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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly

and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register

will typically comprise approximately fifty pages per

issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

various state officials and institutions. The North Carolina

Register is available by yearly subscription at a cost of

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North Carolina

Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-

ministrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.

C. 27611-7447, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place of the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory

Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the North Carolina Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file any adopted or amended rule for approval by
the Administrative Rules Review Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-

cy, the adopted version will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effective

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,
some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary
rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 day
whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary ru

must begin normal rule-making procedures on the pe

manent rule at the same time the temporary rule

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC)
a compilation and index of the administrative rules

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boarc

The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter si;

single spaced pages of material of which approxima
ly 35% is changed annually. Compilation and public

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Ea
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fi

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designat

for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimi
cost of two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per ea

additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 53 volum
totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is si

plemented monthly with replacement pages

one year subscription to the full publication

eluding supplements can be purchased
seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00).

dividual volumes may also be purchased w
supplement service. Renewal subscriptions

supplements to the initial publication availal

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NC
should be directed to the Office of Administrat

Hearings.

NOTE

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the p
cedures to be followed. For specific statutory langua

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 1501

the General Statutes be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, iss

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, l
1

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 20

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 194

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by th

Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer 27447

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447, pursuant

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscription

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published i

looseleaf notebooks with supplement service by th

Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer 2744"

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447, pursuant 1

Chapter 150B of the General Satutes. Subscription

seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individu

volumes available.
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(April 1991 - December 1992)
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Date for for Date for I arliest

Filing Electronic Public Effective
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Adoption by
Agency

Date

******** ******** ******** ******** ********

04 01/91 03/11 91 03/18/91 05,01 91 08/01/91

04 15 91 03/22/91 04/01/91 05/15/91 OS 01 91

05/01 91 04/10/91 04/17/91 05/31/91 09 01 91

05 15 91 U4 24 9

1

05/01/91 06/14/91 09 01/91

06/03/91 05/10/91 05/17/91 07/03/91 10 01 91

06 14 91 05 23 9] 05/31/91 07/14/91 10/01/91

07/01/91 06/10/91 06/17,91 07/31/91 11/01/91

07 15 91 06 21 91 06 28 91 08 14 91 11/01/91

08.01/91 07/11/91 07/18/91 08,31/91 12/01,91

08/15/91 07/25/91 08/01/91 09/14 91 12 01,91

09 03 91 08/12/91 08/19/91 10/03/91 01 01 92

09 16/91 08/23/91 08/30/91 10/16/91 01/01/92

10/01/91 09/10/91 09/17/91 10,31,91 02 01 92

10 15 91 09/24 91 10/01/91 11/14/91 02/01 92

11/01/91 10 11 91 10/18/91 12/01/91 03 01/92

11 15 91 10 24 91 10/31/91 12 15 91 03/01/92

12 02 91 11 07-91 11/14/91 01/01/92 04/01/92

12/16 91 11/21/91 12/02/91 01 15 92 04 01 92

01 02 92 12 09 91 12 16 91 01/31/92 05,01 92

01 15/92 12,20/91 12/31/91 02 14/92 05 01/92

02 03 92 01 10 92 01/17/92 03 04 92 06 0192
02 14 92 01 24 92 01 '31 92 03 15/92 06/01/92

03 02 92 02/10 92 02/17 92 04/01/92 07,01/92

03 16 92 02 24 92 03 02 92 04/15/92 07 01 92

04 01/92 03 11/92 03/18/92 05 01 92 08/01/92

04. 15 92 03/25 92 04/01/92 05/15/92 08/01/92

05 01, 92 04 10 92 04/17,92 05 31 92 09 01,92

05 15 92 04 24 92 05 01 92 06 14 92 09 01 92

06 01 92 05 1 1 92 05/18 92 07/01/92 10 01 92

06 15 92 05 25 92 06.01 92 07/15 92 10 01.92

07 01 92 06 10 92 06/17 92 07 31 92 11 01 92

07 1 5 92 06 '24 92 07 01 92 08/14/92 11 01 92

OS 03 92 07/13/92 07 20 92 09 02 92 12 01/92

OS 14 92 07 24 92 07 31 92 09 13 92 12 01 92

09 01 92 08/11/92 OS IS 92 10 01 92 01 01 93

09 15 92 OS 25 92 09 01 92 10 15 92 01 01 93

10 01 92 09 10 92 09 17 92 10 31 92 02 01 93

10 15 92 09 24 92 10,01/92 11/14/92 02 01,93

11 02 92 10 12 92 10 19 92 12 02 92 03 0193
11 16 92 10 23 92 10/30/92 12 16 92 03 01 93

12 01 92 1 1 06 92 11/13 92 12 31 92 04 01 93

12 15 92 11 24 92 12,01,92 01 14 93 04 01,93

* The "Earliest Effective Date" is computed assuming that the public hearing

and adoption occur in the calendar month immediately following the "Issue

Date", that the agency files the rule with The Administrative Rules Review

Commission by the 20th of the same calendar month and that ARRC approves

the rule at the next calendar month meeting.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 140

APPOINTING SPECIAL COMMISSION
TO INVESTIGATE SHORTAGES IN THE
NORTHAMPTON COUNTY SCHOOLS'

FINANCES

The Northampton County Board of Commis-
sioners has asked that I appoint a special com-
mission to investigate shortages and the causes

for the shortages in the Northampton County
Schools' finances. Documents were submitted

in support of the request which evidence that

shortages totaling $484,185 were suffered during

the 1988-89 and 1989-90 school years and that

there have been various violations of the North
Carolina School Finance Act. The request was
made by the Northampton County Board be-

cause it felt that the financial condition of the

schools had deteriorated to the point that neither

the Northampton Board of Education nor the

Northampton County Board could cope with it.

North Carolina General Statute §143-158 au-

thorizes the Governor to appoint special com-
missions to investigate State departments or

institutions and submit their findings to him.

Article IX, Sec. 5 of the Constitution vests the

State Board of Education with the authority and
responsibility for supervising and administering

the State's free public school system and the ed-

ucational funds provided by the State for its

support. Northampton County Schools is a part

of the free public school system and it and the

funds provided for its support are subject to the

supervision and administration of the State

Board of Education.

The State Auditor has the authority and re-

sources to do much of the work that will be re-

quired for the State Board of Education to make
the investigation requested by the Northampton
County Board. The State Board of Education
has made known to me that it would be helpful

to the State Board to have the benefit of the as-

sistance of the State Auditor in carrying out the

investigation.

THEREFORE, as requested by the Northampton
County Board of Commissioners and pursuant

to Articles III, Sec. 1 and Article IX, Sec. 5 of the

Constitution and North Carolina General Stat-

utes §143-158, §143A-25 and §147-64.6(c)(3), it

is ORDERED:

Section 1: The State Board of Education is

hereby designated a Special Commission to in-

vestigate alleged shortages in the Northampton

County School's finances and the causes for such

shortages and report to me (i) the results of its

findings and (ii) its recommendations for reme-

dying whatever shortcomings found.

Section ~h The State Auditor is hereby re-

quested to assist the State Board of Education in

its investigation by conducting a Special Investi-

gation and Compliance Audit of the

Northampton County Schools for such periods

as are found to be indicated for the State Board
of Education to discharge its responsibilities

hereunder and to do all such other things as ap-

pear to the State Auditor to be appropriate to

that end and to report the results of the same to

the State Board of Education.

Section 3: The Attorney General, the Depart-

ment of Justice, the State Treasurer, the Local

Government Commission and all other agencies

of the State called upon to do by the State Board
of Education and/or the State Auditor, shall fur-

nish assistance to the State Board and/or the

State Auditor in conducting this investigation.

Section 4^ This Executive Order shall be effec-

tive immediately and shall remain in effect until

terminated by me or my successor.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina, this 22nd day

of April, 1991.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 141

AMENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 90
GOVERNOR'S ADVISORY COUNCIL ON

LITERACY

By the authority vested in me as Governor by
the Constitution and laws of North Carolina, it

is ORDERED:

Executive Order Number 90, as amended by
Executive Order Number 104, is hereby amended
to add the following member to the Council:

Section 2. Membership

12. One representative of the Department of

Human Resources working in early child

development to be appointed by the

Governor

Executive Order Number 90 is hereby extended

until May 18, 1993.

This Executive Order shall become effective

immediately.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Done in Raleigh, this the 17th day of April,

1991.
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

No' otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the Department of Human
Resources/Division of Medical Assistance intends

to amend rule(s) cited as 10 NCAC 26H .0101 -

.0104 and .0106 - .0107.

1 he proposed effective date of this

September 1, 1991.

action is

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on June 14, 1991 at the North Carolina Di-

vision of Medical Assistance, 1985 Umstead
Drive, Room 201, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603.

\_sOmment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning these amendments must be submitted by

June 14, 1991, to: Division ofMedical Assistance,

1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina

27603, ATTN.: Bill Hottel, APA Coordinator.

Oral comments may be presented at the hearing.

In addition, a fiscal impact statement is available

upon written request from the same address.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 26H - REIMBURSEMENT PUANS

SECTION .0100 - REIMBURSEMENT FOR
NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

.0101 REIMBURSEMENT PRINCIPLES
Effective October +7 -WS4 a«4 eaeh October 4-

thoreaftor all All certified Skilled Nuniing a«4
Intermediate Care nursing facilities participating

in the North Carolina Medicaid Program are re-

imbursed on a prospective basis as set forth

hereunder. Combination facilities containing

both a SNF a«4 IGF- portion are treated a* two-

separato facilitioo fe* Fate netting purposes. This
plan is developed in accordance with the re-

quirements of 42 CFR 447 Subpart C - Payment
for Inpatient Hospital and Long-Term Care Fa-
cility Services. Providers must comply with all

federal regulations and with the provisions of this

plan.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54: I08A-55;
S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.T.R. 447, Subpart
C.

.0102 RATE SETTING METHODS
(a) A rate for eaeh facility » skilled nursing care

and a rate for intermediate nursing care are de-

termined annually for each facility to be effective

for dates of service for a twelve month period

beginning each October 1 . Each patient will be

classified in one of the two categories depending

on the services needed. Rates are derived from
either desk or field audited cost reports for a base

year period to be selected by the state. Cost re-

ports are filed and audited under provisions set

forth in Rule .0104 of this Section. The criteria

for deteiTnining the classification of each patient

are presented in Appendix
J_
of Attachment 3.1 -A"

of the state plan. The minimum requirements

of the 1987 OBRA are met by these provisions.

(bj T4*e Each prospective rate consists of two
components: a direct patient care rate and an in-

direct rate computed and applied as follows:

(1) The direct rate is based on the Medicaid

cost per day incurred in the following cost

centers:

(A) Nursing,

(B) Dietary or Food Service,

(C) Laundry and Linen,

(D) Housekeeping,

(E) Patient Activities,

(F) Social Services,

(G) Ancillary Services (includes several cost

centers).

(2) To compute each facility's direct rate for

skilled care and intermediate care, the di-

rect base year cost per day is increased by
adjustment factors for price changes as set

forth in Rule .0102(c). A facility's direct

rate cannot exceed the maximum rates set

fef a SNF ef ICF. However, the Division

»f Medical Assistance F»ay- negotiato d+-

Feet rates that oxcood the maximum Fate

fof ventilator dependent patients. Pay
ment ef ouch special direct Fates shall he
made only after specific prior approval »f

the Division ef Medical Assistance

(A) A facility's direct rates cannot exceed

the maximum rates set for skilled nursing

or intermediate nursing care. I lowever,

the Division of Medical Assistance may
negotiate direct rates that exceed the

maximum rate for ventilator dependent

patients. Payment of such special direct

rates shall be made only alter specific prior

approval of the Division of Medical As-

sistance.

(B) A standard per diem amount will be

added to each facility's direct rate, includ-

ing faculties that are limited to the maxi-

mum rates, for the projected statewide

average per diem costs of the salaries paid

to replacement nurse aides for those aides

in training and testing status and other

costs deemed by IICFA to be facility

costs related to nurse aide training and
testing. The standard amount is based on

6:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1991 1SS



PROPOSED RULES

the product of multiplying the average

hourly wage, benefits, and payroll taxes

of replacement nurse aides by the number
of statewide hours required for training

and testing of all aides divided by the

projected total patient days.

(3) If a facility did not report anv costs for

either skilled or intermediate nursing care

in the base year, the state average direct

rate will be assigned as determined in Rule

.0102(d) of this Section for the new tvpe

of care.

(4) (-44 The direct maximum rates are devel-

oped by ranking base-year per diem costs

from the lowest to the highest in two

separate arrays, one for SNFs skilled care

and one for ICFs intermediate care. The
per diem cost at the 80th percentile in

each array is selected as the base for the

maximum rate. The base cost in each

array is adjusted for price changes as set

forth in Rule .0102(c) of this Section to

determine the maximum statewide direct

rates for skilled care and intermediate care.

Fate a* *et fottft » R»le .0102(c).

(-44 Upon completion »f a»y e*s4 reporting

yea? a»y funds received by a facility from

the direct patient eafe Fate which have Ftet

boon spent eft direct patient rape coots as

defined he rein afe repaid to the state.

(5) Effective October J\ 1990. the direct rates

will be adiusted as follows: T4*e indirect

Fate fs intended te- cover the following

costs e£ a» efficiently af*4 economically

operated facility:

(-A4 Administrative a»4 Gene ral,

(A) A standard per diem amount will be

added to each facility s skilled and inter-

mediate rate to account for the combined
expected average additional costs for the

continuing education of nurses aides: the

residents assessments, plans of care, and

charting of nursing hours for each patient:

personal laundry and hvgiene items: and

other non-nursing staffing requirements.

The standard amount is equal to the sum
of.

(il the state average annual salary, bene-

fits, and payroll taxes for one registered

nurse position multiplied by the num-
ber of facilities in the state and divided

bv the state total of patient days:

(in the total costs of personal laundry and

hvgiene items divided bv the total pa-

tient davs as determined from the FY
19S9 cost reports of a sample of nursing

facilities multiplied by the annual ad-

iustment factors described in Rule
.0102(c)(4)(B) of this Section: and

(iii) the state average additional pharmacy
consultant costs divided bv 365 days

and then divided bv the average number
of beds per facility.

f&4 Operation ©I Plant aF>4 Maintenance,

(B) A standard amount will be added to the

intermediate rate of facilities that were

certified only for intermediate care prior

to October 1, 1990. This amount will be

added to account for the additional cost

of providing eight hours of RN coverage

and 24 hours of licensed nursing coverage.

