to initial approval and every two

years thereafter.

(13) The provider shall serve nutritious meals

and snacks appropriate in amount and

type of foods served for the ages of

children in care.

(14) The provider shall provide daily opportu-

nities for supervised outdoor play or

fresh air, weather permitting.

(15) The provider shall assure that the struc-

ture in which the day care arrangement is

located has clean drinking water, an

approved sanitary disposal system, weath-

er-tight construction, and is otherwise

safe for human habitation.

(16) Fuel burning heaters used when the

children are in care shall be properly

vented to the outside. Fuel burning

heaters, fireplaces, stoves, and portable

electric heaters, when in use, shall have

a securely attached guard.

(17) A battery-operated smoke detector shall

be installed in the primary caregiving

area of each nonregistered day care

home.

(18) The provider shall successfully complete

a basic multimedia first aid course within

three months of beginning participation in

this program.

8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993 1394



PROPOSED RULES

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a).

SUBCHAPTER 46H - POLICIES FOR
PROVISION OF CHILD DAY

CARE SERVICES

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
POLICIES

.0104 TARGET POPULATIONS
(a) Mandated Target Population. Child day care

services must be provided when funds and care

resources arc available to eligible children who

need day core services to enable:

f4-) their parents to seek or maintain em
ployment;

f3j them to remain in their own homes

during the period in which they receive

protective services for children;

{^ their parents to participate in training

leading to employment.

fb)

—

Optional Target Population.—Child day care

services may be provided to eligible children who

need day core services to enhance their social,

emotional, or cognitive development but who are

not included in one of the mandated population s .

(a) Child day care services must be provided to

eligible children, as defined in 10 NCAC 46H
.0200. who are in one or more of the following

target populations when funds and care resources

are available:

ill

£21

Children whose parents need child care

support in order to seek or maintain

employment.

Children whose parents need child care

support to attend school or job training

activities as described in Rule .0105 of

this Section.

(3) Children who need child care assistance

in order to remain in their own homes

during the period in which they receive

protective services for children.

(4) Children who need child care assistance

as defined by the local agency responsi-

ble for determining client eligibility and

who are in licensed foster care homes

or for whom the county department of

social services has custody.

(b) Child day care services may be provided m
the following circumstances:

(I ) Children who are eligible according to

the criteria defined in either Rule .0202

or Rules .0203 and .0204 of this Sub-

chapter whose emotional, cognitive,

social or physical development \s de-

layed or is at risk for delay.

(2) Children who meet the eligibility crite-

ria for Child Welfare Services funds as

provided in the North Carolina Division

of Social Services' Family Services

Manual. Volume I^ Chapter II, and who
need child care assistance as a support

to the family preventive or reunification

services described in the manual

.

(c") Notwithstanding other rules in this Chapter,

child day care services may be provided to chil-

dren in counties participating in the Early Child-

hood Education and Development Initiatives

Program authorized by Part lOB of Article 3 of

Chapter 143B of the North Carolina General

Statutes, provided that the child care services are

included in the county's Early Childhood Educa-

tion and Development Plan as approved by the

Department of Human Resources.

(d) When the availability of funding js less than

the amount needed to serve all eligible children,

the local agency responsible for determining child

eligibility for subsidized child care services may

establish the priority in which the target popula-

tions identified in Paragraphs (a) through (c) of

this Rule will be served. The order of priority

shall be stated in writing and made available to

applicants for child care assistance.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-153.

CHAPTER 47 - STATE\COUNTY
SPECIAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 47B - ELIGIBILITY
DETERMINATION

SECTION .0400 - ELIGIBILITY
FACTORS

.0404 RESER'VE
(a) Eligibility Requirement.

(1) To determine eligibility, the income

maintenance caseworker shall count

only resources that are currently avail-

able to the applicant or recipient. For

applications, only those resources that

are available during any month prior to

disposition are counted to determine

eligibility for those months. A resource

shall be considered available not only

when it is actually available but also

when the applicant or recipient has a

legal interest in a resource and can

make it available.
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I

\

>

(A) When a representative alleges that an

applicant or recipient is mentally

incompetent (and the allegation can be

supported by a physician's statement)

and does not have a legal representa-

tive appointed to act in his behalf, the

resources held solely by the applicant

or recipient or held jointly shall be

excluded in determining countable

reserve provided the following two

conditions are met:

(i) the petition to have an applicant

or recipient declared incompetent

is filed with the court within 30

calendar days from the date the

applicant's or recipient's represen-

tative is informed of the require-

ment; and

(ii) the petition to have a legal guard-

ian appointed is filed with the

court within 30 calendar days of

the date the applicant's or

recipient's representative is

informed of the requirement.

(B) The county department of social

services shall petition the court for

incompetency and appointment of a

guardian if:

(i) the applicant or recipient has no

representative willing to act in his

behalf or the representative or

guardian refuses to take the

required action. The county shall

petition the court to have the

applicant or recipient declared

incompetent and to have a

guardian appointed within 30

calendar days from the date it

learns of the representative's

refusal; or

(ii) the applicant's or recipient's

representative fails to take the

required action within 30 calendar

days of the date he was informed

of the requirement. The county

shall within 1 5 calendar days from

this date, petition the court to

have the applicant or recipient

declared incompetent and to have

a legal guardian appointed.

If the county department of social

services is required to act under

Subparagraph (B)(i) or (ii), t h e

resources held solely by the applicant

or recipient or held jointly shall be

excluded in determining countable

reserve.

(C) When the court rules that the

applicant or recipient is competent,

his resources shall be counted

beginning the first day of the month

following the month he is declared

competent.

(D) When the court declares the applicant

or recipient incompetent and appoints

a guardian, the guardian must take

appropriate action to dispose of or

make exempt the resource within 30

calendar days of his appointment. If

he does not, the county department of

social services shall determine if the

guardian is acting appropriately under

the terms of the guardianship.

(E) If the guardian takes the appropriate

action to dispose of or make exempt

the resource, the resource shall be

excluded until the clerk of court

confirms the action taken by the

guardian. The resource, if otherwise

includible, shall be counted in reserve

beginning the first day of the month

following the month the action is

confirmed by the clerk of court.

(2) The maximum reserve allowance for a

A special assistance applicant/recipient

shall be allowed to reserve rcsourocs in

the

—

following—amounts: the same

amount as the Medicaid-Aid to the

Aged, Blind, and Disabled medically

needy coverage group. The couple

amount shall apply regardless of

whether each spouse qualifies for

Special Assistance in his own right.

fA)

—

One thousand dollars ($1 ,000) for one

person.

fB)

—

One thousand one hundred dollars

($1,100) for a couple regardles s of

whether—eaeh—

s

pouse—qualifies—fef

Special Assistance in hi s own right.

If the reserve level exceeds the amount

allowed for the number in the budget

unit, the case is ineligible,

(b) Individuals Whose Reserve is Counted.

(1) Unless the spouse is in another

assistance unit, his reserve shall be

counted unless the couple is separated

or divorced. If the spouse is in another

assistance unit, only the applicant or

recipient's share shall be counted.

(2) Jointly Owned Resources.
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(A) If a budget unit member owns

resources jointly with another public

assistance recipient, his share shall be

counted as an available resource. TTie

resource shall be divided equally

unless the owners have a signed

agreement specifying division.

(B) If a budget unit member owns

resources jointly with a non-assistance

recipient, and he can dispose of the

resource without the consent of the

other owner, his share shall be

counted as an available resource.

(C) If a budget unit member owns

resources jointly with a non-assistance

recipient, and he cannot dispose of the

resource without the consent of the

other owner it shall be determined

whether the non-assistance recipient

consents to the disposal of the

resource.

(i) If he consents, the budget unit

member's share of the resource

shall be counted,

(ii) If he refuses, the budget unit

member's share shall not be

counted.

(c) Group I - reserve items counted:

(1) cash on hand;

(2) the current balance of savings accounts;

(3) that portion of a checking account other

than the monthly income deposited to

meet the family's needs;

(4) cash value of life insurance policies

when the total face value of all policies

that accrue cash value exceeds one

thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500);

(5) equity (tax value less encumbrances) in

non-essential motor vehicles;

(6) equity (tax value less encumbrances) in

excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000)

in an essential motor vehicle. TTie

vehicle must be needed by a family

member to:

(A) obtain medical treatment,

(B) obtain or retain employment,

(C) transport handicapped family

members as needed, or

(D) go shopping;

(7) stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares,

certificates of deposit and other liquid

assets;

(8) promissory notes, if salable;

(9) revocable trust funds (revocable means

the budget unit member has access to

the trust);

(10) net proceeds from a business, including

a farm, which has been discontinued;

and

(11) equity (tax value less encumbrances) in

real property not used as a home or

producing an income.

(d) Group I - reserve items excluded:

(1) personal effects and household goods;

(2) personal property including but not

limited to:

(A) a mobile home used as a homesite;

(B) a motorized mobile home;

(C) boats and trailers;

(D) campers; and

(E) farm or business equipment;

(3) equity (tax value less encumbrances) of

one thousand dollars ($1,000) or less in

an essential motor vehicle;

(4) income producing property; Only that

portion of the property which is used to

produce an income shall be excluded;

The property shall continue to be

excluded when it produces no income

because of fectors beyond the

recipient's control;

(5) term life insurance;

(6) burial insurance and pre-paid burial

contracts;

(7) the cash value of life insurance policies

when the total face value of all policies

that accrue cash value does not exceed

one thousand five hundred dollars

($1,500);

(8) relocation assistance payments received

under Title XX of the Uniform

Relocation Assistance and Real

Property Acquisition Policies Act of

1970;

(9) that portion of the monthly income

deposited in a checking account to meet

the family's needs;

(10) real property used as a home when the

recipient's personal belongings remain

in the home and he continues to state

his intent to return or his dependents

live in the home; Limited to a house

plus contiguous property with tax value

of twelve thousand dollars ($12,000) or

less;

(11) life estate or remainder interests;

(12) heir property; Heir property is a

descendant's undivided interest in real

property owned in common with other

descendants; and

1397 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

(13) value of burial plots,

(e) Group II - reserve items counted:

(1) cash on hand;

(2) the current balance of savings accounts;

(3) that portion of a checking account other

than the monthly income deposited to

meet the family's needs;

(4) cash value of life insurance policies

when the total face value of all policies

that accrue cash value exceeds one

thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500);

(5) tax value of non-essential personal

property limited to:

(A) tax value in excess of one thousand

two hundred dollars ($1,200) in all

motor vehicles except for Paragraph

(f) of this Rule;

(B) a mobile home not used as a home-

site;

(C) boats, boat trailers, and boat motors;

(D) campers;

(E) farm or business equipment which is

not used to produce an income; and

(F) motorized mobile homes;

(6) tax value of income producing personal

property when equity is in excess of six

thousand dollars ($6,000);

(7) tax value of income producing personal

property which does not yield a net

annual income of at least six percent of

the property's equity;

(8) tax value of income producing real

property not used as a home when the

equity is in excess of six thousand

dollars ($6,000);

(9) tax value of income producing real

property not used as a home which does

not yield a net annual income of at least

six percent of the property's equity;

(10) tax value of real property not used as a

home [limited to house and contiguous

land with tax value of twelve thousand

dollars ($12,000) or less];

(11) stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares,

certificates of deposit and other liquid

assets;

(12) promissory notes, if salable;

(13) revocable trust funds (revocable means

the budget unit member has access to

the trust);

(14) value of pre-paid revocable burial

contracts;

(15) net proceeds from a business, including

a farm, which has been discontinued;

(16) life estate interest, if salable;

(17) remainder interest, if salable; and

(18) amount of reverse mortgage remaining

in the month following the month of

receipt.

(f) Group II - reserve items excluded:

(1) personal effects and household goods;

(2) mobile home used as a homesite;

(3) one essential motor vehicle of any value

which is:

(A) specially equipped for use by a handi-

capped individual; or

(B) used to obtain medical treatment; or

(C) used to obtain or retain employment;

(4) tax value of one thousand two hundred

dollars ($1,200) or less from the value

of other motor vehicles;

(5) income producing personal property

when the equity does not exceed six

thousand dollars ($6,000);

(6) income producing property when the

annual yield is at least six percent of

the equity;

(7) real property used as a home [limited to

a house and contiguous land with tax

value of twelve thousand dollars

($12,000) or less]. The applicant or

recipient must have a written statement

from a physician indicating that he is to

return home within six months from the

date of entry into the facility or his

spouse and/or dependent children

remain in the home;

(8) term life insurance;

(9) burial insurance;

(10) the cash value of life insurance policies

when the total face value of all policies

that accrue cash value does not exceed

one thousand five hundred dollars

($1,500);

(11) relocation assistance payments received

under Title XX of the Uniform

Relocation Assistance and Real

Property Acquisition Policies Act of

1970;

(12) that portion of the monthly income that

is deposited in a checking account to

meet the femily's needs;

(13) non-salable life estate;

(14) non-salable remainder interest;

(15) heir property (lieir property is a

descendant's undivided interest in real

property owned in common with other

descendants);

(16) value of burial plots;

(17) irrevocable burial contract; and
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(18) reverse mortgages in the month of

receipt,

(g) Verification. Reserve items must be verified

and documented in the applicant or recipient's case

record.

Statutory Authority G.S. 108A-41; 108A-46;

143B-153.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT
OF INSURANCE

I\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend rule cited as 11 NCAC 6A . 0802.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 7, 1993 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 North Salisbury-

Street, Raleigh, NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Establishes a

continuing education course for surplus lines

licensees and makes technical amendments.

(comment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to George Bro\^Ti at P.O. Bo.x 26387, Raleigh,

NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call George Brown at (919) 733-7487 or

Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

CHAPTER 6 - AGENT SERVICES
DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 6A - AGENT SERVICES
DIVISION

SECTION .0800 - CONTINUING
EDUCATION

.0802 LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS
(a) Life , acoident. and health licensees shall

obtain 12 ICECs during each calendar year in

approved life^ accident, and health courses.

(b) Fire and casualty Property and liability

licensees shall obtain 12 ICECs during each

calendar year in approved fire and casualty proper-

ty and liability courses.

(c) Accident and health licensees shall obtain 12

ICECs during each calendar year in approved

accident and health courses.

(d) Any person holding more than one license to

which this Section applies shall obtain 18 ICECs
during each calendar year, including a minimum of

six ICECs for each kind of license.

(e) An instructor shall receive the maximum
ICECs awarded to a student for the course.

(f) Licensees shall not receive ICECs for the

same course more often than one time in any three

calendar year period except when there are major

revisions within the course. The Commissioner

shall determine whether the revisions are substan-

tial enough to qualify for additional ICECs within

a three calendar year period.

(g) Licensees do not have to obtain ICECs for

the calendar year in which they are initially li-

censed.

(h) Licensees shall receive ICECs for a course

only for the calendar year in which the course is

completed. Any course requiring an examination

shall not be considered completed until the licensee

passes the examination.

(i) Licensees shall not receive ICECs for courses

completed prior to January 1, 1991.

(j) Licensees shall maintain records of all ICECs

for three years following the obtaining of such

ICECs, which records shall be available for in-

spection upon the Commissioner's request.

(Tc) Nonresident licensees who meet continuing

education requirements in their home states meet

the continuing education requirements of this

Section. Nonresident licensees whose home states

have no continuing education requirements shall

meet the requirements of this Section, except for

the mandatory statute and rule update.

(1) Licensees shall be required to complete only

the mandatory statute and rule update prescribed in

Paragraph (p) of this Rule if they:

(1) are age 65 or older; and

(2) have been continuously licensed in the

line of insurance for at least 25 years;

and either

(3) hold a nationally recognized profession-

al designation for the line of insurance.

Acceptable designations include those

listed in 11 NCAC 6A .0803 (a) and

(Id); or

(4) meet the requirements of Subparagraphs

(1) and (2) of this Paragraph and certify

to the Department of Insurance annually

they are inactive agency owners who

neither solicit applications for insurance

nor take part in the day to day opera-
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tion of the agency.

(m) Courses completed prior to the issue date of

a new license do not meet the requirements of this

Section for that new license.

(n) No credit will be given for courses taken

before they have been approved by the Depart-

ment.

(o) Persons who hold adjuster licenses shall

obtain 12 ICECs during each calendar year in

approved fire and casualty property and liability

courses, including, in calendar year 1993 and each

even-numbered calendar year thereafter, the

mandatory statute and rule update required by

Paragraph (p) of this Rule. As used in this Sec-

tion, "licensee" includes a person who holds an

adjuster license and who is required to comply

with this Section.

(p) In calendar year 1994 and in each even-

numbered calendar year thereafter, each licensee

shall complete an approved course that comprises

information about and instruction in insurance and

insurance-related statutes and administrative rules,

including recent changes or developments in those

statutes and rules. The Commissioner may also

approve courses that also include relevant court

decisions.

(q) Each agent holding an active surplus lines

license with an effective date before January J^

1994, must take a surplus lines course as part of

the agent's 1994 property and liability continuing

education requirement. Each agent issued a

surplus lines license in 1994 must take a surplus

lines course as part of the agent's 1995 property

and liability continuing education requirement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-130.

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rule cited as 11 NCAC 10 . 1208.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1. 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 7, 1993 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 North Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC 27611.

Ixeason for Proposed Action: Necessary to carry

out the provisions of a recent act of the General

Assembly.

(comment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Dave Diehl at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call Dave Diehl at (919) 733-3368 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

tLditor's Note: This Rule was filed as a tempo-

rary adoption effective October 11, 1993 for a

period of 180 days or until the permanent rule

becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 10 - PROPERTY AND
CASUALTY DIVISION

SECTION .1200 - FORMS FILINGS

.1208 HEALTH CARE PROVIDER
DEFINED; CGL POLICIES

As used in G.S. 58-40-140. "health care provid-

er" means any person who, under Chapter 90 of

the General Statutes is licensed, registered, or

certified to engage in the practice of or performs

duties associated with any of the following: medi-

cine, surgery, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry,

midwifery, osteopathy, podiatry, chiropractic,

radiology, nursing, physiotherapy, pathology,

anesthesiology, anesthesia, laboratory analysis,

rendering assistance to a physician, dental hygiene,

psychiatry, psychology: or a hospital as defined by

G.S. 131E-76(3); or a nursing home as defined by

G.S. 131E-I01(6); or any other person who is

legally responsible for the negligence of such

person, hospital, or nursing home; or any other

person acting at the direction or under the supervi-

sion of any such person, hospital, or nursing

home.

Statutory Authority G. S 58-2-40; 58-40-140.

ISotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend rules cited as 11 NCAC 12

.1304, .1306 and .1307

Ihe proposed effective date of this action is

February 1. 1994.
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1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 7, 1993 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 North Salisbury

Street, Raleigh. NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Recent enactment

of the General Assembly.

K^orrunent Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Rodney Fmger at P.O. Box 26387, Ra-

leigh, NC 27611. Oral presentations may be

made at the public hearing. Anyone hanng ques-

tions should call Rodney Fmger at (919) 733-5060

or Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

Editor's Note: These Rules were filed as tempo-

rary amendments effective October 11, 1993 for

a period of 180 days or until the permanent rules

become effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 12 - LIFE AND HEALTH
DIVISION

SECTION .1300 - SMALL EMPLOYER
GROUP HEALTH COVERAGE

.1304 COMPLIANCE
(a) Each carrier and third party administrator

shall file a report on North Carolina small employ-

er group insurance activity' annually on or before

March 15, which report shall describe case charac-

teristics and numbers of health benefit plans in

various categories marketed or issued to small

employers. The report shall be in a format pre-

scribed by the Commissioner

fb)

—

On and after August 1 4 . 1902. each carrier

shall ofi^er both statutory plans to any small cm

ployer whose application for coverage the carrier

refused if the refusal occurred on or after January

1. 1092. but before August 1 4 . 1992. This offer

may be made at the anniversary' of the declination,

but not later than August 13, 1993.

fe^

—

A carrier that offers coverage to a small

employer—shall—ofl^er coverage—te—eaeh

—

eligible

employee and to each eligible dependent.—Tbe
£b] Each carrier shall provide the same health

benefit plan to those eligible employees and depen-

dents.

(c) {^ A carrier shall not set contribution and

participation requirements for the statutory plans

that are more restrictive than those for the carrier's

nonstatutory plans.

fe)

—

In applying minimum participation require

mcntfl for a small employer and in dctcrminiflg

whether the applicable percentage of participation

i s met, a carrier shall not consider cmployeca or

depwndenta who have existing coverage, whether

the coverage is through another employer based

health benefit plan, an individual health insurance

policy. Medicare, or Medicaid.

(d) If any eligible employee or dependent has

qualifying existing coverage, as defined in G.S.

58-50- 130(a)(5), and therefore does not participate

in the employer's health benefit plan, a carrier is

not required to issue or renew the employer's plan

unless either:

(1) at least two eligible employees in a

group of seven or less elect to partici-

pate; or

(2) at least 25 percent of eligible employees

in a group of more than seven elect to

participate.

(e) f#) Each carrier shall offer both statutory

plans to any small employer upon request or if the

carrier is unable to issue a nonstatutory plan to the

small employer applicant.

(fj (g^ A carrier shall provide an extension of

benefits to any insured who is a hospital inpatient

until the insured is released by the hospital if the

insured's existing coverage would end during the

insured's hospital stay and if replacement coverage

is not available to the insured, subject to the

continued payment of monthly premiums or dues

by the insured.

(g) fb) New business applications submitted to

a carrier on and after September 1, 1992, shall be

accompanied by a statement signed by the produc-

er and the small employer applicant that certifies

that the employer understands that the firm may

elect coverage under the statutory plans. The

disclosure form shall be made part of such state-

ment. A copy of the signed statement and disclo-

sure form must be provided to the small employer

applicant. Tlie disclosure form shall be in a form

prescribed by the Commissioner.

(Ti) ft) If a carrier establishes more than one

class of business under G.S. 58-50- 1 1 3 . the carrier

shall maintain at least one basic and standard

health care plan in each class of business so

established. Nothing in this Section prevents a

carrier from offering the statutory plans through an

association or multiple employer trust.

Statutory Authority G.S 58-2-40(1): 58-50-105:

58-50-113: 58-50-120(0(4): 58-50-1 20(c)(6):

58-50-125fd): 58-50-130(a)(2): 58-50-1 30(a)(5):

58-50-1 30(d): 58-50-130(0-
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.1306 REENSURANCE POOL
(a) Conditions and procedures regarding partioi

pation in and administration of the Pool shall be

promulgated by the Board-

fa) fb) Reinsurance is available for coverage of

eligible employees, their dependents, or the entire

small employer group under any health benefit

plan issued as new business by a reinsuring carrier

to an eligible small employer on and after August

14, 1992. Reinsurance is also available to eligible

small employers who were refused coverage

between January 1, 1992 and August 13, 1992,

and were subsequently issued a statutory plan.

(b) {e) Subject to any other restrictions of this

Section, a reinsuring carrier may reinsure an

eligible employee, an eligible employee's depen-

dent, or a small employer group who has insurance

coverage under any health benefit plan subject to

the Act.

(d^

—

Reinsurance is available for coverage of a

late cnrollcc as of the effective date of his or her

coverage, subject to any other restrictions of this

Section.

£c} ^ No carrier or producer shall disclose to

insureds that their coverage is reinsured by the

Pool.

(d) ff) A reinsuring carrier shall apply for

reinsurance within 60 days after the effective date

of coverage. A reinsuring carrier's decision to

reinsure a risk shall be based on the review of

underwriting taken at the time of application. TTie

decision may not be based on the small employer

group's claims that have accrued since the effec-

tive date of coverage.

(e) {^ Reinsurance coverage may remain in

effect, in the reinsuring carrier's and the Pool's

discretion, as long as the reinsured coverage

remains in effect. When the reinsured coverage

terminates, reinsurance will be terminated.

(f) fb) A reinsuring carrier may terminate

reinsurance on an individual or a group without

terminating the reinsured coverage; and that

reinsuring carrier shall not thereafter apply for

reinsurance for the person or persons covered.

(g) (t) A reinsuring carrier may reinsure a

previously-declined individual upon enrollment in

a health benefit plan or within 60 days after that

enrollment, subject to any restrictions of this

Section.

(h) fj) Any reinsuring carrier whose health

benefit plan also covers extra eligibles may not

reinsure the coverage of those extra eligibles.

(i) fk) Any new entrant in a health benefit plan

may be reinsured on the effective date of his or

her coverage but no later than 60 days after that

date, subject to any other restrictions of this

Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1);
58-50-130(b)(4); 58-50-150(a); 58-50-1500(5);

58-50-150(g).

.1307 GUARANTEED ISSUE AND
RENEWAL

(a) No carrier shall decline an application for

coverage under the statutory plans. A carrier may
continue to issue health benefit plans other than the

statutory plans.

(b) If an eligible employee commits fraud or

makes material misrepresentation to a carrier, the

carrier may rescind coverage for that employee.

If the small employer commits fraud or makes a

material misrepresentation to a carrier, the carrier

may rescind coverage for that entire small employ-

er group.

(c) TTie late enroUee provision in G.S.

58-50- 130(a)(4) applies to all health benefit plans

subject to the Act.

(d) Any health benefit plan covering an employ-

er that by definition becomes a small employer is

not subject to the Act until the next anniversary

date of that plan.

(e) Any health benefit plan covering a small

employer that by definition loses its status as a

small employer is subject to the Act until the next

anniversary date of that plan. At that time, the

carrier shall determine if the employer is by

definition a small employer. If the employer is not

a small employer, the carrier may terminate the

plan. If the carrier does not terminate the plan,

the carrier shall amend the plan with riders or

endorsements to comply with requirements of

statutes and rules that were not reflected in the

plan before the anniversary date.

(f) Before a plan anniversary date, a small

employer may request that coverage be changed

from one statutory plan to another statutory plan.

(g)

—

All health benefit plans subject to the Act

that arc delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, or

continued in this State or covering pKjrsons res iding

in this State on and after August 1 4 , 1992. must

provide coverage for all eligible employees and

their dependents—who are willing and—able to

participate regardless of their health and without

exclu sionary riders or modifications of coverage of

any kind.—Carriers arc not required to issue other

health benefit plans subject to the Act up)on re

quest; but if such plan s arc is sued, a carrier mu s t

issue coverage to all eligible employees and their

dependents who arc willing and able to participate.
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without exclusionary ridcnB or modificationa of

coverage of any kind.

{b^ Previously declined—individuals shall be

provided opKsn enrollment periods in which they

may enroll in the health benefit plan in force for

the small employer group.—This enrollment period

shall be no less than 30 days and shall begin no

later than the first plan anniversary date that falls

on or after August 1 4 , 1992.—If a small employer

chooses not to renew an exi sting health benefit

plan on or after August 1 4 , 1992. any subsequent

carrier shall provide the open enrollment period

for previously declined individuals.

(g) (i) Previously declined individuals are not

late enrollees unless they fail to enroll during their

initial enrollment periods.

{hj fj) On the next health benefit plan anniversa-

ry date that falls on or after August 14, 1992, a

carrier shall remove all exclusionary riders or

conditional modifications on any health benefit

plan that is subject to the Act.

(i) ^ A carrier may base termination on non-

payment of premium; and shall apply termination

decisions uniformly to all of the carrier's small

employer group business.

iij 0) A carrier is not required to issue a statuto-

ry plan to a small employer if within the prior 12

months the carrier terminated a health benefit plan

of the small employer because the employer:

(1) failed to pay the premium;

(2) committed fraud or materially misrepre-

sented information necessary to deter-

mine the group size, group participation

rate, or the group premium rate; or

(3) failed to materially comply with a

health benefit plan provision, including

carrier requirements for employee

group premium contributions.

(k) {ffi) All health benefit plans subject to the

Act that were delivered, issued for delivery,

renewed, or continued in this State or covering

persons residing in this State on or after January 1,

1992, must be guaranteed renewable, except for

the reasons listed in G.S. 58-50-130(a)(3).

(1) {fi) Each carrier shall provide an open enroll-

ment period for a new entrant to be added to the

health benefit plan. The open enrollment period

shall be at least 30 days in length. A new entrant

who is a new eligible employee shall be added to

the plan within 90 days of his or her employment.

A new entrant who is a dependent shall have an

open enrollment period of at least 30 days, begin-

ning on the date he or she becomes a dependent of

an eligible employee, if the eligible employee has

coverage. If a new entrant does not apply for

coverage by the end of the open enrollment period,

he or she is a late enrollee unless he or she meets

the requirements of G.S. 58-50-1 10(14)a, b, or c.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-50-105;

58-50-125(d); 58-50-125(e)(l); 58-50-130(a);

58-50-130(h).

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend rule cited as 11 NCAC 16 .0205.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 7, 1993 at the Dobbs Building,

3rd Floor Hearing Room, 430 North Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC 27611.

MXeason for Proposed Action: This data item is

needed to help determine credibility factors and

also utilization rates.

l^omment Procedures: Written comments may be

sent to Viiller James at P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

NC 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call miter James at (919) 733-3284 or

Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4529.

CHAPTER 16 - ACTUARIAL SERVICES
DIVISION

SECTION .0200 - INDIVIDUAL ACCIDENT
AND HEALTH INSURANCE

,0205 DATA REQUIREMENTS FOR RATE
REVISION SUBMISSION

With respect to any individual accident and

health insurance policy governed by Articles 1

through 64 of Chapter 58 for which an adjustment

of premium rate to in force policies is allowed by

law, the insurer shall submit an actuarial memo-
randum describing and demonstrating the develop-

ment of any requested premium rate revision. The

actuarial memorandum shall contain a subsection

clearly identified as "Additional Data Require-

ments." The initial rate revision filing shall be

submitted to and stamped received by the Depart-
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ment's Life and Health Division. An insurer shall

submit all data required by this Rule within 45

days after the date that the initial rate revision

filing is stamped received. Subsequent data

submissions on incomplete initial rate revision

filings shall be made directly to the Department's

Actuarial Services Division within the 45 day

period. An insurer may continue to submit data in

accordance with data submission procedures

followed before the efi^ective date of this Rule for

a period not to exceed one year after the effective

date of this Rule if an authorized officer of the

insurer certifies to the Commissioner that the

insurer's current information system cannot assem-

ble data as required by this Rule. The data re-

quired in the "Additional Data Requirements"

subsection shall include:

(1) Identification of the submitted data as

North Carolina or countrywide and con-

sistent use of this data identification

throughout this Section.

(2) Identification of all policy forms by

approved North Carolina policy form

number.

(3) The month, year, and percentage amount

of all previous rate revisions.

(4) The month and year that the rate revision

is scheduled to be implemented (hereinaf-

ter referred to as the "implementation

date").

(5) The type of renewability provision con-

tained in each policy form, e.g. guaran-

teed renewable.

(6) The type of coverage provided by each

policy form, e.g. medical expense.

(7) The National Association of Insurance

Commissioners minimum guideline loss

ratio and, if different, the insurer's mini-

mum guideline loss ratio.

(8) The average annual premium for North

Carolina and countrywide before and

after the implementation of the rate revi-

sion.

(9) The number of North Carolina and coun-

trywide policyholders affected by the rate

revision.

(10) TTie requested rate revision percentage

attributable to experience.

(11) The requested rate revision percentage

attributable to changes in benefits pro-

mulgated by Medicare, if applicable.

(12) Identification and actuarial justification of

all groupings of policy forms.

(13) The historical calendar year earned pre-

mium subdivided by duration and ex-

pressed on an actual and a current premi-

um rate basis for the period of time from

the earliest date that experience is record-

ed to the most recent date experience is

recorded.

(14) The "expected" incurred loss ratios by

duration based upon original pricing

assumptions for duration one through the

latest duration contained within the fifth

year following the implementation date.

(15) The "expected" lapse rates by duration

based upon original pricing assumptions

for duration one through the latest dura-

tion contained within the fifth year fol-

lowing the implementation date.

(16) The "actual" lapse rates for duration one

through the duration coinciding with the

calendar year for which the most recent

experience is recorded.

(17) The historical calendar year incurred

claims, for other than Medicare supple-

ment insurance, covering the period of

time from the earliest date that experi-

ence is recorded to the most recent date

experience is recorded.

(18) The historical calendar year incurred

claims, for Medicare supplement insur-

ance, expressed on an actual and a cur-

rent benefit level basis covering the

period of time from the earliest date

experience is recorded to the most recent

date experience is recorded.

(19) A count of the number of incurred claims

for each calendar year of data provided;

which means the total number of claims

reported durinp the calendar year (wheth-

er paid or in the process of payment),

plus the number of incurred but not

reported claims at the end of the calendar

year, minus the number of incurred but

not reported claims at the beginning of

the calendar year. For disability income

insurance, only the initial claim payment

for each period of disablement shall be

counted. For each type of medical ex-

pense benefit, only the initial claim pay-

ment per cause shall be counted; for

example, payments for continuation of a

claim, such as refills on a prescription

drug, are to be excluded from the in-

curred claim count.

(20) f+9) An estimation of the amount of

policy year exposure contributed by all

policyholders within each calendar year

of data provided.
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(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

(27)

(28)

(29)

(30) A statement declaring whether this is

an open bloclc of business or a closed

block of business.

(34-) An estimation of the annual earned

premium on new issues for the period of

time from the date that the most recent

experience is last recorded to a date not

exceeding the fifth year following the

implementation date.

(33) The number of months that the rate

will be guaranteed to an individual poli-

cyholder.

(3^ The rate revision implementation

method, such as the next premium due

date following a given date, the next

policy anniversary date, or otherwise; if

otherwise, an explanation must be includ-

ed.

(34) A statement declaring the month and

year of the earliest anticipated date of the

next rate revision.

(3#) An explanation and actuarial justifi-

cation of the apportionment of the aggre-

gate rate revision within each policy form

or between policy forms that have been

grouped; and a demonstration that the

apportionment of the aggregate rate

revision yields the same premium income

as if the rate revision had been applied

uniformly.

(36) An explanation and actuarial justifi-

cation, if applicable, for changing any

factor that afl'ects the premium.

(3^ An explanation of the effect that the

rate revision will have on the incurred

loss ratio on those policies in force for

three years or more as exhibited in the

Medicare Supplement Experience Exhibit

of the Annual Statement.

(3^ The name, address, and telephone

number of an insurance company repre-

sentative who will be available to answer

questions relating to the rate revision.

Statutory Authority

58-63-15(7)b.

as. 58-2-40(1); 58-5J -95;

TITLE ISA - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

Jy/otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR - Coastal Management

intends to amend rules cited as 15A NCAC 7H

.0104 and .0304.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1, 1994.

1 he public hearings will be conducted on the

following dates and locations:

4:00 p.m.

November 18, 1993

Ramada Inn

1 701 South Virginia Dare Trail

Kill Devil Hills, NC

7:00 p.m.

November 22, 1993

Currituck Co. Satellite Office

1123 Ocean Trail

Corolla, NC 27927

7:00 p.m.

November 30, 1993

Marine Fisheries Bldg.

3441 Arendell St.

Morehead City, NC 28557

7:00 p.m.

December 1, 1993

Old Fire Station

Town of N. Topsail Beach

1 Gray St.

Topsail Beach, NC 28445

7:00 p.m.

December 2, 1993

Ocracoke School

State Rd. 1325

OffHwy. 12

Ocracoke, NC 27960

7:00 p.m.

December 6, 1993

Town of Surf City

Town Hall

214 N. Ne\i' River Dr
Surf City. NC 28445

7:00 p.m.

December 7, 1993

Wilmington Regional Office

127 Cardinal Dr. Extension

Wilmington. NC 28405-3845

i

{

i
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7:00 p.m.

December 8, 1993

Brunswick County Public

Assembly Building

45 Courthouse Drive

Bolivia, NC 28422

MXeasonfor Proposed Action:

ISA NCAC 7H .0104- Proposed amendments will

make exceptions to the new Erosion Rates for

development that has been planned on existing

lots.

ISA NCAC 7H .0304 - Proposed amendments will

incorporate the updated 1992 rates of shoreline

change into CAMA for use in delineating the

Ocean Hazard Area ofEnvironmental Concern and

for determining setbacks for oceanfront develop-

ment. These rates are periodically updated to

include recent trends into the long term average

rate of change.

i^omment Procedures: All persons interested in

this matter are invited to attend the public hear-

ings. The Coastal Resources Commission will

receive mailed written comments postmarked no

later than December 17. 1993. Any person desir-

ing to present lengthy comments is requested to

submit a written statement for inclusion in the

record of proceedings at the public hearings.

Additional information concerning the hearings or

the proposals may be obtained by contacting

Dedra Blackwell, Division of Coastal Manage-

ment, PO Box 27687, Raleigh, NC 27611-7687,

(919) 733-2293.

hiditor's Note: Text shown in Bold Italics in

Rule .0304 was adopted by the agency on Septem-

ber 24, 1993. These changes are pending review

by the Rules Review Commission for an effective

date of December 1, 1993.

CHAPTER 7 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 7H - STATE GUIDELINES
FOR AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL

CONCERN

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION AND
GENERAL COMMENTS

.0104 DEVELOPMENT INITIATED PRIOR
TO EFFECTIVE DATE OF
REVISIONS

(a) The following Rules shall be used to deter-

mine whether the revisions to guidelines for

development in areas of environmental concern

(hereinafter referred to as revisions), with an

effective date of June 1, 1979, shall apply to a

proposed development.

(1) In the case of a development for which

a CAMA permit was required prior to

June 1, 1979, the revisions shall not be

applicable if a complete and sufficient

application for a CAMA permit was

filed and accepted before June 1, 1979.

However if the application should lapse

or be denied, thereby requiring a new

application after June 1, 1979, or if the

application is modified or renewed after

June 1, 1979, the revisions shall be

made applicable.

(2) In the case of a development for which

no CAMA permit was required prior to

July 15, 1979, the revisions shall not be

applicable if all legally required permits

have been applied for and accepted in

accordance with the applicable rules of

the agency responsible for the permit.

However, if the application should

lapse or be denied, thereby requiring a

new application after July 15, 1979, or

if the application is modified or

renewed after July 15, 1979, the

revisions shall be applicable.

(3) In those cases where a CAMA major

permit was issued before June 1, 1979,

for a major development which

included platted lots, the new standards

shall apply to such platted lots only to

the maximum extent possible without

effectively prohibiting the intended use

of those lots. In order for this Rule to

apply, the following conditions must be

met:

(A) the lot on which the proposed

development is to be located shall

have been accurately shown on the

major development permit application

and the boundaries must not have

been significantly altered.

(B) the lot on which the proposed

development is to be located shall

have been suitable for the intended

use according to the ABC guidelines

in effect at the time the major permit

was issued.

(C) a minor development permit must be

applied for and received according to
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the normal minor permit process

before development can begin.

(D) this Rule shall apply only to

development for which a permit

application is submitted prior to

expiration of the major development

permit issued before June 1, 1979.

(4) In those cases where any necessary

local approval was issued for a

proposed subdivision development prior

to July 15, 1979, the Division of

Coastal Management advised the

developer in writing where to locate the

ocean setback line for the proposed

subdivision, and the proposed

subdivision development was recorded

in the county registry prior to July 15,

1979, with the ocean setback

determined by the Division of Coastal

Management, any new standards

regarding oceanfront setbacks shall

apply to the platted lots within the

proposed subdivision only to the

maximum extent possible without

effectively prohibiting the intended use

of those lots. In order for this Rule to

apply, the following conditions must be

met:

(A) the lot(s) on which the proposed

development is to be located shall

have been accurately shown on an

approved local plat and the boundaries

must not have been significantly

altered;

(B) the lot(s) on which the proposed

development is to be located shall

have been suitable for the intended

use according to the AEC guidelines

in effect at the time the plat was

approved; and

(C) a minor development permit(s) must

be applied for and received according

to the normal minor permit process

before development can begin.

(b) The oceanfront setback provisions

specifically applicable to large structures, as set

forth by Rule .0306(a)(4) of this Subchapter, shall

apply only to development applications received on

or after November 1, 1983. Further, Rule

.0306(a)(4) of this Subchapter shall only apply to

the maximum extent possible without effectively

prohibiting the intended use of the property in the

following situations:

(1) the completion of projects that had

received valid CAMA permits prior to

November 1, 1983, provided that

permit renewals, modification and

transfer requests for these projects

made pursuant to I5A NCAC 7J .0404,

.0405 and .0406 and 15A NCAC 7E

.0105 shall be considered under the

setback rules applicable at the time of

original permit issuance, and no

renewals or extensions of pre-existing

permits shall be made beyond the

expiration period unless either there has

been substantial progress on

construction or no material change in

the physical conditions at the project

site (as is provided by 15A NCAC 7J

.0403); and

(2) the completion of projects that were

outside of CAMA permit jurisdiction

prior to November 1, 1983, provided

that all other required state and local

permits had been applied for in accord-

ance with the rules of the agencies

responsible for such permits and that

the developer has materially changed

his or her position in good faith

reliance on such development

approvals. In all instances, such

development must be consistent with all

other provisions of this Subchapter.

(c) In the case of subdivisions or projects which

have received either all required final or

preliminary local approvals or a CAMA major

development permit prior to May 27, 1988, and

have therein met all applicable CAMA setback

requirements as of May 27, 1988, the updated

oceanfront erosion rates approved by the

Commission on July 29, 1988, and effective on

November 1, 1988, shall only apply to the

maximum extent feasible. For these previously

approved lots and projects, the erosion rate ex-

isting as of May 27, 1988, shall be applied in

determining minimum oceanfront setbacks for

purposes of subsequent approved construction or

development prior to the next erosion rate update.

(d) In the case of subdivisions or projects which

have received either all required final or

preliminary local approvals or a CAMA major

development permit since May 27, 1988 and prior

to September 23, 1993 and have therein met all

applicable CAMA setback requirements as of

September 23, 1993 the updated oceanfront

erosion rates approved by the Commission on

January 28, 1994 and effective on April L, 1994

shall only apply to the maximum extent feasible.

For these previously approved lots and projects.
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I

the erosion rate existing as of September 23, 1993

shall be applied in determining minimum

oceanfront setbacks for purposes of subsequent

approved construction or development prior to the

next erosion rate update.

Statutory Authority G. S.

n3A-124.

113A-107; 113A-113;

\

)

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS

.0304 AECs WITHIN OCEAN HAZARD
AREAS

The ocean hazard system of AECs contains all of

the following areas:

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area in

which there exists a substantial possibility

of excessive erosion and significant

shoreline fluctuation. The seaward

boundary of this area is the mean low

water line. The landward extent of this

area is determined as follows:

(a) a distance landward from the first line

of stable natural vegetation to the

recession line that would be established

by multiplying the long-term annual

erosion rate times 60, provided that,

where there has been no long-term

erosion or the rate is less than two feet

per year, this distance shall be set at

120 feet landward from the first line of

stable natural vegetation. For the

purposes of this Rule, the erosion rates

shall be those set forth in tables maps

entitled "Long Term Annual Erosion

Shoreline Change Rates updated

through 1986 1992 " and approved by

the Coastal Resources Commission on

July 29, 1988 January 28. 1994 (except

as such rates may be varied in

individual contested cases, declaratory

or interpretive rulings). The tables

maps are available without cost from

any local permit officer or the Division

of Coastal Management; and

(b) a distance landward from the recession

line established in Subparagraph (a) of

this Paragraph Sub-Item (l)(a) of this

Rule to the recession line that would be

generated by a storm having a one

percent chance of being equalled or

exceeded in any given year.

The High Hazard Flood Area. This is

the area subject to high velocity waters

(2)

(including, but not limited to, hurricane

wave wash) in a storm having a one

percent chance of being equalled or

exceeded in any given year, as identified

as zone VI -30 on the flood insurance rate

maps of the Federal Insurance Adminis-

tration, U.S. Department of Housing and

Urban Development. In the absence of

these rate maps, other available base

flood elevation data prepared by a feder-

al, state, or other source may be used,

provided said data source is approved by

the CRC.

(3) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard

areas are natural-hazard areas that are

especially vulnerable to erosion, flooding

and other adverse effects of sand, wind,

and water because of their proximity to

dynamic ocean inlets. This area shall

extend landward from the mean low

water line a distance sufficient to encom-

pass that area within which the inlet will,

based on statistical analysis, migrate, and

shall consider such factors as previous

inlet territory, structurally wesik areas

near the inlet (such as an unusually nar-

row barrier island, an unusually long

channel feeding the inlet, or an overwash

area), and external influences such as

jetties and channelization. These areas

shall be identified on inlet hamrd area

maps approved by the Coastal Resources

Commission. The areas identified as

sussested Inlet Hamrd Areas included

in the report entitled INLET HAZARD
AREAS, The Final Report and Recom-

mendations t_o the Coastal Resources

Commission, 1978, by Loie Xl Priddy

and Rick Carrawav are hereby desienat-

ed as Inlet Hamrd Areas except that the

Cape Fear Inlet Hamrd as shown on

said map shall not extend northeast o[

the Baldhead Island marina entrance

channel. In all cases, this area shall be

an extension of the adjacent ocean erod-

ible area and in no case shall the width of

the inlet hazard area be less than the

width of the adjacent ocean erodible area.

(4) Unvegetated Beach Area. This is a

dynamic area that is subject to rapid

unpredictable landform change from wind

and wave action. The areas in this cate-

gory shall be designated following de-

tailed studies by the Coastal Resources

Commission. These areas shall be desig-
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nated on maps approved by the Commis-

sion and available without cost from any

local permit officer or the Division of

Coastal Management.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113;

USA- 124.

******************

written comments must be delivered or mailed to

the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N.

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES
AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER lOB - HUNTING AND
TRAPPING

I\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to adopt rules cited as

ISA NCAC lOB .0123; lOH .0813 and amend

rules cited as ISA NCAC lOB .0119; lOF .0330;

lOH .0806; 101 .0002 - .0003.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

March 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on November 22, 1993 at the 3rd Floor

Conference Room, Archdale Building, 512 North

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

ISA NCAC lOB .0119 - To restrict the collection

of spotted turtles.

ISA NCAC lOB .0123 - To prohibit possession of

tongueless or African Clawed Frog.

ISA NCAC lOF .0330 - To establish a no v^ake

zone north of the Beaufort Drawbridge on the

Newport River

ISA NCAC lOH .0806 - To require falconry

permittees to report all acquisitions and disposi-

tions of raptors to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Service and to the Wildlife Resources Commission.

ISA NCAC lOH .0813 - To establish permit re-

quirements for raptor propagation permit.

ISA NCAC 101 .0002 - To allow raptors listed as

a special concern species to be taken from the wild

pursuant to a permit and to allow captive-bred

raptors listed as special concern species to be

bought, sold or bartered.

ISA NCAC 101 .0003 - To designate the Carolina

Heelsplitter as an endangered species.

i^omment Procedures: Interested persons may

present their views either orally or in writing at

the hearing. In addition, the record of hearing

mil be open for receipt of written comments from

November 1, 1993 to December 1, 1993. Such

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
REGULATIONS

.0119 WILDLIFE COLLECTORS
(a) Collection Licenses. The Executive Director

is authorized to license qualified individuals to take

or collect any species of wildlife resources except

that endangered, threatened, special concern

species, spotted turtles (Clemmys guttata). Eastern

diamondback rattlesnakes, Carolina pygmy rattle-

snakes, and Eastern coral snakes may not be taken

or collected except under a special permit issued

by the Executive Director for research proposes .

This Rule shall not prohibit an individual from

killing an endangered, threatened, or special

concern species, or an Eastern diamondback

rattlesnake, Carolina pygmy rattlesnake, or Eastern

coral snake in defense of his own life or the lives

of others without a permit. Individuals who hold

less than five reptiles or less than 25 amphibians

not on the endangered, threatened or special

concern lists and not including spotted turtles

(Clemmys guttata). Eastern diamondback rattle-

snakes, Carolina pygmy rattlesnakes, and Eastern

coral snakes are exempted from this license re-

quirement. Such license shall be issued upon

payment of a fee in accordance with the General

Statutes, except that licenses may be issued to

representatives of educational or scientific institu-

tions or of governmental agencies without charge.

