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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER TEMPORARY RULES

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and

ins tinations.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and five dollars (S105.00) for 24 issues.

Individual issues may be purchased for eight dollars (S8.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings,

P. 0. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N. C. 2761 1-7447.

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions in

G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines that the findings meet
the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1, the rule is entered into the NCAC. If

the Codifier determines that the findings do not meet the criteria,

the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may supplement its

findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an additional review

or the agency may respond that it will remain with its initial

position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the rule into the

NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either when the

Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the sixth

business day after the agency resubmits the rule without change.

The temporary rule is in effect for the period specified in the rule or

180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the

same time the temporary rule is filed with the Codifier.

ADOPTION AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutory authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may request

a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments; the text

of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the reason

for the proposed action; a reference to the statutory authority for the

action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North

Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can take

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule that

differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment
period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

the rule with the Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).
A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 business

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication in the North Carolina Administrative Code
(NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication in the NCAC.

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages of

material of which approximately 35% of is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

150B-21.18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by

chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents (S2.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents (SO. 15) per each additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in

excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

w-ith replacement pages. A one year subscription to the

full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars

(S750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased

with supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication are available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC should be

directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1, 1986.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT Office of

Administrative Hearin gs. ATTN: Rules Division, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447, (919)

733-2678.
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GENERAL STATUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA

CHAPTER 150B

THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT

[The following excerpt contains the statutory provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act as amended by

the 1991 General Assembly, Second Session effective July 1. 1992 and January 1. 1993.]

Article 1.

General Provisions.

§ 150B-1. Policy and scope.

(a) Purpose. — This Chapter establishes a uni-

form system of administrative rule making and

adjudicatory procedures for agencies. The proce-

dures ensure that the functions of rule making,

investigation, advocacy, and adjudication are not

all performed by the same person in the adminis-

trative process.

(b) Rights. — This Chapter confers procedural

rights.

(c) Full Exemptions. — This Chapter applies to

every agency except:

(1) The North Carolina National Guard in

exercising its court-martial jurisdiction.

(2) The Department of Human Resources

in exercising its authority over the

Camp Butner reservation granted in

Article 6 of Chapter 122C of the Gen-

eral Statutes.

(3) The Utilities Commission.

(4) The Industrial Commission.

(5) The Employment Security Commission.

(d) Exemptions From Rule Making. — Article

2A of this Chapter does not apply to the following:

(1) The Commission.

(2) The North Carolina Low-Level Radio-

active Waste Management Authority in

administering the provisions of G.S.

104G-10 and G.S. 104G-1 1.

(3) The North Carolina Hazardous Waste

Management Commission in administer-

ing the provisions of G.S. 130B-13 and

G.S. 130B-14.

(4) The Department of Revenue, except

that Parts 3 and 4 of Article 2A apply

to the Department.

(5) The North Carolina Air Cargo Airport

Authority with respect to the acquisi-

tion, construction, operation, or use.

including fees or charges, of any por-

tion of a cargo airport complex.

(e) Exemptions From Contested Case Provi-

sions. -- The contested case provisions of this

Chapter apply to all agencies and all proceedings

not expressly exempted from the Chapter. The

contested case provisions of this Chapter do not

apply to the following:

(1) The Department of Human Resources

and the Department of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources in com-

plying with the procedural safeguards

mandated by Section 680 of Part H of

Public Law 99-457 as amended (Educa-

tion of the Handicapped Act Amend-

ments of 1986).

(2) The Governors Waste Management

Board in administering the provisions of

G.S. 104E-6.2 and G.S. 130A-293.

(3) The North Carolina Low-Level Radio-

active Waste Management Authority in

administering the provisions of G.S.

104G-9, 104G-10. and 104G-11.

(4) The North Carolina Hazardous Waste

Management Commission in administer-

ing the provisions of G.S. 130B-11.

130B-13, and 130B-14.

(5) Hearings required pursuant to the Reha-

bilitation Act of 1973. (Public Law
93-122), as amended and federal regu-

lations promulgated thereunder. G.S.

150B-51(a) is considered a contested

case hearing provision that does not

apply to these hearings.

(6) The Department of Revenue.

(7) The Department of Correction.

(8) The Department of Transportation,

except as provided in G.S. 136-29.

(9) The Occupational Safety and Health

Review Board in all actions that do not

involve agricultural employers.

(10) The North Carolina Air Cargo Airport

Authority with respect to the acquisi-

tion, construction, operation, or use.

including fees or charges, of any por-

tion of a cargo airport complex.

(f) Exemption From All But Judicial Review. —

No Article in this Chapter except Article 4 applies

to the University of North Carolina.

§ 150B-2. Definitions. — As used in this

Chapter.

(01) "Administrative law judge" means a

person appointed under G.S. 7A-752.
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GENERAL STATUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA

7A-753. or 7A-757.

(1) "Agency" means an agency or an offi-

cer in the executive branch of the gov-

ernment of this State and includes the

Council of State, the Governor's Of-

fice, a board, a commission, a depart-

ment, a division, a council, and any

other unit of government in the execu-

tive branch. A local unit of govern-

ment is not an agency.

(la) "Adopt" means to take final action to

create, amend, or repeal a rule.

(lb) "Codifier of Rules" means the Chief

Administrative Law Judge of the Office

of Administrative Hearings or a desig-

nated representative of the Chief Ad-

ministrative Law Judge.

(lc) "Commission" means the Rules Review

Commission.

(2) "Contested case" means an administra-

tive proceeding pursuant to this Chapter

to resolve a dispute between an agency

and another person that involves the

person's rights, duties, or privileges,

including licensing or the levy of a

monetary penalty. "Contested case"

does not include rulemaking, declarato-

ry' rulings, or the award or denial of a

scholarship or grant.

(2a) Repealed.

(2b) "Hearing officer" means a person or

group of persons designated by an

agency that is subject to Article 3A of

this Chapter to preside in a contested

case hearing conducted under that Arti-

cle.

(3) "License" means any certificate, permit

or other evidence, by whatever name

called, of a right or privilege to engage

in any activity, except licenses issued

under Chapter 20 and Subchapter I of

Chapter 105 of the General Statutes and

occupational licenses.

(4) "Licensing" means any administrative

action issuing, failing to issue, suspend-

ing, or revoking a license or occupa-

tional license. "Licensing" does not

include controversies oxer whether an

examination was fair or whether the

applicant passed the examination.

(4a) Occupational license" means any certifi-

cate, permit, or other evidence, by

whatever name called, of a right or

privilege to engage in a profession,

occupation, or field of endeavor that is

issued by an occupational licensing

agency.

(4b) "Occupational licensing agency" means

any board, commission, committee or

other agency of the State of North

Carolina which is established for the

primary purpose of regulating the entry

of persons into, and/or the conduct of

persons within a particular profession,

occupation or field of endeavor, and

which is authorized to issue and revoke

licenses. "Occupational licensing agen-

cy" does not include State agencies or

departments which may as only a part

of their regular function issue permits

or licenses.

(5) "Party" means any person or agency

named or admitted as a party or proper-

ly seeking as of right to be admitted as

a party and includes the agency as

appropriate. This subdivision does not

permit an agency that makes a final

decision, or an officer or employee of

the agency, to petition for initial judi-

cial review of that decision.

(6) "Person aggrieved" means any person

or group of persons of common interest

directly or indirectly affected substan-

tially in his or its person, property, or

employment by an administrative deci-

sion.

(7) "Person" means any natural person,

partnership, corporation, body politic

and any unincorporated association,

organization, or society which may sue

or be sued under a common name.

(8) "Residence" means domicile or princi-

pal place of business.

(8a) "Rule" means any agency regulation.

standard, or statement of general appli-

cability that implements or interprets an

enactment of the General Assembly or

Congress or a regulation adopted by a

federal agency or that describes the

procedure or practice requirements of

an agency. The term includes the

establishment of a fee and the amend-

ment or repeal of a prior rule. The

term does not include the following:

a. Statements concerning only the

internal management of an agency

or group of agencies within the

same principal office or depart-

ment enumerated in G.S. 143-11

or 143B-6. including policies and
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GENERAL STATUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA

procedures manuals, if the state-

ment does not directly or substan-

tially affect the procedural or

substantive rights or duties of a

person not employed by the agen-

cy or group of agencies.

b. Budgets and budget policies and

procedures issued by the Director

of the Budget, by the head of a

department, as defined by G.S.

143A-2 or G.S. 143B-3. by an

occupational licensing board, as

defined by G.S. 93B-1. or by the

State Board of Elections.

c. Nonbinding interpretive state-

ments within the delegated author-

ity of an agency that merely

define, interpret, or explain the

meaning of a statute or rule.

d. A form, the contents or substan-

tive requirements of which are

prescribed by rule or statute.

e. Statements of agency policy made

in the context of another proceed-

ing, including:

1

.

Declaratory rulings under G.S.

150B-4.

2. Orders establishing or fixing

rates or tariffs.

f. Requirements, communicated to

the public by the use of signs or

symbols, concerning the use of

public roads, bridges, ferries,

buildings, or facilities.

g. Statements that set forth criteria

or guidelines to be used by the

staff of an agency in performing

audits, investigations, or inspec-

tions: in settling financial disputes

or negotiating financial arrange-

ments; or in the defense, prosecu-

tion, or settlement of cases.

h. Scientific, architectural, or engi-

neering standards, forms, or

procedures, including design

criteria and construction standards

used to construct or maintain

highways, bridges, or ferries.

i. Job classification standards, job

qualifications, and salaries estab-

lished for positions under the

jurisdiction of the State Personnel

Commission.

j. Establishment of the interest rate

that applies to tax assessments

under G.S. 105-241.1 and the

variable component of the excise

tax on motor fuel under G.S.

105-434.

(8b) "Substantial evidence" means relevant

evidence a reasonable mind might

accept as adequate to support a con-

clusion.

(9) Repealed.

§ 150B-3. Special provisions on licensing.

(a) When an applicant or a licensee makes a

timely and sufficient application for issuance or

renewal of a license or occupational license,

including the payment of any required license fee,

the existing license or occupational license does

not expire until a decision on the application is

finally made by the agency, and if the application

is denied or the terms of the new license or occu-

pational license are limited, until the last day for

applying for judicial review of the agency order.

This subsection does not affect agency action

summarily suspending a license or occupational

license under subsections (b) and (c) of this sec-

tion.

(b) Before the commencement of proceedings

for the suspension, revocation, annulment, with-

drawal, recall, cancellation, or amendment of any

license other than an occupational license, the

agency shall give notice to the licensee, pursuant

to the provisions of G.S. 150B-23. Before the

commencement of such proceedings involving an

occupational license, the agency shall give notice

pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B-38. In

either case, the licensee shall be given an opportu-

nity to show compliance with all lawful require-

ments for retention of the license or occupational

license.

(c) If the agency finds that the public health,

safety, or welfare requires emergency action and

incorporates this finding in its order, summary

suspension of a license or occupational license may

be ordered effective on the date specified in the

order or on service of the certified copy of the

order at the last known address of the licensee,

whichever is later, and effective during the pro-

ceedings. The proceedings shall be promptly

commenced and determined.

Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as

amending or repealing any special statutes, in

effect prior to February 1. 1976, which provide

for the summary suspension of a license.

§ 150B-4. Declaratory rulings.

(a) On request of a person aggrieved, an agency

shall issue a declaratory ruling as to the validity of

a rule or as to the applicability to a given state of
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facts of a statute administered by the agency or of

a rule or order of the agency, except when the

agency for good cause finds issuance of a ruling

undesirable. The agency shall prescribe in its

rules the circumstances in which rulings shall or

shall not be issued. A declaratory ruling is bind-

ing on the agency and the person requesting it

unless it is altered or set aside by the court. An
agency may not retroactively change a declaratory

ruling, but nothing in this section prevents an

agency from prospectively changing a declaratory'

ruling. A declaratory ruling is subject to judicial

review in the same manner as an order in a con-

tested case. Failure of the agency to issue a

declaratory ruling on the merits within 60 days of

the request for such ruling shall constitute a denial

of the request as well as a denial of the merits of

the request and shall be subject to judicial review.

(b) This section does not apply to the Depart-

ment of Correction.

Article 2.

Rule Making.

Repealed.

Article 2A.

Rules.

Part 1. General Provisions.

§ 150B-18. Scope and effect.

This Article applies to an agency's exercise of its

authority to adopt a rule. A rule is not valid

unless it is adopted in substantial compliance with

this Article.

§ 150B-19. Restrictions on what can be adopt-

ed as a rule.

An agency may not adopt a rule that does one or

more of the following:

( 1

)

Implements or interprets a law unless

that law or another law specifically

authorizes the agency to do so.

(2) Enlarges the scope of a profession,

occupation, or field of endeavor for

which an occupational license is re-

quired.

(3) Imposes criminal liability or a civil

penalty for an act or omission, includ-

ing the violation of a rule, unless a law

specifically authorizes the agency to do

so or a law declares that violation of

the rule is a criminal offense or is

grounds for a civil penalty.

(4) Repeats the content of a law, a rule, or

a federal regulation.

(5) Establishes a reasonable fee or other

reasonable charge for providing a ser-

vice in fulfillment of a duty unless a

law specifically authorizes the agency

to do so or the fee or other charge is

for one of the following:

a. A service to a State, federal, or local

governmental unit.

b. A copy of part or all of a State publi-

cation or other document, the cost of

mailing a document, or both.

c. A transcript of a public hearing.

d. A conference, workshop, or course.

e. Data processing services.

(6) Allows the agency to waive or modify

a requirement set in a rule unless a rule

establishes specific guidelines the agen-

cy must follow in determining whether

to waive or modify the requirement.

§ 150B-20. Petitioning an agency to adopt a

rule.

(a) Petition. -- A person may petition an agency

to adopt a rule by submitting to the agency a

written rule-making petition requesting the adop-

tion. A person may submit written comments with

a rule-making petition. If a rule-making petition

requests the agency to create or amend a rule, the

person must submit the proposed text of the

requested rule change and a statement of the effect

of the requested rule change. Each agency must

establish by rule the procedure for submitting a

rule-making petition to it and the procedure the

agency follows in considering a rule-making

petition.

(b) Time. — An agency must grant or deny a

rule-making petition submitted to it within 30 days

after the date the rule-making petition is submitted,

unless the agency is a board or commission. If the

agency is a board or commission, it must grant or

deny a rule-making petition within 120 days after

the date the rule-making petition is submitted.

(c) Action. -- If an agency denies a rule-making

petition, it must send the person who submitted the

petition a written statement of the reasons for

denying the petition. If an agency grants a

rule-making petition, it must inform the person

who submitted the rule-making petition of its

decision and must initiate rule-making proceedings.

When an agency grants a rule-making petition

requesting the creation or amendment of a rule, the

notice of rule making it publishes in the North

Carolina Register may state that the agency is

initiating rule-making proceedings as the result of

a rule-making petition, state the name of the

person who submitted the rule-making petition, set

out the text of the requested rule change submitted

with the rule-making petition, and state whether

the agency endorses the proposed rule change.
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(d) Review. — Denial of a rule-making petition

is a final agency decision and is subject to judicial

review under Article 4 of this Chapter. Failure of

an agency to grant or deny a rule-making petition

within the time limits set in subsection (b) is a

denial of the rule-making petition.

(e) Exception. — This section does not apply to

the Department of Correction.

§ 150B-21. Agency must designate

rule-making coordinator.

Each agency must designate one or more

rule-making coordinators to oversee the agency's

rule-making functions. The coordinator must

prepare notices of public hearings, coordinate

access to the agency's rules, and serve as the

liaison between the agency, other agencies, and the

public in the rule-making process.

Part 2. Adoption of Rules.

§ 150B-21.1. Procedure for adopting a tem-

porary rule.

(a) Adoption. — An agency may adopt a tempo-

rary rule without prior notice or hearing or upon

any abbreviated notice or hearing the agency finds

practical when it finds that adherence to the notice

and hearing requirements of this Part would be

contrary to the public interest and that the immedi-

ate adoption of the rule is required by one or more

of the following:

( 1

)

A serious and unforeseen threat to the

public health, safety, or welfare.

(2) The effective date of a recent act of the

General Assembly or the United States

Congress.

(3) A recent change in federal or State

budgetary policy.

(4) A federal regulation.

(5) A court order.

(6) The need for the rule to become effec-

tive the same date as the State Medical

Facilities Plan approved by the Gover-

nor, if the rule addresses a matter

included in the State Medical Facilities

Plan.

An agency must prepare a written statement of

its findings of need for a temporary rule. The

statement must be signed by the head of the agen-

cy adopting the rule.

An agency must begin rule-making proceedings

for a permanent rule by the day it adopts a tempo-

rary rule. An agency begins rule-making proceed-

ings for a permanent rule by submitting to the

codifier written notice of its intent to adopt a

permanent rule.

(b) Review. — When an agency adopts a tempo-

rary rule it must submit the rule, the agency's

written statement of its findings of need for the

rule, and the notice of intent to adopt a permanent

rule to the Codifier of Rules. Within one business

day after an agency submits a temporary rule, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written

statement of findings of need for the rule to deter-

mine whether the statement of need meets the

criteria listed in subsection (a). In reviewing the

statement, the Codifier of Rules may consider any

information submitted by the agency or another

person. If the Codifier of Rules finds that the

statement meets the criteria, the Codifier of Rules

must notify the head of the agency and enter the

rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

If the Codifier of Rules finds that the statement

does not meet the criteria, the Codifier of Rules

must immediately notify the head of the agency.

The agency may supplement its statement of need

with additional findings or submit a new statement.

If the agency provides additional findings or

submits a new statement, the Codifier of Rules

must review the additional findings or new state-

ment within one business day after the agency

submits the additional findings or new statement.

If the Codifier of Rules again finds that the state-

ment does not meet the criteria listed in subsection

(a), the Codifier of Rules must immediately notify

the head of the agency.

If an agency decides not to provide additional

findings or submit a new statement when notified

by the Codifier of Rules that the agency's findings

of need for a rule do not meet the required crite-

ria, the agency must notify the Codifier of Rules

of its decision. The Codifier of Rules must then

enter the rule in the North Carolina Administrative

Code on the sixth business day after receiving

notice of the agency's decision.

(c) Standing. -- A person aggrieved by a tempo-

rary rule adopted by an agency may file an action

for declaratory judgment in Wake County Superior

Court pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of the

General Statutes. In the action, the court shall

determine whether the agency's written statement

of findings of need for the rule meets the criteria

listed in subsection (a) and whether the rule meets

the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9 that apply to

review of a permanent rule. The court may not

grant an ex parte temporary restraining order.

Filing a petition for rule making or a request for

a declaratory ruling with the agency that adopted

the rule is not a prerequisite to filing an action

under this subsection. A person who files an

action for declaratory judgment under this subsec-

tion must serve a copy of the complaint on the

agency that adopted the rule being contested, the
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Codifier of Rules, and the Commission.

(d) Effective Date and Expiration. -- A tempo-

rary rule becomes effective on the date specified in

G.S. 150B-21.3. A temporary rule expires on the

date specified in the rule or 180 days from the date

the rule becomes effective, whichever comes first.

§ 150B-21.2. Procedure for adopting a per-

manent rule.

(a) Notice. -- Before an agency adopts a perma-

nent rule, it must publish notice of its intent to

adopt a permanent rule in the North Carolina

Register and as required by any other law. The

notice published in the North Carolina Register

must include all of the following:

( 1 ) Either the text of the proposed rule or

a statement of the subject matter of the

proposed rule making.

(2) A short explanation of the reason for

the proposed action.

(3) A citation to the law that gives the

agency the authority to adopt the pro-

posed rule, if the notice includes the

text of the proposed rule, or a citation

to the law that gives the agency the

authority to adopt a rule on the subject

matter of the proposed rule making, if

the notice includes only a statement of

the subject matter of the proposed rule

making.

(4) The proposed effective date of the

proposed rule, if the notice includes the

text of the proposed rule, or the pro-

posed effective date of a rule adopted

on the subject matter of the proposed

rule making, if the notice includes only

a statement of the subject matter of the

proposed rule making.

(5) The date. time, and place of any public

hearing scheduled on the proposed rule

or subject matter of the proposed rule

making.

(6) Instructions on how a person may
demand a public hearing on a proposed

rule if the notice does not schedule a

public hearing on the proposed rule and

subsection (c) requires the agency to

hold a public hearing on the proposed

rule when requested to do so.

(7) The period of time during which and

the person to whom written comments

may be submitted on the proposed rule

or subject matter of the proposed rule

making

(8) If a fiscal note has been prepared for

the proposed rule or will be prepared

when a rule is proposed on the subject

matter of the proposed rule making, a

statement that a copy of the fiscal note

can be obtained from the agency.

(b) Mailing List. -- An agency must maintain a

mailing list of persons who have requested notice

of rule making. When an agency publishes a

rule-making notice in the North Carolina Register,

it must mail a copy of the notice to each person on

the mailing list who has requested notice of

rule-making proceedings on the rule or the subject

matter for rule making described in the notice. An
agency may charge an annual fee to each person

on the agency's mailing list to cover copying and

mailing costs.

(c) Hearing. — An agency must hold a public

hearing on a rule it proposes to adopt in two

circumstances and may hold a public hearing in

other circumstances. When an agency is required

to hold a public hearing on a proposed rule or

decides to hold a public hearing on a proposed rule

when it is not required to do so. the agency must

publish in the North Carolina Register a notice of

the date. time, and place of the public hearing.

The hearing date of a public hearing held after the

agency publishes notice of the hearing in the North

Carolina Register must be at least 15 days after the

date the notice is published.

An agency must hold a public hearing on a rule

it proposes to adopt in the following two circum-

stances:

( 1

)

The agency publishes a statement of the

subject matter of the proposed rule

making in the notice in the North Caro-

lina Register.

(2) The agency publishes the text of the

proposed rule in the notice in the North

Carolina Register and all the following

apply:

a. The notice does not schedule a public

hearing on the proposed rule.

b. Within 15 days after the notice is

published, the agency receives a

written request for a public hearing on

the proposed rule.

c. The proposed rule is not part of a

rule-making proceeding the agency

initiated by publishing a statement of

the subject matter of proposed rule

making.

d. The proposed text is not a changed

version of proposed text the agency

previously published in the course of

rule-making proceedings but did not

adopt.
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(d) Text After Subject-Matter Notice. — When
an agency publishes notice of the subject matter of

proposed rule making in the North Carolina

Register, it must subsequently publish in the North

Carolina Register the text of the rule it proposes to

adopt as a result of the public hearing and of any

comments received on the subject matter. An

agency may not publish the proposed text of a rule

for which it published a subject-matter notice

before the public hearing on the subject matter.

(e) Comments. -- An agency must accept com-

ments on the text of a proposed rule published in

the North Carolina Register for at least 30 days

after the text is published or until the date of any

public hearing held on the proposed rule, whichev-

er is longer. An agency must accept comments on

a statement of the subject matter of proposed rule

making until the public hearing on the subject

matter. An agency must consider fully all written

and oral comments received.

(f) Adoption. -- An agency may not adopt a rule

until the time for commenting on the proposed text

of the rule has elapsed and may not adopt a rule if

more than 12 months have elapsed since the end of

the time for commenting on the proposed text of

the rule. An agency may not adopt a rule that

differs substantially from the text of a proposed

rule published in the North Carolina Register

unless the agency publishes the text of the pro-

posed different rule in the North Carolina Register

and accepts comments on the proposed different

rule for the time set in subsection (e).

An adopted rule differs substantially from a

proposed rule if it does one or more of the follow-

ing:

(1) Affects the interests of persons who,

based on the notice published in the

North Carolina Register or the pro-

posed text of the rule, could not reason-

ably have determined that the rule

would affect their interests.

(2) Addresses a subject matter or an issue

that is not addressed in the proposed

text of the rule.

(3) Produces an effect that could not rea-

sonably have been expected based on

the proposed text of the rule.

When an agency adopts a rule, it may not take

subsequent action on the rule without following the

procedures in this Part.

(g) Explanation. — An agency must issue a

concise written statement explaining why the

agency adopted a rule if, within 30 days after the

agency adopts the rule, a person asks the agency to

do so. The explanation must state the principal

reasons for and against adopting the rule and must

discuss why the agency rejected any arguments

made or considerations urged against the adoption

of the rule.

(h) Record. — An agency must keep a record of

a rule-making proceeding. The record must

include all written comments received, a transcript

or recording of any public hearing held on the

rule, and any written explanation made by the

agency for adopting the rule.

§ 150B-21.3. Effective date of rules.

(a) Temporary Rule. -- A temporary rule be-

comes effective on the date the Codifier of Rules

enters the rule in the North Carolina Administra-

tive Code.

(b) Permanent Rule. — A permanent rule ap-

proved by the Commission becomes effective five

business days after the Commission delivers the

rule to the Codifier of Rules, unless the agency

adopting the rule specifies a later effective date.

If the agency specifies a later effective date, the

rule becomes effective on that date.

A permanent rule that is not approved by the

Commission becomes effective five business days

after the agency adopting the rule delivers the rule

to the Codifier of Rules, unless the agency adopt-

ing the rule specifies a later effective date. If the

agency specifies a later effective date, the rule

becomes effective on that date.

(c) OSHA Standard. -- A permanent rule con-

cerning an occupational safety and health standard

that is adopted by the Occupational Safety and

Health Division of the Department of Labor and is

identical to a federal regulation promulgated by the

Secretary of the United States Department of

Labor becomes effective on the date the Division

delivers the rule to the Codifier of Rules, unless

the Division specifies a later effective date. If the

Division specifies a later effective date, the rule

becomes effective on that date.

§ 150B-21.4. Fiscal notes on rules.

(a) State Funds. -- Before an agency publishes in

the North Carolina Register the proposed text of a

permanent rule change that would require the

expenditure or distribution of funds subject to the

Executive Budget Act, Article 1 of Chapter 143, it

must submit the text of the proposed rule change

and a fiscal note on the proposed rule change to

the Director of the Budget and obtain certification

from the Director that the funds that would be

required by the proposed rule change are available.

The fiscal note must state the amount of funds that

would be expended or distributed as a result of the

proposed rule change and explain how the amount

was computed. The Director of the Budget must
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certify a proposed rule change if funds are avail-

able to cover the expenditure or distribution

required by the proposed rule change.

(b) Local Funds. — Before an agency publishes

in the North Carolina Register the proposed text of

a permanent rule change that would affect the

expenditures or revenues of a unit of local govern-

ment, it must submit the text of the proposed rule

change and a fiscal note on the proposed rule

change to the Fiscal Research Division of the

General Assembly, the Office of State Budget and

Management, the North Carolina Association of

County Commissioners, and the North Carolina

League of Municipalities. The fiscal note must

state the amount by which the proposed rule

change would increase or decrease expenditures or

revenues of a unit of local government and must

explain how the amount was computed.

(c) Errors. -- An erroneous fiscal note prepared

in good faith does not affect the validity of a rule.

§ 150B-21.5. Circumstances when notice and

rule-making hearing not required.

(a) Amendment. -- An agency is not required to

publish a notice of rule making in the North

Carolina Register or hold a public hearing when it

proposes to amend a rule, without changing the

substance of the rule, to do one of the following:

( 1 ) Reletter or renumber the rule or

subparts of the rule.

(2) Substitute one name for another when

an organization or position is renamed.

(3) Correct a citation in the rule to another

rule or law when the citation has be-

come inaccurate since the rule was

adopted because of the repeal or renum-

bering of the cited rule or law.

(4) Change information that is readily

available to the public, such as an

address or a telephone number.

(5) Correct a typographical error made in

entering the rule in the North Carolina

Administrative Code.

(6) Change a rule in response to a request

or an objection by the Commission.

(b) Repeal. -- An agency is not required to

publish a notice of rule making in the North

Carolina Register or hold a public hearing when it

proposes to repeal a rule as a result of any of the

following:

( 1 ) The law under which the rule was

adopted is repealed.

(2) The law under which the rule was

adopted or the rule itself is declared

unconstitutional.

(3) The rule is declared to be in excess of

the agency's statutory authority.

(c) OSHA Standard. - The Occupational Safety

and Health Division of the Department of Labor is

not required to publish a notice of rule making in

the North Carolina Register or hold a public

hearing when it proposes to adopt a rule that

concerns an occupational safety and health stan-

dard and is identical to a federal regulation pro-

mulgated by the Secretary of the United States

Department of Labor. The Occupational Safety

and Health Division is not required to submit to

the Commission for review a rule for which notice

and hearing is not required under this subsection.

§ 150B-21.6. Incorporating material in a rule

by reference.

An agency may incorporate the following materi-

al by reference in a rule without repeating the text

of the referenced material:

( 1

)

Another rule or part of a rule adopted by

the agency.

(2) All or part of a code, standard, or regula-

tion adopted by another agency, the

federal government, or a generally recog-

nized organization or association.

(3) Material adopted to meet a requirement

of the federal government.

In incorporating material by reference, the

agency must designate in the rule whether or not

the incorporation includes subsequent amendments

and editions of the referenced material. The

agency can change this designation only by a

subsequent rule-making proceeding. The agency

must have copies of the incorporated material

available for inspection and must specify in the

rule both where copies of the material can be

obtained and the cost on the date the rule is adopt-

ed of a copy of the material.

A statement in a rule that a rule incorporates

material by reference in accordance with former

G.S. I50B-14(b) is a statement that the rule does

not include subsequent amendments and editions of

the referenced material. A statement in a rule that

a rule incorporates material by reference in accor-

dance with former G.S. 150B- 14(c) is a statement

that the rule includes subsequent amendments and

editions of the referenced material.

§ 150B-21.7. Effect of transfer of duties or

termination of agency on rules.

When a law that authorizes an agency to adopt a

rule is repealed and another law gives the same or

another agency substantially the same authority to

adopt a rule, the rule remains in effect until the

agency amends or repeals the rule. When a law

that authorizes an agency to adopt a rule is re-

pealed and another law does not give the same or
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another agency substantially the same authority to

adopt a rule, a rule adopted under the repealed law

is repealed as of the date the law is repealed.

When an executive order abolishes part or all of

an agency and transfers a function of that agency

to another agency, a rule concerning the trans-

ferred function remains in effect until the agency

to which the function is transferred amends or

repeals the rule. When an executive order abolish-

es part or all of an agency and does not transfer a

function of that agency to another agency, a rule

concerning a function abolished by the executive

order is repealed as of the effective date of the

executive order.

The Director of Fiscal Research of the General

Assembly must notify the Codifier of Rules when

a rule is repealed under this section. When noti-

fied of a rule repealed under this section, the

Codifier of Rules must enter the repeal of the rule

in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

Part 3. Review by Commission.

§ 150B-21.8. Review of rule by Commission.

(a) Temporary Rule. — The Commission does

not review a temporary rule.

(b) Permanent Rule. -- An agency must submit

a permanent rule adopted by it to the Commission

before the rule can be included in the North

Carolina Administrative Code. The Commission

reviews a permanent rule in accordance with the

standards in G.S. 150B-21.9 and follows the

procedure in this Part in its review of a permanent

rule.

(c) Scope. -- When the Commission reviews an

amendment to a rule, it may review the entire rule

that is being amended. The procedure in G.S.

150B-21.12 applies when the Commission objects

to a part of a rule that is within its scope of review

but is not changed by a rule amendment.

§ 150B-21.9. Standards and timetable for

review by Commission.

(a) Standards. — The Commission must deter-

mine whether a rule meets all of the following

criteria:

( 1

)

It is within the authority delegated to

the agency by the General Assembly.

(2) It is clear and unambiguous.

(3) It is reasonably necessary to fulfill a

duty delegated to the agency by the

General Assembly.

The Commission may determine if a rule submit-

ted to it was adopted in accordance with Part 2 of

this Article. The Commission must notify the

agency that adopted the rule if it determines that a

rule was not adopted in accordance with Part 2 of

this Article and must return the rule to the agency.

Entry of a rule in the North Carolina Administra-

tive Code after review by the Commission is

conclusive evidence that the rule was adopted in

accordance with Part 2 of this Article.

(b) Timetable. -- The Commission must review

a rule submitted to it on or before the twentieth of

a month by the last day of the next month. The

Commission must review a rule submitted to it

after the twentieth of a month by the last day of

the second subsequent month.

§ 150B-21.10. Commission action on perma-

nent rule.

At the first meeting at which a permanent rule is

before the Commission for review, the Commis-

sion must take one of the following actions:

(1) Approve the rule, if the Commission

determines that the rule meets the stan-

dards for review.

(2) Object to the rule, if the Commission

determines that the rule does not meet the

standards for review.

(3) Extend the period for reviewing the rule,

if the Commission determines it needs

additional information on the rule to be

able to decide whether the rule meets the

standards for review.

In reviewing a new rule or an amendment to an

existing rule, the Commission may request an

agency to make technical changes to the rule and

may condition its approval of the rule on the

agency's making the requested technical changes.

§ 150B-21.il. Procedure when Commission

approves permanent rule.

When the Commission approves a permanent

rule, it must notify the agency that adopted the

rule of the Commission's approval and must

deliver the approved rule to the Codifier of Rules.

The Commission must deliver an approved rule by

the end of the month in which the Commission

approved the rule, unless the agency asks the

Commission to delay the delivery of the rule.

§ 150B-21.12. Procedure when Commission

objects to a permanent rule.

(a) Action. -- When the Commission objects to

a permanent rule, it must send the agency that

adopted the rule a written statement of the objec-

tion and the reason for the objection. The agency

that adopted the rule must take one of the follow-

ing actions:

( 1

)

Change the rule to satisfy the

Commission's objection and submit the

revised rule to the Commission.

(2) Submit a written response to the Com-
mission indicating that the agency has

decided not to change the rule.
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An agency that is not a board or commission

must take one of these actions within 30 days after

receiving the Commission's statement of objection.

A board or commission must take one of these

actions within 30 days after receiving the

Commission's statement of objection or within 10

days after the board or commission's next regular-

ly scheduled meeting, whichever comes later.

When an agency changes a rule in response to an

objection by the Commission, the Commission

must determine whether the change satisfies the

Commission's objection. If it does, the Commis-

sion must approve the rule. If it does not. the

Commission must send the agency a written

statement of the Commission's continued objection

and the reason for the continued objection.

A rule to which the Commission has objected

remains under review by the Commission until the

agency that adopted the rule decides not to satisfy

the Commission's objection and makes a written

request to the Commission to return the rule to the

agency. When the Commission returns a rule to

which it has objected, it may send to the President

of the Senate and each member of the General

Assembly a report of its objection to the rule.

(b) Entry in Code. — When the Commission

returns a rule to which it has objected to the

agency that adopted the rule, the Commission must

notify the Codifier of Rules of its action and of the

basis of the Commission's objection. An agency

whose rule is returned may file the rule with the

Codifier of Rules. When the Codifier of Rules

enters in the North Carolina Administrative Code

a rule to which the Commission objected, the entry

must reflect the Commission's objection and must

state the standard on which the Commission based

its objection.

§ 150B-21 . 13. Procedure when Commission

extends period for review of permanent rule.

When the Commission extends the period for

review of a permanent rule, it must notify the

agency that adopted the rule of the extension and

the reason for the extension. After the Commis-

sion extends the period for review of a rule, it may

call a public hearing on the rule. Within 70 days

after extending the period for review of a rule, the

Commission must decide whether to approve the

rule, object to the rule, or call a public hearing on

the rule.

§ 150B-21 . 14. Public hearing on a rule.

The Commission may call a public hearing on a

rule when it extends the period for review of the

rule. At the request of an agency, the Commission

may call a public hearing on a rule that is not

before it for review. Calling a public hearing on

a rule not already before the Commission for

review places the rule before the Commission for

review. When the Commission decides to call a

public hearing on a rule, it must publish notice of

the public hearing in the North Carolina Register.

After a public hearing on a rule, the Commission

must approve the rule or object to the rule in

accordance with the standards and procedures in

this Part. The Commission must make its decision

of whether to approve or object to the rule within

70 days after the public hearing.

§ 150B-21.15. Declaratory judgment action

authorized when Commission objects to a per-

manent rule.

(a) Standing. -- A person aggrieved by a perma-

nent rule entered in the North Carolina Adminis-

trative Code with an objection by the Commission

based on a lack of statutory authority may file an

action for declaratory judgment in Wake County

Superior Court pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter

1 of the General Statutes. In the action, the court

shall determine whether the agency exceeded its

authority in adopting the rule.

A declaratory judgment action under this section

must be filed within 90 days after the rule that is

the subject of the action is entered in the Code.

Filing a petition for rule making or a request for a

declaratory ruling with the agency that adopted the

rule is not a prerequisite to filing an action under

this section. A person who files an action for

declaratory judgment under this section must serve

a copy of the complaint on the agency that adopted

the rule being contested, the Codifier of Rules, and

the Commission.

(b) Record. -- Within 10 days after a declarator)'

judgment action is filed under this section, the

agency that adopted the rule that is the subject of

the action must send to the court the original or a

certified copy of the record in the Commission's

review of the rule. The record consists of the

rule, the Commission's letter of objection to the

rule, the agency's written response to the

Commission's letter, and any other relevant docu-

ments before the Commission when it decided to

object to the rule.

(c) Effect. -- A rule remains in effect during

the pendency of an action for declaratory judgment

under this section unless the court suspends the

rule after finding that the agency that adopted the

rule has no substantial likelihood of prevailing in

the action.

(d) Changes. -- While a rule is the subject of a

declaratory judgment action under this section, the

agency that adopted the rule may submit to the

Commission changes in the rule to satisfy the
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Commission's objection. If the Commission

determines that changes submitted to it satisfy its

objection, the Commission must accept the changes

and file the revised rule with the Codifier of

Rules. The Codifier must then enter the rule in

the North Carolina Administrative Code. When
the Commission determines that changes submitted

to it satisfy its objection, the agency that submitted

the changes must notify the court of the changes

and of the Commission's action.

Part 4. Publication of Code and Register.

§ 150B-21.17. North Carolina Register.

(a) Content. -- The Codifier of Rules must

publish the North Carolina Register. The North

Carolina Register must be published at least two

times a month and must contain the following:

( 1 ) Notices of proposed adoptions of rules.

(2) Notices of receipt of a petition for

municipal incorporation, as required by

G.S. 120-165.

(3) Executive orders of the Governor.

(4) Final decision letters from the United

States Attorney General concerning

changes in laws that affect voting in a

jurisdiction subject to § 5 of the Voting

Rights Act of 1965, as required by

G.S. 120-30. 9H.

(5) Orders of the Tax Review Board issued

under G.S. 105-241.2.

(6) Other information the Codifier deter-

mines helpful to the public.

(b) Form. -- When an agency publishes notice in

the North Carolina Register of the proposed text of

a new rule, the Codifier of Rules must publish the

complete text of the proposed new rule. In pub-

lishing the text of a proposed new rule, the Codifi-

er must indicate the rule is new by underlining the

proposed text of the rule.

When an agency publishes notice in the North

Carolina Register of the proposed text of an

amendment to an existing rule, the Codifier must

publish the complete text of the rule that is being

amended unless the Codifier determines that

publication of the complete text of the rule being

amended is not necessary to enable the reader to

understand the proposed amendment. In publish-

ing the text of a proposed amendment to a rule,

the Codifier must indicate deleted text with over-

strikes and added text with underlines.

When an agency publishes notice in the North

Carolina Register of the proposed repeal of an

existing rule, the Codifier must publish the com-

plete text of the rule the agency proposes to repeal

unless the Codifier determines that publication of

the complete text is impractical. In publishing the

text of a rule the agency proposes to repeal, the

Codifier must indicate the rule is to be repealed.

§ 150B-21.18. North Carolina Administrative

Code.

The Codifier of Rules must compile all rules into

a Code known as the North Carolina Administra-

tive Code. The format and indexing of the Code

must conform as nearly as practical to the format

and indexing of the North Carolina General Stat-

utes. The Codifier must publish printed copies of

the Code and may publish the Code in other

forms. The Codifier must keep the Code current

by publishing the Code in a loose-leaf format and

periodically providing new pages to be substituted

for outdated pages, by publishing the Code in

volumes and periodically publishing cumulative

supplements, or by another means. The Codifier

must keep superseded rules.

§ 150B-21.19. Requirements for including

rule in Code.

To be acceptable for inclusion in the North

Carolina Administrative Code, a rule must:

( 1 ) Cite the law under which the rule is

adopted.

(2) Be signed by the head of the agency or

the rule-making coordinator for the agen-

cy that adopted the rule.

(3) Be in the physical form specified by the

Codifier of Rules.

(4) Have been reviewed by the Commission,

if the rule is a permanent rule.

§ 150B-21.20. Codifier's authority to revise

form of rules.

(a) Authority. -- After consulting with the

agency that adopted the rule, the Codifier of Rules

may revise the form of a rule submitted for inclu-

sion in the North Carolina Administrative Code

within 10 business days after the rule is submitted

to do one or more of the following:

( 1 ) Rearrange the order of the rule in the

Code or the order of the subsections,

subdivisions, or other subparts of the

rule.

(2) Provide a catch line or heading for the

rule or revise the catch line or heading

of the rule.

(3) Reletter or renumber the rule or the

subparts of the rule in accordance with

a uniform system.

(4) Rearrange definitions and lists.

(5) Make other changes in arrangement or

in form that do not change the sub-

stance of the rule and are necessary or

desirable for a clear and orderly ar-

rangement of the rule.
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(b) Effect. — Revision of a rule by the Codifier

of Rules under this section does not affect the

effective date of the rule or require the agency to

readopt or resubmit the rule. When the Codifier

of Rules revises the form of a rule, the Codifier of

Rules must send the agency that adopted the rule

a copy of the revised rule. The revised rule is the

official rule.

§ 150B-21.21. Publication of rules of North

Carolina State Bar and exempt agencies.

(a) State Bar. -- The North Carolina State Bar

must submit a rule adopted or approved by it and

entered in the minutes of the North Carolina

Supreme Court to the Codifier of Rules for inclu-

sion in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

The State Bar must submit a rule within 15 days

after it is entered in the minutes of the Supreme

Court. The Codifier of Rules must compile, make

available for public inspection, and publish a rule

included in the North Carolina Administrative

Code under this subsection in the same manner as

other rules in the Code.

(b) Exempt Agencies. — Notwithstanding G.S.

150B-1, the North Carolina Utilities Commission

must submit to the Codifier of Rules those rules of

the Utilities Commission that are published from

time to time in the publication titled "North Caroli-

na Utilities Laws and Regulations." The Utilities

Commission must submit a rule required to be

included in the Code within 15 days after it is

adopted. The Codifier of Rules must publish the

rules submitted by the Utilities Commission in the

North Carolina Administrative Code in the same

format as they are submitted.

Notwithstanding G.S. 150B-1, an agency other

than the Utilities Commission that is exempted

from this Article by that statute must submit a

temporary or permanent rule adopted by it to the

Codifier of Rules for inclusion in the North Caroli-

na Administrative Code. One of these exempt

agencies must submit a rule to the Codifier of

Rules within 15 days after it adopts the rule. The

Codifier of Rules must compile, make available for

public inspection, and publish a rule of one of

these agencies in the North Carolina Administra-

tive Code in the same manner as other rules in the

Code.

§ 150B-21. 22. Effect of inclusion in Code.

Official or judicial notice can be taken of a rule

in the North Carolina Administrative Code and

shall be taken when appropriate. Codification of a

rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code is

prima facie evidence of compliance with this

Article.

§ 150B-21.23. Rule publication manual.

The Codifier of Rules must publish a manual that

sets out the form and method for publishing a

notice of rule making in the North Carolina Regis-

ter and for filing a rule in the North Carolina

Administrative Code.

§ 150B-21.24. Free copies of Register and

Code.

(a) Register. — The Codifier of Rules must

distribute copies of the North Carolina Register as

soon after publication as practical, without charge,

to the following:

(1) A person who receives a free copy of

the North Carolina Administrative

Code.

(2) Upon request, one copy to each mem-
ber of the General Assembly.

(b) Code. — The Codifier of Rules must distrib-

ute copies of the North Carolina Administrative

Code as soon after publication as practical, without

charge, to the following:

( 1

)

One copy to the board of commission-

ers of each county, to be placed at the

county clerk of court's office or at

another place selected by the board of

commissioners.

(2) One copy to the Commission.

(3) One copy to the Clerk of the Supreme

Court and to the Clerk of the Court of

Appeals of North Carolina.

(4) One copy to the Supreme Court Library

and one copy to the library of the Court

of Appeals.

(5) One copy to the Administrative Office

of the Courts.

(6) One copy to the Governor.

(7) Five copies to the Legislative Services

Commission for the use of the General

Assembly.

(8) Upon request, one copy to each State

official or department to whom or to

which copies of the appellate division

reports are furnished under G.S.

7A-343.1.

(9) Five copies to the Division of State

Library of the Department of Cultural

Resources pursuant to G.S. 125-11.7.

§ 150B-21.25. Paid copies of Register and

Code.

A person who is not entitled to a free copy of the

North Carolina Administrative Code or North

Carolina Register may obtain a copy by paying a

fee set by the Codifier of Rules. The Codifier

must set separate fees for the North Carolina

Register and the North Carolina Administrative

Code in amounts that cover publication, copying.
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and mailing costs. All monies received under this

section must be credited to the General Fund.

Article 3.

Administrative Hearings.

§ 150B-22. Settlement; contested case.

It is the policy of this State that any dispute

between an agency and another person that in-

volves the person's rights, duties, or privileges,

including licensing or the levy of a monetary

penalty, should be settled through informal proce-

dures. In trying to reach a settlement through

informal procedures, the agency may not conduct

a proceeding at which sworn testimony is taken

and witnesses may be cross-examined. If the

agency and the other person do not agree to a

resolution of the dispute through informal proce-

dures, either the agency or the person may com-

mence an administrative proceeding to determine

the person's rights, duties, or privileges, at which

time the dispute becomes a "contested case."

§ 150B-23. Commencement; assignment of

administrative law judge; hearing required;

notice: intervention.

(a) A contested case shall be commenced by

filing a petition with the Office of Administrative

Hearings and, except as provided in Article 3A of

this Chapter, shall be conducted by that Office.

The party who files the petition shall serve a copy

of the petition on all other parties and, if the

dispute concerns a license, the person who holds

the license. A party who files a petition shall file

a certificate of service together with the petition.

A petition shall be signed by a party or a represen-

tative of the party and, if filed by a party other

than an agency, shall state facts tending to estab-

lish that the agency named as the respondent has

deprived the petitioner of property, has ordered the

petitioner to pay a fine or civil penalty, or has

otherwise substantially prejudiced the petitioner's

rights and that the agency:

(1) Exceeded its authority or jurisdiction;

(2) Acted erroneously;

(3) Failed to use proper procedure;

(4) Acted arbitrarily or capriciously; or

(5) Failed to act as required by law or rule.

The parties in a contested case shall be given an

opportunity for a hearing without undue delay.

Any person aggrieved may commence a contested

case hereunder.

A local government employee, applicant for

employment, or former employee to whom Chap-

ter 126 of the General Statutes applies may com-

mence a contested case under this Article in the

same manner as any other petitioner. The case

shall be conducted in the Office of Administrative

Hearings in the same manner as other contested

cases under this Article, except that the decision of

the State Personnel Commission shall be advisory

only and not binding on the local appointing

authority, unless (1) the employee, applicant, or

former employee has been subjected to discrimina-

tion prohibited by Article 6 of Chapter 126 of the

General Statutes or (2) applicable federal stan-

dards require a binding decision. In these two

cases, the State Personnel Commission's decision

shall be binding.

(al) Repealed by Session Laws 1985 (Reg.

Sess.. 1986), c. 1022, s. 1(9).

(a2) An administrative law judge assigned to a

contested case may require a party to the case to

file a prehearing statement. A party's prehearing

statement must be served on all other parties to the

contested case.

(b) The parties to a contested case shall be given

a notice of hearing not less than 15 days before the

hearing by the Office of Administrative Hearings.

If prehearing statements have been filed in the

case, the notice shall state the date, hour, and

place of the hearing. If prehearing statements

have not been filed in the case, the notice shall

state the date. hour, place, and nature of the

hearing, shall list the particular sections of the

statutes and rules involved, and shall give a short

and plain statement of the factual allegations.

(c) Notice shall be given personally or by

certified mail. If given by certified mail, it shall

be deemed to have been given on the delivery date

appearing on the return receipt. If giving of notice

cannot be accomplished either personally or by

certified mail, notice shall then be given in the

manner provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(jl).

(d) Any person may petition to become a party

by filing a motion to intervene in the manner

provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 24. In addition, any

person interested in a contested case may intervene

and participate in that proceeding to the extent

deemed appropriate by the administrative law

judge.

(e) All hearings under this Chapter shall be open

to the public. Hearings shall be conducted in an

impartial manner. Hearings shall be conducted

according to the procedures set out in this Article,

except to the extent and in the particulars that

specific hearing procedures and time standards are

governed by another statute.

(f) Unless another statute or a federal statute or

regulation sets a time limitation for the filing of a

petition in contested cases against a specified

agency, the general limitation for the filing of a

petition in a contested case is 60 days. The time
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limitation, whether established by another statute,

federal statute, or federal regulation, or this

section, shall commence when notice is given of

the agency decision to all persons aggrieved who

are known to the agency by personal delivery or

by the placing of the notice in an official deposito-

ry of the United States Postal Service wrapped in

a wrapper addressed to the person at the latest

address given by the person to the agency. The

notice shall be in writing, and shall set forth the

agency action, and shall inform the persons of the

right, the procedure, and the time limit to file a

contested case petition. When no informal settle-

ment request has been received by the agency

prior to issuance of the notice, any subsequent

informal settlement request shall not suspend the

time limitation for the filing of a petition for a

contested case hearing.

§ 150B-24. Venue of hearing.

(a) The hearing of a contested case shall be

conducted:

( 1

)

In the county in this State in which any

person whose property or rights are the

subject matter of the hearing maintains

his residence;

(2) In the county where the agency main-

tains its principal office if the property

or rights that are the subject matter of

the hearing do not affect any person or

if the subject matter of the hearing is

the property or rights of residents of

more than one county; or

(3) In any county determined by the admin-

istrative law judge in his discretion to

promote the ends of justice or better

serve the convenience of witnesses.

(b) Any person whose property or rights are the

subject matter of the hearing waives his objection

to venue by proceeding in the hearing.

§ 150B-25. Conduct of hearing: answer.

(a) If a party fails to appear in a contested case

after proper service of notice, and if no adjourn-

ment or continuance is granted, the administrative

law judge may proceed with the hearing in the

absence of the party.

(b) Repealed.

(c) The parties shall be given an opportunity to

present arguments on issues of law and policy and

an opportunity to present evidence on issues of

fact.

(d) A party may cross-examine any witness,

including the author of a document prepared by,

on behalf of. or for use of the agency and offered

in evidence. Any party may submit rebuttal evidence.

§ 150B-26. Consolidation.

When contested cases involving a common
question of law or fact or multiple proceedings

involving the same or related parties are pending,

the Director of the Office of Administrative Hear-

ings may order a joint hearing of any matters at

issue in the cases, order the cases consolidated, or

make other orders to reduce costs or delay in the

proceedings.

§ 150B-27. Subpoena.

After the commencement of a contested case,

subpoenas may be issued and served in accordance

with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 45. In addition to the

methods of service in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 45, a State

law enforcement officer may serve a subpoena on

behalf of an agency that is a party to the contested

case by any method by which a sheriff may serve

a subpoena under that Rule. Upon a motion, the

administrative law judge may quash a subpoena if.

upon a hearing, the administrative law judge finds

that the evidence the production of which is re-

quired does not relate to a matter in issue, the

subpoena does not describe with sufficient particu-

larity the evidence the production of which is

required, or for any other reason sufficient in law

the subpoena may be quashed. Witness fees shall

be paid by the party requesting the subpoena to

subpoenaed witnesses in accordance with G.S.

7A-314. However, State officials or employees

who are subpoenaed shall not be entitled to witness

fees, but they shall receive their normal salary and

they shall not be required to take any annual leave

for the witness days. Travel expenses of State

officials or employees who are subpoenaed shall be

reimbursed as provided in G.S. 138-6.

§ 150B-28. Depositions and discovery.

(a) A deposition may be used in lieu of other

evidence when taken in compliance with the Rules

of Civil Procedure. G.S. 1A-1. Parties in contest-

ed cases may engage in discovery pursuant to the

provisions of the Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S.

1A-1.

(b) On a request for identifiable agency records,

with respect to material facts involved in a contest-

ed case, except records related solely to the inter-

nal procedures of the agency or which are exempt

from disclosure by law, an agency shall promptly

make the records available to a party.

§ 150B-29. Rules of evidence.

(a) In all contested cases, irrelevant, immaterial

and unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded.

Except as otherwise provided, the rules of evi-

dence as applied in the trial division of the General

Court of Justice shall be followed; but, when

evidence is not reasonably available under the

rules to show relevant facts, then the most reliable
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and substantial evidence available shall be admit-

ted. On the judge's own motion, an administrative

law judge may exclude evidence that is inadmissi-

ble under this section. It shall not be necessary

for a party or his attorney to object at the hearing

to evidence in order to preserve the right to object

to its consideration by the administrative law judge

in making a recommended decision, by the agency

in making a final decision, or by the court on

judicial review.

(b) Evidence in a contested case, including

records and documents, shall be offered and made

a part of the record. Factual information or

evidence not made a part of the record shall not be

considered in the determination of the case, except

as permitted under G.S. 150B-30. Documentary

evidence may be received in the form of a copy or

excerpt or may be incorporated by reference, if the

materials so incorporated are available for exami-

nation by the parties. Upon timely request, a

party shall be given an opportunity to compare the

copy with the original if available.

§ 150B-30. Official notice.

Official notice may be taken of all facts of which

judicial notice may be taken and of other facts

within the specialized knowledge of the agency.

The noticed fact and its source shall be stated and

made known to affected parties at the earliest

practicable time, and any party shall on timely

request be afforded an opportunity to dispute the

noticed fact through submission of evidence and

argument.

§ I50B-31. Stipulations.

(a) The parties in a contested case may, by a

stipulation in writing filed with the administrative

law judge, agree upon any fact involved in the

controversy, which stipulation shall be used as

evidence at the hearing and be binding on the

parties thereto. Parties should agree upon facts

when practicable.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by law, dispo-

sition may be made of a contested case by stipula-

tion, agreed settlement, consent order, waiver,

default, or other method agreed upon by the

parties.

§ 150B-32. Designation of administrative law

judge.

(a) The Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall assign himself or another adminis-

trative law judge to preside over a contested case.

(al) Repealed by Session Laws 1985 (Reg.

Sess., 1986), c. 1022. s. 1 ( 15), effective July 15,

1986.

(b) On the filing in good faith by a party of a

timely and sufficient affidavit of personal bias or

disqualification of an administrative law judge, the

administrative law judge shall determine the matter

as a part of the record in the case, and this deter-

mination shall be subject to judicial review at the

conclusion of the proceeding.

(c) When an administrative law judge is disqual-

ified or it is impracticable for him to continue the

hearing, the Director shall assign another adminis-

trative law judge to continue with the case unless

it is shown that substantial prejudice to any party

will result, in which event a new hearing shall be

held or the case dismissed without prejudice.

§ 150B-33. Powers of administrative law

judge.

(a) An administrative law judge shall stay any

contested case under this Article on motion of an

agency which is a party to the contested case, if

the agency shows by supporting affidavits that it is

engaged in other litigation or administrative pro-

ceedings, by whatever name called, with or before

a federal agency, and this other litigation or

administrative proceedings will determine the

position, in whole or in part, of the agency in the

contested case. At the conclusion of the other

litigation or administrative proceedings, the con-

tested case shall proceed and be determined as

expeditiously as possible.

(b) An administrative law judge may:

(1) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Sign, issue, and rule on subpoenas in

accordance with G.S. 150B-27 and

G.S. IA-1, Rule 45;

(3) Provide for the taking of testimony by

deposition and rule on all objections to

discovery in accordance with G.S.

IA-1, the Rules of Civil Procedure;

(3a) Rule on all prehearing motions that are

authorized by G.S. IA-1, the Rules of

Civil Procedure;

(4) Regulate the course of the hearings,

including discovery, set the time and

place for continued hearings, and fix

the time for filing of briefs and other

documents;

(5) Direct the parties to appear and confer

to consider simplification of the issues

by consent oT the parties;

(6) Stay the contested action by the agency

pending the outcome of the case, upon

such terms as he deems proper, and

subject to the provisions of G.S. IA-1.

Rule 65;

(7) Determine whether the hearing shall be

recorded by a stenographer or by an

electronic device; and
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(8) Enter an order returnable in the General

Court of Justice. Superior Court Divi-

sion, to show cause why the person

should not be held in contempt. The

Court shall have the power to impose

punishment as for contempt for any act

which would constitute direct or indi-

rect contempt if the act occurred in an

action pending in Superior Court.

(9) Determine that a rule as applied in a

particular case is void because ( I ) it is

not within the statutory authority of the

agency. (2) is not clear and unambigu-

ous to persons it is intended to direct,

guide, or assist, or (3) is not reasonably

necessary to enable the agency to fulfill

a dutv delegated to it by the General

Assembly.

(10) Impose the sanctions provided for in

G.S. 1 A-l or Chapter 3 of Title 26 of

the North Carolina Administrative Code

for noncompliance with applicable

procedural rules.

§ 150B-34. Recommended decision or order

of administrative law judge.

(a) Except as provided in G.S. 150B-36(c), in

each contested case the administrative law judge

shall make a recommended decision or order that

contains findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(b) Repealed.

§ 150B-35. No ex parte communication;

exceptions.

