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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register li published monihly and

coniains informaiion relating lo agfincy. exccuiive. legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter I50B of the

General Statutes All proposed administrative rules and amend-

ments filed under Chapter I50B must be published m the Register.

The Register will typically comprise approximate!) one hundred

pages per issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free

of charge to each county in the state and lo various state officials

and institutions The North Carolina Register is available by

yearly subscription at a cost of nineiy-five dollars i$95 00) for

12 issues

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings. P O
Drawer 11666. Raleigh, N C. 27604. Attn Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register The notice must include a reference to the Statutory

Authority for the action, the time and place of the public hearing

and a statement of how public comments may be submitted to

the agency either at the hearing or otherwise, the text of the

proposed rule or amendment; and the proposed effective date

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings has

authority to publish a summary, rather than the full text, of any

amendment which is considered to be too lengthv [n such case,

the full text of the rule containing the proposed amendment will

be available for public inspection at the Rules Division of the

Office of Administrative Hearings and ai the office of the

promulgating agency

Following publication of the proposal in the North Carolina

Register, at least 60 days must elapse before the agency may take

action on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

any adopted or amended rule with the Office of .Administrative

Hearings. If it differs substantially from the proposed form

published as part of the public notice, the adopted version will

again be published in the North Carolina Register

A rule, or amended rule, cannot become effective earlier than

the first day of the second calendar month after the adoption is

filed.

Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the pro-

mulgating agency at any time before final action is taken by the

agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature, some

agencies may issue temporary rules A temporary rule becomes

effective when adopted and remains in effect for the period

specified in the rule or 120 days, whichever is less. An agency

adopting a temporary rule must begin normal rule-making

procedures on the permanent rule at the same time the temporary

njle is adopted

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 stat

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards The NCAC
comprises approximately 15.000 letter size, single spaced page;

of material of which approximately 35^ is changed annually

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G S
150B-63(b).

The Code is div ided into Titles and Chapters Each state agenc\

IS assigned a separate title which is funher broken down b)

chapters Title 2 I is dcsigna^id lor iKcupational licensing boards

The NCAC is available in two I'lirmats.

( 1

)

In looseleaf pages at a minimum cost of two dollars anc

50 cents ($2 50) tbr 10 pages or less, plus fifteen cent

($0 15) per each additional page

(2) On microfiche The microfiche edition is revised sem:

annually i March and Ocloberl and can be purchased fo

fony dollars ($40 OOi per edition Due to the volutrx

of the Code, the complete copy can only be purchased oi

microfiche The NCAC on microfiche is updatet

monthly by publication of a "List of Rules .Affected'

which jets out rules filed the previous month, the actio

taken, and the effective date of the change This list i

published in the North Carolina Register

Requests for looseleat pages of rules or the NCAC oi

microfiche should be directed lu the Office of Administrativi

Hearings

NOTE

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the procedures ti

be followed For specific statutory language, it is suggested tha

Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 1508 of the General Statutes b

examined carefully

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, pag

number and date 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers t(

Volume I . Issue I. pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolim

Register issued on April 1. 1986.

I

North Carolina Register Published monthly by the

Office of Administrative Hearings. P O Drawer 11666,

Raleigh, .North Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B

of the General Statutes Subscriptions ninety-five dollars

($95 00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code Published in

March and October by the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P. O Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, Nonh Carolina

27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B of the General Sututes.

Subscriptions forty dollars ($40 00) per edition.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 29

GOVERNOR'S TASK FORCE ON RACIAL,
RELIGIOUS AND ETHNIC VIOLENCE

AND INTIMIDATION

It is the policy of the State
of North Carolina to protect the
right of every person in the
State to live and work in peace
and to be free of violence and
intimidation, irrespective of
race, religion or ethnic orgin.

Therefore, by the authority
vested in me as Governor by the
Constitution and laws of North
Carolina, it is ORDERED:

Section 1

.

There is hereby
established the Governor's Task
Force on Racial, Religious and
Ethnic Violence and
Intimidation

.

Section 2. The Task Force
shall consist of eleven persons
to be named by the Governor.
Each such person shall serve for
a term beginning immediately and
expiring December 31, 1988.
The Chairperson of the Task

Force shall be named by the
Governor. A Vice Chairperson
and Secretary of the Task Force
shall be elected by The Task
Force members.

Section 3.
shall meet
month, or
desired by

The Task Force
at least once a
as frequently as
the Task Force

members. The first meeting of
the Task Force shall be held as
soon as possible after the
appointment of its members.

Section 4. The Task Force
shall perform such duties as are
assigned to it by the Governor
and shall work closely with the
staff of the North Carolina

Human Relations Council. The
following shall be among its
duties

:

(a) Establish a uniform
statewide system for reporting
and recording incidents of
racial, religious or ethnic
violence and intimidation;

(b) Establish a statewide
network through which
information about hate group
activity may be shared and used
by organizations and agencies
concerned with this problem;

(c) Establish a statewide
assistance and support network
for victims of racial,
religious and ethnic violence
and intimidation;

(d) Study present
policies, procedures and laws
concerning hate group
activities and recommend
changes or additions where
necessary;

(e) Educate the public
and law enforcement officials
about racial, religious and
ethnic violence and
intimidation and provide
counsel and advice to them in
responding to hate group
presence and activity.

Section 5. While on official
business, members of the Task
Force shall be entitled to such
per diem and reimbursement for
travel and subsistence as may be
authorized for members of State
Boards and Commissions
generally. The North Carolina
Human Relations Council staff
shall provide the planning and
administrative support for the
Task Force.

Section 6. This Order shall
become effective immediately and
shall remain in effect until
modified or rescinded by further
Executive Order.

Done in Raleigh, North Carolina,
the 2nd day of October, 1986.
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VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. 120-30. 9H, effective July 16, 1986, requires that all letters
and other documents issued by the Attorney General of the United
States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change
affecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 be
published in the North Carolina Register.]

U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

WBR:MAP:TGL: jmc:gmh
DJ 166-012-3
P6334-6335
P9421

September 2, 1986

David A. Holec, Esq.
City Attorney
P.O. Box 1388
Lumberton, NC 28359-1388

Dear Mr. Holec:

This refers to the June 16 and July 21, 1986, annexations
to the City of Lumberton in Robeson County, North Carolina, submitted
to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act
of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submissions on
July 1 and August 1, 1986.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objections
to the changes in question. However, we feel a responsibility to
point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides
that the failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any
subsequent judicial action to enjoin the enforcement of such changes.
In addition, as authorized by Section 5, the Attorney General reserves
the right to reexamine this submission if additional information that
would otherwise require an objection comes to his attention during the
remainder of the sixty-day review period. See the Procedures for the
Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.42 and 51.48).

Sincerely,

Wm . Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones
Chief, Voting Section

555 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD

The Alarm Systems Licensing
Board (ASLB) is established
within the North Carolina
Department of Justice for the
purpose of administering the
licensing of and setting the
educational and training
requirements for persons, firms,
associations and corporations
engaged in providing alarm
systems and services to citizens
of North Carolina.

This Board consist of five
members appointed by the
Attorney General, Governor,
President of the Senate and
Speaker of the House.

The Board's administrative
offices, the Board's records,
the Administrator and staff are
located in the State Bureau of
Investigation (SBI) Headquarters
at 3320 Old Garner Road,
Raleigh, NC 28626, Phone Number
919/779-1611. Normal office
hours are Monday through Friday,
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. All
business transactions should be
referred to the administrator in
the administrative offices.

Alarm Systems Licensing Act
(NCGS 7^D)

.

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
BOARD

The Private Protective Services
Board (PPSB) is established
within the North Carolina
Department of Justice for the
purpose of administering the
licensing, setting education and
training requirements for
persons, firms, associations and
corporations engaged in the
Private Protective Services
business within the State of
North Carolina.

This Board consist of ten (10)
members appointed by the
Attorney General, Governor,
President of the Senate, Speaker
of the House and President Pro
Tempore of the Senate

.

This Board's administrative
offices, the Board's records,
the Administrator and staff are
located in the State Bureau of
Investigation (SBI) Headquarters
at 3320 Old Garner Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 28626,
Phone Number 919/779-1611.
Normal office hours are Monday
through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m. All business
transactions should be referred
to the administrator in the
administrative offices.

Background investigations,
complaint inquiries and audits
of business records of licensees
and other business transactions
originate in the headquarters
and are assigned to the
appropriate field investigator
whose offices are location in
the SBI District Offices in
Kannapolis, Greensboro,
Jacksonville, Asheville and in
the Board's administrative
offices in Raleigh.

The results of and action
required in connection with the
investigations, inquiries,
audits and other business are
reported to the Board during
their regular meetings the
second Tuesday of every other
month

.

The Attorney General, or his
representative, the Private
Protective Services Board and
the Administrator share in the
administrative, investigative
and prosecutional power of the

Background investigations,
complaint inquiries and audits
of business records, and other
board business transactions,
originate in the headquarters
and are assigned to the
appropriate field investigator
whose offices arc located in the
SBI District offices in
Kannapolis, Greensboro,
Jacksonville, Asheville and the
administrative offices in
Raleigh

.

The results of and action
required in connection with
these investigations, inquiries
and audits are reported to the
Board during their regular
meeting every six weeks.

The Attorney General, or his
representative, the Private
Protective Services Board and
the Administrator share in the
administrative, investigative
and prosecutional power of the
Private Protective Services Act
(NCGS 74C).
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PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 2 - DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Board of Agriculture
intends to amend regulations
cited as 2 NCAC 98.0022(12);
.0032; 9K .0206(b) and (e); 34
.0602(a); .0904(9); 36 .0002(a)

38 .0201; 0301; .0401;
2 NCAC 9C .0601 and 43
and repeal 2 NCAC 36

SUBCHAPTER 9C -CURRENT GOOD
MANUFACTURING PRACTICES
FOR SPECIFIC FOOD INDUSTRIES

SECTION .0600 PROCESSING
OF EGGS

and (c);
to adopt
M .0001;
.0003.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority; 81A-2
81A-4; 106-2; 106-4; 106-12
106-22; 106.65.29; 106-131
106-139; 106-245.16; 106-245.21
106-248; 106-253; 106-267
150-10; 150B-14; 150B-62.

The hearing will be conducted at
10:00 a.m. on January 14, 1987
at Board Room, Agriculture
Bldg., 1 W. Edenton St.,
Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Interested
persons may present statements
either orally or in writing at
the public hearing or in writing
prior to the hearing by mail
addressed to David S. Mcleod,
Secretary of the North Carolina
Board of Agriculture, P.O. Box
27647, Raleigh, North Carolina
27611 .

CHAPTER 9 - FOOD AND DRUG
PROTECTION DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 9B - RULES AND
STANDARDS ADOPTED BY REFERENCE

.0022 FOOD FOR HUMAN
CONSUMPTION

The food and drug protection
division adopts by reference the
following parts and subparts of
the Code of Federal Regulations,
Title 21, Subchapter B (Food for
Human Consumption), as
promulgated by the Commissioner
of the Food and Drug
Administration under the
authority of the Federal Food,
Drug and Cosmetic Act:
(12) ++6 Cac ao Product s tmd

C onfect ionery

.0032 EFFECTIVE DATE FOR
ADOPTIONS BY REFERENCE

All documents adopted by
reference in 2 NCAC 9B shall be
those documents in effect as of
July January 1 , 1906 1987.

.0601 COMMINGLING OF SHELL
AND EGG PROHIBITED

No person shall process any
eggs for human food in any
manner which:

( 1 ) does not allow
examination of the content of
individual eggs being
processed; and

(2) allows egg content to
commingle with the egg shell
or shell membrane during
processing

.

SUBCHAPTER 9K - SAMPLING AND
TESTING OF MILK AND CREAM:
FROZEN DESSERTS

SECTION .0200 - FROZEN
DESSERTS

.0206 FROZEN DESSERT
MIX/STANDARDS FOR USE

(b) A person shall not
distribute, sell or offer for
sale any frozen dessert mix,
other than yogurt mix or
ultra-pasteurized frozen dessert
mix, that is or has been frozen.
(e) Yogurt mix and ultra-

pasteurized frozen dessert mix
may be frozen at the point of
manufacture. Ultra-pasteurized
frozen dessert mix mav be
transferred to a retail outlet
refrigerated or frozen. Prior
to transferring to a retail
outlet, the distributor must
thaw the frozen mix under
refrigeration temperatures of 35
degrees F. to 40 degrees F.
Nothing herein shall be deemed
to prohibit the department from
considering a retail outlet to
be a distributor if such outlet
has sufficient and adequate
refrigeration equipment to
properly thaw the yogurt frozen
mix as required by this Section.

CHAPTER 34 - STRUCTUAL PEST
CONTROL DIVISION

SECTION .0600 - WOOD-DESTROYING
ORGANISM AGREEMENTS

.0602 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECT
AND OTHER ORGANISM REPORTS

(a) Any written statement as
to the presence or absence of
wood-destroying insects or their
damage in buildings or
structures for sale shall be on
a f

o

rm ( s ) prescribed by the
comm itte e Form SP-100, "North
Carolina Wood-Destroying Insect
Information Report." Incomplete
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or inaccurate Wood-Destroying
Insect Reports shall not be
acceptable and the issuance of
such reports is grounds for
disciplinary action by the
committee . No Wood-Destroying
Insect Reports or
Wood-Destroying Organism Reports
shall be issued before an
inspection of the building or
structure is made. Each
Wood-Destroying Insect Report
issued by a licensee shall be
kept in the files of said
licensee and made available, at
the request of the enforcement
agency, for inspection.

SECTION .0900 - DUTIES AND
RESPONSIBILITES OF LICENSE

.0904 PROHIBITED ACTS
(g) No certified applicator,

licensee or his employees shall
represent to any property owner
or his authorized agent or
occupant of any structure that
any specific pest is infesting
said property, structure, or
surrounding areas thereof, -rf
unless strongly supporting
visible evidence of such
infestation , do c;s rrerfc exist s_^

CHAPTER 36 - DEPARTMENTAL
ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES

.0002 RULE MAKING AND
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

(a) The Model Adminis t rat ive
rroceduri: iFor Rule Halting arrd
Hearings Rules of Administrative
Procedures

,

codified as Title
22, Subchapters 2B and 2C of the
North Carolina Administrative
Code, effective September 29,
1980, as anended through
Dec ember 3-r -W-fr& October 23,
1 986, is hereby adopted to apply
to actions of the North Carolina
Department of Agriculture.
(c) Copies of 22 NCAC,

Subchapters 2B and 2C and 22
NCAC 2A .0005 may be inspected
in the Office of the
Commissioner of Agriculture, 1

West Edenton Street, Raleigh,
North Carolina. Copies may be
obtained at a cost as determined
by the publisher by contacting
from the
Administrative
Sect ion erf
General ' *.

Office of
Pr ocedure s

the Att orney
Office , +^

Hearings, 424 N.
Blount Street, Raleigh, North
Carolina. , for a charge xrf four
dollars (04.00) .

.0003 AUTOMATIC TERMINATION
OF SECTIONS (REPEALED)

CHAPTER 38 STANDARDS DIVISION

SECTION .0200 - APPROVAL OF
WEIGHING AND MEASURING DEVICES

.0201 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE
The board hereby adopts the
National Bureau of Standards,
Handbook 44, +9^6 1987 edition,
"Specifications, Tolerances, and
Other Technical Requirements for
Weighing and Measuring Devices"
except as otherwise indicated in
this Chapter. The tolerances
sec t ion rrf G ec t ion 5 . 5 6 rrf
Hnndbo cik 44 , relating tro Grain
Mo isture meters, -is specifically
Tttrt included -in this adoption by
r e ferenc e .

Copies of the above are
available for inspection in the
Office of the Director of the
Standards Division and may be
obtained at a cost of tv;elve
fifteen dollars (012.00)
($15.00) per copy by contacting
the publisher at the following
address: National Bureau of
Standards, Department of
Commerce, U.S. Government
Printing Office, Washington,
D.C.

SECTION .0300 - PACKAGE AND
LABELING REQUIREMENTS

.0301 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE
The following are adopted by
reference as standards for
packaging and labeling and for
determining compliance of
packaged goods with net
contents labeling requirement:
(1) National Bureau of
Standards, Handbook 130, 1 906
1 987 edition, "Packaging and
Labeling Regulation," with
the exception of Sections 13,
14, and 15 of the "Packaging
and Labeling Regulation"
which are deleted;

(2) National Bureau of
Standards, Handbook 133,
Second Edition "Checking the
Net Contents of Packaged
Goods"

.

