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INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The Nonh Carolina Register is published monthly and

contains information relating to agency, executive, legislative and

judicial actions required by or affecting Chapter I50B of the

General Statutes. All proposed administrative rules and amend-

ments filed under Chapter I50B must be published in the Register.

The Register will typically comprise approximately one hundred

pages per issue of legal text.

Slate law requires that a copy of each issue be provided free

of charge to each county in the state and to various state officials

and institutions. The North Carolina Register is available by

yearly subscription at a cost of ninety-five dollars ($95.00) for

12 issues.

Requests for subscription to the North Carolina Register should

be directed to the Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, N. C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule must

first publish notice of the proposed action in the North Carolina

Register. The notice must include a reference to the Statutory

Authority for the action; the time and place of the public hearing

and a statement of how public comments may be submitted to

the agency either at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the

proposed rule or amendment; and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings has

authority to publish a summary, rather than the full text, of any

amendment which is considered to be too lengthy. In such case,

the full text of the rule containing the proposed amendment will

be available for public inspection at the Rules Division of the

Office of Administrative Hearings and at the office of the

promulgating agency.

Following publication of the proposal in the North Carolina

Register, at least 60 days must elapse before the agency may take

action on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency must file

any adopted or amended rule with the Office of Administrative

Hearings. If it differs substantially from the proposed form

published as part of the public notice, the adopted version will

again be published in the North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule, cannot become effective earlier than

the first day of the second calendar month after the adoption is

filed.

Proposed action on rules may be v\'ithdrawn by the pro-

mulgating agency at any time before final action is taken by the

agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature, some

agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary rule becomes

effective when adopted and remains in effect for the period

specified in the rule or 120 days, whichever is less. An agency

adopting a temporary rule must begin normal rule-making

procedures on the permanent rule at the same time the temporary

r\ile is adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is a

compilation and index of the administrative rules of 25 state

agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards. The NCAC
comprises approximately 15,000 letter size, single spaced pages

of material of which approximately 35% is changed annually.

Compilation and publication of the NCAC is mandated by G.S.

l50B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each state agency

is assigned a separate title which is further broken down by

chapters. Title 2 1 is designaied lor occupational licensing boards.

The NCAC is available in two ibrmats.

( 1

)

In looseleaf pages at a minimum cost of two dollars and

50 cents (52.50) tor 10 pages or less, plus fifteen cents

($0.15) per each additional page

(2) On microfiche The microfiche edition is revised semi

annually ( March and October) and can be purchased for

forty dollars ($40.00) per edition. Due to the volume

of the Code, the complete copy can only be purchased on

microfiche. The NCAC on microfiche is updated

monthly by publication of a "List of Rules Affected"

which iets out rules filed the previous month, the actior

taken, and the effective date of the change. This list

published in the North Carolina Register.

Requests for looseleat pages of rules >'r the NCAC or

microfiche should be directed to the Office of Administrative

Hearings.

NOTE

I

The foregoing is a generalized statement of the procedures tciiw

be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested thal^
Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter

examined carefully.

1 508 of the General Statutes b'

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is cited by volume, issue, pag

number and date 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986 refers t

Volume I , Issue 1 , pages 101 through 201 of the North Carolin

Register issued on April I. 1986.

North Carolina Register. Published monthly by the

Office of Administrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B

of the General Statutes. Subscriptions ninety-five dollars

($95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published in

March and October by the Office of Administrative

Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, North Carolina

27604, pursuant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

Subscriptions forty dollars ($40.00) per edition.

1
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
Publication Deadlines and Schedules

(April 1986 - March 1987)

Issue Last Day Last Day Earliest Earl iest Earl iest
Date for for Date for Date for Effective

Filing Electronic Public Adopt ion Date
Fil ing Hearing by Agency
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02/16/87 01/26/87 02/02/87 03/18/87 04/17/87 06/01/87
03/16/87 02/23/87 03/02/87 04/15/87 05/15/87 07/01/87



CORRECTIONS

CORRECTIONS FOR NOTICE OF 9/17/86 DIVISION OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES' HEARING PUBLISHED IN THE
NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER, VOLUME 1, ISSUE 5, AUGUST 15, 1986

On page 298 the notice should have read "the Commission for Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services and the
Director of the Division of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services . .

." and on page 303 the date of the
public hearing should have been "September 1 7, 1986."

CORRECTION TO GENERAL STATUTES OF NORTH CAROLINA, CHAPTER 150B,
PUBLISHED IN THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER, VOLUME 1, ISSUE 5, AUGUST
15, 1986, PAGE 235

150B-32. Designatio n of hearing officer. --(a) The Director of
the Office of Administrative Hearings sliall assign himself or a
hearing officer in the Office of Administrative Hearings to preside
as hearing officer in each contested case. If a party waives the
right to have a case conducted in the Office of Administrative
Hearings, an agency, one or more members of the agency, a person or
group of persons designated by statute, or one or more hearing
officers designated by the agency to conduct contested cases shall
preside at the contested case.

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 380



Federal Rule Amendment

[The following is excerpted from 51 Fed. Reg. 30,486 (1986)]

EQUAL EMPLOYMCNT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION

29 CFR Part 1601

706 Agencies

AGENCY: Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

ACTION: Final rule; amendment.

SUMMARY: The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission amends its
regulations designating certain State and local fair employment
practices agencies (706 Agencies) so that they may handle employment
discrimination charges, within theii' jurisdictions filed v)ith the
Commission. Publication of this amendment effectuates tlie

designation of the North Carolina State Office of Administrative
Hearings as a 706 Agency.

EFFECTIVE DATE: August 17, 1986.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:
Mike Torres, Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission
Office of Program Operations

Systemic Investigations and Individual Compliance Programs
2401 E Street, mi

Washington, DC 20507
telephone (202) 634-6922

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

List of Subjects in 29 CFR Part 1601

Administrative practice and procedure, Equal employment opportunity.
Intergovernmental relations.
1. The autliority citiation for Part

1601 continues to read as follows:

Authority: Sees. 709, 713, 78
Stat. 263, 265; 42 U.S.C. 2000e-8. 2000e-12.

381 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



PROPOSED RULES

TITLE 1 - ADMINISTRATION

Notice is hereby given in
accordance v;itli G.S. 150B-12
thnt the Department of
Administration intends to adopt
regulations cited as 1 NCAC 12
.0601-. 1600.

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority:
143B-390.2(b) .

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 2:00 p.m. on
October 15, 1986 at the Advisory
Budget Commission Conference
Room, Fifth Floor,
Administration Building, 115 W.
Jones Street, Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Any
interested person may present
his or her viev;s and comments
either in writing prior to or at
the hearing or orally at the
hearing. Any person may request
information, permission to be
heard or copies of the proposed
regulations by v-;riting or
calling Donna Moffitt, Office of
Marine Affairs. 417 N. Blount
Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27601,
(919) 733-2290.

CHAPTER 12 - OFFICE OF MARINE
AFFAIRS

SECTION .0600 - GENERAL
PROVISIONS

North
Science

(5) "Dcp
Departme
Administ
(6) "Dir
director
Aquarium
disiqnee

(7) "Fac
Aquarium
associat
grounds

;

(8) "Per
act ivity
activity
with
conditio
Aquarium
Policy

;

(9) "Per
natural
partners
govornme

(10) "Sec
Secretar

(11) "Use
natural
partners
governme

Carolina Marine
Council

;

artment" means the
nt of
ration;
octor" means a
of one of the three

s or liis or her

ility" means the
building and

ed buildings and

missiblo user or
means a user or

that is compatible
the intent and
ns of the N.C.
s' Facility-Use

son" means any
person, corporation,
hip, association, or
ntal unit

;

retary" means the
y of Administration;
r" means any
person, corporation,
hip, association or
ntal unit

.

.0603 NAME CHANGE
Hencefortli, the N. C. Marine
Resources Center/Fort Fisher
shall be known as the North
Carolina Aquarium at Fort
Fisher, the N. C. Marine
Resources Center/Bogue Banks
sliall bo knovjn as the North
Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll
Sliores, and the N. C. Marine
Resources Center/Roanoke Island
shall be known as the North
Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke
Island

.

.0601 ORGANIZATION: POWERS AND
DUTIES

The organization, powers and
duties of tlio Office of Marine
Affairs arc prescribed by G.S.
143B-390 .2(a) and arc licrcby
incorporated by reference.

.0602
As us

(1 )

No
Fo
Sh
Is

(2)
a

(3)
th
en
ed
we
re
CO
no
(4)

DEFINITIONS
ed in Ciiapter 12 of Title

"Aquarium" means tlie
rth Carolina Aquarium at
rt Fisher, at Pine Knoll
ores, or on Roanoke
land ;

"Charitable" means for
benevolent purpose;

"Civic" means favoring
e improvement of the
vironmcnt

,

health,
ucation, safety, gcnei al
Ifarc, culture or
creation of the local
mmunity through
n-political activities;

"Council" means the

.0604 FORMS
The forms listed in this Rule

affect tlie public and are
available at

:

N.C. Aquarium on Roanoke Island
P. 0. Box 967

Mantco, N. C. 27954
(919) 473-3493

N.C. Aquarium at Pine Knoll
Shores

P. 0. Bo.x 580
Atlantic Beach, N. C. 28512

(919) 247-4003

N.C. Aquarium at Fort Fisher
Bo.x 130

Kure Beach, N. C. 28449
(919) 458-8257

Office of Marine Affairs
N.C. Dcpt . of Administration

417 North Blount Street
Raleigh, N. C. 27601

(919) 733-2290
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.0605 APPEALS
Any person affected by a
decision made pursuant to this
cliapter who vjishes to appeal the
decision shall direct the appeal
in viriting to the Secretary of
Administration, 116 West Jones
Street, Raleigh. N.C. 27611.
Appeals of decisions of the
Secretary made pursuant to this
chapter shall be governed by
Chapter 150B (Administrative
Procedure Act ) of the North
Carolina General Statutes.

SECTION .0700 - MARINE SCIENCE
COUNCIL

.0701 ORG.ANIZATION
The North Carolina Marine
Science Council is a 28-member
advisory body in the Department

.

Its power and duties are set out
in G.S. 143B-339.

.0702 STAFF
The Council is staffed by the

Office of Marine Affairs, 417
North Blount Street, Raleigh,
N.C. 27601

.

.0703 BYLAV,'S
The Council's operating

procedures are governed by its
bylavjs which are available from
the Office of Marine Affairs or
the Aquariums.

.0704 MEETINGS
The Council meets four times

per year and at other times vjith
the approval of the Secretary.
Special approved meetings may be
sclieduled at the call of the
Council chairperson or by a
majority of the Council
e.xecutive committee. The date
for a regular meeting shall be
sot at least 20 days prior to
the meeting date. Timely notice
in advance of all special
meetings must be given to each
member of the Council and the
public. Meetings of the Council
are open to the public e.xcept

for those instances governed by
G.S. 143-318. 1 1

.

.0 705 AGENDA
Any person desiring to have
topics included on the agenda
for discussion at a regular
Council meeting shall notify the
staff at least 20 days prior to
tlie meeting date. Final
approval for proposed agenda
items rests vjith tlio Council
e.xccutive committee.

.0 706 MINUTES
Minutes of Council meetings are
available for inspection at the
Office of Marine Affairs. 417
North Blount Street, Raleigh
N.C. 27601.

SECTION .0300 - USE OF NORTH
CAROLINA AQUARIUMS

.0801 PURPOSE
Pursuant to the delegation of

administrative responsibilities
by the Secretary to each
director of the three North
Carolina Aquariums, and in order
to provide guidelines consistent
v.'ith applicable lav;s and
policies and with the needs,
resources. and general
educational and advocacy mission
of tlie Aquariums. these
facility-use rules are therefore
promulgated and adopted.

.0802 FACILITIES
The three facilities have been
constructed for the purpose of
housing public aquariums;
carrying out mariiie and coastal
resources programs including
public information and
education; providing space for
activities associated v?ith
marine programs and fostering
marine-related applied research,
extension education, and
advisory services

.

.0803 USERS
It is the Secretary's policy

that tlie Aquariums and the
grounds immediately surrounding
them should bo available for use
by appropriate public agencies
and private groups and for
non-commercial activities which
are in the best interests of the
state and the com.munities v.'hich
they serve, providing such uses
do not interfere v;ith
regularly-scheduled Aquarium
functions or other approved
scheduled uses

.

.0804 "PERMISSIBLE ACTIVITIES
Permissible uses shall be

confined to non-profit,
marine-related. charitable. or
civic activities. activities

383 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



conducted by tax-supported
public agencies, and approved
research activities. Activities
may also be conducted by
private, profit-making groups or
individuals wlicn such activities
do not include actual sales or
solicitations on state property;
and when tliey provide
significant public benefit,
particularly when that benefit
is marine-related.

.0805 PERMISSION FOR USE
All potential users other than
applicants for research space
shall obtain permission from tlie
director for use of the building
or grounds. Applicants for
research space must follow tlie
procedures oublined in Section
.0300 of this Subchapter.
Approved researchers and users
of the facilities outside of
normal operating hours shall be
required to sign a written
contract

.

.0806 SCHEDULING PERMISSIBLE
ACTIVITIES

If the director determines that
a proposed user or activity is
consistent witli the Facility-Use
Policy, he or she shall allow
that activity to be scheduled.
A permissible user or activity
shall not conflict witli regular
Aquarium functions or programs
and other approved uses of the
Aquariums

.

.0807 CONDITIONS FOR USE
DURING NON-REGULAR HOURS

If a permissible user or
activity requires access to
buildings or grounds during
hours that a facility is not
normally open, the user may be
required to malce a deposit and
may be assessed a reasonable fee
to cover certain expenses
incurred by the facility
including custodial services,
heat, light, \;ater and equipment
use in accordance with a fee
schedule approved by tlie
Secretary and available for
inspection at the Office of
Marine Affairs and at each
Aquarium

.

.0808 AVAILABLE AREAS
Each facility lias the following
functional areas available for
use: (1) auditorium, (2)
classrooms. (3) teaching
laboratories, (4) aquarium
galleries. (5) dry cxliibit
areas. (6) researcli
laboratories, (7) library and
(8) nearby natural areas. A
group vjishing to use the
facility may request a specific
functional area, but the

director shall have final
authority in assigning the use
of any particular area

.0809 LONG-TERM USE PROHIBITED
Tl\e facilities shall not be

used on a continuing basis for
long-term off-hours use by any
one private group.

