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GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice a month and contains the following information submitted for publication by a state agency:
(1)	temporary rules;
(2)	text of proposed rules;
(3)	text of permanent rules approved by the Rules Review Commission;
(4)	emergency rules
(5)	Executive Orders of the Governor;
(6)	final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney General concerning changes in laws affecting voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by G.S. 120-30.9H; and
(7)	other information the Codifier of Rules determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina Register is not included.  The last day of the period so computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday, in which event the period runs until the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday.


FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for employees mandated by the State Personnel Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be published on the day of that month after the first or fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.


NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is published or until the date of any public hearings held on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month by the last day of the next month.
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2.
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Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10H .1501-.1509 and amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0106.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2021

Public Hearing:
Date:  December 8, 2020
Time:  6:00 p.m.
Location:  Register in advance for this webinar: 
https://ncwildlife.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aXViRwRsTnGAPbHLaT3RZA or join by phone: (877-853-5247 or 888-788-0099) using Webinar ID: 928 5632 3468

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2019-204 established the Wildlife Control Agent License and Alligator Control Agent Certification in statute.  The rules proposed for adoption in this Section 10H .1500 will replace current agency rules for the Wildlife Damage Control Agent Program found in 10B .0106.
Because Wildlife and Alligator Control Agent Rules have been proposed, Rule 10B .0106 requires updates to remove the Wildlife Damage Control Agent Certification and requirements.

Comments may be submitted to:  Rule-making Coordinator, 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email regulations@ncwildlife.org

Comment period ends:  January 15, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10B .0106	WILDLIFE TAKEN FOR DEPREDATIONS
(a)  Depredation permits allow the taking of undesirable or excess wildlife resources as described in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Paragraph. Only employees of the Wildlife Resources Commission (Commission) and Wildlife Damage Control Agents (WDCA) may issue depredation permits. Only depredation permits prepared on a form supplied by the Commission shall be valid. No permit is needed for the owner or lessee of a property to take wildlife while committing depredations on that property; however, the manner of taking, disposition of dead wildlife, and reporting requirements as described in this Rule still apply.
(a)  Depredation permits shall authorize the taking, destruction, transfer, removal, transplanting, or driving away of undesirable, destructive, or excess wildlife or wildlife resources as specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(b)  The following conditions shall apply to depredation permits:
(1)	depredation permits shall be prepared on a form supplied by the Commission; and
(2)	depredation permits shall only be issued by authorized employees of the Commission or licensed Wildlife Control Agents (WCA).
(c)  Depredation permits shall not be required for the owner or lessee of a property to take wildlife while committing depredations on that property; however, the manner of take, disposition of dead wildlife, and reporting requirements specified in this Rule shall apply.
(b)(d)  No permit shall be issued to take any endangered or threatened species of wildlife listed under 15A NCAC 10I, except alligators, by reason of depredations to property. Only the The Executive Director or his or her designee may issue depredation permits for Special Concern species listed in 15A NCAC 10I .0105 and for alligators. An individual may take an endangered or threatened species in immediate defense of his or her own life or of the lives of others without a permit. Any endangered or threatened species that may constitute a demonstrable but non-immediate threat to human safety shall be reported to a federal or Commission wildlife enforcement officer, who, upon verification of the report, may take or remove the specimen as provided by 15A NCAC 10I .0102. Depredation permits for other species may be issued under the following conditions:
(1)	for taking wildlife that is or has been damaging or destroying property, provided there is evidence of property damage. No permit may be issued for the taking of migratory birds and other federally-protected animals unless a corresponding, valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service depredation permit(s), if required, has been issued. A permit issued pursuant to this Rule shall name the species allowed to be taken and may include limitations as to age, sex, type of depredation, location of animal or damage, and local laws. The permit shall be issued to a landholder or an authorized representative of a unit of local government for depredations on public property. The permit shall be used only by individuals named on the permit.
(2)	for taking of wildlife resources in circumstances of overabundance or when the wildlife resources present a danger to human safety. Cities, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), seeking a depredation permit pursuant to these circumstances shall apply to the Commission using an application available from the Commission. The application shall include the following information:
(A)	the name and location of the city;
(B)	the acreage of the affected property;
(C)	a map of the affected property;
(D)	the signature of an authorized city representative;
(E)	the nature of the overabundance or the threat to public safety; and
(F)	a description of previous actions taken by the city to ameliorate the problem.
(c)  Wildlife Damage Control Agents. Individuals meeting the following eligibility requirements may apply to become a Wildlife Damage Control Agent (WDCA):
(1)	Successful completion of a training course that is designed to:
(A)	review wildlife laws;
(B)	review safe, humane wildlife handling techniques.
(2)	No wildlife misdemeanor conviction, as specified in G.S. 113-294 that resulted in a license suspension or revocation, within the last five hears prior to application to become a WDCA.
Those individuals who demonstrate knowledge of wildlife laws and safe, humane wildlife handling techniques by a passing score of 80 percent or better on a written examination provided by a representative of the Commission, in cooperation with the training course provider, shall be approved. Those individuals failing to obtain a passing score shall be given one chance for re-testing without re-taking the course. Those individuals approved as agents by the Commission may then issue depredation permits for depredation as defined in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule to landholders and be listed as a second party to provide the control service. WDCAs may not issue depredation permits for coyotes in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington; big game animals; bats; or any species listed as endangered, threatened, or special concern under 15A NCAC 10I .0103, .0104, and .0105 of this Chapter. WDCAs shall annually report to the Commission the number and disposition of animals by county. Records shall be available for inspection by a wildlife enforcement officer at any time during the posted business hours of the Commission at ncwildlife.org. The Executive Director shall revoke WDCA status when there is evidence of violations of wildlife laws, failure to report, or inhumane treatment of animals by the WDCA. A WDCA may not charge for the permit, but may charge for his or her investigations and control services. Each WDCA shall renew his or her agent status every three years by showing proof of having attended at least one training course provided for the purpose of reviewing and updating information on wildlife laws and safe, humane wildlife handling techniques within the previous 12 months or agency approved continuing education credits.
(d)(e)  Each depredation permit shall have an expiration date or time after which the depredation permit is no longer valid. date. The A depredation permit authorizes the possession of any wildlife resources taken under the authority of the permit permit. and Depredation permits shall be retained as long as the wildlife resource is in the permittee's authorized individual's possession. All individuals Individuals taking wildlife resources under the authority of a depredation permit shall comply with the conditions written on of the permit and the requirements specified in this Rule.
(e)(f)  Manner of Taking:
(1)	Taking Without a Permit. Wildlife taken without a permit while committing depredations to property may, during the open season on the species, be taken by the landholder by any lawful method. During the closed season, such depredating wildlife may be taken without a permit only by the use of firearms or archery equipment as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0116.
(2)	Taking With a Permit. Wildlife taken under a depredation permit may be taken only by the method or methods authorized by the permit. When trapping is authorized, in order to limit the taking to the intended purpose, the permit may specify a reasonable distance from the property sought to be protected, within which the traps shall be set. The Executive Director, Commission employee, or agent WCA may also state in a permit authorizing trapping whether or not bait or lure may be used and the type of bait or lure that is authorized based upon factors such as type of depredation, locations of animal or damage, and local laws. In addition to any trapping restrictions that may be contained in the permit, the method of trapping shall be in accordance with the requirements and restrictions imposed by G.S. 113-291.6 and other local laws passed by the General Assembly. No depredation permit shall authorize the use of poisons or pesticides in taking wildlife except in accordance with the provisions of the North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971, G.S. 143, Article 52, the Structural Pest Control Act of 1955, G.S. 106, Article 4C, and G.S. 113, Article 22A. No depredation permit shall authorize the taking of wildlife by any method by any landholder upon the lands of another except when the individual is listed as a second party on a depredation permit.
(3)	Intentional Wounding. It is unlawful for any landholder, with or without a depredation permit, to intentionally wound a wild animal in a manner so as not to cause its immediate death as suddenly and humanely as the circumstances permit.
(f)(g)  Disposition of Wildlife Taken:
(1)	Generally. Except as provided by Subparagraphs (2) through (5) of this Paragraph, any wildlife killed without a permit while committing depredations shall be buried or disposed of in a safe and sanitary manner on the property where taken. Wildlife killed under a depredation permit may be transported to an alternate disposal site if desired. Anyone in possession of carcasses of animals being transported under a depredation permit shall have the depredation permit in his or her possession. Except as provided by Subparagraphs (f)(2) through (5) of this Rule, (2) through (5) of this Paragraph, all wildlife killed under a depredation permit shall be buried or otherwise disposed of as stated on the permit.
(2)	Deer and feral swine. The edible portions of feral swine and deer may be retained by the landholder for consumption but shall not be transported from the property where the depredations took place without a valid depredation permit. The landholder may give a second party the edible portions of feral swine or deer taken under a depredation permit. The receiver of the edible portions shall hold a copy of the depredation permit. The nonedible portions of any deer carcass, including head, hide, feet, and antlers, shall be disposed of as specified in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph or turned over to a wildlife enforcement officer for disposition.
(3)	Fox. Any fox killed under a depredation permit may be disposed of as described in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph or, upon compliance with the fur tagging requirements of 15A NCAC 10B .0400, the carcass or pelt thereof may be sold to a licensed fur dealer.
(4)	Furbearing Animals. The carcass or pelt of any furbearing animal killed during the open season for taking such furbearing animal for control of depredations to property, whether with or without a permit, may be sold to a licensed fur dealer provided that the person offering such carcass or pelt for sale has a valid hunting or trapping license; provided further that bobcats and otters may only be sold upon compliance with any required fur tagging requirement set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0400.
(5)	Animals Taken Alive. Wild animals in the order Carnivora, armadillos, groundhogs, nutria, and beaver shall be humanely euthanized either at the site of capture or at a facility designed to humanely handle the euthanasia, or such wild animals must be released on the property where captured. Feral swine shall be euthanized while still in the trap in accordance with G.S. 113-291.12. For all other animals taken alive, the animal shall be euthanized or released on property with permission of the landowner. When the relocation site is public property, written permission shall be obtained from the local, state, or federal official authorized to manage the property before any animal may be released. Animals transported or held for euthanasia shall be euthanized within 12 hours of capture. possession. Anyone in possession of live animals being transported for relocation or euthanasia under a depredation permit shall have the depredation permit in his or her possession.
(g)(h)  Reporting Requirements. Any landholder who kills an alligator; coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, or Washington; deer; Canada goose; bear; elk; or wild turkey under a valid depredation permit shall report the kill on the form provided with the permit, including the number and species of animal(s) killed, and submit the form upon the expiration date of the depredation permit to the Commission. Any landowner who kills a coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington shall report the kill, including the number of coyotes killed, on the form provided with the depredation permit. The killing and method of disposition of every alligator; coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington; bear; or elk taken without a permit shall be reported to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 24 hours following the time of such killing.
(i)  Exemption for Animal Control Officers. Animal Control Officers, as defined by G.S. 130A-184(1) when in the performance of official duties, shall be exempt from obtaining a depredation permit when taking wild animals that:
(1)	Exhibit visible signs of rabies;
(2)	Exhibit unprovoked aggression that may be associated with rabies;
(3)	Are suspected to be rabid; or
(4)	Have or may have exposed humans, pets, or livestock to rabies.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 113-291.4; 113-291.6; 113-300.1; 113-300.2; 113-307; 113-331; 113-333; 113-334(a); 113-337.

