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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

(

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published monthly and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter I50B of the

General Statutes All proposed administrative rules and amend-

ments filed under Chapter 1 508 must be published in the Register.

The Register will typically comprise approximately one hundred

pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free

of charge to each county m the state and to various slate officials

and institutions. The North Carolina Register is available by

yearly subscription at a cost of ninety-five dollars ($95.00) for

12 issues.

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings. P. O.

Drawer 11666, Raleigh, N. C. 27604. Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include a reference to the Statutory

Authority for the action, the time and place of the public hearing

and a statement of how public comments may be submitted to

the agency either at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the

proposed rule or amendment; and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings has

authority to publish a summary, rather than the full text, of any

amendment which is considered to be too lengthy In such case,

the full text of the rule containing the proposed amendment will

be available for public inspection at the Rules Division of the

Office of Administrative Hearings and at the office of the

promulgating agency

Following publication of the proposal in the North Carolina

Register, at least 60 days must elapse before the agency may take

action on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

any adopted or amended rule with the Office of Administrative

Hearings. If it differs substantially from the proposed form

published as part of the public notice, the adopted version will

again be published in the North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule, cannot become effective earlier than

the first day of the second calendar month after the adoption is

filed.

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the pro-

mulgating agency at any time before final action is taken by the

agency

.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature, some
agencies may issue temporary rules A temporary rule becomes

effective when adopted and remains in effect for the period

specified in the rule or 120 days, whichever is less. An agency

adopting a temporary rule must begin normal rule-making

procedures on the permanent rule at the same time the temporary

rule is adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages
of material of which approximately .35% is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G S
150B-63{b)

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters Each stale agency

IS assigned a separate title which is funher broken down by
chapters. Title 2 1 is dcsignaisd tor (Kcupaiional licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two tormats.

(1) In looseleaf pages at a minimum cost of two dollars and

50 cents (S2 50) for 10 pages or less, plus fifteen cents

($0 15) per each additional page

(2) On microfiche The micrt)fiche edition is revised semi-

annually ( March and October) and can be purchased for

fony dollars ($40 00) per edition. Due to the volume

of the Code, the complete copy can only be purchased on

microfiche. The NCAC on microfiche is updated

monthly by publication of a "List of Rules Affected"

which ^ets out rules filed the previous month, the action

taken, and the effective date of the change. This list is

published in the North Carolina Register

Requests for looseleat pages of rules .>r the NCAC on

microfiche should be directed lo the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the procedures to

be followed For specific statutory language, it is suggested that

Anicles 2 and 5 of Chapter I50B of the General Statutes by

examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page

number and date 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to

Volume 1 . Issue 1 , pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina

Register issued on April I. 1986.

North Carolina Register Published monthly by the

Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666,

Raleigh, Nonh Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 1508

of the Gene'-al Statutes. Subscriptions ninety-five dollars

($95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published in

March and October by the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, North Carolina

27604, pursuant to Chapter 1508 of the General Statutes.

Subscriptions forty dollars ($40.00) per edition.
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Date for for Date for Date for Earliest
Filing Electronic Public Adoption Effective
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rules with The Administrative Rules Review Commission the same
calendar month as adoption by agency and ARRC approves the rules at
the next calendar month meeting.



EXECUTIVE ORDER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 31

AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER 28

Under Executive Order
Number 28 issued on September
23, 1986, the "Interim Private
Activity Bond Allocation
Committee" was formed and Howard
Haworth, Secretary of the
Department of Commerce, was made
a member and Chairman of the
Committee. Howard Haworth
having resigned from the
position of Secretary of the
Department of Commerce and from
the Interim Private Activity
Bond Allocation Committee and
Claude E. Pope having been
appointed Secretary of the
Department of Commerce, it is
appropriate to appoint him to
the Interim Private Activity
Bond Allocation Committee and
for him to serve as Chairman.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS

ORDERED

:

Section 1

.

The first
three sentences of Section 2 on
page 3 of Executive Order Number
28, dated September 23, 1986,
are amended to read as follows:

The "Interim Private
Activity Bond Allocation
Committee" is hereby formed.
Claude E. Pope, Secretary of the
Department of Commerce, Charles
C. Cameron, Executive Assistant
to the Governor for Budget and
•Management , and Harlan E.
Boyles, Treasurer of the State
of North Carolina, shall
constitute the membership of the
Committee. Secretary Pope shall
serve as its Chairman.

Section 2. All other
portions of Section 2 and of
each and every other section of
Executive Order Number 28, dated
September 23, 1986, is continued
in full force and effect

.

Done in Raleigh, North
Carolina, this 21st day of
January, 1987.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. 120-30. 9H, effective July 16. 1986, requires that all letters
and other documents issued by the Attorney General of the United
States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change
affecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 be
published in the North Carolina Register.]

U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR : MAP : ST : sw
:
gmh

DJ 166-012-3
P9823
R?.070-2071

October 1 -^ , 1986

W. David Lee, Esq.
Dawkins & Lee
P. 0. Drawer 399
Monroe, NC 28110

Dear Mr. Lee:

This refers to the July 1, 1986, annexation to the Town of
Waxhaw in Union County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney
General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as
amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on August 12,
1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections
to the change in question. However, we feel a responsibility to point
out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that
the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any
subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcem>int of such change.
See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R.
51 .48)

.

In addition, we have been informed that the town increased
the number of commissioners from three to five and changed the method
of electing commissioners from concurrent to staggered terms. Our
records fail to show that these changes have been submitted to the
United States District Court for the District of Columbia for judicial
review or to the Attorney General for administrative review as
required by Section 5 of the Act. If our information is correct, it
is necessary that these changes either be brought before the District
Court for the District of Columbia or submitted to the Attorney
General for a determination that the changes do not have the purpose
and will not have the effect of discriminating on account of race or
color. Changes in procedure which affect voting are unenforceable
unless and until the Section 5 preclearance requirements have been
met. See also 28 C.F.R. 51.9.
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Should you elect to make a submission to the Attorney
General for administrative review rather than seek a declaratory
judgment from the District Court for the District of Columbia^ please
follow the procedures set forth in Section 51.18 et sea. of the
guidelines.

To enable this Department to meet its responsibility
to enforce the Voting Rights Act, please inform us of the course of
action the Town of Waxhaw plans. to take with respect to these matters.
If you have any questions, feel free to call Ms. Shirley Turner
(202-724-7384) of our staff. Refer to File Nos. R2070-2071 in any
response to this letter so that your correspondence will be channeled
properly

.

Finally, future submissions under Section 5 should be
addressed to the Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights Division,
Department of Justice, Washington, D.C. 20530. The envelope and first
page should be marked: Submission under Section 5 of the Voting
Rights Act. 28 C.F.R. 51.22.

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones
Chief, Voting Section
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U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR;MAP:ST:dvs:gmh
DJ 166-012-3
R2070-2071
R4219

December 9, 1986

W. David Lee. Esq.
Dawkins & Lee
P. 0. Drawer 399
Monroe, NC 28110

Dear Mr . Lee

:

This refers to the increase in the number of coMmissioners
from three to five and the change from two-year, concurrent terms to
four-year, staggered terms for the Town of Waxhaw in Union County,
North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section
5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We
received your initial submission on October 10, 1986; supplemental
information was received on November 4, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections
to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to
point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides
that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any
subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes.
In addition, as authorized by Section 5, the Attorney General reserves
the right to reexamine this submission if additional information that
would otherwise require an objection comes to his attention during the
remainder of the sixty-day review period. See the Procedures for the
Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.42 and 51.48).

Sincerely,

Wm . Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones
Chief, Voting Section
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DJ 166-012-3
R2526-2527

U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

December 22, 1986

DeWitt F. McCarley, Esq.
City Attorney
P. 0. Box 7207
Greenville, NC 27835-7207

Dear Mr. McCarley:

This refers to the change in the method of electing
council members from at large to five single-member districts and one
at-large position and the districting plan for the City of Greenville
in Pitt County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General
pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1955, as amended, 42
U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on October 23, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections
to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to
point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides
that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any
subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes.
See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R.
51 .48) .

Sincerely,

Wm . Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones
Chief, Voting Section
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STATEMENT OF ORGANIZATION

NORTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT

OF HUMAN RESOURCES

The North Carolina Department
of Human Resources is an agency
in the Executive Branch of State
government. Its mission is to
deliver or oversee the delivery
of human services to the
citizens of North Carolina and
to participate in the
development of human resources
in the State

.

To accomplish these
objectives, the Department of
Human Resources works to obtain
needed legislation in the
subject areas under its
authority, adopts rules to
govern the administration of its
programs, and channels State and
federal funds to many local
grantees and provider agencies
in the service delivery system.
As the supervision of programs
and the allocation of funds
carry with them significant
responsibilities, the Department
of Human Resources performs
monitoring and enforcement
functions as well.

The Secretary of the
Department of Human Resources,
the administrative head of the
agency, is appointed by the
Governor and serves at the
pleasure of the Governor.

The Department of Human
Resources is divided into the
following divisions: the
Division of Aging; the Division
of Facility Services; the
Division of Health Services; the
Division of Medical Assistance;
the Division of Mental Health,
Mental Retardation, and
Substance Abuse; the Division of
Services for the Blind; the
Division of Social Services; the
Division of Vocational
Rehabilitation Services; the
Division of Youth Services; and
the North Carolina Schools for
the Deaf and Blind.

Members of the public may
obtain information from and make
submissions or requests to the
Department of Human Resources by
communicating with the agency in
writing or in person at 325
North Salisbury Street, Raleigh,
North Carolina 27611 or by
calling 1-800-662-7030.
Inquiries concerning specific
programs or subject areas within
the purview of the Department of
Human Resources may also be
directed to the appropriate
division

.
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 2 - AGRICULTURE

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with 6.S. 150B-12
that the N. C. Structural Pest
Control Committee intends to
repeal regulations cited as 2
NCAC 26A .0001-. 0002; 26B
.0001-. 0003; 26C .0001-. 0002;
26D .0001-. 0002.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority! G.S.
106-65.23; 106-65.28; 106-65.29.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:00 p.m. on April
23, 1987 at Board Room,
Agriculture Building, 1 W.
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC

.

Comment Procedures: Interested
persons may present statements
either orally or in writing at
the public hearing or in writing
prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to David S. McLeod,
Chairman of the Structural Pest
Control Committee, P.O. Box
27647, Raleigh, North Carolina
27611 .

CHAPTER 26 - N.C. STRUCTURAL
PEST CONTROL COMMITTEE

SUBCHAPTER 26A - ORGANIZATION

.0001 FUNCTION OF THE BOARD
(REPEALED)

.0002 MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE
(REPEALED)

SUBCHAPTER 26B - MEETINGS

.0001 FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS
(REPEALED)

.0002 LOCATION OF MEETINGS
(REPEALED)

.0003 REGIONAL MEETINGS
(REPEALED)

SUBCHAPTER 26C - HEARINGS

.0001 SUSPENSION AND
REVOCATION OF OPERATOR'S
LICENSE (REPEALED)

.0002 HEARING PROCEEDINGS
(REPEALED)

SUBCHAPTER 26D - REGULATION
ADOPTION

.0001 AUTHORITY OF COMMITTEE
(REPEALED)

.0002 CITATION OF RULES
(REPEALED)

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Structural Pest Control

Division intends to repeal
regulations cited as 2 NCAC 34
.0201 and .0202.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority:
106-65.29.

G.S,

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:00 p.m. on April
23, 1987 at Board Room,
Agriculture Building, 1 W.
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC

.

Comment Procedures: Interested
persons may present statements
either orally or in writing at
the public hearing or in writing
prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to David S. McLeod,
Chairman of the Structural Pest
Control Committee, P.O. Box
27647, Raleigh, North Carolina
2761 1 .

CHAPTER 34 - STRUCTURAL PEST
CONTROL DIVISION

SECTION .0200 - STRUCTURAL PEST
CONTROL COMMITTEE

.0201 COMMITTEE SEAL
(REPEALED)

.0202 DUTIES OF COMMITTEE
SECRETARY (REPEALED)

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Structural Pest Control
Division intends to repeal
regulations cited as 2 NCAC 34
.0311 and .0315.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory
106-65.29.

Authority: G.S,

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:00 n.m. on April
23, 1987 at Board Room,
Agriculture Building, 1 W.
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC

.

Comment Procedures : Interested
persons may present statements
cither orally or in writing at
the public hearing or in writing
prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to David S. McLeod,
Chairman of the Structural Pest
Control Committee, P. 0. Box
27647, Raleigh, North Carolina
27611 .

SECTION .0300 - LICENSING AND
CERTIFICATION

,0311 RE-ISSUANCE FEE
(REPEALED)
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.0315 REPLACEMENT OF LOST
CARDS AND LICENSES
(REPEALED)

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Structural Pest Control
Division intends to amend
regulations cited as 2 NCAC 34
.0602 and .0904.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority!
106-65.29.

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:00 p.m. on April
23, 1987 at Board Room,
Agriculture Building, 1 W.
Edenton Street, Raleigh, NO.

Comment Procedures: Interested
persons may present statements
either orally or in writing at
the public hearing or in writing
prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to David S. McLeod,
Chairman of the Structural Pest
Control Committee, P. 0. Box
27647, Raleigh, North Carolina
27611

.

SECTION .0600 - WOOD-DESTROYING
ORGANISMS AGREEMENTS

.0602 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECT
AND OTHER ORGANISM
REPORTS

Ca) Any written statement as
to the presence or absence of
wood-destroying insects or their
damage in buildings or
structures for sale shall be on
a fo rm( s ) pr e scr ib e d fay t+re
committee Form SP-100, "North
Carolina Wood-Destroying Insect
Information Report." Incomplete
or inaccurate Wood-Destroying
insect reports shall not be
acceptable and the issuance of
such reports is grounds for
disciplinary action by the
committee. No Wood-Destroying
Insect Reports or
Wood-Destroying Organism Reports
shall be issued before an
inspection of the building or
structure is made. Each
Wood-Destroying Insect Report
issued by a licensee shall be
kept in the files of said
licensee and made available, at
the request of the enforcement
agency, for inspection.

SECTION .0900 - DUTIES AND
RESPONSIBILITIES OF LICENSEE

.0904 PROHIBITED ACTS
(g) No certified applicator^

licensee or his employees shall
represent to any property owner
or his authorized agent or
occupant of any structure that
any specific pest is infesting
said property, structure, or
surrounding areas thereof, irf
unless strongly supporting

ble evidence of such
station — does not exist s.

TITLE 10 HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Medical Care Commission
intends to amend regulation
cited as 10 NCAC 3H .0513.

The proposed effective date of
this action is October 1, 1987.

Statutory
131E-104.

