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This document is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and is not to be deemed binding or controlling.



EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE 

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.






GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice a month and contains the following information submitted for publication by a state agency:
(1)	temporary rules;
(2)	text of proposed rules;
(3)	text of permanent rules approved by the Rules Review Commission;
(4)	emergency rules
(5)	Executive Orders of the Governor;
(6)	final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney General concerning changes in laws affecting voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by G.S. 120-30.9H; and
(7)	other information the Codifier of Rules determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina Register is not included.  The last day of the period so computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday, in which event the period runs until the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday.


FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for employees mandated by the State Personnel Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be published on the day of that month after the first or fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.


NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is published or until the date of any public hearings held on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month by the last day of the next month.
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2.
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Title 14B – Department of Public Safety

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited as 14B NCAC 16 .0110, .0501, .0807, .0903, and .1203.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/private-protective-services-board

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2021

Public Hearing:
Date:  August 31, 2021
Time:  2:00 p.m.
Location:  3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rule amendments add a requirement that the Qualifying Agent must be a resident of NC if the office is in NC, define "registered agent," add new categories for who must report criminal charges, clarify the examination process for polygraph operators, correct the number of hours required for a Pl to obtain a firearms registration, clarify firearms qualification criteria, raise the fees for firearms instructor certification, and transfer two continuing education requirements to a more appropriate section.

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax (919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov

Comment period ends:  October 20, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

Chapter 16 - Private Protective Services Board

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL PROVISIONS

14B NCAC 16 .0110	REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
(a)  If any registrant, trainee, certificate holder, employee, subcontractor, or any other person providing private protective services on behalf of a licensee is charged with any criminal offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke a permit, registration or certificate under this Chapter, the licensee shall report the criminal charge to the Board either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day following knowledge of the charge. The licensee shall provide a copy of the charging document and a written explanation to the Board within five business days.
(b)  If any licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder holder, or any employee, subcontractor, or any other person providing services on behalf of a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder is charged with any criminal offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, registration, or certificate under this Chapter, the licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day following the charge. The licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder shall provide a copy of the charging document and a written explanation to the Board within five business days.
(c)  If a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder holder, or any employee, subcontractor, or any other person providing services on behalf of a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder discharges a firearm while engaged in the private protective services business, the licensee shall notify the Board either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report to the Board within five business days of the incident. In the report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall not apply to a weapon that is discharged during a training course that has been approved by the Board.

Authority G.S. 74C-5.


SECTION .0500  POLYGRAPH

14B NCAC 16 .0501	EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE
(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a polygraph license shall:
(1)	pass an examination and a performance test administered by a panel of polygraph examiners appointed by an entity designated by the Board;
(2)	successfully complete a course of instruction at any polygraph school approved by the American Polygraph Association, the American Association of Police Polygraphists, or the Board; and
(3)	have either:
(A)	one year of verifiable polygraph experience; or
(B)	complete at least six months of training as a holder of a polygraph trainee permit, and have administered no fewer than 50 polygraph examinations; or
(4)	establish to the Board's satisfaction a military occupational specialty and two years of verifiable experience within the past five years in the U.S. Armed Forces performing polygraph examinations.
(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter, an applicant for a polygraph license who is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish to the Board's satisfaction:
(1)	the spouse holds a current license, certification, or registration from another jurisdiction and the other jurisdiction's requirements are substantially equivalent to or exceed the Board's requirements; and
(2)	the spouse has two years of verifiable experience within the past five years performing polygraph examinations.
(c)  Applicants for a polygraph license may take the examination required in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule no more than twice in any calendar year. within a 12 month period. All portions of the examination must be completed within that 12 month period. Any applicant who fails the polygraph examination four times shall retake the polygraph course of instruction required in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule before taking the polygraph examination again.
(d)  Polygraph operators who are duly licensed in another state may perform up to three examinations in this State without being licensed, provided that those examinations are for the purpose of an evaluation of that examiner and the Director has given authorization for this evaluation in advance.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1.

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT

14B NCAC 16 .0807	TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS
(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter.
(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a four-hour five-hour training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule .0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training requirements set forth in that Rule.
(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction including:
(1)	legal limitations on the use of handguns and on the powers and authority of an armed security guard, including familiarity with rules and regulations relating to armed security guards (minimum of four hours);
(2)	handgun safety, including range firing procedures (minimum of one hour);
(3)	handgun operation and maintenance (minimum of three hours);
(4)	handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight hours); and
(5)	night firing (minimum of four hours).
Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the applicant's participation in range firing.
(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located on the target. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent accuracy, the student may be given three additional attempts to qualify on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to meet the qualification after three attempts shall require the student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security guards. office, once in three consecutive attempts. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent accuracy, the student may be given a second opportunity to qualify once in three consecutive attempts on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to qualify after the second series of attempts shall require the student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security guards. All additional attempts must take place within 20 days of the completion of the initial 20 hour course. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located on the target.
(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed security guard firearm registration permit.
(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the duty ammunition, for all weapons.
(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at any one time during firearms range training for armed security guards.
(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification training course for armed security guards that consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be registered with a second company. The registration shall be considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first company. An updated application shall be required to be submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on both the day and night qualification course. The qualification score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course.
(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom training that shall include the following:
(1)	legal limitations on the use of shotgun (minimum of one hour);
(2)	shotgun safety, including range firing procedures (minimum of one hour);
(3)	shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum of one hour);
(4)	shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); and
(5)	night firing (minimum of one hour).
Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the applicant's participation in range firing.
(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office.
(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the following:
(1)	legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum of one hour);
(2)	rifle safety, including range firing procedures (minimum of one hour);
(3)	rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of two hours);
(4)	rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and
(5)	night firing (minimum two hours).
Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the applicant's participation in range firing.
(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three attempts.
(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office.
(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard firearm registration permit who possesses a current firearms trainer certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that will run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of an annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(r)  An armed security guard is required to qualify annually both for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to qualify on any course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the firearm until such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the security guard that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the firearm and the firearm instructor shall notify the employer and the Private Protective Services Board staff on the next business day.
(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one company for the employment of another. The range qualifications shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on both the day and night qualification course. The qualification score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the qualification is valid.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13.

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE

14B NCAC 16 .0903	FEES FOR TRAINER CERTIFICATE
(a)  Trainer certificate fees are as follows:
(1)	forty dollar ($40.00) fifty dollar ($50.00) nonrefundable initial application fee for firearms trainer applicants;
(2)	twenty-five dollar ($25.00) fifty dollar ($50.00) non-refundable initial application fee for an unarmed trainer applicant; and
(3)	twentyfive dollar ($25.00) biennial fee for a renewal or replacement trainer certificate.
(b)  Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of electronic funds transfer.

Authority G.S. 74C9.

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION

14B NCAC 16 .1203	ACCREDITATION STANDARDS
(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by submitting the following information to the Board for consideration:
(1)	the nature and purpose of the course;
(2)	the course objectives or goals;
(3)	the outline of the course, including the number of training hours for each segment; and
(4)	the name of the instructor.
(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, the Board shall complete the following review:
(1)	The matter shall be referred to the Training and Education Committee for the appointment of a sub-committee that shall review the course under consideration. The sub-committee shall consist of at least two industry members of the Training and Education Committee. Other members of the sub-committee may be appointed at the discretion of the Training and Education Committee Chairman.
(2)	The sub-committee shall review the course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if the course meets its stated objectives or goals.
(3)	When the sub-committee completes its review, it shall report to the Training and Education Committee. The Training and Education Committee shall review the course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if the course meets its stated objectives and goals. The Training and Education Committee shall then report the findings with a recommendation of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective Services Board.
(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority vote if the course will be approved for continuing education credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if the course meets its stated objectives or goals.
(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the course content changes or the course instructor changes.
(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight hour cap of continuing education credit every two years.
(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting institutions shall be granted standing approval when the institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to exceed eight credit hours.
(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a renewal period for online courses.
(h)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more than one time during a renewal period.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22.


Title 20 – Office of the State Treasurer

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Department of State Treasurer intends to adopt the rules cited as 20 NCAC 01F .0111, .0208, and repeal the rules cited as 20 NCAC 01F .0102, .0203, .0204, and .0207.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.nctreasurer.com/office-state-treasurer/nc-administrative-code-rules

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2021

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a request in writing no later than August 31, 2021 to Laura Rowe, Rulemaking
Coordinator, Department of State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604.

Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 150B-20(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act (APA) provides in part that “[e]ach agency must establish by rule the procedure for submitting a rulemaking petition to it and the procedure the agency follows in considering a rulemaking petition.”  The Department of State Treasurer (Department) is proposing to adopt new rule 20 NCAC 01F .0111 to comply with this requirement of the APA. In proposing the adoption of 20 NCAC 01F .0111, the State Treasurer is also proposing to repeal current rule 20 NCAC 01F .0102 Correspondence. Repeal of 20 NCAC 01F .0102 is proposed because more comprehensive information about submitting a petition for rulemaking is included in the proposed new rule, making the current rule duplicative. 

Section 150B-4(a) of the APA provides in part that “[t]he agency shall prescribe in its rules the procedure for requesting a declaratory ruling and the circumstances in which rulings shall or shall not be issued.”  It is proposed that the Department’s rules in Section .0200, Subchapter 01F, Chapter 1, Title 20 be updated by adopting a new rule and repealing some current rules. The new rule seeks to update the Department’s declaratory ruling section by adopting a comprehensive rule that prescribes the procedure for requesting a declaratory ruling and sets forth the circumstances in which rulings will not be issued.

In proposing the adoption of 20 NCAC 01F .0208, the State Treasurer is also proposing to repeal the following rules in Title 20, Chapter 1, Subchapter 01F, Section .0200: 20 NCAC 01F .0203 Form of Requests; 20 NCAC 01F .0204 Who Makes Ruling; and 20 NCAC 01F .0207 Ruling Procedures. These rules are proposed for repeal because the information contained within them has been incorporated in the proposed new rule and updated to better conform with the requirements of the APA.

Comments may be submitted to:  Laura Rowe, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604; email DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com

Comment period ends:  October 15, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

Chapter 01 - Departmental Rules

SUBCHAPTER 01F  PROCEDURAL RIGHTS

SECTION .0100  RULEMAKING PROCEDURES

20 NCAC 01F .0102	CORRESPONDENCE
All correspondence within the Department of State Treasurer should be addressed to the division within the department.

Authority G.S. 143A31.

20 NCAC 01F .0111	PETITION FOR RULEMAKING
(a)  All petitions requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule shall be in writing and mailed to the attention of the Rulemaking Coordinator at the address specified in Rule 20 NCAC 01A .0101.
(b)  The petition for rulemaking shall:
(1)	contain the names and addresses of petitioners;
(2)	identify the agency, board, or commission to whom the petition is directed for consideration; and
(3)	for petitions to adopt or amend a rule, draft text of the proposed rule or amendment and a statement of the effect of the requested rule change.
(c)  The petition may contain the following information:
(1)	the reason for the proposal;
(2)	anticipated cost factors; or
(3)	any additional data supporting the petition.
(d)  If the State Treasurer is the appropriate rulemaking body to consider the petition, within 30 days of submission of the petition, the State Treasurer, or deputy pursuant to G.S. 147-75, shall render a final decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, the petitioner shall be notified in writing, stating the reasons for the denial. If the decision is to grant the petition, written notice of the decision shall be provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and rulemaking proceedings shall be initiated.
(e)  If a board or commission within the Department of State Treasurer is the appropriate rulemaking body to consider the petition, the petition shall be forwarded to the chair of the board or commission. Within 120 days of submission of the petition, the board or commission shall render a final decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, the petitioner shall be notified by the board or commission in writing, stating the reasons for the denial. If the decision is to grant the petition, written notice of the decision shall be provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and rulemaking proceedings shall be initiated.

Authority G.S. 150B-20.

SECTION .0200  DECLARATORY RULINGS

20 NCAC 01F .0203	FORM OF REQUESTS
All requests for a declaratory ruling must include the following information:
(1)	name, address and telephone number of petitioner;
(2)	statute or rule to which petition relates;
(3)	concise statement of the manner in which petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute, or its potential application to him;
(4)	a statement of whether an oral hearing is desired, and if so, the reasons for such an oral hearing.

Authority G.S. 150B17.

20 NCAC 01F .0204	WHO MAKES RULING
The chief officer shall have the power to make such declaratory rulings. All requests for declaratory rulings shall be written and mailed to the chief officer.

Authority G.S. 150B17.

20 NCAC 01F .0207	RULING PROCEDURES
Declaratory ruling procedures may consist of written submissions, an oral hearing, or such other procedures as may be appropriate in a particular case.

Authority G.S. 150B17.

20 NCAC 01F .0208	DECLARATORY RULINGS
(a)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and mailed to the attention of the Rulemaking Coordinator at the address specified in Rule 20 NCAC 01A .0101.
(b)  The request for declaratory ruling shall:
(1)	contain the name and address of the requestor;
(2)	identify the agency, board, or commission to whom the request is directed for consideration;
(3)	identify the statute, rule, or order to which the request relates; and
(4)	contain a statement of the manner in which the requestor is affected, or thinks that the requestor may be affected, by the statute, rule, or order and its application to the requestor.
(c)  A decision to grant or deny a request for a declaratory ruling will be made by the State Treasurer, a deputy pursuant to G.S. 147-75, or board or commission within 30 days of receipt. The requestor shall be notified in writing of a decision to grant or deny the request.
[bookmark: _Hlk54617091](d)  A request for declaratory ruling shall be denied by the State Treasurer, deputy, or appropriate board or commission if:
(1)	the request does not meet the requirements set forth in this Rule;
(2)	a declaratory ruling has previously been issued on same or similar facts;
(3)	a controlling decision has already been issued on same or similar facts in a contested case;
(4)	the facts underlying the request were considered at the time of adoption of the rule; or
(5)	the subject matter of the request is involved in pending litigation.
(e)  If the request is granted, the State Treasurer, deputy, or appropriate board or commission shall issue a written ruling within 45 days of the decision to grant the request.

[bookmark: _Hlk49260012]Authority G.S. 150B-4.


Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions

Chapter 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR General Contractors

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Licensing Board for General Contractors intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 12A .0202, .0501; 12B .0203, .0302 and .0401.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.nclbgc.org

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022

Public Hearing:
Date:  September 15, 2021
Time:  9:00 a.m.
Location:  NC Licensing Board for General Contractors, 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612

Reason for Proposed Action: 
21 NCAC 12A .0202 - To clarify definition of the Marine Construction specialty classification.
21 NCAC 12A .0501 - To require a licensee to notify the Board upon change of the corporate structure.
21 NCAC 12B .0203 - To add an additional basis for denial of CE provider approval.
21 NCAC 12B .0302 - To require a CE provider to certify that course content does not infringe on intellectual property rights.
21 NCAC 12B .0401 - To clarify that a CE instructor can receive credit only once per course.

Comments may be submitted to:  C. Frank Wiesner, NC Licensing Board for General Contractors, 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612; phone (919) 571-4183; fax (919) 571-4703; email Frank.Wiesner@nclbgc.org

Comment period ends:  October 15, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

