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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODF,

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER TEMPORARY RULES

The North Carolina Register is published twice a month and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and notices of

public hearings filed under G.S. 150B-21.2 must be published in

the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately

fifty pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of

charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and

institutions.

The North Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription

at a cost of one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) for 24 issues.

Individual issues may be purchased for eight dollars ($8.00).

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings,

P. 0. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N. C. 27611-7447.

Under certain emergency conditions, agencies may issue

temporary rules. Within 24 hours of submission to OAH, the

Codifier of Rules must review the agency's written statement of

findings of need for the temporary rule pursuant to the provisions in

G.S. 150B-21.1. If the Codifier determines that the findings meet

the criteria in G.S. 150B-21.1, the rule is entered into the NCAC. If

the Codifier determines that the findings do not meet the criteria,

the rule is returned to the agency. The agency may supplement its

findings and resubmit the temporary rule for an additional review

or the agency may respond that it will remain with its initial

position. The Codifier, thereafter, will enter the rule into the

NCAC. A temporary rule becomes effective either when the

Codifier of Rules enters the rule in the Code or on the sixth

business day after the agency resubmits the rule without change.

The temporary rule is in effect for the period specified in the rule or

180 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the

same time the temporary rule is filed with the Codifier.

ADOPTION AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The following is a generalized statement of the procedures to be

followed for an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule. For the

specific statutory authority, please consult Article 2A of Chapter

150B of the General Statutes.

Any agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include the time and place of the public

hearing (or instructions on how a member of the public may request

a hearing); a statement of procedure for public comments; the text

of the proposed rule or the statement of subject matter; the reason

for the proposed action; a reference to the statutory authority for the

action and the proposed effective date.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least 15 days

must elapse following publication of the notice in the North
Carolina Register before the agency may conduct the public

hearing and at least 30 days must elapse before the agency can take

action on the proposed rule. An agency may not adopt a rule that

differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of

the public notice, until the adopted version has been published in

the North Carolina Register for an additional 30 day comment
period.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

the rule with the Rules Review Commission (RRC). After approval

by RRC, the adopted rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH).
A rule or amended rule generally becomes effective 5 business

days after the rule is filed with the Office of Administrative

Hearings for publication in the North Carolina Administrative Code
(NCAC).

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating

agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency or

before filing with OAH for publication in the NCAC.

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages of

material of which approximately 35% of is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

150B-21.18.

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by
chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum cost of

two dollars and 50 cents (S2.50) for 10 pages or less,

plus fifteen cents (SO. 15) per each additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in

excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the

full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars

($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased

with supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication are available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC should be

directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1, 1986.

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Office of

Administrative Hearings, ATTN: Rules Division, P.O.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447, (919)

733-2678.
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
Publication Schedule

(January 1992 - December 1992)

Issue Last Day Last Day Earliest Earliest Last Day *

Date for for Date for Date for to Earliest

Filing Electronic Public Adoption Submit Effective

Filing Hearing by
Agency

to

RRC
Date

*******************************************************************

01/02 92 12/09/91 12/16/91 01/17/92 02/01/92 02/20/92 04/01/92

01/15/92 12/20/91 12/31 91 01/30/92 02 14 92 02,20/92 04/01/92

02/03/92 01/10/92 01/17/92 02/18/92 03/04, 92 03,20/92 05/01/92

02/14/92 01/24/92 01/31/92 02/29/92 03/15/92 03,20/92 05/01/92

03/02/92 02/10/92 02/17/92 03/17/92 04/01/92 04/20/92 06/01/92

03/16/92 02/24/92 03/02/92 03/31/92 04/15/92 04/20/92 06/01/92

04/01/92 03/11/92 03 18 92 04/16/92 05 01 92 05 20/92 07/01/92

04/15/92 03/25/92 04/01 92 04/30/92 05/15 92 05/20/92 07 01/92

05/01/92 04/10/92 04/17/92 05/16/92 05/3 L 92 06,20/92 08/03/92

05/15/92 04/24/92 05/01/92 05/30/92 06/ 14 '92 06/20/92 08/03/92

06/01/92 05/11/92 05/18/92 06 16/92 07/01 92 07 20/92 09/01/92

06/15/92 05/22/92 06/01/92 06/30/92 07/15/92 07,20/92 09 01/92

07/01/92 06/10/92 06/17/92 07/16/92 07/31/92 08, 20/92 10/01/92

07/15/92 06/24/92 07/01/92 07/30/92 08/14 92 08/20/92 10/01/92

08/03/92 07/13/92 07/20/92 08/18/92 09/02/92 09/20/92 11/02/92

08/14/92 07/24/92 07/31/92 08/29/92 09/13 92 09/20/92 11 02/92

09/01/92 08/11/92 OS IS 92 09/16/92 10/01 92 10,20/92 12 01 92

09/15/92 08/25/92 09/01/92 09 30/ 92 10/15 92 10,20,92 12/01/92

10/01/92 09/10/92 09/17/92 10/16/92 10/31/92 11,20/92 01/04/93

10/15/92 09/24/92 10,01,92 10 30/92 11/14 92 11,20/92 01/04/93

11/02/92 10/12/92 10.19 92 11/17/92 12/02 92 12 20/92 02/01/93

11/16/92 10/23/92 10/30/92 12/01/92 12/16 92 12/20/92 02/01/93

12/01/92 11/06/92 11/13 92 12/16/92 12 31 92 01/20/93 03/01/93

12/15/92 11 24 92 12 01 92 1230/92 01/14 93 01,20/93 03'01/93

* The "Earliest Effective Date" is computed assuming that the agency follows

the publication schedule above, that the Rules Review Commission approves the

rule at the next calendar month meeting after submission, and that RRC delivers

the rule to the Codifier of Rules five (5J business days before the 1st business

day of the next calendar month.



CORRECTION

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

15ANCAC IOC .0305

Correction to the notice as published in the NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER, Volume 6, Issue 20,

pages 1542-1545 on January 15, 1992.

In entering the notice for publication in the Register, the amendment to Paragraph (a) to change the

creel and size limits for Red Drum was not shown. The amendment as filed by the agency is shown
in BOLD ITALIC.

The Wildlife Resources Commission will extend the comment deadline from February 15, 1992 to

March 3, 1992. Written comments must be delivered or mailed to the N.C. Wildlife Resources Com-
mission, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

******************

IVotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-2I.2 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule(s)

cited as 15 NCAC IOC .0305.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is April

I, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on January 30, 1992 at Room 386, Archdale

Building, 5/2 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC
27604-1 188.

I\eason for Proposed Action: To provide con-

sistent creel and size limits and seasons for striped

bass and consistent creel and size limits for red

drum.

O omment Procedures: Interested persons may
present their views either orally or in writing at the

hearing. In addition, the record of hearing will

be open for receipt of written comments from
January 15, 1992 to February 15, 1992. Such

written comments must be delivered or mailed to

the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N.

Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27604-1 188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER IOC - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH

.0305 OPEN SEASONS: CREEL AND SIZE LIMITS
(a) Generally. Subject to the exceptions listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the open seasons and

creel and size limits are as indicated in the following table:

DAILY CREEL MINIMUM
GAME FISHES LIMITS SIZE LIMITS OPEN SEASON

Mountain Trout:

Wild Trout 4 7 in. All year

Waters (exc. 15) (exc. 2)

Hatchery Sup- 7 None All year, except

ported Trout March 1 to 7:00 a.m.

Waters on first Saturday

in April

(exes. 2 & 3)

6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992 1637



CORRECTION

Muskellunge

and Tiger Musky
2 30 in. ALL YEAR

Chain Pickerel

(Jack)

None None ALL YEAR

Walleye 8

(exes. 9 & 10)

None
(exc. 9)

ALL YEAR

Sauger S 15 in. ALL YEAR

Black Bass:

Largemouth 5

(exc. 10)

14 in.

(exes. 4,

8& 11)

ALL YEAR
(exc. 13)

Smallmouth
and Spotted

5

(exc. 10)

12 in.

(exes. 4,

8& 11)

ALL YEAR

White Bass 25 None ALL YEAR

Sea Trout (Spot-

ted or Speckled)

None 12 in. ALL YEAR

Flounder None 13 in. ALL YEAR

Red drum (channel

bass, redfish,
puppy drum)

\onc 5 U 18 in. ALL YEAR

Striped Bass

and their hybrids

(Morone Hybrids)

8 aggregate

(exes. 1 & 6)

16 in.

(exes. 1,

6& 12)

ALL YEAR
(exes. 6 & 16)

Kokanee Salmon 7 None ALL YEAR

Panfishes None
(exes. 5 & 14)

None
(exc. 14)

ALL YEAR
(exc. 5)

NONGAME FISHES None None ALL YEAR
(exc. 7)

(b)

(1

(^

(3)

(4)

(5)

Exceptions

In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister River to the Brantly Steam Plant

Dam, and in John II. Kerr, Gaston, and Roanoke Rapids Reservoirs, the creel limit on striped

bass and Morone hybrids is four in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 inches.

In designated public mountain trout waters the season for taking all species of fish is the same
as the trout fishing season. There is no closed season on taking trout from Nantahala River and
all tributaries (excluding impoundments) upstream from Nantahala Lake, and the impounded
waters of power reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply reservoirs open to the public for

fishing.

Under an agreement with Tennessee, the minimum size limit on trout in Calderwood Reservoir

is seven inches.

Bass taken from streams designated as public mountain trout waters or from Calderwood Res-

ervoir may be retained without restriction as to size limit.

On Mattamuskeet Lake, special federal regulations apply.

163S 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



CORRECTION

(6) In the inland fishing waters of Cape Fear, Xeuse and Tar Rivers and their tributaries extending

upstream to the first impoundment, the daily creel limit for striped bass and their hybrids is one
fish and the minimum length limit is 18 inches. In the Roanoke River up to the first

impoundment, from July 1 through March 31 and June 1 through June 30 the daily creel limit

for stripped bass is one fish and the minimum length limit is 18 inches; from April 1 to May 31

the daily creel limit is three fish, no fish between the lengths of 22 inches and 27 inches may be

retained, and the minimum length limit is 16 inches, except no fish may be retained in Roanoke
River and its tributaries including Cashie, Middle and Eastmost rivers from Mav 1 to December
31, 1991.

(7) See 15A NCAC IOC .0407 for open seasons for taking nongame fishes by special devices.

(8) The maximum combined number of black bass of all species that may be retained per day is

five fish, no more than two of which may be smaller than the applicable minimum size limit.

The minimum size limit for all species of black bass is 14 inches, with no exception in Lake Luke
Marion in Moore County, in Reedy Creek Park lakes in Mecklenburg County, and in Currituck

Sound and tributaries north of Wright Memorial Bridge; in North River and tributaries in

Currituck and Camden Counties north of a line between Camden Point and the end of SR 1 124.

In and west of Madison, Buncombe, Henderson and Polk Counties the minimum size limit is

12 inches. In B. Everett Jordan Reservoir a minimum size limit of 16 inches, with no exception,

applies to largemouth bass. In Falls of Neuse Reservoir, east of SR 1004, Sutton Lake and
Tuckertown Lake no black bass between the lengths of 12 inches and 16 inches may be retained,

and the minimum size limit for black bass is 16 inches, except that the daily creel may contain

two black bass of less than 12 inches in length. In W. Kerr Scott Reservoir there is no minimum
size limit for spotted bass.

(9) A minimum size limit of 15 inches applies to walleye taken from Lake James and its tributaries,

and the daily creel limit for walleye is four fish in Linville River upstream from the NC 126

bridge above Lake James.

(10) The creel limit for black bass and walleye taken from Calderwood Reservoir is 10.

(11) The minimum size limit for all black bass, with no exception, is IS inches in the following

trophy bass lakes:

(A) Cane Creek Lake in Lnion County; and
(B) Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County.

(12) In all impounded inland waters and their tributaries, except those waters described in Ex-
ceptions (1), the daily creel limit of striped bass and their hybrids may include not more than

two fish of smaller size than the minimum size limit.

(13) In Cane Creek Reservoir (Orange County) the season for taking largemouth bass is closed.

( 14) In Lake Tillery, Falls Lake, Badin Lake, and Tuckertown Lake a daily creel limit of 20 fish and
a minimum size limit of 8 inches apply to crappie.

(15) In Slick Rock Creek the minimum size is 7 inches for brook trout and 10 inches for brown and
rainbow trout.

(16) In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound,
Chowan River, Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries (ex-

cluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their tributaries), striped bass fishing season,

size limits and creel limits shall be the same as those established by duly adopted rules of is

closed when adjacent joint b* coastal fishing wat ers aw closed te- hook m4 few fishing fof striped

bass bv the Marine Fisheries Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. 120-30.911, effective July 16, 1986, requires that all letters and other documents issued by the

Attorney General of the United States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change af-

fecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of J 965 be published in the North Carolina

Register. /

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

JRD:SSC:NG:lrj
DJ 166-012-3 Voting Section

91-1636 P.O. Box 66128

Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

July 3, 1991

Kenneth R. Hoyle, Esq.

Lee County Attorney

P. O. Box 1968

Sanford, North Carolina 27331-1968

Dear Mr. Hoyle:

This refers to the relocation of the Board of Elections office in Lee County, North Carolina, sub-

mitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended,
42 L'.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on May 29, 1991.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the specified change. However, we note

that Section 5 expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar sub-

sequent litigation to enjoin the enforcement of the change. In addition, as authorized by Section 5,

we reserve the right to reexamine this submission if additional information that would otherwise require

an objection comes to our attention during the remainder of the sixty-day review period. See the

Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.41 and 51.43).

Sincerely,

John R. Dunne
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones

Chief, Votine Section

1640 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



ORDERS OF THE TAX REVIEW BOARD

[This Section contains ORDERS of the TAX REVIEW BOARD issued under G.S. 105-241.2.]

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE TAX REVIEW BOARD

COUNTY OF WAKE

ADMINISTRATIVE
DECISION NUMBER: 265

In the matter of:

The Proposed Assessments of

Additional Withholding Tax for

the Quarterly Periods Ending
31 March 1988, 30 June 1988, and

30 September 1988 by the Secretary

of Revenue against 2 1 st Century

Builders, a partnership.

THIS MATTER was heard before the undersigned duly appointed and acting members of the Tax
Review Board at its regular meeting in the City of Raleigh on 18 December 1991, upon Petition of

21ST CENTURY BUILDERS, a partnership, through its principal partner, LARRY W. ROARK,
for review of a Final Decision of the Deputy Secretary of Revenue sustaining proposed assessments of

additional withholding tax for the quarterly periods ending 31 March 1988, 30 June 1988, and 30 Sep-

tember 1988;

AND IT APPEARING TO THE BOARD that matters were raised by the Petitioner at the

hearing before the Board regarding: (1) the nature of the Petitioner's business arrangements with

persons deemed by the Department of Revenue to be employees of the Petitioner and (2) the particular

nature of the work performed by certain persons deemed by the Department of Revenue to be em-
ployees of the Petitioner as the trade of such persons bears on the question of whether they were em-
ployees of the Petitioner; that such evidence was not presented by the Petitioner at the hearing before

the Deputy Secretary of Revenue; that such evidence is material to the issues raised in the Petitioner's

Petition, is not cumulative, and could not reasonably have been presented at the hearing before the

Deputy Secretary of Revenue;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Petitioner's case is remanded to the Deputy Secretary

of Revenue, where the Petitioner shall have the opportunity to present additional evidence to be taken

and ruled upon by the Deputy Secretary.

Entered in the City of Raleigh this 30th day of January, 1992.

TAX REVIEW BOARD

Harlan E. Boyles, Chairman
State Treasurer

William W. Redman, Jr.

Chairman, Utilities Commission

Jeff D. Batts

6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992 1641



PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 2 - DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N. C. Board ofAgriculture in-

tends to adopt rule(s) cited as 2 NCAC 48

A

.0239, .0240, .0241; 52E .0103 and amend rule(s)

cited as 2 NCAC 43L .0202; 4SA .0601, .0608,

.0611; 52B .0204, .0207, .0209, .02/0. and .0212.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May
1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on March 19, 1992 at the Gov. James B.

Hunt, Jr. Horse Complex (Restaurant), 4601

Trinity Rd., Raleigh, NC 27607.

IXeason for Proposed Action:

Rule 2 NCAC 43L .0202 - Increases gate fees for

Charlotte Farmers Market.

Rules 2 NCAC 48A .0239; .0240; .0241 - Establishes

procedures for obtaining permit to sell bees and
adopts forms.

Rules 2 NCAC 48A .0601; .0608; .0611 - Changes
boll weevil eradication program rules by eliminat-

ing provisions for delayed payment of fees, by

changing method of assessing penalties and inter-

est for late payment or under-reporting of acreage.

Rules 2 NCAC 52B .0204; .0207; .0209; .0210; .0212

- Changes requirements for importation of cattle,

swine, sheep, birds and wild animals.

Rule 2 NCAC 52E .0103 - Establishes requirements

for sale of cattle which have been sold through a

livestock market within the previous 21 days.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may
present statements either orally or in writing at the

public hearing or in writing prior to the hearing

by mail addressed to David S. McLeod. Secretary

of the North Carolina Board of Agriculture, P.O.

Box 27647, Raleigh, NC 27611.

CHAPTER 43 - MARKETS

SUBCHAPTER 43L - MARKETS

SECTION .0200 - FEES: CHARLOTTE FARMERS MARKET

.0202 GATE FEES
The following gate fees shall be paid upon entering the market:

(1) Retail Shed A
(a) March through Octobor

November
(b) November December through February

(2) Retail Building Building B aed Q
(a)

Day

ssm $6.00

\ QQ 5.00

fi QQ

fc QQ

10.00

7.00

7.00

Week

$20.00 $25.00

2&M
20.00

30.00March through September
(b) October through February
(c) May through August -

Saturdays only

(d) North Carolina farmers shall not be subject to the charges set forth in Subparagraph (2)(c) of

this Rule.

5.00

8.00

4.00

(3} Retail Building C
(4) @$ Fighteen Wheelers

[5] (4> Deliveries

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-530.

CHAPTER 48 - PLANT INDUSTRY

SUBCHAPTER 48A - PLANT PROTECTION

SECTION .0200 - HONEY AND BEE INDUSTRY

.0239 PERMIT TO SELL BEES

(a) The Plant Industry Division of the North
Carolina Department ot Agriculture is responsi-

ble for the issuing of permits to individuals, cor-

porations, or firms intending to sell honeybees in

North Carolina.

(b) Permitting Procedure:

( 1) Individuals, corporations, or firms desiring

to sell bees in North Carolina shall apply

1642 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

for a permit. The permitting period will

be from January ]_ to December 31 of

each year. Permit applications must be

on a form provided by the Plant Industry

Division. Permit forms are available from
the following:

(A) North Carolina Department of Agri-

culture

Plant Industry Division

P.O. Box 27647

Raleigh, NC 27611

(B) Apiculturist, Entomology Department

N, C. State University

1114 GrinneUs

Box 7626

Raleigh, NC 27695

(C) All agricultural extension offices;

(2) A permitting fee of twenty-five dollars

($25.00) must be paid on an annual basis

for each separate permit;

(3) Individuals, corporations, or firms may
obtain a permit to sell bees at any time

of year;

(4) The permit will expire on December 3]_

of each year and must be renewed each

year;

(5) All provisions of the N. C. Bee and Honey
Act and the rules adopted thereunder

must be met as a prerequisite to obtaining

a permit to sell bees, including existing

quarantines;

(6) A permit to sell bees in North Carolina

can be denied or revoked in order to

Q

vent the introduction or spread of bees or

colonies with contagious or infectious

diseases, disorders, or conditions deemed
harmful to the North Carolina beekeeping

industry;

A permit is non-transferable; all bees sold

by the individual, corporation, or firm

listed on the permit must be owned bv

and in the legal possession of said party.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-638.

.0240 FORM BS-11

Form BS-11 is an application form for an indi-

vidual, corporation, or firm wishing to sell bees

or beehives in North Carolina. The application

form requires the following:

(1) Name, address, and location of applicant;

(2) Information pertinent to the type and
number of bees to be sold in North Carolina

during the permitting period:

(3) The application must be accompanied bv
a non-refundable fee of twenty-five dollars

($25.00):

(4) The permit will expire on December 31 of

each year and must be renewed each year

by filling out a new application form.

After satisfactorily complying with the informa-

tion on the application, the Commissioner will

issue a permit, Form BS-12.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-638.

.0241 FORM BS-12

Form BS-12 is a permit for an individual, cor-

poration, or firm wishing to sell bees or beehives

in North Carolina. Form BS-1 1 must first be

approved before the issuance of this permit. The
permit lists the following:

(1) Name, address, and location of approved
applicant;

(2) The permit will expire on December 31_ of

each year and must be renewed each year

by filling out a new application form, BS-1 1.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-638.

SECTION .0600 - BOLL WEEVIL

.0601 DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this Section, in addition to

definitions contained in G.S. 106-65.69, the fol-

lowing shall apply:

(1) Compliance Agreement. A written agree-

ment between a person engaged in growing,

dealing in or moving regulated articles and
the North Carolina Department of Agricul-

ture, Plant Industry Division, wherein the

former agrees to comply with conditions

specified in the agreement to prevent the

dissemination of the boll weevil;

(2) Exemptions. Provisions contained in these

Regulations which provide for modifications

in conditions of movement of regulated ar-

ticles from regulated areas under specified

conditions;

(3) Elimination Zone. That portion of this

state where eradication of the boll weevil is

undertaken as an objective;

(4) Inspector. Any authorized employee of

the North Carolina Department of Agricul-

ture, Plant Industry Division, or any other

person authorized by the Commissioner of

Agriculture to enforce the provisions of this

Section;

(5) Regulated Area. Any state other than

North Carolina or any portion of such state

that is infested with the boll weevil;

(6) Noninfested Area. That portion of this

state not included in an elimination zone;

(7) Seed Cotton. Cotton as it comes from the

field prior to ginning;
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(8) Gin Trash. All of the material produced

during the cleaning and ginning of seed cot-

ton, Sollies or snapped cotton except the

lint, cottonseed and gin waste;

(9) Noncommercial Cotton. Cotton intended

for purposes other than processing;

(lOj ASCS. United States Department of Ag-
riculture, Agricultural Stabilization and
Conservation Service;

(11) Farm Operator. Person responsible for

production and sale of a cotton crop on any
individual farm;

(12) Used Cotton Harvesting Equipment.
Previously utilized cotton equipment used

to harvest, strip, transport, or destroy cot-

ton;

(44) Waiver. A written authorization which

©«e &f more specific requirements;

(444 (13) Cotton Crop Residue Destruction.

Mowing of cotton plant stalks left in field

after harvesting of crop is completed.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-65.77; 106-65.91.

.0608 REPORTING OF ACREAGE:
LOCATION OF COTTON ACREAGE

All cotton farm operators and growers of non-
commercial cotton in an elimination zone shall

submit a Cotton Acreage Reporting Form by
July 1 of the current growing season to the

county ASCS office. A report shall be filed for

each year of participation in the program.

( 1) Noncommercial cotton shall not be planted

in an elimination zone except under the

conditions of a compliance agreement.

Growers of noncommercial cotton in an

elimination zone may apply for a waiver to

grow cotton in an elimination zone. Appli-

cations, in writing, shall be made to the

Plant Pest Administrator stating the condi-

tions for requesting such waiver. The deci-

sion whether or not to waive all or part of

these requirements shall be based on the

following:

(a) location of growing area;

(b) size of growing area;

(c) pest conditions in the growing area;

(d) accessibility of growing area;

(e) any stipulations set forth in a compliance

agreement between the individual and the

Department of Agriculture that are neces-

sary for the effectuation of the program.

(2) Written application for waivers shall be

made to the Plant Pest Administrator for

review.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-65.77; 106-65.91.

.0611 PROGRAM PARTICIPATION AND
PAYMENT OF FEES

(a) All cotton farm operators in the state are

hereby required to participate in the eradication

program. Participation shall include timely re-

porting of acreage and field locations, compliance

with regulations, and payment of fees. Farm
operators within the elimination zone shall be

notified through the extension offices or newspa-
pers of their program costs on a per acre basis

on or before March 15. T4*e following prooo
dureo are required fof participation t» the p*e-

gram:

( 1) Filling etrt Growers are to report all planted

cotton by completing a Cotton Acreage Re-
porting Form and paying a per acre fee at

the ASCS office by July 1 of the current

growing season, fof which participation is

desired. At- this time the farm operator shall

pay a nonrefundable fee » a» amount suffi

ciont te- cover estimated program costs as

determined by the Commissioner, b«t net
te> exceed nine dollars ($9.00) pet acre.

Those farm operators net reporting their

acreage by J-ttly 4- vviU Ret he considered as

program participants. All acreage reported

by such nonparticipants after J-ttlv 4- wiH he
considered m excess a«4 subject te penalty.

(2) AH fees shall he paid by the farm operator.

Foes shall he made payable te NCDA an4
collected by ASCS. The fee is

nonrefundable and is to pay for the pro-

gram's estimated costs as determined bv the

Commissioner, but will not exceed nine

dollars (S9.00) per acre.

(3) Growers not reporting planted cotton to

ASCS by July 1 of the current growing sea-

son will be assessed a three dollar (S3. 00) per

acre penalty.

(4) Growers under-reporting by more than ten

percent of the actual planted acreage, as de-

termined by ASCS, will be assessed a pen-

alty of three dollars (S3. 00) per acre on all

acreage in excess of the reported acreage.

(5) All acreage for which fees have not been

paid on or before July j_5 of the current

growing season will be assessed a three dol-

lar (S3. 00) per acre penalty.

(6) Interest at j_5 percent per annum will be

charged on all unpaid fees and penalties

from August j_ to date of payment.

(7) fees and penalties shall be made payable

to the North Carolina Department of .Agri-

culture.

(8) Fxtenuating circumstances, as determined

bv the Commissioner, may warrant the par-

tial or total refund of penalties. A request
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for the refund of penalties, including a com-
plete explanation of extenuating circum-

stances, must be provided in writing to the

Plant Pest Administrator within 30 days of

such payment.

(b^ Farm oporators m tbe elimination zone
whose ASCS moaourod acroago oxooodo the

grower roportod acroago by- more than te» pef-

cont, shall be aooooood a penalty fee ef throo 4ef-

lats (S3.00) pef aefe e» that- acroago » oxcogd ef

tke roportod acreage.

(e) A farm oporator may apply fef a waivor

requesting dolayod payment under conditions ef

financial hardship. A«y farm oporator applying

fef a waiver shall mako application i» writing te

the Plant Post Administrator. This request must
be accompanied by a financial statomont from a

bank ef lending agoncy supporting such roquoGt.

AH- farm operators granted waivor requests fef fi-

nancial hardship wiH be charged interest payablo

at a Fate equal te 44 poroont peF annum. ¥be
docision whether ef set te waivs all ef part ef

those roquiromonts shall be made by the Plant

Pest- Adrninistrator aee notification given te the

farm oporator within twe weeks after rocoipt ef

such application.

(a) Failure te- pay- aU fees ef file a complotod
waivor roquost fef dolayod paymont e» ef before

fely- 44 ef the curront growing season will result

m a ponalty fee ef five dollars (S5.00) pef acre.
I T ^ H | r-n 1 ;ar | .-• Ilfl «-1 t jt,-l nil jt-h .-y»-> < f h'lll I~« » fll II » t 4 1-. .1
IT CT TTTITTCT ITT C4 U 1 1 1VUy r > Ivl rT U11LUT UU UUU U L L 1 l\J

time the cotton is sold, ef by Novomber 447

whichever is sooner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-65.74; 106-65.77;

106-65.88; 106-65.91.

CHAPTER 52 - VETERINARY DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 52B - ANIMAL DISEASE

SECTION .0200 - ADMISSION OF LIVESTOCK
TO NORTH CAROLINA

.0204 IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS:
BRUCELLOSIS

(a) All cattle imported into North Carolina,

regardless of the class of state, are subject to the

provisions of this Rule, as follows:

(1) all cattle shall be identified by ear tag,

tattoo, or other permanent means ap-

proved by the State Veterinarian;

(2) cattle originating from any certified

Brucellosis-free State or herd may enter

North Carolina provided the following is

recorded on the official health certificate:

(A) individual identification of each animal,

(B) herd certification number, and
(C) date of last herd test;

(3) no test is required on steers and spayed

females;

(4) no cattle will be accepted (other than those

consigned to immediate slaughter) which

have been adult vaccinated against

brucellosis or originate from infected, ex-

posed or quarantined herds;

(5) required retests will be performed by rep-

resentatives of State Veterinarian at no
expense to the owner, or the owner may
have the tests conducted by an accredited

veterinarian at his expense; and

(6) all cattle shall be negative in all dilutions

if tube or plate agglutination test is used,

or negative to official card test.

(b) In addition to the requirements of (a) of

this Rule, cattle imported from brucellosis-free

and class-A states shall comply with the follow-

ing:

(1) all females and bulls eight months of age

and older shall be tested negative within

thirty days prior to entry into North
Carolina, except:

(A) dairy heifers under twenty months of

age, and heifers of the beef breeds under

twenty-four months of age that are offi-

cially vaccinated against brucellosis; and
(B) cattle originating from any certified,

brucellosis-free herd, provided the follow-

ing is recorded on the official health cer-

tificate:

(i) individual identification of each ani-

mal;

(ii) herd certification number;

(iii) date of last herd test; and

(2) cattle from Free state s af>4 class A states

which originate from the farm of origin

and move directly to an approved

stockyard or farm in North Carolina in

compliance with this part are not required

to be tested within 45 to 120 days after

entry. However, the State Veterinarian

strongly recommends a retest and retests

may be performed by a representative of

the State Veterinarian at no expense to the

owner. Eligible cattle which have been

commingled in a stockyard prior to

importation must in addition to the re-

quirements of this part pass a negative re-

test within 45 to 120 days after arrival in

this state.

(c) In addition to the requirements of (a) of this

Rule, cattle imported from class B states shall

comply with the following:

(1) a permit issued to a North Carolina resi-

dent by the State Veterinarian of North

Carolina prior to entry is required;
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(2) all females and bulls eight months of age

or older must be tested negative within 30

days prior to entry into North Carolina

except:

(A) dairy heifers under twenty months of

age and heifers of the beef breeds under

twenty-four months of age officially

vaccinated against brucellosis;

(B) cattle originating from any certified

brucellosis-free herd provided that the

following is recorded on the official health

certificate:

(i) individual identification of each ani-

mal:

(ii) herd certification number; and

(iii) date of last herd test;

(3) all test eligible cattle shall be quarantined

upon arrival and must pass a negative re-

test within 45 to 120 days after arrival.

(d) In addition to the requirements of (a) of

this Rule, cattle imported from a class C state

shall comply with the following:

(1) a permit issued to the North Carolina

resident by the State Veterinarian in

North Carolina prior to entry is required;

(2) all females and bulls eight months of age

and older must have two negative tests at

least 60 days apart, with the second test

being conducted within 30 days of entry

into North Carolina, except:

(A) dairy heifers under twenty months of

age officially vaccinated against

brucellosis;

(B) heifers of the beef breeds less than

twenty-four months of age and officially

vaccinated against brucellosis;

(C) cattle originating from any certified

brucellosis-free herd provided the follow-

ing is recorded on the official health cer-

tificate:

(i) individual identification of each ani-

mal;

(ii) herd certification number; and
(iii) date of last herd test;

(D) test eligible cattle may enter North
Carolina on a 30 day negative test pro-

vided that the herd of origin has had a

complete negative test within the previous

12 months;

(E) test eligible cattle may enter North
Carolina with one negative test for

consignment to a specifically state, feder-

ally approved stockyard. A permit from
the State Veterinarian or his authorized

representative is required prior to removal

of cattle from the stockyard under this

provision; and

(3) all test eligible cattle shall be quarantined

upon arrival and shall pass a negative re-

test within 45 to 120 days after arrival and
all female cattle which are from a "C"
state shall remain under quarantine until

tested negative 20 to 45 days post calving

or until slaughtered.

(4) feeder heifers must also be spayed and
"spayed branded" or be "F" branded.

Feeder heifers are subject to item (3) of

this Paragraph. Branding must be with a

hot brand, the letter F on the right or left

tail head area. This F brand size should

be 3" x 3". A properly applied and placed

F brand will meet the individual identifi-

cation requirement as specified in (a)(1)

of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S.

106-3%.

106-22; 106-307.5;

.0207 IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS:
SWINE

(a) All swine imported into the state, except

by special permit or for immediate slaughter,

shall be accompanied by an official health certif-

icate issued by a state, federal, or accredited

veterinarian stating that they are free from any

signs of an infectious or communicable disease

and are not known to have been exposed to

same. The health certificate shall contain the ear

tag number of each animal or other identification

acceptable to the State Veterinarian. Swine im-

ported for feeding or breeding purposes shall be

moved in clean and disinfected trucks or other

conveyances.

(b) Breeding swine shall originate from a

"Validated Brucellosis-Free" herd or a "Vali-

dated Brucellosis-Free" State and originate from
a "Qualified Pseudorabies-Negative" herd or

Pseudorabies Stage V (Free) State as defined in

Title 9, Parts 78.1 and 85 of the Code of Federal

Regulations. A permit issued bv tbe Stat e

Veterinarian ef North Carolina is- required fo* aH

brooding swine entering tb& state. T4*e pormit

number must W shown ©» tbt» interstate health

certificate accompanying each shipment.

(c) All feeder swme imported into the state

shall be accompanied by an official health certif-

icate issued by a state, federal or accredited

veterinarian stating that:

( 1
) No pseudorabies vaccine has been used in

the herd of origin, unless the herd is a

pseudorabies Controlled Vaccinated herd

as defined in Title 9, Part 85.1 of the Code
of Federal Regulations, or a pseudorabies

monitored vaccinated herd: and
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(2) The swine were tested and found negative

for pseudorabies within 30 days prior to

importation; or

(3) The swine originated from a

pseudorabies-free area as determined by
the State Veterinarian; or

(4) The swine originated from a Qualified

Pseudorabies Negative Herd as defined in

Title 9, Part 85 of the Code of Federal

Regulations; or

(5) The swine originated from a monitored

feeder pig herd. For the purposes of this

Rule, in order to qualify as a monitored
feeder pig herd, testing must have been
performed in accordance with the follow-

ing standards:

(A) In herds often or fewer breeding swine,

all breeding swine must test negative

within 12 months prior to importation.

(B) In herds of 1 1 to 35 breeding swine, ten

randomly selected breeding animals, (to

include gilts, sows and boars) must test

negative within 12 months prior to

importation.

(C) In herds of more than 35 breeding

swine, either 30 or 30 percent of the total

herd, whichever is less, randomly selected

breeding gilts, sows and boars must test

negative within 12 months prior to

importation.

(D) All breeding gilts, sows and boars in a

herd shall be subject to random selection

for testing.

(E) Testing must be done by use of an of-

ficial pseudorabies test, as defmed in Title

9, Part 85 of the Code of Federal Regu-
lations.

(d) Healthy swine for feeding purposes may
move directly from a farm of origin in a contig-

uous state on which they have been located for

not less than 30 days to a livestock market or

stockyard in North Carolina that has been state-

federal approved for handling feeder swine, with-

out the health certificate required herein,

provided such swine are accompanied by proof

of the pseudorabies status of the herd of origin

acceptable to the State Veterinarian. Such swine

shall be inspected by a state or federal inspector

or approved accredited veterinarian prior to sale

at the market.

(e) Healthy swine may be shipped into the state

for immediate slaughter without a health certif-

icate provided they go directly to a slaughtering

establishment approved by the State

Veterinarian, or to a state-federal approved live-

stock market or stockyard for sale to an approved

slaughtering establishment for immediate slaugh-

ter only.

(f) As used in Paragraph (c)(1) horoof, of this

Rule, a "monitored vaccinated herd" means a

herd in which all breeding swine over six months
of age have been officially vaccinated by an ac-

credited veterinarian with a vaccine the titers of

which can be distinguished from pseudorabies

field infections and the herd has passed an official

random sample test or complete herd test during

the preceding 12 months. (From proposed

Pseudorabies Eradication Uniform Methods and

Rules of the United States Department of Agri-

culture.)

Note: Violation of this Rule is a

misdemeanor under G.S. 106-307.6, which
provides for a five hundred dollar ($500.00)

fine, six months' imprisonment, or both.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-316.1;

106-317; 106-318.

.0209 IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS:
SHEEP

(a) The health certificate covering the

importation of sheep shall include a report of in-

spection by a veterinarian approved by the chief

livestock sanitary official of the state of origin

indicating the sheep are not under quarantine and
are free from signs of any infectious or

communicable disease. The health certificate

shall contain a statement that the flock of origin

has not had scrapie diagnosed within the past 42

months.

(b) Sheep which have not been handled in

stockyards, stock pens or on premises in public

use for livestock may be imported without dip-

ping, from a state or area designated as scabies-

free by the United States Department of

Agriculture.

(c) Unless waived by the State Veterinarian,

sheep for purposes other than immediate slaugh-

ter that have not been dipped in accordance with

the regulations of the Animal and Plant Health

Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, United

States Department of Agriculture may not be

imported into the state. While in transit they

shall be accompanied by a certificate of such

dipping. The requirements for dipping will be

waived when it can be determined that the sheep

will be isolated from other animals at the North
Carolina destination until dipped.

(d) Sheep consigned for the purpose of imme-
diate slaughter to a recognized stockyard, or to a

slaughtering establishment with state or federal

inspection may be imported without a health

certificate. A waybill or certificate marked for

immediate slaughter must accompany such ship-

ments.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 106-307.5.

.0210 IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS:
AVIAN SPECIES

Members of the avian species, other than

chickens, turkeys, or other domestic poultry, en-

tering into North Carolina shall be accompanied

by a permit from the State Votorinarian ef North
Carolina &f h» authorized representative as4 be
accompanied by an official interstate health cer-

tificate issued within five days of shipment.

Note: For chickens, turkeys or other domestic

poultry, see 2 NCAC 52B .0600.

(d) fe) Other wild and semi-wild animals, (ex-

cept the American buffalo ef bison which fef the

purpooo ef th» Section shall be considered as

beef cattle), under domestication or in custody

may be imported into this state, provided that a

report of the number of animals by species is

made to the State Veterinarian within 96 hours

after entry into the state, and that an immediate
opportunity for examination to determine the

health status of such animals is afforded the State

Veterinarian or his authorized representative.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-317; 106-400.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-539; 106-540;

106-543.

.0212 IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS:
WILD ANIMALS

(a) A person shall obtain a permit from the

State Veterinarian before importing any of the

following animals into this State:

(1) Skunk;

(2) Fox;

Raccoon;
Ringtail;

Bobcat;

Coyote;

Marten.

Permits for the importation into this State

of any of the animals listed in (a) of this Rule

shall be issued only if the animal(s) will be used

in a research institute, or for public display or

organized entertainment as in zoos or circuses.

(c) Llamas, all cervidae, bison and all other

bovidae other than domestic cattle mav be im

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(b)

ported into the State if accompanied by an offi-

cial health certificate issued by an accredited

vetennanan which states that:

( 1

)

all animals six months of age or older have

tested negative for brucellosis within 30

days prior to importation; and

(2) all animals six months of age or older have

tested negative for tuberculosis within 60

days prior to importation pursuant to the

guidelines of the United States Depart-

ment of Agriculture Veterinary Services

990, whichNotice dated December 31,

intradermic injection of 0_1_ ml of U. S.

Department of Agriculture (L SPA) con-

tract PPD Bovis tuberculin in the

midcenical region with readme by obser-

vation and palpation at 72 hours, plus or

minus 6 hours": and

(3) the herd of origin has had no brucellosis

or tuberculosis diagnosed within the past

12 months.

SUBCHAPTER 52E - MARKETING OF
LIVESTOCK

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL
RULES

.0103 RESOLD CATTLE
(a) When cattle for feeding or breeding pur-

poses are delivered to a public livestock market,

the seller shall designate as "resold" or "second-

handed" any cattle which have been sold through
any livestock market within the previous 21 days.

The seller shall make this designation to the

livestock market operator, his agent, or the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture livestock in-

spector in charge.

(b) All resold or second-handed cattle shall be

penned together and separate from farm fresh

cattle. The market operator shall announce to

the buyers that these are resold or second-handed
cattle when they are offered for sale.

Note: Violation of this Rule
— ^ misdemeanor under G.S. 106-417,

is a

and vi-

olators may be fined or imprisoned, or both,

in the discretion of the court. In addition,

a public livestock market license mav be re-

voked for violations of this Rule, pursuant

to G.S. 106-407.2.

Statutory Authority G.S. 106-416.

TITLE 4 - DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

states "the cervical test for cervidae is the f\ (otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-2I.2 that the North Carolina Alcoholic

Beverage Control Commission intends to amend
rulefsj cited as 4 XCAC 2R .0204 - .0205, .0404

- .0405, .0701 - .0702, .0802, .0820, .0901 - .0902,

.0906, .1008, .1203, .1205, .1401 - .1402, .1407,

.1701, .1703, .1708, .1801, .1901, .1903; 2S .0101

- .0103, .0105 - .0108, .0202, .0205, .0218, .0220,

.0227, .0229, .0232, .0402 - .0403, .0502 - .0503,

.0510, .0512 - .0514, .0516. .0518 - .0520, .0703 -

1648 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

.0707, .080 1, .0902 - .0903, .1001, .1004 - .1012,

.1014, .1020, .1101, .1103; 2T .0101, .0201 -

.0203, .0401, .0409, .0501 - .0502, .0602, .0604,

.0607, .0702, .0704, .0707 - .0709, .0901; repeal

rule(s) cited as 4 NCAC 2R .0301 - .0302, .0801,

.0805 - .0808, .0810 - .0812, .0814 - .0819, .1704,

.1707; 2S .0221, .0406, .0515, .0601, .0603, .0605

- .0611, .0802 - .0804; 2T .0605, .0608, .0710; and
adopt rule(s) cited as 4 NCAC 2R .0303 - .0304,

.0821 - .0823, .0909, .1009, .1503, .1710, .1803 -

.1805; 2S .0233 - .0236, .0407, .0523 - .0529,

.0612, .0708; 2T .0206, .0610, .0711 - .0717.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on April 9, 1992 at the ABC Commission

Offices, Hearing Room, 3322 Garner Road,

Raleigh, NC 27610.

IXeason for Proposed Action: This is a general

rewrite of existing rules. Repeals are to delete

rules that are not necessary or that repeat statutes.

Amendments and adoptions are to codify what are

accepted trade practices by alcoholic beverage

retailers and industry; to codify Commission in-

terpretations of current rules and statutes; to

clarify existing rules; to implement 1991

enactments by the General Assembly; and to make
grammatical, technical and conforming changes.

Cc-omment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning proposed repeals, adoptions or amend-
ments should be submitted no later than April 9,

1992 to Ann Fulton, Commission Counsel, P.O.

Box 26687, Raleigh, NC 27611-6687. Oral com-
ments may be presented at the hearing.

CHAPTER 2 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE
CONTROL COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 2R - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

SECTION .0200 - STRUCTURE

.0204 ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS
The principal administrative officer shall be the

administrator who executes rules, policies and
procedures governing the sale of alcoholic

beverages and coordinates the functions of the

Commission with local boards and industry.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-200(d); 18B-203;

18B-207.

.0205 LEGAL FUNCTIONS

(a) ¥he hearings division providoo adminiotra

five hoarings fof poroons ohargod with violations
<-» \ P 1 lmiii' «i «-i f\ Ti-\f n «-v r.lif'inti' ^ \ r r\ j~i riiriimi^ ej wbOT T»^y^^ it^^t^ niTTT iui lil.fi 'iimiiu tttttt i on uuji u ul'i

i

ft hearing after disapproval ef a» application a«4
holds other hoarings as directed by the chairman

ef the Commission. Hoarings are conducted by
ft hearing officer designated by- the chairman ee

the Commission. ¥4*e hoarings division main
tains ease records a&4 files that ate available fee

inspection by the partios, issuoo subpoonas, eef-

leets money payable te the Commission from

finos aft4 offers » compromise »«4 remits this

money te the State Treasurer &>f the general

fund, ana distributes a calendar ef cases hoard

a«4 disposed ef by the Commission. Records,

files a»4 calendars ef cases may be inspected at

©f obtained from the Commission offices, 3322

Gamor Road, Pest Office 6e* 26687, Raleigh,

Nertb Carolina 2761 1 6687.

(b) Hearing Officer, ^^he hearing officer con

ducts administrative hoarings relative te- alleged

violations an4 appeals by applicants who have

boon denied permits ana rocommonds a disposi

tie» ef each case. Final decisions m hoaring

oases ape made by the Commission.
The Legal Division processes cases involving

permittees charged with violations of the ABC
laws, and represents the Commission in con-

tested cases before the Office of Administrative

Hearings. Legal staff may also serve as hearing

otficers in cases filed under Article 12 of Chapter

18B.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-104; 18B-200(d).

SECTION .0300 - PUBLICATIONS: RECORDS:
COPIES

.0301 DISTRIBUTION OF RULES
(a)- Distribution te- Permittees, fi* addition te

publications required by law-r copies ef policies,

rules, et amendments that affect porsons engaged

m the alcoholic bovorage industry shall be sfis-

tributod te the clerks ef court i» each ef the +QQ
counties a»4 te employees ef the Commission
charged with the responsibility ef administering
fU„ A D(" 1 „ .

,

Copies ef aey policies, rul e s ?m4 amendments
shall be available te a«y interested party by
sending the appropriate fees ter

NC. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
3322 Garner Road
R.O, Be* 3668-7-

Raloigh, North Carolina 27611 6687

¥b& following items ape available:

(44 Chapter 4-8R- ef the North Carolina Gen
erai Statutes;
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{¥} Title 4t Chapter 2 ef tbe North Carolina

Administrative Code (North Carolina Af-

coholic Bevorago Control Commission);

fj) Amondmonto te rules proviouoly adopted

by- the Commis '.iion.

fb) Distribution te Fmployoos. A copy ei aU
policioo aed rules pertaining te fee duties ae4
conduct el employees ef fee Commission shall

be distributed te those employees.

fe) Distribution te local Boards. A copy ef

aU policies aftd rules affecting local boards shall

be distributed te the chairman a«4 supervisor ef

each local board.

f4} Distribution te Alcohol Law Enforcement

Division. A copy ef aU policies ae4 rules pw-
taining te duties engaged » by- the ALE Division

shall be distributed te each omployoo ef fee divi

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 2-3. 1(c); 18B-207;

150B-62.

