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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly
and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register
will t\picall\ comprise appro.ximately fift>- pages per
issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

various state officials and institutions. The Xorth Carolina

Register is available by yearly subscription at a cost of

one hundred and fi\e dollars (S105.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North CaroUna
Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings, P. 0. Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, N.

C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place of the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory
Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrati\e Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Di\ision of the Office of

Administrati\e Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the Nortli Caroli)ia Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file an>' adopted or amended rule for appro\aI by
the Administrati\e Rules Re\iew Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-
cy, the adopted \'ersion will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effecti\e

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken b>' the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,

some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary-
rule becomes effecti\e when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 days,

whiche\er is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule

must begin normal rule-making procedures on the per-

manent rule at the same time the temporary rule is

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
The North Carolina Administrati\e Code (NCAC) is

a compilation and index of the administrative rules of

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC comprises approximateh' 15,000 letter size,

single spaced pages of material of which approximate-
Iv 35 "'0 is changed annuallv. Compilation and publica-

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is di\'ided into Titles and Chapters. Each
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fur-

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designated
for occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is a\ailable in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum
cost of two dollars and 50 cents (S2.50) for 10

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per each
additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 52 \olumes,

totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is sup-

plemented monthK' with replacement pages. A
one year subscription to the full publication in-

cluding supplements can be purchased for

seven hundred and fifty dollars (S750.00). In-

di\idual \olumes may also be purchased with

supplement ser\ice. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC
should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE
The foregoing is a generalized statement of the pro-

cedures to be followed. For specific statutory' language,

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of

the General Statutes be examined carefulh'.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited bv volume, issue,

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986.

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O. Drawer
1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscriptions

one hundred and five dollars (SI 05.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published

in looseleaf notebooks with supplement service by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Satutes.

Subscriptions seven hundred and fifty dollars

($750.00). Individual volumes available.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUIVIBER III

AMENDMENT AND EXTENSION OF
EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 45

WHEREAS, the Governor's Language Institutes

Advisory Board was established by Executive

Order Number 45, reissued and extended by
Executive Order Number 93; and
WHEREAS, it has been made to appear to me

that it is necessary to clarify that participation in

the Institutes is limited to elementary and sec-

ondary foreign language teachers; and

WHEREAS, it has been made to appear to me
that the Advisory Board should have discretion

to estabhsh guidelines for private school teachers

to participate in the Institutes;

THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as

Governor by the Constitution and laws of North
Carolina, it is ORDERED:
Executive Order Number 45, reissued and ex-

tended by Executive Order Number 93, is hereby

amended and extended as follows:

Section 2. Functions: The Board shall have

the following duties:

(A) oversee planning and operation of the

Governor's Language Institutes which
shall be located in various locations across

the State to provide educational programs
for North Carolina elementary and sec-

ondary teachers of foreign languages;

(B) select an external consultant to assist in

the planning of the Governor's Language
Institutes' programs and to recommend
curriculum, instructors, location of Insti-

tutes, and sources of support;

(C) select a fuU-time Executive Director to

manage the Institutes; and
(D) establish guidelines pertaining to the par-

ticipation of teachers from non-pubhc
schools in the Governor's Language In-

stitutes Program.

Section 4. Effective Date and Expiration Date.

This Executive Order shall be effective imme-
diately, and in accordance with North Carolina

law shall expire two years from the date it is

signed. It is subject to reissuance at expiration.

Done in the Capital City of Raleigh, North
CaroUna, this 12th day of Apnl, 1990.

'^

EXECUTIVE ORDER MMBER 112

RESlRUCrURING AND REKS lABLISMING
nO\ERNOR'S ADMSORV COMMISSION ON

TRA\ EL AND TOURISM

WHEREAS, travel and tourism is of major eco-

nomic concern to the State; and
WHEREAS, participation in the Governor's

Advisory Commission on Travel and Tourism
by members of the General Assembly and repre-

sentatives of specific industries in travel and
tourism would enhance the development of travel

and tourism issues; and
WHEREAS, it has been made to appear to me

that a restructuring of the Governor's Advisory
Commission on Travel and Tourism is desirable

in order to foster such participation;

NOW THEREFORE, by the authority vested in

me as Governor by the Constitution and laws of
North Carolina it is ORDERED:

Section 1. Reestablishment. The Governor's
Advisory Commission on Travel and Tourism,
originally established by Executive Order Num-
ber 8, and extended and reissued by Executive

Order Number 51 and Executive Order Number
93, is hereby reestablished according to the terms
of this order.

Section 2. Membership. The Commission
shall consist of not less than the following 16

members:
a. the Director of the North Carolina Division

of Travel and Tourism, who shaU serve

ex officio;

b. two Senators, currently serving in the

North Carolina General Assembly, having

interest in and knowledge of matters re-

lated to travel and tourism, who shall be
appointed by the President of the Senate;

c. two Representatives, currently serving in

the North Carolina General Assembly,
having an interest in and knowledge of

matters related to travel and tourism, who
shall be appointed by the Speaker of the

Mouse of Representatives;

d. one member associated with the transpor-

tation industry' who shall be appointed by
the Governor;

e. one member associated with the food ser-

vice industry who shall be appointed by
the Governor;

f one member associated with the lodging

industr,' who shall be appointed by the

Governor;

g. at least two at-large members with an in-

terest in the travel and tourism industry

who shall be appointed by the Governor;

h. one member associated with a local cham-
ber of cormncrce, tourism development
authority, or convention and visitors bu-

reau who shall be appointed by the Gov-
ernor;
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

i. one member associated with municipal

government who shall be appointed by
the Governor;

j. one member associated with The Travel

Council of North Carolina. Inc. (or its

successors) who shaU be appointed by the

Governor;

k. one member associated with parks and re-

creation or cultural resources who shall

be appointed by the Govemor;
1. one member with interest in and knowledge

of the environmental impact of tra\el and
tounsm who shall be appointed by the

Govemor; and

m. one member associated with county gov-

ernment who shall be appointed by the

GoN'cmor.

Section 3. Tenns. .-Ml members shall serve at

the pleasure of the appointing authonty.

Section 4. Chairmanship. The Commission
shall elect a chairperson from its membership.

Section 5. Meetings. Ihc fust meeting of the

Commission shall be caUed by the Director of the

Di\ision of Tra\el and Tourism. Thereafter,

meetings will be held on a quarterly basis or as

directed by the Go\emor or Sccrctan of Eco-

nomic and Community Development.

Section 6. (juonim. A majority of the mem-
bership shall constitute a quonim.

Section 7. \"acancies. Appointments to fill

vacancies in the membership of the Commission
that occur due to resignation, dismissal, death,

or disability of a member shall be for the balance

of the unexpired term and shall be made by the

same appointing authority that made the initial

appointment.

Section 8. Duties and Powers. The duties of

the Commission shall be:

a. to assist and ad\'isc the Secrctar)' of Eco-

nomic and Community Development in

the planning and implementation of pol-

icy and priorities for the promotion and
development of tra\el and tourism m the

State;

b. to assist and advise the Secretary' of Eco-

nomic and Commumty Development in

the de\elopment of a budget for the Divi-

sion of Tra\el and Tourism;

c. to recoinmend programs to the Go\emor.
the General Assembh', and the Secrctar."

of Economic and Community Develop-

ment that will promote the State as a

travel and tourism destination and that

wiU develop travel and tourism opportu-
nities throughout the State;

d. to assist and advise the Secretary of Eco-
nomic and Community Development in

setting criteria for selection of an advertis-

ing agency which wiD assist the depart-

ment in promotion of the State as a travel

and tourism destination within the con-

text of the normal advertising agency re-

view cycle. These criteria shall be utilized

by a selection committee appointed by the

Secretary of Economic and Community
Development;

e. to recommend to the Secretary' of Eco-
nomic and Community Development and
the General Assembly rules, regulations,

or standards that may be necessan,' to ad-

minister a matching funds tourism grant

program;

f. to promote the exchange of ideas and in-

formation on travel and tourism between
State and local governmental agencies,

and pri\'ate organizations and indi\iduals;

and

g. to advise the Secretary' of Economic and
Community Development upon any
matter that the Secretan.', Go\emor, or

Director of the Di\'ision of Travel and
Tourism may refer to the Commission.

Section 9. Administrati\'e Support. The Sec-

retary of Economic and Community De\elop-

ment shall pro\ ide clerical and other services as

required b\ the Commission.

Section 10. Expenses. While on official busi-

ness. Commission members who are legislators

wiU recci\'e subsistence and tra\el allowances at

the rates set forth in N.C.G.S. 120-3.1. Com-
mission members who are emplo\"ees of the State

will receive travel allowances at the rate set forth

in N.C.G.S. 13S-6. All other Commission
members will recei\e per diem, subsistence, and
travel expenses at the rates set forth in N.C.G S.

138-5.

Section Pre\ious Orders Rescinded. Exec-

utive Order Number S, and those portions of

E.\ecuti\e Orders Number 51 and 93 dealing with

the Governor's Ad\ison' Committee on Tra\'el

and Tourism, dated June 28, 1985, .July 14, 1987,

and .lune 20, 198^), respectiveh', are hereby

rescinded. All records of the Go\'emor's Advi-

sory' Commission on Tra\'el and Tourism created

pursuant to these executive orders are transferred

to the .Vdx'isory Commission created herein. The
Ad\isop,' Commission herein shall be the suc-
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

cessor to the Governor's Advisory Commission
on Travel and Tourism.

Section 12. This Executive Order is effective

immediately and shall remain in effect until Jan-

uary 31, 1992, unless terminated earlier or ex-

tended by further Executive Order.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina this the 12th

day of April, 1990.

EXFXLTIVK ORDER NUMBER 1 13

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNOR'S
CONFERENCES ON

LIBR.\RY .\ND lNFORM.\TION SERVICES

VV}JF.REa\S, access to information and ideas is

indispensable to the development of human po-

tential, the advancement of civilization, and the

continuance of enlightened self government; and
WHEREAS, the preservation and the dissem-

ination of information and ideas are the primary

purpose and function of the library and informa-

tion services; and
WHEREAS, libraries and information services

are essential to a learning society; and
WHEREAS, North Carolina's economic

strength and the productivity of its workforce

depends on access to information; and
WHEREAS, the President of the United States,

with the concurrence of the United States Senate

and House of Representatives, has caUed for the

convening of the Second WTiite House Confer-

ence on Library and Information Services to be

held in Washington, D.C., .lulv 9-l.\ 1991; and
W Hi: RE AS, Public law 100-382, the White
House Conference on Library and Infomiation

Services authorizing act, provides $30,000 in fed-

eral funding to North Carolina to conduct state-

wide conferences leading up to the Wliitc House
Conference;

THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as

Governor by the Constitution and laws of North
Carolma, it is ORDERED:

Section 1. Establishment. That the North
Carolina Governor's Conference on Library and
Information Services Committee is created.

Section 2. Membership. The Committee will

be composed of forty persons whom I will ap-

point for a one year term beginning May 1, 1990,

and who shall serve at my pleasure.

Section 3. Chairman. The Secretary of Cul-

tural Resources will serve as the chairperson of

the Committee established herein.

Section 4. Purpose. The mission of the Com-
mittee shall be to organize and conduct Gover-
nor's Conferences on Library' and Information

Services. Nine regional conferences and one
statewide conference shall be held between Au-
gust 1990 and Eebruary 1991, with the purpose

of developing recommendations for further im-

provement of librarv' and information services to

increase productivity, expand literacy, and
strengthen democracy.

Delegates elected at these conferences shall elect

sixteen ( 16) delegates to the Second Wliite House
Conference on Library and Information Services.

Section 5. Administratise Support. The North
Carolina Department of Cultural Resources Di-

vision of the State Library- is the coordinating

agency to work with the Committee in planning

and conducting all regional and statewide events

leading up to the White House Conference.

Section 6. I'raNel and Subsistence. The De-

partment of Cultural Resources shall pay travel

and subsistence to Committee members from the

$30,000 in federal money appropriated for this

purpose.

Section 7. Effccti\e Date and Fxpiratitin Dale.

This Executi\'c Order shall be effcctne imme-
diately and shall expire July 13, 1991.

Done in the Capital City of RaleiizJi, North
Carolma, this the 20th day of April, IWO.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. 120-30.911 . effective July 16, I9S6. requires that all letters and other documents issued by the

Attorney General of the United States in v.iiich a final decision is made concerning a "change af-

fecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of J 965 be published in the Worth Carolina

Register. J

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Riahts Di\'ision

JPT:MAP:TGL:rac
DJ 166-012-3

Z5485
Votina Section

P.O. Box 66128
Washington. D.C. 20035-6128

Fchruan- 26, 1990

DcWitt r. McCarley, Esq.

City Attorney

P.O. Box 7207

Greenville, North Carolina 27835-7207

Dear Mr. McCarley:

This refers to Chapter 272 (1981), which provides that the mayor may vote only in case of a tie

vote for the City of Green\ille in Pitt County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General

pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received

your submission on December 27, 1989.

The .Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the change in question. Ilo\ve\'er, we
feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the

failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the

enforcement of such change. See the Procedures for the .Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.41).

Sincerelv,

.lames P. Turner
Acting .Assistant .Attorney General

Ci\il Riolits Di\ision

By:

Barr\' II. \\'einberg

Actmg Chief, \'oting Section

316 5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June 1,1990



PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 4 - DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
AND COMiMUMTY DEVELOPMENT

Nooticc is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1508- 12 that the Credit Union Division, ECD in-

tends to amend nde(s) cited as 4 NCAC 6C
.0203.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-
tober I. 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 9, 1990 at Room 4009, Dobbs
Building, 430 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina 27603.

(^ omment Procedures: A ny interested person

may present hislher comments either in writing

three days prior to or at the hearing or orally at

the hearing for a maximum of ten minutes. Any
person may request information by writing or

calling Mr. Stanley W. Brown, Jr., Credit Union
Division, 430 North Salisbwy Street. Raleigh,

North Carolina. (919) 733-750/

CHAPTER 6 - CREDIT IJMON

SLBCHAP I ER 6C - CKEDll LMONS

SECTION .0200 - ORGAM/.ATION OF CREDIT
UNIONS

.0203 FIELDS OF MEMBERSHIP
(a) Parity. To preserve and protect the welfare

of state chartered credit union, the Administrator
may approve fields of membership and allow

state chartered credit unions the same latitude

with regard to membership limitations and re-

strictions as is available to federally chartered

credit unions.

(b) New Charters. Pursuant to The ficld(s) of

membership of an applicant for a new credit im-

ion shall be reviewed and appro\ed or disap-

proved in confonnitv with catena and policies set

out in Chapter
J_

of the National Credit Union
Administrations (N(?Ci\) Interpretative Ruling

and Policy Slatemcnto S^-^ »ft4 8.J 2. t4+** A4-
miniritrutor Fway approvo eew chartorii with ftt44&

Bi membL' r '.hip which includo more than t-H+t*

du i tinct group t>F multiple occupational tM=

a ;.'.(uialional izroup '.
. Statement SO-

1 . entitled

CHAR 11 RING AND Ml I 1) OF MlMHl R-
Sllll' I'Ol IC'i". which arc adopted bv relerence

pursuant to (i.S. I.S()lM4(c).

(c) I xpansion Requests. Requests for ex-

panded multiple tields of membership tor existing

credit unions shall be rc\ie\vcd and approved or

disapproved in conformity with criteria and poli-

cies set out in Chapter 2 of the National Credit

Union Administration's Interpretive Ruling and
Policy Statement 89-1, entitled CHAR Tl'RING
AND MHUD OF MHMBl-RSHJP POLICY,
which are adopted by reference pursuant to G.S.

15()B- 14(c). i» accordunoQ with Paragraphs fa)

»fl4 fbf e+' tfei*i Rulo, requests fof oxpundod mul
tiple fields ei membership fof e justing credit hh-
i#flrtt may be approved oubjoct to tl*e following:

f44 Ae groups a«* within a "we ll defined

area";

f5) A<» alToctod groups have made a written

request fef sen^ico;

fj) the Credit Union has aft4 is adequately

sepi'ing a largo percentage b( i4« exi 'iting

potential members;

(4) there is proof A«t- t4*e Credit Union eaft

provide oer^'ice to Ae nevf group(s);

{4j it- is oconomically feasible aft4 ad'i isable;

{4^ the Credit L'nion has a satir.factorr
' pef-

loimance record, is ¥reli managed aft4 rts

operations afe safe a«4 sound; aft4

f^ other factors which afe relevant m af^-

pro'i ing t4¥e reqiiest.

(d) If other factors warrant, the Administrator

may waive or modify any of the requirements in

this Rule.

(e) In allowing an expansion of the field of

membership, any such credit union would be

bound by membership limitations or restrictions

contained in its charter or bylaws as amended
and approved by the Administrator.

Statutoiy Authority G.S. 54-109.1; 54- 109.2(e):

54-/09.3(3): 54-/00.4; 54-/09./ / (3); 54-/09. /2;

54-/09.2/(25); 54-/09.22.

•k'k'k'k-k'k'k'k'k-k-k'k-k-k-k'k'k'k

Nooticc is hercbv gh'cn in accordance with G.S.

/50B-/2 that the^N.C. Dept. of Economic &
Community Development - Dr\'ision of Community
Assistance intends to amctui ride(sl cited as 4

NCAC 190 .0/02.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-

tober /, /990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 3:00

p.m. on July 9, /990 at Secotid floor Cotiference

Room, /307 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 250,

Raleigh. North Carolina.

(^ omment Procedures: Comments may be pre-

sented at the hearing or suht?iitted bv mail to:
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Deborah G. McCrae
Division of Community Assistance

1307 Glerm'ood Avenue, Suite 250

Raleigh, North Carolina 27605

CHAPrFR 19 - DIMSION OF COMMLMTY
ASSISTANCE

SI BCHAPTKR 19Q - EMERGENCY SMELTER
GRANTS PROGRAM ADMINISTRATIVE RLLES

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PRO\ ISION

.0102 DEFINITIONS
(8j "Shelter" meajis a» indi'. iduul facility ¥r+t^

the cupucity te pro'i ida os emight lodoing

Vi'ho 'jij purpdfiL' i^ to- ar. r. i '. t homok" . ! . por 'ionri

ihrougli acti'. itiL" . fundod unde r t+H* Sub
chapliT. -l-^t-kf purpo '.e'. i-4 A+t- program, t+h*

iL'nn "I 'holtor ' L' ^cludeo liub^ttmce ubur.e w-
habililation cenl e r -i. "any facilit\'. the pri-

ma r\' purpose iA which is to pro\ide

tcmporar\ or transitional shelter for the

homeless m iieneral or for specific popu-
lations of the homeless." As a result, day

centers and drop-in centers are eligible to

receJN e funds tor aU 1 S(j eligible actjyities.

Authority G.S. J43-J23: I43B-I0: 24 C.F.R.

5^6.3: P. L. 100-77.

Til LK 10 DKPARTMENT OF HL.NLAN
RESOLRCES

J\ otice is hereby gh'en in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the Commission for Mental Health,

Developmental Disabilities and Substance .-ibuse

Services intends to amend ndeis > cited as 10

SCAC I4C .1117, .1135. .1145: and adopt

nde(s> cited as 10 \C.AC NC .1147.

1 he proposed effecti\e date of this action is Oc-
tober I. 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 12, 1990 at Albemarle Building, 325
A'. Salisbun' Street, 8th Floor Conference Room
S64, Ralei-di. SC 2~603.

Coommcnt Procedures: .4ny interested person

may present his her comments by oral presentation

or by submitting a written statement. Persons

wishing to make oral presentations should contact

.Marilyn Brothers. Di\ision of Mental Health, De-
velopmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse
Ser\-ices, 325 A'. Salisbury St.. Ralcii^h. .\C

27603, (919) 733-4^74 by July II. 1990. The
hearing record will remain open for written com-

ments from June 11, 1990 through July 11, 1990.

Written comments must be sent to the above ad-

dress and must state the rule(s) to which the

comments are addressed. Fiscal information on
these rules is also a\-ailablefrom the same address.

CHAPTER 14 - MENTAL HEALTH: GENERAL

SLHCIIAPIER 14C - GENERAL RLLES

SECTION .1 100 - STATE AND FEDERAL
FLNDS ADMINISTERED

.1 I 17 GRANT-IN-AID FOR ADLLT
DE\ELOPMENTAL ACTIMTY
PROGRAMS

(a) The Diyision shall administer a program of

grants to area programs to be caUcd the grant-

in-aid for adult developmental activity programs.

(b) Such grant-in-aid funds shall be used to

support clients who are:

(1) substantially mijntally rotardod dc\elop-

mentaUv disabled or se\'crely ph\'sicaLly

disabled persons as defined in 10 NCAC
ISI .0120 except that clients with a pri-

mary diagnosis of other than substantial

montal retardation dcvelopmcntallv disa-

bility or se\'ere physical disability may be

eligible for funding provided:

(A) they have been in an AD.AP contin-

uously from a date prior to Januar\' 1,

1975 and arc currently rccei\ing .\D.\P
grant-in-aid: and

(B) that all other .ADAP standards and
regulations such as annual re-evaluation

and referral to the Division of \'ocational

Rehabilitation Services shall apply equally

to this client population; or

otherwise substantially de\elopmentally

disabled which means those indniduals

functioniniz at cither I e\'el I or I e\'el 11

in

(2)

as defined 'Pioneer 1 undine S\ stem

Operations Manual. \"olume 111. 1 e\ el of

1 ligibilitw Section 4^ Child and .Adult

De\elopmental Disability".

(3) f^ 16 years of age and older;

(4) (4^ residents of North Carolina; and

(5) (4^ eligible for AD.AP grant-in-aid regard-

less of financial resources with the excep-

tion of a client whose work earnings

exceed one-half the federal statutory min-

imum wage o\'er a consccuti\-e 90-day

period. \Vith prior approval of the ap-

propriate regional diroctor. area director

or designee, clients who are participating

in a supported employment program au-

thorized b\" the Division may ha\e

earnings in excess of one-half the mini-

mum wage. Eligibility for clients in non-
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supported employment settings whose
earnings have exceeded over one-half the

minimum wage for over 90 consecutive

days may be extended for up to one cal-

endar year if supported employment
options are not available locally and the

client is ineligible for other services from
the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation,

or if the cUent's social, behavioral or vo-

cational skill deficits preclude partic-

ipation in supported employment options

and results in inehgibihty for other voca-

tional rehabilitation services. The eligi-

bility extension shall occur through the

existing client recertification process car-

ried out by the designated area program
qualilicd developmental disabilities pro-

fessional (QDDP) as referenced in J_l)

NCAC bSM .08110. Requests for the ex-

tension shall be based on a joint case re-

view involving a representative of the

involved ADAP, the local VR unit and

the area program. meeting bot' i
'
iX'on a

roprcHiontati'i O ef tht» involved iVDAI^, tfce

local Vocational Rohabilitation unit, H*hi

ttn* af«* program. 44*i* roquorit ;ihall bo

submitted to aft4 approv ed by tb# duoig

nated afe» progiam qualified m ental m-
tardation profe'.'.ional re;ipon ;. ible fof

client certification. The request shall

identify the specific skill deficits precluding

eligjbihty for supported employment or

other vocational rehabilitation services

and include plans for reducing these defi-

cits. The certification extension may be

reapphed for a maximum of two times

only. The same criteria and procedures

shall be followed in each instance of re-

application as are required for the initial

extension.

(c) Grant-in-aid for adult developmental activ-

ity programs shall be administered to area pro-

grams up to a standard rate per month, as

approved by the General Assembly or division

director, or both, except programs may receive

federal grant-in-aid funds on a total cost basis

with the Di\ision Director's approval in accord-

ance v\'ith Section 26 of the "Area Program
Budgeting and Procedures Manual" (division

pubhcation APSM 75-1) as published June 27,

1984. Copies of Section 26 of the "Area Pro-

gram Budgeting and Procedures Manual" may
be inspected at the Raleigh office of the Di\'ision

or copies may be obtained from the Publications

Office of the Division at a charge which covers

printing and postage.

(d) Funding of new adult developmental activ-

ity programs shall be limited to the areas (county

aft4/ or community or both) specified in division

publication APSR 120-1, "Development of New
Adult Developmental Activity Programs," as

published July 1, 1981. Copies of this pubhca-

tion may be inspected or obtained as specified in

(c) of this Rule.

(e) To apply for ADAP grant-in-aid funds an

annual plan and budget for such funds shall be

included in the appropriate area program's total

annual plan and budget package when it is sub-

mitted to the appropriate regional office of the

Division.

(f) Approval of release of ADAP grant-in-aid

funds shall be made by the Division Director or

his designee. These adoptions by reference are

in accordance with G.S. 1 SOB- 14(c).

Slatuloty Authoritv G.S. I22C-1 12(a)(6);

I22C-13I; I22C-I4J.

.1 135 FLNDS FOR FORENSIC SCREENING:
CAI',\CITV TO PROCEED TO TRI.VL

(a) To the extent state funds are available, the

division shall provide reimbursement for court-

ordered screening and evaluation of persons to

determine their capacity to proceed to trial.

(b) The screening or evaluation shall be per-

formed by a qualified mental health professional

who is registered with the Division as a forensic

evaluator iicruening examiner v. ho » certified by
th** Divi '

. . ic)n *t- the time ef tbe examination.

Ii'. aluatioiir. shall be poiformed only by a medical

doctor or a person deemed a medical expert by

the court.

(c) Only area programs are eUgible for re-

imbursement.

(d) To obtain reimbursement the area program

shall submit to the appropriate regional office the

following:

(1) four copies of an itemized invoice which

reflects the following:

(A) name of respondent screened and eval-

uated;

(B) name of certified forensic ncrooning e?t-

aminer »* evaluator for each respondeat;

(C) amount of time in hours or portion

thereof required for each screening exam-

ination or evaluation; pk» report prepa

ration,

(D) rate per hour for each examination or

evaluation; and

(E) dollar amount for each examination or

evaluation.

(2) three copies of the individual court order.

The copies of the court order shall be at-

tached to the invoice required in (d)(1) of

tliis Rule so that tliree of the four copies

5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June l, 1990 319



PROPOSED RULES

of the invoice have a copy of the court

order attached.

(e) The rate per hour for each ffcro ijoing oxam
i»ef 6>f forensic e\'aluator required on the invoice

under (d)l 1)(D) of this Rule shall be the usual

and customaPi- charges of the area program be-

fore adjustment to the sliding fee scale. The
amount in\'oiced to the division shall not exceed

fiftv dollar!"' ($50.1)01 pef ocrocning oxamination

t*f L' ViiluiUion. the rate approx ed bv the Disision.

(f) The regional office shall review the m\ oices

and court orders to determine that all requu'e-

ments in (d) of this Rule have been met. If the

invoices are in order and the regional office has

uncommitted forensic screening or e\aluation

funds, the in\oices shall be initialed for approval

by the Regional Director or thr» regional »6-

countant his designee and forwarded to the fiscal

ser\ices section of the Di\ision for payment.

(gl The procedures of this Rule apply only to

reimbursement for screenmg examinations or

e\'aluations to determine the capacity of an indi-

\idual to proceed to trial and do not apply to

reimbursement for any treatment determined to

be necessar.' as a result of the e\'aluation.

Sumitor: Authority G.S. I22C-I4~: 143B-I0.

.1145 l)K\KI.OPMKM.\L DAY CARt
GRANTS-IN-AID

(a) The Di\'ision shall administer a program of

grants to area programs to be called develop-

mental day care grants-in-aid.

fb) De\"elopmental day care grants-in-aid shall

be administered to area programs up to a stand-

ard rate per month as approved by the General

Assembly. »ft4 division director or both, unless

administered on a total cost basis with the Divi-

sion Director s appro\al in accordance with Sec-

tion 26 of the ".\rea Program Budgeting and
Procedures .Manual" (division publication

APSM 75-1) adopted pursuant to G.S.

150B-14(c). as published June 27, 1984. Copies

of Section 26 of the ".-Vrea Program Budgeting

and Procedures Manual'' may be inspected at the

Raleigli office of the Division or copies may be

obtained from the Publications Office of the Di-

\ision at a charge which co\'ers printing and
postage.

(c) Cliildrcn in whose behalf funds are admin-

istered to programs shall be:

(1) mentally retarded, otherwise de\elop-

mcntallv disabled. de\elopmentall\ de-

hi\cd. or have at\pical de\elopmcnt or be

infants or toddlers at higli nsk for niL'ntal

retiudcition. an\ of these conditions, for

v.hom a disabilit\' specific duigno '. iic labe l

diaimosis is inappropnatc: prior te ihrL-o

ycjarfi ef aeer a* ce rtified h^ a liconncd

phyincian. a«4 fof whom » k«* roc'trictivc

program i* He* a'i'ailublo;

(2j between the ages of birth and 19; and
(3) residents of North Carolina,

(d) Children with moderate, severe, or pro-

tound mental retardation, substantial other de-

\elopmental disabilities, w ho we modorutoly.

! .L'vorL'ly Bf profoundly monlally retarded or in-

fants or toddlers with or at hiiih risk for de\'el-

opmenlal dela\s. de\'elopmental disabilities, or

atxpical de\elopment mental rtjtardation shall be

gi\en first priont\' for a\ailable funds. Children

determined t_o be substantially de\elopmentallv

disabled shall be those functionini; at_ either 1 e\el

I or 1 e\cl H as defined in "i'ioneer lunding
S\stem OperatinLZ Manual. X'olume 111: 1 evel of

1 ligibilitN". Section + Child De'.elopmenlal Dis-

ability ". Preschool children w ith mild mental

retardation, other mild de\'elopmental disabilities.

de\'elopmental dela\'s or those with at\pical de-

\elopment v. ho ttw mildl) re tarded shall be gi\ en

the next priorit\' for a\'aLlable funds il" they meet
the eligibility requirement specified in (cj (3) of

this Rule and il' prior approval of the appropriate

regional office director or designee is obtained.

W hon non matching 'Ocuil lkti icol. block grant

t*f othuT fedL' ral fund ;, afe utiliz ed, childrijn

aft* de'i L'lopmenlally dolavL'd ef a* f4-4T ft*f de'i el

opmenlal dolay i .hall l»r» ^ur'n.'d tf thijy meu't A*
eligihiliiy requirem ent -. .. pocit'iod m fc ) (2 i i*ft4 (44

fc4 (+H- I'liile rtfki 1+ prior appro', al >r4 (4+e iippro

priatc rL'gioniJ officii Vr >ibtainL'd.

(e) To apply for de\elopmental day care

grant-in-aid funds an annual plan and budget for

such funds shall be included in the appropriate

area program's total annual plan and budget

package when it is submitted to the appropriate

regional office of the Di\"ision.

(f) I'unds for de\elopmental day care shall be

allocated among the regions of the Di\ision by
the Di\ision Director.

(g) Disbursement of developmental day care

grant-in-aid funds shall be made after approval

of the plan and budget by the Regional Director.

Staiuton Authoritv G.S. 122C-1 12(ai(6j:

I22C-I3I: 122C-I47.

.1147 EARLY INTER\ ENTION-FEDER.\L-EI!A
(a) The Division shall administer a program of

grants to area progr;uns called Early

lnter\ention-Federal-n 1 L\.

(b) Such funds shall be used to pro\ide for the

establishment of early intcr\'cntion ser\"ices.

Farly inten.ention services shall be pro\"ided

tlirougli home or center-based models, program

consultation or through other specific acti\ities
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specified in P.L. 99-457, Section 672(2) (A-G)
within the following guidelines;

(1) Children served shall be those with devel-

opmental delays or atypical development

or those at risk for these conditions as

defined in 10 NCAC 14K .0103.

(2) Children ser\'ed shall be from birth

through two years of age.

(3) Funds shall be used to supplement and
increase the level of State and local funds

for these children and in no case supplant

such State and local funds.

(c) To apply for funds for these services, an

armual plan and budget for such funds shall be

included in the appropriate area program's total

annual plan and budget package when it is sub-

mitted to the regional office of the Division.

(d) Funds shall be allocated to the regions of

the Division by the Division Director.

(e) Based on the annual plan and budget re-

quest submitted by the area programs and ap-

proved by the Division, funds wlU be made
available for reimbursement of services.

Stalutorv Aulhoriiv G.S. I22C-112 7(a)(6);

I22C-I3I; I22C-I50: 20 USC 1471.

TITLE 11 - DFPARIMKNTOF
INSURANCE

1\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-I2 that the N.C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend ride(s) cited as 1 1 \CAC 6.4

.0101. .02/2. .0215 - .0216, .0219. .0221, .0223,

.0236. .0301, .0304 - .0306. .0402 - .0405. .0408,

.04/0, .04/2 - .04/3, .050/ - .0503, .0505 - .0506,

.060/ - .0602, .070/ - .0706; repeal nde(s) cited

as // NCAC 6A .0406 - .0407; and adopt rule(s)

cited as // \'CAC 6A .04/4 - .04/5.

1 /le proposed effecti\-e date of this action is Oc-

tober /. /990.

J he public hearing will be conducted at /0:00

a.m. on July 9, /990 at Third Floor Hearing

Room. Dobbs Building, 430 N . Salisburv Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 276/1.

(comment Procedures: Written comments may
be sent to S/iirley Williams, Agent Setrices Divi-

sion. P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh, N.C. 276//. Oral

presentations may be made at the public hearing.

Anyone having questions should call Shirley

W'illiams at (9/9) 733-7487, or Ellen Sprctikel at

(9/9) 733-4W0.

CHAPTER 6 - AGENT SERVICES Dl\ ISION

SUBCHAPTER 6A - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 DEFINITIONS
In this Chapter, unless the context otherwise

requires:

(1) "Agent Scr\'ices Division" or "Division"

shaU mean the Agent Ser\iccs Division of

the North Carolina Department of Insur-

ance, the Division responsible for the Li-

censing, education and regulation of agents

and other licensees.

(2) "Company" shaU mean any insurance

company properly licensed 1o do business in

this state and shall further be defined as in

Gr^ 5S 3(3). G.S. 5S- 1-5(3).

(r¥j "Homo State" e* 'Statu trf Ru '

- .idoncy" ohall

m ean t4w i itato m which th** liconL ' t'i' is re-

cponri ibli* fof paymL'nt »f ;4at e incom e trWir

would be uniJiJr juJicial autlu'rity m e^.'^t'ftt-

ef criminal action ef vi tiuld be uligible to

vote ift a gunoral cluction.

(3) (4^ "Professional Testing Service" or "Ser-

vice" shall mean the organization specializ-

ing in the development and administration

of licensing examinations on a contract ba-

sis.

(4) (-5) "State Licensing Examination" or "Ex-
amination" shall mean a collection of

quoi itionr. items designed to test the appli-

cant's knowledge of the basic concepts,

principles and laws relevant to the insurance

profession to detennine the competence to

be licensed in North Carolina.

(5) (4->- The singular shall include the plural and

the masculine shall include the feminine

wherc\'er appropriate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-2-40;

58-33-30(e)(h).

SECTION .0200 - DESCKIPIION OF FORMS

.0212 LICENSES
AU licenses shall include the name of the

licensee, t\pe of license, kind of insurance cov-

ered by the license, date of issuance, name of

company represented, if applicable, geographic

afea- co'i iTcd. and terms of the license. In addi-

tion, all licenses shall bear the signature of the

Commissioner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-25(1).

.0215 RESIDENT BROKER .MMMICATION
The "Resident Broker Application" shall in-

clude personal information, license fee, signature
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of the applicant and other information to aid the

Division in determining the qualification of the

J, 1' IJ llV,tlj 1 L . I 1 1 1 H H ' I 111 rTT U -H. *J 1 \J 1 ^TTTTTT 11^.' fT IXl l\S

roni,".i
< al applicants.

Statutory Auihority G.S. 5S-33-25(n);

5S-33-3b(a): 3S-33-3b{h)( I ).

.0216 NONRKSIDENT BKOKKR APPLICATION
The N(tn Mi' ridL'nt "Nonresident Broker Appli-

cation" shall include personal information, li-

cense fee, signature of the applicant and other

information to aid the Division in determining

the qualification of the applicant and must be

accompanied by a Home State Certification.

Thi '' form k U '.od fof both ftt^v rtft4 ri.' nL".v cil rtf>-

plicanl -'
.

Statutor}' Auihoritv G.S.

5S-33-30(aj: 58-33-3b(hj (2).

5S-33-25(n):

.0219 APIM ICAIION TO DETFRMINE
E[ i(;iBii rr\ for dfsign.vied agfnt

The "Application to Determine Eligibility for

Designated Agent" shall include the name and
address of the agent, a«4 e\idence that the agent

has satisfied the statutor\ requirements set out in

G4v. .SN: 2IS;3;'(u)(6). G.S. 5S-37-3.^(i:)(6) and

other information to auJ the Dnision in deter-

minmL' the gualil'icalicn (jf the applicant. The

form must be signed by the applicant cmd nota-

rized.

Statutory Authority G.S.

5S-37-35(g)(6j.

5S-2-40;

.0221 CANDIDAIF Gl IDE
The "Candidate Guide Application" shall re-

quire the applicant to pro\ide personal informa-

tion, type of examination to be taken, signature

of authorized company representative when ap-

plicable, and other information to aid the Divi-

sion in determining if the applicant is qualified to

take the examination for which he is apphing.

The guide shall be made available throu'-ih the

Di\ ision and provided upon written request and
appropriate lee.

Statuuny Authority G.S. 5S-33-30l'a).

.022.1 NOKllI { AROl INA I IMIIFI)
RKPRF-SFNIMINE APl'l ICAIION

The "North Carolina I imited Iii ' iirancL' Rep-
resentative .Application" shall include personal

infonnation, t\pe of license applied for. company
number, signature of the applicant and the au-

thorized company representativ'e. and otlier in-

fonnation to aid the Division in detennining

what license should be issued and if the applicant

is qualified for that license.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(aJ.

.0236 APPLICATION FOR CORPORATE/
PARrNERSIlIP INSLRANCK LICENSE

The "Application for Corporate Partnership

Insurance License" shall contain pertinent infor-

mation concerning the corporation partnership

and other infonnation that is relevant in aiding

the Division in detennining if the applicant meets
eligibility requirements for licensing. The appli-

cation must be signed by ail otf'icor! . partnoro and
n ("\ 1 1 T*i 7h*(H I t-i .^ T ,--\ T-T-t-i < c t .-- . -t .

-1 T.^ ! W. \ 1 1-1 t-i . tt 1 -> J-l .-1

1 1W I ill. JLZ-V_\J.

.

I I IJV rCTTTT rTT Li JV. U TTTr I I ' 1 1 1 I l\^ TT HI l\l

renewal applicants.

Stalutorv Authority

5S-33-3d(a).

G.S. 58-33-25(h);

SECTION .0300 - EX.WIINATIONS

.0301 T^ PES OF E.VAMINATIONS
Types of examinajions administered for hcens-

ing are life, accident and health; accident and
health; fii'e and casualty; auto physical damage;
adjusters; hail adjusters; ho '. pital; dental; title;

and surplus lines. Additional examinations may
be created and administered at the discretion of

the Commissioner.

StatutofT Authority

5S-33-3d(ej.

G.S. 5S-2I-65(b)(3);

.0304 RESPONSIBILITY OF APPLICANT
.VT E\.\MINATION SITE

Apphcants are responsible at the examination

site for the following:

(1) Applicants who have pre-registered and
who have not previously failed the same ex-

amination must bring to the examination

site the ticket of admission and two forms

of proof of identity, one of which must be

photo bearing.

(2) .Applicants who wish to take the examina-

tion on a walk-in basis and who have not

prev iously failed the same examination must
bnng to the examination site a properly

completed appUeation, two forms of proof

of identity, one of which must be photo
bearing, and proper fees.

(3) Applicants who have previously tailed an

examination mav retake the examination in

accordance with Lnstn.ictions furnished b\'

the Commissioner and must pav appUcable

fees for each administration.

(4) Examination fees must be paid by company
check, certified check, cashiers check or

money order, made payable \o_ the Senicc.
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(5) Applicants taking the life, accident and
health, accident and health or fire and casu-

alty examination are required to bring to the

examination site a prL'liccnf.ing courr.e com
plotion certificate "Certificate of Prelicensing

Course Completion" indicating that the ap-

plicant has successfully completed the man-
datoPi' prelicensing education requirements

as specified in GrS- 5S 615(d)(2). G.S.

58-33-3n(d)(2). The prelioenr.ing coupje

comploti(m cortificatij "Certificate of Preli-

censing Course Completion" is \alid for 12

months from the date of course completion.

A "Certificate of Prelicensing Course Com-
pletion" is valid for 60 da\ s frc^m the date

of issue for those \vai\ing the prelicensing

education requirement.

(6) No applications will be supplied at the ex-

amination site for completion b\ applicants;

nor will required supplies be furnished to

applicants.

(7) Applicants must arri\e at the examination

site at the time specified in the current ex-

amination schedule.

Statutorv Authohtv G.S. 5S-33-30(d)(2);

58-33-30(6): 5S-33-J25.

.0305 .\l)MIMSTR.ATION OF EX.\MI\.\TION
Applicants should expect the examination to be

administered using, among others, the following

procedures:

(1) Applicants shall present to the test site

personnel upon request the applicable items

described in 1 1 NCAC 6A .0304 ( 1
) through

(2) Applicants should toUow carefully all in-

structions given by the examination

proctors, particularly when completing the

answer sheet.

(3) Applicants are not permitted to take calcu-

lators, textbooks, other books or papers into

the examinations. .Applicants found to have

any of these materials or other aids wiU not

be allowed to continue the examination.

(4) The answer sheets must contain only iden-

tification data and responses to exam
questions. No credit will be given to any

applicant for any marks or answers made in

the examination booklet.

(5) Applicants may leave the examination

room only after obtaining permission from
the examination proctors and handing in

exam materials. No e.xtra time will be al-

lowed for completing the examination.

(6) Any applicant who gi\es or recei\es assist-

ance during the examination will be required

to turn in all exam materials immediateh

and leave the room. Under these circum-

stances, the applicant's answer sheet wiU not

be scored and the relevant facts will be re-

ported by the proctors to the Commissioner.

(7) An applicant may take only one examina-

tion on any given exam date.

Statutory .Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(e).

