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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.






GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice a month and contains the following information submitted for publication by a state agency:
(1)	temporary rules;
(2)	text of proposed rules;
(3)	text of permanent rules approved by the Rules Review Commission;
(4)	emergency rules
(5)	Executive Orders of the Governor;
(6)	final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney General concerning changes in laws affecting voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by G.S. 120-30.9H; and
(7)	other information the Codifier of Rules determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina Register is not included.  The last day of the period so computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday, in which event the period runs until the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday.


FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for employees mandated by the State Personnel Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be published on the day of that month after the first or fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.


NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is published or until the date of any public hearings held on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month by the last day of the next month.
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	IN ADDITION
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2.
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Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0211.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices­hearings

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2022

Public Hearing:
Date:  October 28, 2021
Time:  6:00 p.m.
Location:  
This public hearing can be joined starting at 5:45 pm via WebEx link: 
https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=ebd820084710fd3ddd0e554a1b4476d4f
Event number: 161 161 1806
Event password: MPm6Jub8Y8k
Audio conference number: +1-415-655-0003
Audio conference access code: 161 161 1806

To register for the hearing and provide your preference regarding speaking at the hearing, please visit: 
https://forms.office.com/g/6Tr81DQgwL
Or scan the following QR code with your phone:
[image: Qr code

Description automatically generated]

Registration must be completed by 12:00 pm on October 28, 2021. If you have any problems registering online, please call 919-707-9011 by the registration deadline of 12:00 pm on October 28, 2021. 
The Division of Water Resources highly recommends testing your computer's WebEx capabilities prior to the hearing at https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html. For instructions about digital ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the WebEx Help Center online at https://help.webex.com/en-us/. 

To comment during the hearing after your name is called as a registered speaker and/or after the hearing officer asks if any people wish to comment following the registered speakers:
- If you join the hearing by phone, press *3 to “raise your hand,” speak once called upon to do so, and press *3 again to “lower your hand.” 
- If you join the hearing online, press the hand icon to “raise your hand,” speak once called upon to do so, and press the hand icon again to "lower your hand."
- The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may speak, so that all those who wish to speak may do so.

Reason for Proposed Action:  
The Environmental Management Commission (EMC) will conduct a public hearing to consider proposed amendments to rule 15A NCAC 02B .0211 - Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters.

The purpose of these proposed amendments is to establish a site-specific chlorophyll-a water quality standard for High Rock Lake that has been developed in accordance with the North Carolina Nutrient Criteria Development Plan (NCDP). The NCDP is a formal agreement between North Carolina and the United States Environmental Protection Agency with the goal of establishing appropriate, scientifically defensible, surface water quality standards for nutrient criteria. This site-specific chlorophyll-a standard will replace the existing chlorophyll-a standard for High Rock Lake. The existing chlorophyll-a standard will continue to apply to all other fresh surface waters in North Carolina.

The rule being proposed for amendment is 15A NCAC 02B .0211- Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters. The Proposed changes include:
•	The addition of Sub-Item (4)(a) to include language for site-specific numeric and narrative standards for chlorophyll-a in the High Rock Lake Reservoir, and
•	The addition of language in the introductory sentence of Item (4), to direct attention to the site-specific standards for the High Rock Lake Reservoir that comprise Sub-Item (4)(a)

Comments may be submitted to:  Christopher Ventaloro, NC DEQ-DWR Planning Section, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611; 
email 2B_HRL_PHComments_2021@ncdenr.gov

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
[bookmark: Check23]|X|	No fiscal note required

Chapter 02 - Environmental Management

SUBCHAPTER 02B  SURFACE WATER AND WETLAND STANDARDS

SECTION .0200  CLASSIFICATIONS AND WATER QUALITY STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO SURFACE WATERS AND WETLANDS OF NORTH CAROLINA

15a ncac 02b .0211	FRESH SURFACE WATER QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS C WATERS
In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class C waters. Additional standards applicable to other freshwater classifications are specified in Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0218, .0219, .0223, .0224, .0225, and .0231 of this Section.
(1)	The best usage of waters shall be aquatic life propagation, survival, and maintenance of biological integrity (including fishing and fish); wildlife; secondary contact recreation as defined in Rule .0202 of this Section; agriculture; and any other usage except for primary contact recreation or as a source of water supply for drinking, culinary, and food processing purposes. All freshwaters shall be classified to protect these uses at a minimum.
(2)	The conditions of waters shall be such that waters are suitable for all best uses specified in this Rule. Sources of water pollution that preclude any of these uses on either a shortterm or longterm basis shall be deemed to violate a water quality standard;
(3)	Chlorine, total residual: 17 ug/l;
(4)	Chlorophyll a (corrected): except as specified in Sub-Item (a) of this Item, not greater than 40 ug/l for lakes, reservoirs, and other waters subject to growths of macroscopic or microscopic vegetation not designated as trout waters, and not greater than 15 ug/l for lakes, reservoirs, and other waters subject to growths of macroscopic or microscopic vegetation designated as trout waters (not applicable to lakes or reservoirs less than 10 acres in surface area). The Commission or its designee may prohibit or limit any discharge of waste into surface waters if the surface waters experience or the discharge would result in growths of microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such that the standards established pursuant to this Rule would be violated or the intended best usage of the waters would be impaired;
(a)	Site-specific High Rock Lake Reservoir [Index Numbers 12-(108.5), 12-(114), 12-117-(1), 12-117-(3), 12-118.5, and the uppermost portion of 12-(124.5) to the dam of High Rock Lake] Chlorophyll a (corrected): not greater than a growing season geometric mean of 35 ug/L in the photic zone based on samples collected in a minimum of five different months during the growing season. For the purpose of this Sub-Item, the growing season is April 1 through October 31 and the photic zone is represented by a composite sample taken from the water surface down to twice the measured Secchi depth. Chlorophyll a shall not occur in amounts that result in an adverse impact as defined in 15A NCAC 02H .1002.
(5)	Cyanide, total: 5.0 ug/l;
(6)	Dissolved oxygen: not less than 6.0 mg/l for trout waters; for nontrout waters, not less than a daily average of 5.0 mg/l with an instantaneous value of not less than 4.0 mg/l; swamp waters, lake coves, or backwaters, and lake bottom waters may have lower values if caused by natural conditions;
(7)	Fecal coliform: shall not exceed a geometric mean of 200/100ml (MF count) based upon at least five samples taken over a 30-day period, nor exceed 400/100ml in more than 20 percent of the samples examined during such period. Violations of this Item are expected during rainfall events and may be caused by uncontrollable nonpoint source pollution. All coliform concentrations shall be analyzed using the membrane filter technique. If high turbidity or other conditions would cause the membrane filter technique to produce inaccurate data, the most probable number (MPN) 5-tube multiple dilution method shall be used.
(8)	Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge deposits: only such amounts attributable to sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as shall not make the water unsafe or unsuitable for aquatic life and wildlife or impair the waters for any designated uses;
(9)	Fluoride: 1.8 mg/l;
(10)	Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 percent of saturation;
(11)	Metals:
(a)	With the exception of mercury and selenium, acute and chronic freshwater aquatic life standards for metals shall be based upon measurement of the dissolved fraction of the metal. Mercury and selenium water quality standards shall be based upon measurement of the total recoverable metal;
(b)	With the exception of mercury and selenium, aquatic life standards for metals listed in this Sub-Item shall apply as a function of the pollutant's water effect ratio (WER). The WER shall be assigned a value equal to one unless any person demonstrates to the Division's satisfaction in a permit proceeding that another value is developed in accordance with the "Water Quality Standards Handbook: Second Edition" published by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA-823-B-12-002), which is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and can be obtained free of charge at http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/standards/handbook/. Alternative site-specific standards may also be developed when any person submits values that demonstrate to the Commission that they were derived in accordance with the "Water Quality Standards Handbook: Second Edition, Recalculation Procedure or the Resident Species Procedure", which is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and can be obtained free of charge at http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/standards/handbook/.
(c)	Freshwater metals standards that are not hardness-dependent shall be as follows:
(i)	Arsenic, dissolved, acute: WER∙ 340 ug/l;
(ii)	Arsenic, dissolved, chronic: WER∙ 150 ug/l;
(iii)	Beryllium, dissolved, acute: WER∙ 65 ug/l;
(iv)	Beryllium, dissolved, chronic: WER∙ 6.5 ug/l;
(v)	Chromium VI, dissolved, acute: WER∙ 16 ug/l;
(vi)	Chromium VI, dissolved, chronic: WER∙ 11 ug/l;
(vii)	Mercury, total recoverable, chronic: 0.012 ug/l;
(viii)	Selenium, total recoverable, chronic: 5 ug/l;
(ix)	Silver, dissolved, chronic: WER∙ 0.06 ug/l;
(d)	Hardness-dependent freshwater metals standards shall be derived using the equations specified in Table A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals. If the actual instream hardness (expressed as CaCO3 or Ca+Mg) is less than 400 mg/l, standards shall be calculated based upon the actual instream hardness. If the instream hardness is greater than 400 mg/l, the maximum applicable hardness shall be 400 mg/l.


Table A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals
Numeric standards calculated at 25 mg/l hardness are listed below for illustrative purposes. The Water Effects Ratio (WER) is equal to one unless determined otherwise under Sub-Item (11)(b) of this Rule.


	Metal
	Equations for Hardness-Dependent Freshwater Metals (ug/l)
	Standard at 25 mg/l hardness (ug/l)

	Cadmium, Acute
	WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151 [ln hardness]-3.1485}]
	0.82

	Cadmium, Acute,
Trout waters
	WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151[ln hardness]-3.6236}]
	0.51

	Cadmium, Chronic 
	WER∙ [{1.101672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.7998[ln hardness]-4.4451}]
	0.15

	Chromium III, Acute
	WER∙ [0.316 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+3.7256}]
	180

	Chromium III, Chronic
	WER∙ [0.860 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+0.6848}]

	24


	Copper, Acute
	WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.9422[ln hardness]-1.700}]
Or,
Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 Revision
(EPA-822-R-07-001)

	3.6

NA

	Copper, Chronic
	WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.8545[ln hardness]-1.702}]
Or,
Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 Revision
(EPA-822-R-07-001)
	2.7

NA

	Lead,
Acute
	WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-1.460}] 
	14

	Lead, Chronic
	WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-4.705}] 
	0.54

	Nickel, Acute
	WER∙ [0.998 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+2.255}]
	140

	Nickel, Chronic
	WER∙ [0.997 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+0.0584}]
	16

	Silver, Acute
	WER∙ [0.85 ∙ e^{1.72[ln hardness]-6.59}]
	0.30

	Zinc, Acute
	WER∙ [0.978 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}]
	36

	Zinc, Chronic
	WER∙ [0.986 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}] 
	36




(e)	Compliance with acute instream metals standards shall only be evaluated using an average of two or more samples collected within one hour. Compliance with chronic instream metals standards shall only be evaluated using an average of a minimum of four samples taken on consecutive days or as a 96-hour average;
(12)	Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other wastes: only such amounts as shall not render the waters injurious to public health, secondary recreation, or to aquatic life and wildlife, or adversely affect the palatability of fish, aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any designated uses. For the purpose of implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other wastes shall include substances that cause a film or sheen upon or discoloration of the surface of the water or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 110.3(a)-(b), incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. This material is available, free of charge, at: http://www.ecfr.gov/;
(13)	Pesticides:
(a)	Aldrin: 0.002 ug/l;
(b)	Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l;
(c)	DDT: 0.001 ug/l;
(d)	Demeton: 0.1 ug/l;
(e)	Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l;
(f)	Endosulfan: 0.05 ug/l;
(g)	Endrin: 0.002 ug/l;
(h)	Guthion: 0.01 ug/l;
(i)	Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l;
(j)	Lindane: 0.01 ug/l;
(k)	Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l;
(l)	Mirex: 0.001 ug/l;
(m)	Parathion: 0.013 ug/l; and
(n)	Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l;
(14)	pH: shall be between 6.0 and 9.0 except that swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it is the result of natural conditions;
(15)	Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall not result in fishflesh tainting or impairment of other best usage;
(16)	Polychlorinated biphenyls (total of all PCBs and congeners identified): 0.001 ug/l;
(17)	Radioactive substances, based on at least one sample collected per quarter:
(a)	Combined radium226 and radium228: the average annual activity level for combined radium226 and radium228 shall not exceed five picoCuries per liter;
(b)	Alpha Emitters: the average annual gross alpha particle activity (including radium226, but excluding radon and uranium) shall not exceed 15 picoCuries per liter;
(c)	Beta Emitters: the average annual activity level for strontium90 shall not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, nor shall the average annual gross beta particle activity (excluding potassium40 and other naturally occurring radionuclides) exceed 50 picoCuries per liter, nor shall the average annual activity level for tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per liter;
(18)	Temperature: not to exceed 2.8 degrees C (5.04 degrees F) above the natural water temperature, and in no case to exceed 29 degrees C (84.2 degrees F) for mountain and upper piedmont waters and 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) for lower piedmont and coastal plain Waters; the temperature for trout waters shall not be increased by more than 0.5 degrees C (0.9 degrees F) due to the discharge of heated liquids, but in no case to exceed 20 degrees C (68 degrees F);
(19)	Toluene: 0.36 ug/l in trout classified waters or 11 ug/l in all other waters;
(20)	Trialkyltin compounds: 0.07 ug/l expressed as tributyltin;
(21)	Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water shall not exceed 50 Nephelometric Turbidity Units (NTU) in streams not designated as trout waters and 10 NTU in streams, lakes, or reservoirs designated as trout waters; for lakes and reservoirs not designated as trout waters, the turbidity shall not exceed 25 NTU; if turbidity exceeds these levels due to natural background conditions, the existing turbidity level shall not be increased. Compliance with this turbidity standard shall be deemed met when land management activities employ Best Management Practices (BMPs), as defined by Rule .0202 of this Section, recommended by the Designated Nonpoint Source Agency, as defined by Rule .0202 of this Section.
(22)	Toxic Substance Level Applicable to NPDES Permits: Chloride: 230 mg/l. If chloride is determined by the waste load allocation to be exceeded in a receiving water by a discharge under the specified 7Q10 criterion for toxic substances, the discharger shall monitor the chemical or biological effects of the discharge. Efforts shall be made by all dischargers to reduce or eliminate chloride from their effluents. Chloride shall be limited as appropriate in the NPDES permit if sufficient information exists to indicate that it may be a causative factor resulting in toxicity of the effluent.

Authority G.S. 143214.1; 143215.3(a)(1).

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0102, .0115, .0121, .0122, .0124, .0125, .0202, .0208-.0211, .0213-.0215, .0219-.0222, .0225, .0301; 10C .0201, .0212, .0213 and .0217.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022

Public Hearing:
10B Rules
Date:  September 21, 2021
Time:  2:00 p.m.
Location:  Register online here:
https://ncwildlife-org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_m1sro69HSN-nWKmpLkN0_A Join by phone toll free (669 254 5252  or 833 568 8864 ) using Webinar ID:  161 474 0305

Public Hearing:
10C Rules
Date:  September 28, 2021
Time:  2:00 p.m.
Location:  Register online here:
https://ncwildlife-org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_pnZIIZuWRVCxVWsoTAdx_A Join by phone toll free (669 254 5252  or 833 568 8864 ) using Webinar ID:  160 982 2816

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to 150B-21.3A, the agency is required to readopt 10B and 10C rules as part of the periodic review process.

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email regulations@ncwildlife.org

Comment period ends:  November 1, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10B .0102	IMPORTATION OF GRAY FOXES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0115	SHINING LIGHTS IN DEER AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15a ncac 10b .0121	wild birds defined (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0122	PROHIBITED HUNTING ON STATE FISH HATCHERIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0124	IMPORTATION OF ANIMAL PARTS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0125	RELEASE OF Mute Swans (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING

15A NCAC 10B .0202	BEAR (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0208	QUAIL (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0209	WILD TURKEY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0210	RUFFED GROUSE (NATIVE PHEASANT) (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0211	PHEASANT (NONNATIVE VARIETIES) (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0213	GROUNDHOG (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0214	WILDCAT (BOBCAT) (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0215	CROWS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0219	COYOTE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0220	NUTRIA (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0221	STRIPED SKUNK (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0222	armadillo (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10B .0225	ELK (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0300  TRAPPING

15A NCAC 10B .0301	definitions (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 10C  INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS

SECTION .0200  GENERAL REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10C .0201	IDENTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10C .0212	FISH HATCHERIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10C .0213	SNAGGING FISH (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 10C .0217	Public Access for Anglers Only (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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TITLE 10A - Department of Health and Human Services

