RECEIVED

DEC 17 1986

LAW LIBRARY.

The NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

IN THIS ISSUE.....

CORRECTIONS

FINAL DECISION LETTERS

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OPINIONS

PROPOSED RULES

Administration

Commerce

CC & PS

Housing Finance

Human Resources

NR & CD

Social Work

State Personnel

FINAL RULES

Corrections

Revenue

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

Volume 1 • Issue 9 • Pages 599-670

ISSUE DATE: DECEMBER 15, 1986



INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published monthly and contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter 150B must be published in the Register. The Register will typically comprise approximately one hundred pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free of charge to each county in the state and to various state officials and institutions. The *North Carolina Register* is available by yearly subscription at a cost of ninety-five dollars (\$95.00) for 12 issues.

Requests for subscription to the *North Carolina Register* should be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, N. C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina Register. The notice must include a reference to the Statutory Authority for the action; the time and place of the public hearing and a statement of how public comments may be submitted to the agency either at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed rule or amendment; and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings has authority to publish a summary, rather than the full text, of any amendment which is considered to be too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule containing the proposed amendment will be available for public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of Administrative Hearings and at the office of the promulgating agency.

Following publication of the proposal in the North Carolina Register, at least 60 days must elapse before the agency may take action on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file any adopted or amended rule with the Office of Administrative Hearings. If it differs substantially from the proposed form published as part of the public notice, the adopted version will again be published in the North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule, cannot become effective earlier than the first day of the second calendar month after the adoption is filed.

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any time before final action is taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature, some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in effect for the period specified in the rule or 120 days, whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary rule must begin normal rule-making procedures on the permanent rule at the same time the temporary rule is adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages of material of which approximately 35% is changed annually. Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designated for occupational licensing boards. The NCAC is available in two formats.

- (1) In looseleaf pages at a minimum cost of two dollars and 50 cents (\$2.50) for 10 pages or less, plus fifteen cents (\$0.15) per each additional page.
- (2) On microfiche. The microfiche edition is revised semiannually (March and October) and can be purchased for forty dollars (\$40.00) per edition. Due to the volume of the Code, the complete copy can only be purchased on microfiche. The NCAC on microfiche is updated monthly by publication of a "List of Rules Affected" which sets out rules filed the previous month, the action taken, and the effective date of the change. This list is published in the North Carolina Register.

Requests for looseleat pages of rules or the NCAC on microfiche should be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings.

NOTE

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the procedures to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes by examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986.

North Carolina Register. Published monthly by the Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscriptions ninety-five dollars (\$95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published in March and October by the Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. Subscriptions forty dollars (\$40.00) per edition.

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



Office of Administrative Hearings P. O. Drawer 11666 Raleigh, NC 27604 (919) 733 - 2678

Staff:
Robert A. Melott,
Director
James R. Scarcella,
Deputy Director
Molly Mason,
Codifier of Rules
Ruby Creech,
Publications Coordinator
Mary Fowler,
Editorial Assistant
Teresa Johnson,
Editorial Assistant
Tammy Poole,
Records Clerk

ISSUE CONTENTS

I.	CORRECTION	
	Agriculture	
	Structural Pest Control	599
II.	FINAL DECISION LETTER	
	Voting Rights Act	600
	ARRADUSII ARUSDALLA ARTUTAVA	
111.	ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OPINIONS	
	Employees Insurance	
		603
T.,	DDODOGED DIVIEG	
IV.	PROPOSED RULES	
	Administration	
	Administration Administrative Analysis . Auxiliary Services	614
	Auxiliary Services	611
	pepartmental	000
	Public Telecommunications	.614
	Commerce	
	ABC Commission	615
	Crime Control &	
	Public Safety	
	• • •	631
	ALE	
	Day Care	631
	Social Services	516
	Day Care	
	Housing Finance	658
	NR&CD	050
	Environmental Management.	632
	Wildlifa	634
	Social Work Cont	657
	Wildlife	650
	State Personnel	039
V.	FINAL RULES	
٧.	Corrections	
	Pricers	661
	Prisons	667
	Parole	003
	Revenue	667
	Departmental	003
177	LIST OF RULES AFFECTED	
AT.	V-1 11 N- 2	
	Volume 11, No. 2	005
	Volume 11, No. 2 (December 1, 1986)	
UTT	CIMIL ATTIC TUDEY	667
ATT.	CUMULATIVE INDEX	667

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER Publication Deadlines and Schedules (April 1986 - March 1987)

Issue Date	Last Day for Filing	Last Day for Electronic Filing	Earliest Date for Public Hearing	Earliest Date for Adoption by Agency	Earliest Effective Date
04/15/86	03/25/86	04/01/86	05/15/86	06/14/86	08/01/86
05/15/86	04/24/86	05/01/86	06/14/86	07/14/86	09/01/86
06/16/86	05/27/86	06/03/86	07/16/86	08/15/86	10/01/86
07/15/86	06/25/86	07/02/86	08/14/86	09/13/86	11/01/86
08/15/86	07/28/86	08/04/86	09/14/86	10/14/86	12/01/86
09/15/86	08/26/86	09/02/86	10/15/86	11/14/86	01/01/87
10/15/86	09/25/86	10/02/86	11/14/86	12/14/86	02/01/87
11/14/86	10/23/86	10/30/86	12/14/86	01/13/87	03/01/87
12/15/86	11/25/86	12/02/86	01/14/87	02/13/87	04/01/87
01/15/87	12/29/86	01/05/87	02/14/87	03/16/87	05/01/87
02/16/87	01/26/87	02/02/87	03/18/87	04/17/87	06/01/87
03/16/87	02/23/87	03/02/87	04/15/87	05/15/87	07/01/87

CORRECTION

CORRECTION FOR NOTICE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL COMMITTEE HEARING PUBLISHED IN THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER, VOLUME 1, ISSUE 8, NOVEMBER 15, 1986. On page 557 the notice should have read:

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Structural Pest Control Committee intends to amend regulation cited as 2 NCAC 34 .0602(a) and .0904(g).

The proposed effective date is June 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 106-65.29.

The public hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on January 6, 1987, in the Board Room, Agriculture Building, 1 W. Edenton Street, Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present statements either orally or in writing at the public hearing or in writing prior to the hearing by mail addressed to David S. Mcleod, Chairman of the Structural Pest Control Committee, P. O. Box 27647, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

VOTING RIGHTS ACT_FINAL_DECISION LETTER

[G.S. 120-30.9H, effective July 16, 1986, requires that all letters and other documents issued by the Attorney General of the United States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change affecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 be published in the North Carolina Register.]

U.S. Department of Justice Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:LLT:RA:gmh DJ 166-012-3 R1029; R2185-2191 P7641-7642

October 17, 1986

Richard J. Rose, Esq. Poyner & Spruill P. O. Box 353 Rocky Mount, NC 27802-0353

Dear Mr. Rose:

This refers to the nine annexations (Ordinance Nos. 0-86-14, 0-86-15, 0-86-16, 0-86-17, 0-86-18, 0-86-19, 0-86-20, 0-86-32, and 0-86-46) and the designation of the annexed areas to Wards 5 and 7 for the City of Rocky Mount in Edgecombe and Nash Counties, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submissions on July 14 and August 18, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.48).

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds Assistant Attorney General Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones Chief, Voting Section

U.S. Department of Justice Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:LLT:TGL:sw:gmh DJ 166-012-3 R0480 R1401; R2641

October 29, 1986

David A. Holec, Esq. City Attorney P.O. Box 1388 Lumberton, NC 28359-1388

Dear Mr. Holec:

This refers to the August 4, 1986, and September 15, 1986, annexations to the City of Lumberton in Robeson County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submissions on September 2 and October 6, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes. In addition, as authorized by Section 5, the Attorney General reserves the right to reexamine this submission if additional information that would otherwise require an objection comes to his attention during the remainder of the sixty-day review period. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.42 and 51.48).

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds Assistant Attorney General Civil Rights Division

Bv:

Gerald W. Jones Chief, Voting Section

U.S. Department of Justice Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:SSC:TGL:gmh DJ 166-012-3 R1384-1390

November 24, 1986

Robert C. Cogswell, Jr., Esq. City Attorney P. O. Box 1513 Fayetteville, NC 28302-1513

Dear Mr. Cogswell:

This refers to the six annexations (Ordinance Nos. 86-7-296, 86-7-297, 86-7-298, 86-7-299, 86-7-300, 86-9-301) and the designation of the annexed areas to city council Districts 1 and 5 for the City of Fayetteville in Cumberland County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on September 25, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.48).

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds Assistant Attorney General Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones Chief, Voting Section

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OPINIONS

[Opinions of the Attorney General that interpret or affect Chapter 150B of the General Statutes are published as requested by G.S. 150B-63(d1).]

State of North Carolina Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, NC 27602-0629

SUBJECT: Administrative Procedures Act; Rulemaking Requirements; Employee Insurance Committees

REQUESTED

BY: Elizabeth H. Drury
Director, Office of Legislative and Legal Affairs
Department of Human Resources

- QUESTIONS: (1) Does the APA definition of a "rule" in N.C. Gen.
 Stat. 150B-2(8)a include procedures to be followed in
 fulfilling the statutory mandates of N.C. Gen. Stat.
 58-194.3?
 - (2) If the answer to question 1 is "yes", does the Department of Human Resources have the requisite rulemaking authority under N.C. Gen. Stat. 150B-9 to adopt rules pertaining to N.C. Gen. Stat. 58- 194.3 for all twenty-four payroll units within the Department of Human Resources and would the adoption of such rules be consistent with the autonomy provisions in N.C. Gen. Stat. 58-194.3?
 - (3) If the answers to questions 1 and 2 are yes, are the following functions prescribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. 58-194.3 proper subjects for rulemaking:
 - The manner in which the Insurance Committee determines employees' needs and desires;
 - The manner in which the Insurance Committee publishes or otherwise requests proposals from insurance providers;
 - c. The manner in which the Insurance Committee receives, considers and selects insurance proposals submitted to it; and
 - d. Contractual provisions to be included in the contract with the provider selected by the Insurance Committee including contractual provisions pertaining to the term of the contract, whether the selected provider is the exclusive provider of a particular type of insurance, and the procedures for soliciting business from employees in the payroll unit?
- CONCLUSION: (1) Yes, if the Employee Insurance Committee establishes procedures to supplement those G.S. 58-194.3.
 - (2) No, the rules would be adopted by the respective committees and organized within the Department's chapter in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The Department would act within its authority if procedures were established for the selection of committee members.
 - (3) Yes, if the committee establishes formal or informal procedures on any listed subject and requires compliance therewith by its members or contract providers.

G.S.58-194.3, enacted in the 1985 Session of the General Assembly, required the establishment of Employee Insurance Committees by the heads of payroll units. The duties and powers of the committees are set forth in the enabling legislation. The 1986 amendments to the statute are not pertinent to this inquiry.

G.S.58-194.3(b) provides the method for appointment of committee members. That duty and power is vested in the head of the payroll unit. The head of the payroll unit is charged with duty of selecting a committee that is "fairly representative of the work force."

The queries raised require further refinement to provide better analytical clarity. Accordingly, new subsidiary questions are stated and addressed in the remainder of the opinion.

The predicate question to Question 1 is "Must Employee Insurance Committees adopt regulations that more specifically detail procedures to be used in the discharge of their duties as a prerequisite to exercising their statutorily conferred powers?" The answer to that query is "No." The enabling statutes are sufficiently specific to permit operation without further procedures and do not condition exercise of the authority on the prior adoption of regulations. The second issue raised by Question 1 is "When must a committee adopt regulations?" The answer to that issue derives from Chapter 150B. G.S. 150B-2(8a), the definition of "rule," must be read in conjunction with G.S. 150B-11(1) to comprehend the full breadth of the term "rule". When the two sections are read together, it is apparent that any procedures, whether formal or informal, that directly or substantially affect the rights or procedures or non-agency persons must be adopted as rules. As G.S. 150B-11(1) indicates, any forms developed by the committees for use in performance of their duties must be listed in duly adopted regulations. Thus, when the committees establish procedures that affect the rights or procedures of others, they must be codified as rules. Should the committees elect to operate by the procedural process established in the enabling statutes, no rule adoptions are necessary.

The second query likewise raises several issues. G.S. 58-194.3 does not include a specific grant of rulemaking authority. As the prefatory paragraphs indicate, it confers powers and duties on both the committee and the head of the payroll unit. Our appellate courts have recognized that state agencies inherently have the power to take actions necessary to the discharge of their duties when the statutory authority has not been specifically conferred. In re Community Association, 300 NC, 267, 280, 266 S.E.2d (1980); Charlotte Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. v. State ex. rel Lanier, 16 NC App 381, 192 SE2d 57 (1972). When that principle is read with the requirements of G.S. 150B-2(8a) and -11(1), it is apparent that every state agency has the inherent authority and duty to draft necessary regulations. Since the committees have rule making and limited quasi-judicial powers [see G.S. 58-194(b)], they are "agencies" within the meaning of G.S. 150B-2(1). (see footnote below)

The Administrative Procedure Act contains a significant, and controlling, limit on the exercise of rulemaking authority by agencies.

Each agency shall adopt, amend, suspend or repeal its rules in accordance with the procedures specified in this Article and pursuant to authority delegated by law and in full compliance with its duties and delegations. No agency may adopt any rule that implements or interprets any statute or legislative enactment unless the power, duty, or authority to carry out the

provisions of the statute or enactment is specifically conferred on the agency in the enactment, nor may any agency make any rule enlarging the scope of any trade or profession subject to licensing. G.S. 150B-9(b).

In the present matter, the Department's rulemaking authority would be limited to oversight of its payroll unit heads in the exercise of their authority to select committee members. To the extent the Department's financial division imposes budget policies and procedures on insurance providers, they are exempt from the definition of rule. See G.S. 150B-2(8a), b. and d. However, any forms used to implement this aspect of the payroll deduction program may need to be listed in rules to satisfy G.S. 150B-11(1). The Department's rulemaking authority is further established by the general authority conferred on Department heads by G.S. 143B-10. Accordingly, items specified in Question 3 are within the scope of the rule- making authority of the Employee Insurance Committee rather than the Department or the payroll unit heads.

LACY H. THORNBURG, Attorney General Daniel F. McLawhorn Special Deputy Attorney General

FOOTNOTE:

The functions of the entity determine whether it is an "agency" rather than the ommission of the word "committee" from the definition of "agency" at G.S. 150B-2(1). Commissioner of Insurance v. Rate Bureau, 300 NC 381, 269 SE2d 547, (1980); State v. Matthews, 270 NC 35, 153 SE2d 791 (1967). Compare G.S. 150B-2(1) to the definition of "public body" in the Open Meetings Law at G.S. 143B-318.10 which includes the term "committee."

PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 1 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Department of Administration intends to adopt, amend, repeal regulations cited as 1 NCAC 1A .0101 - .0207; .0304 - .0305; 1B .0101 - .0701.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 143B-6; 143B-367; 143B-368; 143B-9,10; 143-340(18).

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 20, 1987 at Advisory Budget Commission Conference Room, 5th Floor, Administration Building, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may present his or her views and comments either in writing prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing. Any person may request information, permission to be heard or copies of the proposed Regulations by writing or calling 733-7232.

CHAPTER 1 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES

SUBCHAPTER 1A - ORGANIZATION OF THE DEPARTMENT

SECTION .0100 - IDENTIFYING INFORMATION AND FUNCTIONS

- .0101 IDENTIFYING INFORMATION (REPEALED)
- .0102 DEPARTMENTAL FUNCTIONS (REPEALED)
- .0103 STRUCTURE OF THE DEPARTMENT (REPEALED)

SECTION .0200 - OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

- .0201 FUNCTION (REPEALED)
 .0202 DELEGATIONS (REPEALED)
- .0203 CONTROLLER (REPEALED) .0204 PERSONNEL OFFICER
- .0204 PERSONNEL OFFICER (REPEALED)
- .0205 INFORMATION (REPEALED)
 .0206 WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
- (REPEALED)
 .0207 PARKING SPACE
 ASSIGNMENTS (REPEALED)

SECTION .0300 - DEPARTMENTAL PERSONNEL PROCEDURES

.0304 VACANCY LISTS
The departmental personnel

office prepares weekly job vacancy lists for circulation according to the affirmative action plan in accordance with affirmative action policies. All inquiries regarding this list shall be directed to the personnel officer.

.0305 EMPLOYEE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

The department adopts by reference the minimum procedural requirements for a departmental grievance as prescribed by the division office of state personnel NCAC 8J .0503 recodified as 25 NCAC 1 with the following exceptions:

following exceptions:

(1) The department grievance committee shall consist of at least three and not more than five employees of the department chosen at random by personnel officer according to Subsection (2) of this Rule.

(2) At least one employee shall be in the same pay grade as the employee whose grievance will be heard. No two employees shall be from the same operating unit.

(3) The aggrieved employee

(3) The aggrieved employee may remove two members of the committee without cause and may challenge other members for cause. Such challenges must be submitted to the secretary in writing at least three days prior to the hearing. The secretary or personnel officer will then assign replacements to the committee.

(4) Hearings conducted by the department grievance committee shall be informal and not subject to the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

(5) Recommendations of the committee shall be prepared in executive session and submitted to the secretary via the personnel officer in writing within five working days following the hearing.

(6) A member of the committee

(6) A member of the committee who disagrees with the findings of the majority may submit a dissenting opinion to the secretary.

SUBCHAPTER 1B - DEPARTMENTAL ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INFORMATION

.0101 SCOPE OF RULES
(REPEALED)
.0102 SUBMITTING THE
PETITION (REPEALED)

.0103 CONTENTS OF PETITION

(REPEALED) DISPOSITION OF .0104

PETITIONS (REPEALED)

TIMING OF NOTICE .0105 (REPEALED)

.0106 ADDITIONAL

INFORMATION (REPEALED)

.0107 SCOPE OF RULES These rules establish basic minimum procedures for the adoption, amendment or repeal of administrative rules and shall apply to all elements of the Department of Administration unless specifically provided otherwise.

.0108 ORGANIZATION OF CHAPTER

(a) Sections .0200 through .0500 of this Subchap Subchapter to pertain the agency's percedures for adopting, amending, or repealing rules pursuant to the requirements of G.S. 150B-12.

(b) Section .0600 of this

Subchapter deals with the issuance of declaratory ruling the under the authority of G.S. 150B-17.

(c) Section .0700 concerns for the procedures Administrative Hearings and adopts by reference Title 22 Subchapter 2C of the N.C. Administrative Code prusuant to the requirements of 150B-14.

SECTION .0200 - PETITION FOR RULEMAKING

.0201 HEARING LOCATION (REPEALED)

.0202 WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS (REPEALED)

.0203 PRESIDING OFFICER: POWERS AND DUTIES (REPEALED)

STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR DECISION (REPEALED) RECORD OF PROCEDURES .0204

.0205

(REPEALED) .0206 EMERGENCY RULES (REPEALED)

.0207 SUBMITTING THE PETITION Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting adoption, amendment or repeal of a rule by the Department of Administration or any of elements shall address its petition to: Secretary, Department of Administration, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. container of the petition should clearly bear the notation: RULEMAKING PETITION RE and then the subject area.

.0208 CONTENTS OF PETITION The petition should include the following information:

(1) an indication of the subject area to which the petition is directed; for example, "This is a petition to hold a rulemaking hearing to amend Rule pertaining to Administrative Procedure requirements:"

(2) either a draft of the proposed rule or a summary of its contents;

(3) reasons for the proposal;(4) the effect on existing rules or orders;

(5) any data supporting

the proposal;
(6) effect of the proposed rule on existing practices in the area involved including

cost factors;
(7) names of those most likely affected by the to be proposed rule with addresses if reasonably known;

(8) name(s) and address(es) of petitioner(s).

Any of the Subsections in this Rule may be waived at the discretion of the secretary.

.0209 DISPOSITION OF (a) The Secretary of DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS Administration Secretary's designee will determine whether the public interest will be served by granting the request. Prior to making this determination, the secretary or the secretary's designee may request additional information from intermation from the petitioner(s); he may contact interested persons or person likely to be affected by the proposed rule and request comments; he may use any other appropriate method for obtaining information on which to base his determination. The secretary or the secretary's designee shall consider all of the contents of the petition submitted plus any other information obtained by the means described herein.

(b) Within 30 days of submission of the petition, a final decision will be rendered by the secretary of the Department of Administration. If the decision is to deny the petition, the secretary will notify the petitioner(s) in writing, stating the reasons therefor. If the decision is to grant the petition, the secretary, within 30 days of submission, will initiate a rulemaking proceeding by issuing a rulemaking notice as provided

in these Rules and in 150B-12 or G.S. 150B-13. G.S.

RECOURSE TO DENIAL OF THE PETITION .0210

If the secretary denies the petition for rulemaking, the petitioner(s) may seek judicial of the denial determine whether the department abused its discretion. This will require petitioner to file a civil suit against the department Superior Court of Wake County.

SECTION .0300 - NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

- SUBJECTS OF DECLARATORY .0301 RULINGS (REPEALED)
- SUBMISSION OF REQUEST .0302 FOR RULING (REPEALED)
- DISPOSITION OF REQUESTS .0303 (REPEALED)
- .0304 RECORD OF DECISION (REPEALED)
- DEFINITION (REPEALED) .0305

.0306 TIMING OF NOTICE Upon a determination to hold a rulemaking proceeding, either in response to a petition or otherwise, the secretary shall give at least 30 days notice to interested persons of a public hearing on the proposed rule.

.0307 MANNER OF NOTICE-NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

- (a) The agency shall publish notice of rulemaking hearing in the North Carolina Register and as prescribed in any applicable statute. Depending upon the subject matter of the proposed rule and the nature of the persons likely to be affected by the proposed rule, any or all of the following methods may be used in addition to the N.C. Register.
 - (1) publication of the notice in one or more newspapers of general circulation; and
 - (2) publication in trade, industry, governmental professional publications.
- (b) Notice of all rulemaking proceedings will be given to:
 (1) the Chief Hearing Officer of the Office of the
 - Administrative Hearings; (2) the Attorney General; and(3) the Governor.

.0308 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION Persons desiring information in addition to that provided in an individual rulemaking notice may Secretary, Department contact. of Adminstration, Raleigh, North The envelope Carolina 27611.

containing the request should bear the nota FOR INFORMATION clearly the notation: REQUEST PROPOSED RULES. Any written communication should clearly the rulemaking indicate proceeding which is the subject of the inquiry.

SECTION .0400 - RULEMAKING HEARINGS

- .0401 RIGHT TO HEARING (REPEALED)
- REQUEST FOR HEARING (REPEALED) .0402
- .0403 GRANTING OR DENYING HEARING REQUESTS (REPEALED)

.0404 HEARING LOCATION Unless otherwise stated in a particular rule-making notice, the Department of Administration rule-making hearings will be held at the Administration held at the Administration Building, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

.0405 REQUEST TO PARTICIPATE IN HEARING

(a) Any person desiring to present oral data, views, arguments on a proposed rule should file a request to participate with the secretary in such a manner that the request will be received by the agency head at least one day prior to the rule-making rule-making prior hearing.

(b) The request to participate should contain clear reference to the proposed rule, a brief summary of the person's views with respect thereto, and how long the person desires to speak. The envelope containing the request should clearly bear the notation: clearly bear the nota ΤN RULE-MAKING HEARING RE: and the subject matter of the proposed rule.