.0302 PUBLIC INSPECTION OF RULES
AND RECORDS

fa} All rules ami other written statements ef

policy e* interpretations formulated, adopted e?

used by- fee Commission m the discharge ef its

functions shall be available fef public inspection

at- fee Commission's office m Raleigh, North
Carolina, between &W a.m. ae4 #4)4> p.m.,

Monday through Friday. The Commission will

ake make available fef public inspection all ae-

plications fef ABC permits; testimony rocoivod

i»te evidence at rule malring hearings a«4
hearings ef contested cases; ae4 aey- testimony

ef evidence upon which is based a final decision

determining the legal rights, duties ef privileges

ef specific parties, ef determining privat e rights

ef procedures available te the public.

fb} The following shall eet be open te public

inspection:

officer net based ee compe t ent evidence

obtained by the officer;

f3} identity ef confidential sources, informers

ef undercover officers;

fj} all files, reports ef evidence m connection

with ae ongoing investigation.

officer employed by a contracting agency pursu-

ant to G.S. 18B-50 1 (F), and to each employee of

the Commission.
(b) Purchasing Copies of the ABC Laws.

Copies of the ABC laws are available to any in-

terested person who contacts the Commission at

the following address or phone number:
North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control

Commission
3322 Garner Road
P.O. Box 26687

Raleigh, NC 27611-6687

(919) 779-0700

The following items are available and should be
purchased together for complete access to the

ABC laws of this State:

( 1) Chapter 18B of the North Carolina Gen-
eral Statutes, a\_ a cost of five dollars

($5.00).

(2) Title 4j Chapter 2 of the North Carolina

Administrative Code, containing all the

rules of the Commission, at a cost of

seven dollars and fift\

at a cost

cents ( $7.50).

Payment by check or cash must be made prior

to receiving copies of either publication.

(c) Copies of Individual Rules or Statutes. For
a fee of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per page, copies

of rules, amendments and general statutes are

available to any person contacting the Commis-
sion at the address and phone number in Para-

graph (b) of this Rule.

(d) Public Inspection of Records. Inspection

of records and documents in the possession and
custody of the Commission is governed by the

provisions of Chapter 132 of the North Carolina

General Statutes. Fees for copying public re-

cords shall be twenty-five cents ($0.25) per page.

Statutory Authority G.S. 12-3.1:

through 132-1.3; 132-6.

18B-207; 132-1

.0304 FEE FOR PERMITTEE LISTS;
COMPUTER SERVICES

(a) Lists. For a fee of seven cents ($0.07) per

name, the Commission will provide to any in-

terested person a list of permittees by county or

by types of permits issued. Orders for a

permittee list should be placed at least 72 hours

in advance. The purchaser of the list will be

notified of the total cost, including postage, and

will be required to remit the total cost plus post-

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-11.

.0303 DISTRIBUTION, INSPECTION AND
COPIES OF ABC LAWS

(a) Distribution of Rules and Statutes. A copy
of the Commissions Rules and Chapter 1SB of

the General Statutes will be distributed at no
charge to each local ABC board, each ALE
agent, ABC officer and local law enforcement services will be determined based on the actual

age, bv check or money order, before receiving a

copy of the list.

(b) Other Data Processing Services. The
Commission will attempt to provide data proc-

essing services related to the Commission's pow-
ers and duties upon request. Fees for such
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cost to the Commission and shall be required to

be paid in advance.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; I50B-I9(5)e.

SECTION .0400 - RULE-MAKING

.0404 NOTICE OF RULE-MAKING
HEARINGS; MAILING LIST

(a) Upon a determination to hold a rule-

making proceeding, either in response to a peti-

tion or otherwise, the Commission shall give at

least 3© dayo notice to all interested parties of a

public hoaring »» the proposed rulo. the pro-

ceedings in accordance with the requirements of

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

(b) Mailing List. Any person desiring to be
placed on the mailing list for the rule-making

notices may file a request in writing, furnishing

his name and mailing address to the Commis-
sion. The request shall state the subject areas

within the authority of the Commission for

which notice is requested.
LflJ DliKlii'-lfinn /-\i \. ntii-.l Pi 1 hli f n i-t «,-..-> nf *h/\

rulo malcing proooodingo wiH be by publication

» ¥4*e North Carolina Rogiotor.

(c) Fee Charged. The cost to be on the mailing

list for rule-making notices shall be fifteen dollars

($15.00) per year. A notice and invoice will be

mailed in February of each year to persons on
the mailing list. Persons who do not renew their

request to remain on the mailing list bv remitting

the fee by March
J_

of each year will be deleted

from the list.

Statutory Authority G.S. JSB-207; 150B-21.2.

.0405 RULE-MAKING HEARING
(a) Location. Unless otherwise stated in a

particular rule-making notice, rule-making

hearings shall be held in the administrative hear-

ing room of the Commission's Raleigh office.

(b) Oral Presentations. Any person desiring to

present oral data, views or arguments on the

proposed rule shall, at- least- threo days prior te

the hoaring, is encouraged to file a written notice

of that desire with the chief hearing officor.

Chairman. Notice ©f th*s presentation H*ay be
waived »f a failure te give the notice may be es-

cuood by the chairman upon a showing ef good
cause. The notice of the oral presentation shall

should contain a brief summary of the individ-

ual's or organization's views with respect to the

proposed adoption, amendment or repeal of a

rule, and a statement of the length of time the

speaker intends to speak.

(e} Written submissions. Writton materials

containing data, comments »f arguments con

coming proposed rules that afe filed within the

time allowed shall be considered by the Com
mission before the final adoption, amendment
ui npen *_m cr iuiu,

(c) (44 The Chairman shall preside at the rule-

making hearing, and shall insure ensure that each

person participating is given a fair opportunity to

present oral arguments, comments and data sup-

porting his position.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I50B-21 .2(e).

SECTION .0700 - PERSONNEL POLICIES:
COMMISSION

.0701 STANDARDS FOR COMMISSION AND
EMPLOYEES

(a) Financial Interests Prohibited. No member
or employee of the Commission shall have or

acquire any financial interest in the business,

equipment or premises operated by any person,

firm or corporation engaged in the production,

sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages.

(b) Relations. No member or employee of the

Commission shall be related by blood, to the

degree of first cousin or closer, to any person

engaged or employed in the production, sale or

distribution of alcoholic beverages in this State.

(c) Gifts. No member e? employee or Com-
mission member ©f the Commission shall require

gifts &f alcoholic bovoragos accept any gift or a»y
other thing of value from any person, firm or

corporation engaged in the production, sale or

distribution of alcoholic beverages that would
result in a violation of any general statute or

Executive Order.

(d) Entertainment. Except as prohibited else-

where in these Rules reasonable entertainment

of members or employees by a permittee or his

representative is proper when that member or

employee is entertained in an official capacity as

a representative of the Commission, such as rea-

sonable entertainment at state or national con-

ventions or similar events, or for good and proper

reason that will not tend to influence the member
or employee in the discharge of his duties with

the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-20I; 18B-207.

.0702 DISCIPLINARY ACTION OF EMPLOYEE
All employees of the Commission shall be sub-

ject to the policies set- forth » the Personnel

Manual ©f- the North Carolina State Personnel

established by the Office of State Personnel per-

taining to disciplinary action, suspension and
dismissal.

In addition to the grounds for disciplinary

action provided m the State Personnel Manual
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ef toe North Carolina State Poroonnel Office, by

the Office of State Personnel, the following shall

be additional grounds for disciplinary action:

(1) willful disregard of the published policies

of the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage

Control Commission, or

(2) violation of any law pertaining to alcoholic

beverages.

Statutory Authority G.S.

18B-207.

18B-201; I8B-202;

SECTION .0800 - ADJUDICATION:
CONTESTED CASES

.0801 DEFINITIONS
A* usod » tfe» Soction:

application fof a pormit has boon rojoctod,

ef a»y porson whe currontly holds a pormit

toa* is subject to suspension, revocation ef

a monotary ponalty.

$0$ "Party" moans eaeh porson ef agoncy

named ef admittod as a party ef proporly

soolcing as ef right to be admittod as a party,

a»4 includoo the Commission whore appro

priato.

(44 "Hearing" means toe initial administrative

proceedings conducted by- a hearing officer.

£4} "Final hearing" moans the proceedings be-

tore toe Commission reviewing toe rooom
mondation ef a hoaring officer as to toe

disposition ef a oontootod case.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-11;

150B-23.

.0802 NOTICE OF PROPOSED COMMISSION
ACTION; OFFERS IN COMPROMISE

44 toe chairman is ef toe opinion that toe facto

reported by a law enforcement officer warrant

denial, suspension ef revocation ef a pormit, ef

if sufficiont written objections have been toe4

with to* Commission to warrant donial ef a pef-

h«% toe Commission shall se«4 notice ef toe

proposed action to toe applicant ef pormittoo.

(a) Notice of Alleged Violation. If facts re-

ported by a law enforcement officer indicate a

violation of the ABC laws, the Commission shall

send a Notice

permittee

of Alleged Violation to the

which shall contain a short and plain

and a reference tostatement of the facts alleged

the particular sections of the statutes or rules in-

volved. The notice may also contain an offer to

settle the case, and an indication of the procedure

by which this may be accomplished.

(b) Offers in Compromise. A permittee may
enter into a stipulated settlement or offer in

compromise pursuant to G.S. 18B-104, subject

to ratification by the Commission. If a permittee

indicates a desire for a hearing, or does not re-

spond to the Notice of Alleged Violation, the

Commission will file a petition with the Office

of Administrative Hearings. Contested case

procedures are governed by Chapter 15QB of the

General Statutes and the rules of the Office of

Administrative Hearings.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-I04; 18B-203 (a)

(12); I8B-207; I50B-22; 150B-23.

.0805 SERVICE OF NOTICE
44** Official Notice ef Hearing shall be sorvod

personally by a» alcohol lew onforcomont agont

ef by certified moil, return receipt roquootod. If

personal service is made, toe agent shall state toe

eate ae4 timo ef sorvieo ef the notice . Whon
IIVIBAJ r7 OCTTT U T 1-^J1 1U^^T 11 lUITy IT Jl lUri U\J Kl \,^J 1 11UU

service was made e» toe date appearing e» toe

return receipt.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-1I;

I50B-23.

.0806 SLBPOENAS
(a) 44*> attendance ef witnesses ef toe pfe-

duction ef ovidonco including books, records,

correspondence a»4 documents at a» adminio

trativo hearing may be oompollod by toe issuance

ef a subpoena, upon the Commission's own
motion ef upon request ef a»y party.

fb) Roquost tof Subpoena. Fioquost top toe

issuance ef subpoenas shall be addrooood to toe

Commission. 4-he roquost shall includo a concise

bet complete otatomont ef roasons fef toe nocoo

sity ef toe witnoss' tostimony ef toe production

ef toe matorial. ¥be roquost shall alse includo

toe following information:

(44 name ef the contostod oaoo;

£3) name afte. addrooo ef party roquosting toe

subpoena;

(4) namo ae4 address ef toe porson to whom
toe subpoona is diroctod ae4 toe party e»
whoso bohalf he is to tostify; aft4

(4) a sufficiently particular designation ef toe

ovidonco roquootod to be produced at toe

hoaring.
I s^\ Ci-n-rr«/>r^ n£ Cnknnnnnr A 11 f i ikr.^/in fif 1 EfiJ lpfl
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by a hearing officer shall be served m toe manner
proocribod by G4>r 4A-4t ferie 4e(e)r

(4) Enforcement ef Subpoona. If a person to

whom a subpoena is directed fads to comply with-

its order, toe hearing officer met? apply to toe

General Court ef Justice, Suporior Court Divi

sion. fef a» ordor to show why toe oubpoonaod

party should net be bel4 i» contempt ef toe

agency.
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-,hall

include tbe following informatioftr

f3) namo m4 address ef party roquooting is-

suance ef the oubpoonas,

( J T ^TfTTTI\.-f J_T1 LI 1U UU1 UU11 Z\J TTTTT7TTT I 1 iv rrCTTTTT^TCTTCT

is diroctod,

(T) name aee. addroso ef party e» who go be-

half witness is to testify,

(4} sufficiently particular description ef the

materials requested.

Statutory Authority G.S. J8B-207; 1 SOB- 11;

I50B-27.

.0807 CHALLENGE OF SUBPOENA:
PROCEDURE

(a) Roquoot fef Provocation ef- Subpoena. The
validity ef aey subpoena issued by the Commis
sie» is subj ect to challenge at toe roquost ef toe

person to whom the subpoena is diroctod. Te
challenge a subpoona, the porson to whom it is

diroctod shall file with- the Commission written

objections ae4 reasons therefor arte roquost m
writing that the subpoona he revoked ef modi
f1 lj

(b) The porson se challenging the subpoena
shall, simultaneously with- the filing ef h*s eb-
joctions with the Commission, sorvo his eb-

joction e» the party requesting the subpoona.

(a) The party requesting the subpoona, within

the time granted by the Commission, may file a

written rosponso to the objections. The response

shall be sorvod » the samo mannor as the eb-

jections.

Statutory Authority G.S.

150B-27.

18B-207; 1S0B-11;

.0808 CHALLENGE OF SUBPOENA: RULING
Following roooipt ef objections, a written re-

quest to modify ef revoke a subpoona, a«4 a&f
rosponso to the objections, the Commission shall
fl l I .1 Q r-i t Kii ;'h -i 1 1 ,in fifi nn;-| I t- n 1 in >-l 1 1 -r~t ttnn ,-H ,-i t~- 1 f J f~i w-i
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.

A copy ef the decision shall be issued to all par-

ties aee. made a part ef the record ef the eea-

tostod ease to which it applios.

Statutory Authority G.S.

J50B-27.

J8B-207; 150B-11;

.0810 PREHEARING CONFERENCE
(a) Purpose. The purpose ef the pro hearing

oonforonco shall be to discuss:

(T) the possiblo simplification ef issuos,

(3) the stipulation ef faets aee. issues,

(T) areas where evidence will be needed,

(4) whothor dopositions aee. subpoenas will

be necessary,

fS) whothor consolidation ef cases ef joint

hearing is foaciblo, aee

(4) aey other matters which wiH reduce costs

ef save time i» the disposition ef the case.

(b) Oft Roquest ef Party. A»y party F»ay fe-

quost a pro hearing conference by notifying the

hoaring officer within a roasonablo timo after fe-

ooiving the Official Notice ef Hearing.

(e) Upon Notice from Hoaring Officor. The
hoaring officer may hold a pro hoaring conforonco

ae4 require attondanco ef aU partios, upon a rea-

Gonablo written notice to the partios involved.

(4) By mutual agreement ef the parties, a efe-

hoaring conforonco may be hel4 anywhoro within

the State ef North Carolina.

(e) Aey stipulation as to facts, issues, sad evi-

donce shall be admissiblo at the hoaring aae. shall

be binding upon aU partios.

(£) The production ef evidence, including

books, records, correspondence ae4 documents,

at a pro hoaring oonforonco metf be compoUod by
iosuanco ef a Gubpoona, upon the Commission's

ew» motion ef upon roquost ef a»y party.

Statutory Authority G.S.

J50B-33.

18B-207; 150B-11;

.0811 INTERVENTION
(a) A motion to intorvono as a party m a con

tostod ease shall be granted if tbe potitionor files

such motion to intorvono as provided » GtSt

1A 1, Rule 34r afi4 if the potitionor moots the

criteria specified m Rulo 34r

fb} Discretionary Intervention, fe addition to

intervention as provided by Gr&? 1A 1, Rulo 3-b

discretionary intervention f»ay be allowed upon
efal motion at the initial hoaring, whon doomed
advisable by the hoaring officer. Discretionary

intervention wiH be doomed advisable whon:

(T) The informatiea potitionor desires to

present is relevant aee eet repetitious ef

merely cumulative
;
a»4

(-3) The petitioner's participation would eet

unduly burden the hoaring.

(e) Timeliness. The written petition to inter

vono shall be doomed timely made if 61e4 at any

timo prior to tbe termination ef the final Com
mission hoaring. Provided that seeh petition to

intervene wtff eet be granted if the intervention

ef the potitionor would cause substantial proju

eiee to the rights ef the partios.

(4} Filing Motion; Contents. A porson dosir

iftg to intervene i» a contest ed ease shall file a
T-t->,-»-i i^n \i -i tK 4 X-i.-\ kflaaia a aiaflflt nn d r.ni 1 1 lnr*!! iHptTTTTTTTTTT TTIlll 11 H? I 1WJ.I 11 1C TJllH-*-l , LLL1U Jl 1UU UIL'IUUU

the following information » the motion:
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(4) citation ef a»y otatutory ef non statutory

grounds fof intervention,

(3) statement ef the claim ef dofonoo upon
which intervention is sought,

(5) petitioner's name afto address,

(4) petitioner's business ef occupation,

£e4 name ef the contested ease » which

petitioner wishes to become a party, a»4

(4) concise summary ef the arguments ef evi-

dence which petitioner sooks to present.

(e) Allowing Motion to Intervene . If the

hearing oiTioer allows a petitioner's motion to

intervene, he shall send prompt notice ef toe

petitioner's intervention to aH partios.

(£) Denying Motion to Intorvonc. ff the hoar

m§ officer denie s the petitioner's motion to m-
torvono, he shall send prompt notice to the

petitioner ase other partios, stating the reasons

fof his decision.

Statutory- Authority G.S.

150B-23.

18B-207; 150B-11:

.0812 DISCOVERY
(a) Aft aggrieved party to a contested ease may

discover information from records ef the Com
mission.

fe} Discoverable materials include:

(44 investigative report ef the ALE agent ef

local ABC officer,

(rfy findings ef faet ae4 recommendations ef

the hearing officer,

(4) transcript ef the hearing heto. by the hoar

i»§ officer,

£4} transcript ef the hearing beforo the Com
mission, a»d

fe4 asy agency records relating to material

facts involved » the contested case.

fe) At the hearing ef a contested case , whether

before the hearing office r ef the Commission, a
>-. --i ft t - ,—> t- T~t i c- fittn T-n t\i I r-r-, -1 \ - r\ \.r -< t-ti i n rt ^^J, n rl 'l n l it -in.i
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physical evidence to he used against him.

£44 to. cases ef unreasonable hardship to the

partios ef witnesses, the «se ef a deposition may
be allowed i» the discretion ef the hearing officer

before whom the ease is to he heard. When a

deposition is allowed, it may he used fo hee ef

other evidence when taken to accordance with

&&,4A-4t
(e) is addition to the discovery otherwise au-

thorized by this Rule . » any ease i» which the

commission receives a request foe a hearing in-

volving the malt beverage ef wine franchise aet

[G^n fSB 1 1 09(b) aito 444^ aad G&? 1 SB 1200

through 1216, respectively], disco very by the

commission a»4 aH parties is governed hv the

Rules ef Gmi Procedure £&£* 4A-4^

Statutory Authority G.S. J8B-207; J50B-JI;

150B-28.

.0814 FILING AND FORM OF BRIEFS:
MOTIONS: DOCUMENTS

A»y document, motion, petition, reque st ef
^^^^^^^ ^^i I"' '' ^ ' ' '

'

\ ,l
•

i t I \ t >~i Q Ljijnoi^cmn ^^C H ,
'

i

1
"

1 T-1 ' '

officer shee. he personally delivered ef seat by-

regular ef registered mail to the North Carolina

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, P.O.

Be* 3eeS4r Raleigh, ^tofto Carolina 276 1 1 6687;

except that whenever hearings are he!4 by a

hearing officer to aey place other than R.aleigh,

documents pertaining thereto may be filed at the

hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-11;

150B-28.

.0815 CONTINUANCES
fa} Request fef Continuance. Requests fof a

continuance shall be made to the hearing officer

at least twe working days prior to the date ef the

hearing, stating to detail the reasons why such

continuance is necessary. Pef good causo

shown, the Commission ef hearing officer mm-
grant the request fof eontinuanco ef the hearing

ef a contested case.

fb4 Q» Motion ef Commission ef Hearing

Officer. 44*e Commission ef the hearing officer

may, at a»y time, order a continuance .

(e) Untimely Requests. Requests fof contin

uancos received less than e*e working days prior

to the time fixed fof hearing wili »et be granted

except where there exists a bona fide emergency

ef whore justice as4 fairness to ae. partios w4H he
better achieved.

(4) Place ef Rescheduled Hearing. Upon the

granting ef a continuance, the hearing f»ay be

rescheduled as provided to R.ule .0809 ef this

Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-11;

150B-28.

.0816 DISQUALIFICATION OF HEARING
OFFICER

(a) ffr fof afty reason, the hearing officer as-

signod to conduct the hearing ef a contested ease

determines that personal bias ef other factors

would prevent htfft from being able to conduct

the hearing affo p erform ah1 duties to a» impartial

manner, he shall submit a statement m writing

to the chairman stating his disqualifications a»d

the reasons therefor. 44*e chairman shall there

upon designat e a different hearing officer to hear
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hoaring officer assigned to bear the 6ase is pep-

oonally biased ©p disqualified, he may objoct to

such allogod disqualification by filing, in- good
faith, sworn affidavit with the chairman ef the

Commission. The affidavit shall state ah facts

aftd- roasons supporting his objection.

(!) The affidavit shah he filed- before com
monoomont ©f the hoaring, provided,
Vt ah -.it -.-if t Vt -» t tl-i ^ ri'iri t r rn '-\\; TY\'~l\fflk Mil
1 to n" t pi , inui n ic ltui it TT^cry^ I IICU117 \J\7

j
ection to the disqualification ©f the hear

»g officer a* the ftpst opportunity aftep he

becomes aware ©f facts giving nse to a

reaoonablo belief that the hoaring officer

may- he disqualified, notwithstanding the

faet- that the hearing may have com
moncod.

(3} Objection during Hoaring. tf a party

makes objection during the hearing to the

disqualification ©f the hearing officer, the

hoaring officer shah m>te saeb objection

m the rocord an4 proceed with the hoar

mgr
(T) Request top Rehearing. After the hoaring

is adjourned, the party objecting to the

*JU\XII_lIUrTTTT^TT \Ji 1 1 IV 1 1UU I II I B IJ 1 1 1 \J\. I 1 1 IUT 1 11U

a sworn affidavit with the chairman , stat

»g ah facts afi4 roasons supporting his

objection, a»4 request a rehearing before

a dilToront hearing officer. The chairman

shall make a determination based upon
ah available facts whothor the officer

hoaxing the ease was m faet unable to

conduct the hearing m an- impartial man

(A) hf the chairman determines there is

sufficient evidonco ©f disqualification ©p

bias, he shall dosignato a difforont hoaring

office r an4 cause notice ©f rehearing to he
sest to ah parties m the came manner as

any other notice of hearing.

fB) if the chairman- detorminoo there is m-
sufficient evidonco ©f bias ©p disqualifica

tion, he shall deny the request fop a

rehearing. Notico ©f the denial ©f the re-

I
i I I , > I t 1-1-imI] W i Mill + r-i <i I I n

I
«-4 iiif n «-i , 1 i l-t'ill

state the reasons therefor. The hoaring

officer may proceed with his findings ©f

faet ami recommendations to the Com
mission.

(T> The affidavit alleging disqualification ef a

hearing officer ami the findings ©f the

chairman shah he made a papt ©f the re-

l-T^TTT T^T liIC LUJL 1

, HI IVJ HI IUII T^P 3QQTQR tTT

judicial roviow at the instance of the ©b-

jecting party.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 150B-1I;

150B-32.

.0817 UNAVAILABILITY OF HEARING
OFFICER

/ <-i\ If o h^nnrMi "" />-«»• Iat 'inif ran gflja * O lm n Vklii
rrrr tt cr nTOnrrc v^ 1 1 1 *~"\j 1 e iui lu it i \ju.lit._'i i , r^ unuuiu

to comploto the hoaring ©f a contostod caso, the

chairman may dosignato another hoaring officer

to continue the hearing ef the case .

fb) Subsequent to the designation ©f a succeo

sop hoaring officer, the hearing shall continue

from that point reached m the proceedings when
the original hoaring officor bocamo unavailable,

provided, howovor:

(4) If a witness has previously testified as to

material facts aft© the hoaring officor be-

lieves that- the demoanor ©f the witnosG is

apt- important element ©f the tostimony,

the hearing officor may ordor that exam
ination ©f that witness he ropoatod.

(3} U the direct tostimony ©f a witness has

been complotod before the resumption ©f

the hoaring, bet cross examination has

©©t boon complotod, the hoaring officer

p»ay order that the direct oxamination he
ropoatod.

f3) If apty party ea» show that- continuation
/ tt-.-\«-*i tFj^i i~it \ i t-i t riy n • [T | \i I ul 1 r 1 1 > I i l "f \ ii

'

i

l
i

^
i I I 7 1 ' '
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before the original hoaring officor) wih re-

sult m substantial prejudice, the hearing

officer shah order a rw hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I50B-32.

1SB-207; 1S0B-11;

.0818 HEARING PROCEDURE
fa) Failure to Appear. U a party fails to appear

after proper sorvioo ©f notice
,
the hearing officor,

if m> adjournment is granted, may proceed with

the hoaring.

fb) The parties a»4 witnesse s testifying at- a

hoaring shah be f>«t unde r oath.

(a) The hearing shall be recorded.

fd} Appv aggrieved party ©f his attorney shall

be permitted to introduce evidonco af*4 witnesse s

i» his behalf, present arguments ©» issues ©f law

©p policy, examine ah written a«4 physical evi-

donco to be used against him, a«4 cross examine

ah- witnesse s testifying against him.

(e} Obj ections to the notice, procedure, quali

fications ©f the hearing office r, conduct ef the

hoaring officer ©p ©f a»y party, ©p to the admis

si©» ©p exclusion ©f evid ence , afai any exceptions

taken to s«eh action shah be noted m the record

by the hearing officor.

(£) Ah persons appearing m hoaring p*©-

coodings » a representative capacity shall con

form to the standards ©f ethical conduct required
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ef attorneys practicing m the courts ef thi» Stato,

as set forth m the Canons ef Ethics ef the North
Carolina State fief aft4 the Code ef Professional

Responsibility.

(g) 44*e hearing officor may cause te be fe-

moved from the hearing aey- person causing a

disturbance therein.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; IS0B-11;

150B-25.

.0819 FINDINGS: CONCLUSIONS:
RECOMMENDATIONS OF HEARING
OFFICER

ah the evidonoo, record hi* findings ef feet? hi*

conclusions ef ke*^ ae4 proparo a rooommonda
tie» fof action ee- the application ef permit

,

te-
natjT3f- ifitVi * V-» ,-\ /-\ Hi Aiil I /-t frim i f f | /-> r-i r^^^^^^^i r-\ T rmi;ED II 1 \-'x tTTTTT 1 1 IV \T1 I IT-'IUJ V T_' 1 I 1 1 1 II '..I.1W.1 1 1 1 L^_^__TI \J \JI (II IT

prior disciplinary action taken against the party

by the Commission ef ae alcohol law enforce

shall receive a copy ef the findings, conclusions

ae4 recommendations i» the ease prior te the

Commission mooting when final disposition wih
be mado ef the case .

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207;

150B-34.

150B-II;

.0820 FINAL ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION:
HEARING

(a) Right to be Present at Final Administrative

Decision; Notice. Each party to a contested case

and his attorney of record shall receive reasonable

notice of the location, hour and date when the

findings of fact and recommendation of the

hearing officor administrative law - judge will be

reviewed by the Commission for a final disposi-

tion of the case. This notico shall be sewed as

provided by- R-ele .0805 ef this Section.

(b) Continuances. The chairman may grant

continuances for just cause upon two working
days oral or written notice.

(c) Service of Notice. Service of notice of final

administrative action shall be m accordance with

P>.ule .0805 ef this Section, bv certified mail. If

notice is accomplished by certified mail, the de-

livery date on the return receipt shall be the date

of notice. If service cannot be made by certified

mail, then the notice will be served personally or

in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4 (jl).

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; 150B-36.

.0821 ARTICLE 12 HEARINGS; PETITION
AND NOTICE

(a) Initiation of Hearing. A hearing under

(Wine Distribution Agreements Act) shall be
commenced by the filing of a petition with the

Commission. The petition shall state the party's

contentions in detail, and set forth

chronologically the events surrounding the

winery's termination of the agreement.

(b) Requests for Relief. In any case in which
a wholesaler requests that the Commission pro-

vide relief in a dispute with a winery under Arti-

cle 12, the Commission may deem that request

to be in the nature of a request for a hearing, and
may conduct a hearing to determine if the winery

has good cause to terminate an agreement with

the wholesaler, or to determine if the wholesaler

has rectified the reasons given bv the winery for

the termination.

(c) Notice of Hearing. A Notice of I tearing

shall be mailed to the parties in a dispute under
Article \2 at least 15 days prior to the hearing.

The notice will be served by certified mail or in

accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4 (jl ). In the

event service is made bv certified mail, the deliv-

ery date on the return receipt shall be the date

of notice. The notice will contain a short and
plain statement of the issues to be resolved bv the

Commission, the date, time, and place of the

hearing, and the name of the hearing officer who
will conduct the hearing, if the Commission de-

termines that it will not preside at the initial

hearing.

(d) Rules of Procedure. Hearings conducted
under Article 12 of Chapter 18B of the General

Statutes will be conducted in accordance with the

Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in G.S.

1A-1, and the General Rules of Practice for the

Superior and District Courts as authorized by
G.S. 7A- 34 and found m the Rules Volume of

the North Carolina General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. IA-J, Rule 4(jl);

7A-750; ISB-203(a)( 1 ),(2); 18B-207; J8B-J205.

.0822 ARTICLE 12 HEARINGS; EVIDENCE
The provisions of G.S. 150B-29 relating to evi-

dence shall apply to hearings conducted under

Article
J_2

of Chapter 1SB of the General Stat-

utes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a)(1), (2);
18B-207; 18B-1204; 1SB- 1205.

.0823 FINAL ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION;
ORDER

(a) Right to Submit Proposed Findings. The
parties in a hearing conducted under .Article 12

shall have an opportunity to file proposed

findings of fact and conclusions of law within 30

Article 12 of Chapter 1 SB of the General Statutes days of the conclusion of the initial hearing.
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(b) Recommended Decision. If a hearing

conducted under Article Y2 is presided over by a

hearing officer, the hearing officer shall issue a

recommended decision that contains proposed

findings of fact and conclusions of law. The

hearing officer shall serve a copy of the recom-

mended decision upon all parties and the mem-
bers of the Commission who will make the final

administrative decision. Service shall be in the

0821(c) of this Sec-manner prescribed in Rule

tion.

(c) Exceptions. The parties to a case heard

under Article J_2
shall have the right to file writ-

ten exceptions to a recommended decision by the

hearing officer. Exceptions shall be tiled with the

Commission within 30 days of receipt of the re-

commended decision.

(d) Hearing Conducted by Commission. In

lieu of assigning a hearing officer to preside over

the initial hearing, the Commission may conduct

the initial hearing. After the time for the fifing

of proposed findings of fact and conclusions of

law by the parties has expired, the Commission
will issue a final administrative decision and order

that determines the issues set forth in any prior

pre-hearing order.

(e) Petition to Office of Administrative

Hearings. In any case heard by the Commission
under Article L2 of Chapter 1 8B of the General

Statutes, if the Commission finds evidence of vi-

or anyolations of Article 12 of Chapter 18B,

other ABC law, it may commence proceedings

in accordance with the provisions of Rule .0802

of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a)( I),(2);
I8B-207; 18B-I205; 18B-I207(c); 150B-23.

SECTION .0900 - FISCAL RULES FOR LOCAL
BOARDS

.0901 BORROWING MONEY
Before a local board borrows money, it shall

consider the following factors:

(1) the number of stores in a service area;

(2) the estimated population in a service area;

(3) the location of stores in a service area;

(4) the nature and amount of the outstanding

debt of the local board;

(5) whether the borrowing is for the purchase

of fixed assets, inventory or both;

(6) the adequacy of the accounting system used

or proposed to be used by the local board;

(7) the unit's its compliance with rules of the

Commission;

(8) history of operating profits; and

(9) projected profits and adequacy ability to

cover retire the debt.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-702(b),(e).

.0902 MAINTENANCE OF WORKING
CAPITAL

(a) "Working Capital" means the total of cash,

investments and inventory less all unsecured li-

abilities.

(b) A local board shall set its Working Capital

requirements at not less than two weeks' average

gross sales of the last latest fiscal year nor greater

than four months' average gross sales of the last-

latest fiscal year. Gross sales means gross re-

ceipts from the sale of alcoholic beverages less

distributions as defined in G.S.

18B-805(b)(2),(3), and (4).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-702 (e);

(d).

18B-805

.0906 FINANCE OFFICER: DUTIES
(a) The general manager of each local board

shall serve as finance officer. The local board
may designate deputy finance officers to aid the

officer in the performance of his duties and per-

form other duties delegated to them by the fi-

nance officer or the local board.

(b) The finance officer shall: have the follow

tag dutioo:

(1) He ohall keep the accounts of the local

board in accordance with generally ac-

cepted principles of governmental ac-

counting and the rules of the

Commission;

(2) He shall disburse all moneys of the board
in strict compliance with these Rules;

(3) He shall prepare statements of financial

condition as often as the governing board
required requires information;

(4) He shall receive and deposit all moneys re-

ceived or supervise the receipt and deposit

of money by other authorized employees;

(5) He shall supervise the investment of idle

funds of the local board;

(6) He shall ensure that all internal controls

established by the local board are fol-

lowed; and

(7) He shall perform other duties as may be

assigned to him by law, by the local board

or by the rules of the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-702(e).

.0909 TRAVEL POLICIES
(a) Travel Policy Required. Each local board

shall adopt and adhere to rules establishing travel

policies to govern the following activities:
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(1) responsibility of board members and em-
ployees in incurring expenses while trav-

elling on board business;

modes of transportation authorized for

travel on official business;
(21

(3) reimbursement allowances for travel, in-

(41

(5) reimbursement allowances for conference

eluding mileage reimbursements;

reimbursement allowances for lodging

and meals;

(61

(21

1*1

or convention registration fees;

travel advances;

authorization for travel;

incidental travel expenses including tips,

tolls, parking fees, taxi fares, and rental

vehicles;

(9) telephone calls made while travelling; and

( 10) reimbursement procedures and doc-

umentation of expenses.

The travel policy rules and subsequent amend-
ments shall be made asailable to each employee

and board member.
(b) Rules to Conform to Local or State Poli-

cies. Travel policy rules adopted bv a local board

shall conform, at a minimum, to travel policies

adhered to by either the local appointing author-

ity or the Office of State Budget and Manage-
ment of the State of North Carolina.

(c) Rules to be Filed with Commission. Each
local board shall file a certified copy of its travel

policies and procedures, and any amendments
thereto, with the Commission within 11J days of

the adoption, or amendment, of the policies by
the local board.

Statutory Authority G.S. JSB-702(eJ.

SECTION .1000 - LOCAL ABC BOARD:
PERSONNEL POLICIES

.1008 CONFLICTS OF INTEREST
(a) Financial Interest Prohibited. No local

board member or employee shall have any direct

or indirect interest in any manner whatsoever in

any firm, corporation, company or enterprise

that manufactures, produces, buys, mixes, bot-

tles, sells, stores or transports spirituous liquors.

liquor.

(b) Employment of Relatives. No local board

shall employ in any capacity any person related

to a local board member or member of any other

authority that appoints members of the local

board by blood to a degree of first cousin or

closer, nor shall the spouse of any board member
be employed by the board.

(c) Employment of Board Members. No
member of a local board shall be employed in

any capacity by the board, nor be paid or receive

any compensation of any kind from the board,

except for compensation as a member thereof,

which compensation has been established by the

Board e* othor appointing authority. No local

board member nor other member of the local

governing authority that appoints members of

the local board shall be appointed as manager of

a store, or manager, supervisor, director or ad-

ministrator of the local system. No member of

a board or other appointing authority that ap-

points members of a local board shall be em-
ployed in any capacity by that local board. The
local board shall carry out its powers and duties

as a board and shall not delegate the operation

of the system to individual members.
(d) Contracts Prohibited. Members of a local

board, acting on behalf of the board, shall not

enter into any contracts or agreements or be in

any manner interested in any contract or agree-

ment for their own benefit or in the profits

thereof, whether privately, openly, singly, or

jointly with another member of a local board.

Local boards shall not, on behalf of the board,

enter into any contract or agreement of any kind

with:

( 1

)

any member of any other authority that

appoints members of the local board;

(2) any person who is related by blood to any
member of the board to a degree of first

cousin or closer; or

(3) any spouse of a board member.
(e) Membership on Appointing Board Prohib-

ited. No member of the local board shall be a

member of the appointing authority that ap-

points the local board while serving as a member
of that local board.

(f) Exceptions. Notwithstanding the pro-

visions of this Section, the Commission may
grant exceptions from this Rule in cases of ex-

treme hardship and where the public interest

would not be placed in jeopardy.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-201; 18B-207;

18B-700 (g).

.1009 PERSONNEL MANUAL
(a) Each local board shall establish policies and

rules governing each of the following:

( 1

)

Initial employment of employees, includ-

ing qualifications and requirements for

new employees;

(2) Compensation and benefits;

(3) Hours and davs of work, holidays, vaca-

tion, sick leave and other matters pertain-

ing to the conditions of employment;

(4) Promotion, transfer, demotion and sus-

pension of employees;

(5) Separation or termination of employees;
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(6) Granting of salary increases;

(7) Employee grievance procedures; and

(8) Any other programs or procedures as may
be necessary to promote efficiency and to

provide for a fair and reasonable system

of personnel administration.

(b) A local board is encouraged to model its

personnel policies and procedures after those

adopted by the county or municipality in which

it operates.

(c) A local board shall not adopt a rule or

policy that conflicts with the provisions of

Chapter 18B or these Rules.

Statutory Authority G.S.

18B-701(2); 18B-807.

18B-203 (a) (10);

SECTION .1200 - OPENING AND
DISCONTINUANCE OF STORES

.1203 APPROVAL OF NEW STORES
(a) Notice to Commission. The opening of

any new ABC stores will not be approved by the

Commission unless at least 30 days notice is

given to the chairman as to the intended location

of such store and until a public notice of the in-

tention to open such ABC store has been posted

for 30 days at such location.

(b) Sign Requirements. In order to meet the

public notice requirements of Paragraph (a) of

this Rule, the local board shall post at least one
sign at the proposed new store site in accordance

with all the following requirements:

(1) Dimensions of the sign shall total at least

three square feet;

(2) The Board shall state on the sign its in-

tention to open an ABC store on the site;

(3) Lettering and background colors shall be

of sufficient contrast, and lettering shall

be of sufficient size, so that the notice will

be legible to passersby;

(4) The sign shall be posted within three feet

of the public road or sidewalk that will

run in front of the proposed store, or if the

proposed store will be in a shopping cen-

ter, the sign shall be posted on the front

exterior of the existing storefront or

building.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-801.

.1205 CLOSING OF STORE
An ABC store may be closed when it is not

operated in accordance with the ABC laws, when
it becomes a nuisance to the community in

which it is located or when its continued opera-

tion becomes undesirable for financial or any

other substantial reason.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-80I.

SECTION .1400 - PURCHASE OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES BY LOCAL BOARDS

.1401 PURCHASE LIMITED TO APPROVED
BRANDS

Except for special orders, no purchases of any

spirituous liquor or fortified &f unfortified wine

shall be made by any local board other than

brands approved for resale in ABC stores by the

Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-800(c).

.1402 PERMIT REQUIRED TO SELL
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

No purchase of any spirituous liquor or fortified

©f unfortifiod wine for resale in ABC stores shall

be made by any local board from any person that

does not hold a permit from the Commission
authorizing the sale of those beverages to the lo-

cal boards, except that approved brands of

taxpaid liquor may be purchased for resale from

the board of county commissioners of any

county for an amount not to exceed the usual

wholesale price of the liquor when liquor has

been confiscated for a violation of the ABC laws.

A local board shall purchase fortified wine only

from a North Carolina wholesaler who has been

issued a wine wholesaler permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207;

18B-503(e); 18B-1 107(a)(2).

18B-304(a);

.1407 PAYMENT
(a) Local boards shall remit full payment of the

contractor's statement of account pertaining to

the bailment fee within 30 days of receipt of the

statement.

(b) Local boards shall remit full payment of the

contractor's statement of account pertaining to

the bailment surcharge within ZQ ]_5 days of re-

ceipt of the statement.

(c) Local boards shall remit full payment of the

distiller's invoice within 30 days of delivery of the

liquor.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-702(e).

SECTION .1500 - PRICING OF SPIRITUOUS
LIQUOR

.1503 SPECIAL PURCHASE ALLOWANCES;
POST OFFS; PASS THROUGHS

(a) Temporary Price Reductions. The Com-
mission will, from time to time, reduce the retail

prices of selected liquor products to reflect man-
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ufacturer or importer offers of special price re-

ductions.

(b) Selection of Items. Individual liquor pro-

ducts will be selected for retail price reductions

based on the following criteria:

( 1

)

Amount o\_ reduction offered bv industry'

member;

(2) Profitability of product;

(3) Sales histon of product;

(4) Quantity of product available; and

(5) Marketing support offered by industry

member.
(c) Otters of Reductions. In order for a prod-

uct to be considered, an industry member shall

file, within the time set bv the Commission, spe-

cial purchase allowances offered for its products.

(d) lime Periods. If approved bv the Com-
mission, the reduction of the retail price of a liq-

uor product will be in effect for a period of 30

davs. The Commission will notify industry

members and local boards at least 30 davs in ad-

vance of the effective date of a reduced pnee for

each approved price reduction.

(e) Supplemental Price lists. The Commis-
sion will publish additional price lists indicating

price reductions to supplement the quarterly

price lists published in February. May. August
and November of each year. Supplemental price

lists shall be made available bv each local board

in each of its ABC stores, and all reduced prices

shall be posted bv either affixing the price of the

product to the shelf or affixing a price sticker on
the container. Additional signs may be utilized

by an ABC store to notify customers of the price

reductions.

(f) Reduced Prices Fffective Statewide. A local

board that sells a product selected for a tempo-
ran' price reduction shall sell that product at the

reduced price for the entire period the lower price

is in effect

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a)(3);

18B-207; 18B-702(e); 1SB-804; J8B-S07.

SECTION .1700 - RETAIL SALES OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

.1701 REMOVAL OF BEVERAGES FROM
ABC STORES

(a) Spirituous liquors, liquor, either distressed

or otherwise, shall not leave the custody of a lo-

cal board after receipt unless:

( 1

)

The spirituous liquors are liquor is sold

at retail; or

(2) They are The liquor is returned to the state

ABC warehouse.

Any spirituous liquors liquor leaving the local

board without being sold at retail or returned to

the state ABC warehouse constitute constitutes

nontaxpaid spirituous liquors, liquor.

(b) Distressed Liquors. Liquor. Distressed

liquors liquor shall be destroyed and the de-

struction witnessed by the manager or his

designee and a distiller representative. A De-

struction of Unsaleable Merchandise Report

shall be completed and signed by the witnessing

parties. Copies of the report shall be sent to the

distiller and the Commission.
(c) No sales of alcoholic beverages shall be

made to employees, board members or other re-

tail customers on credit. This Rule shall not

prohibit purchases made bv the use of credit

cards where such sales are permitted by the

Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-806; 18B-807.

.1703 STORES: STATE LIST
(a) Appearance of Stores. Stores shall be

well-lighted and immaculately clean at all times.

Stores not in compliance may be ordered closed

by the Commission until deficiencies are cor-

rected.

fb) Display e4> Beverages. A44 beverages shall

be displayed equally a&<& ho vendor's reproson

tativo eaay interfere with ef suggest how bis

product should be displayed.

(e) Display Cases. Display case s may be used

ift stores upon approval by- tbe local board.

When display cases are used, a«e bottle e£ each
< f .-km -* t- Krini-1 rr\l,-1 l-i T - tb.i ( t i -i r. \ .- T-i
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properly priced m t«e display.

(b) (4) State List to be Posted. Available. Ev-

ery store shall post make available for its cus-

tomers' inspection a copy of the most current

complete state price list t» t«e lobby, and any

supplemental price lists. A local board may draw
up and post its own price list for items or brands

sold in its stores, provided the items and prices

listed on the local list are also listed on the com-
plete state list.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-807.

.1704 SALE OF WINE
(a} Fortified wine may- be sela by a local board

ia aae ef more ef its stores.

f^ Fxcept a* provided m G^ 1SB S00(b)(2),

»f a* specifically provided ia a local aet- permit

taaj (4*e sale e£ unfortified wine by- a local board,

such wine shall ae4- be s©44 » a local store.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-800 (b); 18B-804

(c); 18B-807.
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.1707 SALES RECOMMENDATIONS
PROHIBITED

Sales talks e? recommendations W employooo
fof e* again ot aey particular it em e* brand ef aJ-

coholic bovorago are forbidden.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-S07.

.1708 MAXIMUM QUANTITIES ALLOWED
TO BE SOLD

Employees of local boards are expressly pro-

hibited from selling more than fow five liters of

fortified wine or spirituous liquor or more than
30 five liters of unfortified wino the two com-
bined to a person at any one time, except as au-

thorized under G.S. 18B-403 and G.S. 18B-404.

A copy of all Purchase/Transportation Permits

shall be maintained by local boards for a period

of one year following issuance. A copy of all

Mixed Beverages Purchase/Transportation

Permit/Invoice forms shall be retained by the lo-

cal board for a period of at least three years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-403;
18B-404; ISB-807.

.1710 CREDIT CARD SALES
A local board may allow customers to purchase

alcoholic beverages with credit cards so long as

all the following conditions are met:

(1) The local board tiles with the Commission
a written request for approval to implement
the use of credit cards, and furnishes in that

request the following:

(a) proposed date of implementation;

(b) proposed bank or institution for clearing;

(c) proposed discount rate; and
(d) whether instant verification equipment will

be used;

(2) The local board must receive written au-

thorization from the Commission to allow

credit card sales; and

(3) The minimum alcoholic beverage purchase

that may be charged to a credit card is

twenty dollars ($20.00).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203 (b); I8B-702
(e); 18B-807.

SECTION .1800 - PURCHASE -

TRANSPORTATION PERMITS FOR
INDIVIDUALS AND MIXED BEVERAGES

PERMITTEES

.1801 PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION
PERMITS: WINE: LIQUOR

(a) Local Board to Issue. Whenever a person
desiring to purchase more than 20 liters of un-
fortified wine, or more than fow five liters of ei-

ther fortified wine or spirituous liquor or fo«f five

liters of the two combined, applies to a local

board for a Purchase-Transportation Permit, the

local board shall issue the purchaser such a per-

mit, following the guidelines of G.S. 18B-403.