10A NCAC 70M .0102	DEFINITIONS
(a)  For the purpose of the rules in this Subchapter, 42 USC 673, 45 CFR 1356.41, and the Multiethnic Placement Act (MEPA) of 1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996, P.L. 104-188, are applicable to both the State and public adoption agencies and are hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. These documents may be accessed at www.gpo.gov or www.congress.gov at no charge.
(b)  The following definitions shall apply to the rules in this Subchapter:
[bookmark: RuleCite](1)	"Adoption assistance agreement" means a signed written agreement that is developed by the Department ("North Carolina Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5013, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is binding upon the public adoption agency and the prospective adoptive parents of a minor child and, at a minimum, the agreement shall:
(A)	specify payments that meet the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3), and specifies the nature and amount of any payments, services, and assistance to be provided under the agreement;
(B)	stipulates that the agreement shall remain in effect regardless of the state where the adoptive parents are residents of at any given time;
(C)	require each adoptive parent to inform the public adoption agency of any circumstances that would make the parent ineligible for the payments or eligible for a different amount;
(D)	if applicable, require the adoptive parents to provide receipt of vendor payments; and
(E)	contain provisions for the protection of the interests of the child in cases where the adoptive parents and child move to another state while the agreement is in effect.
(2)	"Applicable child" means a child who meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(e). 
(3)	"Child with special needs" or "children with special needs" means a child who meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(c). The public adoption agency, or the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services for the Special Needs Adoptions Incentive Fund assistance, shall make the specified determinations for the State in 42 USC 673(c). A child shall not be returned to the home of the child's parent if there is a court order terminating parental rights, a relinquishment to a public or private child-placing agency, a consent for adoption by the parent, a finding from the court in an adoption proceeding that a parent's consent is not required, or verification of the death of a parent. For a child to meet the requirement in 42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(ii), the child must have a letter from the Social Security Administration that approves the child for Social Security Insurance benefits. For purposes of 42 USC 673(c)(1)(B) and 42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(i), the child shall present one or more of the following specific factors or conditions:
(A)	six years of age or older;
(B)	two years of age or older and a member of a minority race or ethnic group;
(C)	a member of a sibling group of three or more children who will all be placed in the same adoptive home;
(D)	a member of a sibling group of two children who will be placed in the same adoptive home and the child's sibling meets one of the factors or conditions in Parts (A), (B), (E), (F), (G), or (H) of this Paragraph;
(E)	a medically diagnosed disability that substantially limits one or more major life activities, requires professional treatment, requires assistance in self-care, or requires the purchase of special equipment;
(F)	diagnosed by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing to make the diagnosis, as having a psychiatric condition that impairs the child's mental, intellectual, or social functioning, and for which the child requires professional services;
(G)	diagnosed by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing to make the diagnosis, as having a behavioral or emotional disorder characterized by inappropriate behavior that deviates substantially from behavior appropriate to the child's age or significantly interferes with child's intellectual, social, and personal functioning; 
(H)	diagnosed by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing to make the diagnosis, as being intellectually or developmentally disabled; or
(I)	at risk, as opined by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing for one of the factors or conditions in Parts (E) through (H) of the definition in this Paragraph due to:
(i)	prenatal exposure to toxins;
(ii)	a history of abuse or serious neglect; or
(iii)	genetic history.
(4)	"Department" means the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
(5)	"Nonrecurring adoption expense" means the same as "nonrecurring adoption expenses" found in 42 USC 673(a)(6)(A). 
(6)	"Public adoption agency" means any county department of social services, consolidated human services, or regional department of social services in North Carolina that is authorized by law to place children for adoption or that provides adoption services.
(7)	"Supplemental Agreement" means a signed written agreement that is developed by the Department ("North Carolina Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Supplemental Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5212, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is binding upon the public adoption agency and the prospective adoptive parents of a minor child and at a minimum:
(A)	specifies the nature and amount of any Special Children's Adoption Incentive Fund payment; and
(B)	includes an acknowledgement by the prospective adoptive parents that the payments are not an entitlement and are limited to available funds in the Special Children's Adoption Incentive Fund.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 143B-153(2)(a); 108A-49; 42 U.S.C. 673; 
Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0201	PUBLIC adoption AGENCIES
(a)  Except for the provisions relating to an executive director, public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70H .0401 in determining the qualifications and job responsibilities for personnel.
(b)  Public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70F .0207 in the hiring of staff and use of volunteers.
(c)  The caseload size of social workers providing adoption services shall be in compliance with requirements set forth in 10A NCAC 70H .0401.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 143B153;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; September 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0301	GENERAL
Public adoption agencies shall perform the following functions:
(1)	provision of casework and other supportive services to biological parents considering adoption;
(2)	provision of casework and other supportive services to the child considered for adoption;
(3)	provision of casework and other supportive services to adoptive applicants through preplacement studies;
(4)	selection of home and placement process;
(5)	supervision after placement;
(6)	fulfillment of social and legal responsibilities;
(7)	compilation and preservation of case records;
(8)	provision of postadoption consultation services, including, coordination and referrals for educational enrollment for children seven to sixteen years of age, and for therapeutic and physical health needs;
(9)	when this Subchapter requires, determine whether eligibility requirements have been met for adoption assistance in this Subchapter that is available for children with special needs who are in custody of the public adoption agency or who have been placed by a private child-placing agency in an adoptive home within its jurisdiction;
(10)	administer adoption assistance agreements for which it entered into pursuant to this Subchapter;
(11)	notify adoptive parents of tax credits that may be available for adoptive parents;
(12)	make information available for prospective adoptive families that describes the kinds of children needing placement, the availability of adoption assistance, and procedures for referring families they are unable to serve to other child placing agencies; and
(13)	recruit potential foster and adoptive families in accordance with the Multiethnic Placement Act (MEPA) of 1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996, P.L. 104-188.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 48-2-502; 48-3-203; 48-3-204; 48-3-303; 143B153; 
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;
Amended Eff. June 1, 1990; September 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0302	SERVICES TO ADOPTIVE APPLICANTS
Public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70H .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, 0408 and .0409 in determining the procedures for the application process, preplacement assessment, notification to adoptive applicants of acceptance or denial of application, services to adoptive applicants and families, legal process, and record retention.
History Note:	Authority G.S. 143B153;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; July 17, 2000; September 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0304	Multiethnic placement act requirements for adoptive home recruitment
(a)  Public adoption agencies shall recruit potential adoptive and foster families that reflect the ethnic and racial diversity of children in the State.
(b)  Public adoption agencies shall not deny any person the opportunity to become an adoptive or a foster parent on the basis of the race, color, or national origin of the person or of the child involved.
(c)  Public adoption agencies shall not delay or deny the placement of a child for adoption or foster care, on the basis of the race, color, or national origin of the adoptive or foster parent or the child involved.
[bookmark: _Hlk43812754](d)  Public adoption agencies shall not violate provisions of the Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996, P.L. 104-188, that apply to state or local agencies.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 48-3-204; 131D-10.5; 143B-153;
Eff. October 1, 2008;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0401	standard monthly cash adoption assistance and vendor payments
(a)  Standard monthly cash assistance payments are monthly payments made based on graduated rates set by the General Assembly and reflected in the executed adoption assistance agreement. 
(b)  Vendor payments are made directly to a child's provider, which may include the adoptive parents, for medical, therapeutic, psychological, and remedial services not covered by Medicaid or another source if the requirements in this Subchapter are met.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A49; 108A50; 143B153;
Eff. July 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; September 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0402	ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR standard monthly cash assistance payments or VENDOR PAYMENTS
(a)  Adoption assistance in the form of standard monthly cash assistance payments based on graduated rates set by the General Assembly and vendor payments may be made when the child meets the following eligibility criteria:
(1)	The child was legally adopted;
(2)	The child meets at least one of the following criteria:
(A)	is not an applicable child and meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(i). The public adoption agency shall make the determination in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(i)(II) for the State. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) shall be applicable when appropriate;
(B)	shall be an applicable child and meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(ii). The public adoption agency shall make the determination in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(ii)(II) for the State. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) shall be applicable when appropriate; or
(C)	the requirements set forth in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(C); and
(3)	An applicable child is not eligible if he or she meets the conditions in 42 U.S.C. 673(a)(7)(A)(i) through (iii), unless 42 U.S.C. 673(a)(7)(B) is applicable and the public adoption agency makes the requisite determination for the State.
(b)  For vendor payments, in addition to the criteria in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the child shall also meet the following criteria:
(1)	at or prior to the issuance of the adoption decree, have a diagnosed medical, mental, or emotional condition that is documented by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing to make a diagnosis, that will require ongoing treatment or therapy of a medical or remedial nature; or
(2)	after the issuance of the adoption decree but while still under the age of 18, have been determined by the public adoption agency administering adoption assistance benefits to have a medical, mental, or emotional condition, congenital problem, birth injury, or other documented problem that is determined by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing or credentialing to have been preexisting at the time of his or her placement into an adoptive home.
(c)  The prospective adoptive parents shall meet the following criteria:
(1)	Have a child placed with them in accordance with applicable State and local laws for purposes of an adoption who meets the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule;
(2)	be legally responsible for the support of the child and is providing support to the child, if the child is under the age of 18;
(3)	enter into an adoption assistance agreement with the public adoption agency prior to issuance of the decree of adoption. The adoption assistance agreement shall identify the specific services for the child that the parents want to be covered by vendor payments;
(4)	Shall have a completed criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children as determined by the public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 43-3-309;
(5)	Shall provide the public adoption agency with the results of the criminal back history investigation;
(6)	Shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List pursuant to G.S. 7B-311 and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past five years and not be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List or any other state's child abuse and neglect central registry. The public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the results in their file; and
[bookmark: _Hlk76641808](7)	For vendor payments when the child meets the criteria in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule, shall enter into an adoption assistance agreement amendment on a form provided by the Department ("North Carolina Division of Social Services Adoption Assistance Agreement Amendment" Form DSS-5307, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that identifies and includes supporting documentation of the child's preexisting condition and allows the parents to be reimbursed for vendor services related to the child's preexisting condition.
(d)  All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent is unfit to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children as determined by the public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309.
(e)  Prior to the adoption, all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past five years and not be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List or any other state's child abuse and neglect central registry. The public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the results in their file.
(f)  Upon adoption, the adoptive parents shall comply with all the terms of the adoption agreement assistance and notify the public adoption agency they are no longer legally or financially responsible for the adopted child, address, or contact information.
(g)  The public adoption agency shall:
(1)	prior to the adoption, make a determination as to whether the requirements of this Rule have been met on a form created by the Department ("Adoption Assistance Eligibility Checklist" Form DSS-5012, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that shall identify the reasons that the eligibility requirements have been met and inform the prospective adoptive parents of the right to appeal the decision.
(2)	maintain a copy of the results of the criminal investigation of the foster parents and any individual 18 years of age or older who resides in the prospective adoptive home.
(3)	after the adoption:
(A)	annually send to the adoptive parents a letter reminding them to report any changes in their legal or financial responsibility of the adopted child;
(B)	issue to the adoptive parents a notice if the adoption assistance payments are to be suspended ("North Carolina Division of Social Services Adoption Assistance Suspension Notice" Form DSS-5306, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that shall identify the reason for the suspension and how to appeal the suspension; and
(C)	issue to the adoptive parents a notice if the adoption assistance payments are to be terminated ("North Carolina Division of Social Services Adoption Assistance Termination Notice" Form DSS-5308, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that shall identify the reason for the termination and how to appeal the termination.
(4)	in order for vendor services to be reimbursed, the vendor must obtain prior approval by submitting to the public adoption agency completed and signed forms provided by the Department ("Adoption Assistance Vendor Payment Request Form" Form DSS-5112 and "Adoption Assistance Vendor Payment Instructions for Providers" Form DSS-5115, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that includes documentation of the child's diagnosis, the child's special needs related to the diagnosis, how the is service related to the special needs, what goals the service is intended to accomplish, how achievement of goals be measured, the projected duration of treatment or service, the projected total cost, and two copies of the provider's bill after all health insurance claims have been processed.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B153;
Eff. July 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; March 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. August 1,2021.
10A NCAC 70M .0403	PROCEDURES/
REIMBURSEMENT OF ADOPTION ASSISTANCE BENEFITS
(a)  Adoption assistance benefits for which a child is eligible shall become effective the first month following the month in which the Decree of Adoption is issued.
(b)  Claims from service providers and standard monthly cash assistance shall be reimbursed or provided from adoption assistance funds subject to the following limitations:
(1)	Vendor payments to adoptive parents, medical providers, and to providers of psychological, therapeutic, and remedial services shall be made only for treatment or services given to alleviate or correct those conditions for which the child has been determined eligible to receive benefits.
(2)	The total amount for vendor payments for any combination of medical services not covered by Medicaid including psychological, therapeutic, or remedial services for any child shall not exceed two thousand four hundred dollars ($2,400.00) per State fiscal year.
(3)	Vendor payments shall not be made to reimburse providers for the following:
(A)	routine medical examinations;
(B)	illnesses or conditions not related to or resulting from the conditions for which the child was determined eligible for vendor payments;
(C)	services or treatment provided to the child prior to issuance of the Decree of Adoption; and
(D)	services or treatment that may have been provided on or after the first day of the month following the month in which the child's eligibility ceases.
(c)  No local match, in terms of dollars, is required for funds for those children certified to receive benefits under the State Fund for Adoptive Children with Special Needs as set forth in G.S. 180A-50.1, who are the placement responsibility of licensed private child-placing agencies with the exception of monthly cash payments for those children who are eligible for benefits from Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. No monthly cash assistance payments from the State Fund for Adoptive Children with Special Needs shall be made for any adoption in which the Decree of Adoption is issued on or after October 1, 2011.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153;
Eff. July 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; March 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0404	ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR THE SPECIAL CHILDREN ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE
10A NCAC 70M .0405	Payments from the special children adoption incentive fund

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; S.L. 2000-67, s. 11.16;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Temporary Adoption Eff. August 31, 2001;
Eff. July 18, 2002;
Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0501	PURPOSE OF OUTOFSTATE ADOPTION SERVICE FEES
(a)  When the requirements in this Rule have been met, with prior approval, the Department may reimburse in part or in full a fee incurred by a public adoption agency for adoption services provided by an out-of-state adoption agency. Public adoption agencies shall pay the out-of-state adoption provider directly and provide proof of payment to the Department once payment is made.
(b)  The requirements of this Rule are met when the child:
(1)	is a child with special needs;
(2)	is registered on the North Carolina Adoption Resource Exchange, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/child-welfare-services/adoption-and-foster-care;
(3)	has parents who have each had one of the following occur:
(A)	a court order terminated parental rights;
(B)	executed a relinquishment of the child to a public or private child-placing agency;
(C)	consented to the adoption;
(D)	a finding by the court in the adoption proceeding that the parent's consent to the adoption is not required; or
(E)	has died.
(c)  Out-of-state adoption agencies shall be licensed by their respective states and as approved by conditions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) pursuant to G.S. 7B, Article 38 to provide adoptive services for children with special needs.
(d)  The service fee charged by the specialized out-of-state adoption agency shall be:
(1)	any one of the following services provided by the specialized adoption service agency:
(A)	recruiting and securing an adoptive home for the child;
(B)	preplacement services for the family and child;
(C)	postplacement services for the family and child; and
(D)	postfinalization services.
(2)	only be available when an adoptive family has not been identified in North Carolina.
(e)  The public adoption agency:
(1)	shall have custody and placement responsibility of the child and have the legal authority to consent to the child's adoption;
(2)	shall make a written request to the Department for reimbursement for the out-of-state adoption service fee at the time that a decision has been made to place the child with a specific adoptive parent or parents who have had an approved home study that was conducted by the specialized out-of-state adoption agency;
(3)	shall include in its reimbursement request to the Department written documentation that verifies the following:
(A)	the public adoption agency has legal placement responsibility;
(B)	the public adoption agency has the authority to legally consent to the adoption of the child;
(C)	the child meets the requirements of this Rule;
(D)	the out-of-state adoption agency meets the requirements of this Rule;
(E)	the service fee to be charged meets the requirements of this Rule; and
(F)	a quote for the service fee that includes the service to be provided and the amount of the fee;
(4)	shall obtain prior approval from the Department prior to initiating contracted services where reimbursement is expected;
(5)	Upon the Department's prior approval for an out-of-state adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall enter into an agreement with the out-of-state adoption agency on a form provided by the Department ("North Carolina Division of Social Services Purchase of Out-of-State Adoption Services Agreement" Form DSS-5305, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) and provide a copy of the agreement to the Department. The agreement shall include the type and nature of the service to be provided, the fee amount to be charged, an agreement by the out-of-state adoption agency to provide the identified service, and an agreement by the public adoption agency to pay for the identified service; and
(6)	shall pay any amount of the out-of-state adoption agency service fee that is not approved by the Department.
(f)  To the extent funds are available and the fee for services is not above the maximum allowable amount of one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) per child, the Department shall approve the public adoption agency's request for prior approval for reimbursement of the out-of-state adoption service fee if it meets the requirements in this Rule and the Department notifies the public adoption agency in writing of the approval.
(g)  The Department shall not reimburse a public adoption agency for any amount over one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) per child in out-of-state adoption service fees that are approved pursuant to this Rule.
(h)  In order for the public adoption agency to receive reimbursement for a fee that has been approved pursuant to this Rule, the public adoption agency shall notify the Department of the date that payment of the fee is due and provide the Department with a copy of the bill for the out-of-state adoption service fee.
(i)  Upon the public adoption agency's payment of the out-of-state adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall provide the Department with a copy of the receipt of payment for the out-of-state adoption agency fee.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 143B-153;
Eff. March 23, 1981;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0502	GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

History Note:	Authority G.S. 143B153;
Eff. March 23, 1981;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; July 1, 1991; June 1, 1990;
Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0601	public adoption agency requirements
(a)  Public adoption agencies shall:
(1)	at the time of or prior to the final decree of adoption, enter into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses with parents who adopt a child with special needs;
(2)	prior to entering into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses, the public adoption agency shall:
(A)	Make a determination that the child is a child with special needs; and
(B)	Make a determination that the child has been placed for adoption in accordance with applicable laws;
(3)	make payments for reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses incurred by or on behalf of parents in connection with the adoption of a child with special needs if it enters into an agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses;
(4)	retain copies of the complete application for reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses, along with supporting document and receipts, and the agreement for the reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption expenses for auditing purposes; and
(5)	upon receipt of a completed nonrecurring adoption expense reimbursement application, the public adoption agency shall submit the application to the Department.
(b)	When there is an interstate placement of the child with special needs, the public adoption agency that entered into an adoption assistance agreement shall also reimburse the parent or vendor for the nonrecurring adoption expenses. When there has been an interstate placement of a child with special needs for the purpose of adoption and there is no adoption assistance agreement from the sending state, then the public adoption agency that is responsible for entering into an agreement for nonrecurring adoption expenses shall be the public adoption agency where the petitioner for adoption resides.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A49; 108A50; 143B153;
Eff. July 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0602	eligible nonrecurring adoption expenses
An adoptive parent shall receive reimbursement for nonrecurring adoption expenses not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) when:
(1)	The child placed with the parent for the purpose of adoption is a child with special needs;
(2)	The adoptive parents have submitted a signed application for nonrecurring adoption expenses on a form provided by the Department ("State of North Carolina Application For Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Adoption Costs" Form DSS-5145, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss). The application shall:
(a)	provide evidence that the child is a child with special needs;
(b)	include acknowledgements by the adoptive parents that:
(i)	nonrecurring adoption expenses are limited to a reimbursement of two thousand dollars ($2,000) per child and are contingent on the child being a child with special needs;
(ii)	the expenses that they are seeking reimbursement for were actually incurred by them;
(iii)	the expenses that they are seeking reimbursement for are reasonable and necessary adoption expenses which were directly related to the legal adoption of the child that meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(A)(6); and
(iv)	the expenses that they are seeking reimbursement for have not and will not be reimbursed by another source.
(c)	if the placement was an interstate placement, include an acknowledgement by the adoptive parents that the placement was made in accordance with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children adopted by both the sending and receiving state and any other applicable federal, state, or local laws or rules related to the interstate adoptive placement of a child;
(d)	the type and amount of the expense that will be incurred by the adoptive parents; and
(e)	include documentation that verifies the information in the application and receipts for any nonrecurring service for which the parent is seeking reimbursement.
[bookmark: _Hlk76642736](3)	The foster parents and all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children as determined by the public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309.
(4)	The foster parents shall provide the public adoption agency with the results of the criminal history investigation, and the public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the results.
[bookmark: _Hlk76972043](5)	The adopting parents and all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the home shall have a completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List pursuant to G.S. 7B-311 and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past five years and not be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals List or any other state's child abuse and neglect central registry. The public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the results in their file.
(6)	Upon approval of the application in Item (2) of this Rule, the adoptive parents shall enter into a binding written agreement with a public adoption agency for the reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses on a form provided by the Department ("State of North Carolina Agreement for Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Adoption Costs" Form DSS-5146, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3) and is signed at the time of or prior to the final decree of adoption.
(7)	The application for reimbursement was filed in accord with the quarter rule outlined in 45 CFR 1356.41(e)(2).

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A49; 108A50; 143B153;
Eff. July 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0603	REQUIREMENTS

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A49; 108A50; 143B153; 42 U.S.C. 673;
Eff. July 1, 1991;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017;
Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0604	PROHIBITION ON REIMBURSEMENT CAPS
The Department and any public adoption agencies shall not establish a maximum allowable reimbursement amount for any single eligible nonrecurring adoption expense, but the total reimbursement for nonrecurring adoption expenses shall not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000).

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A49; 108A50; 143B153;
Eff. July 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0701	ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR THE SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE
Within the limits of available funding, the Department may approve and provide assistance in the form of standard monthly cash payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund when the following requirements have been met:
(1)	The child:
(a)	Shall be a child with special needs and either has at least one of the factors or conditions listed in Rule .0102(b)(3)(E) through (H) of this Chapter of a child with special needs or meets the requirement in 42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(ii);
(b)	Shall meet the requirements for standard monthly cash adoption assistance in this Chapter;
(c)	Shall be in the custody of the public adoption agency and placement responsibility of an adoption agency for at least six consecutive months prior to the finalization of the adoption;
(d)	The special needs condition from Sub-Item (1)(a) of this Item is expected to limit the child's ability, both currently and throughout childhood, to function in the home, school, or community absent eight or more hours of in-person daily supervision or care for personal health care or prevention of self-destructive or assaultive behavior;
(e)	The child will have resided in the foster parent's home for six consecutive months prior to the finalization of the adoption; and
(f)	The child was legally adopted on or after January 1, 2001.
(2)	Each foster parent:
(a)	be licensed as a foster parent;
(b)	has been receiving standard monthly cash assistance from any governmental source, such as federal, state, or local, above the State adoption assistance rate established by the General Assembly for the previous six consecutive months prior to the finalization of the adoption to provide the direct care or supervision required for the child's health condition that meets the requirement in Item (4) of this Rule;
(c)	prior to the issuance of the adoption decree, the foster parent made a request for financial assistance in addition to the State adoption assistance rate established by the General Assembly in order to provide the care required for the child's health condition that meets the requirements in Item (4) of this Rule;
(d)	prior to the issuance of the adoption decree, the foster parent provided the public adoption agency with a signed letter that details the daily supervision needs of the child; 
(e)	shall only be willing to adopt the child if the monthly cash assistance from any other governmental source, such as federal, state, or local, above the State adoption assistance rate received for foster parents and is not terminated upon the adoption of the child;
(f)	shall enter into an adoption assistance agreement with a public adoption agency prior to the decree of adoption;
(g)	entered into a supplemental agreement with a public adoption agency prior to the adoption decree;
(h)	agree to provide the public adoption agency with a copy of the adoption decree once the adoption has been finalized;
(i)	shall have a completed criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children as determined by the public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309;
(j)	shall require all individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home to undergo a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 49-3-309; and
(k)	shall provide the public adoption agency with the results of the criminal back history investigation.
(3)	All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children as determined by the public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309.
(4)	The public adoption agency having custody of the child shall:
(a)	voluntarily agree to participate in the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund and agree to assume 50 percent of the payment above the State adoption assistance rate established by the General Assembly.
(b)	enter into an adoption assistance agreement as provided in this Rule.
(c)	enter into a supplement agreement as provided in this Rule.
(d)	maintain a record for the child that contains written documentation that the child and foster parent(s) have met or will meet the requirements for the foster child and the foster parents in this Rule at the time of the adoption decree and shall include the following:
[bookmark: _Hlk76642495](i)	a written statement on a form provided by the Department ("Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Agency Verification of Legal Custody and Child's Living Arrangement For Past Six Months" Form DSS-5214, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) signed by the Director of the public adoption agency that verifies:
(A)	each foster parent is licensed;
(B)	the public adoption agency has legal custody and placement authority of the child;
(C)	the child has lived with the foster family for six consecutive months prior to the adoption;
(D)	that the foster parent(s) have received monthly cash assistance from a governmental source in excess of the standard board rate established by the General Assembly for the previous six months on a continuous basis and the amount of the payments; and
(E)	the foster parent(s) have stated a willingness to adopt this child if the monthly cash assistance that they have received as foster parents is not terminated;
(ii)	a written statement on a form provided by the Department ("Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Verification of Child's Health Condition" Form DSS-5213, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) signed by a medical professional, who is qualified through licensing and credentialing to diagnose the child's condition prior to the adoption that demonstrates that the child meets all the requirements in Item (1) of this Rule;
(iii)	a written statement on a form provided by the Department ("Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Verification of Child's Need for Daily Supervision" Form DSS-5215, which may be accessed at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) signed by the foster parent(s) prior to the adoption that demonstrates the child meets all the requirements in this Item; 
(iv)	a letter from the foster parent(s) explaining the daily needs of the child; 
(v)	a signed adoption assistance agreement;
(vi)	a signed supplement agreement;
(vii)	a copy of the foster parent's license;
(viii)	a copy of the decree of adoption once it has been received pursuant to this Rule;
(ix)	a copy of the results of the criminal investigation of the foster parents and any individual 18 years of age or older who resides in the prospective adoptive home; and
(x)	make a request, on behalf of the foster parent(s), prior to the adoption decree to the Department for Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund assistance for the foster parents.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 143B-153; 
Eff. August 1, 2021.

