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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly
and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required bv or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register
will typically comprise approximately fifty pages per
issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

various state officials and institutions. The North
Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription at

a cost of ninety-five dollars ($95.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North Carolina
Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, N.

C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place of the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory
Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the North Carolina Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file any adopted or amended rule for approval by
the Administrative Rules Review Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-
cy, the adopted version will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effective

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,
some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary
rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 day^
whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary i

must begin normal rule-making procedures on the pe
1

manent rule at the same time the temporary rule i|

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) i

a compilation and index of the administrative rules o

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing board;

The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter size

single spaced pages of material of which approximate
ly 35% is changed annually. Compilation and publica

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Eac
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fur

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designate!

for occupational licensing boards.
The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimuri

cost of two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for 1

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per eac

additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 52 volume;

totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is suj

plemented monthly with replacement pages
one year subscription to the full publication ii

eluding supplements can be purchased fo

seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). h
dividual volumes may also be purchased wi

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions fo

supplements to the initial publication availab

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCA(
should be directed to the Office of Administrativ

Hearings.

NOTE
The foregoing is a generalized statement of the pre

cedures to be followed. For specific statutory language

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B
~

the General Statutes be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issu

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 198

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

Subscriptions ninety-five dollars ($95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published

in looseleaf notebooks with supplement service by

the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Satutes.

Subscriptions seven hundred and fifty dollars

($750.00). Individual volumes available.
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GENERAL STA TUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA

CHAPTER 7A, SUBCHAPTER XII, ARTICLE 60

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

[The following excerpt contains the statutory provisions that govern the Office of Administrative

Hearing as amended by Chapters 1 100 and 1111, Session Laws of 1987 (Regular Session, 1988). Note:

These provisions may be subject to variable effective dates through October L^ 1988. Persons con-

cerned should consult the Session Laws for specific information.)

§ 7A-750. Creation; status; purpose. —
There is created an Office of Administrative

Hearings. The Office of Administrative Hearings

is an independent, quasi-judicial agency under

Article III, Sec. 11 of the Constitution and, in

accordance with Article IV, Sec. 3 of the Consti-

tution, has such judicial powers as may be rea-

sonably necessary as an incident to the

accomplishment of the purposes for which it is

created. The Office of Administrative Hearings

is established to provide a source of independent

hearing officers to preside in administrative cases

and thereby prevent the commingling of legisla-

tive, executive, and judicial functions in the ad-

ministrative process. It shall also maintain

dockets and records of contested cases and shall

codify and publish all administrative rules.

§ 7A-751. Agency head; powers and duties.

— The head of the Office of Administrative

Hearings is the Chief Administrative Law Judge.

He shall serve as Director and have the powers
and duties conferred on him by this Chapter and
the Constitution and laws of this State. His sal-

ary shall be fixed by the General Assembly in the

Current Operations Appropriations Act. In lieu

of merit and other increment raises, the Chief

Administrative Law Judge shall receive as lon-

gevity an annual amount payable monthly at the

rates provided in G.S. 7A-65 and based upon his

years of State service.

§ 7A-752. Chief Administrative Law Judge

appointments; vacancy. -- The Chief Adminis-
trative Law Judge of the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall be appointed by the Chief Justice

for a term of office of four years. The first Chief

Administrative Law Judge shall be appointed as

soon as practicable for a term to begin on the day
of his appointment and to end on June 30, 1989.

Successors to the first Chief Administrative Law
Judge shall be appointed for a term to begin on
July 1 of the year the preceding term ends and to

end on June 30 four years later. A Chief Ad-
ministrative Law Judge may continue to serve

beyond his term until his successor is duly ap-

pointed and sworn, but any holdover shall not

affect the expiration date of the succeeding term.

The Chief Administrative Law Judge shall des-

ignate one administrative law judge as senior ad-

ministrative law judge. The senior administrative

law judge may perform the duties of Chief Ad-
ministrative Law Judge if the Chief Administra-

tive Law Judge is absent or unable to serve

temporarily for any reason.

§ 7A-753. Additional Administrative Law
Judges; appointment; specialization. -- The
Chief Administrative Law Judge shall appoint

additional administrative law judges to serve in

the Office of Administrative Hearings in such

numbers as the General Assembly provides. No
person shall be appointed or designated an ad-

ministrative law judge except as provided in this

Article.

The Chief Administrative Law Judge may des-

ignate certain administrative law judges as having

the experience and expertise to preside at specific

types of contested cases and assign only these

designated administrative law judges to preside

at those cases.

§ 7A-754. Qualifications; standards of con-

duct; removal. -- Only persons duly authorized

to practice law in the General Court of Justice

shall be eligible for appointment as the Director

and chief administrative law judge or as an ad-

ministrative law judge in the Office of Adminis-

trative Hearings. Neither the chief administrative

law judge nor any administrative law judge may
engage in the private practice of law as defined in

G.S. 84-2.1 while in office; violation of this pro-

vision shall be grounds for removal. Each ad-

ministrative law judge shall take the oaths

required by Chapter 1 1 of the General Statutes.

An administrative law judge may be removed
from office by the Director of the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for just cause, as that term

is used in G.S. 126-35.

§ 7A-755. Expenses reimbursed. -- The
Chief Administrative Law Judge of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and all administrative

law judges shall be reimbursed for travel and

subsistence expenses at the rates allowed to State

officers and employees by G.S. 138-6(a).

§ 7A-756. Power to administer oaths and
issue subpoenas. -- The chief administrative law

judge and all administrative law judges in the

Office of Administrative Hearings may, in con-
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GENERAL STATUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA

ncction with any pending or potential contested

case under Chapter 1 SOB:

(1) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Sign and issue subpoenas in the name of

the Office of Administrative Hearings re-

quiring attendance and giving of testimony

by witnesses and the production of books,

papers, and other documentary evidence;

and

(3) Apply to the General Court of Justice,

Superior Court Division, for any order nec-

essary to enforce the powers conferred in

this Article.

§ 7A-757. Temporary administrative law

judges; appointments; powers and standards;

fees. -- When regularly appomted administrative

law judges are unavailable, the Chief Adminis-
trative Law Judge of the Office of Administrative

Hearings may contract with qualified individuals

to serve as administrative law judges for specific

assignments. A temporary administrative law
judge shall have the same powers and adhere to

the same standards as a regular administrative

law judge in the conduct of a hearing. A tem-

porary administrative law judge shall not be
considered a State employee by virtue of this as-

signment, and shall be remunerated for his ser-

vice at a rate not to exceed three hundred dollars

($300.00) per day and shall be reimbursed for

travel and subsistence expenses at the rate al-

lowed to State officers and employees by G.S.

138-6(a). The Chief Administrative Law Judge

may also designate a full-time State employee to

serve as a temporary administrative law judge

with the consent of the employee and his super-

visor; however, the employee is not entitled to

any additional pay for this service.

§ 7A-758. Availability of administrative law

judge to exempt agencies. -- The Chief Admin-
istrative Law Judge of the Office of Administra-

tive Hearings may, upon request of the head of

the agency, provide an administrative law judge

to preside at hearings of public bodies not other-

wise authorized or required by statute to utilize

an administrative law judge from the Office of

Administrative Hearings including, but not lim-

ited to, State agencies exempt from the pro-

visions of Chapter 150B, municipal corporations

or other subdivisions of the State, and agencies

of such subdivisions.

§ 7A-759. Role as deferral agency. — (a)

The Office of Administrative Hearings is desig-

nated to serve as the State's deferral agency for

cases deferred by the Equal Employment Op-
portunity Commission to the Office of Adminis-
trative Hearings as provided in Section 706 of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e-5, or

the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29

U.S.C. 621 for charges filed by State or local

government employees covered under Chapter
126 of the General Statutes and shall have afJ of
the powers and authority necessary to function

as a deferral agency.

(b) The Chief Administrative Law Judge is

authorized and directed to contract with the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
for the Office of Administrative Hearings to serve

as a deferral agency and to establish and maintain
a Civil Rights Division in the Office of Adminis-
trative Hearings to carry out the functions of a

deferral agency.

(c) In investigating charges an employee of the

Civil Rights Division of the Office of Adminis-
trative Hearings specifically designated by an or-

der of the Chief Administrative Law Judge filed

in the pending case may administer oaths and
affirmations.

(d) Any charge not resolved by informal

methods of conference, conciliation or persua-

sion shall be heard as a contested case as pro-

vided in Article 3 of Chapter 150B of the General

Statutes.

(e) Notwithstanding G.S. 150B-34 and G.S.

150B-36, an order entered by an administrative

law judge after a contested case hearing on the

merits of a deferred charge is a final agency deci-

sion and is binding on the parties. The admin-

istrative law judge may order whatever remedial

action is appropriate to give full relief consistent

with the requirements of federal statutes or regu-

lations.

(f) In addition to the authority vested in G.S.

7A-756 and G.S. 150B-33, an administrative law

judge may monitor compliance with any negoti-

ated settlement, conciliation agreement of order

entered in a deferred case.

(g) The standards of confidentiality established

by federal statute or regulation for discrimination

charges shall apply to deferred cases investigated

or heard by the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

(h) Nothing in this section shall be construed

as limiting the authority or right of any federal

agency to act under any federal statute or regu-

lation.
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CHAPTER 143B, ARTICLE 1, PART 3

ADMLNISTRATIVE RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

[The following excerpt contains the statutory provisions that govern the Administrative Rules Review
Commission as amended by Chapter 1111, Session Laws of 1987 (Regular Session, 1988). Note:

These provisions may be subject to variable effective dates through October \± 1988, Persons con-

cerned should consult the Session Law or the Administrative Rules Review Commission Staff for

specific information.]

§ 143B-30. Definitions. -As used in this Part,

the following definitions apply:

"Agency" means an agency subject to the pro-

visions of Article 2 of Chapter 150B of the Gen-
eral Statutes.

"Commission" means the Administrative Rules

Review Commission.
"Rule" means a "rule", as defmed in G.S.

150B-2(8a).

§ 143B-30.1. Administrative Rules Review
Commission created. —The Administrative

Rules Review Commission is created. The
Commission shall consist of eight members to

be appointed by the General Assembly, four

upon the recommendation of the President of the

Senate, and four upon the recommendation of

the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

These appointments shall be made in accordance

with G.S. 120-121, and vacancies in these ap-

pointments shall be filled in accordance with G.S.

120-122. All appointees shall serve two-year

terms. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the

Commission created by the resignation, dis-

missal, ineligibility, death, or disability of any
member shall be for the balance of the unexpired

term. The chairman shall be elected by the

Commission, and he shall designate the times

and places at which the Commission shall meet.

The Commission shall meet at least once a

month. A quorum of the Commission shall

consist of five members of the Commission. The
Commission is an independent agency under

Article III, Section 11 of the Constitution.

Members of the Commission who are not offi-

cers or employees of the State shall receive com-
pensation of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for

each day or part of a day of service plus re-

imbursement for travel and subsistence expenses

at the rates specified in G.S. 138.5. Members of

the Commission who are officers or employees
of the State shall receive reimbursement for travel

and subsistence at the rate set out in G.S. 138-6.

Any other provision of the General Statutes

notwithstanding, the appointment of employees

of the Commission shall be made by the Com-
mission. Nothing in this Article shall be con-

strued to exempt employees of the Commission
from the State Personnel Act.

The Commission shall prescribe procedures and
forms to be used in submitting rules to the

Commission for review.

§ 143B-30.2. Review of rules. - (a) Rules

adopted by an agency on or after September 1,

1986, shall be submitted to the Administrative

Rules Review Commission, which shall review

the rule to determine whether it:

(1) Is within the authority delegated to the

agency by the General Assembly;

(2) Is clear and unambiguous;

(3) Is reasonably necessary to enable the

administrative agency to perform a function

assigned to it by statute or to enable or fa-

cilitate the implementation of a program or

policy in aid of which the rule was adopted.

Any rule filed by the 20th of a month shall

be reviewed by the Commission by the last

day of the next calendar month. Any rule

filed after the 20th of a month shall be re-

viewed by the Commission by the last day
of the second subsequent calendar month.
The Commission may extend the time for

review of a rule by a period of up to 70 days

to obtain additional information on the rule.

The Commission shall file notice of the ex-

tension of time for review of a rule with the

agency and the Director of the Office of

Administrative Hearings. A rule may not

be presented for filing with the Director of

the Office of Administrative Hearings under

G.S. 150B-59 unless the rule has been re-

viewed by the Commission as provided in

this section.

(b) If the Commission reviews a rule and de-

termines that it is within the authority delegated

to the agency, is clear and unambiguous, and is

reasonably necessary, the Commission shall note

its approval, notify the agency, and file the rule

with the Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings under G.S. 150B-59, and the rule shall

become effective as provided in that section.

(c) If the Commission finds that an agency did

not act within the authority delegated to it in

promulgating a rule or a part of a rule, or that a
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rule is not clear and unambiguous, or that a rule

is unnecessary, the Commission shall object and

delay the filing of the rule or part of the rule un-

der G.S. 150B-59 for a period not to exceed 90

days. The Commission shall send to the agency,

the Governor, the President of the Senate, the

Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the

Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings, a written report of the objection and

delay of the rule or its part and the reasons for

the delay. An agency may not present a rule or

part of a rule that has been delayed to the Di-

rector of the Office of Administrative Hearings

for filing under G.S. 150B-59, and a rule or its

part that is delayed is not effective, as defined in

G.S. 150B-2(2a).

(d) Within 30 days after receipt of the Com-
mission's written report as authorized by (c), the

agency shall either (1) revise the rule to remove
the cause of the objections of the Commission
and return the revised rule to the Commission
or (2) return the rule to the Commission with-

out change with the Commission's objections

attached; provided, however, that in the case of

a board, committee, council, or commission the

response is due within 30 days after receipt of the

Commission's written report or within 10 days

following the next regularly scheduled meeting

of the board, committee, council, or commission,

whichever time period is greater. The Commis-
sion shall determine whether a revision removes

its objections to the rule.

(e) If the Commission determines that a re-

vision of a rule has removed the Commission's
objections, the Commission shall note its ap-

proval and return the rule to the agency. The
agency may then file the rule with the Director

of the Office of Administrative Hearings under

G.S. 150B-59, and the rule shall become effective

as provided in that section.

(f) Regardless of whether the agency returns the

rule to the Commission without change instead

of revising the rule to remove the Commission's
objections or whether the Commission deter-

mines that a revision of a rule has not removed
its objections, the Commission shall note its re-

view of and objection to the rule once 90 days

have passed since the Commission objected and
delayed the filing of the rule or part of the rule

pursuant to G.S. 143B-30.2(c) and shall return

the rule to the agency. The agency may then file

the rule with the Director of the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings under G.S. 150B-59, and
the rule shall become effective as provided in that

section. If the agency did not remove the Com-
mission's objections to the rule or part of the

rule, the Commission may send to the President

of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of

Representatives a written report of its objections

to the rule. Thereafter, if the General Assembly
enacts legislation disapproving the rule, the rule

shall no longer be effective.

The Legislative Services Officer shall send a

copy of any law disapproving a rule to the agency
and the Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings as soon as a copy is available.

(g) While the filing of a rule or its part is de-

layed, the agency that promulgated it may not
adopt another rule, including a temporary rule,

that has substantially identical provisions to

those for which the Commission delayed the fil-

ing of the original rule or part of a rule.

(h) The filing of an amendment to a rule places

the entire rule before the Commission for its re-

view.

(i) Rules adopted in accordance with the pro-

cedure in G.S. 150B-13 shall be reviewed by the

Commission and are subject to objection as

provided in (c).

The Commission shall review the reasons given

for the adoption of a temporary rule and may
object to the rule due to the agency's failure to

make the finding required by G.S. 1 SOB- 13.

§ 143B-30.3. Hearings. — (a) Notwithstanding

G.S. 143B-30.2(a), at any time before the time

for review set out in that subsection expires or

upon the written request of any agency, the

Commission may call a public hearing on any

rule. Within 60 days after the public hearing, the

Commission may find that the agency did not act

within the authority delegated to it in

promulgating the rule, or that the rule is not clear

and unambiguous, or that the rule is unnecessary,

and object to and delay the rule in accordance

with G.S. 143B-30.2.

(b) At least 15 days before the public hearing,

the Commission shall give notice of the hearing

to the rulemaking agency, to any person who re-

quests a copy of the notice, and to any person

who may be affected by the rule in the opinion

of the chairman of the Commission.

§ 143B-30.4. Evidence. --Evidence of the

Commission's failure to object to and delay the

tiling of a rule or its part shall be inadmissible in

all civil or criminal trials or other proceedings

before courts, administrative agencies, or other

tribunals.
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GENERAL STA TUTES OF NOR TH CAROLINA

CHAPTER 150B

THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT

[The following excerpt contains the statutory provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act as

amended by Chapters 1100 and 1111, Session Laws of 1987 (Regular Session, 1988). Note: These
provisions may be subject to variable effective dates through October 1^ 1988. Persons concerned
should consult the Session Laws for specific information.]

Article 1.

General Provisions.

§ 150B-1. Policy and scope. — (a) The
policy of the State is that the three powers of

government, legislative, executive, and judicial,

are, and should remain, separate. The intent of

this Chapter is to prevent the commingling of

those powers in any administrative agency and

to ensure that the functions of rule making, in-

vestigation, advocacy, and adjudication are not

all performed by the same person in -the admin-

istrative process.

(b) The purpose of this Chapter is to establish

as nearly as possible a uniform system of admin-
istrative rule making and adjudicatory procedures

for State agencies.

(c) This Chapter shall apply to every agency,

as defined in G.S. 150B-2(1), except to the extent

and in the particulars that any statute, including

subsection (d) of this section, makes specific

provisions to the contrary.

(d) The following are specifically exempted
from the provisions of this Chapter: the Ad-
ministrative Rules Review Commission, the

Employment Security Commission, the Indus-

trial Commission, the Occupational Safety and

Health Review Board in all actions that do not

involve agricultural employers, and the Utilities

Commission.
The North Carolina National Guard is exempt
from the provisions of this Chapter in exercising

its court-martial jurisdiction.

The Department of Human Resources is ex-

empt from this Chapter in exercising its authority

over the Camp Butner reservation granted in

Article 6 of Chapter 122C of the General Stat-

utes.

The Department of Correction is exempt from
the provisions of this Chapter, except for Article

5 of this Chapter and G.S. 150B-13 which shall

apply.

Articles 2 and 3 of this Chapter shall not apply

to the Department of Revenue. Except as pro-

vided in Chapter 136 of the General Statutes,

Articles 2 and 3 of this Chapter do not apply to

the Department of Transportation.

Article 4 of this Chapter, governing judicial re-

view of final administrative decisions, shall apply

to The University of North Carolina and its

constituent or affiliated boards, agencies, and in-

stitutions, but The University of North Carolina

and its constituent or affiliated boards, agencies,

and institutions are specifically exempted from
the remaining provisions of this Chapter. Article

4 of this Chapter shall not apply to the State

Banking Commission, the Commissioner of

Banks, the Savings and Loan Division of the

Department of Commerce, and the Credit Union
Division of the Department of Commerce.
Article 3 of this Chapter shall not apply to

agencies governed by the provisions of Article 3A
of this Chapter, as set out in G.S. 150B-38(a).

Articles 3 and 3A of this Chapter shall not apply

to the Governor's Waste Management Board in

administering the provisions of G.S. 104E-6.2.

Article 2 of this Chapter shall not apply to the

North Carolina Low-Level Radioactive Waste
Management Authority in administering the

provisions of G.S. 104G-10 and G.S. 104G-11.

Articles 3 and 3A of this Chapter shall not apply

to the North Carolina Low- Level Radioactive

Waste Management Authority in administering

the provisions of G.S. 104G-9, 104G-10, and
104G-11.

§ 150B-2. Definitions. — As used in this

Chapter,

(01) "Administrative law judge" means a per-

son appointed under G.S. 7A-752,

7A-753, or 7A-757.

(1) 'Agency" means any agency, institution,

board, commission, bureau, department,

division, council, member of the Council

of State, or officer of the State government

of the State of North Carolina but does

not include any agency in the legislative

or judicial branch of the State govern-

ment; and does not include counties,

cities, towns, villages, other municipal

corporations or political subdivisions of

the State or any agencies of such subd-

ivisions, or local boards of education,

other local public districts, units or bodies
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of any kind, or private corporations cre-

ated by act of the General Assembly.

(2) "Contested case" means an administrative

proceeding pursuant to this Chapter to

resolve a dispute between an agency and
another person that involves the person's

rights, duties, or privileges, including li-

censing or the levy of a monetary penalty.

"Contested case" does not include

rulemaking, declaratory rulings, or the

award or denial of a scholarship or grant.

(2a) "Effective" means that a valid rule has

been hied as required by G.S. 150B-59

and, if applicable, that the time specified

in that section has elapsed. A rule that is

effective is enforceable to the extent per-

mitted by law.

(2b) "Hearing officer" means a person or

group of persons designated by an agency

that is subject to Article 3A of this Chap-
ter to preside in a contested case hearing

conducted under that Article.

(3) "License" means any certificate, permit

or other evidence, by whatever name
called, of a right or privilege to engage in

any activity, except licenses issued under

Chapter 20 and Subchapter I of Chapter

105 of the General Statutes and occupa-

tional licenses.

(4) "Licensing" means any administrative

action issuing, failing to issue, suspending,

or revoking a license or occupational li-

cense. "Licensing" does not include con-

troversies over whether an examination

was fair or whether the applicant passed

the examination.

(4a) "Occupational license" means any certif-

icate, permit, or other evidence, by what-

ever name called, of a right or privilege to

engage in a profession, occupation, or

field of endeavor that is issued by an oc-

cupational licensing agency.

(4b) "Occupational licensing agency" means
any board, commission, committee or

other agency of the State of North

Carolina which is established for the pri-

mary purpose of regulating the entry of

persons into, and/or the conduct of per-

sons within a particular profession, occu-

pation or field of endeavor, and which is

authorized to issue and revoke licenses.

"Occupational licensing agency" does not

include State agencies or departments

which may as only a part of their regular

function issue permits or licenses.

(5) "Party" means any person or agency

named or admitted as a party or properly

seeking as of right to be admitted as a

party and includes the agency as appro-

priate. This subdivision does not permit

an agency that makes a final decision, or

an officer or employee of the agency, to

petition for initial judicial review of that

decision.

(6) "Person aggrieved" means any person or

group of persons of common interest di-

rectly or indirectly affected substantially in

his or its person, property, or employment
by an administrative decision.