.0306 .APPLICATION FOR EX.AMINATION
Apphcation for examination and licensure must

be postmarked no later than the published filing

deadline for applicants who wish to pre-register

to take the examination. A separate apphcation

for examination and licensure must be made for

each e.suminution. kind of insurance for which
an indi\ idual wishes to be examined.

Statutoty Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(e).

SFXTION .0400 - LICENSING PROCEDLRES

.0402 LICENSING OF RESIDENT AGENT.
LTD REPRESENrA1l\E/.\n.lLSrER

(a) Appheants must meet minimum qualifica-

tions as stated in G.S. 5S 615 «4 Ae GeuLMul

Slatutofl ef X€H4l» Carolina. G.S. 58-3.V30.

(b) .\n upplicant Iw * licen i'O agent licensed to

sell life, accident and health has authority to sell

\ariable contracts mui ' t iollow Lidditioiml procc'

durL'o a* outlined m +4- NCj\C **A- .0 106. pro-

vided the agent is licensed to sell sccunties

through the Secrctan" of State, holds a current

N.ASD registration, (series 6 or 7 and 63) and is

a;ipointed b\' a compans aiithori/ed to sell van-

able annuities and \ ariable life products in North
Carolina. The com pain is rcspotiMble for \en-

t\ ing that the agent has met all N.\S1) require-

ment.

(c) A limited representati\'e must be licensed

with each company for which he will solicit

business. No solicitation shall begin by the ap-

plicant until he has receix'ed such license.

(d) Responsibility of company companies for

fonns and fees:

(1) Companies shall make application for

limited representati\'es and ctnnpan) , finn

adjusters to be licensed.

(2) Companies shall have on file with the Di-

vision the address of one central hcensing

office and the indi\idual within such ollice

to which all correspondence, licenses, and

in\'oiccs will be forwarded.

(3) Companies shall have on fde with the Di-

\'ision a fet- evf per -'On -
'

. Liulhmi/L'd k* inak^,'

appliccition IW ihe i
'.'.uancL' w+d ti.'rmi

nation ef liconiic":.
, a«d te- ri ubinit the name

of the indixidual responsible for all agent
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(4)

(e)

(2)

(3)

(4)

appointments, »«4 termination of agent

appointments and agent license applica-

tions submitted hv the company to the

Division.

4-hf compani e ji Companies shall submit to

the Division company checks for the

proper amount due.

Responsibility of the agent:

.-Vn applicant who is subject to the exam-
ination shall submit to the Ser\'ice the

candidate guide application along with a

company check, certified check, cashier s

check or money order in the appropriate

amount.
.-Vn agent shall be responsible for \'enf\ing

licensure to a company pnor to being ap-

pointed.

A person, after surrender or termination

of a license for such period of time that

he is no longer eligible for wai\ cr of the

examination, shall meet all legal require-

ments for previously unlicensed persons.

,\n\ licensee licensed under Chapter 5S!.

Article 33 of the North Carolina Cieneral

Statutes shall notif\ the Dnision in wnt-

ing of anv change of residence or business

address within 30 da\s of such change.

(5) An agent whose license tenninates because

of inacti\it\" shall he allowed to reapply

\\ ithm tw(i \ ears alter the license termi-

nates w ithout ha\"ing to meet education

and examination requirements. ]f the

agent's license terminates a second time

as a result of continued inactnitv. the

agent upon application shall he required

to meet all education and examination re-

quirements.

(f) Responsibility of the service:

(Ij The service shall administer the examina-

tion for life, accident and health; fire and
casualty; automobile physical damage;

adjusters; hail adjusters; ho -. pital wpiico;

title: accident and health: dental fion ico;

and surplus lines.

(2) The sereice shall issue pass or fail notices

for each examination administered, with-

out reference to numeric scores, within

two weeks of testing.

(3) The sen'ice shall notify the Division of

score reports for all examinations admin-

istered, u ithin one week of testing.

(4) The ser\ice shall meet the requirements

of its contract with the Commissioner in

a timely manner.

(g) Responsibility of the Di\ision:

(1) Upon receipt of score reports from the

service, the Di\Msion shall issue appropri-

ate licenses to qu:ilified applicants.

(2) For eligible applicants, the Division shall

issue a QQ-daN temporary license, tfert t*

valid p t^nding 'jucce ri riful compk'tion e4^y*»

e xamination, tf »» applicant who holds

a valid t emporary licen ;.e fo4* ffee exam
ination. At* Di'. i -.ion ;.hall notify Ai*

company aH4 A* applicant a«4 ! .hall h^f-

minatc Ae tL'mporary' liccnoc For addi-

tional information refer to \\_ NCAC (S.\

.1)4111.

(h) An applicant for a resident license shall, if

applicable, obtain a an original letter of clearance

from his former state of residency certifying the

kinds of insurance for which the applicant was
licensed, tfeat- tik* applicant qualified hy- written

e xamination, that all licenses held in that state

have been cancelled and that the applicant was
in good standing in that state at the time of the

cancellation of licenses. A letter of clearance

shall be valid for no more than 6(1 da\s from date

oi_ issuance.

Siaiutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30; 5S-33-65.

.0403 l.ICKNSINC;: NONRESIDENT .AGENT,
LTD KKPRESENTAIIVE/AD.ILSTER

(a) An applicant must meet minimum quali-

fications as stated in G.4^ 5S 615, G.S. 58-33-30.

except those pertaining to residency.

(b) A mm rij -ident nonresident applicant must
submit appropriate fonns, along with a company
check, certilied check, cashier's check or money
order, and a an onginal letter of certification from
the applicant's state of residenc\' stating that he

is duly licensed for the same kind of insurance for

which he is apph ing. A letter of certification

shall be \alid for no more than Ml da\ s hxim date

of issuance.

Statutivy Atnhoriiy G.S. 5S-33-30(a}. (h)(2).

.0404 LICKN.SING OK RESIDENT BROKER
(a) An applicant must be a duly licensed agent

in North Carolina and ha\e an appointment with

at least one compan\" for each kind ot insur:ince

to be brokered.

(b) .\ broker s license gi\es the holder authority

to broker only those kinds of insurance for which

he holds an agent's license and company ap-

pointment. Brokering must be done througli a

licensed and appointed ivvudent agent of the

compan\' with w hich the business is being placed.

.A broker's licenses does not confer binding au-

thority; it onl\" gives authority to share in com-
missions w ith a wnting agent.

(c) In addition to all required forms, an appli-

cant must submit a company check, certified

check, cashier's check or money order, made
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payable to the N.C. Department of Insurance, in

the amount set forth in G.S. 58-33- 125(a).

(d) Each applicant shall file with his application

the bond required by statute.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-33'30(f),(h)( 1 ).

.0405 LICENSING OF NONRESIDENT
BROKER

(a) In addition to all required forms, an appli-

cant must submit a company check, certified

check, cashier's check or money order made
payable to the N.C. Department of Insurance, in

the amount set forth under G.S. 58 63 1(a). G.S.

58-33- 125(a).

(b) A non rcoidont nonresident broker's license

gives the holder authonty to broker only those

kinds of insurance for uliich he holds a license

as an agent in his state of residency.

(c) Each applicant shall file w ith his application

the bond required by statute.

(d) A nun roL .idont nonresident broker must
submit a an oridnal home state certification with

his application stating the kinds of insurance tor

which he is licensed in liis state of residency, and
whether he is in good standing in his state of

residency. A letter of certification shall be valid

for no more than 60 da\'s horn date of issuance.

(e) Non iL'-'idcnt A nonresident broker may not

solicit directly or indirectly, but Utey he may
participate in commissions of brokered business.

Brokering must be done through a licensed and
appointed rcjidont agent of the company with

which the business is being placed.

a home state certification stating that the appli-

cant is duly licensed for the same kind of insur-

ance for which he is applying. A letter of

certification shall be valid for no more than 60

days from date of issuance.

Statutory Authority

5S-33-/25(a).

.0406

G.S. 58-33-30{f),(h){2);

LICENSING OF RFSIDLN I \ AHI ABLE
CON I RACI LID RFl'RESEN lAI I\ E
(REI'EAI.FD)

.0407 LICENSING/NONRFSIDFNT V,\R1ABLE
CONTRACT LTD RF1>RFSENT.VTI\ E
(REPEALED)

Statuton.- Authority G.S. 5S-614(e)( I ) : 5S-6I5.

.0408 LICENSING OF MOTOR \ EIIICLE
DAMAGE APPR.VISER

(a) The applicant must submit the appropriate

forms along with a company check, certified

check, cashier's check or money order in the

proper amount to the Division. The applicant

must meet all other relevant requirements of G.S.

5 .̂ 615 aft4 5S 611(o). G.S. 58-33-31") and
58-33- KKe).

(b) In addition to all required fonns and fees,

an applicant for a non roL .ident nonresident mo-
tor vehicle damage appraiser license sliall submit

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-33- 10(e); 58-33-30.

.0410 TEMPORARY LICENSE
(a) A temporary license is available only to

persons described in G.S. 58 622(a). G.S.

58-33-65(a).

(b) The company shall submit to the Di\ision

the application for temporary license at the same
time the applicant forwards the candidate guide

application to the ser\'ice.

(c) Successful completion of the examination
within 22 days from the date a temporary' license

is issued win cause the temporary hcense to be

changed to a permanent license.

(d) Unsuccessful completion of. or failure to

take the examination within 212 da\ s frc^m the

date a temporary license is issued, u lU cause im-

mediate cancellation of the temporary license.

The company shall return the temporary license

to the Division immediately.

(e) Applicants for temporarv license 4«** te-

hard-hip under G.S. 5S-33-65(a)( 1 ).f 2) will fol-

low the procedures (outlined m 44 NCAC 4rV

.0 102. this Rule. In addition, an authorized

company official shaU send a letter to the Di\i-

sion requesting a temporary license and stating

the reason applicant is applying.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-33-65.

.0412 APPOIN IMENT OF AGFN I:

RESPONSIBILI rV OF COMPANY
Companies shall be responsible for investigating

an agent prior to appointing the agent. The

company shall determine that each agent holds

the proper license for each kind of authority for

which such agent will be appointed. A compa-
ny's investigation of an agent shall gi%e due con-

sideration to the pro\isions of G.S. 58 61 5{c)

Ci.S. 58-33-30(c) concerning character, compe-
tence and trustworthiness. The appointing

company shall Lnquh-e of agents information rel-

c\ant to the grounds for Hcense suspension or

re\ocation set forth in G.S. 58 6 | 8((i). G.S.

58-33-45(a'). The '.Appointment of North
Carolina Agent" form must be received b\ the

Division within 30 days of the appointment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-33-40.

.n4L^ IKENSINC; OF COKPORAIION/
P.VRTNERSIIIPS
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(a) An applicant must meet minimum quali-

fications as stated in Gr^ 5 S 615. G.S. 58-33-30.

(b) An applicant shall submit application forms

with a company check, certified check, cashier's

check or money order.

(c) A corporation making first time application

and domiciled in North Carolina shall pro\ide

proof of corporate status by submitting a copy

of its Articles of Incorporation certified by the

North Carolina Secretary of State.

(d) A foreign corporation making first time

apphcation shall pro\ide proof of corporate sta-

tus by submitting a copy of its application for

Certificate of Authority certified by the North
Carolina Secretary of State.

(e) A partnership making first time application

shall submit a copy of the tiling \\ ith the county

clerk s o'i'ncs where the partnership business is

being conducted. This copy shall be certified by

the county clerk or a notar>' public.

(f) Applicant shall file with the d epailm ent

Disision a list of aU companies contracted with

the firm along with the names and social security

numbers of the agents representing each com-
pany.

(g) Any addition or deletion of an agent or

compan_\' shall be submitted » vi nting on a form
prescribed bv the Commissioner within 30 da_\s

of any such change in the corporate represen-

tation.

fh4 -H+<^ "Corporation Pai1nL'r ''hip

j\pplication" ;. hiill beur At* ''ignuture v t4 r+H- t^ffi-

(reps t4 t4+e corporation i-vf partn ers t4 tW part

noi 'ihip.

Statiaoij Authority G.S. 5'<-33-30.

.0414 AD.HSrKR'S I K ARNKR'S PKRMIT
.A request for an adjuster s learner's peimit must

be made in writing and accompanied by an

"Adjuster and Appraiser N.C. License Applica-

tion". The request must be made by an author-

ized compan\' or independent adjusting fimi.

The applicant must ha\e registered to take the

North Carolina adjuster's examination prior to

applying for a learner's permit. The permit is

\'alid for 9(1 days from date of issuance. Only one
permit will be gi\'cn to an_\ indi\ idual.

Staiiitoty Autlwiity G.S. 5''^-33-'^0.

.0415 1 l( K\SIN(; Ol KKM Al CAR
(OMI'AMKS' KAll'l ()M:ES/
REPRESHNlAinKS

(a) .\n employee or other rcpresentati\e of a

rental car company who solicits or sells personal

accident insurance (P.\I) or personal effects co\-

cragc (I'EC) in connection with a rental agree-

ment shaU be licensed as a limited representative

for tra\el, accident and baggage insurance.

(b) An employee or other representative of a

rental car company who solicits or sells limited

liability supplement insurance (LIS) in con-

nection with a rental agreement shall be licensed

as an agent for fire and casualty insurance.

Statutory Authority G.S. 66-205.

SKCTION .0500 - RFNFAVAl AND
CANCKLLAIION OK I.ICKNSKS

.0501 RENK\\ AL/AGENT APF'TS: LICENSES/
LIMI lED RKF'S: COMl'AN> AD.ILSIERS

(a) Annuall\' the Di\ision will pro'i id t? k+ each

ccmipany » fe4 trf appointucvi »h4 licL'nr.L'LT. . no-

tifv each compan\ of dates and pmcedures for

renewing aLient appointments and limited repre

-

scnlati\ e and adjuster licenses. i ollo'.
'
i mg ift-

itructiono accoinpan>inj •- uch Ut+r tW company
'

. .hall indicate aH appointmL'ntr. *h4 lic^'n '.;?;. wh.ich

rtft' k+ be terminated, lach li-4 i.hiill be returned

fte- lat e r thiin t-he t4T*4e 'specified by »4+e ift-

i .tniction -j. Companies will be guen at least 30

da\s' advance notice of the last date the Di\ision

wiU process terminations.

(b) On the date specified b_\ the Di\ ision as the

last date to submit terminations, the Di\ision

shall cease processing al! terminations and bill

companies for renewals. .\11 appointments and
licenses will automatically be renewed unless the

Di\ ision has received a termination request from
the compan\ within the specified time.

(c) Each companv' will be sent an invoice stat-

ing the total amount of mone\' due. ("ompanies

shall remit a check made payable to the North
Carolina Department cif Insurance in the amount
of the invoice. .Any discrepancies claimed b>'

companies w ill be iidju^ted in\eslii:aled onl_\ after

full pa\ ment is received.

(d) I'pon receipt of the companv check, the

Division will mail to the compan\- a list of all

appointments and hcenses renewed.

(e) .Appointments recorded and licenses issued

prior to the renewal date, liut after tlie date

specified b_\ the Division as the last date to

process termination will be considered \ alid until

the following vear.

(f) .\nnuallv the Division will, upon written

request ani-1 pa\ ment o[ ^^re^cnl''Cl-^ lee, prov ale

to any companv a Hst cM aU appomtecs or

licensees.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-55.

.0502 RENEW AL OF BROKERS' LICENSES
(a) The Division wall mail to all brokers a-

"R esid ent Broker .\pplicalion
"

irH^ "Nou
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Roifidont Broker Application," whiohc-'vor » the

appropriate renewal application.

(b) Brokers shall complete the form and return

it to the Division by the date specified.

(c) Brokers shall submit the proper renewal fee

as stated in Gh^ 5S 63 1. G.S. 58-33- 125(a). An
agency check, company check, certilled check,

cashier's check or money order must be made
payable to the North Carolina Department of

Insurance.

(d) Broker bonds must be in force at the time

of renewal.

Staiutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(f); 58-33-125.

.0503 RKNKW AL: SFl F-FMFn,OM:D
.\r).ll SIKK: MOrOR NT.HICLE
r).\M.\GE .MM'R

The Di\ision will mail an appropriate renewal

form to the self-employed adjuster or motor ve-

hicle damage appraiser and will specify the last

date that the Di\'ision will accept renewals. The
renewal form and appropriate renewal fee as

specified in G.^ 5S 63 I G.S. 5R-33- 125(a) must
be submitted to the Di\ision withm the time al-

lowed. An adjusting company check, certified

check, cashier's check or money order must be

made payable to the North Carolina Department
of Insurance.

Statutoty .-luthority G.S. 5S-33-25(n); 5S-33-/25.

.0505 C.\\CELL\TION/l ICENSF.S FOR
LIMI FED REPS .\M) COMI'ANY
ADJUSTERS

(a) Any company wishing to cancel the license

of any of its limited representatives or adjusters

shaO

(4^ Submit submit the N.C. Notice of Cancel-

lation to the Di\ isiiin within 3(1 days of the date

on which limited representati\'e's or adjuster's

empknmcnt with the cornpan\' was terminated.

(4+ Send t4w licen -.o k+ t4+e Disi '.iitin with (-!+«*

ntuico t4" cancc'llation. U ih^ Iicoit i l' Ciininit b^
IcKalc'd, t4+e company mu^t fiunir.h Uw> Bis i ;.ion

>vilh *H- alfidci'. it '. Idling t4+e rea ;.on fof the licL'n^:iO

ftrt4- being relumed.

f3^ f^ cancL'llulion other than at- the renewal

date, submit not i ce t+f cancellalitm V i ilhin tW days

evf the drrie w* V i hich t-he limit ed repre 'ientati' i e'o

&f adju 'i ter' '. empktyment '
.s ilh t-he compuny wes

terminated.

(b) It is the comp.'m\ 's resp^^^nsibilit^^ to retrie\ e

and destroy an\ license issued m its name Ui anv
limited represenlati\e or adjuster terminated by

such companw

Statutoty Authority G.S. 5S-33-55.

.0506 CANCELLATION OF LICENSES
ISSLED TO INDIVIDUAl>S

(a) An agent, broker, adjuster or motor vehicle

damage appraiser desiring to cancel a license shall

submit a notarized written request to the Divi-

sion and return the license to the Division. If the

license cannot be located, the licensee must fur-

nish a statement explaining the reason for not

returning the Ucense.

(b) Cancellation of a license will automatically

tenninate all appointments for the kind of au-

thority covered by such Ucense.

Statuton' Authority G.S. 5S-33-40(e); 5S-33-50.

SECI ION .0600 - DENIAL OF LICENSE

.0601 B.VSIS FOR DENLVL OF LICENSE
For purposes of determining that a licensee has

committed forgery- under Gr^ 58 6ia(a)(12) G.S.

5?s-33-45(a)( 12) an "Application for Insurance"

shall be considered to be the apphcation form,

underwriting form and any poUcy ser\icing or

claim form that affects any funds, rights or privi-

leges of the policyowner, beneticiar\' or insured.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-45.

.0602 COI RF RECORDS AND Al FIDAMIS
REQl IRED

An individual who has been convicted of a

mi.sdemeanor in\ol\ing moral turpitude, or a fel-

ony, shall submit to the Dixision the follouing

infonnation with application ', the application for

licen -.e licensure and examination;

( 1

)

a copy of the entire court record judLrment.

including a complete criminal histor\ check;

(2) a copy of unconilitional release rH+4 or un-

conditional discharge from the Board of

Paroles, where applicable, on the forms

provided by the North Carolina Department
of Correction;

(3) if the applicant or licensee is currentl_\' em-
ployed or expects to be employed by an

insurer, agency, company or firm in the

business of insurance, the applicant or

licensee shall submit a letter from such em-
ployer or potential employer stating that the

applicant or licensee has disclosed to the

employer information concerning the con-

viction;

(4) a notarized affidavit from the applicant

concerning the conviction;

(5) when applicable, a statement from the ap-

plicant's probation officer;

(6) any additional supportive infoimation

which that the Div ision deems necessarv' and
proper.
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Stalutoiy Authority G.S. 58-33-45(a)(8).

SECTION .0700 - F'RELICENSING EDLCATION

.0701 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
(a) This Section applies to individuals attempt-

ing to obtain a resident license to solicit life, ac-

cident and health, and i.)r lire and casualty or

accident and health insurance in North Carolina

except as specifically exempted by 1 1 NCAC 6A
.07U1 (b) throuuji fe^ and (c).

(4*^ '-t4+e> follo'.
'
i' ing individuals applying fof a

Ufev accident aft4 health and or fiw ctmi caiiualty

license shall b€> exempt from At* pro'i isions (4

th» Section:

f-l-^ Aft indis idual liceiT .ed ift Noilh Carolina

(++f l+fer accident rt«4 health and or ftfe »«4

casualty insurance within -24 months pfe-

ceding t4+e date t+f application f&f » ftevr

license m- Arri- kind t+f insurance: h+

f34 A-H- indis idual liceu '.ed va another •. tal e (of

hfe- accident ttftd- health and or fee rt«4

casucdty insurance within iA months pfe-

ceding tW drfte t-4' application fef i* i+evr

liceu '^e ift t+H+4- kind t*4- in -'Unince . upon
tiirni '.hing a letter e+~ clearance ceilif>ing

same ttft4 t4wt- such license vr«* granted

upon pas 'iing a ' vntten examination given

i*y- aft iiiMirance depailm e nt t+f a state. A
letter h4 clearance t-^ ' alid fn* m* months

froni jte 4a4r* ef issuance .

(b) Indi\iduals who arc exempt from the re-

quirement for a written examination pursuant to

CjS 5S-33-3.^( 1 ). (3). and (4) are exempt from

prehcensing education requirements.

f^ Ihe follo'.
'
i ing individual '' ai''ph. mg ft»f a l+fer

accid e nt aft4 h ealth liceiT 'e s.hall be e.\empt from

tl+e pro'. isuiiT ' e4 44^ Section:

f4-| Chailered Financial Consultant (Chl'C);

(-3-)' Crhart e red !-+&* Indervvrit er (CI I."); &f

frH Fello'iV ef }-ife Miina '

-iement hi '^titute

in Ml): ^
(rM -t-tfe I ndePi

'
iTiter Trainin '

-: Council bellow

(1 rici ).

{^^ Individuals applyiiig ftw a fife avt^ casualty

liceu '.e '
.vho afe Chartered Property nfii^ Ca i'Ualty

I ' iiderv. nters (Cl'Cl") '
. 'hall be eveinpt Irom Ae

pros i
'.ion ^. >-4 l4+i-' Section.

(c) (-e4 4-be foUovMng individuals applying f»f

a Mer acckleiit aftd health and or fife aft4 casualty

liceiV 'e ''hall be exempt from (4+e provi '.ioiT ' t*f

t-b+-T Section bH4- afe required k+ trtlre (-he exam
illation: Indi\'idiials \\ ho satisf\- the tollowmiz are

exempt from prelicensing education require-

ments:

( 1 ) Life, accident and health:

(A) Certified Employee Benefits Specialist

(CEBS); or

(B) Fraternal Insurance Counselor (FIC);

or

(C) Life Underwriter Training Council

Graduate (LL'TC Graduate); or

(D) Certified Financial Planner (CFP). ef

(Ji) I lolder 94^ degree ift insuranco (asriociate

e* bachelors).

(2) Fire and casualty:

(.A) Accredited .-\dvisor in Insurance (AAI);

or

(B) Associate in Claims (AIC); or

(C) Associate in Insurance Accounting and

Finance (AIAF); or

(D) Associate in Premium Auditing (/\PA);

or

(F) Associate in Risk Management (ARM);
or

(F) Associate in Underwriting (.VU): or

(G) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);

or

(H) Holder of Certificate in General Insur-

ance (INS), ef

f4-)- Holder ef degree ift Insurance (i\ssociate

ef Bachelors).

(3) Accident and health:

(A

)

.Associate m I lie and Health Claims

(AkIlC): or

(B) Certified Fmpknee Benefits Specialist

(CFBSi: or

(C) Holder of Health Insurance .Association

of .America Certificate: or

(D) Registered Health Undc^\^ nter ( RIIU).

(4) I ifc. .iccident ;tnd he.ilth. tire :ind casualtv

and accident anil health:

(.A) I lolder of degree m insurance (associate

or b.ichelorsi: or

(B) An indi\idu:il \\ hose license in another

state or lurisdiction for the same kind ot

insurance as that lor \\ hich applieil has

been cancelled within W] da\s o[ the Di-

\ ision s receipt ol. L!I£ letter oi_ clearance

and the indi\ idual's ret.|uest tor waner ot

prelicensing educatuin: or

( C

)

An indi\ idiial who ^ currenth licensed

in another state or jurisdictitm for the

same kind ot insurance as that lor which

applied.

(d) If an applicant exempted from prelicensing

education under the pro\isions of Rule .()7|I1(l')

_M NCAC 6A .070 1(c) fails the examination, the

applicant must successfully meet North

Carolina's mandator) prelicensing education re-

quirement prior to retaking the examination.

(£1 (4^ In this Section, unless otherwise noted

the following defuiitions will appl}':

32S 5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June I. 1990



PROPOSED RULES

(1) "Assistant Instructor" shall mean an ap-

proved instructor in a classroom school

who is responsible for the presentation of

lesson plans to assure that the outline is

taught to that school's students. The as-

sistant instructor shall be supervised by

the school's appropriate lead instructor

and program director.

(2) "Classroom School" shaU mean an entity

that provides prelicensing education

sponsored by a company, agency, associ-

ation or educational institution through

instruction by either a lead or assistant

instructor utilizing a teaching curriculum

based on the outline.

(3) "Correspondence Course" shall mean
home, self, individual, or correspondence

study utilizing programmed text in-

structions.

(4) "Correspondence School" shall mean an

entity that provides prelicensing education

sponsored by a company, agency, associ-

ation or educational institution through

completion of a correspondence course

which that has been appro\ed by the

Commissioner, with students individually

supervised by an approved proctor.

(5) "Instnictional Hour" shall mean a

6n-minute hour.

(6) (-i^ "lead Instructor" shall mean an ap-

pro\ed instructor in a classroom school

who is responsible for preparation and
presentation of lesson plans to assure that

the outline is taught to that school's stu-

dents and who prepares a final course ex-

amination. The lead instructor shall

direct and supervise teaching by an assist-

ant instructor.

(7) (4^ "Outline" shall mean the Noilh
Ciirolina In '.tructorii 1 ifu. iVccidcnt ftfui

I l edlth and or bire i+H4 Cu 'Hialty Outline'

instRictor/examination content (uitlines

prepared and published by the Depart-

ment in the "State of North Carolina In-

surance 1 icensiire bxamination Candidate

(juide".

(S) {p-f "i'roctor" shall mean an indi\idual ap-

proved by the Commissioner to assist and

supervise students in the completion of an

approved correspondence course.

(9) fX^ "Program Director" shall mean the in-

di\idual associated with an appro\ed

classroom or correspondence school who
is responsible for the administration of

that school according to 1 1 NCAC 6A
.0702(4^ (1).

.0702 PRELICENSING EDUCATION SCHOOLS
(a) This Rule applies to all classroom and cor-

respondence schools offering a prelicensing

course prescribed by General Statute 58 615.

58-33-30. All schools desiring to conduct a pre-

licensing course shall be approved by the Com-
missioner prior to commencement of the courses.

(b) A school seeking approval to conduct a

prelicensing course shall make written applica-

tion to the Cornmissioner upon a fomi pre-

scribed by the Commissioner.
(c) After due investigation and consideration,

approval shall be granted to the school when it

is shown to the satisfaction of the Commissioner
that:

( 1
) the school has submitted all information

required by the Commissioner;

(2) the course to be conducted complies with

fUite mi^ t»f thk Suction; 1 1 NCAC 6A
.0704;

(3) the instructor or proctor for the course has

been approved by the Commissioner in

accordance with Rule .0705 ef .0706 ef

tfe» Section: 1 1 NCAC 6A .0705 or .1)706;

and

(4) the program director has been approved
by the Commissioner in accordance with

RtO^mm ef t^w. S ect ion. ]J_ NCAC 6A
.0703.

(d) The following guidelines shall apply to the

appro\al of classroom and conespondence
schools:

(1) Approval extends only to the course and
location reported in the application for

appro\al.

(2) Approval shall terminate on June 30 next

following the date of issuance.

(3) A school must renew annually its approval

to conduct prelicensing courses by sub-

mitting an application for approval not

later than May 31 of each year.

(-4-^ Am- i .chool th^t- do e-j Ret- conduct «4- least

»fte PruiicL'ni 'ing cour î ij during the 34
monthn pi\'C(.Hling ap|ilication ffvf runcwal

tihiiU bt* dt'enic'd ineligibl e fef approval.

(e) The Commissioner shall deny, '
.sithdraw

revoke or suspend approval of any school upon
finding that:

( 1) the school has refused or failed to comply
with any of the pro\isions of Ruk*'. .07112.

.0703. .1 1 701, .071)5. w 4W44 ef t4«- Set:^

t++WT U NCAC 6A .0702. .0703. .0704,

.0705 or .0706; or

Statutoiy Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(d); 5S-33- 35.

(2) any school official or instructor has ob-

tained or used, or attempted to obtain or

use, in any manner or foim, examination

questions; or
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(3) the school's students have a licensing ex-

amination performance record that is de-

termined by the Commissioner to be

substantially below the performance re-

cord of all first-time examination candi-

dates; or

(4) the school has not conducted at least one
prelicensing course during any 24-month
penod; or

(5) the school has refused or failed to submit

intbrmation or properly-completed forms

prescnbed by the Commissioner within

the required time frames.

(f| In all proceedings to Vi ithdravi ef deny, re-

\'oke or suspend approval of a school, the pro-

visions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes

shall be applicable.

(g) When a school's approval is discontinued.

the procedure for reinstatement shaU be to apply

as a new school, with a statement of the reasons

that the school is now eligible for reconsider-

ation. The Commissioner may require an in-

\'estigation before new approval is granted.

(h) If a school's appro\al has been suspended

upon the Commissioner's finding that the school

has not conducted at least one prehcensmg
course during an\' 24-month penod. that school

may reapply after one \ear of suspension. At
such time, the school will be gi\en 12 months to

conduct at_ least one prelicensme course. If such

course is not conducted the school's authority

will be suspended indefinitely.

ri| (4*^ The following guidelines shall apply for

changes during any approved year:

( 1

)

A school shall obtain advance appro\'al

from the Commissioner for any change

of course location or change of instructors

or proctors. Requests for approval of

such changes shall be in writing.

(2) /Vn approved school that intends to ter-

minate its prelicensing program, other

than during the annual renewal period.

shall notify the Commissioner in unting.

(3) A school shall notify the Commissioner in

writing of a change of textbook.

(4) A school shall notify the Commissioner In

writing at the time an instructor or

proctor resigns or ceases to be associated

with the school.

fjl fi) An approved school may utilize, for ad-

vertising or promotional purposes, examination

performance data pro'i idod made a\ailahlc to the

school by the Commissioner, pro\idcd that any

data disclosed by the school shall be accurate,

shall he presented in a manner that is not mis-

leading, and shall;

(1) be liniitcd to the annual examination per-

formance data for the particuL'U" school

and for aU examination candidates in the

state;

(2) include the type of examination, the time

period covered, the number of first-time

candidates examined, and either the num-
ber or percentage of first-time candidates

passing the examination; and

(3) be reviewed and approved by the Com-
missioner in writing prior to pubUcation.

(k) {ff A classroom school's facilities and
equipment shall have been found by appropriate

local building, heating and fire inspectors to be

in compliance with all applicable local, state and
federal laws and regulations regarding safety,

sanitation, and access by handicapped persons.

(1) fir) The school shall designate one person as

the program director. The program director shall

be responsible for administrative matters such as

recruiting, evaluating and certif\ing the qualifica-

tions of instructors and or proctors, program de-

velopment, scheduling of classes, advertising,

maintaining facilities and equipment,

recordkeeping and general supervision of the

prelicensing program.

(m) (^ A school shaU pubUsh and provide to

all prelicensing students prior to enrollment a

bulletin or similar official pubHcation of that

school that contains the following information:

(1) name of school and pubhcation date;

(2) name of sponsor;

(3) all associated costs;

(4) detailed outline or description of aU preli-

censing courses offered.

(n) (ffi) A school shaU file with the Commis-
sioner information giving exact dates, times, and
locations for each scheduled preUcensing course.

This information may be submitted either at the

beginning of each quarter semester, or no later

than one week prior to the first class meeting of

each preUcensing course.

(o) (ft) Classroom schools shaU retain the fol-

lowing material on file at one location for a

minimum of three \ears:

{ 1) class schedules;

(2) advertisements;

(3) bulletins, catalogues, and other olTicial

pubUcations;

(4) grade reports;

(5) attendance records;

(6) master copy of each final course exam-

ination, indicating the answer key, the

school name, course location, course dates

and name of instructor; a«4

(7) list of student names, aH4 uith social se-

curity numbers, for each course, and the

name of the Instructor; and

(8) student registration inl'ormation.
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All files shall be made available to the Commis-
sioner upon request.

(p) f») Correspondence schools shall retain the

following material on file at one location for a

minimum of three years:

(1) advertisements,

bulletins, catalogues and other official

publications,

master copy of each final course exam-

ination, indicating the answer key,

grade reports, aft4

a List of student names, m¥^ with social

security numbers, for each course, and the

name of the proctor, and

(6) student registration information that must
be obtained prior to the distnbution of

course matenal.

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

All flics shall be made available to the Commis-
sioner upon request.

(q) (f>^ In the event of illness, injury or death

of an instructor or proctor, the program director

may utilL?;e a non-approved instructor or proctor

to complete a course. The school shaU thereafter

suspend operation of its prcliccnsing courses untU

an approved instructor or proctor is available.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(dj.

.0703 PROGR.\M DIRECTORS
(a) All program directors shall be approved by

the Commissioner in accordance with the pro-

visions of tills Section.

(b) A person desiring approval as a program
director shall make written application to the

Commissioner upon a form prescnbed by the

Commissioner.
(c) Applications must be endorsed by the

president/chief operating officer of the sponsoring

educational institution, company, agency or as-

sociation. If the employing school is not cur-

rently approved by the Commissioner, an

appUcation for school approval should be sub-

mitted along with the application for program
director approval.

(d) The Commissioner shall approve an appli-

cant as a program director upon finding that the

applicant is recommended by the president, chief

operating officer of the sponsoring educational

institution, company, agency or association has

submitted all information required by the Com-
missioner, possesses good character and reputa-

tion, and: pori r.or. oufi the qualifications dL'-.cribt'd

ift tk» PLiraui'apii:

(1) 1 lolds a baccalaureate or higher degree and

has at least two years' years of experience

as an instructor of insurance or as an ed-

ucational administrator; or

(2) Holds a baccalaureate or higher degree and
has at least six years of experience in the

insurance industry with a minimum of

two years of experience in insurance

management; or

(3) Possesses qualifications which that are

found by the Commissioner to be sub-

stantially equivalent to those described.

(e) Program director appro\'al shall be vahd for

an indefmite period, subject to future changes in

laws or regulations regarding approval of pro-

gram directors.

(f) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke, or

suspend the approval of any program director

upon tlnding that:

(1) The program director fails to meet the

criteria for approval pro\ided by these

regulations; or

(2) The program director has failed to comply
with any provisions of 1 1 NCAC 6A
.0700; or

(3) The program director's employment has

been terminated by any sponsoring edu-

cational institution/company; or

(4) The program director provided false in-

fonnation to the Commissioner when
making appHcation for approval; or

(5) The program director has at any time had
an insurance license denied, suspended or

revoked by this or any other insurance

department, or has ever been required to

return a license while under investigation;

or

(6) The program director has obtained or

used, or attempted to obtain or use, in any

manner or form, examination questions;

or

(7) The program director has failed to utilize

an acceptable level of performance in di-

recting the insurance prcliccnsing pro-

gram.

(g) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, or sus-

pend approval, the provisions of Chapter 150B

of the General Statutes shall be applicable.

(h) Wlien a program director's approval is dis-

continued, the procedure for reinstatement shall

be to apply as a new program director, with a

statement of the reasons that he is now eligible

for reconsideration. The Commissioner may re-

quire an in\"estigation before new appros'al is

granted.

(i) An approved program director shall inform

the Commissioner of any change in program af-

filiation by filing an application for program di-

rector approN'al prior to directing a new program.

(j) Full-time faculty of fully accredited senior

level colleges and universities who reuularlv teach
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risk and insurance courses shall be deemed to

meet the eligibility requirements of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(d).

.0704 COl RSES
(a) This Rule establishes minimum standards

for life, accident and health, andor fire and cas-

ualty and accident and health prelicensing

courses prescribed bv Oeneral Statute 5S 615.

5S-3.V3n.

(b) Insurance prelicensing programs shall con-

sist of &ft« »f both any of the following courses:

(1) life, accident and health insurance;

(2) fire and casualty insurance;

(3) accident and health insurance.

(c) The ma.ximum length of an approved pre-

licensing education course shall be at the dis-

cretion of the school. In no event shall a school

offer a life, accident and health or fire and casu-

alty course of l^wv fewer than 40 hours or an ac^

cident and health course of fewer than 2(1 hours.

(2)

(3)

(4)

(d) The following requirements are course

standards:

(I) /Ml courses shall consist of instruction in

the subject areas covered in the outline.

Courses may also include coverage of re-

lated subject areas not prescribed by the

Commissioner; howe\er, such courses

must provide additional class time, above
the minimum requirement stated in Rule

.0704(c) of this Section, for the coverage

of such subject areas.

Prelicensing courses are intended for in-

structional purposes only and not for

promoting the interests of or recruiting

employees for any particular insurance

agency or company.
Schools shall establish and enforce aca-

demic standards for course completion

that reasonably assure that students re-

ceiving a passing grade possess adequate

knowledge and understanding of the sub-

ject areas prescribed for the course. In

any course for which college credit is

awarded, the passing grade for such course

shall be the same as the grade that is con-

sidered passing under the school's uniform

grading system.

Schools shall conduct a final comprehen-
sive course cxammation that covers all

subject areas prescribed by the Commis-
sioner for each course. T^ liniL' k*f tfe.

e.'uiinincition 'jhuU bt* tft adi.lilion k> <4+e

minimum 44 ho urn &f iniUruction Ft»-

quii't'd. Schools may allow a student to

make up a missed examination or to re-

take a tailed examination in accordance

(5)

(6)

with policies adopted by the school. No
final examination fwa¥ be 'pchedulL'd until

Ae fifth 4i*y after tfee commoncem t»nt ©f

Ae oour ji (j. shall be gven until a student

has completed the instructional require-

ment.

Students shall attend a minimum of 40

hours of life, accident and health or fire

and casualty instruction or a mmimum of

20 hours of accident and health instruc-

(C-)

tion. IkiHik timij t»»y lime set aside for

breaks, pop-tests, quizzes, the final com-
prehensi\e course examination and other

non-instructional actnilies shall not count

toward the 444 hour minimum instruc-

tional requirement. If a life, accident and

health or property and casualty course is

scheduled for 50 or more instructional

hours, a student shall attend at least 80

percent of the total hours offered by the

course.

I he foUouing requirements shall be met for

scheduling purposes:

(1) Class meetings or correspondence courses

shall be LirrLited to a maximum of eight

hours of instruction in any given day.

(2) Classroom courses shall ha\e fixed begin-

ning and ending dates and may not be

conducted on an opcn-entrv open-exit

basis.

(3) Correspondence courses shall not have

fixed beginning and ending dates and shall

be conducted on an open-entry^ basis.

(f) The following shall apply to the use of text

books:

(1) Choice of classroom course text shall be

at the discretion of each school.

(2) Text books used m correspondence

courses shall be approved by the Com-
missioner before use.

(g) All prelicensing classroom school courses

shall be taught by Instructors who have been ap-

proved by the Commissioner. A lead instructor

must be designated for each course location.

(h) All prelicensing correspondence courses

shall be monitored by proctors who ha\e been

appro\ed by the Commissioner. A proctor shall

be designated for each correspondence course

student.

(i) The following certification of course com-
pletion procedures shall apply:

(1) Schools shall furnish each student who
successfully completes a preUcensing

course an official certificate on a form

prescribed by the Commissioner. A cer-

tificate shall not be issued to a student

prior to completion of all course rcquire-
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ments and the passing of the course's

comprehensive final examination.

(2) A certificate of prelicensing course com-
pletion shall be issued for each course

successfully completed by a student. A
certificate presented at the examination

site that indicates completion of more
than one course shaU be h«44 invalid.

(3) A certificate of prelicensing course com-
pletion shall be valid for access to the ex-

amination for 12 months. If an applicant

for a license does not successfully pass the

examination within 12 months, he shall

again complete a prelicensing education

course to be eligible for the examination.

Statutoty Authority G.S. 58-33-30(d).

.0705 LE.VD .\ND ASSISTANT INSTRLCl ORS
(a) AU lead and assistant instructors shall be

approved by the Commissioner in accordance

with the provisions of this Rule.

(b) A person desiring approval to teach preli-

censing courses shall make written application to

the Commissioner upon a fonn prescribed by the

Commissioner.

(c) Applications must be endorsed by the pro-

gram director of the employing school. If the

employing school is not currently approved by
the Commissioner, an application for school ap-

proval should submitted along with the apphca-

tion for lead »f ari r. i iTitant instructor approval.

(d) The Commissioner shaU approve an appli-

cant as a lead instructor upon finding that the

apphcant is recommended by an approved

school, has submitted aU information required

by the Commissioner, possesses good character

and reputation, and possesses the appropriate

quaUfications described in this Paragraph:

(1) Life, accident and health:

(A) Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU); or

(B) Chartered linancial Consultant

(ChFC); or

(C) Fellow Life Management Institute

(FLMI); or

(D) Life Underwriter Training; Council

Fellow (LUrCF); or

(fi) Attorney (II B »f iUj^ Bf

(E) f4^ Four years of experience as a fuU-

timc employee or representative intciprct-

ing or explainini; insurance policy

contracts in the life, accident and health

industry and a designation as:

(i) Certified Fmployee Benefits Specialist

(CEBS); or

(ii) Life Underwriter Training Council

Graduate (LUTC Graduate); or

(iii) Fraternal Insurance Counselor

(FIC);or
(iv) Certified Financial Planner (CFP);

or

(v) I lolder of degree in insurance (asso-

ciate or bachelors); or

(F) (O) Three years of experience teaching

life, accident and health preHcensing

courses; or

(G) fW^ Seven years of experience as a fuU-

time employee or representative interpret-

ing or explaining insurance policy

contracts in the life, accident and health

industry; or

(II) fi^ A combination of training, experi-

ence and qualifications that ;iTe substan-

tially equivalent to those listed among
R^ite .WO^ (d)(r)(A) throuuh fH) »f Ais
Sootion 11 NCAC 6A .n705(d)( r)(A)

through (Cj) to satisfy the Commissioner
that the applicant is qualified.

