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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly
and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register

will typically comprise approximately fifty pages per
issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

various state officials and institutions. The North Carolina

Register is available by yearly subscription at a cost of

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North Carolina
Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-

ministrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, N.

C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place of the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory
Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the North Carolina Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file any adopted or amended rule for approval by
the Administrative Rules Review Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-
cy, the adopted version will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effective

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,
some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary
rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 days,

whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin normal rule-making procedures on the per-

manent rule at the same time the temporary rule is

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is

a compilation and index of the administrative rules of

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter size,

single spaced pages of material of which approximate-
ly 35% is changed annually. Compilation and publica-

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fur-

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designated

for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum
cost of two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for 10

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per each

additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 52 volumes,

totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is sup-

plemented monthly with replacement pages. A
one year subscription to the full publication in-

cluding supplements can be purchased for

seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). In-

dividual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC
should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE
The foregoing is a generalized statement of the pro

cedures to be followed. For specific statutory language

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of

the General Statutes be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue,

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer

11666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscriptions

one hundred and five dollars ($105.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published

in looseleaf notebooks with supplement service by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Satutes.

Subsc riptions seven hundred md fifty dollars

($750 00). Individual volumes a mailable.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 120

AN EXECUTIVE ORDER ESTABLISHING
ADDITIONAL

CRITERIA LOR ELIGIBILITY Oh CERTAIN
MEMBERS OF THE COASTAL RESOURCES

COMMISSION

WHEREAS, NCOS. 113A- 104(c) directs that

eight of the members appointed by the Governor
to the Coastal Resources Commission shall be

persons who do not derive any significant portion

of their income from land development, con-

struction, real estate sales, or lobbying and do not

otherwise serve as agents for development-related

business activities; and

WHEREAS, N.C.G.S. 113A-104(c) directs the

Governor, by executive order, to promulgate cri-

teria regarding conflicts of interest and disclosure

thereof for determining the eligibility of persons

under this section;

NOW THEREFORE-:, pursuant to the authority

vested in me by the Constitution of this State and
N.C.G.S. 113A- 104(c), IT IS HEREBY OR-
DERED:

Section _F The eight members of the Coastal

Resources Commission appointed by the Gov-
ernor pursuant to N.C.G.S. 113A-104(b) (1)

through (5), (9), and (11), shall be persons who
do not derive any significant portion of their in-

come from land development, construction, real

estate sales, or lobbying and do not otherwise

serve as agents for development-related business

activities.

(A) For purposes of this section, the term

"significant portion of their income" shall

mean ten percent of gross personal in-

come for a calendar year, except that it

shall mean fifty percent of gross personal

income for the calendar year if the recipi-

ent is over sixty years of age and is re-

ceiving such portion pursuant to

retirement, pension, or other similar ar-

rangements.

(B) For purposes of this section, the term

"income" shall mean "gross income" as

defined in N.C.G.S. 105-134.1(5).

(C) For purposes of this section, the terms

"persons deriving a significant portion of

their income from land development,

construction, real estate sales, or lobbying

and do not otherwise serve as agents for

development -related business activities"

shall not include any department or

agency of State Government.
(D) For purposes of this section, a person

does not derive income from land devel-

opment, construction, real estate sales, or

lobbying or as an agent for development
related business activities where the per-

son receives payments from a mutual fund

or other diversified investment of which
the person receiving the payments docs

not know the identity of the primary

sources of income.

Section 2. The North Carolina Board of Fthics

established pursuant to Executive Order Number
1 dated January 31, 1985, is hereby directed to

prepare a suitable disclosure form to be com-
pleted bv prospective Governor's appointees un-

der N.CG.S. 1 13A- 104(c) and to be used by the

Governor's Office in determining eligibility under

Section 1 of this Executive Order. These com-
pleted forms shall be kept on file and open to

public inspection by both the North Carolina

Board of Etliics and the Governor s Office.

Section 3^ Once a member is appointed, his or

her Statement of Fconomic Interest is required

to be filed with the North Carolina Board of

Fthics pursuant to Executive Order Number 1

dated January 31, 1985, and shall be updated by
the member on a regular basis.

Section 4 The Board of Fthics established

pursuant to Executive Order Number 1 dated

January 31, 1985, is hereby directed to monitor
closely Statements of Economic Interest to de-

termine continuing eligibility under Section 1 of

this Executive Order.

Section 5. Pursuant to Section 2 of Session

Laws 1989, c. 505, this Order shall not affect the

terms of members who were serving on the

Coastal Resources Commission on June 29,

1989, and arc currently serving their unexpired

terms.

Section 6^ This Order shall become effective

immediately.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina, this the 28th

day of June, 1990.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTERS

[G.S. I20-30.9H, effective July 16, 1986, requires that all letters and other documents issued by the

Attorney General of the i'nited States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change af-

fecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 be published in the Xorth Carolina

Register. /

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Ritditb Division

JRD:MAP:PJK:rac
DJ 166-012-3

AD643
Voting Section

P.O. Box 66128

Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

Julv 12. 1990

George A. Weaver, Iisq.

Lee. Reece & Weaver
P.O. Box 2047

Wilson, North Carolina 27894-2047

Dear Mr. Weaver:

This refers to the change in format for voter registration cards in Wilson County, North Carolina,

submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended,
42 l.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on May 17, 1990.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the change in question. However, we
feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the

failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the

enforcement of such change. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.41).

Sincerely,

John R. Dunne
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Barn II. Weinberg
Acting Chief. Voting Section

605 5:9 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER August 1,1990



VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTERS

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

JRD:LLT:TGL:gmh
DJ 166-012-3 Voting Section

AD107-111; AH381 P.O. Box 66128

AD699; AH382-408 Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

July 16, 1990

DeWitt F. McCarley, Esq.

City Attorney

P.O. Box 7207

Greenville, North Carolina 27835-7207

Dear Mr. McCarley:

This refers to the thirty-two annexations [Ordinance Nos. 2115, 2116, 2139-2141, and 2154-2180

(1990)] and the designation of the annexed areas to election districts for the City of Greenville in Pitt

County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights

Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submissions on May 9 and 15, 1990.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections to the changes in question. However,
we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the

failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the

enforcement of such changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R.

51.41).

Sincerely,

John R. Dunne
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Barry II. Weinberg
Acting Chief, Voting Section
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the Division of Social Services in-

tends to amend rule(s) cited as 10 SCAC 24

A

.0306.

J he proposed effective date of this action is July

1. 1991.

1 he public hearing, will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on September 5, 1990 at the Disability De-

termination Bui/ding. 321 Chapanoke Rd..

Raleigh. NC.

Ccomment Procedures: Interested persons may
present their views and comments in writing before

or at the hearing, or orally at the hearing. Time
limits may be imposed as deemed necessary by the

Commission Chairman. A fiscal note has been

prepared. Any person may request information

or copies of the proposed regulations by writing

or calling Donna A. Creech, Special Assistant,

Social Senices, 325 N. Salisbury St.. Raleigh, NC
27603, (919) 733-3055.

CHAPTER 24 - SOCIAL SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 24A - GENERAL

SECTION .0300 - COMMISSION

.0306 STATE PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
EQUALIZING FUND

(a) The formula for disbursing equalizing funds

to county departments of social services is based

on the following fow eight factors: utilizing the

most recent fiscal vear information available:

( 1 ) sales and use tax collection per capita, JA1

77 78,

(2) property tax per capita, P¥- 77 78,

(3) average monthly number of AFDC recip-

ients per capita, 1077 78,

(4) county share of AFDC expenditures per

capita." F-^ 77 78.

(5) average monthly number of medicaid re-

cipients per capita,

(6) county share of medicaid expenditures per

capita,

(7) average monthly number of State County
Special Assistance clients per capita.

(8) county share State Count\ Special Assist-

ance expenditures per capita.

(b) factors number one and two give indi-

cation of a county's relative "wealth" or ability

to support the public assistance programs. Fac-

tors number three through eight s*ft4 fe«f repre-

sent "liabilities" for a county. Counties are

ranked lowest to highest for each factor; the first

two are added together and the second fcwe re-

maining six are then subtracted from this figure.

It is possible therefore for a county to receive a

negative ranking; e.g., a minus 176. The lower

(or poorer) counties receive higher percentages

while higher (or wealthier) counties receive lower

percentages.

(c) Using the "four factor" "eight factor"

scores, counties are ranked from 1 (lowest score)

to 100 (highest score). There may be ties and
since a county's rank indicates how many coun-

ties have lower scores, tied counties receive the

same ranking. Example: If two counties have

scores of -58 and 18 counties have lower scores,

these two counties are ranked tied for 19th. The
next county would be ranked 21st (not 20th)

since there are 20 counties with lower scores.

(d) Determination as to how many counties

will receive funds is based on difference between

rankings. If 69 counties are chosen, each of these

counties should be placed on the same ability to

pay as the (N+ l)st (70th) county. Accordingly,

the (N+ l)st county is assigned an adjusted point

total of zero. (E.g., if N = 69, the 70th county

was set at zero.) For counties 1,2 ..., N the ad-

justed points total is obtained by subtracting the

total points of the (N+ l)st county from each of

the counties' total point score. Fxample: If the

(N+ 1 )st county has a score of 39, then 39 points

are subtracted from each of the N counties that

will receive equalizing.

(e) To determine the percentage that would

ideally be paid to bring the N counties to the

level of the (N+l)st, each county's adjusted

point total is divided by the adjusted point total

of county No. 1.

(f) To obtain the amount that should be paid,

multiply the county's percentage times its share

of Public Assistance AFDC expenditures.

(g) The ideal amounts are summed. The result

gives the amount needed to place each of the

counties on the same level as the (N+ l)st.

Generally, this amount will exceed available

funds. If A equals Ideal amount to be paid and

FF equals equalizing funds available, then I I

divided by A equals percentage of funds avail-

able. Each ideal amount is multiplied by this

fraction to obtain the amount that can actually

be paid.

Statutory Authority G.S. 10SA-92; I43B-153.
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PROPOSED RULES

******************

lyotiee is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the Division of Social Services in-

tends to adopt rule(s) cited as 10 NCAC 42W
.0006 and .0007.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is De-

cember I, 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on September 5. 1990 at Disability Determi-

nation Bldg., 321 Chapanoke Rd.. Raleigh, NC.

Ccomment Procedures: Interested pcrsotu may
present their views and comments in writing before

or at the hearing, or orally at the hearing. Time
limits may be imposed as deemed necessary by the

Commission Chairman. A fiscal note have been

prepared. Any person may request information

or copies of the proposed regulations by writing

or calling Donna A. Creech, Special Assistant,

Social Services, 325 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC
27603 (919) 733-3055.

CHAPTER 42 INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY
SUPPORT

SUBCHAPTER 42W - STATE ABORTION FUND

.0006 OPPORTUNITY TO VIEW FETAL
MODEL

Counseling required by Chapter 479, Section 93

(5) of the 1985 Session laws shall include the

opportunity, but not the requirement, for all

persons determined eligible for services to per-

sonally view fetal models showing the growth

and development of the human embryo and

fetus, said models to be obtained from regular

medical supply houses or medical schools.

Statuton' Authority G. S.

1985 S.L., c. 479, "s. 93.

14-45.1; I43B-I53;

.0007 COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL
SERVICES RESPONSIBILITIES

(a) Eligibility for the State Abortion Fund will

be determined by the county department of social

services.

(b) The county department of social services

will provide abortion counseling to all clients

determined eligible for State Abortion Funds.

(c) The county department of social services

will provide to all State Abortion Fund clients

family planning counseling and, upon request,

referral for family planning medical consultation

and supplies.

(d) The county department of social services

will arrange for the delivery of abortion services

with appropriate medical providers.

(1) Physicians receiving payment for services

through the State Abortion Fund must
be licensed to practice medicine in North
Carolina or if practicing in another state

by the appropriate regulatory authority in

that state.

(2) Hospitals receiving State Abortion Funds
for services rendered must be licensed in

North Carolina by the Department of

Human Resources or if located in another

state, licensed or certified by the appro-

priate regulatory authority in that state.