(7) "Person" means any natural person, part-

nership, corporation, body politic and any
unincorporated association, organization,

or society which may sue or be sued under

a common name.

(8) "Residence" means domicile or principal

place of business.

(8a) "Rule" means any agency regulation,

standard or statement of general applica-

bility that implements or interprets laws

enacted by the General Assembly or

Congress or regulations promulgated by a

federal agency or describes the procedure

or practice requirements of any agency

not inconsistent with laws enacted by the

General Assembly. The term includes the

amendment or repeal of a prior rule. The
term does not include the following:

a. Statements concerning only the internal

management of an agency or group of

agencies within the same principal office

or department enumerated in G.S. 143-1

1

or 143B-6, including policies and proce-

dures manuals, if such a statement does

not directly or substantially affect the

procedural or substantive rights or duties

of persons not employed by the agency

or group of agencies.

b. Budgets and budget policies and proce-

dures issued by the Director of the

Budget, by the head of a department, as

defined by G.S. 143A-2 or G.S. 143B-3,

by an occupational licensing board, as

defined by G.S. 93B-1, or by the State

Board of Elections.

c. Nonbinding interpretive statements

within the delegated authority of the

agency that merely define, interpret or ex-

plain the meaning of a statute or other

provision of law or precedent.

d. A form, the contents or substantive re-

quirements of which are prescribed by rule

or statute or the instructions for the exe-

cution or use of the form.

e. Statements of agency policy made in the

context of another proceeding, including:
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1. Declaratory rulings under G.S.

150B-17;

2. Orders establishing or fixing rates or

tariffs.

f. Statements of agency policy, provided

that the agency policy is not inconsistent

with any law enacted by the General As-

sembly, communicated to the public by

use of signs or symbols, concerning:

1

.

The use or creation of public roads or

bridges;

2. The boundaries of public facilities and
times when public facilities are open to

the public; or

3. Safety in use of public facilities.

g. Statements that set forth criteria or

guidelines to be used by the staff of an

agency in performing audits, investi-

gations, or inspections; in settling financial

disputes or negotiating financial arrange-

ments; or in the defense, prosecution, or

settlement of cases;

h. Scientific, architectural, or engineering

standards, forms, or procedures.

(8b) "Substantial evidence" means relevant

evidence a reasonable mind might accept

as adequate to support a conclusion.

(9) "Valid" means that the rule has been

adopted pursuant to the procedure re-

quired by law. A valid rule is

unenforceable until it becomes effective.

§ 150B-3. Special provisions on licensing.

-- (a) When an applicant or a licensee makes a

timely and sufficient application for issuance or

renewal of a license or occupational license, in-

cluding the payment of any required license fee,

the existing license or occupational license does

not expire until a decision on the application is

finally made by the agency, and if the application

is denied or the terms of the new license or oc-

cupational license are limited, until the last day

for applying for judicial review of the agency or-

der. This subsection does not affect agency

action summarily suspending a license or occu-

pational license under subsections (b) and (c) of

this section.

(b) Before the commencement of proceedings

for the suspension, revocation, annulment, with-

drawal, recall, cancellation, or amendment of any
license other than an occupational license, the

agency shall give notice to the licensee, pursuant

to the provisions of G.S. 150B-23. Before the

commencement of such proceedings involving an
occupational license, the agency shall give notice

pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B-38. In

either case, the licensee shall be given an oppor-

tunity to show compliance with all lawful re-

quirements for retention of the license or

occupational license.

(c) If the agency finds that the public health,

safety, or welfare requires emergency action and
incorporates this finding in its order, summary
suspension of a license or occupational license

may be ordered effective on the date specified in

the order or on service of the certified copy of the

order at the last known address of the licensee,

whichever is later, and effective during the pro-

ceedings. The proceedings shall be promptly
commenced and determined.

Nothing in this subsection shall be construed

as amending or repealing any special statutes, in

effect prior to February 1, 1976, which provide

for the summary suspension of a license.

Article 2.

Rule Making.

§ 150B-9. Minimum procedural require-

ments; limitations on rule-making authority;

criminal sanctions authorized. — (a) It is the

intent of this Article to establish basic minimum
procedural requirements for the adoption,

amendment, or repeal of administrative rules.

Except for temporary rules which are provided

for in G.S. 150B-13, the provisions of this Article

are applicable to the exercise of any rule-making

authority conferred by any statute, but nothing

in this Article repeals or diminishes additional

requirements imposed by law or any summary
power granted by law to the State or any State

agency. No rule hereafter adopted is valid unless

adopted in substantial compliance with this Ar-

ticle.

(b) Each agency shall adopt, amend, suspend

or repeal its rules in accordance with the proce-

dures specified in this Article and pursuant to

authority delegated by law and in full compliance
with its duties and obligations. No agency may
adopt any rule that implements or interprets any
statute or other legislative enactment unless the

power, duty, or authority to carry out the pro-

visions of the statute or enactment is specifically

conferred on the agency in the enactment, nor

may any agency make any rule enlarging the

scope of any trade or profession subject to li-

censing.

(c) The power to declare what shall constitute

a crime and how it shall be punished and the

power to establish standards for public conduct

are vested exclusively in the General Assembly.

No agency may adopt any rule imposing a crim-

inal penalty for any act or failure to act, including

the violation of any rule, unless the General As-

sembly authorizes a criminal sanction and speci-

fies a criminal penalty for violation of the rule.

(d) No agency may adopt as a rule the verbatim

text of any federal or North Carolina statute or
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any federal regulation, but an agency may adopt

all or any part of such text by reference under

G.S. 150B-14.

§ 150B-10. Statements of organization and
means of access to be published, -- To assist

interested persons dealing with it, each agency

shall, in a manner prescribed by the Director of

the Office of Administrative Hearings, prepare a

description of its organization, stating the process

whereby the public may obtain information or

make submissions or requests. The Director of

the Office of Administrative Hearings shall pub-

lish these descriptions annually.

§ 150B-11. Special requirements. -- In ad-

dition to other rule-making requirements im-

posed by law, each agency shall:

( 1

)

Adopt rules setting forth the nature and
requirements of all formal and informal

procedures available, including a listing of

all forms that are required by the agency.

Procedures concerning only internal man-
agement which do not directly affect the

rights of or procedures available to the

public shall not be adopted as rules.

(2) Make available for public inspection all

rules and all other written statements of

policy or interpretations formulated,

adopted, or used by the agency in the

discharge of its functions, except those

used only for internal management of the

agency.

(3) Submit to the Director of the Budget a

summary of any proposed rule requiring

the expenditure or distribution of State

funds and obtain approval of such ex-

penditure or distribution of State funds

prior to publishing the notice of public

hearing required by G.S. 1 50B- 12(2). For
purposes of this subdivision the term

"State funds" shall have the same mean-
ing as is set out in G.S. 143-1 and shall

also apply to the funds of all occupational

licensing boards included under G.S.

150B-1. The agency shall include a fiscal

note with any proposed rule, other than a

temporary rule, so submitted. The fiscal

note shall state what effect, if any, the

proposed rule will have on the revenues,

expenditures, or fiscal liability of the State

or its agencies or subdivisions. The fiscal

note shall include an explanation of how
such effect, if any, was computed.

(4) Submit a fiscal note in accordance with

G.S. 120-30.48 for a proposed rule that

affects the expenditures or revenues of a

unit of local government. The fiscal note

shall be submitted no later than the date

when a notice of public hearing on the

proposed rule is published in the North
Carolina Register. The notice shall state

that a fiscal note has been prepared for the

proposed rule and may be obtained from
the agency. An erroneous fiscal note
prepared in good faith does not affect the

validity of a rule.

§ 150B-12. Procedure for adoption of rules.

-- (a) Before the adoption, amendment or repeal

of a rule, an agency shall give notice of a .public

hearing and offer any person an opportunity to

present data, opinions, and arguments. The no-
tice shall be given within the time prescribed by
any applicable statute, or if none then at least 30
days before the public hearing and before the

adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule. The
notice shall include:

(1) A reference to the statutory authority un-
der which the action is proposed;

(2) The time and place of the public hearing

and a statement of the manner in which
data, opinions, and arguments may be

submitted to the agency either at the

hearing or at other times by any person;

and

(3) The text of the proposed rule, or amend-
ment in the form required by G.S.

150B-63(d2) and the proposed effective

date of the rule or amendment.
(b) Repeakd.
(c) The agency shall publish the notice m the

North Carolina Register and as prescribed in any
applicable statute.

The agency may also publish the notice or a

synopsis of the notice in other ways selected by
the agency to give notice to persons likely to be

affected by the proposed rule. Methods that may
be employed by the agency, depending upon the

circumstances, include publication of the notice

in one or more newspapers of general circulation

or, when appropriate, in trade, industry, govern-

mental or professional publications.

(d) The public hearing shall not be conducted

as a contested case unless a specific statute re-

quires that the proposed rule be adopted by
adjudicatory procedures.

(e) The proposed rule shall not be changed or

modified after the notice required by this section

is published and before the rule-making hearing.

The agency shall consider fully all written and
oral submissions respecting the proposed rule.

Upon adoption of a rule, the agency, if requested

to do so by an interested person either prior to

adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue

a concise statement of the principal reasons for

and against its adoption, incorporating therein its

reasons for overruling the consideration urged

against its adoption. The record in every rule-
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making proceeding under this Article shall re-

main open at least 30 days either before or after

the hearing for the purposes of receiving written

comments, and any such comments shall be in-

cluded in the hearing records. All comments re-

ceived, as well as any statement of reasons issued

to an interested person under this section, shall

be included in the rule-making record.

(f) No rule-making hearing is required for the

adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule which

solely describes forms or instructions used by the

agency.

(g) No rule-making hearing is required if the

Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings

determines that the amendment to a rule does

not change the substance of the rule and that the

amendment is:

(1) A relettering or renumbering instruction;

or,

(2) The substitution of one name for another

when an organization or position is re-

named; or,

(3) The correction of a citation to rules or

laws which has become inaccurate since

the rule was adopted because of repealing

or renumbering of the rule or law cited;

or

(4) The correction of a similar formal defect;

or

(5) A change in information that is readily

available to the public such as addresses

and telephone numbers.

(h) No rule-making hearing is required to re-

peal a rule if the repeal of the rule is specifically

provided for by the Constitution of the United

States, the Constitution of North Carolina, any

federal or North Carolina statute, any federal

regulation, or a court order. No rule-making

hearing is required to amend or repeal a rule to

comply with G.S. 143B-30.2 in accordance with

G.S. 150B-59(c).

§ 150B-13. Temporary rules, --(a) Except

as provided in subsection (b) of this section, if

an agency which is not exempted from the notice

and hearing requirements of this Article by G.S.

150B-1 determines in writing that:

(1) Adherence to the notice and hearing re-

quirements of this Article would be con-

trary to the public interest; and that

(2) The immediate adoption, amendment, or

repeal of a rule is necessitated by and re-

lated to:

a. A serious and unforseeable threat to

public health, safety, or welfare;

b. The effective date of a recent act of the

General Assembly or the United States

Congress;

c. A recent change in federal or state budg-

etary policy;

d. A federal regulation; or

e. A court order,

the agency may adopt, amend, or repeal the rule

without prior notice or hearing or upon any ab-

breviated notice or hearing the agency finds

practicable. The agency must accompany its

rules filing with the Director of the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings and the Governor with the

agency's written certification of the finding of

need for the temporary rule, together with the

reasons for that finding and a copy of the notice

of hearing on the proposed permanent rule.

(al) The written certification of the finding

of need for the temporary rule shall be signed by:

(1) The member of the Council of State in the

case of the Departments of Justice, Insur-

ance, Public Education, Labor, Agricul-

ture, Treasurer, State Auditor, or

Secretary of State.

(2) The chairman of the board in the case of

an occupational licensing board or the

Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings in the case of that agency.

(3) The Governor in the case of all other

agencies.

(b) If the Department of Crime Control and
Public Safety, Transportation, Revenue, or Cor-

rection determines in writing that the immediate
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule is ne-

cessitated by:

(1) The public health, safety, or welfare;

(2) The effective date of a recent act of the

General Assembly or the United States

Congress;

(3) A federal regulation; or

(4) A court order,

the agency may adopt, amend, or repeal the rule.

The agency must accompany its rule filing with

the Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings and the Governor with the agency's

written certification of the finding of need for the

temporary rule signed by the Governor together

with the reasons for that finding. In the case of

the Department of Correction, in addition to the

reasons set forth in subdivisions (1) through (4)

of this subsection, the Department may file a

temporary rule when necessary for the manage-

ment and control of persons under the custody

or supervision of the Department in extraor-

dinary circumstances as certified by the Secretary.

The Department shall file any temporary rule

within two working days of its adoption by the

Secretary under G.S. 148-11.

(c) Rules filed under subsections (a) and (b)

of this section shall be effective for a period of

not longer than 180 days and are subject to re-
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(21

(3)

view as provided in G.S. 143B-30.2(i). An
agency adopting a temporary rule shall begin

normal rule-making procedures on the perma-
nent rule under this Article at the same time the

temporary rule is adopted.

§ 15013-14. Adoption by reference. -- (a)

An agency may adopt by reference in its rules,

without publishing the adopted matter in full:

(1) All or any part of a code, standard, or

regulation which has been adopted by any
other agency of this State or by any

agency of the United States or by a gen-

erally recognized organization or associ-

ation;

Any plan or material which is adopted to

meet the requirements of any agency of

the United States and approved by that

agency;

.Any plan, material, manual, guide or other

document establishing job application or

employment practices or procedures of

any State agency other than the State

Personnel Commission. The State Per-

sonnel Commission, however, shall in-

corporate by reference in its rules job

classification standards, including but not

limited to those relating to qualifications

and salary levels; or

The he-arings division rules promulgated

by the Office of Administrative Hearings,

adopting matter by reference, the agency

specify in the rule and in the Register

whether such adoption is in accordance with the

provisions of subsection (b) or (c) of this section.

The agency can change this election only by a

subsequent rulemaking proceeding.

(b) If an agency adopts matter by reference in

accordance with this subsection, such reference

shall not cover any later amendments and edi-

tions of the adopted matter, but if the agency

wishes to incorporate them in its rule it shall

amend the rule or promulgate a new rule.

(c) If any agency adopts matter by reference in

accordance with this subsection, such reference

shall automatically include any later amendments
and editions of the adopted matter.

(d) An agency may cross-reference its own rules

in the North Carolina Administrative Code
without violating the provisions of (a)(1) of this

section.

§ 15013-15. Continuation of rules. -- When
a law authorizing or directing an agency to

promulgate rules is repealed, and (i) substantially

the same rule-making power or duty is vested in

the same or a successor agency by a new pro-

vision of law, or (ii) the function of the agency

to which the rules are related is transferred to

another agency by law or executive order, the

(4)

In

shall

existing rules of the original agency shall continue

in effect until amended or repealed, and the

agency or successor agency may repeal any rule

relating to the transferred duty or function.

When a law creating an agency or authorizing or

directing it to promulgate rules is repealed or the

agency is abolished and (i) substantially the same
rule-making power or duty is not vested in the

same or a successor agency by a new provision

of law and (ii) the function of the agency to

which the rules are related is not transferred to

another agency, the existing applicable rules of
the original agency are automatically repealed as

of the effective date of the law repealing the

agency's rule-making power or abolishing the

agency.

§ 150B-16. Petition for adoption of rules.

-- Any person may petition an agency to

promulgate, amend, or repeal a rule, and may
accompany his petition with such data, views,

and arguments as he thinks pertinent. Each
agency shall prescribe by rule the form for pe-

titions and the procedure for their submission,

consideration, and disposition. Within 30 days

after submission of a petition, the agency shall

either deny the petition in writing, stating its

reasons for the denial, or initiate rule-making

proceedings in accordance with G.S. 150B-12
and G.S. 150B-13; provided, however, commis-
sions and boards shall act on a petition at their

next regularly scheduled meeting, but in any case

no later than 120 days after submission of a pe-

tition. Denial of the petition to initiate rule

making under this section shall be considered a

final agency decision for purposes of judicial re-

view.

§ 150B-17. Declaratory rulings. — On re-

quest of a person aggrieved, an agency shall issue

a declaratory ruling as to the validity of a rule or

as to the applicability to a given state of facts of

a statute administered by the agency or of a rule

or order of the agency, except when the agency

for good cause finds issuance of a ruling undesir-

able. The agency shall prescribe in its rules the

circumstances in which rulings shall or shall not

be issued. A declaratory ruling is binding on the

agency and the person requesting it unless it is

altered or set aside by the court. An agency may
not retroactively change a declaratory ruling, but

nothing in this section prevents an agency from

prospectively changing a declaratory ruling. A
declaratory ruling is subject to judicial review in

the same manner as an order in a contested case.

Failure of ihe agency to issue a declarator)' ruling

on the merits within 60 days of the request for

such ruling shall constitute a denial of the request

as well as a denial of the merits of the request and

shall be subject to judicial review.
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Article 3.

Administrative Hearings.

150B-22. Settlement; contested case.

is the policy of this State that any dispute be-

tween an agency and another person that in-

volves the person's rights, duties, or privileges,

including licensing or the levy of a monetary
penalty, should be settled through informal pro-

cedures. In trying to reach a settlement through

informal procedures, the agency may not conduct

a proceeding at which sworn testimony is taken

and witnesses may be cross-examined.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if

the agency and the other person do not agree to

a resolution of the dispute through informal

procedures, either the agency or the person may
commence an administrative proceeding to de-

termine the person's rights, duties, or privileges,

at which time the dispute becomes a "contested

case."

§ 150B-23. Commencement ; assignment of

administrative law judge; hearing required; no-

tice; intervention. -- (a) A contested case shall

be commenced by filing a petition with the Office

of Administrative Hearings and, except as pro-

vided in Article 3A of this Chapter, shall be

conducted by that Office. The party who files

the petition shall also serve a copy of the petition

on all other parties and shall tile a certificate of

service together with the petition. Any petition

'

filed by a party other than an agency shall be

verified or supported by affidavit and shall state

facts tending to establish that the agency named
as the respondent has deprived the petitioner of

property, has ordered the petitioner to pay a fine

or civil penalty, or has otherwise substantially

prejudiced the petitioner's rights and that the

agency:

(1) Exceeded its authority or jurisdiction;

(2) Acted en'oneously;

(3) Failed to use proper procedure;

(4) Acted arbitrarily or capriciously; or

(5) Failed to act as required by law or rule.

The parties in a contested case shall be given an

opportunity for a hearing without undue delay.

Any person aggrieved may commence a con-

tested case hereunder.

A local government employee, applicant for

employment, or former employee to whom
Chapter 126 of the General Statutes applies may
commence a contested case under this Article in

the same manner as any other petitioner. The
case shall be conducted in the Office of Admin-
istrative Hearings in the same manner as other

contested cases under this Article, except that the

decision of the State Personnel Commission shall

be advisory only and not binding on the local

appointing authority, unless (1) the employee,

applicant, or former employee has been subjected

to discrimination prohibited by Article 6 of

Chapter 126 of the General Statutes or (2) ap-

plicable federal standards require a binding deci-

sion. In these two cases, the State Personnel

Commission's decision shall be binding.

(b) The parties shall be given notice not less

than 15 days before the hearing by the Office of

Administrative Hearings, which notice shall in-

clude:

(1) A statement of the date, hour, place, and
nature of the hearing;

(2) A reference to the particular sections of the

statutes and rules involved; and

(3) A short and plain statement of the factual

allegations.

(c) Notice shall be given personally or by cer-

tified mail. If given by certified mail, it shall be

deemed to have been given on the delivery date

appearing on the return receipt. If giving of no-

tice cannot be accomplished either personally or

by certified mail, notice shall then be given in the

manner provided in G.S. 1 A- 1 , Rule 4(jl).

(d) Any person may petition to become a party

by filing a motion to intervene in the manner
provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 24. In addition, any
person interested in a contested case may inter-

vene and participate in that proceeding to the

extent deemed appropriate by the administrative

law judge.

(e) ^\11 hearings under this Chapter shall be

open to the public. Hearings shall be conducted

in an impartial manner. Hearings shall be con-

ducted according to the procedures set out in this

Article, except to the extent and in the particulars

that specific hearing procedures and time stand-

ards are governed by another statute.

(f) Unless another statute or a federal statute

or regulation sets a time limitation for the filing

of a petition in contested cases against a specified

agency, the general limitation for the filing of a

petition in a contested case is 60 days. The time

limitation, whether established by another stat-

ute, federal statute, or federal regulation, or this

section, shall commence when notice is given of

the agency decision to all persons aggrieved who
are known to the agency by personal delivery or

by the placing of the notice in an official deposi-

tor,' of the United States Postal Service wrapped
in a wrapper addressed to the person at the latest

address given by the person to the agency. The
notice shall be in writing, and shall set forth the

agency action, and shall inform the persons of the

right, the procedure, and the time limit to file a

contested case petition.

§ 150B-24. Venue of hearing, -(a) The
hearing of a contested case shall be conducted:
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( 1

)

In the county in this State in which any
person whose property or rights are the

subject matter of the hearing maintains

his residence;

(2) In the county where the agency maintains

its principal office if the property or rights

that are the subject matter of the hearing

do not affect any person or if the subject

matter of the hearing is the property or

rights of residents of more than one
county; or

(3) In any county determined by the admin-
istrative law judge in his discretion to

promote the ends of justice or better serve

the convenience of witnesses.

(b) Any person whose property or rights are

the subject matter of the hearing waives his ob-

jection to venue by proceeding in the hearing.

§ 150B-25. Conduct of hearing; answer. --

(a) If a party fails to appear in a contested case

after proper service of notice, and if no
adjournment or continuance is granted, the ad-

ministrative law judge may proceed with the

hearing in the absence of the party.

(b) A party who has been served with a notice

of hearing may file a written response, and a copy
must be mailed to all other parties not less than

10 days before the date set for hearing.

(c) The parties shall be given an opportunity

to present arguments on issues of law and policy

and an opportunity to present evidence on issues

of fact.

(d| A party may cross-examine any witness,

including the author of a document prepared by.

on behalf of, or for use of the agency and offered

in evidence. Any party may submit rebuttal ev-

idence.

§ 150B-26. Consolidation. -- When con-

tested cases involving a common question of law

or fact or multiple proceedings involving the

same or related parties are pending, the Director

of the Office of Administrative Hearings may or-

der a joint hearing of any matters at issue in the

cases, order the cases consolidated, or make other

orders to reduce costs or delay in the proceedings.