SUBCHAPTER 12A – GENERAL PROVISIONS

SECTION .0200  LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

21 ncac 12A .0202	CLASSIFICATION
(a)  A general contractor shall be certified in one of the following five classifications:
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber2](1)	Building Contractor. This classification covers all building construction and demolition activity including: commercial, industrial, institutional, and all residential building construction. It includes parking decks; all site work, grading and paving of parking lots, driveways, sidewalks, and gutters; storm drainage, retaining or screen walls, and hardware and accessory structures; and indoor and outdoor recreational facilities including natural and artificial surface athletic fields, running tracks, bleachers, and seating. It also covers work done under the specialty classifications of S(Concrete Construction), S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction), S(Marine Construction), S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing), S(Metal Erection), S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos), and S(Wind Turbine).
(2)	Residential Contractor. This classification covers all construction and demolition activity pertaining to the construction of residential units that are required to conform to the residential building code adopted by the Building Code Council pursuant to G.S. 143-138; all site work, driveways, sidewalks, and water and wastewater systems ancillary to the aforementioned structures and improvements; and the work done as part of such residential units under the specialty classifications of S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing), S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos).
(3)	Highway Contractor. This classification covers all highway construction activity including: grading, paving of all types, installation of exterior artificial athletic surfaces, relocation of public and private utility lines ancillary to a principal project, bridge construction and repair, culvert construction and repair, parking decks, sidewalks, curbs, gutters and storm drainage. It also includes installation and erection of guard rails, fencing, signage and ancillary highway hardware; covers paving and grading of airport and airfield runways, taxiways, and aprons, including the installation of fencing, signage, runway lighting and marking; and work done under the specialty classifications of S(Boring and Tunneling), S(Concrete Construction), S(Marine Construction), S(Railroad Construction), and H(Grading and Excavating).
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber3](4)	Public Utilities Contractor. This classification includes operations that are the performance of construction work on water and wastewater systems and on the subclassifications of facilities set forth in G.S. 87-10(b)(3). The Board shall issue a license to a public utilities contractor that is limited to any of the subclassifications set forth in G.S. 87-10(b)(3) for which the contractor qualifies. A public utilities contractor license covers work done under the specialty classifications of S(Boring and Tunneling), PU(Communications), PU(Fuel Distribution), PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of Delivery), PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines), PU(Water Purification and Sewage Disposal), and S(Swimming Pools).
(5)	Specialty Contractor. This classification covers all construction operation and performance of contract work outlined as follows:
(A)	H(Grading and Excavating). This classification covers the digging, moving, and placing of materials forming the surface of the earth, excluding air and water, in such a manner that the cut, fill, excavation, grade, trench, backfill, or any similar operation may be executed with the use of hand and power tools and machines used for these types of digging, moving, and material placing. It covers work on earthen dams and the use of explosives used in connection with all or any part of the activities described in this Subparagraph. It also includes clearing and grubbing, and erosion control activities.
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber4](B)	S(Boring and Tunneling). This classification covers the construction of underground or underwater passageways by digging or boring through and under the earth's surface, including the bracing and compacting of such passageways to make them safe for the purpose intended. It includes preparation of the ground surfaces at points of ingress and egress.
(C)	PU (Communications). This classification covers the installation of the following:
(i)	all types of pole lines, and aerial and underground distribution cable for telephone systems;
(ii)	aerial and underground distribution cable for cable TV and master antenna TV systems capable of transmitting R.F. signals;
(iii)	underground conduit and communication cable including fiber optic cable; and
(iv)	microwave systems and towers, including foundations and excavations where required, when the microwave systems are being used for the purpose of transmitting R.F. signals; and installation of PCS or cellular telephone towers and sites.
(D)	S(Concrete Construction). This classification covers the construction, demolition, and installation of foundations, pre-cast silos, and other concrete tanks or receptacles, prestressed components, and gunite applications, but excludes bridges, streets, sidewalks, curbs, gutters, driveways, parking lots, and highways.
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber5](E)	PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of Delivery). This classification covers the construction, installation, alteration, maintenance, or repair of an electrical wiring system, including sub-stations or components thereof, which is or is intended to be owned, operated, and maintained by an electric power supplier, such as a public or private utility, a utility cooperative, or any other properly franchised electric power supplier, for the purpose of furnishing electrical services to one or more customers.
(F)	PU(Fuel Distribution). This classification covers the construction, installation, alteration, maintenance, or repair of systems for distribution of petroleum fuels, petroleum distillates, natural gas, chemicals, and slurries through pipeline from one station to another. It includes all excavating, trenching, and backfilling in connection therewith. It covers the installation, replacement, and removal of above ground and below ground fuel storage tanks.
(G)	PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines). This classification covers construction work on water and sewer mains, water service lines, and house and building sewer lines, as defined in the North Carolina State Building Code, and covers water storage tanks, lift stations, pumping stations, and appurtenances to water storage tanks, lift stations and pumping stations. It includes pavement patching, backfill, and erosion control as part of construction.
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber6](H)	PU(Water Purification and Sewage Disposal). This classification covers the performance of construction work on water and wastewater systems; water and wastewater treatment facilities; and all site work, grading, and paving of parking lots, driveways, sidewalks, and curbs and gutters that are ancillary to such construction of water and wastewater treatment facilities. It covers the work done under the specialty classifications of S(Concrete Construction), S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing), and S(Metal Erection) as part of the work on water and wastewater treatment facilities.
(I)	S(Insulation). This classification covers the installation, alteration, or repair of materials classified as insulating media used for the non-mechanical control of temperatures in the construction of residential and commercial buildings. It does not include the insulation of mechanical equipment, and ancillary lines and piping.
(J)	S(Interior Construction). This classification covers the installation and demolition of acoustical ceiling systems and panels, load bearing and non-load bearing partitions, lathing and plastering, flooring and finishing, interior recreational surfaces, window and door installation, and installation of fixtures, cabinets, and millwork. It includes the removal of asbestos and replacement with non-toxic substances.
(K)	S(Marine and Freshwater Construction). This classification covers all marine and freshwater construction and repair activities and all types of marine and freshwater construction and demolition in deep-water installations and in harbors, inlets, sounds, bays, and channels; channels, canals, rivers, lakes, ponds, or any navigable waterway; it covers dredging, construction, and installation of pilings, piers, decks, slips, docks, and bulkheads. It does not include other structures required that may be constructed on docks, slips, and piers.
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber7](L)	S(Masonry Construction). This classification covers the demolition and installation, with or without the use of mortar or adhesives, of the following:
(i)	brick, concrete block, gypsum partition tile, pumice block, or other lightweight and facsimile units and products common to the masonry industry;
(ii)	installation of fire clay products and refractory construction; and
(iii)	installation of rough cut and dressed stone, marble panels and slate units, and installation of structural glazed tile or block, glass brick or block, and solar screen tile or block.
(M)	S(Railroad Construction). This classification covers the building, construction, and repair of railroad lines including:
(i)	the clearing and filling of rights-of-way;
(ii)	shaping, compacting, setting, and stabilizing of road beds;
(iii)	setting ties, tie plates, rails, rail connectors, frogs, switch plates, switches, signal markers, retaining walls, dikes, fences, and gates; and
(iv)	construction and repair of tool sheds and platforms.
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber8](N)	S(Roofing). This classification covers the installation, demolition, and repair of roofs and decks on residential, commercial, industrial, and institutional structures requiring materials that form a water-tight and weather-resistant surface. The term "materials" for purposes of this Subparagraph includes cedar, cement, asbestos, clay tile and composition shingles, all types of metal coverings, wood shakes, single ply and built-up roofing, protective and reflective roof and deck coatings, sheet metal valleys, flashings, gravel stops, gutters and downspouts, and bituminous waterproofing.
(O)	S(Metal Erection). This classification covers:
(i)	the field fabrication, demolition, erection, repair, and alteration of architectural and structural shapes, plates, tubing, pipe and bars, not limited to steel or aluminum, that are or may be used as structural members for buildings, equipment, and structure; and
(ii)	the layout, assembly and erection by welding, bolting, riveting, or fastening in any manner metal products as curtain walls, tanks of all types, hoppers, structural members for buildings, towers, stairs, conveyor frames, cranes and crane runways, canopies, carports, guard rails, signs, steel scaffolding as a permanent structure, rigging, flagpoles, fences, steel and aluminum siding, bleachers, fire escapes, and seating for stadiums, arenas, and auditoriums.
(P)	S(Swimming Pools). This classification covers the construction, demolition, service, and repair of all swimming pools. It includes:
(i)	excavation and grading;
(ii)	construction of concrete, gunite, and plastic-type pools, pool decks, and walkways, and tiling and coping; and
[bookmark: Document0zzSDUNumber9](iii)	installation of all equipment including pumps, filters, and chemical feeders. It does not include direct connections to a sanitary sewer system or to portable water lines, nor the grounding and bonding of any metal surfaces or the making of any electrical connections.
(Q)	S(Asbestos). This classification covers renovation or demolition activities involving the repair, maintenance, removal, isolation, encapsulation, or enclosure of Regulated Asbestos Containing Materials (RACM) for any commercial, industrial, or institutional building, whether public or private. It also covers all types of residential building construction involving RACM during renovation or demolition activities. This specialty is required only when the cost of asbestos activities as described herein are equal to or exceed thirty thousand dollars ($30,000).
(R)	S(Wind Turbine). This classification covers the construction, demolition, installation, and repair of wind turbines, wind generators, and wind power units. It includes assembly of blades, generator, turbine structures, and towers. It also includes ancillary foundation work, field fabrication of metal equipment, and structural support components.
(b)  An applicant may be licensed in more than one classification of general contracting provided the applicant meets the qualifications for the classifications, which includes passing the examinations for the classification requested by the applicant. The license granted to an applicant who meets the qualifications for all of the classifications set forth in the rules of this Section shall be designated "unclassified."

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10.

SECTION .0500  LICENSE

21 NCAC 12a .0501	LICENSE GRANTED
(a)  License numbers shall be included on all contracts and bids.
(b)  If a licensee files Articles of Dissolution or the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State withdraws the licensee's Certificate of Authority, the Board shall archive the license.
(c)  A licensee shall notify the Board within 30 days of a change in ownership or a filing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State that amends or changes the corporate structure of the licensed entity.

Authority G.S. 871; 8710; 8712.

