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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly
and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register

will typically comprise approximately fifty pages per
issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

various state officials and institutions. The Nortli Carolina

Register is available by yearly subscription at a cost of

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North Carolina

Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, N.

C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place ot the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory
Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the North Carolina Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file any adopted or amended rule for approval bv
the Administrative Rules Review Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-

cy, the adopted version will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effective

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,
some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary
rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 days,

whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin normal rule-making procedures on the pe
manent rule at the same time the temporary rule J

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is

a compilation and index of the administrative rules of

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter size,

single spaced pages of material of which approximate-
ly 35°/o is changed annually. Compilation and publica-

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fur-

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designated

for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum
cost of two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for 10

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per each
additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 52 volumes,
totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is sup-

plemented monthly with replacement pages. A
one year subscription to the full publication in-

cluding supplements can be purchased for

seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). In-

dividual volumes may also be purchased with
supplement service. Renewal subscriptions fof

supplements to the initial publication available 1

.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC
should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE
The foregoing is a generalized statement of the pro-

cedures to be followed. For specific statutory language,

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of

the General Statutes be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue,

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986.

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by
the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer
11666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscriptions

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published

in looseleaf notebooks with supplement service by
the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Satutes.

Subscriptions seven hundred and fifty dollars

($750.00). Individual volumes available.
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 1 - DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTRATION Thhe proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1991.

Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

JSOB- 12 that the Department of Administration

intends to amend rules cited as 1 NCAC 4G
.0217.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 3:00

p.m. on October 31, 1990 at the Department of
Administration, Policy and Planning Conference

Room 5062C, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh,

NC 27603-8003.

(comment Procedures: Any interested person

may present his/her comments either in writing

prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing.

Any person may request information, permission

to be heard or copies of the proposed regulations

by writing or calling David McCoy, Department

of Administration, 116 West Jones Street,

Raleigh, NC 27603-8003, (919) 733-7232.

CHAPTER 4 - AUXILIARY SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 4G - SURPLUS PROPERTY

SECTION .0200 - STATE SURPLUS PROPERLY

.0217 FAILURE TO PAY
If the purchaser fails to pay in full for the

property within 444 working 15 calendar days

from the date of award, the property purchased

will be promptly resold in such manner as the

state may elect, and the defaulting purchaser

charged with loss to the state, if any, together

with all expense of the sale. If the purchaser does

not remove the property purchased within 54> j_5

calendar days aft#p from the date of award, the

General Services Division reserves the right to

retain the purchase price and resell the property

a second time and retain all proceeds therefrom.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-49.

TITLE 4 - DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

No

Th

otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- J2 that the ECD, Credit Union Division in-

tends to adopt rxdc(s) cited as 4 NCAC6C .0408.

he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on October 15, 1990 at Room 4009, Dobbs
Building, 430 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina 27603.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person

may present his/her comments either in writing

three days prior to or at the hearing or orally at

the hearing for a maximum of ten minutes. Any
person may request information by writing or

calling Mr. Stanley W. Brown Jr., Credit Union

Division, 430 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina (919) 733-7501.

CHAPTER 6 - CREDIT UNION

SUBCHAPTER 6C - CREDIT UNIONS

SECTION .0400 - LOANS

.0408 SALE OF LOANS
(a) A credit union may sell, in whole or in part,

to any source, its loans provided the Board of

Directors or designated committee approves the

sale and a written agreement and a schedule of

loans covered by the agreement are retained in

the credit union office.

(b) A credit union may not sell loans with re-

course without the permission of the Adminis-

trator of Credit Unions.

(c) A credit union may agree to service any
obligation it purchases or sells in whole or in

part.

Statutory Authority G.S. 54-109.12;

54-/09.21(9); 54-109.21(25); 54-109.22.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

JSOB- 12 that the Commission for Health Services

and the Department of Environment, Health, and
Natural Resources intends to amend rule(s) cited

as ISA NCAC 20A .0006; 15A NCAC 24A .0202,

.0303.

J he proposed effective date of this action is

February 1, 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on November 1 , 1990 at the Ground Floor
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PROPOSED RULES

Hearing Room, Archdale Building, 512 North

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

(comment Procedures: Any person may request

copies of the proposed rules by contacting John

P. Barkley, DEHNR, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh,

NC 27611-7687, (919) 733-7247. Written com-

ments on these Rules may be sent to Mr. Barkley

at the above address or submitted at the public

hearing. If you desire to speak at the public

hearing, notify Mr. Barkley at least 3 days prior

to the public hearing. At the discretion of the

Chairman, the public may also be allowed to

comment on the rules at the Commission Meeting.

Fiscal notes on applicable rules are available from
Mr. Barkley.

CHAPTER 20 - LABORATORY SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 20A - GENERAL POLICIES

.0006 FEES
(d) Fees for the analysis of public water sup-

plies shall be as follows:

$ 20.00

PARAMETER FEE
Inorganic Chemistry $200.00

Organic Chemistry $190.00

Coliform $^m
Trihalomethanes % 60.00

Sodium and Corrosivitv $ 60.00

Radiochemistrv:

gross alpha and beta $ 50.00

radium 226 $ 65.00

radium 228 $ 50.00

uranium $ 75.00

Any single organic or

inorganic parameter $ 15.00

Statutory Authority G.S. 130.4-5(12); 130.4-326.

CHAPTER 24 - GENERAL PROCEDURES FOR
PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAMS

SUBCHAPTER 24A - PAYMENT PROGRAMS

SECTION .0200 - ELIGIBILITY
DETERMINATIONS

.0202 DETERMINATION OF FINANCIAL
ELIGIBILITY

(b) The financial eligibility requirements of this

Subchapter shall not apply to:

(1) the migrant health program;

(2) the supplemental security income disabled

children's program:

(3) Cliildren's Special Health Services when
the requirements of 10 NCAC 8D .0800

are met;

(4) school health program financial eligibility

determinations performed by a local

health department which has filed a writ

t«» statement v4*h the Division ef Health

Services which provides fef »se e£ chosen

to use the financial eligibility standards of

the Department of Public Instruction's

free lunch program;

(5) prenatal outpatient services sponsored

through local health department delivery

funds, 10 NCAC 8G .0600; or through

perinatal program high risk' maternity

clinic reimbursement funds, 10 NCAC 8G
.0700.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130A-5(3); 130.4-124;

130.4-12^; 130.4-129; 130A-/77; 130A-205.

SECTION .0300 - ELIGIBILITY PROCEDURES

.0303 PAYMENT LIMITATIONS
(b) During the last fettf six months of the fiscal

year, the State Health Director may limit pay-

ment program benefits that can be authorized

when the total amount of outstanding authori-

zations, plus the estimated authorizations for the

remainder of the fiscal year, less estimated can-

cellations, exceeds 9Q 100 percent of the pro-

gram's cash balance. The State Health Director

shall rescind the limitations at the end of the fis-

cal year, or prior to the end of the fiscal year if

sufficient funds become available to authorize full

program benefits for the remainder of the fiscal

year.

(e) Notwithstanding Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

when the provider, the patient or a person re-

sponsible for the patient receives other third

party payments equal to or exceeding the De-

partment's payment rate, the Department may
pav the difference between the other payments
and the provider's charge for a child adopted

pursuant to 15A NCAC 21F .0801. as long as the

Department's payment does not exceed its usual

payment rate.

(_[) fe* If after the Department makes payment
for particular services or appliances, the provider,

the patient, or a person responsible for the pa-

tient receives partial or total payment for the

services or appliances from a third party payor,

or receives funds in settlement of a civil claim

which are available to pay for the services or ap-

pliances, the person receiving the payment shall

reimburse the Department to the extent of the

amount received by the person without exceeding

the amount of the Department's prior payment
to the provider. This reimbursement shall be

made to the Department within 45 days after re-

ceipt of the third party payment.

861 5:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER October 1, 1990



PROPOSED RULES

(g) Notwithstanding Paragraph (f) of this Rule,

if after the Department makes payment for par-

ticular services or appliances for a child adopted

pursuant to ISA NCAC 21 F .0801, the provider

receives partial or total payment from a third

party pavor, the provider shall only be required

to reimburse the Department the amount by
which the total of payments exceeds the provid-

er's charge.

(h) (£} If the Department requests a refund of a

payment made to a provider, the refund shall be

made to the Department within 45 days after the

date of the refund request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 130'A-5 (3); BOA- 124;

130A-127; I30A-129; 130A-177; I30A-205.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the Board of Medical Examiners of
the State of North Carolina intends to amend ride

cited as 21 NCAC 32B .0101 and adopt rides

cited as 21 NCAC 32B .0315 - .0317.

J. he proposed effective date of this action is

March 1. 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 4:00

p.m. on October 31. 1990 at the N.C. Board of
Medical Examiners. 1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh,

N.C. 27609.

K^omment Procedures: Persons interested may
present written or oral statements relevant to the

actions proposed at a hearing as indicated above.

Written statements not presented at the hearing

should be directed before October 15, 1990 to the

following address: Administrative Procedures,

N.C. Board of Medical Examiners, P.O. Box
26808, Raleigh, NC 27611-6808.

CHAPTER 32 - BOARD OF MEDICAL
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 32B - LICENSE TO PRACTICE
MEDICINE

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0101 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to Rules within

this Subchapter:

(1) ACGME - Accreditation Council for

Graduate Medical Education.

(2) AOA - American Osteopathic Association.

(3) Board - Board of Medical Examiners of the

State of North Carolina.

(4) ECFMG - Educational Commission for

Foreign Medical Graduates.

(5) Fifth Pathway - an avenue for licensure as

defined in the Directory of Accredited Resi-

dencies 1977-1978, American Medical Asso-
ciation, pp. 30-32. The Directory is adopted
by reference under G.S. 150B- 14(b).

(6) FLEX - Federation Licensing Examination.

(7) LCME - Liaison Commission on Medical

Education.

(8) SPEX - Special Purpose Examination.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-6.

SECTION .0300 - LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT

.0315 QUALIFICATION
To be eligible for license by endorsement of

credentials, an applicant who has not met one of

the following qualifications within the past ten

years of the date of the application to the Board,

must take the SPEX and attain a score of at least

75:

(1) National Board of Medical Examiners cer-

tification;

(2) FLEX scores as required under Rule .0314

of this Section;

(3) SPEX score of at least 75;

(4) certification or re-certification from a spe-

cialty board recognized by the American
Board of Medical Specialties; or

(5) completed formal postgraduate medical ed-

ucation as required under Rule .0313 of this

Section.

This requirement is in addition to all other re-

quirements for licensure.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-11; 90-13.

.0316 SPEX FEE
(a) The fee for taking SPEX will be the Board's

cost of the test materials and is due at the time

of application.

(b) In the event the applicant fails to make a

passing score, the fee will not be refunded.

(c) In the event the applicant does not appear
for the regularly scheduled examination or the

application is withdrawn, no portion of the fee

will be refunded.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-/5.

.0317 SPEX DEADLINE
All application materials must be in the Board's

office at least seven weeks prior to the SPEX ex-

amination.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-6.

•k'k'k'k-k'k-k-k'Ji'k'k'k-^-k-k'^'k'k

Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

JSOB- 1 2 that the North Carolina Real Estate

Commission intends to amend rules cited as 21

NCAC58A .0301, .0503, .0505; 58C .0302, .0308;

58D .0302, .0402, .0406, .0408. .0409.

Thhe proposed effective date of this action is

February I. 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on November 7, 1990 at the Office of the

North Carolina Real Estate Commission, 1313

Navaho Drive, Raleigh. North Carolina 27609.

Coomment Procedures: Comments regarding the

rules may be made orally or submitted in writing

at the public hearing. Written comments not

submitted at the hearing may be delivered to the

North Carolina Real Estate Commission. Post

Office Box 17100, Raleigh. North Carolina 27619,

so as to be received by the hearing date.

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 58A - REAL ESTATE BROKERS
AND SALESMEN

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSE

.0301 FORM
Persons who wish to file applications for a bro-

ker or salesman license can obtain the required

form upon request to the commission. In gen-

eral, the form calls for information such as the

applicant's name and address, the applicant's so-

cial security number, a recent passport size pho-
tograph of the applicant, places of residence,

education, prior real estate licenses, and such

other information necessary to identify the ap-

plicant and determine his qualifications and fit-

ness for licensure.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-3(c);

93A-4(a),(b),(d); 150B-/1.