SECTION .0900 - SCHEDULING
PROCEDURES FOR GROUP USE

.0901 SCHEDULING ACTIVITIES
FOR REGULAR HOURS

For proposed activities that
are to take place during normal
operating hours, a
representative of the user group
shall make a request to use the
facility by contacting the
director. Verification that the
proposed user and activity are
compatible with the Facility-Use
Policy and that the facility is
available for the time and date
requested shall be obtained from
the director before the activity
is scheduled.

.0902 SCHEDULING ACTIVITIES
FOR NON-REGULAR HOURS

For proposed activities that
are to take place outside of a
facility's normal operating
hours. a representative of a
group wishing to use the
facility shall follow these
procedures •

(1) Obtain copies of the
Facility-Use Policy and the
application for use of the
facility from the director's
office of a particular
facility or the Office of
Marine Affairs.

(2) Complete the application
and return it to the
director's office of the
preferred facility. In
extraordinary circumstances,
the application may be
completed by telephone.

(3) Application for use of the
facility may be made no
earlier than 90 days prior to
the date of use and as late
as 48 houz's before the date
of use. However, all
requests are subject to
availability of space and
supervisory staff.

(4) Obtain verification from
the director of that facility
that the proposed user and
activity are compatible with
the Facility-Use Policy and
that the facility is
available for the time and
date requested. The director
will complete and sign the
contract upon his or her
satisfaction that the above
requirements have been met.
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(5) Be prepared to meet these
conditions upon execution of
the contract

:

(a) Pay the appropriate
deposit (deposit will be
credited against any fees or
damages )

;

(b) Guarantee adequate
supervision for the activity
being planned;

(c) Accept the requirement
that an employee of the
facility must be present at
all times;

(d) Pay in full vjlion billed
for any outstanding fees or
for damages to the building
or grounds resulting from
the activity or caused by
the user group;

(e) Leave the building and
grounds in tlie same
condition as before the
activity

;

(f) Accept the requirement
that no controlled
substances. no firearms
(except those in the
possession of law
enforcement officials or
certified safety
instructor), and no pets are
permitted on the premises
during the activity;

(g) Acquire permission from
the Secretary if alcoholic
beverages not to exceed 14;:

alcohol are to be consumed
on the property. (Alcohol
exceeding 14/: shall not be
consumed on state property.)

.0903 AQUARIUM'S
RESPONSIBILITIES

The responsibilities of the
Aquarium include the following:
(1

)

Provide a clean and safe
facility

;

(2) Provide an employee during
the use of the facility;

(3) Arrange the facility for
the expected use. within
reason

;

(4) Perform normal cleaning
after the activity;

(5) Report any damage and
provide detailed written
description of damage to the
individual in charge of the
user group

.

SECTION .1000 - PROCEDURES FOR
USE OF RESEARCH SPACE

.1001 WHEN USE IS LESS THAN 60
DAYS

Research applicants may apply
directly to and receive approval
from the director of the
preferred facility if the period
of continuous use is for 60 da;;s
or less

.

.1002 WHEN USE EXCEEDS 60 DAYS

Potential researchers
to schedule space for
greater tlian 60 '^;

obtain a copy
Facility-Use Policy

wishing
a period

days shall
of the

and file a
th the

tiian 50 days pi -^
regularly sclieduled Council
meeting. Applications and
copies of tlie Facility-Use
Policy are a\-ailable at tlie
Office of Marine Affairs and at
each of tlie tlirce Aquariums.

.1003 APPLICATIONS FORWARDED
BY OFFICE OF MARINE
AFFAIRS

Upon receipt of a completed
application, tlie Office of
Marine Affairs shall forvjard a
copy to the appropriate director
for confirmation of space
availability and comments by the
Aquarium staff.

.1004 REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS
The director shall send his or

her comments and recommendation
for approval or disapproval to
the Office of Marine Affairs for
distribution along vjith the
application to the Marine
Science Council or a Council
subcommittee for review.

.1005 APPROVAL OR DENIAL
At the next regularly-scheduled
meeting of the Council, action
shall be taken regarding
approval or denial of the
application, assessment of a fee
and any applicable use
restrictions. The Office of
Marine Affairs shall forward the
results of the actions taken to
the appropriate director. If
denied, tlie Council or
subcommittee will specify in
writing the reasons for its
decision

.

. 1006 NOTIFICATION TO
APPLICANT

If denied, the director shall
notify the applicant of the
decision. Upon request, the
director will provide the
applicant with the reasons for
denial of his or her
application. If approved, the
director shall allocate the
space and notify the applicant.
The letter of notification shall
contain a statement warning that
failure to appear to utilize the
space viithin one vjcek following
tlie date for which it v.'as

requested may result in the
approval being withdrawn. The
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letter shall also include the
exact dates of the time during
which the applicant will be
allowed to occupy the space, any
special conditions that might
apply, and any fees that will be
assessed. The letter shall also
indicate that tlie applicant v;ill
be required to sign a contract
before occupying the space.

.1007 ANNUAL USE
Research space shall be
allocated to approved
researchers for a period of 12
months or less at a nominal cost
consistent with an approved foe
schedule available from the
Office of Marine Affairs and
each of the Aquariums. Fees
shall be assessed on a
case-by-case basis depending
upon the particular researcher's
ability to pay.

.1008 ANNUAL RENEWAL
Approved researchers shall
apply for renewal of the space
on an annual basis at least 60
days before the end of the
current period of use.
Applications for renewal may be
made by letter to the
appropriate director who shall
follow the steps outlined in
Rules .0304 through .0306 of
this Subchapter. The Council or
subcommittee shall act on the
request for renev;al of space at
the next regularly-scheduled
meeting of the Council.

.1009 CRITERIA FOR SELECTING
APPLICANTS

The follov'/ing criteria shall
apply in evaluating requests for
use of research space:
(1) The research should
address problems affecting
the use of coastal or marine
resources .

(2) The research must be
compatible witli the
facilities of the Aquariums.

(3) Applications indicating
any of the following will
receive high priority:

(a) research offering
potential of immediate
applicat ion

;

Cb) research which promotes
public information,
e.xtcnsion education
programs, and advisory
services of the Aquariums;

(c) research requiring the
unique features of the
Aquariums (e.g. coastal
location, multi-disciplinary
setting, accessibility to
visiting tourists and
students, etc.);

(d) research wliich

contributes to fulfilling
state goals and policies in
marine affairs.

SECTION .1100 LIABILITY

the
nor

.1101 USER'S ASSUMPTION OF
LIABILITY

Any agency, organization or
group using the Aquarium
facilities during off hours
shall be prepared to assume
liability for any accidents or
injuries occurring on the
property in connection with the
activity. Neither the
Department, the Aquarium,
Office of Marine Affairs,
any of their employees, either
jointly, severally or
individually, shall be
responsible for personal injury
resulting from use of the
property

.

.1102 RESEARCHER'S ASSUMPTION
OF LIABILITY

Any researclier using the
Aquarium facilities shall be
prepared to assume liability for
any accidents or injuries
occurring on the property in
connection with the research
activity. Neither the
Department, the Aquariums, the
Office of Marine Affairs, nor
any of their employees, either
jointly, severally or
individually, shall be
responsible for personal injury
resulting from use of the
property

.

SECTION .1200 - UNAUTHORIZED USE
OF FACILITIES: FEES

12

Use
buil
mann
Faci
alio
the
Faci
aval.
from
Affa
Poli-
.080
Subcl

.
12i

No
]

shai:
faci^
comp^
Polii
orgai
attei
dur ii

the i

Fees
appr(

01 USES NOT COVERED BY
POLICY

of the Aquarium
dings or grounds in any
er not provided for in the
lity-Use Policy shall be
wed only by permission of
Secretary. Copies of the
lity-Use Policy are
lable from any Aquarium and

the Office of Marine
irs . The Facility-Use
cy is also codified as Rules

tlirough .1102 of this
hapter

.

02 USER FEES
person or organization
1 use or attempt to use any
lity unless they are in
liance with the Facility-Use
cy. No person or
nization shall use or
mpt to use any facility
ng off hours without paying
applicable deposit and fee.

are established and
oved by the Secretary and a
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fee schedule is available for
inspection at any Aquarium and
at the Office of Marine Affairs
in Raleigh.

.1203 UNAUTHORIZED ENTRY
No person shall enter or remain

on Aquarium property during
hours when the facility is not
open to the public except for
on-duty employees. contractors
or agents of the Aquarium; law
enforcement, fire and emergency
personnel; and others authorized
to use the property in
connection with an Aquarium or
Aquarium Society sponsored
event, or unless accompanied by
an authorized employee of the
Aquarium or permission has been
granted by the director.

SECTION .1300 - FIREARMS I

SMOKING
FIRES:

.1301 LETHAL INSTRUMENTS
Carrying or possessing
firearms, airguns, bows and
arrows, slingshots or lethal
instruments of any kind on
Aquarium property, except by law
enforcement officials and
certified safety instructors, is
prohibited

.

.1302 EXPLOSIVES
The possession or use of

pyrotechnics and cap pistols
except by authorized employees
of the Aquariums is prohibited.

.1303 FIRES
All fires are prohibited except
in designated areas.

.1304 SMOKING
Smoking is prohibited in the

buildings except in designated
areas . The director sliall
forbid smoking on the grounds
when a fire hazard makes such
action advisable.

SECTION .1400 - CONDUCT:
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES: PETS:

PROPER DRESS

.1401 DISORDERLY CONDUCT
No person shall engage in
disorderly conduct, be
into.xicated , or be impaired by
controlled substances while on
Aquarium property or while
involved in an
Aquarium-sponsored program that
is conducted off the premises.

.1402 LOUD RADIOS
The playing of radios, tape

players, etc., in such a manner
as to disturb others is
prohibited

.

.1403 SALES OF ALCOHOL OR

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES
No person shall sell or attempt

to sell any beer, v;ine, whiskey,
controlled substances or any
other into.xicnt inn or impairing
substance on Aquarium property.

.1404 CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL
Alcoholic beverages that do not

e.xceed 14"; alcohol may be served
and consumed on Aquarium
property upon approval by the
Secretary on the recommendation
of the director.

.1405 PETS
Pets are not allowed in the

Aquarium buildings but may be
allovjcd on the grounds, provided
tliey remain at all times under
the ovjners' control and are
restrained by a leash. Any
animal causing a nuisance on
Aquarium property shall be
removed immediately by tlie owner
upon the request of the
director

.

.1406 PROPER DRESS
Any person using the facility
or participating in programs
shall be appropriately dressed
at all times. This includes tlie
wearing of shirts, shoes and
safety equipment as required.

SECTION .1500 - COMMERCIAL
ACTIVITIES: SOLICITATIONS: ETC.

.1501 COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISES
Only authorized Aquarium

employees or contractors or
authorized employees or
contractors of the N. C.
Aquarium Society may engage in
or conduct commercial activities
on Aquarium property.

.1502 ADVERTISING
Non-commercial notices or
advertisements may be erected or
displayed on Aquarium property,
provided pormis.sion has been
granted by the director.
Notices or advertisements for
commercial activities conducted
off tlic Aquarium premises are
prohibited on Aquarium property.

.1503 PHOTOGRAPHS
No person shall take

photographs, video tapes or
movies of the Aquarium
facilities or on Aquarium
property for commercial purposes
v/itliout the permission of the
director

.

.1504 LOGOS: SLOGANS: ETC.
No person sliall use, adopt or

modify any logos, names or
slogans of the N. C. Aquariums
or the N. C. Aquarium Society
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without prior written permission
of the Office of Marine Affairs.

.1505 SOLICITATIONS
Only persons engaged in
fundraising activities sponsored
by the N. C. Aquarium Society
for the purpose of supporting
the Aquariums or Society shall
be permitted to solicit
contributions on Aquarium
property

.

SECTION .1600 - PRESERVATION OF
AQUARIUM PROPERTY

.1601 FLOWERS: PLANTS:
ANIMALS: ETC.

Only authorized Aquarium
employees or agents acting in
performance of their duties may
remove, dispose of or otherwise
harm any animal or plant life,
whether marine or terrestrial,
or remove sand or other minerals
owned or controlled by the
Aquarium

.

.1602 BUILDINGS: SIGNS: ETC.
Only authorized Aquarium

employees or agents acting in
performance of their duties
shall alter, disturb or dispose
of any part of any Aquarium
property

.

.1603 PARKING
All privately-ov;nod vehicles
shall be parked in designated
parking areas of the Aquarium
property. All other vehicles
shall be parked only as directed
by the director.

TITLE 7 CULTURAL RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 1 SOB- 12
that the USS North Carolina
Battleship Commission intends to
amend regulations cited as 7
NCAC 5 .0203(a) and .0204(a).
The purpose of tlie proposed
regulations is to change price
of admission to Battleship
Nemordal, and Sound and Light
Sliow .

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority:
143B-73; 143B-74.1.

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 2:00 p.m. on
October 15, 1986 at the
Admiral's Cabin, USS North
Carolina Battleship Memorial,
Wilmington, N.C.

Comment Procedures: Data,
opinions, and arguments
concerning those rules must be

submitted by October 15, 1986 to
the Director, USS North Carolina
Battleship Memorial, P.O. Box
417, Wilmington, N.C. 28402.

CHAPTER 5 - U.S.S. NORTH
CAROLINA BATTLESHIP COMMISSION

SECTION .0200 USE REGULATIONS

.0203 ADMISSION PRICES
(a) The admission price for

the ship is th i c-e dollars four
dollars -f^ 3.00) ($4.00) for
adults age 12 and over,
do llar and fifty ocnrt-s
dollars (01 .50) ($2.00)

one
two
for
11,cliildren 6 through

s e v ent y—five cent s on e dollar
f$ .75) ($1 .00) per student for
organized school groups in
grades kindergarten through 6,
and orrc d o llar and fTcrfty cent s
two dollars (01 .504 (2.00) per
student for organized school
groups in grades 7 through 12.
(b) There is no charge for

children under 6.
(c) Classroom teachers/aides/
chaperones accompanying
students in class field trips
will be admitted without charge
at tlie rate of 1

teacher/aide/chaperone for each
20 students.
(d) Tour groups under auspices

of bona fide travel agents will
be offered a 15 percent
discount . Tour directors and
drivers will be complimented for
the tour.
(o) Any organized groups of 20

or more will be offered a 10
percent discount when tickets
are purchased by a single
source

.

.0204 SOUND AND LIGHT SHOW
(a) The admission price for

the Sound and Light Show is two
do l lar s three dollars i-re©->

($3.00) for adults age 12 and
over and on e dollar one dollar
and fifty cents -f^l .00) ($1 .50)
for children 6 through 1 1

.