SUBCHAPTER 12B – CONTINUING EDUCATION

SECTION .0200 – PROVIDERS

21 NCAC 12B .0203	DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF PROVIDER APPROVAL
(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any continuing education provider upon finding that the provider or the continuing education coordinator in the employ of the provider:
(1)	made any false statements or presented any false, incomplete, or incorrect information in connection with an application for course or provider approval or renewal;
(2)	made any false statements in course advertisement or promotional materials;
(3)	provided false, incomplete, or incorrect information in connection with any reports the continuing education provider is required to submit to the Board; 
(4)	delivered CE course content that infringed upon copyright or any intellectual property right of another;
(4)(5)	provided the Board a check or credit card for required fees that was not honored by a financial institution or bank or returned for insufficient funds;
(5)(6)	collected money from licensees and qualifiers for a continuing education course but refused or failed to provide the promised instruction;
(6)(7)	intentionally provided false, incomplete, or misleading information relating to general contractors licensing, education matters, or the qualifier's education requirements or license status;
(7)(8)	failed to submit the CE Roster Reports as required by Rule .0206 of this Subchapter;
(8)(9)	failed to submit the per student fee as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304; or
(9)(10)	failed to comply with any other provision of this Chapter.
(b)  A licensed general contractor and its qualifier(s) shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 87-11 if the licensee or its qualifier(s) engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct in connection with the operations of a continuing education course provider if that licensee or qualifier(s):
(1)	has an ownership interest in the course provider;
(2)	is the designated continuing education coordinator for the course provider; or
(3)	is an instructor for the course provider.
(c)  When ownership of an approved continuing education provider is transferred to a separate legal entity, the provider's approval is not transferable and shall terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring owner shall report course completion(s) to the Board. The new entity shall obtain an original continuing education provider approval as required by Rule .0202 of this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise engaging in any provider operations.

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (c).

SECTION .0300 – COURSES

21 NCAC 12B .0302	APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF ELECTIVE COURSE
(a)  Prior to obtaining the Board's written approval of a continuing education elective course, providers shall not offer, advertise, or otherwise represent that any continuing education elective course is, or may be, approved for continuing education credit in North Carolina.
(b)  A provider seeking initial approval of a proposed elective course shall complete an application on a form available on the Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth the following:
(1)	title of the proposed elective course;
(2)	provider's legal name, address, and telephone number;
(3)	continuing education coordinator's name;
(4)	provider's ID number, if previously approved;
(5)	credit hours awarded for completing the course;
(6)	subject matter of the course as evidenced by course outlines, PowerPoint slides, videos, or other similar materials;
(7)	identity of the course content owner;
(8)	written permission of the course content owner, if other than the applicant;
(9)	certification that the course content does not infringe upon any copyright or any intellectual property right of another;
(9)(10)	identity of prospective instructors; and
(10)(11)	signature of the provider or its legal designee.
(c)  The application for initial approval shall be accompanied by a copy of the elective course guide, which shall include course objectives, learning objectives for each topic, a timed outline, instructional methods and aids to be employed, and all materials that will be provided to students.
(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer an already approved elective course shall complete an application on a form available on the Board's website that requires the applicant to submit the following:
(1)	title of the elective course;
(2)	applicant's legal name, address, and telephone number;
(3)	applicant's continuing education coordinator's name;
(4)	applicant's continuing education provider code, if previously approved;
(5)	identity of the course content owner;
(6)	written permission of the course content owner, if other than the applicant;
(7)	certification that the course content does not infringe upon any copyright or any intellectual property right of another;
(7)(8)	identity of prospective instructors;
(8)(9)	signature of the provider or its legal designee; and
(9)(10)	certification that there have been no changes to the course materials since the course was last approved.
(e)  If the course will be taught by any method other than live, in-person, in-class instruction, the provider shall, if requested, make the presentation available and accessible to the Board at no cost to the Board during the Board's operating hours. In case of an internet-based course, the Board shall be provided access to the course at a date and time set by the Board and shall not be charged any fee for such access.
(f)  All applications for approval and renewal of elective courses shall be accompanied by fees as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304.
(g)  Board approval of all continuing education elective courses shall expire on December 1 of each year.
(h)  In order to obtain approval for an expired continuing education elective, a course provider shall submit an application for initial approval.
(i)  Courses offered prior to Board approval shall not be eligible for continuing education credit.

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b).

SECTION .0400 – INSTRUCTORS

21 NCAC 12B .0401	APPLICATION AND CRITERIA FOR INITIAL INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL
(a)  A provider seeking initial instructor approval shall submit an application on a form available on the Board's website that requires the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) for which he or she is seeking approval and set forth the instructor applicant's:
(1)	legal name, address, email address, and telephone number;
(2)	general contractor's license number, qualifier ID number, and instructor ID number, if any, assigned by the Board;
(3)	education background, including specific general contracting education;
(4)	experience in the general contracting industry;
(5)	professional licenses or certifications held by the prospective instructor;
(6)	teaching experience, if any; and
(7)	signature of the prospective instructor.
(b)  Prior to teaching the Mandatory course, an instructor shall attend the Board's Mandatory Instructor Seminar for the designated license year.
(c)  Approved instructors who are also qualifiers shall receive one hour of CE credit for each one hour of class instruction. Approved instructors shall only receive instruction credit once per course. Course providers shall be responsible for payment of all CE fees for instructors seeking CE credit.

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (d).
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 15, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
July 15, 2021

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, July 15, 2021, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143-318.13.  

[bookmark: _Hlk38882118]Commissioner Bob Rucho was present in the Commission Room.  Commissioners present via WebEx were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell.DRAFT


Staff members present were Alexander Burgos and Commission Counsel Amanda Reeder. Commission Counsel Amber May and Codifier of Rules Ashley Snyder were present via WebEx.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
[bookmark: _Hlk46214571]The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the June 17, 2021 meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.

Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None.  

FOLLOW UP MATTERS
Commissioners Margaret Currin and Barbara Jackson joined the meeting.




Coastal Resources Commission
15A NCAC 07J .0403, .0404, .0405, .0407, .0410; and 07K .0207 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

[bookmark: _Hlk520108877]LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)
Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 70M 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 71, 72 
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended as requested by the agency to address technical changes by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  DRAFT


Department of Insurance 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Industrial Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 11 NCAC 23E .0302 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho  – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho  – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to 12 NCAC 09B .0101 and 09G .0205.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, the rules are subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date.

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission
Upon the call of the Chair, 12 NCAC 10B .0510 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Coastal Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 07K .0208 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended for 15A NCAC 07H .0304 and .0312; 07J .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1301, .1302, and .1303 as requested by the agency to address technical changes by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Board of Dental Examiners 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Medical Board 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict.

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Board of Nursing 
Prior to the review of the rule from Board of Nursing, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides a varied scope of legal services to the Board, some of which includes advice on rulemaking.

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 36 .0809 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Board of PharmacyDRAFT

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 46 .2801 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Commissioner Bobby Bryan Joined the meeting.

Social Work Certification and Licensure Board 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Social Work Certification and Licensure Board, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides a varied scope of legal services to the Board, some of which includes advice on rulemaking.

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 63 .0211 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Veterinary Medical Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended for 21 NCAC 66 .0211 as requested by the agency to address public interest in the revised rule by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  

Office of Administrative Hearings
Commissioner Bryan presented the rules to the Commission.  

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  

Building Code Council 
The 2020 NC Electrical Code was withdrawn at the request of the agency. 

Upon the call of the Chair, the remaining rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  

EXISTING RULES REVIEW
Department of Environmental Quality
15A NCAC 01E - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than November 30, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Upon the call of the Chair, the readoption date was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  

COMMISSION BUSINESS
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission amended Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0211 to schedule review of the report for 16 NCAC 06 in March 2022.  The amendment was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  DRAFT


Staff updated the Commission on the status of the remaining outstanding rules in this cycle of the existing rules review, as set forth in Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0211. The rules in 15A NCAC 05A, 05B, 05C, 05F, and 05G are under the authority of the Mining and Energy Commission. Staff of the Mining and Energy Commission informed RRC staff that it is not yet fully formed. Therefore, the RRC cannot schedule the review at this time. Once the Mining and Energy Commission is fully formed, these rules will be added to the review schedule. 

The Chair informed all of the Commissioners beginning in August, the meetings would resume being held in-person with the option to participate remotely via WebEx. She added that OAH has a new Chief Administrative Law Judge, Donald van der Vaart, and he plans to be present at the August meeting to meet all Commissioners present.

The meeting adjourned at 9:39 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, August 19, 2021, at 9:00 a.m.