Unless required for disposition of an ex parte

matter authorized by law. neither the administra-

tive law judge assigned to a contested case nor a

member or employee of the agency making a final

decision in the case may communicate, directly or

indirectly, in connection with any issue of fact, or

question of law, with any person or party or his

representative, except on notice and opportunity

for all parties to participate.

§ 150B-36. Final decision.

(a) Before the agency makes a final decision, it

shall give each party an opportunity to file excep-

tions to the decision recommended by the adminis-

trative law judge, and to present written arguments

to those in the agency who will make the final

decision or order. If a party files in good faith a

timely and sufficient affidavit of personal bias or

other reason for disqualification of a member of

the agency making the final decision, the agency

shall determine the matter as a part of the record

in the case, and the determination is subject to

judicial review at the conclusion of the case.

(b) A final decision or order in a contested case

shall be made by the agency in writing after

review of the official record as defined in G.S.

150B-37(a) and shall include findings of fact and

conclusions of law. If the agency does not adopt

the administrative law judge's recommended

decision as its final decision, the agency shall state

in its decision or order the specific reasons why it

did not adopt the administrative law judge's rec-

ommended decision. The agency may consider

only the official record prepared pursuant to G.S.

150B-37 in making a final decision or order, and

the final decision or order shall be supported by

substantial evidence admissible under G.S.

150B-29(a). 150B-30. or 150B-31. A copy of the

decision or order shall be served upon each party

personally or by certified mail addressed to the

party at the latest address given by the party to the

agency, and a copy shall be furnished to his

attorney of record and the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

(c) The following decisions made by administra-

tive law judges in contested cases are final deci-

sions:

( 1

)

A determination that the Office of

Administrative Hearings lacks jurisdic-

tion.

(2) An order entered pursuant to the au-

thority in G.S. 7A-759(e).

(3) An order entered pursuant to a written

prehearing motion that either dismisses

the contested case for failure of the

petitioner to prosecute or grants the

relief requested when a party does not

comply with procedural requirements.

(4) An order entered pursuant to a

prehearing motion to dismiss the con-

tested case in accordance with G.S.

I A-l, Rule 12(b) when the order dis-

poses of all issues in the contested case.

§ 150B-37. Official record.

(a) In a contested case, the Office of Adminis-

trative Hearings shall prepare an official record of

the case that includes:

(1) Notices, pleadings, motions, and inter-

mediate rulings;

(2) Questions and offers of proof, objec-

tions, and rulings thereon:

(3) Evidence presented:

(4) Matters officially noticed, except mat-

ters so obvious that a statement of them

would serve no useful purpose: and

(5) Repealed by Session Laws 1987. c.

878. s. 25. effective August 14. 1987.

(6) The administrative law judge's recom-

mended decision or order.
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(b) Proceedings at which oral evidence is

presented shall be recorded, but need not be

transcribed unless requested by a party. Each

party shall bear the cost of the transcript or part

thereof or copy of said transcript or part thereof

which said party requests, and said transcript or

part thereof shall be added to the official record as

an exhibit.

(c) The Office of Administrative Hearings shall

forward a copy of the official record to the agency

making the final decision and shall forward a copy

of the recommended decision to each party.

Article 3A.

Other Administrative Hearings.

§ 150B-38. Scope; hearing required; notice;

venue.

(a) The provisions of this Article shall apply to

the following agencies:

(1) Occupational licensing agencies;

(2) The State Banking Commission, the

Commissioner of Banks, the Savings

Institutions Division of the Department

of Economic and Community Develop

ment. Commerce, and the Credit Union

Division of the Department of Econom

ic and Community Development; Com-
merce; and

(3) The Department of Insurance and the

Commissioner of Insurance.

(b) Prior to any agency action in a contested

case, the agency shall give the parties in the case

an opportunity for a hearing without undue delay

and notice not less than 15 days before the hear-

ing. Notice to the parties shall include:

( 1 ) A statement of the date, hour, place,

and nature of the hearing;

(2) A reference to the particular sections of

the statutes and rules involved; and

(3) A short and plain statement of the facts

alleged.

(c) Notice shall be given personally or by

certified mail. If given by certified mail, notice

shall be deemed to have been given on the delivery

date appearing on the return receipt. If notice

cannot be given personally or by certified mail,

then notice shall be given in the manner provided

in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(J1).

(d) A party who has been served with a notice

of hearing may file a written response with the

agency. If a written response is filed, a copy of

the response must be mailed to all other parties not

less than 10 days before the date set for the hear-

ing.

(e) All hearings conducted under this Article

shall be open to the public. A hearing conducted

by the agency shall be held in the county where

the agency maintains its principal office. A
hearing conducted for the agency by an administra-

tive law judge requested under G.S. 150B-40 shall

be held in a county in this State where any person

whose property or rights are the subject matter of

the hearing resides. If a different venue would

promote the ends of justice or better serve the

convenience of witnesses, the agency or the admin-

istrative law judge may designate another county.

A person whose property or rights are the subject

matter of the hearing waives his objection to venue

if he proceeds in the hearing.

(f) Any person may petition to become a party

by filing with the agency or hearing officer a

motion to intervene in the manner provided by

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 24. In addition, any person

interested in a contested case under this Article

may intervene and participate to the extent deemed

appropriate by the agency hearing officer.

(g) When contested cases involving a common
question of law or fact or multiple proceedings

involving the same or related parties are pending

before an agency, the agency may order a joint

hearing of any matters at issue in the cases, order

the cases consolidated, or make other orders to

reduce costs or delay in the proceedings.

(h) Every agency shall adopt rules governing the

conduct of hearings that are consistent with the

provisions of this Article.

§ 150B-39. Depositions; discovery; subpoe-

nas.

(a) A deposition may be used in lieu of other

evidence when taken in compliance with the Rules

of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1. Parties in a

contested case may engage in discovery pursuant

to the provisions of the Rules of Civil Procedure,

G.S. 1A-1.

(b) Upon a request for an identifiable agency

record involving a material fact in a contested

case, the agency shall promptly provide the record

to a party, unless the record relates solely to the

agency"s internal procedures or is exempt from

disclosure by law.

(c) In preparation for, or in the conduct of, a

contested case subpoenas may be issued and served

in accordance with G.S. 1A-I. Rule 45. Upon a

motion, the agency may quash a subpoena if, upon

a hearing, the agency finds that the evidence, the

production of which is required, does not relate to

a matter in issue, the subpoena does not describe

with sufficient particularity the evidence the

production of which is required, or for any other

reason sufficient in law the subpoena may be

quashed. Witness fees shall be paid by the party
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requesting the subpoena to subpoenaed witnesses

in accordance with G.S. 7A-314. However, State

officials or employees who are subpoenaed shall

not be entitled to any witness fees, but they shall

receive their normal salary and they shall not be

required to take any annual leave for the witness

days. Travel expenses of State officials or em-

ployees who are subpoenaed shall be reimbursed

as provided in G.S. 138-6.

§ 150B-40. Conduct of hearing: presiding

officer: ex parte communication.

(a) Hearings shall be conducted in a fair and

impartial manner. At the hearing, the agency and

the parties shall be given an opportunity to present

evidence on issues of fact, examine and

cross-examine witnesses, including the author of a

document prepared by. on behalf of or for the use

of the agency and offered into evidence, submit

rebuttal evidence, and present arguments on issues

of law or policy.

If a party fails to appear in a contested case after

he has been given proper notice, the agency may

continue the hearing or proceed with the hearing

and make its decision in the absence of the party.

(b) Except as provided under subsection (e) of

this section, hearings under this Article shall be

conducted by a majority of the agency. An agency

shall designate one or more of its members to

preside at the hearing. If a party files in good

faith a timely and sufficient affidavit of the person-

al bias or other reason for disqualification of any

member of the agency, the agency shall determine

the matter as a part of the record in the case, and

its determination shall be subject to judicial review

at the conclusion of the proceeding. If a presiding

officer is disqualified or it is impracticable for him

to continue the hearing, another presiding officer

shall be assigned to continue with the case, except

that if assignment of a new presiding officer will

cause substantial prejudice to any party, a new

hearing shall be held or the case dismissed without

prejudice.

(c) The presiding officer may:

(1) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Sign and issue subpoenas in the name

of the agency, requiring attendance and

giving of testimony by witnesses and

the production of books, papers, and

other documentary evidence;

(3) Provide for the taking of testimony by

deposition:

i4i Regulate the course of the hearings, set

the time and place for continued hear-

ings, and fix the time for filing of

briefs and other documents;

(5) Direct the parties to appear and confer

to consider simplification of the issues

by consent of the parties; and

(6) Apply to any judge of the superior

court resident in the district or presid-

ing at a term of court in the county

where a hearing is pending for an order

to show cause why any person should

not be held in contempt of the agency

and its processes, and the court shall

have the power to impose punishment

as for contempt for acts which would

constitute direct or indirect contempt if

the acts occurred in an action pending

in superior court.

(d) Unless required for disposition of an ex

parte matter authorized by law, a member of an

agency assigned to make a decision or to make

findings of fact and conclusions of law in a con-

tested case under this Article shall not communi-

cate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any

issue of fact or question of law, with any person or

party or his representative, except on notice and

opportunity for all parties to participate. This

prohibition begins at the time of the notice of

hearing. An agency member may communicate

with other members of the agency and may have

the aid and advice of the agency staff other than

the staff which has been or is engaged in investi-

gating or prosecuting functions in connection with

the case under consideration or a factually-related

case. This section does not apply to an agency

employee or party representative with professional

training in accounting, actuarial science, econom-

ics or financial analysis insofar as the case in-

volves financial practices or conditions.

(e) When a majority of an agency is unable or

elects not to hear a contested case, the agency shall

apply to the Director of the Office of Administra-

tive Hearings for the designation of an administra-

tive law judge to preside at the hearing of a con-

tested case under this Article. Upon receipt of the

application, the Director shall, without undue

delay, assign an administrative law judge to hear

the case.

The provisions of this Article, rather than the

provisions of Article 3. shall govern a contested

case in which the agency requests an administra-

tive law judge from the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

The administrative law judge assigned to hear a

contested case under this Article shall sit in place

of the agency and shall have the authority of the

presiding officer in a contested case under this

Article. The administrative law judge shall make
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a proposal for decision, which shall contain pro-

posed findings of fact and proposed conclusions of

law.

An administrative law judge shall stay any

contested case under this Article on motion of an

agency which is a party to the contested case, if

the agency shows by supporting affidavits that it is

engaged in other litigation or administrative pro-

ceedings, by whatever name called, with or before

a federal agency, and this other litigation or

administrative proceedings will determine the

position, in whole or in part, of the agency in the

contested case. At the conclusion of the other

litigation or administrative proceedings, the con-

tested case shall proceed and be determined as

expeditiously as possible.

The agency may make its final decision only

after the administrative law judge's proposal for

decision is served on the parties, and an opportuni-

ty is given to each party to file exceptions and

proposed findings of fact and to present oral and

written arguments to the agency.

§ 150B-41. Evidence; stipulations; official

notice.

(a) In all contested cases, irrelevant, immaterial,

and unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded.

Except as otherwise provided, the rules of evi-

dence as applied in the trial division of the General

Court of Justice shall be followed; but, when

evidence is not reasonably available under such

rules to show relevant facts, they may be shown

by the most reliable and substantial evidence

available. It shall not be necessary for a party or

his attorney to object to evidence at the hearing in

order to preserve the right to object to its consider-

ation by the agency in reaching its decision, or by

the court of judicial review.

(b) Evidence in a contested case, including

records and documents shall be offered and made

a part of the record. Other factual information or

evidence shall not be considered in determination

of the case, except as permitted under G.S.

150B-30. Documentary evidence may be received

in the form of a copy or exceipt or may be incor-

porated by reference, if the materials so incorpo-

rated are available for examination by the parties.

Upon timely request, a party shall be given an

opportunity to compare the copy with the original

if available.

(c) The parties in a contested case under this

Article by a stipulation in writing filed with the

agency may agree upon any fact involved in the

controversy, which stipulation shall be used as

evidence at the hearing and be binding on the

parties thereto. Parties should agree upon facts

when practicable. Except as otherwise provided

by law, disposition may be made of a contested

case by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent

order, waiver, default, or other method agreed

upon by the parties.

(d) Official notice may be taken of all facts of

which judicial notice may be taken and of other

facts within the specialized knowledge of the

agency. The noticed fact and its source shall be

stated and made known to affected parties at the

earliest practicable time, and any party shall on

timely request be afforded an opportunity to

dispute the noticed fact through submission of

evidence and argument. An agency may use its

experience, technical competence, and specialized

knowledge in the evaluation of evidence presented

to it.

§ 150B-42. Final agency decision; official

record.

(a) After compliance with the provisions of G.S.

150B-40(e), if applicable, and review of the

official record, as defined in subsection (b) of this

section, an agency shall make a written final

decision or order in a contested case. The deci-

sion or order shall include findings of fact and

conclusions of law. Findings of fact shall be based

exclusively on the evidence and on matters offi-

cially noticed. Findings of fact, if set forth in

statutory language, shall be accompanied by a

concise and explicit statement of the underlying

facts supporting them. A decision or order shall

not be made except upon consideration of the

record as a whole or such portion thereof as may

be cited by any party to the proceeding and shall

be supported by substantial evidence admissible

under G.S. 150B-41. A copy of the decision or

order shall be served upon each party personally

or by certified mail addressed to the party at the

latest address given by the party to the agency and

a copy shall be furnished to his attorney of record.

(b) An agency shall prepare an official record of

a hearing that shall include:

( 1

)

Notices, pleadings, motions, and inter-

mediate rulings;

(2) Questions and offers of proof, objec-

tions, and rulings thereon;

(3) Evidence presented;

(4) Matters officially noticed, except mat-

ters so obvious that a statement of them

would serve no useful purpose;

(5) Proposed findings and exceptions; and

(6) Any decision, opinion, order, or report

by the officer presiding at the hearing

and by the agency.

(c) Proceedings at which oral evidence is pre-
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sented shall be recorded, but need not be tran-

scribed unless requested by a party. Each party

shall bear the cost of the transcript or part thereof

or copy of said transcript or part thereof which

said party requests.

Article 4.

Judicial Review.

§ 150B-43. Right to judicial review.

Any person who is aggrieved by the final deci-

sion in a contested case, and who has exhausted all

administrative remedies made available to him by

statute or agency rule, is entitled to judicial review

of the decision under this Article, unless adequate

procedure for judicial review is provided by

another statute, in which case the review shall be

under such other statute. Nothing in this Chapter

shall prevent any person from invoking any judi-

cial remedy available to him under the law to test

the validity of any administrative action not made

reviewable under this Article.

§ 150B-44. Right to judicial intervention

when decision unreasonably delayed.

Unreasonable delay on the part of any agency or

administrative law judge in taking any required

action shall be justification for any person whose

rights, duties, or privileges are adversely affected

by such delay to seek a court order compelling

action by the agency or administrative law judge.

An agencv that is subject to Article 3 of this

Chapter and is not a board or commission has 90

days from the day it receives the official record in

a contested case from the Office of Administrative

Hearings to make a final decision in the case.

This time limit may be extended by the parties or,

for good cause shown, by the agency for an

additional period of up to 90 days. An agency that

is subject to Article 3 of this Chapter and is a

board or commission has 90 days from the day it

receives the official record in a contested case

from the Office of Administrative Hearings or 90

days after its next regularly scheduled meeting,

whichever is longer, to make a final decision in

the case. This time limit may be extended by the

parties or, for good cause shown, by the agency

for an additional period of up to 90 days. If an

agency subject to Article 3 of this Chapter has not

made a final decision within these time limits, the

agency is considered to have adopted the adminis-

trative law judge's recommended decision as the

agency's final decision. Failure of an agency

subject to Article 3A of this Chapter to make a

final decision within 180 days of the close of the

contested case hearing is justification for a person

whose rights, duties, or privileges are adversely

affected by the delay to seek a court order compel-

ling action by the agency or, if the case was heard

by an administrative law judge, by the administra-

tive law judge.

§ 150B-45. Procedure for seeking review;

waiver.

To obtain judicial review of a final decision

under this Article, the person seeking review must

file a petition in the Superior Court of Wake
County or in the superior court of the county

where the person resides.

The person seeking review must file the petition

within 30 days after the person is served with a

written copy of the decision. A person who fails

to file a petition within the required time waives

the right to judicial review under this Article. For

good cause shown, however, the superior court

may accept an untimely petition.

§ 150B-46. Contents of petition; copies served

on all parties; intervention.

The petition shall explicitly state what exceptions

are taken to the decision or procedure and what

relief the petitioner seeks. Within 10 days after

the petition is filed with the court, the party

seeking the review shall serve copies of the peti-

tion by personal service or by certified mail upon

all who were parties of record to the administrative

proceedings. Names and addresses of such parties

shall be furnished to the petitioner by the agency

upon request. Any party to the administrative

proceeding is a party to the review proceedings

unless the party withdraws by notifying the court

of the withdrawal and serving the other parties

with notice of the withdrawal. Other parties to the

proceeding may file a response to the petition

within 30 days of service. Parties, including

agencies, may state exceptions to the decision or

procedure and what relief is sought in the re-

sponse.

Any person aggrieved may petition to become a

party by filing a motion to intervene as provided in

G.S. 1A-1. Rule 24.

§ 150B-47. Records filed with clerk of superi-

or court; contents of records; costs.

Within 30 days after receipt of the copy of the

petition for review, or within such additional time

as the court may allow, the agency that made the

final decision in the contested case shall transmit

to the reviewing court the original or a certified

copy of the official record in the contested case

under review together with: (i) any exceptions,

proposed findings of fact, or written arguments

submitted to the agency in accordance with G.S.

150B-36(a); and (ii) the agency's final decision or

order. With the permission of the court, the

record may be shortened by stipulation of all
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parties to the review proceedings. Any party

unreasonably refusing to stipulate to limit the

record may be taxed by the court for such addi-

tional costs as may be occasioned by the refusal.

The court may require or permit subsequent

corrections or additions to the record when deemed

desirable.

§ 150B-48. Stay of decision.

At any time before or during the review proceed-

ing, the person aggrieved may apply to the review-

ing court for an order staying the operation of the

administrative decision pending the outcome of the

review. The court may grant or deny the stay in

its discretion upon such terms as it deems proper

and subject to the provisions of G.S. 1A-1. Rule

65.

§ 150B-49. New evidence.

An aggrieved person who files a petition in the

superior court may apply to the court to present

additional evidence. If the court is satisfied that

the evidence is material to the issues, is not merely

cumulative, and could not reasonably have been

presented at the administrative hearing, the court

may remand the case so that additional evidence

can be taken. If an administrative law judge did

not make a recommended decision in the case, the

court shall remand the case to the agency that

conducted the administrative hearing. After

hearing the evidence, the agency may affirm or

modify its previous findings of fact and final

decision. If an administrative law judge made a

recommended decision in the case, the court shall

remand the case to the administrative law judge.

After hearing the evidence, the administrative law

judge may affirm or modify his previous findings

of fact and recommended decision. The administra-

tive law judge shall forward a copy of his decision

to the agency that made the final decision, which

in turn may affirm or modify its previous findings

of fact and final decision. The additional evidence

and any affirmation or modification of a recom-

mended decision or final decision shall be made

part of the official record.

§ 150B-50. Review by superior court without

jury.

The review by a superior court of agency deci-

sions under this Chapter shall be conducted by the

court without a jury.

§ 150B-51. Scope of review.

(a) Initial Determination in Certain Cases. In

reviewing a final decision in a contested case in

which an administrative law judge made a recom-

mended decision, the court shall make two initial

determinations. First, the court shall determine

whether the agency heard new evidence after

receiving the recommended decision. If the court

determines that the agency heard new evidence,

the court shall reverse the decision or remand the

case to the agency to enter a decision in accor-

dance with the evidence in the official record.

Second, if the agency did not adopt the recom-

mended decision, the court shall determine wheth-

er the agency's decision states the specific reasons

why the agency did not adopt the recommended

decision. If the court determines that the agency

did not state specific reasons why it did not adopt

a recommended decision, the court shall reverse

the decision or remand the case to the agency to

enter the specific reasons.

(b) Standard of Review. After making the

determinations, if any, required by subsection (a),

the court reviewing a final decision may affirm the

decision of the agency or remand the case for

further proceedings. It may also reverse or modi-

fy the agency's decision if the substantial rights of

the petitioners may have been prejudiced because

the agency's findings, inferences, conclusions, or

decisions are:

(1) In violation of constitutional provisions;

(2) In excess of the statutory authority or

jurisdiction of the agency;

(3) Made upon unlawful procedure;

(4) Affected by other error of law;

(5) Unsupported by substantial evidence

admissible under G.S. 150B-29(a),

150B-30. or 150B-31 in view of the

entire record as submitted; or

(6) Arbitrary or capricious.

§ 150B-52. Appeal; stay of court's decision.

A party to a review proceeding in a superior

court may appeal to the appellate division from the

final judgment of the superior court as provided in

G.S. 7A-27. Pending the outcome of an appeal,

an appealing party may apply to the court that

issued the judgment under appeal for a stay of that

judgment or a stay of the administrative decision

that is the subject of the appeal, as appropriate.

Article 5.

Publication of Administrative Rules.

Repealed.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 183

AMENDING AND REISSUING THE PROVISIONS
OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NOD3ER 175

Hurricane Andrew relief efforts necessitate another temporary period of exemption from weight restrictions

on vehicles transporting supplies and equipment through North Carolina from the areas of disaster caused by

Hurricane Andrew.

Pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor of North Carolina under the constitution and laws of this

State. IT IS ORDERED:

Executive Order Number 175 dated August 28. 1992 is reissued with the following amendments:

Section 1.

1 4 j Upon entering North Carolina, the vehicles will stop at the first available vehicle weight station and

produce identification sufficient to establish that its load was used for the Hurricane Andrew relief

effort. All other safety restrictions apply. If returning vehicles are loaded with some other

backhaul, all normal weight and permit restrictions apply.

Section 2.

The S50.00 fee listed in N.C.G.S. 105 - 449.49 for a temporary trip permit is waived for the vehicles

described above. The penalties described in N.C.G.S. 20 - 382 concerning insurance registration

are waived also. Finally, no quarterly fuel tax is required because the exception in N.C.G.S. 105

- 449.45 (a)(1) applies.

Section 3 is deleted.

This Order is effective December 16. 1992 and shall remain in effect until December 23. 1992.

Done in Raleish. North Carolina, this the 7th dav of December. 1992.

t
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IN ADDITION

NORTH CAROLINA WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

PROCLAMATION

Charles R. Fullwood, Executive Director, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, acting

pursuant to North Carolina General Statute §113-292 (cl) and authority duly delegated by the Wildlife

Resources Commission, hereby declares that the season for harvesting striped bass by hook-and-line shall

remain closed in all waters of the Roanoke River Striped Bass Management Area until 12:00 p.m. 28 February

1993.

The Roanoke River Striped Bass Management Area is defined as the inland and joint fishing waters

of the Roanoke River and its tributaries, extending from its mouth to Roanoke Rapids Dam, including the

Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their tributaries.

This Proclamation shall be effective at 12:01 a.m. 1 January 1993 and shall remain in effect until

12:00 p.m. 28 February 1993 or until a new proclamation opening the described waters or portions thereof

for striped bass fishing is issued.

NOTES:
a) This Proclamation is issued under the authority of N.C.G.S. §113-132; 113-134; 113-292;

113-304; and 113-305.

b) All striped bass regardless of condition taken subsequent to the effective date and time of this

Proclamation shall be immediately returned to the waters where taken and no striped bass

may be possessed.

c) Any person who violates this Proclamation also violates applicable law and is subject to the

sanctions provided by law.

NORTH CAROLINA WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

by

Charles R. Fullwood

Executive Director
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF
HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the DHR/Division of Medical

Assistance intends to amend rules cited as 10

NCAC26B .01 19 and .0121.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will he conducted at 1:30

p.m. on February 5. 1993 at the North Carolina

Division of Medical Assistance, 1985 Umstead

Drive. Room 132. Raleigh, NC 27603.

ixeason for Proposed Action:

10 NCAC 26B .0119 - This amendment will bring

Medicaid personal care services provider qualifica-

tions in line with State licensure requirements for

providers of in-home aide services under the Home
Care Licensure Act.

10 NCAC 26B .0121 - This change is necessary to

bring Medicaid private duty nursing provider

qualifications in line with State licensure require-

ments for providers of nursing services under the

Home Care Licensure Act.

(comment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning these amendment must be submitted by

February 5. 1993. to: Division of Medical Assis-

tance. 1985 Umstead Drive. Raleigh. NC 27603

ATTN' Clarence Ervin. APA Coordinator. Oral

comments may be presented at the hearing. In

addition, a fiscal impact statement is available

upon written request from the same address.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 26B - MEDICAL
ASSISTANCE PROVIDED

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0119 PERSONAL CARE SERVICES
(a) The Division of Medical Assistance will

cover personal care services in accordance with

federal law. The provision of personal care

services must be physician authorized and must

meet the following criteria:

( 1 ) The recipient of the service must have

(2)

(3)

a medical diagnosis that warrants a

physician "s care and that recipient must

be under the direct and ongoing care of

the physician prescribing PCS.

The recipient's medical condition must

be stable at maintenance level.

There must be a medical necessity for

the provision of personal care services.

(b) Agcnck hieh 4^ics xMiicn iiuu ae ei

crs of service include:—eountv

provid

eAhealth departments: eountv department s of soci

services: certified home health agencies: hospice

agencies enrolled in Medicaid: the State Divi s ion

of Services—for the—Blind:—agencie s

—

accredited

*rough—fee

—

Community—Health—Accreditation

Program care organization s providing paraprofe s

4- jcrviecs: agencies accredited bv the Joint

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Orga

-thtnization s—fef-

—

meeting—their—Standard s—fef-

Accrcditation of Home Care and s pecific quality

standard s—fef

—

providers

—

of personal—e-afe—aftd

support service s : agencie s accredited bv the North

Carolina Accreditation Commi ssion for In Home
.Aide—Services:—and

—

agencie s

—

approved—by—tfre

National HomeCaring Council ass

—

council us

—

meeting—

B

asic

National Standards for Home-maker Home Health

Aide Service s . An enrolled provider must be a

State licensed home care agency located within

North Carolina that js approved in its license to

provide in-home aide services.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b>: S.L. 1985,

86: 42 C.F.R. 440.170(f).

479,

.0121 PRIVATE DUTY NURSING
(a) Medically necessary private duty nursing

(PD\) services are provided when they are pre-

scribed by a physician and prior approved by the

Division of Medical Assistance or its designee.

(b) A patient must reside in the patienfs private

residence to receive PDN services. Recipients

who are in domiciliary care facilities (such as rest

homes, group homes, family care homes, and

similar settings) and those who are in hospitals,

nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for

the mentally retarded, rehabilitation centers, and

other institutional settings are not eligible for this

service. PDN services are not covered while an

individual is being observed or treated in a hospital

emergency room or similar environment.

(c) Private duty nursing services are considered

medically necessary when the person must require

substantial and complex continuous nursing care by

a licensed nurse. Professional judgment and a
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thorough evaluation of the medical complexity and

psychosocial needs of the patient are involved in

determining the need for PDN. The following

situations represent the usual types of cases that

may require PDN, though the list is not meant to

be all inclusive:

(1) Patient requires prolonged intravenous

nutrition or drug therapy with needs

beyond those covered by infusion thera-

py services.

(2) Patient is dependent on a ventilator for

prolonged periods.

(3) Patient is dependent on other device-

based respiratory support, including

tracheostomy care, suctioning, and

oxygen support.

(d) This service is only approvable based on the

need for PDN services in the

patient's private residence. An individual with a

medical condition that necessitates this service

normally is unable to leave the home without being

accompanied by a licensed nurse and leaving the

home requires considerable and taxing effort. An

individual may utilize the approved hours of

coverage outside to his residence during those

hours when the individual's normal life activities

take the patient out of the home. The need for

nursing care to participate in activities outside of

the home is not a basis for authorizing PDN
services or expanding the hours needed for PDN
services.

(e) A person may not receive Personal Care

Services. Skilled Nursing Visits, and Home Health

Aide Services reimbursed by Medicaid during the

same hours of the day as PDN services.

(f) The patient's spouse, child, parent, grandpar-

ent, grandchild, or sibling, including correspond-

ing step and in-law relationship may not be em-

ployed by the provider agency when reimbursed

by Medicaid to provide PDN services to the

patient.

(g) Medicaid payments for PDN are made only

to agencies enrolled with the Division of Medical

Assistance as providers for the service. An agency

mu s t be one of the following to be enrolled to

provide thi s service:

f-H A Medicare certified homo health agon

cy located within North Carolina.

(3) A State licen sed home health agency

located within North Carolina.

(3-) An agency with a North Carolina office

that i s accredited in the provision of in

home nursing care by either the Joint

Commi ssion on Accreditation of Health

Care Organizations (JCAHO) or the

National League for Nursing (NLN).

An enrolled provider must be a State licensed

home care agency located within North Carolina

that is approved in its license to provide Nursing

Services.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54;42 C.F.R.

440. 80.

l\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-21.2 that the DHR/Division of Medical

Assistance intends to amend rule cited as 10

NCAC 26D .0012 with changes from the proposed

text noticed in the Register , Volume 7, Issue 12,

page 1156.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

Reason for Proposed Actions: The rule clarifies

that the phrase "date of payment" and addresses

Medicaid claims for which payment was denied.

Lsomment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning this amendment must be submitted by

February 4, 1993, to: Division of Medical Assis-

tance. 1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603

ATTN: Clarence Ervin, APA Coordinator. In

addition, a fiscal impact statement is available

upon written request from the same address.

tLditor's Note: An agency may not adopt a rule

that differs substantially from the text of a pro-

posed rule published in the Register, unless the

agency publishes the text of the proposed differ-

ent rule and accepts comments on the new text

for at least 30 days after the publication of the

new text.

SUBCHAPTER 26D - LIMITATIONS ON
AMOUNT: DURATION: AND SCOPE

.0012 TIME LIMITATION
(a) To receive payment, claims must be filed

e ither received for processing :

( 1

)

Within 365 days of the date of service

for services other than inpatient hospi-

tal, home health or nursing home ser-

vices; or

(2) Within 365 days of the date of
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discharge for inpatient hospital services

and the last date of service in the month

for home health and nursing home
services not to exceed the limitations as

specified in 42 C.F.R. 447.45; or

(3) Within 180 days of the Medicare or

other third party payment, or within

180 days of Final denial, when the date

of the third party payment or denial

exceeds the filing limits in Paragraphs

( 1 ) or (2) of this Rule^ except that the

time limit may not be waived under this

Paragraph when the claim is denied

because jt was not submitted to the

third party timely, the service was not

a covered service by the third party . the

individual was not enrolled with the

third party or the claim was paid or

denied at an earlier date.

(b) Providers must file requests for payment

adjustments or requests for reconsideration of a

denied claim no later than 18 months after the date

of payment or denial of a claim, or adjustments

wil l not be made.

(c) The time limitation specified in (a) of this

Rule may be waived by the Division of Medical

Assistance when <m—de lay—m an eligibility

determination^ has

—

made—rt

—

impossible—for the

provider to file the claim within the 365 days

provided for in (a) of this Rule correction of an

administrative error [n determining eligibility,

application of a court order or hearing decision

grants eligibility with less than 60 days for

providers to submit claims for eligible dates of

service provided the claims js received for

processing within 180 days after the date the

county department of Social Services approves the

eligibility .

(d) In cases where claims or adjustments were

not filed within the time limitations specified in (a)

and (b) of this Rule, and the provider shows

failure to do so was beyond his control, he may

request a reconsideration review by the Director of

the Division of Medical Assistance. The Director

of Medical Assistance is the final authority for

reconsideration reviews. If the provider wishes to

contest this decision, he may do so by filing a

petition for a contested case hearing in

conformance with G.S. 150B-23.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. 447.45.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF
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ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND
NATURAL RESOURCES

IS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission

intends to amend rule cited as 15A NCAC 2D . 1002.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is June 1, 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00 p.m. on February 3, 1993 at the Guilford Count)- Courthouse,

Courtroom 2A. 210 South Eugene Street, Greensboro, NC.

i\.eason for Proposed Action: To remove requirement for an inspection/maintenance program in Davidson

and Randolph Counties.

Lsomment Procedures: All persons interested in this matter are invited to attend the public hearing. Any

person desiring to comment for more than three minutes at the public hearing is requested to submit a written

statement for inclusion in the record ofproceedings. Tlie hearing officer may limit oral presentation lengths

tofive minutes ifmay people want to speak. Tlie record ofproceedings will remain open until March 1 . 1993.

to receive additional written statements. To be included, the statement must be received by the Department

by March 1. 1993.

Comments should be sent to and additional information concerning the hearing or the proposals may be

obtained by contacting: Mr. Thomas C. Allen. Division of Environmental Management , P.O. Box 29535.

Raleigh. North Carolina 27626-0535. (919) 733-1489.

tLditor's Note: Tliis Rule was filed as a temporary amendment to delete Davidson County in Paragraph

(a) and the addition of Paragraph (c). Tlie deletion of Randolph County in Paragraph (a) was not a part

of the temporary filing. Tlie effective date of the temporary amendment is January 1, 1993 for a period

of 180 days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .1000 - MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSION CONTROL STANDARD

.1002 APPLICABILITY
(a) This Section is applicable to all 1975 and later gasoline-powered motor vehicles, except motorcycles and

excluding the current model year, that are required to be registered by the North Carolina Division of Motor

Vehicles in the counties listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(b) The emission standards will become effective in the following counties on the dates indicated below:

County Effective Date

lecklenburg April 1 1991

Wake April 1 1991

Forsyth July 1 1991

Guilford July 1 1991

Durham July 1 1992

Gaston July 1 1992

Davidson January 1 -WS£
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( 'abarrus

Randolph

Orange

Union

January 1, 1993

July 1. 1993

July 1

July 1

1993

1993

(c) If the United States Environmental Protection Agency does not redesignate Davidson, Forsyth, and

Guilford Counties and the portion of Davie County that is nonattainment for ozone as attainment areas for

ozone, then emission standards and requirements of this Section shall become effective in Davidson and

Randolph Counties within six months of formal notification by EPA.

Statutory Authority

143-215. 107(a)(7).

G.S. 20-128.2(a): 143-215. 3(a)(1): 143-215. 107(a)(3); 143-215. 107(a)(6);

tion. P. O. Box 27687. Raleigh, NC 27611-7687.

Written comments will be accepted until February

3. 1993. Any person requesting information

concerning these rules should contact Richard M.

Fry at 919/571-4141.
I\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR - Radiation Protection

Commission intends to adopt rules cited as 15.A

NCAC 11 .0117. amend rules cited as 15A NCAC
11 .0101 - .0102. .0105 - .0108. .0111. .0113 -

.0115. .0201. .0205. .0207. .0210. .0212 - .0214.

.0303 - .0305. .0318. .0321. .0324 - .0326. .0337

- .0338. .0343 - .0346. .0352. .0501. .0507.

.0510. .0518. .0602. .0605 - .0606. .0701. .0703.

.0902. . 1001.. 1006. .1102- .1104. . 1202 -
. 1203.

.1205. .1210. .1215. .1218. .1220- .1221. .1223.

. 1227. . 1229. . 1239 -
. 1240. . 1306. . 1308 -

. 1310.

.1313 and repeal rule cited as 15A NCAC 11

. 0336

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May

3. 1993.

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing

(must be requested in writing within 15 days of

notice): Any person requesting that the Division of

Radiation Protection hold a public hearing on

these rules must submit a written request by Janu-

ary 19. 1993. Die request must be submitted to

Richard M. Fry, Deputy Director, Division of

Radiation Protection, P. O. Bo.x 27687. Raleigh.

NC 27611-7687.

Keason for Proposed Action: Corrects misspelled

words; removes obsolete Subparagraph numbers;

corrects agency telephone number; adopts federal

citations by reference in Rule .0117; and Rule

.0336 is being repealed as information is now
contained in Rule .0117.

Comment Procedures: Written comments should

be submitted to the Division of Radiation Protec-

CHAPTER 1 1 - RADIATION PROTECTION

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 SCOPE
(a) Except as otherwise specifically provided

these Regulation s Rules apply to all persons who

receive, possess, use, transfer, own or acquire any

source of radiation within the State of North

Carolina.

(b) Nothing in these Regulations Rules shall

apply to any person to the extent any person is

subject to regulation by the United States Nuclear

Regulatory Commission.

(c) Regulation by the State of North Carolina of

source material, byproduct material, and special

nuclear material in quantities not sufficient to form

a critical mass is subject to the provisions of an

agreement made between the Governor of this state

and the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commis-

sion under provisions of Public Law 86-373, as

amended, and to 10 CFR Part 150.

Statutory

104E-10.

Authority G.S. 104E-2; 104E-7;

.0102 COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS
Nothing in these Regulations Rules shall relieve

any person of responsibility for complying with

other pertinent North Carolina laws, rules and

regulations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0105 OTHER DEFINITIONS
Definitions of certain other words and phrases as

used in these Regulation s Rules are set forth in
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Sections .0500, .0600, .0800, .1200, .1300, and

.1400, and .1500 of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0106 EXEMPTIONS
(a) The agency may, upon application therefore,

grant individual exemptions or exceptions from the

requirements of these Regulation s Rules as it

determines are authorized by law and will not

result in undue hazard to public health and safety

or property.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this Rule,

common and contract or other carriers, freight

forwarders, and warehousemen, who are subject to

the rules and regulations of the U.S. Postal Service

(39 CFR Parts 14 and 15), are exempt from these

Regulations Rules to the extent that they transport

or store sources of radiation in the regular course

of their carriage for another or storage incident

thereto. Common, contract, or other carriers who

are not exempt pursuant to this Rule are subject to

the provisions of Rule .0316 of this Chapter.

Notwithstanding these exemptions, common,

contract or other carriers are required to comply

with the provisions of Rule .0316(c) of this

Chapter to the extent that these carriers are

transporting spent nuclear fuel, as defined in Rule

.0316(c) of this Chapter, upon the highways of

North Carolina.

(c) Any U.S. Department of Energy contractor

or subcontractor and any U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission contractor or subcontractor of the

following categories operating within this state is

exempt from these Regulations to the extent that

the contractor or subcontractor under his contract

receives, possesses, uses, transfers or acquires

sources of radiation:

( 1 ) prime contractors performing work for

the U.S. Department of Energy at U.S.

government-owned or controlled sites,

including the transportation of sources

of radiation to or from such sites and

the performance of contract services

during temporary interruptions of such

transportation;

(2) prime contractors of the U.S.

Department of Energy performing

research in. or development,

manufacture, storage, testing or

transportation of, atomic weapons or

components thereof;

(3) prime contractors of the U.S.

Department of Energy using or

operating nuclear reactors or other

nuclear devices in a United States

government-owned vehicle or vessel;

and

(4) any other prime contractor or

subcontractor of the U.S. Department

of Energy or of the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission when the

agency and the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission jointly

determine that:

(A) the exemption of the prime contractor

or subcontractor is authorized by law,

(B) that under the terms of the contract or

subcontract, there is adequate

assurance that the work thereunder

can be accomplished without undue

risk to the public health and safety.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-2; 104E-7;104E-15.

.0107 INSPECTIONS
Each licensee and registrant shall, upon

reasonable notice, make available to the agency

for inspection records maintained pursuant to

provisions of these Regulations Rules .

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-ll(a),

.0108 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
(a) The agency may, by license condition,

registration condition, or order, when not in

conflict with any law, impose upon any specific or

general licensee or registrant such requirements in

addition to those established in these Regulations

Rules as it deems appropriate or necessary to

minimize danger to public health, safety or

property. Such additional requirements are subject

to appeal procedures contained in Section 15A

NCAC IB .0200.

(b) The Commission may by rule or regulation

require radioactive material licensees to procure

and file with the department such bond, insurance

or other security as the Commission deems

necessary to protect the state from costs for

emergency response and perpetual maintenance.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; I04E-I8.

.0111 COMMUNICATIONS
(a) Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this

Rule, all Att communications and reports

concerning these Rules, and applications filed

thereunder, shall be mailed to the agency at

Division of Radiation Protection, P.O. Box 27687,

Raleigh. North Carolina 2761 1-7687 or delivered
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to the agency at its office located at 3825 Barrett

Drive. Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7221.

(b) Except as specifically instructed otherwise

by the agency, immediate telephone notification

and reports required by the rules in this Chapter

shall be directed to (919) 571-4141 from 8:00 a.m.

to 5:30 p.m. on workdays.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.01 13 CLASSIFICATION OF RADIOACTIVE
MATERIAL

For a single radionuclide of known identity, the

values of A, and A2
used for determining Type A

quantity in the Rules rules of this Chapter are

taken from Appendix A of 10 CFR 71 as revised

at 48 Federal Register 35600. August 5, 1983, and

corrections at 48 Federal Register 38449, August

24, 1983.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E.

.0114 TESTS FOR SPECIAL FORM
Special form radioactive material as defined in

Rule .0104(56) of this Section must satisfactorily

pass the following tests:

( 1

)

a free drop through a distance of 30 feet

onto a flat essentially unyielding horizon-

tal surface, striking the surface in such a

position as to suffer maximum damage;

(2) impact of the flat circular end of a

one-inch diameter steel rod weighing

three pounds, dropped through a distance

on a sheet of lead, of hardness number

3.5 to 4.5 on the Vickers scale, and not

more than one inch thick supported by a

smooth essentially unyielding surface;

(3) heating in air to a temperature of 1,475°

F. and remaining at that temperature for

a period often minutes;

(4) immersion for 24 hours in water at room

temperature at pH 6 to pH 8. with a

maximum conductivity often micromhos

per centimeter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-15.

.0115 RECORDS
Each licensee and registrant shall maintain

records showing the receipt, transfer, and disposal

of all sources of radiation. Additional record

requirements are specified elsewhere in these

Regulation:.! Rules .

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(a).

.0117 FEDERAL RULES INCORPORATED
BY REFERENCE

(a) For the purpose of the rules in this Chapter,

the following federal regulations are hereby incor-

porated by reference including any subsequent

amendments and editions:

ill

ill

ill

Ml

(5}

161

ill

181

Appendix A, Appendix B and Appendix

C to 10 CFR Parts 20.1001 - 20.2401;

K) CFR Part 3_K JO CFR Part 32 and

JO CFR Part 40,

10 CFR Part 61. JO CFR Part 70, K)

CFR Part 71, 10 CFR Part 73, 10 CFR
Part 110, 10 CFR Part 140 and 10 CFR
Part 150;

2J. CFR .Part 1010, 2J. CFR Part 1020

and 21 Cf_R Part 1040;

39 CFR Part 14 and 39 CFR Part 15;

Postal Service Manual (Domestic Mail

Manual) Section 124.3 [incorporated by

reference in 39 CFR Section 111.111;

40 CFR Part 261; and

49 CFR Parts 100-189.

(b) The regulations incorporated by reference jn

Paragraph (a) of this Rule are available for inspec-

tion at the Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources, Division of Radiation

Protection at the address listed jn Rule .0111 of

this Section. Except as noted in Subparagraph

(b)( 1

)

of this Rule, copies of the regulations

incorporated by reference jn Paragraph (a) of this

Rule may be obtained from the Superintendent of

Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office,

20402 at a cost as follows:Washington. D.C

( 1

)

$5.00 for the appendixes listed jn Sub-

paragraph (a)( 1

)

of this Rule, available

from the Division of Radiation Protec-

tion at the address listed m Rule .0111

of this Section;

(2) $25.00 for the regulations listed in

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule jn a

volume containing 10 CFR Parts 0-50;

(3) $18.00 for the regulations listed jn

Subparagraph (a)(3) of thjs Rule jn a

volume containing 10 CFR Parts 51-

199;

(4) $18.00 for the regulations listed jn

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule jn a

volume containing 21 CFR Parts 800-

1299;

(5) $16.00 for the regulations listed jn

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule jn a

volume containing 39 CFR;

(6) $36.00 for the manual listed jn

Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule:

(7) $31.00 for the regulations listed jn
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Subparagraph (a)(7) of this Rule in a

volume containing 40 CFR Parts 260-

299; and

(8) for the regulations listed in

Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule:

(A) $23.00 for a volume containing 49

CFR Parts 100-177; and

(B) $17.00 for a volume containing 49

CFR Parts 178-199.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-15(a);

150B-21.6.

SECTION .0200 - REGISTRATION OF
RADIATION MACHINES: FACILITIES

AND SERVICES

.0201 PURPOSE AND SCOPE
(a) This Section provides for the registration of

radiation machines, radiation machine facilities and

persons who provide other radiological services.

(b) For purposes of this Section, "facility"

means the location at which one or more radiation

machines are installed or located within one

building, vehicle, or under one roof and are under

the same administrative control.

(c) In addition to the requirements of this

Section, all registrants are subject to the provisions

of the other sections of this Chapter.

(d) Special requirements for registration of

particle accelerators are provided in Section .0900

of this Chapter and are in addition to the

requirements m of this Section.

(e) In addition to the requirements of this

Section, all registrants are subject to the annual fee

provisions contained in Section .1100 of this

Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-9(8);

104E-19(a).

.0205 APPLICATION FORREGISTRATION
OF SERVICES

(a) Each person who is engaged in the business

of installing or offering to install radiation

machines and machine components or is engaged

in the business of furnishing or offering to furnish

any equipment services listed in Paragraph (d) of

this Rule in this state, to any agency licensee or

registrant, shall apply for registration of such

services with the agency within 30 days following

the amended effective date of this Rule or

thereafter prior to furnishing or offering to furnish

any of these services.

(b) Application for registration shall be

completed on appropriate form(s) provided by the

agency and shall contain all information required

by the agency as indicated on the form and

accompanying instructions. This information shall

include:

(1) the name, address and telephone

number of:

(A) the individual or the company to be

registered;

(B) the owner(s) of the company;

(2) the description of the services to be

provided;

(3) the name, training and experience of

each person who provides services

specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;

(4) the date of the application and the

signature of the person responsible for

the company; and

(5) any additional information the agency

determines to be necessary for

evaluation of the application for

registration.

(c) Each person applying for registration under

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall certify that he has

read and understands the requirements of the Rules

rules in this Chapter.

(d) For the purpose of this Section, equipment

services are:

( 1 ) direct sale and transfer of radiation

machines and machine components to

end users;

(2) installation or servicing of radiation

machines and associated radiation

machine components;

(3) diagnostic radiographic facility and

shielding design;

(4) diagnostic fluoroscopic facility and

shielding design;

(5) diagnostic area radiation survey, e.g..

shielding evaluation;

(6) radiation instrument calibration;

(7) therapeutic facility and shielding

design, area radiation survey or

calibration;

(8) personnel dosimetry services;

(9) general health physics consulting, e.g.,

independent diagnostic radiation output

measurements, dose analysis, design of

safety programs and radiation safety

training programs, non-healing arts

facility and shielding design and area

radiation surveys; and

(10) such other equipment services which

can affect compliance with these Rules

by a licensee or registrant, as
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determined by the agency,

(e) Applicants for registration of services are

subject to the applicable requirements of Rules

.0213 and .0214 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0207 ISSUANCE OF NOTICE OF
REGISTRATION

(a) The agency shall issue a notice of

registration upon a determination that an applicant:

(1) is qualified by reason of education,

training and experience;

(2) has adequate facilities and equipment;

(3) has established an adequate radiation

protection program appropriate to the

registered activities; and

(4) meets the applicable requirements in

this Chapter.

(b) The agency may incorporate in the notice of

registration at the time of issuance or thereafter by

amendment or order, such additional requirements

and conditions with respect to the registrant's

receipt, possession, use and transfer of radiation

machines as the agency deems appropriate or

necessary for compliance with the rules in this

Chapter. Such additional requirements are subject

to appeal under 15A NCAC IB .0200.

(c) The agency may refuse to grant a

registration required in Rules .0203 and .0205 of

this Section to any applicant who does not possess

adequate qualifications or equipment or satisfy the

applicable requirements in this Chapter; provided

that, before any order is entered denying an

application for registration, the agency shall give

notice and grant a hearing as provided in Chapter

150B of the North Carolina General Statues

Statutes,

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0210 OTHER PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES
(a) No person registered pursuant to Rule .0205

of this Section for x-ray sales or installations shall

make. sell, lease, transfer, lend, assemble, or

install radiation machines or equipment used in

connection with such machines unless such

machines and equipment when placed in operation

shall meet the applicable requirements of these

Regulations Rules .

(b) No person, in any advertisement, shall refer

to the fact that he or his facility is registered with

the agency pursuant to the provisions of Rule

.0203 or .0205 of this Section and no person shall

state or imply that any activity under such

registration has been approved by the agency.

(c) No person registered pursuant to Rule .0205

of this Section shall install radiation machines

which are subject to provisions of Section .0600 of

this Chapter unless the registrant first determines

that the agency has issued written

acknowledgement of receipt of any facility and

shielding design required in Rule .0603 of this

Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-20.

.0212 MODIFICATIONS: REVOCATION:
TERMINATION OF REGISTRANTS

(a) The terms and conditions of all registrations

are subject to amendment, revision or modification

and all registrations are subject to suspension or

revocation by reason of:

( 1

)

amendments to the Act;

(2) rules adopted pursuant to provisions of

the Act; or

(3) orders issued by the agency pursuant to

provisions of the Act and rules adopted

pursuant to provisions of the Act.

(b) Any registration may be revoked, suspended

or modified in whole or in part:

( 1

)

for any material false statement in the

application or in any statement of fact

required by provisions of this Section;

(2) because of conditions revealed by:

(A) the application;

(B) any statement of fact;

(C) any report, record, inspection or other

means, which would warrant the

agency to refuse to grant a

registration on original application; or

(3) for violations of, or failure to observe

any of the terms and conditions of the

Act, the registration, the Rule s rules of

this Chapter, or order of the agency.

(c) Except in cases of willfulness or those in

which the public health, interest or safety requires

otherwise, prior to the institution of proceedings

for modification, revocation or suspension of a

registrant, the agency shall:

( 1

)

call to the attention of the registrant in

writing the facts or conduct which may
warrant these actions, and

(2) provide an opportunity for the

registrant to demonstrate or achieve

compliance with all lawful

requirements.

(d) Before any order is entered suspending,

revoking or modifying a registration, the agency

shall give notice and grant a hearing as provided in
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Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General

Statutes.

(e) The agency may terminate a registration

upon written request submitted by the registrant to

the agency.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 104E-7.

.0213 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS:
REGISTERED SERVICES

(a) An applicant for registration of diagnostic

area radiation survey, diagnostic radiation output

measurements or therapeutic calibration services

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section shall meet

the following additional requirements:

( 1 ) The applicant shall have adequate

radiation survey and radiation

measurement equipment appropriate to

the services requested for authorization.

(2) The applicant shall ensure that the

equipment in Subparagraph (a)(1) of

this Rule is calibrated at least every 12

months by persons registered to provide

such services pursuant to Rule .0205 of

this Section, except as provided in

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The

agency may approve less frequent

calibration of equipment used for

therapy calibration, provided the

applicant satisfies the agency that the

proposed frequency and procedures will

provide equivalent or better assurance

of proper calibration.

(3) The applicant may perform the

equipment calibrations required in

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule

provided that:

(A) such calibrations are currently

traceable to the National Institute of

Standards and Technology;

(B) the calibration procedures are

approved by the agency;

(C) the radiation sources used for such

calibration are licensed or registered

as required by the Rule s rules in this

Chapter; and

(D) the equipment is labeled to indicate

the date of calibration and records of

the calibration are maintained.

(4) The applicant shall submit, for approval

by the agency:

(A) a description of the procedures that

will be utilized in performing area

radiation surveys including a list of all

guides and references to the

employed;

(B) a copy of all forms, reports and

documents that will be supplied to

customers;

(C) samples of three different types of

surveys;

(D) samples of three reports of diagnostic

radiation output measurements; and

(E) samples of three therapeutic

calibration reports.

(b) An applicant for registration of services

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section who
proposes to provide diagnostic radiographic,

fluoroscopic and therapeutic facility and shielding

design services shall meet the following additional

requirements:

( 1 ) The applicant shall submit, for approval

by the agency, examples of the facility

and shielding design which will be

provided to clients.

(2) The applicant shall submit examples of

the calculations which will be

performed as part of the facility and

shielding design along with any guides,

occupancy factor rationales, and

workload estimation rationales which

will be used.

(3) The applicant shall ensure that the

facility and shielding design services

provided to licensees and registrants of

the agency satisfy the applicable

requirements in this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0214 TRAINING AND EDUCATIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR EQUIPMENT
SERVICES

(a) Each person registered pursuant to Rule

.0205 of this Section shall be qualified by reason

of education, training and experience to provide

the services for which registration is requested.

The following are minimum qualifications for

specific types of services:

( 1 ) Class I - sales of radiation machines

and machine components to end users:

The applicant must certify knowledge

of familiarity with the Ruloa rules and

Regulation s regulations which govern

the possession, installation and use of

radiation machines in North Carolina.

(2) Class II - installation and service of

radiation machines and machine

components including the making of

diagnostic radiation output
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measurements to verify performance

associated with the installation or

service:

(A) manufacturer's equipment school for

service, maintenance and installation

for the type of machine use (e.g.

dental intraoral, medical diagnostic or

medical fluoroscopic) or equivalent

training;

(B) training in principles of radiation

protection; and

(C) three to six months of experience in

installation and service of radiation

machines and machine components.

(3) Class III - diagnostic radiographic

facility and shielding design:

(A) formalized training in principles of

radiation protection;

(B) formalized training in shielding

design; and

(C) one year of experience in diagnostic

radiographic facility and shielding

design for the specific type of

machine application.

(4) Class IV - diagnostic fluoroscopic

facility and shielding design:

(A) formalized training in principles of

radiation protection;

(B) formalized training in shielding

design; and

(C) one year of experience in diagnostic

fluoroscopic facility and shielding

design for the specific type of

machine application.

(5) Class V - diagnostic area radiation

survey, e.g., shielding evaluation:

(A) formalized training in basic

radiological health;

(B) formalized training in shielding

evaluation; and

(C) one year of experience performing

area radiation surveys.

(6) Class VI - radiation instrument

calibration: The applicant must possess

a current radioactive materials license

or registration authorizing radiation

instrument calibration.

(7) Class VII - therapeutic facility and

shielding design, area radiation survey,

or calibration:

(A) certification by the American Board

of Radiology in therapeutic

radiological physics, radiological

physics, roentgen-ray and gamma ray

physics, or x-ray and radium physics;

or certification by the American

Board of Medical Physics; or

(B) having the following minimum
training and experience:

(i) a master's degree in physics,

biophysics, radiological physics or

health physics;

(ii) one year of full-time training in

therapeutic radiological physics

(iii) one year of full-time experience in

a therapeutic facility including

personal calibration and

spot-check of at least one

machine;

(C) shall submit a description of the

procedures that will be utilized in

performing therapeutic calibrations

including a list of all guides and

references to be employed;

(D) shall submit a copy of all forms,

reports and documents that will be

supplied to customers; and

(E) shall submit one sample of each

specific type, e.g.. teletherapy,

accelerator.

(8) Class VIII - personnel dosimetry

service: The applicant must hold

current personnel dosimetry

accreditation from the National

Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation

Program (NVLAP) of the National

Institute of Standards and Technology

or use NVLAP accredited dosimetry.

(9) Class IX - general health physics

consulting, e.g., independent diagnostic

radiation output measurements, dose

analysis, design of safety programs, and

radiation safety training programs,

non-healing arts facility and shielding

design, and area radiation surveys:

(A) baccalaureate degree in a physical

science (e.g. physics, chemistry or

radiologic science), engineering or

related field and two years of

progressive experience in medical or

health physics; graduate training in

medical or health physics may be

substituted on a year for year basis;

or

(B) certification by the American Board

of Radiology in therapeutic

radiological physics, radiological

physics, roentgen-ray and gamma ray

physics, or x-ray and radium physics;

certification by the American Board
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of Health Physics in health physics or

certification by the American Board

of Medical Physics.

(b) Any person not meeting the requirements in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule may apply to the agency

for registration, provided such person demonstrates

education, training and experience which is

equivalent to that required in Paragraph (a) of this

Rule.

(c) Any person registered prior to the effective

date of this Rule to provide equipment services

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section shall meet

the education, training and experience

requirements in Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule

no later than 24 months after the effective date of

this Rule.

(d) The agency shall initiate action to terminate

the registration of any person who fails to comply

with the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this

Rule.

Statuton Authoritx G.S. 104E-7.

SECTION .0300 - LICENSING OF RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL

.0303 EXEMPT CONCENTRATIONS: OTHER THAN SOURCE MATERIAL
(a) No person shall introduce radioactive material into a product or material knowing or having reason to

believe that it will be transferred to persons exempt under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or equivalent regulations

of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission or any agreement state, except in accordance with a specific

license issued pursuant to Rule .0325 of this Section.

