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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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PUBLIC NOTICE 
 

The ABC Commission has cancelled the public hearing on the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules 
scheduled for June 10, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. at the ABC Commission Office at 400 E. Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 
27610.  The public hearing on these rules is rescheduled for July 8, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. at the same 
location.  The public comment period for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, which currently run 
through June 10, 2020, will be extended until July 8, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 
 
The proposed rules for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, 14B NCAC 15C .1301, .1303 - .1305 
and .1307, were published in North Carolina Register, Volume 34, Issue 19, page 1773 on April 1, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rule cited as 

10A NCAC 42B .0108 and amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

42B .0102 and 43H .0314. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 26, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  In an abundance of caution and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public 

hearing will be held by teleconference at 919-715-0769 (no 

access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  N.C.G.S. 130A-125 directs the 

Commission for Public Health (CPH) to amend its rules to ensure 

that each condition listed on the Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel developed by the Secretary of the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services and the Advisory 

Committee on Heritable Disorders of Newborns and Children 

(the RUSP) is included in the Newborn Screening Program. It 

also permits CPH, in consultation with the Secretary of the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services, to increase the fee for 

newborn screening by no more than the amount necessary to 

offset the cost of incorporating a condition listed on the RUSP. 

The proposed rules align the Newborn Screening Program with 

the RUSP and increase the newborn screening fee by four dollars 

to offset the cost of incorporating Spinal Muscular Atrophy 

(SMA). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  July 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 42 - LABORATORY SERVICES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 42B - LABORATORY SECTIONS 

 

10A NCAC 42B .0102 CLINICAL 

CHEMISTRY/NEWBORN NEWBORN SCREENING 

(a)  This laboratory will conduct screening for examine specimens 

for evidence of certain inborn errors of metabolism, for the 

detection of chronic diseases, diabetes, renal diseases, 

hypertension, certain clinical chemistry and hematology tests 

when requested by authorized senders of specimens within the 

guidelines of the Division of Maternal and Child Health and the 

Division of Public Health. the core conditions listed on the 

Recommended Uniform Screening Panel developed by the 

Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human 

Services and the Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders of 

Newborns and Children (the "RUSP"), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent editions and 

amendments, and available free of charge at 

https://www.hrsa.gov/advisory-committees/heritable-

disorders/rusp/index.html. Specimens shall be submitted to this 

laboratory for screening in accordance with the procedures set 

forth in 10A NCAC 43H .0314. 

(b)  This laboratory performs tests for hemoglobinopathies such 

as sickle cell trait and disease. The process to develop and 

implement new screening for the conditions described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall begin after the screening fee is 

established and adequate funds exist to acquire instrumentation, 

equipment, Program supplies, Program personnel, perform assay 

validations, implement preventative follow-up interventions, 

secure necessary infrastructure, and with the assurance that the 

laboratory has met all federal, State, and local requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-88; 130A-125. 
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10A NCAC 42B .0108 FEES 

(a)  The State Laboratory of Public Health shall charge a fee of 

one hundred thirty-two dollars ($132.00) to cover the 

programmatic costs of the newborn screening performed by the 

State Laboratory of Public Health under 10A NCAC 42B 

.0102(a). 

(b)  In accordance with G.S. 130A-125, the Commission for 

Public Health, in consultation with the Secretary of the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, has 

determined that the fee listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule is 

necessary to offset the cost of incorporating the conditions 

identified in 10A NCAC 42B .0102(a) in the Newborn Screening 

Program. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-125. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 43H - SICKLE CELL SYNDROME: 

GENETIC COUNSELING: 

 

SECTION .0300 - GENETIC HEALTH CARE 

 

10A NCAC 43H .0314 SUBMISSION OF BLOOD 

SPECIMENS FOR SCREENING OF NEWBORNS 

(a)  The attending physician shall draw collect a blood specimen 

for each infant born in North Carolina and shall submit such 

specimens to the North Carolina State Laboratory of for Public 

Health for testing as set forth in 10A NCAC 42B .0102. for the 

following metabolic and other hereditary and congenital 

disorders: 

(1) phenylketonuria (PKU); 

(2) galactosemia; 

(3) congenital primary hypothyroidism; 

(4) congenital adrenal hyperplasia (21-hydroxylase 

deficiency); and 

(5) sickle cell disease. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, parents or 

guardians may object to screening in accordance with G.S. 

130A-125(b). 

(c)  The hearing screening component of the Department's 

Newborn Screening Program is found in 10A NCAC 43F .1200. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-125. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rules cited as 

15A NCAC 18A .2508 and .2543. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 10, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  In an abundance of caution and to address protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, this public 

hearing will be held by teleconference at 919-715-0769 (no 

access code). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In compliance with SL 2019-88, 

the Commission for Public Health (CPH) adopted temporary 

rules in November 2019 governing the construction and operation 

of artificial swimming lagoons. Artificial swimming lagoon is 

defined as any body of water used for recreational purposes with 

more than 20,000 square feet of surface area, an artificial liner, 

and a method of disinfectant that results in a disinfectant residual 

in the swimming zone that is protective of the public health. CPH 

is now adopting permanent rules to ensure that the requirements 

for the construction and operation of artificial swimming lagoons 

do not expire from the Code. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  July 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A – SANITATION 

 

SECTION 2500 – PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2508 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Department" means North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 
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(1)(2) "Equipment replacement" means replacement 

of individual components of the hydraulic and 

disinfection systems such as pumps, filters, and 

automatic chemical feeders. 

(2)(3) "Public swimming pool" means public 

swimming pool as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 

Public swimming pools are divided into five 

types: 

(a) "Swimming pools" are public 

swimming pools used primarily for 

swimming. 

(b) "Spas" are public swimming pools 

designed for recreational and 

therapeutic use that are not drained, 

cleaned, or refilled after each 

individual use. Spas may include units 

designed for hydrojet circulation, hot 

water, cold water mineral bath, air 

induction bubbles, or any combination 

thereof. Common terminology for 

spas includes "therapeutic pool," 

"hydrotherapy pool," "whirlpool," 

"hot spa," and "hot tub." 

(c) "Wading pools" are public swimming 

pools designed for use by children, 

including wading pools for toddlers 

and children's activity pools designed 

for casual water play ranging from 

splashing activity to the use of 

interactive water features placed in the 

pool. 

(d) "Specialized water "Water recreation 

attractions" are pools designed for 

special purposes that differentiate 

them from swimming pools, wading 

pools and spas. They include: 

(i) water slide plunge pools and 

run out lanes, which transfer 

the kinetic energy of the 

users' velocity through 

friction to the slide; 

(ii) wave pools; 

(iii) rapid rides; 

(iv) lazy rivers; 

(v) interactive play attractions 

that incorporate devices 

using sprayed, jetted, or other 

water sources contacting the 

users and that do not 

incorporate standing or 

captured water as part of the 

user activity area; and area; 

(vi) training pools deeper than a 

24 inch deep wading pool 

and shallower than a 36 inch 

deep swimming pool. pool; 

and 

(vii) artificial swimming lagoons 

as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 

(e) "Special purpose and therapy pools" 

are pools designed and used for 

therapeutic treatments or physical 

training and fitness outside of a 

licensed medical facility or practice of 

a licensed physical therapist. They 

include: 

(i) float tanks used for float 

therapy in a salt brine 

solution; 

(ii) swim spa training pools 

which use jetted water for 

stationary swimming against 

a water current; 

(iii) exercise therapy and 

treadmill pools equipped for 

water resistance exercise 

therapy; and 

(iv) scuba pools designed and 

used for training swimmers 

to use self-contained 

underwater breathing 

apparatus. 

(3)(4) "Registered Design Professional" means an 

individual who is registered or licensed to 

practice engineering as defined by G.S. 89C or 

architecture as defined by G.S. 83A. 

(4)(5) "Remodeled" means renovated in a manner 

requiring disruption of the majority of the pool 

shell or deck, changes in the pool profile, or 

redesign of the pool hydraulic system. 

(5)(6) "Repair" means returning existing equipment to 

working order, replastering or repainting of the 

pool interior, replacement of tiles or coping and 

similar maintenance activities. This term 

includes replacement of pool decks where the 

Department has determined that no changes are 

needed to underlying pipes or other pool 

structures. 

(6)(7) "Safety vacuum release system" means a 

system or device capable of providing vacuum 

release at a suction outlet caused by a high 

vacuum occurrence due to suction outlet flow 

blockage. 

(7)(8) "Splash zone" means the area of an interactive 

play attraction that sheds water to a surge tank 

or container to be recirculated. 

(8)(9) "Unblockable drain" means a drain of any size 

and shape that a human body cannot 

sufficiently block to create a suction entrapment 

hazard. 

(10) "Water feature" means any component within a 

public swimming pool that pumps, jets, or 

sprays water above the waterline. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2019-88. 
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15A NCAC 18A .2543 WATER RECREATION 

ATTRACTIONS 

(a)  Water recreation attractions including water slides, wave 

pools, rapid rides, lazy rivers rivers, artificial swimming lagoons, 

and other similar features can deviate from the requirements of 

this Section with respect to pool profile, depth, freeboard, flow 

dynamics and surface skimming systems. The designing engineer 

or equipment manufacturer shall provide the Department with 

information design plans and technical specifications to justify 

such deviation deviation. as necessary for the proper function of 

the attraction. Water recreation attractions shall meet all other 

requirements of this Section. 

(b)  Water slide landing pools with a capacity of less than 60,000 

gallons shall have a circulation and filtration system capable of 

turning over the entire pool capacity every two hours. Where 

automatic chemical controllers are used the turnover time shall be 

no more than three hours. Landing pool dimensions shall be 

consistent with the slide manufacturer's recommendation. 

(c)  When waterfalls are incorporated in water recreation 

attractions, they shall be constructed with no handholds or 

footholds to a height of four feet to discourage climbing. 

(d)  Interactive play attractions shall be constructed and operated 

in accordance with the rules of this section Rules of this Section 

and shall comply with the following: 

(1) The recirculation system shall contain a water 

capacity equal to at least three minutes of 

maximum flow of all feature pumps and filter 

circulation pumps combined and shall not be 

less than 1,000 gallons. Where the water 

capacity exceeds 10,000 gallons, the minimum 

capacity shall be based on the lesser of three 

minutes of maximum feature flow or 7.5 

gallons per square foot of splash zone 

watershed drained to the surge container. 

(2) Access shall be provided to the surge water 

container. 

(3) A filter circulation system shall be provided and 

shall be separate from the feature pump system 

except that both systems can draw water from a 

common drain pipe if the drain and pipe are 

sized to handle the flow of all pumps without 

exceeding the flow velocities specified in Rule 

.2518 of this Section. 

(4) The filter circulation system shall draw water 

from the surge container through a variable 

height surface skimmer and a bottom drain 

located no more than 6 inches from the bottom 

of the container. Custom skimming systems 

that do not comply with ANSI/NSF Standard 50 

shall be approved where the operational 

requirements make it necessary to deviate from 

that standard. 

(5) The filter circulation system shall filter and 

return the entire water capacity in no more than 

30 minutes and shall operate 24 hours a day. 

(6) Automatic chemical controllers shall be 

provided to monitor and adjust the disinfectant 

residual and pH of the water contained in the 

system. 

(7) The disinfectant residual in interactive play 

attractions shall be maintained at a level of at 

least two parts per million of free chlorine. 

Chlorine feeders shall be capable of producing 

12 parts per million of free chlorine in the filter 

circulation piping. 

(8) Valves shall be provided to control water flow 

to the features in accordance with the 

manufacturers' specifications. 

(9) Splash zones shall be sloped to drains sized and 

located to remove all feature water to the surge 

tank without water accumulating on the surface. 

(10) Deck or walkway space is not required outside 

the splash zone. 

(11) Dressing and sanitary facilities shall not be 

provided. required. 

(12) Interactive play features shall not be required to 

have a fence except the wading pool fence 

requirements shall apply to interactive play 

features located inside a swimming pool 

enclosure. 

(13) The safety provisions of Rule .2530 of this 

Section shall not apply except a sign shall be 

posted prohibiting pets and glass containers. 

(14) Interactive play attractions built prior to April 

1, 2004, that do not comply with these design 

and construction requirements shall be 

permitted to operate as built if no water quality 

or safety violations occur. 

(e)  Training pools shall meet the requirements for swimming 

pools with the following exceptions: 

(1) Training pools shall be equipped with a filter 

circulation system that filters and returns the 

entire pool capacity in no more than two hours. 

(2) The free chlorine residual in training pools shall 

be maintained at no less than two parts per 

million. 

(f)  Artificial swimming lagoons shall meet the requirements for 

public swimming pools except as specified in this Rule: 

(1) Pool shells shall not be required. Liners shall 

meet the requirements of Rule .2514 of this 

Section. 

(2) Underwater components of the artificial 

swimming lagoon or float lines with openings 

greater than one-half inch shall not be allowed 

in swimming zones. 

(3) All swimming zone float rope components shall 

be a color contrasting with the pool liner. The 

location of the float rope may vary from the 

requirements of Rule .2523(e) of this Section 

regarding breakpoint and slope. A contrasting 

color band shall not be required on the liner 

under the rope. 

(4) Each swimming zone and water feature shall 

meet water quality standards as required in Rule 

.2535 of this Section. If the water quality of a 

swimming zone or water feature does not meet 

the requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section, 

the operator shall close the swimming zone or 
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water feature and post a sign at the entrance of 

the swimming zone with legible letters of at 

least four inches (10 cm) in height stating 

"ATTENTION: THE SWIMMING ZONE IS 

CLOSED. SWIMMING IN THIS AREA IS 

NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME." The 

swimming zone or water feature shall remain 

closed until the water quality in the swimming 

zone or water feature complies with the 

requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section. 

(5) All non-swimming zones shall be maintained so 

the bottom of the lagoon is visible in all areas. 

(6) A sign shall be posted at all entrances with 

legible letters of at least four inches (10 cm) in 

height stating "NOTICE – NO SWIMMING 

ALLOWED OUTSIDE OF DESIGNATED 

SWIMMING ZONES." 

(7) Signage shall be provided indicating swimming 

zones. 

(8) Depth markings and no diving markers shall be 

provided on decks in swimming zones as 

required in Rule .2523 of this Section. Signs 

shall be posted at all entrances to swimming 

zones with legible letters of at least four inches 

(10cm) in height stating "NO DIVING" and 

stating the maximum depth of the swimming 

zone in Arabic numerals and shall include the 

word "feet" or the symbol "ft" to indicate the 

unit of measure. 

(9) Decks may vary from the minimum deck area 

requirements in Rule .2522 of this Section at 

zero entry areas located within swimming 

zones. Access to swimming zones shall be 

provided for emergency vehicles and 

personnel. No decks shall be required in non-

swimming zones. The requirements of Rule 

.2515(g)(1) of this Section shall not apply to 

swimming zones and Rule .2515(g) of this 

Section shall not apply to non-swimming zones. 

(10) Swimming zones shall meet all safety 

provisions as set out in Rule .2530 of this 

Section. Where swimming zones are separated 

by more than 75 feet, each swimming zone shall 

separately meet all safety provisions. Non-

swimming zones are exempt from the 

requirements in Rule .2530 of this Section. 

(11) A water treatment system that does not meet the 

requirements of Rules .2518 and .2519 of this 

Section shall be approved by the Environmental 

Health Section of the Department's Division of 

Public Health when the treatment system 

performs in a manner equal or superior to the 

systems described in Rules .2518 and .2519 of 

this Section in terms of water clarification, 

disinfection, and removal of debris, and results 

in a disinfectant residual and pH level as 

required in Subparagraph (f)(4) of this Rule. 

(12) The requirements of Rule .2529 of this Section 

and Rule .2526(e)–(h) of this Section shall not 

apply. Sanitary facility requirements shall 

comply with the 2018 North Carolina State 

Building Code: Plumbing Code, which is 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments or editions and 

available free of charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCPC2018. 

(13) Bacteriological samples shall be collected by 

the operator in non-swimming zones and tested 

weekly. One sample shall be collected for every 

250 feet of shoreline, with no more than 300 

feet and no less than 25 feet between any two 

sampling locations. The samples shall be 

collected at least one foot below the surface, in 

at least three feet of water. The samples shall be 

analyzed by a laboratory accredited by the 

North Carolina Drinking Water Laboratory 

Certification Program, the North Carolina 

Wastewater/Groundwater Laboratory 

Certification Program, or the National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program. The test results shall be maintained as 

part of the records required in Rule .2535(11) 

of this Section. 

(14) When the result of any test required by 

Subparagraph (f)(13) of this Rule exceeds the 

standards in Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter, 

the operator shall: 

(A) notify the permitting agency and 

resample the water within 24 hours of 

receipt of the result from the 

laboratory; and 

(B) close all non-swimming zones and 

post a sign at all non-swimming zone 

entrances with legible letters of at least 

four inches (10 cm) in height stating 

"ATTENTION: ALL NON-

SWIMMING ZONES ARE 

CLOSED. RECREATIONAL 

ACTIVITIES IN THIS AREA ARE 

NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME." 

This sign shall remain posted until 

resampling determines that bacterial 

levels do not exceed the standards in 

Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter. 

(15) Non-swimming zones shall not be required to 

comply with the lighting requirements of Rule 

.2524 of this Section. When night swimming is 

allowed, the operator shall provide lighting in 

swimming zones as required for public 

swimming pools. 

(16) The requirements of Rule .2537(b)(16) of this 

Section shall not apply. Submersible pumps or 

mechanical pool cleaning equipment shall not 

be used in swimming zones or within 25 feet of 

swimming zones when a swimming zone is 

open to bathers. If submersible pumps or 

mechanical pool cleaning equipment are used in 

non-swimming zones when a non-swimming 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2181 

zone is open to users, the following conditions 

shall apply: 

(A) A registered design professional shall 

provide design plans or technical 

specifications that demonstrate that 

any underwater suction outlets 

perform in a manner that is equally 

protective or more protective than the 

Pool and Hot Tub Alliance's 

ANSI/APSP/ICC-7 2013 Standard for 

Suction Entrapment Avoidance in 

Swimming Pools, which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent amendments or 

editions, and available for a fee of one 

hundred sixty-five dollars ($165.00) at 

https://www.apsp.org/store1; and 

(B) All floating components of 

submersible pumps or mechanical 

pool cleaning equipment shall be 

labeled with a sign above the water 

line with legible letters of at least four 

inches (10 cm) in a contrasting color 

stating: "DANGER: MECHANICAL 

EQUIPMENT IN USE. STAY BACK 

25 FEET." 

(17) The requirements of Rule .2521 of this Section 

shall not apply to non-swimming zones. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2011-39; S.L. 2019-88. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 45 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF FEE-BASED 

PRACTICING PASTORAL COUNSELORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral 

Counselors intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 45 .0403 

and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 45 .0101, .0202, .0301, 

.0401, .0501, .0601, .0701, and .0801. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

ncpastoralcounseling.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit the written 

request to Carleton Irving, Executive Director, 

ncbfbppc@aol.com, PO Box 447, Kernersville, NC  27285. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In 2019 the American Association 

of Pastoral Counselors dissolved.  As a result, the supervision 

options for candidates for certification in pastoral counseling in 

North Carolina were significantly limited as the rules are 

currently written.  The changes proposed increase the qualified 

supervision options for candidates pursuing certification.  

Additionally, it is in the public's best interest to expand the pool 

of certified pastoral counselors in the state to meet the growing 

demand for faith-sensitive mental health care.  These rules 

alleviate barriers to certification and allow the board to update 

and expand its ability to serve the public in this area. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Carleton Irving, Executive 

Director, PO Box 447, Kernersville, NC 27285; email 

ncbfbppc@aol.com 

 

Comment period ends:  July 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0101 ADDRESS 

(a)  The mailing address for the North Carolina State Board of 

Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors is P.O. Box 447, 

Kernersville, NC 27285-0447. 

(b)  The website address for the Board is 

www.ncpastoralcounseling.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385. 

 

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0202 REVIEW PROCEDURE 

(a)  A copy of the applicant's application, documentation for 

certification form, and all other required supporting 

documentation shall be mailed to all Board members prior to the 

next scheduled meeting. The Board shall review the applicant's 

application, documentation for certification form, and all other 

required supporting documentation at the next meeting. The 

applicant shall submit the information required in Rule .0201(a) 
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of this Section to the Board. The Board shall review the 

information submitted at a Board meeting to determine 

compliance with G.S. 90-387. 

(b)  If approved, the applicant shall be informed and shall be given 

information regarding the exam. The Board shall publish 

information on its website about the exam that the applicant may 

use as assistance in preparing for it. 

(c)  If the credentials are unacceptable, the applicant is so 

informed and is given an explanation of the area(s) which are 

considered deficient. The Board shall notify an applicant if the 

credentials are denied and explain the area(s) that do not meet 

G.S. 90-387. Applicants may remedy deficiencies within one year 

from the date of notification of such without having to reapply. 

(d)  If a question arises during the review process regarding 

comments made by endorsers or supervisors, the Board shall seek 

to resolve the question by communicating with the endorser or 

supervisor, or the Board may refer the matter to their legal counsel 

or to a member of the Board or employee of the Board for 

investigation. 

(e)  If certification is denied, an explanation of the grounds for 

denial shall be given. The applicant may present additional written 

information in support of the application to be considered by the 

Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387(a)(4); 90-387(b)(4). 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0301 TYPES 

(a)  The Board shall employ administer a written and oral 

examination to test an applicant's knowledge in the following 

areas: 

(1) Code of Ethics; Ethics as set forth in G.S. 90-

390(a)(7); 

(2) Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors 

Certification Act; Act G.S. 90, Article 26; 

(3) Individual Pastoral Counseling and 

Psychotherapy; 

(4) Marriage, Family, or Group Counseling and 

Psychotherapy; and 

(5) Religion, Theology, and Ethics of Pastoral 

Counseling. 

(b)  The written examination shall be given annually in the spring. 

A passing score shall consist of 70% correct responses on the 

written exam. 

(c)  The Board shall administer the oral examination shall be 

administered to applicants during the next regularly scheduled at 

a Board meeting. A passing score on the oral examination shall be 

determined by the applicant's demonstration to the satisfaction of 

the Board that skills necessary to engage in pastoral counseling 

and in-depth pastoral psychotherapy are integrated. These skills 

include but are not limited to: articulation of one's theory of 

pastoral counseling and psychotherapy; use of authority in the 

pastoral counseling and psychotherapy relationship; and 

emotional availability for the pastoral counseling and 

psychotherapy process, ability to satisfy G.S. 90-387, including 

the applicant's ability to articulate his or her theory of pastoral 

counseling and psychotherapy as defined in G.S. 90-382, and 

elaborate on written exam portions set forth in Subparagraphs 

(a)(3) through (5) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387(a)(3); 90-387(b)(3). 90-387. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION RENEWAL 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0401 CERTIFICATION RENEWAL 

FORM 

The Board shall mail make renewal forms accessible through its 

website to each licensee the renewal form in the spring of each 

year. The licensee shall return the completed form on or before 

January 1 of the following year. The form shall ask for current 

home and business addresses and addresses, telephone numbers. 

numbers, and an email address. Pastoral Counseling Associates 

shall submit an additional form documenting required supervision 

as stated in Rule .0801 of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-389. 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0403 REINSTATEMENT AFTER 

SUSPENSION 

(a)  A license that is suspended pursuant to G.S. 90-390 (b) may 

be reinstated if, within two years of suspension date, the renewal 

fees are paid and evidence of completing continuing education 

requirements is submitted. The continuing education 

requirements documented at the time of reinstatement must equal 

the hours required had the license not expired. 

(b)  A license that has been suspended for nonpayment of renewal 

fees or failure to comply with continuing education requirements 

for a period of more than two years shall not be reinstated. A new 

license may be granted pursuant to paying the applicable license 

application fees and meeting the licensing requirements under 

Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-390(b); 90-390(d). 

 

SECTION .0500 - CONTINUING EDUCATION  

 

21 NCAC 45 .0501 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A form for continuing education requirements shall be mailed 

with the A certified person shall submit a form with continuing 

education requirements with his or her annual renewal form. form, 

which the Board will make accessible through its website. Each 

Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselor and Pastoral Counseling 

Associate shall complete a total of 50 hours of continuing 

education each year in the following identified areas: 

(1) Category I - Pastoral Theology; 

(2) Category II - Clinical Theory and Practice; 

(3) Category III - Pastoral, Psychological and 

Psychiatric Diagnosis; 

(4) Category IV - Consultation and Supervision; 

and 

(5) Category V - Reading Books and Professional 

Journals in the field of Pastoral Counseling and 

Psychotherapy. 

(b)  In a continuing education year, 20 hours of the 50 hours 

required shall be contact hours in either Category I - Pastoral 
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Theology, Category II - Clinical Theory and Practice or Category 

III - Pastoral, Psychological and Psychiatric Diagnosis. Category 

I, II, and III. 

(c)  A continuing education year shall be June 1 to May 31 of the 

following year defined as January 1 through December 31. 

(d)  A member of the armed forces whose license is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military 

order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service 

or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-389. 

 

SECTION .0600 - DEFINITIONS 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0601 EQUIVALENCY 

(a)  For the purposes of G.S. 90-387(a)(4)(c), (d), (f), and (g), as 

well as 90-387(b)(4)(c), (e), (f), and (h), "equivalency" shall be 

determined by the Board on a case-by-case basis as set forth in 

this Rule. Equivalencies shall be considered on a case by case 

basis. 

(b)  Should a candidate choose to make a case for Candidates 

wishing to establish equivalent experience, education, education, 

or training training, the candidate shall document submit a written 

formal request to the Board. The Board shall assign a Board 

member to meet with the candidate and review the request. The 

request shall then be taken to the addressed by the Board based on 

equivalent standards to education, experience and training set 

forth in G.S. 90-387 for either approval or disapproval and a 

written response shall be sent to the candidate. The onus for 

documentation of equivalency shall rest entirely with the 

candidate For any experience, education, or training involved in 

their request, candidates shall submit documentation of 

completion with their application. Should equivalency not be 

granted, the candidate shall be given consultation regarding how 

to fulfill the particular standard. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387. 

 

SECTION .0700 - TEMPORARY CERTIFICATES 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0701 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  The Board of Examiners shall issue temporary certificates at 

no additional cost than that of customary fees at the time of 

application to the Board of Examiners for a temporary certificate. 

(b)(a)  A person who requests a temporary certification as a Fee-

Based Practicing Pastoral Counselor or a Fee-Based Practicing 

Pastoral Counseling Associate shall: 

(1) Submit an application to take the next 

examination offered by the Board and pay the 

non-refundable application fee of one hundred 

dollars ($100.00); set forth in G.S. 90-387; 

(2) Pay the non-refundable examination fee of four 

hundred dollars ($400.00) for Fee-Based 

Practicing Pastoral Counselor or the non-

refundable examination fee of two hundred and 

fifty dollars ($250.00) for Fee-Based Practicing 

Pastoral Counseling Associate; 

(3) Complete all of the documentation for 

certification form and all other supporting 

documentation required by the Board for 

assessing whether the candidate is qualified to 

take the written and oral examination; Submit 

the information required in Rule .0201 of this 

Chapter to the Board; and 

(4) Be assigned a Board member to function as a 

liaison/presenter to the full Board and to the 

sub-committee assigned by the Board to review 

the request; 

(5) Consult with the liaison/presenter in an 

individual consultation prior to the meeting 

with the sub-committee; 

(6)(4) Pass the multiple choice components of the 

Board's written examination which covers 

knowledge of G.S. 90, Article 26 and The Code 

of Ethics; portions of the written exam set forth 

in Rule .0301(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Chapter. 