10A NCAC 70M .0702	PAYMENTS FROM THE SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND
(a)  Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund will be made by the State Division of Social Services to the adoptive parent(s).
(b)  Participating county departments of social services shall submit claims for payments to the State Division of Social Services.
(c)  The initial payment claim must include the following items:
(1)	verification of child's placement authority;
(2)	verification that the child has lived with the foster family six consecutive months submitted on the "Living Arrangements for Past Six Months" Form DSS-5214;
(3)	a copy of written statement from a licensed physician regarding the child's health condition;
(4)	a copy of written statement from a licensed health, mental health, or developmental disability professional regarding the status of the child's condition;
(5)	a copy of signed adoption assistance agreement;
(6)	a copy of signed supplemental assistance agreement; and
(7)	a copy of Decree of Adoption.
(d)  Monthly payment claims shall be submitted on the "Request for Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Payment" Form DSS-5211, which may be accessed at https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5211-ia.pdf. 

History Note:	Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 143B-153; 
Eff. August 1, 2021.


TITLE 11 - Department of Insurance

11 NCAC 06A .0402	LICENSING OF RESIDENT AGENT, LTD REPRESENTATIVE AND ADJUSTER
(a)  An applicant for a resident variable life and variable annuity product shall hold a resident life license before making application for a resident variable life and variable annuity product license. An agent licensed to sell variable life and variable annuity products shall be appointed by a company authorized to sell variable annuities and variable life insurance products in North Carolina. The company shall verify that the agent has met the requirements of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) or its successor organization.
(b)  A limited representative shall be appointed with each company for which he or she will solicit business for the following kinds of insurance:
(1)	Dental services;
(2)	Limited line credit insurance;
(3)	Prearrangement insurance, as defined in G.S. 58-60-35(a)(2), when offered or sold by a preneed sales licensee licensed under Article 13D of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; or
(4)	Travel, accident, and baggage.
(c)  Responsibility of insurance companies for forms:
(1)	Companies shall have on file with the Division the address and email address of one central licensing office and the individual within that office to whom all correspondence, licenses, and invoices will be forwarded.
(2)	Companies shall have on file with the Division the name of the individual responsible for all agent appointments and termination of agent appointments submitted by the company to the Division.
(3)	A company shall verify the licensure of an agent before the company appoints the agent.
(4)	Companies shall notify the Division within 10 days after any change of address or email address of the central licensing office and of any change of the individual within that office to whom all correspondence, licenses, and invoices will be forwarded.
(d)  Responsibility of the agent, limited representative, and adjuster:
(1)	A person, after surrender or termination of a license for such period of time that he or she is no longer eligible for waiver of the examination, shall meet all legal requirements for previously unlicensed persons.
(2)	Every licensee shall, upon demand from the Division, furnish in writing any information relating to the licensee's insurance business within 10 business days after the demand in accordance with G.S. 58-2-195(a).
(e)  An applicant for a resident license shall, if an electronic record is not available, obtain an original letter of clearance from his or her former state of residency certifying the kinds of insurance for which the applicant was licensed, that all licenses held in that state have been canceled and that the applicant was in good standing in that state at the time of the cancellation of licenses. A letter of clearance is valid for 90 days from date of issuance.
(f)  Only individuals may apply for limited representative and adjuster licenses.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195(a); 58-33-26; 58-33-30; 58-33-66;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. June 12, 1978;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; February 1, 1996; October 1, 1990; February 1, 1989;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

11 NCAC 06A .0501	RENEWAL OF AGENT APPTS: LICENSES/LIMITED reps
(a)  Annually the Division shall notify each insurance company of dates and methods for renewing agent and limited representative appointments. Companies shall be given at least 30 days' advance notice of the last date the Division shall process terminations.
(b)  On the last date to submit terminations, the Division shall cease processing all terminations and bill companies for renewals. All appointments and licenses shall automatically be billed for the appointment renewal unless the Division has received a termination request from the company within the specified time.
(c)  The Division shall send each company an invoice stating the total amount of money due and a list of all appointees or licensees associated with the total due. The Division shall make this invoice and a list of all appointees or licensees associated with the total due available electronically to each company. Companies shall remit the amount stated in the invoice by electronic payment to the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee and shall pay all associated fees for electronic processing. Any discrepancies claimed by companies shall be investigated only after full payment is received.
(d)  Upon receipt of the company payment, the Division shall provide to the company an electronic list of all appointments and licenses renewed.
(e)  Appointments recorded and licenses issued prior to the renewal date, but after the date specified by the Division as the last date to process termination, shall be valid until the following year.
(f)  Failure of a company to pay any invoice by the due date shall automatically result in the termination of all appointees or licensees of that company. The Commissioner shall not issue any new appointments until all outstanding invoices have been paid. Any company that has had appointments or licensees cancelled by the Commissioner pursuant to this Rule shall not process any new electronic appointments until all outstanding invoices have been paid. When the outstanding invoices are paid, the company may re-appoint agents or limited representatives and shall pay the appointment fees.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-250; 58-33-40(f); 58-33-56; 58-33-125(a); 58-33-125(h);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. June 12, 1978;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; February 1, 1996; October 1, 1990; February 1, 1989; July 1, 1986;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

11 NCAC 13 .0410	SALESMEN TO BE LICENSED INSURANCE AGENTS
Any person acting in the capacity of employee, agent, or salesman who solicits or sells a motor club membership shall be a licensed insurance agent if the membership contract includes a contract of insurance to the member. The employee, agent, or salesman shall be licensed with the same insurance company that issues the contract of insurance. 

History Note:	Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-69-20(5);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 1978;
Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; July 1, 1986;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

11 NCAC 23E .0302	emergency orders and directives of the chief justice of the north carolina supreme court
(a)  This Rule applies to all matters within the authority and jurisdiction of the Commission and to all Subchapters of the Commission's rules.
(b)  In the interests of justice or to protect the public health or safety, the Commission may waive or modify any portion of its rules in order to bring them in conformity with an emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court that is in effect. The Commission shall consider the following factors in determining whether to grant the waiver or modification:
(1)	the necessity of waiving or modifying the rule; and
(2)	the impact of waiving or modifying the rule on the regulated parties and on the Commission.
If the Commission waives or modifies a rule to bring it into conformity with any emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the Commission shall post a notice of the waiver or modification of the rule on its website unless the waiver or modification is case-specific and not generally applicable to the regulated public. For a waiver or modification that is case-specific and not generally applicable to the regulated public, the Commission shall notify the parties in the case of the waiver or modification via an order of the Commission.
(c)  During any period that an emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court authorizes the taking of oaths and verifications outside the presence of a notary public, the Commission shall accept any pleading, motion, petition, supporting affidavit, or other document with an affirmation or representation not attested to before a notary public so long as the subscriber affirms the truth of the matter to be verified by an affirmation or representation in substantially the same language as that allowed by the emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court.
(d)  Any waiver or modification made pursuant to this Rule shall only remain in effect during the duration of any emergency Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court upon which that waiver or modification is based.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 97-80; 130A-425(d); 143-166.4; 143-296; 143-300;
Emergency Adoption Eff. November 6, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 29, 2021;
Eff. August 1, 2021.


TITLE 12 - Department of Justice

12 NCAC 09A .0206	SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS
(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a criminal justice officer or instructor before the commencement of proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification if the public health, safety, or welfare requires action pursuant to G.S. 150B-3. The Commission has determined that the following conditions specifically affect the public health, safety, or welfare and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, may summarily suspend a certification of a criminal justice officer if:
(1)	the person has committed or been convicted of a violation of the criminal code that would require a permanent revocation or denial of certification;
(2)	the certified officer fails to complete the inservice training requirements as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E; or
(3)	the certified officer has produced a positive result on a urinalysis test, conducted in accordance with 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5).
(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of certification, the Probable Cause Committee shall meet only upon notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 hours in advance of the meeting.
(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain effective during the proceedings.
(d)  The Director, upon receipt of information showing the existence of a basis for summary suspension provided for in Subparagraph (a)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule, shall coordinate the meeting described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. All affected persons shall be notified that the person may submit any pertinent matters to the Probable Cause Committee for its consideration before the Committee acts on the summary suspension issue. No person shall be allowed more than 48 hours to submit information to the Probable Cause Committee.
(e)  Upon oral notification by the Director that the certification of an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by written order, the Department Head of the Criminal Justice Agency or the executive officer of the institution shall ensure that the officer or instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the Commission.
(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining that a Commission-certified Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor has conducted a concealed carry handgun training course as mandated by G.S. 14-415.12(a)(4) that is not in compliance with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and negatively affects the public safety and welfare shall do the following until such time as the training course has been brought into compliance or reported to the Probable Cause Committee for action:
(1)	summarily suspend the Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor certification, prohibiting him or her from delivering concealed carry handgun training until the Director determines the training program is brought into compliance with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and 12 NCAC 09F .0105 of this Chapter; and
(2)	inform the instructor that he or she may appeal the Director's suspension by requesting, in writing, a formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting.
(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted a Commission-approved training course in a way that was not in accordance with the requirements of this Chapter or has conducted a Commission-approved training course while being in violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0301 shall do the following until such time as the training course or his or her instructor certification has been brought into compliance:
(1)	summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's certification, prohibiting him or her from delivering Commission approved training until the noncompliance is remedied; and
(2)	the Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for a formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting.
(h)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to have violated a certification rule as outlined in this Chapter shall do the following:
(1)	summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's certification, prohibiting him or her from delivering Commission approved training until the matter is resolved; and
(2)	the Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for a formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting.
(i)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain effective during the proceedings. 
(j)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining that a criminal justice officer who was issued a waiver of the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0306 has not met those requirements within 60 days of being awarded general certification by the Commission, shall summarily suspend the officer's certification until the officer meets the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0306.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C6; 17C10; 150B3;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; December 1, 2007; March 1, 2004; July 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; October 1, 1985; August 15, 1981;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09B .0101	MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS
Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an agency in North Carolina shall:
(1)	be a citizen of the United States;
(2)	be at least 20 years of age;
(3)	be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 17C-10 as evidenced by the following:
(a)	not having been convicted of a felony;
(b)	not having been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0111(1) for five years or the completion of any corrections supervision imposed by the courts, whichever is later;
(c)	not having been convicted of an offense that would prohibit the possession of a firearm or ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, which is hereby incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments and editions and can be found at no cost at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap44-sec922.pdf),
(d)	having submitted to and produced a negative result on a drug test within 60 days of employment or any in-service drug screening required by the appointing agency that meets the certification standards of the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs. A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace/resources/drug-testing/certified-lab-list;
(e)	submitting to a background investigation consisting of the verification of age and education and a criminal history check of local, state, and national files;
(f)	being truthful in providing information to the appointing agency and to the Standards Division for the purpose of obtaining probationary or general certification;
(g)	not having pending or outstanding felony charges that, if convicted of such charges, would disqualify the applicant from holding such certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; and
(h)	not having engaged in any conduct that brings into question the truthfulness or credibility of the officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral turpitude" is conduct that is contrary to justice, honesty, or morality, including conduct as defined in: In re Willis 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority;
(4)	have been fingerprinted and a search made of local, state, and national files to disclose any criminal record;
(5)	have been examined and certified by a licensed surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner to meet physical requirements listed in the Medical Screening Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/ necessary to fulfill the officer's particular responsibilities and shall have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following specifications:
(a)	the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other initial and confirmatory tests authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
(b)	a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual discarding of the specimen;
(c)	the drug screen shall test for the presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites;
(d)	the test threshold values meet the requirements established by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 7920 (2017) incorporated by reference, including later amendments and editions found at no cost at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2017/01/23/2017-00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs;
(e)	the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the laboratory reports the results to the date of employment; and
(f)	the laboratory conducting the test shall be certified for federal workplace drug testing programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal regulations and guidelines pertaining to the handling, testing, storage, and preservation of samples;
(6)	have been administered a psychological screening by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist authorized to practice in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces within one year prior to employment by the employing agency and upon the acceptance of a conditional offer of employment to determine the officer's mental and emotional suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities of the position as listed in the Medical Screening Guide found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/, as follows:
[bookmark: _Hlk49013529](a)	Law Enforcement Officer applicant: pre-employment psychological screenings shall at a minimum include:
(i)	a pre-employment written psychological test recognized in the field, and supervised by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist; and
(ii)	a clinical interview conducted by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist.
(b)	Juvenile Justice Officer applicant, Juvenile Court Counselor applicant, Chief Court Counselor applicant, or Local Confinement Officer applicant: pre-employment psychological screenings shall at a minimum include
(i)	a pre-employment written psychological test recognized in the field, and supervised by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist; and
(ii)	a clinical interview conducted by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist if the psychologist or psychiatrist reviewing the results of the pre-employment test identifies any issue that he or she believes needs further examination or other information is found in the pre-employment process or otherwise that raises questions about the psychological suitability of the candidate;
(7)	have been interviewed personally by the department head or the department head representative or representatives to determine such things as the applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate; and
(8)	make the following notifications:
(a)	within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is charged or arrested. This shall include traffic offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI);
(b)	within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer pleads no contest pleads guilty or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic offenses identified in the Department of Justice's Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI);
(c)	within 30 days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all Domestic Violence Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are issued by a judicial official against the officer;
(d)	within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the department head, provided he or she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of arrests or criminal charges and final disposition;
(e)	within 30 days of the issuance of all Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the department head, provided he or she has knowledge of the order, shall also notify the Standards Division of these orders.
(9)	The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense or order, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, or service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall include a certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this Item shall be applicable at all times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from the officer or the department head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Item.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C6; 17C10;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review; October 1, 2020.

12 ncac 09B .0313	Certification and training for school resource officers
(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following:
(1)	School safety;
(2)	School security;
(3)	Emergency preparedness;
(4)	Emergency response; and
(5)	Any additional responsibilities related to school safety or security assigned by the officer's employer while the officer is acting as a School Resource Officer.
Any written memorandum of understanding between the local school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with this Paragraph.
(b)  Law enforcement officers assigned by their agency to perform duties as a School Resource Officer shall:
(1)	have been issued general certification by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission as a law enforcement officer; and
(2)	have until December 31, 2020, to complete the basic School Resource Officer Training course, if they are acting in the capacity of a School Resource Officer between October 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a School Resource Officer effective January 1, 2020 or later shall complete the School Resource Officer Training course pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule, within one year after being assigned as a School Resource Officer. Law enforcement officers who previously completed the training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule and who have been continually assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be credited with completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training. Law enforcement officers who completed the training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule between October 1, 2018 and December 31, 2020 shall be credited with completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training course even if they were not assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule as long as they comply with the annual SRO refresher training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule.
(c)  A law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (g) of this Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (g) of this Section.
(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Criminal Justice Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/#91-114-wpfd-law-enforcement and must be completed in its entirety. The Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form consists of the following:
(1)	applicant's name;
(2)	date of birth;
(3)	social security number;
(4)	name of agency and address;
(5)	date awarded general certification;
(6)	completion date of School Resource Officer training; and
(7)	date assigned as a School Resource Officer.
(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes during each calendar year a one hour basic School Resource Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Academy. For School Resource Officers who complete the basic SRO training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement shall be effective January 1, 2021. For SROs, this requirement shall be effective the year following the officer's successful completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training course. A certified School Resource Officer who has not completed the refresher training during a calendar year as established by this Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the required refresher training as established by this Rule. Any refresher training deficiency must be made up on or before January 31st of the following calendar year.
(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in an in-person traditional classroom format will receive credit toward the completion of the basic SRO course requirement as required by this Rule, provided that they pass all tests required by the SRO Training Manual authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy. Instructors shall have their instruction documented by the Department Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once completed.
(g)  The basic School Resource Officer Training course for law enforcement officers shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The basic School Resource Officer Training Course authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum for this training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. October 1, 2018;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; October 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09B .0404	TRAINEE ATTENDANCE
(a)  Each trainee enrolled in a certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall attend all class sessions. The school director shall monitor the trainee's attendance at criminal justice training courses in which the trainee is enrolled.
(b)  The school director may excuse a trainee from attendance at specific class sessions. However, in no case may excused absences exceed five percent of the total class hours for the course offering. A trainee shall not be eligible for administration of the State comprehensive examination and shall be dismissed from the course if the cumulative total of class absences exceeds five percent regardless of the prior completion of make-up work.
(c)  If the school director grants an excused absence from a class session, he or she shall schedule makeup work and ensure the completion of such work during the current course presentation. The school director shall schedule instructors and reimburse those instructors for the purpose of completion of the make-up work. Absences that occur during the last 40 hours of the training course may be made up in a subsequent delivery; however, the school director shall notify the Standards Division prior to scheduling the make-up work.
(d)  A school director may terminate a trainee from course participation or may deny certification of successful course completion where the trainee is tardy to or departs early from class meetings or field exercises.
(e)  Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, or .0240, and the scheduled course hours exceed the requirements of the Commission, the trainee, upon the authorization of the school director, may be deemed to have satisfactorily completed the required number of hours for attendance provided the trainee's attendance is not less than 100 percent of the instructional hours as required by the Commission.
(f)  A trainee enrolled in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0209 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive successful course completion.
(g)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course under Rule .0226 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Driver Instructor Training" course under Rule .0227 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training" course under Rule .0232 of this Subchapter, or the "Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" course under Rule .0233 of this Subchapter, shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive successful course completion. Make-up work must be completed during the current course presentation for all absenteeism. The Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division may grant a waiver for completion of course requirements in a course delivery scheduled within 12 months, for just cause based upon the circumstances that created the need for the absence. For the purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, emergency, or course cancellation that precluded the student from completing the entire course in one continuous course delivery.
(h)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "RADAR Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0210 of this Subchapter, the "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0211 of this Subchapter, or the "LIDAR Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0237 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive successful course completion. Make-up work must be completed during the current course presentation for all absenteeism.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C6; 17C10;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. November 1, 1981;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; June 1, 1986;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0205	PHYSICAL AND MENTAL STANDARDS
(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall have been examined and certified, within one year prior to employment with the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, by a physician licensed in North Carolina, physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner to meet the physical requirements as stated in the essential job functions listed in the Medical Screening Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/ that are necessary to fulfill the officer's particular responsibilities.
(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall have been administered, within one year prior to employment with the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice and upon the acceptance of a conditional offer of employment, a psychological screening by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist authorized to practice in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces to determine the officer's mental and emotional suitability to fulfill the responsibilities of the position as listed in the Medical Screening Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/, as follows:
(1)	Correctional Officer applicant: pre-employment psychological screening shall at a minimum include:
(A)	a pre-employment written psychological test recognized in the field, and supervised by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist; and
(B)	a clinical interview conducted by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist if the psychologist or psychiatrist reviewing the results of the pre-employment test identifies any issue that he or she believes needs further examination or other information is found in the pre-employment process otherwise that raises questions about the psychological suitability of the candidate.
(2)	Probation/Parole Officer applicant: pre-employment psychological screening shall at a minimum include:
(A)	a pre-employment written psychological test recognized in the field, and supervised by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist; and
(B)	a clinical interview conducted by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