Such license may be used in lieu of any other

hunting or trapping license required by law and

shall authorize possession and transportation of the

wildlife incidental to the authorized taking, except

that it shall not authorize the taking, possession or

transportation of any species of wildlife in viola-

tion of federal laws or regulations.

(b) Qualifications of Licensees. In addition to

representatives of educational and scientific institu-

tions and governmental agencies, the collection

license may be issued to any individual for any

worthwhile purpose when such is not deemed

inimical to the efficient conservation of the species

to be collected or to some other wildlife species

that may be dependent thereon.
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(c) Methods of Taking. The manner of taking

wildlife resources under a collection license may

be specified by the Executive Director and need

not be restricted to the usual methods of hunting or

trapping.

(d) Term of License. The Executive Director

may, in his discretion, impose time limits and

other restrictions on the duration of any collection

license, but unless so restricted the license shall be

valid from January 1 through December 3 1 of the

applicable year.

(e) Report of Collecting Activity. Each individ-

ual licensed under this Rule shall submit a written

report to the Executive Director within 15 days

following the date of expiration of the license.

The report shall be on a form supplied by the

Wildlife Resources Commission and shall show the

numbers of each species taken under the license

and the use or disposition thereof. The Executive

Director may require additional information for

statistical purposes such as the dates and places of

the taking and the sex, size, weight, condition, and

approximate age of each specimen taken. Such

additional information may be required on the

form of report or by a separate writing accompa-

nying the form.

(f) Other Requirements and Restrictions. The

Executive Director may, in his discretion, impose

such other requirements and restrictions on persons

licensed under this Rule as he may deem to be

necessary to the efficient administration of the

wildlife conservation laws and regulations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.4.

.0123 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN
SPECIES OF WILDLIFE
RESOURCES

It is unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, or

sell any species of Tongueless or African Clawed

Frog (Xenopus spp.) or to stock or release them in

the public or private waters or lands of North

Carolina, except that they may be possessed in

indoor facilities of scientific and educational

institutions by permit issued by the Executive

Director pursuant to G.S. 113-274(c)(4) and

containing such conditions and limitations as he

deems necessary.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-

292.

SUBCHAPTER lOF - MOTORBOATS AND
WATER SAFETY

(2)

(3)

(4)

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY
REGULATIONS

.0330 CARTERET COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the

following waters in Carteret County:

(1) the waters of Money Island Slough

beginning at the east end of Money
Island near the Anchorage Marina Basin

and ending at the west end of Money
Island where Brooks Avenue deadends

at the slough;

the waters of Taylor Creek located

within the territorial limits of the Town

of Beaufort;

the waters of Pelletier Creek beginning

at the entrance to Pelletier Creek at the

Intracoastal Waterway and ending at

U.S. Highway 70;

the waters of Bogue Sound in Morehead

City between Sugar Loaf Island and the

seawall on the south side of Evans,

Shepard and Shackleford Streets and

bounded on the east by the State Ports

Authority and on the west by the east-

em right-of-way margin of South 13th

Street extended;

the waters of Gallant's Channel from

the US 70 crossing over the Grayden

Paul bridge to Taylor's Creek;

the waters of Cedar Island Bay and

Harbor from U.S. 70 to Cedar Island

Bay Channel Light 8;

the waters of Radio Island Creek;

the waters of the Newport River begin-

ning at the north side of the Beaufort

Draw Bridge and ending at marker §6.

(b) Speed Limit. It is unlawful to operate a

motorboat or vessel at a speed greater than

no-wake speed while on the waters of the regulated

areas designated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers.

The Board of Commissioners of Carteret County,

with respect to the regulated areas designated in

Subparagraphs (1), (3), (5), (6)^ (71 and £8) f^) of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and the Board of

Commissioners of the Town of Beaufort, with

respect to the regulated area designated in

Subparagraph (2) of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

and the Board of Commissioners of Morehead

City, with respect to Subparagraph (4) of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, are designated as

suitable agencies for placement and maintenance of

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the

approval of the United States Coast Guard and the

(5)

(6)

(7)

18}
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United States Army Corps of Engineers.

Statutory Authority G. S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

SUBCHAPTER lOH - REGULATED
ACTIVITIES

SECTION .0800 - FALCONRY

.0806 CONDITIONS OF PERMIT
Every falconry permit shall be issued subject to

the following special conditions:

(1) A permittee may not take, transport or

possess a golden eagle (Aquila

chrysaetos) unless authorized in writing

by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

(2) A permittee may trade or transfer a

raptor to another permittee if the transac-

tion occurs entirely within the state and

no money or other consideration is in-

volved. A permittee may trade or trans-

fer a raptor to another permittee in an

interstate transaction if the prior written

approval of the commission Commission

is obtained and no money or other con-

sideration is involved in the transaction.

A permittee must report all acquisitions

and dispositions of raptors to the U.S.

Fish and Wildlife Service and to the

Commission on forms supplied by the

Commission. A permittee may purchase,

sell or barter any lawfully possessed

raptor which is bred in captivity under a

federal raptor propagation permit and

banded with a numbered seamless marker

provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Service, provided:

(a) the person receiving such raptor is

authorized to possess it under this

Section, or 50 CFR 21, or the foreign

country of his residence or domicile in

accordance with 50 CFR
21.28(e)(2)(iii)(A);and

(b) the The permittee transferring such

raptor has acquired it from a person

authorized to possess it as provided by

the Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph

Subitem (2)(a) of this Rule .

(3) A permittee may not take, possess, or

transport a raptor in violation of the

restrictions, conditions, and requirements

of the federal and state falconry regula-

tions.

(4) The falconry seasons and the daily, pos-

session and season bag limits are con-

tained in ISA NCAC 1GB .0216.

(5) A permittee must have his permit in

possession at all times when raptor trap-

ping devices or raptors are in his posses-

sion away from his residence.

(6) In addition to criminal penalties for viola-

tions provided by federal and state stat-

utes, permits are subject to suspension or

revocation in accordance with applicable

law.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 1 13-270. 3(b)(5): 50

CFR. 21.28: 50 C.F.R. 21.29.

.0813 RAPTOR PROPAGATION PERMIT
(a) Raptor propagation permits shall be obtained

from the Commission and from the U.S. Fish and

Wildlife Service prior to the captive breeding of

any raptor.

(b) Permit requirements, application procedures,

issuance criteria, and additional permit conditions

for issuance of federal raptor propagation permits

are set forth in 50 C.F.R. 21 .30 which is hereby

incorporated by reference and shall include any

subsequent amendments.

(1) The state permit shall run concurrently

with the federal permit and will expire

on the same date as the federal permit.

The state permit may be revoked or

renewal may be denied for violation of

the provisions of 50 C.F.R. 21 .30.

(2) A copy of all applications and other

records required under 50 C.F.R. 21.30

must be submitted to the Commission

and to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Ser-

vice.

(c) Protected species of raptors listed as species

of special concern in 15A NCAC 101 .0005, when

lawfully acquired, may be propagated.

(d) Sale of captive-bred raptors and raptors

taken from the wild is prohibited.

Authority G.S. 113-134: 1 13-270. 3(b)(5): 50

C.F.R. 21.29.

SUBCHAPTER 101 - ElVDANGERED ANT)

THREATENED SPECIES

.0002 PROTECTION OF ENDANGERED/
THREATENED/SPECIAL CONCERN
SPECIES

(a) No Open Season. There shall be no open

season for taking any of the species listed as

endangered in Rule .0003, threatened in Rule

.0004 or, unless otherwise provided, as special
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concern in Rule .0005 of this Subchapter. Except

as provided in Paragraphs (b), (c) and (e) of this

Rule, it is unlawful to take or possess any of such

species at any time.

(b) Permits. The executive director may issue

permits to take an endangered, threatened, or

special concern species for the purpose of scientif-

ic investigation relevant to perpetuation or restora-

tion of said species or as a part of a commission-

approved study or restoration effort.

(c) Taking Without a Permit:

(1) An individual may take an endangered,

threatened, or special concern species

in defense of his own life or the lives of

others without a permit.

(2) A state or federal conservation officer

or employee who is designated by his

agency to do so may, when acting in

the course of his official duties, take,

possess, and transport endangered,

threatened, or special concern species

without a permit if the action is neces-

sary to:

(A) aid a sick, injured, diseased or or-

phaned specimen;

(B) dispose of a dead specimen;

(C) salvage a dead specimen which may

be useful for scientific study; or

(D) remove specimens which constitute a

demonstrable but nonimmediate threat

to human safety, provided the taking

is done in a humane and noninjurious

manner; the taking may involve injur-

ing or killing endangered, threatened,

or special concern species only if it is

not reasonably possible to eliminate

the threat by live-capturing and re-

leasing the specimen unharmed, in a

suitable habitat.

(d) Reporting. Any taking or possession of an

endangered, threatened, or special concern species

under Subsections (b) and (c) of this Rule is

subject to applicable reporting requirements of

federal law and regulations and the reporting

requirements of the permit issued by the Executive

Director or of 15A NCAC lOB .0106(e).

(e) Exception.

(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of

this Rule, processed meat and other

parts of American alligators, which

have been lawfully taken in a state in

which there is an open season for har-

vesting alligators, may be possessed,

bought and sold when such products are

marketed in packages or containers

which are distinctly labeled to indicate

the state in which they were taken and

the identity, location, and lawful au-

thority of the processor or distributor.

(2) Raptors listed as special concern species

in Rule .0005 of this Subchapter may
be taken from the wild for falconry

purposes and for falconry propagation,

provided that a valid North Carolina

endangered species permit has been

obtained as required in Paragraph (b) of

this Rule.

(3) Captive-bred raptors listed as special

concern species may be bought, sold,

bartered or traded as provided in 50

C.F.R. 21.30 when marked as required

under those regulations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2;

113-291.3; 113-292; 113-333.

.0003 ENDANGERED SPECIES LISTED
(a) The following species of resident wildlife are

designated as federally-listed endangered species:

(1) Amphibians:

None Listed At This Time

(2) Birds:

(A) American peregrine falcon (Falco

peregrinus anatum);

(B) Bachman's warbler (Vermivora

bachmanii);

(C) Bald eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus);

(D) Ivory-billed woodpecker
(Campephilus principalis);

(E) Kirtland's warbler (Dendroica

kirtlandi);

(F) Red-cockaded woodpecker (Picoides

borealis);

(G) Roseate tern (Sterna d. dougallii);

(H) Wood stork (Mycteria americana).

(3) Fish:

(A) Cape fear shiner (Notropis

mekistocholas);

(B) Shortnose sturgeon (Acipenser

brevirostrum), when found in inland

fishing waters.

(4) Mammals:

(A) Carolina northern flying squirrel

(Glaucomys sabrinus coloratus);

(B) Eastern cougar (Felis concolor cou-

gar);

(C) Gray bat (Myotis grisescens);

(D) Indiana bat (Myotis sodalis);

(E) Manatee (Trichechus manatus),

when found in inland fishing
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(5)

(6)

(F)

lA}

m

ID}

(A)

(B)

(C)

(b) The

designated

(1)

(2)

(3)

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

(4)

(5)

(A)

(B)

waters;

Virginia big-eared bat (Plecotus t.

townsendii).

Mollusks:

Carolina heeisplitter (Lasmigona

decorata);

fA^ Dwarf wedge mussel
(Alasmidonta heterodon);

fB) Little-wing pearlymussel (Pegias

febula);

f€) Tar river spiny mussel (Elliptic

[canthyria] steinstansana)

.

Reptiles:

Atlantic ridley turtle (Lepidochelys

kempii);

Hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys

imbricata);

Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys

coriacea).

following species of resident wildlife are

as state-listed endangered species:

Amphibians:

Green salamander (Aneides aeneus).

Birds:

Bewick's wren (Thryomanes bewickii);

Fish:

Blotchside Logperch (Percina

burtoni);

Cutlips Minnow (Exoglossum

maxillingua);

Dusky Darter (Percina sclera);

Orangefin Madtom (Noturus gilberti);

Paddlefish (Polyodon spatula);

Rustyside Sucker (Moxostoma
hamiltoni);

Stonecat (Noturus flavus).

Mammals:

None Listed At This Time

Mollusks:

Appalachian elktoe (Alasmidonta

raveneliana);

Barrel Floater (Anodonta couperiana);

Carolina heeisplitter (Lasmigona

decorata);

iC) (©) Fragile

clingmani);

(D) (E) Green

subviridus);

(E) (F) Knotty

interrupta);

(F) fG-) Magnificent

(Planorbella magnifica);

(G) ^H) Neuse spike (Elliptio judithae);

(H) fl) Pistolgrip (Tritigonia verrucosa);

(I) (4) Slippershell mussel (Alasmidonta

glyph (Glyphyalinia

floater (Lasmigona

elimia (Goniobasis

rams-horn

viridis);

(J) {K) Tennessee hellsplitter (Lasmigona

holstonia);

(K) (fc) Tennessee pigtoe (Fusconaia

bamesiana)

.

(6) Reptiles:

None Listed At This Time

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2;

113-292; 113-333.

lyiotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule cited as

15A NCAC WD .0002.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May

1, 1994.

1 he public hearings will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. as follows:

District 9

January 24. 1994

Sylva, NC
Courthouse

District 8

January 25, 1994

Morganton, NC
Morganton Civic Center Auditorium

District 7

January 26, 1994

Elkin, NC
High School

District 6

February 1, 1994

Albemarle, NC
North Stanley High School

District 5
February 2, 1994

Graham, NC
Courthouse

District 4

February 3, 1994

Elizabethtown, NC
Courthouse

District 1

i

i

i
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February 7, 1994

Edenton, NC
Swain Auditorium

District 2

February 8, 1994

New Bern, NC
Courthouse

District 3

February 9, 1994

Nashville, NC
Courthouse

MXeason for Proposed Action: To provide addi-

tional access on WRC-owned gamelandfor persons

with disabilities.

Lyomment Procedures: Interested persons may

present their views either orally or in writing at

the hearing. In addition, the record of hearing

will be open for receipt of written comments from

November 1, 1993 to February 9, 1994. Such

written comments must be delivered or mailed to

the N. C. Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

hiditor's Note: This Rule was filed as a tempo-

rary amendment effective October 11, 1993 for a

period of 180 days or until the permanent rule

becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES
AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER lOD - GAME LANDS
REGULATIONS

,0002 GENERAL REGULATIONS
REGARDING USE

(a) Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes

other than hunting, trapping or fishing shall be as

authorized by the landowner and there shall be no

removal of any plants or parts thereof, or other

materials, without the written authorization of the

landowner. Travel is restricted, except by autho-

rized personnel, to direct access from SR 2074 to

the established waterfowl viewing stands on

Cowan's Ford Waterfowl Refuge. The Wildlife

Resources Commission may designate areas on

game lands as either an Archery Zone, Safety

Zone or Restricted Zone.

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game

lands posted as "Archery Zones" hunt-

ing is limited to bow and arrow hunting

only.

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game
lands posted as "Safety Zones" hunting

is prohibited. No person shall hunt or

discharge a firearm or bow and arrow

within, into, or across a posted safety

zone on any game land.

(3) Restricted Zone. Portions of game

lands posted as "Restricted Zones" are

closed to all use by the general public,

and entry upon such an area for any

purpose is prohibited without first

having obtained specific written approv-

al of such entry or use from an autho-

rized agent of the Wildlife Resources

Commission.

(4) Establishment of Archery and Restrict-

ed Zones. The Commission will con-

duct a public input meeting in the area

where the game land is located before

establishing any archery or restricted

zone. After the input meeting the

public comments will be presented to

an oflficial Commission meeting for

final determination.

(b) Littering. No person shall deposit any litter,

trash, garbage, or other refuse at any place on any

game land except in receptacles provided for

disposal of such refuse at designated camping and

target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or

sanitary landfills shall be established on any game

land by any person, firm, corporation, county or

municipality, except as permitted by the landown-

er.

(c) Possession of Hunting Devices. It is unlaw-

ful to possess a firearm or bow and arrow on a

game land at any time except during the open

hunting seasons or hunting days for game birds or

game animals, other than fox, thereon unless said

device is cased or not immediately available for

use, provided that such devices may be possessed

and used by persons participating in field trials on

field trial areas and on target shooting areas

designated by the landowner, and possessed in

designated camping areas for defense of persons

and property; and provided further that .22 caliber

pistols with barrels not greater than seven and

one-half inches in length and shooting only short,

long, or long rifle ammunition may be carried as

side arms on game lands at any time other than by

hunters during the special bow and arrow and

muzzle-loading firearms deer hunting seasons and

by individuals training dogs during closed season
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without field trial authorization. This Rule shall

not prevent possession or use of a bow and arrow

as a licensed special fishing device in those waters

where such use is authorized. During the closed

firearms seasons on big game (deer, bear, boar,

wild turkey), no person shall possess a shotgun

shell containing larger than No. 4 shot or any rifle

or pistol larger than a .22 caliber rimfire while on

a game land, except that shotgun shells containing

any size steel or non-toxic shot may be used while

waterfowl hunting. No person shall hunt with or

have in possession any shotgun shell containing

lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted

waterfowl impoundment on any game land, or

while hunting waterfowl on Butner-Falls of Neuse

Game Land or New Hope Game Land, except

shotgun shells containing lead buckshot may be

used while deer hunting,

(d) Game Lands License

(1) Hunting and Trapping

(A) Requirement. Except as provided in

Part (B) of this Subparagraph, any

person entering upon any game land

for the purpose of hunting, trapping,

or participating in dog training or

field trial activities must have in his

possession a game lands license in

addition to the appropriate hunting or

trapping licenses.

(B) Exceptions

(i) A person under 16 years of age

may hunt on game lands on the

license of his parent or legal

guardian.

(ii) The resident and nonresident

sportsman's licenses include game

lands use privileges.

(iii) Judges and nonresidents partici-

pating in field trials under the

circumstances set forth in Subsec-

tion (e) of this Rule may do so

without the game lands license.

(iv) On the game lands listed in Rule

.0003(d)( 1 ) of this Subchapter the

game lands license is required

only for hunting doves; all other

activities are subject to the control

of the landowners.

(2) Trout Fishing. Any person 16 years of

age or over, including an individual

fishing with natural bait in the county

of his residence, entering a game land

for the purpose of fishing in designated

public mountain trout waters located

thereon must have in his possession a

game lands license in addition to the

regular fishing license and special trout

license. The game lands license is not

required to fish in that part of Slick

Rock Creek which coincides with the

Tennessee State line, or when fishing

from boat on Calderwood Lake. The

resident and nonresident sportsman's

licenses and short-term comprehensive

fishing licenses include trout fishing

privileges on game lands.

(e) Field Trials and Training Dogs. A person

serving as judge of a field trial which, pursuant to

a written request from the sponsoring organization,

has been officially authorized in writing and

scheduled for occurrence on a game land by an

authorized representative of the Wildlife Resources

Commission, and any nonresident participating

therein may do so without procuring a game lands

license, provided such nonresident has in his

possession a valid hunting license issued by the

state of his residence.

Any individual or organization sponsoring a field

trial on the Sandhills Field Trial grounds or the

Laurinburg Fox Trial fecility shall file with the

commission's agent an application to use the area

and facility accompanied by a check for the facility

use fee computed at the rate of fifty dollars

($50.00) for each scheduled day of the trial. The

total facility use fee will cover the period from

12:(X) noon of the day preceding the first

scheduled day of the trial to 10:(X) a.m. of the day

following the last scheduled day of the trial. The

fecility use fee must be paid for all intermediate

days on which for any reason trials are not run but

the building or facilities are used or occupied. A
fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per day shall be

charged to sporting, educational, or scouting

groups for scheduled events utilizing the club

house only. No person or group of persons or any

other entity shall enter or use in any manner any

of the physical facilities located on the Laurinburg

Fox Trial or the Sandhills Field Trial grounds

without first having obtained specific written

approval of such entry or use from an authorized

agent of the Wildlife Resources Commission, and

no such entry or use of any such facility shall

exceed the scope of or continue beyond the

specific approval so obtained.

The Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used

only for field trials scheduled with the approval of

the Wildlife Resources Commission. No more

than 16 days of field trials may be scheduled for

occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during any

calendar month, and no more than four days may
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be scheduled during any calendar week; provided,

that a field trial requiring more than four days may

be scheduled during one week upon reduction of

the maximum number of days allowable during

some other week so that the monthly maximum of

16 days is not exceeded. Before October 1 of each

year, the North Carolina Field Trial Association or

other organization desiring use of the Sandhills

facilities between October 22 and November 18

and between December 3 and March 31 must

submit its proposed schedule of such use to the

Wildlife Resources Commission for its consider-

ation and approval . The use of the Sandhills Field

Trial facilities at any time by individuals for

training dogs is prohibited; elsewhere on the

Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only

on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays from

October 1 through April 1.

Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run

unleashed between April 1 and August 15 on any

game land located west of 1-95, except when

participating in field trials sanctioned by the

Wildlife Resources Commission.

(f) Trapping. Subject to the restrictions con-

tained in 15A NCAC lOB .0110, .0302 and .0303,

trapping of furbearing animals is permitted on

game lands during the applicable open seasons,

except that trapping is prohibited:

(1) on the field trial course of the Sandhills

Game Land;

(2) on the Harmon Den and Sherwood bear

sanctuaries in Haywood County;

(3) in posted "safety zones" located on any

game land;

(4) by the use of multiple sets (with an-

chors less than 15 feet apart) or bait on

the National Forest Lands bounded by

the Blue Ridge Parkway on the south,

US 276 on the north and east, and NC
215 on the west;

(5) on that portion of the Butner-Falls of

Neuse Game Lands marked as the

Penny Bend Rabbit Research area;

(6) on Cowan's Ford Waterfowl Refuge in

Gaston, Lincoln and Mecklenburg

Counties;

(7) on the Hunting Creek Swamp Water-

fowl Refuge.

On those areas of state-owned land known

collectively as the Roanoke River Wetlands and

including the Broadneck, Company Swamp,

Conine Island, Speller-Outlaw and Urquhart tracts,

controlled trapping is allowed under a permit

system. For information contact the Division of

Wildlife Management of the Wildlife Resources

m

Commission.

(g) Use of Weapons. No person shall hunt or

discharge a firearm or bow and arrow from a

vehicle, or within 200 yards of any building or

designated camping area, or within, into, or across

a posted "safety zone" on any game land. No
person shall hunt with or discharge a firearm

within, into, or across a posted "restricted zone"

on any game land.

(h) Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a

motorized vehicle on any game land except on

those roads constructed and maintained for vehicu-

lar travel and those trails posted for vehicular

travel^ unless such person:
;
provided that this

provision shall not apply to participants

(1) is a participant in scheduled bird dog

field trials held on the Sandhills Game
Landi or

is a disabled license holder pursuant to

G.S. 113-270.2 and G.S. 113-271 and

the underlying basis for obtaining such

license was limited physical mobility.

Persons meeting this criteria may oper-

ate electric wheelchairs and All Terrain

Vehicles on those game lands owned by

the Wildlife Resources Commission.

For purposes of this Rule, the term

"wheelchair" is defined as a device that

is designed solely to be used by mobili-

ty-impaired individuals for locomotion.

The term "All Terrain Vehicle" is

defined as those vehicles having three

or four wheels, tire pressure of no

more than five pounds per square inch

and a gross vehicle weight of no more

than 600 pounds. Notwithstanding this

Rule, no person shall operate an elec-

tric wheelchair, an All Terrain Vehicle,

or any other motorized vehicle on

wildlife plantings, high risk areas of

erosion, dedicated nature preserves,

other areas in which no access is per-

mitted or in streams except at ford

crossings.

(i) Camping. No person shall camp on any

game land except on an area designated by the

landowner for camping.

(j) Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the

lakes located on the Sandhills Game Land.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264;

113-270.3; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305;

113-306.
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I\lotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR-Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rule cited as 15A NCAC
13B . 1601.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on November 16, 1993 at the Norton Board

Room, 6th Floor, Cooper Memorial Health Build-

ing, 225 N. McDowell Street, Raleigh, NC.

Keasonfor Proposed Action: To comply with the

Federal amendment of Part 258 and allow small

Municipal Solid Wiste Landfills (MSWLFs) a

conditional exemption to Section .1600 require-

ments. The amendment will also allow all

MSWLFs that close prior to October 9, 1993, an

extended completion date of October 9, 1994 for

installation of a cap system.

(comment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. V&itten comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to Brad Rutledge,

Division of Solid Wiste Management , Solid Wiste

Section, PO Box 27687. Raleigh, NC 27611-7687.

All written comments must be received by

December 1 , 1993. Persons who wish to speak at

the hearing should contact Mr Rutledge at (919)

733-0692. Persons who call in advance of the

hearing will be given priority on the speaker 's list.

Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Only persons who

have made comments at a public hearing or who

have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or proposed changes

from staff pursuant to comments made during the

public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL INTERESTED
AND POTENTIALLYAFFECTED PERSONS, GROUPS,
BUSINESSES, ASSOCIATIONS, INSTITUTIONS OR
AGENCIES MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS
KNOWN TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH
SERVICES THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS. WHETHER THEY SUPPORT
OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL PROVISIONS OF THE

PROPOSED RULES THE COMMISSION MAY MAKE
CHANGES TO THE RULES AT THE COMMISSION
MEETING IF THE CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S
150B-21.2(f).

tLditor's Note: This Rule was filed as a

temporary amendment effective October 9, 1993,

for a period of 180 days or until the permanent

rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID
WASTE MANAGEMENT

SECTION .1600 - REQUIREMENTS FOR
MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE LAIWFILL

FACILITIES (MSWLFs)

.1601 PURPOSE, SCOPE, AND
APPLICABILITY

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this Section is to

regulate the siting, design, construction, operation,

closure and post-closure of all municipal solid

waste landfill facilities, MSWLFs.
(b) Scope. This Section describes the

performance standards, application requirements,

and permitting procedures for all municipal solid

waste landfill facilities. The requirements of this

Section are intended to:

(1) Establish the State standards for

MSWLFs to provide for effective

disposal practices and protect the public

health and environment.

(2) Coordinate other State Rules applicable

to landfills.

(3) Facilitate the transition for existing

landfill facilities which continue to

operate MSWLF units.

(c) Applicability. Owners and operators of new

and existing landfill facilities including a MSWLF
unit(s) shall conform to the requirements of this

Section as follows:

(1) Municipal solid waste landfill units

which did not receive solid waste after

October 9, 1991 shall comply with the

Solid Waste Permit, the Conditions of

Permit, and Rule .0510.

(2) MSWLF units that received solid waste

after October 9, 1991 but stop receiving

waste before October 9, 1993 shall

comply with the Solid Waste Permit,

the Conditions of Permit, and Rule
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I

.0510. The cap system shall be

installed within six month s of las t

receipt of wastes by October 9^ 1994

and shall meet the criteria set forth in

Subparagraph (c)(1) of Rule .1627 of

this Section. Owners or operators of

MSWLF units that foil to complete

cover installation by this date will be

subject to all of the requirements appli-

cable to existing MSWLFs.
(3) Effective dates.

f^ £A} All MSWLF units that receive

waste on or after October 9, 1993,

except those units that qualify for an

exemption as specified in Part

(c)(3)(B) of this Rule shall comply

with the requirements of this Section.

(B) A MSWLF unit that meets the

conditions in Subparts (i) through (vi)

of this Rule is exempt from the

requirements of Section . 1600 other

than Rule .1627. This exemption

shall not be effective unless the

amendment to the federal rule 40

CFR Part 258.1 (e)(1) and (2}

extending the effective dates is

\

\

ii)

published in the Federal Register as a

final rule.

The MSWLF unit disposed of 100

tons per day or less of solid waste

between October 9^ 1991 and

October 9, 1992.

(ii) The MSWLF unit does not

dispose of more than an average

of 100 TPD of solid waste each

month between October 9^ 1993

and April 9. 1994.

(iii) The MSWLF unit is not on the

National Priorities List (NPL) as

found in Appendix B to 40 CFR
Part 300, which is hereby

incorporated by reference

including any subsequent

amendments and additions.

Copies of this material are

available for inspection and may

be obtained at the Department of

Environment. Health, and Natural

Resources, Division of Solid

Waste Management. 401 Oberlin

Road, Raleigh, N.C. at no cost,

(iv) The MSWLF unit owner and

operator shall notify the Division

by November L. 1993. that they

shall stop receiving waste at their

MSWLF unit before April 9,

1994. Notification to the Division

shall include a statement of com-

pliance with all conditions speci-

fied in Part (c)(3)(B) of this Rule.

Hi If the MSWLF unit is owned

or operated by a unit of local

government, notification shall

be in the form of a Resolution

adopted by the Governing

Board.

If the MSWLF unit is privately

owned or operated, the notifi-

cation shall be executed by the

owner and operator or in the

case of a corporation, by a

corporate officer with legal

authority to bind the corpora-

tion. All signatures shall be

properly attested and nota-

ffl)

£v)

rized.

Waste received at the MSWLF
unit shall cease prior to April 9^

1994.

(vi) MSWLF units which meet all

conditions of exemption required

within Subparagraph (c)(3) of this

Rule shall complete installation of

the ca2 system in accordance with

Subparagraph (c)(1) of Rule .1627

of this Section by October 9^

1994.

(4) MSWLF units failing to satisfy the

requirements of this Section constitute

open dumps, which are prohibited

under Section 4005 of RCRA. Closure

of open dumps that receive household

waste shall meet the requirements of

this Section,

(d) The owner or operator of a MSWLF facility

shall comply with any other applicable Federal and

State laws, rules, regulations, or other require-

ments.

Statutory Authority as. 130A-294.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

I\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. State Board of Certified

Public Accountant Examiners intends to adopt

rules cited as 21 NCAC 8F .0112; 8J .0011; 8K
.0301; 8N .0101 - .0104, .0201 - .0213, .0301 -
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.0307, .0401 - .0408, amend rules cited as 21

NCAC8A .0105, .0301, .0307 - .0309, .0315; SB

.0202, .0502; 8F .0103, .0105. .0107, .0302,

.0409: 8G .0401. .0406, .0409; 8H .0002, .0004;

81 .0001, .0004; 8J .0001, .0002, .0005, .0006,

.0008. .0010; 8K .0104. .0105. .0201; 8M .0102,

.0201, .0301, .0304 and repeal rules cited as 21

NCAC8F.0501; 8G .0101 - .0103, .0106- .0109,

.01 12 -.01 14, .0201 -.0205, .0208 -.021 3, .0301

- .0306, .0310- .0312; 8H .0003.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 13, 1993 at the N.C. State

Board of CPA Examiners. 1101 Oberlin Road,

Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27605.

MXeason for Proposed Action: To improve read-

ability of professional ethics and exam rules.

Petition by a CPA to make the rules genderless.

N. C. General Assembly adopted on July 15, 1993,

a new law effective October 1 , 1993, providing for

creation of Registered Limited Liability Partner-

ships and Limited Liability Companies through

which CPAs could practice in this State.

Lyomment Procedures: Any person interested in

these Rules may present oral comments relevant to

the action proposed at the public rule-making

hearing or deliver written comments to the Board

office not later than December 13, 1993. Anyone

planning to attend the hearing should notifi,- the

Board office by noon on December 1. 1993,

whether they v^ish to speak on the proposal and

whether they will speak in favor of the proposal or

against it. Anyone speaking on the proposals will

be limited to a total of 10 minutes.

EdUor's Note: 21 NCAC 8K .0301 was filed as

a temporary adoption effective October 1, 1993

for a period of 180 days or until the permanent

rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 8 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMEVERS

SUBCHAPTER 8A - DEPARTMENTAL
RULES

SECTION .0100 - ORGAMZATIONAL

RULES

.0105 PURPOSES AND RESPONSIBILITIES
(a) The Board is an independent state agency,

unlike the N.C. Association of CPAs. The agency

is an occupational licensing board and is autho-

rized by Chapter 93 of the N. C. General Statutes.

(b) The Board has these primary responsibilities:

(1) to protect the public;

(2) to grant CPA certificates to those who

have met legal requirements including

age, citizenship, education, experience,

and good moral character;

(3) to register CPA firms;

(4) to annually renew the certificates of

qualifying CPAs and registered CPA
firms;

(5) to administer the semi-annual CR\
Examination;

(6j to administer the CPE program and

monitor compliance with the program;

(7) to administer the SQR program and

monitor compliance with the program;

£8} f^ to adopt rules of professional ethics

and conduct to be observed by CPAs in

this state;

(9) i%) to conduct administrative hearings

in accordance with state statutes and

Board rules; and

(10) (9) to administer other provisions of

G.S. 93.

(c) The Board is composed of five persons who

are CPAs and two persons who are not CPAs but

who represent the public at large.

(d) In North Carolina anyone can practice public

accountancy by paying a minimal privilege license

fee. However, anyone not licensed by the Board

is restricted to the title "accountant." Even though

a person holds a CPA certificate issued by another

state, and holds a position in such fields as indus-

try, government, or education, that person must

obtain a North Carolina certificate in order to use

the CPA title while in this state, subject to the

exemptions set forth in 21 NCAC 8H .0005.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12.

SECTION .0300 - DEFINTTIONS

.0301 DEFINITIONS
(a) The definitions set out in G.S. 93- 1(a) shall

apply when those defined terms are used in 21

NCAC 8.

(b) In addition to the definitions set out in G.S.

93- 1 (a), the following definitions and other defini-
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tions in this Section apply when these terms are

used in 21 NCAC 8:

(1) "Active," when used to refer to the

status of a person, describes a person

who possesses a North Carolina certifi-

cate of qualification and who has not

otherwise been granted "Retired,"

"Inactive," or "Conditional" status;

(2) "AICPA" means the American Institute

of Certified Public Accountants;

(3) "Applicant" means a person who has

applied to take the CPA examination;

(4) "Attest service" means providing:

(A) any audit,

(B) any review of a financial statement,

(C) any compilation of a financial state-

ment when the CPA expects, or rea-

sonably might expect, that a third

party will use the compilation and the

CPA does not disclose a lack of inde-

pendence, and

(D) any examination of prospective finan-

cial information;

(5) "Audit" means an examination of finan-

cial statements of a person by a CPA,

conducted in accordance with generally

accepted auditing standards, to deter-

mine whether, in the CPA's opinion,

the statements conform with generally

accepted accounting principles or, if

applicable, with another comprehensive

basis of accounting;

(6) "Board" means the North Carolina State

Board of Certified Public Accountant

Examiners;

(7) "Calendar year" means the 12 months

beginning January 1 and ending Decem-

ber 31;

(8) "Candidate" means a person whose

application to take the CPA examina-

tion has been accepted and who may sit

for the CPA examination;

(9) "Client" means one who orally or in

writing agrees with a person or firm

holding out pursuant to 21 NCAC 8A
0308 to receive any services included

in 21 NCAC 8A .0307;

(10) (9) "Commission" means compensation,

except a referral fee, for recommending

or referring any product or service to

be supplied by another person;

(1 1) ftO) "Compilation of a financial state-

ment" means presenting in the form of

a financial statement information that is

the representation of any other person

without the CPA's undertaking to ex-

press any assurance on the statement;

(12) f44) "Conditional," when used to refer

to the status of a person, describes a

person who holds a North Carolina

certificate of qualification under certain

conditions as imposed by the Board,

such as additional requirements for

failure to complete the required CPE
hours in a calendar year;

(13) fi3) "Contingent fee" means a fee

established for the performance of any

service pursuant to an arrangement in

which no fee will be charged unless a

specified finding or result is attained, or

in which the amount of the fee is other-

wise dependent upon the finding or

result of such service;

(14) f+^ "CPA" means certified public

accountant;

(15) ^44) "CPE" means continuing profes-

sional education;

(16) {i&^ "Disciplinary action" means revo-

cation or suspension of, or refusal to

grant, membership, or the imposition of

a reprimand, probation, constructive

comment, or any other penalty or con-

dition;

(17) "Disclosed" means a written statement

of the service to be rendered with the

contingent fee to be charged and ]s

dated and signed by the client;

(18) f+4) "Examination of prospective finan-

cial information" means an evaluation

by a CPA of:

a forecast or projection,

the support underlying the assump-

tions in the forecast or projection,

whether the presentation of the fore-

cast or projection is in conformity

with AICPA presentation guidelines,

and

whether the assumptions in the fore-

cast or projection provide a reason-

able basis for the forecast or projec-

tion;

(19) fW) "FASB" means the Financial Ac-

counting Standards Board;

(20) {i%j "Firm" means an individual propri-

etor, a partnership, a professional cor-

poration^ a professional limited liability

company, or a registered limited liabili-

ty partnership;

(21) ^W) "Forecast" means prospective

financial statements that present, to the

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)
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best of the responsible party's knowl-

edge and belief, an entity's expected

financial position, results of operations,

and changes in financial position or

cash flows that are based on the respon-

sible party's assumptions reflecting

conditions it expects to exist and the

course of action it expects to take;

(22) f30) "GASB" means the Governmental

Accounting Standards Board;

(23) (i+^ "Inactive," when used to refer to

the status of a person, describes one

who has voluntarily surrendered a

certificate of qualification and who does

not use the title "certified public ac-

countant" nor does fee one allow anyone

to refer to fet« them as a "certified

public accountant," and neither he they

nor anyone else refers to fetffl them in

any representation as described in 21

NCAC 8A .0308(1.). Unrevoked inac-

tive certificates shall be kept by the

Board until change of status of the

former certificate holder;

(24) fSS) "IRS" means the Internal Revenue

Service;

(25) f3^ "License year" means the 12

months beginning July 1 and ending

June 30;

(26) ^34) "Member of a firm" means any

CPA who has an ownership interest in

a CPA firm including owners, partners,

and shareholders; as that term is used

in G.S. 93-4 means any individual other

than an assistant authorized by G.S.

93-9 who renders or ofleers to render

accountancy services through a regis-

tered CPA firm;

(27) f3§) "NASBA" means the National

Association of State Boards of Accoun-

tancy;

(28) (36) "NCACPA" means the North

Carolina Association of Certified Public

Accountants;

(29) (37^ "North Carolina oflice" means any

office physically located in North Caro-

lina;

(30) (38) "Participating firm" means a firm

participating in the SQR program.

Does not include firms exempt by

reason of 21 NCAC 8M .0102(a) or

deemed in compliance pursuant to 21

NCAC 8M .0104;

(31) (39) "Person" means any natural per-

son, corporation, partnership, profes-

sional limited liability company, regis-

tered limited liability partnership, unin-

corporated association, or other entity;

(32) (30) "Projection" means prospective

financial statements that present, to the

best of the responsible party's knowl-

edge and belief, given one or more

hypothetical assumptions, an entity's

expected financial position, results of

operations, and changes in financial

position or cash flows that are based on

the responsible party's assumptions

reflecting conditions it expects would

exist and the course of action it expects

would be taken given such hypothetical

assumptions;

(33) (34) "Referral fee" means compensation

for recommending or referring any

service of a CPA to any person;

(34) (^3) "Retired," when used to refer to

the status of a person, describes one

possessing a North Carolina certificate

of qualification who does not receive

any earned compensation for current

personal services in any job whatsoev-

er; however, this does not preclude

volunteer services for which the retired

CPA receives no direct nor indirect

compensation so long as the retired

CPA does not sign any documents,

related to such services, as a CPA.

Limited exemptions may be granted in

the discretion of the Board only in the

following instances when the applicant

verifies no intent to return to active

status and either:

(A) the applicant performs no personal

services related to the field of

accounting, or

(B) the applicant is not providing

accounting services, is 70 years of

age or more, and agrees not to hold

himself oneself out as a CPA or use

the title in connection with any type

of service provided to the public;

(35) (^^ "Revenue Department" means the

North Carolina Department of Revenue;

(36) (M) "Review" means to perform an

inquiry and analytical procedures that

permit a CPA to determine whether

there is a reasonable basis for

expressing limited assurance that there

are no material modifications that

should be made to financial statements

in order for them to be in conformity
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with generally accepted accounting

principles or, if applicable, with

another comprehensive basis of

accounting;

(37) f^ "SQR Advisory Committee" means

the State Quality Review Advisory

Committee to the Board;

(38) 06) "SQR Program" means the State

Quality Review Program of the North

Carolina State Board of Certified Public

Accountant Examiners;

(39) i^ "SQR Review team" means that

team of CPAs which reviews a firm

pursuant to the requirements of

Subchapter 8M. A review team may be

comprised of one or more members;

(40) 08) "SQR Review team captain" means

that member of a review team who is

responsible for the review and supervis-

es the other members of the team;

(41) 09) "SQR Reviewer" means a member

of a review team including the review

team captain; and

(42) ^40) "Trade name" means a name used

to designate a business enterprise.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1; 93-1 2(8c).

.0307 PRACTICE OF ACCOUNTANCY OR
ACCOUNTING

(a) A person is engaged in the "public practice

of accountancy" who:

(1) holds himself oneself out to the public

as a certified public accountant or an

accountant, and,

(2) in consideration of compensation re-

ceived or to be received,

(3) offers to perform or does perform for

other persons

(4) services which involve:

(A) preparing, auditing or verifying finan-

cial transactions, books, accounts, or

records, or

(B) preparing, verifying or certifying

financial, accounting and related

statements intended for publication,

including preparing tax returns, or

(C) rendering professional services or

assistance in or about any and all

matters of principle or detail relating

to accounting procedure and systems,

or

(D) recording, presenting or certifying

and interpreting such service (includ-

ing tax, consulting or management

advisory services) through statements

and reports,

(b) Services, as described in Subparagraph (a)(4)

of this Rule, may be performed on a full-time,

part-time or temporary basis in the various ac-

counting fields, including, but not limited to,

public accounting, governmental or other

not-for-profit accounting, industrial, commercial or

financial accounting, taxation and tax-related

matters or accounting education.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1; 93-12.

.0308 HOLDING OUT TO THE PUBLIC
(a) The phrase "holds himself out to the public

as a certified public accountant," as used in

defining "public practice of accountancy" in G.S.

93-1 (a)(5) and in these Rules, means any

representation that a person holds a certificate of

qualification, if that representation is made in

connection with an offer to perform or the

performance of accountancy services for the

public, regardless of whether that representation is

made by the person, someone associated with hH»

them, or someone serving as his their agent. Any

such representation is presumed to invite the public

to rely upon the professional skills implied by the

certificate in connection with the professional

services offered to be performed or performed by

the person.

(b) For purposes of this Rule, a representation

shall be deemed to include any oral or written

communication indicating that the person holds a

certificate, including without limitation the use of

titles or legends on letterheads, reports, business

cards, brochures, resumes, office signs, telephone

directories or any other advertisements, news

articles, publications, listings, tax return

signatures, signatures on experience or character

affidavits for exam or certificate applicants,

displayed membership in CPA associations,

displayed CPA licenses from this or any other

state, and displayed certificates or licenses from

other organizations which have the designation

"CPA" or "Certified Public Accountant" by the

licensee's name.

(c) Faculty members licensed by the Board are

not considered to be in the public practice of

accountancy when they use the title "certified

public accountant" only for identification as faculty

members in an educational institution, for purposes

of functioning in the capacity as such faculty

members.

(d) Authors licensed by the Board are not

considered to be in the public practice of
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accountancy when they use the title "certified

public accountant" only for identification as

authors of books, articles or other publications,

provided that such publications do not offer the

performance of services or the sale of products

(other than books, articles or other publications) of

any kind.

(e) Licensees are not considered to be in the

public practice of accountancy when their licensure

is published in licensee or society membership

directories, or is included in the sale of mailing

labels, or when licensure or membership status is

confirmed.

(f) Use of the title in the form of a disclosure,

when a licensee is required by law to disclose the

fact of certification as a CPA, is not "holding out"

for the purposes of this Rule.

Statutory Authority 93-1 (a)(5): 93-12.

.0309 CONCENTRATION IN ACCOUNTING
(a) A concentration in accounting must include:

(1) at least 24 semester hours, or the

equivalent in quarter hours, of

undergraduate accountancy courses;

(2) at least 16 semester hours, or the

equivalent in quarter hours, of graduate

accounting courses that are open

exclusively to graduate students; or

(3) a combination of undergraduate and

graduate courses which would be

equivalent to Subparagraph (1) or (2).

(b) If an applicant has a concentration in

accounting but does not possess a bachelor's

degree, or does not expect to receive such a degree

within 90 days after the last day of the CPA
examination, then the applicant's concentration in

accounting must include:

(1) four courses in principles of

accounting,

(2) one course in cost accounting,

(3) one course in auditing, and

(4) one course in income tax.

(c) In recognition of differences in the level of

graduate and undergraduate courses, one semester

(or quarter) hour of graduate study in accounting

will be considered the equivalent of one and

one-half semester (or quarter) hours of

undergraduate study in accounting.

(d) Up to four semester hours, or the equivalent

in quarter hours, of graduate income tax courses

completed in law schools may count toward the

semester hour requirement of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule.

(e) Where, in the Board's discretion, an

accounting course duplicates another course

previously taken, only the semester (or quarter)

hours of one of the courses will be counted in

determining if the applicant has a concentration in

accounting.

(f) Accounting courses include such courses as

principles courses at the elementary, intermediate

and advanced levels; managerial accounting; cost

accounting; fund accounting; auditing; and

taxation. TTiere are many college courses offered

that would be helpful in the practice of

accountancy, but are not included in the definition

of a concentration of accounting. Such courses

include business finance, business law, business

management, computer science, economics, and

writing skills, accounting internships, and CPA
exam review .

Statutory Authority 93-12(5).

.0315 NEW FIRM, ONGOING FIRM
(a) When the members of a firm elect to divide

the firm such that two or more firms are created,

one firm may be the ongoing firm and the other

firms may be new firms, or all may be new firms.

The ongoing firm, if any, is the firm the members

of which represent more than 50 percent of the

ownership of the predecessor firm prior to the

division.

(b) When two or more firms merge, the

resulting firm may be an ongoing firm (successor

to one of the predecessor firms) or it may be a

new firm. The resulting firm is an ongoing firm

if any percentage of ownership greater than 50

percent of one of the predecessor firms end up

owning a percentage of the resulting firm greater

than 50 percent.

(c) For purposes of this Rule, "percentage of

ownership" refers to the percentage of the firm

owned aggregately by the group of firm members

in question. Percentage of ownership is

determined based upon the number of shares held

by the group if the firm is incorporated a

professional corporation or a professional limited

liability company, or, if the firm is a partnership

or a registered limited liability partnership , the

percentage of capital owned by the group.

(d) A change in an entity's form (for example,

incorporation of what was a partnership) does not

create a new firm. A new firm is not created by

the addition of a member(s) not acquiring a

percentage of ownership greater than 50 percent.

Neither is a new firm created by the loss of a

member(s) by retirement or death, provided the

remaining members have purchased or are
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I

)

purchasing the retired or deceased members'

ownership, regardless of whether the retired or

deceased member(s) owned more than 50 percent

of the firm.

NotC! The following examples illustrate thi s Rule:

i^ Firm A splits into B and C. While A
was in existence, its members and the

respective percentage of ownership of

those—members—were: Smith,—39

percent;—Jones.—30

—

percent;—aed

Wesson. 4 percent.—Smith and Jones

form firm B and Wesson practices solo

in firm—G: Since Smith and Jones

owned 60 percent of firm A. firm B

will be the ongoing firm. Wesson's

firm C is a new firm.

(3) If all—the

—

partners—m—the

—

previous

example had gone their separate ways,

all three firms would have been new

firms.

f3) The firm of Miller and Link merges

with the firm of Thomas and Calaber-

Each predecessor—finw had—twe

partners.—It is agreed that Miller and

Link will each own 26 percent of the

resulting firm.—Therefore, aggregately.

th^i'—wtH—ewH—§3

—

percent—ef—the

resulting firm.—The resulting firm is

the successor firm to Miller and Link,

and therefore an ongoing firm, because

Miller and Link aggregately owned a

percentage greater than 50 percent of

their old firm (100 percent) and now

aggregately own a percentage greater

than 50 percent of the resulting firm

(52 percent).

(4) If three two partner firms merge and

each new partner receives 1/6 of the

ownership of the resulting firm, the

resulting firm is a new firm, because,

although each set of previous partners

owned 100 percent of their old firm, no

set—ef

—

previous—partners—owns—

a

percentage of the new firm greater than

50 percent.