(b) Form. The Purchase-Transportation Per-

mit shall be issued on a printed three-part form
and shall specify the following information on
the face of the permit:

(1) the name and location of the store from
which the purchase is to be made;

(2) whether the purchase is for unfortified

wine, fortified wine or spirituous liquor;

(3) destination of the alcoholic beverages in-

cluding name and address of location;

(4) Special Occasions Permit number of a lo-

cation, if alcoholic beverages are pur-

chased for a special occasion;

(5) time and date of commencement and
conclusion of special occasion, if any;

(6) quantity and type of alcoholic beverages

purchased;

(7) signature of local ABC official issuing the

permit;

(8) name, address and driver's license number
of purchaser.

The form shall contain a statement that the per-

mit is valid for only one purchase on the date

shown and will expire at 9:30 p.m. on the date

of purchase and a further statement that the per-

mit shall accompany the beverages during trans-

port and storage and be exhibited to any law

enforcement officer upon request.

(c) A local board issuing a Purchase-

Transportation Permit shall retain one copy of

the permit in its files for a period of one year and
give the purchaser two copies, one of which the

purchaser will give the store from which the al-

coholic beverages are purchased.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-303(a);
1SB-403.

.1803 CABINET PERMITTEES; PURCHASE
-TRANSPORTATION PERMITS

(a) Approved Container Sizes; Authorized Ju-

risdictions. Local ABC Boards in the following

counties may sell 50 milliliter, 355 milliliter, and
375 milliliter containers ol liquor to a hotel that

has been issued a Guest Room Cabinet Permit:

Buncombe, Cumberland, Durham, Forsyth,

Gaston, Guilford, Mecklenburg, Moore and
Wake.
(b) Purchase-Transportation Permits. A local

board receiving an order from a guest room cab-

inet permittee for liquor intended for resale from

guest room cabinets shall provide a separate

Purchase- Transportation Permit Invoice form
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for the permittee in the same manner as for sales

of liquor tor mixed beverages permittees, as

specified in Rule .1802 of this Section. The
Purchase-Transportation Permit Invoice shall

contain all the information required by 4 NCAC
2S .()3i)2ibi <M this Chapter, and in addition, shall

show on the face of the form the permittee's

Guest Room Cabinet Permit number. One copy
of the Purchase-Transportation Permit Invoice

form for guest room cabinet permittees shall be

retained bv the local board for a period of three

years.

(c) Minimum Orders. A local board may re-

quire a guest room cabinet permittee to make a

minimum purchase of multi-bottle packages or

sleeves" packaged by the manufacturer or

bottler, but may not require minimum purchases

in case quantities except as authorized by Rule
14D4 of this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-205;

lSB-404(d); S.L. 1991, c. 565, s. 7.

18B-207;

.1804 TAX STAMP PROCEDURES FOR
GUEST ROOM CABINET PERMITTEES

(a) A local board selling liquor for resale in

guest room cabinets shall either affix the mixed
beverages tax stamp to each individual container

of liquor sold to a guest room cabinet permittee,

or shall give the permittee one tax stamp for each

container purchased so the permittee may affix

the stamps to the containers so long as the unaf-

fixed stamps conform to the requirements in

Paragraph lb) of this Rule.

lb) A local board choosing to give unaffixed

mixed beverages tax stamps to a guest room
cabinet permittee shall use a stamp substantially

different in size and color from the mixed
beverages tax stamp used for regular mixed
beverages sales.

(c) bach mixed beverages tax stamp for liquor

sold to a guest room cabinet permittee shall

contain the same information required bv Rule

.1901 of this Subchapter, except that the

permittee's Guest Room Cabinet Permit number
shall appear on the stamp in lieu <M the

permittee s Mixed Beverages Permit number.
id i Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to

allow a local board to give unaffixed mixed
K--. er.ig.-s tax --tamps to a mixed beverages

permittee for liquor containers purchased for re-

sale in mixed beverages.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a)( 1);

18B-207; 18B-804(b)(9); 18B-807.

.1805 LOCAL RULES REQUIRED FOR
GUEST ROOM CABINET SALES

(a) Each local board selling liquor to a hotel

with a Guest Room Cabinet Permit shall adopt

rules governing purchases of liquor by guest

room cabinet permittees and shall submit those

rules to the Commission for approval as required

by Rule . 1 102 of this Subchapter.

(b) Areas to be regulated shall include:

ill minimum purchase requirements;

responsibility for affixing tax stamps;

pre-ordenng requirements;

special orders; and
times when sales shall be made.

Ill

01
til

111
(c) I pon approval bv the Commission, the

local board shall provide a copy of such rules to

each guest room cabinet permittee, and shall

have a copy available on the premises of the store

from which sales will be made.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a)(10);

18B-207; I8B-70K2); 18B-807.

SECTION .1900 - SALES OF LIQUOR TO
MIXED BEVERAGES PERMITTEES

.1901 MIXED BEVERAGES TAX STAMP
(a) Prior to the sale of any container of

spirituous liquor to a permittee, the local board

shall affix to the container a mixed beverages tax

stamp that indicates the following:

( 1 ) local board system of sale,

(2) permittee's transaction number,

(3) permittee's Mixed Beverage Permit num-
ber.

(b) The mixed beverages tax stamp shall be

affixed to the original paper labeling of each

container, except that in the case of a container

bearing no original label the stamp shall be af-

fixed to any conspicuous portion of the con-

tainer. In no event may the stamp be affixed to

the cap or closure of a container. Where a case

of one brand has been purchased, the mixed

beverages tax stamp shall be affixed to each con-

tainer in the case and it shall not be sufficient to

stamp the container el &* entire exterior of the

case.

(c) For sales of liquor to a guest room cabinet

permittee, a local board may affix the mixed

beverages tax stamp to anv portion of the con-

tainer other than the cap or closure. In lieu of

affixing the stamp to each container purchased

bv a guest room cabinet permittee, a local board

mav choose to give to the guest room cabinet

permittee one tax stamp for each container ot

liquor purchased for resale from a guest room
cabinet, as authorized bv Rule .1S!I)4 of this

Subchapter.
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Statutory Authority G.S. l8B-203(a)(I);

18B-207; 18B-804(b)(8); 18B-807.

.1903 LOCAL BOARD PRODUCT
IDENTIFICATION

Prior to the sale of any container of spirituous

liquor to the public at retail, the local board shall

affix to the container or the individual container's

packaging a stamp »? label that indicates the fol-

lowing:

(1) local board system of sale; and

(2) local board store number. a&4

(4) North Carolina product code numbor.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-807.

SUBCHAPTER 2S - RETAIL BEER: WINE:
MIXED BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING:

ADVERTISING: SPECIAL PERMITS

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: PERMIT
APPLICATION PROCEDURES

.0101 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions found in Sections

18B-101 and 18B-1000 of the North Carolina

General Statutes, the following definitions apply

to this Subchapter:

(1) "Employee" means any person who per-

forms a service for any person holding a an

ABC permit, regardless of whether that per-

son is compensated for the performance of

those services.

(2) "Premises" means that building or area of

a building plus any other property imme-
diately adjacent to it that forms a compo-
nent or integral part of the business for

which the permit is issued. A diagram at-

tached to the investigative report and kept

in the permittee's file is prima facie evidence

of the premises covered by that permit and
for which the permittee and his employees
are responsible. Permits shall authorize the

sale and possession or consumption of alco-

holic beverages only on the premises de-

scribed in the investigative report and
diagram furnished by the investigating agent.

(3) "Original container" means a bottle, can

or other alcoholic beverage product con-

tainer filled by a manufacturer or bottler that

has been approved for sale within this State.

(4) "Private dining area" means any area of a

restaurant or hotel that is or can be sub-

stantially closed off from public view.

(5) "Modified Plan Permits." as used in Rules

.0105 and .0106 of this Section, mean on-

premise malt beverage permits authorized

by elections held pursuant to G.S.

18B-602(a)(4).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-602 (a)

(4); 18B-1008.

.0102 APPLICATIONS FOR PERMITS:
GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) Forms. Application forms for all ABC
permits may be obtained from the North
Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commis-
sion at the following address, or by telephoning

the Commission between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00

p.m., Monday through Friday:

North Carolina ABC Commission
3322 Garner Road
P.O. Box 26687

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6687

(b) Statutory Requirements. Before the issu-

ance of any ABC permit, an applicant shall

comply with the statutory requirements of Arti-

cles 9 and 10 of Chapter 18B of the General

Statutes and with the rules of the Commission.
(c) Separate Permits Required. An applicant

operating separate buildings or structures not

connected directly with each other or businesses

with separate trade names shall obtain and hold

separate permits for each building or business for

which he wants permits, and he shall pay the

appropriate application fees as provided in G.S.

18B-902(d). Where there are multiple buildings,

and the Commission determines that the business

is operated as one entity, the Commission may,
in its discretion, issue one permit.

(d) Information Required on Application. An
applicant for any ABC permit shall file a written

application with the Commission and in the ap-

plication shall state, under oath, the following

information:

(1) name and address of applicant;

(2) corporate or partnership name;

(3) mailing address e£ and location address of

business for which permit is desired, and
county in which business is located;

trade name of business;

name and address of owner of premises;

applicant's date and place of birth;

if a corporation, the name and address of

agent or employee authorized to serve as

process agent (person upon whom legal

service of Commission notices or orders

can be made);

if a non-resident, name and address of

person appointed as attorney-in-fact by
virtue of duly executed and registered

power of attorney; and

(9) a detailed diagram of the premises show-

ing:

(A) entrances and exits;

(B) storage area for alcoholic beverages;

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(N)
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(C) locations where alcoholic beverages

may be served or consumed.
In addition, an applicant shall state, under oath,

that he is the actual and bona fide owner or lessee

of the premises for which a permit is sought and
shall submit a copy or memorandum of the lease

showing the applicant as tenant, or a copy of the

deed showing the applicant as the grantee or

owner; that he intends to carry on the business

authorized by the permit himself or under his

immediate supervision and direction; and that he

is an actual and bona fide resident of the State

of North Carolina or, as a non-resident, has ap-

pointed, by virtue of a duly executed and regis-

tered power of attorney, a resident manager to

serve as attorney-in-fact who will manage the

business and accept service of process and official

Commission notices or orders.

(e) General Restriction; Living Quarters. No
permit for the possession, sale or consumption
of alcoholic beverages shall be issued to any es-

tablishment when there are living quarters con-

nected directly thereto, and no permittee shall

establish or maintain living quarters in or con-

nected to his licensed premises.

(f) General Restriction; Restrooms. No permit

for the on-premises possession, sale, or con-

sumption of alcoholic beverages shall be issued

to any establishment unless there are two
restrooms in working order on the premises.

This requirement may be waived for good cause

shown.

(g) Areas for Sales and Consumption. In de-

termining the areas in which alcoholic beverages

may be sold and consumed, the Commission will

consider the convenience of the permittee and his

patrons, allowing the fullest use of the premises

consistent with proper control, but will attempt

to avoid consumption in areas open to the gen-

eral public other than patrons.

(h) Temporary' Permits for Continuation of

Business. In its discretion the Commission may
issue temporary7 permits to an applicant for the

continuation of a business operation that holds

current ABC permits when a change in owner-

ship or location of a business has occurred. To
obtain a temporary permit an applicant shall

submit the appropriate ABC permit application

form, all required fees, a lease or other proof of

legal ownership or possession of the property on
which the business is to be operated, and a writ-

ten statement from the ALE agent in that area

stating that there are no pending ABC violations

against the business. An applicant for a tempo-
ran" permit should also submit the permits of

the prior permittee for cancellation prior to the

issuance of any temporary permit. No tempo-
ran" permit shall be issued to any applicant unless

all prior ABC permits issued for the premises

have been cancelled by the Commission.
(i) Retail Sales at Public Places Restricted.

The sale and delivery of alcoholic beverages by
licensed retail outlets located on fair grounds, golf

courses, ball parks, race tracks, and other similar

public places are restricted to an enclosed estab-

lishment in a designated place that has been ap-

proved by the Commission. No alcoholic

beverages, shall be sold, served, or delivered by
these outlets outside the enclosed establishment,

nor in grandstands, stadiums or bleachers at

public gatherings.

As used in this Rule, the term "enclosed estab-

lishment" shall include a temporary structure or

structures constructed and used for the purpose

of dispensing food and beverages at special events

to be held on fairgrounds, golf courses, ball

parks, race tracks, and other similar places.

Sales of alcoholic beverages may be made in

seating areas such as box seats only under the

following conditions:

( 1
) table senice of food and non-alcoholic

beverages are available to patrons in box
seats;

no alcoholic beverages are delivered to theGl

01

box seats area untd after orders have been

taken; and

box seat areas have been designated as part

of the permittee's premises on a diagram

submitted by the permittee, and the

Commission has granted written approval

of alcoholic beverage sales in these seating

(j) Separate Locations at Airport. If one
permittee has more than one location at the ter-

minal of an airport boarding at least 150,000

passengers annually and that permittee leases

space from the airport authority, the Commis-
sion recognizes that allocation of space is con-

trolled bv the airport authority. Therefore, the

permittee in such a situation may:

( 1

)

obtain a single permit for all its locations

in the terminal;

(2) use one central facility for storing the al-

coholic beverages it sells at its locations:

and

(3) pool the gross receipts from all its lo-

cations for determining whether it meets

the requirements of G.S. 1 SB- 1000(6) and

Rule .0519 of this Subchapter.

(k) food Businesses. Lnless the business

othenvise qualifies as a wine shop primarily en-

gaged in selling wines for off-premise consump-

tion, a food business will qualify for an

off-premise fortified wine permit only if it has

and maintains an inventon of staple foods worth

at least one thousand five hundred dollars
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($1,500) at retail value. Staple foods shall include

meat, poultry, fish, bread, cereals, vegetables,

fruits, vegetable and fruit juices and dairy pro-

ducts. Staple foods do not include coffee, tea,

cocoa, soft drinks, candy, condiments and spices.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-900;

18B-901(d); 18B-902; I8B-903; 18B-905;

18B-I000(3); I8B-1008.

.0103 CORPORATIONS HOLDING PERMITS
(a) Filing Applications. ¥he managor ef ovory

corporation applying fof ef holding any ABC
pormit, except fof corporations holding only e£f-

promiso malt beverage, unfortifiod wine ef forti

See1

wino permits, shall file foe appropriate

application with- the Commission af>4 qualify

under foe provisions ef G.S. 18B 900.

fo) Corporations With Off Premise Pormito

Only. Corporations applying fof ef holding only

off promise permits fof foe sale ef malt bovoragoo

^^T ^^^^^^^7 ^^^Tt^^T t^^^^^v ^^^T ^T^^7 ^^^^^^^^CT^^^^^y ^^T ^^^^7 ^T^^^^^j

afea as foe posted ABC permits, foe foil name,
home address atfo phono number ef foe curront

managor ef foe ostablishmont.

(e) Changos fo Management; Now Managers.

Whonovor foe managor ef- a corporation othor

than a corporation holding only off premise malt

beverage an4 wine permits changes, foe Hew
manager shall file application with foe Commie
oion, submit a fee ef tea dollars ($10.00), ae4
quality undor foe provisions ef G.S. 18B 900
within 34 days ef bis employment.

(4) Transferred Managers. When a person who
1 IUJ DTI! F HJUJI T rTTCTT tXL.' I ' UVUl IT Tl I UI Id U V1U11I IVTJ TTTTTT

foe Commission is subsequently transferred by a

corporate pormittoo foat- holds on premiso ef

brownbaggjng permits te- a different lioonood le-

cation operated by foe same corporation, he is

ae+ required te- file a» additional application.

He shall, however, notify foe Commission fo

writing ef foe transfer an4 foe new location s a4-

dress, including foe pormit numbers ef curront

rTTTT? r ' 1 1 III J nTra CTT COT rT^TTTT oTICTTSrTOW n^fTTPTTTTTT

Any corporation holding an ABC permit in this

State that seeks permits for any additional busi-

ness location shall have the manager of the new
location tile the appropriate application and fee,

and qualify under G.S. 18B-QQ0(a).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-900;

18B-902(a); 18B-903(d).

.0105 SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
RESTAURANTS

(a) Requirements to Qualify for Brovvnbagging,

on-premise Fortified Wine. Mixed Beverages, or

Modified Plan Permits. To qualify as a restaurant

for a Brownbagging, on-premise Fortified Wine
or Mixed Beverages Permit, or a Malt Beverages

Permit in areas approving on-premise malt

beverages under G.S. 18B-602(a)(4), a business

shall have an inside dining area set aside for the

service of meals that contains table seating for at

least 36 persons. N© table less than :?4Q square

inches ef surface afea shall be considered fo 4e-

tormining whether a restaurant has table seating

fof 46? Food shall be available at all times that

alcoholic beverages are being served.

fo) Loungos. A restaurant f»ay alse include

a» adjacent lounge, which is a spaco soparato

II \J III 111U OO LUIC CoXTT UI IU TT I IH_'l 1 ^T 1 1U.A \J U CT L'UllLl lll/IT

lcitchon wifo foe dining area. 4foe adjacont

1UUI *K" IIL"l_"U rtTTT fcTTTTTCOTT J'J C^U I Tl ITT 1 1DCIT UT PTTT^

foil moals as le«g as food is available fo foe

lounge while alcoholic beverages a*e befog

served.

(b) fo) Typical Characteristics. Although a fa-

cility need not possess all of the following char-

acteristics to qualify as a restaurant, each is

typical of a bona fide restaurant and the Com-
mission may consider the extent to which a fa-

cility possesses these characteristics in deciding

whether to issue, suspend, or revoke the permits

listed in Paragraph (a):

(1) The facility has a printed menu listing full

meals with substantial entrees;

(2) The facility has complete cooking and re-

frigeration equipment;

(3) The greatest portion of the food sold is

prepared in the facility's own kitchen and
prepackaged food is only an incidental

part of the sales;

(4) The greatest portion of the food sold is

consumed on the premises;

(5) There are separate kitchen and service

staffs;

(6) Seating for dining customers is primarily

at tables; a»4

(7) Only a small portion of the premises is

devoted to activities unrelated to the ser-

vice and consumption of food; and

(8) Sales of food are significantly greater than

sales of nonalcoholic beverages, especially

nonalcoholic beverages sold as "set-ups."

(c) (4) Requirements for Application. For a

restaurant to obtain a permit listed in Paragraph

(a), the applicant shall submit to the Commis-
sion the appropriate application fee and the fol-

lowing documents:

(1) a completed application on a form pro-

vided by the Commission, which shall in-

clude the full names and addresses of all

owners, officers, directors, shareholders

owning 25 percent or more of the stock,

and the manager; if, however, a corpo-
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ration holds any other ABC permit, ap-

plication by the manager shall be

sufficient;

(2) a copy of the restaurant's menu or list of

food served;

(3) photographs (black em4 whito ©f color)

measuring ne smalle r than five inches by
seven inchoo ef the following: of sufficient

detail to show the following:

(A) entire kitchen, including all equipment;

(B) all dining areas, showing seating ar-

rangements, including patios or outdoor

areas where alcoholic beverages may be

sold or consumed;
(C) bars, counters, mixing stations;

(D) locked storage area or areas for storage

of alcoholic beverages;

(E) front exterior of premises or if estab-

lishment is located in an office building,

mall or other larger structure, the main
entrance.

(4} a financial statement, e» a form providod

by the Commission, f-e* eaeh ef the ppe-

coding s» months, ©* fi»F each month ef

operation ef the restaurant if less tha» st*

months, showing: gross receipts from the

sale ef food af*4 non intoxicating

beverages; gross receipts from the sale »f

malt beverages a**4 v. mo, if aayt and gross

receipts from the sale ef aH other items.

tf a» applicant has net previously boon i»

operation, a projected financial statement

estimating gross receipts fw food an4
beverage items shall be files e» a form
provided by the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-900;

18B-901; I8B-902; /SB-/ 000(6); I8B-1008.

.0106 SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
HOTELS

(a) Requirements to Qualify for Brownbagging,

on-premise Fortified Wine, Mixed Beverages, or

Modified Plan Permits. To qualify as a hotel for

a Brownbagging or a Mixed Beverages Permit,

or a Malt Beverage Permit in areas approving

on-premise malt beverages under G.S.

18B-602(a)(4), an establishment shall have on or

closely associated with its premises a full-service

restaurant providing at least 36 seats, at tables.

The restaurant may or may not be owned by the

same person who owns the hotel. If the restau-

rant is owned by a person different from the

owner of the hotel, permits shall be not be issued

to the restaurant unless it qualifies under Rule

.0105 of this Section.

(b) For a hotel with a restaurant to obtain one

of the permits listed in Paragraph (a), the appli-

cant shall submit to the Commission, the appro-

priate application fee and the following

documents:

(1) a completed application on a form pro-

vided by the Commission, which shall in-

clude the full names and addresses of all

owners, officers, directors, shareholders

owning 25 percent or more of the stock,

and the manager; if, however, a corpo-

ration holds any other ABC permit, ap-

plication by the manager is sufficient;

(2) a copy of the restaurant's menu or a list

of food served;

(3) photographs (black a«4 white &f color)

measuring He smaller than five inches by
seven inches ef the following: of sufficient

detail to show the following:

(A) entire kitchen including all equipment;

(B) all permanent dining areas, showing
seating arrangements, including patio or

outdoor areas where alcoholic beverages

might be served or consumed;
(C) bars, counters and mixing stations;

(D) locked storage area or areas; and
(E) front exterior of premise s; hotel and

restaurant.

(4) a financial statomont, ©» a form provided

by the Commission, fi>F each »f the p?e-

coding s«* months, e* f-ef oaoh month ef

operation ef the hotol if it is less than em
months, showing the following: gross re-

ceipts from the furnishing ef lodging;
j£^^ ^^^^^^^^^^^^ y-^m ^^^^^^ ^^1 r . . . j ^^^^^i ^^^^^^^^5^^^^^^ r^^TTpT? 1 1 T./1 1 1 JUIU KJ1 \\J\J\J HI 1U IH_FII

alcoholic bovoragos; gross receipts from
vTT^ LTU. 1 U \TT II RD C ^^^TTTIC^^ CTT^^T TT H^TT TT CTTtTt

afi4 gross receipts from the sale ef all

other items, If- a» applicant has Bet p*e-

viously been » operation, a projected fi-

nancial statomont estimating gross receipts

fef the food, lodging <&*& beverage items

shall be filed- e» a form providod by the

Commission.
(c) Locations Where Sales Permitted.

Brownbagging by patrons, consumption of alco-

holic beverages and sales of mixed beverages are

allowed at any time during lawful hours in the

restaurant and in any lounge or other place that

is customarily open to the general public and that

is associated with the restaurant. These lounges

and other places need not be directly connected

to the restaurant as long as the services of the

restaurant are available to the lounge at all times

that alcoholic beverages are being served. Sales

and consumption of mixed beverages are allowed

in banquet rooms, convention rooms, suites and

similar places not usually open to the general

public only during scheduled events and only to

persons attending those events. Portable bars
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may be used for the sale or mixing of mixed
beverages in those rooms.

(d) Diagram of Premises. The diagram of the

premises submitted with the application for a

permit under this Rule and the diagram approved

by the Commission when the permit is issued

shall be marked to indicate which spaces are

considered part of the restaurant and lounge or

other places associated with the restaurant and
customarily open to the general public, and

which spaces are considered banquet rooms,
convention rooms, meeting rooms, suites,and
similar places where mixed beverages are to be

sold only during scheduled events.

(e) Managers' Receptions. Hotels operating

lodging, restaurant and lounge facilities under

one set of ABC permits may offer lodging guests

up to two alcoholic beverages per guest per day

in the price of the room package under the fol-

lowing conditions:

( 1

)

The reception or social hour is held on the

licensed premises of the hotel;

(2) The hotel issues a voucher for the

beverages that can be used by the guest to

obtain the beverage of his choice;

(3) Nonalcoholic beverages shall also be of-

fered to lodging guests during the func-

tion; and

(4) The hotel must account for the beverages

bv an internal accounting procedure to

insure that the price of each beverage in-

cluded in the room rate package is the

same price as is being charged other pa-

trons in the lounge or restaurant for the

same beverage. This procedure must be

acceptable to tjie Commission's Audit

Division.

(f) Guest Room Cabinet Permits; Application

Requirements. .Applications for a Guest Room
Cabinet permit will be accepted only from hotels

with Mixed Beverages permits, or from hotels

simultaneously applying for Mixed Beverages

permits, in the following counties: Buncombe,
Cumberland. Durham. Forsvth, Gaston.

Guilford. Mecklenburg, Moore and Wake.
In addition to the general requirements for per-

mit applications in this Rule and in Rule .0KJ2

of this Section, a hotel applying for a Guest

Room Cabinet permit shall submit the following

items along with the completed application form
and appropriate fee:

ill

Ql

L2U

list of lodging rooms bv room number in

which cabinets will be placed;

Total number of lodging rooms and total

number of rooms set aside that will not

have a cabinet:

Description of cabinets to be installed bv

the hotel. A manufacturer's brochure de-

scribing the cabinet will be sufficient, or

the permittee may submit photographs

and a written description of the lock used

on the cabinet;

(4) Written policies developed by the

permittee regarding the procedures that

will be implemented bv the hotel to:

(A) insure no one under 21 is able to obtain

a key to the cabinet;

(B) control inventory;

(C) insure price lists for items sold from
cabinets are easily readable;

(D) dispose of all opened alcoholic beverage

containers sold from cabinets after guest

has checked out;

(E) maintain adequate numbers of ice and
soft drink vending machines elsewhere on
the premises.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-900;

ISB-90I; 1SB-902; 18B-1000(4); 18B-I00I ( 12);

18B-1008; S.L. 1991, c. 565, s. 7.

.0107 SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
PRIVATE CLUBS

(a) Definition. A private club is a private fa-

cility organized and operated by a person, asso-

ciation or corporation solely for a social,

recreational, patriotic or fraternal purpose. Use
of the facility shall not be open to the general

public but shall be limited to members of the

private club and their guests.

(b) Typical Characteristics. Although a facility

need not possess all of the following character-

istics to qualify as a private club, each is typical

of a bona fide club and the Commission will

consider the extent to which a facility possesses

these characteristics in deciding whether to issue,

suspend, or revoke a Brownbagging, Fortified

Wine or Mixed Beverages Permit:

(1) Membership is subject to clearly stated

requirements that tend to show a com-
mon bond among members;

(2) Some limit related to the size of the fa-

cility is placed on total membership;

(3) All members may and do participate in

its organizational affairs, including the se-

lection of officers or directors at reason-

ably frequent intervals;

(4) The club operates pursuant to a charter,

articles of association, constitution, or

similar basic document and has adopted

by-laws, copies of which are provided to

each member;

(5) The club has clearly stated objectives of

a social, recreational, patriotic or fraternal

nature and its activities advance those ob-

jectives;
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(6) Membership entitles a person to signif-

icant privileges other than the consump-

tion of alcoholic beverages;

f?) Initiation as4 membership foes are sub

stantially great er than what would be paid

by- a ono timo »f caoual «s»f ef- the facih

(7) (g) Most members hold full rather than

limited memberships;

(£) Initiation »f membership feesr as distin

guished from admission foesy afe used t»

mitigato significantly operating ojtponooQ;

(8) (4% Facilities and activities other than

those customarily related to the con-

sumption of alcoholic beverages are avail-

able to members;

(9) (444 Some limits are placed on the number
of times a guest may use the facilities;

( 10) f42} Guests constitute a relatively small

portion of the users of the facility,

(c) Mandatory Requirements. To qualify as a

private club, a facility shall meet the following

requirements concerning membership:

( 1

)

collect an annual membership fee separate

from any admission or cover charge, no

dues from which may be more than 30

days past due;

(2) maintain a written policy on the granting

of full and limited memberships;

(3) require each prospective member to

complete a written application that con-

tains questions directly related to the ap-

plicant's interest in the social, patriotic,

fraternal or recreational purpose of the

club, the applicant's qualifications for

membership, and the applicant's back-

ground;

(4) retain each completed application, if ap-

proved, in the organization's permanent

records as long as the individual's mem-
bership continues;

(4) havo a membership committee) ef at least

throe persons v4>» review aH applications

fo* membership a«4 make rocommen

dations t» the foil membership;

(5) (4) grant no membership sooner than

three days after receipt of application;

(6) (?) issue written or printed evidence of

membership to each member, which evi-

dence of membership or other reasonably

reliable document of identification shall

be in the possession of each member
present on the licensed premises;

(7) (&)• maintain on the premises a current al-

phabetical roster of all members and their

complete addresses;

(8) fty maintain and provide to each member
a written policy concerning the use of fa-

culties by guests,

(d) Permit Application Procedures. For a pri-

vate club to obtain a Brownbagging or a Mixed

Beverages Permit, the applicant shall submit to

the Commission the appropriate application fee

and the following documents:

(1) a completed application on a form pro-

vided by the Commission, which shall in-

clude the full names and addresses of all

officers and directors (including those

chosen by the membership), and the

manager; a»4 the members ef- the com
mittee who review applications fof mom
borships;

(2) the written policy on granting of full and

limited memberships;

(3) a copy of the membership application

form;

(4) a copy of the membership card or certif-

icate to be issued to members;

(5) the written policy on use of facilities by

guests; and

(6) the charter, articles of incorporation,

constitution, or other basic documents,

and the by-laws, if any.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-900;

18B-901; 18B-902; 18B-1000(5); 1SB- 1008.

.0108 ILLEGAL LSE OF PERMITS: CHANGE
OF OWNERSHIP OR NAME

(a) No permittee shall allow any other person

to use his permit to operate the licensed premises

after disposing of his financial interest in the li-

censed premises.

(b) A permittee shall not pay any profits de-

rived from the operation of the licensed business

to any person who neither owns a financial in-

terest in the business nor performs a service for

the business. This restriction shall not, however,

prohibit a permittee from entering into a lease

by which the landlord is entitled to a percentage

of receipts in lieu of or in addition to a periodic

rent payment.

(c) Change in Ownership. A permit shall au-

tomatically terminated terminate whenever any

change in the ownership of the business, as pro-

vided in G.S. 18B-903(c) occurs. Permits issued

for a business in which a change of ownership

has occurred shall be returned to the Commis-
sion or delivered to the State ALE Agent agent

assigned to the area.

(d) Change in Name. When the permittee's

name or name of business is changed, the

permittee shall apply to the Commission for du-
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plicate permits in accordance with G.S.

18B-903(g).

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; l8B-901(c);

18B-903(c); 18B-903(g).

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL RLLES AFFECTING
RETAILERS AND BROWNBAGGING

PERMITTEES

.0202 CLEARING TABLES/COUNTERS;
IIOLRS FOR POSSESSION/REMOVAL

I r-\ \ V. •-> 1 . 1 I Jr/-\ \-\ i l--i i f-> . -T I liinnn 1 . \ «-t fun I Inn re- \' j-t
rrrr ltuiu i ivmiii'ii \.\x 1 ~ ui 11 1 c i^vi iuii 1 i iuui j. i t t_r

alcoholic boveragos may fee s©14 between the

hours ©£4-h0© a.m. aft© :?44§ a.m.

(a) (fe) Clearing Beverages Off Tables and
Counters. All tables and counters shall be

cleared of all alcoholic beverages, bottles, cans,

glasses and containers by 4-^© 2:30 a.m. No
permittee or his employees shall allow a patron

to possess a container of alcoholic beverages after

2:30 a.m.

(e) Exception. During the period commencing
©» the last- Sunday ©f April ©f each year, aft©

ending ©ft the last- Sunday ©f- October ©f- each

year, alcoholic beverages f»ay- he s©W until 34M4

a.m., a«4 ali tables a«4 counters shall fee cleared
l-«i r } i II -i mO f

ETTTTT CT7TTTT

(4) Sunday Sales. :Fhe sale ©f alcoholic

^^^TC^^T ^^^^T ^^^^^^^^^^^ t^^^^^PT ^^^^^^ ^^^^^^^ rTTT 117 I V

Sunday.

(b) f©} Removal From Premises. No alcoholic

beverages may be removed from any retail li-

censed premises whenever the sale of alcoholic

beverages is prohibited by law.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-1004.

.0205 EMPLOYEE AGE REQUIREMENT
(a) Age Requirement: Brownbagging, Mixed

Beverages and Special Occasions Permits. Per-

sons holding Brownbagging. Mixed Beverages or

Special Occasions Permits shall have an em-
ployee who is at least 21 years of age in charge

of the licensed premises at all times.

(b) Age Requirement: Malt Beverage, Unforti-

fied Wine and Fortified Wine Permits. Persons

holding retail Malt Beverage, Unfortified Wine,
or Fortified Wine Permits shall have an employee
who is at least 18 years old in charge of the li-

censed premises at all times.

(c) Bartenders: Brownbagging, Mixed
Beverages and Special Occasions Permits. No
person under the age of 21 may be employed by
any permittee to mix drinks containing spirituous

liquors, liquor.

(d) Waiters and Waitresses. -?v© person under
the age ©f 4-8- m&f fee employed fey a©y permittee

ift connection witfe the preparation, serving, sale

©f delivery ©f- alcoholic boveragos at- a»y ostab

D .'nil ten i i it.jmmE i tvt i 1 n it* itji ctxv K7I1 i_ti vi rRTun trvii \j

©f consumption ©f- alcoholic beverages. Ages of

persons employed in the preparation, serving,

sale or delivery of alcoholic beverages at any es-

tablishment holding permits for the on-prcmise

sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages are

governed by the provision of The Wage and
flour Act, Article 2A of Chapter 95 of the N.C.

General Statutes.

(e) Other Employees: This Rule does not pro-

hibit the employment of a minor by a permittee

if the minor does not prepare, serve, seU, or de-

liver any alcoholic beverages, and if the employ-

ment is otherwise lawful under the Wage and

flour Act.

(f) Off- Premise Permits. This Rule does not

prohibit the employment of minors at an estab-

lishment holding only off-premise permits for the

retail sale of malt beverages or wine.

(g) Topless Minors. No permittee may employ
or allow any female under the age of 18 to per-

form any service if the minor exposes to public

view or wears transparent clothing that reveals

the nipple or any portion of the areola of the

breast.

Statutory Authority G.S.

95-25.5 (a), (j); 95-25.14.

J8B-207; 18B-900;

.0218 COIN VENDING MACHINES TO
DISPENSE BEVERAGES PROHIBITED

(a) No permittee or his employee shall use or

permit the use of any automatically operated or

coin vending machines for dispensing alcoholic

beverages.

(b) In-room bars or cabinets from which alco-

holic beverages are dispensed, that arc placed in

the lodging rooms of a guest room cabinet

permittee, shall not be considered automatically

operated vending machines.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-100! (12).

.0220 TRADE NAME SIGNS
Within 60 days of receipt of his permanent per-

mit, a permittee shall have at least one sign on
the exterior of his premises that states the trade

name of his premises as it appears on his permit.

The sign shall be maintained on the exterior of

the premises at all times.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B- 207.

.0221 MAXIMUM QUANTITIES ALLOWED TO
BE SOLD

fa} Malt Beverages. N© retail malt beverage

permittee, ©f his employee shall s©44 ©f deliver t©
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12 ounce ease g4«* H«e 12 ounce cans, ef seven

cases e£ 16 ounco cans pk*§ ©fte 16 ounco can)

e£ malt beverages other than draught bee? i»

(-bt Wines. rVe retail fortified ©f unfortifiod

wine permittee e* bis employee oholl sett &f de-

rTTTT TTT HI 1 T l_T 1 1L Y 3v1 ™ U. I HI I ? ORD IU11~ I11U1U

than 30 liters »f unfortifiod wine e* more than

fo«f liters ©f- fortified wino, except as authorized

by a purchase transportation permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 1SB-303.

mil CONTAINER SIZES
Fortified wine may be sold in any original con-

tainer that holds up to fo«f five liters, and un-

fortified wine may be sold in any original

container that holds up to ^Q 20 liters. AU wino

containers shall be e>£ glass e* other nonmotallio

materials, except fo* bulk containers approved

by tbe commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-206; I8B-207.

.0229 DESTRUCTION OF L'NCONSL'MED
BEVERAGES

Any alcoholic beverages served to a customer
that he does not completely consume and that

he leaves shall be destroyed immediately, except

that a hotel guest cabinet permittee shall not be

required to dispose of opened containers of alco-

holic beverages sold from an rn-room bar or

cabinet until after the lodging guest has checked
out of the hotel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-206; I8B-207.

.0232 HAPPY HOURS REGELATED
(a) .An on-premise permittee or his agent shall

not:

( 1) sell more than one drink to a patron for a

single price;

(2) establish a single price based upon the re-

quired purchase of more than one drink;

or

(3) deliver more than one drink at one time

to a patron for his consumption.

This Rule does not prohibit the sale of pitchers

of alcoholic beverages to two or more patrons, if

not otherwise inconsistent with the ABC law.

This Rule also does not prohibit serving a single

carafe or bottle of wine to a single patron.

(b) An on-premise permittee or his agent shall

not give away a drink or sell one at a price that

is reduced different from the usual or established

price charged for the drink for any period of time

less than one full business day. Free or reduced

drinks under this provision shall be offered to all

customers, not just a segment of the population,

(cj For purposes of this Rule, a "drink" con-

tains the amount of alcoholic beverages usually

and customarily served to a single patron as a

single serving by the permittee.

(d) Exception for Certain Holidays. An on-

premise permittee may include alcoholic

beverages in a package offering that includes a

meal or entertainment if the offered special is

made in conjunction with the following holidays:

New Year's, Valentines Day, Mothers Dav. or

Father's Dav.

(e) The offer of a meal and alcoholic beverage

at a single total price is not a violation of this

Section so long as the total price reflects the ac-

tual price of the alcoholic beverages and not a

reduced price.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207.

.0233 CONSUMPTION BY UNDERAGE
PERSONS

(a) Consumption bv Persons Under Age. No
permittee or his employees shall knowingly allow 7

a person under the age of 21_ to possess or con-

sume anv alcoholic beverages on the licensed

premises.

(b) Identification. It shall be the dutv of the

permittee and his employees to determine the age

of any person consuming or possessing alcoholic

beverages on the licensed premises. Acceptable

identification for purposes of deterniining age

shall be a driver's license, a special identification

card issued by the North Carolina Division of

Motor Vehicles, a military identification card, or

a passport.

Statutory Authority G.S.

18B-1005 (a) (1).

1SB-207: J8B-302;

.0234 PRIVATE CLUBS: GENERAL
PROHIBITIONS; GUESTS

(a) Neither a private club permittee nor his

employee shall:

( 1 ) allow any person who is not a member
or a bona tide guest of a member to be

present as a patron on the premises of a

private club: or

(2) grant membership to the private club to

anv person earlier than three davs from

the receipt of his application for member-
ship.

(bl "House Guests. No private club

permittee or his employee shall admit patrons as

"house" guests.
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(c) Employee Member. An employee who is

also a member of the private club shall not admit

a patron as his guest while that employee is on
duty.

(d) A member shall designate his own guest.

If a member accepts a patron as his guest at the

behest of the private club mixed beverages

permittee or employee, then the Commission
shall consider that member to be acting as the

permittee's agent

.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1008.

.0235 PRIVATE CLUBS; RECIPROCAL
MEMBERSHIPS

A private club permittee may offer reciprocal

memberships to bona fide members of other pri-

vate clubs under the following conditions:

(1) Reciprocity may extend only to members
of private clubs holding Mixed Beverages or

Brownbagging permits issued by the Com-
mission.

(2) All clubs participating in reciprocal mem-
bership arrangements shall enter into a writ-

ten agreement setting forth the terms of their

arrangement, and each club shall adopt rules

governing the use of their facilities by recip-

rocal members. The agreement and rules

shall be filed with the Commission and
made a part of the permittees' files.

(3) Private clubs entering into such agreements

shall be located in d liferent counties.

(4) A member of another club who is granted

a reciprocal membership shall be required to

show a valid membership card indicating he

is a bona fide member of the reciprocal club

each time he enters the facility.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 1SB- 1008.

.0236 TRANSFER OF PRODUCTS BETWEEN
PREMISES PROHIBITED

A permittee owning more than one licensed re-

tail establishment shall not transfer alcoholic

beverages from one business location to another

except upon written request to and approval by

the Commission. No approval for such transfer

given except upon a showing by

the following:

thewill be

permittee ot

( 1) the establishment from which the alcoholic

beverages are to be removed is going out of

business or closing for such a period of time

that the alcoholic beverages will spoil or de-

teriorate before the business reopens; or

(2) the wholesaler assigned to the establishment

to which the products will be transferred is

unable or unwilling to supply the products.

This Rule shall not be construed to authorize a

retail permittee to make purchases at a central

location or warehouse for distnbution to other

retail establishments owned by the permittee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B- 1006(h);

18B-1007(a).

SECTION .0400 - ADDITIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR BROWNBAGGING

PERMITTEES

.0402 PRIVATE CLUBS: POSSESSION OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

(a) Quantity. No private club brownbagging
permittee shall allow a member or .guest of the

club to possess more than few five liters of

spirituous liquors liquor or few five liters of for-

tified wine, or fo«f five liters of the two com-
bined; more than 80 liters of malt beverages (nine

cases of 12 ounce 355 milliliter cans plus nine

12 ounce 355 milliliter cans, or seven cases of

16 ounce 473 milliliter cans plus one 16 ounco
473 milliliter can); or more than 20 liters of un-
fortified wine upon the premises.

(b) Label Required. A permittee shall ensure

that each container brought onto the premises is

labeled immediately with the member's name
substantially as it appears on the membership
roster and that containers brought by guests are

labeled with the names of the guest and the

sponsoring member.
(c) Possession by Permittee Not Holding

Mixed Beverages Permit. A permittee not hold-

ing a Mixed Beverages Permit or his employee
may maintain custody over a member's or guest's

alcoholic beverages and locker key provided that

during custody, the member or guest is present

on the premises. The member's or guest's alco-

holic beverages shall be used exclusively by the

member and his bona fide guests, and the alco-

holic beverage containers and locker key shall be

returned to the member or guest before he leaves

the premises.

(d) Furnishing Alcoholic Beverages Limited.

Neither the permittee nor a member shall furnish

or have furnished alcoholic beverages to other

members or bona fide guests of members unless

the member owning the beverages is physically

present upon the premises.

Statutory Authoritv G.S. 18B-207; 18B-100J(7);

18B- 1006(b).

.0403 PRIVATE CLUBS: STORAGE OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

(a) A private club brownbagging permittee

shall see that alcoholic beverages are stored in

compliance with the following conditions:
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(1) All alcoholic beverages stored at the club

shall be kept in individual lockers that are

labeled with the members' names as they

appear on the membership roster; lockers

shall remain locked when the member is

not on the premises;

(2) Each locker shall contain a lock that can

be opened only with a key, and the key

shall be possessed by the individual

member when that member is not present

on the premises of the club;

(3) No member shall store, whether in one
or more lockers, more than few five liters

of fortified wine or spirituous liquor, or

few five liters of the two combined; few
five liters of malt beverages; or few five

liters of unfortified wine upon the prem-
ises;

Note: For example, one member may store

the above mentioned quantities of alcoholic

beverages in the aggregate in one or more
lockers, such as a beverage locker and a sports

equipment locker on one premises, provided

that beverage containers and lockers are la-

beled as required, and when he is not on the

premises, the member has exclusive possession

of the key or keys.

(4) Alcoholic beverages belonging to different

members shall not be stored in the same
locker, except that a husband and wife

may store alcoholic beverages in the same
locker as long as the total quantity does

not exceed the quantities stated in Sub-
paragraph (3) of this Paragraph.

(b) The permittee and his employee shall be

responsible for returning to a member when he

leaves the premises all malt beverages and unfor-

tified wine brought to the club by the member in

excess of the amounts that may be legally stored

at the establishment by the member.
(c) All alcoholic beverages left on the premises

of the club contrary to the provisions of this Rule

shall be destroyed by the permittee or his em-
ployee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; 1SB-301 (b)

(3); 18B-1001 (7); 18B-1008.

.0406 PRIVATE CLI BS WITH
BROWNBAGGING/MIXED BEVERAGES
PERMITS

fe a private efeb with both a Mixed Beverages

Permit a«4 a Brownhagging Permit, fee

permittee r.hall comply with fee following Fe-

quiromonts:

f44 44** pormittoo shall Hf4 allow a member fc»

possess more than few liters ef fortified

11 '

1 1*1 >
i
\ r .'tMntn.Tiir 1 i ;i i l ii r r^ t- t.ii it- lit.it-.' r\ T * \~\ QTTTTTV \ ' 1 LTL.'II 1 1UV'U .' 1 l\.l 111 P 1 , I ' I ll.'LJl 1 1 I \. 1 3 VJ 1 I 1 TV

twe- combined; more than 8© liters ©f malt

beverages; w more than 30 liters »f unforti

fie4 wine ©« fee premises;

(-3) 4fee permittee shall ensure feat- each con

tainer »f alcoholic beverages brought onto

fee promise s by a member is labeled immo
diatoly with fee member's name substan
t i i 1 1 1 .' -\ e ft Q^^^^^^r^ /-iT-i tj^^i *"

T 1 i

'
1 1 1 M L

T~
' M1T1 l"f \ ii t 'i r

'

L lllll T CCO rT U. L ..' l.'Llll J Ull L 1 IU IXXCIXXW] -'1 II L' 1UJIU1
J

f4) Noithor a pormittoo nw a member shall

furnish w have any person furnish a mem
ber's alcohoho beverage to- another member
w a guest ef a member unless fee momber

owning fee beverage is present fe fee li-

oensed premises;

(4) Othe r than to label a container, w during

private meetings w parties hefe under a

Special Occasions Permit, neither a

pormittoo ae* a» employeo shall possess w
maintain custody ovor a member's alcoholic

beverages w member's storage locker k-ey-r

rl 1 l\. '1 1 !VI ^TT I t\J I 1 1 IV 1 1 l\Jl 1 1 UV1 TT7 L'lUQC III CTTT cTTC

Ucensod premisoo.

Note: This Paragraph prohibits fee employees
©f fee private club from handlmg a member's
alcoholic bovoragos fe any way whatsoever

othor than te- pw e» fee mombor's name labe l

w when a private function is being he!4 fep a

private group under a Special Occasions Per

mfe pursuant te GtS, 18B 1001( 8 ). fe is a vi-

olation ef feis Rule fef a member's alcoholic

bevoragos te be kept at w behind fee bap

whe re mixed bovoragos afe prepared affe sold.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1008.