(2) Fire and casualty:

(A) Chartered Property and Casualty

Underwriter (CPCU); or

(-B> ,\ttom ey (LI B w i-i^ Bf

(B) (4^ Four years of experience as a full-

time employee or representative interpret-

ing or explaining insurance policy

contracts in the fire and casualty industry

and a designation as:

(i) Associate in Underwriting (AU); or

(ii) Program in General Insurance (INS);

or

(iii) Accredited Advisor in Insurance

(/\i\I); or

(iv) Associate in Claims (AIC); or

(v) Associate in Risk Management
(ARM): or

(vi) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC);

or

(vii) Associate in Premium Auditing

(APA); or

(viii) Associate in Insurance Accounting

and Finance (AIAF); or

(ix) Holder of degree in insurance (asso-

ciate or bachelors); or

(C) (-P^ Three years of experience teaching

fire and casualty preHcensing courses; or

(D) ffi^ Seven years of experience as a full-

time cmploN'ce or representative inteniret-

ing or explaining insurance policy

contracts in the tire and casualty industr)';

or

(E) (-P) A combination of training, experi-

ence and qualifications that are substan-

tially equivalent to those listed among
feOe rQ:m- (d)(2)(A) throuah (4^^ »f Ow*

Section H NCAC 6A .(>7n5(d)(2)(A)
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throuah (D) to satisfy the Commissioner
that the applicant is qualified.

(e) The Commissioner shall approve an appli-

cant as an assistant instructor upon finding that

the applicant is recommended by an approved

school, has submitted all information required

by the Commissioner possesses good character

and reputation, has taken and passed the state

examination within the most recent two vears

and possesses the appropnate qualifications de-

scribed in this Rule:

(1) Life, accident and health and or accident

and health insurance: three years of ex-

perience as a full-time emplo\ec or repre

-

sentatise interpreting or explaining

insurance polic\' contracts in the life, ac-

cident and health industn'.

(2) Fire and casualty insurance: three years

of experience as a full-time employee or

representative interpreting or explaining

in-'Urancc policy contracts in the fire and

casualty insurance industr>'.

(3) Possesses qu;difications that are found by

the Commissioner to be substantially

equivalent to those described in Subpara-

graphs (e)(1) and (2) of this Rule.

(f) \n applicant for lead aft4 or assistant in-

structor shall be approved for each course tauglit

in the prelicensing curriculum.

(g) Approsal of an mstructor for a school shall

continue until cancellation b\ that school's pro-

gram director, resignation by the instructor, re-

\ocation or suspension by the Commissioner, or

disappro\al or tennination of that school.

(h) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke, or

suspend the approval of an instructor upon find-

ing that:

(1) The instructor fails to meet the criteria for

approval provided h\ these regulations;

or

(2) The instructor has failed to comply with

the Commissioner s regulations regarding

prelicensing courses or schools; or

(3) The instructor's employment has been

terminated by any school approved by the

Commissioner on the grounds of incom-

petence or failure to comply with institu-

tional policies and procedures; or

(4) The instiTictor provided false information

to the Commissioner on any fonn or ap-

plication; or

(5) The instmctor has at any time had an in-

surance license demed, suspended or re-

voked by this or any other insurance

department, or has ever been required to

return a license while under investigation;

or

(6) The instmctor has obtained or used, or

attempted to obtain or use, in any manner
or form, examination questions; or

(7) The instructor has failed to employ ac-

ceptable instructional principles and
methods.

(i) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, or sus-

pend approval of a lead or assistant instructor,

the pro\isions of Chapter 150B of the General
Statutes shall be apphcable.

(j) When an instructor's approval is discontin-

ued, the procedure for remstatement shall be to

apply as a new instructor, with a statement of

reasons that he is now eligible for reconsider-

ation. The Commissioner may require an in-

vestigation before new approval is granted.

(k| An approved instructor shall infonn the

Commissioner of any change in school affiliation

by fihng an appUcation for instructor approval

prior to instructing in the new school.

Siatutoiy Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(dj.

.0706 F'ROCTORS
(a) .\11 proctors shall be approved b\- the

Commissioner in accordance vv ith the provisions

of this Rule.

(b) ,\ person desiring to be approved as a

proctor shall make written application upon a

form prescribed b\' the Commissioner.

(c) .Applications must be endorsed by the pro-

gram director of the emploving correspondence

school. If the school is not currently approved
by the C~ommissioner, the application for school

approval should be submitted along with the ap-

plication for proctor approval.

(d) I'he Comniissioner shall approve an appli-

cant to monitor correspcmdence courses as a

proctor upon finding that the applicant is re-

commended by an approved school, has submit-

ted all information required by the

Commissioner, possesses good character and
reputation, has provided evidence of successful

completion of each correspondence course for

which he is to be approved as proctor, and pos-

sesses the appropriate qualifications described in

n NCAC 6A .07r).S(dl(l) and [2j_ At^ ;4m*-

gniph ^ L'ach couri . i.' t+*f vs hich appro', ul h
r.ought:

(4f Ht*s t lueo yearo" L' xpi.' rience h* t4*t* lifer ae-

cidont rt«4 liL'alth insurance i iulu -. trv k+

proctor Itfer iiccuk' nt ttfi4 h ealth uT 'Unince

cour '' !i
: e+

(4f Hrer thrL'ij year 'j cxporii-'ncL* w- t-l+e t+w rt«4

cctr.ualty ini .uruncL' induLitr/ to proctor fifi*

rm4 ciir.ualty in -airance cour '.or. .

(4-^ Po ''
^ ' e! . i^^j

' i qualification ', t-hftt- r«i? found hf
Uw Commi 'j 'uonor k+ l*t» L .ubL .tiuitiuUv
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equivalent te thoRO derioribod vpt Subpara

graphs (tl)(l) aft4 (4) ef Owt^ Rule.

(e) An applicant shall be approved for each

course proctored in the prelicensing curriculum.

(f) Approval of a proctor for a school continues

until cancellation by that school's program di-

rector, resignation by the proctor, revocation or

suspension by the Commissioner, or disapproval

or termination of the school.

(g) A proctor's duties are prescribed by the

Commissioner and a description may be ob-

tained by writing to the North Carolina Depart-

ment of Insurance, Agent Services Division,

Prehcensing Education Section, Post Office Box
26267, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

(h) The Commissioner shall deny, revoke or

suspend the approval of a proctor upon finding

that:

(1) The proctor fails to meet the criteria for

approval provided by these regulations;

or

(2) The proctor has failed to comply with the

Commissioner's regulations regarding

correspondence courses or schools; or

(3) The proctor's employment has been ter-

minated by the school; or

(4) The proctor provided false information to

the Commissioner on any fonn or appli-

cation; or

(5) The proctor has at any time had an in-

surance license denied, suspended or re-

voked by this or any other insurance

department, or has ever been required to

return a license while under investigation;

or

(6) The proctor has obtained or used, or at-

tempted to obtain or use, in any manner
or form, examination questions; or

(7) The proctor has failed to utilize an ac-

ceptable level of perfonnance in oversee-

ing a prelicensing course.

(i) In all proceedings to deny, revoke, or sus-

pend approval of a proctor, the provisions of

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes shall be
appUcable.

(j) When a proctor's approval is discontinued,

the procedure for reinstatement shall be to apply

as a new proctor, with a statement of reasons that

he is now eligible for reconsideration. The
Commissioner may require an investigation be-

fore new approval is granted.

(k) An approved proctor shall infonn the

Commissioner of any change in school affiliation

by filing an application for proctor approval prior

to proctoring in the new school.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-33-30(d).

iS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the N .C. Department of Insurance

intends to amend rule(s) cited as 1 1 NCAC 10

.1103.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is Oc-

tober I, 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 3, 1990 at Third Floor Hearing

Room. Dobbs Building, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

\^ omment Procedures: Written comments may
be sent to Pete Murd:a, P.O. Bo.x 26387, Raleigh,

A.C. 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call Pete Murdza at (919) 733-3284 or

Ellen Sprenkel at (919) 733-4700.

CHAPTER 10 - KIRK AND CASUALTY
DIMSION

SKCTION .1 100 KAKK KILINGS

.1 103 WORKERS' COMPENSATION
The infonnation required by N.C.G.S.

5y. 121.2n(h) NCOS. 58-36- 15(h) shall be pre-

sented as follows:

Note: If data required bv this Rule are not being

collected or reported, or are not readily available

to insurers prior to October
J_^

1^)'MJ, insurers shall

commence collecting or reporting such data be-

ginning January 2^ 1^**^)2. H certain data are not

regularly collected thnnigh the statistical plan, a

special call for such data to companies whose
aggregate workers' compensation wntten prc-

mii.im is at^ least three-fourths of the North
Carolina premium may be substituted. 1 here-

after, such required data that ha\e accnied shall

be included in each filing until enough data are

a\ ailabie to fulh satisfy this Rule. If in addititm

to the full years of data specified m tH^r ef t4«

bL'low rL'quc 'jts, this Rule, more recent data of

less than a full year i* are available, t4»t- such data

shall also be pro\'ided. If updates to the infor-

mation specified in this Rule become available

before the close of evidence relating to the filing,

the\ shall also be pio\ ided.

( I ) North Carolina prc' iiiiuin, !«* earned pre-

miums at the actual and current rate level;

losses and loss adjustment L'.vponL' nco: ex-

penses, each on paid and incurred bases

without trendmiz or other modification for

the expenence
î
criod. includiim the loss ra-
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tip anticipated at the time the rates were

promuli^ated for the experience period:

(a) Include premium, loss, and loss adjustment

expense data from all companies writing

North Carolina workers' compensation
insurance, h* North Carolina rihall h^ vpt-

cluded tft Ae F*te filing. In addition, if

exposures are used in the calculation of

premiums at present rates, provide all

a\ailable exposure data from these com-
panies. If the cxpenence of any company
that b** wntes more than one percent of

the North Carolina workers' compen-
sation written premium i* lias been ex-

cluded from y*<* any rate level, trend, loss

development, or insestment income cal-

culations, identify t4+*(- the company and
its lUiirkL' t '.hare market share and provide

an explanation for its exclusion. Also es-

timate the aggregate marke t

i

.hure market

share of other companies whose experi-

ence is excluded from thooo such calcu-

lations.

(b) hiclude expense data from all companies
wntina North Carolina workers' compen-
sation insurance. If the cxpenence of any
company of the t*+f> 5U largest (based on
written premium) country"\vide writers of

workers' compensation insurance is ex-

cluded from any expense le\el calcu-

lations, identify thr*(- the company and its

market 'jhare market share and pro\ ide an

explanation for its exclusion. Also esti-

mate the aggregate markot 'iharo market

share of other companies whose cxpen-

ence is excluded from such e xpt'n '.e k"ie l

calculations.

(c) If any identifiable group of policies is ex-

cluded from the calculation of classifica-

tion differentials, describe those policies,

indicate their market share. aft4 their pe*^

centage e+ t-hr» marke t and pro\'ide an ex-

planation for their exclusion.

(d) Clearly describe all adjustments to premi-

ums, losses, loss adjustment expenses, ex-

penses, and exposures included in the

tilini!. Show the unad|usted amounts to

which ad|ustments were made, identity

the specific adjustments. pro\'ide details

on the den\ation and application of the

adiustment t actors, and descnbe all intcr-

mei.iiate calculations.

(e) (-4+ Premium ', ttt- currL'nt frrii* k'vol 44t+H br^

calculated. \V"henL". er tm- level facti)rc. aw
u -.ed. ; .how their derivation. Include ac-

tual earned premiums and calculate

earned premiums at present rates. .Mso

indicate luns sucli calculations were

produced, supply supporting documenta-
tion for a sample of such calculations, and
justify any aggregate factors used.

(f) ^ 44^ I-stimate the amount of premium
collected from t+»# expense con -.tant r.haU
be ei itimated. constants. Pro\ide this

premium in dollars, aft4 as a percentage

of the standard earned premium, and as a

percentage of net earned premium. If the

percentage of premium collected in this

manner is expected to change, estimate

the extent of the change and pro\ide the

details of this o intimation, calculation.

(g) (4^ 44*<» Estimate the amount of additional

premium collected because of the mini-

mum premium nhall b* I 'luTi
i
i n. rule.

Provide this premium in dollars, »ft4 as a

percentage of standard earned premium,
and as a percentage of net earned pre-

mium. If the percentage of premium col-

lected in this manner is expected to

change, estimate the extent of the change

and proN'ide the details of this estimation.

calculation.

fgl Ijamed premiumi' L 'haU include premium
collected from t4w L.pecific dii .eai .o loading.

•14 di '.ear.e loading; ! hav e been excluded,

pro'i ide a justification.

(h) Provide the 44*e latest page 44 available

wntten and earned premiums and
market

i

.hiUL'i . market shares for the ten

largest waters cy\_ North Carolina workers'

compensation insurer; , h* North Carolina

L .hall bt* pros ided. insurance.

(i) Provide composite loss and premium in-

formation from each c^ the latest two

.Annual .Statements for which a-jL^regate

data are available for the 5n lariiest wnters

of North Carolina workers compensation

insurance, including the following:

(i) Lnden'.nting and Investment Hxhibit.

Part \t:

in) Indenvnting and Investment I'xhibit,

Part 3^ 1 ine 16:

(iii) North Carolina Pa'j 14. I ine 16.

(j) fH -H+r^ Provide to the extent p(^ssible the

following infonnation on companies de-

\iating from Bureau the workers' com-
pensation rates of the North Carolina

Rate Bureau r.hall bt* included for each of

the latest five a\ailable calendar \ears:

(i) A list of aU deviating companies:

(ii) Ihe estimated total standard premium
written at deviated rates:

(iii) The estimated percentage of the entire

statewide standard premium written at

deviated rates:

356 5:5 AORTH CAROLL\A REGISTER June I, IWO



PROPOSED RULES

(iv) The total amount of deviations in dol-

lars;

(v) The average percentage deviation for

deviating companies;

(vi) The average percentage deviation for

all companies.

(k) (^ The Provide to the extent possible the

following information on company com-
panies issuing dividends on North

Carolina workers' compensation di'i idond

practices '.hull b» inoludL'd policies for

each of the latest five calendar years:

(i) A List of all companies issuing dividends;

(ii) The estimated total premium from of

companies issuing dividends;

(iii) The estimated percentage of the entire

statewide premium of companies issuing

dividends;

(iv) The total amount of dividends in dol-

lars.;

(v) The average percentage dividend issued

by companies issuing dividends;

(vi) The average percentage dividend issued

by all companies.

(Ir) Information from (+h* Annual Slatomont

e« lo! .SL>'j rt«4 prumium -. •.hull be iiKlikk'd.

Pros idc iiuch inlormalion iiL'piiralL'ly fof

tbe latofit twe iVnnual StatomLMilfi fef

sii liich aggrogato data » avdilabli.'
, includ

i«g t4+e folltj'i
'
i ing itL'm ii BVt » compo iiitL'

ba ii iri fw the t»f» ^ ' sorkuri i

' compL' ii

f.ation inriurcro ift North Caroluia:

IjX i>v i i I I 1 :.^,. 1^.

i\ \
\ p | ,

-
t X I i n n 1 A-

\ II J T TTTT ST I T T T VT I ' '

,

\ 1 1 1 J 1 (.11 I ^ ' I t , I 1 1 I %.. TTTT

(1) Ali policy yertf »h4 accident yeaf incurred
^^^^ i 1 1 t ' fc * . J \.. \ t-^ I ^ . > r t 1 r^ i > V \^ ' t\\ 1^^^ T-\ »- 1 -\

ITTTTT? CITTTTr LI ^'\> Ki ITT 1 1 H. 1 1 1 1 1 I _^ !TTTTTTT l '\J I 'II.'

s'idL'd ift the aggrogalc aft4 ske- -
..epuralfd

ift4-H- paid lo 'i'ie*:.
, ca ^^e inouned 'i

,
rt«4 i«-

currud btrt- i+h4- roportod lor. riLTi . Provide

the following information on losses and
loss adjustment expenses:

(i) 1 (^r each of the latest three a\ ailable ac-

cident and calendar \ears, undeveloped

and untrended losses aiul loss adiustment

expenses;

(ii) lor each rate level implemented in the

latest three calendar \cars. the expected

loss ratios that were anticipated m the

implemetited rates;

(iii) lor each accident and policy year in-

cluded in the tiling, paid losses, case basis

reserves, loss development, incurred allo-

cated loss adjustment expenses (if col-

lected separately fr(Mri losses), incurred

unallocated (or combined allocated and

unallocated) kiss adjustment expenses,

applied trend factors, and trended incurred

losses and loss adjustment expenses.

(2) Credibility factor development and apph-

cation. Provide all information related to

the derivation of all credihilitv factors con-

tained in the tiling, including the following:

A4i information relating \» t+H* i 'doction ef

the credibility factors containod ift the filing

Cihall be provided including a coinplt' t e de-
'
. icription »f the methodology wse4 k* deriso

the factOP . .

(a) A description of all data reviewed and all

worksheets used;

(b) A complete description of the methodol-

oiiv used to denve these factors;

(c) A description of alternative methodologies

used or considered for use in the last three

(d) A description of the criteria used to select

a methodology;

(e) Specific details on the application of these

criteria in the selection of a methodology
for this filing;

(f) Details on the application of the method

-

olo'jv to this filing.

(3) Loss development factor development and
application on both paid and incurred bases

and m both numbers and dollars ot^^ claims:

(a) Provide all inloiTnation related to the der-

ivation of oH loss development factors

contained in the filinc, including the fol-

lowinc:

(i) A description of all data rev iewed and

all worksheets used:

(ii) A complete description of the method-
ology used \o_ denve these factors;

(lii) A descnption o[ alternative methodol-

ogies used or considered tor use m the last

three years;

(iv) A description of the criteria used to se-

lect a methodology;

(v) Specific details on the aiiplicalion of

these cnteria in the selecti(m o[ a meth-

odoloszv for this tiling:

(vi) Details on the application of the meth-
odology to this tiling,

(b) fa-) St* t+»t- k+v* d evelopment facloi '. e«ft

be produced, the follovring Io*t^ data at

succe '
. i'jive evaluation date '

. ^
'.hall be pro

vided:

(+) At Provide at least the latest five

available five years of the aggivgate loss

data described in Subparagraphs (.^)(b)(i)

through (lii) of this Rule tor matching

companies for all pairs of successive eval-

uation dates. Also provide the corre-

sponding loss development fictors and
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five-year average factors derivable from

these data.

(i) fin Data on both a policy year and an

accident year basis;

(ii) fi+t^ Data separated into indemnity and
medical only loocos portions, as well as

combined data;

(iii) f+v) Data separated into paid, case in-

curred, and incurred but not reported

portions, as well as total locsoi .
; combined

data;

(-v-^ Reported indomnity, modicai only. a«4
total claimo fof aii years aft4 evaluation

dat e;
'
, fof '

ivhich k»« information i^ pfo-

> idod.

(c) Prtnide for each of the loss amounts in

Subparaizraph (3)(b) of this Rule, the

corrcspondini; earned premiums, paid

claim counts, incurred claim counts, and
outstanding claim counts.

(d) fb-> IvB- tfeert- t4+t* diffLM'ont dtfvelopniL' nl prri-

tcni 'j l»¥ tvf*e e+' injupi' e*tft W tracud. tke

folknsing k»** data afhi a dL" icription t-4 ite

donsation hall akt* be includod:

(++ At- I'roNJde at least the latest ten

a\ailablc te«- tmrt '.tatir.tical policy years

of the incurred loss data described in

Subparairraphs (3)(d)(i) throutzh (iil of

this Rule from the Init Statistical Flan

k*^?t tktfei for matching policies for all pairs

of successive evaluation dates. Also pro-

\'ide the corresponding loss development

tactors and fi\e-\ car a\'eraL;e factors de-

n\ able from the data.

(ii-^ Cii -.e incuned kv '^o !. , numbor of claimo,

standard ccu'nL'd prL'mium. a«4 oamod e«-

pooure o;

(i) fHH Losses separated into indemnity and
medical loooeo; portions, as well as com-
bined data;

(ii) f+v| Componoabk' claim c'.vpL'riL'nco

L osses separated into deaths, permanent
totals, major permanent partials, minor
pennanent partials, awd- temporar>' totals,

and noncompensable medicals.

fv) Current on lovi?! bc' iicfit facloro feM^ L'ach

injury tvpe ^f4ff- be t'.VL' L'n indL'mnity a«4
medical;

fv-H ^Mr»f each policy year. t4^ actual a'lX'nige

Vrrtee a«4 (+H* average ^vage after tl+e ap-

plication fc4" aftv payroll limitaticm.

f»H AH- inforuKition relating t+> t-l+e election

ef At* le** d eselopment factor '
,- contained

m y+e filing i .hull be provided including a

complete d e-.cnption t4' t-he methodology
U '-ed k* arrive a*- t4+e elected factor ;. a«4
At* detail '

,, ef rt** opecinc application.

(e) Provide for each of the loss amounts in

Subparagraph (3)(d) of this Rule the cor-

responding incurred claim counts and lor

each of the policy \ears in Subparagraph
(3)(d) of this Rule the aggregate earned

exposures and standard earned premium.
(f) Pro\ide for each of the polic\' periods in

Subparagraphs (3)(b) and (3)(d) of this

Rule the law amendment factors for ad-

justing past losses to current benefit lc\els.

(g) Include a descnption of the reasons for the

differences between the policy \ear data

provided in response to Subparagraphs
(3)(b) and l3)(c) of this Rule and those

pro\ ided in response to Subparagraphs

(3)(d) and (3;i(e) of ihjs Rule.

(h) I'roN ide the information in Subparagraphs
(3)(b) and (3)(c) of this Rule for each of

the 15 largest wnters of North Carolina

workers" compensation insur.ince.

(44 +^**f each e4- tfee Wvt kirge-. t ' vnt e r ;^ ef
' ' orkero" compen '.iition iiT iUranc e ift

North Carolina, a otatemenl regarding a«¥
rei .ene strengthening e* vi eakening l-l+at-

has occurred m tfee \st^ frv# years shall be
included.

(4) Trending factor development and applica-

tion:

(a) I*ro\ide all infomiation related to the der-

i\ation of aH trend lactors contained m the

filing including the tollowinsJ:

fi) A descnption o^. ill data re\iewed and
all worksheets used;

(ii) A complete description of the method-
olo>:\ used to den\e these kictors:

(iii) A descniition of altcmati\ e mctlnKlol-

ogies used or considered lor use in t]ie last

three \ears;

(i\
)
A description of the criteria used to se-

lect a methodoloiiv;

(\') Specific details on the application of

these catena in the selection of a meth-

otloloLiN {or this filini;

(\i) Details on the application o_f the meth-

odoloizv to this tiliiTi.

(b) fa-)- ?ve- Ar+t- a '
. anet^ t>4- possible trend fatr-

tt+ftr m«y be caluated. provide Calculate

the following calculations: trend lactors:

(i) IndemnitN' and medical trend factor *?a4-

cukitions factors based upon both on the

latest fi\e a\ailable policy vcars of North

Carolina policy y ear paid and incuiTcd

data; a«4 North Carolina accident ye«f

data.

(ii) Indemnity and medical trend factor eai-

culations factors based upon countryviide

policy yeaf aH4 accident \t^t# on the latest

fne awiilable accident \ ears oi data;
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(iii) Indemnity and medical trend factors

based on the latest five available policy

years of countrywide paid and incurred

data;

(iv) fiii^ Indemnity aft4 modical trend factor

calculationn factors for individual states

based on both » policy year aft4 a» aooi

dent ye«f basis data and their reconcil-

iations with the countp^'wide factors;

(v) ft¥} Pef t4*e medical Medical trend fac-

tors for individual states and for groups

of iioparatc compilations fof fee schedule

and non-fee schedule states based on both

ft incurred policy year ftfi4 *» accidont waf
basis, data and their reconciliation with

the countPv wide factor;

(vi) The factors in Subparatzraphs

(4)(b)(iii). (4)(b)(iv), and (4)(b)(v) of this

Rule based on accident \ car data, ii avail-

able^

fb) rVli infonnalion relating to t+w r.L'lection

ef t+H* trend factors contained m the filing

shall be provided including a compluto

description ef tbe methodolog;." uwd t©

derive t4*e selected factors ftH4 the details

»f ite specific application.

(5) Changes in premium base and exposures.

(a) Info nnat ion BVt th# distribution by 4ie ef

policy shall be provided st* tl+t+t- tl+e effects

ef premium discount, t4iK» enpenso con
t~ i -"^ T-i * » «^ t 1-1 . Y «-n t «-i 1 r-»i 1 > »Ti «-* »-. t«Ti « 1 I «->-! J--1 1 I f 1 1 T-i
rTTTTTTTy lU lU 1 1 I^J ITTTTTTTTTTTTTT I 'II^IIIILIIII I U I^ CTTTT

be re'i ievred. This inforniiition shall m-
clude b'or the intervals listed in this Sub-

paragraph, proside the number of North

Carolina workers compensation policies

and dollar amount *# their aggregate pre-

mium m Noith Carolina tor the latest

available five policy years. Provide this

information separately for stock and non-

stock companies and for all companies

combined: using Ae foilovii ing premium
f*» distribution SO %\_ - $99. $l00 - $199,

$200 - $299, $300 - $499, $500 - $999,

$1,000 - $2,999, $3,000 - $4,999, $5,000 -

$9,999, $10,000 - $24,999, $25,000 -

$49,999, $50,000 - $99,999, $100,000 -

$249,999, ftft4 ewf $2 IQ^iOQ. $250,000 -

$499,999. and over $4')9.t)99.

(b) Describe any Awy- countrywide distrib-

utions of number of policies or premium
by layer that i* are used in the filing, shall

be described. Also pro\idc details of how
such distributions have been used in the

rate filing and a description of any adjust-

ments that have been made to tbe distrib

utions. them.

(c) Provide the following estimates of the av-

erage premium discount for each of the

latest five available policy years:

(i} That using the North Carohna distrib-

ution of policies contained in Subpara-

.graph (5) (a) of this Rule;

(ii) 1 hat using a c(Hintr\\vide distribution

of policies;

(iii) I hat using the North Carolina distrib-

ution of policies contained in Subpara-

graph (5)(a) of this Rule adjusted for its

exclusion of the portions of interstate

policies not located in North Carolina^

In making this adjustment calculate and
take into the account the aggregate intra-

state portions of those policies making up
the countrywide distribution in Subpara-

graph (5)(c)(ii) o{ this Rule.

(d) ft^ -1-be changes m t4*e stateside average
'
iseekly ssage fof t4*t* latest five cal endar

years j.hall »!«* be included a* weli at^ e^
timated changes during (+k» period ' shon
t4*e rater. wtH- be ift e ffect. Pro\ide the

following in tonnation on exposure trends:

(i) I he statewide a\erage weekly wage for

the latest five a\ailable calendar years;

(ii) The statewide a\erage weekly wage for

the latest ten available policy \ears with-

out the application of a pa\roll limitation;

(iii) The statewide average weekly wage for

the latest ten available p(>licv \'ears after

the application of a pa\ roll limitation;

(iv) I he estimated statewide aserage weekly
wage for the calendar and policy years

during which the rates will be in effect.

(6) limiting factor de\ek)pment and applica-

tion. Information Pro\ ide information on
the following items: shall be pros ided:

(a) Limitations on losses included in the sta-

tistical data used in the filing;

(b) Limitations on the extent of the rate level

change;

(c) Limitations on the extent of classification

rate changes;

(d) Any other limitations applied.

(7) 0\erhead expenses, expense de\elopment
and the application of commission and bro-

kerage, other acquisition expenses, general

expenses. t:ixes. licenses, and fees:

(a) AH- information relating k* the derivation

ef tl+e e xpense provisions contained i+t t4+e

filing shall be pros itied including a- com
plete description »l t4+e metiiodology used

t» derive the selected provisions »«4 Ae
details o» it* '.pecific aj^plication. Pro\idc

all infonnation related

of all expense pro\isions contained m t_lie

filinu includint; the followiniz:
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(i) A description of all data reviewed and

all worksheets used;

(ii) A complete description of the method-

olosrs' used to den\'e these factors:

(iii A description of alternative methodol-

ogies used or considered for use in the last

three \ears;

(iv) A description of the criteria used to se-

lect a methoi-lologv.

(v) Specific details on the application of

these cntcna in the selection of a meth-

(Hloloev tor this filing;

(\-i) Details on the application of the meth-

odologv to this filing.

{h^ -H+e fi ling >. hiill includL' L .upport t+*f c44 (4»

oxpen '^e . trHrr »«4 profit pros i -.uuTJ l+*f (+«»

propo 'ie cl ruto '.
, under both A<* cuiTcmt

aft4 propor.ed e xpen -.e pnigruinr. . I'xpUiin

why ther. L' pros i
'.non ':. rwe iippro|iri;ittf fof

*H- typL'
!) h4' in^ 'Uranco companiL" ^

.

(b) ftr) '+iH* Pro\ide a companson of the pro-

posed expense provisions i.hTiU U* com
part'd to with those composite pro\ isions

for the 50 largest wnlers of North
Carolina workers compensation insur-

ance included in the latest a\'ailable In-

surance Hxpense Exhibit, U* u ith those

same composite pro\isions included in the

preliminar>' data underlying the next such

Exhibit (if available), and to with those

pro\isions in the latest available CaU for

19xx Calendar \'ear Data by State for

North Carolina. ["^t^ .trib e swy adju -. l

mcntfi »f countPi SsidL' data to rc' llcct

North Carolina conditionc t*H4 prosida

A* dt-' tail '

'
. of f+k» underlsing calculation '.'

. .

if tkh* propo^ i L'd pros

i

''ion ;. differ from
thtv , L' indicated l>¥ th# data, pros ide <*»

explanat ion.

OH- boss' propo '.ed allossance '. fof expeiT .e -j

ttfe res iess ed each ve^f bv commilleo '
. ' of

tht» National Council oo Compen '.alion

Insurance ttoti t4*e Norlh Carolina Rate

Bureau.

fo^ U Hoy b4" tf+e collected lo^i^ tk+trt include -i

taxe '. Of a '

.
.'

.
'e ;'''ment '

. ' of Hoy- Is pe. (4+e t4ol-

k+f amount t-4 '.uch taxe -. of a '.'ie '.;.me nt!i

•'hall l*e calculated.

ff} 44*t^ detail '

-, of tfte densation of tf+r» trtt

multiplier ^.hall bf prosided.

(c) (-^ fdr each of the ten largest writers of

North Carolina workers' compensation

insurance, m Nuilh Carolma. pro\'ide a

statement regarding any oxpeu '.e cutting

activities affecting expense or senice levels

undertaken in the last three years, i .hall

bt» included.

(8) The percent rate change;

(a) ft« l^rovide the overall statewide rate

change, 4«tW bt* r.hossn aft4 as well as the

amount of the change attributable to each

of the following: loss experience, a mod-
ification of the trend factor, a change in

expense provisions, law amendments, a

change in the tax provision, a change in

the assessment provision, and any other

factors.

(b) 44»«» IVovide the rate changes for each in-

dustry group and for each classification.

shall iiko be f.hossn.

(c) If the rate changes eventually implemented
difter frc^m those prtn ided in the filing,

submit a supplement to the filing that de-

scnbes the implemented changes and the

modilications made to the filing to

produce them. This supplement shall be

submitted as soon as possible alter a de-

cision is reached to implement rates o ther

than those that were (inginallv filed and
in any case no later than the first imple-

mentation date ot the rates.

(*5) l'ropo ''c>d rat e'. . AA^ I inal proposed rates:

(a) Provide the proposed rates for each clas-

sification. ; .hall be included.

(b) If the rates eventualh implemented differ

frtmi those pro\ idcd in the liling. submit

a supplement [o the liling that describes

the iini")lemented rates in the same detail

as descnbed m Subparagraph (*-))( a) o[ this

Rule. I his supplement shall be submitted

as soon as possible alter a decision u^

reached to implement rates i^her than

those that were originally filed and m :in\

case no later than the lirsi implement, ition

date of the rates.

(10) Investment earnings, consisting of invest-

ment income and realized plus unre.ili/ed

capital gains, from loss, loss expense, and
iine.irned premiuin reserves: I nlormation

evft anticipated ins e-.tm e nt incom e h- nece '.

to e 'Uabli '.h t4+e pros i
'.ion fof uiule r

ssriting profit fm4 contingenci e'. io tkh* ratoo.

(a) Inlormation oo Calculate the amount of

investment income earned on loss, loss

expense and unearned premium reserves

from North Carolina workers' compen-
sation policies (as a ratio m- relation to

both net and standard earned piemium tof

sS ' Ork e r ;

"

. compeu '.alion io North CaioliiKi

shall be ccilcukited premium) for each of

the latest five avaikible calendar vears and

e '.limated estimate that income for the

current year and tor all v ears dunng which

the proposed rates wM are expected to be

in eflect. Provide the d ensaluMi details
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(b)

(c)

of uch all calculations, *» JotuLl including

the amount of the composite reserves of

each type at the beginning and end of each

of the 'jpocifiod latest five available calen-

dar years. Also descnbe and justify all

assumptions used in such calculations.

Information Provide information on the

estimated average length of time that

elapses between the occurrence of a

compensable accident in North Carolina

and the payment of a claim r.hall be {»fe-

vidod. on that accident. The average

shaU be a weighted a\erage based on size

of claim payments. Indicate Fstimate

how the length has changed o\er the k»t-

latest ten a\ailable calendar years.

4^ C'l aluatu rc'ce nl iu '.ure r profitability,

compo 'i iic* information from Ae Annual
Stat emt' nt ft*f (-he k*p -^ '

isorkL'n .

' com
pijU jiation ini . urL' r ' i m North Carolina '.hall

be includL'd. I'ro\idc (4*e folio vi ing com-
posite asset. liahilitN . and income infor-

mation from each of the latest two
/Vnnual Statements for which aggregate

data i* are a\ailable tor the 50 largest

writers of North Carolina workers' com-
pensation insurance, including the follow-

ing (in m- the same format and detail as

the exhibits in individual company stat i;

mcnt !. : statements):

(i) Page 2 (As.sets);

(ii) Page 3 (Liabilities, Surplus and Other
Funds);

(iii) Page 4 (Lmderwriting and ln\'estment

Exhibit);

(iv) Sclu'dulij V- •.ection ;. cl eiiling '
' ith

workor i
j' ctmipen -uition:

(iv) fv^ Insurance l:.\pense l-'.\.hibit Part II,

Column 16.

(11) Identification »rt4 CL'rtification ^ Statir.

tical Pkmy. . of applicable statistical plans

and pro'jams and a certification o[ compli-

ance with them:

(a) Att Identitx" all statistical plans used or

consulted in preparing this filing i .hall be

idu'iitiliod. i\l; .o and describe the data

compiled by each plan.

(b) A Provide a certification that there is no
e\idcnce known to the Bureau or to the

statistical agencies in\dhcd that the data

that wr» were collected irdance with

(c)

such statistical plans and ulilii'.od were

used in the rate tiling are not true and ac-

curate representations of each company's
experience to the best of rt-r that compa-
ny's knowledge, r.hall c4m* be prosidt'd.

Provide general descriptions of the editing

procedures used to \enf\ that the data

were collected in accordance with the sta-

tistical plans, and concise summaries of

the errors unco\ered bv such editing pro-

cedures, and of the adjustments and cor-

rections implemented.

(12) Investment liarningf. e« Capital ttft4 S+if-

pluc. earnings on capital and surplus:

Given the selected underwriting profit and
contingency loading contingencies pro\'ision

contained in the filing, indicate the resulting

rates of return (including consideration of

investment income) on equity capital, on
statuton. surplus, and on total assets. *«-

eluding con t.ideration h4 insL' i.tment income
shall be calculat ed. Show the derivation of

all factors used in producing these calcu-

lations and pros ide ju '.tification t4*»t- the i .e

rater. e4 return ttfe rear.onable »ft4 foifr jus-

tify the fairness and reasonableness of these

rates of return.

(13) Le\el of Capital Surplur. Needed. Te
calculate return '. «->«• capital i+«4 '.uiplu '.

. (4*e

follo' i
ii ing information vhall be provided.

capital surplus needed to support premium
wntings without endangcriniz the sol\enc\

of member companies:

(a) i\ggregate Provide aLinregate premium to

surplus ratios for the latest t+ve ten a\ail-

able calendar years for c41- those companies
wnting North Carolina wcirkers' compen-
sation insurance h* North Carolina; dur-

ing that entire period;

(b) lir.timate '. Pro\ ide estimates of the compa-
rable ratios for aU com|ianies w riling

North Carolina nonlleet pinatc passenger

aiitomobile insur:ince tor oU t4+e sears

dunng w hich the proposed rates w44i are

expected to be in clfect.

(c) Pio\ide information on the amount of

surplus needed to support the writing of

N^irth Carolina wt^rkers compensaticm
insurance. taking into :iccount the

nskiness of the line. Descnbe the as-

sumptions used in the dernation of that

amount.

_ 'ro\ ide all intbrmation relating to any
explicit or implicit alKK'ation ol. surplus

by state and b\ line undertaken in the til-

ing, including the following:

(i) A descnption of all data ie\ iewed and

all worksheets used:

(ii) A compk'tc descripti(m of the method-
ology' Used to produce this allocation:

(iii) A descriptR)n of allernali\e methodol-

ogies used or considered for use in the last

three \ears:

(d|

(iv) A description of the criteria used to sc^

lect a methodologN';
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(\) Specific details on the application of

these cnteria in the selection of a meth-

odoloizv for this filing;

(\i) Details on the application of the meth-

(hIoIohv to this filing.

(14) OtluT I nformation. Such other informa-

tion that may be required bv any rule

adopted by the Commissioner:

(a) Information Pro\ide information on oortain

the folknving aspects of Workon:/ Com
pon^ation I ndividual Ri '.k Ratini; IManD

i . hiill t>^ provided. tw t4w foUovring

itt'iiT . . include workers' compensation in-

di\idual risk rating plans, including an

explanation of their purpose and a de-

tailed description of their derivation:

(i) Expected loss rate;

(li) D-Ratio;

(iii) Excess loss factors;

(iv) Excess loss adjustment amounts;

(v) Table of weighting and ballast values.

(b) Att infonnution relating to- tfee deiisation

t4' t+K* profit »ft4 contingency loading

contiiined m t4*^ filing r.hall b^ provided

including » complete dec.cnption ©f A*
methodology ur.ed *«• arri'i o at- tfee L ^olected

loading rtft4 th<* details ef i** specific ap-

plication. Provide all information relating

to the profit and contingencies pro\ision

contained in the filing, including the fol-

lowing:

(i) A description of all data reviewed and
aU worksheets used;

(ii) A complete description of the method-

ology used to deri\'e this pro\ision;

(iii) A description of alternative mcthodol
ogies used or considered for use m the last

three years;

i'w) A descnplion of the criteria used to se-

lect a methodology;

(\) Specific details on the application of

these cnteria in the selection of a meth-

odologN' lor this filing;

fvi) Details on the application of the meth-

odologN" to this filing.

(c) Agendas Include copies of all agendas and
minutes of meetings of the North
Carolina Rate Bureau affecting the filing,

shidl be included as wcU as a List of all at-

tendees at these meetings, their titles, and
their atfiliations.

(d) Va\ m e nts Describe all payments made to

MVr othe r ail consultants (including law-

yers, actuaries, and economists) related to

this filing. fH+d Ae previous t*fte eft

i
ivorkers compensation shall be described.

If pa\ments afe ftt-4 cannot be specificaUy

identified as related to individual partic-

ular fdings, estimate tfee charges, them,

(e) Identify and describe all changes in meth-

odologies from the pre\ious North
Carolina workers' compensation rate fil-

ing. ]f any collected or reported data re-

quired by this Rule are pro\ided within

30 da\s after the initial submittal of a fil-

ing, that data shall be made a part of the

filing, provided the initial submittal ac-

knowledges that it is incomplete and
identifies specifically what further data are

to be submitted within the time permitted.

No filing otherwise complete shall be

deemed to be proper until such time that

all data required bv this Rule have been
submitted.

Statutoryr Authoriiy G.S. 58-2-40: 58-36-15(h).

l\ ot/'ce is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

J50B-J2 that the .\.C. Department of Insurance

intends to adopt rules cited as 1 1 .\CAC J IB
.0601 - .0614.

1 he proposed effecti\'e date of this action is Oc-

tober I. 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 5, 1990 at Third Floor Hearing

Room. Dobbs Building. 430 .\'. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh. S.C. 27611.
"

m the last (_^,omment Procedures: Written comments may
be sent to .11 Barham. P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh,

.V.C. 27611. Oral presentations may be made at

the public hearing. Anyone having questions

should call Al Barham at (919) 733-5631 or Ellen

Sprenkel at (919) 733-4^00.

CH.\PTER 11 - FINANCIAI. FA ALL ATION
DIMSION

SLUCILMTKR I IB - SI'ECL\L PROGRAMS

SECTION .0600 - WORKERS' COMPENSATION
SELF INSLRANCE

.0601 DEFINLFIONS
As used in this Section:

(1) "Act" means Chapter 97 of the North

Carolina General Statutes, as amended.

(2) "Certified audit" means an adult upon
which an auditor duly qualified to practice

as a public accountant or certified public
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accountant expresses his professional opin-

ion that the accompanying statements fairly

present the fmancial position of the em-
ployer or of the group, in conformity with

generally accepted accounting principles as

considered necessary by the auditor under

the circumstances.

(3) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner
of Insurance or his authorized represen-

tative.