Fhe standard amount is equal to the state

average hourly wage, benefits and payroll

taxes for a registered nurse multiplied bv
the j_6 additional hours of required li-

censed nursing staff divided bv the state

average number of beds per nursing facil-

ity. A lower amount will be added to a

facility only if it can be determined that

the facility's intermediate rate prior to

October j\ 1990 already includes licensed

nursing coverage above eight hours per

day. The add-on amount in such case

would be equal to the exact additional

amount required to meet the licensed

nursing requirements.

f&4 Property Ownership a»4 Use,

(C) The standard amounts in Subpara-

graphs (2MB). (5)(A). and (5)(B) of this

Rule, will be retained in the rates of sub-

sequent years until the year that the rates

are derived from the actual cost incurred

in the cost reporting year ending in 1991

which will reflect each facility's actual cost

of complying with all OBRA '!
1_ require-

ments.

f©4 Mortgage Interest.

(44 Effective fe* dates ef service beginning

October 4r IQS '

1 a«4 ending September 44+r

1985 the indirect rates ape fourteen dollars

a»4 sisty cents (SM.6Q) fof eaeh SNF day

et ea*e as4 thirteen dollars a*t4 fiftv cents

($13.50) feF eaeh 1€£ da* ef eafer
' These

rates represent the ftfst step » a twe- step

transition process from the different SNF
a&4 iGf- indirect rates f>ai4 ift 1Q83 84 a«4
the nearly equal indirect rat es that wiH he

pai4 » subsequent years under this plan

as provided ift th+s Rule.

(6) Upon completion of anv cost reporting

year any funds received by a facility from

the direct patient care rates which have

not been spent on direct patient care costs

as defined herein are repaid to the State.

This will be applied bv comparing a facil-

189 6:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1991



PROPOSED RULES

itv's total Medicaid direct costs with the

combined direct rate payments received

for skilled and intermediate care. How-
ever, any skilled and intermediate care

Medicaid costs in excess of an amount
equal to the skilled or intermediate maxi-

mum rates established in Rule .0102(b)(4)

of this Section multiplied by the facility's

skilled or intermediate Medicaid days are

not reimbursable and must be excluded

from the calculation of a repayment

amount.

(7) Effective- fof datoo ©f service beginning Qe-
tobor 47 1985 a«4 annually thereafter pe?

diom indirect rates wiH be computed as

follows: The indirect rate is intended to

cover the following costs of an efficiently

and economically operated facility:

(A) Administrative and General,

(A) 44*e average indirect payment to aH fo-

cilitieo » tke fiscal yeap ending September

^J\77 I - \~J ~t I f 1 II IT_TI I rj TTTTTT^^rT U V 7 1 1 T.X I J EQ RE I TT \_f

Or?lit** ^J^iJj.'*X-.M tV 1U rrr? rrrt? rrrt^iT? rrtTryr

/ IJ \ I l.i 1^t£^» r-^ii^x null 1^^ fi.lin.'t. Lit Tfir ^t_t^^
^^L^^f ^^^^^v ^^^^^^7 !^^^^^7 ^^^^^T ^^^7 c^^^^T^^^^^^j ^^^T ^^^^^^

mated price level changes from fiscal yea?

1983 through &<* yea? i» which tbe ratoo

will apply » accordance with the proco

dure set- forth i» Rule .0102(c) below to

establish tl+e ICF pep diem indirect rate.

it \ _^*.a^ I L * I P I **"
1 I *

I fcflfij »«^, I'T i fit' l *"'
' *

I ' t
"' P •

' 1

1

r ) \^^^^^ ^^^^^C ^^^^^^^ T^^^T ^^^^^^^T TT^^^^T^^^T 1 Cnv r^r^tTTT 1^^

multiplied by a factor »f 4-rQ3 to ootabhoh

Ae SNF pef diem indirect rate . This ad-

juotmont is made to recognize the addi

tional administrative expense incurred »
tfe* provision ef SNF patient care.

(B) Operation of Plant and Maintenance,

(C) Property Ownership and Use,

(D) Mortgage Interest.

(8) Effective for dates of service beginning

October 1, 1984 and ending September 30,

19S5 the indirect rates are fourteen dollars

and sixty cents ($14. Ml) for each SNF day

of care and thirteen dollars and fifty cents

($13.50) for each ICF day of care. These
rates represent the first step in a two step

transition process from the different SNF
and ICF indirect rates paid in 1983-84 and

the nearly equal indirect rates that will be

paid in subsequent years under this plan

as provided in this Rule.

(9) Effective for dates of service beginning

October _L, 1985 and annually thereafter

per diem indirect rates will be computed
as follows:

(A) The average indirect payment to all fa-

cilities in the fiscal year ending September

30, 1983
I
which is thirteen dollars and two

cents (S 1 3.02)1 will be the base rate.

(B) The base rate will be adjusted for esti-

mated price level changes from fiscal year

1983 through the year in which the rates

will apply in accordance with the proce-

dure set forth in Rule .0102(c) of this

Section to establish the ICF per diem in-

direct rate.

(C) The ICF per diem indirect rate shall be
multiplied by a factor of 1.02 to establish

the SNF per diem indirect rate. This ad-

justment is made to recognize the addi-

tional administrative expense incurred in

the provision of S N F patient care.

(10) Effective for dates of service beginning

October J^ 1989, a standard per diem
amount will be added to provide for the

additional administrative costs of prepar-

ing for and complying with all nursing

home reform requirements. The standard

amount is based on the average annual

salary, benefits and payroll taxes of one
clerical position multiplied by the number
of facilities m the state divided by the state

total of patient days.

(11) Effective for dates of service beginning

October L 1990, the indirect rate will be

standard for skilled and intermediate care

for all facilities and will be determined by
applying the 1990-91 indirect cost adjust-

ment factors in Rule .0102(c) of this Sec-

tion to the indirect rate paid for SNF

(c)

level

during the year beginning October l^

1989. Thereafter the indirect rate will be

adjusted annually by the indirect cost ad-

justment factors.

Adjustment factors for changes in the price

The rate bases established in Rule
.0102(b), are adjusted annually to reflect increases

or decreases in prices that are expected to occur

from the base year to the year in which the rate

applies. The price level adjustment factors are

computed using aggregate base year costs in the

following manner:

( 1
) Indirect eos* and- direct costs wiH- be sopa

rated i«to twe catogorios. Costs will be

separated into direct and indirect cost cat-

egories.

(2) Costs in each category will be accumulated

into the following groups:

(A) labor,

(B) other,

(C) fixed.

(3) 34w» percent »f costs within eaek category

(ICF' &f SN F

)

m each group will be as-

certained to toe second decimal point.

This percent shall become toe "weight"

fe* each group e4 costs within each cate

gop.
'. The relative weight of each cost

6:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1991 190



PROPOSED RULES

group is calculated to the second decimal

point by dividing the total costs of each

group (labor, other, and fixed) by the total

costs for each category (direct and indi-

rect).

(4) Price adjustment factors for each cost

group will be established using official es-

timates ef- price* level changes supplied by-

the North Carolina Office ©£ Budget em4
Management »» earlier than 4r2Q days

prior te- the date »» which the Hew- re-

imbursement rates shall ge ifite- effect

.

Thooo factors shall include: as follows:

(A) Labor. The expected annual percent-

age change in North Carolina service

wages modified fo* any special factors fe-

lating te- nursing homes that &a» be e#-

plicitly identified, direct labor costs as

determined from a survey of nursing fa-

cilities to determine the average hourly

wages for RNs, LPNs, and aides paid in

the current year and projected for the rate

year. The percentage change for indirect

labor costs is based on the projected av-

erage hourly wage of N.C. service work-

ers.

(B) Other. The expected annual change in

the implicit price deflator for the Gross

National Product as provided by the

North Carolma Office of State Budget and
Management.

(C) Fixed. No adjustment will be made for

this category', thus making the factor zero.

(D) The weights computed in (c)(3) of this

Rule shall be multiplied times the factors

computed in (c)(4) of this Rule. These
products shall be added separately in each

category.

(E) The sum computed for each category

in (c)(4)(D) of this Rule shall be the price

level adjustment factor for that category

of rates (direct or indirect) for the coming
fiscal year.

f+4 The adjustment factor computed ift

(c)(4)(B) ef th+s R*4e si»H be multiplied

times the product e£ aH preceding annual

price level adjustment factors computed
since the base ye ar. This becomes the

composit e factor by- which the base rates

ate adjust ed t© produce the direct an4 m-
direot rat e s that wtll- apply » the Rest 6s-

(4} Fef new- facilities enrolled e» ©f after Oe-
tober 4t 4^X4 the direct patient eafe Brie is estab

lished at the average ©f- industry base yea* costs

t©f the appropriate level ©f- ease aftd is adjusted

fof price change s as set forth m Rule .0102(c).

A- Hew- facility receives tbe indirect fate ift effect

at the tiffte the facility is enrolled m the ^-

Program. to- the event ©f a chango ef- <

the new- owner receives the same fate ©£ payment
assignod t© the previous owner.

(d) The skilled and intermediate direct patient

care rates for new facilities are established at the

lower of the projected costs in the provider's

Certificate of Need application inflated to the

current rate period or the average of industry base

year costs and adjusted for price changes as set

forth in Rule .0102(c) of this Section. A new
facility receives the indirect rate in effect at the

time the facility is enrolled in the Medicaid pro-

gram^ In the event of a change of ownership, the

new owner receives the same rate of payment
assigned to the previous owner.

(e) Each out-of-state provider is reimbursed at

the lower of the appropriate North Carolina

maximum rate or the provider's payment rate as

established by the State in which the provider is

located. Eor patients with special needs who
must be placed in specialized out-of-state facili-

ties, a payment rate that exceeds the North
Carolina maximum rate may be negotiated.

(£} Rates:

( 1

)

A single all-inclusive prospective per diem
rate combining both the direct and indi-

rect cost components can be negotiated

for nursing facilities that specialize in pro-

viding intensive services for head-injured

or ventilator-dependent patients. 1 he rate

may exceed the maximum rate applicable

to other Nursing Facility services. For
head-injury services, a facility must spe-

cialize to the extent of staffing at least 50

percent of its Nursing Facility licensed

beds for head-injurv services. The facility

must also be accredited by the Commis-
sion for the Accreditation of Rehabili-

tation Facilities (CARF). For ventilator

services, the only facilities that are eligible

for a combined single rate are small

freestanding facilities with less than 21

Nursing Facility beds and that serve only

patients requiring ventilator services.

Ventilator services provided in larger fa-

cilities are reimbursed at higher direct rates

as described in Rule .0102(b)(2)(A) of this

Section.

(2) A facility's initial rate is negotiated based

on budget projections of revenues, allow-

able costs, patient days, staffing and

wages. A complete description of the fa-

cility's medical program must also be

provided. Rates in subsequent years are

determined by applying the average an-

nual skilled nursing care adjustment 1 ac-

tors to the rate in the previous year, unless
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either the provider or the State requests a

renegotiation of the rate.

(3) Cost reports for these services must be

filed in accordance with the rules in .0104

of this Section, but there will be no cost

settlements for any differences between

costs and payments. Since it is appropri-

ate to include all financial considerations

in the negotiation of a rate, a provider will

not be eligible to receive separate pay-

ments for return on equity as defined in

Rule .0105 of this Section.

Authority G.S. !08A-25(b); I08A-54; 108A-55;

S. L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart

C.

.0103 REASONABLE AND NON-ALLOWABLE
COSTS

(a) Providers have an affirmative responsibility

to operate economically and efficiently so that

their costs are reasonable. Providers are required

to provide sendees at the lowest possible costs in

compliance with Federal and State laws, regu-

lations for licensing and certification, and stand-

ards for quality of care and patients' safety.

Providers are also responsible for the financial

actions of their agents (e.g., management com-
panies) in this regard.

(b) The state may publish guidelines to define

reasonable costs in certain areas after careful

study of industry-wide cost conditions.

(c) The following costs are considered non-
allowable facility costs because they are not re-

lated to patient care or are specifically disallowed

under the North Carolina State Plan:

(1) bad debts;

(2) advertising-except personnel want ads,

and one line yellow page (indicating facil-

ity address);

(3) life insurance (except for employee group
plans);

(4) interest paid to a related party;

(5) contributions, including political or

church-related, charity and courtesy al-

lowances;

(6) prescription drugs and insulin (available

to recipients under State Medicaid Drug
Program);

(7) vending machine expenses;

(8) barbor a«4 beauty chop expenses; personal

grooming other than haircuts,

shampooing and nail trimming performed

by facility staff;

(9) state or federal corporate income taxes,

plus any penalties and interest;

(10) telephone, ef television, or radio for per-

sonal use of patient;

(11) penalties or interest on income taxes;

(12) dental expenses—except for consultant

fees as required by law;

(13) personal income taxes, plus any penalties

and interest;

(14) farm equipment and other expenses;

(15) retainers, unless itemized services of equal

value have been rendered;

(16) physicians fees for other than utilization

review or medical directors or medical

consultants as required by law;

(17) country club dues;

(18) sitter services or private duty nurses;

(19) fines or penalties for violations; capital

expenditures subject te> oithor ooction 1 122

e* cortificato ©f nood royiow Ret- receiving

prior approval by t«e appropriate) stato

agency;

(30) conversions, leases, a«4 management
agreements Ret roviowod by- the appropri

ate otato agoncy;

(444 (20) guest meals;

(33) (21

)

morgue boxes;

(34) (22) leave days- -except therapeutic leave;

(34} (23) personal items as4 clothing;

laundering ef personal clothing; a«4
(35) asy other it ems which, under t«e given

circumstances, are considered te be non
allowable.

(24) any costs in excess of the maximum rates

established in Rule .0102(b)(4) of this

Section and costs in excess of a facility's

total prospective rate payments;

(25) costs that are billable to Medicare.

(d) For those non-allowable expenses which
generate income, such as prescription drugs,

vending machines, barber and beauty shop, etc.,

expense should be identified as a non-
reimbursable cost center, where determinable.

If the provider cannot determine the proper

amount of expense which is to be identified, then

the income which was generated must be offset

in full to the appropriate cost center.

Authoritv G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55;

S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart

C.

