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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13C .0203, .0702, 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13C .0202, .0501, .0902 and readopt without substantive changes 

the rule cited as 10A NCAC 13C .0301. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 28, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13C, Licensing 

of Ambulatory Surgical Facilities, four proposed readoption rules 

were part of the nine rules that were determined as “Necessary 

With Substantive Public Interest,” requiring readoption.  

Substantive changes are proposed to three rules for readoption, 

non-substantive changes are proposed to one rule for readoption, 

and two rules are proposed for amendment to update the process 

for the regulation of licensed Ambulatory Surgical Facilities in 

N.C. The proposed rules clarify the provision of anesthesia 

services and of nursing personnel staffing levels in the facility, 

clarify and make consistent construction plan submission 

requirements including a time limit expiration on construction 

approvals in accordance with industry standard, and amend 

outdated statutory and rule citations referenced in rule. In 

addition, the proposed rules have been updated through technical 

changes and corrections. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 – NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13C – LICENSING OF AMBULATORY 

SURGICAL FACILITIES 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING PROCEDURES 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0202 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

(a)  Upon application for a license from a facility never before 

licensed, a representative of the Department shall make an 

inspection of that facility. Every building, institution, or 

establishment for which a license that has been issued a license 

shall be inspected for compliance with the rules found in this 

Subchapter. An ambulatory surgery facility shall be deemed to 

meet licensure requirements if the ambulatory surgery facility is 

accredited by The Joint Commission (formerly known as 

"JCAHO"), Commission, AAAHC or AAAASF. Accreditation 

does shall not exempt a facility from statutory or rule 

requirements for licensure nor does shall it prohibit the 

Department from conducting inspections as provided in this Rule 

to determine compliance with all requirements. 

(b)  If the applicant has been issued a Certificate of Need and is 

found to be in compliance with the Rules found in this Subchapter, 

then the Department shall issue a license to expire on December 

31 of each year. 

(c)  The Department shall be notified at the time of: 
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(1) any change of the owner or operator; 

(2) any change of location; 

(3) any change as to a lease; and 

(4) any transfer, assignment, or other disposition or 

change of ownership or control of 20 percent or 

more of the capital stock or voting rights 

thereunder of a corporation that is the operator 

or owner of an ambulatory surgical facility, or 

any transfer, assignment, or other disposition of 

the stock or voting rights thereunder of such 

corporation that results in the ownership or 

control of more than 20 percent of the stock or 

voting rights thereunder of such corporation by 

any person. 

A new application shall be submitted to the Department in the 

event of such a change or changes. 

(d)  The Department shall not grant a license until the plans and 

specifications that are stated in Section .1400 of this Subchapter, 

covering the construction of new buildings, additions, or material 

alterations to existing buildings are approved by the Department. 

(e)  The facility design and construction shall be in accordance 

with the licensure rules for ambulatory surgical facilities found in 

this Subchapter, the North Carolina State Building Code, and 

local municipal codes. 

(f)  Submission of Plans. 

(1) Before construction is begun, schematic plans 

and specifications and final plans and 

specifications covering construction of the new 

buildings, alterations, renovations, or additions 

to existing buildings shall be submitted to the 

Division for approval. When construction or 

remodeling of a facility is planned, one copy of 

construction documents and specifications shall 

be submitted by the owner or owner's appointed 

representative to the Department for review and 

approval. As a preliminary step to avoid last 

minute difficulty with construction documents 

approval, schematic design drawings and 

design development drawings may be 

submitted for approval prior to the required 

submission of construction documents. 

(2) The Division shall review the plans and notify 

the licensee that said buildings, alterations, 

additions, or changes are approved or 

disapproved. If plans are disapproved the 

Division shall give the applicant notice of 

deficiencies identified by the Division. 

Approval of construction documents and 

specifications shall be obtained from the 

Department prior to licensure. Approval of 

construction documents and specifications shall 

expire one year after the date of approval unless 

a building permit for the construction has been 

obtained prior to the expiration date of the 

approval of construction documents and 

specifications. 

(3) The plans shall include a plot plan showing the 

size and shape of the entire site and the location 

of all existing and proposed facilities. 

(4) Plans shall be submitted in duplicate. The 

Division shall distribute a copy to the 

Department of Insurance for review of the 

North Carolina State Building Code 

requirements if required by the North Carolina 

State Building Code which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including all 

subsequent amendments. Copies of the Code 

may be accessed electronically free of charge 

at: 

http://www.ecodes.biz/ecodes_support/Free_R

esources/2012NorthCarolina/12NorthCarolina

_main.html. 

(g)  To qualify for licensure or license renewal, each facility shall 

provide to the Division, with its application, an attestation 

statement in a form provided by the Division verifying 

compliance with the requirements defined in Rule .0301(d) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-91; 131E-147; 131E-149. S.L. 2013-382, s. 

13.1. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0203 SUSPENSION OR 

REVOCATION: AMBULATORY SURGICAL FACILITY 

(a)  The license may be suspended or revoked at any time for 

noncompliance with the regulations rules of the Department. 

(b)  Suspension or revocation of the license shall be covered by 

the rules regarding contested cases as found in 10 NCAC 3B 

.0200. G.S. 150B-23. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Subsection Paragraph (a) and (b) of this 

Rule, the Department may summarily suspend the license 

pursuant to General Statute G.S. 150B-3(c). 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-148; 131E-149; 143B-165; 150B-3(c); 

150B-23. 

 

SECTION .0300 – GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

MANAGEMENT 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0301 GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - ANESTHESIA SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0501 PROVIDING ANESTHESIA 

SERVICES 

Only a physician, dentist dentist, or qualified anesthetist or 

qualified anesthesiologist as defined in Rule .0103 of this 

Subchapter, shall administer anesthetic agents (general and 

regional). agents. Podiatrists shall administer only local 

anesthesia. The governing authority shall establish written 

policies and procedures concerning the provision of anesthesia 

services, including the designation of those persons authorized to 

administer anesthetics. anesthetics in accordance with State law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-149. 

 

SECTION .0700 - RADIOLOGY SERVICES 
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10A NCAC 13C .0702 REGULATIONS FOR 

PERFORMED SERVICES 

Radiation protection shall be provided in accordance with the 

rules and regulations adopted by the Radiation Protection 

Commission found in 10 NCAC 3G, and the recommendations of 

the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements. 

10A NCAC 15. Records shall be kept of at least annual checks 

and calibration of all ionizing radiation therapy equipment used in 

the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-149. 

 

SECTION .0900 - NURSING SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13C .0902 NURSING PERSONNEL 

(a)  An adequate number of licensed Licensed and ancillary 

nursing personnel shall be on duty to assure that staffing levels 

meet the total nursing needs of patients based on the number of 

patients in the facility and their individual nursing care needs. 

(b)  At least one registered nurse shall be in the facility during the 

hours it is in of operation. Nursing personnel shall be assigned to 

duties consistent with their training and experience. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-149. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Care Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 13D .2001, .3003 and repeal the rule cited as 10A NCAC 

13D .2506. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 14, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Lineberger Building, Room 134, 

1205 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The N.C. Medical Care 

Commission is proposing to amend two rules and repeal one rule 

for the Rules for the Licensing of Nursing Homes in 10A NCAC 

13D for ventilator assisted care to be consistent with the federal 

regulations for Nursing Homes for individuals with this type of 

care need.  

 

There is an identified need for more ventilator assisted care units 

in nursing homes as currently, access to care for these residents 

is challenging with there being only three Nursing Homes in the 

State providing residents ventilator assisted care.  Incorporating 

the requirements in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in the 

proposed rule amendments eliminates the differences in the 

standards between the State licensure rules and the CFR.  The 

requirements in the proposed rule amendments will be broadened 

to allow more access for ventilator assisted care service in 

Nursing Homes and the requirements will be up to date, relevant, 

and backed by research.  

 

The proposed rule amendments include definitions clarifying 

technical changes and the deletion of a definition due to its update 

and relocation to Rule 10A NCAC 13D .3003.  The rules revise 

the requirements for the administration of respiratory care 

including respiratory therapists’ scope of practice in accordance 

to statute.  Direct care nursing personnel staffing ratios have been 

relocated and incorporated into one rule.  The requirements for 

the qualifications and responsibilities of the pulmonary physician 

have been updated, relocated and incorporated into amended 

Rule 10A NCAC 13D .3003; therefore, Rule 10A NCAC 13D 

.2506 is being repealed as the requirements in the rule are 

redundant and no longer needed. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13D – RULES FOR THE LICENSING OF 

NURSING HOMES 

 

SECTION .2000 – GENERAL INFORMATION 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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10A NCAC 13D .2001 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-101, the The 

following definitions will shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abuse" means the willful infliction of injury, 

unreasonable confinement, intimidation or 

punishment with resulting physical harm, pain, 

or mental anguish. 

(2) "Accident" means an unplanned event resulting 

in the injury or wounding, no matter how slight, 

of a patient or other individual. 

(3) "Addition" means an extension or increase in 

floor area or height of a building. 

(4) "Administrator" as defined in G.S. 90-276(4). 

(5) "Alteration" means any construction or 

renovation to an existing structure other than 

repair, maintenance, or addition. 

(6) "Brain injury long term care" means an 

interdisciplinary, intensive maintenance 

program for patients who have incurred brain 

damage caused by external physical trauma and 

who have completed a primary course of 

rehabilitative treatment and have reached a 

point of no gain or progress for more than three 

consecutive months. Brain injury long term 

care is provided through a medically supervised 

interdisciplinary process and is directed toward 

maintaining the individual at the optimal level 

of physical, cognitive, and behavioral 

functions. 

(7) "Capacity" means the maximum number of 

patient or resident beds for which the facility is 

licensed to maintain at any given time. 

(8) "Combination facility" means a combination 

home as defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(9) "Comprehensive, inpatient rehabilitation 

program" means a program for the treatment of 

persons with functional limitations or chronic 

disabling conditions who have the potential to 

achieve a significant improvement in activities 

of daily living, including bathing, dressing, 

grooming, transferring, eating, and using 

speech, language, or other communication 

systems. A comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program utilizes a coordinated 

and integrated, interdisciplinary approach, 

directed by a physician, to assess patient needs 

and to provide treatment and evaluation of 

physical, psychosocial, and cognitive deficits. 

(10) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(11) "Director of nursing" means a registered nurse 

who has authority and direct responsibility for 

all nursing services and nursing care. 

(12) "Discharge" means a physical relocation of a 

patient to another health care setting, the 

discharge of a patient to his or her home, or the 

relocation of a patient from a nursing bed to an 

adult care home bed, or from an adult care home 

bed to a nursing bed. 

(13) "Existing facility" means a facility currently 

licensed, a proposed facility, a proposed 

addition to a licensed facility, or a proposed 

remodeled licensed facility that will be built 

according to design development drawings and 

specifications approved by the Department for 

compliance with the standards established in 

Sections .3100, .3200, and .3400 of this 

Subchapter, to the effective date of this Rule. 

(14) "Facility" means a nursing facility or 

combination facility as defined in this Rule. 

(15) "Incident" means any accident, event, or 

occurrence that is unplanned, or unusual, and 

has actually caused harm to a patient, or has the 

potential for harm. 

(16) "Inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit" means 

a free-standing facility or a unit (unit pertains to 

contiguous dedicated beds and spaces) within 

an existing licensed health service facility 

approved in accordance with G.S. 131E, Article 

9 to establish inpatient, rehabilitation beds and 

to provide a comprehensive, inpatient 

rehabilitation program. 

(17) "Interdisciplinary" means an integrated process 

involving representatives from disciplines of 

the health care team. 

(18) "Licensee" means the person, firm, partnership, 

association, corporation, or organization to 

whom a license to operate the facility has been 

issued. The licensee is the legal entity that is 

responsible for the operation of the business. 

(19) "Medication error rate" means the measure of 

discrepancies between medication that was 

ordered for a patient by the health care provider 

and medication that is actually administered to 

the patient. The medication error rate is 

calculated by dividing the number of errors 

observed by the surveyor by the opportunities 

for error, multiplied times 100. 

(20) "Misappropriation of property" means the 

deliberate misplacement, exploitation, or 

wrongful, temporary or permanent use of a 

patient's belongings or money without the 

patient's consent. 

(21) "Neglect" means a failure to provide goods and 

services necessary to avoid physical harm, 

mental anguish, or mental illness. 

(22) "New facility" means a proposed facility, a 

proposed addition to an existing facility, or a 

proposed remodeled portion of an existing 

facility that will be built according to design 

development drawings and specifications 

approved by the Department for compliance 

with the standards established in Sections 

.3100, .3200, and .3400 of this Subchapter after 

the effective date of this Rule. 

(23) "Nurse Aide" means a person who is listed on 

the N.C. Nurse Aide Registry and provides 

nursing or nursing-related services to patients in 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:24 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 15, 2020 

2379 

a nursing home. A nurse aide is not a licensed 

health professional. Nursing homes that 

participate in Medicare or Medicaid shall 

comply with 42 CFR Part 483.75(e), which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments. The Code of Federal 

Regulations may be accessed at 

http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_0

8/42cfr483_08. https://www.ecfr.gov. 

(24) "Nursing facility" means a nursing home as 

defined in G.S. 131E-101. 

(25) "Patient" means any person admitted for 

nursing care. 

(26) "Remodeling" means alterations, renovations, 

rehabilitation work, repairs to structural 

systems, and replacement of building systems 

at a nursing or combination facility. 

(27) "Repair" means reconstruction or renewal of 

any part of an existing building for the purpose 

of its maintenance. 

(28) "Resident" means any person admitted for care 

to an adult care home part of a combination 

facility as defined in G.S. 131E-101. facility. 

(29) "Respite care" means services provided for a 

patient on a temporary basis, not to exceed 30 

days. 

(30) "Surveyor" means an authorized a 

representative of the Department who inspects 

nursing facilities and combination facilities to 

determine compliance with rules rules, laws, 

and regulations as set forth in G.S. 131E-117; 

Subchapters 13D and 13F of this Chapter; and 

42 CFR Part 483, Requirements for States and 

Long Term Care Facilities. 

(31) "Ventilator dependence" means a physiological 

dependency by a patient on the use of a 

ventilator for more than eight hours a day. 

(32)(31) "Violation" means a failure to comply with the 

regulations, standards, and requirements rules, 

laws, and regulations as set forth in G.S. 131E-

117 and 131D–21; Subchapters 13D and 13F of 

this Chapter; or 42 CFR Part 483, Requirements 

for States and Long Term Care Facilities, that 

directly relates to a patient's or resident's health, 

safety, or welfare, or which that creates a 

substantial risk that death, or serious physical 

harm will may occur. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-104. 

 

SECTION .2500 - PHYSICIAN'S SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13D .2506 PHYSICIAN SERVICES FOR 

VENTILATOR DEPENDENT PATIENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-104. 

 

SECTION .3000 - SPECIALLY DESIGNATED UNITS 

 

10A NCAC 13D .3003 VENTILATOR DEPENDENCE 

ASSISTED CARE 

(a)  The general requirements in this Subchapter shall apply when 

applicable. In addition, facilities having patients requiring the use 

of ventilators for more than eight hours a day shall meet the 

following requirements: For the purpose of this Rule, ventilator 

assisted individuals, means as defined in 42 CFR Part 483.25(i), 

F695, herein incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the Code of Federal 

Regulations, Title 42, Public Health, Part 482-End, 2019 may be 

accessed free of charge online at 

https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-

Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/downloads/som107ap_pp_guidelin

es_ltcf.pdf. 