(b) There is no charge for
children under 6 years of age.
(c) Tour groups under auspices

of bona fide travel agents will
bo offered a 15 percent
discount. Tour directors and
drivers will be complimented for
the tour

.

(d) Any organized group of 20
or more will be offered a 10
percent discount when tickets
are purchased by a single
source .

TITLE 10 HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Department of Human
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Resources intends to adopt and
repeal regulations cited as 10
NCAC 7A .0407 (Repeal) and 10
NCAC 7A .0501-. 0502 (Adopt).

The proposed effective date of
this action is February 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
130A-152(c); 1986 Session Laws,
Chapter 1008, Section 2.

The public hearing will bo
conducted at 1:30 p.m. on
October 15, 1986 at the Highway
Building, Auditorium (First
Floor), 1 South I'.'ilmington
Street. Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures : Any person
may request information or
copies of the proposed rules by
writing or calling John P.
Barkley, Agency Legal
Specialist, Division of Health
Services, P. 0. Box 2091,
Raleigh, North Carolina
27602-2091, (919) 733-3131.
Written comments on those
subjects may be sent to Mr.
Barkley at the above address

.

Written and oral (for no more
than ten minutes) comments on
these subjects may be presented
at the hearing. Notice sliould
be given to Mr. Barkley at least
three days prior to the liearing
if you desire to speak.

CHAPTER 7 - HEALTH: EPIDEMOLOGY

SUBCHAPTER 7A - ACUTE
COMMUNICABLE DISEASE CONTROL

SECTION .0400 - IMMUNIZATION

.0407 REDISTRIBUTION OF
VACCINE BY LOCAL HEALTH
DEPARTMENTS (REPEALED)

SECTION .0500 - PURCHASE AND
DISTRIBUTION OF VACCINE

.0501 PURCHASE OF VACCINE
The Department of Human

Resources may enter into
contracts for the purchase of
vaccines. Any purchase of such
vaccines shall be in accordance
with Article 3 of G.S. 143 and 1

NCAC 5A.

.0502 DISTRIBUTION OF VACCINE
(a) E.xcopt as provided in

paragraph (b), a liealth care
provider wlio receives vaccine
from the State shall charge no
more than the cost of the
vaccine and a reasonable fee for
administration of the vaccine.
(b) Vaccines provided by the

State at no cost to local health
departments shall be

administered at no cost to the
patient

.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Division of Medical
Assistance intends to amend
regulation cited as 10 NCAC 26H
.0202(a)

.

The proposed effective date of
tliis action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42
C.F.R. 447, Subpart C.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1 :30 p.m. on
October 15, 1986 at North
Carolina Division of Medical
Assistance, 1985 Umstead Drive,
Raleigh, NC 27603, Room 201.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments concerning this
amendment must be submitted by
October 15, 1986 to Director,
Division of Medical Assistance,
1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh,
North Carolina 27603. Oral
comments may be presented at the
hearing

.

CHAPTER 26 - MEDICAL SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 26H REIMBURSEMENT
PLANS

SECTION .0200 - HOSPITAL
INPATIENT REIMBURSEMENT PLAN

.0202 RATE SETTING METHODS
(a) A rate vjill ire d e t ermined

annually fxrr each par I: ic ipat ing
lio::jpital t-o ire effec t ive fT5-r a
tv.' clv e mon t h per iod beginning
Jtriry ^-T Rat es rrirHr bt? dc rivcti
fmm d e sk r evie vj;- d tra^rt reports
fcrr a base ytrar period

.

T-htr

init ial bas e year will fre tlic
CTjst- rep o r t ing p jr i o d endin g -irt

l-9&+-r Ra t es will be applied t-o

all c laims for iiipa t i e irb days trf

t: e r \' i c c paid after t lie effective
date o-f t-irc ncv? rat es

.

An
annual rate is determined for
each hospital to he effective
for dates of service beginning
each July 1 Rates are derived
from cost
base-year

reports for
period

p revious ap p eal decisions.
in it ial b.Ts e-yen r is

from
The
the

cost-reporting period ending in
1981 . Services provided prior
to July 1, 1986 are reimbursed
at rates not to exceed the rates
effective July 1. 1985.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Division of Medical
Assistance intends to amend
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regulations cited as 10 NCAC 26H
.0302 (a) and Cc)

.

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1907.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 42
C.F.R. 447, Subpart C.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1:30 p.m. on
October 15, 1986 at North
Carolina Division of Medical
Assistance, 1985 Umstead Drive,
Raleigh, NC 27603, Room 201.

Comment Procedures: Written
comments concerning these
amendments must bo submitted by
October 15, 1986 to Director,
Division of Medical Assistance,
1985 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, NC
27603. Oral comments may be
presented at the hearing.

SECTION .0300 - ICF-NR
PROSPECTIVE RATE PLAN

.0302 ALLOWABLE COST FINDING:
REPORTING AND VERIFICATION

( a ) Annual cos t- reports arc
rc cjuired from al l pr-o-trrdtrr-s

wrrtl iin 9-& dtry-s after t li e i r
fiscal ytrsr cud .- These report s

shall be p r e sente d en forms arrd
•in a •foT-mtrt approved try t-he
STTtrtc ag ency

.

A 56- thsy
ext ension o^f t+rc due titrte m-SYr
fcrr goo d cause . tre grr.nte d by
tlttr state . E ach fac il ity that
receives p ayments from the Nort h
Carolina Medicaid Program must
prepa r e and s\ibn> it a report of
its costs and other financial
informat ion related to
reimhursement an

n

ually . liie

fi scal period ending June 30,

report must include costs fro m a
fiscal pe rjod boa innin g on Jul y
1 and end i

n

g on J imo 5 an d mu st
be submitted to the state on or
before the September 50 th at
inpiediatelv fo llovjs the Ju.no 30
year end. A nov; provider must
su bmit a report for the period
bog inning v;ith tlie date of
certification and ending on Ji i n_e

30 . Facj lities that file
reports af t er the due date v;ill
be charge d a p ^na Ity of up to
five hundred dollars ($500.00)

day for each day a fterper
Sep
del
Medical Assistance m a y extc nd

tember 30 that the report is
inguent . llie D ivision of

tbn doad l ino
ort

for fi ling th

e

if. its vievj

,

cause exists for th e del ay. For
> viclers with cost report ing
'iods end ing on a dabe other

pro\
per J

tlian June 30 v.'liic l i were enrolled
in tlie Medi ca id program prior to
July 1, 1986. this provision
shall become effective fo r t h e

1988
(c)

reco
gene
pr in
mctli
govc

Allowable costs will be
rded on tlie basis of
rally accepted accounting
ciplcs using tlie accrual
od of accounting exc ept tli at
r 1 1mental institutions vjijl

have
accr

t lie option of using the
ual or cash method of

accounting

.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
tliat the Social Services
Commission intends to amend 10
NCAC 36 .0405; amend 10 NCAC 42W
.0003; adopt .0005-. 0006; amend
10 NCAC 46C .0101-. 0102; repeal
.0103-. 0104; amend .0105; adopt
.0106-. 0107; amend 10 NCAC 47B
.0405(h); adopt 10 NCAC 49C
.0101-. 0500.

The proposed effective dates of
tliese actions are January 1,
1987 for 10 NCAC 46C and
December 1, 1986 for all other
rules

.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 4-1;
48A-2; 90-21.1; 90-21.5;
143B-153; 1 43B-1 53 ( 2a)

.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
October 15, 1986 at the Second
Floor Conference Room, Woodoak
Building, 1100 Navaho Drive,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Comment Procedures: Any
interested person may present
his/her views and comments
eitlier in writing to or at the
liearing or orally at the
hearing. Any person may request
information, permission to be
heard, or copies of the proposed
regulations by writing or call
Bonnie Allrcd, 325 N. Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27611,
919-733-3055.

CHAPTER 36 - CONTRACT SERVICES

SECTION .0400 - CONTRACT
REQUIREMENTS

.0405 MONITORING
(a) Each purchase contract

negotiated by the division of
social services will be

staff of tlie
s ervices

.

monitored by
division. trf se
A visit to each provider agency
service delivery site will be
sclicduled at least annually to
monitor tlie provider's adlieronce
to the terms of tlie contract and
to assess the quality of
services delivered. A
monitoring report identifying
areas of non-compliance and
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establishing corrective action
requirements will be sent to all
parties to the contract.

( b ) Each purchase contract and
each vendor agreement which the
county department of social
services negotiates will be
monitored annually by the county
department of social services.

CHAPTER 42 - INDIVIDUAL AND
FAMILY SUPPORT

SUBCHAPTER 42W - STATE ABORTION
FUND

.0003 COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF
SOCIAL SERVICES
RESPONSIBILITIES

(a) Eligibility for the State
Abortion Fund will be determined
by the county department of
social services.
(b) The county department of

social services v;ill provide
abortion counseling to all
clients determined eligible for
State Abortion Funds.
(c) The county department of

social services v;ill provide to
all State Abortion Fund clients
family planning counseling and,
upon request, referral for
family planning medical
consultation and supplies.
Prior to author izat ion of
pavment for an ah ort ion

,

counseling shall incluide the
opportunity for the woman to
personally view fetal models
showing the qrovjth and
development of th e human embryo
and fetus . said models to be
obtained from roqular medical
supply houses or medical
schools
(d) The county department of

social services will arrange for
the delivery of abortion
services with appropriate
medical providers

:

(1) Physicians receiving
payment for services through
the State Abortion Fund must
be licensed to practice
medicine in North Carolina
or if practicing in another
state, by the appropriate
regulatory authority in that
state

.

(2) Hospitals receiving State
Abortion Funds for services
rendered must be licensed in
North Carolina by the
Department of Human
Resources or if located in
another state, licensed or
certified by the appropriate
regulatory authority in that
state

.

(3) Abortion clinics and
ambulatory surgical
facilities receiving State
Abortion Funds for services

rendered must be licensed or
certified in North Carolina
by the Department of Human
Resources or if operating in
anotlicr state, by the
appropriate regulatory
authority in that state.

(e) County departments of
social services vjill negotiate
for services delivery and
payment with appropriate
providers

;

( 1 ) Individual service
authorization for clients
v/ill bo routed on a
designated form to
participating medical
providers by the county
department of social
services which will document
the negotiated service
payment

.

(2) Providers may not collect
additional funds from the
pat lent

.

.0005 REPORTING CASES OF RAPE
AND i:;CEST

The director of any county
department of social services
receiving information from an
applicant for State Abortion
Funds alleging rape or incest as
a basis for eligibility for
assistance from the Fund shall
report such incident of rape or
incest to the district attorney
having jurisdiction in the area
in which the incident occurred.

.0006 CONSENT FOR PAYMENT FOR
MINOR'S ABORTION

\\'here an applicant is an
unomancipated minor, as defined
in G.S. 48A-2, and requests
assistance from the State
Abortion Fund, the county
department of social services
shall require the written
consent of at least one parent
or legal guardian of the minor
before authorizing payment of
state funds for inducing an
abortion. Other services for
pregnancy may be authorized
without such consent.

CHAPTER 46 - DAY CARE RULES

SUBCHAPTER 46C - PURCHASE OF
CHILD DAY CARE

SECTION .0100 - BASIC
REQUIREMENTS

.0101 PURPOSE
The rules in this Subchapter

govern the purchase of child day
care services with state and
federal day care funds
administered by the Offic e o-f

Day Care Service s

.

Section

.

.0102 APPLICABILITY
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^-jr> All day care fnc il it i c s
providers from which day care is
purchased for eligible c)iildron
with day care services funds
shall adhere to the rules of
this Subcliapter that apply to
that type of -facility
provider

.

( b ) Bny care center s «:ub j cct
to trhc nnixirvttm rc imbur r;T::n cn t
rate s ftrr cliil d rkry care siiall
h-cnrc tHitrdrr all ovrabl c ctrs-bs
c^t abli::;hed trccording t-o orrc trf

thtr trwxj m et ho ds described int

Gcct ioi i s ^~e^&^ tm-d -r04£H> rrf ±hirs
Stibd-rap-trcTrr

( c ) Fam il y day ca r e homes and
-rntldv id tra-l c liild c ar e
srranyeineiTb^ may irty re iinbur scd
trb cnry neyo t lat cd rate tip tro t^ho
maxi n-A-nn rate ::; established by the
So c ial Servic es Commission fo r
bhtrt typ e facilit y .

.0103 DEFINITIONS (REPEALED)

.OlO-ii MAXIMUM REIMBURSEMENT
RATES (REPEALED)

.0105 SPECIAL NEEDS
SUPPLEMENTAL RATE

(a) irt adxiit i on txr Hre' nrtt; trf

paym ent all owtrd tiTrdTrr the
p rov rsion s tyf Ririrc -r-O-}-04 of trlrirs

Sect ion, a srrpplrciircnt-ai rattrr
rrot- tro cxc-ctrd +0 ;Tc r cent of t^rc
stra-t-c ma.-^ imun ch-irid dtiy c ar e
r e imbur s e i iieirt r ate s fxrr ±ire "typo
of facilit y , may hs Cotablislicd
•Sxrc a Lev e l & c-cntrer ot -faTrrrly

day 'care hone provider under ttrc
foll owin g condit i ons

.

(a) Any approve d p rovider of
da ilv care may bo eli gible for a
supplemental rat e equ a l to 10
percent of the provider '

s

payment rate under the follovjinq
conditions

:

(1) the service population of
the child day care center or
family day c ar e home is
comprised of at least 60
percent children without
special needs and the center
or home provides services to
a child or children with
special needs;

( 2 ) trJrc providcrr can document
tJie need f^irr extra costs xrc

charges for s ervi c es t-o

sp ec ial needs cl -iildre n
whtirch are -in adthit i on to trl-re

basic cliild day c are cos t'g

as all oTTCTJ in +9 U£Ae ^r&Q
and ^6-G~r

( 3 ) ( 2

)

the provider's rate
for a child shall ire bas ed
on proj ec t ed all owabl e
co st s

,

not tro exceed 1

percent of the provider's
appr-ovrrd daily care rate for
that age group ; as strt by
trhc eff4^rc of Bay Car e
Serv ice r

;

(^ ) ( 3

)

the agency determining
eligibility for the service
has on file a signed letter,
statement, or summary from
tlio person authorized to
make the diagnosis to
document the "special need"
condition and a summary of
the special services
required to meet tlie child's
needs

.