Copies of Handbook 130
and handbook 133 are available
for inspection in the Office of
the Director of the Standards
Division and may be obtained at
a cost of s even ten dollars
(G7.0-e^ ($10.00) and nine
dollars ($9.00), respectively,
per copy, by contacting the
publisher at the following
address: National Bureau of
Standards, Department of
Commerce, U.S, Government
Printing Office, Washington,
D.C.

SECTION .0400 - METHOD OF SALE
OF COMMODITIES

.0401 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE
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The board hereby adopts the
National Bureau of Standards,
Handbook 130, 1 90G 1987 edition,
"Method of Sale of Commodities
Regulation" with the following
additions and exceptions to the
+9©6 1987 "Method of Sale of
Commodities Regulation:"
(1) Delete Section 1. 2.,

"Bread", since this is
addressed in General Staute
81A-41

.

(2) The preferred method for
measuring fireplace and stove
wood is by the cord or
fractional parts of a cord,
however, nothing in Section
2.3, "Fireplace and Stove
Wood", shall be construed as
preventing the purchaser and
seller of fireplace or stove
wood from agreeing on a
guantity other than a cord or
fractional parts of a cord.

(3) Sections 2.9. , 2.11.,
2.19., 4., and 5. are
deleted

.

(4) Section 2.18 applies only
to kerosene sold in a
container or kerosene sold
through a retail device. In
addition, a container or a
device shall clearly and
conspicuously indicate for
1-K kerosene "SUITABLE FOR
USE IN UNVENTED HEATERS" and
for 2-K kerosene "MAY NOT BE
SUITABLE FOR USE IN UNVENTED
HEATERS .

"

CHAPTER 43 - MARKETS

SUBCHAPTER 43M - PROCESSING
OF EGGS

.0001 COMMINGLING OF SHELL
AND EGG PROHIBITED

No person shall process any
eggs for human food in any
manner which:
(1) does not allow examination
of the content of indivudual
eggs being processed; and

(2) allows egge content to
commingle with the egg shell
or shell membrane during
processing

.

TITLE 4 - DEPARTMENT OF
COMMERCE

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Cemetery Commission
intends to adopt regulation
cited as 4 NCAC 5D .0106 and
amend regulations cited as 4
NCAC 5D .0202 and .0204.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory
65-66.

Authority 65-49,

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
January 15, 1967 at Room 2063,
Dobbs Building, Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, NC

.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments may be sent to the
Cemetery Commission, Post Office
Box 25249, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27611. Requests for
opportunity to present oral
testimony and a summary of the
testimony must be received at
this address by January 12,
1987.

CHAPTER 5 - CEMETERY COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 5D - TRUST FUNDS

SECTION .0100 - MAINTENANCE AND
CARE FUNDS (PERPETUAL

CARE FUNDS)

.0106 CONTRACT DISCLAIMER
Each contract for the sale of

a grave space, mausoleum niche
or crypt shall state that the
amount deposited in a perpetual
care trust fund from the
proceeds of the sale are for the
perpetual care of the grave
space, mausoleum niche or crypt
only and does not include
deposits which may be
subsequently required for
perpetual care of monuments,
markers or other merchandise.

SECTION .0200 - PRE-NEED
CEMETERY MERCHANDISE:
PRE-CONSTRUCTED MAUSOLEUMS
AND BELOW GROUND CRYPTS
TRUST FUNDS

.0202 DELIVERY
(a) Vaults and crypts shall

not be considered delivered
unless installed or stored on
the cemetery premises. If
vaults are not to be installed,
contract must so state in bold
print that purchaser has
accepted above ground delivery.
If vault is to be installed,
then the contract must be broken
down into sales cost and
installation cost.
(b) Markers, bases and vases

shall not be considered
delivered unless installed or
stored at the cemetery or if
stored off premises bv a
suppl ier

,

there shall be no
additional charge for delivery
or freight, unless specified in
bold print in the contract. No
person, firm or corporation
shall be deemed a supplier for
purposes of this rule unless it

:

( 1 ) permanently and
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unalterably identifies each
such merchandise item with
the name of the purchaser;
and when the item is
manufactured and placed into
the storage facility a
Certificate of Title is
prepared and issued to the
lot owner through the
cemetery;

(2) submits to the Cemetery
Commission not 1 e s t than
annually report by
certified public accountant
of each merchandise item
which has been purchased
throucrh a North Carolina
cemetery company and which,
at the date of such report,
was then in storage;

(3) permits the Cemetery
Commission or its designee,
at any time, to examine all
stored merchandise which was
purchased through any North
Carol ina cemetery and to
examine any document
pertaining thereto;

(4) submits evidence of a bond
insuring the existing and
good title of any
merchandise due any
purchaser purchased through
a North Carolina cemetery
company; and which
unconditionally guarantees
to the North Carolina
Cemetery Commission prompt
delivery of an owner's
merchandise item;

(5) submits evidence insuring
that all merchandise
purchased through a North
Carolina cemetery company is
insured for fire, casualty,
theft or other loss normall y
assumed by a bailee for
hire

;

(6) submits a certified
financial statement of the
applicant company at the
time of application for
storage approval and
annually thereafter for the
approval of the Commission.

(c) if opening and closing of
crypts at the time of interment
are not included in the cost of
this merchandise, then it must
be so stated in bold print on
the contract

.

.0204 INTEREST
(a

)

-tf money -is e sc r owc- d int o
a trust account for individual
cont i ai-l;, witrh d eposit s jmd
witlidrawals keyed re spec tfully
tro paymcnt-s and dc liv e iius trc
caiii^ ellat ioiii; on dndivudual
contracts y t+rc inte re st sliall ire
ail-ovrcxi -txr ac c ui iiul-a-tT; st5 iontj its
tire principal tr> whxtrh irt -is
y fctr ibutable r emains on deposit
in -Hrer trust account When

pr incipal -irs withdrawn from a
trust acc ount for which deposit s
and withdrawals ar e keyed try

indiv idual account s -in the
manne r described -in Subsec t ion
-(-a-> xrf -thirs Rul e , interest
earned by -Hre withdrav;n
pr incipal may aistj be withdrawn

.

<rir> i^ money irs escrowed into
a trust account -in a blanket -stnn

sufficient ttj cover all
coutracts frrr preneed
mcrcliandise and s ervices, wliere
deposit s and withdrawals are no-t
math? according to payments ,

d eliveries, cancellat ions, or
ot+ter activity on individual
cont rac t s, t^rcn "Hte inte r e st
mtrst accumulat e until xt equals
one lialf trf th« principal

.

Afte r irt reaches one half o^f t+te
principal

,

then aii inter e s t
over the hatf may ire withdrawn

.

.0204 EXCESS FUNDS
(a^ If money is escrowed into

a trust account for contracts
for preneed merchandise and
services, excess interest may be
withdrawn quarterly so long as
the amount on deposit for each
contract equals at least 60^ of
the proceeds received on account
of contracts for the sale of
such merchandise or 125^ of the
current wholesale cost of such
merchandise as determined by the
comm 1 s sion. whichever is
greater

.

(b) The current wholesale cost
as determined by the commission
shall be the highest wholesale
cost for each category of such
merchandise charged in North
Carolina by a vendor of such
merchandise whose sales to
cemeteries in North Carolina
exceeded 200 units of such
merchandise during the preceding
year .

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12

Savings and Loan
intends to amend
cited as 4 NCAC 1 6D

that the
Division
regulation
.0302.

The proposed effective date of
this action is March 1, 1987.

Statutory
54B-55.

Authority

:

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
December 15, 1986 at Room 4205,
Dobbs Building, Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, NC

.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments may be sent to Savings
and Loan Division, P. 0. Box
M-27945, Raleigh, NC 27611.
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Request for opportunity to
present oral testimony and a
summary of the testimony must be
received at this address by
December 10, 1986.

CHAPTER 16 - SAVINGS AND LOAN
DIVISION: SAVINGS AND LOAN

COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 1 6D - OPERATION OF
SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATIONS

SECTION .0300 RECORDS

to
by

.0302 RETENTION: REPRODUCTION
AND DISPOSITION OF
RECORDS

(a) Each association shall
take reasonable precautions
protect records from damage
fire, flood or other hazards,
and to safeguard records from
unnecessary deterioration as a
result of excessive heat,
humidity, dryness or lack of
proper ventilation. Adequate
safeguards shall be maintained
to protect records from access
or removal by unauthorized
persons

.

(b) Each association or branch
office thereof shall retain all
the records set forth in this
Paragraph for at least the
periods specified.

RECORDS TO BE--MINIMLTi RETENTION
RETAINED PERIOD (YRS.)

CORPORATE
Audit Reports P 3
Pension Trust (IRS
Ruling, Bylav;s,
Trust Agreements) P T+5

Annual Reports to
Supervisors P 5

Examination Reports and
Supervisory Letters P 5

Minute Books (Members,
Stockholder, Directors
and Committees) P

Charter, Bylaws and
Amendments P
Blanket Bonds P T+5
Ballots and Proxy
Votes of Members
and Stockholders 3

Certificate of
Insurance P

FHLB Membership
Certificate P

Attachments, Executions
and Releases 3

Claims. Court Orders and
Restraining Orders 10

Deeds, Leases and
Contracts; Titles
to Vehicles P T+S

U.S. Corporate Income
Tax Forms 15

N.C. Corporate Ta.x
Forms 15

Social Security and

Unemployment Tax
Records 15
Personal Property
Tax Records 15

ACCOUNTING /ASSOCIATION
Bank Statements and
Reconcilements ? 5

Cancelled Checks +5 5
Check Vouchers or
Stubs +5 5

Duplicate Deposit
Slips 9 5

Expense and Paid
Bills File 9 3
FHLB and State
Reports P 5

General and
Subsidiary Ledgers P

General and
Other Journals P

Original Entry
Records +5 5

Pre-authorized
Bank Forms ^ 5

Tellers' Cash
Proof Sheets 2

Trial Balances 2 3

WITHDRAWABLE ACCOUNTS
Deposit 3 5
Inheritance Tax
Releases 10
Cancelled Savings
Certificates +3 5

Withdrawable Slips
or Checks +3 5

Affidavits for Lost
Passbook or Certificate P

Lost Instrument Bonds
for Passbooks or
Certificates P

Power of Attorney
or Affidavits P

Signature Card
Files T+ 6 5

Savings Certificates
Vouclicrs rrr Stubs
Record of Issue. . . . 20 T+5

Withdrawable Account
Loan Notes R

Withdrawable Account
Loan Disclosures After
Note "Paid" 2

Withdrawable Account
Assignment or Transfer
Records Se P

Returned 1 099 Forms 6
No-Mail Notice T+4

MORTGAGE LOANS
Loan Register P
Mortgage Loan
Disclosure Statement
(Form HMDA-1 ) 5

Commitments T+3
Signature Cards T+3
Construction Loan
Agreement T+3

Esc row Agre ement s T+-3
Cost Estimates T+3
Inspection Reports T+3
Waiver of Liens T+3
Paid Bills for
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Borrowers' Construction... T+3
Affidavits T+3

MeRTSASE LOANS (AFTER PAID OFD
Collection Records T+ 3
FHA Insurance
Receipts T+ 3

Applications T+ 3
Appraisals T+ 3
Construction Loan
Authorizations T+ 3
Credit Reports T+ 3
Escrow Agreements
and Records T+ 3

Title Opinions T+ 3
Disclosure and
Recision T+ 3
Flood Insurance
Documentation T+ 3

Additional Collateral
Agreement T+ 3
Settlement Statement T+ 3
Correspondence T+ 3
Modifications T+ 3

LOANS (Commercial, Consumer
Credit, Credit Cards )

Borrowers' Statement... T+ + 3
Posting or Transaction
Journal + 3

Loan Proceeds
Disbursement
Records T +3
Interest Rebate
Record + T-t-3

Loans Made
Record T+ 3

Loans Paid
Record T+ 3

Liability Card
and/or Ledger T+ 5 3

Loan Ledger
Cards T+ 5 3

Note and/or
Loan Register +& P

Resolutions T+ 5 3
Charged-off Loan
Records 10
Collateral Records 10
Disclosure Document 2
CREDIT GARBS
Customer
Application T+1

Res olut ions T * 5
Sales Ticket or
Drafts -Credit Card. .

.

5 3
Statement of
Account - Credit Card 5
Post iiig or
Transactions Journal +
Charyed off
Loan Re c ords +0

Merchant Agreement
-Credit Card T+ 5 2

REAL ESTATE OWNED
Trustee '

s

Report T+ 6 3
Appraisal T+ 6 3
Contracts for
Sale T+ 6 3

Leases T+ 6 3
Tax Records T+ 6 3
Deeds T+ 6 3

PMI Claims T+ 6 3
Notice of Intent
to Foreclose T+ 6 3

Title Policies T+ 6 3

INSURANCE
Public Liability-
Workers Compensation 10
Fire and Extended
Coverage, Auto Errors
and Omissions 3

Directors and
Officers Liability 10

MISCELLANEOUS

Savings Bonds
Applications 2
Duplicate Stubs 2
Letter of
Transmittal of
Bonds Redeemed 2

Monthly Report of
Sales and
Holdings 2

Travelers Checks
Applications 2
Consignment Receipts 2

Personnel Records
Time Cards +9- 3
Group Insurance
Records T+6

Employment Applications
1 . Hired T+3
2. Not Hired 3

Payroll Records 10

Safe Deposit Boxes
Rent Receipts 5 3
Lease Contracts P T+3
History Cards P

Investments
Register P
Purchase and
Sale T+ 6 3

Safe-Keeping
Receipts T+ 6 3

Mail Register 3

General Correspondence 3

OSHA
OSHA Records and
Reports 6

Purchases, Sales and
Participation
Agreement T+ ? 3
Sale List T+ t' 3
Remittance Report T+ ? 3

All Retirement Plan Accounts
All Related Forms
and Documents T+7

Keogh
Consent to
Par t icipate T i 7

Adop t ion Agreement T l 7
Designation of
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Beneficiary T i 7
Rem itt anc e xr£ Trust
Contribution 7+-?

Participat e T i 7
iRS frnrm 5305,
Trus t Ac)reei iient T I 7

De signation o^
Disneficiary T-H?

Foxm 990 r T+t'
Plan Summary T-t-?

+e99 R OTT W 2p ^F+^

KEY TO SYMBOLS USED
P - Permanent
T - Termination (Closed,

Paid-off or Settled)
R - Return to Customer

After Termination of
Contractual Relationship

(-c-> No fc hii '

i cj in tliis Rule shall
proliibit any associat ion rrc

branch offic e thereof from
keeping and maint ainincf any arrd
all o-f it^ rec ords for a l onger
period ox t inie tlian the t ime
se-t

—

forth as "Hre i etention
perio d in Paragraplt (b

)

o^ this
Rul e.
-(-d4 Notliing in this Rul e shall

prohibit any association or*

branch o ffice thereo f from
caus ing any or al 1 or it s
records, whet he r permanent
records or r ecords designat ed to
hrs retained for a minimum p eriod
of t ime

,

-to be recorded, copied
or repr oduce d by any
phot ographic , phot os t at ic

,

or
miniature photographic process
vjliic h is in common and general
trso and whicli foiins a medium for
copying or reproducing t+to
original records on a film or
other durabl e mate rial as
provided by Subsec t ion (d

)

of
e-rS^ 54D 55.

TITLE 10 - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Department of Human
Resources intends to adopt
regulation cited as 10 NCAC 7A
.0503.

The proposed effective date of
this action is March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: 1986
Session Laws, Chapter 1008,
Section 2.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:30 p.m. on
December 17, 1986 at Highway
Building, Auditorium (First
Floor), 1 South Wilmington
Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Any person
may request information or
copies of the proposed rule by
writing or calling John P.
Barkley, Agency Legal
Specialist, Division of Health
Services, P. 0. Box 2091,
Raleigh, North Carolina
27602-2091, (919) 733-3131.
Written comments on this subject
may be sent to Mr. Barkley at
the above address. Written and
oral (for no more than ten
minutes) comments on this
subject may be presented at the
hearing. Notice should be given
to Mr. Barkley at least three
days prior to the hearing if you
desire to speak.

