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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published monthly and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 1 508 of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and amend-

ments filed under Chapter 1 508 must be published in the Register.

The Register will typically comprise approximately one hundred

pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free

of charge to each county in the state and to various state officials

and institutions. The North Carolina Register is available by

yearly subscription at a cost of ninety-five dollars ($95.00) for

12 issues.

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings. P. O.

Drawer 11666, Raleigh, N C 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include a reference to the Statutory

Authority for the action, the time and place of the public hearing

and a statement of how public comments may be submitted to

the agency either at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the

proposed rule or amendment: and the proposed effective date

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings has

authority to publish a summary, rather than the full text, of any

amendment which is considered to be too lengthy In such case,

the full text of the rule containing the proposed amendment will

be available for public inspection at the Rules Division of the

Office of Administrative Hearings and at the office of the

promulgating agency.

Following publication of the proposal in the North Carolina

Register, at least 60 days must elapse before the agency may take

action on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

any adopted or amended rule with the Office of .Administrative

Hearings. If it differs substantially from the proposed form

published as part of the public notice, the adopted version will

again be published in the North Carolina Register

A rule, or amended rule, cannot become effective earlier than

the first day of the second calendar month after the adoption is

filed.

Profwsed action on rules may be withdrawn by the pro-

mulgating agency at any time before final action is taken by the

agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature, some
agencies may issue temporary rules. A temfxjrai7 rule becomes

effective when adopted and remains in effect for the period

specified in the rule or 120 days, whichever is less. An agency

adopting a temporary rule must begin normal rule-making

procedures on the permanent rule at the same time the temporai7

rule is adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15.000 letter size, single spaced pages
of material of which approximately 35^ is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.
l508-63(b)

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters Each stale agency

IS assigned a separate title which is further broken down by
chapters. Title 2 1 is designaisd for CKCupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two formats.

( 1

)

In looseleaf pages at a minimum cost of two dollars and
50 cents (S2 50) for 10 pages or less, plus fifteen cents

($0.15) per each additional page

(2) On microfiche The microfiche edition is revised semi-

annually (March and October) and can be purchased for

forty dollars ($40 00) per edition. Due to the volume
of the Code, the complete copy can only be purchased on
microfiche. The NCAC on microfiche is updated

monthly by publication of a "List of Rules Affected'

which jets out rules filed the previous month, the action

taken, and the effective date of the change This list is

published in the North Carolina Register

Requests for looseleaf pages of rules .'r the NCAC on
microfiche should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the procedures to

be followed For specific statutory language, it is suggested that

Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes by

examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1 , Issue 1 , pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April 1. 1986.

North Carolina Register Published monthly by the

Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B

of the General Statutes. Subscriptions ninety-five dollars

($95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code Published in

March and October by the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P. 0. Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, Nonh Carolina

27604, pursuant to Chapter 1508 of the General Statutes.

Subscriptions forty dollars ($40.00) per edition.
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EXECUTIVE
ORDERS

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 34

GOVERNOR'S PROGRAM TO
ENCOURAGE BUSINESS
ENTERPRISES OWNED BY
MINORITY, WOMEN AND
DISABLED PERSONS

It is my policy that the State of

North Carolina shall enhance and
promote economic opportunities for

all of its citizens without regard to

race, gender or handicap.

Therefore, by the authority vested

in me as Governor by the

Constitution and laws of North

Carolina, it is ORDERED:

Section 1. FstahlisVimpnt

(A) There is hereby established

the Governor's Program to

Encourage Business Enterprises

Owned by Minority, Women and

Disabled Persons.

(B) The Program shall be

coordinated by the Governor's

Director of Minority Affairs and
administered by the Division of

Purchase and Contract of the

Department of Administration.

(C) The purposes of the Program
are to enhance and promote
economic opportunities for all of its

citizens without regard to race,

gender or handicap by:

(1) increasing the amount of

goods and services acquired by
the State from businesses owned
by minorities, women and
disabled persons;

(2) ensuring the absence of

barriers that reduce participation

of minorities, women and
disabled persons in the State's

purchasing process;

(3) encouraging the State's

purchasing olficers to identify

prospective iniiiorities, women
and disabled vendors and scr\ ice

providers;

(4) promoting awareness

among minorities, women and
disabled persons of

opportunities to do business

with State government.

(D) The Program objective for

fiscal 1986-87 is for business owned
by minorities, women and disabled

persons to receive a minimum of

four percent of the State's contract

purchases. By order of the

Governor, this percentage may be

increased on an annual basis.

Section 2. AHministratinn

(A) The Secretary of

Administration shall provide

assistance on a project basis to the

Director of Minority Affairs.

(B) The Division of Purchase

and Contract, Department of

Administration shall assist each

department in developing a plan and

provide technical assistance to reach

the set objectives.

(C) Each Department Head shall

designate from the existing

purchasing staff of such Department

a coordinator for the Program. The
name of said designee shall be

forwarded to the Director of

Minority Affairs.

(D) The Minority Business

Development Agency, Small

Business Division of the Department

of Commerce shall continue to

certify that business enterprises

owned by minorities, women and
disabled persons are in fact owned
by those classified entrepreneurs,

rhis agency shaO also provide

technical assistance to businesses

interested in the Program.

(E) The Division of Purchase

and Contract shall prepare and make
available a directory of business

enterprises owned by minorities,

women and disabled persons firms

to departmental personnel to

facilitate the accomplishment of the

Program.

Section 3. Rrpnrting and
Fv.^lii.Ttinn

(A) I'he Director of Minority

Affairs shall monitor and evaluate

the I'rogram and report on a

quarterly basis to Department
lleaiis riie Director siiall also

coiuiutt re\iew meetings wilii all

coorilinating agencies and

Dep;u1nient Heads on an as needed

basis.

(B) The Division of Purchase

and Contract shall report purchases

and contract opportunities and

purchase and contract awards on a

NORTH CAROUiSA REGISTER



montlil\ basis to the Director of

Minonty /VfTairs.

Section 4. Pnrir fJniiTs

All prior l'xeeuti\e Orders or

portions of pnor li.\eeuti\e Orders

inconsistent herewith are hereb\

repealed.

This Order is effective the 27th day

of Februars-, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NLMBER 35

TRANSFERRI.NG THE STATE
INFORMATION PROCESSING
SERVICES (SIPS) TO THE
OFFICE OF THE STATE

CONTROLLER

Article III, Section 5(10) of the

constitution of North Carolina

authorizes ;ind empowers the

Governor to make such changes in

the allocation of offices and agencies

and in the allccation of those

functions, powers and duties as he

considers necessary for efficient

administration of State Go\eminent.
N.C.G.S. 143B-12 authorizes and
empowers the Governor to assign or

reassign the duties and tunctions of

the Hxecuti\e Branch among tiie

principal State Departments. I he

State Information Processing

Services (SIPS), a Section of the

Division of Governmental
Operations of the Department of

Administration created to pro\ide

those information processing services

listed in N.C.G.S. 143-341(9), the

telecommunication services listed in

N.C.G.S. 143-340(14), and other

related services to State Government,
and to act as the staff of the

Computer Commission established

pursuant to N.C.G.S. 1438-426.21,

is currently under the supervision

and control of the Secretary of the

Department of Administration.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS

ORDERED:

Section 1. SUPERVISION
The functions and povv ers of the

Secretary of the Department of

Administration relating to the

administration of the State

Information Processing Services

(SIPS) are hereby transferred to the

State Controller. These functions,

powers and duties include but are

not Lrmited to the authoritv to carry

out the provisions of N.C.G.S.

143-341(9), 143-340(14), the staff

and services provisions of

143B-426.21, ;ind any other duties

that are currently or that may in the

future be assigned to the State

Information Processing Services

(SIPS), either by statute or by
agreement among the various State

Departments, Commissions or other

entities of State Government.
Section 2. EMPLOYEES
State employees currently employed

by the State Information Processing

Services (SIPS) who are under the

supervision of the Department of

Administration are hereby

transferred to the supervision of the

Office of the State Controller.

Personnel transfers pursuant to this

Order shall not affect an employee's

pay grade, vacation leave, sick leave,

retirement, or longevity.

This Executive Order is effective

.March 4, 1987, and shall remain
effective unless rescinded by further

Executive Order.

'ITiis the 4th day of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 36

GOVERNOR'S TASK FORCE
ON THE FARM ECONOMY IN

NORTH CAROLINA AND GOVERNOR'S
ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON
AGRICULTURAL PARKS

By authority vested in me as

Governor by the Constitution and
Laws of North Carolina, it is

ORDERED:
Srrtinn J_ There is hereby

established the Governor's Task
Force on The Farm Economy in

North Carolina.

Srrtinn 2. The Governor shall

appoint at least thirty (30) persons

as members of the Task Force.

Members shall include

representatives from the various

areas of North Carolina in order that

all rural regions of the State shall be

represented. .Members shall include

representatives from:

A. Fanners engaged in the

various aspects of farming practiced

in North Carolina;

B. Food processors including

seafood processors;

.\ORTH CAROLISA REGISTER



C. Wholesale and retail vendors

of food in North Carolina.

D. Bankers; and

E. Representatives from colleges

and universities involved in rural

economic development.

In addition to those

representatives set forth above, the

following State agencies shall be

represented by one or more
members who shall serve as

ex-ofiicio advisors to the Task
Force, as designated by the

Governor: Department of

Commerce, Department of

Transportation, Department of

Natural Resources and Community
Development, State Budget Office,

and Employment Security

('ommission.

The Governor shall designate the

Chairman of the Task Force and all

members shall serve at the pleasure

of the Governor,
."sprtinn 3. The Task Force shall

meet in Raleigh monthly or more
often as directed by the Chairman.
The Chairman is authorized to

convene meetings or conduct
hearings outside of Raleigh where he

deems appropriate.

Snrtinn 4. The Task Force shall

have the following responsibilities:

A. Assess immediate problems
facing the farm economy in North
Carolina and develop proposals for

immediate action to solve those

problems.

B. After consultation with the

Governor's Advisory Committee on
Agricultural Parks, make
recommendations to the Governor
foi the development of agricultural

parks in all sections of North
Carolina.

C. Develop a comprehensive
strategy to further the development
of food processing in North
Carolina.

D. Review and make
recommendations to coordinate

State agencies' activities with local

rural leaders in improving the farm
economy in North Carolina.

Sr.fitinn 5. There is hereby
established a Governor's Advisory
Committee on Agricultural Parks.

Srntinn 6. The Go\ emor shall

appoint at least seven (7) persons as

members of the Committee. The

Governor shall designate the

Chairman of the Committee; all

members shall serve at the pleasure

of the Governor.
Sf-rfinn 2- The Advisory Committee
shall meet monthly in Raleigh or

more often as directed by the

Chairman. The Chairman may
convene meetings or conduct

hearings outside of Raleigh when he

deems appropriate.

Sfrtinn S- The Committee shall

study the feasibility of developing

agricultural parks in all sections of

North Carolina and present its

findings to the Governor's Task
Force on The Farm Economy in

North Carolina.

SJi'^tinii 2. The Department of

("omnierce shall provide necessary

staffuig and administrative support

for the Task Force and the Advisory

Committee, including per diem
travel and subsistence for members
of the Task Force and the Advisory

Committee. Other State

departments and agencies shall assist

the Task Force in its undertakings

by rendering such technical advice

and assistance to it as from time to

tmie is requested.

Sertinn IQ. Members of the Task
Force and Advisory Committee shall

be entitled to such per diem and
reimbursement for travel and
subsistence expense as may be

authorized for members of state

boards and commissions generally.

Spntinn J_L This Order shall

become effective immediately and
shall remain in effect until

terminated by further Executive

Order.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina,

this 6th day of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NU.MBER 37

NORTH CAROLINA RESPONSE
TO AND MANAGEMENT OE
FEDERAL RESTRICTIONS ON
PRIVATE ACI IVTTV UONDS
AND LOW-INCOME IIOLSING

TAX CKEDIIS

As Governor of North Carolina it

has been made to appear to me
upon satisfactory' information

furnished to me as follows:

1. The Tax Reform Act of

1984 established a federal

^ORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



volume limitation on the

aggregate amount of "private

activity bonds" that may be

issued by each state. The
interest on private activity

bonds is exempt from federal

income taxation.

2. Pursuant to Section 103(n)

of the Internal Revenue Code of

1954 as amended, a previous

(jo\cmor of North ("arolina

issued I'^xecuti\c Order 11.^

proclaiming a fonnula lor

allocating the federal volume
limitation for North Carolina.

3. On October 22, l')Sf), the

Tax Reform Act of 1986,

hereinafter referred to as the

"Act" was enacted.

4. The Act establishes (a) a

new unified volume limitation

for private activity bonds on a

state by state basis, (b) a new
definition of the types of prisate

activity bonds to be included

under those new limitations, (c)

a new low-income housing

credit to induce the construction

of and the improvement of

housing for low-income people,

and (d) limits the aggregate use

of this low-income housing
credit on a state by state basis.

5. The Act provides for federal

formulas for the allocation of

these "state by state" resources,

and also provides that individual

states may, within certain

limitations, provide different

allocation formulas.

6. The Act gives interim

authority for the Governor of

each state to formulate and
execute plans for allocation.

7. Section 146 of the Internal

Revenue Code of 1986, as

amended, and Section 42 of the

Internal Revenue Code of 1986

as amended will require

continued inquiry and study in

the ways in which North
Carolina can best and most
fairly manage and utilize

resources provided therein.

NOW, IT IS THEREFORE
ORDERED, pursuant to the

authority vested in me by the laws

and the C.~onstitution of North

Carohna:

Section 1. ESTABLISHMENT.
The North Carolina Federal Tax
Reform Allocation Committee,
hereinafter referred to as the

"Committee", is hereby estabhs>^ed.

The Committee is a continuation of

the Interim Private Activity Bond
Allocation Committee established

under Executive Order 28 and
amended under Executive Order 31.

The Sccret;ir\' of the I")epartment of

Commerce, the Executive Assistant

to the Ciovemor for Budget and
Management and the State Treasurer

shall constitute the membership of

this Committee. The Secretary of

the Department of Commerce shall

serve as Chairman of the

Committee.
Section 2. DUTIES.
The Committee shall have the

following duties;

A. Manage the allocation of tax

exempt private activity bonds and
low-income housing credits and
receive advice from bond issuers,

elected officials, and the General

Assembly.
B Continue to monitor bond

markets, economic development
financing trends, housing markets,

and tax incentives available to

mduce events and programs
favorable to North Carolina, its

cities and counties, and individual

citizens, and
C. Continue to study the ways

in which North Carolina can best

and most fairly manage and utilize

the allocation of private activity

bonds and low income housing
credits.

D. Report to the Governor,

Lieutenant Governor and the

Speaker of the House of the General

Assembly as requested and on not

less than an annual basis.

E. Make the State Certification

as described m Section 149(e) of the

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as

amended, and may designate an
individual to make this certification.

Section 3. riLLOCATION.
To provide for the orderly and
prompt issuance of private activity

bonds and the use of low income
housing credits there arc hereby

proclaimed formulas for allocating

the unified volume limitation and

i\ORTH CAROLI.\A REGISTER



the state housing credit ceiling. The

unified volume Limitation and the

state housing credit ceiling each shall

be considered as a single resource to

be allocated under this Executive

Order. The Committee shall issue

allocations of the unified volume
limitation and shall issue allocations

of the state housing credit ceiling.

The Committee shall set forth

procedures for making such

allocations and in the making of

such allocations shall take into

consideration the best interest of the

State of North Carolina with regard

to the economic development and
general prosperity of the people of

North Carolina.

Section 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
AND EXPIRATION DATE.

This Executive Order shall become
effective immediately and will expire

February 1, 1989.

This the 13th day of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 38

AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE
ORDER NUMBER 32

By authority vested in me as

Governor by the Constitution and
laws of North Carolina, it is ordered:

"sprtinn i_ The rinypmnr's

T itprary Cniinril was established

pursuant to Executive Order
Number 32, on the 16th day of

February, 1987.

Srrtinn 2. The Title of the

Council formed by Executive Order
32 is hereby changed to the

Gnvt^mor's rnmmissinn Qa
I itprary

Sprtinn 3. All other sections

and provisions of Executive Order
32 shall remain in effect.

This order is effective this 1 2th day
of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 39

BO.\RD OI TRUSTEES OK THE
NORTH CAKOl INA I'UHI.IC

EMI'I OVEI DIM RREI)
COMI'l NSAllON I'l AN

I'xccutivc Order Nunitifr 10'),

executed on July 31, 19S4, expired

on July 30, 1986, in accordance with

\ C r. S 147-16.2. Ihis Executive

Order established the Board of

Trustees of the North Carolina

Deferred Compensation Plan and
the guidelines under which the plan

was to be administered. The

Deferred Compensation Program is

an important part of the fmancial

planning and security of the public

employees of the State of North
Carolina.

NOW, THEREFOR, IT IS

HEREBY ORDERED:

.Srrtinn 1 ESTABLISHMENT.
Pursuant to NCOS 143b-426.24,

there is hereby established a Board
of Trustees of the North Carolina

Public Employee Deferred

Compensation Plan, which shall

assume all authority, responsibilities

and functions of the Board
established on July 31, 1984, by
Executive Order Number 109.

S.-rtion ? MEMBERSHIP AND
FUNCTIONS.
The membership of the Board and

its duties shall be as provided in

\ C n S 143B-426.24. The terms

of the members shall be as provided

i;i \ r r. <; 143B-426.24. The
Secretary of Administration shall

supply the Board with aU

administrative, legal, fmancial and
personnel services that may be

required by the Board. Guidelines

for the funding for these services will

be supplied by the Secretary of

Administration as provided in

KCn'i 143B-426.24(1) and (m).

Tliis Order shall be effective .

inimediately.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina,

this the 16thday of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 40

GOVERNOR'S COMMISSION
FOR THE FAMILY

Vhe foundation of our great State

is in jeopardy because of increasing

threats to the family unit related to

social, economic, health, stress and
other factors.

riic .Slate of Noilii ("aroliiia inust

c;irefully consider ways uoveniiiieiil

policies contribute to tlie problems
wliich cause the weakeiiiiig and
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break-up of the traditional family

unit, in addition to promoting
positive means of strengthening our

nation's families.

Therefore, by the authority vested

in me as Governor by the

Constitution and laws of North
(Carolina, it is ordered:

Section 1. I-SIABI ISI1M1;N1-
The Cjovernors Commission I'or

the I'amily is hereby established.

I'he Commission shall be composed
of at least twenty and not more than

thirty members appointed by the

Governor to serve at the pleasure of

the Governor. The Governor shall

designate one of the members as

Chairman and one as

Vice-Chairman. The Secretaries of

the Departments of Human
Resources, Natural Resources and
Community Development,
Administration, Crime Control and
Public Safety, and Cultural

Resources shall be ex-officio

members. The members appointed

by the Governor shall be

representatives from the following

areas:

( 1 ) Private business and
community leaders;

(2) Law Enforcement;

(3) At least one representative

of the North Carolma Fund for

Children and Families

Commission;
(4) Judicial System; and

(5) Volunteers who have

exhibited an interest in family

issues.

Section 2. FUNCTIONS
( 1 ) The Commission shall

meet regularly at the call of the

chairman or the Governor.

The Commission is authorized

to conduct public hearings if it

deems them to be necessar>'.

(2) The Commission shall have

the foUowing duties:

(a) Heighten public awareness

of the need to strengthen

families at the community level

by involving civic, cultural,

religious, and governmental

leaders;

(b) Work with other groups

interested in reducing

economic stress for families;

(c) Review state laws,

policies, and programs which
have impact on families;

(d) Foster neighborhood
development supportive of

families (e.g. community-^ ide

after-school and summer
cultural recreational and sports

programs, using public/pri\ate

partnership approach);

(e) Ad\pcate for education

and support programs for all

first-time parents and for

families under stress because of

disabilities and illnesses

affecting family members;
(f) Advocate for workplace

programs and policies

supportive of families;

(g) Encourage private sector

involvement and help to

coordinate private groups and
business activity in various

areas identified as needs in

today's society;

(h) Consider new prevention,

intervention, and treatment

programs designed to assist

families, including health and
safety issues;

(i) Review existing family

strengthening activities within

and outside North Carolina;

(j) Encourage the enforcement

and further development of

laws affecting abuse of

children, spouses, and senior

citizens;

(k) Coordinate the

implementations of the

recommendations of the

Governor's Commission on
Child Victimization;

(1) Work closely with the

Judicial Coordinating

Councils;

(m) .Advocate for more
adequate training about the

prevention of family violence

among professions in human
services, law enforcement, and
the judiciary;

(n) Encourage the use of

volunueers in all programs
involving families; and

(o) Work with the North

Carolina 1-und for Children

and Families Commission.

Section 3. ADMINISTRATION
In support of the Commission,
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a staff of three will be created:

(1) An Executive Director,

Deputy Director, and
Administrative Secretary shall

be appointed by the Secretary of

the Department of Human
Resources and serve at his

pleasure. Funds shall be

authorized and made available

by the Department of Human
Resources with possible

assistance from other

departments.

(2) Members of the

Commission may be reimbursed

for necessary travel and
subsistence expenses as

authorized by N.C.G.S. 138-5.

Funds for reimbursement of

such expenses shall be made
available from funds authorized

by the Department of Human
Resources.

Section 4. IMIMJiMI'N lA I ION
AND DIJRA'I ION

(1) This order shall be cfTective

immediately.

(2) The Commission shall

dissolve at the pleasure of the

Governor, but no later than

September 30, 1988.

Done in Raleigh, North ('arolina,

this 16th day of March, 1987.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 41

GOVERNOR'S TASK FORCE
ON DEVELOP.MENT OF
PRIVATE SEED VENTURE

CAPITAL SOURCES
By authority vested in me as

Cjovemor by the Constitution anil

laws of North Carolina it is ordered:

Si-.rtinn J- i;S TABI.ISI IMIiN T

(a) There is hereby established

the Governor's Task Force on the

Development of Private Seed

Venture Capital Sources.

(b) The Task Force shall consist

of not less than twelve members
who shall be appointed by the

Governor. The Governor shall

designate the chairman of the Task
Force and all Task Force members
shall serve at the pleasure of the

Governor.

(c) Persons appointed shall be
citizens who have demonstrated
interest, involvement, or expertise in

development of" sources of venture

capital.

Scrtinn 2. FUNCTIONS
(a) The Task Force is authorized

to meeting regularly at the call of the

chairman, the Governor, or the

Secretary of the Department of

Commerce.
(b) The Task Force shall have

the following duties:

1. Determine the necessary

steps to encourage development

in North Carolina of a private

seed venture capital fund,

including any legislative

changes.

2. Review and recommend
mechanisms for coordination of

available sources of private seed

venture capital with identified

needs for private seed venture

capital.

3. Such other duties as may be

assigned by the Governor or the

Secretary of the Department of

Commerce.
SixlimiJL ADMINISIRAIION

(a) Heads of the State

Departments and Agencies shall, to

the extent permitted by law, provide

the Task Force information as may
be required by the Task Force in

carrying out the purpose of this

order.

(b) The Department of

Commerce shall provide staff and

support services as directed by the

Secretary of the Department of

Commerce.
(c) Members of the Task Force

shall serve without compensation,

but may receive reimbursement

contingent on the availability of

funds for travel ;md subsistence

expenses in accordance with state

guidelines and procedures.

S.Ttinn 4 REPORTS
The Task Force shall present

a report of recommendations to

encourage development of a private

seed venture capital fund to the

Governor and the Secretary of the

Department of Commerce by not

later than the 1st day of September,

1987.

Scclinni PRIOR ORDERS
All prior executive orders or

portions of prior executive orders

inconsistent herewith arc hereby

repealed.
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This order is effective this the 2()th

day of March, 1987.

EXKCUTIVi; OKDLK NLMIIKR 42

STATi; BLILDliNG COMMISSION
By the authority vested in me as

Governor by the Constitution and
laws of North Carolina it is

ORDERED:
(a) A State Building Commission

is created within the Department of

Administration to assist the

Secretary of Administration in

developing procedures to guide the

State's capital facilities development
and management program.

(b) The Commission shall consist

of twelve members appointed by the

Governor and qualified as foUows:

(1) The Secretary of the

Department of Administration

who shall serve as Chairman

(2) The State Budget OfTiccr.

(3) A licensed architect whose
primary practice is in the design

of buUdings.

(4) A registered engineer whose
primary' practice is in the design

of engineered systems for

buildmgs.

(5) A licensed building

contractor whose primary'

business is in the construction

of buildings.

(6) A hcensed electrical

contractor whose primary

business is in the installation of

electrical systems for buildings.

(7) A licensed real estate

broker, or other person, whose
primary business is in property

and facilities management.

(8) A licensed mechanical

contractor whose primary
business is in the installation of

mechanical systems for

buildings.

(9) A manager of physical

plant operations whose
responsibilities are in the

operations and maintenance of

physical facilities.

(10) A certified planner whose
primary' practice is in urban

design and land use planning.

(11) A public member who is

knowledgeable in building

construction or building

maintenance.

(12) The Chairman of the

Capital Building Authority.

In appointing members (3) througli

(10) the Cjovemor shall seek and
consider nominations from the

professional associations, councils or

institutes representing the various

disciplines or professions.

The terms of the Secretary of the

Department of Administration and
the State Budget Officer shall be

coterminous with their terms of

office. The other 10 members shall

be appointed for siaggered two-year

terms: I'rovided, however, the initial

terms of members appointed

pursuant to subdivisions (3), (5), (7),

(9) and (11) shall expire June 30,

1990, and the initial terms of

members appointed pursuant to (4),

(6), (8), (10) and (12) shaU expire

June 30, 1989. Members may serve

no more than six consecutive years.

Vacancies in appointments shall

be filled by the Governor for the

remainder of any unexpired terms.

Persons appointed to fill vacancies

shall qualify in the same manner as

persons appointed for fuU terms.

(c) The Commission shall meet
at least four times a year on or

about January' 15, April 15, July 15

and October 1 5, and upon the call of

the chairman.

(d) Members of the Commission
shall be reimbursed for travel and
subsistence as provided in G.S.

138-5. Members who are State

officers or employees shall be

reimbursed for travel and subsistence

as provided in G.S. 138-6.

(e) The State BuUding
Commission shall have the following

duties:

( 1 ) To assist the Office of State

Construction in developing an
inventory' of the State's

buildings and their current

conditions, identify future

building needs and develop a

statewide building and

maintenance program to meet

the current and future needs of

the State and its agencies and

institutions.

(2) To propose procedures to

the Secretary of the Department
of Administration for evaluating

the work performed by

designers and contractors on
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State capital improvement
projects.

(3) To provide advice and

assistance to the Capital

Building Authority in

establishing and implementing

procedures and criteria for the

selection of designers based on
qualifications and experience to

be appUcable to all capital

improvement projects.

(4) To propose rules to the

Secretary of the Department of

Administration for coordinating

the plan review, approval and
permit process for State capital

improvement projects.

(5) To propose rules to the

Secretary of the Department of

Administration for establishing

a post-occupancy evaluation,

annual inspection and
preventive maintenance
program for all State buildings.

(6) To study ;md recommend
ways to the Secretary of the

Department of Administration

to improve the effectiveness and
efliciency for the planning,

design, construction and
operation of State facihties and
acquisition, allocation.

disposition and management of

State-owned properties.

(7) To perform any other

duties that may be assigned by
the Governor.

(f) As used herein, "State

Capital improvement project" means
the construction of and any
iteration, renovation, or addition to

State buildings, as defuied in G.S.

143-336, for which State funds, as

dcfuicd in G.S. 143-1, are used and
which is required by G.S. 143-129 to

be pubUcly advertised.

(g) The Office of State

Construction of the Department of

Administration shall provide staff

assistance to the State Building

Commission.
(h) The Director of the Office

of State Construction shall be a

registered engineer or Ucensed

architect appointed by the Secretary

of the Department of Administration

who is technically qualified by

educational background and
professional experience in building

design, construction, or facilities

management.

Done .March 23, 1987.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. I20-30.9H. effective July 16. 1986, requires thai all letters and other

documents issued by the Attorney General of the United States in which a final

decision is made concerning a "change affecting voting" under Section 5 of the

Voting Rights Act of / 965 be published in the \'nrrh Cnmlinn Rpgi';tpr
J

U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:MAI':TGL:imc
DJ 166-012-3

R6925-6926
R7953

March 10, 1987

Michael CroweU, Esq.

Thanington, Smith & Hargrove

P. O. Box 1151

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Dear Mr. CroweU;

This refers to the increase in the length of terms from two to four years,

the staggermg of terms, and a change in the method of filling vacancies for the

Town of Enfield in Halifax County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney

General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as ammended,
42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your initial submission on January 9, 1987;

supplemental information was received on February 24, 1987.

The Attorney General docs not interpose any objections to the change in

question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the

Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to

object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of

such changes. See Section 51.41 of the Procedures for the Administration of

Section 5 |52 Fed. Reg. 496 (1987)]

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones

Chief, Voting Section
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U. S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:SSC;KIF:gmh
DJ 166-012-3

R8220

March 25, 1987

Robert C. Cogswell, Jr., Esq.

City Attorney

P. O. Box 1513

FayetteviUe, North Carolina 28302

Dear Mr. Cogswell:

This refers to the November 4, 1986, bond election for the City of

FayetteviUe in Cumberland County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney

Cjcneral pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42

U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on March 16, 1987. In accordance

with your request, expedited consideration has been given this submission
pursuant to Section 51.34 of the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5

1(52 Fed. Reg. 495(1987))].

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the change in

question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the

Voting Rights act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to

object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of

such change. In addition, as authorized by Section 5, the Attorney General

reserves the right to reexamine this submission if additional information that

would otherwise require an objection comes to his attention during the

remainder of the sixty-day review period. See ;dso Sections 51.41 and 51.43 [(52

Fed. Reg. 496(1987))].

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

(lerald W. Jones

Cliief, Voting Section
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U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:MAI':ST;gmh
DJ 166-012-3

R6231

March 16, 1987

Jesse L. Warren, lisq.

City Attorney
Drawer W-2
Greensboro, North Carolina 27402

Dear Mr. Warren:

This refers to the January 5, 1987, annexation to the City of

Greensboro in Guilford County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney

General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42

use. 1973c. We received your submission on January 16, 1987.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the change in

question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the

Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to

object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of

such change. See Section 51.41 of the Procedures for the Administration of

Section 5 [(52 Fed. Reg. 496 (1987))].

Future submissions under Section 5 should be addressed to the Chief,

Voting Section, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice, Washington, D.C.
20530. The envelope and first page should be marked: Submission under
Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. See also Section 51.24 [(52 Fed. Reg. 493

(1987))|.

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds

Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones

Chief, Voting Section
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 1 - ADMIMSTRATION

Notice is hereby gi\'en in accordance

with G.S. J508- J2 thai the

Department of Administration intends

to amend regulation cited as J

NCAC 35 .0406.

The proposed effective date of this

action is August J, 1987

.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 2:00 p.m. on May 21. 1987 at

Advisory Budget Commission
Conference Room, A dministration

Building, Fifth Floor, 116 West Jones

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina

27611.

Comment Procedures: Any
interested person may present his or

her views and comments either in

writing prior to or at the hearing or

orally at the hearing. Any person

may request information, permission

to be heard or copies of the proposed
regulations by writing or calling Fran
Tomlin, Department of
Administration, 116 W. Jones Street.

Raleigh, N.C. 27611, (919)
733-7232.

CHAPTER 35 - STATE EMPLOYEES
COMBINED CAMPAIGN

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL
PROVISIONS

.0406 DISTRIBUTION OF
UNDESIGNATED FUNDS

(^ £«f the 1984 Campaign , » the

event that aa employee docs not
designate which agency of group oi

agencies should benefit , then ike-

fund s wtU be divided between the

United Way a»4 N'HA according ta

a formula mutually agreed upon bv
tho se agencies an4 approved by the

Statewide

Committee .

Campaign Advi sor) '

h i^ the expre s s inteni

ef the department ta

utili-gc thi^ approach
only fof the 19 8 -

1

campaign because

there i^; insufficient

statewide experience ta

usQ as a bn^is for

di stributing

undesignated pledges

among participator)'

agencies other than

United Way. and NHA
and because any
participating agencie s

would have in sufficient

experience in

combined campaign
process ,

( b) .After 1984, each local

campaign manager u4U distribute

undesignated funds in the same
proportion as employees designated

fund s iof approved participatory

agencies .

All contributions made through the

S.H.C.C. shall be designated to a

particular recipient. Any monies not

specifically designated to a particular

recipient shall be deemed designated

to the proper county/local S.E.C.C.

committee for distribution.

Statutory

147-62.

Authority G.S. I43B-I0;

TITLE 2 - DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. I50B-I2 that the N.C.

Plant Conservation Board intends to

amend regulations cited as 2 NCAC
JOG .0301 and .0302.

The proposed effective date of this

action is September J, 1987

.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 9:00 a.m. on June 26, 1987 at

Board Room, Agriculture Bldg., I W.
Edenton St., Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Interested

persons may present statements either

orally or in writing at the public

hearing or in writing prior to the

hearing by mail addressed to Rob
Sutter, N.C. Plant Conservation

Hoard. P.O. Box 27647. Raleigh.

North Carolina, 276/1.

(MAPI ER 10 - PESTICIDE AND PLANT
PROTECTION

SUBCHAPTER lOG - PLANT INDUSTRY

SECTION .0300 - ENDANGERED PLANT
SPECIES LIST: THREATENED

PLANT SPECIES LIST:
LIST OF SPECIES OF
SPECIAL CONCERN

.0301 ENDANGERED PLANT
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PROPOSED RULES

SPECIES LIST

As authonzcd by G.S. 106-202.12

through 106-202.19 of the Plant

Protection and Conservation Act of

1979, the North Carolina Plant

Conservation Board hereby

establishes the following list of

endangered plant species:

(6) Bryocrumia andersonii --

(Bailr ) /Xnders. Ciorge moss:

^ ('i<rt;x "Kltmorcana —
Mm Kcn/.iu BiUinon; St\ lgi.

'

,

(10) ( 'arex barnillii --

Schweiiiil/. and ~i t)rrey Bairatts

Sedge;

(444 Coreopsi iS l atifoli a —
iVhchaux Broadleaf Coreopsis ;

(28) L indera subcoreacea --

Wofford Bob Spice Bush;

(31) Orthotrichum kceverac -_^

Crum & Anders. Keever's

bristle moss;

(32) Oxypolis canbyi --

(Coult. & Rose) Fern. Canby's
cowbanc;

(3;9) Sabatia kennedyana --

Fern. Sea Pink;

^^^2) Sarracenia oreophila

(Kearney) \Vherr\

Pitclier Plant,

(Jreen

Statutory Authoritv G.S. 106-202.12

through 106-202.19.

.0302 THREATENED PLANT
SPECIES LIST

As authorized by G.S. 106-202.12

through 106-202.19 of the Plant

Protection and Conservation Act of

1979, the North Carolina Plant

Conservation Board hereby
establishes the following list of
threatened plant species:

(1) .Ainaranthus pumilus ^ Raf.

Scabeach Amaranth;
(6) C:trex conoidca -- Willd.

Cone-shaped Sgdge;

(9) Coreopsis latifoha -- Michaux
Broad-lea\cd lickseed;

(12) Fimbnstslis perpusiila --

Auth.

(29) Schlothcmia lancifolia -j_

Bartr. lliiihlands moss;

(32) I'helyptcris sunulata --

(Davcnp-i Nieuwl. Bog Icm;

Statutory .-luthority G.S. 106-202.12

through 106-202.19.

TITLE 4 - DEPARTMENT OF
COMMERCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. I50B-I2 that the

Department of Commerce intends to

amend regulation cited as 4 NCAC
IF .0306.

The proposed effective date of this

action is August 1 . 1987

.

The public hearing will he conducted
at 10:00 a.m. on May 15, I9S7 at

Commerce Hearing Room Number
6158. Dobbs Building. 430 N.
Salisbivy Street, Raleigh, N.C.
27611.

Comment Procedures: Comments
may be given in either written or oral

statements. Written statements not

presented at the hearing may be

directed to Leo Tilley, Assistant

Secretary of Commerce. Public

Hearing is scheduled for May 15,

1987 at 10:00 a.m. in Room 6158 of
the Dobbs Building located on 430
North Salisbury Street, Raleigh,' N .C.

CHAPTER 1 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES

SLBCIIAPIER IE- GUARANTY
AGAINST LOSS RESERVES AND
LOANS FOR BASIC INDUSTRIAL

BUILDINGS

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION
PROCEDURES

.0306 STAFF APPROVAL AND REVIEW
(c) In determining his decision, the

secretary will give funding priorities

to the projects which meet the

highest number of 12 review criteria.

In the event that several projects

have the same relative standing in

relation to the review criteria,

primary funding preference will be
given to those projects located in

towns which have met the

qualifications for the designation as a

community of excellence and those

communities of less than 15,000

population. If a project is approved,

it will be funded for a period of one
year, or up to fifty thousand dollars

($50,000.00), plus accruing interest.

However, if a project is located in a

community of less than 15,000

population, the secretar>' may agree

to increase the funding for that

project to amounts of up to Qf»
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hundred thousand doUars

($100
,
00 . 00) , two hundred fifty

thousand dollars ($250,000.00), or

for a twa three- year period of time,

plus accruing uiterest.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I43B-430.

I43B-429:

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OE
HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. I50B-I2 that the

Commission for Mental Health,

Mental Retardation and Substance

Abuse Services intends to adopt

regulation cited as 10 NCAC I8J
.0604 and amend regulations cited as

10 NCAC 181 .0/20: I8Q .0702; 45G
.030/; 45H .0202, .0203, .0204 and
.0205.

The proposed effective date of this

action is August / , /987.

The public hearing will be conducted
at /0:45 a.m. on May 20, /987 at

The Governor's Room, Sheraton

Crabtree, 450/ Creedmore Road.
Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Any
interested person may present his/her

views and comments by oral

presentation at the hearing or by

submitting a written statement.

Persons wishing to make oral

presentations should contact: Jackie

Stalnaker, A PA Coordinator,

Division of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse
Scnices, 325 N. Salisbury Street.

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

(9/9) 733-797! by May 19. /9S7.

The hearing record will remain open

for written comments for 30 days

from April 20, /987 through May /9,

/9S7. Written comments must be

sent to the APA Coordinator at the

address specified above by .May /9,

1987 and must state the proposed
rule or rules to which the comments
are addressed.

CIIAPTKR 18- MFNTAL IIKALTll;
OTIIKR I'ROGRAMS

SLHCIIAPTIR 181 - ISSIM lAL
StRVICtS: CKNtRAILY

SI CTION .0100 - PLRI'OSE: SCOPE:
APPLICABILITY AND DEHNITIONS

.0120 ULITNITIONS

{2^ "Deinstitutionali/.alion

Client" mean s an individual wha
i» re siding in a state mental

retardation center , a state

psychiatric hospital , a group
home loF children who are

mentally retarded , a specialijied

community re sidential center iof

children wha a{« mentally

ret^trded , »f- a group home for

individual s who are mentally

retarded and behaviorally

disordered .

Statutory Authority G.S. /43B-/47.

SLIJCHAPTER 18J - ESSENTIAL
SERVICES PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

FOR MENTAL RETARDATION

SECTION .0600 - STATE FACILITY
RELATIONSHIPS

.0604 RESIDENTIAL POPULATION:
GROUP HOMES FOR MR
ADULTS

(a) Hach area program shall assure

that at least one-half of the total

resident population of all group
homes for mentally retarded adults

in its catchment area is comprised of

individuals who Lmmediately prior to

their admission to a group home for

mentally retarded adults were:

(1) residents of a state mental
retardation center, a state

psychiatric hospital, a group
home for children who arc

mentally retarded, a specialized

community residential center for

children who are mentally

retarded, a group home for

individuals who are mcnt;dly

retarded and behaviorally

disordered, or a certified

ICF/MR facility;

(2) continuity of care clients as

defmcdin G.S. 122C-63; or

(3) chents who had been

processed and approved for

admission to a state facihty.

(b) The area program may be

exempt from the requirements in (a)

of this Rule if it is determined and
approved in writing by the

appropnate regional director that

tliere is not a sufficient number of

clients within the catchment area

who fall within the cateuories listed
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PROPOSIiD RULES

m (a) ol this Rule to cnabk- the area

program to comply uith the

requirements of this Rule.

(c) liaeh area program shall

maintain a written record indicating

which clients in its area-operated or

contract group homes for mentally

retarded adults fall within the

categories listed in (a) of this Rule.

Statutory A uthorily

143B- 147.

G.S. 122C-63:

SL BCIlAPTtR 18Q - STANDARDS KOR
OPTIONAL ALCOHOLISM SLRVTCES

PROGRAMS

SECTION .0700 - GROUP HOMES FOR
ADULTS WHO ARE MENTALLY

RETARDED

.0702 POPULATION SERVED
(a) Each group home shall be

designed primarily to ser\'e mentally

retarded individuals who are at least

18 years of age and who are in need

of a superN'ised living environment
within a community setting.

U4 ^ least one -half oi the

resident population ei each group

home , e^ m th« ea«c u4k^ there ar^

several group homes m tb«

catchment area , shall bu^ individuals

uho meet tb^- criteria oi defmjtion oi

"deinstitutionaJi/ation client .

''

(c^ (bo No group home shall

designate any bed for the continuous

provision of respite services.

StatutoiT Authority

I43B-14''.

G.S. I22C-5I:

CHAPTER 45 - NORTH CAROLINA
DRUG CO.MMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 45G

-

MANUl ACTURERS: DIS I RIBUTORS:
DISPENSERS AND RESEARCHERS
OE CONTROI I El) SUBSTANCES

SECTION .0300- PRESCRIPIIONS

.0.301 PRESCRIPTION
REQUIREMENTS GENERALLY

Compliance with the prescription

requirements of the federal law,

inciudinu the requirements presented

m Part b06 of Title 21 of the Code
of I-'cderal Regulations, shall be

deemed compliance under General

Statute Chapter 90, /Vrticle 5.

except tbc transfer oi origin;*l

prescn]ilion information fuF a

controlled >ub>tance listed in

Sehedi il ev U;, ty, cm: V: few liw

purpose ^ refill dispen sing x*, I4at

permis sible between pharmacies at

iittV- time

Statutory Authority

90-106;'I43B-I47.

G.S. 90-100;

SUBCHAPTER 4511 - DRUG
TREATMENT FACILITIES

SECTION .0200 - SCHEDULES OF
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

.0202 SCHEDULE I

(b) Opiates. Unless specifically

excepted or unless listed in another

schedule, any of the following

opiates, including its isomers, esters,

ethers, salts and salts of isomers,

esters and ethers wherever the

existence of such isomers, esters,

ethers and salts is possible within the

specific chemical designation:

^ ..Ufcntanil - mZ
(30) (^ 3-\lethvlfentanyl - 9813

(N-|3-methyl-l-(2-phenylethyl)-

4-pipendyl|-N-phenylpropana-

mide)

[32] (^ l-methyl-4- - 9661

phenyl-4-pro-pionoxypiperi-

dme ' (MPPF) , its optical

isomers, salts an4 salts e£

isomers

(32) P^ l-(2-phen yi - 9663

ethyl)-4-phenyl-4-acet yi

oxypiper-idine (PEPAP) it*

optical isomers , salt* asd *alt*

ef isomers

Stalutorv .Authority

90-89; /'43B-/47.

G.S. 90-88;

.0203 SCHEDULE II

(c) Opiates. Unless specifically

excepted or unless in another

schedule any of the following

opiates, including its isomers, esters,

ethers, salts ;md salts ot isomers,

esters and ethers whenever the

existence of such isomers, esters,

ethers and salts is possible within the

spcciTic chemical designation,

dextrorphan excepted:

(Vl Alfentanil - 9737

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-88;

90-90; 143B- 147.

.0204 SCHEDULE III

(c) Depressants. Unless

specifically excepted or unless listed

in another schedule, any materials,
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compound, mixture or preparation

which contains any quantity of the

following substances having a

depressant effect on the central

nervous system:

(12) "I'iletamine and /ola/.cpam

or any salt thereof-

Some trade or other names for a

tiictarnine-zolazcpam

combination product: Telazol.

Some trade or other names for

tiletamine:

2^ethylamino)-2-(2-thienyl)

-cyclohexanone. Some trade or

other names for zolazepam:

4-(2-fluorophenyl)-6,8-dihydro-

1 ,3.8-trimethylpyrazolo-

|3,4-e|| 1 ,4|-diazepin^^7(TH)-one.

flupyrazapon.-- 7295

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-88;

90-91; I43B-I47.

.0205 SCHEDULE IV

(b) Depressants. Unless

specifically excepted or unless hsted

in another schedule, any materials,

compound, mixture or preparation

which contains any quantity of the

foUowing substances, including its

salts, isomers and salts of isomers

whenever the existence of such salts,

isomers and salts of isomers is

possible within the specific chemical

designation:

(1) Alprazolam -- 2882

(2) Barbital - 2145

(3) Bromazepam -j_ 2748

(4) Camazcpam -j_ 2749

(J) (5) Chloral bctame -- 2460

(4^ (6) Chloral hydrate - 2465

(4) (7] Chlordiazcpoxidc - 2744

(8) Clobazam - 2751

^ (9} Clonazepam -- 2737

^ QO] Clorazepate -- 2768

(11) Clotiazepam - 2752

(12) Cloxazolam - 2753

(13) Delorazcpam - 2754

(^ (J42 Diazepam -- 2765

(15) Estazolam - 2756

(% (^ l:thchlor^vnor-- 2540

irm (iZl 1-thinamate - 2545
(IX) Hthyl lollazepate - 275S

(!')) rTTidlazcpaiii - 27.S9

(21)) l-luiiilraA-palu ;^ 2763

(-U4 (21) i'luni/epam - 2767

^4^ {22)_ 1 lalazcpam -- 2762

(23) Haloxazolam - 2771

(24) Ketazolam -- 2772

(25) Loprazolam -- 2773

^404 (26) Lorazepam -- 2885

(27) Lormctazepam -j_ 2774

(44> (_28) Mcbutamatc -- 2800

(29) Meda/epam - 2836

(44) (30] .Mcprobamate - 2820

^^ (3]j .Methohexital -- 2264
(4Z) [32| .Mcthylphenobarbital

(mephobarbitaJ) -- 2250

(4^ (33) Midazolam -- 2884

(34) Nimctazepam -_^ 2837

(35) Nitrazepam -- 2834

(36) Nordiazepam - 2838

f4^ (37] Oxazepam -- 2835

(38) Oxazolam - 2839

(20) (39] Paraldehyde -- 2585

(244 (40] Petnchloral -- 2591

P2> (42) Phenobarbital -- 2285

(42) Pinazepam - 2883

{2^ (43] Prazepam -- 2764

(24) (44] Quazepam -- 2881

(25> (45] Temazepam -- 2925

(46) Tetrazepam -- 2886

P6) (47] Inazolam -- 2887

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-88;

90-92; I43B-I47.

TITLE 1 1 - DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. ISOB- 1 2 that the

Department of Insurance intends to

amend regulations cited as 1 1 NCAC
12 .0319: .0604-.0605; .0607-.0609.

1 he proposed effective date of this

action is September 1 , 1987

.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 10:00 a.m. on May 15, 1987 at

Hearing Room at the North Carolina

Department of Insurance, located on

the Third Floor of the Dobbs
Building, 430 North Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, .Worth Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Written

comments and requests for oral

presentations may be sent to F. J. Di
Pasquantonio. Post Office Bo.x

26387. Raleigh. NC '

2^611 -

Iclcplumc (91')} ^.,\?-W)(),

(IIAI'IIU 12-1111 A<C11HM .\M)
III Aim DIVISION

SECTION .0300 - GKNKKAL
PROVISIONS

.0319 SLBROGATION REGLl ATED
Li& &F accident »n4 health
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i n>^ii r ,<iu i.

- lonii >. 4mU nui niiilain n

p i >)v i> i (>i i .^ llovnu l suhrou.j tion oi

l H I K:riU .

( MHijp .iC(. kk-lll aiul licallli

iiisLiraiuc pdlicics, UR^up MibscnhLT

contracts issUL-d b\ hospild and
medical service corporaticms. and
iirour health maintenance
orpani/ation evidences ot coverage

may contain subrogation of benefits

pro\isions if they conlorm to the

follow ing~requirements:

(1) That subrogation and
reimbursement nghts be

restricted solely to recovers'

agamst third party tortfeasors

causmg the injury.