SECTION .0500 - LICENSING

.0503 LICENSE RENEWAL: PENALTY FOR
NON-RENEWAL

(a) Any licensee desiring the renewal of a li-

cense shall, during the month of June, apply for

same in writing upon a form approved by the

Commission and shall forward the required fee

of twenty dollars ($20.00). twenty-five dollars

($25.00). Forms are available upon request to

the Commission.
(b) Any person or corporation which engages

in the business of broker or salesman while his

or its license is lapsed will be subject to the pen-

alties prescribed in the license law.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-4(c),(d); 93A-6.

.0505 EXPIRED LICENSE
Expired licenses may be reinstated within 12

months after expiration upon proper application

and payment of the twenty dollar ($20.00)

twentv-five dollar ($25.00) renewal fee plus five

dollar ($5.00) late tiling Ice. Licenses expired for

more than 12 months may be considered for

reinstatement upon proper application and pay-

ment of thirty dollar ($30.00) fee for brokers and
thirty dollar ($30.00) fee for salesmen. Such ap-

plications will be reviewed by the commission to

determine whether an examination and/or real

estate education will be required.

5tatutory Authority G.S. 93A-4(c),(d).

SUBCHAPTER 58C - REAL ESTATE AND
APPRAISAL EDUCATION

SECTION .0300 - PRE-LICENSING AND
PRE-CERTIFICATION COLRSES

.0302 PROGRAM STRUCTURING
(a) Real estate pre-licensing education pro-

grams must be structured as prescribed in G.S.

93A-4(a). Completion of the salesman course

within the previous five years or possession of a

current salesman license must be a prerequisite

for enrollment in the advanced broker courses.

(b) Except as provided in Paragraph (d) of this

Rule, residential appraiser pre-hcensing pre-

certification education programs must consist of

the following three courses, each involving a

minimum of 30 classroom hours:

( 1

)

Introduction to Real Estate Appraisal;

(2) Valuation Principles and Procedures; and

(3) Applied Residential Property Valuation.

These courses must be completed sequentially in

the order listed.

(c) Except as provided in Paragraph (d) of this

Rule, general appraiser pre-certification educa-

tion programs must consist of the following three

courses, each involving a minimum of 30 class-

room hours, in addition to the three residential

appraiser courses prescribed in Paragraph (b) of

this Rule:

( 1 ) Introduction to Income Property Ap-
praisal;

S63 5: 13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER October 1, 1990
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(2) Advanced Income Capitalization Proce-

dures; and

(3) Applied Income Property Valuation.

These courses must be completed sequentially in

the order listed and completion of the residential

appraiser courses within the previous five years

or possession of a current appraiser license must
be a prerequisite for enrollment in the general

appraiser courses.

(d) If college credit is to be granted for an ap-

praisal pre-licensing or pre-certification education

program to be offered by a college, university or

community college, the school may request ap-

proval to structure such program in a manner
different from that prescribed in Paragraphs (b)

and (c) of this Rule. To be approved by the

Commission, the proposed program structure

must satisfy the minimum classroom hour re-

quirements for such programs, must provide for

appropriate course titles, and must provide for

subject area coverage and enrollment prerequi-

sites that are comparable to the requirements for

programs that are structured as described in Par-

agraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule.

(e) An exception to the course prerequisite re-

quirements stated in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of

this Rule or established under Paragraph (d) of

this Rule shall be permitted only when the per-

son desiring the exception has obtained from the

Commission an exemption from the prerequisite

course(s) which the person would normally be

required to have completed. A course exemption
will be granted only upon a finding by the Com-
mission that the person possesses appraisal edu-

cation ef exporionco equivalent to the course(s)

for which the exemption is requested. A request

for course exemption must be made on a form
prescribed by the Commission. a»4 peroonr. f44-

»g such requoots should allow AS days fee con
oidoration ©f the roquoat. If a request for course

exemption is granted, the person granted the ex-

emption may present the notice of course ex-

emption issued by the Commission to any
approved or licensed school in order to obtain

the desired exception to the normal prerequisite

requirements.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-4(a),(d); 93A-33;

93A-75(a).

.0308 APPRAISAL INSTRUCTORS
(a) Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this

Rule, all appraisal pre-licensing and pre-

certification courses must be taught by instruc-

tors who possess good moral character and either

the minimum appraisal education and experience

qualifications listed in this Rule or other quali-

fications that are found by the Commission to

be equivalent to those listed. These qualification

requirements must be met on a continuing basis.

For a previously-approved instructor, experience

in teaching appraisal courses may be substituted

for any required appraisal experience when a

school is seeking continued approval of the in-

structor. The minimum qualifications are as

follows:

(1) Residential appraiser courses: 90 class-

room hours of real estate appraisal edu-

cation equivalent to the residential

appraiser education program prescribed in

Rule .0302(b) of this Section and either

two years' full-time experience as a resi-

dential real estate appraiser within the

previous five years or three years' full-time

experience as a general real estate ap-

praiser within the previous five years, with

at least one-half of such experience being

in residential property appraising. After

July 1, 1991, instructors must also be

!

'

.tati> liciMV ' i'd either state-certified residen-

tial or state-certified general real estate

appraisers.

(2) General appraiser courses: 180 classroom

hours of real estate appraisal education

equivalent to the general appraiser educa-

tion program prescribed in Rule .0302(c)

of this Section and three years' full-time

experience as a general real estate ap-

praiser within the previous five years, with

at least one-third of such experience being

in income property appraising. After July

1, 1991, instructors must also be state-

certified general real estate appraisers.

(b) Guest lecturers who do not possess the

qualifications stated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule

may be utilized to teach collectively up to one-

third of any course, provided that each guest lec-

turer possesses experience directly related to the

particular subject area he is teaching.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-33; 93A-75(a).

SUBCHAPTER 580 - REAL ESTATE
APPRAISERS

SECTION .0300 - APPRAISER EXAMINATIONS

.0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND PASSING
SCORES

(a) The examination for licensure as a state-

licensed residential real estate appraiser and for

certification as a state-certified residential real es-

tate appraiser shall test applicants on the follow-

ing genera] subject areas:

( 1) basic real property law;

(2) concepts of value;

(3) forces affecting real estate values;
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(4) residential real estate financing;

(5) residential construction and design;

(6) the appraisal process;

(7) valuation principles and procedures;

(8) application of valuation principles and
procedures to the valuation of various

types of residential properties and to re-

lated appraisal assignments;

(9) standards of appraisal practice;

(10) the North Carolina Real Estate Ap-
praisers Act and related commission rules;

and
(11) related subject areas.

(b) In addition to the subject areas listed in (a)

of this Rule, the examination for certification as

a state-certified general real estate appraiser shall

test applicants on the following general subject

areas:

(1) income capitalization principles and pro-

cedures;

(2) application of valuation principles and
procedures to the valuation of all types of

income-producing and other properties

and to related appraisal assignments; and

(3) related subject areas.

(c) In order to pass the examination for

licensure as a state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser or for certification as a state-certified

residential real estate appraiser or state-certified

general real estate appraiser, an applicant must
attain a score equal to at least 75 percent of the

total point value for the questions on the exam-

ination. Passing applicants will receive only a

score of "pass"; however, failing applicants will

be informed of their actual score.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-73(c); 93A-77.

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL APPRAISAL
PRACTICE

.0402 DISPLAY OF LICENSES AND
CERTIFICATES

(a) The real estate appraiser license or certif-

icate of a state-licensed or state -certified real es-

tate appraiser shall be prominently displayed at

the appraiser's place of business, provided that

the license or certificate of a managing appraiser

and the license or certificate of each licensee or

certificate holder engaged in real estate appraisal

activities at the office of the managing appraiser

shall be prominently displayed at such office.

(b) The annual license or certificate renewal

pocket card issued by the Commission to each

state-licensed or state-certified real estate ap-

praiser shall be retained by the licensee or certif-

icate holder as evidence of licensure or

certification.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.

.0406 APPRAISAL REPORTS
(a) Each written appraisal report prepared by

or under the direction of a state-licensed or

state-certified real estate appraiser shall bear the

signature of the state-licensed or state-certified

appraiser, the license or certificate number of the

licensee or certificate holder in whose name the

appraisal report is issued, and the designation

"state-licensed residential real estate appraiser",

"state-certified residential real estate appraiser",

or the designation "state-certified general real es-

tate appraiser", or "state-certified

residential general real estate appraiser", as ap-

plicable. Each such appraisal report shall also

indicate whether or not the state-licensed or

state-certified appraiser has personally inspected

the property, and shall identify any other person

who assists in the appraisal process other than

by providing clerical assistance.

(b) Every state-licensed and state-certified real

estate appraiser shall affix or stamp to all ap-

praisal reports a seal of a design authorized by the

Commission which shall set forth the name and
license or certificate number of the appraiser in

whose name the appraisal report is issued and
shall identify the appraiser as a "state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser", a "state-certified

residential real estate appraiser", or as a "state-

certified general real estate appraiser" or "state-

certified residential/general real estate appraiser",

as applicable.

(c) A state-licensed or state-certified real estate

appraiser who signs an appraisal report prepared

bv another person, including a subcontractor,

acting under the direction or supervision of the

appraiser shall be fully responsible for the con-

tent of the report.

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule

.0405 of this Section regarding the issuance of

oral appraisal reports, a written appraisal report

shall be issued on all real estate appraisals per-

formed in connection with federally related

transactions.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.

.0408 SUPERVISION OF UNLICENSED AND
UNCERTIFIED ASSISTANTS

A state-licensed or state-certified real estate ap-

praiser may employ a person or persons not li-

censed or certified as a real estate appraiser to

assist in the performance of real estate appraisals,

provided that the state-licensed or state-certified

real estate appraiser:
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(1) actively and personally supervises the unli-

censed and uncertified assistant;

(2) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting

data used in connection with appraisals in

which the services of an unlicensed and un-

certified assistant is utilized;

(3) signs all appraisal reports fof appraisals »
which the services ef- as- unlicensed a«4 wt-

certifiod assistant was utilized; complies with

all provisions of Rule .0406 of this Section

regarding appraisal reports; and

(4) indicates e» the appraisal report whether

e* »©t- he has personally inspected the

property; a«4

£5} (4) prepares and furnishes to the managing
appraiser, if applicable, and to each unli-

censed and uncertified assistant whose ser-

vices were utilized in connection with the

appraisal, a report on a form prescribed by
the Commission describing the nature and
extent of assistance rendered by the unli-

censed and uncertified assistant in con-

nection with the appraisal, and places a copy
of such report in the supporting file for the

appraisal.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-71(f); 93A-77.

.0409 SUPERVISION OF LICENSED AND
CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISERS

(a) When a state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser assists a state-certified residential or

general real estate appraiser in the performance

of a real estate appraisal and the resulting ap-

praisal report is to be signed by the state-certified

real estate appraiser, the state-certified real estate

appraiser shall:

(1) actively and personally supervise the state-

licensed real estate appraiser;

(2) review the appraisal report and supporting

data used in connection with the appraisal;

(3) indicate e» the appraisal report whothor e*

a«4 comply with all provisions of Rule

.0406 of this Section regarding appraisal re-

ports; and

(4) prepare and furnish to the managing ap-

praiser, if applicable, and to each state-

licensed real estate appraiser whose services

were utilized in connection with the ap-

praisal, a report on a form prescribed by the

Commission describing the nature and ex-

tent of assistance rendered by the state-

licensed real estate appraiser in connection

with the appraisal, and place a copy of such

report in the supporting file for the ap-

praisal.

(b) When a state-certified residential real estate

appraiser assists a state-certified general real es-

tate appraiser in the performance of a real estate

appraisal and the resulting appraisal report is to

be signed by the state-certified general real estate

appraiser, the state-certified general real estate

appraiser shall perform those supervisory acts set

forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule with regard to

the activities of the state-certified residential real

estate appraiser.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.
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The List of Rules Codified is a listing of rules that were filed to be effective in the month indicated.

i\ules filed for publication in the NCAC may not be identical to the proposed text published pre-

viously in the Register. Please contact this office ifyou have any questions.

/I dopted rules filed by the Departments of Correction, Revenue and Transportation are published

in this section. These departments are not subject to the provisions of G.S. 150B. Article 2 requiring

publication in the X.C. Register ofproposed rules.

(Jpon request from the adopting agency, the text of rides will be published in this section.

lunctuation, typographical and technical changes to rules are incorporated into the List of Rules

Codified and are noted as * Correction. These changes do not change the effective date of the rule.