(7) Be interviewed by a sub-committee of the 

Board and be recommended by the sub-

committee to the Board for a temporary 

certificate. 

(c)(b)  Temporary certificates shall be valid for no longer than one 

year and shall be automatically terminated at the time of the next 

examination given by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-384; 90-384; 90-385(f). 

 

SECTION .0800 – SUPERVISION 

 

21 NCAC 45 .0801 APPROVED SUPERVISION 

(a)  The 250 hours of supervision required for certification as a 

Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselor and the 125 hours of 

supervision required for certification as a Fee-Based Practicing 

Pastoral Counseling Associate set forth in G.S. 90-387 shall be 

documented as provided by a a: Diplomate of the American 

Association for Pastoral Counselors (AAPC), a Fellow of the 

American Association of Pastoral Counselors under supervision 

by a Diplomate of the American Association of Pastoral 

Counselors or a 

(1) North Carolina Certified Fee-Based Practicing 

Pastoral Counselor; 

(2) A mental health professional licensed or 

certified to practice in North Carolina defined 

as a Licensed Clinical Mental Health Counselor 

(LCMHC); Licensed Clinical Mental Health 

Counselor Supervisor (LCMHCS); Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT); 

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW); 

Licensed Psychologist; Licensed Medical 

Doctor with a Medical Board certification in 

psychiatry; Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner; or 

(3) An individual with equal or greater clinical 

qualifications to one of these professionals that 
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is approved by the Board through written 

equivalency request submitted to the Board. 

(b)  Any supervision beyond the required 250 hours may be 

documented as provided by a clinician in another mental health 

discipline who is current in certification or licensure with the 

particular certifying or licensing group or was current at the time 

of the supervisory experience. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-385(f); 90-387(a)(4)d; 90-387(b)(4)h; 90-387. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rules 

cited as 25 NCAC 01E .1601-.1605, and .1607. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-

commission/proposedrulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 17, 2020 

Time:  10:00-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Teleconference: Call into STATE_OP_MEETME_150 

919-662-4657 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Change Rule references to clarify 

that state employees may use the leave for Volunteer Service and 

Child Involvement; expand the geographical area beyond the 

borders of North Carolina for those who wish to volunteer 

(especially after a disaster) or participate in a child's school 

activity outside the state; Also changes to the text of the Rule to 

align with the expanded use and for consistency and clarification. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Christine Ryan, 1331 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-0824; email 

christine.ryan@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .1600 - COMMUNITY SERVICES LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1601 COMMUNITY SERVICE LEAVE 

PURPOSE 

(a)  A supervisor may approve Community Volunteer Service and 

Child Involvement Leave for employees as follows: 

(1) for parents for involvement with their child in 

the schools a School as defined in in Rule .1602 

in this Subchapter; 

(2) for any employee to volunteer in the schools a 

School or in a Community Volunteer Service 

Organization as defined in in Rule .1602 in this 

Subchapter; or 

(3) for any employee to volunteer in a Public 

University, Community College, School or 

State agency as defined in Rule .1602 of this 

Subchapter provided that the service is outside 

of the employee's normal scope of duties and 

responsibilities and that the employee is not 

receiving any form of compensation for the 

services rendered. 

(b)  A supervisor may approve special provisions for volunteer 

work as follows: 

(1) tutoring and mentoring in public or non-public 

school as defined in Rule .1602 in this 

Subchapter; or 

(2) volunteering in a literacy program in a public 

school as defined in Rule .1602 in this 

Subchapter. 

for serving as a tutor, mentor or volunteer in a literacy program in 

a School as defined in Rule .1602 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1602 DEFINITIONS 

When used in this Section, these terms have the following 

meaning: 

(1) "School" - An elementary school, a middle 

school, a high school, an accredited community 

college, university, vocational or trade school, 

or a child care program that is authorized to 

operate under the laws of the State of North 

Carolina. state in which it is located. 

(2) "Public University" - A constituent institution 

of the University of North Carolina. 
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(3) "Community College" - An educational 

institution that is a member of the North 

Carolina Community College System. 

(4)(2) "State Agency" - A State government agency 

that is authorized to operate under the laws of 

the State of North Carolina. state in which it is 

located. 

(5)(3) "Child"- A dependent son or daughter who is a 

biological child, an adopted child, a foster child, 

a step-child, a legal ward, or a child of an 

employee standing in loco parentis. 

(4) "Child Involvement" – The act of supporting 

one's Child through attendance or participation 

in activities related to the Child's education at 

his/her School. 

(6)(5) "Community Service Organization" "Volunteer 

Service Organization" - A non-profit, non-

partisan community organization that is 

designated as an IRS Code 501(c)(3) civic, 

charitable or humanitarian agency, or a human 

service organization licensed or accredited by 

the State of North Carolina state in which it is 

located to serve citizens with special needs 

including children, youth, and the elderly. 

(7)(6) " Community Volunteer Service" - The act of 

supporting serving citizens of North Carolina 

and the broader community without expectation 

of compensation for services. through volunteer 

service. 

(8)(7) "Volunteer" - A person who willingly chooses 

to perform hours of service for civic, charitable, 

or humanitarian reasons without promise or 

expectation of compensation for services 

provided. 

(8) "Tutoring and Mentoring" - The act of 

volunteering in an elementary, middle or high 

school to support a student who is more likely 

than other students to struggle academically. 

(9) "Literacy Program" - The act of volunteering in 

an elementary, middle or high school to assist 

students with reading or writing skills in 

accordance with established academic 

standards. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1603 COVERED EMPLOYEES AND 

LEAVE CREDITS 

(a)  A full-time employee with a permanent, probationary, trainee 

or time-limited appointment may be granted 24 hours of 

community service leave Volunteer Service and Child 

Involvement Leave each calendar year. year, or in lieu of the 24 

hours award, with the approval of the supervisor, an employee 

may be eligible to choose one of the following leave options: 

(b)  As an alternative leave option, with the approval of the 

supervisor, an employee may be eligible to choose one of the 

following: 

(1) Tutoring and Mentoring - up to one hour per 

week, not to exceed 36 hours in a calendar year; 

or 

(2) Literacy Program - up to five hours per month. 

month, not to exceed 45 hours in a calendar 

year. 

(b)(c)  The 24 hours of paid leave shall be credited to employees 

on January 1 of each year, unless they choose the 

tutoring/mentoring option. year. New employees shall be credited 

with leave immediately upon their employment, prorated at two 

hours per month for the remainder of the calendar year. Separated 

employees who are reemployed within the same calendar year 

shall be credited leave the same as a newly hired employee; 

however, the combination of reemployment credit and total hours 

used prior to separation in the same calendar year shall not exceed 

the annual 24 hour maximum leave benefit. benefit, or the 

additional benefit for tutoring/mentoring or literacy programs. 

(c)(d)  Part-time (half time or more) employees with a permanent, 

probationary, trainee or time-limited appointment may be granted 

leave prorated proportionately to the percentage awarded to full-

time employees. 

(d)(e)  If an employee chooses to change leave options from 

regular Community Volunteer Service and Child Involvement 

Leave to the special alternative leave provisions for volunteering 

for the tutoring tutoring, or mentoring program or the literacy 

program or vice versa, during the calendar year, the maximum 

hours allowed under the new option shall be reduced adjusted by 

the amount already used in the prior leave option. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1604 USES OF COMMUNITY 

VOLUNTEER SERVICE AND CHILD INVOLVEMENT 

LEAVE 

Community Volunteer Service and Child Involvement Leave 

leave may be used for: 

(1) meeting with a teacher or administrator 

concerning the employee's child; 

(2) attending any function sponsored by the school 

in which the employee's child is participating. 

This provision shall only be utilized in 

conjunction with nonathletic programs that are 

a part or supplement to the school's academic or 

artistic program; 

(3) donating time to perform performing school-

approved volunteer work approved by a 

teacher, school administrator, or program 

administrator; 

(4) donating time to perform performing a service 

for a community service organization. 

Volunteer Service Organization. It does not 

include attendance or participation in an event 

in which no service is performed; 

(5) performing volunteer work for a public 

university that is approved by a university 

administrator or other university official; 

(6) performing volunteer work for a community 

college that is approved by a community 
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college administrator or other community 

college official; or 

(7) performing volunteer work for a non-profit 

vocational or trade school that is approved by a 

school administrator or other school official; or 

(7)(8) performing volunteer work for a State agency 

that is approved by the agency head or his/her 

designee. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1605 COMMUNITY SERVICE LEAVE 

ADMINISTRATION 

Each agency shall administer the Community Service leave 

Volunteer Service and Child Involvement Leave program as 

follows: 

(1) Employees must receive approval from their 

supervisor to use community service leave. 

Volunteer Service and Child Involvement 

Leave. The agency may require that the leave 

be taken at a time other than the one requested, 

based on the needs of the agency. The agency 

may require proof that community service leave 

taken is being utilized within the purpose of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) Leave shall only be requested and approved for 

community service Volunteer Service that 

occurs during the employee's regularly 

scheduled hours of work. Agencies with shift 

employees regularly scheduled to work evening 

or night shift with a shift schedule in excess of 

eight hours may allow the use of community 

service leave Volunteer Service and Child 

Involvement Leave in situations where the 

employee's participation in community service 

Volunteer Service and Child Involvement 

Leave outside of the normal work schedule 

significantly impacts the employee's normal 

sleep period. period, and if the agency can 

maintain sufficient coverage at the workplace. 

(3) Reasonable travel time may be included in 

approved time for community service, 

Volunteer Service and Child Involvement 

Leave, but only for the time that intersects the 

employee's regular work schedule. 

(4) If an employee transfers to another State 

agency, any balance of the community service 

leave Volunteer Service and Child Involvement 

Leave not used shall be transferred to the new 

agency. Under the tutoring and mentoring or 

literacy leave option, the employee shall secure 

approval from the new supervisor to continue 

with that option prior to the transfer. 

(5) Leave not taken in a calendar year is forfeited; 

it shall not be carried over into the next calendar 

year. 

(6) Employees shall not be paid for this leave upon 

separation from State government. 

(7) The use of community service leave Volunteer 

Service and Child Involvement Leave shall be 

reported separately from all other paid leave. 

Employees and supervisors are responsible for 

accurate reporting of the use of community 

service leave Volunteer Service and Child 

Involvement Leave on the employee's time 

record. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1607 SPECIAL LEAVE PROVISIONS 

(a)  Agency heads may establish a policy providing time off with 

pay to employees participating in volunteer emergency and rescue 

services. Each agency head shall determine that a bonafide bona 

fide need for such services exists within a given area. A bonafide 

bona fide need is defined as real or eminent danger to life or 

property. Volunteer emergency and rescue services leave shall not 

exceed 15 work days in any 12-month period, and should be 

entered as Other Management Approved Leave for timekeeping 

purposes. 

(b)  Each policy shall require proof of the employee's membership 

in an emergency volunteer organization and that the performance 

of such emergency services will not unreasonably hinder agency 

activity for which the employee is responsible. 

(c)  Blood, Bone Marrow and Organ Donorship - Employees may 

be given reasonable time off with pay for whole blood donation, 

pheresis procedure and bone marrow transplant. Employees may 

be given up to 30 days with pay for organ donation. Leave granted 

under this Paragraph should be entered as Other Management 

Approved Leave for timekeeping purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  12 NCAC 09B .0310, .0409; and 09C .0308 

 

Effective Date:  May 5, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 27, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  C OVID-19 

is a respiratory disease that can result in severe illness or death.  

The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads 

quickly from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the COVID-

19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and The United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency 

encouraging social distancing to reduce infection rates.  In the 

abundance of caution, several North Carolina Community 

College SMI course administrators canceled training.  Per code, 

officers are in jeopardy of not obtaining their SMI operator 

certification or losing their SMI operator and or instructor 

certification. 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0310 TERMS AND 

CONDITIONS -- SMI INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  The term of a Speed Measurement Instrument (SMI) 

instructor, which includes radar, time-distance, and lidar 

instructors, is three years from the date the Commission issues the 

certificate, unless sooner terminated by the Commission. The 

certificate may be renewed for subsequent three year periods. The 

SMI instructor desiring renewal shall: 

(1) Hold general instructor certification as required 

in 12 NCAC 09B .0303. 

(2) Have been active in the SMI classroom 

instructional process during the previous 

certification period. 

(3) Successfully complete a Commission-approved 

SMI instructor re-certification course as 

required in 12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, or 

.0239. 

(b)  All SMI instructors seeking re-certification shall successfully 

complete the re-certification course within 12 months from 

expiration of the initial certification period or re-certification 

period. If re-certification training is not obtained within the 

12-month period, successful completion of the appropriate 

instructor training program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0308 is 

required to obtain instructor certification. This prescribed 

12-month period does not extend the instructor certification 

period. 

(c)  Individuals who hold SMI Instructor certification may, for just 

cause, be granted an extension of the three year certification 

period, pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule by the Director, on 

a one-time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of 

this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, emergency, course 

cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances which precluded 

the instructor from attending an SMI Instructor Re-Certification 

Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; November 1, 

1993; February 1, 1991; July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 5, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

COMPLETION OF TRAINING 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0409 SATISFACTION OF 

TRAINING -- SMI OPERATORS 

(a)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator certification, 

a trainee shall complete all of the following: 

(1) achieve a score of 70 percent correct answers 

on the comprehensive written examination, 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(d). 

(2) demonstrate successful completion of a 

certified offering of courses as prescribed under 

12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, 

.0238, .0242, or .0244 as shown by the 

certification of the school director. 

(3) demonstrate 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill and performance subject areas as 

demonstrated to a certified Speed Measurement 
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Instrument (SMI) instructor and further 

evidenced through documentation on the 

Commission's SMI forms and by the 

subscribing instructor's certification of trainee 

competence. 

(4) present evidence showing prior North Carolina 

certification in a Commission-certified operator 

training course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0212 .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, .0244 or 

present evidence showing prior certification 

which meets or exceeds North Carolina 

certification, or present evidence showing 

completion of 16 hours of supervised field 

practice within 90 days after completing a 

Commission-certified radar operator training 

course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B .0212 

.0213, .0242, .0244. 

(5) Individuals who are applying for SMI operator 

certification may, for just cause, be granted an 

extension of the 90 day requirement period to 

complete the 16 hours of supervised field 

practice, pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule, by the Director, on a one-time basis only 

not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this 

Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other 

exceptional circumstances which precluded the 

applicant from completing the required 

supervised field practice time. 

(b)  Any trainee failing to achieve 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill area may request written permission from the Director 

of the Standards Division for re-examination. The trainee's 

request for re-examination shall be made in writing and must be 

received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the original 

examination. The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

include the favorable recommendation of the school director who 

administered the course. A trainee shall have, within 90 days of 

the original examination, only one opportunity for motor-skill 

re-examination and must satisfactorily complete each identified 

area of deficiency on the original motor-skill examination. The 

trainee shall be notified by the Standards Division staff of a place, 

time and date for re-examination. If the trainee fails to achieve the 

prescribed score on the examination, the trainee shall not be 

recommended for certification and shall enroll and complete a 

subsequent course offering in its entirety before further 

examination may be permitted. 

(c)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator 

re-certification, an operator seeking re-certification shall: 

(1) Achieve a score of 75 percent correct answers 

on the comprehensive written examination 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(e). 

(2) Demonstrate successful completion of a 

certified offering of courses as prescribed under 

12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, 

.0222, .0239, .0240, .0243, or .0245 as shown 

by the certification of the school director. 

(3) Satisfy all motor-skill requirements as required 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

(d)  At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed requirements on the comprehensive written 

examination as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0409(c)(1), 

certification of the officer automatically and immediately 

terminates and that officer shall not be re-certified until successful 

completion of a subsequent course offering as prescribed under 

either 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, or .0244 

before further examination is permitted. 

(e)  At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed motor-skill requirements as specified in 12 

NCAC 09B .0409(c)(3), certification of the officer automatically 

and immediately terminates and that officer shall not be re-

certified until successful completion of the required motor-skill 

testing. Provided, however, such an officer may request 

re-examination as prescribed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; May 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; 

December 1, 1987; August 1, 1984; October 1, 1983; April 1, 

1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 5, 2020. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09C - ADMINISTRATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0308 SPEED MEASUREMENT 

INSTRUMENT (SMI) OPERATORS CERTIFICATION 

PROGRAM 

(a)  Every person employed or appointed by the state or any 

political subdivision thereof as a law enforcement officer who 

uses a Speed Measuring Instrument for enforcement purposes 

shall hold certification from the Commission authorizing the 

officer to operate the speed measuring instrument. 

(b)  Standards Division staff shall issue certification in one of the 

following categories: 

(1) radar operator speed measurement instrument 

(SMI) certification or re-certification requiring 

successful completion of the training program 

as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0210, .0212, 

.0213, .0218, .0220, .0221, .0242, .0243, .0244, 

or .0245; 

(2) time-distance speed measurement instrument 

operator certification or re-certification 

requiring successful completion of the training 

program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0211, 

.0213, .0214, .0219, .0221,. .0222, .0244, or 

.0245; 

(3) lidar speed measurement instrument operator 

certification or re-certification requiring 

successful completion of the training program 

as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0237, .0238, 

.0239, .0240, .0242, .0243, .0244, or .0245. 
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(c)  Certification in one or more categories reflects operational 

proficiency in the designated type(s) of approved equipment for 

which the trainee has been examined and tested. Such certification 

is for a three year period from the date of issue and 

re-certifications is for a three year period from the date of issue, 

unless sooner terminated by the Commission. The applicant shall 

meet the following requirements for operator certification or 

re-certification within 90 days of course completion and upon the 

presentation of documentary evidence showing that the applicant: 

(1) has successfully completed the training 

program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0210, 

.0211, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0218, .0219, .0220, 

.0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, .0240, .0242, 

.0243, .0244, or .0245;and 

(2) has successfully completed a 

Commission-certified basic law enforcement 

training course as required in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0400 and is currently certified in a 

probationary status or holds general law 

enforcement certification; or 

(3) if the applicant is a sheriff, deputy sheriff, or 

other sworn appointee with arrest authority 

governed by the provisions of G.S. 17E has met 

and is in compliance with the employment and 

training standards as established and made 

effective for such position by the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission. 

(d)  Certified operators shall be notified by the Commission not 

less than 90 days prior to expiration of certification. All applicants 

for re-certification shall successfully complete a 

Commission-approved re-certification course within 12 months 

from the expiration of the previous certification. If re-certification 

is not obtained within the 12 month period, successful completion 

of the appropriate operator training programs as required by 12 

NCAC 09B .0409(a) shall be required to obtain operator 

certification. This prescribed 12 month period shall not extend the 

operator certification period beyond its specified expiration date. 

When a re-certification course is successfully completed prior to 

the expiration of the previous certification, the new certification 

shall be issued by the Criminal Justice Standards Division 

effective upon the receipt of the Post-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation. The Division Director may, for just cause, 

grant an extension of the SMI Operator's expiration date, on a one-

time basis only, not to exceed 12 months, for just cause. For the 

purposes of this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, recertification course cancellation, or other 

exceptional circumstances which precluded the SMI operator 

from completing a recertification course prior to the SMI Operator 

certification being expired. 

(e)  Operator re-certification shall be issued only to officers with 

current law enforcement certification. When a re-certification 

course is successfully completed prior to the expiration of the 

previous certification, the new certification shall be issued by the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division effective upon the receipt of 

the Post-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation. 

(f)  All certifications issued pursuant to this Rule and the standards 

in effect between November 1, 1981 and July 1, 1982 shall 

continue with full force and effect; however, said certifications 

are subject to the provisions of 12 NCAC 09C .0308(d) and (e). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 24, 1984, for a period of 

120 days to expire on June 22, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; February 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; 

April 1, 1999; November 1, 1993; March 1, 1992; February 1, 

1991; December 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 5, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Private Protective Services Board 

 

Rule Citation:  14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0806, .0904, .1202, and 

.1203 

 

Effective Date:  May 6, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 29, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing.  These 

various Orders closed the North Carolina Justice Academy — the 

only source for firearms instructor training — have limited in-

class offerings for continuing education, which would not be in 

compliance with the Governor's Executive Order and have limited 

travel. 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 
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14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a National or State declared state of 

emergency which restricts or prohibits travel the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived in lieu of alternative means of 

communication. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 

74C-12; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020. 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form on the website provided by the Board. 

This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2191 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(e)  During a National or State declared state of emergency which 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying the Board may extend the deadline for requalification 

up to 60 days beyond the effective period of the state of 

emergency. Any registration renewed in reliance on this 

exemption shall be issued conditionally and shall automatically 

expire on the 60th day if requalification requirements have not 

been met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; December 1, 1995; 

February 1, 1990; December 1, 

1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0806 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(e)  During a National or State declared state of emergency which 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying 

the Board may extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 

days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

certificate renewed in reliance on this exemption shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 

December 1, 1995; December 1, 

1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0904 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; October 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

(a)  Each licensee shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing 

education training during each two year renewal 

period. 

(b)  Credit shall be given only for classes that have been approved 

by the Board as set forth in Rule .1203 of this Section. 

(c)  A licensee who attends a complete meeting of a regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Private Protective Services Board shall 

receive two credit hours for each meeting that the licensee attends, 

with credit being given for a maximum of two meetings per year 

with no more than four credit hours per year and eight credit hours 

per renewal period. 

(d)  No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a 

renewal period for on-line courses. However, during a National or 

State declared state of emergency which restricts or prohibits a 

licensee from attending live continuing education courses or a 

meeting of the Board all required hours may be obtained on-line 

and credit shall be given upon written request to the Director. 
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(e)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1302 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the sanction of the Private Protective 

Services Board by submitting the following 

information to the Board for consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the identity of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive sanctioning from the 

Private Protective Services Board, the Board shall complete the 

following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objective. The 

Training and Education Committee shall then 

report the findings with a recommendation of 

acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be sanctioned for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objective. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain a validly approved course 

for four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

identity of the course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive CEU credit of five hours 

for every actual teaching hour with an eight hour cap of CEU 

credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by other state agencies and 

the course is related to law, criminal justice, security profession, 

finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and investigation. 

Approval is one hour per contact hour not to exceed eight contact 

hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during 

a renewal period for online courses. 

(h)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-4; 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Barber Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 06F .0129 and 06N .0115 

 

Effective Date:  May 19, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  May 11, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On May 4, 2020, the governor signed 

legislation in response to the covid-19 pandemic, after having 

previously signed a declaration of a state of emergency. This 

legislation offered North Carolinians relief due the economic and 

health consequences of the pandemic. Among the provisions was 

authorization for state agencies to delay renewal dates for 

permits, licenses, and registrations. The statutory deadline for the 

renewal of licenses in the board's jurisdiction is May 31, 2020. 

However, since March 25, 2020, barbers across the state have 

been prohibited from providing services, and they are not 

expected to be able to work again until late mid- to late-May. 

Many barbers will have faced economic hardship as a result of 

the shutdown, and they will have difficulty being able to pay the 

renewal fee. The rule in Subchapter N would delay the renewal 

deadline until July 31, 2020, to offer barbers relief until they are 

able to begin working again. Separately, the adopted rules in 

Subchapter F would allow schools additional flexibility to offer 

online classes, which will help reduce the number of students 

present in the school building at once. The rules would also help 

for-profit schools that have been economically affected by the 

pandemic to reduce the number of instructors needed when 

practical and online theoretical training are being offered 

simultaneously. 
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SUBCHAPTER 06F – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

SECTION .0100 – BARBER SCHOOL 

 

21 NCAC 06F .0129 REQUIREMENTS FOR BARBER 

SCHOOL INSTRUCTORS DURING PANDEMIC 

(a)  For-profit barber schools shall employ at least one instructor 

for every 20 enrolled students, despite the requirement in G.S. 

86A-22(2) to employ at least two instructors for the first 40 

enrolled students. 

(b)  G.S. 86A-22(2) notwithstanding, barber schools may provide 

practical and theoretical training simultaneously with only one 

instructor if the barber school offers the theoretical training 

online. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(b); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 19, 2020, to expire pursuant to S.L. 

2020-3, s. 4.38.(e). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06N – FEES AND FORMS 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0115 EXTENSION OF RENEWAL 

DEADLINES DURING COVID-19 STATE OF 

EMERGENCY 

(a)  The holders of the following licenses, permits, or certificates 

of registration shall renew their licenses, permits or certificates of 

registration by July 31, 2020: 

(1) Certificates of registration for barbershops or 

barber schools, G.S. 86A-13(b) 

notwithstanding; 

(2) Certificates of registration for registered 

barbers, G.S. 86A-17(a) notwithstanding; 

(3) Certificates for barber instructors, G.S. 86A-

23(b) notwithstanding; and 

(4) Licenses for apprentice barbers, G.S. 86A-

24(b) notwithstanding. 

(b)  Licenses, permits, and certificates of registration that would 

normally expire on May 31, 2020, shall remain valid through July 

31, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38.(b); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 19, 2020, to expire pursuant to S.L. 

2020-3, s. 4.38.(e). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Dental Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 16B .0318 and 16C .0312 

 

Effective Date:  May 22, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  May 14, 

2020 

Reason for Action:  On May 4, 2020, S.L. 2020-3, the COVID-

19 Recovery Act, became law. Section 4.38.(b) of S.L. 2020-3 

states that, "Notwithstanding any other provisions of State law, if 

a State agency determines that, due to the impacts of the 

coronavirus, it is in the public interest, including the public 

health, safety, and welfare and the economic well-being of the 

citizens and business of the State, the agency shall:…(3) Delay or 

modify any educational or examination requirements 

implemented by the agency pursuant to its statutes."  Section 

4.38.(e) permits State agencies to adopt emergency rules to 

implement this section, which shall expire August 1, 2020.  

Section 4.38.(a) defines a "State agency" as an agency in the 

executive branch of the government of this State, including a 

"board."  In addition, the COVID-19 Recovery Act enacted G.S. 

90-28.5, which authorizes the North Carolina State Board of 

Dental Examiners to waive requirements of Article 2 and Article 

16 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes to permit the provision 

of dental and dental hygiene services to the public during a state 

of emergency.  Pursuant to the authority of S.L. 2020-3 s. 4.38 

and G.S. 90-28.5 the Dental Board has determined that, due to 

the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest to delay 

or modify examination requirements implemented by the Dental 

Board pursuant to its statutes.  Applicants for dental licenses and 

dental hygiene licenses are unable to complete the clinical 

examination requirements for licensure because of test 

cancellations due to social distancing and protective measures.  