(2) That under no circumstances

shall the subrogation and
rcmibursement recovery exceed

one-third" of the net recovery

made agamst a tortleasor, with

the term "net reco\ery " being

dehned as the recovery an injured

partN makes against a negligent

tortfeasor less attorneys' fees and
expenses mcurred in making the

ieco\ep,'.

Staiutor}- Authority G.S. 51-1: 5^-4;

57-7; 57B-8; 57B-18: 58-9: 58-249;

58-254.4; 58-254.5; 58-254.7.

SECTION .0600 - REPLACEMENT
REGLLATIONS

.0604 EXEMPTIONS
(5) Transactions where the

replacing insurer and the

e.xistmg msurer are the same, or

are subsidiaries or afTdiatcs

under common ownership or

control; provided, however,

agents or brokers proposing

replacement shall comply with

the requirements of Section 5,A^

Rule .0605 (a'

(6) Registered Contracts shall be
exempt from the requirements

of Su t;tions 7 . H , 2 , *i44 7 . B , ,"i .

Rule .0607(2)(b) and .()607(2)(c)

rcquinng pro\ision of I'olicy

Summary or ledger statement

information; however, premium
or contract contribution

amounts and identification of

the appropnate prospectus or

offering circular shall be

required in lieu thereof

Statutory .Authority G.S. 58-9.

.(I6()S 1)1 IMS <)l ACEMS AM)
UKOM KS

(a)

(.^) The rec|uireineiits of 5A( 1)

Rule .(lb().S(a)(l) and (2) may be

satisfiecl by suitable questions

on the application.

(b)

(3) Submit to the replacing

insurer with the application a

copy of the Replacement Notice

provided pursuant to Suction

xeO, Rule .0605(b)(1).

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0607 DUTIES OF INSLRERS THAT
LSE AGENTS OR BROKERS

Each insurer that uses an agent or

broker in a life insurance or annuity
sale shall:

(2)

(ii) a copy of the

Replacement Notice
provided the applicant

pursuant to Section 5 , B . l ,

Rule .0605(b)(1). Such
existing lUc insurance or

annuity shall be identified

by name of insurer, insured

and contract number. If a

number has not been
assigned by the existing

msurer, alternative

identification, such as an
application or receipt

number, shall be listed.

(2)

(b) Send to each existing

insurer a written

communication advising of
the replacement or proposed
replacement and the

identification information

obtamed pursuant to Section

2MM Rule .06Q7(2)(a) and a

Policy Summary, Contract

Summary or ledger statement

containmg Policy Data on the

proposed life insurance as

required by N.C.G.S.
58-213.6-213.12 and for an
annuity a contract summary
as required in Section 7 , B . 3 ,

Rule .0607(2)(c). Cost

indices and equivalent level

annual di\idend figures need
not be included in the Policy

Summapv' or Icduer statement.

18 SORTH CAROLISA REGISTER
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All required items shall be

sent within five working days

of the date the application is

received in the replacing

insurer's home or regional

office, or the date the

proposed poUcy or contract is

issued, whichever is sooner,

(d) Each existing insurer or

such insurer's agent or broker

that undertakes a

conservation shall furnish the

policyowner with a Policy

Summary for the existing life

insurance or ledger statement

containing Policy Data on the

existing pohcy and/or

annuity. Such Policy

Summary or ledger statement

shall be completed in

accordance with the

provisions of N.C.G.S.
58-213.6 through 213.12,

except that information

relating to premiums, cash

values, death benefits and
dividends, if any, shall be

computed from the current

policy year of the existing life

insurance. The Policy

Summary or ledger statement

shall include the amount of

any outstanding indebtedness,

the sum of any dividend

accumulations or additions,

and may include any other

information that is not in

violation of any regulation or

statute. Cost indices and
equivalent level annual

dividend figures need not be

included. When annuities are

involved, the disclosure

information shall be that

required in Section B(3)

above. The replacing insurer

may 71 , 18st request the

existing insurer to lurnish it

with a copy of the Summaries
or ledger statements, whieli

shall be within five working
days of the receipt of the

request.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0608 DLTIF.S OF INSURERS WITH
RESPECT TO DIRECT
RESPONSE SALES

(b)

(3) Comply with the

requirements of Section 7 .B .2
,

Rule .0607(2)(b)(c). if the

applicant furnishes the names of

the existing insurers, and the

requirements of Section Z£t
Rule .0607(3), except that it

need not maintain a

replacement register.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0609 PENALTIES
(a) A violation of this Regulation

shall occur if an agent, broker or

insurer recommends the replacement

or conservation of an existing policy

by use of a substantially inaccurate

presentation or comparison of an
existing contract's premiums and
benefits or dividends and values, if

any. Any insurer, agent,

representative, officer or employee of

such insurer failing to comply with

the requirements of this Regulation

shall be subject to such penalties a»

Hta^ be appropriate undet: the

Insurance Laws provided for in

N.C.Ci.S. 58-42 ancr5H:44:6.

Statutory Authority G.S. 5S-9.

in LE 12 - DKPAR IMEM OF
JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. I50B-I2 that the North
Carolina Criminal Justice Education

and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend regulations cited as

12 NCAC 9A .0/03; 9B .0I07-.0II5:

.0202; .0207; .0217; .0302;

.0304-.0305; .0309-.03I0; and

.0408-.0409; 9C .0308; .0403; .0601;

.0604; 9D .0202.

The proposed effecth'e date of this

action is November 1 , 1987

.

Vhc public hearing will he conducted
at 10:00 a.m. on May 28, 1987 at

City Council Chambers, Cary
Municipal Building, Cary, North
Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Any person

interested in these rules may present

oral or written comments relevant to

the proposed action at the Public

Rule-Making Hearing. Written

statements not presented at the

NORTH CAROLI.XA REGISTER 19
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Hearing should be directed lo the

undersigned. The proposed rules are

available for public inspection and
copies may be obtained at the

following address:

Criminal Justice Standards Division

Sorth Carolina Department of
Justice

I West Morgan Street

Room 15. Court of Appeals Building

Post Office Dra^-er I4Q

Raleigh. Sorth Carolina 27602

CHAPTFR 9 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE
EDUCATION AND TRAINING
STANDARDS COMMISSION

SL'BCMAPTER 9A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE
EDUCATION AND TRAINING
STANDARDS COMMISSION

SEC! ION .0100 - COMMISSION
ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES

.0103 DEHNITIO.NS

The following definitions apply

throughout this chapter, except as

modified in 12 NCAC 9A .0107 for

the purpose of the cormnission's

rule-making and admirustrative

hearing procedures:

(6) "Cnminal Justice Officer(s)"

means and incorporates the

administrative and subordinate

personnel of the departments,

agencies, units or entities

comprising the 'criminal justice

agencies' as defined in

Subparagraph (1) of this Rule,

who are sworn law enforcement

officers, both state and local,

with the pKDwcr of arrest; state

correctional officers; state

probation and parole officers,

including probation and parole

intake officers, and
probation parole

ofTiccrs-surveiUance, and
probation parole intensive

olficers; state parole case analyst:

officers, supervisory and

administrative personnel of local

confmement facilities; or state

youth correctional services

officers.

(34) State '

'i'outh Correctional

Services Officer" means an

emplo\ee of the North C;irolina

Division of \'outh Services

whose duties include the

evaluation, treatment,

instruction, or supervision of

juveniles conunitted to that

agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-2:

I7C-6: 'I53A-2I7.

SLBCIIAPTKR 9It - STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT:

EDUCATION: AND TRAINING

SEC1 ION .0100 - MINIMUM
STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE

EMPLOYMENT

.0107 .MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS

In addition to the requirements for

cnminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

correctional officer employed by an

agency in North Carolina shall : b©

s, hi§h. school graduate <sf- have

passed tb@ General Education

Development te^ indicating high

school equivalency .

(1) not have committed or been

convicted of[

(a) a felony within the five year

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been

imprisonment for more than

two sears, within the five year

period prior to the date oT

application for employment; or

(c) a crime or unla\sful act

deTmed as a "Class B
misdemeanor" within the fi\'e

year period pnor to the date of

application for employment; or

(d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defined as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date ot conviction; or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be emplo\'ed"~l?

the last conviction occurred

more than two years pnor to

the date oT application for

employment:

(2) be a high school graduate or

have

Education

indicating

equi\alency-

Notc: .\lthough not presently

required b\ these Rules, the

commission recommends that on
the date of employment or within

passed the General

Development Test

hiah school
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24 months thereafter, every

candidate employed as a

correctional officer have no less

than six semester units or nine

quarter units of educational credit

at an accredited institution of

higher education.

Sialulory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0108 MIMMU.M STANDARDS FOR
STATE YOUTH SERVICKS
OFFICKKS

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of the Section, every

state youth correctional services

officer employed by the Division of

Youth Services, Department of

Human Resources shall:

Note ; .Although not presently

required h^ thes.e Rules , the

commission recommends that.

svery south correctional officer

continue hi» education through »»
accredited institution ^ higher

learning at. tb« Fate of wsX le^

quarter units ei educational credit

during each 24 month period

following employment .

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0109 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

probation/parole officer employed
by an agency in North Carolina shall

b& a graduate of an accredited

college Of. university and have

attained a4 least the bacca laureate

degree .

( 1) not have committed or been
convicted of:

(a) a fciony withui the five year

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been
imprisonment foF more than

two years, within the five year

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(c) a crime or unlawful act

deTincd as a "Class B
misdemeanor" within the five

year penod prior to the date oj^

(d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of conviction; or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be employed~ir
the last conviction occurred

thanmore two years prior to

oT application forthe date

employment"

(2) be a graduate of an accredited

college or university and have
attained at least the baccalaureate

deuree.

application tor eiiiplo\ment; or

Note : Although not presently

required by these Rules, the

commission recorrmiends that

c\'er)f probation parole officer

continue hi« education through an
accredited institution (si liighcr

learning at tha rate of n^ le»s

than ^ college seme ster units of

nine quarter units of educational

u«d4. dunng each 24 month
period foUouing employment .

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0110 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
PROBATION/PAROLE INTAKE
OFFICERS

In addition to the requirements for

crimin;il justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

probation parole intake officer shall :

have attained the associate degree of-

have satisfactorily completed at least

60 semester hours oi educational

credit of SO quarter hours oi

educational credit at an accredited

technical in stitute , tecliiiical college
,

community col lege , junior col lege ,

co ilegC
i
i^f university .

(1) not have committed or been
convicted oP

(a) a fciony within the five >ear

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been

imprisonment for more than

two years, within the five year

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(c) ;i crime or unlav\ful act

de lined as a "Class B
misdemeanor ' within the five

ye:Lr period prior to Hie d:ite o[

application for employment; or

\ORTH CAROL!\A REdlSTLR 21
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(d) four or more crimes or

unJawful acts dcfmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of con\iction: or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant ma> be employed"!?
the last conviction occurrcil

more tluin two years pnor to

the date oT application tor

employment;

(2) have attamed the associate

degree or have satistactorily

completed at least 60 semester

hours of~cducational credit or 90

quarter hours oT" educational

credit at an accredited technical

mstitute,

commumty
technical

college,

college.

college, college, or university.

Note; .Jdthough aot presently

required bv these Rules , the

commission recommends that

ever) ' probation parole intake

officer continue hi^ education

tlirough s^ accredited iastitution

oi higher learning at the. r^iAa. oi

not k^;^ than si;c semester units »f

nin« quarter units oi educational

credit during each 24 month
period foUowing employment ,

Statutory Authority G.S. 17C-6.

.0111 MINIMUM STANnARDS I OR
LAW tM ORCt.ME.NT OIFICI RS

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every law-

enforcement officer employed by an
agency in North Carolina shall:

(1) not have committed or been
convicted of:

(a) a felony; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been
imprisonment for more than
two years; or

(c) a crime or unlawful act

defined as a "Class B
misdemeanor" within the fi\c

year period prior to the date of

application for emplo\ment; or

te4 (d)_ tour or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of conviction; or

(d4 (£) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

/\ misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be employed if

the last conviction occurred

more than two years prior to

the date of application for

employment;

Statutory Authority G.S.

I7C-I0.

.0112

I7C-6:

MINIMUM STANUARUS FOR
I'AROLK CASK ANALYSTS

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

parole case analyst employed by an
agency in North Carolina shall : be
a graduate of an accredited college Of-

university and ha\c attained at least

the baccalaureate degree .

(1) not have committed or been
convicted of

(a) a felony withm the five year

period prior to the date of
application for employment; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been
thanimprisonment for more

two years, within the five

penod rior to thepnor to tne

ear

date of
application for employment; or

(c) a crime or unlawful act

defmed as a "Class B
misdemeanor" withm the five

year period prior to the date of
application for employment; or

(d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of convi"ction; or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be employed if

the last conviction occurred

more than two years prior to

the date ot^ application for

employment;

(2) be a graduate of an accredited

college or university and have
attamed at least the baccalaureate

degree.

Note ; Although not presently

required b^ these Rules , the

commis.vion recommends that

e\cp,' paro' '^ ca«c analyst continue

hk education through an
accredited institution oi higher

learmng at th« pate oi not le^
than 6 coUeue semester units or 9-

qu.arter units of educational credit
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duHAg each 24 month period

following employment ,

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0113 MINIMUM STANUARDS
PROBATION/PAROLE
OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

probation/parole officer-surveillance

shall : ha\'e attained the associate

de^^se Of- have satisfactorily

completed at least 60 semester hours

oi educational credit ot- ^ quarter

hours of educational credit sX a»
accredited technical in stitute

,

technical college, community college
,

junior college , college , or uni^'ersity .

(1) not have committed or been
convicted oT:

(a) a felony within the five year

period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been
impnsonment for" more than

two years, within the five year

penod prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(c) a crime or unlawful act

dcTmed as a "Class B
misdemeanor" within the five

year period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of conviction; or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawfin" acts defined as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant may ExT employed i[

the last conviction

than

occurred

two years poor to

oT application forthe date

employment;

(2) have attained the associate

degree or have satisfactorily

completed at least 60 semester

hours of"educational credit or 90

quarter hours oT educational

credit at an accredited technical

institute, technical coUeize,

jurcommunity college,

college, c-olleue, or university.

Note ; Although mU pre senlly

requ i red by ihc^e Ru le s, the

commi s,vion recommend s tUat

every probat ion parole

suncUlancc officer continue hk
education through an accredited

institution oi higher learning at the

Fate of not lc«» than ^ semester

educational ciedit during each 24

month period following

emplo)fmcnt .

Statutory Authority G.S. 17C-6.

.0114 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
LOCAL CONFINEMENT
PERSONNEL

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

officer, supervisor or administrator

employed by a local confinement

facility in North Carolina shall:

(1) not have committed or been
convicted of

(a) a felony; or

(b) a crime for which the

punishment could have been
imprisonment for more than

two years; or

(c) a crime or unlauful act

dcTmed as a "Class B
misdemeanor" within the five

year period prior to the"
"

3ate of

application for employment; or

(e^ (d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of conviction; or

(d^ (e) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defmed as "Class

A misdemeanors" except the

applicant may be employed if

the last conviction occurred

more th;ui two years prior to

the date of application for

employment;

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-2:

17C-6; 17C-10.

.0115 MINIMUM STANDARDS
PROBATION/PAROLE
INTENSIVE OFFICERS

In addition to the requirements for

criminal justice officers contained in

Rule .0101 of this Section, every

probation/parole intensive officer

employed by an agency in North
Carolina shall : be a grat luatc of an
accred i ted college of uni\ersity a444

have attained at lea st the

baccal.iureate degree .

(1) not have committed or been
convicted ot:
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(;i) A li.-K)iiy uilliiii I la- II u; \i::\r

pcii(7il piicir to TTr- tl.ik' lA

ipplicalioii for i.-iiiployiiiciil, or

{h) a [.nine for wliich llu'

puiii^hmciil cx)ulJ TTavc hccn

JmpnsonmL'nt [oF more than

two years, within the five year

period prior to the date of

appHcation for employment; or

(c) a cnme or unlawful act

defined as a "(lass B
misdemeanor" within the five

c()m[ilelioii of a

commission-aicreditcd

Irainini; course by

correclionai, state youth
faoiT iuXtional services, or

year period prior to the date of

application for employment; or

(d) four or more crimes or

unlawful acts defined as "Class

B misdemeanors" regardless of

the date of conviction; or

(e) Tour or more crimes or

unlawfjjT acts defined as "(riass

A misdemeanors" except the

appUcant may be" employed il

the last conviction occurred

more than two years prior to

the date oF application for

employment;

(2) be a graduate of an accredited

college or umversity and ha\e

attained at least the baccalaureate

deizree.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM
STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE
SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE
TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES

OK INSTRUCTION

.0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
SCHOOL DIRECTOR

(a)

(1)

(A)

(i) Each basic training course

required for crimind justice

officer certification shaU be

presented with a minimum
of 12 hours of instruction

each week during

consecutive calendar weeks
except that there may be as

many as tfu"ee one-week
breaks until course

requirements are

completed. Ihis Rule shall

not apply to presentations

of the "Basic fraiiiing --

State Youth Correctional

Services Officers" course.

(16)

(C) Upon successful

probation/parole trainees, the

director of the school

conducting such course shall

notify the commission of the

satisfactory achievement of

trainees by submitting a

monthly Report of Training

Course Completion.

Statutory Authority G.S. /7C-6.

.0207 BASIC TRAINING-STATE
YOUTH SERVICES OFFICERS

(a) The basic training course for

state youth correction;*! services

officers shall consist of a mirumum
of 167 hours of instruction designed

to provide the trainee with the skills

and knowledge to perform those

tasks essential to function as a state

youth correctional services officer.

(b) Each basic trainmg course for

state youth correctional services

officers shaU include training in the

following identified topical areas:

Statutory Authority G.S. J7C-6.

.0217 BASIC TRAINING: ALCOHOL
LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

(a) The basic training course for

alcohol law enforcement agents

appointed by the Secretary of Crime
Control and Public Safety as

authorized under General Statute

18B-500 shall consist of a minimum
of 662 601 hours of instruction

designed to provide the trainee with

the skiUs and knowledge to perform
those tasks essential to function as

an alcohol law enforcement agent.

(b) Each basic training course for

alcohol law enforcement agents shall

include the following identified topic

areas and minimum instructional

hours for each area:

(1) Orientation 3 Hours

(2) Physical

Training 23 75

Hours

(3) History of ALE 1 Hour
(4) Constitutional Law,

Government and
Civil Rights 14 Hours

(5) Firearms 64 56

Hours
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(6) Knowledge of l^w,
General Criminal

Law and
Evidence 36 Hours

(7) Chapter 18B 40 Hours

(8) ABC
Regulations 40 32

Hours

(9) Controlled

Substances Act

Enforcement 16 Hours

(10) First

Responder 24 Hours

(11) ALE Vehicle

Operations 40 Hours

(12) Arrest, Search

and Seizure 60 40

Hours

(13) Agent Survival

Enforcement
Psychology 4 Hours

(14) Enforcement
Sociology 4 Hours

( 1 5) Stress

Management 4 Hours

(16) Defensive

Tactics 52 44

(30) ALE Policy

and Procedure 8 Hours

(17;

(18

(19

(20

(21

(22

(23

(24

(25

Hours

4 Hours
CivU
Liability

DUI and Motor
Vehicle Law 14 Hours
ALE
Investigations ^ 24

Hours
Written

Communications
40 Hours

Criminal Justice

System 24 Hours
Verbal

Communications
i6^

Hours
Evidence 2 Hours
Juvenile Law 16 Hours
Observation 6 Hours

(26) Keading

(26) Math 42
Hours

Hours

Hours
(27) ALE Tactical

Operations 4

(28) Hazardous Devices,

Explosives and
Components 4 Hours

(29) CommunitN Relations,

Human Relations,

lithics and
Courtesy -W S

Hours

Statutory Authority G.S.

I7C-I0.

I7C-6:

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM
STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE

INSTRUCTORS

.0302 GENERAL INSTRUCTOR
CERTIFICATION

Certifications issued in this

category after December 31, 1984

shall be limited to those topics

which are not expressly incorporated

under the Specific Instructor

Certification category. Individuals

certified under the general instructor

category are not authorized to teach

any of the subjects specified in Rule

.0304, entitled "Specific Instructor

Certification". To qualify for

issuance of General Instructor

Crertification, an applicant shall

demonstrate a combination of

education and experience in criminal

justice and proficiency in the

instructional process to the

satisfaction of the commission. At a

minimum, the applicant shall meet
the following requirements for

General Instructor Certification;

(2) Present evidence showing
successful completion of a

commission-accredited instructor

training program or an equivalent

instructor training course as

determined by the commission.
Applicants who hold current

General Instructor Certification

under any previously

commission-adopted instructor

certification program shall receive

recognition for any previously

completed conunission-accreditcd

instructor training courses or

previously recognized equivalent

thereof. All applicants must
have previously completed an

instructor training course within

the twenty -four 12 month period

preceding application. Persons

having completed a

commission-accredited instructor

training course or an equivalent

instructor training course as

determined by the commission
ami not having made application

within twu yvars 12 months of

completion of the course shall

complete a subsequent

NORTH CAROLI\A REGISTER 25



PROPOSED RULES

commission-accredited instructor

training course in its entirety.

Sialulory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0304 SI'IXII IC INSTRLCTOK
CKRIIFICATIO.N

(d) To qualify for Specific

Instructor Certification in the State

Youth CorrcctionaJ Services Medical

Emergencies topical area, an
applicant is not required to meet the

standards for issuance of General

Instructor Certification, but as a

minimum, must qualify in the

following manner;

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0305 TKRMS AND CONDITIONS OK
SI'IXII IC INSTRUCTOR
CIRTII ICATION

(4) in the case of the Division

of Youth Services' Specialized

Unarmed Self- Defense

Instructors and State Youth
Correctional Services Medical
Emergencies Instructors, a

favorable written evaluation by
a commission or staff member,
or a Staff Development
Specialist of the Division of

Youth Services, based on an
on-site classroom evaluation of

the probationary instructor in a

commission-accredited course.

Such evaluation will be certified

on a commission-;ipproved

Instmctor Ivvaluation I'onn

completed for the topic where
the probationary instructor

taught a minimum of four

hours and for which Specific

Instructor Certification was
granted,

(c)

(5) in the case of the Division

of 'I'outh Services' Specialised

Unarmed Self- Defense

Instructors and State Youth
Correctional Services .Medical

Emergencies Instructors, a

favorable written evaluation by
a commission or staff member,
or a Staff Development
Specialist of the Division of

^'outh Services, based on an
on-site classroom evaluation ol

the instructor in ,i

coniinission-accrediled traituim

course. The instructor must
have taught a minimum of four

hours in the topic for which full

Specific Instructor Certification

was granted for the two-year

period.

Statutory Authority G.S. 17C-6.

.0309 RADAR AND TD SPEED
.MEASLREMENT INSTRUMENT
INSTRUCTORS

In addition to all requirements

contained in .0308 of this Section,

applicants in this category shall

complete a 40 30 hour instructor

training course in time-distance

speed measurement as required in 12

NCAC 9B .0211.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

.0310 TERMS AND CONDITIONS: SMI
INSTRUCTORS

(a) The term of a radar instructor

or a radar and time-distance speed

measurement instrument instructor

is two years from the date the

commission issues the certificate,

unless sooner terminated by the

commission. The certificate may be

renewed for subsequent a similar

period three year periods. The SMI
instructor desuing renewal shall:

(1) Hold general instructor

certification as required in 12

NCAC 9B .0303.

(2) Have been active in the SMI
instructional process during the

previous two year certification

period.

(3) Successfully complete a

commission-approved SMI
instructor re-certification course

as required in 12 NCAC 9B
.0218 or .0219.

(b) /Ml S.MI instructors seeking

re-certification shall successfully

complete the re-certification course

within 12 months from expiration of

the initial certification period or

re-certification period, but not

sooner than six months prior to the

expiration of the previous

certiiication. If re-certitication

traimng is not obtained within the

12-month penod, successful

completion of the appropriate

instructor training program as

nciUMvd 111 12 NCAC 9H .03()S will

be required \o obtain re- instructor
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certification. Ihis prescribed

12-month period does not extend the

24-month initial instructor

certification period.

Statutory Authority G.S. J7C-6.

SECTION .0400 - iVIINI,V1UM

STA.NDARDS FOR COMPLETION OF
TRAINING

.0408 COMPREHENSIVE WRITTEN
EXAMINATION/BASIC
CERTIFICATION

(d) A trainee shall pass the

operator training courses as specified

in Rules 9B .0212, .0213, and .0214

by achieving a minimum oT 70

percent correct answers.

(e) A trainee shall pass the

operator trainmg re-certification

courses as specified m Rules 9B
.0220, .0221, and .0222 by~^chleving
a mmimum of 75 percent correct

answers.

(c) (f) A trainee who has fully

participated in a scheduled delivery

of an accredited training course and
has demonstrated 100 percent

competence in each motor-skill or

performance area of the course

curriculum but has failed to achieve

the minimum score oi 30 percent ,

as specified in (d) of this Rule, on
the commission's comprehensive
written examination may request the

director of the Standards Division to

authorLie a re-exjunination of the

trainee.

Statutory Authority G.S. /7C-6.

.0409 SATISFACTION OF MINIMUM
TRAINING - SMI OPERATORS

(a) To satisfy the minimum
training requirements for operator

certification, a trainee shall:

(1) actiicve a score a{ 70 percent

correct answers on the

comprehensive written

examination, provided for in 12

NCAC 9B .0408 (d).

(c) To satisfy the minimum
training requirements for operator

re-certification, a trainee shall:

(1) achieve a score of 30 75

percent correct answers on the

comprehensive written

examination pro%ided for in 12

NCAC 9B .0408 (e}_

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

SUBCHAPTER 9C - ADMINISTRATION
OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION

AND TRAINING STANDARDS

SEC I ION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF
CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS

.0308 INSTRUMENT OPERATORS
CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

(b) (Certification in either category

will reflect operational proficiency in

the designated typc(s) of approved

equipment for which the trainee has

been examined and tested. Such
certification or re -certifications shall

be continuous for a two year period

from the date of issue and
re-cerlifications shaU be continuous

for a ihree year penod~!rom the date

oFissuc, unless sooner termmated by
the ct>mmission. At a minimum,
the applicant shall meet the

following requirements for operator

certification or re-certification upon
the jiresentation of documentary
evidence showing that the applicant:

(c) (\Ttification Um^ operators

awardvd in either category shall

e ,\pire on midniglit 24 month s from
ibe iXaXh oi i ssue , unle ss sooner
tcrmin.ilcd by the commi ssion .

Certified operators shall be notified

by the commission not less than 90

days prior to expiration of

certification. All applicants for

re-cerlification shall successfully

commission-approved
course within 12

the expiration of the

previous certification course but not

sooner than six months prior to the

expiration of the previous

certific.ition. If re-certification is not

obtained within the 12 month
period, successful completion of the

appropriate operator training

Iirograms as required by 12 N(~A('
9H .()40Q(a) will be required to

obtain operator re- certification.

This prescribed 12 month period

shall not extend the original operator

certification period beyond its

specific expiration date.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

SECTION .0400 - ACCREDITATION OF
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND

TRAINING COURSES

.0403 REPORTS DETRAINING
( OURSE PRESENTATION
AND COMPI.IHON

complete a

re-certification

months from
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(b) Upon successful completion

of a commission-accredited training

course by correctional, state youth
correctional services, or

probation parole trainees, the

director of the school conductmg
such course shall notify the

commission of the satisfactory

achievement of trainees by

submitting a monthly Report of

Training Course Completion.

Statutory Authority G.S.

17C-I0.

I7C-6:

SECTION .0600 - EQtIP.ME.NT AND
FROCEDLRES

.0601 APPROVED SPEED-MEASURING
INSTRL.MENTS

(a) The following speed

instruments are approved for radio

microwave (radar) use, provided they

are not equipped with dual antennas:

(1) CM I Speed Gun (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(2) CMI Speed Gun Five (No
longer approved in N.C.)

(3) CMI Speed Gun Eight (No
longer approved in N.C.)

(4) Decatur DCP (No longer

appro\'ed in N.C.)

(5) Decatur Ra-Gun G-1 and
G-2 (No longer approved in

N.C.)

(6) Decatur Ra-Gun G-5 and
G-6 (No longer approved in

N.C.)

(7) Decatur Rangemaster 715

(No longer approved in N.C.)

(8) Decatur Rangemaster 715

(No longer approved in N.C.)

(9) Decatur MV 724 (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(10) Kustom nR-4(No longer

approved in N.C.)

(11) Kustom rR-6 (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(12) Kustom HR-8
Stationary

(13) Kustom HR-12
Moving/ Stationary

(14) Kustom MR-7 (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(15) Kustom MR-9 (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(16) Ku.stom KR-11
Mo\ini; Stationars

(17) .MlMl K-15
Stationary

(18) MPH K-55
Moving/Stationary

(19) MPH S-80

Moving Stationary

(20) Sa-So (No longer approved
m N.C.)

(21) Simplex FAR 23 (No longer

approved in N.C.)

(22) Decatur Ra-Gun (RAS &
"N" Series) Stationary

(23) Simplex FAR 54 (No longer

approved in N.C.) Stationar)^

(24) Decatur Ra-Gun 1 and 2

(RAS) (mcluded in No. 22)

(25) Kustom KR-!0 SP
Moving Stationary

(26) MPH K-55 with SOS
Adapter (No longer approved in

N.C.) Mo\ma
(27) MPH S-80Vith SOS

Adapter (No longer approved in

N.C.) Mo\mg
(28) Kustom Falcon

Stationary

(29) Kustom Roadrunner
Stationary

(30) Kustom Trooper
Moving, Stationary

(31) Decatur MVR 715

Moving/ Stationary

(32) Decatur MVR 724

Moving Stationary

(33) Decatur Hunter
Movmg/ Stationary

(b) The following speed

mstruments are approved for

time-distance use provided that the

instrument is not capable of

accepting double time or double

distance into the computer:

(1) KR-11; Stopwatch Mode
Kustom Signals, Inc.

(2) TDS Computer (No longer

approved in \.C.) Stcphcn tiOft

(3) Vascar I

F-"ederal Sign and Signal

Corporation

(4) Vascar 11

Federal Sign and Signal

Corporation

(5) Vascar Plus

Traffic Safety Systems, Inc.

Statutory Authority G.S. /7C-6.

.0604 IKSTINC: TIME DISTA.NCE

(a) The minimum specific test for

time-distance speed-measuring

instruments shall include:

(^ TDS Computer Stephen son .
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With tba power on »nd tiu;

computer erased and ready to

accept distance and time

informatiany enter an exact

quarter im- one -half mil« oi

distance from a pre -measured

location on tb« highway by
turning tha distance switch on
at th« beginning of th^

prc -mcasured course and off at

the end of the prc -mcasured
course . 3^ be u'ithin tolerance

the distance readout shall a^:ee

with the measured di stance

witliin A percent i^e. one
qu;trter mile ,2^ plus -minus
Mil i^2A^ 050 Of 0544 Of one
half mile ,^0£i plus -minu s JiQ2

(,49s, ,409, ,500, .504- of ,502),

Turn on the distance lock

switch and enter 4-5.0 seconds of

©G 3t lc3.s t ify.u \}\X\, no mOrC

thsn 60.0 for a one Quarter rnilc

distance , f^o^^ (^»c half a mile of

distance enter ^QrO seconds , the

39.^ Ijut- no iTi<.)rc th^n ^0. 1

,

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

SUBCHAPTER 9D - PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS

SECTION .0200 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE
OFFICERS' PROFESSIONAL
CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

.0202 GENERAL PROVISIONS
(a)

(2) 1 he ofTicer shall hold general

certification with the

commission in one of the

foUowing categories:

(D) state youth correctional

services officer;

(F) probation/parole officer-

surveillance;

(G) probation/parole intensive

officer.

(c) Certificates will be awarded in

in an officer's area of expertise only.

Separate sub-programs will be

administered as foUows:

(2) Youth Services Corrections

Certificate. The ^'outh Services

Corrections Certificate is

appropriate for permanent, paid

state >(Hith sciMces correct iona l

olTicers emplo\ed by tiie

Division of Youth Services of

the Department of Human
Resources.

Statutory Authority G.S. I7C-6.

rH LE 15 - DKI'AR IMKNI OF
NA I URAL RESOURCKS AM)
CO.MMLNITV DEVELOPMENT

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. ISOB- 12 that the

Environmental Management
Commission intends to amend
regulations cited as 15 NCAC 2D
.0524. .0525, .0530. .0531. and .0532.

The proposed effective date of this

action is October 1 , 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 2:00 p.m. on May 15. 1987 at

Ground Floor Hearing Room,
.Archdale Building, 512 North
Salisbury Street, Raleigh. North
Carolina 2761 1

.

Comment Procedures: All persons

interested in these matters are invited

10 attend the public hearings.

Persons desiring to comment on the

proposals are requested to give

written notice thereof on or before the

hearing date. Any person desiring to

present lengthy comments is

requested to submit a written

statement for inclusion in the record

of proceedings at the public hearing.

The record of proceedings will

remain open for 30 days following the

hearing to receive additional written

statements. To be included, the

statement must be received by the

department within 30 days.

Additional information concerning the

hearing or the proposals may be

obtained by contacting: Mr. Thomas
C. Allen, Division of Environmental

Management. P.O. Box 27687,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7687,

(919) 733-3340.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2D - AIR POLLUTION
CONTROL REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .0500 - EMISSION (ONTROI,
SIANDARDS

.l)S:4 Nl W SOI K( I I'l KlOUMANCE
SIANDARDS
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(a) Sources of the following types

when subject to new source

performance standards promulgated

Part 60 shall comply
emission standards,

and reporting

maintenance
notification and record

performance
method and

in 40 CFR
with the

monitoring

requirements,

requirements,

keeping requirements,

test requirements, test

procedure provisions, and any other

provisions, as required therein, rather

than with any otherwise-applicable

regulation in this Section or Section

.0900 of this Subchapter which
would be in conflict therewith:

(55) Basic Oxygen Process

Steehnaking Facilities For
Which Construction Is

Commenced After January 20,

1983: (40 CFR 60.1 to 60.39

and 60.140a to 60.149a);

(56) Industrial-Commercial-

Institutional S'cam Generating

Units (40 CFR 60.1 to 60.39

and 60.40b to 60.49b).

(d) Paragraphs (b)_ («) and (4) (c)

of Regulation .0601 of Subchapter
2H of this Chapter are not

applicable to any source to which
tliis Regulation applies. The source

shall apply for a permit as required

in Paragraph (a) (-b) of Regulation

.0601 of Subchapter 2H of this

Chapter.

(e) Ilie version of the new source

performance standard listed in

Paragraph (a) of this Regulation is

that which appeared in the Code of

Federal Regulations as of Februar\'

14. 1987. November X^ X^h

Statinon Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I'l: 143-215.68: 143-215.10^

(a) (5).

.0525 NATIONAI, EMISSIO.N
ST.WU.ARUS FOR IIAZARDOLS
AIR POLLLTA.NTS

(a) Sources emitting pollutants of

the following types when subject to

national emission standards for

hazardous air pollutants

promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61

shall comply with emission

standards, monitoring and reporting

requirements, maintenance

requirements, notification and record

keeping requirements, performance

test requirements, test method and
any other provisions, as required

therein, rather than with any
otherwise-applicable regulation in

this Subchapter Section or Section

.0900 of this Subchapter which
would be in conflict therewith:

(d) Paraeraphs (^ (b) and (4^ (c)

of Regulafion 15 NCAC 2H .0601

arc not applicable to any source to

which this Regulation applies. The
source shall apply for a permit as

required in Paragraph {h^ (a} of

Regulation 15 NCAC 2H .0601.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-2 15.3 (a) (I); 143-215.107 (a)

(5j; 143-215.68.

.0530 PREVENTION OF SIGNIFICANT
DETERIORATION

(a) The purpose of this Regulation

is to implement a program for the

prevention of significant

deterioration of air quahty as

rcquu-cd by 40 CFR &iJ4 51.166.

40 CFR 5101 51.166 and other

referenced Code of Federal

Regulations as used in this

Regulation refer to those federal

regulations in effect on December
46. lajiq March 1, 1987.

(b) For the purposes of this

Regulation the definitions contained

m 40 CFR $ir2A 51.166 (b) and 40
CFR 51.301 shall apply. The
reasonable period specified in 40

CFR ^Xa^ 51.166 (b)(3)(ii) shaU be
seven years. ITie limitation specified

m 40 CFR 5i01 51.166 (b)(15)(ii)

shall not apply.

(d) Redcsignations of areas to

(^ass I or II may be submitted as

state proposals to the Administrator

of the Environmental Protection

Agency (EPA), if the requirements

or40'CFR 5404 51.166 (g)(2) are

met. Areas may be proposed to be
redesignated as Class III, if the

requirements of 40 CFR 51 .24

51.166 (g) (3) are met.

Redcsignations may not, however,

be proposed which would violate the

restrictions of 40 CFR ^XOA 51.166

(c). Lands within the boundaries of

Indian Reservations may be

redesignated only by appropriate

Indian Governing Body.
(c) In areas designated as Class I,

II, or III, increases in pollutant

concentrations o\er the baseline

concentration shall be limited to the

values set forth in 40 CFR ^^X-JA
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5 1 . 1 66 (c). However, concentration

of the pollutant shall not exceed

standards set forth in 40 CFR ^ir24

51 166 (d).

(f) Concentrations attributable to

the conditions described in 40 CFR
$XM. 51.166 (f)(1) shaU be excluded

in determining compliance with a

maximum allowable increase.

However, the exclusions referred to

in 40 CFR SJ,24 51.166 (0(l)(i) or

(ii) shall be limited to five years as

described in 40 CFR $12A 51.166

(f)(2).

(g) Major stationary sources and
major modifications shall comply
with the requirements contained in

40 CFR ^XOA 51.166 (i) and by
extension in 40 CFR ^lOA 51.166

(j) through (o). The minimum
requirements described in the

portions of 40 CFR Si^l 51.166

referenced in this Paragraph are

hereby adopted as the requirements

to be used under this Regulation,

except as otherwise provided in this

Regulation. Wherever the language

of the portions of 40 CFR ^XOA
51.166 referenced in this Paragraph

speaks of the "plan," the

requirements described therein shall

apply to the source to which they

pertain, except as otherwise provided

in this Regulation. Whenever the

portions of 40 CFR 51.166

referenced in this Paragraph provide

that the state plan may exempt or

not apply certain requirements in

certain circumstances, those

exemptions and provisions of

nonapplicability are also hereby

adopted under this Regulation.

However, this provision shall not be

interpreted so as to limit information

that may be requested from the

owner or operator by the director as

specified in 40 CFR ^A^2A 51.166

(n)(2).

(h) Paragraphs (c^ (b) and (4) (c}

of Regulation 15 N'CAC 2H .0601

are not applicable to any source to

which this Regulation applies.

Sources to which this Regulation

applies shall apply for a permit as

required in Paragraph (fe) (a) of

Regulation 15 NCAC 2H .0601.

(1) A substitution or modification

of a model as provided for in 40

CFR ^4,24 51.166 (1) shall be

subject \o public comment

procedures in accordance with the

requirements of 40 CI'R 51 .24

51.166 (q).

(m) Permits may be issued on the

basis of irmovative control

technology as .set forth in 40 CFR
5i^ 51.166 (s)(l) if the

requirements of 40 CFR 51 .24

5 1 . 1 66 (s)(2) have been met, subject

to the condition of 40 CFR ^1,24

5 1 . 1 66 (s)(3), and with the allowance

scTTorth in 40 CFR 54,24 51.166

(s)(4).

(n) If a source to which this

Regulation applies impacts an area

designated Class I by requirements

of 40 CFR ^XOA 51.166 (e), notice

to HPA shall be provided as set forth

m 40 CFR 54,24 51.166 (p)(l). If

the Federal Land Manager presents

a demonstration described in 40

CFR 54,24 51.166 (p)(3) during the

public comment period or public

hearing to the director and if the

director concurs with this

demonstration, the permit

apphcation shall be denied. Permits

may be issued on the basis that the

requirements for variances as set

forth ui 40 CFR 54,24 51.166 (p)(4),

(p)(5) and (p)(7), or (p)(6) and

(p)(7) have been satisfied.

(o) A permit application subject

to this Regulation shall be processed

in accordance with the procedures

and requirements of 40 CFR 51 .24

51.166 (q). Within 30 days of

receipt of the application, applicants

shall be notified if the application is

complete as to initial information

submitted. Notwithstanding this

determination, the 90-day period

provided for the commission to act

by G.S. 143-215.108(b) shaU be

considered to begin at the end of the

period allowed for public comment,
at the end of any pubUc hearing held

on the application, or when the

appUcant supplies information

requested by the director in answer

to comments received during the

comment period or at any public

hearing, whichever is later. The
director shall notify the

Administrator of EPA of any

application considered approved by

expiration of the 90 days; this

notification shall be made with-in 10

working days of the date of

expiration. If no pennit action has
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been taken wlicn 7Q dass of the

90-day pcnod ha\c expired, the

commission shall relinquish its

prevention of significant

deterioration (PSD) authority to

EPA for that permit. The

commission shall notify by letter the

EPA Regional Administrator and
the applicant when 70 days have

expired. HPA will then have

responsibility for satisfying unmet
PSD requirements, including permit

issuance with appropriate conditions.

The permit applicant must secure

from the commission, a permit

revised (if necessary) to contain

conditions at least as stringent as

those in the EPA permit, before

beginning construction.

Commencement of construction

before fuU PSD approval is obtained

constitutes a violation of tliis

Regulation,

(r) Revisions of the North
Carolina State Implementation Plan

for ,Air Quality shall comply with

the requirements contained in 40

CFR ^i,24 51.166 (a)(2).

Statulory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I'l: I43-2I5.6S: 143-215.107

(a) (3): 143-215.107 (a) (5):

143-215.107 (aj (7); 143-215.108

(b).

.0531 SOURCES I.N .NONATTAI.NME.NT
AREAS

(b) For the purpose of this

Regulation the definitions contained

in 40 CF-R 51 . 18(])(1) .SI. i65(a)(l)

and 40 CER 51.301 shall apply.

The reasonable period specified in 40
CER 54aS (+) (1) (j^ (44 (ii 51 165

(a) Qi (vi) (C) Ql shall be seven

years.

(c) This Regulation is not

applicable to:

(4) a new source or modification

which qualifies for exemption
under the provision of 40 CER
51 . IS(j)( .l ) 51.165(a)(4) ; and

(d) Paraw-aphs 1^ (h^ and (U^ (c}

of Regulation 15 NCAC 211 .0601

are not applicable to any source to

which this Regulation applies. I'hc

source must shall apply for a permit

as required in Paratiaph ft4 (a| of

Regulation 15 NCAC 2\\ .0601.

(e) lo issue a pennit to a source

to \shich this Regulation ap|ilies, the

director shall detennine that the

source will meet the following

requirements:

(3) The source will satisfy one of

the following conditions:

(B) The source will obtain

sufficient emission reductions

of the nonattainment
poUutant from other sources

in the nonattainment area so

that the emissions from the

new source will be less than

the emissions reductions.

The baseline for this emission

offset shall be the actual

emissions of the source from
which offset credit is

obtained. Emission
reductions must not include

any reductions resulting from
compliance (or scheduled

compliance) with applicable

regulations in effect prior to

the application. The
difference between the

emissions from the new
source and the emission

reductions must be sufficient

to represent reasonable

further progress toward
attaining the Ambient Air

Quahty Standards. The

emissions reduction credits

must also conform to the

provisions of 40 CER 51 , 18

^ O^ (44 (*^ 51.165 (a) Q}
(u| (A] through (g^ (G). ITie

requirements of this Part may
be partially waived if the

source is required to be

modified as a result of EPA
regulations and no exemption
from such regulations is

available and only if:

(i) the permit applicant

demonstrates that it made
its best efforts to obtain

sufficient emission offsets

to comply with this Part;

(ii) the applicant has secured

all available emission

offsets; and

(iii) the applicant will continue

to seek the necessary

emission offsets and apply

them when they become
available,

(j) The version of the referenced

Code of lederal Regulations in this

Regulation is that as of Mav iU,

-UiiU .March I, l'JS7.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I); 143-215.107 (a) (5);

143-215.108 (b).

.0532 SOURCES CONTRIBUTING TO
AN AMBIENT VIOLATION

(c) The Regulation is not

applicable to;

(5) a new or modified source

whose impact will increase not

more than:

(E) 5 ug/m3 of total suspended

particulares particulates on a

24-hour basis,

(H) 2 mg/m3 of carbon

monoxide on a one-hour

basis, sA. afi^ locality that docs

not lae&t a national ambient

air quality standard .

at any locality that does not meet a

national ambient air quahty

standard.

(d) Paragraphs (c> [b} and (d) (c)

of Regulation 15 NCAC 2H .0601

arc not applicable to any source to

wlaich this Regulation applies.

These sources shall apply for a

permit as required in Paragraph (t^

(a) of Regulation 15 NCAC 2H
.0601.

(g) The version of the referenced

Code of Federal Regulations in this

Regulation is that as of May 20^

4^M March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I); 143-215.107 (a) (5);

143-215.108 (b).

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. 150B-12 that the Division

of Water Resources intends to adopt

regulations cited as 15 NCAC 2G
.0501 - .0507.

The proposed effective date of this

action is September 1 , 1987

.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 7:00 p.m. on May 18, 1987 at

Ground Floor Hearing Room,
Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury

Street, Raleigh. NC.

Comment .Procedures: Comments,
statements, data, and other

information may be submitted in

writing prior to and up to 30 days

following the public hearing or may
be presented orally at the hearing.

So that all persons desiring to speak

may do so, lengthy statements may
be limited at the discretion of the

hearing officers. Oral presentations

which exceed three minutes must be

accompanied by a written copy which

will be filed with the hearing clerk at

the time of the registration. Written

comments should be sent to Kimberly

Brewer, DWR. P.O. Box 27687,

Raleigh, NC 27611.

SUBCHAPTER 2G - WATER
RESOURCES PROGRAMS

SECTION .0500 - ALLOCATION OF
JORDAN LAKE WATER SUPPLY

STORAGE

.0501 INTRODUCTION
To increase the availability of

municipal and industrial water

supplies, the State of North Carolina

requested the U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers to designate 32.62 percent

of the Jordan I.ake conservation

storage, between the elevations 202
mean sea level (msl) and 216 msl, as

water supply storage.

The State, acting through the

Environmental Management
Commission, will assign to local

governments having a need for water

supply capacity any interest held by
the State in such storage, with

proportional payment by the user to

the State for the project's capital,

interest, and operating costs.

Upon signing the water supply

storage contract with the U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers, the Commission
will apply the following procedures

in allocating Jordan Lake water

supply storage.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (1); 143-215.38 through .43;

143-354 (a) (11); 143B-282.

.0502 DEFINITIONS

As used throughout this

Subchapter:

(1) "Capital costs" means initial

costs of the project;

(2) "Commission" means
Environmental Management
Commission;

(3) "Department" means the

North Carolina Department of

Natural Resources and

Community Development;

(4) "Division" means the Division
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of Water Resources;

(5) "L-ffectivc date of allocation"

means the date the Commission
approves the allocation;

(6) "Interest costs" means mterest

accrued on the unpaid balance;

(7) "Local government" means
any city, county, authority,

sanitary district, metropolit;m

water district, or other local unit;

(8) "Operating costs" means
Jordan Lake's state and federal

operating, maintenance,

replacement, and administrative

costs associated with water

supply storage;

(9) "State" means the state of

North Carolina; and

(10) "Water supply storage" means
storage of water for municipal or

industrial use.

Statutory' Authority G.S. 143-354 (a)

(II).