TITLE 5 - DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF PRISONS

SLBCHAPTER 2E - TREATMENT

SECTION .1500 - SAFETY AND HEALTH

.1501 PURPOSE
(a) The North Carolina Department of Correction subscribes to the Executive Order establishing the

State Employee's Work Place Requirements Program for Safety and Health. The Division of Prisons

through the exercise of its authority shall assure insofar as possible through a Comprehensive
Correctional Safety and Health Program that every employee in the Division of Prisons will have safe

and healthful workina conditions and meet the standards provided in Executive Order No. 6 (1985);

and G.S. 93-129.1: 95-130.1; and 95-148.

(bj The rights and duties of employers and employees as described in these standards shall henceforth

become a part of the rules and regulations of the Division of Prisons.

(c) The Division of Prisons will make a vigorous and diligent effort to achieve full compliance with

these standards and will commit such resources as required to fully perform the responsibilities assigned

to state agencies as described in the Order. To meet this goal, the Division will create and maintain a

Safety Policy Manual, which will be issued and maintained under separate cover. Adherence to the

policies contained therein shall be required by all facilities subject to the Department's rules and regu-

lations, unless otherwise waived in writing by the Director of Prisons, or his designee.

fdi Fmployees are hereby guaranteed the exercise of their rights under the Safety and Health Stand-

ards without being subjected to retaliation. These rights include the right to register complaints about

unsafe working conditions; the right to be fully informed about disposition of complaints: and the right

to be fully advised about violations of safety standards. These rights also include the right to participate

in the safety program and to be represented at safety inspections.

History Xote: Authority G.S. 95- 129. I; 95- 130. 1; 95- 148; 148-11;

Executive Order Xumber 6;

Eff. October 1, 1989;

Amended Eff October 1. 1990.

SLBCHAPTER 2F - CUSTODY AND SECURITY

SECTION .1800 - CONTROL OF FIREARMS
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.1801 GENERAL
It shall be the Policy of the Division of Prisons to have sufficient numbers and types of standardized

firearms maintained in authorized armories which contribute to institutional security and promote
public safety through the assignment and appropriate utilization of firearms by trained correctional staff.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. November I', 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.

.1802 RESPONSIBILITIES
(a) The Director of Prisons will establish a list of Standardized Firearms and Authorized Facility

Firearms Inventory based upon a published formula.

(b) Each facility superintendent is required to designate space for an armory in order to safely and
securely store firearms, ammunition, and other security equipment. The armory must be:

(1) secure from inmate access and/or take-over;

(2) convenient for timely issuance of weapons;

(3) equipped with proper storage racks, locking metal cabinets and other storage space as appro-

priate;

(4) accessible from an entrance outside the facility's secure perimeter.

(c) An armory supervisor shall be designated by each facility superintendent. The designated indi-

vidual shall have working knowledge of all equipment stored in the armory and shall be trained in its

use. The armory supervisor shall also perform the following duties:

( 1) monthly armory inspections,

(2) log audits,

(3) inventory audits,

(4) supervise armory officer.

(d) The armory officer shall maintain all equipment in a safe and secure manner. This individual

will provide maintenance and cleaning of equipment on an approved schedule. The armory supervisor

will file an annual report with the respective command manager. This report will be filed by July 1 each

year and should include all equipment at each facility and its location within the facility at the time of

the report.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. November 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1. 1990.

.1803 APPROVED STANDARD ITEMS
(a) Only those firearms approved by the Director of Prisons will be used in the execution of Division

of Prisons' duties and responsibilities.

(b) Approved Firearms:

(1) Revolver, Smith & Wesson, Model 65, .357 Magnum 4" heavy barrel, stainless steel.

(2) Smith & Wesson, Model 10, .38 Caliber. This weapon will continue in service until it can be

replaced by the above referenced Smith and Wesson Model 65, .357 Magnum. Additional .38

caliber weapons will not be purchased.

(3) Shotgun, Remington, Model 870, 12-gauge pump.
(4) Rifle, Ruger Mini 14, semi-automatic .223 caliber, with twenty-shot magazine.

(c) Approved Ammunition:

( 1) All new ammunition for all calibers of weapons will be ordered annually. The old ammunition
will be used to range check weapons and for training and will be marked "range use only." All

ammunition and other combustible materials must be stored in secure metal cabinets.

(2) All issued ammunition will be replaced every three months and used for range training or field

testing of weapons and will be marked "range use only."

(3) Standardized Rounds:
(A) Model 65 revolver: .357 Magnum, 125 grain jacketed hollow point.

(B) Model 10 revolver: .38 Caliber, 1 10 grain jacketed hollow point.

(C) 12 gauge shotgun: Tower and ground use will be 2-3/4" #1 buckshot, average 20 pellet load.

(D) Rifle: .223 Caliber, 55 grain pointed soft nose.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-1 1;

5:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER October 1, 1990 S6S



FINAL RULES

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.1804 WEAPONS MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE
(a) All weapons used on the firing range will be cleaned after daily use.

(b) All weapons (except tower weapons) issued but unused will be cleaned at least weekly.

(c) Any weapon exposed to inclement weather will be cleaned upon return to the point of issue.

(d) .All weapons stored in the armory unused and unissued will be cleaned at least once every quarter.

(e) All weapons will be fired and cleaned every six months.
(f) Reports regarding firing and cleaning problems with weapons will be dated and submitted on the

annual Arms, Ammunition, and Armory Control Report.

(g) All weapons found to be inoperative will be repaired by a trained gunsmith as soon as possible.

(h) All weapons stored at an issue point, other than the armory, or used for regular issue, i.e., trans-

porting, hospital duty, perimeter patrol or tower duty, will be rotated back to the armory at least once

per quarter.

(i) All weapons and equipment issued for tower duty shall be:

(1) visually checked each shift by the officer assigned to that tower;

(2) checked at least once weekly by the armory supervisor or a supervisor designated that duty.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 14S-1 1

;

Eff. October I, 1990.

.1805 WEAPONS ENVENTORY, CONTROL, AND ISSUE
(a) Fiscal Administration Policy 1C .1700 delineates a uniform system inventory control, firearm

disposal, and individual accountability of firearms.

(1) A physical inventory of all weapons will be made monthly.

(2) Fquipment Control Listing will be maintained in the armory and the superintendent's office.

(b) All weapons will be assigned to the armory inventory.

( 1) All weapons will be issued out of the armory either directly to a person or to a secure issue point

where the weapons can be reissued.

(2) Weapons issued to an issue point, a tower, or for temporary' issue will be recorded on the

Temporary' Equipment Issue Log.

(3) Weapons re-issued from an issue point will be recorded in a log book maintained for that pur-

pose. That log will include the following information: date of issue, serial number, type of

equipment, issued to, reason for the issue and date returned.

(c) Weapons assigned to employees on a permanent basis will be strictly controlled.

(1) A memorandum of receipt will be accomplished and signed by every employee who is assigned

a firearm on a permanent basis. The issue will be documented on the Permanent Equipment
Issue Log maintained at the armory.

(2) Firearms may be permanently assigned to area administrators, district managers, PERT com-
pany commanders, PERT assistant company commander, PERT platoon leaders, PERT as-

sistant platoon leaders, fugitive lieutenants and bloodhound handlers upon the approval of the

command manager. All other permanently assigned weapons must be approved by the deputy

director.

(3) The assigned employee is responsible for the maintenance, safety, and security of the weapon.
If the firearm is lost, stolen, or otherwise missing, the Department shall be reimbursed by the

employee the depreciated value of the firearm.

(d) The number of weapons assigned to each facility will be in accordance with the Local Inventory

Standards formula issued by the Director of Prisons.

(e) Fiscal Policy 1C .1600 governs the purchase of firearms by retiring employees and surviving

spouses or surviving children.

Histoty Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. October 1. 1990.

.1S06 LOST WEAPONS
As soon as it is discovered that a weapon may be missing, the following shall be accomplished:

( 1

)

A complete inventory of all weapons will be conducted.

(2) Loss or theft of firearms will be reported through the normal chain-of-command on Incident

Report, Form DC-432.
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(3) The PIN Communication Center in the Prison Headquarters (Randall Building) should be noti-

fied immediately by telephone giving specific data, i.e., serial numbei', make, caliber, type, date of

theft or loss, model, length of barrel, finish, circumstances under which stolen or loss, etc.

(4) If a firearm is recovered, the PIN Communication Center should be notified in the manner of

Paragraphs (1), (2) and (3) of this Rule.

(5) The PIN operator will send the reporting unit a copy of the PIN Stolen/ Recovered Gun Report

showing that lost or stolen weapon has been reported and likewise on all weapons recovered.

(6) A copy of the Incident Report, Form DC-432, and PIN Stolen/Recovered Gun Report must be

forwarded to the Equipment Control Office before any firearm can be removed due to losses or

theft.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-1 1;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.1807 SNIPER EQUIPMENT
Under no circumstances is any employee or armory officer to tamper with or shoot a sniper rifle

without notifying the designated sniper and approval of the institution head or area administrator.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.1808 PROFICIENCY
Weapons shall only be issued to persons who are proficient in the use of the weapon to be issued.

Employees will be issued credentials to include the employee's name, weapons proficiency, and the date

of proficiency expiration for each weapon.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.1809 STORAGE OF WEAPONS
(a) All weapons shall be stored in a safe and secure manner. Stored weapons shall not be loaded.

(b) Cabinets containing arms, ammunition, or equipment should have an inventory list indicating the

contents and specific location. Where security considerations allow, the inventory should be posted

on the outside of the cabinet.

(c) All dated materials, such as gases or ammunition, shall be stored so that the oldest is issued first.

(d) All armories will contain batter)' powered emergency lighting, fire extinguishers, and a telephone.

(e) All ammunition and other combustible materials must be stored in secure metal cabinets.

(f) Facility Standard Operating Procedures shall prevent firearms from entering the prison facility

confines. Provisions shall be made for the secure storage of visitors' firearms prior to entry into the

facility.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 148-5; 148-11;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

CHAPTER 45 - NORTH CAROLINA DRUG COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 45H - DRUG TREATMENT FACILITIES

SECTION .0200 - SCHEDULES OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

.0202 SCHEDULE I

(d) Hallucinogenic Substances. L'nless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any
material, compound, mixture or preparation which contains any quantity of the following

hallucinogenic substances, or which contains any of their salts, isomers and salts of isomers, whenever
the existence of such salts, isomers and salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical desig-

nation (for purposes of this Paragraph only, the term "isomer" includes the optical, position and ge-

ometric isomers):
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(1) 3,4-methylenedio xy amphetamine 7400

(2) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-ethylamphetamine (also

known as N-ethyl-alpha-methvl-3,4(methylenedioxy)

phenethylamine, N-ethyl MDA, MDE, and MDEA) 7404

(3) 5-methoxy-3,4-methylenedioxy-amphetamine 7401

(4) 3,4,5-trimethoxy amphetamine 7390

(5) Bufotenine

Some trade and other names:
3-(B-Dimethylaminoethyr)-5-hydroxyindole;

3-(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-5-indolol;

N,N-dimethylserotonin; 5-hydroxy-N,

N-dimcthyltryptamine; mappine. 7433

(6) Diethyltryptamine

Some trade and other names:

N,N-Diethyltryptamine; DET 7434

(7) Dimethyltryptamine

Some trade and other names:
DMT 7435

(8) 3.4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA)
its optical, positional and geometric

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 7405

(9) 4-mcthyl-2,5-dimethoxy-amphetamine
Some trade or other names:

4-methvl-2,5-dimethoxY-a-methvlphenethylamine;

"DOM"
and "STP."