.0406 AGENCY RESPONSE TO THE REQUEST TO PARTICIPATE Upon receipt of a request

to participate in a rule-making hearing, the secretary or the official presiding over the hearing will acknowledge receipt of the request and inform the person of any limitations on presentations deemed oral necessary for a full and effective public proceeding on the proposed rule. In general, each presentation will be limited to 15 minutes unless some other time limit is by the hearing prescribed officer.

.0407 PRESENTATION OF ORAL COMMENT

(a) The hearing officer shall create an agenda of members of the public who have requested participation in the rule-making

hearing.

(b) If time allows, the hearing officer shall permit limited comment by attending members of the public who have not submitted requests to

participate.

(c) Any person making an oral presentation is encouraged to submit a written copy of the presentation to the agency head, the hearing officer, or an agency designee prior to or during the rule-making hearing. If not submitted prior to or during the hearing, a written copy of the oral presentation must be submitted within 5 days thereafter.

.0408 PRESIDING OFFICER; POWERS AND DUTIES

The presiding officer at the hearing shall have complete control of the proceedings extensions of any including: time requirements, recognition of speakers, time allotments for presentations, the right to question speakers, direction of the discussion and management of the hearing. The presiding officer, at all times, will take care that each person participating in the hearing is to given a fair opportunity present views, data comments.

SECTION .0500 - PUBLIC ACESS TO RULEMAKING

FAILURE TO APPEAR .0501 (REPEALED) SIMPLIFICATION OF ISSUES .0502 (REPEALED) SUBPOENAS (REPEALED) FINAL DECISIONS IN ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS .0503 .0504 (REPEALED)

.0505 FILING WRITTEN COMMENTS ON PROPOSED RULES

(a) Any persons may file a written submission containing data, comments, or arguments for or against a rule, after publication of a rulemaking notice by the departments. Written comments must be received by the secretary not later than 60 days after the notice is issued, unless a different period has been prescribed in the notice or granted upon request. The written comments should be sent to the Secretary, Department of

Administration, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

(b) The envelope containing the written submission should bear the notation WRITTEN bear the notation WRITTEN COMMENT RE: and clearly state the rule(s) or proposed rule(s) commented upon. Upon receipt of written acknowledgement will be comments, be made the comments therein will considered fully by the Secretary of the Department of Administration or the Secretary's designee.

.0506 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR DECISION

(a) Any interested person desiring a concise statement of the principal reasons for and against the adoption of a rule by the Secretary of Administration and the factors that led to overruling the considerations urged against its adoption may submit a request to the Secretary of Administration, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

(b) For purposes of Subsection
(a) this Rule, an "interested person" shall be any person whose rights, duties or privileges might be affected by the adoption of the rule in question or any group or organization of persons whose rights, duties or privileges might be affected by the rule.

(c) The request must be made

in writing and submitted prior to adoption of the rule or within 30 days thereafter. The envelope containing the request should clearly bear the notation REQUEST FOR STATEMENT OF REASONING RE: and clearly state the rule or rules in question.

.0507 RECORD OR PROCEEDINGS A record of all rulemaking proceedings will be maintained in the Office of the Secretary of Administration for as long as the rule is in effect. Record of rulemaking proceedings will available for public be inspection during the regular office hours.

.0508 EMERGENCY RULES Whenever reasons of imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare require the adoption of an emergency rule, the Secretary of the Department Administration will issue of such notice, written, telegraphic, telephonic or other and allow such comments, oral or written as time permits.

SECTION .0600 - DECLARATORY

.0601 SUBJECTS OF DECLARATORY RULINGS

(a) Any person substantially affected by a statute or rule administered by the Department of Administration may request a declaratory ruling as to the valadity of an agency rule or as to either the manner in which a statute or rule applies to a given factual situation.

(b) A declaratory ruling issued by the agency:
(1) is binding upon the

agency and upon the person requesting it;

(2) may be reviewed by the courts in the same manner as the final agency action in a contested case; and

(3) may be altered by a subsequent declaratory ruling of the agency, but not be altered retroactively.

.0602 SUBMISSION OF REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY RULING All requests for declaratory rulings shall be written and mailed to the Secretary of Administration, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. The container of the request should bear the notation: REQUEST FOR notation: DECLARATORY RULING. The request include the following information:

 name and address of petitioner,

(2) statute or rule to which petition relates,

(3) concise statement of the manner in which petitioner is agrieved by the rule or statute or its potential application to him.

(4) a statement whether an oral hearing is desired and, if so, the reason therefor.

.0603 DISPOSITION OF REQUESTS (a) When the Secretary of Administration or secretary's designee deems it appropriate to issue a declaratory ruling declaratory ruling, secretary shall issue the such declaratory ruling within 60 days of the receipt of the days of the receipt of the REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY RULING.

(b) A declaratory ruling proceeding may consist of written submissions, an oral hearing or other procedure as may be appropriate in the circumstances of the particular request.

(c) The secretary shall

proceed to issue a declaratory ruling where the person requesting the ruling shows that, with regard to

following facts presented:
(1) the rule in question is unclear on its face;

(2) circumstances are so changed since the adoption of the rule that a declaratory ruling is warranted;

(3) the factors specified in the request were not given appropriate consideration by the agency at the time the rule was adopted;

(4) the statute administered by the agency is unclear in its application to the requesting person's facts,

or (5) a fair question exists regarding the validity of the agency's rule due to:
(A) an absence of statutory

authority for the agency's adoption of the role;

(B) irregularities in the agency's rule-making proceedings; or

(C) improper filing or distribution of the rule after the agency's adoption thereof.

(d) Whenever the Secretary of Administration believes "for good cause" that the issuance of declaratory ruling undesirable, the secretary may refuse to issue such ruling. may The sccretary shall notify, in writing, the person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for the denial of the request.

(e) For purposes of Subpart
(d) of this rule, the Secretary

Administration ordinarily refuse to declaratory ruling:

(1) where there has been similar controlling factual determination in a contested case;

(2) the rule-making record shows that the factual issues raised by the request were specifically considered prior to adoption of the rule; or

(3) where the subject matter of the request is involved in pending litigation in any state or federal court in North Carolina.

(f) If the agency finds evidence that the factors listed in Subparagraphs (c)(1), (2), or (3) of this rule exist beyond the specific facts presented in a particular petition for declaratory ruling, the agency

shall consider rule-making proceedings on the rule.

.0604 RECORD OF DECISION
A record of all declaratory
rulemaking proceedings will be
maintained in the office of the
secretary for as long as the
ruling is in effect. This
record will contain: the
petition, the notice, all
written submissions filed in the
request, whether filed by the
petitioner or any other person,
and a record or summary of oral
presentations, if any. Records
of rulemaking proceedings will
be available for public
inspection during the regular
office hours of the Department
of Administration.

.0605 DEFINITION
For purposes of Rule .0604 of
this Subchapter, a declaratory
ruling shall be deemed to be "in
effect": until the statute or
rule interpreted by the
declaratory ruling is amended,
altered or repealed; until the
Secretary of the Department of
Administration changes the
declaratory ruling prospectively
for good reasons; or until any
court sets aside the ruling in
litigation between the
Department of Administration and
the party requesting the rule;
or until any court of the
Appeallate Division of the
General Court of Justice shall
construe the statute or rule
which is the subject of the
declaratory ruling in a manner
plainly irreconcilable with the
declaratory ruling.

SECTION .0700 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES

.0701 HEARING PROCEDURES
(a) The Model Administrative
Procedures for Hearings,
codified as Title 22, Subchapter
2C of the North Carolina
Administrative Code, effective
September 29, 1980, and as
amended February 1, 1986, are
hereby adopted by reference to
apply to actions of the
Department of Administration.
(b) This Subchapter adopted

(b) This Subchapter adopted by reference, establishes basic minimum due process procedures for issues arising that are not contested cases as defined in G.S. 150B-2(2). The procedures set out in Article 3 and Article 3A of Chapter 150B govern hearings in contested cases as defined in G.S. 150B-2(s). The procedures set out in this Subchapter supplement the procedures of Article 3 of

Chapter 150B for contested cases wherein the party has waived his right to have the hearing conducted by a hearing officer in the Office of Administrative Hearings.

(c) The definitions contained in 22 NCAC 2A .0005 are adopted by reference and shall apply to the Department of Administration.

Administration.
(d) Copies of 22 NCAC,
Subchapter 2C and 22 NCAC 2A
.0005 may be inspected in the
Secretary's Office, Department
of Administration, 116 West
Jones Street, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27611. Copies may
also be obtained from the Office
of Administrative Hearings,

Raleigh, N.C.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Department of Administration intends to amend regulations cited as 1 NCAC 4G .0101 - .0204; .0207 - .0208; .0210; .0211; .0217 - .0218; .0220; .0303 - .0304; .0401; .0403(a); .0407 - .0408; .0508; .0512; .0514; .0516. and repeal .0216; .0404; .0406; .0517.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 143-49; 143-64.1 to 143-64.5.

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 22, 1987 at Advisory Budget Commission Conference Room, 5th Floor, Administration Building, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may present his or her views and comments either in writing prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing. Any person may request information, permission to be heard or copies of the proposed regulations by writing or calling 733-7232.

SUBCHAPTER 4G - SURPLUS PROPERTY

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 RESPONSIBILITY
The Department of
Administration is responsible
for administering the sale and
disposal of surplus within the
state government. The
administration of this program
has been delegated by the
Secretary of Administration to

the State Purchasing Officer the Auxiliary Services Director.

There are two agencies within the purchase and contract division Auxiliary Services which administer the state's surplus property program. The state agency for state surplus property is responsible only for state government surplus property. The state agency for federal surplus property is responsible for disposal of federal surplus property.

SECTION .0200 - STATE SURPLUS PROPERTY

.0201 TRANSFER OR SALE/WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION

No state department, institution or agency shall transfer or sell any personal property owned by the state without written authorization of the State Purchasing Officer Auxiliary Services Director.

.0202 NOTIFICATION OF SURPLUS State agencies notify the state surplus property agency of the division of purchase and contract Auxiliary Services of any personal property which is surplus to their needs by properly completing the equipment disposal form. In doing so, agencies may suggest a minimum dollar value which they desire to receive from any disposition made, but the suggestion shall not govern.

Under some conditions for some types of items it may be more advantageous to the state to seek to trade in used property against the purchase of a replacement. Before an agency makes any final decision to trade in an item, the division of purchase and contract the Auxiliary Services Director should be contacted for guidance.

Where the a division requests bids for the purchase of a new item and it appears that a trade-in may be advantageous, the solicitation contains a provision requesting that a trade-in allowance be offered and prior approval by the Director or Auxiliary Services is required.

.0204 ORDER OF PRIORITY IN DISPOSITION

In the disposition of state surplus property, the division customarily gives first priority

to transfer to other agencies of the state. Second priority is given to transfer to political subdivisions and qualified non-profit organizations within the state. Property thus transferred must be for the use of the recipient agency, subdivision or political qualified non-profit organization with title being in such agency, unit or organization. In making such transfers, the price shall be one mutually agreeable to the owning agency and the recipient and approved by the division as being a fair market price based where possible on previous sales of similar products in the open market. State surplus property transferred to any political subdivision or non-profit organization must be retained by the unit or organization not less than 12 months before disposal, unless an earlier disposition is specifically authorized by the division of purchase and contract Auxiliary Services Director.

.0207 BID INVITATION LISTS
A copy of the bid invitation
listing state surplus property
to be sold by sealed bidding is
available both at the
Administration Building in
downtown Raleigh and at the
State Surplus Property
Warehouse, Raleigh, North
Carolina. Outside the Raleigh
area, Requests for bids are
mailed upon request.

.0208 DISPOSAL BY OTHER MEANS Where state surplus property can be sold more advantageously by means other than sealed competitive bidding, either because of the nature of the property or the existence of unusual circumstance, the State Purchasing Officer Director of Auxiliary Services may utilize whatever means are considered in the state's interest.

.0210 RECEIPT OF BIDS
It is the bidder's
responsiblity to have his bid in
the Office of Purchase and
Contract State Surplus Property
by the specified time and date
of bid opening. The sale bid
number should be clearly shown
on the face of the mailing
envelope.

.0211 EXECUTION OF BIDS
The executor of a bid must sign
his bid in ink in pen or pencil
in the space provided on the bid

form and also print his name below the signature.

.0216 PAYMENT (REPEALED)

10217 FAILURE TO PAY
If the purchaser fails to pay
for the property within the
10-day period, the property may
be resold in such manner as the
state may elect, and the
defaulting purchaser charged
with any loss resulting to the
state together with all expense
of the sale. If the purchaser
does not remove the property
within 30 calendar days after
date of award, the division of
purchase and contract Auxiliary
Services reserves the right to
retain the purchase price and
resell the property a second
time and retain any proceeds
therefrom.

.0218 BOND

The division of purchase and contract Auxiliary Services reserves the right to require any bidder previously in default to post a bond prior to bidding or prior to an award being made to him.

.0220 TIMBER SALES
Timber owned by state agencies is customarily disposed of by the state surplus property agency on a sealed competitive bid basis. A request for bid forms will be sent to any interested party upon request.

Timber is generally sold on a lump-sum basis with payment to be made in full at the time of execution of a contract; and a high bidder may, in the discretion of the State Purchasing Officer Director of Auxiliary Services, be required to post bond prior to award.

SECTION .0300 - STATE SURPLUS PROPERTY FORMS

.0303 NOTIFICATION: SALE OF SURPLUS PROPERTY
Form PC-37 is used by the division of purchase and contract Auxiliary Services to notify the agency and successful bidder of the sale and/or disposal of state surplus property.

.0304 NOTIFICATION: AWARD OF SURPLUS PROPERTY

Form PC-38 is used by the division of purchase and contract Auxiliary Services to notify the successful bidder and agency of the award of bid on state surplus property.

SECTION .0400 - FEDERAL SURPLUS PROPERTY

Specific eligible organizations include any public agency; tax supported or non profit medical institutions; hospitals; clinics and health centers; schools; school systems; colleges or universities; educational radio or television stations; public libraries; tax supported or non profit schools for the mentally retarded or physically handicapped; as well as civil defense organizations of the state or a political subdivision or instrumentality thereof where such organizations are established pursuant to state law. It shall be the responsibility of the state agency for federal surplus property of the division of purchase and contract to determine the eligibility of donces under Public Law 94-519 and applicable federal rules and regulations. Application blanks are available from the federal property agency, division of purchase and contract; upon request and must be properly completed and returned by the applicant. The individual authorized to obtain property for the donce organization must indicate his name on the application.

A public agency or nonprofit educational or public health institution or organization, exempt from taxation under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, within the meaning of Section 203(j) of the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, as amended, and the regulations of the Administrator of General Services.

It shall be the responsibility of the state agency for federal

It shall be the responsibility of the state agency for federal surplus property to determine the eligibility of donees under Public Law 94-519 and applicable federal rules and regulations. Application blanks are available from the federal property agency upon request and must be properly completed and returned by the applicant. The individual authorized to obtain property for the donee organiztion must indicate his name on the application.

.0403 COMPLIANCE AND UTILIZATION

(a) The state agency shall effect utilization reviews for compliance by donees with the

terms, conditions, reservations and restrictions imposed by the <u>Federal and</u> state <u>Government</u> for any item of property having a unit acquisition cost of three thousand dollars (\$3,000) or more and any passenger motor vehicle.

.0404 LIST (REPEALED)

.0406 SURPLUS REAL PROPERTY (REPEALED)

.0407 SERVICE CHARGE
The state agency for federal surplus property of the division of purchase and contract places a service charge commensurate with its costs on all donated federal surplus property.

.0408 DELIVERY OF PURCHASES
The state agency for federal
surplus property will deliver
property acquired through its
auspices only where the size,
etc.; of the item makes when
such delivery necessary. The
additional costs of
transportation will accordingly
be billed as part of the service
charge in such cases.

SECTION .9500 - FEDERAL SURPLUS PROPERTY FORMS

.0508 AGREEMENT AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRANSFER

Form AA-123A is used in the transfer of property to health institutions to eligible donees which has a government acquisition cost of less than three thousand dollars (\$3,000), except passenger vehicles.

.0509 AGREEMENT AND
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF
TRANSFER

Form AA-123B is used in the transfer of property to educational institutions eligible donees which has a government acquisition cost of three thousand dollars (\$3,000) or more and all passenger vehicles.

.0512 NONDISCRIMINATION ASSURANCE PC-159

PC-159-- Civil Rights Assurance Non-Discrimination Assurance is a certification by eligible institutions that compliance with Title VI of The Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 606 of Title VI of the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, as amended, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, Title IX of the

Education Amendments of 1972, as amended, and Section 303 of the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 is being conducted.

.0514 DOCUMENT INVENTORY
REPORT, PC-FS-61
PC-70 PC-FS-61 --Document
Inventory Report, is used to record annual inventory report of federal surplus property.

.0516 CERTIFICATION AND AGREEMENTS, PC-FS-99
PC-88 PC-FS-99 Certification and Agreement, is required for all eligible institutions, certifying that all federal property restrictions will be carried out will be utilized in accordance with the terms and conditions which are printed on the Official Agreement and Acknowledgement of Transfer Document.

.0517 SASP MONTHLY ACTIVITY REPORT: PC-94 (REPEALED)

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Department of Administration intends to repeal regulations cited as 1 NCAC 21E .0001-.0002.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: Executive Order Number 13.

The public hearing will be conducted at 11:00 a.m. on January 20, 1987 at Advisory Budget Commission Room, 5th Floor, Administration Building, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may present his or her views and comments either in writing prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing. Any person my request information, permission to be heard or copies of the proposed regulations by writing to or calling 733-7232.

CHAPTER 21 - ADMINISTRATIVE ANALYSIS DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 21E - GOVERNOR'S COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL PRODUCTIVITY

.0001 MISSION (REPEALED) .0002 FUNCTIONS (REPEALED)

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Department of

Administration intends to adopt regulation cited as 1 NCAC 36 .0101.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: 143B-426, 12.

The public hearing will conducted at 11:00 a.m. be conducted at 11:00 a.m. on January 22, 1987 at Advisory Budget Commission Conference Budget Commission Conference Room, 5th Floor, Administration Building, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

Comment Procedures: interested person may present his or her views and comments either in writing prior to or at the hearing or orally at the hearing. Any person may request information, permission to be heard or copies of the proposed regulations bу writing calling 733-7232.

CHAPTER 36 - AGENCY FOR PUBLIC TELECOMMUNICATIONS

SECTION .0100 - PUBLIC RADIO

.0101 GENERAL SUPPORT STANDARDS

All public radio entities seeking financial support through the agency must meet the following criteria:

(1) document broad citizen and community support;

(2) hold open meetings of advisory governing and bodies;

- (3) secure tax exempt status from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service and North Department Carolina Revenue;
- (4) maintain accounting records of expenditure of state funds for a minimum of three years in a manner suitable for audit;

(5) maintain public copies of annual financial and audit

reports;

- (6) submit to the agency an outline plan for expenditures of state funds and, at the end of each funding period, submit a detailed report of expenditures;
- (7) comply with Equal Employment Opportunity regulations; and

(8) in accordance with constitutional separation of church and state, public radio entities whose program schedule is designed to further the principles of a

particular religious philosophy are not eligible. Permittees and licensees must establish a community advisory board reflecting the diverse needs and interests of served communities.

TITLE 4 - COMMERCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the N.C. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt regulation cited as 4 NCAC 2S .1020

The proposed effective date of this action is May 1, 1987.

Authority: Statutory G.S. 18B-105(b).

public hearing will be The conducted at 10:30 a.m. on January 19, 1987 at ABC Commission, Room 101, 3322 Garner Road, Raleigh, NC 27610. on ABC 3322

Comment Procedures: opinions and arguments should be submitted prior to January 19, 1987, to the ABC Commission at P.O. Box 26687, Raleigh, NC 27611-6687. Persons desiring to speak at the hearing are requested to notify the ABC speak at the hearing requested to notify the ARC Commission prior to January 19,

SUBCHAPTER 2S - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: SPECIAL PERMITS

SECTION .1000 - ADVERTISING

.1020 REFUND OFFERS (a) General. Refund offers ay be used to advert may to advertise spirtuous liquor.

(b) Conditions. A refund offer is an offer to a consumer for a rebate from a liquor industry member, obtained by mailing a form. A refund offer is allowed under the following conditions:

(1) A refund may be offered only by a manufacturer, distiller, importer, rectifier orbottler of spirituous liquor.

(2) A refund may be offered only to purchasers of the manufacturer's original unopened container of liquor that is purchased from a local ABC store.

(3) A refund may be offered only when the redemption form is a part of or attached to the package or container. Any offer that is part of or attached to the package or container shall be placed there by the industry member who offers the refund.

(4) A refund offer shall apply throughout the state.(5) A refund offer shall

include an expiration date.

(6) A refund offer shall include a statement explaining the redemption procedure. Refund offers shall be redeemed by mailing a form to the industry member who offers the refund

member who offers the refund or its designated redemption agent. Such an agent shall not be a retail or wholesale permittee in the state.

(7) An industry member shall notify the commission at least 10 days before it offers a refund on liquor. The notice shall state the proposed amount of the refund, its expiration date, and to whom redemption forms must be mailed. The notice shall also include a sample of the redemption form that will be attached to the liquor container.

(8) An ABC board member or employee shall not receive refunds on offers obtained from liquor packages or containers before sale at retail.

(c) Commercial bribery; cooperative advertising. No retail permittee, local ABC board member or employee shall accept and no industry member shall pay any fee for the display or use of refund offers. The name of a retail business or retail permittee shall not appear on any refund offer.

(d) Advertising refund offers. Refund offers may be advertised by newspapers, magazines or direct mail but no redemption form may appear in such advertisement. No refund offer may be advertised on the premises of any retail permittee.

TITLE 10 - HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Social Services Commission intends to adopt, amend, repeal regulations cited as 10 NCAC 41F .0811; 10 NCAC 42B .1003 and .1101; .1102; .1201; .1203; .1204; .1207; 10 NCAC 42C .1802; .1805; and .1901; .2001; .2002; .2006; .2207; .2209; .2212-.2214;

.2301-.2305; and .2402; .2404; .2405; .2501; .2505; .2703; .2903; .3003; .3101; .3102 and .3301; .3402; 10 NCAC 42D .1202; .1301; .1403; .1404; .1503; .1504 and .1602; .1603; .1605; .1704; .1705; 10 NCAC 49D .0001-.0003.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 143B-153.

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 15, 1987 at Woodoak Building, Second Floor Conference Room, 1100 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may present his/her views and comments either in writing or orally at the hearing. Any person may request information, permission to be heard or copies of the proposed regulations by writing or calling Bonnie Allred, 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27611, 919-733-3055.

CHAPTER 41 - CHILDREN'S SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 41F - LICENSING OF FAMILY FOSTER HOMES

SECTION .0800 - LICENSING REGULATIONS AND PROCEDURES

.0811 REPORTS OF ABUSE AND NEGLECT

(a) When the supervising agency receives a report alleging abuse or neglect in a family foster home, the agency shall immediately notify the Division of Social Services.

(b) The supervising agency will then submit to the division, within 30 days, a detailed report on the circumstances of the allegation and results of the investigation of the allegation of abuse or neglect. This report, along with other information the division may obtain, shall be reviewed and evaluated by the division and used in consultation and technical assistance to the supervising and investigating agencies to assist them in providing services to protect children in foster care.