.0503 FORMAL APPLICATION
(a) The commission may receive

initial allocation requests from local

governments beginning on this

section's effective date. In order to

be reviewed, applications must
contain the foUowmg Lnformation:

(1) Projected population and
water use, including a detailed

map of the existing and
projected water service areas;

(2) A listing of water sources

presently available, including

estimated yields of these

sources;

(3) An analysis of the yield,

quality, and cost of alternative

sources of water supply other

than Jordan Lake that could

meet or partially meet projected

needs, including regionalization

of system.s;

(4) A description of water-loss

reduction and demand
-management practices to be

used;

(5) An outline of plans to use

water from Jordan Lake,

including proposed location of

intake and water treatment

plant(s), location of wastewater

treatment plant(s), an>'

proposed sharing of facilities ox

other cooperative arrangements

with other local uovemmcnts,

and a proposed schedule of

development;

(6) A plan for monitoring the

quality of the raw and fmished

water in accordance with the

requirements of North
Carolma's Department of

Human Resources and the U.S.

Environmental Protection

Agency;

(7) The estimated cost of

developmg water supply

facilities at Jordan Lake, also

costs of alternative sources of

supply; and

(8) A letter of intent to enter

into a fmancial commitment for

Jordan Lake water storage.

(b) The commission or the

department may request such

additional Lnformation as may be

reasonably necessary for a complete

understanding of the allocation

request.

(c) Local governments may apply

for two levels of allocation: Level I

allocations are for applicants which
have demonstrated an immediate

need and wiQ commence
withdrawals within five years of the

effective date of allocation; Level II

allocations are for applicants with

documented longer range needs for

water.

(d) The applicant should include

in the application the assumptions
and the methodology used to

develop projections. The
commission will assist applicants by
providing a copy of departmental

procedures for projecting water

supply demands and determining

yields.

(e) Using departmental procedures

for projecting water supply demands
and determining yields, the

department will provide the

commission an independent

assessment of the applicant's water

supply needs.

Statutory Auihoritv G.S. 143-2 J5.

3

la) (I): 143-354 (a) (II);

143B-282.

.0504 ALLOCATIO.N OF WATER
SLl'PLV S10KAGF

(a) The segment of Jordan 1 .;ike

proposed for a water supply

withdrawal must be classified by the

commission as a drinking water
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source prior to any allocation of

Jordan Lake water supply storage.

Prior to the first allocation of water

supply storage at Jordan Lake, the

commission shall hold one or more
public meetings on the amount(s)

requested by each applicant, the

suitability of Jordan Lake water for

public water supply use, the

availability of alternative water

sources, and the best utilization of

the water resources of the region.

For future allocation decisions,

additional public meetings may be

held as determined by' the

commission.
(b) The commission will assign

Ixvel I allocations of Jordan lake
water supply storage based on an

intent to begin withdrawing water

within five years of the effective date

of allocation, on consideration of

projected water supply needs for a

period not to exceed 20 years, and
on the design capacity of the

associated withdrawal and treatment

facilities.

(c) The commission will make
Level II allocations of Jordan Lake
water supply to applicants based on
projected water supply needs for a

period not to exceed 30 years.

(d) The commission will initially

keep a portion of the water supply

storage unallocated to meet future

water supply needs as they develop.

(e) If lurtlier storage is rctiiiested

by holders of level II aiJDcations,

liiese [xiilies inii.st submit an
application addeniiiiiii to the

commission for review.

(0 When holders of I evel II

allocations have documented an

iimnediate need and wish to

commence withdrawals within five

years, their Level II allocations will

be changed to Level I upon review

and approval by the commission.

(g) The department will issue a

notice that it has received

applications for Level I and Level II

allocations and requests for increases

in allocations, with a 3()-day period

for comment. If there is significant

public interest, the department may
hold a public meeting to obtain

comments ami information, witii

appropriate notice

(ii) for applicants whose ilischarge

or intake represents a diversion

pursuant to G.S. 153A-285 or

162A-7, the commission will

coordinate the review of the

diversion with the review of the

allocation request.

(i) The commission will review

the Level I and L^evel II allocations

at five year intervals, beginning on
the effective date of the first

allocation, and wiU periodically

review and adjust the reserve

capacity to reflect Level I allocations

as well as Level I and Level II

requests.

(j) When assigning, reassigning, or

transferring allocations, the

commission will give priority to, (1)

Ixvel I applicants over Ix'vel II

applic;ints and holders, and (2) daily

use over use only during water

shortages, with a goal of maximizing
full use of the resource.

Statutory Authority G.S. /43-54 (a)

(II): 143-215.3 (a) (I); 143B-282:

I53A-285; I62A-7.

.0505 NOTIFICATION AND
PAYMLNT

(a) The commission will notify

applicants of the decisions made
regarding their allocation requests.

(b) Recipients of Level I

allocations are required to pay a

proportional share of the project's

water supply storage capital and
interest costs within two years of the

ellective date of the allocation, anil

to |iay annually a proportional share

of operating costs.

(c) Holders of I A;vel II allocations

are required to pay a proportional

share of the project's water supply

storage interest costs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I); 143-354 (a) (II);

I43B-282.

.0506 RECIPIENTS' REQUIREMENTS
(a) Holders of Level I allocations

must provide documentation
meeting the requirements of the

North ('arolina I'nvironmental

Policy Act, (J.S. 11,3A-1 thru

1I3A-1(), at the time the holders

l^rojiose to biiilil facilities to use

water liom .loidan I ake. Such
(.loeumentation shall inckiile the

ensironmental impacts of the
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proposed withdrawal, treatment,

distribution, and disposal of the

holders' allocated water.

(b) Local governments must install

and maintain suitable meters for the

measurement of water withdrawn,

report these withdrawals to the

department on a monthly basis, and
obtain the department's approval for

the design, location, and installation

of associated withdrawal facilities.

(c) Holders of Level I and Level II

allocations must pay the required

capital, interest, and operating costs

when due.

Statutory Authority G.S. I I3A-I
through II3A-I0: 143-215.3 (a) (I);

143-354 (a) (II); I43B-282.

.0507 LOSS OF ALLOCATION
(a) Level I allocations will be

reviewed for possible reassignment if

the recipient does not begin to

withdraw water within five years of

the effective date of allocation or is

not using and withdrawing the water

as proposed in the application.

(b) Level I and Level II

allocations wiU be rescinded upon
fjiilure by the local government to

meet the regulation requirements in

.0506 (a), (b), and (c).

(c) The commission may adjust,

reassign, or transfer interests in water

supply storage held by local

governments, if indicated by an

investigation of needs or changes in

the project's water supply storage

capacity. Capital, interest, and
operating costs will be equitably

adjusted to reflect the allocation

recipients' proportion of total

capacity.

Holders of I rvel I and I xivel II

allocations will receive appropnate
refunds for any payments made if

their allocations are adjusted,

reassigned, or otherwise amended
with the approval of the

commission. Rcscmded allocations

wUl not be refunded.

Statutory Authority G.S. /43-2L').3

Id) ('/); 143-354 (a) (//):

/43B-2S2.

\otice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. 1508-12 that the Division

of linvironmenta/ Management

intends to amend regulations cited as

15 NCAC 2H .0101 - .0115; .0117 -

.0118; .0122 - .0124; .0201 - .0206;

.0208 - .0209; .0211 - .02/3; .0215;

.0218; .0901 - .0910; .0912 - .0915;

adopt 15 NCAC 2H .0127 - .0141;

.0219 - .0221; .0916 - .0917; repeal

15 NCAC 211 .0210; .0214; .0216;

.0911.

The proposed effective date of this

action is October 1 , 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted
at 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 1987 at

Ground Floor Hearing Room,
Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Comments,
statements. data, and other

information may be submitted in

writing prior to or up to 30 days

following the public hearing or may
he presented orally at the hearing.

.So that all persons desiring to speak

may do so. lengthy statements may
be limited at the discretion of the

hearing officer. Oral presentations

which exceed three minutes must be

accompanied by a written copy which

will be filed with the hearing clerk at

the time of registration. Written

comments should be sent to Mr.
Dennis Ramsey, DEM. WQ, P. O.

Box 27687, Raleigh, North Carolina

27611.

SLBCIIAPTER 2H - PROCEDURES FOR
PERMITS: APPROVALS

SECTION .0100 - WASTEWATER
DISCHARGES TO THE SLRFACE

WAFERS

.0101 PI KI'OSE

(a) These Regulations implement
Cj.S. 143-215.1 which requires

pennits for control of sources of

water pollution by providing the

requirements and procedures for

application and issuance of state

NPDLS permits for a discharge from
an outlet, point source, or disposal

system discharging to the surface

waters of the state, and, for the

construction, entering a contract for

construction, and operation of

treatment works with such a

discharge (see Section .0200 of this

Subchapter regarding permits for

disposal systems not discharging to
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the surface waters of the state).

ITiese Regulations also contain the

requirements and procedures for

issuance of state permits for

pretreatment facilities. (See Section

.0900 of this Subchapter for

regulations for permits issued by

local pretreatment programs).

(b) Regulations and Statutes

relerenced in this Section may be'

found at the Division oT

Environmental Management, Water
Quality SectioiTs offices at the

foUowing locations:

- Permittmg and Engineering

Unit, ArcEdale Building, 512

N. Salisbury St., Raleigh.

N.C.
- Raleigh Regional Office,

3800 Barrett Dr., Raleigh,

N.C.
- Asheville Regional Office,

"159 Woodfm St., Asheville,

N.C.
MooresviUe Regional

Office, 919 N. Mam St,

Moorcsville, N.C.
FayetteviUe Regional

Office, Wachovia Bldg. Suite

714, FayetteviUe, N.C.
Washington Regional

Office, 1502 N. Market St.,

Washington, N.C.
-_ Wilmington Regional

Office, 7225 Wrightsvillc

Ave., Wilmington, N.C.
- Winston-Salem Regional

Office, 8003~NBrthPoInt
Blvd., Winston-Salem, N.C.

Statutory Authority G.S. I43-2I5.3

(a) (J); 143-215. 1.

.0102 SCOPE
These Regulations apply to all

persons dischargimg or proposing to

discharge waste to the surface waters

of the state; discharging or proposing
to discharge waste requiring

pretreatment to a treatment works of

another; constructing or proposing

to construct a treatment or

pretreatment works with such a

discharge; operate or propose to

operate a treatment works with such

a discharge. pro\id i.;d tbiO. I'liis

regulation does not apply to those

persons who have obtained a pennit

from a local pretreatment program
control authority, whose

pretreatment program was approved

in accordance with Section .0900 of

tliis Subchapter and authorized to

issue such permits. ^ da not require

^ separate state permit iet-

pretreatment facilitie s.

Statutory Authority (l.S. 143-215.1;

143-215.3 (a) (I): 143-215.3 (a)

(14).

.0103 UEFINITION OF TERMS
For the purpose of these

Regulations the following definitions

shall apply:

(1) "Commission" means the

Environmental Management
Commission of the Department
of Natural Resources and
Community Development or its

successor.

(2) "Committee" means the

NPDES committee of the

Environmental Management
Commission.

(3) (^ "Director" means the

Director of the Division of

Environmental Management,
Department of Natural

Resources and Community
Development or his delegate.

(42 (^ "EPA" means the United

States Environmental Protection

Agency.

[5] (4). "NPDES" means the

National Pollutant Discharge

Elimination System.

(6) (^ "New Source" shall apply to

any industrial installation, from
which there may be a discharge,

the construction or modification

of which is commenced on or

after the date of publication of

new source performance

standards and/or pretreatment

standards for new sources by the

Environmental Protection

Agency.

(7) (^ "New Source Performance
Standards" means those

standards of performance applied

to industrial discharges defmed as

new sources.

(S) "Pennit" means an NPDIS
permit or pretreatment pennit.

(9_| "POrW" means Publicly

Owned Treatment Works.

(10) 'Pretreatment Standard"

means anv resiulation containing

poUutiint discharge limits for
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indirect dischargers for ensuring

compliance with section 3tlh(b|

and (c) oT"lhc Clean Water Act.

I'his term includes proliihiti\c

discharge limits and local sewer

use ordinance lirruts.

(11) "Primarv Industry" means an

industr.- Usted in 40 CFR 122,

Appendix A.

(12) "Professional Engineer"

means a person who is presently

registered and licensed as a

prolessional engineer by the

North Carolina State Board "oT

Registration For Prolessional

Engineers and Land Surveyors.

(13) IM "Stair^means the staff

of the Division of Environmental
Management, Department of

Natural Resources and
CommunitN Development.

(14) "Cjeneral Permit" means an

NPDES "permit" issued under
40 CFR 122 authorizing a

categor.' of discharges which all

involve the same or substantially

similar types oF operations,

discharge the same types oT

wastes, require the same effluent

limitations or operating

conditions, require the same or

similar monitormg, and m the

opinion of the director are more
appropriately controlled under a

general permit than under
individual permits.

(15) ".Mine dewatcrmg" means
discharges oT uncontaminatcd
infiltrate

~and stormwater from
mine excavation and dcwatering

performed to lower the water

table to allow muiing in an area.

(16) "Notice of Intent" means
tormal written notification to the

division that a proposed
discharge is mtendcd to be

covered by a general permit and
takes the place of "application"

used with mdividual permits.

(17) 'Oil lerminal Storage

Facilities ' means petroleum bulk

storage, product transfer, loading,

unloading, and related areas hut

does iK^t include mannas or

facilities primanh engaged in the

retail sale ot petroleum products.

Oil water separators such as

those at maintenance garages, gas

stations, and National Cjuard and

military resen.-e facilities are

included in this defmition.

( IS) "Once-through non-contact

cooUng water" means water

taken from wells, surface waters,

or water supply systems and used

in a non-contact cooling system

without the addition of biocides

or other chemical additives.

Boiler blow-down waters are

included in

Nuclear and
this

fossil

defmition.

fuel electric

generating plants are not included

in this deiinition.

(19) "Sand Dredge" means a

facility to remove sand from river

mining
in this

bottoms. No other

are includedactivities _
definition.

(20) "Seafood Packing Facility

means a busmessa busmess which is

pnmaril\ engaged in the sorting

and packing of fresh seafood and
which has a discharge consisting

entirely of washdown and nnse
water. Trout packmg facihties

are included in this definition.

seafoodWastewaters from
processing plants arc not

included m this definition.

(21) "Swimmmg Pool I'iltcr

Backwash" means normal filter

backwash water from both public

and pnvate swimming pKjols.

(22) " I'rout Farm" means a

acUitv for the commercial
production of trout.

(23) "Water Filtration Facility"

means backwash fdters and
sludge disposal

with water

systems

associated with water treatment

plants an? backwash fdters

associated with weUs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-213;

143-215.3 (a) (I).

.OlO-t REQUIRED PERMITS
(a) For purpose of this state's

NPDES program, the discharge of

waste or any pollutant shall be

unlawful except as in compliance

with N.C.G.S. 143-215.1 and these

Regulations. N£ person shall do

any of the things or carry out any oT

the activities contained in N.C.G.S.

143-215.1(a)(I) thru (10) until or

unless such person shall have applicH

for and shaJl have received trom the

commission (or if applicable, a local
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prctrcatmcnt authority), a permit

therefore and shall have comphed
with such coriditions, if any, as may
be prescribed by such permit.~
(b) In accordance with the

requirements oT NCGS
143-21 5. l(c)(2)b, the comiiussion

hereby delegates the authority to

issue permits required by NCGS
143-215. 1(a)(1) for discharges to the

surface waters oT^omestic waste lor

single family dwellings oT r,000

gallons per day or less to the local

health departments in each of the

state's 100 counties. These permits

must be issued in accordance with

the requirements oT NCGS
143-215.1, and it is the responsibility

of the local health department to

ensure that permit compliance is

maintained. This delegation shall be

effective as of January
J_^

1988.

Upon the ellcctTvc 3ate of this

regulation, copies of ^ existing

single family permits wUl be

transferred From the Division oT

I'lnvironmental Management to the

county health departments in whIcE
the discharges are located.

~(&^ N« person shall da aay of the

following things of carry out an^ of

the following acti\itie s until or

unless such person shall have applied

for and shall have received from the

commis sion (otr if applicable, a local

prctreatment authority) a permit

therefor and shall have complied
with such conditions , if any^ <i^ ^f<^

prescribed by such permit ;

(-14 make any outlets into the

waters of the state
;

ij\ QQn struct or oncr^tp ^ny

sewer system , treatment works
.

Of- dispo sal system within the

states

^ alter , extend , of change
the construction of- method of

operation of any sewer system
,

treatment works , of disposal

system within the state
;

(4) increase the quantity of

waste d i sciiarged through any
outlet OF proce ssed in any
treatment works , m: dispo sa l

sy stem tu an e .v.teiil wliicli

would re s ult in any \iolation of

the effluent standard s or

limitations established iot- any
point source ot- which would
adversely affect the condition of

tl4e receiving waters ta the

extent oi violating any of the

standards applicable ta such

water , of ta any extent beyond
such minimum limit s a« the

conunission may pre scribe , by
way of general exemption from
the provision s of this Paragraph

,

by its official regulations
;

(^ change the nature of the

waste discharged through any
dispo sal system in any way
which would exceed the effluent

standards ar limitations

established for any point source

or which would adversely affect

the condition of the receiving

waters in relation ta any of Uie

standards applicable ta sueh
waters

;

(^\ cause or permit nnv \\'ustc,

directly or indirectly ta be
discharged ta ar in any manner
intermixed with the waters af

the state in violation of the

water quality standards

applicable ta the assigned

classification s of- in violation of

any effluent standards or

limitations e stablished ioF any
point source , unless allowed a»

a condition af any permit
,

special order at: other

appropriate in strument issued or

entered inta by the commis sion

under the provisions af this

article ;

(J^ cau se Of permit any wastes

{of which prctreatment is

required by prctreatment

standard s ta be discharged

directly of indirectly , from a

prctreatment facility ta any
disposal system of ta alteiv

extend of change the

construction of method of

operation of increase the

quantity aF change the natuFe of

the ^vaste di scharged from of

processed in such facility
;

(4^4 enter inta a contract foF the

con struction aFkd in stallation of

aF^,' outlet , sewer sy stem
,

treat inent work s, pretrealnient

facility of di sposa l sy stem of Iof

the i ilteration of exten sion of

any such facilities .

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(a); 143-215.3 (a) (I).
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.0105 API'LICATION: ASSESSMENT
FOR NEW SOURCES

(a) Except as provided in

Subdivisions (c) and (d) of this

Regulation, any person discharging

or who proposes to discharge

pollutants to the surface waters of

the state or to a POIW when
pretreatment oT~ the wastewater is

required shall complete, sign, and

submit, in triplicate, an N'PDES
appbcation accompanied by the

processing fee described herein for

each application in the form of a

check or money order made payable

to N.C. Department of Natural

Resources and Community
Development. Short I'orm A
(municipal) , Q- (agriculture), Q-

(manufacturing and mining) , of- D
(commercial) a» appropriate m
accordance with the instructions

pro\idcd with such form s. The
NPDES application forms to be

types oTused for the various

discharges are as follows:

Std. I'orm A: aU municipal

systems greater

tlian or equal to

1.0 MGDand any
municipal system

receivmg

mdustrial waste

from a" priman,'

industry

any municipal

system not

covered by Sid.

I'onn A
All agncuilurc

Telated dischari;e

s

Short Form A

Short I'onn I);

Std. Form C: All primary

industnes

listed in 40
Las

CFR
122.21, Appendix
A) and all other

industrial process

commercialand
discharges greater

than or equal_ l£
(il'l)

cooling

.SO.OOO

except

waters,

tower blowdown.
and boiler

blowdown
Short Form C: Cooling waters,

cooling tower

blowdown. boiler

blowdown, and

industrial

commercial

any or

discharges

covered

Std. Form

not

under

Short Form

Short Form E:

Short Form E^ or

Short Form R
D: AH domestic waste

discharges not

covered by Std.

Form A and
Short Form A.
Notice of Intent to

gcner
^

Short Form F

covered

al permit for

once -_ through

non - contact

cooling waters

with no biocidal

additives,

statewide.

Notice of Intent to

Short Form G:

be covered 5y
general permit for

mine dewatering

facilities,

statewide.

Notice of Intent to

be covere3 by
forpermit tor

filtration

Short Form H

general

water

facilities,

statewide.

Notice of Intent to

for

be covered

Short Form I

Short Form J:

general permit for

swimming pool

filter backwash
facilities,

statewulc.

Notice of Intent to

be covered Fy
general permit tor

seafood packing

facilities,

statewide.

Notice of Intent to

be covered b
general permit for

oil termirial

storage

discharging

water su

ities

to

Short Form K
(WS-III) waters.

Notice of Intent to

be covered bv

general permit for

od terminal

storage facilities

dischiirging to
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other waters,

statewide.

Short Form L^ Notice of Intent to

"Fe covered 5>'

permit for

dredges,

ger

Short Form M

sand

statewide.

Notice of Intent

to be covered b

Short Form N:

general permit for

trout farms,

statewide.

Notice of Intent to

be covered bv
general permit for

aquifer"

restoration.

The pretreatment application

forms to be used "will be supplied by
the Division.

AU A nonrefundable processing

fee oFone hundred dollars (STOQ.OO)

shall be submitted with each

application or Notice of Intent, and
a pubhc notice fe~ol^ fifty dollars

($50.00) shaU be submitted with

each application, except for general

permits, processed by the division

includmg requests for name changes,

and modifications to the permit

requested by the applicant. If the

permit does not go to public notice,

the public notice lee will be refunded

to the applicant. No processing fee

wilTBe charged for modification of

unexpired permits when the

modifications are initiated by the

director to correct processing errors,

to change permit conditions, or

otherwise to implement new
standards. The processing fee shall

not apply to any farmer who
submits an application which
pertains to his farming operation.

An application s are is incomplete

until required processing fees , we
public notice fees and adequate

information to evaluate the proposed
facility have been received. i«n4

Incorrect or incomplete applications

may be returned to the applicant.

The. proces sing fee i« »» follows ;

Flow (gpd) i^ee

i^GssTbimaaa $250)0
iOWOG*4,aaa $ 50,00

5,000 - 49
,
999 $ 75.00

50
,
000 Of mofe SlOO .OO

(b) Applicants for projects

requiring construction of control

facilities shall in addition to

applications required in subdivision

(a) of this Rule, file, in triplicate, an

engineering proposal setting forth the

following information:

( 1
) a description of the orgin

, M^ type , and flow of waste

which is proposed to be

discharged. Flow shall be

determined

Rule 2H
in accordance

.0206(T) of

with

this

chapter.

(2) a summary of waste

treatment and disposal options

that were considered and why
the proposed system and pomt
of discharge were selected; the

summary should have sufficient

detail to assure that the most
environmentally sound
alternative was selected from the

effectivereasonably

options;

cost

(3) (2^ a narrative description of

the proposed treatment works
including iao. type and
arrangement of major
components, in sufficient detail

to assure that the proposed

facility has the capability to

comply with the permit limits;

for commonly used treatment

system or components with well

established treatment

capabilities, detailed plans an"3^

specifications need not be

submitted until the application

for the authorization to

construct; however, detailed

plans and specifications shall be

required with the permit

apphcation for any system or

component without well

established treatment

capabilities for the nature oT

waste or degree of treatment

needed to meet the permit

limits;

(J) a- projected evaluation ef the

effect of the discharge upon the

receiving waters
,

(4) a general location map,
showing orientation of the

facility with reference to at least

twt) geographic

(numbered roads,

references

named
streams/nvers, etc.);

(5) (4^ a scale location plan , of

the site showing location oTthe
proposed treatment works and

the proposed point of discharge;
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^5) 3t vAo\ vA'iii of the site of the

proposed treatment works .

(6) special studies or modelling

may be required m cases wnere

the impacts oT the discharge

cannot be readlTy determined by

the division.

(c) Applications for NPDES
permit renewals may shall be

accomplished by letter by HEng the

appropriate application torm as

listed in (a) above, with the

processing fee described herein in the

form of a check or money order

made payable to N.C. Department
of Natural Resource^ and
Community Development, provid i.:d

the appli t;ant contemphite s no
change ia the wastewater \olume 04:

characteri stics allowed by the permit

about ta sKpire , A renewal

apphcation which contemplate s any
change i» the wastewater \olumc &f-

characteristic s allowed by (4^

exi sting permit mu st be submitted m
accordance with paragraph (^ oi

this Rule at least 180 days prior to

expiration of a NPDES permit. The

notice and public participation

procedures set in regulations .0109

and .0111 of this section shall be

followed for each request for

reissuance of an NPDES the permit.

AH apphcations are incomplete until

required processing fees are received,

and may be returned to the

applicant. The processing fee shaU

not apply to any farmer who
submits an application which
pertains to his farming operation.

The processing fee for NPDES
Permit Renewal issued by the

division is as foUowTI tTic same as

hsted m [a) above.

I'low (gpd)

Le**iiaft9^
4,000-0,399
5,000 . 49,999

50
,
000 Of BWfe

$ 25.00

$50,00
$25,00
$100 .00

Complete NPDES applications

which have been pre\'iously fUe4

W4tb Region iV., C4i4, shall be
considered an applicat ion iW stale

Nl'DLiS permit , if they have not

been denied and, the di scharge

discnbed in the application has n^it

substantial!)' changed in nature
,

volume Of- frequency .

(d) (e) Applications for permits for

pretreatment facilities shall be made
in triplicate upon forms approved by
the director and submitted along

with applicable supporting

information to the division at the

addresses given in subdivision (a)~or

this regulation.

(e) (f^ Applicants for permits

for new source discharges which
propose to discharge industrial

process wastewater in excess of

100,000 gallons per day or 10 MGD
of cooling water or any other

proposed discharge oT \_ MGD or

greater to the surface waters shall

file, in addition to the apphcations

and supporting documents required

in Subsections (a) and (b), an
environmental assessment sufficient

to describe the impact of the

proposed action upon the waters of

the area. As a minimum, the

environmental assessment shall

contain the following:

(1) Cover Sheet. The cover sheet

shall indicate the nature of the

proposed action, the name of

the permit apphcant, the date of

the assessment and the signature

of the responsible company
official.

(2) The assessment shall identify,

develop, and analyze the

pertinent issues concerning the

impact on the aquatic

environment as follows:

(A'l Background and
description of the projxjsed

new source ; discharge: The
assessment shall describe the

proposed new source

discharge , its product or

purpose, its location and its

construction and operation

time schedule in as broad a

context as is reasonable. The
relationship of the new source

project to other projects and
proposals directly affected by
or stemming from the

construction and operation of

the new source discharge

should be discussed. Maps,
photos, or artist sketches

should be incorporated if

available to help depict the

environmental setting and, if

not available, supporting

documents should be

referenced.
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(B) Alternatives available for

treatment or other control

methods should be described,

developed and objectively

weighed against the proposed

new source discharge. The
analysis should be sufficiently

detailed to allow for

comparative evaluation of

impacts on the aquatic

environment. The analysis of

alternatives shall be compared
to the existing aquatic

environment.

(C) The assessment should

discuss the primary and
secondary environmental

impacts both beneficial and
adverse. The scope of the

description should include

both short term and long

term impacts.

(D) Adverse impacts which
cannot be avoided should the

permit be issued should be

described in detail and

proposed remedial or

protective measures which
wUl be taken to minimize
such impacts should be

described. This shaU be a

description of the extent to

which the proposed activity

involves trade-offs between
short term environmental

gains at the expense of long

term losses or vice-versa and
the extent to which proposed
actions may foreclose future

options. The assessment

must adequately address

irreversible and irretrievable

commitments of aquatic

resources which will result if

the new iiourcc permit is

issued.

(3) Any assessment which is

required by any other state

agency or any federal agency

shall be deemed to comply with

requirements of this subsection

provided aquatic imjiacts are

adequately addressed.

(4) No permit shall be

subject to challenge by a third

party on the grounds that

information required under this

subsection is incomplete or

insufficient.

(f) Permits which result in

construction of facilities which will

be funded~by pubhc momcs may
require environmental

documentation pursuant to the

North Carolina Hnvironmeiital

Policy Act. NPDES permit

applications for which such

documentation is required will be

considered incomplete until

supported" by the required

documentation.

(g) For NPDES permits, a full

disclosure of aU toxic components
that can be reasonably expected to

be in the discharge, mcluding but

not limited to those contained in a

priority poUutant analysis, must be

submitted for all primary industnal

direct discharges in accordance with

40 CI R 122.21 Appendix D which

are adopted by reference as amended
through Jan. \_ 1986 an3~ for other

direct discharges as required by the

director.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(c): 143-215.3 (a) (1).

.0106 ULING APPLICATIONS
(a) Permit applications

accompanied by the processing fee

as described in Regulation .0105 of

this Section shall be filed with the

Director, Division of Environmental
.Management, P. O. Box 27687,

Raleigli, North Carolina, 27611.

(b) All applications shall be

filed at least 180 days in advance of

the date on which an existing permit

expires or in sufficient time prior to

the proposed commencement of a

waste discharge to insure compliance

with all legal procedures.

(e) N I 'I^ES Permit applications

filed with the director shall be signed

as follows:

(1) in the case of corporations,

by a principal executive officer

oi at least the level of

vice-president, or his duly

aulliori/.ed representative, if

such representali\e is

re>|xinsible for the overall

operation of the facility from
which the discharge described in

the NPDES permit application

form originates;

(2) in the case of a partnership,
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by a general partner and in the

case of a limited partnership, by
a general partner;

(3) in the case of a sole

proprietorship, by the

proprietor;

(4) in the case of a municipal,

state, or other public entity by

either a principal executi\e

ofiiccr, ranking elected official

or other duly authorized

employee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(c): 143-215.3 (a) (I).

.0107 STAFF REVIEW AND
EVALLATION

(a) The director is authorized to

accept applications for the

commission and shall refer all

applications to the staff for re\iew

and evaluation. Additionally, the

director shall refer applications for

the disposal of waste into waters

classified as sources of public water

supply (classification i^A li^ WS II

& III) and shellfish waters classified

SA to the Division of Health

Services, Department of Human
Resources, for review and wnttcn

approval. in accordance with the

provi sions of G^ 1 43.2 1

5

. 1 (a) .

(b) The director or his designee

shall acknowledge receipt of a

complete application, or if not

complete, shall return the

application to the applicant with a

statement of what additional

information is required.

(c) Tentative Determination and
Draft Permit

(1) The staff shall conduct a

treatment work j., &r in the ca»e

oi new di scharges , a site

investigation including an

on-site inspection and shall

prepare its written evaluation

and tentative determination to

issue or deny the NPDES
permit, ioi- the discharge

(2) If the staff's tentative

determination in Paragraph (1)

of this Subdivision is to issue

the NPDES permit, it shall if

necessary- make the following

additional determinations in

writing:

(A) proposed effluent

limitations for those

pollutants proposed to be

limited;

(B) a proposed schedule of

compliance, including interim

dates and requirements, for

meeting the proposed effluent

limitations; and
(C) a brief description of any

other proposed sp>ecial

conditions which wiU have

significant impact upon the

discharge described in the

NPDES application.

(3) The staff shall organize the

determinations made pursuant

to Paragraphs (1) and (2) of this

Subdivision into a draft NPDES
permit.

(d) In the case of permits for

wTuch notice of mtent is given on
short forms E through N as

described in rule .01Q5(a) oT this

.\rticle. a general permit shall be

prepared and issued directly to the

applicant m lieu oT any other

acknowledgement. iFlhe Notice of

Intent is unacceptable, it wiU be

returned to the applicant with a brief

explanation.

Statutory' Authority G.S. 130-161:

143-2 15.

1

(a); ' 143-215.1 (c):

143-215.3 (a) (I); 143-215.3 (a)

(4).

.0108 FACT SHEETS
(a) For all discharges which do

not qualify for a general penmt and

which have a total volume of

500,000 or more gallons on any day,

or as may be determined by the

director, a fact sheet providing a

brief synopsis of the application shall

be prepared by the staff and made
available upon request foUowing

issuance of the public notice. The
contents of such fact sheets shall

include at least the following

information:

(1) a sketch or detailed

description of the location of

the discharge described in the

NPDES application;

(2) a quantitative description

of the discharge described in the

NPDES application which

includes at least the following:

(A) the rate or frequency of
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the proposed discharge; if the

discharge is continuous, the

average daily flow in gallons

per day or million gallons per

day;

(B) for thermal discharges

subject to limitation under

the act, the average summer
and winter temperatures in

degrees Fahrenheit; and

(C) the average daily discharge

in pounds per day of any
pollutants which are present

in significant quantities or

which are subject to

limitations or prohibition;

(3) the tentative determinations

required under Regulation .0107

of this Section;

(4) a brief citation, Lncluding

a brief identification of the uses

for which the receiving waters

have been classified, of the

water quality standards and
effluent standards and
limitations applied to the

proposed discharge; and

(5) a fuUer description of the

procedures for the formulation

of fmal determinations than that

given in the public notice

including:

(A) the 30-day comment
period required by Regulation

.0110 of this Section,

(B) procedures for requesting

a public hearing meeting and
the nature thereof, and

(C) any other procedures by
which the public may
participate in the formulation

of the fmal determinations.

(b) Any person, upon request,

will be furnished, without charge,

one copy of any fact sheet. Any
person may also request and receive

all fact sheets as they arc published

by the department. I'ersons

requesting all fact sheets shall be

included in a special fact sheet

mailing list. Requests for all fact

sheets shaU be renewed by July 1 of

each year or the name of the person

making the request shall be dropped
from the fact sheet mailing list.

Appropriate notice shall be given by
the director prior to dropping
persons from the fact sheet mailing

list.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(c) (2) (i); 143-2153 (a) (I).

.0109 PUBLIC NOTICE
(a) Notice of Application

(1) Public notice of each

complete NPDES permit

application shall be circulated m
the geographical areas of the

proposed discharge by the

director at least 45 days prior to

any proposed fmal action;

(A) by posting a copy of tb&

notice at tha courthouse m
the county ia which the

prctreatment facility , outlet
,

point source of- disposal

system Ues^ and
(A) i^ by publishing the notice

one time in a newspaper
having general circulation in

said county; and
[B] (Q by mailing to aU

persons or agencies Ustcd in

Subdivision (c) of this

Regulation.

(2) ITie notice shall set forth at

least the following:

(A) name, address, phone
number of agency issuing the

pubhc notice;

(B) name and address of each

applicant;

(C) brief description of each

applicant's activities or

operations which result in the

discharge described in the

NPDES application;

(D) name of waterway to

which each discharge is made
and a short description of the

location of each discharge on
the waterway indicating

whether such dischiirge is a

new or ;m existing discharge;

(1 ) a statement of the

tentative detennination to

issue or deny an NPUIiS
permit for the discharge

described in the NPDES
application;

(F) a brief description of the

procedures for the

formulation of fmal

determinations, including a

30-day comment period and
any other means by which
interested persons may
influence or comment upon
the determinations; and
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(G) address and phone number
of state agency premises at

which interested persons may
obtain further information,

request a copy of the draft

permit, request a copy of the

fact sheet and inspect and

copy NPDES application

forms and related documents.
Copies of the fact sheet shall

be made available free upon
request. Copies of the

information on file, other

than fact sheets, will be made
available upon request and
payment of the cost of

reproduction.

(3) Public notice of NPDES
applications for discharges from
single family dwellings of 1,000

gallons per day or less shall not

be required.

(4) Public notice for those

activities co\cred by general

permits shall not be required.

(b) Notice of Hearing Public

Meeting

(1) Notice of public hearing

meeting on any NPDES permit

apphcation shaU be circulated in

the geographical areas of the

proposed discharge by the

director at least 30 days prior to

the date of the hearing meeting:

(A) txv posting a copy of the

notice at the^ courthou se in

th« county in which the

prctrcatmcnt facility , outlet
,

point source , oi- disposal

system lia»^

(A) (^ by pubhshing the

notice one time in a

newspaper having general

circulation in said county;

(B) (C) by maihng to all

persons and gosemmcnt
agencies which received a

copy of the notice or the fact

sheet for - the NPDES
application; and

(C) {D^ by mailing to an\'

person or group upon
request.

(2) The contents of public notice

of any hearing meeting shall

include at least the tollowmg:

(A) name, address, and phone
number of agency holding the

public hearing meeliii;-: ;

(B| name and address of each

applicant whose application

will be considered at the

hearing meeting
;

(C) name of waterway to

which each discharge is made
and a short description of the

location of each discharge on
the waterway;

(D) a brief reference to the

public notice issued for each

NPDES application including

identification number and
date of issuance;

(E) information regarding the

time and location for the

hearing meeting
;

(F) the purpose of the hearing

meeting
;

(G) a concise statement of the

issues raised by the persons

requesting the hearing

meeting ;

(H) address and phone number
of premises at which
interested persons may obtain

further information, request a

copy of each draft NPDES
permit, request a copy of

each fact sheet, and inspect

and copy NPDES forms and
related documents; and

(I) a brief description of the

nature of the hearing , meeting

including the rules and
procedures to be followed;

The notice shall also state

that additional information is

on file with the Division of

Environmental Management,
Department of Natural

Resources and Community
Development at the Archdale

Building at 512 North
Salisbury Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina, and may be

inspected at any time during

normal working hours.

Copies of the information on
file wiU be made available

upon request and payment of

cost of reproduction.

(c) Mailing Lists. Any person

may request to receive copies of all

notices required under this Rule and
the director shall mail such notice to

any such person. I'he director shaU

also dve notice to the foUowint: for

NI'DhS permits :

(1) State water pollution control
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agency for the states of Virginia,

South Carolina, Tennessee, and
Georgia;

(2) Appropriate district engineer,

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers;

(3) Lxad agency responsible for

preparation of plan pursuant to

Section 208(b) of the Federal

Water Pollution Control AeX.

Clean Water Act in approved

208 areas;

(4) State agency responsible for

the preparation of plans

pursuant to Section 303(e) of

the Federal Water Pollution

Control Aet Clean Water Act ;

(5) North Carolina Department
of Human Resources, Division

of Health Services, and
appropriate local health agency;

(6) Any other federal, state or

local agency upon request ; and

(7) The local governmental umt
or umts having jurisdiction over

specific residential projects as

specified in N.C.G.S.
143-215.1(dl).

(^ \ '^Y\iQ applicant shall pa\' to

tha Division of Environmental

Management tb& eo^ ef advertising

the public notice of- notices required

b^ Subdivisions {^ and (b^ ef \hi^

Regulation . Permits shall be
withheld until such cost s have been

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(a) (I); 143-215.1 (c); 143-215.4

(a); 143-215.4 (c).

.0110 RESPO.NSE TO PUBLIC .NOTICE

(a) Any person who desires a

public hearing meeting on any

NPDES permit application shall so

request in writing to the director

within 30 days following the

publication date of the notice of

application. The director shall

consider all such requests for hearing

meeting and, if he determines there

is a significant public interest

pertaining to water quality impacts

or uses of the waters , shall issue

public notice ol hearing meeting.

(b) All comments received witliin

30 days following the publication

date of the notice of NI'DES permit

application shall be made part of the

application fde and shall be

considered by the director prior to

taking fmal action on the

application.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(c) (3); 143-215.3 (a) (1);

143-215.3 (a) (3); 143-215.3 (a)

(4).

.01 1 1 MEETINGS A.ND HEARINGS
(a) Public Hearings Meetings.

The director shall provide an
opportunity for the applicant, any

affected state, any affected interstate

agency, the regional administrator,

or any interested agency, person, or

group of persons to request or

petition for a public hearing meeting

with respect to NPDES permit

applications. Any such request or

petition for public hearing meeting

shall be fded within 30 days of the

date of notice and shall indicate the

interest of the party filing such

request and the reasons why a

hearing meeting is warranted. The
director shall hold a hearing meeting

if there is a significant public interest

(including the filing of requests of

petitions for such hearing meeting )

in holding such a hearing meetmg.
Instances of doubt shall be resolved

in fa\or of holding the hearing

meeting. Any hearing meeting

brouglit pursuant to this Subsection

shall be held in the geographical area

of the proposed discharge or other

appropriate area, in the discretion of

the director, and may, as

appropriate, consider related groups

of permit applications.

(b) Adjudicatory Hearings. An
applicant whose permit is denied, or

is granted subject to conditions he

deems unacceptable, shall have the

right to an adjudicatory heariuag

before a hearing officer designated by

the director upon making written

demand, identifying the specific

issues to be contended, to the

director within 30 days following

notice of fmal decision to deny or

grant the pennit. Unless such

demani.1 is made, the decision on the

ajiplication shall be final and

binding.

(c) .Appeal Hearings. Any
decision of a hearing ollicer k)r

pennit N processed by the Division o|

Environmental Management made
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as a result of an adjudicaton hearing

held under Subdivision (b) of this

Regulation may be appealed by any

party, to the committee upon filing a

written demand within 10 days of

receipt of notice of the decision.

Hearings held under this Subdivision

shall be conducted in accordance

with N.C.G.S. 143-215.5.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(c) (1): 143-215. 1 (ej; 143-215.3

(a) (I): 143-215.3 (a) (3):

143-215.3 (a) (4); 143-215.5.

.(1112 I INAI ACTION ON I'IKMII
AI'PIK AllONS

(a) riie director shall take lina]

action on all applications not later

than 60 days following notice of

application or, if a public hearing is

held, within 90 days following the

closing of the record of the hearing

or in the case of a prelreatmcnt

permit 90 days after the receipt of a

complete appUcation.

(b) The director is authon/ed to:

(1) issue a permit containing

such conditions as are necessaPi'

to effectuate the purposes of

G.S. 143-215.1:

(2) issue a permit containing

time schedules for achie%mg
compliance with applicable

effluent standards and
limitations, water quality

standards and other legally

applicable requirements;

(3) modif>' or revoke an\ permit

upon giving 60 days notice to

the person affected pursuant to

Regulation .0114(a) of this

Section;

(4) suspend a permit pursuant

to Regulation .0114(a) of this

Section;

(5) deny a permit application:

(A) where necessary to

effectuate the purposes of

O^ 1 43 - 215 . 1 , .Article 2I_

Chapter 143,

(B) for a discharge proliibited

by G.S. 143-2 14.2(a),

(C) where the Secretary of the

Anny finds the discharge

would substantially imp;ur

anchorage and navigation.

(D) for a discharge to which

the regional administrator of

1:PA has objected as provided

in Section 402(d) of the

lt;dcral Water Pollution

('ontrol Au. Amendments oi

Xmi ^IL 32 500^ Clean
Water Act as amended ,

(E) for any point discharge

which conflicts with a plan

approved pursuant to Section

208(b) of the 4522 FWPCA
Amendment s Clean Water
Act as amended.

(c) ITie permit applicant has the

burden of providing sufficient

evidence to reasonably ensure that

the proposed system will comply
with all applicable water quality

standards and requirements. No
permit may be issued when the

imposition of conditions cannot

reasonably ensure compliance with

applicable water quality standards

and regulations of all effected states.

(d) The director shall submit

to the commission at its regular

meetings a report which contains the

action taken bv the division with

respect to any permit apphcation

since the last commission meeting.

(e) Permits shall be issued

or renewed for a period of time

deemed reasonable by the director

but except in no case shall the

permits be issued for a period to

exceed five years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214.2

(a): 143-215; 143-215-1 (b);

143-215.1 (c) (4): 143-215.1 (c)

(5); 143-215.2 (a): 143-215.3 (a)

il); 143-215.3 (a) (3J; 143-215.3

ia) (4).

.0113 NOTIFICATION OF
APPLICANTS

TTie director shall notify an
applicant bv certified of- regi stered

mail of the fmal decision of hi* the

applicant's permit application.

Notifications of denial shall be made
by certified mail and shall specify the

reasons therefor and the proposed

changes which in the opinion of the

director wiQ be required to obtain

the permit.

Staiuion- Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(a): 143-215.3 (aj (1); 143-215.3

(a) (4).

.0114 MODIFICATION AND
REVOCATION OF PERMITS

(a) Any permit issued pursuant to
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this Regulation is subject to

revocation , suspen sion or

modification in whole or part for

good cause including but not limited

to:

(1) violation of any terms or

conditions of the permit;

(2) obtaining a permit by
misrepresentation or failure to

disclose fully all relevant facts;

(3) a change in any condition

that requires cither a temporary
or permanent reduction or

limitation of the permitted

discharge; and

(4) refusal of the permittee to

permit the director or his

authorized representative upon
presentation of credentials:

(A) to enter upon permittee's

premises in which an effluent

source is located or in which
any records are required to be

kept under terms and
conditions of the permit,

(B) to have access to any copy
and records required to be

kept under terms and
conditions of the permit,

(C) to inspect any monitoring
equipment or method
required in the permit, or

(D) to sample any discharge of

pollutants.

(b) Modifications of permits shall

be subject to the same procedural

requirements as the issuance of

permits except as follows. The
director may remove this exemption
on a case by case basis.

(1) modifications of the

monitoring program contained

in the permit,

(2) name changes or changes in

the ownership o? the discharge

when no other change in the

permit is indicated,

(3) a single modification of any
compliance schedule not in

excess of four months,

(4) modification of compliance
schedules (construction

schedules) in pennits for new
sources wlieie the new source

will not begin to discharge until

control facilities are operational,

(5) modifications to include

or amend pretreatment program
requirements.

(c) A request for a modification

or revocation by the permittee shall

constitute a waiver of the 60 day

public notice required by G.S.

143-215. 1(b) for modifications or

revocations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(b) (3); I43-2J5.3 (a) (J J.

.0115 PUBLIC ACCESS
(a) All records, reports and

information required to be submitted

to the commission or the director;

any public comment on these

records, reports or information; and
the draft and fmal permits shall be

disclosed to the public unless the

person submitting the information

can show that such information, if

made public, would disclose

methods or processes entitled to

protection as trade secrets.

(b) The director is authorized

to determine information which is

entitled to confidential treatment. In

the event the director determines

that such information (other than

eflluent data) is entitled to

confidential treatment, he shall take

steps to protect such information

from disclosure. He shall submit the

infomiation considered to be

confidential to the Regional

Administrator, EPA, Region IV, for

concuiTence in his determination of

confidentiality.

(c) The director shall:

( 1) provide facilities for the

inspection of information

relating to NPDES permit

applications and permits,

(2) insure that division

employee s the staff handle

request for such inspections

promptly,

(3) insure that copying machines

or devices are available for a

reasonable fee.

Statutory Authority G. S. 132-6;

143-215.3 (a) (I); 143-215.3 (a)

(2); 143-215.3 (a) (4): 143-215.65.

.in 17 IN\ I sri<;AII()\.S:
MOMIOKIM;: AM)
Kl I'OKIINC

(a) I Emp loyee s Staff of the

Department of Natural Resources

and Community Development are

authorized to conduct any
investigations as provided in G.S.
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143-2 15.3(a)(2), (7), and (9) for the

puq)osc of dctc-rminLng compliance

with water quality standards, effluent

limitations, permit conditions and
any duly adopted regulation of the

commission.

(b) Any person subject to the

provisions of G.S. 143-215.1 shall

comply with the monitoring and
reporting requirements of regulations

in Section 15 NCAC 2B .0500.

This Regulation t.:ontains the

requirements (ot monitoring smd
rcportmg ik^ quantity iwiJ quality oi

waste di scharges t» and llicLr elTcct s

up>on tbc water resources oi the

state . U ak» contain s the. required

Ui^X^ and mcasurcmcnt Si Ihe- location

si sampling point s , and ihe-

frequency id the monitoring and
reporting U^ the following major
standard industrial groups:

S IC

NUMBER

0200.02qq

1400-1499

2000-2099

2 100 - 2199

2200-2299

2400-2499

2500-2599

2600-2699

2S00-2S99

2900-2990

3100- 3199

3 .100 . 3 .199

3500-3599

3600-369',)

M.4JQR
PRQDLCTS
QR SERVICES
Agricultural

Production

Li\ estock

j^ iininu

1 ood and Bcscrage

Processing

Tobacco
Processing

Textile Processing

Lumber &. Wood
Products Except

Eumiturc
Manufacturing »t

Eumiturc and
I'ixturcs

Paper & Allied

Products

Chemical &, Vllict l

Product s

I'etroleum Rcfmmg
& Related

Industrie s

Leather &, Leather

Product s

Eabricatcd Metal

Product s Except

Ordinance ,

Macliincr) &,

1 ransportation

Equipment
^ 'lachine^ l Except

Electrical

l. lectrical

Mach incp,

,

4600-4699

4900-4999

7200-7299

7300-7399

7500-S599

9999

Equipment and
Supplies

Pipeline

Tran sportation

Electric , Gas, &
Sanitary Scr^ficcs

Personal Service s

Mi scellaneous

Bu siness Servdcc

Automobile
Repairing Servdccs

Sir Garage
Domestic Sewage

Statutory Authority G.S. J43-2/5.