CHAPTER 7 - HEALTH: EPIDEMIOLOGY

SUBCHAPTER 7A - ACUTE
COMMUNICABLE DISEASE CONTROL

SECTION .0500 - PURCHASE AND
DISTRIBUTION OF VACCINE

.0503 VACCINE FOR MEDICALLY
INDIGENT PATIENTS

(a) The Department of Human
Resources provides vaccines
required by law free of charge
to physicians and other health
care providers to administer to
medically indigent patients.
These vaccines are provided to
physicians and other health care
providers by local health
departments acting as agents of
the state.
(b) Private physicians and

health care providers shall be
eligible to receive free
vaccines from the department
only if they annually sign an
agreement with a local health
department serving their
practice area. This agreement
will be prepared by the
immunization program and will
require the physicians to
administer such vaccines only to
eligible patients, to charge
only a reasonable administration
fee, to submit monthly vaccine
reports on a form prepared by
the Immunization Program by the
fifth day of each month, to
report adverse vaccine reactions
through the Federal Monitoring
System for Adverse Events
Following Immunization (MSAEFI),
to obtain a signed Important
Information Statement for each
dose of vaccine administered and
to retain tne signed portion for
a period of ten years following
the end of the calendar year in
which the form was signed, or
for ten years following the
recipient's age of majority,
whichever is longer, and upon
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request, furnish copies of the
signed portion to the above
Health Department or the Centers
for Disease Control, Department
of Health and Human Services, to
keep a record of the vaccine
manufacturer, lot number, and
date of administration for each
dose of vaccine administered, to
allow periodic inspection of
their vaccine supplies and
records by the Immunization
Program, and to comply with the
rules of this section.
(c) Patients are considered

medically indigent and therefore
eligible if their family income
is less than the federal poverty
level and they are not eligible
for Medicaid.
(d) A physician or health care

provider who fails to submit
timely and accurate reports, as
required in Paragraph (b), twice
in any 12 month period shall
have their eligibility to
receive state vaccine suspended
for a period of one year. A
physican or liealth care provider
v;ho fails to comply with any of
the other requirements of this
Rule may have their eligibility
suspended by the department for
a period determined by the
department and may be subject to
an action brought pursuant to
G.S. 130A-27. All suspensions
of eligibility shall be in
accordance with G.S. 130A-23.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Department of Human
Resources intends to amend
regulation cited as 10 NCAC 9A
.0006.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory
130A-326.

Authority: G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:30 p.m. on
December 17, 1986 at Highway
Building, Auditorium (First
Floor), 1 South Wilmington
Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures : Any person
may request information or
copies of the proposed rule by
writing or calling John P.
Barkley, Agency Legal
Specialist, Division of Health
Services, P. 0. Box 2091,
Raleigh, North Carolina
27602-2091, (919) 733-3131.
V/ritten comments on this subject
may be sent to Mr. Barkley at
tiio above address. Written and
oral (for no more than ten
minutes) comments on tliis

subject may be presented at the
hearing. Notice should be given
to Mr. Barkley at least three
days prior to the hearing if you
desire to speak.

CHAPTER 9 - HEALTH: LABORATORY

SUBCHAPTER 9A - GENERAL POLICIES

.0006 FEES
(d) Fees for the analysis of

public water supplies shall be
as follows:

FEE

0140.00 $200.00

$190.00
$15.00
$60.00
$60.00

PARAMETER
Inorganic
Chemistry . .

.

Organic
Chemistry... 0130 .00

Colifrom... 012.00
Trihalomethanes . . 045 . 00
Sodium and Corrosivity . .

.

Radiochemistry

:

gross alpha and beta...
radium 226 . .

.

radium 228 . .

.

uranium . .

.

Any single organic
or inorganic
parameter 010.00

$50.00
$65.00
$50.00
$75.00

$15.00

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the N C Building Code
Council intends to amend
regulations cited as 11 NCAC 8
.0204 through .0207.

The proposed effective date of
this action is February 1, 1987.

Statutory
143-138.

Authority

:

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
December 9, 1986 at Room 700,
Wake County Courthouse, Raleigh,
NC.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments should be submitted to
Lee Hauser, Engineering
Division, Department of
Insurance, P. 0. Box 26387,
Raleigh, NC 27611

.

CHAPTER 8 - ENGINEERING &
BUILDING CODES

SECTION .0200 - NORTH CAROLINA
STATE BUILDING CODE

.0204 BUILDING CODE: VOLUME
I: GENERAL CONSTRUCTION

This volume of the State
Building Code contains general
administrative procedures,
general statutes pertaining to
enforcement of the code, appeals
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procedures, procedures for
amending the code and procedures
for approval of local ordinances
which may be at variance with
the code. In addition the
volume contains the technical
general construction
requirements, references to
technical standards adopted as
part of the code, and other
pertinent information. The
North Carolina Building Code
Council adopts by reference
Volume I, General Construction,
North Carolina State Building
Code, 1978 Edition with
amendments through S eptemb er 9t
+96-6 December 9, 1986.

.0205 BUILDING CODE: VOLUME
I-B: UNIFORM RESIDENTIAL
CODE

The "Uniform Residential
Building Code" volume contains
general construction
requirements for one and two
family dwellings, including
details as to the size, spacing
and span of structural members,
and other pertinent facts which
do not require an architect or
an engineer to design or
advise. The North Carolina
Building Code Council adopts by
reference Volume I-B, Uniform
Residential Building Ccode, 1968
Edition with amendments through
S ept ember 9-r +986 December 9,
1986.

concerning the installation of
heating, air conditioning,
refrigeration and ventilation
equipment. The North Carolina
Building Code Council adopts by
reference Volume III, Heating,
Air Conditioning, Refrigeration
and Ventilation, North Carolina
State Building Code, 1980
Edition with amendments through
Sept ember 9- 1900 December 9,
1986.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Department of Insurance
intends to adopt regulations
cited as 11 NCAC 15 .0001
through .0010.

The proposed effective date of
this action is March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority:
131E-210 through 213.

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
December 16, 1986 at Hearing
Room, Third Floor, Dobbs
Building, 430 N. Salisbury St.,
Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Direct all
written comments to Janis
Curtis, Medical Database
Commission, P. 0. Box 26387,
Raleigh, North Carolina, 27611.
Phone 733-7141

.

.0206 BUILDING CODE: VOLUME
II: PLUMBING

The plumbing volume of the
building code contains general
administrative procedures,
general statutes pertaining to
enforcement of the code, appeals
procedures, procedures for
amendment of the code,
procedures for approval of local
ordinances, the technical
provisions for installation of
plumbing systems, and other
pertinent information. The
North Carolina Building Code
Council adopts by reference
Volume II, Plumbing, North
Carolina State Building Code,
1980 Edition with amendments
through September 9-r 1 900
Decenber 9, 1986.

.0207 BUILDING CODE: VOLUME
III: HEATING, AIR CONDITIONING,
REFRIGERATION AND VENTILATION
This volume contains general
administrative procedures,
general statutes pertaining to
enforcement of the code,
procedures for appeals and
amendments to the codes, and
procedures for approval of local
ordinances. Technical
provisions are also contained

CHAPTER 15 - MEDICAL DATABASE
COMMISSION

.0001 SCOPE AND PURPOSE
n NCAC 15 sets forth the

requirements that providers
defined in 11 NCAC 15 .0002 must
meet in submitting to the
Medical Database Commission a
uniform data set describing the
case mix of its patients and the
charges for services provided to
these patients. That data will
be used for grouping providers
and patients, comparing hospital
charges and utilization, and
disseminating information to
interested persons, including
health care providers, payers,
health care consumers, and
health care planners. The
information base will include
data on different types of
health care services, including
ambulatory care services and
long term care services. The
commission may collect health
care data from hospitals,
physicians, nursing homes,
ambulatory surgical centers, and
other types of health care
providers

.

.0002 DEFINITIONS
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As used in this Chapter, unless
specifically stated otherwise,
the following words have the
following meanings:

(1) Act. The North Carolina
Medical Database Commission
Act, G.S. 131E.
(2) Aggregate data. A
grouping or categorization of
the raw data such that the
unit of observation is
something other than an
individual discharge.
Reports of aggregate data
with small cell counts will
be edited to prevent
potential identification of
individual patients.

(3) Case mix data. Case
specific discharge data which
describe socio-demographic
characteristics of the
patient; total and component
charges; principal and other
diagnoses; treatment and
services provided to the
patient; as well as duration
and status of the patient's
stay in the hospital. Case
mix data refers to the actual
data elements abstracted from
the UB-82 claim form as v;ell
as classifications resulting
from groupings of specific
data elements, e.g., DRG
category

.

(4) Charge data. The
provider's usual published
charges for the services
provided. Charge data shall
consist of the UB-82 data
elements and codes specified
in n NCAC 15 .0005.

(5) Commission. The Medical
Database Commission
established under G.S.
131E-208.

(6) Compilations. The
arrangement of data collected
by and furnished to the
commission by any
corporation, association, or
entity acting under agreement
with the corrmission for
release and dissemination to
the public

.

(7) Executive Director. The
chief operating officer of
the commission.
(8) Hospital. Any facility
licensed by the North
Carolina Division of Facility
Services under G.S. 131E-77
(Hospital Licensure Act) or
under G.S. 122C-23 (Licensure
of Facilities for the
Mentally 111, the Mentally
Retarded and Substance
Abusers), but does not
include

(a) a facility with all of
its beds designated for
medical type "LTC" (long
term care);

(b) a facility with the
majority of its beds
designated for medical type
"PSY-3" (mental
retardation); or

(c) a facility operated by
the North Carolina
Department of Corrections.

(9) Uniform hospital billing
form. Form UB-82/HCFA-1 450

,

the hospital billing form
developed by the National
Uniform Billing Committee or
its successor.

(10) Raw data. Patient
specific records including
those which have been
stripped of all patient
identifying information.

.0003 OUTSIDE CONTRACTOR
Subject to state law and

regulation, the commission may
enter into any contractual
agreement with any corporation,
association, or other entity it
deems appropriate to:

( 1

)

undertake the process of
collecting the data;

(2) build and maintain the
database;

(3) prepare such analyses and
reports authorized by the
commission

.

The agreement may provide for
the designated contractor to
prepare and distribute or make
available data in the name of
the commission to health care
providers, health care
consumers, third-party payers,
government, researchers, and the
general public, in accordance
with any rules of
confidentiality that may apply
and the rules of review by the
commission as stated in 11 NCAC
15 .0009.

.0004 UNIFORM BILLING FORM
(a) All hospitals shall

complete the uniform hospital
billing form for every inpatient
discharged after June 30, 1987,
from any bed other than one
designated medical type "LTC"
regardless of the source of
payment. For patients
discharged after June 30, 1987
who were admitted prior to July
1, 1987, hospitals shall submit
either an admit-through
-discharge claim or the complete
set of interim claims necessary
to reflect the total length of
stay and charges.
(b) The information submitted

to the commission shall be
reported only for the primary
payer, including Medicare,
Medicaid, other government
programs, private insurance,
health maintenance
organizations, self-insured.
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private pay patients, and
others. Claims for secondary
payers will be considered
duplicate information and should
not be submitted to the
commission

.

(c) Unless otherwise indicated
in these rules, completion of
the uniform hospital billing
form shall be in accordance with
the instructions and definitions
in the manual developed by the
National Uniform Billing
Committee as adopted and
finalized by the North Carolina
Uniform Billing Committee. A
copy of the manual is available
for reference by contacting the
Executive Director of the
Medical Database Commission at
the Department of Insurance,
Post Office Box 26387, Raleigh,
North Carolina, 27611.

.0005 DESCRIPTION OF DATA TO
BE SUBMITTED

(a) The following UB-82 data
elements must be submitted to
the commission for every
inpatient discharged regardless
of payer:

DATA ELEMENT AND DESCRIPTION
(1) Patient Control Number -

Form locator 3 - As stated in
the North Carolina UB-82
manual

.

(2) Bill Type - Form locator
4 - As stated in the North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(3) Medicaid Provider Number -

Form locator 8 - The number
assigned to the provider by
Medicaid or as assigned by
the commission.

(4) Zip Code of Patient
Address - Form locator 1 1

Only the zip code portion of
this field is required. Code
as stated in the North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(5) Patient Birth Date - Form
locator 1 2 - As stated in the
North Carolina UB-82 manual.

(6) Patient Sex - Form locator
13 - As stated in the North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(7) Admission Date - Form
locator 1 5 - As stated in the
North Carolina UB-82 manual.

(8) Admission Type - Form
locator 17 - As stated in the
North Carolina UB-82 manual.

(9) Source of Admission - Form
locator 18 - As stated in the
North Carolina UB-82 manual.

(10) Patient Status - Form
locator 21 - As stated in the
North Carolina UB-82 manual.

(11) Discharge Date (Statement
Covers Period) - Form locator
22 - As stated in the North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(12) All revenue codes and

associated charges - Form
locators 51 and 53 - As
stated in the North Carolina
UB-82 manual

.

(13) Payer Identification -

Form locator 57A
Classification code and
specific carrier
identification code for
primary payer.

(14) Certificate/Social
Security/Health Insurance
Claim/Identification Number -

Form locator 68 - As stated
in the North Carolina UB-82
manual

.

(15) Insurance Group Number -

Form locator 70 - As stated
in the North Carolina UB-82
manual

.

(16) Principal Diagnosis -

Form locator 77 - As stated
in the North Carolina UB-82
manual

.

(17) Other Diagnoses (4 others
ma.ximum) - Form locators
78-81 - As stated in North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(18) Principal Procedure and
Date - Form locator 84 - As
stated in the North Carolina
UB-82 manual

.

(19) Other Procedures and
Dates - Form locators 85 & 86

As stated in the North
Carolina UB-82 manual.

(20) Attending Physician ID -

Form locator 92 - Only the
state license number of this
field is required. Code as
stated in the North Carolina
UB-82 manual

.

(21) Other Physician ID - Form
locator 93 - Only the state
license number of this field
is required. Code as stated
in the North Carolina UB-82
manual

.

(b) Any hospital which does
not have a Medicaid provider
number shall contact the
commission for assignment of an
identification number. This
number shall be used in the
Medicaid Provide Number field
for all UB-82 records submitted
to the commission.

.0006 DATA SUBMISSION
(a) Data Submission

Requirements
(1) At a minimum, hospitals
shall submit the required
data within 45 calendar days
following the close of tlie

calendar quarter during
which the patient vjas

discharged or died;
therefore, data for the
calendar quarters ending
March 31, June 30, September
30, and December 31 shall be
submitted before or on May
15, August 14, November 14,
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and February 14,
respectively. However,
hospitals may submit data
more frequently during the
calendar quarter in which
the patient was discharged
or died.

(2) The commission may, for
good cause, extend the time
for submitting data upon
receipt of a written request
for an extension from the
provider

.

(b) Format for Data Submission
(1) All hospitals may submit
UB-82 discharge data to the
commission on one of three
acceptable types of media:
on paper UB-82 forms, on a
magnetic tape, or on a
personal computer (PC)
diskette. Other types of
media used to submit the
required data, such as
on-line transmission, must
be approved by the
commission

.

(2) The physical
specifications of the
magnetic tape shall be any
size reel, recorded in nine
track. Extended Binary Coded
Decimal Interchange Code
(EBCDIC) mode or ASCII, with
density equal to 1600 BPI or
6250 BPI, unlabeled or with
IBM standard labels.
Acceptable specifications
for submission of data on a
floppy disk shall be 5 1/4
inch IBM-PC compatible
diskette

.

(3) Data submitted via
magnetic tape shall conform
to the uniform record layout
as required by the
commission. Copies of the
required format may be
obtained by contacting the
Executive Director of the
Medical Database Commission
at the Department of
Insurance, Post Office Box
26387, Raleigh, North
Carolina, 2761 1 .

(c) Edit Criteria
(1) Data elements that are
considered critical fields
for record editing purposes
are Patient Control Number,
Bill Type, Medicaid Provider
Number, Zip Code, Date of
Birth, Sex, Admission Date,
Admission Type, Source of
Admission, Patient Status,
Statement Covers Period,
Revenue Codes and Charges,
Primary Payer, Principal
Diagnosis, Attending
Physician License Number.
Records containing invalid
UB-82 codes or all-blank
fields for any of these data

elements will be designated
as error records

.

(2) The last revenue code
listed must be 001, Total
Charge, and this charge must
equal the sum of charges for
all other revenue codes
reported

.

(3) The following data
elements must contain valid
codes if present: Primary
Payer - Specific Carrier
Identification, Other
Diagnoses, Principal
Procedure Code and Date,
Other Procedures one and two
Codes and Dates, Other
Physician License Number (if
a procedure was performed).