					
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

					
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair


Rules Review Commission Meeting July 15, 2021
Held Via WebEx
	
	
	
	
	
	
	


	Name  
	Agency 

	Crystal Tillman
	Nursing

	Jon Carr
	Jordan Price

	Loretta Bunch
	DOI

	Kathy Arney
	PT Board

	Robert Glass
	Good Manning MFG

	Bill Lane
	DEQ

	Thomas Campbell
	DOJ

	Carl Martin
	DOI

	Amy Fitzhugh
	Nursing

	Brandon Walker
	DPI

	Helen Landi
	DOT

	Dauna Bartley
	Brocker Law

	Melanie Mabrey
	Nursing

	Leann Mckoy
	DHHS 

	Paris Penny
	DHHS 

	Clint Pinyan
	Pharmacy

	Beth Riley
	DHHS 

	Jennifer Everett
	DEQ

	Sara Griffith
	Nursing

	Angela Ellis
	Nursing

	Carla Mcneill
	DHHS 

	Diane Konopka
	DOJ

	David Gadd
	PT Board

	Deborah Ragan
	PT Board

	Raj Premakumar
	DOJ

	Charminique Williams
	CJETS

	Gina Cammarano
	IC
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	List of Approved Permanent Rules

	July 15, 2021 Meeting

	SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION

	Definitions
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0102

	Public Adoption Agencies
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0201

	Functions of a Public Adoption Agency
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0301

	Services to Adoptive Applicants
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0302

	Multiethnic Placement Act Requirements for Adoptive Home ...
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0304

	Regular Monthly Cash Adoption Assistance and Vendor Payments
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0401

	Eligibility Requirements for Regular Monthly Cash Assista...
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0402

	Procedures/Reimbursement of Adoption Assistance Benefits
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0403

	Eligibility Requirements for the Special Children Adoptio...
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0404

	Payments from the Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0405

	Out of State Adoption Fees
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0501

	General Eligibility Requirements
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0502

	Public Adoption Agency Requirements
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0601

	Eligible Non-Recurring Adoption Expenses
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0602

	Requirements
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0603

	Prohibition on Reimbursement Caps
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0604

	Eligibility Requirements for the Special Need Adoption In...
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0701

	Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund
	10A
	NCAC
	70M
	.0702

	

	INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

	Licensing of Resident Agent, LTD Representative and Adjuster
	11
	NCAC
	06A
	.0402

	Renewal of Agent Appts: Licenses/Limited Reps
	11
	NCAC
	06A
	.0501

	Salesmen to be Licensed Insurance Agents
	11
	NCAC
	13
	.0410

	

	INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

	Emergency Orders and Directives of the Chief Justice of t...
	11
	NCAC
	23E
	.0302

	

	CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

	Summary Suspensions
	12
	NCAC
	09A
	.0206

	Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers
	12
	NCAC
	09B
	.0101

	Certification Training for School Resource Officers
	12
	NCAC
	09B
	.0313

	Trainee Attendance
	12
	NCAC
	09B
	.0404

	Physical and Mental Standards
	12
	NCAC
	09G
	.0205

	Moral Character
	12
	NCAC
	09G
	.0206

	Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification
	12
	NCAC
	09G
	.0504

	Summary Suspension
	12
	NCAC
	09G
	.0506

	

	SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

	Certification and Training for School Resources Officers
	12
	NCAC
	10B
	.0510

	

	COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

	Development Period/Commencement/Continuation
	15A
	NCAC
	07J
	.0403

	Development Period Extension
	15A
	NCAC
	07J
	.0404

	Permit Modification
	15A
	NCAC
	07J
	.0405

	Project Maintenance: Major Development/Dredge and Fill
	15A
	NCAC
	07J
	.0407

	Restoration/Mitigation
	15A
	NCAC
	07J
	.0410

	Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted
	15A
	NCAC
	07K
	.0207

	Single Family Residences Exempted
	15A
	NCAC
	07K
	.0208

	

	DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

	Application for General Anesthesia or Sedation Permit, Pe...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0102

	Itinerant (Mobile) General Anesthesia Permit, Equipment a...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0206

	Annual Review of General Anesthesia and Itinerant (Mobile...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0207

	Annual Renewal of Moderate Parenteral and Enteral Conscio...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0305

	Annual Renewal of Moderate Pediatric Conscious Sedation P...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0407

	Minimal Conscious Sedation Credentials and Permit
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0504

	Minimal Conscious Sedation Clinical Requirements and Equi...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0505

	Annual Renewal of Minimal Conscious Sedation Permit
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0506

	Procedure for Minimal Conscious Sedation Evaluation or In...
	21
	NCAC
	16Q
	.0507

	

	MEDICAL BOARD

	Prescribing Authority
	21
	NCAC
	32M
	.0109

	Reporting Criteria
	21
	NCAC
	32M
	.0117

	

	NURSING, BOARD OF

	Prescribing Authority
	21
	NCAC
	36
	.0809

	

	PHARMACY, BOARD OF

	Compounding
	21
	NCAC
	46
	.2801

	

	PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

	Persons Refused Examination Permission
	21
	NCAC
	48D
	.0107

	Retaking Examination
	21
	NCAC
	48D
	.0109

	Applicants with Special Needs
	21
	NCAC
	48D
	.0111

	Filing Application and Board Determination of Exam Eligib...
	21
	NCAC
	48E
	.0101

	

	SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD

	Work Experience
	21
	NCAC
	63
	.0211

	

	ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF

	Cost To Public
	26
	NCAC
	01
	.0103

	Official Record
	26
	NCAC
	03
	.0123

	

	BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

	2018 NC Residential Code/Mandatory Requirements
	N1106.2

	2018 NC Residential Code/General
	M1402.1

	2018 NC Residential Code/Heat Pumps
	M1403.1

	NC Residential Code/References UL/CSA/ANCE 60335-2-40 & A...
	Chapter 44

	2018 NC Building Code
	403.4.5/916

	2018 NC Mechanical Code/General
	908.1

	2018 NC Mechanical Code/Forced-Air Furnaces and Heat Pumps
	918.1/918.2

	2018 NC Mechanical Code/Factory-Built Equipment and Appli...
	1101.2

	2018 NC Mechanical Code/References UL/CSA 60335-2-40 & AS...
	Chapter 15

	2018 NC Energy Code/Definitions
	Chapter 2

	2018 NC Energy Code/Mandatory Requirements
	R406.2

	2018 NC Fire Code/Revocation
	304.4.4

	2018 NC Fire Code/Emergency Responder Communications Cove...
	510






	This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850.



OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
DONALD R. VAN DER VAART

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter			J. Randolph Ward
J. Randall May				Stacey Bawtinhimer
David Sutton				Michael Byrne
Selina Malherbe				Karlene Turrentine
					Linda Nelson


	contested case Decisions
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	Year
	Code
	Number
	Date Decision
Filed
	Petitioner
	 
	Respondent
	ALJ

	
	
	
	
	Published
	
	
	

	20
	DOJ
	03447
	6/14/2021
	Christopher Lee Maness 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	20
	DOJ
	03914
	6/15/2021
	Robert Joseph Brewington 
	v.
	NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
	Lassiter

	20
	DOJ
	04027
	6/25/2021
	Heather Chatel Blair 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Sutton

	20
	DOJ
	05455
	6/10/2021
	Jose Daniel Palma 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	21
	DOJ
	00829
	6/22/2021
	Darren Tyree Taylor 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Byrne

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	DSC
	02922
	6/4/2021
	Timothy C Roper 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of Public Safety
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	19
	DST
	05261
	7/30/2020; 6/24/2021
	Kirk Justin Barefoot 
	v.
	NC Retirement Systems Division
	Bawtinhimer

	21
	DST
	00090
	6/15/2021
	Evelyn P Hammond 
	v.
	North Carolina Total Retirement Plans
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	INS
	02078
	6/2/2021
	Dr James Anthony McKernan Professor 
	v.
	The North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees
	Ward

	21
	INS
	01323
	6/29/2021
	Rhonda Russell-Smith 
	v.
	North Carolina State Health Plan
	Byrne

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	Unpublished
	
	
	

	21
	ABC
	01833
	6/4/2021
	NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
	v.
	Express Mini Mart 1 Inc T/A Express Mini Mart 1
	Lassiter

	21
	ABC
	01901
	6/14/2021
	NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
	v.
	Smokers Post LLC T/A Smokers Post
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CPA
	02840
	5/12/2021; 6/30/2021
	NC State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners 
	v.
	Leon Little Rives II #29505
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CPS
	04557
	6/30/2021
	Johnathan Adams 
	v.
	Victims Compensation Commission
	Mann