The Dental Board seeks to assist applicants by granting a 

temporary limited license to applicants that satisfy all other 

application requirements and conditions, thereby enabling 

applicants to practice under the supervision of a North Carolina 

licensed dentist until such time as they are able to complete the 

necessary clinical examinations for licensure, and protecting the 

public health, safety, and welfare and the economic well-being of 

the citizens and business of the State. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16B - LICENSURE DENTISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0318 TEMPORARY LIMITED 

LICENSE DURING STATE OF EMERGENCY 

(a)  An individual shall be eligible for a temporary limited dental 

license during a state of emergency, subject to the requirements 

and limitations set out in this Rule, if he or she: 

(1) is a graduate of and has a DMD or DDS degree 

from a dental school or program accredited by 

the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 

American Dental Association; 

(2) satisfies the requirements set out in Rules 

.0301(a), (b), and (c)(1)-(2) of this Subchapter; 

(3) satisfies the examination requirements in Rule 

.0303(a) of this Subchapter; and 

(4) achieves a passing score on the examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations as set out in Rule 

.0303(b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A temporary limited dental license shall not be granted to an 

individual who: 
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(1) is licensed to practice dentistry in any 

jurisdiction; 

(2) lacks good moral character; 

(3) has been disciplined by any dental board or 

other licensing body in another state or country; 

or 

(4) has completed and failed the clinical 

examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this 

Subchapter or any other clinical examinations 

accepted by another jurisdiction. 

(c)  An applicant for a temporary limited dental license under this 

Rule shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a notarized application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 

(2) the nonrefundable application fee set forth in 21 

NCAC 16M .0101; 

(3) a letter from the dean of the dental school or 

program satisfying the requirements of 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, confirming: 

(A) the applicant is a graduate of the dental 

school or program; and 

(B) the applicant is competent to practice 

dentistry under the supervision of a 

North Carolina licensed dentist; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(d)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

an applicant for a temporary limited dental license shall request 

the applicable entity to provide the following required 

information or documents to the Board office, with each 

document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) the information or documents as set out in Rule 

.0301(c)(1) and (2) of this Subchapter; 

(2) examination scores on the examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations as set out in Rule 

.0303(b) of this Subchapter; and 

(3) examination scores on the clinical examinations 

required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or 

any other clinical examinations accepted by 

another jurisdiction if the applicant has taken all 

or any portion of a clinical examination prior to 

submitting the application. 

(e)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule and the applicant's 

passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303(a) of 

this Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications 

that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the 

Board shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the 

application fee. 

(f)  The licensee practicing pursuant to a temporary limited dental 

license granted under this Rule shall practice under the direct 

supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist, who shall: 

(1) supervise the functions performed by the 

licensee; 

(2) employ and supervise no more than two 

temporary licensee dentists at the same time; 

and 

(3) be responsible for all consequences or results 

arising from the temporary licensee's practice 

of dentistry. 

The temporary limited dental license shall not take effect until the 

Board receives a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist 

stating he or she will supervise and be responsible for the licensee 

in accordance with this Paragraph. The temporary licensee shall 

maintain documentation of any additional dentists under whose 

supervision the licensee practices, including a signed statement 

from each dentist agreeing to supervise the licensee and be 

responsible for all consequences or results arising from the 

temporary licensee's practice of dentistry. The licensee shall 

provide the documentation to the Board at its request. 

(g)  A temporary limited dental license granted under this Rule 

shall be in effect until the earlier of: 

(1) the applicant completes the clinical 

examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this 

Subchapter and receives passing scores, in 

which event the applicant's temporary dental 

license shall be converted to a dental license 

under Rule .0301 of this Subchapter as of the 

date the passing scores are provided to the 

Board by the testing agency; 

(2) the applicant completes the clinical 

examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this 

Subchapter or any other clinical examinations 

accepted by another jurisdiction and receives 

failing scores, in which event the applicant shall 

promptly notify the Board and the applicant's 

temporary dental license shall expire as of the 

date the failing scores are issued; or 

(3) one year from the date the temporary limited 

dental license is issued. 

(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-28.5, 90-30; 90-39; 

S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 

2020-3, s. 4.38.(e). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16C - LICENSURE DENTAL 

HYGIENISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0312 TEMPORARY LIMITED 

LICENSE DURING STATE OF EMERGENCY 

(a)  An individual shall be eligible for a temporary limited dental 

hygiene license during a state of emergency, subject to the 

requirements and limitations set out in this Rule, if he or she: 
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(1) is a graduate of a dental hygiene program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association; 

(2) satisfies the requirements set out in Rules 

.0301(a), (b), and (c)(1)-(3) of this Subchapter; 

and 

(3) satisfies the examination requirements in Rule 

.0303(a) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A temporary limited dental hygiene license shall not be 

granted to an individual who: 

(1) is licensed to practice dental hygiene in any 

jurisdiction; 

(2) lacks good moral character; 

(3) has been disciplined by any dental board or 

other licensing body in another state or country; 

or 

(4) has failed the clinical examinations required by 

Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or any other 

clinical examinations accepted by another 

jurisdiction. 

(c)  An applicant for a temporary limited dental hygiene license 

under this Rule shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a notarized application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 

(2) the nonrefundable application fee set forth in 21 

NCAC 16M .0102; 

(3) a letter from the dean of the dental hygiene 

program satisfying the requirements of 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, confirming: 

(A) the applicant is a graduate of the dental 

hygiene program; and 

(B) the applicant is competent to practice 

dental hygiene under the supervision 

of a North Carolina licensed dentist; 

and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(d)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

an applicant for a temporary limited dental hygiene license shall 

request the applicable entity to provide the following required 

information or documents to the Board office, with each 

document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) the information or documents as set out in Rule 

.0301(c)(1)-(3) of this Subchapter; 

(2) examination scores on the examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations required by Rule 

.0303(b) of this Subchapter if the applicant has 

taken the examination prior to submitting the 

application; and 

(3) examination scores on the clinical examinations 

required by Rule .0303(b) of this Subchapter or 

any other clinical examinations accepted by 

another jurisdiction if the applicant has taken all 

or any portion of a clinical examination prior to 

submitting the application. 

(e)  The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule and the applicant's 

passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303(a) of 

this Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications 

that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the 

Board shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the 

application fee. 

(f)  The temporary limited dental hygiene license shall not take 

effect until the Board receives a letter from a North Carolina 

licensed dentist stating he or she will supervise the licensee and 

be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the 

temporary licensee's practice of dental hygiene. The temporary 

licensee shall maintain documentation of any additional dentists 

under whose supervision the licensee practices, including a signed 

statement from each dentist agreeing to supervise the licensee and 

be responsible for all consequences or results arising from the 

temporary licensee's practice of dental hygiene. The licensee shall 

provide the documentation to the Board at its request. 

(g)  A temporary limited dental hygiene license granted under this 

Rule shall be in effect until the earlier of: 

(1) the applicant completes the written and clinical 

examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this 

Subchapter and receives passing scores, in 

which event the applicant's temporary dental 

hygiene license shall be converted to a dental 

hygiene license under Rule .0301 of this 

Subchapter as of the date the passing scores are 

provided to the Board by the testing agencies; 

(2) the applicant completes the written examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations required by Rule 

.0303(b) of this Subchapter and receives failing 

scores three times, thereby requiring additional 

study pursuant to Rule .0311(c) of this 

Subchapter, in which event the applicant shall 

promptly notify the Board of the third failing 

score and the applicant's temporary dental 

hygiene license shall expire as of the date the 

third failing score is issued; 

(3) the applicant completes the clinical 

examinations required by Rule .0303(b) of this 

Subchapter or any other clinical examinations 

accepted by another jurisdiction and receives 

failing scores, in which event the applicant shall 

promptly notify the Board and the applicant's 

temporary dental hygiene license shall expire as 

of the date the failing scores are issued; or 

(4) one year from the date the temporary limited 

dental hygiene license is issued. 

(h)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(i)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28.5, 90-223; 90-224; 90-

229; S.L. 2020-3, s. 4.38; 
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Emergency Adoption Eff. May 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 

2020-3, s. 4.38.(e). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 26 – BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Landscape Architects 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 26 .0309 

 

Effective Date:  May 6, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 29, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing.  On April 

23, 2020 the Governor extended the effective date on these 

various Executive Orders through at least May 8, 2020.  This rule 

would extend the continuing education deadline for license 

renewal since most course would not be in compliance with the 

Governor's Executive Orders. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0309 EXEMPTIONS AND EXTENSION 

OF TIME 

(a)  A registrant shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for any of the following reasons: 

(1) New registrants by way of examination or 

comity for the current registration year. 

(2) A licensee serving on temporary active duty in 

the armed forces of the United States for a 

period of time exceeding 90 consecutive days 

in a year or as provided by G.S. 93B-15(b), 

whichever is greater. 

(3) A licensee experiencing physical disability or 

illness if supporting documentation is approved 

by the Board. Such documentation shall be in 

the form of a sworn statement by the registrant, 

a statement from a physician, or medical 

records which show that the disability or illness, 

prevented registrant's participation in a course 

that the registrant had enrolled, or prevented 

registrant's participation in the continuing 

education program for at least 90 consecutive 

days in a year. 

(4) A licensee with emeritus status from the Board. 

(b)  In order to return to active practice, registrants who have 

received an exemption shall complete continuing education 

requirements for each exempted year, not to exceed two years. 

(c)  During a National or State declared state of emergency which 

restricts or prohibits a licensee from obtaining by active 

participation approved Board continuing education the Board may 

extend the compliance period up to 90 days beyond the effective 

period of the state of emergency. Any license renewed in reliance 

on this exemption shall be issued conditionally and shall 

automatically expire on September 30, 2020 or on the 90th day, 

whichever is later, if compliance is not documented in the 

licensee's secure on-line portal by that date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 93B-15; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Appraisal Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 57B .0615 

 

Effective Date:  May 22, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  May 14, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On May 4, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina signed into law Session Law 2020-3, entitled, "An Act to 

Provide Aid to North Carolinians in Response to the Coronavirus 

Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Crisis."  Section 4.38 of SL 2020-3, 

entitled, "Authorize State Agencies to Exercise Regulatory 

Flexibility During the Coronavirus Emergency in Order to 

Protect the Economic Well-Being of the Citizens and Businesses 

of the State," requires that if a State agency determines that, due 

to the impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest, 

including the public health, safety, and welfare and economic 

well-being of the citizens and businesses of the State, the agency 

shall take certain steps, as set forth in Section 4.38(b).  The NC 

Appraisal Board has made the determination that due to the 

impacts of the coronavirus, it is in the public interest, including 

public health, safety, and welfare and the economic well-being of 

its licensees to take the steps set forth in this emergency rule to 

delay collection of renewal fees, modify continuing education 

requirements and allow for extensions of time to take the licensing 

examination.  Section 4.38(e) authorizes the Board to adopt this 

emergency rule without commencing temporary rule making. 
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SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 

EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0615 EMERGENCY PROVISIONS 

FOR EXTENSION OF RENEWAL PERIODS AND 

PAYMENT OF RENEWAL FEES AND QUALIFYING 

EDUCATION, CONTINUING EDUCATION AND 

LICENSING EXAMINATION 

Due to the current State of Emergency in North Carolina and the 

United States, the North Carolina Appraisal Board is taking the 

following action: 

(1) The deadline to pay the renewal fee for all 

current licensees, including registered trainees, 

licensed and certified appraisers, and registered 

appraisal management companies, shall be 

extended until September 30, 2020, and no late 

fee shall be charged if the renewal fee is paid no 

later than that date. 

(2) An appraiser licensee applicant for renewal 

shall not submit an application for renewal until 

receipt by the Board of the roster that the 

applicant has completed the current version of 

the seven hour USPAP continuing education 

course, as required by 21 NCAC 57A .0204(d). 

(3) No other deadlines shall be extended for 

payments of any other late fees or for late 

renewals or reinstatements of licenses, as set 

forth in G.S. 93E-1-7(c), G.S. 93E-2-6(b), and 

Rules 21 NCAC 57A .0206 and 57D .0203, 

except the extension for payment of the renewal 

fee for current licensees until September 30, 

2020 set forth in this rule. 

(4) Until June 30, 2020, schools and course 

sponsors for qualifying education courses and 

continuing education courses shall cancel or 

suspend all in-person courses. After that time, 

in-person courses may resume, so long as the 

course is conducted in compliance with all 

requirements set forth in the Governor's 

Executive Orders. 

(5) Until September 30, 2020, schools and course 

sponsors may offer remote distance learning for 

continuing education courses. In order to offer 

remote distance learning, the school shall 

provide to the Board documentation that it has 

met the following requirements prior to the 

course taking place: 

(a) The educational offering under 

consideration is currently approved 

for traditional classroom presentation; 

(b) The platform utilized for distance 

education is live and interactive; 

(c) The instructor verifies photo 

identification of the students; and 

(d) The instructor maintains an attendance 

roster, which includes verifying 100 

percent classroom attendance by, for 

example, taking attendance at various 

established times during the course. 

(6) Until September 30, 2020, schools shall allow 

students to make-up qualifying education 

course hours by attending another course that is 

equivalent to the original course offered by the 

same school. The make-up hours attended by 

the student shall be for the same content that the 

student missed. 

(7) Until September 30, 2020, schools and course 

sponsors may offer remote distance learning for 

qualifying education courses, as long as the 

qualifying education courses are approved in 

accordance with Sections III D.3 and III.F.6 of 

the AQB criteria. 

(8) All other Board rules that apply to continuing 

education or qualifying education that do not 

conflict with this Rule are in effect and enforced 

by the Board. 

(9) An appraiser licensee applicant who is unable 

to take the licensing examination within one 

year pursuant to 21 NCAC 57A .0301, due to 

illness or the testing service locations being 

closed shall make a written request to the 

Board. The Board shall grant appraiser licensee 

applicants an extension to take the licensing 

examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-7; 93E-1-8; 

91E-2-6; S.L. 2020-03, s. 4.38; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to S.L. 

2020-3, s. 4.38.(e).  
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on April 16, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Criteria for Designation 07 NCAC 13F .0202* 34:07 NCR 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Best Efforts 08 NCAC 21 .0101* 34:13 NCR 

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 08 NCAC 21 .0102* 34:13 NCR 

Reporting of Special Contributions 08 NCAC 21 .0103* 34:13 NCR 

Reporting of Electioneering Communications 08 NCAC 21 .0104* 34:13 NCR 

Federal Political Committee Reporting 08 NCAC 21 .0105* 34:13 NCR 

Electronic Filing 08 NCAC 21 .0106* 34:13 NCR 

Procedures for Political and Referendum Committees 08 NCAC 21 .0201 34:13 NCR 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Total Losses on Motor Vehicles 11 NCAC 04 .0418* 34:12 NCR 

Building Code Publications: General Information 11 NCAC 08 .0203 34:02 NCR 

Definitions 11 NCAC 12 .1501* 34:10 NCR 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1450 (UB92) 11 NCAC 12 .1502* 34:10 NCR 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1500 11 NCAC 12 .1503* 34:10 NCR 

Requirements for Use of the Current ADA Dental Claim Form 11 NCAC 12 .1504* 34:10 NCR 

Managed Care Forms 11 NCAC 12 .1505* 34:10 NCR 

Electronic Format Standards 11 NCAC 12 .1506* 34:10 NCR 

Attachment Form or Format 11 NCAC 12 .1507* 34:10 NCR 

Medicare Supplement Payors 11 NCAC 12 .1508* 34:10 NCR 

Patient Submitted Claim Forms 11 NCAC 12 .1509* 34:10 NCR 

General Requirements 11 NCAC 12 .1803 34:10 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Purpose 14B NCAC 16 .0101* 33:15 NCR 

Location 14B NCAC 16 .0102 33:15 NCR 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .0103* 33:15 NCR 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .0104* 33:15 NCR 

Prohibited Acts 14B NCAC 16 .0105* 33:15 NCR 

Disciplinary Actions 14B NCAC 16 .0106* 33:15 NCR 

Law Enforcement Officers Special Provisions 14B NCAC 16 .0107* 33:15 NCR 

Records 14B NCAC 16 .0108* 33:15 NCR 

Change of Address or Telephone Number 14B NCAC 16 .0111* 33:15 NCR 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 14B NCAC 16 .0112 33:15 NCR 

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 14B NCAC 16 .0113* 33:15 NCR 

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0204* 33:15 NCR 
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Experience Requirements/Security Guard and Patrol License 14B NCAC 16 .0301* 33:15 NCR 

Experience Requirements for Guard Dog Service License 14B NCAC 16 .0302* 33:15 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Private Investigator License 14B NCAC 16 .0401* 33:15 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Counterintelligence License 14B NCAC 16 .0402* 33:15 NCR 

Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403* 33:15 NCR 

Reports 14B NCAC 16 .0404* 33:15 NCR 

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 14B NCAC 16 .0405* 33:15 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 14B NCAC 16 .0501* 33:15 NCR 

Polygraph Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0503* 33:15 NCR 

Polygraph Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0504 33:15 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Psychological Stress Evalua... 14B NCAC 16 .0601* 33:15 NCR 

P.S.E. Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0602* 33:15 NCR 

P.S.E. Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0603 33:15 NCR 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0703* 33:15 NCR 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707* 33:15 NCR 

Minimum Stds/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Pe... 14B NCAC 16 .0803* 33:15 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Scope 15A NCAC 02B .0402* 32:21 NCR 

Definition of Terms 15A NCAC 02B .0403* 32:21 NCR 

Water Quality Based Effluent Limitations 15A NCAC 02B .0404* 32:21 NCR 

Technology Based Effluent Limitations 15A NCAC 02B .0406* 32:21 NCR 

Guidance for Determining a New Source 15A NCAC 02B .0407* 32:21 NCR 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02B .0408* 32:21 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02B .0501* 32:21 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 02B .0502 32:21 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0503* 32:21 NCR 

Classification of Waste Resources 15A NCAC 02B .0504* 32:21 NCR 

Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 02B .0505* 32:21 NCR 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02B .0506* 32:21 NCR 

Tests and Measurements Applicable to Sics 15A NCAC 02B .0508* 32:21 NCR 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02B .0511* 32:21 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .0101* 32:21 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 02H .0102* 32:21 NCR 

Deifintion of Terms 15A NCAC 02H .0103* 32:21 NCR 

Application: Permit Fees: Assessment for New Sources 15A NCAC 02H .0105* 32:21 NCR 

Filing Applications 15A NCAC 02H .0106* 32:21 NCR 

Staff Review and Evaluation 15A NCAC 02H .0107* 32:21 NCR 

Fact Sheets 15A NCAC 02H .0108* 32:21 NCR 

Public Notice 15A NCAC 02H .0109* 32:21 NCR 

Public Hearings 15A NCAC 02H .0111* 32:21 NCR 

Final Action on Permit Applications 15A NCAC 02H .0112* 32:21 NCR 

Notification of Applicants 15A NCAC 02H .0113* 32:21 NCR 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0114* 32:21 NCR 

Public Access to Records 15A NCAC 02H .0115* 32:21 NCR 

Emergency Procedures 15A NCAC 02H .0116* 32:21 NCR 

Investigations: Monitoring: and Reporting 15A NCAC 02H .0117* 32:21 NCR 

Effluent Limitations and Standards 15A NCAC 02H .0118* 32:21 NCR 
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Limitation on Delegation 15A NCAC 02H .0120* 32:21 NCR 

Suspension of Requirement for State NPDES Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0121* 32:21 NCR 

Reliability 15A NCAC 02H .0124* 32:21 NCR 

Permit Requirements for Peat Mining 15A NCAC 02H .0125* 32:21 NCR 

General Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0127* 32:21 NCR 

Authorization to Construct Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0138* 32:21 NCR 

Minimum Design Requirements 15A NCAC 02H .0139* 32:21 NCR 

Certification of Completion 15A NCAC 02H .0140* 32:21 NCR 

Operational Agreements 15A NCAC 02H .0141* 32:21 NCR 

Use/Wastewater Trtmnt Works Emgcy Main: Oper/Repair Fund 15A NCAC 02H .0142 32:21 NCR 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02H .0143* 32:21 NCR 

Statement of Policy 15A NCAC 02H .0401 32:21 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02H .0402 32:21 NCR 

Definition of Coastal Areas 15A NCAC 02H .0403 32:21 NCR 

Facility Location and Design 15A NCAC 02H .0404 32:21 NCR 

Privately Owned Installations 15A NCAC 02H .0405 32:21 NCR 

Publicly Owned Sewerage Facilities 15A NCAC 02H .0406 32:21 NCR 

Exceptions from Requirements 15A NCAC 02H .0407 32:21 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .1201* 32:21 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02H .1202* 32:21 NCR 

Public Notice 15A NCAC 02H .1203* 32:21 NCR 

Final Action on Special Orders by Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1204* 32:21 NCR 

Action on Special Orders Issued without Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1205 32:21 NCR 

Water Quality Special Orders by Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1206* 32:21 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Big Game Harvest Reports 15A NCAC 10B .0113* 34:11 NCR 

Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203* 34:11 NCR 

American Alligator 15A NCAC 10B .0224* 34:11 NCR 

Bullfrogs 15A NCAC 10B .0226* 34:11 NCR 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205 34:11 NCR 

Transportation of Live Fish 15A NCAC 10C .0209 34:11 NCR 

Possession of Certain Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0211 34:11 NCR 

Inland Game Fishes Designated 15A NCAC 10C .0301* 34:11 NCR 

Largemouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0305* 34:11 NCR 

Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306 34:11 NCR 

Kokanee Salmon 15A NCAC 10C .0308 34:11 NCR 

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314 34:11 NCR 

Trout 15A NCAC 10C .0316 34:11 NCR 

Smallmouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0321* 34:11 NCR 

Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0322* 34:11 NCR 

Redeye Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0323 34:11 NCR 

Catfish 15A NCAC 10C .0324 34:11 NCR 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401* 34:11 NCR 

General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102* 34:11 NCR 

Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103* 34:11 NCR 

Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 15A NCAC 10D .0105* 34:11 NCR 

Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327 34:11 NCR 
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Currituck County 15A NCAC 10F .0340* 34:07 NCR 

PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Licenses by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48B .0102* 34:10 NCR 

Licenses by Examination 21 NCAC 48B .0103* 34:10 NCR 

Schedule and Location of Examination 21 NCAC 48D .0102 34:10 NCR 

Filing Application 21 NCAC 48E .0101* 34:10 NCR 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Examination 21 NCAC 48E .0110* 34:10 NCR 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48E .0111* 34:10 NCR 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Endorsement ... 21 NCAC 48E .0112* 34:10 NCR 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Exam Applicant 21 NCAC 48E .0510* 34:10 NCR 

Continuing Competence Activities 21 NCAC 48G .0109* 34:10 NCR 

Notification 21 NCAC 48G .0202* 34:10 NCR 

Complaints and Investigations 21 NCAC 48G .0504 34:10 NCR 

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

Qualifications Determined by Examination 21 NCAC 50 .0301* 34:11 NCR 

Applications: Issuance of License 21 NCAC 50 .0306* 34:11 NCR 

Responsibilities of State and Local Government Technician... 21 NCAC 50 .0313* 34:11 NCR 

Private Educational Institution Plumbing or Heating Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0314* 34:11 NCR 

Responsibilities of Private Educational Institution Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0315* 34:11 NCR 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor License 21 NCAC 50 .0316* 34:11 NCR 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor Licensees 21 NCAC 50 .0317* 34:11 NCR 

Multiple Licenses 21 NCAC 50 .0405* 34:11 NCR 

Corporations, Partnerships and Trade Names 21 NCAC 50 .0407* 34:11 NCR 

Change of Trade Name 21 NCAC 50 .0408* 34:11 NCR 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design License 21 NCAC 50 .0519* 34:11 NCR 

License Fees 21 NCAC 50 .1102* 34:11 NCR 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 50 .1106* 34:11 NCR 

PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

Psychological Associate Activities 21 NCAC 54 .2006* 34:05 NCR 

Psychological Associate 21 NCAC 54 .2008* 34:05 NCR 

APPRAISAL BOARD 

Qualifications for Trainee Registration and Appraiser Lic... 21 NCAC 57A .0201* 34:13 NCR 

Temporary Practice 21 NCAC 57A .0210* 34:13 NCR 

Applicants Certified in Another State 21 NCAC 57A .0211* 34:13 NCR 

Time and Place 21 NCAC 57A .0301* 34:13 NCR 

Subject Matter and Passing Scores 21 NCAC 57A .0302 34:13 NCR 

Examination Review 21 NCAC 57A .0306 34:13 NCR 

Change of Name or Address 21 NCAC 57A .0404 34:13 NCR 

Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407* 34:13 NCR 

Appraisal Management Companies 21 NCAC 57A .0410 34:13 NCR 

Experience Credit to Upgrade 21 NCAC 57A .0601* 34:13 NCR 

Registered Trainee Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0101* 34:13 NCR 

Licensed Residential and Certified Residential Real Estat... 21 NCAC 57B .0102 34:13 NCR 

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0103 34:13 NCR 
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Course Content 21 NCAC 57B .0302* 34:13 NCR 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 57B .0304* 34:13 NCR 

Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306* 34:13 NCR 

Criteria for Course Recognition 21 NCAC 57B .0307 34:13 NCR 

Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606* 34:13 NCR 

Payment of Fee Required by G.S. 93E-1-7(b1) 21 NCAC 57B .0613 34:13 NCR 

Instructors for the Trainee/Supervisor Course Required by... 21 NCAC 57B .0614* 34:13 NCR 

Form of Complaints and Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 57C .0101* 34:13 NCR 

Form 21 NCAC 57D .0101* 34:13 NCR 

 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 
 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Tarpon 15A NCAC 03M .0509 34:07 NCR 

License and Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration Transfers 15A NCAC 03O .0108* 34:07 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Prohibited Taking and Manner of Take 15A NCAC 10B .0201* 34:11 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 13F .0202 CRITERIA FOR DESIGNATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.142; 143B-135.150; 

143B-135.156; 

Eff. April 4, 1979; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; January 1, 1985; October 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12F .0202 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0101 BEST EFFORTS 

The treasurer of a political committee or referendum committee 

shall be deemed to have exercised best efforts to obtain, maintain, 

and report the information required by G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1) if 

all of the following efforts set forth in this Rule are made: 

(1) All written solicitations for contributions 

include a request for the contributor's full name, 

mailing address, and principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1), and include a 

statement of North Carolina law regarding the 

collection and reporting of individual 

contributor information. The following are 

examples of acceptable statements for a 

candidate committee, political committee, or 

referendum committee: 

(a) "State law requires us to use our best 

efforts to collect and report the full 

name, mailing address, job title or 

profession, and employer's name or 

employer's specified field of business 

activity of individuals whose 

contributions exceed fifty dollars 

($50.00) in an election"; and 

(b) "To comply with State law, we must 

use best efforts to obtain, maintain, 

and submit the full name, mailing 

address, job title or profession, and 

employer's name or employer's 

specified field of business activity of 

individuals whose contributions 

exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) in an 

election." 

The request and statement shall appear in a 

clear and conspicuous manner on any response 

material included in a solicitation. The request 

and statement are not clear and conspicuous if 

they are in small type in comparison to the 

solicitation and response materials, or if the 

printing is difficult to read or if the placement 

is easily overlooked by the potential 

contributor. 