(4) "Corporate surety" means an insurer au-

thorized by the commissioner to write surety

business in North Carolina.

(5) "Employer" means a self-insured individ-

ual employer.

(6) "Fund year" means that elected period of

coverage, up to 12 month in duration, pur-

suant to which a group self-insurer extends

coverage to its members.

(7) "Group" means a self-insured group of

employers.

(8) "Loss fund" means that portion of net or

standard premium, exclusive of past due

balances deemed to be delinquent, that cov-

ers the retention of liability for a self-insurer

under the terms of an aggregate excess in-

surance contract; and means, in the absence

of an aggregate excess policy, that portion

of net or standard premium, exclusive of

past due balances deemed to be delinquent,

that is allocated to pay claims.

(9) "Manual premium" means premium de-

termined by multiplying the annualized

payroll amount, segregated into the proper

workers' compensation job classifications,

by the applicable manual premium rates

approved for use in North Carolina.

(10) "Self-insurer" means either a self-insured

individual employer or self-insured group of

employers.

(11) "Service company" means a business that

has contracted with an employer or group

for the purpose of pro\iding any or all ser-

vices necessary to a self-insured program.

(12) "Surplus" means all other assets a loss

fund has on hand that are in excess of all

loss reserves and actual and contingent li-

abilities, including general business expenses.

(13) "Trustees" means the governing body of

a group that is elected by its members for

stated tcnns of office to direct the adminis-

tration of a group; and whose duties include

responsibility for approving applications for

new members of such group.

(14) "Trustees' fund" means any monetary
fund under the control of the board of trus-

tees of a group that is not part of the loss

fund or that is not set aside to pay claims.

Statutory Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0602 ADMINISTRATION - ALL
SELF-INSLRERS

(a) Each self-insurer, as a condition of the au-

thority to self-insure, shall provide proof of

compliance with the provisions of this Section

regarding its ability to operate a program of self-

insurance, either through in-house capabilities or

servicing companies.

(b) Every self-insurer shall make provision for

competent persons to administer and adjust

claims.

(c) If a self-insurer contracts with a service

company, the commissioner may use the service

company as an intermediary in his dealings with

the self-insurer if the commissioner determines

that this will result in a more rapid and accurate

flow of information from the self-insurer and wiU

aid in the self-insurer's compliance with this

Section and the act.

(d) Each self-insurer contracting with a service

company shall notify the Commissioner within

30 days after the contract execution.

(e) Each self-insurer and service company shall

maintain its records in such manner to enable the

Commissioner or any designated auditor to \erify

the accuracy and completeness of all reports and
documents that are submitted to the Commis-
sioner pursuant to this Section, as well as all re-

cords and reports necessary to evaluate the

financial solvency of the self-insurer and its abil-

ity to meet its obligations under the act. Such
records shall be open to inspection by the Com-
missioner during regular business hours. Such
records shall he retained for a period of time suf-

ficient to ensure their a\ailability for audit pur-

poses. In the absence of other guidelines

established by the Commissioner, all records

shall be retained according to the schedule

adopted by the Commissioner for insurers. The

location of these records shall be within North

Carolina and shall be made known to the Com-
missioner as necessary for audit purposes. A
self-insurer may keep records outside of North
CaroUna; provided, that the self-insurer shall

make such records available for inspection within

North Carolina within ten days after any request

for inspection by the Commissioner. If a self-

insurer has contracted with a service company for

claims handling, the self-insurer's claims tiles and

related records may be located at the offices of

the service company.
(f) Each self-insurer's and service company's

records may, in the discretion of the Commis-
sioner, be audited. If ordered, such audits shall

be performed by accountants or auditors accept-
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able to the Commissioner. The cost of such au-

dits shall be borne by the party examined.

(g) After each audit conducted, a written report

shaU be prepared and submitted to the Commis-
sioner with a copy to the self-insurer or service

company, and such report shall be a part of the

annual review for compliance with this Section.

Any deficiencies cited by the audit report shaU

be considered in determining whether there may
be grounds for the suspension, revocation, or

nonrenewal of the authority to self-insure.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-145; 97-93.

.0603 EXCESS INSURANCE POLICIES - .\LL

SEI.F-INSl KERS
(a) Any excess workers' compensation insur-

ance policy required by and submitted in ac-

cordance with this Section shall be undcrvvritten

by either a licensed insurance company or an

approved surplus lines insurance company.

(b) No policy of e.xcess insurance issued or re-

neucd after October 1, 1990, shaU be recognized

by the Commissioner in considering the ability

of a self-insurer to fullill its financial obligations

under the act unless such policy provides for at

least 30 days written notice of cancellation, by
registered or certified mail, return receipt re-

quested, to the other party to the policy and to

the Commissioner.

(c) .\11 self-insurers shall file copies of any ex-

cess insurance binders, policies, certificates, or

any other evidences of coverage with the Com-
missioner upon the request of the Commissioner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-145: 97-93.

.0604 KEl'OR IS - .\I.I. SELI -INSURERS
(a) Fach self-insurer shall submit to the Com-

missioner payroll infonnation for the purpose of

tax assessment as rccjuircd by this Section. The
Rules, classifications, and rates as set forth in the

most recently approved workers' compensation

and employers' liability insurance manual gov-

erns the audits of payrolls and the adjustments

of premiums. Payroll information shall be sub-

mitted summarized by classification, bach self-

insurer shall maintain true and accurate payroll

records. Unless payroU records are maintained

in such manner that a true and accurate identifi-

cation and division by employer or group mem-
ber departments or divisions or occupational

classifications can readily be detennined for

proper rating, the entire payroll of that employer

or group member shall be presumed to be within

the classification to which the highest workers'

compensation insurance rate is applicable.

(b) Each self-in surer shall, within 90 days after

the end of each calendar year, file with the com-
missioner a statement of total workers' compen-
sation benefits paid by the self-insurer during the

reported calendar year, as well as total future li-

ability of all open claims, regardless of the dates

of accidents.

(c) Each year every self-insurer shall file state-

ments of financial condition with the Commis-
sioner. These statements must be certified

audits, except that a self-insurer may submit

noncertified audit reports if an owner, partner,

or corporate officer of the employer or group at-

tests to their being true and correct. These

statements shall, at a minimum, comprise a bal-

ance sheet, profit and loss statement, and a

statement of change in loss fund position. Non-
certified interim financial statements may be re-

quired by the Commissioner at the end of any
fiscal quarter or any calendar month whenever
he has reason to believe there has been a deteri-

oration in the financial condition of a self-insurer

that adversely affects the self-insurer's ability to

pay expected losses.

(d) Extensions may be granted by the C?om-

missioner for good cause.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-/45: 97-93.

.0605 DEPOSITS OR SL RETY BONDS - .ML
SELF-INSIRERS

(a) In addition to cash, deposit funds that are

acceptable under this Section as a security de-

posit are U.S. Go\ernment bonds, notes, or bills,

that are issued or guaranteed by the United States

of America; money market funds that are in-

vested only in U.S. Government or U.S. Gov-
ernment agency obligations that have a maturity

of one year or less; certificates of deposit issued

by duly chartered commercial banks or thrift in-

stitutions and that are fully protected b)' the

Eederal Deposit Insurance Corporation or the

Federal Savings and loan Insurance Corpo-
ration, or any successor entity; surety bonds in a

form acceptable to the Commissioner and issued

by a corporate surety; or such other in\'estments

that are appro\ed by the Commissioner.

(b) All bonds or securities that are posted as

security deposits shall be \alucd annually at

market value. In the event market value is less

than face \aluc, the Commissioner may require

that additional securities be posted by the self-

insurer. In making such determination, the

Commissioner shall consider the self-insurer's fi-

nancial condition, the amount by which market

value is less than face value, and the likelihood

that such securities will be needed to provide

benefits.
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(c) Securities deposited under this Section shall

be assigned to the Commissioner, his successors,

assigns, or trustees, pursuant to a legal document
that is acceptable to the Commissioner and that

renders such securities negotiable by the Com-
missioner. In the event a self-insurer is in de-

fault, the Commissioner may sell or collect, or

both, such amounts that will yield sufficient

funds to meet the self-insurer's obligations under

the act. Interest accruing on any negotiable se-

curity deposited under this Section shall be col-

lected and transmitted to the self-insurer provided

that the self-insurer is not in default. As used in

this Paragraph "default" means the inability or

failure to make timely payments of any awards

or other disbursements required pursuant to the

act.

(dj All deposits shall remain in the custody of

the Commissioner until all obligations of the

self-insurer have been fully discharged, at which
time the Commissioner shall return the deposits

to the self-insurer.

(e) No judgment creditor, other than a claim-

ant entitled to benefits under the act, has a riglit

to levy upon any of a self-insurer's deposits made
under this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0606 SECL RIIIKS WITHOR.WVAI. OR
EXCH.WGE - ALL SELK-INSLRK.RS

Any securities held by the Commissioner may
be exchanged or replaced by the self-insurer with

other securities of like nature and amount as long

as the self-insurer is solvent. No release shall be

effectuated until replacement securities or bonds
of an equal value have been substituted. Any
surety bond may be exchanged or replaced with

another surety bond that meets the requirements

of this Section, provided 30 days advance written

notice is given to the Commissioner. Whenever
a self-insurer ceases to self-insure or desires to

replace securities with an acceptable surety bond
or bonds, he shall so notify the Commissioner;
and may recover aU or a portion of the securities

deposited with the Commissioner upon posting

in lieu thereof an acceptable special release bond
issued by a corporate surety in an amount equal

to the total value of such securities. The special

release bond shall cover all existing liabilities un-

der the act plus an amount to cover future loss

development; and shall remain in force until such

time as all such obligations under the act have

been fully discharged.

Statutoty Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0607 APPLICATION -E.MPLO^ERS

(a) Each employer desiring to self-insure shall

make appUcation to the Commissioner for such

authority on a form prescribed by the Commis-
sioner. This apphcation shall be filed with the

Commissioner at least 60 days prior to the de-

sired effective date of self-insurer status. The
application shall contain answers to all questions

propounded and shaU be a sworn statement.

Until all requested data has been filed, an appU-

cation is incomplete.

(b) In addition to the filing of the application,

compliance with all of the following is required:

(1) The applicant shall provide the Commis-
sioner with certified statements of fman-

cial condition of current origin and the

two next most recent years including, at a

minimum, a balance sheet, a profit and
loss statement, and a statement of change

in loss fund position, prepared on the ba-

sis of generally accepted accounting prin-

ciples consistently apphed. Such
statements may be noncertified if the em-
ployer is a sole proprietorship, partner-

ship, or corporation, and if such

statements are attested to by an otTicer or

owner thereof who beneficially owns more
than 50 percent of the equity in the busi-

ness. Public employers, including pubhc
nonprofit employers, may furnish a copy
of current year budget or audit report in

lieu of a certified fmancial statement.

(2) Specific or aggregate excess insurance, or

both, with pohcy Umits and retention

amounts acceptable to the Commissioner,
may be required for each applicant.

(3) liach applicant shall satisfy the Commis-
sioner that either it has, within its own
organization, ample facilities and compe-
tent personnel to administer and adjust

claims, or shaU contract with a service

company to provide these services.

(c) Only an applicant whose modified workers'

compensation insurance premium in North
Carolina has reached one hundred thousand dol-

lars ($100,000) per year and whose total fixed

assets amount to five hundred thousand doUars

($500,000) or more is eligible to apply for au-

thority to self-insure. For good cause shown, the

Commissioner may waive the requirement on
fi.xcd assets or minimum premium volume. In

considering the financial strength and licjuidity

of the applicant to comply with the act, the

Commissioner may consider, among other

evaluative criteria, the appUcant's: organizational

structure and management background; profit

and loss history; source and reliability of financial

information; compensation loss history; number
of employees; claims administration; excess in-

5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June I, 1990 345



PROPOSED RULES

surance; access to excess insurance markets; ratio

of current assets to current liabilities; ratio of

tangible net worth to annual self-insurance re-

tention; ratio of net worth to annual compen-
sation premium; ratio of working capital to total

assets; ratio of quick assets to current liabilities;

ratio of debt to tangible net worth; ratio of total

debt to total assets; ratio of cash flow to total

debt; ratio of new sales to total assets; ratio of

new income to total assets; ratio of net income
to net sales; (if a mercantile or manufacturing

business) ratio of net credit sales to a\erage ac-

counts receivable; ratio of income, before interest

and income taxes, to annual interest expense; and

such other meaningful fmancial analyses in each

case that the Commissioner may apply.

(dj AU fmancial statement formulations shall

be provided in such detail as to facilitate appli-

cation of indicated ratio analyses.

(e) Each applicant shall execute and fde with

the Commissioner an agreement, which shall be

part of his application, wherein the applicant

agrees to fuUy comply with the act and to deposit

with the Commissioner cash, acceptable securi-

ties, or a surety bond issued by a corporate surety

that will guarantee the applicant's compliance

with this Section and with the act.

(f) .After considering the application and all

supportive data, the Commissioner shall either

grant authorization or deny authorization and
advise the applicant of deficiencies that constitute

the basis for denial. If the deticiencies are re-

solved to the Commissioner's satisfaction within

30 days of the date of Commissioner's notice,

authorization shall be granted.

(g) The applicant may. in the discretion of the

Commissioner, be granted additional time to

remedy deticiencies in its application in order to

meet the requirements of this Section. A request

for an extension of time shall be made in writing

by the applicant within 30 days after notice of

denial by the Commissioner. If the Commis-
sioner is not satisfied that all requirements of this

Section have been met. the application shall be

considered withdrawn.

(h) Upon meeting the requirements of this

Section, an applicant shall recei\e a written cer-

tilicate of authority to self-insure.

Statiuoty Authority G.S. 9^-93.

.()60S DF.POSITS: BONDS: F.XCFSS
INSLRANCt - KMI'LO^ tRS

(a) Each employer shall, on or before the ef-

fecti\'e date of operation of its plan of self-

insurance, deposit with the Commissioner, cash

or acceptable securities, or post a surety bond is-

sued by a corporate surety, in a minimum

amount of two hundred thousand dollars

(S200,000). A surety bond or security deposit in

e.xcess of two hundred thousand dollars

($200,000) may be required by the Commissioner
dejTending on the fmancial status of the employer
or if the employer has experienced a deterioration

in financial condition.

(b) Each employer, except a public employer,

with a net worth of at least twentv-five million

doUars ($25,000,000) and total fixed assets m
North Carolina of at least three hundred rruUion

dollars ($300,000,000) shall maintain specific ex-

cess insurance unless the Commissioner, in his

discretion, waives this requirement. Such specific

e.xcess insurance sh;dl be in a limit of at least two
million dollars ($2,000,000). Higher limits may
be required for an employer with a higher nsk of

multiple injuries from a single occurrence. The
retention underlying specific excess pohcies shall

be the lowest retention generally available for

emplo\'ers of similar size and exposure, but may.
in the Commissioner's discretion, be established

at higher le\els consistent with the employer's

claims experience and financial condition.

(c) Each employer, except a public employer,

with either a net worth of less than twenty-five

million ($25,000,000) or total fixed assets in

North Carolina of less than three hundred
million dollars ($300,000,000), shall mamtam ag-

gregate excess insurance unless the Commis-
sioner in his discretion wai\-es this requirement.

The amount of such insurance and the self-

insurance retention shall be subject to determi-

nation by and appro\'al of the Commissioner.

Statuton Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0609 REPORTS - EMPLOYERS
(a) A report may be submitted on other than

a prescribed form only with the prior appro\al

of the Commissioner. The deadlines for filing

of prescribed reports are as provided in this Sec-

tion. Reports other than those with prescribed

due dates shall be tiled at such times that the

Commissioner establishes and. except reports re-

lated to financial impairment, shall not be re-

quired to be filed w ithout 30 days prior written

notice from the Commissioner.

(b) Copies of all tinal payroll reports showing

pavroUs bv appropnate classification shall be

filed.

(c) Each empkn er shall prompth report to the

Commissioner changes in the names and ad-

dresses of the businesses it self-insures or intends

to self-insure, as well as changes in its business

structure, including its di\isions. subsidiaries, and

internal organization. .-Vny such change shall be

reported in writing to the Commissioner within
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ten days after the effective date of the change.

Appropriate endorsements to surety bonds or

excess insurance policies, or both, that specify

that any additional named insureds shall be filed

within 90 days of the effective date of the change.

Bonds of coverages or cover notes providing for

at least 90 days coverage shall be filed within 30

days after the effective date of the change.

(d) Each employer shall submit a statement of

fmancial condition meeting the criteria estab-

lished in this Section within 120 days following

the close of its fiscal year.

(e) Within 60 days of the evaluation date of the

losses for a coverage period, each employer shall

submit an annual report of outstanding workers'

compensation liabilities. Such report shall show
liabilities, excess carrier and other qualifying

credits, if any, and net retained liabilities.

(f) All employers shall maintain such payroll

records that are necessary to complete and verify

the accuracy of the annual self-insurers payroU
report.

(g) .An employer that does not have the

record-keeping capability required by this Section

on October 1, 1990, shall comply with this Sec-

tion within one year thereafter.

(h) Summary loss reports formatted by classi-

fications as prescribed in the unit statistical plan

of the principal workers' compensation rating

organization in North C'arolina shall be filed as

required by the Commissioner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-2-145; 97-93.

.0610 APPLIC.VnON - GROLl'S
(a) Application may be made to provide

workers' compensation coverage for a group in

accordance with the terms of an indemnity

agreement. Application shall be made to the

Commissioner for such privilege on forms pre-

scribed by the Commissioner and shall be filed

with the Commissioner at least 60 days prior to

the desired effective date of self-insured status.

The application shall contain answers to all

questions propounded and shall be a sworn
statement. Until all requested data has been
filed, an apphcation is incomplete.

(b) The application shall include without limi-

tation to the foUowing:

(1) a copy of the bylaws of the proposed

group;

(2) an individual application of each member
of the group applying for coverage in the

group on the inception date of the group;

(3) a current certified financial statement of

each member, including at a minimum, a

balance sheet, a profit and loss statement,

a statement of change in loss fund posi-

tion, and a statement showing the com-
bined net worth of all members applying

for coverage on the inception date of the

group. Such combined net worth shall

be an amount that establishes the fmancial

strength and liquidity of the businesses.

Pubhc groups and nonprofit groups may
furnish a copy of a current year budget or

audit report in lieu of a certified fmancial

statement;

(4) evidence of the financial ability of the

group to meet its obligations under the

act;

(5) a composite listing of the estimated

standard premium to be developed for

each member indi\ idually and in total as

a group. Payroll data for each of the three

preceding years shall be furnished by risk

classification;

(6) documented agreement by each member
to pay to the group not less than 25 per-

cent of estimated annual manual premium
not later than the initial day of coverage

afforded by the group;

(7) a confirmation of any required excess in-

surance underwritten by an authorized

insurer in limits that are acceptable to the

Commissioner;

(8) designation of the initial trustees or ad-

ministrator, or both;

(9) proof of a fidelity bond, issued by an au-

thorized insurer, covering the group ad-

ministrator in a form and an amount
acceptable to the Commissioner;

(10) an indemnity agreement jointly and se-

\erally binding the group and each mem-
ber thereof to comply with the provisions

of the act and pay obligations imposed by
the act, which shall conform to an

indemnity agreement prescribed by the

Commissioner;

(11) a breakdown of all projected administra-

ti\e expenses for the fund year in dollar

amount and as a percentage of the esti-

mated annual manual premium;

(12) proof pro\idcd b^' the trustees, satisfac-

tory' to the Commissioner, that the annual

gross premiums of the group will be not

less than one hundred thousand dollars

($100,000);

(13) proof, satisfactory to tlic Crommissioner,

that either the applicant has within its

own organization ample facilities and

competent personnel to service its own
program with respect to underwriting

matters, claims adjusting, and industrial

safety engineeiing; or that the applicant

will contract with a service company to
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provide these services and the reporting

of loss data to the Commissioner. If any

plan servicing is to be done by the appli-

cant, biographies of those persons who
will be responsible for or performing such

functions shall be submitted to the Com-
missioner with the application;

(14) a letter of assent stipulating the appli-

cant's acceptance of membership status in

the North Carolina Self- Insurance Guar-

anty Association under Article 4 of the

act.

(c) After considering the application and all

supportive data, the Commissioner shall either

grant authorization or deny authorization and

inform the applicant of deficiencies that consti-

tute the basis for denial. If the deficiencies are

resolved to the Commissioner's satisfaction

within 30 days of the Commissioner's notice,

authoriy.ation shall be granted to the appUcant.

(d) The applicant may, in the discretion of the

Commissioner, be granted additional time to

remedy the deficiencies in its application in order

to meet the requirements of this Section. A re-

quest for an extension of time shall be made in

writing by the appUcant within 30 days after no-

tice of denial by the Commissioner. If the

Commissioner is not satisfied that all require-

ments of this Section have been met, the appli-

cation shall be considered withdrawn.

(e) Upon meeting the requirements of this

Section, the applicant shall recei\e a written cer-

tificate of authority to self-insure.

Staiutoiy Authority G.S. 5S-2-I45; 9Z-93.

.061 1 DEPOSITS: BONDS: KXCESS
INSl RANCK - (;R0LPS

(a) Each group shall deposit with the Com-
missioner, not later than the effective date of

coverage, cash or acceptable securities, or post a

surety bond issued by a corporate surety, in a

minimum amount of four hundred thousand
dollars ($400,000). A surety bond or security

deposit in excess of four hundred thousand dol-

lars ($400,000) may be required by the Commis-
sioner if he determines that the group has

experienced a deterioration in financial condition.

(b) The amount of the security' deposit or bond
required shall be detemuned at least annually by
the Commissioner based on data submitted by

the group to the Commissioner.

(c) Each group shall maintain specific excess

insurance with a limit of at least two million

dollars ($2,000,000). Groups comprising busi-

nesses with high risks of multiple injuries from

single occurrences may be required b\' the Com-
missioner to maintain higher limits. \\'ith respect

to specific excess insurance, a group's retention

shall be the lowest retention generally available

for groups with similar exposures and annual

premium; but the Commissioner may, in his

discretion, require higher levels consistent with

the group's claims experience and fmancial con-

dition.

(d) Each group shall maintain aggregate excess

insurance; unless a security deposit acceptable to

the Commissioner is made or unless unencum-
bered surplus or additional loss funds in an
amount and asset form acceptable to the Com-
missioner is held by the group. The aggregate

excess insurance limit and agcregate retention for

a group must be acceptable to the Commis-
sioner.

Statutory Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0612 REPORTS - GKOL PS

(a) Reports as to fmancial condition, payroll

records, co\erage. accident experience, compen-
sation payments, and other reports shall be filed

with the Commissioner as follows:

(1) Each group shall file with the Commis-
sioner within 120 days after the close of

the fund year a statement of financial

condition, which statement shall include

a report of the outstanding workers' com-
pensation liabilities of the group, mclud-

ing details of the amount and source of

all monies recoverable from any third

party. Financial statements shall, at a

minimum, comprise a balance sheet, a

profit and loss statement, a statement of

change in group position, and a listing of

any accounts that are delinquent by more
than 90 days.

(2) The Commissioner may require quarterly

or monthly financial disclosures of a sim-

ilar nature from individual members of a

group or of the group if he has reason to

beUeve that there has been a deterioration

in the financial condition of the group or

of any of the group's members that ad-

\crsch- affects the group's ability to pay

expected losses.

(3) Summan.' loss reports, formatted by clas-

sifications as prescribed in the unit statis-

tical plan of the principal workers'

compensation rating organization in

North Carohna, shall be filed as required

by the Commissioner.

(4) Properly classified and audited pa\ rolls on
each group member shall be submitted to

the Commissioner within 60 days after the

evaluation date of the summars' loss in-
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formation required in Paragraph (a)(3) of

this Rule.

(5) Quarterly status reports that accurately

reflect the financial condition of each open
fund year, if required, shall be filed with

the Commissioner within 45 days after the

close of each fund year quarter and signed

by the chairman of the trustees or by the

fund administrator. A fund year shall be

considered open as long as one claim re-

mains outstanding; but in any event shall

remain open not less than three years

from the beginning of the fund year. A
listing of all dehnquent accounts shall be

furnished to the Commissioner as part of

this report.

(b) The failure or refusal of an\' group to file

the reports specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule

within the time limits prescribed h\ this Section

or by any pro\'ision of the act may be grounds

for revocation, suspension, or nonrenewal of the

authority to sell-insure.

(c) Every group member sh;iU notify the group

to which it belongs of an\' changes in the names,

addresses, structure, or composition of any busi-

nesses or subsidiaries that participate in the

group. Ever\' group member shall notify the

group of any additions or deletions of the busi-

nesses or subsidiaries participating in the group,

including changes in majonty ownership interest

in any business or subsidiary that is covered or

that will be co\'crcd by the group. All such

changes shall be reported to the group within ten

days after the cffecti\e date of the change. I'pon

receipt of such notice, each group shall notify the

Commissioner, in writing, of such reported

changes.

(d) ,\ny group that does not have the record-

keeping capability required b\' this Section on
October 1, l'^90, must be in compliance with tliis

Section within ')() da\s thereafter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-2-I45; 97-93.

.0613 (;K0LI' KKSPONSIBIIJTIES
(a) ihe trustees of each gi'oup shall cause to

be adopted a set of bylaws or shall enter into a

trust agreement that governs the operation of the

group. fhese bylaws or taist agreement shall

contain, but not be limited to, the following

subjects:

(1) qualifications for group membership, in-

cluding underwnting considerations;

(2) the method for selecting the trustees, in-

cluding the term of office;

(-1) the method for amending the bylaws and
plan of operation;

(4) the method for cstabUshing and maintain-

ing the group, which has previously been
approved by the Commissioner in writing.

(b) Each group shall file a copy of the current

bylaws, trust agreement, and required written

policies with the Commissioner. Any changes in

bylaws, trust agreement, or written policies shall

be filed with the Commissioner no later than 30

days prior to the date of becoming effective. The
Commissioner may order the group to rescind

or revoke an> bylaw or policy if it is in violation

of this Section or any other applicable law or

administrative rule.

(c) The majority of such trustees must be

members of the group, but a trustee shall not be
an owner, officer, or employee of a senice com-
pany. Trustees may delegate ministerial author-

ity for membership approval to such person as

they select, pro\ided that person is not an owner,

officer, or employee of any service company.

Statutorj- Authority G.S. 97-93.

.0614 .ADMISSION WD TERMINATION OK
GROLP MEMRERS

(a) After the inception date of a group, pro-

spective new members of a group shall submit

an application for membership to the trustees or

the group administrator, on a fonn approved or

prescribed by the Commissioner. The trustees

or administrator ma\' appro\e the application for

membership pursuant to the bylaws of the group.

The application for membership shall then be

filed with the Commissioner. Membership shall

take effect after appro\al by the Commissioner.
Members shall receive a certificate of coverage

from the trustees on a fonn acceptable to the

Commissioner.

(b) Individual members may elect to tenninate

their participation in a group and may be subject

to cancellation by the group pursuant to the by-

laws of the group. However, such terminaticm

or canceUation shall not take place for at least ten

days after the Commissioner has received notice

of the termination or cancellation. Not less than

30 days' notice shall be gis'en to a member prior

to any cancellation by the group.

Statutory Authority G.S. 97-93.

n ILK I5A - DEPARIMKN I OF
ENMRONMINI, FIK \1 111, AND

NAil RAL RESOIRC 1 S

lyoticc /.t hereby given in accordance with G.S.

/SOB-/ 2 i/hit ihc .Xorth Carohna Wildlife /\e-
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sources Commission intends to amend nile(s)

cited as I5A NCAC IOC .0305.

1 he proposed effecthr date of this action is No-

vember /, J 990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 7:00

p.m. on Julv 5, 1990 at Halifax Comtnunity Col-

lege, Weldon, .\C 2^339.

V_ omincnt Procedures: Interested persons may
present their views either orally or in writing at the

hearing. In addition, the record of hearing will

be open for receipt of written commentsfrom June

21. 1990 to .luly 20. 1990. Such written comments
must be delivered or mailed to the ,\'.C. Wildlife

Resources Commission. 512 .V. Salisbuty .Street,

Raleigh. .\C 2761 1.

C flAI'lKR 10 - WII Dl II R RKSOLRCKS AM)
\VA IKR SAFtTV

SI UCIIAnRR IOC - INLAND I ISIIING
RKGLLATIONS

SECTION .0300 - GAME EISII

.0305 OPEN SEASONS: CREEL AND SIZE
I IMIIS

(a) Generally. Subject to the exceptions listed

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the open seasons

and creel and size limits are as indicated in the

followins table:

GAMI: IISIII-S

Mountain Trout

(,\11 Species)

DAII VCRFEL
L1MHS

(excptn. 3)

Muskellunge

and Tiger Musky

Chain Pickerel

(Jack)

Smallmouth
and Spotted

\\'hite Bass

Sea Trout (Spot-

ted or Speckled)

I lounder

Red drum (channel

bass, red fish,

puppy drum)

Striped Bass

and their hybrids

(Morone II_\brids)

Kokanee Sabnon

Panfishcs

NONGAME FISHES

MINIMTM
SIZE EEMHS

None
(excptn. 3)

None
(excptn. ll

30 in.

None

None
(excptn. 9)

(excptn. 8

and 10)

(excptn. 8

and 10)

25

(excptn. 1)

None

None

None

8 aggregate

(exc. 1 and 6)

None
(excptn. 5)

None

OPEN SEASON
(EXCPTN. 2)

All vear, except

.March 1 to 12
hr. before

sunrise on
first Saturday

in .April

(excptns. 2 and 3)

A I I ^ EAR

.\1 I M .\R

.\I I ^'E.\R

\\'alle\e

(excptn. 9

and 10

1

15 in. .ME \ E.\R

Sanger

Black Bass:

Larsemouth

14 m.

(excptns. 4,

Sand llj

,M I VT.AR
(excptn. 13)
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12 in.

(excptns. 4,

Sand 11)

None

12 in.

13 in.

14 in.

16 in.

(exc. 1 and 12)

None

None

None

(b) Exceptions

ALL YEAR

ALL YEAR

ALL YEAR

ALL YEAR
ALL YEAR

ALL YEAR
(excptn. 6}

ALL YEAR

ALL YEAR
(excptn. 5)

ALL YEAR
(e.xcptn. 7)

(6) In the inland fishing waters of the coastal

rivers and their tributaries extending up-

stream to the first impoundment, or to the

headwaters, if unimpounded, the daily

creel limit for striped bass and their hy-

brids is three fish and no striped bass be-

tween the lenirths of 22 inches and 27

inches, both inclusive, mi\\ be retained

from April
J_

ihrcnigh Ma\' 3_L hi the

Roanoke Ri\cr and it's tributaries vip-

stream to the dam at Roanoke Rapids,

no striped bass may be retained from Mav
10 to March 31.

Statutory Authoritv G.S.

113-304; 113-305.

113-134: 113-292:

TITLE 16 DEPARTMENT OE PL BLIC
EDUCATION

lyotice is hereby gh-en in accordance with G.S.

JSOB- J2 that the State Board of Education in-

tends to amend rules cited as 16 iXCAC 6C .0403.

J he proposed effecthe date of this action is Oc-
tober I. 1990.

1 lie public hearing will be conducted at 3:00

p.m. on July 5. 1990 at Third Floor Board Room.

Education Building. 1 16 West Edenton Street,

Raleigh, NC 27603-1712.

y^omment Procedures: Any interested person
may present v/cvt'5 and comments either in writing

prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing.

CHAPTER 6 - ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDLCATION

SLBCIIAI'I ER 6C - I'ERSONNEL

SECTION .0400 - LEAVE

.0403 SLBSTITL'TES
(a) LEAs shall employ all substitutes deemed

necessary for the efficient operation of the unit.

The superintendent determines the need to em-
ploy a substitute for a non-teaching assistant

principal, principal or supervisor.

(b) The period of substitution is short-term if

it includes 5 or less consecutive days in the same
position. Periods in excess of five days are

long-tcnn.

(trf 44h* I T>,\ f«T*¥ H€t+ pay teacher aides as

i.uh -jtitute teachers.

ftif (c| LEAs employ substitute teachers in units

of half or whole days. The LEA treats responsi-

bilities w hich require less than half a day as a half

day of employment.

{&f (d| The LEA pays substitutes as follows:

(1) A person who substitutes for a non-
teaching assistant principal, principal or

supervisor is paid from local funds.

(2) L'nlcss recjuircd to be otherwise, a substi-

tute for the regular teacher is paid from
the same source of funds as the regular

teacher is paid.

fP} (c) Absences not co\-ered in Rule .0404 re-

quire the appropriate amount of substitute

teacher pay to be deducted from the regular

teacher's salary. These absences include ex-

tended sick leave as explained in Paragraph f^
(£l of this Rule, personal leave and in-state

meetings of no longer than 3 days or out-of-state

meetings of no longer than 3 days, and not to

exceed a total of 10 days within the school year,

for professional responsibilities and attendance

at professional meetings. The superintendent

must approve these absences. The time limita-

tions of this Rule do not apply to a person who
is the local or district president or president-elect

or a state or national officer of an educational

professional organization, or to a person selected

as National Teacher of the \'ear from this state.

fe4 (1} A teacher may be absent due to personal

illness for up to 20 teaching days in excess of ac-

cumulated sick leave. The superintendent may

5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June I, 1990 351



PROPOSED RULES

require a doctor's certificate or other acceptable

proof of the reason for the absence.

f4*^ (g] Teachers earn personal leave at the rate

of one-half day for e\er\- two and one-half

months .20 days for full month of employment

and may accumulate five personal leave days.

Teachers may transfer these days between LEAs.
A teacher who requests personal leave at least

fi\e days in advance of the date desired is not re-

quired to gi\'e a reason for the leave. No teacher

may take personal leave on the fu'st da\- teachers

are required to report for the school year, re-

quired teacher workdays, the day before or the

day after holidays or scheduled vacation days,

except as approved by the principal. The LEA
shall credit a teacher who has separated from

ser\ice and is re-emploscd within 60 months
from the date of separation with all personal

leave, up to the five-day maximum, accumulated

at the time of separation. The LEA may not

advance personal leave be\ond that which a

teacher earns. Teachers may take personal leave

in units of one-half or w hole days.

f+f (h) If the regular teacher vacates a teaching

position during the school year, that teacher re-

ceives the regular compensation for the actual

days employed during the current month, ad-

justed for ONcrdrawn leave or unpaid longevity

pay. If the LEA employs an interim teacher to

fill the vacancy until a regular teacher is available,

the LEA pays the interim teacher as foUows:

(1) For ser\'ice of no more than 10 teaching

days, the person is paid as a substitute.

(2) Tor service in excess of 10 teaching days,

the person is paid on the basis of the per-

son's certified salary rating. The person

may elect to be paid as a substitute.

Statutoiy Authority G.S. I I5C-I2(S).

THLE 20 - DEPAR IMENT OE ST.ATE
IREASLRER

lyoticc is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 1 2 that the State Treasurer intends to

amend rule cited as 20 SCiC IG .0104. The

Local Governtfient Commission intends to adopt

tides cited as 20 .\C,IC 3 .1001 - .1010. The

Solid ]\'aste .Management Capital Projects Fi-

nancing .Igencv intends to adopt rules cited as 20

.\CAC 10 .o'lOl - .0/02. .0201 - .0202, .0301.

,0401 - .0403. .0501 - .0502.

Thhe proposed effective date of these actions are

October /, 1990.'

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 17, 1990 at Conference Room, Room
100, /{Ihemarle Building. 325 Sorth Salisbury

Street, Raleigh. Sorth Carolina 27603-/388.

(comment Procedures: .4 written copv of' the

comments will be required of all per.wns wishing

to speak at the Public //earing. Tlie hearing pe-

riod will remain open for written comments until

./u/y /9, /990. Written comments should be sent

to the A PA Coordinator at t/ie address above.

CIIAPTKR 1 - DFPAKrMKMAL RL I.F.S

SI IKIIAITF.K \G - INN KSIMKM I'K()(;RAM

SUCTION .0100 - CKNKR \l. l'RO\ ISIONS

.0104 .NCCOLNTING FOR F.XCII.VNGES
(b) .Aji exchange shall be considered to be the

disposition of one fixed income investment secu-

nt\' and the reinvestment of the proceeds of that

sale in an equal par value of another fixed income
investment security with both transactions hav-

ing the same trade date. Equal par value means
that the difference in par value between the in-

coming and outgoing securities at the time the

transaction is aizreed to is less than ihirlOL-n

tliou 'iund dolliir -j ('^L'i.OOO). or equal to one
percent of the jw value of the outuoing
security (ies).

Statutory Authority G.S. 147-69.3.

CII.VrrtR 3 - LOCAL (;0\ KRNMKNT
COMMISSION

SECTION .1000 - KMDFN riAR\ IIFARINC ON
RFFl NOINC; BONDS

.1001 DEFINITIONS
The words and phrases in this Section of the

administrative rules will have the same meaiiimis

as set forth in G.S. 159-1 and G.S. 159B-3.

Statutory Authority G.S. /59-3{f): /59B-25ib).

.1002 WHO MA^ RFQl EST A IIE.VRING

.Any municipality or joint agency that wishes to

issue refunding bonds pursuant to G.S.

159B-25(b) and meets the time limits set forth in

that subsection of the statute mav reque>t an

evidentiary hearing before the Local Government
Commission.

Statutoiy Authority G.S. 159-3 ffI: /59B-25ib).

.1003 PETITION FOR IIE.VRING
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The municipality or joint agency shall file a pe-

tition with the Secretary of the Local Govern-

ment Commission setting forth the facts upon
which its desire to issue refunding bonds is based

and any legal arguments supporting its view that

reissuance is proper. Ihe municipality or joint

agency should mail one original and ten copies

of the petition to the office of the Secretary of the

Local Government Commission at 325 North
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603.

No filing fee is required.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59-3(f); l59B-25(h).

.1004 FORM FOR FILING
The petition siiall be in such form as is generally

used m a legal proceeding.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59-3(f): l59B-25{b).

.1005 MRARING OFFICER
The State Treasurer shall designate the hearing

officer responsible for the conduct of the

evidentian, hearing and for making a recommen-
dation for decision to the Local Go\emment
Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59-3(f); 159B-25(h).

.1006 TIME FOR THE HEARING
The evidentiary heanng sh:ill be scheduled by

the hearing officer within 30 days of the receipt

by the Secrctar\' of the Local Go\emment
Commission of a petition requesting the hearing.

Statutory Authority G.S. J59-3ifj; J59B-:5ib).

.1007 NOTICE OF HE.\R1NG
The hearing officer shall gi\e notice by certified

mail of the time, date and place of the hearing to

the petitioner and its member municipalities at

least 15 days prior thereto.

Slatutoiy Authority G.S. I59-3(f); J59B-25(bJ.

.1008 CONDUCT OF THE HE.^RING
(a) If a party or interested person fails to appear

after notice was gi\'en, the hearing officer may
proceed with the heanng and make its decision

m the absence of the party or interested person.

(b) The petitioner shall be given an opportu-

nity to present arguments on matters of law and
policy and an opportunity to present e\idencc

on matters of fact as they relate to the issues set

forth in Rule .1009 of this Section.

(c) The staff for the Local Govcnimcnt Com-
mission shall be given an opportunity, if they so

request in writing at least ten days before the

scheduled hearing date, to present arguments on
matters of law and policy and an opportunity to

present evidence on matters of fact as they relate

to the issues set forth in Rule .1009 of this Sec-

tion. A copy of any written request from the

staff must be ser\ed upon the petitioner and any
parties known to have a direct interest in the

hearing at the time the request is made.
(d) The rules of evidence for the hearing shaU

be as set forth in G.S. 150B-29.

(e) Official notice may be taken of all facts of

which judicial notice maybe taken and of other

facts within the specialized knowledge of the

hearing officer.

(f) The hearing officer is authorized to issue

subpoenas upon his own motion or upon \v ritten

request.

(g) j\n infonnal record containing in substance

the evidence, contentions and arguments pre-

sented at the hearing shall be made. A verbatim

transcript of the hearing may be ret]uested by the

petitioner, a participating party or the staff to the

Commission. The costs of the production of the

origmal verbatim transcript shall be borne by the

party requesting it.

(h) The hearing officer is authorized to control

the hearing, its length, the order of the presenta-

tion of evidence and arguments and to require the

submission of proposed findings and conclusions.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59-3(f); /39B-25(b).

.1009 RECOMMENDED DECISION
The hearing officer shall issue a recommended

decision in writing containing findings and con-

clusions as required under Ci.S. 159n-25(b). The
recommended decision shall be issued within ten

days of the completion of the hearing or the

preparation of a verbatim transcript, whichever

occurs last; and shall be presented promptly to

the Local Government Commission.

Statutoty Authority G.S. /59-3(f): l59B-25(b).

.1010 FINAL DECISION
(a) The Secretary shall call a meeting of the

Local Govermnent Commission or its Lxecutive

Committee within ten days of the receipt of the

recommended decision and the review from the

hearing officer.

(b) A copy of the final decision shall be served

upon the petitioner, and all other parties partic-

ipating in the hearing by certified mail or per-

sonal sen.'ice.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59-3(f): J59B-25(b).
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CIIAPI KK 10 - SOI. in WASTE MANAGEMENT
CAIMI Al. PROJKdS FINANCING AGENCY

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROMSIONS

.0101 ORGANIZATION AND IT NCIIONS
(a) The Solid Waste \Tanagcmcnt Capital

Projects Financing Agency operates within the

Department of State Treasurer and is the state

agency charged with the implementation of

Chapter 15')I of the General Statutes of North

Carolina for the Solid Waste Management Foan
Program.

(b) The following is general infonnation about

the /\genc\":

(1) The Administrati\e Officer is the .\dmm-
istrator of the /Vgency;

(2) The mailing address is .^25 North Salisbury

Street. Raleigh, North Carolina

27603-1388: and""

(3) The office is located in the Albemarle

Building, 325 North Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, North Carolina.

(c) The staff of the Solid Waste Management
Capital Projects Financing Agency is pro\ided

by the State and Local Gosemment Finance Di-

vision of the Department of the State Treasurer.

Stannoiy Auihority G.S. I50l-4ih): /50I-5(Sj.