	21
	CPS
	01871
	6/9/2021
	Marion Lamont Sherrod Jr agent for Marion Lamont Sherrod 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of Adult Corrections/Public Safety
	Byrne

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	20
	CSE
	04195
	6/8/2021
	William Glasson 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04292
	6/16/2021
	Kevin S Davenport 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04361
	6/21/2021
	Michael Smith 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Turrentine

	20
	CSE
	04393
	6/25/2021
	Kenneth D White 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	04396
	6/28/2021
	Jaime Arturo Alejos Mejia 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	04518
	6/28/2021
	Isaiah Callands 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement Section
	May

	20
	CSE
	04693
	6/30/2021
	Carter Ryan Manley 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	CSE
	04917
	6/9/2021
	Byron D Black 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Byrne

	20
	CSE
	05178
	6/9/2021
	Justin Tyler Garrett 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Sutton

	20
	CSE
	05320
	6/14/2021
	Rodrigo Alberto Conde 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Byrne

	21
	CSE
	01299
	6/2/2021
	Travis L Davidson 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Sutton

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DHR
	01051
	6/30/2021
	Jennifer Jimenez 
	v.
	DSS
	Mann

	21
	DHR
	01676
	6/2/2021
	Sean Hawkins 
	v.
	Health Care Personnel Registry
	May

	21
	DHR
	01898
	6/11/2021
	Aaliyah Taylor 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation
	Bawtinhimer

	21
	DHR
	02116
	6/30/2021
	Tom LaGarde Haw River Ballroom 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health
	Mann

	21
	DOL
	01831
	6/30/2021
	Pani Verma 
	v.
	DOL
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DOT
	01593
	6/30/2021
	Benjamin Riley Pierce 
	v.
	NC Department of Transportation
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	DSA
	01505
	6/10/2021
	Kinetic Minds Inc 
	v.
	NC Office of the State Auditor
	Lassiter

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	EDC
	02118
	6/14/2021
	Essie Mae Kiser Foxx Charter School 
	v.
	North Carolina State Board of Education et al
	May

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	INS
	01553
	6/24/2021
	Chelsea McLean 
	v.
	North Carolina Department of State Treasurer
	Malherbe

	21
	INS
	01794
	6/14/2021
	Cailisha L Petty
	v.
	North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees
	May

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	MIS
	01325
	6/11/2021
	Nigel Rankin 
	v.
	Guilford County Courthouse Angela Fox Department of Social Services Camelia K Smith & Paige Gilliard Childrens Law Center of Central North Carolina Jessica Stone Brian Hogan
	Mann

	21
	MIS
	01326
	6/2/2021
	Trisha White 
	v.
	Sheriffs Office Harvey David Legrant Jr Forsyth County Courthouse - Family Court C District Logan T Burke Susan Frye David Sipprell Lawrence J Fine Lisa Menfee Shea Bree Ward Blalock
	Mann

	21
	MIS
	01442
	6/15/2021
	Jennifer and Eliseo Contreras Jimenez 
	v.
	Department of Social Services Children and Families of Forsyth County
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	OSP
	01243
	6/7/2021
	Anastahia Johnson 
	v.
	East Carolina University
	Turrentine

	21
	OSP
	01471
	6/22/2021
	Jason Yoder 
	v.
	NC Department of Public Safety
	Mann

	
	
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	

	21
	SOS
	01555
	6/30/2021
	Jordan P Archer (The Archer Foundation) 
	v.
	NC Dpt of the Secretary of State
	Mann
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING PROCEEDINGS AND PUBLIC HEARING

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC Building Code Council in accordance with
G.8. 150B-21.5(d).

Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-Making: North Carolina, Administrative, and
Residential, Code amendments.

Authority for Rule-making: G.S. 143-136; 143-136.

Reason for Proposed Action: To incorporate changes in the NC State Building Codes as a result of
rulemaking petitions filed with the NC Building Code Council and to incorporate changes proposed by the

Council.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, September 14, 2021, 9:004M, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street,
Raleigh, NC 27603, 2™ Floor Training Room 240. Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal

impact will be accepted.

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to Carl Martin, Secretary, NC Building Code
Council, NC Department of Insurance, 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202 (email
carl.martin@ncdoi.gov). Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted.
Comment period expires on October 15, 2021.

Link to Agency Notice:

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/building-code-council-bce/bee-hearing-notices

Statement of Subject Matter:

1. Request from Carl Martin representing the Department of Insurance to amend the 2018 NC
Administration Code, Section 204.3.5.

204.3.5 Design professional seal required. Where the General Statutes require, no permit shall be issued
unless the construction documents (drawings and specifications), bear the North Carolina seal of a
registered design professional. Construction documents shall include the name and address of the business

entity (individual, corporation or partnership) with whom the registered design professional is affiliated.
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Questions concerning this section should be directed to the North Carolina Board of Architecture or the
North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and Land Surveyors.

Exceptions: For permitting purposes, the seal of a registered design professional is not required when the
building, structure or project involved is in one of the categories listed below, unless otherwise required
pursuant to the provisions of the General Statutes or the technical codes:

1. A family residence, up to eight units attached with grade-level exit, which is not a part of or physically
connected with any other buildings or residential units;

2. A building upon any farm that is for the use of any farmer, unless the building is of such nature and
intended for such use as to substantially involve the health or safety of the public;

3. An institutional or commercial building if it does not have a total cost of construction exceeding $90,000
$200.,000;

4. An institutional or commercial building if the total building area does not exceed 25688 3.000 square feet
(2.32 m2) in gross floor area;

5. Alteration, remodeling or renovation of an existing building that is exempt under this section, or
alteration, remodeling or renovation of an existing building or building site that does not alter or affect the
structural system of the building; change the building’s access or exit pattern; or change the live or dead
load on the building’s structural system. This subdivision shall not limit or change any other exemptions to
this chapter or to the practice of engineering under Chapter 89C of the General Statutes.

6. The preparation and use of details and shop drawings, assembly or erection drawings, or graphic
descriptions utilized to detail or illustrate a portion of the work required to construct the project in
accordance with the plans and specifications prepared or to be prepared under the requirements or
exemptions of this chapter.

7. Nothing in this ehapter section shall be construed to prevent any individual from making plans or data
for

buildings for himself or herself. This exemption does not apply to plans for places of religious

worship.

General Statute 83A-13

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is
December 1, 2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1,
2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to update the 2018 NC Administrative Code and
Policies to reflect changes in NC Statutes 83A-13.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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2. Request from Carl Martin representing the Department of Insurance to amend the 2018 NC
Administration Code, Sections 106.3.1 and 106.3.

106.3.1 Information required. A permit application shall be filed with the Inspection Department on a
form (see Appendix A) furnished for that purpose. The Inspection Department shall make available a list of
information which must be submitted with the building permit application, including a complete building

eodesummary Building Code Summary (see Append: FrheAdminitrative Codeand Poliet
Appendix B) complying with 106.3.2.

Exception: A Building Code Summary is not required if the AHJ determines plan review can be performed

without the Building Code Summary.

106.3.2 Building Code Summary. The InspectionDepartrent's build: o Building Code
Summary used by an AHJ shall be in the exact format as, and contain only the information in, Appendix B
of the Administrative Code and Polices. TheInspectionDepartment An AHJ shall only modify its the

building code-summary Building Code Summary as set forth in Section 103.5 Modifications, or as
necessary to reflect any changes by the Office of State Fire Marshal to Appendix B which have been

approved by the Building Code Council.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is
December 1, 2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1,
2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow certain projects identified by the local code
enforcement agency to be submitted without a Building Code Summary to help simplify the permit
application process.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

3. Request from Jeff Griffin and Bob Haynes representing the NC Building Inspector’s Association
to amend the 2018 NC Residential Building Code, Sections R302.2 and R313 and Chapter 2.

R302.2 Townhouses. Each townhouse shall be considered a separate building and shall be separated by
fire-resistance rated wall assemblies meeting the requirements of Section R302-1for exteriorwalls:
R302.2.1 orR302.2.2.




image5.jpg
OO0 = Oy B W ) =

W W LW W L W W W R D) R R D R R R D = = e e e e e e e e
-~ Oy b kWD = O 0 NN Y R WD = O 0 0Ny WD = O

Exeeption:If an automaticresidential Fire-sornkler isinstalled mmonhour fire resistan ratedswall
P * P g

bl testedin sdance-with ASTM E110 o UL263 is permitted-for townhouses- i such-walls-do-not
ecntain

figalsi haiieal : £ Jdisak i it ofth 1 Th Hshallb
F bR 6 z =

todforfi o s batiaid ddballastand teand batiaht gaaiast antas: 1 sheathi d
thandamids otk Folantions Blastsal wsallat bl basastallads 4 ith-Seeti
R3024

R302.2.1 Double walls. Each townhouse shall be separated by two 1-hour fire resistance-rated wall

assemblies

tested in accordance with ASTM E11. UL263 or Section 703.3 of the 2018 NC Building Code.