Authority: G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 9:30 a.m. on March
20, 1987 at Division of Facility
Services, Hearing Room, Room
201, 701 Barbour Drive, Raleigh,
N.C.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments may be sent to Mr. I.
0. Wilkerson, Jr., Secretary,
Medical Care Commission, 701
Barbour Drive, Raleigh, N.C.
27603. Comments will be received
from the date of publication
until March 19, 1987.

CHAPTER 3 FACILITY SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 3H - RULES FOR THE
LICENSING OF NURSING HOMES

SECTION .0500 - NURSING SERVICES

.0513 TRAINING
(a) A licensed facility shall

provide for all patient or
resident care employees a
planned orientation and
continuing education program
emphasizing patient or resident
assessment and planning,
activities of daily living,
personal grooming,
rehabilitative nursing and/or
restorative care, other patient
or resident care policies and
procedures, patients' rights,
and staff performance
e.xpectations . Attendance and
subject matter covered shall be
documented for each session and
available for licensure
inspections

.

(b) The administrator shall
assure that each employee is
oriented within the first week
of employment to the facility's
philosophy and goals.
(c) Each employee shall have
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specific on-the-job training as
necessary for the employee to
properly perform his individual
job assignment.
(d) Each nurae aide without

orie year's experience in a
nursing home setting who is
hired on or after (the effective
date of this rule) to work in a
facility shall have successfully
completed a nurse aide training
program approved by the Division
of Facility Services (DHR). or
shall enroll in the first
available approved training
program which is scheduled to
commence within 90 days of the
date of the aide '

s

eMplovment . the prog ra m may be
established by the facility or
by organization
educational institution. The
training program shall consist
of at least the following:

(1) 20 hours of classroom
instruction within 90 days
of employment. At least 10
hours shall be given before
the nurse aide is assigned
direct patient care duties.
The instruction
include the

shall
employee '

s

duties, basic personal care
skills, restorative care,
patient safety and rights,
social and psychological
aspects of aging,
interaction with families,
importance of activities and
social services, and death
and dying.

(2) 40 hours of supervised
training. These hours shall
consist of an appropriately
supervised work assignment
and shall begin within the
first 90 days of employment

.

The 40 hou r s of supervised
training shall be completed
within the first 120 days of
employment

.

(3) Proof of successful
completion of training shall
be retained in the facility
records, and be available
for inspection.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Division of Health
Services intends to amend
regulation cited as 10 NCAC 8C
.1106.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority:
130A-361

.

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:30 p.m. on March
18, 1987 at Cooper Memorial
Health Building, Sixth Floor

Board Room, 225 N. McDowell
Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Any person
may request information or
copies of the proposed rule by
writing or calling John P.
Barkley, Agency Legal
Specialist, Division of Health
Services, P. 0. Box 2091,
Raleigh, North Carolina
27602-2091, (919) 733-3131.
Written comments on this subject
may be sent to Mr. Barkley at
the above address. Written and
oral (for no more than 10
minutes) comments on this
subject may be presented at the
hearing. Notice should be given
to Mr. Barkley at least three
days prior to the hearing if you
desire to speak.

CHAPTER 8 - HEALTH: PERSONAL
HEALTH

SUBCHAPTER 8C - NUTRITION AND
DIETARY SERVICES

SECTION .1100 - WIC PROGRAM FOOD
DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM

.1106 AUTHORIZED WIC VENDORS
(b) In order to participate in

the WIC program, the vendor
shall:

(16) Maintain a minimum
inventory of eligible food
items in the store for
purchase by WIC Program
participants. All such
foods must be within the
manufacturer's expiration
date. The following items
and sizes constitute the
minimum inventory of
eligible food items for
stores classified 1 -4

i

Food Item:
Inventory

:

Required

:

Type of
Quantities

Milk - Whole fluid: gallon
and half gallon and
Skim/lowfat fluid: gallon
or half gallon - Total of 6
gallons fluid milk. Nonfat
dry: quart package or
Evaporated: 12 oz . can -

Total of 5 quarts when •

reconstituted

.

Cheese - 2 types - Total of
6 pounds

.

Cereals - 4 types (minimum
box size 9 7 oz .

- Total of
12 boxes.

Eggs - Grade A, large or
extra large: white or brown
- 6 dozen.
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Juices - Orange juice must
be available in 2 types. A
second flavor must be
available in 1 type. The
types are 1 12 oz . frozen,
46 oz . can, 64 oz.
container - 6 of each type
in stock.

Dried Peas & Beans - 2 types
- 3 one pound bags.

Infant Fruit Juice - 2
juices; 4.2 oz . jars
jars .

- 30

Infant Cereal - 2 cereal
grains; 8-oz. bo.xes Cone
must be rice) 6 boxes

.

Infant Formula - 2 types; 13
oz . concentrate - 62 cans.

For store classification 5,
the following applies;
Supply within 48 hours of
verbal request by local WIC
agency staff any of the
following products:
Nutramigen, Portagen,
Pregestimil, Similac 60/40,
Similac Plain ( Low-Iron

)

,

Enfamil Plain ( Low-Iron

)

,

SMA Low Iron, Ensure, Ensure
Plus, Osmolite, Sustacal HC,
Sustacal, Isocal , Enrich,
and Enfamil Premature
Formula

.

All vendors
(classifications 1 through
5) shall supply milk or soy
based, 32 oz . ready -to-foed
or powdered infant formula
upon request

.

(g) North Carolina's
procedures for dealing with
abuse of the WIC program by
authorized WIC vendors do not
exclude or replace any criminal
or civil sanctions or other
remedies that may be applicable
under any federal and state law.
Neither the vendor nor the state
is under any obligation to renew
this contract

.

Nonrenewal of a
vendor contract is not an
appealable action. If a
contract is- not renewed, the
person may reapply and if
denied, may appeal the denial.

TITLE 12 - JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Private Protective
Services intends to amend and
repeal regulations cited as 12
NCAC 7D .0103, .0104, .0105, and
.0106, .0108, .0109,
.0201, .0203, .0301,
.0503, and .0701, .0702, .

.0704, .0705, .0706,

.0802, and .0803, ,0804, .

.0806, .0807, .0809, .0902.

The proposed effective date of
this action is June 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 74C-2
74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-9
74C-10; 74C-11; 74C-12; 74C-13
74C-15; 74C-16.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 12:00 p.m. (NOON)
on March 20, 1987 at Ramada Inn,
Highway 64-70, Hickory, N.C.
28601 .

Comment Procedures: Any
interested person may present
his or her views and comments in
writing 10 days prior to the
hearing. Please send all
information to Mr. Jim Kirk,
N.C. Private Protective Services
Board, P.O. Box 29500, Raleigh,
N.C. Any person may request
information or copies of the
proposed rules by calling (919)
779-161 1 .

CHAPTER 7 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 7D - PRIVATE
PROTECTION SERVICES

BOARD

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND
GENERAL PROVISIONS

0103 STANDING COMMITTEES OF
THE BOARD (REPEALED)

01 10,
0404, (

0703,
0801 , (i
0805, (

.0104 DEFINITION
In addition to the definitions

under G.S. Chapter 74C, the
following definitions shall
apply throughout this
Subchapter

:

(1) "Applicant" means any
person, firm, or corporation
applying to the Board for a
license, trainee permit,
registration or firearms
trainer certificate.

(2) "Armed private security
officer" means an individual
employed, full time or part
time, by a contract security
company or a proprietary
security organization:

(a) who at any time wears,
carries, or possesses a
firearm in the performance
of his duties; and
) whose principal duty
is that of:
(i) an armed security

«j u a 1' d > o ffic e r, patrol

,

trr

w a t chman, officer or
patrol

;

ii) armed armored car
service guaixli officer;

ii) a private detective; or
iv ) an armed courier

service guard

.

officer

.

(b
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(3) "Board" means the Private
Protective Services Board
established by G.S. Chapter
74C.

(4) "Branch manager or
operator" means the
individual endowed with the
responsibility and liability
for a branch office.

(5) "Branch office" means
a separate but dependent part
of a central organization
engaged in the business of
providing private protective
services established for the
purpose of extending the
activities of the central
organization. The
establishment of a telephone
number or mailing address in
the company name constitutes
prima facie evidence of a
branch office.

(6) "Chairman" means the
the Chairman of the Private
Protective Services Board.

(7) "Contract security
company" means any person,
firm, association. or
corporation engaging in a
private protective services
business as defined in G.S.
74C-3 which provides said
services on a contractual
basis for a fee or other
valuable consideration to any
other person, firm,
association, or corporation.

(8) "Direct supervision"
means personal, face to face
contact and direction of the
trainee's activities on a
frequent and reasonable
basis

.

(9) "Investigative capacity"
means any law enforcement
agency position for which the
duties include conducting
investigations and
interviews, completing
reports, and testifying in
courts or administrative
hearings

.

(10) "Law enforcement officer"
means a sworn peace officer
who has the power of arrest,
and who i-s an employee of the
United States, any state, or
any political subdivision of
a state.

(11) "Licensee" means any
person licensed to perform
private protective services
in North Carolina in
accordance with G.S. Chapter
74C.

(12) "Proprietary security
organization" means any
person, firm, association,
corporation or department
thereof

:

(a) which employs any of the
following:
(i) watchmen.

(ii) security guards or
officers

,

(iii) patrol personnel,
( iv ) armoured car personnel,

or
(v) couriers, and

(b) which employs these
persons regularly and
exclusively as an employee
in connection with the
business affairs of such
employer

.

(13) "Qualifying agent"
means the Individual licensee
who is responsible for the
private protective services,
and who is a resident of
North Carolina.

(14) "Restored" means
that an individual is no
loncrer in need of psychiatric
care as determined bv a
physician

.

(15) "Temporary unarmed
security officer" means one
who is hired for a period of
30 days or less within a
calendar year and who is
designated as a temporary
security officer at the start
of employment

.

.0105 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT
(a) no holder of a license,

trainee permit, unarmed security
guar d officer registration,
armed security guard officer
registration, or firearms
trainer certificate while
engaged in private protective
services, shall wear or display
any badge. Insignia, device,
shield, patch or pattern which
shall indicate or tend to
indicate that the individual is
a sworn law enforcement officer
or which contains or includes
the w«rrk word "police" or the
equivalent thereof, or is
similar in wording to any law
enforcement agency in the local
area of the licensee's
operations

.

(c) A holder who is required
to wear a military style uniform
while in the performance of
private security services shall
have :

( 1

)

affixed over the left
breast pocket of the uniform
and on all caps or hats,
worn by such individual,
badges or patches, distinct
in design from those used by
law enforcement agencies
within the local area of the
licensee's operations; or

(2) affixed over the right
breast pocket of the uniform
a metal, plastic, or cloth
tag not less than three
inches nor more than five
inches in length and not
less than three-fourths inch
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nor more than one inch in
height containing the words
"Security Guard" or
"Security Officer" in
capital letters
approximately one-half inch
in height; and

(3) affixed over the
"G e eari ty Guard" or
"Security Officer" tag, a
metal, plastic or cloth tag
bearing the name of the
wearer. The name tag may be
smaller than the '^SBetJIH^FY
GUARD" err "Security Officer"
tag if the same is displayed
in capital letters
five-sixteenth inch to
one-half inch in height.

(4) the wearing of the
armed or unarmed Private
Protect:ive Services card
clearly visible on the
outermost garment (except
foul weather clothing) shall
satisfy the requirements of
.0105(c )( 1) (2) and (3)
above

•

(d)
who
secur

All other holders
perform the duties of a
tty yuai J err security

officer and who are not required
to wear a military style uniform
shall have affixed over the
right or left breast pocket of
the outermost garment (except
for rainwear or other foul
weather clothing) a tag as
described in (c)(2) of this
Rule, unless exempted by the
Administrator

.

.0106 PROHIBITED ACTS
(4) Includes in any
advertisement a state
which implies official s

authorized certification
approval other than
statement: "Licensed by
Private Protective Serv
Board of the State of N
Carolina." Licensees
must include their lie
number

.

ment
tate

or
this
the
ices
orth
may

enae

.0108 LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFI
SPECIAL PROVISIONS

(a) Law enforcement
officers may provide secu
yuarJ officer and pa
services on an indivi
employer-employee basis
any person, firm, associa
or corporation which is
engaged in a cont
security guard officer
patrol business.

(b) Law enforcement
officers, while off duty,
be employed by a lice
security guard officer
patrol business provided
officer is registered
the board.

CERS

rity
trol
dual

to
tion
not

ract
and

may
nsed
and

such
with

(c) A law enforcement
officer employed by a
proprietary security
organization at times when an
officer is not scheduled for
work with the employing law
enforcement agency shall not
be considered as being
employed regularly and
exclusively as an employee in
connection with the business
affairs of such employer.

(d) the provisions of
the Rule are in addition to
those requirements of 6.S.
Chapter 74C-16(d).

.0109 RECORDS
(a) all records required

to be maintained by G.S.
Chapter 74C or 12 N.C.A.C. 7D
shall be subject to
inspection by the Board xrr

it-s de signated repre s entative
Administrator or his staff
upon demand between 8:00 a.m.

5:00 p.m. Monday through
Friday

.

(b) All licensees
having registered employees
shall submit a copy of their
quarterly Employment Security
Commission form NCUI 101-625
to the Administrator's Office
at the same time the form is
submitted to the Employment
Security Commission.

(c) All records required
to be kept by 12 N.C.A.C. 7D
shall be retained for at
least three years.

.0110 RULE-MAKING AND
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING
PROCEDURES

Ca) The Model Administrative
Procedures for Rule-Making
and Hearings, codified as
Title 22, Subchapters 28 and
2C of the North Carolina
Administrative Code,
effective September 29, 1980,
as amended February 1, 1986,
are hereby adopted by
reference to apply to actions
of the Private Protective
Services Board.

(b) The definitions
contained in 22 N.C.A.C. 2A
.0005 are adopted by
reference and shall apply to
the Private Protective
Services with the following
modifications :

( 1 ) "Agency" means the
Private Protective Services
Board;

(2) "Agency Addr6s3" means
Private Protective Services
Board, Post Office Box
29500, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27626-0500; and

(3) "Agency Head" means
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the Chairman of the Private
Protective Services Board,

(c) Copies of 22 N.C.A.C.

,

Subchapters 2B and 2C and 22
N.C.A.C. 2A .0105 may be
inspected at the agency
address and may be obtained
from the Administrative
Procedures Section of the
Attorney General's Office,
Raleigh, North Carolina.