(2) For each aggregate contribution received in 

excess of fifty dollars ($50.00) per election, as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.13(e), which lacks 

required contributor information, such as the 

contributor's full name, mailing address, job 

title or profession, or employer's name or 

employer's specified field of business activity, 

the treasurer makes at least one effort after the 

receipt of the contribution to obtain the missing 

information. That effort shall consist of either a 

written request sent to the contributor or an oral 

request to the contributor documented in 
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writing. All documented requests shall be 

preserved and retained consistent with G.S. 

163-278.35. The written or oral request must be 

made no later than 30 days after receipt of the 

contribution. The written or oral request shall 

not include material on any other subject or any 

additional solicitation, except that it may 

include language thanking the contributor for 

the contribution. The request must ask for the 

missing information and must include the 

statement set forth in Item (1) of this Rule. 

Written requests must include this statement in 

a clear and conspicuous manner. If the request 

is written, it shall be accompanied by a pre-

addressed return post card or envelope for the 

response material. 

(3) The treasurer reports all contributor 

information not provided by the contributor, but 

in the political committee's or referendum 

committee's possession, including information 

in contributor records, fundraising records and 

previously filed reports, in the same election 

cycle. 

(4) If, after complying with all provisions of this 

section, the treasurer is unable to identify the 

contributor's principal occupation, the treasurer 

lists all available information and report 

"unable to obtain" as to the missing 

occupational information. 

(5) If any of the contributor information is received 

after the contribution has been disclosed on a 

regularly scheduled report, the candidate 

committee, political committee, or referendum 

committee files on or before its next regularly 

scheduled reporting date, amendments to the 

report(s) originally disclosing the 

contribution(s), which include the contributor 

identifications together with the dates and 

amounts of the contribution(s). Amendments 

must be filed for all reports that cover the 

election in which the contribution was received 

that disclose itemizable contributions from the 

same contributor if the contributor information 

is incorrect or missing from the report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.11; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0102 REPORTING OF INDEPENDENT 

EXPENDITURES 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person 

as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72), or other entity required to report 

independent expenditures under G.S. 163-278.12(a) has made 

independent expenditures with a present actual or market value in 

excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the individual, person, or entity 

shall report all independent expenditures, and any donations made 

to further independent expenditures, with the following board of 

elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed is within one county, and 

the candidate is not running for a legislative, 

judicial, or district attorney office, the report 

shall be filed with the county board of elections; 

or 

(2) if the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed extends to more than one 

county, or the candidate is running for a 

legislative, judicial, or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the State Board. 

(b)  An independent expenditure filer is the individual, person, or 

other entity making a reportable independent expenditure under 

G.S. 163-278.12(a). 

(c)  The independent expenditure filer shall file CRO-2210A 

Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-2210B Donations 

to Further Independent Expenditures, and CRO-2210C Incurred 

Costs of Independent Expenditures available on the State Board's 

website unless the independent expenditure filer files reports 

electronically consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. Independent 

expenditure reports filed with the county board of elections or the 

State Board shall include all of the following: 

(1) the independent expenditure filer's name and 

mailing address; 

(2) a phone number for the independent 

expenditure filer; 

(3) if the independent expenditure filer is an 

individual, the filer's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(4) if the independent expenditure filer is a person 

or entity, the principal place of business of the 

person or entity; 

(5) for each independent expenditure made: 

(A) The name and mailing address of the 

payee; 

(B) The amount paid; 

(C) The date the expenditure was incurred; 

(D) A description of the expenditure; and 

(E) The name of the candidate, candidates 

of an identified political party, or 

referendum supported or opposed by 

the independent expenditure; 

(6) for each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) if the donor is a person or entity, the 

principal place of business of that 

person or entity; 

(D) the amount of the donation; and 

(E) the date of the donation; and 

(7) a certification as to whether any expenditures 

reported were made in concert or cooperation 

with, or at the request or suggestion of, a 
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candidate, a candidate campaign committee as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.38Z(3), a referendum 

committee, the agent of a candidate, the agent 

of a candidate campaign committee, or an agent 

of a referendum committee. 

(d)  An independent expenditure filer that makes expenditures 

with a present, actual, or market value in excess of five thousand 

dollars ($5,000.00) during an election as defined in G.S. 163-

278.6(30) shall file independent expenditure reports electronically 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106.  

(e)  For each independent expenditure report filed electronically, 

the independent expenditure filer shall sign the Independent 

Expenditure Report Cover and file the signed original in 

accordance with Paragraph (g) of this Rule with the board of 

elections identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(f)  The independent expenditure filer shall complete and file 

forms within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). An 

independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent 

expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously 

reported independent expenditures during the election the 

independent expenditure affects, shall file reports no later than the 

10th day after independent expenditures exceed one hundred 

dollars ($100.00). After the initial report, the independent 

expenditure filer shall continue to file independent expenditure 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until 

the end of the election. The final report for a given election shall 

cover the period through the day of the election. If the independent 

expenditure filer makes independent expenditures in support of or 

in opposition to municipal candidates or municipal ballot issues, 

the independent expenditure filer shall report all independent 

expenditures according to the reporting schedule in Part 2 of 

Article 22A of Chapter 163 of the General Statutes.  

(g)  A report is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; or 

(3) for an independent expenditure report filed 

electronically pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule, on the date the completed report is 

emailed to the State Board of Elections at 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. 

(h)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with 

G.S. 163-278.12(d). 

(i)  An independent expenditure filer that makes an expenditure 

of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation 

of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but 

after the period covered by the last report due before that election, 

shall file a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of 

elections using forms available on the State Board's website. An 

independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent 

expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously 

reported independent expenditures during the election the 

independent expenditure affects, shall file 48-hour reports in 

accordance with this Paragraph. A 48-hour report shall be made 

using CRO-2210A Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-

2210B Donations to Further Independent Expenditures, and 

CRO-2210C Incurred Costs of Independent Expenditures. 48-

hour reports may be filed by fax or email. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0103 REPORTING OF SPECIAL 

CONTRIBUTIONS 

(a)  Once a person as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72) or other entity 

required to report contributions under G.S. 163-278.12(b) has 

made contributions with a present, actual, or market value in 

excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the person or entity shall report all 

contributions made, and any donations made to further 

contributions, with the following board of elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate, committee, or 

ballot issue supported or opposed is within one 

county, and the candidate is not running for a 

legislative, judicial, or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the county board 

of elections; or 

(2) if the district of the candidate, committee, or 

ballot issue supported or opposed extends to 

more than one county, or the candidate is 

running for a legislative, judicial, or district 

attorney office, the report shall be filed with the 

State Board. 

(b)  A special contributor is the person or other entity making a 

reportable contribution under G.S. 163-278.12(b). 

(c)  When reporting contributions, the special contributor shall file 

CRO-2215A Special Contributor Report Cover, CRO-2215B 

Donations to Further Contributions, and CRO-2215C 

Contributions to Registered Committees available on the State 

Board's website. Special contributor reports filed with the county 

board of elections or the State Board of Elections shall include all 

of the following: 

(1) the special contributor's name and mailing 

address; 

(2) the special contributor's principal place of 

business; 

(3) for each contribution made; 

(A) the name and mailing address of the 

recipient committee; 

(B) the amount of the contribution; 

(C) the date of the contribution; and 

(D) for any in-kind contribution, a 

description of the expenditure; 

(4) for each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-2778.11(a)(1); 

(D) if the donor is a person, the principal 

place of business of that person; 
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(E) the amount of the donation; 

(F) the date of the donation; 

(d)  The special contributor shall complete and file forms within 

the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). A special 

contributor that makes a reportable contribution within 10 days of 

an election, and has not previously reported contributions during 

that election, shall file reports no later than the 10th day after 

contributions exceed one hundred dollars ($100.00). After the 

initial report, the special contributor shall continue to file special 

contributor reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 

163-278.9 until the end of the election. The final report for a given 

election shall cover the period through the day of the election. If 

the special contributor makes contributions in support of or in 

opposition to municipal candidates or municipal ballot issues, the 

special contributor shall report all contributions according to the 

reporting schedule in Part 2 of Article 22A of Chapter 163 of the 

General Statutes.  

(e)  A report is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

or 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(f)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) shall not be considered filed in accordance with G.S. 163-

278.12(d). 

(g)  A special contributor that makes a contribution of five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but after the 

period covered by the last report due before that election, shall file 

a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of elections 

using forms available on the State Board's website. A special 

contributor that makes a reportable contribution within 10 days of 

an election, and has not previously reported contributions during 

that election, shall file 48-hour reports in accordance with this 

Paragraph. A 48-hour report shall be made using CRO-2215A 

Special Contributor Report Cover, CRO-2215B Donations to 

Further Contributions, and CRO-2215C Contributions to 

Registered Committees. 48-hour reports may be filed by fax or 

email. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0104 REPORTING OF 

ELECTIONEERING COMMUNICATIONS 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person 

as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72), or other entity required to report 

electioneering communications under G.S. 163-278.12C has 

incurred an expense for the direct cost of producing or airing 

electioneering communications with a present actual or market 

value aggregating in excess of five thousand dollars ($5,000) 

during an election as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(8j), the individual, 

person, or entity shall report all electioneering communications, 

and any donations made to further electioneering 

communications, with the following board of elections: 

(1) if the district of the candidate referred to is 

within one county, and the candidate is not 

running for a legislative, judicial or district 

attorney office, the report shall be filed with the 

county board of elections; or 

(2) if the district of the candidate referred to 

extends to more than one county, or the 

candidate is running for a legislative, judicial or 

district attorney office, the report shall be filed 

with the State Board. 

(b)  The direct cost of producing or airing electioneering 

communications includes, but is not limited to, the cost of studio 

rental time; video or audio recording media; staff salaries; 

consultant fees; talent; airtime on broadcast, cable or satellite 

radio and television stations; and the charges for a broker to 

purchase the airtime. 

(c)  When reporting electioneering communications, the 

individual, person, or entity shall file CRO-2310 Electioneering 

Communications Report Cover, CRO-2320 Controlling/Directing 

Entity List; CRO-2330 Receipts for Electioneering 

Communications, and CRO-2340 Incurred Costs for 

Electioneering Communications available on the State Board's 

website. Electioneering Communication reports filed with the 

county board of elections or the State Board of Elections shall 

include all of the following: 

(1) the name and mailing address of the individual, 

person, or entity incurring the expense; 

(2) a phone number for the individual, person, or 

entity incurring the expense; 

(3) the name and mailing address of the custodian 

of the books and accounts of the individual, 

person, or entity incurring the expense; 

(4) if the expense is incurred by an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as defined in 

G.S. 163-278.11(a); 

(5) if the expense is incurred by a person or entity, 

the principal place of business of the person or 

entity; 

(6) if an individual, person, or entity is sharing or 

exercising direction or control over the 

activities of the individual, person, or entity 

incurring the expense with regards to the 

electioneering communication: 

(A) the name and mailing address of the 

individual, person or entity sharing or 

exercising direction or control; 

(B) if an individual, the individual's 

principal occupation as defined in G.S. 

163-278.11(a)(1); and 

(C) if a person or entity, the principal place 

of business of the person or entity; 

(7) for each electioneering communication 

reported: 

(A) the name and mailing address of each 

individual, person or entity paid to 

produce the electioneering 

communication; 
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(B) the amount paid to each individual, 

person or entity to produce the 

electioneering communication; 

(C) the date of the electioneering 

communication; 

(D) a description of the electioneering 

communication, including any title; 

and 

(E) the name of the candidate or 

candidates referred to in the 

electioneering communication; 

(8) for each donation of more than one thousand 

dollars ($1,000) during the reporting period 

made to further the electioneering 

communication: 

(A) the donor's name and mailing address; 

(B) if the donor is an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) if the donor is a person or entity, the 

principal place of business of the 

person or entity; 

(D) the amount of the donation; and 

(E) the date of the donation. 

(d)  The individual, person, or entity required to report 

electioneering communications shall complete and sign forms 

within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12C(b). After the 

initial report, the individual, person, or entity incurring the 

expense shall continue to file electioneering communications 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until 

the end of the election. The final report for a given election shall 

cover the period through the day of the election.  

(e)  A report is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

or 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Services or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(g)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) shall not be considered filed in accordance with G.S. 163-

278.12C. 

(h)  A 48-hour report shall be filed with the State Board of 

Elections or county board of elections using forms provided by 

the State Board if an individual, person or entity that produces or 

airs an electioneering communication incurs an expense of five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) or more for making an electioneering 

communication before an election but after the period covered by 

the last report due before that election. A 48-hour report shall be 

made using CRO-2310 Electioneering Communications Report 

Cover, CRO-2320 Controlling/Directing Entity List, CRO-2330 

Receipts for Electioneering Communications, and CRO-2340 

Incurred Costs for Electioneering Communications. 48-hour 

reports may be filed by fax or email. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.12C; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0105 FEDERAL POLITICAL 

COMMITTEE REPORTING 

(a)  A federal political committee that makes a contribution as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(13) to a North Carolina political 

committee pursuant to G.S. 163-278.7A shall register with the 

State Board of Elections by filing the following forms available 

on the State Board's website no later than the 10th day following 

a federal political committee's contribution to a North Carolina 

political committee: 

(1) CRO-4010 Federal Committee Statement of 

Organization, which shall report the 

information described in in G.S. 163-278.7(b), 

Federal ID Number, and type of committee; 

(2) CRO-3500 Certification of Financial Account 

Information, which shall report the information 

described in G.S. 13-278.7(b)(8); 

(3) An Organizational Disclosure Report to include 

the following, unless the federal political 

committee files reports electronically 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106: 

(A) CRO-4100 Federal Committee North 

Carolina Disclosure Report Cover, 

which shall report: 

(i) the full name, mailing 

address, phone number, and 

the NC ID Number assigned 

to the federal political 

committee; 

(ii) the report year, period start 

date, and period end date for 

the report; 

(iii) the full name of the treasurer 

and assistant treasurer during 

the period; 

(iv) the total amount contributed 

to North Carolina political 

committees during the 

period; 

(v) account information; 

(vi) date filed; and 

(vii) an original signature and 

certification in accordance 

with G.S. 163-278.32. 

(B) CRO-4200 Federal Committee Report 

of Contributions to NC Political 

Committees, which shall list all 

contributions to North Carolina 

political committees made prior to the 

filing of the Organizational Disclosure 

Report. The federal political 

committee shall report the following 

for each contribution made by or 

refunded to the federal political 

committee: 
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(i) the full name, mailing 

address, and phone number 

for each recipient of a 

contribution; 

(ii) the amount of each 

contribution; 

(iii) the form of payment; 

(iv) the date each contribution 

was made; and 

(v) the total sum of all 

contributions to the recipient 

during the election; 

(b)  The treasurer of a federal political committee registered with 

the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 163-278.7A shall file 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9. If 

the federal political committee makes contributions to municipal 

candidates, the federal political committee must report 

contributions to municipal candidates according to the reporting 

schedule in Part 2 of Article 22A. The due date of each report shall 

be published on the State Board of Elections website. 

(c)  A federal political committee that shows a cumulative total of 

more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) in contributions to 

statewide candidates for an election cycle, or more than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) in contributions to non-statewide 

candidates for an election cycle, shall file reports electronically 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. For each report filed 

electronically, the treasurer shall sign the CRO-4100 Federal 

Committee North Carolina Disclosure Report Cover and file the 

signed original in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule with 

the State Board of Elections. All other federal political 

committees shall report on forms provided by the State Board, or 

may choose to file reports electronically consistent with 08 NCAC 

21 .0106. A federal political committee that does not file 

electronically shall use the following State Board forms available 

on the State Board's website to file a report: 

(1) CRO-4100 Federal Committee North Carolina 

Disclosure Report Cover; and 

(2) CRO-4200 Federal Committee Report of 

Contributions to NC Political Committees. 

(d)  A report, certification, or other form is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the State Board 

of Elections; 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Service or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; or 

(3) for a disclosure report that is filed electronically 

, on the date the completed report is emailed to 

the State Board of Elections at 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. 

(e)  If no contribution is made during a period described in G.S. 

163-278.9, the treasurer may certify the committee as inactive 

consistent with G.S. 163-278.10. An inactive committee shall not 

be required to file reports so long as the federal political 

committee makes no contributions. Once a contribution is made, 

the federal political committee shall resume reporting according 

to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9. 

(f)  Organizational, quarterly, semiannual, and final disclosure 

reports shall be filed even if no contributions are made by the 

federal political committee during the period of time covered by 

the report. A federal political committee may close at any time. 

Once closed, a committee may cease filing reports. In order to 

close, the federal political committee shall file the following 

forms available on the State Board's website: 

(1) CRO-3410 Certification to Close Federal 

Committee which shall have an original 

signature and certify that the federal political 

committee no longer intends to make any 

contributions to North Carolina political 

committees; and 

(2) A Final Disclosure Report to include the 

following: 

(A) CRO-4100 Federal Committee North 

Carolina Disclosure Report Cover; 

(B) CRO-4200 Federal Committee Report 

of Contributions to NC Political 

Committees, which shall list all 

contributions to North Carolina 

political committees made since the 

period end date of the last report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.7A; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0106 ELECTRONIC FILING 

(a)  All political committees required to file electronically 

pursuant to G.S. 163-278.9(i) shall prepare disclosure reports 

using either of the following: 

(1) the current version of the campaign finance 

software made available by the North Carolina 

State Board of Elections and available for 

download on the State Board website; or 

(2) third party software only if that software can 

generate reports that are capable of import into 

the State Board's central database. The import 

file formats and validation tool to assist in 

verifying the format of import files shall be 

available on the State Board's website. 

(b)  Reports generated by the State Board software or third-party 

software shall be filed by e-mailing the generated .cfd file to 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. State Board staff shall process 

the .cfd file and send an e-mail to the political committee's 

treasurer confirming receipt. 

(c)  Reports shall be filed on or before 11:59 p.m. of the business 

day in which it is to be filed. 

(d)  For each disclosure report filed electronically, the treasurer 

shall sign the CRO-1000 Disclosure Report Cover and file it with 

the board of elections office where the political committee filed 

its Statement of Organization. The Disclosure Report Cover shall 

report: 

(1) the full name, mailing address, phone number, 

and NC ID Number assigned to the political 

committee; 

(2) the report year, period start date, and period end 

date for the report; 
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(3) the full name of the treasurer during the period; 

(4) type of committee; 

(5) type of report; 

(6) account information; 

(7) date filed; and 

(8) an original signature and certification in 

accordance with G.S. 163-278.32. 

(e)  A Disclosure Report Cover is considered filed either: 

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

or 

(2) on the date it is postmarked by the United States 

Postal Service or marked with an equivalent 

marking by a delivery service authorized by 

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4. 

(f)  A committee that exceeds the reporting threshold in G.S. 163-

278.9(i) during an election cycle, and is required to start filing 

electronically shall ensure that each contributor's reported sum-

to-date for the election cycle includes the sum of contribution 

received before the political committee began filing 

electronically. 

(g)  A committee that is required to file electronically pursuant to 

G.S. 163-278.9(i) and only files a paper report shall be deemed to 

have failed to file and shall receive a Notice of Noncompliance 

pursuant to 08 NCAC 21 .0201. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.9; 163-278.21; 163-

278.22; 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0201 PROCEDURES FOR POLITICAL 

AND REFERENDUM COMMITTEES 

(a)  All bank accounts, safety deposit boxes, and other 

depositories utilized by political committees and referendum 

committees listed on the statement of organization as required by 

G.S. 163-278.7(b)(8) or G.S. 163-278.8(b) must be maintained in 

North Carolina. 

(b)  Whenever a political committee or referendum committee 

fails to file with the State Board any report required to be filed 

under the provisions of Article 22A of Chapter 163, the Board, by 

certified mail, shall issue a formal Notice of Noncompliance to 

the political treasurer of the committee and shall order that the 

report be filed within 30 days of issuance. In the event the 

committee does not file its report within 30 days of the issuance 

of the Notice of Noncompliance, the Board by certified mail shall 

issue a Notice of Termination of Active Status, which shall render 

the committee ineligible to receive or make contributions until 

such time as it has filed the delinquent report and has satisfied any 

statutory penalty incurred pursuant to G.S. 163-278.34. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-278.7; 163-278.8; 163-

278.21; 163-278.22; 163-278.23; 163-278.27; 163-278.34; 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Transferred from 08 NCAC 01 .0104 Eff. May 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0418 TOTAL LOSSES ON MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of 

G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere 

to the procedures in this Rule concerning the settlement of 

covered "total loss" motor vehicle claims when the failure is so 

frequent as to indicate a general business practice. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer" means a 

person who is licensed by the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation Division of 

Motor Vehicles pursuant to Chapter 20, Article 

12 of the N.C. General Statutes. 

(2) "Local Market Area" means an area within a 

100-mile radius of the place where the motor 

vehicle is principally garaged. If a substantially 

similar motor vehicle is unavailable within a 

100-mile radius, the insurance company may 

increase the radius in increments of 50 miles 

until a substantially similar motor vehicle can 

be found. 

(3) "Published Regional Average Values" means 

values derived from printed or electronically 

published motor vehicle pricing guides 

recognized in the motor vehicle industry, 

including National Automobile Dealers 

Association Pricing Guide Book or Kelley Blue 

Book that analyze current and historical motor 

vehicle sales data taking into consideration the 

year, make, model and condition of the motor 

vehicle, motor vehicle market conditions, and 

geographic area to reach an average retail value 

of the motor vehicle. 

(4) "Substantially Similar Motor Vehicle" means a 

motor vehicle of the same make, model, and 

year of the damaged motor vehicle.  

(c)  When a motor vehicle is damaged in an amount which, 

inclusive of original and supplemental claims, equals or exceeds 

75 percent of the pre-accident actual cash value as determined in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, an insurance company 

shall designate the motor vehicle as a "total loss" and pay the 

claimant the pre-accident value. In return, the insurance company 

shall receive possession of the legal title of the salvage of the total 

loss motor vehicle. 

(d)  If the insurance company and the claimant are unable to reach 

an agreement as to the actual cash value of the total loss motor 

vehicle, the settlement offer shall be based upon the following 

values: 

(1) The published regional average values of 

substantially similar motor vehicles; and 

(2) The retail cost of two or more substantially 

similar motor vehicles in the local market area 

when substantially similar motor vehicles are 

available or were available within 90 days of 

the accident to consumers in the local market 

area. 
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If no substantially similar motor vehicle is able to be located in 

the local market area, the settlement offer may be based upon 

quotations obtained from two or more licensed motor vehicle 

dealers located within the local market area. 

(e)  The settlement offer may be adjusted for condition, options, 

equipment, and mileage, less the cost of unrepaired damage that 

pre-existed the accident. 

(f)  Applicable sales tax and vehicle registration fees shall be 

included as part of the actual cash value settlement of the total loss 

motor vehicle, except where the claimant retains the salvage 

vehicle. 

(g)  The insurance company shall give consideration to evidence 

presented by the claimant such as receipts, photographs, or other 

documentation that the total loss motor vehicle owned by him or 

her was in a better condition prior to the accident than suggested 

by the insurer's settlement offer. 

(h)  When a motor vehicle's total loss is settled on a basis which 

deviates from this Rule, the deviation must be supported by 

documentation within the claim file detailing the total loss motor 

vehicle's condition and the reason for the deviation. Any 

deductions from the actual cash value of the total loss motor 

vehicle, including deduction for salvage or prior damage, shall be 

itemized and contain the amount of the deduction. The 

documentation that supports the basis for the settlement shall be 

shared with the claimant. The insurance company's record shall 

include documentation of the total loss settlement. 

(i)  If requested by the claimant, a total loss payment by an 

insurance company shall be accompanied by a written statement 

listing the estimates, evaluations, and any deductions used in 

calculating the payment, and the source of these values. 

(j)  No insurance company, adjuster, appraiser, agent, or any other 

person shall enter into any oral or written agreement(s), by and 

between themselves, to limit any original or supplemental 

claim(s) to keep the repair cost of a damaged motor vehicle below 

75 percent of its pre-accident value. 

(k)  At the election of the claimant, or in those circumstances 

where the insurance company will be unable to obtain an 

unencumbered title to the total loss motor vehicle, the insurance 

company shall have the right to deduct the value of the salvage of 

the total loss motor vehicle from the actual cash value calculation 

and leave the salvage motor vehicle with the claimant. 

(l)  If the insurance company makes a deduction for the salvage 

value of a total loss motor vehicle retained by the claimant, the 

insurance company shall, upon request of the claimant, furnish the 

claimant with the name and address of a salvage dealer who will 

purchase the salvage for the amount deducted. 

(m)  Where the insurance company has the right to elect to replace 

the total loss motor vehicle and does so, the replacement motor 

vehicle shall be substantially similar to the total loss motor vehicle 

and paid for by the insurance company, subject only to the 

deductible and to the value of any additional options and 

equipment chosen by the claimant. 

(n)  The insurance company shall be responsible for all reasonable 

towing and storage charges until three days after the motor 

vehicle's owner and storage facility are notified in writing that the 

insurance company shall no longer reimburse the motor vehicle's 

owner or storage facility for storage charges. Notification to the 

motor vehicle's owner shall include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the facility where the motor vehicle is being 

stored. Notification to the storage facility shall include the name, 

address, and, if available, telephone number of the motor vehicle's 

owner. Proof of mailing, as defined in Rule .0430 of this Section, 

shall serve as the proof that the notification required by this Rule 

occurred. 

(o)  In instances where the towing and storage charges are paid to 

the owner, the check or draft for the amount of such service shall 

be payable jointly to the owner and the towing or storage service. 

(p)  No insurance company shall abandon the salvage of a total 

loss motor vehicle to a towing or storage service without the 

consent of the towing or storage service involved. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 58-2-40; 58-63-65;  

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; April 1, 1989; July 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0203 BUILDING CODE 

PUBLICATIONS: GENERAL INFORMATION 

(a)  All volumes of the North Carolina State Building Code are 

published by the North Carolina Department of Insurance under 

the direction of the North Carolina Building Code Council. 

Amendments to all volumes of the code are published at: 

https://ncdoi.com/OSFM/Engineering_and_Codes/Default.aspx?

field1=Codes_-

_Code_Book_Sales&user=State_Building_Codes. 

(b)  Copies of the various volumes of the Building Code may be 

obtained from: North Carolina Department of Insurance, 

Engineering & Codes, 325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27603. Information regarding cost of the publications 

may be obtained at the same address. Costs are based upon the 

cost to the Department of publication, distribution, and annual 

revisions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-138; 143-138.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 12, 1978; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2008; September 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1501 DEFINITIONS 

In this Section, unless the context indicates otherwise: 

(1) "CPT-4 Codes" means the Physician Current 

Procedural Terminology published by the 

American Medical Association. 

(2) "Current ADA Dental Claim Form" means the 

most recent health insurance claim form 

published by the American Dental Association. 

(3) "Ethnic origin code" is the established Ethnic 

(Race) Code as used by the Economics and 

Statistics Administration, Bureau of Labor 

Statistics, U.S. Department of Commerce. 