R302.2.2 Common Walls. Common walls separating townhouses shall be assigned a fire-resistance rating

in accordance with Item #1 or 2. The common wall shared by two townhouses shall be constructed shall be

constructed without plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the common wall.
The wall shall be rated for fire exposure from both sides and shall extend to and be tight against exterior
walls and the underside of the roof sheathing. Electrical installations shall be in accordance with Chapter 34

through 43. Penetrations of the membrane of common walls for electrical outlet boxes shall be in
accordance with Section R302. 4.

1. Where a fire sprinkler system in accordance with Section P2904 is provided, the common wall shall be

not less than a 1-hour fire-resistance-rated wall assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E119, UL 263
or Section 703.3 of the NC Building Code.

2. Where a fire sprinkle in accordance with Section P2904 is not provided, the common wall shall be not

less than a 2-hour fire-restance-rated wall assembly tested in accordance with ASTM E119. UL 263 or
Section 703.3 of the NC Building Code.

R302.2.5 Townhouse eave protection. In townhouse construction_eth-th ttached

dwellinasy projections extending into the fire separation distance shall have not less than 1-hour fire
resistive construction on the underside. Soffit material beyond the fire separation distance shall be
securely attached to framing members and shall be constructed using either noncombustible soffit
material; fire-retardant-treated soffit material; vinyl soffit installed over 3/4-inch (19 mm) wood
sheathing or 5/8-inch (15.9 mm) gypsum board; or aluminum soffit installed over 3/4-inch (19 mm)
wood sheathing or 5/8-inch (15.9mm) gypsum board. Venting requirements shall be provided in
both soffit and underlayment’s. Vents shall be either nominal 2-inch (51 mm) continuous or
equivalent intermittent and shall not exceed the minimum net free air requirements established in
Section R806.2 by more than 50 percent. Vents in soffit are not allowed within 4 feet (1219 mm) of

fire walls or property lines.
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SECTION R313
AUTOMATIC FIRE SPRINKLER SYSTEMS

R313.1 Townhouse automatic fire sprinkler systems.
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CHAPTER 2 DEFINITIONS

[RB] DWELLING. Any building that contains one or two dwelling units (duplex) on the same parcel of
land, used, intended, or designed to be built, used, rented, leased, let or hired out to be occupied, or that are
occupied for living purposes.

[RB] DWELLING UNIT. A single unit providing complete independent living facilities for a single
family ene-ormerepersons, including permanent provisions for living, sleeping, eating, cooking and
sanitation.

[RB] TOWNHOUSE. A single-family dwelling unit constructed in a group of two three or more attached
units separated by property lines in which each unit extends from foundation to roof and with a yard or

public way on not less than two sides.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is
December 1, 2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1,
2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to clarify the application of the term “townhouse” and
to clarify the use of rated walls between such dwellings.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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4. Request from Jeff Griffin and Bob Haynes representing the NC Building Inspector’s Association
to amend the 2018 NC Residential Building Code, Appendix Q.

APPENDIX O TINY HOUSES
The provisions contained in this appendix are adopted as part of this code.

SECTION AQ101 GENERAL
AQ101.1 Scope. This appendix shall be applicable to tiny houses used as single dwelling unit. Tiny houses

shall comply with this code except as otherwise stated in this appendix.

SECTION AQ102 DEFINITIONS

AQ102.1 General. The following words and terms shall. for the purposes of this appendix, have the
meanings shown herein. Refer to Chapter 2 of this code for general definitions.

LANDING PLATFORM. A landing provided as the top step of a stairway accessing a loft.
HABITABLE LOFT. A floor level located more than 30 inches above the main floor and open to the main

floor on one or more sides with a ceiling height of less than 6 feet 8 inches and used as a living or sleeping

space.
TINY HOUSE. A dwelling that is 400 square feet or less in floor area excluding loffs.

SECTION AQ103 LOFTS
AQ103.1 General. Lofts used as a sleeping or living space shall meet the minimum area and dimension

requirements of Sections AQ103.1.1 through AQ103.1.4.

AQ103.1.1 Minimum area. Lofis shall have a floor area of not less than 35 square feet.

A0Q103.1.2 Minimum dimensions. Lofts shall be not less than 5 feet in any horizontal dimension.

height of not less than 6 feet 8 inches. Bathrooms, toilet rooms and kitchens shall have a ceiling height of

not less than 6 feet 4 inches. Obstructions including, but not limited to, beams, girders, ducts and lighting,

shall not extend below these minimum ceiling heights.

Exception: Ceiling heights in lofts are permitted to be less than 6 feet 8 inches.

AQ104.1.4 Height effect on loft area. Portions of a loft with a sloped ceiling measuring less than 3 feet

from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not be considered as contributing to the minimum
required area for the loft.
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Exception: Under gable roofs with a minimum slope of 6 units vertical in 12 units horizontal (50-percent

slope), portions of a loft with a sloped ceiling measuring less than 16 inches from the finished floor to the

finished ceiling shall not be considered as contributing to the minimum required area for the loft.

SECTION AQ104 MEANS OF EGRESS
AQ104.1 Loft access. The access to and primary egress from lofts shall be of any type described in
Sections AQ104.2.1 through AQ104.2.4.

AQ104.2.1 Stairways. Stairways accessing lofts shall comply with this code or with Sections AQ104.2.1.1

through AQ104.2.1.5.

AQ104.2.1.1 Width. Stairways accessing a loft shall not be less than 20 inches in clear width including

handrail.

AQ104.2.1.2 Headroom. The headroom in stairways accessing a lof shall be not less than 6 feet 2 inches

as measured vertically. from a sloped line connecting the tread or landing platform nosing in the middle of

their width.

AQ104.2.1.3 Treads and risers. Risers for stairs accessing a loft shall be a maximum of 12 inches in
height and every riser shall be uniform within a tolerance of %”. Tread depth shall be a minimum 12” with

all treads uniform within a tolerance 34”.

AQ104.2.1.4 Landing platforms. The top tread and riser of stairways accessing lofts shall be constructed

as a landing platform where the loft ceiling height is less than 6 feet 2 inches where the stairway meets the

loft. The landing platform shall be the width of the stairs with a minimum depth of 18” inches measured

from the nosing of the landing platform to the edge of the loft, and 16 to 18 inches in height measured from

the landing platform to the loft floor.

AQ104.2.1.5 Handrails. Handrails shall comply with Section R311.7.8.

AQ104.2.1.6 Stairway guards. Guards at open sides of stairways shall comply with Section R312.1.

AQ104.2.2 Ladders. Non-removable ladders accessing lofts shall comply with Sections AQ104.2.2.1.

Exception: Ladders that slide out of away from the loft opening that are with reach of the loft occupant.
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AQ104.2.2.1 Size and capacity. Ladders accessing lofis shall have a rung width of not less than 12 inches.

and no more than 18-inches spacing between rungs. Ladders shall be capable of supporting a 200-pound

load on any rung. Rung spacing shall be uniform within 3/8 inch.

AQ104.2.3 Ship’s ladders. Ship’s ladders accessing lofts shall be installed at 70 to 80 degrees from
horizontal are permitted to be used as an element of a means of egress from lofts. Ship ladders shall comply

with Sections R311.7.12.

AQ104.2.4 Loft Guards. Loff guards complying with R312.1 shall be located along the open side of lofs.
Loft guards shall be not less than 36 inches in height or one-half of the clear height to the ceiling,

whichever is less.

SECTION AQ105 EMERGENCY ESCAPE AND RESCUE
AS105.1 Emergency Escape and Rescue. Tiny houses and their lofts shall meet the requirements of

Section R310 for emergency escape and rescue openings.

SECTION AQ106 SMOKE AND CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTORS

AQ106.1 Smoke and Carbon monoxide detectors. Smoke and carbon monoxide detectors shall be

installed as required in Sections R314 and R315 and just below the highest point of any loft.

SECTION AQ107 FOUNDATION

AQ107.1 Foundation options. Tiny Houses are permitted to be constructed without a masonry or concrete

foundation per Section AQ107.1.1 and AQ107.1.2, except in coastal high hazard, ocean hazard and flood

hazard areas.