(b)  Facilities having patients who are ventilator assisted 

individuals shall: 

(1) The facility shall be located within 30 minutes 

of an acute care facility. administer respiratory 

care in accordance with 42 CFR Part 483.25(i), 

F695; 

(2) Respiratory therapy shall be provided and 

supervised by a respiratory therapist currently 

registered by the National Board for 

Respiratory Care. administer respiratory care in 

accordance with the scope of practice for 

respiratory therapists defined in G.S. 90-648; 

and The respiratory therapist shall: 

(a) make, as a minimum, weekly on-site 

assessments of each patient receiving 

ventilator support with corresponding 

progress notes; 

(b) be on-call 24 hours daily; and 

(c) assist the pulmonologist and nursing 

staff in establishing ventilator policies 

and procedures, including emergency 

policies and procedures.  

(3) Direct nursing care staffing shall be in 

accordance with Rule .3005 of this Section. 

provide pulmonary services from a physician 

who has training in pulmonary medicine 

according to The American Board of Internal 

Medicine. The physician shall be responsible 

for respiratory services and shall: 

(A) establish with the respiratory therapist 

and nursing staff, ventilator policies 

and procedures, including emergency 

procedures; 

(B) assess each ventilator assisted patient's 

status at least monthly with 

corresponding progress notes; 

(C) respond to emergency 

communications 24-hours a day; and 

(D) participate in individual care planning. 

(c)  Direct care nursing personnel staffing ratios established in 

Rule .2303 of this Subchapter shall not be applied to nursing 

services for patients who are ventilator assisted at life support 

settings. The minimum direct care nursing staff shall be 5.5 hours 

per patient day, allocated on a per shift basis as the facility 

chooses; however, in no event shall the direct care nursing staff 
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fall below a registered nurse and a nurse aide I at any time during 

a 24-hour period. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-104. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13K .0102, .0401, .0604 and readopt without substantive changes 

the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13K .0701 and .1104. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 29, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Lineberger Building, Conference 

Room 134, 1205 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13K, Hospice 

Licensing Rules, these five rules were part of the 18 rules that 

were determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public 

Interest," requiring readoption.  With input from stakeholders, 

substantive changes have been made to these proposed rules. The 

proposed rules incorporate current standards updates to delete 

definitions and to reference definitions to General Statute. The 

proposed rules update language and nomenclature, and update 

the reference for TB testing guidelines for at-risk employees. The 

proposed rules update and clarify outdated language and General 

Statute references to resident rights. In addition, the proposed 

rules incorporate technical changes to clarify wording, correct 

grammar, remove ambiguous words, and to add a reference and 

wording for incorporation of material in a rule by reference. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13K – HOSPICE LICENSING RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-201 131E-201, 

the following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter 

following: Subchapter: 

(1) "Agency" means a licensed hospice as defined 

in Article 10 G.S. 131E-201(3). 

(2) "Attending Physician" means the physician 

licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina 

who is identified by the patient at the time of 

hospice admission as having the most 

significant role in the determination and 

delivery of medical care for the patient. 

(3)(2) "Care Plan" means the proposed method 

developed in writing by the interdisciplinary 

care team through which the hospice seeks to 

provide services which that meet the patient's 

and family's medical, psychosocial 

psychosocial, and spiritual needs. 

(4)(3) "Clergy Member" means an individual who has 

received a degree from an from a theological 

school and has fulfilled appropriate 

denominational seminary requirements; or an 

individual who, by ordination or authorization 

from the individual's denomination, has been 

approved to function in a pastoral capacity. 

Each hospice shall designate a clergy member 

responsible for coordinating spiritual care to 

hospice patients and families. 

(5)(4) "Coordinator of Patient Family Volunteers" 

means an individual on the hospice staff team 

who coordinates and supervises the activities of 

all patient family volunteers. 

(6)(5) "Dietary Counseling" means counseling given 

by a licensed dietitian dietitian, licensed 
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dietitian/nutritionist, or licensed nutritionist as 

defined in G.S. 90-357. G.S. 90-352. 

(7)(6) "Director" means the person having 

administrative responsibility for the operation 

of the hospice. 

(7) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(8) "Governing Body" means the group of persons 

responsible for overseeing the operations of the 

hospice, specifically for including the 

development and monitoring of policies and 

procedures related to all aspects of the 

operations of the hospice program. The 

governing body ensures that all services 

provided are consistent with accepted standards 

of hospice practice. 

(9) "Hospice" means a coordinated program of 

services as defined in G.S. 131E-176(13a). 

131E-201. 

(10) "Hospice Caregiver" means an individual on 

the hospice staff team who has completed 

hospice caregiver training as defined in 10A 

NCAC 13K Rule .0402 of this Subchapter and 

is assigned to a hospice residential facility or 

hospice inpatient unit. 

(11) "Hospice Inpatient Facility or Hospice Inpatient 

Unit" means a licensed facility as defined in 

G.S. 131E-201(3). G.S. 131E-201(3a). 

(12) "Hospice Residential Facility" means as 

defined in G.S. 131E-201(5) is a facility 

licensed to provide hospice care to hospice 

patients as defined in G.S. 131E-201(4) and 

their families in a group residential setting. G.S. 

131E-201(5a). 

(13) "Hospice Staff" Team" means members of the 

interdisciplinary team as defined in G.S. 

131E-201(7), nurse aides, administrative and 

support personnel and patient family 

volunteers. G.S. 131E-201(6). 

(14) "Informed Consent" means the agreement to 

receive hospice care made by the patient and 

family which that specifies in writing the type 

of care and services to be provided. The 

informed consent form shall be signed by the 

patient prior to service. If the patient's medical 

condition is such that a signature cannot be 

obtained, a signature shall be obtained from the 

individual having legal guardianship, 

applicable durable or health care power of 

attorney, or the family member or individual 

assuming the responsibility of primary 

caregiver. 

(15) "Inpatient Beds" means beds licensed as such 

by the Department of Health and Human 

Services for use by hospice patients, for 

medical management of symptoms or for 

respite care. 

(16)(15) "Interdisciplinary Team" means a group of 

hospice staff as defined in G.S. 131E-201(7). 

G.S. 131E-201(6). 

(17)(16) "Licensed Practical Nurse" means a nurse 

holding a valid current license as required by 

G.S. 90, Article 9A. as defined in G.S. 90-

171.30 or G.S. 171.32. 

(18)(17) "Medical Director" means a physician licensed 

to practice medicine in North Carolina who 

directs the medical aspects of the hospice's 

patient care program. 

(18) "Nurse Practitioner" means as defined in G.S. 

90-18.2(a). 

(19) "Nurse Aide" means an individual who is 

authorized to provide nursing care under the 

supervision of a licensed nurse, has completed 

a training and competency evaluation program 

or competency evaluation program and is listed 

on the Nurse Aide Registry, at the Division of 

Health Service Regulation. If the nurse aide 

performs Nurse Aide II tasks, he or she the 

nurse aide must shall also meet the 

requirements established by the N.C. Board of 

Nursing as defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0405. 

.0405, incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

Rule may be accessed at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no 

charge. 

(20) "Occupational Therapist" means a person duly 

licensed as such, holding a current license as 

required by G.S. 90-270.29. 

(21)(20) "Patient and Family Care Coordinator" means a 

registered nurse designated by the hospice to 

coordinate the provision of hospice services for 

each patient and family. 

(22)(21) "Patient Family Volunteer" means an 

individual who has received orientation and 

training as defined in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter, and provides volunteer services to 

a patient and the patient's family in the patient's 

home or in a hospice inpatient facility or 

hospice inpatient unit, or a hospice residential 

facility. 

(23)(22) "Pharmacist" means an individual licensed to 

practice pharmacy in North Carolina as 

required in G.S. 90-85(15). as defined in G.S. 

90-85.3. 

(24) "Physical Therapist" means an individual 

holding a valid current license as required by 

G.S. 90, Article 18B. 

(25)(23) "Physician" means an individual licensed to 

practice medicine in North Carolina. as defined 

in G.S. 90-9.1 or G.S. 90-9.2. 

(26)(24) "Premises" means the location or licensed site 

from which where the agency provides hospice 

services or maintains patient service records or 

advertises itself as a hospice agency. 
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(27)(25) "Primary Caregiver" means the family member 

or other person who assumes the overall 

responsibility for the care of the patient in the 

patient's home. 

(28)(26) "Registered Nurse" means a nurse holding a 

valid current license as required by G.S. 90, 

Article 9A. as defined in G.S. 90-171.30 or G.S. 

90-171.32. 

(29)(27) "Respite Care" means care provided to a patient 

for temporary relief to family members or 

others caring for the patient at home. 

(30) "Social Worker" means an individual who 

performs social work and holds a bachelor's or 

advanced degree in social work from a school 

accredited by the Council of Social Work 

Education or a bachelor's or an advanced degree 

in psychology, counseling or psychiatric 

nursing.  

(31) "Speech and Language Pathologist" means an 

individual holding a valid current license as 

required by G.S. 90, Article 22. 

(32)(28) "Spiritual Caregiver" means an individual 

authorized by the patient and family to provide 

for their spiritual direction. needs. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PERSONNEL 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0401 PERSONNEL 

(a)  Written policies shall be established and implemented by the 

agency regarding infection control and exposure to communicable 

diseases consistent with the rules set forth in 10A NCAC 41A. 

41A, which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. These policies and procedures shall 

include provisions for compliance with 29 CFR 1910 

(Occupational Occupational Safety and Health Standards) 

Standards, which is incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments. amendments and editions. Emphasis 

shall be placed on compliance with These editions shall include 

29 CFR 1910.1030 (Airborne and Bloodborne Pathogens). 

Bloodborne Pathogens. Copies of Title 29 Part 1910 can be 

purchased from the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 

15250-7954 or by calling Washington, D.C. (202) 512-1800. The 

cost is twenty one dollars ($21.00) and may be purchased with a 

credit card. obtained online at no charge at 

https://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_

id=10051&p_table=STANDARDS. 

(b)  Hands-on care employees must shall have a baseline skin test 

for tuberculosis. Individuals who test positive must shall 

demonstrate non-infectious status prior to assignment in a 

patient's home. Individuals who have previously tested positive to 

the tuberculosis skin test shall obtain a baseline and subsequent 

annual verification that they are free of tuberculosis symptoms. 

The verification shall be obtained from the local health 

department, a private physician physician, or health nurse 

employed by the agency. The Tuberculosis Control 

Communicable Disease Branch of the North Carolina Department 

of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, 1902 

1905 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1902 27699-1905 

will provide, provide free of charge guidelines for conducting and 

verification utilizing and Form DEHNR DHHS 3405 (Record of 

Tuberculosis Screening). Employees identified by agency risk 

assessment to be at risk for exposure are required to shall be 

subsequently tested at intervals prescribed by OSHA standards. in 

accordance with Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines, 

which is incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy of the CDC guidelines can be obtained online 

at no charge at 

https://search.cdc.gov/search/?query=TB+testing+intervals&sitel

imit=&utf8=%E2%9C%93&affiliate=cdc-main. 

(b)(c)  Written policies shall be established and implemented 

which by the agency that include personnel record content, 

orientation, patient family volunteer training, and in-service 

education. Records on the subject of in-service education and 

attendance shall be maintained by the agency and retained for at 

least one year. 

(c)(d)  Job descriptions for every position, including volunteers 

involved in direct patient/family services, shall be established in 

writing which by the agency and shall include the position's 

qualifications and specific responsibilities. Individuals Hospice 

team member(s) shall be assigned only to duties for which that 

they are trained and competent to perform and when applicable 

for which they are properly licensed. perform, or licensed to 

perform. 

(d)(e)  Personnel records shall be established and maintained for 

all hospice staff, team, both paid and direct patient/family services 

volunteers. These records shall be maintained at least for one year 

after termination from agency employment. employment or 

volunteer service ends. When requested, requested by the State 

surveyors, the records shall be available on the agency premises 

for inspection by the Department. The records shall include: 

(1) an application or resume which that lists 

education, training training, and previous 

employment that can be verified, including job 

title; 

(2) a job description with record of 

acknowledgment by the staff; team member(s); 

(3) reference checks or verification of previous 

employment; 

(4) records of tuberculosis annual screening for 

those employees for whom the test is necessary 

as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

hands-on care team; 

(5) documentation of Hepatitis B immunization or 

declination for hands on care staff; team; 

(6) airborne and bloodborne pathogen training for 

hands on hands-on care staff, team, including 

annual updates, in compliance with 29 CFR 

1910 and in accordance with the agency's 

exposure control plan; 

(7) performance evaluations according to agency 

policy and policy, or at least annually; 

(8) verification of staff credentials as applicable; 

team member(s) credentials; 

(9) records of the verification of competencies by 

agency supervisory personnel of all skills 
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required of hospice services personnel to carry 

out patient care tasks to which the staff is 

assigned. tasks. The method of verification 

shall be defined in agency policy. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

SECTION .0600 - PATIENT/FAMILY CARE 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0604 PATIENT'S RIGHTS AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  A hospice agency shall provide each patient with a written 

notice of the patient's rights and responsibilities in advance of 

furnishing care to the patient or during the initial evaluation visit 

before the initiation of services. The agency must shall maintain 

documentation showing that each patient has received a copy of 

his their rights and responsibilities. responsibilities as defined in 

G.S. 131E-144.3. 

(b)  The notice shall include at a minimum the patient's right to: 

(1) be informed and participate in the patient's plan 

of care; 

(2) voice grievances about the patient's care and not 

be subjected to discrimination or reprisal for 

doing so; 

(3) confidentiality of the patient's records; 

(4) be informed of the patient's liability for 

payment for services; 

(5) be informed of the process for acceptance and 

continuance of service and eligibility 

determination; 

(6) accept or refuse services; 

(7) be informed of the agency's on-call service; 

(8) be advised of the agency's procedures for 

discharge; and 

(9) be informed of supervisory accessibility and 

availability 

(c)(b)  A hospice agency shall provide all patients with a business 

hours telephone number for information, questions questions, or 

complaints about services provided by the agency. The agency 

shall also provide the Division of Health Service Regulation's 

complaints number and the Department of Health and Human 

Services Careline number. intake telephone numbers: within N.C. 

(800) 624-3004; outside of N.C. (919) 855-4500. The Division of 

Health Service Regulation shall investigate all allegations of 

non-compliance with the rules. rules of this Subchapter. 

(d)(c)  A hospice agency shall initiate an investigation within 72-

hours 72 hours of complaints made by a patient or his or her 

family. Documentation of both the existence of the complaint and 

the resolution of the complaint shall be maintained by the agency. 

agency, at a minimum of one-year, in accordance with hospice 

agency policy and procedures. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-202. 

 

SECTION .0700 - PATIENT/FAMILY CARE PLAN 

 

10A NCAC 13K .0701 CARE PLAN (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1100 - HOSPICE RESIDENTIAL CARE 

 

10A NCAC 13K .1104 DIETARY SERVICES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Funeral Service intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 34B .0110. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbfs.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 7, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1033 Wade Ave., Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To modernize the work report 

requirements for resident trainees performing traineeships for the 

purpose of obtaining licensure. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stephen E. Davis, NC Board 

of Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Ave., Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 

27605 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

SECTION .0100 - RESIDENT TRAINEES 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0110 REPORTS ON WORK REPORTS 

AND CHECKLISTS 

(a)  The Active resident trainee trainees shall submit a report to 

the Board every month on a form provided by the Board. Board 

no later than the 10th day of the calendar month that immediately 

follows the month during which the work was performed. On the 

report, the resident trainee shall provide: The resident trainee shall 

furnish the name of the trainee; the reporting period for the work 

report; the name and address of the funeral establishment where 

the resident trainee is serving; a description of the work performed 

during the preceding month; and any other information the Board 

deems necessary as required by law. The form shall be signed by 

the resident trainee and must be certified as correct by the licensee 

under whom the trainee served during the period and by the 

manager of the funeral establishment. The names of the deceased 

persons, and the names of the purchasers of preneed funeral 

contracts, on whose cases the trainee assisted and reported during 

traineeship must be retained by the trainee until his traineeship 

requirement has been fulfilled, and during such time such 

information shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its 

authorized agent. Such reports must be filed in the office of the 

Board not later than the 10th day of the calendar month which 

immediately follows the completion of each one month period of 

resident traineeship. Failure to submit such reports when due shall 

be sufficient cause for suspension or revocation of the certificate 

of resident traineeship. 