12 NCAC 09G .0206	MORAL CHARACTER
Every person employed as a correctional officer as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(3) or probation/parole officer as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(12) by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall demonstrate good moral character as evidenced by the following:
(1)	for correctional officers, not having been convicted of a felony;
(2)	for probation/parole officers, not having committed or having been convicted of a felony;
(3)	for correctional officers, not having been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(10) for three years or the completion of any corrections supervision imposed by the courts, whichever is later;
(4)	for probation/parole officers, not having committed or having been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102 for a three years period prior to the date of application for employment;
(5)	not having been convicted of an offense that, under 18 U.S.C. 922, which is hereby incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments and editions and can be accessed at no cost at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap44-sec922.pdf, would prohibit the possession of a firearm or ammunition;
(6)	having submitted to and produced a negative result on a drug test within 60 days of employment or any in-service drug screening required by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice that meets the certification standards of the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs. A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace/resources/drug-testing/certified-lab-list;
(7)	submitting to a background investigation consisting of the following:
(a)	verification of age;
(b)	verification of education; and
(c)	criminal history check of local, state, and national files;
(8)	being truthful in providing information to the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice and to the Standards Division for the purpose of obtaining probationary or general certification;
(9)	not having pending or outstanding felony charges that, if convicted of such charges, would disqualify the applicant from holding such certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; and
(10)	not engage in any conduct that brings into question the truthfulness or credibility of the officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral Turpitude" is conduct that is contrary to justice, honesty, or morality, including conduct as defined In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); In State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these as authority.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; April 1, 2017; January 1, 2015; June 1, 2012; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0504	SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION
(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a correctional officer or probation/parole officer when the Commission finds that the officer has committed or been convicted of a felony offense.
(b)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a correctional officer when the Commission finds the officer has been convicted of a felony.
(c)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a probation/parole officer when the Commission finds the officer has committed or been convicted of a felony offense.
(d)  The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case, suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a corrections officer, as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(4) when the Commission finds that the applicant for certification or the certified officer:
(1)	has not enrolled in and completed with passing scores the required basic training course in its entirety in time periods prescribed in 12 NCAC 09G .0400 applicable to a specified position or job title;
(2)	fails to meet or maintain one or more of the employment standards required by 12 NCAC 09G .0200 for the category of the officer's certification or fails to meet or maintain one or more of the training standards required by 12 NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the officer's certification;
(3)	for correctional officers as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(3), have committed or been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102 after certification;
(4)	for probation/parole officers as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(12), have committed or been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102 for a three year period prior to the date of application for employment or after certification;
(5)	has been discharged by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice for:
(A)	commission or conviction of a motor vehicle offense requiring the revocation of the officer's drivers license; or
(B)	lack of good moral character as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0206;
(6)	has been discharged by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice because the officer lacks the mental or physical capabilities to fulfill the responsibilities of a corrections officer;
(7)	has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or accreditation;
(8)	has knowingly and willfully, by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training, or certification from the Commission;
(9)	has knowingly and willfully, by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, aided another person in obtaining or attempting to obtain credit, training, or certification from the Commission;
(10)	has failed to notify the Standards Division of all criminal charges or convictions as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0302;
(11)	has been removed from office by decree of the Superior Court in accord with the provisions of G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office by sentence of the court in accord with the provisions of G.S. 14-230;
(12)	has refused to submit to an applicant drug screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or has refused to submit to an in-service drug screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in the Drug Screening Implementation Guide as required by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice;
(13)	has produced a positive result on a drug screen reported to the Commission as specified in 12 NCAC 09G .0206, where the positive result cannot be explained to the Commission's satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, "to the Commission's satisfaction" shall be determined on a case-by-case basis, and the use of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; or
(14)	has been denied certification or had such certification suspended or revoked by a previous action of the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, the North Carolina Company Police Program, the North Carolina Campus Police Program, the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission, or a similar North Carolina, out of state, or federal approving, certifying, or licensing agency whose function is the same or similar to the agencies if the certification was denied, suspended, or revoked based on grounds that would constitute a violation of this Subchapter.
(e)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's certification, the person shall not remain employed or appointed as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any authority of a corrections officer during a period for which the person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0506	SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS
(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a corrections officer or instructor before the commencement of proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification when, in the opinion of the Probable Cause Committee, the public health, safety, or welfare requires this emergency action of summary suspension. The Commission has determined that the following condition specifically affects the public health, safety, or welfare and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, may utilize summary suspension: when the corrections officer has committed or been convicted of a violation of the criminal code that would require a permanent revocation or denial of certification.
(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of certification, the Probable Cause Committee may meet upon notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 hours in advance of the meeting.
(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of summary suspension or on service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain effective during the proceedings.
(d)  Upon verbal notification by the Director that the certification of an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by written order, the North Carolina Department of Correction shall take such steps as are necessary to ensure that the officer or instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the Commission.
(e)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted Commission-approved training course in a way that was not in accordance with the requirements of this Chapter or has conducted a Commission-approved training course while being in violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09G .0307 shall do the following until such time as the training course or his or her instructor certification has been brought into compliance:
(1)	summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's certification, prohibiting him or her from delivering Commission approved training until the noncompliance is remedied; and
(2)	the Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting. 
(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to have violated a certification rule as outlined in this Chapter shall do the following:
(1)	summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's certification, prohibiting him or her from delivering Commission approved training until the matter is resolved; and
(2)	the Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting.
(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon a Finding of Probable Cause by the Probable Cause Committee that an instructor has violated a certification rule outlined in this Chapter shall summarily suspend the individual's instructor certification. A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain effective during the proceedings. 

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 150B-3;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

12 NCAC 10B .0510	CERTIFICATION AND TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS
(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following:
(1)	School safety;
(2)	School security;
(3)	Emergency preparedness;
(4)	Emergency response; and
(5)	Any additional responsibilities related to school safety or security assigned by the officer's employer while the officer is acting as a School Resource Officer.
Any written memorandum of understanding between the local school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with this Paragraph.
(b)  Deputy Sheriffs assigned by their agency to perform duties as a School Resource Officer shall:
(1)	have been issued general certification by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission as a Deputy Sheriff; and
(2)	have until December 31, 2020 to complete the basic School Resource Officer Training Course if they are acting in the capacity of a School Resource Officer between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a School Resource Officer effective January 1, 2020 or later shall complete the basic School Resource Officer Training Course pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule, within one year after being assigned as a School Resource Officer. Deputy Sheriffs who previously completed the training pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule at any time and who have been continually assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be credited with completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training Course. Deputy Sheriffs who completed the training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule between October 1, 2018 and December 31, 2020 shall be credited with completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training Course even if they were not assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule as long as they comply with the annual SRO refresher training pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
(c)  A Deputy Sheriff assigned to one or more public schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (g) of this Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (g) of this Rule.
(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Sheriffs' Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov and must be completed in its entirety. The Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form consists of the following:
(1)	applicant's name;
(2)	date of birth;
(3)	social security number;
(4)	name of agency and address;
(5)	date awarded general certification;
(6)	completion date of School Resource Officer training; and
(7)	date assigned as a School Resource Officer.
(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes during each calendar year one credit of School Resource Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Academy. For School Resource Officers who complete the basic SRO training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement becomes effective January 1, 2021. Otherwise, this requirement becomes effective the year following the officer's successful completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training Course. A certified School Resource Officer who has not completed the refresher training during a calendar year as established by this Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the required refresher training as established by this Rule. Any refresher training that is not completed during a single calendar year must be made up on or before January 31st of the following calendar year. Any officer who fails to resolve a deficiency in the refresher training shall no longer maintain School Resource Officer certification.
(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in an in-person, traditional classroom format will receive credit toward the completion of the basic SRO course requirement as required by this Rule, provided they pass all tests required by the SRO Training Manual authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy. Instructors shall have their instruction documented by the Agency Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once completed.
(g)  The School Resource Officer training course for Deputy Sheriffs shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The basic School Resource Officer Training Course authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum for this training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:
Sheriffs' Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 629
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note:	Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;
Eff. January 1, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; January 1, 2020.


TITLE 15A - Department of Environmental Quality

15A NCAC 07J .0403	DEVELOPMENT PERIOD/COMMENCEMENT/CONTINUATION
(a)  New dredge and fill permits and CAMA permits, excepting beach bulldozing when authorized through issuance of a CAMA minor permit, shall expire on December 31 of the third year following the year of permit issuance.
(b)  CAMA minor permit authorizing beach bulldozing shall expire 30 days from the date of permit issuance. Following permit expiration, the applicant may request an extension in accordance with Rule .0404(a) of this Section.
(c)  Development After Permit Expiration. Any development undertaken after permit expiration shall be considered unpermitted and shall constitute a violation of G.S. 113A-118 or G.S. 113-229. Any development undertaken after permit expiration shall require either a new permit, or extension of the original permit according to 15A NCAC 07J .0404 with the exception of Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
(d)  Commencement of Development in Ocean Hazard AEC. No development shall begin until the oceanfront setback requirement can be met in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H .0306. When the permit holder or an individual receiving an exception to the permit requirement is ready to begin development, they shall arrange an onsite meeting with the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer to determine the oceanfront setback. This setback determination shall replace the one completed at the time the permit was processed and approved and development shall begin within of 60 days from the date of that meeting. In the case of a shoreline change that alters the location of the permitted development a new setback determination may be required. To determine if a new setback is required, additional coordination with the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer shall be required. Upon completion of the measurement, the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer will issue a written statement to the permittee certifying the same.
(e)  Continuation of Development in the Ocean Hazard AEC. Once permitted development has begun, development in the Ocean Hazard AEC may continue beyond the authorized development period if, in the opinion of the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer, substantial progress has been made and is continuing according to customary and usual building standards and schedules. Substantial progress is defined as beginning with the placement of foundation pilings, and proof of the local building inspector's certification that the installed pilings have passed a floor and foundation inspection.
(f)  Any permit that has been stayed as a result of litigation shall be extended at the permit holder's written request for a period equivalent to the period of permit suspension, but not to exceed the development period authorized under Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A118; 113A-124(c)(8);
Eff. March 15, 1978;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1995; July 1, 1989; March 1, 1985; November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A ncac 07j .0404	DEVELOPMENT PERIOD EXTENSION
(a)  For CAMA minor permits authorizing beach bulldozing, the permit holder may request a one-time 30-day permit extension. No additional extensions shall be granted after the 30-day extension has expired. Notwithstanding this Paragraph, the permit holder may apply for another minor permit authorizing beach bulldozing following expiration of the 30-day permit extension.
(b)  Where no development has been initiated during the development period, the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer shall extend the authorized development period for no more than two years upon receipt of a signed and dated request from the applicant containing the following:
(1)	a statement of the intention of the applicant to complete the work. 
(2)	a statement of the reasons why the project will not be completed before the expiration of the current permit;
(3)	a statement that there has been no change of plans since the issuance of the original permit other than changes that would have the effect of reducing the scope of the project or previously approved permit modifications;
(4)	notice of any change in ownership of the property to be developed and a request for transfer of the permit, if appropriate; and
(5)	a statement that the project is in compliance with all conditions of the current permit.
Where substantial development, either within or outside the AEC, has begun and is continuing on a permitted project, the permitting authority shall grant as many two year extensions as necessary to complete the initial development. For the purpose of this Rule, "substantial development" shall be deemed to have occurred on a project if the permittee can show that development has progressed beyond basic site preparation, such as land clearing and grading, and construction has begun and is continuing on the primary structure or structures authorized under the permit. For purposes of residential subdivision, installation of subdivision roads consistent with an approved subdivision plat shall constitute substantial development. Renewals for maintenance and repairs of previously approved projects may be granted for periods not to exceed 10 years.
(c)  When an extension request has not met the criteria of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Division of Coastal Management may circulate the request to the commenting State resource agencies along with a copy of the original permit application. Commenting State resource agencies will be given three weeks in which to comment on the extension request. Upon the expiration of the commenting period the Division of Coastal Management will notify the applicant of its actions on the extension request.
(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, an extension request may be denied on making findings as required in either G.S. 113A120 or G.S. 113-229(e). Changes in circumstances or in development standards shall be considered and applied by the Division of Coastal Management in making a decision on an extension request.
(e)  The applicant for a major development extension request shall submit, with the request, a check or money order payable to the Department in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00).
(f)  Modifications to extended permits may be considered pursuant to 15A NCAC 07J .0405.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A119; 113A-119.1; 113A124(c)(8);
Eff. March 15, 1978;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; April 1, 1995; March 1, 1991; March 1, 1985; November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A NCAC 07J .0405	PERMIT MODIFICATION
(a)  A permit holder may modify their permitted major development and/or dredge and fill project only after approval by the Division of Coastal Management. In order to modify a permitted project the permit holder shall make a written request to the Division of Coastal Management showing the proposed modifications. Minor modifications may be shown on the existing approved application and plat. Modification requests which, in the opinion of the Division of Coastal Management are major shall require a new application. Modification requests are subject to the same processing procedure applicable to original permit applications. A permit need not be circulated to all agencies commenting on the original application if the Commission determines that the modification is so minor that circulation would serve no purpose.
(b)  Modifications to a permitted project that are imposed or made at the request of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or other federal agencies shall be approved by the Division of Coastal Management under provisions of this Rule dealing with permit modification procedures.
(c)  Modifications of projects for the benefit of private waterfront property owners that meet the following criteria shall be considered minor modifications and shall not require a new permit application, but shall be approved under the provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule:
(1)	for bulkheads:
(A)	bulkhead shall be positioned so as not to extend more than an average distance of two feet waterward of the mean high water and in no place shall the bulkhead be more than five feet waterward of the mean high water contour; 
(B)	all backfill must come from an upland source; 
(C)	no marsh area may be excavated or filled; 
(D)	work must be undertaken because of the necessity to prevent loss of private residential property due to erosion; 
(E)	the bulkhead must be constructed prior to any backfilling activities; 
(F)	the bulkhead must be constructed so as to prevent seepages of backfill materials through the bulkhead; and
(G)	the bulkhead may not be constructed in the Ocean Hazard AEC;
(2)	for piers, docks and boathouses:
(A)	the modification or addition shall not be within 150 feet of the edge of a federallymaintained channel; 
(B)	the structure, as modified, must be 200 feet or less in total length offshore; 
(C)	the structure, as modified, must not extend past the four feet mean low water contour line (four feet depth at mean low water) of the waterbody; 
(D)	the project as modified, must not exceed six feet in width; 
(E)	the modification or addition must not include an enclosed structure; and
(F)	the project shall continue to be used for private, residential purposes;
(3)	for boatramps:
(A)	the project, as modified, shall not exceed 10 feet in width and 20 feet offshore; and
(B)	the project shall continue to be used for private, residential purposes.
(d)  An applicant may modify his permitted minor development project only after approval by the local permitletting authority. In order to modify a permitted project the applicant must make a written request to the local minor permitletting authority showing in detail the proposed modifications. The request shall be reviewed in consultation with the appropriate Division of Coastal Management field consultant and granted if all of the following provisions are met:
(1)	the size of the project is expanded less than 20 percent of the size of the originally permitted project; 
(2)	a signed, written statement is obtained from all adjacent riparian property owners indicating they have no objections to the proposed modifications; 
(3)	the proposed modifications are consistent with all local, State, and federal standards and local Land Use Plans in effect at the time of the modification requests; and
(4)	the type or nature of development is not changed.
Failure to meet this Paragraph shall necessitate the submission of a new permit application.
(e)  The applicant for a major permit modification shall submit with the request a check or money order payable to the Department in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for a minor modification and two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for a major modification.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A119; 113A-119.1; 113229;
Eff. March 15, 1978;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; March 1, 1991; August 1, 1986; November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A NCAC 07J .0407	PROJECT MAINTENANCE: MAJOR DEVELOPMENT/DREDGE AND FILL
(a)  No project previously requiring a major development or dredge and fill permit shall be maintained after the expiration of the authorized development period without approval from the Division of Coastal Management. Permits may contain provisions that allow the applicant to maintain the project after its completion. Persons wishing to maintain a project beyond the development period and whose permit contains no maintenance provision shall apply for a maintenance permit. This Rule does not apply to maintenance required by rule or by permit condition.
(b)  Maintenance Request. Persons desiring to initiate maintenance work on a project pursuant to the maintenance provisions of an existing permit shall file a request two weeks prior to the initiation of maintenance work with:
Department of Environmental Quality
Division of Coastal Management
400 Commerce Avenue
Morehead City, NC 28557
(c)  Such requests shall include:
(1)	the name and address of the permittee;
(2)	the number of the original permit;
(3)	a description of proposed changes;
(4)	in the case of a dredge and fill maintenance request, a statement that no dimensional changes are proposed;
(5)	a copy of the original permit plat with cross-hatching indicating the area to be maintained, any area to be used as spoil, and the estimated amount of material to be removed; and
(6)	the date of map revision and the applicant's signature shown anew on the original plat.
(d)  Conditions for Maintenance. All work undertaken pursuant to the maintenance provisions of a permit shall comply with the following conditions:
(1)	Maintenance work under a major development permit shall be limited to activities which are within the exemptions set forth by the Commission.
(2)	Maintenance under a dredge and fill permit shall be limited to excavation and filling which is necessary to maintain the project dimensions as found in the original permit.
(3)	Maintenance work is subject to all the conditions included in the original permit.
(4)	Spoil disposal shall be in the same locations as authorized in the original permit, provided that the person requesting the authority to maintain a project may request a different spoil disposal site if he or she first serves a copy of the maintenance request on all adjoining landowners.
(5)	The maintenance work is subject to any conditions determined by the Department to be necessary to protect the public interest with respect to the factors enumerated in G.S. 113A120 or G.S. 113229.
(e)  The Division of Coastal Management may suspend or revoke the right to maintain a project in whole or in part upon a finding:
(1)	that the project area has been put to a different use from that indicated in the original permit application; 
[bookmark: _Hlk75865767][bookmark: _Hlk75781246](2)	that there has been a change in the impacts associated with the permitted development affecting coastal resources listed in G.S. 113A-113 or G.S. 113A-120(a) that would justify denial of a permit; or
(3)	that there has been a violation of any of the terms or conditions of the original permit.
(f)  Grant or Denial of Maintenance Request
(1)	Upon receipt of a complete maintenance request the Division of Coastal Management shall determine if there are grounds for revocation or suspension of the applicant's right to maintain based on the criteria in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. If there are grounds for revocation or suspension the applicant shall be notified of the suspension or revocation by certified mail, return receipt requested setting forth the findings on which the revocation or suspension is based.
(2)	If the Division of Coastal Management determines that the right to maintain should not be revoked or based on the criteria in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, a letter shall be issued which shall authorize the applicant to perform maintenance work. The letter shall set forth the terms and conditions under which the maintenance work is authorized.
(3)	If the maintenance request discloses changes in the dimensions of the original project, the Division of Coastal Management shall notify the applicant that a permit modification or renewal shall be required pursuant to the procedure set out in 15A NCAC 07J .0404 and .0405.
(4)	Appeal of the Division of Coastal Management action under this Section shall be in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .0302.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A103(5)c; 113A120(b); 113A-124(c)(8);
Eff. March 15, 1978;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; March 1, 1985; November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A NCAC 07J .0410	RESTORATION/MITIGATION
Any violation involving development that is inconsistent with rules for development within AECs, i.e. wetland fill, improper location of a structure, shall result in a notice of restoration from the Secretary or its delegate or a local government. The notice shall describe the extent of restoration necessary to recover lost resources, or to prevent further resource damage and a time for its completion. Failure to complete the restoration described in the notice may result in a court order as described in G.S. 113126(a) and (b). Failure to act to complete the required restoration may be determined to constitute a separate violation, according to G.S. 113126(d)(2), subject to the penalties in Rule .0409 of this Section. Any resources that cannot be recovered by restoration of the affected site shall be replaced in compliance with the goals of the Commission's mitigation policy described in 15A NCAC 07M .0701. 

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A126; 113A124(c); 113A-124(c)(8);
Eff. July 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A NCAC 07K .0207	STRUCTURAL ACCESSWAYS OVER FRONTAL DUNES EXEMPTED
(a)  The North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission exempts from the CAMA permit requirement all structural pedestrian accessways over frontal dunes which can be shown to meet the following criteria:
(1)	The accessway shall not exceed six feet in width and shall be for private residential or for public access to an ocean beach. This exemption does not apply to accessways for commercial use or for motorpowered vehicular use.
(2)	The accessway shall be constructed so as to make no alterations to the frontal dunes that are not necessary to construct the accessway. This means that the accessway shall be constructed over the frontal dune without any alteration of the dunes. In no case shall the dune be altered so as to diminish its capacity as a protective barrier against flooding and by not reducing the volume of the dune. Driving of pilings into the dune shall not be considered alteration of a frontal dune for the purposes of this Rule.
(3)	The accessway shall conform with any applicable local or State building code standards.
(b)  Before beginning any work under this exemption the CAMA local permit officer or Division of Quality representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow onsite review of the proposed accessway. Notification can be by telephone, in person, or in writing and must include:
(1)	name, address, and telephone number of landowner and location of work including county and nearest community; and
(2)	the dimensions of the proposed structural accessway.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A103(5)c;
Eff. November 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.

15A NCAC 07K .0208	SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES EXEMPTED
(a)  All single family residences constructed within the Coastal Shorelines Area of Environmental Concern that are more than 40 feet landward of normal high water or normal water level, and involve no land disturbing activity within the 40 feet buffer area are exempted from the CAMA permit requirement as long as this exemption is consistent with all other applicable CAMA permit standards and local land use plans and rules in effect at the time the exemption is granted.
(b)  This exemption allows for the construction of a generally shore perpendicular access to the water, provided that the access shall be no wider than six feet. The access may be constructed out of materials such as wood, composite material, gravel, paver stones, concrete, brick, or similar materials. Any access constructed over wetlands shall be elevated at least three feet above any wetland substrate as measured from the bottom of the decking.
(c)  Within the AEC for estuarine shorelines contiguous to waters classified as Outstanding Resource Waters (ORW), no CAMA permit shall be required if the proposed development is a singlefamily residence that has a built upon area of 25 percent or less and is at least 40 feet from waters classified as ORW.
(d)  Before beginning any work under this exemption, the CAMA local permit officer or the Department of Environmental Quality representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow onsite review. Notification may be by telephone at (252) 808-2808, in person, or in writing to the North Carolina Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 28557. Notification shall include:
(1)	the name, address, and telephone number of the landowner and the location of the work, including the county, nearest community, and water body; and
(2)	the dimensions of the proposed project, including proposed landscaping and the location of normal high water or normal water level.
(e)  In eroding areas, this exemption shall apply only when the local permit officer has determined that the house has been located the maximum feasible distance back on the lot but not less than forty feet.
(f)  Construction of the structure authorized by this exemption shall be completed by December 31 of the third year of the issuance date of this exemption.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 113A103(5)c;
Eff. November 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; May 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021.