.0407 CONGRESSIONALLY CHARTERED
VETERANS ORGANIZATIONS

A congressionallv chartered veterans organiza-

tion holding a brown-bagging permit pursuant to

G.S. 1 SB- 100 1(7) may provide its members with

locker storage facilities on the premises. If such

a permittee provides lockers, possession and
storage of alcoholic beverages shall be in com-
pliance with the rules of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1001(7).

SECTION .0500 - ADDITIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR MIXED BEVERAGES

PERMITTEES

.0502 PURCHASE TRANSPORTATION PERMIT
/PURCHASE INVOICE FORM

(a) A mixed beverages permittee or a desig-

nated employee shall obtain a Purchase-

Transportation Permit/Invoice Form form from

the ABC store designated by the local board as

the place where spirituous liquors liquor will be

sold to mixed beverages permittees.

1672 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

(b) A Purchase-Transportation Permit/Invoice

Form, form, which shall be completed by the

local ABC board, shall contain the following:

(1) permittee's name;

(2) trade name, address and telephone num-
ber of the licensed premises;

(3) permittee's Mixed Beverages Permit

number;

(4) name and driver's license number of per-

son or persons authorized to purchase and
transport spirituous liquors; liquor;

(5) number and location of ABC store where

purchase is to be made;

(6) permittee's transaction or order number;

(7) date of transaction;

(8) destination of the spirituous liquore liquor

which shall be the address given in Sub-

paragraph (b)(2) of this Rule;

(9) brand, quantity, size and item code

number of each spirituous liquor con-

tainer purchased and transported, includ-

ing the serial number of each complete
case or carton sold;

(10) signatures of persons issuing and receiv-

ing permit invoice form;

(11) regular retail price per container;

(12) mixed beverages tax per container;

(13) total price per container;

(14) total cost of transaction; and

(15) date of order, date of purchase, and ex-

piration date.

(c) The Purchase-Transportation Permit; In-

voice Form form shall be retained by the

permittee for three years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; lSB-403(d);
18B-404.

.0503 PRE-ORDERS
A mixed beverages permittee shall make every

effort to place orders for spirituous liquor; , liquor

with the local board at least 24 hours in advance

and in every case shall comply with local board

policies regarding the purchase of liquors liquor

for resale in mixed beverages.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; ISB-404.

.0510 PRICE LISTS: MISREPRESENTATION
(a) Each mixed beverages permittee shall have

available for its customers a printed written price

list containing current prices for the most com-
mon or popular mixed beverages the permittee

offers for sale.

Any printed menu, master beverage price list or

other printed written list that contains prices is

sufficient as long as the prices listed are current

and the list is readilv available to the customer.

(b) Neither a mixed beverages permittee nor

his employee shall misrepresent the price of any
mixed beverage that is sold or offered for sale on
the licensed premises.

(c) A guest room cabinet permittee shall affix

to the door of every in-room bar or cabinet a

complete list of the current prices of each alco-

holic beverage offered for sale from the cabinet.

Statutory Authority G.S.

(12); 18B-1007 (c).

1SB- 207; I SB-
1
'001

.0512 STORAGE AND DISPOSAL OF
SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR CONTAINERS

(a) Locked Storage. All containers of alcoholic

beverages possessed by a permittee for resale in

mixed beverages shall be stored on the licensed

premises in a separate looked area out of view of

the patrons of the establishment, except as pro-

vided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(b) Container Display. A permittee may keep
at each mixing station on the premises a rea-

sonable number of containers of each brand of

spirituous liquor likely to be used at that station,

but no more than one container of each brand

shall be open at one station at one time. A
mixing station is a counter or other place where
a bartender mixes drinks to be served to patrons.

Generally, each bar counter is considered a single

mixing station, but a counter may contain more
than one mixing station if it is so long that more
than one bartender is needed to serve the patrons

at that counter. In that case the counter is

normally considered to have as many mixing
stations as there are bartenders at that counter.

Each portable bar is considered a single mixing
station.

(c) Keys Required. Any lock used to secure

the designated storage area shall be capable of

being unlocked with a key that is avadable on the

premises at all times.

(d) Official Inspections. The designated stor-

age area shall be open to inspection by the

Commission or law enforcement officers pursu-

ant to G.S. 18B-502.

(e) Empty Containers. As soon as a container

of spirituous liquor is empty, the permittee or his

employee shall immediately and permanently

deface the mixed beverages tax stamp and dispose

of the bottle.

(f) Inventory Records. During the first vcar

of operation, the 44*e permittee shall maintain

on a daily basis, an accurate inventory reflecting

additions to and withdrawals from stock that

specifies:

(1) brand and container size of each item

withdrawn;

(2) date of withdrawal; and
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(3) date partially used containers are returned

to storage.

This inventory shall be kept on a form approved
bv the Commission.

(g) Guest Room Cabinet Permittees. A hotel

that has been issued a Guest Room Cabinet

Permit mav store spirituous liquor and premixed
cocktails purchased for resale from guest room
cabinets in the same storage area with alcoholic

beverages purchased for resale in mixed
beverages, as provided in Paragraph (a) of this

Rule. A hotel shall not. however, place on dis-

)lay at mixing, stations any 50 milliliter contain-

ers of liquor that were purchased for resale from
cabinets. Pmptv or partially empty containers

of alcoholic beverages purchased bv a room guest

from a cabinet shall he disposed of bv the

pennittee after the room guest has checked out

of the hotel.

Statuton Authority G.S. 18B-20'

1SB- 1001 (12).

1SB-502;

.0513 PROHIBITED ACTS: HANDLING
AND STORAGE OE LIQUOR

Neither a mixed beverages permittee nor his

employee, whether on or off the premises, shall:

(1) add any alcoholic beverage to any con-

tainer of spirituous liquor purchased for re-

sale in mixed beverages;

(2) transfer from one spirituous liquor con-

tainer to another or remove from any liquor

container the mixed beverages tax stamp or

any other stamp, label, seal or device re-

quired by law to be affixed to the container;

(3) destroy, alter or deface the mixed beverages

tax stamp or any other stamp, label, seal or

device required by law to be affixed to a

liquor container before the container has

been emptied;

(4) possess a counterfeit mixed beverages

stamp, place a counterfeit mixed beverages

stamp on any liquor container, or knowingly
possess any container with a counterfeit

stamp:

(5) store any spirituous liquors liquor pur-

chased for resale in mixed beverages in any-

place other than the approved storage area

of the premises specified in the purchase-

transportation permit;

(6) place or have in the approved storage area

or possess elsewhere on the licensed prem-
ises any container of spirituous liquor not

bearing a mixed beverages tax stamp;

(7) dilute or otherwise tamper with the con-

tents of any container of alcoholic beverages;

(8) give or sell to any patron any container of

spirituous liquor that was purchased for re-

sale as mixed beverages, whether the con-

tainer is full or partially full; e* empty;

provided, however, this prohibition shall not

be construed to prohibit a room guest from
removing from the hotel a container of al-

coholic beverages purchased from a guest

room cabinet;

(9) possess any empty container of spirituous

liquor purchased for resale in mixed
beverages if the mixed beverages tax stamp

on that container has not been permanently

defaced;

( 10) possess or sell on the premises any brand

of spirituous liquor that has not been ap-

proved by the Commission for sale in North
Carolina or that was not purchased by the

permittee pursuant to an approved special

order;

(11) purchase any spirituous liquors liquor for

resale in mixed beverages other than as au-

thorized by a valid purchase-transportation

permit;

(12) conceal or otherwise fail to indicate

truthfully and accurately in any records re-

quired to be kept by the permittee the sale

of any alcoholic beverages on the licensed

premises; or

(13) make any other incomplete, inaccurate,

false or misleading statements in any report

or record required by these Rules.

Statuton Authority G.S. 1SB-207; 1SB-404;

18B-1001(12); 18B-1007; 1SB-1008.

.0514 PROHIBITED ACTS: SERVING
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

Neither a mixed beverages permittee nor his

employee shall:

( 1) sell or allow the consumption of any mixed
beverages in an area other than one specif-

ically approved by the Commission for that

purpose;

(2) sell, offer to sell, or serve on the premises

any mixed beverage by customer self-service

or allow any such sale or service, except that

a guest room cabinet permittee may sell al-

coholic beverages from guest room cabinets

as authorized bv G.S. 1SB- 1001(12) and the

rules of the Commission:

(3) sell, offer for sale, or possess for the purpose

of sale on the premises any alcoholic

beverages that the permittee is not licensed

to sell;

(4) possess or consume, or allow any other

person to possess or consume, on the

premises any alcoholic beverages for which

no permit is held if a permit is required by
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law for the possession or consumption of

that beverage;

(5) misrepresent the brand of any spirituous

liquor contained in any mixed beverage sold

or offered for sale; or

(6) sell or serve any brand of alcoholic beverage

not identical to that ordered by the patron

without first advising the patron of the dif-

ference.

Statutory Authority G.S.

(12); 18B-I006 (d).

18B-207; I8B-I001

.0515 PRIVATE CLLBS: GENERAL
PROHIBITIONS: GLESTS

fa} Neither a private) eleb mixod beverages
permittee Hef hi* omployoo ohall:

(44 allow asy- person who is »et a member
ef a bona fide guest ef a member to be
present as a patron e» the premises ef a
»-.n t •

. \ . | ;'1ii1t i -* r

(3) grant membership privileges to the privato

eh±b to aw parson oarhor than three days

from the receipt ef his application fop

membership.

(b} "House" Guests. eto privato ektb mixod
beverage s permittee ftef hi* omployoo shall admit

patrons as "house" guests.

(e) Employee Member. A» employee wbe is

alse a member ef a private eteb holding a Mixed
Beverage Permit shall »et admit a patron as his

guest while that- employee is e» duty.

(4) A member shall designate his own guest.

If a member accepts a patron as his guest at- the

bohost ef the privato ehib mixed beverages
pormittoo ef omployoo, then the Commission
shall consider that member to be acting as the

permittee's agent.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-1008.

.0516 PRIVATE CLLBS: MEMBERS'
LIQLOR KEPT SEPARATE

In a private club with both a Mixed Beverages

Permit and a Brownbagging Permit, the

permittee shall comply with the following re-

quirements:

(1) The permittee shall not allow a member or

guest to possess on the premises more than

tout five liters of fortified wine or spirituous

liquor, or foaf five liters of the two com-
bined, or more than SO liters of malt

beverages ef moro than- 3Q liters ef unforti

fied wine e«- the premise s: other than draft

malt beverages in kegs;

(2) The permittee shall ensure that each con-

tainer of alcoholic beverages brought onto

the premises by a member or guest is labeled

immediately with the member's name s«b-

stantially as it appears e» the membership
rostor; or the guest's and sponsoring mem-
ber's names;

(3) Neither a permittee nor a member shall

furnish or have any person furnish a mem-
ber's alcoholic beverages to another member
or a guest of a member unless the member
owning the beverage is present on the li-

censed premises;

(4) Other than to label a container, or during

private meetings or parties held under a

Special Occasions Occasion Permit, neither

a permittee nor an employee shall possess

or maintain custody over a member's alco-

holic beverages or a member's storage leek

locker key, whether or not the member is

present on the licensed premises.

Note: This Paragraph prohibits the employees

of the private club from handling a member's
alcoholic beverages in any way whatsoever

other than to put on the member's name label

or when a private function is being held for a

private group under a Special Occasions Oc-
casion Permit, pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(8).

It is a violation of this Rule for a member's
alcoholic beverages to be kept at or behind the

bar where mixed beverages are prepared and

sold.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-I006(b);

1SB- 1008.

.0518 PRIVATE CLLBS: FINANCIAL
STATEMENTS: RECORD KEEPING

(a) A private club holding a Mixed Beverages

Permit shall maintain full and accurate monthly
records of its finances, separately indicating each

of the following:

(1) amounts expended for the purpose pur-

chase of spirituous liquor from ABC
stores and the quantity of spirituous liq-

uor purchased;

(2) amounts collected from the sale of mixed
beverages and, by brand and container

size, the quantity of spirituous liquor sold;

(3) amounts received in payment of members'
dues;

(4) amounts received from charges to mem-
bers and guests of members;

(5) quantity of spirituous liquor, by brand and

container size, that was not sold but is no
longer on the licensed premises due to

stated reasons, such as breakage or theft.

(b) Records of purchases of spirituous liquor

and sales of mixed beverages shall be filed sepa-

rate and apart from all other records maintained

on the premises.
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(c) Records, including original invoices for the

items in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall be

maintained on the premises for three years and
shall be open for inspection or audit pursuant to

G.S. 18B-502.

(d) A private club holding a Mixed Beverages

Permit shall submit to the Commission for its

review, on forms provided by the Commission,

regular reports summarizing the information re-

quired to be maintained by this Rule. These re-

ports shall be submitted on a quarterly basis

during the first year of operation as a licensed

premises and. thereafter, on an annual basis or

on a schedule set by the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; 18B-1008.

.0519 RESTAURANTS: INCOME FROM SALES
(a) For the purposes of further defining a res-

taurant, as provided in G.S. 18B-1000(6), the

term "substantially engaged in the business of

preparing and serving meals" means that more
than fifty percent of the establishment's food and
beverage sales are from the sale of food and
non-alcoholic beverages.

(b) In detennining what portions of sales can

be attributed to the sale of food and non-

alcoholic beverages, all food aft4 beverage sales

may be included except: the following sales may-

be included:

f++ mixed beverages, including the mixer; a&&

£2) afty other alcoholic bevemgea fmalt

beverages, unfortified wines a«4 fortified

wines).

1 1 ) food prepared in the permittee's kitchen

and served as a meal to be consumed on
the premises or as a "take-out" order;

I 2) prepackaged food sold to accompany the

meal.

(3) non-alcoholic beverages sold to accom-
pany the meal.

(c) In determining what portions of sales can

be attributed to the sale of food and non-

alcoholic beverages, the following items may not

be included:

I 1 i mixed beverages, including the mixer:

(2) anv other alcoholic beverages

(3) grocer.' items not ordered and purchased

with meals;

(4) cover charges.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207

1SB- 1008.

1SB- 1000(6);

.0520 RESTAURANTS. HOTELS, AND TOL R
BOATS: RECORD KEEPING

(a) Monthly Records. Restaurants, aft4 hotels

>*4*b- restaurants and tour boats holdma Mixed

Beverages Permits shall maintain full and accu-

rate monthly records of their finances, separately

indicating each of the following:

(1) amounts expended for the purchase of

spirituous liquor from ABC stores and the

quantity of spirituous liquor purchased:

(2) amounts collected from the sale of mixed
beverages and, by brand and container

size, the quantity of spirituous liquor sold;

(3) if a guest room cabinet permittee, the

amounts collected from the sale of liquor

from guest room cabinets, and bv con-

tainer size, the quantity of liquor sold

from cabinets:

(4) f?H the quantity of spirituous liquors, liq-

uor, by brand and container size, that was
not sold but is no longer on the premises

due to stated reasons, such as breakage or

theft;

£5[ (-H if a restaurant or tour boat, amounts
collected from the sale of:

(A) food and non-alcoholic beverages;

(B) items other than food and beverages of

all kinds: and

(C) malt beverages, unfortified wine and
fortified '

.vines, wine;

(6) (4| if a hotel, amounts collected from:

(A) furnishing lodging;

(B) sale of meals;

(C) sale of malt beverages, unfortified wine
and fortified wine: and

(D) amounts collected from all other

sources.

(b) Segregation of Records. Records of pur-

chases of spirituous liquors liquor and sales of

alcoholic beverages shall be tiled separate and
apart from all other records maintained on the

premises.

(c) Retention and Inspection of Records. Re-

cords, including original invoices related to alco-

holic beverages and mixed beverages, shall be

maintained on the premises for three years and

shall be open for inspection or audit pursuant to

G.S. 1SB-502.

(d) Submission of Financial Records. A res-

taurant, tour boat, or a hotel with a restaurant

holding a Mixed Beverages Permit shall submit

to the Commission for its review, on forms pro-

vided by the Commission, regular reports sum-

marizing the information required to be

maintained by this Rule. These reports shall be

submitted on a quarterly' basis during the first

year of operation as a licensed premises, and

thereafter, on an annual basis or on a schedule

set by the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 1SB-1006H):

1SB- 1008.
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.0523 HOTELS: INCOME FROM SALES
For the purpose of defining a hotel, the term

"substantially engaged in the business of furnish-

ing lodging" in G.S. 18B-1000(4) means that the

establishment's gross receipts from the rental of

lodging rooms, sale of food, and sale of non-

alcoholic beverages are greater than its gross re-

ceipts from the sale of alcoholic beverages.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-1000(4); 18B-100S.

.0524 GUEST ROOM CABINET PERMITTEES:
PURCHASES OF LIQUOR

(a) Ordering Liquor. A guest room cabinet

permittee shall comply with Rule .0503 of this

Section and place orders for liquor to be sold

from guest room cabinets in accordance with the

local board's rules and the following additional

conditions:

( 1

)

Orders for Liquor to be sold from cabinets

shall be placed separately from orders for

liquor to be resold in mixed beverages;

(2) Liquor may be purchased for resale from
cabinets in 50 milliliter sizes only; pre-

1M

mixed cocktails purchased for resale from
cabinets may be purchased in 375 millili-

ter sizes only.

Mixed Beverages Surcharge Stamps. A
guest room cabinet permittee who receives unaf-

fixed stamps from a local board shall immediately

affix one stamp to each container of liquor before

the container is logged into the permittee's in-

ventory. Errors in receiving incorrect numbers
of stamps or containers from local board per-

sonnel shall be the responsibility of the permittee

at the time of purchase.

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; 18B-404(d);

18B-1001(12).

.0525 GUEST ROOM CABINETS;
INVENTORY AND RECORDS

A guest room cabinet permittee shall maintain

on the premises complete and accurate inventory

and sales records of a)J liquor purchased for resale

in cabinets in accordance with the following re-

quirements:

(1

)

During the first year of operation with a

Guest Room Cabinet permit, inventory re-

cords for guest room cabinet liquor shall be

maintained as required by Rule .0512(0(1)

and (2) of this Section.

(2) Sales records of guest room cabinet liquor

shall be kept on a monthly basis in accord-

ance with the requirements of Rule .0520 of

this Section.

(3) Purchase-transportation permits for liquor

to be sold from guest room cabinets shall

be maintained by the permittee on the

premises for a period of three years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1001 ( 12).

.0526 GUEST ROOM CABINETS; SALES
OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

(a) Restrictions on 50 Milliliter Containers 1

A guest room cabinet permittee shall not display

or sell any 50 milliliter container of liquor on any

part of the hotel premises other than in guest

room cabinets installed in guest rooms.

(b) Cabinet Ix>cks and Kevs. A guest room
cabinet shall contain a lock which may be

opened only with a key that is separate from the

hotel room key. Electronically operated locking

systems for guest room cabinets may be installed

bv a permittee upon written approval of the

Commission when it has been shown that the

electronic locking system contains adequate safe-

guards against underage persons being able to

obtain alcoholic beverages from guest room cab-

inets.

(c) I .odging Guests. No guest room cabinet

permittee or his employee shall give a guest room
cabinet key to any person under 21 years of age.

No lodging guest shall be required to accept a

guest room cabinet key if the guest does not wish

to have a key.

(d) Price List. Fvery guest room cabinet in-

stalled by a permittee shall have firmly affixed to

the door of the cabinet a complete list of all al-

coholic beverages offered for sale from the cabi-

the current price of each alcoholicnet and
beverage.

(c) Notice of Age Requirement. In addition

to the price list required iri Paragraph (d) of this

Rule, each guest room cabinet shall contain a

notice to guests that reads as follows: "IT IS

UNLAWFUL IN NORTH CAROLINA LOR
ANY PERSON TO GIVE ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES TO ANY PERSON UNDER 21

YEARS OF AGE. G.S. 1SB-302."

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-302(a);

18B-404(d); 18B-1001 ( 12).

.0527 GUEST ROOMS CONSIDERED
RESIDENCE

(a) 1 aw Enforcement Jurisdiction. A hotel

room is considered a place of temporary resi-

dence and not part of the permittee's retail 1U

censed premises. Therefore, when a hotel room
has been rented to a lodging guest, entrance by a

law enforcement officer into the guest room is

governed by the same laws as entry into any res-

6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992 1677



PROPOSED RULES

idcnce. notwithstanding the fact that the hotel

has installed a guest room cabinet in the room.

1 or the purposes of enforcing the ABC laws

related to guest room cabinets, a permittee shall

allow Alcohol I aw Enforcement agents, local

ABC officers and employees of the Commission
reasonable access to guest rooms that are not

rented to a lodging guest at the time of the in-

spection.

(hi Certain Restrictions Not Applicable to

Guest Room Cabinet Sales. Because a rented

hotel room is considered a temporary' residence,

the rooms are not considered part of the

permittee's retail licensed premises. Therefore,

statutes and rules regulating such areas as hours

o\_ sale, "happy hours." and advertising are not

applicable to sales oj^ alcoholic beverages from

hotel cabinets.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-30l(a);

18B-502; 1SB- 100 1 ( 12).

.0528 MIXED BEVERAGES CATERING
PERMITS; GENERAL

(a) I. iquor Purchases. I iquor catered by a

mixed beverages permittee shall he purchased by
the permittee from the mixed beverages store

operated by the local ABC board for the ]uns-

diction in which the restaurant or hotel is issued

a Mixed Beverages permit. A hotel or restaurant

with a Mixed Beverages Catering permit shall not

cater any liquor on which the mixed beverages

surcharge imposed by G.S. lSB-804(b)(S) has

not been paid.

(b) Cash Bars Prohibited. The Mixed
Beverages Catering permit does not authorize the

sale £\_ individual mixed beverages at a catered

event. There lore, no mixed beverages catering

permittee shall set up_ a cash bar for beer, wine

or mixed bev erages at anv place other than on
the licensed premises of the hotel or restaurant.

(c) Food Required. A mixed beverages

catenng permittee who is catering liquor at an

event held off the licensed premises of the hotel

or restaurant shall also cater food at that event.

(d) Intent of Rules. Nothing in the provisions

ot the rules ot the Commission shall be construed

to allow a mixed beverages catering permittee to

contract with the holder of a Special Occasions

or Brownbaggmg permit to serve or sell mixed

beverages to the patrons of that permittee's

business for a function to be held at the location

for which those permits were issued.

Statutory

18B-207;

1SB- 1008.

Authority G.S. 18B-

ISB-lOOl(B);
203 (a) (1);

18B-1007(a);

.0529 MIXED BEVERAGES CATERING
PERMITS IN "DRY AREAS"

(a) Definitions. For purposes of this Rule, the

following definitions shall apply:

( 1) 'Dry area" means a jurisdiction in which

the sale of mixed beverages has not been

approved in an election held pursuant to

G.S. 18B-6P1) or by anv other provision

of the ABC laws.

(2) "Private function" means an unadvertised

event for which the host has issued per-

sonal invitations. Events for which invi-

tations arc issued bv radio, television,

newspaper, circular or fliers to the general

public shall not be construed as

"private."

(b) Restrictions. In addition to the guidelines

in Rule .0528 of this Section, the following addi-

tional restrictions shall apply to all events being

catered in areas in which the sale of mi xed

beverages is not lawful:

in

oi

1 iquor may be catered at political or

charitable events held to allow a non-

profit or political organization to raise

funds where the host organization has

obtained a Special One-Time permit pur-

suant to G.S. 18B-1002(5) authorizing the

serving of mixed beverages to persons at-

tending the event . These tund-raising

events mav be private or open to the

public, and may be held on private, com-
mercial, or government owned property.

1 iquor may be catered at anv private

function held on the premises of a busi-

ness that holds a Special Occasion permit.

or for a person who has obtained a I un-

ited Special Occasion permit only if

(A) the host is not a permittee who has

been issued a Special Occasion permit

pursuant to G.S. lSB-li)l)l(S): and
(B) there is no admission charged to those

attending.

(3) I.iquor may be catered at any private

function held on private residential or

non-commercial property so long as no
admission is charged to those attending.

Statutory Authority G.S. lSB-203(a); lSB-20~;

1SB-301 (a), (c);~ 18B-603; 18B-I00I; 18B-100I

(13); ISB-1002 (5).

SECTION .0600 - SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR CONVENTION CENTERS, COMMUNITY

THEATRES, SPORTS CLLBS, AND
NONPROFIT AND POLITICAL

ORGANIZATIONS

.0601 CONVENTION CENTERS: GENERAL
REQUIREMENT
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(a} Definition. As used i» this S ection, the

toim "convention center" moons civic contoro,

armories, auditoriumo, a»d coliseums.

fb) Sales. A convention center dooiring te seb
1

malt boveragos, wine ©f mixed beverages te con
vontion groups ep similar largo gatherings shall
fi tM-il \ | T t -\ r i ia , 1 , ^ lit nn fliii -» T-i T-i *-/~l tMi-it .t iifl Q£ajQ«j;agu l' i .' i t tut uii iu crrninT 1

1

iv u. i 1" " ' i ' 1 1u iv itii - I'lutows

retail sales permits.

(e) Special Occasions. Convention centers

shall obtain a» annual Special Occasions Permit

©f require a lossoo te obtain a limited Special

Occasions Pormit eF Special One timo
lvl\ iUi LJ 1 li tj MM'' i i M 'l I"1 I t i "l i W I W" i

*
I 1 [ IU I D f 1 nu f\^Ff *"\y*

«.-* i v_> »• 1 1 t'"w-jJ iS 1 1 1 1 IJ I ULIU 1 U LlllU Tf KEXK Llll T
J-

*- * -'""

te possess a&4 consume fortified wine ©f

spirituous liquor eft aey ©art ef its promises.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-900(e);

I8B-I000(la).

.0603 CONVENTION CENTERS: CATERER
MAY PERFORM ACTIVITIES

The Commission H*ay allow a convention ee«-

ter's independent catering contractor te ongago m
ah the activities authorised by the permits issued

te the convention center. Aey- caterer se con
tracted shall meet ah requirements feF applicants

as proscribed m G^ 1 S B 900(a) aae (hy, «h-
mato responsibility f©f violations ©f the ABC
laws shall rest i» the ownor ©f oporator ©f the

convention center.

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; 18B-900(e).

.0605 CONVENTION CENTERS: MIXED
BEVERAGE RECORDS

fa} f» liee ©f the requirements set- forth i»

Rules .0518 aa4 .0520 ©f this Subchapter regard

»§ record keeping, a convention contor holding

a\ lutflfl Bain uaiQflc Dacnaii ela aJJ oa •"» p * a « «~» A 1 11 a«j
: * 1 1 avu u^t^i tje;^;t i ~i 1 1 1 1 1 ru till I 1 1 liiii i ccccl I 1 1 1 1 r rtrtrr

accurate monthly records ©f its finances, sepa
rately indicating each ef the following:

(44 amounts expended fe* the purchase ef

spirituous liquor from ABC stores a©4 the

quantity ef liquor purchased;

f3} amounts collected from the sale ef mixed
beverages, aftdr by brand a«4 container
"'

1 1 1 \ t H. I 1 1 1 I I I T1 t 1 1 1 I a! .-»-> i-itiiniii- lu-illAr L'."ilil !nn .^-' U1L 1 Lj Mill II IT T tTT VI 'II 1 1 \J\ } U 3 IWJUW1 VI I IU ,

| -)
; nil.'l nil t V CM T">1 I'l l" ^' »-• Iwnnr faj - krin, 1 fin.-l

\—" / "-J
*-*«-*! 1 1 ll_T tTT 9pn 1 1 LI \J U J IlUUtfl

, l * T tTTTTTTTT FTTTTT

container swer that- was net- sel4 bet is se
longer ©ft the licensed premiL .es ewe te

stated reasons, such as breakage ©f theft.

fb4 Maintaining R ecords. R ecords ef eer-

chases ef spirituous liquor s&4 sales ef mixed
beverages shah be file© separate aft© apart from
ah other records, aft© the records, including eri-

ginal invoices, shah be keet ©ft the promises at-

ah time s fee a period ef three years.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; I8B-I008.

.0606 COMMUNITY THEATRES: SALES
A community thoatro desiring te sell malt

beverages, wine
,
©f mixed beveragos shall apply

fof a»4 obtain the appropriate on premise s retail

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1000(1).

.0607 COMMUNITY THEATRES:
QUALIFICATIONS

4he Commission may investigate each com
munity theatre applicant te onsuro that- it- is

non profit aft4 that- its sele business is sponsoring

eF presenting theatrical events te the public.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-1000(1).

.0608 COMMUNITY THEATRES: WHEN
PERMITS VALID

Permits issued te community thoatros ate valid

©thy during regularly scheduled theatrical events

sponsored by- the applicant. The Commission
tsay dotormino, based ©» calendars ef events aft4

other evidence, which events a*e regularly sched

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1000(1).

.0609 COOKING SCHOOLS: SALES
A cooking school desiring te seh unfortified

1 1
' 1 f 1 \ I t r 1 I > 1 '

I > H l"'"-""
t \ I 1 -~* CJ '*"* I 1 I • l i , v r.if ' i i I i r-\ i-\ r-t t

purposes shall apply fof aed- obtain the appro
priato permits.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1000( lb).

.0610 COOKING SCHOOLS:
QUALIFICATIONS

The Commission may investigate each cooking
school applicant te ensure that- it- is a bona frde

school that- is substantially engaged » teaching

cooking techniques. The school shall charge a

fee fet its courses.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 1SB-10()0( lb).

.061 1 COOKING SCHOOLS: SALES
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS

A cooking school shall eet- seh food ef alcoholic

beverages

students.

te afty- person other tha» its bona fide

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; I8B-I006(g).

.0612 RECORD KEEPING
(a) Convention centers, community theatres,

sports clubs, nonprofit and political organiza-
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tions holding Mixed Beverages permits shall

maintain full and accurate monthly records of

th.-ir iiiMTK,-- separately indicating each of the

following:

( 1 ) amounts expended for the purchase of

spirituous liquor from ABC stores and the

quantity of spirituous liquor purchased;

(2) amounts collected from the sale of mixed
beverages and, bv brand and container

size, the quantity of spirituous liquor sold;

(3) the quantity of spirituous liquor, by brand

and container si/e. that was not sold but

is no longer on the premises due to stated

reasons, such as breakage or theft.

(b) Segregation of Records. Records of pur-

chases of spirituous liquor and sales of alcoholic

beverages shall e filed separate and apart from
all other records mamtained on the premises.

(c) Retention and Inspection of Records. Re-

cords, including original invoices related to alco

holic beverages and mixed beverages, shall be

maintained on the premises for three rears and

shall be open for inspection or audit pursuant to

G.S. 1SB-502.

(d) Submission of Financial Records. A
permittee holding a Mixed Beverages permit un-

der this Rule shall submit to the Commission for

its review, on forms provided bv the Commis-
sion, regular reports summarizing the informa-

tion required to be maintained bv the rule.

These reports shall be submitted on a quarterly

basis during the first year of operation as a li-

censed premises, and thereafter, on an annual

basis or on a schedule set bv the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; ISB- 1007.

SECTION .0700 - SPECIAL OCCASIONS
PERMITS

.0703 STORAGE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
£a) Annual Special Occasions Permit: Storage.

Except as- provided m Paragraph (&} e4 this Rule,

a special occasions permittee shall fte* provide

storage fof alcoholic beverages except during

preparation fof evf during the time a special ee-

casion t+ talring place. 44h* host, however, does

have a reasonable time t& remove leftover alco

holio beverages, 4hk Rule shah F*rt be e©«-

stnied to prohibit a mixed beverages permittee

from storing alcoholic beverages purchased tot

resale » mixed beverages a* required to- Section

.0500 e4th*s Subchapter.

(-h+ I united Special Occasions Permit: Storage.

44w holder &£ a L unit ed Special Occasions Pep-

»«• whe- ake possesses a Purchase

Transportation Permit issued pursuant to G.S.

lS'B lO.^ig i mav store alcoholic beverages e» the

premises ef a commercial estabUohmont tof 4%
hours before a»4 4£ hours after the function a*

long as the beverages are stored m a secure afea

a«4 at© Het stored » a mixed beverage

permittee's locked storage area.

Alcoholic beverages possessed under a Special

Occasion Permit or a Limited Special Occasion

Permit may be stored on the premises covered

bv the permit in accordance with G.S.

18B-403(g), as long as the beverages are stored in

a secure area and are not stored in a mixed
beverage permittee s storage area or commingled
with the mixed beverages inventory.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-403(g);

18B-1001(8),(9).

.0704 NOTICE TO BE POSTED
When a private function is being held under a»

annual a Special Occasion Permit or Limited

Special Occasions Occasion Permit, the permittee

shall post a notice certifying that a private func-

tion is being held. The notice shall be posted in

that area of the establishment in which alcoholic

beverages are being consumed or possessed.

Statutory: Authority G.S. 18B-207.

.0705 NO PERMIT REQUIRED AT
APARTMENT CLUBHOUSE

A Special Occasions Occasion Permit is not re-

quired of club rooms or social centers that are

provided by apartment complexes or multiple

family housing projects for use by residents and
their guests for parties, meetings or other social

events as long as no more than a nominal fee is

charged to cover additional or special janitorial

services. In those instances the club rooms or

social centers shall be considered a reasonable

extension of the residents' private residences, and
no Special Occasions Occasion Permit is re-

quired. A club room or social center shall be

considered a commercial establishment for which
a Special Occasions Occasion Permit is required

if the club room or social center:

(1) is rented to nonresidents of the multiple

family housing complex;

(2) is rented to residents for a charge in excess

of that reasonably calculated to cover addi-

tional or special janitorial services: or

(3) holds a retail Malt Beverage. Unfortified

Wine, Fortified Wine, or Mixed Beverages

Permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-301(c).

.0706 WHEN PERMITS INVALID: MIXED
BEVERAGE SALES
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When mixed beverages are being sold in a pri-

vate dining area, any other private area, or when
the entire premises is being used for a private

function, any Special Occasions Occasion Permit

that would otherwise be applicable to the prem-
ises or area of the premises is invalid for that pe-

riod, and no person shall possess any spirituous

liquor at that private function other than the

permittee and his employees.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-1008.

.0707 DESTRUCTION OF LEFTOVER
BEVERAGES

The owner or operator of a commercial estab-

lishment holding a» annual a Special Occasions

Occasion Permit shall destroy all unfortified
wino, fortified wine and spirituous liquor left on
the premises by the host of a private function

more than 48 hours after the conclusion of the

function.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-403(g);

1SB- 1001(8).

.0708 TYPES OF PERVIITS REQUIRED
The owner or operator of any commercial fa-

cility or commercial establishment renting or

furnishing the premises thereof for a private

function where the host of the function will pos-

sess more than five liters of fortified wine or

spirituous liquor, or five liters of the two com-
bined, shall either:

(T) apply for and obtain a Special Occasion
Permit, as required by GS. 18B- 1001(8) and
G.S. SB-^or

(2) require the person in charge of the private

function to apply for and obtain a Limited

Special Occasion Permit under the pro-

visions of G_S_ 1813-1001(9) and 18B-902.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; J8B-30I (c);

18B-1001 (8), (9).

SECTION .0800 - CL LINARY PERVIITS

.0801 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
fa) fe addition te the general requirements fof

restaurant r. aftd hotels as defined fo Gt&t
lftB 1000. a parson operating a restaurant, hotel

ef catering service shall alse meet the following

minimum standards te qualify fof a Culinary

Permit:

f+4 a^he business dees Bet- hel4 a Mixed
Beverages Permit issued pursuant te G-£r
1SB 1001 (4%

f2) Foods i» which wine aft4 liquor ate used
shall he served regularly;

I l\ All i 1 « mi mill li/inur | • li i 1 1 1^^ nKt-nnml Ini hi
r .TT ' *-ll ft 1 1 HJ trrra IIU Ul\s 1 -JI III LI UJU \J I.J IWU 1L^T rTTTTTT

a lawful source within this State; aftd-

I A\ I fa --> hni-irini-i- hot- ^ /'i.'U "* tj nirh i-if lirtiii I i~i t-i

I it i i x\j uujiin.1j^ i itzrr cr ctttttt kj i cttttttott iij i\_^t uh
its menu, the recipe fof which utilizes

wine ef hquor i» the preparation.

fb) 1ft addition te the general requirements fof

cooking schools as defined i» G.S. 1 SB 1000, a

person operating such a school shall meet the

requirements ef Subparagraphs (a)( 1) a»4 (•£) ef
u:.. d , 1

1

.-*

(e) A»y restaurant ef hotel w+th a Mixed
Beverages Permit may «se fof culinary purposes

a»y- fortified wino ef spirituous Uquor it- has pur

chased fof resale fo mixod bovoragos.

In addition to the general requirements for res-

taurants, hotels and cooking schools in G.S.

1 SB- 1000 and the Rules of the Commission, a

restaurant, hotel, cooking school or catering ser-

vice using fortified wine or spirituous liquor for

culinary purposes shall obtain those alcoholic

beverages from a layvful source within this State.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1000

(lb), (4), (6); 18B-1001 (II); 18B-1006 (h).

.0802 POSSESSION AND STORAGE OF
WINE AND LIQUOR

(a) A restaurant, hotel, cooking school, ef

catering service may legally possess fof culinary

purposes ee to- 4-2 liters ef fortified wine ef

spirituous liquor, ef 4-2 liters ef the twe com
bined, at its business location fef at the cooking

sl+e when the permittee is a catering service).

fb) 4he restaurant , hotel, cooking school, ef

catering servico permittee shall destroy all wino

ef liquor left e» the promises contrary te the

provisions ef this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 183-1001(11).

.0803 RECORDS REQUIRED
44»e permittee shall retain all original receipts

a«4 records el fortified wine ef spirituous liquor

purchased fef culinary purposes: during the p*e-

vious three y-eaf period. aee. those records aftd-

receipts shall he available fof inspection.

Statutory Authority

183-1001(11).

G.S. ISB-207; 1SB-502;

.0804 USE OF WINE AND LIQUOR
/it I r\ t-n-, in -i ii r-i . y LiAilr t ti • 1 t «- ^Q i i < *-. > gO *•"*"* -~* I . r t

.
.

.
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el" alcoholic seasoning, alcohohc content el the

food shall Het- exceed 3H percent ef the total food

volume. 1ft preparing sauces requiring alcoholic

beverages, alcoholic cont ent shall Ret exceed eO

percent ef the total volume ef the sauce.
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^b) A monthly inventory shall be made ei for-
«ti,wl 1 1 «-l . h ft t-i , 1 a ; *-\ **^tmmr lull w\ f i i . hi T / \ t* * > i i 1 n ^it :
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purposes a«4 shall be available* fof inspection.

fe) AH- fortifiod wino a«4 spirituous hquor,

when net- to tts#7 shall be inconspicuously stored

i» the kitchen area.

ftb> Fortified wino aft4 spirituous liquor «se4

fof culinary purposes afe allowed to the service

atflfl i"> T tli . i «-. ii I'iiir'int iinli; n'ln» -± »-.-.>-<,- i i I t i- 1/ i, v, I
CTrCTT Ul l I I\J 1 L.'IUUIUIII U 1 1 1 J ttTTCTT CT PUl llL'UIUl TTTTTCT

requiring that- wino ef liquor » being prepared

e* served.

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; 18B-1001 ( 1 1 ).

SECTION .0900 - WINE AND BEER TASTINGS

.0902 TASTINGS HELD BY INDUSTRY
MEMBERS FOR NON-PERMITTEES

Where the legal sale of those beverages is per-

mitted, an industry member may furnish wine or

malt beverages for tastings to persons who efo ftet-

hold ABC permits, for consumers provided that:

(1) The tasting is conducted for promotional

purposes;

(2) No alcoholic beverages are sold, no sales

or orders are solicited, and no order blanks

are placed in or about the premises;

( 3) :fbe tasting » Ret- heW- e« the promises e£ a

retail ABC permittee. If the tasting is held

on the premises of a retail permittee, the in-

dustry member may purchase the products

to be used from the retailer so long as the

purchase price is no higher than the retailer's

ordinary retail pnce;

(4) If wine or beer is furnished by the industry

member for a consumer tasting held in con-

junction with a retailer, any excess brought

to the tasting is removed hv the industry

member; and

(_5j H a l.istiiiL' i_> conducted m conjunction with

a retailer, the industry member makes no
payment to or on behalf of the retailer for

promoting and advertising the tasting.

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; I8B-II07 (a)

(4); 18B-1109 (a) (4); 18B-11I6 (b).

.0903 TASTINGS HELD BY INDUSTRY
MEMBERS FOR RETAILERS: SAMPLES

(a) Samples. An industry member may give

samples of wine or malt beverages to a retail

permittee authorized to sell that beverage under

the following circumstances:

( 1 ) The industry member may give the retailer

Q r\ i-~j ri/ittl Q >-"l * /-»o n i~l t r~i . , l-i finnli 1 i L t , t , t

\ M It I ' 1 1 I I 1 TTT C 111 I \J 1 CTT^TT nvrTTT 1 1 M L II

product be offers fof salei up_ to three gal-

lons per brand of malt beverages and up
to three liters per brand of wine; and

(2) The retailer has not previously purchased

those brands from the industry member.
(b) Qf Tastings. The industry member may

give the retailer samples by the glass of any pro-

ducts he offers for sale. Such a tasting may be

conducted on the industry member's premises or

at any other location approved by the Commis-
sion for that purpose. A tasting under this Par-

agraph shall not be conducted in conjunction

with a meal, a party, or any other social event

but shall be for business purposes only.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-IJ07 (a)

(4); I8B-1109 (a) (4); I8B-1116 (b).

SECTION .1000 - ADVERTISING

.1001 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section:

(1) The terms defined in G.S. Chapter 18B and
Subchapters 2R through 2T of this Chapter
shall have the same meaning when used in

this Section.

(2) "Advertising" means the publicizing of the

trade name of a permittee, in connection

with or relating to alcoholic beverages or the

publicizing of alcoholic beverages by brand
name, manufacturer's name or by other ref-

erence and shall include any display intended

to attract attention by a combination of let-

ters, pictures, objects, lighting effects, illus-

trations, etc., except that such term shall not

include:

(a) any label affixed to any container of alco-

holic beverages or any individual covering,

carton or other wrapper of the container;

or

(b) any editorial for which no money or other

valuable consideration is paid or prom-
ised, directly or indirectly, by any person

subject to these Rules.

(3) "Cooperative advertising" means any joint

effort between permittees occupying a verti-

cal relationship to each other to advertise

alcoholic beverages, the retailer's business,

or any promotion as defined in 4 NCAC 2T
.071)2(3) of this Chapter. Cooperative ad-

vertising, however, shall not be construed to

include point-of-sale advertising furnished

by a manufacturer, wholesaler ef importer.

an industry member.

(4) "Direct Mail" means anv advertising mate-

rial mailed via anv class of postal service t£

a consumer.

(5) f-b> "Display" means the exhibition of alco-

holic beverage containers in cases, or bottles

or cans outside of cases, together with ad-

vertising material, the purpose of which is to
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advertise those products to prospective pur-

chasers on the premises.

(6) (5) "Case display" means alcoholic

beverages in cartons or cases only. A
handypack is included in the term "carton."

(7) {6} "Magazine" means any trade, fraternal

or scientific periodical or a periodical having

general circulation and containing descrip-

tive matter, articles and stories, and designed

primarily for the edification and enter-

tainment of the reader that is published no

less frequently than once each quarter.

(8) f?} "Newspaper" means any paper published

more frequently than once monthly. a»a
having a paid- circulation.

(9) (&) "Point-of-Sale" means advertising that

is located inside and on the premises where

the product is displayed or sold. Point-of-

sale materials do not include consumer or

retailer specialty items or novelties.

Statutory Authority G.S. !8B-I05(b).

.1004 GENERAL PROVISIONS
/ o \ \T

f-t <-..-n-«Ti.<-ti-i/^ At wn.^i It r ««-u-l< cadi ' ' ajj * n **^ i j an^;^r t^^^t r-^- 1 1 1 j_i 1 1 \j\j ^ OTTvrnTj li i\su \jv iit ui rnrnTTCrT

a» affiliate, shall publioh, disseminate ©f broad

©ast- ©* oauoo to be published, dissominatod ©f

broadcast i» a«y nowopapor, free nowspapor,

magazine, shopping guide ©f similar publication

Bf a»y medium ©f advorticing, any advertisement

©£ alcoholic bovoragoo unloss that- advertisement

is » conformity with thooo P<.ulos.

(©) Advorticing. It- is the policy ©f the Com
mission that these R.uIos shall apply to all advor

tising modia ongagod m interstate ©f intrastato

commoroo.
(a) Advertising Permitted Under Conditions

Specified. Advertising will- be permitted through

the modia ©f newspapers, magazines, billboards,

signs, radio aa4 te levision, ©f as otherwise- spe-

cifically provided ©f approved by the Commis
£~ i r\r\ in/' 4 V-. f\rt l i -n H j-t -r- 4 t% fi fnnilitinni- r»/-t + rMit | » -l 4 tt 1 l-
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Rule . The Commission does F*©t waivo the d+s-

cretion conferred upon it- under G.S. 18B 105 to

prohibit a«y advertising that it- considers

objoctionablo ©f contrary to public interest.

(a) Ne person shall originato advertising m this

Stato dealing with alcoholic bovoragoo by any
means including newspapers, radio, television,

circulars, signs, billboards, displays ©f a»y other

L4.U- I Ul I CT7CCXC 111L U LU , Ul 11 L. .' J -J Ul'll UU I I 1 U 3C 1 1 LL'lll ITT 111

conformity with all provisions ©f these Rules.

(a) AH alcoholic bovoragoo advertising ©f any
claims £©f alcoholic bovoragos advertising shall

conform with the standards set forth m rogu

lationo under the provisions ©f the Federal Mco
holic Administration Aat- except whore they

conflict with the rulos af the Commission.

(a) Compliance with Rules. No permittee or

affiliate shall publish, disseminate or broadcast,

or cause to be published, disseminated or broad-

cast, any advertisement, either directly or indi-

rectly, by newspaper, magazine, shopping guide,

sign, circular, direct mail, billboard, display, ra-

dio, television or other advertising medium unless

the advertisement is in conformity with all the

rules of the Commission. This requirement shall

apply to any alcoholic beverage advertising,

whether or not it originates within this state. In

addition, the Commission does not hereby waive

the discretion conferred upon it under G.S.