(4) Upon completion of the
data error assessment, the
commission or the designated
contractor shall promptly
notify each hospital whose
records do not pass the
critical edit checks. This
notification shall identify
the discharge records and
the data items within them
which do not pass the edits.
Each hospital receiving an
error notification report
shall respond within 30
calendar days of the
notification by making the
necessary changes.

(d) Data Submission
Arrangements

(1) Each hospital or its
designated agent shall
submit the required UB-82
data directly to the
commission or to the
contractor designated by the
commission to collect,
process and hold the data.

(2) Resubmissions of data as
required by the commission
or upon the initiative of a
hospital will be accepted
for the purposes of adding
records, amending data
elements or otherwise making
modifications to a previous
data submission.
Resubmissions shall conform
to the requirements of 1 1

NCAC 15 .0006(b).

.0007 PROVIDER VERIFICATION
Providers shall be given an

opportunity to review and verify
information pertaining to them
in the database as follows:

(1) Within ten calendar days
after all error corrections
have been made and
preparation of the
individual hospital's
dataset by the commission is
complete, hospitals will be
notified in writing of the
opportunity to review the
dataset. A summary
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compilation of the dataset,
including number of
discharges and total
charges, will be attached to
each provider's notification
for data verification.
Hospitals shall return the
notice to the commission
indicating that they have
verified the accuracy of the
summary compilation of the
dataset

.

(2) With 15 calendar days of
the date of the commission's
verification notice and
summary compilation, a
hospital that wishes to
review the dataset shall
submit a written request to
the Executive Director. The
commission shall respond to
this request with ten
calendar days of its
receipt

.

(3) V/ithin 30 calendar days
of the commission's release
of the requested dataset,
the hospital shall respond
in writing to the commission
challenging those portions
of the dataset which the
hospital believes are
inaccurate along with
arguments as to why they are
inaccurate and any data
which would assist in
clarifying the possible
inaccuracies

.

(4) If the commission finds
any error, the dataset shall
be corrected before release
of compilations for public
use; notification of
corrections shall be
provided to the appropriate
hospital by the commission
in writing prior to public
release. If the commission
finds changes to the dataset
are unnecessary or
unwarranted, it shall notify
the appropriate hospital of
this conclusion in writing
prior to public release,
including a brief but
complete explanation of its
determination. The
compilations from the
dataset will be available to
the public seven calendar
days following commission
adoption

.

(5) The commission may, for
good cause, grant an
extension of these time
limits upon receipt of
written request from the
hospital

.

.0008 COMPLIANCE
Compliance with these

regulations and the act will be
determined on a quarterly basis.
The commission shall consider a

hospital out of compliance with
these regulations and the act
when any of the following
conditions apply:

( 1 ) The hospital knowingly
fails to submit data in
accordance with the
provisions of these
regulations

.

(2) More than three percent
of the hospital's discharge
records, on a quarterly
basis, are excluded from the
database by the commission
because the records do not
pass the critical edit
checks as specified in 1 1

NCAC 15 .0006(c) and the
total percentage of
discharge records failing
critical edits for the
preceding three quarters and
the submitting quarter
exceeds three percent . Upon
notification by the
commission, hospitals will
be allowed to submit the
corrected records in
accordance with the
requirements of 11 NCAC 15
.0006.

(3) The hospital has not
submitted data for all of
its discharges to the
commission in accordance
with the required submission
deadlines in 11 NCAC 15
.0006(a)

.

Hospitals not complying with
these regulations are subject to
penalties established by the
commission in pursuance of the
act

.

.0009 DATA ACCESSIBILITY
(a) The UB-82 data, i.e., the

individual forms, computer
tapes, or other types of media,
collected by and furnished to
the commission or to the
designated contractor, pursuant
to the act shall not be public
records under the North Carolina
Public Record Act (G.S. 132) and
shall not be subject to public
inspection

.

( 1

)

The raw data may be
released by the commission
only to providers vjho have
submitted that particular
data to the commission, and
who request to see and
review their dataset for
purposes of verifying
information in the
commission's database
pertaining to the provider.
These datasets are not
public records.

(2) Commission approval is
required for all requests by
interested parties for data
which have been submitted to
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the commission and which are
not yet public record.

(3) Data collected by the
commission shall not be
shared among other state
agencies unless the
information is approved by
the commission as a public
record

.

(b) The commission shall
require the designated
contractor to prepare aggregate
reports on hospital charges and
utilization in North Carolina.
Compilations prepared and
approved for release and
dissemination by the commission
are public records and shall be
accessible to the public in
accordance with the State Public
Record Act and the rules adopted
by the commission. These
reports shall include, but not
be limited to comparative
information on average charges,
total and ancillary charge
components, utilization rates
length of stay on diagnosis
specific and procedure specific
categories, and number of
discharges, compiled in
aggregate by provider, by
diagnosis, and by primary payer
category

.

(1) Compilations are not
available for release and
dissemination and are not
public records until the
provider verification
process has been completed.

(2) The commission shall not
release any compilation of
data for special studies and
analysis for a purpose other
than one authorized by the
act. Compilations of data
shall not contain patient
identifiable information.
Only the UB-82 information
which can be released under
requirements of the act
shall be released.

(3) Nothing in the act or
these regulations shall
prevent a hospital from
receiving upon request a
copy of that hospital's
final edited dataset as it
exists in the possession of
the commission.

(c) Requests for Special
Compilations. Any person,
organization, governmental
agency, or other entity may
request the preparation of
compilations of data collected
by and furnished to the
commission in a specific manner
or format not already used by
the commission. This includes
requests for subsets of
information already available
from the commission in compiled
form

.

(1) All requests for
compilations of data shall
be made in writing to the
E.xecutive Director of the
Commission. At minimum, the
written request shall
contain the name, address,
and telephone number of the
requester, a description of
the requested compilation of
data, a short, plain
statement of the reason for
the request, and the
relationship of the
requested compilation to a
legitimate purpose. A
"legitimate purpose" is a
purpose consistent with the
intent, policies, and
purposes of the act.

(2) The commission shall
review each request for a
compilation of data and
determine whether to approve
or deny the request . The
commission shall notify the
public of requests made for
compilations by listing the
requester, and providing a
short description of the
request on its official
meeting agenda. Such
requests shall be approved
by the commission which
shall designate the form in
which the information shall
be made available . The
approval or denial by the
commission of requests for
compilations of data shall
be within the discretion of
the commission. The
commission may deny a
request for a compilation of
data for reasons including,
but not limited to,
unavailability of data, the
requested compilation is
already available from the
commission or another
source, the requested
compilation of data would
endanger patient
confidentiality, the
comnission lacks sufficient
resources to fulfill tlie
request, or the request is
not related to a legitimate
purpose

.

(3) The commission shall
notify the requester in
writing of its decision.
Denial of a request shall
include a brief explanation
of the reason for the
denial

.

(4) The commission or the
designated contractor in
consultation with the
commission shall also
determine a fee to be
charged to the requesting
agency or private sector
organization to cover the
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direct and indirect costs
for producing special
compilations. The fee
should include staff time,
computer time, copying
costs, and supplies. For
charging purposes. each
compilation will be
considered an original.

(5) No person, organization,
governmental agency, or
other entity receiving data
from the commission shall
redistribute that
information for a fee in tlic
same form without prior
written approval from the
commission

.

.0010 CONFIDENTIALITY OF DATA
(a) The commission shall

institute appropriate
administrative procedures and
mechanisms to ensure that it is
in compliance with state laws on
patient confidentiality. The
commission shall ensure that any
contract entered into with other
parties for the purposes of
processing and analysis of data
collected under this regulation
shall contain assurances that
such other parties shall also
comply with the provisions of
state law regarding patient
confidentiality

.

(b) The patient control number
(UB-82 form locator 3) and the
certificate, social security,
health insurance claim,
identification number (UB-82
form locator 68) shall be used
only for the purpose of
establishing an audit trail in
the event that it is necessary
to retrieve the primary source
document for validation of the
abstracted data. The commission
shall also ensure that data
collected under this regulation
and disclosed to other parties
shall be purged of patient
control numbers, certificate,
social security, health
insurance claim, identification
numbers and dates of birth prior
to disclosure.
(c) All steps necessary under

state law to protect patient
confidentiality shall be
undertaken by the commission to
prevent the identification of
individual patient records.
(d) Raw data submitted to the

commission or to the designated
contractor by hospitals pursuant
to the act shall be privileged
and confidential, and shall not
be disclosed in any manner. The
foregoing includes, but shall
not be limited to, disclosure,
inspection or copying under the
State's Public Record Act.
However, these prohibitions

shall not apply to the reports
prepared for release and
dissemination by the commission,
(e) For compilations released,

the commission will develop
procedures to prevent small cell
counts from potentially
identifying and individual
patient

.

TITLE 15 NATURAL RESOURCES AND
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Division of Coastal
Management intends to amend
regulations cited as 15 NCAC 7H
.0208, .0309 and adopt 15 NCAC
7J .0312.

The proposed effective date of
this action is March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
n3A-107; 113A-113; 113A-124.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
December 17, 1986 at Conference
Room, Division Marine Fisheries
Building, 3411 Arendell Street,
Morehead City, NC

.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments may be submitted within
30 days prior to the hearing to:
Portia Rochelle, Division of
Coastal Management, P.O. Box
27687, Raleigh, NC 27611.

CHAPTER 7 COASTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 7H - STATE GUIDELINES
FOR AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL

CONCERN

SECTION .0200 - THE ESTUARINE
SYSTEM

.0208 USE STANDARDS
(b)
(6)

(C) Piers shall be designed
to minimize adverse
effects on navigation and
public use of waters while
allowing the applicant
adequate access to deep
waters bv =

( i ) not extending beyond
the established pier
length along the same
shoreline for similar
use

;

(ii) not extending into
the channel portion of
the water body: and

(iii) in no case extend
more than one-third the
width of a natural water
body or m^n-made canal
or basin. Measurements
to determine widths of
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the channels, canals or
basins sh n ll be made
from t)io waterHTrd edge
of any constp l vfetland
vegetation v>hich borders
the vfater body.

( E ) Piers s+rrrii ittrt extend
beyond -tire e st abli-:he d
pier length along thtr stjnte

rriio r cline for similar trstrr

cind "in rro c a .'j e t^x"b end more
trhtm one third trf the
width xrf a natural wat er
body or* man made canal on*

basin

.

SECTION ,0300 - OCEAN HAZARD
AREAS

.0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS

(a) The following types of
development may be permitted
seavjard of the oceanfront
setback requirements of Rule
.0306(a) of the Subchapter if
all other provisions of this
Subchapter and other state and
local regulations are met •

( 1

)

campgrounds that do not
involve substantial
permanent structures;

(2) parking areas with clay,
packed sand or similar
surfaces;

(3) outdoor tennis courts;
(^) elevated decks not
exceeding 500 cquai-c feet;

(5) beach accessways
consistent with Rule
.0308(c) of this Subchapter,

(6) unenclosed, uninhabitable
gazebos with floor areas of
200 square feet or less;

(7) uninhabitable storage
sheds vjith floor areas of
200 square feet or less;

(8) temporary amusement
stands; and

(9) swimming pools.
In all cases, this development
shall only be permitted if it is
landward of the vegetation line,
involves no significant
alteration or removal of primary
or frontal dunes or the dune
vegetation, has ovorwallcs to
protect any existing dunes, is
not essential to the continued
existence and/or ii?e of an
associated pr inc ipal
devclopnent

,

and meets all other
non-setback requirements of this
Subchapter

.

SUBCHAPTER 7J - PROCEDURES FOR
HANDLING MAJOR DEVELOPMENT
PERMITS: VARIANCE REQUESTS:

APPEALS FROM MINOR DEVELOPMENT
PERMIT DECISIONS: AND
DECLARATORY RULINGS

SECTION .0300 - HEARING
PROCEDURE

.0312 SETTLEMENT
(a) It is the policy of the

Coastal Resources Commission
that, whenever possible,
disputes between the department
and any other person that
concern the issuance or failure
to issue a CAMA and/or Dredge
and Fill permit should be
settled through informal
procedures

.

(b) The Coastal Resources
Commission licreby delegates to
the Director of the Division of
Coastal tlanagement on behalf of
the department the authority to
enter into informal settlements
of permit appeals at any time
prior to commencement of the
contested case hearing on
subject appeal. Such
settlements shall not require
the approval of the Coastal
Resources Commission and shall
not be considered a final
commission decision, but shall
be subject to appeal pursuant to
G.S. n3A-121.1. Unless such
settlement results in a written
withdrawal of the permit appeal,
the settlement agreement shall
be submitted to the hearing
officer in the form of a
proposed consent order. The
hearing officer shall then
present the proposed consent
order to the commission at its
next regularly scheduled meeting
with a recommendation for
adoption or rejection of the
consent order

.

(c) The Coastal Resources
Commission further delegates to
the Director of the Division of
Coastal Management the authority
to enter into negotiations to
informally settle permit appeals
subsequent to commencement of a
contested case hearing on the
subject appeal. Any settlement
agreement reached subsequent to
commencement of a contested case
hearing and prior to final
coTTimission decision on the
contested case shall be
submitted to the designated
hearing officer in the contested
case proceeding in the form of a
proposed consent order. The
hearing officer shall present
the proposed consent order to
the commission at its next
regularly scheduled meeting with
a recommendation for adoption or
rejection of the consent order.
(d) All parties to a

settlement reached subsequent to
commencement of a contested case
hearing on the subject appeal
shall , prior to commission
consideration of the proposed
consent order, waive the period
for final commission decision of
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the contested case as set out in
G.S. n3A-122(c).
(e) Adoption of the proposed

consent order shall constitute a
final commission decision for
purposes of G.S. 113A-123. In
the event the commission does
not adopt the consent order as
proposed, the hearing officer
shall issue such orders as are
deemed necessary to complete the
contested case process

.

TITLE 21 - LICENSING BOARDS

Notice is hereby given in
accordance v;ith G.S. 150B-12
that the Board of General
Contractors intends to amend
regulations cited as 21 NCAC 12
.0204; .0205; .0407; and .0503.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1. 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S,
10, 15.1

.

87-1,

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
December 17, 1986 at Jane S.
HcKimmon Center, Corner of
Western Blvd. and Gorman
Street, Raleigh, North Carolina
27695.

Comment Procedures: Persons
wishing to present oral data,
views or arguments may file
notice with the board at least
ten days prior to the hearing.
Any person may also file with
the board a v;ritten submission
containing data, comments or
arguments within ten days after
the hearing.

CHAPTER 12 - CONTRACTORS

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING
REQUIREMENTS

.0204 ELIGIBILITY
(b) Limited License. The

applicant for such a license
must

:

(2) be financially stable to
the e.^tent that the total
current assets of the
applicant or the firm or
corporation he represents
e.xceed the total current
liabilities by a least s e \'en
thousand f^xre httrr

dollars (07,500)
thousand dollars ($10,00

(c) Intermediate License.
The applicant for such a lie
must

:

(2) be financially stable
the e.xtent that the t
current assets of
applicant or the firm
corporation he repres

dred
ten

0) ;

ense

to
otal
the
or

ents

e.xceed the total current
liabilitites by at least
t hirty—frhre t liousand dollars
(035,000) fifty thousand
dollars ($50.000) as
reflected in an audited
financial staement prepared
by a certified public
accountant or by a qualified
independent accountant who

in the public
accountancy;
License . The
such a license

IS engaged
practice of

(d) Unlimited
applicant for
must

:

(2) be financially
the e.xtent that
current assets
applicant or the

stable to
the total
of the
firm or

corportation he represents
e.xceed the total current
liabilities by at least
sixty

—

five thousand dollars
(065,000) one hundred
thousand dollars ($100,000)
as reflected in an audited
financial statement prepared
by a certified public
accountant or by a qualified
independent accountant viho
is engaged in the public
practice of accountancy;

.0205 TERMINATION OF
EXAMINEE'S EMPLOYMENT

(b) Persons, acting as
qualifiers for a new applicant,
who have taken a required
examination for any
classification and have passed
that examination, but have not
been granted a license or
engaged -in general con t rac t ing
renevied their license for at
least two years prior to the
date of the filing of a new
application for license must be
ree.xamined again for that
classification.
(c) Filing Deadline. The

application for a nevf applicant
being qualified by a licensee
shall be filed no later than the
first dav of the month preceding
any regularlv scheduled meeting
of the board. At such meeting
the board vjill consider the
appl icat ion . The regular
meetings of the board are in
January, April, Julv and October
of each year

.