(3) Abortion clinics and ambulatory surgical

facilities receiving State Abortion funds
for services rendered must be licensed or

certified in North Carolina by the De-
partment of Human Resources or if op-

crating in another state, by the

appropriate regulatory authority in that

state.

(e) County departments of social services will

negotiate for services delivery and payment with

appropriate providers:

(1) Individual service authorization for clients

will be routed on a designated form to

participating medical providers by the

county department of social services

which will document the negotiated ser-

vice payment.

(2) Providers may not collect additional funds

from the patient.

Statutory Authority G.S. 14-45.1: 143B-I53: 1985

S. L., c. 479, s. 93.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

iV otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-12 that the Sheriffs' Standards Dh'ision,

Department of Justice intends to amend nde(s)

cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0/03. .0207, .0304. .0307,

Mill - .0403, .0408 - .0409. .0502 - .0503, .0505.

.0601, .0603. .0605, .0705, .0908 - .0909, .1002 -

.1003, .1006, .1105, .1203, .1206, .2102, .2104:

repeal rule(s) cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0308; and
adopt rule(s) cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0205 -

.0206, .0208, .0407.

1 he proposed effective

January I, 1991.

date of this action is

I he public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on September 13, 1990 at the Holiday Inn,

Waynesville, N.C.
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PROPOSED RULES

C^. omment Procedures: Any person interested in

these rides may present oral or written comments
relevant to the proposed action at the Public

Rule-Making Hearing. Written statements not

presented at the Hearing should be directed to

Julia A. Lohman. The proposed rules are a\>ail-

able for public inspection and copies may be ob-

tained at the following address: Sheriffs'

Standards Dh>., PO Box 629, 104 Fayetteville St.

Mall. Raleigh NC 27602.

CHAPTER 10 - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION
AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER I0B - NC SHERIFFS'
EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS

COMMISSION

SECHON .0100 - COMMISSION
ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES

.0103 DEFINITION
In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S.

17E-2, the following definitions apply through-

out this Chapter, unless the context clearly re-

quires otherwise:

(8) "Misdemeanor" means those criminal of-

fenses not classified by the North Carolina

General Statutes, the United States Code,

the common law, or the courts as felonies.

Misdemeanor offenses are classified by the

Commission as follows:

(a) "Class A Misdemeanor" means an act

committed or omitted in violation of any

common law, duly enacted ordinance,

criminal statute, or criminal traffic code

of this state, or any other jurisdiction, ei-

ther civil or military, for which maximum
punishment allowable for the designated

offense under the laws, statutes, or ordi-

nances of North Carolina the junsdiction

in which the offense occurred or its poli-

tical subdivisions includes imprisonment

for a term of not more than six months.

Specifically excluded from this grouping

of "class A misdemeanor" criminal of-

fenses are motor vehicle or traffic offenses

designated as misdemeanors under Chap-
ter 20 (Motor Vehicles) of the General

Statutes of North Carolina, similar laws

ot other jurisdictions, or duly enacted or-

dinances of an authorized governmental

entity with the exception of the offense of

impaired driving (G.S. 20-138.1) which is

expressly included herein as a class A
misdemeanor, if the defendant was sen-

tenced under punishment level three [G.S.

20-179(i)), level four |G.S. 20-179(j)], or

level five |G.S. 20-179(k)];

(b) "Class B Misdemeanor" means an act

committed or omitted in violation of any
common law, criminal statute, or criminal

traffic code of this state, or any other ju-

risdiction, either civil or military, for

which the maximum punishment allow-

able for the designated offense under the

laws and statutes of North Carolina the

jurisdiction in which the offense occurred

includes imprisonment for a term of more
than six months but not more than two
years. Specifically excluded from this

grouping of "class B misdemeanor" crim-

inal offenses are motor vehicles or traffic

offenses designated as being

misdemeanors under Chapter 20 (Motor
Vehicles) of the General Statutes of North
Carolina or similar laws of other jurisdic-

tions with the following exceptions. Class

B misdemeanor does expressly include,

either first or subsequent offenses of G.S.

20- 138(a) or (b). G.S. 20-166 (duty to

stop in event of accident). This definition

further includes a violation of G.S.

20-138.1 (impaired driving) if the defend-

ant was sentenced under punishment level

one [G.S. 20- 1 7Q(tr)] or punishment level

two [G.S. 20- 179(h)] for the offense and
shall also include a violation of G.S.

'u-JS(l\i uirr. nig while license perma-

nently revoked or suspended).

(9) "Felony" means any offense designated a

felony by the laws, statutes, or ordinances

of the jurisdiction in which the offense oc-

curred.

(10) "Dual Certification" means that a justice

officer holds probationary, general, or

grandfather certification as both a deputy

sheriff and a jailer with the same employing

agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-7.

SECTION .0200 - RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
SHERIFFS' STANDARDS DIVISION

.0205 SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS BY
AGENCIES OR SCHOOLS

If the Commission finds that a violation has

been committed by an agency or school, the

Commission may:

(1) issue an oral warning and request for com-
pliance;

(2) issue a written wanting and request for

compliance;

(3) issue an official written reprimand;
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(4) suspend and refuse to grant accreditation to

any school or program or course of instruc-

tion until proper corrective measures have

been taken to bring the agency or school

into compliance with these Rules and verifi-

cation of such compliance has been made
by the Commission; or

(5) suspend and refuse to grant accreditation to

any school or program or course of instruc-

tion for a specific period of time not to ex-

ceed one year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4.

.0206 SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS BY
INDIVIDUALS

(a) When any person certified by the Com-
mission is found to have knowingly and willfully

violated any provision or requirement of these

Rules, the Commission may take action to cor-

rect the violation and to ensure that the violation

does not re-occur, including:

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for

compliance;

(2) issuing a written warning and request for

compliance;

(3) issuing an official reprimand;

(4) suspending the individual's certification for

a specified period of time or until accept-

able corrective action is taken by the in-

dividual;

(5) revoking or denying the individual's cer-

tification.

(b) A person who has had his certification

suspended or revoked may not exercise the au-

thority of a justice officer during the period of

suspension or revocation.

(c) A person who has been denied certification

may not be employed or appointed as a justice

officer or exercise the authority of a justice offi-

cer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4.

Si%4 .0207 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION:
OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION

(a) The Commission shall revoke or deny the

certification of a justice officer when the Com-
mission finds that the officer has committed or

been convicted of:

(1) a felony unless pardoned by the Governor;

or

(2) a crime for which the authorized punish-

ment could have been imprisonment for

more than two years; or

(3) an act or any series of acts which violates

the laws of the State of North Carolina

and which, in the opinion of the Sheriff,

will affect his/her ability to act or carry

out the office and duties of a justice offi-

cer.

(b) The Commission shall revoke, deny, or

suspend the certification of a justice officer when
the Commission finds that the applicant for cer-

tification or the certified officer:

(1) has not enrolled in and satisfactorily

completed the required basic training

course in its entirety within a time period

specified by the Commission;

(2) fails to meet any of the minimum em-
ployment standards required bv 12 NCAC
10B;

(3) fails to satisfactorily complete the mini-

mum in-service training requirements as

presented in 12 NCAC 10B .2000 and
.2100.

f44 h*» refused te submit k» t4w» drug screen

^ required m U NCAC 40ft .0301(6) eg

,0 ' 106(h)( ' l), » which ease r.uch sanction

shall be permanent

;

f£4 hrts produced a- positive result h« iwy drug

screen reported k» the Commission a*

specified » 44 NCAC 44ft 44400, w4«*
t4n» positive result is explained te t4n»

Commission's satisfaction, such sanction

shall be permanent;

(4) £64 has knowingly made a material misrep-

resentation of any information required

for certification or accreditation;

(5) 67} has knowingly and designedly by any
means of false pretense, deception,

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheat-

ing whatsoever, obtained or attempted to

obtain credit, training or certification from
the Commission.

(c) The Commission may revoke, deny, or

suspend the certification of a justice officer when
the Commission finds that the applicant for cer-

tification or certified justice officer:

( 1

)

has knowingly made a material misrepre-

sentation o[ am mloniiation required lor

certification or accreditation;

(2) has knowingly and designedly by any

means of false pretense, deception,

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheat-

ing whatsoever, obtained or attempted to

obtain credit, training or certification from

the Commission;

(3) has aided another in obtaining or at-

tempting to obtain credit, training, or cer-

of deceit

This Rule

tification by means of deceit^ fraud or

misrepresentation. shall

apply to obtaining or attempting to obtain

in-service firearms requalification as n>
quired bv Sections .2000 and .2100.
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(d) fe+ The Commission may revoke, suspend

or deny the certification of a justice officer when
the Commission finds that the applicant for cer-

tification or the certified officer has committed
or been convicted of:

(1) a crime or unlawful act defined in 12

NCAC 10B ,0103(8)(b) as a Class B
misdemeanor: or

(2) four or more crimes or unlawful acts de-

fined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(8)(a) as a

Class A misdemeanor, each of which oc-

curred after the date of initial certification.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-7.

.0208 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION:
REVOCATION: OR DENIAL

When the Commission suspends, revokes, or

denies the certification of a justice officer, the

period of sanction shall be:

( 1) permanent where the cause of sanction is:

(a) commission or conviction of a felony: or

(b) commission or conviction of a crime for

which authorized punishment included

imprisonment for more than two years;

or

(c) a positive result on a drug screen, or a re-

fusal to submit to a drug testing both
pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0301: or

(d) the second revocation of an officer's cer-

tification for either of the two causes re-

quiring a five-year period of revocation.

(2) not less than five years where the cause of

sanction is:

(a) commission or conviction of a crime other

than those listed in Subparagraph (1) of

this Rule: however, the Commission may
either reduce or suspend the period of

sanction under this Subparagraph or sub-

stitute a period of probation in lieu of re-

vocation following an administrative

hearing; or

(b) material misrepresentation of any infor-

mation required for certification or ac-

creditation: or

(c) failure to make either of the notifications

as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0301(7);

or

(d) removal from office under the provisions

of G.S. 128-16.

(3) for an indefinite period, but continuing so

long as the stated deficiency, infraction, or

impairment continues to exists, where the

cause of sanction is:

(a | failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic

training requirements: or

(b) failure to meet or maintain the minimum
standards of employment; or

(c) discharge from a criminal justice agency

for impairment of physical or mental ca-

pabilities; or

(d) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service

training requirements as prescribed m 12

NCAC 10B .2100.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; I7E-7.

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
EMPLOYMENT AS A JUSTICE OFFICER

.0304 MEDICAL EXAMINATION
(a) Each applicant shall complete the Com-

mission's Medical History Statement Form (F-l)

and shall be examined by a physician or surgeon

licensed in North Carolina to help determine

his/her fitness in earning out the physical re-

quirements of the position of deputy sheriff or

jailer. The examining physician should read and
sign the 1-2A form attached to the Medical Ex-

amination Report form (
E

- 2 1 prior to beginning

the examination. The examining physician shall

record the results of the examination on the

Medical Examination Report Eorm (F-2) and
sign and date the form. The E-2 form shall be

valid one year from the date the Medical Exam-
ination was completed and signed by the physi-

cian. The physical examination shall be

conducted and the Medical Examination Report

Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement

Eorm (F-l) shall be completed pnor to which-
ever of the following occurs first:

( 1 ) the applicant's beginning the Jailer Certif-

ication Course and or the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course; or

(2) the applicant's applying to the Commis-
sion for certification.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-7.

.0307 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD
Ever}' justice officer employed in North

Carolina shall not have committed or been con-

victed bv a local, state, federal or military court

of:

( 1 ) a felony, unless pardoned by the Governor:

or

(2) a crime for which the punishment could

have been imprisonment for more than two
years; or

(3) an act. or any series of acts which violate

the laws of the State of North Carolina and
which, in the opinion of the sheriff, will af-

fect his her ability to act or earn- out the

office and duties of a justice officer; or

(4) a crime or unlawful act defined as a 'Class

B_ Misdemeanor" within the five year period
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prior to the date of application for employ-

ment; or

(5) tour or more crimes or unlawful acts de-

fined as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless

of t_he date of conviction; or

(6) four or more crimes or unlawful acts de-

fined as "Class A Misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be employed if the last con-

viction occurred more than two years prior

to the date of application for employment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-7.