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES:
TRAINEE PERMITS

.0201 APPLICATION FOR
LICENSES AND
TRAINEE PERMITS

(a) Each applicant for
a license or trainee permit
shall submit an original and one
copy of the application to the
board. The application shall be
accompanied by:

( 1 ) one can set of
classifiable fingerprints on
an applicant fingerprint
card;

(2) one recent head and
shoulders phot o grap h
photoqraph( s

)

of the
applicant of acceptable
quality for identification,
one inch by one inch in
size

;

(3) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history search by the
city-county identification
bureau or clerk of superior
court in each county where
the applicant has resided
within the immediate
preceding 24 §^ months; and

(4) the applicant's
non-refundable application
fee .

(b) Applications for
trainee perrtits shall be
accompanied by a notarized
statement on a form provided
by the board and signed by
the applicant and his
prospective supervisor
stating that the trainee
applicant shall at all times
work with and under the
direct supervision of that
supervisor

.

(c) Private investigator
trainees applying for a
license must make available
for inspection a log of
experience on a form provided
by the board.

(d) Each applicant
must provide evidence of high
school graduation either by
diploma, G.E.D. certificate,
or other acceptable proof.

.0203 RENEWAL OR REISSUE
OF LICENSES AND
TRAINEE PERMITS

(a) Each applicant for
a license or trainee permit
renewal shall submit an original
and one copy of a renewal form.
This form should be submitted to
the administrator not less than
30 days prior to expiration of
the applicant's current license
or trainee permit and shall be
accompanied by:

( 1 ) a recent head and
shoulders color photograph
of the applicant of
acceptable quality for
identification, one inch by
one inch in size;

(2) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history search by the
city-county identification
bureau or clerk of superior
court in each county where
the applicant has resided
within the immediate
preceding 12 months; and

(3) the applicant's
renewal fee; and

(4) proof of liability
insurance as set out in G.S.
7'<C-10(e)

SECTION .0300 - SECURITY OFFICER
AND PATROL: GUARD DOG SERVICE

.0301 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR SECURITY OFFICER
AND PATROL LICENSE

(a) In addition to
the requirements of 12 N.C.A.C.
7D .0200, applicants for a
security gt3-!!xti officer and
patrol license shall:

(1) establish to the board's
satisfaction three years
experience within the past
five years as a manager,
supervisor, or administrator
with a contract security
company or a proprietary
security organization
performing gtraird officer and
patrol functions; or

(2) establish to the board's
satisfaction three years
experience within the past
five years as a manager,
supervisor or administrator
in security with any
federal, U.S. Armed Forces,
state, county, or municipal
law enforcement agency
performing gtr&rti officer and
patrol functions.

(b) The board may give
up to two years credit toward
the experience requirements set
forth in (a)(1) and (2) of this
Rule as follows:

( 1 ) one year of credit for
a two year Associate Degree
in Security, Criminal
Justice or the equivalent
conferred by an accredited
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technical institute, college
or university;

(2) one year of credit
for a Bachelor's Degree in
Business or Economics or the
equivalent conferred by an
accredited college or
university; or

(3) two years of credit
for a Bachelor's Degree in
Security or Criminal Justice
or the equivalent conferred
by an accredited college or
university

.

SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE
INVESTIGATOR.

COUNTERINTELLIGENCE

.0404 REPORTS
(a) Private investigators

shall make and offer to each
client a written report
containing the findings and
complete details of the
investigation within 30 days or
sooner after the completion of
the investigation, a copy of
which shall be retained by the
licensee

.

(b) Descriptive reports,
chronological reports, cover
letters, and itemized invoices
to the client shall be
personally signed by the
licensee. The licensee shall
maintain a file copy which shall
reflect the names of all
participating employees and a
description of the work
performed by each one. These
documents shall be retained by
the licensee.

SECTION .0500 POLYGRAPH

be
be
of

and

.0503 POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION
REQUIREMENTS

Polygraph licensees and
trainees shall comply with the
following

:

(1) Obtain written consent
from the individual to
examined which shall
signed in the presence
both the examiner
examinee.. The consent form
shall include a statement
advising the examinee that he
may terminate the examination
at any time;

(2) Each chart shall ba
init ialed or s-igried -arrd dated
by -H-re sx aw ingg aird kept by
the examiner. The examiner
shall label the beginning of
the first chart with the
following information;

(a) name of the examinee,
(b) date of the
examination

,

(c) time the examination
started

.

(d) type of examination,

(e) location of the
examination, and

(f) name of the examiner.
(3) The examiner shall
give the examinee a
reasonable opportunity to
explain reactions on the
charts

;

(4) The e.xaminer shall
not issue or permit an
employee of his to issue an
examination report which is
misleading, biased, or
falsified

;

(5) Each examination report
shall be a factual,
impartial, and objective
account of the pertinent
information developed during
the e.xamination and the
examiner's professional
conclusion, based on the
analysis of the charts;

(5) All questions to
be considered for chart
analysis shall be in writing
and shall be reviewed with
the examinee prior to any
testing;

(7) An examiner shall
not make a conclusive verbal
or written examination report
without having administered
two or more tests consisting
of the same question; arrd

(8) An examiner shall
not inquire into the sexual
conduct or preferences of a
person to whom a polygraph
examination is being given
unless pertinent to an
alleged sex-related crime,
nor shall an examiner inquire
into the activities,
affiliations or beliefs on
religion, politics or race,
except where there is
specific relevancy to an
invest igat ion

.

C9) Each chart shall
be signed by the examinee and
the examiner, and a notation
at the end of the chart
before the end of the
recording; and

(10) An examiner shall
conduct no more than eight
examinations per day.

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTR.'VTION

C UN.^VRMED

)

.0701 APPLICATION FOR
UNARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(a) Each ap plicant -ftrr

r egis t i at ion trr h-rs employer
slTall submit art applica t ion
for [II . Each employer or his
designee shall submit and
sign an application form for
the registration of each
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enployee to the board. This
form shall be accompanied by:

( 1 ) one set of
classifiable fingerprints on
an applicant fingerprint
card

;

(2) two recent head
and shoulders color
photographs of the applicant
of acceptable quality for
identification, one inch by
one inch in size;

(3) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history records search by
the city-county
identification bureau or
clerk of superior court in
each county v;here the
applicant has resided within
the immediate preceding ?A
60 months; and

(4) the applicant's
non-refundable registration
fee .

(b) Th? employer of
each applicant for registration
shall give the applicant a copy
of the application and shall
retain a copy of the application
in the individual's personnel
file in the employer's office.
(c) The applicant's

copy of the application shall
serve as a temporary
registration card which shall be
carried by the applicant when he
is within the scope of his
employment and which shall be
exhibited upon the request of
any law enforcement officer or
other authorized representative
of the board.

.0702 FEES FOR UNARMED
SECURITY OFFICER
REGISTRATION

(a) Registration fees
are as follows

:

( 1

)

ten dollars
($10.00) non-refundable
initial registration fee;

(2) ten dollars
($10.00) annual renewal, or
reissue fee; and

(3) seven dollars and
fifty cents ($7.50) transfer
fee .

(b) Fees shall be paid
in the form of a check or money
order made payable to the
Private Protective Services
Board.

.0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS
FOR UNARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

An applicant for
registration shall:

( 1 ) be at least 18
years of age;

(2) be a citizen of
the United States or a
resident alien;

(3) be of good moral
character and temperate
habits. Any of the following
within the last five years
shall be prima facie evidence
that the applicant does not
have good moral character or
temperate habits: conviction
by any local, state, federal,
or military court of any
crime involving the illegal
use, carrying, or possession
of a firearm; conviction of
any crime involving the
illegal use, possession,
sale, manufacture,
distribution, or
transportation of a
controlled substance, drug,
narcotic, or alcoholic
beverage, conviction of a
crime involving felonious
assault or an act of
violence; conviction of a
crime involving unlawful
breaking and/or entering,
burglary, larceny, and
offense involving moral
turpitude; or a history of
addiction to alcohol or a
narcotic drug; provided that,
for purposes of (3) of this
Rule, "conviction" means and
includes the entry of a plea
of guilty, plea of no
contest, or a verdict of
guilty;

(4) not have been declared
by any court of competent
jurisdiction incompetent by
reason of mental disease or
defect; or not have
voluntarily committed himself
or herself to an institution
for treatment of mental
disease or defect by a
district court judge. When
an individual has been
treated and found to have
been restored by a
psychiatrist, the board will
consider this evidence and
determine whether the
applicant meets the
requirements of this
paragraph; and

(5) not have had a
revocation of a registration.

.0704 INVESTIGATION FOR
UN.ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(a) After the administrator
receives a complete application
for registration, the
administrator may cause to be
made such further investigation
of the applicant as deemed
necessary

.

(b) Any denial of an
applicant for registration by
the administrator shall be
subject to review by the board.
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.0705 UNARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION
IDENTIFICATION CARDS

(a) The registration
identification card shall be
carried by the registrant when
performing the duties of a
private protective services
employee

.

(b) The registration
identification card shall be
exhibited upon the request of
any law enforcement officer or
any other authorized
representative of the board.
(c) Registration

identification card holders
shall immediately notify the
board upon receipt of any
information relating to the
holder's eligibility to continue
holding such a card.
(d) The ijua^' d officer

transfer form and fee shall be
submitted to the board by the
employer within 10 days of the
beginning of employment.
(e) Upon revocation

or suspension by the board, a
holder shall return the
registration identification card
to the ad.Tiinistrator within 10
days of the date of the
revocation or suspension.

.0705 RENEWAL OR REISSUE
OF UNARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(a) Each applicant for
renewal of a registration
identification card or his
employer, shall complete a form
provided by the board. This form
should be submitted not less
than 30 days prior to the
expiration of the applicant's
current registration and shall
be accompanied by:

( 1

)

two recent head
and shoulders color
photographs of the applicant
of acceptable quality for
identification, one inch by
one inch in size;

(2) statement of the
result of a local criminal
history . records search by
the city-county
identification bureau or
clerk of superior court in
each county where the
applicant has resided within
the immediate preceding 12
months; and

(3) the applicant's renewal
fee .

(b) Each applicant for
reissue of a registration
identification card shall
complete, and ott his employer
shall i-o ii ip le t e s ign a form
provided by the board. This
form shall be submitted to the
board and accompanied by:

( 1

)

two
and
photogr
of ace
identif
one inc

(2) the
fee .

( c ) The e
appl icant
renewal or
thi applic
appl icat ion
a record
renewal or
retain a co
in the in
file in the

recent head
shoulders color

aphs of the applicant
eptable quality for
ication, one inch by
h in size;
applicant's renewal

nployer of each
for a registration
reissue shall give

ant a copy of the
which will serve as
of application for
reissue and shall

py of the application
dividual 's personnel
employer's office.

SECTION .0800 - SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(ARMED)

.0801 APPLICATION FOR
ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(a) Each applican t -f^rc

registi. a t i o i
'

i or h-irs e mploye r
sliall submi t «n ap plication fuim
Each employer or h is desi cmee
shall submit an d siqn an
appl ication form for the
regist:ration o f each emoloveo to
the board. This form shall be
accompanied by;

( 1 ) one set of
classifiable fingerprints on
an applicant fingerprint
card

;

(2) two recent head
and shoulders color
photographs of the applicant
of acceptable quality for
identification, one inch by
one inch in size;

(3) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history records search by
the city-county
identification bureau or
clerk of superior court in
each county where the
applicant has resided within
the immediate preceding 24
months ; arrd

C4) the applicant's
non-refundable registration
fee ; and

(5) a statement signed
by a certified trainer that
the applicant has
successfullv completed the
training requirements of 12
N.C.A.C. 7D .0807.

(b) The employer of each
applicant for registration shall
give the applicant a copy of the
application and shall retain a
copy of the application in the
individual's personnel file in
the employer's office.
(c) The applicant's

copy of the application shall
serve as a temporary
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registration card which shall be
carried by the applicant when he
is within the scope of his
employment and which shall be
exhibited upon the request of
any la»/ enforcement officer or
other authorized representative
of the board.
(d ) Tire application

s-]Tall ire accompanie d by a
atatem ent aiijned by a c e i tif le d
trainer t+re applican t bers
sm,c e ssfully compl ete d t+re
training r e cjuii eme nt s «rf +2
N.C.A.C. 9^ .0007. Applications
submitted without firearms
certificates shall not serve as
temporary registration cards
unless the contract security
company or proprietary security
organization has obtained prior
approval from the administrator
and provides satisfactory proof
that the applicant has received
prior firearms training.
(e) The provisions of (a),

(b), and (c) of this Rule shall
also apply to any employee whose
employment is terminated within
30 days of employment

.

.0802 FEES FOR ARMED
SECURITY OFFICER
REGISTRATION

(a) Registration fees
are as follows

:

( 1 ) seventeen dollars
and fifty cents ($17.50)
non-refundable initial
registration fee; and

(2) seventeen dollars
and fifty cents ($17.50)
annual renewal, or reissue
fee .

(b) Fees shall be
paid in the form of a check or
money order made payable to the
Private Protective Services
Board

.

.0803 MINIMUM STANDARDS
FOR ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

Applicants for an armed
security guard officer
registration shall meet all the
requirements, of 12 N.C.A.C. 7D
.0703.

.0804 INVESTIGATION FOR
ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION

(a) After the administrator
receives a complete application
for registration, the
administrator may cause to be
made such further investigation
of the applicant as deemed
necessary

.

(b) Any denial of an
applicant for registration by
the administrator shall be
subject to review by the board.

.0805 ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER REGISTRATION
IDENTIFICATION CARDS

(a) The provisions of
12 N.C.A.C. 7D .0705 are hereby
made to apply to armed security
cjua r ds . officers .

(b) Upon termination
of employment of an armed
security guard, officer

,

the
employer shall return the
employee's registration card to
the board within 15 days of the
employee's termination.

.0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED
SECURITY OFFICER
REGISTRATION

(a) Each applicant for
renewal of a registration
identification card tyr hirs
employ e r shall complete and his
employer shall sign a form
provided by the board. This
form shall be submitted not more
than 90 days nor less than 30
days prior to expiration of the
applicant's current registration
and shall be accompanied by:

( 1

)

two recent head
and shoulders color
photographs of the applicant
of acceptable quality for
identification, one inch by
one inch in size;

(2) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history records search by
the city-county
identification bureau or
clerk of superior court in
each county where the
applicant has resided within
the immediate preceding 12
months; and

(3) the applicant's
renewal fee

.

(b) The employer of each
applicant for a registration
renewal shall give the applicant
a copy of the application which
will serve as a record of
application for renewal and
shall retain a copy of the
application in the individual's
personnel file in the e.mployer's
office

.

(c) Applications for
renewal shall be accompanied by
a statement signed by a
certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully
completed the training
requirements of 12 N.C.A.C. 7D
.0807.