(4) "CMS" means Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services. 
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(5) "CMS Form 1450 (UB-04)" means the health 

insurance claim form published by the CMS for 

use by institutional health care providers. 

(6) "CMS Form 1500" means the health insurance 

claim form published by the CMS for use by 

individual health care providers. 

(7) "HCPCS" means Healthcare Common 

Procedure Coding System, a coding system that 

describes products, supplies, procedures, and 

health care provider services; and includes the 

CPT-4 Codes, alphanumeric codes, and related 

modifiers. HCPCS includes: 

(a) "HCPCS Level I Codes", which are 

the CPT-4 codes and modifiers for 

professional services and procedures; 

(b) "HCPCS Level II Codes", which are 

national alphanumeric codes and 

modifiers for health care products and 

suppliers, as well as some codes for 

professional services not included in 

the CPT-4 Codes; 

(c) "HCPCS Level III Codes", which are 

local alphanumeric codes and 

modifiers for items and services not 

included in HCPCS Level I or HCPCS 

Level II. 

(8) "ICD-9-CM Codes" means the diagnosis and 

procedure codes in the International 

Classification of Diseases, Clinical 

Modifications, published by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(9) "Individual health care provider" includes any 

individual, who under Chapter 90 of the 

General Statutes is licensed, registered, or 

certified to engage in the practice of or performs 

duties associated with any of the following: 

medicine, surgery, dentistry, pharmacy, 

optometry, midwifery, osteopathy, podiatry, 

chiropractic, radiology, nursing, physiotherapy, 

pathology, anesthesiology, anesthesia, 

laboratory analysis, rendering assistance to a 

physician, dental hygiene, psychiatry, or 

psychology. 

(10) "Institutional health care provider" includes: 

(a) a hospital defined under G.S. 

131E-176(13); 

(b) an ambulatory surgical facility defined 

under G.S. 131E-176(1b); 

(c) a health service facility defined under 

G.S. 131E-176(9b); 

(d) a home health agency defined under 

G.S. 131E-176(12); 

(e) any of the entities listed in G.S. 

58-55-35. 

(11) "Payor" means an entity that provides a "health 

benefit plan", as defined in G.S. 58-3-171(c). 

(12) "Standard claim form" means the CMS Form 

1450 (UB-04), CMS Form 1500, or the current 

ADA Dental Claim Form. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1502 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

CMS FORM 1450 (UB-04) 

(a)  The CMS Form 1450 (UB-04) shall be the standard claim 

form for all manual billing by institutional health care providers, 

and the CMS Form 1450 shall be accepted by all payors 

conducting business in this State. 

(b)  The cause of injury code shall be located in form locator 72. 

This code shall be required on all CMS Form 1450 (UB-04) 

claims generated by institutional health care providers for claims 

of inpatients and of patients treated in emergency rooms or trauma 

centers; and where the diagnosis includes an injury diagnosis, 

which means a diagnostic code in the range or 800-999 as defined 

in the ICD-10 coding manual. 

(c)  Payors may require institutional health care providers to use 

only the following coding systems for the filing of claims for 

health care services: 

(1) Codes to report all diagnoses, reasons for 

encounters, and procedures based upon code 

level changes made effective October 1 of each 

year or other effective date designated by the 

CMS. 

(2) HCPCS Level I and II Codes based upon code 

level changes made effective October 1 of each 

year or other effective date designated by the 

CMS. 

(3) CPT-4 Codes based upon code level changes 

made effective January 1 of each year or other 

effective date designated by the CMS. 

(d)  When there is no applicable HCPCS Level I or Level II Code 

or modifier, the payor may establish its own code or modifier. A 

complete list of all codes and modifiers established by payors 

shall be published by and available upon request from payors. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1503 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

CMS FORM 1500 

(a)  The CMS Form 1500 shall be the standard claim form for all 

manual individual health care provider billing, and the CMS Form 

1500 shall be accepted by all payors conducting business in this 

State. 

(b)  Payors may require individual health care providers to use 

only the following coding system for the filing of claims for health 

care services: 

(1) ICD-9-CM Codes to report all diagnoses, 

reasons for encounters, and procedures based 

upon code level changes made effective 

October 1 of each year or other effective date 

designated by the CMS. 

(2) HCPCS Level I and Level II Codes based upon 

code level changes made effective October 1 of 
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each year or other effective date designated by 

the CMS. 

(3) CPT-4 Codes based upon code level changes 

made effective January 1 of each year or other 

effective date designated by the CMS. 

(c)  When there is no applicable HCPCS Level I or Level II Code 

or modifier, the payor shall establish its own code or modifier. A 

complete list of all codes and modifiers established by payors 

shall be published by and available upon request from payors. 

(d)  Type of service codes may not be used. 

(e)  Place of service codes and descriptions shall be recognized by 

all payors processing claims for services rendered in North 

Carolina. 

(f)  CMS physician and specialty codes shall be recognized by 

payors processing claims for services rendered in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1504 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

THE CURRENT ADA DENTAL CLAIM FORM 

Dentists shall use the current ADA Dental Claim Form and 

instructions for all manual claims filing with payors. The ADA 

Dental Claim Form is hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and additions, and is available at no cost 

at https://www.ada.org/en/publications/cdt/ada-dental-claim-

form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1505 MANAGED CARE FORMS 

(a)  As used in this Rule, "managed care plan" includes a health 

maintenance organization or a preferred provider organization. 

(b)  The following managed care forms may be used by managed 

care plans, but shall not be a part of the standard claim form: 

(1) An "out-of-network" justification form shall be 

used by patients filing claims with their 

managed care plans when they have to justify 

the reasons they sought out-of-network health 

care services. This form shall be standardized, 

and the managed care plan industry shall 

develop and file this form with the 

Commissioner. 

(2) A "patient encounter form and electronic 

format" shall be used by managed care plans to 

record and report encounter information. This 

form shall provide information similar to the 

CMS Form 1450 (UB-04) and CMS Form 1500 

and shall include information on patient 

identification, dates of services provided, types 

of services provided, and identities of health 

care providers. This form and electronic 

formats shall be standardized, and the managed 

care plan industry shall develop and file these 

with the Commissioner. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1506 ELECTRONIC FORMAT 

STANDARDS 

(a)  As used in this Rule, "ASC X12 Standard Format" means the 

standards for electronic data interchange within the health care 

provider industry developed by the Accredited Standards 

Committee X12 Insurance Subcommittee of the American 

National Standards Institute. 

(b)  Payors and health care providers that receive or generate 

claims or send payments by electronic means shall accept or 

generate the appropriate ASC X12 Standard Format for their 

health care claims submission and remittance transactions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1507 ATTACHMENT FORM OR 

FORMAT 

(a)  As used in this Rule, "attachment form or format" means a 

form, document, or communication of any kind used by a payor 

to request additional information, other than that contained on the 

standard claim form, from a health care provider in connection 

with processing a claim for payment. 

(b)  Payors shall not require the submission of information already 

contained in the standard claim form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1508 MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT 

PAYORS 

Medicare supplement insurance payors shall electronically 

interface claims data with the Medicare Section of CMS. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1509 PATIENT SUBMITTED CLAIM 

FORMS 

The health care provider shall provide a patient the CMS-1500 

and UB-04 (CMS-1450) standard claim forms, if the patient must 

submit a claim to a payor. The standard claim form shall be 

provided as the initial bill for payment of services and shall be 

used by the patient to request reimbursement from a payor. Health 

care providers shall also continue to provide patients billing 

statements for subsequent billing of the same services. A payor 

shall not require any additional documentation from a patient to 

support a claim for reimbursement payment by a patient if the 

information required is already contained on the standard claim 
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form. No payor shall require any patient to submit claims or other 

information in an electronic format. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-171; 

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1803 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

No insurer shall provide any PPO benefit plan unless it complies 

with the following: 

(1) Where the covered benefits of a PPO benefit 

plan include coinsurance, the difference in 

coinsurance rates between in-network covered 

services and out-of-network covered services 

shall not exceed 30 percentage points. 

(2) If the schedule of benefits for a PPO benefit 

plan imposes a deductible for in-network 

covered services, the amount of any separate 

annual deductible per enrollee or per family for 

out-of-network covered services may not 

exceed two times the amount of the annual per 

enrollee or per family deductible applied to in-

network covered services. 

(3) If the schedule of benefits for a PPO benefit 

plan does not include an annual deductible for 

in-network covered services, the annual 

deductibles for out-of-network covered 

services shall not exceed two hundred and fifty 

dollars ($250.00) per enrollee and the family 

deductible may not exceed seven hundred and 

fifty dollars ($750.00). 

(4) The portion of any charge for out-of-network 

covered services to be applied to an annual 

deductible may be based on actual charges or 

the insurer's usual and customary charges. 

(5) If there are benefit maximums for in-network 

covered services, the amount of any annual and 

lifetime maximum limits for out-of-network 

covered services shall not be less than one-half 

of the amount of any annual and lifetime 

maximum limits for in-network covered 

services. 

(6) If a PPO benefit plan includes copayments for 

both in-network covered services and out-of-

network covered services, the amount of the 

copayment for an out-of-network covered 

service shall not exceed the copayment for an 

in-network covered service by more than 

twenty dollars ($20.00) or 100%, whichever is 

greater. 

(7) If the schedule of benefits for a PPO benefit 

plan limits the annual out-of-pocket expenses of 

enrollees to a maximum amount for in-network 

covered services, the amount of any separate 

annual out-of-pocket maximum for out-of-

network covered services may not exceed two 

times the maximum amount for in-network 

covered services. 

(8) If the schedule of benefits for a PPO benefit 

plan does not include an annual maximum limit 

on out-of-pocket expenses for in-network 

covered services, the maximum limit on out-of-

pocket expenses for out-of-network covered 

services shall not exceed one thousand two 

hundred and fifty dollars ($1,250) per enrollee 

or three thousand seven hundred and fifty 

dollars ($3,750) per family. 

(9) An insurer offering a PPO benefit plan may 

limit coverage for annual physicals and health 

screenings performed for preventative purposes 

to those services provided on an in-network 

basis, except that services provided in 

connection with mandated benefits must be 

available on both an in-network and out-of-

network basis. An insurer shall provide 

coverage on both an in-network and out-of-

network basis for all other covered services. 

(10) PPO benefit plans shall give enrollees the 

option to choose in-network covered services or 

out-of-network covered services each time 

those covered services are authorized, obtained, 

or rendered; and shall not require enrollees to 

obtain insurer approval to exercise that option. 

(11) An insurer offering a PPO benefit plan shall not 

impose different medical management 

requirements, including utilization review 

criteria or prior approval requirements, for out-

of-network covered services than are imposed 

on in-network covered services. Those medical 

management requirements shall not restrict 

enrollees' abilities to seek covered services on 

out-of-network bases. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-50-56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0101 PURPOSE 

The Private Protective Services Board is established within the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety for the purpose of 

administering the licensing of and setting the education and 

training requirements for persons, firms, associations, and 

corporations engaged in the private protective services businesses 

within this State. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-4; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0101 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0102 LOCATION 

The administrative offices of the Private Protective Services 

Board are located at 3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27609, telephone (919) 788-5320. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-4; 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; March 1, 2001; December 1, 1993; 

December 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0102 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0103 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Agency Head" means the Chairman of the 

Board. 

(2) "Applicant" means any person, firm, or 

corporation applying to the Board for a license, 

trainee permit, registration, or firearms trainer 

certificate. 

(3) "Armed Private Security Officer" means an 

individual employed, full time or part time, by 

a contract security company or a proprietary 

security organization: 

(a) who at any time wears, carries, or 

possesses a firearm in the performance 

of his or her duties; and 

(b) whose principal duty is that of: 

(i) an armed security guard, 

officer, patrol, or watchman; 

(ii) an armed armored car service 

guard; 

(iii) a private detective; or 

(iv) an armed courier service 

guard. 

(4) "Board" means the Private Protective Services 

Board established by G.S. 74C. 

(5) "Branch Manager or Operator" means the 

individual endowed with the responsibility and 

liability for a branch office. 

(6) "Branch Office" means a separate but 

dependent part of a central organization 

engaged in the business of providing private 

protective services established for the purpose 

of extending the activities of the central 

organization. The establishment of a telephone 

number or mailing address in the company 

name constitutes prima facie evidence of a 

branch office. If an out-of-state person, firm, 

association, or corporation opens an office in 

North Carolina, the North Carolina office shall 

be deemed the principal place of business and 

shall have a resident licensed qualifying agent. 

(7) "Chairman" means the Chairman of the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(8) "Contract Security Company" means any 

person, firm, association, or corporation 

engaging in a private protective services 

business as defined in G.S. 74C-3 that provides 

the services on a contractual basis for a fee or 

other valuable consideration to any other 

person, firm, association, or corporation. 

(9) "Direct Supervision" means personal, face-to-

face contact and direction of the trainee's 

activities on a frequent and reasonable basis. 

(10) "Investigative Capacity" means any law 

enforcement agency position for which the 

duties include conducting investigations and 

interviews, completing reports, and testifying in 

courts, administrative hearings, or military 

tribunals. 

(11) "Law Enforcement Officer" means a sworn 

peace officer who has the power of arrest, and 

who is an employee of the United States, any 

state, or any political subdivision of a state. 

(12) "Licensee" means any person licensed to 

perform private protective services in North 

Carolina in accordance with G.S. 74C. 

(13) "Proprietary Security Organization" means any 

person, firm, association, corporation, or 

department thereof: 

(a) that employs any of the following: 

(i) watchmen; 

(ii) security guards or officers; 

(iii) patrol personnel; 

(iv) armored car personnel; or 

(v) couriers; and 

(b) that employs these persons regularly 

and exclusively as an employee in 

connection with the business affairs of 

such employer. 

(14) "Qualifying Agent" means the individual 

licensee who is responsible for the private 

protective services business. 

(15) "Restored" means that an individual is no 

longer in need of psychiatric care as determined 

by a physician. 

(16) "Temporary unarmed security guard" means an 

individual who is hired for a period of 30 days 

or less within a calendar year and who is 

designated by his or her employer as a 

temporary security guard at the start of 

employment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1988; July 

1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0104 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0104 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  This Rule applies to holders of a license, trainee permit, 

unarmed security guard registration, armed security guard 

registration, unarmed armored car service guard, armed armored 

car service guard, or firearms trainer certificates. No holder, while 

engaged in private protective services, shall wear or display any 

badge, insignia, device, shield, patch, or pattern that indicates or 

tends to indicate that the individual is a sworn law enforcement 

officer or that contains or includes the word "police" or the 

equivalent thereof, or is similar in wording to any law 

enforcement agency in the local area of the licensee's operations. 

(b)  No holder, while performing any private security service, 

shall have or utilize any vehicle or equipment displaying the 

words "law enforcement officer," "police," or the equivalent 

thereof, or have any sign, shield, marking, accessory, or insignia 

that indicates that the vehicle is a vehicle of a law enforcement 

agency. 

(c)  A holder who is required to wear a military style uniform 

while in the performance of private security services shall have: 

(1) affixed over the left breast pocket of the 

uniform and on all caps or hats worn by the 

individual, badges or patches, distinct in design 

from those used by law enforcement agencies 

within the local area of the licensee's 

operations; 

(2) affixed over the right breast pocket of the 

uniform a metal, plastic, or cloth tag not less 

than three inches nor more than five inches in 

length and not less than three-fourths inch nor 

more than one inch in height containing the 

words "Security Guard," "Security Officer," 

"Armored Car Guard," or "Armored Car 

Officer" in capital letters approximately one-

half inch in height; and 

(3) affixed over the "Security Guard," "Security 

Officer," "Armored Car Guard," or "Armored 

Car Officer" tag, a metal, plastic, or cloth tag 

bearing the name of the wearer. The name tag 

may be smaller than "Security Guard," 

"Security Officer," "Armored Car Guard," or 

"Armored Car Officer" tag if it is displayed in 

capital letters five-sixteenth inch to one-half 

inch in height. 

(d)  The wearing of the armed or unarmed private protective 

services card visible on the outermost garment (except foul 

weather clothing) satisfies the requirements of Subparagraphs 

(c)(1), (2) and (3) of this Rule. 

(e)  All holders who perform the duties of a security guard or 

security officer and who are not required to wear a military style 

uniform shall have affixed over the right or left breast pocket of 

the outermost garment (except for rainwear or other foul weather 

clothing) a tag as described in (c)(2) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 74C-15; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; January 1, 2013; July 1, 1995; 

July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0105 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0105 PROHIBITED ACTS 

(a)  In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these 

Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, any licensee, 

trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer who does any of the 

following may have his or her license, trainee permit, registration, 

or firearms trainer certificate revoked or suspended: 

(1) Displays or causes or allows to be displayed, or 

has in his or her possession any cancelled, 

revoked, suspended, fictitious, or fraudulently 

altered license, trainee permit, registration 

identification card, or firearms trainer 

certificate, or any document simulating, 

purporting to be, or purporting to have been 

issued as a license, trainee permit, registration 

identification card, or firearms trainer 

certificate; 

(2) Lends his or her license, trainee permit, 

registration identification card, or firearms 

trainer certificate to any person or allows the 

use thereof by another; 

(3) Displays or represents any license, trainee 

permit, registration identification card, or 

firearms trainer certificate not issued to him or 

her as being his or her license, trainee permit, 

registration identification card, or firearms 

trainer certificate; or 

(4) Includes in any advertisement a statement that 

implies official state authorized certification or 

approval other than this statement: "Licensed 

by the Private Protective Services Board of the 

State of North Carolina." Licensees must 

include their license number. 

(b)  In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these 

Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, it shall be 

grounds for application denial or license registration suspension 

or revocation for an applicant, licensee, trainee, registrant, or 

trainer to make any false statement or give any false information 

to a third party in connection with any criminal history record 

check provided to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-12; 

74C-16; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0106 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0106 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

(a)  The Board may deny a license, trainee permit, registration, or 

firearms trainer certificate for any violation of G.S. Chapter 74C 

or this Chapter. The Board may suspend or revoke a license, 

trainee permit, registration, or firearms trainer certificate for any 

violation of G.S. Chapter 74C or this Chapter, provided that the 

violation occurred within three years of the initiation of the Board 

investigation of the violation. 
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(b)  The Board may issue a written reprimand to a holder of a 

license, trainee permit, registration identification card, or firearms 

trainee certificate when the Board determines: 

(1) the holder has violated any of the provision of 

this Chapter or G.S. Chapter 74C that were 

applicable to the holder; 

(2) the violation did not result in the physical injury 

of or property loss to any person; and 

(3) the holder expresses an intention to correct or 

already has corrected the improper activity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0107 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0107 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

OFFICERS SPECIAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  Law enforcement officers may provide security guard and 

patrol services on an individual employer-employee basis to any 

person, firm, association, or corporation that is not engaged in a 

contract security guard and patrol business. 

(b)  Law enforcement officers, while off-duty, may be employed 

by a licensed security guard and patrol business provided the 

officer is registered with the Board. 

(c)  A law enforcement officer employed by a proprietary security 

organization at times when the officer is not scheduled for work 

with the employing law enforcement agency shall not be 

considered as being employed regularly and exclusively as an 

employee in connection with the business affairs of the employer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-21; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0108 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0108 RECORDS 

(a)  All records for an audit or an investigation required to be 

maintained by G.S. 74C or this Chapter shall be subject to 

inspection by the Director or the Director's designee between 8:00 

a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

(b)  Upon written request from the Director or the Director's 

designee, any licensee having registered employees shall submit 

a copy of its quarterly Division of Employment Security reports 

within 10 days of the request. 

(c)  All records required to be kept by this Chapter shall be 

retained for at least three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2010; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0109 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0111 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR 

TELEPHONE NUMBER 

All licensees, registrants, permittees, and trainers must inform the 

Board of their home address, business street address, home 

telephone number, and business telephone number and must 

inform the Board within 15 days of any changes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0113 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0112 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

TO EXPEND FUNDS 

In the event that the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d), the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses, registrations, and certifications and all 

fees tendered shall be placed in an escrow account maintained by 

the Board for this purpose. Once the Board's authority is restored, 

the funds shall be moved from the escrow account into the general 

operating account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-2(d); 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0114 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0113 INVOLVEMENT IN 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

All licensees, registrants, and trainers shall report to the Board any 

administrative proceeding commenced against him or her that 

involves any potential revocation or suspension of, or other 

disciplinary action against, any private protective service license, 

permit, certification, or registration that he or she holds in another 

state. The Board must receive written notice of any such 

administrative proceeding within 30 days of the date the licensee, 

registrant, or trainer is notified of the administrative proceeding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 

Eff. October 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0115 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0204 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Experience requirements shall be determined as follows: 

(1) one year experience = 1,000 

hours; 

(2) two years experience = 2,000 

hours; 

(3) three years experience = 3,000 

hours. 

(b)  Applicants shall make available upon Board request written 

documentation to verify experience. 
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(c)  When applying for a license, registration, or trainee permit, 

the Board shall not consider any experience claimed by the 

applicant if: 

(1) gained by contracting private protective 

services to another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while not in possession of a valid 

private protective services license; or 

(2) gained when employed by a company 

contracting private protective services to 

another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while the company is not in 

possession of a valid private protective services 

license. 

(d)  The Board may consider formal classroom training that is 

directly related to the private protective services industry. The 

Board may grant one half hour of credit for each hour of formal 

classroom training, but shall grant no more than 200 hours. 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule is to be considered in addition to any 

other formal training credits. No credit shall be given for formal 

training required pursuant to these Rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

ARRC Objection October 19, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; March 1, 1989; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0204 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0301 EXPERIENCE 

REQUIREMENTS/SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL 

LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a security guard and patrol license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience as a manager, 

supervisor, or administrator with a contract 

security company or a proprietary security 

organization performing guard and patrol 

functions; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of experience as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator in security with any federal, state, 

county, or municipal law enforcement agency 

performing guard and patrol functions; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator performing guard and patrol 

functions. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a security guard and patrol license that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years as a manager, 

supervisor, or administrator performing guard 

and patrol functions. 

(c)  The Board shall give credit toward the experience 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) and 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 

hours of experience credit for an associate's 

degree. The Board shall grant up to 100 

additional hours if the applicant can 

demonstrate that further training or course-

work related to the private protective services 

industry was received while obtaining the 

associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the 

private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

(d)  Persons licensed under Chapter 74D of the General Statutes 

of North Carolina may be issued a limited guard and patrol license 

exclusively for providing armed alarm responders. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; February 1, 2009; December 1, 

1995; January 4, 1994; January 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0301 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0302 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR GUARD DOG SERVICE LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a guard dog service license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction two years of 

verifiable experience as a manager, supervisor, 

administrator, or dog handler with a contract 

security company or proprietary security 

organization performing guard dog functions; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction two years of 

experience as a manager, supervisor, 

administrator, or dog handler with any federal, 

state, county, or municipal agency performing 

guard dog functions; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 
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experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator or dog handler performing guard 

dog functions. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a guard dog service license that is the 

spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall 

establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years as a 

manager, supervisor, or administrator or dog 

handler performing guard dog functions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; February 1, 2009; January 4, 

1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0302 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0401 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section 

.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a private investigator license 

shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

with a contract security company or with a 

private person, firm, association, or 

corporation; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter with 

any federal, state, county, municipal law 

enforcement agency, or other governmental 

agency; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a private investigator license that is the 

spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall 

establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years while conducting 

investigations as set forth in in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter. 

(c)  The Board shall give credit toward the experience 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule as 

follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive of 400 hours of 

experience credit for an associate's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 100 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the 

private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1989 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on March 31, 1990; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; February 1, 2009; December 1, 

1995; January 4, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0401 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0402 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR AN ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES 

LICENSE 

In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter, 

applicants for an electronic countermeasures license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of experience in electronic countermeasures; or 

(2) have successfully completed a course in 

electronic countermeasures given by a school 

specializing in electronic countermeasures that 

consists of a minimum of 40 hours of actual 

classroom instruction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; January 4, 1994; July 1, 1987; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0402 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0403 TRAINEE PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a trainee permit in private investigation or 

countermeasures shall be directly supervised by a licensee 

approved by the Board and that supervisor shall be responsible for 

the training and investigations of the trainee. 

(b)  Trainees who wish to apply for a license must submit an 

application to the Board in accordance with Rule .0201 of this 

Chapter. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees shall maintain a log on a form 

provided by the Board on its website as evidence of experience. 

This log must be available for inspection when applying for a 

private investigator license. 

(d)  Any request for renewal of a trainee permit or for issuance of 

a license shall be accompanied by an evaluation report of the 

trainee's performance on a form provided by the Board on its 

website and submitted by the trainee's supervisor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0403 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS 

(a)  Private investigators shall make and offer to each client a 

written report containing the findings and details of the 

investigation within 30 days after the completion of the 

investigation for which the client has paid the investigator for the 

services. The licensee shall retain a copy of the written report. 

(b)  Descriptive reports, chronological reports, cover letters, and 

itemized invoices to the client shall be personally signed by a 

licensee. The file copy shall reflect the names of all participating 

employees and a description of the work performed by each one. 

These documents shall be retained by the licensee who signed the 

report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0404 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0405 PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR'S 

USE OF A BADGE 

While engaged in his or her official duties, a private investigator 

shall be allowed to carry, possess, and display the badge set forth 

in this Rule. The badge shall be a duplicate of the badge shown 

below except for the licensee's name and license number. The 

badge shall be gold with dark blue lettering. Any deviation from 

this design shall be deemed an unauthorized badge and may 

constitute a violation of G.S. 74C-12(a) and this Rule. The badge 

shall be displayed in a folding pocket case with the badge 

displayed on one side of the case and the private investigator's 

pocket credential issued by the Board displayed on the opposite 

side of the case. 

 

 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(12); 

Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0405 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a polygraph license shall: 

(1) pass an examination and a performance test 

administered by a panel of polygraph examiners 

designated by the Board; 

(2) successfully complete a course of instruction at 

any polygraph school approved by the 

American Polygraph Association, the 

American Association of Police Polygraphists, 

or the Board; and 

(3) have either: 

(A) one year of verifiable polygraph 

experience; or 

(B) complete at least six months of 

training as a holder of a polygraph 

trainee permit, and have administered 

no fewer than 50 polygraph 

examinations; or 

(4) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces performing polygraph 

examinations. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a polygraph license who is the spouse of 

an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish 

to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 
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(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years 

performing polygraph examinations. 

(c)  Applicants for a polygraph license may take the examination 

required in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule no more than twice 

in any calendar year. Any applicant who fails the polygraph 

examination four times shall retake the polygraph course of 

instruction required in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule before 

taking the polygraph examination again. 

(d)  Polygraph operators who are duly licensed in another state 

may perform up to three examinations in this State without being 

licensed, provided that those examinations are for the purpose of 

an evaluation of that examiner and the Director has given 

authorization for this evaluation in advance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; October 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0501 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0503 POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

Polygraph licensees and trainees shall adhere to the following: 

(1) Obtain written consent from the individual to be 

examined. The consent form shall be signed in 

the presence of the examiner and shall include 

a statement advising the examinee that he or she 

may terminate the examination at any time. 