SUBCHAPTER 10H – REGULATED ACTIVITIES

SECTION .1500 - WILDLIFE AND ALLIGATOR CONTROL AGENTS

15A NCAC 10H .1501	Wildlife Control Agent License Eligibility and Requirements
(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Section:
(1)	"Wildlife control agent" or "WCA" means an individual that holds a current and valid wildlife control agent license issued by the Commission.
(2)	"Wildlife control agent license" or "WCA license" means a license issued by the Commission that authorizes an individual to engage in wildlife damage control or wildlife removal activities by means of a depredation permit.
(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in wildlife damage control or wildlife removal activities for compensation, including eviction or exclusion activities, without first obtaining a wildlife control agent (WCA) license from the Commission, except that licensed trappers taking wild animals during the applicable open trapping season for that species shall not be required to obtain a WCA license.
(c)  Individuals meeting the following requirements shall qualify for a WCA license:
(1)	completion of a Commission-approved, WCA training course, that reviews the following:
(A)	wildlife laws and rules, including methods of take, trapping, and depredation; and
(B)	safe, humane wildlife handling techniques.
(2)	a passing score of at least 80 percent on the WCA examination as specified in Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
(3)	no wildlife misdemeanor convictions, as specified in G.S. 113-294 or G.S. 14, Article 47, that resulted in a license suspension or revocation within the five years preceding completion of the WCA training course.
(d)  Individuals may register for a Commission-approved training course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca. Required information shall include the following:
(1)	the applicant's name, mailing address, email address, residence address, telephone number, driver's license number, and date of birth; and
(2)	organizational affiliation, if applicable.
(e)  Individuals scoring at least an 80 percent on the WCA examination provided by the Commission shall be deemed to have received a passing score and to have successfully demonstrated knowledge of wildlife laws and safe, humane wildlife handling techniques. Individuals failing to obtain a passing score on the WCA examination shall receive one opportunity to re-take the examination and receive a passing score without being required to retake the WCA training course.
(f)  A WCA license shall not be transferable between individuals.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1502	Depredation Permits Issued by Wildlife Control Agents
(a)  WCAs may issue depredation permits to landholders and may be listed as a second party on the permit to provide wildlife damage control or wildlife removal services. Depredation permits shall be issued and administered in accordance with the applicable provisions and requirements of 15A NCAC 10B .0106.
(b)  WCAs shall not issue depredation permits for the following:
(1)	any endangered, threatened, or special concern species listed in 15A NCAC 10I .0103 - .0105;
(2)	coyotes in Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, or Washington counties;
(3)	big game animals, including Black Bear, White-tail Deer, and Wild Turkey;
(4)	elk; and
(5)	bats.
(c)  WCAs shall be authorized to issue depredation permits for the taking of wildlife not prohibited in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, provided there is evidence that the wildlife is or has been damaging or destroying property.
(d)  Depredation permits shall not be issued for the taking of migratory birds unless a corresponding, valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service depredation permit, as required by 50 CFR 21.41, has been obtained, if required.
(e)  WCAs shall not receive compensation for the issuance of depredation permits; however, nothing in this Section shall be construed to limit the ability of a WCA to receive compensation for investigations or wildlife damage control and removal services.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1503	Manner of Take
(a)  WCAs shall comply with applicable manner of taking and disposition of wildlife requirements specified in 15A NCAC 10B .0106.
(b)  A WCA license number shall be equivalent to a trapper identification number for the purpose of meeting trap identification requirements specified in G.S. 113-291.6(b)(4) for all trap types used.
(c)  WCAs may only engage in bat eviction and exclusion activities from August 1 through April 30 of the next calendar year unless otherwise approved by the Commission, on a case-by-case basis, for reasons of public health and safety, species conservation, or animal health.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1504	Records and Reporting Requirements
(a)  WCAs shall maintain the following records:
(1)	a copy of each depredation permit issued; and
(2)	the species, number, and disposition of each animal taken, organized by county.
(b)  WCAs shall submit the following information to the Commission each calendar quarter for each animal taken pursuant to a depredation permit:
(1)	depredation permit number and date of issue of the permit that authorized take;
(2)	WCA license number;
(3)	county where permit issued;
(4)	type of damage;
(5)	species;
(6)	number of animals estimated to be taken;
(7)	number of animals taken;
(8)	method of take; and
(9)	disposition of animal.
(c)  Records shall be available for inspection by representatives of the Commission upon request or during the Commission's business hours.
(d)  Records shall be retained by the WCA for 12 months following expiration of the WCA license.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1505	Wildlife Control Agent License Renewal and Revocation
(a)  A WCA may renew his or her WCA license by completing at least one Commission-approved continuing education course within the previous year. A list of Commission-approved continuing education courses may be found at www.ncwildlife.org/wca.
(b)  WCAs that do not renew their license for two consecutive calendar years shall be ineligible for renewal and shall be required to repeat the requirements specified in 15A NCAC 10H .1501, prior to obtaining a new WCA license.
(c)  The Executive Director or his or her designee, may warn, cite, or revoke a WCA's license, if the WCA violates any provision of G.S. 14, Article 47; G.S. 113, Subchapter IV; any rules promulgated by the Commission; conditions of the WCA license; or standards taught in a Commission-approved WCA training course. The determination whether to warn, cite, or revoke a WCA's wildlife control agent license shall be based upon the seriousness of the violation.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1506	Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Requirements
(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Section:
(1)	"Alligator control agent" or "ACA" means a licensed Wildlife Control Agent that holds a current and valid alligator control agent certification issued by the Commission.
(2)	"Alligator control agent certification" or "ACA certification" means a certification issued by the Commission that authorizes a Wildlife Control Agent to engage in alligator damage control or alligator removal activities by means of a Commission-issued depredation permit.
(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in alligator damage control or alligator removal activities for compensation without first obtaining an alligator control agent (ACA) certification from the Commission.
(c)  Only individuals with a valid WCA license shall be eligible for ACA certification.
(d)  WCAs meeting the following requirements shall qualify for ACA certification:
(1)	completion of a Commission-approved ACA training course that reviews the following:
(A)	alligator regulations;
(B)	procedures for alligator data collection activities; and
(C)	safe, humane alligator capture, handling, and transporting techniques.
(2)	a passing score on the ACA written examination as specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
(3)	demonstration to the Commission of necessary equipment to safely and humanely capture and relocate alligators, including ropes, cables, snares, poles, passive integrated transponder (PIT) tag reader, and an alligator transport device.
(e)  WCAs may register for a Commission-approved ACA training course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca
(f)  WCAs scoring at least an 80 percent on the ACA examination provided by the Commission shall be deemed to have received a passing score. WCAs failing to obtain a passing score on the examination shall receive one opportunity to re-take the examination and receive a passing score without being required to retake the ACA training course.
(g)  An ACA certification shall not be transferable between individuals.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1507	Additional Permit Requirements for Alligator Control Agents
(a)  ACAs shall obtain an endangered species permit from the Commission each calendar year prior to conducting any alligator handling and relocation activities.
(b)  ACAs shall only handle alligators after a separate depredation permit for each alligator has been issued from a representative of the Commission.
(c)  In emergency situations, where an alligator must be moved without delay due to a current or imminent threat to human safety, the safety of the alligator, or disruption of traffic, ACAs shall obtain an authorization code from a representative of the Commission prior to conducting any alligator handling and relocation activities. Authorization codes may be obtained from Commission District Biologists or by contacting the Commission's communications center at 1-800-662-7137 to be directed to an appropriate Commission representative.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1508	Alligator Control Agent Records and Reporting Requirements
(a)  ACAs shall maintain alligator datasheets for each alligator handled or relocated, which shall include the following information:
(1)	dates and times of capture and release;
(2)	the GPS locations of the capture and release sites;
(3)	PIT tag number inserted or found upon scanning;
(4)	scute numbers removed;
(5)	total length and snout-to-vent length measurements;
(6)	gender as determined by cloacal examination;
(7)	general observations on physical condition including any injuries observed; and
(8)	the Commission-issued depredation permit number or authorization code.
(b)  ACAs shall follow the reporting requirements on the endangered species permit.
(c)  Records shall be available for inspection by representatives of the Commission upon request or during the Commission's business hours.
(d)  Records shall be retained by the ACA for 12 months following expiration of the ACA certification.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.

15A NCAC 10H .1509	Alligator Control Agent Certification Renewal and Revocation
(a)  An ACA may renew his or her alligator control agent certification by certifying proof of attending at least one Commission-approved alligator-specific continuing education course within the previous year. A list of Commission-approved renewal courses may be found at www.ncwildlife.org.
(b)  ACAs shall maintain a valid WCA license at all times.
(c)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may warn, cite, suspend, or revoke an ACA's certification, if the ACA violates any provision of G.S. 14, Article 47, or G.S. 113, Subchapter IV, or any rules promulgated by the Commission; conditions of the certification; or standards taught in a Commission-approved ACA training course. The determination whether to warn, cite, suspend, or revoke an ACA's certification shall be based upon the seriousness of the violation.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274.


Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions

Chapter 32 - North Carolina Medical Board

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Medical Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32B .1708; and 32M .0119.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2021

Public Hearing:
Date:  January 15, 2021
Time:  10:00 am
Location:  Public Hearing will be held via teleconference: 1-919-518-9840;Conference ID: 932 383 181#

Reason for Proposed Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. COVID-19 is respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death. COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency. The search for potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs. On March 24, 2020, the North Carolina State Health Director requested that the Medical Board, the Board of Nursing and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and ensure that these drugs are available to patients who need them. This rule was adopted as an emergency and then a temporary rule. The State Health Director has requested that the rule be adopted as a permanent rule because the state of emergency and corresponding potential drug shortages now may potentially extend beyond the expiration of the temporary rule. The Board intends to repeal the rule upon the conclusion of the state of emergency. The State Health Director has determined that the State is unlikely to suffer future shortages of two of the drugs previously listed in the temporary and emergency rule, and that those drugs may be removed from the list, while the others should remain.

Note: The underlined and struck through text are changes from the temporary rule currently in effect, to the proposed permanent rule.

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; email rules@ncmedboard.org

Comment period ends:  January 15, 2021

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules Review Commission receives written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
|_|	State funds affected
|_|	Local funds affected
|_|	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
|_|	Approved by OSBM
|_|	No fiscal note required

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE MEDICINE

SECTION .1700 – OTHER LICENSES

21 NCAC 32B .1708	COVID-19 DRUG PRESERVATION RULE
(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is used in this Rule:
(1)	Hydroxychloroquine;
(2)	Chloroquine;
(3)	Lopinavir-ritonavir;
(4)	Ribavirin; and
(5)	Darunavir. Oseltamivir;
(6)	Darunavir; and
(7)	Azithromycin.
(b)  A physician or physician assistant shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use.
(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 shall:
(1)	Indicate on the prescription that the patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19;
(2)	Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and
(3)	Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is issued in conformance with this Rule, including not being refilled through an emergency prescription refill.
(d)  A physician or physician assistant shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed.
(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the pharmacy by the physician or the physician's physician, physician assistant, or either of their agent, and that information is recorded in writing in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1819(e).
(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to inpatients of health care facilities.
(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted Drug on or before March 10, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3).

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE PRACTITIONERS

21 NCAC 32M .0119	COVID-19 DRUG PRESERVATION RULE
(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is used in this Rule:
(1)	Hydroxychloroquine;
(2)	Chloroquine;
(3)	Lopinavir-ritonavir;
(4)	Ribavirin; and
(5)	Darunavir. Oseltamivir;
(6)	Darunavir; and
(7)	Azithromycin.
(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use.
(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 shall:
(1)	Indicate on the prescription that the patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19;
(2)	Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and
(3)	Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is issued in conformance with this Rule, including not being refilled through an emergency prescription refill.
(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed.
(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the pharmacy by the nurse practitioner or nurse practitioner's agent, and that information is recorded in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1819(e).
(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to inpatients of health care facilities.
(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted Drug on or before March 10, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2.




	Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication.
This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements.
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Title 10A - Department of Health and Human Services

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Care Commission

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 13F .1801, .1802; 13G .1701, and .1702

Effective Date:  October 23, 2020

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  October 15, 2020

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help prevent the spread of SARS-CoV-2, commonly known as COVID-19.  COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  The World Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and the United States Department of Health and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  In order to protect the health and safety of citizens residing in adult care homes and family care homes and the healthcare workforce employed in these facilities, the NC Medical Care Commission seeks to adopt 10A NCAC 13F .1801, .1802; 13G .1701 and .1702 under emergency procedures.  These regulations are needed to save lives in adult care homes and family care homes and protect the health of the residents and staff.