(b) Except as provided in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, any person is exempt from these Regulations Rules

to the extent that such person receives, possesses, uses, transfers, owns, or acquires products or materials

containing radioactive material in concentrations not in excess of those listed in the following table:

EXEMPT CONCENTRATIONS

Column II

Column I Liquid and

Gas solid

Element concentration concentration

(atomic number) Isotope microcurie/ml microcurie/ml

Antimony (51) SBb 122 3X10"
4

Sb 124 2X10"
4

Sb 125 1X10" 3

Argon (18) Ar 37 1X10 3

Ar41 4X10'
7

Arsenic (33) As 73 5X10"3

As 74 5X10"
4

As 76 2X10"
4

As 77 8X10'
4

Barium (56) Ba 131 2X10 3

Ba 140 3X10'4

7:79 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 4, 1993 2094



PROPOSED RULES

Beryllium (4)

Bismuth (83)

Bromine (35)

Cadmium (48)

Calcium (20)

Carbon (6)

Cerium (58)

Cesium (55)

Chlorine (17)

4X-W-

Chromium (24)

Cobalt (27)

Copper (29)

Dysprosium (66)

Erbium (68)

Europium (63)

Fluorine (9)

Gadolinium (64)

Gallium (31 )

Germanium (32)

Gold (79)

Hafnium (72)

Hydrogen ( 1

)

Indium f4€H (49)

Iodine (53)

Iridium (77)

Iron (26)

Krypton (36)

Lanthanum (57

1

Lead (82)

Be 7

Bi 206

Br 82

Cd 109

Cd 115m

Cd 115

Ca 45

Ca47
C 14

Ce 141

Ce 143

Ce 144

Cs 131

Cs 134m

Cs 134

CI 38

Cr 51

Co ^
_

Co 58

Co 60

Cu 64

Dy 165

Dy 166

Er 169

Er 171

Eu 152

(¥-2- Tl 2

Eu 155

F 1 8

Gd 153

Gd 159

Ga 72

Ge 71

Au 196

Au 198

Au 199

Hf 181

H .3

In 113m

In 114m

I 1 26

I 1 31

I 1 32

I 133

I 134

Ir 190

Ir 192

Ir 194

Fe 55

Fe 59

Kr 85m
Kr 85

La 140

Pb 203

4X10"

X10'

9X10"

= 9.2 Hrs.)

2X10 h

5X10"'

3X10-"

3X10
u

8X10"

1X10'

2X10"

2X10"

4X10"'

3X10-'

2X10"

3X10-1

3X10'

9X10-

5X10'

8X10"

9X10'

4X10"'

1X10"'

2X10"

6X10"

9X10-

4X10"

2X10"

5X10"

1X10"

5X10'

3X10"

4X10 3

4X10"

9X10"'

1X10"

6X10"'

2X10"

8X10"

2X10"

8X10"'

4X10'

2X10"

2X10"

5X10"'

2X10"

7X10'

3X10"

1X10"

2X10-

2X10"

2X10"

6X10"'

7X10"'

1X10"

2X10"

4X10'

3X10"'

8X10"

6X10'

1X10"

3X10"

2X10-

4X10"
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Lutetium (71) Lu 177

Manganese (25) Mn52
Mn54
Mn 56

Mercury (80) Hg 197m

Hg 197

Hg 203

Molybdenum (42) Mo 99

Neodymium (60) Nd 147

Nd 149

Nickel (28) Ni 65

Niobium

(Columbium)(41) Nb 95

Nb 97

Osmium (76) Os 185

Os 191m

Os 191

Os 193

Palladium (46) Pd 103

Pd 109

Phosphorus (15) P 32

Platinum (78) Pt 191

Pt 193m
Pt 197m

Pt 197

Polonium (84) Po 210

Potassium (19) K42
Praseodymium (59) Pr 142

Pr 143

Promethium (61) Pm 147

Pm 149

Radium (88) Ra226
Ra 228

Rhenium (75) Re 183

Re 186

Re 188

Rhodium (45) Rh 103m

Rh 105

Rubidium (37) Rb 86

Ruthenium (44) Ru 97

Ru 103

Ru 105

Ru 106

Samarium (62) Sm 153

Scandium (21) Sc 46

Sc 47

Sc 48

Selenium (34) Se 75

Silicon (14) Si 31

Silver (47) Ag 105

Ag 1 10m

Ag 111

Sodium (11) Na 24

Strontium (38) Sr 85

Sr 89

1X10-

3X10"
4

1X10"
3

1X10"
3

2X10' 3

3X10"3

2X10"4

2X10- 3

6X10' 3

3X10"4

1X10"
3

1X10'3

9X10'3

7X1
0-4

3X10"2

2X10" 3

6X10"
4

3X10" 3

9X10"4

2X10"
4

1X10' 3

1X10"2

1X10"2

1X10' 3

7X1
-6

3X10 3

3X10"4

5X10"4

2X10" 3

4X1
0-4

1X10"7

3X10'7

6X10' 3

9X10"4

6X10 4

1X10' 1

1X10°

7X10"
4

4X10 3

8X10'4

1X10" 3

1X10 4

8X10 4

4X10"4

9X10"4

3X10 4

3X10"3

9X10"'

1X10 3

3X10"
4

4X10 4

2X10-'

1X10 3

1X10 4
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Sulfur (16)

Tantalum (73)

Technetium (43)

Tellurium (52)

Terbium (65)

Thallium (81)

Thulium (69)

Tin (50)

Tungsten(Wolfram) (74)

Vanadium (23)

Xenon (54)

Ytterbium (70)

Yttrium (39)

Zinc (30)

Sr 91

Sr 92

S 35

Ta 182

Tc 96m
Tc 96

Te 125m

Te 127m

Te 127

Te 129m

Te 131m

Te 132

Tb 160

Tl 200

Tl 201

Tl 202

Tl 204

Tm 170

Tm 171

Sn 1 1

3

Sn 125

W 181

W 187

Y 48

Xe 131m

Xe 133

Xe 135

Yb 175

Y 90

Y 91m

Y 91

Y 92

Y 93

Zn 65

Zn 69m
Zn 69

Zr 95

Zr 97

9X1 0*

4X1 h

3X1
0- 6

1X10*

7X1

O

4

7X10"4

6X10"4

4X1
0-4

1X10-

1X10' 3

2X10' 3

6X1
0-1

3X10" 3

3X10"
4

6X1
0"1

3X10 4

4X10 4

4X10" 3

3X10'

1X10" 3

1X10
3

5X10 4

5X10 1

9X10"4

2X10'
4

4X10'
3

7X10"
4

3X10 4

1X10''

2X10 4

3X10 :

3X10 4

6X10'
4

3X10"
4

1X10 3

7X10 4

2X10 :

6X10 4

2X10'
4

1X10"

Zirconium (40)

Beta and/or gamma emitting 1 X 10

radioactive material not

listed above with half-life

less than 3 years

(O In Column 1 of the table, in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, values are given only for those materials

normally used as gases.

(d) In Column II of the table, in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the units, microcuries per gram, are used for

solids.

(e) Many radioisotopes disintegrate into isotopes which are also radioactive. In expressing the

concentrations in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the activity stated is that of the parent isotope and takes into

account the daughters.

(f) For purposes of this Rule, where a combination of isotopes is involved, the limit for the combination

shall be derived as follows: Determine for each isotope in the product the ratio between the concentration

present in the product and the exempt concentration established in Paragraph (b) of this Rule for the specific

isotope when not in combination. The sum of the ratios shall not exceed unity. An example of this is:
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Concentration of Isotope A in Product

Exempt concentration of Isotope A +

Concentration of Isotope B in Product

Exempt concentration of Isotope B less than or equal to 1

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-20.

.0304 EXEMPT QUANTITIES: OTHER THAN SOURCE MATERIAL
(a) Any person who possesses radioactive material received or acquired under the general license formerly

provided in Rule .0303(b) of this Section is exempt from the requirements for a license set forth in this Section

to the extent that such person possesses, uses, transfers or owns such radioactive material.

(b) This Rule does not authorize the production, packaging or repackaging of radioactive material for

purposes of commercial distribution, or the incorporation of radioactive material into products intended for

commercial distribution.

(c) No person shall, for the purposes of commercial distribution, transfer individual quantities of radioactive

materials to persons exempt from regulation in Paragraph (a) of this Rule except in accordance with a specific

license issued by:

(1) the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission pursuant to Section 32.18 of 10 CFR Part 32 for source

and byproduct material;

(2) the agency pursuant to Rule .0326 for radioactive material other than source, byproduct and special

nuclear material; or

(3) any agreement state pursuant to equivalent regulation for radioactive material other than source,

byproduct and special nuclear material.

(d) Licensees for commercial distribution shall not transfer the quantities of radioactive material to persons

exempt under Paragraph (e) of this Rule if the licensee knows or has reason to believe that the recipient will

redistribute the quantities to persons exempt under Paragraph (e) of this Rule.

(e) Except as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, any person is exempt from the rules of this

Chapter to the extent that such person receives, possesses, uses, transfers, owns or acquires radioactive

material in individual quantities each of which does not exceed the applicable quantity set forth in the

following table:

EXEMPT QUANTITIES

Radioactive Material Microcuries

Antimony-122 (Sb 122) 100

Antimony- 124 (Sb 124) 10

Antimony-125 (Sb 125) 10

Arsenic-73 (As 73) 100

Arsenic-74 (As 74) 10

Arsenic-76 (As 76) 10

Arsenic-77 (As 77) 100

Barium-131 (Ba 131) 10

Barium- 133 (Ba 133) 10

Barium- 140 (Ba 140) 10

Bismuth-210 (Bi 210) 1

Bromine-82 (Br 82) 10

Cadmium-109 (Cd 109) 10

Cadmium- 1 15m (Cd 1 15m) 10

Cadmium-115 (Cd 115) 100

Calcium-45 (Ca 45) 10

Calcium-47 (Ca 47) 10

Carbon-14 (C 14) 100

Cerium-141 (Ce 141) 100

Cerium- 143 (Ce 143) 100
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Cerium- 144 (Ce 144)

Cesium- 129 (Cs 129)

Cesium-131 (Cs 131)

Cesium- 134m (Cs 134m)

Cesium- 134 (Cs 134)

Cesium-135 (Cs 135)

Cesium-136 (Cs 136)

Cesium-137 (Cs 137)

Chlorine-36 (CI 36)

Chlorine-38 (CI 38)

Chromium-51 (Cr51)

Cobalt-57 (Co 57)

Cobalt-58m (Co 58m)

CobaIt-58 (Co 58)

Cobalt-60 (Co 60)

Copper-64 (Cu 64)

Dysprosium- 165 (Dy 165)

Dysprosium- 166 (Dy 166)

Erbium- 169 (Er 169)

Erbium-171 (Er 171)

Europium-152 (Eu 152) 9.2h

Europium- 152 (Eu 152) 13 yr

Europium- 154 (Eu 154)

Europium-155 (Eu 155)

Fluorine-18 (F 18)

Gadolinium- 153 (Gd 153)

Gadolinium- 159 (Gd 159)

Gallium-67 (Ga 67)

Gallium-72 (Ga 72)

Germanium-71 (Ge71)

Gold-198 (Au 198)

Gold- 199 (Au 199)

Hafnium- 181 (Hf 181)

Holmium-166 (Ho 166)

Hydrogen-3 (H 3)

Indium-Ill (In 111)

Indium-1 13m (In 1 13m)

Indium- 1 14m (In 114m)

Indium-1 15m(In 1 15m)

Indium-1 15 (In 115)

Iodine- 123 (I 123)

Iodine- 125 (I 125)

Iodine-126 (I 126)

Iodine-129 (I

Iodine-131 (I

Iodine- 132 (I

Iodine- 133 (I

Iodine- 134 (I

Iodine-135 (I

I rid in in

Iridium

129)

131)

132)

133)

134)

135)

92 (Ir 192)

94 (Ir 194)

Iron-52 (Fe 52)

Iron-55 (Fe 55)

Iron-59 (Fe 59)

Krypton-85 (Kr 85)

100

,000

100

1

10

10

10

10

10

,000

100

10

10

1

100

10

100

100

100

100

1

1

10

.000

10

100

100

10

100

100

100

10

100

.000

100

100

10

100

10

100

1

1

0.1

1

10

1

10

10

10

100

10

100

10

100
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Krypton-87 (Kr 87) 10

Lanthanum-140 (La 140) 10

Lutetium-177 (Lu 177) 100

Manganese-52 (Mn 52) 10

Manganese-54 (Mn 54) 10

Manganese-56 (Mn 56) 10

Mercury- 1 97m (Hg 197m) 100

Mercury- 197 (Hg 197) 100

Mercury-203 (Hg 203) 10

Molybdenum-99 (Mo 99) 100

Neodymium-147 (Nd 147) 100

Neodymium-149 (Nd 149) 100

Nickel-59 (Ni 59) 100

Nickel-63( Ni 63) 10

Nickel-65 (Ni 65) 100

Niobium-93m (Nb 93m) 10

Niobium-95 (Nb 95) 10

Niobium-97 (Nb 97) 10

Osmium- 185 (Os 185) 10

Osmium-191m (Os 191m) 100

Osmium-191 (Os 191) 100

Osmium-193 (Os 193) 100

Palladium- 103 (Pd 103) 100

Palladium-109 (Pd 109) 100

Phosphorus-32 (P 32) 10

Platinum-191 (Pt 191) 100

Platinum-193m (Pt 193m) 100

Platinum- 193 (Pt 193) 100

Platinum- 197m (Pt 197m) 100

Platinum- 197 (Pt 197) 100

Polonium-210 (Po 210) 0.1

Potassium-42 (K 42) 10

Potassium-43 (K 43) 10

Praseodymium- 142 (Pr 142) 100

Praseodymium- 143 (Pr 143) 100

Promethium -147 (Pm 147) 10

Promethium-149 (Pm 149) 10

Rhenium- 186 (Re 186) 100

Rhenium-188 (Re 188) 100

Rhodium- 103m (Rh 103m) 100

Rhodium- 105 (Rh 105) 100

Rubidium-81 (Rb 81) 10

Rubidium-86 (Rb 86) 10

Rubidium-87 (Rb 87) 10

Ruthenium-97 (Ru 97) 100

Ruthenium- 103 (Ru 103) 10

Ruthenium- 105 (Ru 105) 10

Ruthenium- 106 (Ru 106) 1

Samarium-151 (Sm 151) 10

Samarium-153 (Sm 153) 100

Scandium-46 (Sc 46) 10

Scandium-47 (Sc 47) 100

Scandium-48 (Sc 48) 10

Selenium-75 (Se 75) 10

Silicon-31 (Si 31) 100
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Silver- 105 (Ag 105)

Silver-llOm (Ag 110m)

Silver-Ill (Ag 111)

Sodium-22 (Na 22)

Sodium-24 (Na 24)

Strontium-85 (Sr 85)

Strontium-89 (Sr 89)

Strontium-90 (Sr 90)

Strontium-91 (Sr 91)

Strontium-92 (Sr 92)

Sulphur Sulfur-35 (S 35)

Tantalum- 182 (Ta 182)

Technetium-96 (Tc 96)

Technetium-97m (Tc 97m)

Technetium-97 (Tc 97)

Technetium-99m (Tc 99m)

Technetium-99 (Tc 99)

Tellurium- 125m (Te 125m)

Tellurium- 127m (Te 127m)

Tellurium- 127 (Te 127)

Tellurium- 129m (Te 129m)

Tellurium- 129 (Te 129)

Tellurium-131m (Te 131m)

Tellurium- 132 (Te 132)

Terbium- 160 (Tb 160)

Thallium-200 (Tl 200)

Thallium-201 (Tl 201)

Thallium-202 (Tl 202)

Thallium-204 (Tl 204)

Thulium- 170 (Tm 170)

Thulium-171 (Tm 171)

Tin-113 (Sn 113)

Tin- 125 (Sn 125)

Tungsten- 181 (W 181)

Tungsten- 185 (W 185)

Tungsten- 187 (W 187)

Vanadium-48 (V 48)

Xenon-131m (Xe 131m)

Xenon- 133 (Xe 133)

Xenon- 135 (Xe 135)

Ytterbium- 175 (Yb 175)

Yttrium-87 (Y 87)

Yttrium-90 (Y 90)

Yttrium-91 (Y 91)

Yttrium-92 (Y 92)

Yttrium-93 (Y 93)

Zinc-65 (Zn 65)

Zinc-69m (Zn 69m)

Zine-69 (Zn 69)

Zirconium-93 (Zr 93)

Zirconium-95 (Zr 95)

Zirconium-97 (Zr 97)

Any radioactive material

not listed above other than

alpha emitting radioactive

10

1

100

10

10

10

1

0.1

10

10

100

10

10

100

100

100

10

10

10

100

10

100

10

10

10

100

100

100

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

100

10

,000

100

100

100

10

10

10

100

100

10

100

,000

10

10

10
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material

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; W4E-J0(b); 104E-20.

.0305 EXEMPT ITEM CONTAINING
OTHER THAN SOURCE MATERIAL

(a) Authority to transfer possession or control by

the manufacturer, processor, or producer of any

equipment, device, commodity, or other product

containing source, byproduct, or special nuclear

material whose subsequent possession, use, trans-

fer, and disposal by all other persons are exempted

from the rules of this Chapter may be obtained

only from the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commis-

sion, Washington, D.C. 20555.

(b) Certain items containing radioactive materi-

al:

( 1 ) Except for persons who apply radioac-

tive material to. or persons who incor-

porate radioactive material into the

following products, any person is ex-

empt from the rules of this Chapter to

the extent that he receives, possesses,

uses, transfers, owns, or acquires the

following products:

(A) timepieces or hands or dials contain-

ing not more than the following speci-

fied quantities of radioactive material

and not exceeding the following speci-

fied levels of radiation:

(i) 25 millicuries of tritium per time-

piece;

(ii) five millicuries of tritium per

hand;

(iii) 15 millicuries of tritium per dial

(bezels when used shall be consid-

ered as part of the dial);

(iv) 10 microcuries of
promethium-147 per watch or 200

microcuries of promethium-147

per any other timepiece;

(v) 2 microcuries of
promethium-147 per watch hand

or 40 microcuries of

promethium-147 per other

timepiece hand;

(vi) 60 microcuries of
promethium-147 per watch dial or

12 microcuries of
promethium-147 per other

timepiece dial (bezels when used

shall be considered as part of the

dial);

(vii) the levels of radiation from hands

0.1

and dials containing
promethium-147 will not exceed,

when measured through 50

milligrams per square centimeter

of absorber:

(I) for wrist watches, 0.1 millirad

per hour at ten centimeters

from any surface;

(II) for pocket watches, 0.

1

millirad per hour at one

centimeter from any surface;

(III) for any other timepiece, 0.2

millirad per hour at ten

centimeters from any surface.

(B) lock illuminators containing not more

than 15 millicuries of tritium or not

more than two millicuries of

promethium-147 installed in

automobile locks (the levels of

radiation from each lock illuminator

containing promethium-147 shall not

exceed one millirad per hour at one

centimeter from any surface when

measured through 50 milligrams per

square centimeter of absorber);

(C) balances of precision containing not

more than one millicurie of tritium

per balance or not more than 0.5

millicurie of tritium per balance part;

(D) automobile shift quadrants containing

not more than 25 millicuries of

tritium;

(E) marine compasses containing not

more than 750 millicuries of tritium

gas and other marine navigational

instruments containing not more than

250 millicuries of tritium gas:

(F) thermostat dials and pointers

containing not more than 25

millicuries of tritium per thermostat;

(G) electron tubes, provided that each

tube does not contain more than one

of the following specified quantities of

radioactive material:

(i) 150 millicuries of tritium per

microwave receiver protector tube

or ten millicuries of tritium per

any other electron tube;

(ii) one microcurie of cobalt-60;

(iii) five microcuries of nickel-63;

(iv) 30 microcuries of krypton-85;
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(v) five microcuries of cesium- 137;

(vi) 3 microcuries of
promethium-147; and provided

further, that the levels of radiation

from each electron tube

containing radioactive material

does not exceed one millirad per

hour at one centimeter from any

surface when measured through

seven milligrams per square

centimeter of absorber (for

purposes of this Subparagraph,

"electron tubes" include spark gap

tubes, power tubes, gas tubes

including glow lamps, receiving

tubes, microwave tubes, indicator

tubes, pickup tubes, radiation

detection tubes and any other

completely sealed tube that is

designed to conduct or control

electrical currents);

(H) ionizing radiation measuring

instruments containing for purposes of

internal calibration or standardization.

sources of radioactive material each

not exceeding the applicable quantity

set forth in Rule .0304(e) of this

Section.

(I) spark gap irradiation containing not

more than one microcurie of cobalt-60

per spark gap irradiator for use in

electrically ignited fuel oil burners

having a firing rate of at least three

gallons ( 1 1 .4 liters) per hour.

(2) For purposes of Part (b)(1)(H) of this

Rule, where there is involved a

combination of radionuclides, the limit

for the combination should be derived

as follows:

(A) Determine for each radionuclide in an

ionizing radiation measuring

instrument the ratio between the

quantity present in the instrument and

the exempt quantity established in

Rule .0304(e) of this Section for the

specific radionuclide when not in

combination;

(B) No ratio shall exceed one and the sum

of such ratios shall not exceed ten.

(C) For the purpose of Subparagraph Part

(b)(1)(H) 0.05 microcurie of

americium-241 is considered an

exempt quantity under Rule .0304 of

this Section.

(c) Self-luminous products:

( 1

)

Except for persons who manufacture,

process, or produce self-luminous

products containing tritium, krypton-85,

or promethium-147, any person is

exempt from the rules of this Chapter

to the extent that any person receives,

possesses, uses, transfers, owns, or

acquires tritium, krypton-85 or

promethium-147 in self-luminous

products manufactured. processed,

produced, imported, or transferred in

accordance with a specific license

issued by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission pursuant to Section 32.22

of 10 CFR Part 32, which license

authorizes the transfer of the product to

persons who are exempt from

regulatory requirements.

(2) The exemption in Subparagraph (c)(1)

of this Rule does not apply to tritium.

krypton-85, or promethium-147 used in

products for frivolous purposes or in

toys or adornments.

(d) Gas and aerosol detectors:

(1) Except for persons who manufacture,

process, or produce gas and aerosol

detectors containing radioactive

material, any person is exempt from the

regulations rules of this Chapter to the

extent that any person receives,

possesses, uses, transfers, owns or

acquires radioactive material in gas and

aerosol detectors designed to protect

life or property from fires and airborne

hazards provided that detectors

containing radioactive material shall be

manufactured, imported, or transferred

in accordance with a specific license

issued by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission or any agreement state,

pursuant to Section 32.26 of 10 CFR
32, or equivalent, which authorizes the

transfer of the detectors to persons who

are exempt from regulatory

requirements.

(2) Gas and aerosol detectors previously

manufactured and distributed to general

licensees in accordance with a specific

license issued by an agreement state

shall be considered exempt under

Subparagraph (d)( 1 ) of this Rule,

provided that the devices are labeled in

accordance with the specific license

authorizing distribution of the general

licensed device, and providing further
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that the devices meet the requirements

of Rule .0327.

(e) Resins containing scandium-46:

(1) Any person is exempt from these

Regulation s Rules to the extent that

such person receives, possesses, uses,

transfers, owns or acquires synthetic

plastic resins containing scandium-46

which are designed for sand

consolidation in oil wells. These resins

shall be manufactured or imported in

accordance with a specific license

issued by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission, or shall be manufactured

in accordance with the specifications

contained in a specific license issued by

the agency or any agreement state to

the manufacturer of such resins

pursuant to licensing requirements

equivalent to those in Sections 32.16

and 32.17 of 10 CFR Part 32 of the

regulations of the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission.

(2) This exemption does not authorize the

manufacture of any resins containing

scandium-46.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 1 04E- 10(b);

104E-20.

.0318 SPECIFIC LICENSES: GENERAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR HUMAN USE

(a) A license application for human use of

radioactive material will be approved if the agency

determines that:

(1) The applicant is qualified by reason of

training and experience to use the

material in question for the purpose

requested in accordance with these

Regulations Rules;

(2) The applicant's proposed equipment,

facilities, and procedures are adequate

to protect public health from radiation

hazards and minimize radiological

danger to life or property;

(3) The issuance of the license will not be

inimical to the health and safety of the

public;

(4) The following training and supervisory

relationship are adhered to:

(A) the user of radioisotopes applied to

humans for diagnostic, therapeutic, or

investigational purposes shall be a

physician authorized by a condition of

a specific license, including a specific

license of broad scope.

(B) No authorized physician may delegate

to persons who are not physicians

under the supervision of the

authorized physician, the following:

(i) the approval of procedures

involving the administration to

patients of radiopharmaceuticals

or the application to patients of

radiation from radioisotope

sources;

(ii) the prescription of the

radiopharmaceutical or source of

radiation and the dose or exposure

to be administered;

(iii) the determination of the route of

administration;

(iv) the intequretation of the results of

diagnostic procedures in which

radiopharmaceuticals are

administered;

(5) the applicant satisfies any applicable

special requirements in Rules .0319 to

.0322 of this Section.

(b) Subject to the provisions of Subparagraph

(a)(4) and Paragraphs (c) to (f) of this Rule, an

authorized physician may permit technicians and

other paramedic personnel to perform the

following activities:

( 1 ) preparation and quality control testing

of radiopharmaceuticals and sources of

radiation;

(2) measurement of radiopharmaceutical

doses prior to administration;

(3) use of appropriate instrumentation for

the collection of data to be used by the

physician;

(4) administration of radiopharmaceuticals

and radiation from radioisotope sources

to patients.

(c) Authorized physicians who permit activities

to be performed by technicians and other

paramedical personnel pursuant to Paragraph (b) of

this Rule shall:

(1) prior to giving permission, determine

that the technicians and other

paramedical personnel have been

properly trained to perform their duties

with specific training in the following

subjects, as applicable to the duties

assigned:

(A) general characteristics of radiation

and radioactive materials;

( B

)

physical, chemical, and
pharmaceutical characteristics of each
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radiopharmaceutical to be used;

(C) mathematics and calculations basic to

the use and measurement of

radioactivity, including units of

radiation dose and radiation exposure;

(D) use of radiation instrumentation for

measurements and monitoring

including operating procedures,

calibration of instruments, and

limitations of instruments;

(E) principles and practices of radiation

protection;

(F) additional training in the above

subjects, as appropriate, when new

duties are added.

(2) assure that the technicians and other

paramedical personnel receive

appropriate retraining in the subjects

listed in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this

Rule to maintain proficiency and to

keep abreast of developments in the

field of nuclear medical technology;

(3) keep records showing the bases for the

determinations of proper training; and

(4) retain responsibility as licensee or

authorized user for the satisfactory

performance of the activities.

(d) Certification in nuclear medicine technology

by the American Registry of Radiologic

Technologists or in nuclear medical technology by

the Registry of Medical Technologists of the

American Society of Clinical Pathologists or the

Society of Nuclear Medicine will be deemed to

satisfy the training requirements in Subparagraphs

(c)(1) and (2) of this Rule.

(e) An applicant for a license or for amendment

or renewal of a license shall state whether he

desires to permit technicians or other paramedical

personnel to perform activities pursuant to

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and, if so, shall include

in his application for license, license amendment,

or license renewal a statement of the activities to

be so performed and a description of an adequate

program for training the personnel, including

retraining as required to keep abreast of

developments in technology, or for otherwise

determining that the personnel are properly trained

to perform their duties.

(f) Whenever a technician or other paramedical

person administers a radiopharmaceutical to a

patient by injection, a physician shall be

immediately accessible, but not necessarily a

physician authorized by the agency to be a user of

radioisotopes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0321 SPECIFIC LICENSES: GROUPS OF
DIAGNOSTIC USES

(a) An application for a specific license pursuant

to Rule .0318 of this Section for any diagnostic or

therapeutic use of radioactive material specified in

groups established in Paragraph (b) of this Rule

will be approved for all of the diagnostic or

therapeutic uses within the group which include the

use specified in the application if:

( 1 ) the applicant satisfies the requirements

in Rule .0319 of this Section;

(2) the applicants proposed radiation

detection instrumentation is adequate

for conducting the diagnostic or

therapeutic procedure specified in the

appropriate group;

(3) the physicians designated in the

application as individual users, have

adequate clinical experience in the types

of uses included in the group or groups;

(4) the physicians and all other personnel

who will be involved in the preparation

and use of radioactive material have

adequate training and experience in the

handling of radioactive material

appropriate to their participation in the

uses included in the group or groups;

(5) the applicant's radiation safety

operating procedures are adequate for

handling and disposal of the radioactive

material involved in the uses included

in the group or groups.

(b) The groups of diagnostic and therapeutic

radiopharmaceutical uses are established as

follows:

( 1 ) Group I includes radiopharmaceuticals

for which a New Drug application has

been approved by the U.S. Food and

Drug Administration for diagnostic

studies involving measurement of

uptake, dilution and excretion. This

group does not include the use of any

radiopharmaceutical disapproved by the

North Carolina Radiation Protection

Commission or involving imaging,

tumor localization or therapy.

(2) Croup II includes radiopharmaceuticals

for which a New Drug application has

been approved by the U.S. Food and

Drug Administration for diagnostic

studies involving imaging and tumor

localizations. This group does not

include the use o f a n v
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radiopharmaceutical disapproved by the

North Carolina Radiation Protection

Commission.

(3) Group III includes the use of generators

and reagent kits for which a New Drug

application has been approved by the

U.S. Food and Drug Administration for

the preparation of radiopharmaceuticals

for certain diagnostic uses. This group

does not include any generator or

reagent kit disapproved by the North

Carolina Radiation Protection

Commission.

(4) Group IV includes radiopharmaceuticals

for which a New Drug application has

been approved by the U.S. Food and

Drug Administration for therapeutic

uses which do not normally require

hospitalization for purposes of radiation

safety. This group does not include any

radiopharmaceutical disapproved by the

North Carolina Radiation Protection

Commission.

(c) Any licensee who is authorized to use

radioactive material in one or more groups

pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule is subject to

the following conditions:

(1) For Groups I, II and IV, no licensee

shall receive, possess, or use

radioactive materials except as a

radiopharmaceutical manufactured in

the form to be administered to the

patient, labeled. packaged. and

distributed in accordance with:

(A) a specific license issued by the U.S.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission,

pursuant to Section 32.72 of 10 CFR
Part 32; or

(B) a specific license issued by the agency

or an agreement state pursuant to

equivalent regulations.

(2) For Group III, no licensee shall

receive, possess, or use generators or

reagent kits containing radioactive

material or shall use reagent kits that do

not contain radioactive material to

prepare radiopharmaceuticals containing

radioactive material, except:

(A) reagent kits. not containing

radioactive material, that are

appro ved by the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission, the U.S.

Atomic Energy Commission, or an

agreement state for use by persons

licensed for Group III pursuant to

Paragraph (a) of this Rule or

equivalent regulations of an agreement

state or the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission;

(B) generators or reagent kits containing

radioactive material that are

manufactured, labeled, packaged, and

distributed in accordance with a

specific license issued by the U.S.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

pursuant to Section 32.73 of 10 CFR
Part 32 or by the agency or an

agreement state pursuant to equivalent

regulations;

(C) any licensee who uses generators or

reagent kits shall elute the generator

or process radioactive material with

the reagent kit in accordance with

instructions which are approved by

the L'.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission or an agreement state

and are furnished by the manufacturer

on the label attached to or in the

leaflet or brochure that accompanies

the generator or reagent kit.

(3) For Groups I, II and III, any licensee

using radioactive material for clinical

procedures other than those specified in

the product labeling package insert shall

comply with the product labeling

regarding:

(A) chemical and physical form;

(B) route of administration; and

(C) dosage range.

(4) Any licensee who is licensed pursuant

to Paragraph (a) of this Rule for one or

more of the medical use groups also is

authorized to use radioactive material

under the general license in Rule .0314

of this Section for the specified IN

VITRO uses without filing agency form

as required by Rule .0314(b) of this

Section, provided that the licensee is

subject to the other provisions of Rule

.0314 of this Section.

(5) Any licensee who is licensed pursuant

to Paragraph (a) of this Rule for one or

more of the medical use groups in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule also is

authorized, subject to the provisions of

Subparagraphs Pails (c)(5)(E) and (F)

of this Rule, to receive, possess, and

use for calibration and reference

standards:

(A) Any radioactive material listed in

7:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER Januan' 4, 1993 2106



PROPOSED RULES

Group I. Group II. or Group III of

this Rule with a half-life not longer

than 100 days, in amounts not to

exceed 15 millicuries total;

iB) Any radioactive material listed in

Group I. Group II. or Group III of

this Rule with half-life greater than

100 days in amounts not to exceed

200 microcuries total;

(C) Technetium-99m in amounts not to

exceed 30 millicuries;

(D) Any radioactive material in amounts

not to exceed three millicuries per

source contained in calibration or

reference sources that have been

manufactured, labeled, packaged, and

distributed in accordance with:

(i) a specific license issued to the

manufacturer by an agreement

state pursuant to equivalent state

regulations:

(ii) a specific license issued by the

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission pursuant to Section

32.74 of 10 CFR. Part 32; or

(iii) an application filed with the U.S.

Atomic Energy Commission

pursuant to Section 32.74 of 10

CFR. part 32: or

(iv) an application filed with an

agreement state pursuant to

equivalent state regulations on or

before October 15. 1974 for a

license to manufacture a source

that the applicant distributed

commercially on or before August

16. 1974. on which application

the U.S. Atomic Energy

Commission or the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission or the

agreement state has not acted.

(E) Any licensee who possesses sealed

sources as calibration or reference

sources pursuant to Subparagraph

(c)(5) of this Rule shall cause each

sealed source containing radioactive

material other than hydrogen-3 with a

half-life greater than 30 days in any

form other than gas to be tested for

leakage or contamination at intervals

not to exceed six months. In the

absence of a certificate from a

transferor indicating that a test has

been made within six months prior to

the transfer, the sealed source shall

not be used until tested. No leak tests

are required when:

(i) The source contains 100

microcuries or less of beta or

gamma emitting material or ten

microcuries or less of alpha

emitting material,

(ii) The sealed source is stored and is

not being used.

Such source shall be tested for

leakage prior to any use or transfer

unless they have been leak tested

within six months prior to the date of

use or transfer.

(F) The leak test shall be capable of

detecting the presence of 0.005

microcuries of radioactive material on

the test sample. The test sample shall

be taken from the sealed source or

from the surfaces of the device in

which the sealed source is

permanently mounted or stored on

which contamination might be

expected to accumulate. Records of

leak test results shall be kept in units

of microcuries and maintained for

inspection by the agency.

(G) If the leak test reveals the presence of

0.005 microcuries or more of

removable contamination, the licensee

shall immediately withdraw the sealed

source from use and shall cause it to

be decontaminated and repaired or to

be disposed of in accordance with

agency regulations. A report shall be

filed within the da\ -- ot the te-t with

the agency address in Rule .0111 of

this Chapter describing the equipment

involved, the test results, and the

corrective action taken.

(Hi Any licensee who possesses and uses

calibration and reference sources

pursuant to Subparagraph (c)(5) of

this Rule shall:

(ij follow the radiation safety and

handling instructions approved by

the agency or an agreement state

and furnished by the manufacturer

on the label attached to the source

or permanent container thereof or

in the leaflet or brochure that

accompanies the source;

(ii) maintain such instructions in a

legible and conveniently available

form;
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(iii) conduct a quarterly physical

inventory to account for all

sources received and possessed;

Records of the inventories shall

be maintained for inspection by

the agency and shall include the

quantities and kinds of radioactive

material, location of sources and

the date of the inventory.

(d) Current lists of the radiopharmaceuticals,

generators, reagent kits, and associated uses in

Group I to IV are available from the agency at the

address in Rule .01 1 1 of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E- 10(b).

.0324 SPECIFIC LICENSES: BROAD SCOPE
(a) In addition to the requirements set forth in

Rule .0317 of this Section, a specific license of

broad scope for radioactive material will be issued

if:

( 1 ) the applicant has engaged in a

reasonable number of activities

involving the use of radioactive

material; and

(2) the applicant has established

administrative controls and provisions

relating to organization and

management, procedures, record

keeping, material control and

accounting, and management review

that are necessary to assure safe

operations, including:

(A) the establishment of a radiation safety

committee composed of such persons

as a radiation safety officer, a

representative of management, and

persons trained and experienced in the

safe use of radioactive material;

(B) the appointment of a radiation safety

officer who is qualified by training

and experience in radiation protection,

and who is available for advice and

assistance on radiation safety

measures; and

(C) the establishment of appropriate

administrative procedures to assure:

(i) control of procurement and use of

radioactive material;

(ii) completion of safety evaluations

of proposed used uses of

radioactive material which taken

takes into consideration such

matters as the adequacy of

facilities and equipment, training

and experience of the user, and

the operating or handling

procedures; and

(iii) review, approval, and recording

by the radiation safety committee

of safety evaluations of proposed

uses prepared in accordance with

Subparagraph Part (a)(2)(C) of

this Rule prior to use of the

radioactive material.

(3) Unless specifically authorized pursuant

to other Rules rules of this Section,

persons licensed under this Rule shall

not:

(A) conduct tracer studies in the

environment involving direct release

of radioactive material;

(B) receive, acquire, own. possess, use,

or transfer devices containing 100.000

curies or more of byproduct material

in sealed sources used for irradiation

of materials;

(C) conduct activities for which a specific

license issued by the agency under

.0300 the rules of this Section is

required; or

(D) add or cause the addition of

radioactive material to any food,

beverage, cosmetic, drug, or other

product designed for ingestion or

inhalation by, or application to, a

human being.

(4) Each specific license of broad scope

issued under this Rule shall be subject

to the condition that radioactive

material possessed under the license

may only be used by, or under the

direct supervision of. individuals

approved by the licensee's radiation

safety committee.

(b) In addition to the requirements set forth in

Rule .0319 of this Section, a specific license of

broad scope for radioactive material, human use,

will be issued only if:

(1) the applicant has appointed a radiation

safety committee as required in

Subparagraph Pa it (a)(2)(A) of this

Rule, except that this committee shall

evaluate all proposals for research,

diagnostic and therapeutic use of

radioactive material within the medical

facility;

(2) membership of the committee consists

of physicians specializing in nuclear

medicine, diagnostic radiology, clinical
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pathology. and a pharmacist

specializing in radiopharmacy, someone

competent in radiation safety and a

representative of the hospital

management; and

(3) the applicant for a medical radioactive

materials license of broad scope has an

ongoing teaching program with interns

and residents associated with a

four-year medical school.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0325 SPECIFIC LICENSES: PRODUCTS
WITH EXEMPT CONCENTRATIONS

(a) In addition to the requirements set forth in

Rule .0317 of this Section, a specific license

authorizing the introduction of radioactive material

into a product or material owned by or in the

possession of the licensee or another to be trans-

ferred to persons exempt under Rule .0303(b) of

this Section will be issued if:

(1) the applicant submits a description of

the product or material into which the

radioactive material will be introduced,

intended use of the radioactive material

and the product or material into which

it is introduced, method of introduction,

initial concentration of the radioactive

material in the product or material,

control methods to assure that no more

than the specified concentration is

introduced into the product or material,

estimated time interval between intro-

duction and transfer of the product or

material, and estimated concentration of

the radioactive material in the product

or material at the time of transfer; and

(2) the applicant provides reasonable assur-

ance that the product or material is not

likely to be incorporated in any food,

beverage, cosmetic, drug or other

commodity or product designed for

ingestion or inhalation by. or applica-

tion to, a human being, use of lower

concentration is not feasible and that

the concentrations of radioactive materi-

al at the time of transfer, or that recon-

centration of the radioactive material,

will not exceed the concentrations listed

in the table in Rule .0303(b) of this

Section.

(A) Many radioisotopes disintegrate into

isotopes which are also radioactive.

In expressing the concentrations in the

table in Rule .0303(b) of this Section,

the activity stated is that of the parent

isotope and takes into account the

daughters.

(B) Values are given in Column I of the

table in Rule .0303(b) of this Section,

only for those materials normally used

as gases.

(C) For purposes of this Rule where there

is involved a combination of isotopes,

the limit for the combination shall be

derived as follows:

(i) Determine for each isotope in the

product the ratio between the

concentration present in the prod-

uct and the exempt concentration

established in the table in Rule

.0303(b) of this Section for the

specific isotope when not in com-

bination.

(ii) The sum of these ratios shall not

exceed unity.

Example:

Concentration of Isotope A m Product

Exempt concentration of Isotope A +

Concentration of Isotope B in Product

Exempt concentration of Isotope B less than

or equal to 1

(b) Each person licensed under Paragraph (a) of

this Rule shall file with the agency an annual

report which shall identify':

( 1 ) the type and quantity of each product or

material into which radioactive material

has been introduced during the report-

ing period;

(2) name and address of the person who
owned or possessed the product or

material, into which radioactive materi-

al has been introduced, at the time of

introduction:

(3) the type and quantity of radionuclide

introduced into each such product or

material: and

(4) the initial concentrations of the

radionuclide in the product or material

at time of transfer of the radioactive

material by the licensee.

If no transfers of radioactive material have been

made pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule during

the reporting period, the report shall so indicate.

The report shall cover the 12-month period ending

June 30, and shall be filed within 30 days thereaf-

2109 7:19 XORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 4, 1993



PROPOSED RULES

ter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-W(b).

.0326 SPECIFIC LICENSES: EXEMPT
DISTRIBUTION

(a) An application for a specific license to

distribute radioactive material other than source,

byproduct or special nuclear material to persons

exempt from these Regulations Rules pursuant to

Rule .0304(e) of this Section will be approved if:

( 1 ) The radioactive material is not con-

tained in any food, beverage, cosmetic.

drug, or other commodity designed for

ingestion or inhalation by, or applica-

tion to. a human being;

(2) The radioactive material is in the form

of processed chemical elements, com-

pounds, or mixtures, tissue samples,

bioassay samples, counting standards,

plated or encapsulated sources, or

similar substances, identified as radio-

active and to be used for its radioactive

properties, but is not incorporated into

any manufactured or assembled com-

modity, product, or device intended for

commercial distribution: and

(3) The applicant submits copies of proto-

type labels and brochures and the agen-

cy approves their labels and brochures.

(b) The license issued pursuant to this Rule is

subject to the following conditions:

( 1 ) No more than ten exempt quantities

shall be sold or transferred in any

single transaction. An exempt quantity

may be composed of fractional parts of

one or more of the exempt quantity

provided the sum of the fraction shall

not exceed unity.

(2) Each exempt quantity shall be separate-

ly and individually packaged. No more

than ten packaged exempt quantities

shall be contained in any outer package

for transfer to persons exempt pursuant

to Rule .0304(e) of this Section. The

outer package shall be such that the

dose rate at the external surface of the

package does not exceed 0.5 millirem

per hour.

(3) The immediate container of each quan-

tity of separately packaged fractional

quantity of radioactive material shall

bear the words "Radioactive Material".

(4) In addition to the labeling information

required by Subparagraph (b)(3) of this

Rule, the label affixed to the immediate

container, or an accompanying bro-

chure, shall:

(A) state that the contents are exempt

from U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Com-
mission or agreement state require-

ments;

(B) contain the following statements:

(i) Radioactive material;

(ii) Not for human use;

(iii) Introduction into foods, beverag-

es, cosmetics, drugs. or

medicinals. or into products

manufactured for commercial

distribution is prohibited:

(iv) Exempt quantities should not be

combined.

(C) set forth appropriate additional

radiation safety precautions and

instructions relating to the handling,

use, storage, and disposal of the

radioactive material.

(c) Each person licensed under Paragraph (a) of

this Rule shall maintain records identifying, by

name and address, each person to whom
radioactive material is transferred for use under

Rule .0304(e) of this Section or the equivalent

regulations of an agreement state, and stating the

kinds and quantities of radioactive material

transferred. An annual summary report stating the

total quantity of each radionuclide transferred

under the specific license shall be filed with the

agency. Each report shall cover the 12 month

period ending June 30, and shall be filed within 30

days thereafter. If no transfers of radioactive

material have been made pursuant to this Rule

during the reporting period, the report shall so

indicate.

(d) Authority to transfer possession or control

by the manufacturer, processor, or producer of any

equipment, device, commodity, or other product

containing source or byproduct material whose

subsequent possession, use. transfer, and disposal

by all other persons are exempted from regulatory

requirements may be obtained only from the U.S.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington,

D.C. 20555.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0336 COPIES OF APPLICABLE FEDERAL
REGULATIONS

Copies of the applicable regulation from Title 10

of the Code of Federal Regulation s (10 CFR)
referenced in Rule s .0321, .0327, .0329, .0330.
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.0332. .0333. .0334 , .0335, .0336. and .0337 of

this Section are available; from the agency at the

address in Rule .01 1 1 of thia Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; W4E-10(b).

.0337 ISSUANCE OF SPECIFIC LICENSES
(a) Upon a determination that an application

meets the requirements of the Act and the

Regulations rules of this Section, the agency will

issue a specific license authorizing the proposed

activity in such form and containing such

conditions and limitations as it deems appropriate

or necessary.

(b) The agency may incorporate in any license

at the time of issuance, or thereafter by

amendment, such additional requirements and

conditions with respect to the licensee's receipt,

possession, use and transfer of radioactive material

subject to this Chapter as it deems appropriate or

necessary in order to:

( 1

)

minimize danger to public health and

safety or property;

(2) require such reports and the keeping of

such records, and provide for such

inspections of activities under the

license as may be appropriate or

necessary; and

(3) prevent loss or theft of radioactive

material subject to this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0338 SPECIFIC TERMS AND CONDITIONS
OF LICENSES

(a) Each license issued pursuant to thi s part the

rules [n this Section shall be subject to all the

provisions of the Act, now or hereafter in effect,

to all rules and regulations adopted pursuant to

provisions of the Act and to orders of the agency.

(b) No license issued or granted pursuant to this

Section and no right to possess or utilize

radioactive material granted by any license issued

pursuant to this Section shall be transferred,

assigned, or in any manner disposed of, either

voluntarily or involuntarily, directly or indirectly,

through transfer of control of any license to any

person unless the agency, after securing full

information, finds that the transfer is in accordance

with the provisions of the Act, and gives its

consent in writing.

(c) Each person licensed by the agency pursuant

to this Section shall confine his use and possession

of the radioactive material licensed to the locations

and purposes authorized in the license.

(d) Each licensee shall notify the agency in

writing immediately following the filing of a

voluntary' or involuntary petition for bankruptcy

under any Chapter of Title 1 1 (Bankruptcy) of the

United States Code by or against:

(1) licensee;

(2) an entity [as that term is defined in 1 1

U.S.C. 101(14)] controlling the licensee

or listing the license or licensee as

property of the estate; or

(3) an affiliate [as that term is defined in 1

1

U.S. C. U.S.C. 101(2)] of the licensee.

(e) The notification in Paragraph (d) of this Rule

shall indicate:

(1) the bankruptcy court in which the

petition for bankruptcy was filed; and

(2) the date of the filing of the petition.

(f) Licensees required to submit emergency

plans pursuant to Rule .0352 of this Section shall

follow the emergency plan approved by the

agency. The licensees may change the approved

plan without agency approval only if the licensee

believes the changes do not decrease the

effectiveness of the plan and are submitted to the

agency no later than 20 calendar days after the

changes are made. The licensee shall furnish the

change to affected off-site response organizations

within six months after the change is made.

Proposed changes that the licensee believes are

likely to decrease, or may potentially decrease, the

effectiveness of the approved emergency plan shall

not be implemented without prior application to

and prior approval by the agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. I04E-7; 104E-I0(b).

.0343 TRANSFER OF MATERIAL
(a) No licensee shall transfer radioactive

material except as authorized pursuant to this

Section.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in his license

and subject to the provisions of Paragraphs (c), (d)

and (e) of this Rule any licensee may transfer

radioactive material to:

( 1 ) the agency;

(2) the U.S. Department of Energy;

(3) any person exempt from the

Regulations rules in this Section to the

extent permitted under the exemption;

(4) any person authorized to receive the

radioactive material under terms of a

general license or its equivalent, or a

specific license or equivalent licensing

document, issued by the agency, the

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
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or an agreement state, or any person

otherwise authorized to receive the

radioactive material by the federal

government or any agency thereof, the

agency, or an agreement state; or

(5) as otherwise authorized by the agency

in writing.

(c) A licensee may transfer material to the

agency only after receiving prior approval from

the agency.

(d) Before transferring radioactive material to a

specific licensee of the agency, the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission, or an agreement state, or

to a general licensee who is required to register

with the agency, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission, or an agreement state prior to receipt

of the radioactive material, the licensee

transferring the material shall verify that the

transferee's license authorizes the receipt of the

type, form, and quantity of radioactive material to

be transferred.

(e)The following methods for the verification

required by Paragraph (d) of this Rule are

acceptable:

( 1 ) The transferor may have in his

possession, and read, a current copy of

the transferree's specific license or

registration certificate;

(2) The transferor may have in his

possession a written certificate by the

transferee that he is authorized by

license or registration certificate to

receive the type. form, and quantity of

radioactive material to be transferred,

specifying the license or registration

certificate number, issuing agency, and

expiration date;

(3) For emergency shipments the transferor

may accept oral certification by the

transferee that he is authorized by

license or registration certificate to

receive the type, form, and quantity of

radioactive material to be transferred,

specifying the license or registration

certificate number, issuing agency, and

expiration date; provided the oral

certification is confirmed in writing

within ten days after the date of the oral

certification;

(4) The transferor may obtain other sources

of information compiled by a reporting

service from official records of the

agency, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission, or the licensing agency of

an agreement state as to the identity of

licensees and the scope and expiration

dates of licenses and registration; or

(5) When none of the methods of

verification described in this Rule are

readily available or when a transferor

desires to verify that information

received by one of the methods is

correct or updated, the transferor may
obtain and record confirmation from the

agency, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission, or the licensing agency of

an agreement state that the transferee is

licensed to receive the radioactive

material.

(f) Preparation for shipment and transport of

radioactive material shall be in accordance with the

provisions of Rule .0346 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0344 MODIFICATION: REVOCATION:
AND TERMINATION OF LICENSES

(a) The terms and conditions of all licenses are

subject to amendment, revision or modification and

all licenses are subject to suspension or revocation

by reason of:

( 1 ) amendments to the Act,

(2) rules and regulations adopted pursuant

to provisions of the Act, or

(3) orders issued by the agency pursuant to

provisions of the Act and rules and

regulations adopted pursuant to

provisions of the Act.

(b) Any license may be revoked, suspended, or

modified, in whole or in part:

( 1 ) for any material false statement in the

application or in any statement of fact

required by provisions of this Section;

(2) because of conditions revealed by:

(A) the application;

(B) any statement of fact;

(C) any report, record, inspection or other

means, which would warrant the

agency to refuse to grant a license or

an original application; or

(3) for violation of, or failure to observe

any of the terms and conditions of the

Act. the license, the Rules rules of this

Chapter, or order of the agency.

(c) Except in cases of willfulness or those in

which the public health, interest or safety requires

otherwise, prior to the institution of proceedings

for modification, revocation, or suspension of a

license, the agency shall:

( 1 ) call to the attention of the licensee in

7:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 4, 1993 2112



PROPOSED RULES

writing the facts or conduct which may
warrant these actions, and

(2) provide an opportunity for the licensee

to demonstrate or achieve compliance

with all lawful requirements.

(d) The agency may terminate a specific license

upon request submitted by the licensee to the

agency in writing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b).

.0345 RECIPROCAL RECOGNITION OF
LICENSES

(a) Subject to these Regulations Rules , any

person who holds a specific license from the U.S.

Nuclear Regulator},' Commission or an agreement

state, and issued by the agency having jurisdiction

where the licensee maintains an office for directing

the licensed activity and at which radiation safety

records are normally maintained, is hereby granted

a general license to conduct the activities

authorized in such licensing document within this

state for a period not in excess of 180 days in any

calendar year provided that the following

requirements are satisfied:

(1) The licensing document does not limit

the activity authorized by such

document to specified installations or

locations:

(2) The out-of-state licensee notifies the

agency in writing at least three days

prior to engaging in such activity; such

notification shall indicate the location,

period, and type of proposed possession

and use within the state, and shall be

accompanied by a copy of the pertinent

licensing document; if. for a specific

case, the three day period would

impose an undue hardship on the

out-of-state licensee, he may upon

application to the agency, obtain

permission to proceed sooner: the

agency may waive the requirement for

filing additional written notifications

during the remainder of the calendar

year following the receipt of the initial

notification from a person engaging in

activities under the general license

provided in this Rule;

(3) The out-of-state licensee complies with

all applicable regulations of the agency

and with all the terms and conditions of

his licensing document, except any such

terms and conditions which may be

inconsistent with applicable regulations

of the agency;

(4) The out-of-state licensee supplies such

other information as the agency may
request; and

(5) The out-of-state licensee shall not

transfer or dispose of radioactive

material possessed or used under the

general license provided in this Rule

except by transfer to a person:

(A) specifically licensed by the agency or

by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

Commission to receive the material.

01

(B) exempt from the requirements for a

license for the material under Rule

.0303 of this Section.

(b) Additional reciprocity is provided in Rule

.0310 of this Section.

(c) The agency may withdraw, limit, or qualify

its acceptance of any specific license or equivalent

licensing document issued by another agency, or

any product distributed pursuant to such licensing

document, upon determining that the action is

necessary in order to prevent undue hazard to

public health and safety or property.

Statutory Authority G.S. I04E-7; 104E- 10(b).

.0346 PREPARATION OF RADIOACTIVE
MATERIAL FOR TRANSPORT

(a) No licensee shall deliver any radioactive

material to a carrier for transport, unless:

(1) The licensee complies with the

applicable requirements of the

regulations, appropriate to the mode of

transport, of the U.S. Department of

Transportation insofar as such

regulations relate to the packing of

radioactive material. and to the

monitoring, marking and labeling of

those packages:

(2) The licensee has established procedures

for opening and closing packages in

which radioactive material is

transported to provide safety and to

assure that, prior to the delivery to a

carrier for transport, each package is

properly closed for transport; and

(3) Prior to delivery of a package to a

carrier for transport, the licensee shall

assure that any special instructions

needed to safely open the package are

sent to, or have been available to the

consignee.

(b) For the purpose of this Rule, a licensee who
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transports his own licensed material as a private

carrier is considered to have delivered the material

to a carrier for transport.

(c) In addition to the requirements of Paragraphs

(a) and (b) of this Rule, prior to the transport of

any nuclear waste, as defined in Part (d)(2)(A) of

Rule .0316(d)(2)(A) of this Section, outside the

confines of the licensee's facility or other place of

use or storage, or prior to the delivery of any

nuclear waste to a carrier for transport, each

licensee shall provide advance notification of such

transport to the governor's designee of each state

through which the waste will be transported.

(d) Each advance notification required by

Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall contain the

following information:

(1) the name, address, and telephone

number of the shipper, carrier and

receiver of the shipment;

(2) a description of the nuclear waste

contained in the shipment as required

by the regulations of the U.S.

Department of Transportation in 49

CFR 172.202 and 172.203(d):

(3) the point of origin of the shipment and

the seven-day period during which

departure of the shipment is estimated

to occur;

(4) the seven-day period during which

arrival of the shipment at state

boundaries is estimated to occur;

(5) the destination of the shipment, and the

seven-day period during which arrival

of the shipment is estimated to occur;

and

(6) a point of contact with a telephone

number for current shipment

information.

(e) The notification required by Paragraph (c) of

this Rule shall be made in writing to the office of

each appropriate governor or governor's designee.

A notification delivered by mail must be

postmarked at least seven days before the

beginning of the seven-day period during which

departure of the shipment is estimated to occur. A
notification delivered by messenger must reach the

office of the governor or governor's designee at

least four days before the beginning of the

seven-day period during which departure of the

shipment is estimated to occur. A copy of the

notification shall be retained by the licensee for

one year.

(f) The licensee shall notify each appropriate

governor or governor's designee of any changes to

schedule information provided pursuant to

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Such notification shall

be by telephone to a responsible individual in the

office of the governor or governor's designee of

the appropriate state or states. The licensee shall

maintain for one year a record of the name of the

individual contacted.

(g) Each licensee who cancels a nuclear waste

shipment for which advance notification has been

sent shall send a cancellation notice to the

governor or governor's designee of the appropriate

state or states. A copy of the notice shall be

retained by the licensee for one year.

(h) A list of governors or governors' designees

for other states is available from the agency by

contacting the North Carolina Division of

Radiation Protection. P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh.

North Carolina 27611-7687, Phone No.

919/733 4283 571-4141 or facsimile number

919/571-4148 . For the notification required in

Paragraphs (c) through (g) of this Rule in North

Carolina:

(1) governor's designee is the North

Carolina Highway Patrol. Operations

Office;

(2) mailing address: P. O. Box 27687,

Raleigh. North Carolina 2761 1-7687;

(3) telephone 919/733-4030 from 8 a.m. to

5 p.m. workdays, and 919/733-3861 all

other times.

Statutory Authority G.S.

104E-15(a).

104E-7; 104E-10(h);
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.0352 EMERGENCY PLANS
(a) Each application to possess radioactive materials in unsealed form, on foils or plated sources, or sealed

in glass in excess of the quantities in the table in Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule must contain either:

( 1

)

an evaluation showing that the maximum dose to a person off-site due to a release of radioactive

materials would not exceed one rem effective dose equivalent or five rems to the thyroid; or

(2) an emergency plan for responding to a release of radioactive material.

(b) One or more of the following factors may be used to support an evaluation submitted under

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule:

(1) the radioactive material is physically separated so that only a portion could be involved in an

accident;

(2) all or part of the radioactive material is not subject to release during an accident because of the way

it is stored or packaged;

(3) the release fraction in the respirable size range would be lower than the release fraction shown in

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule due to the chemical or physical form of the material;

(4) the solubility of the radioactive material would reduce the dose received;

(5) facility design or engineered safety features in the facility would cause the release fraction to be

lower than shown in Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule;

(6) operating restrictions or procedures would prevent a release fraction as large as that shown in

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule; or

(7) other factors appropriate for the specific facility.