(2) A printed or reproducible electronic copy of 

each chart collected, as well as documents 

associated with the examination such as reports, 

question sets, and signed consent forms, shall 

be retained by the examiner for a minimum of 

three years. The examiner shall record the 

following information: 

(a) the name of the examinee; 

(b) the date of the examination; 

(c) the type of examination; 

(d) the time the examination started; 

(e) the location of the examination; and 

(f) the name and license number of the 

examiner. 

This requirement may be completed by labeling 

the beginning of the first printed chart by hand, 

or by entering the information into the 

electronic polygraph file. 

(3) The examiner shall give the examinee an 

opportunity prior to concluding the 

examination to explain reactions on the charts. 

(4) The examiner shall not issue or permit an 

employee to issue an examination report that is 

misleading, biased, or falsified. 

(5) Each examination report shall be a factual, 

impartial, and objective account of the pertinent 

information developed during the examination 

and the examiner's professional conclusion, 

based upon the analysis of the charts. 

(6) All questions considered for chart analysis shall 

be documented in writing or an electronic 

question set and shall be reviewed with the 

examinee prior to any testing. 

(7) An examiner shall not make a conclusive verbal 

or written examination report without having 

administered two or more charts consisting of 

the same questions. 

(8) An examiner shall not inquire into the sexual 

conduct or preferences of a person to whom a 

polygraph examination is being given unless 

pertinent to an alleged sex-related crime, nor 

shall an examiner inquire into the activities, 

affiliations, or beliefs on religion, politics, or 

race, except where there is relevancy to an 

investigation. 

(9) Each chart shall be signed at the end of the chart 

by the examinee and the examiner before the 

end of the recording if using an analog 

instrument. If an analog instrument is used, the 

examiner shall retain printed and not electronic 

copies of the charts for a minimum of three 

years. Retaining reproducible electronic copies 

of all charts noting the names of the examiner 

and examinee as well as the date and time of 

testing will also meet the requirements of this 

Item. 

(10) An examiner shall conduct no more than five 

examinations in a 24 hour period. 

(11) Each examiner shall keep a daily log of 

examinations. The daily log of examinations 

shall be maintained by the licensee for a 

minimum of three years and shall be subject to 

inspections by the Director or the Director's 

designee between 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. 

Monday through Friday. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; December 1, 1987; July 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0503 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0504 POLYGRAPH INSTRUMENTS 

(a)  A polygraph examiner shall not conduct an examination 

unless the instrument used makes a simultaneous recording of at 

least three physiological tracings including the pneumo cardio and 

electrodermal changes. This recording must be in a form capable 

of review by another polygraph examiner and shall be available 

to the Board or its designated representative. This requirement 

shall not prohibit recording additional physiological phenomena 

on the same charts. 

(b)  A polygraph examiner shall not conduct an examination on 

an instrument unless the examiner has ensured the instrument is 

functioning as designed. 
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(c)  A polygraph examiner shall: 

(1) complete a functionality check or calibration of 

the instrument at time intervals that comply 

with the manufacturer's recommendations; and 

(2) maintain a signed and dated record of the charts 

collected during the functionality check or 

calibration for a period of three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; August 1, 1998; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0504 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0601 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS EVALUATOR 

LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a Psychological Stress Evaluator (P.S.E.) 

license shall: 

(1) successfully complete a course of instruction at 

any P.S.E. school approved by the Board; or 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces conducting 

psychological stress evaluations. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a P.S.E. license that is the spouse of an 

active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish to 

the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years 

conducting psychological stress evaluations. 

(c)  A P.S.E. school shall consist of not less than 40 hours of live 

classroom instruction in psychological stress evaluation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; March 1, 2008; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0601 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0602 P.S.E. EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

P.S.E. licensees shall comply with the requirements of Rule .0503 

of this Chapter. In addition, P.S.E. examinations shall be 

conducted by the examiner in the presence of the examinee and 

with the examinee's knowledge that he or she is being examined. 

Examination by telephone is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0602 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0603 P.S.E. INSTRUMENTS 

An instrument used for P.S.E. examinations shall be capable of 

measuring and recording voice reactions on a graph. This 

recording must be in a form suitable for examination by another 

P.S.E. examiner. Such recordings shall be available to the Board 

or its designated representative. The instrument must be given 

maintenance, cleaning, adjustment, and demagnetizing 

periodically as recommended by the manufacturer and not less 

than once after each eight hours of continuous mechanical 

operation. The examiner shall conduct a test pattern of the 

instrument prior to each examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0603 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

An applicant for registration shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) be a citizen of the United States or a resident 

alien; 

(3) be of good moral character and temperate 

habits. Any of the following within the last five 

years shall be prima facie evidence that the 

applicant does not have good moral character or 

temperate habits: conviction by any local, state, 

federal, or military court of any crime involving 

the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a 

firearm; conviction of any crime involving the 

illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, 

distribution, or transportation of a controlled 

substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic 

beverage, conviction of a crime involving 

felonious assault or an act of violence; 

conviction of a crime involving unlawful 

breaking and/or entering, burglary, larceny, any 

offense involving moral turpitude; or a history 

of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic drug. For 

the purposes of this Rule, "conviction" means 

and includes the entry of a plea of guilty, plea 

of no contest, or a verdict rendered in open 

court by a judge or jury; 

(4) not have been judicially declared incompetent 

or not have been involuntarily committed to an 

institution for treatment of mental illness. When 

an individual has been treated and found to have 

been restored, the Board will consider this 

evidence and determine whether the applicant 

meets the requirements of this Rule; and 

(5) not have had a revocation of a registration. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12(a)(19); 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0703 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed security guard registration shall 

complete the basic unarmed security guard training course within 

30 days from the date of permanent hire. The course shall consist 

of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including: 

(1) The Security Officer in North Carolina -- 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) Legal Issues for Security Officers -- (minimum 

of three hours); 

(3) Emergency Response -- (minimum of three 

hours); 

(4) Communications -- (minimum of two hours); 

(5) Patrol Procedures -- (minimum of three hours); 

(6) Note Taking and Report Writing -- (minimum 

of three hours); and 

(7) Deportment -- (minimum of one hour). 

A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction shall be 

completed within 20 calendar days of any security guard, 

including probationary, being placed on a duty station. These four 

hours shall include the instruction on The Security Officer in 

North Carolina and Legal Issues for Security Officers. 

(b)  Licensees shall submit to the Director the name of the certified 

unarmed security guard trainer who will be conducting the 

unarmed security guard training.  

(c)  Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed 

security guard trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the 

training requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be made 

available by the Board to each trainer. The Board may approve 

other media training materials that deliver the training 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  The 16 hours of training may be delivered remotely under the 

following conditions: 

(1) The training is presented by a Board certified 

unarmed security officer trainer. 

(2) Each student is given a copy of the unarmed 

security guard training manual to use for the 

duration of the 16 hour training course. 

(3) The technology used allows the trainer to see 

the students and the students to see the trainer 

in real time during the training. 

(4) All students in each classroom are able to see 

and read the screen or monitor, and they must 

be able to hear and understand the audio 

presentation. All monitors used in each 

classroom must be at least 32 inches wide. 

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so 

that the training audio and video is delivered 

smoothly and without interruption. 

(6) Each student is taught to use the audio and 

video equipment in the classroom prior to the 

start of the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training course. 

(7) The total number of students receiving the 

remote training at one time does not exceed 35 

students. 

(8) Any additional training beyond the Board 

mandated training in the unarmed security 

guard training manual is taught either before or 

after the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training. 

(9) The Director is notified five days prior to 

training of the location of each classroom, 

name, and location of the certified trainer, and 

the number of students who will be present. 

(10) The sponsoring agency allows the Director or 

the Director's designee access via computer of 

the training during the time that it is taking 

place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13(m); 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; November 1, 2006; June 1, 2004; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0707 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0803 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

Applicants for an armed security guard registration shall meet all 

of the requirements of Rule .0703 of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1990; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0803 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0402 SCOPE 

Effluent limits established in this Section shall apply to all 

effluents discharged from pretreatment facilities and from outlets 

and point sources to the waters of the state. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0403 DEFINITION OF TERMS 

The terms used in this Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-212 

and 143-213; the federal Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. 1251 et 

seq.); 40 CFR Parts 122, 124, and 125; and as follows: 

(1) "Commission" means the Environmental 

Management Commission or its successor. 
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(2) "Conventional pollutants" means biochemical 

oxygen demand (BOD(5)), Total Suspended 

Solids (TSS), pH, fecal coliform, oil and grease, 

and any other pollutants the USEPA designates 

as conventional in applicable regulations. 

(3) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources or Division of Energy, 

Mineral and Land Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority; or his or her designee. 

(4) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources or the Division of Energy, Mineral 

and Land Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority. 

(5) "Effluent limited" segment of a surface water 

means a segment that stream monitoring, 

assessment, modeling, or other analysis 

indicates is meeting applicable water quality 

standards or will meet applicable water quality 

standards after the application of minimum 

treatment requirements. 

(6) "Minimum treatment requirements" means the 

minimum technology-based effluent limitations 

that a specific discharge would be required to 

meet in order to satisfy applicable treatment 

standards, including the following: 

(a) "Secondary treatment" is the 

minimum standard of treatment for 

POTWs, as set forth in Rule .0406(a) 

of this Section. 

(b) "Best waste stabilization pond 

technology" is the standard of 

treatment for waste stabilization ponds 

treating municipal or similar 

wastewaters only, as set forth in Rule 

.0406(a) of this Section. 

(c) "Best practicable waste treatment 

technology," or "BPWTT," is an 

advanced standard of treatment for 

POTWs, as set forth in Rule .0406(a) 

of this Section. 

(d) "Best practicable pollutant control 

technology," or "BPT," is the 

minimum standard of treatment for 

existing industrial dischargers, as set 

forth in Rule .0406(c) of this Section 

and in 40 CFR Chapter I, Subpart N – 

Effluent Guidelines and Standards. 

(e) "Best conventional pollutant control 

technology," or "BCT," is a standard 

of treatment for existing industrial 

dischargers and typically applies to 

conventional pollutants, as set forth in 

Rule .0406(c) of this Section and in 40 

CFR Chapter I, Subpart N – Effluent 

Guidelines and Standards. 

(f) "Best available technology 

economically achievable," or "BAT" 

is a standard of treatment for industrial 

dischargers and typically applies to 

nonconventional and priority 

pollutants, as set forth in Rule .0406(c) 

of this Section and 40 CFR Chapter I, 

Subpart N – Effluent Guidelines and 

Standards. 

(g) "New source performance standards" 

is the standard of treatment for 

industrial dischargers determined to 

be a new source pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02B .0407. 

Minimum treatment requirements must be met 

even if the receiving waters affected can or are 

expected to be able to accept higher 

pollutant-load levels and still meet applicable 

water quality standards. 

(7) "Nonconventional pollutant" means any 

pollutant not categorized as a conventional or 

priority pollutant parameter. 

(8) "Oxygen consuming wastes" means those 

wastewater discharge components that are 

oxygen demanding in the aquatic environment. 

These are generally limited by BOD(5) and 

NH(3)-N. 

(9) "Priority pollutant" means any chemical 

pollutant listed in 40 CFR Part 423, Appendix 

A. 

(10) "Publicly owned treatment works," or 

"POTW," means a treatment works owned by a 

State or a municipality and is as defined in 40 

CFR 403.3. This regulation can be accessed 

free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(11) "Settleable solids" means the volumetric 

measurement of solids determined in the 

following manner: place one liter of the 

wastewater in a standard Imhoff cone and allow 

to settle for 45 minutes. After 45 minutes 

settling, stir the liquid layer, taking care not to 

disturb the solids already settled, and allow to 

settle for 15 additional minutes. Read the 

volume of solids immediately in milliliter per 

liter (ml/l). 

(12) "Staff" means the Division. 

(13) "Technology-based effluent limitations (or 

limits)," or "TBELs," means those effluent 

limits that are based on minimum treatment 

requirements. 

(14) "Waste stabilization pond" (also called a 

"lagoon" or "oxidation pond") means an 

excavated or impounded basin designed for 

long term detention of treated or untreated 

wastewater and biological treatment to reduce 

biochemical oxygen demand and suspended 

solids. The pond may be single-cell or multi-

cell. Stabilization ponds are further defined as: 

(a) Photosynthetic Pond means a pond 

that is designed to rely on 

photosynthetic oxygenation (i.e., 
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oxygen from algae) for any portion of 

the oxygen needed for waste 

treatment; this includes oxidation 

ponds and facultative lagoons. These 

ponds may have supplemental 

aeration by mechanical means. With 

regard to hydraulic flow, 

photosynthetic ponds are either of the: 

(i) flow-through type, in which 

the pond is designed to 

discharge throughout the 

year; or 

(ii) controlled-discharge type, in 

which the pond is designed to 

retain the wastewater without 

discharge from six months to 

one year, followed by 

controlled discharge over a 

short time interval, typically 

one to three weeks; 

(b) Aerated Pond means a pond that is 

designed to rely on mechanical or 

diffused air aeration rather than 

photosynthetic oxygenation to provide 

oxygen needed for biological waste 

treatment. Aerated ponds are either of 

the: 

(i) complete-mix type, in which 

sufficient energy is imparted 

to the wastewater to prevent 

deposition of solids in the 

pond; or 

(ii) partial-mix type, in which 

only sufficient energy is used 

to dissolve and mix oxygen 

in the wastewater. Solid 

materials that settle in the 

partial-mix pond are 

decomposed anaerobically. 

Algae are commonly found 

in the partial-mix aerated 

pond, but the pond's design 

does not rely on 

photosynthetic oxygenation. 

This definition does not include polishing or 

holding ponds which are preceded by other 

biochemical or physical/chemical secondary 

treatment processes and designed to increase 

their efficiency.  

(15) "Water quality-based effluent limitations (or 

limits)," or "WQBELs," means those effluent 

limits that are established to ensure that a 

discharge does not cause or contribute to a 

contravention of state surface water quality 

standards. 

(16) "Water quality limited" segment of a surface 

water means a segment in which water quality 

does not meet applicable water quality 

standards or is not expected to meet them even 

after the application of minimum treatment 

requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 12, 1979; November 1, 1978; December 1, 

1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0404 WATER QUALITY BASED 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS  

(a)  Effluent limitations shall be developed by the staff for all 

existing or proposed discharges to the surface waters of the state. 

Water quality based effluent limitations shall be established for 

discharges that are found, through mathematical modeling of 

water quality impacts, statistical analysis of stream characteristics 

and effluent data or other appropriate means, to have a reasonable 

potential to cause or contribute to exceedance of applicable water 

quality standards; except that, if the discharge is subject to both 

technology based and water quality based effluent limitations for 

a parameter, the more stringent limit shall apply. 

(b)  The staff may on a case-by-case basis develop seasonal 

limitations on the discharge of oxygen-consuming wastes when a 

treatment facility complies with applicable limitations on these 

wastes in the summer season but does not consistently comply in 

the winter season due to the effects of cooler temperatures or other 

seasonal factors beyond its control. A discharger may request 

seasonal effluent limitations by submitting a written request to the 

Director with justification for such limitations. In no case shall 

seasonal limitations cause or be expected to cause a receiving 

water body to violate applicable water quality standards. 

(c)  For the purpose of determining seasonal effluent limitations, 

the year shall consist of a summer and a winter discharge period. 

The summer period shall begin April 1 and extend through 

October 31. The winter period shall begin November 1 and extend 

through March 31. The summer oxygen-consuming wasteload 

allocation shall be developed using the flow criteria specified in 

15A NCAC 02B .0206. The winter oxygen-consuming wasteload 

allocation shall not exceed two times the summer 

oxygen-consuming wasteload limitations nor shall it be less 

restrictive than minimum treatment requirements. 

(d)  No domestic sewage regardless of the treatment proposed and 

no other wastes that could adversely affect the taking of shellfish 

for market purposes shall be discharged into water classified 

"SA", into unnamed waters tributary to "SA" waters classified "C" 

or "SC" in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B .0301(i)(1)(B) and 

(C), or into other waters in such close proximity as to adversely 

affect such "SA" waters. Wastes discharged into other waters 

tributary to waters classified "SA" shall be treated in such manner 

as to assure that no impairment of water quality in the "SA" 

segments shall occur. No permits shall be issued for discharges 

into waters classified "SA" unless Shellfish Sanitation, Division 

of Marine Fisheries, Department of Environmental Quality, 

provides written concurrence that the discharge would not 

adversely affect shellfish water quality or the propagation of 

shellfish. 
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(e)  The discharge of wastewaters to the Atlantic Ocean shall 

follow the guidelines and requirements set forth in 40 CFR Part 

125, Subpart M, Ocean Discharge Criteria. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.2(c); 143-215; 

143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 12, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0406 TECHNOLOGY BASED 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS 

(a)  Municipal (POTW) Wastewaters and Other Similar 

Discharges 

(1) Applicability. This Paragraph is applicable to 

all municipal wastewater treatment discharges 

and all discharges consisting primarily of 

domestic sewage. In addition to the limits 

contained in this Paragraph, limits applicable to 

industrial categories contained in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule shall be applicable to any 

municipality if influent waste discharges from 

industries in any single category account for 10 

or more percent of its average daily wastewater 

flow or the industrial discharges significantly 

impact the municipal system or its effluent 

discharge. 

(2) Effluent limitations, except for waste 

stabilization ponds subject to Subparagraph (3) 

of this Paragraph, shall include the following: 

 

 SECONDARY "BPWTT" 

Effluent 

Characteristic 

Monthly 

Avg. 

Weekly 

Avg. 

Max. 

Avg. Max. 

BOD(5) 30 mg/l 45 mg/l Reserved 

TSS 30 mg/l 45 mg/l Reserved 

Fecal 

Coliform 
(Effluent 

limitations for 

coliform bacteria 

Reserved 

pH Reserved 

and pH shall be 

imposed only if 

necessary to 

maintain 

compliance with 

applicable water 

quality standards.) 

 

(3) Effluent limitations for waste stabilization 

ponds shall include the following, provided 

that: 

(A) Waste stabilization ponds are the sole 

process used for secondary treatment; 

(B) The maximum facility design capacity 

is two million gallons per day or less; 

and 

(C) Operation and maintenance data 

indicate that the requirements for TSS 

of Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph 

cannot be achieved.  

 

 SECONDARY "BPWTT" 

Effluent 

Characteristic 

Monthly 

Avg. 

Weekly 

Avg. 

Max. 

Avg. Max. 

BOD(5) 30 mg/L 
45 

mg/L 
Reserved 

TSS 90 mg/L 
135 

mg/L 
Reserved 

Fecal 

Coliform 

(Effluent 

limitations for 

coliform bacteria 

and pH shall be 

imposed only if 

necessary to 

maintain 

compliance with 

applicable water 

quality standards.) 

Reserved 

pH Reserved 

 

(b)  Industrial Waste Discharges. 

(1) Applicability. This Paragraph is applicable to industrial wastewater treatment discharges. 

(2) Effluent limits for industrial waste discharges are set forth in regulations promulgated by the Environmental Protection 

Agency, including those in 40 CFR Chapter I, Subpart N – Effluent Guidelines and Standards, which are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. These regulations can be accessed free 

of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

 

40 CFR Part 129 -- EPA Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards 

40 CFR Part 401 -- EPA General Provisions for Effluent Guidelines and Standards 

40 CFR Part 405 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Dairy Products 

40 CFR Part 406 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Grain Mills 

40 CFR Part 407 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Canned and Preserved Fruits and Vegetables 

40 CFR Part 408 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Canned and Preserved Seafood 

40 CFR Part 409 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Sugar Processing 

40 CFR Part 410 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Textiles 

40 CFR Part 411 -- EPA Cement Manufacturing Effluent Guidelines and Standards 

40 CFR Part 412 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) 

40 CFR Part 413 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Electroplating 
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40 CFR Part 414 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Organic Chemicals 

40 CFR Part 415 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Inorganic Chemicals 

40 CFR Part 417 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Soaps and Detergents 

40 CFR Part 418 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Fertilizer Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 419 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Petroleum Refining 

40 CFR Part 420 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Iron and Steel Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 421 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Nonferrous Metals 

40 CFR Part 422 -- EPA Phosphate Manufacturing Effluent Guidelines and Standards 

40 CFR Part 423 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Steam Electric Power Generating 

40 CFR Part 424 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines for Ferroalloy Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 425 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Leather Tanning and Finishing 

40 CFR Part 426 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Glass Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 427 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Asbestos Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 428 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines for Rubber Processing 

40 CFR Part 429 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Timber Products 

40 CFR Part 430 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Pulp, Paper, and Paper Board 

40 CFR Part 432 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Meat Products 

40 CFR Part 433 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Metal Finishing 

40 CFR Part 434 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Coal Mining 

40 CFR Part 435 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Offshore Oil and Gas Extraction 

40 CFR Part 436 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Mineral Mining and Processing 

40 CFR Part 437 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Centralized Waste Treatment 

40 CFR Part 438 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Metals Products and Machinery 

40 CFR Part 439 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Pharmaceutical Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 440 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Ore Mining and Dressing 

40 CFR Part 441 – EPA Effluent Limitations Guidelines and Standards for the Dental Category 

40 CFR Part 442 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Transportation Equipment Cleaning 

40 CFR Part 443 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Paving and Roofing Materials 

40 CFR Part 444 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Waste Combustors 

40 CFR Part 445 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Landfills 

40 CFR Part 446 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Paint Formulating 

40 CFR Part 447 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Ink Formulating 

40 CFR Part 449 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Airport Deicing 

40 CFR Part 450 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Construction and Development 

40 CFR Part 451 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Concentrated Aquatic Animal Production 

(Aquaculture) 

40 CFR Part 454 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Gum and Wood Chemicals Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 455 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines for Pesticide Chemicals Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 457 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Explosives Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 458 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Carbon Black Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 459 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Photographic Processing 

40 CFR Part 460 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Hospitals 

40 CFR Part 461 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Battery Manufacturing 

40 CFR Part 463 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Plastic Molding and Forming 

40 CFR Part 464 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Metal Molding and Casting (Foundries) 

40 CFR Part 465 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Coil Coating 

40 CFR Part 466 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Porcelain Enameling 

40 CFR Part 467 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Aluminum Forming 

40 CFR Part 468 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Copper Forming 

40 CFR Part 469 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Electrical and Electronic Components 

40 CFR Part 471 -- EPA Effluent Guidelines and Standards for Nonferrous Metals Forming and Metal Powders 

 

(3) For industrial categories or parts of categories 

for which effluent limits and guidelines have 

not been published and adopted, effluent 

limitations for existing industrial waste 

discharges, or new industrial waste discharges 

shall be calculated by the staff using the 

projected limits of the Environmental 

Protection Agency, the Environmental 

Protection Agency development document, and 

other available information in order to achieve 

the purposes of Article 21. 

(4) On a case-by-case basis, if the staff determines, 

based on its professional judgment and 

applicable State and Federal guidelines, Rules, 
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and laws, that effluent limits established by 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Paragraph are not 

adequate to control settleable solids, the staff 

shall establish effluent limits for settleable 

solids. Such effluent limitations for settleable 

solids shall be applicable only when the 

projected average solids concentration exceeds 

5.0 ml/l and the limitations established shall lie 

within the range of 0.1 ml/l to 5.0 ml/l.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215; 143 215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1), (4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; December 1, 1984; November 1, 

1978; December 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0407 GUIDANCE FOR 

DETERMINING A NEW SOURCE 

(a)  A source shall be considered a new source by the Director if, 

on the date of publication of any applicable new source 

performance standard, construction has not commenced, as 

indicated by: 

(1) significant site preparation work, such as major 

clearing or excavation;  

(2) placement, assembly, or installation of facilities 

or equipment at the premises where such 

facilities or equipment will be used; except as 

provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(3) contractual obligation to purchase facilities or 

equipment whose value represents a substantial 

commitment to construct the facility, such as: 

(A) structures; 

(B) structural materials; 

(C) machinery; 

(D) process equipment; or 

(E) construction equipment; or 

(4) contractual obligation with a firm to design, 

engineer, and erect a completed facility (i.e., a 

turnkey plant). 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the placement, assembly, or 

installation of facilities or equipment used in connection with 

feasibility, engineering, and design studies regarding the source 

or water pollution treatment for the source does not indicate that 

construction has commenced. 

(c)  A modification to an existing source shall be considered a new 

source if the alteration is of such magnitude to, in effect, create a 

new facility. Only those portions of a facility determined to be a 

new source shall be required to achieve new source performance 

standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1), (4); 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0408 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

(a)  The following sections of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and shall apply throughout 

this Section except where procedural details of the federal 

regulations differ from procedures adopted elsewhere in this 

Section, in which case these Rules shall apply. These regulations 

can be accessed free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(1) 40 CFR 122.2, 124.2, and 125.2: Definitions; 

(2) 40 CFR 122.4: Prohibitions): 

(3) 40 CFR 122.5 (a) and (b): Effect of permit; 

(4) 40 CFR 122.7 (b) and (c): Confidential 

information; 

(5) 40 CFR 122.21 (a)-(b), (c)(2), (e)-(k), (m)-(p), 

(q), and (r): Application for a permit; 

(6) 40 CFR 122.22: Signatories; 

(7) 40 CFR 122.23: Concentrated animal feeding 

operations; 

(8) 40 CFR 122.24: Concentrated aquatic animal 

production facilities; 

(9) 40 CFR 122.25: Aquaculture projects; 

(10) 40 CFR 122.26: Storm water discharges; 

(11) 40 CFR 122.27: Silviculture; 

(12) 40 CFR 122.28: General permits; 

(13) 40 CFR 122.29 (a), (b), and (d): New sources 

and new dischargers; 

(14) 40 CFR 122.30: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: objectives; 

(15) 40 CFR 122.31: NPDES stormwater 

regulations: role of Tribes; 

(16) 40 CFR 122.32: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: applicability; 

(17) 40 CFR 122.33: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: application for 

permit; 

(18) 40 CFR 122.34: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: permit 

requirements; 

(19) 40 CFR 122.35: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: shared 

responsibilities; 

(20) 40 CFR 122.36: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: compliance; 

(21) 40 CFR 122.37: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: evaluation; 

(22) 40 CFR 122.41 (a)(1) and (b) through (n): 

Applicable permit conditions; 

(23) 40 CFR 122.42: Conditions applicable to 

specified categories of permits; 

(24) 40 CFR 122.43: Establishing permit conditions; 

(25) 40 CFR 122.44: Establishing NPDES permit 

conditions; 

(26) 40 CFR 122.45: Calculating permit conditions; 

(27) 40 CFR 122.46: Duration; 

(28) 40 CFR 122.47 (a): Schedules of compliance; 

(29) 40 CFR 122.48: Monitoring requirements; 

(30) 40 CFR 122.50: Disposal into wells; 

(31) 40 CFR 122.61: Permit transfer; 
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(32) 40 CFR 122.62: Permit modification; 

(33) 40 CFR 122.64: Permit termination; 

(34) 40 CFR 124.3 (a): Application for a permit; 

(35) 40 CFR 124.5 (a), (c), (d), and (f): Modification 

of permits; 

(36) 40 CFR 124.6 (a), (c), (d), and (e): Draft permit; 

(37) 40 CFR 124.8: Fact sheets; 

(38) 40 CFR 124.10 (a)(1)(ii), (a)(1)(iii), (a)(1)(v), 

(b), (c), (d), and (e): Public notice; 

(39) 40 CFR 124.11: Public comments and requests 

for hearings; 

(40) 40 CFR 124.12 (a): Public hearings; 

(41) 40 CFR 124.17 (a) and (c): Response to 

comments; 

(42) 40 CFR 124.56: Fact sheets; 

(43) 40 CFR 124.57 (a): Public notice; 

(44) 40 CFR 124.59: Comments from government 

agencies; 

(45) 40 CFR 124.62: Decision on variances; 

(46) 40 CFR Part 125, Subparts A (Technology-

Based Treatment Requirements), B 

(Aquaculture), D (Fundamentally Different 

Factors), H (Alternative Limitations, CWA 

Section 316(a)), I (Cooling Water Intake 

Structures, New Facilities, CWA Section 

316(b)), J (Cooling Water Intake Structures, 

Existing Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)), M 

(Ocean Discharge Criteria), and N (Cooling 

Water Intake Structures, Offshore Oil and Gas 

Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)); 

(47) 40 CFR Parts 129 (Toxic Pollutant Effluent 

Standards) and 133 (Secondary Treatment 

Regulation), and Subchapter N (Effluent 

Guidelines and Standards); 

(48) 40 CFR Parts 3 (Electronic Reporting) and 127 

(NPDES Electronic Reporting); 

(49) 40 CFR Part 136: Guidelines for establishing 

test procedures for the analysis of pollutants; 

and 

(50) 40 CFR 401.15: List of toxic pollutants 

pursuant to CWA Section 307(a)(1). 