.0308 MISREPRESENTATION (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-7.

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE
OFFICERS

.0401 CERTIFICATION OF SHERIFFS'
DEPARTMENT PERSONNEL

Every person employed or appointed as a jus-

tice officer by a sheriff's department, except those

certified pursuant to Rule .0407, shall meet the

certification requirements of this Section .0400.

Justice officers meeting the requirements as

specified in this Chapter may be certified as either

a deputy sheriff, a jailer, or both.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; 17E-7.

.0402 PROBATIONARY CERTIFICATION
All justice officers, except those transferred or

reinstated pursuant to R«h> .0 > 105, Rule .0406

shall serve a probationary certification period of

one year. For certification as a deputy sheriff the

probationary period begins on the date the officer

took the Oath of Office. For certification as a

jailer, the probationary period begins on the date

the officer was appointed as a jailer.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4; I7E-7.

.0403 PROBATIONARY CERTIFICATION
REQUIREMENT

(a} For certification as a deputy sheriff, a Report

of Appointment Deputy Sheriff (F-4) must be

submitted to the Division. For certification as a

jailer, a Report of .Appointment Jailer (F-4A)

must be submitted to the Division. For certif-

ication as both a deputy sheriff and a jailer, both

forms (F-4 and F-4A) must be submitted to the

Division. Report of Appointment forms must
be submitted to the Division by the sheriff's de-

partment no later than ten days after the deputy

sheriff has taken the Oath of Office or the jailer

has been appointed. The Division shall forward

the justice officer's certification to the sheriff's

department.

fb4 4-he Division shall i ;.-.UL' a probationary

certification as a deputy sheriff k» a person who
has previously served as a» elected »f appointed

sheriff, tf the person:
I 1 I onnlut j Q tllQ I . i «i i »-n | I . i.ifi n it lnn Q . -\ , i « '«"»
\ * J III ' I * I IV IT \\T T I TV V-^'IIIIITI-'.'H. '11 II I I I 1 1 1 1 V 1 1 1U f LUI

el ceasing te- serve as a» elected ef ap-

pointod sheriff- *«4

f4f meets all the probationary certification Re-

quirements at the time (4 application; a«4

($} has either:

fA} previously obtained general certification

with either the North Carolina Sheriffs'

Education a¥*& Training Standards Com
mission »f the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education a«4 Training Standards.

(commission an4 was s» ce rtified a«4 m
good standing at the time *4 his election

#f appointment as sheriff; ©f
l I i \ wiEi l.i i .in | «A it . i i- -» «1 .ll.i.'f.l.l , 1 r- .|»t>.-iint,l;l
\ 1 J I TTTTTTT ,11 I I i>IC U" HIT "L I V T. \ VTJ TIT 111 * I 'T.7 II 1 COQ

sheriff; d+4 successfully complete a

commission accredited basic law enforce

men! training course which was then ew-
rently accredited by the (.'onimission at

the time the officer completed the course ;

f£f while probationally certified with either

the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education

ami Training Standards Commission &?

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Edu
cation atni Training Standards Gommis
sion, 4i4 successfully complete a

commission accredited basic law enforce

ment training course which was then ew-
rently approved by the Commission
(under which the officer was

j

certified) at the time the office r i

the course.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; I7E-7.

.0407 CERTIFICATION OF FORMER
SHERIFF

(a) The Division shall issue a General Certif-

ication to any person who has previously served

as an elected or appointed sheriff, if the person:

( 1
) applies to the Commission within one year

of ceasing to serve as an elected or ap-

pointed sheriff; and

(2) has served as an elected or appointed

sheriff for a minimum of eight years; and

(3) left the otfice of sheriff in good standing.

(b) In order for an officer to be certified under

this Rule .0407, there must be:

(1) compliance with the Report of .Appoint-

ment form requirement of Rule .0403;
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(2) submitted to the Division, a copy of the

Oath of Office for applicants requesting

certification as a deputy sheriff: and

(3) submitted to the Division verification that

the applicant meets the requirement of

thus Rule .0407(a)(2).

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4; I7E-7.

S4W- .0408 VERIFICATION OF RECORDS
TO DIVISION

(a) Prior to the initial certification of each jus-

tice officer, for the purpose of verifying compli-

ance with these Rules, the employing agency

shall submit to the Division, along with the Re-

port of Appointment (F-4) and or (F-4A), copies

of the following documents:

( 1 ) tfee applicant V. high school Jipk ma e*

equivalent ((ill)): verification of the ap-

plicant's compliance with the educational

requirement pursuant to Rule .0302(a);

(2) certified copy of the applicant s Oath of

Office, if applying for certification as a

deputy sheriff;

(3) the applicant s Medical History Statement

(F-l);

(4) the applicant's Medical Examination Re-
port (F-2 and F-2A);

(5) the applicant's Personal History Statement

(F-3); aft4

(6) a summary of the applicant's background
investigation; and

I 7) documentation of a negative result on a

drug screen pursuant to Rule .' i3'> I( <S).

(b) Compliance with this Rule .040S(a) is

waived for officers applying for dual certification

as defined in Rule .I)ln3i 1<0 prcnided that:

('

1 1 the officer holds a valid certification as ei-

ther a deputy sheriff or jailer with the

employing agency requesting dual certif-

ication; and

(2) the officer has not had a break in service

since initial certification with the emploN

ing agencv requesting dual certification.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 17E-4; I7E-7.

S4m .0409 EMPLOYING AGENCV
RETENTION OF CERTIFICATION
RECORDS

'a

i

Each employing agency shall place in the

appropriate justice officer's personnel file the of-

ficial notification of either probationary or gen-

eral certification. Such files shall be available for

examination at any reasonable time by represen-

tatives of the Commission for the purpose of

verifying compliance with these Rules. Each
personnel file shall also contain:

( 1 1 a copy of the applicant's Report of Ap-
pointment (F-4) and or (F-4A);

(2) tlw applicant

'

! k«b .chool diploma ef

equivalent ((ill)): verification of the ap-

plicant s compliance with the educational

requirement pursuant to Rule ,03l)2(a):

(3) a certified copy of the applicants Oath
of Office, if applying for certification as a

deputy sheriff;

(4) the results of the applicant's fingerprint

records check and the criminal history re-

cords check;

(5) the applicant's Medical History Statement

(F-l);

(6) the applicant's Medical Examination Re-
port (F-2 and E-2A);

(7) the applicant's Personal History State-

ment (F-3);

(S) a summary of the applicant's background
investigation:

(9) a copy of Ae Commio 'jion't; a

commission-appro ved Firearms Requali-

fication Record Form:
( 1

) documentation of negative results on
drug screen pursuant to Rule ."3ul(ft|.

(b) Compliance with this Rule .0409(a) is

waived for officers applying for dual certification

as defined in Rule .')ln3( Id) provided that:

( 1 ) the officer holds a valid certification as

either a deputy sheriff or jailer with the

employing agency requesting dual certif-

ication: and

(2) the officer has not had a break in service

since initial certification with the emplox

ing agencv requesting dual certification.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

SECTION .0500 - MINIMI M STANDARDS OF
TRAINING FOR DEPl TY SHERIFFS

.0502 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT
TRAINING COl RSE FOR DEPUTIES

(a) The Commission hereby adopts as its re-

quired minimum Basic Law Enforcement Train-

ing Course 422 444 hours of instruction to

include the following identified topic areas and

minimum instructional hours for each area:

('J
i Emergency Medical Service r. 24 hour *.

First Responder 4d hours

(24) Electrical and Hazardous Material

Emergencies u hour"

12 hours

4-^444 hoursTOTAI IIOERS

Statutory Authority G.S. I E-4 a .

.0503 TIME REQ/COMPI El ION/BASK I \YV

ENFORCEMENT TRAINING COl RSE
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(e^ Poroons certified mt a probationary basis

pursuant te Rule .0'103(b) shall ha exempt from

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; I7E-7.

.0505 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING WAIVER
(a) The Division staff shall evaluate each dep-

uty's training and experience to determine if

equivalent training has been satisfactorily com-
pleted as specified in Rule .0504(a). Applicants

for certification with prior law enforcement ex-

perience shall have been employed in a full time,

sworn law enforcement position in order to be

considered for training evaluation under this

Rule. Applicant ;, fof certification with a combi
nation »£ full time tm4 part time experience shall

bt» evaluated »« t+n» basis ef t4«* full time expen

enoo only. The following rules shall be used by
Division staff in evaluating a deputy's training

and experience to determine eligibility for a

waiver of training.

(10) Persons transferring to a sheriff's depart-

ment from another law enforcement

agency who hold certification issued by
the North Carolina Criminal Justice Edu-
cation and Training Standards Commis-
sion and who have previously completed
a minimum 369-hour Basic Law Enforce-

ment Training Course accredited by the

North Carolina Criminal Justice Educa-
tion and Training Standards Commission
under guidelines administered beginning

October 1, 19S4 and ending July T, 1989

and who have been separated from a

sworn law enforcement position for no
more than one year or who have had no
break in service shall be required to com-
plete the following enumerated topics of

a commission-accredited Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course and suc-

cessfully pass that portion of the State

Comprehensive Examination which deals

with those subjects within 12 months of

the date of their Oath of Office as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a).

(A) Civil Process 24 hours

(B) Supplemental Custody
Procedures 8 hours

TOTAL HOI RS 32 hours

(13) Persons transferring to a sheriff's depart-

ment from another law enforcement

agency who hold certification issued by
the North Carolina Criminal Justice Edu-

cation and Training Standards Commis-
sion and who have previously completed

a commission-accredited 410-hour Basic

Law Enforcement Training Course ac-

credited by the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education and Training Standards

Commission under guidelines adminis-

tered beginning July 1, 1989 and ending
January 1^ 1991 and who have been sepa-

rated from a sworn law enforcement po-

sition for no more than one year or who
have no break in service shall be required

to complete the following enumerated
topics of a commission-accredited Basic

Law Enforcement I raining Course and
successfully pass that portion of the State

Comprehensive Examination which deals

with those subjects within 12 months of

the date of their Oath of Office as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a).

(A) Civil Process 24 hours

(B) Supplemental Custody
Procedures 8 hours

TOTAL HOURS 32 hours

(14) Persons who have previously completed
a minimum 410-hour Basic Law Enforce-

ment Training Course accredited by the

North Carolina Criminal Justice Educa-
tion and Training Standards Commission
under guidelines administered beginning

July 1, 1989 and who have been separated

from a sworn law enforcement position

for over one year but no more than three

years shall be required to complete the

following portions of a commission-
accredited Basic Law Enforcement Train-

ing Course and successfully pass the State

Comprehensive Examination within the

12 months probationary' period as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a).

(A) Laws of Arrest, Search

and Seizure 16 hours

(B) Elements of Criminal

Law 24 hours

(C) Juvenile Laws and
Procedures 8 hours

(D) Controlled Substances 6 hours

(E) ABC Laws and

Procedures 4 hours

( E) Motor Vehicle Laws 20 hours

(G) Civil Process 24 hours

(H) Supplemental Custody
Procedures 8 hours

(I) Eirearms Qualification (Handgun and

Shotgun Courses)

TOTAL HOURS 110 hours

(15) Persons who have completed a minimum
422-hour Basic 1 aw Enforcement Train-

ing Course accredited by the North

Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training

Standards Commission under the guide-

lines administered beginning January 1,
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10S [
) and ending January _K 19'H and who

has e been separated from a sworn law

enforcement position lor over one year

but no more than three years shall be re-

quired to complete the following portions

ot a commission-accredited Basic I aw
Enforcement Training Course and suc-

(C) Juvenile I aws and

cessfulK

Examination
I_ the State Comprehensive

within the 12 month
probationary period as prescribed in 12

NCAC 1HB .(1503(a).