(c) An emergency plan for responding to a release of radioactive material submitted under Subparagraph

(a)(2) of this Rule must include the following information:

(1) brief description of the licensee's facility and area near the site;

(2) identification of each type of radioactive materials accident for which protective actions may be

needed;

(3) classification system for classifying accidents as alerts or site area emergencies;

(4) identification of the means of detecting each type of accident in a timely manner;

(5) brief description of the means and equipment for mitigating the consequences of each type of

accident, including those provided to protect workers on-site, and a description of the program for

maintaining the equipment;

(6) brief description of the methods and equipment to assess releases of radioactive materials;

(7) brief description of the responsibilities of licensee personnel, should an accident occur, including

identification of personnel responsible for promptly notifying off-site response organizations and

the agency, and responsibilities for developing, maintaining, and updating the plan:

(8) brief description of notification and coordination, to include a commitment to and a brief

description of the means to promptly notify off-site response organizations and request off-site

assistance, including medical assistance for the treatment of contaminated injured on-site workers

when appropriate, provided that:

(A) a control point shall be established;

(B) the notification and coordination shall be planned so that unavailability of some personnel, parts

of the facility, and some equipment will not prevent the notification and coordination;

(C) the licensee shall also commit to notify the agency immediately after notification of the

appropriate off-site response organizations, not to exceed one hour after the licensee declares an

emergency; and

(D) the reporting requirements in Subparagraph (c)(8) of this Rule do not substitute for or relieve the

licensee from responsibility for complying with the requirements in the Emergency Planning and

Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986. Title III. Public Law 99-499 or other state or federal

reporting requirements;

(9) brief description of the types of information on facility status, radioactive releases, and

recommended protective actions, if necessary, to be given to off-site response organizations and

to the agency:

(10) brief description of the frequency, performance objectives and plans for the training that the

licensee will provide workers on how to respond to an emergency, including any special

instructions and orientation tours the licensee would offer to fire, police, medical and other

emergency personnel, where such training shall:
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(A) familiarize personnel with site-specific emergency procedures; and

(B) thoroughly prepare site personnel for their responsibilities in the event of accident scenarios

postulated as most probable for the specific site, including the use of team training for such

scenarios;

(11) brief description of the means of restoring the facility to a safe condition after an accident;

(12) brief description of provisions for conducting quarterly communications checks with off-site

response organizations and biennial on-site exercises to test response to simulated emergencies

where such provisions shall meet the following specific requirements;

(A) quarterly communications checks with off-site response organizations shall include the check and

update of all necessary telephone numbers;

(B) while participation of off-site response organizations in biennial exercises is encouraged but not

required, the licensee shall invite off-site response organizations to participate in the biennial

exercises;

(C) accident scenarios for biennial exercises shall not be known to most exercise participants;

(D) the licensee shall critique each exercise using individuals who do not have direct implementation

responsibility for the plan; and

(E) critiques of exercises shall evaluate the appropriateness of the plan, emergency procedures,

facilities, equipment, training of personnel, and overall effectiveness of the response; and

(F) deficiencies found by the critiques in Subparagraph Part (c)( 12)(E) of this Rule shall be corrected;

(13) certification that the applicant has met its responsibilities under the Emergency Planning and

Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986, Title III. Public Law 99-499, if applicable to the

applicant's activities at the proposed place of use of the radioactive material.

(d) The licensee shall allow the off-site response organizations expected to respond in case of an accident

60 days to comment on the licensee's emergency plan before submitting it to the agency. The licensee shall

provide any comments received within the 60 day comment period to the agency with the emergency plan.

(e) Quantities of radioactive material requiring consideration of the need for an emergency plan for

responding to a release as used in this Rule and special instructions for use are:

(1) TABLE

RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL RELEASE
FRACTION

QUANTITY
(CURIES)

Actinium-228

Americium-241

Americium-242

Americium-243

Antimony- 124

Antimony- 126

Barium- 133

Barium- 140

Bismuth-207

Bismuth-210

Cadmium- 109

Cadmium- 1 13

Calcium-45

Californium-252

Carbon- 14 (NON CO)
Cerium-141

Cerium- 144

Cesium- 134

Cesium- 137

Chlorine-36

Chromium-51

Cobalt-60

Copper-64

0.001

.001

.001

.001

.01

.01

.()]

.01

.01

.01

01

.01

.01

.001

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.5

.01

.001

.01

4,000

2

2

2

4,000

6,000

10,000

30,000

5,000

600

1.000

80

20.000

9 (20 mg)

50,000

10,000

300

2,000

3,000

100

300,000

5. OCX)

200,000
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Curium-242

Curium-243

Curium-244

Curium-245

Europium- 152

Europium- 154

Europium- 155

Germanium-68

Gadolinium- 153

Gold-198

Hafnium- 172

Hafnium-181

Holmium-166 m
Hydrogen-3

lodine-125

Iodine-131

Indium- 1 14 m
Iridium- 192

Iron-55

Iron-59

Krypton-85

Lead-210

Manganese-56

Mercury-203

Molybdenum-99

Neptunium-237

Nickel-63

Niobium-94

Phosphorus-32

Phosphorus-33

Polonium-210

Potassium-42

Promethium-145

Promethium-147

Ruthenium- 106

Samarium-151

Scandium-46

Selenium-75

Silver- 110 m
Sodium-22

Sodium-24

Strontium-89

Strontium-90

Sulfur-35

Technetium-99

Technetium-99 m
Tellurium-127 m
Tellurium- 129 m
Terbium- 160

Thulium- 170

Tin-113

Tin- 123

Tin-126

Titanium-44

Vanadium-48

.001

.001

.001

.001

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.5

.5

.5

.01

.001

.01

.01

1.0

.01

.01

.01

.01

.001

.01

.01

.5

.5

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.5

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

60

3

4

2

500

400

3,000

2,000

5,000

30.000

400

7,000

100

20,000

10

10

1.000

40,000

40.000

7.000

6,000.000

8

60.000

10,000

30.000

2

20.000

300

100

1.000

10

9.000

4.000

4.000

200

4,000

3.000

10.000

1.000

9.000

10.000

3.000

90

900

10.000

400.000

5.000

5.000

4.000

4.000

10.000

3.000

1.000

100

7.000
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Xenon- 133

Yttrium-91

Zinc-65

Zirconium-93

Zirconium-95

Any other beta-gamma emitter

Mixed fission products

Mixed corrosion products

Contaminated equipment beta-gamma

Irradiated materia], any form

other than solid noncombustible

Irradiated material, solid

noncombustible

Mixed radioactive waste

beta-gamma

Packaged mixed waste, beta-gamma

Any other alpha emitter

Contaminated equipment, alpha

Packaged waste, alpha

1.0

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.01

.001

.01

.001

.01

.001

.001

.0001

.0001

900,000

2,000

5,000

400

5,000

10,000

1,000

10,000

10,000

1,000

10.000

1,000

10,000

2

20

20

(2) For combinations of radioactive materials, consideration of the need for an emergency plan is

required if the sum of the ratios of the quantity of each radioactive material authorized to the

quantity listed for that material in the table in Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule exceeds one.

(3) Waste packaged in Type B containers, as defined in 10 CFR Part 71.4. does not require an

emergency plan.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-18.

SECTION .0500 - SAFETY
REQUIREMENTS FOR INDUSTRIAL
RADIOGRAPHY OPERATIONS

.0501 PURPOSE AND SCOPE
(a) The regulations rules in this Section establish

radiation safety requirements for persons utilizing

sources of radiation for industrial radiography.

The requirements of this Section are in addition to

and not in substitution for the other requirements

of this Chapter.

(b) The regulations rules in this Section apply to

all licensees or registrants who use sources of

radiation for industrial radiography; provided,

however that nothing in this Section shall apply to

the use of sources of radiation in the healing arts.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0507 LEAK TESTLNG AND SOURCE
TAGGING

(a) The replacement of any sealed source

fastened to or contained in a radiographic exposure

device and leak testing, repair, tagging, opening or

any other modification of any sealed source shall

be performed only by persons specifically

authorized by the agency to do so.

(b) Each sealed source shall be tested for

leakage at intervals not to exceed six months. In

the absence of a certificate from a transferor that

a test has been made within the six months prior to

the transfer, the sealed source shall not be put into

use until tested.

(c) The leak test shall be capable of detecting

the presence of 0.005 microcurie of removable

contamination on the sealed source. An acceptable

leak test for sealed sources in the possession of a

radiography licensee would be to test at the nearest

accessible point to the sealed source storage

position, or other appropriate measuring point, by

a procedure to be approved pursuant to Rule

.0323(5) of this Chapter. Records of leak test

results shall be kept in units of microcuries and

maintained for inspection by the agency for six

months after the next required leak test is

performed or until the sealed source is disposed of

or transferred.

(d) Any test conducted pursuant to Paragraphs

(b) and (c) of this Rule which reveals the presence

of 0.005 microcurie or more of removable

radioactive material shall be considered evidence

that the sealed source is leaking. The licensee

shall immediately withdraw the equipment

involved from use and shall cause it to be

decontaminated and repaired or to be disposed of.
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in accordance with these Regulations Rules . A
report describing the equipment involved, the test

results, and the corrective action taken shall be

submitted in writing to the agency at the address in

Rule .0111 of this Chapter within five days after

the test.

lei A sealed source which is not fastened to or

contained in a radiographic exposure device shall

have permanently attached to it a durable tag at

least one inch square bearing the prescribed

radiation caution symbol in conventional colors,

magenta or purple on a yellow background, and at

least the instructions "Danger - Radioactive

Material. Do Not Handle. Notify Civil

Authorities If Found."

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0510 LIMITATIONS
(a) The licensee or registrant shall not permit

anv person to act as a radiographer until the

person:

(1) has been instructed in the subjects

outlined in Rule .0518 of this Section

and has demonstrated understanding

thereof;

(2) has received copies of and instruction in

the Rule s rules contained in this Section

and in the applicable rules of Section

.0300 and .0900 of this Chapter, and

the licensee's or registrant's operating

and emergency procedures, and has

demonstrated understanding thereof:

(3) has demonstrated competence to use the

radiographic exposure devices, sealed

sources, related handling tools and

survey instruments which will be

employed in his assignment: and

(4) has demonstrated understanding of the

instructions in Paragraph (a) of this

Rule by successful completion of a

written test and a field examination on

the subjects covered.

(b) The licensee or registrant shall not permit

any person to act as a radiographer's assistant until

the person:

( 1

)

has received copies of and instructions

in the licensee's or registrant's

operating and emergency procedures,

and has demonstrated understanding

thereof:

(2) has demonstrated competence to use

under the personal supervision of the

radiographer, the radiographic exposure

devices. sealed sources. related

handling tools and radiation survey

instruments which will be employed in

his assignment; and

(3) has demonstrated understanding of the

instructions in Paragraph (b) of this

Rule by successfully completing a

written or oral test and a field

examination on the subjects covered.

(c) Records of the training including copies of

written tests and dates of oral tests and field

examinations shall be maintained for three years.

(d) Each licensee or registrant shall conduct an

internal audit program to ensure that the agency's

radioactive material license, registration conditions

and the licensee's or registrant's operating and

emergency procedures are followed bv each

radiographer and radiographer's assistant. These

internal audits shall be performed and records

maintained as specified in Subparagraphs Sub-

items (3)(a) and (b) of Rule .0323 of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0518 RADIATION MACHINES
The following are special requirements for

radiography employing radiation machines:

(1) Cabinet radiography using radiation

machines, as defined in Rule ,0502ff-) of

this Section shall be exempt from

requirements of this Section: except that

no registrant shall permit any individual

to operate a cabinet radiography unit

until the individual has received a copy

of. and instruction in. and demonstrated

an understanding of operating procedures

for the unit, and has demonstrated

competence in its use.

(2) Shielded Room Radiography using

radiation machines, as defined in Rule

.0502-(-g-) of this Section, shall be exempt

from the requirements of this Section:

except that:

(a) No registrant shall permit any

individual to operate a radiation

machine for shielded room radiographv

until the individual has received a copy

of. and instruction in. and demonstrated

an understanding of operating

procedures for the unit, and has

demonstrated competence in its use.

(b) Each registrant shall supply appropriate

personnel monitoring equipment to. and

shall require the use of such equipment

by. every individual who operates, who

makes "set-ups" or who performs
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maintenance on a radiation machine for

shielded room radiography.

(c) A physical radiation survey shall be

conducted to determine that the

radiation machine is "off" prior to each

entry into the shielded room. Such

surveys shall be made with a radiation

measuring instrument which is capable

of measuring radiation of the energies

and at the exposure rates to be

encountered, which is in good working

order, and which has been properly

calibrated within the preceding three

months or following the last instrument

servicing, whichever is later.

(3) Other radiography using radiation

machines are exempt from Rules .0503,

.0505, .0507, and .0508 of this Section;

however:

(a) A physical radiation survey shall be

conducted to determine that the

radiation machine is "off" prior to each

entry into the radiographic exposure

area. Such surveys shall be made with

a radiation measuring instrument

capable of measuring radiation of the

energies and at the exposure rates to be

encountered, which is in good working

order, and which has been properly

calibrated within the preceding three

months or following the last instrument

servicing, whichever is later. Survey

results and records of boundary

locations shall be maintained and kept

available for inspection; and

(b) Mobile or portable radiation machines

shall be physically secured to prevent

removal by unauthorized personnel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(a)(l).

SECTION .0600 - X-RAYS IN THE
HEALING ARTS

.0602 DEFINITIONS
(a) As used in this Section,

definitions shall apply:

the following

( 1 ) "Accessible surface" means the external

surface of the enclosure or housing

provided by the manufacturer.

(2) "Added filter" means the filter added to

the inherent filtration.

(3) "Aluminum equivalent" means the

thickness of aluminum, type 1 100 alloy,

affording the same attenuation, under

specified conditions, as the material in

question. The nominal composition of

type 1100 aluminum alloy is 99.00

percent minimum aluminum and 0.12

percent copper.

(4) "Attenuation block" means a block or

stack, having dimensions 20 cm by 20

cm by 3.8 cm, of type 1100 aluminum

alloy or other materials having

equivalent attenuation.

(5) "Automatic exposure control" means a

device which automatically controls one

or more technique factors in order to

obtain, at a preselected location(s), a

required quantity of radiation.

Phototimer is described separately.

(6) "Beam axis" means a line from the

source of x-rays through the centers of

the x-ray fields.

(7) "Beam-limiting device" means a device

which provides a means to restrict the

dimensions of the x-ray field.

(8) "Cephalometric device" means a device

intended for the radiographic

visualization and measurement of the

dimensions of the human head.

(9) "Changeable filters" means any added

filter which can be removed from the

useful x-ray beam through any

electronic, mechanical or physical

process.

(10) "Contact therapy system" means that

the x-ray tube target is put within five

centimeters of the surface being treated.

(11) "Control panel" means that part of the

x-ray control upon which are mounted

the switches, knobs, pushbuttons and

other hardware necessary for manually

setting the technique factors.

(12) "Cooling curve" means the graphical

relationship between heat units stored

and cooling time.

(13) "Dead-man switch" means a switch so

constructed that a circuit closing contact

can be maintained only by continuous

pressure on the switch by the operator.

(14) "Diagnostic source assembly" means

the tube housing assembly with a device

attached.

(15) "Diagnostic-type protective tube

housing" means a tube housing so

constructed that the leakage radiation

measured at a distance of one meter

from the source does not exceed 100

mR in one hour when the tube is
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operated at its leakage technique

factors.

(16) "Diagnostic x-ray system" means an

x-ray system designed for irradiation of

any part of the human body for the

purpose of diagnosis or visualization.

(17) "Direct scattered radiation" means that

radiation which has been deviated in

direction by materials irradiated by the

useful beam. (See also scattered

radiation).

(18) "Entrance exposure rate" means the

roentgens per unit time at the point

where the center of the useful beam

enters the patient.

(19) "Exposure" means the quotient of dQ
by dm where "dQ" is the absolute value

of the total charge of the ions of one

sign produced in air when all the

electrons, negatrons and positrons,

liberated by photons in a volume

element of air having mass "dm" are

completely stopped in air. The special

unit of exposure is the roentgen.

(20) "Field emission equipment" means

equipment which uses an x-ray tube in

which electron emission from the

cathode is due solely to the action of an

electric field.

(21) "Filter" means material placed in the

useful beam to preferentially attenuate

selected radiations.

(22) "Fluoroscopic imaging assembly"

means a subsystem in which x-ray

photons produce a fluoroscopic image.

It includes the image receptor(s) such as

the image intensifier and spot-film

device, electrical interlocks and

structural material providing linkage

between the image receptor and the

diagnostic source assembly.

(23) "General purpose radiographic x-ray

system" means any radiographic x-ray

system which, by design, is not limited

to radiographic examination of specific

anatomical regions.

(24) "Gonad shield" means a protective

barrier used to reduce exposure to the

testes or ovaries.

(25) "Half- value layer (HVL)" means the

thickness of specified material which

attenuates the beam of radiation to an

extent such that the exposure rate is

reduced to one-half of its original

value. In this definition the

contribution of all scattered radiation.

other than any which might be present

initially in the beam concerned, is

deemed to be excluded.

(26) "Healing arts mass screening" means

the examination of human beings using

x-rays for the detection or evaluation of

health indications when such tests are

not specifically and individually ordered

by a licensed practitioner of the healing

arts who is legally authorized to

prescribe such x-ray tests for the

purpose of diagnosis or treatment. It

does not include the use of x-ray tests

as a requirement for hospital admission

or as a condition of employment.

(27) "Image intensifier" means a device,

including housing, which converts an

x-ray pattern into a corresponding light

image of higher energy density.

(28) "Image receptor" means any device,

such as fluorescent screen or

radiographic film, which transforms

incident x-ray photons either into a

visible image or into another form

which can be made into a visible image

by further transformations.

(29) "Inherent filtration" means the filtration

permanently in the useful beam; it

includes the window of the x-ray tube

and any permanent tube or source

enclosure.

(30) "Installation" means the act of physical

movement of a radiographic system

from one location to another in

conjunction with a change of

ownership.

(31) "Lead equivalent" means the thickness

of lead affording the same attenuation,

under specified conditions, as the

material in question.

(32) "Leakage radiation" means radiation

emanating from a diagnostic or

therapeutic source assembly except for:

(A) the useful beam and

(B) radiation produced when the exposure

switch or timer is not activated.

(33) "Leakage technique factors" means the

technique factors associated with the

diagnostic or therapeutic source

assembly (i.e.. tube housing and beam

limiting device) which are used in

measuring leakage radiation. They are

defined as follows:

(A) for diagnostic source assemblies
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intended for capacitor energy storage

equipment, the maximum rated peak

tube potential and the maximum rated

number of exposures in an hour for

operation at the maximum rated peak

tube potential with the quantity of

charge per exposure being 10

millicoulombs (mC) or the minimum

obtainable from the unit, whichever is

larger;

(B) for diagnostic source assemblies

intended for field emission equipment

rated for pulsed operation, the

maximum rated peak tube potential

and the maximum rated number of

x-ray pulses in an hour for operation

at the maximum rated peak tube

potential; and

(C) for all other diagnostic or therapeutic

source assemblies, the maximum rated

peak tube potential and the maximum
rated continuous tube current for the

maximum rated peak tube potential.

(34) "Light field" means that area of the

intersection of the light beam from the

beam-limiting device and one of the set

of planes parallel to and including the

plane of the image receptor, whose

perimeter is the locus of points at which

the illumination is one-fourth of the

maximum in the intersection.

(35) "Maximum line current" means the rms

(root-mean-square) current in the

supply line of an x-ray machine

operating at its maximum rating.

(36) "Mobile equipment" (see x-ray

equipment).

(37) "Peak tube potential" means the

maximum value of the potential

difference across the x-ray tube during

an exposure.

(38) "Phototimer" means a method for

controlling radiation exposures to image

receptors by the amount of radiation

which reaches a radiation monitoring

device(s). The radiation monitoring

device(s) is part of an electronic circuit

which controls the duration of time the

tube is activated (see also "Automatic

exposure control").

(39) "Portable equipment" (see x-ray

equipment).

(40) "Position indicating device (PID)"

means a device on dental x-ray

equipment used to indicate the beam

position and to establish a definite

source-skin distance. It may or may
not incorporate or serve as a

beam-limiting device.

(41) "Primary protective barrier" means the

material, excluding filters, placed in the

useful beam, for radiation protection

purposes, to reduce the radiation

exposure.

(42) "Protective apron" means an apron

made of radiation attenuating materials

used to reduce radiation exposure.

(43) "Protective barrier" means a barrier of

radiation attenuating material(s) used to

reduce radiation exposure. Types of

protective barriers are defined in Rules

other Items of this Rule . .0602( 4 1) and

.0602(53).

(44) "Protective glove" means a glove made

of radiation attenuating materials used

to reduce radiation exposure.

(45) "Qualified expert" means an individual

who has demonstrated to the

satisfaction of the agency that he

possesses the knowledge and training to

measure ionizing radiation parameters,

to evaluate safety techniques and to

advise regarding radiation protection

needs and who is registered pursuant to

Rule .0205 of this Chapter.

(46) "Radiograph" means an image receptor

on which the image has been created

directly or indirectly by an x-ray

pattern and results in a permanent

record.

(47) "Radiographic imaging system" means

any system whereby a permanent or

semi-permanent image is recorded on

an image receptor by the action of

ionizing radiation.

(48) "Rating" means the operating limits as

specified by the component
manufacturer.

(49) "Recording" means producing a

permanent form of an image resulting

from x-ray photons such as film and

video tape.

(50) "Registrant", as used in this Section,

means any person who owns or

possesses and administratively controls

an x-ray system which is used to

deliberately expose humans or animals

to the useful beam of the system and is

required by the provisions contained in

Sections .0100 and .0200 of this
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Chapter to register with the agency.

(51) "Response time" means the time

required for an instrument system to

reach 90 percent of its final reading

when the radiation-sensitive volume of

the instrument system is exposed to a

step change in radiation flux from zero

sufficient to provide a steady state

mid-scale reading.

(52) "Scattered radiation" means radiation

that, during passage through matter, has

been deviated in direction. (See also

"direct scattered radiation".)

(53) "Secondary protective harrier" means a

barrier sufficient to attenuate the stray

radiation to the required degree.

(54) "SID" means source-image receptor

distance.

(55) "Source" means the focal spot of the

x-ray tube.

(56) "Source-image receptor distance (SID)"

means the distance from the source to

the center of the input surface of the

image receptor.

(57) "Spot film" means a radiograph which

is made during a fluoroscopic

examination to permanently record

conditions which exist during that

fluoroscopic procedure.

(58) "Stationary equipment" (see x-ray-

equipment).

(59) "Stray radiation" means the sum of

leakage and scattered radiation.

(60) "Technique factors" means the

conditions of operation. They are

specified as follows:

(A) for capacitor energy storage

equipment, peak tube potential in kV
and quantity of charge in mAs;

(Bi for field emission equipment rated for

pulsed operation, peak tube potential

in kV and number of x-ray pulses;

and

(C) for all other equipment, peak tube

potential in kV and either tube current

in mA and exposure time in seconds,

or the product of tube current and

exposure time in mAs.

(61) "Therapeutic-type protective tube

housing" means the tube housing with

tube installed, and it includes high

voltage and filament transformers and

other appropriate elements when they

are contained within that housing.

(62) "Transportation equipment" means

x-ray equipment which is installed in a

vehicle or trailer.

(63) "Tube" means an x-ray tube, unless

otherwise specified.

(64) "Tube housing assembly" means the

tube housing with tube installed. It

includes high-voltage and filament

transformers and other appropriate

elements when they are contained with-

in the tube housing.

(65) "Tube rating chart" means the set of

curves which specify the rated limits of

operation of the tube in terms of the

technique factors.

(66) "Useful beam" means the radiation

which passes through the tube housing

port and the aperture of the

beam-limiting device when the exposure

switch or timer is activated.

(67) "Variable-aperture beam-limiting

device" means a beam-limiting device

which has capacity for stepless

adjustment of the x-ray field size at the

given SID.

(68) "Visible area" means that portion of the

input surface of the image receptor over

which incident x-ray photons produce a

visible image.

(69) "X-ray control" means a device which

controls input power to the x-ray

high-voltage generator or the x-ray

tube. It includes equipment such as

timers, phototimers, automatic

brightness stabilizers and similar

devices which control the technique

factors of an x-ray exposure.

(70) "X-ray equipment" means an x-ray

system, subsystem or component

thereof.

(A) "Mobile equipment" means x-ray

equipment mounted on a permanent

base with wheels or casters for

moving while completely assembled.

(B) "Portable equipment" means x-ray

equipment designed to be

hand-carried.

(C) "Stationary equipment" means x-ray

equipment which is installed in a

fixed location.

(71) "X-ray field" means that area of the

intersection of the useful beam and any

one of the set of planes parallel to and

including the plane of the image

receptor, whose perimeter is the locus

of points at which the exposure rate is
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one-fourth of the maximum in the

intersection.

(72) "X-ray high-voltage generator" means

a device which transforms electrical

energy from the potential supplied by

the x-ray control to the tube operating

potential. The device may also include

means for transforming alternating

current to direct current, filament trans-

formers for the x-ray tube(s),

high-voltage switches, electrical protec-

tive devices and other appropriate

elements.

(73) "X-ray system" means an assemblage of

components for the controlled produc-

tion of x-rays. It includes minimally an

x-ray high-voltage generator, an x-ray

control, a tube housing assembly, a

beam-limiting device and the necessary

supporting structures. Additional com-

ponents which function with the system

are considered integral parts of the

system.

(74) "X-ray subsystem" means any combina-

tion of two or more components of an

x-ray system for which there are re-

quirements specified in this Section.

(75) "X-ray tube" means an electron tube

which is designed for the conversion of

electrical energy into x-ray energy.

(b) Other definitions applicable to this Section

may be found in Sections .0100 and .0200 of this

Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0605 FLUOROSCOPIC X-RAY SYSTEMS
All fluoroscopic x-ray systems shall meet the

following requirements:

(1) Limitation of useful beam

(a) The fluoroscopic tube shall not produce

x-rays unless the primary protective

barrier is in position to intercept the

entire useful beam at all times.

(b) The entire cross section of the useful

beam shall be intercepted by the prima-

ry protective barrier of the fluoroscopic

image assembly at any SID.

(c) Limitation to the Imaging Surface

(i) The x-ray field produced by fluoro-

scopic equipment without image

intensification shall not extend beyond

the entire visible area of the image

receptor. This requirement applies to

field size during both fluoroscopic

procedures and spot-filming proce-

dures .

(ii) Image-intensified fluoroscopy and

spot-filming shall comply with the

following:

(A) During fluoroscopic or

spot-filming procedures, neither

the length nor the width of the

x-ray field in the plane of the

image receptor shall exceed the

visible area of the image receptor

by more than three percent of the

SID. The sum of the excess

length and the excess width shall

be no greater than four percent of

the SID.

(B) Compliance shall be determined

with the beam axis perpendicular

to the image receptor. For rect-

angular x-ray fields used with

circular image reception, the error

in alignment shall be determined

along the length and width dimen-

sions of the x-ray field which pass

through the center of the visible

area of the image receptor.

(iii) In addition to other requirements of

this Rule, equipment manufactured

after the effective date of these Rules

shall comply with the following:

(A) Means shall be provided between

the source and the patient for

adjustment of the x-ray field size

in the plane of the film to the size

of that portion of the film which

has been selected on the spot-film

selector. This adjustment shall be

automatically accomplished except

when the x-ray field size in the

plane of the film is smaller than

that of the selected portion of the

film.

(B) It shall be possible to adjust the

x-ray field size in the plane of the

film to a size smaller than the

selected portion of the film. The

minimum field size at the greatest

SID, shall be equal to or less than

five centimeters by five centime-

ters.

(C) The center of the x-ray field in

the plane of the film shall be

aligned with the center of the

selected portion of the film to

within two percent of the SID.
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(2) X-ray production in the fluoroscopic

mode shall be controlled by a device

which requires continuous pressure by

the fluoroscopist for the entire time of

any exposure. When recording serial

fluoroscopic images, the fluoroscopist

shall be able to terminate the x-ray expo-

sure^) at any time, but means may be

provided to permit completion of any

single exposure of the series in process.

(3) Entrance exposure rates shall be limited

as required in the following:

(a) Fluoroscopic equipment shall not be

operated at any combination of tube

potential and current which will result

in an exposure rate in excess of ten

roentgens per minute at the point where

the center of the useful beam enters the

patient, except:

(i) during recording of fluoroscopic

images; or

(ii) when provided with optional high

level control, the equipment shall not

be operable at any combination of

tube potential and current which will

result in an exposure rate in excess of

five roentgens per minute at the point

where the center of the beam enters

the patient unless the high level con-

trol is activated. Special means of

activation of high level controls, such

as additional pressure applied continu-

ously by the operator, shall be re-

quired to avoid accidental use. A
continuous signal audible to the fluo-

roscopist shall indicate that the high

level control is being employed.

(b) In addition to the other requirements of

this Rule equipment manufactured after

August. 1974. which does not incorpo-

rate an automatic exposure control

(e.g., automatic brightness control or

ionization chamber control) shall not be

operated at any combination of tube

potential and current which will result

in an exposure rate in excess of five

roentgens per minute at the point where

the center of the useful beam enters the

patient except during the recording of

fluoroscopic images or when provided

with an optional high level control.

(c) Compliance with the provisions of

.Subparagraph Item (3) of this Rule shall

be determined as follows:

(i) Movable grids and compression devic-

es shall be removed from the useful

beam during the measurement.

(ii) If the source is below the table, the

exposure rate shall be measured one

centimeter above the tabletop or

cradle.

(iii) If the source is above the table, the

exposure rate shall be measured at 30

centimeters above the tabletop with

the end of the beam-limiting device or

spacer positioned as closely as possi-

ble to the point of measurement.

(iv) In a C-arm type fluoroscope, the

exposure rate shall be measured 30

centimeters from the input surface of

the fluoroscopic imaging assembly.

(d) Periodic measurement of entrance

exposure rate limits shall comply with

the following:

(i) Such measurements shall be made

every two years or after any mainte-

nance of the system which might

affect the exposure rate.

(ii) Results of these measurements shall

be available or posted where any

fluoroscopist may have ready access

to them and shall be in the record

required in Rule .0603(a)(2)(B) of this

Section. Results of the measurements

shall include the exposure rate, as

well as the physical factors used to

determine all data; the name of the

person approved by the agency per-

forming the measurements and the

date the measurements were

performed.

(iii) Entrance exposure rate shall be deter-

mined with the attenuation block in

Rule .0602(aH4-) in the primary beam.

(4) Radiation transmitted through the primary

protective barrier of the fluoroscopic

imaging assembly shall comply with the

following requirements:

(a) The exposure rate resulting from trans-

mission through the primary protective

barrier with the attenuation block in the

useful beam, combined with radiation

from the image intensifier. if provided,

shall not exceed two milliroentgens per

hour at ten centimeters from any acces-

sible surface of the fluoroscopic imag-

ing assembly beyond the plane of the

image receptor for each roentgen per

minute of entrance exposure rate.

(b) Measurements to determine compliance
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with Subparagraph Sub-item (4)(a) of

this Rule shall be in accordance with

the following:

(i) The exposure rate resulting from

transmission through the primary

protective barrier combined with

radiation from the image intensifier

shall be determined by measurements

averaged over an area of 100 square

centimeters with no linear dimension

greater than 20 centimeters:

(ii) If the source is below the tabletop, the

measurement shall be made with the

input surface of the fluoroscopic

imaging assembly, positioned 30

centimeters above the tabletop.

(iii) If the source is above the tabletop and

the SID is variable, the measurement

shall be made with the end of the

beam-limiting device or spacer as

close to the tabletop as it can be

placed, provided that it shall not be

closer than 30 centimeters;

(iv) Movable grids and compression devic-

es shall be removed from the useful

beam during the measurement;

(v) The attenuation block shall be posi-

tioned in the useful beam ten centime-

ters from the point of measurement of

entrance exposure rate and between

this point and the input surface of the

fluoroscopic imaging assembly.

(5) During fluoroscopy and cinefluorogra-

phy, x-ray tube potential and current

shall be continuously indicated.

(6) The source-skin distance shall not be less

than:

(a) 38 centimeters on stationary fluoro-

scopes.

(b) 30 centimeters on all mobile fluoro-

scopes, or

(c) 20 centimeters for image intensified

fluoroscopes during surgical applica-

tion.

(7) Fluoroscopic timers shall meet the fol-

lowing requirements:

(a) Means shall be provided to preset the

cumulative on-time of the fluoroscopic

tube. The maximum cumulative time

of the timing device shall not exceed

five minutes without resetting.

(b) A signal audible to the fluoroscopist

shall indicate the completion of any

preset cumulative on-time. Such signal

shall continue to sound while x-rays are

produced until the timing device is reset.

(8) Mobile fluoroscopes, in addition to the

other requirements of this Rule, shall

provide image intensification.

(9) Scattered radiation shall be controlled in

accordance with the following require-

ments:

(a) A shielding device of at least 0.25 mm
lead equivalent for covering the Bucky

slot during fluoroscopy shall be provid-

ed.

(b) A shield of at least 0.25 mm lead

equivalent, such as overlapping protec-

tive drapes or hinged or sliding panels,

shall be provided to intercept scattered

radiation which would otherwise reach

the fluoroscopist and others near the

machine.

(c) Upon application to the agency with

adequate justification, exceptions from

Subparagraphs Sub-items (9)(a) or

(9)(b) of this Rule may be made in

some special procedures where a sterile

field will not permit the use of the

normal protective barriers or where the

protective barriers would interfere with

the procedures.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

.0606 SYSTEMS OTHER THAN
FLUOROSCOPIC AND DENTAL
INTRAORAL

(a) Unless specifically provided otherwise by the

Rules rules in this Chapter, the requirements in

this Rule shall apply to all x-ray systems, except

for fluoroscopic and dental intraoral x-ray systems.

The useful beam of x-ray systems subject to

provisions of this Rule shall be limited to the area

of clinical interest or the image receptor, whichev-

er is smaller.

(1) General purpose stationary and mobile

x-ray systems shall meet the following

special requirements:

(A) There shall be provided a means for

stepless adjustment of the size of the

x-ray field. The minimum field size

at a SID of 100 centimeters shall be

equal to or less than five centimeters

by five centimeters.

(B) Means shall be provided for visually

defining the perimeter of the x-ray

field. The total misalignment of the

edges of the visually defined field

with the respective edges of the x-ray
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field along either the length or width

of the visually defined field shall not

exceed two percent of the distance

from the source to the center of the

visually defined field when the surface

upon which it appears is perpendicu-

lar to the axis of the x-ray beam.

(C) Notwithstanding Subparagraphs Parts

(a)(1)(A) and (B) of this Rule, equip-

ment manufactured before August 1

.

1974 may employ fixed cones and

diaphragms or variable collimators

without beam defining lights.

(2) In addition to the requirements of Sub-

paragraph (a)(1) of this Rule, all sta-

tionary x-ray systems, except equipment

originally manufactured before the

effective date of this Rule, shall meet

the following requirements:

(A) Means shall be provided to indicate

when the axis of the x-ray beam is

perpendicular to the plane of the

image receptor, to align the center of

the x-ray field with respect to the

center of the image receptor to within

two percent of the SID. and to indi-

cate the SID to within two percent;

(B) The beam limiting device shall nu-

merically indicate the field size in the

plane of the image receptor to which

it is adjusted;

(C) Indication of field size dimensions and

SID"s shall be specified in inches or

centimeters and shall be such that

aperture adjustments result in x-ray

field dimensions in the plane of the

image receptor which correspond to

those of the image receptor to within

two percent of the SID when the

beam axis is perpendicular to the

plane of the image receptor.

(3) Radiographic equipment designed for

only one image receptor size at a fixed

SID shall be provided with means to

limit the field at the plane of the image

receptor to dimensions no greater than

those of the image receptor and to align

the center of the x-ray field with the

center of the image receptor to within

two percent of the SID.

(4) Special purpose x-ray systems shall

meet the following requirements:

(A) These systems shall be provided with

means to limit the x-ray field in the

plane of the image receptor so that

such field does not exceed each di-

mension of the image receptor by

more than two percent of the SID

when the axis of the x-ray beam is

perpendicular to the plane of the

image receptor.

(B) Such systems shall also be provided

with means to align the center of the

x-ray field with the center of the

image receptor to within two percent

of the SID.

(C) The requirements in Subparagraphs

Parts (a)(4)(A) and (B) of this Rule

may be met with a system that meets

the requirements for a general pur-

pose x-ray system as specified in

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule or,

when alignment means are also pro-

vided, as follows:

(i) an assortment of removable,

fixed-aperture. beam-limiting

devices sufficient to meet the

requirement for each combination

of image receptor size and SID

for which the unit is designed,

where each device has clear and

permanent markings to indicate

the image receptor size and SID

for which it is designed; or

(ii) a beam-limiting device having

multiple fixed apertures sufficient

to meet the requirement for each

combination of image receptor

size and SID for which the unit is

designed, where the device has

permanent, clearly legible, mark-

ings indicating image receptor

size and SID for which the unit is

designed, where the device has

permanent, clearly legible, mark-

ings indicating image receptor

size and SID for which each

aperture is designated and indicat-

ing which aperture is in position

for use.

(b) Radiation exposure control devices shall

meet the following requirements:

( 1 ) Means shall be provided to terminate

the exposure after a preset time inter-

val, preset product of current and time,

a preset number of pulses or a preset

radiation exposure to the image recep-

tor. In addition:

(A) Termination of exposure shall cause

automatic resettina of the timer to its
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initial setting or to zero except during

serial radiography, and

(B) It shall not be possible to make an

exposure when the timer is set to a

zero or "off" position if either posi-

tion is provided.

(2) Control over x-ray exposures shall be

in accordance with the following re-

quirements:

(A) A control shall be incorporated into

each x-ray system such that the opera-

tor can terminate an exposure at any

time except for serial radiography

where means may be provided to

permit completion of any single expo-

sure of the series in process.

(B) Each x-ray control shall be located in

such a way as to meet the following

criteria.

(i) For stationary x-ray systems, the

control shall be permanently

mounted in a protected area so

that the operator is required to

remain in that protected area

during the entire exposure; and

(ii) The x-ray control shall provide

visual indication observable at or

from the operator's protected

position whenever x-rays are

produced. In addition, except for

equipment originally manufac-

tured before the effective date of

this Rule, a signal audible to the

operator shall indicate that the

exposure has terminated.

(3) When an automatic exposure control

(e.g., phototimer) is provided the fol-

lowing requirements shall be met,

except equipment originally manufac-

tured before the effective date of this

Rule:

(A) Indication shall be made on the con-

trol panel when this mode of opera-

tion is selected;

(B) When the x-ray tube potential is equal

to or greater than 50 kVp, the mini-

mum exposure time for field emission

equipment rated for pulsed operation

shall be equal to or less than a time

interval equivalent to two pulses;

(C) The minimum exposure time for all

equipment other than that specified in

Subparagraph Part (b)(3)(B) of this

Rule shall be equal to or less than

1/60 second or a time interval re-

quired to deliver five mAs, whichever

is greater;

(D) Either the product of peak x-ray tube

potential, current and exposure time

shall be limited to not more than 60

kWs per exposure or the product of

x-ray tube current and exposure time

shall be limited to not more than 600

mAs per exposure except when the

x-ray tube potential is less than 50

kVp, in which case the product of

x-ray tube current and exposure time

shall be limited to not more than 2000

mAs per exposure; and

(E) A visible signal shall indicate when an

exposure has been terminated at the

limits described in Subparagraph Part

(b)(3)(D) of this Rule and manual

resetting shall be required before

further automatically timed exposures

can be made.

(4) When four timer tests are performed at

identical timer setting equal to 5.0

seconds or less, the average time period

(T) shall be greater than five times the

difference between the maximum period

(Tmax ) and the minimum period (T^ in

accordance with the formula:

T > 5(TmarTmm )

(c) Source-skin or source-image receptor dis-

tance shall meet the following requirement:

All radiographic systems shall be provided

with a durable, securely fastened means to

limit the source-skin distance to at least 30

centimeters. This is considered to be met

when the collimator or cone provides the

required limits.

(d) The exposure produced shall be reproducible

to within the following criteria:

When all technique factors are held con-

stant, the coefficient of variation shall not

exceed 0.10. This shall be deemed to be

met if. when four exposures at identical

technique factors are made, the value of

the average exposure (E)is greater than

five times the difference between the

maximum exposure (Emax ) and the mini-

mum exposure (Emn ) in accordance with

the formula:

E > 5(E -E )

(e) Standby radiation from capacitor energy
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storage equipment, when the exposure switch or

timer is not activated, shall not exceed a rate of

two milliroentgens per hour at five centimeters

from any accessible surface of the diagnostic

source assembly with the beam-limiting device

fully open.

(f) Linearity

(1) When the equipment allows a choice of

x-ray tube current settings, the average

ratios of exposure to the indicated

milliampere-seconds product, i.e.,

mR/mAs, obtained at any two consecu-

tive tube current settings shall not differ

by more than 0.10 times their sum.

i.e., /mean of x,- x2/ < minus 0.10

mean of (x,+ x
2 ),

where the mean of

x,and x^are the average mR/mAs values

obtained at each of two consecutive

tube current settings.

(2) Compliance shall be determined at the

most commonly used mA stations by

measuring mR/mAs at those stations

and at one adjacent station to each.

(g) Timer accuracy

(1) For indicated values of 0.10 seconds

and above, the measured value shall be

within plus or minus 15 percent of the

indicated values for equipment manu-

factured before August 1. 1974.

(2) For equipment manufactured after

August 1, 1974, the deviation of mea-

sured values from indicated values shall

not exceed the limits specified for that

system by its manufacturer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

SECTION .0700 - USE OF SEALED
RADIOACTIVE SOURCES IN THE

HEALING ARTS

.0701 SCOPE
The provisions of this Section apply to all licens-

ees who use sealed sources in the healing arts and

are in addition to. and not in substitution for, other

applicable provisions of the Rule s rules of this

Chapter.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 104E-7.

.0703 TELETHERAPY
(a) Any licensee authorized under Rule .0322 of

this Chapter to use teletherapy units for treating

humans shall cause full calibration measurements

to be performed on each teletherapy unit.

( 1

)

Such measurement shall be done at all

of the following times:

(A) prior to the first use of the unit for

treating humans;

(B) prior to treating humans whenever:

(i) spot-check measurements indicate

that the output value differs by

more than five percent from the

value obtained at the last full

calibration corrected mathemati-

cally for physical decay, or

(ii) following replacement of the

radiation source or following

reinstallation of the teletherapy

unit in a new location, or

(iii) following any repair of the tele-

therapy unit that includes removal

of the source or major repair of

the components associated with

the source exposure assembly; and

(C) at intervals not exceeding one year.

(2) Full calibration measurements required

by Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule

shall include determination of:

(A) the exposure rate or dose rate to an

accuracy within plus or minus three

percent for the range of field sizes

and for the range of distances (or for

the axis distance) used in radiation

therapy;

(B) the congruence between the radiation

field and the field indicated by the

light beam localizing device;

(C) the uniformity of the radiation field

and its dependence upon the orienta-

tion of the useful beam;

(D) timer accuracy; and

(E) the accuracy of all distance-measuring

devices used for treating humans.

(3) Full calibration measurements shall be

made in accordance with the procedures

recommended by the Scientific Commit-

tee on Radiation Dosimetry of the

American Association of Physicists in

Medicine (Physics in Medicine and

Biology. Vol. 16. No. 3. 1971. pp.

379-396).

(4) The exposure rate or dose rate values

determined in Subparagraph Part

(a)(2)(A) of this Rule shall be corrected

mathematically for physical decay for

intervals not exceeding one month.

(5) Full calibration measurements required

by Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule and

physical decay corrections required by
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Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule shall

be performed by an expert qualified by

training and experience in accordance

with Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule.

(b) Any licensee authorized under Rule .0322 of

this Chapter to use teletherapy units for treating

humans shall cause spot-check measurements to be

performed on each teletherapy unit at intervals not

exceeding one month.

( 1

)

Required spot-check measurements shall

include determination of:

(A) timer accuracy;

(B) the congruence between the radiation

field and the field indicated by the

light beam localizing device;

(C) the accuracy of all distance-measuring

devices used for treating humans;

(D) the exposure rate, dose rate, or a

quantity related in a known manner to

these rates for one typical set of

operating conditions; and

(E) the difference between the

measurement made in Subparagraph

Part (b)(1)(D) of this Rule and the

anticipated output, expressed as a

percentage of the anticipated output

(i.e., the value obtained at last full

calibration corrected mathematically

for physical decay).

(2) Required spot-check measurements shall

be performed in accordance wttk with

procedures established by an expert

qualified by training and experience in

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this

Rule.

(c) Any licensee responsible for the performance

of full calibration and/ or spot-check measurements

shall be required to calibrate the instruments used

in making such determinations.

(1) Full calibration measurements required

by Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be

performed using a dosimetry system

that has been calibrated by the National

Bureau of Standards or by a Regional

Calibration Laboratory accredited by

the American Association of Physicists

in Medicine. The dosimetry system

shall have been calibrated within the

previous two years and after any

servicing that may have affected system

calibration.

(2) Spot-check measurements required by

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be

performed using a dosimetry system

that has been calibrated in accordance

with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule.

Alternatively, a dosimetry system used

solely for spot-check measurements

may be calibrated by direct

intercomparison with a system that has

been calibrated in accordance with

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. This

alternative calibration method shall

have been performed within the

previous one year and after each

servicing that may have affected system

calibration. Dosimetry systems

calibrated by this alternative method

shall not be used for full calibration

measurements.

(d) The licensee shall determine if a person is an

expert qualified by training and experience to

calibrate a teletherapy unit and establish

procedures for and review the results of spot-check

measurements.

(1) The licensee shall determine that the

expert is qualified by his:

(A) being certified by the American Board

of Radiology in therapeutic

radiological physics, radiological

physics, roentgen-ray and gamma-ray

physics, or x-ray and radium physics;

or

(B) having the following minimum

training and experience:

(i) a master's or doctor's degree in

physics, biophysics, radiological

physics or health physics;

(ii) one year of full-time training in

therapeutic radiological physics;

and

(iii) one year of full-time experience in

a radiotherapy facility including

personal calibration and spot

check of at least one teletherapy

unit.

(2) The licensee who has his teletherapy

units calibrated by persons who do not

meet the criteria for minimum training

and experience stated in Subparagraph

Part (d)(1)(B) of this Rule may request

a license amendment excepting them

from these requirements.

(A) Such request shall include:

(i) the name of the proposed

qualified expert;

(ii) a description of his training and

experience including information

similar to that specified in

Subparagraph Part (d)(1)(B) of
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this Rule;

(iii) reports of at least one calibration

and spot-check program based on

measurements personally made by

the proposed expert within the last

ten years; and

(iv) written endorsement of the

technical qualifications of the

proposed expert from personal

knowledge by a physicist certified

by the American Board of

Radiology in one of the

specialities listed in Subparagraph

Part (d)(1)(A) of this Rule.

(B) The individual's qualifications will be

evaluated by the Division of Radiation

Protection. North Carolina

Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources.

(C) The amendment request must be

addressed to the agency at the address

found in Rule .0111 of this Chapter.

(e) The licensee shall maintain, for inspection by

the agency, records of the measurements, tests,

corrective actions, and instrument calibrations

made under Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this

Rule, and records of the licensee's evaluation of

the qualified expert's training and experience made

under Paragraph (d) of this Rule for the following

periods of time:

( 1

)

Records of the full calibration

measurements under Paragraph (a) of

this Rule and the calibration of the

instruments used to make these

measurements under Paragraph (c) of

this Rule shall be preserved for five

years after completion of the

calibration.

(2) Records of the spot-check
measurements and corrective actions

under Paragraph (b) of this Rule and

the calibration of instruments used to

make spot-check measurements under

Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be

preserved for two years after

completion of the spot-check

measurements and corrective actions.

(3) Records of the licensee's evaluation of

the qualified expert's training and

experience under Paragraph (d) of this

Rule shall be preserved for five years

after the qualified expert's last

performance of a full calibration on the

licensee's teletherapy unit.

(f) Each teletherapy room shall be equipped with

a radiation monitoring device which continuously

monitors the teletherapy beam condition and is

equipped with a back-up battery power supply for

emergency operation.

( 1

)

This device shall energize a visible

signal to make the operator

continuously aware of teletherapy beam

conditions in order that appropriate

emergency procedures may be instituted

to prevent unnecessary radiation

exposure.

(2) Operating procedures shall be modified

to require daily operational testing of

the installed radiation monitor.

(3) If a radiation monitor is inoperable for

any reason, any person entering the

teletherapy room shall use a properly

operating portable radiation survey

instrument or a personal dosimeter with

an audible alarm to monitor for any

malfunction of the source exposure

mechanism which may have resulted in

an exposed or partially exposed source.

(4) Survey instruments or dosimeters shall

be tested daily before use.

(g) The licensee shall cause each teletherapy unit

used to treat humans to be fully inspected and

serviced during source replacement or at intervals

not to exceed five years, whichever comes first, to

assure proper functioning of the source exposure

mechanism.

(h) Inspection and servicing of the teletherapy

unit shall be performed by persons specifically

authorized to perform such services by a specific

license issued by the agency, the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission or an agreement state.

Statutory Authority- G.S. W4E-7fa)(2).

SECTION .0900 - REQUIREMENTS FOR
PARTICLE ACCELERATORS

.0902 LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
No person shall receive, possess, use, transfer,

own, or acquire a particle accelerator except as

authorized in a license issued pursuant to these

Regulations Rules or as otherwise provided for in

these Regulations Rules . The general procedures

for licensing of particle accelerator facilities are

included in Section .0903 of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority- G.S. 104E-7.

SECTION .1000 - NOTICES:
INSTRUCTIONS: REPORTS AND
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INSPECTIONS

.1001 SCOPE
This Section establishes requirements for notices,

instructions and reports by licensees or registrants

to individuals engaged in work under a license or

registration and options available to such

individuals in connection with agency inspections

of licensees or registrants to ascertain compliance

with the provisions of the Act and rules, orders

and licenses issued thereunder regarding

radiological working conditions. The regulations

rules in this Section apply to all persons who

receive, possess, use, own or transfer sources of

radiation licensed by or registered with the agency

pursuant to the Regulations rules in Sections

.0200, .0300, .0900 and .1200 of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12.

.1006 CONSULTATION WITH WORKERS
(a) Agency inspectors may consult privately with

workers concerning matters of occupational

radiation protection and other matters related to

applicable provisions of this Chapter and licenses

to the extent the inspectors deem necessary for the

conduct of an effective and thorough inspection.

(b) During the course of an inspection any

worker may bring privately to the attention of the

inspectors, either orally or in writing, any past or

present condition which he has reason to believe

may have contributed to or caused any violation of

the Act, provisions of this Chapter, or license

condition, or any unnecessary exposure of an

individual to radiation from licensed radioactive

material or a registered radiation machine under

the licensee's or registrant's control. Any such

notice in writing shall comply with the

requirements of Rule .1007 of this Section.

(c) The provisions of Paragraph (b) of this Rule

shall not be interpreted as authorization to

disregard instructions pursuant to Rule .1003 of

this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10.

SECTION .1100- FEES

.1102 PAYMENT DUE
(a) All fees established in this Section shall be

due on the effective date of this Rule and on the

first day of July of each subsequent year.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

when a new license or registration is issued by the

agency after the first day of July of any year, the

initial fee shall be due on the date of issuance of

the license or registration.

(c) The initial fee in Paragraph (b) of this Rule

shall be computed as follows:

( 1

)

When any new license or registration is

issued before the first day of January of

any year, the initial fee shall be the full

amount specified in Rule .1105 of this

Section; and

(2) When any new license or registration is

issued on or after the first day of

January of any year, the initial fee shall

be one-half of the amount specified in

Rule .1105 of this Section.

(d) All fees received by the agency pursuant to

provisions of this Section shall be nonrefundable.

(e) Each licensee or registrant shall pay all fees

by check or money order made payable to

"Division of Radiation Protection" and mail such

payment to: Division of Radiation Protection,

North Carolina Department of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources, P. O. Box 27687,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7687. Such

payment may be delivered to the agency at its

office located at 3825 Barrett Drive, Raleigh,

North Carolina 27609-7221.

Statutory Authority G.S. I04E-9(8); 104E-19(a).

. 1 103 NOTICES OF PAYMENT DUE
Within five days after the due dates established

in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of Rule .1102 of this

Section, the agency shall mail to each licensee and

registrant, who has not already submitted payment,

a notice which indicates the due date, delinquent

date and the amount of fees due.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-9(8); 104E-19(a).

.1104 DELINQUENT AND
UNCOLLECTIBLE FEES

(a) Payment of fees established in this Section

shall be delinquent, if not received by the agency

within 60 days after the due date specified in

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of Rule .1102 of this

Section.

(b) If a licensee or registrant remits a fee in the

form of a check or other instrument which is

uncollectible from the paying institution, the

agency shall notify the licensee or registrant by

certified mail and allow the licensee or registrant

15 days to correct the matter.

(c) If payment of fees is uncollectible from the

paying institution or not submitted to the agency

by the delinquent date, the agency may institute
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appropriate legal action to collect.

Statutory Authority G.S. W4E-9(8); 104E-19(a).

SECTION .1200 - LAND DISPOSAL OF
RADIOACTIVE WASTE

.1202 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section, the following definitions

shall apply.

(1) "Active maintenance" means any

significant remedial activity needed

during the period of institutional control

to maintain a reasonable assurance that

the performance objectives in Rules

.1223 and .1224 of this Section are met.

Such active maintenance includes ongoing

activities such as the pumping and

treatment ot water from a disposal unit or

one-time measures such as replacement of

disposal unit cover. Active maintenance

does not include custodial activities such

as repair of fencing. repair or

replacement of monitoring equipment,

revegetation. minor additions to soil

cover, minor repair of disposal unit

covers, and general disposal site upkeep

such as mowing grass.

(2) "Buffer zone" is a portion of the disposal

site that is controlled by the licensee and

that lies under the disposal units and

between the disposal units and the

boundary of the site.

(3) "Chelating agent" means amine

polycarboxylic acids (e.g.. EDTA,
DTPA). hydroxy-carboxylic acids, and

polycarboxylic acids (e.g.. citric acid,

carbolic acid, and gluconic acid).

(4) "Commencement of construction" means

clearing of land, excavation, or other

substantial action that would adversely

affect the environment of a land disposal

facility. The term does not mean

disposal site exploration, necessary roads

for disposal site exploration, borings to

determine foundation conditions, or other

preconstruction monitoring or testing to

establish background information related

to the suitability of the disposal site or

the protection of environmental values.

(5) "Custodial agency" means the North

Carolina Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Management Authority.

(6) "Disposal" means the isolation of waste

from the biosphere inhabited by man and

his food chains by emplacement in a land

disposal facility.

(7) "Disposal site" means that portion of a

land disposal facility which is used for

disposal of waste. It consists of disposal

units and a buffer zone.

(8) "Disposal system" means the components

relied on to ensure that the land disposal

facility meets the performance objectives

and other requirements of this Section.

These components include the site and its

characteristics, the facility and disposal

unit design, and engineered barriers

therein, the waste, facility operations and

closure, intruder barriers and institutional

control.

(9) "Disposal unit" means a discrete portion

of the disposal site into which waste is

placed for disposal. For near-surface

disposal, the disposal unit is usually a

trench.

(10) "Engineered barrier" means engineered

barrier as defined in G.S. 104E-5(7a).

(11) "Explosive material" means any chemical

compound, mixture, or device, which

produces a substantial instantaneous

release of gas and heat spontaneously or

by contact with sparks or flame.

(12) "Government agency" means any

executive department. commission,

independent establishment. or

corporation, wholly or partly owned by

the United States of America or the State

of North Carolina and which is an

instrumentality of the United States or the

State of North Carolina; or any board,

bureau, department, division, service,

office, officer, authority, administration,

or other establishment in the executive

branch of the government.

(13) "Hazardous waste" means those wastes

designated as hazardous by U.S.

Environmental Protection Agency

regulations in 40 CFR Part 261.

(14) "Hydrogeologic unit" means any soil or

rock unit or zone which by virtue of its

porosity or permeability, or lack thereof,

has a distinct influence on the storage or

movement of groundwater.

(15) "Inadvertent intruder" means a person

who might occupy the disposal site after

closure and engage in normal activities,

such as agriculture. dwelling

construction, or other pursuits in which

the person might be unknowingly
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exposed to radiation from the waste.

(16) "Intruder barrier" means a sufficient

depth of cover over the waste that

inhibits contact with waste and helps to

ensure that radiation exposures to an

inadvertent intruder will meet the

performance objectives set forth in this

Section, or engineered structures that

provide equivalent protection to the

inadvertent intruder.

(17) "Institutional control" means control of

the site after the site is closed and

stabilized and responsibility for all

disposed waste and site maintenance is

assumed by the custodial agency.

(18) "Land disposal facility" means low-level

radioactive waste disposal facility as

defined in G.S. 104E-5(9c).

(19) "Low-level radioactive waste" means

low-level radioactive waste as defined in

G.S. 104E-5(9a) and includes naturally

occurring and accelerator produced

radioactive material which is not subject

to regulation by the U.S. Nuclear

Regulatory Commission under the

Atomic Energy Act of 1954. as amended,

and is suitable for land disposal under the

provisions in this Section.

(20) "Mixed waste" means waste that satisfies

the definition of low-level radioactive

waste in Subparagraph Item (19) of this

Rule and contains hazardous waste that

either:

(a) is listed as a hazardous waste in

Subpart D of 40 CFR Part 261 or

(b) causes the low-level radioactive waste

to exhibit any of the hazardous waste

characteristics identified in Subpart C

of 40 CFR Part 261.

(21) " Monitoring" means observing and

making measurements to provide data to

evaluate the performance and

characteristics of the disposal site.