7395

(10) Ibogaine

Some trade and other names:
7-Ethyl-6.6B,7,8,9, 10.12. 13-octahydro-2-

methoxy-6,9-methano-5H-pyrido ( 1
,2':

1 ,2)

azepino (5,4-b) indole; tabernanthe iboga. 7260

(11) Lysergic acid diethylamide

Some trade or other names:

LSD 7315

(12) Mescaline 7381

(13) N-ethyl-1-phenylcyclohexylamine 7455

(14) l-(l-phenylcyclohexyr)pvrrolidine 7458

(15) Parahexyl

Some trade or other names:
3-Hexyl-l-hydroxy-7,8,9,10-tetrahydro-

6,6,9-trimethvl-6H-dibenzo[b,d]pvran;

Synhexyl. 7374

(16) Peyote — meaning all parts of the plant

presently classified botanically as

Lophophora Wilhamsii Lemaire, whether

growing or not; the seeds thereof; any
extract from any part of such plant; and
every compound, manufacture, salt,

derivative, mixture or preparation of

such plant, its seed or extracts. 7415

(17) N-ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate 7482

(18) N-hydroxy-3,4-methylenedioxyamphet-

amine (also known as N-hydroxy-alpha-

methyl-3,4-(methylenedioxy)phenethyla-

mine, and N-hydroxy MDA) 7402

(19) N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate 7484

(20) N,N-dimethylamphetamine (Some other names:

N.N.alpha-trimethylbenzeneethaneamme;
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N,N,alpha-trimethylphenethylamine), its salts,

optical isomers, and salts of optical isomers 1480

(21) Psilocybin 7437

(22) Psilocyn 7438

(23) 2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine

Some trade and other names:

2,5-dimethoxy-a-methylphenethylamine;

2,5-DMA. 7396

(24) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-amphetamine

Some trade or other names:

4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-a-methylphenethylamine;

4-bromo-2,5-DMA. 7391

(25) 4-methoxyamphetamine
Some trade or other names:

4-methoxy-a-methylphenethylamine;

paramethoxyamphetamine; PMA. 7411

(26) Thiophene analog of phencyclidine

Some trade or other names:

l-[ l-(2-thienyl)-cyclohexyl]-piperidine;

2-thienyl analog of phencyclidine; TPCP, TCP. 7470

(27) l-[l-(2-thienyl)cyclohexyl]pyrrolidine

Some other names: TCPy 7473

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-89; 143B-147;

Eff June 30, 1978;

Amended Eff. October I, 1990; August 1, 1990;

December 1, 1989; August 1, 1989.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 7 - SALES AND USE TAX

SUBCHAPTER 7B - STATE SALES AND USE TAX

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 IMPOSITION OF/LIABILITY FOR COLLECTING/REMITTING TAX
(a) All retail sales of tangible personal property are subject to the three percent, two percent or the

one percent sales or use tax unless specifically exempt by statute. Effective January 1, 1985, the gross

receipts derived by a utility from sales of electricity, piped natural gas or intrastate telephone service are

subject to the three percent state rate of sales tax, other than receipts from the sale of electricity by a

municipality whose only wholesale supplier of electric power is a federal agency and who is required

by contract with that federal agency to make payments in lieu of taxes. The statute was amended ef-

fective January 1, 1989, to substitute the term "local telecommunications services" for the term "intra-

state telephone service," as used in the above sentence, and to levy the three percent rate of tax only

on receipts derived from local telecommunications services as defined by G.S. 105- 120(e). A new
subdivision, G.S. 105-164.4 (a) (4c) was added, effective January 1, 1989, which levies a six and one-half

percent sales tax on the gross receipts derived from toll or private telecommunications services, as de-

fined by G.S. 105-120(e), that both originate from and terminate in the state. The provisions of G.S.

105-164.4 (a) (c) do not apply to telephone membership corporations as described in Chapter 117 of

the General Statutes. The gross receipts derived by a utility from sales of electricity, piped natural gas

and telecommunications services are not subject to the local sales or use tax. Wholesale sales are not

subject to the tax if made pursuant to the conditions set forth in the statutory definition of wholesale

sale. Every person making retail sales of taxable tangible personal property or charges for taxable utility

services is required to register with the department and collect and remit all tax due on such sales.

(b) A use tax at the applicable rate is levied on taxable tangible personal property purchased or re-

ceived from within or without this state for storage, use or consumption in this state. The liability for

the tax is not extinguished until it is fully paid, except that payment of the tax to a vendor who charges

such tax shall relieve the purchaser of further Liability with respect to the tax so paid. Where retail sales
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or use tax is due and has already been paid in another state by the purchaser with respect to such tan-

gible personal property, such tax may be credited against the North Carolina use tax due thereon. If

the tax paid in another state is less than the North Carolina use tax due, the difference must be paid in

this State. Effective July 1, 1981, no credit shall be allowed for sales or use taxes paid in another state

if that taxing jurisdiction does not grant similar credit for sales taxes paid in North Carolina. Every

person outside this state who is engaged in busmess in this state, as hereinafter defined, is required to

register with the department and collect and remit the tax due on all taxable tangible personal property

sold or delivered for storage, use or consumption in this state. Every person who purchases from
out-of-state vendors any taxable tangible personal property for storage, use or consumption in this state

upon which the tax has not been fully paid must register with the department and remit the tax due

on such purchases. A fee is not required for registration by a consumer and a license is not issued in

connection with such registration; however, all registrants will be furnished report forms to be used in

reporting and remitting all tax due.

(c) In addition to administering the Sales and Use Tax Law, the Department is responsible for ad-

ministering and collecting the highwav use tax on the lease or rental of motor vehicles and the scrap

tire disposal fee. Reference is made to 17 NCAC 7B .4619, 17 NCAC 7B .4601 and 17 NCAC 7B
.1906, respectively, for further information on these levies.

Histon 1 Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.5; 105-164.6;

105-262;

Eff Febnmrv 1, 1976;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990; May 1, 1990;

August 1, 1986; February 1, 19S6.

.0104 REPORTS
(a) A person who engages exclusively in the business of making wholesale sales is not required to file

monthly reports. However, if in addition to making wholesale sales, such person makes taxable sales

to users or consumers or nonregistered merchants or makes purchases subject to the use tax, he is re-

quired to file semimonthly, monthly or quarterly reports as provided by statute.

(b) All utilities shall file a monthly return except that a utility allowed to pay tax under G.S. 105-120

on a quarterly basis shall file a quarterly return. A quarterly return is due by the last day of the month
following the quarter covered by the return. A monthly return is due by the last day of the month
following the month in which the tax accrues, except the return for tax that accrues in May is due by
June 25th of each year.

A utility that is required to file a monthly return may file an estimated return for the first month, the

second month or both the first and second months of the quarter. A utility is not subject to interest

on or penalties for an underpayment submitted with an estimated monthly return if the utility timely

pays at least 95 percent of the amount due with a monthly return and includes the underpayment with

the company's return for the third month of the same quarter.

(c) Every person who purchases from out-of-state vendors taxable tangible personal property for

storage, use or consumption in this state upon which the tax has not been fully paid must file reports

on a semimonthly, monthly or quarterly basis as provided by statute and report all such purchases and
remit the applicable tax due thereon.

Histoty Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.16:

105-164.17; 105-262;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990: April 1, 19S6;

February 1, 19S6; January- 1, 1982.

.0105 MEASURE OE TAX DUE
(a) The tax is due on the merchant's gross retail sales after deducting therefrom exempt sales and other

nontaxable receipts. The merchant shall pay to the state the amount due, as provided by statute, at

the applicable rates on his total taxable retail sales, irrespective of whether he has collected the tax

thereon and shall also pay any amount of tax collected in excess of the amount which should have been

collected on taxable sales. If tax is collected on exempt or nontaxable sales, the tax erroneously col-

lected must be paid to the secretary and no refund thereof shall be made to a taxpayer unless the pur-

chaser has received credit for or has been refunded the amount of tax erroneouslv collected.
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(b) When the customer purchases more than one article at one trading period, the applicable rate of

tax should be applied to the total charge rather than to the charge for each article. Those businesses

having cash registers at each counter or in each department should collect a tax equal to the tax due
on the total charge for tangible personal property purchased by a customer at one trading period

without leaving the place of business. Whenever a person entertains guests and pays the total combined
charge for meals or refreshments, the tax should be applied to the total combined charge for such

property, even though separate checks or invoices are issued to each individual.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.11; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff October I, 1990.

.0124 ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
The state is not estopped to collect the retail sales or use tax levied by the statute by reason of an agent

of the Department of Revenue erroneously advising the merchant that certain sales are not subject to

the tax. Whenever the Secretary of Revenue shall construe any provisions of the revenue laws ad-

ministered by him and shall issue or publish to taxpayers in writing any regulation or ruling so con-

struing the effect or operation of any such laws, such ruling or regulation shall be a protection to the

taxpayers affected thereby and taxpayers shall be entitled to rely upon such regulation or ruling.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.

SECTION .0700 - SPECIFIC INDUSTRY PURCHASES

.0707 CONCRETE MANUFACTURERS
(a) Weigh hoppers sold to ready-mix concrete manufacturers and sales of scales to other manufac-

turers are subject to the one percent rate of tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article

when used for weigliing cement or ingredient materials for the manufacturing process. Sales to man-
ufacturers of scales for use in shipping and receiving areas are subject to the three percent rate of tax.

(b) Effective October 1, 1989, the sale of a truck with a ready-mix concrete mill mounted upon the

chassis at the time of the sale which is operated off a power train from the truck transmission is exempt
from sales tax and subject to the three percent highway use tax with a maximum tax of one thousand
dollars ($1,000.00) applicable thereto when sold to a ready-mix concrete manufacturer for use in mixing
concrete for sale and transporting it to the purchaser. Prior to October 1, 1989, such a sale was subject

to the two percent rate of tax with a maximum tax of three hundred dollars ($300.00) when sold to a

ready-mix concrete manufacturer for the above-described purposes.

(c) Sales of calcium chloride to concrete manufacturers for use as an ingredient or component part

of concrete manufactured for sale are exempt from tax. Sales of calcium chloride to contractors for

use or consumption in the performance of contracts are subject to the three percent rate of tax. Ef-

fective February 15, 1984, sales of calcium chloride solutions to farmers for use as an antifreeze in

tractor tires are subject to the one percent rate of tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4;

105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990; July 1, 1984; January 1, 1982.

SECTION .1900 - TIRE RECAPPERS AND RETREADERS: TIRE AND TUBE REPAIRS

.1906 SCRAP TIRE DISPOSAL FEE
(a) Effective January 1, 1990, a scrap tire disposal fee of one percent is levied on the sales price of each

retail sale of a new motor vehicle tire. The fee is not due on tires sold for any implement of husbandry,

farm tractor, road construction or maintenance machinery or equipment, special mobile equipment,

any vehicle designed primarily for use in work off the highway, or a manufactured home. "Sales

price" includes the amount of any federal manufacturer's excise tax imposed on such tires. The one
percent fee is imposed on tire retailers' net taxable sales of new motor vehicle tires and it is to be col-
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lected and paid in the same manner as the State sales tax. However, the tee is not a part of the tax base

on which the sales tax is to be computed. It does not apply to:

( 1

)

sales of recapped tires,

(2) receipts from the lease or rental of tires,

(3) sales of tires for resale,

(4) the sale of used motor vehicle tires,

(5) factor,' installed tires which after use are replaced with new tires and then sold at retail.

(6) tires which are sold to motor vehicle dealers to be mounted on and sold as a part of a new or

used motor vehicle, or

(7) sales to the United States Government or any agency thereof.

(b) Motor vehicle tires purchased outside of North Carolina for use in this State will be subject to

the one percent fee on the cost price of each new tire to be paid in the same manner as the State use

tax under G.S. 105-164.6. Every person located outside this State engaged in business in this State is

required to register with the Department and collect and remit the scrap tire disposal fee on all retail

sales of new motor vehicle tires sold or delivered for storage, use or consumption in this State. The
exemptions and exclusions under the Sales and Use Tax Law and the "storage and use exclusion," as

well as the lower rates of tax imposed by the Sales and Use Tax Law, do not apply to this fee levy.

The refund provisions of G.S. 105-164. 14(a), (b) and (c) do not apply to this fee lew.

(c) The fee levy constitutes a separate collection program from sales tax for the Sales and Use Tax
Division and is to be reported on the Waste Tire Disposal Fee Report, Form E-500 G. which is pro-

vided by the Department.

(d) Even' person engaged in the business of selling new motor vehicle tires at retail or making pur-

chases subject to the scrap tire use fee and whose total scrap tire fee liability is consistently less than

twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) per month must file on, or before the 15th day of each calendar

month a report for the previous month and remit the taxes due with such report. When the total

amount of the scrap tire disposal fee for which a taxpayer is liable is consistently less than twenty-five

dollars ($25.00) per month, such taxpayer may file a quarterly return with remittance of the tax on or

before the 15th day of January, April, July and October of each year for the preceding three months'
period upon making application to the Secretary to use such basis of reporting. A report must be filed

for each reporting period. Reports for the periods in which no sales are made should be marked "no
sales." A taxpayer who is consistently liable for at least twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) per month
in scrap tire disposal fees shall, as directed by the Secretary of Revenue, file -a return on a semimonthly
basis. These returns are due within ten days after the end of each semimonthly period. The semi-

monthly reporting periods are the first through the 15th day of each month and the 16th through the

last day of each month. In determining the amount of tax due from a taxpayer for a reporting period,

the Secretary shall consider the total amount due from all places of business owned or operated by the

same person as the amount due for that period.

History Xote: Statutory Authority G. S. 105-262; 105-264; 130A-309.55;

130A-309.56:

Eff. October 1, 1990.