.0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FOR ARMED SECURITY
OFFICER

(a) Applicants for an
armed security guard officer
registration shall complete a
basic training course for armed
security g uards officer which
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consists of a minimum of four
hours of classroom instruction
including

i

(1) legal limitations
on the use of handguns and
on the powers and authority
of an armed security guards
officer ;

(2) familiarity with rules
and regulations relating to
armed security g uai. ds
officer ;

(3) range firing
procedures, handgun safety,
and maintenance; and

(4) Any other topics
of armed security guard
officer training which the
board and the Attorney
General deem necessary.

(b) Applicants shall
attain a 70 percent score on
firearms course approved by the
board and the Attorney General,
a copy of which is on file in
the administrator's office.
(c) All armed security

c)uai. d «
> officer training required

by 12 N.C.A.C. 7D shall be
administered by a certified
trainer and shall be
successfully completed no more
than 90 days prior to the date
of issuance of the armed
security guard officer
registration

.

.0809 AUTHORIZED FIREARMS
Armed security guards
officers are authorized, while
in the performance of official
duties or traveling directly to
and from work, to carry a
standard .38 caliber, .32
caliber or .357 caliber revolver
or any standard 12 guage
shotgun

.

SECTION .0900 - FIREARMS
TRAINER CERTIFICATE

.0902 APPLICATION FOR
FIREARMS TRAINER
CERTIFICATE

Each applicant for
a firearms trainer certificater
shall submit- an original and one
copy of the application to the
board. The application shall be
accompanied by i

( 1 ) one set of
classifiable fingerprints on
an applicant fingerprint
card

;

(2) one recent head and
shoulders color photograph of
the applicant of acceptable
quality for identification,
one inch by one inch in size;

(3) statements of the
result of a local criminal
history records search by the
city-county identification
bureau or clerk of superior

court in each county where
the applicant has resided
within the immediate
preceding 24 60 months;

(4) the applicant's
non-refundable application
fee; and

(5) a certificate of
successful conpletion of the
training required by 12
N.C.A.C. 7D .0901(3) and (4).
This training shall have been
completed within 60 days of
the submission of the
applicat ion

.

TITLE 16 - PUBLIC EDUCATION

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the State Board of
Education intends to amend
regulations cited as 16 NCAC 6C
.0101 and .0401-. 0404.

The proposed effective date of
this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: N.C.
Constitution, Article IX, Sec.
5; G.S. 115C-12(8); 115C-272;
115C-285; 115C-302; 115C-316;
115C-336; 115C-408.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 9:30 a.m. on March
18, 1987 at State Board Room,
Third Floor, Education Building,
1 I o W. Edenton Street, Raleigh,
NC.

Comment Procedures : Any
interested person may present
his/her views and comments by
oral presentation at the hearing
or by submitting a written
statement. Persons wishing to
make oral presentations should
contact: Harry E. Wilson, Legal
Specialist, Department of Public
Instruction, 116 W. Edenton
Street, Raleigh, NC 27611-1712,
(919) 733-3813 by March 18,
1987. The hearing record will
remain open for v;ritten comments
for 30 days from March 18, 1987
through April 17, 1987. Written
comments must be sent to the
Legal Specialist at the address
specified above by April 17,
1987 and must state the rule or
rules to which the comments are
addressed

.

CHAPTER 6 - ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 6C

SECTION .0100
PROVISIONS

PERSONNEL

GENERAL

.0101 DEFINITIONS
(2) "Instructional personnel"
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means all teachers as defined
by G.S. 115C-325, with the
exception of supervisors j.

and non-teaching principals,
assistant principals, social,
workers , counselors and
psychologists

.

The term
includes principals j_ or
assistant principals , or
counselors who teach any part
of the day, librarians and
instructional aides, except
that:
(a) aides are not included
for the purpose of applying
Rule .0403 of this
Subchapter; and

(b) aides are not included
for the purpose of applying
Rule .0301 of this
Subchapter

.

SECTION .0400 - LEAVE

.0401 VACATION LEAVE
(a) All Full-time or part-time

permanent public school
employees who are working or on
paid leave for at least one-half
of the calendar days in a month
earn vacation leave, based on
length of aggregate state
service in North Carolina.
(j) Instructional personnel

may not take vacation leave on
days when students are scheduled
to be in attendance. These
persons may take vacation leave
instead of sick leave on days
when students are not scheduled
to attend. LEAs may designate
specific scheduled workdays for
required attendance as long as
employees have opportunity to
take trp \ro +0 vaca t i on leave
daya, eai 'ned irt t+tir fiscal annual
leave earned during the school
year. Employees may charge
leave taken only to scheduled
teacher workdays and the ten
vacation leave days scheduled in
the school calendar.
(k) Other employees may take

vacation leave instead of sick
leave. These employees must
have an opportunity to take rxp

\ro +0 vacat ion l e av e days e arne d
in t lie fiscal annual leave
earned in the school year.

.0402 SICK LEAVE
(e) LEAs may advance sick

leave not to exceed the amount
which would be earned within the
cal endar school year.

.0403 SUBSTITUTES
(e)
(2) Unless required to be
otherwise, a substitute for
the regular teacher is paid
from the same source of
funds as the regular teacher
is paid. D e duc t ions fr om

t+re r egular t eaclier' s salary
ftrr •ttte p^ry o-f a aubst iluL e
Ts a-t -fc+re slior t

—

teiw i at e
for tlie f irs^r five days and
Ts a+ "t+re long—term rat e
b eginning ort t+te sixtl^
cons ecut iv e day trf absenc e .

(-34- Glior t

—

t e rm substitute s
are pa id ar a rate wW icn trie

SB£ d e t e rmines annually

,

witl 'iin funds available ftrr
tlia t pui pcis e .

-(-4->- Long—term substit ut es are
paid the daily i at e trf a
be ginning teache r ' s sala i y

,

rounded t-o the near e st
do llar .

(f) Absences not covered in
Rule .0404 require the
appropriate amount of substitute
teacher pay to be deducted from
the regular teacher's salary.
These absences include extended
sick leave as e.xplained in
paragraph (q) of this Rule,
personal leave and in-state
meetings of no longer than three
days or out-of-state meetings of
no longer than five days, and
not to exceed a total of 10 days
within the school year, for
professional responsibilities
and attendance at professional
meetings. The superintendent
must approve these absences.
The time limitations of this
Rule do not apply to a person
who is the local or district
president or president-elect or
a state or national officer of
an educational professional
organization, or to a person
selected as National Teacher of
the Year from this state.
(g) A teacher may be absent

due to personal illness for up
to 20 teaching days in excess of
accumulated sick leave, After
the 20 day period, the LEA shall
place the employee on leave of
absence without pay for up to 13
calendar months

.

The
superintendent may require a
doctor's certificate or other
acceptable proof of the reason
for the absence

.

.0404 LEAVE WITH PAY
The LEA will not malce

deductions from public school
employees' salaries in the
following cases

;

(10) A teacher -rs absmit dtre
t^ p ersonal illinuss ftrr trp

tt5 && te aching dars irt

e .xee ss trf accumulated sick
l eav e . Aft e r th« 2^ day
poi iod

,

-Ht* tEA shall plac e
t+re employ ee rm l e ave trf

absence w i t hout pay ftrr op
to -1-S calendar moii t l

'is

.

The'
sup e r iiileiiden t may require a
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o t h e r ' strcrrp-t

tire r e ason -foT -Hre

TITLE 21 - LICENSING BOARDS

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Board of Certified
Public Accountant Examiners
intends to adopt regulation
cited as 21 NCAC SF .0504.

The proposed effective date of
this action is June 1, 1987.

Statutory
93-12(5)

.

Authority

:

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 9:00 a.m. on April
10, 1937 at N.C. State Board of
CPA Examiners. 1101 Oberlin
Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27605.

Comment Procedures: Any person
interested in this rule may
present written or oral comments
relevant to the action proposed
at the public rule-making
hearing. Anyone planning to
present comments at the hearing
should notify the E.xecutive
Director at the Board offices by
12:00 noon, April 7. 1987.
Written statements not presented

at the public hearing should be
delivered to the Board offices
not later than 8:30 a.m.. May
12, 1987.

CHAPTER a CPA EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 8F - REQUIREMENTS FOR
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT

EXAMINATION AND
CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS

SECTION .0500 - APPLICATIONS
FOR CERTIFICATES

.0504 ACCOL'NTANCY LAW
COLT^SE REQUIREMENT

Effective January 1, 1989, all
applicants for certification
shall complete an eight-hour
course or pass an approved
open-book examination on the
North Carolina Accountancy Laws
and Rules (including the Code of
Ethics contained therein) within
one year prior to application.
Such course or e.xamination is to
be the same as approved for CPE
credit pursuant to 21 NCAC 8G
.0408. Such credit may be
reported as CPE credit earned
during the first calendar year
of certification of the
applicant and thus counted
toward the applicant's annual
CPE requirement

.
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FINAL RULES

When the text of any adopted
rule differs from the text of
that rule as proposed, upon
request from the adopting
agency, the text of the adopted
rule will be published in this
section

.

When the text of any adopted
rule is identical to the text of
that as proposed, adoption of
the rule will be noted in the
"List of Rules Affected" and the
text of the adopted rule will
not be republished.

Adopted rules filed by the
Departments of Correction,
Revenue and Transportation are
published in this section.
These departments are not
subject to the provisions of
G.S. 150B, Article 2 requiring
publication of proposed rules.

TITLE 5 - DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF
PRISONS

SUBCHAPTER 2F - CUSTODY AND
SECURITY

SECTION .2200 - JAIL FACILITY
HOUSING

.2201 GENERAL
The Department of

Correction may utilize jails and
local confinement facilities for
tlie custody and care of selected
inmates committed to the custody
of the department. Hereinafter,
the term "jail" shall be
construed to include local
confinement facilities. The
option of using jail facilities
to house inmates may be
exercised under the following
conditions

;

( 1

)

To protect selected
inmates from potential harm
by other -inmates

;

(2) To enable work release
placement for selected
inmates;

(3) To provide inmate labor
for public work projects; and

(4) For other purposes at
the discretion of the
Secretary of Correction.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11

;

148-32. 1

;

Eff. March 1, 1987.

.2202 REQUIREMENTS
When inmates in the

custody of the department are to
be housed at jail facilities,
the following requirements must
be met •

( 1 ) A written jail contract
will be made with the sheriff
or administrator of the local
confinement facility for each
inmate leaving the custody of
the department for housing in
a jail facility. The Area
Adm in is t rat or/ Inst itut ion
Head where the inmate was
housed is designated by the
secretary to serve as the
approving authority for jail
contracts

.

(2) The jail facility
must approximate conditions
of confinement available to
the inmates if the inmate
were to be housed in a
Department of Correction
facility. Conditions of
confinement will 'include
custody, housing conditions,
medical services, and program
opportunities, and are
further specified in the
contract and in Rule
this Section.

(3) A Department of
Correction facility in
same geographic area as
jail facility will
designated as
administrative support unit
and will serve as the liason
between the jail facility and
the department

.

(4) The jail facility
will have a copy of the

"Operational
for Use in Jail
Housing for
of Correction

.2204 of

the
the
be

the

manual
Guidelines
Facility
Department
Inmates .

"

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

148-32. 1

;

Eff. March 1, 1987.

.2203 PROCEDURES
The following procedure
shall be followed in
transferring an inmate committed
to the custody of the department
to a jail facility:
(1) The need for jail
housing will be documented on
Form DC-121 by Department of
Correction staff where the
inmate is currently assigned.
Supporting information will
be gathered to justify the
housing request. Such
information may include:

(a) Reports or evidence
showing the threat of harm
to an inmate if the inmate
were to remain in a
Department of Correction
facility;
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(b) Supporting information
showing verified work
release employment available
to the inmate if the inmate
were to be housed in the
jail facility; and

(c) Other information as
required to justify
assignment to the jail
facility

.

(2) Following documentation,
the inmate will be assigned
to an appropriate Department
of Correction facility in the
same geographic area as the
proposed jail facility.
Coordination of out-of-area
transfers when necessary will
follow established transfer
procedures

.

(3) Once assigned, unit or
other designated staff will
prepare a jail contract and
forward the proposed contract
with supporting documentation
to the Area Administrator/
Institution Head for review
and approval

.

(4) Area or institution
staff will request jail
facility housing by
forwarding the jail contract
to the sheriff or local
facility administrator.
After the contract is
approved by the sheriff or
local facility administrator,
the Area Administrator/
Institution Head will
determine if the requirements
in Rule 2F .2202 have been
met before the inmate is
assigned to the jail
facility

.

(5) Following final approval
for jail facility housing,
the inmate will be
administratively assigned to
the Department of Correction
facility designated as the
administrative support unit
for the jail. Department of
Correction staff will
transport the inmate to the
jail facility.

History Not&: Statiitory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

148-32.1

;

Eff. March 1, 1987.

.2204 CONDITIONS OF
CONFINEMENT

A jail facility housing a
Department of Correction inmate
will be required to approximate
the conditions of confinement
available to the inmate if the
inmate were to be housed in a
Department of Correction
facility

.

(a) Custody.
( 1 ) Unless otherwise

authorized, only minimum
custody inmates can be
considered for housing in
jail facilities.

(2) The local jail facility
must provide the level of
supervision required by the
inmate's approved custody
level as stated in Section
2F .0600 and in the
"Operational Guidelines for
Jail Facility Housing."

(3) Approval for promotion
of an inmate transferred to
a local confinement facility
pursuant to this policy to
higher levels of minimum
custody will be in
accordance with established
review procedures as stated
in Section 2F .0600.
Promotions remain at the
discretion of the Area
Administrator/Inst itut ion
Head and should be conducted
in accordance with the
following review process:
(A) Jail administrators may
request consideration for
a change in custody level
to the superintendent of
the designated
administrative support
fac ility

;

(B) The superintendent
of the administrative
support facility will
document the request for
promotion on Form DC-121R,
make a recommendation, and
forward the request to the
Area Administrator/
Institution Head for final
review and approval; and

(C) The action of the
approving authority will
be documented on Form
DC-121R and communicated
in writing by the
superintendent of the
administrative support
facility to the sheriff or
local facility
administrator

.

Cb) Program Participation.
(1) Participation in any
program activity by an
inmate transferred to a
local confinement facility
pursuant to this policy,
such as work release, study
release, community volunteer
leaves, home leaves, or any
other program which will
extend the limits of
confinement beyond the
boundaries and supervision
of the jail will require
prior approval by Division
of Prisons approving
authorities

.

(2) Approval for program
participation which e.xtends
the limits of confinement
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for an inmate transferred to
a local confinement facility
pursuant to this policy will
follow the review procedure
outlined in Rule 2F
.2204(a)(3)(A) in
conjunction with policy
requirements for each
program being considered.