§ 150B-27. Subpoena. — .After the com-
mencement of a contested case, the administra-

tive law judge may issue subpoenas upon his

own motion or upon a written request. When a

written request for a subpoena has been made,
the administrative law judge shall issue the re-

quested subpoenas forthwith requiring the at-

tendance and testimony of witnesses and the

production of evidence including books, records,

correspondence, and documents in their pos-

session or under their control. I'pon written re-

quest, the administrative law judge shall revoke

a subpoena if, upon a hearing, he finds that the

evidence the production of which is required does

not relate to a matter in issue, or if the subpoena
does not describe with sufficient particularity the

evidence the production of which is required, or

if for any other reason sufficient in law the

subpoena is invalid. Witness fees shall be paid

by the party requesting the subpoena to

subpoenaed witnesses in accordance with G.S.

7A-314. However, State officials or employees
who are subpoenaed shall not be entitled to wit-

ness fees, but they shall receive their normal sal-

ary and they shall not be required to take any
annual leave for the witness days. Travel ex-

penses of State officials or employees who are

subpoenaed shall be reimbursed as provided in

G.S. 138-6.

§ 150B-28. Depositions and discovery. —
(a) A deposition may be used in lieu of other

evidence when taken in compliance with the

Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1. Parties in

contested cases may engage in discovery pursuant

to the provisions of the Rules of Civil Procedure,

G.S. 1A-1.

(b) On a request for identifiable agency records,

with respect to material facts involved in a con-

tested case, except records related solely to the

internal procedures of the agency or which are

exempt from disclosure by law, an agency shall

promptly make the records available to. a party.

§ 150B-29. Rules of evidence, -(a) In all

contested cases, irrelevant, immaterial and un-

duly repetitious evidence shall be excluded. Ex-

cept as otherwise provided, the rules of evidence

as applied in the trial division of the General

Court of Justice shall be followed; but. when ev-

idence is not reasonably available under the rules

to show relevant facts, then the most reliable and

substantial evidence available shall be admitted.

It shall not be necessary for a party or his attor-

ney to object at the hearing to evidence in order

to preserve the right to object to its consideration

by the administrative law judge in making a re-

commended decision, by the agency in making a

final decision, or by the court on judicial review.

(b) Evidence in a contested case, including re-

cords and documents, shall be offered and made
a part of the record. Factual information or ev-

idence not made a part of the record shall not be

considered in the determination of the case, ex-

cept as permitted under G.S. 150B-30. Docu-
mentary evidence may be received in the form of

a copy or excerpt or may be incorporated by
reference, if the materials so incorporated are

available for examination by the parties. LTpon
timely request, a party shall be given an oppor-

tunity to compare the copy with the original if

available.
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§ 150B-30. Official notice. -- Official notice

may be taken of all facts of which judicial notice

may be taken and of other facts within the spe-

cialized knowledge of the agency. The noticed

fact and its source shall be stated and made
known to affected parties at the earliest practica-

ble time, and any party shall on timely request

be afforded an opportunity to dispute the noticed

fact through submission of evidence and argu-

ment.

§ 150B-31. Stipulations. — (a) The parties

in a contested case may, by a stipulation in writ-

ing filed with the administrative law judge, agree

upon any fact involved in the controversy, which
stipulation shall be used as evidence at the hear-

ing and be binding on the parties thereto. Parties

should agree upon facts when practicable.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by law, dis-

position may be made of a contested case by
stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order,

waiver, default, or other method agreed upon by
the parties.

§ 150B-32. Designation of administrative law

judge. — (a) The Director of the Office of Ad-
ministrative I learings shall assign himself or an-

other administrative law judge to preside over a

contested case.

(b) On the filing in good faith by a party of a

timely and sufficient affidavit of personal bias or

disqualification of an administrative law judge,

the administrative law judge shall determine the

matter as a part of the record in the case, and this

determination shall be subject to judicial review

at the conclusion of the proceeding.

(c) When an administrative law judge is dis-

qualified or it is impracticable for him to con-

tinue the hearing, the Director shall assign

another administrative law judge to continue

with the case unless it is shown that substantial

prejudice to any party will result, in which event

a new hearing shall be held or the case dismissed

without prejudice.

§ 150B-33. Powers of administrative law

judge. -- (a) An administrative law judge shall

stay any contested case under this Article on
motion of an agency which is a party to the

contested case, if the agency shows by supporting

affidavits that it is engaged in other litigation or

administrative proceedings, by whatever name
called, with or before a federal agency, and this

other litigation or administrative proceedings will

determine the position, in whole or in part, of the

agency in the contested case. At the conclusion

of the other litigation or administrative pro-

ceedings, the contested case shall proceed and be

determined as expeditiously as possible.

(b) An administrative law judge may:

( 1
) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Sign and issue subpoenas in the name of

the Office of Administrative Hearings, re-

quiring attendance and giving of testi-

mony by witnesses and the production of

books, papers, and other documentary
evidence;

(3) Provide for the taking of testimony by
deposition;

(4) Regulate the course of the hearings, in-

cluding discovery, set the time and place

for continued hearings, and fix the time

for filing of briefs and other documents;

(5) Direct the parties to appear and confer to

consider simplification of the issues by
consent of the parties;

(6) Stay the contested action by the agency

pending the outcome of the case, upon
such terms as he deems proper, and sub-

ject to the provisions of G.S. 1A-1, Rule

65;

(7) Determine whether the hearing shall be

recorded by a stenographer or by an elec-

tronic device; and

(8) Enter an order returnable in the General

Court of Justice, Superior Court Division,

to show cause why the person should not

be held in contempt. The Court shall

have the power to impose punishment as

for contempt for any act which would
constitute direct or indirect contempt if

the act occurred in an action pending in

Superior Court.

(9) Determine that a rule as applied in a

particular case is void because (1) it is not

within the statutory authority of the

agency, (2) is not clear and unambiguous
to persons it is intended to direct, guide,

or assist, or (3) is not reasonably necessary

to enable the agency to perform a function

assigned to it by statute or to enable or

facilitate the implementation of a program
or policy in aid of which the rule was
adopted.

(10) Impose the sanctions provided for in G.S.

1A-1 or Chapter 3 of Title 26 of the North
Carolina Administrative Code for non-

compliance with applicable procedural

rules.

§ 150B-34. Recommended decision or order

of administrative law judge. -- (a) Except as

provided in G.S. 150B-36(c), in each contested

case the administrative law judge shall make a

recommended decision or order that contains

findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(b) After hearing the contested case and prior

to issuing a recommended decision, the adminis-

trative law judge shall give each party an oppor-
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tunity to file proposed findings of fact and to

present written arguments to him.

§ 150B-35. No ex parte communication;
exceptions. -- Unless required for disposition of

an ex parte matter authorized by law, neither the

administrative law judge assigned to a contested

case nor a member or employee of the agency

making a final decision in the case may commu-
nicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with

any issue of fact, or question of law, with any
person or party or Ms representative, except on
notice and opportunity for all parties to partic-

ipate.

§ 150B-36. Final decision, -(a) Before the

agency makes a final decision, it shall give each

party an opportunity to file exceptions to the

decision recommended by the administrative law

judge, and to present written arguments to those

in the agency who will make the final decision

or order.

(b) A final decision or order in a contested case

shall be made by the agency in writing after re-

view of the official record as defined in G.S.

150B-37(a) and shall include findings of fact and
conclusions of law. If the agency does not adopt

the administrative law judge's recommended de-

cision as its final decision, the agency shall state

in its decision or order the specific reasons why
it did not adopt the administrative law judge's

recommended decision. The agency may con-

sider only the official record prepared pursuant

to G.S. 150B-37 in making a final decision or

order, and the final decision or order shall be

supported by substantial evidence admissible un-

der G.S. 150B-29(a), 150B-30, or 150B-31. A
copy of the decision or order shall be served

upon each party personally or by certified mail

addressed to the party at the latest address given

by the party to the agency, and a copy shall be

furnished to his attorney of record and the Office

of Administrative Hearings.

(c) A determination by an administrative law

judge in a contested case that the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings lacks jurisdiction, or an

order entered pursuant to the authority in G.S.

7A-759(e) shall constitute a final decision.

§ 150B-37. Official record. - (a) In a

contested case, the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall prepare an official record of the

case that includes:

( 1

)

Notices, pleadings, motions, and interme-

diate rulings;

(2) Questions and offers of proof, objections,

and rulings thereon;

(3) Evidence presented:

(4) Matters officially noticed, except matters

so obvious that a statement of them
would serve no useful purpose; and

(5) The administrative law judge's recom-

mended decision or order.

(b) Proceedings at which oral evidence is pre-

sented shall be recorded, but need not be tran-

scribed unless requested by a party. Each party

shall bear the cost of the transcript or part thereof

or copy of said transcript or part thereof which
said party requests, and said transcript or part

thereof shall be added to the official record as an
exhibit.

(c) The Office of Administrative Hearings shall

forward a copy of the official record to the agency
making the final decision and shall forward a

copy of the recommended decision to each party.

Article 3A.

Other Administrative Hearings.

§ 150B-38. Scope; required; notice; venue.
— (a) The provisions of this .Article shall apply

to the following agencies:

(1) Occupational licensing agencies;

(2) The State Banking Commission, the

Commissioner of Banks, the Savings and
Loan Division of the Department of

Commerce, and the Credit Union Divi-

sion of the Department of Commerce;
and

(3) The Department of Insurance and the

Commissioner of Insurance.

(b) Prior to any agency action in a contested

case, the agency shall give the parties in the case

an opportunity for a hearing without undue delay

and notice not less than 15 days before the hear-

ing. Notice to the parties shall include:

(1) A statement of the date, hour, place, and
nature of the hearing;

(2) A reference to the particular sections of the

statutes and rules involved; and

(3) A short and plain statement of the facts

alleged.

(c) Notice shall be given personally or by cer-

tified mail. If given by certified mail, notice shall

be deemed to have been given on the delivery

date appearing on the return receipt. If notice

cannot be given personally or by certified mail,

then notice shall be given in the manner provided

in G.S. 1A-1, Rule4(jl).

(d) A party who has been served 'with a notice

of hearing may file a written response with the

agency. If a written response is filed, a copy of

the response must be mailed to all other parties

not less than 10 days before the date set for the

hearing.

(e) All hearings conducted under this Article

shall be ope.i to the public. A hearing conducted

by the agency shall be held in the county where

the agency maintains its principal office. A
hearing conducted for the agency by an admin-

istrative law judge requested under G.S. 150B-40
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shall he held in a county in this State where any

person whose property or rights are the subject

matter of the hearing resides. If a different venue

would promote the ends of justice or better serve

the convenience of witnesses, the agency or the

administrative law judge may designate another

county. A person whose property or rights are

the subject matter of the hearing waives his ob-

jection to venue if he proceeds in the hearing.

(f) Any person may petition to become a party

by filing with the agency or hearing officer a

motion to intervene in the manner provided by
G.S. LA - 1 . Rule 24. In addition, any person in-

terested in a contested case under this Article

may intervene and participate to the extent

deemed appropriate by the agency hearing offi-

cer.

(g) When contested cases involving a common
question of law or fact or multiple proceedings

involving the same or related parties are pending

before an agency, the agency may order a joint

hearing of any matters at issue in the cases, order

the cases consolidated, or make other orders to

reduce costs or delay in the proceedings.

(h) Livery agency shall adopt rules governing

the conduct of hearings that are consistent with

the provisions of this Article.

§ 150B-39. 1 Vpo-in 'i i-.. di -.n>\ v-p.

.

subpoenas. -- (a) A deposition may be used in

lieu of other evidence when taken in compliance
with the Rules of Civil Procedure. G.S. 1A-1.

Parties in a contested case may engage in dis-

covery pursuant to the provisions of the Rules

of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1.

(b) I'pon a request for an identifiable agency

record involving a material fact in a contested

case, the agency shall promptly provide the re-

cord to a party, unless the record relates solely to

the agency's internal procedures or is exempt
from disclosure by law.

(c) An agency may issue subpoenas in prepa-

ration for, or in the conduct of, a contested case

upon its own motion. If a written request is

made by a party in a contested case, an agency

shall issue subpoenas forthwith requiring the at-

tendance and testimony of witnesses and the

production of evidence including books, records,

correspondence, and documents in their pos-

session or under their control. Upon written re-

quest, the agency shall revoke a subpoena if,

upon a hearing, the agency finds that the evi-

dence, the production of which is required, does

not relate to a matter in issue, or if the subpoena
does not describe with sufficient particularity the

evidence the production of which is required, or

if for any other reason sufficient in law the

subpoena is invalid. Witness fees shall be paid

by the party requesting the subpoena to

subpoenaed witnesses in accordance with G.S.

7A-314. However, State officials or employees

who are subpoenaed shall not be entitled to any
witness fees, but they shall receive their normal
salary and they shall not be required to take any
annual leave for the witness days. Travel ex-

penses of State officials or employees who are

subpoenaed shall be reimbursed as provided in

G.S. 138-6.

§ 150B-40. Conduct of hearing: presiding

officer; ex parte communication, --(a) Hearings

shall be conducted in a fair and impartial manner.
At the hearing, the agency and the parties shall

be given an opportunity to present evidence on
issues of fact, examine and cross-examine wit-

nesses, including the author of a document pre-

pared by, on behalf of or for the use of the

agency and offered into evidence, submit rebuttal

evidence, and present arguments on issues of law

or policy.

If a party fails to appear in a contested case after

he has been given proper notice, the agency may
continue the hearing or proceed with the hearing

and make its decision in the absence of the party.

(b) Pxcept as provided under subsection (e) of

this section, hearings under this Article shall be

conducted by a majority of the agency. An
agency shall designate one or more of its mem-
bers to preside at the hearing. If a party files in

good faith a timely and sufficient affidavit of the

personal bias or other reason for disqualification

of any member of the agency, the agency shall

determine the matter as a part of the record in the

case, and its determination shall be subject to

judicial review at the conclusion of the proceed-

ing. If a presiding officer is disqualified or it is

impracticable for him to continue the hearing,

another presiding officer shall be assigned to

continue with the case, except that if assignment

of a new presiding officer will cause substantial

prejudice to any party, a new hearing shall be

held or the case dismissed without prejudice.

(c) The presiding officer may:

(1) Administer oaths and affirmations;

(2) Sign and issue subpoenas in the name of

the agency, requiring attendance and giv-

ing of testimony by witnesses and the

production of books, papers, and other

documentary evidence;

(3) Provide for the taking of testimony by
deposition;

(4) Regulate the course of the hearings, set the

time and place for continued hearings, and

fix the time for filing of briefs and other

documents;

(5) Direct the parties to appear and confer to

consider simplification of the issues by
consent of the parties; and
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(6) Apply to any judge of the superior court

resident in the district or presiding at a

term of court in the county where a hear-

ing is pending for an order to show cause

why any person should not be held in

contempt of the agency and its processes,

and the court shall have the power to im-

pose punishment as for contempt for acts

which would constitute direct or indirect

contempt if the acts occurred in an action

pending in superior court.

(d) Unless required for disposition of an ex

parte matter authorized by law, a member of an

agency assigned to make a decision or to make
findings of fact and conclusions of law in a con-

tested case under this Article shall not commu-
nicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with

any issue of fact or question of law, with any

person or party or his representative, except on
notice and opportunity for all parties to partic-

ipate. This prohibition begins at the time of the

notice of hearing. An agency member may
communicate with other members of the agency

and may have the aid and advice of the agency

staff other than the staff which has been or is

engaged in investigating or prosecuting functions

in connection with the case under consideration

or a factually-related case. This section does not

apply to an agency employee or party represen-

tati%'e with professional training in accounting,

actuarial science, economics or financial analysis

msofar as the case involves financial practices or

conditions.

(e) When a majority of an agency is unable or

elects not to hear a contested case, the agency

shall apply to the Director of the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for the designation of an

administrative law judge to preside at the hearing

of a contested case under this Article. Upon re-

ceipt of the application, the Director shall, with-

out undue delay, assign an administrative law

judge to hear the case.

The provisions of this Article, rather than the

provisions of Article 3, shall govern a contested

case in which the agency requests an administra-

tive law judge from the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

The administrative law judge assigned to hear a

contested case under this Article shall sit in place

of the agency and shall have the authority of the

presiding officer in a contested case under this

Article. The administrative law judge shall make
a proposal for decision, which shall contain pro-

posed findings of fact and proposed conclusions

of law.

An administrative law judge shall stay any con-

tested case under this Article on motion of an

agency which is a party to the contested case, if

the agency shows by supporting affidavits that it

is engaged in other litigation or administrative

proceedings, by whatever name called, with or

before a federal agency, and this other litigation

or administrative proceedings will determine the

position, in whole or in part, of the agency in the

contested case. At the conclusion of the other

litigation or administrative proceedings, the con-

tested case shall proceed and be determined as

expeditiously as possible.

The agency may make its final decision only-

after the administrative law judge's proposal for

decision is served on the parties, and an oppor-
tunity is given to each party to file exceptions and
proposed findings of fact and to present oral and
written arguments to the agency.

§ 150B-41. Evidence; stipulations; official

notice. -- (a) In all contested cases, irrelevant,

immaterial, and unduly repetitious evidence shall

be excluded. Except as otherwise provided, the

rules of evidence as applied in the trial division

of the General Court of Justice shall be followed;

but, when evidence is not reasonably available

under such rules to show relevant facts, they may
be shown by the most reliable and substantial

evidence available. It shall not be necessary for

a party or his attorney to object to evidence at

the hearing in order to preserve the right to ob-

ject to its consideration by the agency in reaching

its decision, or by the court of judicial review.

(b) Evidence in a contested case, including re-

cords and documents shall be offered and made
a part of the record. Other factual information

or evidence shall not be considered in determi-

nation of the case, except as permitted under

G.S. 150B-30. Documentary evidence may be

received in the form of a copy or excerpt or may-

be incorporated by reference, if the materials so

incorporated are available for examination by the

parties. Upon timely request, a party shall be

given an opportunity to compare the copy with

the original if available.

(c) The parties in a contested case under this

Article by a stipulation in writing filed with the

agency may agree upon any fact involved in the

controversy, which stipulation shall be used as

evidence at the hearing and be binding on the

parties thereto. Parties should agree upon facts

when practicable. Except as otherwise provided

by law, disposition may be made of a contested

case by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent

order, waiver, default, or other method agreed

upon by the parties.

(d) Official notice may be taken of all facts of

which judicial notice may be taken and of other

facts within the specialized knowledge of the

agency. The noticed fact and its source shall be

stated and made known to affected parties at the
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earliest practicable time, and any party shall on
timely request be afforded an opportunity to dis-

pute the noticed fact through submission of evi-

dence and argument. An agency may use its

experience, technical competence, and specialized

knowledge in the evaluation of evidence pre-

sented to it.

§ 150B-42. final agency decision; official

record. -- (a) After compliance with the pro-

visions of G.S. 150B-40(e), if applicable, and re-

view of the official record, as defined in

subsection (b) of this section, an agency shall

make a written final decision or order in a con-

tested case. The decision or order shall include

findings of fact and conclusions of law. Findings

of fact shall be based exclusively on the evidence

and on matters officially noticed. F
;indings of

fact, if set forth in statutory language, shall be

accompanied by a concise and explicit statement

of the underlying facts supporting them. A de-

cision or order shall not be made except upon
consideration of the record as a whole or such

portion thereof as may be cited by any party to

the proceeding and shall be supported by sub-

stantial evidence admissible under G.S. 150B-41.

A copy of the decision or order shall be served

upon each party personally or by certified mail

addressed to the part) at the latest address given

by the party to the agency and a copy shall be

furnished to his attorney of record.

(b) An agency shall prepare an official record

of a hearing that shall include:

(1) Notices, pleadings, motions, and interme-

diate rulings;

(2) Questions and offers of proof, objections,

and rulings thereon;

(3) Evidence presented;

(4) Matters officially noticed, except matters

so obvious that a statement of them
would serve no useful purpose;

(5) Proposed findings and exceptions; and

(6) Any decision, opinion, order, or report by
the officer presiding at the hearing and by

the agency.

(c) Proceedings at which oral evidence is pre-

sented shall be recorded, but need not be tran-

scribed unless requested by a party. Each party

shall bear the cost of the transcript or part thereof

or copy of said transcript or part thereof which

said party requests.

Article 4.

Judicial Review.

§ 150B-43. Right to judicial review. --Any
person who is aggrieved by the final decision in

a contested case, and who has exhausted all ad-

ministrative remedies made available to him by
statute or agency rule, is entitled to judicial re-

view of the decision under this Article, unless

adequate procedure for judicial review is pro-

vided by another statute, in which case the review

shall be under such other statute. Nothing in this

Chapter shall prevent any person from invoking

any judicial remedy available to him under the

law to test the validity of any administrative

action not made reviewable under this Article.

§ 150B-44. Right to judicial intervention

when decision unreasonably delayed. — Unrea-

sonable delay on the part of any agency or ad-

ministrative law judge in taking any required

action shall be justification for any person whose
rights, duties, or privileges are adversely affected

by such delay to seek a court order compelling

action by the agency or administrative law judge.

Except for an agency that is a board or commis-
sion, an agency's failure to make a final decision

within 60 days of the date on which all ex-

ceptions and arguments are filed under G.S.

1 50B-36(a) with the agency constitutes unrea-

sonable delay. A board or commission's failure

to make a final decision within the later of the

60 days allowed other agencies or 60 days after

the board's or commission's next regularly

scheduled meeting constitutes an unreasonable

delay.

§ 150B-45. Procedure for seeking review;

waiver. -- To obtain judicial review of a final

decision under this Article, the party seeking re-

view must file a petition in the Superior Court

of Wake County or in the superior court of the

county where the person resides.

The person seeking review must file the petition

within 30 days after the person is served with a

written copy of the decision. A person who fads

to file a petition within the required time waives

the right to judicial review under this Article.

For good cause shown, however, the superior

court may accept an untimely petition.

§ 150B-46. Contents of petition; copies

served on all parties; intervention. -- The peti-

tion shall explicitly state what exceptions are

taken to the decision or procedure and what relief

the petitioner seeks. Within 10 days after the

petition is filed with the court, the party seeking

the review shall serve copies of the petition by
personal service or by certified mail upon all who
were parties of record to the administrative pro-

ceedings. Names and addresses of such parties

shall be furnished to the petitioner by the agency

upon request. Any party to the administrative

proceeding may become a party to the review

proceedings by notifying the court within 10 days

after receipt of the copy of the petition.