SECTION .2100 COAL: COKE: FUEL OIL: OXYGEN: ACETYLENE: HYDROGEN:
LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS AND OTHER COMBUSTIBLES

.2105 AVIATION FUEL
Sales of aviation gasoline and other aviation fuel to users or consumers in this state are subject to the

three percent state and two percent local rates of tax. The federal tax on aviation gasoline or other

aviation fuels which is levied at the rate of 9.1 cents per gallon by Chapter 32, Section 40S1, of the

Internal Revenue Code and the federal super fund tax of .35 cents per gallon are imposed on gasoline

sold by any producer, terminal operator or importer of gasoline and should be included in the sales

price of aviation gasoline on which North Carolina sales tax is due. The federal tax of three cents per

gallon on noncommercial aviation gasoline and the federal tax of 14.1 cents per gallon on certain other

liquids sold for use or used for fuel in noncommercial aviation as levied by the provisions of Chapter

31, Section 4041, of the Internal Revenue Code, are taxes imposed at the retail level and these taxes

are not includable in the sales price upon which North Carolina sales tax is due.

History Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1. 1976;
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Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; January 3, 1984.

SECTION .2600 - LIABILITY OF CONTRACTORS: USE TAX ON EQUIPMENT BROUGHT
INTO STATE: BUILDING MATERIALS

.2606 PREFABRICATED BUILDINGS: CONTRACTORS
Sales of pre-fabricated buildings to contractors, builders, or other users or consumers in this state are

subject to the three percent state and two percent local sales or use tax. Manufacturers of pre-fabricated

buildings entering into performance contracts for the erection of buildings are liable for payment of the

three percent state and two percent local sales or use tax on the cost price of tangible personal property

used in the performance of the contract.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1 , 1976;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990.

SECTION .3200 - TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COMPANIES

.3201 IN GENERAL
(a) Sales of central office equipment and switchboard and private branch exchange equipment to

telephone and telegraph companies regularly engaged in providing telephone and telegraph services to

subscribers on a commercial basis and, effective July 1, 1983, sales to those companies of prewritten

computer programs used in providing telephone service to their subscribers are subject to the one per-

cent sales or use tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article. For the purpose of

determining the items that may be properly included in the terms central office equipment, switchboard

equipment and private branch exchange equipment, reference is made to Accounts 221, 231 and 234

of Title 47--Telecommunication Chapter 1, Fart 31, Uniform Systems of Accounts, Class A and Class

B Telephone Companies, of the Federal Communications Commission's rules and regulations as re-

vised to January 1, 1960. This Rule has no application to future changes in the Federal Communi-
cations Commission's rules and regulations until such changes are reviewed by the Secretary of

Revenue to determine the application of tax to the tangible personal property affected by such changes.

(b) Account 221; Central Office Fquipment. This account includes switchboards and other equip-

ment, instruments and apparatus necessary to the functions of central offices. Sales to and purchases

by the above-referred to telephone and telegraph companies of the items included in Account 221, with

certain exceptions, examples of which are set out below, are subject to the one percent sales or use tax

with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article, irrespective of whether the items are classified

in the Uniform System of Accounts as capital expenditures or as maintenance expense. Examples of

items contained in Account 221 which are taxable at the three percent rate are:

(1) aisle-lighting equipment attached to buildings;

(2) minor building alterations when tangible personal property not properly termed central office

equipment is affixed or attached to or in any manner becomes a part of a building or structure;

(3) cable, other than that connecting central office units to each other or to distributing frames;

(4) covers for transmission power apparatus;

(5) desks and tables unless equipped with central office equipment when purchased;

(6) foundations for engines and other equipment when part of building;

(7) loading coils used outside central office, loud speaker equipment, operators' chairs;

(8) platforms, rolling ladders, tarpaulins, ticket holders, toll ticket carriers;

(9) water stills for battery service;

(10) tools and portable testing equipment regardless of where used;

(11) items not herein specified but which may be excluded by Notes A, B, C and D to Account 221.

(c) Account 231; Station Apparatus. This account includes private branch exchange equipment in

addition to station apparatus. That equipment which is properly included in the term private branch

exchange equipment is taxable at the one percent rate subject to the eighty dollar ($80.00) maximum
tax per article, whether classified by the Uniform System of Accounts as capital expenditures or as

maintenance expense; however, all other equipment in this account is subject to the three percent sales

or use tax. Fxamples of items contained in Account 231 which are taxable at the three percent rate

are desk sets, hand sets, wall sets, mobile telephone equipment, backboards, battery boxes, booths, coil

collectors, station wiring, protectors, arresters, ground rods, clamps, wire and similar associated equip-
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ment, and any items not properly classified as private branch exchange equipment and not included in

Accounts 221 and 234 but distributable to other accounts by Notes A. B. C and D to Account 231.

(d) Account 234; Large Private Branch Exchange. This account contains equipment and apparatus

necessary to the operation of the above named exchanges. The equipment and apparatus contained

in this account which are properly included in the term private branch exchange equipment are subject

to the one percent sales or use tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article, whether

classified under the Uniform System of Accounts as capital expenditures or as maintenance expense,

but does not include any tangible personal property which is station apparatus-. Examples of items

included in Account 234 which are taxable at the three percent rate are operators' chairs and equipment
and apparatus distributable to other accounts by Notes A, B, and C to Account 234.

(e) Effective January 1, 19S5. the gross receipts derived by a utility from sales of intrastate telephone

service are subject to the three percent sales tax. The statute was amended effective January 1. 1989,

to substitute the term "local telecommunications services" for the term "intrastate telephone service,"

as used in the above sentence, and to levy the three percent rate of tax only on receipts derived from
local telecommunications services as defmed by G.S. 105- 120(e). A new subdivision, G.S. 105- 164.4(a)

(4c) was added, effective January 1. 1989. which levies a six and one-half percent sales tax on the gross

receipts derived from toll or private telecommunications services, as defined by G.S. 105- 120(e), that

both originate from and terminate in the state which are not subject to the privilege tax under G.S.

105-120. The provisions of G.S. 105- 164.4(a) (4c) do not apply to telephone membership corporations

as described in Chapter 1 17 of the General Statutes. The receipts upon which the tax is due is the total

amount derived from the sale of telecommunications services, including any charges that go into the

delivery of the services that are a part of the sale of services valued in money, whether paid in money
or otherwise, and includes any amount for which credit is given to the purchaser by the seller without

any deduction on account of the cost of the services sold, the cost of materials used, labor or service

costs, interest charged, losses or any other expenses whatsoever. Therefore, all charges for tangible

personal property and services provided in the delivery of telecommunications services to the purchaser

are a part of the sale of services upon which the tax is due. notwithstanding that some charges may be

billed separately to the customer from the time or flat rate charges. Set forth in this Paragraph are the

departmental interpretations as to the application of sales tax to transactions by telecommunications

companies.

(1) Sales tax should be separately stated on the bill provided to each customer; however, the fran-

chise tax is not to be separately stated on such bills.

(2) A telecommunications company must report receipts from sales of telecommunications services

on an accrual basis. The sale of the services is considered to occur when the company bills the

customer for the sale and the applicable tax should be computed thereon. Such receipts must
be reported on the L'tilities Sales Tax Return, Form E-500E. Telecommunications companies
with a monthly liability of three thousand dollars ($3,000.00) or more are required to file

monthly reports on or before the last day of the month following the month in which the tax

accrues except the return for tax that accrues in May is due by June 25th of each year. A tele-

communications company that is required to file a monthly return may file an estimated return

for the first month, the second month, or both the first and second months of the quarter. There

is no interest or penalty for an underpayment submitted with an estimated monthly return if the

utility timely pays at least 95 percent of the amount due with a monthly return and includes the

underpayment with the company's return for the third month of the same quarter. A telecom-

munications company with a monthly liability of less than three thousand dollars ($3,000.00)

that has been authorized by the Secretary of Revenue to file the Franchise Return. Form CD
311. on a quarterly basis will continue to file the L'tilities Sales Tax Return. Form E-500E, on
a quarterly basis by the last day of the month following the quarter covered by the return.

(3) Charges for reconnecting services to customers after services have been terminated for nonpay-

ment are a part of gross receipts from sales of telecommunications services and are subject to

sales tax. Likewise, any charges for disconnecting services are subject to the sales tax.

(4) Sales of telecommunications services directly to the United States Government or any agency

thereof are not subject to sales tax. In order to be a sale to the United States Government, the

Government or agency involved must make the purchase of the services and pay directly to the

vendor the purchase price of the services. While sales directly to the L nited States Government
or any agency thereof are exempt from sales tax. telephone companies should obtain a purchase

requisition one time from each agency for their records.

(5) Accounts of purchasers representing taxable sales on which the sales tax has been paid that are

found to be worthless and actually charged off for income tax purposes may at corresponding
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periods be deducted from gross sales provided, however, they must be added to gross sales if

afterwards collected.

(6) The local sales tax is not applicable to those receipts from telecommunications services subject

to the state sales tax of three percent, but the local tax is applicable to receipts from sales and
leases of tangible personal property subject to the three percent state rate of tax.

(7) Late payment charges are not subject to sales tax.

(8) Any return check charges on customers' checks returned by a bank because of insufficient funds

are not subject to sales tax.

(9) Telecommunications companies, other vendors or lessors that sell or lease telecommunications

equipment are liable for collecting and remitting the three percent state and two percent local

sales or use tax on the amounts of such sales or leases. Such tax is to be reported on the

monthly, quarterly or semimonthly sales and use, tax reports, and should not be reported on the

Franchise Return, Form CD-31 1, or the Utilities Sales Tax Return, Form F-500E.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; July 1, 1989;

May I, 19S5; March I, 1984.

.3203 TOLL OR PRIVATE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES
Effective January 1, 1989, the gross receipts derived from toll telecommunications services or private

telecommunications services as defined by G.S. 105- 120(e) that both originate and terminate in the state

which are not subject to the privilege tax under G.S. 105-120 are subject to a six and one-half percent

state sales tax. Such receipts are not subject to the state three percent or local sales taxes. This six and
one-half percent sales tax is not refundable under the provisions of G.S. 105- 164. 14(b) or (c). This levy

does not apply to telephone membership corporations as described in Chapter 117 of the General

Statutes nor does it include those companies that provide pager services by means other than telephonic

quality communications.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff July 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.

SECTION .4600 - MOTOR VEHICLES AND BOATS

.4607 MOTOR VEHICLE KITS

.4608 MOTOR VEHICLES: MILITARY PERSONNEL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4;

105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff January 3, 1984; July 5, 1980;

Repealed Eff October 1, 1990.

.4613 MOTOR VEHICLE LESSORS
Effective October 1, 1989, the sale, lease or rental of a motor vehicle is exempt from sales or use taxes

and subject to the highway use tax as provided by 17 NCAC 7B .4619. Prior to October 1, 1989, when
North Carolina lessors leased motor vehicles to out-of-state lessees to be located, domiciled or assigned

in this state for use in interstate operations, including North Carolina, the lessors were required to

collect and remit tax on the receipts derived therefrom notwithstanding that the lease may have been
negotiated outside North Carolina. When North Carolina lessors leased motor vehicles to out-of-state

lessees for use in intrastate operations in North Carolina, the lessors were required to collect and remit

tax on the lease receipts notwithstanding that the leases were negotiated outside this state or that the

vehicles were delivered to the lessees at a point outside this state or were registered outside this state.

\Mien North Carolina lessors leased motor vehicles to out-of-state lessees on a month-to-month basis

for use exclusively in a state other than North Carolina, the initial lease payments were subject to this

state's tax if the vehicles were delivered to the lessees at a point within this state. When North Carolina

lessors leased motor vehicles to out-of-state lessees for a definite stipulated period of time for use ex-

clusively in a state other than North Carolina, the lease payments were subject to this state's tax if the
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vehicles were delivered to leasees at a point within this state. When the vehicles were delivered to the

lessees at points outside this state, the lease receipts were not subject to this state's tax. When a motor
vehicle was leased outside North Carolina for use in North Carolina, the lease receipts were subject to

this state's tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4: 105-164.6: 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; July 1, 1990.

.4614 PICKUP CAMPERS: TRAILERS
Retail sales of camper trailers which are designed to run on the streets and highways and which are

pulled by a self-propelled vehicle are properly classified as sales of motor vehicles and exempt from sales

tax effective October 1, 1989. Retail sales of such camper trailers are subject to the highway use tax

on and after October 1, 19S9. Retail sales of slide-in pickup camper units are subject to the three

percent state and two percent local sales or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1.
19'

'6;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; July 1. 1990.