(A) 1 aws of Arrest. Search

and Seizure 16 hours

(B) Elements of Criminal

1 aw
(C) Juvenile 1 aw s and

Procedures

( D) Controlled Substances

(II) ABC I aws and
Procedures

( 1

•"

) Motor Vehicle I aws
(G) Civil Process

24 hours

I H ) Supplemental Custody
Procedures

( 1 ) 1 ircarms Qualification

Shotgun Courses)

lOlAI IIOIRS

8 hours

6 hours

4 hours

20 hours

24 hours

Shov
Handgun and

110 hours

( 16) Pi'p .on ;. with part time experience w4+e-

havo boon separated from * sworn law

enforcement position fof more than «*e
veaf '

'

.hall tx* required te complete a

aimmiii'iioii accredited Basic Law
I' nforcement Training Course m tfs eft-

tot^ ttft4 successfully pass the State

Comprehensive Examination within (4w

4-3 month probationary period as pre-

scribed m 4-3 NCAC 444ft ,
i 1 50.1(a). Per-

sons who have previously completed a

minimum 410-hour Basic I aw I- nforce-

ment Training Course accredited by the

North C arolina Cnminal Education and

Training Standards Commission under

guidelines administered beginning July _K

1*JS L
) and ending January _E 1^1 and w ho

have been separated from a sworn law

enforcement position for over one year

but no more than three years shall be re-

quired to complete the following portions

ot a commission-accredited Basic 1 aw
Enforcement Training Course and suc-

cessfully pass the State Comprehensive

Examination within the 12 month
probationary period as prescribed in J_2

NCAC IOB .0503(a).

( A ) 1 aw s of Arrest. Search

and Seizure

( B ) Elements oj. Cnminal
1 aw

16 hours

24 hours

roceuures S liours

6 hours

4 hours
'i i hours
>4 hours

8 hours

(D) Controlled Substances

( E

)

ABC 1 aws and Procedures

(E) Motor Vehicle 1 aws
(G) Civil Procc
(II) Supplemental Custody

Procedures

(I) Eircarms Qualification ( I Iandgun and
Shotgun Courses)

TOTAI HOI RS 110 hours

(17) Persons who have completed a minimum
444-hour Basic I aw Enforcement Train-

ing Course accredited bv the North

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and draining

Standards Commission under the guide-

lines administered beginning January _E

1

9

C
> 1 and who have been separated from

a sworn law enforcement position for over

one year but no more than three years

shall be required to complete the follow-

ing portions of a commission-accredited

Basic I aw Enforcement Training Course
and successfully pass the State Compre-
hensive Examination within the 12 month
probationary period as prescribed in 12

NCAC IOB 0503(a).

( A

)

1 aws of Arrest, Search

and Seizure 16 hours

(B) Elements of Cnminal
I aw

(C) Juvenile Eaws and

Procedures

(D) Controlled Substances

(E) ABC 1 aws and

Procedures

(E) Motor Vehicle 1 aws

(G) Civil Process

(11) Supplemental Custody

Procedures

(I) Eirearms Qualification ( Handgun and

Shotgun Courses)

TOTAI IIOIRS 110 hours

X) Persons who have previously completed

a minimum 432-hour Basic I aw Enforce-

24 hours

S hours

6 hours

4 hours

20 hours

24 hours

X hours

ment Training Course accredited bv the

North Carolina Cnminal Education and

Training Standards Commission under

guidelines administered beginning January

_K 1 Wl and w ho have been separated

from a sworn law enforcement position

for over one year but no more than three

ears shall be required to complete the

following portions of a commission-

accredited Basic 1 aw Enforcement I'rain-

ine Course and successfully, pass the State

Comprehensive Examination within the
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12 month probationary period as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC JOB .0503(a).

(A) I ,aws of Arrest, Search

and Seizure 16 hours

(13) Elements of Criminal

I aw 24 hours

(C) Juvenile 1 aws and
Procedures 8 hours

(D) Controlled Substances 6 hours

(E) ABC Laws and

Procedures 4 hours

(E) Motor Vehicle Laws 20 hours

(G) Civil Process 24 hours

(H) Supplemental Custody

Procedures 8 hours

(I) Eirearms Qualification ( 1 [andgun and
Shotgun Courses)

IOIA1 MOI KS 110 hours

( 19) Persons transferring to a sheriff's depart-

ment from another law enforcement

agency who hold certification issued by

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Edu-

cation and Training Standards Commis-
sion and who have previously completed

a commission -accredited 432-hour Basic

Law Enforcement Training Course ac-

credited by the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education and '['raining Standards

Commission under guidelines adminis-

tered beginning January J^ 1W 1 and who
have been separated from a sworn law

enforcement position for no more than

one year or who have no break in service

shall be required to complete the follow-

ing enumerated topics of a commission-

iii ledilcd Bask 1 ,nv I iiforcement

Training Course and successfully pass that

portion of the State Comprehensive Ex-

amination which deals with these subjects

within 1 2 months of the date of their Oath
of Office as prescribed in \2 NCAC MB
.0503(a).

'

24 hours(A) Civil Process

(B) Supplemental Custody
TOTAL IIOERS

8hc
32 he

(20) f4-H Persons who have completed training

as a federal law enforcement officer and

are appointed as a sworn law enforcement

officer in North Carolina shall be required

to complete a commission-accredited

Basic Eaw Enforcement Training Course

in its entirety regardless of previous federal

training and experience and successfully

pass the State Comprehensive Examina-
tion within the 12 month probationary

period as prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B
.0503(a).

(21 ) f44} Persons out of the law enforcement

profession for over three years regardless

of prior training or experience shall com-
plete a commission-accredited Basic l^w
Enforcement Training Course in its en-

tirety and successfully pass the State

Comprehensive Examination within the

12 month probationary period as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a).

(22) (4#> Wildlife Enforcement Officers who
completed the Basic I.aw Enforcement
Training prior to September 30, 1985 and
are sworn as justice officers shall be sub-

ject to the evaluation rules as stated in

Rule .0505 Paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(4)

through (44}t (11).

(23) f+Jtt> Wildlife Enforcement Officers who
separate from employment with the

Wildlife Enforcement Division and have

less than one year break in service, who
transfer to a Sheriff's Department in a

sworn capacity, and who completed their

Basic Training after September 30, 1985

shall complete the following blocs of in-

struction and pass the state exam in its

entirety:

(A) Crime Prevention

Techniques 4 hours

(B) Mechanics of Arrest:

Custody Procedure 2 hours

(C) Mechanics of Arrest:

Processing Arrestee 4 hours

(D) Special Populations 10 hours

(E) Techniques of Traffic

I aw Enforcement 6 hours

(F) Dealing with Victims

and the Public 8 hours

(G) Civil Process 24 hours

(II) Supplemental Custody
Procedures 8 hours

TOTAL HOURS 66 hours

(24) f^tt} Wildlife Enforcement Officers who
completed Basic Eaw Enforcement
Training on or after September 30, 1985

and have been out of a sworn position

over one year but no more than three

years, and are sworn as a justice officer

must complete the following blocs of in-

structions and pass the state exam in its

entirety during their probationary' period.

(A) Laws of Arrest Search

and Seizure 1 6 hours

(13) Elements of Criminal

Law 24 hours

(C) Juvenile Laws and

Procedures 8 hours

(D) Controlled Substances 6 hours

(E) ABC Laws and
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Procedures 4 hours

(I) Motor Vehicle Laws 20 hours

(G) Crime Prevention

Techniques 4 hours

(II) Mechanics of Arrest:

Custody Procedures 2 hours

(I) Mechanics of Arrest:

Processing Arrestees 4 hours

(J) Special Populations IS hours

(K) Techniques of Traffic

Law Enforcement 6 hours

( I ) Dealing with Victims

and the Public 8 hours

( M ) Civil Process 24 hours

(N) Supplemental Custody
Procedures 8 hours

TOTAL HOURS 146 hours

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; 17E-7.

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF
TRAINING FOR JAILERS

.0601 JAILER CERTIFICATION COURSE
(b) Lach Jailer Certification Course shall in-

clude the following identified topic areas and ap-

proximate minimum instructional hours for each

area:

(26) Standard First Aid 8 hours

TOTAL HOURS 120 hours

Statutory Authority G.S. l7E-4(a).

.0603 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING WAIVER
(a) The following rules shall be used by divi-

sion staff in evaluating a jailer's training and ex-

perience to determine eligibility for a waiver of

training:

( 1 ) Persons who have separated from a jailer

position during the probationary period

after having completed a commission-
accredited jailer trainmg course and who
have been separated from a jailer position

for more than one year shall complete a

subsequent commission-accredited jailer

training course in its entirety and success-

fully pass the State Comprehensive Ex-

amination within the 12 month
probationary period as described in 12

NCAC 1 0B .0602(a).

(2) Persons who separated from a jailer posi-

tion during their probationary period after

having completed a commission-

accredited jailer training course and who
have been separated from a jailer position

for one year or less shall serve the re-

mainder o[ the initial prohationan period

in accordance with G.S. I7E-7(b), ft »ew

44 month probationary period, but need
not complete an additional jailor training

course, program.

(3) Persons holding General Jailer Certif-

ication who have completed a

commission-accredited jailer training

course and who have separated from a

jailer position for more than one year shall

complete a subsequent commission-
accredited jailer training course in its en-

tirety and successfully pass the State

Comprehensive examination within the

12 month probationary period as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0602(a).

(-4+ Peyseas holding General Jailor Cortif

icalion who have completed »

commi^ 'ion accredited jailer training

course ft«4 > ho have been i
.opumtod from

cr it. 1 Ml? 1 ( H' '11 It MI It * 1 rrTrrr TT?rtr l T f rtrr'TT 1 1 1 1 ii 1
*

sefve » n*w 4-2- month probationary pe-

riod, btri- need fte+ complete aft additional

jailer training course.

(4) (-5^ Persons holding Grandfather Jailer

Certification who separate from a jailer

position and remain separated from a

jailer position for more than one year shall

be required to complete a commission-
accredited jailer training program in its

entirety and successfully pass the State

Comprehensive Lxamination within the

12 month probationary period as pre-

scribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0602(a).

(5) fAf Persons transferring to a sheriff's de-

partment from another law enforcement

agency who hold a jailer certification is-

sued by the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Lducation and Training Standards

Commission shall be subject to evaluation

of their prior training and experience on
an individual basis. The Division staff

shall determine the amount of training re-

quired of these applicants.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7.

.0605 COMPLETION OF JAILER
CERTIFICATION TRAINING COURSE

fa) bach delivery of an accredited "Jailer

Training" course is considered to be a unit. Lach

trainee shall attend and satisfactorily complete a

full course during a scheduled delivery. The Di-

rector may issue prior written authorization for

a specified trainee's limited enrollment in a sub-

sequent delivery of the same course where the

trainee provides evidence that:

( 1 1 The trainee attended and satisfactorily

completed specified class hours and topics

of the "Jailer Training' course but
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through extended absence occasioned by
illness, accident, emergency, or other good
cause was absent for more than ten per-

cent of the total class hours of the course

offering; or

(2) The trainee was granted excused absences

by the school director that did not exceed

ten percent of the total class hours for the

course offering and the school director

could not schedule appropriate make-up
work during the current course offering as

specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0604(c) due
to valid reasons; or

(3) The trainee participated in an offering of

the "Jailer Certification Course" hut had

an identified deficiency in essential know-
ledge or skill in either one, two or three,

but no more than three, of the specified

topic areas incorporated in the course

content as prescribed under 12 NCAC
10B .0601(b).

(c) An authorization of limited enrollment in

a subsequent course delivery permits the trainee

to attend an offering of the "Jailer Training"

course commencing within 120 calendar days

from the last date of trainee participation in prior

course delivery, but only if the trainee's enroll-

ment with active course participation can be ac-

complished within the period of the trainee's

probationary certification:

(1) The trainee need only attend and satisfac-

torily complete those portions of the

course which were missed or identified by
the school director as areas of trainee de-

ficiency in the proper course participation.

(2) following proper enrollment in the sub-

sequent course offering, scheduled class

attendance and active participation with

satisfactory achievement in the course, the

trainee would be eligible for adminis-

tration of the State Comprehensive Ex-

amination by the Commission and
possible certification of successful course

completion.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; 17E- 7.