Any person aggrieved may petition to become
a party by fifing a motion to intervene as pro-

vided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 24.
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§ 150B-47. Records filed with clerk of supe-

rior court; contents of records; costs. -- Within

30 days after receipt of the copy of the petition

for review, or within such additional time as the

court may allow, the agency that made the final

decision in the contested case shall transmit to

the reviewing court the original or a certified

copy of the official record in the contested case

under review together with: (i) any exceptions,

proposed findings of fact, or written arguments

submitted to the agency in accordance with G.S.

150B-36(a); and (u) the agency's final decision

or order. With the permission of the court, the

record may be shortened by stipulation of all

parties to the review proceedings. Any party

unreasonably refusing to stipulate to limit the

record may be taxed by the court for such addi-

tional costs as may be occasioned by the refusal.

The court may require or permit subsequent

corrections or additions to the record when
deemed desirable.

§ 15UB-4S. Stay of decision. -- At any time

before or during the review proceeding, the per-

son aggrieved may apply to the reviewing court

for an order staying the operation of the admin-

istrative decision pending the outcome of the re-

view. The court may grant or deny the stay in

its discretion upon such terms as it deems proper

and subject to the provisions of G.S. 1 A- 1 . Rule

65.

§ 150B-49. New evidence. — An aggrieved

person who files a petition in the superior court

may apply to the court to present additional evi-

dence. If the court is satisfied that the evidence

is material to the issues, is not merely cumulative,

and could not reasonably have been presented at

the administrative hearing, the court may remand
the case so that additional evidence can be taken.

If an administrative law judge did not make a

recommended decision in the case, the court shall

remand the case to the agency that conducted the

administrative hearing. .After hearing the evi-

dence, the agency may affirm or modify its pre-

vious findings of fact and final decision. If an

administrative law judge made a recommended
decision in the case, the court shall remand the

case to the administrative law judge. .After hear-

ing the evidence, the administrative law judge

may affirm or modify his previous findings of fact

and recommended decision. The administrative

law judge shall forward a copy of his decision to

the agency that made the final decision, which in

turn may affirm or modify its previous findings

of fact and final decision. The additional evi-

dence and any affirmation or modification of a

recommended decision or final decision shall be

made part of the official record.

§ 150B-50. Review by superior court without

jury. -- The review by a superior court of agency

decisions under this Chapter shall be conducted

by the court without a jury.

§ 150B-51. Scope of review, -(a) Initial

Determination in Certain Cases. In reviewing a

final decision in a contested case in which an ad-

ministrative law judge made a recommended de-

cision, the court shall make two initial

determinations. First, the court shall determine

whether the agency heard new evidence after re-

ceiving the recommended decision. If the court

determines that the agency heard new evidence,

the court shall reverse the decision or remand the

case to the agency to enter a decision in accord-

ance with the evidence in the official record.

Second, if the agency did not adopt the recom-
mended decision, the court shall determine

whether the agency's decision states the specific

reasons why the agency did not adopt the re-

commended decision. If the court determines

that the agency did not state specific reasons why
it did not adopt a recommended decision, the

court shall reverse the decision or remand the

case to the agency to enter the specific reasons.

(b) Standard of Review. .After making the de-

terminations, if any, required by subsection (a),

the court reviewing a final decision may affirm

the decision of the agency or remand the case for

further proceedings. It may also reverse or

modify the agency's decision if the substantial

rights of the petitioners may have been preju-

diced because the agency's findings, inferences,

conclusions, or decisions are:

(1) In violation of constitutional provisions;

(2) In excess of the statutory authority or ju-

risdiction of the agency;

(3) Made upon unlawful procedure;

(4) Affected by other error of law;

(5) Unsupported by substantial evidence ad-

missible under G.S. 150B-29(a), 150B-30,

or 150B-31 in view of the entire record as

submitted; or

(6) Arbitrary or capricious.

§ 150B-52. Appeal; stay of court's decision.

-- A party to a review proceeding in a superior

court may appeal to the appellate division from

the final judgment of the superior court as pro-

vided in G.S. 7A-27. Pending the outcome of

an appeal, an appealing party may apply to the

court that issued the judgment under appeal for

a stay of that judgment or a stay of the adminis-

trative decision that is the subject of the appeal,

as appropriate.

Article 5.

Publication of Administrative Rules.
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§ 150B-58. Short title. -- This Article may
be cited as "The Registration of State Adminis-

trative Rules Act".

§ 150B-59. Filing of rules and executive or-

ders. -- (a) Rules adopted by an agency and
executive orders of the Governor shall be filed

with the Director of the Office of Administrative

I learings no sooner than 90 days before their ef-

fective date. No rule, except temporary rules

adopted under the provisions of G.S. 150B-13

or rules approved under G.S. 143B-30.2(e) or

reviewed and objected to under (f), shall become
effective earlier than the first day of the second

calendar month after that filing.

(b) The acceptance for filing of a rule by the

Director, by his notation on its face, shall con-

stitute prima facie evidence of compliance with

this Article.

(c) Rules adopted by an agency subject to the

provisions of Article 2 of this Chapter in effect

on January 1, 19S6, that conflict with or violate

the provisions of G.S. 150B-9(c) are repealed.

Rules adopted by an agency subject to the pro-

visions of Article 2 of this Chapter in effect on
September 1, 1986, that do not conflict with or

violate the provisions of G.S. 150B-9(c) shall re-

main in effect until July 15, 1988. These rules

are repealed effective July 16, 1988, unless the

Administrative Rules Review Commission de-

termines that a rule complies with G.S.

143B-30.2(a). Provided, however, that:

(1) The rules of the Office of State Personnel

and the occupational licensing boards

shall remain in effect until February 28,

1989, but arc repealed effective March 1,

1989, unless approved by the Administra-

tive Rules Review Commission.

(2) The rules of the Department of Human
Resources shall remain in effect until June

30, 1989, but are repealed effective July 1,

1989, unless approved by the Administra-

tive Rules Review Commission.

(3) Although the Department of Cultural

Resources, the Office of the Governor,

and the Council of State did not file the

reports required under Chapter 746, Ses-

sion Laws of 1985, nevertheless the rules

of these three agencies shall remain in ef-

fect until February 28, 1989, but are re-

pealed effective March 1, 1989, unless

approved by the Administrative Rules

Review Commission.
Review of these rules shall be carried out in the

manner prescribed in G.S. 143B-30.2 except that

a rule determined to be in compliance shall re-

main in effect. In the event of rules which the

Commission determines do not comply with

G.S. 143B-30.2, such rules may be revised or re-

pealed by the agency without a rulemaking hear-

ing in accordance with G.S. 150B- 12(h). Revised

rules shall be returned to the Commission. If the

Commission approves the rules, the Commission
shall notify the agency and file the rules with the

Office of Administrative Hearings. Rules

adopted on or after January 1, 1986, shall be-

come effective as provided in this Chapter.

§ 150B-60. Form of rules; responsibilities of

agencies; assistance to agencies. -- (a) In order

to be acceptable for filing, the rule must:

(1) Cite the statute or other authority pursu-

ant to which the rule is adopted;

(2) Bear a certification by the agency of its

adoption;

(3) Cite any prior rule or rules of the agency

or its predecessor in authority which it

rescinds, amends, supersedes, or supple-

ments;

(4) Be in the physical form specified by the

Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings; and

(5) Bear a notation from the Administrative

Rules Review Commission that it has re-

viewed the rule in accordance with G.S.

143B-30.2.

(b) Each agency shall designate one or more
administrative procedure coordinators whose du-

ties shall be to oversee all departmental functions

required by this Chapter. The coordinator's du-

ties shall include providing notice of public

hearings; serving as liaison between the agency

and the Office of Administrative Hearings, the

Administrative Rules Review Commission and
the public; and coordinating access to agency

rules.

(c) The Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall:

(1) Maintain an agency rule-drafting section

in the Office of Administrative Hearings

to draft or aid in the drafting of rules or

amendments to rules for any agency; and

(2) Prepare and publish an agency rule-

drafting guide which sets out the form and
method for drafting rules and amend-
ments to rules, and to which all rules shall

comply.

§ 150B-61. Authority to revise form, --(a)

The Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall have the authority, following ac-

ceptance of a rule for filing, to revise the form of

the rule as follows:

(1) To rearrange the order of rules, Chapters,

Subchapters, Articles, sections, para-

graphs, and other divisions or subd-

ivisions;

(2) To provide or revise titles or catchlines;
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(3) To reletter or renumber the rules and var-

ious subdivisions in accordance with a

uniform system;

(4 1 To rearrange definitions and lists; and

(5) To make other changes in arrangement

or in form that do not alter the substance

of the rule and that are necessary or de-

sirable for an accurate, clear, and orderly

arrangement of the rules.

Revision of form by the Director shall not alter

the effective date of a rule, nor shall revision re-

quire the agency to readopt or to refile the rule.

No later than the close of the fifth working day

after the filing of a rule by an agency, the Direc-

tor shall return to the agency that filed the rule a

copy of the rule in any revised form made by the

Director, together with his certification of the

date of the rule's filing.

The rule so revised as to form shall be substi-

tuted for and shall bear the date of the rule ori-

ginally filed, and shall be the official rule of the

agency.

(b) In determining the drafting form of rules

the Director shall:

(1) Minimize duplication of statutory lan-

guage:

(2) Not permit incorporations into the rules

by reference to publications or other doc-

uments which are not conveniently avail-

able to the public; and

(3) To the extent practicable, use plain lan-

guage in rules and avoid technical lan-

guage.

(c) The agency shall be responsible for notify-

ing the Director within 30 days after a rule be-

comes effective of any typographical or technical

error in the rule as codified. The Director shall

correct the codified rule if it differs from the rule

as adopted by the agency. Errors in any rule

discovered more than 30 days after codification

shall be changed only by the procedures estab-

lished by .Article 2 of this Chapter.

§ 150B-62. Public inspection and notification

of current and replaced rules. -- (a) Imme-
diatelv upon notation of a filing as specified in

G.S. 150B-59(b), the Director of the Office of

Administrative Hearings shall make the rule

available for public inspection during regular of-

fice hours. Superseded, amended, revised, and

rescinded rules filed in accordance with the pro-

visions of this Article shall remain available for

public inspection. The current and the prior

rules so filed shall be separately arranged in

compliance with the provisions of G.S.

150B-61(a).

(b) The Director shall make copies of current

and prior rules, filed in accordance with the pro-

visions of this Article, available to the public at

a cost to be determined by him.

(c) Within 50 days of the acceptance by the

Director of a rule for filing, the agency filing the

rule:

(1) Shall publish the rule as prescribed in any
applicable statute; and

(2) May distribute the rule in a manner se-

lected by the agency as best calculated to

give notice to persons likely to be affected

by the rule.

The rule so published or distributed shall con-
tain the legend: "The form of this rule may be
revised by the Director pursuant to the pro-

visions of G.S. 150B-61."

§ 150B-63. Publication of executive orders

and rules; the North Carolina Register. -- (a)

The Director of the Office of Administrative

Hearings shall compile, index and publish exec-

utive orders of the Governor and all rules filed

and effective pursuant to the provisions of this

Article.

(b) As nearly as practicable the compilation

shall, in classification, arrangement, numbering,
and indexing, conform to the organization of the

General Statutes.

(c) If the Director determines that publication

of any rule would be impracticable, he shall sub-

stitute a summary with specific reference to the

official rule on file in his office.

(d) As soon as practicable after July 1, 19S5,

the Director shall publish, in print or other form,

a compilation of all rules in force pursuant to the

provisions of this Article. Cumulative supple-

ments shall be published annually or more fre-

quently in the discretion of the Director.

Recompilations shall be made in the Director's

discretion.

(dl ) The Director shall also publish at periodic

intervals, but not less often than once each

month, the North Carolina Register which shall

contain information relating to agency, executive,

legislative or judicial actions that are performed
under the authority of, or are required by. or are

issued to interpret, or that otherwise affect, this

Chapter. The North Carolina Register shall also

contain notices under G.S. 120- 165(a).

(d2) In publishing proposed amendments to

rules, the Director shall show the portion of the

rule being amended as it is to the degree neces-

sary to provide adequate notice of the nature of

the proposed amendment, with changes shown
by striking through portions to be deleted and

underlining portions to be added.

(e) Notwithstanding Article 1A of Chapter 125

of the General Statutes, reference copies of the

compilation, supplements, and recompilations of

the rules, and the North Carolina Register shall
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be distributed by the Director as soon after pub-

lication as practicable, without charge, only to

the following officials and departments:

(1) One copy to each county of the State,

which copy may be maintained for public

inspection in the county in a place deter-

mined by the county commissioners; one
copy to the Administrative Rules Review

Commission; one copy each to the clerk

of the Supreme Court of North Carolina

and the clerk of the North Carolina Court

of Appeals; one copy each to the libraries

of the Supreme Court of North Carolina

and the North Carolina Court of Appeals;

one copy to the Administrative Office of

the Courts; one copy to the office of the

Governor; and five copies to the Legisla-

tive Services Commission for the use of

the General Assembly;

(2) Upon request, one copy to each State of-

ficial and department to which copies of

the appellate division reports are furnished

under G.S. 7A-343.1;

(3) Five copies to the Division of State Li-

brary of the Department of Cultural Re-

sources, pursuant to G.S. 125-11.7; and

(4) Upon request, one copy of the North

Carolina Register to each member of the

General Assembly.

(f) The Director shall make available to persons

not listed in subsection (e) copies of the compi-
lation, supplements, and recompilations of the

rules and the North Carolina Register, and shall

make available to all persons copies of other

public documents filed in the Office of Adminis-
trative Hearings. The Director shall set a fee to

be charged for publications and documents made
available under this subsection at an amount that

covers publication, copying, and mailing costs.

All monies received by the Office of Administra-
tive Hearings pursuant to this subsection shall

be deposited in the State treasury in a special

funds account to be held in trust for the Office

of Administrative I learings to defray the expense
of future recompilation, publication, and distrib-

ution of such documents. All monies involved

shall be subject to audit by the State Auditor.

(g) Notwithstanding any other provision of

law, the Employment Security Commission
shall, within 15 days of adoption, file all rules

adopted by it with the Director for public in-

spection and publication purposes only. The
Director shall compile, make available for in-

spection, and publish the rules filed under this

subsection in the same manner as is provided for

other rules.

§ 150B-64. Judicial and official notice. —
Judicial or official notice shall be taken of any
rule effective under this Article.
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ADMINISTRA TIVE ORDER

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN THE OFFICE OF

COUNTY OF WAKE ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

ORDER

Under the provisions of G.S. 7A-752, as amended by Section 15, Chapter 1111 of the 1987 Ses-

sion Laws (Regular Session 1988), Administrative Law Judge Beecher Reynolds Gray is designated

Senior Administrative Law Judge.

This the 13th day of July, 1988.

s Robert A. Melott

Chief Administrative Law Judge
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTERS

[G.S. 120-30.9H, effective July 16, 1986, requires that all letters and other documents issued by the

A ttorney General of the United States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change af-

fecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1 965 be published in the North Carolina

Register. J

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

WBR:MAP:PAR:dvs
DJ 166-012-3 Voting Section

VV1505 P.O. Box 66128

W3283 Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

July 14, 1988

Jesse L. Warren, Esq.

City Attorney

P.O. Drawer W-2
Greensboro, North Carolina 27402

Dear Mr. Warren:

This refers to the annexation (Ordinance No. 88-64) and the designation of the annexed area to

District 4 for the City of Greensboro in Guilford County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney

General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We
received your submission on May 16, 1988.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections to the changes in question. However,
we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the

failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the

enforcement of such changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R.

51.41).

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones

Chief, Voting Section
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 10 DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

Nooticc is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the North Carolina Council for the

Hearing Impaired, Division of Vocational Reha-
bilitation Sctrices intends to adopt regulations

cited as 10 NCAC 20F .0401 - .0418.

Thhe proposed effective date

cembcr 1, 19SS.

of this action is De-

Thhe public hearing will be conducted at 4:00

p.m. on September 8, 1988 at Lord Auditorium,

Pack Memorial Library, 67 Haywood Street,

Ashville, N.C.

Ccomment Procedures: Any interested person

may present his/her comments at the hearing for
a maximum of ten minutes or by submitting a

written statement. Any person wishing to make a

presentation at the hearing should contact: Jackie

Stalnaker, Dhision of Vocational Rehabilitation

Scnices. P.O. Box 26053, Raleigh, NC 27611,

(919) 733-3364 by September 7, 19S8. The
hearing record will remain open for written com-
ments from August 9, 1988 through September 7,

1988. Written comments must be sent to the ad-

dress above and must state the proposed title or

rides to which comments are addressed. Fiscal

information is also available upon requestfrom the

same address.

CHAPTER 20 - VOCATIONAL
REHABILITATION

SUBCHAPTER 20F - COUNCIL FOR THE
HEARING IMPAIRED

SECTION .0400 - COMMUNICATIONS
SERVICES PROGRAM

.0401 PURPOSE OF RULES
The purpose of the rules in this Section is to

specify the eligibility requirements, application

procedures, distribution process and responsibil-

ities of recipients and various agencies under the

North Carolina Communications Services Pro-

gram for the Deaf, Hearing and Speech Impaired

required by G.S. 143B-216.5A and G.S.

143B-216.5B.

Statutory Authority

143B-216.5B.

.0402 DEFINITIONS

G.S. 143B-216.5A;

(b)

(c)

(d)

(4)

The definitions of the terms defined in G.S.

143B-216.5A(b) apply to all the rules in this

Section. In addition, the following terms have
the meaning specified in this Rule, except where
the context clearly indicates a different meaning:

(1) "Council" means the North Carolina

Council for the Hearing Impaired or its staff.

(2) "Deaf-blind person" means a deaf person,

as defined in G.S. 143B-216.5A, who is also

certified as legally blind.

(3) "Equipment set" means any one or more
of the following:

(a) ring signaling device as defined in G.S.
143B-216.5A;

telebraille device as defined in this Rule;

telecommunications device for the deaf,

hearing or speech impaired, or TDD as

defined in G.S. 143B-216.5A; or

volume control handset as defined in G.S.

143B-216.5A.

"Program" means the North Carolina

Communications Services Program for the

Deaf, Hearing and Speech Impaired, by
which the council provides equipment sets

capable of serving the needs of deaf,

hearing-impaired and speech-impaired sub-

scribers as required under G.S. 143B-216.5B.

"Recipient" means the user of the equip-

ment set or the parent, person standing in

loco parentis or legal guardi-an of a minor
user who is at least nine years of age but

under 18 years of age.

(6) "Regional center" means a regional com-
munity service center for the hearing im-

paired that is operated by the Department
of Human Resources or an independent
community service center for the deaf and
hearing impaired.

"Subscriber unit" means a single dwelling

which receives basic telephone service and
is subject to a monthly service charge for

each access line.

(8) "Telebraille device" means a TDD which
has a modem connected to a braille machine
which prints out embossed braille characters

on a paper roll for a deaf-blind person to

read.

(9) "User" means a deaf, hearing-impaired or

speech-impaired person or deaf-blind person

within a subscriber unit for whose use the

equipment set is provided. There may be

multiple users in a subscriber unit.

(5)

(7)

Statutory Authority

143B-2I6.5B.

G.S. 143B-216.5A:

.0403 COUNCIL RESPONSIBILITIES
The council shall:

371 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



PROPOSED RULES

(1) provide equipment sets to recipients as

prescribed by the rules in this Section, and

(2) provide training in the use of equipment

sets for recipients who desire training.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-2I6.5B.

.0404 INFORMATION CONCERNING THE
PROGRAM

Organizations serving the deaf, hearing impaired

and speech impaired and publishers of newslet-

ters for these groups who wish to receive written

information regarding the program shall contact

the council and request that their names be

placed on a mailing list to receive such informa-

tion.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0405 APPLICATION INFORMATION AND
PROCEDURES

(a) Interested persons may request an applica-

tion packet by calling or writing the council at

P.O. Box 26053, Raleigh, N.C. 27611, (919)

733-3364, or by requesting one from any of the

regional centers or any local division office. The
application packet shall include:

(1) a brochure which contains:

(A) a description of the obligations of the

council to the recipient;

(B) a description of the rights and respon-

sibilities of the recipient under the pro-

gram;

(C) a description of the application process;

(D) a description of the council and its role

as liaison to the deaf, hearing-impaired

and speech-impaired community; and

(E) office telephone numbers of the regional

centers;

(2) instructions for submitting reports and

statements certifying that the applicant is

deaf, hearing-impaired, speech-impaired,

or deaf-blind;

(3) a form for the recipient to sign indicating

that the recipient understands and agrees

with the rights and responsibilities of the

recipient and desires services of the pro-

gram;

(4) a standard application form calling for the

following information:

(A) the full name, age, and address of the

recipient and all users of the equipment

set;

(B) telephone number, the name and ad-

dress of the person to whom the tele-

phone service is billed, and the name and
address of the telephone company;

(C) personal and financial information re-

garding all family members necessary to

determine financial eligibility according to

the provisions of Rule .0410 of this Sec-

tion; and

(D) copies of driver's license or other proof

of identification and residence of the re-

cipient; and

(5) a form for recipients acting for minor users

to sign indicating their agreement that

equipment sets received under this pro-

gram may be transferred to the user upon
the user's 18th birthday, upon the request

of the minor user according to the pro-

visions of Rule .0416 of this Section.

(b) Providing false or misleading information

on the application shall subject any applicant se-

lected as a recipient to forfeiture of any equip-

ment set provided.

(c) The regional centers shall provide assistance

in completing application forms upon request.

(d) Applicants shall complete and sign all

forms, attach all necessary documentation, and

mail the completed application packet, including

a self-addressed stamped postcard, to the address

specified on the application.

(e) Upon receipt of completed application

packets, the council shall acknowledge receipt by

returning the applicant's self-addressed postcard.