(b) A "special needs" child is
one who is determined by the
appropriate authorities to
qualify under one or more of the
criteria listed in this
Paragraph

:

(1) child recipient of SSI
(Supplemental Security
Income )

;

(2) special needs child as
defined in accordance with
Department of Public
Instruction's rules in 16
NCAC Rtrie . 1501 ; 6H .0001;

(3) a mentally retarded or
severely physically disabled
child under criteria found
in 10 NCAC 37F .0004;

(4) a "high risk" infant im
accordance wirth criteria -im

+0 HGAe +©« .0403. defined
a s a child from birth to 18
mont h s of age wlio exhibits
s iqnif icantly atypical
patterns of bchavi or that
indicat e a high pi'obability
o f mental retardation. The
condition of high rislc must
be determined by
physician, who may secure
corroborating evidence from
a practicing psychologist or
a psychological associate
unde r the supervision of a
practicing psychologist.

.0106 PAYMENT RATES
(a) Rates for daily care

purchased from a child day care
center shall be established
according to the procedux'es
described in Rule .0107 of this
Section

.

(b) The payment rate for
full-time care purchased from a
family day care homo (registered
plan) is one hundred fifty
dollars ($150.00) per month.
(c) The payment rate for

full-time care purchased from an
individual child care
arrangement is one hundred
dollars ($100.00) per month.
(d) The payment rates for

daily transportation purchased
from any approved provider,
except as provided in Paragraph
(a) of Rule .0107, are:

( 1 ) forty-two dollars
($42.00) per month for any
child younger than three
years and any other child
wliose transportation needs
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require special
accommodations or additional
supervision

.

(2) thirty-eight dollars
($38.00) per month for any
child who does not meet the
requirements of Subparagraph
(d) (1 )

.

(e) Payment rates for
part-time care shall be prorated
according to the number of liours
per day or days per month the
child is scheduled to attend.
(f) Client fees imposed in

accordance with the provisions
of Section .0300 of Subchapter
46H shall be subtracted from the
provider's allowable cost to
determine the payment rate for
an individual child.

.0107 RATES FOR DAY CARE
CENTERS

(a) The payment rate for
centers in which fewer than SO-'i

of the children enrolled are
subsidized with state or federal
funds shall be the same fee paid
by private paying parents for a
child in the same age group in
the same center, including
registration fees. The payment
rate for daily transportation
provided by these centers is the
same fee paid by a private
paying parent for transportation
of a child to and/or from the
center

.

(b) Centers in which 50% or
more of the children enrolled
are subsidized with state or
federal funds may choose
annually one of the following
options

:

(1) the center's payment
rates for care and
transportation for state
fiscal year 1985-86; or

(2) the county market rate
for care calculated pursuant
to Section 97 of Chapter 479
of the 1985 Session Lavjs and
the state payment rate for
transportation

.

(c) Centers which primarily
serve cliildren who are mentally
or physically handicapped,
cerebral palsied, autistic, or
abused or neglected pursuant to
G.S. 7A-544, are exempt from tlie
provisions of Paragraphs (a) and
(b) of this rule and may choose
annually one of the following
payment options:

( 1 ) the maximum rates
established by the Division
of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance
Abuse Services for
developmental day centers

:

or
C2) the center's allowable
unit cost per child
established annually by tlie

section according to
allowable cost policy and
rate establishment
procedures approved by the
secretary pursuant to G.S.
14B-153(2a). The state
allov/able costs codified in
10 NCAC 46S shall apply only
to centers wliich meet the
criteria of this rule.

(d) Except as provided for in
Paragrapli ta), the payment rate
for registration fees sliall be
limited to twenty dollars
($20.00) per year per child.
(e) Purchasing agencies may

negotiate v;ith day care center
providers for purcliase of child
day care services at payment
rates loV'jer than those
prescribed by this rule.

CHAPTER 47 - STATE/COUNTY
SPECIAL ASSISTANCE

SUBCHAPTER 47B - ELIGIBILITY
DETERMINATION

SECTION 0400 - ELIGIBILITY
FACTORS

.0405 INCOME
-(-H- ++re first t v.'ent y d ollars

(020.00) s^tzzH fcrt?

disL'

gjg J L ded plu s orre

—

half trf

th'j r e m aind e r ntrb t-a ex c eed
a t o t al disr eg a r d trf f-rf-by
dollars -(-05

. Q»> fTTCTt total
m oi'i b lTJry g:ar ncd income ;

( 2 ) work relnbed expt
sliall fe-c subtr acted
aiTtl s t ahe t ax, PICA .

du e s , r et ii c m^j ii b , medical
ctrrd liospit al insu r ance, -Htc
trorrt trf uniforms

,

t ools trr

TTTtrt o rials ) ;

( 5 ) trcrst- erf t ransp ortat ion ±ro

and f"rtxrr v,' o rk "shrrilr trc

stibt-r act ed ( if app lic ant
1 c- c i p i cntr u - c

&

hirs orm
v -'hicle ) , t-rm c ents ($.10) a
mil e s+raii be a-ll ov;cd,' and

-f4^ ttm di^llars ( $ 10. 0-&4 -^rrr

incent ive sl
'iall be

sub t racttrd-r

(1 ) the first si .xty-five
dollars ($65.00) shall be
disrega r ded

;

(2) impairment-related vjork
expenses for sucli items as
equipment. prostheses. and
medical devices and
vjork-related e.xpenses for
uniforms. tools, materials
or unusual transportation
costs shall be subtracted,

(3) tlien one half of tlie
remainder sliall be
disregarded

.

CHAPTER 49 - AFDC

SUBCHAPTER 49C - EMERGENCY
ASSISTANCE
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SECTION .0100 COVERAGE

.0101 ELIGIBILITY FOR COVERAGE
(a) Eligibility for coverage

will be as follows:
( 1

)

Emergency Assistance
shall be provided to or on
behalf of a needy child(ren)
under the age of 21 , the
specified relative of the
needy child(ron), the spouse
of the specified relative
and any other child(ren)
under the age of 21 vjho may
live in the home and is
under the care and
supervision of the specified
relative. The needy child
under the age of 21 who is
within the specified degree
of relationship must be
living with the specified
relative or have lived with
the specified relative
within six montlis prior to
the month in wliicli Emergency
Assistance is requested.

(2) Families of migrant
workers shall be covered if
the requirements stated in
paragraph (a) of this rule
and the regulations stated
in 45 CFR 233.120 are met.

(b) Verification
(1) The county shall accept
the applicant's statement to
verify the household
composition

.

(2) The county shall accept
the applicant's statement
verifying living with and
kinship unless questionable.
If the applicant's statement
is questionable, the county
department of social
services shall be required
to verify living with and
kinship according to rules
in 10 NCAC 49B .0304.

.0102 EMERGENCIES COVERED
(a) The following emergencies

shall be covered:
(1) a crisis situation
resulting from a
catastrophic illness;

(2) substantial loss of
shelter, food, clothing, or
household furnisliings due to
fire, flood, or similar
natural or man-made
disaster, or a crime of
violence

;

(3) emergency situation over
which there was no control,
which left the family
homeless, or in immediate
danger of eviction or
foreclosure

;

C4) a situation in which
Emergency Assistance is
necessary to avoid
destitution of the needy

child(ren) as described in
.0101 of this Subchapter, or
to provide shelter for the
child( ren )

;

(5) emergency situation which
could lead to destitution
and the destitution or need
for living arrangements did
not arise because he or a
specified relative refused
without good cause to accept
employment or training for
employment . Good cause is
defined in 10 NCAC 49B
.0311 (2)

.

(6) mass emergencies;
(7) Loss of a relative who
has been responsible for
support and/or care of one
of the family members.

(b) The county department of
social services shall verify the
emergency situation. Methods of
verification include but are not
limited to an eviction notice,
contact with tlie landlord or
other collateral, statement from
a doctor, or signed statement
from the applicant.

.0103 EMERGENCY NOT COVERED
Heating or cooling-related
emergencies shall not be
covered

.

.0104 BENEFIT LEVEL
(a) The maximum benefit per

household is five hundred
dollars ($500.00) during thirty
consecutive days. Such
assistance cannot be received
again within a twelve
consecutive month period.
(b) When the county department

purchases in-kind goods or
contracts for the purchase of
services to alleviate or to
prevent destitution of the
family, the value of the in-kind
goods or contracted services
must be established and
considered when authorizing the
benefit level

.

(1) For in-kind goods, the
value will be the actual
purchase price of the goods.

(2) For contracted services,
the provider will submit to
the county department of
social services a v;ritten
statement of the value of
tlie service provided.

.0105 TYPES OF ASSISTANCE
PROVIDED

Assistance will include:
(1) temporary shelter;
(2) transportation;
(3) home repairs such as
repair of frozen pipes and
plastic covering for windows;

(4) replacement or repair,
when appropriate, of
necessary appliances.
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household items, or
furniture

;

(5) in-kind goods such as
clothing, blankets, food;

(6) outpatieiit medical
services such as
presci'ipt ions , eyeglasses and
doctor visits if the expense
is not covered by tlie
Medicaid Program or the
individual needing the care
is either not receiving or is
ineligible for Nodical
Assistance

.

.0106 METHODS OF PAYMENT
Metliods of payment include:
( 1

)

direct payment

;

(2) voucher payment;
(3) vendor payment.

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION AND
DISPOSITION

.0201

(a) The
Emcrgency
count
(b)

on a
(c)

y in
App

Stat-
If

assistanc
receive b
hours ,

speci fie
emerg
(d)

ency
If .

verif
Subch
pend

ied
apte
beyo:

APPLICATION AND
DISPOSITION
family shall apply for
Assistance in the

v;hich it lives,
lication shall be made
e-prescribed form,
eligible for
e, the family should
enefits v;ithin 24 to 48
depending upon the
circumstances of the

eligibility can not be
as described in this

r, the application may
nd 48 hours

.

SECTION .0300 - RESERVE AND
INCOME

.0301 RESERVE
(a) A family shall be allowed

to reserve resources at a
ma.ximum of tvjo thousant two
hundred dollars ($2,200.00). If
tlie reserve ov;ncd by tlie family
exceeds tv.'O thousand two hundred
dollars ($2,200.00), it shall be
ineligible

.

(b) Resources owned by members
of the household applying for
Emergency Assistance shall be
counted

.

(c) The following reserve
items sliall be counted:

( 1

)

cash on hand;
(2) the current balance of
savings account (s);

(3) that portion of a
checking account other than
the monthly income deposited
to meet the household's
needs

;

(4) stoclcs , bonds, mutual
fund shares, savings
cert if icatcs

;

(5) revocable trust funds;
(5) life estate and remainder
interest, if salable;

(7) net proceeds from a
business, including a farm,
v;hich lias been discontinued;

(8) equity in real property
not used as a liome or
producing an income.

(d) Tl\c following reserve
items shall be excluded:

( 1 ) liouseliold or personal
belongings (includes
essential and non-essential
personal property);
(2) motor vcliicles;
(3) primary residence,
including mobile home, and
all contiguous property;

(4) incor.ie-producing
property

;

(5) insurance (including
burial, tcr.ii. and whole life
cash values )

;

(6) value of prepaid burial
contracts

;

(7) value of burial plots;
(8) savings of a student
under the age of 21 wlio is
saving his money for school
expenses

;

(9) relocation assistance
payments

;

(10) that portion of monthly
income deposited in a
checking account to meet
monthly needs;

(11) non-salable life estate
or remainder interest;

(12) heir property;
(13) HUD community
development block grants.

(e) Verification
(1) Unless questionable, the
value of the family's
reserve shall be verified by
the specified relative's
statement

.

(2) If the family's resources
equal or e.xcced two thousand
tv.'O hundred dollars
($2,200.00) or the specified
relative's statement is
questionable, resources
shall be verified according
to 10 NCAC 49B .0307.

(3) If additional
verification is required,
the application may pend
beyond 48 hours

.

.0302 INCOME
(a) E.xcept for verification,

income rules stated in 10 NCAC
49B .0308 shall control for
Emergency .Assistance.
(b) Verification

( 1 ) The county department of
social services shall use
any resources available at
the county department to
verify income of the family.
These resources may include
but are not limited to other
public assistance case
records of the family,
income listings such as the
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state Data Exchange, Bendox,
or Uncmployincnt Insurance
which is available both on
paper listing and on-line in
the State's Eligibility
Information System.

(2) If records are
unavailable at the county
department of social
services for verifying
income, county departments
of social services shall
accept the specified
relative's written statement
as to the amount of the
family's income. unless
questionable

.

(3) If the specified
relative's statement is
questionable, the county
department of social
services shall be required
to verify income according
to the rules in 10 NCAC 49B
.0308(g)

.

(4) If additional
verification is required,
the application may pend
beyond 48 liours .

SECTION .0400 SERVICES

.0401 SERVICES PROVIDED
Tlie county shall provide

the follovjing services to help
meet needs attributable to the
emergency

:

(1) information regarding
community services available;

(2) referral to otlicr agencies
where appropriate, including
referral to tlie local Child
Support Enforcement Agency;

(3) Otlier services as stated
in the county's Social
Services Plan.

SECTION .0500 - GENERAL
EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

PROCEDURES

.0501 PROCEDURES
The following general

pi'ocedures shall be applicable
to the Emergency Assistance
Program

:

(1) Notice and hearings rules
stated in 10 NCAC 24A .0600
shall control for Emergency
Assistance .

(2) Confidentiality rules
stated in 10 NCAC 24B sliall
control for Emergency
Assistance

.

(3) Rules regarding lost,
stolen and forged checks
stated in 10 NCAC 49B .0605
shall control for Emergency
Assistance

.

(4) Ovcrpavmcnt rules stated
in 10 NCAC 49B .0606 shall
control for Emergency
Assistance

.

(5) Client fraud rules

stated in 10 NCAC 49B .0608
shall control for Emergency
Assistance

.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Department of Human
Resources intends to repeal
regulations cited as 10 NCAC 43J
.0101; .0102; .0301; .0302;
.0303.

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory
143B-10.

Authority

:

The public hearing
conducted at 9:00
October 16, 1986 at
Floor Conference Room,
Building, 325 N.
Street, Raleigh, N.C.

G.S.

will be
a.m. on
the 4th

Albemarle
Salisbury

Comment Procedures : Any
interested person may present
his/her comments either in
writing tliree days prior to or
at the hearing or orally at the
hearing for a maximum of ten
minutes. Any person may request
information by wx'iting or
calling Victoria Voiglit, Office
of Legislative and Legal
Affairs, 325 N. Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, N.C.
919-733-6920.