.0104 COST REPORTING: AUDITING AND
SETTLEMENTS

(a) Each facility that receives payments from
the North Carolina Medicaid Program must

prepare and submit a report of its costs and other

financial information requested by- th# stat e (•

such as the working trial balance ) related to re-

imbursement annually. The report must include

costs from the fiscal period beginning on October

1 and ending on September 30 and must be sub-
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mitted to the state on or before the December 31

that immediately follows the September 30 year

end. A new provider must submit a report for

the period beginning with the date of certification

and ending on September 30. Facilities that fail

to file their cost reports bv the due date are sub-

iect to payment suspension until the reports are

filed. The Division of Medical Assistance may
extend the deadline 30 days for filing the report

if, in its view, good cause exists for the delay.

(b) Cost report format. The cost report must
be submitted on forms and in a format and me-
dium approved by the Division of Medical As-

sistance. The account structure for the report is

based on the chart of accounts published by the

American Healthcare Association in 1979 but

amended or modified to the extent necessary to

meet the special reimbursement requirements of

this plan. The Division of Medical Assistance

will make one copy of the cost report format

available to each facility (combination facilities

receive only one) on or before July 1 of the re-

porting year for which the report is to be filed.

(c) Cost finding and allocation. Costs must
be reported in the cost report in accordance with

the following rules and in the order of priority

stated.

(1) Costs must be reported in accordance

with the specific provisions of this plan as

set forth in this Rule.

(2) Costs must be reported in conformance
to- Title XVIII principles e+ reimburse

ment. with the Medicare Provider Re-

imbursement Manual, HCFA 15.

(3)

(d)

Costs must be reported in conformance
with Generally Accepted Accounting
Principles.

The specific cost reporting guidelines re-

lated to this plan are set forth in the following

Paragraphs. The state will publish guidelines,

consistent with the provisions of this plan, con-

cerning the proper accounting treatment for

items described in this Rule as related operating

expenses. Those guidelines wtM- be tssaed prior

to April 4t 1985. The guidelines may be sub so

quontly modified prior to the beginning of each

cost reporting period. In no case, however, shall

any modifications be applied retroactively. A
provider should request clarification in writing

from the state if there is uncertainty about the

proper cost center classification of any particular

expense item.

(1) Nursing Cost Center includes the cost of

nursing staff, medical supplies, and related

operating expenses needed to provide

nursing care to patients, including medical

records (including forms), utilization re-

view, the Medical Director and the Phar-

macy Consultant. Also, toe eesi (rontal

»f purchaoo) »f special equipment toa* is

medically required to sustain life »ay be
charged to to» ©est center. Such equip

ment shall include o xygon concentrators,

respirators a«4 ventilators. The amount
of nursing time provided to each patient

must be recorded in order to allocate

nursing cost between skilled and interme-

diate nursing care.

(2) Dietary Cost Center includes the cost of

staff, raw food, and supplies needed to

prepare and deliver food to patients.

(3) Laundry and Linen Cost Center includes

the cost of staff, bed linens (replacement

mattresses and related operating expenses

needed to launder facility-provided items).

(4) Housekeeping Cost Center includes the

cost of staff and supplies needed to keep

the facility clean.

(5) Patient Activities Cost Center includes

the cost of staff, supplies, and related op-

erating expenses needed to provide ap-

propriate diversionary activities for

patients.

(6) Social Services includes the cost of social

workers and related operating expenses

needed to provide necessary social services

to patients.

(7) Ancillary Cost Center includes the cost

of all therapy services covered by the

Medicaid program and billable medical

supplies. Providers must bill Medicare

Part B 'for those ancillary services covered

under the Medicare B program. Ancillary

cost centers include: Radiology, Labora-

tory, Physical Therapy, Occupational

Therapy, Speech Therapy. Oxygen Ther-

apy, Intravenous fluids. Billable Medical

Supplies, Parenteral Enteral Therapy and
life sustaining equipment, such as oxygen
concentrators, respirators, and ventilators

and other specifically approved equip-

ment.

(8) Administrative and General Cost Center

includes all costs needed to administer the

facility including the staff costs for the

administrator, assistants, billing and sec-

retarial personnel, personnel director and
pastoral expenses. It includes the costs

of copy machines, dues and subscriptions,

transportation, income taxes, legal and

accounting fees, start-up, and a variety of

other administrative costs as set forth in

the Chart of Accounts. Interest expense

other than that stemming from mortgages

or loans to acquire physical plant items

should be reported here.

193 6:4 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER May 15, 1991



PROPOSED RULES

(9) Property Ownership and Use:

(A) This cost center includes all allowable

costs related to the acquisition and/or use

of the physical assets including building,

fixed equipment and movable equipment,

that are required to deliver patient care,

except the special equipment, as specified

in .0104(d)(1) of this Rule that may be

charged to the nursing life-sustaining

equipment cost center. Specifically it in-

cludes the following items:

(i) all equipment expense regardless of

equipment nature,

(ii) lease expense for all physical assets,

(iii) depreciation of assets utilizing the

straight line method,
(iv) interest expense of asset related li-

abilities, (e.g., mortgage expense),

(v) property taxes.

(B) For the purposes of computing allow-

able lease expense and for balance sheet

presentation for Return on Equity com-
putations (see Rule .0105), leases shall not

be capitalized.

(C) In establishing the allowable cost for

depreciation and for interest on capital

indebtedness, with respect to an asset

which has undergone a change of owner-

ship, the valuation of the asset shall be the

lesser of allowable acquisition cost less

accumulated depreciation to the first

owner of record on or after July 18, 1984

or the acquisition cost to the new owner.

Depreciation recapture will not be per-

formed at sale. The method for estab-

lishing the allowable related capital

indebtedness shall be as follows:

(i) The allowable asset value shall be di-

vided by the actual acquisition cost.

(ii) The product computed in step 1 shall

be multiplied times the value of any re-

lated capital indebtedness.

(iii) The result shall be the liability

amount upon which interest may be

recorded at the rate set forth in the debt

instrument or such lower rate as the

state may prove is reasonable.

The allowable asset and liability values

established through the process in this

Rule shall be those used in balance

sheet presentations for return on equity

computation (see Rule .0105). These

procedures are established to implement
the provisions of PL 98-369 Section

2314.

(10) Operation of Plant and Maintenance

Cost Center includes all costs necessary to

operate or maintain the functionality and

appearance of the plant. These include:

maintenance staff, utilities, repairs and
maintenance to all equipment.

(11) Equipment Expense. Equipment is de-

fined as an item with a useful life of more
than two years and a value greater than

twe five hundred dollars ($200.00).

($500.00). Equipment ownership and use

costs shall be reported in the Property

Ownership and Use Cost Center. Equip-

ment maintenance and repair costs shall

be reported in the Operation of Plant and
Maintenance Cost Center. Equipment
should not be reported elsewhere.

(12) Training Expense. Training expense

shall be allocated to must be identified in

the appropriate benefiting cost center.

centers. Adoquato rocordo t» support the

allocation shall be maintained aft4 pfe-

sented upon request te establish

allowability. The costs of training nurse

aiiio must be identified separately and
may include the cost of purchasing pro-

grams and equipment that have been ap-

proved bv the State for training or testing.

(13) Home Office Costs. Home office costs

are generally charged to the Administra-

tive and General Cost Centers. In some
cases, however, certain personnel costs

which are direct patient care oriented may
be allocated to "direct" patient care cost

centers if time records are maintained to

document the performance of direct pa-

tient care services. No Home office over-

head may be so allocated. The basis of

this allocation among facilities participat-

ing in the North Carolina Medicaid pro-

gram may be:

(A) specific time records of work performed
at each facility, or

(B) patient days in each facility to which the

costs apply relative to the total patient

days in all the facilities to which the costs

apply.

(14) Management Fees. Management fees are

charged to the Administrative and General

Cost Center. In some cases, however, a

portion of a management fee may be al-

located to a direct patient care cost center

if time records are -maintained to docu-

ment the performance of direct patient

care services. The amount so allocated

may be equal only to the salary and fringe

benefits of persons who are performing

direct patient care services while employed
by the management company. Adequate

records to support these costs must be

made available to staff of the Division of
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Medical Assistance to support these costs.

The basis of this allocation among facili-

ties participating in the North Carolina

Medicaid program may be:

(A) specific time records of work performed

at each facility, or

(B) patient days in each facility to which the

costs apply relative to the total patient

days in all the facilities to which the costs

apply.

(15) Related Organization Costs. Allowable

costs of related organizations are to be

(a) Providers may request a reconsideration

review of thoir Fate agency reimbursement deter-

minations. Those reconsideration roviowo wiU
be processed according to procedures set- forth m
W NCAC 26 K. A provider may request a re-

consideration review within 30 calendar days

from receipt of final notification of payment,
payment denial, disallowances, payment adjust-

ments, notice of program reimbursement and
adiustments and within 60 calendar days from
receipt of notice of an institutional reimburse-

ment rate, following the review the agency will

identified in accordance with the direct render a decision in writing which will be sent by
and indirect cost center categories. The certified mail. If the provider disagrees with the

intent is to treat the costs incurred bv the

related organization as if they were in-

curred bv the provider itself Related or-

ganization's costs applicable to direct cost

centers ( Nursing. Dietary, faundrv and

I men. Housekeeping. Social Services,

Patient Activities, and Ancillary Services)

must be identified in the applicable direct

cost center. Related organization's costs

applicable to indirect cost centers ( Prop-

erty. Ownership and l"se, Operation and
Maintenance of Plant, and Administrative

and General) must be identified in the

applicable indirect cost center. Adequate
records to support these costs must be

made available to staff of the Division of

Medical Assistance and its designated

contract auditors.

(e)

ports

Auditing and Settlement. Ail filed cost re-

must be desk audited and interim re-

imbursement settlements made in accordance

with the provision of this plan. This settlement

is issued within ISO days of the date the cost re-

port was filed or within ISO days of December
31 of the fiscal year to which the report applies,

whichever is later. The state may elect to per-

form field audits on any filed cost reports within

three years of the date of filing and issue a final

settlement on a time schedule that conforms to

Federal law and regulation. If the state decides

not to field audit a facility a final reimbursement
notice may be issued based on the desk audited

settlement. The state may reopen and field audit

any cost report after the final settlement notice

to comply with Federal law and regulation or to

enforce laws and regulations prohibiting abuse

of the Medicaid Program and particularly the

provisions of this reimbursement plan.

Authority G.S. l08A-25(b); 10SA-54; 10SA-55;

S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart

C.

.0106 APPEALS

reconsideration review decision, the provider may
request a contested case hearing with the N. C.

Office of Administrative Hearings.

(b) Indirect rates shall not be adjusted on Fe-

considoration review, appeal.

(c) A direct rate may be adjusted on reconsid

oration review appeal if the a provider can estab-

lish to the satisfaction of the state agency that

such an adjustment is necessary to protect the

health and safety of its patients and to sustain its

financial viability. A facility is considered to be

financially viable, and therefore not eligible for a

rate adjustment, if its total Medicaid rate pay-

ments and return on equity exceeded its total

Medicaid cost as reported in the most recent cost

report available. Providers are expected to utilize

all available funds to provide the services that

their patients need. Once a provider has reported

a loss for a certain year, a direct rate of adjust-

ment can then be negotiated for the following

year at a level no greater than what is absolutely

necessary for patient care and for the financial

viability of the facility. The adjusted rate cannot

exceed the applicable maximum direct rate as es-

tablished by Rule .0102(b)(3).

(d) Direct rates may also be adjusted tor

without regard to the provisions of Rule .0106(c)

of this Section for the following reasons:

(1) to correct erroneous data in the rate base;

(2) to accommodate any changes in the lovolo

Bf prices minimum standards or minimum
levels of resources required in the pro-

vision of patient care that are mandated
by state or federal laws or regulation;

(3) to maintain services at levels commensurate
with any rate adjustments that are allowed

between the base year and the year in

which the rates derived from that base

year are first effective.

(e) Adjustments to reimbursement settlements

shall be made on the basis of the reimbursement

principles set forth in this plan or incorporated

here by reference [See Rule .0104(e)).
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Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55;

150B-11; S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447,

Subpart C.

.0107 PAYMENT ASSURANCE
(a) The state will pay each provider of nursing

care services, who furnishes the services in ac-

cordance with the requirements of the State Plan

and the participation agreement, the amount de-

termined under the plan. In addition, Skillod

Nursing Faculties must be enrolled in the Title

XVIII Program.

(b) In no case shall the payment rate for ser-

vices provided under the plan exceed the facility's

customary charges to the general public for such

services.

(c) The payment methods and standards set

forth herein are designed to enlist the partic-

ipation of any provider who operates a facility

both economically and efficiently. Participation

in the program shall be limited to providers of

service who accept, as payment in full, the

amounts paid in accordance with the State Plan.

This reimbursement plan is effective consistent

with and on approval of the State Plan for Med-
ical Assistance.

(d) In all circumstances involving third party

payment, Medicaid is the payor of last resort.

No payment will be made for a Medicaid recipi-

ent who is also eligible for Medicare, Part A, for

the first 20 days of care rendered to skilled nurs-

ing patients. Medicaid payments for co-

insurance for such patients will be made for the

subsequent 21st through the 100th day of care.

In the case of ancillary services providers are ob-
ligated to:

(1) maintain detailed records or charges for

all patients;

(2) bill the appropriate Medicare Part B car-

rier for all services provided to Medicaid
patients that may be covered under that

program; af*4

(3) allocate an appropriate amount of ancil-

lary costs, based on these charge records

adjusted to reflect Medicare denials of

coverage, to Medicare Part B in the an-

nual cost report; and

(4) failure to properly bill Medicare or other

third-party payors will result in the disal-

lowance of anv related cost claimed as

Medicaid cost.

(e) The state may withhold payments to pro-

viders under the following circumstances:

(1) If the state has a reasonable expection that

the provider will not expend its direct rate

for reasonable and allowable direct patient

care costs, the state may, at its discretion,

withhold a portion of each payment so as

to avoid a large amount due back to the

state upon reimbursement settlement

pursuant to the provision of Paragraph

.0104(e) of this Section.

(2) Upon provider termination the state may
withhold a sum of money from provider

payments that it reasonably expects will

be due when final reimbursement settle-

ments for all previous periods, including

the period in which the termination oc-

curred, are completed.

(3) Upon determination of any sum due the

Medicaid Program or upon instruction

from a legally authorized agent of the

State or Federal Government the state

may withhold sums to meet the obli-

gations identified.

(4) The state may arrange repayment sched-

ules within the limits set forth in federal

regulations in lieu of withholding funds.

(5) The state may charge reasonable interest

or overpayments from the date that the

overpayment occurred.