The council shall verify an applicant's eligibility

within 45 days following receipt of the completed

application, if possible. If the council cannot

verify eligibility within 45 days, it shall inform the

applicant in writing as soon as possible within

the 45-day period indicating the problem and

solicit clarification and additional information in

order to determine the applicant's eligibility.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0406 PRIORITY AND LIMITATIONS FOR
DISTRIBUTION

(a) Equipment sets shall be distributed only to

applicants who meet the eligibility criteria speci-

fied in Rules .0407 through .041 1 of this Section

and shall be distributed in the following priority

order:

(1) those who do not have the appropriate

equipment set, who are 18 years old or

older, and who have the most severe

hearing impairment;

(2) those who do not have the appropriate

equipment set, who are under 18 years of

age, and who have the most severe hearing

impairment with those who are older

within this priority category receiving

higher priority according to age;
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(3) those who have obsolete electro-

mechanical equipment sets which are not

feasible to continue to operate, who are

18 years old or older, and who have the

most severe hearing impairment;

(b) Equipment sets shall be distributed ac-

cording to the earliest postmark date of each

completed application within each priority cate-

gory set forth in (a) of this Rule. Equipment sets

shall be distributed to eligible recipients within

the limits of available funding.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0407 CERTIFICATION OK IMPAIRMENT
(a) A prospective user shall be certified as deaf,

hearing impaired, speech impaired or deaf-blind

to be eligible to receive an equipment set.

(b) To be certified a recipient shall submit a

written report or statement from a licensed phy-

sician, licensed audiologist, or licensed speech

pathologist certifying that the person is deaf,

hearing-impaired, speech-impaired, or deaf-blind

and stating the nature and degree of the impair-

ment. In addition, deaf-blind recipients shall

submit a statement from a licensed physician

stating the nature and degree of visual impair-

ment.

(c) Applicants may submit copies of certif-

ication statements or reports that are on tile with

a state or federal agency if sucn statements or re-

ports meet the requirements in (b) of this Rule.

(d) The certification reports or statements shall

be included with the application when it is sub-

mitted.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-2I6.5B.

.0408 AGE REQUIREMENTS
A minor under nine years of age shall not be

eligible as a user under the program.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0409 RESIDENCY REQLIREMENTS
(a) An applicant shall be a permanent legal

resident of the State of North Carolina to be eli-

gible to receive an equipment set except as pro-

vided in (e) of this Rule.

(b) To be permanent legal residents of North
Carolina, applicants shall not only live in the

state, but also have the intention of making their

permanent home in this state to which, whenever

absent, they intend to return.

(c) L'nemancipated minors have the residency

of their parents, person standing in loco parentis,

or if the parents are separated or divorced, the

residency of the parent with legal custody. Eor

purposes of this Rule, "person standing in loco

parentis" refers to one who has put

himself; herself in the place of a lawful parent by
assuming the rights and obligations of a parent

without formal adoption.

(d) Residence continues until a new one is ac-

quired. When a new residence is acquired, all

former residences terminate.

(e) The residency requirement shall not apply
to a student who is 18 years of age or older who
attends an accredited North Carolina educational

institution or to a child or spouse of a temporary-

resident of North Carolina who is a member of
the United States military if the following re-

quirements are met:

(1) at the time of application, the applicant

expects to remain in North Carolina for

not less than 270 days;

(2) the applicant submits proof of military or

student status by attaching a copy of mil-

itary ED. or student I.D. to the applica-

tion form; and

(3) the council is able to verify the proof of

status submitted.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0410 FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY
(a) An applicant shall meet the council's fi-

nancial needs test to be eligible to receive an

equipment set.

(b) Applicants for an equipment set who are

included in public assistance grants such as

AFDC, SSDI, SSI or the Food Stamp Program
shall automatically meet the financial needs test

upon submission of documentation of their el-

igibility for the public assistance program.

(c) Financial eligibility for applicants not in-

cluded under (b) of this Rule shall be determined

by applying the following economic scale:

Family Size Gross Monthly Income
1 $ 926

2 $1,209

3 $1,493

4 $1,778

5 $2,063

6 $2,228

7 $2,400

8 $2,454

(d) An applicant's family shall include the user

and the following persons living in the same
household as the user if the user is 18 years of age

or older or if the user is less than 18 years of age

and is married:

( 1) the user's spouse;

(2) the user's children under 18 years of age;

(3) other individuals related to the user by

blood, marriage, or adoption if the other
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individuals have no income and do not

have parent(s) or spouse(s) who have in-

come living in the same household; and

(4) the user's children of any age who are

temporarily living away from the house-

hold while attending school if they are

being claimed as dependents by the user

for tax purposes,

(c) An applicant's family shall include the user

and the following persons living in the same
household as the user if the user is less than 18

years of age and is not married:

(1) the user's parents, not including step-

parents;

(2) siblings or half-siblings of the user, but

not step- siblings, if the siblings are un-

married and less than 18 years of age;

(3) siblings or half-siblings of the user, but

not step-siblings, if the siblings arc 18

years of age or older and have no income;

and

(4) other individuals related to the user by
blood, marriage, or adoption if the other

individuals have no income and do not

have parent(s) or spouse(s) who have in-

come living in the same household.

(f) In (e)(2) and (3) of this Rule, siblings who
are temporarily living away from the household

while attending school may be considered as liv-

ing in the same household if they are being

claimed as dependents by their parents for tax

purposes and the parents are in the same house-

hold as the user.

(g) Gross monthly income of the family mem-
bers shall be considered in the financial needs

test. Examples of income may include such

items as the following:

(1) salaries and wages;

(2) earnings from self-employment;

(3) earnings from stocks, bonds, savings ac-

counts, rentals, and all other investments;

(4) public assistance money;

(5) unemployment compensation;

(6) alimony and child support payments re-

ceived;

(7) Social Security benefits;

(8) Veteran's Administration benefits;

(9) retirement and pension payments;

(10) worker's compensation; and

(11) supplemental security income benefits,

(h) The following shall be excluded in the

computation of gross monthly income:

(1) combined, available cash in the bank not

to exceed six times the gross monthly in-

come for the family size;

(2) tax value of property held; and

(3) income that children may earn from
babysitting, lawn mowing, or other mis-

cellaneous tasks.

(i) The time period to be used as the basis for

computing gross monthly income shall be the

month preceding the date of application. For
income that is not received on a monthly basis,

the monthly pro rata share of the most recent

receipt of the income shall be included in the

computation.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43B-216.5B.

.041 1 ELIGIBILITY FOR REAPPLICATION
Recipients who have received equipment sets

are not eligible to reapply for new equipment sets

until five years after the date of receipt of the in-

itial equipment set. However, recipients may
renew lease agreements on the original equip-

ment set according to Rule .0413(b) of this Sec-

tion.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43B-216.5B.

.0412 PROVISION OF EQUIPMENT SETS
(a) Only one equipment set shall be provided

per subscriber unit that is the permanent, legal

residence of one or more deaf, hearing-impaired,

speech-impaired, or deaf-blind eligible users. In

the event that two or more recipients share a

common, permanent, legal residence constituting

a subscriber unit, equipment in excess of one
equipment set shall be returned to the local re-

gional center.

(b) The equipment set shall be granted in the

name of the recipient. There shall be only one
recipient per subscriber unit. Recipient status

shall be granted to an adult user within the sub-

scriber unit. In the absence of an adult user

within the subscriber unit, recipient status shall

be granted to the parent, person standing in loco

parentis, or legal guardian residing with a minor
user in the subscriber unit.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43B-216.5B.

.0413 OWNERSHIP: LEASE: LIABILITIES
(a) All equipment sets distributed according to

the rules in this Section shall remain the property

of the State of North Carolina. Each recipient

shall sign a form indicating he/she understands

and accepts the requirements of the lease agree-

ment regarding ownership, liability, and respon-

sibilities.

(b) Contingent upon the recipient's compliance

with the rules in this Section, all equipment sets

shall be leased free of charge to the recipient for

a period of five years. At the end of the five-year
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period, the recipient may renew the lease agree-

ment for another five-year lease of the equipment
set. At such time, the equipment set shall be

returned to the nearest regional center for a visual

check and records update.

(c) Equipment sets shall not be sold, loaned,

or otherwise transferred from the possession of

the original recipient. Transfers shall subject the

recipient to liability for the full replacement cost

of the equipment set.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143D-216.5B.

.0414 TELEPHONE BILLS: MAINTENANCE:
REPORTING LOSS/DAM AGE/THEFT

(a) The recipient shall be responsible for the

payment for all telephone services incurred with

the use of the equipment set.

(b) While the equipment set is under warranty,

the recipient shall report any needed repairs to

the council according to the directions given by
the council at the time the equipment set is leased

to the recipient.

(c) All ordinary expense of maintenance and
repair of the equipment set not covered by war-

rant}' or after the warranty expires shall be the

responsibility of the recipient. If an equipment

set is damaged, lost, or destroyed due to

negligence of the recipient and not due to ordi-

nary wear and tear, the recipient shall be held

responsible for the cost of replacing the lost or

destroyed equipment set or restoring the dam-
aged equipment set to its original condition.

(d) The recipient shall immediately inform the

regional center if the equipment is lost, stolen,

or damaged. If equipment is stolen, local police

shall be informed and a copy of the police report

shall be forwarded by the recipient to the regional

center within five days of the date the theft was
reported.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-216.5B.

.0415 RELOCATION OR DEATH OF
RECIPIENTS

(a) If a recipient permanently relocates outside

of North Carolina, the recipient shall give the

council written notice and return the equipment

set to the nearest regional center prior to the

move. If a recipient dies, written notice shall be

given by the deceased's estate and the equipment

set returned to the nearest regional center within

30 days after the recipient's death.

(b) If there are other users residing within a

subscriber unit where the recipient dies or relo-

cates outside of North Carolina, one of the users

shall apply for recipient status according to the

procedures specified in Rule .0405 of this Sec-

tion.

(c) If a recipient plans to relocate within North
Carolina, the recipient shall give the council

written notice of the new address and the date of

the planned move prior to moving.

(d) The equipment set shall be returned to the

regional center if all users permanently depart

from the subscriber unit.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43B-216.5B.

.0416 TRANSFER TO MINOR USERS
In cases where the recipient is not a user but the

parent, person standing in loco parentis, or legal

guardian of a minor user, the recipient shall give

the council written notice when the minor user

becomes IS years of age. The equipment set may
be transferred to the minor user upon receipt of

a written request for transfer from the minor and
receipt of all appropriate, signed responsibility

forms. The council may make the transfer by
adjusting the records to reflect the proper recipi-

ent of the unit.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43B-216.5B.

.0417 REPORTS FROM LOCAL AGENCIES
(a) Each county manager shall inform the

council of the name, address and telephone

number of the hospital, or hospitals if more than

one, in the county which has a TDD installed

and in operation as required under G.S.

143B-216.5B(f).

(b) Each county sheriff's department, city po-

lice department, and firefighting agency shall in-

form the council of the telephone number with

which a TDD is available as required under G.S.

143B-216.5B(f).

(c) Each 911 emergency number system and
each agency receiving automatically routed calls

through a 911 emergency number system shall

inform the council of the availability and opera-

tion of a TDD unit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-2I6.5B.

.0418 WAIVER OF RULES
(a) The state coordinator of the council in

concert with the division director may waive any

rule in this Section provided the issuance of the

waiver is for good cause and does not waive any
statutory requirement.

(b) Requests for waivers shall be sent to the

State Coordinator, Council for the Hearing Im-

paired, P.O. Box 26053, Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

(c) The request shall be in writing and shall

contain:
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(1) the name, address, and telephone number
of the requester;

(2) the rule number(s) and title of the rule(s)

or requirements for whieh waiver is being

sought; and

(3) a statement of the facts necessitating the

request with supporting documents as

appropriate.

(c) Prior to issuing a decision on the waiver

request, the state coordinator and the division

director may request additional information or

consult with additional parties as appropriate.

(d) A decision regarding the waiver request

shall be issued in writing by the state coordinator

and shall state the reasons why the request was
granted or denied and any special conditions re-

lating to the request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143B-2I6.5B.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

iS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

1SOD- 12 that the the S'orth Carolina Board of
Nursing intends to amend regulations cited as 21

NCAC36 .02/0 and .0223.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

January 1. 19S9. '

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p.m. on September 28, I9SS at Shell Island Resort

Hotel, Wrightsville Beach. North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Any person wishing to

present oral testimony relevant to proposed ride

may register at the door before hearing begins and
present hearing officer with a written copy of tes-

timony. Written statements may be directed, five

days prior to the hearing date, to the North

Carolina Board of Nursing, P. O. Box 2129,

Raleigh, NC 27602.

CHAPTER 36 - BOARD OF NLRSING

SECTION .0200 - LICENSURE

.0219 TEMPORARY LICENSE
(a) The Board of Nursing '.hull may issue a

Status A nonrenewable temporary license te-

persons who have under the following circum-

stances:

(1) A person is eligible for a Status A
nonrenewable temporary license if that

person has:

(44 (A) graduated from approved nursing

programs, filed a completed examination

application form with correct fee, aft4

moot meets all qualifications for licensure

by examination in North Carolina, and is

scheduled for the licensure examination
at the first opportunity after graduation:

or

(4) fi4e4 a comple t ed application fof licensure

without examination v4th correct fee a«4
provided validation ef current lieon so i»

another jurisdiction; «f

f4) (BJ_ filed an application for licensure

without examination with correct fee and
provided verification of awaiting the re-

sults e» of the first writing of the exam-
ination developed by the National

Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.

in another jurisdiction.

(2) The Status A nonrenewable temporary' H^

cense expires on the lesser of six months
or the date a full license is issued or notice

of failure of the examination is received.

01

[41

Status A temporary license authorizes the

holder to:

(A) practice only in nursing situations

where direct supervision by a registered

nurse is available and at_ a standard of care

of a fullv licensed nurse: and

(B) perform direct patient care only, i.e.,

may not accept authority for nor assume
responsibility to assign, supervise, or di-

rect other nursing personnel: and

(C) participate in such orientation and

continuing education activities as the em-
ployer offers to prepare the holder of a

Status A temporary license for the em-
ployment position.

1 Iolders of valid Status A temporary h^

cense shall identify themselves as R.N.
Applicant (R.N. A.) or I..P.N. Applicant

(L.P.N. A.), as the case may be, after sig-

natures on records.

(5) I'pon expiration, revocation, or return of

the Status A temporary license, the indi-

vidual is ineligible to practice nursing as

described in Paragraph (a)(3) of this Rule.

fb} A temporary licence wtll be issued to »*4y-

those graduates wb& make application a»4 afe

scheduled fof the licensure examination at- the

fert- opportunity after graduation. Requests fof

exceptions must be submitted te- the board ift

writing.

ib) The board may issue a Status P
nonrenewable temporary license to persons who
have filed a completed application for licensure

without examination with correct fee and pro-
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ided validation of an active license in another

jurisdiction.

( 1

)

I lie Status P nonrenewable temporary lh

cense expires on the lesser of six months
or the date a full license is issued or when
it is determined the applicant is not qual-

ified to practice nursing in North

Carolina.

(2) Status P temporary- license authorizes the

holder to practice nursing m the same
manner as a fullv licensed R.N, or I.I'.N.,

\\ hichcvcr the case may be.

(3) I folders of valid Status P temporary lh

cense shall identify themselves as Regis-

tered Nurse Petitioner (R.N. P.) or L.P.N.

petitioner ( 1 .P.N. P.), as the case may be,

alter signatures on records.

(4) Upon expiration, revocation, or return of

the Status P temporary license, the indi-

\idual is ineligible to practice nursing as

described in Paragraph (b)(2) of this Rule.

(e) 44*e nonrenewable temporary license em-

pires e» the lessef ef 4* months ef the date a h-

eease » issued ef notice ef failure ef the

examination is received ef h is determined the

applicant is net qualified te practice nursing m
North Carolina.

fd} I pon expiration, revocation Bf return ef-

t-he temporary licence, the individual is ineligible

te practice nun iing as described h* Paragraph fef

e£ t&s Rul e .

fe+ 4-he temporary license authorises the holder

te*

(4} practice only m nursing situations where

direct supervision by a registered nurse is

available a«4 at the standard ef safe ef a

fully licensed nurse; B&4

(3^ perfonn direct patient eafe only, he^ fftay

net accept authority f-©f wof assume re-

sponsibility te- assign, supervise ef direct

other nursing personnel; a«d

frfy participate m- such orientation a»d con

tinuing education activities a* the em-
ployment position.

ff4 Holders ef valid temporary license shall

identify themselve s as R . N . Applicant (App.) ef

1 .P.N. Applicant (App.) as the ease may- he 7

after signatures e» records.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-171.33.

.0223 CONTINUING EDUCATION
PROGRAMS

(c) Approval process.

(6) 44*e board wdf publish a fot ef approved

programs at least quarterly. Approval of

continuing education programs will be

included in published reports of board

action. A list of approved programs will

be maintained in the board's tile.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-/71.42.

•klckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

Nootice is hereby gh<en in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the Board of Podiatry Examiners
intends to adopt regulations cited as 21 NCAC 52
.0209, .0303, .0610; amend .0102 - .0103, .0201 -

.0202, .0204 - .0208, .0301 - .0302, .0402 - .0404,

.0408, .0601 - .0606. .0701 - .0703, .1002, .1005,

.1203 - .1204, .1301 - .1302; repeal .0203, .0401,

.0405 - .0407, .0501 - .0504, .0607 - .0609, .0801
- .0803, .0901 - .0908. .1/01 - .1107, .1201.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is De-
cember I, 1988.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 1:00

p.m. on September 16, 1988 at The office of:

Dr. C.Jeff Mauney
707 North Morgan Street

Shelby. North Carolina 28150.

Coomment Procedures: Any person may present

oral or written testimony or data relevant to the

action proposed at the public rulemaking hearing

to be held on Friday. September 16, 1988 at 1:00

p.m. at the office of Dr. Jeff Mauney, 707 North

Morgan Street, Shelby. North Carolina 28150 by

appearing at the hearing or mailing the material

or data to Dr. C. JeffMauney, 707 North Morgan
Street, Shelby, North Carolina 28150 in advance

of the hearing.

CHAPTER 52 - BOARD OF PODIATRY
EXAMINERS

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION OF THE
BOARD

.0102 MEMBERSHIP
4-he board shall he composed ef three

podiatrists licensed te practice podiatry is the

State ef North Carolina, whe shall have been

practicing m the stat e fef at least five years. They
Vr+h he elected by- the North Carolina Podiatry

Society aed 4+ah1 serve a three yea* tomi. ©«e
member shall he elected at each annual meeting

ef the Nonh Carolina Podiatry Society. A
member may serve only tw© consecutive tonus.

The board shall consist of four members ap-

pointed by the Governor as provided m the

General Statutes.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.4.

.0103 ANNUAL MEETING: ELECTION
AND OFFICERS

(a) The annual business meeting of the board

shall be held immediately following the annual
mooting ef the North Carolina Podiatry Society

for the purpose of reviewing the previous year's

activities, planning the coming year's business

and electing officers.

(b) The board will elect the following officers

whose duties witt be are specified as follows:

(1) President:

(A) shall serve as presiding officer at all

meetings or hearings held by the board;

(B) shall assign subjects to board members
for examination;

(C) shall supervise all examinations given

by the board.

(2) Vice-President:

(A) shall assume all duties of the president

in event of his absence;

(B) shall assume the office of president

should that office be vacated. become
vacant.

(3) Secretary: Treasurer

(A) shall keep a» accurate record of all

meetings, hearings, and transactions of the

board;

(B) Shall keep a» accurate' record ef all fi-

nnn.--fil »-»-> .lit. irt~ j-t T t 1 i , I h.i nil i n i I an til i ' ill i

rTTTTTCTTTT IIIUIIVI J K7 T 1 1 IV I ' (. .' II 1 U , CTTTCT Ulllll.lllll T

shall have the financial records verified by
the office of- the State Auditor; all corre-

spondence relating to matters before the

board shall be sent from the office of and
over the signature of the secretary;

(C) Shall annually submit a written report

ef the board's activities (including finan

eial report) te- the board, the Governor ©f

the State of North Carolina, Secretapy ©f

State, a»d the North Carolina Podiatry

Society; all forms and records of the

board, except those pertaining to finance,

shall be held in and issued from the office

of the secretary;

(D) Ah correspondence relating te- matters

before the board shall be sent- from the

offico ef- afl4 eve* the signature ef the

secretary treasurer; the office of the hoard

shall be in Raleigh and the mailing address

of the board is Post Office Box 1088,

Raleigh. North Carolina 27602.
I I '

\ ,\ 1 1 f irnii- 'iti^ r. I,'. \r, li- .- 1 t t l-i ;t Ua q j-,T .- li -> 1 I
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oecretary treasurer;

fp) The offico ef the board shall be m the

offioo ef- the socrotarv treasurer, ffe- >rr Ft

Costin, Jfr? 1230 Medical Center Drive,

Wilmington, North Carolina, 38 - 10 1

.

(4) Treasurer:

(A) shall keep an accurate record of aU fi-

nancial matters of the board, and annually

shall have the financial records verified by
the Office of the State Auditor;

(B) shall annually submit a wntten report

of the board's financial activities to the

board, the Governor of the State of North
Carolina, Secretary of State, and the

North Carolina Podiatry Society.

(c) The election of officers and membership to

the board shall be in accordance with the General
Statutes of North Carolina, Chapter 90-202.4.

History

90-202.4.

Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

SECTION .0200 - EXAMINATION AND
LICENSING

.0201 APPLICATION
Anyone who meets the statutory requirements

ef these statutes and wishes to apply for exam-
ination may do so by submitting written appli-

cation to the office of the secretary treasurer of

the board at 4-24© Medical Center Drive,

Wilmington, - North Carolina, 28101. Post Office

Box 1088, Raleigh, North Carolina 27602. Such
application shall be made on BPF Form No. 1

(Application for Examination) or BPE Form
No. 2 (Application for Reciprocity). This form
w4h require the applicant to- provide the board
with detailed information » regards te- the appli

cant's educational background, his training »
podiatry, his family background, a«4 detailed m-
formation t» regards te- his personal a«4 moral
background. Applicants must also- shall furnish

the board with certification of graduation from a

four year high school, completion of at least two
years of undergraduate college education, and
graduation from an accredited college of podiatric

medicine as provided in the statutes. The appli-

cation will state the amount of the fee^ which is

iion-rchmdaHe. The application must be ac-

companied by the application fee, te- be as deter-

mined by the board, but not to exceed eme
hundred dollars ($100.00). two hundred dollars

($200.00). Applications must also be notarized

by a Notary Public in good standing. Applica-

tions shall also include Release of Information

Forms.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.5; 90-202.6;

90-202.7.

.0202 EXAMINATION
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president an4 vice president members of the

board and be attested to by tfte seal aft4 signature

e£ the Decretory treasurer ©f the board, affixing

The board shall conduct an examination of all

qualified applicants at least once each year during

tfie month ef Juno m tfie City ef Raleigh, North
Carolina, at such time and at such place as the the official seal of the Board of Podiatry Fxam
board may choose. This examination may be

written, oral, or practical, clinical or any combi-
nation of written, oral, and practical, clinical as

provided bv statute. Each board member wiH

incrs.

as Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6; 90-202.7.

prepare aft4 administer examinations i» tbe sub

jects assigned t© h+m- by the president. Theoo
subjects may include anatomy, physiology,

bacteriology, chemistry, dermatology, podiatry,

surgery, materia modica, pharmacology', a«4
pathology.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6.