Statutory Authority 93-1; 93-12(8c).

)

SUBCHAPTER 8B - RULE-MAKING
PROCEDURES

SECTION .0200 - NOTICE

.0202 MAILING LIST
(a) Any person or agency desiring to be placed

on the mailing list for the Board's rule-making

notices issued pursuant to G.S. 150B 12 1508-21.

2

may file a request in writing, furnishing km their

or its name and mailing address to the Executive

Director of the Board, at the address set forth in

21 NCAC 8A .0102.

(b) The request should state the subject areas

within the authority of the agency for which notice

is requested.

Statutory Authority 93-12; 150B-21.2.

SECTION .0500 - DECLARATORY
RULINGS

.0502 CONTENTS OF REQUEST
All requests for a declaratory ruling must include

the following information:

(1) name and address of petitioner;

(2) statute or rule to which the petition

relates;

(3) concise statement of the manner in which

the petitioner is aggrieved, as defined in

G.S. 1508-2(6), or thinks that fee one

may be injured by the rule or statute and

its application to feiia them ; and

(4) statement of whether an oral hearing is

desired and if so the reasons for such an

oral hearing.

Statutory Authority 93-12; 150B-4.

SUBCHAPTER 8F - REQUIREMENTS FOR
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT
EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATE

APPLICANTS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0103 FILING OF EXAMINATION
APPLICATIONS AND FEES

(a) All applications for CPA examinations must

be filed with the Board, accompanied by a check

for the amount of the examination fee and made

payable to the "Board of CPA Examiners." The

Board sets the fee for each examination at the

amount that enables the Board to recover its costs

in administering the examination. If a check fails

to clear the bank, the application shall be deemed

incomplete and returned.

(b) Completed applications shall be postmarked

with proper postage not later than the last day of

February for the spring examination, and not later

than the last day of August for the fall

examination, unless one of those dates falls on a
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weekend or federal holiday, in which case the

application must be postmarked or received in the

Board office on the next business day. Only a

U.S. Postal Service cancellation will be considered

as the postmark.

(c) The initial application filed to take the

examination must include supporting

documentation demonstrating that all legal

requirements have been met, such as:

(1) minimum legal age;

(2) United States citizenship;

0) rcsidoncc—er—domicile—m—North

Carolina;

(3) (4) education;

(4) f#) experience, if required in order to

qualify for the examination; and

(5) {€j good moral character.

(d) Any person bom outside the United States

must furnish to the Board office evidence of

citizenship; evidence of resident alien status; or

(1) other bona fide evidence that the

applicant is legally allowed to remain in

the United States for the purposes of

becoming a U.S. citizen, aed or

(2) a notarized affidavit of intention to

become a U.S. citizen^, or

(3) evidence that the applicant is a citizen

of a foreign jurisdiction which extends

to citizens of this state like or similar

privileges to be examined.

(e) Official transcripts (originals - not

photocopies) signed by the college registrar and

bearing the college seal are required to prove

education and degree requirements. A letter from

the college registrar of the school may be filed as

documentation that the applicant has met the

graduation requirements if the degree has not been

awarded and/or posted to the transcript. However,

no examination grades will be released until an

official transcript is filed confirming the

information supplied in the college registrar's

letter. All applicants submitting transcripts from

foreign schools for consideration of degree and/or

of meeting accountancy course requirements must

have had the transcript{s) evaluated by a

Board-approved educational evaluation service.

Applicants are responsible for determining that

their transcripts contain all information required by

these Rules.

(f) If experience is required to qualify for

examination, affidavits must be prepared and

signed by employers on forms supplied by the

Board.

(g) In order to document good moral character

as required by Subparagraph (c)(6) of this Rule,

three certificates of good moral character signed

by persons not related by blood or marriage to the

applicant shall accompany the application.

(h) All applications for re-examination must be

accompanied by three new certificates of moral

character. No additional statements and affidavits

regarding experience and education will be

required for applications for re-examination.

(i) An applicant shall include as part of any

application for the CR\ examination a statement of

explanation and a certified copy of court records if

the applicant has been convicted or found guilty of

or pleaded nolo contendere to any felony, or to

any other criminal ofi^ense of which an essential

element is:

(1) dishonesty, deceit, or fraud;

(2) violation of a federal or state tax law;

or

(3) commission of any act or conduct

discreditable to the accountancy

profession in violation of the Rules of

Professional Ethics and Conduct for

Certified Public Accountants, unless

such information has been furnished in

a previous application filed with the

Board.

(j) If an applicant has been denied any license

by any state or federal agency, the applicant shall

include as part of b« their application for the CPA
examination a statement explaining such denial.

An applicant shall include a statement of

explanation and a certified copy of applicable

license records if the applicant has been registered

with or licensed by a state or federal agency and

has been disciplined by that agency.

(k) Two recent identical photographs must

accompany the application for the CPA
examination. These photographs should be taken

within the last six months. The photographs

should be of the applicant alone, 2x2 inches in

size, with an image size from the bottom of the

chin to the top of the head, including hair, of

between I and 1-3/8 inches. Photographs must be

clear, front view, full face, taken in normal street

attire without a hat or dark glasses, and printed on

thin paper with a plain light background. They

must be capable of withstanding a mounting

temperature of 225 degrees Fahrenheit (107

degrees Celsius). TTiey may be in black and white

or in color. Snapshots, most vending-machine

prints, and magazine or full-length photographs are

unacceptable. Photographs retouched so that the

applicant's appearance is changed are

unacceptable. Applicants shall write their names

on the back of their photos.
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(1) If an applicant's name has legally changed

and is difiFerent from the name on any transcript or

other document supplied to the Board, the

applicant shall furnish copies of the documents

legally authorizing the name change.

Statutory Authority 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-12(5).

.0105 CONDITIONING REQUIREMENTS
(a)

—

The following provisions shall apply to all

persons who arc approved to take the examination

prior to the examination scheduled for May 1994 :

{\) A candidate subject to examination in

all sections who receives a grade of 75

or higher in each of the four sections of

the examination shall have passed the

examination.

(3) A

—

candidate—who—is

—

subject—te

examination—m—aH

—

sections—ef—the

examination and who receives a grade

of 75 or higher in two or more sections

or the combined sections of accounting

practice—of—wbe—js—net

—

subject—te

examination—tfl—aH—

s

ections—ef—the

examination and who receives a grade

of 75—&f

—

higher—m—any

—

remaining

section, shall receive conditional credit

for the sections in which he receives a

grade of 75 or higher and shall not be

subject to examination in tho se sections

as long as the conditional credit remains

unexpired.

{%) A candidate receiving conditional credit

as provided for under Subparagraph (2)

of Paragraph—(a) of this—Rule shall

retain credit for a period of not more

than—frve

—

succeeding—examinations

offered by the Board, at which time the

conditional—credit expires. For the

period during which an applicant who
was or is in active military service any

time subsequent to receiving conditional

credit,—»«iy

—

those—examinations—fef

which that applicant has applied and has

been approved shall be considered as

succeeding examinations,

(b) EfiFectivc with the May 1994 examination:

t+^ A candidate who has been awarded

conditional credit for the accounting

practice—section—shaH—be

—

awarded

conditional—credit—fer—the

—

proposed

accounting—and

—

reporting—

s

ection,

pursuant—te

—

Subparagraph—(5^—ef

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and shall

retain such credit until he passes the

^^

remaining—sections of—ttfrttl the

conditional status of such credit expires,

whichever occurs first.

A candidate who has been awarded

conditional credit for cither the auditing

or the business law (renamed business

law—and

—

professional—responsibilities)

section, ef both, pursuant te

Subparagraph (2) of Paragraph (a) of

this Rule, shall retain such credit until

he passes—the remaining sections or

HHtH—the

—

conditional—statu s

—

of such

credit expires, whichever occurs first.

A candidate who has been awardedf^
conditional credit for the accounting

theory section, pursuant—te

Subparagraph (2) of Paragraph (a) of

this Rule, shall be awarded conditional

credit—fef—the

—

proposed—fif alinanci

accounting and reporting section and

shall retain such credit until he passes

the

—

remaining—sections—ef—imttl—the

conditional status of such credit expires ,

whichever occurs first.

fe)

—

The following provisions shall apply to all

persons who are approved to take the examination

beginning with the May 1994 examination:

{V) In order to pass the examination,—

a

candidate shall be required to pass all

sections—of the—examination—v«4th—

a

grade of 75 or higher.

f3) A candidate who passes all sections of

the examination in one s itting shall have

passed the examination.—A candidate

who is subject to examination in all

sections of the examination and who

pas ses two or more, but not all sections

of the examination,—ef—whe—is—net

subject to examination in all sections of

the examination and who passes any

remaining section s hall receive

conditional credit for those sections that

he has passed and shall not be subject

to examination in tho se sections as long

as—the

—

conditional—credit—remains

unexpired, provided that the candidate:

fA)—had

—

taken—aH

—

sections—ef—the

examination to which he was subject

to examination at that sitting; and

fB)

—

attained a minimum grade of 50 on

each section not passed at that sitting.

(3-) A candidate receiving conditional credit

as provided for under Paragraph (b) or

Subparagraph (2) of Paragraph (c) of

thi s Rule shall retain such conditional
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NOTE:

credit for a period of not more than the

six succeeding examinations offered by

the Board subsequent to the examine

tion for which the conditional credit

was given, at which time the condition

al credit expires. For the period dur

ing which an applicant who was or is in

active military service any time subsc

qucnt to receiving conditional credit,

only those examinations for which that

applicant—has

—

applied—afid

—

has been

approved shall be considered as sue

cccding examinations.

-Pursuant to 21 NCAC 8F .0103. an

applicant must apply for each examination for

which he sits.—TTiereforc. the provisions of Para

graph (a) of this Rule will no longer apply to any

applicant after the November 1993 examination.

Beginning with the May 1994 examination. Para

graph (c) of this Rule will apply to all applicants,

even those who were approved to sit for an exami

nation prior to that time.

(a) Passing Grades. A candidate shall be re-

quired to pass all sections of the examination with

a grade of 75 or higher.

(b) Conditional Credit. If a candidate does not

pass all of the sections in one sitting, conditional

credit can be retained for passed sections subject to

the following:

(1) No conditional credit can be retained

until the candidate has first passed at

least two sections in one sitting;

(2) To receive conditional credit for any

section the candidate must sit for and

make a grade of at least 50 on all un-

passed sections; and

(3) The conditional credit is good through

the six succeeding times the exam js

offered by the Board.

(c) Military Service. A candidate who was or is

in active military service after receiving condi-

tional credit shall have only those exams for which

they apply and are approved during active military

service counted as succeeding examinations.

(d) Section Equivalency. For purposes of condi-

tional credit, the following pre- and post-May

1994 exam sections are equivalent:

( 1 ) accounting practice equals accounting

and reporting;

accounting theory equals financial(2)

(4)

accounting and reporting;

auditing equals auditing; and

business law equals business law and

professional responsibilities.

Statutory Authority 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-12(5).

.0107 COMMUMCATION OF RESULTS OF
CPA EXAMINATIONS

(a) The Board will communicate to each candi-

date in writing the result achieved in each of bis

their examinations. Numerical grades awarded to

candidates will not be released to third parties

except by written consent of the candidate.

(b) In no event will any information concerning

answers of candidates be given to anyone other

than the candidate.

(c) Examination grades shall be mailed on the

uniform national release date agreed to with the

NASBA and the AICPA. However, candidates

may receive their grades personally at the oflices

of the Board on the release date by notifying the

Executive Director in writing not later than five

days prior to the release date.

(d) Information prepared by the Board's staff

about the results of the examination and intended

for public information shall be made available no

earlier than the day after the uniform national

release date.

Statutory Authority 93-12(2); 93-12(3).

CANDIDATE'S REQUEST TO SIT IN
ANOTHER JURISDICTION
The Board may allow a North Carolina

.0112

ia]

candidate to proctor the exam in another jurisdic-

tion, provided such request is not submitted for the

purpose of avoiding the requirements of that

jurisdiction.

(b) The proctoring request shall accompany the

examination application and must be approved by

the proctoring jurisdiction.

(c) The approval of the proctoring request shall

be in the discretion of the Board.

Statutory Authority 93-12.

SECTION .0300 - EDUCATIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR EXAMINATION

.0302 EDUCATION AND WORK
EXPERIENCE REQUIRED PRIOR TO
CPA EXAM

(a) Under G.S. 93-12(5) there are three ways an

applicant for the CPA examination can

demonstrate the possession of sufficient education

to become a CPA:

(1) the possession of a bachelor's degree in

any subject, from a regionally

accredited college or university, that
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either includes or is supplemented by a

concentration in accounting as defined

in 21 NCAC 8A .0309;

(2) two years of college at a regionally

accredited college or university plus

two years of experience in the public

practice of accountancy under the direct

supervision of a CPA; and

(3) compliance with the requirements set

forth in 21 NCAC 8F .0304, which

provides for special examinations in

lieu of formal education.

(b) Applicants who intend to demonstrate their

possession of sufficient education to become a

CPA by showing that they possess either a

bachelor's degree or two years of college must

submit official transcripts with their application to

take the CPA examination. Official transcripts

shall show the grades the applicant received on

courses completed and shall also show degrees

awarded. An official transcript bears the seal of

the school and the signature of the registrar or

other appropriate official.

(c) With regard to Paragraph (a)(1) of this Rule,

the Board may approve an application to take the

CPA examination prior to the receipt of a

bachelor's degree, if:

(1) the concentration in accounting which

will be included in or supplement the

bachelor's degree is already complete

or is reasonably expected to be

completed by the end of the school

term within which the examination

falls; and

(2) an applicant reasonably expects to

receive the bachelor's degree within 90

days after the last day of the

examination.

However, if the applicant fails to receive the

degree within the specified time, the CPA
examination grades shall not be released and if the

applicant wishes to retake the examination, he they

must reapply.

(d) With regard to Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule,

the completion of two years in an accredited

college or university or its equivalent means that

the applicant has successfully completed, or

reasonably expects to complete at the end of the

school term within which the examination falls, at

least 60 semester hours of course work, or the

equivalent in quarter hours, in a school, college,

or university accredited by a regional accrediting

association. The 60 semester hours must include

a concentration in accounting as defined in 21

NCAC 8A .0309. However, if the applicant fails

to complete the necessary semester hours by the

end of the school term within which the

examination falls, the examination grades shall not

be released and if the applicant wishes to retake

the examination, be they must reapply.

(e) With regard to Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule,

the provisions set forth in 21 NCAC 8F .0401

regarding work experience apply to these two

years of experience.

(f) With regard to Paragraph (a)(3) of this Rule,

the applicant must complete the work experience

that is required by all candidates for certification,

and set forth in 21 NCAC 8F .0401, prior to the

date the applicant applies for the CPA examina-

tion.

Statutory Authority 93-12(3); 93-12(5).

SECTION .0400 - EXPERIENCE

.0409 SATISFACTION OF EXPERIENCE
REQUIREMENT BY TEACHING

(a) Teaching Experience. The requirement of

"five years experience teaching accounting," G.S.

93-12(5), means teaching accounting full-time for

five years.

(1) Full-time teaching as described by the

rules of the educational institution

where the applicant taught will be

accepted by the Board to be full-time

teaching. However, in no case will less

than 12 semester hours, or the equiva-

lent, be accepted by the Board as

full-time teaching.

(2) If the applicant has not taught

accounting full-time for five years,

credit will be allowed by the Board for

teaching accounting less than full-time

on a pro rata basis based upon the

number of semester hours required for

full-time teaching at the educational

institution where the applicant taught.

However, in no case can an applicant

receive credit for a full-time teaching

year for teaching done in less than one

academic year or more credit than one

full-time teaching year for teaching

done within one calendar year.

(3) Courses outside the field of accounting

will not be counted toward full-time

teaching. Such courses include, but are

not limited to: business law, finance,

computer applications, personnel

management, economics and statistics.

(4) Of the five years of full-time teaching
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experience, teaching accounting

principles (below intermediate

accounting) cannot be counted toward

the educational requirement for more

than the equivalent of two full-time

years. The remaining three full-time

teaching years must be taught in at least

two different areas of advanced

accounting such as auditing, income

tax, intermediate financial accounting or

advanced managerial accounting, and

the applicant must have taught at least

nine semester hours, or the equivalent,

in at least two of the different areas.

The purpose of this Subparagraph is to

render unacceptable as meaningful

experience both the continuous teaching

of the elementary accounting course and

the continuous teaching of the advanced

courses in only one area of accounting.

(b) Required Information. The applicant must

submit with his their application a letter from each

institution where he they taught, certified by the

applicant's dean or department head at that

institution. The letter must state:

(1) the number of credit hours which the

applicant taught each year;

(2) the names and academic level of the

courses taught; and

(3) the number of hours set by the rules of

the institution as ftill-time teaching for

each relevant year.

(c) Burden of Proof. An applicant having taught

in an accredited community college or technical

institute has the burden of proving that the credits

earned by students taking those courses which the

applicant taught would transfer to a four-year

accredited college or university.

Statutory Authority 93-12(5).

SECTION .0500 - APPLICATIONS FOR
CERTIFICATES

.0501 RESIDENCY
The residency requirement in G.S. 93 12(5) must

fee^—met

—

either—immediately—before—filing—aft

application to receive a certificate of qualification

or immediately before filing an application to take

the examination.

Statutory Authority 93-10; 93-12(5); 93-12(6);

93-12(7a).

SUBCHAPTER 8G - CONTINUING

PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE)

SECTION .0100 - GEIVERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 COMPLIANCE WITH BOARD RULES
OF PROFESSIONAL
ETHICS/CONDUCT

(a)

—

The reliance of the public and the busines s

community on sound financial reporting and advice

on business affairs imposes on the accounting

profession an obligation to maintain high standards

of technical comp)ctcncc. morality and integrity.

To this end, a CPA shall at all times maintain

independence of thought and action,—hold the

affairs of his clients in strict confidence, strive

continuously to improve hi s professional skills,

observe generally accepted accounting principles

and standards,—promote sound and informative

financial reporting, uphold the dignity and honor

of the accounting profession, and maintain high

standards of personal conduct.

(fe)

—

Acceptance of licensure as a CPA implies

that the licensee has assumed an obligation to be

diligent—tfl—the

—

performance—of

—

professional

services; to be fair and honest in relations with

clients,—fellow practitioners—and the public;—te

exhibit a proper appreciation of his duties to the

community and state; and to comply with these

Rules.—Anyone authorized to use the title "CPA"

in dealing with the public must inform the public

that they are licensed by this Board.

^e) Tbe

—

Rules—of Professional—Ethics—aftd

Conduct presuppose that di sciplinary asses sment of

a CPA's conduct will be made on the basis of the

facts and circumstances as they existed at the time

of the conduct in question.—Moreover, the rules

presuppose—that—both—the

—

decision—te—take

disciplinary action and the severity of such action

depend on all of these facts and circumstances,

including the willfulness and seriousnes s of the

violation,—any

—

extenuating—factors,—aftd—aey

previous violations.—In interpreting the rules, one

should keep in mind that they cover a broad range

of behavior; consequently, they do not specifically

enumerate every possible unethical act.

fd) The

—

Rules—of Professional—Ethics—and

Conduct apply to all services performed in the

practice of public accountancy, including tax and

management advisory services, except:

f4^ where the wording of a rule indicates

otherwise;

(3) when a CPA is practicing outside the

state—ef

—

North—Carolina—aftd—net

rendering services for North Carolina

clients, and consequently, is not subject
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to discipline for departing from any of

the rules atatcd herein, as long as his

conduct is in accord with the statutes

afid

—

rules—ef—the

—

state,—district—er

territory' of the United States in which

he i s practicing; or

i^ when a CPA is practicing outside the

United States and, consequently, is not

subject to discipline for departing from

any of the rules stated herein, as long

as his conduct is in accord with the

rules—ef—the

—

organized—accounting

profession in the country in which he is

practicing.—However, when a CPA is

associated with financial statements in

such a manner as to imply that he i s

acting—as

—

oh—indep>endent—public

accountant and under circumstances that

would entitle the reader to assume that

United States practices were followed,

he must comply with the requirements

of rules in Section 8G .0200.

(e3

—

The violation of any of these Rules by any

pKsrson associated with a CPA in the practice of

public accountancy who is cither under the CPA's

supervision,—er—the

—

CPA's—partner—er

—

fellow

shareholder, will be deemed to be a violation of

the rule by the CPA unless the CPA exerci sed

propHjr supervision, when required by these Rules,

and neither knew nor had reason to know of the

violation.

(f)

—

A CPA shall not permit others to carry out

on his behalf, with or without compensation, acts

which if carried out by the CPA would be a

violation of these Rules.

fg)

—

In the interpretation and enforcement of

these Rules, the Board will give con sideration, but

net

—

necessarily—dispositive—weight,—te

—

relevant

interpretations, rulings and opinions issued by the

boards of other juri sdictions and by appropriately

authorized—ethics

—

committees—©f

—

professional

organizations.

m-
Subchaptcr;

knowingly assisting or inducing another

Statutory Authority G.S. 558-1 2; 93-12(9).

.0102 DISCREDITABLE CONDUCT
(ft) A

—

CPA—shall—net

—

engage—m—conduct

discreditable—(©—the

—

accountancy—profession.

Discreditable conduct includes acts of professional

misconduct and acts that are false, misleading,

dishonest or deceptive.

(b)

—

Profes sional misconduct includes but is not

limited to:

t4-) attempting

to violate or attempt to violate the

rules , or doing so through the acts of

another;

^ acts that reflect adversely on the CPAs
honesty, integrity, trustworthiness,

good moral character or fitness as a

CPA in other respKicts;

(4) stating—or

—

implying—an

—

ability—t©

improperly—influence a governmental

agency or official;

(5) failing to fully cooperate with the Board

in connection with any inquiry it shall

make, including failing to claim mail

from—the—UrS:

—

Postal—Service—and

responding completely and promptly to

aH

—

inquiries—hf—the

—

Board—or—its

representatives;

(6) discriminating in employment practices

based on race,—color,—religion,—s^t^

national origin or handicap;

f?) failing to comply with any disciplinary

f«^

order i ssued by the Board;

failing te p>erform services

accordance with the conditions, terms

ei= prerequisites ©f a public

communication, quotation, engagement

agreement, or contract.

(9) regarding an invitation for competitive

bids—on

—

attest—

s

ervices ,—it

—

shall—be

discreditable for a CPA or CPA firm to

knowingly—off^cr—te

—

perform—said

services below cost for the purpo ses of

injuring—of

—

destroying—competition;

provided, it shall not be a violation to

do so in order to meet competition.

Nothing herein shall be construed to

prohibit—competitive bidding ner

establishes a minimum price of any

CPA services.

False, misleading, dishonest or deceptive{&)
—halse, misleadmg, dis

acts include, but are not limited to

deceptiW-

-te

—

violate—the

—

Rules—ef

Professional Ethics and Conduct in this

u smg—deceptive—representations—m
connection with services performed;

{3) asserting—that

—

services—are—ef—

a

particular standard when they arc not;

03 disparaging the accounting services or

bu siness of another by false, mi sleading

or deceptive representations of fact;

i4) misrepresenting—feets—©f

—

failing—t©

disclose relevant facts
;

(#) creating false or unjustified expectations

of favorable results;

f6) implying—abilities—net—

s

upported—by
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valid education, profe ss ional

attainments or licensing recognition; or

f7) providing false »f misleading

information ofl tb« qualifying

cxpKirience—ef—aH

—

applicant—fef—

a

certificate of qualification.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0103 DISCIPLINE BY FEDERAL AND
STATE AGENCIES OR BOARDS

A CPA shall not act in a vtny that would cause

him to be disciplined by federal or state agencies

or boards.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12: 93-12(9).

.0106 VIOLATION OF TAX LAWS
A CPA shall not knowingly violate any state or

federal tax lavi's in handling his personal business

affairs .
—the busines s affairs of a client or the

business afl'airs of a company or corporation of

which he is owner or part owner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(9).

.0107 INDEPENDENCE
{et)—A CPA, or his firm, who is performing an

engagement in which the CPA, or his firm, will

issue a report on financial statements of any client

(other than a report in which lack of independence

is disclosed) must be independent v»'ith respect to

the client in fact and appearance.

ffe)

—

Independence is impaired if, for example,

during the period of the professional engagement,

or at the time of issuing the report, the CPA or hi s

firm:

{^ had or was committed to acquire any

direct—er—material—indirect—financial

interes t in the client;

^3^ vv'as a trustee of any trust or executor or

administrator of any estate that had or

was committed to acquire any direct or

material indirect financial intere s t in the

client;

f^) had any joint or closely held business

inve stment—with

—

^ett—client—©f—any

officer, director «-f principal

stockholder thereof which was material

m—relation—(©—the—net

—

worth of the

client, the CPA or his firm; or

{4^ had any loan to or from the client or

any

—

officer,—director—&f

—

principal

stockholder thereof other than loans of

the following kinds made by a financial

institution under normal lending

procedures, terms and requirements:

{iPr)
—loans ctJtained by the CPA or his firm

which are not material in relation to

the net worth of the borrower;

fB)

—

home mortgages; and

^G)—other—secured—loans,—except—those

secured solely by a guarantee of the

CPA or hi s firm.

fe)

—

Independence will also be considered to be

impaired if,—during the period covered by the

financial—statements,—during—the period of the

professional engagement or at the time of issuing

the report, the CPA:

f4^ was connected with the client as a

promoter, underwriter,—voting trustee,

director,—officer—©f

—

m—eesf—capacity

equivalent—to—that

—

of a—member—ef

management or of an employee; or

^3) was—a

—

trustee—fef—any

—

pension—©f

profit sharing trust of the client.

{4^—The examples in this Rule are not intended

to be all inclusive.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0108 INTEGRITY AND OBJECTIVITY
(a) A CPA shall not subordinate his judgment to

others when engaged in the practice of public

accounting,—including the rendering of tax and

management advisory services.

ibj—In tax practice, he may resolve doubt in

favor of his client as long as there is reasonable

support for his position.

Statutory Authority G.S 553-12; 93-12(9).

.0109 COMPETENCE
A—GB^—sbaH

—

comply—with—the

—

following

standards

:

{\) He shftH undertake ©ftiy those

engagements which he or his firm can

reasonably—expect—te

—

complete—with

professional comp)ctenee;

f3) He shall exercise due profess ional care

in the performance of an engagement;

0-) He shall adequately plan and supervise

an engagement; and

(4) He shall obtain sufficient relevant data

te

—

afford—a

—

reasonable—basis—fef

conclusions—or

—

recommendations—m
relation to an engagement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12: 93-12(9).
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I

^

I

.0112 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS FOR
VIOLATIONS

(a)

—

Any person or firm having violated any

accountancy statute or rule of this Board may be

subjected for each such violation to any of the

following disciplinary actions or a combination of

9uCil

.

i^ Unpublished—Reprimand issued

without prejudice to the rights of the

CPA or firm to practice.—It requires

Board action and is premi sed upon the

Board's assumption that a violation has

occurred. The reprimand is kept in the

GPAt—Of—fifffi—file—afld

—

may—be

considered as evidence bearing on the

willfulness—ef—any

—

allegation—ef

subsequent violations of the same rule

or statute

{3) Conditional Unpublished Reprimand—
same as unpublished reprimand, but i s

conditioned upon the CPA's or firm's

agreement to meet certain additional

requircmcnta,—such as extra CPE or

third party review of work product for

a particular period of time.

f3^ Censure—issued upon determination by

the Board that a violation has occurred.

Censure is a judgment or resolution

condemning a person for misconduct;

specifically, it is an official expression

of disapproval passed by the Board.

The censure is publi shed in the Board's

newsletter and is announced to various

governmental agencies, associations and

others requesting to be advised of the

Board's actions.—Although the right to

practice—is—net

—

directly —impaired,

privileges in professional associations

may be adversely affected.

f4) Conditional Censure—

s

ame as censure

but the right to continue to practice is

conditioned—upon—compliance—with

additional requirements, such as extra

CPE or third party review of work

product for a particular period of time.

^§) Civil penalty may be assessed in

amounts of up to one thousand dollars

($1,000) per violation, as determined

by the Board.—The amount of the civil

penalty is based on the number and

severity of the violations. Privileges in

professional associations are usually not

afl'cctcd, nor is the right to use the

GPA—title

—

affected. Civil—penalties

assessed arc made public in the same

manner as a censure.

f6) Suspension is—a

—

revocation—fer—

a

specified period of time.—A suspension

is published in the Board's newsletter

and is announced in the same manner as

a

—

censure It

—

meef—result—m—

a

suspension—of privileges—te

—

practice

before governmental agencies such as

the IRS and the Revenue Department.

Memberships in associations may bo

terminated along with the ability to

participate in group insurance plans .

Former CPAs may be reinstated after a

specific period of time if the CPA has

met any conditions imposed by the

Board at the time of suspension.

f7) Revocation is permanent unless a

fHjrson—who se—certificate—is

—

revoked

applies—fef—afid—is

—

granted—a—new

certificate of qualification pursuant to

21 NCAC 81 .0004 . A revocation is

publi shed and announced in the same

manner as a censure or suspension.—

A

revocation may result in suspension of

privileges to practice before the IRS

afid th« Revenue Department.

Memberships in associations may be

terminated along with the ability to

participate in group insurance plans.—

A

GPA—employed—by—a

—

professional

corporation must terminate employment

and sever all financial interests in the

professional corporation.

f8) Consent—Agreement is—a

—

formal

agreement signed by the Board and the

CPA containing terms to which the two

parties agree.—A consent agreement i s

customarily—entered—mte—when—the

Board desires to impose, and the CPA
wishes to receive, di sciplinary action

other than that specifically provided in

the statutes or rules, and it is desirable

to avoid a full hearing.

^ Probation the Board may suspend a

penalty and permit the CPA to continue

te

—

practice—but

—

place—the—Gft^—©n

probation for a specific period of time

and

—

under—certain—conditions. The

suspension—ef—the

—

penalty—wtH—be

removed if any condition is violated.

fb)

—

The Board may publish or announce the

disciplinary action against a CPA in such manner

and for such period as it deems appropriate

Statutory Authority G. S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).
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.0113 REPORTING CONVICTIONS,
JUDGMENTS AND DISCIPLINARY
ACTIONS

(q) a CPA shall notify the Board within 30 days

of any—conviction—ef

—

finding—of guilt—©f;—»r

pleading of nolo contendere to:

f4^ a felony; or

^3) any crime an essential clement of which

is dishonesty, deceit, fraud, a violation

©f—fedefftl—ef—state—ta?t—law;—©f—

a

violation of the Rules of Professional

Ethics and Conduct contained in this

Subchapter.

(b) A CPA shall notify the Board within 30 days

of any judgment or settlement in a civil suit, the

basis of which i s grounded upon an allegation of

gross negligence. dishonesty. fraud,

mi srepresentation, incompetency, or violation of

any federal or state tax law and which v»txs brought

against cither the CPA or a firm by which the

CPA was employed or of which the CPA v^ns a

member.

(c) A CPA shall notify the Board within 30 days

of a suspension of, or di scipline concerning, a

professional—license—©f

—

ecrtificate,—including—

a

license to practice law or to practice before any

state or federal agency, such as the IRS.

Statutory Authority G. S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0114 COOPERATION WITH BOARD
INQUIRY

A CPA shall fully cooperate with the Board in

connection with any inquiry it shall make.—FttW

cooperation includes fully responding in a timely

manner—te—aH

—

inquiries—©f

—

the—Board—©r

representative of the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 93-12(9).

SECTION .0200 - RESPONSIBILITIES TO
CLIENTS AND COLLEAGUES

.0201 AUDITING STANDARDS
(a) A CPA shall not render auditing services for

a client unles s he has complied with the applicable

generally accepted auditing standards.

(b) The Statements on Auditing Standards issued

by the AICPA are hereby adopted by reference, as

provided by G.S.—150B 1 4(c), and shall be

con sidered generally accepted auditing standards

for the purposes of Ptiragraph (a) of thi s Rule.

{e)—Departures from such statements must be

ju stified by those who do not follow them.

(d) Copies—of the

—

Statements—©n

—

Auditing

Standards may be inspected in the offices of the

Board, as described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102.

Copies may be obtained from the AICPA, 1211

Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY—10036

as part of the "AICPA Professional Standards."

They arc available at cost, which is approximately

twenty eight dollars ($28 .00) in paperback form-©f

twe

—

hundred—dollars—($200.00)—va—looseleaf

subscription formr

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0202 ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES
^e)

—

A CPA shall not express an opinion that

financial statements are presented in conformity

with generally accepted accounting principles if

such statements contain any departure from an

accounting principle which has a material effect on

the statements taken as a whole, unless he can

demonstrate that due to unusual circumstances the

financial statements would otherwise have been

misleading.

{b)

—

In such cases his report must describe the

departure,—the

—

approximate—effects—thereof,—if

practicable, and the reasons why compliance with

th«

—

principle—would—result—in—a

—

mi sleading

statement.

fe^ The Statements of Financial Accounting

Standards ,
—together—v»4th

—

those—Accounting

Research—Bulletins—and

—

Accounting—Principles

Board—Opinions—which—are—B©t

—

superseded—by
action—of the—FASB,—are

—

hereby—adopted—by
reference, as provided by G.S.—150B 1 4(c), and

shall be considered generally accepted accounting

principles for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this

R»le7

fd^ Copies—of the—Statements—of Financial

Accounting Standards may be inspected in the

offices of the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 8A
.0102.—Copies may be obtained from the FASB,

High Ridge Park. Post Office Box 3821, Stamford,

CT 06905 821 as part of the "FASB Accounting

Standards."—They are available at cost, which i s

approximately—thirty four—dollars—($34 .00)—m
paperback—form—and—tw©

—

hundred—seventy two

dollars ($272.00) in loo seleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0203 FORECASTS
(a) A CPA shall not permit his name to be used

tH

—

conjunction—v»4th—any

—

forecast—©f

—

future

transactions in a manner which may lead to the

belief that he vouches for the achicvability of the

forecast.
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fb)

—

A CPA shall not render lacrviocs associatod

with pro spective financial statemcnta unless he has

complied—with—the

—

standards—fef

—

accountants'

services on prospective financial informatioar

{e) The

—

Statcmenta—eH

—

Standards—fef

Accountants' Services on Prospective Financial

Information issued by the AJCPA arc adopted by

reference, as provided by G.S.—150B 1 4(c), and

shall be considered as the approved standards for

services on prospective financial information for

the purposes of Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

{d)

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by those who do not follow them.

{e)

—

Copies of the Statements on Standards for

Accountants'—Services—en

—

Prospective—Financial

Information may be inspected in the offices of the

Board ao described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102.

Copies may be obtained from the AICPA. 1211

Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10036 as

part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They

ftfe

—

available at—eesf;

—

which—is

—

approximately

twenty eight dollars ($28.00) in paperback form or

twe—hundred—dollars—($200.00)—ifl

—

looseleaf

subscription foni>r

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

,0204 CONFIDENTIAL CLIENT
INFORMATION

(a)

—

A CPA shall not disclose any confidential

information—obtained—in—the

—

course—ef—

a

professional engagement except with the consent of

the client,

(b) This Rule shall not be construed:

fi^ to relieve a CPA of his obligation under

the standards adopted by reference in

this Section;

f3)-

^

to aff'ect in any way hi s compliance

w4th—a

—

validly—i ssued—

s

ubpoena—ef

summons enforceable by—order of a

court; or

to prce

inquiry

lude him from responding to any

the AICPA Ethics

ttfH-

made by

Division or Trial—Board, by a duly

constituted investigative or disciplinary

body of a state CPA society, or under

state statutes.

fe^

—

It is not a violation of this Rule to disclo se

confidential client information necessary for the

SQR process or for any quality review program.

Statutory Authority

93-12(9).

G.S 55B-12; 93-1 2(8c);

fa)

—

The ofi'cring or rendering of professional

services—f&f-,—er—the

—

receipt—ef;—a

—

disclosed

contingent fee by a CPA is not prohibited except

for engaging to render or rendering by a CPA for

a contingent fee:

^ of professional—services—fef;—ef—the

receipt of such a fee from, any person

for whom the CPA also performs attest

services, during the period of the attest

services—engagement and the period

covered—^i"—any

—

historical—financial

statements—involved—m—s«eh

—

attest

services; and

f3) fef—the

—

preparation—ef

—

original—er

amended tax returns or claims for tax

refunds.

{b)

—

Fees are not regarded as being contingent if

fixed by courts or other public authorities or, in

tax matters, if determined based on the results of

judicial proceedings ef the findings ef

governmental agencies.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0208 ACCOUNTING AND REVIEW
SERVICES STANDARDS

(a)—A CPA shall not render accounting and

review services for a client unless he has complied

with standards for accounting and review services.

(b) The Statements on Standards for Accounting

and Review Services issued by the AICPA arc

hereby adopted by reference, as provided by G.S.

150B 1 4(c),—a»d

—

shall—be

—

considered—as—the

approved—

s

tandards—for

—

accounting—and

—

review

services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this

Rttle7

(e)

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by those who do not follow them.

{d)

—

Copies of the Statements on Standards for

Accounting and Review Services may be inspected

in the offices of the Board, as described in 21

NCAC 8A .0102.—Copies may be obtained from

the AICPA, 1211 Avenue of the Americas, New
York, NY—10036 as of the "AICPA

Professional Standards.

"

.0205 CONTINGENT FEES

part

—They are available at

cost, which is approximately twenty eight dollars

($28.00) in paperback form or two hundred dollars

($200.00) in looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 558-12; 93-12(9).

.0209 MANAGEMENT ADVISORY
SERVICES STANDARDS

fa) A

—

GPAt—shaH—net

—

render—management

advisory—services—for a client—unless—he—has
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complied with standards for management advisor^'

services.

fb^ The

—

Statemcnta—en

—

Standards—fef

Management—Advi sory—Services

—

issued—by—tbe

AlCPA—ai=e

—

hereby—adopted—hy—reference,—as

provided by G.S.—150B 1 4(c). and shall be

con sidered—as—the

—

approved—standards—fef

management advisory services for the purposes of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

fe)

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by those who do not follow them.

(d)

—

Copies of the Statements on Standards for

Management Advisor^' Services may be inspected

in the offices of the Board, as described in 21

NCAC 8A .0102.—Copies may be obtained from

the AICPA, 1211 Avenue of the Americas, New
^Vfefk^—N¥

—

10036 as part of the—"AICPA

Professional Standards." They are available at

co st, which is approximately ten dollars ($10.00)

tfl

—

paperback—form—©f—two

—

hundred—dollars

($200.00) in loo seleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0210 RESPONSIBILITIES IN TAX
PRACTICE

{et)—A CPA shall not render services in the area

of taxation for a client unless he has complied with

standards for tax services.

(b)

—

The Statements on Responsibilities in Tax

Practice issued by the AICPA are hereby adopted

by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B 1 4(c), and

shall be considered as the approved standards for

tax services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of

this Rule.

fe)

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by tho se who do not follow them.

{4t)—Copies of the Statements on Responsibilities

in Tax Practice may be inspected in the offices of

the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102.

Copies may be obtained from the AICPA.—121

1

Avenue of the Americas . New York. NY 10036 as

part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They

afe

—

available—at—eest;

—

which—is

—

approximately

twenty eight dollars ($28.00) in paperback form or

two

—

hundred—dollars—($200.00)—m—looseleaf

subscription formr

for governmental accounting.

(b) The Statements on Governmental Accounting

and Financial Reporting Standards issued by the

GASB—ftfe

—

hereby—adopted—by

—

reference.—as

provided by G.S.—150B 1 4(e). and shall be

considered—as—the

—

approved—standards—fer

governmental—accounting—fef—the

—

purposes—of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

fe^

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by tho se who do not follow them.

{d)

—

Copies of the Statements on Governmental

Accounting and—Financial—Reporting Standards,

including technical bulletins and interpretations,

may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as

described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be

obtained from the GASB, Post Office Box 9125,

Dept. 285. Stamford, CT 06925. They arc

available—at

—

cost,—which—is

—

approximately

forty seven dollars and fifty cents ($47.50).—In

addition to the basic set. an updating subscription

service is available for approximately forty four

dollars ($44 .00) annually.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12: 93-12(9).

.0212 ATTESTATION STANDARDS
(a)

—

A CPA shall not render attestation services

for a client unless he has complied with the

applicable attestation standards.

(b)

—

The Statements on Standards for Attestation

Engagements issued by the AICPA are hereby

adopted—hy—reference,—as

—

provided—by—G^
150B 1 4(e). and shall be considered attestation

standards for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this

(e^

—

Departures from such statements must be

justified by those who do not follow them.

fd)

—

Copies of the Statements on Standards for

Attestation Engagements may be inspected in the

offices of the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 8A
.0102.—Copies may be obtained from the AICPA,

1211 Avenue of the Americas , Ncsv York, NY
10036. as part of the "AICPA Profess ional

Standards."—They are available at cost, which i s

approximately thirty dollars ($30.00) in paperback

form or two hundred dollars ($200.00) in looseleaf

subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9). Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0211 GOVERNMENTAL ACCOUNTING
STANDARDS

(a)

—

A CPA shall not permit his name to be

associated with governmental financial statements

for a client unless he has complied with standards

.0213 RETEIVTION OF CLIENT RECORDS
fa)

—

A CPA must return client records in his

possession to the client after a demand is made for

their—return. The

—

records

—

must—be

—

returned

immediately upon demand unless circumstances
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make aomc delay rcoBonablc in order to retrieve a

closed file or to extract the CPA's work papora

described in Paragraph (e) of this Rule—If the

rooordg—cannot—be returned—immediately upon

demand, the CPA will immediately notify the

client of the date the records will be returned.

Nothing in this Rule shall be interpreted to require

a CPA to pay delivery costs when the records are

returned to the client.

(b) If a CPA is engaged to perform certain work

for a client, the CPA is only required to return or

furnish copies of those records originally given to

the CPA by the client if one of the following

occurs:

i^ the engagement is terminated prior to

the completion of such work, or

^3) the CPA's work product has neither

been

—

received—nor paid—for by—the

client.

ip)
—A CPA shall not retain a client's records in

order to force payment of any kind.

(d)

—

Work papers are usually the CPA's property

aed—seed—net—be—

s

urrendered—te—the

—

client.

However,—in some instances—work papers will

contain data which should properly be reflected in

the client's books and records but for convenience

have not been duplicated therein with the result

that the client's records are incomplete.—In such

instances,—the

—

portion—ef—tfee

—

work—papers

containing such data constitutes part of the client's

records , and copies should be given to the client

along with the rest of the client's records.—Work

papers considered part—of the client's—records

include but arc not limited to:

{i-) Worksheets—in

—

lieu of original entry

(e.g., listings and distributions of cash

receipts—of—eash

—

disbursements—en

columnar work paper);

fS) Worksheets in lieu of general ledger or

subsidiary ledgers.—

s

uch as accounts

receivable.—job—east—aed

—

equipment

ledgers, or similar types of depreciation

records;

(3) All adjusting and clo sing journal entries

and supporting details not fully set forth

in the journal entry; and

(4) Consolidating—©f

—

combining—journal

entries and worksheets and supporting

detail used in arriving at final figures

incorporated in an end product such as

financial statements or tax returns.

fe)

—

Work papers developed by the CPA incident

to the performance of an engagement which do not

result in changes to the client's records, or are not

tfl

—

them selves—part

—

of the—records—ordinarily

maintained by such clients, arc considered to be

solely the CPA's work papers and are not the

property of the client.—For example, the CPA may

make extensive analyses of inventory or other

accounts as part of his selective audit procedures.

These analyses are considered to be a part of the

CPA's work papers, even if the analyses have been

prepared by client personnel at the request of the

CPA.—Only to the extent these analyses result in

changes to the client's records would the CPA be

required to furni sh the detail s

—

from his work

papers in support of the journal entries recording

the changes, unless the journal entries themselves

contain all necessary details.

ff)

—

Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to

require the CPA to furni sh a client with copies of

the

—

client's

—

records—already—m—the

—

client's

possession.—However, if the client assorts that

such records have been lost, or are otherwise not

in the client's possess ion, the CPA shall furnish

copies of the records within a reasonable time for

a fee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

SECTION .0300 - OTHER
RESPONSIBILITIES

.0301 ADVERTISING OR OTHER FORMS
OF SOLICITATION

{a^

—

A CPA shall not seek to obtain clients by

advertising or using other forms of solicitation in

a manner that is false, misleading or deceptive.

(b) CPAs—residing—m—North—Carolina may

adverti se the nature of services provided to clients.

However, the CPA may not advertise or indicate

a specialty designation or other title unles s the

CPA has met the requirements of the granting

organization for the separate title or specialty

designation and the title or specialty has been

recognized by the Board.—A list of specialties and

titles and recognized sponsoring organizations shall

be regularly published in the Board's newsletter.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0302 COMMISSIONS
A CPA shall not pay a commission to obtain a

client, nor shall he accept a commission for a

referral to a client, of products or services of

others.—This Rule shall not prohibit payments for

the

—

purchase—ef—an

—

accounting—practice—er

retirement—payments—t©

—

individuals—formerly

engaged in the practice of public accounting or

payments to their heirs or estates.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0303 INCOMPATIBLE OCCUPATIONS
A CPA shall not concurrently engage in any

business—ef

—

occupation—which—would—create—

a

conflict—ef

—

interest—m—rendering—professional

services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0304 QUALIFICATION OF PARTNERS
A CPA shall not engage in the public practice of

accountancy with a partner who is anyone other

than the holder of an unrevoked and currently

valid CPA certificate.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 93-12(9).

.0305 NAME OR STYLE OF A PRACTICE
(a)—A firm engaged in the public practice of

accounting may not use any false or misleading

name, title, or reference in its name or associated

with its name.

(b) It is eonaidcrcd misleading if a firm practices

under a name or style which would tend to imply

the existence of a partnership or a professional

eorpromtion of more than one shareholder or an

association when in fact there is no partnership nor

is there more than one shareholder in the firm.

For example, no firm having just one owner may

have as a part of its name the words "as sociates"

or "company" or their abbreviations.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-5: 93-12(9).

.0306 FIRM NAME OR STYLE OF A
PRACTICE

Use by a CPA practicing public accountancy by

himself of any name other than his own name, or

u se by a partnership, a professional corporation or

a professional association engaged in the practice

of public accountancy of any name other than the

names of one or more of its current or former

partners or shareholders,—must be approved in

advance by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-5; 93-12(9).

.0310 PRACTICE THROUGH A
NON-COMPLVTNG FIRM
PROHIBITED

(e) A CPA shall not engage in the public

practice of accountancy through a firm which is in

violation of the regi stration requirementa of 21

NCAC—8J

—

.0008 ,
—8J

—

.0010 or the—SQR

requirements of 21 NCAC 8M .0102.

(b) If a firm fails to comply with any part of 21

NCAC 8J .0008, 8J .0010 or 8M .0102, the Board

may take disciplinary action against the firm's

members.—Such discipline may include:

fH a

—

conditional—license—upon—

s

uch

conditions—as—the

—

Board—m^i"

—

deem

appropriate for non compliance of less

than 60 days;

^33 a conditional license and one hundred

dollars ($100.00) civil penalty for

non compliance in excess of 60 days

but not more than 120 days ;

^ a suspension of each member's CPA
certificate for a pKsriod of not less than

30 days for non compliance in excess of

120 days .

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-1 2(8c);

93-12(9).

.03 11 FALSIFICATION IN CONNECTION
WITH QUALITY REVIEW
PROGRAMS

A CPA shall not falsify a review, report, or any

required—program—or checklist—of any—quality

review program.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-12(9).

.0312 QUALITY REVIEW STANDARDS
A CPA who is engaged to perform a quality

review shall not violate the rules or standards of

the quality review program under which the review

is made or the engagement contract connected with

that quality review.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-1 2(8c); 93-12(9).