CHAPTER 42 - INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY SUPPORT

SUBCHAPTER 42B - LICENSING OF HOMES FOR DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED ADULTS

SECTION .1000 - MANAGEMENT IN PRIVATE FOR PROFIT HOMES

.1003 RELIEF-PERSON-IN-CHARGE
(b) The county department of
social services will make a
decision regarding approval
within 10 working days after
receiving all of the required
application information. Notice
of approval will be sent to the
Division of Facility Services.
If the county department does
not approve the applicant relief
person in charge and the
applicant and or administrator
challenges the decision, the
Division of Facility Services
will be consulted for a final
decision.

SECTION .1100 - MANAGEMENT IN HOMES OPERATED BY PRIVATE NON-PROFIT BOARDS

.1101 THE HOME MANAGER IN PRIVATE NON-PROFIT HOMES
(a) The home manager has the

following responsibilities:

(5) Must be approved. The county department of social services will make a decision regarding approval within 10 working days after receiving all of the required application information. Notice of approval will be sent to the Division of Facility Services. If the county department does not approve the applicant relief person in charge and the applicant and/or administrator challenges the decision, the Division of Facility Services will be consulted for a final

decision.
(b) The co-manager has the
following responsibilities:

county department of social services will make a decision regarding approval within 10 working days after receiving all of the required application information. Notice of approval will be sent to the Division of Facility Services. If the county department does not approve the applicant relief person in charge and the applicant administrator challenges the decision, the Division of Facility Services will be

consulted for a final decision.

.1102 CHANGE OF MANAGER
When a currently licensed
manager can no longer continue
to manage a home, the following
procedure is required:

(1) The group home board shall notify the county department of social services that a change is desired.

change is desired.

SECTION .1200 - PERSONNEL

.1201 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS
The qualifications of
administrator, co-administrator,
supervisor-in-charge, manager,
and co-manager are as follows:
(4) must be of good character;

(4) must be of good character;
must provide written
information about convictions
of criminal and/or driving
offenses other than minor
traffic violations from the
clerk of court and/or motor
vehicles office;

.1203 QUALIFICATIONS OF RELIEF PERSON-IN-CHARGE

(a) Qualifications of relief person-in-charge are set forth in Rule .1202 of this Section except that the relief person-in-charge must provide written information about convictions of criminal and/or driving offenses other than minor traffic violations from the clerk of court and/or motor vehicles office.

.1204 RESPONSIBILITIES OF
RELIEF-PERSON-IN-CHARGE
The relief person-in-charge
has the following
responsibilities:

individual who is responsible for the operation of the home in the absence of the manager and/or co-manager.

(2) The county department of social services will make a decision regarding approval within 10 working days after receiving all of the required application information. Notice of approval will be sent to the Division of Facility Services. If the county department does not approve the applicant relief person in charge and the applicant and/or manager challenges the decision; the Division of Facility Services will be consulted for a final decision.

.1207 REQUIREMENTS FOR PERSONNEL

(5) The manager, co-manager

and relief person(s) in charge must apply for their position(s) on the form DSS-1862, and be approved using a record designated by the Division of Social Services. documentation that the qualifications have been met for these positions must be on file in the home prior to hiring the manager, co-manager, and relief person(s) in charge.

SUBCHAPTER 42C - LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE HOMES

SECTION .1800 - GENERAL POLICIES

.1802 EXCEPTIONS (REPEALED)

.1805 LIST OF DEFINITIONS
(11) Relief-Supervisor-InCharge. A person designated by the administrator and approved by the county department of social services to be in charge of a licensed home during an extended absence (more than 24 hours per week) of the administrator or supervisor-in-charge;

(15) Supervisor-in-Charge. A person employed by the administrator and approved by the county department of social services to be responsible for carrying out the program in the licensed home in the absence of the administrator.

SECTION .1900 - MANAGEMENT

.1901 MANAGEMENT

(b) there are several ways the administrator can manage the operation of a home. At all times there must be one approved person administrator or supervisor-in-charge who is directly responsible for assuring that all required duties are carried out in the home and for assuring that at no time is a resident left alone in the home without a staff member. Except for the provisions cited in Paragraph (c) of this Rule regarding the occasional absence of the administrator or supervisor-in-charge, one of the following arrangements must be used:

(1) The administrator lives in the home, or resides within 500 feet of the home and is immediately available. To be immediately available, the

administrator must be on stand-by and have direct access to either a two-way intercom system or a two-way intercom line on the existing telephone system that connects the licensed home with the private of residence the administrator. The equipment installed must be recognized by the North Caroline Department of Insurance as acceptable and the equipment in residence of the the administrator must be located in his bedroom. working condition and must be located in the bedroom of the administrator. When the administrator does not live in the licensed home, there must be at least one staff member who lives in the home or one on each shift and the administrator is directly responsible for assuring that all required duties are

carried out in the home; or (3) When there is a cluster of licensed homes located adjacently on the same site, there must be at least one staff member in each home, either live-in or on a shift basis, and at least one administrator or lives within 500 feet of each home, is immediately available, and who is directly responsible for available, and who is directly responsible for assuring that all required duties are carried out in each home. To be immediately available, the administrator or supervisor-in-charge must be on stand-by and have direct access to either a two-way intercom system or a two-way intercom line on the existing telephone system that connects these homes with each other and with the of residence the administrator supervisor-in-charge. The equipment installed must be recognized by the North Garolina Department of Insurance as acceptable and the equipment in residence of the the administrator supervisor in charge must be located in his bedroom: <u>in</u> working condition and must be located in the bedroom of the administrator or

supervisor-in-charge.
(c) When the administrator

or supervisor-in-charge is absent from the home or not immediately available, the following apply:

(2) When the administrator or supervisor-in-charge will be away from the home for an extended absence (more than 24 hours per week), a relief-supervisor-in-charge must be designated by the administrator and approved by the county department of social services to be in charge of the home during the absence. The relief-supervisor-in-charge must meet all of the qualifications required for the supervisor-in-charge (as specified in Rule .2002 of this Subchapter) with the exception of Paragraph (4), pertaining to the continuing education requirement.

SECTION .2000 - PERSONNEL

.2001 QUALIFICATIONS OF ADMINISTRATOR

(4) The administrator or corporation must be able to obtain credit or have other verified resources to meet operating costs and provide required services when unexpected situations arise, such as extended resident vacancies and major home repairs. Verification of ability to obtain credit or the availability of other resources must be documented by the administrator or corporation; A letter of credit or a financial statement must be submitted to the county department of social services by the administrator or corporation;

(6) The administrator must meet with the adult homes specialist at the specialist's request at an agreed time in the home at least every three months as part of the specialist's routine monitoring to insure compliance with the rules of this Subchapter; The administrator, or a person designated in writing by the administrator to act as his agent and make decisions on his behalf, must meet with the Adult Homes Specialist at the Specialist's request at an agreed time in the home at least every three months or as necessary to insure compliance with the Standards;

(8) The administrator must be

of good moral character as evidenced by at least three current letters of recommendation from and or reference interviews with individuals, including former employers knowledgeable of the proposed administrator's background, qualifications and commitment to the field of adult care. The county department of social services is to check police and court records; The administrator must provide at least three current reference letters and/or the names of individuals with whom a reference interview can be conducted. The individuals providing reference information must be knowledgeable of the applicant administrator's background qualifications and must include at least one former employer;

(9) The administrator
must provide written
information about
convictions of criminal
and/or driving offenses
other than minor traffic
violations from the clerk of
court and/or motor vehicles

office;
(10) The administrator must verify that he earns 15 hours a year of continuing education credits related to the management of domiciliary homes and care of aged and disabled persons in accordance with procedures established by the Department of Human Resources; See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception;

(12) The administrator must not allow family or personal problems to keep him from assuming and adequately performing his responsibilities in the home:

.2002 QUALIFICATIONS OF SUPERVISOR-IN-CHARGE

(1) The applicant must complete the Application for Supervisor-in-Charge (DSS-1862); The county department of social services will make a decision regarding approval within 10 working days after receiving all of the required information. Notice of approval will be sent to the Division of Facility Services when the

- Application
 Supervisor in Charge is approved. If the county department does not approve the applicant supervisor in charge and the applicant administrator challenges the decision, the Division of Facility Services will be consulted for a final decision;
- (2) The qualifications of the administrator co-administrator referenced in Paragraphs (3), (7), (8), and (12) (9) of Rule .2001 of this Subchapter shall apply to the supervisor-in-charge. The supervisor-in-charge must meet a minimum educational requirement by being at least a high school graduate certified under the G.E.D. Program or by passing an alternative examination established by the Department of Human Resources. This educational Human requirement shall apply only to supervisors in charge approved after January 1, 1977 -
- (3) The requirement to be at least a high school graduate or certified under the G.E.D. Program or to pass an alternative examination established by the Department to Human Resources shall apply only to supervisors-in-charge employed after January 1, 1977;
- (4) The supervisor-in-charge must verify that he earns 12 hours a year of continuing education credits related to the management of domiciliary homes and care of aged and disabled persons in accordance with procedures established by the Department of Human Resources; See Rule: 1802 of this Subchapter for an exception;
- (5) If a supervisor in charge reapplies for approval once he has terminated his employment in a domiciliary facility licensed in the state, the county department of social services is to expedite approval by using copies of material completed within the last 12 months on which approval was based. In addition, the county department of social services is to contact the administrator of the last facility where the applicant

worked to obtain a written statement about the quality of the applicant's job performance and level of dependability. When there is a break in employment as a supervisor-in-charge of one year or less, the educational qualification under which the person was last approved employed will apply.

.2006 QUALIFICATIONS OF ACTIVITIES COORDINATOR

(3) The activities
coordinator must be involved
with all residents; staff of
the facility; residents'
families; volunteers and
community resources to
provide a well rounded
program;

(4) The activities
coordinator
demonstrate through the
performance of his duties
that he recognizes the
abilities of residents to
make their own decisions and
the importance of assisting
residents through
programming to maintain
their dignity and usefulness
to themselves and others;
and

SECTION .2200 - ARRANGEMENT AND SIZE OF ROOMS

.2207 STORAGE AREAS
(b) There must be separate
locked areas(s) for storing
cleaning agents, bleaches,
pesticides, and other substances
which may be hazardous if
ingested, inhaled or handled.
Cleaning supplies must be
supervised while in use.

.2209 OUTSIDE ENTRANCES AND EXITS

(g) In homes with at least one resident who is determined by a physician or is otherwise known to be disoriented or a wanderer, each required exit door shall be equipped with a sounding device that is activated when the door is opened. The sound must be of sufficient volume that it can be heard by staff. A central control panel that will deactivate the sounding device may be used, provided the control panel is located in the bedroom of the person on call within the home. Currently licensed facilities will have 12 months to comply with this requirement.

.2212 HOUSEKEEPING AND FURNISHINGS

(a) The building and all fire safety, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing equipment must be maintained in a safe and

operating condition.
(b) Each home must:

(1) have walls, ceilings, and floors or floor coverings in kept clean and repair;

(2) have no chronic unpleasant odors;

have furniture clean and

in good repair;

(4) have a sanitary grade of 90 or above an approved sanitary classification at all times;

(5) be maintained in an uncluttered, clean and orderly manner, free of all obstructions and hazards;

(6) have an adequate supply of bath soap, clean towels, washcloths, sheets, pillow cases, blankets, and additional coverings on hand at all times;

make available the following items as needed through any means other than charge to the personal funds recipients of State-County Special Assistance:

(A) protective sheets and clean, absorbent, soft and smooth pads;

(B) bedpans, urinals, hot water bottles, and ice caps; and

bedside commodes, walkers, and wheelchairs;

(8) have television and radio, each in good working order; and

(9) have curtains, draperies blinds, where appropriate. See Rule :1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

(c) Residents will be allowed to bring their own furniture and personal belongings if permitted by the home.

(d) Each bedroom must have the following furnishings in good repair and clean for resident:

(1) Single bed equipped with box springs and mattress or solid link springs and no-sag innerspring or foam mattress. Hospital bed appropriately equipped must be arranged for as needed. A double bed is allowed if used only for single occupancy, unless occupied by husband and wife. A water bed is allowed if requested by a resident and permitted by the home. Each bed is to have following.

(A) at least one pillow with clean pillow case;

(B) clean top and bottom sheets on the bed, with bed changed as often as necessary but at least once a week; and

(C) clean bedspread and other clean coverings as

needed;

(2) a bedside type table; for each bed accessible to the resident while in bed;

(3) chest of drawers or bureau when not provided as built-ins, or a double chest of drawers or double dresser for two residents;

(4) a wall or dresser mirror that can be used by each

resident;

(5) a minimum of one comfortable chair (rocker or straight, arm or without arms, as preferred by resident), high enough from floor for easy rising;

(6) additional chairs available, as needed, use by visitors;

(7) individual clean towel and wash cloth, and towel

- bar; and
 (8) a bedside lamp or a light
 overhead of bed. with a toggle switch within reach of person lying on bed. The light must be of 30 foot-candle power for foot-candle power reading.
 The living room must have
- the following furnishings:
 - functional living room furnishings for the comfort of aged and disabled persons, with coverings cleanable;

(2) recreational equipment, supplies for games, books, and

(3) an easily readable clock; (see Rule :1802 of this Subchapter for exception); and

(4) a newspaper. (see Rule -1802 ofthis Subchapter for exception).

The dining room must have the following furnishings:

tables and chairs to seat all residents at one time; eating in the dining room; tables and chairs equal to the resident capacity of the home must be on the premises; and

(2) movable, non-folding chairs designed to minimize

.2213 FIRE SAFETY EQUIPMENT

(a) Fire extinguishers of the type recommended by the fire inspector must be provided. The minimum requirements are:

(1) one ten pound five pound or larger (net charge)
"A-B-C" type centrally

located; and

(2) one ten pound five pound or larger "A-B-C" or CO2 type located in the kitchen. A written fire evacuation fire/disaster plan (including a diagrammed drawing) which has the approval of the local fire department, must be prepared in large print and posted in a central location on each floor. The plan must be reviewed with each resident on admission and must be a part of orientation for all new staff.

(e) There must be at least four fire rehearsals of the fire/disaster plan each year. with at least one total evacuation of the building every six months: Records of rehearsals are to be maintained and copies furnished to the county department of social services for submission to the Division of Facility Services annually. The records must include the date and time of the rehearsals, staff members present, the length of time for the total evacutions, and a short description of what the rehearsal involved.

.2214 BUILDING SERVICE **EQUIPMENT**

(a) The building and all fire safety, electrical, mechanical and plumbing equipment must be maintained in a safe and

maintained in a safe and operating condition.

(c) The hot water tank must be of such size to provide an adequate supply of hot water to the kitchen, bathrooms, and laundry. The hot water temperature at all fixtures used by recidents must be maintained. by residents must be maintained at a minimum of 100 degrees F (38 degrees C) and must not exceed 110 degrees F (43 degrees C): 116 degrees F (46.7 degrees C): <u>C).</u>

SECTION .2300 - SERVICES

.2301 PERSONAL CARE Responsible staff must be on duty at all times to:

(4) Supervise, on an individual basis, residents who smoke and need supervision. The degree of supervision will be at the of the discretion administrator or supervisor-in-charge. The

home must have a written policy on smoking; except as indicated in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter;

2302 HEALTH CARE (d) If a resident is

hospitalized, a completed FL-2 or patient transfer form must be obtained before the resident can be readmitted to the facility.

(e) Between annual medical examinations there may be a need for a physician's care. The Form DSS-1867 or an equivalent record is to be used by the physican to report any drugs prescribed and any treatment given or recommended for minor illnesses.

(f) All contacts (office, home or telephone) with the resident's physician are to be recorded on Form DSS-1867 or an equivalent health services record which is to be retained in the resident's record in the home. The physician's orders must be included in the health services record used for the resident, as follows:

(1) When the resident is examined in the physician's office, the health services record is to be taken and the physician is to add all necessary information;

(2) When the physician examines the resident in the home, the physician is to add all necessary information into the health services record; and

(3) When a physician's order is given by telephone, the administrator or supervisor-in-charge must enter this into the health services record, initial it and have the physician sign it the next time he examines the resident in the home or office. office.

(e) The administrator must have specific written instructions recorded on Form DSS 1865 as to what to do in case of sudden illness, accident, or death of a resident.

2303 FOOD SERVICE

(a) Preparation and Serving of Food

(1) Sufficient staff, space, and equipment must be provided for safe, sanitary preparation focd including service, individual assistance residents as needed;

(2) The kitchen, dining, and food storage areas must clean, orderly,

protected from possible contamination;

(3) All meat processing must occur at a North Carolina Department of approved Agriculture

processing plant;

processing plant;
(4) Table service, which
means the place where the
resident is served food,
must include an appropriate
place setting. Typically, the place setting is include a minimum of knife, fork, teaspo knife, teaspoon, glass, napkin and a plate;

(5) When room service is necessary for phys physical and/or emotional reasons, it must be as complete as table service with special attention to preparation and prompt serving in order that correct temperatures of food are maintained. Hot food must be served hot (above 140 degrees F; 60 degrees C)
and cold food served cold.
(below 45 degrees F; 7
degrees C);

(6) If food is transported from the kitchen to dining area(s) other than the main dining room, it must be transported in a sanitary manner, with hot food served hot (above 140 degrees F; 60 degrees (+) and cold food served cold. (below 45 degrees F; 7 degrees (+).

(b) Storage of Food:

(1) All food being stored, prepared, and served must be protected contamination;

(2) Any home canning of fruits or vegetables must be processed using the pressure method; and

(3) At least one week's supply of food must be in the home. See Rule :1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

(c) Menu Planning:

(1) Menus must be planned , in writing, with quantities serving specified. or reviewed and (including signed registration number) by a registered dietitian or must be planned by the home and, in either case, must be planned in accordance with the requirements cited in Paragraph (d) of this Rule regarding Daily Service.

Menus must be in writing with serving quantities specified. The menus shall are to be prepared at least are to be prepared at least one week in advance. The use of four-week cycle menus

is encouraged.
(2) Menus must be dated in an acceptable manner and posted in the kitchen for the guidance of the food service staff;

(3) Any substitutions made in the menu must be of equal nutritional value and must be recorded before being served to indicate the foods actually served residents;

(4) Meals shall be planned taking into account the food preferences and customs of the residents. substitutes must be provided to residents who choose to be vegetarians or who by religious or cultural cultural preferences do not eat meat. However, an administrator may not impose his/her own vegetarian practices, other religious or cultural food practices on resident; and

(5) Menus as served and appropriate purel other receipts of purchases must be kept on file by the month for a year and are subject to periodic review by bona fide inspectors and the inspectors and licensing monitoring agencies:

(5) A copy of the NCDA

Diet Manual must be in the home for use in its food service. Where there is a cluster of homes, one diet manual may be shared by the

homes. (5) (6) Menus as served and invoices or appropriate receipts purchases must be kept on file by the month for a year and are subject to periodic review by bona inspectors and inspectors monitoring and licensing

agencies.

(e) Special Diets.

(1) All therapeutic or modified special diet orders must be in writing from the resident's physician. Special diet orders must be calorie or gram specific unless standing orders, which include the definition of any special diets, have been obtained from the chesician and are on file in physician and are on file in

the home.
(2) Menus for these special diets must be planned and or reviewed by a registered dietitian; or reviewed and (including

registration number) by a registered dietitian with the exception of the standing orders for special

<u>diets;</u>

(3) The administrator responsible for maintaining an accurate and current listing of residents for whom special diets have been prescribed and a special diet ordered, for use by food service personnel;

(4) The administrator shall ask a physician registered dietitian or for answers to questions about the diets of residents; and

(5) The administrator is responsible for assisting residents who need special diets in understanding and accepting these diets.

(f) Resources for Services: A copy of the NCDA Diet Manual must be in the home for use in food service: See Rule -1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

.2304 ACTIVITIES PROGRAM

(a) Each home must develop a program of activities designed to promote the residents' active involvement with each other, their families, and the community. The program is to provide social, physical, intellectual, and recreational activities in a planned, coordinated, and structured manner, using the Activities Coordinator's Guide, Activities Coordinator's Guide, a copy of which each facility is required to have. When there is a cluster of homes, one Activities Coordinator's Guide may be shared by the homes. program of activities designed

shared by the homes.
(b) The program must be designed to promote active involvement by all residents but is not to require any individual to participate in any activity

against his will.

(c) Each home must assign a person to be the activities coordinator, who meets the qualifications specified in Rule .2006 of this Subchapter. The activities coordinator is responsible for responding to the residents' need and desire for meaningful activities, by:

(1) Reviewing upon admission personal information about each resident's interests and capabilities recorded on an individualized index card or the equivalent. This card is to be completed from, at least, the information recorded on the Form Resident Register,

DSS-1865. It must maintained for use by the activities coordinator for developing activities and is to be updated as needed; See Rule .1802 of this of this Subchapter for an exception:

(2) Using the information on the residents' interests and capabilities to arrange for provide planned dual and group and inu group individual activities In addition to residents. individual activities, there must be a minimum of 10 hours of planned group activities per week; except

as indicated in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter.

(3) Preparing a monthly calendar of planned group activities which is to be in easily readable, print, posted in a prominent location on the first day of each month, and updated when there are any changes; See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception:

(4) Involving community resources, such recreational, volunteer, religious, aging developmentally disabled-associated agencies, to enhance activities available to residents. The coordinator may use the home's aides in carrying out some activities

with residents; and

(5) Evaluating <u>and</u> effectiveness of the activities activities program at least every six months with input from the residents through a group meeting with the residents and community residents and resources which have sponsored activities determine what have been the most valued activities and to elicit suggestions of ways to enhance the program. The adult homes specialist is to be notified of the meeting in advance. The effectiveness of both the individual and group activities are evaluated: of participation each resident in activities must be reviewed and discussed to aid the development of a program appropriate to each resident's needs, capabilities and interests. See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

(d) A variety of group and

individual activities must be provided. The program is to include, at least, the following types of activities:

(1) Social and Recreational

Activities:

(D) Each resident must have the opportunity to participate in at least one outing every other A resident month. month. A interested in involving himself in the community more frequently shall be encouraged and helped to do so. The coordinator is to contact volunteers and to to residents' families assist in the effort to get residents involved in activities outside the home; See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception:

.2305 OTHER PERSONAL SERVICES

(b) Mail.
(1) Residents shall receive their mail promptly and it must be unopened unless there is a written, witnessed request witnessed authorizing management staff to open and read mail to the resident. This request must be recorded on Form DSS-1865, the Resident Register or the equivalent;

(f) Visiting. (3) A signout register must be maintained for planned visiting and other scheduled absences which indicates the resident's departure time, expected time of return and the name and telephone number of the responsible party; except as indicated in Rule .1802 of Subchapter; and

SECTION .2400 - ADMISSION **POLICIES**

.2402 MEDICAL EXAMINATION (a) Each resident must have a medical examiniation including necessary tests for tuberculosis, before admission and annually thereafter. The necessary tests for tuberculosis are those recommended by the Division of Health Services for residents in high risk settings.

(b) The results of the complete examination are to be entered on Form FL-2. The examining date recorded on the FL-2 must be no more than 90 days prior to the person's admission/readmission to the home. The FL-2 must be in the facility before admission/readmission

accompany the resident admission/readmission and be reviewed by the administrator or supervisor-in-charge before If the admission/readmission. information on the form is not clear or is insufficient, the administrator supervisor-in-charge must the physician tion in order contact clarification determine if the services of the facility can meet individual's needs. completed Form FL-2 must be filed in the resident's record in the home.