(1) The trainee's name and signature; 

(2) The month during which the work was 

performed; 

(3) The number of hours worked during the 

preceding month; 

(4) The name and address of the funeral 

establishment where the resident trainee is 

working; 

(5) A description of the work performed during the 

preceding month; 

(6) The name, license number, and notarized 

signature of the trainee's supervisor; and 

(7) The name, license number, and notarized 

signature of the licensed manager of the funeral 

establishment where the resident trainee is 

working. 

(b)  By signing the report, the trainee's supervisor shall certify that 

the data contained in the report is correct. Neither the trainee nor 

the trainee's supervisor shall be permitted to amend or revise the 

work report after it is submitted to the Board. The Board shall not 

accept incomplete work reports and a trainee who fails to submit 

a complete work report by the date on which it is due shall be 

subject to the provisions of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  A late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be assessed 

against the trainee for each work report that is submitted to the 

Board after the date on which it is due. Additionally, following a 

trainee's first failure to timely submit a work report, the Board 

shall issue the trainee a letter that cautions against future non-

compliance with this Rule. Following a trainee's second failure to 

timely submit a work report, the work set forth in the second 

untimely work report shall not be credited toward the certification 

of the trainee's resident traineeship. Following a trainee's third 

failure to timely submit a work report, the Board shall revoke the 

trainee's resident traineeship. 

(d)  Resident trainees must maintain a checklist for each decedent 

for whom he or she performs funeral services on a form provided 

by the Board. The checklist shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) The name of the deceased person; 

(2) The date on which the services were provided; 

(3) The trainee's name and signature; 

(4) A description of the funeral services provided; 

and 

(5) The supervisor's signature. 

(e)  Resident trainees must maintain a list of the preneed funeral 

contracts with which the resident trainees participated. 

(f)  All documents and information set forth in this Rule must be 

retained by the trainee until his or her traineeship requirement has 

been certified by the Board, and during such time such 

information shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its 

authorized agent. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a),(d),(f); 90-210.25(a)(4)e.,(4)g; 90-

210.67(a); 90-210.69(a). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 68 – ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Addictions Specialist Professional Practice 

Board intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 68 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0204, .0209, .0214, 

.0216, .0217, .0222, .0223, .0227, .0228, .0401-.0405, .0407, 

.0501, .0503, .0508, .0509, .0512, .0602, .0605, .0606, .0620, 

.0709 readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 68 .0220, .0221, .0224-.0226, .0301, .0303, .0304, .0307, 

.0502, .0504-.0507, .0510, .0511, .0601, .0603, .0604, .0607-

.0611, .0615, .0701-.0708 repeal through readoption the rules 

cited as 21 NCAC 68 .0213, .0215 and .0406. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsappb.org/rules/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 17, 2020 
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Time:  12:00 p.m. 

Location:  1046 Washington St., Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Periodic Existing Rules Review - 

Updated clinical terms, added electronic submission instructions, 

combined and clarified training approval process instructions, 

added language on approval of university specialty curricula, 

added language on ethics and social media, clarified committee 

responsibilities, removed outdated instructions and clarified 

supervisor responsibilities and duties. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Barden Culbreth, 1046 

Washington St., Raleigh, NC 27605; email 

barden@ncaddictionsboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0101 DEFINITIONS 

As used in the General Statutes or this Chapter, the following 

terms mean: 

(1) "Applicant" means a person who submits 

documentation seeking Board status for 

registration, certification, or licensure. 

(2) "Application packet" means a set of instructions 

and forms required by the Board for 

registration. 

(3)(2) "Approved supervisor " means a person who 

monitors and directs the activities of a 

substance abuse use disorder professional in the 

role of an applicant a supervisor or a practice 

supervisor as set out in G.S. 90-113.31A. This 

is a person who fulfills or is in the process of 

fulfilling the requirements for this Board 

designation of approved supervisor pursuant to 

Rule .0211 of this Chapter by completing its 

academic, didactic, and experiential 

requirements. 

(4)(3) "Assessment" means identifying and evaluating 

an individual's strengths, weaknesses, 

problems, and needs for the development of a 

treatment or service plan for a substance use 

disorder. 

(5)(4) "Clinical application" means the assumption of 

professional and ethical responsibilities in the 

form of clinical supervision defined in Item (7) 

of this Rule in a clinical setting for 300 hours as 

well as the utilization of practice dimensions 

that include: 

(a) clinical evaluation; 

(b) treatment planning; 

(c) referral; 

(d) service coordination; 

(e) counseling; 

(f) education for the individual client, 

family or community; and 

(g) documentation. 

(6)(5) "Clinical setting" means a location where the 

primary purpose is the delivery of behavioral 

health care to clients, patients, and consumers. 

(7)(6) "Clinical supervision" means clinical oversight 

required for all credentials with 50 percent 

clinical supervision that shall accrue in person 

and face-to-face while in the same room: the 

balance of this requirement may be fulfilled 

electronically via video, face-to-face, if 

performed in real time. 

(8)(7) "Clinical supervision specific education" means 

training that covers the aspects of clinical 

supervision of a substance abuse use disorder 

professional or any of the Twelve Core 

Functions in their clinical application. 

(9)(8) "Client" means an individual who is in receipt 

of substance abuse use disorder counseling. 

(10)(9) "Complainant" means a person who has filed a 

an ethical complaint pursuant to these Rules. 

(11)(10) "Consultation" means a meeting for discussion, 

decision-making, and planning with other 

service providers for the purpose of providing 

substance abuse use disorder counseling 

services. 

(12)(11) "Crisis" means a radical change of status event 

in the course of treatment related to alcohol or 

drug use that threatens to compromise or 

destroy the rehabilitation effort. 

(13)(12) "Deemed status group" means those persons 

who are credentialed as clinical addictions 

specialists because of their membership in a 

deemed status as defined in G.S. 90-

113.31A(15). 

(14)(13) "Education" means a service that is designed to 

inform and teach various groups including 
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clients, families, schools, businesses, churches, 

industries, civic, and other community groups 

about the nature of substance abuse disorders 

and about available community resources. It 

also serves to improve the social functioning of 

recipients by increasing awareness of human 

behavior and providing alternative cognitive or 

behavioral responses to life's problems. 

(15)(14) "Full-time" means 2,000 hours of substance 

abuse use disorder professional experience per 

year. 

(16)(15) "General professional skill building" means 

education provided to enhance the general skills 

of a substance abuse substance use disorder 

professional. 

(17)(16) "Hearing panel" means members of a 

committee designated by the chairperson of the 

committee to conduct an informal hearing to 

determine whether the applicant meets the 

standards required to be maintained for or 

awarded a credential. 

(18)(17) "Impairment" means a mental illness, substance 

abuse, use disorder, chemical dependency, or 

physical illness. illness that inhibits the ability 

of the professional to meet the treatment needs 

of the client and his or her family. 

(19)(18) "Letter of reference" means a letter that 

recommends a person for certification. 

credentialing. 

(20)(19) "Membership in good standing" means a 

member's credential is not in a state of 

revocation, lapse, or suspension. However, an 

individual whose credential is suspended and 

the suspension is stayed is a member in good 

standing during the period of the stay. 

(21)(20) "Passing score" means the score set and 

provided by the entity administering the exam. 

(22)(21) "Person served" means an individual who is not 

a client but is in receipt of substance abuse use 

disorder prevention counseling. 

(23)(22) "Personal service" means the delivery of a 

document into the hands of the person to whom 

it is addressed. 

(24)(23) "President" means the President of the Board. 

(25)(24) "Prevention consultation" means a service 

provided to other mental health, human service, 

community planning, development 

organization, or to individual practitioners in 

other organizations to assist in the development 

of insights and skills of the practitioner 

necessary for prevention of alcohol and drug 

abuse. 

(26)(25) "Prevention performance domains" means 

areas of professional activities to include: 

(a) planning and evaluations; 

(b) education and skill development; 

(c) community organization; 

(d) public and organizational policy; and 

(e) professional growth and 

responsibility. 

(27)(26) "Referral" means identifying the needs of an 

individual that cannot be met by the counselor 

or agency and assisting the individual in 

utilizing the support systems and community 

resources available to transfer services. 

(28)(27) "Rehabilitation" means re-establishing the 

functioning needed for professional 

competency. 

(29)(28) "Reinstatement" means an action where the 

Board restores registration, certification, or 

licensure to an applicant after the applicant 

completes the requirements imposed by the 

Board. 

(30)(29) "Relapse" means a return to the pattern of 

substance abuse misuse as well as the process 

during which indicators appear prior to the 

person's return to the pattern of substance abuse 

misuse or a re-appearance or exacerbation of 

physical, psychological, or emotional 

symptoms of impairment. 

(31)(30) "Renewal" means an action by the Board 

granting a substance abuse professional a 

consecutive registration, certification, or 

licensure based upon the completion of 

requirements for renewal as prescribed by 

statute and the rules of the Board. 

(32)(31) "Revival" means an action by the Board 

granting a substance abuse professional a 

registration, certification, or licensure 

following a lapse of registration, certification, 

or licensure wherein the professional must also 

meet the requirements for renewal. 

(33)(32) "Reprimand" means a written warning from the 

Board to a person making application for 

certification or licensure by the Board or 

registered, certified, or licensed by the Board. 

(34)(33) "Respondent" means a person who is making 

application for registration, certification, or 

licensure by the Board or is registered, certified, 

or licensed by the Board against whom a 

complaint has been filed. 

(35)(34) "Sexual activity" or "sexual contact" means: 

means soliciting or engaging in any activities of 

a sexual nature, including kissing, fondling, or 

touching of the body, specifically to the genitals 

but may include other parts of the body meant 

to cause sexual arousal. 

(a) Contact between the penis and the 

vulva or the penis and the anus; 

(b) Contact between the mouth and the 

penis, the mouth and the vulva, or the 

mouth and the anus; 

(c) The penetration, however slight, of the 

anal or genital opening of another by a 

hand, finger, or any object with an 

intent to abuse, humiliate, harass, 
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degrade, arouse, or gratify the sexual 

desire of any person; 

(d) Vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, 

fellatio, or anal intercourse, if 

initiated, agreed to, or not resisted by 

the substance abuse professional; or 

(e) Kissing or the intentional touching of 

the other's lips, genital area, groin, 

inner thigh, buttocks, breasts, or any 

other body parts, as well as the 

clothing covering any of these body 

parts for the purpose of sexual 

stimulation or gratification of either 

the substance abuse professional or the 

client if initiated or agreed to or not 

resisted by the substance abuse 

professional. 

(36)(35) "Substance abuse use disorder counseling 

experience " means approved supervised 

experience that may be full-time, part-time, 

paid or voluntary, and shall include all of the 

Twelve Core Functions as set forth in Rule 

.0204 of this Chapter as documented by a job 

description and a supervisor's evaluation. 

(37)(36) "Substance abuse use disorder prevention 

consultant experience" means approved 

supervised experience that may be full-time, 

part-time, paid or voluntary, and shall include 

all of the prevention domains referenced by 

Rule .0206 of this Chapter and as documented 

by a job description and supervisor's evaluation. 

(38)(37) "Substance abuse use disorder specific" means 

education focused upon alcohol and other drugs 

and the substance abusing using population and 

is provided for a substance abuse use disorder 

professional by an individual whose education 

and experience is in the field of alcohol and 

other drugs. 

(39)(38) "Supervised practice" means supervision of the 

applicant in the knowledge and skills related to 

substance abuse use disorder professionals. 

(40)(39) "Supervisor of record" means the substance 

abuse use disorder professional primarily 

responsible for providing applicant or practice 

supervision to a supervisee. 

(41)(40) "Suspension" means a loss of registration, 

certification, or licensure by a substance abuse 

professional or the privilege of making 

application for registration, certification, or 

licensure by an applicant for one of these 

credentials. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31A; 90-113.31B; 90-113.33; 

90-113.40; 90-113.41; 90-113.41A. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0102 BOARD MAILING ADDRESS 

(a)  Unless otherwise directed, all correspondence shall be mailed 

to the following address: 

North Carolina Substance Abuse Addiction Specialist 

Professional Certification Practice Board 

P.O. Box 10126 

Raleigh, NC 27605. 

(b)  The Board website shall be located at www.ncsappb.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0201 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Applications, inquiries and forms shall be obtained from the 

Board's website, www.ncsappb.org and returned submitted to the 

Board. Board for review and approval. 

(b)  To obtain an application packet, the applicant shall submit a 

check or money order for pay a non-refundable fee in the amount 

of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and a letter of intent stating the 

credential sought by the applicant. through the Board's application 

found on the website, www.ncsappb.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-

113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0202 REGISTRATION PROCESS FOR 

BOARD CREDENTIAL 

(a)  Individuals shall register with the Board prior to providing 

professional services.  This allows the Board to review the 

applicant's materials including education, training, experience and 

supervision contracts and provide the applicant with an 

understanding of his or her standing in the credentialing process. 

(b)  To register, the applicant shall send submit the following to 

the Board: 

(1) Completed registration form application 

provided by the Board; 

(2) Documentation of the degree required for a 

credential; 

(3) A signed supervision contract on a form 

agreement provided by the Board documenting 

the proposed supervision process by an 

applicant supervisor; 

(4) A signed form attesting to the applicant's 

promise to adhere An attestation or otherwise 

signed adherence by the applicant to the ethical 

standards of the Board;  

(5) Documentation of three hours of educational 

training in ethics;  

(6) Completed criminal history record check; 

(7) Job description evidencing applicant is 

practicing under the scope of practice for the 

credential sought; 

(8) Current resume; 

(9) Completed special needs statement revealing 

special testing needs on a form provided by the 

Board if applicable; and 

(10) A check or money order Payment in the amount 

as set in Rule .0205 that is non-refundable and 

made payable to the Board.  

(c)  Once the materials are determined by the Board to be in order 

the applicant shall be granted registration status. 
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(d)  Registration with the Board shall be for a period as set out in 

G.S. 90-113.40A. 