.0203 TEMPORARY LICENSE (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6.

.0204 RE-EXAMINATION
Unsuccessful candidates for licensure may apply

to the board for re-examination within a period

of one year and be entitled to re-examination

upon the payment of the examination fee, which
fee will be specified in the application form and
shall not t© exceed w» hundred dollars

(til ) C).(10). two hundred dollars ($200.00).

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6.

.0205 PRACTICE ORIENTATION
The board may require each applicant to spend

a up_ to one week as a practice orientation period

to better equip them to practice podiatry in

North Carolina in the office of and under the di-

rection of a podiatrist practicing in North
Carolina. Such orientation shall take place only

in those offices approved by the board, and as-

signment of orientation office shall be made by
the secretary treasurer, considered as a portion

of the clinical examination in podiatry. The If

cense shall not be issued until the orientation re-

quirement has been fulfilled. Such orientation

period shall be considered a* a portion ©£ the

practical examination m podiatry.

Statutory Authority

90-202.6(a) (b).

G.S. 90-202.4(g);

.0206 LICENSING
l_ pon the successful completion of all the re-

quirements of the board, each successful candi-

date shall be issued a certificate, license £ BPE
Form No. 2r 3j which shall be numbered and
contain the applicant's name and date of issu-

ance. This certificate shall be signed by the

.0207 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF LICENSE
The secretary treasurer of the board shall mail

to the last known address of each license holder
each year a form on which to apply for renewal
of his license (BPE Form No. i 4 ). This form
may request such information as the board feels

is required to keep accurate records of those
holding licenses to practice podiatry in North
Carolina. This application, along wftft A© Fe-

nowal feer which wtft be determined b¥ &e board
b«t sbaU ©©4- exceed fifty dollars ($50.00), ffh**

be received by ft*© secretary treasurer ©f ft*©

board ©» ©f before the fif^+ day ©f J-t4y ©f each
vear. Upon receipt ©f application aw*, teer ft*e

secretary treasurer shall provide eaefi podiatrist

with a certificate ©f renewal specifying tfie period

e# time covered by ft*e renewal certificate a©4
signed by ftte secretary treasurer. The penalties

for failure to complv are specified in General
Statutes 90- 44>©r 202.10.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90- 202. JO.

.0208 CONTINUING EDUCATION
An additional requirement for issuance of the

annual renewal certificate shall be certification to

the board of proof of having complied with the

Continuing Education Clause Provisions of the

General Statutes. The board shall notify all

podiatrists of the number of hours which shall

be required and what programs, seminars, or

other courses of study will be accepted as fulfill-

ing this requirement. The board will consider

any other courses a license holder wishes to at-

tend if ample information is provided to the

board. The board may provide a form (BPE
No. 4 5 ) which would include provides for

dates, location, and faculty of such programs and
which would is to be signed by an executive of-

ficer of the organization or institution sponsoring

such programs. Verification is required as pro-

vided bv statute.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.11.

.0209 APPLICANTS LICENSED IN OTHER
STATES

If an applicant for licensure is already licensed

in another state to practice podiatry, the board

shall issue a license to practice podiatry in the
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State of North Carolina only upon evidence that

said podiatrist has complied with the require-

ments as set forth in General Statute 90-202.7 of

the Podiatry' Practice Act. Presentation of such

evidence is the responsibility of the podiatrist

seeking reciprocity to practice in the State of

North Carolina. This evidence shall include

verification from the Board of Podiatry' Examin-
ers of the state where applicant has last practiced

that applicant is in good standing, has no disci-

plinary action pending, and history of previous

disciplinary action, if any.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.7.

SECTION .(MOO - PROFESSIONAL
CORPORA! IONS

.0301 REGISTRATION
No podiatrist or group of podiatrists may oper-

ate in the State of North Carolina as a profes-

sional corporation without first obtaining from
the board a certificate of registration as required

by the General Statutes. The application should

contain the name and address of this corporation

and the name s of all the officers and sharehold-

ers of the corporation. If the board finds that

no disciplinaiy action is pending against any of

the officers or shareholders, upon payment of a

fifty dollar ($50.00) registration -fee, it shall issue

a certificate of registration (PC Form No. 2)

which will remain in effect until January 1 of the

following year.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-J0.

.0302 ANNUAL RENEWAL
Upon written application to the board on or

before January 1 of each yoor, year and upon
payment of a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00),

an annual renewal certificate (PC Form No. 3)

shall be issued by the board. Failure to comply
will result in penalty as specified in the General

Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-I I.

.0303 PENALTIES
If a corporation does not apply for renewal of

its certificate of registration within 30 days after

the date of the expiration of such certificate, the

certificate of registration shall be automatically

suspended and may be reinstated within the cal-

endar year upon the payment of the required re-

newal fee plus a penalty often dollars ($10.00).

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-1 1

.

SECTION .0400 - REVOCATION OR
SUSPENSION OF LICENSE

.0401 INITIATION OF PROCEEDINGS
(REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.8.

.0402 HEARINGS
(a) Before the board shall revoke or rescind

suspend any license granted by it to any
podiatrist, it will give te the podiatrist a written

notice indicating the general nature of the

charges, accusation, or complaints preferred

against him and stating that the licensee will be
given an opportunity to be heard concerning

such charges or complaints at a time the date,

hour and place stated in such notice, e* te- be
I I i CO Suiflg ti v.tH Kir * It *t Kno f.i "! fi ."1 f Y\ -1 I I V-» ,-t I r\ -1mtTcrnTCT 1 1 jtl"vx xitj x i iv uuui *_i j 111 iu ^n mil i"Tttttt tr

r»i ihli/' KAiiinn «^/^t 1 Q ."- e il-ion III /I i I :
.'- T r, -<m 4U.t r"l *"1 t l l

I 7 T_1 1 7 IIV 1 1OH 1 I'lC, ITTTT IVJTTM I 1 1U1 1 ^) \J UU T J I 1 V 1 1 1 M I" UUIV

ef the service ef such notice upon such licensee,

at- which he may- appoar personally ©f through
counsel, may cross examine witnesses aft4 pros

e+« evidence m bis own behalf. Provided, how-
ever, the board may summarily suspend a license

where the public health, safety or welfare requires

emergency action as provided in G.S. 150B-3(c).

The notice shall include a reference to the

sections of the statutes and rules involved. The
board shall hold a public hearing not less than

15 days from the date of the service of such no-

tice to such licens at which hearing he ma\
personally or through counsel cross-examine

witnesses and present evidence ni Ins own behalf.

(b) A podiatrist who is mentally incompetent

shall be represented at such hearing and shall be

served with notice as herein provided by and
through a guardian ad litem appointed by the

clerk of the court of the county in which the

podiatrist has his /her residence.

(c) Such The licensee or podiatrist may, if he

desires, file written answers to the charges or

complaints preferred against him within 30 days

after the service of such notice, which answer
shall become a part of the record but shall not

constitute evidence in the case.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.8; 150B-38.

.0403 SERVICE OF NOTICE
Any notice required by tbis Rule may be served

either personally &f by- a» officer authorized by
law- te- serve process, m by registered mail, return

receipt requested, directed te- the licensee ©f ap-

plicant at h+s last known address a* shown by the

records e£ the board. If notice is served pep-

sonally, it shall be deemed te- have been served

at the ti»e when the officer delivers the notice

ef the person addressed. Where notice is served
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by- registered mail, it ;.Hall be deemed te have

been served e» the d*te borne by the return fe-

ceipt showing delivery ef the notice te the ad-

dressee ef refusal ef the addressee te accept the

notice the rules shall be given personally or bv
certified mail, return receipt requested, directed

to the licensee or applicant at his last known ad-

dress as shown bv the records of the board.

service cannot be accomplished either personally

or bv ceilitied mail. it_ shall then be given as pro-

vided in G.S. 1A. Rule 4 (

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.S; I50B-3S.

.0404 PLACE OF HEARINGS
I "pon written request ef the accused podiatrist,

given te the secretary ef the board 50 day ;- after

service ef the charger, ef complaints again st him.

a hearing fef the purpose ef determining revoca

toft- ef suspension ef hi* license '.hall be con

ducted i» the county m which such podiatrist

maintains his residence, ef at- the election ef the

board. » af>y- county m- which the aet ef aets

complained ef occurred, fe the absence ef such

request, the hearing shall be held at a place des-

ignated by- the board, ef as agreed upon by- the

podiatrist aftd- the board. A hearing conducted

bv the board shall be held in the location as

provided by statute.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.8; l50B-38(e).

.0405 TRIAL EXAMINER OR DEPOSITION
(REPEALED)

.0406 EVIDENCE ADMISSIBLE (REPEALED)

.0407 FAILURE TO APPEAR (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.8.

.0408 APPEAL
A podiatrist whose license is revoked ef

pended by- the board stay- obtain a review ef Ae
decision ef the board ift the Superior Court ef

Wake County ef » the superior court m the

county i» which the hearing was held ef upon
agreement ef the parties te the app eal m a«y-

other superior court ef the stat e , upon tiling with

the secretary ef the board a written notice ef ap-

peal- within 44 days after the date ef the senice

ef the decision ef the board stating all exceptions

taken te the decision ef the board and- indicating

the court ift which the appeal is te be heard, who
is aggrieved bv a final decision in a contested

case, and who has exhausted all administrative

remedies available may obtain judicial review o[

the decision of the board as provided bv statute.

SECTION .0500 - CERTIFICATION OF
PODIATRIC ASSISTANTS

.0501 APPLICATION (REPEALED)

.0502 EXAMINATION (REPEALED)

.0503 CERTIFICATION (REPEALED)

.0504 ANNUAL RENEWAL (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6.

SECTION .0600 - FORMS USED BY THE
BOARD

.0601 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION
The application for examination (BPE Form
No.l) will be used by all applicants who wish to

take the examination for licensure. The form
may be modified from time to time by the board.

It shall require the applicant to furnish the board
with detailed information regarding his education

and personal, moral aed family background.
character. The form may be obtained from the

office of the secretary' treasurer. Ofr Xr Pr Costin.

fer 1230 Medical Center Drive, Wilmington.

North Carolina, 28101. Secretary
-

at Post Office

Box 1088, Raleigh. North Carolina 27602.

2* Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.5.

.0602 CERTIFICATE OF LICENSURE
The licensure certificate (BPE Form No, 3 3)

will be the official license to practice podiatry in

the State of North Carolina. It shall be issued

by the board to all candidates who successfuUy

complete the examination given by the board.

The license will be numbered and it shall be
signed bv all three members of the board.

Statutory Authority

150B-45.

G.S. 90-202.8; 150B-43 to

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.6.

.0603 APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
The application for renewal of license (BPE
Form No. 4 4 ) will be used to annually apply

for renewal of the license to practice. rf-he

secretary treasurer ef the board shall matl this

form te each license holder at the last known
addre ss, i» thte month ef May ef eaeh- year. The
license holder must complete the form aad return

itr along with the annual renewal fee te the

secretary treasurer prior te 4-t±ly- 4- ef each year.

The form will require the license holder to inform

the board of his current office address, his status

in regard to practice (active, retired, etc.). and

such other information as the board may require

to maintain accurate records on the status of the

profession within the state.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202. 10.
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.0604 CERTIFICATE OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION

The secretary treasurer may provide each li-

cense holder with a form (BPE Form No. 4 5 )

used to certify that the licensee has met the re-

quirements of the continuing education Clauoo

ef the requirements as stated in General Statutes.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.11.

.0605 CERTIFICATION FOR ESTABLISHING
A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Prior to being registered with the Secretary of

State of the State of North Carolina, each pro-

fessional corporation shall obtain from the sec-

retary troar.uror of the board a certification

certificate (PC Form No. 2) that each and every

shareholder of the proposed corporation is duly

licensed to practice podiatry in the State of North
Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-10.

.0606 CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
OF PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Every professional corporation shall annually

(prior to Feb. 4- February 1st of each year) apply

to the board for a certificate of registration.

Whefl the board determines that He disciplinary

action is ponding against awy e4~ the officers e*

shareholders ef the corporation aftd 4 ri- appears

that- the corporation w+H- be conducted m com
plianco with the statutes a«4 the rules e£ the

board, aftd upon payment ef a feer not te OKccod

fifty dollars ($50.00) fef initial registration, a»4
net to exceed twenty five dollars ($25.00) fof

each renewal; the secretary treasurer of the board
w4U issue te- the professional corporation a eef-

tificato ©f registration fi^C- Form No. 3).

Statutory Authority G.S. 55B-I I.

.0607 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION:
PODIATRIC ASSISTANTS
(REPEALED)

.0608 CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION:
PODIATRIC ASSISTANTS
(REPEALED)

.0609 ANNUAL RENEWAL: PODIATRIC
ASSISTANTS (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.4.

.0610 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION
FOR PODIATRIST LICENSED IN
OTHER STATES (RECIPROCITY)

The application for examination for those al-

ready licensed in other states to practice podiatric

medicine (BPE Form No. 2) will be used by ap-

plicants who request such consideration. The
requirements shall be the same as for the appli-

cant mentioned in Rule .0601 of this Section plus

any other that the Board of Podiatry Examiners

may deem necessary and in keeping with the

General Statutes. Application forms may be

obtained from the office of the secretary of the

board.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.7.

SECTION .0700 - PETITIONS FOR RULES

.0701 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING
HEARINGS

Any person wishing to submit a petition re-

questing the adoption, amendment e* repeal e£

a H*le by the board shall address a petition to:

Board of Podiatry Examiners, 1230 Medical

Center Drive, Wilmington, North Carolina.

28101, ATTENTION: ~ft- X, Ft Cootin, 4*^

Secretary Treasurer. Post Office Box 10SS,

R aleigh. North Carolina 276(12. The container

caption of the petition should clearly bear the

notation: RULEMAKING PETITION RE and
then the subject area.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SOB- 16.

.0702 CONTENTS OF PETITION
The petition should include the following in-

formation:

(1) an indication of the subject area to which
the petition is directed. For example: "This

» a petition is to hold a rulemaking hearing

to amend Rule .0000"; pertaining te Ad-
ministrative Procedure Aet filing require

mento;

(2) either a draft of the proposed rule or a

summary of its contents;

(3) reason & for the proposal;

(4) the effect on existing rules or orders;

(5) any data supporting the proposal;

(6) effect of the proposed rule on existing

practices in the area involved including cost

factors;

(7) names of those most likely to be affected

by the proposed rule with addresses if rea-

sonably known;

(8) name(s) and address(es) of petitioner(s).

Statutory Authority G.S. I50B-I6.

.0703 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS
(a) The board will determine whether the

public interest will be served by granting the re-

quest. Prior to making this determination, the

board may request additional information from
the petitioner(s); it may contact interested per-
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sons or persons likely to be affected by the pro-

posed rule and request comments; it may use any
other appropriate method for obtaining informa-

tion on which to base its determination. It will

consider ah »f the contents of the petition sub-

mitted plus any other information obtained by
the means described herein.

(b) The board will make a determination for

the institution of rulemaking proceedings or for

the denial of the petition a* the ease may ber

provided bv G.S. 150B-16.

fe-) Within 444 days ef submission t*f the peti

tion. a final decision wth- be rendered by- the

board. U the decision is te- deny the petition, the

board w+h notify the petitioner m writing, stating

the reasons therefor. U the decision js te> grant

the petition, the board, within 4# days t4 sub

mi 'i-iion, w+h initiate a rulemaking notice
,
as pro

vided m these rules.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SOB- 16.

SECTION .0800 - NOTICE OF RULEMAKING
HEARINGS

.0X01 TIMING OF NOTICE
(REPEALED)

.0X02 NOTICE MAILING LIST
(REPEALED)

.0803 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
(REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S.

150B-12(a)(2).

I50B-/1

All requests for declaratory rulings shall be

written and mailed to the Board of Podiatry Ex-

aminers, 1230 Medical ("enter Drive,

Wilmington, North Carolina, 2SJ01. Post Office

Box 1088, Raleigh, North Carolina 27602, At-

tention: Secretary. The container of the request

should bear the notation: REQUEST TOR-
DECI.ARATORY RULING. The request

must include the following information:

(1) name and address of petitioner;

(2) statute or rule to which petition relates;

(3) concise statement of the manner in which
petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute

or its potential application to him;

(4) a statement of whether an oral hearing is

desired, and if so, the reason therefor.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SOB- 17.

.1005 DEFINITION
For purposes of Rule .1004 of this Section, a

declaratory Riling shall be deemed to be "in

effect": until the statute or rule interpreted by
the declaratory ruling is amended, altered or re-

pealed; until the board changes the declaratory

ruling prospectively for good reasons; or until

any court alters or sets aside the ruling, m ht+-

gation between the Board b+~ Podiatry Examiners

at+4 the party requesting the rule; Bf until awy-

court e+ the Appellate Division e£ the General

Court trf Justice shall construe the statute h* ft*le

which is the subject e4" the declaratory ruling m
a manner plainly irreconcilable- with the

declaratory ruling.

SECTION .0900 - RULEMAKING HEARINGS

.0901 REQUEST TO PARTICIPATE
(REPEALED)

.0902 CONTENTS OF REQUEST: GENERAL
TIME LIMITATIONS (REPEALED)

.0903 RECEIPT OF REQUEST: SPECIFIC
TIME LIMITS (REPEALED)

.0904 WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS
(REPEALED)

.0905 PRESIDING OFFICER: POWERS
AND DUTIES (REPEALED)

.0906 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR
DECISION (REPEALED)

.0907 RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS
(REPEALED)

.0908 EMERGENCY RULES
(REPEALED)

Statutory- Authority G.S. /SOB-/ 2; ISOB- 13.

SECTION .1000 - DECLARATORY RULINGS

.1002 SI BMISSION OF REQUEST FOR
Rl LING

Statutory Authority G.S. ISOB- 17.

SECTION .1 100 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING
PROCEDURES

.1 101 RIGHT TO HEARING (REPEALED)

.1 102 REQUEST FOR HEARING (REPEALED)

.1103 GRAN LING OR DENYING HEARING
REQUESTS (REPEALED)

.1 104 NOTICE OF HEARING (REPEALED)

.1 105 WHO SHALL HEAR CONTESTED
CASES (REPEALED)

.1 106 PETITION FOR INTERVENTION
(REPEALED)

.1 107 TYPES OF INTERVENTION
(REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. IA-1, Rule. 24;

150B-2(2): 150B-3S; I50B-3S(f); 150B-40.

SECTION .1200 - ADMINISTRATIVE
HEARINGS: DECISIONS: RELATED

RIGHTS AND PROCEDURES

.1 201 FAILURE TO APPEAR (REPEALED)
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Statutory Authority G.S. I50B-42 to I50B-45.

.1203 SUBPOENAS
The board is hereby authorized to issue

subpoenas upon its own motion ef upon a writ

tea- request. When such written request is mado
by a party m a contested oaoo, the board shall is-

sue subpoenas forthwith requiring the attendance

aftd testimony ef witnesses aftd the production

ef- evidence including books, records, corro

spondonce
,
and documents ift their possession

e* under their control. Q» written request, the

board shall revoke a supboena tfr upon a hearing

the board finds that the evidence, the production

ef which is required, does set relate te a matt e r

I .'.•nv , tj i it l i if ^rrcTTTmrr jjvtv -' rrcrt cjudoi il'v »» j i 1

1

sulTiciont particularity the evidence the pfe-

duction of wliich is required, e* if f-e* aay other

reason sufficient » law the subpoena is invalid.

Witness fees shall he paid by the party requesting

the subpoena te- subpoenaed witnesses » ae-

cordanco with G.S. 7A 311. as provided in G.S.

150B-39.

Statutory Authority G.S. J50B-39.

.1204 FINAL DECISIONS IN
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

The board w-ih issue the shall make a written

final decision or order in all contested cases as

provided bv G.S. 15UB-42. Its decision is the

prerequisite "final decision" fof the right te- judi

eial review.

Statutory Authority G.S. 150B-42.

SECTION .1300 - NOMINATIONS FOR
PODIATRISTS MEMBERS OF THE BOARD
OF PODIATRY EXAMINERS: BOARD OF
PODIATRY EXAMINERS CONSTITUTING
A BOARD OF PODIATRY ELECTIONS:

PROCEDURES FOR HOLDING AN ELECTION

.1301 BOARD OF PODIATRY ELECTIONS
The Board of Podiatry Examiners is hereby

constituted a Board of Podiatry Elections for the

purpose of submitting as vacancies on the board

occur occur, nominees to the Governor for ap-

pointment as required by statute. Even
podiatrist with a current North Carolina license

residing in this state shall be eligible to vote in

all elections subject to the rules and procedures

set out in Rule .1302.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.4.

.1302 RULES AND PROCEDURES FOR
CONDUCTING EUECTIONS

The rules and procedures to be followed in the

conducting of elections to fill podiatrists' posi-

tions on the Board of Podiatry Examiners are as

set forth in this Rule:

(1) At least 30 days prior to the expiration of

the term of the board member, written no-

tice of the holding of an election will be sent

to every podiatrist with a current North
Carolina license residing in this state using a

mailing address as contained in the board's

official records.

(2) The notice shall have with it a list of three

nominees proposed by the Board of

Podiatry Examiners for the board member
position to be filled.

(3) The election or voting for the board mem-
ber position will take place during the as-

I IUUT I 11L L I ! 1 1 JL, \J 1 1 1 l\J . * \J I 1 1 1 V-T1.I \J LAI TTX 1 V'U III L 1 T
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year, annually prior to July 1 of each year.

Additional nominations from the floor may
be received from a«y licensed podiatrist m
North Carolina » attendance e» the 4etf ef

the election fof consideration ef a»y licensed

podiatrist residing m North Carolina whe- is

« «-i -iH.in,|.in^n ,—i r-t +Jt^ iLnr rvl tl^^ tU i^ ' tl im '
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who has agreed m advance that his name
may he submitted, aftd who is otherwise el-

igible te be eleetedr Additional nominations

in.i\ he r-i.t.vJ Iroin llu- lloor or as write -in

nominations on a ballot and may be re-

ceived from any licensed podiatrist residing

in North Carolina.

(4.

(?)