SECTION .0700 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
JUSTICE OFFICER SCHOOLS AND TRAINING
PROGRAMS OR COURSES OK INSTRUCTION

.0705 CERTIFICATION: SCHOOL DIRECTORS
(b) To qualify for certification as school direc-

tor of the Jailer Training Course:

(1) Submit a written request for the issuance

of such certification executed by the exec-

utive officer of the institution or agency

currently accredited, or which may be

seeking accreditation, by the Commission
to make presentation of accredited train-

ing programs and for whom the applicant

will be the designated school director.

(2) Be currently certified as a criminal justice

instructor by the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education and Training Standards

Commission; and
(-i) Document successful participation i» a

special program presented by the North

Carolina Justice* Academy fe* purposes »f

familiarizatiem »«4 supplementation role)

vant te- delivery ef tb<* Jailer [raining

Course.

(3) (-H Attend or must have attended the most
current offering of the school director's

conference as presented by the Commis-
sion staff and staff of the North Carolina

Criminal Justice Education and Training

Standards Commission and Standards

Division.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4.

SECTION .0900 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
JUSTICE OFFICER INSTRUCTORS

.0908 LIMITED LECTURER CERTIFICATION
(b) To be eligible for a Limited Lecturer Cer-

tificate for topic areas set forth in Rule .0908(a),

the applicant must meet the qualifications as fol-

lows:

(1) Standard First Aid: Certified Standard

First A+4 Instructor with A** American
R-e4 Cross; a licensed physician, family

Nurse Practitioner, licensed Practical

Nurse (I PN), Registered Nurse (RN),
Physician's Assistant, or T \1 I ;

(2) Unarmed Self Defense; successful com-
pletion of N.C. Department of Cor-

rections Specialized Instructor Training -

Unarmed Self-Defcnsc; certified by N.C.

Criminal Justice Education and Training

Standards Commission as specific Cor-

rections Unarmed Self Defense Instructor;

(3) Handling Eire Emergencies: Chemistry

and Evacuation; Certified Tire Instructor;

(4) Handling Tire Emergencies: Classification

and Extinguishing; Certified Tire Instruc-

tor;

(5) Medical Care in a Jail: A Licensed Phy-

sician, Family Nurse Practitioner, LPN,
RN, or EM T, or Physician's Assistant;

(6) Psychological Disorders: Psychotic and

Neurotic Personality: A licensed Psychia-

trist, Psychologist, RN, or person holding

a degree in counseling, psychiatric nurs-

ing, or psychiatric social work;

5:9 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER August 1,1990 6hS



PROPOSED RULES

(7) Communicable Diseases: a licensed Phy-

sician, Family Nurse Practitioner, li-

censed Practical Nurse (LPN). Registered

Nurse (RN), Physician's Assistant, or

EMT;
(8) Transportation of Inmates: A certified

instructor with the North Carolina Crim-
inal Justice Fducation and Training

Standards Commission with a minimum
of two years of related or relevant experi-

ence;

(9) Stress: A certified instructor with the

North Carolina Criminal Justice Educa-
tion and Training Standards Commission
with a minimum of two years of related

or relevant experience;

(10) Written Communication: A certified in-

structor with the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education and Training Standards

Commission with a minimum of two
years of related or relevant experience; or

a person with a four year degree with a

major in English.

Statutory- Authority G.S. 17E-4.

.0909 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF A
LIMITED LECTURER CERTIFICATION

(h) The probationary instructor will be eligible

for full Limited Lecturer status at the end of the

probationary period if the instructor, through
application, submits to the Commission:

(1) a favorable recommendation from a school

director accompanied by certification on
a commission-approved Instructor Evalu-

ation Form that the instructor taught at

least four hours (three hours each for

topics of Stress. aft4 Written Communi-
cation and Communicable Diseases) in

each of the topics for which Limited Lec-

turer Certification, Probationary Status

was granted. Such instruction must have

occurred in a commission-accredited jailer

training course during the probationary

period. The results of the student evalu-

ation must be considered by the school

director when determining the recom-

mendation: or

(2) a favorable written evaluation by a com-
mission or staff member, based on an on-

site classroom evaluation of the

probationary instructor in a commission-

accredited jailer training course. Such
evaluation must be certified on a

commission-approved Instructor Evalu-

ation Form completed for each of the

topics where the probationary instructor

taught a minimum of four hours (three

hours each for topics of Stress and Writ-

ten Communications) and for which
limited Lecturer Certification was
granted.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

SECTION .1000 - PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATE PROGRAM FOR SHERIFFS AND

DEPLTY SHERIFFS

.1002 GENERAL PROVISIONS
(a) In order to be eligible for one or more of

the professional awards, a sheriff or deputy sheriff

shall first meet the following preliminary quali-

fications:

(4) Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's

Department who have successfully com
pleted a commission accredited Basic I aw
Enforcement Training Course ftft4 have
previously held general or grandfather law

enforcement officer certification but are

presently, by virtue of promotion or

transfer, serving in non-sworn positions

not subject to certification are eligible to

participate in the Professional Certificate

Program. Eligibility for this exception

requires continuous employment with the

sheriff's department from the date of pro-

motion or transfer from a sworn, certified

position to the date of application for a

professional certificate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4.

.1003 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT
CERTIFICATE

In addition to the qualifications set forth in

Rule .1002. an applicant for the Basic Law
Enforcement Certificate shall: have Hft \**s tfta«

<=«*» y-eaf *4 seprice. ft«4 shall have completed aft

accredited baste law enforcement training course

&? the equivalent a* determined by tfte Com mis

( 1

)

have no less than one vear of sen ice: and
( 2) have successtullv completed a commission-

accredited basic law entorcement training

course: or

(3) have completed a minimum of 160 hours

of training in the field of law enforcement.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

.1006 HOW TO APPLY
(c) Documentation ef "full time. p*+4 employ

mont" shall be provided by a certified letter from

(-he Departm ent s personnel payro l l division ve^-

itying such employment. Documentation of the

applicant s length of service shall be provided by
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certified copies of past Oaths of Office, by certi-

fied letters of verification of employment from

present and or former employees ( law enforce-

ment agencies), or other verifying documents at-

tached to the application.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17E-4.

SECTION .1 100 - JUSTICE OFFICERS' SERVICE
AWARD PROGRAM

.1105 HOW TO APPLY
(b) Documentation of the applicant's length

of service shall be provided by certified copies of

past Oaths of Office, by certified letters of verifi-

cation of full time employment from present

and/or former employers (law enforcement

agencies), or other verifying documents attached

to the application.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

SECTION .1200 - PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATE PROGRAM FOR JAILERS

.1203 BASIC JAILER PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATE

In addition to the qualifications set forth in

Rule .1202, an applicant for the Basic Jailer

Professional Certificate shall: have m» let* than

tme ve«f t4 wrvice, ««4 hall have completed mi
accredited Jailer Certification Cuurw ef t4**

equivalent a* det ermined by the Commiti '

. iion.

( 1

)

have no less than one year of service; and

(2) have completed an accredited Jailer Certif-

ication Course; or

(3) have completed a minimum of SO hours of

training in the field of jails or corrections.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

.1206 HOW TO APPLY
(c) Documentation of the applicant's length of

service shall be provided by certified letters of

verification cy\_ employment trom present and or

former employers, or other verifying documents
attached to the application.

(d) (-ef The applicant shall submit the "Appli-

cation: Professional Certificate, Service Award",
(F-6) to his sheriff who shaLl attach his recom-
mendation and forward the application to the

Commission. Certificates will be issued to the

sheriff for award to the applicant.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4.

SECT ION .2100 - JUSTICE OFFICERS'
FIREARMS IN-SERVICE TRAINING
REQI Al II IC ATION PROGRAM

.2102 INSTRUCTORS
The following requirements and responsibilities

are hereby established for instructors who con-

duct the Justice Officers In-Service Firearms

Training and Requalification Program:

(3) The instructor shall document the success-

ful or unsuccessful completion of training

for each officer on the Coinmi '.hion's a

commission-approved Firearms Requali-

fication Record form and forward such

form to each officer's department head.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; I7E-7.

.2104 IN-SERVICE FIREARMS
REQUALIFICATION SPECIFICATIONS

(a) All justice officers who are authorized by
the sheriff to carry a handgun shall qualify a

minimum of once each year with each handgun
that the officer is authorized to carry7 while on
duty on a commission-approved day and night

course as follows:

( 1 ) Day course of fire i.luuild shall include at

a minimum but not limited to 30 rounds

using duty ammunition or duty-type am-
munition with the same specifications as

those found in the duty ammunition au-

thorized by the Department for the spe-

cific weapon; firing six rounds from three

yards; 12 rounds from seven yards; six

rounds from 15 yards; six rounds from 25

yards. Firing should be timed firing (i.e.,

draw and fire two rounds in three sec-

onds). Firing should be from a variety of

positions. (Fxamplc: standing, kneeling,

prone (using various cover positions).]

(2) Night course of fire tihould shall include

at a minimum but not limited to 30

rounds firing si* round; , using duty am-
munition or duty-type ammunition with

the same specifications as those found in

the duty ammunition authorized by the

Department for the specific weapon; firing

six rounds from three yards; six rounds

from five yards; 12 rounds from seven

yards; and six rounds from 15 yards.

Firing should be timed firing (i.e., draw

and fire two rounds in three seconds).

Firing should be from a variety of posi-

tions. [Example: standing, kneeling,

prone (various cover positions).) Firing

must occur under various light conditions

to include total darkness; vehicle blue

light; vehicle head light; and all available

lights.

(b) All justice officers who are issued, or oth-

crwisc authorized bv the sheriff to carry Bf have
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access te- a shotgun, rifle, or automatic weapon
shall be required to qualify with each weapon
respectively a minimum of once each year on a

commission-approved course of fire as follows:

( 1 ) Shotgun course of fire must shall include

at a minimum but not limited to a mini

mum ©f five rounds using duty ammuni-
tion or duty-type ammunition with the

same specifications as those found in the

duty ammunition authorized by the De-
partment for the specific weapon: firing

two rounds from 15 yards; three rounds

from 25 yards.

Rifle course of fire must shall include at a(2)

(3)

minimum but not limited to firing five

rounds from a minimum distance of 50

yards. The ammunition used shall be »f

duty ammunition; or duty-type ammuni-
tion with the same specifications as those

found in the duty ammunition authorized

by the Department for the specific

weapon, from ^4 yards.

Automatic course of fire should shall in-

clude at a minimum but not limited to

firing 20 rounds at a maximum of 50

yards. The ammunition used shall be

dutv ammunition: or dutv-tvpe ammuni-
r.'.'n •.'. ith the vime ^xvilk.itioriN as thov
found in the duty ammunition authorized

bv the Department for the specific

weapon.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7E-4; 17E-',

McFadyen, P. O. Box 27687, Raleigh, NC
27611-7687, telephone: (919) 733-0379. Written

comments may be submitted to the above address

30 days prior to the public hearing. Written and
oral comments may also be presented at the public

hearing. Xotice of an oral presentation must be

given to the above address at least 3 days prior to

the public hearing.

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

SL'BCH AFTER 18D - WATER TREATMENT
FACILITY OPERATORS

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATIONS AND FEES

.0304 FEE SCHEDULE
(b) The cost of a temporary certificate shall be

fifteen dollars (SI 5.00) eighteen dollars ($18.00)

for a new certificate.

(d) The cost of the annual certification renewal

shall be fifteen dollars (115.00). eighteen dollars

(SIS. 00). Renewal fees shall be payable the first

of each calendar year and shall be delinquent on
the first day of February if not paid pnor to that

date. Delinquent certifications shall be charged

an additional fee of thirty dollars ($30.1)0) on the

first dav of February of each year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90A-27.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

TITLE ISA - DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND

NATURAL RESOURCES

Nootice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the Water Treatment Facility Oper-

ators Board of Certification intends to amend
rule(s) cited as ISA NCAC 18D .0304 fbj and
id,.

/x fiscal note has been issued and a copy is

available from the agency.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is De-

cember 1, 1990.
'

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 9:30

a.m. on September II, 1990 at the Jane S.