(b)  This Rule is not an exclusive list of federal regulations 

adopted by reference in this Section. Other rules of the Section 

incorporate some of these same federal regulations for clarity or 

emphasis and may incorporate additional regulations not listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.1(b)(4); 

143B-282(5); 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0501 PURPOSE 

The purpose of this Section is to set forth requirements for 

monitoring and reporting the quantity and quality of wastewater 

discharges to, and their effects upon, the water resources of the 

state. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.64; 

143-215.65; 143-215.66; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0502 SCOPE 

This Section shall apply to all persons subject to the provisions of 

G.S. 143-215.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.64; 

143-215.65; 143-215.66;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0503 DEFINITIONS 

Unless the context otherwise requires, the terms used in this 

Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-212 and 143-213; the 

federal Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Parts 

122, 124, and 125; and as follows: 

(1) "Biological monitoring" shall mean the 

sampling or testing of the biological integrity of 

surface waters and measurements of impacts, 

including accumulations of pollutants in tissue, 

toxicity monitoring, and characterization of 

instream biological populations. 

(2) "Classified water pollution control facility" 

means a treatment works classified by the 

Water Pollution Control System Operator 

Certification Commission pursuant to Chapter 

90A of the North Carolina General Statutes as 

class I, class II, class III, or class IV facility, or 

such other classifications as the Water Pollution 

Control System Operator Certification 

Commission may hereafter adopt. 

(3) "Commercial laboratory" means any laboratory 

that analyzes water samples for a fee. 

(4) "Composite sample" means a sample gathered 

over a 24 hour period in such a manner as to 

result in a total sample that is representative of 

the wastewater discharge during the sample 

period. This sample may be obtained by 

methods set forth in this Item; however, the 

Director may designate the method to be used, 

the number and size of aliquots necessary, and 

the time interval between grab samples on a 

case-by-case basis to ensure a representative 

sample. Samples may be collected manually or 

automatically. 

(a) Continuous - a single, continuous 

sample collected over a 24 hour period 

proportional to the rate of flow; 

(b) Constant time/variable volume - a 

series of grab samples collected at 

equal time intervals over a 24 hour 

period of discharge and combined 

proportional to the rate of flow 

measured at the time of individual 

sample collection; 

(c) Variable time/constant volume - a 

series of grab samples of equal volume 
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collected over a 24 hour period with 

the time intervals between samples 

determined by a preset number of 

gallons passing the sampling point. 

Flow measurement between sample 

intervals shall be determined by use of 

a flow recorder and totalizer, and the 

preset gallon interval between sample 

collection fixed at no greater than 1/24 

of the expected total daily flow at the 

treatment system; or 

(d) Constant time/constant volume - a 

series of grab samples of equal volume 

collected over a 24 hour period at a 

constant time interval. This method 

may be used in situations where 

effluent flow rates vary less than 15 

percent. The grab samples shall be 

taken at intervals of no greater than 20 

minutes apart during any 24 hour 

period and must be of equal size and 

of no less than 100 milliliters. Use of 

this method requires prior approval by 

the Director. 

(5) "Daily" means every day on which a 

wastewater discharge occurs except Saturdays, 

Sundays and State and Federal holidays unless 

the Director determines that, due to variability 

in wastewater flows or characteristics or in 

treatment performance, it is necessary to also 

monitor on these days in order to characterize 

the discharge. 

(6) "Design flow" means the average daily volume 

of wastewater that a water pollution control 

facility was designed, approved and 

constructed to treat. 

(7) "Design treatment capability" means a water 

pollution control facility's capacity to achieve a 

specified degree of reduction in waste 

constituents or to control other characteristics at 

a specified design flow, such as required to 

meet specified discharge limits or removal 

efficiencies. 

(8) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources or Division of Energy, 

Mineral and Land Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority; or his or her designee. 

(9) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources or the Division of Energy, Mineral 

and Land Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority. 

(10) "Domestic wastewater" means water-carried 

human wastes together with all other water-

carried wastes normally present in wastewater 

from non-industrial processes. 

(11) "Downstream" means locations in the receiving 

waters below a point of waste discharge after a 

reasonable opportunity for dilution and mixture 

as specified in 15A NCAC 02B .0204. 

(12) "Effluent" means wastewater discharged 

following all treatment processes from a water 

pollution control facility or other point source 

whether treated or untreated. 

(13) "Flow" means the total volume of wastewater 

discharged from an outlet during any given 

period. 

(14) "Grab sample" means an individual discrete 

sample collected over a period of time not 

exceeding 15 minutes. Samples of this type 

must be representative of the discharge or the 

receiving waters. 

(15) "Industrial establishment" means any 

manufacturing, business, commercial, or 

governmental enterprise that produces water 

carried wastes. 

(16) "Influent" means the wastewater entering a 

water pollution control facility. 

(17) "Monitoring" means a program of sample 

collection, analysis, and observation sufficient 

to quantify the characteristics of waste streams, 

treatment plant operations, and environmental 

impacts. 

(18) "North American Industry Classification 

System" (NAICS) code means those six-digit 

numeric designations used to classify business 

establishments according to the processes 

employed to produce goods or services. For the 

purposes of this Section, each industry or unit 

of government shall be classified by NAICS 

codes applicable to each activity carried on by 

such establishment or unit that results in a 

discharge of wastewater. Any industrial 

establishment or unit of government that 

collects or discharges domestic sewage shall be 

classified as NAICS number 221320 in addition 

to any other classifications that apply. The 

North American Industry Classification System 

Manual, as used in this Section, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. The 

manual may be accessed free of charge at 

https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/2017

NAICS/2017_NAICS_Manual.pdf. 

(19) "Point source" means any discernible, confined, 

and discrete conveyance, including, but not 

specifically limited to, any pipe, ditch, channel, 

tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, 

container, rolling stock, concentrated animal 

feeding operation, or vessel or other floating 

craft from which waste is or may be discharged 

to the waters of the state. 

(20) "Quarterly" means occurring four times during 

a 12-month period at a frequency of once per 

each interval of three consecutive months. 

(21) "Quarterly Average" means the average of all 

samples taken over a quarterly period. 
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(22) "Sample" means a representative portion of the 

wastewater from water pollution control 

facilities or of receiving waters. 

(23) "Standard Industrial Classification" (SIC) code 

means those four-digit numerical designations 

set forth in "The Standard Industrial 

Classification Manual," classifying industries 

according to the type of activity (relating to 

major products manufactured or principle 

services furnished) in which they are engaged. 

For the purposes of this Section, each industry 

or unit of government shall be classified by SIC 

numbers applicable to each activity carried on 

by such establishment or unit that results in a 

discharge of wastewater. Any industrial 

establishment or unit of government that 

collects or discharges domestic sewage shall be 

classified as SIC number 4952 in addition to 

any other classifications that apply. The 

Standard Industrial Classification Manual, as 

used in this Section, is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy is available 

for inspection at the central office of the 

Division of Water Resources, 512 North 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina. The 

classifications found in the manual may also be 

accessed free of charge at 

https://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.htm

l. 

(24) "Storet number" means a number that 

designates a test or measurement according to 

the analytical procedure used or a method of 

measurement and units of measurement. Storet 

is an acronym for the water quality data storage 

and retrieval computer system of the 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(25) "Toxic substances" means any substance, or 

combinations of substances, including disease-

causing agents, that, after discharge, and upon 

exposure, ingestion, inhalation, or assimilation 

into any organism, either directly from the 

environment or indirectly by ingestion through 

food chains, has the potential to cause death, 

disease, behavioral abnormalities, cancer, 

genetic mutations, physiological malfunctions 

(including malfunctions or suppression of 

reproduction or growth) or physical deformities 

in such organisms or their offspring, or other 

adverse health effects. 

(26) "Toxicity monitoring" means controlled 

toxicity testing procedures employed to 

measure lethality or other harmful effects as 

measured by either aquatic populations or 

indicator species used as test organisms from 

exposure to a specific chemical or mixture of 

chemicals (as in an effluent) or ambient stream 

conditions. 

(27) "Unit of government" means any incorporated 

city, town or village, county, sanitary district, 

metropolitan sewerage district, water or sewer 

authority, special purpose district, other 

municipality, or any agency, board, 

commission, department or political 

subdivision or public corporation of the State 

empowered pursuant to applicable laws to 

provide wastewater collection systems or 

wastewater treatment works. 

(28) "Upstream" means locations in the receiving 

waters near but above a point of wastewater 

discharge and unaffected by the discharge. 

(29) "Water pollution control facilities" or "facility" 

means "treatment works" as defined in G.S. 

143-213. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.64; 143-215.65; 143-215.66;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0504 CLASSIFICATION OF WASTE 

SOURCES 

(a)  All persons subject to the requirements of these Rules shall 

determine the standard industrial classification (SIC) number or 

North American Industry Classification System number or both, 

as specified on its permit application forms at time of application 

or upon the request of the Director, for each type of 

manufacturing, service, or activity in which they are engaged, by 

reference to the applicable classification manuals. 

(b)  SIC number 4952 and NAICS number 221320 apply to every 

industrial establishment or unit of government that collects or 

discharges domestic wastewater, whether from on-premises 

bathrooms, restrooms, kitchens, dining rooms, water pollution 

control facilities, or from any other source. 

(c)  The owner or operator of every water pollution control facility 

that receives a wastewater influent from more than one source 

shall determine and report on its NPDES permit application, 

required per 15A NCAC 02B .0105, the name and industrial 

classification number(s) for each applicable activity(ies) of every 

industrial establishment contributing wastes containing toxic 

substances, in toxic quantities, and also every industrial 

establishment contributing an average daily wastewater influent 

of one percent or more of the design flow of the facility or in 

excess of 100,000 gallons per day, whichever is less, and shall 

report such other information as is required by Rule .0505 of this 

Section; provided; however, that it is not required that the name 

and SIC or NAICS number of any source contributing domestic 

sewage influent only be reported hereunder. 

(d)  The average daily influent volume contributed by any one 

source may be computed by dividing the total volume of 

wastewater discharged by the source during the reporting year by 

the total number of days that the source operated during the 

reporting year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.64; 

143-215.65; 143-215.66;  
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Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; December 1, 1984; November 1, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0505 MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  General. Every person subject to this Section ("permittee") 

shall establish, operate, and maintain a monitoring program 

consistent with its National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (NPDES) Permit or as otherwise required by the Director 

to characterize its wastestreams and receiving waters, evaluate 

treatment performance, and determine compliance with permit 

conditions and applicable water quality standards. 

(b)  Wastewater and Stream Flow Measurement. 

(1) Wastewater Flows. 

(A) Every permittee shall install, operate, 

and maintain continuous flow 

measuring devices with recording or 

totalizing capabilities for each 

wastewater discharge, whether treated 

or untreated, for which monitoring and 

reporting requirements are specified in 

its permit; except as provided in Part 

(C) of this Subparagraph. 

(B) The permittee shall install appropriate 

flow measurement devices consistent 

with approved engineering and 

scientific practices to ensure the 

accuracy and reliability of 

measurements of the volume of 

monitored discharges. Devices 

selected shall be capable of measuring 

flows with a maximum deviation of 

less than 10 percent from true 

discharge volumes. Flow 

measurement devices and their 

locations shall be subject to approval 

by the Director prior to their 

installation, in accordance with these 

requirements and 15A NCAC 02H 

.0138. 

(C) On a case-by-case basis, the Director 

may approve the use of alternative 

flow measurement or flow control 

methods if such methods are reliable 

and sufficiently accurate to meet the 

aims of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(D) Flow measurement devices shall be 

accurately calibrated at a minimum of 

once per year and maintained to ensure 

that the accuracy of the measurements 

is consistent with the accepted 

capability of that type of device. 

Records of flow measurement device 

calibration shall be kept on file by the 

permittee for a period of at least three 

years. At a minimum, these records 

shall include the date of flow 

measurement device calibration and 

name of the person performing the 

calibration; 

(2) Instream Flows. A reading of the U.S. 

Geological Survey stream flow staff gauge or 

reference point shall be made at the time of 

stream sampling in those instances so 

determined the Director. 

(c)  Sampling. 

(1) Frequency and Location. Except as otherwise 

provided in this Rule, all industrial 

establishments and units of government shall 

take influent, effluent, and stream samples at 

such locations and with such frequency as shall 

be necessary to conduct the tests and analyses 

required by Rule .0508 of this Section. 

(2) Establishment of Sampling Points: 

(A) Sampling points as required in Rule 

.0508 of this Section shall be 

established for collecting influent and 

effluent samples for each facility. 

(B) Sampling points shall be established in 

the receiving waters at one or more 

upstream locations and at one or more 

downstream locations. These 

locations shall be specified by the 

Director to ensure that upstream 

samples represent instream conditions 

prior to and subsequent to the 

wastewater discharge, respectively. 

(3) Collection of Samples: 

(A) Samples collected in receiving waters 

shall be grab samples. 

(B) Samples of the influent and effluent of 

the water pollution control facility or 

other point source shall be composite 

samples, except as provided in Part 

(C) of this Subparagraph. Samples for 

facilities with design flows of 30,000 

gallons per day or less shall be grab 

samples unless the Director 

determines that, due to such factors as 

the variability of the discharge or its 

potential for impacts on the receiving 

stream, composite samples are 

necessary to characterize the 

discharge. The Director may specify 

the type of sample and type of 

composite sampling required, in order 

to obtain representative samples. 

(C) The following influent and effluent 

tests shall be made on grab samples 

and shall not be made on composite 

samples: 

(i) dissolved oxygen; 

(ii) temperature; 

(iii) settleable matter; 

(iv) turbidity; 

(v) pH; 
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(vi) residual chlorine; 

(vii) coliform bacteria (fecal or 

total); 

(viii) cyanide; 

(ix) oil and grease; 

(x) sulfides; 

(xi) phenols; and 

(xii) volatile organics; 

(4) Stream sampling may be discontinued at such 

times as flow conditions in the receiving waters 

or weather conditions present a substantial risk 

of injury or death to persons collecting samples. 

In such cases, on each day that sampling is 

discontinued, written justification for the 

discontinuance shall be specified in the 

monitoring report for the month in which the 

event occurred. This provision shall be strictly 

construed and shall not be utilized to avoid the 

requirements of this Section when performance 

of these requirements is attainable. When there 

is a discontinuance pursuant to this provision, 

stream sampling shall be resumed at the first 

opportunity after the risk period has ceased. 

(d)  Biological and Toxicity Monitoring. Biological and Toxicity 

monitoring may be required when such monitoring is necessary to 

establish whether the designated best use of the waters is being or 

may be impaired or when toxic substances are known or suspected 

to be present in the facility's discharge. 

(e)  Tests and Analyses. 

(1) If a water pollution control facility receives 

waste influent from two or more sources, every 

test required by Rule .0508 of this Section for 

the standard industrial classification number 

applicable to the sources shall be performed one 

time, and it shall not be necessary to repeat such 

tests for each source; however, the tests shall be 

performed at the intervals specified by Rule 

.0508 of this Section for the applicable 

industrial classification requiring the most 

frequent test interval. 

(2) If analyses of samples of any effluent or any 

receiving water (collected by the State or a 

public agency) indicate a violation of effluent 

limitations or water quality standards or that a 

violation of water quality standards may result 

under any projected conditions, including 

minimum stream flow and temperature 

extremes, the Director may require the person 

responsible for the violation or potential 

violation to monitor the pollutants or 

parameters at such points and with such 

frequency as he or she deems necessary and 

appropriate to characterize the effluent or 

receiving water, any real or projected 

violations, and the frequency and duration of 

such violations. If the source of the pollutant is 

unknown, the Director may require monitoring 

for specific pollutants from any suspected 

discharger. 

(3) If the wastewaters discharged by any water 

pollution control facility violate any effluent 

limitations or water quality standards or 

contribute to the violation of water quality 

standards established by the Environmental 

Management Commission, the facility shall 

perform and report such additional tests and 

measurements at such frequencies and for such 

periods of time as the Director may require. 

(4) Approved Methods of Analysis. 

(A) Methods. The methods used in 

collection, preservation, and analysis 

of samples shall conform to the 

guidelines of the Environmental 

Protection Agency codified as 40 CFR 

Part 136, which is hereby incorporated 

by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. These 

regulations can be accessed free of 

charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

Other analytical procedures shall 

conform to those found in either the 

most recent edition of "Standard 

Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater" (Standard Methods) 

approved by the EPA, (published 

jointly by the American Public Health 

Association, the American Water 

Works Association, and the Water 

Environment Federation), or 

"Methods for Chemical Analysis of 

Waters and Wastes" (Methods for 

Chemical Analysis), or other methods 

as approved by the Director. Standard 

Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent approved amendments 

and approved editions. The Standard 

Methods may be viewed free of charge 

at http://www.standardmethods.org. 

Methods for Chemical Analysis of 

Waters and Wastes is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and 

editions. These methods (document 

EPA-600-4-79-020) can be accessed 

free of charge at http://nepis.epa.gov.  

(B) Method Sensitivity. Monitoring 

required for permit application or to 

determine compliance with effluent 

limitations or applicable water quality 

standards shall be performed using 

sufficiently sensitive methods in 

accordance with 40 CFR 122.21(e)(3) 

or 122.44(i), which are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent amendments and 

editions. Biological testing shall be 
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performed in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02B .0103(b). 

(5) Approval of Laboratories. Analytical 

determinations made pursuant to the 

requirements of this Section shall be made in 

adequately equipped laboratories staffed by 

person(s) competent to perform tests. Only 

monitoring programs that provide for the 

making of analytical determinations by 

qualified employees of the owner or by a 

laboratory certified by the Division under 15A 

NCAC 02H .0800 or 15A NCAC 02H .1100 

shall be considered adequate. 

(f)  Process Control Monitoring Testing: The Director may 

require, on a case-by-case basis, process control monitoring 

testing suitable for the size and classification of the facility if 

necessary to evaluate the performance of the treatment facility or 

its unit processes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.64; 

143-215.65; 143-215.66;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; December 1, 1984; November 1, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0506 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  General: 

(1) Discharge Monitoring Reports. Every person 

subject to this Section shall file certified 

monitoring reports setting forth the results of 

tests and measurements conducted pursuant to 

NPDES permit monitoring requirements. 

(A) Monthly monitoring reports shall be 

filed no later than 30 calendar days 

after the end of the reporting period for 

which the report is made. 

(B) Reports filed pursuant to the 

requirements of Subparagraph (a)(1) 

of this Rule shall be submitted in a 

manner consistent with the 

requirements of 40 CFR Parts 3 and 

127, which are hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and additions. Where 

submittal of monitoring reports on 

printed forms is allowed, such 

submittals shall be made on EPA Form 

3320-1 (available at 

https://www3.epa.gov/npdes/pubs/dm

r.pdf at no charge), DWR Form MR-1 

(available at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wat

er-resources/water-resources-

permits/wastewater-branch/npdes-

wastewater/forms-documents at no 

charge), or a substantially equivalent 

format approved by the Director and 

shall be submitted in duplicate to: 

ATTN: CENTRAL FILES 

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES 

MAIL SERVICE CENTER 1617 

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 

27699-1617 

(C) A copy of all printed reports submitted 

to the Director pursuant to this Section 

shall be retained by the owner of each 

permitted facility for a period of at 

least three years from the date of 

submission and shall be available on-

site for inspection by the Division. 

(D) In order to document information 

contained in reports submitted to the 

Director pursuant to this Section, the 

owner of each pollution control 

facility shall retain or have readily 

available for inspection by the 

Division the following items for a 

period of at least three years from 

report submission: 

(i) the original laboratory 

reports from any certified 

laboratory utilized for sample 

analysis. Such reports must 

be signed by the laboratory 

supervisor, and must indicate 

the date and time of sample 

collection and analysis, and 

the analysts' name; 

(ii) bench notes and data logs for 

sample analyses performed 

by the pollution control 

facility staff or operator in 

responsible charge, whether 

or not the facility has a 

certified lab; and 

(iii) copies of all process control 

testing. 

(E) In situations where no discharge has 

occurred from the facility during the 

report period, the permittee shall 

submit a monthly monitoring report 

giving all required information and 

indicating "NO FLOW" unless the 

Director agrees to waive the reporting 

requirement during extended 

conditions of no discharge. 

(2) Incident Reports: 24-Hour Telephone Report. 

(A) Every person subject to this Section 

shall report by telephone to either the 

central office or appropriate regional 

office of the Division as soon as 

possible but no later than 24 hours 

after occurrence or on the next 

working day following the occurrence 

or first knowledge of the occurrence of 

any of the following: 
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(i) any failure of a collection 

system, pumping station, or 

treatment facility resulting in 

a by-pass without treatment 

of all or any portion of the 

wastewater; 

(ii) any occurrence at the water 

pollution control facility that 

results in the discharge of 

wastes that are abnormal in 

quantity or characteristic, 

such as the dumping of the 

contents of a sludge digester 

or the known passage of a 

hazardous substance through 

the facility; or  

(iii) any process unit failure, due 

to known or unknown 

reasons, that renders the 

facility incapable of 

providing sufficient 

wastewater treatment to 

comply with permit 

requirements, such as might 

be caused by mechanical or 

electrical failures of pumps, 

aerators, compressors, etc.; 

except that if the occurrence is one that 

may endanger the public health or fish 

or wildlife, and if contact with the 

central office or the appropriate 

regional office cannot be made, such 

person shall report as soon as possible 

to the NC Emergency Operations 

Center 24/7 at 1-800-858-0368 (toll-

free) or 919-733-3300. 

(B) The report shall provide, at a 

minimum, the following information 

in addition to the general information 

required in Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule: 

(i) identity of the caller; 

(ii) description of the incident; 

(iii) location, date and time of the 

incident; 

(iv) nature and estimated quantity 

of spill or release, if 

pertinent; 

(v) duration and expected 

duration of the incident, if 

pertinent; 

(vi) estimated nature and extent 

of environmental damage 

caused by the incident; 

(vii) steps taken or anticipated in 

response to the incident. 

(3) Incident Reports: 5-Day Written Report. 

Persons reporting such occurrences by 

telephone shall also provide a written report to 

the Division in letter or electronic form setting 

out the information required in Subparagraphs 

(a)(2) and (a)(4) of this Rule and pertinent 

information pertaining to the occurrence. This 

report must be received by the Division within 

five days following first knowledge of the 

occurrence. 

(4) All reports required to be filed by this Section 

shall contain the following information in 

addition to such other information as is required 

for the particular report: 

(A) name of facility; 

(B) water pollution control facility 

location; 

(C) the class assigned to the water 

pollution control facility; 

(D) the water pollution control facility 

permit number assigned by the 

Department of Environmental Quality 

to the permit or other approval 

document issued by the 

Environmental Management 

Commission under which the 

discharge is made; and 

(E) contact name, telephone number, 

email address, and mailing address; 

and 

(5) Any person desiring confidentiality for any 

influent information submitted shall specify the 

influent information for which confidentiality is 

sought and shall justify such request to the 

Department of Environmental Quality, and, if 

such request is approved by the Director in 

accordance with G.S. 143-215.3C and 15A 

NCAC 02H .0115, shall by an appropriate 

stamp indicate the location of such information 

on each report filed thereafter. 

(b)  Monthly Monitoring Reports: 

(1) Every person operating a monitoring system 

required by this Section shall file a monitoring 

report once each month that includes the data 

for the samples collected during the month. 

This report shall be filed no later than 30 

calendar days after the end of the reporting 

period for which the report is made. 

(2) Monthly monitoring reports shall be reviewed, 

compliance status determined, certified by 

signature, and submitted by the following: 

(A) for a corporation: by a responsible 

corporate officer. For the purpose of 

the Section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: 

(i) a president, secretary, 

treasurer or vice president of 

the corporation in charge of a 

principal business function, 

or any other person who 

performs similar policy or 
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decision-making functions 

for the corporation; or 

(ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, 

or operating facilities, 

provided, the manager is 

authorized to make 

management decisions which 

govern the operation of the 

regulated facility including 

having the explicit or implicit 

duty of making major capital 

investment 

recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other 

comprehensive measures to 

ensure long term compliance 

with environmental laws and 

regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary 

systems are established or 

actions taken to gather 

complete and accurate 

information for permit 

application requirements; 

and where authority to sign 

documents had been assigned 

or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate 

procedures. 

(B) for a partnership or sole 

proprietorship: by a general partner or 

the proprietor, respectively;  

(C) for a municipality, State, Federal, 

County, or other public agency: by 

either a principal executive officer or 

ranking elected official; or 

(D) a duly authorized representative of the 

person described in Paragraphs 

(b)(2)(A), (B) and (C). A person is a 

duly authorized representative only if: 

(i) the authorization is made in 

writing by a person described 

in Paragraphs (b)(2)(A), (B) 

and (C); 

(ii) the authorization specifies 

either an individual or a 

position having 

responsibility for the overall 

operation of the regulated 

facility or activity, such as 

the position of plant 

manager, operator of a well 

or well field, or 

superintendent; or an 

individual or position having 

overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the 

company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be 

either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a 

named position; and 

(iii) the written authorization is 

submitted to the permitting 

authority. A permittee 

authorizing another 

individual to sign as 

representative in no way 

relinquishes any 

responsibility for the permit 

or his responsibility to 

remain familiar with the 

permit conditions and limits, 

including any modifications, 

and for the compliance data 

reports for the permit. 