J

(b) (I), 143-215.3 (a) (1);
143-215.3 (a) (2); 143-215.3 (a)

(4); 143-215.3 (a) (7); 143-215.3

(a) (9); 143-215.63.

.0118 EFFLLtNT LIMITATIONS AND
STANDARDS

Any state NPDES permit or state

permit for a pretrcatment facility wiU
contain effluent limitations and
standards required by EMC
Regulation Adopting Effluent

Limitations and Guidelines iof

Wastewater Discharges U» Surface

Waters of North Carolina adopted
©n March 20, 43X5 ^5 NCAC 2B
.0400 and the Clean Water Act as

amended, by the commission or as

may be future amended by the

commission. That regulation

contains the effluent standards and
limitations for ensuring compliance
with Sections 301, 302, 306, and 307

of the Ecderal Water Pollution

Control Clean Water Act. For
efQuent limited stream segments, the

regulation adopts by reference federal

effluent limitations and guidelines as

state effluent limitations and
guidelines. Eor water quality limited

streat stream segments, the

regulations provide that effluent

limitations be calculated by the staff

and approved by the director, to

comply with Section 301(b)(1)(C) of

the federal act.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-213.23;

143-214 (c): 143-215; 143-215.1 (b)

(1); 143-2/5 3 (a) (1).

.0122 CONCENTRATED ANIMAL
I EEDING OPERATIONS

Part 122.23 of Title 40 of the Code
of L'cderal Regulations, as revised a<i

Apnl 1, 1983, entitled "Concentrated
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Animal 1 'ceding Operations", is

hereby adopted as part of the

Regulations of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 142-213

(24); 143-215; 143-215.1; 143-215.3

(a) (I).

.0123 REQUIREMENTS: EVALLATLNG
FEEDLOT PERMIT
APPLICATIONS

(a) Guidelines. Upon identifying

any concentrated animal feeding

operation or animal feeding

operation that the staff has reason to

believe should or could be regulated

under this permit program, the staff

shall conduct an on-site inspection

of such operation, and shall make
the following determinations as a

result thereof:

(1) For a concentrated animal

feeding operation as described in

40 CFR 122.23(b)(3) and
Paragraph (a) of Appendix B of

those regulations , does a

discharge of pollutants occur to

the surface waters of the state

by any means, as a result of any

other than a 35 \'car . 24 hou r

rainfall event 2 less severe than

a 25-year, 24 hour event.

(2) For a concentrated animal

feeding operation as described in

40 CFR 122.23(b)(3) and
Paragraph (b) of Appendix B of

those regulations ;

(A) Docs a pollutant discharge

occur to the surface waters of

the state through a man-made
ditch, flushing system, or

similar man-made device; or

(B) Does a pollutant discharge

occur to the surface waters of

the state which originate

outside of and pass over,

across, through, or otherwise

come in contact with animals

confmed in the operation, as

a result of any other th^a a

25 year , 24 hour rainfall event

1 less severe than a 25-year,

24 hour event.

(3) Case-by-Case Determination

(A) For an animal feeding

operation not otherwise

falling witliin the defmition

provided in 40 CFR
122.23(b)(3):

(i) Does a pollutant

discharge occur to the

state's surface waters

through a man-made ditch,

flushing system, or similar

man-made device; or

(ii) Does a pollutant

discharge occur to the

state's surface waters which

originate outside of and

pass over, across, through,

or otherwise come into

direct contact with animals

confmed in the operation

as a result of any other

than A 25 \'car, 24 hour
rainfall event 2 less severe

than a 25-ycar, 24 hour
event.

(B) If the staff determines that

a discharge occurs under

either (3)(A) (i) or (3)(A) (ii)

of this Paragraph, then such

an animal feeding operation

may be designated by the

Director, Division of

Environmental Management,
as a concentrated animal

feeding operation. In making
such designation, the director

shall consider the following

factors:

(i) The size of the animal

feeding operations; the

amount of waste therefrom

reaching the state's surface

waters;

(ii) The operation's location

relative to the surface

waters of the state;

(iii) The means of

conveyance of animal

wastus or process waste

waters into the surface

waters of the state;

(iv) The degree of slope,

nature of vegetation, extent

of rainfall, and other factors

relative to the likelihood or

frequency of discharge of

animal wastes and process

waste waters into the state's

surface waters;

(v) Other factors relative

to the significance of the

pollution problem sought

to be regulated;

(vi) Does a discharge of

pollutants occur which
results in a violation of

water quality standards, as
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a result of any other than a

2^ year , 24 hour storm

rainfall event 2 less severe

than a 25-year, 24 hour

event.

(b) Notice to Apply for Permit.

If the field determination verifies that

a discharge from an animal fcedmg
operation or concentrated animal

feeding operation occurs under any

of the conditions listed in Paragraph

(a)(1) to (3) of this Rule, the

director shall give written notice to

the owner or operator of the

concentrated animal feeding

operation, that he must submit an

application for a pennit. I he notice

shall specify that if the owner or

operator can permanently eliminate

a discharge of pollutants to the

surface waters of the state, by such

minor changes as can be affected

within 60 days of the receipt of

notice to submit a pennit

application (such as, but not limited

to, diversion of outside drainage

from pen areas, modifications to

lagoons, closing off drainage ditches)

a permit application will not be

required. If modifications necessary

to chminatc permanently discharges

of pollutants to surface waters of the

state cannot or are not completed
within 60 days of receipt of notice, a

permit appUcation must be

submitted.

(c) Permit AppUcations. Pennit

applications as required by 40 CFR
122. 2,i(;4 IL will be available in

county exten sion «md the Division of

F-nvironmcntal Management regional

engineers' environmental operations

section offices. On determination

that an application should be

submitted, the applicant should shall

forward a completed application

with supportinu inlormation required

by Rules .0105 to .0109 of this

Section. Apphcations with

supporting documentation mz to be

mailed to the Director, Division of

Environmental Management, P.O.

Box 27687, Raleigh, North CaroUna
27611. On receipt of the

application, the regional engineer,

accompamcd b^ » repre sentative of

the U .S . or N .C . Depart mcnt,v of

Agriculture , a representati\'e of the

Division ot^ finvmmmental
Manauemcnt wiU conduct an

inspection to determine whether a

permit is required. If a permit is

required, the application will be

processed. If not, it wUl be returned

without action. Those concentrated

animal operations that can alleviate

the requirement to have a permit

through minor modifications to

facilities will be given 60 days to

make such modifications prior to

processing the permit application.

On completion of required

modifications to facilities, the permit

application will be returned with

written confirmation that the

concentrated animal operation is in

compliance with these Regulations.

(d) Methodology for Establishing

a Potential for a Discharge Other
Ihan the 24 Hour , 2^ ¥««» Rainfall

Event as a Result of Any Rainfall

Event Less Severe Than a 25-year,

24 Hour Event. The staff site

evaluation shall include soil

characteristics of the feedlot and of

the land area lying between the

feedlot and the receiving stream;

slope and other topographic

characteristics of the feedlot and the

area between the feedlot, and the

receiving stream; and the total

drainage area. Using the results of

the site evaluation, the staff shall use

either the "rational method for

determination of runofP' or the

"SCS method for determination of

runoff' to establish whether a

discharge occurs at rainfall events of

less than the 24-hour, 25-year

rainfall.

(e) Impact Evaluation. Utilizing

the results of the site evaluation and
the runoff evaluation required in

Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the staff

shall through mathematical modeling

determine whether pollutants

discharged as a result of rainfall

runoff will cause a violation of water

quality standards at flows in

existence during the runoff period.

(f) Final Determination and Fact

Sheet. Upon a fmal determination

that a permit is required, the staff

shall prepare a fact sheet which

delineates the reasons which have

been established for requiring the

permit, the corrective actions if any
necessary to control the discharge of

pollutants, and an implementation

schedule for completing such
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actions. If no corrective actions arc

required, the fact sheet shall

specifically state that none are

required and provide the justification

for not requiring corrective actions.

Upon completion of the fact sheet,

the staff shall prepare an NPDES
draft permit containing a description

of needed corrective actions and a

schedule for implementation and
process the permit in accordance

with Rule .0108 of this Section.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-213

(24); 143-215: 143-215.1; 143-215.3

(a) (1) (4).

.0124 RELIABILITY

All facilities discharging t»

waters assigned B &f. SB
classification shall provide adequate

reliability measures ,disinfection, and
adequate standby systems which, in

the opinion of the director, wlU
insure continued treatment and
disinfection where the interruption ot

such treatment would render the

waters unsafe for primar)' recreation

usage . their best intended uses.

These requirements shall aka apply

ta facilities discharging upstream oi

B Of- SB- waters , if an interruption m
disinfection would render tbe waters

iA the B or SB segment unsafe foi:

primar)f recreation usage. The
rehablUty measures shall include the

following:

(1) For facihties with a design

capacity of 10.000 gpd or greater

parallel treatment units, capable

of handling the design flow even

with the loss of one unit, except

that treatment systems based

solely on gra\'ity flow, ani

treating intermittent waste flows

with adequate storage to prevent

discharges during maintenance do
not require paraUcl units; and

(2) at least one of the

foUowmg:
(a) dual or standby power

supply, or

(b) approval by the director

that the facility:

(i) serves a private water

distribution system which has

automatic shut-ofT at power
failure and no elevated water

storage tanks, and
(ii) has sufficient storage

capacity that no potential for

overflow exists, and
(iii) can tolerate septic

wastewater due to prolonged

detention, or

(iv) would have de minimus
impacts as a result of power
Failure,

(c) other measures which provide

comparable assurances that

surface waters wiU not be

impacted during power failures;

(3) comphance with other

reliability measures that, in the

opinion o? the director, are

necessary in a particular case.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-214.1;

143-215.1 (b); 143-215.3 (a) (1).

.0127 GENERAL PERMITS
(a) To the extent adopted by the

commission and approved by EPA,
the director is authorized to issue

general permits for certain

specifically defmed classes of

dischargers:

(1) once-through non-contact

cooling waters with no biocidal

additives;

(2) mine dewatering facilities;

(3) water filtration facilities;

(4) swimming pool fdtcr

backwash facilities;

(5) seafood packing facilities;

(6) oil terminal storage

facilities discharging to water

supply (WS III) waters;

(7) oil terminal storage

facilities discharging to waters

other than those classified as

water supply waters;

(8) sand dredges;

(9) trout farms;

(10) aquifer restoration.

(b) (jcneral permits wiU only

be issued into waters classified either

WS or SA following review and
written approval by the Division of

Health Services, Department of

Human Resources.

(c) General permits will only be

issued where the apphcant certifies

that best management practices have

been installed. Those general

permits apply statewide except where

restrictions based on the

classification of receiving waters are

stated.

(d) These general permits apply
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only to cooling water, and mine
dcwatcring discharges with volumes
of less than 10 MGD and to other

discharges listed in this Rule v\ith

volumes of less than 1 MCiH.
(e) No provision in any general

permit issues under tliis Rule shall

be interpreted as allowing the

permittee to violate state water

qualit) standards or other applicable

environmental standards.

(f) For one of these general

permits to apply to a facility, a

Notice of Intent to be covered by
the general permit must be given

using short forms E through M
descnbed in Rule .0105(a) of this

Section and, as appropriate,

following the application procedures

specified in Rules .0105 and .0106 of

this Article. If all requirements are

met, a general permit may be issued.

If all requirements are not met, a

long form application and full

application re\icvv procedure will be
required.

(g) General permits will be

effective for a tenn of five years at

the end of which the division may
renew them. .Ml public notice

requirements shall be satisfied i^rior

to renewal of general pennits.

Facilities covered by general permits

need not submit new Notices of

Intent or renewal requests unless so

directed by the division. If the

division chooses not to renew a

general permit, all facilities covered

under that general permit shall be

notified to submit applications for

individual permits.

(h) AH previous state water

quality permits issued to a facility

which can be covered by a general

permit, whether for construction or

operation, are revoked by approval

of the Notice of Intent to be co\ered

by a general permit.

(i) Anyone engaged in activities

covered by the general permit

regulations but not pennitted in

accordance with this Section will be

considered in violation in G.S.

143-215.1.

(j) If a facility has multiple

discharges, not all of which can be

co\ered by one or more general

permits, it is not eligible for any

general pennit, and all discharges

must be approved under a single

individual pennit.

(k) Any applicant may choose to

pursue an individual permit for any
facility co\ered by this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-21 5{ I);

143-215(3).

.0128 GtNERAL PtRMIT FOR
COOLI.NG WATERS

(a) Operators of once-through
non-contact cooling water facilities

with no chemical additives are

authorized to discharge to all

receiving waters except classified

trout (Tr) waters in volumes less

than 10 MGD and in accordance
with discharge limitations,

monitoring requirements, and other

conditions set forth in this Rule.

Boiler blowdown waters are included

in this general permit. Nuclear and
fossil fuel electric generating plants

are excluded from this general

permit.

(b) No monitoring is required.

(c) No chemical additives

including biocides and chlorine shall

be introduced into cooling waters

permitted by tliis general permit.

Use of any chemical additive will

require the discharger to obtain an
individual NPDES permit.

(d) The discharge shall be such
as not to cause an increase in the

temperature of the receiving waters

of more than 2.8 degrees C or to

cause the ambient water temperature

to exceed 32 degrees C in the coastal

plain and eastern piedmont or 29

degrees C mountains and western

piedmont, with regions as defmed in

Rule 2B .0202 of this Chapter. In

the case of discharges to tidal salt

waters, the discharge shall be such as

not to cause an increase in the

temperature of the receiving waters

by more than .8 degrees C during

the months of June, July and
August, nor more than 2.2 degrees C
during other months, and in no case

cause the ambient water temperature

to exceed 32 degrees C.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1):

143-215(3).

.0129 GKNERAl. PERMIT FOR MINE
UEWATERI.NG FACILITIES

(a) Operators of mine dewatering
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facilities arc authorized to discharge

to all receiving waters except

classified trout (Tr) and water supply

I (WS-I) waters in accordance with

discharge limitations, monitoring

requirements, and other conditions

set forth in this Rule.

(b) Monitoring of flow,

settleable matter, turbidity, and pH
is required monthly.

(c) The following discharge

limitations apply to discharges under

this general permit:

(1) Settleable matter: monthly
average not to exceed 0.1 ml/1,

daily maximum not to exceed

0.2 ml/1;

(2) Turbidity in the effluent

shall not exceed 50 NTU.
(3) TSS: monthly average not to

exceed 30 mg/1, daily maximum
not to exceed 45 mg/1;

(4) pH: between 6.0 and 9.0

standard units for freshwater or

between 6.8 and 8.5 for salt

waters.

(d) The permittee shall utilize

sound management practices to

ensure that contaminates do not

enter the surface waters as a result of

blasting at this site.

(e) Use of any additive chemical
will require the discharger to obtain

an individual NPDES permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);
143-215(3).

.0130 GENERAL PERMIT FOR WATER
FILTRATION FACILITIES

(a) Operators of water filtration

facilities are authorized to discharge

to all receiving waters in accordance
with discharge limitations,

monitoring requirements, and other

conditions set forth in this Rule.

(b) Monitoring of settleable

matter, turbidity, total suspended
solids, and pH is required monthly.
(c) The following discharge

limitations apply to discharges under
this general penmit:

(1) Settleable matter: monthly
average not to exceed 0.1 ml/1,

daily maximum not to exceed

0.2 ml/l.

(2) Turbidity in receiving water

due to a discharge shall not
exceed 50 NTU in streams or

25 NTU in lakes or reservoirs; if

turbidity exceeds these levels

due to natural background

conditions, the discharge level

cannot cause any increase in

turbidity in the receiving water.

(3) TSS: monthly average not to

exceed 30 mg/1, daily maximum
not to exceed 45 mg/1.

(4) pH: between 6.0 and 9.0

standard units in freshwater or

between 6.8 and 8.5 for salt

waters.

(d) The permittee shall operate

the facility in a manner which will

minimize the impact on receiving

waters.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-215(3).

.0131 GENERAL PERMIT FOR
SWIMMING POOL FILTER
BACKWASH FACILITIES

(a) Operators of swimming pool
fdter backwash facihties are

authorized to discharge to all

receiving waters except for classified

Trout (Tr) waters in accordance with

discharge limitations, monitoring
requirements, and other conditions

set forth in this Rule.

(b) No monitoring is required.

(c) The following discharge

limitation applies to discharges under
this general permit: pH between 6.0

and 9.0 standard units in freshwater

and 6.8 and 8.5 standard units in salt

waters.

(d) The permittee shall take steps

to limit the discharge of chlorine by
following manufacturers'

recommendations on the use of

products containing chlorine and by
controlling the discharge.

(c) Solids shall be disposed of in

an approved manner.

(f) The permittee shall take

adequate precaution to ensure that

nuisance conditions do not occur as

a result of this discharge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-215(3).

.0132 GENERAL PERMIT FOR
SEAFOOD PACKING
FACILITIES

(a) Operators of seafood packing

facilities are authorized to discharge

to all receiving waters in accordance
with discharge limitations,

monitoring requirements, and other

conditions set forth in this Rule.
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(b) No monitoring is required.

(c) No process wastewater shall

be discharged. Only vvashdown and
rinse water may be discharged under

this general permit.

(d) The washdown and rinse water

shall be screened prior to discharge.

(e) There shall be no discharge

of carcasses or offal to the surface

water from this facility.

(0 All solid waste shall

be disposed of in an approved
landfill.

(g) Use of any additive chemical

will require the discharger to obtain

an individual NPDES permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-215(3).

.0133 GENERAL PERMIT FOR OIL
STORAGE FACILITIES
DISCHARGING TO WS-III
WATERS

(a) Operators of oil storage

facilities are authorized to discharge

to water supply waters classified

WS-III in accordance with disch;irge

limitations, monitoring requirements,

and other conditions set forth in this

Rule.

(b) Monitoring of oil and
grease in effluent is required twice

monthly. Monitoring of phenols in

effluent and in receiving water is

required twice monthly.

(c) The following discharge

limitations apply to discharges under
this general permit:

(1) Od and grease: monthly
average not to exceed 30 mg/1,

maximum not to exceed 60

mg/1.

(2) Phenols: average in

discharge shall not cause

instream concentration of

phenols to be greater than 1.0

ug/1.

(d) The permittee shall maintain

a list of all oils and toxic and
hazardous substances used or stored

at the facility, all potential sources of

spill and leaks of these materials, a

method for containment, a

description of training, inspection

and security procedures, and
emergency response measures to be

taken in the event of a discharge to

surface waters. The list shall be

mamtaincd at the plant site and shall

be available for inspection by EPA
or division persoimel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-215(3).

.0134 GENERAL PERMIT FOR OIL
STORAGE FACILITIES
DISCHARGING TO WATERS
CLASSIFIED OTHER THAN
WS-I, WS-II OR WS-III

(a) Operators of oil storage

facilities arc authorized to discharge

to waters classified other than for

water supply purpxjses in accordance

with discharge limitations,

monitoring requirements, and other

conditions set forth in this Rule.

(b) Monitoring is not required.

(c) Oil and grease in discharges

under this general permit shall not
exceed a monthly average of 30 mg/1
or a daily maximum of 60 mg/1.

(d) The permittee shall maintain
a list of all oils and toxic and
hazardous substances used or stored

at the facdity, all potential sources of

spill and leaks of these materials, a

method for containment, and
emergency response measures to be
taken in the event of a discharge to

surface waters. The list shall be

maintained at the plant site and shall

be available for inspection by EPA
or division personnel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);
143-215(3).

.0135 GENERAL PER.MIT FOR SAND
DREDGES

(a) Operators of sand dredges are

authorized to discharge to all

receiving waters except classified

trout (Tr) waters in accordance with

discharge limitations, monitoring

requirement, and other conditions

set forth m this Rule.

(b) .Monitoring is not required.

(c) The following discharge

limitations apply to discharges under

this general permit:

(1) Settleable matter: monthly
average not to exceed O.I ml/1,

daily maximum not to exceed

0.2 mM;
(2) Turbidity in receiving water

due to a discharge shall not

exceed 50 NTl' in streams or

25 NTU in lakes or reser\'oirs; if

turbidity exceed ^ these levels

due to natural background
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conditions, the discharge level

cannot cause any increase in

turbidity in the receiving water.

(3) TSS; monthly average not to

exceed 30 mg/1, daily maximum
not to exceed 45 mg/1;

(4) pH: between 6.0 and 9.0

standard units for freshwater or

between 6.8 and 8.5 for salt

waters.

(d) Use of any additive chemical

will require the discharger to obtain

an individual NPDES permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1):

143-215(3).

.0136 GENERAL PER.MIT FOR TROUT
FAR.MS

(a) Operators of trout farms are

authorized to discharge in

accordance with discharge

limitations, monitoring requirements,

and other conditions set forth in this

Rule.

(b) Monitoring is not required.

(c) The following discharge

limitations apply to discharges under

this general permit;

(1) Settleable matter; monthly
average not to exceed 0.1 ml/l,

daily maximum not to exceed

0.2 ml/1;

(2) TSS: monthly average not

to exceed 30 mg/1; daily

maximum not to exceed 45

mg/1;

(d) Raceways shall be cleaned

regularly in such a way as to prevent

violation of water quality standards.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-215(3).

.0137 GENERAL PERMIT FOR
AQUIFER RESTORATIONS

(a) Operators of facilities for

the recovery and treatment of

contaminated groundwater are

authorized to discharge, for a period

not to exceed 180 days following

issuance of the General Permit, to all

receiving waters except WSI, WSII,
WSIII and SA in accordance with

the discharge limitations, monitoring

requirements and other conditions

set forth in this Rule.

(b) The applicant must
demonstrate by predictive

calculations accepted modeling
procedures, or other methods

approved by the director that

contravention of the applicable water

quality standards will not occur as a

result of this discharge.

Furthermore, the applicant shall

demonstrate by testing that there will

be no acute toxicity in the

wastestrcam and no aquatic chronic

toxicity in the receiving stream.

(c) Monitoring of effluent for

the toxic, hazardous or deleterious

substances, which are the subject of

the site-specified aquifer restoration,

is required on a monthly frequency

unless otherwise specified in the

General Permit.

(d) General permits for aquifer

restoration will only be issued in

cases where it has been
demonstrated to the satisfaction of

the director that the threat to human
health and safety or to the aquatic

environment are too great to allow

for the normal processing time of an

NPDHS Permit. If the applicant or

the division determines that the

restoration cannot be completed
within 180 days, the applicant must
file for a standard NPDHS Permit at

the same time that the application is

filed for the general pennit.

(e) ("ontaminated soils shall be

disposed of at an approved solid or

hazardous waste disposal facility.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(1);

143-2/5(3).

.0138 SUBMISSION OF PLANS AND
SPECIFICATIONS

(a) Required. After a permit has

been issued by the Division of

L^nvironmental Management in

accordance with this Section,

construction of wastewater treatment

facilities or additions thereto shall

not begin until fmal plans and
specifications have been submitted

to and written approval has been
issued to the permittee by the

Division of Environmental

.Management.

(b) Application.

(1) Application for approval of

plans and specifications must be

made in triplicate on official

forms completely fdled out,

where applicable, and fully

executed. The signature of the

consulting engineer or other

agt'iit will be accepted on the
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application only if accompanied
by a letter of authorization.

(2) Required sets of plans and
specifications:

(i) regular projects -- three

sets of detailed plans and
specifications,

(ii) federal and state grants

projects -- four sets of

detailed plans and
specifications plus federal

assurances required by
appropriate federal agency;

toxicity in the receiving

stream.

(3) Specifications describing

all materials to be used,

methods of construction and
means for assuring the quality

and integrity of the finished

project.

(4) When required, a

statement submitted that the

wastewater treatment facility

involved will be properly

disconnected and the wastewater

discharged into an adequate

district or municipal system
when it becomes available.

(5) If more than one contiguous

acre of land is to be uncovered

by a project, documentation
should be supplied verifymg

that the applicant has

completed an erosion control

plan.

(6) A 110 volt power source

and a potable water supply

must be available at the

treatment system to allow for

maintenance, clean-up and
sampling. In cases where this is

not reasonable or economically

achievable, an exception may be

granted by the Water Quality

Section Chief.

(7) For those wastewater disposal

facilities which have the

potential to cause a

contravention of groundwater

standards, hydrogeologic

information must be provided

as specified in Rule 2H .0205 of

this Subchapter.

Stalulory Authority G.S.

l43-2l5.l(c)(l).

.0139 MI.M.MLM DLSIG.N
RtQLlRKMENTS

/Ul facilities requiring a permit

pursuant to this Section shall be

designed following good engineering

practice and comply with the

minimum design requirements

specified in Rule 2H .0206 of this

Subchapter. The plans and
specifications must be stamped and
sealed by a Professional Engineer
licensed in North Carolina unless all

three of the following conditions are

met:

( 1

)

the plans and specifications

are for domestic waste from a

single family dwelling with flows

of 1000 gallons per day or less,

and

(2) the plans and specifications

are prepared by the homeowner,
and contain complete
information needed to evaluate

the proposed facility, and

(3) the eflluent limitations are

for secondarv treatment.

Statutory Authority

143-215. 1(c)(1).

G.S.

.0140 CERTIFICATION OF
COMPLETION

Prior to operation of any
treatment works or disposal system

permitted in accordance with this

Section, a certification must be

received from a professional engineer

certifying that the treatment works
or disposal system has been installed

in accordance with the approved

plans and specifications. In cases

where the treatment works or

disposal system was designed by a

homeowner rather than a

professional engineer, either the

pcnnittee or a professional engineer

must submit this certification.

Statutory' Authority

143-215. 1(c)(1).

G.S.

.0141 OPERATIONAL AGREEMENTS
Prior to issuance or reissuance

of a permit pursuant to this Section

for a wastewater facility as specified

in G.S. 143-215. l(dl), the applicant

must either provide evidence to

show that the applicant has been
designated as a public utility by the

State Utilities Commission or enter

into a properly executed operational

agreement with the Division of

Environmental Management. The
requirement for assurance of
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financial solvency will be made on a

case by case determination.

Statutory A uthority

143-215.1 (dl).

G.S.

SECTION .0200 - WASTE NOT
DISCHARGED TO SURFACE WATERS

.0201 PURPOSE
These regulations implement
G^ 1 43-215 . 1(d) bjr setting set forth

the requirements and procedures for

application and issuance of permits

for sewer systems, sewer system

extensions, disposal systems and
treatment works , and sludge

disposal systems whicTi do not

discharge to surface waters of the

state. 'iivi^ regulations of thk
Section wiU apply to^ aU permit

appUcations and renewals received

ea OF i^i^ Fcbruar},
f 4-t 1976 .

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-2/5.3 (a) (I).

143-215.1;

.0202 SCOPE
These regulations apply to all

persons proposing to construct, alter,

»f extend , or operate any sewer

system, treatment works or disposal

system which does not discharge to

surface waters of the state , »f

operating &f. proposing ta operate

aay sewer system , treatment works
,

or disposal system whieh does not.

discharge Xo- surface waters of tbc

state . , including systems wliich

discharge waste onto or below land

surface. However, these regulations

do not apply to sanitary sewage
systems which are regulated by the

Department of Human Resources.

Statutory Authority G.S. I30A-335:
143-215.1; 143-215.3 (a) (1).

.0203 DEFINITION OF TER.MS
The terms used herein in this

Section shall be as dcfmed in G.S.

143.213 except for G.S. 143-213(15)

and as follows:

(1) "Agronomist" means a

person with a four year degree in

agronomy or agricultural

engineering from an approved
college or uni\crsity.

(2) "Building" means any
stnicturc or ixirt ol a structure

built

enclosure

or

or the separate

persons.

chattels, or property of any kind

and which has enclosing walls for

at least 50 percent to its

perimeter. I'ach unit separated

from oth^r units by a four hour
fire wall shall be considered as a

separate building.

(3) "Buildmg drain" means that

part of the lowest piping of a

drainage system which receives

waste from mside the building

and conveys it to the building

sewer which begins fO feet

outside the building wall.

(4) "Building sewer" means that

part of the hori/onlal pipmg of a

drainage system which receives

the discharge of the building

drain and conveys it to a public

sewer, private sewer, or on-site

sewage disposal system.

(5) "C horizon" means the

unconsolidated material

underlying the soil solumT^hich
may or may not be the same as

the parent material from which
the solum is formed but is below
the zones of major biological

activity and exhibits

characteristics more similar to

rock than to soil.

(6) (1 ) The tcnn "Director" means
the Director of the Division of

En\ ironmental Management,
Department of Natural

Resources and Community
De\ elopmcnt or his delegate.

(7) "Dedicated site" means a site:

(a) to which sludge is applied

at^ rates or frequencies greater

than agronomically justihable,

or at agronomic rates where the

primary use of the land is lor

sludge disposal and crop or

ground cover production is oT

secondary importance, or

(b) an>^ sludge disposal site

designated by the director.

{S^ [8] "Division" means the

Di\ision of En\ironmental
.Management, Department of

Natural Resources and
Community Development.

(9) "Groundwaters " means those

waters in the saturated zone of

the earth.

helter or

ol animals.

(10) "Industnal wastewater" means
all wastcwakT t)tlier than sewage

and includes:

(a) wastewater resultini! from
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any process of industn or

manufacture. or fn)m the

dc\eloiiineiit ol am natural

(h) wasteualer resullinu from
processes of trade

includini

or fusiness.

wastewater from
laundromats and car

but not wastewater

restaurants:

(c) any combination of

washes.

from

sewage

wastewater.

and non-sewaee

(11) (^ '-the temi "Person"
shall mean means an\' and all

persons, including individuals,

firms, partnerships, associations,

public or private institutions,

municipalities or political

subdivisions, governmental

agencies, or private or public

corporations organized or

existing under the laus of this

state or any other state or

country.

( 12) "Pollutant" means waste as

defined in G.S. 143-213(18).

(13) "Pn\atc sewer" means any
part of a sewer s\stem which
collects wastewater from more
than one buUding. is pnvatel\

owned and is not direeth

controlled bv a public authority.

(14) "Professional engineer" means
a person who is presently

registered and licensed as a

professional engineer by the

North CaroUna State Board of

Registration For I'rotessional

lingmcers and Land Sur\eNors.

(15) "Public or community sewage

system" means a smgle system of

collection, treatment.sewage

and or disposal owned and
operated by a sanitary district, a

metropolitan sewage distnct. a

water and sewer authonty, a

countv. a municipalit\

.

or a

public utilit>

.

( 16) "Public sewer" means a sewer

located in a dedicated public

street, roadway, or dedicated

public nght-of-uay which is

owned or operated bv an\'

municipality, county, water or

sewer distnct. or any other

political subdu'ision <2[ the state

authori/ed to construct or

oper.ite a sewer s\ stem.

( 17| "Sewage" means the liquid .and

solid human waste, and liquid

waste generated by domestic
water-using fi.xtures and
appliances, from any residence,

place of business, or place oT

public assembly. Sewage does

not include wastewater thaT Ts

totalh or parti;ill\- industnal

wastewater, or ans other

wastewater not considered to be

domestic waste.

(18) ( 3)The term "Sewer system"

means gra\'ity flow pipelines or

conduits, eight inche s i» diameter

©f greater , pumping stations, and
appliances appurtenant thereto,

used for conducting wastes to a

point of ultimate disposal.

92 "Sludge" means any solid,

semisolid or liquid waste

generated from a wastewater

treatment plant, water supply

treatment plant or air pollution

control Tacilit\ perrrutted under
the authonty of the

Environmental Manaeement
Commission.

(20) "Soils scientist' means a

person with a four year degree in

sop science, agricultural

engineering or agronomy from ari

approved coUege or uni\ersity.

(21) (6) The term "StaiT' means the

water quality section staff of the

division oi en\'Lronmental

management Division of

Environmental Management
Department "oT Natural

Resources and Community
Development.

(-^ (22) "Subsurface ground
absorption sewage disp>osal

system" means a seu'age waste

disposal method relying which
distributes waste beneath the

ground surface and relies

primanls on the soil for leaching

and remo\'al of dissolved and
suspended organic or mineral

materials from human wastes.

Included are ground absorption

sanitap, sewage disposal systems

scrv ' ing for multiple family

residences I places oi business , dt

places Q-i public assembly , an4
having a design capacity in exce s s

©f 3 ,
nilfl gallon s ,

public or

communitN sewage systems aruT

grouiK l ap >.orplioii s\stems ©{

capacity which are designed
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for the disposal of industrial

wastes.

(S) (23) "Surface waters" means all

waters of the state as defined in

G.S. 143-213(20) except

underground waters.

(4) (24) "Treatment works or

disposal system which does not

discharge to surface waters"

means any treatment works or

disposal system which is designed

to:

(a) operate as closed system with

no discharge to waters of the

state, or

(b) dispose of wastes , including

residual sludges, after treatment

to the surface of the land, or

(c) dispose of wastes through
a ground subsurface absorption

system.

(J^ (25) "Underground waters" ©f
groundwaters means »n^ and all

waters beneath in the land

surface oi the stat&TTncluding the

land surface beneath surface

waters ©f the state , subsurface

including infiltration and
groundwaters.

Statutory Authority G.S. I30A-335:
143-213: 143-2/5.3 (a) (J J.

.0204 ACTIVITIES WHICH REQUIRE
A PERMIT

No person shall do any of the

following things or carry out any of

the activities contained in N.C.G.S.
143-215.1 (a) Q) thru UO) until or

unless such the person shall have
applied for anTTias received a permit

from the director or ( if appropriate

an approved local sewer system
program) and shall have and
compUed with the conditions if an^
as ate prescribed in the permit.

(44 make any outlets into tba

underground waters ©f the states

(2) con struct en- operate any sewer
system , treatment works

,

disposal sy stem which doc s

discharge to surface waters;

(^ alter , extend , of change the

construction of method
operation of any. sewer sy stem ,

treatment works , ot disposal

sy stem which doc s not di scharge

to surface waters
;

('\\ increase the omint i t \^ of \^';^ ^ te

discharged through any outlet ot

processed in any treatment work s

Of

of

or dispo sal sy stem which docs

not discharge to the surface

wi i lcrs to any extent which

would result in any violation of

Hm- effluent standards or

limitations established iof any^

point source of which would
adversely affect the condition of

the receiving ground waters to

the extent of violating any of the

standards applicable to such
waters , of to an extent beyond
such minimum hmit s as the

commission may prescribe , by
way of general exemption from
the provisions of this

Subdivision, by its official

regulations
;

(^ change the nature or quantity

of the wastewater not discharged to

surface waters in any way which
would contravene any applicable

water quality standards;

directly or indirectly , to be
discharged to or in any manner
inlennixed with the underground
waters of the state in violation of

water quality standards

applicable to the as signed

classifications or in violation of

any effluent standards or

limitations c stabUshed for any
point source , unles s allowed as a
condition of any permit , special

order , or other appropriate

instrument issued or entered into

by the commis sion pursuant to

6^ 1 43-2 11 et se«^
(J) c.iuse or permit any waste s

for which pretreatment is

required by pretreatment

standards to be discharged ,

directly or indirectly from a
prclreatment facility to any
dispo sal system which does not
discharge to the surface waters,

or to alter , extend , or change the

construction or method of

operation or increa se the

. quantity or change the nature of

the waste discharged from or

processed in such facihty
;

{^ enter into a contract for the

con>^ truction and installation of

any outlet , sewer sy stem
,

prclreatment facihty , treatment

work s, OF disposal system which
docs not discharge to surface
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waters, of iof- tba alt i^-ration oi-

extension (^ mw- M4ch fi<cilities ,

StaluUirv Aulhoritv (i.S. /.WA-3.L^:

l-IS-:i.\l: N3-:if>J (a) ill.

.(I2I1S AI'I'IICAHON: SLI'I'OK 1 1\<;

IM OKMAIION: RKQl IKKMl MS
(a) Junsdiction. Applicalions tor

scwcr system extensions under the

jurisdiction of a local sewer system

program shall be made in accordance

with applicable local laws and

ordmances. Applications for permits

from the division shall be made in

accordance with this Rule as follows.

(b) Applications. Application for

a permit must be made in dti plicatc

tnplicate on official form completely

fdled out. where applicable, and fully

executed in the manner set forth in

Regulation iU06 Regulation 0207
of this Section. A proce^^mg fee as

described herein must be ^ubmitted

with each application in the fonn of

a check or money order made
payable to N.C Department of

Natural Resources and Communit\
De\elopment. Applications ma\ be

returned if not accompanied b\ tlie

processing fee. The signature of the

consulting engineer or other agent

will be accepted on the application

only if accompanied by a letter of

authorization.

(c) I'rocessing 1 ee Aii

applicaluin>. Af^ incompkle until

required processing fuc^ m^ receixet l ,

^^^(^1 jy^ ^^ \. \\\2 ret urned \^ \\'[q

applicant , A non refundable

processing fee oF one hundred dollars

(SlOO.OOr shall be submitted with

each application. No processing fee

will be charged for modification of

unexpired permits when the

modifications are initiated by the

director to correct processing errors ,

to change permit conditions, or

otherwise to implement new-

standards. The processing fee shall

not apply to any farmer who
submits an application which

pertains to his farming operation.

'41hc procejsing &C i^ a«. follows :

The di\'ision shall not require permit

processing fees for permits issued by

local sewer s> stem programs.

TA-pc Ujm
Sludge 1 laiullinu S K lD.D ll

('io>.ed tif Recycle

S\>.tem>. Sni ll. U ll

Gravity Scwcr
lixteniiion IVojcct

I'olal Length :

15(1(1 fi_.i_-t . 51 (III)
f,_.^.|

(ireater tiw» 50U0

$ 10.0(t

S 25.(1(>

$ 50.00

Dclegaled

Municipality

Projects with

Pressure

Sewer &f pump station S 50 .00

Wastewater Ircatment .

'

Disposal Flow (gpd) :

1,000.4,999 $50.00
5,000 - 49,999 ^ISJM
50,000 ©f M©4:e $100 . 00

(d) {q^ Supporting Documents and
Information. (44 TTiis Subdivision

Paragraph outlines those supporting

documents and information which
must be submitted for sewers, sewer

extensions, and disposal systems and
wastewater treatment works which
do not discharge to the surface

waters of the state, t

(1) For all facihlics:

(A) Required sets of plans and
specilications:

[0 regular projects -^

three sets ol detailed plans

and specilications signed

and sealed by a professional

enpneer.

(ii) lederal and state

grants projects ^i
four sets

ol detailed plans and
specifications plus federal

assurances required by

appropriate federal agency;

(B) Specifications describing all

matenals to be used, methods
o^ construction and means for

assuring the quality and
integnt> ^F LEI finished

project:

(C) A general location map.
showing orientation ol the

reference to atfacilit\ with

twoleast two geographic

references (numbered roads,

named streams rivers, etc.);

(D) When required, a

statement submitted that the

wastewater treatment facility

wiin\ohi

disconnected

11 be properly

and the

waslewalcr discharged into an

adequate distnct or municipal
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system when
available;

it becomes sewer extensions

(E) Permits which result in

construction oF Facilities

which
£ubhc

will be funded bx
requ iremonies may

_

environmental documentation
pursuant to the North
Carolina Environmental

Policy Act. Permit

applications for which such

documentation is required

will not be considered

complete untH supported by
the required documentation.

(F) If more than one
contiguous acre of land is to

be uncovered by a project,

documentation should be

supplied verifying that the

applicant has completed or is

working with the appropriate

regional engineer of* the Land
Quahty Section on the

completiori oT an erosion

control plan.

(2) For wastewater facilities

specified m GS_ 143-215.1 (dl)

that are or will be jointly or

commonly owned, either a cop>

oT a properly executed

operational agreement or

evidence to show that the

apphcant has been designated as

a public utility by the State

Utilities Commission.

(3) (2) For sewers and sewer

extensions:

(A) design flow ; including

flows from branch sewers;

(B) rate of infiltration

in gallons £cr day per inch of

pipe diameter per mile of pipe

(C) letter of agreement from
owner or proper official of

treatment works accepting the

wastewater, if application is

not submitted by owner or

proper official having charge

of treatment works;

(D) plan and profile of sewers.

(E^ specification s describing i^
materiitls to- ba used , methods
oi construction iuid mean s ior

assuring the quality anJ
integrity oi tb^ fini shed
project ;

(E) Construction of sewers and

prohibited in

areas unless

the

the

followmg

specified

determinations are made
(i) in a natu ral area

designated on^
Areas

the Stale

NatunilRegistry

Heritage Areas by a

protection agreement

between the owner and the

Secretary o? tFe N.C.

Department of Natural

Resources and Community
unless theDevelopment,

EMC agrees

prudent,

that

Tcasible

no
or

technologicaUy

alternative exists,

(ii) in a natural area

dedicated

Carolina

as a

Nature

possible

North
Preserve

_ mutual agreement

between the owner and
State of North Carohna
(Governor and Council of

State), unless the EMC
andrecommends the

Governor and CouncU oT

State agree that no prudent,

feasible or technologicaUy

possible alternative exists.

(4) (J) For pumping stations:

(A) design datA^ calculations

for pump and force main
sizmg;

(B) plan and profile of

force main;

(C) plot plan
;
pump station

site location map;
(D) speciTication s de scribing

aU material s lo- be us(^
method s &i construction an4
means iof as suring the quality

and integrity id tb« finished

project
;

name and
classification of adjacent

surface waters which could be

anccted by a failure.

(5) (44 For septic tank subsurface

ground absorption systems:

(A) percolation data on soilf

soil evaluation of the disposal

site conducted by a soils

scientist down to the top ot^

the "C horizon", to include

texture, color,

capacity,

restrictive

horizons, cation exchange

capacity, the presence or

porosity,

percolation rale field

total thickness,
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absence of evidence of any
seasonal hiigh water table and
his recommendations
concerning application rates

oT liquids, solids, mincnds
and other constituents of the

wastewater;

(B) design data;

(C) plans of complete system

including plans plan and
profile views for septic tt ink ,

all system c(HTiponciiis,

system layout anJ cross

section profile ol nitriflcati^>n

lines;

(D) a map of the site, with

topographic contour intervals

not exceeding two feet or 25

percent of total site relief,

whichever is less, and
showing all facility-related

structures within the property

boundary and the location of

aU wells, springs. lakes,

ponds, or other surface

drainage ieatures within 5l)(J

feet of" the principal waste

treatment disposal sile(s).

(H) For industrial waste, a

hydrogeologic dcscnption of

the subsurface to a depth oT

20 feet or partially weathered

bedrock, whichever is less.

The number of bonnes shall

be sufficient to delmc the

following for the area

underlying each major soil

type at tne disposal site:

(i) significant changes in

lithology underlx ing the

site;

(ii) the vertical permeability

of the unsaturated zone and
the hydraulic conductivity

ofthe saturated zone, and

(iii) depth to the mean seasonal

high water table (TT

detinable from soil

frommorphology
evaluation

or

of other

(H)

applicable available data).

Information on the

location, construction details,

and primary usage (drmking

water. process water,

monitoring, etc.) of all wells

within 500 feet oi^the waste

treatment disposal area.

(G) Degree of treatment

(pnmapt', secondar\ lertiar\ ).

(H) For industrial waste a

complete chemical analysis of

the typical wastewater or

sludge to be discharged, may
mclude but not limited to

Total Organic Carbon, BOD,
COD, Chlorides, Phosphorus
Nitrates, Phenok Total

Tnhalomethanes, EP Toxicity

test parameters. Total

Halogenated Compounds,
Total Coliforms and Total
Dissolved Solids.

(I) proposed location and
construction details of a

momtoring well network.

(6) (^ For spray irrigation , of

land application , or sludge

except for rotary HTstributor

disposal systems and systems for

composting sludge for land

application:

(A) topographic map oi

disposal area ; a map of the

site, with topographic contour
intervals not exceeding 10 feet

or 25 percent of totaT site

rehet, whichever is less, and
showing all Facility-related

structures within~tlie property

boundary and the location of

all wells, pits and quarries,

sprmgs. lakes, ponds, or other

surface drainage leatures

within 500 feet of the waste

treatment /disposal site(s);

(Byic^ bonn^ and
subsurface data adequate for

site evaluation; excepting the

application of sludge at otRer

than dedicated sites, tHe

inlormation specified in

Subsections (d) (5) (E), (G)
and (H) oHhis Rule;

(C) soil evaluation of the

di sposal site conducted by a

rccogni/.cd soik scienti st and
tu^ recommendations
concerning application rates

of liquids , solids , minerals

and other constituents oi tba

wastewater ; soil evaluation of

the disposal site conducted by

a soils scientist down to the

top of the "C horizon", to

include texture, porosity,

color, percolation rate field

capacity, total thickness,

restrictive horizons, cation

exchcinge capacity. the
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presence or absence of

evidence of any seasonal high

water table and his

recommendations concerning

apphcation rates of Liquids^

solids, minerals and other

o7constituents the

wastewater;

(D) a project evaluation

conducted by a rccogniaed

qualified agronomist and his

recommendations concerning

cover crops and their ability

to accept the proposed

application rates of liquid,

solids, minerals and other

constituents of the

wastewater;

(E) complete plans and
specifications for the entire

system i , including treatment,

storage, application, and
disposal facilities and
equipment:

(F) For industrial waste,

a complete chemical analysis

of the typical wastewater or

sludge to be discharged, may
mclude but not Limited to

Total Organic Carbon, BOD,
COD. Chlorides, Phosphorus,

Nitrates, PhenoT Total

Irihalomethanes, EP Toxicity

test parameters. Total

Halogenated Compounds,
Total Coliforms and Total

Dissolved SoUds.

(G) Excepting the application

of sludge at other than

dedicated sites, proposed
location " and construction

details of a monitoring well

network.

(H) Information on the

location, construction details,

and primary' usage (drinking

water. process water,

monitoring, etc.) of aU wells

within the perimeter oT

compliance specified in Rule
21, .010.^ (h) of thisThapter.

(7) Tor systems tor composting
sludge lor land application:

(A) a map of the site, with

topographic contour intervals

not cxccedmg 10 feet or 25

percent of total site relict,

whichever is less. and
showing all facility-related

structures within the property

boundary and the location of

all weUs, springs, lakes,

ponds, or other surface

drainage features within 500

feet of the principal waste

treatment/disposal site(s);

(B) complete plans and

specifications for the entire

system, including facilities and
equipmcrit for treatment,

storage and preparation for

disposal;

(C) for uTdustrial waste,

a hydrogeologic description of

the subsurface, to a depth oT

20 feet or partially weathered

bedrock, whichever is less.

The number of borings shall

be sufficient to defme the

iollowing for

each

the

major
area

sodunderlying

type at the disposal site:

(i) significant changes in

Uthology underlymg the

site;

(ii) the vertical permeability

oTThc unsaturated zone and
the hydraulic conductivity

oFthe saturated zone; and
(iii) depth to the mean seasonal

high water table (E

defmable from soil

frommorphology
evaluation

or

oF other

apphcable available data);

(D) proposed location and
construction details of a

. monitoring well network.

(8) (4) For closed system or

recycle disposal systems and
treatment works:

(A) complete description si

wastewater including chemical

composition and chemical

reactions which may occur

v^ ithin th« system . for

industrial waste, a complete

chemical analysis ~oT the

typical wastewater or sludge

to be discharged, may include

but not

Oruanic

limited

Carbon,
to Total

BOD.
COD, Chlorides. Phos[

Nitrates. i'henol. Total

Irihalomethanes. EP Toxicity

test panimeters. Total

Halogenated Compounds,
Total CoUforms and Total

Dissolved Solids:

(B) plans and specifications of
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the entire system.

for

When
nccessar>' tor an

understanding of a treatment

process, the applicant should

also submit process flow

diagrams.

(C) soik evaluation te-

dctenninc load bcannus
capacity

, porosit\'
,

compactability »»4 other

features ncccssaPi
f t&

determine th« potential it^f-

ground water contamination .

For industrial waste, a

hydrogeologic description oTlOffli

irfacthe subsurface to a depth oT

20 feet or partially weathered

bedrock, whiche\er is less.

rhc number of bonngs
be suflicient to defme
{ollowing for

eachunderhine
the

majo r

>hall

the

area

soil

type at the disposal site:

(i) sigrulicant changes in

lithology underlying the

site:

(ii) the vertical permeability

ot the unsaturated zone and
the hydraulic conductivity

o

(m
the saturated zone; and

depth to the mean
seasonal high water table (jf

delinable from soil

morphology or from
ev:duation oT~ other

applicable" available data).

(d^ Mi scellaneous Requirements .