SECTION .0400 - EXAMINATION

.0407 RE-EXAMINATION
A person who has failed an
examination or a part thereof is
allov.'ed to take the e.xamination
or the part he failed to pass
again at the next regularly
scheduled examination upon
payment of the additional fee as
provided in G.S. 87-10; however

,

if an applicant fails twice
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he/she may not be re-examined
until the second regularly
scheduled examination following
such failure and shall submit a
new application with the
appropriate examination and
license fees.

SECTION .0500 - LICENSE

.0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE
(c) Form. The application for

renewal requires the holder of a
yalid license to set forth
whether there were any changes
made in the status of the
licensee's business during the
preceding year and also
requires the holder to give a
financial statement of the
business in question. the
financial statement need not be
prepared by a certified pbulic
accountant or by a qualified
independent accountant but may
be completed by the holder of
the license on the form itself.
However, the board reserves the
right in its sole discretion to
require a license holder to
submit an audited financial
statement if the circumstances
deem such submission necessary.
Except as provided herein, the
financial statement will be
subject to approval by the board
in accordance vfith the
requirements of Section .0204 of
this Chapter.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Board of Nursing
intends to amend regulation
cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0211.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
90-171 .29; 90-171 .30.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 2:00 p.m. on
January 21, 1987 at Europa A,
Hotel Europa, Chapel Hill, NC
27514.

Comment Procedures: Any person
wishing to present oral
testimony relevant to proposed
rule may register at the door
before hearing begins and
present hearing officer with a
written copy of testimony.
Written statements may be
directed, five days prior to the
hearing date, to the North
Carolina Board of Nursing, P. 0.
Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 27602.

CHAPTER 36 - BOARD OF NURSING

SECTION .0200 - LICENSURE

.0211 EXAMINATION
(e) Passing the examination

ent it les the applicant tt» a
certificate trf registrat ion and
a lic ense -to practice nursing
ftrr "the remainder trf t4Tc
calendar year satisfies one of
the qualifications for
eligibility for licensure by
examination

.

Cf) When all of the
qualifications for eligibility
for licensure have been met, the
applicant will be issued a
certificate of registration and
a license to practice nursing
for the remainder of the
calendar year.
-HH- to Cg)
fg-> to (h)
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FINAL RULES

When the text of any adopted
rule differs from the text of
that rule as proposed, upon
request from the adopting
agency, the text of the adopted
rule will be published in this
section

.

When the text of any adopted
rule is identical to the text of
that as proposed, adoption of
the rule will be noted in the
"List of Rules Affected" and the
text of the adopted rule will
not be republished.

Adopted rules filed by the
Departments of Correction,
Revenue and Transportation are
published in this section.
These departments are not
subject to the provisions of
G.S. 150B, Article 2 requiring
publication of proposed rules.

TITLE 5 - DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF PRISIONS

SUBCHAPTER 2B - INMATE CONDUCT
RULES: DISCIPLINE

SECTION .0200 - DISCIPLINARY
PROCEDURES

.0201 GENERAL
(c) Investigations
(1) The designated officer
shall begin his
investigation as soon as
possible, and in any event
within 24 hours after being
notified of a suspected
offense, unless criminal
prosecution is contemplated,
in which case the criminal
investigators should
initiate their investigation
before the investigation for
disciplinary procedures
begins. He shall discuss
the matter with the person
reporting the incident and
with the inmate or inmates
accused. Where necessary to
ascertain the true facts, he
should interview other
witnesses, make searches,
and employ other appropriate
investigatory techniques.

(4) The accused inmate shall
be advised by the
investigating officer that:
(A) He has the right to
submit names of requested
defense witnesses and have
them called to testify
provided the calling of
witnesses does not
jeopardize or threaten

institutional or
individual security,

(B) The number of witnesses
will be limited to avoid
useless repetition of the
same evidence to be
presented at the hearing.
Physical evidence will
only be preserved upon
written request of the
inmate and provided that
retaining or presenting
the evidence does not
threaten institutional or
an individual's security.

(5) The investigating officer
shall take written
statements from all
witnesses. If statements
are not taken from all
witnesses, the investigating
officer shall record their
names with an explanation
for not taking their
statements

.

(6) The investigating officer
shall make written notes of
any observations made by him
during the course of the
investigation which directly
relate to the alleged
offense, and he shall take
under his control any
physical evidence available.
Upon completion of the
investigation, this officer
shall make such changes in
the status of the accused as
seem warranted by the facts
found

.

(7) The results of the
investigation shall be
presented to the
superintendent as soon as
possible. If more than 48
hours are required to make
the investigation and
present the results,
authority to e.xtend the time
shall be obtained in writing
from the unit superintendent
or institution head who
shall establish the time
period of extension. Before
the superintendent grants
the extension of time, he
shall indicate on the
DC-13BA v;hether the inmate
will be placed or continued
on administrative
segregation and the reasons
for this decision.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11

;

Eff. Februc-ry 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
June 1 , 1984.

.0203 DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES
(b) Area Disciplinary

Committee
(2) Cases referred to an area
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disciplinary committee shall
be scheduled for a hearing
within fourteen days of the
referral. The accused shall
receive not less than 72
hours prior to the hearing,
written notice of the
charges against him, unless
such 72 hour notice be
waived in writing by the
accused. If a delay for any
other reason is desired by
the unit superintendent or
his designated
representative or the
accused, the one desiring
the delay shall state his
reason in a written request
to the area administrator
who may grant such a delay
for good cause.

(4) The chairman of the
disciplinary committee shall
document reasons for
declining to call requested
witnesses and declining to
present items of physical
evidence on the DC- 138. The
factors that the chairman
may consider when ruling on
an inmate's request to call
witnesses or present items
of physical evidence shall
include but not be limited
to.
(A) Relevance;
(B) Cumulative Testimony;
(C) Necessity; and
(D) Hazards presented by an
individual case.

(5) The unit superintendent
may appoint a member of his
staff to present the case to
the area disciplinary
committee. The accused may
request that a particular
member of his unit's staff
be appointed to assist him.
The unit superintendent
should allow this request
unless the accused requests
one of his accusers or other
inappropriate persons, in
which event the
Superintendent shall appoint
another staff member. The
chosen or appointed
representative should assist
the accused both in
preparing for the hearing
and at the hearing. The
staff assistant does not
serve as an advocate. His
role is only to assure that
the inmate has an
opportunity to present his
version of the facts. The
representative should
document on a DC-138B the
way in which he assisted the
accused either before or
during the hearing.

(6) If the chosen or

appointed representative has
prior knowledge that the
accused is guilty, he should
inform the accused of that
fact so that another staff
member may be chosen if
desired. Still, an
appointed or chosen staff
member can and should aid
the accused in gathering
evidence, even though he
thinks that the accused is
probably guilty.

(7) The chairman of the area
disciplinary committee shall
begin the hearing by reading
the charges to the accused
and asking him whether he
admits to committing the
offense. If the accused
denies guilty, the evidence
bearing on this issue shall
be presented. The accused
shall be given an
opportunity to refute or
explain evidence against him
and to present evidence and
make a statement in his own
behalf. Witnesses
presenting relevant
testimony on his behalf may
testify in person or by
telephone. Whenever the
presentation of live
testimony or physical
evidence would jeopardize or
threaten institutional or
indivudual security, written
statements of the facts of
the incident gathered by the
investigating officer may be
used. Written statements of
the adverse witnesses,
including the accuser, may
be used. The inmate shall
not be permitted to
cross-e.xamine witnesses. If
the chairman deems it
necessary to withhold the
identify of the primary
accuser or any other witness
due to the threat of
reprisal, the accused shall
be informed of the part of
testimony or statement of
the accused which can be
revealed without disclosing
his identify.

(8) After all evidence
relating to guilt or
innocence has been
presented, the chairman will
have the room cleared of all
persons who are not voting
members of the committee,
except uninvolved people
permitted to observe
committee deliberations for
educational or training
purposes. If the committee
does not feel that a proper
decision can be reached on
the basis of the information
at its disposal, the
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chairman may reopen the
hearing for additional
questioning, postpone the
hearing for one weclc in an
attempt to obtain additional
information, or dismiss the
charges

.

(9) Upon reaching a decision
as to the guilt or innocence
by majority vote, the
chairman shall enter the
committee's findings and
rationale on the record and
reopen the hearing to advise
the inmate of the decision.
If he has been found guilty
or if he admits guilt when
the charges are read, the
committee should hear any
matter pertinent to the
issue of proper disposition
and then close the hearing
for deliberation on this
issue. Upon reaching a
decision by majority vote as
to the disposition and
having noted the reasons for
this determination on the
record, the chairman shall
reopen the hearing to advise
the inmate of the decision,
inform him of the fact that
it will be reviewed, and
permit him to have entered
on the record any objections
he may have to the decision.
The chairman shall explain
to the inmate that if he
voices an objection, any
punitive aspect of the
decision will not take
effect until the case is
reviewed and the punishment
is approved by the reviewing
authority, while if no
objection is made the
decision will take effect
immediately but be subject
to being overturned or
amended by the reviewing
authority

.

(10) If the accused admits
guilt or if he is found
guilty of a minor offense by
the area disciplinary
committee* the committee may
impose one or more of the
measures authorized for
minor offenses. If he
admits guilt or if he is
found guilty of a major
offense by the area
disciplinary committee, the
committee may impose one or
more of the measures
authorized for minor
offenses and in addition or
in lieu thereof one or more
of the measures authorized
for major offenses. The
committee may suspend such
imposition on specified
conditions for a stated
period of time not to exceed

six months. When an inmate
is found guilty of
possessing funds in a form
other than that authorized
by Division of Prisons
policies or in excess of the
authorized amount, the
chairman shall make a
separate ruling that the
unauthorized funds shall be
permanently confiscated and
placed in the Welfare Fund.

(11) The chairman of the
committee shall be
responsible for ensuring
that all forms are properly
completed. The inmate shall
be entitled to a copy of a
v;ritten statement of the
evidence relied on by the
committee and the reasons
for the disciplinary action.
Certain items of evidence
may be excluded if necessary
to protect a witness or
informant from reprisal

.

When information supplied by
confidential informants is
relied upon, the chairman
shall document in the record
the reasons why the
information provided was
trustworthy or that the
informant has provided
reliable information in the
past. Copies of the DC-138
and DC-138(c) shall be
forewarded to Combined
Records and placed in the
inmate's headquarter jacket.
The original of these forms
will be placed in the
inmate's field jacket.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
June 1 , 1984.

SECTION .0300 - LIST OF
INFRACTIONS

.0302 DISCIPLINARY OFFENSES
The offenses numbered 16

through 42 shall be dealt with
as major offenses unless the
presence of matters in
mitigation justify the handling
as a minor offense. It shall be
a major offense to:
(41 ) Possess funds in the form
other than that authorized by
the Division of Prisons
policies or in excess of the
authorized amount;

(42) Attempt to commit any of
the above listed offenses,
aid another person to commit
any of the above-listed
offenses, or make plans to
commit any of the
above-listed offenses shall
be a major offense. It shall
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be no defense that an
individual was prevented from
completing any of the above
offense by prison staff or
intervening circumstances.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 15A-1340-7;
148-11; 148-13;
Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
August 10, 1981

.

SUBCHAPTER 2C - CLASSIFICATION

SECTION .0500 - PROMOTION OF
FELONS TO MINIMUM
CUSTODY

.0503 CRITERIA FOR
CONSIDERATION OF AND
REVIEW FOR PROMOTION

(b) The following rules
should be applied in the
determination of a felon
inmate's eligibility for minimum
custody review.

(1) Except as otherwise
provided by this Section, no
felon inmate shall be
considered for promotion to
minimum custody unless such
inmate is within sixty
months from a prospective
release date, which shall
include expiration of
sentence, community service
parole eligibility date, or
other parole eligibility
date

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-4;
148-11; 148-33. 1(a);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
December 1, 1984; August 1, 1983;
September 29; 1978.

SUBCHAPTER 2E - TREATMENT

SECTION .0100 - DIETARY POLICY

.0102 MENU
A master menu will be posted
in the dining room at each unit
and institution. All food
containing pork will be clearly
marked with an asterisk on the
menu. Inmates whose religious
beliefs prohibit consumption of
pork must notify the unit
superintendent or institution
head in writing. Those inmates
who have given such written
notice will be served as
follows

:

C 1 ) When pork is the meat item
on the menu, no other
substitute meat will be
allowed. Hovjever, to meet
basic nutritional needs,
other food items containing

equivalent amounts of protein
will be served to replace the
pork meat, such as cheeses,
dried beans and peas, eggs,
and peanut butter;

(2) When any non-meat food
items containing pork or pork
seasoning are served,
sufficient quantities of that
same item will be served
without pork or pork
seasoning;

(3) Utensils used for the
preparation and serving of
pork items shall be
thoroughly washed before
using to prepare and serve
non-pork items;

(4) At least one of the three
daily meals will contain a
non-pork meat as the main
meat item; and

(5) Pack-out lunches shall
follow the same dietary
requirements as the master
menu, and shall be subject to
the exceptions in this Rule.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986.

SECTION .0700 - WORK RELEASE

.0701 PURPOSE
The V'^ork Release Program

provides selected inmates the
opportunity for employment in
the community during the period
of incarceration. The
Department of Correction
operates the Work Release
Program to:

( 1 ) Respond to statutory
requirements, by:

(a) Establishing rules and
regulations for work
release;

(b) Designing units for
quartering work release
inmates;

(c) Ensuring consideration
and placement for inmates
court ordered or court
recommended for work
release; and

(d) Managing and disbursing
work release earnings as
required by statute or court
order

.

(2) Respond to the
transitional needs of soon to
be released inmates and the
program and maintenance needs
of longer term inmates.

(3) Respond to community labor
needs

.

(4) Respond to the need to
support inmate families and
to reduce the economic costs
of prison.

History Note: Statutory

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 578



Authority G.S. 148-11;
148-33.1

;

Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July K 1985; October 10, 1977.

.0702 WORK RELEASE ELIGIBILITY
Eligibility for work release

participation is determined by
the sciatcncing court. as
follows

;

( 1 ) Inmates sentenced for
misdemeanor crimes after July
1, 1986, who are court
ordered for work release are
to be placed on work release
as specified in the court
order. Authorization for
work release placement in
this eligibility category is
the sentencing court and
consideration is not subject
to custodial and correctional
considerations as defined in
Rule .0703(2)(c)(i)(A)(i) and
(D) .

(2) Inmates sentenced to a
total sentence length of five
years or less who are court
recommended for work release
are to be placed on work
release immediately.
Authorization for immediate
work release placement in
this eligibility category is
granted to the Director of
Prisons by the Secretary of
Correction unless:
(a) A suitable work release
facility is unavailable in
the area of the proposed
employment, or

(b) Custodial and
correctional consideration
as defined in Rule
.0703(2)(c)(i) would
preclude granting work
release

.

(3) Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed after July
1, 1981, who are not court
recommended for work release
are eligible for work release
under the conditions set
forth in Rule .0703(3).
Authorization for work
release placement in this
eligibility category is
granted to the Director of
Prisons by the Secretary of
Correction

.

(4) Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed prior to
July 1, 1981, serving terms
greater than five years are
eligible for work release
under the conditions set
forth in Rule .0703(4) and
only after approval by the
North Carolina Parole
Commission. Authorization
for work release placement in
this eligibility category is
granted to the Secretary of

Correction by the Parole
Commission

.

(5) Inmates sentenced to
multiple terms v;hich place
them in conflicting
eligibility categories as
defined herein will be
determined as follows:

(a) Inmates sentenced to a
misdemeanor offense with
court ordered work release
and also sentenced to a
felony sentence are not
eligible for immediate work
release placement until the
additional conditions of
Rule .0703(2), (3) and (4)
are met

.

(b) Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed before and
after July 1, 1981, with
sentence lengths greater
than five years must meet
the conditions of Rule .0703
(3) and (4).

(c) Inmates serving
indeterminate sentences with
a minimum of five years or
less and a maximum of more
than five years will be
considered in the same
category as inmates serving
sentences greater than five
years

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11

;

148-33. 1

;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July 1, 1985; October 10, 1977.

.0703 WORK RELEASE CONDITIONS
The following specific
requirements must be met in
order to grant work release for
each eligibility category listed
in Rule .0702:

( 1 ) Misdemeanants court
ordered for work release

.