.4619 HIGHWAY USE RAX
(a) Effective October 1, 19S9. retail sales of motor vehicles are exempt from sales tax and subject to

the three percent highway use tax under Article 5A of Chapter 105 of the General Statutes with a mi-

nimum tax of forty dollars ($40.00) applicable thereto, with certain exceptions, and a maximum tax of

one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) on any one motor vehicle increasing to fifteen hundred dollars

($1,500.00) July 1, 1993. The highway use tax must be paid to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

by the dealer, the purchaser, or other applicant for a certificate of title at the time of making application.

The basis for the tax on sales of motor vehicles by retailers will be the sales price of the motor vehicles

including all accessories attached thereto at the time of delivery of the vehicles to the purchasers less the

amount of any allowance given by the retailer for motor vehicles taken in trade.

The basis for the tax on sales of motor vehicles for which a certificate of title is issued because of a

sale of the vehicle by the seller who is not a retailer is the market value of the vehicle, less the amount
of any allowance given by the seller for a motor vehicle taken in trade for the purchased motor vehicle.

The retail value of a motor vehicle for which a certificate of title is issued because of a reason other than

the sale of the motor vehicle is the market value of the vehicle. The market value of the vehicle is

presumed to be the value of the vehicle set forth in a schedule of values adopted by the Commissioner
of Motor Vehicles not to exceed the wholesale values of motor vehicles as published in a recognized

automotive reference manual.

(b) The statute provides that the highway use tax will not be applicable to motor vehicles delivered

to purchasers on or after October 1. 1989, pursuant to written contracts of sale entered into before that

date, but they will be subject to the sales tax at the rate of two percent with the three hundred dollars
v; '' maximum tax per '.chicle I he hii:hua\ use tax will not be applicable to the transfer of a

motor vehicle to:

(ll the insurer under G.S. 20-109.01 of the Motor Vehicle Laws because the vehicle is a salvage

vehicle;

(2) to either a manufacturer, as defined in G.S. 20-285. forTesale; or

(3) to a motor vehicle retailer for the purpose of resale. Only the minimum tax of forty dollars

( $40.00) will be imposed when a certificate of title is issued as a result of the transfer of a motor
vehicle:

( A ) by a gift between a husband and wife or a parent and child:

( B ) by will or intestacy:

(Ci by a distribution of marital property as a result of a divorce:

(D) to a secured party who has tiled a security mterest in the motor vehicle with the Department
of the Secretary of State;

(E) to a partnership or corporation as an incident to the formation of the partnership or corpo-

ration and no gain or loss arises on the transfer under section 351 or section 721 of the Internal

Revenue Code, or to a corporation by merger or consolidation in accordance with G.S. 55-110;

or

( F) to the same owner to reflect a change in the owner's name.
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When a purchaser of a motor vehicle returns the vehicle to the seller within 90 days after the purchase

of the vehicle and receives a motor vehicle replacement or a refund of the purchase price paid to the

seller, the purchaser may obtain a refund of the tax paid on the certificate of title issued for the returned

vehicle less the minimum tax of forty dollars ($40.00) by submitting an application for refund to the

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.

(c) G.S. 105-187.5 provides that, effective October 1, 1989, lessors of motor vehicles may elect to pay

the highway use tax to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles when applying for a certificate of title for

a motor vehicle purchased by the retailer for lease or rental or may elect to collect and remit the tax to

the Secretary of Revenue on the lease or rental receipts derived therefrom. The rate of highway use tax

on motor vehicle lease or rental receipts will be eight percent for the first 90 continuous days of lease

or rental of a vehicle to the same person, and the rate will reduce to three percent for the remainder

of the continuous period during which the vehicle is leased or rented to that person. The maximum
tax applicable to the sale of a motor vehicle applies when the vehicle is leased or rented to the same
person for more than 90 continuous days and the tax paid by a person from the first day of such period

applies toward the maximum tax. A retailer who elects to pay tax to the Secretary of Revenue on the

gross receipts from the lease or rental of a motor vehicle must make this election when applying for a

certificate of title for the vehicle. To make the election, the retailer must complete a form provided by
the Division of Motor Vehicles. Once made, an election is irrevocable. The eight percent rate of tax

will be deposited in the General Fund. The three percent rate of tax will be deposited to the Highway
Trust Fund. Separate forms for reporting the separate rates of tax on motor vehicle lease receipts will

be provide by the Department of Revenue to motor vehicle lessors upon receipt of their request for

such forms.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-187.3; 105-187.4; 105-187.5;

105-187.6; 105-/87.8; 105-187.9; 105-262;

Eff October 1, 1990.

SECTION .4700 - PRINT ERS AND NEWSPAPER
OR MAGAZINE PUBLISHERS

.4716 TYPESETTING
Charges made by typesetters for setting type for users, are charges for services rendered and receipts

therefrom are exempt from tax. Typesetters are liable for remitting the three percent state and two
percent local sales or use tax on purchases of metal or other tangible personal property for use in per-

forming such services. Charges by typesetters to commercial printers for reproduction proofs used in

the production of printed matter are not subject to the tax. Purchases of proof paper and ink by typ-

esetters for use in the production of proofs for sale are subject to the tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-164.6;

105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.

SECTION .5400 - FORMS USED FOR SALES
AND USE TAX PURPOSES

.5401 MONTHLY SALES AND USE TAX REPORT FORM: E-500
The Monthly Sales and Use Tax Report Form, E-500, is for use by registered taxpayers to report their

sales and use tax liability on a monthly basis. A supply of forms is sent to monthly taxpayers when
registration is effected and annually thereafter. The report is screened in green.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-164.16; 105-262;

Eff February I, 1976;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990; July 1, 1990.

.5402 QUARTERLY SALES AND USE TAX REPORT FORM: E-500B
The Quarterly Sales and Use Tax Report Form, E-500B, is for use by registered taxpayers to report

their sales and use tax liability on a quarterly basis. A form is sent to quarterly taxpayers when regis-

tration is effected and annually thereafter.
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History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-164.16; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.

.5406 NOTICE OF PROPOSED TAX ASSESSMENT FORM: DOR 20

The Notice of Proposed Tax Assessment Form, DOR 20, is used by the sales and use tax division to

notify taxpayers that an assessment of tax as indicated is proposed to be made against them. It is a

three part form with one part going to the taxpayer and two parts remaining in the Division.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff October I, 1990.

.5407 PROPOSED ASSESSMENT OF WHOLESALE LICENSE FEE FORM: E-510B

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 1990.

.5409 NOTICE OF DELINQUENT TAX REPORT FORM: E-515
The Notice of Delinquent Tax Report Form, E-515, is used by the sales and use tax division to notify

taxpayers that their sales and use tax report for the period indicated has not been received.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990.

.5410 SALES TAX EXTENSION FORM: E-517
The Sales Tax Extension Form, E-517, is completed by the sales and use tax division and sent to

taxpayers to show that an extension of time for filing a monthly, semimonthly or quarterly sales and
use tax report has been granted. The form, when applicable, is to accompanv taxpayers' sales and use

tax reports, Form E-500, E-500B, E-500C, E-500D, E-500E, E-500F or E-500G, referred to in 17

NCAC 7B .5401. 17 NCAC 7B .5402, 17 NCAC 7B .5444, 17 NCAC 7B .5447. 17 NCAC 7B .5448,

17 NCAC 7B .5449 and, 17 NCAC 7B .5458.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-164.19; 105-262;

Eff. February 1. 19^6;

Amended Eff October 1, 1990.

.5413 NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT FORM: E-529

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-/64.15; 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff October 1. 1990.

.5441 AFFIDAVIT FOR USE TAX FORM: E-5S9A (MECKLENBURG COUNTY)

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff October 1. 1990.

.5444 SEMIMONTHLY SALES AND USE TAX REPORT FORM: E-500D
The Semimonthly Sales and L'se Tax Report Form, E-500D, is for use by registered taxpayers to re-

port their sales and use tax liability on a semimonthly basis. A taxpayer who is consistently liable for

at least twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) per month in state and local sales and use taxes shall, as di-

rected by the Secretary of Revenue, hie a return on a semimonthly basis. Returns of taxpayers who
are required to report on a semimonthly basis are due within 10 days after the end of each semimonthly
period. The semimonthly reporting periods are the first day of each month through the fifteenth day
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of each month and the sixteenth day of each month through the last day of each month. A supply of

report forms is sent to semimonthly taxpayers when registration is effected and annually thereafter.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-262;

Eff February 1, I9S6;

Amended Eff. October I, 1990.

.5449 MONTHLY SALES AND USE TAX REPORT FORM: E-500C
The Monthly Sales and Use Tax Report Form, E-500C, is for use by registered taxpayers to report

their sales and use tax liability on a monthly basis. A supply of forms is sent to monthly taxpayers

when registration is effected and annually thereafter. The report is screened in blue.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-164.16; 105-262;

Eff. October 1. 1990.

.5450 NOTICE FOR TAXPAYERS FILING THIRTEEN REPORTS A YEAR FORM: E-517A
The Notice for Taxpayers Filing Thirteen Reports a Year Form, E-517A, is completed by the sales

and use tax division and sent to taxpayers to show that an extension of time for filing thirteen four-week
sales and use tax reports per year has been granted. The form, when applicable, is to accompany tax-

pavers' sales and use tax reports, Form E-500 or E-500C, referred to in 17 NCAC 713 .5401 and 17

NCAC 7B .5449.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-/64.19; 105-262;

Eff October 1. 1990.

.5451 NOTICE FOR TAXPAYERS FILING TWENTY-SIX REPORTS A YEAR FORM: E-5I7B
The Notice for Taxpayers Filing Twenty-Six Reports a Year Form, E-517B, is completed by the Sales

and Use Tax Division and sent to taxpayers to show that an extension of time for filing sales and use

tax reports on a two week basis has been granted. The form, when applicable, is to accompany tax-

payers' semimonthly sales and use tax reports, Form E-500D, referred to in 17 NCAC 7B .5444.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-164.19; 105-262;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.5452 EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING SALES AND USE TAX REPORT FORM: E-517C
The Extension of Time for Filing Sales and Use Tax Report Form, F-517C, is completed by the Sales

and Use Tax Division and sent to taxpayers to show that an extension of time of ten days for filing

reconciling sales and use tax reports has been granted. The form, when applicable, is to accompany
taxpayers' semimonthly sales and use tax reports, Form F-500D, referred to in 17 NCAC 7B .5444.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-/64.15; 105-164.19; 105-262;

Eff. October 1. 1990.-

.5453 SPECIAL SALES AND USE TAX REMITTANCE FORM: E-503
The Special Sales and Use Tax Remittance Form, E-503, is for use by the Department to credit mis-

cellaneous payments made by taxpayers.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff October 1, 1990.

.5454 NOTICE OF TAX DUE FORM: DOR 31

The Notice of Tax Due Form, DOR 31, is used by the Sales and Use Tax Division to notify taxpayers
that the assessment againist them has become final and conclusive and that the account will be assigned

to the Revenue Office in their district for collection. It is a two part form with one part being mailed
to the taxpayer and the other part remaining in the Division.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. October 1, 1990.
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.5455 NOTICE OF TAX DUE FORM: DOR 31

A

The Notice of Tax Due Form, DOR 31 A, is used by the Sales and Use Tax Division to notify Re-
venue Officers that the assessment against a taxpayer has become final and conclusive and that the ac-

count is assigned to their district for collection. It is a three part form with all parts being sent to the

Revenue Officer.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.5456 NOTICE TO NEWLY REGISTERED WHOLESALE MERCHANTS FORM: E-552

The Notice to Newly Registered Wholesale Merchants Form, E-552, is mailed to taxpayers who have

indicated on their application for registration that they will be engaged exclusively in the business of

making wholesale sales. The notice defines wholesale sales and contains information in regard to

wholesales sales along with an order form for Sales and Use Tax Regulations and the Sales and Use
Tax Law.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. October 1. 1990.

.5457 NOTICE TO ALL TAXPAYERS FORM: E-505AC
The Notice to All Taxpayers Form, E-505AC, is mailed to all newly registered taxpayers and contains

information concerning the state and county rates of tax, report forms, the location of Revenue Offices

in the state and various information of a general nature.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. October 1, 1990.