McKimmon Center. X. C. State University,

Western Blvd., Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Any person requiring

information may contact: Mr. John C.

ly otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 1 2 that the State Board of Examiners of
Plumbing and Healing Contractors intends to

amend rule is) cited as 2/ NCAC 50 .0306, .0408

and adopt rule(s) cited as 21 XCAC SO .1201 -

.1214, and .1301 - .1305.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is De-

cember 1, 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 9:00

a.m. on September 13, 1990 at the McKimmon
Center, North Carolina State University, Western

Boulevard at Gorman Street, Raleigh. X.C.

O omment Procedures: Persons wishing to pres-

ent oral data, views or argument on a proposed

rule or tide change may file a notice with the

Board at least 10 days prior to the public hearing

at which the person wishes to speak. Comments
should be limited to 10 minutes. The address of

the Board is P.O. Box 110. Raleigh. X.C. 27602.
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Written comments or arguments may be presented

at any time before September 29, 1990.

CHAPTER 50 - BOARD OF PLUMBING AND
HEATING CONTRACTORS

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS

.0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF
LICENSE

(a) All applicants for regular examinations shall

file an application in the office of the executive

secretary' on or before the date set out on the

examination application form, which date will

be at least rW 60 days prior to the examination.

(b) Applicants for the October 1090 examina-

tion shall present evidence at the time of appli-

cation on forms provided by the Board to

establish six months full-time experience in the

installation, maintenance, service or repair of

plumbing or heating systems related to the cate-

gory for which license is sought, whether or not

license was required for the work performed.

One year of experience will be required of appli-

cant for the April 1991 examinations, 18 months
experience for the October 1991 examination,

and two years of experience for the April 1992

examination and examinations conducted there-

after. Up to one-half the experience may be in

academic or technical training directly related to

the field of endeavor for which examination is

requested. The Board will pro rate part-time

work of less than 40 hours per week or part-time

academic work of less than 15 semester or quar-

ter hours.

(c) Applicants who obtain a license will receive

a certificate issued by the Board, bearing the li-

cense number assigned to the qualifying individ-

ual. The license number shall not be assigned

or transferred to am other individual, except

that, to preserve the identity of firms, an individ-

ual holding a license in good standing who de-

sires to retire or surrender his license may, at the

end of the year in which he desires to surrender

his license, instruct the Board in writing to

transfer his license number to a licensed individ-

ual who is an officer, director, or lulltime em-
ployee of the firm which was previously qualified

tor license by the individual qualification of the

retiring licensee, provided further the retiring

licensee certifies to the Board that the licensee is

not being compensated for transfer of the num-
ber and the licensee will not thereafter be affil-

iated with The individual

shall retire his

a licensed firm.

receiving the renumbered license

prior license to the Board.

(4+ 44** license number 4»W wM- h% assigned

«+f transferred to- tmy other individual.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8; 87-21 (b).

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL PROCEDl RES

.0408 CHANGE OF TRADE NAME
(a) The trade name under which a license is

issued may be changed upon request to and ap-

proval by the Board. If the Board approves the

name change, the last license issued to the

licensee must be returned to the executive secre-

tary.

(b) A license w+U- ho4- be issued &f renewed i» a

Hit) ef similar name te any pre e xisting license

issued to- a corporation, partnership e* business

with a trade name operating within a 440 mile

radius e£ the applicant fof tht» name change . A
license will be issued or renewed using any cor-

porate name, partnership name, or trade name
which is not identical to a name already in use

according to the records of the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-5; 87-18; 87-26.

SECTION .1200 - PETITIONS FOR RULES

.1201 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING
HEARINGS

Any person wishing to submit a petition re-

questing the adoption, amendment or repeal of

a rule by the Board shall address a petition to:

State Board of Examiners of Plumbing and
Heating and Refrigeration Contractors, Box 110,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602. The petition

should clearly bear the notation:

RULEMAKING PETITION RE and then the

subject area, for example, RE G.S. 87-2 l(a)( 1)

RE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT,
RE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS, or an

indication of any other area over which the

Board may have rulemaking authority.

Statutory Authority

1SOB- 16.

G.S. 87-18: 150B-U;

.1202 CONTENTS OF PETITION
The petition should include the following in-

formation:

(1) an indication of the subject area to which

the petition is directed; for example, "This

is a petition to hold a rulemaking hearing to

amend Rule .0000 pertaining to Adminis-

trative Procedure Act filing requirements";

(2) cither a draft of a proposed rule or a sum-

mary of its contents;

(3) reasons for the proposal;

(4) the effect on existing rules or orders;

(5) any data supporting the proposal;
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(6) effect of the proposed rule on existing

practices in the area involved, including cost

factors;

(7) names of those most likely to be affected

by the proposed rule, with addresses if rea-

sonable known:
(S) name(s) and address(es) of petitioner(s).

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8; I50B-16.

.1203 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS
(a) The Executive Secretary of the Board will

determine whether the public interest will be

served by granting the request. Prior to making
this determination, the I'xecutive Secretary may
request additional information from the

pctitioner(s), he may contact interested persons

or persons likely to be affected by the proposed
rule and request comments; he may use any other

appropriate method for obtaimng information on
which to base a determination. The Executive

Secretary will consider all of the contents of the

petition submitted plus any other information

obtained by the means described herein.

(b) The Executive Secretary will make a re-

commendation to the Board for the institution

of rulemaking proceedings or for the denial of the

petition, as the case may be.

(c) Within 120 days of submission of the peti-

tion, a final decision will be rendered by the

Board. If the decision is to deny the petition the

Board will notify the petitioner in writing, stating

the reasons therefor. If the decision is to grant

the petition, the Board, within 120 days of sub-

mission, will initiate a rulemaking proceeding by
issuing a rulemaking notice, as provided in these

Rules.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-16.

.1204 NOTICE OF RULEMAKING HEARINGS
Upon a determination to hold a rulemaking

proceeding, either in response to a petition or

otherwise, the Board will give at least 30 days'

notice to all interested persons of a public hearing

on the proposed rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 1S0B-12.

.1205 NOTICE MAILING LIST
Any person or agency desiring to be placed on

the mailing list for the Board rulemaking notices

shall tile such request in writing, furnishing his

name and mailing address to the Board at Box
110. Raleigh. North Carolina 27602. The re-

quest shall state those subject areas within the

authority of the Board for which notice is re-

quested. The Board may require reasonable

postage and stationer,' costs to be paid by per-

sons receiving such notices.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 15013-12.

.1206 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Persons desiring information in addition to that

provided in an individual rulemaking notice shall

contact the Board at Box 110, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27602. Any written communication
should clearly indicate the rulemaking proceeding

which is the subject of the inquiry.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-I2.

.1207 RF.Ql EST TO PARTICIPATE
Any person desiring to present oral data, views,

or arguments on the proposed rule must, at least

1 days prior to the hearing, file a notice with the

Board. Notice of desire to appear may be

waived, or failure to give notice may be excused,

by the presiding officer, in his discretion. Any
person permitted to make an oral presentation is

encouraged to submit a written copy of the

presentation to the Executive Secretary prior to

or at the hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-12.

.1208 CONTENTS OF REQUEST; GENERAL
TIME LIMITATIONS

A request to make an oral presentation should

contain a clear reference to the proposed rule, a

brief summary of the individual s views in respect

thereto, and how long the individual desires to

speak. Presentations shall be limited to 10 min-

utes unless the Board prescribes some other time

limit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-I2.

.1209 RECEIPT OF REQUEST; SPECIFIC
TIME LIMITS

I'pon receipt of notice of a person's desire to

present his views orally, the Board will acknowl-

edge receipt of the request and inform the person

of the imposition of any limitations deemed nec-

essary to the end of a full and effective public

hearing on the proposed rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; ISOB- 1 2.

.1210 WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS
(a | Any person may tile a written submission

containing data, comments or arguments, after

publication of a rulemaking notice and up to the

day of the hearing, unless a different period has

been prescribed in the notice or granted upon
request. These written comments shall be sent
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to the Board at Box 111), Raleigh, North

Carolina 27602. The should clearly state the

rulc(s) or proposed rule(s) the comments are ad-

dressed to.

(b) Upon receipt of written comments, ac-

knowledgment will be made with an assurance

that the comments therein will be considered

fully by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8; 150B-12.

.1211 PRESIDING OFFICER; POWERS AND
DUTIES

The presiding officer at the hearing shall have

complete control of the proceedings, including:

extensions of any time requirements, recognition

of speakers, time allotments for presentations, the

right to question speakers, direction of the dis-

cussion, and management of the hearing. The
presiding officer, at all times, will take care that

each person participating in the hearing is given

a fair opportunity to present views, data and
comments.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18: ISOB- 1 2.

.1212 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR
DECISION

(a) Any interested person desiring a concise

statement of the principal reasons for and against

the adoption of a rule by the Board and the fac-

tors that led to overruling the considerations

urged against its adoption, may submit a request

to the Executive Secretary at the Board at Box
110, Raleigh, North Carolina 27602.

(b) For purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

an "interested person" shall be any person(s)

whose rights, duties or privileges might be af-

fected by the adoption of the rule in question,

or any group or organization of persons whose
rights, duties or privileges might be affected by
the rule.

(c) The request must be made in writing and
submitted prior to adoption of the rule or within

30 days thereafter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-I2(e).

.1213 RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS
A record of all rulemaking proceedings will be

maintained in the office of the Board for as long

as the rule is in effect, and for five years there-

after. This record will contain: the original pe-

tition, the notice, all written memoranda and
information submitted, and a record or summary
of oral presentations, if any. Record of

rulemaking proceedings will be available for

public inspection during the regular office hours.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; IS0B-I2.

.1214 TEMPORARY RULES
Temporary rules may be adopted under the cir-

cumstances described in G.S. 150B-13.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; 1S0B-13.

SECTION .1300 DECLARATORY RULINGS

.1301 SUBJECTS OF DECLARATORY
RULINGS

Any person aggrieved by a statute administered

or rule promulgated by the Board, may request

a declaratory ruling as to either the manner in

which a statute or rule applies to a given factual

situation, if at all, or whether a particular agency

rule is valid.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8; 1SOB- 17.

.1302 SI BMISSION OF REQUEST FOR
Rl LING

All requests for declaratory rulings shall be

written and mailed to the Board at Box 110,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602. The container

of the request should bear the notation: RE-
QUEST FOR DECLARATORY RULING.
The request must include the following informa-

tion:

(1) name and address of petitioner;

(2) statute or rule to which petition relates;

(3) concise statement of the manner in which

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute

or its potential application to him;

(4) a statement of whether an oral hearing is

desired, and if so, the reason therefor.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-18; ISOB- 1 2.

.1303 DISPOSITION OF REQUESTS
(a) When the Board deems it appropriate to

issue a declaratory ruling it shall issue such

declaratory ruling within 60 days of receipt of the

petition.

(b) A declaratory' ruling proceeding may consist

of written submissions, an oral hearing, or other

procedure as may be appropriate in the circum-

stances of the particular request.

(c) Whenever the Board believes "for good

cause" that the issuance of a declaratory ruling is

undesirable, the Board may refuse to issue such

ruling. When good cause is deemed to exist, the

Board will notify the petitioner of its decision in

writing, stating the reasons for the denial of the

declaratory ruling.
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I'd) For purposes of Paragraph (c) of this Rule,

the Board will ordinarily refuse to issue a

declarator, ruling:

( 1 1 unless the petitioner shows that the cir-

cumstances are so changed since the

adoption of the rule that such a ruling

would be warranted;

(2) unless the petitioner shows that the Board

did not give to the factors specified in the

request for a declaratory' ruling a full con-

sideration at the time the rule was issued;

(3) where there has been a similar controlling

factual determination in a contested case.

or where the factual context being raised

for a declaratory ruling was specifically

considered upon the adoption of the rule

or directive being questioned, as evidenced

by the rulemaking record;

(4) where the subject matter of the request is

involved in pending litigation in any state

or federal court in North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8; 150B-17.