(a) The commitment or court
order from the sentencing
court should provide:

(i) The date work release
is to begin;

(ii) The prison or local
confinement facility to
which the offender is to
be committed;

(iii) A provision that work
work release terminates
the date the offender
loses his job or violates
the conditions of the v;ork
release program
established by the
Department of Correction;
and
(iv) A determination as to
whether the earnings of
the offender are to be
disbursed by the
Department of Correction
or by the cleark of the

579 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



sentencing court in the
manner that the court in
its order directs.

(b) A misdemeanant court
ordered for work release
will be housed at the prison
facility specified by the
court. However, if the
facility specified cannot
house work release inmates
due to overcrowding or other
administrative purposes,
inmates can be assigned to
some other approprate prison
facility. For the purposes
of this Rule, "overcrowding"
refers to a population count
above the designated
capacity for the facility.
"Administrative purposes"
are defined as management
practices which determine
the classification, custody,
programs and security at
each unit.

(c) The inmate must not be
awaiting trial on felony
charges or have any felony
detainers pending.

(d) The inmate will be in
minimum custody level III by
the date work release is
ordered to begin.

(e) A misdemeanant court
ordered for work release
will be processed as
outlined in Rule .0706(a).

(f) If court ordered work
release is delayed or
disapproved, the
classification authority
will document the reasons
for such action on the
DC-121. The inmate should
be notified by a letter
which shall set forth the
reasons for the delay or
denial

.

(g) If an inmate who is
court ordered for work
release and has suitable
employment is disapproved,
the Area Administrator/
Institution Head or his
designee will notify the
sentencing judge by letter
noting the reasons for
disapproval

.

(2) Innatcs sentenced to a
total sentence length of five
years or less wlio are court
recommended for work release
and therefore requiring
immediate work release
placement

.

(a) The inmate must not be
awaiting trial on felony
charges or have any felony
detainers

.

(b) The inmate must have
suitable employment at the
time of commitment in an
area where there is a field
unit or other facility

suitable for housing the
inmate

.

(i) "Suitable employment"
shall require that:
(A) The employer must pay

at least the current
minimum wage;

(B) The employer must
participate in an
insurance program,
preferably the Worker's
Compensation Program,
which will compensate
the inmate for injury by
accident arising out of
and in the course of
employment

;

(C) The work setting
must provide an
appropriately supervised
environment. Employment
by family members should
be closely scrutinized
to determine if
supervision can be
satisfactorily
maintained; and

(D) Inmates disciplined
by a regulatory body
established by laws for
conduct related to their
work will not be placed
in the same or similar
work without
consultation with the
regulatory body and
prior approval of the
Secretary of Correction.

(ii) The processing
diagnostic center will
confirm the job offer.
Verbal verification will
be followed up with a
letter of confirmation
except with a regular work
release employer. The
processing diagnostic
center will notify the
proposed unit of housing
for work release directly
by telephone and will
request an investigation
of the work release job
plan. Information
concerning the inmate, the
crime, the job plan
particulars, and the other
information as appropriate
will be provided. The
receiving unit will
conduct the job
investigation and will
provide return
notification to the
referring diagnostic
center by telephone within
three working days.
Diagnostic center staff
will send a notification
to the receiving area via
a DCI terminal
transmission stating a
request for an
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investigation has been
made .

(iii) If a suitable
facility is not within
normal commuting distance
of the inmate's
employment , a contract may
be negotiated with the
county sheriff for housing
the inmate at a local
confinement facility,
(iv) If suitable
employment is not
available at the time of
the commitment, all other
provisions in this
Subsection do not apply
until such employment is
secured. The following
procedure shall be
followed

:

(A) The staff of the
diagnostic center shall
counsel and assist the
inmate in his job
search. The assistance
shall include contacts
with prospective
employers on behalf of
the inmate.

(B) If suitable
employment is not
secured at the
completion of the
regular diagnostic
process, the inmate
shall be assigned to an
appropriate field unit
by the classification
authority. The
assignment should be
made to facilitate the
inmate's search for
employment

.

The
classification authority
should consider
promoting the inmate to
minimum custody level
III for work release
only if otherwise
eligible to further
facilitate work release
development and
placement . The
following is a suggested
priority list of
assignment locations.

(I) An appropriate
unit close to the
inmate's home;

(II) An appropriate
unit within commuting
distance of a
promising job market;

(III) An appropriate
unit which is a
reasonable compromise
of the above
prior it ies

.

(C) The program staff of
inmate's field unit
shall counsel and assist
the inmate in his job
search. The assistance

shall include contacts
with prospective
employers. While
seeking work release
employment, the inmate
may be given any
appropriate duty
assignment by the
classification authority
but the duty assignment
shall not impair the
inmate's opportunity for
work release . When
suitable employment is
obtained, the inmate
shall immediately be
processed in accordance
with this Subsection.

(c) The following custodial
and correctional
considerations, as defined
in (i) of this Rule, v;ill
preclude the inmate's
participation in the work
release program.
(i) Even though an inmate

is court recommended for
work release, the inmate
may be denied work release
privileges by the
classification authority
under the following
conditions :

(A) The inmate has a
prior criminal or prison
record of escape or
assaultive behavior
which would normally
result in the denial of
work release privileges
to an inmate who had not
been recommended by the
court

;

(B) The inmate has
committed infractions
subsequent to commitment
under the sentence
recommending work
release which would
normally result in the
denial of work release
privileges to an inmate
who had not been
recommended by the
court

;

(C) The inmate has a
serious health problem,
mental or physical,
which warrants immediate
treatment or observation
on a continuing basis.
This problem shall be
fully documented on the
DC-121R; or

(D) The inmate has
committed major rule
violations during a
pre/ious term of
confinement during work
release participation of
sufficient magnitude to
give cause for current
program disapproval

.

(ii) If there is reason to

581 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



believe that an inmate is
subject to denial of work
release privileges, his
placement on the work
release program may be
temporarily delayed by the
classification authority
pending further study of
his case and the final
decision of the
classification authority,

(iii) If court recommended
work release is delayed or
disapproved, the
classification authority
will document the reasons
for such action on the
DC-121. The inmate should
be notified by a letter
which shall set forth the
reasons for the delay or
denial

.

(iv) If an inmate who is
court recommended for work
release and has suitable
employment is disapproved
pursuant to the conditions
of Rule .0703(2)(c)(i)(A)
through (D), the Area
Administrator/ Institution
Head or his designee will
notify the sentencing
judge by letter noting the
reasons for disapproval

.

(d) Subject to the
considerations set forth in
Rule .0703(2)(c), all
inmates with court
recommendations for work
release are immediately to
be placed in a minimum
custody level III, for the
purpose of work release
only. The inmate will not
have any other community
privileges unless approved
as provided in the edisting
policy relating to outside
activities (5 NCAC 2F
.0600)

.

(e) Transfer to the
appropriate field unit will
be processed by the
classification authority.
Court ordered/recommended
inmates approved for work
release shall receive first
priority for housing
assignments and transfers.
A priority list shall be
established within eacli
area . Court recommended and
approved inmates shall
receive the top priority
based on the length of time
in the prison system. The
remainder of the list shall
be composed of other inmates
approved for work release in
order of length of time
since receipt of approval.

(f) Inmates with a court
recommendation for work
release should be processed.

transferred and placed on
work release wihin ten
working days of admission
unless custodial and
correctional considerations
clearly preclude such an
assignment or a work release
facility is unavailable in
the area of proposed
employment

.

(g) A court recommendation
which states work release is
recommended or which states
immediate work release is
recommended will be
interpreted as requiring
immediate work release
placement

.

(3) Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed after July
1, 1981. who are not court
recommended for work release.

(a) Inmates serving sentences
totaling five years or less
are eligible for immediate
work release consideration.
Those sentenced to greater
than five years must be
within three years of the
maximum release date or
parole eligibility date
except as approved by the
Director of Prisons.

(b) The inmate must not be
awaiting trial on felony
charges or have any felony
detainers pending.

(c) Suitable employment as
defined in Rule
.0703(2)(b)(i) must be
available prior to work
release placement but
approval for the work
release program can be
granted before an employment
plan is developed.

(d) If a suitable facility
is not vjithin normal
commuting distance of the
inmate's employment, a
contract may be negotiated
with the county sheriff for
housing the inmate at a
local confinement facility.

(e) The inmate must be in
minimum custody level III by
the date work release is to
begin

.

(f) The inmate must not
have had either an escape
within six months or a major
infraction within three
months of work release
approval

.

(4) Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed prior to
July 1, 1981, with sentences
greater than five years.
(a) The inmate must be
within three years of the
ma.ximum release date or
parole eligibility date,
except as approved by the
Director of Prisons.
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(b) The inmate must have
approval of the Parole
Commission. For those
inmates on approved MAPP
Agreements with a total
sentence length of less than
thirty years, the MAPP
Agreement represents work
release approval by the
Parole Commission.

(c) The inmate must not be
awaiting trial on felony
charges or have any felony
detainers pending.

(d) Suitable employment, as
defined in Rule
.0703(2)(b)(i) will be
required for placement and
may be required for Parole
Commission approval as
stated in Rule .0707(f).

(e) If a suitable facility is
not within normal commuting
distance of the inmate's
employment, a contract may
be negotiated with the
county sheriff for housing
the inmate in a local
confinement facility.

(f) The inmate must be in
minimum custody level III
status on the date he is to
begin participating in work
release. However, approval
for work release may be
requested through the Parole
Commission prior to
attaining minimum custody
level III.

(g) The inmate must not
have had either an escape
within six months or a major
infraction within three
months of work release
approval

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

148-33.1 ;

Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
AtDril 1, 1986;
December 1, 1985; July 1, 1985.

.0704 CONCURRENT: CONSECUTIVE
SENTENCES

(a) Inmates Received at the
Diagnostic Center

(1) In certain situations an
inmate will have concurrent
or consecutive sentences and
not be court recommended for
work release on all
sentences and therefore the
negative finding controls.
However, if the total
sentence length is five
years or less, the inmate
remains eligible for
immediate work release
consideration. If the total
sentence length is greater
than five years, the inmate
must be approved for work

release in accordance with
Rule .0703(3).

(2) It is possible that a
sentencing judge may have
simply neglected to make a
finding regarding work
release. This is most
likely in cases where the
same judge imposes both
sentences or where the
sentence without the
recommendation is a less
serious misdemeanor. When
this occurs, the director of
the diagnostic center should
be notified as soon as
possible. The diagnostic
center director will send a
letter to the inmate
informing him that he is
ineligible for the work
release program but that he
may be placed on the program
if the inmate or the
inmate's lawyer can secure a
recommendation from the
sentencing judge. If he
cannot, he must be
specifically approved in
accordance with Rule
.0703(3) .

(3) A recommendation may be
presented in the form of a
corrected commitment or a
letter of recommendation
from the sentencing judge.
Upon receipt of a corrected
commitment or letter of
recommendation, the
addressee shall immediately
notify the approving
authority within the area or
institution to which the
inmate is assigned. The
approving authority shall
process the inmate in
accordance with Rule
.0703(2). If total sentence
length is five years or
less .

(b) Inmates presently assigned
to Work Release. When an inmate
is already assigned to the work
release program and a second
sentence without a
recommendation for work release
is received the following
procedure should be followed:

( 1 ) If the second sentence is
five years or less and
consecutive sentences total
a maximum of five years or
less, the approving
authority may either leave
the inmate on work release
pending clarification of the
court's intentions or,
depending upon the nature of
the second offense, remove
the inmate from work release
pending clarification. If
tlic nature of the offense
resulting in the second
sentence is such that it
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appears that the inmate's
presence in the community
would create an unnecessary
risk, the inmate should be
removed from the work
release program pending
clarification. The inmate
should be informed of his
status by letter . The
letter should instruct the
inmate that reinstatement is
possible if he or his lawyer
can secure a recommendation
from the sentencing judge in
the form of a corrected
commitment or a letter of
recommendation. If a
recommendation is received,
the inmate will be
immediately processed in
accordance with Rule
.0703(2). If no
recommendation is received,
the innate normally shall be
removed from the work
release program unless
otherwise eligible under
Rule .0703(3). Careful
consideration with
justification documented
should be afforded inmates
who are allowed to remain on
work release without some
form of recommendation from
the sentencing judge. The
Court's recommendation for
work release on the first
sentence should be
considered as a positive
factor if other condition of
Rule .0703(3) are fulfilled.

(2) If the second sentence is
for more than five years or
if consecutive sentences
add-up to a maximum of more
than five years, the inmate
should be informed by letter
that he must be removed from
his work release job and
that he can not be
reinstated without the
approval of the Parole
Commission or the Area
Administrator/ Institution
Head if sentenced for a
crime after July 1, 1981.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

148-33.1

;

Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July 1, 1985; October 10, 1977.

.0705 PROBATION REVOKED
Only the court which revokes

probation may make an acceptable
recommendation for work release.
If the revoking court recommends
work release in a case with a
sentence of five years or less,
the inmate shall be processed in
accordance with Rule .0703(2).
If the revoking court fails to

recommend work release, and the
judgment suspending sentence
does recommend work release, a
letter should be sent to the
inmate informing him that he is
ineligible for the work release
program but that he may become
eligible if he or his lawyer can
secure a recommendation from the
revoking court. If a
recommendation is received, the
inmate shall be processed in
accordance with Rule .0703(2).

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11;
148-33.1

;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July 1, 1985; October 10, 1977.

.0706 PROCESSING PROCEDURES
The following procedures
specify actions to be taken to
process work release for each
eligibility category defined in
Rule .0702.
(1) The following applies to
all misdemeanants who are
court ordered for work
release

.

(a) Processing for
misdemeanants who are court
ordered for work release
will include fingerprints,
pliotographs, completion of
DC-134 and 134A, personal
property inventory, medical
examination, psychological
testing administered on a
need to know basis,
completion of DC-121I to
include promotion to minimum
custody level III for work
release only and unit
assignment. Verification of
employment in accordance
with Rule .0703(2)(b)(ii)
and subsequent completion of
sections A, B, C and D or
the DC-190 will be
accomplished

.

(b) A misdemeanant court
ordered for work release who
has a job plan recognized or
acknowledged by the
sentencing court by notation
on the commitment or other
court document will be
placed on that job upon
verification of employment
in accordance with Rule
.0703(2)(b)(ii). A work
relezise job plan
acknowledged by the court
will not be required to meet
the standards of suitable
employment specified in Rule
.0703(2)(b)(i) and work
release placement will move
forward. The Area
Administrator, Institution
Head or designee will write
the sentencing judge stating
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work release placement on
the court acknowledged job
plan has been approved based
on the court order but that
approval would not have been
granted otherwise due to the
job not meeting Department
of Correction requirements
for suitable employment.
The letter should explain
why the job plan does not
qualify as suitable
employment under Department
of Correction guidelines
[Rule .0703(2)(b)(i)]

.

(c) If the sentencing court
has not acknowledged a
specific job plan for work
release, policy requirements
for suitable employment will
apply.

(d) An inmate court ordered
for work release who does
not have a job plan at the
time of commitment to prison
will receive normal staff
assistance in the job search
as defined in Rule
.0703(2Hb)(iv).

(e) The director of the
processing diagnostic center
is designated as the
approving authority for
promotion and work release
approval for misdemeanants
who are court ordered for
work release by the
sentencing court.

(f) Transfer to the specified
unit of assignment will be
accomplished to ensure the
inmate begins work release
on the date specified in the
court order or as soon
thereafter as possible

.

(g) The date the innate
begins v.'ork will be written
in section G of the DC-190
by the superintendent. The
appropriate copies of the
DC-190 will then be
forwarded to the Work
Release Accounting Office in
Raleigh for clearing of
section C and tlie opening of
the Vi'ork Release Account .

(2) The following applies to
all inmates serving sentences
of five years or less and
recommended for work release
by the sentencing court.
(a) After completions of the
reception process as defined
in Rule .0706(n(a) of this
Rule, the director of the
processing diagnostic center
will approve promotion to
minimum custody level III
for work release only and
will approve work release by
signing the appropriate
DC-121 and DC-190, unless
custodial and correctional
considerations preclude work

release participation by the
inmate. A negative finding
at this level, however, will
be referred to the Area
Administrator or Institution
Head for final disposition.
In any event , the approving
autliority will sign section
h of the DC-190.

(b) After approval, the
inmate will be transferred
directly to the final unit
of assignment by the
processing diagnostic center
to begin work release. The
sending unit will be the
approving authority for this
classification action.