TITLE 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions

Chapter 16 – board of Dental Examiners

21 NCAC 16Q .0102	APPLICATION FOR GENERAL ANESTHESIA OR SEDATION PERMIT, PERMIT RENEWAL, AND PERMIT REINSTATEMENT
(a)  An applicant for a general anesthesia or sedation permit shall be licensed and in good standing with the Board.
(b)  All permit applications shall be made on the forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include:
(1)	the full name;
(2)	the mailing address;
(3)	the North Carolina dental license number;
(4)	a telephone number; and
(5)	an email address.
(c)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all applications for a general anesthesia, moderate conscious sedation, moderate pediatric conscious sedation, or minimal conscious sedation permit shall include:
(1)	the addresses of all dental offices where the applicant intends to use general anesthesia or sedation;
(2)	dental education, including dental school name, dates attended, degree received, and any other dental post-graduate education or specialty degrees received;
(3)	a resume or curriculum vitae;
(4)	the names of and copies of unexpired BLS certifications for any auxiliaries that will assist the applicant with general anesthesia or sedation;
(5)	a statement disclosing and explaining any instances of patient mortality or morbidity in connection with applicant's prior use of general anesthesia or sedation; and
(6)	documentation of the required qualifications for the permit for which the applicant is applying, as set out in Rule .0201, .0301, .0404, or .0504 of this Subchapter.
(d)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all applications for an itinerant permit shall include:
(1)	North Carolina general anesthesia or sedation permit number; and
(2)	a statement of compliance with the requirements for the itinerant permit for which the applicant is applying, as set out in Rule .0206, .0304, or .0406 of this Subchapter.
(e)  All applications for renewal of a general anesthesia or sedation permit shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include:
(1)	the full name;
(2)	the permit number and expiration date;
(3)	the addresses of all dental offices where the permit holder uses general anesthesia or sedation; and
(4)	a statement disclosing and explaining any instances of patient mortality or morbidity in connection with use of general anesthesia or sedation that occurred during the calendar year preceding the application and that were not previously disclosed to the Board.
(f)  All applications for reinstatement of a general anesthesia or sedation permit shall be made on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include:
(1)	the full name;
(2)	the permit number and date of issuance;
(3)	the mailing address;
(4)	the North Carolina dental license number;
(5)	the addresses of all dental offices where the applicant intends to use general anesthesia or sedation; and
(6)	a statement disclosing and explaining any instances of patient mortality or morbidity in connection with use of general anesthesia or sedation that occurred during the calendar year preceding the application.
(g)  Any permit obtained through fraud or by any false representation shall be revoked.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1;
Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 16Q .0206	ITINERANT (Mobile) GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, EQUIPMENT AND EVALUATION
(a)  A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit from the Board and who wishes to provide general anesthesia or other sedation services in the office of another practitioner shall obtain a mobile general anesthesia permit from the Board by completing the application requirements of this Rule and paying a one hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and a two-hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. No mobile permit shall be required to administer general anesthesia in a hospital or credentialed surgery center.
(b)  Before a mobile general anesthesia permit may be issued, a general anesthesia permit holder appointed by the Board shall inspect the applicant's equipment and medications to ensure that they comply with Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule.
(c)  The permit holder shall maintain in good working order the following equipment: 
(1)	small, medium, and large supraglottic airways devices;
(2)	small, medium, and large anesthesia circuits;
(3)	rebreathing device;
(4)	scavenging system;
(5)	intermittent compression devices;
(6)	gastric suction device;
(7)	endotracheal tube and pulmonary suction device;
(8)	equipment for performing emergency cricothyrotomies and delivering positive pressure ventilation; and
(9)	the equipment required by Rule .0202(a)(1) of this Section.
(d)  A neuromuscular blocking agent, an anti-malignant hyperthermia agent, and the medications required by Rule .0202(a)(2) of this Section shall be on site, unexpired, and available to the permit holder.
(e)  The evaluation and on-site inspection shall be conducted as set out in Rule .0204 of this Section.
(f)  Prior to administering general anesthesia or sedation at another provider's office, the mobile permit holder shall inspect the host facility within 24 business hours before each procedure and shall ensure that:
(1)	the operatory's size and design permit emergency management and access of emergency equipment and personnel;
(2)	there is a CPR board or dental chair without enhancements suitable for providing emergency treatment;
(3)	there is lighting to permit performance of all procedures planned for the facility;
(4)	there is suction equipment, including non-electrical back-up suction; and
(5)	the facility shall be staffed with at least two BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be dedicated to patient monitoring and recording general anesthesia or sedation data throughout the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is dedicated to patient care and monitoring regarding general anesthesia or sedation throughout the sedation procedure and is not performing the surgery or other dental procedure.
(g)  Upon inspection, the permit holder shall document that the facility where the general anesthesia or sedation procedure will be performed was inspected and that it met the requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The permit holder shall retain the inspection and compliance record required by this Paragraph for 10 years following the procedure and provide these records to the Board upon request.
(h)  The mobile general anesthesia permit shall be displayed in the host facility where it is visible to patients receiving treatment.
(i)  All applicants for mobile general anesthesia permit shall be in good standing with the Board.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48;
Eff. June 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 16Q .0207	ANNUAL RENEWAL OF GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND ITinERANT (Mobile) GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT REQUIRED
[bookmark: _Hlk481932993][bookmark: _Hlk59021281][bookmark: _Hlk59021302][bookmark: _Hlk59021843](a)  General anesthesia permits and itinerant general anesthesia permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and complete the renewal application requirements of this Rule. If the completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
[bookmark: _Hlk59023999](b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a general anesthesia permit or itinerant general anesthesia permit before March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with all conditions for renewal set out in this Rule. Dentists whose general anesthesia permits or itinerant general anesthesia permits have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process in accordance with Rules .0202 and .0204 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(c)  A dentist who administers general anesthesia in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter.
(d)  As a condition for renewal of the general anesthesia permit and itinerant general anesthesia permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical equipment and requirements set out in Rule .0202 of this Section, the itinerant general anesthesia permit holder shall also meet the clinical equipment and requirements set out in Rule .0206 of this Section, and the permit holder shall document the following:
(1)	six hours of continuing education each year in one or more of the following areas, which shall be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing education required each calendar year for license renewal:
(A)	sedation;
(B)	medical emergencies;
(C)	monitoring IV sedation and the use of monitoring equipment;
(D)	pharmacology of drugs and agents used in general anesthesia and IV sedation;
(E)	physical evaluation, risk assessment, or behavioral management; or
(F)	airway management;
(2)	unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not count towards the six hours of continuing education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule;
(3)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures have practiced responding to dental emergencies as a team at least once every six months in the preceding year;
[bookmark: _Hlk481933168](4)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures have read the practice's emergency manual in the preceding year; and
(5)	that all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have completed BLS certification and three hours of continuing education annually in any of the areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule.
(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders applying for renewal of a general anesthesia permit or itinerant general anesthesia permit shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection by the Board.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 90-48;
Eff. June 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 16Q .0305	ANNUAL RENEWAL of MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIRED
[bookmark: _Hlk481935494](a)  Moderate conscious sedation permits and itinerant moderate conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and complete the renewal application requirements in this Rule. If the completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
[bookmark: _Hlk494190828](b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a moderate conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit before March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with all conditions for renewal set out in this Rule. Dentists whose moderate conscious sedation permits or itinerant moderate conscious sedation permits have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process in accordance with Rules .0302 and .0306 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(c)  A dentist who administers moderate conscious sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter.
(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate conscious sedation permit and itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment requirements set out in Rule .0302 of this Section, the itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit holder shall also meet the clinical and equipment requirements set out in Rule .0304 of this Section, and the permit holder shall document the following:
(1)	six hours of continuing education each year in one or more of the following areas, which shall be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing education required each calendar year for license renewal:
(A)	sedation;
(B)	medical emergencies;
(C)	monitoring IV sedation and the use of monitoring equipment;
(D)	pharmacology of drugs and agents used in IV sedation;
(E)	physical evaluation, risk assessment, or behavioral management; or
(F)	airway management;
(2)	unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not count towards the six hours of continuing education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule;
(3)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have practiced responding to dental emergencies as a team at least once every six months in the preceding year;
(4)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have read the practice's emergency manual in the preceding year; and
(5)	that all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have completed BLS certification and three hours of continuing education annually in any of the areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule.
(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders applying for renewal of a moderate conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection by the Board.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 90-48;
Eff. June 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 16Q .0407	ANNUAL RENEWAL OF MODERATE PEDIATRIC CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIRED
[bookmark: _Hlk481937123](a)  Moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits and itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and complete the renewal application requirements in this Rule. If the completed renewal application and renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
[bookmark: _Hlk494199230](b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit before March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with all conditions for renewal set out in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule. Dentists whose moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process in accordance with Rules .0405 and .0408 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(c)  A dentist who administers moderate pediatric conscious sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter.
(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit and itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment requirements of Rule .0405 of this Section, the itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder shall also meet the clinical and equipment requirements of Rule .0406 of this Section, and the permit holder shall document the following:
(1)	six hours of continuing education each year in one or more of the following areas, which shall be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing education required each calendar year for license renewal:
(A)	sedation;
(B)	medical emergencies;
(C)	monitoring IV sedation and the use of monitoring equipment;
(D)	pharmacology of drugs and agents used in IV sedation;
(E)	physical evaluation, risk assessment, or behavioral management; or
(F)	airway management;
(2)	unexpired PALS certification, which shall not count towards the six hours of continuing education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule;
(3)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have practiced responding to dental emergencies as a team at least once every six months in the preceding year;
(4)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have read the practice's emergency manual in the preceding year; and
(5)	that all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have completed BLS certification and three hours of continuing education annually in any of the areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule.
(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders applying for renewal of a moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection by the Board.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 90-48;
Eff. June 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 16Q .0504	MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CREDENTIALS AND PERMIT
(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer or an RN employed to deliver minimal conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a Board-issued permit for minimal conscious sedation, moderate pediatric conscious sedation, moderate conscious sedation, or general anesthesia. A dentist may obtain a minimal conscious sedation permit from the Board by completing the application requirements of this Rule and paying a fee of three-hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes the one-hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be renewed annually and shall be displayed with the current renewal at all times in the facility of the permit holder where it is visible to patients receiving treatment.
(b)  The minimal conscious sedation permit holder shall ensure the level of the sedation administered does not exceed minimal conscious sedation as defined in Rule .0101(27) of this Subchapter.
(c)  An applicant for a minimal conscious sedation permit shall submit to the Board:
(1)	a completed application form provided by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the information and materials required by Rule .0102(b) and (c) of this Subchapter;
(2)	a copy of an unexpired ACLS certification; and
(3)	documentation showing completion of one of the following:
(A)	an 18-hour minimal conscious sedation course from the list, available on the Board's website, of sedation courses reviewed at any public Board meeting and approved by a majority of the Board based on its collective experience; or
(B)	a post-doctoral program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) that provides training in administering and managing minimal conscious sedation. A list of CODA-accredited programs is available at no cost at www.ada.org/coda and is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions.
(d)  Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious sedation permit, the applicant shall pass an evaluation and facility inspection in accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this Section.
(e)  An applicant shall submit the fee set out in Paragraph (a) and satisfy all requirements in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule for the application to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded without a refund of the fee.
(f)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39;
Temporary Adoption Eff. March 13, 2003; December 11, 2002;
Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. July 3, 2008;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2019;
Recodified from 21 NCAC 16Q .0401 Eff. November 9, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 16Q .0505	MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS AND EQUIPMENT
(a)  A permit holder administering minimal conscious sedation or supervising a CRNA employed to administer or RN employed to deliver minimal conscious sedation shall ensure that the facility where the sedation is administered meets the following requirements:
(1)	The facility shall be equipped with the following:
(A)	an operatory of size and design to permit access of emergency equipment and personnel and to permit emergency management;
(B)	a CPR board or a dental chair without enhancements, suitable for providing emergency treatment;
(C)	lighting as necessary for specific procedures and back-up lighting;
(D)	suction equipment as necessary for specific procedures, including non-electrical back-up suction;
(E)	positive pressure oxygen delivery system, including full face masks for small, medium, and large patients and back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen tank apart from the central system;
(F)	small, medium, and large oral and nasal airways;
(G)	blood pressure monitoring device;
(H)	pulse oximeter;
(I)	automatic external defibrillator (AED);
(J)	thermometer;
(K)	tonsillar suction with back-up suction; and
(L)	syringes as necessary for specific procedures.
(2)	The following unexpired drugs shall be maintained in the facility and with access from the operatory and recovery rooms:
(A)	epinephrine;
(B)	oral antihistamine;
(C)	bronchodilator;
(D)	antihypoglycemic agent;
(E)	appropriate reversal agents; and
(F)	nitroglycerine.
(3)	The permit holder shall maintain written emergency and patient discharge protocols. The permit holder shall also provide training to familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of clinical emergencies.
(4)	The permit holder shall maintain the following records for at least 10 years:
(A)	patient's current written medical history and pre-operative assessment;
(B)	drugs administered during the procedure, including route of administration, dosage, strength, time, and sequence of administration; and
(C)	a sedation record.
(5)	The sedation record shall include:
(A)	base line vital signs, blood pressure (unless patient behavior prevents recording), oxygen saturation, pulse and respiration rates of the patient recorded in real time at 15-minute intervals;
(B)	procedure start and end times;
(C)	status of patient upon discharge;
(D)	documentation of complications or morbidity; and
(E)	a consent form, signed by the patient or guardian, identifying the procedure, risks and benefits, level of sedation, and date signed.
(6)	During a sedation procedure, the facility shall be staffed with at least two BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be involved in patient monitoring. This Subparagraph shall not apply if the permit holder is dedicated to patient care and monitoring regarding sedation throughout the sedation procedure and is not performing the surgery or other dental procedure.
(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate the administration of minimal sedation on a patient while the evaluator observes. During the demonstration, the applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate competency in the following areas:
(1)	monitoring blood pressure, pulse, pulse oximetry, and respiration;
(2)	drug dosage and administration;
(3)	treatment of untoward reactions, including respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable;
(4)	sterile technique;
(5)	use of BLS certified auxiliaries;
(6)	monitoring of patient during recovery; and
(7)	sufficiency of patient recovery time.
(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate competency to the evaluator in the treatment of the following clinical emergencies:
(1)	laryngospasm;
(2)	bronchospasm;
(3)	emesis and aspiration;
(4)	respiratory depression and arrest;
(5)	angina pectoris;
(6)	myocardial infarction;
(7)	hypertension and hypotension;
(8)	allergic reactions;
(9)	convulsions;
(10)	syncope;
(11)	bradycardia;
(12)	hypoglycemia;
(13)	cardiac arrest; and
(14)	airway obstruction.
(d)  During the evaluation, the applicant shall take a written examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. The applicant must obtain a passing score on the written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination questions correctly. If the applicant fails to obtain a passing score on the written examination that is administered during the evaluation, he or she may be reexamined in accordance with Rule .0507(h) of this Section.
(e)  A minimal conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate each patient for health risks before starting any sedation procedure as follows:
(1)	The permit holder shall review the patient's current medical history and medication use and, if the permit holder considers it clinically necessary, the permit holder shall consult with the patient's treating medical provider.
(2)	A patient who is not medically stable or who is ASA III or higher shall be evaluated further by the permit holder's consultation with the patient's treating primary care physician or medical specialist regarding the potential risks posed by the procedure the permit holder plans to perform.
(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge:
(1)	The permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary under his or her direct supervision shall monitor the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation procedure until the patient is recovered as defined in Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and is ready for discharge from the office.
(2)	Recovery from minimal conscious sedation shall include documentation of the following:
(A)	cardiovascular function stable;
(B)	airway patency uncompromised;
(C)	patient arousable and protective reflexes intact;
(D)	state of hydration within normal limits;
(E)	patient can talk, if applicable;
(F)	patient can sit unaided, if applicable;
(G)	patient can ambulate, if applicable, with minimal assistance; and
(H)	for the special needs patient or patient incapable of the usually expected responses, the pre-sedation level of responsiveness or the level as close as possible for that patient shall be achieved.
(3)	Prior to allowing the patient to leave the office, the permit holder shall determine that the patient has met the recovery criteria set out in Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the following discharge criteria:
(A)	oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin color, and level of consciousness are stable and have been documented;
(B)	explanation and documentation of written postoperative instructions have been provided to the patient or a person responsible for the patient at the time of discharge; and
(C)	a person authorized by the patient is available to transport the patient after discharge.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1;
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 11, 2002;
Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. July 3, 2008;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019;
Recodified from 21 NCAC 16Q .0402 Eff. November 9, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 16Q .0506	ANNUAL RENEWAL of MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIRED
(a)  Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses by the permit holder paying a renewal fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and completing the renewal application requirements of this Rule. If the completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not received in the Board's office before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
[bookmark: _Hlk59018577](b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a minimal conscious sedation permit before midnight on March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph (a), and comply with all conditions for renewal set out this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process in accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(c)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter.
(d)  As a condition for renewal of the minimal conscious sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment requirements of Rule .0505 of this Section and shall document the following:
(1)	three hours of continuing education each year in one or more of the following areas, which shall be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing education required each calendar year for license renewal:
(A)	sedation;
(B)	medical emergencies;
(C)	monitoring sedation and the use of monitoring equipment;
(D)	pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation;
(E)	physical evaluation, risk assessment, or behavioral management; or
(F)	airway management;
(2)	unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not count towards the three hours of continuing education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule;
(3)	that the permit holder and all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have read the practice's emergency manual in the preceding year; and
(4)	that all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures have completed BLS certification and, within the past two years, completed three hours of continuing education in any of the areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule.
(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders applying for renewal of a minimal conscious sedation permit shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection as set out in Rule .0507 of this Section.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39;
Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 ncac 16q .0507	PROCEDURE FOR MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION OR INSPECTION and Re-INSPECTION
(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the Board shall designate one or more persons to serve as evaluators, each of whom has administered sedation or general anesthesia in accordance with this Subchapter for at least three years preceding the inspection. Training in minimal conscious sedation or other levels of sedation shall not be counted in the three years.
(b)  The inspection fee set out in Rule .0504(a) of this Section shall be paid no later than 10 days after the applicant or permit holder receives notice of the inspection for each additional location at which the applicant or permit holder administers minimal conscious sedation.
(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in any evaluation or inspection.
(d)  Each evaluator shall determine compliance with the requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by assigning a recommended grade of "pass" or "fail."
(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the Board through the Board member serving as the Chair of the Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee Chair shall not be bound by these recommendations. The Committee Chair shall determine whether the applicant or permit holder has passed the evaluation or inspection and shall notify the applicant or permit holder in writing of its decision.
(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not receive a permit to administer minimal conscious sedation. If a permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further minimal conscious sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility until it passes a re-inspection by the Board.
(g)  An applicant or permit holder who fails an inspection or evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the Board in writing and shall include a statement of the grounds supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require the applicant or permit holder to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation to address the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for additional training.
[bookmark: _Hlk63255801](h)  An applicant who failed the written examination portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written examination. Any applicant who failed the written portion of the examination three times shall complete an additional Board-approved course of study in the areas of deficiency and provide the Board evidence of the additional study before written reexamination.
(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation or inspection.
(j)  An applicant must satisfy all the requirements of Rule .0505 of this Section, including passing the written examination, evaluation, and inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the Board.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 9030.1; 90-39;
Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Chapter 32 - Medical Board