SECTION .0400 - CPE REQUIREMENTS

.0401 CPE REQUIREMENTS FOR CPAS
(a) In order for a CPA to receive CPE credit for

a course:

(1) the CPA must attend or complete the

course;

(2) the course must meet the requirements

set out in 21 NCAC 8G .0404(a) or (d);

and

(3) the course must increase the

professional competency of the CPA.

(b) The Board approves sponsors of CPE
courses and not particular courses. A CPE course

provided by an approved sponsor is presumed to

meet the CPE requirements set forth in 21 NCAC
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8G .0404(a) if the sponsor has indicated that the

course meets those requirements. However, it is

up to the CPA attending the course and desiring to

claim CPE credit for it to assess whether it

increases bis their professional competency.

(c) A course that increases the professional

competency of a CPA is a course in an area of

accounting in which the CPA practices or is

planning to practice in the near future, or in the

area of professional ethics or an area related to the

profession, and is taught at a level which

challenges the CPA.

(d) Because of differences in the education and

experience of CPAs, a course may contribute to

the professional competence of one CPA but not

another. Each CPA must therefore exercise

judgment in selecting courses for which CPE
credit is claimed and choose only those that

contribute to that CPAs professional competence.

(e) Active CPAs must complete 40 CPE hours,

computed in accordance with 21 NCAC 8G .0409

by December 31 of each year, except as follows:

(1) CPAs having certificate applications

approved by the Board in April-June

must complete 30 CPE hours during the

same calendar year.

(2) CPAs having certificate applications

approved by the Board in

July-September must complete 20 CPE
hours during the same calendar year.

(3) CPAs having certificate applications

approved by the Board in

October-December must complete 10

CPE hours during the same calendar

year.

(f) There are no CPE requirements for retired or

inactive CPAs.

(g) Any CPE hours completed during the

calendar year in which the certificate is approved

may be used for that year's requirement even if the

hours were completed before the certificate was

granted. When a CPA has completed more than

the required number of hours of CPE in any one

calendar year, the extra hours, not in excess of 20

hours, may be carried forward and treated as hours

earned in the following year.

(h) Any CPE hours used to satisfy the

requirements for change of status as set forth in 2

1

NCAC 8J .0005(b) or (c), for reinstatement as set

forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0006, or for application for

a new certificate as set forth in 21 NCAC 81 .0004

may also be used to satisfy the annual CPE
requirement set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule.

(i) It is the CPA's responsibility to maintain

records substantiating the CPE credits claimed for

the current year and for each of the four calendar

years prior to the current year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(8b).

.0406 COMPLIANCE WITH CPE
REQUIREMENTS

(a) All active CPAs must file with the Board a

completed CPE reporting form by the July 1

renewal date of each year. Inactive CPAs must

file with the Board an affidavit of exemption from

the CPE requirement by the July 1 renewal date.

(b) If a CPA fails to complete the CPE
requirements prior to the end of the previous

calendar year but the CPA has completed them by

the July 1 renewal date, the Board may, in its

discretion;

(1) change the CPA's status from active to

conditional, and may impose any

conditions that the Board considers

appropriate in the circumstances, as a

penalty for the first such failure within

a five calendar year period;

(2) place the CPA on conditional status

again and require the payment of a civil

penalty of one hundred dollars

($100.00) for the second such failure

within a five calendar year period; and

(3) deny the renewal of the CPA's

certificate for a period of not less than

30 days and until the CPA meets the

reinstatement requirements set forth in

21 NCAC 8J .0006 for the third such

failure within a five calendar year

period.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-12(8b); 93-1 2(9e).

.0409 COMPUTATION OF CPE CREDITS
(a) Group Courses: Non-College. CPE credit

for a group course that is not part of a college

curriculum is given based on contact hours. A
contact hour is 50 minutes of instruction. Credit

is granted only for full contact hours. For

example, a group course lasting 100 minutes is

two contact hours and thus two CPE credits, and

a group course lasting between 50 and 100 minutes

is only one contact hour and thus only one CPE
credit. When individual segments of a group

course are less than 50 minutes, the sum of the

individual segments is added to determine the

number of contact hours. For example, five

30-minute presentations are 150 minutes, which is

three contact hours and three CPE credits. No
credit shall be allowed for a segment unless the
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participant completes the entire segment.

(b) Completing a College Course. CPE credit

for completing a college course in the college

curriculum will be granted based on the number of

credit hours the college gives the CPA for

completing the course. One semester hour of

college credit is 15 CPE credits; one quarter hour

of college credit is ten CPE credits; and one

continuing education unit (CELT) is ten CPE
credits. If a college course does not carry credit,

CPE credit for the course will be based on the

number of contact hours of the course using the

formula set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

However, under no circumstances will CPE credit

be given to a CPA who audits a college course.

(c) Self Study. CPE credit for a self-study

course is given based on the average number of

contact hours needed to complete the course.

One-half of the average completion time is allowed

for CPE credit. A sponsor must determine, on the

basis of pre-tests, the average number of contact

hours it takes to complete a course.

(d) Instructing a CPE Course. CPE credit for

teaching or presenting a CPE course is given based

on the number of contact hours spent in preparing

and presenting the course. No more than 50

percent of the CPE credits required for a year may

be credits for preparing for and presenting a

course. CPE credit for preparing for and

presenting a course is allowed only once a year for

a course presented more than once in the same

year by the same CPA.

(e) Authoring a Publication. CPE credit for

published articles and books is given based on the

number of contact hours the CPA spent writing the

article or book. Generally, no more than 25

percent of a CPA's required CPE credits for a

year may be credits for published articles or

books. However, upon written request by the

CPA, the Board may award more CPE credits for

the article or book.

(f) Instructing a College Course. CPE credit for

instructing a graduate level college course is given

based on the number of credit hours the college

gives a student for successfully completing the

course, using the calculation set forth in Paragraph

(b) of this Rule. Credit will not be given for

instructing an undergraduate level course. In

addition, no more than 50 percent of the CPE
credits required for a year may be credits for

instructing a college course and, if CPE credit is

also claimed under Paragraph (d) of this Rule, no

more than 50 percent of the CPE credits required

for a year may be credits claimed under Paragraph

(d) and this Paragraph. CPE credit for instructing

a college course is allowed only once for a course

presented more than once in the same year by the

same CPA.

(g) Interactive Self-Study. CPE credit for

interactive self-study is based on a program

designed to use interactive learning methodologies

that simulate a classroom learning process by

employing computer software, other course

material, or administrative systems that provide

significant ongoing, interactive feedback to the

learner regarding their learning progress. The

sponsor must determine the CPE credit to be

allowed based on the average number of contact

hours needed to complete the course.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1 2(8b).

SUBCHAPTER 8H - RECIPROCITY

.0002 TEMPORARY PERMIT
(a) The Board may grant temporary permits only

to applicants for reciprocal certificates pending

their qualification under 21 NCAC 8H .0001.

(b) This temporary permit will designate the

holder as a CPA in good standing in the state

issuing the CPA's certificate. An out-of-state CPA
who does not have a certificate from this Board

but desires to use the CPA title within this state

must first:

apply to the Board for a temporary

permit and reciprocal certificate on

forms provided by the Board;

furnish the Board with an affidavit

m

121

O)

signed by an official of the CPA
licensing board of a state in which the

CPA is currently licensed to practice

public accounting, showing both the

certificate number and that the applicant

is in good standing; and

furnish the Board with evidence of the

applicant's CPA examination grades

through an affidavit signed by an

official of a CPA licensing board which

can verify the grades;

(c) An applicant for a temporary' permit must

pay a nonrefundable fee of twenty five dollars

($25.00).—which—is

—

applied—to the—fee

—

for a

reciprocal—certificate. Upon approval of a

temporary permit, the Board will issue the

applicant a statement confirming that the CPA is in

good standing in the state issuing the CPA's

certificate and is entitled temporarily to use the

CPA title and engage in the public practice of

accountancy in North Carolina for a stated period.

The stated period shall expire 120 days after issue
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or upon issuance of the individual's reciprocal

certificate, whichever comes first.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(6); 93-12(7a).

.0003 APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY
PERMIT

fa)

—

An out of state CPA who docs not have a

certificate from this Board but desires to use the

CPA title within this state must first:

^4^ apply to the Board for a temporary

permit—efi—a

—

form—provided—by—the

Board;

{3) furnish—the

—

Board—with

—

an affidavit

signed—by—an

—

official—ef—the—GR\
licensing board of a state in which the

GPA—is

—

currently—licensed,—showing

both the certificate number and that the

applicant is in good standing;

^ furnish the Board with evidence of hi s

CPA examination grades through an

affidavit signed by an official of a CPA
licensing board which can verify the

grades

;

^4) furnish the Board with a statement that

all work on the engagements will be

done by or under the direct sujxirvision

of a CPA certified by this Board or

holding a temporary permit from this

Board; and

f§) pay an initial application fee for the

first temporary permit or a renewal fee

for each subsequent application for a

temporary permit.

(b)

—

The initial application fee and the renewal

fee for temporary permits shall be the maximum
amount allowed by statute for each license year or

fraction thereof.

fe)

—

Upon approval of a temporary permit, the

Board—w4H

—

issue—the

—

applicant—a

—

statement

confirming that the CPA is entitled temporarily to

use the CPA title and engage in the public practice

of accountancy in North Carolina for a stated

license year or fraction thereof.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(3).

SUBCHAPTER 81 - REVOCATION OF
CERTIFICATES AND OTHER
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

.0001 DISCIPLINARY ACTION
(a) Any person may petition the Board for

appropriate disciplinary action against a CPA.

(b) The petition shall set forth in simple

language the facts upon which the petition is

based. It shall bear an affidavit of the petitioner

stating that he believes they believe the facts stated

in the petition are true and that he is they are

prepared to prove them at a hearing.

(c) The petition shall be filed in the office of the

Board and thereupon it shall be the duty of the

Executive—Director—te

—

notify—the

—

enforcement

committee—about—its- The Board'sfiling .

standards staff shall conduct

investigation. Based upon

any

its

professional

appropriate

investigation, the professional standards staff may
prepare a proposed Hearing Notice. A
Professional Standards Committee, appointed by

the President of the Board, shall determine

whether the allegations in the proposed Hearing

Notice, if proven, would warrant a contested case

proceeding pursuant to G.S. 150B-38 - 150B-42.

This determination will be made without any

Board member becoming biased or otherwise

prejudiced as to the ultimate determination of the

alleged violation.

(d) After receiving notice of the petition, the

enforcement committee shall authorize or conduct

any necessary investigation.—If a majority of the

committee concludes that there i s sufficient cause

fe shallf

—

disciphnary—action,—the

—

committee

recommend that the Board set the matter for a

hearing conducted pursuant to G.S.—150B 38—
150B 42. The Board may publish or announce the

disciplinary action against a CPA in such manner

and for such period as it deems appropriate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-12(9).

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-10; 93-12(6);

93-12(7a); 93-12(8).

.0004 NOTICE TO BOARD OF DISCIPLINE
BY OTHER AGENCY

Any applicant for or holder of a temporary

permit or reciprocal certificate issued by this

Board shall also comply with the reporting

requirements listed in 21 NCAC 8G .0113 8N
.0208.

.0004 MODIFICATION OF DISCIPLINE
AND NEW CERTIFICATE

(a) A person or firm ;

—

partnership.—ef

professional corporation, that has been disciplined

by the Board may apply to the Board for

modification of the discipline at any time after the

effective date of the Board's decision imposing it;

however, if any previous application has been

made with respect to the same discipline, no

additional application will be considered before the
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lapse of a calendar year following the Board's

decision on that previous application. Provided,

however, that an application to modify permanent

revocation will not be considered until after five

years from the date of the original discipline, nor

more often than three years after the Board's last

decision on any prior application for modification.

(b) The application for modification of discipline

or for a new certificate shall be in writing, shall

set out and. as appropriate, shall demonstrate good

cause for the relief sought. The application for an

individual shall be accompanied by at least tv.^

three supporting recommendations, made under

oath, from CPAs who have personal knowledge of

the activities of the applicant since the discipline

was imposed. TTie application for a firm

partnership, or professional corporation, shall be

accompanied by at least fwe three supporting

recommendations, made under oath, for each

partner, member, or shareholder, from CPAs who
have personal knowledge of the activities of the

partner, member, or shareholder, since the

discipline was imposed.

(c) "Good cause" as used in Paragraph (b) of

this Rule means that the applicant is completely

rehabilitated with respect to the conduct which was

the basis of the discipline. Evidence

demonstrating such rehabilitation shall include

evidence:

( 1

)

that such person has not engaged in any

conduct during the discipline period

which, if that person had been licensed

or registered during such period, would

have constituted the basis for discipline

pursuant to G.S. 93-12(9);

(2) that, with respect to any criminal

conviction which constituted any part of

the previous discipline, the person has

completed the sentence imposed; and

(3) that, with respect to a court order,

restitution has been made to any

aggrieved party.

(d) In determining good cause, the Board may

consider all the applicant's activities since the

disciplinary penalty was imposed, the ofFense for

which the applicant was disciplined, the applicant's

activities during the time the applicant was in good

standing with the Board, the applicant's

rehabilitative eff^orts, restitution to damaged parties

in the matter for which the penalty was imposed,

and the applicant's general reputation for truth and

professional probity. For the purpose of this

Paragraph, "applicant" shall, in the case of a firm,

include partners, members, or shareholders.

(e) (d) Any person who applies for a

modification of discipline and for a new certificate

after revocation or forfeiture shall, in addition to

the other requirements of this Section, comply with

all qualifications and requirements for initial

certification which exist at the time of the

application.

{f} ^ No application for a new certificate or for

modification of discipline will be considered while

the applicant is serving a sentence for any criminal

offense. Serving a sentence includes incarceration,

probation (supervised or unsupervised), parole, or

suspended sentence, any of which are imposed as

a result of having been convicted or plead to a

criminal charge.

(g) ^ An application will ordinarily be ruled

upon by the Board on the basis of the

recommendations and evidence submitted in

support thereof. However, the Board may make

additional inquiries of any person or persons, or

request additional evidence it deems appropriate.

(h) fg) As a condition for a new certificate or

modification of discipline, the Board may impose

terms and conditions it considers suitable.

(h) In considering an application, the Board may

consider all the applicant's activities since the

disciplinary penalty was imposed, the offense for

which the applicant was disciplined, the applicant's

activities during the time the applicant was in good

standing—Vt4tl5 the

—

Board, the

—

applicant's

rehabilitative cfForts. restitution to damaged parties

in the matter for which the penalty was imposed,

and the applicant's general reputation for truth and

professional—probity. For the purpose of this

Paragraph.—"applicant"—shall,—in the case of a

partnership or professional corporation,—include

partners or shareholders.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 93-2; 93-1 2(7a);

93-12(7b): 93-12(9).

SUBCHAPTER 8J - RENEWALS AND
REGISTRATIONS

.0001 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF
CERTIFICATE, FORFEITURE, AND
REAPPLICATION

(a) All active and inactive CPAs must renew

their certificates annually by the first day of July.

The fee for such renewal is the maximum amount

allowed by statute.

(b) To renew a certificate a CPA must submit to

the Board:

(1) a properly completed certificate renewal

application form;

(2) a properly completed CPE report, as
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required by 21 NCAC 8G .0406(a); and

(3) the annual renewal fee.

(c) Upon feilure of a CPA to comply with any

applicable part of Paragraph (b) of this Rule by

July 1 , the Board will send notice of such feilure

to the CPA at the most recent mailing address the

Board has on file. Subsequent feilure of the CPA
to comply with any applicable part of Paragraph

(b) of this Rule within 30 days after such notice is

mailed automatically results in forfeiture of the

CPA's certificate, as required by G.S. 93-12(15).

(d) Upon forfeiture of a certificate, the

certificate holder is no longer a CPA and the

Board will send notice of such forfeiture to the

certificate holder by certified mail to the most

recent mailing address the Board has on file. The

certificate holder shall return the certificate to the

Board office within five days after receipt of notice

of forfeiture or, if the certificate has been

destroyed or lost, shall submit an affidavit, on a

form supplied by the Board, within ten days of

receipt of such notice that the certificate has been

destroyed or has been lost and will be returned to

the Board if found.

(e) A person who has forfeited a certificate

pursuant to G.S. 93-12(15) for feilure to renew bis

their certificate may apply for a new certificate

under 21 NCAC 81 .0004.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(7a); 93-12(8);

93-12(8a); 93-12(8b); 93-12(15).

.0002 SUPERVISION OF CPA OFFICES
Every CPA office or firm which uses any words,

letters, abbreviations, symbols or other means of

identification to indicate that the office is engaged

in the practice of public accountancy shall be

actively and locally supervised by a CPA whose

primary responsibility and a corresponding amount

of time shall be work performed in that office. No
person shall be designated as the supervisor or

manager of any such office unless he is they are

the holder of a North Carolina CPA certificate in

good standing.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-12(8a): 93-12(9).

.0005 RETIRED AND EVACTIVE STATUS:
CHANGE OF STATUS

(a) A CPA may apply to the Board for change

of status to retired status or inactive status

provided the CPA meets the description of the

appropriate status as defined in 21 NCAC 8

A

.0301. Application for any status change may be

made on the annual certificate renewal form or

another form provided by the Board.

(b) A CPA who meets the description of retired

statu s 08 defined in 21 NCAC 8A .0301 i s not

required to change his status from inactive or

active.—However, a A CPA who does not meet the

description of inactive or retired as defined in 21

NCAC 8A .0301 may not be or remain on inactive

or retired sfetus. Further, a CPA who is or begins

working in the field of accounting within this state

may not be or remain on inactive status.

(c) A CPA on retired status may change his

status to active status by:

(1) paying the certificate renewal fee for

the license year in which the application

for change of sfetus is received; and

(2) furnishing the Board with evidence of

satisfactory completion of 40 hours of

acceptable CPE courses during the 12

month period immediately preceding the

CPA's application for change of status.

Eight of the required hours must be

credits derived from a course or

examination in North Carolina

accountancy statutes and rules

(including the Code of Professional

Ethics and Conduct contained therein)

as set forth in 21 NCAC 8G .0401(a).

(d) A CPA on retired status may change his

status to inactive status by paying the certificate

renewal foe for the license year in which the

application—fef

—

change—ef

—

status—ts—received

surrendering their certificate .

(e) A CPA Any individual on inactive status

may change his

—

status to active status by

complying with the requirement—m—Paragraph

(c)(2) of this Rule requirements of 21 NCAC 8J

.00Q6(c) .

Statutory Authority G.S 93-12(8): 93-1 2(8b).

.0006 SURRENDER OF CERTIFICATE AND
REINSTATEMENT

(a) A certificate holder who determines that the

certificate of qualification issued by the Board is

no longer needed or desired may voluntarily

surrender the certificate and shall be considered

inactive.

(b) A person who has surrendered hi* a

certificate is no longer a CPA and thus is not

subject to the renewal fee or CPE requirements

contained in these Rules.

(c) A person who desires to reinstate his a

surrendered certificate shall make application and

provide the following to the Board:

(1) payment of the current certificate
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application fee;

(2) three certificates of moral character and

endorsements as to eligibility signed by

CPAs holding valid certificates granted

by any state or territory of the United

States or the District of Columbia; and

(3) evidence of satisfactory completion of

the CPE requirement described in 21

NCAC 8J .0005(c)(2).

(d) The certificate may be reinstated in the

discretion of the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(5); 93-12(8a);

93-12(8b).

.0008 FIRM REGISTRATION
(a) All CPA firms must register with the Board

within 30 days after opening a North Carolina

office or beginning a new firm unless they are t©

fee

—

incorporated a professional corporation,

professional limited liability company. or

registered limited liability partnership , in which

case they must register prior to incorporation

formation pursuant to 21 NCAC 8K .0104.

(b) In addition to the initial registration required

by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all CPA firms must

register annually by January 31 with the Board

upon forms provided by the Board.

(c) TTie information provided by the registration

shall include:

(1) Either an application for exemption

from SQR. a request to be deemed in

compliance with SQR or registration for

SQR. pursuant to 21 NCAC 8M .0102

and .0104;

(2) For all firms not exempt from the SQR
program. with the registration

immediately following its review, the

affidavit required by 21 NCAC 8M
.0102(d);

(3) For all North Carolina offices, an office

registration form indicating the name of

the office supervisor, the location of the

office and its telephone number;

(4) For all partnerships or registered

limited liability partnerships , a list of

all resident and nonresident partners of

the partnership;

(5) For all professional limited liability

companies, the information set forth in

21 NCAC 8K .0104(d);

(6) {&) For all incorporated firms, the

information set forth in 21 NCAC 8K
.0104(d);

(7) f6) For all firms, the appropriate

registration fees as set forth in 21

NCAC 8J .0010; and

(8) f?) For all new firms, the percentage of

ownership held individually by each

partner^ ©f shareholder^ or member :

(A) in the new firm; and

(B) at the year-end in each firm in which

that partner^ member, or shareholder

was a partner^ member, or sharehold-

er during the preceding two years.

(d) All information provided for registration

with the Board shall pertain to events of and action

taken during the year preceding the year of regis-

tration. The last day of the preceding calendar

year is the "year-end".

(e) With regard to Paragraph (c)(3) of this Rule,

one representative of a firm may file all documents

with the Board on behalf of the firm's offices in

North Carolina. However, responsibility for

compliance with this Rule will remain with each

office supervisor.

(f) With regard to Paragraph (c)(4) or (c)(5) of

this Rule, one annual listing by a representative of

the partnership, registered limited liability partner-

ship, or professional limited liability company shall

satisfy the requirement for all partners or members

of the firm. However, each partner or member
shall remain responsible for compliance with this

Rule. The absence of a filing under Paragraph

(c)(4) or (c)(5) of this Rule shall be construed to

mean that no partnership^ registered limited liabili-

ty partnership, or professional limited liabilits'

company exists.

(g) Notice that a firm has dissolved or any

change in the information required by Paragraph

(c)(3) of this Rule must be delivered to the Board's

office within 30 days after the change or dissolu-

tion occurs.

(h) Upon written petition by a firm, the Board

may, in its discretion, grant the firm a conditional

registration for a period of 60 days or less, if the

firm shows that circumstances beyond its control

prohibited it from registering with the Board,

completing a quality review or notifying the Board

of change or dissolution pursuant to Paragraphs

(a), (b). (c). and (g) of this Rule. The Board may

grant a second further extension under extenuating

circumstances.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-10; 55B-12: 57C-1:

57C-2: 59-84.2; 93-12(8a); 93-1 2(8c).

.0010 REGISTRATION AND SQR FEES
The annual registration fees shall be as follov.s:

(1) For exemption from SQR. ten dollars

1443 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

($10.00);

(2) For participation within SQR or for a

request to be deemed in compliance with

SQR, seventy-five dollars ($75.00) plus

five dollars ($5.00) for each additional

North Carolina office of the firm not

excused from SQR by 21 NCAC 8M
.0204;

(3) For all incorporated firms professional

corporations or professional limited

liability companies , twenty-five dollars

($25.00); and

(4) For all non-incorporated firms which

have offices both within and outside the

state of North Carolina, whether sole

proprietorships, ef partnerships, or regis-

tered limited liability partnerships, an

amount equal to two thousand five hun-

dred dollars ($2,500.00) or the number

of owners of the firm multiplied by ten

dollars ($10. (X)). whichever is less.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-11; 55B-12; 57C-1;

57C-2; 59-84.2; 93-1 2(7b); 93-12(8a); 93-1 2(8c).

.0011 COMPLIANCE WITH FIRM AND
SQR REGISTRATION

If a firm fails to comply with any part of 21

NCAC 8J .0008, 8J .0010 or 8M .0102. the Board

may take disciplinary action against the firm's

members. Such discipline may include:

(1) a conditional license upon such condi-

tions as the Board may deem appropriate

for non-compliance of less than 60 days;

a conditional license and one hundredill

01

dollar ($100.00) civil penalty for

non-compliance in excess of 60 days but

not more than 120 days;

a suspension of each member's CPA
certificate for a period of not less than 30

days for non-compliance in excess of 120

days.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-1; 57C-2;

59-84.2; 93-12(8c); 93-12(9).

SUBCHAPTER 8K - PROFESSIONAL
CORPORATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES

SECTION .1000 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0104 REGISTRATION AND RENEWAL
(a) Domestic CPA professional corporations or

professional limited liability companies must be

formed and all CPA professional corporations or

professional limited liability companies must be

operated in accordance with the requirements set

out in G.S. 55B and 57C. Before any CPA
professional corporation or professional limited

liability company can off'er to perform or perform

any professional services in this state, it must

register with the Board.

(b) Initial registration.

(1) Domestic CPA Corporation or Profes-

sional Limited Liability Company . In

order to register initially with this

Board, the incorporators of a domestic

CPA corporation or professional limited

liability company , prior to incorpora-

tion of the firm, must:

(A) prepare and file with the Board the

articles of incorporation along with

any supporting documents and appro-

priate checks for fees payable to the

Secretary of State;

(B) complete and file with the Board the

application for professional corpora-

tion or professional limited liability

company registration form along with

any supporting documents; and

(C) pay to the Board an initial registration

fee of fifty dollars ($50.00).

(2) Foreign CPA Corporation or Foreign

Limited Liability Company . To regis-

ter initially with the Board, the officers

of a foreign corporation or foreign

limited liability company , prior to

performing services or offering to

perform services in North Carolina,

must submit to the Board:

(A) on an application for registration form

provided by the Board, a list of its

present shareholders or members and

the state or territory issuing the CPA
certificate, or the equivalent, of each

shareholder or member and the num-

ber of each certificate or equivalent;

and

(B) the documents required by G.S.

55A-61, aftd 55A-62, and 57C-7 .

(c) In addition to its initial registration, every

CPA corporation or professional limited liability

company , whether domestic or foreign, must

register annually pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0008.

(d) The application for registration by a CPA
corporation or professional limited liability compa-

ny shall provide the following information:

(1) the name and address of the profession-

al corporation or professional limited
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liability company ;

(2) the address of each office operated or

maintained by the corporation or pro-

fessional limited liability company ;

(3) the names and addresses of all the

officers, directors, and shareholders^ or

members ; and

(4) the names and addresses of all the

employees and managers of the corpo-

ration or professional limited liability

company licensed by the Board under

the provisions of Chapter 93 of the

General Statutes of North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 558-11; 57C-1: 57C-2;

59-84.2: 93-8: 93-1 2(7b): 93-1 2(8c).

.0105 SUPPLEMENTAL REPORTS
(a) The Board may request in writing such

supplemental reports as it deems appropriate from

any professional corporations or professional

limited liability companies registered with the

Board pursuant to G.S. 556^ 57C, and these

Rules. The professional corporation or profession-

al limited liability company shall file such reports

with the Board's office within 30 days from the

date it received the request.

(b) In addition to the supplemental reports

required by 21 NCAC 8J .0008(g), professional

corporations or professional limited liability com-

panies registered with the Board pursuant to G.S.

55B and 57C shall file a certified copy of all

amendments to the articles of incorporation or

articles of organization within 30 days after the

effective date of each amendment. They shall also

file a copy of any amendment to the by-laws,

certified to be a true copy by the secretary or an

assistant secretary of the corporation or profession-

al limited liability company , within 30 days after

adoption of the amendment.

or "professional association," or an abbreviation of

one of the foregoing: "Corp.," "Inc.," "Ltd.,"

"Co.," "P.C," or "RA." The use of "CPA" or

"Certified Public Accountant(3)" in the corporate

name is encouraged, but not required.—The name

shall also meet the rcquircmcnta in 21 NCAC 8G
.0305 and .0306.

(h) The corporate name of a professional limited

liability company registered under these Rules

shall contain the wording "professional limited

liability company, " "professional ltd, liability co.,"

"professional limited liability co.," or "profession-

al ltd, liability company,

"

or an abbreviation of

one of the foregoing: "P.L.L.C." or "PLLC."

(c) The use of "CPA" or "Certified Public

Accountant(s)" in the corporate name is encour-

aged, but not required. Any name shall also meet

the requirements in 21 NCAC 8N .0302 and

.0307.

Statutory Authority G.S.

57C-2.

55B-5: 55B-12: 57C-1;

SECTION .0300 - REGISTERED LIMITED
LIABILITY PARTNERSfflPS

.0301 REGISTERED LIMITED LIABILITY
PARTNERSfflPS

Any Registered Limited Liability Partnership

created pursuant to and in compliance with G.S.

59 shall also comply with all accountancy laws and

rules pertaining to partnerships.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-12: 59-84.2: 59-84.3.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12: 57C-1:

93-12(3).

57C-2;

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE
PROCEDURES OF PROFESSIONAL

CORPORATIONS

.0201 CORPORATE AND PROFESSIONAL
LLVHTED LIABILITi^ COMPANY
NAMES

(a) The corporate name of a professional

corporation registered under these Rules shall

contain the wording "corporation," "incorporated,"

"limited." "company," "professional corporation,"
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SUBCHAPTER 8M - STATE QUALITY REVIEW PROGRAM

SECTION .0100 - GEIVERAL SQR REQUIREMENTS

.0102 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
(a) A firm which has not performed any audits, reviews or compilations during the 12 months prior to the

year-end of the registration required by 21 NCAC 8J .0008(a) and (b) shall be exempt from the SQR program

for the 12 months following the year-end but not from registering with the Board.

(b) Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, each ongoing firm must complete an SQR within 12

months following the year-end of each registration unless it has completed an SQR within 24 months prior

to the year-end.

(c) Unless exempt under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a new firm shall complete its initial SQR within 24

months of the date of its initial registration pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0008(a).

(d) Every firm not exempt from SQR by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, after completion of a quality review,

must procure an affidavit signed by the review team captain,, or other documentation that ]s considered

acceptable by the Board, stating that the firm has completed an SQR or one of the review programs listed or

referred to in 21 NCAC 8M .0104. The firm shall submit the affidavit or documentation with the annual

registration following the review as set forth in 21 NCAC 8J .0008(c)(2).

(e) For purposes of this Rule, an SQR is complete when the review team has delivered its report required

by 21 NCAC 8M .0307 to the reviewed firm. Any quality review other than SQR is complete when the

review team has delivered its final report to the reviewed firm. If mailed, a report shall be deemed delivered

when postmarked.

Note: For example, firm C was incorporated on June 1 , year one. During that year it performed accounting

and auditing services and, therefore, was not exempt from the SQR program. It continued to do auditing and

accounting work for the next three years (years two, three and four) but it did not do any audits, reviews, or

compilations in years five and six. In year seven, the firm completed several compilations but, in year eight,

it did not issue any audits, reviews, or compilations. In year nine, the corporation dissolved, at which time

it notified the Board of its dissolution pursuant to 21 NCAC 8J .0008(g). The following chart shows the

history of firm C as it relates to the SQR program, SQR fees it was required to pay pursuant to 21 NCAC
8J .0010, and when and why it was required to complete an SQR pursuant to this Rule.

Year Audits, Reviews or

Compilations Performed

Fee Completion of SQR
Required and Rationale

Yes

Yes

SQR Fee

SQR Fee

A new firm has 24 months to

complete SQR - 21 NCAC 8M
.0102(c); the firm is required to

complete SQR before June 1,

year 3.

Yes SQR Fee Completes SQR on May 15, year

3 (within 24 months of its incep-

tion) 21 NCAC 8M .0102(c).

Yes SQR Fee Not required to complete SQR in

year 5 because the firm complet-

ed SQR on May 15, year 3 (with-

in 24 months of year-end of year

4) - 21 NCAC 8M .0102(b).

No Exempt Fee Will not be required to complete

SQR in year 6 because it is ex-

empt - 21 NCAC 8M .0102(a).

No Exempt Fee Not required to complete SQR in
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Yes

No

SQR Fee

Exempt Fee

year 7 because it is exempt - 21

NCAC 8M .0102(a).

Will be required to complete SQR
in year 8 because it has not com-

pleted SQR within 24 months of

year-end of year 7 (last SQR vs

completed May 15, year 3) - 21

NCAC 8M .0102(b).

Completes SQR pursuant to its

registration in year 7-21 NCAC
8M .0102(b).

Yes No Fee Not required to register or pay a

fee at year-end of year 9 because

firm dissolved during year 9 and

properly notified the Board - 21

NCAC 8J .0008(g).

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1 2(7b): 93-1 2(8c).

SECTION .0200 - DUTIES OF THE
REVIEWED FIRM

.0201 SELECTION OF ENGAGEMENTS TO
BE REVIEWED

(a) Each office of the reviewed firm not excused

under 21 NCAC 8M .0204 shall select a set of

three engagements to be submitted for review.

(b) A set of engagements for review shall

include the accountant's report and financial

statements for one audit, one review, and one

compilation, if these three levels of service have

been performed by the office within the 12 months

preceding the year-end.

(1) If one or more levels of service have

not been performed, the office shall

select reports of the next highest level

of service for a total of three reports

submitted.

(2) If, of the three levels of service, only

compilations have been performed by

the office, the set of three engagements

shall include at least one compilation

report on a complete set of financial

statements which includes disclosures

and one compilation report on a finan-

cial statement where management has

elected to omit substantially all of the

disclosures normally required by gener-

ally accepted accounting principles set

forth in 21 NCAC 8G .0202 8N
0209 , if both types of compilations are

performed.

(c) The review team captain:

(1) must have five years' experience or

more as a CPA in the accounting and

auditing function;

(2) must be a member or employee of a

firm which has completed an SQR or

other quality review listed or referred

to in 21 NCAC 8M .0104 within the

last three years but which has not

received an adverse report on its most

recent quality review;

(3) must be a manager (or the equivalent)

within his/her firm; and

(4) must have day-to-day involvement in

auditing and accounting procedures

which is sufficiently comprehensive to

enable him/her to perform and oversee

the SQR with professional expertise.

(d) If a firm to be reviewed does a governmental

audit, it shall be included in the set of

engagements.

Statutory Authority G.S 93-1 2(8c).

SECTION .0300 - REVIEW TEAM:
QUALIFICATIONS AND DUTIES

.0301 QUALIFICATIONS OF REVIEWERS
AND TEAM CAPTAINS

(a) A reviewer must be a CPA on active status

licensed in any state of the United States, be in

good standing with the CPA boards by which (G)hc

« they are licensed to practice public accounting .
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possess current knowledge of the code of

professional ethics and conduct, and possess

current knowledge of the accounting and auditing

standards applicable to the engagements to be

reviewed by him/her them . However, (a)he one

need not possess knowledge of the applicable

accounting and auditing standards with regard to

every engagement involved in the review, unless

(s)hc one is the only member of a review team.

(b) A reviewer shall not have been disciplined

for violation of 21 NCAC 8G .0311 or .0312 8N
.0202 or .0408 within the five years preceding the

date the review engagement is entered.

(c) The review team captain:

(1) must have five years' experience or

more as a CPA in the accounting and

auditing function;

(2) must be a member or employee of a

firm which has completed an SQR or

other quality review listed or referred

to in 21 NCAC 8M .0104 within the

last three years but which has not

received an adverse report on its most

recent quality review;

(3) must be a manager (or the equivalent)

within his/her their firm; and

(4) must have day-to-day involvement in

auditing and accounting procedures

which is sufficiently comprehensive to

enable him/her one to perform and

oversee the SQR with professional

expertise.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(8c).

.0304 PERFORMING THE REVIEW -

REVIEWER'S DUTIES
(a) The objective of the review shall be to

determine that the financial statements and related

accountant's report on the audit, review or

compilation engagements submitted for review do

not depart in a material respect from the

requirements of professional standards set forth in

21 NCAC 8 .0201 .0203 and 8G .0208 .0212

8N .0209-.0211. .0304. and .0403-.0406 .

(b) The review team shall read the financial

statements submitted by the participating firm and

the accountant's audit, review or compilation

report thereon.

(c) The review team must determine whether

each of the accountant's report and financial

statements conform with the applicable

professional standards set forth in 21 NCAC 8G
0201 .0203 ftftd 8G .0208 .0212 8N
.0209-.0211. .0304. and .0403-.0406 .

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-1 2(8c).

SUBCHAPTER 8N - PROFESSIONAL
ETHICS AND CONDUCT

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE AND
APPLICABILITY

.0101 SCOPE OF THESE RULES
(a) The rules in this Subchapter are the rules of

professional ethics and conduct which G.S.

93-12(9) authorizes the Board to adopt. As such,

thev complement the other statutory causes for

discipline set out in G.S. 93-12 (9) (a) through id)

and other provisions of G.S. 93. 55B. 57C. and

59-84. These Rules cover a broad range of

behavior and do not enumerate every possible

unethical act.

(b) In the interpretation and enforcement of

these Rules, the Board will give consideration, but

not necessarily dispositive weight, to relevant

interpretations, rulings and opinions issued by the

boards of other jurisdictions and by appropriately

authorized ethics committees of professional

organizations.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

.0102

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

APPLICABILITY AND
ORGANIZATION OF RULES

These Rules are generally applicable to all

certificate holders. Rules in Section .0200 of this

Subchapter relate to CPAs whether or not

employed in the public practice of accountancy.

Rules in Section .0300 of this Subchapter pertain

to CR^s using the CPA title in connection with

providing products or services to clients. Rules in

Section .0400 of this Subchapter pertain to CPAs

whenever engaged in attest services.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0103 CPAs OUTSIDE NORTH CAROLINA
A CPA living and working outside North

Carolina and not rendering services for North

Carolina clients is not subject to discipline for

departing from North Carolina's professional

standards as long as the CPA complies with any

jurisdiction's accountancy laws. rules. or

professional standards applicable to the CPA.

However, when a CPA is associated with financial

statements in such a manner as to imply that the

CPA is acting as an independent public accountant
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and under circumstances that would entitle the

reader to assume that United States practices were

followed, the CPA must comply with the

requirements set forth in 2\ NCAC 8N .0402.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0104 RESPONSIBILITY FOR
COMPLIANCE BY OTHERS

A CPA shall be responsible for assuring

compliance with the rules in this Subchapter by

anyone who is the CPA's partner, fellow

shareholder, or unlicensed principal, or whom the

CPA supervises. A CPA or CPA firm shall not

permit others (including affiliated entities) to carry

out on the CPA's behalf, with or without

compensation, acts which if carried out by the

CPA would be a violation of these Rules. A CPA
firm shall be responsible for assuring compliance

with these Rules by any officer, director,

shareholder. unlicensed principal. partner,

proprietor, employee, or agent.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

SECTION .0200 - RULES APPLICABLE TO
ALL CPAs

.0201 EVTEGRITY
The reliance of the public and the business

community on sound financial reporting and advice

on business afi^airs imposes on the accounting

profession an obligation to maintain high standards

of technical competence. moralit\'. and integrity.

To this end, a CPA shall at aH times maintain

independence of thought and action, hold the

affairs of their clients in strict confidence, strive

continuously to improve their professional skills,

observe generally accepted accounting principles

and standards, promote sound and informative

financial reporting, uphold the dignity and honor

of tlie accounting profession, and maintain high

standards of personal conduct.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 55B-12: 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0202 decepttvt: conduct prohibtted
(a) Deception Defined. A CPA shall not engage

in decepti\e conduct. Deception includes fraud or

misrepresentation and representations or omissions

which a CPA either knows or should know have a

capacity or tendency to deceive. Deceptive

conduct is prohibited whether or not anyone has

been actually deceived. Deception includes not

only deceptive statements but also includes the

knowing failure to disclose material facts.

Cb) Prohibited Deception. Prohibited conduct

under this Section includes but is not limited to

deception in:

(1) obtaining or maintaining employment:

(2) obtaining or keeping clients;

(3) obtaining or maintaining certification,

retired status, or exemption from SQR;

(4) reporting CPE credits;

(5) certifying the character or experience of

exam or certificate applicants;

(6) implying abilities not supported by

valid education. professional

attainments, or licensing recognition;

(7) asserting that services or products sold

in connection with use of the CPA title

are of a particular quality or standard

when they are not;

(8) creating false or unjustified expectations

of favorable results;

(9) using or permitting another to use the

CPA title in a form of business not

permitted by the accountancy laws or

rules;

(10) permittin g a person or firm not certified

in this state (including one licensed in

another state) to unlawfully use the

CPA title in this state; or

(1 1) falsif\'ing a review, report, or any

required program or checklist of any

quality review program.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12: 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0203 DISCREDITABLE CONDUCT
PROHIBITED

(a) Discreditable Conduct. A CPA shall not

engage in conduct discreditable to tlie accounting

profession.

(h) Prohibited Discreditable Conduct.

Discreditable conduct includes but is not limited

to:

(1) acts that reflect adversely on the CPA's

honesty. integrity. trustworthiness,

good moral character, or fitness as a

CPA in other respects: or

(2) stating or implying an ability to

improperly influence a governmental

agency or official.

Statuton- Authority- G.S. 55B-12: 57C-2-01;
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93-12(9).

.0204 DISCIPLINE BY FEDERAL AND
STATE AUTHORITIES

(a) Violations of Other Authorities' Laws or

Rules. A CPA shall not act in a way that would

cause said CPA to be disciplined by federal or

state agencies or boards for violations of laws or

rules on ethics. CPAs who engage in activities

regulated by other federal or state authorities

(including but not limited to the following

agencies: IRS. Department of Revenue, SEC. State

Bar. North Carolina Secretary of State.

Department of Insurance. GAP. HUD, State

Auditor. State Treasurer, or Local Government

Commission) must comply with all such

authorities' ethics laws and rules.

(b) Prima Facie Evidence. A conviction or final

finding of unethical conduct by a competent

authority is prima facie evidence of a violation of

this Rule.

(c) Notice to the Board Required. A CPA shall

notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any

conviction or final finding of unlawful conduct by

any federal or state court or regulatory authority.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12: 57C-2-01;

.0205 CONFIDENTIALITY
(a) Nondisclosure. A CPA shall not disclose

any confidential information obtained in the course

of employment or a professional engagement

except with the consent of the employer or client.

fb) Exceptions. This Rule shall not be

construed:

(1) to relieve a CPA of any report

obligations pertaining to Section .0400

of this Subchapter; or

(2) to affect in any way the CPA's

compliance with a validly issued

subpoena or summons enforceable by

this Board or by order of a court; or

(3) to preclude the CPA from responding to

any inquiry made by the AICPA Ethics

Division or Trial Board, by a duly

constituted investigative or disciplinary

body of a state CPA society, or under

state statutes; or

(4) to disclose confidential client

information necessary for the SQR
process or for any quality review

program

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12: 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0206 COOPERATION WITH BOARD
INQUIRY

A CPA shall fully cooperate with the Board in

connection with any inquiry it shall make. Full

cooperation includes fully responding in a timely

manner to all inquiries of the Board or

representatives of the Board and claiming Board

correspondence from the U.S. Postal Service.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12; 57C-2-01:

.0207 VIOLATION OF TAX LAWS
A CPA shall not knowingly violate any state or

federal tax laws in handling the CPA's personal

business affairs, or the business affairs of an

employer or client, or the business affairs of any

company owned by the CPA.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93-12(9).

.0208 REPORTING CONVICTIONS,
JUDGMENTS, AND DISCIPLINARY
ACTIONS

(a) Criminal Actions. A CPA shall notify the

Board within 30 days of any conviction or finding

of guilt of, or pleading of nolo contendere to:

(1) a felony; or

(2) any crime an essential element of which

is dishonesty, deceit, fraud, a violation

of federal or state tax law, or a

violation of the rules of Professional

Ethics and Conduct contained in this

Subchapter.

{b} Civil Actions. A CPA shall notify the Board

within 30 days of any judgment or settlement m a

civil suit, the basis of which is grounded upon an

allegation of gross negligence, dishonesty, fraud,

misrepresentation, incompetency, or violation of

any federal or state tax law and which was brought

against either the CPA or a firm by which the

CPA was employed or of which the CPA was a

member.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

.0209 ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES
(a) Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.

A CPA shall not express an opinion that financial

statements are presented in conformity with

generally accepted accounting principles if such

statements contain any departure from an
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accounting principle which has a material effect on

the statements taken as a whole, unless the CPA
can demonstrate that due to unusual circumstances

the financial statements would otherwise have been

misleading.

(b) Statements of Financial Accounting

Standards. The Statements of Financial

Accounting Standards, together with those

Accounting Research Bulletins and Accounting New York. NY 10036 as part of the "AICPA

Principles Board Opinions which are not Professional Standards." They are available at

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(e) Copies of Standards. Copies of the

Statements on Standards for Accountants' Services

on Prospective Financial Information may be

inspected in the offices of the Board as described

in 21 NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be obtained

from the AICPA. 121 1 Avenue of the Americas,

superseded by action of the FASB. are hereby

adopted by reference, as provided by G.S.

150B-21.6. and shall be considered generally

accepted accounting principles for the purposes of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Departures. In such cases the CPA's report

must describe the departure, the approximate

effects thereof, if practicable, and the reasons why

compliance with the principle would result in a

misleading statement.

(d) Copies of Standards. Copies of the

Statements of Financial Accounting Standards may

be inspected in the offices of the Board, as

described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be

obtained from the FASB. High Ridge Park. Post

Office Box 3821. Stamford. CT 06905-0821 as

part of the "FASB Accounting Standards." They

are available at cost, which is approximately

thirty-four dollars ($34.00) in paperback form or

three hundred eighty-three dollars ($383.00) in

looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

.0210 FORECASTS
(a) Forecast of Future Transactions. A CPA

shall not permit the CPA's name to be used in

conjunction with any forecast of future transactions

in a manner which may lead to the belief that the

CPA vouches for the achievability of the forecast.

(b) Applicable Standards. A CPA shall not

render services associated with prospective

financial statements unless the CPA has complied

with the standards for accountants' services on

prospective financial information.

(c) Statements on Standards. The Statements on

Standards for Accountants' Services on Prospective

Financial Information issued by the AICPA are

adopted by reference, as provided by G.S.

150B-21 .6. and shall be considered as the

approved standards for services on prospective

financial information for the purposes of Paragraph

(b) of this Rule.

(d) Departures. Departures from such

cost, which is approximately twenty-eight dollars

($28.00) in paperback form or two hundred dollars

($2(30. (X)) in looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12;

93-12(9).

57C-2-01;

.0211 RESPONSIBILITIES IN TAX
PRACTICE

(a) Standards for Tax Services. A CPA shall

not render services in the area of taxation unless

the CPA has complied with the standards for tax

services.

(b) Statements on Responsibilities. The

Statements on Responsibilities in Tax Practice

issued by the AICPA are hereby adopted by

reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6. and

shall be considered as the approved standards for

tax services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of

this Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(d) Copies of Standards. Copies of the

Statements of Responsibilities in Tax Practice may

be inspected in the offices of the Board, as

described in 2\_ NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be

obtained from the AICPA. 121 1 Avenue of the

Americas. New York. NY 1(X)36 as part of the

"AICPA Professional Standards. " They are

available at cost, which is approximately

twenty-eight dollars ($28.00) in paperback form or

two hundred dollars ($200.00) in looseleaf

subscription form.

Statutory Authority

93-12(9).

G.S 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

mil COMPETENCE
A CPA shall perform professional services

competently and shall:

( I) undertake only those engagements which

the CPA or CPA's firm can reasonably

expect to complete with professional

competence;
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(2) exercise due professional care in the

performance of an engagement^

(3) adequately plan and supervise an engage-

ment; and

(4) obtain sufficient relevant data to afford a

reasonable basis for conclusions or rec-

ommendations in relation to an engage-

ment.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

.0213 OTHER RULES
A CPA shall not willfully violate any other rule

in this Chapter nor any other provision of the

Accountancy Statutes, the Professional Corporation

Act, or the North Carolina Limited Liability

Company Act.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

SECTION .0300 - RULES APPLICABLE TO
ALL CPAs WHO USE THE CPA TITLE IN

OFFERING OR RENDERING PRODUCTS
OR SERVICES TO CLIENTS

.0301 PROFESSIONAL JUDGMENTT
(a) Professional Judgment. A CPA shall not

subordinate the CPAs professional judgment to

non-CPAs.

(b) Tax Practice. In tax practice, the CPA may

resolve doubt in favor of the CPA's client as long

as there is reasonable support for the CPA's

position.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01:

93-12(9).