(c) The administrator must make arrangements for resident, who has been inpatient of a psychia a psychiatric facility within 12 months before entering the home and who does not have a current plan for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local physician or a physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission and to have a plan for psychiatric follow-up care when indicated, using Form DSS-1867 or an equivalent record.

(d) If a resident is hospitalized; a completed FL 2 or patient transfer form must be obtained before the resident can be readmitted to the facility:
(e) Between annual medical

examinations there may be a need for a physician's care. The Form DSS-1867 or an equivalent record is to be used by the physician to report any drugs prescribed and any treatment given or recommended for minor illnesses:

(f) All contacts (office, home or telephone) with the resident's physician are to be recorded on Form BSS 1867 or an equivalent health services record which is to be retained in the resident's record in the home. The physician's orders must be included in the health services record used for the resident, as follows:

(1) When the resident is examined in the physician's office, the health services record is to be taken and the physician is to add all necessary information; (2) When the physician

examines the resident in the home, the physician is to add all necessary information into the health services record; and

(3) When a physician's order is given by telephone; the administrator or supervisor in charge must enter this into the health services record, initial it and have the physician sign it the next time he examines the resident in the home or office.

.2404 RESIDENT REGISTER
(b) The administrator or supervisor-in-charge must revise the completed Resident Register (Form DSS-1865) with the resident or his responsible person as needed. and review the Resident Register at least annually.

.2405 INFORMATION ON HOME At admission, the administrator or supervisor-in-charge must furnish and review with the resident or his responsible person essential information on the home. A statement indicating that this information has been received is to be signed and dated by each person to whom it is given. This statement must be retained in the resident's record in the home. The information must at least include:

 a copy of the home's resident contract specifying rates for resident services and accommodations;

(d) Rates must be commensurate with services required by the resident and accommodations provided by the home;

(2) a written copy of any house rules, including the conditions for the discharge and transfer of residents, the refund policies, and the home's policies on smoking, alcohol consumption and visitation. except as indicated in Rule :1802 of this Subchapter: The resident or his responsible person must be promptly notified of any change(s) in the house rules and provided an amended copy. All house rules must be consistent with the rules in this Subchapter;
(4) a copy of the home's

(4) a copy of the home's grievance procedures which must indicate how the resident is to present complaints and make suggestions as to the home's policies and services on behalf of himself or others; and See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception;

anu

SECTION .2500 - DISCHARGE POLICIES

.2501 OTHER LIVING ARRANGEMENTS

The administrator must notify discuss with the resident and his responsible person the need to make other plans for the resident when:

(1) The resident's physician indicates the resident's condition has improved to the point he can live outside a domiciliary facility with family and/or community

support services;

(2) The resident's physician certifies that the resident needs professional nursing care or intermediate care under medical supervision. In this situation, plans for other placement must be made as soon as possible and the county department of social services will assist the administrator and/or resident in making arrangements for necessary care when requested;

(3) The resident's condition is such that he is a danger to himself or others. If this is the opinion of the administrator, he must arrange for an appropriate professional evaluation of the resident's condition to certify the validity of the concern; and

(4) The resident makes a written request or otherwise indicates an earnest desire to transfer to another licensed home.

.2505 REQUIREMENTS FOR DISCHARGE

(c) Exceptions to the required notice are cases where a delay in discharge would jeopardize the health or safety of the resident or others in the home. as certified by the resident's physician and/or approved by the county department of social services.

SECTION .2700 - MEDICAL POLICIES

.2703 MANAGEMENT OF DRUGS
The administrator is
responsible for establishing and
implementing procedures for the
use of drugs by residents in the
home that are in accordance with
the requirements presented in
this Section. The administrator
must consult with a pharmacist,
physician, public health nurse,
or other registered nurse in
establishing these procedures.

(3) Labeling of Drugs
(b) The container label of
each prescription drug must
include the following
information:

(vi) the name of the drug

as prescribed. If generic equivalent drugs are dispensed, they must be dispensed in compliance with current state and federal regulations. The dispensing practitioner is to notify the facility if approved substitution occurs to prevent confusion and the generic name is to appear on the label;

(4) Administration of Drugs
(b) The administrator must
assure that only persons
authorized in writing by a
physician or local health
department give injections.
Registered nurses and
licensed practical nurses
are authorized to give
injections in accordance
with the provisions of the
Nursing Practice Act and no
further authorization is
required.

(i) Oral solid drugs must be prepared for administration within 24 hours of the prescribed time for administration. The administration must designate appropriately trained staff to be responsible for preparing the drugs for administration. See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

(j) If drugs are prepared for administration in advance, the following procedures must be used to keep the drugs identified up to the point of administration and protect them from contamination and spillage:

(v) Trays or other devices are to be locked in a the separate drug storage cabinet or closet to which only authorized persons have access; and

Review of Drugs. administrator is responsible for obtaining a drug regimen review of each resident at least every six months. The review is to be performed by pharmacist, physician, public health nurse, or other registered nurse. assure administrator must that he is informed of the results of the review. The Form FL-2 , Form DSS-1867 or the equivalent is to be maintained by the facility to record these findings, recommendations and corrective action. See Rule .1802 of this Subchapter for an exception.

SECTION .2900 - HANDLING FUNDS OF RESIDENTS

.2903 ACCOUNTING FOR PERSONAL FUNDS

(a) To document a resident's receipt of his personal needs allowance after payment of the cost of care, a statement must be signed by the resident, or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures. The statement is to be maintained in the home.

(b) Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal guardian or payee recorded on Form DSS-1865 or the equivalent, an administrator may handle the personal money for a resident, provided an accurate accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is available upon request of the resident or his legal quardian or payee. The administrator is to use Form DSS-1866 or an approved method of bookkeeping in maintaining the account.

(c) Every time the administrator receives or disburses personal funds, there must be a record of the transaction signed by the resident, or marked by the resident with two witnessess ignatures. There must be a record of each transaction. The record of transactions must be signed by the resident or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures at least monthly verifying the accuracy of the disbursement of personal funds. The record is to be maintained in the home.

(d) A resident's personal funds cannot be commingled with facility funds or with the personal funds of other residents in a savings account an interest-bearing account set up by the administrator. All or any portion of a resident's personal funds are to be available to the resident or his legal guardian or payee upon request during regular office hours, except as provided in Rule .3002 of this Subchapter.

SECTION .3000 - REFUND POLICIES

.3003 SETTLEMENT OF COST OR CARE

(a) If the resident, after being notified by the home of its intent to discharge him in accordance with Rule .2505(a) of this Subchapter, moves out of the home before the two weeks (14 days) has elapsed, he shall

receive a refund equal to the cost of care for the remainder of the month minus any nights spent in the home during the two week period. The refund is to be made within 14 days from the date of netice for a resident who is returning to an independent living arrangement in the community and within 30 days from the date of notice for all other circumstances where a resident is leaving the home.

resident is leaving the home.

(b) If the resident, after giving written notice to the home of his intent to leave in accordance with Rule .2505(b) of this Subchapter, moves out of the home before the two weeks (14 days) has elapsed, the resident owes the administrator an amount equal to the cost of care for the 14 days. If the two weeks' period for a resident receiving State-County Special Assistance extends into another month and the resident moves early, the former home is entitled to the required payment before the new home receives any payment. The resident shall be refunded the remainder of any advance payment following settlement of the cost of care. The refund is to be made within 14 days from the date of notice for a resident who is returning to an independent living arrangement in the community and within 30 days from the date of notice for all other circumstances where a resident is leaving the home.

(c) When there is an exception to the notice as provided in Rule .2505(c) of this Subchapter to protect the health or safety of the resident or others in the home, the resident is only required to pay fer any nights spent in the home. A refund is to be made within 14 days from the date of notice for a resident who is returning to an independent living arrangement in the community and within 30 days from the date of notice for all other circumstances where a resident is leaving the home

resident is leaving the home.

(d) When a resident leaves the heme with the intent of returning to it, the following apply:

(4) On notice by the resident or someone acting on his behalf that he will not be returning to the facility, the administrator must refund the remainder of any advance payment to the resident or his responsible person, minus an amount equal to the cost of care for the two weeks (14 days)

covered by the agreement.

The refund is to be made within 14 days from the date of notice for a resident who is returning to independent living arrangement in the community and within 30 days from the date of notice for all other circumstances where a resident is leaving the home;

SECTION .3100 - RECORDS AND REPORTS

.3101 RESIDENT'S RECORDS
(c) The following records must be maintained on each resident in the resident's record in the facility. They are to be kept in an orderly manner and be readily available for review by representatives of the monitoring and licensing agencies.

(3) Receipt for:

(B) house rules to include discharge/transfer and refund policies; except as indicated in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter;

(D) home's grievance procedures; and except as indicated in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter; and

(E) civil rights statement.

except as indicated in Rule .1802 of this Subchapter.

.3102 DISPOSAL OF RESIDENT'S RECORDS

(b) After a resident has left the home or died, his records must be put in order and filed in a safe place in the home for a period of three years, and then may be destreyed.

SECTION .3300 - APPLICATION PROCEDURES

.3301 EXISTING BUILDING
(c) The following forms and reports shall be submitted through the county department of social services to the state division of facility services:

(3) Form DSS 1862 (Application for Supervisor in Charge) where applicable;

(4) Form DSS-1863
(Recommendation for Supervisor in Charge) where applicable;

SECTION .3400 - LICENSING INFORMATION

.3402 RENEWAL OF LICENSE (a) The license will be

renewed annually on evidence
that:

(2) The following reports have been submitted to the county department of social services within each 12-month period which will forward them to the Division of Facility Services:
(E) DSS-1871

(Evaluation for Renewal of License). (Annual Recommendation for Renewal of License). This form is to be submitted by the county department of social services at least 30 days in advance of the expiration date of the license, with a copy to the administrator.

SUBCHAPTER 42D - LICENSING OF HOMES FOR THE AGED AND INFIRM

SECTION .1200 - GENERAL POLICES

.1202 EXCEPTIONS (REPEALED)

SECTION .1300 - MANAGEMENT

.1301 MANAGEMENT (b) In addition to the requirements in 10 NCAC 42C .1961 (a) and (c), the following describes the ways the administrator can manage the operation of a home for the aged and disabled. At all times there must be one approved or administrator supervisor-in-charge who is directly responsible assuring that all required duties are carried out in the home and for assuring that at no time is a resident left alone in the home without a staff member. of the following arrangements must be used:

(1) The administrator lives in the home, or resides within 500 feet of the home is immediately be available. To immediately avilable, the administrator must be on intercom system or a two-way intercom line on the existing telephone system that connects the licensed home with the private of residence the administrator. The equipment installed must be recognized by the North Carolina Department of Insurance as acceptable and in equipment the residence the administrator must be located in his bedroom; in working condition and must

be located in the bedroom of
the administrator; or

When there is a cluster of licensed homes, each with a capacity of 7 to 12 residents, located adjacently on the same site, there must be at least one staff member, either live-in or on a shift basis in each these homes. addition, there must be at least one administrator or supervisor-in-charge who lives within 500 feet of each home, is immediately available, and who is available, and who is directly responsible for assuring that all required duties are carried out in each home. To be immediately available, the administrator or supervisor-in-charge must be on stand-by and have direct access to either a two-way intercom system or a two-way intercom line on the existing telephone system that connects these homes with each other and with the residence of the administrator or supervisor-in-charge. The equipment installed must be recognized by the North Carolina Department of Insurance as acceptable and the equipment in residence of residence administrator or supervisor in charge must be located in his bedroom: working condition and must be located in the bedroom of the administrator or orsupervisor-in-charge.

SECTION .1400 - PERSONNEL

.1403 QUALIFICATIONS OF ACTIVITIES COORDINATOR

(b) Rules contained in 10 NCAC 42C .2006(1) through (5) (3) shall control for this subchapter.

.1404 QUALIFICATIONS OF FOOD SERVICE SUPERVISOR

(a) The food service supervisor shall be experienced in food service and willing to accept consultation from a registered dietitian. or nutritionist approved by the North Carolina Department of Human Resources.

SECTION .1500 - THE BUILDING

.1503 PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT
The home must provide ample
living arrangements to meet the
individual needs of the

residents, the live-in staff and other live-in persons.
(4) The requirements for the

bedroom are:

(j) Walls must be easily cleanable; and

The requirements for bathrooms and/or toilet rooms

(g) Each home must have at least one bathroom opening off the corridor with: a door three feet minimum width, a three feet by three feet roll-in shower designed to allow the staff to assist resident in taking shower without the staff getting wet, a bathtub accessible on at least two sides, a lavatory and a toilet. If the tub and shower are in separate rooms, each room must have a lavatory and a toilet. All fixtures must meet the State Building Code requirements the physically handicapped in effect at the time the building constructed;

(6) The requirements for storage rooms/closets are: (d) Housekeeping storage

requirements are: (ii) There must be separate locked area(s) for storing cleaning agents, bleaches, pesticides, and other substances which may be ingested, hazardous if inhaled or handled. Cleaning supplies must be supervised while in use;

The requirements for outside entrances/exits are: (d) In homes with at least resident who determined by a physician or is otherwise known to be disoriented or a wanderer, each required exit door shall be equipped with a sounding device that is activated when the door is opened. The sound must be of sufficient control panel that will deactivate the sounding device may be used provided the control panel is located in the office of the administrator.

.1504 HOUSEKEEPING AND **FURNISHINGS**

facilities will

Currently

requirement.

(a) The requirements in 10 NCAC 42C .2212 shall control for this Subchapter, except that a newspaper and an easily readable clock must be provided

months to comply with this

in the homes for the aged and disabled as of April 17 1984. home for the aged and disabled must have an approved sanitary classification at all times in a home with twelve beds or less and must have a sanitary grade of ninety or above at all times in a home with thirteen beds or

SECTION .1600 - FIRE SAFETY AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS

1602 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS (a) At least one 10 pound pound or
A-B-C <u>or larger</u> charge) fire type extinguisher is required for each 2,500 square feet of floor area or fraction thereof.

(b) One 10 pound five pound or larger (net charge) A-B-C or co2 type is required in the kitchen and, where applicable, in the maintenance shop.

.1603 PLAN FOR EVACUATION (a) A written fire evacuation fire/disaster plan (including a diagrammed drawing) which has the approval of the local fire department must be prepared in large print and posted in a central location on each floor. The plan must be reviewed with each resident on admission and must be a part of t orientation for all new staff.

(b) There must be at least rehearsals of the department <u>fire/disaster</u> plan each year (four times on each shift). With at least one total evacuation of the building every six months (one on first and second shifts). All third shift personnel are to participate in the two total evacuations.

(c) Records of rehearsals shall be maintained and copies furnished to the county department of social services to be submitted to the Division of Facility Services annually. The records must include the date and time of the rehearsals, the shift, staff members present, the length of time for the total and a short evacuations, description of what rehearsal involved.

.1605 OTHER REQUIREMENTS (a) The building and all fire safety, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing equipment must be maintained in a safe and operating condition.

(c) The hot water system must

be of such size to provide an adequate supply of hot water to the kitchen, bathrooms, laundry, housekeeping closet(s) and soil

licensed

have

utility room. The hot water temperature at all fixtures used by residents must be maintained at a minimum of 100 degrees F (38 degrees C) and must not exceed 110 degrees F (46.7 degrees C).

SECTION .1700 - SERVICES

.1704 ACTIVITIES PROGRAM
The requirements in 10 NCAC
42C .2304 shall control for this

(1) There must be a minimum of 10 hours of planned group activities per week as of April 1, 1984, in all homes for the aged and disabled; and

(2) All homes for the aged and disabled are responsible for the preparation of a monthly calendar of planned group activities as of April 1, 1984.

.1705 OTHER PERSONAL SERVICES
The requirements in 10 NCAC
42C .2305 shall control for this
Subchapter. except that a
signout register must be
maintained for planned visiting
and other scheduled absences in
all homes for the aged and
disabled as of April 1, 1984.

CHAPTER 49 - AFDC

SUBCHAPTER 49D - WORK SUPPLEMENTATION PROGRAM (WSP)

.0001 WSP OPERATION
(a) Requirements pertaining to operation of WSP are found in 45

CFR 239.
(b) WSP will be operated only in limited specific geographical areas of the State. The areas will be determined by the Division of Social Services.

.0002 ELIGIBILITY FOR PARTICIPATION

AFDC recipients or applicants in the following categories shall be eligible to volunteer to participate in WSP:

(a) AFDC recipients living in the specified areas who are not exempt from the work requirement in place in that area; and,

(b) AFDC recipients who are exempt from work registration solely due to being the caretaker of a child between the ages of three to six years.

.0003 WSP PROCEDURES
(a) AFDC payment amounts will

be diverted into the wage pool up to a maximum of nine months per participant.

(b) No residual payment will be provided to the AFDC recipient.

(c) The amount to be diverted will remain fixed during the WSP period.

(d) Monthly reporting will be required for all WSP participants.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Department of Human Resources intends to amend regulation cited as 10 NCAC 46D .0103.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: 143B-10; 143B-153(2a).

The public hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on February 13, 1987 at Albemarle Building, 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

Comment Procedures: Written comments concerning this amendment must be submitted by February 12, 1987, to the Secretary, Department of Human Resources, to the attention of the APA Coordinator, Office of Legislative & Legal Affairs, 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611. Oral comments may be presented at the hearing.

CHAPTER 46 - DAY CARE RULES

SUBCHAPTER 46D - STATE DAY CARE SERVICE FUNDS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0103 ELIGIBILITY
(e) Child day care services
provided to children who meet
the eligibility criteria for
Child Welfare Services funds as
provided in the North Carolina
Division of Social Services
Family Services Manual, Volume
1, Chapter 11 on or after July
1, 1986, may be paid for with
state day care funds.

TITLE 14A - DEPARTMENT OF CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the ALE Division intends to amend regulation cited as 14A NCAC 8B .0101.

The proposed effective date of this action is May 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 18B-500; 143B-10; 150B-11; 150B-14.

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 14, 1987 at The Library, Second Floor, Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Any interested person may present comments relevant to the action proposed at the public hearing either in written or oral form. Written statements not presented at the public hearing must be directed prior to January 14, 1987 to the Administrative Procedures Coordinator, Second Floor, Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh or P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh, NC 27611.

CHAPTER 8 - ALCOHOL LAW ENFORCEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 8B - PERSONNEL REGULATIONS

SECTION .0100 - EMPLOYMENT REGULATIONS

.0101 ALE MANUAL ADOPTION BY REFERENCE

(a) The Alcohol Law Enforcement Division of the Department of Crime Control and Public Safety adopts by reference the portions of the ALE Manual, Personnel Regulations 8B .0100-.0400, effective November 8, 1985 May 1, 1987.

(b) Copies of the manual may be inspected in the Administrative Procedures Section of the Attorney General's Office, 10 E. Jones Street, Office of Administrative Hearings, Raleigh, North Carolina or the ALE Division Office, Ground Floor, Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

TITLE 15 - NR&CD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend regulations cited as 15 NCAC 2D .0103; .0501; .0505; .0524 through .0525; .0528; and .0533 and 15 NCAC 2H .0603.

The proposed effective date of this action is June 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.68; 150B-14.

The public hearing will be conducted at 2:00 p.m. on January 20, 1987 at Ground Floor Hearing Room, Archdale Building, 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: All persons interested in these matters are invited to attend the public hearings. Persons desiring to comment on the proposals are requested to give written notice thereof on or before the hearing date. Any person desiring to present lengthy comments is requested to submit a written statement for inclusion in the record of proceedings at the public hearing. The record of proceedings will remain open for 30 days following the hearing to receive additional written statements; to be included, the statement must be received by the department within 30 days. Copies of the proposals may be reviewed at the regional offices of the North Carolina Department of Natural Resources and Community Development, Division of Environmental Management, located in the following cities:

Asheville	(704)	253-3341
Fayetteville		486-1541
Mooresville	(704)	663-1699
Raleigh	(919)	733-2314
Washington	(919)	946-6481
Wilmington	(919)	256-4161
Winston-Salem	(919)	761-2351

Additional information concerning the hearing or the proposals may be obtained by contacting:

Mr. Thomas C. Allen Div. of Environmental Mgmt. P. O. Box 27687 Raleigh, NC 27611-7687 (919) 733-3340

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES

.0103 COPIES OF REFERENCED
FEDERAL REGULATIONS
(a) Copies of applicable Code
of Federal Regulations sections
referred to in this Subchapter
are available for public

inspection at Department of Natural Resources and Community Development regional offices.

They are:

(2) Winston-Salem Regional Office, 8003 North Point Boulevard, Suite 100, 8025 North Point Boulevard, 8025 Winston-Salem, Carolina 27106;

SECTION .0500 - EMISSION CONTROL STANDARDS

.0501 COMPLIANCE WITH EMISSION CONTROL STANDARDS

The procedures for determining compliance with sulfur dioxide emission control standards for fuel burning sources may be either by determining sulfur content with fuel analysis or by stack sampling. If a source chooses to demonstrate compliance by analysis of sulfur in fuel, by to sampling, preparation, and analysis of fuels shall be accordance with following American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) methods: (A) coal:

(i) sampling--ASTM Method D 2234- 82; (ii) preparation—ASTM Method D 2013- 72;

(iii) gross calorific value (BTU)--ASTM Method D 2015- 85;

(iv) moisture content--ASTM Method D 3173- 85; (v) sulfur content--ASTM Method D 3177- 84;

oil;

(i) sampling-- A sample shall be collected at the pipeline inlet to the fuel burning unit after sufficient fuel has been drained from the line to remove all fuel that may have been standing in the line; standing in the line;
ASTM Method D 270;
(ii) heat of combustion
(BTU) --ASTM Method D

240-85; (iii) sulfur content-ASTM Method D 129-64 (reapproved 1978). The sulfur content and BTU content of the fuel shall be reported on a dry basis. Combustion sources choosing demonstrate compliance through stack sampling shall follow procedures described in Method 6 of Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60. (g) The version of the methods

referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Regulation is that which

appeared in the Code of Federal Regulations as of May 1, 1986. November 1, 1986.

CONTROL OF PARTICULATES FROM INCINERATORS

(b) If the particulate emissions from any incinerator do not exceed 0.00 grains per dry standard cubic foot corrected to 12 percent carbon dioxide, Paragraph (a) of this Regulation shall not apply. Instead of meeting the standards in Paragraph (a) of this Regulation, the owner or operator of an incinerator may choose to limit particulate emissions from the incinerator to 0.08 grains per dry standard cubic foot corrected to 12 percent carbon dioxide. In order to choose this option, the owner or operator of the incinerator shall demonstrate that the ambient air quality standards will not be violated.

To correct to 12 percent carbon dioxide, the measured concentration of particulate matter is multiplied by 12 and concentration of particulate matter is multiplied by 12 and divided by the measured percent carbon dioxide.

.0524 NEW SOURCE PERFORMANCE **STANDARDS**

(a) Sources of the following types when subject to new source standards performance promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 shall comply with the emission standards, monitoring and requirements, reporting requirements, maintenance notification and record keeping requirements, performance test requirements, test method and procedure provisions, and any other provisions, as required therein, rather than with any otherwise-applicable regulation in this Section or Section .0900 of this Subchapter which would be in conflict therewith:

(54) Onshore Natural Gas Processing: SO(2) Emissions (40 CFR 60.1 to 60.39 and

60.640 to 60.649); (55) Basic Oxygen Process
Steelmaking Facilities
Which Construction Is Commenced After January 20, 1983: (40 CFR 60.1 to 60.39 and 60.140a to 60.149a).