(44 Required scU oi plans

and specifications ;

(-A4 regular projects » twa
se4s oi detailed plans and
specifications

!

{&^ federal and state grants

projects " three seU of

detailed plan s and
specifications pki» federal

assurances required bv
appropriate federal agency;

(24 f^ pumping stations ;

(A4 na bv pa^ of overflow

lines

(£4 dual pumps,
(C) dual power suf^plv where

waters classified a^^ A Ur Br^ ape invohcd.

(-D4 high water alarms ;

1^ C^ompliancc uith commission
regulations on "coastal v . .4!- le

treatment disposal" found m

Section OMOO of thi*

Subchapter ;

(4) Compliance with commission
regulations on "

septic tank

sy stem s
" found in Section .0300

of this Subchapter , b^ a system

above 3
,
000 gallons design

capacity , which does not
discharge ta tb« surface waters
pf ^V)f> St at^:

{S^ When an application for

a permit is filed foe wastewater

facilities iet- a condorrunium , a

copy of the properly executed

"tri -pafty agreement" must b&
submitted .

1^ Where applicable , evidence

must b& submitted to- show that

application ha» been filed with

the State Utilities Commission

fer approval of utility »te
structures ;

(J) WTien required, a statement

should be submitted that the

wastewater treatment facility

involved wiU be properly

di sconnected
,

and the

wastewater discharged into aa
adequate district or municipal

system when it becomes
available .

(9) For rotary distributors:

(A) a map of the site, with

a horizontal scale of one inch

equal 1,000 feet or less and
topographic contour intervals

not exceeding two feet or 25

percent of the total site relief

whichever is less, and
showing all facility-related

structures within the property

boundary and the location of

all weUs, springs, lakes, ponds
or other surface dramage
features within 500 feet of the

principal waste

treatment/disposal site(s);

(B) hydrogcological

information describing the

vertical and horizontal extent

and lithologic character of the

unconfincd aquifer and its

hydraulic relationship to the

firsi confmed aquifer beneath

the site and the vertical

permeability and thickness of

the confining bed. The

mlonnation must also include

"ora determination

transmissivitv and

IHc

specific
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yield of the unconfincd

aquifer, detcmimed by either

a withdrawal or recharge test;

(C) a determination of the

quality and movement of

groundwater and surface

water in the area and an

evaluation oTthe impact that

the proposed system wHThavc
on water levels, movement
and quality of waters;

(D) complete plans and

specifications Jor the entire

system, including treatment
'
Storage and rotary distributor

facilities and equipment;

(E) the information specified

in .0205 (d) (5) (H);

(F) proposed location and
construction details of

monitoring well network;

(G) proposed momtoring plan

luding the method ofmc,

determtrung groundwater
levels arid quality of water

parameters and frequency of

sampling.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1;

143-215.3 (a) (I).

.0206 SUBMISSION OF PER.VIIT
APPLICATIONS

(a) Permit applications
,

supporting information, and
processing fee for permits issued by
the division shall be filed with the

Director, Division of Environmental
Management, Department of

Natural Resources and Community
Development, Post Office Box
27687, Raleigh, North Carolina,

27611. Applications for permits

from local sewer system programs
shall be submitted directly to the

local program director. The division

shaU not require permit processing

fees for p>ermits issued by local sewer

system programs.

(b) Complete application and
supporting informatiaa shall be fUe4

sX least 90 days i» advance of the

date QA which construction i» ta

begin &f contracts for construction

awarded .

(c) (b) Permit applications shall be
signed as follows:

(1) in the case of corporations,

by a principal executive officer

of at least the level of

vice-president, or his duly

authorized representative;

(2) in the case of a partnership,

by a general partner and in the

case of a limited partnership, by
a general partner;

(3) in the case of a sole

proprietorship, by the

proprietor;

(4) in the case of a municipal,

state, or other public entity by
either a principal executive

officer, ranking elected official

or other duly authorized

employee.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1;

143-215.3 (a) (I).

.0208 STAFF REVIEW AND
PERMIT PREPARATION

(a) I'he staff of the permitting

agency shall conduct a review of

plans, specifications and other

project data accompanying the

application and shall determine if the

application and required information

Of. accompanying supporting data of-

both are complete. The staff shall

acknowledge receipt of a complete

application. The local government
unit or units having jurisdiction over

specific residential projects shall be

notified of permit applications in

accordance with N.C.G.S. 143-215.1

(dl).

(b) If the staff's prekminar)^

determination in Subdivision (^ oi

thi» Regulation i« that. tha

application of accompanying
supporting d»ta of- both are

incomplete application is not

complete with all required

information , the stalF shall advise

the applicant by mail:

(4-) t^iat the application er

accompanying supporting data

Of. both are incomplete
;

^ (_!} how the application or

accompanying supporting

information data ©p both may
b>e modified to make them
acceptable or complete;

P) [2} that the 90 day processing

period required in G.S.

143-215.1 and Regulation .0209

of this Section begins upon
receipt of corrected or complete

application of- accomp:mying
with required supporting

intormation data &f both ;
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(4^ (3} that, if acceptable ot-

complete plans with all required

information are not resubmitted

within 60 days, the application

packet will be returned to the

applicant as "incomplete".

(c) Pursuant to GS_ 143-67 (a).

the staff of the division shall

determine for sewer system

construction or sewer system

extensions, whether the treatment

works or the sewer system to wliich

the new system will connect is

adequate to receive waste which will

be discharged to the new system.

(d) For treatment works and
disposal systems, the staff shall make
a site-specific evaluation to

determine the potential impacts of

the proposed project on surface and
ground water quality.

(4^ (Coordination With the

Ground Water Section

(-1-) L'pon receipt of applications

and supporting data , the staff

U4U for^vard copies ta the

appropriate fi^ld office

representative ef tb« ground

(^ B«f- disposal system s ot

treatment works , the. staff shall

conduct aA on ^4to evaluation

jointly with the ground water

section oi tb« division of

resource planning and
evaluation , Department of

Natural Re sources and
Community Development,

(^ The staff wjJ- consider the

comments oi tb« ground water

section in deciding ;

(A^ whether the application

and supporting informatioa i«

adequate
,

(-B4 whether ta issue ot deny
tbc permit application , or

(C^ on conditions to include

in tb« permit .

(«) If the staff recommends
issuance of the permit , the staff shall

prepare the permit and letter of

transmittal foe the director's

signature . 34^ pcnviit shall contain

terms and conditions necessary to

achiev'e the purposes of Article 24-,

('h iipter 44d of the N .C . General

Statutes .

(f^ if the Ftaff recommends den ial

of the p(.Tinit applicatitm , the Oaff

sha l l prepare an appropriate letter of

denial foe the director' s action and
signature . Preparation of a letter of

denial shall be deemed to be the

staff's recommendation for denia l -

reasons for denial and measure s

which the applicant ma^ take to

make the application approvable .

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-2/5.

J

(b), (d); 143-215.3 (a) (1);
143-2/5.3 fa) (4).

.0209 FINAL ACTION ON PER.MIT
APPLICATIONS TO THE
DIVISION

(a) The director shall take fmal

action on all applications not later

than 90 days following receipt of a

complete application and with

required information. supportmg
documents . AH permits or renewals

of permits and decisions denying
permits or renewals shall be in

writing.

(b) The director is authorized to:

(1) issue a permit containing

such conditions as are necessary

to effectuate the purposes of

Article 21, Chapter 143, N.C.
General Statutes;

(2) issue a permit containing

time schedules for achieving

compliance with applicable

effluent standards and
limitations, water quality

standards and other legally

applicable requirements;

1^ modify or re\fokc any pemut
upon gi'/ing 60 days notice to

the person affected pursuant to

Regulation .0212 1^ of thk
Section;

(4^ suspend a permit pursuant

to Regulation .0212 (a^ of thi»

Section
;

(^ (3) deny a permit application

where necessary to effectuate:

(A) where necessar>f to

effectuate the purposes of

Article 21, Chapter 143;

(B) where nece ssary to

effectuate the purposes of

N.C. G.S. 143-215.67 (a);

(C) where necessar)' to

effectuate commi ssion

regulations on coastal waste

treatment, disposal, found in

Section .0400 of this

Subchapter;

( D) where necessap
,
r to
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effectuate

regulations on
comnu ssion

"subsurface

disF>osal septic tank systems,"

found in Section .0300 of this

Subchapter;

(E) regulations on groundwater

quality standards found In

Subchapter 2L ^T this

Chapter.

(c) If a pKirrrut is denied, the

letter of dcmaT ^hall state the

reason(s) lor denial and any
reasonable measures which the

applicant"may take to make the

application approvable.

(d) (c^ The director shall submit

to the commission at its regular

meetings a rep>ort which contains the

action taken with respect to any
permit application since the last

commission meeting.

(e) {d^ Permits shall be issued or

renewed for a period of time deemed
reasonable by the director.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(a), (b), (d); 143-215.3 (a) (I).

.0210 NOTIFICATION OF APPLICANTS
(REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(a): 143-215.3 (a) (4).

.0211 PERMIT RENEWALS
Requests for permit renewals are to

be submitted to the director six

months prior to expiration unless

revoked in accordance with

Regulation .0213 Regulation

. 209(b)(3) of this Section. Such
requests must be submitted with a

processing fee of twenty live one
hundred dollars ($100.00) (S25 .00)Tn
the form of a check or money order

made payable to the N. C.

Department of Natural Resources
and Community Development. All

applications are incomplete until

required processing fees are received,

and may be returned to the

applicant. The processing fee shall

not apply to any farmer who
submits an application which
pertains to his fanning operation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(e) (I).

.0212 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
An applicant whose permit is

denied, or is granted subject to

conditions he the applicant deems
unacceptable, shall have the right to

an adjudicatory hearing upon giving

written notice, identifying the

specific issue to be contended, to the

director within 30 days following

notice of fmal decision to deny or

grant the permit. Unless such notice

is given, the decision on the

application shall be fmal and
binding. Administrative hearings

shall be conducted in accordance

with the procedure set forth in

Subchapter 21, Hearings, of this

Title.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(e); 143-215.3 (a) (1); 143-215.4.

.0213 MODIFICATION AND
REVOCATION OF
PERMITS

Any permit issued b^ the division

pursuant to these Regulations is

subject to revocation, suspension , or

modification upon 60 days notice

modification ~by the director m
whole or part foF good cause

including but not limited to:

(1) violation of any terms or

conditions of the permit;

(2) obtaining a permit by
misrepresentation or failure to

disclose fully all relevant facts;

(3) refusal of the permittee to

permit authorized employees of

the Department of Natural

Resources and Community
Development upon presentation

of credentials:

(a) to enter upon permittee's

premises on which a system is

located in which any records are

required to be kept under terms

and conditions of the permit,

(b) to have access to any copy
and records required to be kept

under terms and conditions of

the permit,

(c) to inspect any monitoring
equipment or method required

in the permit, or

(d) to .sample any discharge of

pollutants.

Statulorv .-Xuthoritv G.S. 143-215.1

(b) (2f; 143-215.3 (a) (Ij.

.0214 INVESTIGATIONS: MONITORING
AND REPORTING (REPEALED)
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Statutory Authority G.S. 143-2/5.

J

(b): 143-215.3 (a).

.0215 DELEGATION OF ALTllORlT^
Vox permits issued by the division,

the director is authorized to delegate

any or aU of the function contained

in these Regulations except the

foUowing:

(1) denial of a permit application,

(2) suspension oi a permit
,

(J^ (2) revocation of a permit,

(4) (3) modification of a permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I): 143-215.3 (a) (4).

.0216 LI.MITATION ON DELEGATION
(REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-2/5.3

(a) (/): /43-2/5.3 (a) (4);

/43-2/5.9 (d).

.0218 LOCAL PROGRA.MS FOR SEWFR
SYSTEMS

(b) Applications.

(3) An attorney representing the

local unit of government
submitting the application must
certify that the local authorities

for processing permit

applications, setting permit

requirements, enforcement, and
p>enalties are sO. least a» stringent

as compatible with those for

permits issued by the division.

Statutory Authority G.S. /43-2/5./:

/43-2/5.3 (a) (/).

.0219 .MINIMUM DESIGN
REQUIREMENTS

(a) x\ll facilities requiring a

permit pursuant to this Section shall

be designed following good
engineering practice and shall not

result in nuisance conditions. The

plans and specifications must be

stamped and sealed by a Professional

Engineer.

(b) Waste, including treated

waste, shall not be placed directly

into, or in contact with, GA
classified groundwater unless such

placement will not result in a

contravention of GA groundwater

standards, as demonstrated by
predictive calculations or modeling

methods acceptable to the director.

(c) Impoundments, trenches or

other excavations made for the

purjx)se of storing or treating waste

will not be excavated into bedrock
unless the placement of waste into

such excavations will not result in a

contravention of assigned standards,

as demonstrated by predictive

calculations or modeling methods
acceptable to the director.

(d) The bottoms of earthen

impoundments, trenches or other

similar excavations with the

exception of nitrification fields and
sewer line excavations shall be at

least four feet above the consolidated

rock surface, except that the bottom
of excavations which are less than

four feet above consolidated rock

shall have a liner with a hydraulic

conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7

centimeters per second. Liner

thickness will be that thickness

necessary to achieve a leakage rate

consistent with the sensitivity of

classified groundwaters. Separation

distances or liner requirements may
be reduced if it can be demonstrated
by predictive calculations or

modeling methods acceptable to the

director, that construction and use of

these treatment and disposal units

will not result in contravention of

assigned standards.

(e) Industrial waste shall not be

applied or discharged onto or below
the land surface when the vertical

separation between the waste and
the water table is less than three feet

unless such placement or discharge

wiU not result in a contravention of

classified groundwater standards as

demonstrated by predictive

calculations or modeling methods
acceptable to the director.

(f) Treatment works and disposal

systems utilizing earthen basins,

lagoons, ponds or trenches,

excluding nitrification fields and
holding ponds containing treated

effluent prior to spray irrigation, for

treatment, storage or disposal shall

have either a liner of natural material

at least ore foot in thickness and
having a hydraulic conductivity of

no greater than 1 x 10-6 centimeters

per second when compacted, or a

synthetic Uner of sufficient thickness

to exhibit structural integrity and an

effective hydraulic conductivity no
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greater than that of the natural

material liner.

(g) Except as otherwise provided

by these requirements or by terms of

a p>ermit, all waste treatment, storage

and disposal facilities must maintain

and operate a groundwater
monitoring system as approved by
the division. The monitoring system

must be designed to assess the

impact of any discharge on the

quality of the underlying

groundwaters and must be based on
the results of the hydrogeologic

investigation.

(h) For pumping stations:

(1) no by-pass or overflow lines,

(2) multiple pumps shall be

provided capable of pumping at

a rate of 2.5 times the average

daily flow rate with any one
pump out of service.

Pump-on/Pump-off elevations

shall be located such that 2-8

pumping cycles per hour may
be achieved in the pump
station. If extended detention

times are necessary due to

phased development, the need
for odor and corrosion control

must be evaluated by the

appUcant.

(3) where waters classified as

WS, SA, B or SB could be

impacted by a power failure, at

least one of the following shall

be required:

(A) dual source or standby
power supply on site or;

(B) telemetry systems with

sufficient numbers of standby
generators and staff for

distribution or;

(C) approval by the director

that the pump station:

(i) serves a private water

distribution system which
has automatic shut-off at

power failure and no
elevated water storage

tanks, and
(ii) has sufficient storage

capacity that no potential

for overflow exists, and
(iii) is connected to

facilities that can tolerate

septic wastewater due to

prolonged detention;

(4) A screened vent shall be
provided for the wet well;

(5) high water alarms;

(6) protection from a 100 year

flood;

(7) restricted access to the

site and equipment.

(i) For sewer systems and sewer

system extensions:

(1) All building drains and
budding sewers which are

approved by the local buUding

inspector in accordance with the

North Carolina Building Code
are deemed to be permitted by
the Envirorunental Management
Commission;

(2) AH sewers shall be designed

based upon at least minimum
standards which include:

(A) wastewater flow rate at

peak loading shall be

adequate to serve the facibties

for which they arc intended

with the sewer flowing half

fuU;

(B) a velocity of two feet per

second;

(C) construction and operation

shall not result in water

poUution;

(D) infiltration/ cxfiltration

rate limited to 200 gallons per

day per inch of pipe diameter

per mile of pipe;

(F) contruction and operation

consistent with all applicable

local ordinances;

(F) for pubUc sewers, a

minimum eight inch diameter

pipe;

(Cj) minimum separations:

(i) Storm sewers

(vertical) 12 inches

(ii) Water mains
(vertical) 18 inches or

(horizontal) 10 feet

(iii) In benched trenches

(vertical) 18 inches

(iv) Any private or public

water supply source,

including any Class I or

Class II impounded
reservoirs used as a source

of drinking water'lOO feet

(v) Waters classified

A -II, WSI, WSII, WSIII,

B, SA, or SB [from normal
high water (or tide

elevation)] 50 feet

(vi) Any other stream.
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lake or impoundment 10

feet

(vii) Any building

foundation 5 feet

(viii) Any basement 10 feet

(i^ Aav- property line 5
fget

(ix) (*) Top slope of

embankment or cuts of 2

feet or more vertical height

10 feet

(x) {^ Drainage systems

(1) Interceptor drains 5

feet

(II) Ground water

lowering and surface

drainage ditches 10 feet

(xi) (j«4 Any swimming
pool 10 feet

Ferrous sewer pipe with joints

equivalent to water main standards,

shall be used where these minimum
separations cannot be maintained.

Jft »» case shall the The minimum
separation shall however not be less

than 25 feet , from a private well or

50 ft from a public water supplv

weU.

(H) Three feet minunum cover

shall be provided for all

sewers unless ferrous material

pipe is specified. Ferrous

material pipe or other pipe

with proper bedding to

develop design suppxjrting

strength shall be provided

where sewers are subject to

traffic bearing loads;

(I) The maximum separation

between manholes shall be

425 feet unless written

documentation is submitted

with the application that the

owner/authority has the

capability to perform routine

cleaning and maintenance on
the sewer at the specified

manhole separation;

(J) Drop manholes shall be

provided where invert

separations exceed 2.5 feet;

(K) Manholes shall be

designed for lOO-ycar flood

protection;

(L) Air relief valves shall be

located at all high points

along force mains;

(M) Odor and corrosion

control must be evaluated by

the applicant for all sewers

and force mains with

extended travel times,

(j) For treatment works and
disposal systems:

(1) no by-pass or overflow lines;

(2) multiple pumps if pumps are

used;

(3) where waters classified as

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, B, SA, or

SB could be impacted by a

power failure, at least one of the

following;

(A) dual or standby power
supply on site, capable of
powering all essential

treatment comfxjnents under
design conditions, or

(B) approval by the director

that the facility;

(i) serves a private water

distribution system which
has automatic shut-off at

power failure and no
elevated water storage

tanks, and
(ii) has sufficient storage

capacity that no potential

for overflow exists, and
(iii) can tolerate septic

wastewater due to

prolonged detention;

(4) protection from 100 year

flood;

(5) buffer zones of at least

the following distances, and
greater where necessary to

comply with Section 2H .0400

of this Subchapter or to address

particular site or waste

characteristics:

(A) Any habitable residence

or place of public assembly
under separate ownership or

which are to be sold;

(i) for spray irrigation

systems not covered by 2H
.0206(e)....400 feet

(ii) for surface sludge

application. ...400 feet

(ui) for subsurface sludge

injection.. ..200 feet

(iv) for falcultative

lagoons. ...400 feet

(v) for activated sludge

plants or surface sand

filters.... 100 feet

(B) Any private or public

water supply source.... 100

feet;

(C) Streams classified as WS-I,
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WS-II, WS-III or B:

(i) for subsurface

disposal. ...50 feet

(ii) for non-discharge surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(D) Waters classified SA or

SB.... 100 feet from normal
high water:

(E) Any other stream, canal,

marsh, or coastal waters:

(i) for subsurface

disposal....50 feet

(ii) for non-discharge

surface disposal.... 100 feet

(F) Any Class I or Class II

impounded reservoir used as

a source of drinking

water.... 100 feet from normal
high water:

(G) Any other lake or

impoundment:
(i) for subsurface

disposal. ...50 feet

(ii) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(H) Any buUding foundation:

(i) for subsurface

disposal.... 10 feet

(ii) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(I) Any basement:

(i) for subsurface

disposal.... 15 feet

(ii) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(J) Any property line:

(i) for spray

irrigation.... 150 feet

(ii) for other surface

disposal systems.... 100 feet

(iii) for subsurface sludge

injection... 100 feet

(iv) for other surface

treatment systems.... 50 feet

(v) for other subsurface

systems.... 10 feet

(K) Top of slope of

embankments or cuts or two
feet or more in vertical height:

(i) for subsurface

disposal.... 15 feet

(ii) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(L) Any water line.... 10 feet:

(M) Drainage systems:

(i) Interceptor drains

(upslope)

(I) for subsurface

disposal.... 10 feet

(II) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(ii) Interceptor drains

(downslope)

(I) for subsurface

disposal. ...25 feet

(II) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(iii) Groundwater lowering

and surface drainage ditches

(I) for subsurface

disposal. ...25 feet

(II) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(N) Any swimming pool:

(i) for subsurface

disposal.... 15 feet

(ii) for surface

disposal.... 100 feet

(O) Any other nitrification

field (except repair area).... 20

feet

(P) Any weU.... 100 feet

(Q) Pubhc right-of-way surface

disposal.... 50 feet

(6) adequate flow equalization

for facihties with fluctuations in

influent flow which may
adversely affect the performance
of the system;

(7) preparation of an operational

management plan, including

restricted access to the site and
equipment, and, if appropriate,

a crop management plan;

(8) except for facilities for

single family residences or as

approved by the director,

appropriate monitoring wells

designed to assess the impacts

on the groundwater of any
discharge and constructed in

accordance with Section 2C
.0100 of this Chapter,

(k) lor Land Application of

l^omestic Wastewater on Ciolf

Courses and Other Public Access

Areas:

(1) Aerated flow equaliy.ation

facilities with a capacity of at

least 25 percent of the system

design flow.

(2) AH essential treatment and
disposal units shall be provided

in duplicate.

(3) The treatment process shall

produce an effluent with a

monthly average TSS of less

than 5 mg/1 and a daily

maximum TSS of less than 10

mg/1 and a maximum fecal
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coliform level of less than 1/100

ml, prior to discharge to a

five-day detention pond.

(4) There must be no public

access to the five-day detention

pond.

(5) The size of the irrigation

pond, that follows the five day

holding pond, shall be justified

using a mass water balance for

worse case conditions.

(6) An automatic;dly activated

standby power source or other

means to prevent improperly

treated wastewater from entering

the fivc-day detention pond
shall be provided.

(7) Requirements for the lining

of the five-day detention and
irrigation ponds shall be

site -specific.

(8) In the design of the sprinkler

system, the piping shall be a

separate system, with no
cross-connections to a potable

water supply (includes no
spigots on the distribution

system).

(9) The rate of application shall

be site-specific but not

exceeding 1 and 3/4 inches/week

(as given in 2H .0404(g|(8).

( 10) The time of spraying shall

occur between 11:00 p.m. and
three hours prior to the daily

opening of the course.

(11) There shall be a 100 foot

vegetative buffer zone between
the edge of spray influence and
the nearest dwelling.

( 12) Signs shall be posted at the

pro-shop stating that the course

is irrigated with treated

wastewater.

(13) There shall be a certified

operator of a class equivalent to

the class plant on call 24

hours/day.

(1) Wastewater Flow Rates:

(1) In determining the volume of

sewage from dwelling units, the

flow rate shall be 120 gallons

per day per bedroom. llie

minimum volume of sewage

from each dwelling unit shall be

240 gallons per day and each

additional bedroom above two
bedrooms will increase the

volume by 120 gallons per day.

Each bedroom or any other

room or addition that can

reasonably be expected to

function as a bedroom shall be

considered a bedroom for design

purposes. When the occupancy
of a dwelling unit exceeds two
persons per bedroom, the

volume of sewage shall be

determined by the maximum
occupancy at a rate of 60

gallons per person per day.

(2) The following table shall be

used to determine the minimum
allowable design daily flow of
wastewater facilities. Design
flow rates for establishments not

identified below shall be

determined using available flow

data, water-using fixtures,

occupancy or operation

patterns, and other measured
data.

Type of

Establishments

Daily Flow
For Design

Airports, also RR Stations, bus
terminals, (not including food

service facilities).... 5 gal/passenger;

Barber Shops.... 50 gal/chair;

Bars, Cocktail Lx)unges (not

including food services).... 20

gal/ seat;

Beauty Shops.... 125 gal/booth or

bowl;

Bowling Alleys. ...50 gal/lane;

Businesses (other than those listed

in this table).... 25 gal/employee;

Camps:
Construction or work camps. ...60

gal/person

Summer camps. ...60 gal/person

Camp grounds
Without water and sewer

hookups.... 100 gal/campsite

Travel trailer/recreational

vehicle park with water and
sewer hookup.... 120

gal/campsite;

Churches (not including food

service, day care and camps). ...3

gal/scat;

(."ountry Clubs - Resident

.Members....60 gal/person

Nonresident Members. ...20

gal/person;

Day Care Facilities.... 15 gal/person;

Factories (exclusive of industrial

wastes) — per shift. ...25 gal/person
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Add for showers -- per shift.... 10

gal/person;

Food Service Facilities Restaurants

(including fast food). ...40 gal/seat or

40 gal/ 15 ft2 of dining area,

whichever is greater

24-hour Restaurants.... 50 gal/seat

Single-Service (exclusive of fast

food). ...25 gal/seat

Food Stands:

(1) Per 100 square feet of

total floor space... 50 gal

(2) Add per employee. ...25 gal;

Hospitals. ...300 gal/bed;

Laundries (self-service).... 500

gal/machine;

Marinas.... 10 gal/boat slip

With bathhouse. ...30 gal/boat slip:

Meat Markets:

(1) Per 100 square feet of total

floor space... 50 gal

(2) Add per employee... .25 gal;

Motels/Hotel... 120 gal, room
with cooking facilities in

room.... 175 gal/room;

Nursing/ Rest Homes — With
laundry.... 120 gal/bed

Without laundry. ...60 gal/bed;

Offices — per shift. ...25 gal/person:

Residential! Care Facilities. ...60

gal person;

Resort.... 200 gal, room;
Restaurants. ...40 gal/scat, or 40

gal/ 15 ft2 of dining area (whichever

is greater);

Schools:

Day Schools:

With cafeteria, gym, and
showers.... 15 gal/student;

With cafeteria only.... 12

gal/student;

With neither cafeteria nor
showers.... 10 gal/student;

Boarding. ...60 galperson;

Service Stations. ...250 gal/water

closet or urinal;

Stadiums, Auditoriums, Theaters,

Drive-ins. ...5 gal seat or space;

Stores, shopping centers and malls
-- Note: if food service is included.

add 40 gal scat. ...120 gal/ 1000 ft2;

Swimming Pools and
Bathhouses... 11) gal person.

(3) An adjusted daily sewage flow

may be granted upon a showing
that a sewage system is

adequate to meet actual daily

water consumption from a

facility included in

Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this

Paragraph. Documented,
representative data from that

facility or a comparable facility

shall be submitted, consisting of

at least 12 consecutive monthly
total water consumption
readings and daily total water

consumption readings for at

least 30 consecutive days of

water use. The daily readings

shall be taken during a

projected peak sewage flow

month. The adjusted design

daily sewage flow shall be

determined by taking the

numerical average of the daily

readings that fall within the

upper 10 percent of the daily

readings when ranked in

descending order,

(m) Additional requirements:

(1) distance between water supply

wells and waste facilities in

accordance with Rule 2C
.0107(a) of this Chapter or, if a

greater area may be impacted, a

distance in accordance with the

perimeter of compliance

described m Rule 2L .0103(h) of

this Chapter;

(2) comphance v\ith the

groundwater standards specified

in Subchapter 2L of this

Chapter;

(3) where apphcablc compliance

with regulations on "coastal

waste treatment disposal" found
in Section .0400 of this

Subchapter; and

(4) For subsurface disposal

systems, compliance with

regulations on subsurface

disposal svstems found in

Section '.0300 of this

Subchapter.

(n) .'Mtcmative Design Criteria

may be approved by the director.

riiis approval wiU only be given in

cases where the applicant can

demonstrate that the /Vltemati\e

Design Criteria will prcnide the

following:

( 1) I'qual or better treatment of

the waste; and

(2) Equal or better protection of

the waters of the state; and

(3) No increased potential for

nuisance conditions.
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Slaluton' Aulhority G.S. 143-215. 1;

l43-2l5.3(a)(l).

.0220 CKKlll ICATION Ol
COMIM 1HON

Prior to tlic operation of any
scwcr system, treatment works ox

disposid system permitted in

accordanee with this Section, a

certification must be received by the

permitting agency from a

professional engineer certifying that

the sewer system, treatment works or

disposal system has been installed in

accordance with the approved plans

and specifications.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215. 1.

.0221 OPERATIONAL AGREEMENTS
Prior to issuance or reissuance

of a permit pursuant to this Section

for a wastewater facility as specified

m G.S. 143-215.1(dl),'the applicant

must either provide evidence to

show that the applicant has been
designated as a public utility b\ the

State Utilities Commission or enter

into a properly executed operational

agreement with the Division of
Environmental Management. 'l"he

requirement for assurance of

financial solvency will be made on a

case by case determination.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-2 1 5.1 (dl).

SECTION .0900 - LEGAL
PRETREAT.MENT PROGRA.MS

.0901 PURPOSE
(a) This Section is designed to

provide procedures for submission,

review, and approval of local

pretrcatment programs as well as

procedures for the implementation

of approved pretrcatment programs.

'Ihis Section also contains the

requirements for removal allowances

and variances from categorical

pretrcatment standards for

fundamentallN different factors.

Statutory Authority

I43-I25.3la)(l4).

G.S.

.0902 SCOPE
The section apphes to

nondomcstic pollutants covered bv
15 NCAC 2B .0405(a) discharged

into or otherwise transported by

truck or rail or otherwise introduced

into PO'l Ws T , to POTWs which
receive wastewater from sources

subject to pretrcatment standards

eslabli.shed in 15 NCAC 20 .0405(a)

T ; a«U to any new or existing source

subject to pretrcatment standaids
;

and to PQ rWs which receive

wastewater frorrr
~

sourccs subject to

pretrcatment standards estabbshed in

compliance with 15 NCAC 2H
.0909.

Statutory Authority

l43-2l5.3(a)(l4).

G.S.

.0903 DEFLNITIO.N OF TERMS
(a) ITie definitions promulgated

by the Environmental Protection

Agency and codified as 40 CFR Part

403.3 are hereby adopted by
reference as amended through May
ir iaS4 March f ^987.

(b) For this Regulation the

foilowLng definitions in addition to

those in .0903(a) abo\e shall appTy:

( 1) "Average" means the \alue

calculated by dividing the sum
of the data values coUected over

a time period by the number of

data points which compose the

sum.

(2) "Commission" means the

Environmental .Management
Commission of the Department
oT Natural Resources and
Community Development or its

successor.

(3) "Committee" means the

NPDES committee oT the

Environmental Management
Commission.

(4) "Control Authority" refers

(A) the POTW if the POTWs
submission for its

pretrcatment program has

been approved, or:

(B) the approval authority if

the submission has not been
approved.

(5) "Division" refers to the

North CaroUna Department of

Natunil Resources and
Development.
Environmental

Community
Division of

Management.

(6) "EP.A" means the United

States Environmental Protection

Aeencv.
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(7} "IDMR Form" or "IDMR"
means the indirect discharger

momtoring reporting form.

(8} "POTW Director" means the

chief administrative officer "oT

the publicly owned treatment

works or his delegate.

(9) "Significant Industrial

User" means a facility which

discharges wastewater into a

publicly owned treatment works

and which:

(A) has an average daily

process wastewater flow of

greater than 50,000 gallons

per day, or;

(B) contributes more than 5

percent of any design capacity

of the wastewater treatment

which

Natural Resources

plant receives lEe
discharge, or;

(C) IS required to meet a

nationa

or receivmg stream, or

Funit the POTW sludge

categorical

pretreatment standard, or;

(D) is determmed by the

control authority to have a

potential to adversely impact

the wastewater treatment

plant

to '^

disposal options, or;

(E) has been included in the

momtormg program
submitted in accordance with

.0906 of This Section provided

such lU has not been

chmated through .0907(b)

and (c) of this SccTion.

( 10) "Significant Violation" is^

(A) a SIX month average value

for a conventional or

nonconventional pollutant

which exceeds a pretreatment

standard by 40 percent, or;

(B) a six month average value

for a toxic pollutant which
exceeds a pretreatment

standard by 20 percent, or;

(C) any violation which

remains uncorrected for 45

days after notification "ol

noncompliance by the control

authority, or;

(D) any viofation which
conlnbutes to or results in

wTTFi the

•S pennit.

noncompliance
IH) rw s M>1)1

(11) "StaiFlncans the staff of

the Division of Environmental

Management, Department oT

Community Development.

Statutory Authority

l43-2l5.3(a)(l)(14).

and

G.S.

.0904 REOUIRIl) PRETREATMENT
PROGRAMS

The regulations covering

pretreatment program development

by the POTW promulgated by the

Environmental Protection Agency
and codified as 40 CFR Part

403.8(a) through 40 CFR Part

403.8(e) are hereby adopted by

reference as amended through May
X^XmA, March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-215. l(a)(b); l43-2l5.3(a)( 14).

.0905 POTW PRETREATMENT
PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

The POTW pretreatment program
requirements promulgated by the

Environmental Protection Agency
and codified as 40 CFR Part 403.8(f)

are hereby adopted by reference as

amended through Nlay L, 1984.

March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(a) (b); 143-215.3 (a) (I) (14);

I53A-274; I53A-275; 160A-3II;

I60A-3I2.

.0906 SUBMISSION FOR APPROVAL
(a) The regulations covering the

contents of pretreatment programs
submitted for approval and the

contents of a request to revise

pretreatment standards, promulgated

by the Environmental Protection

Agency and codified as 40 CFR Part

403.9 are hereby adopted by
reference as amended through May
4t1984, March 1, 1987.

(b) In addition to the contents

oT"! POTW pretreatment program
submission from .0906(a) above, the

program submission must contain:

(1) an industrial user survey as

required bv 40 CFR 403.8 (f)

(2] (i-iii) and ]5 NCAC 2H
.0')05, including identification~of

all industrial users and the

cTTaracter and .imount "oT

pollutants contributed to the

IHJ rw by these indJjsTrial users;

(2) technical information
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(including specific data required

Xo^ specify violations "oT the

discharge prohibitions in 4 (J

CFR 403.5(a) and (b) and 15

NCAC 2H .0909) necessar>- to

develop an industrial waste

ordinance or other means of

enforcing prctreatmcnt

standards;

(3) specifiFPOTW effluent

limitations tor prohibited

poUutants (as dcfmcd in 40

CFR 403.5(a) and (b) and 15

NCAC 2H .0909) contnbutcd
to the POrW bv industnal

users and the technical basis for

these limitations.

(4) the design of a monitoring

program v\hich will implement
the requirements of 40 CFR
403.8(f) and 403.12, and 15

NCAC 2H .0905 and .0908:

(5) a list of monitormg
equipment required by the

I'OrW to implement the

pretreatment program and a

descnption ot municipal

facilities ~to be constructed for

monitoring and analys-., "of

industrial waste;

(6) procedures for approsmg
the construction of pretreatment

Facilities bv industrial users and
for permitting industiTal users

for construction, operation and
discharge as required by NCOS
143-215.1; procedures lor

approving construction shall

include:

(A) having a professional

engineer, Ecensed to practice

in this state, on the POTW
stafT (or retained as a

consultant) to re\ie\\ unusual

situations or designs and or;

(B) having such situations

referred to the di\ision for

review and approval;

(7) an enforcement management
strategy for identifying

violations of and enlorcing

specihc local limits as required

by and specilied in 4(1 CFR
403.5 and 403.6 and \S NCAC
211 .09(Wand .0910; and

(8) a request tor pretreatment

program approNal as required

bv 40 CFR 403.9 and \S

NCAC 2H .0900.

(c) The POTW must submit three

bound copies of the program
containing the information in

.0906(a) and (b) above to the

Division of Environmental
Management.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.

1

(a) (b): 143-215.3 (a) (I) (14).

.0907 PROGRAM APPROVAL
PROCEDURES; REVI£;ON AND
WITHDRAWAL

(^ 33)6 approval procedure s &»r

POTW pretreatment programs
promulgated bv tb« Environmental
Protection Agency and codified a» 40
CER Part 403 . 11 ate hereby adopted
bv reference as amended through
Mav4,4a§4.
(^ Upon approval , the POTW is

delegated tb« authority ta issue

permits required h^ G .S .

1 43-215 . 1(a) iof^ those pretreatment

facilities discharging ot- proposing t&

discharge te- th« POTW .

(a) Procedures for approval of

a POTW pretreatment program are

as foUows:

(1) The approval procedures for

POTW pretreatment programs
promulgated by the

Environmental Protection

Agencv and codified as 40 CFR
Part 403.11

by reference

are hereby adopted

as amended
1987.through March j

(2) Upon approval, a POTW is

delegated, subject to the

provisions of .0916 and .0917,

the authority to issue the

construction, operation and
discharge permits required by
G.S. 143-215.1(a) for those

Siffliificant Industrial Users

discharging or proposing to

discharge to the POTW
(b) Either the division or the

POTW may initiate program
revisions. Ihe POTW shall keep
the division fully informed of any
proposed modifications to its

approved pretreatment program, its

legal authority, its forms, procedures

and priorities. Revisions to an
approved pretreatment program shall

be accomplished as follows:

{h the PO rW shaU submit a

moditied program description,

an attorney's statement if the

legal authority of the program is

beine modified, and other
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documents as the director

determines to be necessary

under tlie circumstances;

(2) whenever the director

determines "
that tHc proposed

program modiTications are

substantial, the division shall

issue puSEc notice and provide

an opportunity for pubbc
comment as described in 15

NCAC 2H .0109 and .0110:

(3) the director or his delegate

shall approve or disapprove

program revisions based on the

requirements oT~ this Section;

NCOS 143-215.1, NCOS
143-215.3 and t_he Water
Quality Memorandum or

Agreement between the division

and the EPA;
(4) a pretreatment program

revision shall become effective

upon written approval of the

director.

^ Revision to the POTW's
Significant IndustnaJ Users list shall

be made usmg the procedure

outlined in .Q907(d) above and shall

include documentation which shows:

(1) the industrial user does

not fit the cnteria outlined in

.09Q3(b)(9)(A) through (D) and;

(2) the mdustrial user no
longer discharges nondomestic
wastewater to the I'OTW, or;

(3) the indu.stTTal user

discHarges wastewater with

pollutant"
"

levels which are

consistently less than or equal

to the levels associates with

domestic sewage, or;

(4) the mdustrial user

discharges wastewater which is

consistently below pretreatment

standards and the wastewater

treatment plant rcceivmg the

discharge has a reserve capacity

for ail pollutants reasonably

expected to be m the industrial

user's discharge.

(d) The director may withdraw
pretreatment program approval

when a I'D IVV no lonuer complies

with the requirements of ifiis Section

^iTie I'orw fi^Tis to nn^
corrective action. The loIlo\Ning

procedures apply when the director

determmes that program withdrawal

may be needed:

( 1) the director shall gi\e

tjie POrW 180 daj^s notice of

the program withdrawal;

(7) the POIW shall submit

witHIri~6() days of such
'

notice a

plan for the orderly transfer o7

all relevant program information

not in the possession of the

division (such as permit files,

compliance files, reports and
permit applications") which is

necessary for t^ division to

administer the pretreatment

program;

(3) within
"60 days of the

receipt oT~the POTW transfer

plan the director shall evaluate

the POIW plan and shall

identily any additional

information needed by the

division lor program
administration and/or identify

any other deficiencies m the

plan;

(4) at least 30 days before

the program withdrawal the

director shall publish pubEc
notice of the program transfer

and shall mail notice to aU

pretreatment permit holders oT

the POTW.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215

(a); 143-215.1 (a) (c); 143-215.3

(a) (3) (14) (e).

.0908 KKPORTING RKQUIHtMKMS
rOR POTWS AM) INDUSTRIAL
USERS

(a) The regulations covering the

reporting requirements for POl Ws
and industrial users promulgated by
the Environmental Protection

Agency and codified as 40 CFR Part

403.12 are hereby adopted by
reference as amended through May
i^X^U, March 1, 1987.

(b) POTWs with approved

pretreatment programs shall submit

twice per year a pretreatment report

describing its pretreatment activities

over the previous six months. Two
copies of each "

pretreatment report

shall be submitted according to the

following schedulF; a report shall
"

Fe

sui')milted to Uie division by August

J^
o[ each year describing

pretreatment acti\ities for January
j^

through June 30 of that year, and a

like report shall be submitted by

February \_ of each year for activities

conducted Trom July \_ through
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[December 31 of the previous year.

These reports shall contain the

foUowins information:

( 1) a narrative summary of

actions taken by the permittee

to ensure compliance with

pretreatment requirements;

(2) a List ol any substantive

changes to be made in the

approved program;

(3) a compliance status

summary of aU Significant

Industrial Users;

(4) a list of those Significant

Industrial Users in significant

violation of pretreatment

requirements, the nature of the

violations, and actions taken or

correct theproposed
violations;

to

(5) sampling and analytical

results recorded on forms
approved by the director.

(c) Samples shall be collected

and anal\zed by the PO IW staff

independent of the industry lor each

Signilicant Industnal l.ser a

minimum of twice each ' ear, once

durmg each six mon .i rcportmg

penod in (b]_ above.

fd) For the purpose of indicating

the nature and concentration of the

mdustries discharges in the baseline

reports, deadline compliance reports

and periodic compliance reports

required by .0908 above the

following shall apply:

(1) analyses shall be completed

on all pollutants winch are

limited by the categorical

standard unless the categorical

standard contains specilic

certification procedures for

specific pollutants;

(2) compliance with a monthly
average limitation shall be

shown every six months by the

analysis ot a suflicient amount
ot samples to be representative

o? the industry's monthly
discharge; this shall include a

minimum of tour samples.

(e) POrWs and Industnal Users

shall retarn lor a minimum of tliree

\ears records of monitoring acti\ities

and results along with

inlormation including

support

general

records, water qualit\ records, and

records of industrial impact on the

I'O I W. Support inlormation for

pretreatment permits shall be

retained for five years.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-215. 1(a)(b); 143-215.2;

143-2l5.3(a)(2)(l4):

l43-215.6(a)(l); 143-215.63.

.0909 NATIONAL PRETREAT.MENT
STANDARDS: PROHIBITED
DISCHARGES

Tlic regulation^ covering national

prohibitive pretreatment standards

promulgated by the Environmental
Protection Agency and codified as 40

CFR Part 403.5 are hereby adopted

by reference as amended through
May4^19&4, March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-215. 1 (a) ( 7); 143-215.1 (b):

l43-2l5.3(a)(l), (14).

.0910 NATIONAL PRETREAT.MENT
STANDARDS: CATEGORICAL
STANDARDS

The regulations covering national

categorical pretreatment standards

promulgated by the Environmental

Protection Agency and codified as 40

CFR Part 403.6 are hereby adopted

bv reference as amended through

May4.43S4, .March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S.

143-215. 1(a)(7j; 143-21 5.1 (b)

:

143-215.3(a)(14).

.0911 REVISION TO REFLECT
POTW REMOVAL OF
POLLUTANT (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 413-215.1

(a), (b); 143-215.3 (a) (14).

.0912 ADJUSTMENTS FOR
FUNDA.MENTALLY
DIFFERENT FACTORS

The regulations covering variances

from categorical pretreatment

standards for fundamentally different

factors promulgated by the

Environmental Protection Agency
and codified as 40 CFR 403.13 are

hereby adopted by reference as

amended through Mav -U -1-9&4.,

March 1. 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215

(a); 143-215.1 (a), (b); 143-215.3

(a), (14). (e).

.0913 PUBLIC ACCESS TO
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IMORMATION
Information and data provided by

an industrial user to the director

pursuant to this Section, identifying

the nature and frequency of a

discharge, shall be available to the

public without restriction. All other

information which may be so

submitted or which may be

furnished by an industrial user to the

POTW director in connection with

required periodic reports shall also

be available to the public unless the

industrial user or other interested

person specifically identifies the

information as confidential upon
submissiorT and is aFle to

demonstrate to the satisfaction of the

['OTW director »f his authori^tcd

representative that the disclosure of

such information or a particular part

thereof to the general public would
divulge methods or processes entitled

to protection as trade secrets. Any
reque st iot- confidential treatment ^
informatioa a»4 f»r access ta sucb
informati«a shall be governed by
procedure s specified m 40 CFR JRart.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.1

(a), (b), (c); 143-215.3 (a) (3);
132.

.0914 UPSET PROVISION
The upset provision promulgated

by the Environmental Protection

Agency and codified as 40 CFR Part

403.16 is hereby adopted by
reference as amended through M*y
X^XQU, March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215.3

(a) (I); 143-215.3 (a) (14).

.0915 NET/GROSS CALCULATION
The net/gross calculation provisions

promulgated by the Environmental
Protection Agency and codified as 40
CFR Part 403.15 are hereby adopted
by reference as amended through
MayJU-lSSO. March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority G.S.

l43-2l5.3(a)(l); l43-2l5.3(a)( 14).

.0916 PERMITS
(a) All Significant Industrial

Users who discharge waste into a

POlW or who construct or operate

a pretrcatmcnt facility must obtain a

permit from the Control Authority.

(b) Where the division is the

Control Authority permits shall be

issued in accordance with .0100 of

this Section.

(c) Where the POTW is the

Control Authority, permits shall be

issued as follows:

(1) Application: any Significant

Industrial User required to

obtain a permit in .0916(a)

above shall be required to

complete, sign and submit to

the Control Authority a permit

application. Application fees

and procedures may be
prescribed by the Control
Authority. All pretrcatmcnt

permit applications shall include

as a minimum:
(A) name of industry;

(B) address of facility;

(C) standard industrial

classification (SIC) code(s) or

expected classification and
industry category;

(D) wastewater flow;

(E) types and concentrations

(or mass) of pollutants

contained in the discharge;

(F) major products

manufactured or services

supplied;

(G) description of existing

on-site pretrcatmcnt facilities

and practices;

(H) locations of discharge

points;

(I) raw materials used

or stored at the site;

(J) flow diagram or sewer map
for the industry;

(K) number of employees;

(L) operation and production

schedules.

(2) Renewals: Applications for

pretrcatmcnt permit renewals

shall be accomplished by filing

an appropriate application form
as listed in .0916 (c) (1) prior to

permit expiration. The number
of days prior to expiration by
which the application must be

fJcd shall be established by the

Control Authority.

(3) Review and Evaluation:

(A) The POTW Director is

authorized to accept

;ipplications for the
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commission and shall refer all

applications to the POTW
staff for review and
evaluation.

(B) The POTW Director shaU

acknowledge receipt of a

complete application, or if

not complete, shall return the

application to the applicant

with a statement of what
additional information is

required.

(C) The POTW staff shall

include as part of the permit

record documentation of an

on site inspection of the

industrial facility and any
existing wastewater

pretreatment system. Such
inspection shall have been
conducted a maximum of 12

months prior to the issue date

of the pretreatment permit.

(D) The POTW staff shall

conduct an evaluation and
make a tentative

determination to issue or

deny the permit. If the

POTW staff's tentative

determination is to issue the

permit, it shall make the

following additional

determinations in writing;

(i) proposed etffuent

limitations for those

pollutants proposed to be

limited;

(ii) a proposed schedule of

comphance, including

interim dates and
requirements, for meeting

the proposed etffuent

limitations; and
(iii) a brief descnption of

any other proposed special

conditions which will have

significant impact upon the

discharge described in the

apphcation.

The POTW staff shaU

organize the determinations

made into a pretreatment

permit.

(4) Pennit s> nopsis; A bnef
synopsis of the application and
pennit shall be prepared bv the

PO TW staff for aU Significant

Industrial User permits. ITiis

synopsis shall be sent to the

division along with the

pretreatment permit. The
contents of the synopsis shall

include at least the following

information;

(A) a quantitative

description of the discharge

described in the application

which includes at least the

following;

(i) the rate or frequency

of the proposed discharge;

if the discharge is

continuous, the average

daily flow;

(li) the average daily

discharge in pounds per

day of any pollutants which
are present in significant

quantities or which are

subject to limitations or

prohibition.