Chapter 13 - NC Medical Care Commission

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS

SECTION .1800 - INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL

10A NCAC 13F .1801	INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL PROGRAM
(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement a comprehensive infection prevention and control program (IPCP) consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines on infection prevention and control.
(b)  The facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's IPCP, related policies and procedures, and guidance or directives issued by the CDC, the local health department, and/or the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
(c)  The facility shall assure the following policies and procedures are established and implemented consistent with the federal CDC guidelines on infection control and addresses at least the following:
(1)	Standard and transmission-based precautions, for which guidance can be found on the CDC website at https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics, including:
(A)	respiratory hygiene and cough etiquette;
(B)	environmental cleaning and disinfection;
(C)	reprocessing and disinfection of reusable resident medical equipment;
(D)	hand hygiene;
(E)	accessibility and proper use of personal protective equipment (PPE);
(F)	types of transmission-based precautions and when each type is indicated, including contact precautions, droplet precautions, and airborne precautions:
(2)	When and how to report to the local health department when there is a suspected or confirmed reportable communicable disease case or condition, or communicable disease outbreak in accordance with Rule .1802 of this Section:
(3)	Resident care when there is suspected or confirmed communicable disease in the facility, including, when indicated, isolation of infected residents, limiting or stopping group activities and communal dining, and based on the mode of transmission, use of source control by the residents. Source control includes the use of face coverings for residents when the mode of transmission is through a respiratory pathogen:
(4)	Procedures for screening visitors to the facility and criteria for restricting visitors who exhibit signs of illness, as well as posting signage for visitors regarding screening and restriction procedures;
(5)	Procedures for screening facility staff and criteria for restricting staff who exhibit signs of illness from working;
(6)	Procedures and strategies for addressing staffing issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs of the residents during a communicable disease outbreak:
(7)	The annual review of the facility's IPCP and update of the IPCP as necessary; and
(8)	a process for updating policies and procedures to reflect guidelines and recommendations by the CDC, local health department, and North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services during a public health emergency as declared by the United States and that applies to North Carolina or a public health emergency declared by the State of North Carolina.
(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter, the facility shall ensure all staff are trained within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures listed in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (5) of this Rule. Training on Parts (c)(1)(D) and (E) of this Rule shall include hands-on demonstration by a trained instructor and return demonstration by the staff person.
[bookmark: _Hlk52974142](e)  The facility shall ensure that, prior to administration, all staff responsible for administering tests to residents for the diagnosis of a communicable disease or condition shall be trained on the proper use of testing devices and materials consistent with manufacturer's specifications.
(f)  The facility shall ensure staff employed in a management or supervisory role in the facility are trained within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures listed in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (6) of this Rule.
(g)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff working at the facility.
(h)  The facility shall ensure that the IPCP is incorporated into the facility's emergency preparedness disaster plan and updated as needed to address any emerging infectious disease threats to protect the residents during a shelter-in-place or emergency evacuation event.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;
[bookmark: _Hlk53668403]Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.

10A NCAC 13F .1802	REPORTING AND NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK
(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health as specified in Rules 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A .0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), including subsequent amendments and editions.
(b)  The facility shall implement recommendations to the greatest extent practicable provided by the local health department in response to a suspected or confirmed communicable disease case or condition or communicable disease outbreak.
(c)  The facility shall inform the residents and their representative(s) within 24 hours following confirmation by the local health department of a communicable disease outbreak, or one or more confirmed cases of COVID-19 among any resident or staff person. The facility, in its notification to residents and their representative(s), shall:
(1)	not disclose any personally identifiable information of the residents or staff;
(2)	provide information on the measures the facility is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of transmission, including whether normal operations of the facility will change;
(3)	provide weekly updates until the communicable illness within the facility has resolved, as determined by the local health department; and
(4)	provide education to the resident(s) concerning measures they can take to reduce the risk of spread or transmission of infection.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE HOMES

SECTION .1700 - INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL

10A NCAC 13G .1701	INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL PROGRAM
(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement a comprehensive infection prevention and control program (IPCP) consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines on infection prevention and control.
(b)  The facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's IPCP, related policies and procedures, and guidance or directives issued by the CDC, the local health department, and/or the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.
(c)  The facility shall assure the following policies and procedures are established and implemented consistent with the federal CDC guidelines on infection control and addresses at least the following:
(1)	Standard and transmission-based precautions, for which guidance can be found on the CDC website at https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/basics, including:
(A)	respiratory hygiene and cough etiquette;
(B)	environmental cleaning and disinfection;
(C)	reprocessing and disinfection of reusable resident medical equipment;
(D)	hand hygiene;
(E)	accessibility and proper use of personal protective equipment (PPE);
(F)	types of transmission-based precautions and when each type is indicated, including contact precautions, droplet precautions, and airborne precautions:
(2)	When and how to report to the local health department when there is a suspected or confirmed reportable communicable disease case or condition, or communicable disease outbreak in accordance with Rule .1702 of this Section:
(3)	Resident care when there is suspected or confirmed communicable disease in the facility, including, when indicated, isolation of infected residents, limiting or stopping group activities and communal dining, and based on the mode of transmission, use of source control by the residents. Source control includes the use of face coverings for residents when the mode of transmission is through a respiratory pathogen:
(4)	Procedures for screening visitors to the facility and criteria for restricting visitors who exhibit signs of illness, as well as posting signage for visitors regarding screening and restriction procedures;
(5)	Procedures for screening facility staff and criteria for restricting staff who exhibit signs of illness from working;
(6)	Procedures and strategies for addressing staffing issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs of the residents during a communicable disease outbreak:
(7)	The annual review of the facility's IPCP and update of the IPCP as necessary; and
(8)	a process for updating policies and procedures to reflect guidelines and recommendations by the CDC, local health department, and North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services during a public health emergency as declared by the United States and that applies to North Carolina or a public health emergency declared by the State of North Carolina.
(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter, the facility shall ensure all staff are trained within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures listed in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (5) of this Rule. Training on Parts (c)(1)(D) and (E) of this Rule shall include hands-on demonstration by a trained instructor and return demonstration by the staff person.
(e)  The facility shall ensure that, prior to administration, all staff responsible for administering tests to residents for the diagnosis of a communicable disease or condition shall be trained on the proper use of testing devices and materials consistent with manufacturer's specifications.
(f)  The facility shall ensure staff employed in a management or supervisory role in the facility are trained within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures listed in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (6) of this Rule.
(g)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff working at the facility.
(h)  The facility shall ensure that the IPCP is incorporated into the facility's emergency preparedness disaster plan and updated as needed to address any emerging infectious disease threats to protect the residents during a shelter-in-place or emergency evacuation event.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.
10A NCAC 13G .1702	REPORTING AND NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK
(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health as specified in Rules 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A .0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), including subsequent amendments and editions.
(b)  The facility shall implement recommendations to the greatest extent practicable provided by the local health department in response to a suspected or confirmed communicable disease case or condition or communicable disease outbreak.
(c)  The facility shall inform the residents and their representative(s) within 24 hours following confirmation by the local health department of a communicable disease outbreak, or one or more confirmed cases of COVID-19 among any resident or staff person. The facility, in its notification to residents and their representative(s), shall:
(1)	not disclose any personally identifiable information of the residents or staff;
(2)	provide information on the measures the facility is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of transmission, including whether normal operations of the facility will change;
(3)	provide weekly updates until the communicable illness within the facility has resolved, as determined by the local health department; and
(4)	provide education to the resident(s) concerning measures they can take to reduce the risk of spread or transmission of infection.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.


Title 15A - Department of Environmental Quality

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10F .0323

Effective Date:  November 2, 2020

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  October 23, 2020

Reason for Action:  A pedestrian bridge is being constructed over Mill Creek on Lake James in connection with the New Lake James Visitor Center and Fonta Flora Trail.  Construction will begin in mid-November 2020.  During this time, the construction company will have equipment in the water and on the land.  The temporary restriction of access to this area is necessary to ensure the safety of the public and construction crew, and to ensure that the construction company complies with OSHA standards.

Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety

SUBCHAPTER 10F  MOTORBOATS AND WATER SAFETY

SECTION .0300  LOCAL WATER SAFETY REGULATIONS

15A ncac 10f .0323	burke county
(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies only to the following waters or portions of waters in Burke County:
(1)	Lake Hickory;
(2)	Lake James, delineated by markers consistent with Paragraph (e) of this Rule, at the following locations:
(A)	Holiday Shores Subdivision;
(B)	Lake James Campground;
(C)	Laurel Pointe Subdivision;
(D)	The waters of Boyd Moore Cove shore to shore, north of a line from a point on the northwest shore at 35.76667 N, 81.82337 W to a point on the southeast shore at 35.76558 N, 81.82245 W;
(E)	East Shores development;
(F)	Eastern shore of Lake James at Mallard Cove;
(G)	That portion of Lake James shore to shore, beginning 50 yards northeast of the NC Highway 126 bridge at a line from a point on the north shore at 35.74398 N, 81.88426 W, to a point on the south shore at 35.74334 N, 81.88383 W, and ending at a line 215 yards southwest of the NC Highway 126 bridge, from a point on the northwest shore at 35.74257 N, 81.88679 W to a point on the southeast shore at 35.74160 N, 81.88516 W;
(H)	Within 50 yards of the Canal Bridge Boating Access area dock;
(I)	The waters within 50 yards of the end of the South Pointe Subdivision peninsula from a point east of the peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the peninsula from a point east of the peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the peninsula to a point west of the peninsula at 35.76307 N, 81.83648 W; and
(J)	The waters of Sherman's Hollow Cove shore to shore, and contiguous with those waters beginning at a point on the west shore of the mouth of Sherman's Hollow Cove at 35.76423 N, 81.82748 W, extending northeast within 50 yards of Linville Point to a point on the northeast shore of Linville Point at 35.76596 N, 81.82432 W.
(3)	Lake Rhodhiss.
(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any designated public boat launching ramp, bridge, marina, boat storage structure, boat service area, dock, or pier; or while on designated waters of the areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(d)  Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public swimming area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Burke County is the designated agency for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of Engineers.
[bookmark: _Hlk52535352](f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the waters known as Mill Creek at Lake James State Park, on Lake James shore to shore, beginning 345 yards northwest of a line from a point on the southwest shore at 35.76016 N, 81.87322 W to a point on the northeast shore at 35.762040 N, 81.87150 W, and ending at a line from a point on the southwest shore at 35.76215 N, 81.87624 W to a point on the northeast shore at 35.76343 N, 81.87442 W. Vessel entry not authorized by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall be prohibited by establishment of a safety zone in the waters of Mill Creek on Lake James, northeast and northwest of a line from a point on the southwest shore at 35.76215 N, 81.87624 W to a point on the northeast shore at 35.76343 N, 81.87442 W. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of markers for this regulated area.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 75A3; 75A15; 102-1.1.
Eff. July 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; December 1, 1994; December 1, 1992; March 1, 1992;
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 2001;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;
Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;
Emergency Amendment Eff. November 2, 2020.


Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions

Chapter 16 – board of Dental Examiners

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Dental Examiners

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 16B .0318 and 16C .0312

Effective Date:  October 22, 2020

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  October 14, 2020

Reason for Action:  On May 4, 2020, S.L. 2020-3, the COVID-19 Recovery Act, became law. Section 4.38.(b) of S.L. 2020-3 states that, "Notwithstanding any other provisions of State law, if a State agency determines that, due to the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest, including the public health, safety, and welfare and the economic well-being of the citizens and businesses of the State, the agency shall: . . . (3) Delay or modify any educational or examination requirements implemented by the agency pursuant to its statutes." Section 4.38.(e) permits State agencies to adopt emergency rules to implement this section, which shall expire August 1, 2020. Section 4.38.(a) defines a "State agency" as an agency in the executive branch of the government of this State, including a "board." S.L. 2020-97, Section 3.20 was signed into law on September 4, 2020, and reauthorizes such agency adoption of emergency rules effective until the earlier of March 31, 2021, or 30 days after Executive Order No. 116 is rescinded. In addition, the COVID-19 Recovery Act enacted G.S. 90-28.5, which authorizes the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners to waive requirements of Article 2 and Article 16 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes to permit the provision of dental and dental hygiene services to the public during a state of emergency. Pursuant to the authority of S.L. 2020-3 s. 4.38, S.L. 2020-97 s. 3.20, and G.S. 90-28.5, the Dental Board has determined that, due to the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest to delay or modify examination requirements implemented by the Dental Board pursuant to its statutes. Applicants for dental licenses and dental hygiene licenses are unable to complete the clinical examination requirements for licensure because of test limitations due to social distancing and protective measures. The Dental Board seeks to assist applicants by granting a temporary limited license to applicants that satisfy all other application requirements and conditions, thereby enabling applicants to practice under the supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist until such time as they are able to complete the necessary clinical examinations for licensure, and protecting the public health, safety, and welfare and the economic well-being of the citizens and businesses of the State.