(e) The version of the new source performance standard listed in Paragraph (a) of this Regulation is that which appeared in the Code of Federal Regulations as of May 1, 1986. November 1, 1986.

.0525 NATIONAL EMISSION STANDARDS FOR HAZARDOUS

AIR POLLUTANTS (a) Sources emitting pollutants of the following types when subject to national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 shall comply with emission standards, monitoring and reporting requirements, maintenance requirements, notification and record keeping requirements, performance test requirements, test method and any other provisions, as required therein, rather than with any otherwise-applicable regulation in this Subchapter or Section .0900 of this Subchapter which would be in conflict therewith:

(7) equipment leaks (fugitive emission sources) (of volatile hazardous air pollutants) (40 CFR 61.01 to 61.19 and 61.240 to 61.249); (8)

inorganic arsenic emissions from glass manufacturing plants (40 CFR 61.01 to 61.19 and 61.140 to 61.149); (9) inorganic arsenic

emissions from primary copper smelters (40 CFR 61.01 to 61.19 and 61.170 to 61.179);

(10) inorganic arsenic emissions from arsenic trioxide and metallic arsenic production facilities (40 CFR 61.01 to 61.19 and 61.180 to 61.189);

(e) The version of the ational emission

national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants in Paragraph (a) of this Regulation is that which appeared in the Code of Federal Regulations as of October 1, 1984. November 1, 1986.

.0528 TOTAL REDUCED SULFUR

FROM KRAFT PULP MILLS
(c) Emissions of total reduced sulfur from any kraft pulp mill subject to this Regulation shall not exceed:

(8) 0.0168 0.033 pounds per ton of black liquid solids (dry weight) from any smelt dissolving tank.

.0533 STACK HEIGHT

(a) For the purpose of this Regulation, the following definitions apply:

(7) "Emission limitation" means a requirement
established by this
Subchapter or a local air
quality program certified by the commission that limits the quantity, rate, or concentration of emissions of air pollutants on a

continuous basis, including any requirements that limit the level of opacity, prescribe equipment, set fuel specifications, prescribe operation maintenance procedures for a source to assure continuous emission reduction.

SUBCHAPTER 2H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS: APPROVALS

SECTION .0600 - AIR QUALITY **PERMITS**

.0607 COPIES OF REFERENCED DOCUMENTS

(a) Copies of applicable Code of Federal Regulations sections referred to in this Section and the North Carolina State Implementation Plan for Air Quality appendix of conditioned permits are available for public inspection at Department of Natural Resources and Community Development regional offices, They are:

(2) Winston-Salem Regional Office, 8003 North Point Boulevard, Suite 100, 8025 North Point Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27106;

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend regulations cited as 15 NCAC 10B .0105(a); .0201; .0202(a) and .0203(b)(c)(d)(e); and .0204(a); .0205(a); .0206(a); and .0208(a); .02 .0207(a)(c); .0209(a); .0200(a); and .0210(a); .0212(a); .0214(a); .0215(a); 15 NCAC 10C .0205(a); .0305(a) and (b)(8) and (12); .0407(87) and (92); 15 NCAC 10D .0002(c) and (e); .0003(c) and (d)(2)(3)(4)(5); 15 NCAC 10H .0901(b)(1). and

The proposed effective date of this action is July 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: 113-134 through 113-306 and 50 CFR 20 and 21.

The public hearing schedule is as follows: District 1 - February 18, 1987 - Old Chowan County Courthouse, Edenton, NC - 7:00 p.m.; District 2 - February 19, 1987 - Craven County Courthouse, New Bern, NC - 7:00 p.m.; District 3 - February 23, 1987 - Johnston County Johnston County ouse, Smithfield, NC -Courthouse, Smithfield, NC - 7:00 p.m.; District 4 - February 16, 1987 - Old Cumberland County Courthouse, Fayetteville, NC

7:00 p.m.; District 5 - February
17, 1987 - Alamance County
Courthouse, Graham, NC - 7:00
p.m.; District 6 - February 9,
1987 - North Stanly High School,
Albemarle, NC - 7:00 p.m.;
District 7 - February 11, 1987 Wilkes County Courthouse,
Wilkesboro, NC - 7:00 p.m.;
District 8 - February 12, 1987 Civic Center Auditorium,
Morganton, NC - 7:00 p.m.;
District 9 - February 10, 1987 Swain County Courthouse, Bryson
City, NC - 7:00 p.m.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present their views either orally or in writing at the hearings. In addition, the record of the hearings will be open for receipt of written comments from January 20, 1987, to 5:00 p.m. on February 20, 1987. Such written comments must be delivered or mailed to the Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury St., Archdale Bldg., Raleigh, NC 27611.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS

.0105 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
(a) Cooperative State Rules
(1) The taking of sea ducks
(scoter, eider and old
squaw) during any special
federally-announced season
for these species shall be
limited to the waters of the
Atlantic Ocean, and to those
coastal waters south of US
64 which are separated by a
distance of at least 800
yards of open water from any
shore, island or marsh.
(2) The extra daily bag and

possession limits allowed by the federal regulations on scaup apply in all coastal waters east of U.S. Highway 17, except Currituck Sound north of US 158.

(3) The North Carolina open season on canvasback ducks is limited to the last 10 days of the regular duck season established by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the area of open season is that part of Pamlico Sound, including such of its tributaries as are designated as coastal fishing waters, lying within two miles of the mainland

(Outer Banks excluded) and extending from Long Shoal Point in Bare County southwesterly to Piney Point on the north side of Broad Greek near Whortonsville, and upstream in Pamlico Sound to the Aurora Belhaven ferry crossing. Those wishing to hunt canvasback during such season and in such area must first obtain from the Wildlife Resources Commission a free canvasback hunting permit which is required for the purpose of assuring post season reports of hunting success.

(4) (3) Tundra swans may be taken during the open season by permit only subject to limitations imposed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. A limited number of non-transferable swan permits will be issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission without charge to as many applicants who will be selected at random by computer, and only one swan
may be taken under each
permit which must be cancelled at the time of the kill by cutting out the month and day of the kill. Accompanying the permit is a metal tag which must be affixed at the base of the right wing of the swan at the time and place of the kill. In addition, a preaddressed postpaid card is supplied to each permittee on which to report the number of days hunted and the details of the kill if made. It is unlawful to hunt swans without having the permit and the tag in possession or to possess a swan without the cancelled permit in possession and the tag properly affixed to the swan.

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING

.0201 PROHIBITED TAKING
It is unlawful for any person
to take, or have in possession,
any wild animal or wild bird
listed in this Section except
during the open seasons and in
accordance with the limits
herein prescribed, or as
prescribed by 15 NCAC 10B .0300
pertaining to trapping or 15
NCAC 10D applicable to game
lands managed by the Wildlife
Resources Commission, unless
otherwise specifically permitted
by law. Lawful seasons and bag
limits for each species apply

beginning with the first day of the listed season and continue through the last day of the listed season, with all dates being included except Sundays. State law prohibits hunting with firearms on Sunday except on On military installations under the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal government 7 where the open seasons include Sundays. When any hunting season ends on

when any nunting season ends on a January 1 that falls on a Sunday, that season is extended to Monday, January 2.

Note: Where local laws govern hunting, or are in conflict with these regulations, the local law shall provail

shall prevail.

.0202 BEAR

(a) Open Seasons

(1) October 13 November 22 and December 15 Monday on or nearest October 15 to the Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third Monday after Thanksgiving to Januray 1 in and west of the boundary formed by NC 16 from the Virginia State line to Wilkesboro and NC 18 from Wilkesboro and NC 18 from Wilkesboro to the South Carolina State line.

(2) November 10 15 Second Monday in November to the following Saturday in Hyde, Jones and Pamlico Counties.

(3) November 10 Second Monday in November to January 1 in Bladen, Carteret, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow and

New Hanover, Onslow and Pender Counties; in that part of Cumberland County south of NC 24 and east of the Cape Fear River; and in that part of Sampson County south of NC 24.

(4) December & Second Monday
in December to January 1 in Brunswick and Columbus Counties.

.0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED) (b) Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons)

(1) Male Deer With Visible Antlers

(A) October 13 Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 1 in the following counties and parts of counties:

Beaufort Lenior Bertie Martin Bladen Nash New Hanover Northampton Brunswick Camdem Carteret Onslow Chowan Pamlico *Columbus Pasquotank Pender Craven

Currituck Perquimans Dare Pitt Duplin **Richmond Edgecombe Robeson Franklin **Scotland Tyrrell Gates Vance Greene Halifax Warren Hertford Washington Hoke Wayne Hyde Wilson Jones

* Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its shoreline.
 ** See 15 NCAC 10D .0003 (d)(2) for seasons on Sandhills Gare Land

Sandhills Game Land.

Cumberland: All of the county except that part north of NC 24 east of Fayetteville and east of NC 210 north

Fayetteville.
Harnett: That part west

of NC 87.

Johnston: All of the county except that part south of US 70 and west

south of US 70 and west of I-95.

Moore: That part south of NC 211 and east of US 1, except on the Sandhills Game Land [See 15 NCAC 10D .0003(d)(2)].

Sampson: That part south of NC 24 west of Clinton and NC 403 east of Clinton.

Clinton.

Wake: That part north of NC 54 west of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh.

(B) November 24 December 6
Monday of Thanksgiving week to second Saturday after Thanksgiving Day in the following counties and parts of counties:

Alexander Alleghany Ashe Catawba Davie Forsyth Gaston Iredell Stokes Surry <u>Watauga</u> Wilkes

Yadkin Lincoln: All of the county except that part east of US 321 and west of NC 27, SR 1360, SR 1349 and SR 1371.

Mecklenburg: That part west of I-77, south of NC 73, cast of the Catawba River, and north

Catawba River, and north

of NC 16 and SR 2004, except Cowan's Ford Waterfowl Refuge. Moore: That part north of NC 211 and west of US 1. Wake: That part south of NC 54 west of Raleigh and US 70 east of Watauga: All of the county except that part north and west of NC Raleigh. (C) November 24 December 13

Monday of Thanksgiving
week to third Saturday
after Thanksgiving Day in
the following counties and
parts of counties: Averv Four consecutive periods of Friday and Saturday beginning with the second Friday in October in these parts of Western Street Str Buncombe Burke Caldwell Cherokee in those parts of Hyde and Washington Counties Clay Cleveland known as the Pungo National Wildlife Graham Haywood Henderson Refuge. (B) October 13 Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 1 in that part of Brunswick County Jackson Macon Madison McDowell known as the Sunny Point Military Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven County known and marked as Cherry Point Marine Base, in that part of Mitchell Polk Rutherford Swain Transylvania Yancey
Macon: All of the county Onslow County known and marked as the Camp Lejeune Marine Base, and on Fort Bragg Military Reservation in the except that part bounded by US 64 on the northeast, US 441 on the west, and NC 106 on the Reservation in the counties of Cumberland, Hoke and Moore. south: (D) November 17 Monday
before Thanksgiving week
to January 1 in the
following counties and
parts of counties: Hoke and Moore.
(C) October 22, 25, 29,
23, 24, 30, 31 and
November 1, 7, 8, 11,
15, 21, 22 6, 7, 11, 13,
14, 20, 21 in those
parts of Camden, Gates
and Pasquotank Counties
known as the Dismal Montgomery Anson Orange Caswell Person known as the Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Randolph Chatham Davidson Rockingham Refuge.
(D) October 1-31 with bow Durham Rowan Granville Stanly not oner 1-31 with how and arrow only and November 1-5-7-8-14-15-7, 11, 13, 14, 20, 21 in those parts of Anson and Richmond Counties known as the Pee Dee Notice Wildlife Guilford Lee Cabarrus: That part east of I-85. Cumberland: That part
north of NC 24 east of
Fayetteville and east of
NC 210 north of National Refuge Fayetteville, excluding the but (E) October 21 25 20-24 with bow and arrow only and November 1, 5 8, 10 11 October 31 and November 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10 in that part of Currituck County known as the Mackay Island National Wildlife excluding the area located north and east of a boundary formed by US 13, US 301, SR 1802, SR 1709 and the Cape Fear River.

Harnett: That part east of NC 87 and west of US 401 north of Lillington and the Cape Fear River Refuge. (F) December 3 Wednesday
of the week following
Thanksgiving in all of
Catawba, Cleveland, south of Lillington.

Johnston: That part south
of US 70 and west of

I-95.

Iredell, Rutherford and

Surry Counties; in all of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Burke, Caldwell, Davie, Stokes and Wilkes
of Alexander, Alleghany,
Ashe, Burke, Caldwell,
Davie, Stokes and Wilkes
counties except game
lands. (G) December 3-4 Wednesday and Thursday of the week following Thanksgiving in all of Franklin Dare and Pitt and Vance Counties and in the following parts of counties: Beaufort: That part northwest of a
(G) December 3-4 Wednesday
and Thursday of the week
following Inanksqlving
in all of Franklin pare
Counties and in the
following parts of
counties:
Reaufort: That part
northwest of a boundary formed by NC 32, US 264 and US 17.
boundary formed by NC
32. US 264 and US 17.
Cabarrus: That part
Cabarrus: That part east of US 52.
Carteret: All of the
county except game
lands.
cast of US 52. Carteret: All of the county except game lands. Craven: That part bounded on the south by SR 1005, on the east by SR 1243, SR 1401, SR 1400 and SR 1440, and on the north by NC 43.
bounded on the south
by SR 1005, on the
east by SR 1243, SR
1401, SR 1400 and SR
1440, and on the north
by NC 43.
Currituck: All of the
county except the
by NC 43. Currituck: All of the county except the Outer Banks area.
Davidson: That part south of I 05; except
south of 1 up; except
on game lands.
Edgecombe: That part south of US 64.
South of 05 04.
Lancin: That namt couth
Lenoir: That part south
Lenoir: That part south
Lenoir: That part south
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NO 211; except game lands:
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands: Nash: That part north of HS 64
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands: Nash: That part north of HS 64
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands: Nash: That part north of HS 64
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64; Pamlico: All of the county except game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands: Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands: Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211, except game lands: Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211, except game lands: Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River,
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64: Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River, except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River, except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River, except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands:
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands:
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River, except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of I 85 and east of US 52, except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands: Wake: That part north of NC 54 west of
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 185 and east of US 52; except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands: Wake: That part north of NC 54 west of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh.
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64: Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands: Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 1 85 and east of US 52; except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands: Wake: That part north of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh. Wayne: That part south
Lenoir: That part south of the Neuse River. Moore: That part south of NC 211; except game lands. Nash: That part north of US 64. Pamlico: All of the county except game lands. Pasquotank: All of the county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge. Richmond: That part east of Little River; except on game lands. Robeson: That part east of a boundary formed by SR 1004, NC 41, NC 211, SR 1620, SR 2225, NC 130 and NC 41. Rowan: That part south of 185 and east of US 52; except on game lands: Stanly: All of county except game lands: Wake: That part north of NC 54 west of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh and US 70 east of Raleigh.

```
to Saturday of the week following Thanksgiving in all of Alamance,
Caswell,
                             Chatham,
                            Franklin,
Durham,
Granville, Martin,
Orange, Person, Pitt,
                     Rockingham
and .
Rockingham and Vance
Counties and in the
following
                       parts
counties:
Anson: All of the
    lands and the Pee Dee
    National
                              Wildlife
    Refuge.
Cabarrus: That part
east of US 52.
Currituck: That part
east
    east
                       of
                                   the
    Intracoastal Waterway,
    except the Outer Banks and the Mackey Island
                            Wildlife
    National
    Refuge.
Davidson: That part
south of I-85, except
game lands.
Edgecombe: That part
south of US 64.
Guilford: That part
north of a boundary
formed by I-40 and
    I-85.
Hyde: All of the
    county except Pungo
National Wildlife
                            Wildlife
    Refuge
Moore: That part south of NC
    except game lands.
Nash: That part
   north of US 64
Perquimans: That part
south of US 17 and
east of Perquimans
    River.
Randolph: That part
south of US 64 and
west of US 220, except
on game lands.
Richmond: That part
east of Little River,
except game lands.

Rowan: That part
south of I-85 and east
of US 52, except game
Sampson: That part
north of a boundary
formed by US 701, SR
1157, SR 1004 and SR
1926, and south of a
boundary formed by SR
1214 and NC 24.
Stanly: All of the
    county except
lands.
Wake: That part
north of NC 54 west of
    Raleigh and north of US 70 east of Raleigh.
<u>Washington:</u>
```

west of NC 32 and south of US 64.
(I) December 3-13 Wednesday of the week following Thanksgiving to Saturday of next succeeding week in all of Duplin, Halifax, of Duplin, Halifax, Northampton ; Perquimans and Warren Counties and in the following parts of counties:
Beaufort: That part southeast of the boundary formed by NC 32, US 264 and US 17, except on game lands.
Bladen: That part east of a boundary formed by NC 242; NC 410; SR 1339; the Lyon Store Tram Road; and the Cape Fear River; the Cape Fear River,
All of the county
except on game lands.
Brunswick: That part
north and east of a
line formed by US 17,
NC 211, and the Columbus: That part east of US 701, NC 130, SR 1157, SR 1141, SR 1139, SR 1118, SR 1108 and SR 1104. Craven: All of the county except game lands and except that part bounded on the south by SR 1005, on the east by SR 1243, SR 1401, SR 1440, and on the north by NC 43.
Edgecombe: That part Edgecombe: That part north of US 64.

Hyde: All of the
county except Pungo
National Wildlife Johnston: That part south of US 70 and east of I-95.

Jones: All of the county except game Montgomery: All of the county except on game lands. New Hanover: That part north of US 74. Onslow: All of the county except game except game lands. Perquimans: All of the county except that part south of US 17 and east of Perquimans River. Richmond: That part west of Little River, except Pee Dee National Wildlife

Refuge.

Sampson: That part south of a boundary formed by US 701, SR 1157, SR 1004 and SR

1926.

(J) Becember 3 13 and
Becember 29 January 1
Wednesday of the week
following Thanksqiving
to Saturday of the next
succeeding week and the
last three days of the
regular gun season for
deer in all of Bertie,
Chowan and Hertford
counties, and in the
following parts of following parts counties:
Gates: All of the

county except Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge.
Pender: All of the county except game

lands.

(3) Game Lands Either-Sex
Hunts. On the hunt dates
indicated, deer of either
sex may be taken by
permittees engaged in managed hunts conducted on game lands in accordance with 15 NCAC 10D

.0003(d)(4). (c) Open Seasons (Bow and

Arrow) (1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule (and except where prohibited by local law), deer of either sex may be taken with bow and arrow during the following seasons:

(A) September 8 October 4 Monday on or nearest
September 10 to the
fourth Saturday
thereafter in the
counties and parts of
counties having the open
season for male deer
specified by Part (A) of
Subparagraph(b)(1) of
this Rule, except on the
Sandhills Game Land.

(B) September 8 November

15 Monday on or nearest
September 10 to the
second Saturday before Thanksqiving in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for male deer specified by Part (B) of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule this Rule.

(C) September 8 October 4 and October 13 November 22 Monday on or nearest September 10 to the fourth Saturday thereafter, and Monday on or nearest October 15 to the Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for male deer specified by Part C of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, except in Yancey County.

(D) September 8 November 8 Monday on or nearest September 10 to the third Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for male deer specified by Part D of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, and on Sandhills Game Land.

Yancey County (A) September 8 October 4 Monday on or nearest
September 10 to the
fourth Saturday
thereafter for antlered deer only.

(B) October 13 November 22 Monday on or nearest October 15 to the Saturday before Thanksgiving for deer of

either sex.
(3) Restrictions

(A) Dogs may not be used for hunting deer during bow and arrow season.

(B) It is unlawful to carry any type of firearm while hunting with a bow during the bow and arrow deer

hunting season.
(C) Only bows and arrows
of the types authorized in 15 NCAC 10B .0116 for taking deer may be used during the bow and arrow deer hunting season.
(d) Open Seasons (Muzzle-

Loading Rifles and Shotguns)
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may be taken only with muzzle-loading firearms during the following seasons:

(A) October 6 11 Monday on or nearest October 8 to the following Saturday in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for male deer specified by Items (A) and (C) of Subparagraph (b) (1) of this Rule, except

Sandhills Game Land.
(B) November 17 22 Monday to Saturday of the week preceding Thanksgiving week in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for male deer specified by Item (B) of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule (b)(1) of this Rule.
(C) November 10 15 Monday

to Saturday of the second week before Thanksgiving week in the counties and parts of counties having the open season for male deer specified by Part D of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, and on the Sandhills Game Land.
(2) Restrictions

(A) Only male deer with visible antlers may be taken during the muzzle loading-firearms

seasons.
(B) Dogs may not be used for hunting deer during the muzzle-loading muzzle-loading firearms seasons.

(C) Pistols may not be carried while hunting deer during the muzzle-loading firearms

seasons.

(e) Bag Limits (1) Male Deer With Visible Antlers Daily, two; possession, two; season,

four.
(A) Daily, one; possession; two; season; two, including deer killed elsewhere, in and west of the counties of Madison, Buncombe and Rutherford.

(B) Daily, two; possession; two; season; four; including deer killed elsewhere; in and east of the counties of Yancey, McDowell, Burke

and Cleveland.
(2) Antlerless Deer. Where antlerless deer may be lawfully taken, a maximum of two antlerless deer may be substituted for an equal number of antlered deer in the limits contained in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, and one additional antlerless one additional antierless deer is permitted without substitution when taken during an either-sex season in county or part of county included in Part (A) of Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule. Antierless of this Rule. Antlerless deer include males with

knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes protruding through the

(3) Managed Game Land Hunts. Excluded from the possession and season limits set forth in Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph are deer of either sex taken by permittees engaged in managed hunts conducted on game lands in accordance with 15 NCAC 10D .0003(d)(4) and (5), such deer being in addition to the specific possession and season limits set out in this Paragraph.

.0204 WILD BOAR (BOTH SEXES) (a) Open Seasons: October 13-November 22 and December 15-November 22 and December 15

Monday on or nearest October 15

to the Saturday before

Thanksgiving, and the third

Monday after Thanksgiving to

January 1, except on bear

sanctuaries located on the game

lands in and west of the

counties of Madison, Buncombe,

Henderson and Polk, where the

boar seasons are controlled by

15 NCAC 10D .0003(d)(3)(B).

.0205 RACCOON AND OPOSSUM

(a) Open Seasons

(1) October 13 (at sunrise) Sunrise Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 31 in and west of Stokes, Forsyth, Davie, Iredell, Mecklenburg and Union Counties, except as follows:

(A) There is no open season for hunting raccoon or opossum in the described raccoon relocation areas in the following counties:

(i) Jackson: That part north of SR 1762 and NO 281, east of SR 1757, and south of SR 1756 ·

(ii) Madison: That
part north of the
French Broad River,
south of US 25 70 and
west of SR 1319.

(iii) Polk: That part
northwest of NO 108
and west of I-26 south
of Columbus:

of Columbus.

(iv) Rutherford: That part east of SR 1006, north of SR 1769 and west of SR 1749.

that part of Madison County lying north of the French Broad River,

south of US 25 west of SR 1319. 25-70 and

(D) Training raccoon and opossum dogs at night is opossum dogs at night is prohibited from April † through August †5 in Caldwell and Rutherford Counties. March 1 through August 31 in or west of Stokes, Forsyth, Davie, Iredell, Catawba, Lincoln and Gaston Counties, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

(2) October 20 (at sunrise)
February 28 Sunrise Monday
on or nearest October 22 to
the last day of February in
and east of Rockingham,
Guilford, Davidson, Rowan,
Cabarrus, Stanly and Anson Counties.