(c) The date the inmate
begins work will be written
in section G of the DC-190
by the superintendent. The
appropriate copies of the
DC-190 will then be
forwarded to the Work
Release Accounting Office in
Raleigh for clearing of
section C and the opening of
the Work Release Account

.

(3) The follov)ing applies to
all inmates serving sentences
of five years or less who
were either not recommended
for work release by the
sentencing court. or while
court recommended, were not
initially approved for the
program

.

(a) Sections A, B, C and D of
form DC-190 are to be filled
out by the program committee
and submitted to the
superintendent for approval
(Section H ) . The
superintendent will ensure
that the conditions outlined
in Section B are met.
Generally, the DC-190 and
DC-121 should be submitted
in a package for
consideration

.

(b) After approval by the
superintendent, the DC-190
is submitted for approval.
If the inmate is housed in a
county unit, the Area
Administrator is the
approving authority. If the
inmate is housed in an
institution, the Institution
Head is the approving
authority. The approving
authority shall sign Section
H of the DC-190. If the
recommendation is
disapproved, all copies of
the DC-190 should be
returned to the origination
unit or institution.

(c) After approval by the
Area Administrator/
Institution Head, the inmate
may begin work. The date
the inmate begins work will

585 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



be written in Section G of
the DC-190 by the
superintendent. The
appropriate copies of the
DC-190 will then be
forwarded to the Work
Release Accounting Office in
Raleigh for clearing of
Section C and the opening of
the V'Jork Release Account.

(4) The following applies to
all inmates serving sentences
greater than five years

.

(a) Sections A, B, C and D of
the DC-190 are to be filled
out by the program committee
and referred to the
superintendent for approval
(Section H) . The
superintendent will ensure
that the conditions outlined
in Section B are met.
Generally, the DC-190 and
DC-121 should be submitted
in a package for
consideration

.

(b) After approval by the
superintendent, the DC-190
is submitted for approval.
If the inmate is housed in a
county unit, the Area
Administrator is the
approving authority. If the
inmate is housed in an
institution, the Institution
Head is the approving
authority. The approving
authority shall sign Section
H of the DC-190. If the
recommendation is
disapproved, all copies of
the DC-190 should be
returned to the originating
unit or institution.

(c) Following approval by the
Area Administrator/
Institution Head, the DC-190
is forv/arded to the Parole
Commission except for
inmates sentenced for crimes
committed after July 1 ,

1981 . Inmates sentenced for
crimes committed after July
1, 1981, are placed on work
release following final
approval by the Area
Administrator/ Institution
Head.

(d) The inmate,
superintendent, area office,
and Work Release Accounting
will be notified in writing
(PC-28 and DC-190) by the
Parole Commission of its
decision for cases requiring
Parole Commission approval.

(e) The DC-190 is then
submitted by the unit
superintendent to Work
Release Accounting Office in
Raleigh after the inmate
begins work. Work Release
Accounting will open the
work release account and

will clear DC-190, Section
C, with the Division of
Social Services.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11;
148-33.1

;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July 1, 1985; October 10, 1977.

.0707 OTHER REQUIREMENTS/
CONDITIONS

(a) If an inmate is to be
transferred for the purpose of
work release a DC-121R outlining
classification actions and
objectives should accompany the
inmate's record to the receiving
unit

.

(b) The inmate should be in
the appropriate minimum custody
level for work release at the
time of transfer. This will
prevent unnecessary delays.
(c) The issue of restitution

must have been considered and
resolved by the reviewing
authority with the completion of
the appropriate forms if the
inmate has been court
recommended or court ordered for
restitution

.

(d) Appropriate disciplinary
action for major infractions
committed while on the work
release program shall be at the
discretion of the Area
Disciplinary Committee.
(e) Mutual agreement

programming (individual
contracts) should be considered,
especially with felons, by the
classification/program committee
whenever possible. These
arrangements should include
programs such as G . E .D . /A.B .E .

,

alcohol, drug treatment.
(f) For inmates who are

recommended to the Parole
Commission for work release
approval, the commission will
require

:

(1) Employment investigation
on specific cases which the
Parole Commission will
designate during the review
process

.

(2) Specific job plan
investigation by a
Probation/Parole Officer for
inmates whose sentences
total thirty years or more.
This requirement for
investigation applies to job
changes as well as the
initial job plan for inmates
whose sentences total thirty
years or more

.

(3) Parole Commission
approval for work release
shall automatically be
withdravjn anytime an inmate
is removed from work release
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because of an infraction
resulting in demotion to
medium custody.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

Eff . February 1 , 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986;
July 1 , 1985.

.0708 TRANSPORTATION
Transportation to and
from work release can be
provided by the Department of
Correction, by public
transportation or by private
individuals, subject to the
following requirements:
(1) Inmate transported by the
Department of Correction will
be charged a daily rate set
by the Director of Prisons.

(2) Inmate who use public
transportation will be
limited to the most direct
route to and from the job
site. The form of
transportation and route to
be used will be approved by
the superintendent of the
work release unit

.

(3) Private individuals
including members of the
inmate's family can be
approved to provide
transportation to work
release inmates by the
superintendent of the work
release unit . Those persons
providing transportation must
have a valid drivers license.
More than one individual can
be approved to provide
transportation for a work
release inmate and persons
providing transportation can
transport more than one work
release inmate . Tlic
superintendent can disapprove
any person requesting to
provide transportation for
any reason if in the judgment
of the superintendent
approval would not be in the
best interest of the inmate
or would be contrary to
continued successful
participation on work
release. The fee for private
transportation will be
determined at the time of
approval . Those persons
providing transportation to
v.'ork release inmates shall be
required to use the most
direct route to and from the
job site

.

(4) Work release inmates will
not be permitted to drive to
and from the unit to the job
site; however, work release
inmates can be granted
driving privileges as part of
their work release employment

if recommended by the Unit
Superintendent and approved
by the Area Administrator/
Institution Head under the
follov.'ing conditions:

(A) The v/ork release employer
provides a letter stating
driving privileges are
necessary to perform the job
to which the inmate is
em.ployed;

(B) Tlie vehicle to be driven
is owned and insured by the
employer

;

(C) The inmate has a valid
drivers license;

(D) The inmate has not been
convicted of driving while
impaired; and

(E) The inmate's driving
record shows no moving
violations for the two years
prior to admission to
prison

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11

;

Eff. December 1, 1986.

SECTION .1300 STUDY RELEASE

.1301 GENERAL
(a) This Rule sets forth the

requirements, conditions, and
procedures for inmate
participation in the study
release program.
(b) Study release is a

community-based program of
rehabilitation that includes any
situation in which an inmate
participates in an academic or
vocational training program away
from the correctional facility
and is not supervised during tlie
classroom training period by a
correctional employee or an
agent of the Department of
Correction. Study release
program activities include such
programs as : sheltered
workshps, on-the-job training,
learning lab activities,
specialized enrichment programs,
and community college or
unversity level course work
leading to a certificate or
degree. Authority to grant
approval for inmates to
participate in the study release
program has been extended to
command Managers, Area
Administrators and Institution
Heads from the secretary through
the Director of Prisons.

History Note : Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1 , 1986.

.1302 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
Inmate participation in the

study release program is subject
to the following requirements:
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(1) The inmate must be in
minimum custody, level III
and must have participated in
other community-based
activities outside the
correctional facility.

(2) The inmate must have the
potential for release through
parole, work release or
sentence expiration following
the completion of the
designated study release
program

.

(3) For those inmates who are
found to be eligible and who
are under consideration for
study release participation,
the following factors must be
determined

:

(a) The course of study which
the inmate wishes to pursue
is not available on-site at
an appropriate correctional
facility;

(b) The course of study for
the participant will
significantly enhance the
inmate's opportunity of
being a productive citizen
upon release.

(c) There is reasonable cause
to believe that the inmate
has the capability of
successfully completing the
designed study release
program; and

(d) There is reasonable cause
to believe that the inmate
will honor all the
conditions of the study
release participation and
not abuse the privilege.

(4) For those inmates who are
court-recommended for study
release participation,
additional consideration will
be afforded inmates in this
category provided that the
inmate has met all other
prerequisites for study
release. A court order for
study release is neither a
prerequisite nor a mandate
for an inmate to participate
in the study release program.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 1^8-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.1303 STUDY RELEASE CONDITIONS
A participant in the study
release program shall adhere to
the following conditions:
(1) The inmate participant
will proceed directly to and
from the correctional
facility using an approved
means of transportation and
an approved route to and from
the educational facility.

(2) Upon completion of course
work at the end of the class
day, the inmate will return

immediately to the
correctional facility by an
approved route and means of
transportation

.

Participation in activities
and being at locations other
than classrooms and
activities associated with
the classrooms are prohibited
without prior approval of the
unit superintendent/
institution head.

(3) The inmate will be subject
to any and all rules
currently described in the
Division of Prisons Policies
and Procedures Manual while
participating in
community-based programs.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.1304 APPLICATION PROCEDURE
(a) The Study Release Action

Form (Dc-356) will be completed
in Sections A, B, C, D, and F to
place an inmate on study
release. The following
procedures will be followed in
completing the DC-356:

(1) Circle 01 in Section
"Transactions" of the Study
Release Action Form (DC-356)
if the inmate is a new
applicant. If he/she is a
former study release studnet
and is applying for
reinstatement, circle 04.

(2) Complete Parts A, B, and
C of Form DC-356.

(3) The rules and regulations
of the Department of
Correction and the
conditions upon which study
release is granted will be
carefully explained to the
inmate. He acknowledges his
understanding by signing his
name on the appropriate line
in Part D of Form DC-356.
The correctional official
v;itnessing this is to sign
his name on the designated
line in Part D.

(4) The unit or institutional
recommendation is to be
noted by the
Superintendent/institution
head in the appropriate
section of Part F of Form
DC-356.

(b) All applications, whether
approved or not, and the
supporting material will be sent
from respective units to the
area office; and for the Youth
Centers and Institutions to the
Command Manager's Office.

(1) The original and all
copies of Study Release
Action Form DC-356.

(2) Written verification of
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financial assistance; and
(3) Written verification of
acceptance by the
educational institution.

(c) The Area or Command action
is to be noted by the Area
Director or designated official
in the appropriate section of
Part F of the Study Release
Action Form DC-356 . The
Area/Command action will
constitute the Department of
Correction's approval or
disapproval of applicants for
both full-time and part-time
study release.
(d) The Area or Command Office

is to distribute the DC-356
forms as follows

:

(1

)

Two copies (original and
one copy) to the Education
Office in Raleigh;

(2) One copy to the Area
study release file; and

(3) One copy to the unit
jacket

.

(e) The supporting material
should be returned to the unit
to be filed in the inmate's
field jacket as follows:

(1) One copy of the written
verification of financial
assistance; and

(2) One copy of the written
verification of acceptance
by the educational
institution

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff . December 1 , 1986 .

.1305 REINSTATEMENT
If an inmate has been on the

study release program previously
and wishes to re-apply, comply
with the regular applicaiton
procedure. Circle 04 in Section
"Transactions" at the top of
Form DC-356.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1 , 1986.

.1306 STUDY RELEASE FISCAL
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

(a) Inmates in need of
financial assistance will be
allowed to seek assistance from
one or more of the following
sources

:

( 1 ) Vocational
rehabilitation

,

(2) Veterans benefits,
(3) Family donations,
(4) Personal funds,
(5) Scholarships,
(6) Basic education
opportunity grants, or

(7) Otlicr authorized sources.
(b) The program staff at the

correctional facility or
institution where the inmate is

housed shall assist him/her in
contacting the necessary
financial source.
(c) Financial support from any

of the above-named sources for
the purpose of study release
activities, including tuition,
books, and special equipment,
shall be paid directly to the
educational agency by the
funding source. Financial
support from funding source's
paid directly to the inmate will
be deposited into the inmate's
trust fund account under a
separate lodger card identified
as "Educational Financing", with
the requirement that withdrawal
from this account will only be
authorized by the unit
superintendent/institution head
or his designee. Unused funds
following the completion or
termination of study release
will be placed in the inmate's
regular trust fund account

.

(d) Financial support from the
sponsoring educational and/or
training agency where the
financial support for the
participant is for work
performed for the sponsoring
educational and/or training
agency by the study release
participant, such support will
be deposited directly into the
inmate's trust fund account.
Time spent performing work tasks
must not exceed the number of
hours spent in class by a study
release participant . The
ma.ximum number of working hours
allowable shall be limited to
not more than twenty hours per
week.
(e) Receipts from study

release participants as a result
of their work for employers
other than the sponsoring
educational and/or training
agency shall be handled within
the framework of the Work
Release Program. Under this
condition, an inmate must be
appropriately approved for the
Work Release Program prior to
initiating a combined Study/Work
Release Program. All
guidelines, including financial
and programmatic requirements,
will be applied and
participation in the Work
Release Program is to be assured
prior to the initiation of the
program. If the participation
in work release is part-time,
per diem will be deducted at the
rate of eight hours per diem for
every eight hours of work
release participation.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.
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.1307 CHANGE IN EDUCATION PLAN
If there is any change in the

inmate's course of study or
education plan, the sponsoring
unit/institution is requested to
do the following:

( 1

)

Complete a new Study
Release Action Form (DC-356),
circle 02 in section
"Transactions", designate the
name and number of the inmate
in Part A, and note the
change in Part C; and

(2) Forward the original and
all copies of the new Form
DC-355 according to the
procedures set forth in Rule
.1304. of this Section.

History Note : Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.1308 AFTER THE INMATE IS
APPROVED FOR STUDY RELEASE

The following information is to
be forwarded to the Education
Office in Raleigh, with the
inmate's 15 - digit number
written on all of the following:
(1) A copy of the quarter

or semester grades;
(2) A copy of diplomas

or certificates; and
(3) Academic or other
honors (Dean's list, elected
officer, etc . ) .

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.1309 REMOVAL FROM OR
COMPLETION OF
STUDY RELEASE

(1) Part E of a new Study
Release Action Form (DC-356)
is to be completed by the
superintendent or designated
official if any inmate is
removed from study release
for any of the following
reasons

:

(a) Completed study (i.e.,
graduated)

;

(b) Disciplinary reasons;
(c) Parole/Conditional
Release

;

(d) Escape;
(e) Release;
(f) Failure to meet academic
requirements of the
educational institution; and

(g) Other (inmate put on
release, voluntarily
terminated study release,
never placed on study
release ) .

(2) Circle 03 section
"Transactions" on Form
DC-356.

(3) Note the name and number

of the inmate in Part A of
Form DC-356.

(4) The superintendent or
designated official is to
note his approval or
disapproval of the action in
Part F.

(5) The original and all
copies are to be forwarded to
the Area office.

(6) The Area Administrator
Command Official,
Correctional Programs
Director, or designated
official is requested to note
his/her approval or
disapproval of the action in
Part F.

(7) The Area or Command
officials are to distribute
Form DC-356 according to the
procedure established in Rule
.1304 of this Section.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-13;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

SUBCHAPTER 2H -RELIGIOUS
PRACTICE

SECTION .0100 - ISLAMIC SERVICES
AND PRACTICES

.0101 GENERAL
The purpose of this policy is

to provide information and
guidelines for administration
and staff on the practice of the
Islamic faith by those holding
such beliefs within the Division
of Prisons. The basic tenets
and practices of the Islamic
faith include:
(1) Declaration of Faith;
(2) Prayer;
(3) Charity;
(4) Fasting; and
(5) Pilgrimage (not permitted
during confinement )

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;

148-24;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.0102 MEMBERSHIP
A written Declaration of Faith
for purposes of religious
identification may be made
voluntarily by any inmate in the
Division of Prisons who desires
to be a Muslim. The inmate
making the declaration may
obtain declaration forms from
the Office of Islamic Services
Coordinator, with one copy
placed on file in the Office of
Islamic Services Coordinator or
the Unit Chaplain's office for
religious purposes.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-1 1

;
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148-24;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.0103 ISLAMIC PRACTICES
(a) Prayers

.

(1) Daily Prayers. According
to prescribed Islamic
schedule, the Muslim should
be given the opportunity to
offer the five daily prayers
which occur:
(A) up to one hour
before sunrise;

(B) early afternoon
(noon to 2:30 p.m.);

(C) late afternoon
(2:30 p.m. to sunset);

(D) after sunset; and
(E) before retiring.
Time for accomplishing these
prayers ranges from five to
fifteen minutes. Prayers
may be done before normal
working hours, during the
noon hour, at breaks from
work or study, or after the
working day. Ablution, or
ceremonial washing, is
normally required before
prayers. Where feasible,
inmates should be given
access to water in a way to
accomplish ablutions. The
five daily prayers are
preferably done in
congregation but may be done
individually in cells,
dormitories, or an available
clean area which does not
negatively affect the
security or management of
the institution.