SUBCHAPTER 16B - LICENSURE DENTISTS

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

21 NCAC 16B .0318	TEMPORARY LIMIted LICENSE during state of emergency
(a)  An individual shall be eligible for a temporary limited dental license during a state of emergency, subject to the requirements and limitations set out in this Rule, if he or she:
(1)	is a graduate of and has a DMD or DDS degree from a dental school or program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association;
(2)	satisfies the requirements set out in Rules .0301(a), (b), and (c)(1) - (2) of this Subchapter;
(3)	satisfies the examination requirements in Rule .0303(a) of this Subchapter; and
(4)	achieves a passing score on the examination administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations as set out in Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter.
(b)  A temporary limited dental license shall not be granted to an individual who:
(1)	is licensed to practice dentistry in any jurisdiction;
(2)	lacks good moral character;
(3)	has been disciplined by any dental board or other licensing body in another state or country; or
(4)	has completed and failed the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction.
(c)  An applicant for a temporary limited dental license under this Rule shall submit to the Board:
(1)	a notarized application form provided by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the information and materials required by Rule .0301(a) of this Subchapter;
(2)	the nonrefundable application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101;
(3)	a letter from the dean of the dental school or program satisfying the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, confirming:
(A)	the applicant is a graduate of the dental school or program; and
(B)	the applicant is competent to practice dentistry under the supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist; and
(4)	a statement disclosing and explaining any investigations, malpractice claims, or state or federal agency complaints, judgments, or settlements that are related to licensure and are not disclosed elsewhere in the application.
(d)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant for a temporary limited dental license shall request the applicable entity to provide the following required information or documents to the Board office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved:
(1)	the information or documents as set out in Rule .0301(c)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter;
(2)	examination scores on the examination administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations as set out in Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter; and
(3)	examination scores on the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction if the applicant has taken all or any portion of a clinical examination prior to submitting the application.
(e)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule and the applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303(a) of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee.
(f)  The licensee practicing pursuant to a temporary limited dental license granted under this Rule shall practice under the direct supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist, who shall:
[bookmark: _Hlk39683464](1)	supervise the functions performed by the licensee;
(2)	employ and supervise no more than two temporary licensee dentists at the same time; and
(3)	be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the temporary licensee's practice of dentistry.
The temporary limited dental license shall not take effect until the Board receives a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist stating he or she will supervise and be responsible for the licensee in accordance with this Paragraph. The temporary licensee shall maintain documentation of any additional dentists under whose supervision the licensee practices, including a signed statement from each dentist agreeing to supervise the licensee and be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the temporary licensee's practice of dentistry. The licensee shall provide the documentation to the Board at its request.
(g)  A temporary limited dental license granted under this Rule shall be in effect until the earlier of:
[bookmark: _Hlk39685598](1)	the applicant completes the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter and receives passing scores, in which event the applicant's temporary dental license shall be converted to a dental license under Rule .0301 of this Subchapter as of the date the passing scores are provided to the Board by the testing agency;
(2)	the applicant completes the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction and receives failing scores, in which event the applicant shall promptly notify the Board and the applicant's temporary dental license shall expire as of the date the failing scores are issued; or
(3)	one year from the date the temporary limited dental license is issued.
(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the Board office in writing within 10 business days.
(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false representation shall be revoked.

[bookmark: _Hlk53149994]History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-28.5; 90-30; 90-39; S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38; S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20;
Emergency Adoption Eff. May 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(e);
Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. August 1, 2020 pursuant to S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(e);
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20.

SUBCHAPTER 16C - LICENSURE DENTAL HYGIENISTS

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION

21 NCAC 16C .0312	TEMPORARY LIMIted LICENSE during state of emergency
(a)  An individual shall be eligible for a temporary limited dental hygiene license during a state of emergency, subject to the requirements and limitations set out in this Rule, if he or she:
(1)	is a graduate of a dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association;
(2)	satisfies the requirements set out in Rules .0301(a), (b), and (c)(1) - (3) of this Subchapter; and
(3)	satisfies the examination requirements in Rule .0303(a) of this Subchapter.
(b)  A temporary limited dental hygiene license shall not be granted to an individual who:
(1)	is licensed to practice dental hygiene in any jurisdiction;
(2)	lacks good moral character;
(3)	has been disciplined by any dental board or other licensing body in another state or country; or
(4)	has failed the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction.
(c)  An applicant for a temporary limited dental hygiene license under this Rule shall submit to the Board:
(1)	a notarized application form provided by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the information and materials required by Rule .0301(a) of this Subchapter;
(2)	the nonrefundable application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102;
(3)	a letter from the dean of the dental hygiene program satisfying the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, confirming:
(A)	the applicant is a graduate of the dental hygiene program; and
(B)	the applicant is competent to practice dental hygiene under the supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist; and
(4)	a statement disclosing and explaining any investigations, malpractice claims, or state or federal agency complaints, judgments, or settlements that are related to licensure and are not disclosed elsewhere in the application.
(d)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant for a temporary limited dental hygiene license shall request the applicable entity to provide the following required information or documents to the Board office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved:
(1)	the information or documents as set out in Rule .0301(c)(1) - (3) of this Subchapter;
(2)	examination scores on the examination administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter if the applicant has taken the examination prior to submitting the application; and
(3)	examination scores on the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction if the applicant has taken all or any portion of a clinical examination prior to submitting the application.
(e)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule and the applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303(a) of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee.
[bookmark: _Hlk40096977](f)  The temporary limited dental hygiene license shall not take effect until the Board receives a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist stating he or she will supervise the licensee and be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the temporary licensee's practice of dental hygiene. The temporary licensee shall maintain documentation of any additional dentists under whose supervision the licensee practices, including a signed statement from each dentist agreeing to supervise the licensee and be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the temporary licensee's practice of dental hygiene. The licensee shall provide the documentation to the Board at its request.
(g)  A temporary limited dental hygiene license granted under this Rule shall be in effect until the earlier of:
(1)	the applicant completes the written and clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter and receives passing scores, in which event the applicant's temporary dental hygiene license shall be converted to a dental hygiene license under Rule .0301 of this Subchapter as of the date the passing scores are provided to the Board by the testing agencies;
(2)	the applicant completes the written examination administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter and receives failing scores three times, thereby requiring additional study pursuant to Rule .0311(c) of this Subchapter, in which event the applicant shall promptly notify the Board of the third failing score and the applicant's temporary dental hygiene license shall expire as of the date the third failing score is issued;
[bookmark: _Hlk40106918](3)	the applicant completes the clinical examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other clinical examinations accepted by another jurisdiction and receives failing scores, in which event the applicant shall promptly notify the Board and the applicant's temporary dental hygiene license shall expire as of the date the failing scores are issued; or
(4)	one year from the date the temporary limited dental hygiene license is issued.
(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the Board office in writing within 10 business days.
(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false representation shall be revoked.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-28.5; 90-223; 90-224; S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38; S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20;
Emergency Adoption Eff. May 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(e);
Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. August 1, 2020 pursuant to S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(e);
Emergency Adoption Eff. October 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20.




	Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day.
This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.
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Title 10A - Department of Health and Human Services

Rule-making Agency:  Child Care Commission

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 09 .3101-.3104

Effective Date:  October 23, 2020

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  October 15, 2020

Reason for Action:  These rules were previously adopted as emergency rules effective August 13, 2020.  The NC Child Care Commission has now adopted these rules as temporary rules to comply with the Governor's declaration of a state of emergency due to the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) to enact protective measures to help prevent the spread of the disease. This disease can result in serious illness or death to the public.  The public health emergency, and the resulting closure of public schools, has impacted North Carolina school-age children and their families.  To the degree that it is able, the North Carolina Child Care Commission is implementing temporary rules in order to give public schools options to provide care outside, or in addition to the traditional school building, as well as give licensed facilities some flexibility to create and fill additional slots for school-age children to receive care while attending remote/online learning programs.

Chapter 09 - Child Care Rules

SECTION .3100 – CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN DURING STATE OF EMERGENCY

10A NCAC 09 .3101	SCOPE
The rules in this Section apply to care for school-age children, as defined by 10A NCAC 09 .0102(41), during the declared State of Emergency to coordinate the State's response and protective actions to address the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health emergency and to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina ("Declaration of a State of Emergency"). All rules in Section .2500 of this Chapter apply except as provided in this Section.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.

10A NCAC 09 .3102	DEFINITIONS
The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows except when the context of the rule requires a different meaning.
(1)	"Public schools" means:
(a)	any building that is approved for school occupancy and which houses school-age children as part of the public school system during the school year; or
(b)	a remote learning facility.
(2)	"Remote learning facility" means any building that is used by a public school system, pursuant to a Contractual Arrangement, contractual arrangement, to house school-age children enrolled in that public school system during the school year for the purpose of facilitating online or remote learning programs, and that follows any and all guidance or considerations offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention related to mitigation strategies, the protection of students, teachers, and staff, or slowing the spread of COVID-19 in K-12 schools. The information and documents are hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and may be accessed at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/schools.html at no cost. 
(3)	"Contractual arrangement" means a written agreement wherein the public school unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(7A), agrees as follows:
(a)	to be responsible for the enrollment and attendance of school-age children at a remote learning facility; and
(b)	that it shall be liable for any incidents or occurrences at the remote learning facility in the same way it would be liable if the school-age child(ren) were in a building that is approved for school occupancy and which houses any part of the public school system. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this provision shall not prohibit the public school unit from obtaining liability insurance or from contracting with the remote learning facility regarding indemnification or other terms regarding the apportionment of liability between themselves for incidents or occurrences.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.

10A NCAC 09 .3103	PUBLIC SCHOOLS
Pursuant to G.S. 110-86(2)(e), public schools are not child care and are, therefore, exempt from licensure. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, all NC Pre-K programs, as defined in Section .3000 of this Chapter, and Developmental Day Services, as defined in Section .2900 of this Chapter, and any program or arrangement housed in a public school that is not operated by the public school unit and provides care to three or more infants, toddlers, or preschoolers on a regular basis of at least once per week for more than four hours from persons other than their guardians or full time custodians or from persons not related to them by birth, marriage, or adoption are child care as defined in G.S. 110-86(2) and requires a child care license.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.

10A NCAC 09 .3104	ADDING SPACE AT LICENSED CENTERS FOR CARE OF SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN
If an operator of a licensed child care center wishes to use additional space not previously approved for child care, regardless of location, to care for school-age children during the Declaration of a State of Emergency, the operator shall notify the Division of the desired change pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .0204, but shall have six months to obtain any required inspections of the additional space by the local health, building, and fire inspections in accordance with G.S. 110-91(1), (4), and (5). If all other standards set forth in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met, the operator may provide care to school-age children in the additional space and the Division shall document the same in a manner that will notify parents and the public of the change. Once the operator provides documentation that the additional space conforms to all applicable sanitation, building, and fire standards, and if all applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Chapter are met, the Division shall issue a new license pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .0204. If a health, building, or fire inspection reveals that the additional space does not conform to the required standards, the Division may issue a provisional license as set forth in 10A NCAC 09 .2204. Any space that the operator desires to use as additional space for care of school-age children, which is not located within the currently licensed facility, shall not be required to meet the outdoor space and fencing requirements of G.S. 110-91(6). If there is no outdoor space at the additional space to be used for care of school-age children, that is not located within the currently licensed facility, operators shall not be required to meet the requirements of 10A NCAC 09 .0508(c). Notwithstanding any other provision in this Section, operators shall provide indoor space for daily gross motor activities when outdoor space is not available.

History Note:	Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91;
Emergency Adoption Eff. August 13, 2020;
[bookmark: _Hlk48572542]Temporary Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020.
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission October 15, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

	Appointed by Senate
	Appointed by House

	Jeanette Doran (Chair)
	Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair)

	Robert A. Bryan, Jr.
	Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair)

	Margaret Currin
Jeff Hyde
	Paul Powell
Garth Dunklin

	Randy Overton
	

	
	


COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May	984-236-1936
Amanda Reeder	984-236-1939
Ashley Snyder		  984-236-1941
Karlene Turrentine	  984-236-1948

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
November 19, 2020	December 17, 2020
  January 21, 2021	 February 18, 2021
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
October 15, 2020

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, October 15, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Commissioners held a WebEx meeting to ensure compliance with Executive Orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.  
DRAFT

[bookmark: _Hlk38882118]Commissioners present via teleconference were Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell.

Staff members present were Commission Counsel Ashley Snyder and Amanda Reeder, and Alex Burgos. Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May and Karlene Turrentine were present via WebEx.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair recognized former Commissioner, Senator Tommy Tucker, for his service with the Commission.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
[bookmark: _Hlk46214571]The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the September 17, 2020 meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.

Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  


FOLLOW UP MATTERS
[bookmark: _Hlk10455890]Crime Victims Compensation Commission 
14B NCAC 09 .0303 and .0304 – Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Environmental Management Commission
[bookmark: _Hlk51569298]15A NCAC 02D .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515, .0516, .0517, .0519, .0521, .0524, .0527, .0528, .0529, .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0541, .0542, .0543, .0544, and .0615 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Environmental Management Commission
15A NCAC 02D .0901, .0902, .0903, .0906, .0909, .0912, .0918, .0919, .0922, .0923, .0924, .0925, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0930, .0931, .0933, .0935, .0937, .0943, .0944, .0945, .0947, .0948, .0949, .0951, .0952, .0955, .0956, .0957, .0958, .0959, .0961, .0962, .0963, .0964, .0965, .0966, .0967, and .0968 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  DRAFT


Coastal Resources Commission
15A NCAC 07H .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, and .0312 - The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 13B .0531, .0532, .0533, .0534, .0535, .0536, .0537, .0538, .0539, .0540, .0541,.0542, .0543, .0544, .0545, .0547, .1601, .1602, .1603, .1604, .1617, .1618, .1619, .1620, .1621, .1622, .1623, .1624, .1625, .1626, .1627, .1629, .1630, .1631, .1632, .1633, .1634, .1635, .1636, .1637, and .1680 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8,noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

The Commission received over 10 letters of objection in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), requesting a delayed effective date and legislative review of 15A NCAC 13B .0532, .0534, .0535, .0545, .1602, .1603, .1604, .1617, .1626, and .1631.

State Board of Education
16 NCAC 06B .0112, .0113, and .0114 - The agency is addressing the objections from the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06D .0211, .0212, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311; 06E .0107, .0204, .0206; 06G .0314, .0315, .0316, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0514, .0517, .0518, .0519, .0520, .0521, and .0522 - The agency is addressing the objections from the August and September meetings.  No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education
16 NCAC 06H .0113, .0115, .0116, .0117; 06K .0101, .0103, .0104, and .0105 - The agency is addressing the objections from the September meeting.  No action was required by the Commission.

Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board
21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, and .0708 – The agency is addressing the objections from the September meeting.  No action was required by the Commission.

[bookmark: _Hlk520108877]LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)
[bookmark: _Hlk38272126]Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  



Environmental Management Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

Department of Transportation  
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Transportation, Commissioner Bryan recused himself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict.  

Local Government Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  DRAFT


Board of Funeral Service 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 34B .0110 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Funeral Service, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board.

Board of Nursing 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Nursing, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board.

State Board of Opticians 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None.  

Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board.

State Human Resources Commission   
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES
Child Care Commission 
10A NCAC 09 .3101, .3102, .3103, and .3104 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  

COMMISSION BUSINESS
The meeting adjourned at 9:23 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, November 19, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.




					
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

					
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, ChairDRAFT
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	LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES

	October 15, 2020 Meeting

	

	CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION

	Meetings of the Commission
	14B
	NCAC
	09
	.0303

	Contested Cases
	14B
	NCAC
	09
	.0304

	
	
	
	
	

	ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

	Definitions
	14B
	NCAC
	15C
	.1301

	Tastings Held for Consumers
	14B
	NCAC
	15C
	.1303

	Special Event Compliance Procedure
	14B
	NCAC
	15C
	.1304

	Special Event Sale of Branded Merchandise, Point-of-Sale ...
	14B
	NCAC
	15C
	.1305

	ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tastings
	14B
	NCAC
	15C
	.1307

	
	
	
	
	

	ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

	Total Suspended Particulates
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0403

	Compliance with Emission Control Standards
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0501

	Purpose
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0502

	Particulates from Fuel Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0503

	Particulates from Wood Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0504

	Particulates from Hot Mix Asphalt Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0506

	Particulates from Chemical Fertilizer Manufacturing Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0507

	Particulates from Pulp and Paper Mills
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0508

	Particulates from MICA or Feldspar Processing Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0509

	Particulates from Sand, Gravel, or Crushed Stone Operations
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0510

	Particulates from Lightweight Aggregate Processes
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0511

	Particulates from Wood Products Finishing Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0512

	Particulates from Portland Cement Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0513

	Particulates from Ferrous Jobbing Foundries
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0514

	Particulates from Miscellaneous Industrial Processes
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0515

	Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Combustion Sources
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0516

	Emissions from Plants Producing Sulfuric Acid
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0517

	Control of Nitrogen Dioxide and Nitrogen Oxides
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0519

	Control of Visible Emissions
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0521

	New Source Performance Standards
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0524

	Emissions from Spodumene Ore Roasting
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0527

	Total Reduced Sulfur from Kraft Pulp Mills
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0528

	Fluoride Emissions from Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0529

	Sources in Nonattainment Areas
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0531

	Sources Contributing to an Ambient Violation
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0532

	Stack Height
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0533

	Flouride Emissions from Phosphate Fertilizer Industry
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0534

	Excess Emissions Reporting and Malfunctions
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0535

	Particulate Emissions from Electric Utility Boilers
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0536

	Control of Mercury Emissions
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0537

	Control of Ethylene Oxide Emissions
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0538

	Odor Control of Feed Ingredient Manufacturing Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0539

	Control of Emissions from Abrasive Blasting
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0541

	Control of Particulate Emissions from Cotton Ginning Oper...
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0542

	Best Available Retrofit Technology
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0543

	Prevention of Significant Deterioration Requirements for ...
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0544

	Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0546

	Delegation
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0615

	Definitions
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0901

	Applicability
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0902

	Recordkeeping: Reporting: Monitoring
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0903

	Circumvention
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0906

	Compliance Schedules for Sources In Ozone Nonattainment a...
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0909

	General Provisions on Test Methods and Procedures
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0912

	Can Coating
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0918

	Coil Coating
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0919

	Metal Furniture Coatings
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0922

	Surface Coating of Large Appliance Parts
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0923

	Magnet Wire Coating
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0924

	Petroleum Liquid Storage in Fixed Roof Tanks
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0925

	Bulk Gasoline Plants
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0926

	Bulk Gasoline Terminals
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0927

	Gasoline Service Stations Stage 1
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0928

	Solvent Metal Cleaning
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0930

	Cutback Asphalt
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0931

	Petroleum Liquid Storage in External Floating Roof Tanks
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0933

	Factory Surface Coating of Flat Wood Paneling
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0935

	Manufacture of Pneumatic Rubber Tires
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0937

	Synthetic Organic Chemical and Polymer Manufacturing
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0943

	Manufacture of Polyethylene: Polypropylene and Polystyrene
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0944

	Petroleum Dry Cleaning
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0945

	Manufacture of Synthesized Pharmaceutical Products
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0947

	VOC Emissions from Transfer Operations
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0948

	Storage of Miscellaneous Volatile Organic Compounds
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0949

	RACT for Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0951

	Petition for Alternative Controls for RACT
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0952

	Thread Bonding Manufacturing
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0955

	Glass Christmas Ornament Manufacturing
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0956

	Commercial Bakeries
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0957

	Work Practices for Sources of Volatile Organic Compounds
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0958

	Petition for Superior Alternative Controls
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0959

	Offset Lithographic Printing and Letterpress Printing
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0961

	Industrial Cleaning Solvents
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0962

	Fiberglass Boat Manufacturing Materials
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0963

	Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesives
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0964

	Flexible Package Printing
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0965

	Paper, Film and Foil Coatings
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0966

	Miscellaneous Metal and Plastic Parts Coatings
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0967

	Automobile and Light Duty Truck Assembly Coatings
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.0968

	Toxic Air Pollutant Guidelines
	15A
	NCAC
	02D
	.1104

	Purpose and Applicability for Construction and Demolition...
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0531

	Definitions for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0532

	General Application Requirements and Processing for C&DLF...
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0533

	General Requirements for C&DLF Facilities and Units
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0534

	Application Requirements for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0535

	Site Study for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0536

	Facility Plan for C&DLFs
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0537

	Geologic and Hydrogeologic Investigations for C&DLF Facil...
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0538

	Engineering Plan for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0539

	Construction Requirements for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0540

	Construction Quality Assurance for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0541

	Operation Plan and Requirements for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0542

	Closure and Post-Closure Requirements for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0543

	Monitoring Plans and Requirments for C&DLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0544

	Assessment and Corrective Action Program for C&DLF Facili...
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0545

	Existing C&DLF Units as of January 1, 2007
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.0547

	Purpose and Applicability
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1601

	Definitions
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1602

	General Application and Requirements and Processing
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1603

	General Requirements for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1604

	Application Requirements for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1617

	Site Study for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1618

	Facility Plan
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1619

	Engineering Plan
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1620

	Construction Quality Assurance Plan
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1621

	Location Restrictions for MSWLF Facility Siting
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1622

	Geologic and Hydrogeologic Investigations for MSWLF Facil...
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1623

	Construction Requirements for SMWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1624

	Operation Plan for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1625

	Operational Requirements for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1626

	Closure and Post-Closure Requirements for MSWLF Facilities
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1627

	Closure and Post-Closure Plan
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1629

	Applicability of Groundwater Monitoring Requirements
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1630

	Groundwater Monitoring Systems
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1631

	GroundWater Sampling and Analysis Requirements
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1632

	Detection Monitoring Program
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1633

	Assessment Monitoring Program
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1634

	Assessment of Corrective Measures
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1635

	Selection of Remedy
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1636

	Implementation of the Corrective Action Program
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1637

	Leachate Storage Requirements
	15A
	NCAC
	13B
	.1680

	
	
	
	
	

	LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION

	Audit Contract
	20
	NCAC
	03
	.0502

	Audit Billings
	20
	NCAC
	03
	.0505

	Response to the Independent Auditor's Findings, Recommend...
	20
	NCAC
	03
	.0508

	
	
	
	
	

	FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF

	Work Reports and Checklists
	21
	NCAC
	34B
	.0110

	
	
	
	
	

	NURSING, BOARD OF

	Petitioning for Rulemaking
	21
	NCAC
	36
	.0121

	Petitions for Declaratory Rulings
	21
	NCAC
	36
	.0122

	Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice
	21
	NCAC
	36
	.0228

	Records and Reports
	21
	NCAC
	36
	.0323

	
	
	
	
	

	

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF

	Registration Optical Place of Business and Optician in Ch...
	21
	NCAC
	40
	.0202

	Professional Responsibility; Continuing Education
	21
	NCAC
	40
	.0206

	
	
	
	
	

	STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION

	Purpose
	25
	NCAC
	01E
	.1601

	Definitions
	25
	NCAC
	01E
	.1602

	Uses of Volunteer Service and Child Involvement Leave
	25
	NCAC
	01E
	.1604

	Leave Administration
	25
	NCAC
	01E
	.1605

	Special Leave Provisions
	25
	NCAC
	01E
	.1607
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	CHILD CARE COMMISSION

	Scope
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3101

	Definitions
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3102

	Public Schools
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3103

	Adding Space at Licensed Centers for Care of School-Age C...
	10A
	NCAC
	09
	.3104
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	Year
	Code
	Number
	Date Decision
Filed
	Petitioner
	 
	Respondent
	ALJ

	
	
	
	
	Published
	
	
	

	20
	BLC
	00366
	9/28/2020
	North Carolina Landscape Contractors Licensing Board 
	v.
	Jason Lee Atkins and Natural Choice Contracting LLC f/k/a ALM Contracting LLC
	Ward

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	CTY
	00292
	9/18/2020
	Mohamad Kodaimati 
	v.
	Town of Mint Hill
	Malherbe

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	19
	DOJ
	05371
	9/22/2020; 9/23/2020
	William Donald Britt 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Lassiter

	19
	DOJ
	06179
	9/11/2020
	Donald Ray McGlamery 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	19
	DOJ
	06469
	9/11/2020
	Paul J Eagle
	v.
	North Carolina Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	May

	19
	DOJ
	06638
	9/23/2020
	Scott McCoy 
	v.
	NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission
	Sutton

	19
	DOJ
	06927
	9/14/2020
	Jacqueline Deneen Coefield 
	v.
	North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
	Ward

	20
	DOJ
	00518
	9/9/2020
	Alicia Micole Smith 
	v.
	NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	DOJ
	00742
	9/10/2020
	David Scott Sutton Jr. 
	v.
	NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	DOJ
	02155
	9/16/2020
	William Thomas Whiting 
	v.
	NC Private Protective Services Board
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	OSP
	01463
	9/28/2020
	Velma Sharpe-Johnson 
	v.
	NC Department of Public Instruction Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf
	Culpepper

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	Unpublished
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	ABC
	02585
	9/14/2020
	NC Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
	v.
	Vinayak Stores Inc T/A Triangle Food Mart
	May

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	CPS
	01750
	9/1/2020
	Tawanda S McKinney 
	v.
	NC Crime Victims Compensation Commission
	Mann

	20
	CPS
	01834
	9/9/2020
	Clotene Freeman(for Husband) Michael Freeman 
	v.
	Department of Public Safety Victims Services
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	CPS
	02330
	9/15/2020
	Russell C Rowe 
	v.
	NC Department of Public Safety Victim Services
	Overby

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	19
	CSE
	05959
	9/15/2020
	Alvin V Brookins 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Culpepper