.0206 SQUIRRELS
(a) Open Seasons
(1) Gray and Red Squirrels:

October 13 Monday on or

nearest October 15 to

January 31 statewide.
(2) Fox Squirrels: October

13 Monday on or nearest

October 15 to December 31 in
the counties of Anson. the counties of Anson,
Bladen, Brunswick,
Cumberland, Duplin, Greene,
Harnett, Hoke, Johnston,
Moore, New Hanover, Onslow,
Pender, Pitt, Richmond,
Sampson, Scotland and Wayne.

.0207 RABBITS

(a) Open Season: November 22 February 28, Saturday next preceding Thanksgiving to the last day of February, provided that on the Pea Island National

Wildlife Refuge managed youth rabbit hunting is authorized from October 1 to December 13.

(c) Box-traps. During the period from October 1 to March 31, both dates included hunting season specified in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule and subject to
the bag, possession and season
limits set forth in Paragraph
(b) of this Rule, rabbits may be taken with box-traps.

.0208 QUAIL

(a) Open Season: November 22-February 28. Saturday next preceding Thanksgiving to the last day of February.

.0209 WILD TURKEY (BEARDED TURKEYS ONLY)

(a) Open Season: April 11May 9 Second Saturday in April
to Saturday of the fourth week
thereafter on bearded turkeys

only, except there is no open season in the counties of Anson, Brunswick, Chowan, Davidson, Davie, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Mitchell, Perquimans, Hyde, Polk, Randolph, Rowan, Rutherford 7 and Scotland and Surry, and in the following portions of counties:

Bertie: That part north of US 17 and east of US 13.

Bladen: That part east of NC 53 and west of NC 210.

Brunswick: That part north of Brunswick: That part north of NC 210. Brunswick: That part north of Cherokee: That part south of SR 1505 and US 19-129 and north of US 64. Columbus: That part north of NC 87. aven: That part west of US 70, BUS 70 and NC 55 east of Craven: New Bern. That part north and Cumberland: west of US 401. Graham: That part west of NC 28, south of SR 1242, east of US 129 and north of NC 143. Harnett: That part south of US 421 and west of US 401.
Haywood: That part south of US
23 and that part south and west of I-40. Henderson: That part east of I-26. Jackson: That part south of US 23 and east of NC 107 and NC 281. Johnston: That part east of I-95. Jones: That part west of US 17.
Lee: That part south of US 421 and east of US 1.
Montgomery: That part north of NC 24-27.
Moore: That part south of NC 211 and east of US 1.
Pender: That part south of NC 210. Randolph: That part north of US 64 and west of US 220.
Richmond: That part east of US 220 and north of US 74, and that part west of US 109. Transylvania: That part north of US 64, east of NC 281 and west of NC 215.
Watauga: That part south of US 421 and east of US 321. Wilkes: That part south of US 421 and north of NC 268. Note: No open season in Gates County by local law. .0210 RUFFED GROUSE (NATIVE

PHEASANT)

(a) Open Season: October 13-Pebruary 28 Monday on or nearest October 15 to last day of February.

.0211 PHEASANT (NONNATIVE VARIETIES)

(a) Open Season: November 22-Thanksgiving to February 1 on male pheasant only. except that the season is October 1 February 1 on Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge Wildlife Refuge where birds of either sex may be taken.

.0212 FOXES (GRAY AND RED)

(a) Seasons(1) No closed season on taking foxes with dogs;

(2) January 6-27 First
Saturday to fourth Saturday in January with weapons or traps in the following counties: Alexander Henderson Anson Hyde Averv Johnston Brunswick Macon Camden Moore Caswell Northampton Clay Perquimans Currituck Sampson Edgecombe Stanly Stokes Graham Granville Tyrrell

(3) No open weapons or trapping season in any other county. <u>except</u> provided by local laws.

0214 WILDCAT (BOBCAT)

(a) Open Seasons

(1) December 15 Third Monday
after Thanksgiving to
January 31 in and west of Stokes, Forsyth, Davie, Iredell, Mecklenburg and Union Counties, except there is no open season in the following parts of counties:

Cherokee: That part north of US 64 and NC 294, east of Persimmon Creek and Hiwassee Lake, south of Hiwassee Lake, and west of

Nottely River. ackson: That part north of SR 1762 and NC 281, east of SR 1757 and south of SR Jackson: 1756.

Madison: That part north of the French Broad River, south of US 25-70, and west of SR 1319. Polk: That part northwest of NC 108 and west of I-26

south of Columbus.
Rutherford: That part east
of US 221 and north of
Business US 74.

(2) December 15 February 15 Third Monday after
Thanksgiving to the second
Saturday in February in all other counties.

.0215 CROWS (a) Open Seasons: Each Thursday, Friday and Saturday from June 1 to February 28, both

Linville River (first bridge on SR 1223 below Lake James powerhouse to Muddy dates inclusive, of each week from July 1 to the last day of February and from June 1 to June 30 and on Labor Day and Creek)
(U) Swain County:
Little Tennessee River Christmas Day. Note: Federal law protects crows and limits state seasons to a maximum of 124 days (not trout water) Calderwood Lake (Cheoah Dam to Tennessee State line) Lake per year. SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING Tuckaseigee River (not REGULATIONS trout water) Deep Creek (Great
Smoky Mountains
National Park
boundary line to
Tuckaseigee River) SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN Oconaluftee River TROUT WATERS (not trout water)
Ela Dam (Lake)
Connelly Creek (a) Designation of Public Mountain Trout Waters. On game lands located in western North Carolina certain waters are classified and designated as public mountain trout waters. Those not further specifically classified as native trout Alarka Creek Nantahala River (Macon County line to existing water level of Fontana Lake)
(W) Watauga County: waters are classified as general trout waters. (See 15 NCAC 10D .0004) Other streams, portions of streams and bodies of water which are not located on game lands are designated within this New River, North Fork (Ashe County) Hoskins Fork New River, South Fork (not trout water) Rule as public mountain trout waters and are classified as general or native trout waters. These waters are posted and lists thereof are filed with the Meat Camp Creek
Norris Fork Creek
Howards Creek (downstream from lower falls) clerks of superior court of the counties in which they are Winkler Creek (not trout water)
Flannery Fork
Middle Fork (Lake
Chetola Dam to New located. (1) General Trout Waters. The general public mountain trout waters which are not located on game lands are designated in this Subparagraph under the River) Yadkin River (not trout water) Stony Fork Creek to on SR Elkcounties where located. (headwaters to gravel pit on SR 1508, except where posted against Indentation indicates the watercourse named is tributary to the next preceding watercourse named and not so indented. The designation applies to the trespass) Watauga River (Avery County line to SR 1114 impoundment named except as otherwise indicated bridge) otherwise indicated in parentheses following the name. Other clarifying information may also be Beech Creek Buckeye Creek Reservoir Coffee Lake Laurel Creek Cove Creck (SR 1233 included parenthetically: (E) Burke County: Catawba River (not trout bridge at Zionville to SR 1233 bridge at water) South Fork Catawba River Amantha) (not trout water)
Henry River (lower Dutch Creek Crab Orchard Creek Morganton watershed Boone Fork (headwaters to SR line downstream to SR
1919 at Ivy Creek)
Jacob Fork (Shiny
Creek to lower South
Mountain State Park 1562) (Y) Yancey County: Nolichucky River (not trout water)

boundary)

against trespass]

GAME FISHES	DAILY CREEL LIMITS	MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS	OPEN SEASON (EXCPTN. 2)
Mountain Trout (All Species)	7 (excptn. 3)	None (excptn. 3)	July 1-Feb. 20 & 1-2 hr. before Sunrise April 4 June 30 All year, except March 1 to 1/2 hr. before sunrise on first Saturday in April (excptns. 2 & 3)
Muskellunge And Tiger Musky	2	30 in.	ALL YEAR
Chain Pickerel (Jack)	None (excptn. 1)	None	ALL YEAR
Walleye	8 (excptn. 9 & 10)	None (excptn. 9)	ALL YEAR
Black Bass: Largemouth	8 (excptn. 8 & 10)	14 in. (excptn. 4, 8 & 11)	ALL YEAR
Smallmouth & Spotted	8 (excptn. 8 & 10)	12 in. (excptn. 4, 8 & 11)	ALL YEAR
White Bass	25 (excptn. 1)	None	ALL YEAR
Sea Trout (Spot- ted or Speckled)	None	None	ALL YEAR
Striped Bass and their hybrids (Morone Hybrids)	8 aggregate (excptns. 1 6 & 12)	16 in. (excptns. 1, 12 & 13)	ALL YEAR
Kokanee Salmon	7	None	ALL YEAR

Panfishes

None (excptn. 5)

ALL YEAR (excptn. 5)

NONGAME FISHES

None

ALL YEAR None (excptn. 7)

Lee, Orange, and Wake. Rockingham,

SECTION .0400 - NONGAME FISH

.0407 PERMITTED SPECIAL DEVICES AND OPEN SEASONS Except in designated public mountain trout waters, and in impounded waters located on the Sandhills Game Land, there is a year-round open season for the licensed taking of nongame fishes by bow and arrow. Seasons and waters in which the use of other special devices is authorized are indicated by counties below:

None

(87) Tyrrell:
(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Scuppernong River, Alligator Creek, and Lake Phelps and its the drainage canals of Lake Phelps except Bee Tree Canal within 50 yards of the Lake Phelps fish ladder;

(b) December 1 to June 5 with dip and bow nets in all inland public waters, inland public waters, excluding <u>Lake Phelps</u>, Bee Tree Canal within 50 yards of the Lake Phelps fish ladder, public lakes, ponds and other impounded waters; and with gill nets in

Alligator Creek;

(92) Washington:
(a) July 1 to June 30 with
traps in Lake Phelps and its the drainage canals of Lake Phelps;

(b) December 1 to June 5 with dip and bow nets in all inland public waters, excluding Lake Phelps, public lakes, ponds and other impoundments; and with gill nets in Conaby Creek;

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS

.0002 GENERAL REGULATIONS REGARDING USE

(c) Possession of Hunting Devices. It is unlawful to possess a firearm or bow and arrow on a game land at any time except during the open hunting season seasons or hunting days for game birds or game animals thereon unless said device is cased or not immediately available for use, provided that such devices may be possessed and used by persons

(b) Exceptions(8) The maximum combined number of black bass of all species that may be retained is eight fish, no more than two of which may be smaller than the applicable minimum size limit. The minimum size limit for all species of black bass is 12 inches in Currituck Sound and tributaries north of Wright Memorial Bridge; in North River and tributaries in Currituck and Camden Counties north of a line between Camden Point and the end of SR 1124; and in and west of Madison, Buncombe, Henderson and Polk Counties. In B. Everett Jordan
Reservoir a daily crecl
limit of four fish and a
minimum size limit of 16
inches, with no exception, apply to largemouth bass.
In Falls of Neuse Reservoir,
east of SR 1004, Lake Tillery and Tuckertown Lake the daily creel limit for black bass is four fish, no black bass hetween the lengths of 12 inches and 16 inches inches may be retained, and the minimum size limit for black bass is 16 inches, except that the 16 inches, except that the daily creel may contain two black bass of less than 12 inches in length. In John H. Kerr Reservoir and Lake Gaston the daily creel of Gaston the daily creel of five fish shall apply to black hass, provided that this limit shall hecome effective only when and if the State of Virginia imposes a like creel limit for black bass taken from

those impoundments.
(12) There is no daily creel limit or minimum size limit for Morone hybrids in the following waters:

(A) W. Kerr Scott Reservoir in Wilkes County;

(A) (B) Salem Lake in Forsyth County; (B) (C) Lake Fisher in

Rowan Cabarrus and Counties;

(C) (D) Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County;

(D) (E) All waters within the counties of Alamance, Chatham, Durham, Guilford,

participating in field trials on field trial areas and on target shooting areas designated by the landowner, and possessed camping areas for designated defense of persons and property; and provided further that .22 caliber pistols with barrels not greater than seven and one-half inches in length and shooting only short, long or long rifle ammunition may be carried as side arms on game lands at any time other than by hunters during the special bow and arrow and muzzle-loading firearms deer by hunting seasons and individuals training dogs during closed season without field trial authorization. This Rule shall not prevent possessing or use of a bow and arrow as a licensed special fishing device in those waters where such use authorized. During the closed firearms seasons on big game (deer, bear, boar, wild turkey), no person shall possess a shotgun shell containing larger than No. 4 shot or any rifle larger than a .22 caliber rimfire while on a game land, except that shotgun shells containing No. 2 shot may be used on Croatan, Goose Creek and Gull Rock Game Lands.

(e) Field Trials and Training Dogs. A person serving as judge of a field trail which, pursuant to a written request from the sponsoring organization, has been officially authorized in writing and scheduled for occurrence on a game land by an authorized representative of the Wildlife Resources Commission, and any therein may do so withprocuring a game lands license, provided such nonresident has in his possession a valid hunting license issued by the state of his residence. Any individual or organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial grounds or the Laurinburg Fox Trail facility shall file with the commission's agent an application to use the area and facility accompanied by a check for the facility use fee computed at the rate of fifty (\$50.00) for dollars each scheduled day of the trail. total facility use fee The will cover the period from 12:00 noon of the day preceding the first scheduled day of the trial to 10:00 a.m. of the day following the last scheduled day of the trail. The facility use fee must be paid for all intermediate days on which for

any reason trials are not run but the building or facilitites are used or occupied. A fee of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) per day shall be charged to sporting, educational, scouting groups for scheduled events utilizing the club house only. No person or group of persons or any other entity shall enter or use in any manner any of the physical facilities located on the Laurinburg Fox Trial or the Sandhills Field Trial grounds without first having obtained specific written approval of such entry or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources Commission, and no such entry or use of any such facility shall exceed the scope of or continue beyond the specific approval so obtained. The Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used only for field trials scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife Resources Commission. No more than 16 days of field trials may be scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during any calendar month, and no more than four days may be scheduled during any calendar week, provided that a field trial requiring more than four days may be scheduled during one week upon reduction of the maximum number of days allowable during some other week so that the monthly maximum of 16 days is not exceeded. Before October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field Trial Association or other Field Trial Association or other organization desiring use of the Sandhills facilities between October 22 and November 18 and between December 3 and March 31 must submit its proposed schedule of such use to the Wildlife Resources Commission its consideration and for The use of approval. the Sandhills Field Trial facilities at any time by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; elsewhere on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays from October 1 through April 1.

Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed between April 1 and August 15 March 1 and August 31 on any game land located west of I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

.0003 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS (c) Time and Manner of

Taking. Except where closed to hunting or limited to specific dates by these regulations, hunting on game lands is permitted during the open season for the game or furbearing species being hunted. On managed waterfowl impoundments, hunters shall not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier. nunters shall not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates, and hunting is prohibited after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates. On Butner, Falls of Neuse, New Hope and Sheron Harris Game Lands waterfowl hunting is limited to the period from one-half hour the period from one-half hour before sunrise to 1:00 p.m. on the open hunting days. No person shall operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an or vehicle powered by an internal combustion engine on a managed waterfowl impoundment. No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal which has been so mutilated. No person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game land, salt, grain, any game land, salt, grain, fruit or other foods without prior written authorization of the commission or its agent and no person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game animals attracted to such foods. No person shall use an electronic calling device for the purpose of attracting wild birds or wild animals. No live wild animals or wild birds shall be removed from any game land.

(d) Hunting Dates

(2) Any game may be taken during the open seasons on the following game lands and hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays and Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days. In addition, deer may be taken with bow and arrow on the opening day of the bow and arrow season for deer. Raccoon and opossum hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on Saturdays. Additional restrictions apply as indicated in parentheses following specific designations:

Ashe County--Carson Woods
Game Land
Beaufort and Craven
Counties--Big Pocosin Game
Land (Dogs may not be
trained or used in hunting
from March 2 to August 31.

Trapping is controlled by the landowner.)

Bertie County-Bertie County
Game Lands

Bladen County-Bladen Lakes
State Forest Game Lands
(Handguns may not be
carried and, except for
muzzle-loaders, rifles
larger than .22 caliber
rimfire may not be used or
possessed. On the Breece
Tract and the Singletary
Tract deer and bear may be
taken only by still
hunting. Except on the
Breece and Singletary
Tracts, persons hunting
deer with any type of
weapon during the regular
gun season must first
obtain a permit at a
designated check station,
and return the permit to
the check station after
the day's hunt is
completed.)

completed.)
Cabarrus County--River View

Acres Game Land
Caswell County-Caswell Game
Land (That part designated
and posted as a "safety
zone" is closed to all
hunting and trapping, and
entry upon such area for
any purpose, except by
authorized personnel in
the performance of their
duties, is prohibited. On
areas posted as
"restricted zones" hunting
is limited to bow and
arrow.)

Lenoir County--H.M. Bizzell, Sr. Game Land

Onslow County--White Oak
River Impoundment Game
Land (In addition to the
dates above indicated,
waterfowl may be taken on
the opening and closing
days of the applicable
waterfowl seasons.)

Pender County-Holly Shelter Game Land (In addition to the dates above indicated, waterfowl may be taken on the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.)

Richmond, Scotland and Moore
Counties—Sandhills Game
Land [Except when hunting
raccoon or opossum between
sunset and sunrise, every
hunter must first obtain a
permit at a designated
check station, and must
return the permit to the
check station after the
day's hunt is completed.
Hunters will be assigned
to designated
compartments, and it is

unlawful for any person to hunt in any area other than within his assigned compartment. The operator of cach vehicle must display his party's compartment designation on or within the windshield so that it can be read from the outside. The regular gun season for deer consists of the open bunting dates from hunting dates from November 17 to December 13r the second Monday from before Thanksqiving to the third Saturday after Thanksqiving except on the field trial grounds and the adjoining area on the north bounded on the east by SR 1003, on the north by Naked Creek and on the west by A 6 Lane where the gun season is November 17-29 from the second Monday before Thanksgiving to the Saturday following <u>Thanksgiving</u> Deer may be taken with bow and arrow on all open hunting dates during the bow and arrow season (September 8 November 8); as well as during the regular gun season. Deer may be taken with muzzle-loading firearms on November 10, 12 and 15 Monday, Wednesday and Saturday of the second week before the second week before
Thanksgiving week, and
during the regular gun
season. Except for the
deer seasons above
indicated and the managed either-sex permit hunts, the field trial grounds and the adjoining area on the north bounded on the east by SR 1003; on the north by Naked Greek and on the west by A 6 Lane are closed to all hunting during the period October 22 to March 31. In addition to the regular hunting days, waterfowl may be taken on the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.]

Robeson County--Keith Farm Game Land (No deer may be

taken.)

Stokes County--Sauratown Plantation Game Land Yadkin County--Huntsville Community Farms Game Land (3) Any game may be taken

on the following game lands during the except that: the open season,

(A) Bears may not be taken on lands designated and posted as bear sanctuaries;

(B) Wild boar may not be taken with the use of dogs on such bear sanctuaries, and wild boar may be hunted only during the bow and arrow seasons and the regular gun season on male deer on bear sanctuaries located in and west of the counties of Madison, Buncombe, Henderson and Polk;

(C) On game lands located in or west of the Counties of Rockingham, Guilford, Randolph. Montgomery and Anson, dogs may not be used for any hunting (day or night) during the regular season for hunting deer with guns; except that small game may be hunted with dogs in season on all game lands, other than bear sanctuaries, in the counties of Cherokee, Clay, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk and Swain;

(D) On Croatan, Goose Creek, New Hope Shearon Harris Game Lands waterfowl may be taken only on Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays; on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days; and on the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons; except that outside the posted waterfowl impoundments on Goose Creek Game Land hunting any waterfowl in season is permitted any week day during the last 10 days of the regular duck season as established by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; from Mondays through Saturdays;

(E) On the posted waterfowl impoundments of Gull rock Game Land hunting of any species of wildlife is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays; Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days, and the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;

(F) On bear sanctuaries in and west of Madison, Buncombe, Henderson and Polk countires dogs may not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and October 11;

(G) Additional restrictions

apply as indicated parentheses follow following specific designations and (H) On Butner, Falls of
Neuse and Person Game
Lands waterfowl may be
taken only on Tuesdays,
Thursdays and Saturdays,
Christmas and New Years
Days, and on the opening
and closing days of the
applicable waterfowl applicable waterfowl seasons. Alexander and Caldwell Counties--Brushy Mountains Game Lands Anson County--Anson Game Land Ashe County--Bluff Mountain Game Lands Ashe County--Cherokee Game Lands Ashe and Watauga Counties --Elk Knob Game Land Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Madison, McDowell, Transyl<u>v</u>ania, Mitchell, and Yancey Watauga Counties--Pisgah Lands (Harmon Den and Sherwood Bear Sanctuaries in Haywood County are closed to hunting raccoon, opossum and wildcat. Training raccoon opossum dogs is prohibited from March 1 to October 11 in that part of Madison County north of the French Broad River, south of US 25-70 and west of 1319.) Beaufort, Bertie and Washington Counties--Bachelor Game Lands Bay Beaufort and Pamlico Counties--Goose Creek Game Bertie County Game Land Brunswick County --Green Swamp Game Land Burke County--South Mountains Game Land Burke, McDowell and Rutherford Counties--Dysartsville Game Lands Caldwell County--Yadkin Game Land Carteret County--Lukens Island Game Land Carteret, Craven and Counties--Croatan Jones Game Lands Chatham County--Chatham Game Land Chatham and Wake Counties--New Hope Game Lands Chatham and Wake

Counties--Shearon Harris Game Land Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain and Transylvania Counties--Nantahala Game Lands (Raccoon and opossum may be hunted only from sunset Friday until sunrise on Saturday and from sunset until 12:00 midnight on Saturday on Fires Creek Bear Sanctuary in Clay County and in that part of Cherokee County north of US 64 and NC 294, east of Persimmon Creek and Hiwassee Lake and west of Nottely River; in the same part of Cherokee County dog training is prohibited from March 1 to October 11. It is unlawful to train dogs or allow dogs to run unleashed on Fires Creek Bear Sanctuary at any time, except that dogs may be used when hunting raccoon or opossum and for hunting grouse and rabbits during the open seasons. It is unlawful to train dogs or allow dogs to run unleashed on any game land in Graham County between March 1 and October 11 March 1 and October 11.)
Cleveland County--Gardner-Webb Game Land Craven County--Tuscarora Game Land Currituck County--North River Game Land Currituck County--Northwest River Marsh Game Dare County--Dare Game Land (No hunting on posted parts of bombing range.)
Davidson, Davie and Rowan Counties--Alcoa Game Land Davidson County--Linwood Game Land Davidson, Montgomery, Stanly Randolph and Counties--Uwharrie Game Land Duplin and Pender Counties--Angola Bay Game Durham and Granville
Counties-Butner Game Land
(On that portion posted as
the National Guard Rifle Range hunting and trapping is prohibited except during the following periods: September 8 137 November 15 227 and becember 8 the first week
of the bow and arrow
season for deer, the last
day of the muzzle-loading

season and the first week
of the regular gun season
of the regular gun season for deer, and the second
Monday after Thanksgiving
to January 1. On portions
Monday after Thanksgiving to January 1. On portions of the Butner Game Land
designated and posted as "safety zones" and on that
"safety zones" and on that
part marked as the Penny
Bend Rabbit Research Area
no hunting is permitted.
no hunting is permitted. On portions posted as
"restricted zones" hunting
is limited to bow and
is limited to bow and arrow during the bow and
arrow season and the
regular gun season for
deer.)
Durham, Granville and Wake
CountiesFalls of Neuse
Game Lands
Franklin CountyFranklin
Game land Gates CountyChowan
Gates CountyChowan
Swamp Game Land Granville CountyGranville
Granville CountyGranville
Game Lands
Halifax CountyHalifax
Game Land
Harnett CountyHarnett
Game Land
Henderson, Polk and
Rutherford CountiesGreen
River Game Lands
Hyde CountyGull Rock Game Land
Kock Game Land
Hyde CountyPungo
River Game Land Hyde and Tyrrell Counties
New Lake Game Land
Johnston County Johnston Game Land
Jones and Onslow Counties
Jones and Unsiow Countles

--Hofmann Forest Game Land Lee County--Lee Game Land McDowell County--Hickory Nut Mountain Game Land Moore County--Moore Game Land New Hanover County--Catfish Sutton Lake Game Land Northampton County--Northampton Game Land Orange County--Orange Game Land Person County--Person Game Land Richmond County--Richmond Game Land Transylvania County--Toxaway Game Land Tyrrell county-Alligator Creek Game Land Vance County--Vance Game Land Wake County-Wake Game Land Warren County-Warren Game Lands Washington County--Scuppernong Game Land Wilkes County Thurmond Chatham Game land (4) Deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt dates indicated by holders of permits to participate in managed hunts scheduled and conducted in accordance with this Subparagraph on the game lands or portions of game lands included in the following table schedule:

HUNT NUMBER	GAME LAND	HUNT DATE
<u>†</u>	Pisgah in McDowell Cty	12/20
2	Pisgah in Burke Cty	12/20
중	Pisgah in Avery Cty	12/20
4	Pisgah in Caldwell Ctv	12/20
2 3 4 5	Pisgah in Yancey Cty north	
-	of US 19-19E	12/20
6	Thurmond Chatham	12/13
6 7 8 9 10	Thurmond Chatham	12/20
á	South Mountains	12/20
0		
. 7	Carson Woods	12/13
10	Sandhills east of	
	US 1	12/18-19
11	Sandhills west of	
	US 1	12/18 19
12	Uwharrie & Alcoa southeast	
	of NC 49	12/3-4
13	Croatan	12/3-4
10		
14	Holly Shelter	12/4-5
15	Big Pocosin	12/4-5

Wednesday and Thursday of the first week after Thanksgiving Week:

<u>Croatan</u> Uwharrie

Uwharrie & Alcoa southeast of NC 49
Thursday and Friday of the first week after Thanksgiving Week. Big Pocosin

Holly Shelter

Third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day:

Carson Woods Thurmond Chatham

Thursday and Friday of the third week after Thanksgiving Week;

Sandhills east of US 1 Sandhills west of US 1

Fourth Saturday after Thanksgiving Day:

<u>Green River</u> Pisgah in Avery County Pisgah in Burke County
Pisgah in Caldwell County
Pisgah in McDowell County
Pisgah in Yancey County north of US 19-19E

South Mountains Thurmond Chatham

Application forms for permits to participate in managed deer hunts on game lands, together with pertinent information and instructions, may be obtained from hunting and fishing license agents and from the Wildlife Resources Commission. Completed applications must be received by the commission not later than the first day of October next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits are issued by random random computer selection, are mailed to the permittees 30 days prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. Each permit is accompanied by an appropriate big game tag. A hunter making a kill must tag the deer and report the kill to a wildlife cooperator agent.