CHAPTER 43 - SERVICES PROGRAM
PLAN

SUBCHAPTER 43J - MINIMUM SERVICE
LEVELS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

.0101 PURPOSE (REPEALED)

.0102 APPLICABILITY (REPEALED)

SECTION .0300 - IN-HOME SERVICES

.0301 SERVICES (REPEALED)

.0302 MINIMUM LEVEL
REQUIREMENTS (REPEALED)

.0303 COMPLIANCE (REPEALED)

TITLE 15 - NATURAL RESOURCES AND
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Environmental
Management Commission intends to
amend regulation cited as 15
NCAC 2B .031 1 .

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.
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statutory
143-214. 1

.

Authority

:

G.S.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 7:00 p.m. on
October 22, 1936 at King
Auditorium. King Hall.
University of North Carolina
Wilmington. 601 Soutli College
Road, Wilmington, NC
28403-3297.

Comment Procedures: All persons
interested in this matter are
invited to attend. Comments,
statements, data, and other
information may be submitted in
writing prior to, during, or
within thirty days after the
hearing or may be presented
orally at the hearing. Oral
statements may be limited to 5
minutes at the discretion of the
hearing officer. For further
information or the submission of
written comments, contact Bill
Kreutzbergcr , DEM, P.O. Box
27687, Raleigh, NC 27611, (919)
733-5083.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2B - SURFACE WATER
STANDARDS: MONITORING

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF
STREAM CLASSIFICATIONS

.0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN
(b) The Cape Fear River Basin

Schedule of Classification and
V^ater Quality Standards was
amended effective:

(1

)

March 1

,

1977;
(2) December 13, 1979;
(3) December 14, 1980;
(4) August 9,. 1981;
(5) April 1

.

1982;
(6) December 1, 1983;
(7) January 11, 1985;
(8) August 1

,

1985;
(9) December 1. 1985;

(10) February 1, 1986;
(11 ) January 1 , 1987:
(12) April 1 , 1987.

(Editor's Note:
(b)(n) of this
published in the
Register, Volume
pages 339-340.
effective date

Notice for
Paragraph was
North Carolina
1 . Issue 5 on
The proposed

for (b)(11) is
January 1 , 1987. )

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the NR&CD intends to amend
regulations cited as 15 NCAC 8B
.0303; 8D .0004; 8C .0002; and
adopt 15 NCAC 8D .0006.

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory Authoritv: G.S.
90A-37; 90A-39; 90A-40; 90A-41;
and 93B-8.

Tlie public licaring will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
October 31. 1986 at Council
Cliamber, Municipal Building, 300
V/ost V.'asliington Street,
Greensboro, N. C.

Comment Procedures: All persons
interested in this matter are
invited to attend. Comments,
statements, data, and other
information may be submitted in
writing prior to. during. or
within 30 days after the hearing
or may be presented orally at
the hearing. Oral statements
may be limited to five minutes
at the discretion of the hearing
officer. For futhcr information
or the submission of written
comments, contact Jackie Wall.
DEM, P. 0. Bo.x 27687, Raleigh,
N. C. 27611. (919) 733-5083.

CHAPTER 8 - WASTEVJATER TREATMENT
PLANT OPERATORS

SUBCHAPTER 8B -CERTIFICATION OF
OPERj\TORS

SECTION .0300 CERTIFICATION BY
EXAMINATION

.0303 EXAMINATION RESULTS
AND ISSUANCE OF
CERTIFICATES

(a) Within as short a period
as feasible, after an
examination, tlie examinee will
bo informed, in writing only, by
the commission or its authorized
representatives as to tlie
results of his examination. If
a passing score is made. such
notification constitutes
certification by the commission
that the applicant is a
qualified operator in the
appropriate grade. After each
examination. a list of those
certified shall be drav'jn up and
made a part of tlie permanent
records of the commission.
Copies of these lists will be
provided eacli commission member
tnrd offic ial approval o^
c e r t i-f ic at i o n vjill trcr made by
trlrc c-OTTrm i s s ion trt it-s regula r ly'
tacltirdt i

l

ed meet ings . Upon
completion of the lettering, the
qualifying applicant will be
issued a certificate designating
his level of competency.

SUBCHAPTER 8C - CLASSIFICATION
OF WASTEWATER TREATMENT

FACILITIES
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.0002 RATING SCALE FOR
CLASSIFICATION OF FACILITIES

(5) SECONDARY TREATMENT UNITS
(a) Carbonaceous Stage

(vi) Stabilization
Lagoons 5
wdrtlt o ut l et t-o stream

SUBCHAPTER 8D - POWERS
ENFORCEMENT

AND

,0004 REVOCATION OF
CERTIFICATION

irraT' revoke t+te
t ion o-f ?rrt op erator

"ix "xs xound t lint tnc
opc-r ator has prac t ic e d fraud err

tkrcept ion ; -tlrrrt re asonabl e care ,

'^pttu"cjxn7tcTrfc~r OTT t^To cipplricat ion orf

Jrirs know l e dge err aJ?il it y was not
uaed -irt Hrc pr e foi iiiaiic e trf his
thrbietrr trr -HTa^ t-he operato r -is
-inc oinpe t en t trr unabl e txr

prop erly p erforn Irirs dut ie s

.

Prior to the commission ta king
action on a proposed revocation,
tlio operator shall he given a n
opportunity to submit a v;ritton
stateTTicnt and present an o ral
argument before tl\e commiss ion
at a regu l arly s c h e d u led
meeting. Notic e o f th e meeti ng
s h a 1 1 h e d el ive rc d pc r n o iiajJ. j,^;

o

r

by certified m.nj I at le ast 1 5
d^ny.s ;:) r 1 o r to t ! i e ^meej^i ncL^
(b) Notice of revocation sliall

operator
certified
prior to
effective

del ivcred to
personally or

mail at least 20
t aking cTC

date of revocation

the
by

days
n the

Tlic notice shall contain the
alleged facts or conduct upon
which the revocation is based
and shall inform the operator of
the opportunity to contest the
action. The procedures to be
follov;od shall be as specified
in 15 NCAC 8A . 0302.

.0006 RECERTIFICATION
FOLLOWING REVOCATION

Ca) After revocation has been
effective for a period of not
less than 270 days, a person may
apply in writing for
reccrt if icat ion by the
commission, including in his
petition any relevant facts
concerning changes to conditions
under which revocation occured.
Such facts sliould show clearly
that applicant v;ill comply witli
the lav;s and requlations.
(b) Within 120 days following

receipt of an application for
rocertificat ion , the commission
will notify the applicant by
letter of its decision to deny
or grant examination eligibility
in accordance witli procedures
set out at subsection 8B .0102

herein. Additional eligibility
requirements including a sliow
cause conference may be imposed
by the commission as it dooms
appropriate. Eligibility will
only bo granted if there is
substantial evidence that the
conditions leading to the
revocation have been corrected.
(c) Recert if icat ion of a

person as a wastevjatcr treatment
plant operator shall only occur
by means of application and
examination. The examinations
will not be waived. The
applicant shall meet the
eligibility requirements set
forth in Section BE .0200
beginning with BE .0201 except
that applicant shall not be
eligible for BE .0206.
Operational experience prior to
revocation will not apply as
eligibility for future
recert if ication . Applicant
sliall not be eligible for
temporary certification under
Section BB .0404.
(d) Upon notification of the

commission's decision to deny
eligibility, the applicant may
appeal tlie decision pursuant to
the procedures contained in NCOS
150B-23.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150E-12
that the VJildlife Resources
Commission intends to amend
regulations cited as 15 NCAC 1 0F
.0503(a) and .0322.

The proposed effective date of
this action is March 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S. 75A-3;
and 75A-15.

The public hearing will be
conducted at 9:00 a.m. on
October 20, 1986 at Room 386,
Archdale Building, 512 North
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North
Carolina

.

Comment Procedures : Interested
persons may present their views
citlier orally or in v/riting at
the hearing. In addition, the
record of the hearing will be
open for receipt of v;ritten
comments from October 21, 1986,
to 5:00 p.m. on November 21,
1986. Such written comments
must be delivered or mailed to
tlie Wildlife Resources
Com.mission, Archdale Building,
512 N. Salisbury Street,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611.

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND
WATER SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER
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SAFETY REGULATIONS

.0303 BEAUFORT COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This

Rule applies to the following
waters in Beaufort County:

(3) that portion of Blounts
Creek beginning 100 yards
below the Old Crist Landing
and extending upstream to
C ot to n ratc h Landing; tlio NC
53 bridge;

(5) the navigable portion of
Nevils Crock extending
upstream from its mouth at
the Pamlico River.

(b) Speed Limit. It is
unlawful to operate a vessel at
greater than no-wake speed in
the regulated areas described in
paragraph (a) of this Rule.

.0322 UNION COUNTY
(a) Regulated Area. This Rule

applies only to Hrat- p o rt ion rrf

Cane Creek Lake which lies
within the territorial limits of
Union County.
(b) Speed Limit Near Ramps. No

person shall operate a vessel at
greater than no-wake speed
within 50 yards of any public
boat launching ramp on t+rc
v.

'at c r s trf Can e Creek Lake -in

Union C ounty

.

or within 5
yards of the boat rnmp at the
Family Camping Area located on
the regulated area der^cribed in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Speed Limit in Congested

Area. No person shall operate a
vessel at greater than no-v;ake
speed v>ithin 75 yards of the
narrow neck that connects the
upper and lovjer portions of Cane
Creel; Lal'e .

( c ) ( d

J

Restricted Swimming
Areas. No person operating or
responsible for the operation of
a vessel shall permit it to
enter any marked public swimming
area established with the
approval of the E.xecutive
Director, or his representative.
on the v.

' abcr'^ trf Cane C r e ek Lalcc
xrt Union C ount y

.

regulated area
described in paragraph (a) of
this Rule

.

TITLE 21 LICENSING BOARDS

Notice is hereby given in
accordance v;ith G.S. 150B-12
that the Dental Examiners
intends to amend regulation
cited as 21 NCAC 1 6M .0001.

The proposed effective date of
this action is February 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority; G.S,
90-39.

90-28;

The public hearing will be
conducted at 1 :00 p.m. on
October 25, 1986 at 3325
E.xecutive Drive, Raleigh, N. C.,
at the Offices of the Board.

Comment Procedures : Persons
wishing to present oral data,
views or arguments on a proposed
rule may file a notice with tlic
board at least ten days prior to
the proposed hearing. Any
person may also file a written
submission containing data,
comments or arguments at any
time within ten days after the
hearing

.

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF DENTAL
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 1 6M FEES PAYABLE

.0001 DENTISTS
TiTC fo ll owin g fee s shall irs

payable tro the- Nor t h Carolina
S-ttrt-e B o ard trf B cntal E.-'iamincrs .

-H-)- Appl ic a t ion ftrr General
D e nt is t ry E.xamir.at ion . 075 . 00

( 2 ) Appl ic at ion -ftrr

Instruc t or

'

s Licens e and
E?:jmin ctt ion 050 . O O

( 3 ) 6-cneral D ent is^tr y and
Ins t ructro r ' s License
Rcmrtrr.l 040.00

(. A ) Appl icat ion for
Pr ovisional Li c ensure —
G e ne ral Dent is-bx-T,' 050 .00

( 5 ) Applicat ion ftrr Int ern
Pe rmit trr rcnevyal
thereof 050 .00

(G ) Cert ificat e trf li c ense tro

ti residen t d e n t igt d-e siring
3 change t~o an ot he r -st-at-c xrr

terri t ory no chg
( 7 ) Li c ensu re upo n clinic al

c.xariina t Lxm (r£ pr act it ion e r
trf wntrth-cT st at e ^^7-5 .

( ) Reins t at ement- trf a li c ense
t-o re sume p r a c tic e 050.00

From time to time, the board
wi ll establi s h a s c liedule of
of fees for license application
and renev.'al, as authorized by
G.S. 90-59. A schedule of
current fees m a y be obtained
from the Board's office.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance v;ith G.S. 150B-12
that the Board of Medical
E.xaminers intends to amend
regulations cited as 21 NCAC 32B
.0101 : and .0201

.

The proposed effective date of
this action is January 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
and 90-13.

90-9

The public hearing will be
conducted at 10:00 a.m. on
October 15, 1986 in the
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auditorium of N.C. Medical
Society, 222 N. Person St.,
Raleigh, N.C.

Comment Procedures = Persons
interested may present v;rittcn
or oral statements relevant to
the actions proposed at a
hearing to be held as indicated
above. Written statements not
presented at the hearing should
be directed before October 1 ,

1986, to the following address:
Administrative Procedures, N.C.
Board of Medical Examiners,
Suite 214, 222 N. Person St.,
Raleigh, N.C. 27601

.

CHAPTER 32 - BOARD OF MEDICAL
EXAMINERS

SUBCHAPTER 32B - LICENSE TO
PRACTICE MEDICINE

SECTION .0100 - LICENSE BY
WRITTEN EXAMINATION

.0101 MEDICAL EDUCATION
In order to be eligible for N.

C. vjritten examination, FLEX
(Federation Licensing
Examination), a pliysician
applicant must:

( 1

)

be a graduate of a medical
school approved by either:

(a) LCME (Liaison Commission
on Medical Education), or

(b) AOA (American Osteopathic
Association); or

(2) if graduated from a
medical school not approved
by LCME or AOA, the applicant
must

:

(a) take the North Carolina
v;ritten examination, FLEX,
and

(b) furnish proof of
satisfactory completion of
three years of graduate
medical education and
training approved l^v the
board (see Rule .0113);

_( 3 ) if graduated fro m a medi c al
scliool no t a 15 n r o \' o r. h_y_ the
LCME or AOA, and .if cl inical
clerkships are taken in the
U.S.A. , th c applicant mus t :

(a) furn is h evidence that he
has satis factorilv compl eted
clinical clerl:ships at
toachinq hospitals in the
U.S.A. with ACGilE
(Accredit ation Council for
Graduate Medical Edneat ion )

or AOA- approved qraduate
modical ed!icat ion and
tra ininq proqrams in the
areas of tlie specific
clerkship s ;

not(b) if clerkships do
meet tl>c .T b o V c r c cui ircmon t

,

dof icionc ies mnv be romo died
as follov) s :

die a(i) rc- apply to me 1

school so that the shool
may arranqo for the
appl icant
approved

to complete
cl inical

c lerkships as requires, or
(ii) apply for admission to
advanced standinq at a
medical school approved by
the LCME or AOA to repeat
one year of clinical
c lerkship

.