(3) No inmate transferred to
a local confinement facility
pursuant to this policy may
participate in a program
activity which extends the
limits of confinement
without prior written
approval from Division of
Prisons approving
authorities

.

(c

)

Medical

.

(1) An inmate transferred
to a local confinement
facility pursuant to this
policy who requires
emergency medical treatment
will be transported
immediately by jail
authorities or emergency
medical personnel to the
nearest hospital for
treatment. Follow-up
notification will be
provided by jail authorities
to the superintendent of the
administrative support
facility who wills
(A) Document the
requirement for emergency
medical treatment;

(B) Arrange for
post-emergency care and
transfer to a Department
of Correction medical
facility when necessary;
and

(C) Receive and process
bills incurred as a result
of the emergency medical
treatment

.

(2) An inmate transferred
to a local confinement
facility pursuant to this
policy who requires
non-emergency medical
treatment will be referred
by jail authorities to the
superintendent of the
administrative support
facility who will schedule
necessary treatment through
Department of Correction
medical resources.

(d) Inmate Conduct.
(1) An inmate transferred
to a local confinement
facility pursuant to this
policy is required to abide
by the rules and regulations
established by the officials
governing the operation of
the jail as well as rules
and regulations established
by the Division of Prisons,
codified at 5 NCAC 2B .0300.

(2) Violation* of these
rules by an inmate
transferred to a local
confinement facility
pursuant to this policy
shall be reported by jail
officials to the
superintendent of the
designated support facility
on Form DC-138B, Statement
By Witness, summarizing the
misconduct

.

(3) The superintendent will
process disciplinary actions
against an Inmate
transferred to a local
confinement facility
pursuant to this policy in
the same manner as is done
for an inmate housed in a
Department of Correction
facility to include;
(A) Designating an

investigating officer to
investigate the alleged
misconduct

;

(B) Determining if formal
disciplinary action is
required;

(C) Determining if a change
in the inmate's status,
including a return to the
custody of the Division of
Prisons, is warranted
pending a hearing on the
matter; and

(D) Other procedures, as
required in Rule 2B .0200.

(e) Sentence Reduction Credits.
(1) An inmate transferred
to a local confinement
facility pursuant to this
policy is eligible for all
sentence reduction credits
and awards available to an
inmate housed in a
Department of Correction
facility

.

(2) Gain time and other
credits will be equivalent
to those given to inmates
housed in Department of
Correction facilities who
are performing similar
duties or are participating
in similar programs.

(3) Sentence reduction
credits will be processed by
the superintendent of the
administrative support
facility following receipt
of Form DC-455. Sentence
Reduction Credits/Awards,
from jail officials, in
accordance with Section 2B
.0100.

History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1 ;

148-32. 1

;

Eff . March 1 , 1987.

.2205 OTHER REQUIREMENTS
(a) The superintendent of
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tho administrative support
facility will i-equire Department
of Correction staff to conduct
periodic reviews of all jail
inmates to evaluate progress and
program participation and to
respond to requests for
information from the Parole
Commission

.

(b) Jail Contract Terms.
(1) Department of Correction.
Division of Prisons staff
will adhere to the terms of
the jail contract.

(2) Jail contracts may be
terminated at any time by
the sheriff or by Division
of Prisons approving
authorities

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G .S . 1-^8-1 1 ;

148-32. 1

;

Eff. March 1, 1987.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE

CHAPTER 6 - INDIVIDUAL INCOME
TAX

SUBCHAPTER 6B - INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX

SECTION .3800 - MISCELLANEOUS
RULES

.3802 DEDUCTIONS
(i) There must be a business

connection before a payee or
endorser of a note may claim a
loss in case of default . The
debt must be legal and must
exist in fact. The liability of
the individual claiming the loss
must be one that can be enforced
in the courts. In the case of a
payee of a note, the note must
have been in connection with a
transaction from which gain was
expected. If a note bears
interest, which is payable to
the payee of the note, the note
is usually considered to have
been issued for business
purposes. In the case of a loss
resulting from an endorser
having to pay the obligation,
the endorser must have stood to
gain either directly or
indirectly from the transaction.
The endorsement for a member of
the endorser's family, for a
friend, or for any other person
merely as an accommodation is
not considered a transaction
entered into for profit . On the
other hand, an endorsement in an
attempt to protect one's
investment , such as an
endorsement of a corporation
note by a stockholder of the
corporation, might be construed
to have a business connection.

and a loss resulting from such
endorsement is usually
deductible. Even the
endorsement of an employee's
note in an effort to retain the
services of the employee can in
some cases be construed to have
a business connection for the
purpose of determining whether a
loss from the endorsement is
deductible. In all cases in
which a loss for an endorsement
of a note is claimed the
endorser must be able to prove a
definite business connection.
The time when a loss
from a note or note endorsement
may be claimed as a deduction is
determined by whether the
individual is on a cash or an
accrual basis. A cash basis
taxpayer may claim an allowable
loss for a note endorsement at
the time payment is made by him
and not at an earlier date when
it is determined that there will
be a loss. If a cash basis
taxpayer, who has endorsed a
note, gives his own note in
payment of his liability as an
endorser, he cannot deduct the
loss until he pays his note. In
the case of an endorsement of a
note by an accrual basis
taxpayer, the loss may be
claimed at the time the amount
of the loss may be determined
with reasonable accuracy.
The payee of a note on which

the maker has defaulted may
claim a loss at the time the
amount of the loss may be
determined with reasonable
accuracy, provided the amount
claimed has previously been
included in income or provided
the transaction upon which the
note was based was in connection
with a trade or business or in
connection with a business
transaction from which gain was
e.xpected

.

Effective for tax years
beginning after 1985, the
reserve method for computing and
deducting business bad debts is
not allowable. Only those
business bad debts which became
worthless during the taxable
year are deductible. In
determining the worthlessness of
debts, and the amount to be
included in income because of
the balance in any reserve for
bad debts as of January 1, 1987,
federal rules and regulations in
effect for the taxable year will
be followed to the extent that
they are not contrary to the
context and intent of state law.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-147(1);
105-147(2); 105-147(7);
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105-147(9)a; 105-147(10);
105-147(24); 105-147(28);
105-148(1); 105-148(2);
105-148(8); 105-262;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. March 1,1987;
August 1, 1986; June 1, 1982;
April 12, 1981

.

CHAPTER 7 - SALES AND USE
TAX

SUBCHAPTER 7B - STATE SALES
AND USE TAX

SECTION .2800 - FLORISTS

i

NURSERYMEN: GREENHOUSE
OPERATORS AND FARMERS

.2801 IN GENERAL
(b) Retail sales of flowers,

potted plants, shrubbery and
similar nursery stock and retail
sales of fruits, vegetables and
other farm products are subject
to the three percent sales or
use tax unless the product in
question is a product of the
farm and is sold in its original
state by the producer of the
product who is not primarily a
retail merchant at the location
where the product is sold.
(c) For the pilrpose of

the exemption afforded by G.S.
105-164.13(4.2), nurserymen and
greenhouse operators are
considered to be farmers.
Nursery stock which is not sold
during the season in which it
was purchased by the nurserymen,
greenhouse operators and other
farmers but is retained until
the next season and growth is
added thereto by virtue of such
retention is considered to be a
product of the farm and is
exempt from sales and use taxes
when sold by such nurserymen,
greenhouse operators or farmers
who are not selling primarily as
retail merchants.
(d) Nurserymen, greenhouse

operators and other types of
farmers that make retail sales
of farm products that they have
produced which are in their
original state are not liable
for collecting and remitting
sales tax on these sales unless
they are selling primarily in
their capacity as retail
merchants. Such vendors are
selling primarily as producers
when the total dollar sales
volume of their produced farm
products in the original state
regularly exceeds fifty percent
of the total dollar sales volume
of their purchased products and
their produced products. Such
vendors are selling primarily in
their capacity as retail
merchants when their total

dollar sales volume of purchased
products regularly exceeds fifty
percent of the total dollar
sales volume of their purchased
and produced products. Such
classification shall remain in
effect until either category of
sales on a regular basis has
changed to another principal
type. If such producer-vendors
operate more than one location,
the preceding is applicable to
the total dollar sales volume of
each location separately. The
total dollar sales volume to be
used in determining the
classification of "producer" or
"retail merchant" shall include
all sales of tangible personal
property without regard to any
items or sales that might
otherwise by e.xempt from tax by
the Sales and Use Tax Statutes.
(e) If such vendors are

not classified primarily as
retail merchants on the basis of
the total dollar sales volume,
sales of their produced products
in the original state are exempt
fiom tax; however, retail sales
of any farm products or any
other taxable merchandise
acquired by purchase are subject
to any applicable ta-x. If such
vendors are classified primarily
as retail merchants on the basis
of the total dollar sales
volume, they shall be liable for
tax accordingly; i.e., all
retail sales of both types of
products shall be subject to the
tax unless specific sales are
statutorily exempt from tax.
(f) When vendors make

sales of farm products produced
by them and products acquired by
purchase, separate records must
be maintained of sales of
products produced by them.
Records of purchased products,
as well as sales thereof, must
be kept and maintained in a
manner that can be accurately
and conveniently checked by the
agents of the Secretary of
Revenue; otherwise, all sales
are subject to the tax.
(g) Producers making

taxable sales must register with
the Department of Revenue for
the purpose of collecting and
remitting the tax due thereon.
(h) When nurserymen,

greenhouse operators, florists
or other persons make taxable
sales of shrubbery, young trees
or similar items, and as a part
of the transaction transplant
them to the land of the
purchaser for a lump sum or a
flat rate, the entire amount of
the transaction is subject to
the three percent rate of tax
unless such vendors segregate on
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the invoice that portion of the
charge which is for the property
sold and that portion of the
charge which is for
transplanting

.

Ci) For the purpose of
the exemption afforded by G.S.
105-154.13(4.2), nurserymen and
greenhouse operators are
considered to be farmers and;
therefore, the fact that they
may be selling tangible personal
property primarily as a retailer
and not as a producer does not
preclude certain of their
purchases of tangible personal
property for use from the one
percent state rate of tax with a
maximum ta.x of eighty dollars
($80.00) per article levied
pursuant to G.S.
105-164.4(1 )(g) . G.S.
1 05- 1 64 . 4 ( 1 )g levies the above
state rate of ta.x on sales to
farmers of machines and
machinery and parts therefor and
accessories thereto for use by
them in planting, cultivating,
harvesting or curing farm crops.
Regulation 17 NCAC 73 .1101
provides additional information
regarding the above levy.

History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-164.4;
105-164.6; 105-164.13;
105-262;
Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987;
June 1, 1985; January 1, 1982;
May n , 1979.

SECTION .5400 - FORMS USED FOR
SALES AND USE TAX

PURPOSES

.5446 CERTIFICATE OF
EXEMPTIONS FROM SALES
AND USE TAX FOR CERTAIN
TRANSFERS OF MOTOR
VEHICLES FORM: E-599T

The Certificate of
E.xemption From Sales and Use Tax
For Certain Transfers of Motor
Vehicles Form, E-599T, is for
use by taxpayers to certify that
the transfer of the vehicle
described represents a tax free
exchange for Federal Income Tax
purposes pursuant to the
Internal Revenue Code Sections
351 and 721 and that no
consideration other than stocks
or securities will pass for the
transfer

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-164.4;
105-262;
Eff. March 1 , 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 7C - LOCAL
GOVERNMENT: MECKLENBURG
COUNTY AND SUPPLEMENTAL

LOCAL GOVERNMENT SALES
AND USE TAX ACTS

SECTION .0200 - MECKLENBURG
COUNTY SALES AND USE

TAX ACT

.0204 MAXIMUM TAX
Effective November 1, 1981,

the Mecklenburg County Sales and
Use Ta.x Act was amended to
delete the ten dollars ($10.00)
maximum tax. The Mecklenburg
County sales or use tax without
any maximum tax applicable
thereto will be due on all
ta.xable sales or purchases of
tangible personal property
subject to the three percent
state sales or use tax on or
after November 1, 1981,
irrespective of the date the
order is placed. The lease
receipts derived by lessors on
lease agreements negotiated or
renegotiated on or after
November 1, 1981, to lease
tangible personal property which
is subject to the three percent
state sales or use tax will be
subject to the Mecklenburg
County sales or use tax without
any maximum tax applicable
thereto. For information in
regard to the application of the
Mecklenburg County ten dollars
($10.00) maximum tax prior to
November 1, 1981, see 17 NCAC 7C
.0204 as effective February 1,
1976.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
S.L. (1967), Ch. 1096,
s . 4 and 5

;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987;
February 1 , 1987;
January 1, 1982.

CHAPTER 9 - GASOLINE TAX
DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 9F - DIVISIONAL RULES

.0001 LOCATION
The Motor Fuels Tax Division

is located in the Revenue
Building in Raleigh, North
Carolina

.

The mailing address of the
division is P.O. Box 25000,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27640.
The Motor Fuels Tax Division

has four field offices. They
are located ir.

:

(1) Charlotte, North Carolina;
(2) Fayetteville, North
Carolina;

(3) Greensboro, North
Carol ina

;

(4) Winston Salem,
North Carolina.
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History Notei Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-430
through 105-449.56;
119-15 through 119-22;
143B-20; 143B-221;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0002 GENERAL PURPOSES
The Motor Fuels Tax Division

is responsible for administering
Subchapter V, Article 36,
Gasoline Tax; Article 36A,
Special Fuels Tax; and Article
36B, Highway Fuel Use Tax Act;
of the Revenue Laws of North
Carolina

.

The division is also
responsible for administering
the collection of the inspection
fees due under the Gasoline and
Oil Inspection Law (Article 3,
Chapter 119 of the General
Statutes), although the
inspection function is required
by law to be accomplished by the
Department of Agriculture.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-430
through 105-449.56;
119-15 through 119-22;
1433-10; 143B-221;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0003 DIVISIONAL ORGANIZATION
The Motor Fuels Tax Division

is administered by a director
and assistant director. The
division is divided into three
sections: administrative,
office operations and audit
section

.

(1) The administrative section
includes the director,
assistant director, revenue
administration officer, and
two secretaries. It is the
responsibility of the
director and assistant
director to administer the
entire operations of the
division. They handle
personnel matters in
conjunction with the section
supervisors; devise rules and
regulations; resolve
controversial issues; conduct
conferences with taxpayers
and their representatives;
represent the department in
hearings before the Secretary
of Revenue and generally
direct the activities of the
division. It is the
responsibility of the revenue
administration officer to
carry out duties assigned and
delegated to him by the
director and assistant
director

.

(2) The office operations

section receives and
processes gasoline, special
fuels and highway fuel use
reports as well as quarterly
and annual refund claims for
motor fuels. This section
issues vehicle fuel
registrations and temporary
emergency permits and is
responsible for the
accounting functions. An
administrative assistant
directs the operations of
this section.