.0302 FORMS OF PRACTICE
(a) Authorized Forms of Practice. A CPA shall

not directly or indirectly ofFer or render

accounting services (including tax and management

advisory services) to clients except through a duly

authorized CPA sole proprietorship, partnership of

CPAs. CPA Professional Corporation. Professional

Limited Liability Company, or Registered Limited

Liability Partnership.

(b) Authorized Partners. A CPA shall not

engage in the public practice of accountancy with

a partner who is anyone other than the holder of

an unrevoked and currently valid CPA certificate.

(c) Ancillary Practice. A CPA may, through

another lawful form of professional practice, offer

or render such non-attest accounting services as

are ancillary to another learned profession

regulated by a statutorily authorized licensing

board in this state; further provided, the CPA
offers or renders those services through a business

form authorized by the respective licensing board

and does not hold out the non-CPA firm as CPA
firm. Any such CPA must nevertheless register

for SQR as aa exempt individual practitioner.

(d) Other Forms. This Rule does not prohibit a

CPA from providing sales or services to clients

through other business forms so long as the CPA
does not directly nor indirectly use the CPA title

in any way in connection with said business and

the business does not sell to or service the CPA's

accounting clients.

(e) Unlicensed Principals. A CPA may practice

in a firm that includes unlicensed principals only

if:

the unlicensed principal is not a

member of the firm under G.S. 93-4;

12}

13}

the unlicensed principal has no

supervision authority over CPAs;

the unlicensed principal does not use

the CPA title, is not licensed in another

state, and is not listed in advertising,

directories, signs, or stationery in a

way that implies the unlicensed

principal is a CPA;

(4) the unlicensed principal does not have

ownership interest in more than one

firm;

(5) actively licensed CPAs have two-thirds

ownership and control of management

of the firm;

(6) unlicensed principals do not assume

responsibilities in the attest areas;

(7) unlicensed principals possess at least a

baccalaureate degree and, beginning in

the year 2001. obtain 150 semester

hours of education at an accredited

college or university;

(8) unlicensed principals are at all times

active participants and not passive

investors; and

(9) unlicensed principals are of good moral

character and adhere to all applicable

rules of professional ethics and conduct.

(f) Firm Registration Required. A CPA shall

not engage in the public practice of accountancy

through a firm which is in violation of the

registration requirements of 21 NCAC 8J .0008.

8J .0010. or the SQR requirements of 2i NCAC
8M .0102.

(g) Supervision of CPA Offices. Every CPA
office or CPA firm in North Carolina shall be

8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November I, 1993 1452



PROPOSED RULES

actively and locally supervised by a designated

actively licensed North Carolina CPA whose

primary responsibility and a corresponding amount

of time shall be work performed m that office-

judicial proceedings or the findings of

governmental agencies.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

.0303

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

OBJECTIVITY AND CONFLICTS OF
INTEREST

(a) Personal Financial Interest in Advice. When
offering or rendering accounting or related

financial, tax, or management advice, a CPA shall

be objective and shall not place the CPA's own

financial interests nor the financial interests of a

third party ahead of the legitimate financial

interests of the CPAs client or the public in any

context in which a client or the public can

reasonably expect objectivity from one using the

CPA title.

(b) Expectation of Objectivity Presumed. If the

CPA uses the CPA title in any way to obtain or

maintain a client relationship, the Board will

presume the reasonable expectation of objectivity.

(c) Acceptance of a Commission or Referral

Fee. A CPA shall not gay a commission to obtain

a client, nor accept a commission for a referral to

a client, of products or services of others. This

Rule shall not prohibit payments for the purchase

of an accounting practice, retirement payments to

individuals formerly engaged in the practice of

public accounting, or payments to their heirs or

estates.

(d) Acceptance of a Contingent Fee.

(1) The offering or rendering of

professional services for, or the receipt

of. a disclosed contingent fee by a CPA
is not prohibited except for engaging to

render or rendering by a CPA for a

contingent fee:

(A) of professional services for, or the

receipt of such a fee from, any person

for whom the CPA also performs

attest services, during the period of

the attest services engagement and the

period covered by any historical

financial statements involved in such

attest services; and

(B) for the preparation of original or

amended tax returns or claims for tax

refunds.

(2) Fees are not regarded as being

contingent if fixed by courts or other

public authorities qr^ in tax matters, if

determined based on the results of

Statutory Authority

93-12(9).

.0304

as 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

MANAGEMENT ADVISORY
SERVICES STANDARDS

(a) Standards for Management Advisory

Services. A CPA shall not render management

advisory services unless the CPA has complied

with the standards for management advisory

services.

(b) Statements on Standards for Management

Advisory Services. The Statements on Standards

for Management Advisory Services (including the

definition of such services) issued by the AICPA
are hereby adopted by reference, as provided by

G.S. 150B-21 .6, and shall be considered as the

approved standards for management advisory

services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(d) Copies of Statements. Copies of the

Statements on Standards for Management Advisory

Services may be inspected in the offices of the

Board, as described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102.

Copies may be obtained from the AICPA, 1211

Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10036 as

part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They

are available at cost, which is approximately ten

dollars ($10.00) in paperback form or two hundred

dollars ($200. (X)) in looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12: 57C-2-01:

.0305 RETENTION OF CLIENT RECORDS
(a) Return upon Demand. A CPA must return

client records in their possession to the client after

a demand is made for their return. If the client '\s

a partnership, records shall be returned upon

request to any of its general partners. If the client

is a corporation, records shall be returned upon

request to its president. Joint records are to be

returned upon request to any party. The records

must be returned immediately upon demand unless

circumstances make some delay reasonable jn

order to retrieve a closed file or to extract the

CPAs work papers described in Paragraph (e) of

this Rule. If the records cannot be returned

immediately upon demand, the CPA will

immediately notify the client of the date the
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records will be returned. Nothing in this Rule

shall be interpreted to require a CPA to pay

delivery costs when the records are returned to the

client and the business does not sell or serve to the

CPAs.

(b) Return of Original Records. If a CPA is

engaged to perform certain work for a client, the

CPA is only required to return or furnish copies of

those records originally given to the CPA by the

client if one of the following occurs:

(1) the engagement is terminated prior to

the completion of such work, or

(2) the CPA's work product has neither

been received nor paid for by the

client.

(c) Retention to Force Payment. A CPA shall

not retain a client's records in order to force

payment of any kind.

(d) Work Papers Included in Client Records.

Work papers are usually the CPA's property and

need not be surrendered to tlie client. However.

in some instances work papers will contain data

which should properly be reflected in the client's

books and records but for convenience have not

been duplicated therein with the result that the

client's records are incomplete. In such instances,

the portion of the work papers containing such

data constitutes part of the client's records, and

copies should be given to the client along with the

rest of the client's records. Work papers

considered part of the client's records include but

are not limited to:

(1) Worksheets in lieu of original entry

(e.g.. listings and distributions of cash

receipts or cash disbursements on

columnar work paper);

(2) Worksheets in lieu of general ledger or

subsidiary ledgers, such as accounts

receivable, job cost and equipment

ledgers, or similar types of depreciation

records;

(3) All adjusting and closing journal entries

and supporting details not fully set forth

in tlie journal entry; and

(4) Consolidating or combining journal

entries and worksheets and supporting

detail used in arriving at final figures

incorporated in an end product such as

financial statements or tax returns.

(e) Work Papers Belonging to the CPA. Work

papers developed by the CPA incident to the

performance of an engagement which do not result

in changes to ttie client's records, or are not in

themselves part of the records ordinarily

solely the CPA's work papers and are not the

property of the client. For example, the CPA may
make extensive analyses of inventory or other

accounts as part of the selective audit procedures.

These analyses are considered to be a part of the

CPA's work papers, even if the analyses have been

prepared by client personnel at the request of the

CPA. Only to the extent these analyses result in

changes to the client's records would the CPA be

required to furnish the details from the work

papers in support of the journal entries recording

the changes, unless the journal entries themselves

contain all necessary details.

(f) Reasonable Fees for Copies. Nothing in this

Rule shall be construed to require the CPA to

furnish a client with copies of the client's records

already in the client's possession. However, if the

client asserts that such records have been lost, or

are otherwise not in the client's possession, the

CPA shall furnish copies of the records within a

reasonable time for a fee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0306 ADVERTISING OR OTHER FORMS
OF SOLICITATION

(a) Deceptive Advertising. A CPA shall not

seek to obtain clients by advertising or using other

forms of solicitation in a manner that is deceptive.

(b) Specialty Designations. A CPA may

advertise the nature of services provided to clients

but the CPA shall not advertise or indicate a

specialty designation or other title unless the CPA
has met the requirements of tlie granting

organization for the separate title or specialty

designation.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12; 57C-2-01;

maintained by such clients, are considered to be

.0307 FIRM NAMES
(a) Deceptive Names Prohibited. A CPA or

CPA firm shall not trade upon the CPA title

through use of any name that would have the

capacity or tendency to deceive.

(h) Style of Practice. It is considered

misleading if a firm practices under a name or

style which would tend to imply the existence of a

partnership or registered limited liability

partnership or a professional corporation or limited

liability company of more than one shareholder or

member or an association when in fact there is no

partnership nor is there more than one shareholder

or member in tlie firm. For example, no firm
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having just one owner may have as a part of its

name the words "associates" or "company" or

their abbreviations.

(c) Assumed Names Subject to Approval.

Before any firm uses an assumed name (as de-

scribed in G S^ 66-68) it must submit the proposed

name for Board approval

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

SECTION .0400 - RULES APPLICABLE TO
CPAs PERFORMING ATTEST SERVICES

.0401 PUBLIC RELIANCE
Certain practice rules only regulate those CPAs

who perform services upon which the public relies.

These Rules apply to any CPA who engages in the

attest functions such as audit, compilation, review,

exam, forecast, and projection, as defined m 21

NCAC 8A .0301(b). CPAs who engage in such

services are also subject to the SQR requirements

of Subchapter 8M.

Statutory: Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0402 INDEPENDENCE
(a) A CPA. or their firm, who is performing an

engagement in which the CPA. or their firm, will

issue a report on financial statements of any client

(other than a report in which lack of independence

is disclosed) must be independent with respect to

the client in fact and appearance.

(b) Independence is impaired ifj for example,

during the period of the professional engagement.

or at the time of issuing the report, the CPA or

their firm:

(1) had or was committed to acquire any

direct or material indirect financial

interest in the client;

(2) was a trustee of any trust or executor or

administrator of any estate that bad or

was committed to acquire any direct or

material indirect financial interest in the

client;

(3) had a joint or closely held business

investment with the client or any

officer. director. or principal

stockholder thereof which was material

in relation to the net worth of the

client, the CPA. or their firm; or

(4) had any loan to or from the client or

any officer, director, or principal

stockholder thereof other than loans of

the following kinds made by a financial

institution under normal lending

procedures, terms, and requirements:

(A) loans obtained by the CPA or their

firm which are not material in relation

to the net worth of the borrower;

(B) home mortgages; and

(C) other secured loans. except those

secured solely by a guarantee of the

CPA or their firm.

(c) Independence will also be considered to be

impaired if^ during the period covered by the

financial statements, during the period of the

professional engagement, or at the time of issuing

the report, the CPA:

m was connected with the client as a

promoter, underwriter,

director, officer, or

equivalent to that of

voting trustee.

in any capacity

a member of

management or of an employee; or

(2) was a trustee for any person or

profit-sharing trust of the client,

(d) The examples in this Rule are not intended

to be all-inclusive.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0403 AUDITING STANDARDS
(a) Standards for Auditing Services. A CPA

shall not render auditing services unless the CPA
has complied with the applicable generally

accepted auditing standards.

(b) Statements on Auditing Standards. TTie

Statements on Auditing Standards issued by the

AICPA are hereby adopted by reference, as

provided by G.S. 150B-21.6. and shall be

considered generally accepted auditing standards

for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(d) Copies of Statements. Copies of the

Statements on Auditing Standards may be

inspected in tlie offices of the Board, as described

in 21 NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be obtained

from the AICPA. 121 1 Avenue of the Americas.

New York. NY 10036 as eart of the "AICR\

Professional Standards." They are available at

cost, which is approximately twenty-eight dollars

($28.00) in paperback form or two hundred dollars

($200. (X)) in looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

553-12: 57C-2-01;
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.0404 ACCOUNTING AND REVIEW
SERVICES STANDARDS

(a) Standards for Accounting and Review

Services. A CPA shall not render accounting and

review services unless the CPA has complied with

the standards for accounting and review services.

(b) Statements on Standards for Accounting and

Review Services. The Statements on Standards for

Accounting and Review Services issued by the

AICPA are hereby adopted by reference, as

provided by OS, 150B-21.6. and shall be

considered as the approved standards for

accounting and review services for the purposes of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(d) Copies of Statements. Copies of the

Statements on Standards for Accounting and

Review Services may be inspected in the offices of

the Board, as described in 2\ NCAC 8A .0102.

Copies may be obtained from the AICPA. 1211

Avenue of the Americas. New York. NY 10036 as

part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They

are available at cost, which is approximately

twenty-eight dollars ($28.00) in paperback form or

two hundred dollars ($200.00) in looseleaf

subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-J2; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0405 GOVERNMENTAL ACCOUNTING
STANDARDS

(a) Standards for Governmental Accounting. A
CPA shall not permit the CPAs name to be

associated with governmental financial statements

for a client unless they have complied with the

standards for governmental accounting.

(b) Statements on Governmental Accounting and

Financial Reporting Services. The Statements on

Governmental Accounting and Financial Reporting

Services issued by the GASB are hereby adopted

by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-2I.6. and

shall be considered as the approved standards for

governmental accounting for the purposes of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such

statements must be justified by those who do not

follow them.

(d) Copies of Statements. Copies of the

Statements on Governmental Accounting and

Financial Reporting Standards, including technical

bulletins and interpretations, may be inspected in

the offices of the Board, as described in 2i NCAC

8A .0102. Copies may be

GASB, Post Office Box 9125

obtained from the

285,Dept.

Stamford, CT 06925. They are available at cost,

which is approximately forty-seven dollars and

fifty cents ($47.50). In addition to the basic set,

an updating subscription service is available for

approximately sixty-five dollars ($65.00) annually.

Statutory Authority G. S.

93-12(9).

55B-12: 57C-2-01:

.0406 ATTESTATION STANDARDS
(a) Standards for Attestation Services. A CPA

shall not render attestation services unless the CPA
has complied with the applicable attestation

standards.

(b) Statements on Standards for Attestation

Engagements. The Statements on Standards for

Attestation Engagements issued by the AICPA are

hereby adopted by reference, as provided by G.S.

150B-21.6, and shall be considered attestation

standards for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule.

(c) Departures. Departures from such state-

ments must be justified by those who do not follow

them.

(d) Copies of Statements. Copies of the State-

ments on Standards for Attestation Engagements

may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as

described in 21 NCAC 8A .0102. Copies may be

obtained from the AICPA, 121 1 Avenue of the

Americas. New York.

'AICPA Professional

NY 10036 as eart of the

Standards. " They are

available at cost, which is approximately thirty

dollars ($30.00) in paperback form or two hundred

dollars ($200.00) in looseleaf subscription form.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0407 COMPETITIVE BIDDING
Regarding an invitation for competitive bids on

attest services, it shall be discreditable for a CPA
or CPA firm to knowingly ofl'er to perform said

services below cost for the purposes of injuring or

destroying competition; provided, it shall not be a

violation to dp so in order to meet competition.

Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit

competitive bidding nor establish a minimum price

of any CPA service.

Statutory Authority G.S. 553-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

.0408 QUALITY REVIEW STANDARDS
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A CPA who is engaged to perform a quality

review shall not violate the rules or standards of

the quality review program under which the review

is made or the engagement contract connected with

that quality review.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57C-2-01;

93-12(9).

******************

ISotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

]508-21. 2 that the North Carolina Board of

Electrolysis Examiners intends to amend rule cited

as 21 NCAC 19 .0202 and adopt rule cited as 21

NCAC 19 .0622.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 6, 1994 at the State Employees

Credit Union Building, Fourth Floor Conference

Room, 801 Hillsborough Street. Raleigh. NC

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 19 .0202 - To account for statutory

changes and to include provisions for licensing

under G.S. 88A-10 and G.S 88A-11(2).

21 NCAC 19 .0622 - To inform the public of the

Board's requirement for certifying out-of-state

schools.

(comment Procedures: The record of hearing will

be open for receipt of written comments from

November 1, 1993 through December 6, 1993.

Written comments must be delivered to the Board

at its mailing address (801 Hillsborough Street,

PO. Box 10834. Raleigh. NC 27605-0836).

Anyone wishing to speak at the hearing should

notify Trudy Brown in \Kriting at the Board's

mailing address no later than 5:00 p.m. the day

before the meeting. Anyone whose written request

to speak is not received by this deadline will be

able to speak only as time permits.

EdUor's Note: 21 NCAC 19 .0202 was filed as

a temporary amendment effective October 13,

1993 for a period of 180 days or until the perma-

nent rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 19 - BOARD OF
ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION
PROCEDURES

.0202 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE
(a) Anyone—engaged—m—the

—

practice—of

clectrology in this State before January' 1. 1992,

who seeks licen sure as an elcctrologist without

examination—under—the

—

provi sion s—ef

—

GtSv

88A 11(1). All applicants for licensure as an

electrologist shall submit an application on the

form provided by the Board, accompanied by

proof of age, proof of practice before January 1,

1992. statement from ophthalmologist or optome

trist that vision or corrected vision is sufficient to

perform duties as an elcctrologist, recent photo-

graph, the required application fee, any informa-

tion required by Paragraphs (h) and (c) of this

Rule, and if applicable, proof of completion of

high school or equivalency certificate and certifica-

tion of completion from each electrology institution

attended with verification of the number of hours

completed in theory and clinical training.

(b) All applications for licensure under this

Section G.S. 88A-11(1) must bei

(1) accompanied by proof of practice be-

fore the statutory deadline; and

(2) either actually received by the Board or

postmarked on or before the statutory

deadline for applications December 31,

(c) All applications for licensure under G.S.

88A- 1 1(2) must be accompanied by:

( 1) the address of the licensing agency in

the other state or jurisdiction;

(2) any information such as a license num-

ber needed to identify the applicant in

correspondence with that agency; and

(3) a statement authorizing that agency to

certify to the Board that the applicant is

currently licensed or certified by the

other state or jurisdiction and js in good

standing, to inform the Board whether

there are any pending complaints about

the applicant, and to provide the Board

with a copy of the licensing require-

ments in that state or jurisdiction.

(d) fe) Proof of age shall be shown by certified

copy of a birth certificate. If the applicant cannot

obtain a certified copy of the birth certificate, the

applicant shall attach an explanation why no birth

certificate is obtainable and shall submit other

proof of age. Other proof of age includes pass-
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ports, current life insurance policies held for at

least one year showing date of birth, entries in

family bibles, medical or school records showing

date of birth, and marriage licenses showing age.

(e) fd) Proof of practice before the prior practice

deadline set in OS, 88A-ll(a) January 1, 1992

may be shown by sworn affidavit of a person

unrelated to the applicant stating that the applicant

did practice electrology in North Carolina before

that date January 1, 1992 . The affidavit shall also

state where the applicant practiced.

(f) ^ The Board may reject incomplete or

partial applications.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88A-6: 88A-9; 88A-10;

88A-11(1); 88A-21.

SECTION .0600 - SCHOOLS

.0622 CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOLS IN

OTHER STATES OR JURISDICTIONS
(a) The Board will certify a school in another

state or jurisdiction for purposes of G.S. 88A- 10

provided that:

£1} The school applies for certification,

submits the information required by

G.S. 88A-19(a)(n-(6), and meets the

requirements of 21 NCAC \9 .0602,

.0606. .0607. .0608. and .0609;

(2) If the school is in a state or jurisdiction

that approves electrolysis schools, the

school is approved by the proper agen-

cy for that state or jurisdiction: and

(3) The school has a curriculum of at least

600 hours.

(b) A school located in another state or jurisdic-

tion shall pay an application fee of fifty dollars

($50.00) and a yearly certification fee of twenty-

five dollars ($25.00).

(c) The Board will revoke the certification of a

school in another state or jurisdiction upon a proof

that the school in a jurisdiction that licenses elec-

trologists has lost its approval in that state.

(d) The school must agree to teach North

Carolina's sanitation standards to any student who
states to the school an intention of taking North

Carolina's licensing examination.

Statutory Authority G.S.

88A-21.

88A-6; 88A-9; 88A-19;

* *

A^,otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1508-21. 2 that the Board ofMedical Examiners of
the State of North Carolina intends to amend rules

cited as 21 NCAC 32M . 0006 and . 0009.

Ihe proposed effective date of this action is

March 1, 1994.

Ihe public hearing will be conducted at 4:30

p.m. on November 17, 1993 at the NC Board of
Nursing, Koger Ctr., Camden Bldg., Suite 201,

Raleigh, NC, (919) 782-3211.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 32M .0006 and .0009- Action is pro-

posed to bring NC Nurse Practitioner Rules into

conformity with national standards.

(comment Procedures: Persons interested may

present written or oral statements relevant to the

actions proposed at a hearing to be held as indi-

cated above. Written statements not presented at

the hearing should be directed before December 1

,

1993 to the following address: NCBME, PO Box
26808, Raleigh, NC 2761 1 -6808.

CHAPTER 32 - BOARD OF
MEDICAL EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL
OF NURSE PRACTITIONERS

.0006 PRESCRIBING PRIVILEGES
(a) The NP Applicant and supervising physicians

shall acknowledge in the application that they are

femiliar with laws and rules regarding prescribing;

and shall agree to comply with these laws and

rules by incorporating the laws and rules, inolud

ing the Formulary, into their written standing

orders protocols for each approved practice site.

{b)

—

The gonerio oategoriea listed in the Formu
lary are baood of the "American Hospital Formu
lary Service " publi ohed by the American Society of

Ho spital Pharmacists.—The Formulary is adopted

by reference as a part of this Rule in accordance

with provisions of G.S. 150B 1 4(o).—Changes in

the Formulary are approved by both the Board of

Nuraing and the Board of Medical Examiners.

{b}{e) The prescribing stipulations contained in

these Rules and in the Formulary apply to writing

prescriptions, ordering the administration of

medications in out patient and in patient settings,

and dispensing medications. Approval to dispense
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must be obtained from the Board of Pharmacy.

(c)fd^ Prescribing stipulations are as follows:

f4-) Controlled Substances:

(1) Drugs and devices that may be pre-

scribed by the NP in the approved

practice site must be included in the

written standing protocols as outlined in

Rule .0009 (2) of this Section.

(2) (A)No controlled substances Controlled

Substances (Schedules 2, 2N, 3, 3N, 4,

5) defined by the State and Federal

Controlled Substances Acts may be

prescribed, ordered, or dispensed as

established in written standing proto-

cols, provided all of the following

restrictions are met:

iCi

dosage units limited to a one week's

supply;

the prescription or order may not be

refilled without a specific written or

N'erbal order from the supervising

physician; and

Verbal orders given to the NP from,

the supervising physician for adminis

tration of a controlled substance to a

specific patient may be entered into

the patient chart by the NP just as an

RN—mey

—

transcribe—a

—

physician's

verbal order into a patient chart.

the NP has an assigned PEA number

which is entered on each prescription

for a controlled substance.

?f=al-f33 Parenteral Medications—No parenter

preparation s

—

wr&f—be

—

prescribed.—©r-

dcrcd. or dispensed unless under the

order of the supervising physician as set

forth—in Subparagraph—(3)(B) of this

Rule with the exception of those medi

cations—listed—efl—th«

—

Formulary'—as

allowed

.

i%^ Excluded Drugs:

<-iM

—

Any pure form or combination of the

generic clas se s of drugs li sted in the

Formulary—fn&f—be

—

prescribed.—&f-

dered. or di spensed, unless the drug

or clas s of drug i s excluded by the

Formulary.

(3) fB^The NP may prescribe an excluded

a drug or class of drug not included in

the site-specific written standing proto-

cols only as follows:

tf) after the patient has been previ

ously—seen

—

hy—the—supervising

phys ician for initial treatment of

that illness and a written order has

been entered into the chart by the

phys ician for future treatment by

the NP; or

(A)-f«-)upon a specific written or verbal

order obtained from the supervising

physician before the prescription or

order is issued by the NP; and

(B) (C)Such—a prescription the verbal or

order written order as described in

Paragraph (d)(3)(B) Part (c)(3)(A) of

this Rule must be signed by the NP
with a notation that it is issued on the

specific order of the supers'ising

physician. (For example: Mary'

Smith, NP, on order of John Doe,

M.D.)

(4) Refills A prescription may not indicate

a refill, unless authorized by the super

vising physician, with the exception of

birth control medication which may be

issued for a period not to exceed one

year except for controlled substances

which are excluded from refills .

t§3 Dosage Units Amount of drug pre

scribed, ordered, or dispensed can be

no more than 100 dosage units or a one

month supply with the exception of

birth control medications which may be

issued for a period not to exceed one

year.

(6)Prcscription Notations—E\'er}' Each

prescription must be noted on the

patient's chart and include the following

information: Subsequent pre scriptions

fef—the

—

same—medication—may—be

authorized by the NP by telephone and

must be entered on the patient's chart

and

—

CO signed—by—the

—

supervi s ing

physician within the s pecified

15]

CO signing—t+me

—

contained -thr

iA]

m

IE)

appro\ed application.

medication dose;

amount prescribed;

directions for use;

number of refills; and

signature of NP.

(6) (7)Prcscribing—Number

ID

-A Ihe

prescribing number is assigned by the

Board of Medical Examiners to an the

NP upon approval.—This number must

appear on all prescriptions issued by the

NP. The pre scribing number is used as

the NP's Approval Number.

(^Prescription Blank Format:

(A) All prescriptions issued by an the NP

1459 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

^

)

I

shall contain the supervising

phvsician(s) name, the name of the

patient, and the NP's name, telephone

number of the supervising physician;

the name, practice address, telephone

number, and prescribing number, ef

the NP, as well as all information

required ^i*—tew: A

—

suggested

prescription format is included in the

application packet.

(B) The NP's assigned PEA number shall

be written on the prescription form

when a controlled substance is

prescribed as defined in Subparagraph

(c)(2) of this Rule.

(9) Pre signed Prescription Blanks The

supervising physician shall not leave

pre signed prescription forms for use by

the NR

Authority 90-6; 90-18(14); 90-18. 2; 90-1 71. 23(14);

58 Fed. Reg. 31,171(1993) (to be codified at 21

C.F.R. 1301).

.0009 SUPERVISION OF NP
Supervision shall be provided by the responsible

physician as follows:

(1) Availability:

(a) The supervising physician shall be

continuously available for direct

communications by radio, telephone, or

telecommunications.

(b) The supervising physician shall be

available on a regularly scheduled basis

for referrals of patients from the NP.

(2) Written Standing Orders Protocols :

{a) The supervising physician shall provide

in—eaeh

—

practice—location—written

standing orders and drug protocols to

cover—most—commonly—encountered

problem s in the practice setting for use

by the NP and for referral by other

personnel in the setting.

(a) Written standing protocols approved

and signed by both the supervising

physician(s) and the NP shall be

maintained in each approved practice

site;

(b) The written standing protocols shall

include the drugs, devices, medical

treatments, tests and procedures that

may be prescribed, ordered and

implemented by the NP consistent with

Rule .0006 of this Section, and which

are appropriate for the diagnosis and

treatment of the most commonly
encountered health problems in that

practice setting.

(c) fb)The written standing orders protocols

shall include a pre-determined plan for

emergency services.

(d) (e^The written standing protocols shall

specify the process by which The the

NP shall refer a patient to another a

physician other than an approved

supervising physician. only m
accordance with written—standing

orders.

(3) Countersigning of Medical Acts:

(a) The maximum time interval between

the NP's contact with the patient and

chart review and countersigning of

medical acts by the supervising

physician is seven days.

(b) Countersigning times previously

approved by the Board remain in effect

until a change is specifically applied for

aft and approved in accordance with

Rule .0004 of this Section.

(c) A longer countersigning time interval

may be considered by the Joint

Subcommittee upon specific request.

The request should explain the practice

circumstances which necessitate the

longer countersigning interval.

(d) All medical entries into the patient chart

by an NP in all approved practice

locations must be countersigned by the

supervising physician, including

medical progress notes; medical

treatment rendered; tests or procedures

ordered; and notations of prescriptions,

orders, or drugs dispensed.

(4) Supervision Distance:

(a) If the NP is to perform duties away

from the supervising physician, the

application must clearly specify the

circumstances and the supervisory

arrangements established to protect the

patient.

(b) Details must be submitted describing

distance, time, topography, physical

characteristics, and communication

ability between the NP and the

supervising physician.

(5) Supervising Physicians:

(a) A physician in a graduate medical

education program, whether fully

licensed or holding only a resident's

training license, cannot be named as a
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supervising physician.

(b) A physician in a graduate medical

education program who is also

practicing in a non-training situation

may supervise a NP in the non-training

situation if fully licensed.

(c) All physicians who may supervise the

NP in any manner must be approved in

accordance with this Subchapter before

NP supervision occurs.

(6) The NP must be prepared to demonstrate

upon request to a member of either the

Board of Nursing or the Board of

Medical Examiners, or one of its

delegates, the ability to perform the

medical acts assigned by the supervising

physician.

Statutory^ Authority 90-6: 90-18(14); 90-18.2:

90-171.23(14).

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Board of

Mortuary Science intends to adopt rule cited as 21

NCAC 34B .0126; amend rules cited as 34B

.0103. .0110, .0120 and 34D .0202.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1. 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 3, 1993 at the Board Room,

801 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27603.

Ixeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 34B .0103 - To permit trainees, under

supervision, to engage in preneedfuneral planning

and to define supervision for all trainee activities.

21 NCAC 34B .0110 - To require trainee reports

to include names of purchasers ofpreneed fimeral

contracts.

21 NCAC 34B .0120 - To require trainee affida\it

to include number of preneed fimeral contracts

sold.

21 NCAC 34B .0126 - To require trainees in

funeral directing and funeral service to gain

experience in planning funerals as well as in post-

planning activities.

21 NCAC 34D .0202(b) - To permit trainees,

under supervision, to sell, but not sign, preneed

funeral contracts.

K^omment Procedures: Interested persons max

present statements, orally and in writing, at the

public hearing and in writing prior to the hearing

by mail addressed to the NC Board of Mortuary

Science, Box 27368, Raleigh. NC 2761 1-7368.

CHAPTER 34 - BOARD OF
MORTUARY SCIENCE

SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL
SERVICE

SECTION .0100 - RESIDENT
TRAINEES

.0103 AUTHORIZED PRACTICE:
SUPERVISION

(a) Duly certified resident trainees in training for

fiineral service, duly certified resident trainees in

training for funeral directing and duly certified

resident trainees in training for embalming, while

participating in learning experiences and while

supervised by a person licensed by the Board as a

funeral service licensee, funeral director or em-

balmer, respectively, may engage in the practice of

funeral service, funeral directing or embalming

embalming, respectively. When such person so

licensed by the Board is not on the premises where
the activities of the resident trnintx! are talcing

place , the resident trainee shall not bo doomed to

be supervised as required by this Rule .

(b) Duly certified resident trainees in training

for funeral service or for funeral directing, while

participating in learning experiences and while

supervised by a person licensed by the Board as a

preneed sales licensee, may engage m preneed

funeral planning.

(c) When a resident trainee engages in funeral

service, funeral directing, embalming or preneed

funeral planning in or on the premises of a funeral

home, the licensed supervisor shall be on the

funeral home premises where and while such

activities are performed. When a resident trainee

engages in fiineral service, funeral directing,

embalming or preneed funeral planning off the

funeral home premises, such activities shall be

performed only in the presence of the licensed

supervisor.

Statutory Authority^ G.S 90-21 0.23(a): 90-

210. 25(a)(4): 90-210. 67(a): 90-210. 69(a).
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.0110 REPORTS ON WORK
The resident trainee shall submit a report to the

Board every three months on forms provided by

the Board listing the work performed during the

preceding three months. Such reports shall include

the dates and a description of the work and must

be certified as correct by the licensee under whom
the trainee served during the period and by the

manager of the funeral establishment. The names

of the deceased persons persons, and the names of

the purchasers of preneed funeral contracts, on

whose cases the trainee worked and reported

during traineeship must be retained by the trainee

until his traineeship requirement has been fulfilled,

and during such time such information shall be

subject to inspection by the Board or its authorized

agent. Such reports must be filed in the office of

the Board not later than the 10th day of the

calendar month which immediately follows the

completion of each three-month period of resident

traineeship. Failure to submit such reports when

due shall be sufficient cause for suspension or

revocation of the certificate of resident traineeship.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a), (d). (f);
90-

210.25(a) (4e) (4g); 90-210. 67(a); 90-2 10. 69(a).

.0120 TRAINEE FINAL AFFIDAVIT
FORM

Form BMS-10 is the resident trainee affidavit.

It is used for certification by the supervising

licensee that the trainee has served and performed

certain work under him as required by G.S.

90-2 10. 25 (a) (4). It contains space for the names

of the licensee and the trainee; dates and places of

service; and the number of funcml s funerals,

preneed funeral contracts ef and embalmings, or

both, embalmings that the trainee has assisted in

during traineeship. The form is filed with the

Board upon ending resident traineeship with a

licensed supervisor.

Statutory Authority G.S 90-210.23(a). (d), (f);
90-

210.25(a) (40: 90-210.67(a); 90-210.69(a).

.0126 FUNERAL DIRECTING AND
FUNERAL SERVICE TRAINING

To fulfill the requirements that funeral director

and funeral service trainees shall assist in directing

at least 25 funerals during resident traineeship,

such trainees shall, under supervision, perform all

of the components of "funeral directing," as

defined in OS, 90-210. 20(f); and to achieve this

end such trainees shall perform, in at least 25

cases, the activities of selling and arranging

(whether performed at time of need or by selling

preneed funeral contracts or a combination) and, in

at least 25 cases, activities pertaining to the funeral

ceremony and disposition of the body.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210. 20(f); 90-

210.23(a), (d), (f); 90-210.25(a)(4); 90-210.67(a);

90-210.69(a).

SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED
FUNERAL CONTRACTS

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING

.0202 PRENEED SALES LICENSE
(a) Subject to G.S. 90-2 10. 69(c), holding a

funeral director's license, issued by the Board, or

a funeral service license, issued by the Board, is

the qualification to be eligible for a preneed sales

license.

(b) The preneed sales licensee may engage,

under the preneed sales license, in the following

preneed funeral planning activities, pursuant to the

definition of "preneed funeral planning" in G.S.

90-210.60(8):

(1) show and explain written materials,

including price lists and photographs,

descriptive of the funeral services and

merchandise and the preneed funeral

plan or contract being offered;

(2) explain the various types of fiineral

ceremonies and services and the

qualities and characteristics of various

kinds of funeral merchandise;

(3) sell, on a preneed basis, funeral

services and merchandise;

(4) record, on any form or otherwise,

specific items of funeral services and

merchandise selected on a preneed

basis;

(5) make funeral arrangements on a

preneed basis; and

(6) sign preneed contracts.

No preneed funeral planning activities shall be

engaged in by anyone other than a preneed sales

lioenscc; licensee or a registered resident trainee in

funeral directing or funeral service who is acting

under the supervision of a preneed sales licensee

as provided m 21 NCAC 34B .0103; provided,

however, no resident trainee shall, as seller or

seller's agent, sign a preneed funeral contract; and

provided, however, provided further, no preneed

sales license is required for solely the sale of an

insurance policy, and in connection with such a

sale, the salesperson shall not be deemed to have
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engaged in preneed funeral planning if, for the

sole purpose of permitting a prospective purchaser

to make an informed decision as to the amount of

insurance desired, the salesperson shows only price

lists of funeral services and merchandise.

(c) A licensed funeral director or funeral service

licensee wishing to apply for a preneed sales

license shall submit to the Board the applicant's

name, address, telephone number, funeral

director's or funeral service license number, name

and address of the preneed funeral establishment

licensee or licensees on whose behalf the applicant

will sell preneed funeral contracts, and the

applicant's employment or agency relationship with

the licensee or licensees. If the applicant proposes

to sell on behalf of more than one preneed funeral

establishment licensee, the applicant shall disclose

information to satisfy the requirement of G.S.

90-210. 67(a) that the preneed funeral establishment

licensees be related by ownership or contract.

(d) The Board shall issue to each preneed sales

licensee a pocket card as certification of the

preneed sales license. The preneed sales licensee

shall carry the card while engaging in preneed

funeral planning. The card shall indicate the

names of the preneed funeral establishment

licensees on whose behalf the preneed sales

licensee is authorized to sell preneed funeral

contracts, and if there is any change in the list of

establishments on whose behalf the preneed sales

licensee is authorized to sell, the preneed sales

licensee shall make a new application for a

preneed sales license and shall pay the application

fee.

(e) The preneed sales licensee shall sign and

affix his or her preneed sales license number to

each preneed funeral contract, which he or she

sells, in the presence of the purchaser of the

contract at the time of sale.

Statutory Authority^ G.S. 90-210.25(a)(4); 90-

210.67(a). (c): 90-210.69(a).

Li otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Board of

Nursing intends to amend rules cited as 21 NCAC
36 .0203. .0211. .0213. .0218 and .0221.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

Februar\- 7, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on December 9, 1993 at the North Carolina

Board of Nursing Office, 3724 National Drive,

Suite 201. Raleigh, NC 27612.

rveason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 36 .0203 - To be consistent with the

G.S 90-171.35 changes effective June 30, 1993.

21 NCAC 36 .0211 - To be consistent with the

G.S 90-1 71 -.30 changes effective June 30, 1993.

21 NCAC 36 .0213 - To be consistent with the

G.S 90-171.31 changes effective June 30, 1993.

21 NCAC 36 .0218 - To be consistent with the

G.S. 90-171.33 changes effective June 30, 1993.

21 NCAC 36 .0221 - To permit legal practice of

nursingfor out-of-state students engaged in clinical

experiences in North Carolina.

i^omment Procedures: Any person wishing to

present oral testimony relevant to proposed rules

may register at the door before the hearing begins

and present hearing officer with a \vritten copy of

testimony. Written comments concerning these

rules must be submitted by December 9, 1993, to

Jean Stanley, CPS, APA Coordinator, North

Carolina Board of Nursing, P.O. Bo.x 2129,

Raleigh. N.C., 27602-2129.

CHAPTER 36 - BOARD
OF NURSING

SECTION .0200 - LICENSURE

.0203 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED
LICENSE

(a) The registrant whose license has lapsed and

who desires reinstatement of that license will:

(1) furnish information required on forms

provided by the Board;

(2) provide a statement of the reason for

failure to apply for renewal prior to the

deadline;

(3) submit evidence of unencumbered

license in all jurisdictions in which a

license is or has ever been held;

(4) submit evidence of completion of all

court conditions resulting from any

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s);

(5) submit such other evidence that the

Board may require to determine wheth-

er the license should be reinstated; and

(6) submit payment of reinstatement and

renewal fee.
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(b) The registrant whose license has lapsed for

a period of five years or more will also submit:

(1) evidence of mental and physical health

necessary to competently practice nurs-

ing;

(2) evidence of satisfactory completion of a

Board-approved refresher course or

proof of active licensure within the past

five years in another jurisdiction : and

(3) a recent photograph for identification

purposes, if deemed necessary.

(c) If a refresher course is required, the regis-

trant must apply for reinstatement of the license

within one year of completing the refresher course

in order to receive a current license. The applica-

tion for reinstatement must include verification

from the provider of the refresher course that the

registrant has satisfactorily met both theory and

clinical objectives and is deemed competent to

practice nursing at the appropriate level of licen-

sure.

(d) The Board may decline to reinstate a license

if it is not satisfied as to the applicant's ability to

practice nursing, or it may issue a license for a

restricted period of time.

Statutory Authority G. S. 90-1 71.23(b); 90-1 71.35;

90-171.37.

.0211 EXAMINATION
(a) An applicant meets the educational qualifica-

tions to write the examination for licensure to

practice as a registered nurse by:

(1) graduating from a board approved

nursing program designed to prepare a

person for registered nurse licensure;

(tM—applicants graduating before July 1

,

1981—have

—

no time

—

restrictions—»«
writing the examination;

(B^

—

applicants—graduating after July—

h

1981—must—write—the

—

examination

within three years of graduation.

(2) graduating from a nursing program

outside the United States or Canada that

is designed to prepare provide gradu-

ates for the equivalent of with compara-

ble preparation for licensure as a regis-

tered nurse, and submitting the certifi-

cate issued by the Commission on

Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools

as evidence of the required educational

qualifications.

(b) An applicant meets the educational qualifica-

tions to write the examination for licensure to

practice as a licensed practical nurse by:

1981—have no time—restrictions—ee
writing the examination; and

(1) graduating from a Board approved

nursing program designed to prepare a

person for practical nurse licensure;

fA)

—

applicants graduating before July 1

,

fB)

—

applicants graduating after July—1-;

V)%\—HSttst

—

write—the—

e

xamination

within three years of graduation.

(2) graduating from a nursing program

outside the United States or Canada that

is designed to prepare provide gradu-

ates for the equivalent of with compara-

ble preparation for licensure as a li-

censed practical nurse, and submitting

evidence from a Board approved evalu-

ation agency of the required educational

qualifications and evidence of English

proficiency from a Board approved

agency or service;

(3) graduating within the past three years

from a Board approved nursing pro-

gram designed to prepare graduates for

registered nurse licensure, and failing

to pass the examination for registered

nurse licensure;

(4) graduating from a nursing program

outside the United States and Canada

that is designed to prepare graduates for

registered nurse licensure, submitting

evidence of English proficiency from a

Board approved agency or service, and

failing to pass the examination for

registered nurse licensure in any juris-

diction within the past three years; or

(5) completing a Board approved course of

study such as ofl'ered by the U.S. Navy

military service branches for Hospital

Corpsman. Applicants must write the

examination within three years of com
plcting active duty/selected reserve duty

as a military Hospital Corp sman. The

Board approved course of study

includes:

(A) a course equivalent to the U.S. Navy

Hospital Corpsman Basic (Class "A")

course;

(B) Advancement Examination for Navy

Hospital Corpsman Third Class or an

equivalent examination;

(C) college level human lifespan growth

and development course; and

(D) a nursing course provided by the

Navy or another approved agency that

includes maternal-child nursing theory
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and clinical, the legal role of the

LPN, the nursing process, and

nutrition.

(c) An application to the Board of Nursing for

examination shall be submitted at least 60 days

prior to the examination. Pursuant to The

Americans with Disabilities Act and guidelines

established by the National Council of State Boards

of Nursing, Inc., the Board cannot accept

applications received after the established deadline

date. An admission card with specific information

as to time, date, and place of examination will be

mailed to the applicant approximately 14 days

prior to the date of the examination.

(d) The examinations for licensure developed by

the National Council of State Boards of Nursing,

Inc. shall be the examinations for licensure as a

registered nurse or as a licensed practical nurse in

North Carolina.

(1) These examinations shall be

administered in accordance with the

contract between the Board of Nursing

and the National Council of State

Boards of Nursing, Inc.

(2) The examination examinations for

licensure as a registered nurse shall be

administered in February and July on

dates

—

determined—by—the

—

National

Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc

at least twice a year.

0) The

—

examination—fef

—

licensure—as—

a

liocnsed—practical—nurse—shall—be

administered in April and October on

date s

—

determined—^i'—the

—

National

Council—of State Boards of Nursing,

inc.

(43) Scores on the examination shall be

reported, by mail only, to the individual

applicant and to the director of the

program from which the applicant was

graduated. Aggregate results from the

examination(s) may be published by the

Board.

(54) The passing standard score for each of

the five tests comprising the

examination for registered nurse

licensure, up to and including the

February 1982 examination is was 350.

For the examination offered in July

1982 and through July 1988, the

passing score is was 1600. Beginning

February 1989, the passing—

s

core

results for registered nurse licensure is

reported as "PASS" or "FAIL" .

(65) The passing score for the examination

for practical nurse licensure, up to and

including the April 1988 « was 350.

Beginning October 1988, the passing

score results for practical nurse

licensure is reported as "PASS" or

"FAIL" .

(e) Applicants who meet the qualifications for

licensure will be issued a certificate of registration

and a license to practice nursing for the remainder

of the year.

(f) Applicants for a North Carolina license may

take the examination for licensure developed by

the National Council of State Boards of Nursing,

Inc. in another jurisdiction of the United States,

providing:

(1) the Board of Nursing in that jurisdiction

consents to proctor the applicant;

(2) arrangements are made through the

North Carolina Board of Nursing

sufficiently in advance of the

examination date to meet application

requirements in both jurisdictions; and

(3) the applicant pays any service fee

charged by the proctoring Board.

(g) The North Carolina Board of Nursing may

proctor an examination upon request of another

state Board of Nursing at the regularly scheduled

examination sessions if space is available. The

applicant shall submit a service fee for such

proctoring.

Statutory Authority G.S.

90-171.29; 90-171.30.

90-171.23(15):

.0213 REEXAMINATION
(a) An applicant who fails an examination and is

eligible to take a subsequent examination must

submit a completed application and the current

examination fee by the published deadline date for

that examination session. That applicant is not

considered a first-time writer of the examination.

fb)

—

An applicant who was graduated after July

1, 1981. and does not pass an examination within

three years of graduation must after that three year

period establish eligibility to tolcc an examination.

Afi

—

applicant—establishes—this

—

eligibility—by
successfully completing a Board approved nursing

program and by the applicant or the faculty of the

program—submitting evidence of the applicant' s

classroom and clinical competencies.—When an

applicant—establishes—eligibility—te—take—an

examination, the applicant may take subsequent

examinations for a period of three years.—If the

applicant does not pass within that three years, the

applicant must again establish eligibility.
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(e) A

—

Board approved—nursing progmm that

establishes eligibility for an applicant to talcc an

examination is one:

ft) that is offered by or in conjunction with

an exi sting nursing program approved

by the Board and has a curriculum

designed—te

—

prepare—graduates—fer

registered—nurse—licensure,—practical

nurse licensure, or both, as described in

Rule .0309;

{3) whose objectives and competencies are

in accord with outcomes expected of an

individual in nursing practice as legally

defined—for the appropriate licensure

level; and

0) whose purposes,—policies ,

—objectives,

and competencies have been submitted

to, and approved by, the Board prior to

the enrollment of applicants.

fd)

—

An applicant who establishes eligibility to

talce an examination by successfully completing a

Board approved nursing program i s eligible for a

Status A temporary license. Eligibility for a Status

A license is restricted to once ever^' three years .

{e)

—

An applicant who fails an examination and

whose eligibility to take subsequent examinations

has not expired may enroll with student status, as

specified m SrS^ 90 171. 43(2), m a

Board approved—nursing—program—designed—te

enhance the acquisition and application of nursing

knovt'ledge—and

—

skills. This

—

Board approved

nursing program is one:

f4-) offered by or in conjunction with an

exi sting nursing program approved to

prepare individuals for licensure; and

{3) whose purposes, objective s ,

competencies. and teaching and

learning activities have been submitted

te^—and

—

approved—by;—the

—

Board—te

include—those—components legally

defined for the licensure level,

(f) Any program as defined in (c) and (e) of this

Rule—mu st—have

—

established—mechanisms—fef

supervision of learning experiences, evaluation of

program effeetiveness, and assurance of adequate

resources to support the progmm objectives.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-171.31; 90-171.33:

90-171.38.

.0218 LICENSURE WITHOUT
EXAMINATION (BY
ENDORSEMENT)

(a) The Board will provide an application form

which the applicant who wishes to apply for

licensure without examination (by endorsement)

must complete in its entirety.

(1) The applicant for licensure by

endorsement as a registered nurse is

required to show evidence of:

(A) completion of a nursing program

approved by the jurisdiction of

original licensure;

(B) attainment of a standard score equal

to or exceeding 350 on each test in

the State Board Test Pool

Examination administered prior to

July 1982; or a standard score of

1600 on the licensing examination

developed by the National Council of

State Boards of Nursing, Inc.

beginning in July 1982 and up to and

including the July 1988 examination;

or beginning in February 1989, a

score result of "PASS". An exception

to this requirement is made for the

applicant who was registered in the

original state prior to April 1964.