.0102 OKI INinONS
The words and phrases defined in this Rule will

ha\e the meanings indicated when used in this

Chapter, unless the conte.\t clearly requires an-

other meaning:

(1) ".Agency" is the Solid Waste .Management
Capital Projects Financing .Agency and the

Board of [directors thereof.

(2) "Administrator" is the .Administrator of the

.Agency and is the Secretap,- Treasurer of the

Agency.

(3) "Di\'ision" means the Division of Solid

Waste Management of the Department of

Environment, Health, and Natural Re-
sources.

(4) ".Applicant" means a unit of go\eniment
as defined in Ci.S. I.^'^I.

Statutotj Authority G.S. 1501-3: I5QI-5(S).

SECnON .0200 - K( I E-\IAKING

.0201 Rl IE-MAKING I'ROC EDI RES
(a) 21) NCAC IF' .0100 shall govern the is.su-

ance of rules by the Agency.

(b) .AH correspondence shall be addressed to

the .Administrator at the mailing address of the

AuencN

.

Statutory A itthority

I59l-I0(b)(5).

G.S. 1591-5(14);

.0202 DECLARATORY RULES
(a) 20 NCAC IF .0200 shaU govern the issu-

ance of declaratory rules by the Agency.

(b) All correspondence shaU be addressed to

the Administrator at the mailing address of the

Agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1591-5(14).

SECTION .0300 - CONTESTED CASES

.0.^01 CONTESTED CASE PROCEDURES
(a) 20 NCAC IF .0300 shall govern the

hearings and decisions in contested cases.

(b) /Ml correspondence shall be directed to the

Administrator at the mailing address of the

.Agency.

Statutory- Authority G.S. l59I-5{ 14).

SECTION .0400 - APPRO\ .\L OF
APPLIC.MIONS

.0401 PRELIMINARY CONFERENCE
Fach apphcani shall request an infonnal pre-

liminary conference with the .Administrator prior

to submitting an appUcation to the Division in

order to discuss the financial feasibility of the

project. The Administrator may invite the stall

of the Local GoNcmment Commission to partic-

ipate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1591-5(14).

.0402 APPLICATION FOR LO.\N
(a) No final deternunation of financial eligibil-

ity shall be made by the Agency until all of the

following have been received by the Administra-

tor:

( 1

)

A copy of the application for the project

submitted under G.S. 159-9;

(2) The determination of the Division that the

applicant is eligible under G.S. 15')I-10:

(3) I'he project priority established by the

Disision under CJ.S. 1591-11; and

(4) .Any additional financial data requested by
the Administrator.

(b) L'pon receipt of the application by the

.Agency the .Administrator may require the

petitioner to attend an infonnal conference with

the statf of the .Agency. I he .Administrator may
require the filing of such additional information

as he may consider \aluable to the consideration

of the issues. The .Administrator ma\' in\ite the

staff of the Focal C}o\ernment Commission to
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the informal conference to discuss financing of

the project.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1591-9; 1591-10;

1591- 12.

.0403 AMENDMENT OF PRIOR APPROVALS
(a) The applicant may make an application to

amend a prior fmancial approval by the Agency,

provided said application must be received prior

to the Agency's incurring an obligation for the

purpose of funding the applicant's project.

(b) An application to amend prior approvals

shall be submitted in the same manner as re-

quired for initial approval including such other

additional items as the Agency may request.

(c) When the Agency proposes an amendment,
it shall notify the applicant promptly.

Statutoiy Authority G.S.

(d).

1591-11 (d); 1591-12

SECTION .0500 - FEES

.0501 COIJ.ECTION OF FEES
(a) Application fees and other dctcmiinable

costs shall be payable prior to final approval or

participation by the Agency.

(b) Annual fees, shall be payable as determined

by the /Vgency.

Stalutoty Authority G.S. 1591-5(7).

.0502 FEES AND EXPENSES
(a) A non-refundable fee is to be submitted

with the application for a loan from Agency of

(b) A non-refundable fee is to be submitted
with the application for an amendment of a prior

approval of $ .

(c) An annual fee of $ per year.

(d) All direct costs of the Agency, shall be re-

imbursed to the Agency by the applicant.

(e) The Agency shall not incur extraordinary

expenses without prior agreement of the unit to

reimburse the Agency for all related costs.

Slaiutoiy Authority G.S. 1591-5(7).

TITI i: 21 - OCCLPATIONAL LICEXSPsG
BOARDS

ly oticc is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

150B-I2 that the N.C. Stale Board of Cosmetic

Art E.xaminers intends to amend rules cited as 21

NCAC 141 .0304; 14.] .0206 and adopt ndc cited

as 2! NCAC I4J .0107.

1 he proposed effective dale of this action is Oc-
tober 1. 1990.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on July 9. 1990 at .V.C. State Board of Cos-

metic Art Examiners' Office, 4101 Capital Blvd.,

Suite II. Raleigh. N.C. 27604.

\^ omment Procedures: Written comments
and/or requests for information or copies of the

above rules may be sent to Vicky R. Goudie,
Executive Secretary, N.C. State Board of Cos-
metic Art Examiners, 4101 Capital Blvd., Suite

11, Raleigh, N.C. 27604. Written and oral com-
ments (for no more than ten minutes) on these

ndes may be presented at the hearing. Notice

should be sent to .Mrs. Goudie at least three days
prior to the hearing, ifyou desire to speak.

CHAPTER 14 - BOARD OF COSMETIC ART
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 141 - OPER.VTIONS OF
SCHOOLS OF COSMEIIC .\RT

SECTION .0.100 - CLASSROOMS

.0.104 ( LASSROOM WORK
(a) /Ml of the work outlined in the Beginners'

Department and the Advanced Department shall

be given to the students through practical dem-
onstrations and recitations.

(b) A4- k' ai i t t+ve recilatu)n '. pef '
tvook t+f t+tw liour

eiich i .huU be givon to r41 j.ludijnt !. . I'i\e hours
of recitations shall be L:i\en to full-time students

per wee Two and one-hall hours of recitation

'hall be gi\'en to part-time students per week.

(c) Recitations shall include lectures, questions

and answers on textbooks, and written examina-
tions.

(d) Ml papers written shall be carefuUy graded

and returned to the students in order that the

students may see their errors.

Statutory Authority G.S. 88-23.

SLBCHAPIER 14J - CLRRICLLLM

SECriON .0100 - HE(;iNNERS' DEPARIMEN

T

.0107 .\PPRO\ED FIELD IRII'S

Cosmetology Educational field Trips include

the following activities:

(1) Beauty Shops,

(2) Cosmetology Con\'entions,

(3) Competition Trainine,

(4) Other Schools,

(5) State Board Office and Archi\cs Museum,
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(6) Supply Houses,

(7) College or Career Day at School,

(8) I'ashion Shows,

(9) Rest Homes/Nursing Homes,

(10) Hospitals,

(11) 1-uneral Homes (Desairology).

An instructor must be present during these edu-

cational field trips, for credit to be given to stu-

dent, with a ratio of one instructor per 20

students present.

Slatutory Authority G.S. SS-23.

SKCriON .0200 - Al)\\\( KO DKI'AKTMRNT

.0206 KQl II'MFM IN ADN ANTK.D
DKI'AKIMKM

The ad\anced department must be equipped

with the following minimum equipment fof uvc'iy

^ 'itudont '. in the department:

(1) four manicure tables and stools,

(2) eighteen dryers and chairs,

(3) eight shampoo bowls and chairs,

(4) three heating caps or one conditioning ma-
chine,

(5) thirty dressing tables and styling chairs,

(6) three facial chairs,

(7) three marcel heaters.

(8) three marcel irons, and

(9) sufficient cold wa\'c rods for each student

enrolled in the department.

Slatutory Authority G.S. <SS-23.

Nooticc is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the State Board of Examiners of
Electrical Contractors intends to adopt rules cited

as 21 NCAC ISB .1101 - .1108.

I he proposed effecti\'e date of this action is Oc-

tober 1. IQQO.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:30

a.m. on Julv 12, 1990 at State Board of Examin-
ers of Electrical Contractors. 1200 front Street,

Suite 105, Raleigh. AC 27609.

Co'Ommenl Procedures: Any person interested in

these n/les may present oral comments relevant to

the actions proposed at the public hearing or de-

liver written comments to the Stale Board of Ex-

aminers of Electrical Contractors, 1200 front

Street, Suite 105, Raleigh, A'C 27609. not later

than 9 a.m. on ./ulv 12. 1990.

CHAPTFR 18 - BOARD OF KXAMINKRS OF
KLECIRICAL CONTRACIORS

SI IJCIIAPTFR ISB - BOARD'S RILKS FOR
TIIF IMPI KMKNTATION OF THE

FI.Ftl RICAL ( OMRACriNC LICENSING ACT

SECTION .1 100 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

.1101 CONIINI ING FDl CAIION
REQl IREMENIS FOR LISPED
Ql ALIFIED INDIMDl ALS

(a) Iiffcctive .July 1, 1991, every listed qualified

individual, including listed qualified indi\iduals

pursuant to G.S. 87-50, shall complete six con-

tact hours of approved continuing education for

each license period (July 1 - .June 30j to renew
the license on which he is currently listed, for the

next license period, except as follows:

(1) Individuals becoming qualified by exam-
ination during the 12 month period im-
mediately preceding the license renewal

date:

(2) Qualified indi\iduals unable to fulfill the

required number of hours as the result of

illness or undue hardship as certified in

writing by the attending physician or

other responsible person and the wai\er

of this requirement as specifically ap-

proved by the Board: or

(3) Approved instructors actually presenting

courses in accordance with this Section.

(b) The Board approves course sponsors and
instructors, not particular courses, except as pro-

vided in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A course

pro\ided by an appro\ed sponsor is presumed to

meet the requirements as set forth in these Rules.

Because of differences in the electrical contracting

industry and indi\idual needs of listed qualified

individuals, each (.jualified individual must exer-

cise judgment in selecting courses for which
continuing education is claimed and in choosing

only those courses that will advance his know-
ledge.

(c) Course sponsors ma\' be, but are not lim-

ited to, colleges or universities, community col-

leges, trade associations, providers of self-study

programs, employers, third party professional

examination companies, private instructors and
the like.

(d) North Carolina listed qualified individuals

residing vv ithin the state must iibtain the required

continuing education hours by taking a course

provided by an approved sponsor.

(c) North Carolina listed qualified individuals

residing outside of North (rarolina, including

listed qualified individu;ils pursuant to G.S.

87-50. may obtain credit for courses offered in

their state, province or countn' of residence and
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provided by non-approved sponsors or instruc-

tors provided the Board subsequently approves

the courses taken.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1.

.1102 MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR
COURSE SPONSOR .APPROV.AL

(a) Each course sponsor shall submit an appli-

cation for continuing education course sponsor

approval to the Board on a form pro\ided by the

Board by March 1 of the year prior to the license

period (July 1 - June 30) in which the course will

be offered. The application shall include but is

not limited to:

(1) The name of the sponsor;

(2) Sponsor contact person, address and tele-

phone number;

(3) Course title and outline;

(4) Course contact hours;

(5) Schedule of courses, if established, includ-

ing dates, time and locations;

(6) Course fee; and

(7) Name(s) of instructor(s).

(b) To qualify as an approved continuing edu-

cation course sponsor:

(1) The course offered shall last si.x or more
contact hours; and

(2) The course offered shall cover articles of

the current National [-"lectrical Code;

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter

87, Article 4; Title 21 North Carolma
Administrative Code Chapter 18B; or

other subject matter satisfying the re-

ciuirements in G.S. 87-44.1 as approved

by the Board.

(c) The course otTered shaU be presented by
one or more instructors approved b)' the Board.

(d) The course sponsor or instructor shall pro-

vide the Board with a certified class roster of all

attending qualified individuals within 30 days af-

ter the completion of each course.

(e) The course sponsor or instructor shall pro-

vide each attending qualified individual with a

certificate of completion within 30 days after

completion of each course.

(f) The Board shall approve or deny applica-

tions at its April meeting.

(g) Appeals from denials shall be heard by the

Board at a scheduled meeting in May.
(h) Upon approval of the application, each

approved sponsor shall agree to conduct courses

in accordance with this Section and shall indicate

its agreement by signing a continuing education

sponsor agreement fomi pro\idcd by the Board.

Stdtutoiy .Authoritv G.S. 87-42: 87-44.1.

.1103 MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR
COURSE INSTRUCTOR APPROVAU

(a) Each course instructor shall submit an ap-

plication for continuing education course in-

structor approval to the Board on a form
provided by the Board by March 1 of the year

prior to the license period (July 1 - June 30) in

which the course will be offered. The application

shall include but is not limited to:

(1) The name of the instructor;

(2) Instructor's address and telephone num-
ber;

(3) The name of the course sponsor;

(4) Course title;

(5) Course contact hours; and

(6) Qualifications of instRictor.

(b) To qualify as an approved continuing edu-

cation course instructor:

(1) The instructor shall have professional or

trade experience e\'idenced by an appro-
priate license, certification or degree; or

(2) The instructor shall have other recognized

expertise in the electrical industry.

(c) The course instructor apphcation shall be
submitted together with the application for con-

tinuing education course sponsor approval as

prescribed in Rule .1102 of this Section.

(d) I'he Board shall approve or deny appUca-
tions at its .April meeting.

(e) Appeals from denials shall be heard by the

Board at a scheduled meeting in .May.

(f) Upon appro\al of the application, each ap-

proved instructor shall agree to conduct courses

in accordance with this Section and shall indicate

his agreement by signing a continuing education

instructor agreement form pro\ided by the

Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1.

.1104 CONT.ACT HOURS
(a) Approved courses must be offered for six

or more contact hours. Credit will be gi\en only

in multiples of six contact hours (6, 12, 18).

(b) Credit shall be granted to the qualified in-

di\idual only upon completion of an entire

course.

(c) When a qualified individual lias completed

more than the required number of hours of con-

tinuing education in any one license period, the

extra hours may be carried fon\ard in multiples

of six and treated as hours earned in the following

one or two additional license periods.

(d) No credit will be granted for courses at-

tended prior to July 1, 1991.

(c) No credit will be granted for courses at-

tended prior to being qualified by examination.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 87-42; S7-44.I.

.1105 COMF'LTATION OF CO.NTIMJING
KDLCATION HOI RS

(a) Group Courses: Non-college. C'ontinuing

education credit for a group course that is not

part of a college curriculum is given based on
contact hours. A contact hour is 50 minutes of

instruction. Credit is granted only for full con-

tact hours. I'or example, a group course lasting

31)0 minutes is six contact hours and thus satisfies

one year of the continuing education recjuire-

ment.

(b) College Courses. Contmuing education

credit for a college course in the college curric-

ulum is given based on college credit hours. One
semester hour of college credit is 15 contact

hours; one c]uarter hour of college credit is ten

contact hours; and one continuing education unit

(CHU) is ten contact hours.

(c) Self-Study Courses. Continuing education

credit for a self-study course is gi\'en based on the

average number of contact hours needed to

complete the course. One-half of the average

completion time is allowed for continuing edu-

cation credit. A sponsor must determine the av-

erage number of contact hours it takes to

complete the self-stud>- course and submit this

information with its application for ctmtinuing

education course sponsor approval.

(d) lixamination. Continuing education credit

for an examination is given based on the type of

examination, maximum number of questions,

maximum number of hours permitted to take the

examination, and minimum passing grade. A
sponsor must determine and submit tliis infor-

mation with its application for continuing edu-

cation course sponsor approval.

(e) Totaling Annual I lours. No credit shall

be allowed for a course having a total of fewer

than six contact hours. A course lasting between

six and 1 1 hours will satisfy one year of the re-

quired continuing education; a course lasting be-

tween 12-17 hours will satisfy 2 >ears of the

required continuing education; and a course last-

ing 18 or more hours will satisfy three sears of

the required continuing education. Credit hours

for more than one year arc subject to the pro-

visions of Rule .1 104(c) of this Section.

Statutory Aui/iority Ct.S. S7-42; 87-44.1

.

.1 106 LIST OF API'ROVFJ) COURSE
SPONSORS AND INS I RLCTORS

In July of each year the Board shall publish and
distribute to all listed qualilied individuals a list-

ing that shall include but is not limited to:

(1) All appro\ed course sponsors and instruc-

tors for that fiscal year; and

(2) Brief descnption, number of contact hours,

and course fee for each course to be pro-

vided by approved course sponsors and in-

structors.

Statutoiy Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1.

.1107 ADNFRTISFMENTS BY APPRON ED
COl RSE SPONSORS .\ND
INSTRl CTORS

Appro\cd course sponsors and instructors who
state in their advertisements, brochures or other

course descriptions that a particular course meets

the requirement of the North Carolina Slate

Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors for

continumg education shall so state exactly as

follovss:

Tliis course, when offered during fis-

cal year ,
meets the rctjuire-

ments of the North Carolina State

Board of Examiners of Electrical

Contiactors for contact hours

of continuing education credit. This

course is not sponsored by the Board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1

.

.1 108 KK\OCAllOX OF COLRSF SPONSOR
OR INSIRI C TOR .\PPROVAL

(a) The Board ma)' re\oke, suspend or termi-

nate the agreement with any approved continuing

education course sponsor and or instructor if the

lioard determines that cither has failetl to comply
with the terms of the agreement or the Rules of

the Board.

(b) The Board shall have the authority to

monitor courses to determine whether the course

sponsor and instructor are complving with the

terms of the aiireement and the rules o'i the

Board.

Statutory Auihority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1.
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1 he List of Rules Codified is a listing of rules that were filed to be effective in the month indicated.

JXulcs filed for publication in the MCAC may not be identical to the proposed text published pre-

viously in the Register. Please contact this office ifyou have any questions.

/xdoptcd rules filed by the Departments of Correction, Revenue and Transportation arc published

in this section. These departments are not subject to the provisions of G.S. 1508. .irticle 2 requiring

publication in the N.C. Register ofproposed rules.

LJpon request from the adopting agency, the text of rules will be published in this section.

lunctuation, typographical and technical changes to rules are incorporated into the List of Rules

Cotlifioil and are noted as * Correction. These changes do not change the effective date of the rule.

HTLI: 17 - DI PARTMKNT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 6 - INDIMDL AL INCOME TAX DI\ ISION

SLBCllAI'IKK 6A - DIVISIONAL RLLES

.0002 GENERAL PI RI'OSES
1 he indi\idu;il income tax division is responsible for administering Divisions II, III, IV and V of Ar-

ticle 4, Schedule D, and Article 4A of Chapter 105 of the General Statutes of North Carolina, being the

indi\idual income tax. the income tax of trusts, estates, and beneficiaries, income tax credits for prop-

erty taxes, indi\idual income tax credits for qualified business in\estments, the withholding of inct)me

tax from wages, and the filing ;md payment of estimated income tax b_\ in(.ii\ iduals.

Iliston- Sote: Statutoiy .iulliority G.S. J05-/33 to 105-/6.124: 143B-10: 14.^-22 1:

Eff Tebi-uaiy I. 1976:

Amended Eff June I. 1990.

.0003 ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANIZATION
The indi\idual income tax division is administered by a director, and an assistant director for oper-

ations, and a chief tax auditor for examinations. 'Ihere arc separate sections for handling different

phases of the work and a separate section for handling income tax witliliolding.

History Note: Statutory Autlwrilv G.S. 105-133 to 105-163.24: I43B-I0: I43B-221:

Eff Eebruaty f 1976:

Amended Eff .func I. 1990.

.0004 IM)l\II)l AL INCOME TAX
(a) In addition to the director, assistant director for operations, and a chief tax auditor for examina-

tions, the administrati\e staff includes se\eral revenue administrative officers who assist in \arii)us

overall phases of the work.

(b) The clerical section is divided into processing units for handling, processing, and filing income tax

returns and returns of estimated tax. Separate special units of temporary employees are set up during

the filing and refund rush periods.

(c) llie examinations section is composed of two examination groups, each being made up of audi-

tors, tax technicians, support services personnel and supervisory personnel.

IIistor\- Note: Statuto/y Authoritv G.S. 105-133 to 105-163.24: I43B-221: 143-10:

Eff February /, 1976:

Amended Eff June I. 1990.
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SLBCHAPTER 6B - INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

SECTION .0100 - FILING INDI\ IDLAL INCOME TAX RETURNS

.0103 COMBINED REIl RNS

Historv Sote: Statuton,' Authority G.S. I05-I52(e): 105-262;

Eff. Fchman- I. 1976;

Amended Eff. Febmary^ 4, 1978;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.0104 ITEMS REQUIRING SPECIAL ATTENTION
The individual taxpayer or his agent should gi\e special attention to the following items when pre-

paring an individual income tax return;

(1) The Form D-400 for the proper year should be used.

Note: .\ 1985 form for a taxpayer whose calendar \car ends December 31. 1985 and a 1984 form
for a fiscal \ear taxpayer whose fiscal \ear begins in 1984 should be used.

(2) The name and current address of the taxpayer should be plainl_\ printed. The first name, middle

initial and last name should be printed or t\ ped. When a preaddresscd form is used, any error in

the name or address should be corrected.

(3) \Mien filing an income tax return for an unmamed indi\ iduaJ who died during the taxable year,

write "Deceased" after the indixiduals name on the return followed with the name and address

of the executor or administrator.

Note: John Doe (Deceased). Richard Doe. H.xecutor; 100 Oak Street. .-\n\'\\here. North Carolina,

27000.

(4) When fihng a separate return of a decedent who was married at the time of death, write "De-

ceased" after the name and enter the name and address of the sun.i\ing spouse. The first two
hundred dollars ($200.00) of any refund due on the return must be paid to the suniving spouse.

If the refund is more than two hundred dollars ($200.00). the first two hundred dollars ($200.00)

plus one-half of the remainder must be paid to the surviving spouse. The remaining refund is paid

to the estate; therefore, the name and address of the administrator or executor must also be shown
on the return. The refund due on a return of a sur\ i\ing spouse filing a joint return with the de-

ceased will be made to the sur\i\'ing spouse.

(5) The North Carohna law requires the taxpayer to furnish his social security- number with the re-

turn. I his number is necessary to N'crify the identity of the taxpayer, smce the Department uses

an accounting s\stem and equipment which identifies taxpayers and credits returns and payments

by social security number. Separate returns of spouses are often inteiTclated whether they are

li\mg together or apart: therefore, the taxpayer is asked to furnish the name and social security

number of his spouse. This information can save time, correspondence, and difticulty tor the

taxpayer and the Department.

(6) The occupation should be entered so that the return may be properly coded. The general oc-

cupational field should be shown rather than the specific job assignment.

Note: The occupation for a "spinner" in a textile plant should be entered on the occupation line

as "Textile" or "Te.xtUe Iimployee."

(7) The name and address of your last emploN er should always be entered.

(8) Each applicable line on page one of the tax return must be completed and the entering ot words

or phrases, such as "unconstitutional" or "object - self incrimination" does not meet the require-

ment of completing each applicable fine on the return.

(9) The tax must be computed accurately, and in the case of a delinquent return, the penalty and

interest prescribed h\ statute should be added.

(10) If an individual has mo\ed into or out of .North Carolina during the tax >ear or is a nonresident

with income from sources within North Carohna. the section on page 2 ot j-orm D-400, Compu-
tation of North CaroLina Taxable Income tor Pai1-"\'ear Residents and Nonresidents must be

completed. Credit for tax paid to another state is not allowed to an individual moving into or out

of this state unless he has income deri\ ed from and taxed by another state or country w hile he is

a resident of this state, (see Credit for Income Tax Paid to .\nother State or Countr\' 17 NC.AC
6B .0607)
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(11) If a tax credit is claimed, there must be attached to the return a true copy of the return filed with

the other state or country and a canceled check, receipt, or other proof of payment of tax to the

other state or country.

(12) Every return must be signed by the taxpayer or his or her authorized agent, and joint returns

must be signed by both spouses. If husband and wife use different last names on a joint return,

there will be a delay in processing any refund that may be due. A refund may be delayed by an
unsigned return.

(13) WTierc tax has been withheld, the state copy of the Wage and Tax Statement must be attached

to the return.

(14) Any additional information that will assist in the processing and auditing of a return should be

indicated on the return or a worksheet or schedule attached to the return.

( 15) Anyone who is paid to prepare a return must sign the return in the space provided. NVIien more
than one person prepares a return, the preparer with primarv' responsibility for the o\erall accuracy

of the return must sign as the preparer. The signature must be by hand. Stamps and labels are

not acceptable.

History \ole: Slatuton' Aulhority G.S. 2SA-/5-S; I05-I5I; 105-152; 105-154; 105-155;

I05-I63'5(e); 105-163.7; 105-163.10; 105-251; 105-252; 105-262;

Eff. Febmarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff. June I. 1990: August I. I9S6; May I. I9S4: March 22. 198/.

.0106 FFDFR U. FORMS
If a taxpayer was required to file Federal Schedules A, B, C, D, F, and or F with his Federal income

tax return, he must attach a copy of his Federal return, including all schedules, to the North Carolina

return.

Histofy .\'ote: Siatuto/y Auihontv G.S. J05-/55; 105-251; 105-252: 105-262;

Eff Febman- I. 1976;

Amended Eff June /, 1990: May I, 19S4.

.0107 EXTENSIONS
(a) An extension of time for filing may be granted in the case of sickness, absence, disability, or other

good cause. When an extension of time has been granted for filing a federal return, a Like extension

will be granted for filing the state return if a cop\" of either the appro\ed federal extension or a cop\'

of the federal Fonn 4868, Automatic 4-Month Fxtension, is attached to the state return. A copy of

the approved federal extension or a copy of the Federal Form 4868 should not be sent to the Depart-

ment of Revenue until such time the State return is fdcd on the extended date. When a joint feder;il

return is tiled, a separate copy of the approved federal extension fonn or federal Fonn 4868 must be

attached to the return of each spouse if they file separately. No tentative tax payment is required by
the state. If there is no federal extension, submit a request for extension in triplicate on Fiirm l)-410

on or before the due date.

(b) If a taxpayer is living or on military' duty abroad on the date his return is due, an extension of two
months is automatically granted provided a statement is attached to the return showing that the tax-

payer was living outside of the United States on the due date. Interest is due on an\ unpaid tax from
the original due date until paid.

History .\oie: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-263; 105-262;

Eff Febmarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff June 1, 1990: May I. 19S4; June 1. 1982; February 4. 1978.

.0109 FILING RKQIIRFMFNTS - GFNFR.\L ST.VTEMENT
I'he minimum gross income fihng requirements under North Carolina law are different from the tiling

requirements under the Internal Revenue Code because North Carolina law does not adjust the

standard deduction and personal exemption for inflation as required by the Internal Rexenue Code.

History .\ote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-134.6{c); 105-262;

Eff June 1. 1990.
'

.0110 INDI\ IDl ALS REQUIRED TO FIFE .\ N.C. INDI\ IDIAF INCOME TAX RETl RN
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Residents and part-year residents of North Carolina arc required to file North Carolina returns if they

are required to file Federal income tax returns for the taxable year, excluding the applicable Federal

standard deduction and personal exemption inflation adjustments. Nonresidents who derive income
from North Carolina sources are required to file North Carolina returns if they are required to file

Federal income tax returns for the taxable year, excluding the applicable Federal standard deduction

and personal exemption inflation adjustments.

History Sole: Stalutorv Authority G.S. 105-152: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

.0111 MIMMl M GROSS INCOME MI.ING KEQL IKEMENTS
(a) The minimum gross income filing requirements for most people are shown in Chart A:

CHART A - FOR MOST TAXPAYERS

(1) Single $ 5,000

Single (aiie 65 or over) 5,750

(2) Married ^ Filing Joint Return $ 9.000

.Married - Filing Joint Return,

(one age 65 or o\'cr) 9,600

Married - Filing Joint Return,

(both age 65 or over) 10.200

(3) Mamcd - Filins Separate Return $ 2.000

(4) Head of Household $ 6,400

Head of Household (age 65 or over) 7,150

(5) Qualifymg Widow(er) with dependent child $ 7,000

Qualifying vvidow(er) (age 65 or over) 7,600

(b) If an individual was not required to tile a Federal income tax return but had gross income inside

and outside of North Carolina that equals or exceeds the amounts in Chart A. a Federal return must
be completed and attached to the North Carolina return to show how the negative Federal taxable in-

come was determined.

(c) Fhe minimum gross income tiling requirements for children and other dependents are shown in

Chart B. The fiUng requirements in Chart B general!)- are applicable to those indi\iduals who can be

claimed as a dependent by another person (such as a parent).

Note: EARNED INCOME is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, and other amounts received as

pay for work actually done.

Note: UNF.ARNFD INCO.MF is income other than earned income (salaries or wages). It is

in\estment-type income and includes interest, dividends, and capital gains. Distributions of interest,

dividends, capital gains, and other unearned income from a tiaist are also unearned income to a bene-

ficiary of the trust.

CHART B - FOR CHILDREN AND OlIIER DEPENDENTS

(1) Single dependents neither blind nor 65 or older - ^'ou must file a return if:

(A) ^'our unearned income was one dollar ($1.00) or more and the total of that income plus your

earned income was more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).

(B) \'our unearned income was zero dollars ($0.00) and the total of that income plus )our earned

income was more than three thousand dollars ($3,000).

(2) Single dependents 65 or older or blind - You must file a return if:

(A) "^'our earned income was more than three thousand seven hundred fifty dollars ($3,750) [four

thousand fi\e hundred dollars ($4,500) if 65 or older and blind], or

(B) \'our unearned income was more than one thousand two hundred fift\' dollars ($1,250) [two

thousand dollars ($2,000) if 65 or older and blind), or

(C) \'our gross income was more than the total of your earned income [up to three thousand

dollars ( $3.000 )j or five hundred dollars ($500.00), whiche\er is larger, plus se\cn hundred fifty

dollars ($750.00) (one thousand \'\\c hundred dollars ($1,500) if 65 or older and blind].

(3) Married dependents neither blind nor 65 or older - You must file a return if:

(A) \'oux earned income was more than two thousand fi\e hundred dollars ($2,500). or
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(B) You had any unearned Lncomc and your gross income was more than five hundred dollars

($500.00), or

(C) Your gross income was at least five dollars ($5.00) and your spouse files a separate Federal

income tax return on Form 1040 and itemizes deductions.

(4) Married dependents 65 or older or blind - You must file a return if:

(A) Your earned income was more than three thousand one hundred dollars ($3,100) (tliree

thousand seven hundred dollars ($3,700) if 65 or older and blind], or

(B) Your unearned income was more than one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) [one

thousand seven hundred dollars ($1,700) if 65 or older and blind], or

(C) ^'our gross income was more than the total of your earned income [up to two thousand five

hundred dollars ($2,500)], or five hundred dollars ($500.00), whichever is larger, plus six hundred
dollars ($600.00) [one thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200) if 65 or older and blind], or

(D) "^'our gross income was at least five dollars ($5.00) and your spouse files a separate Federal

income tax return on Form 1040 and itemizes deductions.

(d) If an Lndi\idual is required to file Federal Schedules A, B, C, D, F, and or F with his Federal

income tax return, he must attach a copy of his Federal return, including all schedules, to his North
Carolina income tax return. A nonresident or part-year resident is required to attach a copy of his

Federal return to the North Carolina return regardless of whether or not F-ederal Schedule A, B. C,

D, F, and or F was filed.

llistorv Note: Statutmy Authoriiv G.S. 105-134.2; 105-134.5; I05-I34.6{c); 105-152; 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

.0112 JOINT RETLRNS
(a) G.S. 105-152.1 requires that a husband and wife file a joint State return if

(1) Ihey file a joint Federal income tax return, and

(2) Both spouses are residents of North Carolina or both spouses liad North Carolina taxable in-

come.
All other individuals must file separate returns.

(b) On joint returns, both spouses are jointly and severally liable for the due. However, if a spouse

has been relieved of any liability for Federal income tax under the Internal Revenue Code as an "in-

nocent spouse" attributable to a substantial understatement by the other spouse, the "innocent

spouse" would not be liable for the State income tax attnbutable to such understatement by the other

spouse.

(c) If an individual and his spouse file a joint return using different last names, the)' should separate

the names with "and". For example, "John Brown and \lar>' Smith".

(d) If an indi\idual files a joint Federal return but files a separate North Carolina return, he must
complete a separate Federal return and attach it to his North Carolina tax return to show how his

Federal taxable income would be determined on a separate Federal return. In lieu of completing a

separate Federal return, an indi\idual may submit a schedule showing the computation of the separate

Federal taxable income provided a copy of the joint Federal income tax return is provided with the

North Carolina return.

Iliunrv Note; Statiito/y Authority G.S. 105-/52./; /05-262;

Eff. June I. /990.

.01 13 1 AXI'AM RS ntniK 11 ID IN COMMl Nil ^ PROI'KK IV STA I KS
(a) Generally, if a husband and wife file separate returns, each must claim credit for the actual amount

of tax w ithheld from his or her salary or wages. If a husband and wife who are domiciled in a com-
munity property state or country recognized as such for federal income tax puiposcs tile separate North

Carolina returns and each spouse reports one-half of the salar>' and wages received while domiciled in

the communitN property state or countrv', each spouse is entitled to claim one-half of the credit fir the

income tax withheld with respect to such community wages.

(b) A schedule or statement should be attached to the North Carolina return showing the name and
social security number of each spouse and that they were domiciled in a community property state and
as such, 50 percent of the husband's and, or wife's income tax withheld is allocated to the other spouse's

income tax return.

History Note; Statutoty Aut/writy G..S. /05-/63./0; /05-262;
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Eff. June I. 1990.

.0114 COMPLTATION OF TA.XABLK INCOME - GENKRAL
The starting point in determining North Carolina taxable income is taxable income for F'edera] income

tax purposes determined under the Internal Re\enue Code in effect as of Januar>' 1, 1989, subject to

the following additions, deductions and transitional adjustments which are required because of differ-

ences in the way State and Federal law treated certain tax transactions prior to Januar>' 1, 1989. These

adjustments do not apply to all individuals; however, each individual should determine if any of the

adjustments apply to his return.

Ilisioiy Sole: Staiuion' Auihority G.S. 105-134.1; 105-134.5; 105-134.6; 105-134.7;

Eff. .hme I, 1990.

.01 15 AODH IONS TO FEDER.\L T.V\.\BLE INCOME
(a) Federal taxable mcome must be increased by the following additions to the extent the amounts

are not included m Federal gross income:

( 1

)

Interest received upon obligations of states other than North Carolina and their political subd-

i\isions;

(This addition mcludes that portion of an exempt interest di\ idend from a regulated investment

company (mutual fund) that represents interest on du'cct obligations of states and theii' political

subdivisions other than North Carolina. See 17 NCAC 6B .4100 for additional information on
regulated investment companies.)

(2) Any amount allowed as a deduction from gross income that is taxed by a separate tax under the

Internal Revenue Code. Ihis would include lump-sum distributions from certain employee's

retirement plans which a taxpayer may elect to exclude from taxable income in the regular tax

computation and compute the tax scp;irately using the favorable tcn-\car and five-year forward

a\ eraging rules;

(3) State, local, and foreign income taxes deducted on the Federal return;

(4) The Federal standard deduction inJlation adjustments for ta.xable years beginning after 19S8 and
the Federal personal exemption inflation adjustments for taxable years beginning after 1989.

These adjustments are necessap," because the Federal standard deduction amounts and personal

exemption amounts wiU be adjusted each year, if necessarv', for inflation.

(b) The standard deduction for North CaroUna purposes is shown in the schedules in tliis Paragraph:

SCIIFDULE A
Individuals who arc not claimed as dependents by another taxpayer

FIFING STATUS S lANn.VRI)
DI DlCriON

Single $ 3.000

65 or older or blind 3,750

65 or older and blind 4.500

.\Iamed Filing Jointly Qualifying Widow (er) 5.000

One Spouse 65 or older or blind 5.600

One Spouse 65 or older and blind 6,200

Both spouses 65 or older or blind 6.200

Biith spouses 65 or older and blind 7,400
* Married Filing Separately 2,500

65 or older or blind 3,100

65 or older and blind 3,700

Head of Household 4,400

65 or older or blind 5,150

65 or older and blind 5,900

SCIll DUI F B
Indniduals who can be claimed as dependents bv another taxpa\er who have earned income of

$500.00 or less

FIFING S FATUS S lANIlXRH
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DEDUCTION
Single

Under 65 and not blind $ 0,500

65 or older or blind 1,250

65 or older and blind 2,000

*Married I-iling Separately

Under 65 and not bli^d 0,500

65 or older or blind 1,100

65 or older and blind 1,700

SCIIFDUl.n C
Iiidi\iduals who can be claimed as dependents by another taxpayer and have earned incoine of

$500.00 o'r more

AMT OF
FARNFD
INCOME

ADDITIONAL
ALLOWANCES

LIMIFFD
TO

$ + $ -0- -

+ $ 750

+ $1,500

$3,000

$

$

$3,750

$4,500

$ + $ -0-

+ $ 600
+ $1,200

$2,500

$ $3,100

$ $3,700

STANDARD DEDUCTION

FILING STATUS

Single

Under 65 and not blind

65 or older or blind $

65 or older and blind $

*Mamed Filing Separately

Under 65 and not blind

65 or older or blind

65 or older and blind

*The standard deduction is zero for a married indi\ idual fding separately whose spouse claims itemized

deductions.

(c) Fhe standard deduction for nonresident aliens and individuals tiling a short-year return due to a

change of accounting period is zero.

llistorx- \ote: Statuloiy Authoritv G.S. 105- 134.6(c): 105-262;

Eff. June I. I')<)0.

.01 16 DEDLCTIONS FROM FEDF.R.VL T.VXAULE INCOME
Federal ta.\ablc income must be decreased by the foOowLng deductions to the extent the amourits are

included in Federal gross income:

(1) Interest upon obligations of the Fnited States or its possessions;

Interest earned on obhgations that are merely backed or guaranteed by the United States Gov-
ernment will not qualify for deduction from an individual's income. Fhe deduction from income
will not apply to distributions which represent gain from the sale or other disposition of the secu-

rities, nor to interest paid in connection with repurchase agreements issued by banks and savings

and loan associations.

(2) Interest on bonds, notes, and other obligations of the State of North Carolina or any of its pol-

itical subdivisions;

(3) Interest on obligations and gain from the sale or disposition of obligations if North Carolina law

under which the obligations were issued specifically exempts the interest or gain;

(4) Social Security benefits received under Title II of the Social Security Act and Railroad Retirement

benefits received under the Raihoad Retirement Act of 1937;

(5) Up to fifteen hundred diillars ($1,500) paid to an individual as compensation for the peifonnanee

of duties as a member of the North Carolina National Guard;

(6) Refunds of State, local, and foreign income ta.xcs;

(7) L'p to four thousand dollars ($4,000) in retirement benefits from one or more Federal, state, or

local government retirement plans;

(8) Up to two thousand dollars ($2,000) in retirement bcnehts from one or more pnvate retirement

plans;
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(a) If an individual receives Federal, state, or local government retirement benefits and also receives

other qualified retirement benefits, the total deduction is limited to four thousand dollars

($4,000). lor married couples filing a joint return, the maximum dollar amount of retirement

benefits that may be deducted from Federal taxable income appUes separately to the benefits

received by each spouse, so that the maximum deduction on a joint return is eight thousand

dollars ($8,000).

(b) If an individual received retirement benefits during the year from one or more private retirement

plans other than state, local, or Federal government retirement plans, he may deduct the amount
received or two thousand dollars ($2,000), whichever is less. .Married indi\-iduals filing a joint

return where both received such retirement benefits may each deduct up to two thousand dollars

($2,000) for a potential total deduction of four thousand dollars ($4,000).

(c) "Retirement benefits" are amounts paid to a former employee or to a beneficiaiy of a former

employee under a written retirement plan established by the employer to provide payments to

an employee or beneficiary after the end of the employee's employment uith the employer where

the riglit to receive the payment is based upon the employment relationship. For self-employed

indi\iduals, retirement benefits are amounts paid to an indi\idual, or beneficiar\' under a written

retirement plan established by the individual to provide payments after the end of self-

employment. Retirement benefits also include amounts received from an individual retirement

account or from an indi\idual retirement annuity (IRA), both of which are described in Section

408 of the Internal Revenue Code. An individual is not required to ha\'e ceased employment
to qualify for the two thousand dollar ($2,000) deduction for distributions from an indi\idual

retirement account or an indi\idual retirement annuity.

(d) The deduction for retirement benefits is allowed only to the extent the benefits are included in

federal gross income. If an indi\idual elects to roll-o\er the distribution from his emplo\er's

plan or from his individual retirement account, no deduction is allowed since the amount rolled

over is not included in gross income.

(e) A change in the structure of a corporate employer which causes a distnbution to be paid to the

employee from the employer's retirement plan does not entitle the employee to claim the de-

duction for retirement benefits from such distribution. For example. Company A is merged

with Compan>" B. An employee of A continues to work for the merged company. During 1989,

the employee received a distribution of five thousand doUars ($5,000) representing his total credit

in the non-contributory retirement plan of Company A. The employee \\ ould not be entitled

to the two thousand doUar ($2,000) deduction since he had not ceased employment.

(f) Since short-term disability benefits from the Disability Income Plan of North Carolina adminis-

tered for the benefit of North Carolina teachers and State employees are not paid to a former

employee under a retirement plan after the end of the employee's employment, the benefits are

not subject to the four thousand dollar ($4,000) deduction from Federal taxable income.

Long-term disability benefits are payable after the conclusion of the shoil-temi disabihty period

or after salarv' continuation payments cease, wliichever is later. Recipients of long-term disa-

bility benefits under the Disability Income Plan of North Carolina are former employees and

they are entitled to the four thousand doUar ($4,000) deduction from Federal taxable income.