	19
	CSE
	06118
	9/15/2020
	Jason Addams 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Lassiter

	19
	CSE
	06583
	9/23/2020
	Lamont Fagan 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement Section
	Overby

	20
	CSE
	00323
	9/2/2020
	Douglas A Gibson 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Overby

	20
	CSE
	01804
	9/16/2020
	Christopher R Santana 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Sutton

	20
	CSE
	01833
	9/10/2020
	Jonathan F Hall 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Overby

	20
	CSE
	01911
	9/8/2020
	Teresa Myers 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Overby

	20
	CSE
	02071
	9/14/2020
	Chris Newman 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Mann

	20
	CSE
	02102
	9/22/2020
	Reginald J Lise 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Byrne

	20
	CSE
	02348
	9/15/2020
	Frank J Rush 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	02369
	9/15/2020
	Olis Ray Bryant 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	May

	20
	CSE
	02409
	9/4/2020
	Corshaun Williams 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Lassiter

	20
	CSE
	02603
	9/17/2020
	Leonardo Chavez 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Malherbe

	20
	CSE
	02835
	9/23/2020
	Joe Nathan Sikes II 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Bawtinhimer

	20
	CSE
	02991
	9/23/2020
	James M Redmond 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Bawtinhimer

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	19
	DCS
	06464
	9/21/2020
	Crystal M Humphrey 
	v.
	NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement
	Ward

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	19
	DHR
	06737
	7/29/2020; 9/1/2020
	Kenesha Lofton 
	v.
	NC Department of Health Human Services
	Jacobs; Lassiter

	20
	DHR
	02051
	9/25/2020
	Christopher Hilliard 
	v.
	Department of Health and Human Services
	Byrne

	20
	DHR
	02368
	9/15/2020
	Renee J Williams 
	v.
	NC Dept of Health and Human Serv Div of Child Development and Early Ed
	Lassiter

	20
	DHR
	02386
	9/11/2020
	Tyra Whitaker 
	v.
	NCDON (OAH)
	Lassiter

	20
	DHR
	02583
	9/4/2020
	Theddies Lewis Butler/Butler's Day Care Center 
	v.
	Division of Child Development and Early Education
	Lassiter

	20
	DHR
	02628
	9/10/2020
	Kingshuk Roy Choudhury 
	v.
	Orange County Board of County Commissioners
	Jacobs

	20
	DHR
	02916
	9/23/2020
	Micah Glenn Smith Sr 
	v.
	DHHS
	Lassiter

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	DOT
	01985
	9/1/2020
	Trent Demond Bellamy 
	v.
	NC Department of Transportation
	Mann

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	20
	EDC
	02795
	9/11/2020
	Kinetic Minds Inc and Kinetic Minds Inspire LLC
	v.
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ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 21, 2020
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 170

EXTENSION OF THE PHASE 3 ORDER

The COVID-19 Public Health Emergency

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 116 which
declared a State of Emergency to coordinate the State’s response and protective actions to address
the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (“COVID-19”) public health emergency and provide for the health,
safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a
global pandemic; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the United States issued an emergency
declaration for all states, tribes, territories, and the District of Columbia, retroactive to March 1,
2020, and the President declared that the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States constitutes a
national emergency; and

WHEREAS, on March 25, 2020, the President approved a Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4487-DR, for the State of North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for the purpose of protecting
the health, safety, and welfare of the people of North Carolina, the undersigned has issued
Executive Order Nos. 116-122, 124-125, 129-131, 133-136, 138-144, 146-153, 155-157, 161-165
and 169; and

WHEREAS, more than two hundred fifty thousand (250,000) people in North Carolina
have had COVID-19, and over four thousand thirty-two (4,032) people in North Carolina have
died from the disease; and

The Need to Extend Executive Order No. 169

WHEREAS, since the declaration of a state of emergency in Executive Order No. 116,
North Carolina has accumulated increased PPE for health care workers and first responders, has
developed health care protocols and procedures for the treatment of COVID-19, and has adopted
measures to promote social distancing, the use of Face Coverings, and hygiene measures that
reduce transmission of COVID-19; and




image3.jpeg
WHEREAS, slowing and controlling community spread of COVID-19 is critical to
ensuring that the state’s healthcare facilities remain able to accommodate those who require
medical assistance and remain able to reduce morbidity and mortality from COVID-19 in North
Carolina; and

WHEREAS, on September 30, 2020, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 169,
which transitioned the state into Phase 3 of its COVID-19 response; and

WHEREAS, to lower the risk of contracting and transmitting COVID-19, Executive Order
No. 169 imposed restrictions on certain businesses designed to limit the contact between people,
particularly in settings in which people exert increased respiratory effort, that are indoors, that
involve people being in close physical contact for an extended period of time (more than 15
minutes), in which it is difficult to wear a Face Covering consistently, or that involve a large
number of people; and

WHEREAS, since the issuance of Executive Order No. 169, there have been increases in
the percent of emergency department visits that are for COVID-19-like illnesses, daily new case
counts, the percent of COVID-19 tests that are positive, and COVID-19-associated
hospitalizations; and

WHEREAS, COVID-19 daily case counts and associated hospitalizations remain
considerably above their levels on May 20, 2020, when the state announced Phase 2 of COVID-
19 restrictions and reopening; and

WHEREAS, COVID-19 cases and related metrics are increasing across the nation and in
many locations worldwide, prompting localities, states and nations to reimpose previously-lifted
restrictions in order to control the further spread of the virus across the globe; and

WHEREAS, the state’s public health experts have expressed concern that the arrival of
cooler weather may increase the spread of the virus and may also result in more people staying
indoors, where the virus can spread more easily; and

WHEREAS, in addition to COVID-19, the arrival of seasonal influenza may add further
strain on the health care system; and

WHEREAS, these troubling trends and considerations require the undersigned to continue
certain public health restrictions to slow the spread of this virus during the pandemic; and

The Need for Continued Vigilance

WHEREAS, should there be a further increase in the percentage of emergency department
visits that are due to COVID-19-like illness, a further consistent increase in the number of
laboratory-confirmed cases, a further increase in the positive tests as a percent of total tests, a
further increase in COVID-19-related hospitalizations that threaten the ability of the health care
system to properly respond, or should the state’s ability to conduct testing and tracing be
compromised, it may be necessary to reinstate certain restrictions eased by the undersigned’s
COVID-19 executive orders so as to protect the health, safety, and welfare of North Carolinians;
and

WHEREAS, businesses that are open during the duration of this Executive Order are
encouraged to follow the Guidelines for Businesses published by the North Carolina Department
of Health and Human Services (“NCDHHS™), as well as any other NCDHHS guidance applicable
to their business model, available electronically on the NCDHHS website; and

WHEREAS, all North Carolinians are encouraged to remain vigilant in their efforts to
prevent the further spread of the virus in their communities and should continue to exercise caution
in their day-to-day activities, including by wearing a Face Covering and avoiding large gatherings;
and
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Statutory Authority and Determinations

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 116 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2), the undersigned may make,
amend, or rescind necessary orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority
conferred upon the Governor in the Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(3) authorizes and empowers the
undersigned to delegate Gubernatorial vested authority under the Emergency Management Act
and to provide for the sub-delegation of that authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.12(3)(e), the Division of Emergency
Management must coordinate with the State Health Director to revise the North Carolina
Emergency Operations Plan as conditions change, including making revisions to set “the
appropriate conditions for quarantine and isolation in order to prevent the further transmission of
disease,” and following this coordination, the Emergency Management Director and the State
Health Director have recommended that the Governor develop and order the plan and actions
identified in this Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23 in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat.
§§ 75-37 and 75-38, the undersigned may issue a declaration that shall trigger the prohibitions
against excessive pricing during states of disaster, states of emergency or abnormal market
disruptions; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(1), the undersigned may utilize
all available state resources as reasonably necessary to cope with an emergency, including the
transfer and direction of personnel or functions of state agencies or units thereof for the purpose
of performing or facilitating emergency services; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), the undersigned may take
such action and give such directions to state and local law enforcement officers and agencies as
may be reasonable and necessary for the purpose of securing compliance with the provisions of
the Emergency Management Act and with the orders, rules, and regulations made thereunder; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(i), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because not all local authorities have enacted such
appropriate ordinances or issued such appropriate declarations restricting the operation of
businesses and limiting person-to-person contact, thus needed control cannot be imposed locally;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(ii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because some but not all local authorities have taken
implementing steps under such ordinances or declarations, if enacted or declared, in order to
effectuate control over the emergency that has arisen; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iii), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection for
lives and property of North Carolinians because the area in which the emergency exists spreads
across local jurisdictional boundaries and the legal control measures of the jurisdictions are
conflicting or uncoordinated to the extent that efforts to protect life and property are, or
unquestionably will be, severely hampered; and
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(iv), the undersigned has
determined that local control of the emergency is insufficient to assure adequate protection of lives
and property of North Carolinians because the scale of the emergency is so great that it exceeds
the capability of local authorities to cope with it; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(1) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the movement of people in public
places; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(2) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict the operation of offices, business
establishments, and other places to and from which people may travel or at which they may
congregate; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(3) authorizes the undersigned to restrict the possession, transportation, sale, purchase,
and consumption of alcoholic beverages; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c) in conjunction with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-
19.31(b)(5) authorizes the undersigned to prohibit and restrict other activities or conditions, the
control of which may be reasonably necessary to maintain order and protect lives or property
during a state of emergency; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c)(1), when the undersigned
imposes the prohibitions and restrictions enumerated in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.31(b), the
undersigned may amend or rescind the prohibitions and restrictions imposed by local authorities.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, and for the reasons and pursuant to the authority set forth
above and in Executive Order No. 169, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Extension of the Phase 3 Order.

Executive Order No. 169, including, for avoidance of doubt, those provisions of Executive Order
No. 163 which were incorporated into, and extended by, Executive Order No. 169, shall remain in
effect until 5:00 pm on November 13, 2020. The effective date provision of Executive Order No.
169 is amended to have that order continue in effect through the above-listed time and date.

Section 2. Extension of Price Gouging Period.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23, the undersigned extends the prohibition against
excessive pricing, as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-37 and 75-38, from the issuance of
Executive Order No. 116 through 5:00 pm on November 13, 2020.

The undersigned further hereby encourages the North Carolina Attorney General to use all
resources available to monitor reports of abusive trade practices towards consumers and make
readily available opportunities to report to the public any price gouging and unfair or deceptive
trade practices under Chapter 75 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Section 3. No Private Right of Action.

This Executive Order is not intended to create, and does not create, any individual right,
privilege, or benefit, whether substantive or procedural, enforceable at law or in equity by any
party against the State of North Carolina, its agencies, departments, political subdivisions, or other
entities, or any officers, employees, or agents thereof, or any emergency management worker (as
defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.60) or any other person.
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Section 4. Savings Clause.

If any provision of this Executive Order or its application to any person or circumstances
is held invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction, this invalidity does not affect any other
provision or application of this Executive Order, which can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application. To achieve this purpose, the provisions of this Executive Order are
declared to be severable.

Section 5. Distribution.

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly
filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of State,
and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances of the
State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing; and (3) distributed to others as necessary
to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 6. Enforcement.

6.1.  Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(2), the provisions of this Executive Order
shall be enforced by state and local law enforcement officers. Enforcement of Face
Covering requirements shall be limited as stated in Subsection 2.7 of Executive Order No.
169. Law enforcement and other public safety and emergency management personnel are
strongly encouraged to educate and encourage voluntary compliance with all the provisions
of this Executive Order.

6.2. A violation of this Executive Order may be subject to prosecution pursuant to N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 166A-19.30(d), and is punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor in accordance with N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 14-288.20A.

6.3.  Nothing in this Executive Order shall be construed to preempt or overrule a court order
regarding an individual’s conduct (e.g., a Domestic Violence Protection Order or similar
orders limiting an individual’s access to a particular place).

Section 7. Effective Date.

This Executive Order is effective October 23, 2020, at 5:00 pm. This Executive Order
shall remain in effect through 5:00 pm on November 13, 2020 unless repealed, replaced, or
rescinded by another applicable Executive Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration
of the State of Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 21* day of October in the
year of our Lord two thousand and twenty.

14 Low

4 Iloy Coopey/ :
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marsha
Secretary of State





image7.jpg
OO0 = Oy B W ) =

L Y Y Y Y Y YV T S T T NS T S B N R S R S S S ot e e e el e e B e
-~ Oy b kWD = O 0 0 Yy kWD = D0 Ny WD = O

NOTICE OF RULE MAKING PROCEEDINGS AND PUBLIC HEARING

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC Building Code Council in accordance with
G.8. 150B-21.5(d).

Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-Making: North Carolina, Fire, Building, Mechanical,
Existing Building, Residential, and Energy Codes amendments.