(B) the basis for the

pretreatment limitations

including the documentation
of any calculations used in

applying categorical

pretreatment standards.

(5) Hearings;

(A) Adjudicatory Hearings.

An appUcant whose permit is

denied, or is granted subject

to conditions he deems
unacceptable, shall have the

right to an adjudicator)'

hearing before the POTW
Director or a hearing officer

appointed by the POTW
Director upon making written

demand, identifying the

specific issues to be

contended, to the POTW
Director within 30 days

following notice of fmal

decision to deny or grant the

permit. Unless such demand
is made, the decision on the

apphcation shall be fmal and

bmding.

(B) Appeal Hearings. Any
decision of a hearing officer

made as a result of an

adjudicatory hearing held

under .0916(c)(5)(.A) above

ma\ be appealed by any
party, to the governing body
of the Control Authority

upon filing a written demand
within 10 days of receipt of

notice of the decision.

(C) Hearings held under this
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subdivision shall be

conducted using procedure

prescribed by the Control

Authority.

(6) Final Action on Permit

Applications:

(A) The POTW Director shaU

take final action on all

applications by either issuing

a pretreatment permit or by

denying the discharge not

later than 90 days following

the receipt of a complete

application. If, following the

30 day period required by
.0916(c)(5)(A) and .0917(b) of

this Regulation, no objection

has been made the permit

shall become final and
binding.

(B) The POTW Director is

authorized to:

(i) issue a permit

containing such conditions

as are necessary to

effectuate the purposes of

G.S. 143-215.1;

(ii) issue a permit

containing time schedules

for achieving comphance
with applicable

pretreatment standards and
limitations and other legally

applicable requirements;

(ui) modify or revoke any
permit pursuant to

.0916(c)(7);

(iv) deny a permit

application.

(C) Pcnnits shall be issued or

renewed for a period of time

deemed reasonable by the

POTW Director but in no
case shall the period exceed
five years.

(D) The POTW Director shaU
notify an applicant by
certified or registered mail of

the denial of his permit

application. Notifications of

denial shall specify the

reasons therefore and the

proposed changes which in

the opinion of the POTW
Director will be required to

obtain the permit.

(7) Modification and
Revocation of Permits:

(A) Any permit issued

pursuant to this Regulation is

subject to revocation or

modification in whole or part

for good cause as outlined in

the Control Authority's sewer

use regulations.

(B) Modifications of permits

shall be subject to the same
procedural requirements as

the issuance of permits except

as follows:

(i) changes in the ownership

of the discharge when no
other change in the permit

is indicated;

(ii) a single modification of

any compliance schedule

not in excess of four

months;
(iii) modification of

compliance schedules

(construction schedules) in

permits for new sources

where the new source will

not begin to discharge until

control facilities are

operational.

Statutory Authority G.S. l43-2l5(a):

143-2 1 5.1 (a) (c); 143-215.3 (a)

(3). (14) (e).

.0917 PRETREATMENT PERMIT
REVIEW

(a) Each POTW shaU transmit to

the division:

(1) Notice of actions taken by
the POTW to the consideration

of any permit application

including a copy of each

pretreatment pennit and any
conditions, requirements or

documents which are related to

the pretreatment permit;

(2) A synopsis of the permit.

(b) The division shall have 30

days from the receipt of pretreatment

permits in which to make general

comments upon, objections to or

recommendations with respect to the

permit. Unless such an objection is

made the permit shall be fmal and
binding.

(c) Within 30 days of the

receipt of a pretreatment permit to

which the director has objected the

staff shall set forth in writing and
transmit to the control authority:

( 1
) A statement of the
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reasons for the objection,

including the regulations that

support the objection and;

(2) The actions which must
be taken by the control

authority to eliminate the

objection including the effluent

limitations and conditions

which the permit would include

if it were issued by DEM.
(d) The director's objection to

the issuance of a pretrcatmcnt permit

must be based upon one or more of

the following grounds:

(1) the permit fails to apply

or to ensure compliance with

any applicable requirement of

this Section;

(2) the procedures followed

in connection with formulation

of the pretrcatmcnt permit failed

to comply with the procedures

required by State Statute or by
the POTW's approved

pretrcatmcnt program;

(3) a finding made by the

control authority in connection

with the pretrcatmcnt permit

which misinterp-jts any
categorical pretrcatmcnt

standard or pretrcatmcnt

regulation or misapphes them to

the facts;

(4) the provisions of the

pretrcatmcnt permit relating to

the maintenance of records,

monitoring or sampling by the

permittee are, in the judgement
of the director, inadequate to

assure comphance with permit

conditions or apphcable

pretrcatmcnt standards.

(e) Prior to notifying the I'OTW
of and objection the director:

(1) shall consider all data

transmitted pursuant to .0916;

(2) may, if more information

is needed to determine whether

the preliminary permit is

adequate, request the PO TW to

make available to the staff the

complete record of permit

proceedings, or any portions of

the record that the director

determines are necessary for

review. If this request is made
within 30 days of the state's

receipt of the preliminary permit

under .0916 it shall constitute

an interim objection to the

issuance of the permit and the

full 30 day review period in

.0917(b) above shall

recommence when the staff has

obtained such record or

portions of the record; and

(3) may, in his discretion and
to the extent feasible within the

period of time available, afford

interested persons the

opportunity to comment on the

basis for the objection,

(f) If within 60 days of the

receipt of the director's objection the

POTW does not resubmit a permit

revised to meet the director's

objection, the director may issue the

permit in accordance with 15 NCAC
2H .0100. Exclusive authority to

issue the permit required by NCOS
143-2 15. 1(a) passes to the division

when this time expires.

Statutory Authority G.S. 143-215(a);

143-215.1 (a) (c); 143-215.3 (a)

(3). (14) (e).

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. 1508-12 that the Marine
Fisheries Commission intends to

adopt and amend regulations cited as

15 NCAC 3B .0102 (b); .0105 (b)

(c) (g); .0304 (4) (5); .0305 (5);

.0306 (b): .0308 (2); .0404 (5);

.0501; and .0503; .0504; .0701 (a)

(c) (e); .0801 (b); .0901 (a) (c);

.0905: and .1002 (a); .1101; .1109

(b) (c); .1111; .1404; .1405; .1408;

.1502 (a); and .1601; .1602; .1603;

.1604; .1605.

The proposed effective date of this

action is August 1 , 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 7:30 p.m. on May 18, 19, 20. 21,

26. 27, 28; June 1, 1987. May 18 -

Halleras, Civic Center; May 19 -

Manteo. Marine Resource Center;

May 20 - Washington. District

Courthouse; May 21 - Morehead,
Carteret Technical College; May 26 -

Wilmington, New Hanover County

Courthouse: May 27 - Raleigh

McKimrnon Center; May 28

Winston-Salem, Agriculture Ext.

Center; June 1 - Plymouth,

Washington County Courthouse.

Business Session - June 16, 1987 -

CP&L, Southport - 10AM.
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cstuanne resources,

Comment Procedures: Comments
and statements, both written and
oral, may be presented at the

hearings. Written comments are

encouraged and may be submitted to

the Marine Fisheries Commission. P.

O. Box 769, Morehead City, N.C
28557. These written and oral

comments must be received no later

than June 2, 1987.

CHAPTER 3 -MARINE FISHERIES

SUBCHAPTER 3B - FISHERIES
REGULATIONS FOR
COASTAL WATERS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
REGULATIONS

.0102 DEFINITIONS
(b)

(1)

(F) Cast Nets.

(1 1) Toothed Dredt;e - a

device towed~~by engine power
consisting of a irame, tooth bar

and catchbag used in oyster,

clam or crab fisheries.

(12) Mechanical methods for

clamming - includes, but not

limited to, toothed dredges,

hydraulic clam dredges, stick

rakes and other rakes when
towed by engine power, patent

tongs, kicking with propellers

and/or deflector plates with or

without trawls, and any other

method that utilizes mechanical
or hydrauhc power to harvest

clams.

(13) Depuration -_ mechanical
purification or the removal of

adulteration from live oysters,

clams, and mussels by any
artificially controUed means.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

143B-286.

.0105 LEGAL SIZES AND CREEL
LIMITS

(b)

(2) X» pcTson shall n shall be

unlavvful to take, attempt to

take, harm, possess, or retain in

possession channel bass less

than 44 28 inches in length.

(4) The secretary, acting upon
the advice of the director, based

reasonable and prudent

marine and

Specify quantity

Specify means/method

proclamation, unpose any or all

of the following restrictions on
the taking of channel bass m
addition to those speciTied in Q|
(2) and (3) above:

(A) Specify areas

(B) Specify seasons

to
121 ^_
(E) Specify size.

(«) ^W person shall keep aay
channel b;i»s weighing 20 pounds Of-

jj^Qj"^ Qj ^Q\^ g ^tnp^Q ^^gc taken bv

Hanover County . AU channel ba»»

weighing 20 pounds or more , and
^
mvf g^ l^pgjj ^|^^^gg Ky |ti ^ ^jcg Qt *

yigig QT-

seines ia New Hanover County
,

sh all be returned to the water ah\^e.

(g) Na person of- person s may
It shall be unlawful to possess

aboard or~ran3 from a vessel, or

combination of vessels that form a

single operation, more than 3,500

pounds of Spanish or king mackeral,

in the aggregate, in any one day.

The secretary, acting upon the

advice of the director, based upon
reasonable and prudent management
of marme and cstuarine resources,

may bv proclamation, impose any or

all of the foUowing
'
restrictions on

the taking of Spanish and/or King
Mackeral:

01
(21

131

Specify

Specify seasons

^^ Specify quantity

(4) Specify means/method
(5) Specify size.

/Vny proclamation prepared

under this authority must
approved by the Marine Fisheries

Commission prior to issuance.

be

upon
management of

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182: 1438-286.

SECTION .0300 - NET REGULATIONS:
GENERAL

.0304 GILL NETS
(4) March I llirouah October 31

in the Intracoastal Waterway
within 150 y:irds of any railroad

or highwaN' bridge cro ssing the

Intracoastal Watcnva>'
i except uo-

x\Q\ g or ftei stakes ff^3\' pg yg^^q

within 4-SO yards of .^Uligator

Ri\cr Bridge at any time .

(5) Marking and identification
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requirements are as follows:

(a) In coastal fishing waters,

unless such net is marked by
attaching to it at each end two

(2) yellow, floating buoys which

shall be of solid foam or other

solid buoyant material no less

than five inches in diameter and
no less than five inches in

length. I'hc owner shall always

be identified on a buoy on each

end either by using engraved

buoys or by attaching mct;U or

plastic tags to the buoys. Such
identification shall include one
of the following:

(i) owner's N.C. motor boat

registration number, or

(ii) owner's U.S. vessel

documentation name, or

(iii) owner's last name and
initials.

(b) In internal coastal fishing

waters, a single buoy, yellow in

color, of solid foam, or other

soUd buoyant material no less

than five inches in diameter and
no less than five inches in

length, with identification as

described in (a) of this Rule,

shall be attached to each end of

all other giU nets in attached net

sets with more than one net.

AU other marldng buoys q^ ^
n gt

s

shall jIso be of the S3nic

material , io^ a»d color as

herein described .

thread herring may be taken at any
time by use of a purse seines from
beyond one mile of shore in the

Atlantic Ocean and menhaden and
Atlantic thread herring taken in that

area may be transported to port for

processing except as provided in (c)

and (d) of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; I43B-268.

.0308 POU.N'D NETS
(2) It shall be unlawful for any

persons or persons to use a

pound ef Mm net without

registering such net with the

North Carolina Division of

Marine Fisheries prior to

installation which includes setting

stakes. Stakes will be considered

as part of a set. Such
registration wiU expire 365 days

after registration. Failure to

re-register each set or the

abandonment thereof without

removing all stakes shall

constitute a violation and be

grounds for refusal of other

registrations or re-registrations.

Failure to use a registered set

within sixty days of registration

shall constitute a violation and
be grounds for refusal of other

registrations or re-registrations

and for revocation of other

registrations.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 143B-286.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 143B-286.

.0305 TRAWL .NETS

(^ la Croatan Sound from
December 4- through March 3-U

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182; 143B-286.

.0306 PURSE SEINES AND NETS
(b) It shall he unlawful to take or

attempt to take menhaden or

Atlantic thread herring by use of a

purse seine or to possess menhaden
or Atlantic thread herring taken by
use of a purse seines except during

the open fishing season which shall

be from May 14 through January 15

except that the season in Core

Sound will be open from April \_

throueh Mav 15 for bait iishina

SECTION .0400 - NET REGULATIONS:
SPECIFIC

.0404 CURRITUCK SOUND AND
ITS TRIBUTARIES

(5) From October 1 through

December 31, no gill net shall be

used which has a mesh length

less then three and one-half

inches not set within 300 yards of

the shoreline, except all nets

with a mesh length 5
" and greater

and attended giir nets as

described in (4) above.

Statutory .iuthority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 143B-286.

SECTION .0500 - OTHER FISHl.NG
DEVICES

only. Menhaden and Atlantic
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.0501 TOOTHED DREDGKS
(a) Na person niM It shall be

unlawful to use any toothc3~Qy^tci:

er clam cJredge weighing more than

100 pounds or between the hours of

sunset and suruise. in any of the

coastal fishing waters of the state.

(b) Na person shall It shall be

unlawful to use or possess on board

a vessel any toothed oy ster ot dam
dredge fitted with rings capable of

holding additional weights or any
dredge so fitted in any manner that it

is capable of being easily modified to

increase the weight of the dredge.

(«) No person shall u^ any
oyster of clam dredge ;

/jA \j\ P^mhco Sound, w'lthin

the area bounded b^ a Une
beginning at a point q» Hm

5S' 501 N 36i 09: IX W^ thence
292° (M) 5,400 yardti t« a point

400 yards in a northeas t

direction from Deacon t4- 4 see

Wi tbeace 440^ (^ thieugh

Beacon ^ A me- i4 (U '-^^ to

Beacon ti R 4 sec 44 fu '-IX^

thence M^ P44 to Beacon Ul 4
sce44£u 'iIL" j thence 42^ (A4^

p_^ fnil(^g to a pgijit in the

mouth of Wallace channel i^
Q71 04^ N 26^ 06^ 5.^ W;
thence 264- (M) 4,05 mile* to

Beacon E4 4 see 44 ft, (known
as Nine Feet Shoal Beacon)

;

thence 428^ (M^ ^,2 miles to

Ocracoke Lighthou se; thence

southwest with the beach to the

point of beginning
;

( 2) 4n Cjore Sound and its

tributaries , southwe st of a bne
beginning at a point on the

north side of Swa sh Inlet ^4^
5&: 50^ X 26^ iM- iX Wy and
running 292^ ^4) to a point off

Hog Island Reef 35^ OO: 04: N
261 44: 5X W, except that

regular oy ster dredge s may be
USCQ to IhKC cIhIDS m
accordance with 45 NCAC ^
,0904 (^

(J^ On any posted bottoms upon
which oysters of shells have

been planted by the state , unle s s

such bottoms have been opened
to the public and dredgeing

permitted
;

{4^ In Currituck County
;

(5^ in any of the following areas

and their tributaries ; Back &»^
at 44og Islandr North Bayr the

Straits; Back Sound , North
Rive r , Ncwfport River , Bogue
Sound , White Oak River, New
River , Lockwood s FcUy River,

Shallottc River , and Saucepan
Creek (Brunswick county)

except on private bottom by
permit

;

(6) In primary nurser)f areas as

described in 45 NCAC ^
4405,

(c) It shall be unlawful to use

more than one toothed "
Hiredge per

vessel to take oysters or crabs.

(q\ Stick rijl-cs shall be

considered dredges when towed by
en^^ne power ; however , sueb rakes

may he u sed in the prohibited areas

listed in Subsection (e) (-5^ of this

Rule prov ided
;

(44 44te atea has been de signated

foi: its use under the provisions

of 45 NCAC m ,0904 (b)
;
and

( 2) '^bat such rakes ai-e used

to take clam s only ; and
^3) ^'q niorc than one rake is

^^;(^ ^j P^j- boa t ', and
(."jA rK^t such rakes do not

exceed 45 inche s in width ,

(e) th^ secretary acting upon
the advice of the director may
prohibit the use of any oyster et-

chun dredge within the following

described areas of any portion

t[igfgQj based upon the need to

protect an consen'e the fi sher)'

resouec s in such arc s;

(d) It shall be unlawful to use a

toothed dredge to take oysters:

( [) In PamUco Sound, within

the area bounded by a line

beginnmg at a point on the

north side of Swash Inlet 34°

58' 50" N - 76° 09' 13" W;
thence running 272° (M) 5,420

yards to a point in Wainwright
Channel 3£ 59; 3(r N ^ 76° ^W immediately cast of the

tiQ of Wainwrigjrt

Island; thence 019° {\U 2,000

2r
northern

yards to red 4 second interval

flashing beacon "2CS
i^\i;_\T_

M) 2,900 yards

_ 35^ 00;

W; thence262 N
033° (\1) 2,900 yards t_o 4

second mterval flashing beacon
"HL" 35^ or 352 N : 76^ U;
272 W; thence 043° (M) 14,450
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yards to a point in Pamlico
Sound 35° or 06" N ; 76^ (W

W; from which point green

secoliH mtervai Hashing
5£
4

Beacon
bears

"3"

005°
on
(M)

Royal Shoal

6,000 yards;

green 6 second interval flashing

beacon "5" on Royal Shoal

bears 325° (M) 6,220 yards; and
a yellow 6 second interval

flashing beacon on Royal Shoal

bears 257° (M) 3,000 yards;

thence 078° (M) 7,800 yards to

2.5 second mtervaigreen z.3

flashing bcaashing beacon "9" 35° 08' 26"

N - 76° 02; 3(r win Nmc loot
Sho;tR:hannel; lEcnce 067° (M)
3,640 yards to red 4 second

mtervai flashing beacon "14BH"
35° 09' 21" N - 76° 00' 39" W m
big Foot Slough Channel;

thence 078° (Mj 26,260 yards t_o

a quick-flashing beacon 35° 14'

or N : 75° 4y 50;; W;
southwest of Oliver ReeT^

thence 033° (M) 6,100 yards t_o

2.5 second interval flashing

beacon "1" 35° 16' 46" N - 75'

W±£ 16"

Channel:
in RoLlmson

thence 079° (M)
13,920 yards to red 4 second

interval flashing beacon "2" 35°

j9;orN-75^36;29:win
Cape Channel; thence 139° (M)
8,340 yards to a pomt on the

shoreline of Hattcras Islan3~ncar

Buxton 35^ j6; 28^ N : 7£ 32;
20" \V; thence southwest with

the shoreline of Hatteras Island

to a pomt 35^ n_; 302 N : 75;;

44' 48^ W on the southwest end
oT Hatteras Island; thence 269°

(M) 2,380 yards across Hattcras

Inlet to a pomt 35° LT 18" N -

75^ 46' ]_52 W on t_hc northeast

end 2r Ocracokc Island; thence

southwest with the shoreline of

Ocracoke Island to a point 35°

03;5£N:76200;5£Won
the southwest end of Ocracokc
Island; thence 268° (M) 2.220

yards across Ocracokc Inlet to a

pomt 35_ 03; 42_; N - 76;;
02'

15" W on the northeast cnd ~or
Portsmouth
runnmg
shoreline

and Core
the north

Island; thence

southwest with the

of Portsmouth Island

Banks to a point on
side oJ^Swash Inlet

3£ 58; 50;; N - 76° 09; b;; w,
to the point of the beginnmg;

(2) In Core Sound and its

tributanes, southwest of a line

beginning" at a pomt on the

north side of Swash Inlet .34°

58;5rN:76209;n;;w,and
running 292° (M) to a point off

Hog Island Reef 35° 00' 06" N -

76^ h; 5r w,
(3) On any posted bottoms
upon which oysters or shells

have been planted by the state,

unless such bottoms have been
opened to the public and
dredging permitted;

(4) In Currituck County;

(5) In any of the following areas

an3~ their triEutaries: Back Bay
at Hog Island, North Bay, the

Straits, Back Sound, North
River, Newport River, Bogue
Sound, White Oak River, New
River, Lockwoods Folly River,

Shallotte River, and Saucepan
Creek (Brunswick County),

except on pnvate bottom by
permit;

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; I43B-286.

.0503 LEAVI.NG DEVICES
UNATTENDED

It shall be unlawful for anyone to

leave stakes, anchors, nets, pots,

buoys, or floating devices in any
coastal fishing waters when such

devices are not being employed in

fishing operations, and none of the

above devices may be left in any
waters during a time when they

could not be legally fished in those

waters. Devices used in conjunction

with pound , heart , fyke and charmel

net operations which have not been
used in fishing operations for 12

consecutive months shall be deemed
abandoned and shall be removed by
the person or persons responsible for

their placement. Any fishing

equipment found set in coastal

fishing waters in violation of this

Section or wliich contains edible

species of fish, unfit for human
consumption, may be removed and
disposed of at the discretion of the

secretary.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; I43E-2S6.
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.0504 EEL: CRAB: FISH: SHRIMP POTS
(c) It shall be unlawful to use pots

in internal coastal fishing waters

unless each pot is marked by

attaching to it a floating buoy which

shall be of solid foam or other solid

buoyant material and no less than

five inches in diameter and no less

than five inches in length. Buoys
may be of any color except yellow.

The owner shall always be identified

on the attached buoy by using

engraved buoys or by metal or

plastic tags attached to the buoy.

Such identification shall include one
of the following:

(1) owner's N.C. motorboat
registration number; or

(2) owner;s U.C. vessel

documentation name; or

(3) owner's last name
and initials.

(d) Pots attached to shore or a

pier shall be exempt from (a) (2}^ (a)

(3), and (c) of this Rule. Unmarked
pots attached is- a pi^F shall b&
considered property oi th& pi^i^

owner .

(e) present (d) without changes

(f) present (e) without changes

(g) present (f) without changes

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182: 143B-286.

SECTION .0700 - SHRIMP AND
SHRLMPING

.0701 USE OF NETS IN
TAKING SHRIMP IN

(a) It shall be unlawful for any
person to take or attempt to take

shrimp by any method, other than a

CASt net and as set out in Paragraph
(e) of this Rule, from the coastal

fishing waters of North Carolina,

between one hour after sunset on
any Saturday and one hour before

>;unsct sunrise on the following

Sunday Monday, except in the

Atlantic Ocean.
(c) Na person ^hall It shall be

unlawful for any person to take or

attempt to take shrimp with a net

constructed in such a manner as to

contain an iimer or outer liner of

any mesh size. Chafmg gear or

additional tailbag matenal may be

used on no more than one-half 2^
the cLrcumlerence of the tailbag on

the bottom of the outside of the

tailbag.

(c) fixed nets, channel nets hand
seines, and cast nets may be used to

catch shrimp m open shrimping

areas at any time.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 143B-286.

SECTION .0800 - CRABS

.0801 TAKING OF CRABS
(b) The following acts are

prohibited:

(1) taking, buying, selling, or

possessing any hard crabs

measuring less than five inches

from tip of spike to tip of spike

except mature female crabs, and
"peelers" which may be floated

in regular crab floats. Crabs

shall be &ulkd and the "peelers"

separated from the entire catch

before reaching shore of- dock
,

and aU remaining crabs less than
legal sise shall be immediately

returned to. the coastal fishing

waters. Crabs shall be cuUed
where taken and all crabs less

than legal size shall be

immediately returned to the

coastal fishing waters.

"Peelers" shaJ be separated

from the entire catch before

reaching shore or dock.

Tolerance of not more than 10

percent by weight of any
portion examined shall be

allowed. In determining

whether the proportion of

undersize crabs exceeds the 10

percent tolerance limit , the

secretary and his agents are

authorized and empowered to

grade aU, or any portion, or any
combination of portions of the

entire quantity of crabs being

graded, and may require seizure

and return to the waters, or

other disposition as authorized

by law, of the entire quantity

being graded, or of any portion

thereof if undersize crabs in

excess of the tolerance limit are

found.

(4^ an individual ma^ take

cf^t^ PQ^g ^ 3^j^y time for

personal consumption
,
provided

ll^^^ not more than one crab pot
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aki in lb« tatdng .

(5) taking crabs by the use of

dredges except as follows:

(A) » the following described

area &f Pamlico Sound , crabs

ma¥ be takeft from January* 1

through March 1 with

dredges weighing 4-Oi) pounds

&f les*; In Pamlico Sound
within the area bounded by a

line beginning at a point on
Sandy Point 35° 37' 35" N -

75° 43' 46" W rumung 008°

10.1 nautical miles to a point

on shore 35° 47' 45" N - 75°

43' 56" W; thence 051° M
1.75 nautical miles to a white

daybeacon 35° 49' 03" N -

75° 42' 28" W; thence 098° 7

nautical miles to the Bodie

Island Lighthouse; thence
157° M 3.6 nautical miles to

the Oregan Inlet Coast Guard
Station flasher; thence 182°

M 9.7 nautical miles to

flasher No. 3 at

Chicamacomico Channel 35°

36' 21' N - 75° ^0' 00" W;
thence 285= .M 11.3 nautical

miles to the point of

beginning.

(6) taking crabs by the use

of trawl nets ot- dredges between
one hour after sunset on any
Saturday and one hour before

sunset sunrise on the following

Sunday Monday, except in the

Atlantic Ocean.

(7) Taking crabs by the use of

dredges between sunset on any
Saturday and sunrise on the

following Monday, except in the

Atlantic Ocean.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182: I43B-286.

SECTION .0900 - CLAMS

.0901 SIZE LIMIT: DAILY (CREEL
OR HARVEST) LIMIT: METHOD
OK TAKING CLAMS

(a) It shall be unlawful \o_ take.

land, or possess aboard a \csscl

more than 6,250 clams per fistimg

operation. i>^ p>crson shall It shall

be unlawful to take, attempt to take,

possess, sell or purchase any clams

(except Rangia or freshwater clams)

less than one inch thick. Clams will

be culled by the catcher where taken

and all clams of less than legal size

with their shell, shall be immediately

returned to the bottom where taken.

Tolerance oi not more than ^
percent h^f- count of any. eateb shall

be allowed . Ia determiniag whether

the proportion oi undersize clams

exceeds the ^ percent tolerance limit
.

The secretary and his agents are

authorized and empowered to grade

all, or any portion, or any
combination of portions of the entire

quantity of clams being graded and
may require seizure and return to

public bottom or other disposition

as authorized by law of the entire

quantity being graded or any portion

thereof, if undersize clams in excess

of the tolerance limit are found.

Possession and sale of clams by a

clam hatchery and purchase and
possession of clams from a clam
hatchery shall be exempt from this

Rule. A clam hatchery is defmed as

any operation which obtains clams

through the process of artificial

spawning ;md culture methods.

(c)

(2) iCo person sbaU It shall be

unlawful to take, attempt to take,

buy, sell, or possess any clams
taken by mechanical methods
from public coastal fishing waters

e,Y.cept until the secretary, acting

upon the advice of the director,

based on reasonable and prudent

management oT marme and
estuarine resources, may by
proclamation, open the season

during the open season which
*baU be from December 1 through

.March 31. The secretary aeU»g
upon the advice oi the director

,

based &a reasonable asd prudent

management oi marine and
estuiuine re sources is further

empowered to tna^ impose any or

all of the following restrictions:

(A) specify number of days,

and
(B) specify areas,

(C) specify time period,

(D) specify quantity

and, or sb.e, and
(E) specify number of

permits to be issueTannually.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

I13-IS2: I43B-2S6.
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.0905 TAKING OR U.NLOADLNG
CLAMS ON SUNDAY OR
AT NIGHT

Na person shall Utkc of- attempt

to- take an^ clams (^» Sunday of

between the hours o£ sunset and
sunrise oa an^ day except ;

(4-) provided that one hundred
clums ncr person pcr d^w not to

exceed twa hundred clams pei:

\^£ssc l per dnw ^n^^^ pg t 3jccn d\'

hcind on Sund nv^ aod

(2^ tba4 thi» Regulation sb^
not apply to Atlantic Ocean .

(a) It shall be unlawful to

take clams "Irom coastal fishing

waters on Sunday or between the

hours oT~sunset and sunnse on any
day except tEat 100 clams per

person, not to exceed 200 clams per

vessel per day, may be taken py
hand tongs, hand rakes or b^ hand
on Sunday during the regular clam
season.

(b1 It shall be unlawful to

unload clams from anv vessel on
Sunday or between sunset and
sunrise on any day. Clams taken on
Sunday under the provisions of 3B
.0905 (a) are exempt from this

Subsection.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; I43B-286.

SECTION .1000 - SCALLOPS

.1002 OPEN SEASON
(BAY SCALLOPS)

(a) It shall be unlawful to take

or attempt to take bay scallops from
coastal fishing waters except that

until the secretary, acting upon the

advice of the director, based on
reasonable and prudent

management, may by proclamation,

open the season for harvest, sale,

possession and transport of bay
scallops for up to four days in

December and between the second
Monday of January and the last

Friday of May. The secretary,

acting upon the advice of the

director, based on reasonable and
prudent management, may by
proclamation, open the bay scallop

season from August 1 tlirough

September 1 5 to hand harvest only

(by hand, dip nets, scoops, hand
tongs and hand rakes). The

secretary is further empowered to

impose any or all of the following

restrictions:

( 1) specify number of days;

(2) specify areas;

(3) specify means and methods
which may be employed in the

taking;

(4) specify time period; and

(5) limit the quantity.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; I43B-286.

SECTION .1100 - OYSTERS

.1101 OPEN SEASON
(a) It shall be unlawful fof any

person to take, attempt to take, buy,

sell, or possess any oysters taken

from public coastal fishing waters

until the secretary, acting upon the

advice of the director based on
reasonable and prudent management
of marine and estuanne resources,

may open the season by
proclamation from October
November 1 through March ^
March \_ based on reasonable and
prudent management ei marine and
c stuarinc resource s, I'he secretary,

acting upon the advice of the

secretary, may close or open any of

the Viuious waters to the taking of

oysters and may impose any or all of

the following restrictions;

(1) Specify number of days;

(2) Specify areas;

(3) Specify means and methods
which may be employed in the

taking;

(4) Specify time period;

(5) Limit the quantity.

(b) It shall be unlawful to take,

land, or possess aboard a vessel

more tEan 25 bushels of oysters per

person not to exceed 50 bushels.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 113-201; I43B-286.

.1109 TAKING OR UNLOADING
OYSTERS ON SUNDAY
OR AT .MGIIT

(b) It shall be unlawful to unload
oysters from any vessel on Sunday
or between sunset and sunrise on
any day: provided , thai whevenevcr

aw ve s sel shall have Ixen partial ly

unloaded before sun set , U^c

remainder of said luad of cargo tuay

be discharged i» the presence of an
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inspector . This Paragraph shall not

apply ta Brunswick and New
Hanover Counties . Oysters taken

on Sunday under the pro\isions of

3B .1109 (a) are exempt from this

Subsection.

(«) .^wa person shall unloaJ

oy sters from any vessel »n .Sunday in

Hrunsui tik and New Hanover
Cujuntie s, Oysters taken tm Sunday
under ikn provisions oi ^ . 1 lUQ (^
are exempt from ihk Subsection ,

Statutory Authority G.S. J J3-134;

1/3- 182; I43B-2S6.

.1111 TAKING OYSTER: CLAMS
AND MUSSELS FROM
POLLUTED AREAS

It shall be unlawful for an) person

to take, attempt to take, possess,

sell, or offer for sale, any oysters,

clams or mussels taken from areas

which have been designated as

prohibited (poUuted) by
proclamation upon notice by the

Division of Health Services of the

Department of Human Resources

that duly adopted criteria for

approval sheUfish harvest areas have

not been met except as provided in

]_5 NCAC 3B .0903. .0906, .1107

and .1600. The secretary may
reopen any such closed area upon
notification from the Di\ision of

Health Services that duly adopted

criteria for approved shelUish harvest

areas have been met.

Copies of these proclamations and

maps of these areas are available at

the Di%ision of .Marine Fisheries,

3411 Arendell St., Morehcad City,

NC 28557, 919-726-7021.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182: I43B-2S6.

SECTION .1400 - NURSERY AREAS

.1404 V10L.\TI0N TO USE SPECIFIC
NETS AND DREDGES

It shall be unlawful to use or

attempt to use any trawl net, long

haul seine, swipe net, dredge or

mechanical methods fo[ clams." for

the purpose ol takmg any marine

fishes in any of the primary nursery

areas described in 15 NCAC 38
.1405.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

II3-IS2: I43B-2S6.

.1405 DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES
(b)

(1)

(G) Clark Creek, northeast

of a line begiiining at a point

on the north shore 33° 35'

452 N
: Zl! IL 301 ^

running T58° (M) to a point

on the south snore 35° 35'

46" N - 75° 51' 28" W;
(7)

(D) Laurel Creek, east of a

kne begmiung at a point on
the north shore 35° 20" 38" N
-76° _iy 2r W, running 170°

(.M) to a' point on the south

shore 35° 20' 36" N - 76° 13'

22" W;
(9)

(F) Deep Bay

^ Old Haulover, north of

a hne begmnmg at a point

on the west shore 35° 23'

09" N - 76° 22' 52" W;
running

76°

101°

2Z 5r
(M) to a

point on the east shore 35°

2J092N:762 2r462W;
(ii) Drum Cove

(Stinking Creek), south of a

hne beginning at a point on
the west shore 35° 22' 32"

N - 762 ?£ MI ^^' rurmmg
122° (.M) to a pomt on the

east shore 35° 22' 26" N -

7622£2r W,
(G) Eastern tnbutaries

(Cedar Hammock and Long
Creek), east of a hne

beginning at a point on the

north shore 35^ 2£ ST N -

762 23; 2r W; nanning 206°

(.M) to a point on the south

shore 35° 24^ 39^ >< - 76^ 23^

j£;W;
(10)

(A) Gcrmantown Bay and its

tributaries, northwest

northeast of a line beginning

at a point on the &»*t

northwest shore 35° 25^ 24"

04: 50 N - 76° 27' 05:: 16"

W; running 2ibZ 158° (.\1) to

a pomt on the west southeast

shore 35= 24' 54: 30" N - 76°

27' 2tC 11" W;
Swan Creek, southeast of a

hne beginnine at a pomt on
the north shore 35° 24' 30" N
- 76° 27- 11" \V; runmne 234°
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(M) to a point on the south

shore 35° 24' 24" N - 76° 27
rrw;

£10)
(H) Unnamed tributaries,

northwest of a Une beginning

at a point on the north shore

35^ 23; 45;; N - 76^ 28; 38;;

W; running 23l° (M) t_o a

pouit on the south shore 35°

23; 3(r N ; 76^ 28; 48" W,
(11) Lx)ng Creek, north~or a

line beginning at a point on the

west shore 35° 22' 26" N - 76°

29' 00" \V; running 1 19° (M) to

a point on the east shore 35° 22'

2r N - 76^ 28;49;W;
(b) (ll)t8(b)(12)
(b) (12) to (b) (13)

(b) (13) to (b) (14)

(c)

(4) Battaline and Tooleys Creeks,

northwest of a line beginning at

a point on the north shore 35°

32; 2r N 2 76! 36; ir W;
running 226° (M) to a point on
the south shore 35° 32' 02" N -

76° 36' 24" W;

Statutory Authority G.S.

113-182: I43B-286.

113-134;

.1408

45'

DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES
- SPECIAL SECONDARY
NURSERY AREAS

(d) Newport River - west of a

line beginning at Perm Point 34°

4£ N 2 76! 11 35; W, "tHence

running 022° (M) to a point on the

north shore, 34° 46' 47" N - 76° 43'

Present (d) becomes (e) without

change

Present (e) becomes (f) without

change
Present (f) becomes (g) without

change

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182: 143B-2S6.

SECTION .1500 - SI RIPED BASS

.1502 IIOOK-ANI) I INi; KISIIINC

(a) It shall be unl.iwful for any
person to possess more than three

six striped bass taken by
hook-and-line in any one day from
coastal waters.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182: 143B-286.

SECTION .1600 - MECHANICAL
DEPURATION OF SHELLFISH

.1601 HARVEST SEASON
It shall be unlawful for any

person to take clams, oysters or

mussels Irom the public or private

prohibited (polluted) waters of the

State for the purpose of mechanical

depuration in an approve?
depuration facility except from April

J^
through May 15. For

maintenance dredging operations,

season may not apply. All harvest

and transport activities within tEe

State of North Carolina related to

mechanical depuration shall be

under the direct supervision of tHe

Division of Marine Fisheries and/or
the Division of Health Services of

the North Carolina Department oT

Human Resources.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182: 113-201.

.1602 HARVEST AREAS: Tl.VIES

AND METHODS
The secretary, acting upon the

advice of the director, based upon
reasonable and prudent management
of marine and estuarine resources,

may, by proclamation, impose any
or all of the following restnctions on
the har\'est oT shellfish for

mechanical depuration:

(1) Specify species,

(2) Specify areas:

(a) Harvest~will not be allowed

in areas opened to the harvest

o? shell fish within preceding

three years.

(b) Harvest wJU not be allowed

from designated buffer zones
adjacent to sewage outfall

facilities.

(3) Specify harvest days,

(4) Specify time period,

(5) Specify quantity and
or size,

(6) Specify harvest methods,

(7) Specify record keeping

requirements.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

113-182: 113-201: 1438-286.

.1603 HARVEST PERMITS
Harvest permits:

(1) All persons harvesting clams.
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oysters or mussels from
prohibited (polluted) waters for

the purpose oF mechanical
depuration shall ^irst obtam a

permit ?rom the Di\ision oT

Manne Msherics and Division of

Health Services setting lortli the

method l)T har\est to be

employed.

(2) The permit applicant shall

provide the name, address, location

and telephone number oF the

mechanical depuration lacihty where
the shelliish will be mechamcaliy
depurated. Only one depuration

plant may be designated for each
permittee and any change must be

reported to the division pnor to sale

or depuration.

(3) Persons desiring to harvest

polluted shellfish for mechanical
depuration shall apply for a harvest

permit at least 15 days prior to

initiation of harvest.

Slatulorv Authority G.S. 113-134:

II3-1S2: 113-201: /43B-286.

.1604 TRA.NSI'ORT

Transport of clams, oysters or

mussels for mechanical depuration:

( 1) Clams, oysters or mussels

harvested Irom prohibited

(polluted) waters for mccharucal
depuration in an approved
depuration facility located within

the State of North Carolma shall

be transported under the direct

supervision of the Di\ision ot

Marine Fisheries and or the

Division of Health Services ot

the North Carolina Department
of Human Resources.

(2) Clams, oysters or mussels

harvested }rom prohibited

(polluted) waters for mechanical

depuration m an approved
depuration facility outside the

State of North Carolina shall be

transported in a sealed

conveyance which shaU not be

unsealed within the State 2I
North Carolina except under the

direct supervision of ine Division

oT \larine Fisheries or the

Division of Health Services ~oT

the North Carolina Department
ofHuman Resources.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-134:

1 13-182; 113-201: I43B-286.

.1605 MECHANICAL DEPURATION
FACILITIES

Mechanical depuration facilities:

(1) Depuration facilities

identified in .1603 (b) located in

the State of North Carolina shall

Ec~ operated in compliance with

Commission of Health Services

regulations Kj NCAC lOB .1201

throu.gh .1213.

(2) Depuration facilities

identified in .1603 (b) located in

a State other than North
Carolina shall be in compliance
with the applicable rules,

regulations and laws of the

sheUfish
"
control agency of that

State.

Statutorv Authority G.S. 113-134;

113-182; 113-201; 143B-286;

143B-286.

Notice is hereby f^iven in accordance
with G.S. /SOB- 12 that the Division

of Coastal Management intends to

amend regulation cited as 15 NCAC
7H .0406.

The proposed effective date of this

action is September 1 , 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted
at 7:00 p.m. on May 19, 1987 at

Cape Hatteras School, Buxton. NC.

Comment Procedures: Written

comments may be submitted within

30 days prior to hearing to: Portia

Rochelle, Division of Coastal

.Management, P.O. Box 27687,

Raleigh, NC 27611.

CHAPTER 7 - COASTAL .MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 7H - STATE GUIDELINES
FOR AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL

CONCERN

SECTION .0400 - PUBLIC WATER
SUPPLIES

.0406 PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY WELL
FIELDS

(b)

(1) The project docs not use

ground absorption sewage

disposal systems within the

designated boundary of the well

field AFC.
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(c)

(1) Cape Hatteras WeU Field.

Tkfi Department of Human
Resource s proposed the Cape
Hatteras Water As sociation weU
field oa Hatteras Inland in Dare
Count)f a» an a»» of

environmental concern . THe
Cape Hatteras Water
Association is supplied with raw
water from a weU field located

south of N.C. 12 on Hatteras

Island between Frisco and
Buxton. The ajea t» be
designated k bounded Xo- the

north , south , cast , aa4 west b^
a hae located .^00 leet from the

centerUne of the wcU field . Sie

hse and i» approyjmately 20,000

feet i» le»£^ i» aA east -west

direction . Sie average yield per

weU i» -f9r^ gpm and the a^'erage

drawdown i» 4tJ fset, Xhe
suramp The area of

environmental concern Is

bounded by a hne located 1,000

feet from the centcrlines of three

tracts. The first tract is

identified as "well field" on
maps entitled "Cape Hatteras

Wellfield Area of Environmental

Concern" approved by the

Coastal

and
12,000

Resources Commission
extends approximately

feet west from Water
The secondAssociation Road

tract is cotermmqus with the

first tract, is identified as "future

well fielJ" on s

extends approximately

feet to the east of

maps and
8,000

to the east ot Water
Association Road. "the third

tract is identified as "future weU
field" on said maps and extends

approximately 6,200 feet along

the National Park Service

boundary' east

Association Road.
of Water
The aquifer

beneath the tracts serves as the

sole source of drinking water lor

the communities of Avon,
Buxton, Frisco, and Hatteras as

well as the national seashore

recreation area. The wetlands,

swales, and surface waters

adjacent to the well field

provides provide a large source

of recharge and are a potential

vehicle for contaminants, fte

aquifer k compo sed of thin beds

of fine ta medium quartz sand

and extend s from the land

surface ta a depth of ^ feetr.

/W [\\x^ x^QxyiX the soil tirades

vertically inta a sUt and da^
zone which forms an aquiclude

(q ^ depth of 145 ^^etr p^rt of

this aiea i« recogniacd as a

national seashore recreation

area^ Due to this fact these

facts contamination of the water

supply could have an adverse

effect on people other than the

local residents of Hatteras

Island. Water-borne disease

organisms could be easily

transported to other areas of the

state or the east coast by
tourists who are attracted to the

area daily.

Statutory Authority G.S. I ISA- 107

(a), (b): I13A-II3 (b) (3) a.

TITLE 21 - BOARD OF
MEDICAL EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. 150B-I2 that the Board of
Medical Examiners intends to amend
regulation cited as 21 NCAC 328
.0110.

The proposed effective date of this

action is September 1, 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted
at 3:00 p.m. on May 15, 1987 in the

Auditorium, N.C. Medical Society,

222 N. Person St., Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Persons

interested may present written or oral

statements relevant to the actions

proposed at a hearing to be held as

indicated above. Written statements

not presented at the hearing should

be directed before May 1 , 1987, to

the following address: Administrative

Procedures, N.C. Board of Medical
Examiners, Suite 2/4, 222 North
Person Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27601.

CHAPTER 32 - BOARD OF MEDICAL
EXAVII.NERS

SUBCHAPTER 32B - LICENSE TO
PRACTICE .MEDICI.NE

SECTION .0100 - LICENSE BY WRITTEN
EXA.MINATION
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.0110 DEADLINE
For the applicant to be eligible for

the examination, all data must be in

the hands of the executive secrctar}'

of the board at least 75 days prior to

the examination.

An applicant in attendance at a

medical school located in North
Carolina who may graduat

75 day deadline but before

examination date, ma
certilication of

after the

the

salisly tlic

graduation

requirement as follows

(1) Not less than 75 days before

the date of the exarrunation. the

executive secretary must receive a

letter from the dean of the

medical school of the applicant

stating that the applicant is

expected to complete all

requirement
s"

7or graduation prior

to the date oT'the examination;

and.

(2) Prior to the date of the

exarrunation, the executive

secretary must
trom the dean

receive a letter

of the medical

school stating that th: applicant

has completed all requirements

for, and will receive, the .\1.D.

degree trom the medical school.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-9.

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE
PERSONTsEL

Notice is hereby given in accordance
with G.S. 150B-I2 that the State

Personnel Commission intends to

repeal regulation cited as 25 NCAC
IB .0412 and adopt regulations cited

as 25 NCAC IB .04 14-.0434.

The proposed effective dale of this

action is August 1 , 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted

at 9:00 a.m.. on June 30, 19X7 at 101

West Peace Street, Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Any person

may request information or copies of
the proposed rule by writing or

calling Drake Maynard, APA
Coordinator. Office of State

Personnel. 116 West Jones Street,

Raleigh. NC 27611. (919) 733-7112.

Written comments on these

regulations may be sent to Mr.
Maynard at the above address.

Written and oral (no more than ten

minutes) comments on these

regulations may be presented at the

hearing.

CHAPTER I - OFFICE OF STATE
PERSONNEL

SUBCHAPTER IB - STATE PERSONNEL
COMMISSION

SECTION .0400 - APPEAL TO
COMMISSION

.0412 ATTORNEY FEES (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(11 ).

.0414 SITUATIONS IN WHICH
ATTORNEYS FEES MAY
BE AWARDED

Attorney's fees may be awarded by
the commission only in the

following situations:

(1) the grievant is reinstated to

the same or similar position from
either a demotion or a dismissal;

(2) the grievant is awarded back
pay from either a demotion or a

dismissal, without regard to

whether the grievant has been
reinstated;

(3) the grievant is determined, by
the commission or by the

agency's internal grievance

procedure, to have been
discriminated against in violation

of G.S. 126-16;

(4) any combination of the above
situations.

Attorney's fees may be awarded
when any of the above situations

occur, either within the agency
internal grievance procedure or in an
appeal to the State Personnel

Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(11).

.0415 ATTORNEY'S FEES MAY BE
AWARDED AS A RESULT OF
A SETTLEMENT

Attorney's fees may be awarded as

the result of a settlement in the

grievance procedure, either in the

agency internal procedure or at the

Personnel Commission level,

providing such fees are explicitly

incorporated as a part of a written

settlement agreement signed by both

parties. Attorney's fees shall not be

awarded as the result of a settlement
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unless such fees are a specific part of

the written settlement agreement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(11).

.0416 PROVISIONS ON AWARDING
ATTORNEY'S FEES

(a) Attorney's fees shall not exceed

the rate of seventy-five dollars

($75.00) per hour of attorney time;

this rate shall be reviewed

periodically by the commission and
adjusted as necessary; there shall be

no attorney's fees awarded in excess

of this hourly rate.

(b) An itemized statement showing
how the attorney's time was spent is

required in order to make an award

of attorney's fees; this statement

shall be itemized to at least

one-tenth of an hour; attorney's fees

shall not, under any circumstances,

be awarded without an itemized fee

statement.

(c) No attorney's fees shall be
awarded for any attorney time spent

in agency internal grievance

procedures prior to the grievance

committee step of such procedure

(Note: in the Department of

Human Resources internal grievance

procedure, this step would be the

hearing officer step).

(d) No contingent fee or flat fee

arrangements will be honored in

awarding attorney's fees; the

provisions of these rules shall be
followed in awarding attorney's fees

regardless of any arrangement or

contract between the grievant and
attorney.

(e) Attorney's fees are independent
of and not related to whatever
amount, if any, recovered by the

grievant.

(0 Attorney's fees shall be

awarded only for work in the above
specified levels of agency internal

grievance procedures, work before

the Office of Administrative

Hearings and before the State

Personnel Commission or as ordered

by a court of competent jurisdiction;

no attorney's fees shall be awarded
for any attorney time spent in

relation to work done before any
other State or federal administrative

agency, hearing officer, magistrate or

judge.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(11).