(g) Benefits paid to Federal civil service employees who become disabled prior to becoming age 60

upon separation from service arc paid to a former employee under a retirement plan after the

end of the employee's employment and are subject to the four thousand doUar ($4,000) de-

duction from F'ederal taxable mcome.
(h) Survivors of a member of the armed forces who recei\e benefits from the Retired Serviceman's

Family Protection Plan or the Sur\ivor's Benefits Plan as the result of taking a reduction in re-

tirement pay are subject to the deduction of up to four thousand dollars ($4,000) from Federal

ta.xablc income;

(9) 'I'he amount of North Carolina inheritance tax paitl that is attributable to an item ol' income in

respect of a decedent.
'1 he deduction from f-ederal taxable income is determined by multiplsing the amount ot North

Carolina inheritance tax paid on all property transfcned to the particular beneficiarv', less the North

Carolina inheritance tax paid if the item of income in respect of a decedent had not been included,

by a fraction, the numerator of which is the income in respect of a decedent the benefician' in-

cluded in Federal gross income, as adjusted, and the denominator of which is the total income in

respect of a decedent transferred to the beneficiar)
;
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(10) Income earned by an enrolled member of the Tastem Band of Cherokee Indians or other

federally recognized tribes if such income is derived from activities on the Cherokee reservation

while the member resided on the reservation.

History Note: Statuiorv Authoritv G.S. /05-/34.6(b); 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

.0117 IRANSniONAI, AD.M STMEMS
The following transitional adjustments arc required because of differences in the way State and Federal

law treated certain tax transactions prior to January' 1, 1989.

(1) Amounts that were included in the basis of property under Federal law but not under State law

prior to January 1, 1989, must be added to taxable income in the year of disposition of the prop-

erty. These adjustments include the increase in basis for Federal gift tax paid on property received

as a gift and in certain cases where the indi\idual was pennitted under Federal law to capitalize

certain expenditures for interest and taxes.

(2) Amounts that were included in the basis of property under State law but not under Federal law

prior to January 1, 1989, must be deducted from an indi\iduars taxable income in the year of

disposition of the property. Deductions of this type include the increase in basis for State gift tax

paid on property rccei\'cd as a gift and certain business expenditures that an individual elected to

expense under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code but which were required to be capitalized

for State income tax purposes.

(3) Amounts recognized as income under Federal law but not under State law prior to Januaiy 1,

1989, because of the use of the installment method for reporting gain from the sale of property

must be added to taxable income in the individual's first taxable year beginning on or after January

1, 1989. Amounts recogni7.ed as income under State law but not under Federal law prior to Jan-

uary 1, 1989, because of the use of the installment method for reporting gain from the sale of

property must be deducted from taxable income in the indi\iduars first taxable ye;ir beginning on
or after January 1, 1989.

(4) A loss or deduction that was incurred or paid and deducted in full for Noilh Carolina income
tax purposes under prior State law in a taxable year beginning before January' 1, 1989, but was
carried forward and deducted from Federal taxable income in a taxable year beginning on or after

January' 1, 1989, must be added to taxable income.

In determining the amount to add back, a capital loss from taxable \'ears beginning prior to Jan-

uary 1, 1989, must be applied before applying a capital loss that was sustained in a taxable year

beginning on or after January 1, 1989.

EXAMPLE: The full amount of a capital loss incurred in 1988 would ha\'e been deductible on
an individual's 1988 State income tax return but on his I'ederal income tax return the amoimt of

the deductible loss would have been limited to his capital gains plus three thousand dollars (fi.VonO)

(one thousand ti\e hundred dollars ( $ 1 ,500) if married and tiling a separate return]. Any remaining

loss could be carried forward to 1989 and deducted on his Federal income tax return in computing
his 1989 Federal taxable income. In this instance, the indi\'idual must add back the loss deducted

from his 1989 Federal taxable income in arriving at the amount of his North Carolina taxable in-

come.
[An indi\idual had a six thousand fne hundred dollar (lih.SOO) capital loss in 1988 which was
limited to three thousand dollars (S.VOOO) on his Federal income tax return but which was de-

ducted in fuU on the State return. An additional net capital loss was also incurred in 1989. Since

the individual's 1989 Federal taxable income would include a three thousand dollar ($3,000) loss

carry-over the individual must add back three thousand dollars ($3,000) to Federal taxable income
on the 1989 State return. The remaining fne lumdred dollars ($500.00) would be added back to

the individual's Federal taxable income for 1990.|

EXAMPLE: Prior State law required charitable contributions to be deducted in the year they

were paid and did not permit any amount to be carried o\er to another tax \ear. Lnder Federal

law, an indi\idual who may not be entitled to deduct the full amount of cert.:iin contributions be-

cause of an adjusted gross income limitation may carr\' over the unused portion to the succeeding

tax ye;ir. In tliis situation, the individual must add back to Federal taxable income the contrib-

utions carry-over from 1988 if he itemized deductions on his 1989 Federal income tax return.

EXAMPLE: Generally, for Federal income tax purposes for tax years beginning on or after Jan-

uary' 1, 1987. to the extent that the total deductions from passive activities exceed the total income
from such activities for the tax year, the excess (passive activity loss) is not allowed as a deduction
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for that \ear. A disallowed passive loss is allowed to be carried fonvard as a deduction from pas-

si\e activity income in the next succeeding tax year. Generally, losses from passive activities may
not be deducted from other types of income (e.g., wages, interest, or dividends). A passive activity

is one that in\oh'es the conduct of any trade or business in which the taxpayer does not materially

participate. .Any rental acti\ity is a passive activity regardless of whether the taxpayer materially

participates. Special rules apply to rental activities. Under State law, a passive loss carried forward

from a tax year beginning prior to January 1, 1989, must be added back to Federal taxable income
since the entire loss was deductible on the taxpayer's return for the year the loss was incurred.

(5) .^mounts deducted on an individual's Federal income tax return as net operating losses brought

forward from tax years beginning prior to January 1, 1989, must be added to Federal taxable in-

come. For tax years prior to Januar.' 1, 1989, State law allowed a net economic loss to be carried

forward to subscc^uent years but was computed differently from the Federal net operating loss.

Prior State law did not permit the loss to be carried back to prior tax years as did Federal law.

EXAMPLE: ,\n individual sustains a business loss of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000)

in 1988, had no other business income or business expenses for that year, and received interest

income of eighty-two thousand dollars ($82,000) from City of Raleigh bonds during the taxable

year. For Federal income tax purposes, the indi\'idual would have sustained a net operating loss

of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). If the indi\idual had no income in the prior three

tax years to offset the net operating loss, he could carry the one hundred thousand dollar

($100,000) loss for>vard and deduct it as a net operating loss on his 1989 Federal income tax return.

Under prior State law. the indi\-idual would ha\-e incurred a net economic loss of eigliteen thou-

sand dollars ($18,000) [business loss of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) less nontaxable

income of eighty-two thousand dollars ($82,000)1 that could be carried forward to 1989. In this

situation, the indi\idual must add back the net operating loss deduction to his Federal taxable in-

come.

(6) If an indi\ idual recovered all or an\ portion of his contributions to an annuit\' for State income
tax purjioses for taxable years beginning pnor to Januar.' 1. 1989, but such amount was not re-

coN'cred for federal income tax purposes, he must include a ratable portion of the difference in the

cost previously recovered for North Carolina purposes and the amount previously reco\cred for

Federal purposes on the North Carolina return for each year beginning on or after Januars' 1 , 1989.

EXAMPLE: Both the employee and the employer contributed to the cost of the employee s an-

nuity and the employee will recover his contribution within three years from the annuity starting

date. For tax years beginning prior to Januar\' 1, 1989. the employee was entitled under State law

to recover his contributions to the annuity in full before being taxed on the benefits. The ratable

portion to be added to Federal taxable income is determined as follows:

Amount reco\"ercd .Amount recovered

on State return - on Federal return = Addition to

Remaining "^'ears Life Expectancy Taxable Inc(ime

If the cost reco\ered for federal income tax purposes for taxable \cars beginning pnor to JanuaPv

1, 1989, is greater than the cost rcco\'ered for State income tax purposes for years prior to 1989, the

ratable portion to be deducted from federal taxable income is detennincd as follows:

Amount reco\ered .Amount recoN'cred

on Federal return - on State return = Deduction from

Remaining ^'ears Life Expectancy Taxable Income

The amount of difference in the numerator of the fractions in this Subparagraph should reflect the

cost recovered during the taxpayer's period of residence in North Carolina and exclude any cost

recovered during residence in another state. In the denominator, the remaining years life expectancy

to be entered is the life expectancy delennined for federal income tax purposes for the year the an-

nuity startcii less the number of tax years the annuity was reportable for federal tax purposes prior

to January 1, 1989. 1 he amount of the transitional adjustment computed for the tax \ear 1989

will remain the same for each year of the indi\idual's remaining life expectancy.

This transitional ;idiustment will not apply to retirement annuities from an_\' federal retirement

program which were taxed unconstitutionalK prior to Januar\' 1, 1989. and to annuities which were

exempt under prior State law, including retirement annuities from the North C;uolina I'eachers' and
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State Fmployees' Retirement System and the North Carolina Local Governmental Employees'
Retirement System. Also, this transitional adjustment will not apply to retirement annuities re-

ceived by former teachers and state employees of other states which were fully exempt from North
Carolina income tax prior to January 1, 1989, because the other state had no income tax law or

practiced reciprocity with North Carolina with respect to taxing such benefits.

This transitional adjustment will apply to retirement annuities received by former teachers and state

employees of other states which were not fully exempt because those states practiced no reciprocity

or only partial reciprocity with North Carolina with respect to such benefits for taxable years be-

ginning prior to January 1, 1989. The amount of cost recovered on the North CaroUna return prior

to Januap,' 1, 1989, to be used in the formula for computing the addition to federal taxable income
is to be computed without considering any benefits which were excluded as the result of partial

reciprocity.

(7) Net economic losses sustained in the tlvc taxable years preceding an individual's first taxable year

beginning on or after January 1, 1989, may be carried forward and deducted from taxable income
as under prior law. I 'nder prior law, a net economic loss could be carried forward for up to five

years. The law defines a net economic loss as the amount by which allowable deductions for the

year other than personal exemptions, nonbusiness deductions and prior-year losses exceed income
from all sources in the year, including any nontaxable income.

(8) A Federal net operating loss for a taxable year beginning on or after January- 1, 1989, carried back

for Federal income tax purposes to a taxable year beginning before January 1, 1989, may be de-

ducted from North Carolina taxable income in the taxable year following the taxable year in which
the loss occurred.

(9) Adjustments must also be made in the taxable income of a shareholder of an S coiporation. (See

17 NCAC 6B .4000)

( 10) When a parent elects to report his child's unearned income, the child is treated as having no gross

income for the year and is not required to file a Federal income tax return. A parent electing to

report a child's unearned income for Federal tax purposes must add back to his Federal taxable

income the amount of the child's unearned income in excess of five hundred dollars ($500.00) but

not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Other additions and deductions to Federal taxable income may be required to ensure that the transition

to the new tax law does not result in the double taxation of income, the exemption of otherwise taxable

income or double allowance of deductions.

Histoiy Sotc: Statutnn Aut/iority G.S. 105- 134.7: 105-262:

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

SECTION .0.«)0 - ['EkSON.^L EXFMI'TION

.0.^01 (;knkral

.0.102 0\V. lll()LS.\Nn ONE lIlNDKEn DOI.EAK PERSON. \l. EXEMPEION

.0.103 rWO I IIOl SAND I W O III NDKEI) DOEEAK PERSON AE EXEMPEION

.0.104 UEINI) PERSONS

.0.105 INDIMDEAES AGE 65 OR 0\ ER

.0.106 SE\ EREEY REEARDEI) DEPENDENT

.0.107 IIEMOPIIIEIACS

.0.108 EXEMPIION FOR DEPENDEN ES

.0.109 DEPENDENT IN INSII EETION OE HIGHER I.E.\RNING

.0.110 DE( EASED OR IN(OMPEJ EN I INDIMDEAES

.0311 PRORAIED PERSONAL EXEMPIION

.0312 OIHER (ONSIDERAIIONS

Histoiy Sole: Slatutoiy .lul/ioritv G.S. 105-135: 105-149; 105- 149(a)(2): 105- I49{a>{4):
I05-I49(a){5): I05-/49(al(6 ): I05-I49(a)(7 ): l05-l49(a)(S): I05-I49(a}(9};

/05-!49(a)( /O): /05-/49(a)(2a>: l05-l49(a)(Sa): I05-I49{h):
105- 149(c); 105-262;

Eff. FchniMy I. 1976;

.-[mended Eff. Febniaiy I. I9S9; Xovcmbcr I. I9SS: .Iw^usl I. I9S6; Mav I, I9S4;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.0313 DEAF INDIVIDUALS

.0314 REN.VE DISEASE
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Ifistory Note: Statutory Authority OS. I05-I49ia)(8b); I05-I49(al(8c): 105-262;

Eff. February II, 1978;

Amended Eff. November I, 1988; April 19, 1981;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.0315 PARAPLEGICS

llistoty Note: Statutor\- Authority G.S. I05-I49(a)(8d); 105-262;

Eff April 19. l9Sf;

Amended Eff November I. 1988; February I, 1988;

Repealed Ejf. June I. 1990.

.0316 CYSTIC FIBROSIS

.0317 SPINA BIFIDA

.0318 ML LTIPLE SCLEROSIS

.0319 SE\ ERE HEAD INJLRY

llistoty .\ote: Statutory^ Authority G.S. I05-I49(a)(8e); I05-I49(a)(8f); l05-l49fa)fSgJ;
I05-I49(a)(8h); 105-262:

Eff .August I, 1986;

Amended Eff. November I. 1988;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.0320 MLSCLLAR DYSTROPHY

.0321 ORGAN AND TISSUE TRANSPLANTS

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. I05-I49{a); 105-262;

Eff November I. 1988:

Amended Eff December 1. 1988;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SECTION .0400 - ANNL ITIES AND PENSIONS

.0401 GENERAL

.0402 GENERAL RM ES FOR ANNL ITIES

.0403 SPECIAL RLl E

.0404 \ ARIABLE ANNl ITIES

.0405 GLARANIEED PAYMENTS

.0406 LLMP SLM

.0407 INSTALLMENT OPTIONS

.0408 FEDERAL EMPLOYEES PENSIONS

History Note: Statutory: Authority G.S. 105-141.1; 105-141 (b )(2) : 105-141 1 b /{ 14 /;

l05-14l(b)(lSj; I05-I41(bi(20i: I05-I41ici: I05-I4I.I i dji3 );

105-141. Kg); 105-262;

Eff Febnmry 1, 1976;

Amended Eff November I. 1988; .May I, 1984; June I. 1982; March 22. 1981;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SECTION .0500 - DI\ ORCED OR SEPARAIED PERSONS

.0501 GENERAL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-141.2; 105-147 [21); 105-262;

Eff February I. I9'6:

Amended Eff. Auqust I. 1986: .March 22. 1981;

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

SECnON .0600 - TAX ( REDIIS
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.0601 (;EMiRAL

.0602 KKSIDENTS

.0603 NONRESIDENTS

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-130.4; 105-134; 105-135(13); 105-141 (a); I05-I42(c);

105-147(9); 105-147(18); I05-I49(b); 105-151; 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. November I. I9SS; August I, 1986; May I, 1984; June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.0605 SOLAR ENERGY TAX CREDIT
(a) A credit is allowable to a corporation or an individual, including an individual member of a

partnership who causes to be constructed or installed a solar hot water, heating or cooling system in

any building in North Carolina. The credit is limited to 25 percent of the installation and equipment
cost of each system, up to a maximum credit of $1,000 per system or per year on any single building

or for each family dwelling unit of a multi-dwelling building. Installation of two systems in the same
year which work independently of each other in one building will be limited to a maximum % 1 ,000

credit. However, if two systems working independently were installed in separate years, then an al-

lowable credit, not to exceed $1,000 each year, would be allowed for each system.

(b) The owner who first occupies a newly solar-equipped building or the owner-lessor w'ho first leases

the building for use after construction or installation will be allowed the tax credit. The credit is only
allowable to the individual who owns or controls the building at the time of installation. Only one
credit is allowed per system, regardless of the number of subsequent owners or owner-lessors. The cost

of repairs to an existing solar system will not qualify for any additional tax credit; however, enhance-
ment to an existing solar system could qualify for additional credit provided the individual has not yet

exceeded the maximum $1,000 credit allowed for the system.

(c) The cost on which the credit is based is the sales price less discounts, rebates, advertising, instal-

lation assistance, and name referral allowances paid to the purchaser and/or someone he or she desig-

nates, other similar reductions, and/or the fair market value of items given as inducements to purchase

a solar energy system. If the allowable credit exceeds the tax liahihty for the year after being reduced

by all other credits, the unused portion of the credit may be carried over the next three succeeding years.

In the case of property owned by the entirety, where both spouses are required to file North Carolina

income tax returns, the credit may be claimed only if the spouses file a joint return.

(d) A system is not a solar energy system for purposes of the tax credit until it is installed and fully

functional. If an individual has paid for the system, but it is not yet installed and available for use

during the year, no credit is allowed for North Carolina tax purposes until the year in which the system

is placed in service.

(e) Equipment, components, and other items not qualifying for the solar energy credit for State tax

purposes includes:

(1) Insulation (except where otherwise noted in these guidelines).

(2) Storm windows and storm doors.

(3) Wood burning stoves and furnaces.

(4) Oil and gas furnaces, including replacement burners and ignition systems labeled as "energy ef-

ficient".

(5) Automatic set back thermostats.

(6) Ileat pumps, including both air and water-source units.

(7) Evaporative cooling systems.

(f) Solar energy is energy that is deri\ed directly from sunliglit (solar radiation). Solar energy property

is equipment that uses solar energy to heat or cool a building or to provide hot water for use within the

building. Solar energy property includes "active" and "passive" solar energy systems.

(g) An individual claiming a solar tax credit must designate on his or her North Carolina income tax

return the type of solar system installed.

(1) An active solar energy system is a system capable of collecting and converting solar radiation into

heat and transferring the heat to storage or to the point of use. Any solar system which has a

fan, pump, or other mechanical means of mo\ ing the collection medium in the collection loop

of the system, is an active solar system. While the components, design, operation, and per-

formance of active systems will var\ , in order to qualify for the tax credit the system must have

the following capabilities;

(A) A means of collecting and,'or absorbing sunliglit to heat liquids or air.

5:5 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER June L 1990 371



FISAL RULES

(B) Thermal storage media which arc specifically designed and constructed for storage of solar

cnerg\' such as tanks to store hot liquids and or rock beds to store hot air.

(Cj Controls to acti\'ate fans or pumps that circulate the hot liquids or hot air.

(D) Fleat exchangers to utilize hot liquids or hot air to heat air or water.

Components of a solar system that function as a part of a conventional or backup heating, air

conditioning, or domestic hot water system wUl not qualify for the credit.

(2) A passive solar energy system is an assembly of structural and non-structural components which
is designed to provide a net energy sa^ings to a buUding from solar energy, using non-mechanical

means of moving heat from the collection area to thennal storage. All qualifying equipment
and materials must be integral parts of a system designed to collect, convert, transport or control

energ>' deri\ed directly from sunlight. To qualify as a passive solar energ%' system, the following

elements must be present:

(A) solar collection surface;

(B) thermal storage; and
(C| control and distribution elements.

These three elements must be designed to work together as a whole, hems which only inci-

dentally provide passive solar benefits are not eligible. For example, south-facing glass is only

eligible if part of a complete system with thermal storage and control and distribution elements.

The only exception to the passi\e solar system criteria (requiring all three elements) is a

thermosiphoning collector, which may be used without thermal storage. Thermosiphoning
collectors, sometimes known as dayheaters, qualify for the tax credit. Eligibility requirements

are established below according to subsystem type and individual component type. Compo-
nents which sen."e a dual function in a building are not fuUy eligible for the tax credit,

(ij Solar Collection Surfaces. .All solar collection surfaces must be oriented to within 30 degrees

of true south for new construction and within 45 degrees of true south for retrofits. Solar

collection surfaces must be no more than 25 percent shaded on December 21 between 1 1 a.m.

and 2 p.m. (December 21 is the day when the sun is at the lowest angle in the sky). Solar

collection surfaces must be designed so as not to cause additional heat gain to the conditioned

area of the building in the summer. Solar collection surfaces include:

(I) South-facing windows. These must be double-glazed or equipped with moveable insu-

lation having an insulating value of at least R-3 to prevent nighttime heat loss. They must
also be shaded to pre\'ent direct sunlight from entering the conditioned area at noon on
June 21 (June 21 is the day when the sun is at the highest angle in the sky). The percentage

of south-facing windows eligible for the solar tax credit is based on the formula X -
"\' =

Z where:

X = total area of south-facing windows
total area of south-facing wall

\' = total area of north, east, and \\c5t-facing windows
total area of north, east, and west-facing walls

Z = percentage of windows considered passive solar equipment.

Muhiply Z times the cost for the south-facing windows.
(IIj .Attached solar greenhouses and other "sunspaces". These must be double-glazed or

equipped with moveable insulation ha\ing an insulating value of at least R-3. They must
also ha\'e a means of distributing solar heat into the conditioned area of the adjacent

building. Doors will not qualify as a distribution method. The greenhouse or "sunspace"

must have a specifically designed distribution method to facilitate or enhance the convective

flow. Greenhouses or other sunspaces which do not pro\ide solar heat to an adjacent

building or which require heat from non-solar sources to maintain inside temperatures for

any reason are not ehgible for the tax credit. 50 percent of the cost of glazing, accompa-

nying structural components including foundation, framing, siding, insulation, and rooting

materials is eligible for the credit. Thermal storage elements and control and distribution

elements are eligible according to the formulas listed for those categories. For prefabricated

sunspaces in which component costs are not prosided, multiply 50 percent times the cost

of the sunspace.

(Ill) frombe wall or water-wall glazing. 100 percent of the cost of glazing and framing

mounted no more than two feet in front of a thermal storage wall is eligible for the tax

credit. pro\ided that its sole function is for the collection of solar energ\'.

(IVj Skyliglits. 100 percent of the cost of skylights located on a south-facing roof and

equipped with nighttune insulation having a minimum R-\alue of 3 is eligible for the tax
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credit. Skylights on non-south-facing roofs or not equipped with nighttime insulation are

not eUgible for the tax credit.

(V) Thermosiphoning collectors. 100 percent of the cost of solar collectors that operate on
thermosiphoning principles and that serve no other function besides solar collection are el-

igible for the tax credit. These include solar window box heaters, thermosiphoning air

panels, "breadbox" solar water heaters, etc.

(ii) Thermal Storage Filements. Devices or materials specifically designed for the storage of solar

energy are eligible for the solar tax credit. These materials must be located within the insu-

lated shell of the buUding or enclosed by fixed or moveable insulation or double-glazing.

Masonry products used as thermal storage in walls or floors must be a minimum of three

inches thick. Floors used as thermal storage must be insulated around the perimeter to a

depth of two and one-half feet below grade or under the floor with a material approved for

underground installation and having an insulating value of at least R-10. Materials which are

not specifically designed for thermal storage such as hot tubs, swimming pools, chimneys,

single layer gypsum board, wood panelling and flooring, linoleum tile, masonry walls and
floors not exposed to direct sunlight during the heating season, and floors covered with car-

peting arc not eligible for the tax credit.

(I) Non-load-bearing thermal storage elements. 100 percent of the cost of non-load-bcaring

thermal storage elements is eligible for the tax credit. This includes items such as containers

filled with water, rock, or phase change materials, rock beds, and free-standing walls of

brick, concrete or solid block.

(II) Load-bearing thermal storage components. 50 percent of the cost of load-bcanng ther-

mal storage components is eligible for the tax credit. This includes walls and floors of brick,

concrete, or solid brick.

(iii) Control and Distribution FIcments. Devices that are specifically designed to control heat

loss or heat gain or to distribute heat from a passive solar energy system are eligible for the

25 percent solar tax credit. These include:

(I) .Moveable insulation. 100 percent of the cost of mo\'cablc insulation dc\ices arc eligible

for the tax credit provided they have an R-value of at least three and seal tiglitly agaijist the

window frame. Standard draperies and curtains do not qualify.

(II) Shading devices. 100 percent of the cost of devices used to shade solar collection suriaccs

is eligible for the lax credit, provided that these de\'ices shade no portion of the collection

surface on December 21. Adjustable or rcmoveabic awnings, solar screens, and solar films,

and lattice work used to support \ines are examples of shading devices. Trees, shmbbery,
and other vegetation are not eligible, nor are interior shading devices such as shades or

blinds.

(III) Ducts, fans, vents, backflow preventers, etc. 100 percent of the cost of these items is

eligible for the tax credit if designed exclusi\'ely as part of the solar energy distribution (not

collection) system. Ceiling fans, attic fans, and free standing fans are not eligible for the tax

credit.

(IV) Controls. 100 percent of the cost of theiTnostatic controls or other controls, sensors and
equipment, is eligible for the tax credit when designed as part of the solar system.

Uistorv \ote: Statiiton' Authoritv G.S. 105-151. 2: 105-163.03: 105-262:

Eff. .lime I. /OS2:
'

Amended Eff. .lunc I. 1900: July I. I0S6: May I. I0S4.

.0606 ckkdh iok child and Di:rK\nKNT c.ark kx^hnsks
(a) A tax credit is allowable for the employment-related expenses for child and dependent care. The

credit is calculated on the net qualified Federal employment-related expenses at~ter reduction for any
employer-paid dependent care assistance that is excluded from Federal gross income. For dependents

who were seven years old or older and not physically or mentally incapable of caring for themsehes,

the credit is seven percent of the net qualified Federal employment-related expenses.

(b) For dependents who were under the age of seven and dependents who were physically or mentally

incapable of caring for themselves, the credit is ten percent of the net qualified Federal employment-
related expenses. An indi\'idual who is not able to dress, clean, or feed himself because of a physical

or mental condition is not able to care for himself Indi\iduals with mental conditions who require

constant attention to prevent them from injuring themselves or others are considered to be unable to

care for themseh'cs.
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(c) For a dependent who becomes age seven during the taxable year and who is not physically or

mentally incapable of caring for himself, the tax credit for employment-related expenses incurred prior

to the dependent's seventh birthday will be calculated at the ten percent rate, and the tax credit for

employment-related expenses incurred after the dependent becomes age seven will be calculated at the

seven percent rate.

(d) if an individual was a resident of North Carolina and his spouse was a nonresident, he may not

claim credit for any employment-related expenses paid by his spouse. An individual who was a non-

resident during any part of the tax year, must reduce the employment-related expenses by the amount
he paid during the period he was a nonresident.

Ilistotj Sote: Statuton- Authnritv G.S. 105-151.11; 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.

.0607 CRKDIT FOR INCOMK T.W F'AID TO ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY
A tax credit is allowed to an indi\idual who is a resident of North Carolina for tax imposed by and

paid to another state or countr>- on income that is also taxed by North Carolina, subject to the fol-

lowing conditions:

(1) The income must ha\c been derived from sources in the other state or countr>' and must have

been taxed under the laws of that state or country, regardless of the legal residence of the taxpayer.

(2) The credit allowable is the smaller of either the tax paid the other state or countr\' on income also

taxed by North Carolina or the product obtained by multiplying the North Carolina tax computed
before credit by a fraction in which the numerator is the part of the North Carolina income, as

adjusted, which is taxed in the other state or country" and the denominator is the total income as

adjusted, received while a resident of North Carolina. If credits are claimed for taxes paid to more
than one state or countn,', a separate computation must be made for each state or countr>' and the

separate credits combined to determine the total credit.

(3) Receipt or other proof showing payment of income tax to the other state or countr\ and a true

cop\ of the return tiled with the other state or country must be submitted u ith the North Carolina

return. No credit is allowed for income taxes paid to a city, county, or other political subdi\ision

of a state or to the Federal government.

If any tax for which a resident has claimed a tax credit on his North Carolina income tax return

is refunded at any time by the other state or country, a tax equal to that portion of the credit al-

lowed for the taxes credited or refunded must be paid to North Carolina.

Histon- \ote: Siatuton' Authoriiv G.S. 105-151 : 105-262:

Eff. ./line I, 1990.
'

.0608 CRKDIT KOR CORPORATE TAX PAIO \i\ S CORF'ORATION TO ANOIIIER STATE
(a) Credit is allowed to a resident shareholder for his share of the coqiorate lax paid by an S corpo-

ration to another state that taxes the corporation rather than the shareholder on the S corporation's

income, or the computed credit, \\hiche\er is less.

(b) If credit is claimed for the shareholder's part of the corporate tax paid, a schedule must be attached

to the North Carolina return showing the total tax paid by the .S corporation and how the pro rata share

of the tax was determined.

(c) This credit is also allowed to resident shareholders with respect to the corporate income tax paid

to North Carolina by an S corporation for a fiscal year ending in the calendar }ear 19S9.

Uiston Sote: Statutoiy Authoriiy G.S. 105-151. S: 105-262;

EJf June I. 1990.
'

.0609 CREDEI FOR NOR 11 1 CAROLINA DIMDENDS
(a) .V tax credit is allowed to a taxpa\er tor di\idends recei\ed from a corjioration which allocates

50 percent or more of its income or loss for the >ear to North Carolina. The credit is six percent of

the amount of dividends recehed by the taxpayer while a resident of North Carolina and ma\ not ex-

ceed the tax liability for the tax year reduced by all other tax credits.

(b) The maximum credit is three hundred dollars ($300.00) per taxpayer; howe\er, if a joint return

is tiled the three hundred dollars ($300.00) maximum credit applies separately to each spouse for a total

potential credit of six hundred dollars ($600.00). Dividends from stock owned jointly must be allocated
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50 percent to each spouse. Dividends from stock owned by only one spouse must be allocated entirely

to that spouse.

(c) The tax credit is not allowed for dividends received from a corporation which elected to be taxed

as an S corporation under the Internal Revenue Code except for dividends attributable to a taxable

period during which the corporation operated as a C corporation.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-151.19: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

SFXTION .0700 - ACTIVE AND RKSERVE DLTY MILITARY PAY

.0701 MILITARY PAY IN GENERAL

.0702 RESIDENT ARMED SEKMCES PERSONNEL

.0703 NONRESIDENT ARMED SERMCES PERSONNEL

.0704 ESTIMATED INCOME TAX RETURNS

.0705 SERVICE INCOME AND DEDUCTIONS

.0706 EXTENSIONS

History Note: Statulorj^ .Authority G.S. 105-134: 105-135(13); 105-141; 105-141 (b 1(25); 105-147;

105-163.15; 105-163.18; 105-262; 105-263; 50 U.S.C. Sec. 574;

Eff. Febr-uary 1, 1976;

Amended Eff Aui^ust 1, 1986; Mav 1, 1984; June 1, 1982; March 22, 1981;

Repealed EJf. June 1, 1990.

SECTION .0800 - INSTALLMENT SALES

.0801 GENERAL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-141 (a): 105-142(f); 105-144; 105-262;

Eff Febnuuy 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. February 1. 1988; May 1. 1984: June 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 1990.

SECTION .0900 - SALE OE PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE

.0901 GENERAL

.0902 RULES

.0903 DEKINniONS

.0904 PARIIALLV USED AS A RESIDENCE

.0905 CON\ERTED TO REN FAL PROPERTY

.0906 EXCHANGE

.0907 ALLOCAIION UETWEEN HUSBAND AND WIFE

.0908 ACQUIRED in GIFT OR INHERITANCE

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-144.2; 105-262:

EJf February 1, 19^6:

Amended Eff Febriiary 1. 1988; August 1, 1986; May 1, 1984; March 21, 1981;

Repealed Eff June 1, 1990.

.0910 REPORTING SALE

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-144.2; 105-262;

Eff Febr-uary I, 1976:

Amended Eff June I. 1982; March 29, 1981: February 21, 1979:

Repealed Eff June 1, 1990.

.0911 55 0RO\ER

History .\ote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-141 ( b)f26 1; 105-262:

Eff Mar'ch 29, 1981:

Amended Eff May 1. 1984;
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Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

SECTION .1000 - FRIVATIi ANNUITY TRANSACTIONS

.1001 GENKKAL

History Note: Statutorv Authority G.S. 105-141 (a): 105-144: 105-262;

Eff. Eehnmr\' I. 1976:

.{mended Eff .lune I, 1982:

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

secnon .1100 - invoiuniary con\ ersion

.1101 (;eneral

lli.storv Note: Statutor\' .tuthoritv G.S. 105-144.1: 105-262:

Eff February I. 1976:

.Imended Eff April I. 197S:

Repealed Eff .lune I. 1990.

SECHON .1200 - COST BASIS OE PROPERTY

.1201 GENERAL

.1202 CHANGES IN HIE BASIS

.1203 COS! BASIS GLIDE (HART

lliston' Note: Statutorv Authority G.S. 105-144: 105-262:

Eff. February I. 1976:

Amended Eff .March 25. 1978:

Repealed Eff. .lune I. 1990.

SECIION .1.^00 - lENANCY BY THE ENIIREI^

.\M)\ GENERAL

.1302 HOW ( REAIED

.1303 INCOME

.1.104 (;ain or loss

.1.105 BASIS TO SLRMNOR

lliston.' Note: Statutorv Authority G.S. 39-13.6: 39-l3.6(c}: 105-144: 105-262:

Eff Eebniary I, 1976:

Amended Eff .Mav I, 1984: June I, 1982: February 18, 1978:

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

.1306 BASIS ALTER DIVORCE

History Note: Stalutoiy Authoritv G.S. 105-262:

Eff February IS, 1978;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SECnON .1400 - INCOME AND DEDLCIIONS OE DECEDEN IS

.1401 GENERAL

.1402 HIE REl'ORTIN(; OE INC OME

.1403 DEDLC riONS

.1404 REH NDS

llistoty Note: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 2SA-15-8: 28A-15-9: 31A-4: 105-142: 105-142.1;

105-152: 105-262;'

Eff Fcbmaiy I, 19^6:

Amended Elf August I. 1986: June I. 1982; February 21. 1979;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.
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SFXTION .1500 - STOCK DIVIDENDS AND STOCK RIGHTS

.1501 GENERAL

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-141 (a); 105-262;

Eff. Febniarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff. June I, I9S2;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

SECTION .1600 - BASIS OF DIVESTED STOCK

.1601 GENERAL

.1602 ALLOCATION OF BASIS

Historv \ote: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-144.4; 105-262;

Eff Fehmarv I. 1976;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

SECTION .1700 - EXEMPT INCOME

.1701 GENERAL

.1702 LIFE INSL RANGE PROCEEDS

.170.? REILKN OF I'HLMILMS

.1704 (.IF IS

.1705 INIIERIIANCE

.1706 (;0\FRNMFNI OBIIGA1IONS

Histoty Sate: Statuton Authority G.S. 105-141: I05-I4l(al: 105-14! ( b X /): 105-141 {b)( 2);

105-141 (b)(3): 105-/4/ (b)(4): /05-/44: /05-262;

Eff. Februar\' /. /976:

Amended EJf Eebniary /. /9S9: August /. /9.\6: June /. /9S2: March 29. /9S/;

Repealed EJf. June /, /990.

.I70S ACCIDEN r OR HEALTH INSLRANCE

.1709 MEDICAL BENEFIIS

ilistoty Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. / 05-/4/ {a): /05-/4/ { b )( 5 ): / 05-262:

Eff Eebniaiy /. /9''6:

Amended Eff. .May /. /9S4:

Repealed EJf June /. /990.

.1715 REIIREMFNT BENEFITS FROM Ol HER S lA lES

.1716 MEALS AND lOIKWNG

History .\'ote: Statutory Authority G.S. /05-/4/(a}: /05-/4/ (b)(S I: /05-/4/ ( b )( 9 )a.: /05-262:

EJf I'eb'ruaiy /. /9"6:

Amended Eff April /9. /'«/; March 29, /9S/: Februatr /S. /97S:

Repealed Eff June /. /9<M).

.1728 TAX SHFLTERFD ANNLI IIES

Histon' \ole: Stalutoty Authority G.S. /05-/4/ 1 b)i /7): /05-262:

EJf Eebniar\> /. /9^6:

Amended Eff April /9. /9.S/: I'cbniaty /S, /97S;

Repealed /:lf. June /. /990.

.17.^0 DEDLCIIBIE DIMDENDS

.17.^1 RELOCAIION EXPENSE

History Note: Statutoiy Authority G.S. /05-/4/(a): /05-/42(el: /05-/44: /05-/47(7):
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105-262: 133-15;

Eff. February I. 19-6:

Amended Eff. June I, I9S2: April 19. I9SI;

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

.1733 ^()R^II { AROI.rNA LOCAL GON LKNMKNT

.1734 RAIL[«)AI) KKLIKKMENT

Uiston- Sole: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-141 (a): 105-262: 128-31: 45 L'.S.C. Sec. 231m:

Eff. February I. 19^6:

Amended Eff. June I. 1982:

Repealed Eff. June /, 1990.

.1737 NLIKKANS ADMINLS LKAFION BLNKFLLS

.I73.S DLSAHILLL'S INCOME

niuon- Xote: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-/41: 105-262: 38 L'.S.C. sec. 3101:

Eff Febmary I. 19^6:

Amended Eff June I. 1982:

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.1740 STATE EM^•LO^ EES' KETIHFMENT

Ilistoty Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. 135-9: 105-262:

Eff Febniary /, 19-6:

Amended Eff May J. 1984: Februan- 18, 1918:

Repealed Eff June L 1990.

.1742 CAMI'AI(;N C ()MKII?l LIONS

.1743 TKAININ(; ALLOW AN(ES

.1744 HKOIIILKIIOOD RELIEF

l/iuoty Xote: Statutory .iuthority G.S. 105-141 (al: 105- 141 (b}(3 ): 105-262:

Eff February I. 1976:

Repealed Eff. June /. 1990.

.1747 INDIAN RESLR\VIION INCOME

History Xote: Statutory .Authority United States Court of .Appeals (Fourth Circuit > Xo. 79-1589:

G.S. 105-141: 105-262:

Eff June I, 1982:

Repealed Eff June 1. 1990.

.1748 NORIII ( AROIINA lECISI.AIINE REI IREMEN I BENEFITS

llistoiy Xote: Statulmy Authority G.S. 120-4.4: 120-4.23: 105-262:

Eff May I, 1984;
'

Amended Eff. August I, 1986;

Repealed Eff. June 1. 1990.

.1749 I'l NIII\E DAMAt.ES

.1750 IOSIER I'AREN IS RLIMIU RSEMEN F

.1751 ( lllll) AND DEI'ENDENF ASSISIANC E I'\1D in EMIMONER

.1752 F()REIc;n in{ ome e\( lesion

Hislon' .\'otc: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-141 (a): 105-141ibl5: 105-141i bn 9 !c.;

105-141{bj(22): 105-262:

Ejf August 1. 1986:

Amended Eff. Xovember 1. 1988;

Repealed Eff June 1. 1990.
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SECTION .1800 -SCHOLARSHIP AND FELLOWSHIP GRANTS

.1802 FEDERAL PRACTICE TO BE FOLLOWED

History Note: Statutorv Authorily G.S. 105-141 (b)( 10); 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

SECTION .1900 - EMPLOYEE DEATH BENEFITS

.1901 GENERAL

.1902 THE FI\ E THOLSAND DOLLAR EXCLUSION

.1903 NONFORFEITABLE RIGHTS

History Note: Statutorv .Authority G.S. 105-14! (a)( 16); 105-141.1; I05-I4I (b)( II ); 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. August I. 1986; June I, 1982: February 18. 1978;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

SECTION .2000 - DEPRECIATION AND DEPLETION

.2003 STATE AND FEDERAL DIFFERENCES

.2004 FEDERAL PRACTICE TO BE FOLLOWED

History Note: Statutory Aut/writv G.S. 105-147(12); 105-262;

Eff. Febmarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff May I, 1984: June I, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

SECTION .2100 - CONSERN ATION AND LAND CLEARING

.2102 FEDERAL PRACTICE TO BE FOLLOWED

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-147(1); 105-262;

Eff Febmarv I, 1976;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

SECTION .2200 - TRA\ EL EXPENSES

.2201 GENERAL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-147(1); 105-147(2); 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff February I. 1989;

Repealed Eff June I, 'l990.

.2203 FEDERAL PRACTICE TO BE FOLLOWED

Hi.Uory Note: Statutory Aut/writv G.S. 105-147(1): 105-147(2); 105-262;

Eff Febr-uaiy I, 1976;

Amended Eff February I, 1988; June I, 1982;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.2204 REIMBLRSEMENT FOR MEALS

History Note: Statutory Aut/writv G.S. 105-147(1); 105-262;

Eff March 29, 1 98 1:

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SECTION .2300 - EDLCATION EXPENSES
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.2M)\ GKNKKAL

.IMV. I KDKRAL 1'KACHCK \0 UK FOLLOWED

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-147(2); 105-/47(3); 105-148(1); 105-262;

Eff. rebrumy I. 1976;

Amended Eff. February I. 1 988;

Repealed Eff. June /, 'l990.

.2303 KMIM ()^tR'S KDl CAIIONAL ASSISTANCE

ffistoty .\oie: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-141 (b)(23}; 105-262;

Eff Mat'ch 29. 1981;

Repealed Eff .lune I. 1990.

SKCHON .2400 - MO\ INC; K.XI'KNSES

.2401 GKMKAL

.2402 I KDKK \L I'RAC I K K TO HK KOI LOW11)

lli.uoty Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-141 (a)(2h; 105-147(8); 105-262;

Eff Febniaiy I. 1976;

Amended Eff Febniaiy I. 1988; March II. 1978;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.2403 MKMI5KRS OK 1 1 IK ARMKO KORCKS

Uistoty Sole: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105- 141 (a)(2l ); l05-l47(Sl; 105-262;

Eff March II, 1978;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.2404 KORKKA MONKS

History Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105- 141 {a){21 ); I05-J47i8); 105-262;

Eff May /, 1984;

Repealed Eff June /. 1990.

SKCIION .2500 - RKI IRKMKM I'l ANS

.2502 KKDKRAI PR ACriCK lO UK KOI LOW KO

llistoiy Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. I05-14''( 20); 105-262;

Eff Eehruaiy I, 19-6;

Amended Eff. Febniaiy I. 1988; August I. 1986: May I. 1984; June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff June I. '/990.

.2504 KKDKRAI. PRACTICK TO HK KOI LOW KD

Uistoty Sole: Statutoiy Authority G.S. l05-l4-(20l; 105-262;

Eff February I. 1976;

Amended Eff May I. 1984; June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

SKCIION ,2600 - ( ARR\-0\ KR KOSS

.2f>01 (;knkrai.