(e)  An applicant shall become a Registrant upon receipt of written 

notification from the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-

113.40; 90-113.40A; 90-113.46A. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0204 SUPERVISED PRACTICUM FOR 

CERTIFIED SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR 

ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELOR AND LICENSED 

CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

(a)  All applicants for the certified substance abuse alcohol and 

drug counselor or the clinical addictions specialist credential shall 

complete a 300 hour practicum supervised by an applicant 

supervisor and the practicum shall cover all core functions of 

counseling. Verification of at least ten hours of this practicum 

shall be made in each of the core functions of this Rule. These 120 

hours of the practicum shall be divided into one hour of 

supervision for every 10 hours of practice in each one of the 12 

core functions. These core functions are: 

(1) Screening to determine a client is appropriate 

and eligible for admission to a particular 

program; 

(2) Intake to provide the administrative and initial 

assessment procedures for admission to a 

program; 

(3) Orientation of the client to the general nature 

and goals of the program, rules governing client 

conduct, notice of the hours during which 

services are available, treatment costs to be 

borne by the client, if any, and client's rights; 

(4) An assessment to identify and evaluate for the 

purpose of the development of a treatment plan 

an individual's strengths, weaknesses, problems 

and needs; 

(5) The treatment planning process whereby the 

counselor and client identify and rank problems 

needing resolution, establish agreed upon 

immediate and long term goals, and decide on a 

treatment process and the resources to be 

utilized; 

(6) Counseling to assist individuals, families, or 

groups in achieving goals through exploration 

of a problem and its ramifications, examination 

of attitudes and feelings, consideration of 

alternative solutions, and making decisions; 

(7) Case management activities which bring 

services, agencies, resources or people together 

within a planned framework of action toward 

the achievement of established goals; 

(8) Providing those crisis intervention services 

which respond to an alcohol or other drug 

abuser's needs during acute emotional and 

physical distress; 

(9) Provision of client education information to 

individuals and groups describing alcohol and 

other drug abuse and the available services and 

resources; 

(10) Referring the client whose needs cannot be met 

by the counselor or agency to other support 

systems and community resources available; 

(11) Charting the results of the assessment and 

treatment plan while writing reports, progress 

notes, discharge summaries and other client-

related data necessary for the compilation of 

necessary reports and recordkeeping; and 

(12) Consultation with substance abuse and other 

professionals to assure comprehensive, quality 

care for the client. 

(b)  The remaining 180 hours of this practicum shall be in any of 

the core function areas. 

(c)  Upon completion of the 300 hours, the supervisor shall 

complete an evaluation form reviewing the certified substance 

abuse alcohol and drug counselor or clinical addictions specialist 

professional development and provide it to the Board, 

documenting the 300 hours of practice, including 30 hours of 

supervision on a form provided by the Board. supervision. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 90-113.40(a)(7), the practicum may be 

completed as part of an academic course of study in a regionally 

accredited college or university or it may be developed in the 

work setting as long as it is supervised by an applicant supervisor. 

(e)  Pursuant to G.S. 90-113.40(c)(1), the 300 hours of practical 

training provided by an applicant supervisor shall be completed 

as part of the required two years postgraduate supervised 

substance abuse clinical addictions counseling experience. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-

113.39; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0209 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  If a counselor, prevention consultant, clinical supervisor, or 

clinical addictions specialist holds a credential issued by an 

IC&RC/AODA, Inc. IC&RC member board or a successor 

organization as a certified substance abuse counselor (to include 

alcohol and other drugs), alcohol and drug counselor, certified 

prevention consultant, certified clinical supervisor or credentialed 

licensed clinical addictions specialist, the person may transfer this 

credential to North Carolina by applying a transfer fee as assessed 

by the IC&RC/AODA, Inc. paid to the IC&RC or its successor 

organization. 

(b)  The reciprocal credential effective date shall remain the same 

as in the previous state. 

(c)  At the time when re-credentialing is required, it will be the 

individual's responsibility to submit an application for re-

credentialing. For the period of the first re-credentialing in North 

Carolina, the Board shall accept the member's former state re-

credentialing requirements for the purpose of reciprocal re-

credentialing. At the end of this re-credentialing period, it shall be 

the individual's responsibility to conform to the re-credentialing 

requirements of North Carolina in effect at the time of re-

credentialing. 

(d)  In the event that the individual's IC&RC member board does 

not administer the same level exam required for reciprocal 

certification or licensing in North Carolina, the applicant shall be 

required to complete and pass the exam required by the rules of 

this Chapter and the North Carolina General Statute. 
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Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.36; 90-113.37A. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0213 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

APPROVAL POLICY 

(a)  The Board shall approve educational events for professional 

credentialing. One certified hour is defined as one contact hour of 

participation in an organized continuing education experience. 

Continuing education used to meet the credentialing requirements 

shall be reviewed and approved according to these Rules. If the 

sponsor does not obtain approval from the Board, the individual 

participants shall be responsible for supplying all of the required 

information for each continuing education session at the time of 

request for credentialing or re-credentialing. Upon request, the 

Standards Committee shall review requests quarterly. Submission 

of approval requests shall be received 45 days prior to opening 

day of the event. 

(b)  Any applicant for training approval shall submit a training 

approval request form including: 

(1) Title of course, date, location, individual or 

organization sponsor, whether it will be held 

only once or recurring. 

(2) Presenter(s) who shall attach a resume outlining 

expertise in the subject area and content of the 

session. 

(3) A description of the contents of a track, course, 

seminar, and the type of credit hours being 

requested to indicate if it is substance abuse 

specific, general skill building, or required 

training pursuant to other specialized 

credentials including Criminal Justice 

Addictions Professionals, Clinical Supervisors, 

Residential Facility Directors, or Prevention 

Consultants. 

(4) Agenda, to include the breakdown of time 

including a 15 minute break for every two hours 

of education and amount of time allowed for 

meals. 

(5) The sponsor or individual seeking approval 

shall pay an annual fee as follows: 

(A) $25.00 for up to 10 hours; 

(B) $50.00 for more than 10 hours and up 

to 20 hours; 

(C) $75.00 for more than 20 hours and up 

to 30 hours; 

(D) $100.00 for more than 30 hours and up 

to 40 hours; 

(E) $125.00 for more than 40 hours. 

(c)  Training approved by IC&RC/AODA, Inc. or its successor 

organization member boards and organizations granted deemed 

status shall be accepted with documentation of completion. 

(d)  In-service training shall meet the same requirements as set out 

in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. However, if persons who 

are non-employees of the sponsoring and presenting agency are 

invited to participate, then it is not considered in-service and 

Board pre-approval shall be required. Education received within 

the organization by outside trainers is not considered inservice. 

(e)  Presenters shall be given one hour of credit for every one hour 

presented. However, if the original presentation is repeated, hours 

can only be credited for the original presentation. 

(f)  The Board may revise or rescind credit hours if information is 

received documenting that a previously approved event was not 

presented as it was approved. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.37A; 90-113.38; 

90-113.39; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0214 COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY 

SUBSTANCE ABUSE USE DISORDER SPECIALTY 

CURRICULA 

(a)  The standards committee shall be notified by a school of its 

intent to provide a substance abuse use disorder specialty 

curricula. 

(b)  Upon notification of the school's intent to provide a substance 

abuse use disorder specialty curriculum, the Board shall inform 

the school that the following information shall be needed from the 

applicant school: 

(1) Curricula description including number of 

hours of substance abuse use disorder specific 

credits; credits. No more than 50 percent of 

educational hours may be obtained in an online 

asynchronous format; 

(2) Information as to how the educational 

requirements for substance abuse use disorder 

specialty shall be met within the curricula 

pursuant to G.S. 90-113.41A(a)(2) a.-k.; 

(3) The names and resume of any faculty who shall 

be teaching the substance abuse use disorder 

curricula; 

(4) The name of the school in which the substance 

abuse use disorder curricula shall be housed and 

organizational contact information; and 

(5) Specific guidelines and information on the field 

experience that shall be required of students 

including current substance abuse use disorder 

specific field placements and supervision. A 

clinical supervisor intern or certified clinical 

supervisor shall supervise the students enrolled 

in the substance use disorder specialty curricula 

described in this Section pursuant to 21 NCAC 

68 .0204. 

(c)  The standards committee Standards Committee shall review 

curricula to determine if the proposal meets educational, hour, 

substance abuse use disorder specific and supervised experience 

qualifications. 

(d)  The curricula review subcommittee of the standards 

committee Standards Committee shall present recommendations 

to the Board. 

(e)  The Board shall notify the school of the status of its request 

and any recommendation. 

(f)  The curricula shall be submitted for review every three years. 

Application for extension of the curricula shall be made 90 days 

prior to the current expiration date. A previously approved 

substance use disorder specialty curricula school may forgo 

review by notifying the Board that there have been no substantive 

changes to the approved curricula. 

(g)  Individuals applying who have completed a curriculum from 

a school meeting the criteria set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 
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through (b)(5) of this Rule shall submit an official masters or more 

advanced degree transcript from the university or college. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0215 VERIFICATION 

(a)  Application for verification of credential shall be made to the 

Board. 

(b)  A request for verification shall be made in writing and 

submitted with a check or money order in the amount of twenty-

five dollars ($25.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0216 BACKGROUND 

INVESTIGATION 

(a)  Every applicant for an initial credential Registration issued 

pursuant to Article 5C of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes shall 

provide, at her or his expense, a completed complete a fingerprint 

card background check and accompanying release of information 

form, provided by the Board, meeting the standards set by the 

State Bureau of Investigation and obtained within 60 days of the 

date the applicant submits all the prerequisites for his or her 

credential. 

(b)  The applicant shall provide any additional information 

regarding any pending charge or conviction as requested by the 

Board. 

(c)  An applicant shall submit a verified statement listing all 

criminal convictions received by the applicant, subsequent to the 

date of the application. Failure to make full and accurate 

disclosure shall be grounds for immediate application denial or 

other disciplinary action applicable to registration, certification, 

or licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-113.44. 

(d)  Criminal histories from any jurisdiction shall be categorized 

as defined by North Carolina law. 

(e)  The categories of crimes (committed as separate incidents) are 

as follows: 

(1) Category I. The following crimes: 

(A) Murder, attempted murder, or 

manslaughter of a child 16 or under; or 

(B) Sexual assault, including attempted 

sexual assault, rape, indecent liberties 

with a child, molestation, or sexual 

assault of a child, or the attempt to 

commit any of the aforementioned 

crimes. 

(2) Category II. Crimes that primarily result in 

bodily or emotional harm to others, including: 

(A) Manslaughter of a person over 16 

years of age; 

(B) Kidnapping or attempted kidnapping; 

(C) Arson of an occupied dwelling; 

(D) Robbery with a dangerous weapon or 

attempted robbery with a dangerous 

weapon; 

(E) Felony assault other than a sexual 

assault; 

(F) First degree burglary; 

(G) Trafficking in controlled substances as 

it is defined in Article 5 of Chapter 90 

of the General Statutes; or 

(H) Any other felony that results in bodily 

or emotional harm to another. 

(3) Category III. The following misdemeanors and 

felonies that do not primarily result in bodily or 

emotional harm to others: 

(A) Three or more DWIs within the most 

recent seven years; 

(B) Assault (misdemeanor); 

(C) Felony larceny; 

(D) Fraud, obtaining property by false 

pretenses, financial transaction card 

theft; 

(E) Unauthorized use of an aircraft; 

(F) Unlawfully carrying a weapon; 

(G) Theft of a vehicle; 

(H) Falsification of government 

documentation (felony); 

(I) Arson of an unoccupied dwelling or 

other building within the curtilage; 

(J) Burglary other than in the first degree; 

(K) Sale and delivery violations of the 

North Carolina Controlled Substances 

Act resulting in a felony conviction; 

(L) Embezzlement; 

(M) Forgery; 

(N) Any burning of property prosecuted as 

a felony; 

(O) Robbery not with a dangerous 

weapon; 

(P) Perjury; 

(Q) Felony receiving and possessing 

stolen goods; 

(R) Breaking and entering; or 

(S) Any other felony not otherwise 

categorized. 

(4) Category IV. The following misdemeanors: 

(A) Any combination of three or more 

Category V offenses, except offenses 

occurring within the same incident 

shall be considered a single offense; 

(B) Two DWIs within the most recent 

seven years; 

(C) Possession of a controlled substance; 

(D) Injury or damage to property; 

(E) Resisting arrest; 

(F) Larceny; 

(G) Prostitution; 

(H) Criminal mischief; 

(I) Driving while license suspended or 

revoked; 

(J) Falsification of government 

documents; 

(K) Any misdemeanor burning; or 

(L) Any other misdemeanor not otherwise 

categorized. 

(5) Category V. Category V offenses are: 
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(A) One DWI within the most recent seven 

years; 

(B) Disorderly conduct; 

(C) Intoxicated and disruptive in public; 

(D) Three or more incidents resulting in 

worthless check convictions; or 

(E) Shoplifting or concealment. 

(f)  The following sanctions have been established by the Board 

according to the categories of crimes: 

(1) An applicant with a Category I conviction shall 

have at least 15 years elapsed since the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence received as a result of the last 

Category I conviction to be eligible for 

registration, certification, or licensure. 

(2) An applicant with a Category II conviction shall 

have at least 10 years elapsed since the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence received as a result of the last 

Category II conviction to be eligible for 

certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a 

Category II conviction, an applicant may be 

registered no sooner than five years following 

the date the applicant has completed all aspects 

of his or her sentence. 

(3) An applicant with a Category III conviction 

shall have at least five years elapsed since the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence received as a result of the last 

Category III conviction to be eligible for 

certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a 

Category III conviction, an applicant may be 

registered immediately following the date the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence. 

(4) An applicant with a Category IV conviction 

shall have at least three years elapsed since the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence received as a result of the last 

Category IV conviction to be eligible for 

certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a 

Category IV conviction, an applicant may 

register immediately following the date the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence. 

(5) An applicant with a Category V conviction 

shall have at least one year elapsed since the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence received as a result of the last 

Category V conviction to be eligible for 

certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a 

Category V conviction, an applicant may 

register immediately following the date the 

applicant has completed all aspects of his or her 

sentence. 

(g)  If a waiting period prior to licensure as a driver of a motor 

vehicle results from a conviction for a DWI offense, this waiting 

period shall not be considered an aspect of an applicant's sentence 

required to be completed prior to the awarding of a credential. 

(h)  An individual whose application is denied or whose 

registration is suspended or revoked may request a hearing under 

the procedure established in Article 5C of Chapter 90 and Chapter 

150B of the North Carolina General Statutes and the North 

Carolina Administrative Code. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-113.33; 90-113.40; 90-

113.41A; 90-113.44. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0217 SUPERVISED PRACTICUM FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADDICTIONS PROFESSIONAL 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  All applicants for the criminal justice addictions professional 

certification shall complete 300 hours practicum. practicum as set 

forth in G.S. 90-113.40(d1)(2). The applicant supervisor shall; 

(1) Train the criminal justice addictions 

professional and cover all criminal justice 

performance domains as set out in G.S. 90-

113.31B(6); 

(2) Submit verification that at least 10 hours of 

practice was provided in each of the 

performance domains; and 

(3) Provide verification of at least one hour of 

supervision for every 10 hours of practice in 

each one of the performance domains on a 

supervisor evaluation form provided by the 

Board. 

(b)  The remaining hours of the practicum shall be in any of the 

performance domains. 

(c)  Upon completion of 300 hours, the applicant supervisor shall: 

(1) Complete an evaluation form reviewing 

criminal justice addictions professional's 

development as a professional; 

(2) Document the 300 hours of practice to include 

30 hours of supervision by the applicant 

supervisor; and 

(3) Submit this information to the Board on a form 

provided by the Board. 

(d)(b)  The practicum may be completed as part of an academic 

course of study in a regionally accredited college or university or 

it may be developed in the work setting as a substance use disorder 

professional as long as it is supervised by an applicant supervisor. 

The practicum shall take place within a criminal justice addiction 

professional setting to include a workplace for law enforcement, 

the judiciary, or corrections. 

Authority G.S. 90-113.31A; 90-113.31B(6); 90-113.40; 90-

113.40B. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0220 NOTICE TO APPLICANT OF 

FAILURE TO SATISFY BOARD (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0221 APPLICANT HEARING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0222 ETHICS AND QUALITY 

ASSURANCE INQUIRY 

(a)  Information that is the basis for an inquiry into the issue of 

whether the applicant meets the ethical standards of the Board 
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may be referred to the Chairperson of the Standards Quality 

Assurance Committee for review and further investigation. The 

Chairperson may pursue the investigation of this matter pursuant 

to the procedures used to investigate ethics complaints. 