.1304 RECORD OF DECISION
A record of all declaratory rulemaking pro-

ceedings will be maintained in the office of the

Board for as long as the ruling is in effect and for

five years thereafter. This record will contain:

the petition, notice, all written submissions filed

in the request, whether filed by the petitioner or

any other person, and a record or summary of

oral presentations, if any. Records of rulemaking

proceedings will be available for public in-

spection during the regular office hours of the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-/8.

.1305 DEFINITION
lor purposes of Rule .1304 of this Section, a

declaratory ruling shall be deemed to be "in

effect": until the statute or rule interpreted by the

declaratory ruling is amended, altered or repealed;

until the Board changes the declaratory ruling

prospectively; or until the court sets aside the

ruling in litigation between the Board and the

parts requesting the rule: or until any court of the

.Appellate Division of the General Court of Jus-

tice shall construe the statute or rule which is the

subject of the declaratory ruling in a manner
plainly irreconcilable with the declaratory ruling.

x„

Statutory

150B-I7.

Authority G.S. 87-18; 150B-11

******** *********

otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

JSOB- J 2 that the North Carolina Real Estate

Commission intends to amend ruleisi cited as 21

NCAC58C .0302, .0308; 58D .0102, .0201, .0302.

.0401. .0403. .0405 - .0407, and .0409.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

January 1. 1991.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on September 5. 1990 at the Office of the

\orth Carolina Real Estate Commission. 1313
Navaho Drive, Raleigh. North Carolina 2 7609.

C omment Procedures: Comments regarding the

rules may be made orally or submitted in writing

at the public hearing. Written comments not

submitted at the hearing may be delivered to the

North Carolina Real Estate Commission. Post

Office Box 17100, Raleigh. North Carolina 27619,

so as to be received by the hearing date.

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

SI BCHAPTER 5W - REAL ESTATE AM)
APPRAISAL EDUCATION

SECTION .0300 - PRE-LICENSING AND
PRE-CERTIFICATION COl RSES

.0302 PROGRAM STRUCT! RING
(b) Except as provided in Paragraph fd) of this

Rule, appraisal pro tieeasiftg (ro -'idiMitial ap-

praiser) residential appraiser prc-liccnring pre-

certification education programs must consist of

the following three courses, each involving a

minimum of 30 classroom hours:

( 1 1 Introduction to Real Estate Appraisal;

( 2 ) Valuation Principles and Procedures: and

(3) Applied Residential Property Valuation.

These courses must be completed sequentially in

the order listed.

(c) Fxccpt as provided in Paragraph (di of this

Rule, appraisal pro certification
(
general ap-

praise r) general appraiser pre-certification educa-

tion programs must consist of the following three

courses, each involving a minimum of 30 class-

room hours, in addition to the three residential

appraiser courses prescribed in Paragraph (b) of

this Rule:

(1) Introduction to Income Property Ap-
praisal;

(2) Advanced Income Capitalization Proce-

dures: and

(3) Applied Income Property Valuation.

These courses must be completed sequentially in

the order listed and completion ot the residential

appraiser courses within the previous five years
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or possession of a current appraiser license must

be a prerequisite for enrollment in the general

appraiser courses.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-4(a),(d); 93A-33;

93A-75(a).

.0308 APPRAISAL INSTRUCTORS
(a) Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this

Rule, all appraisal pre-licensing and pre-

certification courses must be taught by instruc-

tors who possess good moral character and cither

the minimum appraisal education and experience

qualifications listed in this Rule or other quali-

fications that arc found by the Commission to

be equivalent to those listed. These qualification

requirements must be met on a continuing basis.

For a previously-approved instructor, experience

in teaching appraisal courses may be substituted

for any required appraisal experience when a

school is seeking continued approval of the in-

structor. The minimum qualifications are as

follows:

(1) Pro licencing (residential appraiser) Resi-

dential appraiser courses: 90 classroom

hours of real estate appraisal education

and either two years' full-time experience

as a residential real estate appraiser within

the previous five years or three years'

full-time experience as a general real estate

appraiser within the previous five years,

with at least one-half of such experience

being in residential property appraising.

After July 1, 1991, instructors must also

be state-licensed real estate appraisers.

(2) Pro certification (general apprainer) General

appraiser courses: 180 classroom hours of

real estate appraisal education and three

years' full-time experience as a general real

estate appraiser within the previous five

years, with at least one-third of such ex-

perience being in income property ap-

praising. After July 1, 1991, instructors

must also be state-certified real estate ap-

praisers.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-33; 93A-75(a).

SUBCHAPTER 58D - REAL ESTATE
APPRAISERS

SECTION .0100 - APPLICATION FOR
APPRAISER LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE

.0102 FILING \N'D FEES
(b) The following fees shall be charged:

( 1
) application for original residential ap-

praiser license $100.00

(2) application for original residential ap-

praiser certificate SI 00.00

(3) application for original general appraiser

certificate $100.00

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-73(a),(b); 93A-77.

SECTION .0200 - APPRAISER LICENSING AND
CERTIFICATION

.0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR APPRAISER
LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION

(a) Applicants for licensure as a state-licensed

real estate appraiser and for certification as a

state-certified real estate appraiser must satisfy

the qualification requirements stated in G.S.

93A-73. Licensure as a state-licensed real estate

appraiser is not a prerequisite for certification as

a state-certified residential or general real estate

appraiser.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-73; 93.4-77.

SECTION .0300 - APPRAISER EXAMINATIONS

.0302 SLBJECT MATTER
(a) The examination for licensure as a state-

licensed residential real estate appraiser and for

certification as a state-certified residential real es-

tate appraiser shall test applicants on the follow-

ing general subject areas:

( 1) basic real property law;

(2) concepts of value;

(3) forces affecting real estate values;

(4) residential real estate financing;

(5) residential construction and design;

(6) the appraisal process;

(7) valuation principles and procedures;

(8) application of valuation principles and
procedures to the valuation of various

types of residential properties and to re-

lated appraisal assignments;

(9) standards of appraisal practice;

(10) the North Carolina Real Estate Ap-
praisers Act and related Commission
rules; and

(11) related subject areas.

(b) In addition to the subject areas fisted in (a)

of this Rule, the examination for certification as

i state-certified general real estate appraiser shall

test applicants on the following general subject

areas:

(1) income capitalization principles and pro-

cedures;

(2) application of valuation principles and
procedures to the valuation of all types of

income-producing and other properties

and to related appraisal assignments; and
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(3) related subject areas.

Statutory Authority (7.5. 93A-73(c); 93A-77.

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL APPRAISAL
PRACTICE

.0401 LSE OF TITLES
(a) A state-licensed residential real estate ap-

praiser shall utilize the term "state-licensed resi-

dential real estate appraiser" and a state-certified

residential real estate appraiser shall utilize the

term "state-certified residential real estate ap-

praiser" when performing appraisals of residential

real estate, as defined in G.S. 93A-72, or any in-

terest therein. A state-certified general real estate

appraiser shall utilize either the term "state-

certified general real estate appraiser" or "state-

certified residential general real estate appraiser"

when performing appraisals of all types of real

estate or any interest therein.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.

.0403 ADVERTISING
(a) When advertising or otherwise holding

himself out as a real estate appraiser, a state-

licensed residential real estate appraiser shall

identify himself as a "state-licensed residential

real estate appraiser", a state-certified residential

real estate appraiser shall identify himself as a

"state-certified residential real estate appraiser"

and a state-certified general real estate appraiser

shall identify himself as either a "state-certified

general real estate appraiser" or a "state-certified

residential general real estate appraiser".

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-71(d); 93A-77.

.0405 CERTIFIED APPRAISALS
(a) A state-certified residential real estate ap-

praiser mav perform certified appraisals of resi-

dential real estate and a state-certified general real

estate appraiser may perform certified appraisals

on all types of real estate and may identify such

appraisals as being "certified".

77.Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-7l(g); 93A-

.0406 APPRAISAL REPORTS
(a) Each written appraisal report prepared by

or under the direction of a state-licensed or

state-certified real estate appraiser shall bear the

signature of the state-licensed or state-certified

appraiser, the license or certificate number of the

licensee or certificate holder in whose name the

appraisal report is issued, and the designation

"state-licensed residential real estate appraiser",

"state-certified residential real estate appraiser".

or the designation "state-certified general real es-

tate appraiser" or "state-certified

residential; general real estate appraiser", as ap-

plicable. Each such appraisal report shall also

indicate whether or not the state-licensed or

state-certified appraiser has personally inspected

the property, and shall identify any other person

who assists in the appraisal process other than

by providing clerical assistance.

(b) Every state-licensed and state-certified real

estate appraiser shall affix or stamp to all ap-

praisal reports a seal of a design authorized by the

Commission which shall set forth the name and
license or certificate number of the appraiser in

whose name the appraisal report is issued and
shall identify the appraiser as a "state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser" a "state-certified

residential real estate appraiser", or as a "state-

certified general real estate appraiser" or "state-

certified residential general real estate appraiser",

as applicable.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.

.0407 MANAGING APPRAISER
(a) A "managing appraiser" shall be designated

with the Commission for each appraisal firm and
each combined real estate brokerage and ap-

praisal firm for which real estate appraisals are

performed by:

(1) two or more state-licensed or state-

certified real estate appraisers who are

employed by or associated with the firm;

or

(2) unlicensed or uncertified assistants, other

than clerical employees, who are em-
ployed by or associated with the firm and
who assist a state-licensed or state-

certified real estate appraiser in the per-

formance of real estate appraisals.

If one or more state-certified general real estate

appraisers is employed by or associated with the

firm, the managing appraiser must be a state-

certified general real estate appraiser, t hovu'vor.

If one or more state-certified residential real es-

tate appraisers is emplo\ ed hv or associated with

the firm, the managing appraiser must be a

state-certified residential or general real estate

appraiser. If only state-licensed real estate ap-

praisers are employed by or associated with the

firm, the managing appraiser may be a state-

licensed real estate appraiser.

(b) The designated managing appraiser shall

be responsible for:

( 1 ) the proper display of licenses and certif-

icates of all state-licensed and state-

certified real estate appraisers employed

by or associated with the firm, and ascer-
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taining whether each licensee or certificate

holder employed by or associated with the

firm has complied with Rule .0203 of this

Subchapter;

(2) the proper notification to the Commission
of any change of business address or trade

name of the firm and the registration of

any assumed business name adopted by
the firm for its use;

(3) the proper conduct of advertising of ap-

praisal services by or in the name of the

firm;

(4) the proper retention and maintenance of

records relating to appraisals conducted

by or on behalf of the firm;

(5) the maintenance of a record for each of the

firm's unlicensed and uncertified assistants

that generally describes the nature and
extent of assistance rendered in con-

nection with each appraisal; and

(6) the maintenance of a record for each of the

firm's state-licensed and state-certified

residential real estate appraisers that gen-

erally describes the nature and extent of

assistance rendered bv the state-licensed

residential real estate appraiser when as-

sisting a state-certified residential or gen-

eral real estate appraiser and any
assistance rendered bv the state-certified

residential real estate appraiser when as-

sisting a state-certified general real estate

appraiser in performing an appraisal.

No licensee or certificate holder shall be manag-
ing appraiser of more than one appraisal firm or

combined real estate brokerage and appraisal

firm.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.

(2)
i

(3)

(4)

.0409 SUPERVISION OF LICENSED
AND CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL
APPRAISERS

(a) When a state-licensed residential real estate

appraiser assists a state-certified residential or

general real estate appraiser in the performance
of a real estate appraisal and the resulting ap-

praisal report is to be signed by the state-certified

real estate appraiser, the state-certified real estate

appraiser shall:

(1) actively and personally supervise the state-

licensed real estate appraiser;

review the appraisal report and supporting

data used in connection with the appraisal;

indicate on the appraisal report whether or

not he has personally inspected the property;

and
prepare and furnish to the managing ap-

praiser, if applicable, and to each state-

licensed real estate appraiser whose services

were utilized in connection with the ap-

praisal, a report on a form prescribed by the

Commission describing the nature and ex-

tent of assistance rendered by the state-

licensed real estate appraiser in connection

with the appraisal, and place a copy of such

report in the supporting file for the ap-

praisal.