(5) Except as otherwise indicated, the following game lands or indicated indicated portions thereof are closed to all hunting:

Caswell County--Caswell Game Land (That portion designated and posted as a "Safety Zone") Dare county--Dare

Game Lands (Those parts of bombing range
against hunting) range posted

Gaston, Lincoln and Mecklenburg Counties-Cowan's Ford Waterfowl Refuge (except for youth either-sex deer hunts by permit only on October 4 and 11 the first and second Saturdays in October)

SUBCHAPTER 10H - REGULATED **ACTIVITIES**

SECTION .0900 - GAME BIRD **PROPAGATORS**

.0901 GAME BIRD PROPAGATION LICENSE
(b) Limitations. The
license authorizes the purchase, possession, propagation, sale

and transportation of propagated upland game birds and migratory game birds, and their eggs in accordance with the other rules of this Section, subject to the following limitations conditions:

(1) No wild turkey may be propagated or sold for the purpose of restocking, and it is unlawful to release any wild turkey to the wild for any purpose or to allow any wild turkey to range free;

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend regulations cited as 15 NCAC 10H .0101; .0109 and .0907.

The proposed effective date of this action is June 1, 1987.

Authority: Statutory 113-134; 113-273; 113-291.1.

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 20, 1987 at Room 386, Archdale Bldg., 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may express their views either orally or in writing at the hearing. In addition, the record of the hearing will be open for receipt of written comments from January 21, 1987, to 5.00 nm or February 20 to 5:00 p.m. on February 20, 1987. Such written comments must be delivered or mailed to the Wildlife Resources Resources Commission, 512 N. S St., Raleigh, NC 27611. Salisbury

SUBCHAPTER 10H - REGULATED ACTIVITIES

SECTION .0100 - CONTROLLED SHOOTING PRESERVES

.0101 LICENSE TO OPERATE It is unlawful for any individual, firm, association or corporation to operate a controlled shooting preserve shooting preserve without first obtaining from the

North Carolina Wildlife
Resources Commission a license
for this purpose. "Controlled
shooting preserve" means an
area on which only
domestically-raised game birds
are taken. A controlled
shooting preserve license shall
entitle the holder or holders
thereof, and their guests, to
kill or take, during an extended
season, starting October 1 and North Carolina Wildlife season, starting October 1 and ending March 31, on such preserves by shooting only, and without regard to sex or bag limits, domestically-raised pheasants, chukar partridges, Hungarian partridges, domestic ducks (as defined by the United States Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife), or other game birds, except wild turkey. Application for controlled shooting preserve licenses shall be made on standard forms obtainable from the commission. Applicants must be prepared to show satisfactory proof of ownership of the land contained in the proposed shooting preserve or that they have this land under proper lease for the duration of the license period. Upon receipt of an application accompained by a fee of fifty dollars (\$50.00), the commission shall issue a license, provided it is determined that the location and operation of such a shooting preserve is consistent with the wildlife conservation program and in the public program and in the public interest; and further provided, that all regulations herein regarding establishment of such areas have been complied with. All such licenses shall expire on the 31st day of March each year, regardless of date issued.
Controlled shooting preserve
licenses shall not be transferable, either as to operator or as to site of operation.

.0109 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS (e) Specifications

(1) Enclosure. The call pen cage shall be of wood and wire construction with at least 16 square feet of surface area. At least one third of the cage area shall consist of a wooden box offering shade and refuge for the caged birds.
(2) Exclosure. The call pen enclosure shall be surrounded by a dog proof fence, at least five feet high, containing a surface area of at least 64 square feet. The fence must be securely attached to corner

posts of two inch pipe or sturdy timbers.

(e) (f) Inspection and Registration. After construction and prior to use, each call-pen trap shall be inspected by a representative of the Wildlife Resources Commission and provided with a registration card which must be securely attached and visibly displayed on the trap.

SECTION .0900 - GAME BIRD PROPAGATORS

.0907 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS Any licensed game bird propagator who raises quail and who wishes to release live pen-raised quail on his premises for dog training purposes may apply to the Wildlife Resources Commission for a permit to use one quail call-pen trap for the purpose of recovering such quail. Such call pen trap shall be constructed according to the specifications and inspected and registereed in accordance with the provisions of 15 NCAC 10H .0109 pertaining to licensed controlled shooting preserve operators; and no such trap shall be located within 100 yards of any outside boundary of the licensed premises. The application for permit shall be on a form provided by the commission and shall be accompanied by two copies of a reasonably accurate map delineating the boundaries of the premises and indicating the proposed location of each trap. No such trap shall be located within 100 yards of any outside boundary of the premises. The number of traps shall be limited according to the size of the tract of land constituting the described premises: one trap for a tract containing less than 300 acres, two traps for a tract containing 300 acres or more but less than 600 acres, and three traps for a tract containing 600 acres or more. After placement of any trap and prior to use, the same shall be inspected by a representative of the Wildlife Resources Commission and provided with a registration card which must be securely attached and visibly displayed on the trap. During the season of permitted use of the traps all quail released for dog training must be banded and no unbanded quail caught in any such trap shall be retained. During such season no artificial means of feeding shall practiced on the described

premises outside of any trap.
No such trap shall be utilized after March 31 or prior to October 1 of any license year.
Any such permit shall expire coincidentally with the license of the game bird propagator.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend regulations cited as 15 NCAC 10F.0310(a)(1) and (4); .0314(a) and adopt regulation cited as 15 NCAC 10F .0352.

The proposed effective date of this action is June 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

The public hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on January 19, 1987 at Room 386, Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present their views either orally or in writing at the hearing. In addition, the record of the hearing will be open for receipt of written comments from January 20, 1987, to 5:00 p.m. on February 20, 1987. Such written comments must be delivered or mailed to the Wildlife Resources Commission, 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27611.

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY REGULATIONS

.0310 DARE COUNTY

(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the following waters and portions of waters:

(1) Manteo. That portion of

Doughs Creek from its mouth at Shallowbag Bay to and including the Inner Harbor, and the canal lying north and east of the Elizabeth II State Historical Site and connecting Doughs Creek with Shallowbag Bay;

(4) Nags Head. (A) Those waters contained within the canals of Old Nags Head Cove Development in the Town of Nags Head.

) The Roanoke Sound

inlets at Pond Island on either side of Narina Drive extending north form US 64-264;

(b) Speed Limit. No person

shall operate any motorboat or vessel at greater than no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

.0314 NEW HANOVER COUNTY (a) Regulated Areas. This
Rule applies to the following
waters in New Hanover County:
(6) The unnamed channel lying

between the shore west of Bahama Drive in the Town of Wrightsville Beach and an unnamed island located approximately 500 feet northeast of the US 74 bridge over Banks Channel.

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

.0352 CAMDEN COUNTY

(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to Edgewater Canal running parallel with and along the south shore of Camden Point in Camden County and the connecting channels to Albemarle

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) of

this Rule.
(c) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Camden county is designated a suitable agency for placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this Rule.

TITLE 21 - LICENSING BOARDS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Certification Board for Social Work intends to adopt regulations cited as 21 NCAC 63 .0100 through .0600.

The proposed effective date of this action is May 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 90B-6(h).

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on February 17, 1987 at Davidson County Human Resource Center, 915 Greensboro Street (Off North Main St., Business I-85), Lexington, N.C. 27292.

Procedures: Comment Written comments should be sent to Wilburn Hayden, Chairperson, N.C. Certification Board for

Social Work, P.O. Box 1923, Cullowhee, N.C. 28732-1923 by February 1, 1987.

CHAPTER 63 - SOCIAL WORKER CERTIFICATION ACT

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0101 PURPOSE

It is the purpose of the Social Worker Certification Act to protect the public by establishing minimum standards for qualification, training and experience for those who voluntarily seek to represent themselves to the public as certified social workers. This act shall protect the public and promote high standards in the practice of social work.

.0102 DEFINITIONS
Whenever used in this chapter,
the definitions set forth in
G.S. 90B-3 are herein
incorporated by reference.

.0103 PROHIBITIONS
State public agencies
including those private agencies
or corporations that receive
state funds shall not impose
certification as a requirement
for obtaining or continuing
employment.

.0104 ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

The North Carolina Certification Board for Social Work is composed by law of seven members appointed by the governor to staggered terms of three years. The composition of the board chall include for the board shall include four certified social workers (two certified social workers and two certified clinical social workers). Among the social workers, one member shall be employed in the field of social work education, one member from the private sector and one member from the public sector. The three remaining members shall be from the general public. The board shall elect a chairperson, vice chairperson and secretary-treasurer from its membership to serve for a term of at least one year. The board shall hold at least 10 meetings each year and four members shall at all times constitute a quorum. Members of the board are expected to attend all meetings.

.0105 MEETINGS
Meetings of the board, formal
or informal, shall be open to
the public. Dates, times and

places of meetings shall be furnished to anyone requesting the information and made available to the press.

SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION

.0201 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply
to the levels of certification
in this section:

(1) Related human services fields shall include psychology, sociology, counseling, rehabilitation, criminal justice, public policy, public administration, and human resources. The board may, within its discretion, consider other fields not specifically set out above.

(2) Two years of experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of work or employment for a fee or salary while engaged in the practice of social work functions. (1500 hours of work for a fee or salary per twelve month period.) Practicum or internship experience taken as part of an educational program are not included.

(3) Appropriate supervision (clinical) shall post-master's or post-doctoral experience directly supervised by a qualified social worker, psychiatrist, or clinical The social psychologist. work supervisor should have had at least two years of social work experience after completion of the master's or doctorate in social work and be eligible for certification as a clinical social worker under the Act. A minimum of 100 hours of group or individual supervision is required. 75 of the 100 hours must be individual Individuals supervision. certified through the Academy of Certified Social Workers, the National Federation of Health Care Providers in Clincical Social Work, Inc., or the Register of Clinical Social Workers already meet the supervision requirement.

(4) Clinical setting shall
mean any school, hospital,
community mental health
center, university counseling
center, family or social
services agency, or
supervised independent
practice. Such settings may
be under public or private
auspices and provide
psychotherapeutic or social

intervention for psychosocial problems of individuals, couples, families or groups.

(5) Administrative setting shall mean any setting where the delivery of social work services are directed, supervised, planned and/or coordinated. Activities include, but are not necessarily limited to, policy development and implementation, management, program evaluation, planning and staff development.

(6) Appropriate supervision and training (manager) shall mean course work or workshops in organizational and community services and/or two years (3,000 hours) of paid employment under supervision in an administrative setting.

.0202 APPLICATION PROCESS
Applications, inquiries and
forms are to be obtained from
and returned to the North
Carolina Certification Board for
Social Work. Applicants must
submit only forms obtained
directly from the board office.

.0203 TRANSCRIPTS
Applicants must have official transcripts sent from institutions where their highest social work degrees have been conferred. If transcript course titles are ambiguous, or do not adequately convey the pertinent content of the courses, clarifying documents may be requested.

.0204 WORK EXPERIENCE
The applicant will have a
minimum of three references.
Current members of the board,
relatives of applicants or
subordinates of applicants may
not submit references for
applicants.

(1) Two of the references must come from individuals who have been closely associated with the applicant in the practice of social work.

(2) One reference must be from one who has been or is currently a supervisor in a social work setting. (If a board member is the current supervisor or has been the only supervisor of an applicant, he/she should excuse himself/herself from review of that particular application.)

.0205 ACADEMIC
QUALIFICATIONS
The academic qualifications

set forth in G.S. 90B-7 for Certified Social Workers, Certified Master Social Workers, Certified Clinical Social Workers and Certified Social Work Managers are herein incorporated by reference.

.0206 ACADEMIC EXEMPTIONS
The applicant may be exempt
from the academic qualifications
required under this Chapter if
he/she was engaged in the
practice of social work before
January 1, 1984 in the areas of
certified social workers and
certified social work managers.
This exemption shall apply upon
passing the board examination
and satisfying the experience
requirements for certification
in the particular
classification.

.0207 COMITY
If a candidate is currently certified, registered or licensed as a social worker by a similar board in another state, the North Carolina Board may, at its discretion, waive the formal examination requirements of a candidate, provided that the North Carolina Board accepts the standards and qualifications required for the pratice of social work in the candidate's licensed or certifying state as substantially equivalent to those required by the State of North Carolina.

.0208 APPLICATION FEE
An application fee of fifty
dollars (\$50) will be assessed
for processing each application,
If an applicant seeks
certification for a second
level, within a 12 month period
of his/her initial application,
he/she shall be assessed an
additional fee of twenty-five
dollars (\$25).

.0209 ELIGIBILITY
The board shall review each application to determine an applicant's eligibility for a particular level of certification. An applicant will be notified in writing if he/she is ineligible for one level of certification. He/she may then apply for another level of certification. If an applicant is found to be ineligible for certification, he/she may not sit for the examination.

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS

.0301 WRITTEN EXAMINATIONS
The board shall administer to

all approved applicants for certification, a written evamination at least twice a year. The exam shall be given in a reasonable, geographic area within the state. The national examination provided by American Association of State Social Work Boards shall serve to evaluate the qualifications of applicants for certification.

.0302 REPORTING OF SCORES

Each applicant for certification shall be informed in writing whether he/she has passed the examination. If an applicant fails the examination, he/she shall receive his/her numerical score. If his/her failing score is three points below the cut score he/she may have his/her test hand-scored within a ninety-day period by completing a form on the back of the handbook and by sending a ten dollar (\$10) rescoring fee.

.0303 RETAKING OF EXAMINATION An applicant who has not passed an examination shall be allowed to retake such examination upon paying the required examination fee.

.0304 CANCELLATION

An applicant who cancels in writing less than 30 days before the date of examination shall not receive a refund of the examination fee. However, he/she may apply and sit for another examination within 12 months of the missed examination without incurring any additional examination fee.

An applicant who fails to cancel in writing less than 30 days before the examination or who fails to appear for an examination may apply and sit for another examination within 12 months of the missed examination upon payment of fifty dollars (\$50) examination fee. Such fee shall be paid not later than 60 days before the scheduled examination.

.0305 REVIEW OF EXAMINATIONS BY UNSUCCESSFUL APPLICANTS

An applicant who has not successfully passed the certification exam may review his/her test booklet together with the appropriate answer sheet. In order to do so, the candidate must

(1) make a written request for review of their examination directly to the board.

(2) The candidate may review

the exam in the Office of the Board and in the presence of a board member.

(3) The candidate may not take notes, photocopy or ask questions regarding the examination.

(4) The applicant must sign a statement of confidentiality in order to review the examination booklet.

(5) A candidate's scores will not be changed. However, any questions will be transmitted to the American Association of State Social Work Boards Examination Committee for review. The North Carolina Board has the responsibility of obtaining a copy of the examination together with the candidate's answer sheet and the scorng key from Assessment Systems, Inc. (ASI). The board shall maintain strict security and return all materials to ASI after review by the candidate of his examination booklet.

.0306 EXAMINATION FEES
(a) An examination fee of one hundred dollats (\$100) will be assessed for administration and processing of the written

examination.

(b) An examination fee of fifty dollars (\$50) will be assessed for the administration and processing of a second written examination if an applicant seeks certificat ion at two different levels. An unsuccessful applicant shall be assessed a fee of seventy five (\$75) in order to retake the examination.

(c) An applicant who fails to appear at an examination site shall be assessed a fee of fifty dollars (\$50) in order to take

the examination.

SECTION .0400 - RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION

.0401 CONTINUING EDUCATION Continuing education for renewal certification to maintain required knowledge professional technical competency. Certification shall be afforded on a two year basis. However, certification shall expire on the second June 30 after certification has been issued. Renewal of certification shall be based on forty hours of renewal credits within the two year cycle. However, if a certification is for less than a full two year period, then renewal shall be accorded based

on thirty hours of renewal credits. One unit of credit is equal to one contact hour. One academic course semester hour credit shall be equivalent to fifteen clock hours. Credit for auditing an academic course shall be for actual clock hours attended during which instruction was given and shall not exceed the academic credit

allowed. Continuing education activities may include: (1) Academic social work courses taken for credit or audit;

(2) Seminars, institutes, workshops, mini courses or conferences oriented to the enhancement of social work, practice, values, skills and knowledge;

Cross-disciplinary offerings from medicine, law and the behavioral/social sciences or disciplines, if other offerings are clearly related to the enhancement of social work practice, values, skills and knowledge;

(4) Self-directed learning projects with prior approval by the board. The maximum number for projects is twenty clock hours. A renewal unit shall not be granted for identical programs completed within the same certification period, renewal iob orientation or on the job training.

.0402 FORMS

(a) Documentation for the completion of continuing education credits and biannual renewal shall be completed on the North Carolina Certification for Social Workers biannual renewal and continuing education reporting form. The form must be the original and must be completed and signed.

(b) Each renewal applicant is responsible for completing the required form. If an organization maintains such records the applicant must assure the form is completed and complies with all applicable rules and regulations. The form must be submitted at the time the applicant files for renewal of certification.

SECTION .0500 - ETHICAL GUIDELINES

.0501 INTRODUCTION A certified social worker shall promote professional policies and practices which enhance the delivery of social work services

work towards and establishment of conditions that allow social workers to practice within a code of ethical principles.

.0502 PRACTICE AND CONDUCT (a) The social worker's primary responsibility is welfare of the client.

(b) A social worker shall not discriminate on the basis of age, sex, race, color, religion, national origin, socio-economic

status or sexual preference.
(c) the social worker shall carry out his/her professional practice in a responsible manner and hold him/herself responsible for the quality of service he/she provides.

(d) The social worker must recognize the boundaries his/her competence and the limits of his/her methods and techniques. The social worker does not offer services nor use techniques without having professional appropriate education and training.

(e) A social worker acts with integrity in regard to colleagues in social work and in

other professions.

(f) A social worker does not lend his/her professional expertise for unprofessional purposes. The social worker purposes. does not place him/herself under obligation to persons, groups, or organizations in ways uncommensurate with professional values.

SECTION .0600 - DISCIPLINARY **PROCEDURES**

.0601 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY **PROCEDURES**

In addition to the conduct set forth in G.S. 90B-11, the board may deny, suspend or revoke a certification upon the following grounds:

(1) offering a check to the board in payment of required fees which is returned unpaid;

obtaining or attempting to obtain compensation by fraud or deceit;

(3) violation of any order of the North Carolina Social Work Certification Board;

(4) failure to possess truth, honesty and integrity sufficient to be entitled to the high regard and confidence of the public;

(5) violation or failure to make the requisite disclosures required by 21 NCAC 38 .0305. .0602 ENFORCEMENT

All certified social workers are under continuing duty to report to the board any and all criminal arrests, charges or convictions. The board may also, upon the representation of the Attorney General's Office, proceed with any civil action in the appropriate Superior Court to restrain any violations of the North Carolina Certification Act.

TITLE 24 - INDEPENDENT AGENCIES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the N. C. Housing Finance Agency intends to amend regulations cited as 24 NCAC 1D .0501; .0502(a); and .0503(c).

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 122A-5.7.

The public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on January 14, 1987 at Board Room, N.C. Housing Finance Agency, 3300 Drake Circle, Suite 200, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Written comments concerning this amendment must be submitted by January 14, 1987 to the Single Family Program Director, N.C. Housing Finance Agency, P. O. Box 28066, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. Oral comments may be presented at the hearing.

CHAPTER 1 - N. C. HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY

SUBCHAPTER 1D - SINGLE FAMILY MORTGAGE PURCHASE PROGRAM

SECTION .0500 - HOMEOWNERSHIP ASSISTANCE FUND AND PROGRAM

.0501 CREATION OF THE FUND
The agency hereby establishes
the Homeownership Assistance
Fund, hereinafter referred to as
the fund, for the purpose of
assisting persons of lower or
moderate income who cannot
otherwise qualify for the
agency's single family mortgages
in the purchase of affordable
housing by reducing the
effective monthly cost of
homeownership to such persons.

.0502 ELIGIBILITY
(a) The Homeownership
Assistance Fund; hereinafter
referred to as the fund; fund
will be available to assist

persons within the state with annual incomes, as determined by the agency's rules governing determination of annual income, of twelve thousand five hundred dollars (\$12,500) to twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) and who otherwise qualify for first mortgage loans under the agency's single family program and who are selected for participation in the program by the agency of lower and moderate incomes, as defined in rules .0102 and .0103 of this Subchapter, who would be otherwise unable to receive subsidized loans from the agency.