(b)  Information that is the basis for an inquiry into the issue of 

whether the credentialed professional meets the ethical standards 

of the Board may be referred to the Chairperson of the Ethics 

Committee for review and further investigation. The Chairperson 

may pursue the investigation of this matter pursuant to the 

procedures used to investigate ethics complaints. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-

113.44. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0223 STANDARDS AND QUALITY 

ASSURANCE COMMITTEE ACTION ACTIONS 

(a)  The Standards The Quality Assurance Committee may take 

any of the following actions: 

(1) Review applications for credentialing and re-

credentialing; re-credentialing; and 

(2) Recommend or deny candidates for 

credentialing and re-credentialing; re-

credentialing. 

(3) Review curricula requirements for Board 

approved training events; 

(4) Review curricula requirements for Board 

approval of college or university courses; and 

(5) Investigate complaints of illegal practice. 

(b)  The Standards Committee may take any of the following 

actions: 

(1) Review curricula requirements for Board 

approved training events; 

(2) Review curricula requirements for Board 

approval of college or university courses; and 

(3) Recommend changes to curricula to reflect best 

practices and current trends in substance use 

disorder treatment and prevention. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0224 CREDENTIALING STATUS 

DENIED IF SERVING SENTENCE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0225 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

AND ESCROW OF FUNDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0226 ARMED SERVICES EXTENSION 

FOR CREDENTIAL (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0227 CREDENTIAL BY 

ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY BASED ON 

MILITARY SERVICE 

(a)  An applicant for a substance abuse substance use disorder 

professional credential by endorsement or reciprocity based on 

military service shall have his or her training honored 

automatically pursuant to the standards of the International 

Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other 

Drug Abuse, Incorporated. Consortium (IC&RC). The applicant 

shall apply for a credential by using the Board's credentialing 

software, Learning Builder, and submit to the Board: 

(1) a reciprocity application form prescribed by the 

International Certification and Reciprocity 

Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, 

Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the 

Board as found at its website: 

www.ncsappb.org that shall be found 

accompanying the reciprocity information on 

the website; 

(2) the application fee required by rule applicable 

to the specific credential as set forth in this 

Chapter; 

(3) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty as a substance abuse 

professional and that the applicant has engaged 

in practice as a substance abuse professional for 

at least 1,500 clinical hours per year during at 

least two of the five years preceding the date of 

application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of any act set out in G.S. 90-

113.46A, any disciplinary actions, 

investigations, malpractice claims, state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, 

settlements, or criminal charges. 

(b)  All information required shall be received by the Board office. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of 

the applicant's fingerprints as described on the Board's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-

113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-15.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0228 SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY 

BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY SPOUSE 

(a)  An applicant for a substance abuse use disorder credential by 

endorsement or reciprocity based on the applicant's status as a 

military spouse shall have his or her training honored 

automatically pursuant to the standards of the International 

Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other 

Drug Abuse, Incorporated. Consortium (IC&RC). The applicant 

shall apply for a credential by using the Board's credentialing 

software, Learning Builder, and submit to the Board: 

(1) a reciprocity application form prescribed by the 

International Certification and Reciprocity 

Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, 

Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the 

Board as found at its website: 

http://www.ncsappb.org that shall be found 

accompanying the reciprocity information on 

the website; 

(2) the application fee required by rule applicable 

to the specific credential as set forth in this 

Chapter; 
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(3) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant is married to an active member of the 

U.S. military and that such applicant: 

(A) holds a current substance abuse 

credential from another jurisdiction 

whose standards for the credential are 

substantially equivalent to or greater 

than those required for the credential 

described in G.S. 90, Article 5C, this 

Chapter, and is the subject of the 

application; and 

(B) has engaged in practice as a substance 

abuse professional demonstrating the 

scope of practice as defined by G.S. 

90-113.31B for at least 1,500 hours 

per year during at least two of the five 

years preceding the date of 

application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of an act set out in G.S. 90-

113.46A, any disciplinary actions, 

investigations, malpractice claims, state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, 

settlements, or criminal charges. 

(b)  All information required shall be received by the Board office. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of 

the applicant's fingerprints as described on the Board's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.31B; 90-113.33; 90-

113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-15.1. 

 

SECTION .0300 - CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0301 SCOPE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0303 APPLICATION FOR DEEMED 

STATUS BY PROFESSIONAL DISCIPLINE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0304 THREE-YEAR STANDARDS 

REVIEW OF DEEMED STATUS STANDING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0307 REVOCATION OF 

CREDENTIAL WHEN CHANGE IN STATUS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0401 EDUCATION APPROVAL 

POLICY 

(a)  The Certification Board shall approve educational events for 

professional certification or certification renewal. One certified 

hour is defined as one contact hour of participation in an 

organized education experience under sponsorship approved in 

accordance with these rules. 

(b)  The Certification Board shall review and approve all 

education used to meet the certification requirements. 

(c)  Approval may be requested by an individual applicant or by a 

sponsor or presenter. If the sponsor does not obtain credit from 

the Certification Board, the individual participants shall be 

responsible for supplying all of the required information for each 

session at the time of request for certification, recertification, or 

conversion. The Standards and Credentials Committee shall 

review requests once monthly. 

(d)  To insure a determination of a request prior to the date of 

presentation, sponsors, presenters, or individuals shall submit 

requests 45 days prior to opening day of the event. 

(a)  The Board shall approve educational events for professional 

credentialing. One certified hour is defined as one contact hour of 

participation in an organized continuing education experience. 

Continuing education used to meet the credentialing requirements 

shall be reviewed and approved according to these Rules. If the 

sponsor does not obtain approval from the Board, the individual 

participants shall be responsible for supplying all of the required 

information for each continuing education session at the time of 

request for credentialing or re-credentialing. Submission of 

approval requests shall be received 45 days prior to opening day 

of the event. 

(b)  Any applicant for training approval shall submit a training 

approval request form including: 

(1) Title of course, date, location, individual or 

organization sponsor, whether it will be held 

only once or recurring. 

(2) Presenter(s) who shall attach a resume outlining 

expertise in the subject area and content of the 

session. 

(3) A description of the contents of a track, course, 

seminar, and the type of credit hours being 

requested to indicate if it is substance abuse 

specific, general skill building, or required 

training pursuant to other specialized 

credentials including Criminal Justice 

Addictions Professionals, Clinical Supervisors, 

Residential Facility Directors, or Prevention 

Consultants. 

(4) Agenda, to include the breakdown of time 

including a 15 minute break for every two hours 

of education and amount of time allowed for 

meals. 

(5) The sponsor or individual seeking approval 

shall pay an annual fee as follows: 

(A) $25.00 for up to 10 hours; 

(B) $50.00 for more than 10 hours and up 

to 20 hours; 

(C) $75.00 for more than 20 hours and up 

to 30 hours; 

(D) $100.00 for more than 30 hours and up 

to 40 hours; 

(E) $125.00 for more than 40 hours. 

(c)  Training approved by IC&RC/AODA, Inc. or its successor 

organization member boards and organizations granted deemed 

status shall be accepted with documentation of completion. 

(d)  In-service training shall meet the same requirements as set out 

in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. However, if persons who 

are non-employees of the sponsoring and presenting agency are 

invited to participate, then it is not considered in-service and 
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Board pre-approval shall be required. The presenting agency or 

organization may contract with outside trainers to present to their 

employees and this shall be considered in-service training. 

(e)  Presenters shall be given one hour of credit for every one hour 

presented. However, if the original presentation is repeated, hours 

can only be credited for the original presentation. 

(f)  The Board may revise or rescind credit hours if information is 

received documenting that a previously approved event was not 

presented as it was approved. 

(g)  The Board may grant 15 clock hours of education for each 

college or university semester credit; the standard 3 credit 

semester course may be equal to 45 clock hours of education. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0402 GENERAL GUIDELINES 

(a)  The guidelines set forth in this section shall apply to each 

approval request for obtaining credit for didactic and academic 

hours for course, curricula, and training events held January 1, 

1987 or thereafter. events seeking pre-approval from the Board 

for professionals to use to meet their educational requirements for 

initial credentialing or renewal. 

(b)  The following information and standards shall be required: 

(1) Title of course, date, location, sponsor 

(individual or organization), and whether it 

shall be held only once or periodically; 

(2) The name of the presenter(s) and a resume 

outlining his or her expertise in the subject area 

and content of the session; 

(3) A sufficient description of the contents of a 

track, course, seminar, or other unit of academic 

pursuit and the type of credit hours being 

requested to indicate if it is substance abuse 

specific or general skill building; 

(4) An agenda reflecting the breakdown of time 

including a 15 minute break for every two hours 

of education and amount of time allowed for 

meals; 

(5) Each application for training approval may 

include a copy of the objective evaluation tool 

to be used; 

(6) The summary of evaluations may be submitted 

to the Board within 45 days following the 

program date(s). 

(c)(b)  The Certification Board shall have the right to review 

programs by sending a Certification Board member or designee to 

monitor the event or a portion of the event. When fulfilling this 

quality assurance role, the designated person shall present a letter 

of introduction to the presenter. notify the presenter or training 

sponsor in writing. 

(d)(c)  Certification hours shall be awarded only for actual hours 

attended. 

(e)  Certificates shall not be released until the event ends and they 

shall be modified to reflect actual hours completed. 

(f)(d)  Providers of Board approved events shall be required to 

document attendance at individual events for schools, courses, 

curricula and conferences. 

(g)(e)  Event sponsors shall maintain attendance and evaluation 

records for no less than three years. 

(h)  Training approved by International Certification and 

Reciprocity Consortium (ICRC) member boards shall be accepted 

with documentation of completion. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0403 EMPLOYER INSERVICE 

TRAINING EVENT 

(a)  An employer inservice event shall be a training session that 

shall be provided by the applicant's employer for the purpose of 

professional certification credentialing and limited to the 

employees of that agency. and it shall be approved by the Board 

for this purpose as with other training events. The Board shall 

accept inservice training for professional credentialing and 

renewal but reserves the right to attend and evaluate the inservice 

training as described in 21 NCAC 68 .0402. 

(b)  An applicant's training in substance use disorder and 

prevention provided as part of military employment shall be 

considered inservice training. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0404 CREDIT DENIAL OR 

LIMITATION 

(a)  Credit shall not be given for the following: 

(1) Presentations given by banquet speakers unless 

the content meets the requirements described in 

this Section; 

(2) One's own case presentation required for 

certification; or 

(3) Registration time. 

(b)  The Board shall revise or rescind credit hours if information 

is received documenting that a previously approved event was not 

presented as it was approved. The Board may deny credit approval 

based on failure to provide accurate information to the Board as 

part of the credit approval application. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0405 SPONSOR GUIDELINES 

(a)  Sponsors or presenters shall submit requests for approval prior 

to the event and shall allow the Board 45 days for review and 

approval. Requests by sponsors or presenters postmarked 

submitted after the event has taken place shall may not be 

reviewed or approved by the Board, but shall be returned. Board. 

Documentation of the event attendance shall then be submitted by 

each individual at the time request is made for certification or 

recertification or conversion. credentialing or renewal. 

(b)  All approvals from the Board shall be in writing and shall 

include the event approval number. 

(c)  Sponsors shall be responsible for providing a certificate of 

attendance which includes the approval number and number of 

approved education hours. 

(d)  Any event given on a recurring basis, as in the example of 

college courses, may be given approval on a yearly basis. Renewal 

of credit approval shall be based on submission of a letter 

notification by the sponsor or presenter documenting no change 

in course content. Any changes in content or method shall be 

submitted for review and approval in order to maintain prior 
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approval. When changes have been made in content, method or 

agenda, the fee shall be the same as for a new event. 

(e)  Fees for review and approval of events: 

(1) For 1-10 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00); 

(2) For 11-20 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00); 

(3) For 21-30 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00); 

(4) For 31-40 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00); 

(5) For 41-50 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of one hundred twenty-five dollars 

($125.00); 

(6) For 51-100 hours of instruction the Board shall 

impose a fee of one hundred fifty dollars 

($150.00). 

(7) For greater than 100 hours of instruction the 

Board shall impose a fee greater than one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) and those 

additional charges shall be imposed in 

incremental amounts as set forth in 

Subparagraphs (e)(1) through (6) of this Rule, 

not to exceed three hundred dollars ($300.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.38; 90-113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0406 PROCEDURES FOR APPROVAL 

OF SELF-STUDY COURSES 

(a)  Self-study courses may be submitted for approval for 

certification and recertification hours. 

(b)  A copy of all documents including test and documentation of 

completion shall be submitted with the application. 

(c)  No more than 50% of hours may be credited through self-

study programs. 

(d)  Self-study courses may not be repeated for credit. 

(e)  A fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) shall be submitted 

for each course by the vendor for pre-approval by the Board. 

Pursuant to G.S. 90-113.39, approval is for one year from the date 

the Certification Board approves the application. 

(f)  Self study approved by IC&RC/AODA, Inc. member boards 

and organizations granted deemed status shall be accepted with 

documentation of completion. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-

113.40. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0407 APPLICANT GUIDELINES 

(a)  After January 1, 1985, to gain credit for an applicant's 

education for certification, recertification or conversion, the The 

applicant shall provide the event approval number and proper 

documentation of attendance which includes: 

(1) Certificate of attendance; or 

(2) Training cards or sheets signed by a sponsor or 

presenter. 

(b)  Documents not acceptable to establish that an applicant has 

received continuing education are as follows: 

(1) Canceled checks; 

(2) Receipts; 

(3) Letters from supervisors who were non-

participants in the course; or 

(4) Program schedules. 

(c)  If the sponsor failed to obtain approval for an event, the 

applicant shall be responsible for supplying the required 

information for each session as stated in Rule .0402 of this 

Section. 

(d)  To gain credit for didactic or academic hours of continuing 

education events held prior to January 1, 1985, the following 

standards apply: 

(1) The Board shall accept education previously 

approved by the former N.C. Alcoholism 

Certification Board and N.C. Drug Abuse 

Professional Certification Board. 

(2) Events held between January 1, 1980 and 

December 31, 1984 shall include all of the 

information required pursuant to Rule .0402 of 

this Section, except the resume of the presenter. 

(3) Events held prior to January 1, 1980 may be 

approved if a description of the material, 

method, number of hours and presenter's name 

is provided by the applicant. 

(e)  It is the responsibility of the individual applicant to put 

together a package of hours in accordance with criteria contained 

herein. Sixty hours of education shall be completed within the two 

years immediately prior to request for certification or 

recertification or conversion. There shall be no time frame on the 

remaining required hours for certification, to include conversion. 

(f)  Inservice events shall be identified as such. 

(g)  If a page of material is received from the applicant which does 

not comply with the above requirements, it shall be returned to the 

applicant. 

(h)  Request for approval shall be mailed to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.37; 90-113.40. 

 

SECTION .0500 - ETHICAL PRINCIPLES OF CONDUCT 

FOR THE SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0501 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  The ethical principles governing the credentialed substance 

abuse use disorder professional are established to protect the 

public health, safety and welfare. 

(b)  The primary goal of this code is to set forth principles to guide 

the conduct of the substance abuse use disorder professional. The 

Board may deem violation of these standards malpractice, 

negligence, incompetence, or engaging in conduct that could 

result in harm or injury to the public. 