18B-105 to prohibit any advertising that it con-

siders objectionable or contrary to public inter-

est.

(b) Trade Practice Section Applies. In addition

to the rules in this Section, industry members
shall comply with the trade practice and adver-

tising requirements of Section .0700 of Subchap-

ter 2T of this Chapter in their dealings with

retailers and special one-time permittees.

(c) Approval of Advertising Not Authorized.

Upon request and for good cause shown, the

Commission may authorize a form of advertising

not specifically allowed or authorized by these

Rules.

(d) (f) Limited to Brands Listed. Advertise-

ments of alcoholic beverages shall be limited to

the brands actually approved and listed by the

Commission at the time the advertisements ap-

pear.

(e) (§) Telephone Directory Listings.

Permittees may insert telephone and city direc-

tory listings if the listings conform in copy to the

restrictions enumerated in these Rules.

(f) fh) Advertising within Transportation Ter-

minals. Upon application, the Commission may
allow a permittee to advertise alcoholic beverages

within transportation terminals by displays or

otherwise.

(g) (i) Exchange of Advertising by Permittee.

Any retail permittee of the Commission may give

to any other retail permittee of the Commission
any advertising matter that has ft©- ©se other thaa-

advertising material if it meets the requirements

of these Rules.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-I05(b).

.1005 PROHIBITED STATEMENTS IN

ADVERTISING OR ON LABELS
(a) General Restrictions. An advertisement or

product label shall not contain:

(1) any statement, design, device or repre-

sentation that is false or misleading in any

material particular;
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(2) any statement that is disparaging of a

competitor's products;

(3) any statement, design, device or repre-

sentation which depicts nudity or is ob-

scene or indecent;

(4) any statement, design, device or repre-

sentation of or relating to analysis, stand-

ards or tests, irrespective of falsity, which

is likely to mislead the consumer;

(5) any statement, design, device or repre-

sentation of or relating to any guaranty,

irrespective of falsity, which is likely to

mislead the consumer. Nothing in this

Section shall prohibit the use of an en-

forceable guaranty in substantially the

following form: "We will refund the pur-

chase price to the purchaser if he is in any

manner dissatisfied with the contents of

this package";

(6) any statement that the product is

produced, blended, made, bottled, packed

or sold under or in accordance with any

authorization, law or regulation of any

municipality, county or state, federal or

foreign government, unless such statement

is required or specifically authorized by

the laws or regulations of such govern-

ment; and if a municipal, county, state or

federal permit number is stated, such per-

mit number shall not be accompanied by

any additional statement relating thereto;

(7) any statement, picture or illustration im-

plying that the consumption of alcoholic

beverages enhances athletic prowess, or

any statement, picture or illustration re-

ferring to any known athlete, if such

statement, picture or illustration implies,

or if the reader may reasonably infer, that

the use of this product contributed to such

athlete's athletic achievements;

(8) any picture or illustration depicting the

use of alcoholic beverages in a scene

which is undignified, immodest or in bad

taste;

(9) any offer of a prize or award upon the

completion of any contest in winch there

is a requirement to purchase the adver-

tised product, provided that, no advertise-

ment shall promote a game of chance or

a lottery'; ef the awarding &£ pria ijo ©f

premiums;

(10) any subject matter or illustrations induc-

ing minors persons under 21 years of age

to dnnk;

(11) any statement, picture or illustration in-

consistent with the spirit of safety or safe

driving programs;

(12) any scene that would be contrary to state

laws and rules governing sale, storage and
consumption of alcoholic beverages;

(13) any statement concerning a brand that is

inconsistent with any statement on the

labeling thereof;

(14) any statement, design or device repres-

enting that the use of a brand has curative

or therapeutic effects, if such statement is

untrue in any particular, or tends to create

a misleading impression;

(15) any statement or representation that the

product was manufactured in or imported

from a place or country other than that

of the actual origin, or was produced or

processed by one who was not in fact the

actual producer or processor;

(16) any statement, design, device or pictorial

representation of or relating to or capable

of being construed as relating to the armed
forces of the United States or the Ameri-

can Flag, state flag, or any emblem, seal,

insignia or decoration associated with any

such flag of armed forces of the United

States; nor shall any advertisement con-

tain any statement, device, design or pic-

torial representation of or concerning any

flag, seal, coat of arms, crest or other

insignia, likely to mislead the consumer
into believing that the product has been

endorsed, made or used by, produced for

or under the supervision of or in accord-

ance with the specifications of the gov-

ernment, organizations, family or

individual with whom the flag, seal, coat

of arms, crest or insignia is associated; or

(17) words such as "high test," "high proof,"

"full strength," "extra strong," or similar

descriptive terms, or direct or indirect ref-

erences to the intoxicating effect of the

product.

(b) Prohibited Statements in Regard to Wine.

In addition to the applicable prohibited state-

ments as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

an advertisement or label for wine shall not con-

tain:

(1) any statement of bonded winecellar and

bonded winery numbers unless stated in

direct conjunction with the name and ad-

dress of the person operating such winery

or storeroom. Statement of bonded

winecellar and bonded winery numbers

may be made in the following form:

"Bonded Winecellar No. ," "B.W.C.

No. ."

"Bonded Winery No. ," "B.W. No.
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No additional reference thereto shall be

made, nor shall any use be made of such

statement that may convey the impression

that the wine has been made or matured
under United States Government or any

state government supervision or in ac-

cordance with United States Government
or any state government specifications or

standards;

(2) any statement, design or representation

which relates to alcoholic content or

which tends to create the impression that

a wine is "unfortified" or has been "forti-

fied" or has intoxicating qualities, or con-

tains spirituous liquors liquor (except for

a reference to spirituous liquors liquor in

a statement of composition where such

statement is required by these Regulations

Rules to appear as part of the designation

of the product); or

(3) statement of age or dates, or any statement

of age or representation relative to age

(including words or devices in any brand
name or trademark), except that:

(A) In the case of vintage wine, the year of

vintage may be stated if it appears on the

label; or

(B) Truthful references of a general and in-

formative nature relating to methods of

production involving storage or aging,

such as "This wine has been mellowed in

oak casks," "Stored in small barrels" or

"Matured at regulated temperatures in our
cellars" may be made.
The statement of any bottling date shall

not be deemed to be representation relative

to age, if such statement appears without

undue emphasis in the following form:

"Bottled in " (inserting the year in

which the wine was bottled). No date, ex-

cept as provided in this Section with re-

spect to statement of vintage year and
bottling date, shall be stated unless, in ad-

dition thereto and in direct conjunction

therewith, in the same size and kind of

printing there shall be stated an explanation

of the significance of such date. Provided,

that if any date refers to the date of estab-

lishment of any business, firm or corpo-

ration such date shall be stated without

undue emphasis and in direct conjunction

with the name of the person, firm or cor-

poration to whom it refers,

(c) Prohibited Statements in Regard to

Spirituous Liquors. Liquor. In addition to the

applicable prohibited statements in Paragraph (a)

of this Rule, an advertisement for spirituous liq-

uet liquor shall not contain:

(1) words "bond," "bonded," etc; any state-

ment containing the words "bond,"

"bonded," or "bottled in bond," "aged in

bond" or phrases containing these or

synonymous terms, unless such words or

phrases appear upon the labels of the

spirituous liquors liquor advertised, and
are stated in the advertisement in the

manner and form in which they appear

upon the label;

(2) statements of age; any statement, design

or device directly or by implication con-

cerning age or maturity of any brand or

lot of spirituous liquors liquor unless a

statement of age appears on the labels of

the advertised product; When any such

statement, design or device concerning age

or maturity is contained in any advertise-

ment, it shall include, in direct conjunc-

tion therewith and with substantially

equal conspicuousness, all parts of the

statement concerning age and percentages,

if any, which appear on the label. How-
ever, an advertisement for any whiskey or

brandy which does not bear a statement

of age on the label, or an advertisement

for rum which is four years or more old,

may contain general inconspicuous age,

maturity or other similar representation,

e.g., "aged in wood," "mellowed in fme
oak casks";

(3) the word "pure" except as part of the bona
fide name of a permittee; or

(4) the terms "double distilled," "triple dis-

tilled" or any other similar term.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-105(b).

.1006 GENERAL PROHIBITIONS
(a) Cents-off coupons or coupons offering free

alcoholic beverages shall not be used as a method
for advertising, alcoholic bovoragos.

(b) No alcoholic beverages advertising shall be

carried in any programs for events or activities in

connection with any elementary or secondary

schools; nor shall any alcoholic beverages adver-

tising be connected with these events when
broadcast over radio or television.

(c) No alcoholic beverages advertising shall be

permitted by use of sound trucks.

(d) No spirituous liquor advertising shall be

displayed upon the picture screen of any theater.

(e) N» Except as otherwise provided in these

Rules, no industry member or retailer shall pro-

mote h» an alcoholic beverage product by giving

prizes, premiums or merchandise to individuals

for which any purchase of alcoholic beverages is

required or- based on the return of empty con-
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tainers unless all containers of like products are

accepted and considered on an equal basis with

the product sold by the promoter.

(f) No on-premise permittee or his agent shall

advertise any drink promotion prohibited by

Rule 2S .0232. This Paragraph includes a ban

on all advertisements of "2 for 1," "buy 1 get 1

free," "buy 1 get another for a (nickle,

penny, etc.)," and any other similar statement

indicating that a patron must buy more than one

drink.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB- 105(b).

.1007 COOPERATIVE ADVERTISING
PROHIBITED

Thoro shall he »» cooperatives advertising as he-

twoon a retailor e» the e»e hand asa a» industry

mombor ©«• the othor hand.

Except for point-of-sale advertising furnished to

a retailer by an industry member, a retailer and

an industry member shall not directly or indi-

rectly cooperate in a joint effort to advertise al-

coholic beverages, the retailer's business, or any

promotion or other event unless prior written

approval has been obtained from the Commis-
sion under 4 NCAC 2T .0717 of this Chapter.

This Rule shall not be construed to prohibit the

use bv a retailer of items and services that may
be lawfully sold or provided bv an industry

member as described in 4 NCAC 2T .0700 of this

Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B- 105(b).

.1008 ADVERTISING OF MALT BEVERAGES
AND WINE BY RETAILERS

(a) Interior Advertising.

(1) Point-of-Sale. Retail malt be%'erage and
wine permittees may utilize any amount
of point-of-sale advertising for malt

beverage and wine products offered for

sale in the establishment. This advertise

mont advertising may be supplied by the

manufacturer, importer e* wholesaler in-

dustry7 member unless it constitutes a fix-

ture or has value other than as advertising

material; except that an industry member
may give a retailer brand-identified items

listed in 4 NCAC 2T .0713(c) of this

Chapter for use as point-of-sale advertis-

ing.

(2) Price Boards. Retail malt beverage and

wine permittees may display inside price

boards showing the brand names and
prices of malt beverage and wine products

offered for sale in the establishment.

(3) Menus and Beverage Lists. Retail on-

premise malt beverage and wine
permittees may place on the menu and
beverage lists the brand names and prices

of malt beverage and wine products of-

fered for sale in the establishment. Menus
and beverage lists may be supplied by a

malt beverage e* wine manufacturer,

importer ef wholesaler an industry mem-
ber provided »& industry member's trade

namo »f logo » duplicated &» the fotr the

menu or beverage list is not printed with

the retailer's food menu.

(4) Retailer Advertising Specialty Items.

Retailer advertising specialty items are

items such as trays, coasters, mats, meal
checks, paper napkins, glassware, cups,

foam scrapers, back bar mats,

thermometers and other similar items that

bear advertising matter. a»a that are net
primarily valuable te the retailer a* point

of sale advertising media. Retailor advor

tising Advertising specialty items may be

used provided those items a*e purchased.

to a retailer by an industry member as

provided in 4 NCAC 2T .0713(b)(8) of

this Chapter.

(5) Window Displays. Retail malt beverage

and wine permittees may arrange a rea-

sonable number of malt beverage or wine
products in a window display.

(6) Location. No point-of-sale advertising,

advertising specialty item or price board
shall be displayed in a manner designed

or intended to advertise malt beverages or

wine on the outside of the establishment.

(7) T-shirts. A retailer's employees shall not

wear alcoholic beverage brand identified

t-shirts while working on the retailer's IT

censed premises.

(8) p) Removal of Objectionable Signs. A
permittee shall remove any sign, display

or advertisement in or about his licensed

premises if the Commission finds it is

objectionable or contrary to public inter-

est and orders its removal,

(b) Exterior Advertising.

(1) Outside signs on the premises.

(A) Malt Beverages. Retail malt beverage

permittees may display the term "beer"

or "cold beer" or "draught beer" on a

single, non-mechanical outside sign. The
letters and figures on the sign shall not be

more than 5 inches in height and 2 inches

apart and the sign shall be attached to the

building on the licensed premises.

(B) Wine. Retail wine permittees may dis-

play the term "wine permit-off premise"
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approved by the Commission. Advortioing e£

opirituous liquors is prohibitod » ABC storoo,

oxcopt that a display ease m*y- be uood to show
»U brands carriod i» the sturo »h4 dolistod codes

may be prominontly displayed indicating a price

roduction.

(b) Aerial Displays. No distiller, importer, or

rectifier of spirituous liquor, or representative

thereof, nor any retail permittee, shall advertise

by means of an aerial display or inflatable the

brand name or availability of spirituous liquor.

(c) Billboards. No distiller, importer, or

rectifier of spirituous liquor, or representative

thereof, nor any retail permittee, shall advertise

by means of a billboard or sign the brand name
or availability of spirituous liquor.

(d) Broadcasting. No distiller, importer, &f

roctifior »f spirituous liquor, ef representative)

thoroof, Hef »»y retail permittee shall advertise

by radio or television or any transmission to ra-

dio or television the brand name or availability

of spirituous liquor.

(e) Point-of-Sale. Point-of-sale and advertising

specialties for spirituous liquor shall ftet- may be

used in ABC stores »e* but not in retail estab-

lishments holding permits issued by the Com-
mission. Advertising used in ABC stores shall

conform to the provisions of Rule .1005 of this

Section, and in addition shall not:

(1) incorporate the use of any present or for-

mer athlete or athletic team;

(2) refer to the availability of or oflcr any al-

coholic beverages by mail; or

(3) utilize case card loaders.

All point-of-sale advertising material, advertising

specialties, and recipes, booklets or brochures

intended for use and display in ABC stores shall

first be submitted to the Commission for ap-

proval prior to their display in an ABC store.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-105.

.1012 NOVELTIES UTILIZING TRADEMARKS
/NAMES: OTHER MATERIALS

Industry members may use or allow to be used

their trademark, trade name or other similar ad-

vertising materials in the manufacturing of nov-
elty items such as glasses, ice chests, beach
towels, T shirts, umbrellas, and other similar

items provided that any advertising material

other than trade name or trademark shall receive

approval by the Commission prior to distrib-

ution in North Carolina. Novelties may be sold

to a retailer by an industry member as provided

in 4 NCAC 2T .0713(a)(1) of this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-I05(b).

.1014 RECIPES AND BOOKLETS
Recipes, booklets and brochures for cooking

with alcoholic beverages and information with

reference to the use of certain alcoholic beverages

those products with certain foods are permitted

and may specify the brand and the name of

winery, the bottler, ©f manufacturer or importer-

Malt beverage and wine industry members may
.give recipes, booklets and brochures for cooking
with those products to retailers. Recipes, book-
lets and brochures for cooking with spirituous

liquor shall be submitted to the Commission
with point-of-sale materials as required in Rule

.1011(e) of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-I05(b).

.1020 REFUND OFFERS
(a) General. Refund offers may be used to

advertise spirituous liquor and wine.

(b) Conditions. A refund offer is an offer to a

consumer for a rebate of money or merchandise

from a liquor or wine industry member, obtained

by mailing a form. A refund offer is allowed

under the following conditions:

(1) A refund for liquor may be offered only

by a manufacturer, importer, distiller,

rectifier or bottler of spirituous liquor. A
refund for wine may be offered only by a

manufacturer, bottler, importer or non-
resident vendor of wine.

(2) A refund may be offered only to purchas-

ers of the manufacturer's original uno-
pened container of liquor that is

purchased from a local ABC store, or to

purchasers of the manufacturer's original

unopened container of wine that is pur-

chased from a retail wine permittee or lo-

cal ABC store.

(3) A refund may be offered only when the

redemption form is a part of or attached

to the package or container, or when the

forms are available on tear-off pads dis-

played in the store. Any offer that is a

part of or attached to the package or

container shall be placed there by the in-

dustry member who offers the refund.

(4) A refund offer shall apply throughout the

state.

(5) A refund offer shall include an expiration

date.

(6) A refund offer shall include a statement

explaining the redemption procedure in-

cluding the expiration date and length of

time before the refund is sent to the pur-

chaser. Refund offers shall be redeemed

by mailing the redemption form to the

industry member who offers the refund
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or its designated redemption agent. Such
an agent shall not be a retail or wholesale

permittee in the state.

(7) An industry member shall notify the

Commission at least 10 days before it of-

fers a refund on liquor. The notice shall

state the proposed amount of the refund,

its expiration date, to whom redemption

forms must be mailed and the name, ad-

dress and phone number of the redemp-

tion agent. The notice shall also include

a sample of the redemption form.

(8) An ABC board member, &? board em-
ployee, retailer or retailer employee shall

not receive refunds on offers obtained

from liquor or wine packages or contain-

ers before sale at retail.

(c) Commercial bribery; cooporativo advertir.

iftgr Bribery; Cooperative Advertising. No retail

permittee-

, local ABC board member, e* board

employee, retailer or retailer employee shall ac-

cept and no industry member shall pay any fee

for the display or use of refund offers. The name
of a retail business or retail permittee shall not

appear on any refund offer.

(d) Advertising refund offcro. Refund Offers.

Refund offers may be advertised by newspapers,

magazines or direct mail but no redemption form
may appear in such advertisement. No refund

offer for liquor may be advertised on the premises

of any retail permittee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-I05(b).

SECTION .1 100 - EFFECT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION: FINES: OFFERS

IN COMPROMISE

.1101 PROHIBITED ACTIVITY DURING
PERIOD OF SUSPENSION

(a) The selling, dispensing or consuming of al-

coholic beverage products on the licensed prem-
ises of any retail outlet is prohibited while the

permit authorizing that activity is under suspen-

sion, fie* r.hall afiy and no alcoholic beverages

shall be removed from the premises during the

suspension period.

(b) During a period of suspension of a

permittee's permit, he continues to be a permittee

and shall comply with all ABC laws, including

conditions of his permit, during the suspension

period. Suspension of permits does not operate

to relieve any permittee of the continuing re-

quirements for qualification for a permit.

(c) The suspension of any permit authorizing

the sale of alcoholic beverages also suspends the

permittee's authorization to purchase or accept

deliveries of those alcoholic beverages from a

wholesaler or local ABC board for the entire

length of the active suspension period.

(d) Suspensions shall begin at 7:00 a.m. on the

effective date ordered bv the Commission in the

Order of Suspension or Order of Compromise.

Statutory Authority G.S.

1SB-I004(a); 18B-1008.

103

18B-104; I8B-207;

MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
STIUL APPLICABLE

A permittee holding a Brownbagging ef Mixed
Beveragoo Permit as a private ek*e shall continue
t f\ Qfl r-i-1 T-vl t : II if K Q I 1 «-. i.-ii 1 « rrxrri rifiti- ^^L U^A ,^L^h^_ Li^^X^^

regarding membership afi4 operation »f the

buLiinoGO as a private facility.

Suspension of a private club permit does not

operate to relieve the permittee of the continuing

requirements for qualification for a private club

permit, including requirements regarding mem-
bership and operation as a private facility.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207: 18B-/008.

SUBCHAPTER 2T - INDUSTRY MEMBERS:
RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER

RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP CHANDLERS: AIR
CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOFIOL

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: APPLICATION
PROCEDURES

.0101 DEFINITIONS
The following terms shall have the following

meanings when used in this Subchapter: Chap-

ter:

( 1

)

"Brand," in relation to wines, means the

name under which a wine is produced and

shall include trade names or trademarks. A
brand shall not be construed to mean a class

or type of wine, but all classes and types of

wines sold under the same brand label shall

be considered a single brand. Differences in

packaging such as a different style, type or

size of container are not considered different

brands.

(2) 'industn' member" means anv wholesaler,

salesman, brewery, winery, bottler, importer,

distiller, rectifier, nonresident vendor, vendor

representative, or affiliate thereof, that sells

or solicits orders for alcoholic beverages,

whether or not licensed in this state.

(3) "Retail permittee" or "retailer" means anv

permittee holding a retail alcoholic beverage

permit issued pursuant to the authority of

G.S. 18B-1001. but shall not include a non-

profit or political organization that has been

issued a Special One-Time permit pursuant
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to the provisions of G.S. 18B- 1002(a)(2) or

(51
(4) fty "Representative" means any vendor

representative, as that term is defined in G.

S. 18B-1112, or any other person selling or

soliciting orders for alcoholic beverages on
behalf of a manufacturer, bottler, e* vendor,

or importer.

(5) f3} "Vendor" means any nonresident malt

beverage vendor or nonresident wine ven-

dor, as those terms are defined in G.S.

18B-1113 and 18B-1114.

(6) f3} "Wine" means both fortified wine and

unfortified wine, as those terms are denned

in G.S. 18B-101(7)and(15).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-101; 18B-207;

18B-1I12; 18B-/J/3; 18B-I114.

SECTION .0200 - PRODUCT APPROVALS:
LISTING PROCEDURES: PRODUCT LISTS

.0201 MALT BEVERAGE PRODUCT
APPROVALS: LISTING IN STATE

(a) All malt beverage products offered for sale

shall first be approved by the Commission.

Thereafter, any approved malt beverage product

sold in this State shall conform to the analysis

of the samples submitted.

(b) Samples. Any industry member who sub-

mits to the Commission a malt beverage product

for approval for sale in the State shall furnish,

without cost to the Commission, at- loaot 440

mililitors (15.30 ounces) ©f the a sample of the

product in twe- a marketable containoro. con-

tainer.

(c) Procedure for Listing. To receive consid-

eration by the Commission for a new malt

beverage product, an industry member shall

comply with the following procedures:

(1) All items shall be submitted in duplicate

with a list of all container sizes being of-

fered;

(2) All labels shall be submitted in duplicate

and attached to the application form;

(3) A copy of the Federal Label Approval

Form shall be submitted;

(4) Payment of a non-refundable analysis fee

in the amount of twenty-five dollars

($25.00) shall accompany the application

of each new item submitted; except if the

industry members member submits a cer-

tified laboratory analysis of the product,

payment of a non-refundable administra-

tive fee in the amount of ten dollars

($10.00) shall be submitted.

(d) If an analysis of a product is submitted it

shall provide at least the following information

in English:

(1) alcohol by volume (maximum six per-

cent),

(2) total sulphur dioxide content (maximum
25 ppm),

(3) gallo-tannins (maximum 100 ppm),

(4) calories per 360 milliliters ( 12 ounces), and

(5) specific gravity.

(e) All forms required for the listing, analysis

and approval of any malt beverage product shall

be stapled together and forwarded to the ABC
Commission, 3322 Garner Road, P.O. Box
26687, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6687.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-206; 18B-207.

.0202 WINE APPROVALS: LISTING IN
STATE

(a) Except as provided for special orders, before

any wine is offered for sale in this State, it and the

label used upon the container shall first be ap-

proved by the Commission. The Commission
shall provide blank Wine Analysis forms upon
request. Thereafter, any approved wine sold

shall conform to the analysis of the samples

submitted.

(b) Sample of Wine Required. An industry

member shall submit, without cost to the Com-
mission, a sample of any wine that is the subject

of application for listing for inspection and anal-

ysis.

(c) The steps required to receive consideration

by the Commission for a new wine listing are:

(1) submit all items on the form in duplicate,

fortified and unfortified wines listed on
separate forms;

(2) submit all labels in duplicate attached to

the form;

(3) submit a 500 milliliter (or a larger size if

500 milliliter is not available) bottle of

each product offered for examination;

(4) list all sizes being offered on the form;

(5) submit a copy of the Federal Label Ap-
proval;

I f-J\ c i l Ktvi 1 1 f\ i"\ t 1 .-i i . t l-\ i t-i • i "\.i 1 1 I ti -l i 1 1 1 « t \w i- -i in i> 1 . *
i \j f juuiiui nu l i \~' ._' J 1 1 in 1 1 cr _' '_' i,i 1

1

mini t v*r -in 1

1

1

'

iu

»f brandy «*?4 te fortify aw fortified

wines;

(6) £?) submit a check in the amount of

twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each new
item submitted, except if a verified labo-

ratory analysis of the product is submit-

ted, a check in the amount of ten dollars

($10.00);

(7) (&) staple together all forms submitted with

each item and forward to the North

Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control
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Commission, 3322 Garner Road, P.O.

Box 26687, Raleigh, North Carolina

27611-6687.

(d) If an analysis of a product is submitted, it

shall provide at least the following information

in Fnglish:

(1) alcohol by volume (percent);

(2) total acidity (g/ 100 cc as tartaric acid);

(3) total sulphur dioxide content (ppm);

(4) volatile acidity, exclusive of sulphur

dioxide (g/ 100 cc as acetic acid);

(5) alcohol-free soluble solids (degrees/ Brix

degrees/ Balling); and

(6) identity and quantity of any added chemi-

cal preservative.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB- 206; 18B-207.

.0203 SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR PRODUCT
APPROVALS

(a) All brands of spirituous liquors liquor sold

in this State shall have first been approved for

listing and resale by the Commission.
(b) Listing Policy. In view of the fact that

North Carolina is a monopoly state, the Com-
mission is responsible for maintaining a wide

range of spirituous liquor products and prices

and a balanced selection between the various

types of products. It is the Commission's re-

sponsibility to insure ensure that the various

types of products, including specialty items and
imports, are available to the North Carolina

consumer, as well as the more popular products.

To this end, the Commission shall, at least once

a year, consider new spirituous liquor products

for placement on the state's approved list.

Listings shall be in the discretion of the Com-
mission after considering sales trends of the type

of product, sales trends of the product in other

states, and the need for the product in the North
Carolina market. The Commission shall also,

at least once a year, consider delisting items from
the approved list. Items maintaining adequate

sales histories for type and price range will not

be considered for delisting unless the delisting is

part of a penalty invoked after hearing, pursuant

to this Chapter.

(c) Items shall be submitted to the Commission
for consideration for listing, and will be consid-

ered only if they are offered on the prescribed

forms by the distiller, rectifier, bottler or

importer, with tl*e following warranty signed by
aft official e4 tke distille r, rectifier, bottlor e*

importor:

^44- is hereby warrant ed that tfte ease prices

as shown heroon represent tbe lowest

taxpaid LOB. distillery ftrte ef point ef fiftal

shipment Fate offered any- purchasers fof tke

same merchandise an4 tftat- tft» freight as

shown hereon does »»* oxcood the ee&t e£

delivery ef- this merchandise t» North
Carolina."

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-206; 18B-207.

.0206 NEW FILING REQUIRED UPON
TRANSFER OF BRAND

When any malt beverage or wine brand or

product is transferred from one nonresident ven-

dor, manufacturer or importer to another, the

new vendor, manufacturer or importer shall,

within 30 days of the acquisition of the brand or

product, submit the following items to the

Commission:

( 1

)

label approval application forms (BWL008)
in duplicate, with labels attached;

(2) copies of Federal Label Approval forms in

duplicate;

(3) a certified laboratory analysis of the prod-

uct, in Hnglish, showing alcohol content by
volume, with a check in the amount of ten

dollars (
$10.00"]; and

(4) the wholesaler territorial designations for

the brand and product that were in effect on
the date the product was acquired by the

vendor, manufacturer or importer.

Compliance with this Rule is mandatory
notwithstanding the fact that the product has

been previously approved by the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-203(a); 18B-206;

18B-1203; 18B-1303(a); 18B-1305(d).

SECTION .0400 - STANDARDS OF IDENTITY
FOR WINE: CONTAINERS

.0401 APPLICATION OF STANDARDS
All wines produced, imported, bottled, or of-

fered for sale in this State shall meet the standards

of identity prescribed as of February 4-? 198'1,

April L 1986, in Subpart C, Part 4, Chapter 1,

Title 27 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

The Commission has a copy of those regu-

lations available for inspection at the address in

this Rule. Copies are available at a cost of te»

cents ($ t+04 twenty-five cents ($0.25) per page.

North Carolina ABC Commission
3322 Garner Road
P. O. Box 26687

Raleigh, N. C. 27611-6687

Authority G.S. 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 27 C.F.R.

4.20 through 27 C.F.R. 4.27.

.0409 PROHIBITED PRACTICES
(a) The production, importation or sale within

this State of any product as or under the desig-
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nation of wine that fails to conform to the

standards prescribed in these Rules, e? ef- a«y
wine formontod from raisins, dried fruits ef driod

berries, or of any imitation or substandard wine
is prohibited.

(b) Imitation Wine. Imitation wine includes:

(1) any wine containing synthetic materials;

(2) any wine made from a mixture of water

with residues remaining after thorough
pressing of grapes, fruit or other agricul-

tural products;

(3) any class or type of wine, the taste, aroma,
color or other characteristics of which
have been acquired in whole or in part by
treatment with methods or materials of

any kind, if the taste, aroma, color or

other characteristics of normal wines of a

any such class or type are acquired with-

out that treatment; or

(4) any wine made from must concentrated

at any time to more than 80 degrees

(Balling). &f

($) frui* wina fiet- dorivod wholly from »«e
lcind ef few* such as "berry wino," "oitruo

wino" e* "citrus frwt wino."

(c) Substandard wine includes:

(1) any wine having a volatile acidity in excess

of the maximum prescribed therefor in

these Rules;

(2) any wine for which no maximum volatile

acidity is prescribed in these Rules having
a volatile acidity, calculated as acetic acid

and exclusive of sulphur dioxide, in excess

of 0. 14 gram per 100 cubic centimeters (20
degrees Centigrade);

(3) any wine for which a standard of identity

is prescribed in these Rules that through
disease, decomposition or otherwise fails

to have the composition, color and clean

vinous taste and aroma of normal wines
confonning to that standard;

(4) wine of any class or type containing added
water or a sugar and water solution in ex-

cess of the quantities expressly authorized

for standard wine made from the same
kind or kinds of materials as prescribed in

these Rules;

(5) any wine containing monochloracetic acid

or any other substance or preservative

prohibited by the United States Food and
Drug Administration or the Federal Al-

coholic Tax Unit; or

(6) any wine containing deleterious, harmful
or impure substances or elements or an
improper balance of elements.

(d) Coined Names
(1) Mixture of Wines. The sale in this State

of wines identified on labels or in adver-

tisements by a type or brand designation

that implies mixtures of wines for which
standards of identity are established in

these Rules, or which identifying type or

brand designation resembles an estab-

lished wine type name such as

"Angelica," "Madeira," "Muscatel,"

"Claret," "Burgundy," etc., is prohibited.

(2) Combinations of Alcoholic Beverages.

The sale in this State of wines or combi-
nations of wine and other alcoholic

beverages that contain on the labels state-

ments such as "whiskey wine," "rum and
wine," "gin and wine," "beer and wine"

or similar combinations is prohibited.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-206(a); 18B-207.

SECTION .0500 - INDUSTRY MEMBERS:
GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0501 INSPECTION OF PREMISES
Any storage facility, warehouse or office area

where malt beverages or wine are stored or man
ufaoturor manufactured or where records of pur-

chases, sales or deliveries are maintained shall be

considered the licensed premises and shall be

made available for inspection as provided in G.S.

18B-502.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-502.

.0502 RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS:
SALES TICKETS

(a) In addition to records required to be kept

by the North Carolina Department of Revenue,
all industry' members shall maintain on the li-

censed premises a carbon copy of every original

sales ticket or receipt that relates to sales of al-

coholic beverage products, equipment, advertis-

ing specialty items, or advertising novelties.

(b) Sales Ticket Required. Wholesalers or their

salesmen shall, at the time of each sale and de-

livery7 of malt beverages or wine to a retailer,

provide on every retail sales ticket the following

information:

(1) date of sale;

(2) name of establishment;

(34 retailor's malt beverage a»d wine permit

number Bf numbers;

(3) (4) location;

(4) (4) quantity of each brand of malt

beverages or wine sold;

(5) (6) unit price;

(6) (?} total price;

(7) {&} amount received;

(8) f9} invoice number; and

(9) (4% route, if applicable.
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All sales tickets shall be endorsed at the time of

sale by the retailer or authorized agent and by the

wholesaler with the usual signature of each. All

sales tickets shall be retained by the wholesaler

for a period of three years and shall be filed al-

phabetically, by sales route, or chronologically

bv date of sale.

(f) A retail permittee who operates multiple

locations may maintain beer and wine invoices

at one central location upon written application

to and approval by the Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1107;

18B-II09; ISB- 1303(a).

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207.

SECTION .0600 - SALES AND DELIVERIES OF
MALT BEVERAGES AND WINE

.0602 SALES AND PURCHASE
RESTRICTIONS: RECORDS

(a) No wholesaler of malt beverages shall sell

malt beverages to any person who does not hold

a retail or wholesale Malt Beverage permit, and

no wholesaler of wine shall sell any fortified wine

or unfortified wine to any person who does not

hold the appropriate retail or wholesale Fortified

or Unfortified Wine Permit; except, that a

wholesaler may furnish or sell wine or malt

beverages to his employees for the sole use of the

employees.

(b) No retail malt beverage or wine permittee

shall purchase those alcoholic beverages from
anyone other than a licensed wholesaler.

(c) No malt beverage wholesaler shall sell, ship,

or distribute any brand of malt beverages to any

retail permittee located outside the territory de-

scribed in that wholesaler's distribution agree-

ment for the product filed pursuant to G.S.

18B 1109(b). 18B- 1303(a).

(d) /Ml persons holding retail Malt Beverage

or Wine Permits shall keep the sales tickets and
delivery receipts furnished by the wholesaler,

pursuant to Rule .0502 of this Subchapter, as

well as all other records of purchases of malt

beverages and wine, filed separate and apart from
all other records. Delivery receipts shall set forth

terms of sale for each separate transaction be-

tween the retailer and the wholesaler and shall

include for each separate sale:

(1) date of sale;

(2) trade name of retail establishment;

f^) permit number;

(31 (4> location;

(4) (44 quantity of each brand of alcoholic

beverage sold;

(5) (4>+ unit price;

(6) £34 total price;

(7) (454 amount paid; and

(8) (9) invoice or receipt number.

(e) The retailer shall retain for inspection copies

of all tickets and receipts on the premises for

three vears.

.0604 COLLECTION OF AMOUNT OF SALE
(a) Each wholesaler shall collect the full amount

of the sale price in cash or bona fide check at the

time of or prior to delivery of alcoholic beverages

to a retailer except as provided in this Rule. No
wholesaler shall extend credit for any period of

time to any retailer who purchases malt

beverages or wine from him.

(b) Collections for sales and deliveries upon
military' reservations, however, shall not be re-

quired at the time of the transaction.

(c) A route salesman may accept one payment
for all deliveries made bv him on the same day
to the same permittee if deliveries are made to

two or more of the permittee's retail premises on
the same route. Payment in such cases shall be

collected bv the salesman for all such deliveries

no later than at the last store account on the

route. Nothing in this Rule shall be construed

to authorize a route salesman to collect payment
from a permittee at an office location unless the

office is located on the premises where the last

delivery is made.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1116.

.0605 RESTRICTED HOURS ON SALES OR
DELIVERIES

?ve- wholesaler &f his agont »f employee shall

sett ef deliver any malt beverages &f wine to a

retail permittee during hours when sates ef alco

holic beveraaoo afe unlawful under G.S.

18B 100 ' 1(a),(b), &f (€4t

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-I004.

.0607 DRAUGHT MALT BEVERAGE SALES:
ACCESSORIES: DELIVERIES

(a) Delivery to Retailer; Consumer. For each

sale of draught beer, the wholesaler shall trans-

port the beer to the premises of a licensed retailer.

There the wholesaler shall collect for the sale, and

the retailer shall complete and sign his sales

ticket, writing on it the name of the purchaser

and the address to which the beer is to be deliv-

ered. If the purchaser of the draught beer can

not transport the beer or does not know how to

set up and tap the beer, he may request that the

wholesaler assist him. Upon receiving such a

request, the wholesaler may deliver the beer from
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the retailer's premises to the person and place

designated and may set it up.

(b) Assisting Consumer. Upon arrival at the

designated place of delivery, the wholesaler may
set up the equipment, tap the keg and test to see

that it is working properly. The wholesaler may
pick up his kegs and equipment at any time.

(c) Tapping Accessories. Hand pumps, carbon

dioxide cylinders, related gauges, tubs, ice and
cups may be delivered with the kegs by a whole-

saler to a consumer. Such accessories may be left

with a retailer only upon the filling of an order portion of the territory.

from a retailer who has a specific and current

order from a consumer, and the kegs and acces-

distance of the retailer's premises from the

wholesaler's warehouse, or the sex, race, age, re-

ligion or national origin of the permittee.

(b_i Pricing. As used in G.S. 18B- 1303(b), the

term "service" shall not be construed to prohibit

a malt beverage wholesaler from reducing the

price of a product in a portion of his assigned

territory if the price reduction is made in order

to meet a competitor's lower prices offered on
similar categories of malt beverage products (e.g.

"premium" or "low end" products) in that same

sories are to be delivered by the retailer or picked

up by the consumer. Nothing in this Rule shall

be construed to allow a wholesaler to loan or rent

tubs or tapping accessories to a retailer for any
period of time.

(d) Keg Deposits. Any deposit charged by a

brewer to a wholesaler for a draught malt

beverage keg shall be charged to and collected

from the retailer upon delivery of the keg to the

retailer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1I16.

.0608 DRAUGHT MALT BEVERAGE
EQUIPMENT SALES: TERMS OF SALE

Malt beverage wholosalors may sell draught

boxoo aed- equipment te retail malt beverage
^u£^^Li -it nrit Iflflfi tliifi * K rx t n< nl 1 .i I , 1 J r\ <"-.-v t-« t*nrrncTTT u.i nu i ivirj 1 1 iui i 1

1

i\j rrTmr rorrr o I l'uji it

nanoed over a maximum period »f throe yoaro,

aed- the salesmen ef- the wholooalor may collect

payments from the retailor fe* the purchaso »f

this oquipmont. These transactions shall include

the following terms: a down payment ef at- least

2© percent ef the total purchaso price, interest a*

»et- less than the current primo Fate e» the date

ef the contract e» the outstanding unpaid bal-

anco at the outset ef each 44 months ef- the pe-

i h_hj. i xt rrrr nil i~ si tuu i_^xtihoii lu to ttttttt? 1 1 iui t

3Q days » arrears, if the above terms ate net

met, the vrholooalor shall immediately repossess

the equipment, a»4 the retailor shall surrender itr

Wholesalers awi retailers Ghall retain copies ef

these sales contracts fef inspection fef a period

ef throe years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-III6.

.0610 REFUSAL TO SELL; PRICING;
SERVICING ACCOUNTS

(a) Refusal to Sell to Retailer. A wholesaler

of malt beverages or wine may refuse to sell al-

coholic beverages to a retailer for legitimate

business reasons so long as the decision not to

sell is not related to the size of the account, the

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-1303(b).

SECTION .0700 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES:
RETAILER/INDUSTRY MEMBER

RELATIONSHIP: TRADE PRACTICES

.0702 DEFINITIONS
fa} £*e industry mombor, whothor lioonsod »

1 \-\ i .. J^^Jii^ Q r" nnt (~\ f* « f c- fiHi<-rir ^Jtj-^^^f^^j- B *~"P I " T 'OQTtt^^j ^T^T^^^T ^^r ^^^^Ty ui 1 1 LP ^TT^T^^CT^ ^^^^^^^^^^^T^ ^nH^^^^'^rv

ef affLliato shall oithor diroctly e* indirectly lend,

give, furnish, &f offor te afiy retail pormittoo ef

his omployoo, er te the ownor »f the premioos e»
which the business ef the rotailer is conducted,
He* shall such a pormittoo, omployoo, ef owner
roquiro by agreement ef otherwise te aocopt from
such a mombor any money, services, furniture,

fixtures, signs, draught equipment ef parts,

glasses, napkins, trays, coasters, novelty items,

mirrors, supplies, ef other thing e£ value includ

iftg aey free goods, morchandiso, morchundise
given free upon the basis ef a retailor's purchase

reaching a cortain quota, et a»y quantity dis-

counts ef alcoholic beverage products, ef other

wise foil te carry eet m good faith the purpose

ef this Rule.

fe) Definition ef Terms. Pef the purpose ef

this Rule, prohibited services include free instal

lation, repair ef maintenance ef oquipmont aed
(r.i. > in ft n *' n*'"" *"* r Ml ]l,1,\,^«- l- i i-t-rA i-- n r nfhfir * i- 1 1 1 fnrnvu iii.i iULIUIIU 11 (J 1 UUIUUUI HI i,! r^ \J I 17 II IV 1 1 1 -TT *_II V. .' .

"Thing ef value" includoo, promoting a particular

retailor » advortisomonts; providing prizes at

retailor conventions; advertising i» retailer pe ri

odicals; sponsoring parties fef retailors; guaran

teoing loans ef retailors; oxtonding credit te

retailors; failing te- roquiro a deposit equal te that-

charged by a supplier e» k-egs aed roturnublo

bottles: ef making discounts, rebates ef refunds

conditioned eft their being applied by the retailer

te pay eff a loan.

For the purposes of this Section, the following

definitions shall apply:

(1) "Equipment" shall include draft beer boxes,

wine dispensing machines, refrigeration de-

vices, sinks, dishwashers, dispensing trucks,

trailers, caddies, and any other item useful
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or suitable for the preparation, serving, dis-

pensing or cleaning of food or beverages or

lood and beverage containers.

(2) "Point-of-Sale advertising" shall mean ad-

vertising material such as signs, posters,

banners, and decorations that bears con-

spicuous and substantial product advertising

matter, that has no secondary value to the

retailer, and that is designed and intended to

be used inside a retailer's licensed premises

where alcoholic beverage products are dis-

played and sold.

(3) "Promotion" shall include any advertising

publicity or sponsorship activity in con-

nection with any special event, function or

holiday that is outside the scope of routine

sales and marketing, and shall include

fundraisers, concerts, sporting events, tes-

tivals, celebrations, anniversaries, ceremo-

nies. operations, observances, sweepstakes

or contests.

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; 18B-1I16.

.0704 REMOVAL OR DISTURBANCE OF
OTHER BRANDS PROHIBITED

No wholesaler shall remove from a retailer's

premises any bottles, cartons or kegs bearing

brand identification except brands that are dis-

tributed by that wholesaler. No wholesaler shall

remove, rearrange or otherwise disturb any malt

beverages or wine displayed on a retail licensed

premises by another wholesaler, except: te- Fe-

tes* merchandise te its properly assigned shelf

space' whc-n it- hr» boon inadvertently placed i»

t&e wholesaler's assigned space .

( 1

)

to return merchandise to its properly as-

signed shelf space when it has been inad-

vertently placed in the wholesaler's assigned

space; or

(2) to remove a competitor's product from a

promotional display area that has been as-

signed to the wholesaler, and the compet-
itor's personnel are not available to move
their own product from the area at the time

the wholesaler's product is scheduled to go

on promotion.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; JSB- 1 116(b).

.0707 INDUCEMENTS (TIED HOUSE)
No industry member shall:

( 1

)

acquire or hold any interest in any license

or permit with respect to the premises of a

retail permittee;

(2) acquire any interest in real or personal

property owned, occupied, or used by a re-

tail permittee in the conduct of his business;

(3) furnish, give, rent, lend, or sell to a retail

permittee any equipment, fixtures, signs,

supplies, money, services, or other things of

value except as otherwise provided in these

Rules;

(4) pay or credit a retail permittee for any ad-

vertising, display, or distribution service;

(5) guarantee any loan or the repayment of

any financial obligation of a retain retail

permittee;

(6) extend credit to a retail permittee, except

as otherwise provided in these Rules: e*

(7) require a retail permittee to take and dis-

pose of a certain quota of any alcoholic

beverages;

(8) acquire any interest in a mortgage or deed

of trust on the retailer's business or property;

(9) pay for the display of advertising on any
signs or scorecards manufactured by a third

party for a retailer;

(10) furnish free warehousing by delaying de-

livery of alcoholic beverage product or by
providing refrigerated vehicles for a retailer;

or

(11) purchase advertising on signs, scoreboards

and programs at ballparks, racetracks, and
coliseums from the retail concessionaire,

unless the retailer is a city or county, and an

exemption has been granted pursuant to

G.S. 18B-1 116(b).

Statutory Authority G.S. ISB-207; 1SB-1 116(a).

.0708 COMMERCIAL BRIBERY
(a) No industry member shall make secret gifts

or payoffs to purchasing agents, clerks,

bartenders, salesmen or other employees of retail

permittees.

(b) No industry member shall give any bonus,

premium or compensation to any retailer or an

officer, employee or agent of the retailer. Pro-

hibited acts include:

(1) monetary inducements ("push money")
given to retailers or their employees;

(2) total or partial payment of a retailer's em-
ployee's salary;

(3) sales promotion contests in which a

retailer's employees are offered or

awarded prizes, such as trips abroad, cash,

or automobiles that are totally or partially

financed by an industry member;

(4) payments or gratuities to groups or asso-

ciations of retailer's employees; &?

(5) other gifts such as trips, appliances, or

other items given to retail corporate offi-

cers; or

(6) participation in a retailer's sales or man-
agement meetings, conventions or outings

1696 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

by sponsoring or underwriting any events

in connection with the meeting, conven-

tion or outing, unless such participation

is limited to the providing of a hospitality

suite with light hors d'oeuvres and
beverages, and the price paid for the suite

is not greater than that paid by any other

participant in the meeting, convention or

outing.

Statutory Authority G.S. JSB-207; ISB-1 116(a).

.0709 CONSIGNMENT SALES: CONDITIONAL
SALES: RETURN'S

(a) Consignment Sales Prohibited. No industry

member shall sell, offer for sale, or contract to

sell to any retail permittee, nor shall any retail

permittee purchase, offer to purchase, or contract

to purchase from any industry member any al-

coholic beverages on consignment or under con-

ditional sale, or with the privilege of return, or

on any basis other than a bona fide cash sale.

For the purposes of this Rule, a consignment sale

is any transaction in which title to the merchan-

dise is not transferred at the time of shipment or

delivery and which does not involve some form
of full cash settlement. No industry member
shall contract or agree with a retailer to retain ti-

tle ef to alcoholic beverages until those products

are sold.