Ballots will be prepared by the Board of

Podiatry Elections and passed e«t distrib-

uted or mailed to all North Carolina licensed

podiatrists who reside in North Carolina a»4
who a*e present e» the day- ef the election.

Any podiatrist who is eligible to vote and
who wishes to vote and who will not be in

attendance at the annual mooting ef the so-

ciety- election meeting may request a written

ballot from the secretary treasurer secretary

or treasurer and shall return the ballot prior

to the annual election meeting. Each voting

podiatrist will mark his e* he* his her ballot

and cast his e* he* his>her ballot in the ballot

box or mail the ballot to the board or other

device provided by the board for this pur-

pose. A-r+y votes aet placed m the ballot

be* Bf other such designated device wall be

void a«4 w-iH- not- be counted.

The secretary treasurer secretary or treas-

urer or such other member of the board as

may be designated by the president of the

Board of Podiatry Examiners solely will

conduct a tally of the ballots and submit to

the president of the board the names receiv-
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ing the highest number of votes and their

respective percentage of votes.

(6) The president of the board will in tum
submit the number t*f names to the Gover-

nor a* required by statute which who re-

ceived the highest number of votes and their

respective percentage of votes with bi-

ographical data as te each e? S» names on
the two podiatrists being submitted.

(7) It will not be necessary for an individual

podiatrist to receive a majority of votes of

those North Carolina licensed podiatrists

participating in the election. The secretary

treasurer secretary or treasurer or such other

member of the board designated by the

president of the board records tk* three
^^^^^J^^^^T ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^1 L^^^± [ ,

1
i 1 1 , t , t ^^^^^^^^^^^^£ ^^i T it . I.

! I V 1 1 ! IV ' IVWI f 1 1 1 £. tTTv 111 Z~.l l\- _' I IIl.ilIll'V.1 \J 1 T \) I V.
'
.' .

shall record the two names receiving the

percentage. His report te tb© president ef

tlw board will net b<» as te- Ae number ef

votes ouch individual received, b«t simply

those receiving Ae highest number ef votes

m alphabetical order. The voting podiatrists

will be notified of the results of the election.

(8) To be eligible for board membership, a

podiatrist must be a licensed podiatrist in

North Carolina at least for the period of

time prescribed by statute. A vote for any
licensed podiatrist not holding a North
Carolina license for that minimum period

will not be counted.

{fy
:fbe results ef Ae balloting will be confi

dential between Ae president e£ the board
a*H* such persons designated by the president

ei the board to conduct the election.

highest number of votes and their respective Statutory Authority G.S. 90-202.4.
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LJ pon request from the adopting agency, the

text of rules will be published in this section.

W hen the text of any adopted rule is iden-

tical to the text of that as proposed, adoption

of the rule will be noted in the "List of Rules
Affected" and the text of the adopted rule

will not be republished.

/x dopted rules filed by the Departments of
Correction, Revenue and Transportation are

published in this section. These departments

are not subject to the provisions ofG.S. 150B.

Article 2 requiring publication of proposed
rules.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 7 - SALES AND USE TAX

SUBCHAPTER 7B STATE SALES AND USE
TAX

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL APPLICATION OF
LAW TO MANUFACTURING AND INDUSTRIAL

PROCESSING

.0206 SALES BY MANUFACTURERS
(a) Sales of tangible personal property by ma-

nufacturers to registered merchants in this state

for the purpose of resale are not subject to sales

or use tax provided the transactions are sup-

ported by properly executed Resident and Non-
resident Retail or Wholesale Merchant's
Certificate of Resale, Form E-590.

(b) Sales of tangible personal property by ma-
nufacturers to nonresident retail or wholesale

merchants for the purpose of resale in another
state are not subject to sales or use tax when de-

livered to such purchasers in this state provided

the nonresident retail or wholesale merchant is

registered for sales and use tax purposes in a

taxing jurisdiction outside this state and the

transactions are supported by properly executed

Resident and Nonresident Retail or Wholesale
Merchant's Certificates of Resale, Form E-590.

(c) Sales of tangible personal property by ma-
nufacturers who deliver the property to purchas-

ers outside this state or who deliver the property

to a common carrier or to the mails for delivery

to the purchaser at a point outside this state are

not subject to sales or use tax. Such sales must
be supported by the prescribed records.

(d) Sales of tangible personal property by ma-
nufacturers to nonregistered merchants in this

state and sales to nonregistered nonresident mer-

chants who accept delivery of the property in this

state are subject to the sales or use tax.

(e) Manufacturers purchasing tangible personal

property and reselling it in its same form to reg-

istered merchants for resale are liable for an an-

nual wholesale license. Manufacturers

maintaining a warehouse or other place of dis-

tribution in this state, separate and apart from the

place of manufacture, for the sale or distribution

of their manufactured products to registered

merchants for the purpose of resale are also liable

for an annual wholesale license. Manufacturers
who are liable for the wholesale license are also

liable for a merchants certificate of registration

license.

(f) Manufacturers who only make sales to reg-

istered merchants for resale or sales which are

otherwise exempt from the tax are not required

to report such sales to the department; however,
manufacturers making taxable retail sales or pur-

chases subject to the use tax must register with

the department and file sales and use tax reports

reflecting such taxable sales or purchases and pay
the applicable tax due thereon.

(g) A manufacturer becomes liable for tax on
its sales of tangible personal property when it

sells directly to users and consumers, including

employees. Such sales include:

(1) sales of bottled drinks by a bottling plant

to users and consumers, including em-
ployees;

(2) sales to employees or other persons of

food products, meals and other prepared

foods by an industrial plant or other bu-

siness of any kind through a commissary,
concession stand, cafeteria, lunch stand

or other similar places;

(3) sales of fuel, hosiery, furniture or any other

kind of taxable tangible personal property

to employees or any other users or con-

sumers.

(h) A manufacturer's casual or occasional sale

of its worn out, obsolete or surplus machinery,

accessories and similar items are not subject to

the tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-164.13;

105-164.28; 105-262;

Effi February 1, 1976;

Amended Effi August 1, 1988;

November 1, 1982; February 8, 1981;

March 15. 1980.

SECTION .0400 - SPECIFIC INDUSTRIES

.0406 OTHER MILLS AND PROCESSORS
Sales of production machinery, and parts and

accessories thereto, to sawmills, lumber mills,

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 386



FINAL RULES

millwork plants, flour mills, grist mills, feed mills,

fish canneries, fertilizer plants, cotton gins, food

canneries, photo finishers, printers, ready-mixed

concrete plants and asphalt plants (but not con-

crete or asphalt contractors), poultry processors,

wood preserving plants, brick manufacturers, ce-

ment, cinder and clinker block manufacturers,

paper mills, tanneries, pottery makers, novelty

manufacturers, and any other producer for use in

the production process, as the term

"production" is defined in 17 NCAC 7B .0202(a)

(1), to fabricate, process or manufacture articles

of tangible personal property for sale are subject

to a one percent rate of tax with a maximum tax

of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article.

Note: (1) Bulldozers or other equipment sold

to sawmill operators for the purpose of open-

ing or maintaining entries to timber lands are

not mill machinery and such sales are subject

to the three percent sales or use tax.

Note: (2) Wedges, cant hooks, log binders,

log jacks and log chains sold to sawmill and
lumber mill operators for use in cutting timber

are classified as mill machinery or parts and
accessories for such machinery, and such sales

are subject to the one percent sales or use tax.

Note: (3) Sales to wood products manufac-

turers or producers and their contractors or

subcontractors of log-skidders, log-carts, tree-

shears, feller-bunchers, grapple skidders,

winches, chainsaws, clippers, tractors, axes and
mallets for use in cutting and transporting

timber on lands owned by them or on lands

where timber rights have been acquired for

timber to be manufactured into wood products

or for sale either directly or indirectly to wood
products manufacturers are classified as mill

machinery and subject to the one percent rate

of tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars

($80.00) per article. Sales of such machinery

or equipment to employees of wood products

manufacturers, producers and logging contrac-

tors or subcontractors are subject to the three

percent state rate of tax. Motor vehicles li-

censed for use on the streets and highways of

this State are subject to the two percent rate

of tax with a maximum tax of three hundred
dollars ($300.00) per vehicle including all ac-

cessories attached thereto at the time of deliv-

er.' to the purchaser when sold to

manufacturers, producers and contractors or

subcontractors.

Note: (4) Dynamite sold to fertilizer man-
ufacturers for use in blasting mounds of ferti-

lizer which has been stored for aging processes

is not classified as mill machinery or accesso-

ries thereto, and such sales are subject to the

three percent sales or use tax.

Note: (5) Propylene glycol sold to poultry

processors for use as a refrigerant in the man-
ufacturing process is classified as an accessory

to mill machinery and such sales are subject to

the one percent sales or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988;

June 1, 1984; February 8, 1981;

March 15, 1980.

SECTION .1 100 - SALES OF BULK TOBACCO
BARNS: FARM MACHINES AND MACHINERY

.1105 ANIMAL CLIPPERS
Sales of animal clippers and parts therefor to li-

vestock farmers for use in the production of li-

vestock are subject to the one percent rate of tax

prior to September 1, 1987. Effective September
1, 1987, sales of animal clippers and parts there-

for to livestock farmers for use in the production

of livestock are exempt from tax when such clip-

pers are placed or installed in or affixed to any
enclosure or structure used for commercial pur-

poses in housing, raising or feeding of livestock.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff August I, 1988; July 5, 1980.

.1108 EGG COOLING CABINETS
Sales of egg cooling cabinets to be placed or in-

stalled in or affixed to any enclosure or structure

specifically designed, constructed and used for

commercial purposes for housing, raising or

feeding poultry are exempt from sales or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff August I, 1988.

.1109 FEED MILLS
Sales of feed mills to be placed or installed in

or affixed to any enclosure or structure specif-

ically designed, constructed and used for com-
mercial purposes for housing, raising or feeding

swine, livestock or poultry are exempt from sales

or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 1988.

.1110 COOLING FANS
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Sales of cooling fans to be placed or installed in

or affixed to any enclosure or structure specif-

ically designed, constructed and used for com-
mercial purposes for housing, raising or feeding

swine, livestock or poultry are exempt from sales

or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 19SS; July 5, 19S0.

.1112 SILO LNLOADERS: BARN CLEANERS
Sales of silo unloaders and mechanical barn

cleaners to be placed or installed in or affixed to

any enclosure or structure specifically designed,

constructed and used for commercial purposes

for housing, raising or feeding swine, livestock

or poultry are exempt from sales or use tax.

History Note; Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 1988.

.1 113 MACHINERY STORAGE EQUIPMENT
Sales to dairy farmers of equipment used to

store or hold machinery which is not in use are

subject to the three percent rate of tax unless the

equipment is an integral part of an item which is

properly classified as farm machinery. Effective

September 1, 1987, sales of such commercially

manufactured swine, livestock and poultry

equipment and parts and accessories therefor

placed or installed in or affixed to facilities, en-

closures or structures specifically designed, con-

structed and used for housing, raising or feeding

of swine, livestock or poultry are exempt from
sales tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 1988.

.1114 SCALES
Sales of scales to to be placed or installed in or

affixed to any enclosure or structure specifically

designed, constructed and used for commercial
purposes for housing, raising or feeding swine,

livestock or poultry' are exempt from sales or use

tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August I, 1988.

SECTION .1200 - HOTELS: MOTELS: TOURIST
CAMPS AND TOLRIST CABINS

.1201 TAXABILITY OF GROSS RECEIPTS
(a) All persons engaged in the business of op-

erating hotels, motels, inns, tourist homes, tourist

camps, and similar type businesses and, effective

August 1, 1983, all persons who rent private res-

idences, condominiums or cottages to transients

for consideration are deemed to be retailers and
must register with the department and collect and
remit the tax herein required to be paid. The
term "persons who rent to transients," as used in

this Rule, includes:

(1) owners of private residences, cottages,

apartments, condominiums, (time share

and interval ownership properties as here-

inafter described) and similar places; and

(2) real estate agents, including "real estate

brokers" as defined in G.S. 93A-2, who
rent any such accommodations to tran-

sients on behalf of the owners.
When the rental agent is liable for the tax im-

posed, the owner is not liable. If the owner rents

such accommodations to transients, the owner is

liable for the tax and must register with this de-

partment for sales and use tax purposes.

(b) Gross receipts derived from the rental of

any room or rooms, lodgings or accommodations
furnished by any hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp,
tourist cabin and any private residence, condo-
minium, (time share and interval ownership pro-

perties), cottage or any other place in which
rooms, lodgings or accommodations are fur-

nished to transients for a consideration are sub-

ject to the three percent tax, except as set forth

in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule or as oth-

erwise provided by the statute.

(c) Receipts derived from the rental of any
room, lodging or accommodation to the same
person for a period of 90 continuous days or

more are not subject to the tax, and the tax col-

lected from any person prior to the accumulation

of such 90 continuous days of occupancy by said

person shall be refunded to such person by the

retailer collecting the same. A retailer actually

making any such refund of tax which he has paid

to the department shall be entitled to claim credit

for the tax so refunded on a subsequent return

filed by him with the department.

(d) Receipts derived from an occasional or

isolated rental of a private residence or cottage

by the owner for less than a total of 1 5 days in a

calendar year are not subject to sales tax. The
14 days exclusion is applicable only to those pri-

vate residences and cottages which are not made
available for rental to transients. If the private

residence or cottage is generally or routinely

made available by the owner for rental to tran-
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sients, the less than 15 days exclusions is not ap-

plicable to such rentals and all receipts therefrom

are taxable without regard to the aforementioned

period. When private residences and cottages are

listed with real estate agents, including "real es-

tate brokers" as defined in G.S. 93A-2, for rental

to transients, such private residences and cottages

are deemed to be generally available for rental to

transients and the less than 15 days exclusion is

not applicable to any receipts from such rentals

to transients.

(e) Sales of time share or interval ownership

property which can be transferred by estate, gift

or devise pursuant to deeds or documents under

which the owners have a fixed and continuing

nght to occupy such units during a specified pe-

riod of time in the same manner as a person who
owns or is buying a private residence or cottage

are considered to be sales of real property not

subject to sales or use tax. \\ nen owners of in-

terval ownership and time share property do not

occupy the property but rent it to transients or

place the property in the hands of a rental agent,

including "real estate brokers" as defined in G.S.

93A-2, for rental on their behalf to transients,

such receipts are subject to sales tax and the less

than 15 days exclusion is not applicable to any
receipts from such rentals as explained in Para-

graph (d) of this Rule.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-262;

Eff. February I, 19~6;

Amended Eff. August 1, 19SS; July 1, 1984;

January 3, 1984.

SECTION .1400 - SALES OF MEDICINES:
DRUGS AND MEDICAL SUPPLIES

.1401 PRESCRIPTION MEDICINES AND
DRLGS

Sales of drugs or medicines on written pre-

scription of a physician or dentist and, effective

August 1, 1988, insulin whether or not sold on
prescription, are exempt from sales or use tax.

Sales of drugs or medicines pursuant to a physi-

cian's or dentist's telephone (oral) prescription

are exempt from sales or use tax provided the

prescription is reduced to writing, signed by the

pharmacist and filed in the same manner as an

original written prescription. The terms medi-

cines and drugs shall mean all medicines in the

generally accepted sense of the term and also in-

clude tonics for internal use, vitamins, ointments,

liniments, antiseptics, anaesthetics, serums, and

other remedies having preventive and curative

properties in medical treatment. Medicines or

drugs sold pursuant to the refilling of a physi-

cian's or dentist's prescription are likewise ex-

empt from the tax. Vendors making sales of

medicines or drugs pursuant to physicians' or

dentists' prescriptions or in refilling the same
must keep sales records which will clearly segre-

gate such prescription sales. All original pre-

scriptions must be filed and kept available for

inspection by the secretary or his authorized

agent. When a sale is made to refill a pre-

scription, the seller's records must carry the

number of the original prescription so refilled in

order that reference to the original can easily be
made.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.13; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August I. 19SS.

.1402 MEDICINES: SALES TO PHYSICIANS
Physicians, dentists and hospitals are considered

to be the users or consumers of medicines and
drugs which they purchase for use in administer-

ing treatment to their patients; therefore, sales

thereof to physicians, dentists and hospitals for

such use are subject to the three percent sales or

use tax, and this is true notwithstanding such

medicines and drugs may be of the type usually

sold only on the prescription of a physician or

dentist. Effective August 1, 1988, sales of insulin

are exempt from sales or use tax whether or not

sold on prescription. If a physician or dentist

should, in fact, make outright sales of medicines

or drugs to his patients or to other consumer
customers, such sales are exempt from sales or

use tax provided such medicines or drugs are sold

on written prescription of the physician or den-

tist, or another physician or dentist, and a record

is made of each such sale and kept, along with

the written prescription, as a part of the seller's

permanent records. If a hospital maintains a

pharmacy from which sales of drugs and medi-

cines are made to individuals or to patients for

their use after they leave the hospital, such sales

are exempt from tax provided they are made on
written prescription of a physician or dentist and
a record of the sale and the prescription is kept

in the manner described in 17 NCAC 7B .1401.

An entry on a patient's medical record card or

chart of medicines or drugs for such patient does

not meet the requirements of a written pre-

scription. Physicians, dentists and hospitals

making sales of medicines and drugs, as set forth

above, may purchase the medicines and drugs

which they will resell or use in administering

treatment to their patients without payment of

tax to their vendors if the physician, dentist or

hospital making the purchase has registered with

the Department of Revenue for sales and use tax

purposes and furnished his vendor properly exe-
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cuted certificates of resale, Form E-590. In such

cases, the physicians, dentists or hospitals be-

come liable for remitting the three percent rate

of tax directly to this department on the cost

price of the medicines and drugs which they use

in administering treatment to their patients, and
the medicines and drugs sold on written pre-

scription for subsequent use by the patient will

be exempt from tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

1 05-1'64.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 19SS.

.1403 NONPRESCRIPTION MEDICINES AND
DRUGS

Sales of medicines or drugs, other than insulin,

to users or consumers, except when the sales are

made pursuant to a prescription of a physician

or dentist or as a refill of a written prescription,

as referred to in 17 NCAC 7B .1401, are subject

to the three percent sales or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 19SS.

.1405 INSULIN
Prior to August 1, 1988, sales of insulin on

written prescriptions of a physician or a tele-

phone prescription of a physician which has been
reduced to writing are exempt from sales tax and
refills of such prescriptions are exempt from sales

tax provided a written record of each refill is

maintained with the refill date, prescription

number and price. Effective August 1, 1988, sa-

les of insulin are exempt from sales and use tax

whether or not sold on a written prescription.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- 1 64. 13; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 19SS.

SECTION .1700 - SALES TO OR BY THE STATE:
COUNTIES: CITIES: AND OTHER POLITICAL

SUBDIVISIONS

.1705 HOUSING AUTHORITIES
Sales of taxable tangible personal property to

housing authorities created and existing under

Chapter 1 57 of the North Carolina General Sta-

tutes for use in carrying on their activities are

subject to the three percent state and any appli-

cable local government sales or use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-/64.4; 105-164.6; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1

,

1988; March 1, 1984.

SECTION .2900 - VENDING MACHINES

.2903 EXCLUSION OF TAX FROM RECEIPTS
Operators of vending machines making sales of

taxable tangible personal property subject to the

three percent state and two percent local sales tax

are permitted to divide their gross receipts from
sales by such vending machines by 105 percent

to arrive at taxable sales when they prepare their

monthly sales and use tax reports and remit-

tances.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August I, 1988; July 5, 1980.

SECTION .4200 - SALES TO THE UNITED
STATES GOVERNMENT OR AGENCIES

THEREOF

.4201 IN GENERAU
(a) Sales made directly to the United States

Government, or any agency thereof, are not

subject to the sales or use tax. In order to be a

sale to the United States Government, the gov-

ernment or agency involved must make the pur-

chase of the property, obtain title to the property

before or at the time it is delivered, and pay di-

rectly to the vendor the purchase price of such

property or use a government bankcard to pay
the vendor the purchase price of such property.

(b) Nontaxable federal agencies include the

United States Postal Service, Departments of

Defense, Army, Navy and Air Force, United

States hospitals, federal reserve banks, federal

land banks, federal housing projects, federal

housing authorities, or any other department or

departments of the federal government whose
activities are directly under federal control and
whose purchases are paid for from the federal

treasury.

(c) Sales made to Army, Navy and Air Force

Activities Funds, post exchanges, officers' mess
funds, noncommissioned officers funds and other

voluntary unincorporated organizations of Army,
Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard
personnel authorized by regulations issued by the

Departments of Defense, Army, Navy or Air

Force are likewise exempt from sales and use tax.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.13; 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August I, 1988.
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.4202 GOVERNMENTAL PURCHASING
REQUISITIONS

Some agencies, instrumentalities, organizations,

or activities of the United States Government
listed in 17 NCAC 7B .4201 will be using pur-

chase requisitions or affidavits in connection with

their purchases and other such agencies, instru-

mentalities, organizations, or activities of the

United States Government will be using a United

States Government Bankcard in connection with

their purchases. A vendor making sales directly

to the United States Government, or any agency

or instrumentality thereof, that issues purchase

requisitions or affidavits must obtain and keep

copies of such purchase requisitions or affidavits

signed by the purchasing officer stating that such

sales are being made directly to the United States

Government or an agency or instrumentality

thereof. A vendor making sales directly to the

United States Government, or any agency or in-

strumentality thereof, using a United States Go-
vernment Bankcard must obtain and keep a copy

of the bankcard receipt showing that such sales

are being made directly to the United States Go-
vernment, or an agency or instrumentality ther-

eof. Copies of such bankcard receipts and
purchase requisitions or affidavits must be re-

tained by the vendor in his tiles for three years

following the date of sale and must be available

for inspection by the Secretary of Revenue or her

agents upon request.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.13; 105-262;'

Eff. February 1, 19^6;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988.

SECTION .4500 - LAUNDRIES: DRV CLEANING
PLANTS: LAUNDERETTES: LINEN RENTALS:
AND SOLICITORS FOR SUCH BLSINESSES

.4501 RECEIPTS OF LAUNDRIES: ETC.

(a) The gross receipts derived from the follow-

ing are subject to the three percent sales or use

tax:

(1) services rendered by pressing clubs, clean-

ing plants, hat blocking establishments,

dry cleaning plants, laundries, including

wet or damp wash laundries and busi-

nesses known as launderettes and launde-

ralls, and all similar type businesses;

(2) the rental of clean linen, towels, wearing

apparel and similar items;

(3) soliciting cleaning, pressing, hat blocking

and laundry;

(4) rug cleaning services performed by persons

operating rug cleaning plants or per-

formed by any of the businesses named in

this Rule when the rug cleaning service is

performed at the plant; Receipts from rug

cleaning services performed at the cus-

tomer's location by any of the businesses

included in this Rule are not subject to

sales and use tax.