(c)  Ethical principles shall provide a standard for the substance 

abuse use disorder professional in his or her professional roles, 

relationships and responsibilities. 

(d)  Upon submission of an application for a credential, each 

applicant shall review the ethical standards in these Rules, sign or 

otherwise adhere to the "Applicant's Code of Ethical Conduct" 

form, and return it to the Board agreeing thus agreeing to uphold 

the ethical principles of conduct. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40. 
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21 NCAC 68 .0502 NON-DISCRIMINATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0503 COMPETENCE 

(a)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall employ 

the requisite knowledge, skill and proficiencies of a substance 

abuse practitioner competently providing services within his or 

her scope of practice. 

(b)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall strive to 

learn about cultural and ethnic values in order to provide the 

highest level of care for a client who possesses a diverse or 

unfamiliar cultural or ethnic background. 

(c)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall provide 

the necessary interpretive services to any client or refer the person 

for necessary services. 

(d)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall assist in 

eliminating prevention, intervention, treatment, and supervision 

practices by persons unqualified or unauthorized to practice in the 

field. 

(e)  The substance abuse use disorder professional who knows of 

unethical conduct or of unprofessional practices by a substance 

abuse use disorder professional shall report such violations to the 

Board. 

(f)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall recognize 

boundaries and limitations of his or her competencies and not 

offer services or use techniques outside of his or her professional 

competencies and scope of practice. 

(g)  The substance abuse use disorder professional who identifies 

a need for services outside his or her skill, training or experience 

shall refer the client to an appropriate professional or shall seek 

supervision and training to provide the required services for the 

individual. 

(h)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall complete 

reports and record keeping functions in a manner that supports the 

client's treatment experience and welfare. 

(i)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall recognize 

the negative impact impairment has on his or her functioning in 

public and professional performance and shall seek an assessment 

by a Board-approved provider and follow the recommendations. 

report such impairment to the Board for investigation and review, 

which may result in disciplinary or non-disciplinary action. 

(j)  No applicant shall be credentialed as a substance abuse use 

disorder professional who is serving any part of a court-ordered 

sentence as specifically prohibited by 21 NCAC 68 .0224. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.34; 90-113.36; 90-113.37; 90-

113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 90-113.43; 90-113.44. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0504 LEGAL STANDARDS AND 

ETHICAL STANDARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0505 EDUCATION AND TRAINING 

STANDARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0506 PUBLICATION CREDIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0507 CLIENT WELFARE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0508 CONFIDENTIALITY 

(a)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall protect 

the privacy of current and former clients and shall not disclose 

confidential information without prior consent. 

(b)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall inform 

the client and obtain written permission for the use of interview 

material for training purposes and observation of an interview. 

(c)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall make 

provisions for the maintenance of confidentiality and the ultimate 

disposition of confidential records. These provisions shall be 

consistent with the prohibition against disclosure of records or 

other information concerning any client in a federally-assisted 

alcohol or drug abuse program as it appears in 42 C.F.R., Part 2, 

42 U.S.C. 290ee-3, the HIPAA Privacy Rule appearing in 45 CFR 

Sections 160 and 164 and State law. 

(d)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall disclose 

confidential information only: 

(1) when there is clear and imminent danger to the 

client or to other persons or a medical 

emergency and then only to the appropriate 

professional worker or public authorities; 

(2) when compelled by law to provide such 

information; 

(3) with a proper consent form in writing issued 

pursuant to 42 C.F.R., Part 2, 42 U.S.C. 290ee-

3; or 

(4) for internal program communications and 

communications that do not disclose patient-

identifying information. only in accordance 

with state confidentiality rules found in 10A 

NCAC 26B and federal guidelines found in 42 

CFR Part 2. 

(e)  With prior written consent the substance abuse use disorder 

professional shall discuss the information obtained in a clinical or 

consulting relationship only in a professional setting and only for 

a professional purpose concerned with the case. Written and oral 

reports shall present only data germane to the purpose of the 

evaluation. 

(f)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall use 

material in classroom teaching and writing only when the identity 

of the person involved is disguised adequately to prevent 

disclosure or documented permission is given by the party or the 

information is in the public domain. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.43; 90-113.44. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0509 CLIENT RELATIONSHIPS 

(a)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall not enter 

into a client/professional relationship with members of one's the 

professional's immediate family. For the purpose of this Rule 

"immediate family" means spouse, parent, sibling, child, 

grandparent, grandchild, stepchild, stepparent, parent-in-law, and 

child-in-law. 
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(b)  The professional shall avoid dual relationships that could 

impair professional judgment or increase the risk of exploitation 

of a client. For the purpose of this Rule "dual relationships" 

includes relationships in a social media setting where the 

professional and client have access to privileged information 

including relationships, photographs, and personal thoughts and 

opinions of the professional and the client. 

(c)  Sexual activity or sexual contact of a substance abuse 

professional with a client shall be restricted as follows: 

(1) The substance abuse use disorder professional 

shall not engage in or solicit sexual activity or 

sexual contact with a current client. 

(2) The substance abuse use disorder professional 

shall not engage in or solicit sexual activity or 

sexual contact with a former client for five 

years after the termination of the counseling or 

consulting relationship. 

(3) The substance abuse use disorder professional 

shall not engage in or solicit sexual activity or 

sexual contact with any client the professional 

knows to be currently in treatment at his or her 

own agency or place of professional 

employment. 

(4) The substance abuse use disorder professional 

shall not knowingly engage in or solicit sexual 

activity or sexual contact with any identified 

former client of his or her own agency or place 

of professional employment for five years after 

the termination of the counseling or consulting 

relationship if both the professional was 

employed at the agency and the former client 

was a client of the agency during the same time 

period. 

(5) Because sexual activity with a client is harmful 

to the client, a substance abuse use disorder 

professional shall not engage in sexual 

activities with a former client even after a five-

year interval unless the substance abuse 

professional who engages in such activity after 

the five years following cessation or 

termination of treatment bears the burden of 

demonstrating that there has been no harm to 

the client in light of all relevant factors, 

including the following: 

(A) The amount of time that has passed 

since treatment services were 

terminated; 

(B) The nature and duration of the 

treatment services; 

(C) The circumstances of termination; 

(D) The client's personal history; 

(E) The client's current mental status; 

(F) The likelihood of adverse impact on 

the client and others; and 

(G) Any statement made or action taken by 

the substance abuse professional 

during the course of treatment 

suggesting or inviting the possibility 

of a post-termination sexual or 

romantic relationship with the client. 

(d)  The substance abuse use disorder professional shall not 

misuse his or her professional relationship for sexual, financial, or 

any other personal advantage. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-113.44. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0510 INTERPROFESSIONAL 

RELATIONSHIPS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0511 REMUNERATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0512 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

SUPERVISOR AND SUPERVISEE 

(a)  A professional who has received a credential from the Board 

and who is serving as a clinical or practice supervisor shall: 

(1) Be aware of his or her position with respect to 

supervisees and therefore not exploit the trust 

and reliance of such persons. 

(2) Avoid dual relationships that could impair 

professional judgment, increase the risk of 

exploitation, or cause harm to the supervisee. 

To implement this standard the supervisor shall 

not: 

(A) Instruct or supervise a person with 

whom the supervisor has participated 

in a sexual activity; a person living in 

the supervisor's household; or a family 

member who is related to the 

supervisor as a child, parent, 

grandchild, sister, brother, 

grandparent, spouse, mother-in-law, 

father-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-

in-law, stepson, stepdaughter, 

stepmother, stepfather, brother-in-law, 

sister-in-law, spouse's grandparent, 

spouse's grandchild, grandchild's 

spouse, or spouse of a grandparent. A 

supervisor is related to an aunt, uncle, 

great aunt, or great uncle only if that 

relative is the sibling of the person's 

parent or grandparent. an immediate 

family member. 

(B) Provide therapy or therapeutic 

counseling services to supervisees; or 

(C) Solicit or engage in sexual activity or 

contact with supervisees during the 

period of supervision. 

(3) Be trained in and knowledgeable about 

supervision methods and techniques. 

(4) Supervise or consult only within his or her 

knowledge, training, and competency. 

(5) Guide his or her supervisee to perform services 

responsibly, competently, and ethically. As 

authorized by the supervisee's employer, the 

supervisor shall assign to his or her supervisees 
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only those tasks or duties that these individuals 

can be expected to perform competently, based 

on the supervisee's education, experience, or 

training, either independently or with the level 

of supervision being provided. 

(6) Not disclose the Withhold confidential 

information provided by a supervisee except: 

(A) As mandated by law; 

(B) To prevent harm to a client or other 

person involved with the supervision; 

(C) In educational or training settings 

where there are multiple supervisors, 

and then only to other supervisors who 

share responsibility for the 

performance or training of the 

supervisee; or 

(D) If consent is obtained. 

(7) Establish and facilitate a process for providing 

evaluation of performance and feedback to a 

supervisee. To implement this process the 

supervisee shall be informed of the timing of 

evaluations, methods, and levels of competency 

expected. Supervision documentation shall be 

signed by the supervisor and supervisee and 

include the date, time, duration, method, and 

topic of the supervision session. 

(8) Not endorse Withhold endorsement of 

supervisees for credentialing, employment, or 

completion of an academic training program if 

they believe the supervisees are not qualified 

for the endorsement. A supervisor shall develop 

a plan to assist a supervisee who is not qualified 

for endorsement to become qualified. 

(9) Make financial arrangements for any 

remuneration with supervisees and 

organizations only if these arrangements are in 

writing. All fees shall be disclosed to the 

supervisee prior to the beginning of 

supervision. 

(10) Review documentation of previously 

supervised work experience, provided by the 

supervisee, for the purpose of credentialing by 

the Board. The supervisor may verify these 

hours to the Board if the supervisor deems that 

appropriate supervision and ethical practice 

was performed and may include these verified 

hours in their evaluation to the Board. 

(b)  The Supervisor of record shall provide notice to the office of 

the Board within 30 days from the date of the last session of 

clinical supervision that supervision has terminated. Upon receipt 

of this notice, as soon as is practicable, the Board shall mail a 

certified notice to notify the supervisee that he or she has 30 days 

to obtain supervision to retain the current credential. The 

supervisee shall provide the Board with a Board-approved add a 

new supervisor or otherwise update their supervision contract 

signed and dated by the supervisor and supervisee to maintain the 

supervisee's credential. on file with the Board. This contract shall 

be postmarked, indicating that it was mailed to the office within 

the 30-day time period after receipt of the certified notice from 

the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-

113.40. 

 

SECTION .0600 – GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE AND 

DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0601 GROUNDS FOR 

PROFESSIONAL DISCIPLINE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0602 COMPLAINT PROCEDURES 

(a)  Initiation. Any individual with personal knowledge that any 

person has violated the code of ethics, any other rules of the 

Board, or G.S. 90, Article 5C may file a complaint against the 

substance abuse use disorder professional by submitting a written 

complaint. Complaint through the Ethics Complaint Form found 

on the Board's website, www.ncsappb.org. 

(b)  Form. The complaint shall be in writing, written or typed 

format stating the nature of the alleged offense and signed or 

otherwise attested to be true by the complainant. The complaint 

shall include: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of 

the complainant; 

(2) The name and address of the person against 

whom the complaint is made; 

(3) A statement of the facts that describes the 

allegations against the person. 

(c)  The complaint shall be investigated as set out in Rule .0603. 

(d)  Following an investigation of the complaint, the ethics 

chairperson shall try to reach a settlement through informal 

procedures pursuant to G.S. 150B-22. 

(e)  Once the ethics committee concludes there is a basis to 

schedule a disciplinary hearing before the Board, the committee 

chairperson shall notify the person against whom the complaint is 

made. The notice to the respondent shall include the following: 

(1) State the section(s) of the code of ethics, other 

rules of the Board, or G.S. 90, Article 5C which 

the complaint alleges has been violated; 

(2) Direct that the respondent reply in writing and 

by certified mail within 15 days of receipt of 

this notice; 

(3) Inform the respondent that failure to respond in 

writing within 15 days may result in revocation 

of credential. 

(f)  Whenever practicable, notice shall be given by personal 

service or by certified mail at the last known address of the 

respondent. If given by certified mail, it shall be deemed to have 

been given on the delivery date appearing on the return receipt. 

(g)  The Board may receive official correspondence in an ethics 

case through e-mail in order to further the investigation or when 

the subject of an investigation is unable to use or has been 

unresponsive to certified mail or other methods of delivery. The 

Board may use Law Enforcement or a private investigator 

licensed by Private Protective Services to personally serve a 

respondent. 
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(g)  If notice cannot be given either by personal service or by 

certified mail, a notice that a complaint has been brought against 

the respondent shall then be given by publication. A party that 

cannot with due diligence be served by personal delivery or 

certified mail may be given notice to respond to a complaint by 

publication. Service of notice by publication shall consist of 

publishing a notice by publication once a week for three 

successive weeks in a newspaper that is qualified for legal 

advertising in accordance with G.S. 1-597 and G.S. 1-598 and 

circulated in the area where the party to be served is believed by 

the serving party to be located, or if there is no reliable 

information concerning the location of the party then in a 

newspaper circulated in the county of respondent's last address 

provided to the Board by the respondent. There shall be mailed to 

the party at or immediately prior to the first publication a copy of 

the notice to respond by publication to the respondent's last known 

address. Upon completion of such service there shall be filed with 

the Board by the ethics committee chairperson an affidavit 

showing the publication and mailing substantially in accordance 

with the requirement of G.S. 1-75.10(2), the circumstances 

warranting the use of service by publication, and information, if 

any, regarding the location of the party served. The notice shall 

include a statement by the Board that a complaint has been made 

against the respondent that is scheduled to be heard by the Board 

within 90 days. The notice shall inform respondent that 

respondent shall be given 30 days from the date of the last date of 

publication in which to respond to the service by publication for 

the purpose of notifying the Board of respondent's whereabouts. 

Response shall be made in writing to the Board at the address 

provided by the Board in its notice. If respondent provides the 

Board with information whereby respondent can be served by the 

deadline specific in the notice, the Board shall provide notice 

either personally or by certified mail as provided in Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule. Failure of respondent notified by publication of a 

complaint brought by the Board shall be treated as a failure of 

respondent to reply to the charges. 

(h)  Failure of the respondent to reply to the charges, including 

each specific allegation, may be considered an admission of the 

facts contained in the allegation(s). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.44; 113.45. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0603 INVESTIGATION OF 

COMPLAINT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0604 HEARING BEFORE BOARD 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0605 METHOD OF DISCIPLINE 

(a)  In the course of the disciplinary investigation or hearing the 

Board may: 

(1) Deny a credential; 

(2) Revoke a credential; 

(3) Suspend a credential until further order of the 

Board or for a specified period of time; 

(4) Admonish, reprimand, or censure the 

Respondent; or 

(5) Take other actions not to be considered a 

disciplinary action, including a letter of caution 

or letter of warning with without the consent of 

the Respondent. 

(b)  Disciplinary or other actions by the Board with the 

Respondent's consent may be stayed for an additional period of 

time while the Respondent satisfies all of the conditions of the 

consent order based on the Respondent's failure to complete the 

order for reasons outside the Respondent's control. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-113.37; 90-

113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0606 EFFECT OF ACTIONS OF 

COURT OR OF OTHER PROFESSIONAL GROUPS 

(a)  If a person credentialed or applying for a credential from the 

Board has been disciplined by another professional organization 

or convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, the ethics committee 

or the Board may take this prior record into consideration when 

imposing disciplinary sanctions. 

(b)  When such prior discipline is discovered, it shall be referred 

to the ethics committee and shall be treated by the ethics 

committee in the same manner as a complaint. 