No applicant graduated from a
medical school which has been
disapproved by tlic boai-d shall
be eligible for examination or
licensure in North Carolina.
Burden of proof of medical
education is on the applicant.

SECTION .0200 - LICENSE BY
ENDORSEMENT

EDUCATION
eligible for
endorsement of
a physician

.0201 MEDICAL
In order to be

license by
credentials

,

applicant must:
( 1 ) be a graduate of a medical
school approved by either:

(a) LCME (Liaison Commission
on Medical Education), or

(b) AOA (American
Osteopathic Association); or

(2) if graduated from a
medical school not approved
by LCME or AOA, the applicant
must :

(a) take the North Carolina
v^;ritten e.xaminat ion, FLEX,
and

(b) furnish proof of
satisfactory completion of
three years of graduate
medical education and
training appi'oved by the
board (see Rule .0113);

(3) if graduated from a
medical school not approved
by the LCME or AOA and if
clinical clerkships are taken

the applicant
mu st :

( a ) furnish evidence that he
ha s satisfactorily completed
cl inical clerkships at
teaching hospitals in the
U.S.A. with ACGME
( Accreditation Council for
Graduate Medical Education)
or AOA-approvcd graduate
mod ical education and
tr a ining proqrams in the

of the specific
cle vlcships ;

(b) if cJerkships do not
meet the above requirement,
defici encies may be remedied
as follows

:

(i) re-apply to medical
school so tliat the school

for themay a r rancto
appl ica n

t

to^

a pp r_oy <? d cl in i c a 1
clcrlcship.s as required, or

complete
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(ii) applv for adImission to
advanced standinq at a
mod ical school aipprovod bv
the LOME or AOA to rcp<3at
one vear of c 1 inical
clerkship

.

No applicant graduated from a
medical school which has been
disapproved by the board sliall
be eligible for examination or
licensure in North Carolina.
Burden of proof of medical
education is on the applicant.

Notice is hereby given in
accordance with G.S. 150B-12
that the Real Estate Commission
intends to amend regulations
cited as 21 NCAC 58A .0101(b);
.1005(a)(3); .1104(a); .1105(a)
and (b); . 1 203 ( a ) ( 1) - ( 4 )

;

.1205(a); .1306(b)(1) and (2);

.1314(d); .1318(a); 21 NCAC 58B

.0101; .0102; .0103(a);

.0104(c); .0201(b); .0202(a) and
adopt 21 NCAC 58B .0105.

The proposed effective date of
this action is April 1, 1987.

Statutory Authority: G.S.
93A-3(c); 93A-4(c) and (d);
93A-33; 93A-44; 93A-51;
93A-52(a) and (d); 150B-11.

SECTION .1000 - SCHOOLS

.1005 WITHDRAWAL: DENIAL OR
SUSPENSION OF APPROVAL

(a) The commission nay deny,
withdraw or suspend approval of
any school, r eprimand the
school . or place t l\o school on
pro b ation upon finding that:

( 1 ) such school has refused
or failed to comply witli any
of the provisions of
Sections .1000, .1100 or
.1200 of this Subchapter; or

(2) any school official or
instructor has obtained or
used, or attempted to obtain
or use, in any manner or
form, North Carolina real
estate licensing examination
questions ; or

(3) such school has a
salesman

or broker licensing
examination performance
record for any annual xrc
scni

—

arinual reporting period
which is substantially belov;
the performance record of
all first-time examination
candidates

.

SECTION .1100 - REAL ESTATE
PRE-LICENSING COURSES

The public hearing will be
conducted at 9:00 a.m. on
October 17, 1986 at Offices of
the North Carolina Real Estate
Commission, 1200 Navaho Drive,
Raleigh, North Carolina.

Comment Procedures: Comments
regarding the proposed rules may
be made orally or submitted in
writing at the public liearing.
Written comments not submitted
at the hearing should be
directed so as to be delivered
no later tlian November 20. 1986,
to the North Carolina Real
Estate Commission, P.O. Bo.x
17100,
27619.

Raleigh, North Carolina

CHAPTER 58 REAL ESTATE

SUBCHAPTER 58A - REAL ESTATE
BROKERS AND SALESMEN

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL
BROKERAGE

.0101 DISPLAY OF LICENSE
(b) The annual license renewal

sticker pocket card issued by
the board to each broker,

or brokerage
shall be nf f i.r M- d
the licensee iro irirs

upon re c eipt as evidence of
licensure

.

salesman

,

corporation
retained by
rcrai trsbzrte

.1104 COURSE CONTENT
(a) All courses shall consist

of instruction in the subject
area and at the competency and
instructional levels prescribed
in the commission's syllabi.

.1105 COURSE COMPLETION
STANDARDS

(a) Schools must establish and
enforce academic standards for
course completion which
reasonably assure that students
receiving a passing grade
possess adequate Icnov/ledgc and
understanding of the subject
areas prescribed for the course.
A student ' s grade must be based
solely on li i

s

or her per formrmce
on c::aminat ions and qrrided
homei-;orl<: or c lassv.rork
assignments

.

No credit may be
awarded to student for
attendance cl ass
participation

.

In any course
for which college o r CEU credit
irs m ay be avjarded , the passing
grade for such course must be
the same as that grade which is
considered passing tindcT th^
^ cliool ' s uniform grading -sytrtcm-r
for th o purpose of awarding
college or CEU credit.
(b) Course completion

requirements must include
passing a comprclicnsive final
course examination wliicli covers
all subject areas prescribed by
the commission for sucli course.
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and which measures student
competence in accordance with
the competency and instructional
levels prescribed in the
commission's course syllabus,
a nd which acco untf; for at l ea ^_t

f i ft y pe rcent of a stvi don t ' s

transactions witliin the

grade for the course

.

Final
cou rr.e examinations are subjec t
to review and approval by the
commission

.

Tnke-hono
final courseopen-book

oxr'minat ions a r e prohi bited.
Schools may allow a student to
make up n any missed course
examination or to retake a any
failed cour se examination in
accordance with policies adopted
by the school; however, no such
make-up or repeated examination
may include more than
t\.'onty-five percent of the
questions vjhich appeared on tlie
orig inal- missed or failed
examination. t-crftcn by -Htc
st udent

.

Schools may not allow
a student to retake a failed
examination more than trw-ircrc once
unless the student first repeats
the course .

SECTION .1200 - CERTIFICATION
OF REAL ESTATE INSTRUCTORS

. 1203 CRITERIA FOR
CERTIFICATION

(a) The commission shall
certify an applicant to teach
the courses listed in tliis
Paragraph upon finding that the
applicant is recommend by a
licensed/approved school, has
submitted all information
required by the commission, is
possessed of good character and
reputation, and possesses the
qualifact ions described in this
Paragraph for each course

:

(1) Fundamentals of Real
Estate: A current North
Carolina salesman or broker
license, a rrtrrimtm of 9^ 1 20
classz'oom liours of real
estate education excluding
company or franchise
in-service sales training,
pr o gi -.n^s-r and a m inimum of
two years full-time general
real estate brokerage
experience vjithin the patrt
previous five years

.

(2) Real Estate Law: Cit l
'

icr
A license to practice law in
North Carolina or a c u ri

c

ut
No r th Caro lina broker
1 iccriic- a m-ii-nrmtrm of thr ee
yea r s full tniiiTO general real
os-ba-to b ro JC 'i r agc c .

-cperi cTrc-e

vrirth-in t-ho pcrrrt- frtTfo yoar-s-r
ant:! sttb^t-arriHrai cdu c at ion rrn
icai estate iar; top-ios trbovc
tlto ptt::—3ritrcn-s-irrg Ircvoi-r
an d experien c e in closing at
least ton real estate sales

previous three years.
(3) Real Estate Finance:

Eitl^cr one year full-time
experience within the past
five previous t hree years as
a moi'tgage loan officer
special izing in first
mortqane loans, or two years
full-time experience within
the p ai, t frtvc previous three
years as a general loan
officer with an institution
wliich de al s im makes a
substantial number of first
mortgage loans, or a current
North Carolina broker
license, and a minimum of
throe five years full-time
general real estate
brokerage experience vjitljin
the pa-s+ f4"re previous seven
years . and subst ant ial
cducat ion in real est at e
•f inance topi c s above t+re
p-re

—

lic ensing l evel .

(4) Real Estate Brokerage
Operations: A current North
Carolina broker license, 1 20
classroom l\ours of real
estate education excluding
company or franchise
in-service sales trai ninq
and minimum of throe years
full-time general real
estate brokerage experience
with the pas-t previou s five
years including at least one
year as broker-owner,
designated broker-in-charge
or managing broker of a
mu lti-agent real estate or
office

.

.1205 DENIAL: REVOCATION:
SUSPENSION OF INSTRUCTOR
CERTIFICATION

(a) The board may deny, revoke
or suspend the certification of
any instructor, or re p rimand the
instructor

,

upon finding that:
( 1 ) The instructor fails to
meet the criteria for
certification provided by
tliosc regulations; or

(2) The instructor has failed
to comply with board
regulations regarding real
estate courses or scliools;
or

(3) The instructor's
employment lias been
terminated by any school
approved by tlie board on the
grounds of incompetence or
failure to comply with
institutional policies and
procedures; or

(4) The instructor provided
false information to the
board wlien making
application for
certification; or

(5) Tlie instructor's real
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estate broker/salcman
license has been revoked or
suspended; or

(6) The instructor has
obtained or used, or
attempted to obtain or use,
in any manner or form. North
Carolina real estate
licensing examination
questions; or

(7) The instructor htrs failed
•bo xrmploy acccp t ab-lt;

in st ruct ional principles tnid
met hods is unv7ortliv or
incompe:tent to act as an
instruc!tor in a manner that
servos the interests of the
puhl ic

,

SECTION ,1300 - PRIVATE REAL
ESTATE SCHOOLS

.1306 ADMINISTRATION
(b) The school director must

be possessed of good character
and reputation and must satisfy
one of the following
qualifications standards:

(1) hold a baccalaureate or
higher degree in the field
of education; or

(2) have at least two y
full-time experience
the past ten years
instructor or
administrator; or

(3) possess qualifications
which arc found by tlic Board
to bo substantially
equivalent to those
described in Subparagraph
(1) or C2) of this
Paragraph

.

.1314 ADVERTISING AND
RECRUITMENT ACTIVITIES

(d) Schools shall not use
endoresements or recommendations
of any person or organization,
by way of advertising or
otherwise, unless such person or
organization has consented in
writing to the use of the
endorsement or recommendation
and is not compensated for such
use. A copy of the vjritten
consent sliall be retained on
file by tlio school for thr-cc
five years

.

.1318 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION
OR DENIAL OF LICENSE

(a) The commission may
suspend, revoke, deny issuance,
or deny renewal of a license to
operate a private real estate
scliool , o r may reprimand the
license holder, or may place tlie
sc hool on probation . upon
finding tliat the applicant for
or holder of such license, or
any instructor or other employee
of the ovjner or holder of such
license

;

( 1

)

has refuses or failed to
comply with any of tlie
provisions of Article 3,
Cliapter 93A of the General
Statutes or the rules or
regulations promulgated
thereunder

;

(2) has knowingly preseiited
to the commission false or
misleading information
relating to matters within
the purview of the
commission uiider Article 3,
Chapter 93A of the General
Statutes or the rules and
regulations promulgated
thereunder

;

(3) has presented to its
students or prospective
students false or misleading
information relating to itr;

instructional program, to
the instructional program of
other schools, to the
licensing examination
performance of its students,
or to employment
opportunities;

(4) has failed to comply with
the provisions of any
contract or agreement
entered into vjith a student;

(5) has at any time refused
to permit autliorized
representatives of the
commission to inspect the
school . or failed to mak.e
available to tlicm upon
request full information
relating to matters witliin
tlie purview of the
commission under tlic
provisions of Article 3,
Cliaptor 93A of the General
Statutes or the rules or
regulations promulgated
thereunder

;

(6) has obtained or used, or
attempted to obtain or use,
in any manner or form. North
Carolina
licensing
questions

;

(7) or any
corporate

real estate
e.xaminat ion

officer of a
licensee or

corporation applying for a
license, or any partner of a
partnersliip licensee or
partnersliip applying for a
license, has pleaded quilty,
entered a plea of nolo
contendere or been found
guilty of a crime involving
moral turpitude in any state
or federal court

;

(8) or the school has a
salesman or brolcer licensing
e.xaminat ion performance
record for any annual trr

;;cr.i i annual reporting period
which is substantially below
the performance record of
all first -time e.xaminat ion
candidates

.
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SUBCHAPTER 58B - TIME SHARES

SECTION .0100 - TIME SHARE
REGISTRATION

.0101 APPLICATION FOR
REGISTRATION

Every ap plicatio n for t-iims

sl 'iar >L- pro ject rcgisti .at ion sliall
trc filed atr tl 'ic c-onnriission
office upon a foTmi prescribed try

tfn; commission anti shall c ontain
irrfo rmat ion concerning t^rc
developer ^ s r igirt t^ use tlie
re al prop erty on whi c h t-irc

projec t irs loc ated , in c luding a
t it le op inion provid er} by an
ind ep ende n t a-btor ney p e rfor m Lrd

w ith in ou day :s pr e c c d'^tng tlic
da-te of applicat ion , a
description of t+re impr o vement s
and am enit i e s locat ed at- -the
proj e c t , incl u d ing a descrip t ion
of trlre t ype and nui iibey of t-irte

s^'iare uni t s

,

a desc r ipt i on o-f

tire t ime share e st at e ±ro ire sold
t^ purchasers

,

mformat ion
conce r i-rang' tho developc-r and tire
markct-ing and nanngi"ig entities
and t^TC-irr relationsl -iip txr trho
developer > information
cone er nii'tg any cr immal
c on-

i
- ic t i ons

,

tn ipaid c ivil
judgments , banlcr upt c les and
adminis tr a t ive dd- s c i p 1 inar-y
ac t ions against t-ht? d c\'clopCT-r
the mar Icet ing and manag ing
ent it ies , or their princ ipals or
officers -in t+rirs or any ot her
st at e oT principalit y

,

t-me
cop ie s of aii d oc umen ts
reiyuired , and sucli add it i ona 1
in-fo-nTrat-ion required under G . G .