(6) The State may withhold 20 percent per

month of a provider's payment for failure

to file a timely cost report. These funds

will be released to the provider after a cost

report is acceptably filed. The provider

will experience delayed payment while the

check is routed to the State and split for

the 20 percent withholding.

Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55;

S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart

C.

******************

lyotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-12 that the Department of Human
Resources!Division of Medical Assistance intends

to amend rule(s) cited as 10 NCAC 50B .0204.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

September 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:30

p.m. on May 31, 1991 at the North Carolina Di-

vision of Medical Assistance, 1985 Umstead
Drive, Room 201, Raleigh, N.C. 27603.

V^omment Procedures: Written comments con-

cerning this amendment must be submitted by

May 31, 1991, to: Division ofMedical Assistance,

1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina

27603, ATTN.: Bill Hottel, APA Coordinator.
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Oral comments may be presented at the hearing.

In addition, a fiscal impact statement is available

upon written request from the same address.

CHAPTER 50 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER SOB - ELIGIBILITY
DETERMINATION

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION PROCESS

.0204

(a)

lows:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ASSISTANCE
Medicaid coverage shall be effective as fol-

The month of application; or

As much as three months prior to the

month of application when the client re-

ceived medical services covered by the

program and was eligible during the

month or months of medical need; or

If the client applies prior to meeting a

non-financial requirement, Medicaid shall

begin no earlier than the calendar month
in which all non-financial requirements

are met; or

For pregnancy related services under
M-PW, the fe* month following the

month ef application m which countable

incomo » equal t& t*p lew than the income
standard. month of application or as

much as three months prior to the month
of application in which all eligibility re-

quirements are met in the month or

months.

Authority G.S. 10SA-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.914; 42

C.F.R. 435.919.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-I2 that the Environmental Management
Commission intends to amend rule cited as I5A

NCAC 2B .0309.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

January I, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. on July 23, 1991 at the Auditorium,

Montgomery Community College, Old Biscoe

Road, Troy, North Carolina.

Cc

statements, data and other information may be

submitted in writing prior to, during or within 30
days after the hearing or may be presented orally

at the hearing. Oral statements may be limited

at the discretion of the hearing officer. Submittal

of written copies of oral statements is encouraged.

For more information contact Suzanne H. Keen,

Division of Environmental Management, P.O. Box
29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535, (919)
733-5083.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2B - SURFACE WATER
STANDARDS: MONITORING

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM
CLASSIFICATIONS

.0309 YADKIN-PEE DEE RIVER BASIN
(c) The Yadkin- Pee Dee River Basin Schedule

of Classifications and Water Quality Standards

was amended effective:

(1) February 12, 1979;

March 1, 1983;

August 1, 1985;

February 1, 1986;

October 1, 1988;

March 1, 1989;

January 1, 1990;

August 1, 1990;

January 1, 1992.

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

121

(2) The Schedule of Classifications and Water
Quality Standards for the Yadkin- Pee Dee River

Basin was amended effective January 1^ 1992 as

follows

little River (Index Nos. 13-25-(10) and
13-25-( 19)| from Suggs Creek to Densons
Peek was reclassified from Classes

WS-III and C to Classes WS-III HQW
and C HOW.
Densons Creek |Index No. 13-25-20-(l)l

from its source to Troy's Water Supply
Intake including all tributaries was reclas-

sified from Class WS-III to Class WS-III
HOW,
Brtdgers Creek (Index No. 13-25-24) from
its source to the little River was reclassi-

ill

Ql

Ql

lied from Class C to Class C HQW.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214. 1; 143-215. 1;

143-215.3(a)(l).

******************

omment Procedures: All persons interested in

this matter are invited to attend. Comments.
Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

J50B-/2 that the Environmental Management
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Commission intends to amend rule cited as 15A
NCAC2B .0312.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

January 1, 1992.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. on July 25, 1991 at the Auditorium, Carteret

Community College, 3505 Arendell Street,

Morehead City, North Carolina.

O omment Procedures: A 11 persons interested in

this matter are invited to attend. Comments,
statements, data and other information may be

submitted in writing prior to, during or within 30

days after the hearing or may be presented orally

at the hearing. Oral statements may be limited

at the discretion of the hearing officer. Submittal

of written copies of oral statements is encouraged.

For more information contact Suzanne H. Keen,

Division of Environmental Management, P.O. Box
29535, Raleigh, NC 27626-0535, (919)

733-50S3.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2B - SURFACE WATER
STANDARDS: MONITORING

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM
CLASSIFICATIONS

.0312 WHITE OAK RIVER BASIN
(b) The White Oak River Basin Schedule of

Classification and Water Quality Standards was
amended effective:

(1) December 13, 1979;

(2) June 1, 1988;

(3) January 1, 1990;

(4) August 1, 1990;

(5) August 1, 1991;

(6) January 1, 1992.

(e) The Schedule of Classifications and Water
Quality Standards for the White Oak River Basin

was amended effective January l^ 1992 with the

reclassification of Peletier Creek (Index No.
20-36-1 1) from its source to Bogue Sound from
Class SA to Class SB with the requirement that

no discharges be allowed.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-215.3(a)(l).

143-214.1; 143-215.1;

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-12 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule(s)

cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1001.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

September 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on June 18, 1991 at Room 386, Archdale

Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC
27604-1188.

Cc

******************

> omment Procedures: Interested persons may
present their views either orally or in writing at the

hearing. In addition, the record of hearing will

be open for receipt ofwritten commentsfrom June

3, 1991 to July 3, 1991. Such written comments
must be delivered or mailed to the N.C. Wildlife

Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, NC 27604-1188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND
WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10A -WILDLIFE RESOURCES
COMMISSION

SECTION .1000 - WARNING TICKETS

.1001 PARTICULAR OFFENSES
(b) Warning Tickets Permitted. Where there

is a contemporaneous occurrence of more than

three violations of the motorboat statutes or ad-

ministrative rules, Wildlife Enforcement Officers

may issue a citation on the two most serious vi-

olations and a warning ticket on the lesser

violation(s). In addition, Wildlife Enforcement

Officers may issue warning tickets for the fol-

lowing offenses;

(1) Boating Violations:

(A) number missing, lack of contrast, not

properly spaced or less than three inches

in height;

(B) no validation decal affixed or incorrect

placement;

(C) fire extinguisher not charged or non-

approved;

(D) no fire extinguisher on boats with false

bottoms not completely sealed to hull or

filled with flotation material;

(E) failure to notify North Carolina Wildlife

Resources Commission of change of ad-

dress of boat owner;

(F) personal flotation device not Coast

Guard approved;
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(G) failure to display navigation lights when
there is evidence that lights malfunctioned

while underway;

(H) no sound device (on Class I boats

only);

(I) muffler not adequate;

(J) loaded firearm on access area;

(K) parking on access area in other than

designated parking area, provided traffic

to ramp not impeded;

(L) motorboat registration expired ten days

or less;

(M) no Type IV throwable personal

flotation device on board, but other per-

sonal flotation device requirements met;

(N) violation of no-wake speed zone when
mitigating circumstances present.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 13-140.

ing upstream to the first impoundment,
or to the headwaters, if unimpounded, the

daily creel limit for striped bass and their

hybrids is three fish. No striped bass be-

tween the lengths of 22 inches and 27

inches, both inclusive, may be retained

from April 1 through May 3 1 , aft4 h» fck
H*ay be rotainod from May 2i fc» Docom
b»F 3-4-r 1990. except no fish may be re-

tained in Roanoke River and its

tributaries including Cashie. Middle and
Eastmost rivers from May 1 to December
31, 1991.

Statutory Authority

1 13-304; 113-305.

G.S. 1/3-134; 113-292;

TITLE 16 - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
EDUCATION

******************

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the North Carolina Wildlife Re-

sources Commission intends to amend rule(s)

cited as ISA SCAC IOC .0305.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

September 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on June 17, 1991 at Room 386, Archdale

Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC
27611.

(^ omment Procedures: Interested persons may
present their views either orally or in writing at the

hearing. In addition, the record of hearing will

be open for receipt ofwritten commentsfrom June
2. 1991 to July 2, 1991 . Such written comments
must be delivered or mailed to the N.C. Wildlife

Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh. NC 27604-1188.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND
WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER IOC - INLAND FISHING
REGULATIONS

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH

.0305 OPEN SEASONS: CREEL AND SIZE
LIMITS

(b) Exceptions

(6) In the inland and joint waters of the

coastal rivers and their tributaries extend-

Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the State Board of Education in-

tends to amend rules cited as 16 NCAC 6C .0307

and .0401.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-

tober 1, 1991.

Thhe public hearing will be conducted at 9:30

a.m. for 16 NCAC 6C .0307 and 10:30 a.m. for
16 NCAC 6C .0401 on June 14, 1991 at Third

Floor Conference Room, Education Building, 116
West Edenton Street, Raleigh, North Carolina

27603-1712.

Ccomment Procedures: Any interested person

may present views and comments either in writing

prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing.

CHAPTER 6 - ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 6C - PERSONNEL

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION

.0307 CERTIFICATE RENEWAL
(a) Certificates are valid for a period of five

years from the effective date of issuance. Holders

must renew their certificates within each five-year

period. The department applies renewal credit

to the person's certificate field(s) and or profes-

sional duties.

(b) The department bases renewal or rein-

statement of a certificate on 15 units of renewal

credit. A unit of credit is equal to one quarter

hour or two-thirds of a semester hour of HIE
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credit, or one school year of teaching experience.

The department will not record less than one
credit on a certificate.

(c) Currently employed personnel shall main-

tain a professional growth plan in accordance

with department guidelines. These persons may-

obtain renewal credit for the following activities:

(1) college or university credit activities;

(2) teaching experience (one unit for every

year);

(3) local in-service courses or workshops
which carry at least one unit of renewal

credit and which meet the following crite-

ria:

(A) ten clock hours of direct training by the

instructor pef wwt will equal one unit of

renewal credit; over a poriod ef a least (we
.!!< hut n I i «"»-> Q r,'\ ti^i^i E I v qJ '~* '"•'' ririi t re

(B) content and instructional activities de-

signed in a sequential manner to develop

specified competencies of a specific popu-
lation;

(C) led by qualified instructional personnel

and directly supervised by the sponsoring

school unit;

(D) Credit is granted on the basis of pro-

gram completion and achievement of

specified individual performance, which is

determined by individual evaluation for

specified competencies;

(E) enrollment limited to assure account-

ability of credit granted;

(4) independent study of no more than five

units of renewal credit per five-year re-

newal period which meets the following

criteria:

(A) teachers and other certified personnel

help to develop local independent study-

procedures which the superintendent

keeps on file and periodically sends to

each certified employee;

(B) the employee and the superintendent

or his or her designee plan the experience

in advance, including identification of

competencies to be acquired and an eval-

uation to determine satisfactory achieve-

ment of those competencies; and
(C) the amount of credit awarded is related

to the complexity of the competencies to

be achieved;

(5) activities approved by the department,

(d) Each LEA and approved governing boards

of schools are responsible for assuring that all

local courses and workshops and independent

study activities which do not carry 1HE credit

meet the standards contained in this Rule.

(e) Agencies which the department authorizes

to administer renewal requirements locally shall

adopt a procedure to determine the appropriate-

ness of credit in advance of the renewal activity.

In determining appropriateness the agency must
consider direct relationship to critical job re-

sponsibilities, suitability of the content level and
properly established credit for the activity. Each
agency must report on participation in and ef-

fectiveness of renewal activities as the department

requests.

(f) Persons who hold a North Carolina certif-

icate but who are not currently employed in the

public schools or by approved boards may earn

renewal credit in college or university credit ac-

tivities, or local courses and workshops or activ-

ities approved by the department if they are

admitted on a space available basis. The de-

partment will determine the appropriateness of

the credits on the basis of the direct relationship

to the certificate field, the suitability of the con-

tent level and properly established credits for the

activity.

(g) The department will approve in advance

activities which are not established for certificate

renewal by LEAs or which do not carry regular

IHE credit, but which are offered for renewal

credit.

Authority G.S. U5C-12(9)a.
Article IX. Sec. 5.

N.C. Constitution,

SECTION .0400 - LEAVE

.0401 VACATION LEAVE
(a) All full-time or part-time permanent public

school employees who are working or on paid

leave for at least one-half of the calendar days in

a month earn vacation leave, based on length of

aggregate state service in North Carolina.

(b) A part-time permanent employee in a

budgeted position earns vacation leave on a pro

rata basis.

(c) Employees earn vacation leave as follows:

Yrs. of Aggregate Days Per Month
State Service of Employment

Less than 2 yrs. 1.00

2 but less than 5 yrs. 1.15

5 but less than 10 yrs. 1.40

10 but less than 15 vrs. 1.65

15 but less than 20 yrs. 1.90

20 yrs. or more 2.15

time or part-time permanent employment figured

on the same basis as for longevity pay. The LEA
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must establish the anniversary date for each em-
ployee on the basis of the employee's aggregate

state service.

(e) The LEA may advance vacation leave to

an employee.

(f) The LEA transfers unused vacation leave

when an employee transfers between LEAs. An
employee may have leave transferred to or from
a state agency or institution, community college

or technical institute, a position subject to the

State Personnel Act in a local mental health,

public health, social services or emergency man-
agement agency, if the receiving agency is willing

to accept the leave; otherwise, the employee will

be paid in a lump sum for accumulated leave not

to exceed 30 workdays.

(g) Leave payment at separation is subject to

the following:

(1) An employee who is overdrawn on leave

when he or she separates will have the

excess leave corrected through a deduction

from the final salary check.

(2) Payment for leave may be made on the

regular payroll or on a supplemental pay-

roll. The LEA makes payment from the

same source of funds and in the same
proportion as the employee's salary is

paid.

(3) Terminal leave payment is subject to the

same deductions as salary, including re-

tirement.

(4) The receipt of lump sum leave payment
and retirement benefit is not dual com-
pensation.

(5) The LEA makes payment for unpaid sal-

ary, terminal leave and travel of a deceased

employee to the personal representative

of the deceased employee, or if there is no
personal representative, to the Clerk of

Superior Court of the county in which the

employee resided.

(h) Each LEA shall maintain leave records for

all employees. LEAs must inform employees of

their leave balances at least once a year. LEAs
must retain leave records for separated employees

for at least five years from the date of separation.

(i) Leave must be taken in minimum units of

one-half or whole days.

(j) Instructional personnel and school bus

drivers may not take vacation leave on days when
students are scheduled to be in attendance.