(c)  Such prior discipline or conviction as described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule shall be presumed to be correct and appropriate. 

In order to overcome this presumption, the respondent shall prove 

to the committee's or the Board's satisfaction at least one of the 

following: 

(1) The process was so flawed that the finding of 

the court, organization or board is without 

basis; or 

(2) Following an investigation by the Board, the 

disciplinary action by the court, organization or 

board does not bear a reasonable relation to the 

conduct complained of resulting in undue 

punishment. 

(d)  Registrants and certified The substance use disorder 

professionals professional shall notify the Board within 30 days 

from the date of any charges, conviction or finding of guilt, or 

pleading of nolo contendere for all criminal convictions. This 

reporting shall include DWI charges, arrests and convictions but 

exclude all other traffic convictions pursuant to G.S. 20. 

(e)  Failure to report these criminal convictions shall be 

considered a violation of the ethical principles of conduct. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-

113.43; 90-113.44; 90-113.45. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0607 DISCRETION OF BOARD 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0608 CONFIDENTIALITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0609 PETITION FOR REOPENING 

CASE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 
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21 NCAC 68 .0610 AWARDING THE CREDENTIAL 

FOLLOWING DENIAL (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0611 PROOF OF REHABILITATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0615 INFORMAL PROCEEDINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0620 PUBLICATION OF ETHICS 

SANCTIONS 

Sanctions of admonition, reprimand, censure, suspension or 

revocation of a credential shall be published by the Board as soon 

as it is practicable. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.42; 90-113.43; 90-

113.44. 

 

SECTION .0700 – APPEALS PROCESS 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0701 HEARING BEFORE BOARD: 

TIME REQUIREMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0702 RIGHT TO HEARING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0703 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0704 HEARING REQUESTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0705 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0706 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0707 PETITION FOR 

INTERVENTION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0708 TYPES OF INTERVENTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0709 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBER 

(a)  Self-disqualification of Board Member. If for any reason the 

Board member determines that factors render him or her unable 

to conduct or participate in the hearing and perform all duties in 

an impartial manner, he or she shall submit, in writing, to the 

notify the Board Chair of his or her disqualification. 

(b)  Petition for Disqualification. If for any reason any party in a 

contested case believes that the Board member personally is 

biased or otherwise unable to conduct or participate in the hearing 

and perform all duties in an impartial manner, the party may file 

a sworn, notarized affidavit with the Board. The envelope of such 

affidavit shall bear the notation: "AFFIDAVIT OF 

DISQUALIFICATION OF BOARD MEMBER IN THE CASE 

OF (NAME OF CASE)." 

(c)  Contents of Affidavit. The affidavit must state all facts the 

party deems relevant to the disqualification of the Board member. 

(d)  Timeliness of Affidavit. An affidavit of disqualification shall 

be considered timely if filed at least 10 days before 

commencement of the hearing. Any other affidavit shall be 

considered timely provided it is filed at the first opportunity after 

the party becomes aware of the facts which give rise to a 

reasonable belief that the Board member may be disqualified 

pursuant to this Rule. 

(e)  Procedure for Determining Disqualification is as follows: 

(1) The President Chair of the Board may appoint 

a member of the Board to investigate the 

allegations of the affidavit and report his or her 

findings and recommendations to the Board. 

(2) The Board, with such assistance as it deems 

appropriate, shall decide whether to disqualify 

the challenged individual. 

(3) The person whose disqualification is to be 

determined will not participate in the decision 

but will have the right to furnish information to 

the Board. 

(4) A record of proceedings and the reasons for 

decisions reached shall be maintained as part of 

the contested case. 

(f)  Disqualification or withdrawal of a Board member because of 

personal bias or otherwise will not cause the hearing to be 

postponed unless a quorum is not available. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-113.40. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 39 - ON-SITE WASTEWATER 

CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION 

BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Onsite Wastewater Contractors and 

Inspectors Certification Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 39 .0904 

 

Effective Date:  May 20, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  May 12, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order no. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

SECTION .0900 – RULEMAKING PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0904 WAIVER OR EXTENSION 

The Board may waive or extend any rule in this Chapter that is 

not statutorily required if a certificate holder submits a written 

request. The Board may also waive or extend any rule in this 

Chapter that is not statutorily required upon its own initiative. 

Factors the Board shall use in determining whether to grant the 

waiver or extension are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver or extension; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver or extension; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers or extensions 

submitted from the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 20, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10F .0317 and .0327 

 

Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 21, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare and G.S. 150B-21.1 (a)(7).  A no wake 

zone, shore to shore, within 85 yards north and south of the NC 

Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and westbound spans, otherwise 

known as the James B. Garrison Bridge, is needed to mitigate 

water safety hazards during a NC DOT bridge construction 

project.  Additionally, the temporary rule includes a no wake zone 

surrounding a boathouse and marina at 712 Berry Hill Drive in 

Norwood, NC.  Increased boater activity surrounding newer 

commercial activities at this marina necessitates this amendment.  

The WRC has statutory authority (G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(7)) to 

establish no wake zones through temporary rulemaking 

procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 STANLY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

and portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Narrows Reservoir, otherwise known as Badin 

Lake; and Badin Lake. 

(2) Lake Tillery: Turner Beach Cove shore to 

shore, south of a point at 35.22529 N, 80.09318 

W. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) Turner Beach Cove shore to shore, 

south of a point at 35.22529 N, 

80.09318 W. 

(B) The waters within 50 yards of the fuel 

docks at the Boathouse and Marina at 

712 Berry Hill Drive in Norwood. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of a regulated area described 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of a regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Stanly 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule. 

(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and 

85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and 

westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison 

Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall 

be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 

markers for this regulated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; March 25, 1978; November 1, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2020; October 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) the cove west of Lakeshore Drive and 

east of Strand Drive, southeast of a 

line at the mouth of the cove from a 

point on the east shore at 35.49242 N, 

80.09241 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.49242 N, 80.09241 W; 

(B) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 

shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 

the fueling site at the marina at 

35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(C) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 

line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 

80.13932 W; and 
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(D) the channel between Beyer's Island 

and the mainland, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 

80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 

a line westward, from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 

80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 

Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 

and the waters within 50 yards of the 

boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 

Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 

shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 

northeast to a point on the north shore 

at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W; and 

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 

shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 

known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 

on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 

80.06166 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 

line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 

80.06262 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Badin Lake Swimming Area. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the 

marked swimming area on Badin Lake at the Pinehaven Village 

beach area at 370 Pinehaven Drive in New London, within 50 feet 

of the shoreline between points at 35.49927 N, 80.11428 W; and 

35.49934 N, 80.11437 W. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Montgomery County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 

(2)(A) and (B), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The North 

Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. The Board of 

Commissioners of Montgomery County shall be the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the ropes and markers 

implementing Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and 

85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and 

westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison 

Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall 

be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 

markers for this regulated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2017; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Barber Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 06F .0128; 06N .0111 

 

Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 21, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare in the form of a coronavirus outbreak in 

North Carolina.  The governor declared a state of emergency on 

March 10, 2020.  Several barber schools gave the board notice 

that they have closed or will be closing their facilities due to the 

outbreak.  To allow students to continue to receive education, the 

board proposed to eliminate rules that would prevent schools 

from being able to offer online classes.  The board also proposed 

to alleviate the reporting requirements for schools because the 

pandemic would cause a decrease in staff levels.  The temporary 

rule would also allow schools that offer online classes to have 

additional time to meet reporting requirements. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06F – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

SECTION .0100 – BARBER SCHOOL 
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21 NCAC 06F .0128 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the Governor declares a state of emergency, the following 

exceptions shall apply to barber schools and students: 

(1) Schools shall maintain a monthly record of the 

subject matter taught to the student in theory 

classes, the requirement in Rule .0110(4) of this 

Subchapter for a weekly record 

notwithstanding. 

(2) Schools shall provide to the Board the list of 

students required by G.S. 86A-22(5) by the last 

day of each month, the requirement in Rule 

.0110(6) of this Subchapter for schools to 

submit the list by the 15th of each month 

notwithstanding. 

(3) Within 60 days of the date on which any student 

completes his or her course of study, drops out 

of school, or transfers to another school, the 

barber school shall return the student permit to 

the Board, the requirement in Rule .0113(d) of 

this Subchapter to return the student permit 

within five business days notwithstanding. 

(4) Students shall not be required to meet the 

requirements in Rule .0122 of this Subchapter 

if the students are attending online classes. 

(5) No student shall be given credit for more than 

10 total hours during any instruction day, the 

restriction to eight hours in Rule .0124(a) of this 

Subchapter notwithstanding. 

(6) The restrictions on off-campus hours in Rule 

.0124(c) of this Subchapter shall not apply to 

hours that students receive during a state of 

emergency. 

(7) Schools shall not be required to revise the 

handbooks required by Rule .0125 of this 

Subchapter to reflect the exceptions listed in 

this Rule. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply through the 

duration of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 27, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06N – FEES AND FORMS 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0111 FORM BAR-10 

(a)  The Form BAR-10 is a report that shall be filed monthly by 

the manager of the school for each student enrolled in barber 

school. It requires the following: 

(1) the name of the school submitting the report; 

(2) the name and date of enrollment of the student; 

(3) the month and year for which the report is filed; 

(4) the dates and hours of the student's absences; 

(5) the dates and hours of the student's attendance; 

(6) the number of patrons served for clinical 

services; and 

(7) the subject matter covered in practical and 

theory courses. 

(b)  The Form BAR-10 shall be submitted to the Board over the 

signature of the manager of the school and co-signed by the 

student. 

(c)  The Form BAR-10 shall be returned to the Board within five 

business days of the date on which If a student completes his or 

her course of study, drops out of school, or transfers to another 

school. school, the barber school shall return the Form BAR-10 to 

the Board: 

(1) within five business days; or 

(2) within 30 days if the student's enrollment ends 

during the effective period of a state of 

emergency declared by the Governor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. March 27, 2020. 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 40 – BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Opticians 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 40 .0113 

 

Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 21, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare.  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of 

North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a 

state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issues Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

SECTION .0100 - LOCATION 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0113 WAIVER 

(a)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, business or training 
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establishment, trainee, or continuing education course provider 

submits a written request. The Board may also waive any rule in 

this Chapter that is not statutorily required upon its own initiative. 

Factors the Board shall use in determining whether to grant the 

waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

(b)  The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative during an exercise of 

emergency authority by a federal, state, or local governmental 

authority impacting North Carolina citizens based on the factors 

set forth in Paragraph (a)(1), (2), (3), (5) and (6) of this Rule. If 

the Board wishes to waive a rule, it shall provide notice by posting 

a link on their website and sending out information to their 

interested persons mailing list. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-249; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 9, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 61 - RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Respiratory Care Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 61 .0901 

 

Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 21, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare.  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of 

North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a 

state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

This National Emergency Response is to ensure respiratory care 

practitioners can be licensed without any delay by waiving 

continuing education requirements and late fees pursuant to G.S. 

90-652 (9)(13) and 90-660 (5). 

 

SECTION .0900 – NATIONAL EMERGENCY RESPONSE 

WAIVERS FOR CERTAIN RULES 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0901 RULE WAIVERS 

In light of the State of National Emergency declared by President 

Trump as a result of the COVID-19 Virus, and the urgent need to 

have respiratory care practitioners available to provide respiratory 

services to patients afflicted with COVID-19 Virus, the Board has 

determined to waive certain provisions in its rules, as set forth in 

this Rule. below, and during the effective period of this 

Temporary Rule.  

(1) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0201(a)(4) 

that requires each applicant for an initial license 

renewal to provide a copy of current 

certification in Basic Life Support (BLS); 

(2) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0201(b)(1) 

which that states that for applicants who have 

not practiced respiratory care for a period of 

time greater than one year, but less than five 

years, the applicant must provide evidence of 

12 hours of continuing education, that meet the 

requirements of 21 NCAC 61 .0401, for each 

full year of inactivity; 

(3) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0204(a)(4) 

that requires following the late renewal of any 

license, an additional late fee of seventy-five 

dollars ($75.00); 

(4) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0302(c) that 

requires each applicant for renewal to provide 

proof of completion of continuing education 

requirements as established in this Chapter; 

(5) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0302(e) that 

requires each applicant for renewal to provide a 

copy of current certification in Basic Life 

Support (BLS); 

(6) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61.0302(f) that 

requires licenses lapsed in excess of 24 months 

shall not be renewable; 

(7) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0305(b) that 

requires an individual licensed on inactive 

status to convert his or her license to active 

status by submission of a renewal application 

and payment of the renewal fee and late fee and 

provide evidence of the completion of a 

minimum of 12 hours of continuing education 

that meets the requirements of 21 NCAC 61 

.0401 for each full year of inactivity; 

(8) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(a) for 

continuing education requirements, and shall 

renew licenses without compliance with this 

provision; 
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(9) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(e) that 

requires a licensee to be subjected to a random 

audit for proof of compliance with the Board's 

requirements for continuing education; and 

(10) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 61 .0401(f) that 

requires continuing education audits be 

submitted to the Board no later than 30 days of 

receipt of the audit notice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(1); 90-652(2); 

90-652(9); 90-652(11); 90-652(13); 

Emergency Rule Eff. March 23, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 21, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 
   June 18, 2020 July 16, 2020 
 August 20, 2020               September 17, 2020 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

May 21, 2020 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, May 21, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina, and via telephone. The Commissioners held a telephonic meeting to ensure compliance with 
Executive Order 138, other orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. The meeting was conducted 
in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 166A-19.24.   
 
Commissioners Jeff Hyde and Tommy Tucker were present in the Commission Room, and Commissioners present via 
teleconference were Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Brian 
LiVecchi, and Paul Powell.  
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel, Ashley Snyder and Amanda Reeder; and Alex Burgos. Amber Cronk 
May, Commission Counsel, was present via teleconference. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the April 16, 2020 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None.   
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Temporary rule for the Executive Director of the Board of Elections. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Structural Pest Control Committee 
02 NCAC 34 .0302, .0309, .0328, .0331, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0602, .0703, and .1206 – Upon the call 
of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Board of Elections 
08 NCAC 10B .0103 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13F .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212; and 13G .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212, and .0213 - Upon the call of 
the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Department of Insurance 
The agency is addressing the objections for 11 NCAC 12 .0321 and .0514. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board  
14B NCAC 16 .0109 and .0704 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as 
follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Sedimentation Control Commission 
15A NCAC 04C .0103 and .0106 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as 
follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Auctioneer Licensing Board 
The agency is addressing the technical changes for 21 NCAC 04B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, 
.0302, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, 
.0606, .0607, .0701, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815, 
.0816, .0817, .0818, and .0819. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors  
The agency is addressing the technical changes for 21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0304, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, .0804, .0902, 
.1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, and .1607. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council  
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – Upon 
the call of the Chair, the rules were objected to by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
The Commission objected to these Rules for failure to comply with the APA. Specifically, the agency stated that no fiscal 
note was required for these Rules in its Notice of Text, published May 15, 2019.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a), following 
a request from the public, the RRC sent the rules to the Office of State Budget Management (OSBM) to determine if these 
rules created a substantial economic impact. In a letter dated May 11, 2020, OSBM stated that fiscal note was required for 
these three rules. 
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Therefore, pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.4(b1) and 150B-21.9(a)(4), the Commission found that the agency did not comply with 
the APA.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Pesticide Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended for the following rules to by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as 
follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0102, .0103, .0308, .0310, .0317, .0318, .0402 , 
.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0509, .0515, .0516, .0519, .0520, .0522, .0523, .0524, .0525, .0526, .0527, .0529, .0602, .0603, 
.0701, .0702, .0703, .0705, .0707, .0810, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1005, .1006, .1009, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1107, .1108, 
.1109, .1111, .1201, .1202, .1302, .1303, .1305, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1404, .1805, .1806, .1901, .1902, .1905, .1906, .1907, 
.1908, .1909, .1914, .2001, .2002, .2003, .2004, .2201, .2202, and .2203. in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so 
in response to a request from the Pesticide Board to extend the period in order to allow the agency to address the requested 
technical changes and submit the revised rules at a later meeting. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 02 NCAC 09L .1913 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
The Commission objected to 02 NCAC 09L .1913 for lack of clarity and lack of necessity. The Rule is repetitive of the 
effective date contained in the history note and is therefore unnecessary. The Rule also does not specify whether the term 
“these Rules” refers to the rules of this Section or the rules of this Subchapter, making it unclear.   
 