Ca) Every application for time
share project re g istration shall
be filed at the ccrimission' s
offices upon
bv the conmission

.

form prcfscr ibcd
Every ;^uch

a pnlication slia l l contain or
have appended t lioroto :

(1 ) informat ioTi c onco rninq
tlie developer's title o r
right to the real

Torty vjhich the
p r o i o c t .1 ocatc d

.

including a title opinion
provided bv nn indep endent
attorney performed within 30
days preceding the date of
application

;

(2) information concerning
owners of time sliaros at the
project other than the
developer

;

(3) a description of th e
improvement n and amenities
locate d at t) i e p '- oject,
includ in g a descrip t ion of

time share estate to be sold
or conveyed to purchasers;

(5) information concerning
the developer and his
f inancia l ability to develop
the project, the m a rketing
a nd managing entities and
tlie ir relationship to tlie
developer

;

(6) information concerning
any criminal convictions,
unpaid civil
bankruptc ies

judgment;
and

adm inistrat ive penalties or
d isciplinary actions against
t h

e

developer , the
market ing
entities

,

managing
their

principals or officers in
this or any other state or
principal ity

;

(7) copies of all documents
to be distributed to time
sliare purchasers at the
point of sale or immediately
thereafter ; and

(8) such information as may
be roguired bv G.S. 93A-52

.

(b) Every application for time
share registration shall be
submitted to the commission in
the following format

:

( 1 ) Doc ii ments s ha ll be
r ecurely bound and fastened
between firm covers
a

p

pro xim atelv nine inches by
1 5 1 n cite s i n s ize .

(2) Ihe firr^t document in
e ach filing shall bo the
application form wholly and
accu rately completed.

(3) Each filing shall contain
a table of contents, listing
e ach document by title in
the order roguired by the
anplication form.
document shall

Each
boar

notation indicating v;hether
it is to be distributed to
purchasers or is submitted
for commission examination
only .

(4) Each document shall be
t ablie d
I'ight

and labeled on the
side . Each label

sh all identify the document
by title an d nun l^e r as
roguired by the application
form .

(c) In accordance v?ith G.S.
93A-52, an application for time
share registration shall be
consi dorcd to be properly
completed v;hen it is v/holly and
accurately filled out and when
all roguired documents are
appended to it and app e ar to be

compl ian ce with the
provisions of the Time Sliare Act
and the Condominitim Act or Unit

tlie nu mber an d and type of Ownership Act.
t ime s liare vm it s ;

( '^ ) a description of the .0102 REGISTRATION FEE
Every application foi' time
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share project registration must
be accompanied by a certified
check made payable to the North
Carolina Real Estate Commission
in the amount of one thousand
five hundred dollars (01 . 000 . 00 )

($1.50 0.001. Applications for
registration not accompanied by
the appropriate fee sliall not be
considered by the commission.
In the event a properly
completed application filed v;ith
the commission is denied for any
reason. tlie amount of tvjo
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00)
shall be retained by tlio
commission from tlie application
fee and tlie balance refunded to
the applicant developer.

.0103 RENEK.AL OF TIME SHARE
PROJECT REGISTRATION

(a) Every developer desiring
the renewal of a tine share
project registration shall apply
for the same in writing upon a
form prescribed by the
commission during the month of
June next preceding the
expiration of the certificate of
registration of the project

.

Every such renewal application
shall be accompanied by a
certified check made payable to
the N'ortli Carolina Real Estate
Commission in the amount of
sc-vcTt l

":u :'id r j d fif t y d o llars
(0750 .0 6^ one thousand dollars
($1 . OOP . 00)

.

To renew the tine
share project registration, the
properly completetd renev;al
application accompanied by the
prescribed fee must be received
at the commission's office prior

amendment submitted shall be

to the exoirat ion of the
certificate of registration.

(c

pro

•Hto

.0104 AMENDMENTS TO TIME
SHARE PROJECT
REGISTR.ATION

AirreTrd-rrrrt-s t-a the t-rrrtj sliar e
ec t rcgiat i at i o n trr. all btr

upon ^ "IXTTTT p r c s ci" ib c d iry

c or iiaii^ si o ii . C\ ui y jmc'irdT'.crnt
rd^crnt i-fy titc -sect i on of^

p r o j ect r c g i 3 1 r a b i o n "bo b-cr

dc"d trrtid -s-Irrril: con t ain n
ill' y 0"f tlie ar'iendju'w'jit trrrd tr

-f bid L '_M ! n.'

]i t crf t+rc 1
'

v-: .!ibons

dm i^'i
'

i t s l
-.all include e it her

t-errt trf thg project
ati Ji L ion section ±ro Ire

xyT' tt copy t!rf ttrc
+-a irs m o dified .

Amendients to tine share

T'OT
amor

project req istrations shall be
submitted in the form of
substitute paa'"!s for material
previouslv filed with the
commission

.

New or chanaed
informat ion shall he
con'^nicnousl V indicated bv
unnerl ininq in red ink. Everv

accompanied bv a cover letter
si-Tiied bv the d'""-clopor or his
attorne" contnininq a sn^.rarV of
tiio amend", ent . a statement of
re.isons for v.-hich the anendment
has been made. and further
indicat inq :

( 1 ) the name and address of
the project and its
r oqistr at ion number;

(2) the name and address of
tlie do\'eloper

:

(5) the document or documents
to wh ich tlic amend mont
a EJliJ- o ? i.

(4) v.'hcthcr or not the
chanqes reprcr^entcd bv the
a-.endment reauired the
assent of the tire share
o'.-.'ners and if so . hov; the
assent of the time share
ov.'ners '•as prop erlv
obtaine

(5) the
d : and
recordinq reference

in th c office of the
reqiste r of deeds for the
chanqes if apolicaljle .

Doveloners of multinlo nrojects
must submit separate pmendments
and cover letters for each
project for v.'hicji amendments are
submitted

.

.0105 NOTICE OF TERMIN.ATION
(a) a developer of a registered

time share project vliich, for
any reason. terminates its
interest, rights, ownership or
control of the project or any
significant part thereof shall
im.mediately notify the
commission in writing on a form
prescribed by the commission for
that purpose. Notice of
termination to the commission
shall include
termination,
therefor, the

the date of
the reasons
identity of the

developer's successor, if any,
and a report on the status of
time share sales to purchasers
on the date of termination.
(b) Upon receipt of a properly

executed notice of termination
of the developer's interest in a
timiO share project. the

shall enter
cancellat ion

in the file of
shall notify
cancellation

.

failure to
termination

herein shall
cancellation of

com.miss ion
notation of
registration
project , and
developer of
developer '

s

notice of
provided
prevent
project's registration
G.S. 93A-52.

a
of

the
the

A
give

as
not
the

under

SECTION .0200 - PUBLIC OFFERING
STATEMENT

.0201 GENERAL PROVISIONS
(b) In addition to tlie
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information required to be
contained in a public offering
statement by G.S. 93A-44, every
public offering statement shall
disclose to the purcliascr of a
time sliaro complete and accurate
information concerning: the
Jtvrriiab-ilrit-y of -tlTC pun:hns c r ' s
triTT.c t: h.'i r c

;

tHtxr r-cco rdat i on o-f

tire ins t rument co rii/ey ing tire

purchaser ' ^ t^inrc i^harc

;

t-ht;

availability erf e a cli amenity mt-d
rccrcat iond facility ; trrrd t^rcr

CTvCnangc' of tlic purci'iascr s time
share

:

( 1

)

the real property type of
the tine share procrram an d a
descr iption of the estate
the purcha se r v;i l ]. ov;n , the
term of tli a t estate and t ho
remain der interest , if any

,

once the term has expired;
(2) the doc iimont creating the

t ime rlmre pi'ogra Hj a
statement that it the
document vjliich croverns the
p roctram and a
t!ie location

I'efere ncc
viliore

to
the

purcliaser may obtain or
examine . copy of the
document

;

(3) vjhotlior or not th e
property is beinc; convert cd
to time -hare from some
other u? and IS so ,

stat em.ent to tl i at e ffe ct and
di sclosure of tlie prior use
of tiio imnrovenr'nt s :

(4) the

v.'ill ovjn eac h
the project

ofmaximum n timber
t ime shares j n tli o project
and each i^ecreat ion al and
ot her commonly u so d facility
p_fferedj_ and who or I'hat

if
bo

f

n

oil ity

.

is to
c omplete
pha se

;

15) tlic complete

in one construction

plTase d offering
the maximum

Ian of
,:

inc lvidinq
number of time

shar es wliicli may be in th c
rec re at i onal

used
project . each
and other common ly
facility, who or what v.'i 3 1
ov/n each fac i lity, an d tlie
devel opers
reg PT-'d jng
bui 1 d out t il

o

(6)

rep resent at ions
his conmitm^nt to

the
project

:

a s s o c T a t j on o f owne rs
o r__pth o r entity vih iclT wil 1
ultimately be rer.ponsibl c
for mana gin g the t ime s liare
pro gram, tlie first date o r
e\-o nt v;hon th e entit y will
convene
conduct
whether and
deveJ oner

.

commence to
Jy_s_ijiesi
fp.r"
as

and
how long the
tine share

ovjner

,

vjill control the
entity

;

(7) the location where owner s
may in spect the articles and
bylaws of the
association , other

organizational documents of
t lie entity an d the boolcs and
records it produces;

v;hether tlie en t ity has
time1 i e n rig lits again s t_

s h are ov.in e rs fo r failure to
I?ay^a s s e s s

m

ent s ;

(9) vdiether or not the
developer has entered into a

onmanagement
behalf of

contract
the managing

entity, the extent to v;hic h
the managing entities powers
are delegated to the manager
and the location where a
copy of the management
contract may be examined;

(10) vjhether or not the
devel oi^er wiJLl pay
asses sments for time
which it o';ns

shares
and

statement that the amount of
assessments due the managing
entity from owners will
clia n ge time .

circumstances may change;
and

(11) whet her or not the
developer sponsors or will
spon sor a r ent al or re s ale
program.. and if
summary of the program or
programs

.

.0202 PUBLIC OFFERING
STATEMENT SUMMARY

(a) Every public offering
statement shall contain a one
page cover prescribed by the
commission and completed by the
developer entitled Public
Offering Statement Summary. The
Public Offering Statement
Summary shall read as follows:

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT
SUMMARY

NAME OF PROJECT :

M>BRE5S eP PROJECT

NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER
OF SALESMAN :

Tliis Public Offering Statement
contains information which
deserves your careful study, Ttrer

pnb l

i

c Offering St atement
trontains answer s t-o ttrc
fxrll-ov?ing tittctrtixrrrs w li iclt should
b-c trf part icular import anc e ttj

you .

fiBFORE ¥90 Si&i ANY eeNTi^A€T
KlfieH e&fcieATE-S you to PtfROHASE

VHTT nu u ntfA T-i-ME SifARE-r
e-OivSTD&H^

( 1 ) HhirTt will my "t-inrc sliare
ire tnrailabl c t-o r ie? ( italic )

t;oo public Offer ing
G t a t emeri t page

-(-2^- Whtrt wTii bo my tot al
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cos't f incl udmy rry in i"t lal
p er i odic -fccg nrrt}

c i 'ianyc'-j? ( i t j1 ic ) -s-c-c

mny chttngTr t I
'

l c .'.; g
tirrd Itow-?- -fdlr al i c )

sroc PuiT-i-i-c 6-ffTn*i;ng
S+efbcmcirt pjgc

( ^1 ) How vrii-i tire t imc- slu r c
pro j cc"b be nri int ainc d int i~hc
fu tur e ? ( it al ic ) s-ct: Pabirrc
orf-fer in g St r. t cment p age

( 5 ) Ktren ;vill each ancn ity
arrd r e creation facil it y
(

s

'.^imming ptro-l-r golf c our yc-r
tennis courts , etc . ) ire

avail^-falrc fxrr my uc c ?

(

i

t alic ) see Public offer ing
rrrr^e-

( G ) Hill P fcre abl c t^o

cxcliang c my t-irrrc s^i arc for n

pf so , how ? ( i t^.1 ic ) -sere

Publi c Offering Gtateincntr

page
( 7 ) Ho V? arid when will tlie

t it l e tro my -time :;lT3 r c bt?

rd^ i it J

As

sec
Offering G t atement

you decide v;hothcr or not to

public

purchase a time sharp.
The Public Offering Statcme
includes general inform a

nt
t ion

about the real estate type and
size of this time share proje ct

^

It also includes
description of t h e rccrcat
and other facilities exi s

or

ciencra l

nov;

,

future

.

to bo provided in
Offc

in 9-1

tjiruj

the
The Public

Statement v;ill tell vou
r.inq
how

maintenance and management o f
the project will bo provi d cd an

d

hovj the co st s of those service s
v; ill be charged to purc h asers .

From the Public Offering

Statement you will a l so lea rn
ho\i the project will b e governo

d

anrt
a \'o

II' ^.

CO nj"^

Init
~

in c

n±fp
this^
Pi^

Offo
Sat i

wlietlier purcha s e r s v; i 11 have
ic e in that government

.

Pulillc Offerin g Statement
a2Jl-s i mji^oj_t p n t inform ajti on^
3 s not a SI i_l Ks 1" it ut e fo v t h e
lie d jiif ornr^t j o n c on'! a i n c

d

on b I'

a

ct o f llin'.cliase anr l th e
1 d ocumonts wliich cre ate a nd
ct the t ime share program at
project

ase stud\'- this Public
ring Statenent carefully.
sfy yourself that

guest ions may ha '^

my

ansvjered before you decide to
pure
otlic

base If salesman or

developer
representative of the

has made
rep resentat ion wh ich

_

you
r e n r
that

c oncerns
cannot find thatan d you

esei it at j on _

it be pointed out to vou,
writing, ask

NOTICE

UNDER NORTH CAROLINA LAW, YOU
MAY CANCEL YOUR TIME SHARE
PURCHASE WITHOUT PENALTY WITHIN
FIVE DAYS AFTER SIGNING YOUR
CONTRACT. TO CANCEL YOUR TIME
SHARE PURCHASE, YOU MUST MAIL OR
HA'ID DELIVER WRITTEN NOTICE OF
YOUR DESIRE TO CANCEL YOUR
PURCHASE TO NAME AND ADDRESS OF
PROJECT. IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAIL
YOUR CANCELLATION NOTICE, THE
NORT H CARO LINA REAL ESTATE
UOMMISSIUN RECOMMENDS THAT YOU
USE REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL
AND THAT YOU RETAIN YOUR POSTAL
RECEIPT AS PROOF OF THE DATE
YOUR NOTICE V.'AS MAILED. UPON
CANCELLATION, ALL PAYMENTS WILL
BE REFUNDED TO YOU.

March +^64

407 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



FINAL RULES

When the text of any adopted
rule differs from the text of
that rule as proposed f the text
of the adopted rule is published
in this section.