21 NCAC 32M .0109	PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY
(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of medications.
(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows:
(1)	Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall be included in the collaborative practice agreement as outlined in Rule .0110(2) of this Section.
(2)	Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, prescribed, or ordered as established in the collaborative practice agreement, providing all of the following requirements are met:
(A)	the nurse practitioner has an assigned DEA number that is entered on each prescription for a controlled substance;
(B)	refills may be issued consistent with Controlled Substance laws and regulations; and
(C)	the primary supervising physician(s) shall possess a schedule(s) of controlled substances equal to or greater than the nurse practitioner's DEA registration.
(3)	The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or device not included in the collaborative practice agreement only as follows:
(A)	upon a specific written or verbal order obtained from a primary or back-up supervising physician before the prescription or order is issued by the nurse practitioner; and
(B)	the written or verbal order as described in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be entered into the patient record with a notation that it is issued on the specific order of a primary or back-up supervising physician and signed by the nurse practitioner and the physician.
(4)	Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's chart and include the following information:
(A)	medication and dosage;
(B)	amount prescribed;
(C)	directions for use;
(D)	number of refills; and
(E)	signature of nurse practitioner.
(5)	Prescription Format:
(A)	All prescriptions issued by the nurse practitioner shall contain the name of the patient and the nurse practitioner's name and telephone number;
(B)	The nurse practitioner's assigned DEA number shall be written on the prescription form when a controlled substance is prescribed as defined in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.
(6)	A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, as defined by the State and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the following:
(A)	nurse practitioner's own use;
(B)	nurse practitioner's supervising physician;
(C)	a member of the nurse practitioner's immediate family, which shall mean a:
(i)	spouse;
(ii)	parent;
(iii)	child;
(iv)	sibling;
(v)	parent-in-law;
(vi)	son or daughter-in-law;
(vii)	brother or sister-in-law;
(viii)	step-parent;
(ix)	step-child; or
(x)	step-siblings;
(D)	any other person living in the same residence as the licensee; or
(E)	anyone with whom the nurse practitioner is having a physical, sexual, or emotionally intimate relationship.
(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2;
Eff. February 1, 1991;
Recodified from 21 NCAC 32M .0106 Eff. January 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; November 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996; September 1, 1994; March 1, 1994;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; March 1, 2017.
21 NCAC 32M .0117	REPORTING CRITERIA
(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services ("Department") may report to the North Carolina Board of Nursing ("Board") information regarding the prescribing practices of those nurse practitioners ("prescribers") whose prescribing:
(1)	falls within the top two percent of those prescribing 100 morphine milligram equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or
(2)	falls within the top two percent of those prescribing 100 MMEs per patient per day in combination with any benzodiazepine and who are within the top one percent of all controlled substance prescribers by volume.
(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board information regarding prescribers who have had two or more patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days of the patient deaths.
(c)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each criterion:
(1)	at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater from the prescriber's practice location;
(2)	the prescriber had more than 25 percent of patients receiving the same opioids and benzodiazepine combination;
(3)	the prescriber had 75 percent of patients receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions;
(4)	the prescriber had 90 percent or more of patients in a three-month period that received an opioid prescription that overlapped with another opioid prescription for at least one week;
(5)	more than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater per day excluding office-based treatment medications; and
(6)	the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients who used three or more pharmacies within a three-month period to obtain opioids regardless of the prescriber.
(d)  The Department may submit these reports to the Board upon request and may include the information described in G.S. 90-113.73(b).
(e)  The reports and communications between the Department and the Board shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-113.74.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-113.74;
Eff. April 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; May 1, 2018.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Chapter 36 – board of Nursing

21 NCAC 36 .0809	PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY
(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of medications.
(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows:
(1)	Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall be included in the collaborative practice agreement as outlined in Rule .0810(2) of this Section.
(2)	Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, prescribed, or ordered as established in the collaborative practice agreement, providing all of the following requirements are met:
(A)	the nurse practitioner has an assigned DEA number that is entered on each prescription for a controlled substance;
(B)	refills may be issued consistent with Controlled Substance laws and regulations; and
(C)	the primary supervising physician(s) shall possess a schedule(s) of controlled substances equal to or greater than the nurse practitioner's DEA registration.
(3)	The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or device not included in the collaborative practice agreement only as follows:
(A)	upon a specific written or verbal order obtained from a primary or back-up supervising physician before the prescription or order is issued by the nurse practitioner; and
(B)	the written or verbal order as described in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be entered into the patient record with a notation that it is issued on the specific order of a primary or back-up supervising physician and signed by the nurse practitioner and the physician.
(4)	Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's chart and include the following information:
(A)	medication and dosage;
(B)	amount prescribed;
(C)	directions for use;
(D)	number of refills; and
(E)	signature of nurse practitioner.
(5)	Prescription Format:
(A)	all prescriptions issued by the nurse practitioner shall contain the name of the patient and the nurse practitioner's name and telephone number;
(B)	the nurse practitioner's assigned DEA number shall be written on the prescription form when a controlled substance is prescribed as defined in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.
(6)	A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, as defined by the State and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the following:
(A)	nurse practitioner's own use;
(B)	nurse practitioner's supervising physician;
(C)	member of the nurse practitioner's immediate family, which shall mean a:
(i)	spouse;
(ii)	parent;
(iii)	child;
(iv)	sibling;
(v)	parent-in-law;
(vi)	son or daughter-in-law;
(vii)	brother or sister-in-law;
(viii)	step-parent;
(ix)	step-child; or
(x)	step-siblings;
(D)	any other person living in the same residence as the licensee; or
(E)	anyone with whom the nurse practitioner is having a physical, sexual, or emotionally intimate relationship.
(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14);
Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(h) Eff. August 1, 2004;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; November 1, 2008; August 1, 2004;
[bookmark: _Hlk531780540]Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Chapter 46 – board of Pharmacy

21 NCAC 46 .2801	COMPOUNDING
(a)  A pharmacy may dispense a compounded drug preparation to a patient only pursuant to a prescription that is valid and complies with all requirements of the law, including 21 NCAC 46 .1801. In advance of dispensing the compounded drug preparation, a pharmacy shall prepare the compounded drug preparation only:
(1)	upon the pharmacy's receipt of a valid prescription order for an individual patient; or
(2)	in anticipation of a prescription order based on an established history of receiving prescription orders for the compounded drug preparation. Any compounded drug preparation prepared in anticipation of a prescription order shall not be dispensed until the pharmacy receives a valid prescription order for an individual patient.
(b)  Compounded drug preparations shall not be offered to other entities for resale.
(c)  A pharmacy may supply compounded drug products to practitioners authorized by law to prescribe drugs for those practitioners to administer to those practitioners' patients. Such compounding for office use shall comply with applicable federal law.
(d)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of non-sterile compounded drug preparations shall comply with the standards established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <795>, including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards incorporated into chapter <795> by reference and including all subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both the non-sterile compounded drug preparations and the physical and environmental conditions under which non-sterile compounded drug preparations are prepared, labeled, and dispensed.
(e)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of sterile compounded preparations shall comply with standards established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <797>, including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards incorporated into chapter <797> by reference and including all subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both the sterile compounded products and the physical and environmental conditions under which sterile compounded products are prepared, labeled, and dispensed.
(f)  A pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses sterile compounded preparations shall maintain a reference library in the pharmacy including the current United States Pharmacopeia standards and references on the compatibility, stability, storage, handling, and preparation of compounded drugs. These references may be either hard copy or electronically accessible.
(g)  In a pharmacy where compounded drug preparations are prepared, labeled, or dispensed, the pharmacist-manager or the pharmacist-manager's designated pharmacist shall be knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing, labeling, and dispensing compounded drug preparations. If the pharmacist-manager chooses to designate another pharmacist for this purpose, the pharmacist-manager shall notify the Board on the pharmacy's permit application and within 15 days of any change in the designation. Notwithstanding the pharmacist-manager's designation of another pharmacist as knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing, labeling, and dispensing compounded drug preparations, the pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for ensuring the pharmacy's compliance with all statutes, rules, and standards that govern such activities.
(h)  In addition to complying with all recordkeeping and labeling requirements specified or referred to by United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797>, a pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall create and maintain a record-keeping system that enables the pharmacy immediately upon request to identify every compounded drug preparation prepared, labeled, or dispensed in the past three years. This recordkeeping system may be created and maintained electronically in compliance with 21 NCAC 46 .2508.
(i)  The pharmacist-manager of a pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall comply with all quality assurance requirements and standards of United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> and <797>.
(j)  Between January 1 and March 31 of each year, any pharmacy permitted by the Board that has prepared, labeled, or dispensed any compounded drug (for any patient or other person, either within or outside North Carolina) during the immediately preceding calendar year shall update all information regarding its services in the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy's e-Profile Connect system at https://dashboard.nabp.pharmacy. 
(k)  In addition to the requirements of this Section, the compounding of radiopharmaceutical drug products shall comply with Section .2700 of this Chapter.
(l)  United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797> may be inspected at the offices of the Board during its normal hours of operation. Copies also may be obtained from the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (www.usp.org), as a free download as of the effective date of the last amendment to this Rule.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21A; 90-85.26; 90-85.32;
Eff. October 1, 1990;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2003;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Chapter 48 – board of Physical Therapy Examiners

21 NCAC 48D .0107	PERSONS REFUSED EXAMINATION PERMISSION
(a)  The Board shall refuse permission to take the examination to any person who:
(1)	Does not meet the requirements as set forth in the Physical Therapy Practice Act;
(2)	Furnishes false information to the Board on the application; or
(3)	Fails to furnish personal background information as required by these Rules.
(b)  The Board and Federation have authority to approve an applicant's exam eligibility. The Board shall approve exam eligibility for foreign-trained applicants. The Federation shall grant exam eligibility for all other applicants as set forth in National Physical Therapy Examination policies, which are available free of charge at the Board's office and at www.fsbpt.org.
(c)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the examination shall be entitled to petition the Board for a contested case hearing pursuant to Subchapter 48G, Section .0500 of this Chapter.
(d)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the examination by the Federation has the option to appeal using the policies set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.97; 90-270.100; 90-270.103;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; December 30, 1985;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 48D .0109	RETAKING EXAMINATION
(a)  Arrangements for Retake. To retake the examination, the applicant shall notify the Board in writing, and pay the retake fee as specified in 21 NCAC 48F .0102. The examination cost as set forth by the Federation (www.fsbpt.org) is hereby incorporated by reference and includes subsequent amendments and editions. If the Federation approves exam eligibility, the Federation shall administer the retake process according to NPTE policies, which may be found at www.fsbpt.org.
(b)  Limitations. An applicant shall be limited to taking the examination the number of times allowed by the Federation as indicated on the Federation's website (www.fsbpt.org).

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.97; 90-270.100;
Emergency Regulation Eff. July 23, 1979, for a period of 120 days to expire on November 20, 1979;
Made Permanent Eff. November 20, 1979;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; February 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1988;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 48D .0111	APPLICANTS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS
Examination candidates who need special accommodations for the examination as a result of a medical or physical disability shall file an Accommodation Request Form and supporting documentation with the Executive Director at least 60 days before the examination date in order for the request to be considered by the Board. If the Federation grants exam eligibility, the accommodation request shall be made pursuant to Federation testing accommodation policy, which may be found at www.fsbpt.org.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.92; P.L. 101-336;
Eff. October 1, 1995;
Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

21 NCAC 48E .0101	FILING APPLICATION AND BOARD DETERMINATION OF EXAM ELIGIBILITY
(a)  An applicant for licensure shall ensure that his or her credentials are filed with the Executive Director in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter.
(b)  Applicants pursuant to G.S. 90-270.97 shall submit all application requirements to the Executive Director at least 30 days prior to the examination.
(c)  The Board shall not approve an application until the applicant has graduated as defined by 21 NCAC 48A .0105(6).

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.98(b);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;
Amended Eff. May 1, 1988; December 30, 1985; October 28, 1979;
Recodified Paragraph (c) to 21 NCAC 48C .0501 Eff. January 25, 1989;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1,
2018;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2020;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Chapter 63 - Social Work Certification board 

21 NCAC 63 .0211	WORK EXPERIENCE
(a)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(d)(2) for the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential:
(1)	Two years of post-MSW clinical social work experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of work or employment for a fee or salary while engaged in the practice of clinical social work as defined in G.S. 90B-3(6). The 3,000 hours shall be accumulated over a period of time not less than two years nor more than six consecutive years. Practicum or internship experience gained as part of any educational program shall not be included. Pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1(a), military applicants may receive credit for military occupational specialty experience obtained post MSW degree and deemed substantially equivalent to clinical social work practice as defined in this Chapter.
(2)	Appropriate supervision shall mean supervision by a MSW who is also a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and who is in good standing with the Board. A supervisor disciplined by any professional credentialing body or professional organization by legal order, or who has been found by legal order to have violated the provisions of an occupational licensing Board may not provide supervision to an associate licensee without the written permission of the Board. The Licensed Clinical Social Worker Associate's (LCSWA) clinical social work supervisor shall have an additional two years of clinical social work experience post LCSW licensure.
(3)	Appropriate supervision shall be that which is provided on a regular basis, conducted no less than once every two weeks, with at least one hour of supervision during every 30 hours of experience. A minimum of 100 hours of supervision is required. All work experience must be clinical social work as defined by G.S. 90B-3(6) to qualify as work experience for purposes of G.S. 90B-7(d)(2). Appropriate supervision may be individual or group supervision. Individual supervision shall mean one on one, face-to-face supervision by a MSW who is also a LCSW where the supervisor reviews and discusses clinical social work cases, reviews documentation, and provides evaluative comments and direction to the LCSWA. Group supervision shall mean face-to-face supervision provided by a MSW who is also a LCSW in a group setting, during which the supervisor reviews and discusses clinical social work cases, reviews documentation, and provides feedback and direction to each LCSWA in the group. A maximum of 25 hours of group supervision may be applied toward meeting the supervision requirements for the LCSW.
(4)	Unless otherwise preapproved by the Board, no more than 50 hours of supervision may be provided through the use of technology. The clinical supervisor may seek approval by providing a written request to the Board. The request shall include the parties' information, including name, license number, and business address; and the circumstances for which the additional hours are needed. Approval of the request shall be determined on a case by case basis, based upon the circumstances provided in the request. All supervision provided through the use of technology shall be synchronous, involve visual and audio interactions throughout the entire session, and shall take place in such a manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the communication.
(b)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(2) for the Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) credential:
(1)	Two years of post social work degree experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of employment for a salary while engaged in administrative social work duties including, policy and budgetary development and implementation, supervision and management, program evaluation, planning, and staff development. Such duties shall be carried out in an administrative setting where social work or other mental health services are delivered. The 3,000 hours shall be accumulated over a period of time not less than two years nor more than six consecutive years. Practicum or internship experience gained as part of any educational program shall not be included.
(2)	Appropriate supervision shall mean face-to-face supervision by a social work administrator certified or licensed by the Board who has a minimum of two years of administrative experience in a social work or mental health setting. Appropriate supervision shall be that which is provided on a regular basis, conducted no less than once every two weeks throughout the applicant's two years of administrative social work experience. A minimum of 100 hours of supervision is required. A maximum of 50 hours of group supervision may be applied toward meeting the supervision requirements for the CSWM. No more than 50 hours of supervision may be provided through the use of technology. All supervision provided through the use of technology shall be synchronous, involve visual and audio interaction throughout the entire session, and shall take place in such a manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the communication.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1999;
Eff. July 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; January 1, 2009; September 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2017;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.


TITLE 26 - Office of Administrative Hearings

26 NCAC 01 .0103	COST TO PUBLIC
(a)  Copies of any public records filed in the Office of Administrative Hearings are available at the "actual cost" as defined in G.S. 132-6.2(b). The Office of Administrative Hearings shall provide its "actual cost" on the Office of Administrative Hearings website.
(b)  There is no charge to the requesting party unless the actual cost is equal to or exceeds ten dollars ($10.00). 

History Note:	Authority G.S. 7A-751; 132-6.2; 150B-19; 150B-21.25; 150B-37;
Eff. August 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1990; January 1, 1989;
Recodified from 26 NCAC 1 .0001 Eff. January 1, 1991;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; May 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; February 1, 1994; August 2, 1993;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

26 NCAC 03 .0123	OFFICIAL RECORD
(a)  The official record of a contested case shall be available for public inspection upon request. An administrative law judge may, consistent with law, order all or part of an official record sealed.
(b)  The official record shall be prepared in accordance with G.S. 150B37(a).
(c)  Contested case hearings shall be recorded either by a hearing assistant provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings or a court reporter listed by the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts as authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of proceedings held in the courts of all counties procured directly by one or more parties to the contested case. 
(d)  If a contested case hearing is cancelled, the party responsible for the cancellation shall provide a 24-hour cancellation notice to the other parties in all cases in which a hearing assistant is provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
(e)  Transcripts of proceedings held in the Office of Administrative Hearings shall be made only upon request of a party. When proceedings are recorded by a court reporter, transcript requests shall be made directly to the court reporter. When proceedings are recorded by a hearing assistant, transcript requests shall be made directly to a transcriptionist listed by the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts as authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of proceedings held in the courts of all counties. 
(f)  A party who orders a transcript shall use an Office of Administrative Hearings Transcript Contract form to order the transcript, which shall include the following information:
(1)	case name and number;
(2)	requestor information; and
(3)	transcriptionist information.
That form is available on the Office of Administrative Hearings website at https://www.oah.nc.gov and may be obtained from the Chief Hearings Clerk upon request. The party ordering the transcript shall file the transcript contract with the Office of Administrative Hearings and shall serve the transcript contract on all other parties and the transcriptionist. The transcriptionist shall deliver the transcript to the parties and file the transcript with the Office of Administrative Hearings by email to oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov in PDF format no later than 30 days after having been served with the transcript contract.
(g)  Copies of recordings made by a hearing assistant are available upon written request at a cost set out in 26 NCAC 01 .0103.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B37;
Eff. August 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1990; February 1, 1989; November 1, 1987;
September 1, 1986;
Recodified from Rule .0122 Eff. August 1, 2000;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2009;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021.



	

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 16, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

	Appointed by Senate
	Appointed by House

	Jeanette Doran (Chair)
	Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair)

	Robert A. Bryan, Jr.
	Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair)

	Margaret Currin
Jeff Hyde
	Paul Powell
Randy Overton

	Robert A. Rucho
	Barbara A. Jackson

	
	


COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May	984-236-1936
Amanda Reeder	984-236-1939

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
	September 16, 2021	         October 21, 2021
	 November 18, 2021	        December 16, 2021


	Rules review commission



36:05	NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER	September 1, 2021
1872
AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
Thursday, September 16, 2021, 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting
III. Follow-up matters
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B. Building Code Council - 2020 Electrical Code (Reeder)
IV. 	Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between July 21, 2021 through August 20, 2021
· Board of Elections (Reeder)
· Child Care Commission (Reeder)
· Medical Care Commission (Reeder)
· DHHS - Division of Health Benefits (Reeder)
· Commission for Public Health 10A (Reeder)
· Department of Insurance (Reeder)
· Wildlife Resources Commission (Reeder)
· Commission for Public Health 15A (May)
· Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles (May)
· Board of Funeral Service (May)
· Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (Reeder)
V.	Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting
VI.	Existing Rules Review 
VII.	Commission Business
· Next meeting: October 21, 2021 


Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
July 21, 2021 through August 20, 2021

	BOARD OF ELECTIONS

	The rules in chapter 06 concern partisan elections. 

The rules in subchapter 06b concern ballots.

	Arrangement of Official Ballots
Amend*
	
	08
	NCAC
	06B
	.0103

	[bookmark: _Hlk80613752]CHILD CARE COMMISSION

	The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards (.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers (.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); developmental day services (.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during state of emergency(.3100).

	NC Pre-K Teacher Assistant Education and Credentials
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3013

	Scope
Adopt*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3101

	Definitions
Adopt*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3102

	Public Schools
Adopt*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3103

	Adding Space at Licensed Centers for Care of School-Age C...
Adopt*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3104

	MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

	The rules in Chapter 13 are from the NC Medical Care Commission. 

The rules in Subchapter 13D are rules for the licensing of nursing homes including general information (.2000); licensure (.2100); general standards of administration (.2200); patient and resident care and services (.2300); medical records (.2400); physician's services (.2500); pharmaceutical services (.2600); dietary services (.2700); activities, recreation and social services (.2800); special requirements (.2900); specially designated units (.3000); design and construction (.3100); functional requirements (.3200); fire and safety requirements (.3300); and mechanical, electrical, and plumbing requirements (.3400).

	Definitions
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13D
	.2001

	The rules in Subchapter 13K concern hospice licensing rules including general information (.0100); license (.0200); administration (.0300); personnel (.0400); scope of services (.0500); patient/family care (.0600); patient/family care plan (.0700); pharmaceutical and medical treatment orders and administration (.0800); medical records (.0900); evaluation (.1000); hospice residential care (.1100); and hospice inpatient care (.1200).

	Resident Care Areas
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1109

	Design and Construction
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1112

	Plans and Specifications
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1113

	Plumbing
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1114

	Waste Disposal
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1115

	Application of Physical Plant Requirements
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1116

	Requirements for Hospice Inpatient Units
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1201

	Additional Patient Care Area Requirements for Hospice Inp...
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1204

	Furnishings for Hospice Inpatient Care
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1205

	Hospice Inpatient Fire and Safety Requirements
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1206

	Hospice Inpatient Requirements for Heating/Air Conditioning
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1207

	Hospice Inpatient Requirements for Emergency Electrical S...
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1208

	Hospice Inpatient Requirements for General Electrical
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1209

	Other Hospice Inpatient Requirements
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1210

	Additional Plumbing Requirements for Hospice Inpatient Units
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1211

	Application of Physical Plant Requirements
Readopt with Changes*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	13K
	.1212

	HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF

	The rules in Chapter 23 concern medical assistance administration. 

The rules in Subchapter 23B concern benefits.

	Issuance
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	23B
	.0102

	PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR

	The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health. The rules in Subchapter 41A deal with communicable disease control and include reporting of communicable diseases (.0100); control measures for communicable diseases including special control measures (.0200-.0300); immunization (.0400); purchase and distribution of vaccine (.0500); special program/project funding (.0600); licensed nursing home services (.0700); communicable disease grants and contracts (.0800); and biological agent registry (.0900).