(b) Privilege of Return. No industry member
and retailer shall enter into any agreement

whereby the retailer has an expressed or implied

right to return alcoholic beverages that he cannot

sell. Any acceptance of returned merchandise

will be considered a strong indication that the

"privilege of return" existed at the time of sale,

and a repeated practice of accepting returned

merchandise from a retailer would establish an
implied privilege of return, even though no
formal agreement has been made.

(e) Exception. 44»s Rule shaM net- apply te-

transactions involving solely bona fitle return ef

alcoholic boveragoo fof ordinary a«4 usual com
mercial reasons arising after the alcoholic

bovoragos have boon sold, such as mutilated la-

bel* Bf containers, product deterioration, ©f a

bona ftde discontinuance ef- retailer's business.

(c) (4) Sales Conditioned on the Acquisition of

Other Merchandise. No industry member shall

make any agreement with any retailer to accept

as an agreement incident to present or future

sales other alcoholic beverages that the retailer

wants to remove from his inventory. The ex-

change of alcoholic beverages for equal quantities

of the same type and brand in containers of an-

other size and style is not considered an acquisi-

tion of "other" alcoholic beverages and,

therefore, is not prohibited where the return is

otherwise permissible.

(d) Exceptions. This Rule shall not apply to

the following transactions:

(1) returns of malt beverages or wine for or-

dinary and usual commercial reasons aris-

ing after the alcoholic beverages have been

sold, such as mutilated or damaged labels

or containers, error in delivery, product

deterioration, or a bona tide discontin-

uance of the retailer's business;

(21 exchanges of malt beverage products for

equal quantities of the same brand, type,

size and container style, so long as the

manufacturer's code date on the products

will expire within 14 calendar days of the

01

date of exchange, and the quantity ex-

changed does not exceed 20 cases of each

brand per 14 day period. For the pur-

poses of this Rule, the term "exchange"

means to replace product for product and
does not authorize the wholesaler to ac-

cept returned malt beverage products for

cash or credit;

returns of wine or malt beverage products

from a seasonal retailer who is open only

a portion of the year if the products are

likely to spoil during the off-season. For
purposes of this Rule, a "seasonal

retailer" is defined as one that closes its

business completely for a period of at least

eight weeks during the summer or winter

months. Returns from a seasonal retailer

may be for cash or credit.

Note: The return or exchange of wine

products is governed by this Rule and the

regulations under the Federal Alcohol

Administration Act found in Title 27 of

Regu-the United States Code of Federal

CFRlations, Part 1

1

through 1 1.46), and nothing
127 Sec.

in

11.1

these

Rules shall be construed to authorize the

return or exchange of wine products if the

transaction is prohibited by federal law.

Authority G.S. 1SB-207; ISB-1 116; 27 C.F.R.

11.1 through 27 C.F.R. 11.46.

.0710 EXCEPTIONS: ACCEPTED TRADE
PRACTICES

fa) {» retail outlets where wholesalers have

been assigned specific space, these wholesalers

Fftay price &f reprice their stock a* designat ed by-

the retailor ae4 rearrange a«4 place their brand

e* brands i» their assigned shelf space se as te

properly rotat e their stock a«4 keep their a*-

TM "jj.1 iru 7<i 'life l.'Ict.u i hi iu rrerrrr i tti^ (j^*."vi.h ivm i uu

thorizos a wholesaler te- rearrange ef reset a
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retailer's alcoholic beverage shelf space, display

area, m department pursuant te tfeafc retailer's

f4a» m*4 direction, bet- tba* wholesaler sbaH- Bet-

move »f disturb brands &ebJ by other whole
sul e rs,

fb-f Coil Cleaning Service. A wholesaler ef

wine ep malt hcverauoo e»y render eee. cleaning

senices te a retailer w4» ba» draught equipment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-lll6(b).

.07! I PROHIBITED TRADE PRACTICES
(a) General. It shall be a violation of these

Rules for any industry member, whether or not

licensed in this state, or any officer, director^ em-
ployee or affiliate, to either directly or mdirectly

lend, give, turnish or offer to any retail permittee

or his employee, or to the owner of the premises

on which the business of a retailer is conducted,

or for any retail pennittee. employee, or owner
to demand, require or accept from any industry

member, anv money, services, furniture, fixture,

equipment, sign, glasses, barware, supplies or

other thing of value, except as provided in these

Rules.

(b) Prohibited Senices. By way of illustration,

but not limitation, the following services shall

not be furnished, given, provided or made avail-

able to a retail permittee by an industry member,
even if the retailer is charged or billed for the

senices for their market value:

ill in st ailing.

equipment.

tures;

repairing or maintaining

outdoor signs or other fix-

(2) promoting a retailer in advertising:

(3) reconciling inventory for a retailer:

(4) breaking down empty boxes, cases or

cartons:

(5) providing labor or employees to assist a

retailer in the retailer's promotional
events:

(6) loaning or renting aerial displays or out-

door inflatables to a retailer for use,

whether on or off the retailer's licensed

premises:

(7) pricing or repricing a product without the

retailer's consent:

(S) warehousing, by:

(A) making refrigerated vehicles available

to the retailer: or

(B) delaying deliven
- from a manufacturer,

importer, nonresident vendor or ware-

C)

house in order to enable the retailer to

take advantage of promotional prices or

lor anv other reason:

providing shelving schematics that are

customized for an individual retailer or

group of retailers, whether based on total

beer or wine sales records from one store

or a group of stores, but an industn'

member may use its own sales statistics

and records to develop a suggested shelf

plan for alcoholic beverage products;

( 10) affixing special retailer stamps or stickers

to beer or wine packaging, but a whole-
saler may affix signs, stickers, stamps, or

tags indicating the product's price to a

container, shelf or display of its products:

(11) entering delivery data on a retailer's in-

store computer;

( 12) providing data processing services;

(13) sponsoring sports leagues that are also

sponsored by a retailer, or that use the

facilities of a retailer for sporting events;

(14) guaranteeing the loan of a retailer;

( 15) extending credit to a retailer;

( 16) failing to require a deposit equal to that

charged by the supplier on kegs and re-

turnable bottles; or

( 17) negotiating special prices for or financing

of equipment.

(c) Prohibited Things of Value. By way of ih

lustration, but not limitation, the following

tlungs of value shall not be furnished, .given-

loaned, rented or sold to a retail pennittee by anv
industn' member:

( 1) aerial displays or tethered inflatables;

(2) parties given for retailers or groups of

retailers' employees, unless othenvise al-

lowed bv the rules of the Commission;
(3) prizes at retailer conventions:

(4) advertising in a retailer periodical or ad-

vertising in a retailer publication designed

for distribution to consumers;

(5) outside signs;

(6) cooperative advertising, including, but not
limited to:

(A )
providing or assisting retailer pro-

motions, whether on or off the retailer's

premises;

(Bi participation with a retailer in the ad-

vertising of alcoholic beverages, the retail-

er's business or special events unless

specifically approved bv the Commission
in the case of fundraisers for non-profit

charitable organizations:

(C) undenvnting the cost of T-markers,

scorecards or scoreboards bv the purchase

ot advertising from a third party; or

(D) customizing point-of-sale advertising

materials, novelties, glassware, consumer
specialties or product displays bv printing

or having printed the retailer s name, slo-

gan or logo on the item, unless othenvise

specifically allowed in the rules of the

Commission:

1698 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

(7) making discounts, rebates or refunds to a

retailer on the condition that the retailer

use the discount, rebate or refund to pay

off a loan;

(8) equipment, fixtures or furnishings; or

(9) clothing, except as provided in Rule .0713

of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; 1SB-1116 (a)

(3), (b).

.0712 ACCEPTED TRADE PRACTICES;
SERVICES

The following service activities are specifically

allowed in transactions between industry mem-
bers and retailers:

( 1) Shelving; Pricing. In retail outlets where

wholesalers have been assigned specific

space, these wholesalers may price or reprice

their stock as designated by the retailer and
rearrange and place their brand or brands in

their assigned shelf space so as to properly

rotate their stock and keep their assigned

space clean and neat. This Rule authorizes

a wholesaler to rearrange or reset a retailer's

alcoholic beverage shelf space, display area,

or department pursuant to that retailer's

plan and direction, but that wholesaler shall

not move or disturb brands sold by other

wholesalers.

(2) Coil Cleaning Service. A wholesaler of

wine or malt beverages may render coil

cleaning services to a retailer who has

draught equipment.

(3) Generalized Schematics; Restrictions.

General alcoholic beverage product sche-

matics and shelving diagrams may be uti-

lized by an industry member for sales

presentations so long as:

(a) the diagram utilizes generally available

national, state or regional market research

or the industry member's own sales data;

(b) the industry* member does not solicit or

receive individual sales figures or data

from an individual retailer or group of

retailers; and

(c) the schematic or diagram is not custom-
ized for an individual retailer or group of

retailers who are similarly situated.

(4) Participation in Retailer Association Ac-

tivities. An industry member any participate

in retailer association activities by:

(a) displaying product at association con-

ventions or trade shows;

(b) renting display or booth space so long as

the rental fee is not excessive and is the

same as the fee paid by all exhibitors:

(c) providing hospitality events which are in-

dependent from association sponsored ac-

tivities;

(d) purchasing tickets to functions and paying

registration fees if such fees are not exces-

sive and are the same as paid by all ex-

hibitors; and
(e) making payments for advertisements in

programs or brochures at association

shows within the dollar limits established

by 27 C.F.R. 6.100 and the Bureau of

Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

(5) Educational Seminars. An industry

member may provide or sponsor seminars

for retailers and their employees in the fol-

lowing areas:

(a) the proper use of equipment;

(b) the proper storage, handling and service

of alcoholic beverages;

(c) safe driving programs;

(d) recognizing underage and intoxicated cus-

tomers; and
(e) the history or aspects of a product's man-

ufacturing process.

Seminars may be conducted at the premises

of either the retailer or industry member.
Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to

authorize an industry member to pay the

retailer's expenses in attending the seminar.

(6) fastings. Beer and wine tastings may be

conducted in accordance with 4 NCAC 2S

.0901 and .0902 of this Chapter.

(7) L^abor for Displays. An industry member
may provide personnel to construct a pro-

motional product display on the premises

of a retailer, and may move other products

from the display area in accordance with

Rule .0704 of this Section.

(8) Installations. The following items may be

installed by an industry member at no
charge to a retailer:

(a) point of sale advertising materials; and

(b) tapping accessories;

(9) Bar Spending. An industry member may
visit the premises of an on-premise retail

account for the purpose of promoting its

brands so long as:

(a) the visit is unannounced and not adver-

tised; and
(b) a patron who refuses the industry' mem-

ber's offer to consume a product is offered

a comparable beverage of his choice, ei-

ther alcoholic or non-alcoholic.

malt(10} Non-alcoholic Beverages. A
beverage wholesaler who is also engaged in

the business of selling non-alcoholic

beverage products may engage in the ac-

cepted trade practices of the soft drink and

6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992 1699



PROPOSED RULES

snack food industries, so long as the sales

and practices surrounding the non-alcoholic

unlawful inducement to purchase malt

beverages.

items shall not be customized for a retailer

with the retailer's name or logo;

beverage merchandise are not used as an (6) product displays, to include wine racks,

bins, barrels, casks and shelving from
which beer or wine are displayed and sold,

so long as:

(A) each display bears conspicuous and
substantial advertising matter; and

(B) the dollar limitations per brand im-

posed by 27 C.F.R. 6.83 are not exceeded;

(7) point of sale advertising materials which
have value only as advertising, so long as

Note: Wine wholesalers selling non-
alcoholic beverage merchandise are governed

by the provisions of 27 C.F.R. 6.101.

Authority G.S. 18B-203 (b); I8B-207; ISB-1116

(b); 27 C.F.R. 6.100; 27 C.F.R. 6.101 (19S6).

.0713 ACCEPTED TRADE PRACTICES;
THINGS OF VALUE

(a) Items That Must Be Sold. The following

things of value shall not be given, loaned or

rented bv any industry member to a retailer, but

may be sold to the retailer at the price paid for

the item bv the first industry member who ac-

quires the item:

( 1 ) novelties, such as coolers, umbrellas, ice

chests, beach towels, towels, and sports

equipment, so long as the novelty item

has not been customized for a retailer with

the retailer s name or logo;

glassware and cups, so long as the items

have not been customized for a retailer

with the retailers name or logo;

(3) carbon dioxide;

(4) ice: and

(5) beer tapping accessories, including stand-

ards, faucets, rods, vents, taps, hoses,

washers, couplings, gas gauges, vent

tongues, shanks, and check valves.

lii

Charge.

given, furnished, loaned, rented or sold by an in-

dustrv member to a retailer:

Items That May Be Provided at No
The following things of value may be

Lii

121

01

lii

151

samples of product as provided in 27

C.F.R. 6.91;

recipes, booklets and brochures for

cooking with wine or malt beverages, as

described m 4 NCAC 2S .1014 of this

Chapter;

wine and beer lists, in accordance with 4

NCAC 2S .1008(a)(3) of this Chapter;

combination packaging, as provided in

27 C.F.R. 6.93:

consumer specialty items such as bottle

or can openers, cork screws, ash trays,

shopping bags, individual can coolers,

hats, caps, visors, t-shirts (without collars

or buttons), or key_ chains. Such items

may be given to retailers for distribution

to consumers, or may be provided bv in-

dustry- member personnel at the retailer's

place of business during unannounced and
unadvertised visits. Consumer specialty

18}

the pieces have not been customized for

any individual retailer; and
retailer advertising specialty items as de-

scribed in 4 NCAC 2S .1008(a)(4) of this

Chapter, so long as the items have not

been customized for an individual retailer,

and so long as the dollar limitations per

l£l

brand, as provided in 27 C.F.R. 6.85, are

not exceeded.

Point-Of-Sale Advertising Materials.

Notwithstanding having a secondary value, the

following items are considered to be point-of-sale

materials and need not be submitted by an in-

dustry member for approval prior to use, so long

as the items contain conspicuous and substantial

advertising materials:

( 1) clocks;

(2) lamps;

(3) lighted displass;

(4) blackboards;

(5) bulletin boards;

(6) dart board backgrounds;

(7) menu and price boards;

(8) tap standards;

(9) calendars; and

( 10) mirrors.

Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-1 116(b); 27 C.F.R.

6.83; 27 C.F.R. 6.85; 27 C.F.R. 6.91; 27 C.F.R.

6.93 (1986).

.0714 TRANSACTIONS WITH GOVERNMENT
AND SPECIAL ONE-TIME PERMITTEES

(a) Permitted Activities. Notwithstanding the

restrictions contained in Rule .071

1

ot tlus Sec-

tion, the following activities bv industry members
are specifically allowed, as described in this Rule.

in transactions with cities, counties, the state, or

in transactions with nonprofit or political organ-

izations that have obtained a Special One-Tune
permit under the provisions of G.S.

1SB-I002(a)(2) or (5), or nonprofit organizations

that do not hold an ABC permit:

( 1 ) sponsorships of festivals, concerts,

fundraisers or special events cosponsored

by the local government, the state or
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nonprofit or political organizations, in-

cluding payments of advertising fees;

(2) loaning or renting portable equipment to

a local government, the state or a

nonprofit or political organization so long

as the equipment loaned or rented is for

a single event of limited duration;

(3) contracts to provide payment for perma-

nent advertising on signs or scoreboards

when the industry member has submitted

a request for and received an exemption
pursuant to G.S. 18B-1 116(b);

(4) providing labor or employees to assist in

the setting up or changing of draft beer

kegs and equipment;

(5) loaning or renting previously approved

aerial displays or outdoor inflatables for

the duration of a special event, unless the

event is held on the premises of a retailer;

(6) loaning or allowing the use of refrigerated

vehicles, unless the event is held in con-

junction with and on the premises of a

cosponsoring retailer;

(7) providing novelties, prizes or prize money
to nonprofit organizations that have ob-

tained a Special One- Time Permit;

making cash contributions to nonprofit

organizations;

participation with a local government or

the state in the advertising of events

cosponsored by the local government or

state;

the

[81

(21

accepting return of alcoholic

beverages not sold, for cash or credit, after

the event is over.

(b) Sponsorship Advertising Agreements Re-
stricted. No sponsorship agreement or advertis-

ing contract between an industry member and a

city, county, the state, or a Special One-Time
permittee shall contain any agreement, either ex-

press or implied, that the industry' member's
products will be sold to the exclusion, in whole
or in part, of other brands of alcoholic beverages

offered by competitors.

(c) Cosponsorship with Retail Permittee. In

any promotion by an industry member with a

local government, the state, or a nonprofit or-

ganization in which there is cosponsorship by a

retailer other than the local government or the

state, the industry' member shall obtain prior

written approval from the Commission as pro-

vided in Rule .0717 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. I8B-207; 18B-1 116(b).

.0715 TOURNAMENTS
(a) General. Sponsorship by an industry'

member of a regional, statewide or national

sports tournament, when the tournament is held

on the property or premises of a retail permittee,

is permissible only if all of the following condi-

tions are met:

(1) The tournament is promoted or sanc-

tioned by the official governing body of

the sport, or is promoted and sponsored

by a bona fide nonprofit organization for

the purpose of raising funds for a civic,

scientific, charitable or educational cause;

(2) No brand identified outdoor signs, ban-

ners, aerial displays or inflatables are dis-

played on the exterior of the retailer's

premises;

(3) No money, novelty items or other pro-

hibited services or things of value are

given, rented or loaned by an industry

member to the retailer; and

(4) All sponsorship money or fees and other

things of value from the industry member
are given to the official governing body of

the sport or the nonprofit organization.

(b) Advertising. An industry member may
advertise via mass media or pay for the advertis-

ing of a tournament when the primary theme of

the advertisement is the tournament and its

pose. The naming of the retailer's premises as

the location of a tournament shall not be con-

strued to be cooperative advertising in violation

of 4 NCAC 2S .1007 of this Chapter when the

retailer's tradename is stated in substantially

smaller typeface.

(c) Sponsorship: Advertising Agreements Re-
stricted. No industry member agreeing to spon-

sor a tournament shall enter into any agreement
or contract, either express or implied, that a

retailer or special one-time permittee will sell that

industry member's products to the exclusion, in

whole or in part, of other brands of alcoholic

beverages offered by competitors.

(d) Joint Sponsorships. An industry member
shall not agree to cosponsor any tournament
with any retail permittee unless the proceeds

from the tournament are paid to a nonprofit

civic, scientific, charitable or educational organ-

ization.

(e) Prohibited Sponsorships. An industry

member shall not sponsor or aid a retailer in the

promotion of any tournament held primarily to

benefit the retailer, its employees, members or

guests.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SB-207; 18B-1116(b).

.0716 CONSUMER CONTESTS;
SWEEPSTAKES

(a) General. Consumer contests or

sweepstakes may be offered by an industry
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member so long as no purchase is required.

Entry forms may be attached to or part of an al-

coholic beverage label or package so long as al-

ternative methods of entry are available to the

consumer by means of a tear pad crt entry forms

available at the point of purchase,

(b) Pomt-of-Sale Permissible; Restriction on
Retailer Involvement. An industry member may
provide point-of-sale advertising materials pro-

moting a sweepstakes or contest to a retailer.

An industry- member shall not offer or promote
any sweepstakes or contest in conjunction with

any retailer as a cosponsor or as the provider of

any prize. No prizes may be drawn or awarded

on the premises of any retailer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; /SB- J 116(b).

.0717 CONDITIONS WHEN COMMISSION
APPROVAL REQLIRED FOR
PROMOTIONS

(a) Prior Approval Required; Exceptions. An
industry member shall obtain written approval

from the Commission prior to entering into any
agreement to engage in activities as a sponsor for

any promotion, as that term is defined in Rule

.0702(4) of this Section, unless the activity in-

volves the following:

( 1) sponsorships of nonprofit organizations

that are not special one-time permittees,

and the sponsored activity is neither held

on the premises of a retailer nor

cosponsored by a retailer;

(2) printing and distribution of items that are

classified as point-of-sale advertising ma-
terial, consumer specialty items, retailer

specialty items or novelty items, so long

as the items are displayed and distributed

in compliance with these Rules:

(3) promotions that occur on an annual or

regular basis and that have received writ-

ten approval by the Commission in pre-

vious years, so long as the sponsorship

activities engaged in by the industry

member have not changed; and

(4) sponsorships of individual amateur sports

teams, when:

(A) the services or things of value provided

bv the industry member are given to ben-

efit the individual team and its members:

(B) the team is not comprised of retailers

or employees of retailers; and

(C) the team is not jointly sponsored by a

retailer.

(b) Procedures for Approval. Requests for

approval of any promotional activity shall be

made in writing bv the industry member, and

shall provide the following information:

(1) names of all industry members partic-

ipating;

(2) names of all retailers involved as either

co sponsors or as the host location;

(3) name of nonprofit organization being

sponsored, if any;

(4) whether the organization being sponsored

will obtain a Special One-Time permit;

(5) purpose of the promotion;

(6) beneficiary of the promotion, and de-

scription of what benefits will be derived

by the beneficiary;

(7) copies of broadcast and print advertise-

ments;

(8) samples of advertising pieces and costs of

items;

(9) outdoor advertising to be used and lo-

cation;

(10) date(s) of promotion; and

(11) complete description of industry mem-
ber's activities in relation to the pro-

motion, including statement of monies,

fees, and items to be given in exchange for

sponsorship rights, and person to whom
given,

(c) Notification to Wholesaler. A manufac-

turer, importer or nonresident vendor of beer or

wine that receives approval for promotional ac-

tivity under this Rule shall provide a copy of the

Commission's approval to each of its wholesalers

in this state if that wholesaler is or will be par-

ticipating in the promotion in any manner, in-

cluding the distribution of promotional materials.

(d) Approvals Restricted to Industry Members.
No approval for any promotional activity bv an

industry member will be granted to a special

one-time permittee, retailer, advertising agency,

broadcast lt or publisher.

(e) Approvals Granted Onlv Upon Written

Request, lhe Commission will decline the ap-

proval of any verbal requests or hypothetical fact

presentations describing promotional activities

requiring prior written approval under this Rule.

(f) Tuning of Requests. Industry members are

encouraged to submit promotions for approval

at least two months in advance of the promotion

to allow adequate review bv the Commission,

and to allow for the mailing of written approvals

to the industry member.

(g) Promotion Agreements Restricted. Com-
mission approval of a promotion under this Rule

shall not be construed as approval for the indus-

try member to enter into anv agreement, either

express or implied, that it's products will be sold

or distributed by a retailer or special one-time

permittee to the exclusion, in whole or in part,

of other brands of alcoholic beverages offered bv

competitors.
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Statutory

1SB-1I16.

Authority G.S. 18B-I05; 18B-207;

SECTION .0900 - DISTILLERS:
REPRESENTATIVES

.0901 DISTILLER REPRESENTATIVES:
PROHIBITED ACTS

(a) Representatives Prohibited from Entering

Store. Distiller representatives shall not enter

any ABC store except for the purpose of calling

on the buyer if the buyer's office is maintained in

the store or for the purpose of making a pur-

chase.

(b) Representatives Prohibited from Contact-

ing Store Personnel. Distiller representatives

shall not contact, either directly or indirectly, or

call upon store personnel while store personnel

are off duty for the purpose of promoting their

merchandise. Store personnel shall share equally

with the distiller representative responsibility of

any infraction of this Rule.

(c) Gifts Prohibited. Representatives shall not

give liquor or anything of value to store person-

nel at any time. Store personnel shall be equally

as guilty as the representative if they accept gifts,

either directly or indirectly, from any represen-

tative.

(d) Soliciting and Advertising Prohibited. Ex-

cept for purchases made by state or local officials

for supply of ABC stores, salesmen of spirituous

liquors liquor shall not with regard to purchases

of spirituous liquors liquor by any person:

(1) solicit any order, agreement, or other

commitment to purchase liquor, whether

or not it is legally enforceable; or

(2) advertise, promote or encourage purchases

by any means or method or furnish any

means by which spirituous liquors liquor

may be obtained, except as provided in 4

NCAC 2S .1011 of this Chapter.

Exceptions may be made upon notification from
the Commission to a distiller representative when
there is expressed interest by a fraternal or civic

group in the purchase of a ceramic or

commemorative decanter. L'pon notice, distiller

representatives may present pictorial art work or

renderings in solicitation and a presentation to

that group.

(e) Relationship With Mixed Beverages

Permittee. No employee or representative of any

distiller, importer, rectifier or bottler may in any

manner promote or solicit orders by a mixed
beverages permittee or aid the permittee in plac-

ing orders for any spirituous liquor or for any

other alcoholic beverages.

(f) Gifts and Inducements Prohibited. No
employee or representative of any rectifier or in-

dustry member may give or lend to any mixed
beverage permittee, or his employee any gift,

money, sendees, equipment, furniture, fixture or

other thing of value.

Statutory Authority G.S. 18B-207; I8B-1I16.

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

1\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the DHRjDivision of Medical As-

sistance intends to amend rule(s) cited as 10

NCAC26B .0121.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is June

1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on March 17, 1992 at the North Carolina

Division of Medical Assistance, 1985 Umstead
Drive, Room 201, Raleigh, N.C. 27603.

IXeason for Proposed Action: Private Duty

Nursing (PDN) services are amended to include

coverage criteria, service location, prohibition on

service duplication and payment, and clarification

on licensure and certification.

Coomment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning this amendment must be submitted by

March 17, 1992, to: Dhision of Medical Assist-

ance, 1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, N.C. 27603,

ATTN.: Bill Hottel, APA Coordinator. Oral

comments may be presented at the hearing. In

addition, a fiscal impact statement is available

upon written request from the same address.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 26B - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
PROVIDED

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0121 PRIVATE DUTY NURSING
(a) Medically necessary private duty nursing

(PDN) services are provided when they are pre-

scribed by a physician and prior approved by the

Division of Medical Assistance or its agent.

designee.

(b) Private? duty nursing services ate covered

eftly when provided » the client's »w» home.
A patient must reside in a private residence to

receive PDN services. Recipients who are in
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domiciliary care facilities (such as rest homes,

group homes, family care homes, and similar

settings) and those who are in hospitals, nursing

facilities, intermediate care facilities for the men-
tally retarded, rehabilitation centers, and other

institutional settings arc not eligible for this ser-

vice. PDN services are not covered while an in-

dividual is being observed or treated in a hospital

emergency room or similar environment.

(c) Private duty nursing services are approvable

when other Medicaid oorvicoo, such a& home

Vi r\ - 1 i li i- fin ' (jfl B /-nnfii-il 'wl.n-iii-ij/ih
[
jtt^^jcI tti/t ^^^^^^L^

1 IV Q I I I I rTTTTrTT^ CTTTTTTTTT (lTIV^JUUH. 1 T III \S\J I 1

1

1\J IIWVUJ

e£ the client. considered medically necessary

when the person must require substantial and

complex continuous nursing care by a licensed

nurse. Professional judgment and a thorough

evaluation of the medical complexity and
psychosocial needs of the patient are involved in

determining the need for PDN. The following

situations represent the usual types of cases that

may require PDN, though the list is not meant
to be all inclusive:

( 1) Patient requires prolonged intravenous

nutrition or drug therapy with needs be-

yond those covered by home infusion

therapy sendees.

(2) Patient is dependent on a ventilator for

prolonged periods.

(3) Patient is dependent on other device-based

respiratory support, including

tracheostomy care, suctioning, and oxy

gen support.

(d) Medicaid payments fof PDN are made only

te- agencies which afe accredited i» the provision

»£ in home nursing eaie by the Joint Committee
e« the Accreditation e4 Health Organisations

(JCAIIO), the National League fef Nursing ef

who afe state licensed at*4 Medicare certitied a*

a home health agency. This service is only

approvable based on the need for PDN services

in the patient's private residence. An individual

with a medical condition that necessitates this

service normally is unable to leave the home
without being accompanied by a licensed nurse

and leaving the home requires considerable and

taxing effort. An individual may utilize the ap-

proved hours of coverage outside of his residence

during those hours when the individual's normal

life activities take the patient out of the home.
The need for nursing care to participate in activ-

ities outside of the home is not a basis for au-

thorizing PDN" services or expanding the hours

needed for PDN services.

(e) A person may not receive Personal Care

Services. Skilled Nursing Visits, and Home
Health Aide Services reimbursed by Medicaid

during the same hours of the day as PDN ser-

vices.

(f) The patient's spouse, child, parent,

grandparent, grandchild, or sibling, including

corresponding step and in-law relationship may
not be employed by the provider agency to pro-

vide PDN services to the patient when reim-

bursed by Medicaid.

(g) Medicaid payments for PDN are made only

to agencies enrolled with the Division of Medical

Assistance as providers for the service. An
agency must be one of the following to be en-

rolled to provide this service:

(1) A Medicare certified home health agency

located within North Carolina.

(21

01

A State licensed home health agency lo-

cated within North Carolina.

An agency with a North Carolina office

that is accredited in the provision of in-

home nursing care by either the Joint

Commission on Accreditation of Health

Care Organizations (JCAHO) or the Na-
tional I .eague for Nursing (NLN).

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 10SA-54; 42 C.F.R.

440.80.

TITLE 1 1 - DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

anu oxv- a
j

1 V <otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-2I .2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend rules cited as 11 NCAC 8 .0801

- .0802, .0805, .08/5 and adopted rules cited as

11 NCAC 8 .0819 - .0836.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Mav
1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on March 2, 1992 at the Code Officials

Qualifications Board, 410 N. BoyIan Avenue,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

JXeason for Proposed Action: To provide for

rules for the conduct of hearings in accordance

with G.S. 150B-38(h).

K^-omment Procedures: Written comments may
be sent to Grover Sawyer, c,o Qualifications

Board, P.O. Box 26387.' Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Oral presentations may be made at the public

hearing. Anyone having questions should call

Grover Sawyer at (919) 733-3901 or Ellen

Sprenkelat (9/9) 733-4529.
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tLditor's Note: These Rules have been filed as

temporary rules effective March 3, 1992 for a

period of 169 days to expire on August 21, 1992.

CHAPTER 8 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING
CODES

SECTION .0800 - DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS:
OTHER CONTESTED MATTERS

.0801 DISCIPLINARY POWERS
(a) As used in this Section "Board" means the

North Carolina Code Officials Qualification

Board; "official" means a qualified Code-
enforcement official as defined in G.S.

143-151.8(5); and "Code" means the North
Carolina State Building Code.

(b) Any person who believes that an official is

or has been in violation of G.S. 143- 15 1.1 7(a)

may file a complaint against that official. Copies

of 44- NCAC g MM this Section and G.S.

143-151.17 shall be mailed to any person re-

questing complaint information from the Board.

(c) The complaint must specifically refer to one
or more of the grounds in G.S. 143-151. 17(a).

The name of the official, if known, and the name
of the local inspection department must be listed.

If the official is unknown, the complaint must
refer to "the inspector who performed the build-

ing (or electrical, mechanical, ©f plumbing or fire

prevention) inspection."

(d) Supporting information must be included

to justify the complaint. If the complaint in-

volves violations of the Code that the official did

not discover, a list of those violations must be

submitted with the complaint. Such information

may be provided by the complainant, an archi-

tect, professional engineer, licensed contractor,

certified inspector, or other person with know-
ledge of the Code. Supporting information must
refer to specific violations of the Code or of the

General Statutes.

(e) The complaint must be in writing, signed

by the complainant, and dated. The complaint

must include the complainant's mailing address

and a daytime phone number at which the

complainant may be reached. The street address

of the structure must be included. There must
be a notarized verification at the end of the

complaint.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151'. 17; 150B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

investigation of the charges. If the staff roporto

determines that the charges appear to have no
basis in fact, the Board ohall se notify the person

filing the complaint, staff shall, in writing:

(1) advise the complainant in writing that the

charges appear to have no basis in fact;

(2) state the reasons for its determination;

(3) advise the complainant that the

complainant is entitled to a hearing before a

committee of Board members, to be ap-

pointed by the chairman of the Board, to

determine whether the finding of the staff is

correct; and
(£1' advise the complainant that the

.0802 PRELIMINARY INVESTIGATION
On receipt of a complaint conforming to 1

1

NCAC 8 .0801, the Board's staff shall make an

complainant must make a written request

for the hearing and must state in the request

the reasons why the complainant is of the

opinion the staff's determination is incorrect.

If the complainant makes a written request for a

hearing in accordance with this Rule, the com-
mittee shall fix a time and place for the hearing

and notify the complainant. If the poroon filing

the complaint thon roquooto a formal hoaring ef

the charges, &f tf the staff reports or the com-
mittee finds that the charges may have some basis

in fact, the Board shall fix a time and place for a

hearing and give notice to the partioo.

complainant and to the official.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151. 17(b); I50B-38(h).

.0805 HEARING OFFICER
In all contested case hearings before the Board,

the Chairman of the Board shall serve as presid-

ing officer. In the absence of the Chairman, the

Vice-Chairman shall serve as presiding officer, or

a presiding officer shall be elected by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; I50B-38(h).

.0815 FINAL BOARD ORDER
(a) If after the close of a contested case hearing

the Board decides that an official's conduct does

not justify the suspension or revocation of his

certificate but that his conduct does fail to con-

form to the standards of good code enforcement

practice, the Board may issue a letter of

reprimand or a letter of caution to the official in

which the Board may summarize those deficien-

cies and make appropriate recommendations.

(b) If a final board order is to suspend, revoke,

or refuse to issue a certificate, the order shall set

forth the conditions, if any, that must be met in

order to remove the suspension, to re-issue the

certificate, or to issue the certificate.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151. 17(c); I50B-38(h).

.0819 GENERAL
Governed by the principles of fairness, uni-

formity, and punctuality, the following general

rules apply:

( 1) The Rules of Civil Procedure as contained

in G.S. 1A-1, the General Rules of Practice

for the Superior and District Courts as au-

thorized by G.S. 7A- 34 and found in the

Rules Volume of the North Carolina Gen-

eral Statutes apply in contested cases before

the Board unless another specific statute or

rule of the Board provides otherwise.

(2) The Board may supply, at the cost of re-

production, forms for use in contested cases.

(3) livery document filed with the hearing of-

ficer or the Board shall be signed by the at-

torney who prepared the document, if it was

prepared by an attorney, and shall contain

his name, address, telephone number, and

North Carolina State Bar number. An ori-

ginal and one copy of each document shall

be tiled.

(4) Hxcept as otherwise provided by statute,

the rules contained in this Section govern

the conduct of contested case hearings under

G.S. 143-151.17.

(5) The content and the manner of service of

the notice of hearing shall be as specified in

G.S. 150B-38(b) and (c).

(6) Venue in a contested case shall be deter-

mined in accordance with G.S. 150B-38(e).

(7) I learings shall be conducted, as nearly as

practical, in accordance with the practice in

the Trial Division of the General Court of

Justice.

(8) Hx parte communications in a contested

case are governed by G.S. 150B-40(d).

(9) This Section and copies of aU matter

adopted by reference herein are available

from the Board at the cost established in V
NCAC 1 .0103.

(10) The rules of statutory construction con-

tained in Chapter j_2 of the General Statutes

apply in the construction of this Section.

(1 1) Unless otherwise provided in the rules of

the Board or in a specific statute, time com-
putations in contested cases before the

Board are governed by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6^

Statutoty Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

the definitions in U NCAC 8 .0801(a), the fol-

lowing definitions apply to this Section:

(1) "File or filing" means to place the paper

or item to be filed into the care and custody

of the hearing officer, and acceptance thereof

by him, except that the Board may permit

the papers to be filed with the Board, in

which event the Board shall note thereon the

filing date. All documents filed with the

hearing officer or the Board, except exhibits,

shall be duplicate in letter size 8 Vi " by 1
1".

(2) "Hearing officer" means the presiding offi-

cer specified in 1 1 NCAC 8 .0805.

(3) "Party" means the Board, the official, or

an intervenor who qualifies under 1 1 NCAC
8 .0831. "Party" does not include a

complainant unless the complainant is ah
lowed to intervene under 1 1 NCAC 8 .0831.

(4) "Service or serve" means personal delivery

or, unless otherwise provided by law or rule,

delivery by first class United States Postal

Service mail or a licensed overnight express

mail service, postage prepaid and addressed

to the person to be served at his or her last

known address. A Certificate of Service by
the person making the service shall be ap-

pended to every document requiring service

under these Rules. Service by mail or lh

censed overnight express mail is complete

upon placing the item to be served, enclosed

in a wrapper addressed to the person to be

served, in an official depository of the

United State Postal Service upon deliver,

postage prepaid and wrapped in a wrapper

addressed to the person to be served, to an

agent of the overnight express mail service.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

.0820 DEFINITIONS
1 hi 1 definitions contained m G.S. 150B-2 are

incorporated herein by reference. In addition to

.0821 ORDER FOR PREHEARING
STATEMENTS

The hearing officer may serve all parties with an

order for prehearing statements together with, or

after service of, the notice of hearing. Every

party thus served shall, within 30 days after ser-

vice, file the requested statements setting out the

party's present position on the following:

( 1) The nature of the proceeding and the issues

to be resolved;

(2) A brief statement of the facts and reasons

supporting the party's position on each

matter in dispute;

(3) A list of proposed witnesses with a brief

description of his or her proposed testimony;

(4) A description of what discovery, if any, the

party will seek to conduct prior to the con-
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tested case hearing and an estimate of the

time needed to complete discovery;

(5) Venue considerations;

(6) Estimation of length of the hearing;

(7) The name, address, and telephone number
of the party's attorney, if any; and

(8) Other special matters.

Statutory

143-151.17;

A uthority

150B-38(h).

G.S. 143-151.12(1);

.0822 DUTIES OF THE HEARING OFFICER
In conjunction with the powers in this Section

and in G.S. 143-151.17, the hearing officer shall

perform the following duties, consistent with law:

( 1) Hear and rule on motions;

(2) Grant or deny continuances;

(3) Issue orders regarding prehearing matters,

including directing the appearance of the

parties at a prehearing conference;

(4) Examine witnesses when deemed to be

necessary to make a complete record and to

aid in the full development of material facts

in the case;

(5) Make preliminary, interlocutory, or other

orders as deemed to be appropriate;

(6) Recommended a summary disposition of

the case or any part thereof when there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact or

recommend dismissal when the case or any
part thereof has become moot or for other

reasons; and

(7) Apply sanctions in accordance with 1

1

NCAC 8 .0829.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0823 CONSENT ORDER; SETTLEMENT;
STIPULATION

Informal disposition may be made of a con-

tested case or an issue in a contested case by
stipulation, agreement, or consent order at any
time during the proceedings. Parties may enter

into such agreements on their own or may ask for

a settlement conference with the hearing officer

to promote consensual disposition of the case.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-3S(h).

143-151.12(1);

.0824 SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE
(a) A settlement conference is for the primary

purpose of assisting the parties in resolving dis-

putes and for the secondary purpose of narrow-

ing the issues and preparing for hearing.

(b) Upon the request of any party, the hearing

officer shall assign the case to another Board

member for the purpose of conducting a settle-

ment conference. Unless the parties and the

other Board member agree, a unilateral request

for a settlement conference does not constitute

good cause for a continuance. The conference

shall be conducted at a time and place agreeable

to all parties and the hearing officer. It shall be

conducted by telephone if any party would be

required to travel more than 50 miles to attend,

unless that party agrees to travel to the location

set for the conference. If a telephone conference

is scheduled, the parties must be available by
telephone at the time of the conference.

(c) All parties shall attend or be represented at

a settlement conference. Parties or their repre-

sentatives shall be prepared to participate in

settlement discussions.

(d) The parties shall discuss the possibility of

settlement before a settlement conference if thev

believe that a reasonable basis for settlement ex-

ists.

(e) At the settlement conference, the parties

shall be prepared to provide information and to

discuss all matters required in jj_ NCAC 8 .0821.

(f) If following a settlement conference, a

settlement has not been reached but the parties

have reached an agreement on any facts or other

issues, the Board member presiding over the

settlement conference shall issue an order con-

firming and approving, if necessary, those matters

agreed upon. The order is binding on the hearing

officer who is assigned to hear the case.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0825 PREHEARING CONFERENCE
(a) The purpose of the prehearing conference

is to simplify the issues to be determined; to ob-

tain stipulations m regard to foundations for tes-

timony or exhibits; to obtain stipulations of

agreement on nondisputed facts or the applica-

tion of particular laws; to consider the proposed
witnesses for each party; to identify and exchange

documentary evidence intended to be introduced

at the hearing; to determine deadlines for the

completion of any discovery; to establish hearing

dates and locations if not previously set; to con-

sider such other matters that may be necessary

or advisable; and, if possible, to reach a settle-

ment without the necessity for further hearing.

Any final settlement shall be set forth in a settle-

ment agreement or consent order and made a

part of the record.

(b) Upon the request of anv party or upon the

hearing officer's own motion, the hearing officer

may hold a prehearing conference before a con-

tested case hearing. The hearing officer may re-
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quire the parties to file prehearing statements in

accordance with II NCAC 8 .0821. A prehear-

ing conference on the simplification of issues,

amendments, stipulations, or other matters may
be entered on the record or may be made the

subject of an order bv the hearing officer. Venue
tor purposes of a prehearing conference shall be

determined in accordance with G.S. 150B-38(e).

Statutory A uthority

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

G.S. 143-151.12(1);

.0826 CONSOLIDATION OF CASES
(a) The hearing officer may order a joint hear-

ing of any matters at issue in contested cases in-

volving common questions of law or fact or

multiple proceedings involving the same or re-

lated parties, or may order the cases consolidated

or make other orders to reduce costs or delay in

the proceedings.

(b) A party requesting consolidation shall serve

a petition for consolidation on all parties to the

cases to be consolidated and shall file the original

with the hearing officer, together with a certificate

of service showing service on all parties as herein

required. Any party objecting to the petition

shall serve and file his objections within 10 days
after service of the petition for consolidation.

(c) Upon determining whether cases should be

consolidated, the hearing officer shall serve a

written order on all parties that contains a de-

scription of the cases for consolidation and the

reasons for the decision.

(d) Nothing contained iri this Rule prohibits

the parties from stipulating and agreeing to a

consolidation, which shall be granted upon sub-

mittal of a written stipulation, signed by every

party, to the hearing officer.

(e) Following receipt of a notice of or order for

consolidation, any party may petition for

severance bv serving it on all other parties and
filing with the hearing officer at least seven days

before the first scheduled hearing date. If the

hearing officer finds that the consolidation will

prejudice any party, he shall order the severance

or other relief that will prevent the prejudice from
occurring.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-3S(h).
143-151.12(1);

.0827 DISCOVERY
(a) Discovery methods are means designed to

assist parties in preparing to meet their responsi-

bilities and protect their rights during hearings

without undulv delaying, burdening or compli-

cating the hearings process and with due regard

to the rights and responsibilities of other parties

and persons affected. Accordingly, parties are

obligated to exhaust all less formal opportunities

to obtain discoverable material before utilizing

this Rule.

(b) Any means of discovery available pursuant
to the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure,

G.S. 1A-1, is allowed. If the party from whom
discovery is sought objects to the discovery-, the

party seeking the discovery may file a motion
with the hearing officer to obtain an order com-
pelling discovery. In the disposition of the mo-
tion, the party seeking discovery shall have the

burden of showing that the discovery is needed
for the proper presentation of the party's case, is

not for purposes of delay, and that the issues in

controversy are significant enough to warrant the

discovery. In ruling on a motion for discovery,

the hearing officer shall recognize all privileges

recognized at law.

(c) When a party serves another party with a

request for discovery, that request need not be
filed with the hearing officer but shall be served

upon all parties.

(d) The parties shall immediately commence to

exchange information voluntarily, to seek access

as provided by law to public documents, and to

exhaust other informal means of obtaining

discoverable material.

(e) All discover.' shall be completed no later

than the first day of the hearing. The hearing

officer may shorten or lengthen the period for

discovery and adjust hearing, dates accordingly

and, when necessary', allow discovery' during the

pendency of the hearing.

(J} No later than 15 days after receipt of a no-
tice requesting discovery, the receiving party

shall:

01 move for relief from the request;

provide the requested information, mate-
rial or access; or

offer a schedule for reasonable compliance
with the request,

(g) Sanctions for failure of a party to comply
with an order of the hearing officer made pursu-

ant to this Rule shall be as provided for bv G.S.

1A-1. Rule 37, to the extent that an hearing offi-

cer may impose such sanctions, and 1 1 NCAC 8

.0829.

Statutory

143-151.17,

Authority G.S.

150B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

.0828 SLBPOENAS
(a) Subpoenas for the attendance and testi-

mony of witnesses or for the production of doc-

uments, either at a hearing or for the purposes

of discovery, shall be issued in accordance with

G.S. 150B-39(o and G.S. 1A-1 Rule 45.
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(b) A subpoena shall be served in the manner
provided bv OS. 150B-39(c) and G.S. 1A-1,

Rule 45. The cost of service, fees, and expenses

of any witnesses subpoenaed shall be paid by the

party at whose request the witness appears. A
party seeking an order imposing sanctions for

failure to comply with any subpoena issued un-

der this Rule must prove proper service of the

subpoena.

(c) Objections to subpoenas shall be heard in

accordance with G.S. 150B-39(c) and G.S. 1A-1,

Rule 45.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0829 SANCTIONS
(a) If a party fails to appear at a hearing or fails

to comply with an interlocutory order of the

hearing officer, the hearing officer may.

( 1) Find that the allegations of or the issues

set out in the notice of hearing or other

pleading may be taken as true or deemed
to be proved without further evidence;

(2) Dismiss or grant the motion or petition;

(3) Suppress a claim or defense; or

(4) Exclude evidence.

(b) In the event that any party, attorney at law,

or other representative of a party engages in be-

havior that obstructs the orderly conduct of pro-

ceedings or would constitute contempt if done in

the General Court of Justice, the hearing officer

may enter a show cause order returnable in Su-

perior Court for contempt proceedings in ac-

cordance with G.S. 15()13-40(c)(6).

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0830 MOTIONS
(a) Any application to the hearing officer for

an order shall be by_ motion, which shall be in

writing unless made during a hearing, and must
be filed and served upon all parties not less than

10 days before the hearing, if any, is to be held

either on the motion or the merits of the case.

The nonmoying party has 10 days after the date of

of service of the motion to hie a response, which
must be in writing. Motions practice in con-

tested cases before the Board is governed by Rule

ment is directed by the hearing officer. When
oral argument is directed by the hearing officer,

a motion shall be considered submitted for dis-

position at the close of the argument. A hearing

on a motion will be directed by the hearing offi-

cer only if it is determined that a hearing is nec-

essary to the development of a full and complete

record on which a proper decision can be made.