(22) "Near-surface disposal facility" means a

land disposal facility in which waste is

disposed of within approximately the

upper 30 meters of the earth's surface.

(23) "Reconnaissance level information" is

any information or analysis that can be

retrieved or generated without the

performance of new comprehensive

s i te- s pec i f i c investigations.
Reconnaissance level information

includes but is not limited to drilling

records required by state agencies, other

Divisions of this Department, and other

relevant published scientific literature.

(24) "Retrieval" means a remedial action for

removal of Class B and C waste from a

disposal unit.

(25) "Shallow land burial" means shallow land

burial as defined in G.S. 104E-5(14a).

(26) "Site closure and stabilization" means

those actions that are taken upon

completion of operations that prepare the

disposal site for custodial care and that

assure that the disposal site will remain

stable and will not need ongoing active

maintenance.

(27) "State" means the State of North

Carolina.

(28) "Surveillance" means monitoring and

observation of the disposal site for

purposes of visual detection of need for

maintenance, custodial care, evidence of

intrusion, and compliance with other

license and regulatory requirements.

(29) "Waste" means low-level radioactive

waste that is acceptable for disposal in a

land disposal facility. For the purpose of

this Section, the words "waste" and

"low-level radioactive waste" have the

same meaning.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-5; 104E-7; 104E-W;

104E-25.

.1203 LICENSE REQUIRED
(a) No person may receive, possess, and dispose

of waste from other persons at a land disposal

facility unless authorized by a license issued by the

agency pursuant to the Rules rules in this Section

and the Rule s rules in Section .0300 of this

Chapter.

(b) Each person shall file an application with the

agency pursuant to Rule .0317 of this Chapter and

obtain a license as provided in this Section before

commencement of construction of a land disposal

facility. Failure to comply with this requirement

may be grounds for denial of a license.

Statutory Authority G.S.

104E-25; 104E-26.

I04E-7; W4E-10(b);

.1205 GENERAL INFORMATION
(a) The general information shall include each of

the following:

(1) identity of the applicant including:

(A) the full name, address, telephone

number, and description of the
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business or occupation of the

applicant;

(B) if the applicant is a partnership, the

name and address of each partner and

the principal location where the

partnership does business;

(C) if the applicant is a corporation or an

unincorporated association,

li) the state where it is incorporated

or organized and the principal

location where it does business,

and

(ii) the names and addresses of its

directors and principal officers;

(D) if the applicant is acting as an agent

or representative of another person in

filing the application, all information

required under this Paragraph shall be

supplied with respect to the other

person; and

(E) if the applicant proposes to contract

the operation of the disposal facility

to another person, the full name,

address, and telephone number of the

management contractor, the full name

and address of each applicable

principal, partner, or director of the

contractor, the state where it is

organized, and the principal location

where it does business;

(2) qualifications of the applicant:

(A) the applicable organizational structure

of the applicant, both off site and on

site, including a description of lines of

authority and assignments of

responsibilities, whether in the form

of administrative directives, contract

provisions, or otherwise;

(B) the technical qualifications, including

training, experience, and professional

licensure, registration or certification

of the applicant and members of the

applicant's staff to engage in the

proposed activities, to include the

minimum training, experience, and

professional licensure, registration or

certification requirements for

personnel filling key positions

described in Subparagraph Part

(a)(2)(A) of this Rule:

(C) a description of the applicant's

personnel training program;

(D) the plan to maintain an adequate

complement of trained personnel on

site to carry out waste receipt.

handling, and disposal operations in a

safe manner;

(E) prior experience in the generation,

processing, use. transportation or

disposal of radioactive material or in

the treatment, storage, transportation

or disposal of hazardous waste

including copies of all notices of

violations; assessments of any

administrative, civil, criminal or other

penalties in connection therewith; and

all information as to any finding or

determination that the applicant

engaged in any of the above

mentioned activities without having in

effect any license or permit required

for such activity:

(F) disclosure of any prior determination

of civil or criminal liability with

respect to any other federal or state

law or regulation, including but not

limited to any law or regulation

governing the transfer of securities,

which may reflect on the applicant's

character, reputation or ability to

comply with all requirements imposed

on a licensee; and

(G) upon request by the agency, a copy of

any application which the applicant

may previously have submitted for

any license or permit required for any

activity listed in Subparagraph Part

(a)(2)(E) of this Rule; information as

to the disposition of such application

including a copy of the license or

permit. information as to any

restriction, suspension, revocation or

cancellation of any such license or

permit; and any other information

which may be requested by the

agency as to the applicant's

experience and operating practices

with respect to the activities listed in

Subparagraph Pail (a)(2)(E) of this

Rule:

(3) a description of:

(A) the location of the proposed disposal

site;

(B) the general character of the proposed

activities;

(C) the types and quantities of waste to be

received, possessed, and disposed of;

(D) plans for use of land disposal facility

for purposes other than disposal of

wastes during operation, after closure
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or both;

(E) the proposed facilities and equipment;

(F) the proposed manifest and recording

system;

(G) the treatment of any waste to be

shipped off site;

(H) anticipated operating life of the

facility; and

(I) the prelicensing and operational public

information program which addresses

(i) state and local government;

(ii) media and public;

(iii) acceptability within the

community where the facility is to

be located; and

(iv) the program being implemented to

ensure concerns of the public are

being met; and

(4) proposed time schedules for

construction, receipt of waste, and first

emplacement of waste at the proposed

land disposal facility,

(b) The following are additional requirements

applicable to the information required in

Subparagraphs Parts (a)(2)(E) through (G) of this

Rule:

( 1

)

All information will be provided by the

applicant with respect to the applicant

itself, any predecessor or parent entity,

any officer, director, partner or other

principal of the applicant; any

stockholder or other entity holding five

percent or more of the stock of. or

other interest in, the applicant; and any

subsidiary or other entity in which the

applicant has an interest.

(2) All information will be be provided for

a period of not less than 20 years or as

may be determined by the agency with

respect to a particular applicant or class

of information.

(3) With the approval of the agency, the

applicant may submit any of the

information, except as to the disposal of

low-level radioactive waste, in

summary form; provided that any

summary must fairly and accurately

reflect the applicant's experience and

operating practices and must indicate

the nature and extent of all violations of

law and applicable regulations.

(4) The agency may request that the

applicant provide any supplemental

information needed to effect the

purpose of Subparagraphs Parts

(a)(2)(E) through (G) of this Rule. All

such supplementary information

provided by or on behalf of the

applicant will become a part of the

application.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E- 10(b);

104E-10.1; 104E-25; 104E-26.

.1210 FINANCIAL FNFORMATION
(a) The financial information shall be sufficient

to demonstrate that the financial qualifications of

the applicant are adequate to carry out the

activities for which the license is sought and meet

other financial assurance requirements of this

Section. In addition to information required in

Rule .1205 of this Chapter Section , the applicant

shall provide the following financial information:

(1) financial organization of the company;

(2) a list of all subsidiary companies and

their locations;

(3) audited financial statements for the

most recent calendar or fiscal year;

(4) interim statements, if it has been six

months or more since the end of the

reporting year;

(5) a detailed schedule of liability insurance

coverage applicable to low-level

radioactive waste, listing:

(A) each insurance company's name,

(B) amount of coverage,

(C) any limitations on coverage,

(D) duration of insurance policies, and

(E) whether the company is licensed by

the North Carolina Insurance

Commissioner;

(6) status and nature of any outstanding

civil action to which the applicant is a

party, and of any administrative or

criminal proceeding against the

applicant; and the same information

with respect to any business entity

which holds an interest of five percent

or more in the applicant, or in which

the applicant holds any interest; subject

to the following provisions:

(A) upon request by the agency, the

information required by this

Subparagraph shall include a copy of

any document which is a part of

public record in any such action or

proceeding;

(B) with the approval of the agency, the

applicant may submit any of the

information required by this

7:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 4, 1993 2136



PROPOSED RULES

Subparagraph in summary form,

provided that any summary must

fairly and accurately reflect the scope

and content of such information:

(C) with the approval of the agency, the

applicant may exclude information

which would otherwise be required by

this Subparagraph provided that the

applicant identifies the types of

information to be omitted and satisfies

the agency that such types of

information are not material to the

applicant's ability to operate a facility

under this Section: and

(D) unless specifically requested by the

agency, the following types of actions

if brought in North Carolina, or

equivalent types of actions if brought

in any other jurisdiction, are excluded

from the reporting requirements of

this Subparagraph:

(i) small claims actions as defined in

G.S. 7A-210.

(ii) infractions as defined in G.S.

14-3.1. and

(iii) misdemeanors under Chapter 20

(Motor Vehicles) of the General

Statutes: and

(7) details of any other resources such as

reserves or bonds to cover potential

damages.

(b) The applicant shall describe the financial

responsibility and liability coverage for:

(1) all injuries to public, property, workers

and environment:

(2) failure to operate as designed; and

(3

)

post-closure monitoring and

surveillance.

(ci The information required in Paragraphs (a)

and (b) of this Rule shall be updated annually to

the extent that such information is not provided in

the annual certified financial statement required in

Rule .1238 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7: 104E-10(b);

W4E-10.1; 104E-25; 104E-26.

.1215 CONDITIONS OF LICENSE
(a) A license issued under this Section, or any

right thereunder, may not be transferred, assigned,

or in any manner disposed of. either voluntarily or

involuntarily, directly or indirectly, through

transfer of control of the license to any person,

unless the agency finds, after securing full

information, that the transfer is in accordance with

the provisions of the North Carolina Radiation

Protection Act (Act) and gives its consent in

writing in the form of a license amendment.

(b) At any time before termination of the

license, the licensee shall submit written statements

under oath upon request of the agency to enable

the agency to determine whether or not the license

should be modified, suspended, or revoked.

(c) The license will be transferred to the

custodial agency only on the full implementation of

the final closure plan as approved by the agency,

including postclosure observation and maintenance.

(d) The licensee shall be subject to the

provisions of the Act now or hereafter in effect,

and to all rules and orders of the agency. The

terms and conditions of the license are subject to

amendment, revision, or modification, bv reason

of amendments to. or by reason of rules and

orders issued in accordance with terms of the Act.

(e) Any license may be revoked, suspended or

modified in whole or in part for any material false

statement in the application or any misstatement of

fact required under the Act. or because of

conditions revealed by any application or statement

of fact or any report, record, or inspection or

other means which would warrant the agency to

refuse to grant a license on the original

application, or for failure to operate the facility in

accordance with the terms of the license, or for

any violation of. or failure to observe any of the

terms and conditions of the Act. or any rule,

license or order of the agency.

(f) Each person licensed by the agency pursuant

to the Rule s rules in this Section shall confine

possession and use of radioactive materials to the

locations and purposes authorized in the license.

(g) No waste may be disposed of until the

agency has inspected the land disposal facility and

has found it to be in conformance with the

description, design, and construction described in

the application for a license.

(h) The agency may incorporate in any license

at the time of issuance, or thereafter, by

appropriate rule or order, additional requirements

and conditions with respect to the licensee's

receipt, possession, and disposal of waste as it

deems appropriate or necessary in order to:

(1) protect the health and safety of the

public and the environment. or

minimize danger to life or property:

and

(2) require reports and the keeping of

records, and to provide for inspections

of activities under the license that may
be necessary or appropriate to
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effectuate the purposes of the Act and

rules thereunder.

(i) The agency may incorporate in any license at

the time of issuance, or thereafter, by appropriate

rule or order, a requirement that the licensee

provide the agency with continuing information

with respect to any information required as a part

of the license application.

(j) Except as provided otherwise by the agency

pursuant to Paragraph (h) of this Rule and

consistent with G.S. 104E-25(h), the licensee shall

not accept or dispose of:

(1) liquid waste which has not been

solidified in a manner deemed

acceptable by the agency;

(2) any waste containing chelating agents in

concentrations greater than one-tenth of

one percent by weight unless:

(A) the chelating agent content does not

exceed eight percent by weight, and

(B) the waste has been solidified and

meets the stability requirements for

class B and C waste as may be

specified by the agency after

consideration of current regulatory

guides on waste form of the U.S.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission,

provided however that high integrity

containers alone are not acceptable to

achieve this stability requirement; and

(3) such other waste as the agency may

prohibit as necessary to ensure that the

performance objectives of this Section

will be met.

(k) Each license will be issued for a period of

five years from the date of issuance. The

authority to dispose of wastes expires on the date

stated in the license except as provided in Rule

.1217 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; W4E-10(b);

104E-12; 104E-13(a); 104E-25; 104E-26.

.1218 CONTENTS OF APPLICATION FOR
CLOSURE

(a) Prior to final closure of the disposal site, or

as otherwise directed by the agency, the applicant

shall submit an application to amend the license

for closure. This closure application shall include

a final revision and specific details of the disposal

site closure plan included as part of the license

application submitted under Rule . 1206H-6} of this

Section that includes each of the following:

(1) any additional geologic, geochemical,

hydrologic, or other data obtained

during the operational period pertinent

to the long-term containment of

emplaced wastes;

(2) the results of tests, experiments, or any

other analyses relating to backfill of

excavated areas, closure and sealing,

waste migration and interaction with

emplacement media, or any other tests,

experiments, or analyses pertinent to

the long-term containment of emplaced

waste within the disposal site;

(3) any proposed revision of plans for:

(A) decontamination and dismantlement of

surface facilities;

(B) backfilling of excavated areas; or

(C) stabilization of the disposal site for

postclosure care; and

(4) any significant new information

regarding the environmental impact of

closure activities and long-term

performance of the disposal site.

(b) Upon review and consideration of an

application to amend the license for closure

submitted in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this

Rule, the agency may issue an amendment

authorizing closure if there is reasonable assurance

that the long-term performance objectives of this

Section will be met.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-9(3);

104E-10; 104E-10. 1; 104E-18; 104E-25; 104E-26;

104G-13; 104G-14.

.1220 TRANSFER OF LICENSE
Following closure and the period of postclosure

observation and maintenance, the licensee may

apply for an amendment to transfer the license to

the custodial agency. The license shall be

transferred when the agency finds:

(1) that the closure of the disposal site has

been made in conformance with the

licensee's disposal site closure plan, as

amended and approved as part of the

license;

(2) that reasonable assurance has been

provided by the licensee that the

performance objectives of this Section are

met;

(3) that any funds and necessary records for

care will be transferred to the Long-Term

Care Fund and the custodial agency,

respectively;

(4) that sufficient funds have accumulated in

the Long-Term Care Fund to support
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anticipated agency and custodial agency

costs for all future observation,

monitoring, maintenance and remedial

actions;

(5) that the postclosure monitoring program

is operational for implementation by the

custodial agency: and

(6) that the custodial agency or the federal

agency which will assume responsibility

for institutional control of the disposal

site is prepared to assume responsibility

and ensure that the institutional

requirements found necessary under

Subparagraph Item (7) of Rule .1214 of

this Section will be met.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10;

W4E-10. 1: J04E-J2; 104E-16; 104E-18; 104E-25:

104E-26: 104G-13; 104G-14.

.1221 TERMINATION OF LICENSE
la) Following any period of institutional control

needed to meet the requirements found necessary

under Rule .1214 of this Section, the custodial

agency may apply for an amendment to terminate

the license.

(b) This application shall be filed, and will be

reviewed, in accordance with the provisions of

Rule s Rule .1211 of this Section and Paragraph (ai

of this Rule.

(ci A license will be terminated only when the

agency finds:

i 1 i that the institutional control

requirements found necessary under

Subparagraph Item (7i of Rule . 1214 of

this Section have been met: and

(2) that any additional requirements

resulting from new information

developed during the institutional

control period have been met. and that

permanent monuments or markers

warning against intrusion have been

installed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10;

104E-25; 104G-13; 104G-14.

.1223 PROTECTION OF POPULATION
FROM RELEASES OF
RADIOACTIVITY

i a) The design goal of the engineered barrier

and other requirements in this Section is

confinement of the disposed waste and contained

radioactivity for at least the designed life of the

required engineered barriers, with reasonable

assurance that any release of radioactivity or

radiation will not exceed the limits stated in

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and will be as low as

reasonably achievable as provided in Paragraph (c)

of this Rule.

(b) Land disposal facilities shall not cause

external radiation levels or release concentrations

of radioactive material to the general environment

in groundwater, surface water, air. soil, plants, or

animals that result in an annual equivalent dose to

any member of the public, above background as

determined in accordance with Rule .1231 of this

Section, exceeding:

( 1 1 25 millirems to the whole body.

(2) 75 millirems to the thyroid, or

(3) 25 millirems to any other organ.

(c) In accordance with the ALARA plan

required by Rule . 1206f454 of this Section, the

licensee shall maintain releases of radioactivity in

effluents to the general environment and resultant

radiation dose to the public as low as reasonably

achievable below the limits imposed in Paragraph

(bi of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S.

104E-25; 104E-26.

104E-7; 104E-10:

Mil TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
LAND DISPOSAL FACILITIES

The technical requirements for land disposal

facilities are set forth in Rules .1228 through

.1234 of this Section. Section.

Statutory Authority G.S.

104E-25: 104E-26.

104E- 104E-10;

.1229 SITE DESIGN FOR LAND DISPOSAL
(a) Shallow land burial is prohibited as provided

in G.S. 104E-20(bi.

(b) Site design features shall be directed toward

long-term isolation and avoidance of the need for

continuing active maintenance after site closure.

ici The disposal site design and operation shall

be compatible with the disposal site closure and

stabilization plan and lead to disposal site closure

that provides reasonable assurance that the

performance objectives of this Section will be met.

(dl The disposal site shall be designed to

complement and improve, where appropriate, the

ability of the disposal site*s natural characteristics

to assure that the performance objectives of this

Section will be met.

(ei Covers shall be designed to minimize water

infiltration, to direct percolating or surface water

away from the disposed waste, and to resist
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degradation by surface geologic processes and

biotic activity.

(f) Surface features shall direct surface water

drainage away from disposal units at velocities and

gradients which will not result in erosion that will

require ongoing active maintenance.

(g) The disposal site shall be designed to

minimize the contact of water with waste during

storage, the contact of standing water with waste

during disposal, and the contact of percolating or

standing water with wastes after disposal.

(h) The disposal units shall incorporate

engineered barriers. The disposal units and

incorporated engineered barriers shall be designed

and constructed to meet the performance

objectives, technical requirements and design

criteria in G.S. 104E-25 and the following

additional requirements:

( 1

)

The engineered barriers shall provide

reasonable assurance that they will

complement, and where appropriate

improve, the land disposal facility's

ability to isolate the radioactive waste

through the institutional control period;

(2) Engineered barrier structural integrity

shall be maintained under normal and

abnormal conditions of operation;

(3) Engineered barriers shall prevent

contact between the surrounding earth

and the waste, except for earth that may

be used as fill material within the

disposal unit; and

(4) The disposal units shall be constructed

or emplaced in a manner which will

ensure that the bottom of the disposal

facility is at least seven feet above the

seasonal high water table or more if

necessary to meet the performance

objectives of this Section.

(i) The licensee shall develop, operate and

maintain the site in a manner that will not diminish

the hydrogeological performance of the site below

the requirements contained in the Rules rules of

this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I04E-25; 104E-2.

104E-7; 104E-10;

.1239 TESTS AT LAND DISPOSAL
FACILITIES

Each licensee shall perform, or permit the

agency to perform, any tests the agency deems

appropriate or necessary for the administration of

the Rule s rules of this Section, including tests of:

( 1 ) wastes and facilities used for the receipt,

storage, handling, and disposal of wastes;

(2) radiation detection and monitoring

instruments; and

(3) other equipment and devices used in

connection with the receipt, possession,

handling, storage, or disposal of waste.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b);

104E-25; 104E-26.

.1240 AGENCY INSPECTIONS OF LAND
DISPOSAL FACILITIES

(a) Each licensee shall afford to the agency at all

reasonable times opportunity to inspect:

( 1

)

waste not yet disposed of;

(2) the premises, equipment, operations,

and facilities in which wastes are

received, possessed, handled, treated,

stored or disposed of; and

(3) records kept by the licensee pursuant to

the applicable Rules rules of this

Chapter.

(b) Authorized representatives of the agency

may copy and take away copies of, for the

agency's use, any record required to be kept

pursuant to provisions of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b);

104E-11; W4E-12; 104E-25; 104E-26.

SECTION .1300 - REQUIREMENTS FOR
WIRELINE-SERVICE OPERATORS AND

SUBSURFACE-TRACER STUDIES

.1306 TRANSPORT PRECAUTIONS
Transport containers shall be phy scially

physically secured to the transporting vehicle to

prevent accidental loss, tampering, or unauthorized

removal.

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-167.1; 104E-7;

104E-10(b); 104E-15(a).

.1308 LEAK TESTING OF SEALED
SOURCES

(a) Each licensee using sealed sources of

radioactive material shall have the sources tested

for leakage. Records of leak test results shall be

kept in units of microcuries and maintained for

inspection by the agency for six months after the

next required leak test is performed or until

transfer or disposal of the sealed source.

(b) Tests for leakage shall be performed only by

persons specifically authorized to perforin such

tests by the agency, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
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Commission, an agreement state, or a licensing

state. The test sample shall be taken from the

surface of the source, source holder, or from the

surface of the device in which the source is stored

or mounted and on which one might expect

contamination to accumulate. The test sample

shall be analyzed for radioactive contamination,

and the analysis shall be capable of detecting the

presence of 0.005 microcurie of radioactive

material on the test sample.

(c) Each sealed source of radioactive material

shall be tested at intervals not to exceed six

months. In the absence of a certificate from a

transferor indicating that a test has been made

prior to the transfer, the sealed source shall not put

into use until tested. If, for any reason, it is

suspected that a sealed source may be leaking, it

shall be removed from service immediately and

tested for leakage as soon as practical.

(d) If the test reveals the presence of 0.005

microcurie or more of l eakeage leakage or

contamination, the licensee shall immediately

withdraw the source from use and shall cause it to

be decontaminated, repaired, or disposed of in

accordance with these Rules. A report describing

the equipment involved, the test results, and the

corrective action taken shall be filed with the

agency.

(e) The following sources are exempt from the

periodic leak test and notification requirements of

this Rule:

( 1 ) hydrogen-3 sources;

(2) sources of radioactive material with a

half-life of 30 days or less;

(3) sealed sources of radioactive material in

gaseous form;

(4) sources of beta- and/or
gamma-emmitting emitting radioactive

material with an activity of 100

microcuries or less; and

(5) sources of alpha-emitting radioactive

material with an activity of ten

microcuries or less.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(u).

.1309 QUARTERLY INVENTORY
Each licensee shall conduct a quarterly physical

inventory to account for all source- sources of

radiation. Records of inventories shall be

maintained for two years from the date of the

inventory for inspection by the agency and shall

include the quantities and kinds of sources of

radiation, the location where sources of radiation

are assigned, the date of the inventory, and the

name of the individual conducting the inventory.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(a)(l ).

.1310 UTILIZATION RECORDS
(a) Each licensee shall maintain current

utilization records showing the following

information for each source of radiation:

( 1 ) make, model number, and a serial

number or a description of each source

of radiation used;

(2) the identity of the well-logging

supervisor or field unit to whom
assigned;

(3) locations where used and dates of use;

and

(4) in the case of tracer materials and

radioactive markers, the radionuclide

and activity used in a particular well.

(b) The licensee shall maintain the utilization

records, required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, for

inspection by the agency for a period of two years

from the date of the recorded event(s).

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(a)(l).

.1313 INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE
(a) Each licensee shall conduct, at intervals not

to exceed six months, a program of inspection and

maintenance of source holders, logging tools,

source handling tools, storage containers, transport

containers, and injection tools to assure proper

labeling and proper physical condition. The

licensee shall maintain records of inspection and

maintenance for a period of two years for inspec-

tion by the agency.

(b) If any inspection conducted pursuant to

Paragraph (a) of this Rule reveals damage to

labeling or components critical to radiation safety,

the licensee shall remove the device from service

until repairs have been made.

(c) The repair, opening, or modification of any

sealed source shall be performed only by persons

specifically authorized to do so by the agency, the

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, an agree-

ment state, or a licensing state.

Statutory Authority G.S. 104E-7.

1\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-21.2 that the EHNR-Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rides cited as 15A
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NCAC 13A .0001 - .0014 and adopt rule cited as

15A NCAC 13A .0018.

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will he conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20. 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing, First Floor Auditorium. 1 South Wilmington

Street. Raleigh. North Carolina.

iVeason for Proposed Action: To clarify and

establish a uniform and consistent approach to the

regulation of off-site recycling facilities; to set fees

for permit modifications; and to comply with

federal rules promulgated between July 10. 1992

and September 10. 1992. which are required to

remain in compliance with EPA authorization

requirements.

(comment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley. Department of Justice. P.O. Box 629,

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629, (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Only persons who

have made comments at a public hearing or who
have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

changes from staff pursuant to comments made
during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL
INTERESTED AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTED
PERSONS, GROUPS. BUSINESSES,
ASSOCIATIONS, INSTITUTIONS. OR AGENCIES
MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS KNOWN
TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH SERVICES
THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS, WHETHER THEY
SUPPORT OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL
PROVISIONS OF THE PROPOSED R ULES. THE
COMMISSION MAY MAKE CHANGES TO THE
RULES A T THE COMMISSION MEETING IF THE
CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S. 150B-21 .2(f).

SUBCHAPTER 13A - HAZARDOUS WASTE
MANAGEMENT

.0001 GENERAL
(a) The Hazardous Waste Section of the Solid

Waste Management Division shall administer the

hazardous waste management program for the

State of North Carolina.

(b) In applying the federal requirements incorpo-

rated by reference throughout this Subchapter, the

following substitutions or exceptions shall apply:

(1) "Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources" shall be substi-

tuted for "Environmental Protection

Agency" except in 40 CFR 262.51

through 262.54, 262.56, 262.57 where

references to the Environmental Protec-

tion Agency shall remain without sub-

stitution;

(2) "Secretary of the Department of Envi-

ronment, Health, and Natural Resourc-

es" shall be substituted for "Administra-

tor," "Regional Administrator" and

"Director" except for 40 CFR 262.55

through 262.57, 264.12(a), 268.5,

268.6, 268.42(b) and 268.44 where the

references to the Administrator, Re-

gional Administrator, and Director shall

remain without substitution; and

(3) An "annual report" shall be required

for all hazardous waste generators,

treaters, storers, and disposers rather

than a "biennial report".

(c) In the event that there are inconsistencies or

duplications in the requirements of those Federal

rules incorporated by reference throughout this

Subchapter and the State rules set out in this

Subchapter, the provisions incorporated by refer-

ence shall prevail except where the State rules are

more stringent.

<e) £dj 40 CFR 260. 1 through 260.3 (Subpart

A), "General," have been incorporated by refer-

ence including subsequent amendments and edi-

tions.

<4) fe} 40 CFR 260. 1 1 , "References", has been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions.

fe) £Q Copies of all materials in this Subchapter

may be inspected or obtained as follows:

(1) Persons interested in receiving

rule-making notices concerning the

North Carolina Hazardous Waste
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Management Rules must submit a

written request to the Hazardous Waste

Section, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh,

N.C. 27611-7687. A check in the

amount of fifteen dollars ($15. 00) made

payable to The Hazardous Waste

Section must be enclosed with each

request. Upon receipt of each request,

individuals will be placed on a mailing

list to receive notices for one year.

(2) Material incorporated by reference in

the Federal Register may be obtained

from the Superintendent of Documents.

U.S. Government Printing Office,

Washington. D.C. 20402 at a cost of

three hundred and forty dollars

($340.00) per year. Federal Register

materials are codified once a year in the

Code of Federal Regulations and may

be obtained at the above address for a

cost of: 40 CFR 1-51 thirty seven

dollars ($37.00). 40 CFR 260-299 forty

dollars ($40.00) and 40 CFR 100-149

forty dollars ($40.00). total one

hundred and seventeen dollars

($117.00).

(3) The North Carolina Hazardous Waste

Management Rules, including the

incorporated by reference materials,

may be obtained from the Hazardous

Waste Section at a cost of sixteen

dollars ($16.00).

(4) All material is available for inspection

at the Department of Environment,

Health. and Natural Resources,

Hazardous Waste Section. 401 Oberlin

Road. Raleigh. N.C.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0002 DEFINITIONS
(a) The definitions contained in G.S. 130A-290

apply to this Subchapter.

(b) 40 CFR 260. 10 (Subpart B). Definitions, has

been adopted incorporated by reference tn

accordance—with

—

G.S.—150B 1 4 (c) . including

subsequent amendment and editions except that

the Definitions for "Disposal", "Landfill",

"Management or hazardous waste management",

"Person", "Sludge", "Storage", and "Treatment"

are defined by G.S. 130A-290 and are not

adopted incorporated by reference.

(c) The following additional definitions shall

apply throughout this Subchapter:

(1) "Section" means the Hazardous Waste

Section, in the Division of Solid Waste

Management, Department of

Environment, Health, and Natural

Resources.

(2) The "Department" means the N.C.

Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources (DEHNR).

(3) "Division" means the Solid Waste

Management Division (SWMD).

(4) "Long Term Storage" means the

containment of hazardous waste for an

indefinite period of time in a facility

designed to be closed with the

hazardous waste in place.

(5) "Off-site Recycling Facility" means any

facility that receives shipments of

hazardous waste from off- site to be

recycled or processed for recycling

through any process conducted at the

facility.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0003 PETITIONS - PART 260

(a) All rulemaking petitions for changes in this

Subchapter shall be made in accordance with 15A

NCAC 24B .0001.

(b) 40 CFR 260.21 through 260.41 (Subpart C).

"Rulemaking Petitions," have been incorporated

adopted by reference in accordance with—G.S.

150B 1 4(e) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0004 PUBLIC INFORMATION - PART 2

(a) The provisions concerning requests for

information in 40 CFR 2.100 to 2.120 (Subpart A)

have been incorporated adopted by reference m
accordance—wrth

—

G.S. 150B 1 4 (e) including

subsequent amendments and editions , except that

40 CFR 2. 100 (a) is not adopted incorpo rated by

reference.

(1) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 2.100(a)

which are not incorporated adopted by

reference:

(2) Definitions.

(A) "EPA" means the United States

Environmental Protection Agency.

(B) "Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources" shall be

substituted for "Environmental

Protection Agency" and "Hazardous

Waste Section Chief in the Solid
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Waste Management Division of the

Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources" shall be

substituted for "Administrator",

"Regional Administrator" and

"Director", except in those situations

where authority has not been

delegated to the State of N.C. or

unless the context requires a different

meaning.

(C) "Section" means the N.C. Hazardous

Waste Section, in the Division of

Solid Waste Management, Department

of Environment. Health, and Natural

Resources.

(D) "Section Officer" means the person

designated by the Section Chief to this

activity.

(E) "Section Attorney" means the person

designated by the Section Chief to do

this activity.

(F) Section Officer shall be substituted for

the freedom of information officer.

(G) "N.C. Hazardous Waste Section

Public Affairs Director" shall be

substituted for the EPA Director of

the Office of Public Affairs.

(H) "N.C. Hazardous Waste Section

Office" shall be substituted for

Regional EPA Office or/EPA Branch

Office.

(I) "Department" means N.C.
Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources.

(J) "Section Employee" shall be

substituted for EPA Employee.

(K) "Section Legal Office" shall be the

Section Attorney,

(b) The provisions concerning confidentiality of

business information in 40 CFR 2.201 to 2.309

(Subpart B) have been incorporated adopted by

reference in accordance—with G.S.—I50B 1 4(c)

including subsequent amendments and editions ,

except that 40 CFR 2.209(b) and (c), 2.301,

2.302, 2.303. 2.304. 2.306. 2.307. 2.308 and

2.309 are not adopted incorporated by reference.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0005 GENERAL PROGRAM
REQUIREMENTS - PART 124

40 CFR 124.1 through 124.21 (Subpart A).

"General Program Requirements", have been

incorporated adopted by reference in accordance

wrtb

—

GtS: 150B 1 4 (e) including subsequent

amendments and editions , except that 40 CFR
124.2(c) is not incorporated adopted by reference.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0006 IDENTIFICATION AND LISTING OF
HAZARDOUS WASTES - PART 261

(a) 40 CFR 261.1 through 261.8 (Subpart A).

"General", have been incorporated adopted by

reference in accordance with—G-rSr

—

150B 1 4 (e)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(b) 40 CFR 261. 10 through 261.11 (Subpart B),

"Criteria for Identifying the Characteristics of

Hazardous Waste and for Listing Hazardous

Waste", have been incorporated adopted by

reference in accordance—wt#i

—

G.S.—150B 1 4(c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(c) 40 CFR 261 .20 through 261 .24 (Subpart C),

"Characteristics of Hazardous Waste" have been

incorporated adopted by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions in accordance

with G.S. 150B 1 4 (e) .

(d) 40 CFR 261. 30 through 261.35 (Subpart D).

"Lists of Hazardous Wastes" have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions.

(e) The Appendices to 40 CFR Part 261 have

been incorporated adopted by reference m
accordance—wrth

—

G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) including

subsequent amendments and editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0007 STDS APPLICABLE TO
GENERATORS OF HAZARDOUS
WASTE - PART 262

(a) 40 CFR 262. 10 through 262.12 (Subpart A),

"General", have been incorporated adopted by

reference in accordance—with

—

G.S.—150B 1 4 (c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(b) 40 CFR 262.20 through 262.23 (Subpart

B), "The Manifest", have been incorporated

adopted by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions in accordance with G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) .

(c) 40 CFR 262.30 through 262.34 (Subpart C).

"Pre-Transport Requirements", have been

incorporated adopted by reference in accordance

wt#i

—

G.S. 150B 1 4(c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

(d) 40 CFR 262.40 through 262.44 (Subpart D),

"Recordkeeping and Reporting", have been

incorporated adopted by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions in accordance

with G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) . In addition, a generator
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shall keep records of inspections and results of

inspections required by Section 262.34 for at least

three years from the date of the inspection.

(e) 40 CFR 262.50 through 262.58 (Subpart E).

"Exports of Hazardous Waste", have been

incorporated adopted by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions in accordance

with G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) .

(f) 40 CFR 262.60 (Subpart F). "Imports of

Hazardous Waste", has been incorporated adopted

by reference in accordance with G.S. 150B 1 4(c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(g) 40 CFR 262.70 (Subpart G), "Farmers" has

been incorporated adopted by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions in accordance

with G.S.150B 1 4 (c) .

(h) Fhe Appendix to 40 CFR Part 262 has been

incorporated adopted by reference in accordance

with—Gr-S:

—

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent

amendments and editions : however, Items 1). 1 .

H. and I on the form in the Appendix to 40 CFR
Part 262 are required to be completed on the

North Carolina Hazardous Waste Manifest form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0008 STDS APPLICABLE TO
TRANSPORTERS OF HAZARDOUS
WASTE - PART 263

(a) 40 CFR 263. 10 through 263.12 (Subpart A).

"General", have been adopted incorporated by

reference in accordance—w+#)

—

G.S.—150B 1 4(c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(b) 40 CFR 263.20 through 263.22 (Subpart B),

"Compliance With the Manifest System and

Recordkeeping", have been adopted incorporated

by reference in accordance with G.S. 150B 1 4 (c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(c) 40 CFR 263.30 through 263.31 (Subpart C).

"Hazardous Waste Discharges", have been adopted

incorporated by reference in accordance with G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0009 STANDARDS FOR
OWNERS/OPERATORS OF HWTSD
FACILITIES - PART 264

(a) Any person who treats, stores or disposes of

hazardous waste shall comply with the

requirements set forth in this Section. The

treatment, storage or disposal of hazardous waste

is prohibited except as provided in this Section.

(b) 40 CFR 264.1 through 264.4 (Subpart A).

"General", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

additions.

(c) 40 CFR 264. 10 through 264. 19 (Subpart B),

"General Facility Standards", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions additions .

(d) 40 CFR 264.30 through 264.37 (Subpart C),

"Preparedness and Prevention", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions additions .

(e) 40 CFR 264.50 through 264.56 (Subpart D),

"Contingency Plan and Emergency Procedures",

have been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions addition s.

(f) 40 CFR 264.70 through 264.77 (Subpart E).

"Manifest System, Recordkeeping, and

Reporting", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

addition s.

(g) 40 CFR 264.90 through 264.101 (Subpart

F), "Releases From Solid Waste Management

Units", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

addition s. For the purpose of this incorporation by

reference, "January 26, 1983" shall be substituted

for "July 26. 1982" contained in 40 CFR
264.90(a)(2).

(h) 40 CFR 264.1 10 through 264.120 (Subpart

G). "Closure and Post-Closure", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions addition s.

(i) 40 CFR 264.140 through 264.151 (Subpart

H), "Financial Requirements", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions additions , except that 40

CFR 264.143(a)(3). (a)(4). (a)(5), (a)(6). 40 CFR
264.145(a)(3), (a)(4), (a)(5), and 40 CFR
264.151(a)(1), Section 15 are not incorporated by

reference.

( 1 ) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 264.143(a)(3)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

The owner or operator shall deposit the

full amount of the closure cost estimate

at the time the fund is established.

Within 1 year of the effective date of

these Rules regulations , an owner or

operator using a closure trust fund

established prior to the effective date of

these Rules regulation s shall deposit an

amount into the fund so that its value

after this deposit at least equals the

amount of the current closure cost
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estimate, or shall obtain other financial

assurance as specified in this Section.

(2) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 264. 143(a)(6)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

After the trust fund is established,

whenever the current closure cost

estimate changes, the owner or operator

shall compare the new estimate with the

trustee's most recent annual valuation

of the trust fund. If the value of the

fund is less than the amount of the new

estimate, the owner or operator within

60 days after the change in the cost

estimate, shall either deposit an amount

into the fund so that its value after this

deposit at least equals the amount of the

current closure cost estimate, or obtain

other financial assurance as specified in

this section to cover the difference.

(3) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 264.145(a)(3)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

(A) Except as otherwise provided in

Paragraph (i)(3)(B) of this Section.

the owner or operator shall deposit

the full amount of the post-closure

cost estimate at the time the fund is

established.

(B) If the Department finds that the owner

or operator of an inactive hazardous

waste disposal unit cannot provide

financial assurance for post-closure

through any other option (e.g. surety

bond, letter of credit, or corporate

guarantee), a plan for annual

payments to the trust fund over the

term of the RCRA post-closure permit

may be established by the Department

as a permit condition.

(4) The following additional requirement

shall apply:

The Trustee shall notify the Department

of payment to the trust fund, by

certified mail within ten days following

said payment to the trust fund. The

notice shall contain the name of the

Grantor, the date of payment, the

amount of payment, and the current

value of the trust fund.

(j) 40 CFR 264.170 through 264.178 (Subpart

I), "Use and Management of Containers", have

been incorporated by reference' including

subsequent amendments and editions additions .

(k) 40 CFR 264. 190 through 264. 199 (Subpart

J), "Tank Systems", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions-.

(1) The following are requirements for Surface

Impoundments:

(1) 40 CFR 264.220 through 264.231

(Subpart K), "Surface Impoundments",

have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and

editions additions .

(2) The following are additional standards

for surface impoundments:

(A) The liner system shall consist of at

least two liners;

(B) Artificial liners shall be equal to or

greater than 30 mils in thickness;

(C) Clayey liners shall be equal to or

greater than five feet in thickness and

have a maximum permeability of 1 .0

x 10-7 cm/sec;

(D) Clayey liner soils shall have the same

characteristics as described in

(r)(4)(B)(ii), (iii), (iv), (vi) and (vii)

of this Rule;

(E) A leachate collection system shall be

constructed between the upper liner

and the bottom liner;

(F) A leachate detection system shall be

constructed below the bottom liner;

and

(G) Surface impoundments shall be

constructed in such a manner to

prevent landsliding, slippage or

slumping.

(m) 40 CFR 264.250 through 264.259 (Subpart

L), "Waste Piles", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions addition s.

(n) 40 CFR 264.270 through 264.283 (Subpart

M), "Land Treatment", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions addition s.

(o) 40 CFR 264.300 through 264.317 (Subpart

N), "Landfills", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions addition s.

(p) A long-term storage facility shall meet

groundwater protection, closure and post-closure,

and financial requirements for disposal facilities as

specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), and (i) of this

Rule.

(q) 40 CFR 264.340 through 264.351 (Subpart

O), "Incinerators", have been incorporated by
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reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions ,

(r) The following are additional location

standards for facilities:

( 1 ) In addition to the location standards set

forth in 15A NCAC 13A .0009(c). the

Department, in determining whether to

issue a permit for a hazardous waste

management facility, shall consider the

risks posed by the proximity of the

facility to water table levels, flood

plains, water supplies, public water

supply watersheds, mines, natural

resources such as wetlands, endangered

species habitats. parks. forests,

wilderness areas, and historical sites,

and population centers and shall

consider whether provision has been

made for adequate buffer zones. The

Department shall also consider ground

water travel time, soil pH. soil cation

exchange capacity, soil composition and

permeability, slope, climate, local land

use. transportation factors such as

proximity to waste generators, route,

route safety, and method of transpor-

tation, aesthetic factors such as the visi-

bility, appearance, and noise level of

the facility; potential impact on air

quality, existence of seismic activity

and cavernous bedrock.

(2) The following minimum separation

distances shall be required of all

hazardous waste management facilities

except that existing facilities shall be

required to meet these minimum

separation distances to the maximum
extent feasible:

(A) All hazardous waste management

facilities shall be located at least 0.25

miles from institutions including but

not limited to schools, health care

facilities and prisons, unless the

owner or operator can demonstrate

that no unreasonable risks shall be

posed by the proximity of the facility.

(B) All hazardous waste treatment and

storage facilities shall comply with the

following separation distances: all

hazardous waste shall be treated and

stored a minimum of 50 feet from the

property line of the facility: except

that all hazardous waste with

ignitable. incompatible or reactive

characteristics shall be treated and

stored a minimum of 200 feet from

the property line of the facility if the

area adjacent to the facility is zoned

for any use other than industrial or is

not zoned.

(C) All hazardous waste landfills,

long-term storage facilities, land

treatment facilities and surface

impoundments, shall comply with the

following separation distances:

(i) All hazardous waste shall be

located a minimum of 200 feet

from the property line of the

facility:

(ii) Each hazardous waste landfill,

long-term storage or surface

impoundment facility shall be

constructed so that the bottom of

the facility is 10 feet or more

above the historical high ground

water level. The historical high

ground water level shall be

determined by measuring the

seasonal high ground water levels

and predicting the long-term

maximum high ground water level

from published data on similar

North Carolina topographic

positions, elevations, geology, and

climate: and

(iii) All hazardous waste shall be

located a minimum of 1 ,000 feet

from the zone of influence of any

existing off-site ground water well

used for drinking water, and

outside the zone of influence of

any existing or planned on-site

drinking water well.

(D) Hazardous waste storage and

treatment facilities for liquid waste

that is classified as TC toxic, toxic, or

acutely toxic and is stored or treated

in tanks or containers shall not be

located:

(i) in the recharge area of an aquifer

which is designated as an existing

sole drinking water source as

defined in the Safe Drinking

Water Act. Section .1424(e) [42

U.S.C. 300h-3(e)] unless an

adequate secondary containment

system is constructed, and after

consideration of applicable factors

in (r)(3) of this Rule, the owner

or operator can demonstrate no
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unreasonable risk to public health;

(ii) within 200 feet of surface water

impoundments or surface water

stream with continuous flow as

defined by the United States

Geological Survey;

(iii) in an area that will allow direct

surface or subsurface discharge to

WS-1, WS-II or SA waters or a

Class III Reservoir as defined in

15A NCAC 2B .0200 and 15A

NCAC 18C .0102;

(iv) in an area that will allow direct

surface or subsurface discharge to

the watershed for a Class I or II

Reservoir as defined in 15A

NCAC 18C .0102;

(v) within 200 feet horizontally of a

100-year floodplain elevation;

(vi) within 200 feet of a seismically

active area as defined in (c) of

this Rule; and

(vii) within 200 feet of a mine, cave,

or cavernous bedrock.

(3) The Department may require any

hazardous waste management facility to

comply with greater separation

distances or other protective measures

necessary to avoid unreasonable risks

posed by the proximity of the facility to

water table levels, flood plains, water

supplies, public water supply

watersheds, mines, natural resources

such as wetlands, endangered species

habitats, parks, forests, wilderness

areas, and historical sites, and

population centers or to provide an

adequate buffer zone. The Department

may also require protective measures

necessary to avoid unreasonable risks

posed by the soil pH, soil cation

exchange capacity, soil composition and

permeability, climate, transportation

factors such as proximity to waste

generators, route, route safety, and

method of transportation, aesthetic

factors such as the visibility,

appearance, and noise level of the

facility, potential impact on air quality,

and the existence of seismic activity and

cavernous bedrock. In determining

whether to require greater separation

distances or other protective measures,

the Department shall consider the

following factors:

(A) All proposed hazardous waste

activities and procedures to be

associated with the transfer, storage,

treatment or disposal of hazardous

waste at the facility;

(B) The type of hazardous waste to be

treated, stored, or disposed of at the

facility;

(C) The volume of waste to be treated,

stored, or disposed of at the facility;

(D) Land use issues including the number

of permanent residents in proximity to

the facility and their distance from the

facility;

(E) The adequacy of facility design and

plans for containment and control of

sudden and non-sudden accidental

events in combination with adequate

off-site evacuation of potentially

adversely impacted populations;

(F) Other land use issues including the

number of institutional and

commercial structures such as airports

and schools in proximity to the

facility, their distance from the

facility, and the particular nature of

the activities that take place in those

structures;

(G) The lateral distance and slope from

the facility to surface water supplies

or to watersheds draining directly into

surface water supplies;

(H) The vertical distance, and type of

soils and geologic conditions

separating the facility from the water

table;

(I) The direction and rate of flow of

ground water from the sites and the

extent and reliability of on-site and

nearby data concerning seasonal and

long-term groundwater level

fluctuations;

(J) Potential air emissions including rate,

direction of movement, dispersion and

exposure^ whether from planned or

accidental, uncontrolled releases; and

(K) Any other relevant factors.

(4) The following are additional location

standards for landfills, long-term

storage facilities and hazardous waste

surface impoundments:

(A) A hazardous waste landfill, long-term

storage, or a surface impoundment

facility shall not be located:

(i) In the recharge area of an aquifer
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which is an existing sole drinking

water source;

(ii) Within 200 feet of a surface water

stream with continuous flow as

defined by the United States

Geological Survey;

(iii) In an area that will allow direct

surface or subsurface discharge to

WS-I, WS-I1 or SA waters or

Class III Reservoir as defined in

15A NCAC 2B .0200 and 15A

NCAC 18C .0102;

(iv) In an area that will allow direct

surface or subsurface discharge to

a watershed for a Class I or II

Reservoir as defined in 15A

NCAC 18C .0102;

(v) Within 200 feet horizontally of a

100-year flood hazard elevation;

(vi) Within 200 feet of a seismically

active area as defined in (c) of

this Rule; and

(vii) Within 200 feet of a mine, cave

or cavernous bedrock.

(B) A hazardous waste landfill or

long-term storage facility shall be

located in highly weathered, relatively

impermeable clayey formations with

the following soil characteristics;

(i) The depth of the unconsolidated

soil materials shall be equal to or

greater than 20 feet;

(ii) The percentage of fine-grained

soil material shall be equal to or

greater than 30 percent passing

through a number 200 sieve;

(iii) Soil liquid limit shall be equal to

or greater than 30;

(iv) Soil plasticity index shall be equal

to or greater than 15;

(v) Soil compacted hydraulic

conductivity shall be a maximum
of 1.0 x id"

7

cm/sec;

(vi) Soil Cation Exchange Capacity

shall be equal to or greater than 5

milliequivalents per 100 grams;

(vii) Soil Potential Volume Change

Index shall be equal to or less

than 4; and

(viii) Soils shall be underlain by a

competent geologic formation

having a rock quality designation

equal to or greater than 75

percent unless other geological

conditions afford adequate

protection of public health and the

environment.

(C) A hazardous waste landfill or

long-term storage facility shall be

located in areas of low to moderate

relief to the extent necessary to

prevent landsliding or slippage and

slumping. The site may be graded to

comply with this standard.

(5) All new hazardous waste impoundments

that close with hazardous waste residues

left in place shall comply with the

standards for hazardous waste landfills

in (r)(4) of this Rule unless the

applicant can demonstrate that

equivalent protection of public health

and environment is afforded by some

other standard.

(6) The owners and operators of all new

hazardous waste management facilities

shall construct and maintain a minimum

of two observation wells. one

upgradient and one downgradient of the

proposed facility; and shall establish

background groundwater concentrations

and monitor annually for all hazardous

wastes that the owner or operator

proposes to store, treat, or dispose at

the facility.

(7) The owners and operators of all new

hazardous waste facilities shall

demonstrate that the community has had

an opportunity to participate in the

siting process by complying with the

following:

(A) The owners and operators shall hold

at least one public meeting in the

county in which the facility is to be

located to inform the community of

all hazardous waste management

activities including but not limited to;

the hazardous properties of the waste

to be managed; the type of

management proposed for the wastes;

the mass and volume of the wastes;

and the source of the wastes; and to

allow the community to identify

specific health. safety and

environmental concerns or problems

expressed by the community related to

the hazardous waste activities

associated with the facility. The

owners and operators shall provide a

public notice of this meeting at least

30 days prior to the meeting. Public
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notice shall be documented in the

facility permit application. The

owners and operators shall submit as

part of the permit application a

complete written transcript of the

meeting, all written material

submitted that represents community

concerns, and all other relevant

written material distributed or used at

the meeting. The written transcript

and other written material submitted

or used at the meeting shall be sub-

mitted to the local public library

closest to and in the county of the

proposed site with a request that the

information be made available to the

public.

(B) For the purposes of this Rule, public

notice shall include: notification of

the boards of county commissioners

of the county where the proposed site

is to be located and all contiguous

counties in North Carolina; a legal

advertisement placed in a newspaper

or newspapers serving those counties;

and provision of a news release to at

least one newspaper, one radio

station, and one TV station serving

these counties. Public notice shall

include the time, place, and purpose

of the meetings required by this Rule.

(C) No less than 30 days after the first

public meeting transcript is available

at the local public library, the owners

and operators shall hold at least one

additional public meeting in order to

attempt to resolve community

concerns. The owners and operators

shall provide public notice of this

meeting at least 30 days prior to the

meeting. Public notice shall be

documented in the facility permit

application. The owners and

operators shall submit as part of the

permit application a complete written

transcript of the meeting, all written

material submitted that represents

community concerns, and all other

relevant written material distributed or

used at the meeting.

(D) The application, written transcripts of

all public meetings and any additional

material submitted or used at the

meetings, and any additions or

corrections to the application.

including any responses to notices of

deficiencies shall be submitted to the

local library closest to and in the

county of the proposed site, with a

request that the information be made

available to the public until the permit

decision is made.

(E) The Department shall consider

unresolved community concerns in the

permit review process and impose

final permit conditions based on

sound scientific, health, safety, and

environmental principles as authorized

by applicable laws or rules.

(s) 40 CFR 264.570 through 264.575 (Subpart

W), "Drip Pads", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(t) 40 CFR 264.600 through 264.603 (Subpart

X), "Miscellaneous Units", have been incorporated

by reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(u) 40 CFR 264.1030 through 264.1049

(Subpart AA), "Air Emission Standards for

Process Vents", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(v) 40 CFR 264.1050 through 264.1079

(Subpart BB),"Air Emission Standards for

Equipment Leaks", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(w) 40 CFR 264.1100 through 264.1102

(Subpart DP). "Containment Buildings", have

been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

(x) (w) Appendices to 40 CFR Part 264 have

been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0010 INTERIM STATUS STDS FOR
OWNERS-OP OF HWTSD
FACILITIES - PART 265

(a) 40 CFR 265.1 through 265.4 (Subpart A).

"General", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

additions .

(b) 40 CFR 265. 10 through 265. 19 (Subpart B).

"General Facility Standards", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions addition s.

(c) 40 CFR 265.30 through 265.37 (Subpart C),

"Preparedness and Prevention", have been
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incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions addition s.

(d) 40 CFR 265.50 through 265.56 (Subpart D).

"Contingency Plan and Emergency Procedures",

have been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions addition s.

(e) 40 CFR 265.70 through 265.77 (Subpart E),

"Manifest System. Recordkeeping. and

Reporting", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

additions .

(f) 40 CFR 265.90 through 265.94 (Subpart F),

"Ground-Water Monitoring". have been

incorporated bv reference including subsequent

amendments and editions additions .

(g) 40 CFR 265.110 through 265.120 (Subpart

G). "Closure and Post-Closure". have been

incorporated bv reference including subsequent

amendments and editions additions .

ih) 40 CFR 265.140 through 265.151 (Subpart

H). "Financial Requirements". have been

incorporated bv reference including subsequent

amendments and editions addition s, except that 40

CFR 265.143(a)(3). (a)(4). (a)(5). (a)(6). and 40

CFR 265.145(a)(3). (a)(4), (a)(5). are not

incorporated by reference.

( 1

)

The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 265. 143(a)(3)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

The owner or operator shall deposit the

full amount of the closure cost estimate

at the time the fund is established.

Within 1 year of the effective date of

these Rules regulation s, an owner or

operator using a closure trust fund

established prior to the effective date of

these Rules regulation s shall deposit an

amount into the fund so that its value

after this deposit at least equals the

amount of the current closure cost

estimate, or shall obtain other financial

assurance as specified in this Section.

(2) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 265.143(a)(6)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

After the trust fund is established.

whenever the current closure cost

estimate changes, the owner or operator

shall compare the new estimate with the

trustee's most recent annual valuation

of the trust fund. If the value of the

fund is less than the amount of the new

estimate, the owner or operator within

60 days after the change in the cost

estimate, shall either deposit an amount

into the fund so that its value after this

deposit at least equals the amount of the

current closure cost estimate, or obtain

other financial assurance as specified in

this Section to cover the difference.

(3) The following shall be substituted for

the provisions of 40 CFR 265.145(a)(3)

which were not incorporated by

reference:

(A) Except as otherwise provided in

Paragraph (h)(3)(B) of this Section.

the owner or operator shall deposit

the full amount of the post-closure

cost estimate at the time the fund is

established.

(B) If the Department finds that the owner

or operator of an inactive hazardous

waste disposal unit cannot provide

financial assurance for post-closure

through any other option (e.g. surety

bond, letter of credit, or corporate

guarantee). a plan for annual

payments to the trust fund during the

interim status period may be

established by the Department by use

of an Administrative Order.

(i) 40 CFR 265.170 through 265.177 (Subpart

I). "Use and Management of Containers", have

been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions addition s.

Additionally, the owner or operator shall keep

records and results of required inspections for at

least three years from the date of the inspection.

(j) 40 CFR 265.190 through 265.201 (Subpart

J), "Tank Systems", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions .

(k) 40 CFR 265.220 through 265.230 (Subpart

K), "Surface Impoundments". have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent

amendments and editions addition s.

(1) 40 CFR 265.250 through 265.260 (Subpart

L). "Waste Piles", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions .

(m) 40 CFR 265.270 through 265.282 (Subpart

M), "Land Treatment", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions addition s.

in) 40 CFR 265.300 through 265.316 (Subpart

N). "Landfills", have been incorporated bv

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions addition s.
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(o) 40 CFR 265.340 through 265.352 (Subpart

O), "Incinerators", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions .

(p) 40 CFR 265.370 through 265.383 (Subpart

P), "Thermal Treatment", have been incorporated

by reference including subsequent amendments and

editions additions.

(q) 40 CFR 265.400 through 265.406 (Subpart

Q), "Chemical, Physical, and Biological

Treatment", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions

additions .

(r) 40 CFR 265.440 through 265.445 (Subpart

W), "Drip Pads", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(s) 40 CFR 265. 1030 through 265. 1049 (Subpart

AA), "Air Emission Standards for Process Vents",

have been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

(t) 40 CFR 265. 1050 through 265. 1079 (Subpart

BB), "Air Emission Standards for Equipment

Leaks'^ have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions.

iu] 40 CFR 265.1100 through 265.1102

(Subpart DP), "Containment Buildings", have

been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

(v) fu-) Appendices to 40 CFR Part 265 have

been incoiporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.00 1 1 STDS FOR THE MGMT OF SPECIFIC
HW/TYPES HWM FACILITIES -

PART 266

(a) 40 CFR 266.20 through 266.23 (Subpart C),

"Recyclable Materials Used in a Manner

Constituting Disposal", have been adopted

incorporated by reference in accordance with G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

(b) 40 CFR 266.30 through 266.35 (Subpart D).

"Hazardous Waste Burned for Energy Recovery",

have been adopted incorporated by reference m
accordance—with

—

G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) including

subsequent amendments and editions .

(c) 40 CFR 266.40 through 266.44 (Subpart E),

"Used Oil Burned for Energy Recovery", have

been adopted incorporated by reference m
accordance—with

—

G^£-. 150B 1 4 (c) including

subsequent amendments and editions .

(d) 40 CFR 266.70 (Subpart F), "Recyclable

Materials Utilized for Precious Metal Recovery",

has been adopted incorporated by reference m
accordance—with—G-rS^ 150B 1 4(c) including

subsequent amendments and editions .

(e) 40 CFR 266.80 (Subpart G), "Spent

Lead-Acid Batteries Being Reclaimed", has been

adopted incorporated by reference in accordance

with

—

GS-. 150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

(f) 40 CFR 266.100 through 266.122 (Subpart

H), "Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers and

Industrial Furnaces", have been adopted incorpo-

rated by reference tn

—

accordance—with

—

G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

(g) Appendices to 40 CFR Part 266 have been

adopted incorporated by reference in accordance

with—Gr-S: 150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0012 LAND DISPOSAL RESTRICTIONS -

PART 268

(a) 40 CFR 268.1 through 268.14 268 .13

(Subpart A), "General", have been incorporated

adopted by reference in aceordanee with—G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

(b) 40 CFR 268.30 through 268.36 268.35

(Subpart C), "Prohibitions on Land Disposal",

have been incorporated adopted by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions in

accordance with G.S. 150B 1 4(e) .