Authority for Rule-making: G.S. 143-136; 143-136.

Reason for Proposed Action: To incorporate changes in the NC State Building Codes as a result of
rulemaking petitions filed with the NC Building Code Council and to incorporate changes proposed by the

Council.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, December 8, 2020, 9:004M, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street,
Raleigh, NC 27603, 2™ Floor Training Room 240. Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal

impact will be accepted. Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted.

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to Carl Martin, Acting Secretary, NC Building
Code Council, NC Department of Insurance, 1202 Muail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202.
Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted. Comment period expires on

January 15, 2021.

Link to Agency Notice:

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/building-code-council-bcc/bee-hearing-notices

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/building-code-council-bec/bee-hearing-notices

Statement of Subject Matter:

1. Request from Colin Triming representing the NC Fire Code Revisions Committee to amend the

2018 N.C. Fire Code and Building Code, Section 1010.1.9.7.

[BE] 1010.1.9.7 Delayed egress. Delayed egress locking systems, shall be permitted to be installed on
doors serving-as S ptGroupAsE-and-H the following occupancies in buildings that are

equipped throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or an
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[BE] 1010.1.9.7.1 Delaved egress locking system. The delayed egress locking system shall be installed

and operated in accordance with all of the following:

1. The delay electronics of the delayed egress locking system shall deactivate upon actuation of the
automatic sprinkler system or automatic fire detection system. allowing immediate, free egress.

2. The delay electronics of the delaved egress locking system shall deactivate upon loss of power

controlling the lock or lock mechanism, allowing immediate free egress.
3. The delayed egress locking system shall have the capability of being deactivated at the fire command

center and other approved locations.

4. An attempt to egress shall initiate an irreversible process that shall allow such egress in not more than 15

seconds when a physical effort to exit is applied to the egress side door hardware for not more than 3

seconds. Initiation of the irreversible process shall activate an audible signal in the vicinity of the door.

Once the delay electronics have been deactivated, rearming the delay electronics shall be by manual means

only.

Exception: Where approved, a delay of not more than 30 seconds is permitted on a delayed egress door.

5. The egress path from any point shall not pass through more than one delayed egress locking system.
Exceptions:

1. In Group I-2 or I-3 occupancies. the egress path from any point in the building shall not pass through not

more than two delayved egress locking systems provided that the combined delay does not exceed 30
seconds.

2. In Groupl-1 or I-4 occupancies, the egress path from any point in the building shall pass through not

more than two delayed egress locking systems provided that the combined delay does not exceed 30

seconds and the building is equipped throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with
Section 903.3.1.1.
6. A sign shall be provided on the door and shall be located above and within 12 inches (305 mm) of the

door exit hardware:
6.1. For doors that swing in the direction of egress, the sign shall read:
PUSH UNTIL ALARM SOUNDS. DOOR CAN BE OPENED IN 15 [30] SECONDS.

6.2. For doors that swing in the opposite direction of egress. the sign shall read:
PULL UNTIL ALARM SOUNDS. DOOR CAN BE OPENED IN 15 [30] SECONDS.

6.3. The sign shall comply with the visual character requirements in ICC A117.1.

Exception: Where approved, in Group I occupancies, the installation of a sign is not required where care

recipients who, because of clinical needs, require restraint or containment as part of the function of the

treatment area.

7. Emergency lighting shall be provided on the egress side of the door.

8. The delayed egress locking system units shall be fisted in accordance with UL294.





image10.jpg
OO0 =1 Oy B W ) =

W W W W W W W W ) b R b M) R MR M) ) = = e e e e e e e e
~ N R WD = O 0 0 - Yy kWD = D0 0 Yy W = O

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to bring forward 2018 IFC/IBC wording for Delayed
Egress doors which includes allowance for them to be used for Group E classrooms with an occupant load
<50 and also an exception for courtrooms.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

2. Request from Kerry Sutton representing American Concrete Institute (ACI), Dave Tepke
representing ACI Carolinas, Mark LeMay representing International Concrete Repair Institute
(ICRI), Bill Brickey representing ICRI Carolinas Chapter, Keith Kesner representing CVM, and
Tim Cook representing SKA Consulting Engineering to add the 2018 N.C. Existing Building Code,
Section 606.1.1 and add a reference standard to Chapter 16.

606.1.1 Repairs to structural concrete. Repairs to structural concrete elements shall comply with ACT

562 and this code.

Exception: Where seismic design governs. ACI 562 shall not be used for evaluation and design.

Add new referenced standard to Chapter 16 as follows:
ACIT 562-19: Code Requirements for Assessment, Repair, and Rehabilitation of Existing Concrete

SHUCIHEES e soomne srvwuvapsppsmsmss wonns wosss svssns s popr popree persypssspyreTEPI e wadss wsss OO0l

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide ACI 562-19 as a manual for repair of
structural concrete.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a slight decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

3. Request from Bridget Herring to amend the 2018 N.C. Residential Code, Section N1101.13.

N1101.13 (R401.2) Compliance
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Projects shall comply with one of the following:

1. Section N1101.14 through N1104.

2. Section N1105 and the provisions of Section N1101.14 labeled “Mandatory.”

3. An energy rating index (ERT) approach in Section N1106.

4. Nerth-Carolinaspeeifie REScheck keved to the 2018 TECC shall be permitted to demonstrate compliance
with this code. Envelope requirements may not be traded off against the use of high efficiency heating or

cooling equipment. No tradeoff calculations are needed for required termite inspection and treatment gaps.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to replace an outdated REScheck and to bring the
NCRC in line with the current NC Energy Conservation Code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

4. Request from Robert Privott representing the NC Home Builders Association and Jeff Tiller to
amend the 2018 N.C. Residential Code, Chapter 44.

Add new referenced standard to Chapter 44 as follows:
ASTM E283-04 Test Method for Determining the Rate of Air Leakage Through Exterior Windows, Curtain

Walls and Doors Under Specified Pressure Differences Across the Specimen

eovee..... N1102.4.6, Table N1106.2.1. Table N1106.2.2

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to support an additional amendment that adds a
definition for ATR-IMPERMIABLE INSULAITON.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

5. Request from Robert Privott representing N.C. Home Builders Association and Jeff Tiller to
amend the 2018 N.C. Residential Code, Chapter 2 Definitions.
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AIR-IMPERMEABLE INSULATION. An insulation having an air permanence equal to or less than 0.02
L/s-m2 at 75 Pa pressure differential tested according to ASTM E2178 or E283 at the thickness applied.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to support an additional amendment addressing spray
foam insulation in attics.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

6. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C. to amend
the 2018 Residential Code, Chapter 44

CHAPTER 44

REFERENCED STANDARDS

ANGE

LULCS NCOL 60335 2 40 2012 Stondord for TT hold Szl Llactrical I‘I‘]. - Dot ’7:
Dot 1 R < " to £ Mot = T\/f‘l/lf\’l_‘l

ASHRAE

3426132019 Designation and Safety Classification of Refrigerants .......................... ... M141101
CSA

CSA C22.2 No. 60335-2-40-2019 HEHCSAANCE-60335-2-40— 2012 Standard for Household and Similar

Electrical Appliances, Part 2-40: Particular Requirements for Motor-compressors Electrical Heat Pumps.

Air-Conditioners and Dehumidifiers - 3 BEdition ... .................. ..o M1402.1, M1403.1
UL
1995 — 20112015 Heating and Cooling Equipment ... ... ......... oo oo o0 M1402.1, M1403.1, M1407.1

THHACSAMANCHE 60335-2-40-2642 2019 Standard for Household and Similar Electrical Appliances, Part 22

40: Particular Requirements for Motor-compressors Electrical Heat Pumps, Air-Conditioners and

Dehumidifiers — 3 EAItiON ... ... ..o oo s oo e oo M1402.1, M1403.1

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).
Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by

manufacturers.
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Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

7. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin U.S.
to amend the 2018 Residential Code, Section M1402.1.

M1402.1 (918.1) General.
Oil-fired central furnaces shall conform to ANSI/UL 727. Electric furnaces shall conform to UL 1995 or
UL/CSA 60335-2-40. Solid fuel furnaces shall be tested in accordance with UL 391.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by
manufacturers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

8. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin U.S.
to amend the 2018 Residential Code, Section M1403.1.

M1403.1 (918.2) Heat pumps. Electric heat pumps shall be listed and labeled in accordance with UL
1995 or UL/CSASANCE 60335-2-40.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by
manufacturers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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9. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin U.S.
to amend the 2018 Mechanical Code, Chapter 15.

CHAPTER 15
REFERENCED STANDARDS

ASHRAE 15—26132019 Safety Standard for Refrigeration Systems ................. 1101.6, 1105.8, 1108.1
ASHRAE 3426132019 Designation and Safety Classification of Refrigerants ...... 202,1102.2.1,1103.1
CSA-C22.2 No. 60335-2-40-2019 Household And Similar Electrical Appliances - Safety - Part 2-40:

Particular Requirements for Electrical Heat Pumps. Air-Conditioners and Dehumidifiers — 3rd Edition
... 908.1.9181. 9182 11012
UL 1995 — 264+ 2015 Heating and Cooling Equipment ... ... ...... ... ... ... ... 908.1, 9111, 918.2, 1101.2
UL 60335-2-40-2019Household And Similar Electrical Appliances - Safety - Part 2-40: Particular
Requirements for Electrical Heat Pumps, Air-Conditioners and Dehumidifiers — 37 Edition
oo 908.1,918.1, 9182, 11012

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by
manufacturers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

10. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin
U.S. to amend the 2018 Mechanical Code, Section 908.1.

908.1 General.
A cooling tower used in conjunction with an air-conditioning appliance shall be installed in accordance
with the manufacturer’s instructions. Factory-built cooling towers shall be listed in accordance with UL

1995 or UL/CSA 60335-2-40.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).
Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by

manufacturers.
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Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

11. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin
U.S. to amend the 2018 Mechanical Code, Sections 918.1 and 918.2

918.1 Forced-air furnaces.

Oil-fired furnaces shall be tested in accordance with UL 727. Electric furnaces shall be tested in accordance
with UL 1995 or UL/CSA 60335-2-40. Solid fuel furnaces shall be tested in accordance with UL 391.
Forced-air furnaces shall be installed in accordance with the listings and the manufacturer’s instructions.
918.2 Heat pumps.

Electric heat pumps shall be tested in accordance with UL 1995 or UL/CSA 60335-2-40.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by
manufacturers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

12. Request from Julius Ballanco representing JB Engineering and Code Consulting, P.C./Daikin
U.S. to amend the 2018 Mechanical Code, Section 1101.2.

1101.2 Factory-built equipment and appliances.

Listed and labeled self-contained, factory-built equipment and appliances shall be tested in accordance with
UL 207, 412, 471, ex 1995 or UL/CSA 60335-2-40. Such equipment and appliances are deemed to meet the
design, manufacture and factory test requirements of this code if installed in accordance with their listing

and the manufacturer’s instructions.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).
Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to transition to standards that will be used by

manufacturers.
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1 Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
2 incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state
3 funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
4
5
6 13. Request from Robert Privott representing N.C. Home Builders Association and Jeff Tiller to
7 amend the 2018 Energy Code, Section R406.2.
8
9 R406.2 Mandatory requirements.
10 Compliance with this section requires that the provisions identified in Sections R401 through R404 labeled
11 as “mandatory” be met. The building thermal envelope shall be greater than or equal to levels of efficiency
12 and Solar Heat Gain Coefficient in Table R406.2.1 or Table R406.2.2. Teble-462-+1t-or462-1-3-0fthe 2642
13 Nesth-CarolinaH < ton-Cede. Minimum standards associated with compliance shall be the
14 ANSI RESNET ICC Standard 301-2014: “Standard for the Calculation and Labeling of the Energy
15 Performance of Low-Rise Residential Buildings using an Energy Rating Index.” A North Carolina
16 registered design professional or certified HERS rater is required to perform the analysis if required by
17 North Carolina Licensure laws.
18 Exception: Supply and return ducts in unconditioned space and outdoors shall be insulated to a minimum
19 R-8. Supply ducts inside semi-conditioned space shall be insulated to a minimum R-4; return ducts inside
20  conditioned and semi-conditioned space are not required to be insulated. Ducts located inside conditioned
21 space are not required to be insulated other than as may be necessary for preventing the formation of
22 condensation on the exterior of cooling ducts.
23
24  TABLE R406.2.1
25  MINIMUM INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS FOR ENERGY RATING
26  INDEX COMPLIANCE?
27
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For SI: 1 foot = 304.8 mm.

a. R-values are minimums. U-factors and SHGC are maximums-
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b. The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed

fenestration.