All orders on such motions, other than those

made during the course of a hearing, shall be in

writing and shall be served upon all parties of

record not less than five days before a hearing, if

any, is held.

Statutory

143-151.17,

Authority

I50B-38(h).

G.S. 143-151.12(1);

.0831 INTERVENTION
(a) Any person not named in the notice of

hearing who desires to intervene in a contested

case as a party shall file a timely motion to in-

tervene and shall serve the motion upon all ex-

isting parties. Timeliness will be determined bv
the hearing officer in each case based on circum-

stances at the time of filing. The motion shall

show how the movant's rights, duties, or privi-

leges may be determined or affected by the con-

tested case; shall show how the movant may be

directly affected by_ the outcome or show that the

movant's participation is authorized by statute,

rule, or court decision; shall set forth the grounds

and purposes for which intervention is sought;

and shall indicate movant's statutory right to iiv

tervene if one exists.

(b) Any party may object to the motion for

intervention bv filing a written notice of ob-

jections with the hearing officer within five days

after service of the motion if there is sufficient

time before the hearing. The notice of objection

shall state the party's reasons for objection and
shall be served upon all parties. If there is in-

sufficient time before the hearing for a written

objection, the objection may be made at the

hearing.

(c) When the hearing officer deems it to be

necessary to develop a full record on the question

of intervention, he may conduct a hearing on the

motion to determine specific standards that will

apply to each intervenor and to define the extent

of allowed intervention.

(d) The hearing officer shall allow intervention

upon a proper showing under this Rule, unless

he finds that the movant's interest is adequately

represented bv one or more parties participating

in the case or unless intervention is mandated by
statute, rule, or court decision. An order allow-

be de- ing intervention shall specify the extent of par-

6 of the General Rules of Practice for the Supe-
rior and District Court.

(b) If any party desires a hearing on the mo-
tion, he shall make a request for a hearing at the

time of the filing of his motion or response. A
response shall set forth the nonmoving party's

objections. All motions in writing shall be de

cided without oral argument unless an oral argu- ticipation permitted the intervenor and shall state
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the hearing officer's reason. An intervenor may
be allowed to:

( 1

)

Hie a written brief without acquiring the

status of a party;

(2) Intervene as a party with all the rights of

a party; or

(3) Intervene as a party with all the rights of

a party but limited to specific issues and
to the means necessary to present and de-

velop those issues.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0832 CONTINUANCES
(a) A request for a continuance of a hearing

shall be granted upon a showing of good cause.

Unless tune does not permit, a request for a

continuance of a hearing shall be made in writing

to the hearing officer and shall be served upon
all parties of record. In determining whether

good cause exists, due regard shall be given to the

ability of the party requesting a continuance to

proceed effectively without a continuance. A
request for a continuance filed within five days

before a hearing shall be denied unless the reason

for the request could not have been ascertained

earlier.

(b) "Good cause" includes death or incapaci-

tating illness of a party, representative, or attor-

ney of a party; a court order requiring a

continuance; lack of proper notice of the hearing;

a substitution of the representative or attorney

of a party if the substitution is shown to be re-

quired; a change in the parties or pleadings re-

quiring postponement; and agreement for a

continuance by all parties if either more time is

clearly necessary to complete mandatory prepa-

ration for the case, such as authorized discovery,

and the parties and the hearing officer have
agreed to a new hearing date or the parties have

agreed to a settlement of the case that had been
or is likely to be approved by the final decision

maker.

(c) "Good cause" does not include: intentional

delay; unavailability of counsel or other repre-

sentative because of engagement in another judi-

cial or administrative proceeding unless all other

members of the attorney's or representative's firm

familiar with the case are similarly engaged, or if

the notice of the other proceeding was received

subsequent to the notice of the hearing for which
the continuance is sought; unavailability of a

witness if the witness' testimony can be taken bv
deposition: or failure of the attorney or repre-

sentative to properly utilize the statutory notice

period to prepare for the hearing.

(d) During a hearing, if it appears in the interest

of justice that further testimony should be re-

ceived and sufficient time does not remain to

conclude the testimony, the hearing officer shall

either order the additional testimony taken by
deposition or continue the hearing to a future

date for which oral notice on the record is suffi-

cient.

(e) A continuance shall not be granted if

granting it would prevent the case from being

concluded within any statutory or regulatory

deadline.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

.0833

143-151.12(1);

RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF
PARTIES

(a) A party has the right to present evidence,

rebuttal testimony, and argument with respect to

the issues of law and policy, and to cross-

examine witnesses, including the author of a

document prepared bv, on behalf of, or for use

of the Board and offered in evidence.

(b) A party shall have all evidence to be pre-

sented, both oral and written, available on the

date for hearing. Requests for subpoenas, depo-
sitions, or continuances shall be made within a

reasonable time after their needs become evident

to the requesting party. In cases when the hear-

ing time is expected to exceed one day, the parties

shall be prepared to present their evidence at the

date and time ordered by the hearing officer or

agreed upon at a prehearing conference.

(c) The hearing officer shall send copies of all

orders or decisions to all parties simultaneously.

Any party sending a letter, exhibit, brief, memo-
randum, or other document to the hearing officer

shall simultaneously send a copy to all other

parties.

(d) All parties have the continuing responsibil-

ity to notify the hearing officer of their current

address and telephone number.

(e) A party need not be represented by an at-

torney. If a party has notified other parties of

that party's representation by an attorney, all

communications shall be directed to that attor-

ney.

(f) With the approval of the hearing officer, any

person may offer testimony or other evidence

relevant to the case. Any nonparty offering tes-

timony or other evidence may be questioned by

parties to the case and by the hearing officer.

(g) Before issuing a recommended decision, the

hearing officer may order any party to submit

proposed findings of fact and written arguments.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);

143-151.17; !50B-38(h).

.0834 WITNESSES
Any party may be a witness and may present

witnesses on the party's behalf at the hearing.

All oral tcstimom at the hearing shall be under

oath or affirmation and shall be recorded. At the

request of a party or upon the hearing officer's

own motion, the hearing officer may exclude

witnesses from the hearing room so that thev

cannot hear the testimony of other witnesses.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; 150B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

(fj The hearing officer may take notice of

judicially cognizable facts by entering a statement

of the noticed fact and its source into the record.

Upon a timely request, any party shall be given

the opportunity to contest the facts so noticed

through submission of evidence and argument.

(g) A party may call an adverse party; or an

officer, director, managing agent, or employee of

the State or any local government, of a public or

private corporation, or of a partnership or asso-

ciation or body politic that is an adverse party;

and may interrogate that party by leading

questions and may contradict and impeach that

party on material matters in all respects as if that

party had been called bv the adverse party. The
adverse party may be examined by that party's

counsel upon the subject matter of that party's

examination in chief under the rules applicable

to direct examination, and may be cross-

examined, contradicted, and impeached bv any

other party adversely affected by the testimony.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-151.17; !50B-38(h).

143-151.12(1);

.0835 EVIDENCE
(a) The North Carolina Rules of Evidence as

found in Chapter SC of the General Statutes

govern in all contested case proceedings, except

as provided otherwise in this Section and G.S.

150B-41.

(b) The hearing officer may admit all evidence

that has probative value. Irrelevant, incompe-
tent, immaterial, or unduly repetitious evidence

shall be excluded. The hearing officer may, in

his discretion, exclude any evidence if its

probative value is substantially outweighed by
the risk that its admission will require undue
consumption of time or create substantial danger

of undue prejudice or confusion.

(c) Contemporaneous objections by a party or

a party's attorney are not required in the course

of a hearing to preserve the right to object to the

consideration of evidence by the hearing officer

in reaching a decision or by the court upon judi-

cial review.

(d) AH evidence to be considered in the case,

including all records and documents or true and
accurate photocopies thereof, shall be offered and
made a part of the record in the case. Except as

provided in Paragraph JjQ of this Rule, factual

information or evidence that is not offered shall

not be considered in the determination of the

case. Documentary evidence incorporated by
reference may be admitted only if the materials cellation shall be liable for any cancellation fees.

.0836 OFFICIAL RECORD
(a) The official record of a contested case is

available for public inspection upon reasonable

request. The hearing officer may, upon good
cause shown and consistent with law, order part

or all of an official record sealed.

(b) The official record shall be prepared in ac-

cordance with G.S. 150B-42.

(c) Contested case hearings shall be recorded

either by a recording system or a professional

court reporter using stenomask or stenotvpe.

(d) Transcript costs incurred bv the Board shall

be apportioned equally among the party(ies) re-

questing a transcript.

(e) Any other costs incurred by the Board
when using a professional court reporter shall be

apportioned equally among the requesting

partv(ies).

(f) A 24-hour cancellation notice is required in

all cases. The partv(ies) responsible for the can-

so incorporated are available for examination by
the parties.

(e) Documentary evidence in the form of

copies or excerpts may be received in the dis-

cretion of the hearing officer or upon agreement

of the parties. Copies of a document shall be

received to the same extent as the original docu-

ment unless a genuine question is raised about

the accuracy or authenticity of the copy or, under

the circumstances, it would be unfair to admit the

copy instead of the original.

(g) Transcripts of proceedings during which
oral evidence is presented will be made only upon
request of a party. Transcript costs shall include

the cost of an original for the Board. An attor-

ney requesting a transcript on behalf of a party

is a guarantor of payment of the cost. Cost shall

be determined under supervision of the hearing

officer who, in cases deemed to be appropriate

by him, may require an advance security deposit

to cover the prospective cost. The security de-

posit shall be applied to the actual cost and any
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excess shall be returned to the party that sub-

mitted if

(h) Copies of tapes are available upon written

request at a cost of five dollars ($5.00) per tape.

(1) Copies of Board hearings tapes or Non-
Board certified transcripts therefrom are not part

of the official record.

Note: Rule 5.3(B) of the Rules of Professional

Conduct permits an attorney to advance or

guarantee expenses of litigation provided the cli-

ent remains ultimately liable for such expenses.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1);
143-151'. 17: 150B-38(h).

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

lyotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the Department of Labor intends

to adopt rule(s) cited as 13 NCAC 15 .0429 and
amend rule(s) cited as 13 NCAC 15 .020/ -

.0206, .0302 - .0303, .0402 - .0404, .0406, .0413 -

.0414, .0420 and .0424.

± he proposed effective date of this action is May
1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p.m. on March 2. 1992 at the Highway Building,

Auditorium, 1st Floor, 1 S. Wilmington Street,

Raleigh, NC.

IXeason for Proposed Action: This action will

incorporate the current national codes governing

devices and equipment within the jurisdiction of
the Elevator and Amusement Device Division as

rules of the division and provides for the automatic

adoption of subsequent editions and revisions.

Other changes are made in rules dealing with ele-

vators and amusement devices including the

adoption of a new rule dealing with go karts.

C_- omment Procedures: People wanting to pres-

ent oral testimony at the hearing should provide a

written summary of the proposed testimony to the

department by February 26, 1992. Written com-
ments will be accepted by the department until

March 15, 1992. Direct all correspondence to

Bobby Bryan, NC Department of Labor. 4 W.
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601.

CHAPTER 15 - ELEVATOR AND AMUSEMENT
DEVICE DIVISION

SECTION .0200 - CODES AND STANDARDS

.0201 ELEVATOR SAFETY CODE

(a) The design, construction, installation, al-

teration, repair, replacement, inspection, mainte-

nance and operation of all new installations of

elevators, dumbwaiters, escalators, moving walks,

inclined stairway chairlifts, and inclined and ver-

tical wheelchair lifts shall conform to these Rules

and the American National Standard Safety Code
for Elevators and Escalators, A 17.1 1981 with-

addenda A17.1a 1985, A17.1b 1985 aft4

A17.1c 1986 A17. 1-1990 which is hereby adopted

incorporated by reference subject to the modifi-

cations provided in (b) of this Rule. This incor-

poration includes subsequent amendments and
editions of this Code.
(b) The provisions of the American National

Standard Safety Code for Elevators and
Escalators, A 17.1 shall be subject to the follow-

ing modifications:

(1) Rule 100. lc(2) — Observation Elevators

Not Fully Enclosed. Change the rule to

read as follows: For observation elevators

which are not fully enclosed, protection

at landings shall be provided as follows:

(A) An enclosure shall be provided which
shall extend a minimum of ten feet above
the floor.

(B) The enclosure shall be constructed of

unperforated material.

(C) Enclosures shall be located in the gen-

eral line of the hoistway. Horizontal

clearance shall be the same as stated in

Section 108.

(3) Rulo 1 10.2a — *w Passenger Elevators

a«4 Freight Elevators Authorized te>

Carry Passengers.

(A} Delete from the title the words: "and
freight elevators authorized t& carry pas-

sengers."

f*+ Delete items (4) aa4 (£» si the contents.

(4f [2] Rule 1 1 1.10 - Access to Hoistways for

Emergency Purposes. In the first sentence

change the word "may" to "shall."

(4) (3) Rule 204. 2d - Side Emergency Exits.

Side emergency exits shall not be permit-

ted in elevator cars.

Rule 300.3d — T-ef> Gaf Clearanco.

Change the R*le te fea4 as follows: T4*e
t f-v -r-v i~- o r- .--1 ,-w. «-.-. .-i ,-.,-. ,-- L ^ 1 I JiA O Q t hi..' th'in tJj^A
11.' L,' CTTT" rrWtTTmOT [ 1 1 1U™ W rT^^T IVJJ 1 1 IU.1 1 ETTB

SHfft »f the following twe items:

fA4 the t&p eaf runby;

fB^ the largest ef the following:

(i) Two feet f6+© mm) above the eaf

crosshead where a orosshoad is pfe-

vidod;
iii i I n n .-* ^-io^ f Y\ -i 1 1 tji^e^ t^A I , i. . - t h *"in 1 '.,'. i \
I III TTT 1 l\J CTXLFV UI 1UIT 11Id \J U\J 1L JJ 111U.11 rTTTT

feet clearance (444 mm) above the eaf

crosshead when the eaf has reached its

maximum upward movement.

&
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(c) The rules of this Chapter shall control when
any conflict between these rules and the ANSI
Code exists.

(d) Copies of the American National Standard

Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators are

available for public inspection in the office of the

division, and may be obtained from the Ameri-

can Society of Mechanical Engineers, United

Engineering Center, 345 East 47th Street, New
York, New York 10017. The cost is sovonty five

dollars ($75.00) ninety six dollars ($96.00) per

copy, fof non ASME members as4 sixty dollars

($60.00) fef momboro.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-110.5.

.0202 EXISTING INSTALLATIONS,
ALTERATIONS AND EXCEPTIONS

(a) Existing Installations. Existing installations

of elevators, escalators, dumbwaiters, and mov-
ing walks shall be maintained under the depart-

mental standards (if any) in effect at the time of

their installation. Existing installations shall also

meet the following standards whether or not

there were departmental standards in effect at the

time of their installation:

(1) Electrically-powered elevator driving ma-
chines shall be equipped with a friction

brake applied by a spring or springs or by
gravity and released electrically.

(2) The car of every elevator suspended by
wire ropes shall be provided with one or

more safety devices. The safeties shall be

attached to the car frame and one safety

shall be located within or below the low-

est members of the car frame (safety

plant). All safeties shall be designed and
installed in accordance with Section 205

of the Elevator Safety Code, unless other-

wise approved by the director.

(3) Operating devices for electrically-powered

or electrically-controlled elevators shall be

of the enclosed electric type. Rope or rod

operating devices activated directly by
hand, or rope operating devices activated

by wheels, levers or cranks shall not be

used.

(4) Elevator hoistways shall be enclosed

throughout their height and all hoistway

landing openings shall be protected with

doors or gates. Hoistway enclosures shall

be constructed to have a fire resistive rat-

ing of not less than one hour.

(5) Hoistway enclosure doors or gates shall

be equipped with electric interlocks.

(6) Each elevator car shall be permanently

enclosed on all sides and the top, except

the sides for entrance and exit. Car side

enclosures shall be of such strength and

so designed and installed that when sub-

jected to a pressure of 75 pounds applied

horizontally at any point on the walls of

the enclosure, the deflection will not ex-

ceed one inch.

(7) Car top enclosures shall be so designed

and installed as to be capable of sustaining

a load of not less than 1 00 pounds at any

one point.

(8) An emergency exit with a cover shall be

provided in the top of all elevator cars.

The exit opening shall have an area of not

less than 400 square inches and shall not

measure less than 16 inches on any side.

The exit shall be so located as to provide

a clear unobstructed passage through it.

The exit cover shall open outward and be

hinged or otherwise attached to the car

top and arranged to be opened from the

top of the car only.

(9) A door or gate shall be provided at each

entrance to the car.

(10) Doors shall be of the horizontally or

vertically sliding type. Gates shall be of

the vertically sliding or horizontally sliding

collapsible type located not more than

1-3/4 inches from the car sill. Gates shall

extend from a point not less than one inch

above the car floor to not less than six feet

above the car floor.

(11) Vertically sliding gates when in the fully

opened position shall provide an entrance

of not less than six feet in height. Such
gates shall be provided with pull straps to

facilitate closing of the gate.

(12) Each car door shall be equipped with a

car door or gate electric contact so located

as to be inaccessible from inside the car

door and shall stop the car when the gate

is opened a maximum of two inches.

The completion of any of the items in Subpara-

graphs (1) through (12) of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule that increases the gross load of the elevator

shall not reduce the safety factor of the driving

machine below that required by rule 208.3 of

A17.1, the American National Standard Safety

Code for Elevators and Escalators.

(b) Exceptions. Existing elevators in ware-

houses of not more than two floors that are not

accessible to the general public are exempt from

Subdivisions Subparagraphs (4) through (12) of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule providing that all of

the following conditions are met:

(1) The warehouse shall be used solely for the

purpose of storing materials and products.

(2) Hoistways shall be provided with ade-

quate guards as approved by the director.
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(3) All capabilities of operating the elevator

from the car or platform shall be removed.

(4) Riders shall not be permitted to ride the

car or platform.

(5) A sign stating "Absolutely No Riders

Permitted" in letters no less than one inch

high on a contrasting background shall be

posted at each entrance to the elevator.

(c) If an existing installation meets the re-

quirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall

be issued a regular certificate of operation pursu-

ant to Rule .0306 of this Chapter. If an existing

installation is maintained under the departmental

standards (if any) in effect at the time of its in-

stallation and is not exposing the public to an

unsafe condition likely to result in serious per-

sonal injury or property damage, but does not

meet the twelve standards specifically set out in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be issued a

certificate of operation containing the following

statement:

"Warning: This elevator has been

inspected and found to be in a

reasonably safe condition; how-
ever, it is not equipped with some
of the safety features now required

by the Department of Labor."

If the existing installation is not in compliance

with the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this

Rule by January 1, 1991, the following sign in

letters no less than one inch high on a contrasting

background shall be posted within and at each

entrance to the elevator:

"Riders prohibited — only a trained oper-

ator may ride this elevator."

(d) Units of existing installations which are

out-of-service and not continuously maintained

for a period exceeding one year shall be properly

landed by complying with the following:

(1) Land both car and counterweight (if any)

at the bottom of the hoistway. Elevators

of the roped type shall have their hoist

ropes disconnected at both ends.

(2) All electric power shall be removed by
disconnecting and removing the power
feeders.

(3) All hoistway entrances shall be perma-

nently secured to prevent accidental or

inadvertent entry into the hoistway.

.Any elevator, dumbwaiter, escalator or moving
walk that has been properly landed or otherwise

removed from service for a period exceeding one

year shall comply with the requirements of the

elevator safety code in effect at the time they are

returned to service.

(el Existing installations of elevators,

escalators, dumbwaiters or moving walks altered

in accordance with Part XII of ANSI ASME

A 17. 1-1990 after May L 1992, shall conform to

the American National Standard Safety Code for

Existing Elevators and Escalators, ANSLASME
A17.3-1990 which is hereby incorporated by ref-

erence. This incorporation includes subsequent

amendments and editions of this Code. Copies

of the Amencan National Standard Safety Code
for Existing Elevators and Escalators may be

obtained from the American Society of Mechan-
ical Engineers, United Engineering Center, 345

East 47th Street, New York, New York 10017.

The cost is forty-seven dollars ($47.00) per copy.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-110.5.

.0203 SAFETY STANDARD FOR MANLIFTS
(a) The design, construction, installation, al-

teration, repair, replacement, inspection, mainte-

nance and operation of all manlifts shall conform
to these Rules and the American National

Standard Safety Standard for Manlifts,

A90.1 1976 A90. 1-1985 which is hereby adopted

incorporated by reference. This incorporation

includes subsequent amendments and editions of

this Code.

(b) The rules of this Chapter shall control

when any conflict between these rules and the

ANSI Code exists.

(c) Copies of the American National Standard

Safety Standard for Manlifts are available for in-

spection at the offices of the division and may
be obtained from the American Society of Me-
chanical Engineers, United Engineering Center,

345 East 47th Street, New York, New York
10017 at a cost of a* dollars (S6.00) thirty dollars

($30.00) per copy, fef non members as4 few
dollars a»4 eighty cents ($1.80) fof members.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-1 10.5.

.0204 PERSONNEL HOISTS CODE
(a) The design, construction, installation, al-

teration, repair, replacement, inspection and op-

eration of all personnel hoists shall conform to

these Rules and the .American National Standard

Safety Requirements for Personnel Hoists,

A 10.4- 1981 which is hereby adopted incorpo-

rated by reference. This incorporation includes

subsequent amendments and editions of this

Code.

(b) The rules of this Chapter shall control

when any conflict between these rules and the

ANSI Code exists.

(c) Copies of the American National Standard

Safety Requirements for Personnel Hoists are

available for inspection at the offices of the divi-

sion and may be obtained from the American

National Standard Institute, Inc., 1430
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Broadway, New York, New York 10018 at a cost

of te» dollars ($10.00) eighteen dollars ($18.00)

per copy.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-110.5.

.0205 TRAMWAY REQUIREMENTS
The construction, operation and maintenance

of passenger tramways shall conform to the

American National Standards Safety Require-

ments for Aerial Passenger Tramways,
B77.1-1982 as supplemented by B77.1a-1986

which is hereby adoptod incorporated by refer-

ence. Copies of the requirements are available

for inspection at the office of the division and
may be obtained from the American National

Standards Institute, Inc., 1430 Broadway, New
York, New York 1 00 1 8 at a price of twelve del-

las ($12.00) thirty five dollars ($35.00) per copy.

This incorporation includes subsequent amend-
ments and editions of this Code.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-120.

.0206 NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE
(a) All devices and equipment subject to this

Chapter shall be designed, constructed, installed,

maintained and operated in accordance with

these Rules and the requirements of the 1987

1990 edition of the National Electrical Code,
NFPA 70 1987 70-1990 which is hereby adoptod

incorporated by reference. This incorporation

includes subsequent amendments and editions of

this Code.

(b) The rules of this Chapter shall control

when any conflict between these rules and the

National Electrical Code exists.

(c) Copies of the National Electrical Code are

available for inspection in the offices of the divi-

sion and may be obtained from the State Board
of Examiners of Electrical Contractors, 1200

Front Street, Suite 105, P. O. Box 18727,

Raleigh, NC 27619 at a cost of fourteen dollars

($14.00) per copy at the office or fifteen dollars

($1 5.00) per copy if mailed.

Statutory Authority G.S.

95-120.

95-110.5; 95-111.4;

SECTION .0300 - ELEVATORS AND RELATED
EQUIPMENT

.0302 RESPONSIBILITY
Responsibility for the installation, alteration,

operation, maintenance, and reporting of acci-

dents for elevators, dumbwaiters, escalators,

moving walks, personnel hoists, and special

equipment shall be as follows:

(1) The equipment manufacturer shall be re-

sponsible for designing and manufacturing

equipment in compliance with the applica-

ble code.

(2) The person or firm installing or altering el-

evators, dumbwaiters, escalators, moving
walks, personnel hoists, and special equip-

ment shall be responsible for obtaining all

permits and approvals. He shall be respon-

sible for the safe operation of equipment

during the installation until a certificate of

operation has been issued and for conduct-

ing all tests required by these rules.

(3) The owner, his duly appointed agent, or the

lessee shall be responsible for the safe oper-

ation and proper maintenance of elevators,

dumbwaiters, escalators, moving walks, per-

sonnel hoists, and special equipment after

the installation has been approved and a

certificate has been issued. He shall be re-

sponsible for conducting all periodic or

maintenance tests required by these rules.

(4) The owner shall also be responsible for

having elevators in closed buildings in-

spected by North Carolina Department of

Labor inspectors. The owner or agent shall

contact the Elevator and Amusement Device

Division to arrange a convenient time for

inspection. Elevators not inspected shall be

considered as being removed from service.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-110.5.

.0303 CONSTRUCTION PERMITS
(a) Before erecting or constructing a new ele-

vator, dumbwaiter, workman's hoist, escalator,

moving walk, stairway inclined lift, or vertical

wheelchair lift, or before moving such an appa-

ratus from one location to another, or before

making alterations to existing equipment, the

owner or his authorized agent shall obtain a per-

mit from the director. The owner or his author-

ized agent shall submit an application for a

permit accompanied by duplicate plans and
drawings showing the proposed construction,

type of equipment and mode of operation. The
application to install which consists of the ori-

ginal and three copies shall include the following

information:

(1) name and address of architect, owner, and

installer;

(2) type and design of equipment;

(3) pertinent information as to the location

of the equipment and such specifications

as required by the Elevator Safety Code.

(4) a permit from the local building inspector

that- the plannod stairway inclined bft ef

vertical wheelchair bit ¥4h h«4- hinde r
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egress e* ingross from the building f»-

quirod by the North Carolina Building

Code. U a» local building inspector k
available

,
the permit must be obtainod

If/it-n tl-i.i , . « i urn <-t.t»~«T-ijt i 1 | i i.i/\n ^t T *h^ ^l^K
TTTTTTT tTT^ CI 1 JilO^^TTTTTz Ul VI 9I0S C^ lin^ I 'til HI

Carolina Di'partmL'nt »f Insurance .

(b) Upon finding that the application is in

compliance with the regulations of this Chapter,

the director will issue a permit, subject to final

field inspection.

(c) The permit shall be posted in a conspicuous

place on the job site prior to the start of any

work to be done.

(d) Upon receiving information indicating vio-

lation of this Rule, the director may cause the

stoppage of all work on that job until a hearing,

pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act, N.C. General Statutes, Chapter

150B Article 3 can be held to determine the rea-

son for the violation.

(e) The operation or use of any new, altered,

or relocated equipment subject to the Elevator

Safety Code other than by the installer acting

under the authority of a construction permit is

prohibited until such equipment has passed tests

and inspections as required by Rule .0305 of this

Section and a certificate to this effect has been

issued in accordance with Rule .0306 of this

Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-110.5.

SECTION .0400 - AMUSEMENT DEVICES

.0402 RESPONSIBILITY FOR COMPLIANCE
(a) Every owner or operator of an amusement

device shall comply with or affect compliance

with all provisions of the rules of this Section,

and every employer and employee shall comply
with all provisions which concern or affect his

conduct.

(b) Designers and manufacturers of amusement
devices shall follow the procedures of the Stand-

ard Practice for The Design Manufacture of

Amusement Rides and Devices ASTM F 1159 Statutory Authority G.S. 95-1 1 1.4.

in the manufacture of all ndes. An engineering

analysis of each ride or device shall be submitted

(1) devices having suspended passenger seats

or spaces,

(2) devices normally operated at speeds or

with movements creating severe

centrifugal forces,

(3) devices so elevated that structural failure

is likely to cause passengers to be injured

by falling, or

(4) devices on which the director has ordered

such a test upon finding it necessary to

assure safety.

(b) Evidence of Test. Unless a load test is

made in the presence of a representative of the

director, the director may accept a certified copy
of such test made by a person qualified to per-

form such tests, showing whether the device

withstood the test without failures in any mate-

rial respect and setting forth such other relevant

information as the director may require. Until

such a statement is so filed it shall be presumed
that the device has not withstood the test as re-

quired.

(c) Nature of Test. Each passenger seat or

space shall be weighted with at least 440 170

pounds dead weight, except that in a device in-

tended only for small children each seat or space

shall be weighted with at least ?§ 90 pounds as

recommended by ASTM F 1 159. While so

loaded the device shall be so operated at maxi-

mum normal speed as to test the full operation

or all control devices, speed limiting devices,

brakes and other equipment provided for safety.

(d) Effect of Test. If the device fails to with-

stand a load test it shall be deemed unsafe and
shall not be used until and unless it has

withstood a subsequent load test without failure

in any material respect. If the device has

withstood a load test without failure in any ma-
terial respect it shall be required to be so tested

again only if rebuilt or modified or if there are

reasonable grounds to believe that a further test

is necessary to assure safety and the director or-

ders such test to be made.

to the North Carolina Department of Labor, El-

evator and .Amusement Device Division, before

it is operated in North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-1 1 1.4.

.0403 LOAD TESTS
(a) Test Required. Load tests will not be re-

quired on a regular basis. The director may,
however, at his discretion require a load test to

be made on devices of the following types:

.0404 LOCATION NOTICES
No amusement device shall be used at any time

or location unless prior notice has been given to

the director pursuant to G.S. 95-111.8. Notice

shall include:

(1) the name and permanent address of the

operator,

(2) the name and identification number of ev-

ery amusement device, a«4

(3) the intended date(s) and location(s) of use,

and

(4) the date the inspection is requested.

1716 6:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER February 14, 1992



PROPOSED RULES

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4; 95-111.8.

.0406 UNSAFE DEVICES
If the inspector finds that the amusement device

presents an imminent danger, he may attach to

such device a notice warning all persons against

the use thereof. Such notice shall not be re-

moved until the device is made safe, and then

only by a representative of the director. In the

meantime, the device shall not be used and shall

be dismantled and removed from the grounds.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4; 95-111.6;

95-111.9.

.0413 WIND AND STORM HAZARDS
The manufacturer or designer of amusement

rides or devices shall post on the ride, in a

prominent place, the maximum design wind
speed for safe operation of the ride. An
amusement device which is exposed to wind or

storms shall not be operated under dangerous

weather conditions except to release or discharge

occupants.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4.

.0414 LIGHTING
(a) Amusement devices, access thereto and exits

therefrom, shall, while in operation or occupied,

be provided with illumination by natural or arti-

ficial means sufficient to guard against personal

injuries under these circumstances.

(b) Lighting fixtures shall have their lamps
guarded to protect against accidental contact and
to reduce possible injury' from glass if the lamps
break. Fluorescent lamps installed on or over
moving parts of a ride shall be covered with

plastic sleeves.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4.

.0420 PUBLIC PROTECTION
An amusement device shall not be used or op-

erated while any person is so located as to be
endangered by it. Areas in which persons may
be so endangered shall be fenced, barricaded, or
otherwise guarded against public intrusion.

Fences, when used to comply with this Rule,

shall be at least 42 inches high and shall have es-

sentially vertical mullions located to reject a ball

six inches in diameter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4.

.0424 ELECTRICAL SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

(a) General Requirements. All electrical wir-

ing, equipment and apparatus used for

amusement devices or for lighting shall comply
with the National Electrical Code, NFPA 70 and
shall be properly and legally installed, operated

and maintained.

(1) Branch Circuits. The circuit for each ride

shall be protected by fuses or a circuit

breaker at the junction box or at the gen-

erator.

(2) Disconnecting Means. Each ride shall be

provided with a main line disconnect

switch or breaker. The disconnect switch

or breaker shall be located at the ride.

Each branch circuit on a ride shall be fur-

ther provided with a disconnecting means.

(3) Conductors. Conductors supplying cur-

rent to rides shall be of moisture resistant

construction and insulated for the maxi-
mum voltage supplied to the ride.

(4) Grounding. Grounding of rides shall be

by means of one or more grounding
electrodes driven at the generator or other

service. The grounding conductor to each

junction box shall be of sufficient size to

carry the maximum voltage generated by
the system. Grounding conductors to

each ride shall not be less than No. 8 awg.
wire size.

(b) Protection of Employees. No employee
shall be suffered or permitted to work in such

proximity to any part of an electric power circuit

that he may contact the same in the course of his

work, unless he is protected against shock by
de-energizing the circuit, grounding it or guarding

it, by effective insulation. If protection is sup-

plied by de-energizing the circuit, the switch

controlling the circuit shall be locked out to pre-

vent inadvertent closing.

(c) High Voltage Lines. The outlets of electric

power lines carrying more than 120 volts shall

be clearly marked to show their voltage.

(d) Transformers. All electrical transformer

sub-stations shall be properly enclosed and
proper warning signs posted.

(e) Outdoor Apparatus and Wiring. Electrical

apparatus and wiring located outdoors shall be

of such quality and so constructed or protected

that exposure to weather will not interfere with

its normal operation.

(f) Elevated Lines. Elevated power lines

crossing access or other roads within the grounds
of a carnival, fair or amusement park shall be so

suspended as to provide minimum vertical clear-

ance of 12 feet from the road surface and mini-

mum horizontal clearance of three feet on each

side of the normal passage space of vehicles.
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(g) Grounding. Temporary electric installa-

tions shall be properly grounded.

(h) Exposed Conductors. Bare wires and other

uninsulated current-carrying parts shall be

guarded against inadvertent contact by means of

proper location or by fence or other barrier.

(i) Overcurrent Protection. Conductors shall

be provided with overcurrent protective devices

according to load. No such device shall be in-

stalled in neutral or grounding conductors.

(j) Generator Grounding. Where electrical

power is supplied for an amusement device or a

temporary structure by a privately operated gen-

erating system, the generator and all equipment

shall be properly grounded if the system incor-

porates a ground.

(k) Receptacles and Caps. All receptacles and
attachment caps shall be of the ground type.

(1) Abrasion Protection. Wiring laid on sur-

faces traversed by vehicular or pedestrian traffic

shall be adequately protected against wear and
abrasion.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-111.4.

.0429 GO KARTS
(a) Kart Design. The design of all karts man-

ufactured after 1 9SS shall conform to all industry

accepted standards of safety known and available

at the time of manufacture. Karts manufactured

prior to 19S9 shall be upgraded to at least meet
the 1*^89 standards. All karts shall comply with

the following minimum standards.

( 1

)

Numbering of Karts. Each shall be pro-

\idcd an idcntihing number that can be

easily seen by the operator. A corre-

sponding number shall be stamped or at-

tached to the frame of the kart.

(2) Speed. Kart speed shall not exceed the

maximum speed for which the track is

designed. The speed of adult karts shall

be set not to exceed 28 miles per hour
unless approved by the Department.
Kiddie karts shall not exceed 10 miles per

hour. When a kart is designed to permit

the readjustment of its maximum speed,

the means of adiustment shall not be ac-

cessible to the driver of the kart.

(3) Seats. The seat, back rest, and leg area

of all karts shall be designed to retarn the

driver occupants uiside the kart in the

event of a roll over or a collision at^ the

front, rear, or side of the kart. Karts not

so designed shall be provided with seat

belts and shoulder straps in compliance

with Subparagraph (a)(13) of this Rule.

(4) Occupancy. Go karts shall be occupied

bv onlv one person at a time unless the

kart is designed and equipped with a seat

and safety belt system that is intended and
approved for two persons.

(5) Guarding of Parts. Rotating, moving,

hot engine or muffler parts shall be

guarded to prevent contact or

entanglement of the occupant's hair,

clothing, or other body parts.

(6) Brakes. Karts shall have a braking system

designed and adjusted to permit them to

be broughi to a complete stop within 40

feet from maximum speed with their

maximum weight on board.

(7) Brake and Throttle Controls. Karts shall

have brake and throttle controls that are

readily recognizable as to their function.

The operator shall also instruct each

driver on the operation of the brake and
throttle controls before each operation.

The controls shall return automatically to

their non-operational position when re-

leased.

(8) Padding or Exposed Protruding Compo-
nents. Karts shall have their steering

wheel hub and all other protruding ex-

posed parts within the driving compart-

ment padded to minimize the risk of

injury to an occupant in the event of a

collision or overturn.

(9) Roll Bars and Head Rests. /Ml adult karts

must be provided with a roll bar of suffi-

cient height and strength to provide the

occupant with protection in the event of

a roll over. Seats of all karts must be

provided with a padded head rest. The
head rest may substitute as a roll bar if it

is of sufficient height and strength.

Bumpers. Go karts shall be provided

with impact absorbing bumpers or energy

absorption body parts.

( 1 1) Wheel Guards. The wheels of every kart

shall be enclosed or guarded in such a

manner that the wheels of another kart

cannot interlock with or nde over them.

(12) Fuel Tanks. Kart fuel tanks shall be

designed and mounted so that the tank

cannot be ruptured in the event of a col-

lision or a roll over.

(13) Seat Belts and Shoulder Straps. Karts

not designed in accordance with Subpara-

graph (a)(3) of this Rule shall be provided

with both seat belts and shoulder straps.

Thev shall be mounted in a manner that

will effectively rest ram the occupant(s) in

the vehicle in case of a collision or roll

over. Properly mounted approved safety

harnesses may be substituted for seat belts

and shoulder straps.
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(14) Noise Level. Karts shall be provided

with muffler systems capable of limiting

sound from the engine to 75 dBA when
measured at a distance of 50 feet from the

outer edge of the kart track,

(b) Track Design. Go kart track design shall

incorporate all industry accepted standards of

safety. Plans for proposed construction in the

State of North Carolina shall be submitted to the

North Carolina Department of I abor, Elevator

and Amusement Device Division, 4 West
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 2760 1 , before con-

struction begins. Buildings on the track site must
be submitted to the local building inspection

agency for approval. The design of the track

shall be consistent with kart manufacturer's rec-

ommendations for the speed of the kart and be

approved by the department. The following

minimum requirements shall be complied with

before certificates of operation will be issued.

(1) Track Layout. Go kart tracks may be oval

shaped or of road course configurations.

They may not be constructed in the shape

of a figure eight or have any cross con-

nected points. Straight portions of the

track shall be essentially flat except that 2

degrees of banking may be provided for

drainage. The width of all tracks shall be

a minimum of 16 feet wide. Road courses

may continue the same width for their

entire length. Oval tracks shall have turns

at least five feet wider than the straight

portions and the minimum radius of the

turns shall be 15 feet. Turns of oval

tracks may be banked to a maximum of

one inch for each one foot of track width.

ill

01

Any variation from the minimum track

width shall be approved in advance.

Track Surface. A kart track shall have a

hard smooth surface. It shall provide

sufficient road grip to be driven through-

out the course at maximum speed. It

shall be free of obstacles such as holes or

bumps, or water or oil.

Track Materials. Materials used in the

surfacing of kart tracks shall be asphalt,

concrete, or other solid and binding ma-
terials. Proposals to use dirt track sur-

faces shall be submitted for

consideration and evaluation.

special

Track Safety and Guarding.

( 1) Barriers. Every kart track shall provide

properly constructed barriers along the

entire course on both inside and outside

ot the track. Barriers shall be so con-

structed that a kart colliding with a barrier

at maximum speed will come to a safe

stop or be guided back to the track.

Earthen berms may be used as a barrier

provided they will stop a kart safely.

Bales of hav, straw, or other materials ca-

01

pable of being ignited may not be used as

a barrier.

(2) Track Lanes. White or yellow lines, at

least four inches wide, shall mark all inside

and outside edges of the track.

Fencing. The outside perimeter of a go

kart track shall be protected by a fence at

least 48 inches in height. The fence shall

be set back at least 36 inches from the in-

side face of the track barrier. Gates shall

be located for easy supervision by track

attendants when the facility is open and
they shall be kept locked when it is closed.

The fence may be omitted where natural

barriers provide the same degree of pro-

tection as the fence. Where two separate

tracks are operated inside a single perime-

ter fence all karts on both tracks shall start

and stop at the same time.

Fire Extinguishers. Every go kart track

shall be equipped with ABC Dry Chemi-
cal Fire Extinguishers. The extinguishers

shall have a minimum capacity of five

pounds (Ref. NEPA-10). At least one
extinguisher shall be located in the fol-

lowing locations:

(J)

(A) Within seventy feet of every track sec-

tion;

(B) In each pit area;

(C) In each refueling stop;

(D) In each kart storage area; and
(E) In the maintenance shop.

Each fire extinguisher location shall be

prominently marked and the extinguisher

shall be easily accessible.

{51 Refueling Area. Refueling of karts shall

be carried out at a designated area remote

from any area accessible to the public.

Refueling areas shall comply with the re-

quirements of the National Electrical

Code (NEPA-70), Sections 510, 511, and
514.

(6) Track Lighting. Kart tracks equipped for

night operation shall have sufficient illu-

mination at all sections of the track for

drivers to be able to negotiate the entire

course safely. It shall also be sufficient for

operators to monitor the karts on each

section of the course. Lighting shall

comply with the National Electrical Code
(NEPA-70) and all other state and local

requirements.

(7) Pits or Pit .Areas. Where provided, pits

must be fenced or provided with a suffi-

cient barrier to prohibit the entry of spec-
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tators. Pits shall have separate entrance

and exit lanes.

(8) Spectator Areas. Spectator areas shall be

separated from the track and pit areas by
a fence or barrier sufficient to withstand

the impact of a kart traveling at full speed.

It shall be approximately level and free of

holes or debris,

(d) Track Operation. The following standards

of operation shall apply to electnc or fuel pow-
ered go karts. dune buggies, auto racers, and all

terrain vehicles.

Ill

m

All karts must start and stop operation

at the same time or a separate pit area

shall be provided for loading and unload-

ing purposes.

Drivers of adult karts must be at least 48

inches [4 feet ) tall and have a leg length

sufficient to reach the brake and throttle

controls when seated.

(3) Drivers of kiddie karts shall not exceed

54 inches (4 feet 6 inches) tall and must
have a leg length sutficient to reach the

brake and throttle controls when seated.

(4) Adult karts and kiddie karts shall not be
operated simultaneously on the same
track.

(5) No kart may be operated when weather

conditions are such that it may affect the

safe operation of the kart or when visibil-

ity on the track is less than 150 feet.

(6) Each section of a kart track shall be

monitored during the time that any kart

is in operation. Monitoring shall be by
direct visual contact by the operator or

track attendants or b^ electronic visual

surveillance.

A kart that is losing oil or fuel shall be

immediately removed from the track.

When the noise level of any kart exceeds

the requirements of Subparagraph (a)( 14)

of this Rule, it shall be immediately re-

moved from the track until it has been

ill

m

(21

LiPi

repaired.

Safety' equipment such as helmets (when
UM'd i and scat ivaramts shall be approved

for the type of use or operation and be of

correct size for the person using it

Persons with hair longer than shoulder

length or wearing loose clothing that

could obstruct the vision of the driver or

become entangled in any moving part

shall not be permitted to drive or ride a

go kart. Long hair may be tied up to rej_

duce its length.

alcohol shall not be permitted to drive a

go kart.

( 12) Smoking shall not be permitted while in

the vicinity of a go kart.

(13) Track regulations shall not permit per-

sons to leave their karts while any kart is

(14

in operation on the track.

Signs containing the following informa-

tion and other track regulations shall be

posted at the track entrance or ticket

window and conspicuously in the p_it area.

(A) To drive or ride an adult kart you must
be at least 48 inches tall.

(B) To dnve a kiddie kart vou may not be

taller than 54 inches.

(C) Keep both hands on the wheel at all

times.

(D) Keep both feet inside the kart.

(E) Hau longer than shoulder length must
be tied up.

(E) All loose clothing must be tucked in.

(G) No smoking in kart or in pit area.

(H) Do not leave the kart while on the

track.

(15) Signs that indicate the direction of travel

for karts shall be posted at various lo-

cations around the track perimeter,

(e) Inspections and Maintenance. Tracks and
karts shall be inspected and maintained for a safe

operation at all times. The following inspections

shall be made:

( 1) The track shall be inspected daily for

potholes, bumps or loose material. Nec-

essary repairs shall he made before open-

ing the track.

(2) Daily inspections shall be made on each

kart prior to operation. The inspection

shall include but not be limited to:

m
cm

(El
(G)

on

Wneel and tires

Steering mechanism;
Frame welds;

Axles and spindles;

Safety belts, roll bars, and seat padding:

Gasoline tank, lines and valves;

Brake and throttle operation: and
Exhaust systems.

(11) Persons whose behavior appears to be

impaired by such as the use of drugs or

(3) Go kart maintenance shall be performed

as recommended by the kart manufacturer

or as approved bv the North Carolina

Department of Labor.

Statutory Authority G.S. 95-1 1 1.4.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOL RCES
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IS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-2I.2 that the Environment, Health, and Na-
tural Resources/ Division of Land Resources in-

tends to amend rule(s) cited as ISA NCAC SB
.OOOS.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May
1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on March 5, 1992 at the Ground Floor

Hearing Room, Archdale Building, S12 North

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 2761 1

.

J\eason for Proposed Action: To add a condi-

tion which may be included in mining permits to

require visual screening at mine sites between any

affected land and any adjoining property contain-

ing occupied buildings or public access within view

of the affected land.

K^omment Procedures: All persons interested in

these matters are invited to attend the public

hearing. Written comments may be presented at

the public hearing or submitted to Mr. Tracy E.

Davis, Division of Land Resources, Land Quality

Section, P. O. Box 27687, Raleigh, NC
27611-7687, (919) 733-4574. Please notify Mr.
Davis prior to the public hearing ifyou desire to

speak. Oral presentation lengths may be limited

depending upon the number ofpeople that wish to

speak at the public hearing. Written comments
will be receivedfor 30 days after publication of the

notice.

CHAPTER 5 - MINING: MINERAL RESOURCES

SUBCHAPTER 5B - PERMITTING AND
REPORTING

.0005 CONDITIONS WHICH MAY
BE INCLUDED IN PERMIT

To assure that the operation will comply fully

with the requirements and objectives of the

Mining Act of 1971, the director may approve

an application or reclamation plan subject to

certain conditions.

Such conditions of application approval may
include:

(1) additional erosion control measures to be

installed during the mining operation;

(2) a natural buffer to be left between any
stream and the affected area; land;

(3) visual screening such as existing natural

vegetation, vegetated earthen berms, tree

plantings at staggered spacing, etc. to be in-

stalled and maintained as feasible between

any affected land and any adjoining property

containing occupied buildings or public ac-

cess within view of the affected land;

(4) (3) erosion control measures to be taken

during the construction and operation of all

haul roads or access roads to minimize off-

site damage from sediment;

(5) (4) other conditions necessary to safeguard

the adjacent surface resources or wildlife.