These persons may take vacation leave instead

of sick leave on days when students are not

scheduled to attend. LEAs may designate spe-

cific scheduled workdays for required attendance

as long as employees have an opportunity to take

annual leave earned during the school year.

Employees may charge leave taken only to

scheduled teacher workdays and the ten vacation

leave days scheduled in the school calendar.

(k) Other employees may take vacation leave

instead of sick leave. These employees must
have an opportunity to take annual leave earned

in the school year.

Statutory Authority G.S. J/5C-272; 115C-285;

U5C-302; II5C-316.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

l\otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the North Carolina State Board of
Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to

repeal rule(s) cited as 21 \CAC 8G .0306.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-
tober I, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on June 24, 1991 at the N.C. State Board of
CPA Examiners, 1101 Ober/in Road, Ste. 104,

Raleigh. NC 27605.

Coomment Procedures: Any person interested in

this rule may present oral comments relevant to

the action proposed at the public rule-making

hearing or deliver written comments to the Board
office not later than Wednesday, June 12, 1991

.

Anyone planning to attend the hearing should no-

tify the Board office by 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday,
June 12, 1991 , and stale whether they wish to

speak on the proposal and whether they will speak

in favor of the proposal or against it. Anyone
speaking on the proposal will be limited to 10

minutes.

CHAPTER 8 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC
ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 8G - PROFESSIONAL ETHICS
AND CONDUCT

SECTION .0300 - OTHER RESPONSIBILITIES

.0306 FIRM NAME OR STYLE OF
A PRACTICE (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-5; 93-12(9).

******************

1\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the North Carolina Board of Phar-
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macy intends to amend rules cited as 21 NCAC
46 .2201, .2502, .2605; and adopt rule cited as 21

NCAC 46 .2602 (Existing Rules .2602 through

.2607 will be renumbered as Rules .2603 through

.2608), .2901 - .2902.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-

tober 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p.m. on June 25, 1991 at the Holiday Inn Four
Seasons, Greensboro. North Carolina.

O omment Procedures: Persons wishing to pres-

ent oral data, views or arguments on a proposed

rule or rule change may file a notice with the

Board at least 10 days prior to the public hearing

at which the person wishes to speak. Comments
should be limited to 10 minutes. The Board's

address: P.O. Box 499, Carrboro, NC 27510.

Any person may file a written submission of com-
ments or argument at any time up to and including

July 8, 1991.

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY

SECTION .2200 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

.2201 HOURS: RECORDS: PROVIDERS:
CORRESPONDENCE: RECIPROCITY

(d) Continuing education obtained for renewal

of a license to practice pharmacy shall include at

least two hours of credit for programs on
impairment issues over a two year period.

Pharmacists residing in North Carolina shall ob-

tain such hours from a program approved by the

Pharmacist Recovery Network and organl/.ed or

sponsored by the North Carolina Pharmaceutical

Association, the North Carolina Society of Hos-

ital Pharmacists, the University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill, or Campbell University,

(e) (4f Continuing education shall not serve as

a barrier to reciprocity; however all licensees by
reciprocity must observe the continuing educa-

tion standards specified in (a), (b) and (c) of this

Rule within the first renewal period after

licensure in this state and the continuing educa-

tion standard specified by Paragraph (d) of this

Rule within two years after licensure in this state.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.17;

90-85.18.

SECTION .2500 - MISCELLANEOUS
PROVISIONS

.2502 RESPONSIBILITIES OF PHARMACIST-
MANAGER

(Tj Any incident which unexpectedly produces

serious or permanent injury or death that in-

volves a drug or device dispensed from any lo-

cation holding a permit shall be promptly
reported in writing to the Board by the

pharmacist-manager or person in charge.

(k) It is the pharmacist-manager's responsibil-

ity to separate from their dispensing stock all

drug products more than six months out of date.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21.

SECTION .2600 - DEVICES

.2602 DISPOSABLE DEVICE
Disposable device means a device for single use

and capable of easy disposal with negligible loss

or labeled as disposable, and ordinarily intended

to be used and discarded within a week, such as

IV administration sets.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-85.3(e); 90-85.6.

Note: Existing Rules .2602 through .2607 will be

renumbered as .2603 through .2608.

.2605 RECORDS
All orders and records for devices shall conform

in all pertinent respects with Board Rules .2301

through .2305 of this Chapter. In addition to the

requirements of those rules, the serial numbers
for all devices dispensed to outpatients shall be

preserved as part of the records; provided, that

this requirement shall not apply to disposable

devices. Disposable devices and devices used for

administration of drugs are exempt from the re-

cord keeping provisions of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-85.3(e), (r); 90-85.6;

90-85.22; 90-85.26.

SECTION .2900 - PRODUCT SELECTION

.2901 REPACKAGED PHARMACEUTICALS
A prescription written for a drug product re-

sulting from repackaging of a specific generic

drug product by a distributor, repackager, or an-

other manufacturer, may be dispensed as an or-

der for either the specific generic drug product

or the repackaged product.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21.

.2902 RETURN OF OUTDATED DRUGS
Adequate provisions for return of outdated

drugs both full and partial containers as provided

in G.S. 90-85.28(a)(5) means that drugs can be

returned up to six months after the labeled expi-

ration date for prompt full credit or replacement.
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A finding by the Board that a manufacturer does

not meet this standard will cause that manufac-

turer's products to be ineligible for use in product

selection.

Statutory Authority

90-85.28 (a)(5).

G.S. 90-85.6;

******************

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-12 that the N.C. State Board of Examiners

of Practicing Psychologists intends to amend
rule(s) cited as 21 h'CAC 54 .1701, .1703 - .1704,

.1802 - .1803, .1902 - .1904, .2001 - .2002, .2004,

.2101. .2103; and adopt rule(s) cited as 21 NCAC
54 .1706, .2006.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-

tober I. 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 4:00

p.m. on June 20, 1991 at the Holiday Inn, North,

Winston-Salem, N.C.

Coomment Procedures: Requests to present

written or oral comments at the public hearing or

other comments not presented at the hearing

should be submitted in writing by June 17, 1991

,

to the Board at the following address:

N.C. State Board of Examiners of Practicing

Psychologists

University Hall

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608

CHAPTER 54 - BOARD OF PRACTICING
PSYCHOLOGISTS

SECTION .1700 - APPLICATION FOR
LICENSURE

.1701 INFORMATION REQUIRED
(a) The information required for each applicant

consists of:

(1) typed, or legibly printed, notarized appli-

cation form and application fee;

(2) official, graduate college transcripts sent

directly to the Board by the training

institutions(s);

(3) completed and acceptable information

forms from present and past supervisors;

(4) three completed and acceptable reference

lett ers forms from professionals who are

familiar with the applicant's current work,

one of which is from a doctoral level psy-

chologist;

(5) evidence of being 18 years of age and of

good moral character;

(6) acceptable information forms sent directly

from other states and provinces in which
the applicant has applied for a license or

has been licensed, if applicable;

(7) official report of any previous score ob-

tained on the Examination for Profes-

sional Practice in Psychology sent directly

to the Board from the Professional Ex-
amination Service, if applicable; and

(8) additional documentation regarding edu-

cational credentials described in 21 NCAC
54 .1801(b) and (c| Practicing Psychol-

ogist Requirements as of June 30, 1987,

21 NCAC 54 .1802(b) Psychological As-

sociate, and 21 NCAC 54 .1803(b) Prac-

ticing Psychologist Requirements as of

July 1. 1989, if applicable.
J rt finnli,-ntii-\» 1 1 • 1 1 1 t1i\t \~. . 1 r. 11 1 I . n I Mfl Kl I * \-\ II Oaj *"/A
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tf ali requested materials afe Hot- rocoivc-d within

««e v#af from $h» 4ate b( application. Whon
ouch is &<* case, a» applicant must totally reap

f4^r submitting all information again.

(b) . An application must contain all requested

materials to be complete. An incomplete appli-

cation is active for six months from the date of

application. At the end of such time, if still in-

complete, the application is void, and the appli-

cant must totally reapply.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9;

90-270.1 l(a),(b); 90-270.15; 150B-11(1).

.1703 TEMPORARY LICENSES
(d) A psychologist who meets all requirements

of G.S. 90-270.1 1(a) for licensing, except the two
years of acceptable and appropriate experience,

may be issued a temporary license. To upgrade

to permanent status, an application form must
be filed with the Board, final supervision re-

ports will be required from all psychologists

whose supervision time is not already docu-

mented in the applicant's file.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.5; 90-270.9.

.1704 REVIEW PROCEDURE
(c) If the credentials are declared unacceptable,

the applicant is se- informed a«4 is given an ex-

planation of the areas which are considered defi-

cient and informed of his her right to an

administrative hearing.

(d) If, during the review of information sub-

mitted with an application, questions arise from

comments made in reference letters or supervisor
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reports which may pertain to the ethical behavior

or the moral character of the applicant, such

questions are dealt with in the following manner:

(1) An effort is made to clarify the particulars

of any allegations by correspondence or

telephone calls with the person who has

made the comments and/or with the ap-

plicant.

(2) If the questions are not resolved, the ap-

plicant ohall may be asked to appear be-

fore the Board for an interview.

(3) Following th« any interview, the Board
conducts a full discussion of the

allegations and determines by formal vote

whether the evidence is sufficient to deny
licensure.

(4) If licensure is denied, a gonoral an expla-

nation of the grounds on which the deci-

sion was made is given and the applicant

is informed of his/her right to an admin-

istrative hearing. 44*e applicant may
present additional written evidence »
support ef the application, moot pef-

Gonally with the Board to support further

the position taken, ©f request a contested

ease hoaring.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I50B-1I(1).

90-270.9: 90-270.15;

.1706 REAPPLICATION
To reapply, an applicant must again submit all

information listed in 21 NCAC 54 .1701 Infor-

mation Required and, if applicable, .1702 For-

eign Degree Application Policy. A reapplication

will be reviewed under the statutes and rules in

effect on the date of reapplication.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-ll(l).

SECTION .1800 - EDUCATION

.1802 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE
(c) An applicant whose credentials have been

approved by the Board for examination at the

practicing psychologist level may be issued a li^

cense as a psychological associate if the applicant

fails an examination at the practicing psychol-

ogist level but passes such at the psychological

associate level. To receive this license, the ap-

plicant must make a written request to the Board
for licensure at the psychological associate level

within 30 days from the date on which the ap-

plicant is notified of his her examination score.

Statutory A uthority

90-270.4(a); 90-270.9;

90-270. 11(b)(3).

G.S. 90-270.2(f);
90-270.1 l(b)(l)c;

.1803 PRACTICING PSYCHOLOGIST
REQUIREMENTS AS OF JULY 1, 1989

(c) Two years of acceptable and appropriate

supervised experience is as defined in 2j_ NCAC
54 .2001 Supervisor, .2002 Nature of Supervision,

and .2004 Time Requirements.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.2(a); 90-270.9;

90-270.11 (a) (l)c.

SECTION .1900 - EXAMINATION

.1902 REPORTING OF SCORES
Each applicant for licensure is informed in

writing of his/her score on the national and state

examinations. Those who have not passed are

informed that licensure is denied and of the poli-

cies regarding re-examination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9.

.1903 RETAKING
An applicant who has not passed an examina-

tion is allowed to retake such on the next sched-

uled examination date upon paying payment of

the required examination fee. If an applicant fails

an examination twice, he/she must totally reap-

ply, submitting again all info nnation listed m 34-

NCAC r4 .1701 Informatkm Required aft4r tf

applicable, .1702 Foroign Degree Application

Policy. The examination may be taken only for

licensure purposes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9.

.1904 FAILURE TO APPEAR
If an applicant does not appear for an exam-

ination on the first scheduled examination date

following approval »f credentials, he- she may be
admitted to the sooond scheduled examination.

M the applicant foils to appear toF the second es-

amination, lioonsure is denied. U a» applicant to

which admitted by the Board, or does not appear

for reexamination on the first scheduled exam-
ination date following failure of an examination,

he/she may be admitted to the second scheduled

examination. U the applicant foils to appear toF

the second examination, licensure is denied.

When licensure is denied, the applicant must

totally reapply, submitting; auain all information

fote4 » 24- NCAC 54 4W Information Re-
quired afto? if applicable, . 1 702 Foreign Degree

Application Policy. The examination may be
taken only toF licensure purposes, must totally

reapply.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9.
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SECTION .2000 - SUPERVISION

.2001 SUPERVISOR
fa) A licensed practicing psychologist, pcrma

nont, w4Jl h% recognised as a» appropriate super

psychologist, temporary. ja addition, aay person
who Vr*? m a psychology position with taa State

»f North Carolina aa December 34-r 1979, aaa
who a* >4+H sa employed, w41i ha recognized a»
appropriate supervisor fof aay psychological ae-

sociat e af practicing psychologist, temporary,

who is employed ay a state agency at depart

ment; provided that- such supervision a>r aaa! was
t+» December t*4t 1979, within tha psychologist's

regular j*4* description aa4 is only fof activities

which aa* pai4 ef tha regular duties aa4 respon

sibilities el tha supervisee within his
;

hor regular

position. Being designated a* an- appropriate

supervisor faf other licensoos m aa way affects a

psychological associate's af practicing psych ol

o gist's, temporary, obligation ta comply them
selves with supervision requirements.

(a) The following individuals may be recog-

nized as an appropriate supervisor for any psy-

chological associate or practicing psychologist,

temporary:

( 1

)

a licensed practicing psychologist, perma-
nent,

(2) professionals other than psychologists, in

keeping with Rule .2005 in this Section;

(3) any person who was in a psychology po-

sition with the State of North Carolina on
December 31 1979, who still

employed, provided that such supervision

ijv and was on December 31. 1979, within

the psychologist's regular job description

and is only for activities which are part of

the regular duties and responsibilities of

the supervisee within his her regular posi-

tion at a state agency or department:

(4) a doctoral level licensed psychologist who
is licensed in the state or province where

the supervisee is practicing psychology;

or

(5) an individual who, although not licensed

as a psychologist, is_j in the opinion of the

Board, trained as a psychologist.

(b) 1 he Board may disapprove an otherwise

qualified supervisor for any psychological associ-

ate or practicing psychologist, temporary, if the

potential supervisor, m the opinion of the Board,

is not acceptable. Reasons tor which a proposed

supervisory relationship may be disapproved

shall include, but not be limited to:

( 1 ) evidence that the potential supervisor is

not competent or qualified to supervise

the supervisee;

(2) evidence that the supervisor has failed to

adhere to ethical standards;

(3) evidence that there is a lack of congruence

between the potential supervisor's train-

ing, experience, and area of practice and
the supervisee's proposed area(s) of prac-

tice; or

(4) the supervisor has an encumbered license.