C3) The field audit
section is responsible for
making the necessary field
audits for all schedules
administered by the Motor
Fuels Tax Division. The
assistant director directs
the operations of this
section

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-430
through 105-449.56;
119-15 through 119-22;
143B-10; 143B-221;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 9G - GASOLINE TAX

SECTION .0100 - APPLICATION FOR
AND CANCELLATION OF LICENSE

AS A DISTRIBUTOR

.0102 DISTRIBUTORS CLASSIFIED
ACCORDING TO TYPES
OF OPERATIONS

Any distributor licensed
under G.S. 105-433 who imports
gasoline into North Carolina by
pipeline or seagoing vessel and
operates a terminal facility at
a pipeline port or seaport for
sale or delivery of gasoline to
other distributors shall be
known as a gasoline supplier.
Any distributor licensed under
G.S. 105-433 who does not import
gasoline into North Carolina by
pipeline or seagoing vessel, nor
operate a terminal facility at a
pipeline port or seaport for
sale or delivery to other
distributors shall be known as a
gasoline distributor.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-433; 105-434;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0105 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE
BONDS

The Motor Fuels Tax Division
will accept surety bonds on Form
Gas 1212, furnished by this
department, which have been
properly executed by any surety
company authorized to do
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business in this state. The
department will also accept the
following collateral bonds

i

( 1

)

Negotiable U.S.
government bonds;

(2) StAte of North
Carolina bonds;

(3) Certificates of deposit
or cashier's checks, made
payable to the ta.xpayer;

(4) Stock of North
Carolina savings and loan
associations;

(5) Stock of federal savings
and loan associations, which
associations must be a member
of the Federal Home Loan Bank
System, and its stock
guaranteed by such bank.

History Notei Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-433;
Eff . January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0106 CANCELLATION OF
LICENSE AND BOND

Any person not in compliance
with the provisions of G.S.
105-441 or 105-442 may have his
license cancelled. The
Secretary of Revenue will notify
him at his last known address by
registered mail. Further, the
Secretary of Revenue will notify
the distributor's supplier of
such cancellation by letter or
telegram

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-441; 105-442;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0200 - FIRST SALE TO
LICENSED DISTRIBUTORS
FROM PIPELINE OR PORT

TERMINALS

.0201 TRANSPORT SALES
The first sale in North

Carolina at pipeline or port
terminals in tank car or
transport truck shipments to
licensed distributors within the
state must be made less the
North Carolina road tax and
inspection fee. The tax shall
be levied against and paid by
such licensed distributors.
Only the first sale may be made
less the tax and inspection fee.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-432;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0203 TRANSPORT LOADS
A tank car or transport

truck load may consist of
gasoline and kerosene or may
consist of kerosene and fuel
oil.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-432;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0204 EXCHANGE AGREEMENTS
Exchange agreement contracts

at pipeline or seaport ter.-ninals
between suppliers, in instances
where one supplier receives
gasoline on exchange and repays
the same quantity of gasoline,
do not constitute sales from one
to the other and will not be
considered a "first sale" within
the interpretat ioh of G.S.
105-432. Sales from suppliers
to licensed distributors would
be the "first sale" in North
Carolina

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-432;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0300 - REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

.0301 METHODS OF REPORTING
THE TAX

Every gasoline distributor
may elect to report on the
"sales basis" or "receipts
basis" of computing the tax and
inspection fees. A distributor
that has elected to report and
pay the tax on the "sales basis"
computes the tax and inspection
fees on total gallons of
gasoline sold, delivered to
dealers on consignment, used, or
disbursed for use during a
calendar month. A distributor
that has elected to pay the tax
on the "receipts basis" computes
the tax and Inspection fees on
the total gallons of gasoline
purchased or imported during a
calendar month, reduced by the
total gallons delivered out of
this state, and further reduced
by the rate allowance allowed by
G.S. 105-434. A distributor
that has elected to pay on the
"sales basis" or "receipts
basis" shall not change methods
of reporting without written
permission from the director of
the Motor Fuels Tax Division.
Every gasoline supplier

may elect to report on the
"sales basis" or "receipts
bdsis" of computing the tax and
inspection fees. A gasoline
supplier that has elected to
report and pay the tax on the
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"sales basis" computes the tax
and inspection fees on the total
gallons of gasoline sold,
delivered to dealers on
consignment, used or disbursed
for use during a calendar month.
A gasoline supplier that has
elected to report and pay the
tax on the "receipts basis" may
elect one of the following
methods as the basis of
reporting receipts:
(1) first receipts; tax
and inspection fees accrue at
the time gasoline or kerosene
is received at the port of
entry, port terminals or
other port of receipts;

(2) terminal disbursements;
tax and inspection fees
accrue at the time gasoline
and kerosene is disbursed
from North Carolina seaport
or pipeline terminals or
received at other ports of
entry or other points of
receipt

.

A gasoline supplier that
has elected to pay on the "sales
basis" or the "receipts basis"
shall not change methods of
reporting without written
permission from the director of
the Motor Fuels Tax Division.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-434;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0303 CONSIGNMENT SERVICE
STATIONS

A distributor using the sales
method of paying the road tax
and inspection fee must report
and pay the tax on gallons
delivered to consignment
locations

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-434;
Eff. January 1 , 1983
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0305 ALL PURCHASES AND
RECEIPTS MUST BE
REPORTED

History Notei Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-434; 105-436;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0307 REFUND ON TAX PAID
MOTOR FUEL
TRANSPORTED TO
ANOTHER STATE

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.6;

Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1 1987.

SECTION .0400 - REBATES FOR
FUELS SOLD TO THE

UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT
AND PUBLIC SCHOOLS

.0401 DELIVERIES TO THE
NATIONAL GUARD

Gasoline sales to the National
Guard, paid for by state funds
are not exempt from the gasoline
tax. Gasoline sales to the
National Guard, approved by the
Guard, and paid for by the
United States Government are
exempt from the gasoline tax.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-439;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended March 1, 1987.

.0403 SALES TO U.S.
GOVERNMENT: REFUND
FORM GAS. 1206

(a) The first section of form
1206 is to be completed by
vendors that have sold tax paid
motor fuels to the U.S.
Government at a price that did
not include the road tax.
Copies of sales invoices must be
submitted with the application.
(b) The second section of

form 1206 is to be completed by
U.S. Government agencies to
secure refunds on the road tax
on motor fuels that were
purchased at a price that
included the road tax. Copies
of purchase invoices must be
submitted with the application.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-439;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0404 E.XEMPTION OF MOTOR
FUELS: PUBLIC SCHOOL
TRANSPORTATION

An application for, and the
acceptance of a credit card for
the purchase of motor fuels by a
city or county board of
education shall constitute a
"contract" as required by G.S.
105-449. If a purchase of motor
fuel is for a dollar amount that
is less than the amount that
requires vendors by law to have
a state contract then G.S.
105-449 does not require the
vendor to hold a state contract.
The sales invoice for motor
fuels, signed by a person
authorized to purchase motor
fuels for a city or county board
of education, shall constitute a
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"purchase order" as required by
G.S. 105-449.

History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449;
Eff . January 1 , 1983)
Amended Eff. March 1. 1937.

SECTION .0500 REFUNDS

.0501 NON-HIGHWAY REFUND
Persons using tax paid motor

fuels in other than licensed
vehicles must file Form Gas.
1201, non-highway refund
application, to obtain a refund
of ta.x paid on motor fuels.
This application requires an
accounting of tax paid motor
fuels purchased and used.
Invoices for tax paid motor
fuels must be submitted with the
application

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262; 105-446;
Eff. January 1 . 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0502 NON-HIGHWAY REFUND
APPLICATION INFORMATION

The following information must
be given on applications for
refund of tax paid on motor
fuels used for non-highway
purposes

:

(1) Name of machinery or
equipment in which fuel will
be used and engine or motor
number

;

(2) Type of storage equipment
used for storing gasoline
used for highway and
non-highway purposes and
storage capacity;

C3) If the applicant is a
farmer, each kind of crop and
number of acres under
cultivation

;

(4) Make, type of vehicles,
model and license number, if
fuel is used in licensed
motor vehicles from the same
storage tank from which
non-highway equipment is
serviced;-

(5) Number of gallons of fuel
on hand at the beginning of
refund period and number of
gallons on hand at the end of
the refund period;

(5) Number of gallons used for
non-highway purposes; and if
gasoline is used from same
storage to operate both
licensed motor vehicles and
non-highway equipment, the
number of gallons used during
the refund period in licensed
motor vehicles;

(7) Application shall be made
upon affirmation.

History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-252;
105-446;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0503 NOK-HIGHW.W REFUND
INVOICE REQUIREMENTS

An invoice for each purchase
of motor fuels must be submitted
with the application for refund
for purchases made for
non-highway use during the
refund period. Invoices must
show the date of purchase, name
of both purchaser and seller,
gallons purchased, price per
gallon and amount paid. A
daily, weekly cr monthly
statement of purchases of motor
fuels is acceptable provided it
is prepared by the seller, and
shows all of the information on
each purchase of motor fuels
that is required on an
individual invoice. Invoices
and statements showing
alterations or erasures are not
acceptable. If no claim was
filed for the preceding refund
period, an invoice or statement
of purchases must be attached to
substantiate Inventory at the
beginning of the refund period.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0504 NON-HIGHWAY USERS WITH
COMMON STORAGE
FACILITIES

No refund is due on motor
fuels used to operate the engine
of a motor vehicle licensed to
travel on the streets and
highways, unless otherwise
provided by law. If motor fuel
is used from the same storage
tank from which licensed motor
vehicles and non-highway
equipment are serviced, a daily
use record must be kept to
substantiate the amount
withdrawn for licensed motor
vehicles or non-licensed
equipment . These records are to
be kept for three calendar years
from the date the refund
application was due to be filed.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0505 STATIONARY ENGINE
MOUNTED ON A LICENSED
MOTOR VEHICLE

No refund is due on motor fuels
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used to operate a stationary-
engine mounted on a licensed
motor vehicle, except concrete
mixer vehicles, solid waste
compacting vehicles and certain
agricultural delivery vehicles
as defined by G.S. 105-4'i6.5 if
motor fuel is used from the same
storage tank mounted on the
vehicle for the purpose of
operating both the stationary
engine and the engine used to
propel a licensed motor vehicle
over the streets and highways.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446; 105-446.5;
Eff . January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0507 DEALERS DELIVERING FUEL
INTO NON-HIGHWAY
EQUIPMENT

Dealers of non-highway
equipment powered by motor fuel
are entitled to a refund on
motor fuel placed into their
equipment provided there is no
charge for the fuel when the
equipment is sold. If the motor
fuel is sold, the purchaser is
entitled to refund on the fuel
purchased and used.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended March 1, 1987.

.0508 VEHICLES WITH SPECIAL
MOBILE EQUIPMENT LICENSE

A claimant operating a
vehicle with a special mobile
equipment tag is not entitled to
a refund on any fuel that is
used while operating the motor
vehicle on the streets and
highways

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0509 REMOVAL OF LICENSE PLATE
In order to obtain a refund, a

person may remove his license
plates and surrender the plates
to the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles, or his agents, or the
Motor Fuels Tax Division, North
Carolina Department of Revenue,
for the period the vehicles will
not be operating on the streets
and highways

.

Any person requesting refund on
tax paid motor fuel used in
motor vehicles on which the
license plates have not been
removed and surrendered to the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles,

or his agents, or the Motor
Fuels Tax Division, may have his
refund claim reduced or
disallowed.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
.05-446;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0510 COUNTIES: CITIES AND
OTHERS: FORM GAS. 1200

The Board of Transportation,
counties, municipal
corporations, volunteer fire
departments, county fire
departments, volunteer rescue
squads, "sheltered workshop"
organizations recognized and
approved by the Department of
Human Resources, city transit
systems and private non-profit
organizations transporting
passengers under contract with
or at the express designation of
units of local government must
file Form Gas. 1200 to obtain a
refund of tax paid on motor
fuels

.

The application requires an
accounting of tax paid motor
fuels purchased and used.
Invoices for tax paid motor
fuels must be submitted with the
application

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.1; 105-446.3;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0511 CITY TRANSIT AND
PRIVATE NON-PROFIT
REFUND

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.3;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0513 TAXICAB REFUNDS:
FORM GAS. 1200B

Operators of taxicabs must
file Form Gas. 1200B to obtain a
refund of tax paid motor fuels
used in transporting fare-paying
passengers

.

Tlie report requires an
accounting of tax paid motor
fuels purchased and used.
Invoices for ta.\ paid motor
fuels must be submitted with the
application

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.3;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0514 CONCRETE MIXER REFUND:
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FORM GAS. 1200C
Operators of concrete mixing

vehicles, solid waste compacting
vehicles and agricultural
delivery vehicles as defined by
G.S. 105-'546.5 must file Form
Gas. 1200C to obtain a refund of
tax paid motor fuels used in the
operations of such vehicles.
This application requires an

accounting of tax paid motor
fuels purchased and used.
Invoices for tax paid motor
fuels must be submitted with the
application

.

The following records must be
kept to support refund
appl icat ions

:

(1) Mileage records, by
vehicle

;

(2) Fuel records, by
vehicle

;

(3) Cubic yards of concrete
mix delivered, by vehicle; or
tons of compact waste hauled,
by vehicle; or tons of bulk
feed or fertilizer hauled, by
vehicle

.

Applications must be
completed in accordance with
instructions as shown on the
reverse side of the application
form

.

History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.5;
Eff . January 1 . 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0515 REFUND OF TAXES PAID
ON GASOHOL:
FORM GAS. 1221

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-446.3.1

;

Eff. January 1 . 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 9H - SPECIAL FUELS
TAX

$ 2.,700 .01-- 3,.600 .00 8,,000 .00
% 3,.600 .01-- 5,,400 .00 12,.000 .00
$ 5,,400 .01-- 7,,200 .00 16,.000 .00
$ 7,,200 .01-- 9,,000 .00 20,.000 .00
$ 9,,000 .01--10,.800 .00 25,.000,.00
$10,,800,.01--12,,600,.00 30,,000,.00
$12,.600,.01--14,,400 .00 35,,000,.00
$14,,400,.01--and over 40,,000,.00

C$40,000 is the maximum bond
required by law.)

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.5; 105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. August 1, 1983;
March 1 , 1987.