(c) 40 CFR 268.40 through 268.46 268.44

(Subpart D), "Treatment Standards", have been

incoiporated adopted by reference in accordance

with

—

G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

(d) 40 CFR 268.50 (Subpart E), "Prohibitions

on Storage", has been incorporated adopted by

reference in accordance—with

—

G.S.—150B 1 4 (c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

(e) Appendices to 40 CFR Part 268 have been

incoiporated adopted by reference in accordance

with

—

G.S. 150B 1 4(c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0013 THE HAZARDOUS WASTE PERMIT
PROGRAM - PART 270

(a) 40 CFR 270.1 through 270.6 (Subpart A),

"General Information", have been adopted incorpo-

rated by reference «i accordance—with

—

G.S.
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150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions . For the purpose of this adoption

incorporation by reference, "January 26. 1983"

shall be substituted for "July 26, 1982" contained

in 40 CFR 264 .90(a) 270.1(c) .

(b) 40 CFR 270. 10 through 270.29 (Subpart B).

"Permit Application", have been adopted

incorporated by reference t« accordance with G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

(c) The following are additional Part B

information requirements for all hazardous waste

treatment, storage or disposal facilities:

( 1 ) Description and documentation of the

public meetings as required in 15A

NCAC 13A .0009 (r)(7);

(2) A description of the hydrological and

geological properties of the site

including, at a minimum, flood plains,

depth to water table, ground water

travel time, seasonal and long-term

groundwater level fluctuations,

proximity to public water supply

watersheds, consolidated rock, soil pH,

soil cation exchange capacity, soil

characteristics and composition and

permeability, existence of cavernous

bedrock and seismic activity, slope,

mines, climate, location and withdrawal

rates of surface water users within the

immediate drainage basin and well

water users within a one mile radius of

the facility; water quality information of

both surface and groundwater within

1000 ft. of the facility, and a

description of the local air quality;

(3) A description of the facility's proximity

to and potential impact on wetlands,

endangered species habitats, parks,

forests, wilderness areas, historical

sites, mines, and air quality;

(4) A description of local land use

including residential. industrial,

commercial, recreational, agricultural

and the proximity to schools and

airports;

(5) A description of the proximity of the

facility to waste generators and

population centers; a description of the

method of waste transportation: the

comments of the local community and

state transportation authority on the

proposed route, and route safety.

Comments should include proposed

alternative routes and restrictions

necessary to protect the public health;

(6) A description of facility aesthetic

factors including visibility, appearance,

and noise level; and

(7) A description of any other objective

factors that the Department determines

are reasonably related and relevant to

the proper siting and operation of the

facility.

(d) In addition to the specific Specific Part B

information requirements Information

Requirements for hazardous waste disposal

facilities, owners and operators of hazardous waste

landfills or longterm storage facilities shall provide

the following information:

( 1 ) Design drawings and specifications of

the leachate collection and removal

system;

(2) Design drawings and specifications of

the artificial impervious liner;

(3) Design drawings and specifications of

the clay or clay-like liner below the

artificial liner, and a description of the

permeability of the clay or clay-like

liner; and

(4) A description of how hazardous wastes

will be treated prior to placement in the

facility.

(e) In addition to the specific Part B Information

i n format io n requirements for s U i face

impoundments Surface Impoundment s, owners and

operators of surface impoundments shall provide

the following information:

( 1

)

Design drawings and specifications of

the leachate collection and removal

system;

(2) Design drawings and specifications of

all artificial impervious liners;

(3) Design drawings and specifications of

all clay or clay-like liners and a

description of the clay or clay-like

liner: and

(4) Design drawings and specifications that

show that the facility has been

constructed in a manner that will

prevent landsliding. slippage. or

slumping.

(f) 40 CFR 270.30 through 270.33 (Subpart

C)," Permit Conditions", have been adopted

incorporated by reference in aeeordanee with G.S.

150B 1 4(e) including subsequent amendments and

editions .

(g) 40 CFR 270.40 through 270.43 (Subpart D).

"Changes to Permit", have been adopted

incorporated by reference in aeeordanee with G.S.
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150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions ,

(h) 40 CFR 270.50 through 270.51 (Subpart E).

"Expiration and Continuation of Permits", have

been adopted incorporated by reference in

accordance—with—G-rSr

—

150B 1 4 (c) including

subsequent amendments and editions.

(i) 40 CFR 270.60 through 270.66 (Subpart F),

"Special Forms of Permits", have been adopted

incoiporated by reference in accordance with G.S.

150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent amendments and

editions.

(j) 40 CFR 270.70 through 270.73 (Subpart G),

"Interim Status", have been adopted incorporated

by reference in accordance with G.S.—150B 1 4 (c)

including subsequent amendments and editions .

For the purpose of this adoption incorporation by

reference, "January 1, 1986" shall be substituted

for "November 8, 1985" contained in 40 CFR
270.73(c).

(k) The following are additional permitting

requirements concerning operating record of other

facilities.

(1) An applicant applying for a permit for

a hazardous waste facility shall submit

a disclosure statement to the

Department as a part of the application

for a permit or any time thereafter

specified by the Department. The

disclosure statement shall be supported

by an affidavit attesting to the truth and

completeness of the facts asserted in the

statement and shall include:

(A) A brief description of the form of the

business (e.g. partnership, sole

proprietorship, corporation,

association, or other);

(B) The name and address of any

hazardous waste facility constructed

or operated after October 21. 1976.

by the applicant or any parent or

subsidiary corporation if the applicant

is a corporation; and

(C) A list identifying any legal action

taken against any facility identified in

Part (k)(l)(B) of this Rule involving:

(i) any administrative ruling or order

issued by any state, federal or

local authority relating to

revocation of any environmental

or waste management permit or

license, or to a violation of any

state or federal statute or local

ordinance relating to waste

management or environmental

protection;

(ii) any judicial determination of

liability or conviction under any

state or federal law or local

ordinance relating to waste

management or environmental

protection; and

(iii) any pending administrative or

judicial proceeding of the type

described in this Part.

(D) The identification of each action

described in Part (k)(l)(C) of this

Rule shall include the name and loca-

tion of the facility that the action

concerns, the agency or court that

heard or is hearing the matter, the

title, docket or case number, and the

status of the proceeding.

(2) In addition to the information set forth

in Subparagraph (k)(l)of this Rule, the

Department may require from any

applicant such additional information as

it deems necessary to satisfy the re-

quirements of G.S. 130A-295. Such

information may include, but shall not

be limited to:

(A) The names, addresses, and titles of all

officers, directors, or partners of the

applicant and of any parent or subsid-

iary corporation if the applicant is a

corporation;

(B) The name and address of any compa-

ny in the field of hazardous waste

management in which the applicant

business or any of its officers, direc-

tors, or partners, hold an equity inter-

est and the name of the officer, direc-

tor, or partner holding such interest;

and

(C) A copy of any administrative ruling

or order and of any judicial determi-

nation of liability or conviction de-

scribed in Part (k)(l)(C) of this Rule,

and a description of any pending

administrative or judicial proceeding

in that item.

(3) If the Department finds that any part or

parts of the disclosure statement is not

necessary to satisfy the requirements of

G.S. 130A-295, such information shall

not be required.

(1) An applicant for a new, or modification to an

existing, commercial facility permit, shall provide

a description and justification of the need for the

facility.
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(m) Requirements for Off- site Recycling Facili-

ties.

j 1 ) The permit requirements of this Rule

apply to owners and operators of

off- site recycling facilities.

(2) The following provisions of 40 CFR
Part 264. as incorporated by reference.

shall apply to owners and operators of

off-site recycling facilities:

(A) Subpart B - General Facility Stan-

dards

(B) Subpart C - Preparedness and Preven-

tion

(C) Subpart D z Contingency Plan and

Emergency Procedures

(D) Subpart E - Manifest System. Record-

keeping and Reporting

(E) Subpart G ; Closure and Post-closure

(F) Subpart H ; Financial Requirements

(G) Subpart I : Use and Management of

Containers

(H) Subpart J ; Tank Systems

IT) 264.101 - Corrective Action for Solid

Waste Management I nits.

(J) Subpart X - Miscellaneous Units

(K) Subpart DP : Containment Buildings

(3) The requirements listed in Subpara-

graph ( m ) ( 2

)

of this Rule apply to the

entire off- site recycling facility, includ-

ing all recycling units, staging and

process areas, and permanent and tem-

porary storage areas for recycled prod-

ucts and wastes

.

(4) The following provisions of 15A

NCAC 13A .0009 shall apply to owners

and operators of off-site recycling

facilities:

(A) The substitute financial requirements

of Rule .0009 (i)(l). (2) and (4).

(B) The additional standards of Rule

0009 (r)(l). (2L i3L 16] and (7L
(5) The owner or operator of an off- site

recycling facility shall keep a written

operating record at his facility.

(6) The following information must be

recorded, as it becomes available, and

maintained [n the operating record until

closure of the facility:

(A) A description and the quantity of each

hazardous waste received, and the

method(s) and date(s) of its treatment,

storage, or recycling at the facility.

(B) The location of al] hazardous waste

within the facility and the quantity at

each location. This information must

i£)

include cross-references to specific

manifest document numbers if the

waste was accompanied by a manifest.

A complete documentation of the fate

of aU hazardous wastes received from

off-site or generated on-site. This

shall include records of the sale,

reuse, off-site transfer, or disposal of

all products and waste materials,

(n) Permit Fees for Commercial Hazardous

Waste Facilities

( 1

)

An applicant for a permit modification

for a commercial hazardous waste

facility shall pay an application fee as

follows:

(A) Class 1 permit modification $100

(B) Class 2 permit modification $1 .000

(C) Class 3 permit modification $5.000

! Note: Administrative or informational changes

such as personnel or telephone numbers are ex-

cluded from the fee requirement. [

(2) The application fee for a new permit,

permit renewal, or permit modification

must accompany the application, and js

non-refundable. The application shall

be considered incomplete until the fee

js paid. Checks should be made pay-

able to: Division of Solid Waste Man-

agement.

Statutory Authority G. S. l30A-294(c); 130A-294. 1;

130A-295(a)(1), (2), (c).

.0014 REQMNTS/AUTHORIZATION OF
STATE HAZARDOUS WASTE PROG
- PART 271

40 CFR 271.17, "Sharing of information", has

been incorporated adopted by reference in neeor

dance with G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) including subsequent

amendments and editions .

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

.0018 STANDARDS FOR THE
MANAGEMENT OF USED OIL

la] 40 CFR 279.1 (Subpart A). "Definitions",

has been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

lb) 40 CFR 279. 10 through 279. 12 (Subpart B),

"Applicability", have been incoqio rated by refer-

ence including subsequent amendments and edi-

tions.

(c} 40 CFR 279.20 through 279.24 (Subpart C).

"Standards for Used Oil Generators", have been

incorporated by reference including subsequent
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amendments and editions.

id) 40 CFR 279.30 through 279.32 (Subpart D),

"Standards for Used Oil Collection Centers and

Aggregation Points", have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions .

ie) 40 CFR 279.40 through 279.47 (Subpart E),

"Standards for Used Oil Transporter and Transfer

Facilities", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions .

if} 40 CFR 279.50 through 279.59 (Subpart F),

"Standards for Used Oil Processors and

Re-Refiners", have been incorporated by reference

including subsequent amendments and editions.

{2} 40 CFR 279.60 through 279.67 (Subpart G),

"Standards for Used Oil Burners Who Burn

Off-Specification Used Oil for Energy Recovery",

have been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

ih] 40 CFR 279.70 through 279.75 (Subpart H).

"Standards for Used Oil Fuel Marketers", have

been incorporated by reference including

subsequent amendments and editions.

ill 40 CFR 279.80 through 279.82 (Subpart 1^

"Standards for Use as a Dust Suppressant and

Disposal of Used Oil" have been incorporated by

reference including subsequent amendments and

editions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-294(c).

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley, Department of Justice, P. O. Box 629,

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629, (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Only persons who
have made comments at a public hearing or who
have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments
made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

changes from staff' pursuant to comments made
during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT .ALL

INTERESTED AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTED
PERSONS, GROUPS, BUSINESSES,
ASSOCIATIONS, INSTITUTIONS, OR AGENCIES
MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS KNOWN
TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH SERVICES
THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS, WHETHER THEY
SUPPORT OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL
PROVISIONS OF THE PROPOSED R ULES. THE
COMMISSION MA Y MAKE CHANGES TO THE
RULES A T THE COMMISSION MEETING IF THE
CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S. 150B-21 .2(f).

X >: >: >c >< v

IVotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-2 1.2 that the EHNR-Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rules cited as 15A

NCAC 13B .01201. .1203. .1207.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20, 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing, First Floor Auditorium, 1 South Wilmington

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

MXeason for Proposed Action: To designate

microwave treatment as suitable technology for

treating microbiological waste.

Lsomment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT

SECTION .1200 - MEDICAL WASTE
MANAGEMENT

.1201 DEFINITIONS
For the purpose of the Section, the following

definitions apply:

(1) "Blood and body fluids" means liquid

blood, serum, plasma, other blood

products, emulsified human tissue, spinal

fluids, and pleural and peritoneal fluids.

Dialysates are not blood or body fluids

under this definition.

(2) "Generating facility" means any facility

where medical waste first becomes a

waste, including but not limited to any

medical or dental facility, funeral home,

laboratory, veterinary hospital and blood

bank.
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£61

(6)

(?)

(8)

medical

common

G.S.

pharmaceutical,

and industrial

(3) "Integrated medical facility" means one

or more health service facilities as

defined in NCGS G.S. 1 3 1 E- 1 76(9b) that

are:

(a) located in a single county or two

contiguous counties;

(b) affiliated with a university

school or that are under

ownership and control; and

(c) serve a single service area.

(4) "Medical waste" as defined

130A 290.1 8 130A-290(18) .

(5) "Microbiological waste" means cultures

and stocks of infectious agents, including

but not limited to specimens from

medical, pathological,

research, commercial

laboratories.

"Microwave treatment" means treatment

by microwave energy for sufficient time

to render waste non-infectious.

(7) "Off-site" means any site which is

not "on-site".

(8) "On-site" means the same or

geographically contiguous property which

may be divided by public or private

right-of-way.

(9) "Pathological waste" means human

tissues, organs and body parts; and the

carcasses and body parts of all animals

that were known to have been exposed to

pathogens that are potentially dangerous

to humans during research, were used in

the production of biologicals or in vivo

testing of pharmaceuticals, or that died

with a known or suspected disease

transmissible to humans.

f9-> ( 10) "Regulated Medical Waste" means

blood and body fluids in individual

containers in volumes greater than 20 ml,

microbiological waste, and pathological

waste that have not been treated pursuant

to Rule .1207 of this Section.

f+O-) (11) "Sharps" means and includes

needles, syringes with attached needles,

capillary tubes, slides and cover slips,

and scalpel blades.

f+4-» ( 12) "Treatment" as defined in G.S.

1 30A-309. 26(a)(2).

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-309.26.

.1203 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE

(a) Regulated medical waste shall be treated

prior to disposal. Acceptable methods of treatment

are as follows:

(1) blood and body fluids in individual

containers in volumes greater than 20

ml - Incineration or sanitary sewage

systems, provided the sewage treatment

authority is notified;

(2) microbiological waste - Incineration,

steam sterilization, microwave
treatment, or chemical treatment;

(3) pathological wastes - Incineration.

(b) Other methods of treatment shall require

approval by the Division.

(c) Regulated medical waste treated in

accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be

managed in accordance with 15A NCAC 13B

.0100 - .0700.

(d) Crematoriums are not subject to the

requirements of Rule .1207(3) of this Section.

(e) A person who treats Regulated medical waste

at the generating facility or within an integrated

medical facility is not subject to the storage and

record keeping requirements of Rule .1207(1) of

this Section.

(f) Generating facilities and integrated medical

facilities in operation on October 1, 1990 that

incinerate Regulated medical waste are not subject

to the requirements of Rule . 1207(3)(a-l) of this

Section until January 1, 1995.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 30A-309. 26.

.1207 OPERATIONAL REQ/REGULATED
MEDICAL WASTE TREATMENT
FACILITIES

A person who treats Regulated medical waste

shall meet the following requirements for each

type of treatment in addition to the requirements in

Rule .1203 of this Section.

(
I

) General requirements:

(a) Refrigeration at an ambient temperature

between 35 and 45 degrees Fahrenheit

shall be maintained for Regulated

medical waste not treated within seven

calendar days after shipment.

(b) Regulated medical waste shall be stored

prior to treatment for no more than

seven calendar days after receipt.

(c) Regulated medical waste shall be stored

no longer than seven calendar days

after treatment.

(d) Only authorized personnel shall have

access to areas used to store Regulated

medical waste.

(e) All areas used to store Regulated
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medical waste shall be kept clean.

Neither carpets nor floor coverings with

seams shall be used in storage areas.

Vermin and insects shall be controlled.

(f) Prior to treatment, all Regulated

medical waste shall be confined to the

storage area.

(g) All floor drains shall discharge directly

to an approved sanitary sewage system.

Ventilation shall be provided and shall

discharge so as not to create nuisance

odors.

(h) A plan shall be prepared, maintained

and updated as necessary to ensure

continued proper management of

Regulated medical waste at the facility,

(i) Records of Regulated medical waste

shall be maintained for each shipment

and shall include the information listed

in this Paragraph. This information

shall be maintained at the treatment

facility for no less than three years.

(i) name and address of generator;

(ii) date received:

(iii) amount of waste received by number

of packages (piece count) from each

generator;

(iv) date treated;

(v) name and address of ultimate disposal

facility,

(j) Regulated medical waste treatment

facilities that treat waste generated

off-site shall submit to the Division an

annual report, by March 1 of each year

that summarizes the information

collected under Subparagraph Sub-Item

(1) (i) of this Rule for the previous

calendar year. The report shall be

submitted on a form prescribed and

approved by the Division.

(2) Steam sterilization requirements;

(a) Steam under pressure shall be provided

to maintain a minimum temperature of

250 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes

at 15 pounds per square inch of gauge

pressure during each cycle: or other

combinations of parameters that are

shown to effectively treat the waste.

(b) The steam sterilization unit shall be

provided with a chart recorder which

accurately records time and temperature

of each cycle.

(c) The steam sterilization unit shall be

provided with a gauge which indicates

the pressure of each cycle.

fd) Monitoring under conditions of full

loading for effectiveness of treatment

shall be performed no less than once

per week through the use of biological

indicators or other methods approved

by the Division.

(e) Regulated medical waste may be

disposed of until or unless monitoring

as required in Subparagraph Sub-Item

(2)(d) of this Rule does not confirm

effectiveness.

(f) A log of each test of effectiveness of

treatment performed shall be maintained

and shall include the type of indicator

used, date, time, and result of test.

(3) Incineration requirements:

(a) Regulated medical waste shall be

subjected to a burn temperature in the

primary chamber of not less than 1200

degrees Fahrenheit.

(b) Automatic auxiliary burners which are

capable, excluding the heat content of

the wastes, of independently

maintaining the secondary chamber

temperature at the minimum of 1800

degrees Fahrenheit shall be provided.

Interlocks or other process control

devices shall be provided to prevent the

introduction of waste material to the

primary chamber until the secondary

chamber achieves operating

temperature.

(c) Gases generated by the combustion

shall be subjected to a minimum

temperature of 1 800 degrees Fahrenheit

for a period of not less than one

second.

(d) Continuous monitoring and recording of

primary and secondary chamber

temperatures shall be performed.

Monitoring data shall be maintained for

a period of three years.

(e) An Air Quality Permit shall be obtained

from the Division of Environmental

Management prior to construction and

operation.

(f) A plan of procedures for obtaining

representative weekly and monthly

composite ash samples shall be

submitted for Division approval prior to

system start-up and operation. If

design or operation of the system is

substantially changed or modified, or if

the waste composition, loading rate or

loading method are substantially
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changed, the ash sampling plan will be

subject to modification to accommodate

such changes. Ash sampling

procedures shall be initiated at the time

the incineration system is first started

for normal operation.

(g) As a minimum, a representative sample

of about one kilogram (2.2 lb) shall be

collected once for every eight hours of

operation of a continuously fed

incinerator; once for every 24 hours of

operation of an intermittently operated

incinerator; or once for every batch of

a batch loaded incinerator. The

samples shall be collected from either

the discharge of the ash conveyor or

from the ash collection containers prior

to disposal. Samples shall be

composited in a closed container

weekly and shall be thoroughly mixed

and reduced to a representative sample.

These shall be composited into monthly

samples. For the first three months of

operation, each monthly sample shall be

analyzed.

(h) For the remainder of the first year of

operation. representative monthly

samples shall be composited into a

quarterly sample and analyzed at the

end of each quarter.

(i) After the first year, representative

samples shall be analyzed at least twice

a year.

(j) Ash samples shall be tested in

accordance with provisions of 15A

NCAC 13B .0103(e) and submitted to

the N.C. Solid Waste Section.

(k) A log shall be kept documenting ash

sampling, which shall include the date

and time of each sample collected; the

date. time, and identification number of

each composite sample; and the results

of the analyses, including laboratory

identification.

(1) Records of stack testing as prescribed

in the Air Quality Permit shall be

maintained at the facility.

(m) Existing generating facilities shall

conduct one weekly representative ash

sampling and testing in accordance with

Subparagraphs Sub-Items (3)(f), (g) and

(j) of this Rule annually during the

second quarter of each calendar vear.

1 4) Chemical treatment requirements:

(a) Cultures of throat, urine, sputum, skin

and genitourinal tract which contain

only the following organisms; N.

gonorrhea, E. coli. staphylococcus,

proteus. Candida albicans, and B.

cereus or normal flora in individual

plates or tubes containing 5-20 ml

media shall be covered, for a minimum

of one hour, with a 1 :5 dilution of

household bleach (5.25 percent sodium

hypochlorite) in water. The solution

shall remain on the treated plates which

are to be stacked in a plastic bag prior

to disposal. The bag is to be sealed to

prevent leakage.

(b) Approval for other types of chemical

treatment must be obtained from the

Division. Request for appro val must be

substantiated by results of demonstrated

effectiveness of the chemical to treat the

specific microbiological agent(s) of

concern for the waste disposed.

Consideration must be given to such

factors as temperature, time of contact.

pH. concentration and the presence and

state of dispersion, penetrability and

reactivity of organic material at the site

of application.

(c) A written plan must be maintained at

the facility and units of the facility as

necessary to ensure consistent

procedures are used to treat the waste.

(5) Microwave treatment requirements:

(a) Microwave energy of appropriate

output frequency shall be provided such

that a minimum temperature of 95

degrees Centigrade (203 degrees

Fahrenheit) is maintained for a

minimum of 30 minutes each cycle; or

other combinations of parameters that

are shown to effectively treat the waste.

(b) The microwave system shall be

provided with a means to continually

monitor and record time and

temperature of each cycle.

(c) Monitoring under conditions of full

loading for effectiveness of treatment

shall be performed through the use of a

biological indicator or other methods

approved by the Division. Testing shall

be performed no less than once per

week or as specified by the Division.

Additional testing shall be performed if

temperature time monitoring indicates a

variation from requirements in Sub-Item

(5)(a) of this Rule.
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(d) A log, of each test of effectiveness of

treatment performed shall be maintained

and shall include the type of indicator

used, date, time, and result of test.

(e) Regulated medical waste may be

disposed of until or unless monitoring

as required in Sub-Item (5)(c) of this

Rule does not confirm effectiveness.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 130A-309.26.

I\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2that the EHNR - Commission for Health

Services intends to adopt rule cited as 15A NCAC
18A .1969 and amend rules cited as 15A NCAC
ISA .1948. .1956- .1957.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20. 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing, First Floor Auditorium. 1 South Wilmington

Street. Raleigh, North Carolina.

Lveason for Proposed Actions:

15A NCAC 18A .1948 - To provide clarifications

related to the reclassification of sites for the use of

conventional, modified, or alternative ground

absorption sewage treatment and disposal systems

specified in the rules. This Paragraph is being

moved from Rule . 1957(c) since it deals with sites

not alternative systems.

I5A NCAC 18A .1956 - To provide correct rule

reference in light of moving Rule . 1957(c) to

. 1948(d). To provide for the approval of experi-

mental or innovative nitrification trenches or lines

under the provisions of Rule . 1969.

15A NCAC 18A .1957 - To provide correct rule

reference in light of moving Rule .1957(c) to

.1948(c). To move Paragraph (c) to Rule .1948

for consistency of rule structure and clarity.

15A NCAC 18A .1969 - To meet the requirements

of G.S. 130A-343 requiring the establishment of a

uniform and systematic procedure for the applica-

tion, review, permitting, testing, and approval of

experimental and innovative wastewater systems.

Lsomment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley, Department of Justice, P. O. Box 629,

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629, (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Only persons who
have made comments at a public hearing or who

have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

changes from staff pursuant to comments made

during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL INTERESTED
AND POTENTIALLYAFFECTED PERSONS, GROUPS,
BUSINESSES, ASSOCIATIONS, INSTITUTIONS, OR
AGENCIES MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS
KNOWN TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH
SERVICES THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS, WHETHER THEY SUPPORT
OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL PROVISIONS OF THE
PROPOSED RULES. THE COMMISSION MA Y MAKE
CHANGES TO THE RULES AT THE COMMISSION
MEETING IF THE CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S.

150B-2 1.2(f).

CHAPTER 18

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION

SECTION .1900 - SEWAGE TREATMENT
AND DISPOSAL SYSTEMS

.1948 SITE CLASSIFICATION
(a) Sites classified as SUITABLE may be

utilized for a ground absorption sewage treatment

and disposal system consistent with these Rules.

A suitable classification generally indicates soil

and site conditions favorable for the operation of

a ground absoiption sewage treatment and disposal

system or have slight limitations that are readily

overcome by proper design and installation.

(b) Sites classified as PROVISIONALLY
SUITABLE may be utilized for a ground

absorption sewage treatment and disposal system

consistent with these Rules but have moderate
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limitations. Sites classified Provisionally Suitable

require some modifications and careful planning,

design, and installation in order for a ground

absorption sewage treatment and disposal system to

function satisfactorily.

(c) Sites classified UNSUITABLE have severe

limitations for the installation and use of a

properly functioning ground absorption sewage

treatment and disposal system. An improvement

permit shall not be issued for a site which is

classified as UNSUITABLE. However, where a

site is UNSUITABLE, it may be reclassified

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE if a special

investigation indicates that a modified or

alternative system can be installed in accordance

with Rules .1956 or .1957 of this Section.

(d) A site classified as UNSUITABLE may be

used for a ground absorption sewage treatment and

disposal system specifically identified in Rules

. 1955, .1956, or .1957 of this Section or a system

approved under Rule . 1969 if written

documentation. including engineering,

hydrogeologic, geologic or soil studies, indicates

to the local health department that the proposed

system can reasonably be expected to function

satisfactorily. Such sites shall be reclassified as

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE if the local health

department determines that the adequate

substantiating data indicate that:

( 1

)

a ground absorption system can be

installed so that the effluent will receive

adequate treatment;

(2) the effluent will not contaminate

groundwater or surface water; and

(3) the effluent will not be exposed on the

ground surface or be discharged to

surface waters where it could come in

contact with people, animals, or

vectors.

The State shall review the substantiating data if

requested by the local health department.

Statutory- Authority G. S. 130A-335fc).

.1956 MODIFICATIONS TO SEPTIC TANK SYSTEMS
The following are modifications to septic tank systems which may be utilized to overcome selected soil and

site limitations. Except as required in this Rule, the provisions for design and installation of Rule . 1955 of

this Section shall apply:

( 1 ) Sites classified UNSUITABLE as to soil depth or soil wetness may be reclassified as

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE with respect to soil depth or soil wetness conditions by utilizing

shallow placement of nitrification trenches in the naturally occurring soil. Shallow trenches may be

used where at least 24 inches of naturally occurring soil are present above saprolite, rock, or soil

wetness conditions and all other factors are PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE or SUITABLE. Shallow

trenches shall be designed and constructed to meet the vertical separation requirements in Rule
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. 1955(m) of this Section . The long-term acceptance rate shall be based on the most hydraulically

limiting naturally occurring soil horizon within 24 inches of the ground surface or to a depth of one

foot below the trench bottom, whichever is deeper. Soil cover above the original grade shall be

placed at a uniform depth over the entire nitrification field and shall extend laterally five feet beyond

the nitrification trench. The soil cover shall be placed over a nitrification field only after proper

preparation of the original ground surface. The type and placement of soil cover shall be approved

by the local health department.

(2) Sites classified UNSUITABLE as to soil wetness conditions or restrictive horizons may be

reclassified PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE as to soil wetness conditions or restrictive horizons

when:

(a) Soils are Soil Groups I or II with SUITABLE structure, and clay mineralogy;

(b) Restrictive horizons, if present, are less than three inches thick or less than 12 inches from the soil

surface;

(c) Modifications can be made to meet the requirements in Rule .1955(m) of this Section for the

separation between the water table and the bottom of the nitrification trench at all times and when

provisions are made for maintenance of the drainage systems;

(d) Easements are recorded and have adequate width for egress and ingress for maintenance of

drainage systems serving two or more lots;

(e) Maintenance of the drainage system is made a condition of any permit issued for the use or

operation of a sanitary sewage system; and

(f) Drainage may be used in other types of soil when the requirements of Rule . 1957(c) . 1948(d) in

this Section are met.

(3) Modified nitrification trenches or lines, including large diameter pipe (greater than four inches I.D.),

and specially designed porous block systems may be permitted by the local health department.

(a) Gravelless nitrification trench systems may be substituted for conventional trench systems on any

site found to be suitable or provisionally suitable in accordance with Rules . 1940 to . 1948 of this

Section to eliminate the need for gravel, minimize site disturbance, or for other site planning

considerations. Gravelless nitrification trench systems shall not be used, however, where wastes

contain high amounts of grease and oil, such as restaurants.

(i) Large diameter pipe systems shall consist of eight-inch or ten-inch (inside diameter), corrugated.

polyethylene tubing encased in a nylon, polyester, or nylon/polyester blend filter wrap installed

in a nitrification trench, 12 or more inches wide and backfilled with soil classified as soil group

I, II, or III. Nitrification area requirement shall be determined in accordance with Rules . 1955(b)

and .1955(c), or in Rule . 1956(6)(b). Table III of this Section, when applicable, with eight-inch

tubing considered equivalent to a two-foot-wide conventional trench and ten-inch tubing

considered equivalent to a two and one-half-foot-wide conventional trench. The long-term

acceptance rate shall not exceed 0.8 gallons per day per square foot. Tubing and fittings shall

comply with the requirements of ASTM F-667. which has been adopted by reference in

accordance with G.S.—I50B 1 4(c). which is hereby incorporated by reference including any

subsequent amendments and editions . Copies of the standards may be inspected in and copies

obtained from the Division of Environmental Health, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh. NC 2761 1-7687

at no cost . The corrugated tubing shall have two rows of holes, each hole between three-eighths

and one-half-inch in diameter, located 120 degrees apart along the bottom half of the pipe (each

60 degrees from the bottom center line) and staggered so that one hole is present in the valley

of each corrugation. The tubing shall be marked with a visible top location indicator. 120

degrees away from each row of holes.

Filter wrap shall be spun, bonded, or spunlaced nylon, polyester, or nylon/polyester blend nylon

filter wrap meeting the following minimum requirements;

Unit Weight :Oz/yd 2 = 1.0

Sheet Grab Tensile:MD - 23 lbs.

Trapezoid Tear:MG MP - 6.2 lbs.
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XD - 5.1 lbs.

Mullen Burst:PSI = 40

KPa = 276

Frazier Air Perm. CFM/ft @ 0.5 "H
:
0: 500^

Corrugated Tubing shall be covered with filter wrap at the factor)' and each joint shall be

immediately encased in a black polyethylene sleeve which shall continue to encase the large

diameter pipe and wrap until just prior to installation in the trench. Large diameter pipe systems

shall be installed in accordance with this Rule and the manufacturer's guidelines. The trench

bottom and pipe shall be level (with a maximum fall of one inch in 100 feet). Filter wrap

encasing the tubing shall not be exposed to sunlight (ultraviolet radiation) for extended periods.

Rocks and large soil clumps shall be removed from backfill material prior to being used. Clayey

soils (soil group IV) shall not be used for backfill. The near end of the large diameter pipe shall

have an eight-inch by four-inch offset adaptor (small end opening at top) suitable for receiving

the pipe from the septic tank or distribution device and making a mechanical joint in the

nitrification trench,

(ii) A Prefabricated. Permeable Block Panel System (PPBPS). utilizing both horizontal and vertical

air chambers and special construction to promote downline and horizontal distribution of effluent,

may be used under the following conditions:

(A) the soil and site criteria of this Section shall be met;

(B) in calculating the required linear footage for a PPBPS's nitrification field, the linear footage

for the nitrification line as determined in Rule .1955 (b) and (c). or in Rule .1956 (6)(b).

Table III of this Section when applicable, shall be multiplied by 0.5 for a 16 inch PPBPS;

(C) installation of the PPBPS shall be in accordance with these Rules except:

(I) the PPBPS trench shall be located not less than eight feet on centers:

(II) the installation shall be in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications; and

(III) the sidewalls of nitrification trenches placed in Group IVa soils shall be raked to open

pores which were damaged or sealed during excavation;

(D) where design sewage flow is more than 480 gallons per day. the system shall be

pressure-dosed; and

(E) the long-term acceptance rate shall not exceed 0.8 gallons per day per square foot.

(b) Other types of nitrification trenches or lines may be approved by the local health department on

a site-specific basis provided s ub s tantiating data in accordance with Rule . 1957(c) . 1969 of this

Section, arc submitted which indicate that the propoi -ed nitrification trench or line will perform

equal to or better than a conventional trench or line.

(4) Sites classified as UNSUITABLE as to soil wetness conditions because of the presence of lateral

water movement may be reclassified PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE as to soil wetness conditions

when such water is intercepted and diverted to prevent saturation of the soil absorption system.

(5) Stable slopes greater than 30 percent may be reclassified as PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE when:

(a) The soil characteristics can be classified as SUITABLE or PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE to a

depth of at least one foot below the bottom of the nitrification trench at the upslope side of the

trench:

(b) Surface water runoff is diverted around the nitrification field if necessary to prevent scouring or

erosion of the soil over the field; and

(c) The finished grade over the nitrification field site is returned to the original topography and

adequately seeded, unless otherwise specified by the local health department.

(6) Sites classified UNSUITABLE as to soil depth, with saprolite present, may be reclassified

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE as to soil depth when the provisions of this Paragraph are met.

(a) An investigation of the site using pits or trenches at locations and to depths specified by the local

health department shall be conducted. The following physical properties and characteristics must

be present:

ii) the saprolite shall be weathered from acidic i granite, gneiss, or schist) parent rock types of
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metamorphic or igneous origin;

(ii) the saprolite texture shall be suitable and saprolite shall have less than 20 percent clay;

(iii) clay mineralogy shall be suitable;

(iv) the saprolite consistence shall be loose, friable to very friable when moist as determined in place

and nonsticky or nonplastic when wet;

(v) the saprolite shall be overlain by at least one foot of SUITABLE or PROVISIONALLY
SUITABLE naturally occurring soil; and

(vi) the saprolite shall have no continuous joints or fractures relic of parent rock to a depth of two feet

below the proposed trench bottom.

(b) Table III shall be used in determining the long-term acceptance rate for septic tank systems installed

pursuant to Paragraph (6) of this Rule. The long-term acceptance rate shall be based on the most

hydraulically limiting, naturally occurring saprolite to a depth of two feet below trench bottom.

TABLE III

SAPROLITE SAPROLITE LONG-TERM
GROUP TEXTURAL CLASSES ACCEPTANCE RATE

gpd/ft
2

I Sands Sand 0.6 - 0.5

Loamy Sand 0.5-0.4

II Coarse Loams Sandy Loam 0.4 - 0.3

(with lessLoam 0.3 - 0.1

than 20% clay)

If a low pressure pipe system is used, the long term acceptance rate in Table III shall be reduced

by one-half and the system shall be designed in accordance with Rule .1957(a) of this Section,

except that Rule .1957 (a)(2)(B) and Rule .1957(a)(3) shall not apply. Saprolite textural

classifications shall be determined from disturbed materials and determined by Rule . 1941(a)(1) of

this Section . The local health department may require low-pressure distribution in conventional

nitrification trenches, or other modifications available under this Rule, to insure adequate effluent

treatment and disposal.

(c) Only ground absorption systems with a design daily flow of 480 gallons or less shall be installed

on sites reclassified pursuant to this Paragraph [Rule .1956(6)].

(d) The nitrification field shall be constructed using nitrification trenches with a maximum width of

three feet and a maximum depth of two feet on the downslope side of the nitrification trench. The

bottom of a nitrification trench shall be a minimum of two feet above rock or saprolite that does

not meet the requirements of Subparagraph (6)(a) of this Rule. However, where SUITABLE or

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE soil underlies the trench bottom, this separation distance may be

reduced by subtracting the actual soil depth beneath the trench bottom from 24 inches to establish

the minimum separation distance from the trench bottom to rock.

(e) The bottom of any nitrification trench shall be a minimum of two feet above any wetness condition.

(f) Surface and subsurface interceptor drains may be required.

(g) Exceptions to the provisions of Rule . 1950(a) found in Rule . 1950 and .1951 of this Section shall

not apply to systems installed pursuant to this Paragraph [Rule .1956(6)].

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f).

.1957 DESIGN CRITERIA FOR DESIGN OF ALTERNATIVE SEWAGE SYSTEMS
(a) LOW-PRESSURE PIPE SYSTEMS: Low-pressure pipe (LPP) systems with a two to five-foot pressure

head may be utilized on sites which are SUITABLE or PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE for conventional or

modified systems and on sites where soil and site conditions prohibit the installation of a conventional or

modified septic tank system if the requirements of this Paragraph are met.

(1) The LPP system shall consist of the following basic components:

(A) a network of small-diameter (one to two inches) perforated PVC 160 psi pipe or equivalent placed
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in naturally occurring soil at shallow depths (generally 12 to 18 inches) in narrow trenches not

less than eight inches in width and spaced not less than five feet on center. Trenches shall

include at least five inches of washed stone or washed gravel below the pipe and two inches

above the pipe; and four inches of soil cover.

(B) a properly designed, two-compartment septic tank or other approved pretreatment system, and

a pumping or dosing tank;

(C) a watertight supply manifold pipe, of Schedule 40 PVC or equivalent, for conveying effluent from

the dosing chamber to the low-pressure network.

(2) The soil and site criteria for LPP systems shall meet the following minimum requirements:

(A) LPP nitrification fields shall not be installed on slopes in excess often percent unless special

design procedures to assure proper distribution of effluent over the nitrification field are

approved. Landscaping of the LPP distribution field shall be constructed to shed rainwater or

runoff. All other requirements of Rule .1940 of this Section shall be met.

(B) Site suitability for an LPP system shall be based on the first 24 inches of soil beneath the

naturally occurring soil surface. This 24 inches shall consist of SUITABLE or

PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE soil as determined in accordance with Rules .1941 through .1944

and . 1956 of this Section.

(C) Location of the septic tank, other approved pretreatment unit, pumping or dosing chamber, and

nitrification field shall be in accordance with Rule .1950 of this Section. Horizontal distances

from the nitrification field shall be measured from a margin two and one-half feet beyond the

lateral and manifold pipes.

(D) There shall be no soil disturbance of the site or repair area for an LPP system except the

minimum required for installation.

(E) The available space requirements of Rule .1945 of this Section shall apply.

(3) Table IV shall be used in determining the long-term acceptance rate for LPP systems. The

long-term acceptance rate shall be based on the most hydraulically limiting, naturally occurring soil

horizon within two feet of the ground surface or to a depth of one foot below the trench bottom,

whichever is deeper.

TABLE IV

SOIL GROUP SOIL TEXTURAL CLASSES
(USDA CLASSIFICATION)

Sands

(With S or

PS structure

and clay

mineralogy)

Sand

Loamy Sand

LONG-TERM
ACCEPTANCE RATE

gpd/ft
2

0.6 - 0.4

II Coarse Loams

(With S or

PS structure

and clay

mineralogy)

Sandy Loam

Loam

0.4 - 0.3

III Fine Loams

(With S or

PS structure

and clay

mineralogy)

Sandy Clay

Loam

Silt Loam
Clay Loam
Silty Clay

Loam
Silt

0.3 - 0.15
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IV Clays (With Sandy Clay 0.2 - 0.05

S or PS Silty Clay

structure Clay

and clay

mineralogy)

The long-term acceptance rate shall not exceed the mean rate for the applicable soil group for food

service facilities, meat markets, and other places of business where accumulation of grease can

cause premature failure of a soil absorption system. Long-term acceptance rates up to the

maximum for the applicable soil group may be permitted for facilities where data from comparable

facilities indicates that the grease and oil content of the effluent will be less than 30 mg/1 and the

chemical oxygen demand (COD) will be less than 500 mg/1.

(4) In calculating the number of square feet for the nitrification field, the design sewage flow shall be

divided by the long-term acceptance rate from Table IV. In calculating the minimum length of

trenches in the LPP system, the total square footage of the nitrification field shall be divided by

five feet.

(5) Low-pressure systems shall be designed for uniform distribution of effluent. The trenches shall

be level and parallel to the ground elevation contours.

(A) The maximum lateral length shall yield no more than a ten-percent difference in discharge rate

between the first and last hole along the lateral.

(B) Minimum hole size shall be 5/32-inch for at least two-thirds of the field lateral lines. Smaller

holes (no less than 1/8-inch) may be used in no more than one-third of the lateral lines where

necessary to balance flow distribution on sloping sites. However, for systems serving restaurants,

foodstands, meat markets and other establishments where effluent is expected to have a high

clogging potential, the minimum hole size shall be 5/32-inch.

(C) Maximum hole spacing shall be as follows: Soil Group I, five feet; Soil Group II, six feet; Soil

Group III, eight feet; and Soil Group IV, ten feet.

(D) The following design provisions are required for sloping sites:

(i) Separately valved manifolds are required for all subfield segments where the elevation

difference between the highest and lowest laterals exceeds three feet.

(ii) The hole spacing, hole size or both shall be adjusted to compensate for relative head

differences between laterals branching off a common supply manifold and to compensate for

the bottom lines receiving more effluent at the beginning and end of a dosing cycle. The

lateral network shall be designed to achieve a ten to 30 percent higher steady state (pipe full)

flow rate into the upper lines, relative to the lower lines, depending on the amount of

elevation difference.

(iii) Maximum elevation difference between the highest and lowest laterals in a field shall not

exceed ten feet unless the flow is hydraulically split between subfield segments without

requiring simultaneous adjustment of multiple valves.

(E) Turn-ups shall be provided at the ends of each lateral, constructed of Schedule 40 PVC pipe or

equivalent, and protected with sleeves of larger diameter pipe (six inches or greater). Turn-ups

and sleeves shall be cut off and capped at or above the ground surface, designed to be protected

from damage, and easily accessible.

(F) The supply manifold shall be sized large enough relative to the size and number of laterals served

so that friction losses and differential entry losses along the manifold do not result in more than

a 15 percent variation in discharge rate between the first and last laterals.

(i) The ratio of the supply manifold inside cross sectional area to the sum of the inside cross

sectional areas of the laterals served shall exceed 0.7:1.

(ii) The reduction between the manifold and connecting laterals shall be made directly off the

manifold using reducing tees.

(iii) cleanouts to the ground surface shall be installed at the ends of the supply manifold.

(G) Gate valves shall be provided for pressure adjustment at the fields whenever the supply line

exceeds 100 feet in length. Valves shall be readily accessible from the ground surface and

adequately protected in valve boxes.

(6) Septic tanks, pump tanks, pump dosing systems, siphons, and siphon dosing tanks shall be provided
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in accordance with Rule .1952 of this Section.

(A) Design flow rate shall be based upon delivering two feet to five feet of static pressure head at the

distal end of all lateral lines.

(B) Dose volume shall be between five and ten times the liquid capacity of the lateral pipe dosed, plus

the liquid capacity of the portions of manifold and supply lines which drain between doses.

(b) FILL SYSTEM: A fill system (including new and existing fill) is a system in which all or part of the

nitrification trench(es) is installed in fill material. A fill system, including an existing fill site, may be

approved where soil and site conditions prohibit the installation of a conventional or modified septic tank

system if the requirements of this Paragraph are met.

(1) Fill systems may be installed on sites where at least the first 18 inches below the naturally

occurring soil surface consists of soil that is suitable or provisionally suitable with respect to soil

structure and clay mineralogy, and where organic soils, restrictive horizons, saprolite or rock are

not encountered. Further, no soil wetness condition shall exist within the first 12 inches below the

naturally occurring soil surface and a groundwater lowering system shall not be used to meet this

requirement. Fill systems shall not be utilized on designated wetlands unless the proposed use is

specifically approved in writing by the designating agency. The following requirements shall also

be met:

(A) Nitrification trenches shall be installed with at least 24 inches separating the trench bottom and

any soil horizon unsuitable as to soil structure, clay mineralogy, organic soil, rock or saprolite.

However, if a low pressure pipe system is used, the minimum separation distance shall be 18

inches.

(B) Nitrification trenches shall be installed with at least 18 inches separating the trench bottom and

any soil wetness condition. This separation requirement for soil wetness conditions may be met

with the use of a groundwater lowering system only in Soil Groups I and II, with suitable

structure and clay mineralogy. However, if a low pressure pipe system is used, the minimum

separation distance shall be 12 inches.

(C) Systems shall be installed only on sites with uniform slopes less than 15 percent. Storm water

diversions and subsurface interceptor drains or swales may be required upslope of the system.

(D) The long-term acceptance rate shall be based on the most hydraulically limiting soil horizon

within 18 inches of the naturally occurring soil surface or to a depth one foot below the trench

bottom, whichever is deeper. The lowest long-term acceptance rate for the applicable soil group

shall be used for systems installed pursuant to this Rule. However, the long-term acceptance rate

shall not exceed 1 .0 gallons per day per square foot for gravity distribution or 0.5 gallons per day

per square foot for low-pressure pipe systems installed on sites with at least 18 inches of Group

I soils below the naturally occurring soil surface or to a depth of one foot below the trench

bottom, whichever is deeper.

(E) If the fill system uses low-pressure pipe distribution, all the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule, except Paragraph (a)(2)(B). shall apply. Systems with a design daily flow greater than 480

gallons per day shall use low-pressure pipe distribution.

(F) Fill material shall have such soil texture to be classified as sand or loamy sand (Soil Group I) up

to the top of the nitrification trenches. The final six inches of fill used to cover the system shall

have a finer texture (such as Group II. Ill) for the establishment of a vegetative cover. Existing

fill material shall have no more than ten percent by volume of fibrous organics, building rubble,

or other debris and shall not have discreet layers containing greater than 35 percent of shell

fragments.

(G) Where fill material is added, the fill material and the existing soil shall be mixed to a depth of

six inches below the interface. Heavy vegetative cover or organic litter shall be removed before

the additional fill material is incorporated.

(H) The fill system shall be constructed as an elongated berm with the long axis parallel to the ground

elevation contours of the slope.

(I) The side slope of the fill shall not exceed a rise to run ratio of 1:4. However, if the first 18

inches below the naturally occurring soil surface is Group I soil, the side slope of the fill shall

not exceed a rise to run ratio of 1:3.

(J) The outside edge of the nitrification trench shall be located at least five feet horizontally from the

top of the side slope.
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(K) The fill system shall be shaped to shed surface water and shall be stabilized with a vegetative

cover against erosion.

(L) The setback requirements shall be measured from the projected toe of the slope. However, if this

setback cannot be met. the setback requirements shall be measured from a point five feet from

the nearest edge of the nitrification trench if the following conditions are met:

(i) Slope of the site shall not exceed two percent;

(ii) The first 18 inches of soil beneath the naturally occurring soil surface shall consist of Group

I soils;

(iii) The lot or tract of land was recorded on or before December 31, 1989; and

(iv) A condition is placed upon the Improvement Permit to require connection to a public or

community sewage system within 90 days after such system is available for connection and

after it is determined that 300 feet or less of sewer line is required for connection.

(M) The available space requirements of Rule .1945 of this Section shall apply.

(2) An existing fill site that does not meet the requirements of Paragraph (b)(1) of this Rule may be

utilized for a sanitary sewage system if the following requirements are met:

(A) Substantiating data are provided by the lot owner (if not readily available to the local health

department) indicating that the fill material was placed on the site prior to July 1. 1977.

(B) The fill material placed on the site prior to July 1, 1977 shall have such soil texture to be

classified as sand or loamy sand (Group I) for a depth of at least 24 inches below the existing

ground surface. This fill material shall have no more than ten percent by volume of fibrous

organics. building rubble, or other debris. This fill shall not have discreet layers containing

greater than 35 percent of shell fragments. However, if at least 24 inches of Group I fill material

was in place prior to July 1. 1977. additional fill with soil texture classified as Group I may be

added to meet the separation requirements of Paragraph (b)(2)(D) of this Rule.

(C) Soil wetness conditions, as determined by Rule . 1942(a) in this Section, are 18 inches or greater

below the ground surface of the fill placed on the lot prior to July 1. 1977. This requirement

shall be met without the use of a groundwater lowering system.

(D) Low-pressure pipe distribution shall be used and shall meet all the requirements of Paragraph (a)

of this Rule, except (a)(2)(B). The long-term acceptance rate shall not exceed 0.5 gallons per day

per square foot. However, for existing fill sites with 48 inches of Group I soils, conventional

nitrification trenches utilizing a maximum long-term acceptance rate of 1 .0 gallons per day per

square foot may be installed in lieu of low-pressure pipe systems. The minimum separation

distance between the trench bottom and any soil wetness condition or any soil horizon unsuitable

as to soil structure, clay mineralogy, organic soil. rock, or saprolite shall be 24 inches for low

pressure pipe systems and 48 inches for conventional systems. This separation requirement may

be met by adding additional Group I soil, but shall not be met with the use of a groundwater

lowering system. Where fill is to be added, the requirements of Paragraphs (b)(1)(C). (F). (G).

(H), (J). (K). of this Rule and the following requirements shall be met:

(i) The side slope of the fill shall not exceed a side slope ratio of 1:3. and;

(ii) The setback requirements shall be measured from the projected toe of the slope. However,

if this setback cannot be met, the setback requirements shall be measured from a point five

feet from the nearest edge of the nitrification trench if the following conditions are met:

(I) Slope of the site shall not exceed two percent;

(II) The lot or tract of land was recorded on or before December 31, 1989: and

(III) A condition is placed upon the Improvement Permit to require connection to a public or

community sewage system within 90 days after such system is available for connection and

after it is determined that 300 feet or less of sewer line is required for connection.

(E) The available space requirements of Rule .1945 of this Section shall apply.

(F) The design flow shall not exceed 480 gallons per day.

( 3 ) Other fill systems may be installed in fill approved by the local health department on a site-specific

basis if the requirements of Paragraph (e) of this Rule nre mot m accordance with Rule . 1948(d)

of this Section .

fe-)

—

A site class ified as UNSUITABLE which cannot he approved for a sy stem in accordance with Rule

.1056, and Paragraphs (a) or (b) of thi s Rule may be used for a ground absorption sewage treatment and

disposa l sy stem if written documentation, including engineering, hvdrogeologic. geologic, or soil stud i e s .
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indicate s to the local health department that the proposed system can reasonably be expected to function

satisfactorily. Such s ite s s hall bo reclassified as PROVISIONALLY SUITABLE if the local health department

determines that the adequate sub stantiating data indicate s that:

f+-) a ground absorption system can be in s talled so that the effluent will rece ive adequate treatment;

f3-) the effluent will not contaminate ground water or surface water; and

f^-) the effluent will not be exposed on the ground surface or be discharged to surface waters where

it could come in contact with people, animal s , or vectors .

The State shall review the substantiating data if requested by the local health department.

fd-) icjlndividual aerobic sewage treatment units (ATI's) shall be sited, designed, constructed and operated

in accordance with this Rule to serve a design unit with a design flow rate of up to 1500 gallons per day, as

determined in Rule .1949(a) or .1949(b) of this Section. ATUs shall not be used, however, where wastes

contain high amounts of grease and oil, including restaurants and food service facilities. The strength of the

influent wastewater shall be similar to domestic sewage with Biological Oxygen Demand (BOD) and suspended

solids not to exceed 300 parts per million. ATUs shall comply with the requirements of the National

Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Standard 40 for Individual Aerobic Wastewater Treatment Plants and shall be

classified as meeting Class I effluent quality. NSF Standard 40 for Individual Aerobic Wastewater Treatment

Plants i- hereb\ m-)'*^^) by rc l c r c nc c in accordanc e v. i ih (i.S. 150B 1
4i c i

. i ncorporated b\ reference including

any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the standards may be inspected in and copies obtained

from the Division of Environmental Health, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7687 at no cost. ATUs
shall bear the NSF mark and the NSF listed model number or shall bear the certification mark and listed

model number of a third party certification program accredited by the American National Standards Institute

(ANSI), pursuant to ANSI Policy and Procedures for Accreditation of Certification Programs to certify ATUs
in accordance with NSF Standard Number 40. The ANSI Policy and Procedures for Accreditation of

Certification Programs is hereby adopted incorporated by reference in accordance with G.S. 150B 1 4 (c) by

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the standard may be inspected in and

copies obtained from the Division of Environmental Health, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh, N.C. 2761 1-7687 at

no cost. ATUs shall only be permitted where the unit is to be operated and maintained by a certified

wastewater treatment facility operator employed by or under contract to the county in which the unit is

located, and in accordance with this Rule.

( 1 ) ATUs shall be constructed and installed in accordance with the plans which have been approved

by the Division of Environmental Health and shall comply with all requirements of this Rule.

Procedures for plan review and approval shall be in accordance with Rule .1953 of this Section.

(2) The rated capacity of ATUs listed as complying with NSF Standard 40 shall not be less than the

design daily flow as determined by Rule .1949(a) or .1949(b) of this Section.

(3) The following are minimum standards of design and construction of ATUs:

(A) Blockouts in concrete ATU inlet openings shall leave a concrete thickness not less than one inch

in the plant wall. Inlet and outlet blockouts shall be made for a minimum of four inch pipe and

a maximum of six inch pipe. No blockouts or openings shall be permitted below the liquid level

of the ATU.
(B) The inlet into the ATU shall be a straight pipe.

(C) The invert of the outlet shall be at least two inches lower in elevation than the invert of the inlet.

(D) Interior baffle walls in concrete units shall be reinforced by the placing of six-inch by six-inch

No. 10 gauge welded reinforcing wire. The reinforcing wire shall be bent to form an angle of

90 degrees on the ends in order to form a leg not less than four inches long. When the wire is

placed in the mold, the four inch legs shall lay parallel with the side wall wire and adjacent to

it.

(E) Access openings shall be provided in the ATU top. Access shall be provided for cleaning or

rodding out the inlet pipe, for cleaning or clearing air or gas passage spaces, as an entrance for

inserting the suction hose in compartments that are required to be pumped out, to allow for

sampling the effluent, and for access to repair or maintain any system components requiring

repair and maintenance. All access openings shall have risers sealed to the top of the ATU and

extended at least to six inches above finished grade and designed and maintained to prevent

surface water inflow. Rule .1950(i) of this Section shall also be met.

(F) Concrete ATUs shall be constructed in accordance with Rule . 1954(a)(9), ( 10), (11) and ( 12) and

.1954(b)(4) of this Section.
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(G) Fiberglass reinforced plastic ATUs shall be constructed with materials capable of resisting

corrosion from sewage and sewage gases, and the active and passive loads on the unit walls,

(i) ATUs shall have the following minimum physical properties:

Ultimate tensile strength: 12.000 psi

Flexural strength: 19. OCX) psi

Flexural modulus of elasticity: 800.000 psi

(ii) A vacuum test shall be performed on at least one ATU of each model number by an

independent testing laboratory, in accordance with ASTM D-4021, Standard Specification for

Glass-Fiber Reinforced Polyester Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks, which is hereby

adopted incorporated by reference in accordance with G.S.—150B 1 4 (c) including any

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the standards may be inspected in and copies

obtained from the Division of Environmental Health. P.O. Box 27687. Raleigh. N.C. 2761 1-

7687 at no cost . Unit must withstand negative pressure of 2.5 pounds per square inch (69.3

inches of water) without leakage or failure. Test results shall be included with the

specifications that are provided to the state for approval.

(iii) Composition of the finished unit shall be at least 30 percent fiberglass reinforcement by

weight. Minimum wall thickness shall be one-fourth inch. However, a wall thickness of not

less than three-sixteenth inch may be allowed in small, isolated areas of the ATU.
(iv) Interior and exterior surfaces shall have no exposed fibers or projections, no blisters larger

than one-fourth inch in diameter, and no pores or indentations deeper than one-sixteenth inch.

The tank shall be watertight.

(H) Prefabricated ATUs other than precast reinforced concrete or fiberglass reinforced plastic units

shall be approved on an individual basis based on information furnished by the designer which

indicates the unit will provide effectiveness equivalent to reinforced concrete or fiberglass

reinforced plastic units.