Such applicant must have attained the

score, on each test in the series,

which was required by the state

issuing the original certificate of

registration;

(C) mental and physical health necessary

to competently practice nursing;

(D) unencumbered license in all

jurisdictions in which a license is or

has ever been held; if the license in

the other jurisdiction has been inactive

or lapsed for five or more years, the

applicant will be subject to

requirements for a refresher course as

indicated in G.S. 90-171.35 and

90-171.36; and

(E) completion of ail court conditions

resulting from any misdemeanor or

felony conviction(s).

(2) The applicant for licensure by

endorsement as a licensed practical

nurse is required to show evidence of:

(A) completion of:

(i) a program in practical nursing

approved by the jurisdiction of

original licensure; or

(ii) course(s) of study within an

approved program(s) which is

(are) comparable to that required

of practical nurse graduates in

North Carolina; or

(iii) approved course of study for
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military hospital corpsman which

is (are) comparable to that

required of practical nurse

graduates in North Carolina.

Tlie applicant who was graduated prior

to July 1956 will be considered on an

individual basis in light of licensure

requirements in North Carolina at the

time of original licensure;

(B) achievement of a passing score on the

State Board Test Pool Examination or

the licensing examination developed

by the National Council of State

Boards of Nursing, Inc. If originally

licensed on or after September 1

,

1957, and up to and including the

April 1988 examination, an applicant

for a North Carolina license as a

practical nurse on the basis of

examination in another state must

have attained a standard score equal

to or exceeding 350 on the licensure

examination. Beginning in October

1988, an applicant must have received

a score result of "PASS" on the

licensure examination. The applicant

who was licensed prior to September

I, 1957 in the original jurisdiction

will be con s idered on an individual

basis—m—light—©f—tbe

—

licensure

requirements in North Carolina at the

time of original licensure must have

attained the score which was required

by the jurisdiction issuing the original

certificate of registration ;

(C) mental and physical health necessary

to competently practice nursing;

(D) unencumbered license in all

jurisdictions in which a license is or

has ever been held; if the license in

the other jurisdiction has been inactive

or lapsed for five or more years, the

applicant will be subject to

requirements for a refresher course as

indicated in G.S. 90-171.35 and

90-171.36; and

(E) completion of all court conditions

resulting from any misdemeanor or

felony conviction(s).

(b) The North Carolina Board of Nursing will

require applicants for licensure by endorsement to

provide proof of secondary education achievement

only if deemed necessary for identification, or

other just cause.

(c) Graduates of Canadian nursing programs

who have been licensed in Canada on the basis of

the Canadian Nurses' Association Test Service

Examination (CNATS) written in the English

language are eligible to apply for registration by

endorsement provided the applicant has not failed

the examination developed by the National Council

of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. in North

Carolina.

(d) A nurse educated and licensed outside the

United States of America is eligible for North

Carolina licensure by endorsement if the nurse

has:

(1) proof of education as required by the

Board or a certificate issued by the

Commission on Graduates of Foreign

Nursing Schools; and

(2) proof of passing the licensing

examination developed by the National

Council of State Boards of Nursing,

Inc. in another jurisdiction. An
exception to this requirement is made

for the applicant who was registered by

Canadian province examination written

in the English language prior to

CNATS or SBTPE, and has worked in

nursing within the past five years or has

completed a Board-approved refresher

course.

(e) When completed application, evidence of

current license in another jurisdiction, and fee are

received in the Board office, a temporary license

is issued to the applicant. Employer references

may be requested to validate competent behavior

to practice nursing.

(f) Facts provided by the applicant and the

Board of Nursing of original licensure are

compared to confirm the identity and validity of

the applicant's credentials. Status in other states

of current licensure is verified. When eligibility is

determined, a certificate of registration and a

current license for the remainder of the calendar

year are issued.

Statutory' Authority G.S. 90-171. 23(b); 90-171.33;

90-171.37.

.0221 LICENSE REQUIRED
(a) No cap, pin, uniform, insignia or title shall

be used to represent to the public that an

unlicensed person is a registered nurse or a

licensed practical nurse.

(b) A license to practice nursing is not required

for the repetitive performance of a common task or

procedure which does not require the professional

judgment of a registered nurse or licensed practical
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nurse, and which Tasks may be delegated to an

unlicensed person which :

f4^ is delegated by a licen sed physician,

licensed dentist or licensed nurse;

(31) frequently recurs recur in the daily care

of a client or group of clients;

(32) is are performed according to an

established sequence of steps;

(43) involves involve little or no

modification from one client-care

situation to another;

(§4) may be performed with a predictable

outcome; and

(65) dees do not inherently involve ongoing

assessments assessment , interpretations

interpretation , or decision-making

which cannot be logically separated

from the procedure procedure(s) itself.

Client-care services which do not meet all of these

criteria must be performed by a duly licensed

nurse. The restrictions, however, do not apply to

care performed by clients themselves, their

families or significant others, or by caretakers who

provide personal care to individuals whose health

care needs are incidental to the personal care

required.

(c) A license to practice nursing is required for

implementing any treatment and pharmaceutical

regimen which is likely to produce side or toxic

eff"ects, allergic reactions, or other unusual effects

or which may rapidly endanger a client's life or

well-being and which is prescribed by a person

authorized by state law to prescribe such a

regimen.

(1) The nurse who assumes responsibility

for implementing a treatment and

pharmaceutical regimen is accountable

for:

(A) recognizing side effects;

(B) recognizing toxic effects;

(C) recognizing allergic reactions;

(D) recognizing immediate desired effects;

(E) recognizing unusual and unexpected

effects

;

(F) recognizing

condition

continued

medication;

(G) anticipating

rapidly endanger a

well-being; and

(H) making judgments and decisions

concerning actions to take in the event

such untoward effects occur.

(2) Exceptions to .0221(c)(1) are:

changes in client's

that contraindicates

administration of the

those effects which may

client's life or

(A) persons who hold statutory authority

to administer medications;

(B) clients themselves, their families or

significant others, or caretakers who
provide personal care to individuals

whose health care needs are incidental

to the personal care required;

(C) administration of oral nutritional

supplements;

(D) applications of non-systemic, topical

skin preparations which have local

effects only provided that ongoing,

periodic assessment of any skin lesion

present is carried out by a person

licensed to make such assessments;

and

(E) administration of commonly used

cleansing enema solutions or

suppositories with local effects only.

(d) Unlicensed nursing students enrolled m
out-of-state nursing education programs who are

requesting utilization of North Carolina clinical

facilities, shall be allowed such experiences

following approval by the Board of Nursing or its

designee. Upon receiving such a request, the chief

nurse administrator of a North

Carolina clinical facility contacted by an

out-of-state nursing education program seeking

nursing student clinical education experiences in

North Carolina shall provide the Board with the

following at least 60 days prior to the start of the

requested experience prior to receiving approval

for accepting the students:

(1) letter of request for approval to provide

the clinical offering;

(2) course description

course objectives,

grading criteria for the

which includes

content outline,

course, and

curriculum pattern which lists all

courses required and placement of this

course in the curriculum;

(3) names of faculty members responsible

for coordinating the student's

experiences;

(4) documentation that the nursing program

is currently approved by the Board of

Nursing or other appropriate approval

bodies in the state in which the parent

institution is located;

(5) proposed starting and completion dates

for the requested clinical experiences;

(6) criteria used for selection of the

students for the clinical experience fn

North Carolina;

(7) number of students to be placed hi the
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ilM

12)

facility;

(8) units for placement and number of

students on each unit;

(9) RN faculty or preceptor qualification

criteria with vitae. including NC RN
license numbers of those working with

the students;

(10) signed contract between nursing pro-

gram and clinical facility indicating

ratio will not be greater than 1:10

faculty to student ratio for groups of

students or \\2 preceptor to student ]f

preceptor arrangement Is proposed;

written statement from chief nursing

administrator indicating the proposed

clinical experience does not conflict

with clinical unit commitment to ap-

proved North Carolina nursing pro-

grams who have contracts with the

facility;

evidence that all students involved in

the proposed clinical experience are in

good academic standing; and

plans that ensure timely communica-

tions between the coordinating faculty

from out-of-state program, the partici-

pating NC nurses, the chief nursing

administrator of the NC clinical facility

and the students.

(e) If the approved experience is to continue on

an annual basis, written notification shall be

submitted annually, by the chief nurse administra-

tor of the NC facility at least thirty days prior to

the resumption of the experiences. This notice

shall include notification of any changes in the

information submitted in material required in

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. Upon review by the

Board or its designee, written approval shall be

sent to the Chief Nurse administrator of the NC
facility and the out-of-state nursing program,

within thirty business days of receipt of the materi-

als in the Board oflice. Copies of the following

shall be distributed by the chief nursing adminis-

trator of the clinical facility to all students and

faculty involved in the clinical experiences:

(1) North Carolina Nursing Practice Act;

North Carolina administrative rules and

13)

01

ID

i4]

related interpretations regarding the role

of the RN, LPN. and unlicensed nurs-

ing personnel;

North Carolina Board developed Guide-

lines for Utilization of Preceptors; and

North Carolina Board of Nursing devel-

oped Interpretations According to

Adopted Categories.

(f) Failure to comply with the requirements in

Paragraph (d) of this Rule as established by the

North Carolina Board of Nursing shall result in the

immediate withdrawal of the Board's approval of

the clinical oflFerings.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-171 .23(b): 90-171.39;

90-171.43.

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Board of

Occupational Therapy intends to adopt rules cited

as 21 NCAC38 .0701 - .0706; amend rules .0102,

.0204, .0613; repeal rules .0306 and .0307 .

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1 , 1994.

Instructions on How to Denmnd a Public Hearing

(must be requested in writing within 15 days of

notice): Requests for a Public Hearing must be

submitted in writing by November 15, 1993 to:

Charles P Wilkins, Legal Counsel to the NCBOT,

PO. Box 2280. Raleigh, NC. 27602.

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 38 .0701 - .0706 - to reflect an amend-

ment to G.S. 55B-2(6) which allows occupational

therapists to enter into professional corporations.

21 NCAC 38 .0102 - to reflect the relocation of

the administrative offices of the Board.

21 NCAC 38 .0204 - to increase the late renewal

fee from twenty-five dollars ($25.00) to fifth dol-

lars ($50.00).

21 NCAC 38 .0613 - to clarify the procedure for

judicial rex'iew of a final agency decision.

21 NCAC 38 .0306 and .0307 - repeal rules due

to an amendment to G.S. 55B-2(6) which allows

occupational therapists to enter into professional

corporations.

K^onmwnt Procedures: Comments concerning

these rules mast be submitted in writing by Decem-

ber 1, 1993 to: Charles P Wilkins, Legal Counsel

to the NCBOT. PO. Box 2280, Raleigh. NC.
27602.

CHAPTER 38 - BOARD OF
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS
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SECTION ,0100 - ORGANIZATION
AND GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0102 BOARD OFFICE
The administrative offices of the North Carolina

Board of Occupational Therapy are located at:

Suite 1921. Center Plaza Building

4 1 1 Fayettcvillc Street Mall

Suite 2220. First Union Capitol Center

150 Fayetteville Street Mall

P.O. Box 2280

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Telephone: (919)832-1380

Office hours are 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.,

Monday through Friday, except holidays.

Statutory Authority^ G.S. 90-270.68.

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION
FOR LICENSE

.0204 FEES
(a) Fees are as follows:

(1) a request for an initial application for

licensure as an occupational therapist,

an occupational therapist assistant, or a

provisional licensee is ten dollars

($10.00);

(2) consideration of the application for

issuance of a license or re-issuance of

an expired license is one hundred

dollars ($100.00);

(3) annual renewal of a license is fifty

dollars ($50.00);

(4) late renewal of a license is an additional

twenty five—dollars

—

($25.00); fifty

dollars ($50.00);

(5) issuance of a provisional license is

thirty-five dollars ($35.00).

(b) Fees shall be nonrefundable and shall be

paid in the form of a cashier's check, certified

check or money order made payable to the North

Carolina Board of Occupational Therapy.

However, personal checks may be accepted for

payment of renewal fees.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.77.

SECTION .0300 - LICENSING

.0306 PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION
Occupational thcrapista may not incorporate under

the Profes s ional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B .

Statutory Authority G. S. 55B-2.

.0307 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE
OF REGISTRATION

Occupational therapi sts arc not required to obtain

or renew a Certificate of Registration under the

Profess ional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B.

Statutory Authority G. S. 55B-2.

SECTION .0600 - ADMINISTRATIVE
HEARING PROCEDURES

.0613 FINAL DECISION
In all cases heard by the Board, the Board will

issue its decision within 60 days after its next

regularly scheduled meeting following the close of

the hearing. The decision will be the prerequisite

"final agency decision" for the right to judicial

review. To obtain judicial review, the person

seeking review must file a petition with the court

in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-

45,

Statutory Authority G. S. 150B-45.

SECTION .0700 - PROFESSIONAL
CORPORATIONS

.0701 AUTHORITY' AND DEFD^TIONS
(a) Under the Professional Corporation Act,

G.S. 55 B. the North Carolina Board of Occupa-

tional Therapy has the authority to regulate profes-

sional corporations whose purpose is the provision

of occupational therapy related services.

(b) The rules in this Section supplement the

basic statutory governing professional corporations

and shall be interpreted so as not to conflict with

such statutory law, as it may be amended from

time to time, or with other statutes and laws

governing corporations generally.

(c) "Board" means the North Carolina Board of

Occupational Therapy.

(d) "Occupational therapy related services"

means those activities through which occupational

therapy, as defined in OS, 90-270.67(4). is

practiced.

(e) "Licensee" means any individual who is duly

licensed to practice occupational therapy in North

Carolina as a registered occupational therapist.

(f) "Professional Corporation" means profession-

al corporations organized for the purpose of

providing occupational therapy related services in

North Carolina.

(g) "Legal Counsel" means the legal counsel to
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the North Carolina Board of Occupational Thera-

(h) "Assistant" means the administrative

assistant to the North Carolina Board of

Occupational Therapy.

Statutory Authority G.S. 558-2; 55B-12; 90-

170.67.

.0702 PREREQUISITES FOR
INCORPORATION

The following requirements must be met jn order

to incorporate:

(1) The incorporator, whether one or more,

of a professional corporation shall be

duly licensed to practice occupational

therapy in North Carolina as a registered

occupational therapist.

Before the filing of the articles of incor-

poration with the Secretary of State, the

incorporators shall file with the assistant

to the Board a copy of the original arti-

cles of incorporation, together with a

registration fee of fifty dollars ($50.00).

The copy of the articles of incorporation

shall be accompanied by an application to

the Board (Corp. Form 01) certified by

all incorporators, setting forth the names ,

addresses and N.C. license numbers of

each shareholder of said corporation who

will be practicing occupational therapy

for said corporation.

Included with the above shall be a state-

m

13}

14}

15}

ment that all such persons are duly li^

censed to practice occupational therapy in

North Carolina as registered occupational

therapists, and stating that the corporation

will be conducted in compliance with the

Professional Corporation Act and these

Regulations.

If the articles are changed in any manner

before being filed with the Secretary of

State, they shall be re-submitted to the

assistant to the Board and shall not be

filed until approved by the assistant to the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-4: G.S 55B-10; 90-

170.67(5).

.0703 CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
The Certificate of Registration shall be issued as

follows:

The legal counsel or assistant shall issueill

a Certificate of Registration (Corp. Form

02) for the professional corporation to

become effective only when the profes-

sional corporation files the articles of

incorporation with the Secretary of State

and ifi

(a) the legal counsel or assistant to the

Board finds that no disciplinary action

is pending before the Board against any

of the licensed incorporators or persons

who will be directors, officers, or

shareholders of such corporation; and

(b) it appears to the legal counsel or assis-

tant that such corporation will be con-

ducted in compliance with the law and

regulations.

(2) The proposed original articles of incorpo-

ration, and the Certificate of Registra-

tion, will be returned to the incorporators

for filing with the Secretary of State.

The copy of the articles and a copy of the

certification will be retained in the ad-

ministrative offices of the Board. If the

required findings cannot be made, the

registration fee shall be refunded to the

incorporators.

(3) The initial Certificate of Registration

shall remain m effect until June 30 of the

year in which it was issued unless sus-

pended or terminated as provided by law.

TTie Certificate of Registration shall be

renewed annually thereafter.

(4) At least 20 days prior to the date of

expiration of the certificate, the corpora-

tion shall submit its written application

for renewal upon a form as provided by

the Board (Corp. Form 03). said applica-

tion to be accompanied by check in the

amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in

payment of the renewal fee. The Board

shall renew the certificate provided that

the Board finds that the corporation has

followed the law and the regulations of

the Board.

(5) If the corporation does not apply for

renewal of its Certificate of Registration

within 30 days after the date of its expi-

ration, the Certificate of Registration

shall be automatically suspended. Upon

suspension of the Certificate of Registra-

tion, the legal counsel or the assistant to

the Board will notify the Secretary of

State in writing.

(6) The Certificate of Registration may be

reinstated within the calendar year upon

payment of the renewal fee plus a penalty
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I

of ten dollars ($10.00), if such

corporation is then otherwise qualified

and entitled to a renewal of its Certificate

of Registration.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55b-12; 90-170.67(5).

.0704 GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE
PROVISIONS

The following general provisions shall apply to

all incorporating professional associations:

(1) If the legal counsel or assistant should

decline to issue a Certificate of

Registration required by 21 NCAC 38

.0703(1), or decline to renew the same

when properly requested, or shall refuse

to take any other action required of

him/her in writing by a professional

corporation, the aggrieved party may

request, in writing, a review of such

action by the Board, and the Board shall

provide a formal hearing for such

aggrieved party before a majority of the

Board.

charters12] All amendments to of

^

(3)

\

professional corporations, all merger and

consolidation agreements to which a

professional corporation is a party, and

all dissolution proceedings and similar

changes in the corporate structure of a

professional corporation shall be filed

with the legal counsel or assistant to the

Board for approval before being filed

with the Secretary of State.

The legal counsel or assistant is autho-

rized to issue the certificate (Corp. Form

04) required by G.S. 55B-6 when stock is

transferred in a professional corporation,

and such certificate shall be permanently

attached to the stub of the transferee's

certificate in the stock book of the profes-

sional corporation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-6; 90.170.67(5).

.0705 FORMS
The following forms may be secured from the

office of the Board regarding professional corpora-

tions:

(1) Regulations adopted by the Board relating

to Professional Corporations whose pur-

pose is providing occupational therapy

related services;

(2) Corp. Form 01 - Certificate of Incorpora-

tor(s) and Application for a Certificate of

13}

141

15}

Registration for a Professional Corpora-

tion;

Corp. Form 02 ; Certificate of Registra-

tion of a Professional Corporation for the

Purpose of Providing Occupational Ther-

apy Related Services;

Corp. Form 03 ^ Application for Renewal

of Certificate of Registration; and

Corp. Form 04 z Certificate Authorizing

Transfer of Stock in Professional Corpo-

ration Organized to Provide Occupational

Therapy Related Services.

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-12; 90-170.67(5).

.0706 FEES
(a) Initial issuance of a Certificate of Registra-

tion requires a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00).

(b) Renewal of a Certificate of Registration

requires a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25. (X)).

(c) Late renewal of a Certificate of Registration

requires an additional fee often dollars ($10.00).

Statutory Authority G.S 55B-10; 553-11; 55B-12.

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF
STATE PERSONNEL

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Office of State Personnel/State

Personnel Commission intends to amend rules cited

as 25 NCAC ID .0205, .0211. .0212, .0401,

.0403. .0405, .0504, .0510, .0512, .0611, .1928;

IH .0624, .0625, .0628; IJ .0602, .0604, .0608.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on December 8, 1993 at the Personnel

Development Center, 101 Peace Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina.

MVeason for Proposed Action:

25 NCAC ID .0205, .0211, .0212, .0401, .0403,

.0405, .0504, .0510, .0512, .0611, .1928- Clari-

fies the definition of "demotion/ reassignment",

changes "permanent" to "career" employee and

G.S. 126-39 to G.S. 126-1A to conform to the

changes in Senate Bill 122.

25 NCAC IH .0624. .0625. .0628 - Change

"permanent" to "career" and G.S. 126-39 to G.S.
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126-lA to conform to the changes in Senate Bill

122.

25 NCAC IJ .0603, .0604. .0608 - To conform to

Senate Bill 122 which re-defines permanent state

employee to career state employee.

l^omtnent Procedures: Interested persons may

present statements either orally or in writing at the

public hearing or in writing prior to the hearing by

mail addressed to: Barbara A. Coward, Office of

State Personnel. 116 W. Jones Street, Raleigh, NC
27603.

CHAPTER 1 - OFFICE OF STATE
PERSONNEL

SUBCHAPTER ID - COMPENSATION

SECTION .0200 - NEW APPOINTMENTS

.0205 EFFECTIVE DATE
(a) A new employee may begin work on any

scheduled workday in a pay period. When the first

day of a pay period falls on a non-workday and the

employee begins work on the first workday of a

pay period, the date to begin work will be shown

as the first of the pay period.

(b) The effective date for change to permanent

status shall be the date that it is determined that

the employee meets acceptable performance stan-

dards, but not less than three months from the date

of employment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0211 SALARY RATE
(a) The hiring rate of pay for a class, or trainee

rate where applicable, shall normally be paid a

qualified new employee. When a special entry

rate has been authorized, that rate may be paid a

qualified new employee if the agency has made a

decision to use the new rate.

(b) It is intended that agencie s make as few
appointme nts above the hiring rate (or applicabl e

special e ntry rate ) as po ss ibl e .
—Rates A salary

above this the hiring rate (or applicable special

entry' rate) may be requested on the initial appoint-

ment or at the time the appointment is made

permanent, but not to exceed the maximum salary

published in the vacancy announcement, when:

(1) extensive recruitment efforts have not

produced qualified applicants; or

(2) the applicant possesses exceptional

qualifications above the hiring require-

ments of the class specification, and

operational needs exist which justify

filling the position at the salary above

the minimum of the range. The addi-

tional experience and training must be

in the same or closely related area to

that stated as acceptable in the class

specification. Generally, up to five

percent above the minimum rate may be

considered for each qualifying year of

directly related experience and/or edu-

cation above the minimum requirements

not to exceed the midpoint of the range

without—prior—approval—of the—State

Personnel Director .

(c) Appointments above the hiring rate are to be

avoided if salary inequities would be created. This

should be considered very carefully in order to

avoid present or future inequities. One con s ider

ation must be the policy which would apply if a

current employee were promoted to a vacancy.—

A

serious inequity can occur if a new employee is

paid at a rate higher than that which would be paid

if a current employee were promoted to the same

position.

(d) When an employee is given a permanent

appointment status after successful completion of

either the probationary period or the trainee

period, if the initial salary is at the hiring rate or

trainee rate, the employee's salary it shall be

increased to the minimum rate of the range (unless

appointment was made at or above thi s level) and

may be increased to a higher rate if conditions

justify . The efFectivc date for change to perma

ncnt status must be the first day of a pay period.

If the employee—m—in pay statu s for at leas t

one half of the workdays and holidays in the pay

period, credit will be given for the full pay period.

(e) If the employee salary is hired initially at an

authorized special entry rate, the employee's salary'

it may be increased by five percent above the

special entry rate upon successful completion of

the probationary' period .

(f) If the employee is hired at a salary below an

authorized special entry rate because the lower

salary is sufficient to attract applicants but not

sufficient to retain the employee once experience

is gained, an adjustment up to the special entry

rate may be made during or at the end of the

probationary period or at such time as performance

indicates that it is justified.

(g) If the initial salary js above the hiring rate,

the agency may elect to increase the salai-y by 5%
or to a higher rate if conditions justify.

(h) Only with the prior approval of the State
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Personnel Director and in well-documented cases

which involve circumstances such as severe labor

market conditions or extraordinary qualifications

will salaries be considered which exceed the limits

of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(2).

.0212 JUSTIFICATION

fa) If the salary requested is above the hiring

rate or if it is anticipated that the salary will be

increased to a rate above the minimum upon

permanent appointment, the Forms PD-105

requesting appointmcnta at rates above the hiring

fate must include a statement of reasons and

justification for such rates the rate that will be

paid .

{b)

—

If conditions justif^' appointment above the

hiring rate, the agency may elect to use the hiring

rate for initial appointment with the option to

increase the salary to a rate above the hiring rate

upon successful completion of the probationary

period.

Statutory Authority G. S. 126-4.

SECTION .0400 - DEMOTION

.0401 DEFINITION AND POLICY
Demotion or reassignment is a change in status

downward resulting from assignment to a position

of lower ievei salary grade . It may result from the

choice of the employee, inefficiency in

performance or better utilization of individual

ability.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0403 EFFECTIVE DATE
Demotions or reassignments shall be made

effective on the first day of the pay period.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

.0405 QUALIFICATIONS
If a demotion or reassignment is made to a

position within the same field of work, the

employee automatically qualifies. However, if a

demotion is made to a different field of work, the

employee must meet the minimum education and

experience requirements, or their equivalent, as set

forth in the class specification.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

SECTION .0500 - SEPARATION

.0504 REDUCTION IN FORCE
(a) Policy. An appointing authority may

separate an employee whenever it is necessary due

to shortage of funds or work, abolishment of a

position or other material change in duties or

organization. Retention of employees in classes

affected shall be based on systematic consideration

of all the following factors: type of appointment,

relative efficiency, actual and/or potential adverse

impact on protected group individuals and length

of service. However, neither temporary,

probationary nor trainee employees in their initial

six months of training shall be retained in classes

where permanent employees (those who have

satisfactorily completed a probationary or

equivalent trial period) must be separated in the

same or related class.

(b) Agency Responsibility.

(1) Each agency shall develop written

guidelines for reduction-in-force which

meet its particular needs and provide

assurance to employees that potential

reductions shall be considered on a fair

and systematic basis. The guidelines of

each agency shall be filed with the

Office of State Personnel as a public

record.

(2) It is the employing agency's

responsibility to inform the employee of

separation as soon as possible and to

inform the employee of the priority

reemployment consideration available.

The agency must provide employees

with a minimum of two weeks notice of

separation. For persons desiring

priority consideration, the releasing

agency must submit an application to

the Office of State Personnel requesting

priority consideration. If the employee

does not want assistance in finding

another state job, the agency should get

a written statement to this effect and

share a copy with the Office of State

Personnel.

(c) Appeals. A permanent career employee or

an employee with permanent career status under

competitive service who is separated due to

reduction-in-fbrce shall have the right to appeal to

the State Personnel Commission for a review to

assure that systematic procedures were applied.

The term
"permanent career employee" shall mean

a state employee person who: i s in a pay grade 60

or lower position and primary position who has
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been continuously employed by the State for the

immediate 12 preceding months; « in a pay grade

61 to pay grade 65 position and secondary level or

professional position who has been continuously

employed by the state for the immediate 56 24

preceding months; is in a pay grade 66 to 70

position—and management level or consultant

position who has been continuously employed by

the state for the immediate 48 36 preceding

months; is in a pay grade 71 or higher position

and has been continuously employed by the state

for the immediate 60 preceding month s at the time

of the act, grievance or employment practice

complained of. Provisions of the appeal procedure

shall be followed.

(d) Affirmative Action. In accordance with

federal guidelines affecting equal employment

opportunity and affirmative action, any application

of the reduction-in-fbrce policy must be analyzed

to determine its impact in this area.

(e) Leave

(1) Vacation Leave. Employees are paid in

a lump sum for accumulated vacation

leave.

(2) Sick Leave. Employees separated due

to a reduction in force should be

informed that their sick leave shall be

reinstated if employed in any agency

within three five years.

Statutory Authorin- G.S. 126-1A: 126-4(2).

.0510 PRIORITi' REEMPLOITVIENT
CONSIDERATION

(a) Priority reemployment consideration shall be

provided to:

(1) Employees who have met the minimum
service requirements of G.S.

126 5(c)(r) 126-lA , and who occupy or

accept and are subsequently separated,

for reasons other than just cause, from

positions designated exempt as

confidential or policy-making pursuant

to G.S. 126-5(c)(2) and G.S.

126-5{d)(l).

(2) Employees with permanent
appointments. employees and

apprentices with trainee appointments

who have completed si.x months of

service, and employees who attained

permanent status prior to entering a

trainee appointment, who have received

notification of imminent separation due

to shortage of funds or work,

abolishment of a position or other

material changes in duties or

organization by the process commonly
known as reduction-in-force. An
employee who is separated at the end of

a time-limited appointment is not

eligible for priority consideration.

(b) Employees separated from policy-making/

confidential exempt positions for reasons other

than cause and employees with priority status due

to reduction in force have equal priority.

(c) The intent of priority consideration for

employees separated from exempt positions is to

enable a return to the career service at a salary

grade equal to that held in the most recent subject

position. For employees receiving notification of

separation through reduction in force, the intent is

to continue or restore employment at a salary

grade equal to that held at the time of notification.

In either instance, the salary grade and not the

salary rate is the controlling factor.

(d) A person with priority status who has reason

to believe priority consideration was denied in a

selection decision may appeal directly to the State

Personnel Commission through the established

contested hearing process.

Statutory- Authority G.S 126-1A; 126-5(c)(l);

126-5(c)(2); 126-5(d)(l).

.0512 POLICi-MAKING/CONFIDENTIAL
EXEMPT PRIORITY
CONSIDERATION

(a) Employees removed from policy-making/

confidential exempt positions, for reasons other

than cause, shall receive priority reemployment

consideration as follows:

(1) An eligible employee with 10 or more

years cumulative service in subject

positions, including the immediately

preceding 12 months prior to placement

in an exempt position, shall be

reassigned to a subject position within

the same department or agency, or if

necessary within another agency, at the

same salary grade and at a salary rate

which bears a relationship with the

midpoint of the salary range

comparable to that of his most recent

subject position. The reassignment

must be within a 35 mile radius of the

exempt position from which separated.

If an employee is ofl'ered a

reassignment which meets these criteria

and refuses to accept, the priority is

terminated.
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(2) An eligible employee who has the

minimum service requirements for

permanent career status (G.S. 126-1 A)

but less than 10 years cumulative

service in subject positions prior to

placement in an exempt position, shall

be permitted a one-time reemployment

priority, to be exercised by the

employee within one year following the

effective date of his separation. Upon

notice to the agency that priority is

being requested, the employee shall be

offered any available, non-exempt

position for which he has formally

applied and is qualified for, when the

position applied for is equal to or below

the salary grade of the most recent

subject position held prior to

separation; provided, however, that a

prior offer may be made to a person

qualified under Section 1 above, or to

an employee from the same agency in

which the vacancy occurs with priority

status due to reduction in force. If

there is not a priority applicant from

the same agency in the applicant pool,

an offer can be made to a current state

employee with greater cumulative state

service.

(b) As exercised by the employee, this priority

consideration shall expire when a formal offer is

extended for employment in the position being

applied for. A vacant position will not be

considered available, for purposes of this policy,

if an "understudy" has been groomed by the

agency to fill it, under a pre-existing, formally

understood, written arrangement, within a

structured plan of development.

(c) If an eligible policy-making exempt

employee applies for and accepts a position

through the regular, non priority selection process,

which is at a salary grade below that held in his

most recent subject position, that person shall

retain the one-time priority for higher level

positions for the remainder of the twelve month

period.

(d) If an eligible person accepts employment

outside State Government, the one-time priority

shall be continued through the one-year maximum
at the person's request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A: 126-5.

SECTION .0600 - REALLOCATION

(1)

(2)

.0611 REALLOCATION/SALARY RATE
(a) When an employee's position is assigned to

a higher grade as a result of reallocation, subject

to the availability of funds and satisfactory

employee performance, salary increases, not to

exceed the maximum of the range, may be given

in accordance with the following:

Salaries at the hiring rate shall be

increased to the new hiring rate.

Salaries at the minimum rate shall be

increased to the minimum rate of the

new range, and may be increased

further in accordance with Paragraph

(3) of this Rule.

If it is determined that a salary increase

is justified, with the exception of

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the salary

shall be established as follows: Salaries

within the range may remain the same;

or if funds arc available and where

appropriate, individual salary increases

may be cons idered, but not to exceed

#ve

—

percent—fef—eaeh

—

salary—grade

provided by the reallocation.

in accordance with the rules for New

(3)

lAl

Appointments

.0200). or

(See 25 NCAC ID

(B) up to five percent for each grade

provided by the reallocation, if

reallocated to a position within the

same classification series or

occupational group.

The amount of increase shall

determined consistent with

employee's related training

experience and the nature

be

the

and

and

magnitude of the change in jobs, and

take into consideration prior

performance increases, work unit

equity, and any other salary related

considerations. When establishing

salaries in accordance with the New
Appointment Rules (See 25 NCAC ID

.0200), the personnel action forms must

include the justification for the salary

decision.

(b) However,—if If an employee has been

reduced to a lower salary grade through demotion,

reassignment, reallocation or salary range revision,

but without a corresponding reduction in salary,

and within 12 months of the reduction the

employee is reallocated:

(1) The employee shall not be entitled to a

reallocation increase unless the

reallocation js to a grade higher than
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the grade held prior to the reduction.

(2) If reallocated to a higher grade, the

number of grades in the original

reduction shall be considered to have

been compensated and shall not be

considered in setting the salary pursuant

to ^rt (a)(3)(B) of this Rule.

and the employee's position ia later assigned to a

higher grade as a result of reallocation, the number

of grade s—ifl—the

—

original—reduction—shall—be

considered to have been compensated and shall not

be considered in Paragraph (a) of this Rule salary

setting procedure. (Example: If an employee is

demoted with no change in salary and reallocated

back to the same level, the salary shall remain

unchanged and treated as if the demotion had not

occurred; or if reallocated back to a level higher

than before the demotion, the difference in the

grade before the demotion and the new higher

grade will be the basis for determining the

reallocation increase.) Agency management is

responsible for assuring that inequities are not

created.

(c) If the reduction in grade occurred as much as

34

—

months—previou s ly.—th«

—

agency—me^—gwe
considemtion to granting a salary increase within

the

—

provisions of this—policy. Factors to—be

considered are the nature of the change in duties

and responsibilities and the need to maintain equity

of salaries within the work unit.

(c) fd) Only with the prior approval of the State

Personnel Director and in extreme circumstances

relating to critical positions and well-documented

labor market conditions will salary increases be

considered which equate to more than five percent

for each grade provided by the reallocation.

Personnel forms must include the justification.

(d) (e) If the employee is to receive a

performance salary increase on the same day as the

reallocation, the performance increase shall be

given before a reallocation increase is considered.

(e) ff) When an employee's position is assigned

to a lower grade, one of the following options will

be implemented;

(1) When reduction in level of the position

results from management's removal of

duties and responsibilities from the

employee because of change in

demonstrated motivation, capability,

acceptance of responsibility, or lack of

performance, the effect is the same as a

demotion and the salary must be

reduced at least to the maximum as

required by the policy on demotion.

(2) When reduction in level of the position

results from position redesign because

of management decisions on program

changes, reorganization, or other

management needs not associated with

the employee's demonstrated
motivation, capability, acceptance of

responsibility or lack of performance,

the salary of the employee may remain

above the new maximum as long as the

employee remains in the same

classification or is promoted to a higher

level position. No further increases,

other than legislative increases, may be

granted as long as the salary remains

above the maximum.

(3) When reduction in level of the position

results from a change in the labor

market or some other reason not related

to change in the duties and

responsibilities of the position, though

the position must be reallocated to the

approved classification and grade,

management may elect to maintain the

employee's current classification and

grade by working the employee against

the lower level position, so long as the

employee continues to occupy the same

position or is in the same classification.

(4) Once the position is vacated, it shall be

filled at the lower level.

(f) fg) It is a management responsibility to avoid

creation of salary inequities among employees.

Each case must be evaluated to determine which of

the salary administration alternatives is most

appropriate, based on the circumstances as

documented to the Office of State Personnel, on

appropriate forms, by the employing agency.

(g) ih) When an employee's position is assigned

to the same grade level, the employee's salary

shall remain unchanged.

Statutory Authority G. S. 126-4.

SECTION .1900 - HOURS OF WORK AND
OVERTIME COMPENSATION

. 1 928 COMPENSATION
(a) The employee is to receive straight-time pay

for a standard 40-hour workweek, with the

provision that an additional amount equal to time

and one-half the employee's regular hourly rate

multiplied by the number of hours worked in

excess of 40 will be added to the base pay. Such

payment must be made in form of monetary

compensation or compensable time off. It is the

1477 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

policy of the State of North Carolina, whenever

possible, to give compensatory time off, in lieu of

monetary compensation for hours worked in excess

of 40 hours per work week. The decision as to

whether to give compensatory time off, rather than

monetary compensation, for overtime worked is

solely within the discretion of management.

Compensatory time off shall be scheduled by

management, although reasonable effort should be

made to accommodate the employee as to such

scheduling.

(b) An employee shall be given compensatory

time off on the basis of one and one-half times the

amount of time worked beyond 40 hours during a

week; but such time off must be taken within 30

days from the date the overtime is performed or by

the end of the following p^i"

—

period calendar

month , whichever is longer. If compensatory time

off is not given by the end of the pay period

calendar month following the 30-day period, the

overtime pay must be included in the employee's

next regular paycheck. Overtime worked shall be

recorded and compensated in units of one-tenth of

an hour.

Note: The preceding provisions are not applicable

to persons in law enforcement or fire protection

activities and in-residence employees.

(c) Prior to employment, each successful

candidate for state employment in a position

subject to hours of work and overtime pay

standards must sign a form acknowledging that it

has been explained to him that it is the the state's

policy to give time off in lieu of monetary

compensation, wherever possible, for hours

worked beyond 40 in a work week. Agreement to

this is a condition of employment with the state;

failure or refusal to sign such agreement will

prevent employment of that person. This signed

form shall be a part of the employee's personnel

file; it must be kept for at least three years

following that person's separation from state

employment.

(d) Upon termination of employment, an

employee shall be paid for unused compensatory

time off at a rate of compensation not less than

either the average regular rate received by such

employee during the last three years of the

employee's employment or the final regular rate

received by such employee, whichever is higher.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4.

SUBCHAPTER IH - RECRUITMENT AND
SELECTION

SECTION .0600 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0624 DISMISSAL
Dismissal on the basis of knowingly and willfully

providing false information on a state employment

application, or knowingly and willfully concealing

a dishonorable military discharge shall be

accomplished in accordance with the State

Personnel Commission's procedures on discipline

and dismissal. Providing false information on an

employment application or concealing information

shall be considered personal conduct for the

purposes of implementing the dismissal procedure,

except that two weeks' pay in lieu of notice may

be given upon the recommendation of the agency

and the approval of the Office of State Personnel.

Only employees who are permanent career , as that

term is defined in G.S. 126 39 126-1A , are

entitled to the procedures for dismissal set out in

the State Personnel Commission's rules on

dismissal. (Reference: 25 NCAC IJ .0600,

DISCIPLINARY ACTION: SUSPENSION AND
DISMISSAL, see .0608. DISMISSAL: CAUSES

RELATING TO PERSONAL CONDUCT.)

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-4; 126-30;

126-39.

.0625 PROMOTIONAL PRIORITY
CONSIDERATION FOR CURRENT
EMPLOYEES

(a) A promotional priority consideration shall be

provided by all agencies to all current state

employees who have achieved permanont career

status, as that term is defined in G.S. 126 39 126-

iA-
(b) The priority consideration which is to be

given a state employee who applies for a position

which represents a promotion for that employee

and who otherwise meets the criteria set out in

G.S. 126-7.1 is that he shall be offered the

position in question.

(c) "Substantially equal qualifications" occur

when the employer cannot make a reasonable

determination that the job-related qualifications

held by one person are significantly better suited

for the position than the job-related qualifications

held by another person.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-4; 126-7.1.

.0628 RESOLUTION OF CONFLICT
BETWEEN EMPLOYMENT
PRIORITIES

In the event that the applicant group includes
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both a qualified non-state employee veteran and a

qualified current state employee with permanent

career status as defined by G.S. 126 39 126-lA,

who is seeking a promotional opportunity, the

current state employee shall be oflFered the position

if the appointing authority determines, consistent

with the promotional priority policy, that the

qualifications of the veteran and the current state

employee are substantially equal. The same

priority over any non-state employee applicant

shall apply to state employees separated from

policy making exempt positions for reasons other

than cause, state employees notified or separated

by reduction in force and on active priority

reemployment status, and employees returning to

state employment following a disability due to on

the job injury.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-4; 126-7.1;

126-39.

SUBCHAPTER IJ - EMPLOYEE
RELATIONS

SECTION .0600 - DISCIPLINARY ACTION:
SUSPENSION AND DISMISSAL

.0603 APPEALS
(a) A permanent career employee who has been

demoted, suspended or dismissed shall have 15

calendar days from the date of his receipt of

written notice of such action to file an appeal with

his department/university grievance procedure.

Grievances which do not allege discrimination

must follow the department or university grievance

procedure. An appeal of a final departmental or

university decision must be filed in accordance

with G.S. 150B-23 and within 30 calendar days of

receipt of the final agency decision.

(b) Grievances which allege discrimination may,

at the election of the employee, proceed through

the department or university procedure or proceed

directly to the State Personnel Commission (SPC)

for a hearing by the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH) and a decision by the SPC. A
direct appeal to the SPC (such appeal involving a

contested case hearing by the OAH and a

recommended decision by that agency to the SPC)

alleging discrimination must be filed in accordance

with G.S. 150B-23 and must be filed within 30

calendar days of receipt of notice of the alleged

discriminatory act.

(c) Grievances filed on an untimely basis (see

G.S. 126-35, G.S. 126-36 and G.S. 126-38) must

be dismissed. Allegations of discrimination raised

more than 30 calendar days after receipt of notice

of the occurrence of the alleged discriminatory act

must be dismissed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-35; 126-36;

126-38; 150B, Article 3; 150B-23.

.0604 CAUSES
(a) Any employee, regardless of occupation,

position or profession may be warned, demoted,

suspended or dismissed by the appointing

authority. Such actions may be taken against

permanent career employees as defined at G.S.

126 39 126-lA , only for just cause. The degree

and type of action taken shall be based upon the

sound and considered judgment of the appointing

authority in accordance with the provisions of this

Rule.

(b) There are two bases for the discipline or

dismissal of employees under the statutory

standard of "just cause" as set out in G.S. 126-35.

These two bases are:

(1) Discipline or dismissal imposed on the

basis of unacceptable job performance;

(2) Discipline or dismissal imposed on the

basis of unacceptable personal conduct.

(c) The term "unacceptable job performance"

means the failure to satisfactorily perform job

requirements as specified in the job description,

work plan, or as directed by management of the

work unit or agency. Satisfactory performance is

that performance which is reasonable under all the

circumstances. Determination of satisfectory

performance shall be made by the supervisor; there

is a presumption that the determination is proper

and factually supported.

(d) The term "unacceptable personal conduct" is

defined as:

(1) conduct for which no reasonable person

should expect to receive prior

warnings;

(2) job-related conduct which constitutes a

violation of state or federal laws;

(3) conviction of a felony or an off^ense

involving moral turpitude;

(4) the willful violation of known or

written work rules: or

(5) conduct unbecoming a state employee

that is detrimental to state service.

(e) Either unacceptable job performance or

unacceptable personal conduct constitutes just

cause for discipline or dismissal. The categories

are not mutually exclusive, as certain actions by

employees may fall into both categories, depending

upon the facts of each case.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-35.

.0608 DISMISSAL: CAUSES RELATING TO
PERSONAL CONDUCT

(a) Employees may be dismissed, demoted,

suspended or warned on the basis of unacceptable

personal conduct. Discipline may be imposed, as

a result of unacceptable conduct, up to and includ-

ing dismissal without any prior warning to the

employee. Oral or written warnings given for

unacceptable personal conduct according to this

Rule cannot be used to shorten the progressive

warning process required to dismiss an employee

on the basis of unsatisfectory job performance.

(b) Disciplinary demotions, suspensions or

dismissals for personal conduct require written

notification to the employee. Such notification

must include specific reasons for the discipline and

notice of the employee's right of appeal.

(c) Prior to dismissal of a permanent career

employee on the basis of personal conduct, there

shall be a pre-dismissal conference between the

employee and the person recommending dismissal.

This conference shall be held in accordance with

the provision of 25 NCAC IJ .0606 (2), (3).

Note: Failure to give specific written reasons for

the dismissal shall cause the dismissal to be legally

ineffective, and may require backpay and

attorney's fees to be paid to the employee. Time

limits for filing a grievance do not start until the

employee receives written notice of his/her appeal

rights.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-1A; 126-4; 126-35.

TITLE 26 - OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

JSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Office of Administrative Hear-

ings intends to amend rule cited as 26 NCAC 3

.0007; and adopt rules cited as 26 NCAC 3 .0201

- .0208.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1994.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on December 2, 1993 at the Lee House,

Hearing Room itl , 422 North Blount Street, Ra-

leigh, N.C 27601.

MXeason for Proposed Action: Ratification of HB
657 (OAH Mediation Program) by the 1993 Ses-

sion of the North Carolina General Assembly.

(comment Procedures: Comments may be submit-

ted in writing or in person at the public hearing or

in writing prior to December 2, 1993 to Elaine R.

Steinbeck, APA Coordinator, P. O. Drawer 27447,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7447.

CHAPTER 3 - HEARINGS DIVISION

.0007 SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE
(a) A settlement conference is for the primary

purpose of assisting the parties in resolving dis-

putes and for the secondary purpose of narrowing

the issues and preparing for hearing.

(b) Upon A settlement conference shall be held

at the request of any party, er the administrative

law judge, or the chief administrative law judge

Chief Administrative Law Judge. Upon receipt of

the request, the Chief Administrative Law Judge

shall assign the case to another administrative law

judge for the purpose of conducting a settlement

conference. Unless both parties and the adminis-

trative law judge agree, a unilateral request for a

settlement conference will not constitute good

cause for a continuance. The conference shall be

conducted at a time and place agreeable to all

parties and the administrative law judge. It shall

be conducted by telephone if any party would be

required to travel more than 50 miles to attend,

unless that party agrees to travel to the location set

for the conference. If a telephone conference is

scheduled, the parties must be available by tele-

phone at the time of the conference.

(c) All parties shall attend or be represented at

a settlement conference. Parties or their represen-

tatives shall be prepared to participate in settlement

discussions.

(d) The parties shall discuss the possibility of

settlement before a settlement conference if they

believe that a reasonable basis for settlement

exists.

(e) At the settlement conference, the parties

shall be prepared to provide information and to

discuss all matters required in Rule .0004 of this

Chapter.

(f) If, following a settlement conference, a

settlement has not been reached but the parties

have reached an agreement on any facts or other

issues, the administrative law judge presiding over

the settlement conference shall issue an order
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confirming and approving, if necessary, those

matters agreed upon. The order is binding on the

administrative law judge who is assigned to hear

the case.

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-3](b).

SECTION .0200 - MEDIATION
SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE

.0201 ORDER FOR MEDIATED
SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE

(a) Order by Chief Administrative Law Judge.

The Chief Administrative Law Judge may, by

written order, require parties and their representa-

tives to attend a pre-hearing mediated settlement

conference in any contested case.

(b) Timing of the Order. The Chief Administra-

tive Law Judge may issue the order within 10 days

of the filing of the contested case petition. Para-

graph (c) of this Rule and Paragraph (b) of Rule

.0203 of this Section shall govern the content of

the order and the date of completion of the confer-

ence.

(c) Content of Order. The Chief Administrative

Law Judge's order shall:

(1) require the mediated settlement confer-

ence be held in the contested case;

(2) establish a deadline for the completion

of the conference;

(3) state clearly that the parties have the

right to select their own mediator as

provided in Rule .0202 of this Section;

(4) state the rate of compensation of the

mediator appointed by the Chief Ad-

ministrative Law Judge in the event that

the parties do not exercise their right to

select a mediator pursuant to Rule

.0202 of this Section; and

(5) state that the parties shall be required to

pay the mediator's fee at the conclusion

of the settlement conference unless

otherwise apportioned by the presiding

Administrative Law Judge.