.0503 FUND OPERATION AND ADMINISTRATION

(c) The agency will select, in its discretion, eligible applicants for first mortgage loans under the proceeds of the agency's single family bond issue program for participation in the Homeownership Assistance Program to be funded with the proceeds of the fund. Eligible borrowers will, in addition to receiving a first mortgage loan funded from proceeds of an agency bond issue, will receive an additional a second loan from the agency to be funded with from the proceeds of the fund in an amount sufficient to reduce the net monthly amount to be expended by the borrower for housing (including first mortgage insurance, homeowner's insurance, homeowner's insurance, and taxes) by an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars (\$100.00) per month. As determined by the agency, this additional loan may be used to provide additional security for eligible loans, to subsidize down payments and monthly housing payments (including finely many loans) first mortgage principal and <u>interest, mortgage insurance,</u> homeowner's insurance taxes), and to provide any other type of mortgage assistance the agency deems necessary. The amount of the loan from the fund for the purpose of reducing monthly housing payments of this additional loan will be determined by the agency, in its discretion, considering such factors as family size, income, and ability of the borrower to pay. The agency will, in its discretion, either include the homeownership assistance loan from the fund as part of the first mortgage deed of trust made by the agency under its single family program, or, in for the purpose of reducing

the alternative, include the homeownership assistance loan in a second mortgage deed of trust. The loan from the fund, including interest thereon at a rate established by the agency, shall be due and payable by the borrower either upon the resale of the home which is the subject of the loan or upon the death of the borrower and shall be recoverable only from the appreciation of the market price of the financed home during the time it is owned by the borrower.

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-12 that the Office of State Personnel intends to repeal regulation cited as 25 NCAC 1H .0608 and adopt regulations cited as 25 NCAC 1H .0610-.0615.

The proposed effective date of this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 126-4(4);126-4(10); 126-4(11); 126-37; 126-38; 128-15; 150 B-2(2); 150B, Article 3.

The public hearing will be conducted at 9:00 a.m. on February 26, 1987 at 101 W. Peace Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Interested persons may present statements orally or in writing at the hearing or in writing prior to the hearing by mail addressed to: Drake Maynard, Office of State Personnel, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

SUBCHAPTER 25 H - RECRUITMENT AND SELECTION

SECTION .0600 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0608 EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE FOR VETERANS (REPEALED)

.0610 POLICY STATEMENT OF VETERANS PREFERENCE IN EMPLOYMENT AND RETENTION

It shall be the policy of the State of North Carolina that, in appreciation for their service to this state and this country in time of war, and in recognition of the time and advantage lost toward the pursuit of a civilian career, veterans shall be granted preference in employment with

every state department, agency
and university.

.0611 ELIGIBILITY

Persons eligible for veteran's preference shall have served in the Armed Forces of the United States on active duty, for reasons other than training, during periods of war, and shall have been discharged under honorable conditions. This particularly includes disabled veterans discharged under honorable conditions. Also eligible are spouses of disabled veterans, and the surviving spouse or dependent of a veteran who died on active duty during periods of war either directly or indirectly as a result of such service. Any person who is retired from any branch of the military with a retirement pension based solely on years of service shall be ineligible for preference.

.0612 PERIODS OF WAR
Periods of war shall include:
(1) World War I (April 16,
1917 through November 11,
1918);

(2) World War II (December 7, 1941 through December 31, 1946);

(3) The Korean conflict (June 27, 1950 through January 31, 1955);

(4) The hostilities in Viet Nam (August 5, 1964 -May 7, 1975);

(5) Any other campaign, expedition or engagement for which a campaign badge or medal is authorized by the United States Department of Defense.

.0613 CLAIMING VETERAN'S PREFERENCE

In order to claim veteran's preference, all eligible persons must complete and sign a State Application for Employment (PD-107), and submit it to the appointing authority upon initial application. Appointing authorities are responsible for reviewing the Military Service portion of the PD-107 and verifying eligibility. Appointing authorities may request additional documentation as reasonably necessary to ascertain eligibility. Also, as a prerequisite to further consideration, eligible veterans must meet the minimum education and experience requirements for the position applied for, and must be capable of performing the duties assigned to the position.

.0614 APPLICATION OF THE VETERAN'S PREFERENCE

(a) The preference to be accorded eligible veterans shall apply in intial selection and reduction in force situations

only.

In initial selection (h) procedures, where numerically scored examinations are used in determining the relative ranking of candidates, ten points shall be awarded to eligible veterans.

(c) In initial selection, structured where interview, assessment center, in-basket or other procedure, anv non-numerically scored, is used to qualitatively assess the relative ranking of candidates, the qualified veteran shall be his/her where qualifications are substantially equal to the one or more non-veterans in the applicant pool.

Substantially equal (d) qualifications occur when the cannot make a determination that employer reasonable the qualifications held by one more persons are significantly better suited for the position than the qualifications held by another

person.

(e) In reduction in force

situations where seniority or years of service is one of the considerations in retention, the eligible veteran shall accorded one year of State service for each year or fraction thereof of military service, up to a maximum of five years credit.

.0615 ALLEGATION OF DENIAL OF VETERAN'S PREFERENCE

Any claim or allegation that veteran's preference has not been accorded to an eligible veteran must be filed with either the Office of State Personnel or the Office of Administrative Hearings. Such claims must be filed in a manner consistent with the requirements of G.S. 150B-23 and no later than 30 days from the receipt of the notice or decision which the claim is based upon. S claims shall be heard contested cases pursuant to G.S. 150B-2(2) and G.S. 150B, Article 3. The State Personnel Commission, may, upon a finding that veteran's preference was denied in violation of these rules, order the hiring or reinstatement of any affected person, as well as any other remedy necessary to correct the violation.

FINAL RULES

When the text of any adopted rule differs from the text of that rule as proposed, upon request from the adopting agency, the text of the adopted rule will be published in this section.

When the text of any adopted rule is identical to the text of that as proposed, adoption of the rule will be noted in the "List of Rules Affected" and the text of the adopted rule will not be republished.

Adopted rules filed by the Departments of Correction, Revenue and Transportation are published in this section. These departments are not subject to the provisions of G.S. 150B, Article 2 requiring publication of proposed rules.

TITLE 5 - DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF PRISONS

SUBCHAPTER 2F - CUSTODY AND SECURITY

SECTION .2000 ~ G.S. 148-4.1 EARLY PAROLE

.2002 PROCEDURE

(a) Whenever the Secretary of Correction determines from data compiled by the Department of Correction that it is necessary to reduce the prison population to a more manageable level, he shall direct the Parole Commission to release on parole over a reasonable period of time a number of prisoners sufficient to that purpose.

(b) In addition to the of the Parole directions Commission set forth in Section .2002 (a) of this Rule, the of Secretary Correction mav certify to the Parole Commission that certain named inmates who are eligible for parole under Article 85A of Chapter 15A pose no threat to society. As a no threat to society. As a result of this certification and with G.S. accordance 148-4.1(c), these inmates shall be eligible for early parole nine months prior to the discharge date otherwise applicable and six months prior to the date of automatic ninety day parole authorized by G.S. 15A-1380.2.

History Note: Filed as a

Temporary Amendment Eff.
November 19, 1986, for
a Period of 44 Days to expire
on January 1, 1987;
Filed as a Temporary Rule
Eff. April 22, 1985, for a
Period of 71 Days
to Expire on July 1, 1985;
Statutory Authority G.S.
148-4.1; 148-11;
Eff. July 1, 1985;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.2003 CRITERIA
Inmates eligible to be
considered for certification by
the Secretary of Correction
under Section .2002(b) shall be
subject to the following
exclusions:

(1) Inmates must not be serving a sentence for conviction of first or second degree murder, first or second degree rape, first or second degree sexual offense, drug trafficking, first or second degree kidnapping, or sexual offenses upon children as prohibited under G.S. 14-21; 14-26; 14-27.4, 14-27.5, and 14-27.7.

(2) Inmates must be in minimun or medium custody and, if in medium custody, must have sucessfully completed prerelease training.

(3) Inmates must not be serving consecutive sentences for escape.

(4) Inmates must not have committed a prison rule infraction of an aggressive, assaultive, or sexually abusive nature within 90 days from the date of review by Prison Officials.

(5) Release must not results in an apparent or unacceptable risk to the community.

(6) Inmates must not be in serious need of physical or mental health treatment unless such treatment is available in the community.

(7) A misdemeanant offender or short-term felon must have served a minimum of 60 days, unless the inmate is being released to an appropriate treatment program.

(8) Inmates must not have been sentenced under G.S. 15A-1351 to an active term of imprisonment as a condition of special probation.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986 for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1; 148-11; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

2004 SCREENING The Department of Correction shall send to appropriate shall officials within the Division of Prisons a list of all inmates who were sentenced under the Fair Sentencing Act and who have 365 days (1 year) remaining prior to their release date. The Division of Prisons shall screen and delete names from the list in accordance with the following process:
(1) The Division will delete

from the list the names of all inmates excluded under Section .2003

(2) The Area or Institution Classification Authority will review each inmate's institutional behavior to determine whether the inmate's behavior during the preceding 90 day period warrants the certification by the Secretary of Correction that the inmate does not pose a threat to society.

(3) Recommendation for certification that the inmate does not pose a threat to society will be indicated on the list by the Area or Institutional Classification

Authority.

(4) Inmates not recommended certification will be deleted from the list.
(5) The completed list will be

sent to the Classification Services Section for processing. The classification Services will send the Section recommendations along with the file on each inmate to be considered to a committee of advisors to be named by the Secretary of Correction.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendement Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1986; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1; 148-11; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.2005 CERTIFICATION (a) The committee appointed by

the Secretary of Correction to review recommendations shall determine compliance with these rules and further consider whether to recommend to the Secretary of Correction that an inmate he continued inmate be certified as posing no threat to society. committee will deliver to the Secretary of Correction its recommendations for certification.

(b) The Secretary of Correction in his discretion shall certify from the shall certify from the recommendations made to him, which inmate, in his opinion, pose no threat to society and a certification and the names of such inmates shall be sent to the Parole Commission in accordance with G.S. 148-4.1(c).

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1; 148-11; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.2006 PAROLE COMMISSION REVIEW Upon receipt from the Secretary of Correction of a certification that in his opinion the inmate eligible for parole under Article 85A of Chapter 15A poses no threat to society, the Parole Commission will review such inmates for early release in accordance with G.S. 148-4.1(c).

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 15A-1380.2; 148-4.1; 148-11; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.2007 SUPERVISION Whenever an inmate is paroled in accordance with these procedures, the Parole Commission may impose all the conditions listed in G.S. 15A-1374. These conditions will apply throughout the period of parole supervision.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff.
November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Statutory Authority G.S. 15A-1380.2; 148-4.1; 148-11; Eff. January 1, 1987.

CHAPTER 4 - PAROLE COMMISSION

SECTION .1800 - G.S. 148-4.1 EARLY PAROLE

.1803 PROCEDURE: ONE YEAR PRIOR TO INMATE'S RELEASE DATE

The following steps should be followed during the year prior to the inmate's release date:

Approximately 15 months prior to the inmate's release analyst date, the should request that the Division of Adult Probation and Parole conduct an interview on the individual using computerized interview form provided by the analyst. The analyst will allow 30 days for the completion of this interview.

2) The Division of Prisons will be provided with a list of all inmates sentenced under the Fair Sentencing Act who have one year remaining to serve prior to their release date. Division of Prisons officials will screen this list of individuals as provided in 5 NCAC 2F .2004. The Classification Services Section of the Division of Prisons will provide a list of individuals certified eligible for parole under G.S. 148-4.1 to the Parole Commission.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority 148-4.1; 148-57; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.1804 REVIEW BY PAROLE
COMMISSION ANALYST
(a) Upon receipt of the list
of inmates certified eligible
for parole by the Secretary of
Correction, the Parole
Commission Analyst will obtain

the inmate file and conduct a review.

(b) The Parole Commission
Analyst will prepare a parole
memorandum for each inmate
recommended for the Parole
Commission's review for possible
approval.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 148-57; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

.1805 PAROLE COMMISSION REVIEW

The Parole Commission will determine whether an inmate certified eligible for parole will be paroled. If approved for parole, the Parole Commission Analyst will retain the file until the inmate has 30 days before parole eligibility at which time the parole orders will be processed. The parole orders will then be sent to the Division of Adult Probation and Parole with notices to the Division of Prisons to allow for the inmate to be paroled.

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 19, 1986, for a Period of 44 Days to Expire on January 1, 1987; Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. April 22, 1985, for a Period of 71 Days to Expire on July 1, 1985; Statutory Authority G.S. 148-4.1; 148-57; Eff. July 1, 1985; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

SUBCHAPTER 1C - GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

SECTION .0400 - INTEREST REQUIREMENTS

.0402 ESTABLISHED INTEREST RATES

(g) For the calendar year 1987, the Secretary of Revenue under the authority of subsection (i) of G.S. 105-241.1 has established on November 18, 1986 an interest rate of nine percent (9%) per annum. The computation shall be at the rate

of three-fourths percent (3/4%) per month or fraction thereof.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 105-241.1; 105-262; Eff. November 9, 1977; Amended Eff. January 1, 1987; January 1, 1986; January 1, 1985; January 1, 1984.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE <u>LIST_OF_RULES_AFFECTED</u>

EDITION XI,	NO. 2			EFFECTIVE:	December 1, 1986
AGENCY				AC	TION TAKEN
COMMERCE 4	NCAC	7.	.0507	Ате	nded
CORRECTION 5	NCAC	2B 2B 2C 2E 2E 2E 2E	.0201 .0203 .0302 .0503 .0102 .07010707 .0708 .13011309 .01010105	Ame Ame Ame Ame Ame Ado Ado	ended ended ended ended ended ended pted pted pted
GOVERNOR'S O	OFFICE NCAC	2			CUTIVE ORDER NO. 29 . October 2, 1986
HUMAN RESOUR	RCES NCAC	14B 14C 14C 30 45G 45H 45H	.0503 .0109 .0401 .04050415 .0214 .0308 .02020203 .0205 .01000500	Rep Rep Rep Ame Ado Ame	pted ealed ealed ealed inded pted inded inded inded
REVENUE 17	NCAC	6B	.3501	Ame	nded

TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE	DEPARTMENT
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11	Administration, Department of Agriculture, Department of Auditor, Department of State Commerce, Department of Corrections, Department of Council of State Cultural Resources, Department Elections, State Board of Governor Human Resources, Department of Insurance, Department of Justice, Department of
13	Labor, Department of
14A	Crime Control, Department of
15	Natural Resources and Community Development
16	Education, Department of
1 <i>7</i> 18	Revenue, Department of Secretary of State
19A	Transportation, Department of
20	Treasurer, Department of State
*21	Occupational Licensing Boards
22	Administrative Procedures
23	Community Colleges, Department of
24	Independent Agencies
25	Personnel, Department of State
26	Office of Administrative Hearings

 $\begin{array}{lll} {\tt NOTE:} & {\tt Title~21~contains~the~chapters~of~the~various}\\ & {\tt occupational~licensing~boards.} \end{array}$

CHAPTER	LICENSING BOARD
2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 21 22 28 30 31 32 33 34 42 44 46 48 49 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40	Architecture, Board of Auctioncers, Commission for Barber Examiners, Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners Chiropractic Examiners, Board of Contractors, Licensing Board for Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of Dental Examiners, Board of Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners Foresters, Board of Registration for Geologists, Board of Hearing Aid Dcalers and Fitters Board Landscape Architects, Licensing Board of Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of Law Examiners, Board of Martial & Family Therapy Certification Board Medical Examiners, Board of Midwifery Joint Committee Mortuary Science, Board of Nursing, Board of Nursing, Board of Optometry, Board of Opticians, Board of Optometry, Board of Examiners in Osteopathic Examination and Registration Pharmacy, Board of Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of Opdiatry Examiners, Board of Practicing Counselors, Board of Practicing Psychologists, Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors Real Estate Commission Refrigeration Examiners, Board of
64	Sanitarian Examiners, Board of Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Board of Examiners of
66	Veterinary Medical Board

CUMULATIVE INDEX (April 1, 1986 - March 31, 1987)

1986

Pages			Issue
1 - 73			April
74 - 97			May
98 - 132			June
133 - 222			July
223 - 379			August
380 - 415			September
416 - 553			October
554 - 598			November
599 - 670			December

A0 - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

- Errata E

E0 - Executive Order

FDL - Final Decision Letters FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute J0 - Judicial Order

LRA - List of Rules Affected

M - Miscellaneous

- Proposed Rule

- Statements of Organization S0

TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION

Administrative Analysis, 614 PR Auxiliary Services, 611 PR Departmental, 606 PR Office of Marine Affairs, 382 PR Public Telecommunications, 614 PR Purchase and Contract, 423 PR State Employees Combined Campaign, 430 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDERS

Beecher Reynolds Gray, 47 A0 Fred Gilbert Morrison, Jr., 48 A0 Angela Rebecca Bryant, 49 A0 Thomas R. West, 50 AO Abraham Penn Jones, 98 A0 Administrative Law Judges, 248 A0 Margaret Eugenia Rogers, 419 AO Kenneth Wayne Patterson, 420 AO

AGRICULTURE

Dept. of Agriculture, 250 SO, 558 PR Food and Drug Protection Division, 99 PR, 255 PR, 557 PR Markets, 559 PR Plant Industry, 256 PR Standards Division, 558 PR Structural Pest Control, 557 PR, 599 C

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OPINIONS

Employee Insurance Committees, 603 AG

COMMERCE

ABC Commission, 615 PR Cemetary Commission, 559 PR Milk Commission, 74 PR, 135 PR, 260 PR Savings and Loan, 78 PR, 560 PR

COMMUNITY COLLEGES

Community Colleges, 210 PR, 534 PR

CORRECTION

Division of Prisons, 213 FR, 347 FR, 575 FR, 661 FR Parole Commission, 663 FR

CRIME CONTROL & PUBLIC SAFETY ALE, 631 PR

CULTURAL RESOURCES Archives and History, 78 PR Battleship Commission, 388 PR Roanoke Voyages & Eliz. II, 261 PR

EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Executive Orders 1-25, 23 E0 26, 247 E0

27, 416 E0 28, 417 E0 29, 554 E0

FINAL DECISION LETTERS Voting Rights Act, 249 FDL, 421 FDL, 555 FDL, 600 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES

Chapter 7A, 21 GS, 244 GS

Chapter 150B, 3 GS, 226 GS, 380 C Chapter 1028, 223 GS

HUMAN RESOURCES

Child Day Care, 281 PR, 631 PR
Children Services, 103 PR
Facility Services, 270 PR
Food Assistance, 103 PR
Health Services, 169 PR, 388 PR, 434 PR, 563 PR

Individual and Family Support, 103 PR Medical Assistance, 181 PR, 389 PR, 501 PR

Medical Care Commission, 433 PR Medical Services, 101 PR

Mental Health Retardation

and Substance Abuse, 80 PR, 298 PR, 350 FR, 380 C Social Services, 390 PR, 616 PR Youth Services, 85 PR, 309 PR

INDEPENDENT AGENCIES Housing Finance, 658 PR

INSURANCE

Agency Services, 313 PR Company Operations, 503 PR Engineering & Building, 321 PR, 564 PR Fire and Casualty, 501 PR Medical Database, 565 PR

JUDICIAL ORDERS

Appointment Robert A. Melott, 45 J0

JUSTICE

Alarm Systems Licensing, 556 S0 Education and Training Standards, 322 PR Police and Information Network, 107 PR Private Protective Services, 556 SO Sheriff's Education, 332 PR

LABOR Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 86 PR, 189 PR, 338 PR Elevator Division, 517 PR

LICENSING BOARD

C P A Examiners, 112 PR, 133 SO, 529 PR Dental Examiners, 399 PR, 533 PR

General Contractors, 573 PR

Medical Examiners, 92 PR, 399 PR

Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 S0
Mortuary Science, 534 PR
Nursing, 422 S0, 574 PR
Occupational Therapy, 206 PR
Pharmacy, 208 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, 116 PR
Real Estate Commission, 401 PR
Social Work, 653 PR
Veterinary Medical Board, 341 PR

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

Volume 10, No. 1

(April 1, 1986), 71 LRA

Volume 10, No.2

(May 1, 1986), 94 LRA

Volume 10, No.3

(June 1, 1986), 127 LRA

Volume 10, No.4

(July 1, 1986), 217 LRA

Volume 10, No.5

(August 1, 1986), 374 LRA

Volume 10, No. 6

(September 1, 1986), 410 LRA

Volume 10, No. 7

(October 1, 1986), 548 LRA

Volume 11, No. 1

(November 1, 1986), 594 LRA

Volume 11, No. 2

(December 1, 1986), 665 LRA

MISCELLANEOUS Federal Rule Amendment, 381 M

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Natural Resources & Community Development, 133 SO
Coastal Management, 112 FR, 401 FR, 571 PR
Departmental Rules, 109 PR, 118 FR
Economic Opportunities, 528 PR
Employmental and Training, 111 PR
Environmental Management, 88 PR, 190 PR, 339 PR, 396 PR, 520 PR, 632 PR
Forest Resources, 126 FR
Marine Fisheries, 191 PR
Soil and Water, 90 PR, 521 PR
Wastewater Treatment, 397 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 110 PR, 205 PR, 340 PR, 398 PR 422 SO, 527 PR, 634 PR

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
General, 52 PR, 345 PR
Hearings Division, 61 PR, 345 PR, 369 FR
Rules Division, 52 PR, 367 FR
706 Deferral, 543 PR

REVENUE
Corporate Income Tax, 350 FR
Departmental, 663 FR
Individual Income Tax, 351 FR, 593 FR
Intangible Tax, 366 FR
Sales & Use Tax, 363 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Notary Public, 91 PR, 367 FR

STATE PERSONNEL State Personnel Commission, 343 PR, 538 PR, 659 PR

STATE TREASURER Local Government Commission, 529 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION Agriculture, 250 SO Alarm System Licensing, 556 SO CPA Examiners, 133 SO
Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 SO
Natural Resources and Community Development, 133 SO
Nursing, 422 SO
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
Privato Protective Services, 556 SO
Wildlife Resources Commission, 422 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Department of Transportation, 213 FR, 367 FR, 546 FR

Office of Administrative Hearings P. O. Drawer 11666 Raleigh, North Carolina 27604

ST.≱ HE

		 ····	
	•	 	·····
FOLD HERE			
LOTO UEKE			

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE **ORDER FORM**

Please enter my subscription for the <i>North Caroli</i> (\$95.00/year subscription)	ina Register to start with the issue.
Please enter my subscription for the NCAC in m (Published in March and October: \$40.00 per edition)	icrofiche form starting with the edition.
Renew North Carolina Register	Renew NCAC
Check Enclosed Please bill me	
ase make checks payable to Office of Administrat	tive Hearings
ME	ADDRESS
Y STATE	ZIP
)NE	

turn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)

CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1. Present Address	t.	
NAME		
ADDRESS		
CITY	STATE	ZIP
2. New Address		
NAME		
ADDRESS		V-21
CITY	STATE	ZIP





Office of Administrative Hearings P. O. Drawer 11666 Raleigh, North Carolina 27604

FIRST CLASS MAIL

University of North Carolina at Law Library Van Hecke-Wettach 064-A Chapel Hill, N.C. 27514