(I) ATUs shall bear an imprint identifying the manufacturer, serial number assigned to the

manufacturer's plans and specifications approved by the Division of Environmental Health, and

the liquid or working capacity of the unit. The imprint shall be located to the right of the

blockout or opening made for the outlet pipe on the outside of the unit. ATUs shall also be

permanently marked with the date of manufacture adjacent to the unit imprint or on the top of

the unit directly above the imprint.

(J) The design, construction, and operation of ATUs shall prevent bypass of wastewater.

(K) Electrical circuits to the ATU shall be provided with manual circuit disconnects within a

watertight, corrosion-resistant, outside enclosure (NEMA 4X or equivalent) adjacent to the ATU
securely mounted at least 12 inches above the finished grade. Control panels provided by the

manufacturer shall be installed in a watertight, corrosion-resistant enclosure (NEMA 4X or

equivalent) adjacent to the unit or on the side of the facility readily visible from the unit and

accessible by maintenance personnel. Conductors shall be conveyed to the disconnect enclosure

and control panel through waterproof, gasproof, and corrosion-resistant conduits. Splices and

wire junctions, if needed, shall be made outside the ATU in a watertight, corrosion-resistant

enclosure (NEMA 4X or equivalent) securely mounted adjacent to the unit at least 12 inches

above the finished grade. Wire grips, duct seal, or other suitable material shall be used to seal

around wire and wire conduit openings inside the ATU and disconnect enclosure. The ATU shall

have an alarm device or devices to warn the user or operator of a unit malfunction or a high

water condition. The alarm shall be audible and visible by system users and securely mounted

adjacent to the ATU, on the side of the facility in clear view of the unit, or inside the finished

occupied space of the facility. If mounted outside, the alarm shall meet NEMA 4X standards or

equivalent. The alarm circuit or circuits shall be supplied ahead of any ATU electrical control

circuit overload and short circuit protective devices.

(4) A settling tank shall be required prior to an ATU serving a design unit with a design daily flow

greater than 500 gallons, as determined in Rule .1949(a) or .1949(b) of this Section. The liquid

capacity of the settling tank shall be at least equal to the design daily flow as determined in Rule
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.1949(a) or (b) of this Section. The settling tank may either be an approved prefabricated septic

tank or another tank specially designed for a specific individual aerobic sewage treatment plant and

approved by the Division of Environmental Health as a part of the plans for the plant.

(5) Ground absorption systems receiving effluent from approved ATUs may be used on sites classified

as suitable or provisionally suitable for conventional, modified, or alternative systems in accordance

with this Section. The following modifications to siting and design criteria shall be acceptable:

(A) The minimum horizontal setback requirements of Rule .1950(a) of this Section shall be met.

except as follows:

(i) Any private water supply source, except any uncased well or spring 50 feet,

(ii) Streams classified as WS-I 70 feet,

(iii) Waters classified as SA 70 fe«t.

(iv) Other coastal waters not classified as SA 35 feet.

(v) Any other stream, canal, marsh, or other surface waters 35 feet,

(vi) Any Class I or Class II reservoir 70 feet.

from normal

pool elevation.

(vii) any permanent storm water retention pond. 35 feet.

from flood

pool elevation.

(viii) Any other lake or pond 35 feet.

from normal

pool elevation.

(B) The requirements of Rules ,1955(m). .1956(1). .1956(2). .1956(6). .1957(b)(1), and .1957(b)(2)

of this Section shall be met, except as follows:

(i) A low-pressure pipe system shall not be required where the separation between the bottom

of the nitrification trench and any soil wetness condition is at least 12 inches, but less than

18 inches, and more than six inches of this separation consists of Group I soils.

(ii) The restriction in Rule . 1956(6)(a)(v) of this Section that saprolite be overlain by at least one

foot of suitable or provisionally suitable naturally occurring soil shall not apply.

(iii) For new fill systems, a low pressure pipe system shall not be required in order for the

minimum separation distance between the trench bottom and any unsuitable soil horizon.

rock, or saprolite to be reduced to 18 inches.

(iv) For existing fill systems, the minimum separation requirements of Rule . 1957(b)(2)(D)of this

Section shall be reduced from 48 to 36 inches for conventional systems and from 24 to 18

inches for low-pressure pipe system.

(C) The maximum long-term acceptance rate shall be increased by 25 percent for any ground

absorption system in soils which are Groups I or II with suitable structure and clay mineralogy.

No other reductions in linear footage of nitrification trench or system area shall be applied, except

where based on an adjusted design daily sewage flow rate granted in accordance with Rule

.1949(c) of this Section.

(6) Prior to issuance of an Operation Permit for an ATI.', the manufacturer or his licensed

representative shall certify that the unit has been properly installed and a contract for operation and

maintenance shall have been executed between the unit owner and the county in accordance with

Rule .1961(b) of this Section. It shall be a condition of the Operation Permit that subsequent

owners of an ATI' execute such a contract. The contract shall include the specific requirements

for maintenance and operation, responsibilities for maintenance and operation, responsibilities of

the owner and system operator, provisions that the contract shall be in effect for as long as the

system is in use. and other requirements for the continued proper performance of the ATU. A
condition of the Operation Permit shall be that the unit continue to perform in accordance with

Class I effluent quality requirements of the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Standard Number
40 effective on the date the improvement permit was issued.

(7) Performance monitoring shall be carried out by the operator.

(A) During each inspection, the operator shall confirm proper mechanical performance, conduct a

visual check for unusual color, clo22ins. oilv film, odors, foam, measure settleable aeration
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chamber solids, and ascertain the need for removing solids, backwash and cleaning of filters, and

other maintenance activities. The ground absorption system shall also be inspected and an

evaluation of performance shall be made. The operator shall take the necessary steps to assure

that needed maintenance is carried out.

(B) Semi-annually, samples shall be collected by the system operator and analyzed by a

state-approved wastewater testing laboratory of the effluent for Five-Day Biological Oxygen

Demand. Suspended Solids, and pH. The aeration tank shall be sampled for mixed liquor

suspended solids.

(C) Performance monitoring results shall be reported to the local health department and the state

quarterly.

(D) Remedial action and additional sampling shall be required if monitoring results or inspection

indicate that Class I effluent standards are not met.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-335(e) and (f); 130A-342.

. 1969 EXPERIMENTAL AND INNOVATIVE
SYSTEMS, COMPONENTS, OR
DEVICES

Experimental and innovative £E & I] systems are

any wastewater systems, system components, or

devices that are not specifically described jn Rules

.1955, .1956. .1957. or .1958 of this Section,

including any system for which reductions are

proposed in the minimum horizontal or vertical

separation requirements or increases are proposed

to the maximum long-term acceptance rates of this

Section. This Rule shall provide for the approval

and permitting of E & 1 systems.

( 1 ) An application shall be submitted in

writing to the State for an E & I system.

The application shall include the

(a)

ibi

£3

id]

lei

following, as applicable:

description of the system and its

proposed use, including materials used

in construction:

review of pertinent literature, published

research, and previous experience and

performance with the system:

results of any available testing, research

or monitoring of pilot systems or full-

scale operational systems conducted by

a third party research or testing

organization:

identity and qualifications of any

proposed research or testing

organization and the principal

investigators, and an affidavit certifying

that the organization and principal

investigators have no conflict of interest

and do not stand to gain financially

from the sale of the E & \ system:

objectives, methodology, and duration

of any proposed research or testing:

operation and maintenance procedures,

system classification, proposed

LZl

ih]

ill

in

ib]

L^J

ill

ia]

management entity and system operator:

procedure to address system

malfunction and replacement or

premature termination of any proposed

research or testing; and

notification of any proprietary

information, system, component, or

device.

The State shall review all applications

submitted for review. The State shall

evaluate at least the following:

the completeness of the application, and

whether additional information js

needed to continue the review;

whether the system, component or

device meets the standards of an

innovative system under Paragraph (3)

of this Rule, and proposed conditions

for use, maintenance and monitoring.

For systems, components, or devices

which cannot be approved as an

innovative system, whether approval

shall be granted for use as an

experimental system under Paragraph

(4) of this Rule, and proposed

conditions for use, research and

maintenance.

LhJ

INNOVATIVE SYSTEMS: In order for

a system, component, or device to be

approved as an innovative system, the

following standards shall be met:

The system, component, or device shall

have been demonstrated to perform

equal or superior to a system.

component or device which is described

in Rules .1955. .1956. .1957 or .1958.

based upon controlled pilot-scale

research studies or statistically-valid

monitoring of full-scale operational

systems.

Materials used in construction shall be
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equal or superior in physical properties

and chemical durability, compared to

materials used for similar purposed in

systems, components or devices

specifically described in Rules . 1955.

.1956, .1957 or .1958. When a

system, component, or device is

approved as innovative by the State, the

applicant shall be notified in writing.

Such notice shall include any conditions

for use, monitoring, and operation. A
local health department shall issue an

Improvement Permit for any innovative

system approved by the State upon a

finding that the provisions of this Rule

including any conditions are met. Use

of an innovative system and any

conditions shall be described on the

Improvement Permit and the Certificate

of Completion or Operation Permit.

(4) EXPERIMENTAL SYSTEMS: A
system, component, or device which is

not approved as an innovative system

may be approved for use as an

experimental system as part of a research

or testing program which has been

approved by the State. The research or

testing program shall be conducted by a

third party research or testing

organization which has knowledge and

experience relevant to the proposed

research or testing and has no conflict of

interest and does not stand to gain

financially from the sale of the proposed

system.

(a) To be approved by the State, the

proposed research or testing program

shall include the following:

(i) Objectives which address issues which

do not enable the system to be

approved as an innovative system.

(ii) Research design and testing

methodology which has a reasonable

likelihood of meeting the objectives.

(iii ) Specification of the number of

systems proposed to be installed, the

criteria for site selection, system

monitoring and reporting procedures.

and operation and maintenance

requirements.

The State shall notify the applicant and

the applicable local health departments

when the proposed research or testing

program has been approved for an

experimental system.

(b) A local health department may issue an

Improvement Permit for an

experimental system when the following

conditions are met:

(i) There an application for an

Improvement Permit in accordance

with Rule . 1937(c) of this Section,

with the proposed use of an

experimental system specified.

(ii) The proposed site is included as part

of an approved research or testing

program and any conditions specified

for use of the system have been met.

(iii) When an experimental system is

proposed to serve a residence, place

of business or place of public

assembly, the provisions for a repair

area and backup system of Rule

. 1945(b) of this Section shall apply,

except:

(A) When an existing and properly

functioning wastewater system is

available for immediate use,

including connection to a public

or community wastewater system:

or

(B) When the experimental system is

used as a repair to an existing

malfunctioning system: or

(C) When the experimental system is

to serve a vehicular, portable

structure built on a chassis and

designed to be used as a

residence, place of business, or

place of public assembly without

a permanent foundation, in which

case sufficient available space

shall be reserved for the installa-

tion of a replacement system at

least equal to the initial experi-

mental system.

(iv) When an experimental system is

proposed which shall not serve a

residence, place of business, or place

of public assembly, a repair area or

backup system shall not be required.

(v) The application for an experimental

system shall include statements that

the property owner and proposed

user(s) of the system are aware of its

experimental nature, hold the local

health department and State harmless

regarding the installation, use, moni-

toring and performance of the system

and are aware that use of the system
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may need to be discontinued if the

system malfunctions and is found to

be non-repairable, or if the proposed

research or testing program \s prema-

turely terminated. Such statements

shall be signed by the owner and

proposed system user(s).

(vi) The owner of the site on which an

experimental system is proposed shall

execute a easement granting rights of

access to the system at reasonable

hours for monitoring and evaluation

to the research or testing organiza-

tion. This easement shall remain

valid as long as the system is to be

part of the proposed research or

testing program. The easement shall

be recorded with the county register

of deeds.

(vii) Provisions shall be made for operation

and maintenance of the system.

(c) Any special conditions required for the

installation of the experimental system

shall be specified [n the Improvement

Permit. Use of an experimental system

and any conditions shall be described

on the Improvement Permit and any

subsequent operation permits, with

provisions for a repair area and backup

system specified. A condition of the

Improvement Permit shall be that the

installation be under the direct field

supervision of the research or testing

organization.

(d) All proposed permits for experimental

systems shall be reviewed by the State

and found to be consistent with the

approved research or testing program

prior to issuance by the local health

department.

(e) Upon completion of the installation and

prior to use, an Experimental System

Operation Permit (ESOP) shall be

issued by the local health department.

The ESOP shall be valid for a specified

period of time not to exceed five years.

Special maintenance, monitoring and

testing requirements shall be specified

as permit conditions, in accordance

with the approved research or testing

program. Failure to carry out these

conditions shall be grounds for permit

suspension or revocation.

(f) Prior to expiration of the ESOP and

based upon satisfactory system perfor-

mance as determined during the re-

search or testing program, the local

health department shall issue an Opera-

tion Permit. Premature termination of

the research or testing program shall be

grounds for ESOP suspension or revo-

cation,

(g) Upon completion of monitoring, re-

search and testing, the research or

testing organization shall prepare a final

report including recommendations on

future use of the system. The State may
recommend incorporation of the system

into the rules as a conventional, modi-

fied or alternative system; or use as an

innovative system in accordance with

Paragraph (3) of this Rule; or further

research or testing.

(5) The State shall suspend or revoke the

approval of an E & I system or modify

the conditions specified for system use

upon a finding that the information sub-

mitted in the application \s changed or

falsified, subsequent experience with the

system results in altered conclusions

about system performance or design, or

when superseded by future rules.

Statutory Authority- G. S. 130A-335(e) and (f);

130A-343.
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[Sotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR-Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rules cited as 15A

NCAC 19B .0313, .0320 - .0321 . .0503.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20. 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing. First Floor Auditorium. 1 South Wilmington

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Reason for Proposed Action:

ISA NCAC 19B .0313 - To specify requirements of

evaluating breath-test instruments and improve the

efficiency ofthe statewide alcohol testing program.

ISA NCAC 19B .0320 and .0321 - To improve the

efficiency of Intoxilyzer 5000 operational and

maintenance procedures.

15A NCAC 19B .0503 - To add three additional

alcohol screening test devices to the approved list.

Comment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley. Department of Justice, P.O. Box 629,

Raleigh. NC 27602-0629. (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Onlx persons who

have made comments at a public hearing or who
have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Continents

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

changes from staff pursuant to comments made
during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL
INTERESTED AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTED
PERSONS. GROUPS. BUSINESSES.
ASSOCIATIONS. INSTITUTIONS. OR AGENCIES

MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS KNOWN
TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH SERVICES
THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS. WHETHER THEY SUP-
PORT OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL PROVISIONS
OF THE PROPOSED RULES. THE COMMIS-
SION MAY MAKE CHANGES TO THE RULES A T
THE COMMISSIONMEETING IF THE CHANGES
COMPLY WITH G.S. 150B-21 .2(f).

CHAPTER 19 - HEALTH: EPIDEMIOLOGY

SUBCHAPTER 19B - INJURY CONTROL

SECTION .0300 - BREATH ALCOHOL
TEST REGULATIONS

.0313 BREATH-TESTING INSTRUMENTS:
REPORTING OF SEQUENTIAL
TESTS

(a) The standards for the approval of breath-

testing instruments are as follows:

(1) The commission approves the method

of performing chemical analyses

through the use of breath-testing instru-

ments of a design and of a model spe-

cifically approved by the commission as

meeting, to its satisfaction, standards of

accuracy, reliability, convenience and

efficiency of operation.

(2) The Injury Control Section shall evalu-

ate and recommend to the Commission

only those breath-testing instruments

which meet the minimum requirements

as set forth m the current state purchase

and contract bid specifications for

automated evidential breath alcohol

testing instruments. Such evaluations

shall be conducted only when deemed

necessary or appropriate by the Direc-

tor or his representative to improve the

efficiency of the statewide alcohol

testing program.

f2-) (3) The succeeding rules of this Section

establish operational and preventive

maintenance procedures for

breath-testing instruments approved by

the commission.

(b) The standards for the reporting of sequential

tests are as follows:

(1) In recording the results of a chemical

analysis under G.S. 20-139. 1(e) and in

reporting results for use in court or in

an administrative proceeding, the chem-

ical analyst shall report the results of all
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tests of breath performed in conducting

the chemical analysis. These results

may be used for all relevant purposes,

but these results may not be used to

prove a person's particular alcohol

concentration unless a pair of consecu-

tively administered tests do not differ

from each other by an alcohol concen-

tration of greater than 0.02.

(2) In proceedings in court and before

administrative agencies, the state may

use all breath-test procedures and re-

sults for all relevant purposes, but when

there is a difference in readings, the

state may use only the lower of the two

consecutive readings that meet the

requirements of Paragraph (b) to prove

a person's particular alcohol concentra-

tion. "Particular alcohol concentration"

is an alcohol concentration that has

legal significance under G.S.

20-138. 1(a)(2), 20-

1

6.5(b)(4),

20- 179(d)(1), and 20-179(m).

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-1 6. 5(j); 20-1 39. 1(h).

.0320 INTOXILYZER: MODEL 5000

The operational procedures to be followed in

using the Intoxilyzer, Model 5000 are:

fH In sure observation period requirements

have been met;

(1) Insure instrument displays time and date;

f2-) Insure instrument displays proper time

and date;

(2) Insure observation period requirements

have been met;

(3) Press "START TEST"- when "INSERT
CARD" appears, insert test record;

(4) Enter appropriate information;

(5) Insure instrument di splay s expected re

s uits from the alcoholic breath s imulator;

Verify instrument calibration;

(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect

breath sample;

(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect

breath sample;

(8) When test record ejects, remove^ and

record times and result s

If the alcohol concentrations differ by more than

0.02, a third or subsequent test shall be adminis-

tered as soon as feasible by repeating steps (1)

through (6). (7) if necessary, and (8K 1 as applica-

ble.

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-139. 1(h).

.0321 PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE:
INTOXILYZER: MODEL 5000

The preventive maintenance procedures for the

Intoxilyzer Model 5000 to be followed at least

once every four months are:

(1) Verify alcoholic breath simulator ther-

mometer shows 34 degrees, plus or

minus .2 degree centigrade;

(2) Verify instrument displays proper time

and date;

(3) Press "START TEST"- when "INSERT
CARD" appears, insert test record;

(4) Enter appropriate information;

(5) Verify instrument displays—expected

results from the alcoholic breath Simula

tef calibration;

(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect

breath sample;

(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect

breath sample;

(8) When test record ejects, remove and

record time s and result s;

(9) Verify Diagnostic Program;

(10) Verify alcoholic breath simulator solution

is being changed every four months or

after 125 tests, whichever occurs first.

A signed original of the preventive maintenance

checklist shall be kept on file for at least three

years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 20-1 39.1 (h)(h4).

SECTION .0500 - ALCOHOL SCREENING
TEST DEVICES

.0503 APPROVED ALCOHOL SCREENING
TEST DEVICES: CALIBRATION

(a) The following breath alcohol screening test

devices are approved as to type and make:

(1) ALCO-SENSOR (with two-digit dis-

play), made by Intoximeters, Inc.

(2) ALCO-SENSOR III (with three-digit

display), made by Intoximeters, Inc.

(3) BREATH-ALCOHOL TESTER MOD-
EL BT-3, made by RepCo., Ltd.

(4) ALCOTEC BREATH-TESTER, made

by RepCo., Ltd.

(5) ALCO-SENSOR IV, manufactured by

Intoximeters, Inc.

(6] PBA 3000, manufactured by Life Loc,

Inc.

(7) SD-2, manufactured by CML Inc.

(b) Calibration of alcohol screening test devices

shall be verified at least once during each 30 day

period of use by employment of a control sample
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from an alcoholic breath simulator, or an etha-

nol/gas standard. The device shall be deemed

properly calibrated when the result of 0.09 or 0. 10

is obtained.

( 1 ) Alcoholic breath simulators used exclu-

sively for calibration of alcohol screen-

ing test devices shall have the solution

changed every 30 days or after 25

calibration tests, whichever occurs first.

(2) Requirements of Paragraph (b) and

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule shall

be recorded on an alcoholic breath

simulator log designed by the Injury

Control Section and maintained by the

user agency.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 20-16.3.

changes from staff pursuant to comments made
during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL INTERESTED
AND POTENTIALLYAFFECTED PERSONS, GROUPS,
BUSINESSES. ASSOCIATIONS. INSTITUTIONS. OR
AGENCIES MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS
KNOWN TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH
SERVICES THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS. WHETHER THEY SUPPORT
OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL PROVISIONS OF THE
PROPOSED RULES. THE COMMISSION MA Y MAKE
CHANGES TO THE RULES AT THE COMMISSION
MEETING IF THE CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S.

I5OB-21.20.

CHAPTER 20

LABORATORY SERVICES

^c Ifi >fi >fi
'^ ¥ Sfi

IVotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR - Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rules cited as 15A

NCAC 20D .0233 - .0235. .0243. .0248.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20. 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing. First Floor Auditorium, 1 South Wilmington

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

ixeason for Proposed Action:

clarify the current regulations.

To correct and

Ksomment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley, Department of Justice. P.O. Box 629.

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629. (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Onlx persons who
have made comments at a public hearing or who

have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

SUBCHAPTER 20D - CERTIFICATION AND
IMPROVEMENT

SECTION .0200 - LABORATORY
CERTIFICATION

.0233 CERTIFICATION. CERTIFICATION
RENEWAL AND FEES

(a) The Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources shall grant certification for

the test categories requested upon finding that a

laboratory meets the minimum requirements set

forth in this Section.

(b) A laboratory may renew its certification

every year by payment of the certification fee by

December 1 of the preceding year. If the fee has

not been paid by December 3 1 of each your, the

laboratory's certification shall not be renewed for

the next year, and the laboratory s hall apply for

recertification—pursuant to—R-t*4*

—

.0235—of this

Section.—In addition to payment of the certification

§e

-pa?

on site—evaluation—by—a

—

laboratory

certification cvaluator and compliance with the

minimum requirements of this Section arc required

for renewal. A laboratory which renews its

certification shall continue to meet the minimum

requirements of this Section in accordance with

15A NCAC 20D .0234.

(c) The certificate and information pertaining to

certification shall remain the property of the

Department of Environment. Health, and Natural

Resources and shall be surrendered upon

decertification pursuant to Rule .0234 of this

Section. All certification information shall be

available for public access pursuant to Chapter 1 32

of North Carolina General Statutes.

(d) The certification fee shall be twenty dollars
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($20.00) per analyte. The minimum and maximum

fee per analyte group shall be as set out in G.S.

130A-326(7). The analyte groups are as follows:

(1) inorganic chemistry;

(2) organic chemistry 1 (synthetic organic

chemicals);

(3) organic chemistry II (volatile organic

chemicals);

(4) total and fecal coliforms; and

(5) radiochemistry.

The certification fee shall not be prorated nor

refunded. Twenty percent shall be due at the time

of the application.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-326.

.0234 CRITERIA AND PROCEDURES:
DECERTIFICATION/DENIAL/
DOWNGRADING

(a) The Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources or its delegate may

downgrade or deny laboratory certification if the

laboratory:

(1) Demonstrates incompetence or made

consistent errors in analyses;

m- Failed to correctly analyze performance

evaluation—

s

ample s ,
—including—United

States Environmental Protection Agency

water study, double blind, blind, and

on site samples, or failed to report the

results within the specified time;

0) (2jFailed to report analytical results of

performance evaluation samples or

compliance samples or maintain records

as required by this Section and the

Rules Governing Public Water Supplies

in 15A NCAC 18C .1500;

{4) (3jFailed to maintain facilities and

equipment in accordance with the

minimum requirements of this Section;

{§) [4)Failed to notify the certification

evaluator of major changes such as

personnel, equipment, or laboratory

location; or

{6) (5jViolated or aided and abetted in the

violation of any provisions of the rules

of this Section;

(b) A downgraded laboratory with provisional

certification may continue to perform analyses.

The provisional status shall continue for at least

six months. At the end of six months the

laboratory certification shall be reinstated if the

laboratory has made corrections and is in

compliance with the minimum requirements for

certification. If no corrections have been made the

laboratory certification may be revoked.

(c) The Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources or its delegate may
decertify or deny laboratory certification when a

laboratory or its employees have done any of the

following:

( 1 ) Knowingly made false statements on

any documents associated with

certification;

(2) Falsified results of analyses;

(3) Submitted performance evaluation

samples used for certification

determination to another laboratory for

analysis;

(4) Failed to employ approved laboratory

methodology in the performance of the

analyses required by 15A NCAC 18C

.1500;

(5) Repeatedly failed to correctly analyze

performance evaluation samples

including United States EPA water

study, double blind, blind, and on-site

samples or report the results within the

specified time in accordance with the

requirements of I5A NCAC 20D .0243

and .0251;

(6) Repeatedly failed to report analytical

results of performance evaluation

samples or compliance samples or

maintain records as required by this

Section and the Rules Governing Public

Water Supplies in 15A NCAC 18C;

(7) Failed to satisfy the certification

evaluator that the laboratory has

corrected deviations identified during

the on-site visit within 30 days; or

(8) Violated or aided and abetted in the

violation of any provisions of the rules

of this Section.

(d) The Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources or its delegate shall notify

a laboratory of its intent to decertify, downgrade

to provisional status or deny certification. The

notice shall be in writing and include reasons for

the decision and shall be delivered by certified

mail.

(e) This Rule shall not preclude informal

conferences concerning a decision to decertify,

downgrade to provisional status or deny

certification.

Statutory Authority G.S 130A-315.

.0235 RECERTIFICATION
(a) A laboratory is eligible for recertification six

months after decertification, except in the
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following instances:

( 1 ) A laboratory which lost certification for

false statements on documents, falsified

analytical results, or submitted official

performance samples to another

laboratory, is eligible for recertification

one year after decertification.

Application for recertification shall be

made in the same way as application for

certification as contained in Rule .0233

of this Section;

(2) A laboratory which lost certification for

failure to correctly analyze performance

evaluation samples is eligible for

recertification 30 days after

decertification and after satisfying Rule

.0243(b)(4) or .0251f+)|3j, or both of

this Section.

(b) A laboratory for which certification was not

renewed for failure to pay the certification fee by

the date required in Rule .0233 of this Section is

eligible for recertification 60 days after paying the

overdue fee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-326.

.0243 CHEMISTRY QUALITY ASSURANCE
(a) The following general requirements for

chemistry quality assurance (QA) shall be met:

(1) All quality control information shall be

available for inspection by the certifica-

tion officer;

(2) A manual of analytical methods and the

laboratory's QA plan shall be available

to the analysts;

(3) Class S weights or higher quality

weights shall be available to make

periodic checks on the accuracy of the

balances. Checks shall be within range

of the manufacturer's guidelines. A
record of these checks shall be available

for inspection. The specific checks and

their frequency are to be as prescribed

in the laboratory's QA plan or the

laboratory's operations manual. These

checks shall be performed at least once

a month.

(4) Color standards or their equivalent,

such as built-in internal standards, shall

be available to verify wavelength set-

tings on spectrophotometers. These

checks shall be within the

manufacturer's tolerance limits. A
record of the checks shall be available

for inspection. The specific checks and

their frequency shall be as prescribed in

the laboratory's QA plan or the

laboratory's operations manual. These

checks shall be performed at least every

six months,

(b) The laboratory shall analyze performance

samples as follows:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

United States Environmental Protection

Agency performance evaluation samples

shall be analyzed semi-annually.

Results shall be within control limits

established by EPA for each analyte for

which the laboratory is or wishes to be

certified.

Double blind and blind samples shall be

analyzed when submitted to a certified

laboratory and results shall be within

established control limits; these data

shall be of equal weight to the EPA
performance evaluation sample data and

on site quality control sample data in

determining the laboratory's

certification status.

On-site quality control samples shall be

analyzed when presented to the

laboratory by the certification evaluator

and results shall be within established

control limits. These data shall be of

equal weight to the EPA performance

evaluation sample data and the double

blind sample data in determining the

laboratory's certification status.

A performance level of 75 percent shall

be maintained for each analyte for

which a laboratory is or wishes to be

certified. This 75 percent average shall

be calculated from the ten most recent

performance sample data points from

the EPA water studies, double-blind,

blind, and on-site samples. In the event

the laboratory does not have ten data

points, the 75 percent average will be

calculated on the existing data points,

with a minimum of four data points

needed before a determination is made.

Unacceptable performance on any of

the samples in Paragraph (b) of this

Rule shall be corrected and explained in

writing within 30 days and submitted to

the certification evaluator.

(c) The minimum daily quality control (QC) for

chemistry shall be as follows:

(1) Inorganic Contaminants:

(A) At the beginning of each day thai

samples are to be analyzed, a standard
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curve composed of at least a reagent

blank and three standards covering the

sample concentration range shall be

prepared.

(B) The laboratory shall analyze a QC
sample (EPA QC sample or equiva-

lent) at the beginning of the sample

run, at the end of the sample run, and

every 20 samples, with recoveries not

to exceed + 10 percent of the true

concentration. The source of this QC
sample shall be different from the

source used for the calibration stan-

dards in Paragraph Subparagraph

(c)(1)(A) of this Rule.

(C) The laboratory shall run an additional

standard or QC check at the

laboratory's lowest detectable limit

for the particular analyte. The labo-

ratory shall not report a value lower

than the lowest standard or QC check

analyzed.

(D) The laboratory shall add a known

spike to a minimum of 10 percent of

the routine samples (except when the

method specifies a different percent-

age, i.e. furnace methods) to deter-

mine if the entire analytical system is

in control. The spike concentration

shall not be substantially less than the

background concentration of the

sample selected for spiking. The

spike recoveries shall not exceed _+

10 percent of the true value.

(E) All compliance samples analyzed by

graphite furnace shall be spiked to

determine absence of matrix interfer-

ences with recoveries _+ 10 percent of

the true value of the spike concentra-

tion.

(F) The laboratory shall run a duplicate

sample every 10 samples with dupli-

cate values within +, 10 percent of

each other.

(G) Precision and accuracy data may be

computed from the analyses of check

samples of known value used routine-

ly in each analytical procedure. This

data shall be available for inspection

by the laboratory evaluator.

(2) Organic Contaminants:

(A) Quality control specified in the ap-

proved methods referenced in Rule

.0241 of this Section shall be followed.

(B) Analysis for regulated volatile organic

chemicals under 15A NCAC 18C

.1515 shall only be conducted by

laboratories that have received

conditional approval by EPA or the

Department according to 40 C.F.R.

141.24(g)(10) and (11) which is

hereby incorporated by reference

including any subsequent amendments

and editions. A copy is available for

inspection at the Department of

Environment, Health, and Natural

Resources, Division of Laboratory

Services, 306 North Wilmington

Street. Raleigh, North Carolina.

Copies of 40 CFR 141-143 may be

obtained by contacting the EPA
Drinking Water Hotline at

800-426-4791 at no charge.

(C) Analysis for unregulated volatile

organic chemicals under 15A NCAC
1 8C .1516 shall only be conducted by

laboratories approved under
Subparagraph (c)(2)(B) of this Rule.

In addition to the requirements of

Subparagraph (c)(2)(B) of this Rule,

each laboratory analyzing for EDB
and DBCP shall achieve a method

detection limit for EDB and DBCP of

0.00002 mg/1, according to the

procedures in Appendix B of 40

C.F.R. Part 136 which is hereby

incorporated by reference including

any subsequent amendments and

editions. A copy may be obtained at

no charge by contacting the

Department of Environment, Health,

and Natural Resources. Division of

Laboratory Services, 306 North

Wilmington Street, Raleigh, North

Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-315.

.0248 MICROBIOLOGY GENERAL
LABORATORY PRACTICES

(a) The general laboratory practices for microbi-

ological analyses shall be in accordance with those

listed in the EPA "Manual for the Certification of

Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water", Chapter

5, Section 4, General Laboratory Practices, which

is hereby incorporated by reference including any

subsequent amendments and editions, except that

Sections 4 .6.

1

4.7.

1

through 4.9 are not

incorporated by reference. A copy is available for

inspection at the Department of Environment,
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Health, and Natural Resources. Division of

Laboratory Services, 306 North Wilmington

Street. Raleigh. North Carolina. Nonprofit

organizations or government agencies may obtain

a copy by contacting the EPA Drinking Water

Hotline at 800-426-4791 . Other organizations may

obtain a copy from the National Technical

Information Service at 800-336-4700 for $35.00.

(b) In addition, the following laboratory

practices shall be followed:

(1) Media - General Requirements.

Check each lot of medium with

positive and negative culture controls.

(2) Membrane Filter Media:

(A) Use m-Endo broth or agar or LES

Endo broth or agar in the single step

or enrichment techniques. Ensure

that ethanol used in rehydration

procedure is not denatured. Prepare

medium in a sterile flask and use a

boiling water bath or. if constantly

attended, a hot plate with a stir bar to

bring medium to the boiling point.

Do not boil medium. Final pH shall

be 7.2 ±0.2.
(B) Refrigerate MF broth no longer than

96 hours, poured MF agar plates no

longer than two weeks, and ampouled

m-Endo broth in accordance with

manufacturer's expiration date.

(3) Multiple Tube Fermentation (MTF)

Media:

(A) Use double strength lauryl sulfate

broth or lactose broth in the

presumptive test and single strength

brilliant green lactose bile (BGLB)

broth in the confirmed test.

Autoclave media at 1 2 1 "C for 12

minutes. Final pH shall be 6.8 ± 0.2

or 7.2 ± 0.2 for BGLB broth.

(B) If MTF media are refrigerated after

sterilization, incubate overnight at

35"C ± 0.5"C before use. Discard

tubes showing growth or bubbles.

Use MTF media prepared in tubes

with loose fitting closures within one

week. Store broth media in screw

cap tubes or bottles no longer than

three months, provided media are

stored in the dark. Discard media if

evaporation exceeds 10 percent of

original volume.

(C) LES Endo agar shall be used for the

completed test. Refrigerate medium

and use within two weeks.

(4) Clark's Total Coliform Medium:

(A) Autoclave for 12 minutes at 121°C.

Allow space between bottles.

(B) Final pH shall be 6.8 ±0.2.
(C) Store prepared medium in screw

capped culture bottle no longer than

three months; discard if evaporation

exceeds 10 percent of original

volume.

(5) EC Medium (for fecal coliforms):

(A) Autoclave for 12 minutes at 121°C.

(B) Examine tubes after sterilization to

insure that inverted inner tubes are

free of air bubbles and that the vials

are at least partially covered with

medium.

(C) Incubate refrigerated sterilized

medium overnight at 35'^ ± 0.5°C;

discard tubes that show growth or

bubbles.

(D) Store prepared medium in screw cap

tubes.

(E) Final pH shall be 6.9 ±0.2.
(6) EC + MUG Medium (for detection of

fecal coliforms-E. coli)

(A) Autoclave medium at 121°C (gas

tubes shall not be used)

(B) Final pH shall be 6.9 ±0.2
(C) Store prepared medium in screw cap

tubes no longer than three months.

(7) MMO-MUG Test Medium (for Total

Coliform and E. C-&H coli ):

(A) The laboratory shall not prepare this

medium from basic ingredients.

(B) Each lot purchased shall be tested for

performance by inoculation with three

control bacteria: Escherichia coli. a

total coliform other than E. coli (e.g..

Klebsiella pneumoniae) and a

non-coliform (e.g.. Pseudomonas

aeruginosa).

These control organisms can be stock

cultures or commercially available

discs impregnated with the organism.

Incubate these controls at 35"C ±
0.5°C for 24 hours, and read and

record result.

(C) Do not autoclave.

(8) Fecal Coliform Membrane Filter

Medium
(for enumeration of fecal coliform in

source water):

(A) Rehydrate medium in reagent water

containing 10 ml of 1 percent rosolic

acid in 2N NaOH. Brina it to the
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boiling point; do not autoclave.

(B) Autoclave for 12 minutes at 121°C.

(C) Final pH shall be 7.4 + 0.2.

(D) Refrigerate unused prepared medium;

discard after 96 hours.

(9) Heterotrophic Plate Count (HPC)

Medium:

(A) Autoclave HPC agar at 121°C for 15

minutes.

(B) Final pH shall be 7.0 + 0.2.

(C) Temper melted agar at 44°-46°C

before pouring.

(D) Hold melted agar no longer than four

hours. Do not melt sterile agar

medium more than once.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-315.

IVotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the EHNR-Commission for Health

Services intends to amend rules cited as 15

A

NCAC 24A .0101, . 0502 -
. 0503.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on January 20. 1993 at the Highway Build-

ing, First Floor Auditorium, I South Wilmington

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

MXeason for Proposed Actions:

15A NCAC24A .0101 - To establish an annualfee

for persons who have registered notice of rule

making. Tliis fee will cover copying and mailing

costs pursuant to 150B-21.2(b).

15A NCAC 24A .0502 - Tin- current rule for

terminating financial eligibility gives the applicant

15 days to show why financial eligibility should not

be terminated after we have notified him that we

believe financial eligibility was established based

on incorrect information on the application form.

After that, another 15 day period is allowed for the

applicant to appeal the decision. We are advised

that this rule is in conflict with G.S. 130A-23

which requires a 60 day period for filing an appeal.

15A NCAC 24A .0503 - The current rule refers to

the 15 day appeal period which we are changing

to 60 days in .0502, therefore we are deleting

reference to the 15 day appeal period. We are

also creating a provision for holding Authorization

Requests received while financial eligibility is

being investigated until a decision about termina-

tion of eligibility is made.

Ksomment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to John P.

Barkley, Department of Justice, P. O. Box 629,

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629, (919)733-4618. Ifyou

desire to speak at the public hearing, notify John

P. Barkley at least 3 days prior to the public

hearing. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending on the number of people that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Only persons who
have made comments at a public hearing or who

have submitted written comments will be allowed

to speak at the Commission meeting. Comments

made at the Commission meeting must either

clarify previous comments or address proposed

changes from staff pursuant to comments made

during the public hearing process.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT ALL
INTERESTED AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTED
PERSONS. GROUPS, BUSINESSES.
ASSOCIATIONS, INSTITUTIONS, OR AGENCIES
MAKE THEIR VIEWS AND OPINIONS KNOWN
TO THE COMMISSION FOR HEALTH SERVICES
THROUGH THE PUBLIC HEARING AND
COMMENT PROCESS, WHETHER THEY
SUPPORT OR OPPOSE ANY OR ALL
PROVISIONS OF THE PROPOSED RULES. THE
COMMISSION MA Y MAKE CHANGES TO THE
RULES AT THE COMMISSION MEETING IF THE
CHANGES COMPLY WITH G.S. 150B-21.2(f).

CHAPTER 24 - GENERAL PROCEDURES
FOR PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAMS

SUBCHAPTER 24A - PAYMENT
PROGRAMS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 GENERAL
(a) The purpose of this Subchapter is to establish

uniform policies and procedures for the

administration of all Department of Environment.

Health, and Natural Resources' payment programs.
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These rules are intended to facilitate efficient

financial eligibility and payment mechanisms with

a mutual goal of the Department and the providers

to render appropriate services to eligible patients.

(b) In the event of conflict between the rules in

this Subchapter and the rules adopted by the

various payment programs, the rules of this

Subchapter will control.

(c) The rules of this Subchapter shall not apply

to the North Carolina Hemophilia Assistance Plan.

15A NCAC 21F .1100 or to the Home Health

Program. 15A NCAC 16A .0200.

(d) Persons who wish to receive rule-making

notices concerning the rules m this Subchapter

must submit a written request to the Purchase of

Medical Care Services Section. P.O. Box 27687.

Raleigh. N.C. 27611-7687. The request must

specify the calendar year during which the person

wishes to receive the notices. A check for ten

dollars ($10.00) made payable to the N.C.

Department of Environment, Health, and Natural

Resources must be enclosed with each request to

cover the cost of printing and mailing the notices

for the year specified. The fee is no n- refundable

if there are no notices during the year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-5/3); 130A-124;

} 30A- 127; 130A- 1 29; 130A-205.

SECTION .0500 - QUALITY CONTROL

.0502 TERMINATION OF FINANCIAL
ELIGIBILITY

The Department shall take the following steps in

order to terminate a person's financial eligibility

which is based upon on incorrect information:

( 1 ) Notice shall be given to the applicant and

the financial eligibility interviewer that

the Department believe s has determined

that the financial eligibility form was

contains established based on incorrect

information that materially affected the

person' s financial el i g i bility presented on

the financial eligibility form, the

applicant is not financially eligible, and

the Department has made a tentative

decision to terminate financial eligibility .

(2) After—tlw 15 day period. if-—tbe

Department—determines—that

—

financia l

eligibility s hall be terminated, notice shall

be given to the applicant, the interviewer

and the provider that the Department hns

made a tentative—deci s ion to term i nate

financial eligibility.—The applicant shall

be given 15 day s to reque s t an appea l .

The applicant and the financial eligibility

interviewer shall be given 15 days to

provide additional information to show

why eligibility should not be terminated.

(3) If no appeal—is made within—15 days,

financial eligibility shall be terminated.

If information which proves that the

applicant is financially eligible fs not

received by the Department within 15

days, financial eligibility shall be

terminated. The applicant shall be given

60 days from the date of the notice of

tentative decision to terminate financial

eligibility to fife an appeal. However.

the The applicant may reapply for

financial eligibility at any time if there is

a change in family size, income, or

deductions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-124;

130A- 127; 130A- 129; 130A-205.

.0503 EFFECT ON AUTHORIZATIONS AND
AUTHORIZATION REQUESTS

(a) All authorizations will be honored by the

Department, except that an authorization may will

be cancelled after a final deci s ion to terminate

upon termination of financial eligibility if:

( 1 ) The applicant and the provider are

notified of the authorization cancellation

prior to the provision of the service.

Authorizations may will be cancelled in

part when only some of the services

have been provided; and

(2) The provider has not made financial

commitments based upon the authoriza-

tion.

(b) Authorization requests for services to be

provided after the 15 day appeal period which arc

received—by—the

—

Department—after—a

—

tentative-

dec is ion to terminate financial eligibil i ty and prior

to a final decision in the matter will be held until

a final decision is made received during the period

of time that financial eligibility [s being investigat-

ed will be held until a decision about termination

of eligibility is made. If financial eligibility is

terminated, all pending authorization requests will

be denied.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130A-124;

130A-127; 130A-129; 130A-205.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING BOARD
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the North Carolina Board of

Mortuary Science intends to amend rules cited as

21 NCAC 34A .0102 and .0201; adopt 21 NCAC
34D .0101 - .0103, .0201 - .0202, .0301 - .0304

and .0401 - .0404.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

I, 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on February 15, 1993 at the Auditorium of

State Highway Building,

Street. Raleigh, NC.

1 South Wilmington

MXeason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 34A .0102 - G.S. 90. Article 13D, has

expanded purpose of Board to include regulation

of sale ofpreneed funeral contracts.

21 NCAC 34A .0201 - G.S. 90-210.67 directs

Board to set fees.

21 NCAC 34D .0101 - G.S. 90-210. 62(b) directs

Board to approve preneed contract forms. Pro-

posed Rule sets requirements for forms.

21 NCAC 34D .0102 - G.S. 90-210.67(d) imposes

per-contract fee. Board needs to make provision

for refund offee if contract not binding because

insurance coverage denied.

21 NCAC 34D .0103 - Board needs to inform

sellers and purchasers of a typical fact situation

under which a "preneed funeral contract" arises

pursuant to definition in G.S. 90-210.60(5).

21 NCAC 34D .0201 - Board needs to inform

applicants ofrequirements for applications, renew-

als and display of preneed funeral establishment

license.

21 NCAC 34D . 0202 - G. S. 90-210. 67(a) requires

Board to establish qualifications for and activities-

permitted under preneed sales license. Applicants-

need to know application requirements.

21 NCAC 34D .0301 - Board needs to inform

funeral homes in what form preneed records are to

be kept for inspection.

21 NCAC 34D .0302 - Board needs to inform

funeral homes of contents of annual report to be

filed with Board.

21 NCAC 34D .0303 - Board needs to establish

contents ofand funeral home needs to know how to

present certificate for obtaining funds to pay for

funeral.

21 NCAC 34D .0304 - G.S. 90-2 10. 68(b) permits

transfer of trust funds from one financial institution

to another. Rule is needed for procedure, includ-

ing use of Board form.

21 NCAC 34D .0401 - Definitions of terms need-

ed, as used in succeeding Rules pertaining to

Preneed Recovery Fund.

21 NCAC 34D . 0402 - G. S. 90-210. 66(d) requires

Board to adopt rules governing presentation of
applications for reimbursement from fund.

21 NCAC 34D .0403 - G. S. 90-210. 66(d) requires

Board to adopt rules governing processing applica-

tions for reimbursement from fund.

21 NCAC 34D . 0404 - G. S. 90-210. 66(d) requires

Board to adopt rules governing subrogation as to

reimbursements from fund.

(comment Procedures: Interested persons may

present statements, orally and in writing, at the

public hearing and in writing prior to the hearing

by mail addressed to Mr. Donald H. Carpenter,

NC Board of Mortuary Science, Box 27368,

Raleigh. NC 2761 1-7368.

CHAPTER 34 BOARD OF MORTUARY
SCIENCE

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0102 PURPOSE OF BOARD
The purpose and function of the Board are to

examine, license and regulate the practice of

funeral service^ aa4 the operation of crematories

and the sale of preneed funeral contracts in North

Carolina, pursuant to the authority granted by

Articles 13AA w*i 13C and 13D, Chapter 90.

General Statutes of North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S.

210.50(a); 90-21 0.69(a).

90-2 10. 23(a); 90-
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SECTION .0200 - FEES AND OTHER
PAYMENTS

0201 FEES AND PENALTIES
(a) Fees for funeral service shall be as follows:

Establishment permit

Application $ 250.00

Annual renewal $ 150.00

Late renewal penalty $ 100.00

Establishment reinspection fee $ 100.00

Courtesy card

Application $ 75.00

Annual renewal $ 50.00

Out-of-state licensee

Application $ 200.00

Embalmer, funeral director, funeral service

Application. North Carolina resident $ 150.00

Application, non-resident $ 200.00

Annual renewal

Embalmer s 40.00

Funeral director $ 40.00

Funeral service $ 60.00

Reinstatement fee s 50.00

Resident trainee permit

Application $ 50.00

Annual renewal $ 35.00

Late renewal penalty s 25.00

Duplicate license certificate $ 25.00

Chapel registration

Application $ 150.00

Annual renewal s 100.00

(b) Fees for crematories shall be as follows:

License

Application S 400.00

Annual renewal $ 150.00

Late renewal penalty $ 75.00

Crematory reinspection fee s 100.00

Per-cremation fee s 5.00

(c) Fees for preneed funeral contract regulation shall be as follows:

Preneed funeral establishment license

Application $ 100.00

Annual renewal $ 100.00

Preneed sales license

Application $ 10.00

Annual renewal $ 10.00

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210. 23(a); 90-210.28; 90-210.48; 90-210. 67(b). (c).
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SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED FUNERAL
CONTRACTS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 APPROVAL OF CONTRACT
FORMS

No preneed funeral contract form shall be ap-

proved by the Board unless it^ with any attach-

ments, meets the following requirements, insofar

as they are applicable to the lawful, intended sales

transaction:

( 1

)

Is written jn clear, understandable lan-

guage and js printed in easy -to -read type,

size and style.

(2) States or provides space for inserting the

name, address and preneed funeral estab-

lishment license number of the contract-

ing funeral establishment.

(3) Provides space for inserting the names,

addresses and Social Security numbers of

the purchaser and contract beneficiary.

(4) Provides space for a description of the

merchandise and services purchased.

(5) Discloses any penalties or restrictions,

including geographical restrictions, on

the delivery of merchandise and services.

(6) States whether it is a standard or infla-

tion-proof contract and summarizes,

consistent with North Carolina law, the

incidents of such type of contract.

(7) Provides space for inserting the financial

transaction.

(8) Provides space for the purchaser to indi-

cate, by the purchaser's signature or

initials, the following:

(a) The purchaser's choice of trust-funded

or insurance-funded contract.

(b) That the purchaser acknowledges that

the funeral establishment will retain,

and not deposit in trust, a stated per-

centage (not more than 10%) of the

purchaser's payments.

(c) The purchaser's choice of revocable or

irrevocable contract.

(d) That the purchaser acknowledges that

the sale was made at the funeral

establishment's place of business, so as

to negate the cancellation rights con-

nected with an off-premises sale.

(9) Contains notice, jn bold type, of the

purchaser's right to cancel an off-premis-

es sale.

(10) Contains notice, jn bold type, that jf tine

ii;

(12)

mi

purchaser does not receive notification

from the Board, within 30 days, that jt

has received a copy of the contract, the

purchaser should notify the Board at its

current, stated address and telephone

number.

Explains the parties' rights and obliga-

tions, consistent with North Carolina law,

with respect to contract revocation, de-

fault, the funeral establishment's reten-

tion of a portion of the purchase price

free of the trust, and the substitution of

funeral homes to perform the contract.

Contains a notice of the existence of the

Board's preneed recovery fund.

Contains, or refers to an attachment

containing, all funeral sales disclosures to

consumers as required by federal and

North Carolina law.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-21 0.69(a); 90-

210.62(h).

.0102 REFUND OF CONTRACT FEES
The preneed funeral contract fee, paid as

required by G.S. 90-210. 67(d), shall be refunded

by the Board to the payor only jn the event that,

because the insurance company refuses to insure

the proposed preneed funeral contract beneficiary,

the preneed funeral contract does not become

binding.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-2 10. 69(a).

.0103 INSURANCE-FUNDED CONTRACTS
A "preneed funeral contract," as defined jn G.S.

90-210.60(5). js created when any person,

partnership, corporation or association of

individuals engaged jn the business of providing

funeral services or merchandise js named, with

knowledge of being named, as a revocable or

irrevocable beneficiary or co-beneficiary or

assignee of a "prearrangement insurance policy."

as defined jn GJL 90-210.60(4), regardless of

whether specific funeral services or merchandise js

selected. This example does not preclude the

creation of insurance-funded preneed funeral

contracts pursuant to other facts

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210. 69(a).
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SECTION .0200 - LICENSING

.0201 PRENEED FUNERAL
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE

(a) A funeral establishment wishing to apply for

a preneed funeral establishment license shall

submit to the Board, m addition to the information

required by G.S. 90-2 10.67(a). its funeral estab-

lishment permit number issued pursuant to G.S.

90-2 10.25(d). type of business entity, whether it is

authorized to transact business in North Carolina,

whether it is soh'ent. whether there exist unsatis-

fied ci\il judgments against the applicant and

copies of any, whether the applicant or any of its

principals has been denied a license to engage in

an occupation or had a license suspended, revoked

or placed on probation, and whether any principal

has been convicted of a crime involving fraud or

moral turpitude.

(b) The Board may require an applicant to

submit additional proof to satisfy the requirements

of G.S. 90-2 10.67(a) and (b).

(c) The applicant shall submit, with its applica-

tion, the names, preneed sales license numbers and

telephone numbers of aH preneed sales licensees

who will sell preneed funeral contracts as employ-

ees or agents of the applicant. Any additions to or

deletions from the list of names shall be reported

to the Board, within 10 days of the change, as an

amended application on an application form.

(d) The same Board form shall be used for the

original application, annual renewal application

and amended application.

(e) Preneed funeral establishment licenses shall

not be transferable. Upon a transfer of ownership

of a funeral establishment, the provisions of 21

NCAC 34B .0605 apply, and a new application for

a preneed funeral establishment license shall be

made to the Board within 30 days of the transfer.

The application fee shall accompany the applica-

tion, as in the case of initial applications.

(f) The license certificate shall be conspicuously

displayed in the funeral establishment at the ad-

dress to which it js issued.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210.69(a); 90-

210.67(a). (b).

.0202 PRENEED SALES LICENSE
fa) Subject to G.S. 90-2 10.69(c). holding a

funeral director's license, issued by the Board, or

a funeral service license, issued by the Board, is

the qualification to be eligible for a preneed sales

license.

(b) The preneed sales licensee may engage,

under the preneed sales license, in afj of the

activities of "preneed funeral planning" as defined

in OS. 90-210.60(8). No preneed funeral

planning activities shall be engaged in by_ anyone

other than a preneed sales licensee. No preneed

sales license is required for solely the sale of a

prearrangement insurance policy.

(c) A licensed funeral director or funeral service

licensee wishing to apply for a preneed sales

license shall submit to the Board the applicant's

name, address, telephone number, funeral

director's or funeral service license number, name

and address of the preneed funeral establishment

licensee or licensees on whose behalf the applicant

will sell preneed funeral contracts, and the

applicant's employment or agency relationship with

the licensee or licensees. If the applicant proposes

to sell on behalf of more than one preneed funeral

establishment licensee, the applicant shall disclose

information to satisfy the requirement of G.S.

90-2 10.67(a) that the preneed funeral establishment

licensees be related by ownership or contract.

(d) The Board shall issue to each preneed sales

licensee a pocket card as certification of the

preneed sales license. The preneed sales licensee

shall carry the card while engaging in preneed

funeral planning. The card shall indicate the

names of the preneed funeral establishment

licensees on whose behalf the preneed sales

licensee is authorized to sell preneed funeral

contracts, and if there is any change in the list of

establishments on whose behalf the preneed sales

licensee is authorized to sell, the preneed sales

licensee shall make a new application for a

preneed sales license and shall pay the application

fee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-21 0.69(a); 90-

210.67(a). (c).

SECTION .0300 - OPERATIONS

.0301 RECORD AND BOOKKEEPING
REQUIREMENTS

(a) Each preneed funeral establishment licensee

shall maintain at the address stated on its license a

general file containing:

Uj a copy of each of ks license

applications, including applications for

license renewals:

(2) copies of a_U preneed examination

reports; and

(3) copies of all annual reports to the

Board.
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(b) Each such licensee shall maintain, at the

same address, files containing all preneed funeral

contracts purchased. The files shall be maintained

separately for outstanding contracts and for

matured or cancelled contracts. The outstanding

contract file shall include a copy of each preneed

contract filed alphabetically or numerically. The

matured or cancelled contract file shall contain a

copy of each preneed contract, together with a

copy of the certificate of performance, and shall be

filed either chronologically or alphabetically by

year.

(c) Each such licensee shall maintain, at the

same address, the following records:

( 1) a contract register listing the

purchaser's name and final disposition

of the contract;

(2) a separate cash journal or separate cash

receipt book designated for preneed.

showing all preneed payments

collected;

(3) an individual ledger for each contract

purchaser showing the purchaser's and

beneficiary's names, amount of the

contract, amount paid on the contract,

amount retained free of trust pursuant

to G.S. 90-210. 61(a)(2). deposits to

trust, withdrawals from trust as

permitted by law and the reasons

therefor, interest on deposits, total

amount of the trust, and amounts paid

to insurance companies for insurance-

funded contracts;

(4) copies of bank statements and deposit

slips from financial institutions in which

trust funds are deposited, certificate of

deposit records. including both

principal and interest transactions

and/or trust accountings; and

(5) copies of applications for insurance,

insurance policies. beneficiary

designation documents and instruments

of assignment.

(d) Individual ledgers and records of the

depository financial institutions shall be balanced

at least annually to ensure accuracy.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-2 10. 69(a): 90-

210.68(a).

.0302 ANNUAL REPORT
Each preneed funeral establishment licensee shall

file an annual report with the Board. The report

shall include the following:

inflation-proof trust-funded and insur-

ance-funded preneed funeral contracts

maintained by the licensee;

(2) the number of contracts sold rn the re-

porting period;

(3) the number of contracts which expired,

including contracts performed, revoked

and transferred, in the reporting period;

(4) the total year-end balance of aH preneed

trust accounts maintained at each finan-

cial institution; and

(5) the total year-end balance of all insur-

ance-funded preneed contracts written

with each insurance company.

The annual report shall be filed not later than

March 3 1 each year for the preceding year ending

December 31

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-21 0.69(a); 90-

210. 68(a).

.0303 CERTIFICATE OF PERFORMANCE
(a) The certificate of performance or similar

claim form as required by G.S. 90-2 10.64(a) shall

be a form as prepared by the Board and shall

require the following information: the names,

addresses and preneed funeral establishment

license numbers of fhe performing funeral

establishment and the contracting funeral

establishment; the name of the deceased

beneficiary of the preneed funeral contract; the

date of death and the county where the death

certificate was or will be filed; the invoice amount;

certification that the contract was or was not

performed [n whole or in part and how the funds

will be applied; the name and address of the

financial institution where the preneed trust funds

are deposited and the trust account or certificate

number; the name and address of ffie insurance

company which issued the prearrangement

insurance policy and the policy number; and the

amount and the date of the payment by the

financial institution or insurance company and to

whom paid.

(b) The form shall be completed by each funeral

establishment performing any services or providing

any merchandise pursuant to ffie preneed funeral

contract, or. if none are performed or provided, by

the contracting funeral establishment. The form

shall be presented to ffie financial institution or

insurance company for payment. Within 10 days

following its receipt of payment, any funeral

establishment which is required to complete the

form shall mail a copy to the Board

.

ill the total number of standard and/or
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Statutory Authority G.S. 90-2 10. 69(a); 90-

210.64(a); 90-210.68.

.0304 TRANSFER OF TRUST FUNDS
When, pursuant to G.S. 90-210. 68(b). a preneed

licensee directs a transfer of preneed funds to a

substitute financial institution, the financial institu-

tion which js a party to the preneed funeral con-

tract shall make the transfer directly and solely to

the substitute financial institution and not mediately

to the preneed licensee. The notification to the

Board as required by G.S. 90-210. 68(b) shall be

made on a form provided by the Board, which

shall indicate the transfer of the funds by the

financial institution and their acceptance by the

substitute financial institution and the agreement of

the substitute financial institution to be bound by

the preneed funeral contract and, if the contract js

revocable, certification that the licensee has noti-

fied the purchaser of the intended transfer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-21 0.69(a); 90-

210.68(h).

following minimum information:

(1) The name and address of the applicant.