.0417 LIMITATION ON
REPRESENTATION

Representation of clients in this

area of administrative law, while

important and deserving of due

diligence by attorneys, is neither so

new nor so complex that the services

of more than one attorney per party

can ever be justified. The
commission shall not award, as a

component of any attorney's fee

award, compensation for the work of

more than one attorney at a time per

grievant. However, should more
than one attorney be involved in

representing a grievant due to the

withdrawal or dismissal of a previous

attorney, attorney's fees may be

awarded to the successor attorney, as

well as the initial attorney if

otherwise permissible under these

rules. However, research or other

legal work may be delegated by the

attorney to other members of the

firm, or to paralegals, to the end that

the work may be done more
economically. Time billed for work
done by paralegals may be paid,

provided that such time does not

reflect a duplication of effort in work
done by the attorney.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(11 ).

.0418 COSTS AND TRAVEL TIME
(a) The following costs of

representing grievants in either the

internal agency procedure, before the

Office of Administrative Hearings or

before the State Personnel

Comniission shall be reimbursed

above and beyond any attorney's

fees awarded based on an itemization

of attorney's time:

(1) copying;

(2) telephone charges;

(3) transcript costs (or the cost of

purchasing copies of tapes of

the hearing);

(4) mailing costs;

(5) subpoena costs;

(6) costs of disco\ery authorized

by order of a hearing officer.

Such costs shall be reimbursed

as part of an attorney's fee

award only if incurred at the

grievance committee (hearing

officer) step of the agency's

internal grievance procedure or

before the Office of
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Administrative Hearings/State

Personnel Commission.
Reimbursement shall be made
only if the above costs arc

completely and sjiecifically

itcmi/.cd.

(b) Mileage costs shall he

reimbursed only up to a total of 200

miles of inter-city travel, and at the

rate authorized by the State Budget

Office for mileage reimbursement for

state employees in the Wake County
area traveling 75 miles or more.

(c) Attorney's travel time shall be

reimbursed not to exceed a

maximum of four hours. Time
spent at a meeting of the Personnel

Commission waiting to address the

commission shall be reimbursed.

This time shall be reimbursable at

the attorney's normal hourly rate, or

at the rate for non-hearing time,

whichever is lower.

(d) No ovemighi lodging expenses

shall be reimbursed, except for those

attorneys who are coming to Raleigh

to address the State Personnel

Commission and only if travel from
the attorney's office to Palcigh and
back cannot be accomplished in ten

hours or less, excluding time spent at

the meeting of the Persormel

Commission. No reimbursement
shall be made in any event for meals.

Lodging expenses shall be

reimbursed at the rate authorized for

in-state travel of state employees.

Statutory Authority G.S. l26-4( 1 1 ).

.0419 DUAL FEE RATES PERMITTED
It is permissible for attorneys

seeking attorney's fees pursuant to

these rules to charge one rate for

hearing (trial) time, and another rate

for work done in the office,

providing that neither rate exceeds

the authorized maximum hourly

rate.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(1 1 ).

.0420 APPEAL TO COMMLSSION
SOLELY TO DETERMINE
ATTORNEY'S FEE AWARD

(a) If all matters in controversy

are resolved between the grie\'ant

and the agency except the matter of

whether or how much attorney's fees

shall be awarded, this matter may be

appealed to the Personnel

Commission for the limited purpose
of resolving this dispute.

(b) Such disputes shall be resolved

in the following fashion:

(1) a request for a determination

as to whether or how much
attorney's fees shall be awarded
must be filed with the

limployee Relations Director,

Office of State Personnel, within

30 calendar days of the final

agency decision declining to

recommend the award of

attorney's fees or recommending
an award of attorney's fees with

which the grievant disagrees;

(2) each party shall file a detailed

position paper, outlining its

position on the question with

the Employee Relations

Division Director, Office of

State Persormel within 30

calendar days of notification of

receipt of the request for

determination of attorney's fees

by the Office of State Personnel;

(3) either party or both parties

shall have the opportunity to

file a brief in addition to a

position paper; briefs must be

filed within ten calendar days of

filing a position pai>er;

(4) either party may request the

opportunity to make oral

arguments on the position

papers and/or briefs before the

Employee Relations Director or

other designated employee of

the Office of State Personnel;

such a request must be filed

with either the position paper or

the brief, whichever is later;

(5) copies of position papers,

briefs and all other documents
must be served upon the

opposing party

contemporaneously with filing

with the Employee Relations

Division;

(6) oral arguments shall be heard

within ten calendar days

following the filing of the

request for such arguments;

these arguments may be made
personally or by telephone

conference call; each party shall

have no more than 30 minutes

to make its argument in chief

and a rebuttal;

(7) the person considering the
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matter shall have 15 calendar

days after the oral arguments or

the filing of briefs or position

papers, whichever is latest, to

send out a report to the parties

containing a recommendation to

the Personnel Commission for a

specific amount of attorney's

fees to be awarded, including

costs; this recommendation shall

be specifically supported by
reference to these rules and the

parties' position papers;

(8) either party or both parties

may request oral arguments

before the full State Personnel

Commission in accordance with

25 NCAC IB .0401.

(9) Failure to serve papers, as

in (5) above, upon the other

party may be cause to deny a

party the opportunity to make
presentations before the

Employee Relations Director or

designated employee.

Statutory Authority G.S. l26-4( 1 1 ).

.0421 BACK PAY
(a) The Persormel Commission

has the authority to award full or

partial back pay in all cases in which
back pay is a requested or possible

remedy.

(b) The Personnel Commission
may award full or partial back pay

regardless of whether reinstatement

is ordered.

(c) Gross back pay shall always be

reduced by:

(1) any interim earnings, except

that interim earnings from
employment which was
approved secondary

employment prior to dismissal

shall not be set off against gross

back pay;

(2) all applicable state and
federal withholding taxes,

including social security taxes;

(3) the employee's regular

retirement contribution;

(4) unemployment insurance.

(d) Back pay shall include

payment for all holidays which the

grievant would have been paid for

except for the interruption in

employment status. HoUday
premium pay shall never be a part of

any back pay award.

(e) Shift premium pay shall be a

part of a back pay award, if the

grievant would have been entitled to

such pay in the absence of the

interruption in employment. This

benefit shall not be applicable in

cases involving a failure to hire or a

failure to promote.

(f) Employees shall not be

entitled to any discretionary pay
which may or may not have been
awarded to them in the absence of

the interruption in employment (for

example, merit increments).

(g) Back pay shall include any
across the board compensation
which would have been included in

the grievant's regular salary except

for the interruption in employment.
This includes one-time "bonuses",

across the board legislative

increments or across the board
legislative pay increases.

(h) If the grievant's longevity

eligibility date occurred during the

period of interrupted employment,
back pay shall include the difference

between the pro-rated longevity

payment made at dismissal and the

amount of longevity pay that would
have been payable had employment
not been interrupted. If the grievant

is reinstated prior to his longevity

date, no adjustment for longevity

pay shall be made in the back pay
award. TTie pro-rated longevity

payment made at the time of

dismissal shall be deducted from the

full amount otherwise payable on
the next longevity eligibility date.

(i) Back pay must be apphed for

on Office of State Personnel form
PD 14. Copies of this form are

available from the Office of State

Personnel, Employee Relations

Division.

(j) One component of the decision

to award back pay shall be evidence,

if any, of the grievant's efforts to

obtain available, suitable

employment following separation

from state government.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);

126-37.

.0422 IRONT PAY
Front pay is the payment of an

amount to an employee above

his/her regular salary, such excess
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amount representing the difference

between the employee's salary in

his/her current position and a higher

salary determined to be appropriate

due to a finding of discrimination.

Front pay may also result from an

order of reinstatement to a position

of a particular level, which the

agency is unable to accomodate
immediately. Front pay shall be

paid for such period as the agency is

unable to hire, promote or reinstate

the employee to a position at the

level ordered by the Personnel

Commission. Front pay shall

terminate upon acceptance or

rejection of a position consistent

with the order of the commission.
Front pay shall be available as a

remedy in cases involving hiring,

promotion, demotion or dismissal.

Front pay shall be payable under the

same conditions as back pay except

that the only deductions from front

pay shall be for usual and regular

deductions for state and federal

withholding taxes and ,the

employee's retirement contribution.

There may also be a deduction for

other emplo\ment earnings, whether
paid by the state or another

employer, so as to avoid unjust

enrichment of the grievant. Shift

premium pay and holiday premium
pay shall not be available on front

pay. Submission of a form PD 14 is

not required for front pay.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);

126-37.

.0423 LE.WE
(a) An employee shall be credited

on reinstatement with all \acation

leave which would have been earned

except for the interruption in

employment.
(bj An employee shall be credited

on reinstatement with all sick leave

which would have been earned

except for the interruption in

emplo_\ment.

(c) The decision as to v.hcther or

not to allow the reinstated employee
to purchase back the vacation leave

paid out in a lump sum at dismissal

is within the discretion of the

agency. .A failure to allow such

repurchase is not grievablc.

(dj Fmployces reinstated from

dismissal shall have their former

balance of sick leave at dismissal

remstated, in addition to the credit

for sick leave which would have

been earned except for the dismissal.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0424 HEALTH INSURA.NCE
Employees reinstated from

dismissal shall be entitled to either

retroactive coverage under the state

health insurance plan or to

reimbursement up to the amount the

state contributes for employee only

coverage. The employee shall have

the right to elect between these two
choices. The employee shall not be

reimbursed for the cost of coverage

of dependents or spouse during the

period between dismissal and
reinstatement. It is the

responsibility of the employee to

provide proof of insurance expenses

mcurred during the period of

unemployment.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0425 INTEREST
The state shall not be required

to pay interest on any back pay
award.

Statutory Authority G.S. J26-4(9);
126-37.

.0426 CERTAIN REMEDIES NOT
AVAILABLE

Punitive, exemplar)' and other such

damages are not available as

remedies in appeals before the State

Personnel Commission.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);

126-37.

.0427 VOLUNTARY PROGRAMS OR
BENEFITS

Voluntary programs or benefits

(such as the 40 IK. program,

voluntary health and life insurance

programs c; deferred compensation)

are the choice of the employee and

are the employee's responsibihty.

Retroactive contributions or

membership in any such program
shall not be part of any remedy
awarded by an agency or the State

Personnel Commission.
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Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);

126-37.

.0428 REINSTATEMENT
As used in these rules,

reinstatement means the return to

employment of a dismissed

employee, in the same or similar

position, at the same pay grade and
step which the employee enjoyed

prior to dismissal. Reinstatement

may also refer to the promotion of a

demoted employee to the same pay
grade and step as the employee was
demoted from.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0429 RECO.M.MENDATION OF
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The State Personnel Commission
shall have the authority to

recommend to the respondent

agency that disciplinary action be

imposed as a result of any
employee's failure to observe state

policy and procedures in effecting

disciplinary actions and dismissals.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0430 REMOVAL OF MATERIAL FROM
PERSONNEL FILE

The State Personnel Commission
shall have the authority to order the

removal of any material in a

personnel fde which it fmds to be
inaccurate or misleading.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0431 CAUSES FOR REINSTATEMENT
The State Personnel Commission

shaU order reinstatement from
dismissal or demotion only upon a

fmding of lack of substantive just

cause or discrimination prohibited

by N.C. Gen. Stat. 126-16. For the

purpose of this rule, failure to give

the required number and kind of

warnings prior to dismissal for job
performance shall constitute a lack

of substantive just cause.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0432 REMEDIES FOR PROCEDURAL

VIOLATIONS
(a) Failure to give written notice

of applicable appeal rights in

connection with a dismissal,

demotion or suspension without pay
shall be deemed a procedural

violation. The sole remedy for this

violation shall be an extension of the

time in which to file an appeal. The
extension shall be from the date of

the procedural violation to the date

the employee is given written notice

of applicable appeal rights.

(b) Failure to give specific

reasons for dismissal, demotion or

suspension without pay shall be

deemed a procedural violation. The
Personnel Commission, in its

discretion, may award back pay and
attorney's fees for such a violation

or, it may determine that the

violation is so severe that it rises to

the level to constitute lack of

substantive just cause; such a

determination shall require

reinstatement, back pay and
attorney's fees as remedies.

(c) Failure to conduct a pre-

dismissal conference shall be deemed
a procedural violation. Further, the

remedy for this violation shall

require that the employee be granted

back pay from the date of the

dismissal until a date determined

appropriate by the commission in

light of the purpose of pre-dismissal

conferences. Reinstatement shall

not be a remedy for lack of a

pre-dismissal conference.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

.0433 SUSPENSION WITHOUT PAY
The State Personnel Commission

shall order back pay in those cases in

which it is determined that a

suspension without pay lacked

substantive just cause or was an act

of discrimination prohibited by N.C.
126-16.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);

126-37.

.0434 DISCRIMINATION
In those cases in which the

Personnel Commission fmds an act

of discrimination prohibited by G.S.

126-16, G.S. 126-36 or G.S.

126-36.1, the commission may order
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reinstatement, back pay, transfer,

promotion or other appropriate

remedy. The commission shall also

have the authority in such cases to

order other corrective remedies to

ensure that the same or similar

discriminaton' acts do not recur.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(9);
126-37.

Notice is hereby given in accordance

with G.S. ISOB- 12 that the Office of
State Personnel intends to repeal

regulation cited as 25 NCAC IH
.0608 and adopt regulations cited as

25 NCAC .0610-06/5.

The proposed effective dale of this

action is August 1, 1987.

The public hearing will be conducted
at 9:00 a.m. on June 30, 1987 at 101
West Peace Street. Raleigh, North
Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Interested

persons may present statements orally

or in writing at the hearing or in

writing prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to: Drake Maynard, Office

of State Personnel, 116 West Jones

Street, Raleigh. North Carolina

27611.

SUBCHAPTER IH - RECRLITMENT
A.\D SELECTION

SECTION .0600 - GENERAL
PROVISIONS

.0608 EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE
FOR VETERANS (REPEALED)

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4( 10).

.0610 POLICY STATEMENT OF
VETERANS PREFERENCE IN
EMPLOYMENT AND RETENTION

It shall be the policy of the State of

North Carolina that, in appreciation

for their service to this State and this

Country in time of war, and in

recognition of the time and
ad\antagc lost toward the pursuit of

a civilian career, veterans shall be

granted preference in employment
with evep,' State department, agency

and university.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(4):
128-15.

'

.0611 ELIGIBILITY

Persons eligible for veteran's

preference shall have ser\'ed in the

Armed Forces of the United States

on active duty, for reasons other

than training, during periods of war,

and shall have been discharged u^.der

other than dishonorable conditions.

This particularly includes disabled

veterans. Also eligible are spouses

of disabled veteians, and the

sur\'iving spouse or dependent of a

veteran who died on active duty
during periods of war either directly

or indirectly as a result of such
ser\'ice. Eligibility for veteran's

preference shall further extend to

\'eterans who suffer disabling injuries

through service-related reasons

during peacetime, to the spouses of
such veterans, and to the surviving

spouse or dependent of a veteran

who died through service-related

reasons during peacetime.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(10);
128-15.

.0612 PERIODS OF WAR
Periods of war shall include:

(1) World War I (April 16, 1917

through November 11, 1918);

(2) World War II (December 7,

1941 through December 31,

1946);

(3) the Korean conflict (June 27,

1950 through Januar,' 31, 1955);

(4) the period of time between
January 31, 1955 and the end of

the hostilities in Viet Nam (May
7, 1975);

(5) any other campaign, expedition

or engagement for which a

campaign badge or medal is

authorized by the United States

Department of Defense.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(4);

126-4(10): 128-15.

.0613 CLAIMING VETERAN'S
PREFERENCE

In order to claim veteran's

preference, all eligible persons must
complete and sign a State

Application for Employment
(PD-107), and submit it to the

appointing authority up>on initial

application. Appointing authorities

are responsible for reviewing the

.Military Service portion of the
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PD-107 and verifying eligibility.

Appointing authorities may request

additional documentation as

reasonably necessary to ascertain

eligibility. Also, as a prerequisite to

further consideration, eligible

veterans must meet the minimum
education and experience

requirements for the position applied

for, and must be capable of

performing the duties assigned to the

position. In evaluating the

qualifications of veterans against

minimum education and experience

requirements, credit shall be given

on a year for year, and month for

month basis, for all military service

training and experience which bears

a reasonable, functional relationship

to the knowledges, skills and abilities

required in the position applied for.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(4);

126-4(10); 128-15.

.0614 APPLICATION OF THE
VETERAN'S PREFERENCE

(a) The preference to be accorded

eligible veterans shall apply in initial

selection and reduction in force

situations only.

(b) In initial selection procedures,

where numerically scored

examinations are used in determining

the relative ranking of candidates, 10

points shall be awarded to eligible

veterans.

(c) In initial selection, where
structured interview, assessment

center, in-basket, or any other

procedure, not numerically scored, is

used to qualitatively assess the

relative ranking of candidates, the

veteran who has met the minimum
qualification requirements for the

vacancy, and who has less than four

years of related military experience

beyond that necessary to minimally
qualify, shall also receive additional

experience credit for up to four years

of unrelated military service.

(d) The amount of additional

experience credit to be granted for

unrelated military service in

individual cases shall be determined

as follows: First, determine the

amount of related military service

possessed by the eligible veteran

beyond that required to meet the

minimum qualifications. If the total

of such experience equals or exceeds

four years, the additional credit for

unrelated military service does not

apply. If the total of such

experience is less than four years, the

veteran shall receive direct experience

credit for unrelated military service

he/she may possess in an amount
not to exceed the difference between

his/her related military service and
the four year maximum credit which
may be granted.

Example A : An eligible veteran

with two years of related military

experience beyond that necessary to

qualify under the minimum
education and experience

requirement for the vacancy applied

for, and with six years of unrelated

service, wUl receive a two year

experience credit. For selection

consideration, this person wiU be

considered to have a total of four

years of related experience. [Four

yrs. (maximum possible unrelated

service credit) less two yrs. (related

military service held by the applicant

beyond that necessary for minimum
qualification) equals two yrs.

(amount of the six years unrelated

service which can be credited)].

Example B : An eligible veteran

has only enougli related military

service to qualify for the minimum
education and experience

requirement of the vacancy being

applied for, but has two years, three

months of unrelated military service.

This person will receive a two year,

three month experience credit.

[Four yrs. (maximum possible

unrelated service credit) less zero

(related military service held by the

applicant beyond that necessary for

mLnimum qualification) equals four

yrs. (four yrs. could be credited for

unrelated service time, however, the

person in this instance can only

claim two yrs., three mos., the actual

amount of unrelated time served)].

(e) After applying the preference,

the qualified veteran shall be hired

when his/her ovcraU qualifications

are substantially equal to one or

more non-veterans in the applicant

pool. Substantially equal

qualifications occur when the

emplo\er caimot make a reasonable

determination that the qualifications

held by one or more persons are

significantly better suited for the
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position than the qualifications held

by another person.

(0 In reduction in force situations

where seniority or years of service is

one of the considerations in

retention, the eligible veteran shall

be accorded one year of state service

for each year or fraction theret)f of

military service, up to a maximum of

five years credit.

Statutory Authority G.S.

126-4(10); 128-15.

126-4(4):

.0615 ALLEGATlOiN OF DENIAL OF
VETERAN'S PREFERENCE

Any claim or allegation that

veteran's preference has not been
accorded to an eligible veteran must
be filed with either the Office of

State Persormel or the Office of

Administrative Hearings. Such
claims must be fded in a manner
consistent with the requirements of

G.S. 150B-23 and no later than 30

days from the receipt of the notice

or decision which the claim is based

upon. Such claims shall be heard as

contested cases pursuant to G.S.

150B-2(2) and G.S. 150B, Article 3.

The State Personnel Commission,
may, upon a fmding that veteran's

preference was denied in violation of

these rules, order the hiring or

reinstatement of any affected person,

as well as any other remedy
necessary to correct the violation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 126-4(10);

126-4(11); 126-37; 126-38;

150B-2(2): 150B, Article 3.
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When the text of any adopted
rule differs from the text of that rule

as proposed, upon request from the

adopting agency, the text of the

adopted rule will be published in this

section.

When the text of any adopted
rule is identical to the text of that as

proposed, adoption of the rule will be

noted in the "List of Rules Affected"

and the text of the adopted rule will

not be republished.

Adopted rules filed by the

Departments of Correction, Revenue

and Transportation are published in

this section. These departments are

not subject to the provisions of G.S.

J503, Article 2 requiring publication

ofproposed rules.

TITLE S - DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF PRISONS

SUBCHAPTER 2A - ORGANIZATION
AND

PERSONAL CONDUCT

SECTION .0200 - CONDUCT OF
EMPLOYEES

.0202 CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT
(5) receives conviction for

driving while unpaired (DWI). An
employee convicted of a first offense

of driving while impaired must at

least be reprimanded and if this first

offense involves any aggravating

circumstances, the employee must at

least be issued a fmal written

warning. Absent extraordinary

circumstances, employees convicted

of two or more offenses of driving

while impaired within a five year

period shall be dismissed. Whenever
an employee certified by the

Criminal Justice Education
Standards Commission is convicted

of driving under the influence, the

commission will be notified. The
Secretar>' of the Department of

Correction will make a

recommendation to continue or

revoke certification. The
commission may approve or reject

the secretary's recommendation.
Whenever certification is revoked,

the employee must be dismissed.

The decision of the commission is

fmal.

(e) Use of Inmate Labor,

State Owned Supplies and
Equipment

(1) No work win be done
in any shop or by any inmate

for the private purposes of any
employee or any other person

except as specifically authorized

by law or regulation. Further,

no employee or any other

person shall derive either direct

or indirect benefit from the use

of inmate labor.

(2) No employee will consume
or use equipment, facilities, or

supplies, including scrap

material, except as he may be

legally entitled to do. All

equipment, facilities, and
supplies provided by the

department wiU be used

according to design and
instructions for the safety of

inmates, personnel, and other

persons. Provided, the transfer

and disposition of all surplus

state property, including scrap

material, shall be conducted in

accordance with procedures

established by the Department
of Administration, Division of

Purchase and Contract, codified

at 1 NCAC 4G .0100 through

4G .0500. No state-owned

property will be transferred or

sold without written

authorization of the State

Purchasing Officer. Food,
cleansers, and other supplies

will be used according to recipes

and instructions.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 148-3; 148-11; 148-23;

Eff February I, 1976;

Amended Eff May I, 1987; August
I, 1983.

SUBCHAPTER 28 - IN.MATE CONDUCT
RULES: DISCIPLINE

SECTION .0100 - GOOD TIME AND
GAINED TIME

.0103 <;A1\ TIME
(Ti) Work Perfonncd louring

Emergency Conditions. All

inmates are eligible for

additional sentence reduction

credits for work performed
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during emergency conditions.

Such conditions may include

rain, sleet, snow, or other

unusual or abnormal
circumstances as determined by
the appropriate approving

authority.

(5) Prison Population Reduction.

All inmates shall be eligible for

additional sentence reduction

credits for good conduct during

prison population reduction

pursuant to G.S. 148-4 1(d).

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Amendment Eff. March 21 . 1987,

for a Period of 43 Days
to Expire on May I, 1987;

Statutory Authority G.S. 14S-I I;

148-13: ISA- 1340.7;

Eff February I, 1976;

Amended Eff May I, 1987;

October I. 1987; September I, 1985:

April I. 1985.

SLBCHAPTER 2F - CLSTOUY AND
SECURITY

SECTIO.N .2000 - G. S. 148-4.1 EAREY
PAROLE

.:002 PRISON POPULATION
MANAGEMENT

(a) Whenever the Secretary of

Correction determines from data

compiled by the Department of

Correction that it is necessar> to

reduce the prison population to a

more manageable level, the secretary

shall direct the Parole Commission
to release on parole over a

reasonable period of time a number
of prisoners sufficient to that

purpose.

(b) In addition, whenever prison

population reduction pursuant to

G.S. 148-4. 1(d) is in effect, the

secretary may not accept any
prisoners ordered transferred from
local confinement facilities under

G.S. 148-32. 1(b), Further, the state

may return any prisoners housed in

the state prison system under an
order entered pursuant to . G.S.

148-32. 1(b) to the local coi.rinrment

facility from which the prisoner was
transferred.

Historv Note: Filed as a Temporary
Amendment Eff. March 21, 1987,

for a Period of 43 Days
to Expire on .\lay J, J 987;

Filed as a Temporary Amendment
Eff November 19, 1986,

for a Period of 44 Days
to Expire on January 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule

Eff April 22, 1985,

for a Period of 71 Days
to Expire on July 1 , 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1;

148-11;

Eff July I. 1985;

Amended Eff May 1, 1987;

January 1, 1987.

.2003 CRITERIA (REPEALED)

.2004 SCREENING (REPEALED)

.2005 CERTIFICATION (REPEALED)

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff March 21. 1987.

for a Period of 43 Days
to Expire on May 1 . 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Amendment
Eff November 16, 1986,

for a Period of 44 Days
to Expire on January 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.

April 22, 1985, for a Period of
'71 Days to Expire on July I, 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1;

148-11:

Eff July 1. 1985;

Amended Eff. January 1 , 1987;

Repealed Eff May 1. 1987.

.2006 PAROLE COMMISSION
REVIEW (REPEALED)

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff March 21, 1987,

for a Period of 43 Days
to Expire on May 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Amendment
Eff November 19, 1986.

for a Period of 44 Days
to Expire on January 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.

April 22, 1985, for a Period of
71 Days to Expire on July 1 , 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 15A-1380.2;

148-4.1; 148-11;

Eff July 1. 1985;

.Amended Eff. January 1, 1987;

Repealed Eff. May I. 1987.

CHAPTER 4 - PAROLE CO.M.MISSION

SUBCHAPTER 4C - POLICY: REVIEW
AND INVESTIGATION

SECTION .1800 G.S. 148-4.1 EARLY
PAROLE

.1801 PURPOSE (RhTEALED)
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History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff. March 21, 1987, for a

Period of 43 days to Expire

on May 1, 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.

April 22, 1985, for a Period of
71 Days to Expire on July I, 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1;

148-57;

Eff July I, 1985;

Repealed Eff May 1, 1987.

.1802 ADMISSION OF INMATES
SENTENCED UNDER FAIR
SENTENCING ACT
(REPEALED)

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff March 21, 1987. for a

Period of 43 Days to Expire on
May I, 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.

April 22, 1985, for a Period of
71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985;

Sfalutory Authority G.S. 148-57;

Eff July 1, 1985;

Repealed Eff May 1, 1987.

.1803 PROCEDURE (REPEALED)

.1804 REVIEW BY PAROLE
COMMISSION ANALYST
(REPEALED)

.1805 PAROLE COMMISSION
REVIEW (REPEALED)

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff March 21, 1987,

for a Period of 43 Days
to Expire on May 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Amendment
Eff November 19, 1986,

for a Period of 44 Days
to Expire on January 1 , 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule

Eff April 22, 1985,

for a Period of 71 Days
to Expire on July 1 , 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1;

148-57;

Eff. July 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. January 1 , 1987;

Repealed Eff May 1, 1987.

.1806 PAROLE CONDITIONS
(REPEALED)

History Note: Filed as a Temporary
Repeal Eff March 21, 1987, for a

Period of 43 Days
to Expire on May I, 1987;

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.

April 22, 1985. for a Period of

71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985;

Statutory Authority G.S. 15A- 1380.2;
148-4.1; 148-57;

Eff July 1, 1985;

Repealed Eff May 1, 1987.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 6 - INDIVIDUAL INCOME
TAX

SUBCHAPTER 6B - INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX

SECTION 3800 MISCELLANEOUS
RULES

J802 DEDUCTIONS
(w) A person held liable for

payment of a penalty equal to the

tax withheld or required to have

been withheld but not paid by an
employer, may not subsequently

claim an income tax deduction for

payment of the penalty.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 105-147(1); 105-147(7);

105-147(9)a; 105-147(10);

105-147(24); 105-147(28);

105-148(1); 105-148(2);

105-148(8); 105-262;

105-147;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff April 1, 1987;

February I, 1987; August 1, J 986;

June 1, 1982.

SUBCHAPTER 6C - WITHHOLDING

SECTION .0100 - WITHHOLDING
INCOME TAX

.0102 WITHHOLDING FROM
WAGES

Employers must withhold North
Carolina income tax from the wages
paid to their employees according to

tables prepared by the North
Carolina Department' of Revenue or

by using an acceptable alternate

method and they must pay over the

amount withheld to the department.

North Carolina does not employ a

depository system for income tax

withheld. The amount withheld is

deemed by law to be held in trust by
the employer for the Secretary of

Revenue. The tax withheld or

required to be withheld is due to be
paid at the same time that the

withholding tax report is required to

be filed. Whenever the Department
of Revenue determines that
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collection of the tax is in jeopardy,

an employer may be required to

report and/or pay the tax at any

time after payment of the wages
from which the tax should be

withheld. I'he manner in which this

is required to be done is explained m
the booklet, Income Tax
Withholding Tables and Instructions

for Employers, Form NC-30.
A penalty of 25 percent of the

amount due is imposed for failure to

withhold the tax, to file the report

on time, or to pay the tax when due.

Criminal penalties are provided for

willful failure to withhold the tax, to

file a return, or to pay the tax when
due.

Any person required to collect,

truthfully account for, and pay over

income tax required to be deducted

and withheld, who fails to collect

and pay o\er such amount to the

Secretary of Revenue shall be

personally liable for a penalty equal

to the total amount not collected or

not accounted for and paid to the

Secretary of Revenue. If an

cmploser has failed to collect, or pay
over income tax withheld or required

to have been withheld, a 100 percent

penalty may be asserted against the

responsible corporate officers,

directors, employees, stockholders,

or other such responsible person

whenever such taxes cannot be

immediately collected from the

employer. More than one person

may be hable as a person responsible

for the payment of withholding

taxes; however, the amount of the

income tax witliheld or required to

have been withheld will be collected

only once, whether from the

employer or one or more responsible

persons. The term "responsible

persons" includes any person who is

in a position to control the finances

of the employer or has the authority

or ability to determine which

obhgations should or should not be

paid. Responsibility is a matter or

status, duty and authority, not

knowledge. For the penalty to

apply, it is not necessary that the

failure to collect and pay the

withholding amounts was willful; it

is only necessary that the responsible

person failed to pay the tax withheld

or required to have been withheld to

the Secretary of Revenue regardless

of his reasons or the knowledge he

had of such failure.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. '105-163.1(4); 105-163.1(5):

105-163.1(6); 105-163.3; 105-163.6;

105-163.18; 105-262; 105-163.1;

105-163.2; 105-163.6;

Eff. February 1. 1986;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 9G -MOTOR FUELS
TAX DIVISION

SECTION .0500 -REFUNDS

.0505 STATIONARY ENGINE
MOUNTED ON A LICENSED
MOTOR VEHICLE

\o refund is due on motor fuels

used to operate a stationary engine

mounted on a licensed motor
vehicle, except concrete mixer

vehicles, solid waste compacting
vehicles and certain agricultural

delivery vehicles as defined by G.S.

105-446.5, if motor fuel is used from
the same storage tank mounted on
the vehicle for the purpose of

operating both the stationary engine

and the engine used to propel a

licensed motor vehicle over the

streets and highways.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 105-262; 105-446;

105-446.5;

Eff January 1, 1983;

Amended Eff May 1, 1987.

.0512 "MUNICIPALITIES"
AND -CONTIGUOUS"
MUNICIPALITIES

In order to define municipalities

and contiguous municipalities, the

.Motor Fuels Tax Division will

follow the Utilities Commission
Rule R2-69:

Rule R2-69; Intracity Bus Carriers.

(a) Towns and Municipalities.

Unless and until determined by the

commission m particular cases, all

towns and mumcipahtics shall for

the purpose of the administration

of G.S. 62-260 include a zone

adjacent thereto as follows:

(1) a zone with one-fourth mile

of the corjxjrate limits if the

municipahtv has a papulation of

2,500 or less;

(2) a zone within one-half mile
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of the corporate limits if the

municipality has a population of

between 2,500 and 10,000;

(3) a zone within one nule

of the coqjorate limits if the

municipality has a population of

between 10,000 and 100,000;

(4) a zone within two miles

of the corporate limits if the

municipality has a population of

more than 100,000;

(5) municipalities whose
commercial zones join shall be

considered as one municipality

for the purpose of this Rule.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 105-262; 105-446.3;

Eff. January I, 1983;

Amended Eff. May I, 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 91 - HIGHWAY FL'KL
USE TAX

SECTION .0200 - NORTH CAROLINA
FUEL PURCHASES

.0202 WITHDRAWALS FROM
BULKSTORAGE

A person maintaining bulk

storage of North Carolina tax paid

motor fuel is entitled to credit on the

highway fuel use tax report based on
the date the fuel is put into the

motor vehicle, not on the date of

purchase.

An accounting of tax paid motor
fuels purchased and used by any
person maintaining bulk storage of

tax paid motor fuel in North
Carolina is required.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 105-262; 105-449.39;

Eff January 1, I9S3;

Amended Eff. May I, 1987.

SECTION .0500 - REGISTRATION
CARUS

AND IDENTIFICATION MARKERS

.0502 REGISTRATION OF HEAVY
VEHICLES LICENSED l.\

NORTH CAROLINA
Motor carriers operating a heavy

vehicle that is licensed in North
Carolina pay the ten dollar ($10.00)

fuel registration fee at the time the

license plate is purchased. The
motor carrier must complete a

questionnaire from the .Motor Fuels

Tax Division regarding special fuels.

Motor carriers operating all

vehicles wholly within North
Carolina are exempted from filing

quarterly highway fuel use reports;

however, motor carriers and
operators of vehicles licensed under

the motor vehicle laws for over 6,000

pounds must register with the Motor
Fuels Tax Division and file all

applicable reports under the Special

Fuels Tax Act.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-88.01; 105-262;

105-449.3; 105-449.9; 105-449.32;

105-449.45; 105-449.47; 105-449.48;

105-449.50;

Eff January I. 1983;

Amended Eff May 1, 1987.

.0504 NO VEHICLE REGISTRATION
REQUIRED

A motor vehicle not designed

for the purpose of pulling a trailer by
the manufacturer and not modified

to the extent that the vehicle

becomes a tractor-type truck for the

purpose of pulling a trailer is not

required to be registered.

( 1

)

A person installing a

trailer hitch on a pickup truck to

pull a mobile home docs not

have to register the vehicle;

(2) A person who shortens the

bed of a pickup truck to pull a

mobile home does have to

register the vehicle.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 105-262; 105-449.47

through 105-449.49;

Eff January I, 1983;

Amended Eff May 1, 1987.

TITLE 19 - DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 3 - DIVISION OF MOTOR
VEHICLES

SUBCHAPTER 31 - RULES AND
REGULATIONS

GOVERNING THE LICENSING OF
COMMERCIAL DRIVER TRAINING
SCHOOLS AND INSTRUCTIONS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
PROVISIONS

.0101 LOCATION OF DIVISION
OF MOTOR VEHICLES

The School Bus and Traffic Safety

section of the North Carolina

Division of .Motor Vehicles is

located at:
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1 100 New Bern Avenue
Raleigh, North Carolina

27697

All forms required by these rules

and regulations (hereinafter referred

to as "regulations") may be obtained

at this address.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-1:

Eff. July 2. 1979:

Amended Eff. May I. 1987.

.0104 DEFINITIONS

As used in these Regulations:

(1) "Commercial Driver Training

School Branch Office" or

"Branch" is a training facility

operated by a commercial driver

training school at a location

different than the principal place

of busmess, where the education

and training of persons, cither

practical or theoretical, or both,

to operate or drive a motor
vehicle is carried on and
consideration or tuition is

charged therefor.

(2) "Hearmg Officer" mjans
an officer or employee of the

division appointed by the

commissioner, who has a

minimum of five years of

experience as a supervisor and
thorough knowledge of the laws

and regulations governing the

division.

(3) "Representative" means a

duly authonzed employee of the

Division of Motor Vehicles.

(4) "Restricted Commercial Driver,

Training School" means a

commercial driver training school

which is restricted to a

curriculum of evaluation for

licensed adult drivers only.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-4.01; 20-320: 20-321:

Eff July 2, 1979:

Amended Eff May 1, 1987:

June 1. 1982.

SECTION .0200 - REQLTREMENTS ANU
.APPLICATIONS FOR CO.MMERCIAL

DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS

.0201 REQUIREMENTS
The division shall not issue a

commercial driver training school

license to anv individual.

partnership, group, association or

corporation unless:

(1) The individual, partnership,

group, association or corporation

has at least one motor vehicle

registered or leased in the n'jne

of the school, which vehicle has

been inspected by a

representative of the division and
vehicle insurance certified as

required by these Regulations for

use by the school for driver

training purposes and driver

instruction.

(2) The individual, partnership,

group, association, or

corporation has at least one
person licensed by the division as

a commercial driver training

instructor for that school.

(3) Each manager or owner
-operator of a commercial driver

training school or branch shall:

(a) be of good moral character;

(b) have at least four years

of experience as a licensed

operator of a motor vehicle;

(c) not have been convicted

of a felony or convicted of a

misdemeanor involving moral

turpitude in the 10 years

immediately precedmg the date

of application;

(d) not have had a revocation or

suspension of his operator's or

chauffeur's license in the two
years immediately preceding the

date of application.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322:

Eff July 2, 1979:

Amended Eff May 1, 1987;

June 1. 1982.

.0202 ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Each original application for a

commercial driver training school

license shall consist of the following:

(1) Application for license;

(2) Personal history statement

of owner-operator or manager.

This information is confidential

and for use by the division only;

(3) Proposed plan of operation;

(4) Proof of liability insurance;

(5) Sample copies of contracts;

(6) A check or money order in

the amount of fortv dollars

($40.00). This fee is due for

no SORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



FINAL RULES

both original and renewal

applications for license;

(7) Certificate of assumed name;

(8) Surety Bond.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1987;

June I, 1982.

.0204 DUPLICATE COPIES
All applications, either original

or renewal, for a commercial driver

training school or branch shall be

completed in duplicate. The original

copy of each form shall be submitted

to the School Bus and Traffic Safety

Section of the Division of Motor
Vehicles at the address specified in

rule .0101 of this Subchapter. A
copy of each form shall be filed at

the place of business.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May I, 1987.

.0205 CHANGES IN APPLICATION
INFORMATION

The division must be notified in

writing within 10 days of any
changes in the officers, directors, or

manager of any school or branch.

The division must also be informed
within 10 days of the addition or

deletion of any motor vehicles, and a

supplemental schedule of motor
vehicles must be filed.

(Supplemental motor vehicle

schedules shall be accompanied by a

prop>erIy executed insurance

certificate.) If the school has a

change in ownership, the new owner
must fUe an Original Application

with the division as described in

Rule .0202 and be approved by the

division before beginning operation

of the school under the new
ownership. Failure to inform the

division of the required changes shall

be grounds for suspension or

revocation of the license.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979:

Amended Eff May f 1987.

.0206 LICENSE FEES (REPEALED)

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-324;

Eff July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff June I, 1982.

Repealed Eff May I, 1987.

.0208 SURRENDER OF LICENSES
Any licensed commercial driver

training school or branch which
ceases to carry on the business of

giving instruction for hire in the

driving of motor vehicles or which
has a change of ownership shall,

within five days, surrender its

commercial driver training school

license and all instructor licenses

issued to driver training instructors

employed by the school.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-325;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May I, 1987.

SECTION .0300 - SCHOOL LOCATION:
PHYSICAL FACILITES: AND
COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

.0304 URANCHES (REPEALED)

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. '20-322 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Repealed Eff May I, 1987.

.0306 INSPECTIONS
The division shall make periodic

inspections (at least annually) of

schools and branches to determine

compliance with laws and
regulations. The inspection shall be

made during regular business hours

by authorized representatives of the

division. Inspections shall include

examination of all school records;

contracts; classroom facilities;

training devices; instructional

materials and instructional methods;
vehicles; and any other item required

by law or regulation. Each owner,

partner, associate, corporate officer,

or employee of any commercial
driver training school siiall cooperate

with the division's representative

.and, upon demand, shall exhibit all

records instructional aids and
equipment, and any other items

which are required for the

inspection. Refusal to permit

inspections shall be grounds for

revocation of the license. Records

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER in



FINAL RULES

shall be retained by the school for a

period of three years.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-231 through 20-324:

Eff. July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff. May I. 1987;

June I, I9S2.

.0307 COLRSES OF INSTRUCTION
Commercial driver training schools

are authorized to teach the following

courses:

(1) For unlicensed persons 18

years of age or older, a course as

follows:

(a) Classroom Instruction. A
minimum of six hours,

including (but not limited to)

rules of the road and other laws

and regulations affecting the

operation of motor vehicles,

safe driving practices, pedestrian

safety, and the general

responsiblities of the dnver.

(b) Behind-the-VVheel

Instruction. A minimum of six

hours, including instruction and
practice in all the ba^ic physical

skills necessary tor proper

control of a motor vehicle in all

normal driving situations, such

as starting, stopping, steering

and turning, controlling the

vehicle in traffic, backing, and
parking.

(c) A person holding a valid

learner's permit issued by the

Driver License Section of the

division shall not be required to

take the six hours of classroom

instruction set forth in

Subparagraph (a) of this

Paragraph.

(d) A person holding a valid

learner's permit or driver's

license issued by the • Driver

License Section of the division

may contract for any portion of

the six-hour behind-the-wheel

instruction.

(2) For licensed persons a

course for purposes of driver

improvement, such as improving

their knowledge and skill in the

operation of a motor vehicle.

(3) lor unlicensed persons under

the age of 18 years, a course

which must be approved by the

commission and the State

Superintendent of Public

Instruction as follows:

(a) Classroom Instruction. A
minimum of 30 hours,

consisting of instruction in:

(i) highway transportation:

its social and economic
influence upon life in

America;

(ii) drivers: their physical

and mental characteristics and
how their capabilities and
limitations influence the

traffic scene;

(iii) the automobile: its

construction, maintenance,

and safe operation;

(iv) traffic law and
enforcement: laws of nature

and man-made laws; and their

relationship to traffic safety;

(v) pedestrians and bicycles:

their influence upon the

traffic scene; and
(vi) engineering: its influence

upon automobiles, highways,

traffic controls, and people;

(vii) driving while impaired:

six (6) hours of instruction on
the effects of drinking upon
driving and upon accident

and death rates; and
(viii) rights and privileges of

handicapped persons; their

rights to use flags, placards,

cars, Ucense plates, and
parking places.

(b) Behind-the-\Vheel-

Instruction. A minimum of six

hours, actually under the wheel,

including:

(i) familiarization with the

automobile; the use of its

controls; and the

development of skills essential

to safe operation in traffic;

and
(ii) driving in traffic with the

instructor in a dual control

car to develop abilities needed

to follow the soundest course

of action in responding to

complex situations.

(c) Restrictions:

(i) Bchind-the-\Vheel

instruction shall be offered to

a student only after he has

successfully completed the

classwork section. If a

student has contracted for

112 SORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



FINAL RULES

both classwork and

behind-the-wheel training,

these may be taught

concurrently.

(ii) No student shall operate

a motor vehicle upon any

public street or highway

unless such student shall have

in his immediate possession a

valid learner's permit issued

by the division.

(iii) No more than three hours

of behind-the-wheel training

shall be given in any one day.

A written record indicating

the date and time of this

training should be kept on fde

for each student,

(d) Other requirements:

(i) Plans for the content of

the curriculum, its

organization, and presentation

shall be submitted on Form
SBTS-610 for the approval of

the commissioner and the

State Superintendent of

Public Instruction. This

course should meet the

minimum requirements of the

Driver Education Course
(No. 881, see page 16) of the

North Carolina Department
of Public Instruction. For
further information, see

"Driver Education, A Manual
for Instructors" (State

Department Public

Instruction, Publication

Number 288).

(ii) Textbooks for use in the

classwork section are to be

chosen from those approved
by the State Superintendent

of Public Instruction.

(iii) Instructors must be

approved by both the

commissioner and the State

Superintendent of Public

Instruction.

(iv) AH expenses incurred Ln

offering and teaching these

courses shall be paid by the

persons enrolled therein or

the school offering the course.

(v) A student may enroll for

either the classroom work or

behind-the-wheel instruction,

or both. A school may
accept certification of

satisfactory completion of

classroom instruction from
any school authorized to offer

such a course, provided the

certificate (Form SBTS-611A)
is signed by the principal of

the public school, or the

superintendent of the

administrative unit of which it

is a part, or the executive

officer of a non-public

secondary school or a

commercial driver training

school,

(vi) Schools offering this

course shall issue to their

students upon satisfactory

completion of either or both
parts of the course a

certificate furnished by the

division (Form SBTS-611).

Schools shall be accountable

to the division for all

certificates issued to them,
(vii) The student, upon

submitting certification of

satisfactory completion of

both parts of the driver

education course, shall be

eligible for licensing as

provided by law. Such
certification may be from
either or both a public or

non-public secondary school

or a commercial driver

training school,

(viii) Schools shall submit

reports to the division; as

may be required by the

division, and their books and
records shall be open to

inspection by division

representatives at all

reasonable times,

(4) For licensed persons taking

a course offered by a restricted

commcrci;d driver training

school, the following courses are

authorized:

(a) curriculum for evaluation

and improvement for licensed

adult drivers only, utilizing

over-the-road observation in

vehicles not owned by the

school or equipment such as

driving simulators;

(b) professional curricula,

including one or more of the

following:

(i) police pursuit driving;

(ii) auto-cross driving;
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(iii) emergency-vehicle driving,

or

(iv) road and track racing.

History Sole: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2. 1979:

Amended Eff. May I, 1987;

March I, 1983; February J, 1982;

June I. 1982.

StCTIO.N .0400 - MOTOR VECHILtS
LSED IN INSTRUCTION

.0402 REGISTRATION: INSURANCE:
INSPECTION

(a) Each \ehicle used by the

school shaU be registered as required

by Chapter 20 of the Genera]
Statutes of North Carolina, and bear

a current inspection certificate.

(b) Each vehicle used by the

school shall be insured by a

company licensed to do business in

North Carolina against liability in

the amount of at least twenty
thousand dollars ($20,000) because
of injury to or destruction of

property of others in any one
accident, fifty thousand dollars

($50,000) because of bodily injury to

or death of one person in any one
accident, and one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) because of bodUy
injur)' to or death of two or more
persons in any one accident. This

insurance coverage shall be secured

on an annual basis. In the event

coverage for any vehicle used for

driver instruction or training shall

not be renewed, the school shall gi\e

written notice to the division at least

10 days prior to the expiration date

of the coverage. A certificate of

insurance coverage shall be filed by
the insurance underwriter with the

division. Cancellation shaU be

accomplished upon 15 days prior

written notice to the division by the

insurance underwriter.

(c) Each vehicle used by a

school shall be listed and inspected

in the manner prescribed on Fonn
SBTS-605. In addition, each \chicle

shall be inspected and appro\ed by a

representative of the division before

it is used. Each vehicle shall be

inspected and approved by a

reprcscntati\e of the di\ision

annually and at any other reasonable

time as indicated by the

circumstances.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-321 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff May 1. 1987.

.0403 EXEMPTION AND SPECIAL
REQUIREMENT

Restricted commerLial driver

training schools shall be exempt
from the equipment requirements of

Rule .0401 of this Section. All

vehicles used in the instructional

program shall meet the equipment
requirements of Chapter 20 of the

North Carolina General Statutes.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May 1, 1987.

SECTION .0500 - REQUIREMENTS AND
APPLICATIONS FOR DRIVER
TRAINING INSTRUCTOR

.0501 REQUIREMENTS
Each instructor of a commercial

driver training school or branch
shall:

(1) be of good moral character;

(2) have at least four years of

experience as a licensed operator

of a motor vehicle;

(3) not have been convicted of a
felony or convicted of a

misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude in the 10 years

immediately preceding the date

of application;

(4) not ha\e had a revocation or

suspension of his driver's license

m the two years immediately
preceding the date of

application;

(5) have graduated from high

school or hold a high school

equivalency certificate;

(6) not have had convictions for

moving violations totaling seven

or more points in the year

preceding the date of

application;

(7) have completed the two-

semester-hour, college credit

prcparator)' course for teachers

or an equivalent course

approved by the commissioner
(Fonm SBTS-613). The coUege
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credit course is not required for

restricted school instructors.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff. May I, 1987;

June I, 1982.