VJhen the text of any adopted
rule is identical to the text of
that as proposed, adoption of
tlie rule will be noted in tlie
"List of Rules Affected" and the
text of the adopted rule will
not be republished.

Adopted rules filed by the
Departments of Correction,
Revenue and Transportation are
published in this section.
T]icsc departments are not
subject to tiie provisions of
G.S. 150B, Article 2 requiring
publication of proposed rules.

TITLE 15 NR&CD

SUBCHAPTER 7H - STATE
GUIDELINES FOR AREAS

OF ENVIRONIIENTAL CONCERN

SECTION .0200 - THE
ESTUARINE SYSTEM

.0208 USE STANDARDS

(b)
(5)

(E) To protect vjater
quality of shellf isliing
areas, marinas sliall not
be located v/ithin areas
whore shellfish harvesting
for hu.Tian consumption is a
significant existing use
or adjacent to such areas
if shollfisli harvest
closure is anticipated to
result from the location
of the marina. In
compliance v;ith Section
101(a)(2) of the Clean
Water Act and North
Carolina l.'ater Quality
Standards adopted pursuant
to that section, sliellfish
harvesting is a
significant e.xisting use
if it can lie establisliod
tliat slicllfish have been
rccnilarly liarvcsted for
liuinan con.sump t ion since
November 28, 1975 or that
sliellfish apparently are
propagating and surviving
in a biologically suitable
hal^itat and are available
and suitable for
harvesting for tlie purpose
of human consumption. The
Division of Marine
Fisheries shall be
consulted regarding the

significance of shellfish
harvest as an existing use
and the magnitude of tlie

quantities of shellfisli
which liave been liarvested
or are available for
harvest in the area where
harvest will be affected
by the development

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-107(b); 113A-113(b);
Eff. September 9, 1977;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1986;
June 1, 1986; December 1, 1985;
March 1 , 1985.

SECTION 0300 - OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS

.0304 AECs WITHIN OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS

(1 )

(a) a distance landward
from the first line of
stable natural vegetation to
the recession line that
would be established by
multiplying the long-term
annual erosion rate times
60, provided that, where
there has been no long-term
erosion or the rate is less
tlian two feet per year, this
distance shall be set at 120
feet landward from the first
line of stable natural
vegetation. For the
purposes of tliis Rule, tlie
erosion rates sliall bo those
set fortli in tallies entitled
"Long Term Annual Erosion
Rates Updated Through 1980"
or "Long Term Annual Erosion
Rates Updated Tlirough 1985
(Currituck County) approved
by the Coastal Resources
Commission on March 18, 1983
and July 25, 1986 (except as
such rates may be varied in
individual contested cases,
declaratory or interpretive
rulings). The tables are
available without cost from
any local permit officer or
the Division of Coastal
Management ; and

(4) Unvegetated Beach Area.
This is a dynamic area that
is subject to rapid
unpredictable landform change
from wind and wave action.
The areas in this category
shall bo designated following
detailed studies by the
Coastal Resources Commission.
Tlicse areas shall be
designated on maps approved
by the Commission and
available witliout cost from
any local permit officer or
the Division of Coastal
Management

.

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 408



History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 113A-107;
1 13A-1 13;
Eff. September 9. 1977;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1986.

.0305 GENERAL INDENTIFICATION
AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS
(g) Measurement line means

the line from v/hich the
occanfront setback as described
in .0305(a) of tliis Subchapter
is measured in the unvcgctatcd
beach area of environmental
concern as described in
.0304(a)(4) of this Subcliapter

.

Procedures for determining the
measurement line shall be
adopted by the Commission for
eacli area whore such a line is
designated. These procedures
shall be available from any
local permit officer or the
Division of Coastal Management.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 113A-107;
1 13A-1 13(b)(6)

;

Eff. September 9. 1977;
Amended Eff. September 1, 1985;
December 1, 1985;
February 2, 1981

;

August 15, 1979.

.0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

(a)
(1) If neither a primary nor

frontal dune exists in the
AEC on or behind tlio lot on
v;hich the development is
proposed, the development
shall be landward of the
erosion setback line. The
erosion setback line sliall
be set at a distance of 30
times the long-term annual
erosion rate from the first
line of stable natural
vegetation or measurement
line, wliore applicable. In
areas where tlie rate is less
than 2 feet per year, the
setback lino shall be 60
feet from tlie vegetation
line or measurement line,
where applicable.

(2) If a primary dune e.xists
in tlie AEC on or behind tlic
lot on which the development
is proposed, the development
sl'.all be landward of the
crest of tlic primary dune or
tlic long-toi'n erosion
sctl)ack lino, v;hichc\'cr is
farthest fi-om the first line
of stable natural vegetation
or measurement line, v.'hcre
applicable. For existing
lots, liov.-cver, where setting
tlie development behind the
crest of tlic priinary dune
would preclude any practical
use of tlie lot, developinent
may be located seaward of
the primary dune . In such
cases, the development shall
be located behind the
long-term erosion setback
lino and sliall not be
located on or in front of a
frontal dune . The words
"existing lots" in tliis Rule
shall moan a lot or tract of
land which, as of Juno 1 ,

1979, is specifically
described in a recorded plat
and v;hich cannot be enlarged
by combining the lot or
tract of land vjith a
contiguous lot(s) or
tract (s) of land under the
same ownership.

(3) If no primary dune
exists, but a frontal dune
docs exist in the AEC on or
behind the lot on wliich the
development is proposed, the
development sliall be set
behind tlic frontal dune or
beliind tlie long-term erosion
setback line, whichever is
fartlicst from tlie first line
of stable natural vegetation
or measurement line, where
appl icablo

.

History Note: Statutory
Authority G.S. 113A-107;
1 13A-1 13(b)(6)

;

Eff. September 9, 1977;
Amended Eff. September 1

December 1 , 1985;
September 1, 1985;
November 1, 1983.

1986;
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NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED

EDITION X, NO. 6

AGENCY

AGRICULTURE

EFFECTIVE: September 1, 1986

ACTION TAKEN

2 NCAC 9L .1102- .1103 Amended
.1 108- .1110 Adopted

COMMERCE
4 NCAC 7 .0507

.0507
Temp . Amended
Amended

16A .0004 Amended
16C .0501- .0503 Adopted

CORRECTIONS
5 NCAC 2C .0202- .0203 Amended

HUMAN RESOURCES
10 ;;cAC 3D .01 15

.0701
Amended
Amended

3M .0101- .0104 Amended
.0105- .0105 Adopted
.0201- .0203 Amended
.0204- .0206 Adopted
.0301- .0302 Repealed
.0304 Repealed
.0401- .0402 Repealed
.0501 Amended
.0502 Repealed

18A .0123- .0135 Adopted
41H .0104

.0201

.0301

Repealed
Amended
Amended

.0302- .0303 Repealed

.0304 Amended

.0305- .0312 Repealed

.0405 Amended
42D . 1502 Amended
44D .0108 Amended

LABOR
13 NCAC 7C .0101- .0102 Amended

13 .0202-
.0205
.0213

.0203 Amended
Amended
Amended

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELO
.0112

PMENT
1 5 NCAC 2H Amended

.0125 Adopted
6A .0009 Adopted

SECRETARY OF STATE
18 NCAC 7 .0101

.0103

.0201

.0203

.0206

Amended
Amended
Amended
Repealed
Amended

.0301- .0303 Adopted

TRANSPORTATION
1 9A NCAC 2E .0802 Amended

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
21 NCAC 8G .0112

.0203
Adopted
Amended

32A .0010 Adopted
32F .0003 Amended
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OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
26 NCAC 2A .0207 Amended

3 .0002 Amended
.0007 Amended
.0011 Amended
.0022 A.mendcd
.0026 Amended
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TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

TITLE

1

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
n
12
13
U'A
15
16
17
18
19A
20

X21
22
23
24
25
26

NOTE:

DEPARTMENT

Administ
Agricult
Auditor

,

Commerce
Correct

i

Council
Cultural
Election
Governor
Hunan Re
Iiisuranc
Justice

,

Labor, D
Crime Co
Natural
Educat io
Revenue

,

Socretar
Transpor
Treasure
Occupat

i

Administ
Comnunit
Indcpond
Personne
Office o

ration, Department of
ure , Department of
Department of State
Department of

ons , Department of
of State
Resources, Department

s. State Board of

sources, Department of
c . Department of
Department of
epartmcut of
ntrol , Department of
Resources and Community Development
n. Department of
Department of

y of State
tation. Department of

, Department of State
onal Licensing Boards
ro.tive Procedures
y Colleges, Department of
cnt Agencies
1 , Department of State
f Administrative Hearings

-->

4
6
8

10
12
14
16
18
20
21
22
26
28
30
31
32
53
34
36
37
38
40
42
44
46
48
50
52
53
54
56
58
00
62
64

Title 21 contains the chapters of the various
occupational licensing boards.

LICENSING BOARD

Architecture, Board of
Auctioneers, Commission for
Barber Examiners, Board of
Certified Public Accountant Examiners
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of
Contractors, Licensing Board for
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of
Dental Examiners , Board of
Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners
Foresters, Board of Registration for
Geologists, Board of
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board
Laiidscape Architects, Licensing Board of
Lan(ir;cape Contractors, Registration Board of
Law Examiners, Board of
Martial ?; Family Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of
Midwifery Joint Committee
Mortuai-y Science, Board of
Nursing. Board of
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of
Occupational Therapist, Board of
Opticians, Board of
Optometry, Board of Examiners in
Osteopathic Examination and Registration
Pharmacy. Board of
Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of
Podiatry Examijiers, Board of
Practicing Counselors, Board of
Practicing Psycliol ogists , Board of
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Real Estate Commission
Refrigeration Examiners. Board of
Sanitarian Examiners, Board of
Sijcech and Language Patliologist s and

Audiologists , Board of Examiners of
Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULATIVE INDEX
CApril 1, 1986 - March 31, 1987)

1986

Pages Isriic

1-73 April
74-97 May
98 - 132 Juno

133 - 222 July
223 - 379 August
380 - 415 September

AO - Administrative Order
C - Correction
E - Errata
EO - Executive Order
FDL - Final Decision Letters
FR - Final Rule
GS - General Statute
JO - Judicial Order
LRA - List of Rules Affected
M - Miscellaneous
PR - Proposed Rule
SO - Statements of Organization
TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
Office of Marine Affairs, 382 PR

ADMINISTPJi.TIVE ORDERS
Beecher Reynolds Gray, 47 AO
Fred Gilbert Morrison, Jr., 48 AO
Angela Rebecca Bryant, 49 AO
Thomas R. West , 50 AO
Abraliam Penn Jones, 98 AO
Administrative Law Judges, 248 AO

AGRICULTURE
Dcpt . of Agriculture, 250 SO
Food and Drug Protection Division, 99 PR, 255 PR
Plant Industry, 256 PR

COMMERCE
Milk Commission, 74 PR, 135 PR, 260 PR
Savings and Loan, 78 PR

COMMUNITY COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 210 PR

CORRECTION
Division of Prisons, 213 FR . 347 FR

CULTURAL RESOURCES
Archives and History, 78 PR
Battleship Commission, 388 PR
Roanoke Voyages & Eliz. II, 261 PR

EXECUTIVE ORDERS
Executive Orders 1-25, 23 EO

26. 247 EO

FINAL DECISION LETTERS
Voxing Rights Act, 249 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES
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Chapter 7A, 21 GS , 2-^4 GS
Chapter 150B, 3 GS, 226 GS, 380 C
Chapter 1028. 223 GS

HUMAN RESOURCES
Child Day Care, 281 PR
Cliildren Services, 103 PR
Facility Services, 270 PR
Food Assistance, 103 PR
Health Services, 169 PR, 388 PR
Individual and Family Support, 103 PR
Medical Assistance, 181 PR, 389 PR
Medical Services, 101 PR
Mental Health Retardation
and Substance Abuse, 80 PR, 298 PR, 350 FR, 380 C

Social Services, 390 PR
Youth Services, 85 PR, 309 PR

INSURANCE
Agency Services, 313 PR
Engineering & Building, 321 PR

JUDICIAL ORDERS
Appointment
Robert A. Melott, 45 JO

JUSTICE
Education and Training Standards, 322 PR
Police and Information Network, 107 PR
Sheriff's Education, 332 PR

LABOR
Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 86 PR, 189PR, 338 PR

LICENSING BOARD
C P A Examiners, 112 PR, 133 SO
Dental Examiners, 399 PR
Medical Examiners, 92 PR, 399 PR
Occupational Tlierapy, 206 PR
Pharmacy, 208 PR
Plumbing and Heating Contractors, 116 PR
Real Estate Com.Tiission , 401 PR
Veterinary Medical Board, 341 PR

LIST OF RULES AFFECTED
Volume 10, No. 1

CApril 1, 1986), 71 LRA
Volume 10, No.

2

(May 1 , 1986) , 94 LRA
Volume 10, No .

3

(Juno 1 , 1936), 127 LRA
Volume 10, ^'o . 4
(July 1 , 1986), 217 LRA

Volume 10, No .

5

(August 1, 1986), 374 LRA
Volume 10, No .

6

(September 1, 1986), 410 LRA

MISCELLANEOUS
Federal Rule Amendment, 381 M

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Natural Resources & Community Development, 133 SO

,

Coastal Management, 112 FR, 40 1 FR
Departmental Rules. 109 PR, 118 FR
Einploymental and Training, 111 PR
Environmental Management, 88 PR, 190 PR, 339 PR, 396 PR
Forest Resources, 126 FR
Marine Fisheries, 191 PR
Soil and Water, 90 PR
V.'astcwatcr Treatment, 397 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 110 PR, 205 PR, 340 PR, 398 PR

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
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Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO
General, 52 PR, 345 PR
Hearings Division, 61 PR, 345 PR, 369 FR
Rules Division, 52 PR, 367 FR

REVENUE
Corporate Income Tax, 350 FR
Individual Income Tax, 351 FR
Intangible Tax, 366 FR
Sales & Use Tax, 363 FR

SECRETARY OF STATE
Notary Public, 91 PR, 367 FR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 343 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Agriculture, 250 SO
CPA Examiners, 133 SO
Natural Resources and Community Development, 133 SO
Office of Administrative Hearings, 51 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Department of Transportation, 213 FR, 367 FR
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ORDER FORM

Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($95.00/year subscription)

Please enter my subscription for the NCAC in microfiche form starting with the edition.

(Published in March and October: $40.00 per edition)

Renew North Carolina Register D Renew NCAC

Check Enclosed D Please bill me

ase make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings
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Office of Administrative Hearings
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