(2) The name and address of the licensee

under G.S. 90. Article 13D. who

SECTION .0400 PRENEED RECOVERY
FUND

.0401 DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this section, the following

definitions shall apply:

( 1 i "Fund" shall mean the preneed recovery

fund as established by G.S. 90-210.66.

(2) "Applicant" shall mean a person who has

suffered a reimbursable loss pursuant to

G.S. 90-210.66.

(3) "Reimbursable losses" are only those

losses of money which meet the require-

ments of G.S. 90-210.66 and in which.

as determined by the Board, the applicant

has exhausted all viable means to collect

the applicant's losses and has complied

with this section. Reimbursable losses

shall not include losses of spouses, chil-

dren, parents, grandparents, siblings,

partners, associates, employers and em-

ployees of the person or business entity

causing the losses.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210. 69(a); 90-

210.66(c). (d). (f), (g).

.0402 APPLICATION FOR
REIMBURSEMENT

(a) The Board shall furnish a form of application

for reimbursement which shall require the

caused the alleged loss.

ill

(4J

(5J

16]

ill

(8i

The amount of the alleged loss for

which application for reimbursement is

made.

A copy of any preneed funeral contract

which was the basis of the alleged loss.

The date or period of time during

which the loss was incurred.

A general statement of facts relative to

the application.

All supporting documents, including

copies of court proceedings and other

papers indicating the efforts of the

applicant to obtain reimbursement from

the licensee, insurance companies or

others.

A documentation of any receipt of

funds [n partial payment of the loss.

(b) The application form shall contain the

following statement in boldface type: "The North

Carolina General Assembly in G.S. 90-210.66

established the preneed recovery fund and directed

the North Carolina Board of Mortuary Science to

provide for its funding and administration. The

establishment of the fund did not create or

acknowledge any legal responsibility on the part of

the Board for the acts, or failure to act, of

persons, firms or corporations licensed by rL All

reimbursements of losses from the fund shall be a

matter of privilege i_n the sole discretion of the

Board and not a matter of right. No applicant or

member of the public shall have any right in the

fund as a third-party beneficiary or otherwise."

(c) An application shall he filed i_n the office of

the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-21 0.69(a); 90-

210.66(a). (c), (J), (f). (g).

.0403 PROCESSING APPLICATIONS
(a) The Board in making investigation of all

applications filed for reimbursement from the

preneed recovery fund may require the attendance

of and examine under oath all persons, including

the alleged defalcating licensee, whose testimony

it may require. A determination of the application

shall be made by a majority vote of those present

at a Board meeting at which a quorum \s_ present.

The Board may, in its discretion, afford the

applicant a reconsideration of the application:

otherwise, a rejection is final, and no further
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consideration shall be given by the Board to the

application or to another application based upon

the same alleged facts.

(b) No more than 50% of the amounts received

by the fund shall be available for disbursement for

applications until a corpus of $50,000.00 is

created. Subject to the foregoing, the Board shall,

in its discretion, determine the amount of loss, if

any, for which the applicant should be reimbursed

from the fund. In making such determination, the

Board's considerations shall include:

(1) The negligence, if any, of the applicant

which contributed to the loss.

(2) The hardship which the applicant

suffered because of the loss.

(3) The total amount of reimbursable losses

of applicants on account of any one

licensee or association of licensees.

(4) The total amount of previous

reimbursable losses for which total

reimbursement has not been made and

the total assets of the fund.

(5) The total amount of insurance available

to compensate the applicant for the

loss.

(c) The Board may, in its discretion, allow

further reimbursements in cases in which a loss

has not been fully reimbursed.

(d) Before receiving a payment from the fund,

the person who is to receive such payment or his

or her legal representative shall execute and

deliver to the Board a written agreement stating

that in the event the reimbursed applicant or his or

her estate ever receives any restitution from the

licensee or from any other source, the reimbursed

applicant or his or her estate shall repay the fund

the restitution received or the amount of

reimbursement from the fund, whichever is less.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-2 10.69(a); 90-

210.66(a). (c). (d). (g).

.0404 SUBROGATION
In pursuing a subrogation claim as authorized by

G.S. 90-210. 66(h), the Board may require the

reimbursed applicant to execute a subrogation

agreement, providing for, among other things, that

the action may be brought in the name of the

applicant. Upon commencement of an action by

the Board pursuant to its subrogation rights, it

shall notify the reimbursed applicant at hjs or her

last known address in order that the applicant may
join in the action if desired. Any amounts

recovered by the Board in excess of the amount to

which the fund is subrogated, less the Board's

actual costs of recovery, shall be paid to or

retained by the reimbursed applicant as the case

may be.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-210. 69(a); 90-

210. 66(d).

TITLE 24 - INDEPENDENT AGENCIES

iSotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Safety and Health Review

Board of North Carolina intends to amend rules

cited as 24 NCAC 3 .0505 - .0506. .0602.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

1. 1993.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on February 15. 1993 at the N. C. State Bar

Building. Council Chambers - 3rd Floor. 208

Fayetteville Street Mall. Raleigh. N.C

ixeasonfor Proposed Action; Tlie purpose of the

amendments to the rules are to: allow

cross-appeals; define responsibilities for ordering

transcripts and for sharing the cost of transcripts

between cross-appellant; define time periods for

filing briefs and the format of briefs for

cross-appellants and to allow friend-of-the-court

briefs.

KsOmment Procedures: Anyone wishing to

comment on these proposed amendments to the

rules should send comments to Doris Hinton at 121

West Jones Street, Raleigh. NC 27603 by February

12. 1993.

CHAPTER 3 - SAFETY AND HEALTH
REVIEW BOARD OF NORTH CAROLINA

SECTION .0500 - HEARINGS

.0505 COURT REPORTERS: FEES: COST
OF TRANSCRIPT OF TESTIMONY

(a) The court reporter's fees and the cost of the

original transcript of testimony for depositions as

provided in Rules .0504 and .051 1 of this Section,

shall be borne by the party which arranges for the

reporter's appearance and each person who desires

a copy of the transcript will be responsible for

securing it and for its cost.

(b) In cases where no appeal has been effected.
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the Review Board will arrange for and pay for the

private court reporter's fees for each hearing. If

a transcript is ordered by the hearing examiner or

Board and no appeal has been effected, or if the

Board directs review, the Board will also pay for

preparation of the original transcript and persons

desiring a copy of the transcript will be

responsible for securing it and for its cost.

(c) If an appeal is effected a petition for review

js filed , the court reporter's fees, cost of the

original transcript, one copy for the Board, and

©fte copy for the appellant will be paid for by the

appellant and other persons desiring a copy of the

transcript will be responsible for securing it and

for its cost. If a cross-petition for review is filed.

the cross-petitioner shall reimburse the petitioner

for one-third of the cost of the court reporter's

fees, original transcript, and copy for the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-135.

.0506 TRANSCRIPT OF TESTIMONY
(a) Hearings, including testimony and argument

(on request) shall be transcribed verbatim. After

a dec i sion—has

—

been—rendered—by—the

—

hearing

examiner and appeal has been taken, three copies

of the transcript of te stimony taken at the hearing,

dulv certified by the reporter, shall be filed with

the Board. If review is directed by the Board, the

Board will order the transcript and notify the

parties when it is filed with the Board. If a

petition for review is filed, the petitioner shall, at

the time of filing, order the transcript and ensure

that one copy is filed with the Board. The Board

will notify parties when the transcript is filed with

the Board.

(b) The public proceedings conducted by the

Review Board and by its hearing examiners may

be recorded by an audio-tape recorder by any

person in attendance. The Chairman of the

Review Board, or the hearing examiner shall

control the manner of any tape recording process

to ensure that it is not disruptive to the proceeding.

(c) Should it become impossible or extremely

impractical for the court reporter to prepare a

transcript of the evidence because of mechanical

failure, loss or destruction of tapes or notes, or for

any other reason, it shall become the duty of the

parties to prepare a summary of evidence from

their trial notes and best recollection. The

prevailing party, or the party designated by the

hearing examiner, shall have 30 days from the date

notice is sent to him by the hearing examiner or

the Review Board in which to prepare and serve

upon opposing party his proposed summary of

evidence. The opposing party shall review it and

if he disagrees with any portion thereof, or

believes that the summary is not complete, he shall

have 20 days in which to serve upon the prevailing

party any proposed revisions, including any

deletions and additions. If the prevailing party

agrees to such revisions, the two parties shall sign

a certification that the summary of evidence is

agreed by them to accurately reflect the substance

of the testimony and other evidence presented at

the hearing. If the parties cannot agree, their

respective versions of the summary shall be

submitted to the hearing examiner and he or she

shall review the proposals, together with the

hearing examiner's trial notes, and thereafter enter

a ruling as to what constitutes the summary of

evidence, which shall thereafter be treated for all

purposes as the transcript of the proceedings.

(d) Errors in the transcript of the hearing may
be corrected by the hearing examiner on his own
motion, or on the motion of a party. Each

correction will be made by hand with pen and ink

and initialed by the hearing examiner, or the

hearing examiner may sign and attach an errata

sheet.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-135.

SECTION .0600 - POST HEARING
PROCEDURES

.0602 REVIEW: BRIEFS FOR REVIEW
(a) Petitioning for review. Any member of the

Board may direct that a decision of a hearing

examiner be reviewed by the entire Board as a

whole. Any party may reque s t review within 30

day s , adversely affected or aggrieved by the

decision of ffie hearing examiner (pursuant to Rule

.0309 or 0601 of this Chapter) or by the decision

of the Chairman of the Review Board (pursuant to

Rule .0309 of this Chapter) may file a petition for

review. The petitioner or cross-petitioner must

comply with applicable Rules .0505 and .0506 of

this Chapter. If no direction for review or request

petition for review is given effected within 30 days

ef from the filing of the hearing examiner's order

whh—the

—

Board, date on which the hearing

examiner's or Chairman's decision is filed with the

Board, such order decision shall become a fhe final

order of the Review Board. A petition for review

or cross-petition for review may be conditional:

either may state that review is sought only upon

the existence of an opposing party's petition for

review. A cross-petition for review may be filed

within seven days of notice from the opposing
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party of its petition for review.

(b) Content of the petition. A petition for

review or cross-petition for review shall concisely

and precisely state the portion(s) of the decision

for which review is sought; refer to the citations

and citation items (for example. Citation 1, Item 3)

for which review is sought; identify by number

any fact or conclusion set forth by the hearing

examiner which is not supported by a

preponderance of the evidence or which is

contended to constitute an error of law; and

identify any error contended to be prejudicial or

any instance which is contended to be an abuse of

discretion.

(c) Procedure; briefs. A petition for review^ or

cross-petition for review, timely filed, shall be

deemed granted upon receipt by the Review Board.

All interested parties to the original hearing shall

be notified of the date and the time and place of

such hearing and shall be allowed to appear in

person or by representative as previously defined.

Parties on appeal to the Review Board shall file a

brief of reasons and supporting authorities relied

on. Failure to file a brief may result in judgment

against the parties for failure to comply with these

Rules, the original and three copies of the brief

shall be filed with the Board. A party shall, prior

to the statement of facts, designate in his brief

those pages of the transcript relevant to each

portion of the decision and order of the hearing

examiner to which exception is taken. The

purpose of this Rule is to require parties to notify

the Review Board of any pages or parts of the

transcript which are irrelevant to the decision

before the Review Board, as well as to notify the

Review Board of those pages and parts of the

transcript which are relevant. A cross-petitioner

shall file a single brief divided into two distinct

sections: the first section shall respond to the

petitioner's brief; the second section shall set forth

issues on cross-appeal in accordance with this

Rule. A petitioner's reply brief shall be limited to

the issues raised in the second section of the

cross-petitioner's brief.

(1) When review is directed by the Board,

the Commissioner of Labor shall file

the first brief within 30 days after being

notified by the Board that the transcript

of the hearing has been filed with the

Board . Any opposing party shall then

file its brief within 30 days of service

of the Commissioner's brief.

(2) If a petition for review js filed, the

petitioning party shall file the first brief

within 30 days of being notified by the

Board that the transcript of the hearing

has been filed with the Board . Any
opposing party, including a

cross-petitioner, shall file its brief

within 30 days of service of the

petitioning party's brief.

(3) If a cross-petition for review is filed,

the petitioner for review shall file any

reply brief within 15 days of service of

the cross-petitioner's brief.

(4) If a petition for interlocutory review is

filed and the hearing examiner or Board

permits or orders the filing of briefs,

the first brief must be filed by the

petitioner within 15 days of notice that

review is granted. Any opposing party

shall file its brief within 15 days of

service of the petitioning party's brief.

(5) The brief of an amicus curiae may be

filed only by leave of the Review Board

Chairman. The motion for leave shall

identify the interest of the applicant and

shall state the reasons why a brief of an

amicus curiae is desirable. Any amicus

curiae shall file its brief within the time

allowed the party whose position the

amicus will support.

Normally, review will be strictly limited to issues

raised in the petition for review and cross-petition

for review , or, if review is directed by the Board,

review will normally be limited to issues upon

which the hearing examiner passed judgment.

(d) Upon review of any decision of a hearing

examiner, the Board may adopt, modify, or vacate

the decision of the hearing examiner and notify the

interested parties. The report, decision, or

determination of the Board upon review shall be

final unless further appeal is made to the court as

provided in Rule .0605 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-135.
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RRC OBJECTIONS

1 he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G.S.

143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. 143B-30.2(d).

ADMINISTRATION

Motor Fleet Management Division

1 NCAC 38 .0205 - Accident Reporting

Agency Revised Rule

AGRICULTURE

Structural Pest Control Division

2 NCAC 34 .0406 - Spill Control

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

2 NCAC 34 .0603 - Waivers-

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

2 NCAC 34 .0902 - Financial Responsibility

Agency Responded

Agency Revised Rule

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 3E .0201 - Operation of other Business in same Office

Agency Revised Rule

Community Assistance

4 NCAC 19S .0101 - Overview and Purpose

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19S .0102 - Definition

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19S .0103 - Waiver

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19S .0202 - Prohibited Costs

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19S .0401 - Distribution of Funds

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19S .1101 - Grant Agreement

Agency Revised Rule

Departmental Rules

4 NCAC IK .0103 - Eligible Applicants

4 NCAC IK .0204 - Discretionary Public Hearing by the Department

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

No Action

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

No Action

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

No Action

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

09/1 7/92

10/15/92

07/16/92

08/20/92

10/15/92

07/16/92

08/20/92

10/15/92

07/16/92

08/20/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

2193 7:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER January 4, 1993



RRC OBJECTIONS

4 NCAC IK .0205 - Formal Application Procedures: Approval

4 NCAC IK .0206 - Formal Application Procedures: Denial

4 NCAC IK .0207 - Reimbursement ofExtraordinary Expense

4 NCAC IK .0302 - Criteria for Making Necessary Findings

ENVIRONMENT. HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7H .0308 - Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas

Departmental Rules

15A NCAC U .0204 - Loans from Emergency Revolving Loan Accounts

15A NCAC U .0302 - General Provisions

15A NCAC U .0701 - Public Necessity: Health: Safety and Welfare

Environmental Management

15A NCAC 2B .0216 - Outstanding Resource Waters

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2H .0801 - Purpose

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2H .0803 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 2H .0805 - Certification and Renewal of Certification

Agency Revised Rule

Rule Returned to Agency

15A NCAC 2L .0107 - Compliance Boundary

Agency Revised Rule

15A NCAC 20 .0302 - Self Insurance

Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

15A NCAC 101 .0001 - Definitions

Agency Responded

HUMAN RESOURCES

Facility Services

10 NCAC 3R .3001 - Certificate of Need Review Categories

Agency Revised Rule

Individual and Family Support

10 NCAC 42C .3601 - Administrative Penalty Determination Process

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 42T .0001 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 42T .0006 - Service Delivery

Agency Revised Rule

Agency Revised Rule

Mental Health: General

RRC Objection 11/19/92

RRC Objection 1 1 II 9/92

RRC Objection 1 1/1 9/92

RRC Objection 11/1 9/92

RRC Objection 11/19/92

RRC Objection 06/18/92

RRC Objection 06/18/92

RRC Objection 06/18/92

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

1 1/19/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

06/18/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

11/19/92
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10 NCAC 14C .1115- Funding Group Homes for Mentally Retarded Adults RRC Objection 08/20/92

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 10/15/92

10 NCAC 14K .0216 - Waiver of Licensure Rules RRC Objection 10/15/92

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 10/15/92

10 NCAC 14T .0101 - Scope RRC Objection 10/15/92

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 10/15/92

10 NCAC 14T . 0103 - Advance Care Directives RRC Objection 10/15/92

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 10/15/92

Mental Health: Other Programs

10 NCAC 18A .0125 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 18A .0132 - Decertification

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 18D .0117 - Purpose and Scope

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

10/15/92

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES

N.C. Housing Finance Agency

24 NCAC 1M .0202 - Eligibility

No Response fror.

24 NCAC 1M .0204

No Response fror

24 NCAC 1M .0205

No Response fror

24 NCAC 1M .0206

No Response fror

24 NCAC 1M .0301

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0302

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0303

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0306

No Response fror

24 NCAC 1M .0401

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0402

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0403

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0404

No Response frot

24 NCAC 1M .0405

n Agency

Selei Hon Proc edures

n Agency

Administration

n Agency

Program Fees

n Agency

Goal and Objectives

n Agency

Eligibility Requiremen ts

n Agency

Threshold Review Criteria

n Agency

Funding Commitment

n Agency-

Goals and Objectives

n Agency-

Eligibility Requirements

n Agency

Threshold Review Criteria

n Agency-

Ranking Criteria

?i Agency

Agency Board Approval

n AgencyNo Response frot

24 NCAC lO .0101 - Purpose

Agency Revised Rule

24 NCAC lO .0102 - Eligibility

Agency Revised Rule

24 NCAC lO .0201 - Application Procedures

Agency Revised Rule

24 NCAC lO .0202 - Selection Procedures

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

10/15/92
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Agency Revised Rule

24 NCAC W .0203 - Administration

Agency Revised Rule

INSURANCE

Financial Evaluation Division

11 NCAC 11A .0602 - Licensure

Agency Revised Rule

Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangements

// NCAC 18 .0019 - Description ofForms

Seniors' Health Insurance Information Program

// NCAC 17 .0005 - SHIIP Inquiries to Insurers and Agents

JUSTICE

General Statutes Commission

12 NCAC 8 .0506 - Declaratory Rulings

Agency Revised Rule

LABOR

Occupational Safety and Health Act

13 NCAC 7C .0108 - Building Code

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule with OAH
13 NCAC 7C .0109 - Fire Prevention Code

Rule Returned to Agency

Agency Filed Rule with OAH

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Architecture

21 NCAC 2 .0108- Fees

Agency Revised Rule

Cosmetic Art Examiners

21 NCAC 14L .0301 - Applicants Licensed as Teachers in Other States

21 NCAC 14L .0302 - Requirements for Obtaining a Teacher's License

Dietetics/Nutrition

21 NCAC 17 .0016 - Violations. Complaints. Subsc/nt Board Action, <& Hearings

Agency Revised Rule

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/19/92

10/15/92

11/19/92

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

11/19/92

11/19/92

RRC Objection 06/18/92

RRC Objection 06/1 8/92

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

10/15/92

11/19/92

RRC Objection

Effi

RRC Objection

Effi

09/1 7/92

10/15/92

10/22/92

09/17/92

10/15/92

10/22/92

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92

11/19/92
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21 NCAC 56 .0501 - Requirement for Licensing

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 56 .0502 - Application Procedure: Individual

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 56 .0701 - Rules of Professional Conduct

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 56 .1603 - Classification of Surveys

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 56 .1604 - Mapping Requirements

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 56 .1605 - Classification of Topographic Surveys

Agency Revised Rule

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary Education

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 10/15/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

16 NCAC 6C .0206 - Consortium-Based Programs

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

11/19/92

11/19/92

REVENUE

Individual Income. Inheritance and Gift Tax Division

17 NCAC 3B .0401 - Penalties

17 NCAC 3B .0402 - Interest

RRC Objection 08/20/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

Individual Income Tax Division

/ 7 NCAC 6B . 0107 - Extensions

17 NCAC 6B .0115 - Additions to Federal Taxable Income

17 NCAC 6B .01 16 - Deductions from Federal Taxable Income

17 NCAC 6B .0117 - Transitional Adjustments

17 NCAC 6B .3406 - Refunds

RRC Objection 08/20/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

TRANSPORTATION

Division of Highways

19A NCAC 2B .0164 - Use of Right of Way Consultants-

Agency Revised Rule

19A NCAC2B .0165 - Asbestos Contracts with Private Firms

Agency Revised Rule

RRC Objection 09/17/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92

RRC Objection 08/20/92

Obj. Removed 10/15/92
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RULES INVALIDATED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

A his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court,

Court of Appeals, Superior Court (when available), and the Office of Administrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

1 NCAC 5A .0010 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared two portions

of Rule 1 NCAC 5A .0010 void as applied in Stauffer Information Systems, Petitioner v. Tlie North Carolina

Department of Community Colleges and T)w North Carolina Department of Administration, Respondent and

Tite University of Southern California, Intervenor-Respondent (92 DOA 0666).

15A NCAC 19A .0202(d)(10) - CONTROL MEASURES - HIV
Brenda B. Becton, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule 15A

NCAC 19A .0202(d)(10) void as applied in ACT-UP TRIANGLE (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power Triangle),

Steven Harris, and John Doe, Petitioners v. Commission for Health Services of the State of North Carolina,

Ron Levine, as Assistant Secretary of Health and State Health Director for the Department of Environment,

Health, and Natural Resources ofthe State ofNorth Carolina, William Cobey, as Secretary of the Department

of Environment. Health, and Natural Resources of the State of North Carolina, Dr. Rebecca Meriwether, as

Chief, Communicable Disease Control Section ofthe North Carolina Department ofEnvironment, Health, and

Natural Resources, Wayne Babbitt Jr. , as Chief of the HIV/STD Control Branch of the North Carolina

Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, Respondents (91 EHR 0818).
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

1 his Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions

along with an index to all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's

Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the decisions listed in the index and not published are available

upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.

KEY TO CASE CODES

ABC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission DST
BDA Board of Dental Examiners EDC
BME Board of Medical Examiners EHR
BMS Board of Mortuary Science

BOG Board of Geologists ESC
BON Board of Nursing HAF
BOO Board of Opticians HRC
CFA Commission for Auctioneers IND
COM Department of Economic and Community INS

Development LBC
CPS Department of Crime Control and Public Safety MLK.

CSE Child Support Enforcement NHA
DAG Department of Agriculture OAH
DCC Department of Community Colleges OSP
DCR Department of Cultural Resources PHC
DCS Distribution Child Support

DHR Department of Human Resources POD
DOA Department of Administration SOS
DOJ Department of Justice SPA
DOL Department of Labor

DSA Department of State Auditor WRC

Department of State Treasurer

Department of Public Instruction

Department of Environment, Health, and

Natural Resources

Employment Security Commission

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board

Human Relations Committee

Independent Agencies

Department of Insurance

Licensing Board for Contractors

Milk Commission

Board of Nursing Home Administrators

Office of Administrative Hearings

Office of State Personnel

Board of Plumbing and Heating

Contractors

Board of Podiatry Examiners

Department of Secretary of State

Board of Examiners of Speech and Language

Pathologists and Audiologists

Wildlife Resources Commission

CASE NAME
CASE

NUMBER ALJ
FILED
DATE

Sandra C. Walker

v.

Department of Human Resources. Murdoch Center

90 OSP 0254 Nesnow 12/02/92

Donald W. Osborne

v.

North Carolina State University

9 1 OSP 0556 Becton 12/02/92

Bettie G. Person

v.

DHR, Division of Social Services. CSE
91 CSE 1181 Morgan 12/10/92

Anthony I. Somme
v.

DHR, Division of Social Services. CSE
91 CSE 1246 Mann 12/14/92
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CASE NAME
CASE

NUMBER ALJ
FILED
DATE

Todd C. Snead

v.

DHR, Division of Social Services, CSE
91 CSE 1290 Morrison 12/10/92

Steve Andrew Sloan

v.

DHR, Division of Social Services, CSE
92 CSE 0020 Gray 12/10/92

Jeanette Sheppard

v.

DHR, East Carolina University

92 OSP0416 Morgan 12/08/92

Alonza Mitchell t/a Flavor,

5307 Market St.. Wilmington, NC 28405

v.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

92 ABC 0496 Mann 12/11/92

Brenda Bowers, Bowers Day Care #2

v.

DHR, Day Care Section

92 DHR 0603 Mann 12/02/92

John L. Bess

v.

DHR, Division of Social Services, CSE
92 CSE 0609 Reilly 12/14/92

Sylvia S. Pinyan DI# 00962/SSN 107-20-6984

v.

Bd of Trustees of the Teachers' & St Emp Retirement Sys

92 DST 0686 Mann 12/07/92

Gerlene Locklear (Brayboy)

v.

DHR, Division of Social Services, CSE
92 DCS 0751 Nesnow 12/07/92

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

v.

Calvin Shackleford, T/A Shack's Place

92 ABC 0777 Gray 12/15/92

Britthaven. Inc. d/b/a Britthaven of Charlotte

v.

DHR, Division of Facility Services, Licensure Section

92 DHR 0853 Morrison 1 2/09/92

Anthony Dwayne Turman

v.

N.C. Private Protection

92 DOJ 1048 West 12/14/92
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF FORSYTH

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMrNlSTRATTVE HEARINGS

92 DST 0686

i

SYLVIA S. PINYAN.
DI# 00962/SSN 107-20-6984.

Petitioner.

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE
TEACHERS' AND STATE EMPLOYEES"
RETIREMENT SYSTEM.

Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION

This contested case was heard before Julian Mann. Ill, Chief Administrative Law Judge, on October

26. 1992. in the New County Building. Washington Courtroom, High Point, North Carolina.

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

For Petitioner:

For Respondent:

APPEARANCES

Sylvia S. Pinyan

4447 Thomasville Road

Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27107

Petitioner - Pro Se

Alexander McC. Peters

Associate Attorney General

N. C. Department of Justice

P.O. Box 629

Raleigh. North Carolina 27602-0629

Attorney for Respondent

WITNESSES

Sylvia S. Pinyan. Petitioner

J. Marshall Barnes. Ill

EXHIBITS

Petitioner's Exhibit #1. 2

Respondent's Exhibit #1, 2, 3 and 4

ISSUE

I

Whether or not Respondent acted improperly or otherwise than as required by law in offsetting

Petitioner's benefits from the disability income plan?

Based upon the greater weight of the admissible evidence, the undersigned makes the following:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1

.

The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over this contested case pursuant to

Chapters 135 and I50B of the North Carolina General Statutes.

2. The Petitioner is a citizen and resident of Forsyth County, North Carolina.

3. The Petitioner was previously employed by the Davidson County Schools as a learning

disabled/emotionally handicapped teacher.

4. The Petitioner was placed on long term disability by Respondent's medical board effective

August 7, 1990.

5. At all times relevant herein. Petitioner was eligible to receive federal Social Security

retirement benefits from the Social Security Administration.

6. On or about October 30, 1991, Respondent received an Attorney General's opinion authored

by Norma S. Harrell. as to the correct interpretation of G.S. 1 35- 106(b) . Ms. Harrell interprets for the

Respondent the following: (Respondent's Exhibit #1)

"...the test is not whether the individual is actually receiving the social security

benefit. It is whether he could or would be entitled to it. Therefore, a person who is age

62 and eligible for a primary social security benefit must have his disability benefit reduced

by the amount of the primary social security benefit to which he would be entitled, regardless

of whether he has actually applied for received the social security benefit."

7. Based upon the Attorney General's opinion, on or about December 10, 1991, Respondent

notified Petitioner of its intention to offset Petitioner's benefits as follows: (Respondent's Exhibit #2)

"Our records indicate that you have attained 62 years of age. however, at present our

records do not indicate that you are in receipt of social security benefits. Therefore, it will

be necessary for you to provide us a Statement from the Social Security Administration as

to the amount of social security benefit you would have been entitled to receive at age 62."

8. Upon receipt of the foregoing correspondence. Petitioner, who was at all times eligible to

receive the long term retirement benefit from the Social Security Administration, applied for social security

retirement benefits. Petitioner began to receive the benefit from the Federal Social Security Retirement

System in March. 1992.

9. On or about March 4. 1992, the Respondent notified the Petitioner of Respondent's intention

to recoup $655.00: (Correspondence - Respondent's Exhibit #3)

"Based on information you have provided, we have determined that your long- term

disability benefits should have been reduced by the age 62 social security benefit you would

be entitled to receive. We have estimated that, effective January 1 . 1992, your benefit should

have been offset by $655.00. As your benefits were not reduced by the social security until

February, 1992, we have determined that you have been overpaid long-term disability

benefits in the amount of $655.00.

The provisions of the plan require you to refund any overpayments. Therefore, you

should forward your check or money order as soon as possible for $655.00 to the North

Carolina Employee Disability Fund in care of the Department of State Treasurer, 325 North

Salisbury Street, Albemarle Building, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-1388."

10. On or about April 13, 1992, Respondent notified Petitioner of Respondent's intention to

recoup overpayment in monthly installments by correspondence quoted in part: (Respondent's Exhibit #3)
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"Per our agreement, we will begin deducting $72.78 from your monthly benefit in

repayment of your outstanding balance. This deduction will begin with your benefit due

April 24. 1992 and will continue for approximately 9 months. No interest will be charged

on your outstanding balance."

I 1

.

Petitioner filed her contested case to dispute the Respondent's actions in making deductions

from her State Retirement Disability Income but did not dispute Respondent's interpretation of G.S. 135-

106(b) as to the setoff of benefits.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the undersigned Chief Administrative Law Judge makes the

following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1

.

The Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over this contested case pursuant to

Chapters 135 and 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes.

2. That at all times relevant herein. Petitioner was eligible to receive a primary Social Security

Retirement benefit.

3. At all times relevant hereto, the Petitioner was receiving from Respondent a long term

disability benefit pursuant to G.S. 135-106.

4. G.S. 135- 106(b) mandates that Petitioner's long term disability benefit be reduced "by an

amount, as determined by the Board of Trustees, equal to a primary' Social Security retirement benefit to

which the beneficiary might be entitled .

" (emphasis added)

5. Inasmuch as the Petitioner received from the Respondent a long term retirement disability

benefit which was not setoff by Petitioner's Social Security retirement benefit for which she was eligible to

receive, Respondent was entitled to seek a refund from the Petitioner in the amount of the overpayment.

6. Petitioner was advised of Respondent's intention to reduce Petitioner's benefit by way of

correspondence mailed directly to Petitioner on or about December 10. 1991. Although the notice of the

intention to terminate the benefits was brief. Petitioner was presented the opportunity to contest the

determination by contacting the Member Services Section at the telephone number listed. Petitioner was

accorded pre-termination procedural due process.*

Inasmuch as Petitioner was given an opportunity to file a contested case to contest the

reduction of benefits through a hearing at the Office of Administrative Hearings. Petitioner was accorded post-

termination procedural due process.

8. Petitioner did not object at the hearing to the legality of Respondent's interpretation of G.S.

135- 106(b) but only in the manner and procedure employed by Respondent to reduce Petitioner's long term

disability benefits.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. the undersigned makes the

following:

* Although the pre-termination notice may be sufficient in law . such a change in the interpretation of the

controlling statute does not appear to grant sufficient time for the affected class to which Petitioner belonged

to apply and receive the Social Security retirement benefit to which they were actually entitled.
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RECOMMENDED DECISION

That the Respondent affirm its decision to reduce Petitioner's long term disability benefit pursuant

to G.S. 135- 106(b) and that any overpayment resulting to the Petitioner be recouped from the Petitioner as

provided by law.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the agency serve a copy of the final decision on the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447. Raleigh. N. C. 27611-7447, in accordance with North Carolina General

Statute 150B-36(b).

NOTICE

The agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party an

opportunity to file exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the

agency who will make the final decision. G.S. 150B-36(a).

The agency is required by G.S. 150B-36(b) to serve a copy of the final decision on all parties and to

furnish a copy to the parties' attorney of record and to the Office of Administrative Hearings .

The agency that will make the final decision in this contested case is The Board of Trustees of the

Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System.

This the 7th day of December. 1992

Julian Mann, III

Chief Administrative Law Judge
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF MECKLENBURG

IN THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

92 DHR 0853

BRITTHAVEN. INC. d/b/a BRITTHAVEN OF
CHARLOTTE.

Petitioner.

\

.

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES. DIVISION OF FACILITY SERVICES.
LICENSURE SECTION.

Respondent.

RECOMMENDED DECISION
BASED ON STIPULATED FACTS

This contested case came on for hearing before the undersigned based upon stipulated facts and

affidavits submitted by the parties. Petitioner Britthaven. Inc. d, b/a Britthaven of Charlotte (hereinafter

"Britthaven") and Respondent North Carolina Department of Human Resources. Division of Facility Services.

Licensure Section (hereinafter "Licensure Section" or the "Agency"). Those stipulations and affidavits have

previously been filed with this office.

ISSUES

1

.

Whether the Licensure Section properly and correctly imposed administrative penalties upon

Britthaven for alleged incidents of failure to provide adequate care, treatment and services to patients.

2. If so. whether the amounts of the administrative penalties are reasonable.

JURISDICTION

1. The parties are properly before the Office of Administrative Hearings, and the Office of

Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over the parties and over the subject matter of this contested case

hearing.

2. The parties have been correctly designated, and there are no issues as to nonjoinder or

misjoinder of parties. The parties are not aware of any other person seeking to intervene.

3. The Administrative Law Judge is properly designated and appointed and that the parties are

unaware of any reason for which he should be disqualified.

BURDEN OF PROOF

The burden of going forward with evidence in the burden of persuasion lie with Respondent. In order

to prevail. Respondent has the burden to prove by the greater weight of the evidence that it properly and

correctly imposed administrative penalties upon Petitioner for alleged incidents of failure to provide adequate

care, treatment and services to patients, and that the amounts of the administrative penalties, if warranted, are

reasonable.
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FINDINGS OF FACTS

1

.

Petitioner Britthaven is a nursing home located in Charlotte. Mecklenburg County, North

Carolina.

2. Respondent Licensure Section is the agency empowered pursuant to N.C.G.S. §131 E- 1 29,

to impose administrative penalties upon nursing homes located in North Carolina.

3. On August 6, 1991, complaint investigators with the Licensure Section visited Britthaven for

the purpose of investigating a report of possible deviations from statutes and regulations governing the

licensure and operation of nursing homes.

4. Based upon that investigation, complaint investigators made recommendations for

administrative action with regard to two patients.

5. The investigators' recommendations were submitted to an Internal Review Committee,

comprised of three staff members of the Licensure Section, which on December 11, 1991, recommended that

the Licensure Section assess Britthaven two Type B-2 administrative penalties, in the amount of $50 each, for

alleged violations based upon their conclusion that while there had been violations of the Nursing Home
Patients Bill of Rights and applicable regulations, a causal connection could not be established between the

facility's actions and the patients' conditions.

6. The Internal Review Committee's recommendation was submitted to the Agency's Penalty

Review Committee ("PRC") which on January 16, 1992, recommended each penalty be increased to a Type

A-l $250 penalty, for a total penalty amount of $500.

7. PRC members voting at the January 16, 1992, meeting to increase in the penalty amount were

Albert Thompson, David Donovan, Stewart Vick, and Alfred Boyles. PRC members voting against the

recommendation to increase the penalty were Rebecca Dennis Olson, Gerald Cox and Edward Hart.

8. On February 10. 1992, the Licensure Section adopted the PRC's recommendation and

imposed a $500 administrative penalty upon Britthaven by letter from Jesse S. Goodman, Assistant Director,

Licensure and Certification to Elsie J. Kevas, Administrator, Britthaven of Charlotte.

9. By letter dated April 22, 1992, Mr. Goodman advised Ms. Kevas that the Licensure Section

was rescinding the administrative penalty and resubmitting the information regarding the penalty to the PRC
for consideration at its meeting on May 21, 1992.

10. On June 18, 1992, the PRC recommended that each penalty be increased to a Type A-l $250

penalty.

1 1

.

PRC members voting at the June 18. 1992 meeting to increase the penalty amount were Albert

Thompson. Rebecca Dennis Olson, David Donovan, Gayle Fleming and Alfred Boyles. PRC members voting

against the recommendation to increase the penalty were Gerald Cox, Edward Hart and Stewart Vick.

12. Mr. Goodman accepted the June 18. 1992 recommendation of the Penalty Review Committee

and imposed an administrative penalty in the amount of $500 upon Britthaven by letter to Elsie J. Kevas dated

June 26. 1992.

13. Britthaven timely appealed the imposition of the administrative penalty by Petition for

Contested Case Hearing filed July 23, 1992.

14. On November 12, 1992, Britthaven filed a Motion for a Recommended Decision in the nature

of Summary Disposition. On November 30, 1992, Britthaven filed a Motion to Dismiss with regard to the
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second patient for which the agency issued an administrative penalty. Britthaven withdraws those motions.

Patient #1 ("B.C.")

15. Patient #1 ("B.C.") was a 79 year old resident who was readmitted to the facility on July 16,

1991, after an eight-day period of hospitalization where she was treated for bullous pemphigus and congestive

heart failure. Her hospital diagnoses included: cerebral vascular accident with right hemiplegia, hypertension,

atrial fibrillation, Brady arrhythmias, renal failure and syphilis (treated). Treatment of the pemphigus with

Prednisone was continued after readmission to the facility.

16. On July 18, 1991. B.C.'s condition deteriorated, culminating in her death at 3:40 p.m. The

course of events were documented in the nurse's notes as follows:

0600 - A quiet night - respiration rapid - No complaints. Alert and responsive - turned and positioned

every 2 hours. No request for Oxygen. T96.7-P72-R28-BP 120/70

10: 15 a.m. - Alert and responsive, color good, skin w/d to touch. Resp. rapid @ 24-26. BP120/70

P88 T97.4. Patient unable to assist with care. Naps off and on, repositioned every 2 hours and as

needed. SR Call light within reach. Skin remains very dry. Lotion as order. Lesion dryed

increased. Spoon fed, ate 100%. Inc of BtBn changes prn. s c/o on S.O.D. noted.

10:45 a.m. - Patient noted to be dyspenic. Order received for Oxygen at 2 liters/minute prn.

2:50 p.m. - CNA found patient cold and clammy, had to change patient's entire bed. BP 80/60 T96

P unable to feel @ etc. R-38 rapid. Patient alert and responsive to stimuli. Dr. Cynn notified

waiting for return call.

3:00 p.m. - Tried to contact Dr. Cynn again. Nurse states, "I'm going to beep him." Patient chest

sounds very congested. Unable to get a pulse.

3:40 p.m. - LPN found patient with no detectable respiration, no palpable pulse (radial or carotid)

unable to auscultate BP. CPR started immed. by LPN and RN with board under back. 91 1 called

by nurse. CPR continued until emergency crew arrived. Family member was called by staff with

report of patient's condition. Message left with husband of responsible party. Emergency crew

continued emergency measures were unable to detect any vital signs. Noted dilated pupils. Call

placed to CMH and permission received to declare patient expiration.

4:10 p.m. - Attempt to call family members unsuccessful. Call placed to funeral home, they stated

they knew the family and would make an attempt to locate them.

4:35 p.m. - Call placed to granddaughter in Wadesboro. Will have responsible party call us back.

4:10 p.m. - late entry - call placed to Dr. with report of patient's expiration.

4:45 p.m. - R.D.. patient's sister called and gave permission to release the body to Smith Funeral

Home, Wadesboro.

4:50 p.m. - Funeral home was called to pick up body.

6:30 p.m. - Funeral home came to facility to transport body to Wadesboro, Smith Funeral Home.

17. In addition to notations made in the nursing notes regarding B.C., additional measures were

taken to care for this patient on July 18. 1991, between 7:30 a.m. and 3:40 p.m.

Specifically, the following measures were taken:
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7:30 a.m. Blood pressure, temperature, and other vital signs taken, bed bath;

8:00 a.m. Spoon feeding breakfast;

10:00 a.m. Vital signs taken, patient assessed;

10:35 a.m. Patient repositioned;

12:00 noon Ampicillin administered;

12:40 p.m. Vital signs taken, spoon fed lunch;

1:00 p.m. Niacinamide given and magic mouthwash swish and swallow done;

2:00 p.m. Vital signs taken;

2:45 p.m. Vital signs taken;

3:00 - 3:15 p.m. On-coming charge nurse made routine rounds.

18. Patient B.C.'s room was only 2 patient rooms from the nurse's station. She was being

constantly monitored during the entire day on July 18. 1991, prior to her death at 3:40 p.m.

Patient #2 ("W..T.")

19. Patient #2 ("W.J.") was an 80 year old male who was readmitted to Britthaven on May 27,

1991 after a ten day hospitalization at Mercy Hospital in Charlotte including a stay in the Intensive Care Unit.

He had a history of decompensated congestive heart failure, pulmonary embolus, deep vein thrombosis, and

while in the hospital on May 18, 1991, he had a respiratory arrest, secondary to hypoxemia and was

resuscitated. According to the hospital discharge summary, several times in the past W.J. had documented

pulmonary embolus.

20. Upon return to Britthaven, W.J. was documented to be alert and oriented. For the next 21/2

days he remained stable on oxygen at 2 liters per minute, with temperatures 96.4° to 99.4° F, pulses 58 to

80, respirations 18 to 48. and blood pressures 120/60 to 156/80. He received Lasix 40mg, Digoxin .25mg,

and Coumadin 5mg every day.

21. Beginning at 4:00 p.m. on May 30, 1991, patient W.J.'s nurses notes were as follows:

1600 hrs. - pt. condition remains unchanged, guarded. Oxygen per nasal canal at 2 liters per min.

in progress. Position turned every 2 hr. Skin warm and dry: responsive to stimuli. Digs. P.

0.:intake poor, unable to swallow on his own. Right side of mouth twisted, BP124/16. P64, R22,

temp. 99.4.

2100 hrs. - Pt. unresponsive. Vital signs remains stable, BP/I 14/70, P. 60. R. 16 Unable to consume

diet self. Not swallowing. Food holding in his mouth. Mouth care given by staff and feedings by

staff.

2315 hrs. - Condition unchanged. Remains guarded. Oxygen via nasal cannule at 2 liters/minute.

Skin cool and moist to touch. Respirations shallow.

2400 hrs. - No changes noted, respirations remain shallow.

5/31/91

0040 hrs. - Patient found unresponsive. Night charge nurse was called. Vital signs were taken.

None present. Dr. Richardson's answering service was called by RN on duty.

0100 hrs. - No call received from Dr. Richardson. Answering service called again.

0110 hrs. - Dr. Richardson returned call. Stated her answering service did not contact her previously

(at 0040). Asked for orders. Dr. Richardson suggested I call the DON and ask for facility procedure

and act accordingly. DON notified of situation. Suggestion made to send pt. to hospital ER to be

pronounced. Dr. Richardson notified of this. Stated that she would sign death certificate in A.M.

911 called. CPR initiated. Paramedic and 911 responded. Carried out necessary procedures for

7:79 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER Januan' 4, 1993 2208



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

present situation.

0230 hrs. - Family was notified and changed funeral home to Beasley's.

0400 hrs. - Body released to Beasley's Funeral Home.

22. On May 30, 1991, at 11:00 p. m., Edith Williams, R.N., the nurse in charge of the 11:00

p.m. to 7:00 a.m. shift, reviewed the condition of the patients with Loretta O'Malley, the nurse in charge of

the 3:00 p.m. to 1 1 :00 p.m. shift.

23. As they conducted their shift rounds, Ms. O'Malley specifically pointed out to Ms. Williams

the condition of patient W.J. in room 24-A. They observed W.J. carefully because Ms. O'Malley felt that

he was the sickest patient in the building on that evening. When they visited him in his room, his respirations

were regular and appeared unlabored, and his pulse was strong and regular. His extremities were cool to the

touch but they had been so for a number of days. Basically, his condition appeared to Ms. Williams to be

the same as on previous evenings since he returned from the hospital. Ms. O'Malley stated that his condition

appeared to be unchanged since she had last monitored him at 10:00 p.m.

24. After they completed their shift rounds, Ms. Williams began to monitor and assess other

patients in the SNF wing, who were also in critical condition. She received no further information regarding

W.J.'s condition until some time after 12:40 a.m.. at which time. Mary Caldwell, L.P.N.. advised her that

during a monitoring visit W.J. had no respiration or pulse.

25. W.J. had been seriously ill for some period of time. He had been in and out of the hospital

several times during the months prior to his expiration.

26. Respondent's nurse consultants contacted the North Carolina Board of Nursing for

investigation regarding their findings.

27. With regard to patient W.J., the North Carolina Board of Nursing issued a reprimand to Mary

Caldwell, L.P.N., for failure to initiate resuscitative measures when she found him to be without respirations

or heartbeat. The Board of Nursing determined that no action should be taken against Edith Williams, R.N.,

the supervisor R.N. on that shift, or any other nurse, with regard to the care of patient W.J. No citations

were made by the Board of Nursing regarding patient B.C., or regarding nursing assessment of either patient.

28. The Agency's internal guidelines define a Type A-l violation as "[o]ne violation involving

one patient with substantial risk of death or serious physical harm."

29. Agency internal guidelines define a Type B-2 violation as "[o]ne violation invoking one or

more patients put at risk with minimal or potential impact on patient health, safety or welfare."

30. With the exception of the administrative penalty which is the subject of this contested case,

the Agency has noted no violations of licensure statutes or rules at the Britthaven facility warranting an

administrative penalty or other negative sanctions.

31. Following receipt of the Agency's Report of Survey dated September 13. 1991 , reporting on

the August 6, 1991. complaint investigation, Britthaven submitted a Plan of Correction to the Agency on

September 30, 1991, providing that all deficiencies noted would be adequately addressed and corrected by

October 11. 1991 . The Agency accepted that Plan of Correction and requested no changes, and the Agency

has not cited Britthaven for failing to timely implement that Plan of Correction.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact, the undersigned makes the following:
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. A Type A violation is defined by G.S. §131E-129(a)(l) as

a violation by a facility of the regulations, standards, and requirements set forth in G.S.

13IE-117. or applicable State or federal laws and regulations governing the licensure or

certification of a facility which creates substantial risk that death or serious physical harm to

a resident will occur or where such harm has occurred.

2. A Type B violation is defined in G.S. § 1 3 1 E- 129(a)(2) as

a violation by a facility of the regulations, standards, and requirements set forth in G.S.

131 E- 117, or applicable State or federal laws and regulations governing the licensure or

certification of a facility which presents a direct relationship to the health, safety or welfare

of any resident, but which does not create substantial risk that death or serious physical harm

will occur.

3. In determining the amount of the penalty, G.S. §13 1E-1 29(c) sets forth the following factors

which must be considered by the Agency:

(1

)

The gravity of the violation, including the probability that death or serious physical

harm to a resident will result or has resulted; the severity of the actual or potential

harm, and the extent to which the provisions of the applicable statutes or regulations

were violated;

(2) The reasonable diligence exercised by the licensee and efforts to correct violations;

(3) The number and type of previous violations committed by the licensee;

(4) The amount of assessment necessary to ensure immediate and continued compliance;

and

(5) The number of patients put at risk by the violation.

4. Based upon the foregoing definitions, and the Agency's own internal guidelines set forth in

Finding of Fact numbers 28 and 29, the Agency has failed to sustain its burden of showing that the actions

of Britthaven created a substantial risk that death or serious physical harm would occur to patients B.C. or

W.J., or that such harm occurred. Therefore, the Agency has failed to sustain its burden that a Type A
violation was justified.

5. The Agency has sustained its burden of showing that the actions of Britthaven constituted a

violation of the regulations, standards and requirements set forth in G.S. 131 E- 117 or applicable state or

federal laws and regulations, which presented a direct relationship to the health, safety, or welfare of patients

B.C. and W.J., but which did not create substantial risk that death or serious physical harm would occur to

those patients. Therefore, the Agency has sustained its burden of showing that it properly and correctly

imposed administrative penalties upon Britthaven for failure to provide adequate care, treatment and services

to patients.

6. The Agency's Internal Review Committee's conclusion that the alleged violations by

Britthaven warranted two Type B-2 $50 penalties was a reasonable penalty amount which should have been

imposed.
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RECOMMENDED DECISION

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is recommended that the final

decision maker order that the administrative penalty imposed by the Licensure Section upon Britthaven be

reduced to two Type B-2 $50 penalties, for a total penalty amount of $100.

NOTICE

The Agency making the final decision in this contested case is required to give each party the

opportunity to file exceptions to this recommended decision and to present written arguments to those in the

Agency who will make the final decision. G.S. $ 150B-36(a). The Agency that will make the final decision

in this contested case is the North Carolina Department of Human Resources.

This the 9th day of December, 1992.

i

Fred G. Morrison. Jr.

Administrative Law Judge

I
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

1 he North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two of these,

titles and chapters, are mandatory. Tfie major subdivision of the NCAC is the title. Each major

department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been assigned a title number.

Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical in order. Tlie other two.

subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Architecture 2

2 Agriculture Auctioneers 4

3 Auditor Barber Examiners 6

4 Economic & Community Development Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

5 Correction Chiropractic Examiners 10

6 Council of State General Contractors 12

7 Cultural Resources Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

8 Elections Dental Examiners 16

9 Governor Dietetics/Nutrition 17

III Human Resources Electrical Contractors IS

II Insurance Electrolysis 19

12 Justice Foresters 20

13 Labor Geologists 21

14A Crime Control & Public Safety Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Landscape Architects 26

Resources Landscape Contractors 28

16 Public Education Marital and Family Therapy 51

17 Revenue Medical Examiners 32

18 Secretary of State Midwifery Joint Committee 33

19A Transportation Mortuary Science 34

20 Treasurer Nursing 36

21 Occupational Licensing Boards Nursing Home Administrators 37

22 Administrative Procedures Occupational Therapists 38

23 Community Colleges Opticians 40

24 Independent Agencies Optometry 42

25 State Personnel Osteopathic Examination & Reg. (Repealed) 44

26 Administrative Hearings Pharmacy

Physical Therapy Examiners

46

4S

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors 56

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work 63

Speech & Language Pathologists & Audiologists 64

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1992 - March 1993)

Pages Issue

1
- 105 1 April

106 - 173 2 April

174 - 331 3 May
332 - 400 4 - May
401 - 490 5 - June

491 - 625 6 - June

626 - 790 7 - July

791 - 902 8 - July

903 - 965 9 - August

966 - 1086 10 - August

1087 -
1 154 11 September

1 155 - 1253 12 September

1254-1350 13 October

1351 - 1463 14 October

1464 - 1640 15 November

1641 - 1720 16 - November

1721 - 1828 17 - December

1829 - 2059 18 December

2060 - 2215 19 - January

ADMINISTRATION
Auxiliary Services. 4

Motor Fleet Management Division. 794

AGRICULTURE
Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board. 336

Pesticide Board. 1276

Plant Industry. 904

Structural Pest Control Committee, 332

Veterinary Division. 342

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
Community Colleges. 1535

General Provisions. 1531

Miscellaneous Programs, 1598

CULTURAL RESOURCES
U.S.S. Battleship Commission, 911

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Banking Commission, 629. 1467

Community Assistance, 909. 968

Departmental Rules, 801

Savings Institutions Division. 1833

ENVIRONMENT. HEALTH. AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Adult Health. 1199

Coastal Management, 211, 655. 1098. 1507

Departmental Rules. 826. 1852

Environmental Health. 223
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Environmental Management, 190, 416, 500, 644, 830, 1013, 1487, 1856, 2086

Governor's Waste Management Board, 564, 920, 1 197

Health: Epidemiology, 140, 1212

Health: Personal Health, 1217

Health Services, 52, 659, 1174, 1736, 1985, 2141

Marine Fisheries, 530

NPDES Permits Notices, 1, 107

Radiation Protection, 136, 1520, 1863, 2087

Sedimentation Control, 920

Vital Records, 565

Wildlife Resources Commission, 28, 133, 408, 449, 551, 921, 1299. 1414, 1658, 1736

Wildlife Resources Commission Proclamation, 176, 2082

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 106, 174, 406, 493, 628, 793, 966, 1090, 1275, 1465, 1644, 1721

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 150B, 1254, 2060

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 401, 491, 626, 791, 903, 1087, 1155, 1351, 1464. 1641, 1829, 2081

HUMAN RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 121, 346

Day Care Rules, 123

Economic Opportunity, 5

Facility Services, 111, 177, 496, 634, 980, 1352, 1647

Medical Assistance, 4, 415, 496, 816, 989, 1156, 1295. 1391, 1649, 1723, 1842, 2083

Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 111, 297, 409, 809, 1092, 1276

Social Services Commission, 183, 911, 1471

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES
Housing Finance Agency, 450, 576, 928, 1219

Safety and Health Review Board, 2190

INSURANCE
Actuarial Services Division, 1411

Agent Services Division, 1410

Consumer Services Division, 125, 1157

Departmental Rules, 7, 1095, 1405

Engineering and Building Codes, 19, 643

Financial Evaluation Division, 1162, 1849

Fire and Rescue Services Division, 17. 1406

Hearings Division, 124, 1096

Life and Health Division. 22, 347, 1167

Market Conduct Division, 1850

Medical Database Commission. 1650

Property and Casualty Division, 20, 1848

Seniors' Health Insurance Information Program, 132

JUSTICE
Alarm Systems Licensing Board, 27, 189, 643, 919, 1414, 1486. 1732

Criminal Information, 1097

General Statutes Commission, 353

Private Protective Services, 918, 1731
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Sheriffs Education and Training. 990

State Bureau of Investigation. 188, 499. 1413

LICENSING BOARDS
Architecture. 1111

Certified Public Accountant Examiners. 355

Chiropractic Examiners. 1416

Cosmetic Art Examiners. 360, 922. 1669

Dietetics/Nutrition. 923

Electrical Contractors. 1785

Electrolysis Examiners, 69. 700

Geologists, 1792

Medical Examiners, 1304. 1417. 1987

Mortuary Science, Board of, 2184

Nursing. Board of. 232. 700. 1528

Opticians. 1793

Pharmacy. Board of. 1418

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, 566

Speech and Language and Pathologists and Audiologists, 705

i

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
List of Rules Codified, 72, 362, 452. 584, 1671

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Departmental Rules. 1 108

Elementary' and Secondary. 852. 1108. 1666

REVENUE
License and Excise Tax. 712

Motor Fuels Tax, 361

STATE PERSONNEL
Office of State Personnel. 237. 705. 1113. 1419. 2005

TAX REVIEW BOARD
Orders of Tax Review. 494

TRANSPORTATION
Highways. Division of. 228. 856. 1062. 1110. 1669. 1781

Motor Vehicles, Division of. 68, 142

(

2215 7:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER Januan' 4, 1993



NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchased for sewn hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at one-half

the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter

New Total

Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

1 - 53 Full Code

1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

to

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

1

1

12

13

13

13

I4A

15A

15A

I5A

15A

15A

1
- 38

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 - 4

1 - 2

3 - 20

1 - 2

3 - 4

1 - 4

1
- 12

1 - 9

1 - 4

1 - 2

3A - 3K
3L - 3R

3S - 3W
4 - 6

7

8 - 9

10

1 1
- 14

15 - 17

18

19 - 30

31 - 33

34 - 41

42

43 - 5

1

1 - 18

1 - 12

1
- 6

7

8 - 16

1 - 11

1 - 2

3 - 6

7

8 - 9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Governor/Lt. Governor

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor

OSHA
Labor

Crime Control and

Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management

EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

1 90.00

2 75.00

3 75.00

4 10.00

5 45.00

6 90.00

7 60.00

8 30.00

9

60.00

10 10.00

11 45.00

12 30.00

13 90.00

14

45.00

15 30.00

16 30.00

17 30.00

IS 30.00

19 30.00

2D 60.00

21 45.00

22 75.00

23 90.00

24 30.00

25 60.00

26 45.00

27 90.00

2S 90.00

2M 90.00

30 30.00

31 45.00

32 45.00

33

45.00

34 90.00

55 45. (X)

36 45.00

37 30.00

38 45.00

Continued



Volume Title Chapter

New

Subject Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

39 15A

15A

16

17

17

18

19A

20

:i

21

21
TO

23

24

25

26

11-18
19 - 26

1 - 6

1 - 6

7-11

1 - 8

1 - 6

1 - 9

1 - 16

17 - 37

38 - 70

1 - 2

1 - 2

1 - 3

1

1 - 4

(North Caro

EHNR 90.00

EHNR
(includes Breathalizer i 75.00

Education 30.00

Revenue 75.00

Revenue 60.00

Secretan' of State 30.00

Transportation 90.00

Treasurer 45.00

Licensing Boards 75.00

Licensing Boards 75.00

Licensing Boards

Administrative Procedures 75.00

Community Colleges 10.00

Independent Agencies 10.00

State Personnel 60.00

Administrative Hearings 10.00

Subtotal

ina subscribers add 6^ sales tax)

Total

40

41

4:

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

51

52

53

t

(Make checks payable to Office ofAdministrative Hearings.)

This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

(

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH. NORTH CAROLINA 27611-7447
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

I Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($105.00)/year subscription) (N.C. Subscribers please add sales tax.)

J Renew North Carolina Register

3 Check Enclosed Please bill me

lease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

AME ADDRESS

ITY STATE ZIP

HONE

leturn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1 . Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. 0. Drawer 27447

Raleigh. North Carolina 27611-7447
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M c y
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FIRST CLASS MAIL

585

UJItf. OF NORTH CAROLINA
L ^« LIBRARY

"HAPEL HILL
NC 27599