Uistoty Sole: Statutoiy .iuthority G.S. 105-/47(9 id.; /05-262;

Eff Febniaiy /. ErO;
Amended Eff. June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff June /. /990.
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.2603 BLSFNESS-CONNFXTEn DEDUCTION

.2604 APPORIIONMENT

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 1 05- 147 (9)d.; 105-262;

Eff. February /. 1976:

Amended EJJ. August I, I9S6; June I, 1982;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 1990.

SECTION .2700 - INTEREST DEDUCTION

.2701 GENERAL

.2702 CASH AND ACCRUAL BASIS

.2703 BUSINESS DEDUCTION

.2704 HUSBAND AND WIFE

.2705 MORTGAGES

.2706 LIFE INSURANCE LOANS

.2707 COOPERATIN E OW^SERS

.2708 NOTE DISCOUNT

History Sole: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-135(11): 105-141.3; 105-142: 105-147(5);

I05-I47{I9); 105-262;

Eff. Febmaty I. 1976;

Amended Eff November I. I9S8; June I, I9S2;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

.2711 REVOLMNG CHARGE ACCOUNTS

.2712 OTHER INTEREST PAYMENTS

.2713 RETIREMENT SYSTEMS

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 1 05-147 (5J; 105-262;

Eff February I. 1976;

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

SECTION .2800 - TAXES PAID

.2801 GENERAL

.2802 CASH AND ACCRUAL BASIS

.2803 WHO MAY CLAIM HIE DEDLCTION

.2804 BUSINESS DEDUdlON

.2805 DEDl CIIBLE BY RESIDENTS

.2806 NONDEDUCIIBLE

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-135(11 ); 105-141.3; 105-147(6); 105-147(19): 105-262:

Eff February I. 1976;

Amended Eff November I, I9SS: February I. 19SS; .4ui:ust I, 1986: April 5. 198 1;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

SECTION .2900 - CASUALTY AND IlIEFT LOSSES

.2901 GENERAL

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-147(9 )a.: 105-I47(9)b.; 105-262;

Eff Febntary I, 1976;

Amended Eff February /, 1988; May I. 1984; June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff June /, 7990.

SECTION .3000 - CONTRIBUTIONS

..1001 GENERAL

.3002 QUALIFIED ORGANIZATIONS

..1003 GR.^TUITOUS SERVICE EXPENSES

5:5 NORTH CAROLIN.i REGISTER June I, 1990 3SI



rrXAL RULES

..1004 WIIKN DKDl ( rilJIK

.1005 IIMIIMIONS

..1(»06 AMOl M IHIM (IIHI E

.1007 NONOKDl ( riBLK COMRIIU TIONS

.1008 I'ARrNKRSIIII' COM RIHI IIONS

llisiorv Sote: Suiidon- Authority G.S. 105-147(15): I05-I47( 15a): 105-147(16):

105-163. 16(e): 105-262:

Eff. February /. 1916:

Amended Eff. Xovember I, 19SS: August I. I9H6: Mav I, I9S4: June I. I9S2:

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

secnon .1100 - medical expenses

..1101 (;eneral

.1102 deeimiions

..1103 iimiiaiions

..1104 III SliAM) AM) WIEE

.1105 DEI'ENDEMS

..1106 El NERAl, EXPENSES

.1107 COMMON DEDECriBl.E EXPENSES

..1108 SPE( lAE CASES

.1109 NONDEDl ( riBEE EXPENSES

..M 10 MEDICAL C ARE EOR .\ DECEDENT

..M 1 I REIMin RSEMENl

Histor,- .\ote: SlatutofT Authority G.S. 105-142. 1: 105-14^ {} I ): 105-262:

Eff Febmary I, 19''6:

Amended Eff Mav I. 1984: June 1. 1982: April 12. 1981: March II. 19^8:

Repealed Eff. June I. 1990.

SECriON .3200 - PENALTIES: INDIMDIAL INCOME TAX

.3203 PENAL LIES EOR EAII LRE TO FILE AND PAY
(a) Under the provisions of G.S. 105-236 both the failure to file and failure to pay penalties, if due.

can be applied for the same month. If a return is filed late without fjayment of the tax shown due. both
the late filing and late pavment penalties will be assessed at the same time as shown in the table in this

Rule:

Cause Penalty

( 1

)

Return filed by due date showing tax

due of $1.00 or more—No tax paid by
due date 10°o failure to pa\ (minimum $5.00).

(2) Return filed late showing tax due of

$1.00 or more--No tax paid with return 5"o per month failure to file ($5.00 min.

— 25°o max.) and 10"o failure to pay--

($5.00 min.).

(3) Return filed late showing tax due of

$1.00 or more paid with retum 5"n per mouth failure to file ($5.(K) min.

— 25''o max.) and ID",., failure to pav

($5.00 mm.).

(4) Retum filed late showing no tax due or

tax due of less than $I.00--Tax due after

examination *5"'u per month failure to file ($5.00 min.

-25^0 max.).

(5) Retum filed by due date showing no tax

due or tax due of less than $1.00—Tax due

after examination *No penalty at time of examination.

(6) Retum filed late showing tax due of

$1.00 or more--'rax and failure to file

penalty paid with retum--More tax due

after examination ^Failure to file penalty on additional
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tax on same basis as was assessed on
original return. 10% failure to pay on the

tax shown due on the retum--($5.00 min.)

(7) Return filed by due date showing tax due

tax paid with return-- More tax due after

examination *No penalty at time of examination.

(8) Return filed late showing refund—Refund
is made--Tax due after examination *5% per month failure to file ($5.00 min.

—25% max.) on additional tax.

(9) Return filed late showing refund--Rcfund

is not made--Tax due after examination *5% per month failure to file ($5.00 min.
--25% max.) on additional tax.

(10) Return filed by due date showing refund

--Refund is made--Tax due after examination *No penalty at time of examination.

(1 1) Amended return filed showing tax due of

$1.00 or more--no tax paid with return 10% failure to pay ($5.00 min.).

( 12) .Amended return filed showing tax due of

$1.00 or more--part of tax paid with return 10"o failure to pay on balance of tax due
: ($5.00 min.).

*A negligence or fraud penalty may also be assessed.

(b) If the return is filed under an extension, the failure to file penalty will be assessed from the ex-

tended filing date rather than from the original due date. Interest is due from the original due date to

the date paid.

(c) The failure to file penalty will not be assessed on the return of an individual residing or traveUng

outside the United States if the return is filed on or before the 15th day of the sixth month from the

close of the tax year (.lune 15th in the case of a calendar year taxpayer) or later if the taxpayer has a

federal extension, a copy of which is attached to the return; or a further extension of time may be

granted, based upon the facts, if the taxpayer completes Form D-410, "Apphcation for Extension of

Time for Fifing State Income Tax Returns".

Hishny Sote: Slatutorv Autlwhtv G.S. /05-/52(e): 105-236: 105-262: 105-263;

Eff. April /, I97S:

Amended Eff. June I, 1990.

.3205 I AII.LRK K) KKPOKl KKDKR.KL CHANCJES
When a taxpayer fails to report federal changes within two years from the date he receives the federal

revenue agent's report or other final determination of corrected net income, he is subject to the failure

to file and failure to pay penalties and forfeits his right to any refund as the result of the federal changes.

Ihe failure to file and failure to pa) penalties begin at the expiration of the two-year period.

History Sote: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-159: 105-236(3): 105-262:

Eff April I. 1978:

Amended Eff June I. 1990.

.3209 \V.\I\ KR Ol- I'KNALTY
Any penalty can be wai\ed by the Secretary of Re\enue except the penalty for unpaid checks. Any

request for waiver or reduction of penalty should be made in writing explaining the reasons for re-

questing the waiver. Interest however will not be waived under any circumstances.

HiUory Sote: Stalulori' Authoritv G.S. 105-163.15; 105-237; 105-262;

Eff April I. 1978;'

A/nended Eff June I. 1990.

SKCriON ..VM)0- ACCOIMINC; PKRIOnS AND MKiiions

.3301 GENERAL

.3302 .VCCOLNTING METHODS

.3303 .VCCOl NTING PERIODS

.3.^04 ( IIANGE IN INCOME ^ EAR

.3305 ANNUALIZING INCOME
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Ilistoiy Sntc: Statutoiy Authoritv G.S. 105-135(5); /05-/42(a); I05-I42(b): 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. February I, I9S8; June I. 1982; April 12, 1981;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SKCriON ..^400 -SI AILTE Ol LIMITATIONS AND FEDERAL CHANGES

.3406 KEKLNDS
(a) G.S. 105-266 authorizes refunds to taxpayers for overpayment of taxes of three dollars ($.V00) or

more with interest beginning 90 days after the tax was paid. A refund of less than three dollars ($3.00)

will not be made unless a written request is received from the taxpayer. I'he section also pro\ides a

time limit for refunds by specifying that "... no overpayment shall be refunded irrespecti\e of whether

upon discoveiy or receipt of written demand if such discovery is not made or such demand is not re-

ceived within three years from the date set by the statute for the filing of the return or within six months
of the payment of the tax ;dleged to be an overpayment whichever date is the later." If the taxpayer

has been granted an extension of time for filing the return, the three year period referred io in G.S.

105-266 is three years from the extended date.

(b) Cj.S. 105-163.16 provides for the refunding of overpayments amounting to one dollar ($1.00) or

more which result from the withholding of income taxes from wages at the source or from payments
made on declarations of estimated tax. An o\erpayment of less than one dollar ($1.00) will not be

refunded except upon receipt of a written demand from the taxpa\er. Interest on these o\'erpa\ ments
will be computed from a date six months from tlie time the return is filed or is due to be filed, \vhiche\er

is later. The time limit for claiming refunds is three years from the due date or six months after pay-

ment uhiche\er is later, except in the case of federal changes as explained in .3403 of this Section.

(c) The law requires the interest rate to be determined on or before June I for the follow ing six-month

period beginning on Jul_\' 1 and on or before December 1 for the folknving six-month period beginning

on .lanuar)- 1. The current rate of interest may be obtained by contacting the Department of Re\enue.

(d) For refunds barred by the three-year statute of limitations, C}.S. 105-267.1 presides for the re-

funding of taxes w hich through clerical error, or misinterpretation of the law, or otherw ise ha\e been

paid in excess of the amount legally due; provided, the demand for such refund is made within two years

from the time of the payment. This two-year statute of limitations does not apply in cases where the

tax is due and payable to another state. Any refimd made under this statute must be certified by the

Director of the Indi\idual Income Tax Division, approxed b\' the .\ttomey General, and will not in-

clude any interest.

nislon Note: Slatuloty Aulhohlv G.S. 105-/6.116; 105-241.1; 105-262: 105-266;

Eff Febniarv I. 19^6;

Amended Eff June 1. 1990; Au:^usl 1. 1986; May I, 1984; December 17, 1978.

SK(HON .3500 - PAKINERSIIIl'S

.3501 CKNEKAL
The partnerships taxable income detennined under the Internal Re\enue Code is the starting point

for preparing the North Carolina partnership income tax returns. I'he same additions, deductions and
transitional adjustments to Federal taxable income required for indi\ iduals apph to pailnerships.

Histoiy \ote: Statutory Aulhoriiv G.S. 105-152(a)i3)i2j; 105-I54{b); 105-142(0; 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

. I mended Eff June 1, 1990; December J. 1986.

.3502 TAXING I'AUIAKRSI IIP INCOME

Histon- \ote; Statutory Authority G.S. 105- 142(c); 105-262;

Elf. February 1, im;
.t mended Eff June 1. 1982;

Repealed Eff June I. 1090.

.3503 PARTNERSIIir RETl RNS
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(a) A North Carolina partnership return (Form D-403), must be filed by every partnership doing

business in North Carolina if a Federal partnership return was required to be filed. For individual in-

come tax purposes, the term "business carried on in this State" means the operation of any activity

within North Carolina regularly, continuously, and systematically for the purpose of income or profit.

A sporadic activity, a hobby, or an amusement diversion does not come within the definition of a

business carried on in this State. Income from an intangible source which is received in the course of

a business operation in this State so as to have a taxable situs here (including such income which is

included in the distributive share of partnership income, whether distributed or not) is included Ln the

numerator of the fraction used in determining the portion of federal taxable income that is taxable to

North Carolina by a nonresident. The return must include the names and addresses of the individuals

entitled to share in the net income of the partnership and must be signed by the managing partner and
the indi\idual preparing the return.

(b) A copy of the Federal Partnership Income Tax Return, Fonn 1065, and aU schedules, including

each K-1 must be attached to the North Carolina partnership return.

History Sote: Slatulon' Authoriiv G.S. I05-I42(c): 105-I52(a)(2); /05-/54(b); 105-262:

Efj: February I. 19^6:

Amended Eff. June I. 1990; June I, I9S2.

..^504 AC( OlMING PKRIOH

..^505 ACCOLMING MKHIOIXS

.3506 n KMS EXKMPI I ROM INCOME

.3507 lU SINESS DKDLCTIONS

..1508 COMKIBLTIONS

.3509 DKDL CTIRI.E DIMDENDS

History Sote: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-141: I05-I42(al: I05-I42(b): I05-I42{c):

105-147(1 ){b}: 105-147(2): 105-147(7); 105-147(15); 105-14^(16);

I05-I54(b): 105-262;

Eff. Februan- I. 1976;

Amended Eff February /, I9SS;

Repealed Eff. June f 'l990.

.3511 NONDEDLCTIBLE ITEMS

.3512 OLT-OF-STME INCOME

Histoiy Sote: Statutor\' Authority G.S. 105-136; 105-140; 105-141 [a); /05-J42(c); 105-151:

I05-I54{bj: 105-262;

Eff Februaiy I. 1976:

Repealed EJf June I. 1990.

.3513 NONRESIDENT PARTNERS
(a) When an established business in North Carolina is owned by a partnership ha\ing one or more

nonresident members, the managing partner is responsible for reporting the distribution share of the

income of each nonresident partner and is required to compute and pay the tax due for each nonresi-

dent partner. The tax rate is six percent of the nonresident partner's share of income up to twelve

thousand se\en hundred fift\- dollars ($12,750). plus seven percent of the income o\cr twelve thousand
seven hundred fifty dollars ($12,750). The manager is authorized by statute to withhold the tax due
from each nonresident partner's share of the partnership net income. Payment of the tax on behalf of

nonresident corporate partners does not relie\e the corporation from filing corporate income tax and
franchise tax returns; howe\er. credit for the tax paid by the managing partner may be claimed on the

corporate returns. .-Vlthough a partnership may treat guaranteed payments to a partner for ser\iccs or

for use of capital as if they were paid to a person who is not a partner, such treatment is only for pur-

poses of determining its gross income and deductible business expenses. For other tax purposes, such

guaranteed payments are treated as a partner's distributive share of ordLnan' income. In detennrning

the allowable North Carolina deductions from Federal taxable income, do not include a partners sal-

ary", interest on a partner's capital account, partner relocation and mortgage interest differential pay-

ments, or paxments to a retired partner regardless of whether they were detennined without regard to

current profits. These t\pes of payments are treated as part of the partner's share of the partnership

income. A nonresident partner is not required to file a North Carolina individual income tax return
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when the only income from North Carolina sources is the nonresident's share of income from a part-

nership doing business in North Carolina and the manager of the partnership has reported the income

of the nonresident partners and paid the tax due. A nonresident partner may file an individual income
tax return and claim credit for the tax paid by the manager of the partnership if the payment is properly

identified on the individual income tax return.

(b) If a partnership has one or more nonresident partners and is operating in one or more states other

than North Carolina, the partnership's net income attributable to North Carolina for the purpose of

determining the North Carolina income tax liability of a nonresident partner must be determined by
multiplying the total net income of the partnership by the ratio ascertained under the provisions of G.S.

105-130.4. This means that in the allocation of net income of a nonresident partner to North Carolina

the applicable allocation formula prescribed for corporations is used. This allocation of income does

not affect the reporting of partnership income by the resident partner because he is taxable on his share

of the net income of the partnership whether or not any portion of it is attributable to another state

or country.

Histoiy Xote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105- 134.5( d ): I05-I42(c): 105-154; 105-262;

Eff. rehniafj I. 1976;

. [mended r.ff. June I, 1990; April 12. I9SI.

..^514 LINll lAIION ON I.OSSKS

.3515 BASIS OF A I'AKrNKK'S INTEREST

.3516 I.IQl iDAIION

.3517 I'KOI'KRI V RET.MNED

.3518 (>AIN OR I.OSS ON DISTRIIU TION

.3519 DlSI'OSmON OF PARFNER'S IN FERFST

.3520 FAMIF^ FAR FNERSI HI'S

Histon- Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. I05-I42(a>; I05-I42(c); I05-I44(a): 105-147(9 )a.;

/05-I54(b>: /05-262:

Eff. Fcbnmn- I. I9~6;

Amended Eff. June I. 1 982;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.3521 ESI IMAFFD INCOME TAX
No estimated income tax is required of a partnership. Indi\idual partners must pay estimated income

tax on Form NC-40.

Hi-Uon- Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-163.1 1: 105-262;

Eff. Febn/aiy I. 1976;

Amended Eff June I. 1990.

.3523 COMMON IRFST FLNDS

.3524 IN\ESr\IFN F CFFIJS

.3525 1ENANC\ \i\ FIIE ENTIRETY

Histoiy Sote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-I42(cj: 105-152(aj(3); 105-154{b); 105-262;

Eff Februaiy I. 1976;

Amended Eff \ovember 1. 19SS: May 1, 19,34;

Repealed Eff June 1. 1990.

.3526 FAX CREDITS
Since the total di\idend income is allocated to the indi\idual partners, the partnership should furnish

each resident partner a schedule of his share of the dividends to be used in deteimining any allowable

tax credit to be claimed on the partner's indi\idual income tax return.

lli.uoiy Xote: Statutoiy .tulhority G.S. 105-151.19; 105-262;

Eff June 1. 1990.
'

SECIION .3600 - FIFE ESTA I E AND REMAINDER IN FERFST

.3601 GENERAF
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.3602 DEMMTIONS
360.1 BASIS Ol- LII E ESTATE PROPERTY
.3604 ALLOCAHON Oh BASIS
.3605 BASIS TO REMAINDERMAN
.3606 BASIS rO REMAINDERMAN'S SUCCESSOR
.3607 DEI'RECIAIION AND DEPLEHON
.3608 CASUALTY LOSS DEDUCTION
.3609 CAPILAL EXPENDIll RES
.3610 SALE OE LIEE ESTA IE AND REMAINDER IN lERESTS
.3611 TABLES

llislofy Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 8-46: S-47; 105-144: I05-I44(a): 105-147{9)b.:
105- 147{12): 105-148(2); 105-262:

Eff. February I. 1976:

Amended Eff. June I. 1982;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

SEC LION .3700 - ESTATES AND IRLSTS

.3701 GENERAL
All income of an estate or trust is taxed to the fiduciary' or the beneficiary. The conduit rules for taxing

estates and trusts are applicable for North Carolina income tax purposes. L'nder the conduit rules,

regardless of who is taxed, the income retains its same character as when received by the estate or trust.

Ilhtoiy \ote: Statutory Aulhoritv G.S. 105-160 to 105-163: 105-262;

Eff February I. 1976;

Amended Eff June I. 1990.

.3703 SIMPLE AND COMPLEX TRUSTS

.3704 INCOME lAXABI E LO EIDLCIARIES

.3705 oniKR INCOME

.3706 EXEMPI INCOME

Uistoiy Note: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-152: 105- 161(b): 105-161 {c) (3); 105-161 {d)( 5 };

/05-/6/(d)(7); 105-262;

Eff I'ebruarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff February' I. 1989;

Repealed Eff June /, 'l990.

.3708 PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

.3709 ORDINARN DEDIC LIONS

.3710 DEDl (HON LOR CHARITABLE PURPOSES

.371 1 DIS IRIHl lAHLE NET INCOME

.3712 DLSIRIBUnONS I () BENELIC lARIES

.3713 BASIS OL PROPER lY

Ilistoiy Note: Statutory Aulhoritv G.S. 105-142.1 ( e I: 105-I44(a): 105-16/ (c )( I ): 105-I(>l{d);

/05-/6/(d)(4); 105-161 {d}(5); l05-/6l(d)(6): 105-161 (d)(7 };

105- 162(e); 105-262;

Eff February' I, 1976;

Amended Eff Februan' I. 1988; Augmt I. 1986; June 1, 1982:

Repealed Eff June I. 'l990.

.3714 LAX CREDITS
(a) Estates and trusts are allowed all tax credits allowed to indi\ iiluals except for:

(1) Tax credits for income ta.xes paid by individuals to other states or countries,

(2) Tax credits for child and dependent care,

(3) Tax credits for the disabled.

(b) A fiduciar)' rec]uired to pay an income tax to North Carolina for a trust or estate for which he

acts may claim a credit for tax imposed and paid to another state or countiy on income from sources

within the other state or countr\' under the pro\isions of Ci.S. 105- 160. 4(a).

5:5 NORTH CAROLIN.A REGISTER June 1,1990 387



Fiy.iL RULES

(c) A resident bcncficiar>' of an estate or trust, the fiduciar>' of which pays an income tax to another

state or countr>' on distributable income reportable to North Carolina which is derived from sources

in the other state or country' may claim a credit against his North Carolina tax for his share of tax paid

the other state or countiA' under the provisions of G.S. 105- 160.4(e).

(d) A schedule is pro\idcd on the fiduciary return for use in computing the tax credit allowable to the

estate or trust. Before this schedule may be completed, however, there must be an allocation between

the estate or trust and its beneficiaries of the tax paid and the gross income on which such tax was paid

to the other state or country.

(c) The fiduciary's share and each bencficiaPi 's share of the gross income on which tax has been paid

to another state or countr\' is determined by the go\erning instrument and should be entered in the

appropriate schedule on the fiducian" return. The fiduciary's share of the total gross income to be used

in the tax credit computation schedule is the total gross income from Federal Form 1041.

(f) The tax credit for North Carolina di\idcnds apportioned to the estate or trust should be entered

on the line for "other tax credits". The credit apportionment is based on the distributions during the

year as they relate to the distributable net income adjusted for State tax purposes unless the will or trust

instrument creating the estate or tnist pro\ides for the distribution of the dixidends to certain benefici-

aries. If such is the case, the tax credit would be a\ailable to the beneficiar)' to which the di\'idends

were distributed.

(g) If additional tax credits are claimed, a separate schedule should be attached to the fiduciary return

showing how the credits were detennined and how the\ arc allocated between the bencficianes and the

fiducian'.

IlistofT \ote: Slalulon: Aulhoriiy G.S. 105-159.19: 105-160.3: 105-160.4: 105-262:

Eff. Fcbniarv I, 19-76:

.{mended Eff. .lime I. 1990: .hme I. 1982.

.M\> INCOMK r\\ AIJI K IX) IJKNKI K I \RIES

lliston \ote: Slatition- .luihority G.S. I05-I62iaj: 105-162(bl: 105-2h2:

Eff. Febmarv 1. 1916:

.Amended Eff. May 1. 1984: June /, I9S2:

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.3716 I IDl CIAR^ RKTl R\S
(a) I he Federal taxable income of the fiduciary is the starting point for preparing a Noilh Carolina

FiduciaPi' Return, Form D-407 and requires the same additions, deductions, and transitional adjust-

ments to Federal taxable income as retjuired for Lndixiduals.

(b) The fiducian responsible for administering the estate or trust is responsible for filing the tiducian

return and paying the tax. I he fiduciars must tile an income tax return tor the estate or trust for which

he acts it he is required to lUe a Federal fiducian. income tax return and:

(1) the estate or trust dcri\'es income from North Carolina sources: or

(2) the estate or tnist deri\'es any income which is for the benefit of a resident of North Carolina.

(c) Ihe return is required to be fded on or before April 15 if on a calendar \ear basis and on or before

the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of the fiscal _\ear if on a fiscal \ear basis.

(d) Fiduciaries should be consistent in the use of the name and address of an estate or trust on a re-

turn. If a different name for an estate or trust is used in any year from that used in the prior Near that

fact should be noted on the first page of the return and the name used in the prit)r year indicated. I he

use of numbers assigned by banks to estates and trusts are also helpful in the processing ol tnist returns

after the_\" are filed.

History .\ote: Staititoiy .{uthonty G.S. 105-160.5: 105-160.6: 105-262:

Elf- FebtuMT I, 1976:

.[mended Eff. June 1. 1990: ,[pril 12. 1981.

.yi\l IRf ST INSIRIMENTS .VND Wll I S

Histon Sole: Statiiiory .-Uuhohty G.S. 105-161 (e 1 1 1 1: 105-262:

Eff FebnuvT 1. 19^6:

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.
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.3718 PAYM KNT OF TAX
(a) The tax rate for estates and trusts is six percent of the taxable income up to twelve thousand seven

hundred fifty dollars ($12,750), plus seven percent of the amount over twelve thousand seven hundred

fifty dollars '($12,750).

(b) There is no provision in the income tax statutes to allow instaUment payment of income tax due

on returns filed for estates or trusts. The tax due on a fiduciary return is payable in full by the due date

of the return.

History' Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. I05-I60.2; 105-160.7: 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. June /, 1990.

..3721 SI'KCIAL IKLSTS

.3722 GRAM ORS IRLSTS

History Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105- 142(c); 105-152(3): I05-I54(b): 105-161 (f)( Da;
105-163; 105-262:'

Eff February I, 1976:

Amended Eff Febnuvy I. I9SS: April 12. I9SI;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.3723 ALLOC.VnON OF AD.Il SIMFNTS
(a) The additions and deductions to Federal taxable income of an estate or trust must be apportioned

between the estate or trust and the beneficiaries based on the distributions of income made during the

taxable year. Unless the trust instrument or will that created the estate or trust specifically provides for

the distribution of certain classes of income to different beneficiaries, the apportionment of additions

and deductions to the beneficiaries is detennined on the basis that each beneficiary's share of the income
for regular tax purposes from Schedule K-1, Federal Form 1041 relates to adjusted total income from
Federal FoiTn 1041. If the trust instrument or will specifically pro\ides for the distribution of certain

classes of income to ditferent beneficiaries, any addition or deduction directly attributable to a particular

class of income must be apportioned to the beneficiary to which that class of income is distributed.

After apportioning the additions and deductions to the beneficiaries, the balance is apportioned to the

fiduciary.

(b) In allocating the adjustments, for State purposes the amount of income for regular tax puiposes

on Federal Schedule K-1 must be adjusted for distributions to the beneficiaiy which are not refiected

in income for regular tax purposes. The adjusted total income on Federal Form 1041 must be adjusted

to:

(1) exclude classes of income that are not part of the distribution to the beneficiap,';

(2) include classes of income that are a part of the distribution to the beneficiaiy but are not included

in adjusted total income; and

(3) bv an\ deductiim treated differentlv for State and Federal tax purposes that adjust federal taxable

income pursuant to G.S. 105-134.6 and G.S. 105-134.7.

History S'ote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-134.5; 105-134.6; 105-134.7; 105-160.2;

/05- 160.5: 105-262;

Eff June I. 1990.

.3724 AI.I.OCAIION OF INCOME A r IRIIUTAHLF TO NONRESIDEMS
(a) If the estate or tmst has income from sources outside of North Carolina and if any of the bene-

ficiaries are nonresidents of North Carolina, the portion of Federal taxable income of the Fiducian that

is subject to North Carolina tax must be detennined. If there are lU) nonresident beneficiaries or it there

is no gross income from dividends, interest, other intangibles or friim sources outside North Carolina

tor the benefit of a nonresident beneficiaPi', the total income of the estate or tmst is taxable to the

fiduciary.

(b) I'he detennination of the amount of undistributed income from intangible property which is for

the benefit of a resident is based on the beneficiar>''s stale of residence on the last day of the taxable

year of the trust. In the case of both resident and nonresident beneficiaries, the determination of the

amount of undistnbuted income from intangible propert\' which is for the benefit of a resident is made
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on the basis that the resident beneficiary's interest for the taxable year relates to the interest of both

resident and nonresident income beneficiaries for the taxable year. The state of residence of the trustee

or remainderman has no effect upon the determination of the North Carolina income tax liability of

the trust.

History Note: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-I34.S; 105-160.2; 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

.M25 \nMIMSTR.\TION KXI'ENSES
The federal taxable income of an estate is not adjusted for administration expenses claimed on the

federal t'lduciars' income tax return in calculating the estate's State taxable income even thougli a de-

duction may be claimed for such administration expenses on the North Carolina inheritance tax return.

G.S. 105-134.7 provides that the Secretary- may by nile require transitional adjustments that will assure

that the change to federal taxable income as a starting point in calculating State taxable income will

not result in a double allowance of deductions. This applies to the double allowance of deductions for

income tax purposes and does not apply to a deduction claimed for inheritance tax purposes which is

allowed under a separate di\'ision of the Re\'enue Laws.

Ifistoty \ote: Statutoty .iuthnritv G.S. 105-160.2; 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

SKCriON .3800 - MlSCELL.WFOl S Rl LF.S

..^.SOl INCOME

..W02 DEDl niONS

..^803 OniER HEMS

Uisloty Xotc: Statutory .-iuthoritv G.S. 8-45.3: /05-/4J(a); 105-141. 1; /05-/42(a); I05-I44ia);

I05-I44icl; 105-144.3: I05-I4nh: I05-I47(l)h; 105-147(2); 105-147(7);

105-147(9 )a; 105-147(10); 105-147(17); 105-147(19); 105-147(24);

105-147(28); 105-148(1); 105-148(2); 105-148(8); 105-159. 1; 105-163. 16(c):

105-163. 16(e); 105-251; 105-262: 147-77;

Eff. February I. 19-6:

Amctided Eff Xovemher /, 1988: February /, 1988: April /, 1987; Eebniaty I. 1987:

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.3804 MISCEI.LANEOLS Rl EES
(a) When a payment is recei\ed by the Dep.irtment of Re\ enue for less than the correct tax, penaltN',

and interest due under the law and the facts, and the payment includes the statement, "paid in full" or

other similar statements, the payment will be deposited as required by Ci.S, 144-77. The endorsement

and deposit of the payment with such statement will not make the statement hindinsj; on the Depart-

ment of Revenue and will not prevent the collection of the correct balance due.

(b) I he Department of Re\enue is authorized by law to photograph, photocopy, or microphotocopy
all records of the Department, including tax returns, and such copies, when certified by the Department
as true and correct copies, shall be admissable in esidence as the oritiinal would ha\e been. (CJ.S.

8-45.3)

(c) In some cases debts ov\ed to certain State and county agencies will be ccillectetl from an indi\id-

ual's income tax refund. If the agency files a claim with the Department for a debt of at least fifty

dollars (S5(J.()()) and the refund is at least fifty dollars ($50.f)()|, the debt will be set off and paid from

the refund. The Department will notify the debtor after the set-off has been finalized and will refund

any balance which may be due. The debtor wUl be notified and gi\'en an opportunity to contest the

debt to the agency making the claim before the set-off is completed.

(d) An individual may elect to contribute all or an_\" portion of his income tax refund, at least one

dollar (SI. 00) or more, to the North Carolina Nongamc and F.ndangcred Wildlife Fund. Once the

election is made to contribute, the election cannot be revoked after the return has been filed. The
contribution will be used to assist in the management and protection of North Carolina's many non-

game species, including endangered wildlife. I he Nongame and fndangered Wildlife Fund will be the

primar)' source of money to support much needed research, public education, and management pro-

grams designated specificall_\' to benefit nongame wrldlife.
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(c) When an individual checks "Yes" to the question, "Do you want $1.00 to go to this fund (North
Carolina Political Parties Financing Fund)?" on his tax return, the total funds designated will be dis-

tributed to political parties in North Carolina on a pro rata basis according to voter registrations.

Checking "Yes" will neither increase his tax nor reduce his refund.

(0 Tenancy by the Fntirety: When filing separate returns a determination must be made as to that

portion of the income or loss from real property that must be reported by each spouse. Under G.S.

39-13.6, a husband and wife have equal right to the control, use, possession, rents, income, and profit

from real property held as tenants by the entirety and each spouse is taxed on one-half of the income
or loss from such property located in North Carolina. WTien real property conveyed jointly in the

name of husband and wife is located in another state and the share of ownership of each is not fixed

in the deed or other instrument creating the co-tenancy, each spouse is considered as ha\'ing received

one-half of the income or loss from the real property unless they can demonstrate that the laws of that

particular state with respect to the right to the income from the property allocate the income or losses

in a different manner.

(g) Cancelled checks, receipts, or other evidence to substantiate deductions on the tax return should
be kept for a period of at least three years from the due date of the return or three years from the date

the return is filed, whiche\er is later. Lack of adequate records could result in the disallowance of all

or part of the deductions claimed. A cancelled check, money order stub, or Departmental receipt

showing payment of tax should be kept for at least five years from the due date of the tax return.

(h) An individual may elect to contribute all or any portion of his income tax refund (at least one
dollar ($1.00) or more) to the North Carolina Candidates Financing Fund. Once the election is made
to contribute, the election cannot be revoked after the return has been filed. The Candidates Financing

Fund was created to induce candidates for go\cmor and council of state offices to limit their campaign
spending, and contributions made from refunds will be placed in the Fund.

llistoiy Xotc: Slaiuton' Authoritv G.S. S-45.3: 39-13.6; 105-159. 1: 105-163. I6{c); 105-163. 16{e):

105-251: 105-262:'105-269.4:

Eff. June I, 1990.

SICnON ..woo - NONKKSIDliNTS AND P.\K1-M;.VK KKSIDKNTS

..?90l DKKIMTION OK KKSIDKNT
(a) G.S. 105-134.1(12) defines a resident as "an individual who is domiciled in this State at any time

during the taxable year or who resides in this State during the taxable year for other than a temporaiy
or transitory purpose".

(b) Domicile has been defined as the place where an individual has a true, fixed permanent home and
principal establishment, and to which place, whenever he is absent, he has the intention of returning.

There are other defmitions of domicile, and this definition is presented sokl\ to be used as a guide in

determining residency.

(c) If an individual lives in North (Carolina for more than 183 days of a tax \ears, he is presumed to

be a resident tor income tax purposes in the absence of factual proof to the contrar\'; but the absence

ot an indisidual from the State for more than 183 days raises no presumption that he is not a resident.

The fact of marriage does not raise any presumption as to domicile or residence.

(d) In many cases, a determination must be made as to when or whether a domicile has been aban-
doned. A long standing principle in tax administration, repeatedly upheld by tlie courts, is that a man
can have but one domicile; and, once established, it is not legally abandoned until a new one is estab-

lished. A taxpayer may have several places of abode in a year, but at no time can an indi\idiial have

more than one domicile. A mere intent or desire to make a change in domicile is not enough; voluntary

and positive action must be taken.

(e) Some of the tests or factors to be considered in detennining the legal residence of an individual

for income tax purposes are as follows:

(1) Place of birth.

(2) Permanent residence of father.

(3) Family connections, close friends.

(4) Address given for iniLitary puiposcs.

(5) Civic tics, church membership, club or lodge membership.

(6) Bank account or business connections.

(7) Payment of state income taxes.

(8) Listing of "legal" or "permanent" address on Federal tax returns.
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(9) Continuous car registration and driver's license.

(10) Voting by absentee ballot (one of the best tests to determine permanent residence).

(11) Occasional visits or spending one's leave "at home" if a member of the armed services.

(12) Ownership of a home.

(13) Professional ties--teachcrs, bar, CPA, etc., certificates.

( 14) Attendance of children at State supported colleges or universities on a basis of residence--taking

ad\antage of lower tuition fees.

(15) Execution of approved certificates or other statements indicating permanent residence.

(16) Expression of intention.

(f) A legal resident of North Carolina ser\'ing in the United States Aimed Forces is liable for North

Carolina income tax and North CaroUna income tax should be withheld from his militarv' pay whether

he is stationed in this State or m some other state or country.

(g) An individual who enters militar> service while a resident of Noilh Carolina is presumed to be a

resident of this State for income tax purposes. A residence (or domicile) in tliis State is not abandoned
until a definite residence is established elsewhere.

(h) To change legal residence, the serviceman must not only be present in the new location with the

intention of making it his domicile, but must also factuaUy establish that he has done so.

Histoiy Sole: Siatutoiy Authoriiv G.S. 105-134.1(12): 105- 134.5: 105-262:

Efj: June I. 19%.
'

.3902 NONRESIDENTS
(a) The Statute does not defme the term "nonresident" but administrati\'e practice is to consider a

nonresident for income tax purposes to he an individual:

( 1) Who resides in North Carolina for a temporary or transitor\' purpose and is, in fact, a domiciliary

resident of another state or country; or

(2) Who does not reside in North Carolina but has income from sources within North Carohna and

is, in fact, a domiciliar>' resident of another state or countr\'.

(b) I'nder the Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil Relief Act, a member of the Anned Services who is a legal

resident of another state stationed in North Carolina by virtue of militar\' orders, is not subject to North

Carolina income tax on his service pay but other income from employment, a business, or tangible

property in North Carolina is subject to North Carolina income tax.

(c) There is no presumption as to the residence of a spouse of a member of the armed forces because

of marriage. Legal residence will be detennined based on the facts in each case.

liisioiy Sole: Statiilorv Aiiikoriiy G.S. 105-134.5: 105-262:

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

..V)03 l>AKIAK\R RESIDENT
An individual who mo\es his domicile (legal residence) into or out of North Carolina during the tax

year, is a part-year resident.

Ili.Uon Sole: Slatuloiy Aulhorilv G.S. 105-134.5: 105-262:

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

..^904 T.VXAHEE INCOME OE NONRESIDENTS .\ND P.\RT-VE.VR RESIDENTS
(a) Nonresidents and part-year residents are required to prorate their federal ta.xable income to de-

termine the portion that is subject to North Carolina tax.

(b) The taxable income of a nonresident subject to North Carolina income tax is detennined by

multiplying the Federal taxable income, less an>' applicable adjustments, by the percentage obtained

when di\iding the portion of total Federal income, as adjusted, deri\cd from North Carolina sources

by the total income from the applicable line of the Federal return, as adjusted.

(c) For part-year residents who are subject to North Carolina tax, taxable income is detennined by

multiplying the total Federal income as calculated under the Internal Revenue Code, less any applicable

adjustments, by the percentage obtained when di\iding the portion of total Federal income recei\cd

from all sources during the period the indi\idual was a resident of North Carolina, plus an\' income

recei\ed from North Carolina sources wlule a nonresident, as adjusted, by the total Federal income,

as adjusted.
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(d) If an individual files a joint Federal income tax return with his spouse but cannot qualify to file

a joint North Carolina income tax return because his spouse is a nonresident and had no North
Carolina taxable income, he must calculate his Federal taxable income on a Federal income tax fonn
as a married person filing a separate Federal income tax return and attach it to his North Carolina re-

turn to show how his separate Federal taxable income was determined. In lieu of making the calcu-

lation on a federal form, an individual may submit a schedule showing the computation of his separate

federal taxable income provided he submits a copy of his federal joint income return with his North
Carolina return.

(e) If an individual has income from sources within another state or countr,' v-hile a resident of North
Carolina and the other state or country taxes the individual on such income, he may be eligible to claim

a tax credit on the North Carolina income tax return.

(f) A nonresident is not entitled to the tax credits for tax paid another state or countrv' or for child

and dependent care expenses.

History! Note: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-134.5: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

SKCTION .4000 - S CORPORATION

.4001 RKPORTING INCOMK - IN (;KNKRAL
Fffective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1989, an individual shareholder of an S cor-

poration is required to take into account his pro rata share of an S coiporation's net income in the

manner provided under Section 1366 of the Internal Revenue Code subject to certain adjustments.

History Xote: Statutoty .iuthoritv G.S. 105-131. 1; 105-262:

Eff. .lune I. 1990.

.4002 RK.SIDKN I SIIARFIIOIOFRS
Since 11)0 percent of the S coiporation's income is included in the Federal taxable income starting

point, no adjustment because of doing business outside of North Carolina is required by a resident.

History Note: Statutoty Authority G.S. 105-/3/ : /05-/3/./: /05-/3/.2: /05- /34.6{a): /05-262:

Eff. ./une /. /990.
'

.4003 NONRKSmKNT SI lARFIIOLOERS
(a) A nonresident shareholder of an S corporation takes into account only his share of the S corpo-

ration's income attributable to North Carolina in the numerator of the fraction in detcnniniiig that

portion of Federal taxable income that is taxable to Noilh Carolina. If an S coqioration does business

in North Carohna and one or more other states, the income attnbutable to North Carolina is deter-

mined by the same apportionment formula as used for other corporations.

(b) All nonresident shareholders must include an agreement with the first S corporation return tiled

with North Carolina agreeing to be liable and subject to the laws of North Carolina for individual in-

come tax purposes; otherwise, the S coiporation becomes liable for the tax at seven percent of the in-

come attributable to such nonresident shareholders.

(c) A nonresident shareholder in an S corporation may claim the proportionate share of the tax paid

on his behalf by the S corporation to North Carolina on his share of the S corporation income.

History Note: Statutoty Authority G.S. /05-/3/./: I05-/3/.5: /05-/3/.7: /05-/34.5( d ): /05-262:

Eff. June /, /990.

.4004 lA.X CRKDI IS

If part of the S corporation's incoine is earned within and taxed by another state, either to the indi-

vidual or to the corporation, a resident shareholder is entitled to a tax credit on his individual income
tax return for his share of the tax paid to the other state. A shareholder claiming the tax credit must
attach a schedule to his income tax return reflecting the total amount of tax paid to the state by the S

corporation, and explaining how his pro rata share of the tax was detemiincd. A tax credit is also al-

lowed to resident shareholders with respect to the corporate tax paid to North Carolina by an S cor-

poration for a fiscal year ending in calendar year 1989. Nonresident shareholders are not allowed credit

for tax paid to another state.
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History \oie: Stdtutorv Auihority G.S. 105-131. 8; 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

.4005 BASIS IN STOCK
(a) Due to different tax treatment of an S corporation's income for State and Federal purposes for

taxable years beginning before January 1. 19S9, a shareholder's basis in the stock of an S corporation

for State tax purposes may be different than for Federal tax purposes; thereby causing transitional ad-

justments in determining North Carolina taxable income upon receipt by the shareholder of distrib-

utions from the S corporation and upon disposition of the S corporation stock.