(c) fa} It is the supervisor's responsibility to

provide the best possible professional guidance

which is mutually beneficial to both the

supervisee and to the public which he/she ulti-

mately serves. It is the supervisor who serves as

a primary professional guardian of the supervisee,

the profession, and the public. Supervisors are

to carefully assess their own ability to meet the

particular needs of potential supervisees. It is

expected that the professional expertise and ex-

perience of the supervisor will parallel the ex-

pected practice of the supervisee. Should there

be some areas in which the supervisor does not

feel so qualified, adjunct supervisors shall be

sought, although this additional supervision is, in

no way, to replace the overall responsibility of

the primary supervisor. Clear professional goals

shall be set by the supervisor and supervisee for,

and during, the period of supervision and these

goals must be evaluated on a regular basis.

(d) (a) In order to maintain the professional

nature of the supervision, a familial or strongly

personal relationship shall not exist between the

supervisor and supervisee, except in extra-

ordinary circumstances, such as the unavailability

of any other qualified supervisor. In such cases,

the Board may require documentation that no
other supervision is available and reference letters

from colleagues commenting on the appropriate-

ness of the proposed supervisory relationship.

Statutory A uthority

90-270.5(d); 90-270.9.

G.S. 90-270.2(f);

.2002 NATURE OF SUPERVISION
(c) The supervisee and his her supervisor arc

expected to determine jointly which cases, issues,

and techniques are most appropriate and neces-

sary for supervision, although both parties are

fully accountable tor all professional activities in

terms of adequate standards of care and adher-

ence to other relevant ethics principles. Specific

supervision is not mandated for each person

evaluated or treated, or for everv treatment,

evaluative technique, or professional activity

undertaken. Supervisors are not required to sign

or co-sign reports, treatment plans, letters, or

other clinical documents for which the supervisee

may be fully or in part responsible; neither is it

necessary that such clinical documents reflect the
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supervisory process. Agencies are not, of course,

precluded from requiring supervisor signatures

or co-signatures.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.2(f);
90-270.5(d); 90-270.9.

.2004 TIME REQUIREMENTS
(a) Practicing Psychologist, Temporary. All

activities involving the practice of psychology are

subject to review by a supervisor.

(2) Permanent status requires at least two full

calendar years and 3100 hours of post-

doctoral supervised practice. Temporary
licensees are encouraged to meet this re-

quirement through full-time practice.

Full-time practice is credited based on the

number of weeks of actual practice.

Part-time practice is credited based on the

number of hours per week of actual prac-

tice. A maximum of 31 hours may be

credited for a week of actual practice. U
the required supervised experience is Ret-

accumulated witlun twe foH calendar

years, a written request must be made fof

extension ef the temporary license. A-»

explanation must be provided te the

Board regarding t+te necessity fef oxten

sion. aft4 a statement provided indicating

the 4ate that the supervision wiH be com
pletod.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.2(f);
90-270.4(a2); 90-270.5(d); 90-270.9.

.2006 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE
ACTIVITIES

(a) Activities involving overall personality ap-

praisal or classification are subject to review by
a supervisor. Such appraisal and classification

requiring supervision is defined as any assessment

or evaluative technique (i.e., testing, observation,

interviewing, or reports of others) which leads to

conclusions, inferences, and hypotheses regarding

personality functioning. Included are all state-

ments relative to personality attributes, features,

traits, structure, dynamics, and pathology or as-

sets, whether or not these lead to a diagnosis or

diagnostic impression. Techniques include but

are not limited to the following: observation;

open-ended and structured interviewing; word
association tests; diagnostic play therapy;

autobiographical techniques; mental status ex-

aminations; and, the use of "projective" and
"objective" techniques. "Projective" techniques

include such instruments as the Rorschach, The-
matic Apperception Test, Tasks of Emotional
Development, the Children's Apperception Test,

the House-Tree-Person Technique, the Draw-A-
Person (when used to assess personality), Kinetic

Family Drawings, sentence completion tests, and
all similar tests. "Objective" personality tests

include the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality

Inventory, the Millon tests, the California Per-

sonality Inventory, the 16PF, the California Test

of Personality, and all other self-report invento-

ries and questionnaires, as well as scales and
check lists completed by others. The tests iden-

tified in this Rule as requiring supervision do not

constitute an exhaustive list, only the most com-
monly utilized measures.

(b) Neuropsychological evaluation requires

supervision.

(c) Not requiring supervision are

neuropsychological screening and interviewing

and observation which lead to simple behavioral

descriptions. Initial screening interviews which
may lead to referral for more extensive evaluation

or treatment do not require supervision. Also

not requiring supervision are adjective check lists,

behavior rating scales, and other rating devices

which may be completed by a variety of profes-

sional and non-professional observers and are

subsequently interpreted by other parties.

(d) Activities involving personality counseling

or personality readjustment techniques are sub-

ject to review by a supervisor. In determining

whether or not supervision is required, the fol-

lowing must be considered:

(1) the nature of the techniques to be used;

(2) the target behavior, attitude, affect, habit,

or other personality attribute or feature to

be acquired or modified; and

(3) the population which is treated or ad-

dressed.

(e) Supervision is required for activities if any

one of the following is met:

(1) techniques: Those requiring supervision,

whether utilized by the psychological As-

sociate or those supervised by him her,

include but are not limited to

psychotherapy, group therapies,

therapeutic counseling or therapeutic

interviewing, and hypnotherapeutic pro-

cedures. Also included are behavior

management and behavior modification

techniques which utilize punishment

(negative reinforcers, aversive stimulation,

and, in some instances, the withdrawal of

positive reinforcers), extended "time out"

(beyond several minutes), seclusion (in

which a client is locked in a room or oth-

erwise prevented from leaving), and all

physical restraint. Also included are any

other techniques which are physically in-

trusive, are restrictive of basic human
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rights, or are experimental in nature in

which the efficacy and degree of risk are

unknown. Biofeedback techniques, how-
ever, do not require supervision;

(2) target behaviors or symptoms: These in-

clude behaviors, attitudes, affects, habits,

or other personality attributes or features,

which, when addressed either directly with

the person or in consultation, include ac-

tivity which is actually or is potentially

maladaptive or harmful to the person,

others, or the physical environment.

These include but are not limited to: ad-

justment difficulties; attention deficit;

hyperactivity; impulsivity; sexual difficul-

ties; aggression; somatization; anxiety;

self-injurious behavior; substance use;

antisocial behavior; conduct disturbances;

elimination and eating disturbances; de-

pression or other deviant mood; psychotic

activity; interpersonal difficulty; and, any

other seriously self-defeating or self-

compromising behavior. Supervision is

required regardless of whether the behav-

ior or symptoms meet the criteria for

formal diagnosis; and

(3) clinical populations: All interventions

with clinical populations require super-

vision. These are comprised of persons

with discernible mental, behavioral, emo-
tional, psychological, and psychiatric dis-

orders as evidenced by an established Axis

I or Axis II diagnosis or V Code condition

in the then current DSM, and all persons

meeting the criteria for such diagnoses.

Not included, however, would be persons

with mental retardation diagnoses or spe-

cific developmental disorders (learning

disabilities) when the psychological asso-

ciate's interventions are in the domain of

cognition rather than personality, and

when there is no accompanying behavior

or personality disorder. Not requiring

supervision are techniques designed to

stop or reduce cigarette smoking in other-

wise non-clinical populations. Any per-

son who carries a diagnosis from an

alternative nosology (e.g., GAP or ICD),

or is a Willie M. Class member, or quali-

fies for an educational placement based

on an emotional or behavioral condition,

or meets the diagnostic criteria from DSM
or any of the above, whether established

or not, is considered to be a member of a

clinical population. Most persons in

outpatient psychiatric or psychological

treatment and many children with juvenile

court involvement would thus be in-

cluded. Supervision is required for a psy-

chological associate who provides clinical

supervision to other service providers who
are engaged in activities which would re-

quire supervision if directly provided by
the psychological associate,

(f) Psychological associates may use non-
therapy, non-punitive, non-intrusive, non-
experimental techniques without supervision to

teach or facilitate new behaviors in the absence

of maladaptive behavior or psychopathological

conditions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.2(f); 90-270.9.

SECTION .2100 - RENEWAL

.2101 LICENSE RENEWAL FORM
(a) The license renewal application form is

mailed to each licensee in the fall of each year.

It is a licensee's responsibility to renew his her

Irviw in a ti meK m. tinier, and to notih the

Board if a renewal application form is not re-

ceived.

(b) J» addition te the request fof current ad-

dresses, the form requires The form may require

the licensee to supply the following information

including, but not limited to, the following:

current addresses; area of specialty; principal set-

ting of practice; whether or not the licensee re-

ceived any formal continuing education during

the past year; report on all supervision contract

forms on file with the Board if licensed at the

psychological associate or practicing psychol-

ogist, temporary, level.

(c) Failure of a postal service to deliver the re-

newal application properly, or failure of a

licensee to submit all required information on the

appropriate form bv anv established statutory'

deadline, does not excuse the late fee or prevent

license suspension.

Statutory' Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14;

I50B-11(1).

.2103 REINSTATEMENT
(a) The information required for each applicant

requesting reinstatement alter a license has been

suspended due to non-renewal &f aftet a practic

me psychologist, temporary, license ha* expired

consists of:

(1) typed, or legibly printed, notarized appli-

cation form;

(2) completed and acceptable information

forms from aM present and past supervi-

sors; since the license w» suspended e*

expired:
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(3) three completed and acceptable current

professional reference letters, forms from
professionals who are familiar with the

applicant's current work, one of which is

from a doctoral level psychologist;

(4) acceptable information forms sent directly

from other states and provinces in which

with the (5)

the applicant has applied for a license or

has been licensed, if applicable; and
official graduate college transcripts, not on
file in the Board's office, sent directly to

the Board by the training institution(s).

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.15.
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1 he List of Rules Codified is a listing of rules that were filed to be effective in the month indicated.

lKules filed for publication in the NCAC may not be identical to the proposed text published pre-

viously in the Register. Rules filed with changes are noted with ** Amended, ** Adopted. Please

contact this office ifyou have any questions.

/xdopted rules filed by the Departments of Correction. Revenue and Transportation are published

in this section. These departments are not subject to the provisions ofG.S. JSOB, Article 2 requiring

publication in the N.C. Register ofproposed rules.

Upon request from the adopting agency, the text of rules will be published in this section.

lunctuation, typographical and technical changes to rules are incorporated into the List of Rules

Codified and are noted as * Correction. These changes do not change the effective date of the rule.

TITLE 5 - DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF PRISONS

SUBCHAPTER 2F - CUSTODY AND SECURITY

SECTION .2500 - SMOKING - NO SMOKING

.2502 PROCEDURE
(a) Responsibility:

(1) The Correctional Center Superintendent and or Area Administrator or Institution Head, pur-

suant to this policy, should establish smoking no smoking areas within the facility.

(2) The Superintendent or Institution Head should incorporate the smoking no smoking desig-

nations in the facility's Standard Operating Procedures.

lb) Designation of No Smoking .Areas. Smoking is prohibited in the following locations:

(
1

)

Hazardous Areas: These areas include any location which has or may have flammable liquids,

gases or vapors, as well as any area where there is a collection of readily combustible materials.

.Any questions about such designation should be referred to the Division's Safety Officer.

(2) Elevators.

(3) Health Care Facilities: These areas include clinical treatment areas, i.e. operating rooms, ex-

amining rooms, nursing stations, x-ray suites. Smoking in other areas of health care facilities is

restricted to private offices and other non-clinical areas designated by the Health Treatment

Administrator or Nursing Supervisor.

(4) Food Preparation and Serving Areas: These areas include sections of the kitchen where and
when food is being prepared and or served.

(5) Vehicles: This prohibition applies when inmates are being transported and when the vehicle is

being fueled and or serviced.

(o Designation of Restricted Smoking Areas:

(1) Restrictions may include designated smoking and no smoking areas in each specific location

within the facility. Prior to designating smoking no smoking areas, the Superintendent or In-

stitution Head should review the physical layout of the facility and the existence of ventilation

in a particular location within the facility.
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(2) The designation of restricted smoking areas will be established in the following locations, except

as authorized by the Superintendent or Institution Head for a designated use and/or time:

(A) Dining facilities;

(B) Classrooms;

(C) Libraries;

(D) Dormitories;

(E) Single Cell Buildings;

(F) Gyms;
(G) Recreation Buildings;

(H) Auditoriums;

(I) Chapels.

(3) Smoking restrictions in prison enterprise operations should be determined by safety issues, the

nature of the specific operation, and the physical environment of the operation.

(4) The Superintendent or Institution Head should consider establishing smoking/no smoking areas

in any other location within the facility not previously specified.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-1 1;

Eff. April 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

.2503 NOTICE
(a) No Smoking Areas. "No Smoking" signs should be placed in areas where smoking is prohibited

or restricted.

(b) Smoking Areas. "Smoking" signs should be placed in areas where smoking is permitted. Areas
where smoking is permitted should have an adequate number of non-combustible ashtrays.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-1 1;

Eff. April 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 1 1 - PROPERTY TAX COMMISSION

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION OF COMMISSION

.0101 LOCATION
The Property Tax Commission is located in the Williams-Cross Building at the intersection of
Hillsborough Street and Boylan Avenue in Raleigh, North Carolina. The mailing address of the

Commission is: 706 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, N. C. 27603.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-288; 105-290; 143B-217 to 143B-225;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

.0102 GENERAL PURPOSE

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-288; 143B-217 to I43B-225;

143B-10;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Repealed Eff June 1, 1991.

.0103 COMMISSION ORGANIZATION
The Property Tax Commission consists of five members including a chairman who is designated by

the Governor and a vice-chairman elected by the members. The Governor appoints three of the
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members and the General Assembly appoints two. Of the members appointed by the General As-
sembly, one is recommended by the Speaker of the House and one is recommended by the President

of the Senate. The member appoint on the recommendation of the Speaker of the House is appointed

for a two year term; all other members are appointed for a four year term. The Director of the Property

Tax Division serves as Secretary for the Commission and the employees of the Ad Valorem Tax Section

serve as its staff to investigate appeals and perform other duties as requested by the Commission.