	Reporting of COVID-19 Diagnostic Test Results
Adopt*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	41A
	.0107

	Handling and Transportation of Bodies
Amend*
	
	10A
	NCAC
	41A
	.0212

	INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

	The rules in Chapter 04 are from the Consumer Services Division including general provisions (.0100); market conduct examination section (.0200); life: accident and health (.0300); property and liability (.0400); and life insurance illustrations (.0500).

	Division Procedures
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0115

	Inquiries and Information
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0116

	Statement of Action
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0117

	Insurance Carriers as Lenders
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0118

	Insurer Defined
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0119

	Policy or Service Fees
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0120

	Premium Payment Receipts
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0121

	Power-of-Attorney
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0122

	Use of Specific Company Name in Responses
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0123

	Insurance Company Contact Persons
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0124

	Information Used in Claim Settlements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0312

	Provisions of Contracts
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0313

	Premium Notices: Payments and Refunds
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0314

	Issuance of Contracts
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0315

	Contestability Clause and Rescission
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0316

	Sex Discrimination: Life: Accident and Health Insurance
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0317

	Life Insurance Sales: Financing First Year Premium
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0318

	Claims Practices: Life: Accident and Health Insurance
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0319

	Student Loans
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0320

	Safe Driver Incentive Plan
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0415

	Billing Procedures for Automobile Insurance
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0416

	Drive-In Claim Service Facilities
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0417

	Written Confirmation of Oral Agreements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0420

	Cancellation of Insurance
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0422

	Ethical Standards
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0423

	Like Kind and Quality
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0426

	Disclosure Requirements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0427

	Commingling
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0429

	Proof of Mailing; Automobile Insurance
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0430

	Definition of Claimant
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0431

	Refund of Excess Premium on Scheduled Items
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0432

	Refund of Auto Insurance Premium on New Business
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0433

	Scope and Definitions
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0501

	Assumed Expenses and Current Scale
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0502

	Illustrated Policies
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0503

	General Rules
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0504

	Standards and Basic Illustrations
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0505

	Standards for Supplemental Illustrations
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0506

	Delivery of Illustration and Record Retention
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0507

	Annual Reports and Notices to Policy Owners
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0508

	Annual Certifications
Readopt without Changes*
	
	11
	NCAC
	04
	.0509

	WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

	The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600).

	Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0302

	Flounder, Sea Trout, and Red Drum
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0307

	Muskellunge
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0309

	Pickerel
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0310

	Roanoke and rock bass
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0311

	Sauger
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0312

	Sunfish
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0315

	Walleye
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0317

	White Perch
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0319

	Yellow Perch
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0320

	Scope and Purpose
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0501

	Primary Nursery Areas Defined
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0502

	Descriptive Boundaries
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0503

	Scope and Purpose
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0601

	Anadromous Fish Spawning Areas Defined
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0602

	Descriptive Boundaries
Readopt without Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10C
	.0603

	The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300).

	Stanly County
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10F
	.0317

	Montgomery County
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10F
	.0327

	Rowan County
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10F
	.0329

	The rules in Subchapter 10I concern endangered and threatened species.

	Endangered Species Listed
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10I
	.0103

	Threatened Species Listed
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10I
	.0104

	Special Concern Species Listed
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	10I
	.0105

	PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR

	The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants (.0600); depuration mechanical purification facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters (.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities (.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and private drinking water well sampling (.3800). 

	Scope
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1934

	Definitions
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1935

	Permits
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1937

	Responsibilities
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1938

	Site Evaluation
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1939

	Topography and Landscape Position
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1940

	Soil Characteristics (Morphology)
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1941

	Soil Wetness Conditions
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1942

	Soil Depth
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1943

	Restrictive Horizons
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1944

	Available Space
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1945

	Other Applicable Factors
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1946

	Determination of Overall Site Suitability
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1947

	Site Classification
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1948

	Sewage Flow Rates for Design Units
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1949

	Location of Sanitary Sewage Systems
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1950

	Applicability of Rules
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1951

	Septic Tank, Effluent Filter, Dosing Tank and Lift Station...
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1952

	Prefabricated Septic Tanks and Pump Tanks
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1953

	Minimum Standards for Precast Reinforced Concrete Tanks
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1954

	Design Installation Criteria for Conventional Sewage Systems
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1955

	Modifications to Septic Tank Systems
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1956

	Criteria for Design of Alternative Sewage
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1957

	Non-Ground Absorption Sewage Treatment Systems
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1958

	Privy Construction
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1959

	Maintenance of Privies
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1960

	Maintenance of Sewage Systems
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1961

	Applicability
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1962

	Interpretation and Technical Assistance
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1964

	Appeals Procedure
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1965

	Severability
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1966

	Injunctions
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1967

	Penalties
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1968

	Approval and Permitting of On-Site Subsurface Wastewater ...
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1969

	Advanced Wastewater Pretreatment System
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1970

	Engineered Option Permit
Repeal*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.1971

	General - Adoption by Reference
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2650

	Definitions
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2651

	Management and Personnel
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2652

	Food
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2653

	Equipment, Utensils, and Linens
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2654

	Water, Plumbing, and Waste
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2655

	Inspections and Reinspections
Amend*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2661

	General Requirements for Pushcarts and Mobile Food Units
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2670

	Limited Food Service Establishments
Readopt with Changes*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18A
	.2674

	The rules in Subchapter 18E concern wastewater treatment and dispersal systems including general provisions (.0100); permits (.0200); responsibilities (.0300); design daily flow and effluent characteristics (.0400); soil and site evaluation (.0500); location of wastewater systems (.0600); collection sewers, raw sewage lift stations, and pipe materials (.0700); tank capacity, leak testing, and installation requirements (.0800); subsurface dispersal (.0900); non-ground absorption wastewater treatment systems (.1000); system dosing and controls (.1100); advanced pretreatment systems standards, siting, and sizing criteria (.1200); operation and maintenance (.1300); approval of tanks, risers, effluent filters, and pipe penetrations (.1400); approval and use of residential wastewater treatment systems (.1500); approval of pre-engineered package drop dispersal systems (.1600); approval and permitting of wastewater systems, technologies, components, devices (.1700);

	Scope
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0101

	Applicability
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0102

	Incorporation by Reference
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0103

	Abbreviations
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0104

	Definitions
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0105

	General
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0201

	Application
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0202

	Improvement Permit
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0203

	Construction Authorization
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0204

	Operation Permit
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0205

	Existing System Approvals for Reconnections and Property ...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0206

	Alternative Wastewater System Permitting Options
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0207

	Owners
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0301

	Local Health Department and Department
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0302

	Licensed or Certified Professionals
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0303

	Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0304

	Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0305

	Design Daily Flow
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0401

	Septic Tank Effluent Characteristics
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0402

	Adjustments to Design Daily Flow
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0403

	Site Evaluation
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0501

	Topography and Landscape Position
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0502

	Soil Morphology
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0503

	Soil Wetness Conditions
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0504

	Soil Depth
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0505

	Saprolite
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0506

	Restrictive Horizons
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0507

	Available Space
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0508

	Site Suitability and Classification
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0509

	Special Site Evaluations
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0510

	Location of Wastewater Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0601

	Applicability of Setbacks
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0602

	Collection Sewers
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0701

	Raw Sewage Lift Stations
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0702

	Pipe Materials
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0703

	Septic Tank Capacity Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0801

	Pump Tank Capacity Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0802

	Grease Tank Capacity Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0803

	Siphon Tank Capacity Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0804

	Tank Leak Testing and Installation Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0805

	General Design and Installation Criteria for Subsurface D...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0901

	Conventional Wastewater Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0902

	Bed Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0903

	Large Diameter Pipe Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0904

	Prefabricated Permeable Block Panel Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0905

	Sand Lined Trench Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0906

	Low Pressure Pipe Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0907

	Drip Dispersal Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0908

	Fill Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0909

	Artificial Drainage Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0910

	Privies
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.0911

	Alternative Toilets
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1001

	Reclaimed Water Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1002

	General Dosing System Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1101

	Pump Dosing
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1102

	Control Panels
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1103

	Siphon Dosing
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1104

	Timed Dosing
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1105

	Pressure Dosed Gravity Distribution Devices
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1106

	Advanced Pretreatment System Standards
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1201

	Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1202

	Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1203

	Advanced Pretreatment Drip Dispersal Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1204

	Advanced Pretreatment Sand Lined Trench Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1205

	Advanced Pretreatment Bed Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1206

	Operation and Maintenance of Wastewater Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1301

	Operation and Maintenance of Advanced Pretreatment Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1302

	Owner Responsibilities for Wastewater System Operation an...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1303

	Management Entity Responsibilities for Wastewater System ...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1304

	Local Health Department Responsibilities for Wastewater S...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1305

	System Malfunction and Repair
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1306

	Wastewater Systems Abandonment
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1307

	Plans for Prefabricated Tanks
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1401

	Tank Design and Construction
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1402

	Tank Material Requirements
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1403

	Plans and Specifications for Risers, Effluent Filters, an...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1404

	Risers, Effluent Filters, Pipe Penetration Boots Approval...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1405

	Modification, Suspension, and Revocation of Approvals
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1406

	General
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1501

	Application
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1502

	Design and Construction Standards
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1503

	Sampling Requirements for Residential Wastewater Treatment
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1504

	Residential Wastewater Treatment System Approval Renewal
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1505

	General
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1601

	Design and Construction Standards
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1602

	Drip Dispersal System Testing
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1603

	General
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1701

	Application
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1702

	Department and Commission Application Review
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1703

	Approval Criteria for Provisional Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1704

	Approval Criteria for Innovative Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1705

	Approval Criteria for Accepted Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1706

	Design and Installation Criteria for Provisional, Innovation...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1707

	Modification, Suspension, and Revocation of Approvals
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1708

	Wastewater Sampling Requirements for Advanced Pretreatment...
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1709

	Compliance Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Systems
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1710

	Provisional and Innovative Approval Renewal
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1711

	Authorized Designers, Installers, and Management Entities
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1712

	Local Health Department Responsibilities
Adopt*
	
	15A
	NCAC
	18E
	.1713

	

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF

	The rules in Chapter 3 are from the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

The rules in Subchapter 3D are from the enforcement section and include general information (.0100); motor vehicle dealer, sales, distributor and factory representative licenses (.0200); motor vehicle thefts (.0300); notice of sale and stored vehicles (.0400); general information regarding safety inspection of motor vehicles (.0500); weight of vehicles and registration enforcement (.0600); approval of motor vehicles safety equipment (.0700); safety rules and regulations (.0800); and approval of sun screening devices (.0900).

	Operation of Safety or Emissions Inspection Stations
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0523

	Pre-Inspection Requirements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0525

	Safety Equipment Grading Items
Amend*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0526

	Emission Controls Tampering Check
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0527

	Safety Equipment Emission Inspections
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0528

	Certification
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0529

	Disapproval
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0530

	Reinspection
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0531

	Brakes
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0532

	Lights
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0533

	Horn
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0534

	Steering Mechanism
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0535

	Windshield Wiper
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0536

	Directional Signals
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0537

	Tires
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0538

	Tires - Definitions
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0539

	Rear View Mirrors
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0540

	Exhaust Emission Controls
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0541

	Emissions Control Device
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0542

	Inspection Procedure for Emissions Equipment
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0543

	Safety Inspection of Motorcycles
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0544

	Investigation/Audits/Safety or Emissions Inspection Stations
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0545

	Waivers from Emissions Test Requirements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0550

	Window Tinting
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0551

	Photometer Design and Performance Requirements
Readopt without Changes*
	
	19A
	NCAC
	03D
	.0552

	FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF

	The rules in Subchapter 34A concern board functions including general provisions (.0100); and fees and other payments (.0200).

	License Renewal Form
Adopt*
	
	21
	NCAC
	34A
	.0119

	The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); and preparation of dead bodies (.0700).

	Refrigeration
Adopt*
	
	21
	NCAC
	34B
	.0707

	The rules in Subchapter 34C concern crematories including general provisions (.0100); equipment and processing (.0200); and authorizations, reports, records (.0300). 

	Refrigeration
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	34C
	.0202

	The rules in Subchapter 34D are preneed funeral contract rules including general provisions (.0100); licensing (.0200); operations (.0300); and preneed recovery fund (.0400).

	Annual Report
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	34D
	.0302

	SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD

	The rules in Chapter 63 deal with Social Work Certification including general rules (.0100); certification (.0200); examinations (.0300); renewal of certification (.0400); ethical guidelines (.0500); disciplinary procedures (.0600); adoption of rules (.0700); and professional corporations and limited liability companies.

	Application Process
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0202

	Transcripts
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0203

	References
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0204

	Substantial Equivalency
Adopt*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0207

	Application Fee
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0208

	Exam Eligibility
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0209

	Associate Licenses
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0210

	Temporary Licenses
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0213

	Certification and Licensure for Military Personnel and Mi...
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0214

	Qualifying Examinations
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0301

	Cancellation
Repeal*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0304

	Examination Fees
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0306

	Continuing Education Requirements
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0401

	Renewal Application and Fees
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0403

	Reinstatement
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0404

	Required Reporting by Licensee or Certificate Holder of C...
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0405

	Military Waiver or Extension of Time for Renewal of Certi...
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0406

	General Professional Responsibilities
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0503

	Responsibilities in Professional Relationships
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0504

	Relationships with Colleagues
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0505

	Pursuit of Research and Scholarly Activities
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0508

	Public Statements
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0509

	Grounds for Disciplinary Procedures
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0601

	Investigation
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0602

	Notice of Charges and Hearing
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0603

	Conduct of Hearing
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0607

	Decision of Board
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0608

	Reporting of Disciplinary Actions
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0609

	Continuances
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0610

	Petitions for Adoption of Rules
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0701

	Temporary Rules
Repeal*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0703

	Declaratory Rulings
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0704

	Insufficient Fees
Adopt*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0705

	Application for a Certificate of Registration
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0901

	Renewal of Certificate of Registration
Amend*
	
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0902
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	20
	DOJ
	03447
	6/14/2021
	Christopher Lee Maness 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	20
	DOJ
	03914
	6/15/2021
	Robert Joseph Brewington 
	v.
	NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
	Lassiter

	20
	DOJ
	04027
	6/25/2021
	Heather Chatel Blair 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Sutton

	20
	DOJ
	05455
	6/10/2021
	Jose Daniel Palma 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	21
	DOJ
	00829
	6/22/2021
	Darren Tyree Taylor 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Byrne

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	DSC
	02922
	6/4/2021
	Timothy C Roper 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of Public Safety
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	19
	DST
	05261
	7/30/2020; 6/24/2021
	Kirk Justin Barefoot 
	v.
	NC Retirement Systems Division
	Bawtinhimer

	21
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	6/15/2021
	Evelyn P Hammond 
	v.
	North Carolina Total Retirement Plans
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	INS
	02078
	6/2/2021
	Dr James Anthony McKernan Professor 
	v.
	The North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees
	Ward

	21
	INS
	01323
	6/29/2021
	Rhonda Russell-Smith 
	v.
	North Carolina State Health Plan
	Byrne

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	Unpublished
	
	
	

	21
	ABC
	01833
	6/4/2021
	NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
	v.
	Express Mini Mart 1 Inc T/A Express Mini Mart 1
	Lassiter

	21
	ABC
	01901
	6/14/2021
	NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
	v.
	Smokers Post LLC T/A Smokers Post
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CPA
	02840
	5/12/2021; 6/30/2021
	NC State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners 
	v.
	Leon Little Rives II #29505
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CPS
	04557
	6/30/2021
	Johnathan Adams 
	v.
	Victims Compensation Commission
	Mann
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	01871
	6/9/2021
	Marion Lamont Sherrod Jr agent for Marion Lamont Sherrod 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of Adult Corrections/Public Safety
	Byrne

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CSE
	04195
	6/8/2021
	William Glasson 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04292
	6/16/2021
	Kevin S Davenport 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04361
	6/21/2021
	Michael Smith 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04393
	6/25/2021
	Kenneth D White 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	04396
	6/28/2021
	Jaime Arturo Alejos Mejia 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	04518
	6/28/2021
	Isaiah Callands 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement Section
	May

	20
	CSE
	04693
	6/30/2021
	Carter Ryan Manley 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	CSE
	04917
	6/9/2021
	Byron D Black 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Byrne

	20
	CSE
	05178
	6/9/2021
	Justin Tyler Garrett 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Sutton

	20
	CSE
	05320
	6/14/2021
	Rodrigo Alberto Conde 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Byrne

	21
	CSE
	01299
	6/2/2021
	Travis L Davidson 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Sutton

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DHR
	01051
	6/30/2021
	Jennifer Jimenez 
	v.
	DSS
	Mann

	21
	DHR
	01676
	6/2/2021
	Sean Hawkins 
	v.
	Health Care Personnel Registry
	May

	21
	DHR
	01898
	6/11/2021
	Aaliyah Taylor 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation
	Bawtinhimer

	21
	DHR
	02116
	6/30/2021
	Tom LaGarde Haw River Ballroom 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health
	Mann

	21
	DOL
	01831
	6/30/2021
	Pani Verma 
	v.
	DOL
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DOT
	01593
	6/30/2021
	Benjamin Riley Pierce 
	v.
	NC Department of Transportation
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DSA
	01505
	6/10/2021
	Kinetic Minds Inc 
	v.
	NC Office of the State Auditor
	Lassiter

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	EDC
	02118
	6/14/2021
	Essie Mae Kiser Foxx Charter School 
	v.
	North Carolina State Board of Education et al
	May

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	INS
	01553
	6/24/2021
	Chelsea McLean 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of State Treasurer
	Malherbe

	21
	INS
	01794
	6/14/2021
	Cailisha L Petty
	v.
	North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees
	May

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	MIS
	01325
	6/11/2021
	Nigel Rankin 
	v.
	Guilford County Courthouse Angela Fox Department of Social Services Camelia K Smith & Paige Gilliard Childrens Law Center of Central North Carolina Jessica Stone Brian Hogan
	Mann

	21
	MIS
	01326
	6/2/2021
	Trisha White 
	v.
	Sheriffs Office Harvey David Legrant Jr Forsyth County Courthouse - Family Court C District Logan T Burke Susan Frye David Sipprell Lawrence J Fine Lisa Menfee Shea Bree Ward Blalock
	Mann

	21
	MIS
	01442
	6/15/2021
	Jennifer and Eliseo Contreras Jimenez 
	v.
	Department of Social Services Children and Families of Forsyth County
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	OSP
	01243
	6/7/2021
	Anastahia Johnson 
	v.
	East Carolina University
	Turrentine

	21
	OSP
	01471
	6/22/2021
	Jason Yoder 
	v.
	NC Department of Public Safety
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	SOS
	01555
	6/30/2021
	Jordan P Archer (The Archer Foundation) 
	v.
	NC Dpt of the Secretary of State
	Mann
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State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

July 29, 2021
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 224
IMPLEMENTING MEASURES TO ADDRESS COVID-19 AND RELATED VARIANTS

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 116, 34
N.C. Reg. 1744-1749 (April 1, 2020), which declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the
state’s response and protective actions to address the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (*COVID-197)
public health emergency and provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors
located in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a
global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States issued an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia, retroactive to March 1,
2020, and the President declared that the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a
national emergency; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President approved a Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, on February 24, 2021, the President issued notice that the national emergency
relating to COVID-19 must remain in effect because the pandemic “continues to cause significant
risk to the public health and safety of the Nation™; and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purpose of protecting
the health, safety, and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued
Executive Order Nos. 116-122, 124-125, 129-131, 133-136, 138-144, 146-153, 155-157, 161-165,
169-173, 176-177, 180-181, 183-185, 188-193, 195, 197-198, 200, 204-207, 209-212, 215-217,
and 219-221; and

WHEREAS, more than one million forty-four thousand (1,044.000) people in North
Carolina have had COVID-19, and over thirteen thousand six hundred (13,600) people in North
Carolina have died from the disease; and

WHEREAS, COVID-19 continues to infect thousands of North Carolinians every day,
and a State of Emergency remains in place for the purpose of maintaining the state’s ability to
meet challenges presented by COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the State of Emergency allows North Carolina to receive federal funding; to
provide increased regulatory flexibility to the North Carolina Department of Health and Human
Services (“NCDHHS”) and health care facilities, which allows health care providers to expand
their capacity to treat patients and assist with vaccination efforts; and to respond to any spikes in
spread of the disease; and
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WHEREAS, the undersigned has taken a science and data-driven approach to
implementing public health measures to curb the spread of the virus and to advance the state’s
economy in a safe and effective way, which is in the best interests of all North Carolinians; and

Current Metrics

WHEREAS, as COVID-19 has continued to be spread from person to person across the
United States and world, variants (genetically distinct strains) of COVID-19 have developed; and

WHEREAS, the Delta variant of COVID-19 is more transmissible than the original
COVID-19 virus;, and

WHEREAS, the spread of the Delta variant amongst the unvaccinated population in North
Carolina has generated increased concern from medical professionals; and