Parks and Recreation Authority 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Department of Transportation 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Real Estate Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved with the exception of 21 NCAC 58H .0401 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 
0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 58H .0401 in by roll-call vote, ayes 
8, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 58H .0401 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so 
in response to a request from the agency to extend the period in order to allow the agency to address public comments 
received regarding this Rule.   
Prior to the review of the rules from the Real Estate Commission, Commissioner Dunklin recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because he practices before the NC Real Estate Commission and 
have been involved in discussions regarding these Rules. 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None.  
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to the NC Plumbing Code, Sections 702.1, 702.4, 1102.2, and 1102.7. 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, these Rules are subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date. 
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LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Prior to the review of the temporary rule from the Executive Director of the Board of Elections, the Chair called the meeting 
into a brief recess at 9:56 a.m. The meeting resumed at 10:06 a.m.  
 
During the review of the temporary rule from the Executive Director of the Board of Elections, the Chair called the meeting 
into a brief recess at 10:37 a.m. The meeting resumed at 10:42 a.m.  
 
Executive Director of the Board of Elections  
08 NCAC 01 .0106 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission declined to approve the Rule by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 
0 as follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. The vote was in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b) and G.S. 150B-21.9. 
 
The Commission determined that the Rule did not meet the criteria to qualify as a temporary rule under G.S. 150B-21.1(a).  
Specifically, the Commission found that the agency failed to show that adherence to notice and hearing requirements 
required for permanent rulemaking were contrary to the public interest for this amendment, such that immediate adoption 
would be required. 
 
Further, the Commission objected to this Rule based on lack of statutory authority as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(1). 
Specifically, the Commission found that the agency does not have the authority to expand the definition of “natural disaster” 
as proposed in Part (b)(1)(H) of the Rule.   
 
The Commission also found Part (b)(1)(H) contained unclear language.  As such, the Commission also objected based 
upon ambiguity, as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(2). 
 
In addition, the Commission found that the agency failed to provide notice to the public that the language in Paragraph (d) 
would be added to the Rule.  As such, the Commission objected for lack of notice required by G.S. 150B-21.1(a3). 
 
Jay DeLancy, with the Voter Integrity Project of North Carolina, Addressed the Commission. 
 
Andy Jackson, with the Civitas Institute, addressed the Commission. 
 
Katelyn Love, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 10F .0317 and .0327 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as 
follows:  
Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Board of Barber Examiners 
21 NCAC 06F .0128 and 06N .0111 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 
as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Barber Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal services to the Board. 
 
State Board of Opticians  
21 NCAC 40 .0113 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 5, noes 3 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Currin, Doran, Dunklin–5. Voting in the negative: LiVecchi, Tucker, and Powell - 3. 
 
Catherine Lee, with the agency, addressed the Commission.  
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal services to the Board. 
 
Respiratory Care Board  
21 NCAC 61 .0901 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 1 as follows: 
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Voting in the affirmative: Atkins, Bryan, Choi, Currin, Doran, Dunklin, LiVecchi, and Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: Tucker-
1. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting adjourned at 11:48 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, June 18, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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Telephonic Attendees 

 

  

Agency  Name 
Structural Pest Control Committee Jim Burnette 

Structural Pest Control Committee Victor Lennon 

Structural Pest Control Committee Richard Willis 

Structural Pest Control Committee Roger Bryan 

Board of Elections  Katelyn Love 

Medical Care Commission  Nadine Pfeiffer 

Medical Care Commission Ibtisam Zatari 

Medical Care Commission Tichina Hamer 

Department of Insurance  Loretta Bunch 

DEQ Jennifer Everett 

Auctioneer Licensing Board  Charlie Diehl 

Building Code Council  Carl Martin 

Pesticide Board  Pat Jones 

DNCR Mariah Street 

Department of Transportation  Helen Landi 

Department of Transportation Hannah Jernigan  

Department of Transportation Ebony Pittman 

Department of Transportation David Harris 

Real Estate Commission  Melissa Vuotto 

Real Estate Commission Rob Padgett 

State Board of Elections  Katelyn Love 

Civitas Institute Andy Jackson  

Voter Integrity Project Jay DeLancy 

Wildlife Resources Commission  Michael Smallwood 

Wildlife Resources Commission Betsy Haywood 

Board of Barber Examiners  Dennis Seavers 

Respiratory Care Board  Bill Croft 

Opticians  Catherine Lee 

Opticians Sue Hodgins  

DES Regina Adams  

Citizen Trina Smith 

Transparent Elections NC  Lynne Bernstein 

Citizen of Wake County Tripp Black 

DHHS Meghan Lamphere 

Citizen of Wake County  Nicole Black 

NC GOP David Harris 

Citizen of Onslow County Steve Stephenson 

Citizen of Wake County Angela Starr 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

May 21, 2020 Meeting 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Stanly County 15A NCAC 10F .0317 

Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327 

 
BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Waiver of Requirements During Disaster or Emergency 21 NCAC 06F .0128 

Form Bar-10 21 NCAC 06N .0111 

 
OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

Waiver 21 NCAC 40 .0113 

 
RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

Rule Waivers 21 NCAC 61 .0901 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

May 21, 2020 Meeting 

 
STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL COMMITTEE 

Application for Licenses and Cards: Examination 02 NCAC 34 .0302 

Recertification 02 NCAC 34 .0309 

Records: Pesticides and Application Equipment Used 02 NCAC 34 .0328 

Ancillary Activities 02 NCAC 34 .0331 

Wood-Destroying Insects: Excluding Subterranean Termites 02 NCAC 34 .0501 

Pesticides for Subterranean Termite Prevention and/or Con... 02 NCAC 34 .0502 

Subterranean Termite Control: Buildings After Constructed 02 NCAC 34 .0503 

Reporting Damage: Infestation: Uninspected Areas 02 NCAC 34 .0504 

Subterranean Termite Preventions/Res Bldgs Under Const 02 NCAC 34 .0505 

Min Require/Subterranean Termite Prev/Commercial Bldgs Un... 02 NCAC 34 .0506 

Wood-Destroying Insects and Other Organism Reports 02 NCAC 34 .0602 

Written Records of Household Pest Control 02 NCAC 34 .0703 

Decision of Committee 02 NCAC 34 .1206 

 
PARKS AND RECREATION AUTHORITY 

Eligible Participants 07 NCAC 13K .0102 

Funding Cycle 07 NCAC 13K .0103 

Evaluation of Applications 07 NCAC 13K .0105 

Grant Agreement 07 NCAC 13K .0106 

Matching Requirements 07 NCAC 13K .0107 

Eligible Projects and Costs 07 NCAC 13K .0108 

Site Control and Dedication 07 NCAC 13K .0109 

Inspections 07 NCAC 13K .0110 

 
ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Voting Procedures 08 NCAC 10B .0103 
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MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The License 10A NCAC 13F .0202 

Applying for a License to Operate a Facility not Currentl... 10A NCAC 13F .0204 

Renewal of License 10A NCAC 13F .0208 

Conditions for License Renewal 10A NCAC 13F .0209 

Denial or Revocation of License 10A NCAC 13F .0212 

The License 10A NCAC 13G .0202 

Application for a License to Operate a Home not Currently... 10A NCAC 13G .0204 

Renewal of License 10A NCAC 13G .0208 

Conditions for License Renewal 10A NCAC 13G .0209 

Denial and Revocation of License 10A NCAC 13G .0212 

Appeal of Licensure Action 10A NCAC 13G .0213 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Rulemaking and Administrative Hearing Procedures 14B NCAC 16 .0109 

Investigation for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0704 

 
SEDIMENTATION CONTROL COMMISSION 

Who May Assess 15A NCAC 04C .0103 

Criteria 15A NCAC 04C .0106 

 
TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Selective Vegetation Removal Permit Required to Remove Ve... 19A NCAC 02E .0601 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for a F... 19A NCAC 02E .0602 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit... 19A NCAC 02E .0603 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Fac... 19A NCAC 02E .0604 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for Out... 19A NCAC 02E .0608 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit... 19A NCAC 02E .0609 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Out... 19A NCAC 02E .0610 

Beautification and Replanting Requirements for Selective ... 19A NCAC 02E .0611 

 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110 

License Application and Fee 21 NCAC 58A .0302 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 58A .0305 

Provisional Broker to be Supervised by Broker 21 NCAC 58A .0506 

Procedures for Requesting Hearings When Applicant's Chara... 21 NCAC 58A .0616 

Equivalent Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1708 

Denial or Withdrawal of Continuing Education Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1710 

Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 21 NCAC 58A .1711 

Extensions of Time to Complete Postlicensing Education 21 NCAC 58A .1903 

Denial or Withdrawal of Postlicensing Education Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1904 

Definitions 21 NCAC 58H .0101 

Applicability 21 NCAC 58H .0201 

Application for Education Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0202 

Education Director 21 NCAC 58H .0203 

Policies and Procedures Disclosure 21 NCAC 58H .0204 

Course Materials 21 NCAC 58H .0205 
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Advertising and Recruitment Activities 21 NCAC 58H .0206 

Course Completion Certificates and Reports 21 NCAC 58H .0207 

Education Provider Records 21 NCAC 58H .0208 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0209 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 21 NCAC 58H .0210 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing Roster Reporting 21 NCAC 58H .0211 

School Records 21 NCAC 58H .0212 

Evaluations of Instructor Performance 21 NCAC 58H .0213 

Expiration and Renewal of a School Approval or License 21 NCAC 58H .0214 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of School Approval or ... 21 NCAC 58H .0215 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Update Course Instructor... 21 NCAC 58H .0301 

Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0302 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0303 

Instructor Conduct and Performance 21 NCAC 58H .0304 

Digital Video Recordings 21 NCAC 58H .0305 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 21 NCAC 58H .0402 

Commission Created Update Courses 21 NCAC 58H .0403 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 58H .0404 

Denial or Withdrawal of Sponsor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0405 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 58H .0406 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 21 NCAC 58H .0407 

Commission Created Update Courses 21 NCAC 58H .0408 

Records and Commission Review 21 NCAC 58H .0409 

Continuing Education Course Scheduling and Notification 21 NCAC 58H .0410 

Continuing Education Course Attendance 21 NCAC 58H .0411 

Continuing Education Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 58H .0412 

Continuing Education Course Cost, Cancellation, and Refunds 21 NCAC 58H .0413 

Advertising 21 NCAC 58H .0414 

 
BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Inspections of Component or E... 107.6  

2018 NC Residential Code/Cross Bracing AM109.1.4  

2018 NC Residential Code/Height R311.7.8.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Allowable Number of Stories Above G... 504.4  

2018 NC Building Code/Height 905.3.1  

2018 NC Building Code/Type A Units 1107.6.2.2.1  

2018 NC Fire Code/Temporary Sleeping Units for Disaster R... 321  

2018 NC Fire Code/Height 905.3.1  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Above-Ground Sanitary Drainage and ... 702.1  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Fittings 702.4  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Cured in Place Piping 718  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Single Stack Vent System 917  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Engineered Single Stack Systems 917.1.1  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Inside Storm Drainage Conductors 1102.2  

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Fittings 1102.7  
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02961 4/28/2020 Learning Early 

Childhood Center 

LLC 

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Ward 

19 DHR 06158 4/22/2020 Bridges of Hope Inc v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Benefits 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06607 4/15/2020 Marika Bright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 04778 4/9/2020 Stephanie McGhee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 05064 4/27/2020 Lamar Krider v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 06722 4/17/2020 Matthew Joseph 

Jankowski 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Jacobs 

        

19 INS 04536 4/13/2020 Kelly Kavit v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Jacobs 

19 INS 05717 4/22/2020 Elizabeth Nickels v. North Carolina State Health Plan Lassiter 

        

19 OSP 05480 4/1/2020 Wei Wen Gou v. North Carolina State University Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 05604 4/8/2020 Amie Roberts v. Transylvania County Department of 

Social Services Director Darrell 

Renfroe 

Sutton 

        

19 SOS 06198 4/17/2020 Linda Verdi Rice v. NC Department of the Secretary of State Lassiter 

19 SOS 06568 4/21/2020 Gardenia Johnson v. NC Department of the Secretary of State 

Attn: Ann Wall General Counsel 

Malherbe 

        

19 UNC 03351 4/16/2020 Kim Smith v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Ward 
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    Unpublished    

20 ABC 00178 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Casey Lynn Smith T/A Caseys Cove May 

20 ABC 00402 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Naeem Ahmed Bhatti T/A Washington 

Quick Mart 

May 

        

20 CPS 00358 4/14/2020 Tina B Cline v. North Carolina Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 05598 4/7/2020 Nathan J Trautman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05719 4/27/2020 Christopher Harrell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 05796 4/27/2020 Fritz S Chevalier v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05805 4/28/2020 Aslam Tawhid v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05833 4/21/2020 David L Wright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05906 4/22/2020 Ian Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05955 4/3/2020 James Scott 

Whitaker 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05964 4/15/2020 Ariel J Moreiras v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06001 3/19/2020; 

4/30/2020 

Geoffrey R Vincent v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06004 4/21/2020 Jeffrey B Sluder v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06005 4/6/2020 William J Matson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06023 4/2/2020 Kenneth J Wolford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06024 4/15/2020 Joshua C Nelson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06055 4/6/2020 Fredrick L Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06128 4/21/2020 Thomas J Weaver v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 
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19 CSE 06131 4/30/2020 Marcel A Pestano Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06134 4/22/2020 Calop Thomason v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06177 4/23/2020; 

4/27/2020 

Jermaine A McNair v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06253 4/27/2020 Johan Rosario v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06261 4/3/2020 Fernando A rivera v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06343 4/7/2020 William E Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06382 4/13/2020 Howard Michael 

Stein Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06475 4/8/2020 Joe Nelms v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DCS 06057 4/16/2020 Ronald L Waterman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

        

19 DHR 06026 4/8/2020 Lori Ann Buie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 00728 4/22/2020 Dr Edward A 

Patterson 

v. DOCD Mann 

20 DHR 00729 4/1/2020 Aqcrevcia Japhuer 

Jones 

v. Golden Year Nursing Home 

Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

20 DHR 01242 4/17/2020 Jeffrey Levenbook v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

        

20 EHR 00470 4/8/2020 KG Plaza LLC v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Jacobs 

20 EHR 00761 4/24/2020 Derrick Stroud v. North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality 

Overby 

        

20 OAH 00087 4/22/2020 Cheryl A Jenkins v. Office of Administrative Hearings Mann 

        

20 SOS 00426 4/21/2020 Rhondra Simpson v. Department of the Secretary of State Malherbe 

20 SOS 00548 4/21/2020 Samantha E Foster v. North Carolina Department of the 

Secretary of State Notary Public 

Division 

Malherbe 

 

 


