Note from the Codifier: The OAH website includes notices and the text of proposed temporary rules as required by G.S. 150B-21.1(a1). Prior to the agency adopting the temporary rule, the agency must hold a public hearing no less than five days after the rule and notice have been published and must accept comments for at least 15 business days. For questions, you may contact the Office of Administrative Hearings at 984-236-1850 or email oah.postmaster@oah.nc.gov.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(a3) that the Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0202.

Codifier of Rules received for publication the following notice and proposed temporary rule(s) on: April 22, 2024.

Public Hearing:

Date: May 1, 2024 Time: 10:00 a.m. Location: Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88181017570?pwd=Rm9Mdnp1OTJoZUFoQXdNRldTbTZuUT09

Reason for Proposed Temporary Action: The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress, cite: HB 600, effective date: December 1, 2023. The North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board is submitting these temorary rules to align with what is required in the statute changes, as outline in HB 600, to implement the provisions of act. The statute directs the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board is.

Comment Procedures: Comments from the public shall be directed to: Caitlin Schwab-Falzone, 701 Exposition Place, Ste 206, Raleigh, NC 27615. The comment period begins May 3, 2024 and ends May 24, 2024.

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING

21 NCAC 25.0202 THE APPLICATION PACKAGE AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE

(a) An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board:

- (1) A completed, signed, and dated application in the format provided by the Board;
- (2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant, made within two years of the date of application;
- (3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency;
- (4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check;
- (5) One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts necessary to cover the cost of all necessary local, State and federal criminal record checks; and
- (6) A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section.

(b) An applicant for an initial license under S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56, shall submit the following materials to the Board:

- (1) Written verification that the applicant was actively engaged as an interpreter or transliterator in this State for at least 200 hours for each of the two years immediately preceding 31 October 2002. The written verification must be signed by the individual who paid or approved payment for the services or the individual who supervised the applicant when the services were rendered;
- (2) Letters of recommendation from any two individuals who are:
 - (A) Interpreters who hold valid National Association of the Deaf level 4 or 5 certifications; or
 - (B) Interpreters who are nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc.; or
 - (C) Transliterators who have national certifications recognized by the National Cued Speech Association ("NCSA"); or
 - (D) Interpreters who hold quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System ("NCICS") level A or B classifications in effect on January 1, 2000; or
 - (E) Consumers of interpreter or transliterator services who have observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator; or
 - (F) The parent or legal guardian of a deaf consumer of interpreter or transliterator services who has observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator.

(c) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:

- (1) <u>Is 18 years of age or older.</u>
- (2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board.
- (3) Meets one of the following criteria:
 - (A) Is nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., (RID).

- (B) <u>Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) national certification in cued</u> <u>language transliteration.</u>
- (C) Holds a current Cued Language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 3 or above classification.
- (D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Advanced or above.
- (E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary certificate level IV or above.

(d) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:

- (1) Is 18 years of age or older.
- (2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board.
- (3) Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board. These unites must be completed for each renewable year.
- (4) Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from an accredited institution and satisfies one the following:
 (A) Holds a quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System (NCICS) level C classification.
 - (B) Holds a valid National Association of the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 certification.
 - (C) Holds a current Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) level 3.5 or above classification.
 - (D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Basic.
 - (E) <u>A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary certificate level III.</u>

(e) Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), is 18 years of age or older, and is of good moral character as determined by the Board, the Board may also issue a provisional license to any of the following categories of persons seeking a one-time provisional license:

- (1) <u>A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops, including role and function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the date of application in the provision of interpreting services.</u>
- (2) An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops related to oral interpreting.
- (3) A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification.
- (4) <u>A person providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from another state in the field of interpreting or transliterating.</u>
- (5) An interpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of interpreting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for the two years immediately preceding the date of the application. An applicant must provide documentation of hours when applying for a provisional license under this category, subject to verification by the Board.

(f) Paragraphs (c)-(e) of this Rule applies to licenses and provisional licenses issued or renewed by the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board on or after October 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-8; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56 and S.L. 2023-137.