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-217 to 143B-225;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1. 1991.

SECTION .0200 - APPEALS TO PROPERTY TAX COMMISSION

.0201 WHO MAY APPEAL
Any person having an ownership interest in property subject to taxation within a taxing jurisdiction

may appeal; however, this provision shall not be construed as giving any person a right to represent the

interest of another person. Representation of a party in a proceeding before the Property Tax Com-
mission constitutes the practice of law.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 84-4; 105-290; 143B-222;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff June 1, 1991.

.0202 WHEN APPEALS MAY BE TAKEN
A taxpayer who is dissatisfied with a decision concerning the listing, appraisal, or assessment of

property made by a board of county Commissioners, a board of equalization and reveiw, or (in the case

of public service companies) the Department of Revenue may appeal to the Property Tax Commission.

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-2SS; 105-290:

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff June 1, 1991.

.0203 APPEALS EROM LISTING, APPRAISAL, OR ASSESSMENT DECISIONS

.0204 APPEALS EROM ADOPTION OF SCHEDULES, STANDARDS AND RULES

Historv Note: Statutory Authority G.S. I05-290(b),(c);

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Repealed Eff June 1. 1991.

.0205 NOTICE OF APPEAL
A notice of appeal to the Commission shall be in writing, and shall state the grounds for the appeal.

The notice of appeal should be signed by the property owner or his attorney. Non-attomey "tax rep-

resentatives" may sign a notice of appeal on behalf of the property owner provided a signed and nota-

rized power of attorney or other properly executed authorization to represent the property owner is filed

with the notice. A power of attorney form is available from the Commission. A copy of the notice

of appeal should be sent to the county assessor.

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-290; I43B-222;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff June 1, 1991.

.0206 WHO SHALL HEAR THE APPEAL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-290(b);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff. June 1. 1991.
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.0207 PLACE OF HEARING
AH hearings before the Commission will be held in Raleigh, North Carolina unless the Commission

designates another location.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-290; 143B-222;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

.0208 PRE-HEARFNG CONFERENCE
In any appeal, the Commission or the staff of the Commission may hold a conference in advance of

the hearing for the purpose of simplifying the issues, stipulating certain facts or findings, and discussing

any other matters which will help to expedite the appeal.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-291; 143B-222;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff June 1, 1991.

.0209 CONDUCT OF HEARFNG
The hearing before the Commission is a formal adversarial proceeding conducted under the rules of

evidence as applied in the Trial Division of the General Courts of Justice. The North Carolina Rules

of Civil Procedure do not apply to proceedings before the Commission.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 1A-1; 105-290; 143B-222;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

.0210 VALUATION IS FLNAL AND CONCLUSIVE

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-290;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Repealed Eff June I, 1991.

.0211 JUDICIAL REVIEW
No party aggrieved by a final decision or order of the Commission may appeal unless within 30 days

after the entry of such decision or order the party shall file with the Commission a notice of appeal and
exceptions which sets forth specifically the ground or grounds upon which the aggrieved party considers

said decision or order to be unlawful, unjust, unreasonable, or unwarranted. Trie notice of appeal shall

clearly state the errors alleged to have been committed by the Commission.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-345;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.

.0212 APPEALS ACKNOWLEDGED AND REPLIES THERETO PERMITTED
(a) Notices of appeal to the Commission will be acknowledged in writing and an application for

hearing will be mailed to the appellant. A copy of the letter of acknowledgement will also be mailed
to the county assessor and to the county attorney.

(b) Unless an extension has been requested and granted, the application for hearing must be filed

within 30 days of the date of the letter of acknowledgment or the appeal may be dismissed. A copy
of the completed application for hearing must also be sent to the county attorney at the same time.

(c) The county attorney will be allowed 20 days from the receipt of the completed application for

hearing to file a written Answer to the appeal. A copy of the Answer shall be sent to the appellant at

the same time. The county's failure to file an Answer, however, shall not constitute a waiver of the

county's rights nor an admission of the appellant's allegations.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-222;

Eff. June 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991.
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.0215 PARTIES FURNISHED NOTICE OF PROPOSED HEARING DATE
Approximately 50 days before the scheduled dates of a hearing, the Secretary of the Commission will

establish a proposed hearing calendar of appeals to be heard and will mail to each of the affected parties

a notice setting out the proposed dates of the hearing. Any party objecting to the proposed dates must
notify the Secretary in writing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice, and shall set forth the specific

objections in the form of a motion to continue. The Secretary shall rule on motions to continue timely

made.

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-290; 143B-222;

Eff. June 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. June 1. 1991.

.0217 APPEARANCE AT HEARING REQUIRED
(a) In order to pursue an appeal, the appellant must either appear at the scheduled hearing or be re-

presented at the hearing by an attorney at law. Attorneys at law not authorized to practice in North
Carolina must comply with the provisions of G.S. 84-4.1, which requires that a North Carolina attor-

ney appear with the out-of-state attorney at the hearing.

(b) If no continuance has been granted, the failure of the appellant or his attorney to appear at the

scheduled time and date for hearing is grounds for dismissal of the appellant's appeal. The Commission
may dismiss the appeal on motion of the opposing party or on its own motion.

(c) If the appellant is a trust, a trustee may appear for the trust; if the appellant is a partnership, a

general partner may appear for the partnership. A family member may not represent another family

member; an attorney-in-fact may not represent grantor of the power of attorney.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. S4-4; S4-4.1; 143B-222;

Eff. June 1, 1991.
'

.0218 DISCOVERY
(a) Discovery methods are means designed to assist parties in preparing to meet their responsibilities

and protect their rights during hearing without unduly delaying, burdening, or complicating the hearings

process and with due regard to the rights and responsibilities of other parties and persons affected.

Accordingly, parties are obliged to exhaust all less formal opportunities to obtain discoverable material

before utilizing this Rule.

(b) Any means of discovery available pursuant to the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S.

1A-1, is allowed. If the party from whom discovery is sought objects to the discovery, the party seeking

the discovery may file a motion with the Commission to obtain an order compelling discovery. In the

disposition of the motion, the party seeking the discovery shall have the burden of showing that the

discovery is needed for the proper presentation of the party's case, is not for purposes of delay, and that

the issues in controversy are significant enough to warrant the discovery. In ruling on a motion for

discovery, the Commission shall recognize all privileges recognized at law.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-222;

Eff. June 1. 1991.

.0219 COMMISSION STAFF NOT TO BE CALLED AS WITNESSES
No member of the staff of the Commission may be called as a witness in a proceeding before the

Commission unless the Commission shall first find that the testimony of a staff member is necessary

to prevent manifest injustice to a party.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-222;

Eff. June I, 1991.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 3 - DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
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SUBCHAPTER 3D - LICENSE AND THEFT SECTION

SECTION .0800 - SAFETY RULES AND REGULATIONS

.0801 SAFETY OF OPERATION AND EQUIPMENT
(a) The rules and regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of Transportation relating to safety

of operation and equipment (49 CFR Parts 390-398 and amendments thereto) shall apply to all for-hire

motor carrier vehicles, whether common carriers, contract carriers or exempt carriers and all private

motor carriers, while engaged in interstate commerce over the highways of the State of North Carolina.

(b) The rules and regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of Transportation relating to safety

of operation and equipment (49 CFR Parts 390-398 and amendments thereto) shall apply to all for-hire

motor carrier vehicles, whether common carriers, contract carriers or exempt carriers and all private

motor carrier vehicles engaged in intrastate commerce over the highways of the State of North Carolina

if such vehicles have a GVWR of greater than 26,000 pounds; are designed to transport 16 or more
passengers, including the driver; or transport hazardous materials required to be placarded pursuant to

49 CFR 170-190. Provided, the following exceptions shall also apply to all intrastate motor carriers:

(1) 49 CFR 396.17 shall not apply to vehicles operated by farmers or their employees solely within

North Carolina.

(2) An intrastate motor carrier driver may not drive more than 12 hours following eight consecutive

hours off duty; or for any period after having been on duty 16 hours following eight consecutive

hours off duty; or after having been on duty 70 hours in seven consecutive days; or more than

80 hours in eight consecutive days. An intrastate driver will be determined by his previous seven

days of operation.

(3) Persons who otherwise quality medically to operate a commercial motor vehicle within the State

of North Carolina will be exempt from provisions of Part 391.11(b)(1) and Part 391.41(b)(1)

through (11) and therefore will be authorized for intrastate operation if licensed prior to March
30, 1992, are approved by an Exemption Review Officer appointed by the Commissioner of

Motor Vehicles and meet all other requirements of this Section. These drivers shall continue

to be exempt upon completion of a biennial medical examination indicating the condition has

not worsened or no new disqualifying conditions have been diagnosed and upon continued ap-

proval of an Exemption Review Officer.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-384;

Eff. December 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1991; November 1, 1990;

September I. 1990; Nmember 1, 1988.
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

LIST OF RULES CODIFIED

MAY 1991

AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

ACTION TAKEN

2 NCAC 9L .0506 Amended

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

4 NCAC 3G .0001 - .0003 Repealed

.0104 Adopted

.0201 Adopted

.0202 ** Adopted

.0301 ** Adopted

.0302 - .0303 Adopted

.0401 - .0403 Adopted

.0501 ** Adopted

.0503 - .0504 Adopted
"

.0101 - .0105 Repealed

.0201 - .0206 Repealed

.0301 -.0305 Repealed

.0501 -\0503 Repealed

.0510 Repealed

.0517 - .0520 Repealed

12C .0005 - .0006 ** Amended
19R .0101 Adopted

.0102 - .0103 ** Adopted

.0201 - .0202 Adopted

.0301 - .0302 Adopted

.0303 - .0304 ** Adopted

.0305 Adopted

.0401 Adopted

.0402 ** Adopted

.0501 Adopted

.0502 ** Adopted

.0503 - .0505 Adopted

.0601 Adopted

.0602 ** Adopted

.0603 - .0604 Adopted

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

5 NCAC 2B .0301 Amended

OFFICES OF THE GOVERNOR/LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

9 NCAC 2B Executive Order Number 135

Eff. March 19. 1991

Executive Order Number 136

Eff. March 20, 1991

Executive Order Number 137

Eff. March 22, 1991
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Executive Order Number 138

Eff. March 28, 1991

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

10 NCAC 3R .2801 - .2809 ** Adopted
3U .0511 * Correction

14K .0325 Repealed

.0408 Amended
20F .0501 Adopted

.0502 - .0503 * Adopted

.0504 Adopted

.0505 -.05 10 ** Adopted
26H .0202 Temp. Amended

Expires 09-30-91

.0204 Temp. Amended
Expires 09-30-91

.0206 Temp. Amended
Expires 09-30-91

42C .3301 Amended
42D .1401 Amended

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

11 NCAC 14 .0308 ** Adopted

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

15A NCAC 7H .0208 ** Amended
8A .0101 - .0102 ++ Amended

.0202 + * Amended
SB .0108 - .0109 Amended

.0201 Amended

.0202 - .0205 ** Amended

.0302 Amended

.0303 Amended

.0404 - .0405 ** Amended
8C .0002 ** Amended

.0004 +* Amended
8D .0004 ** Amended

.0005 - .0006 Amended
10H .0807 ** Amended
13A .0009 - .0010 Amended

.0015 Repealed

.00 16 -.00 17 * Correction

16A .0801 Adopted
.0802 ** Adopted
.0803 Adopted
.0804 ** Adopted
.0805 Adopted
.0806 + Adopted
.0807 -.08 10 Adopted

18A .1957 ++ Amended
.2501 - .2507 Repealed

.2508 Adopted

.2509 ** Adopted

.25 10 -.25 11 Adopted

.2512 ** Adopted

.2513 Adopted
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.2514- .2515

.2516- .2519

.2520

.2521 - .2535

.2536

.2601

.2604- .2605

.2607

.2608

.2609

.2610

.2612

.2613

.2614- .2615

.2617

.2619

.2623 - .2628

.2629

.2630

.2631

.2632 - .2634

.2635

.2637

.2638

.2640

.2641

.2701

.2702

.2704 - .2705

.2706

.2708

.2710

.2712

.2714

.2716

.2718

.2720

.2722

.2723

.2724

.2725

.2901

19A .0102

.0201

19H .0601

.1001

.1301

21 D .0706

24A .0303

DEPARTMENT OF EDI CATION

16 NCAC 6C .0205

.0310

6H .0010

N.C. AlCTIONEERS COMMISSION

21 NCAC 4B .0201

** Adopted
** Adopted
Adopted
** Adopted
Adopted
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
.Amended
** Amended
.Amended
Amended
** Amended
/Amended
** Amended
/Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
/Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Adopted
** Amended
** Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
/Amended
.Amended

** Amended
** Amended
** .Amended

** Amended
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.0302 - .0303

.0403

.0603

BOARD OF CPA EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 8F .0105

BOARD OF COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 14A .0101

14G .0003

.0007

141 .0103

.0109

14L .0101

BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 16A .0001

.0004

16B .0101

.0307

.0315

16C .0306

161 .0004

16J .0003

Eff. June 1, 1991

Amended
Eff. June 1, 1991
** Amended
Eff. June 1, 1991
** Adopted
Eff. June 1, 1991

* Correction

** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended
** Amended

Amended
Amended
Amended
Amended
** Amended
Amended
Amended
** Amended

BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

21 NCAC 37 .0603

.0606

Amended
Amended

N.C. REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

21 NCAC 58C .0302

58D.0201

OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEI

Temp. Amended
Expires 10-02-91

Temp. Amended
Expires 10-02-91

25 NCAC 1L .0202

.0203

** Amended
** Amended
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ARRC OBJECTIONS

1 he Administrative Rules Review Commission (ARRC) objected to the following rules in accord-

ance with G.S. 143B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to ARRC as provided in G.S.

l43B-30.2(d).