WHEREAS, while North Carolina has continued to see improvement in vaccination
numbers, the weekly number of doses of COVID-19 vaccinations administered has slowed in
recent months, and there are still more than eighteen (18) counties in which under thirty-five (35%)
of the population have been Fully Vaccinated; and

WHEREAS, because the Delta variant is more contagious than the original virus or other
current COVID-19 variants, it quickly became the most common kind of COVID-19 in North
Carolina during summer 2021, and now, the Delta variant makes up more than eighty percent
(80%) of all new COVID-19 cases in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, the Delta variant’s growing dominance, coupled with its increased
transmissibility, has led to a significant increase in the number of COVID-19 cases and
hospitalizations; and

WHEREAS, on June 25, 2021, 388 new COVID-19 cases were reported, and 400 people
were hospitalized with COVID-19, but one month later (on July 25,2021), 1,910 new COVID-19
cases were reported, and 954 people were hospitalized with COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, over recent weeks, and despite the overall progress the state has made during
the pandemic, North Carolina is experiencing a rapid increase in COVID-19 cases, almost entirely
among those who are unvaccinated; and

WHEREAS, specifically, as of the date of this Executive Order, the state’s key metrics for
COVID-19 are worsening: the number of people hospitalized for COVID-19 has doubled over the
past two weeks, the number of people going to emergency departments with COVID-like
symptoms is rising, the number of COVID-19 daily diagnoses is rising, and the percent of total
COVID-19 tests that are positive is rising and higher than five percent (5%); and

WHEREAS, although the Delta variant represents a severe threat to the unvaccinated,
being vaccinated greatly reduces the chance of being infected by the Delta variant, and being
vaccinated greatly reduces the risk that anyone who does contract the Delta variant becomes
severely ill or requires hospitalization; and

WHEREAS, on July 27, 2021, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(“CDC”) issued new guidance which: (i) suggests that Face Coverings should be worn by all
people if they are indoors in a public place and are in areas of substantial or high transmission; (ii)
identifies most of North Carolina as being areas of substantial or high transmission; and (iii)
recommends all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to schools wear Face Coverings, regardless
of vaccination status; and

Progress in COVID-19 Vaccination

WHEREAS, COVID-19 vaccines are now widely available at no cost to all eligible North
Carolinians who wish to receive one, and all eligible North Carolinians are strongly encouraged to
get vaccinated; and
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WHEREAS, the state has mounted a robust vaccination effort to distribute the state’s
supply of COVID-19 vaccines authorized by the Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) to all
eligible people living in or spending significant time in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, as of the date of this Executive Order, eighty-four percent (84%) of the state’s
population age sixty-five (65) and older is Fully Vaccinated; and

WHEREAS, as of the date of this Executive Order, fifty-five percent (55%) of the state’s
population age twelve (12) and older is Fully Vaccinated, and forty-five percent (45%) is not fully
vaccinated; and

WHEREAS, although forty-five percent (45%) of North Carolinians age twelve (12) and
over are not fully vaccinated, more than ninety-four percent (94%) of recent North Carolina cases
are in people who are not Fully Vaccinated; and

Measures to Protect Against COVID-19

WHEREAS, unvaccinated people pose a risk not only to themselves, but to people who
are immunocompromised and to children who are teo young to be vaccinated; and

WHEREAS, it remains critical that North Carolinians exercise personal responsibility to
protect themselves and their friends and neighbors from the spread of COVID-19, including by
obtaining the free and widely available COVID-19 vaccines; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned and the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human
Services have taken measures to ensure that COVID-19 testing and vaccination administration are
accessible to as many North Carolinians as possible, and the undersigned has determined that these
measures should continue; and

WHEREAS, to protect State employees and the public, the undersigned has also
determined that Cabinet agency workers should be required to show either that they are Fully
Vaccinated or that they have been recently tested for COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, to protect State employees and the public, the undersigned has determined
that Face Covering requirements for unvaccinated workers should be implemented at Cabinet
agencies; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned encourages all state and local government agencies, school
systems, and private businesses and organizations, at a minimum, to adopt the same protections
for state employees and the public; and

WHEREAS, if the state’s COVID-19 case rate continues to increase, if the state’s
vaccination rate does not improve, or if existing or new COVID-19 variants continue to pose
increased dangers, it may be necessary to reevaluate whether additional restrictions are necessary
to reduce the risk of death and serious illness from COVID-19; and

Statutory Authority and Determinations

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority
conferred upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(3) authorizes and empowers the
undersigned to delegate Gubernatorially vested authority under the Emergency Management Act
and to provide for the sub-delegation of that authority; and
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(1), the undersigried may utilize
all available state resources as reasonably necessary to cope with an emergency, including the
transfer and direction of personnel or functions of state agencies or units thereof for the purpose
of performing or facilitating emergency services; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), the undersigned may take
such action and give such directions to state and local law enforcement officers and agencies as
may be reasonable and necessary for the purpose of securing compliance with the provisions of
the Emergency Management Act and with the orders, rules, and regulations made thereunder; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(i), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because not all local authorities have enacted such
appropriate ordinances or issued such appropriate declarations restricting the operation of
businesses and limiting person-to-person contact, thus needed control cannot be imposed locally;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(ii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because some but not all local authorities have taken
implementing steps under such ordinances or declarations, if enacted or declared, in order to
effectuate control over the emergency that has arisen; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because the area in which the emergency exists spreads
across local jurisdictional boundaries and the legal control measures of the jurisdictions are
conflicting or uncoordinated to the extent that efforts to protect life and property are, or
unquestionably will be, severely hampered; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iv), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection of lives
and property of North Carolinians because the scale of the emergency is so great that it exceeds
the capability of local authorities to cope with it; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(1) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the movement of people in public
places; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(2) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the operation of offices, business
establishments, and other places to and from which people may travel or at which they may
congregate; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(5) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict other activities or conditions, the
control of which may be reasonably necessary to maintain order and protect lives or property
during a state of emergency; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(1), when the undersigned
imposes the prohibitions and restrictions enumerated in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.31(b), the
undersigned may amend or rescind the prohibitions and restrictions imposed by local authorities;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article III of the Constitution of North Carolina and N.C. Gen.
Stat. §§ 143A-4 and 143B-4, the Governor is the chief executive officer of the state and is
responsible for formulating and administering the policies of the executive branch of state
government; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-10(5)(3), the head of each principal state
department and the Director of the Office of State Human Resources may adopt policies, consistent
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with law and with rules established by the Governor and with rules of the State Human Resources
Commission, which reflect internal management procedures within each department, including
policies governing the conduct of employees of the department; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 126-4, the State Human Resources Commission
(“Commission™) shall establish state human resources policies and rules subject to approval of the
Governor, and pursuant to this statute, the Commission has issued a Communicable Disease
Emergency Policy and rules that require social distancing policies, including administrative and
engineering controls, that shall be implemented immediately upon orders from the Governor.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Introduction.

1.1.  Structure of this Executive Order.

North Carolina has made great strides since the start of the pandemic to save lives.
Nevertheless, the state is presently experiencing a surge in COVID-19 spread, principally among
those who are unvaccinated. The state’s key COVID-19 metrics suggest some measures must
remain active to address and mitigate the spread of COVID-19.

Section 2 of this Executive Order is intended to provide the State Health Director with
flexibility to issue any statewide standing order needed for COVID-19 testing or for administering
an authorized or approved COVID-19 vaccine. The standing order may be issued as necessary in
her medical judgment to allow individuals who meet NCDHHS criteria for testing to access and
undergo testing for COVID-19 or receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Section 2 of this Executive Order
also promotes COVID-19 testing and vaccine administration by preempting local regulations that
may prevent such activity.

NCDHHS has developed guidance listing effective measures for businesses and
organizations to use in protecting their employees and customers against COVID-19, including the
Delta variant. Section 3 of this Executive Order provides information about this guidance and
recommends that all private organizations and schools follow NCDHHS recommendations.

The most effective protection against the Delta variant—or against any form of
COVID-19—is getting vaccinated. Vaccinations also protect the people around us from sickness
and death. The undersigned has also determined that workers at Cabinet agencies must either be
vaccinated or be regularly tested to ensure that they are not spreading COVID-19 to their fellow
employees and members of the public. Section 4 of this Executive Order requires the Office of
State Human Resources and all Cabinet agencies to implement these measures. The undersigned
also has determined that Face Coverings should be required for unvaccinated workers at Cabinet
agencies in many situations. Non-Cabinet agencies, state universities, and state commissions,
local governments and school systems, and private businesses and organizations are strongly
encouraged, at a minimum, to enact the same measures.

1.2.  Definitions.

a. “Face Covering” means a covering of the nose and mouth that is secured to the head
with ties, straps, or loops over the ears and fits snugly against the side of a person’s
face. A Face Covering can be made of a variety of synthetic and natural fabrics,
including cotton, silk, or linen. Face Coverings are most effective when they fit snugly
against a person’s face and have two (2) or more layers. This can be achieved by
wearing a cloth Face Covering with two or more layers or by wearing one disposable
mask underneath a cloth mask. A cloth Face Covering may be factory-made, sewn by
hand, or can be improvised from household items such as scarfs, bandanas, t-shirts,
sweatshirts, or towels. These Face Coverings are not intended for use by healthcare
providers in the care of patients.

Based on recommendations from the CDC, face shields do not meet the requirements
for Face Coverings.
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b. “Face Covering Exception” means any of the exceptions from wearing Face Coverings
listed in Section 2.3 of Executive Order No. 209 and any of the exceptions from
wearing Face Coverings during exercise listed in the bullet points within Section 2.4
of Executive Order No. 209. Those portions of Executive Order No. 209 are
incorporated into this Executive Order, but only for the putpose of serving as
exceptions to Face Covering requirements and recommendations.

c. “Fully Vaccinated” means that it has been two weeks after someone has received the
second dose in a two-dose COVID-19 vaccine series (Pfizer or Moderna), or that it has
been two weeks after someone has received a single-dose COVID-19 vaccine (Johnson
& Johnson).

d. “Guest” means any attendee, customer, guest, member, patron, spectator, or other
person lawfully on the property of another that does not own the property or work at

the property.

e. “Surgical Mask” means American Society for Testing and Materials (“ASTM”) Level
1, 2, or 3 approved procedural and surgical masks.

Section 2. COVID-19 Testing and Vaccine Administration.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:

2.1.

2.2,

2.3.

2.4.

Statewide Standing Order for COVID-19 Testing. In order to further protect the public
health by providing greater access to COVID-19 testing, the undersigned orders the State
Health Director, in addition to and in accordance with her powers set out in N.C. Gen. Stat.
Chapter 130A, to issue any statewide standing order needed in her medical judgment that
would allow individuals who meet NCDHHS criteria for testing to access and undergo
testing for COVID-19, subject to the terms of the standing order. This standing order may
continue for the duration of the State of Emergency.

Statewide Standing Order for COVID-19 Vaceination. In order to further protect public
health by providing greater access to COVID-19 vaccines, the undersigned orders the State
Health Director, consistent with her powers set out in N.C. Gen. Stat. Chapter 130A, to
issue such statewide standing orders as needed in her medical judgment that would allow
individuals eligible for vaccinations to access and receive a COVID-19 vaccination, subject
to the terms of the standing order. This standing order may continue for the duration of the
State of Emergency.

School and Health Officials to Continue Efforts. NCDHHS, the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction, and the North Carolina State Board of Education are
directed to continue to work together during this State of Emergency to maintain and
implement measures to provide for the health, nutrition, safety, educational needs, and
well-being of children enrolled in North Carolina schools as they transition back to in-
person learning.

Effect on Local Emergency Management Orders.

a. Most of the Restrictions in This Executive Order Are Minimum Requirements, And
Local Governments Can Impose Greater Restrictions. The undersigned recognizes that
the impact of COVID-19 has been and will likely continue to be different in different
parts of North Carolina. Over the course of the COVID-19 emergency in North
Carolina, COVID-19 outbreaks have occurred, at different times, in urban and rural
areas; in coastal areas, the piedmont, and the mountains; and in a variety of employment
and living settings. As such, the undersigned acknowledges that counties and cities
may deem it necessary to adopt ordinances and issue state of emergency declarations
which impose restrictions or prohibitions to the extent authorized under North Carolina
law, such as on the activity of people and businesses, to a greater degree than in this
Executive Order. To that end, nothing herein, except where specifically stated below
in this Subsection 2.4, is intended to limit or prohibit counties and cities in North
Carolina from enacting ordinances and issuing state of emergency declarations which





image8.jpg
impose greater restrictions or prohibitions to the extent authorized under North
Carolina law.

b. Local Restrictions Cannot Restrict State or Federal Government Operations.
Notwithstanding Subsection 2.4(a) above, no county or city ordinance or declaration
shall have the effect of restricting or prohibiting governmental operations of the state
or the United States.

¢. Local Restrictions Cannot Prevent COVID-19 Testing. To ensure that COVID-19
testing is available to the maximum extent possible, and to create certainty and
uniformity across the state for businesses and operations that are providing this
valuable testing, the undersigned specifically prohibits all local prohibitions and
restrictions that would prevent or restrict businesses or operations from providing
COVID-19 testing or would prevent or restrict businesses or operations from
advertising COVID-19 testing services that they are providing to the public. This
preemption includes. but is not limited to, building permits, signage restrictions, and
zoning requirements. However, the preemption provided by this Section is available
only to COVID-19 testing sites that are operated in accordance with state and federal
law and in cooperation with the NCDHHS or a local public health department.

d. Local Restrictions Cannot Prevent COVID-19 Vaccine Administration. To ensure that
COVID-19 vaccines are available to the maximum extent possible, and to create
certainty and uniformity across the state for businesses and operations that are
providing this valuable service, the undersigned specifically prohibits all local
prohibitions and restrictions that would prevent or restrict businesses or operations
from providing COVID-19 vaccines or would prevent or restrict businesses or
operations from advertising COVID-19 vaccines that they are providing to the public.
This preemption includes, but is not limited to, building permits, signage restrictions
and zoning requirements. However, the preemption provided by this Section is
available only to COVID-19 vaccination sites that are operated in accordance with state
and federal law and in cooperation with the NCDHHS or a local public health
department.

Section 3. Guidelines for Private Businesses, Organizations, and Schools.

Federal and state health officials have issued guidance on how individuals and businesses
can reduce the risk of transmission of COVID-19, including the Delta variant. These
recommendations are available at https:/covid19.nedhhs.gov/guidance. Private businesses and
organizations are strongly encouraged, at a minimum. to follow the measures in the NCDHHS
guidance. These measures include requiring workers to either verify that they are Fully Vaccinated
or, if they are not Fully Vaccinated, to wear Face Coverings and be tested on a weekly basis. These
measures also include recommending Face Coverings for Fully Vaccinated workers and Guests
indoors when other people are present.

Nothing in this Executive Order is intended to prohibit or discourage private businesses
and organizations from requiring Face Coverings for their workers or Guests, or to prevent such
businesses and organizations from enforcing all existing rights under the law to prohibit Guests
from entering without Face Coverings.

In accordance with CDC’s recommendations, and as recommended in the
StrongSchoolsNC Public Health Tool Kit, leaders at all public and non-public schools should
require all students, school staff, and visitors, regardless of vaccination status. to wear Face
Coverings at all K-12 schools (unless a Face Covering Exception applies or medical or
developmental conditions prohibit use).

Section 4. Measures to Protect State Employees and Members of the Public Who Enter State
Facilities.

For the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth above, the undersigned orders as follows:
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4.1.

4.2.

Vaccination or Testing Required for Unvaccinated Workers at Cabinet Agencies.

The undersigned directs the Office of State Human Resources (“OSHR™) to issue a policy
that includes the following requirements in this Section. OSHR is delegated the authority
to issue this policy. OSHR shall issue this policy no later than August 13, 2021. OSHR
may amend that policy thereafter.

The OSHR policy shall be effective September 1, 2021, and the requirements in this
Subsection 4.1 shall become effective on that date.

These requirements set out prohibitions and restrictions only upon operation of agencies
that are part of the Governor’s Office or are headed by members of the Governor’s Cabinet.
All other state and local government agencies are strongly encouraged to voluntarily adopt
similar policies.

a. All workers must either:
1. Provide proof that they are Fully Vaccinated; or
2. Be tested at least once a week for COVID-19.

b. The OSHR policy shall identify how workers may show that they are Fully Vaccinated.
This proof shall include, but not be limited to, providing a valid COVID-1 9 vaccination
record card to a representative of the agency’s Human Resources staff.

c. The OSHR policy shall identify how an employee may show that they have tested
negative for COVID-19. This proof shall include, but not be limited to, providing test
results to a representative of the agency’s Human Resources staff. The OSHR policy,
which shall be drafted in consultation with NCDHHS, shall also identify the conditions
under which a positive or pending test result requires exclusion from the workplace.

d. The OSHR policy shall identify confidentiality requirements for the information
provided by workers under this Subsection 4.1. These confidentiality provisions shall
be consistent with guidance from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

e. State employees may be subject to disciplinary action for violations of this Subsection
4.1 or the OSHR policy, up to and including dismissal. Each agency may determine
the appropriate level of discipline for violations by issuing guidelines or policy. This
Subsection 4.1 shall be enforceable only through disciplinary action for workers, and
not by law enforcement under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2).

f  Workers with disabilities that impair or prevent vaccination, workers who are not
recommended by a physician to be vaccinated, and workers with a sincerely held
religious belief, practice, or observance that is inconsistent with vaccination may
request a reasonable accommodation from the proof of vaccination option in Section
4.1(a)(1). The testing option in Section 4.1(a)(2) may serve as a reasonable
accommodation for workers seeking an accommodation from the proof of vaccination
option. These workers may request an exception by contacting their agency’s Human
Resources office.

Face Covering Requirements at Cabinet Agencies. Effective Monday, August 2, 2021:

a. If they are not Fully Vaccinated, workers must wear Face Coverings in any indoor
space, within a state government office, building, or facility, that is that is controlled
by an agency that is either part of the Governor’s Office or is headed by a member of
the Governor’s Cabinet.

b. Workers are excepted from the Face Covering requirements in this Subsection 4.2 if
they provide proof that they are Fully Vaccinated. OSHR shall issue no later than July
30, 2021, a policy detailing how workers may provide this proof. This policy shall be
replaced, effective September 1, 2021, by the policy issued under Subsection 4.1 of this
Executive Order. OSHR is delegated the authority to issue this policy.
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¢. Each agency may set its own Face Covering policy for Guests and for Fully Vaccinated
workers in its offices, buildings, and facilities. All workers and Guests are welcome to
wear a Face Covering at any time. It is recommended that Fully Vaccinated workers
and Guests wear a Face Covering.

d. Face Coverings are not required when a person. is alone in a room or when a Face
Covering Exception applies.

e. State employees may be subject to disciplinary action for violations of this Subsection
4.2 or the OSHR policy, up to and including dismissal. Each agency may determine
the appropriate level of discipline for violations by issuing guidelines or policy. This
Subsection 4.2 shall be enforceable only through disciplinary action for workers, and
not by law enforcement under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2).

f. The requirements of this Subsection 4.2 set out prohibitions and restrictions only upon
operation of agencies that are part of the Governor’s Office or are headed by members
of the Governor’s Cabinet. All other state and local government agencies are strongly
encouraged to adopt similar policies.

Section 5. No Private Right of Action.

This Executive Order is not intended to create, and does not create, any individual right,
privilege, or benefit, whether substantive or procedural, enforceable at law or in equity by any
party against the State of North Carolina, its agencies, departments, political subdivisions, or other
entities, or any officers, employees, or agents thereof, or any emergency management worker (as
defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.60) or any other person.

Section 6. Savings Clause.

If any provision of this Executive Order or its application to any person or circumstances
is held invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction, this invalidity does not affect any other
provision or application of this Executive Order, which can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application. To achieve this purpose, the provisions of this Executive Order are
declared to be severable.

Section 7. Distribution.

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly
filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State,
and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances of the
State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing; and (3) distributed to others as necessary
to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 8. Enforcement.

8.1.  Except where otherwise specified herein and pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.30(a)(2), the provisions of this Executive Order shall be enforced by state and local law
enforcement officers.

8.2. A violation of this Executive Order may be subject to prosecution pursuant to N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 166A-19.30(d) and is punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor in accordance with N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 14-288.20A. Local governments are specifically authorized and encouraged
to adopt ordinances that provide law enforcement officials with flexibility to use civil,
rather than criminal, penalties to enforce violations of this Executive Order.

8.3.  Nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed to preempt or overrule a court order
regarding an individual’s conduct (e.g., a Domestic Violence Protection Order or similar
orders limiting an individual’s access to a particular place).
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Section 9. Effective Date.

This Executive Order is effective July 29, 2021, at 5:00 pm. This Executive Order shall
remain in effect through August 31, 2021, at 5:00 pm, unless repealed, replaced, or rescinded by
another applicable Executive Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of the State
of Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 29" day of July in the year
of our Lord two thousand and twenty-one.

12 Lo

y Coope/
Governor

ATTEST:

/ Lned 77(@«1/4 /4

Elaine F. MArshaH
Secretary of State
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