(2) Jumah . Provisions should
be made for Muslim inmates
in the regular population to
observe Jumah, the Friday
Congregational Prayer for
the Islamic Holy Day, for a
period of one hour to begin
not earlier than 11:00 a.m.,
and to conclude not later
than 2:30 p.m. Efforts
should be made to schedule
Jumah to minimize conflicts
with work, education. and
program activity, and to
maximize the opportunity for
Muslin inmates to choose to
attend

.

(A) The Jumah Service will
be supervised by the unit
chaplain or other unit
personnel and will be
conducted by an Islamic
chaplain, an Iman from the
community, or an approved
Muslin inmate prayer
leader

.

(B) Selection, training,
certification, and
religious supervision of
inmate prayer leaders will
be the i-csponsibil ity of
the coordinator of Islamic

Services. Inmate prayer
leaders will be selected
based on their knowledge
of the faith, sincerity,
emotional maturity,
positive leadership and
responsible behavior.
Certification of the
inmate prayer leader is
subject to the approval of
the Unit Superintendent.

(b) Zaket (Charity). Money
collected for charity and the
propagation of the faith may be
permitted, using the trust fund
accounting system as with other
inmate organizations.
(c) Ramadan (Fasting).

Provisions shall be made for
Muslims to fast during the
Islamic month of Ramadan. As a
result of the rotation of the
months of the Islamic Calendar,
the date of the fast will be
sent out prior to the beginning
of Ramadan by the Director of
Prisons on recommendation of the
Islamic Services Coordinator.

( 1 ) In the development of
guidelines for Islamic
inmates participating in
Ramadan, the following
activities are the only
authorized observances:
(A) Muslims desiring to
observe Ramadan shall make
their intentions known in
writing to the unit
superintendent one week
prior to the beginning of
Ramadan. Those
transferred during Ramadan
should be allowed to
continue the fast from the
previous unit.

(B) The observance of
Ramadan will not interfere
with regular work or
program assignments.

(C) The regular menu will
be the source of all food
for inmates observing
Ramadan with the
traditional exception of
pork and pork derivatives.
Every reasonable effort
will be made within the
Division of Prisons to
make the morning and
evening meals available on
a timely basis consistent
with unit operations.

(D) Since the purpose of
Ramadan is to develop
individual discipline and
self-restraint, it is not
necessary to monitor the
participation of
indivudual inmates unless
this activity causes a
security problem. Islamic
law states tlie fast shall
be resumed if it is broken
becaurio of illness.
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arduous work, travel or
extreme discomfort

.

(2) The following activities
shall be authorized for
inmates who have requested
participation in Ramadan:
(A) Muslim inmates sliall be
permitted to fast during
the daylight hours and to
observe prescribed times
of prayer and reading of
the Holy Quran
individually after lockup
provided the required work
schedules and other
activities have been
accomplished

.

(B) A morning meal to be
eaten before davm , and an
evening meal immediately
after sunset are to be
made available to those
inmates observing the
fast. Specific times for
these meals vjill be
contained in the
memorandum from the
director's office.

(i) Inmates observing
the fast may be
authorized to eat with
the kitchen crew before
dav;n;
(ii) A pack-out meal
may be provided the
night before or before
dawn;
(iii) Inmates observing
the fast are authorized
to be served in the
dining hall from the
regular menu;
( iv ) Pack-out meals may
be provided in a
suitable location;
(v) The evening meal
should include a balance
of non-pork meat ,

vegetables. bread,
fruit, milk, and liquids
to maintain nutritional
balance. The place and
method of providing the
meal is to be determined
by opearational staff
and based on
considerations related
to security, hygiene,
orderly administration,
and the morale of the
prison population.

(C) At least one of these
two meals should be served
hot, if at all possible.

(D) The observance of one
special day during Ramadan
shall be authorized for
congregational gathering
of Muslim inmates with
community ministers or
staff to be available to
supervise the service.
The Night of Power is the
observance of the night in

which the first
revelations of the Quran
began during Ramadan.
This observance is marked
by prayer and Quranic
reading after sunset top
be supervised by staff,
staff chaplains, or
volunteer Muslim Imans

.

The specific date and time
will be in a memorandum to
be issued by the director.

(E) Religious Holidays.
The observance of two
holidays following Ramadan
shall be authorized for
congregational gathering
of Muslim inmates with
community ministers or
staff to be available to
supervise the services.
These days are:
(i) Eid al Fitr (Prayer
and Feast of the Fast
Breaking). This
celebration consists of
a prayer service to be
held before noon and a
special meal on that
day. The prayer service
should last no more than
one hour. The prayer
services should occur in
the morning before noon
on the day after the
last fasting day while
the special meal may be
on any one of the first
three days after the
last fasting day. The
celebration meal may
consist of the regular
menu enhanced by fruit
punch and other special
food items available if
the local Islamic
community is able to
assist. Only one day
may be selected. A
final determination of
the day of the fast
shall be based on unit
operations by the unit
superintendent or
institution head,

(ii) Eid al Adha
(Celebration of the
Sacrifice of Abraham).
This celebration follows
tlie end of Ramadan by
approximately ten weeks.
The specific date will
be issued in a
memorandum from the
director. The
observance consists of a
prayer service to be
held before noon, and
lasting no more than one
hour. A special meal is
to be served to those
persons of the Islamic
faith. The meal may
consist of the regular
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menu enhanced by fruit
punch and other special
items. Special food
items may be prepared if
a local Islamic
community is available
to assist.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-24;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.0104 ISLAMIC DIET
Dietary policy for Islamic
inmates whose religious beliefs
prohibit the consumption of pork
and pork derivatives are
codified in 5 NCAC 2E .0102.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-24;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

.0105 APPROVED RELIGOUS
PARAPHERNALIA

(a) Prayer Rugs - Muslim
inmates shall be allowed to
purchase with their own funds a
prayer rug not to exceed
twenty-two inches by forty-four
inches . Approved order forms
and distributors will be
utilized for the purchase.
(b) Kufi Prayer Caps

- Muslim inmates may possess and
wear Kufis for prayer and
religious services. Kufis may
be worn as part of daily dress
in the same manner as other caps
are worn throughout the Division
of Prisons. Kufis shall be
removed for search and shall not
be worn in dining halls. Muslim
inmates may purchase Kufi caps
with their own funds as with
other approved personal clothing
items .

History Note: Statutory

Authority G.S. 148-11; 148-24;
Eff. December 1, 1986.

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 6 - INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX

SUBCHAPTER 6B - INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX

SECTION .3500 - PARTNERSHIPS

.3501 DEFINITION
A partnership may be defined,
generally, as the relationship
existing between two or more
persons who join together to
carry on a trade or business
vjith each person contributing
either money, property, labor,
or skill, and with all of them
expecting to share in the
profits and losses of the
business. For income tax
purposes, the term "partnership"
includes, in addition to an
ordinary partnership, a
syndicate, group, pool, joint
venture, common trust fund,
investment club, or other
similar organizations which may
not be classified as a trust,
estate, or corporation.
A joint agreement merely to
share expenses is not a
partnership. Co-owners and
tenants in common are not,
generally, partners; but they
can be partners if they actively
carry on a venture together.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 1 05-1 52(a) (3)

;

105-154(b); 105-142(c)
105-262;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1986.
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

EDITION XI, NO. 1

AGENCY

GOVERNOR'
9

OFFICE
NCAC

EFFECTIVE: November 1, 1986

ACTION TAKEN

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 27
Eff. September 8, 1986

HUMAN RESOURCES
10 NCAC 26D

INSURANCE

,0012 Amended

1 1 NCAC 10 .0304
.0312

Temp. Amended
Temp. Adopted

LABOR
13 NCAC 13 .0402 Amended

NATURAL RESOURCES a COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
15 NCAC 2B .0217

.0301
Adopted
Amended

2D .0501
.0524
.1002

Amended
Amended
Amended

.1004- .1005 Amended
2H .0126

.0404
Adopted
Amended

.0408- .0409 Adopted
38 .0101 Amended

.0401- .0402 Amended

.0404 Amended

.0504 Amended

.0902 Amended

.1111 Amended

.1501 Amended

.1505 Amended
7J .0409 Amended

16D .0201 Temp. Amended

TRANSPORTATION
1 9A NCAC 2B .0143 Amended

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Temp. Adopted
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TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT

1

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
n
12
13
14A
15
16
17
18
19A
20

K21
22
23
24
25
26

Administration, Department of
Agriculture, Department of
Auditor, Department of State
Commerce, Department of
Corrections, Department of
Council of State
Cultural Resources, Department
Elections, State Board of
Governor
Human Resources, Department of
Insurance, Department of
Justice, Department of
Labor, Department of
Crime Control, Department of
Natural Resources and Community Development
Education, Department of
Revenue, Department of
Secretary of State
Transportation, Department of
Treasurer, Department of State
Occupational Licensing Boards
Administrative Procedures
Community Colleges, Department of
Independent Agencies
Personnel, Department of State
Office of Administrative Hearings

NOTE: Title 21 contains the chapters of the various
occupational licensing boards.

CHAPTER

2
4
6
8

10
12
14
16
18
20
21
22
26
28
30
31
32
33
34
36
37
38
40
42
44
46
48
50
52
53
54
56
58
60
62
64

66

LICENSING BOARD

Architecture, Board of
Auctioneers, Commission for
Barber Examiners, Board of
Certified Public Accountant Examiners
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of
Contractors, Licensing Board for
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of
Dental Examiners, Board of
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners
Foresters, Board of Registration for
Geologists, Board of
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board
Landscape Architects, Licensing Board of
Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of
Law Examiners, Board of
Martial & Family Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of
Midwifery Joint Committee
Mortuary Science, Board of
Nursing, Board of
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of
Occupational Therapist, Board of
Opticians, Board of
Optometry, Board of Examiners in
Osteopathic Examination and Registration
Pharmacy, Board of
Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of
Podiatry Examiners, Board of
Practicing Counselors, Board of
Practicing Psychologists, Board of
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Real Estate Commission
Refrigeration Examiners, Board of
Sanitarian Examiners, Board of
Speech and Language Pathologists and

Audiologists, Board of Examiners of
Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULATIVE INDEX
(April 1, 1986 - March 31, 1987)

1986

Pages Issue

1-73 April
74-97 May
98-132 June
133-222 July
223-379 August
380-415 September
416-553 October
554-598 November

AO - Administrative Order
C - Correction
E - Errata
EO - Executive Order
FDL - Final Decision Letters
FR - Final Rule
GS - General Statute
JO - Judicial Order
LRA - List of Rules Affected
M - Miscellaneous
PR - Proposed Rule
SO - Statements of Organization
TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
Office of Marine Affairs, 382 PR
Purchase and Contract, 423 PR
State Employees Combined Campaign, 430 PR

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDERS
Beecher Reynolds Gray, 47 AO
Fred Gilbert Morrison, Jr., 48 AO
Angela Rebecca Bryant, 49 AO
Thomas R. West, 50 AO
Abraham Penn Jones, 98 AO
Administrative Law Judges, 248 AO
Margaret Eugenia Rogers, 419 AO
Kenneth Wayne Patterson, 420 AO

AGRICULTURE
Dept. of Agriculture, 250 SO, 558 PR
Food and Drug Protection Division, 99 PR, 255 PR, 557 PR
Markets, 559 PR
Plant Industry, 256 PR
Standards Division, 558 PR
Structural Pest Control, 557 PR

COMMERCE
Cernetary Commission, 559 PR
Milk Commission, 74 PR, 135 PR, 260 PR
Savings and Loan, 78 PR, 560 PR

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 210 PR, 534 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons, 213 FR, 347 FR, 575 FR

CULTURAL RESOURCES
Archives and History, 78 PR
Battleship Commission, 388 PR
Roanoke Voyages & Eliz. II, 261 PR

EXECUTIVE ORDERS
Executive Orders 1-25, 23 EO
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26, 247 EO
27, 416 EO
28, 417 EO
29, 554 EO

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voting Rights Act, 249 FDL, 421 FDL, 555 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 7A, 21 GS, 244 GS
Chapter 150B, 3 GS, 226 GS, 380 C
Chapter 1028, 223 GS

HUMAN RESOURCES
Child Day Care, 281 PR
Children Services, 103 PR
Facility Services, 270 PR
Food Assistance, 103 PR
Health Services, 169 PR, 388 PR, 434 PR, 563 PR
Individual and Family Support, 103 PR
Medical Assistance, 181 PR, 389 PR, 501 PR
Medical Care Commission, 433 PR
Medical Services, 101 PR
Mental Health Retardation
and Substance Abuse, 80 PR, 298 PR, 350 FR, 380 C

Social Services, 390 PR
Youth Services, 85 PR, 309 PR

INSURANCE
Agency Services, 313 PR
Company Operations, 503 PR
Engineering & Building, 321 PR, 564 PR
Fire and Casualty, 501 PR
Medical Database, 565 PR

JUDICIAL ORDERS
Appointment
Robert A. Melott, 45 JO

JUSTICE
Alarm Systems Licensing, 556 SO
Education and Training Standards, 322 PR
Police and Information Network, 107 PR
Private Protective Services, 556 SO
Sheriff's Education, 332 PR

LABOR
Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 86 PR, 189 PR, 338 PR
Elevator Division, 517 PR

LICENSING BOARD
C P A Examiners, 112 PR, 133 SO, 529 PR
Dental Examiners, 399 PR, 533 PR
General Contractors, 573 PR
Medical Examiners, 92 PR, 399 PR
Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 SO
Mortuary Science, 534 PR
Nursing, 422 SO, 574 PR
Occupational Therapy, 206 PR
Pharmacy, 208 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, 116 PR
Real Estate Commission, 401 PR
Veterinary Medical Board, 341 PR

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED
Volume 10, No. 1

(April 1, 1986), 71 LRA
Volume 10, No .

2

(May 1 , 1986), 94 LRA
Volume 10, No .

3

(June 1, 1986), 127 LRA
Volume 10, NO.

4

(July 1 , 1986), 217 LRA
Volume 10, No .

5
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(August 1, 1986), 374 LRA
Volume 10, No. 6
(September 1, 1986), 410 LRA
Volume 10, No. 7
(October 1, 1986), 548 LRA
Volume 11, No. 1

(November 1, 1986), 594 LRA

MISCELLANEOUS
Federal Rule Amendment, 381 M

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Natural Resources & Comunity Development, 133 SO
Coastal Management, 112 FR, 401 FR, 571 PR
Departmental Rules, 109 PR, 118 FR
Economic Opportunities, 528 PR
Employmental and Training, 111 PR
Environmental Management, 88 PR, 190 PR, 339 PR, 396 PR, 520 PR
Forest Resources, 126 FR
Marine Fisheries, 191 PR
Soil and Water, 90 PR, 521 PR
Wastewater Treatment, 397 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 110 PR, 205 PR, 340 PR, 398 PR
422 SO, 527 PR

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
General, 52 PR, 345 PR
Hearings Division, 61 PR, 345 PR, 369 FR
Rules Division, 52 PR, 367 FR
706 Deferral, 543 PR

REVENUE
Corporate Income Tax, 350 FR
Individual Income Tax, 351 FR, 593 FR
Intangible Tax, 366 FR
Sales & Use Tax, 363 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Notary Public, 91 PR, 367 FR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 343 PR, 538 PR

STATE TREASURER
Local Government Commission, 529 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Agriculture, 250 SO
Alarm System Licensing, 556 SO
CPA Examiners, 133 SO
Midwifery Joint Committee, 422 SO
Natural Resources and Community Development, 133 SO
Nursing, 422 SO
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
Private Protective Services, 556 SO
Wildlife Resources Commission, 422 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Department of Transportation, 213 FR, 367 FR, 546 FR
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

ORDER FORM

'lease enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issuf

$95.00/year subscription)

'lease enter my subscription for the NCAC in microfiche form starting with the editior

Published in March and October: $40.00 per edition)

>enew North Carolina Register [Z Renew NCAC

•heck Enclosed 11 Please bill me

»e make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

E ADDRESS

STATE ZIP
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irn to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

New Address
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CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
P. O. Drawer 11666

Raleigh. North Carolina 27604
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The University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill
Law Library
Van Hecke-Wettach Building 064 A
Chapel Hill, N.C, 27514