(h) When a state-certified residential real estate

appraiser assists a state -certified general real es-

tate appraiser in the performance of a real estate

appraisal and the resulting appraisal report is to

be signed by the state-certified general real estate

appraiser, the state-certified general real estate

appraiser shall perform those supervisors' acts set

forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule with regard to

the activities of the state-cert itied residential real

estate appraiser.

Statutory Authority G.S. 93A-77.
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1 he Administrative Rules Review Commission (ARRC) objected to the following rules in accord-

ance with G.S. I43B-30.2(c). State agencies are required to respond to ARRC as provided in G.S.

l43B-30.2(d).

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Savings Institutions Division

4 NCAC 16A .0302 - Response of Administrator to Petition

Agency Revised Rule

4 NCAC 16A .0402 - Informal Settlement

Agency Revised Rule

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Environmental Health

ISA NCAC 18'A .1X14 - Disposal of Garbage and Trash: Premises

ISA NCAC I8C .1528 - Point-of-Entry and Other Treatment Devices

Environmental Management

ISA NCAC 2T .0/02 - General Criteria

Agency Revised Rule

ISA NCAC 2F .0105 - Effective Contingent Upon Federal Funds Allocated

Agency Revised Rule

Health: Epidemiology

ISA NCAC /OB .0202 - Granting Permits

I5A NCAC I0D .0407 - Medical Eligibility

ISA NCAC 10D .0408 - Medical Eligibility!Licensed Nursing Home Svcs

Laboratory Services

ISA NCAC 20A .0002 - Definitions

Wildlife Resources Commission

ISA NCAC IOC .050/ - Scope and Purpose

HUMAN RESOURCES

Medical Assistance

10 NCAC SOB .0311 - Reserve

Youth Services

10 NCAC 44F .1305 - Corporal Punishment and Child Abuse
Agency Revised Rule

LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

ARRC Objection 51 17190
Obj. Removed 6,'21/00

ARRC Objection 51 17/00

Obj. Removed 6!2TOO

ARRC Objection 6/21/90
ARRC Objection 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 5/17/90
Obj. Removed 6/21 190

ARRC Objection 5/ 17/00

Obj. Removed 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6!21j90

ARRC Objection 6:21/90

ARRC Objection Si 17/90

Obj. Removed 6/21/90
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ARRC OBJECTIONS

Certification Board for Social Work

21 NCAC 63 .0104 - Organization of the Board
Agency Rei'ised Rule

21 NCAC 63 .0301 - Written Examinations

Agency Revised Rule

21 NCAC 63 .0403 - Renewal Fees

Agency Revised Rule

PUBLIC EDUCATION

Elementary and Secondary Education

16 NCAC6D .0105 - Use of School Day

SECRETARY OF STATE

ARRC Objection 5/17190
Obj. Removed 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 5/17/90

Obj. Removed 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 5/17/90

Obj. Removed 6/21/90

ARRC Objection 6/21/90

Corporations Division

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4
18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

18 NCAC 4

0101

0102

0205

0206

0302

0303

0305

0306
0307

0308

0311

0312
03/3

03/4
0316
0401

0402

0501

0502

0503

0504

Location and Hours ARRC Object

Administration and Functions ARRC Object

Overpayment ARRC Object

Documents Not Specifically Provided For ARRC Object

Execution ARRC Object

Rejection ARRC Object

Corrective Filings-Nonprofit Corp/Limited Partnerships ARRC Object

Articles of Incorporation - Nonprofit Corporations ARRC Object

Application For Reservation of Corporate Name ARRC Object

Registered Office and Registered Agent ARRC Object

Art of Merger/Share Exch /G.S. 55-1 1-07/55A-42.1 ARRC Object

Appl For Cert of Authority jForeign Prof Corporation ARRC Object

Filing Merger Involving Foreign Corporation ARRC Object

Filing Evidence of Dissolution' Foreign Nonprofit Corp ARRC Object

Form for Annual Report ARRC Object

Documents ARRC Object

Cert of Facts / Certificate of Exit/Authorization ARRC Object

General ARRC Object

Words Prohibited in Addition to Statutory Prohibitions ARRC Object

Deceptively Similar and Distinguishable Names ARRC Object

Filing Fictitious/Assumed Name/Foreign Corporation ARRC Object

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6121/90

on 6/21/90
on 6/21/90
on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90
on 6121/90

on 6121/90

on 6/21/90
on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90

on 6/21/90
on 6/21/90

Securities Division

18 NCAC 6 .1210 - Securities Exchgs/Auto Quotation Sys Approve/Admin ARRC Objection 6/21/90
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RULES INVALIDA TED BY JUDICIAL DECISION

1 his Section of the Register lists the recent decisions issued by the North Carolina Supreme Court,

Court ofAppeals, Superior Court (when available) , and the Office ofAdministrative Hearings which

invalidate a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

10NCAC3R .0317(g) - WITHDRAWAL OF A CERTIFICATE
Robert Roosevelt Reilly, Jr., Administrative Law Judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings,

declared Rule 10 NCAC 3R .0317(g) void as applied in Dawn Health Care, a North Carolina General

Partnership, Petitioner v. Department ofHuman Resources, Certificate of Need Section, Respondent (90

DHR 0296).
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRA TIVE CODE CLASSIFICA TION SYSTEM

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two
of these, titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title.

Each major department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been as-

signed a title number. Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical

in order. The other two, subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by

agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

ITLE DEPARTMENT LICENSING BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Architecture 2

2 Agriculture Auctioneers 4

3 Auditor Barber Examiners 6

4 Economic and Community Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

Development Chiropractic Examiners 10

5 Correction General Contractors 12

6 Council of State Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

7 Cultural Resources Dental Examiners 16

8 Elections Electrical Contractors is

9 Governor Foresters 20

10 Human Resources Geologists 21

11 Insurance I learing Aid Dealers and Fitters 22

12 Justice Landscape Architects 26

13 labor Landscape Contractors 28

14A Crime Control and Public Safety Marital & Family Therapy 31

15A Environment, Health, and Natural Medical Examiners 32

Resources Midwifery Joint Committee 33

16 Public Education Mortuary Science 34

17 Revenue Nursing 36

18 Secretary of State Nursing Home Administrators 37

19A Transportation Occupational Therapists 38

20 Treasurer Opticians 40

*21 Occupational Licensing Boards Optometry 42

22 Administrative Procedures Osteopathic Fxamination and 44

23 Community Colleges Registration

24 Independent Agencies Pharmacy 46
25 State Personnel Physical Therapy Examiners 4X

26 Administrative Hearings Plumbing and I leating Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers and Fand Surveyors 56

Real Estate Commission 58

Refrigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work 63

Speech and Language Pathologists and 64

Audiologists

Veterinary Medical Board 66

Note: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULATIVE INDEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1990 - March 1991)

1990 - 1991

Pages Issue

1 - 151 1 - April

152 - 235 2 - April

236 - 285 3 - May
286 - 312 4 - May
313 - 407 5 - June

408 - 473 6 - June
474 - 513 7 - July

514 - 603 8 - July

604 - 635 9 - August

AO - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

I
:R - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
State Property and Construction, 41 1 PR

AGRICULTURE
Plant Conservation Board, 1 PR
Structural Pest Control Committee, 7 PR

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
State Highway Patrol, 53 PR
Butner Public Safety Division, 419 PR

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Banking Commission, 16 PR
Community Assistance, 25 PR, 317 PR
Credit Union, 317 PR
Milk Commission, 24 PR

ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AND NATURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 136 PR. 292 PR
Environmental Management, 54 PR, 193 PR, 420 PR, 542 PR
Health Services, 190 PR, 565 PR
Marine Fisheries, 63 PR, 4S4 PR
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators Certifieation Commission, 551 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification, 621 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 137 PR, 206 PR, 293 PR, 349 PR, 438 PR, 563 PR

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 241, 286, 316, 605

FINAL RULES
Fist of Rules Codified, 143 FR, 226 FR, 302 FR, 463 FR, 587 FR

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 236. 313, 408, 474, 514, 604

HUMAN RESOl RCES
Facility Services, 516 PR
Health Services, 152 PR, 245 PR
Medical Assistance, 191 PR
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, 29 PR, 318 PR, 475 PR
Services for the Blind, 412 PR
Social Services, 247 PR, 607 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification, 27 PR
Youth Services, 261 PR

LNSLRANCE
Actuarial Services Division, 480 PR
Agent Services Division, 321 PR, 520 PR
Financial Fvaluation Division, 342 PR, 525 PR
Fire and Casualty Division, 335 PR, 478 PR
Fife: Accident and Health, 264 PR, 287 PR, 529 PR

JUSTICE
Attorney General, Office of the, 192 PR, 273 PR
Sheriffs' Standards Division, 608 PR

LICENSING BOARDS
Cosmetic Art Fxaminers, Board of, 355 PR
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners of, 356 PR
Medical Fxaminers, Board of, 207 PR
Nursing, Board of, 300 PR, 496 PR
Physical Therapy Fxaminers, Board of, 443 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Fxaminers, 621 PR
Real Estate Commission, 625 PR

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary, 141 PR, 275 PR, 351 PR

REVENUE
Individual Income Tax, 359 FR
License and Excise Tax Division, 445 FR
Sales and Use Tax, 213 FR, 453 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Corporations Division, 489 PR
Securities Division, 293 PR, 495 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 277 PR, 500 PR
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CUMULA THE INDEX

STATE TREASURER
Department Rules, 352 PR
Local Government Commission, 352 PR, 442 PR
Solid Waste Management Capital Projects Financing Agency, 354 PR

TRANSPORTATION
Motor Vehicles, Division of, 222 1 R
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 53 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchased for seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication are available at one-

half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription*

Total

Quantity Price

1 - 52 Full Code
1

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

]()

10

Id

10

1(1

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

1 - 37

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 -4
1 - 2

3 - 20

1 - 2

3 - 4

1 -4
1 - 12

1 - 9

1 - 4

1 - 2

3A - 3K
3L- 3R

3S - 3U
4- 6

7

8 - 9

10

11-14
15- 17

18

19 - 30

31 - 33

34 - 41

42

43 - 51

1 - 15

AH titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

Elections

Governor
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

$750.00

90.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

45.00

90.00

60.00

30.00

60.00

10.00

45.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

75.00

90.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

90.00

90.00

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

x

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

IX

1')

211

21

23

24

25

26

27

28

Continued



Total

Volume Title Chapter Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

29 12

50 13

31 13

32 13

33 14A

34 15A
35 15A
36 15A
37 15A
38 15A
39 15A
40 15A

41 16

42 17

43 17

44 18

45 19A
46 20

47 21

48 21

49 21

22

50 23

51 24

52 25

53 26

New
Chapter Subject Subscription*

1 - 12 Justice 90.00

1 - 6 Labor 30.00

7 OSHA 45.00

8 - 15 I abor 45.00

1 - 11 Crime Control and
Public Safety 45.00

1 - 2 EHNR (includes EMC) 90.00

3- 6 EHNR 45.00

7 Coastal Manasement 45.00

8 - 9 EHNR 30.00

10 Wildlife 45.00

11 - 18 EHNR 90.00

19 - 26 EHNR
(includes Breathalizer) 75.00

1 - 6 Education 30.00

1 - 6 Revenue 75.00

7 - 11 Revenue 60.00

1 - 7 Secretary of State 30.00

1 - 6 Transportation 90.00

1 - 9 Treasurer 45.00

1 - 16 Licensing Boards 75.00

17 - 37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards
1 - 2 Administrative Procedures 75.00

1 - 2 Coinmumtv Colleges 10.00

1 - 2 Independent Agencies 10.00

1 State Personnel 60.00

1 - 4 Administrative Hearings 10.00

Total

(Make checks payable to Ojfice of Administrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

Subscription years are Januaiy I through December 31.

MAIL TO.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 11666

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27604
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($105.00)/year subscription)

Renew North Carolina Register

Check Enclosed Please bill me

ease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

VME ADDRESS

TY STATE ZIP .

IONE

2turn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1 . Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
. O. Drawer 11666

Raleigh, North Carolina 276(M
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