¢. “10/13” means R-10 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity

insulation at the interior of the basement wall or crawl space wall.
d. For monolithic slabs. insulation shall be applied from the inspection gap downward to the bottom of the

footing or a maximum of 18 inches below grade whichever is less. For floating slabs, insulation shall
extend to the bottom of the foundation wall or 24 inches. whichever is less. (See Appendix R2) R-5 shall

be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.
e-Deleted.

f Basement wall insulation is not required in warm-humid locations as defined by Figure R301.1 and Table

R301.1.

g. Or insulation sufficient to fill the framing cavity, R-19 minimum.

h. The first value is cavity insulation. the second value is continuous insulation so “13+5” means R-13

cavity insulation plus R-5 continuous insulation. If structural sheathing covers 25 percent or less of the

exterior, insulating sheathing is not required where structural sheathing is used. If structural sheathing
covers more than 25 percent of exterior, structural sheathing shall be supplemented with insulated
sheathing of at least R-2.

1. The second R-value applies when more than half the insulation is on the interior of the mass wall.

i. In addition to the exemption in R402.3.3. a maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies

having a U-factor no greater than 0.55 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant

fenestration product assemblies without penalty.

k. In addition to the exemption in R402.3.3, a maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies

having a SHGC no greater than 0.70 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant

fenestration product assemblies without penalty.

1. R-30 shall be deemed to satisfy the ceiling insulation requirement wherever the full height of

uncompressed R-30 insulation extends over the wall top plate at the eaves. Otherwise, R-38 insulation is

required where adequate clearance exists or insulation must extend either to the insulation baffle or within
1” of the attic roof deck.

m. Table value required except for roof edge where the space is limited by the pitch of the roof; there the

insulation must fill the space up to the air baffle.

n. R -19 fiberglass batts compressed and installed in a nominal 2 x 6 framing cavity is deemed to comply.

Fiberglass batts rated R-19 or higher compressed and installed in a 2x4 wall s are not deemed to comply.

0. Basement wall meeting the minimum mass wall specific heat content requirement may use the mass wall

R-value as the minimum requirement.

p. The air-impermeable insulation shall meet the requirements of the definition in Section R202. Air-

impermeable insulation shall be installed in direct contact with the underside of the structural roof

sheathing. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the insulation installation shall meet the
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requirements of R806.5 of the North Carolina Residential Code. For Residential Buildings other than one-

and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the insulation installation shall meet the installation

requirements of 1203.3 of the North Carolina Building Code. Exposed rafters shall be covered with R-7
insulation.
g. The value for air-permeable insulation is shown first and that for air-impermeable insulation second.

Thus, R-15 + R-10 indicates that the minimum value for air-permeable insulation is R-15. and the
minimum value for air-impermeable insulation is R-10. Air-impermeable insulation shall be installed in

direct contact with the underside of the structural roof sheathing. The air-permeable insulation shall be
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14 a. Nonfenestration U-factors shall be obtained from measurement, calculation or an approved source.

15 b. When more than half the insulation is on the interior, the mass wall U-factors shall be a maximum of
16 0.07 in Climate Zone 3. 0.07 in Climate Zone 4 and 0.054 in Climate Zone 5.

17 c. Basement wall U-factor of 0.360 in warm-humid locations as defined by Figure R301.1 and Table

18 R301.1.

19 d. A maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies having a U-factor no greater than 0.55 and a
20 SHGC no greater than 0.70 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant fenestration

21 product assemblies without penalty. When applying this note and using the RESCheck "UA Trade-off"

22 compliance method to allow continued use of the software, the applicable fenestration products shall be

23 modeled as meeting the U-factor of 0.35 and the SHGC of 0.30, as applicable, but the fenestration products'

24 actual U-factor and actual SHGC shall be noted in the comments section of the software for documentation

25 of application of this note to the applicable products. Compliance for these substitute products shall be

26 verified compared to the allowed substituted maximum U-value requirement and maximum SHGC

27 requirement, as applicable.

28 ¢. The air-impermeable insulation shall meet the requirements of the definition in section R202. Air-
29  impermeable insulation shall be installed in direct contact with the underside of the structural roof

30  sheathing. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the insulation installation shall meet the
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requirements of R806.5 of the North Carolina Residential Code. Exposed rafters shall be covered with R-7

insulation.

f. For air-permeable/ impermeable applications, Table R406.2.1 shall be followed for minimum insulation

values.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide specific insulation requirements for spray
foam used in attics of residential construction using the Energy Rating Index compliance method

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide a net initial increase in cost with a net savings over
the life of a building. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase

local and state funds. A fiscal note has been prepared and can be viewed at:

https://www.ncosfm .gov/codes/building-code-council-bee/bec-hearing-notices

14. Request from Robert Privott representing N.C. Home Builders Association and Jeff Tiller to add
the 2018 N.C. Energy Code, Chapter 2 Definitions.

AIR-IMPERMEABLE INSULATION. An insulation having an air permanence equal to or less than 0.02

L/s-m?2 at 75 Pa pressure differential tested according to ASTM E2178 or E283 at the thickness applied.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to support an additional amendment addressing spray
foam insulation in attics.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

15. Request from Robert Privott representing N.C. Home Builders Association and Jeff Tiller to
amend the 2018 N.C. Residential Code, Section N1106.2 Mandatory Requirements.

N1106.2 Mandatory requirements.
Compliance with this section requires that the provisions identified in Sections N1101 through N1104

labeled as “mandatory” be met. The building thermal envelope shall be greater than or equal to levels of
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1 efficiency and Solar Heat Gain Coefficient in Table N1106.2.1 or Table N1106.2.2. Table 40223 o
2 40213 of the 2012 North Carclina Energy Conservation Code. Minimum standards associated with
3 compliance shall be the ANSI RESNET ICC Standard 301-2014: “Standard for the Calculation and
4 Labeling of the Energy Performance of Low-Rise Residential Buildings using an
5 Energy Rating Index.” A North Carolina registered design professional or certified HERS rater is required
6 to perform the analysis if required by North Carolina Licensure laws.
7 Exception: Supply and return ducts in unconditioned space and outdoors shall be insulated to a minimum
8  R-8. Supply ducts inside semi-conditioned space shall be insulated to a minimum R-4; return ducts inside
9  conditioned and semi-conditioned space are not required to be insulated. Ducts located inside conditioned
10 space are not required to be insulated other than as may be necessary for preventing the formation of
11 condensation on the exterior of cooling ducts.
12
13 TABLEN1106.2.1
14 MINIMUM INSULATION AND FENESTRATION REQUIREMENTS FOR ENERGY RATING
15 INDEX COMPLIANCE?
16
FENESTRATION VALUES R-VALUES FOR
CLIMATE EENESTRA- | SKYLIGHT® | GLAZED |CEILING™ WOOD |MASS |FLOOR | BASE- [SLABY | CRAWL
ZONE % U-FACTOR FEEA- FWIUI:_LNII-E WALL! l\mn sﬁc
EACTOR"
SHGCh.
3 0.35 0.65 0.3 30 13 50 | 19 10113 ] 513
4 035 06 03 |38or30c 15. 5110 19 1013 | 10 10113
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17 For SI: 1 foot=304.8 mm.
18 a. R-values are minimums. U-factors and SHGC are maximums-
19 b. The fenestration U-factor column excludes skylights. The SHGC column applies to all glazed
20 fenestration.
21 ¢. “10/13” means R-10 continuous insulated sheathing on the interior or exterior of the home or R-13 cavity
22 insulation at the interior of the basement wall or crawl space wall.
23 d. For monolithic slabs. insulation shall be applied from the inspection gap downward to the bottom of the
24 footing or a maximum of 18 inches below grade whichever is less. For floating slabs, insulation shall
25 extend to the bottom of the foundation wall or 24 inches. whichever is less. (See Appendix O) R-5 shall
26 be added to the required slab edge R-values for heated slabs.
27 e-Deleted.
28 f. Basement wall insulation is not required in warm-humid locations as defined by Figure N1101.7 and

29

Table N1101.7.
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g. Or insulation sufficient to fill the framing cavity, R-19 minimum.

h. The first value is cavity insulation, the second value is continuous insulation so “13+5” means R-13

cavity insulation plus R-5 continuous insulation. If structural sheathing covers 25 percent or less of the
exterior, insulating sheathing is not required where structural sheathing is used. If structural sheathing
covers more than 25 percent of exterior, structural sheathing shall be supplemented with insulated
sheathing of at least R-2.

i. The second R-value applies when more than half the insulation is on the interior of the mass wall.

i. In addition to the exemption in N1102.3.3, a maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies

having a U-factor no greater than 0.55 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant

fenestration product assemblies without penalty.

k. In addition to the exemption in N1102.3.3. a maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies

having a SHGC no greater than 0.70 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant

fenestration product assemblies without penalty.

1. R-30 shall be deemed to satisfy the ceiling insulation requirement wherever the full height of

uncompressed R-30 insulation extends over the wall top plate at the eaves. Otherwise, R-38 insulation is

required where adequate clearance exists or insulation must extend either to the insulation baffle or within
1” of the attic roof deck.

m. Table value required except for roof edge where the space is limited by the pitch of the roof; there the

insulation must fill the space up to the air baffle.

n. R -19 fiberglass batts compressed and installed in a nominal 2 X 6 framing cavity is deemed to comply.

Fiberglass batts rated R-19 or higher compressed and installed in a 2x4 wall is are not deemed to comply.

0. Basement wall meeting the minimum mass wall specific heat content requirement may use the mass wall

R-value as the minimum requirement.

p. The air-impermeable insulation shall meet the requirements of the definition in Section R202. Air-

impermeable insulation shall be installed in direct contact with the underside of the structural roof

sheathing. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the insulation installation shall meet the
requirements of R806.5 of the North Carolina Residential Code. For Residential Buildings other than one-
and two-family dwellings and townhouses. the insulation installation shall meet the installation
requirements of 1203.3 of the North Carolina Building Code. Exposed rafters shall be covered with R-7

insulation.

g. The value for air-permeable insulation is shown first and that for air-impermeable insulation second.

Thus, R-15 + R-10 indicates that the minimum value for air-permeable insulation is R-15. and the

minimum value for air-impermeable insulation is R-10. Air-impermeable insulation shall be installed in

direct contact with the underside of the structural roof sheathing. The air-permeable insulation shall be

installed directly under the air-impermeable insulation. Exposed rafters shall be covered with R-7

insulation.
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TABLE N1106.2.2
EQUIVALENT U-FACTORS FOR TABLE N1106.2.1*
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a. Nonfenestration U-factors shall be obtained from measurement, calculation or an approved source.

b. When more than half the insulation is on the interior, the mass wall U-factors shall be a maximum of

0.07 in Climate Zone 3. 0.07 in Climate Zone 4 and 0.054 in Climate Zone 5.

c. Basement wall U-factor of 0.360 in warm-humid locations as defined by Figure N1101.7 and Table
N1101.7.

d. A maximum of two glazed fenestration product assemblies having a U-factor no greater than 0.55 and a
SHGC no greater than 0.70 shall be permitted to be substituted for minimum code compliant fenestration

product assemblies without penalty. When applying this note and using the RESCheck "UA Trade-off"

compliance method to allow continued use of the software. the applicable fenestration products shall be

modeled as meeting the U-factor of 0.35 and the SHGC of 0.30. as applicable, but the fenestration products'

actual U-factor and actual SHGC shall be noted in the comments section of the software for documentation

of application of this note to the applicable products. Compliance for these substitute products shall be

verified compared to the allowed substituted maximum U-value requirement and maximum SHGC
requirement, as applicable.

e. The air-impermeable insulation shall meet the requirements of the definition in section R202. Air-
impermeable insulation shall be installed in direct contact with the underside of the structural roof

sheathing. For one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the insulation installation shall meet the
requirements of R806.5 of the North Carolina Residential Code. Exposed rafters shall be covered with R-7

insulation.

f. For air-permeable/ impermeable applications, Table N1106.2.1 shall be followed for minimum insulation

values.

Motion/Second/Granted — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is March 1,
2021 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2022).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide specific insulation requirements for spray
foam used in attics of residential construction using the Energy Rating Index compliance method

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide a net initial increase in cost with a net savings over

the life of a building. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase
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local and state funds. A fiscal note has been prepared and can be viewed at:

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/building-code-council-bcc/bee-hearing-notices

NOTICE:
Appeals and Interpretations of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online at the
Sfollowing link.

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past

NOTICE:
Objections and Legislative Review requests may be made to the NC Office of Administrative Hearings in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) after Rules are adopted by the Building Code Council.

http:/www.ncoah.com/rules/
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