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 3/21/9/

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

ARRC Objection

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

2/25/91

3/21/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 3G .0203 - Expiration and Renewal
4 XCAC 3G .0502 - Annual Report

4 XCAC 3G .0601 - Revocation or Suspension; Hearings

Community Assistance

4 NCAC I9R .0103 - Waivers

Agency Withdrew Rule

4 NCAC 19R .0303 - Distribution ofFunds
Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19R .0304 - Reallocation

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 19R .0602 - Reporting

Agency Revised Rule

Energy

4 NCAC I2C .0005 - Forms
Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 12C .0006 - Scope and Purpose of State Set-A side

Agency Revised Rule

I lazardous Waste Management Commission

4 NCAC 18 .0309 - Final Site

Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

EDUCATION

Elementary' and Secondary Education

16 NCAC6C .0205 - Teacher Education Program State Review Standards ARRC Objection 3; 21, 91

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

16 NCAC6C .0310 - Standard Examinations ARRC Objection 3/21/91

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

16 NCAC6H .0010 - Special Education Due Process Procedures ARRC Objection 3/21 91

Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3:21,91

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Adult Health

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3,121/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 1/18/91

No Action 2/25/91

15A NCAC 16A .0804 - Financial Eligibility

No Response from Agency
Agency Responded

ARRC Objection 1/18,91

2/25/91

No Action 3/21/91
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ISA NCAC 16A .0806 - Billing the HIV Health Services Program
No Response from Agency
Agency Responded

Coastal Management

15A NCAC 7J .0409 - Civil Penalties

Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

15A NCAC 7J .1109 - Permit Fee
Agency Withdrew Rule

Environmental Health

ARRC Objection 1 1 18191

2/25/91

No Action 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 1/18/91

No Action 2/25/91

ARRC Objection 1/18/91

2/25/91

ISA NCAC 18A .2515 Design Details ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

15A NCAC 18A .2516- Pool Profile ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC ISA .2517 Diving Equipment ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC 18A .2519- Filters ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

15A NCAC I8A .2523- Depth Markings and Safety Ropes ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC ISA .2529- User Loading ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC ISA .2534- Chemical Storage ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC ISA .2535 - Water Quality Standards ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC ISA .2537 - Appeals ARRC Objection 3/21/91
15A NCAC 18A .2614- Outdoor Dining ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC 18A .2618 - Cleaning of Equipment and Utensils ARRC Objection 3/21/91
ISA NCAC ISA .2711 - Toilet Facilities ARRC Objection 3/21/91
ISA NCAC 18A .2901 - Disbursement of Funds ARRC Objection 3/21/91
Agency Revised Rule Obj. Removed 3/21/91

Solid Waste Management

ISA NCAC 13A .0016 - Special Purpose Com Hazardous Waste Facility ARRC Objection 2/25:91
Agency Responded Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ISA NCAC J3A .0017 - Fee Schedules ARRC Objection 2/25/91
Agency Responded Obj. Removed 3/21/91

Wildlife Resources Commission

ISA NCAC 10H .0807 - Classes of Permits
Agency Revised Rule

VVTP Operators Certification Commission

15A NCAC SB .0404 - Temporary Certification

Agency Revised Rule

HUMAN RESOURCES

Individual and Family Support

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91
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10 NCAC42B .1201 - Personnel Requirements

No Response from Agency
Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

10 NCAC 42C .2001 - Qualifications of Administrator

No Response from Agency
Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

10 NCAC 42C .2002 - Qualifications of Supervisor-in-Charge

No Response from Agency
Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

10 NCAC 42C .2006 - Qualifications of Activities Coordinator

No Response from Agency
Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

JO NCAC 42C .3301 - Existing Building

Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

JO NCAC 42D .1401 - Qualifications of Administrator/Co-Administrator
Agency Returned Rule Unchanged

Sendees for the Deaf

ARRC Objection

No Action

ARRC Objection

No Action

ARRC Objection

No Action

ARRC Objection

No Action

ARRC Objection

No Action

ARRC Objection

No Action

1118191

2/25/91

3/21/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

3/21/91

11/14/90

12/20/90

11/14/90

12/20/90

10 NCAC 20F .0502 - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

10 NCAC 20F .0506 - Classification

Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

Auctioneer's Commission

21 NCAC 4B .0602 - Advertising

CPA Examiners

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

21 NCAC8M .0306 - Due Professional Care
Agency Withdrew Rule

Cosmetic Art Examiners

21 NCAC 14.4 .0/0/ - Definitions

Agency Revised Rule

2/ NCAC 14G .0003 - Space Requirements

Agency Revised Rule

2/ NCAC I4G .0007 - Equipment and Teachers

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 141 .0103 - Inspections and Reports of Student Hours
Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 141 .0109 - Summary of Cosmetic Art Education

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 141 .0302 - Library

Agency Responded

21 NCAC I4L .0101 - Qualifications - Cosmetologist Teachers

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 14L .0210 - Effect on Student-Teacher Ratio

Agency Responded

Dental Examiners

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2125/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

No Action 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

Obj. Removed 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

No Action 3/21/91
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21 NCAC 16C .0310

21 NCAC 16D .0101

Medical Examiners

Reexamination

Eligibility Requirements

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 2/25/91

So Action 3/21/91

ARRC Objection 11/14/90

Obj. Removed 12/20/90

ARRC Objection 12/20/90

1/18/91

2/25/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

1/18/91

2/25/91

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

Obj. Removed

21 NCAC 32B .0309 - Personal Interview

Agency Responded

21 NCAC 32M .0007 - Termination ofNP Approval

Agency Revised Rule

Nursing, Board of

21 NCAC 36 .0217 - Revocation, Suspension, or Denial of License

No Response from Agency
Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 36 .0504 - Certificate of Registration

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 36 .0505 - General and Administrative Provisions

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 36 .0507 - Fees

Agency Revised Rule

Physical Therapy

21 NCAC 48C .0102 - Responsibilities

Agency Returned Rule Unchanged
Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 48C .0501 - Exemption for Students

Agency Returned Rule Unchanged
Agency Revised Rule

SECRETARY OF STATE

Securities Division

18 NCAC 6 .1210 - Securities Exchgs Autod Quot. Sys. Approved/Admin ARRC Objection 12/20/90
Agency Responded to Objection No Action 1/18/91

STATE PERSONNEL

ARRC Objection

No Action

Obj. Removed

ARRC Objection

No Action

Obj. Removed

9120/90

10/18/90

2/25/91

9/20/90

10/18/90

2/25/91

25 NCAC ID .0509 - Severance Salary Continuation

Agency's Response Unacceptable

ARRC Objection 1/18/91

2/25/91
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RULES INVALIDA TED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court,

Court ofAppeals, Superior Court (when available), and the Office ofAdministrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the Sorth Carolina Administrative Code.

10 NCAC 261 .0101 - PURPOSE: SCOPE/NOTICE OF CHANGE IN LEVEL OF CARE
10 NCAC 261 .0102 - REQUESTS FOR RECONSIDERA TION AND RECIPIENT APPEALS
10 NCAC 261 .0104 - FORMAL APPEALS
Thomas R. West, Administrative Law Judee with the Office of Administrative Hearings, declared Rules

10 NCAC 261 .0101, 10 NCAC 261 .0102 and 10 NCAC 261 .0104 void as applied in Linda Allred,

Petitioner v. North Carolina Department of Human Resources, Division of Medical Assistance, Re-

spondent (90 DHR 0940).

10 NCAC 421V .0003(c) - COUNTY DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES RESPONSIBILITIES
10 NCAC 42W .0005 - REPORTING CASES OF RAPE AND INCEST
The North Carolina Court of Appeals, per Judge Robert F. Orr, declared Rules 10 NCAC 42W
.0003(c) and 10 NCAC 42W .0005 void as applied In Rankin Whittington, Daniel C Hudgins, Dr. Takey
Crist, Dr. Gwendolyn Boyd and Planned Parenthood of Greater Charlotte. Inc.. Plaintiffs v. The North

Carolina Department of Human Resources. David Flaherty, in his capacity as Secretary of the North

Carolina Department of Human Resources, The North Carolina Social Services Commission, and C.

Barry McCartv. in his capacity as Chairperson of the North Carolina Social Services Commission, De-

fendants [100 N.C. APp. 603/398 S.E.2d 40 (1990)].

16 NCAC 6D .0105 - USE OF SCHOOL DAY
The North Carolina Supreme Court, per Associate Justice Henry E. Frye, held invalid Rule 16 NCAC
6D .0105 as decided in The State of North Carolina; The North Carolina State Board of Education; and
Bob Etheridge, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Plaintiffs v. Whittle Communications and The
Thomasville City Board of Education. Defendant-Counlerclaimants and The Davidson County Board of
Education. Defendant-lntervenor and Counterclaimant v. The State of North Carolina: The North

Carolina State Board of Education; and Bob Etheridge. State Superintendent of Public Instruction; and
Howard S. Haworth; Barbara M. Tapscott; Kenneth R. Harris; Teena Smith Little; W.C Meekins Jr.;

Mary B. Morgan; Patricia H. Neal; Cary C Owen; Donald D. Pollock; Prezcll R. Robinson; Norma
B. Turnage; State Treasurer Harlan E. Boy/es; and Lt. Governor James C Gardner; in their official

capacities as members of The North Carolina State Board of Education, Counterclaim Defendants [328

N.C.
,

S.E.2d (1991)].

15A NCAC 7H .0308 - SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS
The North Carolina Court of Appeals, per Judge Sidney S. Eagles Jr., held that it was error for the

Coastal Resources Commission to fail to follow the required notice and comment procedure prior to

the adoption of temporary rule 15A NCAC 7H .0308(a)(l)(M), but that the CRC followed proper

procedures when it adopted the text of the temporary rule as a permanent rule [15A NCAC 7H
.0308(a)( 1)(M)]. Conservation Council of North Carolina v. Haste [102 N.C. App. , 402 S.E.2d

447 (1991)].
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRA TIVE CODE CLASSIFICA TION SYSTEM

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two
of these, titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCA C is the title.

Each major department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been as-

signed a title number. Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical

in order. The other two, subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by

agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMENISTRATD/E CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT

1 Administration

2 Agriculture

3 Auditor

4 Economic and Community
Development

5 Correction

6 Council of State

Cultural Resources

8 Elections

9 Governor
10 Human Resources

1

1

Insurance

12 Justice

13 Labor
14A Crime Control and Public Safety

15A Environment, Health, and Natural

Resources

16 Public Education
1

7

Revenue
18 Secretary of State

19A Transportation

20 Treasurer
*21 Occupational Licensing Boards
22 Administrative Procedures

23 Community Colleges

24 Independent Agencies

25 State Personnel

26 Administrative Hearings

LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

Architecture 2

Auctioneers 4

Barber Examiners 6

Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

Chiropractic Examiners 10

General Contractors 12

Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

Dental Examiners 16

Electrical Contractors is

Foresters 20
Geologists 21

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22
Landscape Architects 26

Landscape -Contractors 2N

Marital & Family Therapy 31

Medical Examiners 32
Midwifery Joint Committee 33
Mortuary Science 34

Nursing 36

Nursing Home Administrators 37

Occupational Therapists 38
Opticians 40
Optometry 42

Osteopathic Examination and 44

Registration

Pharmacy 46
Physical Therapy Examiners 48
Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler 50

Contractors

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers and Land Surve) ors 56

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners (-2

Social Work 63

Speech and Language Pathologists and 64

Audiologists

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

CUMULA TIVE INDEX
(April 1991 - March 1992)

1991 - 1992

Pages Issue

1 - 44 1
- April

44 - 99 2 - April

100 - 185 3 - May
186 - 226 4 - May

AO - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

FR - Temporary Rule

AGRICULTURE
Plant Industry, 102 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons, 35 FR, 87 FR, 209 FR

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4 PR
Community Assistance, 104 PR

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Environmental Management, 197 PR
Health: Epidemiology, 28 PR
Health Services, 9 PR
Marine Fisheries, 122 PR
Wildlife Resources Commission, 84 PR, 170 PR, 198 PR

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 48

FINAL RULES
Fist of Rules Codified, 89 FR, 215 FR

GOVERNOR/LI. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders. 1, 45, 100, 186
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HUMAN RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 72 PR
Facility Services, 104 PR
Medical Assistance, 9 PR, 112 PR, 188 PR
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 5 PR, 49 PR
Social Services, 116 PR

INSURANCE
Actuarial Services, 119 PR
Special Services Division, 84 PR

JUSTICE
Private Protective Services, 121 PR

LICENSING BOARDS
Architecture, Board of, 30 PR
Certified Public Accountant Examiners, 201 PR
Pharmacy, Board of, 201 PR
Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of, 33 PR
Practicing Psychologists Examiners, 203 PR
Real Estate Commission, 171 PR

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary, 29 PR, 199 PR

REVENUE
Property Tax Commission, 210 ER

SECRETARY OF STATE
Securities Division, 85 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 172 PR

TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles, 213 ER
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchasedfor seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at one-

half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription*

Total

Quantity Price

1 - 52 Full Code
1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A
15A
15A
15A
15A

1 - 37

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 -4
1 - 2

3 - 20

1 - 2

3-4
1 - 4

1 - 12

1 - 9

1 - 4

I - 2

3A- 3K
3L- 3R

3S - 3U
4- 6

7

8- 9

10

II - 14

15 - 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34-41
42
43- 51

1 - 15

1 - 12

1 - 6

7

8 - 15

1 - 11

1 - 2

3-6
7

8- 9

10

AH titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Governor
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor
OSHA
Labor
Crime Control and
Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management
EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

90.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

45.00

90.00

60.00

30.00

60.00

10.00

45.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

75.00

90.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

90.00

90.00

90.00

30.00

45.00

45.00

45.00

90.00

45.00

45.00

30.00

45.00

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

2S

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

Continued



Total

Volume Title Chapter Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

39 15A
40 15A

41 L6

42 17

43 17

44 18

45 19A
4b 20
4" 21

48 21

44 21

22

50 23

51 24

52 25

New
Chapter Subject Subscription*

11 - 18 EHNR 90.00

19- 26 EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

1 - 6 Education 30.00

1 - 6 Revenue 75.00

7- 11 Revenue 60.00

1 - 7 Secretary' of State 30.00

1 - 6 Transportation 90.00

1 - 9 Treasurer 45.00

1 - 16 Licensing Boards 75.00

17- 37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards

1 - 2 Administrative Procedures 75.00

1 - 2 Communitv Colleges 10.00

1 - 2 Independent Agencies 10.00

1 State Personnel 60.00

53 26 1-4 Administrative Hearings 10.00

(North Carolina Subscribers add 5% sales tax) Total

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

Subscription years are January I through December 31.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 27447

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27611-7447
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($105.00)/year subscription)

Renew North Carolina Register

Check Enclosed Please bill me

ease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

AME ADDRESS

[TY STATE ZIP
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eturn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1 . Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. O. Drawer 27447

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7447

I

4V

H :;S55<58

FIRST CLASS MAIL

585

UNIV. OF NORTH CAROLINA

LAy LIBRARY

UAN HECKE-UETTACH 064-A

CHAPEL HILL NC 27599