.0103 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE
BONDS

The Motor Fuels Tax Division
will accept surety bonds on Form
Gas. 1212, furnished by the
department, which have been
properly executed by any surety
company authorized to do
business in this state. The
department will also accept the
following collateral bonds

i

(1) Negotiable U.S. government
bonds

;

(2) State of North Carolina
bonds

;

(3) Certificates of deposit or
cashiers' checks, made
payable to the taxpayer;

(4) State of North Carolina
savings and loan
associat ions

;

(5) Stock of federal savings
and loan associations, which
associations must be a member
of the Federal Home Bank
System, and its stock
guaranteed by such bank.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.5;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987. '

SECTION .0100 - SPECIAL FUELS
LICENSES

.0102 AMOUNT OF BOND REQUIRED
Suppliers of special fuels are

required to furnish the Motor
Fuels Tax Division a surety bond
based on monthly road ta.x due on
company use and sales in
accordance with the amounts set
forth in the following schedule:

Road Tax Due Per Month:
Bond Required:

225.01
900.01-
.350.01

1 ,800.01-

225.00
900.00
,350.00
,800.00
,250.00

2,250.01- 2,700.00

500.00
000.00
000.00
000.00
000.00
000.00

SECTION .0200 - CONSIGNMENT
SERVICE STATIONS: SALES

INVOICES: TAX FREE DELIVERIES

.0201 TAX DUE
The road tax and inspection fee

is due on sales of fuels
intended to propel a motor
vehicle that are made by
suppliers to users, bulk users
or resellers. Suppliers are
required to collect and remit
the motor fuels tax and
inspection fee on all sales of
special fuels to bulk users and
resellers except deliveries into
separate tanks that are for
non-highway use only and are
plainly marked "for non-highway
use only." A supplier that
makes deliveries of special
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fuels to resellers on
consignment may elect to pay the
road tax and inspection fee on
the total number of gallons
delivered into storage for
highway use or the total gallons
withdrawn from storage for
highway use. Bulk users and
resellers are not permitted to
have common storage of tax free
fuel for highway use and
non-highway use.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-4^9.16;
105-449.17; 105-449.19;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0202 COMPANY OPERATED
STATIONS: DELIVERY

Special fuels transferred
by a supplier to his company
operated service stations remain
stored and is not sold,
delivered or used.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.16;
105-449.19; 105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0203 COMMON STORAGE
Suppliers selling special fuels

at retail from a common storage
tank at a supplier's company
operated service station must
have separate metered dispensers
for highway and non-highway use.
The non-highway dispenser must
be marked "for non-highway use
only .

"

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.16;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0204 TAX FREE DELIVERIES

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.17;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0205 REFUND ON TAXPAID MOTOR
FUEL TRANSPORTED TO
ANOTHER STATE

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.31;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0206 RESELLER REQUIRED TO
KEEP METER READINGS

Resellers of special fuels must
maintain records of totalizer
meter readings showing the total

gallons dispensed by pumps
dispensing special fuels and by
pumps dispensing non tax paid
fuels

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.10;
105-449.17; 105-449.32;
Eff. August 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0300 - LIQUIFIED
PETROLEUM GAS

.0301 LP GAS DISTRIBUTORS
USING OR SELLING

Liquified petroleum gas
distributors using and/or
selling special fuels are
defined as suppliers. It is
unlawful for a supplier to sell
and/or use special fuels without
first obtaining a supplier's
license issued by the Motor
Fuels Ta.x Division. No fee is
due for the license, and it is
continuous until cancelled by
the Department of Revenue or
licensee

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.2
through 105-449.8; 105-449.19;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0303 ODOMETER READINGS
It is necessary for suppliers

reporting and paying tax on the
mileage basis to keep accurate
records of the number of miles
driven each month and to be sure
that the odometer indicates the
correct miles traveled. LP gas
suppliers using special fuels
from separate supply tanks are
also required to keep odometer
mileage records for each motor
vehicle operated.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.2
through 105-449.8;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0304 TAXABLE SALES AND
DELIVERIES: LP GAS
SUPPLIERS

LP gas suppliers, as well as
other suppliers of special
fuels, must pay road tax and
inspection fees on all sales or
deliveries into licensed motor
vehicles and all sales or
deliveries to resellers and bulk
users unless the delivery is
made into a separate tank for
non-highway use that is plainly
marked to indicate that the fuel
contained therein is for
non-highway use only.
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Supplers cannot deliver fuel
into the motor fuel supply tank
on another supplier's licensed
motor vehicle unless the
delivering supplier remits the
road tax and inspection fees.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-449.16
through 105-449.17; 105-449.32;
Eff . January 1 , 1933;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0400 - EXEMPTIONS:
REFUNDS AND LOSSES

.0402 NON-HIGHWAY REFUNDS
The Special Fuels Tax Act,
consistent with the Gasoline Tax
Act, provides for refunds of tax
paid special fuels used in
non-licsnsed equipment.
Special fuels must be

accounted for in the same manner
and in conjunction with gasoline
as outlined in 17 NCAC 9G .0501
through 17 NCAC 9G .0509.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-446;
105-449.24; 105-449.32;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0403 CITIES: COUNTIES AND
OTHER REFUNDS

The Special Fuels Ta.x Act,
consistent with the Gasoline Tax
Act, provides for refunds of tax
paid special fuels to the Board
of Transportation, counties,
municipal corporations,
volunteer fire departments,
county fire departments,
volunteer rescue squads,
"sheltered workshop"
organizations recognized and
approved by the Department of
Human Resources. city transit
systems and private non-profit
organizations transporting
passengers under contract with
or at the e.xpress designation of
units of local government

.

Special fuels must be
accounted for in the same manner
and in conjunction with gasoline
as outlined in 17 NCAC 9G .0510.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-446.1;
105-446.3; 105-449.24;
105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

,0404 CITY TRANSIT AND PRIVATE
NON-PROFIT REFUND

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-446.3;
105-449.24; 105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0407 CONCRETE: WASTE AND
AGRICULTURAL DELIVERY
VEHICLES

The Special Fuels Tax Act,
consistent with the Gasoline Tax
Act, provides for refunds of tax
paid special fuels used in
operating concrete mixing
vehicles, solid waste compacting
vehicles. and certain
agricultural delivery vehicles
as defined by G.S. 105-446.5.
Special fuels must be

accounted for in the same manner
and in conjunction with gasoline
as outlined in 17 NCAC 9G .0514.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-446.5;
105-449.24; 105-449.32;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0408 EXEMPTION OF MOTOR
FUELS: PUBLIC SCHOOL
TRANSPORTATION

The Special Fuels Tax Act,
consistent with the Gasoline Tax
Act, provides that special fuels
sold to city and county boards
of education are exempt from the
road tax

.

Special fuels sold to city
and county boards of education
must be accounted for in the
same manner and in conjunction
with gasoline as outlined in 17
NCAC 9G .0404.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449; 105-449.24;
Eff. March 1, 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 91 - HIGHWAY FUEL USE
TAX

SECTION .0100 OPERATIONS

.0101 OPERATIONS SUBJECT TO
TAX

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.37;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0102 OPERATIONS OF VEHICLES
EXCLUDED FROM REPORTS

(a) Miles traveled and fuel
purchased for or used by
vehicles that did not enter
North Carolina during a quarter
shall not be included in the
highway fuel use tax report for
that quarter.
(b) Miles traveled and fuel

purchased for or used by
vehicles that traveled wholly
within North Carolina during a
quarter shall not be included in
the highway fuel use tax report
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for that quarter. Vehicles
using special fuels that operate
wholly within North Carolina
must be reported on the
appropriate special fuels
report, i.e.; supplier,
reseller, bulk user or user.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.32; 105-449.37;
105-449.45;
Eff . January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0103 REGISTRATION CARDS AND
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATIONS

Every "motor carrier", as
defined by G.S. 105-449.37, that
operates or causes to be
operated a motor vehicle with
out-of-state license plates
subject to G.S. 105-449.47 shall
obtain a registration card and
vehicle identification marker
for each such vehicle before it
is operated or caused to be
operated on any street or
highway in North Carolina.
Every vehicle required to be
registered under G.S. 105-449.47
that has a North Carolina
license plate shall be
registered with the Commissioner
of Motor Vehicles at the time
the license plates are
purchased, for purposes of the
tax imposed by this Article.
The "motor carrier" shall file
all highway fuel use tax reports
required under Article 36B

.

The lessee of a motor
vehicle and not the lessor is a
"motor carrier" except when a
lessor of a motor vehicle gives
written notice to the secretary
that the lessor, desires to be
treated as a "motor carrier" .

When a vehicle subject to this
Article is being operated under
a trip lease, the owner of the
vehicle shall obtain the permit.
The trip lessor may elect to
report trip lease operations as
provided in G.S. 1 05-449 .42A(b)

,

however, the owner shall report
operations while not under trip
lease

.

History Note i Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.32; 105-449.37;
105-449.45;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0200 - NORTH CAROLINA
FUEL PURCHASES

.0202 WITHDRAWALS FROM BULK
STORAGE

A person maintaining bulk
storage of North Carolina tax
paid motor fuel is entitled to

credit on the highway fuel use
tax report based on the date the
fuel is put into the motor
vehicle, not on the date of
purchase

.

A accounting of tax paid
motor fuels purchased and used
by any person maintaining bulk
storage of tax paid motor fuel
in North Carolina is required.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.39;
Eff. January 1 , 1987;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION 0300 - CREDITS AND
REFUNDS

.0304 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE
BONDS

The Motor Fuels Tax Division
will accept surety bonds on Form
Gas. 1212, furnished by this
department, which have been
properly executed by any surety
company authorized to do
business in this state. The
department will also accept the
following collateral bonds:
(1) Negotiable U.S. government
bonds

!

(2) State of North Carolina
bonds

;

(3) Certificates of deposit or
cashiers' checks, made
payable to the taxpayer;

(4) Stock of North Carolina
savings and loan
associations

;

(5) Stock of federal savings
and loan associations, which
associations must be a member
of the Federal Home Loan Bank
System, and its stock
guaranteed by such bank.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.40;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0400 - TAX REPORTS AND
MILES PER GALLON FACTORS

.0401 QUARTERLY TAX REPORT
Persons operating heavy

vehicles subject to the highway
fuel use ta.x must file a highway
fuel use tax quarterly report.
The report requires a
computation of North Carolina
fuel used. Credit is allowed on
North Carolina tax paid fuels
purchased

.

North Carolina fuel used is
computed by applying the North
Carolina percentage factor of
overall miles to the overall
fuel consumed. See 17 NCAC 91
.0102 for explanation of certain
vehicle exclusions.
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History Note; Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.39; 105-449.42;
105-449.44 through 105-449.45;
Eff . January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0402 AVERAGE MILES PER GALLON
FACTORS

The amount of fuel used in
North Carolina is determined by
dividing total miles into North
Carolina miles and applying the
North Carolina milage factor to
the total fuel used.
The Department does not have

the authority to grant carriers
the privilege of basing their
reports on an estimated miles
per gallon factor.
In the absence of records

substantiating total miles
and/or total fuel, audits will
be based on average miles per
gallon factors of other carriers
with similar equipment and
similar operations.
The use of a miles per gallon
factor on an audit is not an
authorization for filing future
reports on an average miles per
gallon factor.
Audits will be based on
current information of carriers
maintaining complete and
accurate records as required by
statute

.

History Note.- Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.44 through 105-449.45;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0403 COMPANY FACTOR: LEASE
UNITS

A motor carrier leasing units
from other carriers and also
operating company owned units
may use the company miles per
gallon factor to arrive at the
North Carolina fuel used for
leased units provided:

( 1 ) The company owned
equipment is similar in sire,
type, groas weight and engine
performance

;

(2) The company owned
equipment uses the same type
fuel as the leased units;

(3) The mileages are
calculated from the same
basis. A motor carrier using
odometer readings in arriving
at total and North Carolina
miles on company units must
also use odometer readings in
arriving at miles on leased
units

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.44 through

105-449.45;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

SECTION .0500 - REGISTRATION
CARDS AND IDENTIFICATION MARKERS

.0501 APPLICATION FOR VEHICLE
REGISTRATION: FORM
GAS. 1274

Application for vehicle
registration. Form Gas. 1274, is
filed by interstate operators of
heavy vehicles licensed in
jurisdictions other than North
Carolina. Applicants are issued
a registration card and vehicle
identification marker for each
heavy vehicle at a charge of ten
dollars ($10.00) per vehicle.
The applicant must show

the make, serial number, state
in which the vehicle is
licensed, type of vehicle (truck
or bus) and type of fuel used.
The applicant must
complete a questionnaire
regarding the storage and use of
special fuels.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.3; 105-449.9;
105-449.32; 105-449.45;
105-449.47 through 105-449.48;
105-449.50;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0502 REGISTRATION OF HEAVY
VEHICLES LICENSED IN
NORTH CAROLINA

Motor carriers operating a
heavy vehicle that is licensed
in North Carolina pay the ten
dollars ($10.00) fuel
registration fee at the time the
license plate is purchased. The
motor carrier must complete a
questionnaire from the Motor
Fuels Tax Division regarding
special fuels

.

Motor carriers operating all
vehicles wholly within North
Carolina are exempted from
filing quarterly highway fuel
use reports; however, motor
carriers and operators of
vehicles licensed under the
motor vehicle laws for over
6,000 pounds must register with
the Motor Fuels Tax Division and
file all applicable reports
under the Special Fuels Tax Act.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 20-88.01

;

105-262; 105-449.3;
105-449.9; 105-449.32;
105-449.45; 105-449.47;
105-449.48; 105-449.50;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.
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.0503 PERMITS: LEASES
A lessee leasing units
from other operators should not
apply for the registration card
and vehicle identification
marker unless the lessor is
permanently leased to the
lessee

.

A lessee who has obtained a
registration card and vehicle
identification marker for a
vehicle under permanent lease
must return the card and marker
to the Motor Fuels Tax Division
if the lease is cancelled for
any reason.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.37;
Eff . January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0504 NO VEHICLE REGISTRATION
REQUIRED

A motor vehicle not designed
for the purpose of pulling a
trailer by the manufacturer and
is not modified to the extent
that the vehicle becomes a
tractor-type truck for the
purpose of pulling a trailer is
not required to be registered.
(1) A person ihstalling a
trailer hitch on a pickup
truck to pull a mobile home
does not have to register the
vehicle;

(2) A person who shortens the
bed of a pickup truck to pull
a mobile home does have to
register the vehicle.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-449.47 through 105-449.49;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0506 DEALER: MANUFACTURER:
DRIVEAWAY: TRANSPORTER

Persona operating heavy
vehicles with a dealerr
manufacturer, driveaway or
transporter license plate,
issued either in North Carolina
or other .jurisdictions must
obtain a fuel registration card,
but not a vehicle identification
marker, from the Motor Fuels Tax
Division. The charge is ten
dollars ($10.00) per vehicle.
These vehicles must have a fuel
registration card at all times
while operating in North
Carolina

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262
105-449.45; 105-449.47
105-449.48; 105-449.50
Eff. March 1 , 1987.