Effective July 1, 1988, receipts derived from coin

or token-operated washing machines, extractors

and dryers are exempt from sales or use taxes.

Retail sales of detergents, bleaches and other

taxable items of tangible personal property

through vending machines continue to be subject

to the applicable sales or use tax.

(b) Charges by the businesses named in (a) of
this Rule for alterations or storage of garments
are not a part of the gross receipts subject to tax

when such charges are separately stated on their

invoices and in their records. When such charges

are not separately stated, the total charge is sub-

ject to the three percent gross receipts tax. Sales

of thread, buttons, zippers, pockets, and other

similar tangible personal property to such busi-

nesses for use or consumption in making repairs

and alterations to garments being laundered, cle-

aned or pressed are subject to the three percent

rate of tax.

(c) When in addition to the services named in

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the herein-named

businesses make retail sales of tangible personal

property for which a separate charge is made,

such sales are subject to the three percent sales

tax. Any charge for labor or services rendered in

applying or installing such property are not sub-

ject to tax provided such charges are segregated

from the charge for the tangible personal prop-

erty sold on the invoice given to the customer at

the time of the sale and in the vendor's records;

otherwise, the total amount is subject to tax.

(d) Receipts derived through persons engaged

in soliciting laundering or cleaning business are

not subject to the tax if such solicitor is a regis-

tered retailer and he pays to the department the

three percent tax on the total gross receipts de-

rived from the business solicited.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 19SS.

.4512 EXCLUSION OF TAX FROM RECEIPTS

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.4; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 5, 1980;

Repealed Eff. August 1, 1988.

SECTION .5400 - FORMS USED FOR SALES
AND USE TAX PURPOSES
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.5425 NONRESIDENT MERCHANTS
REGIS! RATION APPLICATION
EORM: E-572

SECTION .0100 - LOCAL GOVERNMENT
SALES AND USE TAXES

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

.5426 NONRESIDENT MERCHANTS
REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE
FORM: E-573

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

.5427 NONRESIDENT MERCHANTS
CERTIFICATE OF RESALE
FORM: E-574

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

.5433 RES/NONRES RETAIL/WHLSLE
MERCH CERT/RESALE FORM: E-590

The Resident and Nonresident Retail or

Wholesale Merchant's Certificate of Resale

Form, E-590, is to be completed by resident or

nonresident registered retail and wholesale mer-
chants and furnished to their suppliers when
purchasing tangible personal property for the

purpose of resale.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-164.15; 105-/64.28; 105-262:

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 1988.

.5443 SALES AND USE TAX CHART:
E-502C: FIVE PERCENT

The sales and use tax chart, E-502C, shows the

amount of five percent sales or use tax to be

collected on retail sales indicated. The form is

sent to taxpayers for use as a guide in determin-

ing the five percent tax to be charged on sales.

History Note: Statutory .

105-164.15; 105-262;

Eff. January 3, 1984;

Amended Eff. August I

,

iuthority G.S.

1988.

SUBCHAPTER 7C - LOCAL GOVERNMENT:
MECKLENBURG COUNTY: SUPPLEMENTAL
LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND ADDITIONAL

SUPPLEMENT LOCAL GOVERNMENT SALES
AND USE TAX ACTS

.0103 SALES TAX IMPOSED
(a) Every retailer whose place of business is

located in a county which has approved the local

sales and use tax is required to collect and remit

to the North Carolina Secretary of Revenue the

county sales tax at the rate of two percent on:

(1) the sales price of those articles of tangible

personal property now subject to the three

percent sales tax imposed by the state un-
der G.S. 105-164.4(1); but not on sales of
electricity, piped natural gas or intrastate

telephone service taxed under G.S.

105-164.4(4a);

(2) the gross receipts derived from the lease

or rental of tangible personal property

where the lease or rental of such property

is an established business now subject to

the three percent sales tax imposed bv the

state under G.S. 105-164.4(2);

(3) the gross receipts derived from the rental

of any room or lodging furnished by any
hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp or other

similar accommodations now subject to

the three percent sales tax imposed by the

state under G.S. 105-164.4(3);

(4) the gross receipts derived from services

rendered by laundries, dry cleaners, clean-

ing plants and similar type businesses now
subject to the three percent sales tax im-

posed by the state under G.S.

105-164.4(4).

(b) All retailers making sales from a place of

business located within a taxing county must
collect and remit the two percent local sales tax

for the county in which the retailer's place of

business is located. For sales tax purposes, the

situs of a sale is the retailer's place of business

located within a taxing county where the vendor

becomes contractually obligated to make the sale.

The term "place of business located within a

taxing county" shall mean stores, warehouses,

sales outlets, inventories, and other places within

a taxing county where tangible personal property

is maintained for sale, lease, or rental at retail,

and it shall include inventories of goods carried

on foot or in vehicles for sale to customers in a

taxing county. It shall also include laundries, dry

cleaning plants, or similar businesses and hotels,

motels, or similar facilities in a taxing county.

Taxable tangible personal property sold and de-

livered from a business location in a taxing

county to the buyer or his agent at a point within

this State, if such agent is not a common carrier,

is subject to the tax for the county in which the

retailer's place of business is located notwith-
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standing that the purchaser may subsequently

transport the property outside this State for use.

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; 105-467;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; August 1, 1986.

.0104 USE TAX IMPOSED
(a) A local use tax is levied at the rate of two

percent of the cost price of each item or article

of tangible personal property which is used, con-

sumed or stored for use or consumption in a

taxing county and such use tax may be imposed
only on those items of tangible personal property

upon which the state now levies a three percent

use tax under G.S. 105-164.6. Every retailer en-

gaged in business in this state and in the taxing

county and required to collect the use tax levied

by G.S. 105-164.6 shall also collect the one per-

cent local use tax and remit same to the North
Carolina Secretary of Revenue when such prop-

erty is to be used, consumed or stored in the

taxing county. The use tax shall be levied against

the purchaser and his liability for such tax shall

be extinguished only upon his payment of the tax

to the retailer, where the retailer has charged the

tax, or to the Secretary of Revenue where the

retailer has not charged the tax. Every person

who purchases any tangible personal property for

storage, use or consumption in a taxing county

from vendors located outside the purchaser's

county who do not charge the tax must report

and remit the applicable use tax to the Secretary

of Revenue where she is authorized to collect and
administer the tax.

(b) Where a local sales or use tax has been paid

with respect to such tangible personal property

by the purchaser thereof, either in another taxing

county within this State or in a taxing jurisdiction

outside this State where the purpose of the tax is

similar in purpose and intent to the local sales

or use tax which is imposed within this State,

said tax may be credited against the local use tax

due. If the amount of local sales or use tax paid

in another taxing county or jurisdiction is less

than the amount of tax due the taxing county,

the purchaser shall pay to the Secretary of Re-
venue an amount equal to the difference between
the amounts so paid in the other taxing county

or jurisdiction and the amount due in the taxing

county. No credit shall be allowed for sales and

use taxes paid in a taxing jurisdiction outside this

State if that taxing jurisdiction does not allow a

credit for local government sales taxes paid in this

State. The local use tax will not be subject to

credit for payment of any state sales or use tax

not imposed for the benefit and use of counties

and municipalities.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; 105-468;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; February 8, 1981.

.0105 SALES CONTRACTS
Generally, a sale is not consummated until de-

livery is made to the purchaser; therefore, in the

absence of unusual circumstances, the local sales

and use taxes will be due on all taxable sales or
purchases of property, including building materi-

als, which are delivered on or after the effective

date of the levy irrespective of the date the order

is placed. The local sales and use taxes shall be
applicable with respect to sales to contractors of
any building materials, supplies or equipment
which will be annexed to or become a part of a

building or structure being constructed under a

lump sum or unit price contract awarded before

the effective date of the levy or awarded pursuant

to a bid made before the effective date of the levy.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; 105-467; 105-468.1;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988.

.0108 RECORDS TO BE KEPT BY TAXPAYER

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; 105-474;

Eff. February 1. 1976;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

SECTION .0200 - MECKLENBURG COUNTY
SALES AND USE TAXES

.0201 COLLECTION AND ADMINISTRATION
OF THE TAX

The Mecklenburg County Sales and Use Tax
Act (Chapter 1096), the Supplemental Local

Government Sales and Use Tax Act (Article 40),

and the Additional Supplemental Local Govern-
ment Sales and Use Tax Act (Article 42), here-

inafter collectively referred to as the Acts, levy the

two percent county sales and use tax in Meck-
lenburg County. The North Carolina Secretary

of Revenue shall collect and shall be charged

with the duty of administering the Acts. The
secretary is empowered to promulgate such rules

and regulations as are necessary and proper for

the implementation of the Acts. In construing

and interpreting the provisions of the Acts, the

Secretary of Revenue may uniformly apply the

administrative interpretations which have here-

tofore been made by the Department of Revenue
as to the State Sales and Use Tax Act. The de-

finitions set forth in G.S. 105-164.3 and all other

provisions of Article 5 apply to the Acts insofar
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as such provisions are not inconsistent with the

provisions of the Acts.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; Session Laws, Chapter 1096,

Section 6 (1967);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988.

.0202 SALES TAX IMPOSED
(a) Every' retailer with a place of business lo-

cated in Mecklenburg County is required to col-

lect and remit to the North Carolina Secretary

of Revenue the applicable two percent sales tax

for Mecklenburg County. The term "place of

business located in Mecklenburg County" in-

cludes, but is not limited to retail stores, ware-

houses, sales outlets, inventories and other

locations in Mecklenburg County from which
retail sales and deliveries are made to purchasers

within this State and it shall include the main-

taining in Mecklenburg County, either perma-
nently or temporarily, of tangible personal

property for the purpose of lease or rental and
the selling and delivering of tangible personal

property on foot or from vehicles in Mecklen-
burg County. It shall also include laundries, dry

cleaning plants or similar businesses and hotels,

motels and similar facilities in Mecklenburg
County. The Acts also impose a sales and use

tax in Mecklenburg County at the rate of two
percent on:

( 1) the sales price of those articles of tangible

personal property now subject to the three

percent sales tax imposed by the state un-

der G.S. 105-164.4(1) but not on sales of

electricity, piped natural gas or intrastate

telephone service taxed under G.S.

105-164.4(4a);

(2) the gross receipts derived from the lease

or rental of tangible personal property on
which the state now imposes a three per-

cent sales tax under G.S. 105-164.4(2);

(3) the gross receipts derived from the rental

of any room or lodging furnished by any
hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp or similar

public accommodations now subject to

the three percent sales tax imposed by the

state under G.S. 105-164.4(3); and

(4) the gross receipts derived from services

rendered by laundries, dry cleaners, clean-

ing plants and similar type businesses now
subject to the three percent sales tax im-

posed by the state under G.S.

105-164.4(4).

(b) Taxable tangible personal property sold and
delivered from a business location in Mecklen-
burg County to the buyer or his agent at a point

within this State, if such agent is not a common

carrier, for delivery to the purchaser at a point

outside this State is subject to the tax in Meck-
lenburg County notwithstanding that the pur-

chaser may subsequently transport, or employ
someone else to transport, the property outside

this State for use. For sales tax purposes, the

situs of a sale is the retailer's place of business

located within a taxing county where the vendor
becomes contractually obligated to make the sale.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; Session Laws, Chapter 1096,

Section 4 (1967);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff August 1, 1988; August 1, 1986.

.0203 USE TAX IMPOSED
(a) A county use tax is levied at the rate of two

percent of the cost price of each item or article

of tangible personal property which is used, con-

sumed or stored for use or consumption in

Mecklenburg County and such use tax may be

imposed only on those items of tangible personal

property upon which the state now levies a three

percent use tax under G.S. 105-164.6. Every
retailer engaged in business in this State and in

Mecklenburg County and required to collect the

use tax levied by G.S. 105-164.6 shall also collect

the two percent county use tax and remit same
to the North Carolina Secretary of Revenue
when such property is to be used, consumed or

stored in Mecklenburg County. The use tax

shall be levied against the purchaser and his li-

ability for such tax shall be extinguished only

upon his payment of the tax to the retailer, where
the retailer has charged the tax, or to the Secre-

tary of Revenue where the retailer has not

charged the tax. Every person who purchases

any tangible personal property for storage, use

or consumption in Mecklenburg County from
vendors located outside the purchaser's county
who do not charge the tax must report and remit

the applicable use tax to the Secretary of Re-

venue.

(b) Where a county sales or use tax has been

paid with respect to such tangible personal pro-

perty by the purchaser thereof, either in another

taxing county within this State or in a taxing ju-

risdiction outside this State where the purpose

of the tax is similar in purpose and intent to the

tax which is imposed in Mecklenburg County,

said tax may be credited against the county use

tax due. If the amount of county sales or use tax

paid in another taxing county or jurisdiction is

less than the amount of tax due Mecklenburg
County, the purchaser shall pay to the Secretary

of Revenue an amount equal to the difference

between the amounts so paid in the other taxing

county or jurisdiction and the amount due in
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Mecklenburg County. No credit shall be allowed

for sales and use taxes paid in a taxing jurisdic-

tion outside this State if that taxing jurisdiction

does not allow a credit for local sales taxes paid

in this State. The county use tax will not be

subject to credit for payment of any state sales

or use tax not imposed for the benefit and use

of counties and municipalities.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; Session Laws, Chapter 1096,

Section 5 (1967);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 198S; February 8, 1981.

.0204 MAXIMUM TAX

History Note Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; S.L. (1967), Ch. 1096, s. 4 and 5;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff March I, 1987; February 1, 1987;

January 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

.0206 EXEMPTIONS AND EXCLUSIONS

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; S.L. 1967, Ch. 1096, s. 10;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff January 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.

.0207 RECORDS TO BE KEPT BY TAXPAYER

History Note; Statutory Authority G.S.

105-262; S.L. 196 7
, Ch. 1096, s. 10;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Repealed Eff August 1, 1988.
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TITLK/MA.IOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14A
15

16

17

18

19A
20

*21

22

23

24

25

26

Administration, Department of

Agriculture, Department of

Auditor, Department of State

Commerce, Department of

Corrections, Department of

Council of State

Cultural Resources, Department of

Elections, State Board of

Governor, Office of the

Human Resources, Department of

Insurance, Department of

Justice, Department of

Labor, Department of

Crime Control and Public Safety, Department of

Natural Resources and Community Development, Department of

Education, Department of

Revenue, Department of

Secretary of State, Department of

Transportation, Department of

Treasurer, Department of State

Occupational Licensing Boards

Administrative Procedures

Community Colleges, Department of

Housing Finance Agency
State Personnel, Office of

Administrative Hearings, Office of

NOTE: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.

CHAPTER LICENSLNG BOARDS

2

4

6

8

10

12

14

16

18

20

21

22

26

28

31

32

33

34

36

37

38

40

42

Architecture, Board of

Auctioneers, Commission for

Barber Examiners, Board of

Certified Public Accountant Examiners, Board of

Chiropractic Examiners, Board of

Contractors, Licensing Board for

Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of

Dental Examiners, Board of

Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners of

Foresters, Board of Registration for

Geologists, Board of

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board
Landscape Architects, Licensing Board of

Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of

Martial & Family Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of

Midwifery Joint Committee
Mortuary Science, Board of

Nursing, Board of

Nursing Home Administrators, Board of

Occupational Therapists, Board of

Opticians, Board of

Optometry, Board of Examiners in
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44 Osteopathic Examination and Registration, Board of

46 Pharmacy, Board of

48 Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of

50 Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of

52 Podiatry Examiners, Board of

53 Practicing Counselors, Board of

54 Practicing Psychologists, Board of

56 Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, Board of

58 Real Estate Commission
60 Refrigeration Examiners, Board of

62 Sanitarian Examiners, Board of

63 Social Work, Certification Board for

64 Speech and Language Pathologists and
Audiologists, Board of Examiners of

66 Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

CUMULA TIVE INDEX
(April 1988 - March 1989)

1988 - 1989

Pages Issue

1 - 25 1 - April

26 - 108 2 - April

109 - 118 3 - May
119 - 145 4 - May
146 - 184 5 - June
185 - 266 6 - June
267 - 294 7 - July

295 - 347 8 - July

348 - 400 9 - August

AO - Administrative Order
AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

E - Errata

EO - Executive Order

FDL - Final Decision Letters

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

LRA - List of Rules Affected

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary Rule

ADMrsISTRATION
Auxiliary Services, 270 PR
Departmental Rules, 270 PR
State Construction, 187 PR
Youth Advocacy and Involvement Office, 148 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Hearings Division, 76 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER
Administrative Order, 369 AO

AGRICULTURE
Food and Drug Protection Division, 271 PR
Structural Pest Control Committee, 296 PR
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COMMERCE
.Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 276 PR
Milk Commission, 120 PR, 190 PR

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 287 PR

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
Alcohol Law Enforcement, -P PR

ELECTION'S
State Board of Elections, 120 PR

EXECUTIVE ORDLRS
Executive Orders 68- 71. 1 EO

72.119 EO
73, 146 EO

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act. 5 EDL, 26 EDL, 185 EDL, 267 FDL, 295 FDL, 370 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter "A. 348 GS
Chapter 143B. 350 GS
Chapter 150B, 352 GS

HUMAN RESOURCES
Division of Aging. 229 PR
Drug Commission. 113 FR
Health Services, 7 PR. 220 PR. 206 PR
Medical Assistance. 7 PR. 30 PR. 109 PR, 121 PR. 237 PR, 303 PR
Office of the Secretary, 31 PR
Social Services Commission, 2

n PR
Vocational Rehabilitation Services. 371 PR

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES
Housing Finance, 21 PR. 134 PR, 255 PR

INSURANCE
Agent Senices, 238 PR
Eire and Casualty, 32 PR
Fire and Rescue Senices Division, 122 PR, 149 PR

JUSTICE
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards, 304 PR
Private Protective Senices, 303 PR

LICENSLNG BOARDS
Cosmetic Art Examiners, 283 PR
CPA, 73 PR
Examiners of Electrical Contractors. 151 PR
Hearing Aid Dealers. "7 FR
Nursing. 376 PR
Podiatn" Examiners, 377 PR
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LIST OF RULES AFFECTED
April 1, 1988, 102 LRA
May 1, 1988, 137 LRA
June 1, 1988, 260 LRA
July 1, 1988, 335 LRA

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Coastal Management, 11 PR, 67 PR, 254 PR, 281 PR
Community Assistance, 69 PR
Environmental Management, 241 PR, 278 PR
Forest Resources, 68 PR
Marine Fisheries, 62 PR
Soil and Water Conservation, 1 1 1 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 1 1 1 PR, 282 PR

REVENUE
License and Excise Tax, 1 13 FR
Motor Fuels Tax, 258 FR
Sales and Use Taxes, 386 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Securities Division, 125 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 135 PR, 333 PR

STATE TREASURER
Escheats and Abandoned Property, 328 PR
Local Government Commission, 18 PR

TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles, 172 FR, 258 FR
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NOW AVAILABLE
NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The full publication consists of52 volumes, totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is supplemented monthly

with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be

purchasedfor seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). Individual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for supplements to the initial publication available starting Oc-
tober 19SS.

PRICE LIST FOR THE 1987-88 SUBSCRIPTION YEAR

Total

Volume Title Chapter Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

1 - 52 Full Code
1 1

2 2

3 2

4 3

5 4

6 4
7 5

8 5

9 6

7

10 8

11 9

12 lit

13 10

14 10

15 10

16 10

17 10

18 10

19 10

20 10

21 lit

22 lit

23 lit

24 10

25 10

26 lit

27 10

28 II

New
Chapter Subject Subscription

/Ml titles $750.00

1 - 36 Administration 90.00

1 - 24 Agriculture 75.00

25 - 52 Agriculture 75.00

1 - 4 Auditor 10.00

1 - 2 Commerce (includes ABC)
3 - 16 Commerce 90.00

1 - 2 Corrections 60.00

3 - 4 Corrections 30.00

1 - 4 Council of State

1 - 11 Cultural Resources 60.00

1 - 8 Elections 10.00

1 - 4 Governor 45.00

1 - 2 Human Resources 30.00

3A - 3K Human Resources 90.00

3L- 3R Human Resources

(includes CON) 45.00

3S - 3U Human Resources 30.00

4- 6 Human Resources 30.00

7 Human Resources

(includes Breathalizer) 30.00

8- 9 Human Resources 60.00

10 Human Resources 90.00

11-14 Human Resources 60.00

15 - 17 Human Resources 45.00

18 I Iuman Resources 75.00

19- 30 Human Resources 90.00

31 - 33 Human Resources 30.00

34 - 41 Human Resources 60.00

42 Human Resources 45.00

43 - 50 Human Resources 90.00

1 - 15 Insurance 90.00

Continued



Nov Total

Volume Title Chapter Subject Subscription* Quantity Price

1 - 12 Justice 90.00

1 - 6 Labor 30.00

7 OSHA 45.00

8-15 Labor 45.00

1-11 Crime Control and
Public Safety 45.00

1 - 2 NRCD (includes EMC) 90.00

3 - 6 NRCD 45.00

7 Coastal Management 45.00

8 - 9 NRCD 30.00

10 Wildlife 45.00

11-22 NRCD 60.00

1 - 6 Education 30.00

1 - 6 Revenue 75.00

7-11 Revenue 60.00

1 - 7 Secretary of State 30.00

1 - 6 Transportation 90.00

1 - 9 Treasurer 45.00

1-16 Licensmg Boards 75.00

17-37 Licensing Boards 75.00

38 - 70 Licensing Boards

1 - 2 Administrative Procedures 75.00

1 - 2 Community Colleges 10.00

1 Housing Finance 10.00

1 State Personnel 60.00

1 - 4 Administrative Hearings 10.00

29 12

30 13

31 13

32 13

33 14A

34 15

35 15

36 15

37 15

38 15

39 15

4n 16

41 17

42 17

43 18

44 19

45 20

46 21

47 21

48 21

22

49 23

50 24

51 25

52 26

Total

(Make checks payable to Office ofAdministrative Hearings.)

* This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

Subscription years arc October 1 through September 30.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 11666

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27604
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] Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($95.00)/year subscription)

] Renew North Carolina Register

] Check Enclosed Please bill me

lease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings
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