.0502 ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Each original application for a

commercial driver training instructor

license shall consist of:

( 1
) a combination application

and personal history form which
must be completed and signed by
the applicant;

(2) a physical examination report

completed and signed by a

licensed physician;

(3) satisfactory evidence of high

school graduation or equivalency;

(4) evidence of completion of an
approved driver education

course;

(5) a driver license record check

for the previous three years if

applicant has other than a North
Carolina driver license; and

(6) a check or money order in the

amount of eight dollars ($8.00).

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-232 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May I. 1987;

June 1, 1982.

.0503 RENEWAL APPLICATION
(a) Renewal application shall be
made by an instructor annually

between May 1 and June 10 of each
year. All licenses expire on June 30

of each year, and no instructor i.s

pennittcd to operate with an expired

license. However, applications for

renewal may be accepted for up to

30 days from the date of expiration.

Any Ucense expired for more than 30

days shall be deemed permanently
lapsed; and 'renewal of such license

must be by the same process as

required for an entirely new license,

with all forms and certifications

being required.

(b) At least once every four years,

an instructor must take the

two-semester-hour college credit

course required for the original

license; provided, however, that an
equivalent number of hours (40) can

be substituted for this course in the

following manner:

(1) Twelve (12) hours (three for

each full year of the four years)

for active and continuing

teaching of driver education;

(2) Twenty-eight (28) or more
hours for attendance at teacher

training workshops and short

courses, professional driver

training meetings and
conferences in the field of driver

education which have been
approved in advance by the

School Bus and Traffic Safety

Section. Approval is to be

given in the following manner:

(A) Pre-Course (submit for

approval):

(i) Name and address of

agency sponsoring the

workshop, course or

conference;

(ii) Title, dates, and
location of the workshop,

course, or conference;

(iii) Brief description of

the workshop, course, or

conference, including the

number of hours;

(B) Post-Course (submit for

approval and credit):

(i) Proof of attendance,

number of contact hours

actually attended, and
passing grade (if

applicable);

(u) Brief evaluation of

the workshop, course, or

conference,

(c) An accredited driver

education teacher with a current

certificate based on the requirements

of the Department of Public

Instruction is exempted from the

requirements of Paragraph (2) of this

Rule.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 324;

Eff July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff May I, 1987;

June I, 1982.

SECTION .0600 - CONTRACTS

.0601 REQUIREMENTS
(4) a statement which reads as

follows: "This school is licensed by
the State of North Carolina,

Division of Motor Vehicles."

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 115



FINAL RULES

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff. May I. 1987;

June I. 1982.

SLCTION .0700 - BONDINC AM)
ADVERTISING

.0701 BONDS
Prior to license approval, a school

shall file with the division a

continuous "cash" or "surety" bond
written by a company licensed to do
business in North Carolina in the

amount of two thousand five

hundred dollars (S2,500) to

indemnify any student against loss or

damage arising out of the school's

breach of contract between the

school and the student (Form
SBTS-606).

History Sote: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May f 1987;

July I, 1982.

.0702 CKKTII ICATE OF DEPOSIT
With division approval, a

certificate of deposit may be

executed and filed in lieu of a bond.
(Form SBTS-607). The certificate

shall be in the principal sum of the

bond it stands in lieu of as provided

in Rule .0701 of this Section.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May I. 1987;

June I, 1982.

SECTION .0800 - LICENSE
REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION

.0801 GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION
OR SUSPENSION

The license of any commercial
driver training school may be

suspended or revoked by the division

if the bcensee violates any provision

of Article 14, Chapter 20 of the

North Carolina General statutes, or

if the licensee violates any rule or

regulation adopted pursuant to the

Article. In addition, a license may
be suspended or revoked for any one
of the following reasons:

( 1 ) conviction of the owner.

manager, or any agent or

employee of the school of a

felony or conviction of any
misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude;

(2) knowingly submitting to the

division false or misleaaing

information relating to eligibility

for a license;

(3) evidence of substance abuse
by the owner, manager, any
agent or employee of the school;

(4) failure or refusal to permit

an authorized representative of

the division to inspect the school,

equipment, records, or motor
vehicles used to teach students;

or failure or refusal to furnish full

information pertaining to any
and all requirements set forth in

these regulations or in the

application for the license;

(5) failure to maintain adequate

standards of instruction, either

through lack of qualified

instructors or through lack of

equipment sufficient to

adequately perform the course of

instruction;

(6) employment of any
instructor who is not licensed by
the division;

(7) failure of new owner to

apply for and be licensed by the

division as a school under new
ownership and also failure to

notify the division within the

specified time of any change in

management of the school;

(8) aiding or assisting any
person to obtain a driver's license

by fraud (revocation in this

instance shall be permanent);

(9) unauthorized possession

of application forms or

examinations used by the

division to determine the

qualification of an applicant for a

driver's license.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-325;

Eff July 2. 1979:

.Amended Eff May I. 1987.

.0803 REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION
PROCEDURE

If any school or instructor is

alleged to be in violation of any
provision of Article 14, G.S. Chapter

20 or of any provision of these
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credit course is not required for

restricted school instructors.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 20-324;

Eff. July 2. 1979;

Amended Eff. May I. 1987;

June I, 1982.

.0502 ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Each original application for a

commercial driver training instructor

license shall consist of;

(1) a combination application

and personal history form which
must be completed and signed by
the applicant;

(2) a physical examination report

completed and signed by a

licensed physician;

(3) satisfactory evidence of high

school graduation or equivalency;

(4) evidence of completion of an
approved driver education

course;

(5) a driver license record check
for the previous three years if

applicant has other than a North
Carolina driver license; and

(6) a check or money order in the

amount of eight dollars ($8.00).

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-232 through 20-324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May I, 1987;

June 1. 1982.

.0503 RENEWAL APPLICATION
(a) Renewal application shall be

made by an instructor annually

between May 1 and June 10 of each
year. AU licenses expire on June 30
of each year, and no instructor is

pcnnittcd to operate with an expired

license. However, applications for

renewal may be accepted for up to

30 days from the date of expiration.

Any license expired for more than 30

days shall be deemed permanently
lapsed; and 'renewal of such license

must be by the same process as

required for an entirely new license,

with all forms and certifications

being required.

(b) At least once every four years,

an instructor must take the

two-semester-hour college credit

course required for the original

license; provided, however, that an
equivalent number of hours (40) can

be substituted for this course in the

following manner:

(1) Twelve ( 1 2) hours (three for

each full year of the four years)

for active and continuing

teaching of driver education;

(2) Twenty-eight (28) or more
hours for attendance at teacher

training workshops and short

courses, professional driver

training meetings and
conferences in the field of driver

education which have been
approved in advance by the

School Bus and Traffic Safety

Section. Approval is to be
given in the following manner:
(A) Pre-Course (submit for

approval):

(i) Name and address of

agency sponsoring the

workshop, course or

conference;

(ii) Title, dates, and
location of the workshop,
course, or conference;

(ui) Brief description of

the workshop, course, or

conference, including the

number of hours;

(B) Post-Course (submit for

approval and credit):

(i) Proof of attendance,

number of contact hours
actually attended, and
passing grade (if

applicable);

(ii) Brief evaluation of

the workshop, course, or

conference.

(c) An accredited driver

education teacher with a current

certificate based on the requirements

of the Department of Public

Instruction is exempted from the

requirements of Paragraph (2) of this

Rule.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-322 through 324;

Eff July 2, 1979;

Amended Eff May 1. 1987;

June I, 1982.

SECTIO.M .0600 - CO.NTRACTS

.0601 REQUIREMENTS
(4) a statement which reads as

follows: "This school is licensed by
the State of North Carolina,

Divisicm of Motor Vehicles."
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(7) "Fail to Complete" means any

student who does not fully

complete the required 160 hours

of the lessons or classes required

by the division as constitutmg

the full course of study and who
cancels by any of the methods
prescribed, shall be deemed to

have "failed to complete" his or

her course.

(8) "Field Training" means off-

road training in and around the

truck. Refer to Rule .0306 (2)

(b), (c), (e), and (i) of Section

.0300.

(9) "Foreign Commercial Truck
Driver Training School ' means
an enterprise located outside

North Carolina which solicits,

advertises, or offers truck driver

training to residents of North
Carolina.

(10) "General Job or Earnings

Claim" means any express claim

or representation concerning the

general conditions or

employment demand in any
employment market now or at

any time in the future or the

amount of salary or earnings

generally available to persons

employed in any occupation.

(11) "Graduate" means any
student who fully completes the

required 160 hours of the lessons

or classes required by the division

and discharges any other

requirements or obligations

established by the school as

prerequisites for completing the

full course of study.

(12) "Job or Earnings Claim"
means any general or specific job

or earnings claim.

(13) "Media Advertisement"

means any advertisement

disseminated to the public by
means of print or broadcast

media, including newspapers,

magazines, radio, television,

posters, or any other means. It

does not include promotional

materials that are available from

a school or distributed by its

sales representatives.

(14) "Most Recent Base Period"

means the latest base period.

(15) "New Course" means any

course which has a substantially

different course content and

occupational objective firom any
course previously offered by the

school and which has been
offered for a period of time less

than six months.

(16) "Prospective Student" means
any f)erson who seeks to enroll in

a course.

(17) "Recruiter/Salesman" means
any person who is employed by a

commercial truck driver training

school, directly or indirectly, to

recruit students for a school.

Tliis definition includes persons

who are employed by another

person who is a direct employee
or broker for a school.

(18) "Specific Job or Earnings

Claim" means any express claim

or representation concerning the

employment opportunities

available to students or the

demand for students who
purchase the school's course, or

the amount of salary or earnings

available to students who
purchase the school's course.

(19) "Student" means any p>erson

who has signed an enrollment

contract with a school and not

cancelled that contract before the

cooling-off-period, specified in

this Rule, has ended.

(20) "Total Contract Price" means
the total price for the enrollment

contract, including charges for

registration, ancillary services,

and any fmance charges.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May 1, 1987.

SECTION .0200 - REQUIREMENTS A.ND
APPLICATIONS FOR CO.MMERCIAL
TRUCK DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS

.0201 REQUIRE.ME.N'TS

The division shall not issue

a commercial truck driver training

school license to any individual,

partnership, group, association, or

corporation unless;

(1) the individual, partnership,

group, association, or

corporation has at least one

motor vehicle registered or leased

in the name of the school, which
vehicle has been inspected by a

representative of the division and
vehicle insurance certified as
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required by these Regulations for

use by the school for driver

training purposes and driver

instruction.

(2) The individual, partnership,

group, association, or

corporation has at least one
person licensed by the division as

a commercial truck driver

training instructor for that

school.

(3) Each manager or owner-
operator of a commercial truck

driver training school or branch
shaU:

(a) be of good moral character;

(b) be at least 1 8 years of age;

(c) not have been convicted of

a felony or convicted of a

misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude in the 10 years

immediately preceding the date

of appUcation; and
(d) not have had a revocation

or suspension of his operator's

or chauffeur's hcense in the two
years immediately preceding the

date of application.

(4) In the case of a foreign

commercial truck driver training

school, recruiting in North
Carolina, the following items are

necessary:

(a) a copy of the school's license;

(b) a course description,

including topics taught and the

length of the course;

(c) a hst of equipment available

for training;

(d) a copy of the contract

complete with the fee charged;

(e) the names of the persons

who represent the school in

North Carolina; and
(f) a surety bond in the amount

of thirty thousand dollars

($30,000).

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0202 ORIGINAL APPLICATIO.N
Each original appUcation for a

commercial truck driver training

school Ucensc shall consist of the

following:

(1) Application for license,

(2) Personal history statement

of owner-operator or manager.

This information is confidential

and for use by the division only,

(3) Proposed plan of operation,

(4) Proof of liabihty insurance,

(5) Sample copies of contracts,

(6) A check or money order in

the amount of forty dollars

($40.00). This fee is due for

both original and renewal

applications for license,

(7) Certificate of assumed name,

(8) Surety bond.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0203 RENEWAL APPLICATIONS
Renewal applications shall be

made annually between May 1 and
June .10 of each year. All licenses

expire on June 30 of each year and
no school is permitted to operate

with an expired license. However,
appUcations for renewal may be
accepted for up to 30 days from the

date of expiration. Any hcense

expired for more than 30 days shall

be deemed permanently lapsed and
renewal of such license must be by
the same process as required for an
entirely new school, with all forms
and certifications being required.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May 1, 1987.

.0204 DUPLICATE COPIES
All appUcations, either original

or renewal, for a commercial truck

driver training school or branch shall

be completed in dupUcate. The
original copy of each form shaU be

submitted to the Driver License

Section of the Division of Motor
Vehicles at the foUowing address:

1 100 New Bern Avenue, Raleigh,

North CaroUna 27697-0001. A
copy of each form shaU be filed at

the place of business.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. '20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0205 CHANGES IN APPLICATION
INFORMATION

The division must be notified in
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writing within 10 days of any

changes in the officers, directors,

manager, or instructors of any
school or branch. The division

must also be informed within 10

days of the addition or deletion of

any motor vehicles and a

supplemental schedule of motor
vehicles must be filed.

(Supplemental motor vehicle

schedules shall be accompanied by a

properly executed insurance

certificate.) If the school has a

change in ownership, the new owner
must file an original application with

the division as described in Rule

.0202 of this Section and be

approved by the division before

beginning operation of the school

under the new ownership. Failure

to inform the division of the

required changes shall be grounds for

suspension or revocation of the

license.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I. 1987.

.0206 BRANCH OFFICES
Any school desiring to open

a branch shall make application for

such branch on forms furnished by
the division in the same manner and
to the same extent as for an original

license. A commercial truck driver

training school may operate a

branch office any\vhere in the state

provided:

(1) The branch meets aU the

requirements of the principal

place of business.

(2) The branch is properly

identified as a "branch office" by

a permanent sign which indicates

the location of the principal place

of business and which is visible

to the general public.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328:

Eff. May I. 1987.

.0207 SURRKNDKR OF I ICKNSFS

/\ny licensed commercial truck

driver training school or branch

which ceases to carry on the

business of giving instruction in the

driving of motor vehicles or which

has a change of ownership shall,

within five days, surrender its

commercial truck driver training

school license and all instructor

licenses issued to driver training

instructors employed by the school.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0208 MCKNSE RKQLIRFl)

No school or branch is pennitted

to operate without the proper

licenses as set forth in these

regulations.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S.20-322;

Eff May I, 1987.

SECTION .0300 - SCHOOL LOCATION:
PHYSICAL FACILITIES: AND
COURSES OF INSTLCTION

.0301 GENERAL PROVISIONS
Every school shall maintain

a principal place of business open to

the public m a permanent-type

building. Schools or branches may
not be located within or adjacent to

a buUding in which applications for

driver licenses are received by the

division and no business may be

solicited on property occupied by or

adjacent to a building in which
applications for driver's licenses are

received by the division.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I. 1987.

.0302 OFFICE
The office shall be the principal

place of business, in the same
location as but physically separated

from the classroom facility, and
must be sufficient for conducting all

business related to the operation of

the school including, but not limited

to:

(1) Facilities for conducting

personal interviews.

(2) Storage of all records

required for the operation of the

school.

(3) Secretarial or telephone

answering service available for a

minimum of six hours between

9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on
normal business days.

History Note: Statutory Authority
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G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0303 CLASSROOM FACILITY

The classroom facility shall meet
the foUowLng minimum
requirements:

(1) A minimum overall size of not

less than 120 square feet (which

includes at least 70 square feet

for the instructor and his

equipment and at least 12 square

feet for each student).

(2) Lighting, heating, and
ventilation systems that are in

compliance with all state and
local laws and ordinances

including, but not limited to,

zoning, public health, safety, and
sanitation.

(3) Seats and writing surfaces

for all students; blackboards
visible from all seats; charts,

diagrams, mock-ups, and pictures

relating to the operation of

motor vehicles, traffic laws,

physical forces, and correct

driving procedures; a copy of the

Driver's Handbook published by
the division for each student; and
other textbooks deemed
necessary by the instructor.

(4) Restroom facihties sufficient

for the class size must be

provided.

(5) Covered shelter must be
provided for students when on
the field range to protect them
from the weather when not
driving.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320-ihrough 20-328;

Eff. May I. 1987.

.0304 DISPLAY OF LICENSES
Every school and branch must

display in a prominent place in its

office licenses issued to it by the

division for the school and its

instructors.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May /, I9S7.

.0305 l.NSPECTIONS
The division shall make periodic

inspections (at least annually) of
schools and branches to determine
compliance with laws and

regulations. The inspection shall be

made during regular business hours

by authorized representatives of the

division. Inspections shall include

examination of all school records,

contracts, classroom facihties,

training devices, instructional

materials and instuctional methods,
vehicles, and any other item required

by law or regulation.

Each owner, partner, associate,

corf)orate officer, or employee of any
commercial truck driver training

school shall cooperate with the

division's representative and, upon
demand, shall exhibit all records,

instructional aids, equipment, and
any other items which are required

for the inspection. Refusal to

permit inspections shall be grounds
for revocation of the Ucense.

Records shall be retained by the

school for a period of three years.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0306 COURSE OF INSTRUCTION
For licensed persons above the

age of 18 for purposes of driving

commercial trucks, a course

consisting of the following is

required:

(1) Minimum hours of instruction:

(a) classroom instruction,

including testing - 50 hours
(b) field instruction - 50 hours
(c) highway behind-the-wheel

training - 20 hours
(d) observation (highway

behind-the-wheel) - 40 hours

Total - 160 hours

(2) Content of classroom and
behind-the-wheel instruction:

(a) laws relating to interstate

and intrastate operations;

(b) pre-trip inspection;

(c) coupling and uncoupling

of combination units, if the

equipment to be driven includes

such units;

(d) placing the veliicle in

operation;

(e) use of the vehicle's controls

and emergency equipment;

(f) operation in inner-city and
interstate highway traffic and
passing;

(g) turning the vehicle;
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(h) braking and slowing the

vcliicle by means other than

applying the brakes;

(i) backing and parking the

vehicle;

(j) experience operating vehicles

with a minimum gross vehicle

weight of 49,000 pounds; and
(k) completing Driver's Daily

Log books.

(3) Other requirements:

(a) the 160 hours of instructions

required by these rules shall be

completed in no less than four

calendar weeks;

(b) three hours of the 20 hours

of behmd-the-whecl highway
training must be completed by

each student between dusk and
dawn;

(c) one vehicle must be provided

for each three students during

highway training; provided, four

students per vehicle are

permitted if the vehicle has been
inspected and approved for such

Lise by the division. No more
than four students per vehicle

and no more than four \ehicles

per instructor will be allowed

for field training; and
(d) a Driver's Daily Log must

be kept for each student to

reflect the 160 hours of

instruction.

(4) Credit for prior instruction

or training given by another

agency or school may be granted.

Such credit may be granted by
the school to which the candidate

is applying if the prior instruction

or training is substantially

equivalent to the corresponding

part or parts of the course

required by North Carolina law

and these Rules and Regulations

and if such credit is confirmed

and authorised as equivalent by
the Driver's License Section of

the division.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 though 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0307 STLDt.NT REQUIREMENTS
(a) Students above 18 years of

age but less than 21 years of age

must be informed by the owncr(s) or

officers of the school of the age

restrictions and limitations

estabhshed by the United States

Department of Transporation and
the Motor Carrier Safety Unit of the

Division of Motor Vehicles.

(b) Students must have passed

the United States Department of

Transporation physical examination.

(c) No student shall operate a

truck or tractor-trader combination
upon any public street or highway
unless such student shall have in his

immediate possession a valid license

or learner's permit of the class or

type required by General Statute

20-7(a) and his U.S.D.O.T. physical

pocket card.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. '20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0308 REPORTS TO BE SUBMITTED
Every commercial truck driver

training school shall submit to the

division the following reports:

(1) A schedule of classes for

each licensing period.

(2) A class roster as of the

first day of class, which roster

shall include the name, address,

telephone number, and driver's

license number of each student.

(3) A copy of each student's

contract(s).

(4) A list of salesmen/recruiters

working for the school (directly

or indirectly) at the beginning of

the licensing period, with

additions or deletions to be filed

within 30 days of such change.

(5) All other reports as required

by Article 14, Chapter 20 of the

General Statutes.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May 1. 1987.

SECTION .0400 - MOTOR VEHICLES
USED IN INSTRUCTION

.0401 VEHICLE EQUIPMENT
Behind-the-wheel instruction of

students in commercial truck driver

training schools shall be conducted

in motor vehicles owned or leased

by the school. .^11 vehicles used for

the purpose of demonstration and

practice shall:

(1) Be equipped with:
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(a) seatbelts as required by
Federal and State law;

(b) an outside rearview mirror

mounted on the right side of the

vehicle;

(c) a heater, defroster, and
speedometer in working

condition; and

(d) all other equipment required

by Chapter 20 of the North
Carolina General Statutes.

(2) Bear conspicuously displayed

signs with the words "Student

Driver" in letters not less than six

inches in height on both the

front and rear of the vehicle and
also bear conspicuously displayed

signs with the name and location

of the school in letters not less

than one and one-half inches in

height on both sides of the power
unit and on the back of the

trailer.

(3) No school equipment shall be

used to transport property or

persons for compensation, other

than a properly enrolled student.

(4) No school equipment shall be

operated in another state unless

the instructor, student, and
equipment are properly licensed

to operate in that state.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

EffMay I, 1987.

.0402 REGISTRATION: INSURANCE:
INSPECTION

(a) Each vehicle used by the

school shall be titled and/or

registered as required by Chapter 20

of the General Statutes of North
CaroUna and bear a current

insf>ection certificate.

(b) Each vehicle used by the

school shall be insured by a

company licensed to do business in

North Carolina against liability in

the amount of at least twenty
thousand dollars ($20,000) because

of injury to or destruction of

property of others in any one
accident, fifty thousand dollars

($50,000) because of bodily injury to

or death or one person in any one
accident, and one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) because of bodily

injury to or death of two or more
persons in any one accident. This

insurance coverage shall be secured

on an aimual basis. In the event

coverage for any vehicle used for

driver instruction or training shall

not be renewed, the school shall give

written notice to the division at least

10 days prior to the expiration date

of the coverage. A certificate of

insurance coverage shall be filed by
the insurance underwriter with the

division. Cancellation shall be

accomplished upon 15 days prior

written notice to the division by the

insurance underwriter.

(c) Each vehicle used by a school

shall be listed and inspected in the

manner prescribed on Form 605. In

addition, each vehicle shall be

inspected and approved by a

representative of the division before

it is used. Each vehicle shall be

inspected and approved by a

representative of the division

annually and at any other reasonable

time as indicated by the

circumstances.

(d) Vehicles used for off-road

field training must be titled, but are

not required to meet North Carolina

registration requirements.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0403 SPECIAL REQUIREMENT
At least one of the vehicles used

in a commercial truck driver training

school shall be a tractor-trailer

combination unit and other vehicles

may be of the type necessary to

carry out the instructional program
of the school. All vehicles used in

the instructional program shall meet
the equipment requirements of

Chapter 20 of the North Carolina

General Statutes.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.SECTION .0500- REQUIREMENTS AND
APPLICATIONS KOR DRIVER
TRAINING INSTRUCTOR

.0501 REQUIREMENTS
Each instructor of a commercial

truck driver training school or

branch shall:

(1) Be of good moral character.

(2) Be at least 21 years of age.
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have at least 2 years experience

operating a Class A vehicle and

hold a valid North Carolina

Class A license, except as

provided in G. S. 20-8(3).

(3) Not have been convicted of

a felony or convicted of a

midcmeanor involving moral
turpitude in the 10 years

immediately preceding the date of

application.

(4) Not have had a revocation or

suspension of his driver's license

in the two years immediately

preceding the date of application.

(5) Have graduated from liigh

school or hold a higli school

equivalency certificate.

(6) Not have had convictions for

moving violations totaling seven

or more points in the year

preceding the date of application.

(7) Have evidence of United States

Department of Transportation

certification and qualify by
experience or training, or both,

to instruct students in the safe

operation of truck-tractor-trailcr

combination units.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0502 ORIGINAL APPLICATION
Each original application for

a commercial truck driver training

instructor license shall consist of:

(1) A combination application

and personal history form which
must be completed and signed by
the applicant.

(2) A physical examination report

completed and signed by a

licensed physician.

(3) Satisfactory evidence of

high school graduation or

equivalency.

(4) A driver license record

check for the previous three

years.

(5) Consent form for background
information.

(6) A check or money order

in the amount of eight dollars

($8.00).

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 tfxrough 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0503 RENEWAL APPLICATION
Renewal application shall be

made by an instructor armually

between May 1 and June 20 of each

year. All licenses expire on June 30

of each year and no instructor is

permitted to operate with an expired

license. However, applications for

renewal may be accepted for up to

30 days from the date of expiration.

Any license expired for more than 30

days shall be deemed permanently
lapsed and renewal of such license

must be by the same process as

required for an entirely new license,

with all forms and certifications

being required.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0504 DUPLICATE COPIES
All applications, either original

or renewal, for a commercial truck

driver training instructor license shall

be completed in duplicate. The
original copy of each form shall be
submitted to the Driver License

Section of the Division of Motor
Vehicles. A copy of each form shall

be filed at the place of business.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I. 1 987.

.0505 CONFIDENTIALITY
All personal history schedules

submitted pursuant to this

Subchapter shall be confidential and
privileged and the information

contained therein shall be used by
the division only.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0506 LICENSE FEES

Every application for an original

or renewal instructor's License must
be accompanied by the fee of eight

dollars ($8.00), which is

nonrefundable.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-324;

Eff May I. 1987.
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.0507 SURRENDER OF LICENSES

Any licensed commercial truck

driver training instructor who ceases

to give instruction in the driving of

motor vehicles for the school for

which he is licensed shall surrender

his instructor's license within five

days. The owner, partner, or chief

corporate officer of the school shall

be responsible for the return of the

instructor's license to the division on
termination of employment of any

instructor.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0508 LICENSE REQUIRED
No person shall act as an

instructor without the prof>er license

as set forth in these regulations.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-323;

Eff. May I, 1987.

SECTION .0600 - CONTRACTS

.0601 REQUIREMENTS
Commercial truck driver training

school contracts shall contain, but

are not limited to, the following

information:

(1) The agreed total contract

charges and full terms of

payment thereof.

(2) The number, nature, time,

and extent of lessons contracted

for, including:

(a) minimum hours of

instruction:

(i) classroom instruction,

including testing - 50 hours.

(ii) field instruction - 50 hours.

(ui) highway behind-the

-wheel training - 20 hours.

(iv) observation (highway

behind-the-wheel) - 40 hours.

Total 160 hours.

(b) rate for use of school

vehicle for a driver's hcense road

test, if an extra charge is made.

(3) A statement which reads

substantially as foUows: "This

agreement constitutes the entire

contract between the school and
the student, and any verbal

assurances or promises not

contained herein shall bind

neither the school nor the

student."

(4) A statement which reads as

follows: "This school is licensed

by the State of North Carolina,

Division of Motor Vehicles."

(5) A statement which reads as

follows: "If you, as a student, are

unable to settle a dispute with

the school, please direct your
grievances to the North Carolina

Division of Motor Vehicles,

Driver License Section, 1100

New Bern Avenue, Raleigh,

North Carolina 27697-0001."

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May I, 1987.

.0602 PROHIBITED CONTRACT
PROVISIONS

Commercial truck driver training

school contracts shall not contain

the following:

(1) The statement "no refund" or

its equivalent.

(2) Any statement to the effect

that a driver's license is

guaranteed or otherwise promised
as a result of the driver's license

training course.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May /, 1987.

.0603 FILING OF CONTRACT
WITH THE DIVISION

The commercial truck driver

training school shall file with the

division sample copies of all written

contracts and agreements at the time

of the original application and also

at any time thereafter when
alterations to contracts are proposed.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S.20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May 1, 1987.

.0604 CONTRACT PROVISIONS
(a) The school must give the

prospective student a completed
copy of the enrollment contract at

the time the prospective student

signs the contract or upon the

school's receipt of an enrollment

contract completed entirely by mail.

The enrollment contract must be

written in the same language as the
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oral sales presentation, if any, made
by the school and must contain the

name and address of the school.

(b) The school must place on
the enrollment contract the

explanation of the prospective

students cooling-off rights required

by this Rule. If the school does not

place the notice on the front page of

the enrollment contract, the school

must place on the front page the

foUovving notice: "An explanation of

your cancellation and refund rights is

on page (page number) of this

contract." This notice must be

printed in boldface type.

(c) After the school has accepted

the enrollment contract of the

prospective student, the school must
furnish the prospective student with

the disclosure of the school's

graduation rate and placement rate.

(d) If a school makes a job or

earnings claim for a course other

than a new course, the school shall

disclose the following placement
infonnation on the disclo^ure form
entitled. "How Our Students Are
Doing." The School shall disclose

these figures for Individuals who
became students durmg the school's

most recent base period:

(1) the number of students;

(2) the number and percentage

of those students who
graduated;

(3) the number and percentage of

those students who remained
actively enrolled at the end of

that time;

(4) the number and percentage of

graduates who, within four

months of leaving the course,

obtained employment as truck

drivers; and

(5) the number and percentage

of these graduates who refused

to provide salar>' information.

A school may. at its option,

include the foUowmg statement on
the disclosure form: "In evaluating

our record, remember not all of our
students took this course to get a job

as a truck driver. Also, we were

unable to reach some of our

graduates to see if they got jobs. So,

our placement percentage might be

understated."

(c) The disclosure specified by

Paragraph (4) of this Rule must be

based on the school's actual

knowledge of its students'

experiences. Actual knowledge shall

be verified, at a minimum, by a list

that includes the following

information for each student who is

counted as obtaining employment in

a job for which the course prepared

him or her:

(1) the student's name and
address (or telephone number);

(2) the employer's name;

(3) the name or title of the

job obtained;

(4) information that indicates that

the job was obtained within

four months of leaving the

course; and

(5) the student's annual gross

salary expressed in increments

of two thousand doUars ($2,000)

or an indication of the student's

refusal to pro\ide such salary

information.

(f) No school shall make any
specific job or earnings claim for a

new course.

(g) Ihe information required or

permitted to be disclosed under
Paragraph (4) of this Rule shall be

contained in a disclosure form
entitled, "How Our Students are

doing." The disclosure form shall

contain no other information or

representations. This form must be

mailed to all prospective students

who have signed enrollment

contracts if a school makes a general

job or earnings claim or a specific

job or earnings claim.

(h) If a school makes a general

job or earnings claim or a specific

job or earnings claim that is not

substantiated by the disclosure form
required by Paragraph (4) of this

Rule, the school must not know or

have reason to know of facts which
would make the claim inapplicable

to the school, its enrollees, or a

particular geographical area served

by the school. A reasonable basis

shall consist of a statistically valid

and reliable survey which
substantiates the claim.

(1) nothing in Paragraph (4)

in this Rule shall be construed

as proliibiting schools from
making jobs or earnings claims

which are substantiated by
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projections from the

"Occupational Outlook

Handbook" published by the

Bureau of Labor Statistics or by
similar projections published by

other Federal or State agencies.

However, when such claims arc

contained in non-media
advertising, the schools must
clearly and conspicuously

disclose in immediate

conjunction with the claim, any
limitations, restrictions, or

caveats accompanying or made
applicable to those projections

in their original source.

(2) a school shaU maintain

records adequate to disclose the

facts upon which each claim

covered by this Paragraph is

based. Such reports shall be

maintained for three years from
the date the claim is made and,

iifter compliance with any

applicable lederal law

concerning the privacy or

confidentiality of student

records, shall be made available

for inspection and copying by
DMV officials upon reasonable

notice and during regular

business hours.

(i) Home study courses shall

be accredited by an accrediting

agency appro\ed by the United

States Department of Education.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff. May I, 1987.

.0605 CANCKLl ATION .\M)
RIKLM) I'KOCI DLRI S

(a) After the coi)ling-ofr period

has ended, a student may cancel his

or her eiu^ollment in the course by
notifying the school. Cancellation

by the student is effecti\e on the

date the student mails or delivers

written notification to the school or

on the date that the student gi\es the

school constructive notice of his or

her intention to withdraw from the

course.

(b) If a prospective student

cancels the enrollment contract

during the period described in the

notices required, the school must
refund all payments made by the

prospecti%e student and cancel and
return any evidence of indebtedness

within 21 days after receiving any

notice of cancellation. If a school

fails to comply with the proper

enrollment and eooling-off

procedure, it shall not retain any

money or evidence of indebtedness

from a prospective student.

(c) If a student gives the school

written notice of his or her intention

to remain enrolled in a course, the

time period for measuring

constructive notice will begin anew
from the date of the written notice.

Any prior cancellation by virtue of

the student's constructive notice will

not be effective if the student

provides this written notice of his or

her intention to remain enrolled.

(d) If a student cancels his

or her enrollment contract after the

cooling-off period, the school shall

not recei\e, demand, or retain more
than the one hundred and fifty dollar

($150. Oil) registration fee and a pro

rata portion of the total contract

price. I Ins total pro rata portion

shall be calculated by dividing the

total number of course hours by the

total contract price to obtain an

hourly rate. This hourly rate shall

be multipbed by the actual number
of hours the student attended the

school. Refunds must be made
within 21 days.

(e) I'or courses consisting of

a combination of home study

lessons and resident training, not

more than one hundred dollars

($100.00) in addition to the

registration fee referred to in

Subsection (4) shall be retained by

the school for those students who
fail to enter resident training, unless

the school submits affinnative

evidence acceptable to the

Commis^ioner of Motor Veliicles

disclosing the home study lessons are

of such quality and content as to

reasonably assure that the students

will achieve the stated objective

without the resident training portion

of the course.

(f) The school must include m
the enrollment contract the following

notice. The same method of

capitalization and underlying of

words uses in the notices set forth

below must be used by the school.

All subtitles in the notices must be

in bokltaee tspe. 1 he title of the
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notice •CANCIXLINCi THIS
COMRACT" must be m aU

capitals with boldface t\"pc.

(g) If cither the school or the

instructor fails to compl> \sith the

proNisions of any contract or

agreement between the school and

the student, the school shall refund,

on a pro rata basis, all monies
collected from the student as

consideration for the peiformancc of

the contract or the agreement.

IliMcrv .\(>lc: Siaiiilarv Auihorilv

as. '20-.i:0 ihnniKh 20-.<:s:

EjJ. May I, I9S7.'

.0606 MlSCKLLANtOLS
The school may not include

in the cnroUmcnt contract or any
other document a wai\er o{ any of

the rights or obligations created by
this Section. No oral waiver of any

of these nghts or obligations shall be

effective.

IIIU'>ry .\otc: Slatulori Aiiihority

(,S. '2(1-320 ihrouiik 20-32^:

Eff. May I, 198^.

SI CTION .0700 - liONDlNC .\M)
.\i)\i;RTrisi\(;

.0701 |{OM)S

I'nor to hcense approval, a school

shall file with the division a

continuous "cash" or "suiel\" boiul

\snllen In a coiiipain licensed to tlo

business in North Caioliiia to

indemnify an> student against loss ov

damage arising out of the school's

breach of contract between the

school and the student. This bond
shall be thirty thousand dollars

($30,000) for both a commercial
truck driver trairung school and a

foreign commercial truck dri\er

training school.

H'tstorv Sole: Slatuton Authority;

G. S' 20-320 through '20-328;

Eff. May I. 1987.

.0702 CtRTIKICATE OK DEPOSIT
With division approval, a

certificate of deposit ma> be

executed and filed in lieu of a bond.

The certificate shall be in the

principal sum of the bond it stands

in lieu of as provided in Rule .0701

of this Section.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328;

Eff May /, /987.

.0703 AUVERTISI.NG

A commercial truck driver

training school may advertise by
whatever method it sees fit with the

following exceptions:

( 1 ) The address of a telephone-

answering service, when it is not

the s;une as the principal place of
bu.siiiess of the school, shall not

tx- shown in any medium of

.idvertising or telephone

directory. Nor shall any
telephone directory hsting or

yellow page advertisement show
a telephone number for a school

unless it also shows a valid

address for the principal place of

business of the school.

(2) No advertisement shall indicate

in any way that a school can or

will issue or guarantee the

issuance of a driver's license or

imply that preferential or

advantageous treatment from the

division can be obtamed.

(3) A school may state in an

advertisement that it has been
approved and Ucensed by the

division.

(4) Commercial truck driver

training schools must use the full

name, adilress. and telephone

number of their school in all

advertising. No advertising shall

imply an offer of employment or

guarantee employment upon
completion.

(5) If a school makes any job

or earnings claims for any course

in a media advertisement, the

school must include the

following disclaimer in this

advertisement: "Graduation

from this course does not insure

that you will get a job. To find

out how our graduates have

done, send for our job placement

record."

(6) If a school makes any written

job or earnings claims about any

course, other than a media
advertisement, the school must
include in that document full

disclosures of the school's

graduation and placement rates
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required by Rule .0604 of this

Section.

(7) If a school makes any

general job or earnings claims for

a new course, that school must
make the following disclosure in

lieu of those required in

Paragraphs (4) and (5) of this

Rule.

(a) in media advertisement:

"Since this course is new, we
are not able to tell you about
the experience of our students

in getting jobs."

(b) all other, non-media
advertisements: "Since this

course is new, we arc not able

to give you information on the

graduation or placement rates of

our students, or the amount of

money you might earn after

completing tliis course. As an
alternative, we suggest you talk

to a job counselor or State

Employment Office about your
chances of fmding a job in the

field we train you for. They
will have current information on
job opportunities in the area

where you live. In addition,

they can offer you infonnation

on starting salaries and
requirements for prior work
experience."

(8) Commercial truck driver

training schools shall not use

advertisements or promotional
material which is classified,

designated, or captioned, "Men
wanted to train for....", "Help
Wanted", "Employment",
"Business Opportunities", or by
words or terms of similar import,

so as to represent directly or by
implication that employment is

being offered, nor shall the word
"Free" be used in any
advertisement.

History Note: Statutory Authority;

G.S. 20-320 through 20-328:

Eff. May I, 1987.

si.crioN .o«(io - 1 Ki Nsi;
HI VOCAIION

OK SLSI'E.NSION

.0801 GROUNDS FOR REVOCATION
OR SUSPENSION

The license of any commercial
truck driver training school may be
suspended or revoked by the division

if the licensee violates any provision

of .\rticle 14, Chapter 20 of the

North Carolina General Statutes, or

if the licensee violates any rule or

regulation adopted pursuant to that

Article. In addition, a license may
be suspended or revoked for any one
of the following reasons:

(1) Conviction of the owner,

manager, or any agent or

employee of the school of a

felony or conviction of any
misdemeanor involving moral

turpitude.

(2) Knowingly submitting to the

division false or misleading

inJbrmation relating to eligibility

for a license.

(3) Evidence of substance abuse

by the owner, manager, any
agent, or employee of the school.

(4) I-'ailure or refusal to permit

an authorized representative of

the division to inspect the school,

equipment, records, or motor
vehicles used to teach students or

failure or refusal to furnish fuU

information pertaining to any
and all requirements set forth in

these regulations or in the

application for the license.

(5) Failure to maintain adequate

standards of instruction, either

through lack of qualified

instructors or through lack of

approved equipment sufficient to

adequately perform the course of

instruction.

(6) limployment of any instructor

who is not licensed by the

di\ision.

(7) Failure of new owner to

apply for and be licensed by the

division as a school under new
ownership and also failure to

notify the division within the

specified time of any change in

management of the school.

(8) Aiding or assisting any person

to obtain a driver's license by
fraud (revocation in this instance

shall be pcnnancnt).

C) Inautliori/ed posses.sion of

application fonns or

examinations used by the

division to determine the

qualification of an applicant for a

driver's license.

(10) Failure of the school to
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give the student a eopy of his

contract and also use by the

school of a contract which has

not been submitted to and
approved by the Di\ision of

Motor Vehicles.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-325;

Eff. May I, I9S7.

.0802 INSTRUCTOR LICINSE
SUSFtNSION OR REVOCATION

In addition to the grounds
for revocation listed in Rule .0801 of

this Section, it is mandator\ that the

license of any commercial truck

driver training instructor be rcsokcd

if his driver's license is suspended or

revoked or if he accumulates seven

or more points, as a result of being

convicted of moving violations, in a

twelve-month period.

Reinstatement of the commercial
truck driver traming instructor's

license shall follovs- the same
procedure as an application for a

new license.

History Note: Statutory' Authority

G.S. 20-325;

'Eff. May I, 1987.

.0803 REVOCATION OR
SUSPENSION PROCEDURE

If any school or instructor

is alleged to be in violation of any
provision of Article 14, Chapter 20

or of any provision of these

Regulations, the school or instructor

shall be notified by certified or

registered mail of the suspension or

revocation. TTie notification shall

set forth the details of the alleged

violation which formed the basis for

the action. The school (through its

owner, partner, or corporate officer)

or any instructor, may request in

writing a 'show-cause" hearing.

Ihis request must be made within

30 days of receipt of the certified or

registered letter. The hearing shall

be heard by an officer designated by
the commissioner and the school or

instructor may be represented by
counsel. Upon completion of the

hearing, the division shall notify the

school or instructor within 30 days

of the decision of the hearing officer,

rtiis decision may be appealed as

provided by G.S. Chapter 150B.

History Note: Statutory Authority

G.S. 20-325;

Eff May I, 1987.

130 .SORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

NORTH CAROLINA AD.MINISTRATIVE CODE

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

EDITION XII, .\0. 1 EFFECTIVE: April 1, 1987

AGENCY ACTION TAKEN

AGRICULTURE
2 NCAC 9B .0022 Amended

.0032 Amended
9C .0601

9K .0206

Adopted
Amended

36 .0003

38 .0201

Repealed
Amended

.0301 Amended

.0401 Amended
43M.0001 Adopted

COMMERCE
4 NCAC IF .0306 Temp. Amended

5D.0106
.0202

Expires 6/27/87

Adopted
Amended

.0204 Amended
16D.0302 Amended

CORRECTIONS
5 NCAC 2F .2301-. 2304 Adopted

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE
9 NCAC 2 Executive Order Number 32

Executive Order Number 33

HUMAN RESOURCES
10 NCAC 7A .0502 Adopted

7B .0211 Amended
8B .0614 Amended
9A .0006 Amended
26D.0014 Amended
41 F .0811 Adopted
42B.1003 Amended

.1101-1102 Amended
,1204 Amended
.1207 Amended

42C.1S02 Repealed
.1805 Amended
.1901 /Vmcndcd
.2001-.2002 Amended
.2006 Amended
.2207 Amended
.2209 Amended
.2212-. 2214 Amended
.2301 Amended
.2303-. 2305 Amended
.2402 Amended
.2404-. 2405 Amended
.2501 /Vmcndcd
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LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

.2505 Amended

.2703 Amended

.2003 Amended

.3101-. 3102 Amended

.3301 Amended

.3402 Amended
42D.1202 Repealed

.1301 Amended

.1403-. 1404 Amended

.1503-. 1504 Amended

.1602-. 1603 Amended

.1605 Amended

.1704-. 1705 Amended
46D.0103 Amended
49D.0001-.0003 Adopted

NATL RAl. RKSOLRCLS AND (OMMLM lY DEVELOP.MENT
15 NCAC 8B .0303 Amended

8C .0002 /\mended
SD .0004 Amended

.0006 Adopted
lOF .0314 Amended
13N .0100-.0600 Temp. Adopted

Expires 6/30/87

16D.0201 Amended

REVENUE
17 NCAC 6B .3802 Amended

6C.0102 Amended

TRANSPORTATION
20 NCAC 3 .0703 Amended

CPA EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 8A.0102 Amended

8B .0202 Amended
8C .0805 Amended

.0910 .^mended
8E .0201- .0202 Amended

.0204- 0205 Amended
8F .0302 Amended

.0305 Adopted

.0401- 0402 Amended
8G.0103 Amended

.0106- 0109 Amended

.0204 iAjncnded

.0301- 0306 Amended

.0407 Amended

.0408 Adopted
8L .0016- 0017 Amended

.0020 /\mcnded

.0022 .Amended
34 .0126 Adopted
36 .0211 Amended

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
21 NCAC 58A.0101 Amended

.1005 Amended

.1105 Amended

.1203 Amended
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.1205 Amended

.1306 Amended

.1314 Amended

.1318 Amended
58B .0101 Amended

.0104 Amended

.0105 Adopted

.0201 -.0202 Amended
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NCAC INDEX

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA
AD.MINISTRATIA'E CODE

TITLE DEPARIMENT

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

I4A
15

16

17

18

19A
20

*21

22

23

24

25

26

NOrE:

Admiiiistralion, Department of

AOTL'ulture, Department of

Auditor, Department of State

Commerce, Department of

Corrections, Department of

Council of State

Cultural Resources, Department
Elections, State Board of

Governor
Human Resources, Department of

Insurance, Department of

Justice, Department of

Liibor, Department of

Crime Control, Department of

Natural Resources and Community Development
I'ducation, Department of

Revenue, Department of

Secretap,' of State

Transportation, Department of

Treasurer, Department of State

Occupational Licensing Boards
Administrative Procedures

Community Colleges, Department of

Independent Agencies

Personnel, Dep;irtment of State

Office of Administrative Hearings

Title 21 contains the chapters of the various occupational

licensing boards.

CHAPTER LICENSING BOARD

2

4
6
8

10

12

14

16

18

20

21

22

26

28

30

31

32

33

34

36

37

38

40

Architecture, Board of

Auctioneers, Commission for

Barber Tlxammers, Board of

Certified Public Accountant iLxamincrs

Chiropractic Examiners, Board of

Contractors, Licensing Board for

Cosmetic Axi Examiners, Board of

Dental Examiners, Board of

Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners
Eoresters, Board of Registration for

Geologists, Board of

Hearing Aid Dealers and Eittcrs Board
Landscape /Arcliitects, Licensing Board of

Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of

Law Examiners, Board of

Martial & Earruly Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of

Midwifer>' Joint Committee
Mortuary Science, Board of

Nursing, Board of

Nursing Home Admimstrators, Board of

Occupational Therapist, Board of

Opticians, Board of

134 SORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



iXCACLXDEX

42 Optometry, Board of Examiners in

44 Osteopathic Examination and Registration

46 Pharmacy, Board of

48 Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of

50 Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of

52 Podiatry Examiners, Board of

53 - Practicing Counselors, Board of

54 Practicing Psychologists, Board of

56 Professional Engineers and L^nd Surveyors

58 Real Estate Commission
60 Refrigeration Examiners, Board of

62 Sanitarian Examiners, Board of

64 Speech and Language Pathologists and
Audiologists, Board of Examiners of

66 Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULA TIVE L\DEX

CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1987 - March 1988)

1987- 1988

I'agcs Issue

1-137 April

AO - Administrative Order
AG - Attorney General's Opinions
C - Correction

E - Errata

EO - Executive Order
FDL - Final Decision Letters

FR - Final Rule
GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Order
ERA - List of Rules Affected

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary' Rule

AD.MIMSTRATION
State Employees Combined Campaign, 13 PR

AGRICULTURE
Pesticide Board, 13 PR

COMMERCE
Departmental Rules, 14 PR

CORRECTION
Di\ision of Prisons, 105 FR
Parole Commission, 106 FR

EXECUrn E ORDERS
Executive Orders 34 - 42, 1 EO

FINAL DECISION LEITERS
Votmg Rights Act, 10 FDL

HUMAN RESOURCES
Mental Health Retardation

and Substance Abuse. 15 PR

INSURANC E
I ifc Accident c't Health Dnision, 17 I'R

JUS IK E
Education and 1 rainuig Standards, !9 PR
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX

LICENSING BOARD
Medical Examiners, 95 PR

LIST OF RULES AFFEC lED
Volume 12, No. 1

(April 1, 1987), 13! LRA

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Coastal Management, 94 PR
Environmental Management, 29 PR
Marine Fisheries, 84 PR

REVENUE
Individual Income Tax, 107 FR
Motor Fuels Tax, 108 FR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 96 PR

TRANSPORTATION
Motor Vehicles, 109 FR
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FOLD HERE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($95.00/year subscription)

Please enter my subscription for the NCAC in microfiche form starting with the edition.

(Published in March and October: $40.00 per edition)

Renew North Carolina Register D Renew NCAC

Check Enclosed D Please bill me

ease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

\ME ADDRESS

TY STATE ZIP

lONE^

^eturn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

I . Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of- Administrative Hearings
P. O. Drawer 11666

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604
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AP!!15'37 I f^'^^l'^
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840
UNIU. OF NORTH CAfiOLINfl
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