(b) The initial basis of the stock in an S corporation to a nonresident of North Carolina is zero, and
the nonresident shareholder is not taxed on distnbutions from the corporation and recognizes no in-

come or loss upon disposition of the stock. A nonresident shareholder s basis in the S corporation

stock is adjusted for his pro rata share of the income or loss of the corporation.

(c) .-\ resident shareholder's initial basis in the stock of an S corporation is determined as of the later

of the date the stock is acquired, the effective date of the S corporation election, or the date the share-

holder became a resident of North Carolma. .V resident shareholder's basis in the stock is increased

by his pro rata share of the corporation's income adjusted pursuant to G.S. 105-131.2 except for income
exempt from Federal or State income taxes and deductions for depletion in excess of the basis of the

property being depleted. 1 he basis is decreased by distributions to the extent deemed a return of basis;

a pro rata share of the losses of the corporations as adjusted; nondeductible expenses of the corporation:

and the amount of the shareholder's deduction for depletion of oil and gas wells to the extent the de-

duction does not exceed the proportionate share of the adjusted basis of that property allocated to the

shareholder. The adjustments to the basis do not applv to tax periods beainnins prior to January 1,

19S9.

HistoiT Xote: Statuton .-huhonty G.S. J05-J3I.3: 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.

.4006 DISTRIBLTIONS
(a) .\ resident shareholder must take into account distributions from an S corporation in computing
North Carolina taxable income to the extent the distributions are characterized as di\-idends or as gains

pursuant to Section 136S of the Internal Revenue Code. Section 136S of the Code pro\idcs that if the

S corporation has no accumulated earnings and profits, the amount distributed to a shareholder reduces

the adjusted basis in liis stock. If the S corporation has earnings and profits, the distribution is applied

in the following order:

(1) To the Accumulated Adjustments Account (.A.V\), which basically includes the income during

the period the corporation has been an S corporation reduced by its losses and distnbutions

during that period. The .-V-V-V for State income tax purposes does not include the Federal .\.V\

for tax years beginning prior to January 1. 19S9. The shareholder does not take into account

distributions from the .V.-V.-\ in determining taxable income but such distributions reduce the

adjusted basis of his stock.

(2) To Famings and Profits (E and P): .An S corporation is not considered to have earnings and
profits for State tax purposes for years in which it operates as an S corporation after January 1.

19S9. The E and P account basically includes the earnings and profits on hand from the period

the corporation was a C corporation; and for State tax purposes, the E and P account also in-

cludes the undistributed earnings and profits of the S corporation from tax years beginning be-

fore January," 1, 19S9. (the Federal .A.A.-\ that existed on the day North Carolina began to

measure the S corporation shareholder's income by reference to the income of the S corpo-

ration). The amount distributed to the shareholder from the F and P account is taxed to the

shareholder as a di\idend. Since the State E and P account includes the Federal A.V\ that ex-

isted prior to the change in State law taxing the S corporation income to the shareholders, a

transitional adjustment must be made to increase State taxable income for any distributions from
the Federal .A.A,\ that existed prior to the law change.

(3) To the basis of the shareholder s stock: Any excess over the shareholder's basis is ta.xed as a

capital gam.

(b) If an S corporation has accumulated earnings and profits, the shareholders may elect to treat

distributions from the S corporation as being paid first from earnings and profits pro\ided all share-

holders consent to the election in the vear of the distnbution.
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History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-131.6; 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

.4007 FISCAL YEAR S CORPORATION
(a) Section 1366 of the Internal Revenue Code requires a shareholder to include his share of the S

corporation's net income in his Federal taxable income for the tax year that includes the last day of the

S corporation's tax year. Therefore, a calendar year shareholder must include his share of the net in-

come of an S corporation filing on a fiscal year basis ending in 1989 in his North Carolina taxable in-

come for the tax year 1989 even though for corporate income tax purposes the same income is taxed

to the corporation because the corporation's tax year began before January 1, 1989. A tax credit is

allowed to resident shareholders with respect to the corporate tax paid to North Carolina by an S cor-

poration for a fiscal year ending in calendar year 1989.

(b) The amount of the S corporation's net income required to be included by the shareholder in his

North Carolina taxable income will increase liis accumulated adjustments account. Distributions to

the shareholder from the accumulated adjustments account are not included in the shareholder's taxable

income.

Iliston' Note: Statutorv .iuthoriiv G.S. 105-131 .1 (b); 105-262;

Eff. June I. 1990.
'

SECTION .4100 - TA.XABI.E STATUS OV DISTRIIU TIONS FROM REGULATED INVESTMENT
COMPANIES

.4101 GENER.VL
(a) Distributions received from regulated in\cstmcnt companies (mutual funds) by a shareholder who

was a North Carolina resident must be included in his North Carolina taxable income to the same ex-

tent included in his Federal taxable income; except, an amount not included in his Fedenil gross income
which was determined to be an "exempt interest di\idcnd" for Federal income tax purposes, must be
added to Federal taxable income to the extent it represents interest on obligations of states other than

North Carolina and their political subdivisions.

(b) Distributions from a regulated investment company other than "capital gain distributions'' and
"exempt interest di\'idends" are included in Federal taxable income in the same manner as distnbutions

of other coiporations. Distributions from earnings and profits are ordinap," di\idends (taxable divi-

dends) unless the mutual fund notifies the taxpayer to the contrary-.

(c) Capital gain distributions are paid by mutual funds from their net realized long-term capital gains.

The individual receiving a capital gain distribution must report the distribution as a long-term capital

gain on his Federal income tax return.

llistoiy Xote: Statutorv .-iuthorily G.S. 105-134.5; 105-262;

Eff June 1, 1990.
'

.4102 E.XEMPT IN lEREST Dl\ IDENDS
(a) A mutual fund is qualified to pay exempt interest di\-idends only if at the close of each quarter

of its taxable year at least 50 percent of the value of the total assets of the company consist of state and
local bonds, the interest from which is exempt from Federal income tax and certain other obligations

on which the interest is exempt from Fedenil income tax under pro\'isions of Federal law other than
the Internal Revenue Code, as those provisions of the law were in effect on Januarv^ 6, 1983. A mutual
fund paying exempt interest dividends to its shareholders must send its shareholders a statement within

60 days after the close of the taxable year showing the amount of exempt interest dividends. The ex-

empt interest di\'idends are not required to be included in Federal taxable income.
(b) Since interest from states other than North Carolina and their political subdivisions is required

to be added to Federal taxable income in calculating North CaroHna taxable income, the exempt in-

terest dividends received from mutual funds must be added to Federal taxable income to the extent such
dividends do not represent interest from bonds issued by North Carolina and political subdivisions of

North Carolina pro\'ided the mutual fund furnishes a supporting statement to the taxpayer. In the

absence of such statement, the total amount designated as exempt interest must be added to Federal

taxable income in computing the taxpayers North Carolina taxable income.

Histofy Xote.- Statuto!y .-luthority G.S. 105-154.6(c); 105-262;

Eff. June 1, 1990.
'
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.4103 OFUirVARY DIMDKNDS
The ordinap,' di\idcnds from mutual funds are included in Federal taxable income and no adjustment

to Federal taxable income is nccessarv' in determining North Carolina taxable income. /Vlthough the

ordLnan,' dividends may include interest earned by the fund on obligations of the United States Gov-
ernment or its possessions, the dividends are reported in the same manner as distributions from other

corporations, and no deduction is allowed from Federal taxable income with respect to such interest.

The amount of the ordinan,' dividends (taxable dividends) will qualify for the dividend tax credit pro-

vided 50 percent or more of the income was from obligations of the United States Government or its

possessions and obligations of the State of North Carolina or its political subdivisions.

UistoiT \ote: Staiuton- Authnrilv G.S. 105-130.7; 105-151.19: 105-262:

Eff. June I. 1990.

.4104 CAIMI AL GAIN DIS IKIBLTIONS
The portion of distributions from a regulated investment compan\' that represents capital gain is re-

portable on the federal income tax return as capital gain income and not di\'idend income. Therefore,

under G.S. 105-134.6(b)(2| capital gains distributable to a shareholder who is a resident of North
Carolina and attributable to the sale of an obligation the profit from which is exempt by Noith Carolina

statute is deductible from federal taxable income in determining the North Carolina taxable income of

an individual, trust and estate.

Ifiston- .\'oie: Statuton Authoritv G.S. 105-134.6{ b)(2j: 105-262;

Eff- June I, 1990.
'

.4105 i)i\ iokm:) tax ckkdit
.A corporation may deduct the proportionate sh,irc of di\idends received from a regulated investment

company which represents and corresponds to income received by such regulated investment company
which would not be taxed h\ North Carolina if recei\'cd directly by the corporation. The ordinary

di\idends from a mutual fund qualify for the di\idend tax credit if more than 50 percent of the income
from the fund represents interest on direct obligations of the F'nited States Go\emment or its pos-

sessions and from North Carolina obligations and those of its political subdi\isions. The di\idend tax

credit is equal to six percent of the dividends included in Federal gross income plus any amount of an
"exempt interest dividend" added to Federal taxable income that represents interest on obligations of

states other than North Carolina and their political subdivisions, up to a maximum tax credit of three

hundred dollars (S300.00).

Histoiy Sole: Statuton Authoritv G.S. 105-151.19; 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

SLIJCll.M'I KR 6C - \\rmilOM)IN(;

SKCTiON .0100 - wrmiioi niN(; incomk tanks

.0102 \\1 IIIIIOI.DING [ROM W.VGHS
Fmplo\ers must withhold North Carolina income tax from the wages paid to their employees ac-

cording to tables prepared by the North Carolina Department of I\e\enue or by using an acceptable

alternate method and they must pay over the amount withheld to the Department. The manner in

which this is required to be done is explained in the booklet, "Income Fax W'ithholdmg Tables and
Instrtictions for Employers", Form NC-3n.

Uision' Sotc: Staiutoiy Authoritv G.S. 105-163.1: 105-163.1 i 4 ): 105-163.1(5); 105-163.1 i6j;

105-163.2; 105-163.3: 105-163.6; 105-163.18: 105-262:

Eff Febmaiy 1. 1976;

.{mended Eff June 1. 1990; December 1, 19SS; April 1, 19S7.

.010.^ INCOMK NOT SUB.IECT TO WKI IIHOKDING
(a) No withholding is required for any income which is exempt from income taxation nor is with-

holding required for other t\pes of income specitlcally exempt b\" other pro\isions of the North
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Carolina statutes or those provisions of the federal statutes which deny to the states the right to impose
any income tax on certain types of income.

(b) In addition to those items which arc specifically exempt from income taxation, there are other

classes of income payments which arc taxable for income tax purposes but which arc not subject to

withholding and for which the recipients are required to pay estimated income tax. These classes of

income are as follows:

(1) Income payments to workers employed on the farm for services rendered on the farm in the

production, har\'csting, and transportation of agricultural products to the market for the

farmer-employer.

(2) Income payments for the performance of domestic service in a private home, local college club,

or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority;

(3) Income payments for services not in the course of the employer's trade or business, unless for

the service the employee receives fifty dollars ($50.00) or more in cash remuneration for any
calendar quarter in which he is regularly employed to perform the service;

(4) Fees paid to a public ofticial;

(5) Income paid to, or on behalf of, an employee or his bcncficiaiy, from a trust described in Section

401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code or under an annuity plan meeting the requirements of this

Section, unless such payment is made to an employee of the trust as remuneration for services

rendered as such employee and not as a beneficiary of the trust. Report of income, paid to

benctlciaries may be made on Fonns NC-1099 or copies of federal Fonn \\'-2P or acceptable

substitutes.

(6) If an employer enters into a voluntary agreement \\\\\\ the employee to withhold North Carolina

tax, the amount withheld will be accepted and the employee will receive credit on liis annual
income tax return provided the niles wliich apply to withholding are followed. Since the

agreement to withhold is voluntan' between the employer and the employee and is not leciuired

by law, the employee should understand that he cannot receive credit for any amount witiiheld

that is not properly paid to the Department of Revenue.

Ilistoiy Sole: Statutoiy Aulhorkv G.S. 105-154; 105-163.1(6); 105-163.11; 105-163.14;

105- 163.1S; 105-262;

Eff. Fehn/an' /, /976;

Amended F.ff. June I, 1990.

.0104 KXEMPIION CERTII ICMKS

ffi.Uory .\ole; Filed as a Temporaiy Amendment [(d) and (fjj Eff. November 16. 19^1
. for a

Period of 46 Days to Expire on Janiiarv I. I9S2;

Statuton' Authoritv G.S. 105-163.3; 105-163.5; 105- 163.1S; 105-262;

Eff Februarv I. 1976;

Amended Eff. Januaty /, I9S9; .lime /, I9S2; .lanuary /, I9S2; April 12. 1981;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

.0105 vv.ac;ks

Wages consist of all compensation, whether in cash or other form, paid for services pciformed by an
employee, including salaries, fees, and commissions and payments for senices performed in prior peri-

ods, such as vacation pay, bonuses, and pensions. Wages paid in a fonn other than money are meas-
ured by the fair market value of the goods or consideration given in payment, and withholding is

required whether payments are based on time (hour, day, week, et cetera), or on piece work, commis-
sion, or percentage. F.mployers arc rcquu'ed to withhold on travel expenses, sick pay, supplemental

unemployment compensation, fringe benefits, and tips to the same extent reciuiird for Federal income
tax puiposcs.

Uistoty \'ote; Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-163.1(6); 105-163.2; 105-163. /S; 105-262;

Eff Februarv 1. 1976;

Amended Eff. .hine 1. 1990.

.0113 BOM S P.VYMKNTS

.0114 IKWKI. .\l I.OW.KNCFS

.0115 MOMNG K.XI'KNSK RKIMIURSEMENT

.0116 WITHHOLDING FROM HI'S
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History S'ote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.1(6); 105-163.2: 105-/63.4: 105-163.18: 105-262:

Eff. February I. 1976:

Amended Eff. Slav I, 1984: February 21, 1979:

Repealed Eff June I, 1990.

.0117 SLPPI FMEMAL WAGE PAYMENTS
(a) If an employer pays supplemental wages separately (or combines them with regular wages in a

single payment and specifies the amount of each), the income tax withholding method depends partly

on whether the employer withholds income tax from the employee's regular wages.

(b) If tax has been withheld on the regular wages and the supplemental amount is not paid in a single

payment together with regular wages, the employer may treat the supplemental wages as wholly sepa-

rate from the regular wages and apply a flat rate of six percent to the supplemental wage payment
without making any allowance for exemptions. Otherwise, the supplemental wages are added to the

regular wages for the most recent payroll period. The income tax is tlgured as if the regular wages and
supplemental wages constitute a single payment. The tax already withheld from the regular wages is

subtracted from this amount.

(c) The remaining tax is then withheld from the supplemental wages. If the employer did not with-

hold income tax from the emplo\ee's regular wages, the employer must add the supplemental wages

to the employee's regular wages paid for the current or last preceding payroU period and withhold tax

as though the supplemental wages and regular wages were one payment.
(d) Tips treated as supplemental wages. The employer withholds the income tax on tips from wages

or from funds the emploNee makes available. If an employee recei\es regular wages and reports tips,

the emplo\er figures income tax as if the tips were supplemental wages. If the employer has not

withheld income tax from the regular wages, the employer adds the tips to the regular wages and
withholds income tax on the total. If the employer withheld income tax from the regular wages, the

employer can withhold on the tips as explained in this P;iragraph.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.1 {6 1: 105-163.2: 105-163.18: 105-262:

Eff. Februan- I, /9^6;

.imended Eff June 1. 1990.

.0118 SICK PAY

Histon- Sote: Statutory- Authority G.S. 105-163.1 {4J : 105-163.1 {5 J; 105-163.1(6);

105-163.2: 105-163.18: 105-262:

Eff February 1, 1976:

Repealed Eff June 1, 1990.

.0120 RECIPROCITY OF TAX CREDITS
North Carolina does not allow tax credit to noruesidents for income tax paid to another state or

countn,": therefore, any relief from double taxation must be granted by the state of residence. North
Carolina provides such relief to its residents as explained in 17 NCAC 6C .0107.

History Sote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-151 {al; 105-163.22; 105-262;

Eff Februar}' 1. 19~6:

Amended Eff. June 1. 1990.

.0122 FRINGE BENEFITS

History \ote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.1 (6 1 ; 105-163.2; 105-163.18: 105-262;

Eff July 1, 1986;
'

Repealed Eff June 1. 1990.

.0123 EMPLOYEE'S WITHHOLDING ALLOW.VNCE CERTIFIC.VTE
(a) Each new employee, before beginning employment, must furnish lus employer with a signed

North Carolina Employee's W'itliholding .-Vllowancc Certificate, Form NC-4. A ccrtillcate filed by a

new employee is effective upon the first payment of wages thereafter and remains in effect until a new
one is furnished. State and Fcder;d definitions of dependent, single person, married, head of household.
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and qualifying widow(er) arc the same; however, the number of allowances an individual is entitled to

will diflcr. (Federal Exemption Certificates Are Not Acceptable.) If an employee fails to furnish an
exemption certificate, Form NC-4, the employer must withhold tax as if the employee is single with

zero allowances.

(b) The employer is not required to ascertain whether or not the total amount of allowances claimed

is greater than the total number to which the employee is entitled. If, however, the employer has reason

to believe that the number of allowances claimed by an employee is greater than the number to which
such employee is entitled, the employer is requested to notify the Department of Revenue immediately.

(c) If an employee's allowances should decrease, requiring more tax to be withheld, the employee is

required to furnish his employer with an amended certificate within ten days after the change. Should
the allowances increase, requiring less tax to be withheld, the employee may furnish his emploj'er with

an amended certificate at any time after the change occurs.

Hisioty Note: Statutoiy Authoritv G.S. 105-163.3: 105-163.5: 105-163. IH; 105-262:

Eff. June I, 1990.

.0124 AnnnioNAi. winmoLniNG ai.lowancks
Additional \\ ithholding allowances may be claimed by taxpayers expecting to have allowable itemized

deductions exceeding the standard deduction or allowable adjustments to income. (Jne additional al-

lowance may be claimed for each two thousand dollars ($2,000) that the itemized deductions are ex-

pected to exceed the standard deduction and for each two thousand dollars ($2,000) of adjustments

reducing income. If an employee will be entitled to a tax credit, he may claim one additional allowance

for each one hundred forty dollars ($140.00) of tax credit.

Ilistcny Note: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-163.3; 105-163.5; 105-163.18; 105-262:

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

.0125 PKNALTY
G.S. 105-163.5 provides a civil penalty against an employee who furnished his emplo\er with an al-

lowance certificate that contains information which has no reasonable basis and results in a lesser

amount of tax being withheld than would have been withheld had the employee furnished reasonable

uifonnation. The penalt\ is 50 percent of the amount not properl)' vsithheld.

Histofy i\ote: Statutoiy Authority G.S. 105-163.5: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

.0126 SI HMISSION OI CKKIAIN WmiHOI.DINC Al I OWANCI riKIM KAI KS

(a) An employer is required to submit copies of any withholding allowance certificates on w hich the

employee claims more than ten w ithholding allowances or claims exemption from withholding and the

employee's wages would normally exceed two hundred dollars ($200.00) per week.

(b) An employer fding quarterly withholding reports is required to submit copies of the certificates

received during the quarter at the time for filing his quarterly report. An emplo\er filing monthly
withholding rept)rts is required to submit copies of the certificates iecei\ed dunng the quarter at the

time for filing his monthly report for the third month of the calendar quarter. Copies may be submitted

carUer and for shorter reporting periods.

(c) Copies of the certificates, along with a letter showing the employer's name, address, wilhlwkliiig

identification number, and the number of certificates submitted, are to be mailed to: North Carolina

Department of Revenue, Withholding Section, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, North Carolina 27640.

(d) The employer shall withhold on the basis of the certificate until wntten notice is recei\cd from

the Department that the certificate is defective. As part of that written notice, the Department will

ad\ise the employer to ignore the allowance certificate filed and to withhold on a number specihed.

(e) I'he employer shall prompth' furnish the employee a copy of the written notice.

(f) If the employee files a new certificate, the employer shall honor that certificate onh if the employee

does not claim exempt and claims a number smaller than the number allowed in the Department's

written notice. If the new certificate claims a number larger than the employee has been allowed and

the employee specifies, in writing, any circumstances as justification to support the claims, the employer

must forward a copy of the certificate and the employee's written statement to the Department tor re-

view. The employer shall contmue to withhold as specified in the Department's written notice until
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written notice is received from the Department advising the employer to withhold on the basis of the

new certificate.

(g) To increase withholding an employee may claim less than his allowable allowances or may enter

into an agreement with his employer and request that an additional amount be withheld by entering

the desired amount on Form NC-4.

(h) An employee working for two or more employers should claim his allowable allowance with only

one employer and claim zero allowances with the other employers.

(i) If an employee claims total exemption from withholding, his wages will be exempt from with-

holding of North Carolina income tax for the remainder of the calendar year unless the employee
withdraws the statement during the year. An employee claiming exemption from withholding must
complete a new certificate by Februarv' 15. If the employee docs not complete a new certificate, the

cmploNcr must withhold on the basis of a single indi\'idual with zero withholding allowances.

Ilistnn- .^ote: Statutory Aulhoritv G.S. 105-163.5: 105-163.18: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

SKCnON .0200 - 1HINT, WITIIIIOIDING REPORTS

.0201 NKW K.MPI OMRS
North Carolina does not use a deposit system for income tax withheld. Fach new employer who is

required to withhold North Carolina income tax must complete and tile with the Department an ap-

plication for a withholding identification number. Form NC-1, which can be obtained from any office

of the Department. A withholding identification number wiU be assigned which should be recorded in

a permanent place and used on all reports and correspondence concerning withholding.

Histon- Sotc: Statuton .iuthoritv G.S. 105-/63. IS: 105-262:

Eff. Febnian I, 1976:

Amended Eff June I. 1990.

.0203 ANM Al. RKPORIS
(a) At the end of each calendar year employers are required to furnish wage and tax statements. Form
NC-2, to employees. Two copies must be furnished to the employee and one copy must be furnished

to the Department. The Internal Revenue Service supplies a six part Form \V-2 which will produce

the required federal and North Carolina statements in one packet.

(b) The copies of the wage and tax statements for the Department of Re\enue must be filed with the

Annual Reconciliation of North Carolina Income Tax Withheld, Form NC-3, or NC-3.\1.

(c) Reports of payments of income, interest, rents, premiums, dividends, annuities, remunerations,

emoluments, fees, gains, profits, taxable meal reimbursements, and other determinable annual or peri-

odic gains during a calendar year must be made on Information at the Source Reports, Form NC~-1()9').

if the payments have not otherwise been reported.

Uistnn Sote: Statutoiy Authoritv G.S. 105-154: 105- 163. 7: 1 05- 1 63. IS: 105-262:

Eff Febnian' I. 1976:

Amended EJf June I, 1990: .ipril 12. /'«/.

.0204 AMOUNTS WmiMKI.D ARK HFI.D IN TRl ST FOR IHE SECRF.TAR\ OF RF\ FNl E

(a) The tax withheld or required to be withheld is due to be paid at the time that the return is due

to be filed.

(b) A penalty of 25 percent of the amount due is imposed for failure to withhold, to file a report on
time, or to pay the tax when due.

(c) i\n employer who fails to withhold or pa\' the amount required to be withheld is personally and
indi\ iduaU)' liable for the tax. If an employer has failed to w ithhold or to pay o\ er income tax withheld

or required to ha\e been withheld, a 100 percent penalty may be asserted against the responsible cor-

porate officers or other responsible person whenever such taxes cannot be immediately collected from

the emplo) er. .More than one person may be hable as a person responsible for the pa\ ment of with-

holding taxes: however, the amount of the income tax withheld or required to have been withheld will

be collected only once, whether from the emplo\er or one or more responsible persons. The term

"responsible person" includes any person who is in a position to control the finances of the employer

or has the authority or ability to determine which obligations should or should not be paid. Respon-
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sibility is a matter of status, duty, and authority, not knowledge. For the penalty to apply, it is not

necessary that the failure to collect and pay the withholding amounts was willful; it is only necessary

that the responsible person failed to pay the tax withheld or required to have been withheld to the

Secretary of Revenue regardless of his reasons or the knowledge he had of such failure.

(d) WTien the Department of Revenue determines that collection of the tax is in jeopardy, an em-
ployer may be required to report and pay the tax at any time after payment of the wages.

Histoty Note: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-163.6; 105-163.17; 105-163.18; 105-241 . 1 (g); 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.

SUBCHAPTER 6D - ESTIMATED TAX

SECTION .0100 - III.INC; ESTIMATED INCOME TAX PAYMENTS

.0102 REQLIKEMENTS FOR FILING
(a) An individual is required to pay estimated income tax if the tax shown due on the income tax

return for the taxable year, reduced by the North Carolina tax withheld and allowable tax credits, is

forty dollars ($40.()()) or more regardless of the amount of income the individual has that is not subject

to withholding.

(b) Married indisiduaJs can make joint payments of estimated income tax even if they are not living

together; however, they are not entitled to make joint estimated tax payments if they are separated

under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance. Also, they may not make joint estimated tax

payments if either of them is a nonresident alien or if either of them ha\'e different tax \ears. Whether
a man and wife make joint estimated tax payments or separate pa>ments wiU not affect their choice

of filing a joint income tax return or separate return. If they make joint payments and then tile separate

returns, they may divide the estimated tax payments between them.
(c) A taxpayer tiling a short period return because of changing his income year is required to make

estimated income tax payments on the installment dates which fall within the short period and 15 days

after the close of the short period which would have been due had he not changed his income year.

The penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax for a short period will be computed for the

period of underpa> ment based on the tax shown due on the short period return and computed in the

same manner as it would have been computed had the taxpayer not changed his income year.

(d) An individual may elect to have his or her income tax refund applied to estimated income tax for

the following year. f"or example, an individual due a refund on his l')S9 income tax return may ha\e
all or any portion of the refund applied to his estimated tax for 19'-)0. i'he individual may not however,
fde a 1989 tax return in 1991 and request the refund be applied to his 1991 estimated tax since the re-

fund can only be applied to the tax year which follows the year for which the request for refund is made.
(e) If an individual makes a valid election, that individual may not revoke the election after the return

has been filed in order to have the amount relunded or applied in any other manner, such as an offset

against any subsequently determined tax liability.

tlistof-v Note: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-163.15; 105-163. IS; 105-262;

Eff. Februan' 1. 1976;

Amended EJf June 1. 1990; February 1, 198S; August 1. 1986; May I. 1984.

SECTION .0200 - FENALIY FOR UNDKKPAV.MENT OF FSIIMATEO INCOME FAX

.0201 GENERAL
A civil penalty may be due for underpayment of estimated income tax. Ihe penalty is computed

separately for each payment period, therefore an individual may owe the penalty for an early period

even if that individual later paid enougli to make up the underpayment. If an individual did not pay
enough tax by the due date of each of the payment periods, he may owe a penalty even if he is due a

refund when he iiles his return.

Ilistot-v Note: Statutor\> Authoritv G.S. 105-163.15; 105-236(9); 105-241 .1 (i);

105-262; 105-163.18;

Eff Februan' 1, 1976;

.Unended Eff. June 1. 1990; Augu.sl 1. 1986; Fehnuuy 21. 1979.

.0202 THE AMOUNT OF UNDERPAYMENT (TAX.VBLE \EARS BEFORE 1986)
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.020.1 rilK PKKIOD OK I NDF.KI'AVMF.NT (TAXABLE YEARS BEFORE 1986)

.0204 ANOiniNG PENAl IV (TAXABLE YEARS BEFORE 1986)

Ilistoty Xote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163. 15(b); 105-163. 15(c) : 105-163. 15(d);

105- 163AS; 105-262;

Eff. Febt-uarv I, 1976;

Amended Eff. June I. I9S2; April 12, I9SI; Febniar^- 21, 1979;

Repealed Eff. June I, 1990.

.0205 ESTIMArEI) TAX l'A\ME>TS (TAXABLE YEARS AFLER 1986)

Hi.ston .\'ote; Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.15; 105- 163. IS; 105-262;

Eff August I, 1 986;

Repealed Eff June I. 1990.

.0206 AXOiniNG PENALIY
(a) The penalty for undcrpa\incnt of estimated income tax will not apply if the individual makes

payments of estimated income tax on each installment date for 25 percent of the lesser of:

(1) f^O percent (66.67 percent for faimers and fishermen) of the tax (after tax credits) on the current

year's return,

(2) 100 percent of the tax on the prccedmg year's return (pro\ided it was a taxable year of 12 months
and the individual filed a return for that year), or

(3) SO percent (66.67 percent for farmers and fishermen) of the tax determined b\ annualizing the

income received during the year up to the month in which the installment is due.

/\lso, no penalty for underpayment will be due if an indi\idual had not tax liabihty for the preceding

year or if the total tax shown on the current-year return minus the amount paid througli w ithholding

is less than forty dollars ($40.00).

(b) Effective for taxable years beginning on or after Januars' 1. I'^^^O. the percentage of the required

annual payment will increase from 80 percent to *)0 percent.

(c) For taxable years beginning in 1989, the estimated income tax penalty does not apply to an

underpayment to the extent that the underpayment was created or increased by changes in the law

under the Tax Fairness .Act of l'^S9 which adopts taxable income determined under the Internal Re-

\enue Code as the starting point for detennining North Carolina taxable income.

lli.ston- Sate: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.15; 105-/63.18; 105-262;

Eff June 1. 1990.
'

.0207 LNDEKPAYMEMS
(a) An underpay meat is the excess of the required uistallment (or. if lower, the annualized income

instaUment) for a payment period o\er the portion of the amount paid by the due date that is not ap-

plied to an underpa\ ment for an earlier payment period.

(b) Payments include income tax witlilield and are considered pa\ mcnts of estimated tax in equal

installments on the required installment dates (usual four), unless the indnidual can pro\e othen\ise.

A paxment of estimated tax is credited against unpaid mstaUments in the order m which the installments

are required to be paid.

Uiuoty Sote: Statutor\- Authority G.S. 105-/63.15; 105-163.18; /05-262;

Eff. June /. /900.
'

.0208 0\ERPAYMEMS
.An o\'erpayment for any period occurs when the withholding and estimated tax pa\ments are more

than the total of any underpayments for an eariier period plus the lesser of the required installment or

the annualized income installment for the period, if there is an o\erpayment for a period, it should

be carried to the next period and added to the withh(ilding and estimated tax paid for that later period

to determine an\ underpa\"ment or o\'erpa\ment for that later period.

lliston Xote: Statuioiy .lutliority G.S. 105-163.15: 105-/63.18; 105-262:

Eff June I. 1990.
'

.0209 DFTERMIMNG AN LNDLRr.V^MENT
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(a) No penalty will be due if the estimated tax payments were made on time and the payment for each

period was at least as much as cither the required installment or the annualized income installment for

the period. Use Form D-422, Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax, to determine any
underpayment.

(b) The required installment for any payment period is the lesser of 20 percent (22.5 percent beginning

January 1, 1990) of the tax shown on the current-year return or 25 percent of the tax shown on the

prior-year return (if the prior-year return covered all 12 months of the year). However, if the annualized

income installment for any period is less than the required installment for the same period and the

annualized income installment is used in determining the underpayment, add the difference between the

annualized income installment and the required installment to the required installment for the next

period. If the annualized income installment for the next payment period is used, add the difference

between the annualized income installment for that period and the required installment (as increased)

for that period to the required installment for the following payment period.

(c) There wiU be no underpa\mcnt for any payment period in which the estimated tax payments,

reduced by any amounts applied to underpayments in earlier periods, were paid by the due date for the

period and were at least as much as the annualized income installment for the period.

Ilistoty Note: Statutory Authoritv G.S. 105-163.15; 105-163.18: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

.0210 PERIOD OF INDKRPA\MKNT
(a) Ihe penalty is applied to the number of days that the installment was not paid. For tax year 1989,

for example, detennine the period of the undeij>ayment by counting the number of days after the due
date of the installment to and including the date of pa\ment, or April 16, 19'^)0. wliichever is earlier.

Fiscal vcar taxpayers use the 15th dav of the fourth month followiuij the close of the fiscal \ear instead

of April 16, 1990'.

(b) Calendar year taxpayer's payments were due on /\pril 17, ,Iune 15, and September 15, 19S9, and
January 16, 1990.

(c) Payments for fiscal year taxpayers were due on the 15th day of the fourth month, the 15th day

of the sixth month, and the 15th day of the ninth month of the fiscal year, and the 15th day of the first

month after the end of the fiscal year.

(d) Periods and amounts of underpayment arc determined by ajiplying estimated tax pa\ nients to any
underpa\ merits of earlier installments in the order in which such installments were required to be paid.

(e) If a payment of estimated tax is applied to an underpayment for an earlier period, but the payment
is less than the underpayment, there will be more than one period of underpayment for the earlier pe-

riod.

(f) The first period of underpayment for any pa\inent period will be from the day after the due date

for the pa\'ment period to tlie date of the first applied payment. later periods of underpay ment fortiiat

payment period will be from the day after the due date for the payment period to the date of the next

apphed payment or April 15 of the following year, wliichever is earlier.

(g) To determine the penalty for a payment period with more than one period of undeipayment,

compute a penalty amount separately tor each of the periods of underpayment using tiie number of

days in each period of underpayment, the correct underpayment balance, and the appropriate penalty

rates.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.15; 105- 163. IS: 105-262;

Eff. June I, 1990.
'

.021 1 FARMERS AND FISHERMEN
(a) The following special mlcs for underpay ment of estimated tax apply to farmers and fishermen:

(1) The penalty for under]iaying 19S9 estimated tax will not apply if the return is filed and all tax

is paid by March 1, 1^)')0. For fiscal >ear taxpayers, the penalty will not apply if the return is

filed and tax due is paid by the first day of the third month after the end of the tax year.

(2) An\" penalty owed for underpaying 1989 estimated tax will be determined from one pa\ment due

date, January' 15, 1990.

(3) The undeqiayment penalty for 1989 is computed on the difference between the amount of esti-

mated tax paid bv the due date and the lesser of 100 percent of the tax shown on tlie 19S8 return

or 66 2 3 of the 1989 tax.
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FINAL RULES

(b) Even if these special rules apply to a farmer or fisherman, he will not have to pay a penalty if the

tax due (less withholding) is less than forty dollars ($40.00) or if he had no tax liability for the prior year.

Iliston^ \ote: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-163.15; 105- 163. IS: 105-262:

Eff. June I. 1990.
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRA TIVE CODE CLASSIFICA TION SYSTEM

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) has four major subdivisions of rules. Two
of these, titles and chapters, are mandatory. The major subdivision of the NCAC is the title.

Each major department in the North Carolina executive branch of government has been as-

signed a title number. Titles are further broken down into chapters which shall be numerical

in order. The other two, subchapters and sections are optional subdivisions to be used by
agencies when appropriate.

TITLE/MAJOR DFV ISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLEVA ADMESISTRATFV E CODE

ITEE DEPARTMENT EICENSESG BOARDS CHAPTER

1 Administration Architecture 2

2 Agriculture Auctioneers 4

3 Auditor Barber Examiners 6

4 Economic and Community Certified Public Accountant Examiners 8

Development Chiropractic Examiners 10

5 Correction General Contractors 12

6 Council of State Cosmetic Art Examiners 14

7 Cultural Resources Dental Examiners 16

8 Elections Electrical Contractors IS

9 Governor Eoresters 20

10 Human Resources Geologists 21

11 Insurance Hearing Aid Dealers and Eitters 2~>

12 Justice Landscape Architects 26

13 Labor Landscape Contractors 28

14A Crime Control and F'ublic Safety \EiritaI & Eamily Therapy 31

1 5A Environment, Health, and Natural Medical Examiners 32

Resources Mid\vifer\' .loint Committee 33

16 Public Education Mortuap.' Science 34
17 Rc\enue Nursing 36

18 Secretary of State Nursing Home Administrators 37

19A Transportation Occupational Therapists 38

20 Treasurer Opticians 40
*21 Occupational I iccnsing Boards Optometry 42
T> Administrative Procedures Osteopathic Examination and 44

22, Community Colleges Registration

24 Independent Agencies Phamiacy 46

25 State Personnel Physical Therapy Examiners 48

26 y\dministrative Hearings Plumbing and Heating Contractors 50

Podiatry Examiners 52

Practicing Counselors 53

Practicing Psychologists 54

Professional Engineers and I ami SiuAcyors 36

Real Estate Commission 58

RetVigeration Examiners 60

Sanitarian Examiners 62

Social Work 63

Speech and I anguage Pathologists and 64

Audiologists

Vetennap," Medical Board 66

Nolo: Title 21 contains the chapters of the \arious occupational licensing boards.
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CUMULA THE INDEX

CUMILA THE I.\DEX
(April 1990 - .\farch 1991)

1990 - 1991

Paces Issue

1
- 151 1

- April

152- 235 2 - Apnl
236- 285 3 - May
286- 312 4 - May
313- 407 5 - June

AO - Adniiiiistratiye Order

AG - AttomcN' General's Opinions

C - Correetion

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

IR - Temporar) Rule

ACRICLLTIRE
Plant Conservation Board. 1 PR
Structural Pest Control Committee, 7 PR

CRIMF CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
State Highway Patrol, 53 PR

ECONOMIC AND COMMLMTY DE\ ELOPMENT
Banking Commission, 16 PR
Commumty Assistance. 25 PR. 317 PR
Credit Union, 317 PR
Milk (Commission, 24 PR

ENMRONMENT. MEALrH, AND NAIURAL RESOURCES
Coastal Management, 136 PR, 2'-)2 PR
F-nvironmental Manatiement, 54 PR, 193 PR
Health Ser\ices, 190 PR
Marine Fisheries, 63 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 137 PR. 206 PR. 2^3 PR, 349 PR

FINAL DECISION I EFI ERS
Voting Riglits Act, 241, 2S6, 316

EFNAL Rl I.ES

List of Rules Codilled, 143 FR, 226 FR, 302 FR
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

GOVERNOR/LT. GOVERNOR
Executive Orders, 236, 313

HUMAN RESOURCES
Health Services, 152 PR, 245 PR
Medical Assistance, 191 PR
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Ser\'ices, 29 PR, 318 PR
Social Services, 247 PR
Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of Certification, 27 PR
"\'outh Scr\ices, 261 PR

rsSlRANCE
Agent Services Division, 321 PR
Financial E\'aluation Division, 342 PR
Fire and Casualty Division, 335 PR
Life: Accident and Health, 264 PR, 287 PR

JUSTICE
Attorney General, Office of the, 1Q2 PR, 273 PR

LICENSENG BOARDS
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of, 355 PR
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners of, 356 PR
Medical Examiners, Board of. 207 PR
Nursing, Board of 300 PR

PUBLIC EDUCATION
Elementar,' and Secondary-, 141 PR, 275 PR, 351 PR

REVENUE
Individual Income Tax, 359 FR
Sales and Use Tax, 213 FR

SECRETARY OE STATE
Securities Divison, 293 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 277 PR

STATE TREASl RER
Department Rules, 352 PR
I ocal Government Commission, 352 PR
Solid Waste Management Capital Projects Financing Agency, 354 PR

TRANSPORTATION
Motor Vehicles, Di\ision of 222 FR
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of 52 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchasedfor seven hundred andfifty dollars (S750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement scnice. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication arc available at one-

half the new subscription price.

PRICE LIST FOR THE SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

\'oIume Title Chapter Sul)ject

New
Subscription*

lota!

Quantity Price

1 - 52 FuU Code
1

2
2
3

4
4
5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

1 - 37

1 - 24

25 - 52

1 -4
1 -2
3- 20

1 - 2

3-4
1 -4
1 - 11

1 -9
1 -4
1 - 2

3A-3K
3L-3R

3S -3U
4- 6

7

8-9
10

11-14
15- 17

18

19- 30

31 - 33

34- 41

42

43 - 51

1 - 15

All titles

Administration

Agriculture

Agriculture

Auditor

ECD (includes ABC)
ECD
Correction

Correction

Council of State

Cultural Resources

lilcctions

Governor
Human Resources

Hum;in Resources

Ilum;in Resources

(mcludcs CON)
Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

(includes Breathalizer)

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Human Resources

Insurance

$750.00

90.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

45.00

90.00

60.00

30.00

60.00

10.00

45.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

30.00

30.00

30.00

60.00

90.00

60.00

45.00

75.00

90.00

30.00

60.00

45.00

90.00

90.00

1

2

3

4
5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

Continued



Total

\'<)lumc litlc Chapter Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

29 12

30 13

31 13

32 13

33 14A

34 1 5A
35 1 5/\

36 1 5A
37 I5A
38 15A
39 1 5A
40 16

41 17

42 17

43 18

44 19A
45 20

46 21

47 21

48 21

22

49 23

50 24

51 25

52 26

New
Ch apter Subject Subscription

1
- 12 Justice 90.00

1
- 6 Labor 30.00

7 OSHA 45.00
8- 15 Labor 45.00

1
- 11 Crime Control and

Public Safety 45.00

1
-

") LIINR (includes E.\1C) 90.00

3 - 6 LIINR 45.00

7 Coastal .Manauement 45.00
8- 9 FHNR 30.00

10 Wildlife 45.00

11
~r-> LIINR 60.00

1
- 6 I'ducation 30.00

1
- 6 Revenue 75.00

7 - 11 Revenue 60.00

1
- 7 SecretaPv' of State 30.00

1
- 6 Transportation 90.00

1
- 9 Treasurer 45.00

I
- 16 1 icensina Boards 75.00

17 - 37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards

1
- 1 Administrative Procedures 75.00

I
-

-1 Community Colleszes 10.00

1
-

)
Independent Agencies 10.00

1 State Personnel 60.00

1
- 4 Administrative Hearings 10.00

Total

(Make checks payable to Office of.tttministiativc Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription >'ear.

Suhscriprion years are Januaiy I through Dcccmhcr 31

.
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POS 1 Ol 1 ICF DRAWl R 11666
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

[$105.00)/year subscription)

Renew North CaroUna Register

Check Enclosed D Please bill me

se make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

IE ADDRESS

f STATE ZIP
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urn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:
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CITY STATE ZIP
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