(d) Motion to Dispense with Mediated Settle-

ment Conference. A party may move the presid-

ing Administrative Law Judge, within 10 days

after the date of the Chief Administrative Law
Judge's order, to dispense with the conference.

Such motion shall state the reasons the relief is

sought. For good cause shown, the presiding

Administrative Law Judge may grant the motion.

(e) Motion for Mediated Settlement Conference.

In contested cases not ordered to mediated settle-

ment conference, any party may move the presid-

ing Administrative Law Judge to order such a

conference. Such motion shall state the reasons

why the order should be allowed and shall be

served on non-moving parties. Objections may be

filed in writing with the presiding Administrative

Law Judge within 10 days after the date of the

service of the motion. Thereafter, the presiding

Administrative Law Judge shall rule upon the

motion without a hearing and notify the parties or

their attorneys of the ruling.

Statutory Authority G.S I50B-23.1.

.0202 SELECTION OF MEDIATOR
(a) Selection of Certified Mediator by Agree-

ment of Parties. The parties may select a certified

mediator by agreement within 21 days of the Chief

Administrative Law Judge's order. The

petitioner's attorney shall file with the Office of

Administrative Hearings a Notice of Selection of

Mediator by Agreement within 21 days of the

Chief Administrative Law Judge's order. Such

notice shall include: the name, address and

telephone number of the mediator selected; the rate

of compensation of the mediator; the agreement of

the parties as to the selection of the mediator and

rate of compensation; and whether or not the

mediator is certified.

(b) Nomination and the Office of Administrative

Hearings Approval of a Non-Certified Mediator.

The parties may select a mediator who is not

certified but who, in the opinion of the parties and

the presiding Administrative Law Judge, is

otherwise qualified by training or experience to

mediate all or some of the issues in the action and

who agrees to mediate indigent cases without pay.

If the parties select a non-certified mediator, the

petitioner's attorney shall file with the presiding

Administrative Law Judge a Nomination of

Non-Certified Mediator within 21 days of the

Chief Administrative Law Judge's order. Such

nomination shall include: the name, address and

telephone number of the mediator; the training,

experience or other qualifications of the mediator;

the rate of compensation of the mediator; and the

agreement of the parties as to the selection of the

mediator and rate of compensation. TTie presiding

Administrative Law Judge shall rule on the

nomination without a hearing, shall approve or

disapprove of the parties' nomination and shall

notify the parties of the presiding Administrative

Law Judge's decision.

(c) Appointment of Mediator by the presiding

Administrative Law Judge. If the parties cannot

agree upon the selection of a mediator, the
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petitioner's attorney shall so notify the presiding

Administrative Law Judge and request, on behalf

of all parties, that the presiding Administrative

Law Judge appoint a mediator. The motion must

be filed within 21 days of the date of the Chief

Administrative Law Judge's order and shall state

that the attorneys for the parties have had a full

and frank discussion concerning the selection of a

mediator and have been unable to agree. Upon

receipt of a motion to appoint a mediator, or in the

event the petitioner's attorney has not filed a

Notice of Selection or Nomination of

Non-Certified Mediator with the presiding

Administrative Law Judge within 21 days of the

Chief Administrative Law Judge's order, the

presiding Administrative Law Judge shall appoint

a certified mediator. Only mediators who agree to

mediate indigent cases without pay shall be

appointed.

(d) Mediator Information Directory. To assist

the parties in the selection of a mediator by

agreement, the Oflice of Administrative Hearings

shall prepare and keep current a list of certified

mediators who wish to mediate contested cases.

The list shall be kept in the Office of

Administrative Hearings and made available to the

parties upon request.

(e) Disqualification of Mediator. Any party

may move for an order disqualifying the mediator.

For good cause, such order shall be entered. If

the mediator is disqualified, a replacement

mediator shall be selected by the parties or

appointed by the presiding Administrative Law

Judge pursuant to this Rule. Nothing m this

Paragraph shall preclude mediators from

disqualifying themselves.

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-23.1.

.0203 MEDIATION SETTLEMENT
CONFERENCE

(a) Where Conference is to be Held. Unless all

parties and the mediator otherwise agree, the

mediated settlement conference shall be held in the

courthouse or other public building m the county

where the contested case is pending. The

mediator shall be responsible for reserving a place

and making arrangements for the conference and

for giving timely notice to all attorneys and

unrepresented parties of the time and location of

the conference.

(b) When Conference is to be Held. The Chief

Administrative Law Judge's order issued pursuant

to Paragraph (b) of Rule .0201 of this Section shall

clearly state a date of completion for the

conference. Such date shall not be less than 90

days or more than 120 days after the issuance of

the Chief Administrative Law Judge's order. The

Chief Administrative Law Judge may shorten these

time limits in order to meet statutorily imposed

deadlines for the hearing of certain types of

contested cases.

(c) Request to Extend Date of Completion. A
party, or the mediator, may request the presiding

Administrative Law Judge to extend the deadline

for completion of the conference. Such request

shall state the reasons the continuance is sought

and shall be served by the moving party upon the

other parties and the mediator. The presiding

Administrative Law Judge may grant the request

and enter an order setting a new date for the

completion of the conference, which date may be

set at any time prior to hearing. Such order shall

be served upon the parties and the mediator.

(d) Recesses. The mediator may recess the

conference at any time and may set times for

reconvening. No further notification is required

for persons present at the recessed conference.

(e) The Mediated Settlement Conference Is Not

To Delay Other Proceedings. The mediated

settlement conference shall not be cause for the

delay of other proceedings in the contested case,

including the completion of discovery, the filing or

hearing of motions, or the hearing of the contested

case, except by order of the presiding

Administrative Law Judge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-23.1.

.0204 DUTIES OF PARTIES,
REPRESENTATIVES, AND
ATTORNEYS

(a) Attendance. The following persons shall

physically attend a mediated settlement conference:

(1) All individual parties; or an officer,

director or employee having authority

to settle the claim for a corporate party;

or in the case of a governmental

agency, a representative of that agency

with full authority to negotiate on

behalf of the agency and to recommend

settlement to the appropriate decision

making body of the agency; and

The party's counsel of record, if any;

and

For any insured party against whom a

claim is made, a representative of the

insurance carrier who is not such

carrier's outside counsel and who has

fiill authority to settle the claim.

£2J

£3}
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(h) Finalizing Agreement. Upon reaching

agreement, the parties shall reduce the agreement

to writing and sign it along with their counsel. By

stipulation of the parties and at their expense, the

agreement may be electronically or

stenographically recorded. A consent judgment,

voluntary dismissal, or withdrawal of petition shall

be filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings

by such persons as the parties shall designate.

(c) Payment of Mediator's Fee. The parties

shall pay the mediator's fee as provided by Rule

0207 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1508-23.1.

.0205 SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE TO
ATTEND

If a person fails to attend a duly ordered

mediated settlement conference without good

cause, the presiding Administrative Law Judge

may impose upon the party or his principal any

lawful sanction authorized by G.S. 150B-33(b)(8)

or (10).

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-23.1.

.0206 AUTHORITl AND DUTIES OF
MEDIATORS

(a) Authority of Mediator.

(1) Control of Conference. The mediator

shall at aU times be in control of the

conference and the procedures to be

followed.

(2) Private Consultation. The mediator

may meet and consult privately with

any party or parties or their counsel

during the conference.

(3) Scheduling the Conference. The

mediator shall make a good faith effort

to schedule the conference at a time

that is convenient with the parties,

attorneys and mediator. In the absence

of agreement, the mediator shall select

the date for the conference.

(b) Duties of Mediator.

(1) The mediator shall define and describe

the following to the parties at the

beginning of the conference:

(A) The process of mediation;

(B) TTie differences between mediation

and other forms of conflict resolution;

(C) The costs of the mediated settlement

conference;

(D) The facts that the mediated settlement

conference is not a hearing, the

IE)

IE)

im

m

mediator is not a judge, and the par-

ties retain their right to a hearing if

they do not reach settlement;

The circumstances under which the

mediator may meet alone with either

of the parties or with any other per-

son;

Whether and under what conditions

communications with the mediator

;onfidence during thewill be held in

conference;

The inadmissibility of conduct and

statements as provided by Rule 408 of

the North Carolina Rules of Evidence;

The duties and responsibilities of the

mediator and the parties; and

The fact that any agreement reached

will be reached by mutual consent of

the parties.

(2) Disclosure. The mediator has a duty to

be impartial and to advise all parties of

any circumstances bearing on possible

bias, prejudice or partiality.

(3) Declaring Impasse. It is the duty of the

mediator to timely determine when

mediation is not viable, that an impasse

exists, or that mediation should end.

(4) Reporting Results of Conference. The

mediator shall file a written report with

the parties and presiding Administrative

Law Judge as to whether or not agree-

ment was reached by the parties. If a

full agreement was reached, the report

shall state whether the action will be

concluded by consent judgment, volun-

tary dismissal, or withdrawal of petition

and shall identify the persons designat-

ed to file such pleadings. If a full

agreement is not reached, the report

shall state the nature of any partial

agreement and set out the terms of

those matters agreed upon. A copy of

the Mediator's report shall also be

provided to the Attorney General of

North Carolina or hjs designee respon-

sible for evaluating the mediation pro-

gram pursuant to the 1993 N.C. Session

Laws, c^ 363. s^ 2^

(5) Scheduling and Holding the Confer-

ence. It is the duty of the mediator to

schedule the conference and conduct it

prior to the conference completion

deadline set out in the Chief Adminis-

trative Law Judge's order. Deadlines

for completion of the conference shall

1483 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

be strictly observed by the mediator

unless said time limit is changed by a

written order of the presiding Adminis-

trative Law Judge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1508-23.1.

.0207 COMPENSATION OF THE
MEDIATOR

(a) By Agreement. When the mediator is

stipulated to by the parties, compensation shall be

as agreed upon between the parties and the media-

tor.

(b) By Order. When the mediator is appointed

by the Office of Administrative Hearings, the

mediator shall be compensated by the parties at the

uniform hourly rate set by the Chief Administra-

tive Law Judge.

(c) Indigent Cases. No party found to be

indigent by the presiding Administrative Law

Judge for the purposes of these Rules shall be

required to pay a mediator appointed or selected

pursuant to these Rules. Any mediator conducting

a settlement conference pursuant to these Rules

shall waive the payment of fees from parties found

by the presiding Administrative Law Judge to be

indigent. Any party may move the presiding

Administrative Law Judge for a finding of indi-

gence and to be relieved of the obligation to pay

that party's share of the mediator's compensation.

Such motion shall be heard subsequent to the

completion of the conference or. if the parties do

not settle their contested case, subsequent to the

conclusion of tlie contested case hearing but prior

to the issuance of the Administrative Law Judge's

recommended or final decision. The presiding

Administrative Law Judge may take into consider-

ation the outcome of the contested case. The

presiding Administrative Law Judge shall enter an

order granting or denying a party's request.

(d) Payment of Compensation by Parties.

Unless otherwise agreed to by tlie parties or

ordered by the presiding Administrative Law
Judge, costs of the mediated settlement conference

shall be paid: one share by tlie petitioner, one

share by the respondent and an equal share by any

intervenor. Parties obligated to gay a share of the

costs shall pay them equally. Payment shall be

due upon completion of the conference.

Statutory Authority G.S 150B-23.1.

.0208 MEDIATOR
For purposes of this Section the term "certified

mediator" shall mean a person who is currently

certified as a mediator by the Administrative

Office of the Courts pursuant to Rule 8 of the

North Carolina Supreme Court's Rules of Mediat-

ed Settlement Conferences. 329 N.C. 795. effec-

tive December 1. 1993 and as may be subsequent-

ly amended.

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-23.1.
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RRC OBJECTIONS

1 he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G.S.

143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. 143B-30.2(d).

ADMINISTRATION

Department of Administration's Minimum Criteria

1 NCAC 39 .0101 - Purpose

No Response from Agency

Agency Responded

Agency Rex'ised Rule

1 NCAC 39 .0301 - Kxceptions to Minimum Criteria

No Response from Agency

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

AGRICULTURE

North Carolina State Fair

2 NCAC 20B .0102 - Traffic Regulations

Agency Revised Rule

2 NCAC 20B .0106- General

2 NCAC 20B .0204 - Forfeiture

Agency Rexised Rule

Plant Industry

2 NCAC 48C .0023 - Analysis for Farmers or Seedmen

Agency Revised Rule

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7H .2002 - Approval Procedures

ISA NCAC 7H .2004 - General Conditions

Environmental Management

ISA NCAC 2H .0610 - Permit Requirements for Toxic Air Pollutants

Agency Rex'ised Rule

ISA NCAC 2H .1110 - Implementation

Agency Responded

Agency Responded

Agency Responded

Agency Responded

No Response from Agency

Agency Responded

ISA NCAC 2L .0103 - Policy

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Cont'd

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

06/17/93

07/1S/93

08/20/93

09/17/93

06/17/93

07/1S/93

08/20/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 02/18/93

Obj. Cont'd 03/18/93

Obj. Cont'd OS/1 9/93

Obj. Cont'd 06/17/93

Obj. Cont'd 07/1S/93

Obj. Cont'd 08/20/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93
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Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2L .0104 - RS Designation

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2L .0113 - Variance

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2L . 0201 - Ground\mter Classifications

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

Health: Epidemiology

15A NCAC 19B .0301 - Application for Initial Permit

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 19B .0304 - Conditions for Renewal of Permit

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 19B .0309 - Qualification of Maintenance Personnel

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

Health: Personal Health

ISA NCAC 21D .OSOl - Allowable Foods

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 21D . 1204 - Client Eligibility

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 21D . 1207 - Payment for Reimbursable Services

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

humtvn resources

Children's Services

10 NCAC 41R .0002 - Administration and Organization

Agency Responded

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

RRC Objection 07/1S/93

Obj. Cont'd 08/20/93

Obj. Cont'd 09/17/93

Eff. 10/01/93

Medical Assistance

W NCAC 26B .0112 - North Carolina Specialty Hospital Services

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Foresters

21 NCAC 20 .0020 - Certification of Consulting Foresters

21 NCAC 20 .0021 - Rejection of Consultant Affidavit

21 NCAC 20 .0022 - Handling of Complaints

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Landscape Architects

21 NCAC 26 .020S - Forms of Practice

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

21 NCAC 26 .0207 - Application of Professional Seal

Rule Returned to Agency

RRC Objection 06/17/93

07/15/93

Eff. 08/01/93

RRC Objection 06/17/93

07/1S/93
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Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

21 NCAC 26 .0208 - Improper Conduct

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule for Codification Over RRC Objection

Social Work

21 NCAC 63 .0210 - Provisional Certificates

Agency Revised Rule

Agency Revised Rule

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary Education

16 NCAC 6C .0312 - Certificate Suspension and Revocation

Agency Revised Rule

REVENUE

Eff. 08/01/93

RRC Objection 06/1 7/93

07/15/93

Eff. 08/01/93

RRC Objection 08/20/93

RRC Objection 08/20/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

Departmental Rules

1 7 NCAC 1 C . 0502 - Method of Payment

Agency Revised Rule

1 7 NCAC 1 C . 0503 - EFT Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

Sales and Use Tax

1 7 NCAC 7B . 1907 - Scrap Tire Disposal Tax

Agency Revised Rule

TRANSPORTATION

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

Division of Highways

19A NCAC 2B .0162 - Delegation to Manager of Program and Policy

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2B .0164- Use of Right of Wby Consultants

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 23 .0208 - Uniform Traffic Control Devices

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2B .0225 - Blue Star Memorial Highway Signs

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2B .0602 - Obtaining a Driveway Construction Permit

Agency Withdrew Rule

19A NCAC 2D .0801 - Pre-Qualifying to Bid: Requalification

19A NCAC 2D .0802 - Invitation to Bid

19A NCAC 2D .0803 - Advertisement and Invitations for Bids

19A NCAC 2D .0815 - Rejection of Bids

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2D .0821 - Return of Bid Bond or Bid Deposit

19A NCAC 2D .0825 - Confidentiality of Cost Estimates and Bidding Lists

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2E .0217 - Specific Information Program Definitions

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/1 7/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/1 7/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93

Obj. Removed 09/17/93

RRC Objection 09/17/93
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)

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2E .0220 - Composition of Signs

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC 2E .0222 - Contracts with the Department

Agency Revised Rule

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

09/17/93

"^

I
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RITES INVALIDATED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register /Lvte the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court.

Court of Appeals, Superior Court (when available), and the Office of Administrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

1 NCAC 5A .0010 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
Thomas R. West. Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared two portions

of Rule 1 NCAC 5A .0010 void as applied in Stauffer Information Systems, Petitioner v. The North Carolina

Department of Community Colleges and The North Carolina Department of Administration , Respondent and

The University of Southern California, Intervenor-Resporjdent (92 DOA 0666).

10 NCAC 3H .0315(b) - NURSING HOME PATIENT OR RESIDENT RIGHTS
Dolores O. Nesnow. Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 10

NCAC 3H .0315(13) void as applied in Barbara Jones, Petitioner v. North Carolina Department of Human
Resources, Division of Facility Services, Licensure Section, Respondent (92 DHR 1192).

10 NCAC 3R .1124(f) - ACCESSIBILITY' TO SERVICES
Beecher R. Gray. Administrati\e Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 10

NCAC 3R .1124(f) void as applied in Britthaven, Inc. d/h/a Britthaven of Morganton. Petitioner v. N.C.

Department of Human Resources, Division of Facility Services, Certificate of Need Section, Respondent and

Valdese Nursing Home, Inc., Respondent-Intervenor (92 DHR 1785).

15A NCAC 30 .0201(a)(1)(A) - STDS FOR SHELLFISH BOTTOM & WATER COLUTVIN LEASES
Julian Mann IIL Chief Administrative Law Judge v.ith the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule

15A NCAC 30 .0201(a)(1)(A) void as applied in William R. Willis. Petitioner v. North Carolina Division of

Marine Fisheries. Respondent (92 EHR 0820).

15A NCAC 19A .0202(d)(10) - CONTROL MEASURES - HIV
Brenda B. Becton. Administrative Lav.' Judge with the Office of Administratise Hearings, declared Rule 15A

NCAC 19A .0202(d)( 10) \oid as applied in ACT-UP TRIANGLE (.AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power Triangle).

Ste\-en Harris, and John Doe, Petitioners v. Commission for Health Services of the State of North Carolina,

Ron Levine, as Assistant Secretary of Health and State Health Director for the Department of Environment.

Health, and Natural Resources of the State of North Carolina. William Cohey. as Secretary of the Department

of Emironment. Health, and Natural Resources of the State of North Carolina. Dr. Rebecca Meriwether, as

Chief Communicable Disease Control Section of the North Carolina Department of Environment. Health, and

Natural Resources, Wjyne Bobbitt Jr. , as Chief of the HIV/^TD Control Branch of the .Worth Carolina

Department of Emironment, Health, and Natural Resources, Respondents (91 EHR 0818).

1489 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

y
1 his Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions

along with an index to all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina 's

Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the decisions listed in the index and not published are available

upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.

AGENCY
CASE

NUMBER ALJ
DATE OF
DECISION

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

ADMINISTRATION

LMS Express, Inc. v. Administration, Div of Purchase & Contract 92 DOA 0735

Stauffcr Information Systems v. Community Colleges & Administration 92 DOA 0803

McLaurin lurking Co. v. Administration 92 DOA 1662

Warren H. Arrington Jr. v. Division of Purchase & Contract 93 DOA 0132

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

Morgan 06/04/93

West 06/10/93

Morrison 04/02/93

West 07/21/93

\:1 NCR 613

;;3 NCR 320

^

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Ann Oldham McDowell

Curtis Ray Lynch v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Ezra Everett Rigshee

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Partnership. Phillip Owen Edward

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Gary Morgan Neugent

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Azzat Aly Amer

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Kirty Ronald Eldri<%e

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Gloria Black McDuffie

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Larry Isacc Hailstock

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Anthony Ralph Cccchini Jr.

Johnnie L. Baker v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

RAMSAC Enterprises, Inc. v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Aubrey Rudolph Wallace

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mermaid, Inc.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Majdi Khalid Wahdan

Cornelius Hines T/A Eborry Lounge v. Alcoholic Beverage Ctl. Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Homer I^trick Godwin Jr.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Wanda Lou Ball

Charles Anthonious Morant v. Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Billy Fincher McSwain Jr.

Jean Hoggard Askew v. Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Commission

ABC Comm. v. Rarlnership/T/A Corrolhers Comty Clr & Private Club

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. James Elvwod Alphin

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. James William Campbell

Barbara Locklearv. Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Commission

Zachary Andrt Jones v. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mack Ray Chapman

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Bistro Enterprises, Inc.

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Richaid Donald James Jr.

William Vernon Franklin & Gene Carroll Daniels v. ABC Commission

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Citizens Fuel Company

Alcoholic Beverage Conlrol Comm. v. Citizens Fuel Company

Alcoholic Beverage Control Comm. v. Mohammad Salim Pirini

Charles Edwanj Hare, Club Paradise v. Alcoholic Beverage Ctl. Comm.
Alcohlic Beverage Control Comm. v. Parlneiship l/a RJ's Store

Alcoholic Bev. Control Conma. v. Mild & Wild, Inc., Sheila Scholz

92 ABC 0260 Morgan 04/01/93

92 ABC 0288 Gray 05/18/93

92 ABC 0702 West 07/30/93

92 ABC 0978 Gray 05/28/93

92 ABC 1086 Beeton 03/22/93

92 ABC 1149 Reilly 09/01/93

92 ABC 1153 Chess 04/26/93

92 ABC 1476 West 05/26/93

92 ABC 1483 Reilly 04/07/93

92 ABC 1690 Morgan 06/29/93

92 ABC 1735 Chess 05/07/93

93 ABC 0002 Morrison 07/02/93

93 ABC 0047 Gray 05/28/93

93 ABC 0076 Gray 08/04/93

93 ABC 0087 Becton 07/06/93

93 ABC 0118 Morrison 08/04/93

93 ABC 0125 Reilly 05/13/93

93 ABC 0182 Nesnow 07/29/93

93 ABC 0232 Chess 07/20/93

93 ABC 0239 Gray 08/26/93

93 ABC 0255 West 09/10/93

93 ABC 0318 Reilly 07/22/93

93 ABC 0326 Gray 08/26/93

93 ABC 0327 Gray 08/09/93

93 ABC 0395 West 09/14/93

93 ABC 0421 West 09/13/93

93 ABC 0423 Gray 09/17/93

93 ABC 0430 Reilly 10/07/93

93 ABC 0431 Nesnow 09/01/93

93 ABC 0570 Reilly 09/17/93

93 ABC 0611 West 10/12/93

93 ABC 0613 West 10/11/93

93 ABC 0616 West 10/13/93

93 ABC 0644 Gray 08/10/93

93 ABC 0860 Mann 09/29/93

93 ABC 1475 Nesnow 03/23/93

8:9 NCR 785

COMMERCE

I

Lester Moore v. Wealherization Assistance Program

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

George W. P^lor v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.
Steven A. Bamer v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.
Anthony L. Hart v. Victims Compensation Comm.

93 COM 0105 Gray 03/08/93

91 CPS 1286 Morgan 04/27/93

92 CPS 0453 Nesnow 06/01/93

92 CPS 0937 Chess 03/01/93
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AGENCY

Jennifer Ayere v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Janie L. Howand v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Isabelle Hyman v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

James G. Pellom v. Crime Control <& Public Safety

Norman E. Brown v. Victims Compensation Commission

Moses H. Cone Mem Hosp v. Victims Compensation Comm.

Da\id & Jane Spano v. Crime Control & I^uhlic Safety

Phillip Edward Moort v. Crime Control & Public Safety

Norma Jean Purkctt v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Sheila Carter v. Crime Control and Public Safely

John Willie Leach v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Nellie R. Mangum v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Constance Brown v. Crime Victims Compensation Comm.

Susan Coy v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

92 CPS 1195 ReiUy 03/19/93

92CPS 1787 Reilly 03/26/93

92 CPS 1807 Morrison 05/24/93

93 CPS 0034 Gray 05/05/93

93 CPS 0141 West 07/07/93

93 CPS 0152 Nesnow 04/02/93

93 CPS 0160 Nesncrw 07/30/93

93 CPS 0169 Nesnoft' 05/20/93

93 CPS 0205 West 08/27/93

93 CPS 0249 Morgan 08/25/93

93 CPS 0263 Morrison 05/20/93

93 CPS 0303 Morrison 06/08/93

93 CPS 0351 Reilly 05/24/93

93 CPS 0623 Rcilly 09/22/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

f
8:3 NCR 327

8:10 NCR S62

8:12 NCR 1171

ENVIRONMENT. HEALTH. AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Charles L. Wilson v. Environment, Health, & Natural Resources

J. Bruce Mulligan v. Environment, Health, &. Nalrual Resources

Michael D. Barnes v. Onslow Cty Hlth & Environment and EHR
William E. Fmck v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

Utle>- C. Slallings v. Environment. Health, & Natural Resources

Dora Mae Blount on behalf of Joseph T. Midgette v. Hyde Cty

Bd/Commissi oners, H><ie Cty Bd/Health. & Environment.

Health, & Natural Resources

A.J. Ballard Jr. Tirc & Oil Co.. Inc. v. Env.. Health, &. Nat. Res.

Safeway Remcnal. Inc. v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Res.

White Oak Chapter of the Izaak Walton League, Inc., and

National Parks and Conservation Association. Inc. v.

Division o^ Solid Waste Management, EHR and Haywood County

Elizabeth City/I^quolank Cty Mun Airport Auth v. EHNR
Interstate Brands Corp & Donald Leffew v. Env.. Health, & Nat. Res.

Serv'ice Oil Company v. Environment. Health. & Natural Resources

Interstate Brands Corp &. Donald Leffew v. Env.. Health, &. Nat. Res.

Residents of Camm &. Shell v. Health Environmental - Septic Tank Div.

City of Salisbury v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Resources

Willie M. Watford v. Hertford Gates District Health Department

Standard Speciality Contractors, Inc. v. EHNR
Shawqi A. Jaber v. Environment. Health. &. Natural Resources

McLeod Leather & Belting Co., Inc. v. Env., Health. & Natural Res.

Angela Power. Albert Power v. Children's Special Health Svcs.

Rayco Utilities. Inc. v. Environment. Health, & Natural Resources

Ert^ Lamar Grainger v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

Mustafa E. Essa v. Environment, Health, Sl Natural Resourc~es

Charlie Garfield McPhetson Swine Farm v. Env,. Health, &. Nat. Res.

Rosetta Brimage, Vanessa f^ck v. Env. Health of Craven County

R.L. Stowe Mills, Inc. v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

O.C. Slaffond/Larry Hane>' v. Montgomery Cty. Health Dept.

Fred M. Grooms v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

Bobt^ Anderson v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

Shell Bros. Dist., Inc. v. Environment, Health. & Natural Resources

Fred C. Gosnell & wife. Patricia T. Gosnell v. Env.. Health, & Nat. Res.

Holding Bros., Inc. v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Resources

Hamilton Beach/Proctor-Silex. Inc. v. Environment, Health. &. Natrl Res

Blue Ridge Env. Defense League. Inc. v. Env.. Health, &. Natrl Res

9 1 EHR 0664 Morgan 03/23/93

9 1 EHR 0773 West 07/13/93

9 1 EHR 0825 Morgan 06/21/93

92 EHR 0040 Gray 06/14/93

92 EHR 0062 Gray 03/15/93

92 EHR 0400 Gray 10/15/93

92 EHR 0754 Nesnow 08/30/93

92 EHR 0826 West 03/12/93 8:1 NCR 83

92 EHR 0881 West 09/14/93

92 EHR 1140 Gray 04/13/93

92 EHR 1201*" Reilly 08/12/93

92 EHR 1205 Reilly 05/27/93

92 EHR 1224*" Reilly 08/12/93

92 EHR 1462 Morrison 08/25/93

92 EHR 1472 Morrison 04/22/93

92 EHR 1600 Chess 03/24/93

92 EHR 1660 Reilly 05/21/93

92 EHR 1784 Becton 07/07/93

93 EHR 0003 Morgan 10/11/93 8:15 NCR 1503

93 EHR 0008 Becton 03/24/93

93 EHR 0063 Morrison 09/17/93

93 EHR 0071 Reilly 06/21/93

93 EHR 0146 Gray 03/29/93

93 EHR 0181 Reilly 07/23/93 8:10 NCR 870

93 EHR 0206 Nesnow 05/20/93

93 EHR 0219 Morrison 08/11/93 8:11 NCR 996

93 EHR 0224 Gray 06/07/93

93 EHR 0276 West 08/27/93 8:12 NCR 1176

93 EHR 0299 Reilly 06/07/93

93 EHR 0308 Becton 05/18/93

93 EHR 0340 Bee ton 08/11/93

93 EHR 0380 Nesnow 08/03/93 8:11 NCR 1001

93 EHR 0477 Reilly 06/29/93

93 EHR 0862 Nesnow 10/11/93

#

iRHVLys ri^:lations commission

Human Relations Comm. on behalf of Tyrone Clark v. Myrtle Wilson

Human Relations Comm. on behalf of Marsha Crisco v. Hayden Morrison

92 HRC 0560 Becton 09/07/93 8:13 NCR 1287

93 HRC 0167 Reilly 08/18/93 8:12 NCR 1168

<
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

)

^

I

AGENCY

HUMAN RESOURCES

O.C. Williams V. Human Resources

Ronald Terry Brown v. Human Resources

Dennis K. King v. Human Resources

Cathy Harris, A/K/A Cathy D. Grubb v. Human Resources

Raymond L. Griffin v. Human Resources

O.C. Williams v. Human Resources

Michael L. Ray v. Human Resources

Randy Chambliss v. Human Resources

Melvin White v. Human Resources

Joseph R. Kavaliauskas Jr. v. Human Resources

Larry D. Bcyd v. Human Resources

Jefferson D. Bcylen v. Human Resources

Jeffery D. Williams v. Human Resources

Jerry L. Summers v. Human Resources

Samuel E. Massenbeig Jr. v. Human Resources

William A. Dixon v. Human Resources

Gregory L. Washington v. Human Resources

Edwin Clarke v. Human Resources

Dw^ne Allen v. Human Resources

Edwin Ivester v. Human Resources

Connie F. Epps, Otis Junior Epps v. Human Resources

Tyrone Aiken v. Human Resources

Everett M. Eaton v. Human Resources

Edward E. Brandon v. Human Resources

Darrell W Russell v. Human Resources

John Henry Byid v. Human Resources

Michelle D. Mobley v. Human Resources

Gus W. Long Jr. v. Human Resources

Robert E. Watson v. Human Resources

Byron Christopher Wdliams v. Human Resources

James W. Bell v. Human Resources

Charles W. Stall Jn v. Human Resources

Eric Stanley Stokes v. Human Resources

Clayton L. Littleton v. Human Resources

Frank E. Johnson v. Human Resources

David Rollins v. Human Resources

Willie Sam Brown v. Human Resources

Lyndell Greene v. Human Resources

Charles Swann v. Human Resources

Joe B. Reece v. Human Resources

Michael Anthor^ Dean v. Human Resources

Gregory W Alford v. Human Resources

Leroy Snuggs v. Human Resources

James R Miller III v. Human Resources

Herbert H. F^Mdham v. Human Resources

Jack Dulq v. Human Resources

Jesse B. Williams v. Human Resources

Larry L. Crowdcr v. Human Resources

Carlos Bernard Davis v. Human Resources

Ocie C. Williams v. Human Resources

Terrance Freeman v. Human Resources

Flcyd Excell Staffond v. Human Resources

Timothy Brian EUer v. Human Resources

Charles S. P^rrer v. Human Resources

Ronald H. Lockli^ v. Human Resources

Rene Tliomas Riltenhouse v. Human Resources

Thomas Edward Williamson v. Human Resources

Roy Chester Robinson v. Human Resources

Lynwood McClinton v. Human Resources

Timothy Scott Long v. Human Resources

David W Williams v. Human Resources

William E. Ingram v. Human Resources

Consolidated cases.

CASE
NUMBER ALJ

DATE OF
DECISION

91 CSE 0036*= Morgan 03/30/93

91 CSE 0249 Morgan 05/17/93

91 CSE 1122 Morgan 07/28/93

91 CSE 1131 Morgan 08/24/93

91 CSE 1148 Morgan 08/24/93

91 CSE 1158*= Moi^an 03/30/93

91 CSE 1173 Morgan 05/17/93

91 CSE 1187 Morgan 04/28/93

91 CSE 1192 Morgan 05/17/93

91 CSE 1204 Morgan 07/29/93

91 CSE 1214 Morgan 08/24/93

91 CSE 1217 Morgan 05/17/93

91 CSE 1231 Morgan 04/28/93

91 CSE 1234 Morgan 07/28/93

91 CSE 1249 Morgan 05/17/93

91 CSE 1277 Morrison 03/04/93

92 CSE 0075 Morgan 04/01/93

92 CSE 0129 Morgan 05/17/93

92 CSE 0196 Morgan 03/31/93

92 CSE 0268 Nesnow 03/30/93

92 CSE 1182 Reilly 07/22/93

92 CSE 1217 Gray 06/17/93

92 CSE 1221 Reilly 07/27/93

92 CSE 1237 Gray 04/16/93

92 CSE 1249 Becton 04/20/93

92 CSE 1250 Reilly 06/04/93

92 CSE 1256 Nesnow 04/15/93

92 CSE 1263 Gray 08/16/93

92 CSE 1265 Reilly 05/06/93

92 CSE 1270 Nesnow 04/26/93

92 CSE 1311 Nesnow 05/10/93

92 CSE 1313 Mann 07/06/93

92 CSE 13 IS*' Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1317 Morrison 09/02/93

92 CSE 1326 Reilly 08/16/93

92 CSE 1334 Morrison 05/06/93

92 CSE 1338 Morrison 09/15/93

92 CSE 1346 Nesnow 04/16/93

92 CSE 1347 West 09/16/93

92 CSE 1355 Mann 10/12/93

92 CSE 1356 Morrison 08/13/93

92 CSE 1358 Gray 10/18/93

92 CSE 1360 Morrison 04/15/93

92 CSE 1361 Gray 04/16/93

92 CSE 1362 Nesnow 07/19/93

92 CSE 1374 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1389 Nesnow 10/12/93

92 CSE 1396 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1404 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1405 Mann 06/25/93

92 CSE 1411 Mann 06/07/93

92 CSE 1412 Reilly 08/31/93

92 CSE 1414 Reilly 04/20/93

92 CSE 1416 Mann 04/15/93

92 CSE 1418 Nesnow 04/20/93

92 CSE 1421 Nesnow 04/20/93

92 CSE 1422 Reilly 04/20/93

92 CSE 1423 Reilly 04/15/93

92 CSE 1424 Reilly 09/15/93

92 CSE 1445 Becton 06/29/93

92 CSE 1448 Nesnow 07/19/93

92 CSE 1450 Reilly 04/15/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION
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AGENCY

Harold R. Pledger v. Human Resources

Carl Beard v. Human Resources

Henry Alston Jr. v. Human Resources

Michael W. Bentley v. Human Resources

Dale Robert Stuhre v. Human Resources

James T. Carter Jr. v. Human Resources

Tommy Malonc v. Human Resources

James C. Dixon Jr. v. Human Resources

Timothy R. Currence v. Human Resources

Wardell Walker v. Human Resources

Wallace M. Cooper v. Human Resources

Jan-'is N. Price v. Human Resources

Thomas L. Yates v. Human Resources

Robert E. Tarlton Sr v. Human Resources

Rodney DevanJ demons v. Human Resources

James A. Coleman v. Human Resources

Lee Richand Jones v. Human Resources

Romeo F Skapple v. Human Resources

Terrial W Mayberry v. Human Resources

Jeffrey L. Garrstt v. Human Resources

Edward Kirk v. Human Resources

Wdliam C. Hubbard v. Human Resources

William Michael Przytysz v. Human Resources

Eduard Filch v. Human Resources

Da\id Robinette v. Human Resourc^es

Kit C. Elmore v. Human Resources

Brian C- Gilmore v. Human Resources

Philip S, Piercy v. Human Resources

Anthony McLaughlin w Human Resources

Johnny W. Cooke v. Human Resources

Roland L. Essaff v. Human Resources

Isaac Maxwell v. Human Resources

Donald J. Ray v. Human Resources

Barbara A. Chaperon v. Human Resources

Charles Wayne Pierce v. Human Resources

Donna G. Knotts v. Human Resources

Robert Jerome Sutton v. Human Resources

Donald R. Williams v. Human Resources

McKinlt^ Clybum V. Human Resources

Henry L. Taylor v. Human Resources

Tony Thorpe v. Human Resources

Jeffery D. W^dliams v. Human Resources

Ronald Sowell v. Human Resources

Billy Smith v. Human Resourc-es

Anthony Curry v. Human Resources

John G. Williams v. Human Resources

Larry W. Golden v. Human Resources

William J, Carter v. Human Resources

Mark W. Dean v. Human Resources

Tyrone Thomas v. Human Resources

Rilton E. May v. Human Resources

Joe K. Martin v. Human Resources

Eric Stanley Slokes v. Human Resources

Larry Thompson v. Human Resources

Billie J. Smith v. Human Resources

Patrick Flcyd v. Human Resources

Dennis W. Nolan v. Human Resources

Eric L. Garland v. Human Resources

Ira Alston Jr. v. Human Resources

Elvis Bernard Telfair v. Human Resources

Ronald G. Bolden v. Human Resources

Mar\in Holley v. Human Resources

Eddie Short v. Human Resourc'es

Michael Tywan Mar^h v. Human Resources

Leroy Jones v. Human Resources

Antonio M. Townsend \- Human Resources

Kevin J. Close v. Human Resources

Thadius Bonapart v. Human Resources

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
NUMBER M4 DECISION REGISTER CITATION

92 CSE 1455 Morrison 05/20/93

92CSE 1459 Reilly 09/08/93

92 CSE 1460 Bccton 06/29/93

92 CSE 1512 Nesnow 06/09/93

92 CSE 1516 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1517 Mann 08/31/93

92 CSE 1520 Mann 05/07/93

92 CSE 1522 Bee Ion 05/11/93

92 CSE 1523 Reilly 09/09/93

92 CSE 1524 Reilly 10/12/93

92 CSE 1527 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1531 Morrison 05/12/93

92 CSE 1535 Gray 05/10/93

92 CSE 1536 Gray 05/17/93

92 CSE 1539 Gray 05/10/93

92 CSE 1540 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1541 Reilly 09/08/93

92 CSE 1545 Gray 04/26/93

92 CSE 1546 Reilly 10/12/93

92 CSE 1557 Gray 04/22/93

92 CSE 1560 Gray 06/29/93

92 CSE 1562 Mann 05/12/93

92 CSE 1565 Beeton 07/23/93

92 CSE 1572 Reilly 05/11/93

92 CSE 1573 Mann 07/14/93

92 CSE 1575 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1576 Gray 04/26/93

92 CSE 1577 Gray 07/16/93

92 CSE 1582 Gray 06/29/93

92 CSE 1585 Bee Ion 05/11/93

92 CSE 1588 Morrison 07/26/93

92 CSE 1589 Reilly 04/26/93

92 CSE 1592 Mann 05/19/93

92 CSE 1593 Mann 10/13/93

92 CSE 1596 Morrison 07/14/93

92 CSE 1611 Morrison 07/16/93

92 CSE 1618 Chess 10/12/93

92 CSE 1622 Nesnow 08/04/93

92 CSE 1623 Morrison 05/20/93

92 CSE 1624 Mann 09/15/93

92 CSE 1625 Chess 07/15/93

92 CSE 1626 Mann 05/19/93

92 CSE 1627 Reilly 07/19/93

92 CSE 1629 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1631 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1632 Mann 08/10/93

92 CSE 1633 Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1637 Nesnow 05/19/93

92 CSE 1638 Reilly 07/15/93

92 CSE 1640 Mann 07/22/93

92 CSE 1642 Morgan 07/29/93

92 CSE 1650 Reilly 09/10/93

92 CSE 1652*' Reilly 03/25/93

92 CSE 1655 Reilly 07/22/93

92 CSE 1656 Gray 07/23/93

92 CSE 1653 Reilly 05/20/93

92 CSE 1670 Morrison 06/25/93

92 CSE 1671 Mann 07/22/93

92 CSE 1703 Beeton 05/16/93

92 CSE 1704 Reilly 09/15/93

92 CSE 1706 Mann 06/25/93

92 CSE 1713 Mann 06/08/93

92 CSE 1714 Wesl 07/15/93

92 CSE 1716 Gray 06/17/93

92 CSE 1718 Gray 06/17/93

92 CSE 1721 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1727 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1740 Chess 09/21/93
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AGENCY

Joseph Eric Lewis v. Human Resources

Ronald Dean Lowery v. Human Resources

Tamera S. Hatfield v. Human Resources

James E. Blakney v. Human Resources

Oswinn Blue v. Human Resources

Kelvin D. Jackson v. Human Resources

Linwood Slaton v. Human Resources

Anthony Watson v. Human Resources

Eugene Polk v. Human Resources

Glenda K. HoUifield v. Human Resources

Kenneth W. Williams v. Human Resources

Charles Thompson Jr. v. Human Resources

Barbara W. Catlett v. Human Resources

Laurel Langford v. Human Resources

Ida Diane Davis v. Human Resources

Hatsuko Klein v. Human Resources

Karen MuUins Martin v. Human Resources

Ora Lee Brinkley v. David T. Flaherty. Secretary of Human Resources

Mary McDuffie v. Human Resources Child Development

Leon Barhee v. Human Resources

Carrolton of Dunn. Inc. v. Human Resources

Dialysis Care of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a Dialysis Care of

Cumberland County v. Human Resources, Division of Facility

Services, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of Fayetteville d/b/a Fayetteville Kidney Center,

Webb-Loha'ichan-Melton Rentals, Bio-Medical Applications

of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Raeford and Webb-

Lohavichan Rentals

Dialysis Care of Nortii Carolina, Inc., d/b/a Dialysis Care of

Cumberland County v. Human Resources, Division of Facility

Services, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of Fayetteville d/b/a Fayetteville Kidn^ Center,

Webb-Loha/ichan-Melton Rentals. Bio-Medical Applications

of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Raeford and Webb-

Lohavichan Rentals

Bio-Medical Applications of North Carolina. Inc., d/b/a BMA
of Raeford, Webb-Loha/ichan-Melton Rentals. Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Fayetteville

d/b/a Fayetteville Kidney Center and Webb-Loha'ichan Rentals

v. Human Resources, Division of Facility Services, Certificate of

Need Section and Dialysis Care of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a

Dialysis Care of Hoke County

Renal Care of Rocky Mount, Inc. v. Human Resources, Division of

Facility Services, Certificate of Need Section, and Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Tarboro,

Rocky Mount Nephrology Associates, Inc., Bio-Medical

Applications of North Carolina, Inc., d/b/a BMA of Rocky Mount

d/b/a Rocky Mount Kidn^ Center, and Rocky Mount Kidney Center

Associates

James H. Hunt Jr. v. Division of Medical Assistance

Barbara Jones v. Human Resources

Joyce R Williams v. Human Resources

Snoopy Day Care. Diane Hamty v. Child Day Care Licensing

Cynthia Reed v. Human Resources

The Neighborhood Center v. Human Resources

Helm's Rest Home. Ron J. Schimpf/Edith H. Wilson v. Human Resources

Jo Ann Kins^ v. NC Memorial Hospital Betty Hutton, Volunteer Svc.

Amy Clara Williamson v. NC Mem Hosp Betty Hutton, Volunteer Svc.

Betty Butler v. Human Resources

Wayne Sanders and Brcnda Sanders v. Human Resources

Brittha-'en. Inc. v. Human Resources & Valdese Nursing Home, Inc.

Samuel Benson v. Office of Admin. Hearings for Medicaid

James W. McCall, Alice V. McCall v. Human Resources

Vemice Whisnant v. Human Resources

Cabarrus Cty Dept. of Social Svcs. v. Human Resources

Hannah F. Tonkel v. Human Resources

Fannie Lewis v. Human Resources

Human Resources, Div. of Child Development v. Susan Amalo

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER ALJ DECISION

92 CSE 1748 Beeton 08/02/93

92 CSE 1771 West 07/15/93

92 CSE 1772 Chess 08/30/93

92 CSE 1779 Nesnow 05/13/93

93 CSE 0073 Chess 08/03/93

93 CSE 0221 West 08/04/93

93 CSE 0250 Nesnow 08/13/93

93 CSE 0396 Nesnow 08/04/93

93 CSE 0437 Chess 08/11/93

93 CSE 0545 West 10/11/93

93 CSE 0590 ReiUy 10/18/93

93 CSE 0696 Morrison 09/23/93

92 DCS 0577 West 03/15/93

92 DCS 1181 Gray 05/04/93

92 DCS 1200 Gray 03/29/93

92 DCS 1271 Reilly 05/05/93

92 DCS 1783 West 08/04/93

92 DHR 0608 Chess 08/27/93

93DHR 0651 Beeton 09/10/93

92 DHR 0658 Morrison 04/30/93

92 DHR 1101 Morgan 07/26/93

92 DHR 1109** Morgan 06/22/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

92DHRI110*^ Morgan 06/22/93

92 DHR 1116** Moig;an 06/22/93

92 DHR 1120 Gray 06/18/93

8:5 NCR 441

.:4 NCR 392

:8 NCR 687

8:8 NCR 687

8:8 NCR 687

8:8 NCR 687

92 DHR 1145 Beeton 05/13/93 8:5 NCR 443

92 DHR 1192 Nesnow 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 313

92 DHR 1275 Gray 03/15/93

92 DHR 1320 Morgan 05/21/93

92 DHR 1329 Chess 05/10/93

92 DHR 1375 Chess 08/02/93

92 DHR 1604 Reilly 05/10/93

92 DHR 1612 Chess 03/08/93

92 DHR 1613 Chess 03/08/93

92 DHR 1614 Chess 03/09/93

92 DHR 1699 Reilly 06/07/93 8:7 NCR 632

92 DHR 1785 Gray 09/17/93

93 DHR 0010 Beeton 03/11/93

93 DHR 0102 Morgan 10/05/93

93 DHR 0332 Morgan 09/23/93

93 DHR 0373 Morgan 07/20/93

93 DHR 0378 Nesnow 09/10/93

93 DHR 0379 Gray 06/28/93

93 DHR 0418 Morgan 08/26/93
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AGENCY

Katie Kelly v. Human Resources

Christopher Durrer, Wilson Memorial Hospital v. Human Resources

Darryl A. Richardson v. Human Resources

Home Health Prof.. Barbara P. Bradsher. Admin v. Human Resources

Sandra Gail Wilson v. Child Abuse/7^cglecl, Div. of Child Development

INSURANCE

Carolyn M. Hair v. St Erapicyees Comprehensive Major Medical

Scotland Memorial Hospital, Mary Home Odom v. Bd. /Trustees//

St. of N.C. Teachers' & St. Emp. Comp. Major Medical Plan, and

David G. Devries, as Exec. Admin, of the N.C. Teachers' & St. Emp.

Comp. Major Medical Plan

Phyllis C. Harris v. Teachers' &. St. Emp. Comp. Major Med. Plan

JUSTICE

Philip B. Gates v. Justice, Attorney General's Office

Jennii^ Michael Bostic v. Sheriffs* Ed. & Tranir^ Stds. Cotmn.

Colin Carlisle Mayers v. Sheriffs' Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.

Jermings Michael Bostic v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Tranir^ Stds. Comm.

Michael Charles Ker^hner v. Criminal Justice Ed & Training Stds Comm
George Wilton Hawkins v. Criminal Justice Ed. & Training Stds. Comm.

Marilyn Jean Brilt v. Criminal Justice Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.

Tim McCoy Deck v. Criminal Justice Ed. &. Training Stds. Comm.