.5458 UTILITIES SALES FAX RETURN FORM: E-500E
The Utilities Sales Tax Return, Form E-500E, is to be filed by utilities, including municipalities,

remitting sales tax on electricity, piped gas and telecommunications services. Effective October 1, 1990,

the return is to be filed either monthly or quarterly. The return is to be used to remit the tax collected

on the above-stated utility services.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-I64.4(a)(4a); I05-164.4(a)(4c);

105-262;

Eff. October I. 1990.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS

SUBCHAPTER 2D - HIGHWAY OPERATIONS

SECTION .0600 - TECHNICAL SERVICES

.0603 ISSUING OFFICES AND PROCEDURES
(a) Application for permits may be made by phone, (except that no telephone applications will be

accepted for movement of mobile homes having a width in excess of 12' but not greater than 14), wire,

letter or application Form No. PA-1 or PA-2, whichever is applicable for move requested. Essential

information required is name and address of applicant, object being moved, date(s) of move, point of

entry on and point of exit from State Highway System, desired route, make of towing vehicle, dimen-

sions, gross weight and axle weight and spacing if over legal limits, and license tag number of truck,

tractor and trailer. Application for building move permit must be made in person or by mail on ap-

plication Form PA-2.

(b) All phone and wire requests will be issued by wire or facsimile and should be directed to N. C.

Department of Transportation, Division of Highways. Permits Unit, P. O. Box 25201, Raleigh, N. C.

2761 1, hereinafter referred to as the central permit office.
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(c) Written requests may be made to the central permit office or to the division or district office

having jurisdiction. Division or district offices will not issue permits for'travel outside their respective

area without approval of other involved divisions or districts or the central permit office.

(d) All moves within a municipality must meet with the approval of the municipality. The issuance

of a special permit by any division of highways' office does not relieve the permittee from complying
with any local regulations.

(e) The issuing office will furnish the original to the permittee, retain one copy for its file, and division

and district offices will forward one copy to Head of Maintenance Unit.

(f) Special permits will be carried in towing unit at all times permitted load is in transit.

(g) For movement of mobile/modular homes having a greater than 12' but not greater than a 14' unit

with an allowable roof overhang not to exceed 12", application must be made at least two days prior

to date of movement. On routes where studies have previously been made, the issuing office may waive

the two day advance application.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-18(5);

Eff. July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. October I, 1990; April 1, 1984; April 11, 1980.

.0607 WIDTH LIMITED
(a) Width is limited to 14' for all movements except certain construction machinery, buildings, ma-

nufacturing machinery for short moves to or from projects or from nearest railhead to destination. If

blades of bulldozers, graders or front end loader buckets cannot be angled to extend no more than 12'

across the roadway, they must be removed. A blade or bucket or other attachment which has been
removed for safety reasons, or if in the best interests to the Department has been removed, may be
moved with the equipment without being considered a divisible load. Moves exceeding 12' for a

commodity essential to national health, safety or defense may be permitted upon receipt of proof of

necessity submitted by the agency directly concerned, however, if considered to be detrimental or unsafe

to the other traveling public or if the highway cannot accommodate the move due to width or weight,

such move will be denied. Loads must be so placed on vehicle so as to present least dimension to

meeting or passing traffic.

(b) Permits for mobile; modular homes will be issued for a width not to exceed 14'-0" for the unit

with an allowable roof overhang not to exceed 12". Moves in excess of 10' width are restricted on
routes listed below. When the final destination is on a restricted route, consideration may be given to

allow entrance on the restricted route at nearest practical point to final destination. The restricted

routes are the following:

ighway Restricted County(s)
No. From To Involved

19 Upper Crossing of Maggie Jackson,

Solo Creek I laywood
19A Jet. 441 Ela Jackson,

Swain
19E Ingalls Cranberry Avery-

19W Jet. 19 " Term. Line Yancey
23 U.S. 19 Term. Line Madison
25-70 Jet. 19-23 Term. Line Buncombe,

Madison
2K Fontana Village Tenn. Line Graham,

Swain
2S Lauada Wests Mill Macon,

Swain
2S Gneiss Ga. Line Macon
63 Canto N.C. 209 Buncombe,

Madison
64 Highlands Rosman Macon,

Jackson,

Transylvania
74 Lake Lure Asheville Rutherford
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Buncombe
so Jet. 19E Jet. 226 Mitchell,

Yancey
80 U.S. 70 Blue Ridge Pkwy. McDowell
\N Warrensville Term. Line Ashe,

Watauga
90 Valmead Globe Caldwell

106 Ga. Line Highlands Macon
129 Robbinsville Term. Line Graham
151 Jet. B.R. Parkway Jet. 19-23 Buncombe,

Henderson
176 Tryon Saluda Polk

178 S.C. Line Rosman Transylvania

194 Jet. 19E Vilas Avery,

Watauga
194 Jet. 421 Baldwin Ashe,

Watauaa
194 Warrensville Va. Line Ashe
197 Jet. 19E Jet. 226 Yancey

Mitchell

197 End of Pavement U.S. 19E Burnsville Buncombe,
( Barnardsville) Yancey

208 Jet. 25-70 Term. Line Madison
209 Lake Junaluska Jet. 25-70 Haywood,

Madison
212 Jet. 208 Term. Line Madison
221 Linville Blowing Rock Avery,

Watauaa
221 Jet. 88 Twin Oaks Ashe,

Alleghany

226 Bakersville Term. Line Mitchell

226A N.C. 226 N.C. 226 McDowell
261 Bakersville Term. Line Mitchell

268 Elkin Jet. 601 Surry

276 Jet. 280 and 64 Cruso Haywood,
Transylvania

441 Cherokee Term. Line Swain

(c) Extended period permits for times up to 12 months may be granted for 12' width mobile homes
by the central permit office on a statewide basis on NC and US routes. Extended period permits for

widths in excess of 10' are granted only for specified county road routes.

(d) Annual permits may be granted to manufacturers, retailers licensed by Division of Motor Vehi-

cles, and to contract carriers licensed by the Public Utilities Commission for the movement of mobile

and modular home units having a width in excess of 12' but not greater than a 14' unit with an allow-

able roof overhang not to exceed 12" by the Central Permit Office on designated NC and US routes.

All others will be issued single trip permits good for ten days from date of issue over approved routing.

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119: 136-18(5); Board of
Transportation Minutes for February 16. 1977
and November 10, 1978;

Eff July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. October 1. 1990: September 1, 1990;

January 1. 7985: April 1, 1984.

.0622 ESCORT VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS
(a) A leading escort vehicle is required for loads exceeding 12' wide on all two lane highways, except

that mobile homes and modular homes over 10' wide require escort vehicles in that area of the state

north and west of 1-85 from the South Carolina line to Greensboro and west of US 29 from Greensboro
to the Virginia hne. Lor mobile or modular homes in excess of 12' wide but not greater than a 14' umt
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with an allowable roof overhang not to exceed 12", and for other loads 14' or more wide, both a leading

and following escort vehicle is required, with flashing amber lights and wide load sign- Hashing amber
lights are required to be displayed on the front and rear on the traffic side during movement of a

mobile, modular 14' unit with a roof overhang not to exceed 12". No following escort will be required

in urban areas, where speeds are restricted except for mobile or modular homes in excess of 12' wide

but not greater than 14' wide. On four lane highways if only one escort vehicle accompanies the move,
it should be a follow vehicle. Mobile and modular homes not to exceed a 14' unit with an allowable

roof overhang not to exceed 12" do not require a leading escort vehicle on four lane divided highways,

however, a following escort vehicle will be required.

(b) Escort vehicles will not be required for movements of mobile and modular homes authorized by
annual permits on designated routes. When escorts are not required on annual permits, a flashing

amber light shall be mounted on the towing unit and on the rear top of mobile or modular home unit.

Also, for a 14 unit with an allowable roof overhang not to exceed 12" flashing amber lights shall be

displayed on the traffic side on the front and rear during movement.
(c) Driver(s) of escort vehicle(s) shall be in radio contact with the driver of the towing unit when

escorting mobile or modular homes in excess of 12' wide but not greater than a 14' unit with an al-

lowable roof overhang not to exceed 12".

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-18(5);

Eff. July 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. October I, 1990; January 1, 1985;

January 1 , 1979.

.0624 TIME OF MOVE
Specially permitted moves may be made between sunrise and sunset Monday through Saturday. No
moves may be made on Sunday or approved State holidays, unless otherwise stated on the permit. If

the holiday falls on Saturday or Sunday, the following Monday will be considered a holiday. Time
limits may be included in any permit when the issuing authority deems it desirable for safety or to ex-

pedite traffic. Modular or mobile homes greater than 12' but not greater than a 14' unit with an al-

lowable roof overhang not to exceed 12", are permitted to move during these allotted times:

(1) August 19-June 11

Fully Controlled Access Highways -

Sunrise to Sunset (Monday- Friday)

Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Saturday)"

Non-Controlled Access Rural Highways -

8:30 a.m. -2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. to

Sunset (Monday- Friday), Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Sat.)

Non-Controlled Access Urban (Pop. greater than 10,000)

Four-Lane Highways - 8:30 a.m. -2:30 p.m. and
6:00 p.m. to Sunset (Monday-Friday)
Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Saturday)

Non-Controlled Access Urban (Pop. greater than 10,000)

Two-Lane Highways - 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. (Monday-Friday)
Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Saturday)

(2) June 12-August 18

Rural Highways -

Sunrise to Sunset (Monday-Friday)
Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Saturday)

Urban Highways (Population greater than 10,000) -

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to

Sunset (Monday-Friday)
Sunrise to 12:00 Noon (Saturday)

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-18(5); Board of
Transportation Minutes for February 16, 1977

and November 10, 1978;

Eff. July I, 1978;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990; September 1, 1990;

January 1, 1985; July I, 1981.
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.0629 TOWING UNIT
The towing unit for mobile homes shall he rated at not less than one and one half tons with dual rear

wheels for units up to 12 wide. For units more than 12' wide but not greater than a 14 unit with an
allowable roof overhang not to exceed 12". the towing unit shall be rated not less than two tons and
have a four speed transmission and be a minimum length of 15'. Headlights shall be burning during
move. The mobile home shall be equipped with adequate brakes controlled from the towing unit.

An individual may be permitted to move a mobile home owned by him for personal occupancy with

a suitable towing vehicle other than specified with approval of the central permit office.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-1/9; 136-18(5);

Eff. July 1. 1978;

Amended Eff October I, 1990.

.0632 WTATHER
No move will be made when atmospheric conditions render visibility less than 500' for a person or

vehicle. Moves will not be made when highway is covered with snow~ or ice, or at any time travel

conditions are considered unsafe by the division of highways or Highway Patrol or other law enforce-

ment officers having jurisdiction. Movement of a mobile/modular 14' unit with an allowable roof ov-

erhand not to exceed 12", will be prohibited when wind velocities exceed 25 miles per hour in gusts.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-18(5);

Eff. July 1. 1978;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1990.
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1 he Administrative Rules Renew Commission (ARRC) objected to the following rules in accord-

ance with G.S. 14311-30. 2(c). State agencies are required to respond to ARR( ' as provided in a S.

!43B-30.2(d).