Statutory Authority G.S. 74-51; 74-63.

TITLE 16 - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
EDUCATION

IS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the State Board of Education in-

tends to adopt rule(s) cited as 16 NCAC 6G
.0401 - .0403.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is June

1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on March 6, 1992 at the 3rd Floor Board
Room, Education Bldg., 116 West Edenton Street,

Raleigh, NC 27603-1712.

iXeason for Proposed Action: 1991 General As-

sembly enacted legislation relating to low per-

forming school units and directed State Board to

adopt implementing regulations.

Cccomment Procedures: Any interested person

may submit views either in writing prior to or at

the public hearing or orally at the hearing.

CHAPTER 6 - EUEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 6G - EDUCATION AGENCY
RELATIONS

SECTION .0400 - LOW PERFORMING SCHOOL
UNITS

.0401 DEFINITIONS
(a) A "low performing school unit" is one that:

(1) does not meet 75 percent of the SBE ac-

creditation standards at Level
J_^

(2) ranks in the lower 23rd percentile in stu-

dent achievement on the most recent Re-

port Card issued by the SBE under the

authonty of G.S. 1 15C-12(9)cl.; and

(3) has a dropout rate that is at least one

standard deviation above the average
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dropout rate for all school units in the

state,

(b) A "school unit on warning status" is one
that meets any two of the conditions described

m Paragraph (a) of this Rule, except as provided

in Rule .0403(1) of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 15C-64.5.

.0402 IMPROVEMENT PLANS
(a) The SBE will determine which school units

are to be designated either as low performing or

on warning, status by its February' meeting of

each year. The SBE will also notify those units

of such designation immediately after the desig-

nation is made.

(b.) The Department will notify units of services

available to assist them immediately after those

units are notified of their designation as low per-

forming by the SBE. School units on warning

status receive priority for technical assistance

from the Department after that assistance has

been provided to low performing units as de-

scribed in this Rule. These services will be co-

ordinated through the technical assistance center

that serves the area where the school unit is lo-

cated. The Department will provide additional

funds to these units pursuant to G.S.

1 15C-64.2(b) from such discretionary funds as

are available to the Department for this purpose.

(c) Each identified unit must submit an im-

provement plan to the Department by May 15

following identification, for transmittal to the

SBF. The SBE will review plans and act upon
requests for waivers under G.S. 1 15C-64.2(a) at

its next regularly scheduled meeting. Identified

units may submit additional requests for waivers

to the SBF at anv time that such waivers are

needed.

(d) After the SBE has reviewed the improve-

ment plan and has acted upon waiver requests,

the Department will prepare and release the re-

port for each identified unit as required by G.S.

115C-64.3(b).

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 15C-64.5.

.0403 CARETAKER ADMINISTRATORS AND
BOARDS

(a) At its January meeting of each year, the

SBF will review student performance data and

student dropout rates for low performing school

units for the two complete academic years that

follow the unit's submission of an improvement
plan under Rule .0402 of this Section. If the

SBF finds that the unit has not made progress so

as to have the low performing designation re-

moved under Paragraph (_h_ of this Rule, the

Board will appoint a caretaker administrator, a

caretaker board, or both. These appointments
are effective the next working day following the

appointment unless the SBE designates other-

wise.

(b) Before appointing caretaker administrators

or boards, the SBE will accept nominations from
education-related organizations in the state. The
SBE will establish a registry of caretaker admin-
istrator and board members from these and from
names supplied by the SBE. The SBE will make
appointments from this registry.

(c) Caretaker administrators serve under con-

tract with the SBE. Caretaker board members
serve at the pleasure of the SBF. Both caretaker

administrator-- and board member are appointed

for an initial term of two years and may be re-

appointed for additional one-vear terms at the

discretion of the SBE. The SBE may remove
any person appointed under this Rule at anv time

for cause.

(d) Caretaker administrators appointed by the

SBE are entitled to participate in the state retire-

ment system and to earn and use vacation leave,

sick leave, insurance and other benefits that are

available to state employees.

(e) If the SBE appoints only caretaker admin-

istrators, those persons will perform all the pow-
ers and duties , assigned bv law to local

superintendents and or finance officers as speci-

fied in their contracts with the SBE'.

(f) If the SBE appoints only a caretaker board,

the Board will perform all the powers and duties

assigned bv law to local boards of education, in-

cluding the appointment of administrators.

(g) If the SBE appoints both a caretaker board

and one or more caretaker administrators, the

administrators perform under the direction of the

caretaker board.

(h) If the SBE appoints a caretaker board, the

incumbent board members will retain their of-

shall contmue to be held ac-

dutv of the

fiees and election

cording to law, but the onlv

incumbent board is to advise and assist the care-

taker board. If the SBF appoints caretaker ad-

miniMraUTv the incumbent board ma'.

determine whether to contmue the employment
of the incumbent administrators, but the

incumbent board must pay the salaries of such

administrators from local funds. The onlv dutv

of an incumbent administrator is to advise and

assist the caretaker administrators.

(i) A low performing school unit mav be re-

moved from that designation and the operation

of the unit will be returned to the local school

Kurd onl\ if the MU timF that the unit hav met

anv two of the following three criteria:
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Q] the unitthe unit becomes eligible for state accredi-

tation under Section .0200 of this Sub-

chapter;

(2) the unit reaches the state average range in

overall achievement under the Report

Card; and

(3) the unit's student dropout rate has de-

creased to less than one standard deviation

above the average dropout rate for all

school units in the state.

Statutory Authority G.S. II5C-64.5.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARD

IVotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-21.2 that the N.C. State Board of Cosmetic

Art Examiners intends to repeal rule(s) cited as

21 NCAC 14L .0/07; and adopt rule(s) cited as

21 NCAC I4N .0101 - .0114, .0201 - .0202, .0301

- .0302, .0401 - .0402, .0501 - .0502.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is May
1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on March 16, 1992 at the Grove Towers,

Fifth Floor, 1/10 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, N.C.

Rereason for Proposed Action: 2/ NCAC 14L
.0107 - Material in this Rule is included in pro-

posed adoption of 21 NCAC I4N .0113(d). 21

NCAC 14N .0101 - .01/4, .0201 - .0202, .0301 -

.0302, .0401 - .0402, .0501 - .0502 - This Cosmetic

Art Board has never had examination rules, and
it proposes these Examination Rules so the exam-
ination applicants and the public will know exactly

what is expected for the Cosmetic Art Examina-

tions.

O omment Procedures: The record shall be open

for 30 days to receive written comments. Written

comments should be received by the N.C. State

Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners by March 20,

1992, to be considered as part of the hearing re-

cord. Comments should be addressed to Vicky

R. Goudie, Executive Secretary, N.C. State Board

of Cosmetic Art Examiners, 1110 Navaho Dr.,

Raleigh, N.C. 27609. Requests to speak must be

in writing and received by March II, 1992 prior

to hearing. Speaking time 10 minutes.

CHAPTER 14 - BOARD OF COSMETIC ART
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 14L - COSMETIC ART
TEACHERS

SECTION .0100 - TEACHER QUALIFICATIONS
AND EXAMINATIONS

.0107 PASSING SCORE RE-EXAMINATION
/ <-t \ A n <-n-.«-tli,-».-i«-i ,t rv\ 1 1 ff o^^^j-^ «-> + I^i^£* V ^ r\ y\ ftn^h

part af- tbe appropriato teacher's oxamination a>

(b} A» applicant who feite the oxamination

twico aiay He* take the oxamination again until

the applicant take s additional cosmetology e*

manicurist courses ©f takes other otopo te ia-

crease the lilcolihood that the applicant wai pass

l i~- \ IKa l-j i~\ r\ t»,H ^otaj^TTiija^ ^J^A 'li l i

'
l U l'li' V i 1 1 • t i t T"V '

taken by aa applicant pursuant ta Paragraph (b)
."\ «-i «i /"M-rt Kir .— Ofj-^ V\r\ Q i c t -» 1 .- -i n rt intn .-'Afi fii-lfiffitirin
^^^T CT CfUV^J IsJ LU^J Uli.J1J , ECCXvXI 1C, rTTT^T IU11JIUU1 U 1 1U 1

1

the amount by which the applicant failod the ex-

amination aa4 othor relevant factors.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-23.

SUBCHAPTER 14N -EXAMINATIONS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 TIME AND PLACE OF
EXAMINATIONS

(a) The Board shall hold examinations in its

offices in Raleigh.

(b) In addition to the examinations held in

Raleigh pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

the Board shall conduct other examinations

throughout the year at no less than three lo-

cations other than Raleigh.

(c) The Board shall announce the time and

place for holding each examination at least ten

work days prior to the date thereof.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-/7; 88-21 (a) (16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0102 INITIAL APPLICATIONS AND FEES
(a) All applications for examination must be

on a form provided by the Board.

(b) If an interpreter or other special arrange-

ments are required, the initial application to take

an examination must include, as appropriate:

(1) An application for an interpreter pursuant

to 21 NCAC 14N .0106, or

(21

ih

An application for special arrangements

pursuant to 21 NCAC 14N .0107, or

Both applications described in Subpara-

graphs (a)(1) and (2) of this Rule.

The application must be filed with the

Board and accompanied by the applicable exam-

ination fee. If the application is not signed or is
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inadequately completed, or the proper support-

ing documentation is not enclosed, or the appli-

cable fee is not paid, the application shall be

deemed incomplete and returned.

(d) If the examination fee is paid by check or

money order, the check or money order shall be

made payable to the "Board of Cosmetic Art

Examiners".

(e) If at all possible, the Board will schedule

candidates whose properly completed applica-

tions are receiycd by the 10th of one month to

the examination during the followingtake

month The Board will assign the candidate to

the location nearest to the candidate that is

ayailable for that month.
(f) Candidates for licensure as an apprentice

cosmetologist shall take the cosmetologist exam-
ination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);
88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0103 GENERAL EXAMINATION
INSTRUCTIONS

(a) All candidates scheduled for an examination

are required to bring:

( 1

)

their social security number.

(21

ill

a form of identification with a current

picture,

a kit containing all supplies necessary to

perform all services required by the ex-

amination, and

(4) No. 2 pencils.

(b) Candidates for the cosmetologist examina-

tion shall bring either a live model or mannequm
that conforms with the applicable requirements

set forth in 21 NCAC 14N .0104 and .0105.

(c) Candidates for the cosmetologist teacher

examination shall bring either four live models
or four mannequins that conform with the ap-

plicable requirements set forth in 2J_ NCAC 14N
.0104 and .0105; however, each candidate must
provide a Live model for the manicurist portion

of the examination. These live models or

mannequins shall be suitable for demonstrating

the full range of services required bv the

cosmetology curriculum.

(d) Candidates for the manicurist or manicurist

teacher exammation shall bring a live model.

(e) Candidates will not be accepted after roll

call.

(f) No candidates will be allowed to bring

books, calculators, papers, or reference materials

of anv kind into the testing room, except as pro-

vided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule.

(g) Cosmetology teacher and manicurist

teacher candidates may use visual aids, prepared

m advance, during the practical examination

During the lesson planning part of the examina-
tion, only a text book brought by that candidate

may be used.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);
88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0104 LIVE MODEL REQUIREMENTS
(a) If, pursuant to 21 NCAC 14N .0103(b) or

(c), a candidate has chosen to bring a live model
for the examination, the model must:

(1) be at least 18 years old,

(2) submit to all cosmetic art services required

by the examination, and

(3) agree to a haircut of at least one to one
and one-half inches during the examina-
tion. Hair must be of sufficient length to

perform requirements after cutting. Prior

to the examination, the model's hair must
have already been shampooed, set and
dried.

(b) A model brought bv a candidate for the

manicurist or manicurist teacher examination,

pursuant to 2]_ NCAC 14N .0 103(d) shall:

(1) be at least 18 years old,

(2) submit to all cosmetic art services required

by the examination.

(c) Cosmetic art school or shop owners, regis-

tered or apprentice cosmetologists, manicurists,

cosmetology or manicurist teachers, salon opera-

tors, and present or former cosmetology or

manicurist students may not sit as models.

(d) No model mav sit for more than one can-

didate at one exam.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);
88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0105 MANNEQUIN REQUIREMENTS
(a) If, pursuant to 21 NCAC 14N .0103(b) and

(c), a candidate has chosen to bring a mannequin
for the examination, the mannequin's hair shall

be of sufficient length for the candidate to per-

form at least a one to one and one-half inch

haircut. Hair shall be of sufficient length to per-

form requirements after cutting. The candidate

shall bring a holder for the mannequin.
(b) Prior to the examination, the mannequin's

hair shall have already been shampooed, set and

dried.

(c) When a manicure is required during the

cosmetologist examination, the candidate who
has brought a mannequin rather than a model
shall perform the manicure on another candidate.

(d) Except as provided in Paragraph (c) of this

Rule, all required services shall be done on one

mannequin.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 8<

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16);

10(2); 88-12(2);

8-23; 88-30(4).

Statutory Authority G.S. 81

88-16; 88-17; 88-21(a)( 16);

10(2); 88-12(2);

8-23; 88-30(4).

.0106 USE OF AN INTERPRETER
(a) A candidate whose native language is not

English may apply for permission to bring, an

interpreter to the examination, if the candidate is

unable to speak, read, or write English at a tenth

grade level.

(b) The interpreter shaLl be:

( 1) 18 years old or older, and

(2) fluent in both English and the candidate's

native or other language.

(c) An interpreter shall not:

(1) be currently or formerly licensed by this

state or any state, nor have received or is

receiving any training, in an

cosmetic art;

(2) be a current or former owner or employee

of any beauty establishment,

(d) The application for permission to use an

interpreter shall be made on a form provided by
the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0107 SPECIAL ARRANGEMENTS FOR
DISABLED

(a) If a candidate has a disability which will

require special arrangements to take an examina-

tion, the candidate shall request such arrange-

ments in his or her initial application for

examination. The request for special arrange-

ments shall be in writing and shall set out in

sufficient detail what special arrangements are

needed. The Board shall make reasonable ac-

commodations for candidates requesting assist-

ance under this Section.

(b) If reading assistance or an interpreter is re-

quired, the application for special arrangements

shall also be accompanied by a letter from the

candidate's cosmetic art school which documents
the assistance the candidate required during

classes there. If the candidate is unable to obtain

a letter from a cosmetic art school, then the can-

didate shall submit a letter from a qualified pro-

fessional as determined by the Board.

(c) In all other cases, the application for special

arrangements shall be accompanied by a letter

from a professional qualified to diagnose and
document the disability.

(d) The candidate shall provide any special

equipment or interpreters. An interpreter shall

be ]_8 years of age or older and meet the require-

ments of 2J_ NCAC 14N .0106(a).

.0108 FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR
EXAMINATION

(a) If a candidate fails to appear for the sched-

uled examination, the examination fee shall not

be refunded.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this

Rule, the examination fee may be refunded to a

candidate who has failed to appear for the ex-

amination if verification of good cause for failing

to appear is mailed to the Board within seven

days of the examination date,

(c) Determination of "good cause" under this

Rule is within the Board's discretion.

branch of [dj "Good cause" includes events beyond the

control of the candidate which prohibited him
or her from attending the examination. Exam-
ples of good cause are serious personal illness or

accident, and death or serious illness in the im-

mediate family.

(e) Acceptable verification of good cause is any
written communication from a person not related

to the candidate which would tend to support the

candidate's stated reason for failing to attend the

examination. Some examples of acceptable ver-

ifications would include a statement from an at-

tending physician, an official accident report or

an obituary notice.

(f) The license fee shall be credited to the can-

didate's account unless candidate notifies the

Board in writing that he or she does not wish to

re-applv. In that case, the license fee shall be

refunded.

Statutory! Authority G.S. 88-/0(2); 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-17; 88-21; 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0109 OBSERVATION OF EXAMINATION BY
THIRD PARTIES

No visitors shall be allowed in the examination

room during the examinations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2): 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0110 PASSING GRADES FOR EXAMINATION
Candidates shall make the following grades on

both the practical and theory sections of the ex-

amination:

( 1) for licensure as a registered cosmetologist,

75 percent;

(2) For licensure as an apprentice

cosmetologist, 70 percent;

(3) For licensure as a cosmetology teacher, 85

percent;
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(4) For licensure as a manicurist teacher, 85

percent;

(5) For licensure as a registered manicurist, 75

percent.

Statutory Authority G.S. 8

88-17; 88-21 (a) (16); 88-23;

1-10(2); 88-12(2);

88-30(4); 93B-8.

son shall copy a question or answer contained in

the examination report or alter an examination
paper in any way.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);
88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a) ( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4);

93B-8.

.01 1 1 NOTIFICATION OF EXAM RESULTS
(a) The examination results shall be mailed to

the candidate at the address on the application

form within 30 days of the examination.

(b) If the candidate wishes to have the exam-
ination results mailed to an address different from
the one on the application form, the new address

shall be received by the Board within five days

after the examination.

(c) Any cosmetology student who completed
a 1500-hour course and failed to make the re-

quired 75 percent on both parts of the

cosmetology examination, but scored at least 70

percent on both parts, may send a written request

for an apprentice cosmetologist license, along

with the required fee, instead of taking the exam
again. In this case, the candidate shall not be

given credit toward apprentice time until the date

the written request and appropriate fee are re-

ceived in the office. Notice shall be sent, with the

license, advising the applicant of the starting date

of the apprenticeship.

Statutory Authority G.S. 8>

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16);

10(2); 88-12(2);
8-23; 88-30(4).

.0112 REVIEW OF EXAMINATION
(a) A candidate who has failed the practical

section of an examination may review his or her

.grading sheets for that section at the Board's of-

fice in Raleigh. However, a candidate may not

review the theory section of an examination.

(b) A candidate who has passed both sections

of an examination at any level may not review

his or her examination papers.

(c) In order to review the practical section

grading sheets for his or her examination, a can-

didate shall file a written request with the Board
not more than 30 days after the date of notice of

the examination results was mailed. If the re-

quest is received by the 10th of the month, the

review will be the next month. Once a request

is sent to the Board office, the Board will notify

the candidate of an appointment time and date.

The candidate shall confirm the time and date at

least seven days before appointment time or tune

may be canceled.

(d) The review authorized by Paragraph (a) of

this Rule shall be under the supervision of an
authorized representative of the Board. No per-

.0113 RE-EXAMINATION
(a) If, upon application for re-examination, the

applicant has taken and passed one section of an
examination, he or she shall apply for re-

examination only on the section of the examina-
tion which he or she did not pass.

(b) Applicants for re-examination must apply

for re-examination in writing and pay the appro-

priate examination fee.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of

these Rules, pursuant to G.S. 88-16(4), a

cosmetology candidate, having failed either sec-

tion of the examination five times, is required to

complete an additional 200 hours of study at an

approved cosmetic art school before another ap-

plication for re-examination may be accepted by
the Board.

(d) Any candidate for the cosmetology teacher

examination, who fails the examination twice,

must meet the following requirements before

taking the examination again:

(1) Any candidate who failed the practical

portion must request an examination re-

view, and must complete no less than 200

hours in a teacher training course.

(2) The course of study for that candidate

must be designed to address the candi-

date's deficiencies.

(e) Upon written request by any candidate, the

Board shall release a summary of the results of

each category of the practical section of the most
recent examination to the school in which the

candidate is enrolled for the additional study,

pursuant to G.S.

this Rule.

16(4) or Paragraph (d) of

(f) The school in which the student has en-

rolled pursuant to G.S. 88-16(4) shall design a

course of study for that student in order to cor-

rect the student's deficiencies. The course of

study must be submitted to the Board for ap-

proval.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

.0114 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH CHAPTER
(a) The examiner may dismiss from the exam-

ination any candidate who fails to comply with

this Chapter or who disrupts the examination.
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(b) With respect to fees only, a candidate who
has been dismissed pursuant to Paragraph (a) of

this Rule, will be treated as though the candidate

has failed to appear.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);

88-16; 88-17; 88-21 (a)( 16); 88-23; 88-30(4).

The practical section of the manicurist exam-
ination shall require the candidate to perform

procedures which will test the basic knowledge

and skills necessary to practice as a manicurist

and shall be related to the curriculum required

by the Board to be taught in approved cosmetic

art schools to manicurist students.

SECTION .0200 - COSMETOLOGIST EXAM

.0201 EXAMINATION - THEORY SECTION
(a) The theory section of the cosmetologist

examination shall include the national theory

examination of the National Interstate Council

of State Boards of Cosmetology which covers all

phases of cosmetic art, including hairdressing,

manicuring and pedicuring, facial massage, and
sanitation. The theory section also covers North
Carolina laws governing the practice of cosmetic

art.

(b) The candidate shall have two and one half

hours to complete the theory section of the

cosmetologist examination.

Statutory Authority G.S.

88-17.

88-10(2); 88-12(2);

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-17; 88-30(4).

SECTION .0400 - COSMETOLOGIST TEACHER
EXAMINATION

.0401 EXAMINATION - THEORY SECTION
(a) The theory section of the cosmetology

teacher examination shall include the national

theory examination of the National Interstate

Council of State Boards of Cosmetology which
includes lesson plans, teaching techniques,

teaching aids, testing, classroom management,
and student motivation. The theory section will

also cover North Carolina laws governing the

practice of cosmetic art.

(b) The candidate shall have two and one-half

hours to complete the theory section of the ex-

amination.

.0202 EXAMINATION - PRACTICAL
SECTION

The practical section of the cosmetologist ex-

amination shall require the candidate to perform
procedures which will test the basic knowledge
and skills necessary to practice as a cosmetologist

and shall be related to the curriculum required

by the Board to be taught in approved cosmetic

art schools to cosmetology students.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-10(2); 88-12(2);
88-17.

Statutory Authority G.S.

88-23.

17; 88-21 (e) (16);

.0402 EXAMINATION - PRACTICAL
SECTION

The practical section of the cosmetology teach-

er's examination shall require the candidate to

perform procedures which will test the basic

knowledge and skills of teaching techniques.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-17; 88-21 (a) ( 16);

88-23.

SECTION .0300 - MANICLRIST EXAMINATION

.0301 EXAMINATION - THEORY SECTION
(a) The theory section of the manicurist ex-

amination shall include the national theory ex-

amination of the National Interstate Council of
State Boards of Cosmetology which covers all

phases of the art of manicuring, pedicuring and
sanitation. The theory' section will also cover

North Carolina laws governing the practice of

cosmetic art.

(b) The candidate shall have two and one-half

hours to complete the theory section of the

manicurist examination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-17; 88-30(4).

.0302 EXAMINATION - PRACTICAL
SECTION

SECTION .0500 - MANICLRIST TEACHER
EXAMINATION

.0501 EXAMINATION - THEORY SECTION
(a) The theory section of the manicurist teacher

examination shall include the national theory

examination of the National Interstate Council

of State Boards of Cosmetology, which includes

lesson plans, teaching techniques, teaching aids,

testing, classroom management, and student

motivation. I'he theory section will also cover

North Carolina laws governing the practice of

cosmetic art.

(b) The candidate shall have two and one-half

hours to complete the theory section of the ex-

amination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-17; 88-21 (e)( 16);
88-23.
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form procedures which will test the basic know-
.0502 EXAMINATION - PRACTICAL ledge and skills ot teaching techniques.

SECTION
The practical section of the manicurist teacher's

^tatutory A uthority G.S. 88- 1 7; 88-21 (a) (16);

examination shall require the candidate to per-
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FINAL RULES

/l dopted rules fded by the Department of Revenue are published in this section. This department

is not subject to the provisions of G.S. 1S0B, Article 2 requiring publication in the N.C. Register of
proposed rules.

LLffective October I, 1991 , the Departments of Correction and Revenue are subject to G.S. I50B,

Article 2A.

LJpon request from the adopting agency, the text of rules will be published in this section.

TITLE 17

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER I

DEPARTMENTAL RULES

SUBCHAPTER IC - GENERAL ADMEMSTRATION

SECTION .0400 - ENTEREST REQUIREMENTS

.0402 ESTABLISHED rNTEREST RATES
(a) For the calendar years 1978 and 1979, the Secretary of Revenue under authority of Subsection

(i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established an interest rate of six percent per annum in conformance with the

adjusted rate established under Section 6621 of the United States Internal Revenue Code. The com-
putation shall be at the rate of one-half percent per month or fraction thereof.

(b) For the calendar years 1980 and 1981, the Secretary of Revenue under authority of Subsection

(i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established an interest rate of twelve percent per annum in conformance with

the adjusted rate established under Section 6621 of the United States Internal Revenue Code. The
computation shall be at the rate of one percent per month or fraction thereof.

(c) For the calendar year 1983, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of Subsection (i) of G.S.

105-241.1 has established on November 29, 1982 an interest rate of nine percent per annum. The
computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(d) For the calendar year 1984, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of Subsection (i) of

G.S. 105-241.1 has established on November 29, 1983 and interest rate of nine percent per annum.
The computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(e) For the calendar year 1985, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of Subsection (i) of G.S.

105-241.1 has established on November 19, 1984 an interest rate of 9 percent per annum. The com-
putation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(f) For the calendar year 1986, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of Subsection (i) of G.S.

105-241.1 has established on October 25, 1985 an interest rate of nine percent per annum. The com-
putation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(g) For the calendar year 1987, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of Subsection (i) of

G.S. 105-241.1 has established on November 18, 1986 an interest rate of nine percent per annum. The
computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(h) For the calendar year 1988, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of subsection (i) of G.S.

105-241.1 has established on November 30, 1987 an interest rate of nine percent per annum. The
computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(i) For the calendar year 1989, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of subsection (i) of G.S.

105-241.1 has established on November 18, 1988, an interest rate of nine percent per annum. The
computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction thereof.

(j) For the period January 1, 1990 through June 30, 1990, the Secretary of Revenue under the au-

thority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on November 20, 1989, an interest rate of

nine percent per annum. The computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or

fraction thereof.
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(k) For the period July 1, 1990 through December 31, 1990, the Secretary' of Revenue under the au-

thority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on June 1, 1990, an interest rate of nine

percent per annum. The computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction

thereof.

(1) For the period January 1, 1991 through June 30, 1991, the Secretary of Revenue under the au-

thority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on December 3, 1990, an interest rate of nine

percent per annum. The computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction

thereof.

(m) For the period July 1, 1991 through December 31, 1991, the Secretary of Revenue under the

authority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on June 21, 1991, an interest rate of nine

percent per annum. The computation shall be at the rate of three-fourths percent per month or fraction

thereof.

(nj For the period January 1, 1992 through June 30, 1992, the Secretary of Revenue under the au-

thority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on November 15, 1991, an interest rate of

eight percent per annum. The computation shall be at the rate of two-thirds percent per month or

fraction thereof. This rate will remain in effect until a new rate is established.

History Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. J05-24 J. J; 105-262;

Eff. Sovember 9, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 3, 1992; January 1, 1990;

January I, 19S9; February 1, 1988.
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RRC OBJECTIONS

1 he Rules Review Commission (RRC) objected to the following rules in accordance with G.S.

143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to RRC as provided in G.S. l43B-30.2(d).

1 emporary Rules are noted by "*". These Rules have already gone into effect.

ADMINISTRATION

State Construction

1 NCAC 30F
1 NCAC 30F
1 NCAC 30F
I NCAC30F
1 NCAC30F
1 NCAC30F
J NCAC30F
J NCAC30F
1 NCAC30F

.0101

.0103

.0202

.030/

.0302

.0303

.0305

.0401

.0403

Authority

Definitions

Pre-Bid Conferences and Site Reviews

Definitions

Overall Job Performance
Interim Contractor Evaluation

Report Compilation

Post-Occupancy Evaluation

Appeals of Assigned Eval or Disqualfrom Bidding

State Employees Combined Campaign

1 NCAC 35 .0103 - Organization of the Campaign
Agency Revised Rule

1 NCAC 35 .0202 - Criteria for Acceptance

Agency Revised Rule

1 NCAC 35 .0302 - Response

Agency Revised Rule

RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC
RRC

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

10/17191

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

10/17/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

AGRICULTURE

Plant Industry

2 NCAC48E .0101 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

Agency Responded

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

State Highway Patrol

14A NCAC 9H .0304 - Notifying Registered Owner
No Response from Agency

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Credit Union Division

4 NCAC 6C .0311 - Surety Bond and Insurance Coverage

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 6C .0401 - Delinquent Loans and Loan Losses

4 NCAC6C .0402 - Charge-Off of Uncollectible Loans

RRC Objection 10/17/91

RRC Objection 10/17/91

No Action 12/19/91

RRC Objection

No Action

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

12/19/91

01/24/92

11/21/91

12/19/91

11/21/91

12/19/91

11/21/91
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Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC6C .0403 - Real Estate Loans

Agency Revised Rule

4 SCAC6C MO'7
- Business Loans

4 XCAC6C .1301 - Liquidity Reserves

Agency Revised Rule

Savings Institutions Division: Savings Institutions Commission

4 NCAC 16A .0105 - Restrictions: Payment!Dividends Repurchase Stock

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC ISC .0402 - Application: Guidelines!Approval Administrator

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16C .0403 - General Policies

4 XCAC I6D .0301 - General Policies

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16E .0103 - Composition ofBoard of Directors

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16E .0105 - Amendment of Converted Savings Bank's Charter

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16E .0301 - General Policies

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16E .0303 - Required Policies

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16E .0502 - Holding of Certificate or Passbook

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16G .0404 - Information Prior To Approval Plan Conversion

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC I6G .0510 - Use of Proxy Soliciting Material to be Authorized

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16G .0513 - Material Required to be Piled

Agency Revised Ride

4 XCAC I6G .0714 - Estimated Price Information: Proxy Statements

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC I6G .0~20 - Period for Completion of Sale

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 16G .0^22 - Extensions of Time to Complete Offerings

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC I6G .0825 - Requirements as to Paper and Printing

Agency Revised Rules

4 XCAC 16H .0002 - Grounds

Agency Repealed Rule

4 NCAC 16H .0008 - Waiver

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 161 .0702 - Definitions and Other Terms

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 161 .0703 - Stds for Approval of Acquisition: Duties Conduct

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 161 .0902 - Acquisition Procedure

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 161 .1003 - Acquisition Procedure

Agency Revised Rule

4 XCAC 161 .1202 - Conversion Procedure

Agency Revised Rule

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

12/19:91

11/21191

12/19/91

01/24
l
92

11121/91

12/19:91

01/24:92

01/24/92

01/24 92

01:24/92

01/24/92

01/24)92

01/24 92

01!24 92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24 92

01! 24: 92

01/24/92

01/24 92

01/24, 92

01/24:92

01/24:92

01/24 92

01:24 92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24 92

01/24, 92

01 24 92

01/24 92

01/24/92

01 24 92

012492
01/24/92

01 24 92

01/24 92

01 24 92

01/24 92

01/24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92

01, 24 92

0124 92

01, 24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92

01 24 92
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4 NCAC 16J .0003 - Waiver

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 16K .0001 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC J6K .0005 - Books and Accounts

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 16K .0009 - Self-Dealing

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 16K .0010 - Custody of Investments

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 16L .0004 - Waiver

Agency Revised Rule

EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary- Education

16 NCAC 6D .0/03 - Graduation Requirements

No Response from Agency
Agency Revised Rule

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

ARRC Objection 9/19/91

10/17/91

Obj. Removed 12/19/91

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7H .0306 - General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas
Agency Responded
Rule Returned to Agency
Agency Filed Rule with OAH

15A NCAC 7J .0402 - Criteria for Grant or Denial of Permit Applications

15A NCAC 7M .0201 - Declaration of General Policy

Agency Responded
Agency Responded
Rule Returned to Agency
Agency Filed Rule with OAH

15A NCAC 7X1 .0202 - Policy Statements

Agency Responded
Agency Responded
Rule Returned to Agency
Agency Filed Rule with OAH

15A NCAC 7M .0303 - Policy Statements

Agency Responded
Agency Responded
Rule Returned to Agency
Agency Filed Rule with OAH

15A NCAC 7M .0403 - Policy Statements

Agency Responded
Agency Responded

15A NCAC 7M .0901 - Declaration of General Policy

Agency Responded
Agency Responded
Rule Returned to Agency
Agency Filed Rule with OAH

RRC Objection

No Action

Eff.

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

No Action

No Action

Eff.

RRC Objection

No Action

No A ction

Eff.

RRC Objection

No A ction

No Action

Eff

RRC Objection

No A ction

No Action

RRC Objection

No A ction

No A ction

Eff.

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

03/01/92

10/17191

10/17/91

12/19/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

03/01/92

10/17/91

12/19/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

03/01/92

10/17/91

12/19/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

03/01/92

10/17/91

12/19/91

01/24/92

10/17/91

12/19/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

03/01/92

Health: Epidemiology
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15A NCAC 19A .0202-

15A NCAC 19H .0702-

Agency Re\'ised Rule

Sedimentation Control

Control Measures - HIV
Research Requests

RRC Objection 10117/91

RRC Objection 11/21/91

Obj. Removed 12/19/91

15A NCAC 4A .0005 - Definitions

Agency Responded

15A NCAC4C .0007 - Procedures: Notices

Agency Responded

HUMAN RESOURCES

RRC Objection 12/19/91

No Action 01/24/92

RRC Objection 12/19/91

No Action 01/24/92

Facility Services

10 NCAC 3J .2905 - Personal Hygiene Items

10 NCAC 3W .0101 - State Cert for Labs Conducting Pap Smears
Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 3W .0201 - State Cert of Screening Mammography Svcs

Agency Revised Rule

Individual and Family Support

10 NCAC42E .0905 - Personnel: Centers: Homes with Operator; Staff
10 NCAC 42E .0906 - Personnel: Day Care Homes:/Staff Person;Op
10 NCAC 42E .1108 - Records

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC42E .1207 - Procedure

10 NCAC42Z .0604 - Staff Requirements

10 NCAC42Z .0901 - Procedure

Mental Health: General

10 NCAC 14S .0102 - Communication Rights

Agency Responded

10 NCAC 14S .0103 - thing Environment

Agency Responded

INSURANCE

Life and Health Division

// NCAC 12 .0507 - Fraternal Orders: Societies and Associations

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 12 .0826 - Filing Requirements for Advertising

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 12 .1202 - Dejinitions

Agency Revised Rule

11 NCAC 12 .1209 - Discrimination

Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Certified Public Accountant Examiners

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

RRC Objection

10/17/91

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

0I/24;92

01124/92

01124/92

01/24/92

01/24/92

01/24192

01/24192

01/24/92

A RRC Objection 9/19i91
10/17/91

ARRC Objection 9/19/91

10/17/91

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

RRC Objection

Obj. Removed

12:1991

01 ,24; 92

01/24/92

01/24/92

12/19/91

01/24/92

12! 19 91

01/24/92

* 21 NCAC8G .0313

Agency Responded
Firm Name RRC Objection 10 17/91

No Action 12/19/91
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Electrolysis Examiners

* 21 NCAC 19 .0202 - AppiLicensure' /Electrologist Practicing/ 1/1/92 RRC Objection 11/21/91

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 12/19/91

STATE PERSONNEL

Office of State Personnel

25 NCAC 1L .0301 - Purpose RRC Objection 11/21/91

Agency Withdrew Rule 12/19/91
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RULES INVALIDA TED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court,

Court ofAppeals, Superior Court (when available), and the Office ofAdministrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

15A NCAC 7J .0301 - WHO IS ENTITLED TO A CONTESTED CASE HEARING
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule

15A NCAC 07J .0301(b) void as applied in Lucy R. Hanson. Stanley P. and Jean C Szwed, Petitioners

v. N.C. Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, Division of Coastal Management,

Respondent (91 EHR 0551, 91 EHR 0557).

ISA NCAC 21D .0802(b)(2) -AVAILABILITY
Robert Roosevelt Reilly Jr., Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings,

declared Rule 15A NCAC 21D .0802(b)(2) void as applied in Wilson's Supermarket jil2, Petitioner v.

Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, Respondent (91 EHR 0795).

ISA NCAC21D .0805 - DECISION
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rule

15A NCAC 21D .0805 void as applied in Glenn E. Davis Davis Grocery, Petitioner v. N.C. Department

of Environment. Health, and Natural Resources, Dh-ision of Maternal and Child Health, WIC Section,

Respondent (91 EHR 0694).
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRA TIVE CODE CLASSIFICA TION SYSTEM

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two

of these, titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCA C is the title.

Each major department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been as-

signed a title number. Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical

in order. The other two, subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by

agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROITNA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSFNG BOARDS CHAP i'F.R

1 Administration

2 Agriculture

3 Auditor

4 Economic and Community
Development

5 Correction

6 Council of State

7 Cultural Resources

8 Elections

9 Governor
10 Human Resources

1

1

Insurance

1

2

Justice

1

3

Labor
14A Crime Control and Public Safety

15A Environment, Health, and Natural

Resources

16 Public Education

17 Revenue
18 Secretary of State

1 9A Transportation

20 Treasurer
*21 Occupational Licensing Boards

22 Administrative Procedures

23 Community Colleges

24 Independent Agencies

25 State Personnel

26 Administrative Hearings

Architecture 2

Auctioneers 4

Barber Examiners 6

Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

Chiropractic Examiners 10

General Contractors 12

Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

Dental Examiners 16

Electrical Contractors 18

Electrologists 19

Foresters 20

Geologists 21

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

Landscape Architects 26

Landscape Contractors 28

Marital & Family Therapy 31

Medical Examiners 32

Midwifery Joint Committee 33

Mortuary Science 34

Nursing 36

Nursing Home Administrators 37

Occupational Therapists 38

Opticians 40

Optometry 42

Osteopathic Examination and 44

Registration (Repealed)

Pharmacy 46

Physical Therapy Examiners 48

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler 50

Contractors

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyor:i 56

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work 63

Speech and Language Pathologists and 64

Audiologists

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

CUMULA TIVE INDEX
(April 1991 - March 1992)

1991 - 1992

Pages

AO - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary' Rule

ADMINISTRATION
State Construction, 465 PR
State Employees Combined Campaign, 924 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Hearings Division, 310 PR
Rules Division, 665 PR

Issue

1 - 44 1
- April

44 - 99 2 - April

100 - 185 3 - May
186 - 226 4 - May
227 - 246 5 - June
247 - 325 6 - June
326 - 373 7 - July

374 - 463 8 - July

464 - 515 9 - August
516 - 677 10 - August
678 - 721 11 - September
722 - 783 12 - September
784 - 923 13 - September
924 - 980 14 - October
981 - 1107 15 - November
1108 - 1275 16- November
1276 - 1300 17 - December
1301 - 1423 18 - December
1424 - 1503 19 - January

1504 - 1562 20 - January

1563 - 1636 21 - February

1637 - 1741 22 - February
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ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
Administrative Order, 926 AO

AGRICULTURE
Food and Drug Protection Division, 576 PR, 725 PR, 1303 PR
Markets, 576 PR, 1642 PR
North Carolina State Fair, 576 PR
Pesticide Board, 725 PR
Plant Industry, 102 PR, 469 PR, 576 PR, 1642 PR
Structural Pest Control Division, 1569 PR
Veterinary Division, 1645 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons, 35 FR, 87 FR, 209 FR, 700 FR, 938 FR

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
State Highway Patrol, Division of, 809 PR

CULTURAL RESOURCES
Archives and History, 932 PR
State Library, 686 PR

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4 PR, 1648 PR
Banking Commission, 1424 PR
Community Assistance, 104 PR, 1579 PR
Credit Union Division, 231 PR, 683 PR, 1108 PR
Employment and Training, 590 PR
Savings Institutions Division, 984 PR

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 299 PR, 1139 PR
Departmental Rules, 1513 PR
Environmental Management, 197 PR, 271 PR, 447 PR, 1061 PR, 1315 PR, 1520 PR, 1611 PR
Forest Resources, 300 PR
Governor's Waste Management Board, 1277 PR
Health: Epidemiology, 28 PR, 341 PR, 735 PR, 1279 PR
Health Services, 9 PR, 327 PR, 727 PR, 815 PR, 1452 PR
Land Resources, 494 PR, 810 PR, 1720 PR
Marine Fisheries, 122 PR, 690 PR
Parks and Recreation, 693 PR
Radiation Protection, 1367 PR
State Registrar, 734 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators, 495 PR
Wildlife Resources Commission, 84 PR, 170 PR, 198 PR, 301 PR, 647 PR, 692 PR, 1062 PR,
1323 PR, 1542 PR, 1619 PR, 1637 C

FLSAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 48, 230, 248, 326, 464, 516, 681, 722, 806, 927, 1301, 1505, 1566, 1640

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 150B, 784 GS

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 1, 45, 100, 186, 227, 247, 374, 678, 804, 924, 981, 1276, 1504, 1563

HUMAN RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 72 PR, 422 PR
Blind, Services for, 686 PR
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Departmental Rules, 1114 PR
Economic Opportunity, 604 PR, 689 PR
Facility Sen-ices, 104 PR. 471 PR, 592 PR, 1035 PR, 1443 PR, 1584 PR
Medical Assistance, 9 PR. 112 PR, 188 PR, 232 PR, 250 PR, 430 PR, 492 PR, 601 PR, 688 PR,
726 PR, 807 PR, 932 PR, 1036 PR, 1277 PR, 1452 PR, 1703 PR
Mental Health. Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 5 PR, 49 PR, 375 PR,
449 FR, 1446 PR
Social Services, 116 PR, 1039 PR, 1607 PR

ENDEPENDENT AGENCIES
Housing Finance Agency, 1484 PR
Safety and Health Review Board of North Carolina, 1069 PR

ENSURANCE
Actuarial Services Division, 119 PR. 1060 PR
Agent Services Division. 1056 PR, 1303 PR
Engineering and Building Codes, 1704 PR
Financial Evaluation Division, 933 PR, 1308 PR
Life and Health Division, 430 PR, 1114 PR
Property and Casualty Division, 1509 PR
Special Services Division. 84 PR

JUSTICE
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards, 607 PR
Private Protective Services, 121 PR
Sheriffs' Standards Division, 618 PR
State Bureau of Investigation, 250 PR

LABOR
Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 1310 PR
Elevator and Amusement Device Division, 1712 PR
Occupational Safety and Health, 1138 PR. 1309 PR

LICENSENG BOARDS
Architecture, Board of 30 PR, 232 PR
Certified Public Accountant Examiners, 201 PR, 935 PR, 1141 PR
Cosmetic .Art Examiners. 653 PR. 1066 PR, 1723 PR
Electrolysis Examiners, Board of, 737 PR
Geologists, Board of, 654 PR
Hearing .Aid Dealers and Fitters, 496 PR, 655 PR
Landscape Contractors' Registration Board, 665 PR
Medical Examiners, Board of, 304 PR, 363 PR, 935 PR
Nursing. Board of. 305 PR
Optometry. Board of Examiners, 1068 PR
Pharmacy, Board of, 201 PR. 1480 PR
Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of, 33 PR, 363 PR
Practicing Psychologists Examiners, 203 PR
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. 497 PR
Real Estate Commission. 171 PR, 500 PR. 1546 PR

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED
List of Rules Codified. 89, 215. 314. 451. 504, 711. 907, 10S7. 1281, 1487, 1624

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary, 29 PR, 199 PR, 303 PR, 694 PR. 1140 PR. 1721 PR

REVENUE
Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Division, 816 FR
Departmental Rules, 968 FR, 1729 FR
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

Individual Income, Inheritance and Gift Tax Division, 739 FR
Individual Income Tax Division, 234 FR, 747 FR
Intangibles Tax Division, 766 FR, 969 FR
License and Excise Tax Division, 740 FR, 969 FR
Motor Fuels Tax Division, 768 FR, 1620 FR
Property Tax Commission, 210 FR
Sales and Use Tax, 817 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Securities Division, 85 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
Office of State Personnel, 696 PR, 1082 PR, 1485 PR
State Personnel Commission, 172 PR, 364 PR

STATE TREASURER
Retirement Systems, 736 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Statements of Organization, 518 SO

TAX REVIEW BOARD
Orders of Tax Review Board, 1641

TRANSPORTATION
Assistant Secretary For Management, 1254 FR
Assistant Secretary For Planning, 1259 FR
Departmental Rules, 1 142 FR
Division of Highways, 1 146 FR
Division of Motor Vehicles, 213 FR, 502 FR, 701 FR, 773 FR, 1229 FR, 1545 PR
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in excess of J5.000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchasedfor seven hundred andfifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at one-

half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription*

Total

Quantity Price

1 - 52 Full Code
1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6
"

s

9

10

10

10

10

111

111

10

10

10

111

10

111

10

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A
15A
15A
15A
L5A

1 - 37

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 -4

1 - 2

3- 20

1 - 2

3 -4

1 - 4

1 - 12

1 - 9

1 - 4

I - 2

3A - 3K
3L- 3R

3S - 3W
4- 6

7

8 - 9

10

II - 14

15- 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34- 41

42

43 - 51

1-15
1 - 12

1 - 6

7

8- 16

1-11

1 - 2

3- 6

7

8- 9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Governor
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor
OSHA
Labor
Crime Control and

Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management
EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

90.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

45.00

90.00

60.00

30.00

60.00

10.00

45.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

75.00

90.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

90.00

90.00

90.00

30.00

45.00

45.00

45.00

90.00

45.00

45.00

30.00

45.00

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

Hi

il

12

13

14

15

16

17

is

19

20

2\

22

23

24

25

26
27

28

29

30

3]

32

33

u
35

36

37

38

Continued



Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

39 15A

15A

16

17

17

18

19A
20

21

21

21

22

23

24

25

26

11 - 18

19- 26

1 - 6

1 - 6

7- 11

1 - 8

1 - 6

1 - 9

1 - 16

17 - 37

38 - 70

1 - 2

1 - 2

1 - 3

1

1 -4

(North Carolina

EHNR
EHNR
(includes Breathalizer)

Education

Revenue
Revenue
Secretary of State

Transportation

Treasurer

Licensing Boards

Licensing Boards

Licensing Boards

Administrative Procedures

Community Colleges

Independent Agencies

State Personnel

Administrative Hearings

Subscribers add 6% sales tax)

90.00

75.00

30.00

75.00

60.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

75.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

10.00

60.00

10.00

Total

40

41

42

43

44

45

46
47

48

49

50

51

52

53

(Make checks payable to Office ofAdministrative Hearings.)

This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27611-7447
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($105.00)/year subscription) (N.C. Subscribers please add sales tax.)

Renew North Carolina Register

Check Enclosed Please bill me

se make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

IE ADDRESS

Y STATE ZIP

)NE

urn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1 . Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. 0. Drawer 27447

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447
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