SUBCHAPTER 9J - GASOLINE:
SPECIAL FUELS AND KEROSENE

INSPECTION

SECTION .0200 - KEROSENE
IMPORTER

.0201 BOND AND LICENSE
REQUIRED

Any person importing kerosene,
or having in his possession
kerosene on which the inspection
fee has not been paid, and not
required to be licensed under
the provision of G.S. 105-433
must obtain a license and bond
as a kerosene distributor from
the Secretary of Revenue. (see
17 NCAC 9J .0202)

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-269.3; 119-16.2;
Eff. January 1 , 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0203 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE
BONDS

The Motor Fuels Tax Division
will accept surety bonds on Form
Gas. 1212, furnished by this
department, which have been
properly e.xecuted by any surety
company authorized to do
business in this state. The
department will also accept the
following collateral bonds:
(1) Negotiable U.S. government
bonds

;

(2) State of North Carolina
bonds

;

(3) Certificates of deposit or
cashiers' checks, made
payable to the taxpayer;

(4) Stock of North Carolina
savings and loan
associations

;

(5) Stock of federal savings
and loan associations, which
associations must be a member
of the Federal Home Loan Bank
System, and it? stock
guaranteed by such bank.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 105-262;
105-269.3; 119-16.2;
Eff. January 1, 1983;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1987.

.0204

Any per
kerosene
monthly
Gas. 1

followin
calendar
del ivery
and show
customer
address
purchase

REPORT OF KEROSENE
DISTRIBUTOR: FORM GAS
1219
son licensed as a
distributor must file
crossline report Form

219 within 20 days
g the close of each

month listing each
of kerosene by date,

ing each invoice number,
's name, customer's

and total gallons
d by each customer
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during the month for which the 105-269.3; 119-16;
report is filed. 119-18;

Eff . January 1 , 1983;
History Note: Statutory Amended Eff. March 1, 1987
Authority G.S. 105-262;
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

EDITION XI, NO. 4

AGENCY

EFFECTIVE: February 1, 1987

ACTION TAKEN

ADMINISTRATION
1 NCAC 12 0602- .0605 Adopted

0702- .0703 Adopted
0705- .0806 Adopted
0808- .0901 Adopted
0903- .1004 Adopted
1006 Adopted
1008- .1009 Adopted
1203- .1401 Adopted
1403- .1405 Adopted
1501- .1603 Adopted

CULTURAL RESOURCES
7 NCAC 40 0101 Amended

0104 Amended
0304 Amended

4Q 0105 Amended
4R 1102 Amended

1301 Amended
5 0203 Amended

0204 Amended
11 0101- .0403 Adopted

GOVERNOR'
9

S OFFICE
NCAC Executive Order Number 30

HUMAN RESOURCES
10 NCAC 4C .0304 Repealed

.0305 Adopted
7A .0^07 Repealed

.0501 Adopted
7B .0205 Repealed

.0354 Adopted
8A .0312 Amended
SB .0312-. 0313 Amended

.0501-. 0505 Repealed

.0607 Amended

.0609 Amended

.0611 Amended

.0613 Amended

.0615 Amended
8D .0308 Amended

.0506 Repealed

.0516 Adopted

.0704 Repealed

.0706 Adopted
8G .0712 Adopted
OA .0316 Repealed

.0318 Adopted

.0485 Amended

.0527 Amended

. 1031 Repealed

. 1033 Adopted

.1136 Repealed

. 1138 Adopted

.1213 Repealed

.1214 Adopted

.1955 Amended

.1965 Amended

.2115 Amended

.2221 Amended

.2307 Repealed

.2308 Adopted

.2417 Amended
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10B .0101-. 0112 Repealed
.0201-. 0238 Repealed
.0301-. 0315 Repealed
.0401-. 0413 Repealed
.0801-. 0805 Adopted
.0901-. 0931 Adopted
. 1001-.1004 Adopted
.1101-. 1119 Adopted
. 1201-. 1213 Adopted
.1300-. 1306 Adopted

IOC .0509 Repealed
.0514 Adopted
.0703 Repealed
.0705 Adopted

10D .0801-. 0802 Amended
.1102 Amended
.1306 Amended
.1312 Repealed
.1313 Adopted
.1625 Amended
.1631 Amended
.2603 Amended

10F .0002 Amended
.0029-. 0030 Amended
.0032-. 0034 Amended
.0041 Amended

43J .0101 Repealed

INSURANCE
1 1 NCAC 8 .0204-. 0205 Amended

.0207 Amended

JUSTICE
1 2 NCAC 9A .0103 Amended

93 .0115 Adopted
.0205-. 0206 Amended
.0210-. 0211 Amended
.0218-. 0219 Amended
.0226-. 0227 Amended
.0228-. 0232 Adopted
.0304-. 0305 Amended
.0403-. 0404 Adopted
.0410 Amended
.0413-. 0416 Adopted

9C .0404 Adopted

NATURAL RESOURCES ANP COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
15 NCAC lOF .0332 Amended

10H .0601-. 0609 Repealed

REVENUE
1 7 NCAC 6B .3802-. 3803 Adopted

73 .1123 Adopted
.1602 Amended
.1701-. 1702 Amended
.3601 Amended

- .4301 Amended
.4410 Amended
.5301 Amended
.5445 Adopted

7C .0204 Amended
.0501-. 0503 Adopted

TRANSPORTATION
19A NCAC 2D .0901-. 0902 Adopted

NORTH CAROLINA BOARD OF CPA EXAMINERS
21 NCAC 8G .0212 Adopted

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
26 NCAC 1 .0003 Adopted

4 .0001-. 0008 Adopted

801 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE

1

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
11
12
13
14A
15
16
17
18
19A
20

X21
22
23
24
25
25

DEPARTMENT

Administration, Department of
Agriculture, Department of
Auditor, Department of State
Commerce, Department of
Corrections, Department of
Council of State
Cultural Resources, Department
Elections, State Board of
Governor
Human Resources, Department of
Insurance, Department of
Justice, Department of
Labor, Department of
Crime Control, Department of
Natural Resources and Community Development
Education, Department of
Revenue, Department of
Secretary of State
Transportation, Department of
Treasurer, Department of State
Occupational Licensing Boards
Administrative Procedures
Community Colleges, Department of
Independent Agencies
Personnel, Department of State
Office of Administrative Hearings

NOTE: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various
occupational licensing boards.

CHAPTER

2
4
6
8

10
12
14
16
18
20
21
22
26
28
30
31
32
33
34
36
37
38
40
42
44
46
48
50
52
53
54
56
58
60
62
64

66

LICENSING BOARD

Architecture, Board of
Auctioneers, Commission for
Barber Examiners, Board of
Certified Public Accountant Examiners
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of
Contractors, Licensing Board for
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of
Dental Examiners, Board of
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners
Foresters, Board of Registration for
Geologists, Board of
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board
Landscape Architects, Licensing Board of
Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of
Law Examiners, Board of
Martial 8i Family Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of
Midwifery Joint Committee
Mortuary Science, Board of
Nursing, Board of
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of
Occupational Therapist, Board of
Opticians, Board of
Optometry, Board of Examiners in
Osteopathic Examination and Registration
Pharmacy, Board of
Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of
Podiatry Examiners, Board of
Practicing Counselors, Board of
Practicing Psychologists, Board of
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Real Estate Commission
Refrigeration Examiners, Board of
Sanitarian Examiners, Board of
Speech and Language Pathologists and

Audiologists , Board of Examiners of
Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1, 1986 - March 31, 1987)

1986 - 1987

Pages Issue

1 -73 April
74 -97 May
98 -132 June

133 -222 July
223 -379 August
380 - 415 September
416 -553 October
554 - 598 November
599 - 670 December
671 -761 January
762 -806 February

AO - Administr ative Order
AG - Attorney General's Opinions
C - Correction
E - Errata
EO - Executive Order
FDL - Final Decision Letters
FR - Final Rul e
GS - General Statute
JO - Judicial Order
LRA - List of Rules Affected
M - Miscellaneous
NP - Notice of Petitions
PR - Proposed Rule
SO - Statement s of Organization
TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
Administrative Analysis, 614 PR
Auxiliary Services, 611 PR, 677 PR
Council on Children and Youth, 681 PR
Departmental, 606 PR
Office of Marine Affairs, 382 PR
Public Telecommunications, 614 PR
Purchase and Contract, 423 PR
State Employees Combined Campaign, 430 PR, 681 PR
State Property, 677 PR
Youth Advisory Council, 680 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDERS
Beecher Reynolds Gray, 47 AO
Fred Gilbert Morrison, Jr., 48 AO
Angela Rebecca Bryant, 49 AO
Thomas R. West, 50 AO
Abraham Penn Jones, 98 AO
Administrative Law Judges, 248 AO
Margaret Eugenia Rogers, 419 AO
Kenneth Wayne Patterson, 420 AO
Robert R. Reilly, Jr., 673 AO

AGRICULTURE
Dept . of Agriculture, 250 SO, 558 PR
Food and Drug Protection Division, 99 PR, 255 PR, 557 PR
Gasoline and Oil Inspection, 683 PR
Markets, 559 PR
Plant Industry, 256 PR
Standards Division, 558 PR
Structural Pest Control, 557 PR, 599 C, 768 PR

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OPINIONS
Employee Insurance Committees, 603 AG
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COMMERCE
ABC Commission, 615 PR
Banking Commission, 689 PR
Cemetary Commission, 559 PR
Milk Commission, 74 PR, 135 PR, 260 PR, 689 PR
Savings and Loan, 78 PR, 560 PR

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 210 PR, 534 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons, 213 FR, 347 FR, 575 PR, 661 PR, 782 PR
Parole Commission, 663 PR

CRIME CONTROL & PUBLIC SAFETY
ALE, 631 PR

CULTURAL RESOURCES
Archives and History, 78 PR
Battleship Commission, 388 PR
Roanoke Voyages & Eliz. II, 261 PR

EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary

EXECUTIVE ORDERS
Executive Orders 1-25,

ndary, 779 PR

25, 23 EO
26, 247 EO
27, 416 EO
28, 417 EO
29, 554 EO
30, 672 EO
31, 762 EO

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 249 FDL, 421 FDL, 555 FDL, 600 FDL, 674 FDL, 763 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 7A, 21 GS, 244 GS
Chapter 150B, 3 GS, 226 GS, 380 C
Chapter 1028, 223 GS

HUMAN RESOURCES
Child Day Care, 281 PR, 631 PR
Children Services, 103 PR
Departmental, 691 PR, 767 SO
Facility Services, 270 PR
Food Assistance, 103 PR
Health Services, 169 PR, 388 PR, 434 PR, 563 PR, 698 PR, 770 PR
Individual and Family Support, 103 PR, 671 C
Medical Assistance, 181 PR, 389 PR, 501 PR
Medical Care Commission, 433 PR, 769 PR
Medical Services, 101 PR
Mental Health Retardation
and Substance Abuse, 80 PR, 298 PR, 350 FR, 380 C, 720 PR, 729 PR

Services for the Blind, 727 PR
Social Services, 390 PR, 616 PR
Youth Services, 85 PR, 309 PR

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES
Housing Finance, 658 PR, 740 PR

INSURANCE
Agency Services, 313 PR
Company Operations, 503 PR
Engineering & Building, 321 PR, 564 PR, 730 PR
Fire and Casualty, 501 PR
Medical Database, 565 PR

JUDICIAL ORDERS
Appointment
Robert A. Melott, 45 JO
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JUSTICE
Alarm Systems Licensing, 556 SO, 730 PR
Education and Training Standards, 322 PR
Police and Information Network, 107 PR
Private Protective Services, 556 SO, 771 PR
Sheriff's Education, 332 PR

LABOR
Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 86 PR, 189 PR, 338 PR
Elevator Division, 517 PR

LICENSING BOARD
Architecture, 734 PR
C P A Examiners, 112 PR, 133 SO, 529 PR, 734 PR, 781 PR
Dental Examiners, 399 PR, 533 PR
General Contractors, 573 PR
Medical Examiners, 92 PR, 399 PR
Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 SO
Mortuary Science, 534 PR
Nursing, 422 SO, 574 PR
Occupational Therapy, 2C6 PR
Pharmacy, 208 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, 116 PR
Real Estate Commission, 401 PR
Social Work, 653 PR
Veterinary Medical Board, 341 PR

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED
Volume 10, No. 1

(April 1, 1986), 71 LRA
Volume 10, No.

2

(May 1, 1986), 94 LRA
Volume 10, No .

3

(June 1, 1986), 127 LRA
Volume 10, NO.

4

(July 1, 1986), 217 LRA
Volume 10, No.

5

(August 1, 1986), 374 LRA
Volume 10, No. 6
(September 1, 1986), 410 LRA
Volume 10, No. 7
(October 1, 1986), 548 LRA
Volume 11, No. 1

(November 1, 1986), 594 LRA
Volume 11, No. 2
(December 1, 1986), 665 LRA
Volume 11 , No. 3
(January 1, 1937), 755 LRA
Volume 11, No . 4
(February 1, 1987), 800 LRA

MISCELLANEOUS
Federal Rule Amendment, 381 M

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Natural Resources & Comunity Development, 133 SO
Coastal Management, 112 FR, 401 PR, 571 PR, 733 PR
Departmental Rules, 109 PR, 118 FR
Economic Opportunit ie.? , 528 PR
Employmental and Training, 1 1 1 PR
Environmental Management, 88 PR, 190 PR, 339 PR, 396 PR, 520 PR
632 PR

Forest Resources, 126 FR
Marine Fisheries, 191 PR
Soil and Water, 90 PR, 521 PR
Wastewater Treatment, 397 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 110 PR, 205 PR, 340 PR, 398 PR
422 SO, 527 PR, 634 PR

NOTICE OF PETITIONS
Municipal Incorporations, 676 NP

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
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Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
General, 52 PR, 345 PR
Hearings Division, 61 PR, 345 PR, 369 FR
Rules Division, 52 PR, 367 FR
706 Deferral, 543 PR

REVENUE
Corporate Income Tax, 350 FR
Departmental, 663 FR
Individual Income Tax, 351 FR, 593 FR, 748 FR
Intangible Tax, 366 FR
Motor Fuels Tax, 787 FR
Sales & Use Tax, 363 FR, 785 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Notary Public, 91 PR, 367 FR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 343 PR, 538 PR, 659 PR

STATE TREASURER
Local Government Commission, 529 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Agriculture, 250 SO
Alarm System Licensing, 556 SO
CPA Examiners, 133 SO
Human Resources, 767 SO
Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 SO
Natural Resources and Community Development, 133 SO
Nursing, 422 SO
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
Private Protective Services, 556 SO
Wildlife Resources Commission, 422 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Department of Transportation, 213 FR, 367 FR, 546 FR, 754 FR
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