ECONOMIC AM) COMMIMTY DIM IOI'MIM

Banking Commission

4 NCAC 3C .020/ - Establishment of Branch and Limited Svcs Facilities

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 3C .0202 - Branch Closing

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 3C .0901 - Books and Record
Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 3C .1301 - Annual Vacation

Agency Revised Rule

Community Assistance

4 NCAC I9L .0501 - Definition

Agency Revised Rule

Credit Union Division

4 NCAC 6C .0203 - Fields of Membership

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Lnvironmental I lealth

ISA NCAC ISA .IS 14 - Disposal of Garbage and Trash: Premises

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC ISA .2117 - Water Sanitation and Quality

ISA NCAC ISA .2609 - Refrigeration: Thawing: and Preparation of Food

ISA NCAC ISC .1529 - Point- of- Entry and Other Treatment Devices

Agency Revised Rule

Environmental Management

15A NCAC 211 .1203 - Public Notice

Health: Epidemiology

ISA NCAC I9B .0202 - Granting Permits

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 19D .0407 - Medical Eligibility

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 19D .0408 - Medical Eligibility!Licensed Nursing Home Svcs

Agency Revised Rule

Laboratory Services

ISA NCAC 20A .0002- Definitions

lA'AV Objection ' I'' '"'

Obj. Removed .s l'< 'Hi

ARR( ' Objection ' I'' W
Obj. Removed S 1 1, 'Ml

ARRC Objection " 19 'JO

Obj. Removed S It, W
ARRC Objection 71/9 90

Obj. Removed 8/ 16 90

ARRC Objection 7\19\90

Obj. Removed 81/6/90

ARRC Objection 8/ 16,90

ARRC Objection 6121,90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 8/16/90

ARRC Objection 8/ 16/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 8/ 16,90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90
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Agency Revised Rule

Marine Fisheries

ISA NCAC 3N .0001 - Scope and Purpose
ISA NCAC 30 -0203 - Shellfish Lean- Application Processing

Solid Waste Management

ISA NCAC 13B .1003 - Eligible Purposes

ISA XCAC 13B .1005 - Priority Factors

ISA XCAC 13B .1104 - General Conditions

ISA XCAC 13B .1105 - Permit Required
15A XCAC 13B .1107 - Scrap Tire Collection Site Operational Reqmnls

Wildlife Resources Commission

15A XCAC IOC .0501 - Scope and Purpose

Agency Revised Rule

HUMAN RESOURCES

AFDC

10 XCAC 49C .0101 - Eligibility for Coverage

Agency Revised Rule

Governor Morehead School

10 XCAC 21A .0301 - Eligibility

Agency Revised Rule

Medical Assistance

10 XCAC SOB .0311 - Reserve

Agency Revised Rule

Youth Services

10 XCAC 44B .0504 - Medical Care

Agency Revised Rule

10 XCAC 44B .0506 - Room Restriction or Confinement

Agency Revised Rule

INSURANCE

Agent Services Division

// NCAC 6A .0~02 - Pre/icensing Education Schools

Financial Evaluation Division

// NCAC JIB .0607 - Application - Employers

11 XCAC IIB .0610 - Application - Groups

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Board Of Pharmacy

Ob). Removed 7 19 %

ARR( ' Objection S If, 'mi

!A'A'(
' Objection S 10 'Ml

ARRt ' Oh/eel ion ,\ I ft 'Ml

ARRt ' Objection S; lo 'mi

ARR( ' Objection S H< on

ARRC Objection S Id 'Ml

ARRC Objection -S Id W

ARRC Objection 6 21 90

Obj. Removed 7,1 9, 90

ARRC Objection 7119/90

Obj. Removed 8! 16! 90

ARRC Objection 7/19190

Obj. Removed 8j 16/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Obj. Removed 7/19/90

ARRC Objection 7/19/90

Obj. Removed 8 16/ 90

ARRC Objection 7/19/90

Obj. Removed 8/16 90

IRRC Objection 8/ 16/90

ARRC Objection 81 16/90

ARRC Objection 8! 16/90
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A RRC OBJECTIONS

21 NCAC 46 .1503 - Experience in Pharmacy

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary Education

16 NCAC 6C .0312 - Certificate Suspension and Revocation

16 NCAC 6D .0105 - Use of School Day
Objection Reconsidered and Failed

Clincher Motion Passed

SECRETARY OF STATE

ARRC Objection 8/ 16190

ARRC Objection 8/16/90
ARRC Objection 6/21/90

7/19/90

Corporations Division

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

IS NCAC 4

.0101 - Location and Hours

.0102 - Administration and Functions

.0205 - Overpayment

.0206 - Documents Not Specifically Provided For

.0302 - Execution

.0303 - Rejection

.0305 - Corrective Filings-Nonprofit Corp/Limited Partnerships

.0306 - Articles of Incorporation - Nonprofit Corporations

.0307 - Application For Reservation of Corporate Name

.0308 - Registered Office and Registered Agent

.0311 - Art of Merger/Share Exch /G.S. 55-1 1-07/55A-42.1

.0312 - Appl For Cert of Authority / Foreign Prof Corporation

.0313 - Filing Merger Involving Foreign Corporation

.0314 - Filing Evidence of Dissolution/Foreign Nonprofit Corp

.0316 - Form for Annual Report

.0401 - Documents

.0402 - Cert of Facts/ Certificate of Exit!Authorization

.0501 - General

.0502 - Words Prohibited in Addition to Statutory Prohibitions

18 NCAC 4 .0503 - Deceptively Similar and Distinguishable Names
18 NCAC 4 .0504 - Filing Fictitious;Assumed Name/Foreign Corporation

No Response Received From Agency

Response Received From Agency

Securities Division

18 NCAC 6 .1210 - Securities Exchgs/Auto Quotation Sys Approve/Admin
No Response Received From Agency

Response Received From Agency

ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC
ARRC

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Objection

Obj. Removed 8/

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

6/21/90

7/19/90

16/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

7/19/90

Obj. Removed 8/ 16/90-
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RULES INVALIDATED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the Xorth ( 'arolina Supreme ( 'mat.

( 'ourl ofAppeals, Superior ( 'ourt
( when availablej, and the Office oj Administrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the Xorth (-'arolina Administrative ('ode

(

10 NCAC3R .0317(g) - WITHDRAWAL OF A CERTIFICATE
Robert Roosevelt Reilly, Jr., Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings,

declared Rule 10 NCAC 3R .0317(g) void as applied in Dawn Health Care, a Xorth Carolina (ieneral

Partnership. Petitioner v. Department of Human Resources, Certificate of Seed Section, Respondent CM)

DPIR 02%).
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two

of these, titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the XCAC is the title.

Each major department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been as-

signed a title number. Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical

in order. The other two, subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by

agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

hit: DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

i Administration Architecture 2

2 Agriculture Auctioneers 4

3 Auditor Barber Examiners 6

4 Economic and Community Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

Development Chiropractic Examiners 10

5 Correction General Contractors 12

6 Council of State Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

7 Cultural Resources Dental Examiners 16

8 Elections Electrical Contractors is

9 Governor Foresters 20

10 Human Resources Geologists 21

11 Insurance Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

i: Justice Landscape Architects 26

13 Labor Landscape Contractors 28

14A Crime Control and Public Safety Marital & Family Therapy 31

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Medical Examiners 32

Resources Midwifery Joint Committee 33

16 Public Lducation Mortuary Science 34

17 Revenue Nursing 36
is Secretary of State Nursmg Home Administrators 37

19A Transportation Occupational Therapists 38

20 Treasurer Opticians 4!)

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Optometry 42

22 Administrative Procedures Osteopathic Examination and 44

23 Community Colleges Registration

24 Independent Agencies Pharmacy 46
25 State Personnel Physical Therapy Examiners 48

26 Administrative Hearings Plumbing and Heating Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers and Land Survey ors 56

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work 63

Speech and Language Pathologists and 64

Audiologists

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1990 - March 199/

)

\<)'H) 1991

I'a-cs

1 - 151 1 - April

152 - 235 > . April

236 - 285 3 - May
286 - 312 4 - May
313 - 407 5 - June
408 - 473 •. 6 - June
474 - 513 7 - July

514 - 603 8 - July

604 - 635 9 - August
636 - 723 10 - August
724 - 791 11 - September
792 - 859 12 - September
860 - 895 13 - October

AO - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
Auxiliary Services, 860 PR
State Property and Construction, 411 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Rules Division, 792 PR

AGRICULTURE
Markets, 737 PR
Plant Conservation Board, 1 PR
Plant Industry, 739 PR
State Fair, 737 PR
Structural Pest Control Committee, 7 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons. 762 FR, 867 FR
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
State Highway Patrol, 53 PR, 804 PR
Butner Public Safety Division, 419 PR

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Banking Commission, 16 PR
Community Assistance, 25 PR, 317 PR
Credit Union, 317 PR, 860 PR
Hazardous Waste Management, 742 PR
Milk Commission, 24 PR, 741 PR

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 136 PR, 292 PR, 707 PR
Environmental Management, 54 PR, 193 PR, 420 PR, 542 PR, 706 PR, 744 PR
Health Services, 190 PR, 565 PR, 816 PR, 860 PR
Land Resources, 744 PR
Marine Fisheries, 63 PR, 484 PR, 805 PR
Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators Certification Commission, 551 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification, 621 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 137 PR, 206 PR, 293 PR, 349 PR, 438 PR, 563 PR, 748 PR, 815 PR

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 241, 286, 316, 605, 638, 792

FINAL RULES
List of Rules Codified, 143 FR, 226 FR, 302 FR, 463 FR, 587 FR, 710 FR, 842 FR

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 236, 313, 408, 474, 514, 604, 636, 724

HUMAN RESOURCES
Aging, Division of, 704 PR
Drug Commission, 870 FR
Facility Services, 516 PR, 702 PR
Health Services, 152 PR, 245 PR
Medical Assistance, 191 PR
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 29 PR, 318 PR, 475 PR,
Services for the Blind, 412 PR
Social Services, 247 PR, 607 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification, 27 PR
Youth Services, 261 PR'

INSURANCE
Actuarial Services Division, 480 PR
Agent Services Division, 321 PR, 520 PR
Engineering and Building Codes, 793 PR
Financial Evaluation Division. 342 PR, 525 PR
Fire and Casualty Division, 335 PR, 478 PR, 796 PR
Life: Accident and Health, 264 PR, 287 PR, 529 PR, 798 PR

JUSTICE
Attorney General, Office of the, 192 PR, 273 PR
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, 704 PR
Sheriffs' Standards Division, 608 PR

LICENSING BOARDS
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of, 355 PR, 708 PR
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners of, 356 PR
Medical Examiners, Board of, 207 PR, 838 PR, 862 PR

5:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER October I, 1990 894



CUMULATIVE INDEX

Mortuar\ Science, Board of, 749 PR
Nursing, Board of, 300 BR, 496 PR
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of, 750 PR
Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of, 443 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors. Fxaminers, 62 1 PR
Practicing Psychologists, Board of, 755 PR
Real Estate Commission, (-25 PR, 863 PR

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary, 141 PR, 275 PR, 351 PR

REVENUE
Individual Income Tax, 359 FR
License and Excise Tax Division, 445 FR
Sales and Use Tax, 213 FR, 453 FR, 872 FR

SECRETARY OF STALE
Corporations Division, 489 PR
Securities Division, 293 PR, 495 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission. 277 PR, 500 PR, 756 PR

STATE TREASURER
Department Rules, 352 PR
Local Government Commission, 352 PR, 442 PR
Solid Waste Management Capital Projects Financing Agency, 354 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Statements of Organization, 639 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Highways, Division of, 765 FR, 883 FR
Motor Vehicles, Division of, 222 FR, 773 FR
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of53 volumes, totaling in excess of J5, 000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchasedfor seven hundred andfifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at one-

half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription*

Total

Quantity Price

1 - 52 Full Code
1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

111

10

111

10

1(1

1(1

10

1(1

10

1(1

10

10

10

11

12

13

13

13

14A

15A
15A
15A
15A
15A

1 - 37

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 - 4

1 - 2

3 - 20

1 - 2

3 - 4

1 - 4

1 - 12

1 - 9

1 - 4

1 - 2

3A - 3K
3L- 3R

3S - 3U
4- 6

7

8- 9

10

11-14
15 - 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34- 41

42

43 - 51

1 - 15

1 - 12

1 - 6

7

8 - 15

1 - 11

1 - 2

3 - 6

7

8- 9

10

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Governor
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

Justice

Labor
OSHA
Labor
Crime Control and
Public Safety

EHNR (includes EMC)
EHNR
Coastal Management
EHNR
Wildlife

$750.00

90.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

45.00

90.00

60.00

30.00

60.00

10.00

45.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

75.00

90.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

90.00

90.00

90.00

30.00

45.00

45.00

45.00

90.00

45.00

45.00

30.00

45.00

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

in

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

M
32

33

34

35

36

37

38

Continued



Volume Title

New
Chapter Subject Subscription

11 - 18 TIINR 90. on

19 - 26 EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

1 - 6 Fducation 30.00

1 - 6 Revenue 75.00

7-11 Revenue 60.00

1 - 7 Secretary' of State 30.00

1 - 6 Transportation 90.00

1 - 9 Treasurer 45.00

1 - 16 Licensing Boards 75.00

17- 37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards
1 . 2 Administrative Procedures 75.00

[ _
-> Community Colleges 10.00

i . i Independent Agencies 10.00

State Personnel 60.00

1 - 4 Administrative Hearings 10.00

Quantity

Total

Price

39 1 5A
4n 1 5A

41 16

42 17

43 17

44 18

4S 19A
46 20

47 21

48 21

49 21

22

50 23

51 24

52 25

53 26

Total

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

Subscription years are January I through December 31.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 11666

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27604
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

3 Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($105.00)/year subscription)

3 Renew North Carolina Register

3 Check Enclosed Please bill me

Mease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

4AME ADDRESS

:iTY STATE ZIP

'HONE

Return to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1. Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. O. Drawer 1 1666

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604
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FIRST CLASS MAIL

585

UNIV. OF NORTH CAROLINA

LAU LIBRARY

VAN HECKE-UETTACH 064-A

CHAPEL HILL NC 27514