Richard Zander Frink v. Criminal Justice Ed. &. Tranit^ Stds. Comm.
Sherri Rrguson Revis v. Sheriffs' Ed, & Training Stds. Comm.

Mark TTiomas v. Sheriffs' Ed. &. Training Standards Commission

George Wilton Hawkins v. Sheriffs" Ed. &. Trainir^ Stds. Comm.

Loimie Allen Fox v. Sheriffs' Ed. &. Training Standards Commission

Alarm Systems Licensing Bd. v. Eric Hoover

AlatTTi Systems Licensing Bd. v. Vivian Darlene Gailher

Rebecca W. Stevenson v. Criminal Justice Ed. &, Trainii^ Stds. Comm.
Llcyd Harrison Bryant Jr. v. Criminal Justice Ed & Trainir^ Stds Comm
William B. Lipscomb v. Private Protective Services Board

Private Protective Svcs. Bd. v. Fred D. Rector

Private Protective Svcs. Bd. v. Alan D. Simpson

William M. Medlin v. Sheriffs' Ed. & Trainir^ Stds. Comm.
Carl Michael O'Byme v. AlarTn Systems Licensing Board

LABOR

Greensboro Golf Center, Inc. v. Labor

Ronald Dennis Hunt v. Labor

Jeffrey M. McKinni^ v. Labor

MORTUARY SCIENCE

CASE DATE OF
NUMBER AL.I DECISION

93 DHR 0441 Chess 07/26/93

93 DHR 0566 Chess 09/17/93

93 DHR 0679 Beeton 09/30/93

93 DHR 0737 Chess 09/23/93

93 DHR 0782 Nesnow 09/09/93

PUBLISHED DECISION
REGISTER CITATION

92 INS 1464

92 INS 1791

93 INS 0197

Chess

Reilly

Nesnow

03/10/93

08/19/93

07/29/93

92 DOL 0204 Nesnow 04/15/93

92DOL1319 MoT^an 06/17/93

92 DOL 1333 Morrison 06/21/93

I

90 DOJ 0353 Morgan 08/30/93 8:13 NCR 1281

92 DOJ 0656*' West 06/22/93

92 DOJ 0761 Morrison 05/10/93

92 DOJ 0829*~ West 06/22/93

92 DOJ 0869 Morgan 08/11/93

92 DOJ 1081*' Morgan 07/09/93

92 DOJ 1088 Morrison 03/16/93

92 DOJ 1367 Chess 04/01/93

92 DOJ 1465 Nesnow 05/28/93

92 DOJ 1756 Gray 03/23/93

93 DOJ 0151 West 04/21/93

93 DOJ 0156*' Morgan 07/09/93

93 DOJ 0196 Morrison 08/09/93

93 DOJ 0201 Beeton 07/12/93

93 DOJ 0202 Chess 05/10/93

93 DOJ 0357 Morrison 09/13/93

93 DOJ 0377 Reilly 08/31/93

93 DOJ 0458 Morrison 06/01/93

93 DOJ 0479 Mann 08/19/93

93 DOJ 0480 West 07/21/93

93 DOJ 0569 Chess 10/06/93

93 DOJ 0844 Nesnow 09/08/93 8:13 NCR 1300

I

Board of Mortuary Science v. Triangle Funeral Chapel, Inc.

PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

92 BMS 1169 Reilly 04/29/93 8:4 NCR 396

Frances F. Davis. Parent of Joseph E. Davis v. Public Instruction

Donna Marie Snyder v. Public Instruction

STATE PERSONNEL

93 EDC 0628 Mann 07/29/93

93EDC0731 Nesnow 09/16/93

Frances K. E^te v. Transportation

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans. Jules R. Hancart.

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans. Jules R. Hancart.

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans. Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jeny R. Evans, Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson, James D, Fishel v. Justice

Lawrence D. Wilkie, Jerry R. Evans. Jules R. Hancart,

James H. Johnson, James D. Fishel v. Justice

88 OSP 0340 Morrison 05/03/93

90 OSP 1064=*^ Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1065** Mann 05/04/93

90OSP1066*' Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1067** Mann 05/04/93

90 OSP 1068=^ Mann 05/04/93 t
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

AGENCY

Connie B. Lee v. Justice

Bemie B. Kellly v. Correction

Brenda G. Mitchell v. Correction

Walton M. Pittman v. Correction

Adolph Alexander Justice Jr. v. Motor Vehicles, Transportetion

Clayton Brewer v. North Carolina State University

Sherman Dayc v. Transportation

Donnie M. While v. Correction

Gregory Samuel I^rker v. Environment. Health, & Natural Resources

Renee E. Shepherd v. Winston-Salem State University

Eva Dockery v. Human Resources

Lee P. Crosby v. Michael Kelly, William Meyer and EHR
William Marshall Bcyd Jr. v. County Commissioners of Hyde &
Certain Board of Health Members

Gregory Samuel Parker v. Environment, Health. &. Natural Resources

Willie Granville Bailt^ v.Winston-Salem State University

Mattie W. Smith v. State Agricultural and Technical University

Julia Spinks v. Environment. Health, &. Natural Resources

James B. Price v. Transportation

L Cary Nailling v. UNC-CH
Deborah Barber v. Correction

Laveme B. Hill v. Transportation

Jimmy D. Wilkins v. Transportation

Sarah W. Briu v. Human Resources, C.A. Dillon School, CPS

Charles Robinson v. Revenue

Anna L. Spencer v. Mecklenburg County Area Mental Health

Herman James Goldstein v. UNC-Chapel Hill et al.

Ronnie H. Mozingo v. Correction

GUnda C. Smith v. Wildlife Resources Commission

Cindy G. Bartlett v. Correction

William Kenneth Smith Jr. v. Broughton Hospital (Human Resources)

Larry O. Nobles v. Human Resources

Beatrice Wheless v. Lise M. Miller. University F^roll Off., NC St. Univ.

Tracey Hall v. N.C. Central U, Off. of Scholarship &. Student Aid

Sondra Williams v. Winston-Salem State University

Willie Thomas Hope v. Transportation

David Scales v. Correction

Suzanne Ransley Hill v. Environment, Health, & Nat. Res.

Herman James Goldstein v. UNC-Chapel Hill et al.

Charles M. Blackweider v. Concction

Beatrice Wheless v. Lise M. Miller, University Payroll Off.. NC St. Univ.

John B. Sauls v. Wake County Health Department

Patii G. Newsome v. Transportation

Nancy McAllister v. Camden County Department of Social Services

Gilbert Jaeger v. Wake County Alcoholism Treatment Center

Joseph Henry Bishop v. Environment, Health, Si. Natural Res.

Glenn D. Fuqua v. Rockingham County Board of Social Services

Willie L. Hudson v. Correction

Brenda K. Campbell v. Employment Security Commission

Christie L. Guthrie v. Environment, Health, &. Natural Resources

Sharon Reavis v. Crime Control & Public Safety

James B. Price v. Transportation

Jerry L. Jones v. N.C.S.U. Physical Plant

Mattie W. Smith v. State Agricultural and Technical University

Roland W Holden v. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Betty Bradsher v. UNC-CH
Anthoriy M. Little v. Human Resources, John Umstead Hospital

Jamal Al Bakkat-Morris v. Glenn Sexton (DSS)

Rebecca Beauchesne v. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Brenda Kay Barnes v. Human Resources

Larry G. Riddle v. Correction, Division of Prisons

Slevie E. Dunn v. Polk Youth Center

Bufoid D. Vieregge Jr. v. N.C. Slate University, University Dinir^

Dorothy Ann Harris v. Correction

Brenda B. Miles v. University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Deborah J. Whitfield v. Caswell Center

Karen Canter v. Appalachian State University

Terry Steve Brown v. Iredell County Health Department

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION

91 OSPOOU Morgan 10/05/93 8:15 NCR 1498

91 OSP0344 Morrison 05/27/93

91 OSP 0625 West 03/08/93 8;1 NCR 75

91 OSP 0805 Moi^an 10/06/93

91 OSP 0860 Chess 07/19/93

91 OSP 0941 West 04/02/93 8:3 NCR 306

91 OSP 0951 West 05/07/93

91 OSP 1236 Morgan 04/05/93

91 OSP 1344*> Chess 05/20/93

91 OSP 1391 Morgan 04/28/93

92 OSP 0010 Chess 05/03/93

92 OSP 0056 Gray 06/07/93

92 OSP 0090 Gray 08/25/93

92 OSP 0188*> Chess 05/20/93

92 OSP 0285 Morrison 03/10/93

92 OSP 0298*^ Reilly 09/14/93

92 OSP 0313 Beclon 04/12/93 8:4 NCR 382

92 OSP 0375 Gray 04/13/93

92 OSP 0394 Beclon 04/20/93

92 OSP 0396 Chess 03/04/93

92 OSP 0431*1 West 03/08/93

92 OSP 0432*" West 03/08/93

92 OSP 0455 West 05/26/93 8:6 NCR 484

92 OSP 0553 Morgan 07/21/93

92 OSP 0584 Beeton 08/16/93

92 OSP 0634 Morrison 05/04/93

92 OSP 0644 Mann 10/11/93

92 OSP 0653 Morrison 03/12/93

92 OSP 0671 Morgan 06/08/93

92 OSP 0684 Beclon 05/10/93

92 OSP 0732 Mann 04/23/93

92 OSP 0744*"' Morgan 07/16/93

92 OSP 0815 Morgan 09/16/93

92 OSP 0847 Morrison 08/06/93

92 OSP 0947 Morgan 03/23/93

92 OSP 0989 Chess 06/24/93

92 OSP 0992 Rcilly 03/18/93 8:2 NCR 224

92 OSP 1047 Morrison 05/04/93

92 OSP 1082 Morrison 10/15/93 8:15 NCR 1500

92 OSP 1
124*"' Morgan 07/16/93

92 OSP 1142 Reilly 03/08/93 8:1 NCR 88

92 OSP 1180 Beclon 09/22/93 8:14 NCR 1346

92 OSP 1185 Chess 09/07/93

92 OSP 1204 Reilly 05/10/93

92 OSP 1243 Reilly 03/05/93

92 OSP 1318 Morrison 08/03/93

92 OSP 1468 Beclon 05/26/93

92 OSP 1505 Morrison 03/17/93

92 OSP 1555 Beclon 05/31/93

92 OSP 1606 Morrison 08/19/93 8:12 NCR 1163

92 OSP 1657 Mann 03/19/93

92 OSP 1661 Chess 07/06/93

92 OSP 1691*'- Reilly 09/14/93

92 OSP 1715 Beclon 08/30/93 8:13 NCR 1292

92 OSP 1733 Beclon 03/30/93

92 OSP 1734 Beclon 09/01/93

92 OSP 1741 Beclon 03/24/93

92 OSP 1767 Beclon 10/01/93

92 OSP 1768 Morrison 03/17/93

92 OSP 1774 Gray 04/26/93

92 OSP 1789 Beclon 04/19/93

92 OSP 1796 Morrison 05/27/93

93 OSP 0013 Morrison 09/15/93

93 OSP 0033 Morrison 09/10/93

93 OSP 0064 West 09/20/93

93 OSP 0079 Reilly 06/15/93

93 OSP 0101 Morgan 08/06/93
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AGENCY

Barbara A- Johnson v. Human Resources

Carrie P. Smith v. County of Stanly

George W. Allen v. Human Resources, Corrcction. Agri &. EHNR
William G. Fisher v. St Bd of Ed, Albermarle City Schools & Bd of Ed

Grace Jean Washington v. Caswell Center

Clifton E. Simmons v. Correction

Willie L. James v. Caswell Center

Irvir^ S. Rodgers v. C.A. Dillon. Division of Youth Services

Richard E. Howell v. Correction. Wayne Correctional Center

Bnan Dale Bamhatdt v. State Highway F^tnol

FR. "Don" Bowen v. Human Resources

Michael L. Pegram v. Correction

Jerry D. Doss Sr. v. Correction

Debbie Renee Robinson v. Correction

Linda R. Wharton v. N.C. A & T Univereity

Michael L. Pegram v. Correction

Hubert L. Holmes v. Transportation

Timothy E. Blevins v. UNC A/K/A Western Carolina Umvereity

Xantippe Blackwell v. Human Resources, Murdoch Center

Wayne Bradley Johnson v. Slate Computir^ Center

Harold Kovolenko v. Lyim C. Phillips. Director of Prisons

Daniel Thomas Wheeler, Kye Lee Wheeler v. Caldwell County

Department of Social Services

Terry Johnson v. Correction

Kathleen E. Conran v. New Bern Police Dept., City of New Bern; and

City of New Bern Police Civil Service Board

Dana Phillips v. Administrative Office of the Courts

Terrv P Chappell v. Correction

CASE DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION
NUMBER AL,T DECISION REGISTER CITATION

93 OSP 0103 Morrison 03/17/93

93 OSP 0109 Becton 04/01/93

93 OSP 01 11 Reilly 04/16/93

93 OSP 0134 Becton 04/20/93

93 OSP 0153 Morgan 06/03/93

93 OSP 0159 Morrison 04/21/93

93 OSP 0171 Morgan 05/27/93

93 OSP 0177 West 04/21/93

93 OSP 0245 Gray 08/25/93

93 OSP 0251 Reilly 07/27/93

93 OSP 0253 Morgan 08/06/93

93 OSP 0275»* Reilly 06/28/93

93 OSP 0287 Gray 05/17/93

93 OSP 0383 Nesnow 06/07/93

93 OSP 0456 Chess 09/22/93

93 OSP 0472** Reilly 06/28/93

93 OSP 0572 Reilly 08/17/93

93 OSP 0604 Morgan 09/29/93

93 OSP 0632 Reilly 09/01/93

93 OSP 0694 Chess 10/11/93

93 OSP 0697 Nesnow 09/08/93

93 OSP 0752 Nesnow 09/16/93

93 OSP 0757 Gray 10/06/93

93 OSP 0797 Morrison 09/21/93

93 OSP 0822 West 09/09/93

93 OSP 0834 Nesnow 10/11/93

I

STATE TREASURER

Juanita M. Braxton v. Bd. of Trustees/Teachers' & St Emp Ret Sys

Herman D. Brooks v. Bd of Trustees/Teachers' & St Emp Ret Sys

Henrieta Sandlin v. Teachers" &, Slate Emp Comp Major Medical Plan

Frances Billingsley v. Bd/Trustees/Teachers' & St. Emp. Ret. Sys.

Dennis WiUoughty v. Bd. /Trustees/Teachers' & St. Emp. Ret. Sys.

Mary Alyce Carmichael v. Bd/Trustees/Teachers" & St Emp Ret Sys

W. Rex Perry v. Bd/Trustees/Teachers" & St Emp Ret Sys

Rory Dale Swiggett v. Bd. /Trustees/N.C. Local Govtl. Emp. Ret. Sys.

91 DST 0017 West 09/07/93

9 1 DST 0566 Grav 04/13/93

92 DST 0305 Morgan 04/12/93

92 DST 0996 West 09/20/93

92 DST 1439 West 09/20/93 8:14 NCR 1356

92 DST 1506 Chess 04/08/93

93 DST 0133 West 08/12/93 8:11 NCR 992

93 DST 0198 West 09/28/93 8:14 NCR 1360

#

TRANSPORTATION

Yates Construction Co-, Inc. v. Transportation

UNTVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HOSPITALS

92 DOT 1800 Mot^an 03/25/93

Constance V. Grahain v. UNC Hospital

Jacqueline Florence v. UNC Hospitals

93 UNC 0269

93 UNC 0355

Morgan

Becton

07/20/93

06/16/93

I
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF SAMPSON

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

91 OSPOOIl

CONNIE B. LEE
Petitioner,

V.

N.C DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Respondent.

FINAL DECISION

On January 9, 1991 the Petitioner filed a petition in which she alleged that the Respondent had

arbitrarily and capriciously reduced the Petitioner's position of employment from a full-time capacity to a

part-time capacity, without just cause and in contravention of constitutional due process provisions and

reduction-in-force regulations. The Respondent's Motion to Dismiss and Respondent's Memorandum of Law

in Support of Motion to Dismiss were filed on March 15, 1991, in which the Respondent contends that the

Office of Administrative Hearings lacks subject matter jurisdiction to review an agency's management decision

to change an employee's work position from "permanent full-time" to "permanent part-time" as a result of

a reduction in appropriations by the North Carolina General Assembly since the employee was not disciplined

for alleged just cause, was not involuntarily separated and did not allege discrimination. The Respondent

further contends in its motion to dismiss that the Petitioner's petition fails to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted because the Respondent's action concerning the Petitioner's employment was not a

reduction-in-lbrce, in that the Petitioner was not separated from employment. Tlie Petitioner filed the

Petitioner's Memorandum of Law in Opposition of Motion to Dismiss on April 10, 1991, asserting that she

has a cognizable claim under Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes because her grievance arises

out of her employment and constitutes a "contested case" concerning the dispute about her full-time

employment position and salary being reduced to a part-time employment position with one-half of the salary

which the Petitioner previously earned.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In Batten y, N.C. Dept. of Correction , 326 N.C. 338, 389 S.E.2d 35 (1990), the Supreme Court of

North Carolina addressed the issue of the Office of Administrative Hearings' subject matter jurisdiction in a

contested case involving, a state employee's grievance. The Supreme Court stated:

"TTie jurisdiction of the OAH [Office of Administrative Hearings] over the appeals of state

employees grievances derives not from Chapter 150B, but from Chapter 126. The

administrative hearing provisions of Article 3, Chapter 150B, do not establish the right of a

person 'aggrieved' by agency action to OAH review of that action, but only describe the

procedures for such review." (326 N.C. at 342-343, 389 S.E.2d at 38).

Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes is commonly known as "The State Personnel Act." The

high court in Batten also offered the following criteria for the determination of the propemess of the Office

of Administrative Hearings' subject matter jurisdiction over a state employee's grievance:

"The question whether petitioner's appeal was a 'contested case' arising under the State

Personnel Act turns upon whether he has stated grounds recognized in that Act as meriting

administrative review and appeal." (326 N.C. at 345, 389 S.E.2d at 40)
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N.C.G.S. §126-37(a) establishes that appeals involving a disciplinary action, alleged discrimination and any

other contested case arising under Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes shall be conducted in

the Office of Administrative Hearings, with the State Personnel Commission making a final decision in these

cases. N.C.G.S. §126-35(a) states that no career State employee subject to the State Personnel Act shall be

discharged, suspended or demoted for disciplinary reasons, except for just cause. Title 25, Chapter ID,

Section .0504(a) of the North Carolina Administrative Code authorizes the concept of a reduction-in-force by

allowing an appointing authority to separate an employee whenever it is necessary due to shortage of funds

or work, abolishment of a position or other material change in duties or organization. 25 NCAC ID .0504(c)

gives a permanent employee who is separated due to reduction-in-force the right to appeal to the State

Personnel Commission for a review to assure that systematic procedures were applied.

In the case at bar, the Petitioner's grievance fails to satisfy the criteria articulated by the Supreme

Court of North Carolina in Batten v. N.C. Dept. of Correction , supra in order to properly establish subject

matter jurisdiction within the province of the Office of Administrative Hearings. The allegation of the

Respondent's improper reduction of the Petitioner's position of employment from a full-time capacity to a

part-time capacity, although framed to be based upon appealable grounds of just cause and reduction-in-force,

does not constitute grounds which are recognized in the State Personnel Act as meriting administrative review

and appeal as a contested case under the jurisdiction of the Office of Administrative Hearings.

It is readily apparent from the parties' respective pleadings and dismissal motion documents that

subject matter jurisdiction in this contested case cannot properly be based upon the reviewability of the

existence of just cause under N.C.G.S. §126-35, although the Petitioner argues that there was no "just cause"

for her reduction in employment from full-time status to part-time status, because the Petitioner was not

disciplined here through discharge, suspension or demotion in her employment. It is similarly apparent from

these pleadings and dismissal motion documents that subject matter jurisdiction cannot correctly be premised

upon the reviewability of the application of reduction-in-force procedures specifically under 25 NCAC ID

.0504(c), despite the Petitioner's contention that her reduction in employment from full-time to part-time status

contravened regulations regarding reduction-in-force. because the Petitioner was not separated from her

employment as reduction-in-force rules contemplate. In this regard, the Petitioner has not stated grounds

which are recognized in the State Personnel Act as meriting administrative review and appeal as a contested

case under the jurisdiction of the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Since the jurisdiction of the Office of Administrative Hearings over appeals of state employee

grievances derives from the State Personnel Act as enunciated by North Carolina's high court in Batten y^

N.C. Dept. of Correction , supra , then the Petitioner's failure to state grounds for a contested case which are

recognized in the State Personnel Act warrants the dismissal of the Petitioner's action due to a lack of subject

matter jurisdiction.

FINAL DECISION

TTiis contested case is DISMISSED for lack of jurisdiction under N.C.G.S. §150B-36(c).

NOTICE

In order to appeal a final decision, the person seeking review must file a petition with the Superior

Court of Wake County or with the superior court of the county where the person resides. The petition for

judicial review must be filed within thirty days after the person is served with a copy of the final decision.

N.C.G.S. §150B-46 describes the contents of the petition and requires service of the petition on all parties.

This the 5th day of October, 1993.

Michael Rivers Morgan

Administrative Law Judge
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

COUNTY OF >fEW HANOVER 92 OSP 1082

CHARLES M. BLACKWELDER
Petitioner,

N.C DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION
Respondent.

FINAL DECISION
DISMISSING CASE FOR
LACK OF JURISDICTION

N.C.G.S. § 150B-36(c)

Upon consideration of Respondent's Motion to Dismiss Petitioner's petition for a contested case

hearing and Petitioner's Response to Respondent's Motion, the undersigned Senior Administrative Law Judge

determines the following:

1. On October 1, 1990, Petitioner began employment with Respondent, the North Carolina

Department of Correction, in a pay grade 64 position. On October 1, 1991, Petitioner and his position were

reallocated upwards to a pay grade 66 position.

2. On May 12, 1992, Petitioner was advised, in writing, that his employment with Respondent

would be terminated, effective February 28, 1992, for unacceptable personal conduct.

3. At the time of his dismissal, Petitioner had served for twelve months in a pay grade 64

position with Respondent, and had served for five months in a pay grade 66 position with Respondent.

4. On September 21 , 1992, Petitioner filed a petition for a contested case hearing with the Office

of Administrative Hearings appealing his dismissal from employment with Respondent alleging that his

dismissal was without just cause.

5. On November 13, 1992, Respondent filed a Motion to Dismiss Petitioner's petition for lack

of jurisdiction. The basis for Respondent's motion was that Petitioner did not have the requisite number of

months of continuous State employment in his respective pay grades to classify him as a "permanent State

Employee" under N.C.G.S. § 126-39 for the purpose of appealing his dismissal to the Office of Administrative

Hearings and the State Personnel Commission.

6. Petitioner responded to Respondent's motion, contending that his previous employment with

Southeastern Area Mental Health, an area mental health agency, should be credited toward his "continuous

State employment" as defined under N.C.G.S. § 126-39 for the purpose of appealing his dismissal to the

Office of Administrative Hearings and the State Personnel Commission.

7. Respondent filed a reply to Petitioner's response, contending that employment with an area

mental health agency was not employment with the "State of North Carolina" for the purposes of N.C.G.S.

§ 126-39, and therefore should not be credited toward Petitioner's "continuous State employment" in

determining whether Petitioner was a "permanent State employee" as defined under N.C.G.S. § 126-39.

8. In an effort to resolve whether Petitioner's prior employment with an area mental health

agency was creditable State service for the purpose of pursuing an appeal under Chapter 126, the Senior

Administrative Law Judge sought an advisory opinion from the State Personnel Commission as provided for
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under N.C.G.S. § 126-5(h). On October 1, 1993, the Office of State Personnel provided an Affidavit on this

issue, which the Senior Administrative Law Judge considers to be an advisory opinion.

9. In its Affidavit, the Office of State Personnel stated the following:

It has been the view and practice of the Office of State Personnel that

employment with an area mental health authority does not constitute

employment by the State of North Carolina for the purpose of GS 126-39.

10. As Petitioner's employment with the State of North Carolina does not meet the requirements

of N.C.G.S. § 126-39, Petitioner is not a "permanent State employee" entitled to appeal under Chapter 126

of the North Carolina General Statutes, and the Office of Administrative Hearings and the State Personnel

Commission lack jurisdiction over Petitioner's contested case.

DISCUSSION

The North Carolina Supreme Court has recognized that N.C.G.S. § 126-37 provides the basis for

jurisdiction over personnel appeals to the Office of Administrative Hearings and the State Personnel

Commission brought by state employees pursuant to Chapter 126. Batten v. N.C. Dep't of Correction , 326

N.C. 338, 343, 389 S.E.2d 35, 39 (1990). Furthermore, the North Carolina Court of Appeals has held that

"[t]he right to appeal to an administrative agency is granted by statute, and compliance with statutory

provisions is necessary to sustain the appeal." Lewis v^ N.C. Dep't of Human Resources , 92 N.C. App. 737,

739, 375 S.E.2d 712, 714 (1989).

N.C.G.S. § 126-39 provides a specific definition of those individuals who are entitled to appeal an

agency action to the State Personnel Commission. Specifically, a "permanent State employee" who is entitled

to appeal an agency action under Chapter 126 is defined as being a person:

(2) in a grade 61 to grade 65 position who has been continuously

employed by the State of North Carolina for the immediate 36 preceding

months;

(3) in a grade 66 to grade 70 position who has been continuously

employed by the State of North Carolina for the immediate 48 preceding

months;

N.C.G.S. § 126-39 (1987).**

It is not disputed that Petitioner was not continuously employed with Respondent for 36 months or

more in his pay grade 64 position nor for 48 months or more in his pay grade 66 position. The issue

presented in this case is whether Petitioner's previous employment with an area mental health authority

constitutes "employment with the State of North Carolina" under N.C.G.S. § 126-39.

In its Affidavit, the Office of State Personnel rendered the opinion that employment with an area

mental health authority does not constitute employment with the State of North Carolina for the purpose of

N.C.G.S. § 126-39. The North Carolina Court of Appeals has recently held that "'[w]here an issue of

statutory interpretation arises, the construction adopted by those who execute and administer the law in

question is highly relevant.' State y. Tew, 326 N.C. 732, 739, 392 S.E.2d 603, 607 (1990) (citations

omitted)." Cauthen y^ N.C. Department of Human Resources , 112 N.C. App. , S.E.2d

(5 October 1993). Accordingly, as the State Personnel Commission is vested with the authority to establish

policies and rules governing the State Personnel System, see, N.C.G.S. § 126-4, its opinion as to what types

of employment constitute employment with the State of North Carolina under N.C.G.S. § 126-39 should be

** The remaining provisions of N.C.G.S. § 126-39 arc not set forth in this decision as those provisions are not relevant to the specific facts of this

case.

1501 8:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER November 1, 1993



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

considered highly relevant to the determination of that issue.

For the foregoing reasons. Petitioner's employment with an area mental health authority does not

constitute employment with the State of North Carolina for the purpose of defining a "permanent State

employee" under N.C.G.S. § 126-39. Petitioner's employment with Respondent in his respective pay grades

does not meet the requirements of N.C.G.S. § 126-39 regarding the number of months of necessary

continuous employment in those pay grades. Therefore, Petitioner is not a "permanent State employee" as

defined under Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes for the purpose of appealing an agency

decision to the Office of Administrative Hearings and the State Personnel Commission, and, accordingly, the

State Personnel Commission and the Office of Administrative Hearings lack jurisdiction over this appeal.

ORDER AND FINAL DECISION

It is therefore ORDERED that Petitioner's petition for a contested case hearing be DISMISSED for

lack of jurisdiction.

This the 15th day of October, 1993.

Fred G. Morrison Jr.

Senior Administrative Law Judge

NOTICE

In order to appeal a Final Decision, the person seeking review must file a Petition in the Superior

Court of Wake County or in the superior court of the county where the person resides. The Petition for

Judicial Review must be filed within thirty (30) days after the person is served with a copy of the Final

Decision. G.S. 150B-46 describes the contents of the Petition and requires service of the Petition on all

parties.

I
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF GUILFORD

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

93EHR0003

MCLEOD LEATHER & BELTING CO., INC.

Petitioner,

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH,
AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

The above-captioned matter was heard by Michael Rivers Morgan, Administrative Law Judge on May
24, 1993 and June 25, 1993 in High Point, North Carolina.

APPEARANCES

Ramona J. Cunningham, Smith, Helms, MuUiss and Moore, for the Petitioner.

Donald W. Laton, Assistant Attorney General, for the Respondent.

ISSUE

Whether the Respondent properly and correctly denied the Petitioner's election to have the

Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund to reimburse the Petitioner's costs

for the cleanup of environmental damage resulting from a release of a petroleum product, based upon the

Petitioner's alleged failure to pay annual tank operating fees which were due for the years 1990, 1991 and

1992.

STIPULATED FACTS

The parties stipulated to the following facts in the Final Prehearing Order filed on May 24, 1993:

a. On October 25, 1988, McLeod submitted an Underground Petroleum Storage Tank Fee Payment

Form, which indicated that fees were being paid for two (2) tanks of greater than 3,500 gallons.

b. The Payment Form and a check in the amount of $120.00 were received by the Respondent.

c. The Petitioner's name and address were placed in the Respondent's database at that time.

d. Petitioner was assigned Facility No. 0-027948 by Respondent.

e. The Petitioner has never registered its tanks in accordance with 15 NCAC 2N .0303 by

submission of either form 7530-1, GW/UST-1 or GW/UST-8.

f. The Respondent sends invoices for annual fees to all parties that have registered underground

storage tanks in North Carolina.
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^

g. The Respondent divided its invoicing system into four billing cycles. Tank owners are placed

in a billing cycle according to their place in the alphabet.

h. Petitioner was placed in the September 1 billing cycle (cycle #4).

i. At no time did Respondent send an invoice to the Petitioner.

j. Prior to Petitioner's removal of the tanks. Respondent did not send an invoice or any other

correspondence or document to Petitioner.

k. Following the initial payment on October 25, 1988, the Petitioner did not submit payments for

tank fees.

1. The tanks removed by Petitioner and for which trust fund reimbursement was sought and denied

are the same tanks identified on the Payment Form submitted on October 26, 1988.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based upon the evidence admitted at the hearing, the undersigned administrative law judge finds the

following fects:

1. Charles Vickers is employed with the Petitioner as its F*urchasing Manager.

2. The Petitioner received a form from its jobber, BP Oil, which Vickers did not understand.

3. Vickers contacted BP Oil for an explanation concerning the form which the Petitioner received, and

was informed that the Petitioner needed to complete the form and send the form with a specified

payment amount to the State of North Carolina because the State had established a fund.

4. Loyd Rich is the President and C.E.O. of the Petitioner.

5. Vickers discussed the form which BP Oil sent to the Petitioner with Rich.

6. Vickers and Rich completed the form and sent it, along with a check, to the State of North

Carolina.

7. Based upon his conversation with a representative of BP Oil, it was Vickers' understanding that

the Petitioner needed to complete the form to show that the Petitioner had oil storage tanks and to

register for a fund which the State of North Carolina had created.

8. It was Vickers' understanding that he did not need to do anything further, on behalf of the

Petitioner, after submitting the form to the State of North Carolina.

9. One of Vickers' responsibilities with the Petitioner includes the maintenance of its oil storage tanks.

10. Vickers did not have any further communication or correspondence with the State of North

Carolina after the Petitioner sent the form and payment to the State.

11. It was Rich's understanding that the purpose of the form was to register the Petitioner's oil storage

tanks with the State of North Carolina and the payment of a fee was for an insurance fund in the

event that oil storage tanks leaked in the future.

12. In 1992 the Petitioner submitted to the State of North Carolina a notice of the Petitioner's intent

to remove the Petitioner's oil storage tanks.
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13. The Petitioner worked with an environmental engineering company to remove the Petitioner's oil

storage tanks, with the engineering company supervising the cleanup of the tanks.

14. A representative of the environmental engineering company which worked with the Petitioner in

the removal and cleanup of the Petitioner's oil storage tanks inquired as to whether the Petitioner

had registered the tanks and paid fees in order that the Petitioner could proceed with a request for

a reimbursement of funds for the cleanup.

15. The Petitioner submitted a claim to the State of North Carolina for reimbursement of funds in

connection with the removal and cleanup of the Petitioner's oil storage tanks, since Rich felt that

the Petitioner had registered the tanks and paid fees a number of years ago.

16. Annette Parker is employed with the Respondent's Division of Environmental Management,

Groundwater Section, Pollution Control Branch, U.S.T. Unit as a Data Processing Coordinator.

17. Parker's work duties with the Respondent include overseeing the documentation process concerning

notification for underground storage tanks, registration forms, fee payment forms, invoices and

updates of compliance information, as well as generating invoices, implementing applicable late

penalties and generating statistical data and credit/debit adjustments which are necessary for the

Respondent's fees.

18. In order to generate an invoice, the Respondent must enter detailed tank information into its

computer, such as the tank's size, age, contents, material construction and piping.

19. The information which the Respondent requires in order to generate an invoice is indicated in the

"Notification for Underground Storage Tanks" form which a tank owner would complete in order

to register an underground lank with the Respondent.

20. The "Notification for Underground Storage Tanks" form has been identified by different numerical

designations such as Form 7530-1, GW/UST-1 and GW/UST-8.

21 . A Notification for Underground Storage Tanks registration form contains a space to indicate the

identification number for the facility at which the underground storage tank is located.

22. The Respondent has difl^erent files on its computer database, including a master file which contains

facility owner information, tank information and compliance information on the tanks, and a fee

file which contains all payments received by the Respondent upon the generation of invoices.

23. The master file and the fee file are joined together and intertwined by the identification number of

the facility which has an underground storage tank.

24. A fee payment form of the Respondent is not a lank registration form.

25. In 1989, the Respondent assigned identification numbers to the approximately 25,000 facility sites

which had storage tanks.

26. In assigning identification numbers to facility sites, the Respondent searched each fee payment form

which it received in order to determine the site's registration number or identification number.

27. In situations in which the Respondent could not locate a tank registration form for a facility site

for which the Respondent had received a facility fee payment form, the Respondent assigned a

facility identification number solely to keep record of the received payment.

28. Upon the Respondent's receipt of the Petitioner's fee payment form, the Respondent assigned a

facility identification number to the Petitioner so that the Respondent could keep record of the
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$120.00 payment which the Petitioner sent in 1988.

29. Fees for storage tanks are paid annually to the Respondent.

30. George Matthis is employed with the Respondent's Division of Environmental Management,

Groundwater Section, Pollution Control Branch as the Supervisor of the State Trust Fund Group.

31 . Matthis' work duties with the Respondent include overseeing reimbursements from the Commercial

Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund, which entails approving reasonable

and necessary expenditures by reasonable parties who have conducted cleanups.

32. Matthis reviewed a trust fund application for the Petitioner.

33. After determining that the Petitioner's trust fund application was correctly completed and that the

Petitioner was the statutory tank owner as indicated on the Petitioner's application, Matthis

performed his normal routine of checking the Respondent's database after an application appears

to be eligible for reimbursement.

34. Matthis utilizes the fee payment screen of the Respondent's database, which would appear with

dates of any invoices and the dates of fee payment concerning a facility location, in order to verify

that a facility had paid all fees prior to the release being discovered for which reimbursement is

sought.

35. Matthis determined that the Petitioner had not paid all fees prior to the Petitioner's application for

reimbursement from the trust fund, because the Petitioner's 1989 tank fees had been paid with no

fee payments for the years 1990, 1991 and 1992.

36. The Respondent did not have adequate information concerning the Petitioner's tanks upon which

to base an invoice for fees for the tanks.

37. All oil storage tank facilities which did not have tanks which were properly registered were placed

in an invoice billing cycle by the Respondent, but none of the facilities were billed with invoices.

38. Matthis determined that the Petitioner's application for reimbursement from the trust fund would

be denied, based upon his finding that the Petitioner had paid no fees for its tanks since the 1989

tank fees had been paid.

39. In a letter to Rich from the Respondent's Acting Director of the Division of Environmental

Management A. Preston Howard dated November 24, 1992, the Respondent indicated that the

Petitioner's application to the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup

Fund for costs related to the Petitioner's cleanup of petroleum released from the Petitioner's

underground storage tanks was being denied because all of the Petitioner's annual tank operating

fees which were due for the year 1990, 1991 and 1992 had not been paid prior to the discovery

of a release from the Petitioner's tanks on July 6, 1992.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. North Carolina General Statutes Section 143-215.94B establishes the Commercial Leaking

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund to be used for the payment of costs resulting

from the cleanup of a discharge or release of a petroleum product from a commercial underground

storage tank.

2. N.C.G.S. §143-215. 94C(a) states, in pertinent part, that the owner or operator of a commercial

petroleum underground storage tank shall pay to the North Carolina Secretary of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources for deposit into the Commercial Fund an annual operating fee.
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3. N.C.G.S. §143-215. 94C(t) states, in pertinent part, that the annual operating fee shall be

determined on a calendar year basis, with the annual operating fee being due and payable on the

first day of the month in accordance with a staggered schedule established by the Department of

Environment, Health, and Natural Resources.

4. N.C.G.S. §143-215. 94E(g)(3) states, in pertinent part, that no owner or operator shall be

reimbursed pursuant to the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Cleanup Fund

if the owner or operator has failed to pay any annual tank operating fee due pursuant to G.S.

§143-215. 94C.

5. Title 15A, Chapter 2P, Section .0301(a) of the North Carolina Administrative Code states that the

owner or operator of each commercial underground storage tank shall pay all annual tank operating

fees due for that underground storage tank.

6. 15A NCAC 2P .0301(b) states, in pertinent part, that the Division of Environmental Management

shall send an invoice, for the amount of the annual operating fees due, to the owner or operator

of any commercial petroleum underground storage tank in use on January 1 of the year and which

has been registered with the Department . (EMPHASIS ADDED)

7. 15A NCAC 2P .0301(c) states, in pertinent part, that any owner or operator not receiving an

invoice for annual operating fees shall still pay any fees due.

8. 15A NCAC 2P .0401(b) states, in pertinent part, that an owner or operator of a commercial

underground storage tank is not eligible for reimbursement for costs related to releases if any

annual operating fees due have not been paid in accordance with 15A NCAC 2P .0301 prior to

discovery.

9. The Petitioner, as the owner of two oil storage tanks, was required to pay to the Respondent an

annual operating fee for deposit into the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage

Tank Cleanup Fund for each of its underground tanks.

10. While the Respondent's Di\ision of Environmental Management did not send a billing in\oice to

the Petitioner for the Petitioner's underground storage tank annual operating fees for the years

1990, 1991 and 1992, this is attributable to the Petitioner's failure to properly register its

underground storage tanks with the Respondent and the Petitioner's lack of receipt of annual billing

invoices from the Respondent did not absolve the Petitioner from its obligation to pay the annual

operating fees for the underground storage tanks.

H. The Petitioner is not eligible for reimbursement of its costs, pursuant to the provisions of the

Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Cleanup Fund, which are related to the

cleanup of a release from the Petitioner's oil storage tanks, because the Petitioner failed to pay

annual tank operating fees which were due for the years 1990, 1991 and 1992 prior to the

discovery of the release on July 6, 1992.

12. The Respondent properly and correctly denied the Petitioner's election to have the Commercial

Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund to reimburse the Petitioner's costs

for the cleanup of environmental damage resulting from a release of a petroleum product, based

upon the Petitioner's failure to pay annual tank operating fees v.'hich were due for the years 1990,

1991 and 1992.

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Respondent's denial of the Petitioner's application for reimbursement from

the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund be upheld.
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ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 2761 1-7447, in accordance with North Carolina General Statute

150B-36(b).

NOTICE

The agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party an

opportunity to file exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the

agency who will make the final decision. G.S. 150B-36(a).

The agency is required by G.S. 150B-36(b) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and to

furnish a copy to the parties' attorney of record and to the Office of Administrative Hearings .

The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is the North Carolina Department

of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources.

This the 1 1th day of October, 1993.

Michael Rivers Morgan

Administrative Law Judge

)
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

1 he North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two of these,

titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title. Each major

department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been assigned a title number.

Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall he numerical in order. The other two.

subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Acupuncture 1

2 Agriculture Architecture 2

3 Auditor Auctioneers 4

4 Commerce Barber Exammers 6

5 Correction Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

6 Council of State Chiropractic Examiners 10

7 Cultural Resources General Contractors 12

8 Elections Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

9 Governor Dental Exammers 16

10 Human Resources Dietetics/Nutrition 17

11 Insurance Electrical Contractors 18

12 Justice Electrolysis 19

13 Labor Foresters 20

14A Crime Control & Public Safety Geologists 21

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

Resources Landscape Architects 26

16 Public Education Landscape Contractors 28

17 Revenue Marital and Family Therapy 31

18 Secretary of State Medical Exammere 32

19A Transportation Midwifery Joint Committee 33

20 Treasurer Mortuary Science 34

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Nursmg 36

22 Administrative Procedures Nursing Home Administrators 37

23 Community Colleges Occupational Therapists 38

24 Independent Agencies Opticians 40

25 State Personnel Optometry 42

26 Administrative Hearings Osteopathic Examination & Reg. (Repealed) 44

Pharmacy 46

Physical Therapy Examiners 48

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors 50

Podiatry Examinere 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors 56

Real Estate Appraisal Board 57

Real Estate Commission 58

Refngeration Exammers 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work Certification 63

Speech & Language Pathologists & Audiologists 64

Therapeutic Recreation Certification 65

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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Pages

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1993 - March 1994)

Issue

1
- 92 1

- April

93 - 228 2 - April

229 - 331 3 - May
332 - 400 , 4 - May
401 - 455 5 - June

456 - 502 6 - June

503 - 640 7 - July

641 - 708 8 - July

709 - 792 9 - August

793 - 875 10 - August

876 - 1006 11 - September

1007 - 1184 12 - September

1185 - 1307 13 - October

1308 - 1367 14 - October

1368 - 1512 15 - November

Unless otherwise identified, page references in this Index are to proposed rules.

ADMINISTRATION
Administration's Minimum Criteria, 5

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority, 232

State Employees Combined Campaign, 1008

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Civil Rights Division, 370

General, 366

Hearings Division, 1480

Rules Division, 367

AGRICULTURE
Aquaculture, 1212

N.C. State Fair, 506

Plant Industry, 513, 1212

Standards Division, 1212

Veterinary Division, 515, 1212

COMMERCE
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 408, 711, 1310

Banking Commission, 408, 798, 1312

Cemetery Commission, 810

Savings Institutions Division: Savings Institutions Commission, 461

State Ports Authority, 8 1

1

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 279, 571, 962, 1405

Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan, 882

Departmental Rules, 465
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

Environmental Management, 210, 556, 658, 797, 893, 1254

Health Services, 283, 335, 425, 465, 572, 709, 762, 966, 1098, 1417

Marine Fisheries, 28, 568

Mining: Mineral Resources, 829

NPDES Permit, 710

Soil and Water Conservation Commission, 214, 1322

Wildlife Resources Commission, 32, 663, 831, 965, 1255, 1409

Zoological Park, 337

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 4. 407, 460, 795, 880, 1371

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 7A, 1185

Chapter 150B. 1187

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 1, 93, 229, 332, 401, 456, 641, 793, 876, 1007, 1209, 1308, 1368

HUMAN RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 815, 1372

Blind, Services for the, 884

Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Services for the, 650

Facility Services, 94, 883, 1014, 1215, 1312

Medical Assistance, 25, 414. 553, 712, 888, 1316

Medical Care Commission, 644, 1312

Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 7, 413, 516, 1086, 1217

Social Services Commission, 237, 733, 1091, 1376

INSURANCE
Actuarial Services, 555, 657, 1249, 1321, 1403

Agent Services Division, 1399

Engineering and Building Codes Division, 1248

Financial Evaluation Division, 1093, 1317

Life and Health Division. 1094, 1318, 1400

Medical Database Commission. 463, 737

Property and Casualty Division, 1400

Special Services Division, 1096

JUSTICE
Alarm Systems Licensing Board, 761

Attorney General. Office of the. 28

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, 253

Criminal Justice Standards Division, 241

Departmental Rules. 1096

Private Protective Services Board. 252, 890

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission, 738

LABOR
OSHA, 97, 231, 278, 892

LICENSING BOARDS
Architecture, 43

Certified Public Accountant Examiners, 1418

Cosmetic Art Examiners. 969
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

Dental Examiners, State Board of, 763

Electrolysis Examiners, Board of, 841, 1457

Foresters, Registration for, 674

Geologists, Board of, 285

Landscape Architects, 1256

Medical Examiners, Board of, 591, 1458

Mortuary Science, Board of, 45, 342, 971, 1461

Nursing, Board of, 1463

Nursing Home Administrators, 346

Occupational Therapy, 1469

Opticians, Board of, 1261

Pharmacy, Board of, 47, 354, 1326

Physical Therapy Examiners, 53, 767

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, 360

Practicing Psychologists, Board of, 844

Real Estate Commission, 53, 364

Refrigeration Examiners, 1148

Social Work, Certification Board for, 428

Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board, 1328

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
List of Rules Codified, 61, 290, 432, 593, 769, 845, 1264

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary Education, 427, 470

STATE PERSONNEL
Office of State Personnel, 286, 972, 1262, 1472

STATE TREASURER
Retirement Systems, 337, 1146

TAX REVIEW BOARD
Orders of Tax Review, 503

TRANSPORTATION
Highways, Division of, 669, 836

Motor Vehicles, Division of, 1145
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven huruired and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at

one-half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter Subject

New Total

Subscription* Quantity Price

I -53 Full Code

1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A

15A

15A

I5A

15A

19/93

1 - 38

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 -4

1 - 2

3 - 20

1 -2

3 -4

1 -4

I - 12

1 -9

1 -4

I - 2

3A- 3K
3L- 3R

3S-3W
4-6
7

8 -9

10

II - 14

15 - 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34-41
42

43 -51

1 - 19

1 - 12

1 -6

7

8- 16

1 - 11

1 - 2

3 - 6

7

8 - 9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

BCD (includes ABC)
BCD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Blections

Governor/Lt. Governor

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor

OSHA
Labor

Crime Control and

Public Safety

BHNR (includes EMC)
BHNR
Coastal Management

BHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

1 90.00

2 75.00

3 75.00

4 10.00

5 45.00

6 90.00

7 60.00

8 30.00

9

60.00

10 10.00

11 45.00

12 30.00

13 90.00

14

45.00

15 30.00

16 30.00

17 30.00

18 30.00

19 30.00

20 60.00

21 45.00

22 75.00

23 90.00

24 30.00

25 60.00

26 45.00

27 90.00

28 90.00

29 90.00

30 30.00

31 45.00

32 45.00

33

45.00

34 90.00

35 45.00

36 45.00

37 30.00

38 45.00
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Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

39 15A 11 - 18

40 15A 19 - 26

41 16 1 - 6

42 17 1 - 6

43 17 7- 11

44 18 1 - 8

45 19A 1 -6

46 20 1 - 9

47 21 1 - 16

48 21 17 - 37

49 21 38 - 70

22 1 _ -1

50 23 1 - 3

51 24 1 - 3

52 25

53 26 1 -4

EHNR 90.00

EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

Education 30.00

Revenue 75.00

Revenue 60.00

Secretary of State 30.00

Transportation 90.00

Treasurer 45.00

Licensing Boards 75.00

Licensing Boards 75.00

Licensing Boards

Administrative Procedures75.00

Community Colleges 10.00

Independent Agencies 10.00

State Personnel 60.00

Administrative Hearings 10.00

Subtotal

(North Carolina subscribers add 6% sales tax)

Total

I

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

i

This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27611-7447

I
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

D Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issu

($105.00)/year subscription) (N.C. Subscribers please add sales tax.)

n Renew North Carolina Register

D Check Enclosed D Please bill me

Please make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

NAME ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

PHONE

(Return to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1. Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. O. Drawer 27447

Raleish. North Carolina 27611-7447

"SAFETY IN

THE LAWS"

US.POSTA'j*

H METER 372 3 311 >"1

FIRST CLASS MAIL

585
"

NC 27599