AQ107.1.1 Wood Foundation. The building is supported on a wood foundation of minimum 4-inch by 4-

inch or 6-inch by 6-inch mudsill or runner of approved wood in accordance with Section R317. Structural

floor system which include joists and subfloor material shall also comply with Section R317, item #1.

AQ107.1.2. Anchorage. Tiny houses with wood foundations per AQ107 shall be designed and anchored to

resist overturning and sliding.

Exception: Tiny houses with no more than 12’ vertical mean roof height shall be anchored to resist

overturning and sliding by installing a minimum of one ground anchor at each corner of the building. The

total resisting force of the anchors shall be equal to 20psf (958 Pa) times the plan area of the building.

SECTION R202 DEFINITIONS

EANDING-PEATEORM- landi ided-asthe-t 4 £ o ctol ; loft
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R305.1 Minimum height. Habitable space, hallways and portions of basements containing these spaces
shall have a ceiling height of not less than 7 feet (2134 mm). Bathrooms, toilet rooms and laundry rooms
shall have a ceiling height of not less than 6 feet 8 inches (2032 mm).

Exceptions:

1. For rooms with sloped ceilings, the required floor area of the room shall have a ceiling height of not less
than 5 feet (1524 mm) and not less than 50 percent of the required floor area shall have a ceiling height of
not less than 7 feet (2134 mm).

2. The ceiling height above bathroom and toilet room fixtures shall be such that the fixture is capable of
being used for its intended purpose. A shower or tub equipped with a showerhead shall have a ceiling
height of not less than 6 feet 8 inches (2032 mm) above an area of not less than 30 inches (762 mm) by 30
inches (762 mm) at the showerhead.

3. Beams, girders, ducts or other obstructions in habitable space shall be permitted to project to within 6

feet 4 inches (1931 mm) of the finished floor.
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Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is
December 1, 2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1,
2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to pull all tiny house related code information out of
separate parts of the code and place them in a single location to match the current International Residential
Code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

5. Request from Barry Gupton representing the NC DOI, OSFM, Manufactured Building Division

to amend the 2018 NC Residential Building Code, Sections R4602 and 4605.5.

SECTION R4602 DEFINITIONS
COASTAL HIGH HAZARD AREA. boett e e-heheloert +

i FHad 11 Ay vs Ay = bhiectto-th

mehads 'S N Jn,
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epprovel-of the Building-Code-Couneil- An area of special flood hazard extending from offshore to the

inland limit of a primary frontal dune along an open coast and any other area subject to high velocity wave

action from storms or seismic sources. The coastal high hazard area is identified as either V Zone or
Coastal A Zone on Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMSs).
CORROSION RESISTANCE AREA. Areas within hurricane prone regions defined as that area east of

the Intracoastal Waterway from the NC/SC state line north to Beaufort Inlet and from that point to include
the barrier islands to the NC/VA state line.
OCEAN HAZARD AREA. An area, as identified by the North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission,

ehsrtbteetteupprarathethe HuHdine Code #- near the shoreline of the Atlantic Ocean that has

been identified as subject to at least one of the following hazards: (A) Historical or predicted future trends
of long-term erosion, (B) erosion expected to occur during a coastal storm reaching the base flood

elevation, or (C) shoreline fluctuations due to tidal inlets.
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SECTION R4606 FASTENER CORROSION RESISTANCE
R4605-5 R4606. Fastener corrosion resistance.

In the Coastal High Hazard Area, the Corrosion Resistance Area and the Ocean Hazard Area, all metal

connectors and fasteners outside of conditioned spaces shall be hot-dip galvanized steel after fabrication
and meet ASTM A 153. Exposed metal connectors, such as tie-down straps on porches, decks, and areas
under the structure, shall be a minimum 3/16-inch (5 mm) thick, and shall be hot-dip galvanized after

fabrication and meet ASTM A 123 or ASTM A 153. Stainless steel light-gage metal connectors shall be

permitted in exposed or partially exposed locations. Metal connectors of approved equivalent corrosion-

resistant material are permitted to be accepted. See Table R4605-5 R4606.

TABLE R4605-5* R4606* CORROSION RESISTANCE

OPEN EXPOSURE LEVEL CONDITIONED
(exterior, porches, VENTED/ENCLOSED (heated/cooled
under house) (attic, floor trusses, living areas)

enclosed crawl spaces
and stud cavity)

Nails, staples, screws

Hot-dip galvanized

Hot-dip galvanized

Nuts, bolts, washers,
tie rods

Hot-dip galvanized

Hot-dip galvanized

Steel connection
plates & straps (3/16"
minimum thickness)

Hot-dip galvanized
after
fabrication

Hot-dip galvanized

Sheet metal
connectors, wind

Stainless steel or

Hot-dip galvanized after

Hot-dip galvanized

anchors, joists alr\w/c;tr_liciggea?ter plate fabrication or triple or triple
hangers, steel joists 9 fabricati galvanizedb galvanized®
and beams abrication
Hot-dip galvanized after
fabrication, stainless steel,
’ triple galvanized® orin
Sta|nles§ steel or accordance with TPI-1 of
hot-dipped ; Standard
Truss plates : the Truss Plate Institute ;
galvanized after et i galvanized
e within 6'-0" of a gable
fabrication

louver, ridge or soffit vent.
Otherwise, standard
galvanized®.

a.  Applies only to structures located in Coastal High Hazard Area, Corrosion Resistance Area and Ocean

High Hazard Area.

b. Triple galvanizing — G185, standard galvanizing — G60, both per ASTM A 653 / A 653M.

(RENUMBER THE REMAINDER OF R4605.6 thru R4605.8)
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Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is
December 1, 2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1,
2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to pull all tiny house related code information out of
separate parts of the code and place them in a single location to match the current International Residential
Code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

NOTICE:
Appeals and Interpretations of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online at the
Sfollowing link.

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past

NOTICE:
Objections and Legislative Review requests may be made to the NC Office of Administrative Hearings in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) after Rules are adopted by the Building Code Council.

http://www.ncoah.com/rules/
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NCDOL

N.C. Bepartment of Labor

North Carolina Department of Labor
Division of Occupational Safety and Health
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
(919) 807-2875

NOTICE OF VERBATIM ADOPTION OF FEDERAL STANDARDS

In consideration of G.S. 150B-21.5(c) the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor hereby
gives notice that:

- Rule changes have been submitted to update the North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC
07F .0101 to incorporate by reference the occupational safety and health related provisions of Title
29 of the Code of Federal Regulations Parts 1910 promulgated as of June 21, 2021, except as
specifically described, and

- The North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07A .0301 automatically adopts subsequent
amendments to certain parts of the Code of Federal Regulations. Title 29, Part 1910—General
Industry Standards does not automatically include subsequent amendments.

This update encompasses the following recent verbatim adoption:

- Occupational Safety and Health Standards, Occupational Exposure to COVID-19, General Industry,
29 CFR § 1910 (86 FR 32376, June 21, 2021)

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) issued an emergency temporary standard (ETS),
published in the Federal Register on June 21, 2021 (86 FR 32376), to protect healthcare and healthcare support service
workers from occupational exposure to COVID-19 in settings where people with COVID-19 are reasonably expected
to be present. During the period of the emergency standard, covered healthcare employers must develop and
implement a COVID-19 plan to identify and control COVID-19 hazards in the workplace. OSHAs interim final rule
was effective June 21, 2021.

For additional information, please contact:

Bureau of Education, Training and Technical Assistance
Occupational Safety and Health Division

North Carolina Department of Labor

1101 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101

For additional information regarding North Carolina’s process of adopting federal OSHA Standards verbatim, please
contact:

Jill F. Cramer, Agency Rulemaking Coordinator
North Carolina Department of Labor

Legal Affairs Division

1101 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101
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Occupational Safety and Health Standards

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) issued an emergency temporary standard
(ETS), published in the Federal Register on June 21, 2021 (86 FR 32376), to protect healthcare and
healthcare support service workers from occupational exposure to COVID-19 in settings where people with
COVID-19 are reasonably expected to be present. During the period of the emergency standard, covered
healthcare employers must develop and implement a COVID-19 plan to identify and control COVID-19
hazards in the workplace. OSHA’s interim final rule was effective June 21, 2021.

The attached amendment of 13 NCAC 07F .0101 is required by 29 CFR 1902.4(a)(1) and G.S. 95-131(a)
in order for North Carolina’s Occupational Safety and Health program to be as effective as the federal
program and to maintain North Carolina’s state plan status under the federal Occupational Safety and Health
Act of 1970. This rule was adopted in accordance with 150B-21.5(c). Pursuant to the provisions of G.S.
150B-21.3(¢), the effective date of this action is July 21, 2021.
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