(E) Certification by Signature. The 

permittee signing the report shall 

certify to the following statement: "I 

certify, under penalty of law, that this 

document and all attachments were 

prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a 

system designed to assure that 

qualified personnel properly gather 

and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the 

person or persons who managed the 

system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the 

information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my 

knowledge and belief, true, accurate, 

and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting 

false information, including the 

possibility of fines and imprisonment 

for knowing violations." The monthly 

report shall also be certified by the 

operator in responsible charge of a 

classified treatment facility or by the 

manager of an industrial establishment 

that has a point source of waste 

discharge and that does not have a 

classified water pollution control 

facility. 

(3) In addition to the information required on all 

reports as set forth in Subparagraph (a)(4) of 

this Rule, the following information shall be 

submitted in monthly monitoring reports: 

(A) name of person or group collecting 

sample or making observation; 

(B) name of person or group that analyzed 

sample; 

(C) name of operator in responsible charge 

of the facility and the grade certificate 

held; 
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(D) sampling point for each sample; 

(E) date and time (on 2400 hour clock 

basis) at which each grab sample was 

collected; 

(F) for composite samples: 

(i) date on which collection of 

composite samples is 

commenced; and 

(ii) time of starting and ending of 

composite sample period on 

2400 hour clock basis; 

(G) wastewater flow in million gallons per 

day (MGD), or in units specified in the 

permit; 

(H) results of analyses (reported to the 

designated number of figures with a 

properly placed decimal point as 

indicated on each report sheet) 

together with the proper storet number 

(to be furnished by the Division) for 

the analytical procedure used and the 

reporting units shall be those specified 

by the NPDES permit or current 

enforcement document, unless 

modified by the Director; 

(I) only numeric values shall be accepted 

in reporting results of fecal coliform 

testing. The reporting of "too 

numerous to count" (TNTC) as a value 

shall constitute a violation; 

(J) the results of all tests on the 

characteristics of the effluent, 

including but not limited to NPDES 

Permit Monitoring Requirements, 

shall be reported on monthly report 

forms in accordance with 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(K) the monthly average of analysis for 

each parameter and the maximum and 

minimum values for the month shall 

be reported; and 

(L) certification by the Operator in 

Responsible Charge (ORC) that, in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 08G 

.0200, the report is accurate and 

complete and he or she has performed 

and documented the required 

visitation and process control. 

(c)  Additional Monitoring and Reporting Requirements: 

(1) When a facility is operated on an independent 

contract basis, the operator in responsible 

charge shall, in accordance with 15A NCAC 

08G .0900, notify the owner of the facility in 

writing of any existing or anticipated conditions 

at the facility that may interfere with its proper 

operation and that need corrective action by the 

owner. The notice shall include 

recommendations for corrective action. 

(2) Two printed copies, or an electronic copy, of 

the signed notice to the owner shall be sent to 

the Division no later than the next monthly 

monitoring report. 

(3) A log demonstrating visitation at the proper 

frequency for the assigned classification, in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 08G .0204, 

including dates and times of visits and 

documentation of proper process control 

monitoring, shall be maintained and shall be 

submitted to the Division upon request. Copies 

of all information must be available for 

inspection for a period of three years. 

(d)  All information submitted shall be classified as public 

information unless determined otherwise by the Director in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0115. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.64; 143-215.65; 143-215.66; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 2, 1993; April 1, 1993; December 1, 1984; 

November 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0508 TESTS AND MEASUREMENTS 

APPLICABLE TO SICS 

(a)  Determination of Type and Frequency of Tests and 

Measurements: 

(1) Introduction. The tables set forth in this Rule 

are designed to indicate, for any particular 

water pollution control facility or point source, 

the minimum standard tests and measurements 

that are to be performed, the minimum 

frequency with which the tests and 

measurements are to be conducted, and the 

location and minimum number of sampling 

points that are required. 

(2) Determination of Facility Class and SIC 

Numbers. Before the tables set forth in this Rule 

may be applied, the standard industrial 

classification(s) of the activities discharging to 

the water pollution control facility must be 

determined from The Standard Industrial 

Classification (SIC) Manual. The classification 

of the facility as determined by the Water 

Pollution Control System Operators 

Certification Commission, must also be known. 

(b)  Modification of Test(s) or Measurement(s) Requirements: 

(1) If any of the tests and measurements, sampling 

points, or frequency of sampling requirements, 

as required in this Rule for a particular SIC 

group, are not applicable to the discharge of a 

particular water pollution control facility, or if 

it can be demonstrated that the objectives of this 

Section can be achieved by other acceptable 

means, then such requirements may be waived 

or modified to the extent that the Director 

determines to be appropriate. 
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(2) In addition to the tests and measurements as 

listed in this Rule applicable to each of the SIC 

groups, persons subject to this Section may be 

required to perform such additional tests and 

measurements at such sampling points and with 

such frequency as are determined by the 

Director to be necessary to characterize 

constituents of the waste discharge and their 

effect upon the receiving waters. This 

monitoring may include but not be limited to 

weekends and holidays to ensure representative 

sampling and proper operation and 

maintenance of any facility. 

 

 

(c)  Unclassified Activities: 

(1) Any person owning or operating a water 

pollution control facility who determines that a 

major SIC group(s) is not listed in this Rule for 

an activity subject to this Section shall so notify 

the Division. 

(2) The Director shall prescribe on a case-by-case 

basis the number and location of sampling 

points and the frequency with which tests and 

measurements must be made to characterize the 

quantity or quality of waste discharges resulting 

from any activity subject to this Section that is 

not included in the major SIC groups set forth 

in this Rule and to characterize the effects of the 

discharges upon the waters of this state. 

 

(d)  Index of Major Standard Industrial Groups: 

 

SIC Number  Major Products or Services 

1400-1499  Mining 

2000-2199  Food, Beverage and Tobacco Processing 

2200-2299  Textile Processing 

2400-2599  Lumber and Wood Products Except Wet Decking 

2600-2699  Paper and Allied Products 

2800-2899  Chemical and Allied Products 

2900-2999  Petroleum Refining and Related Industries 

3100-3199  Leather and Leather Products 

3400-3699  Fabricated Metal Products Except Ordnance, Machinery and Transportation Equipment 

Machinery Electrical Machinery, Equipment and Supplies 

4900-4939  Electric, and Gas Services 

4941   Water Supply 

4952   Wastewater and all facilities discharging primarily domestic wastewater 

7000-8999  Services 

Abbreviations for sampling locations and frequencies to be used with SIC monitoring requirements: 

 

"I" means influent "E" means effluent "U" means upstream "D" means downstream 

"2/month" means samples are collected twice per month with a required 10 day interval between the collection of the samples 

"3/week" means samples are collected three times per week on three separate days 

 

MINING 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 1400-1499 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. Turbidity E Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly 

2. Settleable Matter E Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly 

3. TSS E Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly 

4. pH E Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly 

5. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

 

FOOD AND BEVERAGE PROCESSING AND TOBACCO PROCESSING 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2000-2199 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 
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1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Ammonia Nitrogen E Monthly 2/month Weekly Weekly 

6. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

7. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

8. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Ammonia Nitrogen E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

10. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

11. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

12. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

13. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

TEXTILE PROCESSING 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2200-2299 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

  CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

  I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. COD E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

6. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

7. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

8. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

  CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

  I II III IV 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. COD E 2/month Weekly Weekly Weekly 

8. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

10. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

11. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 
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12. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

13. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

LUMBER AND WOOD PRODUCTS (EXCLUDING WET DECKING) 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2400-2599 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. COD E Monthly 2/month Weekly 3/week 

5. Total Phenols E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

6. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

8. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

9. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, 0C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, 0C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 200C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. COD E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Total Phenols E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

10. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

11. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

12. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

13. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

14. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

PAPER AND ALLIED PRODUCTS 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2600-2699 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

6. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

7. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 
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4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

9. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

10. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

11. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

12. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

CHEMICAL AND ALLIED PRODUCTS 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2800-2899 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

6. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

7. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

9. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

10. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

11. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

12. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

PETROLEUM REFINING AND RELATED INDUSTRIES 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 2900-2999 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Total Phenols E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

6. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

8. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

9. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 
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WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Total Phenols E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

10. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

11. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

12. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

13. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

14. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

 

LEATHER AND LEATHER PRODUCTS 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 3100-3199 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. COD E 2/month Weekly Weekly Daily 

6. Ammonia Nitrogen E Monthly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

7. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Turbidity E Weekly 3/week Daily Daily 

9. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

10. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

11. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. COD E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. Ammonia Nitrogen E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

10. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

11. Turbidity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

12. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

13. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

14. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

15. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

16. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 
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FABRICATED METAL PRODUCTS EXCEPT ORDINANCE: MACHINERY AND TRANSPORTATION EQUIPMENT 

MACHINERYELECTRICAL MACHINERY, EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 3400-3699 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

5. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

6. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

7. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Oil and Grease E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

6. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

7. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

 

ELECTRICAL AND GAS SERVICES 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 4900-4939 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

3. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

4. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

5. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

2. pH E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

3. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

4. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

5. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

6. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

Note: The following monitoring for steam electric generating establishments discharging once through cooling water or cooling tower 

blowdown shall be required whether or not the discharge is from a classified facility. 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. Temperature, C E Cont. Cont. Cont. Cont. 

2. Temperature, C U, D 3/week+ 3/week+ 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. Flow  Continuous Continuous Continuous Continuous 

   during during during during 
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   discharge discharge discharge discharge 

 

 

WATER SUPPLY PLANTS 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 4941 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. Settleable Solids E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

2. TSS E 2/month 2/month 2/month 2/month 

3. Turbidity E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

4. pH E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

5. Chloride E Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly 

 

 

DOMESTIC WASTEWATER AND OTHER FACILITIES DISCHARGING PRIMARILY DOMESTIC 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 4952 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 

   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C I,E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS I,E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Ammonia Nitrogen E Monthly 2/month Weekly 3/week 

6. Fecal Coliform E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

8. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

9. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Daily Daily Daily Daily 

5. Temperature, 5 U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C I,E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS I,E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Ammonia Nitrogen E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

9. Residual Chlorine E 2/week 2/week 3/week Daily 

10. Fecal Coliform E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

11. Fecal Coliform U,D 2/month Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

12. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

13. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

14. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

15. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

16. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

 

SERVICES 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR SIC 7000-8999 

EFFLUENT LIMITED 

 

 REQUIRED TEST LOCATION FREQUENCY 
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   CLASS CLASS CLASS CLASS 

   I II III IV 

1. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

3. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Ammonia Nitrogen E Monthly 2/month Weekly 3/week 

6. Detergents (MBAS) E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. Fecal Coliform E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

9. Total Phosphorus E Monthly 2/month Weekly 3/week 

10. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

 

WATER QUALITY LIMITED 

 

1. Dissolved Oxygen E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

2. Dissolved Oxygen U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

3. pH E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

4. Temperature, C E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

5. Temperature, C U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

6. BOD, 5-day, 20C E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

7. TSS E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

8. Ammonia Nitrogen E Monthly 2/month Weekly 3/week 

9. Detergents (MBAS) E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

10. Fecal Coliform E 2/month Weekly 3/week Daily 

11. Total Nitrogen E * * * * 

12. Total Phosphorus E * * * * 

13. Toxics and Toxicity  ** ** ** ** 

14. Conductivity E Weekly Weekly 3/week Daily 

15. Conductivity U,D Weekly Weekly 3/week+ 3/week+ 

 

+ Upstream and Downstream monitoring in water quality limited waters is to be conducted three times per week during June, July, 

August, and September, and once per week during the rest of the year. 

 

* Total Nitrogen and Phosphorus Monitoring 

 

(1) Monitoring Requirements 

(A) All facilities equal to or greater than 

50,000 gpd, shall monitor for total N 

and P. 

(B) Facilities less than 50,000 gpd shall 

monitor for total N and P when 

discharging into nutrient sensitive 

waters as designated by the Division. 

 

(2) Monitoring frequency for total N and P is based on river subbasins in two separate areas of the state as follows: 

(A) Western area includes the French Broad, Broad, Savannah, New, Watauga, Little Tennessee, and Hiwassee: 

Facility Design Capacity:    Frequency 

(i) 50,000 gpd or higher            Semi-annually 

(ii) 1,000,000 gpd or higher     Quarterly. 

(B) Piedmont and Eastern area includes the Catawba, Lumber, Yadkin, Cape Fear, Chowan, Neuse, Pasquotank, 

Roanoke, Tar-Pamlico, and White Oak: 

Facility Design Capacity    Frequency 

(i) 50,000 gpd or higher    Quarterly 

(ii) 1,000,000 gpd or higher    Monthly. 

 

(3) Definition for Total Nitrogen and Total 

Phosphorus: 

(A) Total Nitrogen shall be the sum of 

total Kjeldahl nitrogen, nitrate 

nitrogen, and nitrite nitrogen 

expressed as "N" in milligrams per 

liter (mg/L). 

(B) Total Phosphorus shall include all 

orthophosphates and condensed 

phosphates, both dissolved and 

particulate, organic and inorganic, 

expressed as "P" in milligrams per liter 

(mg/L). 
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** Specific test type, conditions, and limitations shall be defined 

by permit. Toxicity limits shall be applied to all major discharges 

and all discharges of complex wastewater. Toxicity limitations 

and monitoring requirements may be applied to permits for other 

discharges when such discharge may impair the best use of the 

receiving water by the discharge of toxic substances in toxic 

amounts. 

Specific frequency shall be defined by individual permit 

conditions. For most facilities with continuous and regularly 

occurring discharges, frequency will be defined as a minimum of 

quarterly. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.64; 

143-215.65; 143-215.66;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; December 1, 1984; November 1, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0511 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

(a)  The following sections of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and shall apply throughout 

this Section except where procedural details of the federal 

regulations differ from procedures adopted elsewhere in this 

Section, in which case these Rules shall apply. These regulations 

can be accessed free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(1) 40 CFR 122.2, 124.2, and 125.2: Definitions; 

(2) 40 CFR 122.4: Prohibitions): 

(3) 40 CFR 122.5 (a) and (b): Effect of permit; 

(4) 40 CFR 122.7 (b) and (c): Confidential 

information; 

(5) 40 CFR 122.21 (a)-(b), (c)(2), (e)-(k), (m)-(p), 

(q), and (r): Application for a permit; 

(6) 40 CFR 122.22: Signatories; 

(7) 40 CFR 122.23: Concentrated animal feeding 

operations; 

(8) 40 CFR 122.24: Concentrated aquatic animal 

production facilities; 

(9) 40 CFR 122.25: Aquaculture projects; 

(10) 40 CFR 122.26: Storm water discharges; 

(11) 40 CFR 122.27: Silviculture; 

(12) 40 CFR 122.28: General permits; 

(13) 40 CFR 122.29 (a), (b), and (d): New sources 

and new dischargers; 

(14) 40 CFR 122.30: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: objectives; 

(15) 40 CFR 122.31: NPDES stormwater 

regulations: role of Tribes; 

(16) 40 CFR 122.32: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: applicability; 

(17) 40 CFR 122.33: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: application for 

permit; 

(18) 40 CFR 122.34: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: permit 

requirements; 

(19) 40 CFR 122.35: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: shared 

responsibilities; 

(20) 40 CFR 122.36: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: compliance; 

(21) 40 CFR 122.37: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: evaluation; 

(22) 40 CFR 122.41 (a)(1) and (b) through (n): 

Applicable permit conditions; 

(23) 40 CFR 122.42: Conditions applicable to 

specified categories of permits; 

(24) 40 CFR 122.43: Establishing permit conditions; 

(25) 40 CFR 122.44: Establishing NPDES permit 

conditions; 

(26) 40 CFR 122.45: Calculating permit conditions; 

(27) 40 CFR 122.46: Duration; 

(28) 40 CFR 122.47 (a): Schedules of compliance; 

(29) 40 CFR 122.48: Monitoring requirements; 

(30) 40 CFR 122.50: Disposal into wells; 

(31) 40 CFR 122.61: Permit transfer; 

(32) 40 CFR 122.62: Permit modification; 

(33) 40 CFR 122.64: Permit termination; 

(34) 40 CFR 124.3 (a): Application for a permit; 

(35) 40 CFR 124.5 (a), (c), (d), and (f): Modification 

of permits; 

(36) 40 CFR 124.6 (a), (c), (d), and (e): Draft permit; 

(37) 40 CFR 124.8: Fact sheets; 

(38) 40 CFR 124.10 (a)(1)(ii), (a)(1)(iii), (a)(1)(v), 

(b), (c), (d), and (e): Public notice; 

(39) 40 CFR 124.11: Public comments and requests 

for hearings; 

(40) 40 CFR 124.12 (a): Public hearings; 

(41) 40 CFR 124.17 (a) and (c): Response to 

comments; 

(42) 40 CFR 124.56: Fact sheets; 

(43) 40 CFR 124.57 (a): Public notice; 

(44) 40 CFR 124.59: Comments from government 

agencies; 

(45) 40 CFR 124.62: Decision on variances; 

(46) 40 CFR Part 125, Subparts A (Technology-

Based Treatment Requirements), B 

(Aquaculture), D (Fundamentally Different 

Factors), H (Alternative Limitations, CWA 

Section 316(a)), I (Cooling Water Intake 

Structures, New Facilities, CWA Section 

316(b)), J (Cooling Water Intake Structures, 

Existing Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)), M 

(Ocean Discharge Criteria), and N (Cooling 

Water Intake Structures, Offshore Oil and Gas 

Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)); 

(47) 40 CFR Parts 129 (Toxic Pollutant Effluent 

Standards) and 133 (Secondary Treatment 

Regulation), and Subchapter N (Effluent 

Guidelines and Standards); 

(48) 40 CFR Parts 3 (Electronic Reporting) and 127 

(NPDES Electronic Reporting); 

(49) 40 CFR Part 136: Guidelines for establishing 

test procedures for the analysis of pollutants; 

and 
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(50) 40 CFR 401.15: List of toxic pollutants 

pursuant to CWA Section 307(a)(1). 

(b)  This Rule is not an exclusive list of federal regulations 

adopted by reference in this Section. Other rules of the Section 

incorporate some of these same federal regulations for clarity or 

emphasis and may incorporate additional regulations not listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.1(b)(4); 

143B-282(5); 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0101 PURPOSE 

The Rules of this Section set forth the requirements and 

procedures for application and issuance of state permits pursuant 

to G.S. 143-215.1, for the control of point sources of water 

pollution. These Rules apply to the following state permits and 

authorizations: 

(1) NPDES permits for the discharge of waste or 

stormwater from an outlet, point source, or 

disposal system to surface waters of the state; 

(2) NPDES permits for the discharge of 

stormwater; 

(3) authorizations or permits for the construction, 

entering a contract for construction, and 

operation of treatment works with such a 

discharge; and 

(4) permits for the discharge of waste from a 

pretreatment facility to a disposal system that 

discharges to surface waters of the state. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; August 1, 1988; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0102 SCOPE 

(a)  The Rules in this Section apply to all persons: 

(1) discharging or proposing to discharge waste, 

directly or indirectly, from a point source to the 

surface waters of the state; 

(2) constructing or proposing to construct a 

treatment or pretreatment works with a 

discharge as described in Subparagraph (1) of 

this Paragraph;  

(3) operating or proposing to operate a treatment 

works with a discharge as described in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph; or 

(4) discharging or proposing to discharge 

stormwater that results in water pollution. 

(b)  These Rules do not apply to: 

(1) those persons who have obtained a permit from 

a local pretreatment control authority that is 

authorized to issue such permits under a local 

pretreatment program approved in accordance 

with Section .0900 of this Subchapter; 

(2) sanitary sewage systems or solid waste 

management facilities that are permitted under 

the authority of the Commission for Public 

Health; and 

(3) other persons or activities specifically 

exempted in these Rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.1(b)(4)(e); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; November 1, 1987; December 1, 

1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0103 DEFINITION OF TERMS 

The terms used in this Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-212 

and G.S. 143-213; the federal Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. 1251 

et seq.); 40 CFR Parts 122, 124, and 125; and as follows: 

(1) "Authorization to Construct" means a permit 

required pursuant to Rule .0138 of this Section 

for the construction of water pollution control 

facilities necessary to comply with the terms 

and conditions of an NPDES permit. 

(2) "Certificate of Coverage" means the approval 

given dischargers that meet the requirements of 

coverage under a general permit. 

(3) "Commission" means the Environmental 

Management Commission. 

(4) "Committee" means the NPDES committee of 

the Environmental Management Commission. 

(5) "Decontamination" means the physical or 

chemical process of reducing contamination 

and preventing the spread of contamination 

from persons and equipment at biological or 

chemical agent incidents. 

(6) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(7) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources or Division of Energy, 

Mineral and Land Resources, in the Department 

of Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority, or his or her designee. 

(8) "Discharges associated with biological or 

chemical decontamination" means the 

wastewater that is produced during activities 

intended to reduce potential biological or 

chemical contaminants and that are performed 

under the specific conditions listed in 15A 

NCAC 02H .0106(f)(11). 

(9) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources or the Division of Energy, Mineral 

and Land Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality, whichever is the 

permitting authority. 

(10) "EPA" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency. 

(11) "Existing", with respect to implementing the 

NPDES permitting program, means: 

(a) facilities that physically exist and have 

been legally constructed prior to the 

adoption of state or federal regulatory 
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requirements for new facilities. For the 

purposes of this definition, "legally 

constructed" means that the facility 

obtained all necessary approvals for 

construction in accordance with local, 

state, and federal regulations; 

(b) facilities that have received an NPDES 

Permit and have received an 

Authorization to Construct and have 

constructed or begun significant 

construction of any wastewater 

treatment facilities within the term of 

the current permit; or 

(c) facilities that have received a phased 

NPDES Permit and have received an 

Authorization to Construct for a phase 

of the permitted flow and have 

constructed or begun significant 

construction of the phased wastewater 

treatment facilities. 

For the purpose of this definition, significant 

construction shall be considered as more than a 

nominal investment of money or other 

resources in the construction of the wastewater 

treatment facility, based on the facility size, 

complexity, cost and the required construction 

time for completion, in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02B .0407, Guidance for Determining a 

New Source. 

(12) "General Permit" means a "permit" issued 

under G.S. 143-215.1(b)(3) and (4) and 40 CFR 

122.28 authorizing a category of similar 

discharges to surface waters. 

(13) "Mine dewatering" means discharges of 

uncontaminated infiltrate and stormwater from 

mine excavation and the water that is removed 

to lower the water table to allow mining in an 

area. 

(14) "Municipality" means a city, town, borough, 

county, parish, district, or other public body 

created by or under State law. 

(15) "NPDES Permit" means a National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System permit required 

for the operation of point source discharges in 

accordance with the requirements of Section 

402 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 

33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq. 

(16) "New", with respect to implementing the 

NPDES permitting program, means: 

(a) proposed facilities that do not have an 

NPDES Permit nor have any facilities 

constructed; 

(b) facilities that physically exist, 

however are not legally constructed. 

For the purposes of this definition, 

"legally constructed" means that the 

facility obtained all necessary 

approvals for construction in 

accordance with local, state, and 

federal regulations; 

(c) facilities that have received an NPDES 

Permit and, where necessary, an 

Authorization to Construct but have 

not begun significant construction of 

any wastewater treatment facilities 

within the term of the current Permit. 

For the purpose of this definition, 

construction shall be considered to be 

"significant" if more than a nominal 

investment of money or other 

resources has been invested in the 

construction of the wastewater 

treatment facility, based on the facility 

size, complexity, cost, and the 

required construction time for 

completion, in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02B .0407, Guidance for 

Determining a New Source; or 

(d) any facility that increases treatment 

plant hydraulic capacity without first 

obtaining an Authorization to 

Construct in accordance with Rule 

.0138 of this Section. 

(17) "New Source" means any industrial installation 

from which there may be a discharge, the 

construction or modification of which is 

commenced on or after the date of publication 

of new source performance standards or 

pretreatment standards for new sources by the 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(18) "New Source Performance Standards" means 

those treatment performance standards applied 

to a "new source", such as standards set forth in 

Title 40, Subchapter N, of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (Effluent Guidelines and 

Standards). 

(19) "Notice of Intent" means written notification to 

the Division that a discharge, facility or activity 

is intended to be covered by a general permit in 

accordance with Rules .0105 and .0127 of this 

Section. 

(20) "Oil terminal storage facilities" means 

petroleum bulk storage, product transfer, 

loading, unloading, and related areas but does 

not include marinas or facilities engaged in the 

retail sale of petroleum products. For the 

purposes of determining eligibility for general 

permits per 15A NCAC 02H .0217, oil/water 

separators such as those at maintenance 

garages, gas stations, and National Guard and 

military reserve facilities shall be considered to 

be oil terminal storage facilities. 

(21) "Once-through non-contact cooling water" 

means water taken from wells, surface waters, 

or water supply systems and used in a 

non-contact cooling system without the 

addition of biocides or other chemical 
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additives. Boiler blowdown waters are included 

in this definition. Nuclear and fossil fuel 

electric generating plants are not included in 

this definition. 

(22) "Point Source" means any discernible, 

confined, and discrete conveyance, including, 

but specifically not limited to, any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, 

container, rolling stock, concentrated 

animal-feeding operation, or vessel or other 

floating craft from which wastes are or may be 

discharged to the surface waters of the State. 

(23) "POTW" means Publicly Owned Treatment 

Works. 

(24) "Pretreatment standard" means any regulation 

containing pollutant discharge limits for 

indirect dischargers for ensuring compliance 

with Section 307(b) and (c) of the Clean Water 

Act, 33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq. This term 

includes prohibited discharge limits and local 

sewer use ordinance limits. 

(25) "Primary industry" means an industry listed in 

40 CFR 122, Appendix A, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. These 

regulations can be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(26) "Professional Engineer" means a person who is 

registered and licensed as a professional 

engineer by the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners For Engineers and Surveyors. 

(27) "Sand dredge" means a facility that removes 

sand from river bottoms. No other mining 

activities are included in this definition. 

(28) "Seafood packing facility" means a business 

that is engaged in the sorting and packing of 

fresh seafood and that has a discharge 

consisting entirely of washdown and rinse 

water. Trout packing facilities are included in 

this definition. Wastewaters from seafood 

processing plants are not included in this 

definition. 

(29) "Seafood processing facility" means a business 

that is engaged in the removal of heads, entrails, 

fins or scales, filleting, cooking, canning, or 

preparation of fresh seafood. 

(30) "Staff" means the Division, or its successor. 

(31) "Stormwater" is defined in G.S. 143, Article 21. 

(32) "Swimming pool filter backwash" means 

normal filter backwash water from both public 

and private swimming pools or from spas with 

filter backwash facilities. 

(33) "Tourist Gem Mine" means a business that is 

engaged in the recreational practice of 

removing gems and semi-precious stones from 

mined material. 

(34) "Trout farm" means a facility for the 

commercial production of trout. 

(35) "Water filtration facility" means backwash 

filters and sludge disposal systems associated 

with water treatment plants and backwash 

filters associated with wells. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-399.4; 143-215.1(a); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1995; March 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; 

August 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 11, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired on February 26, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0105 APPLICATION: PERMIT FEES: 

ASSESSMENT FOR NEW SOURCES 

(a)  Permit Applications. 

(1) Except as provided in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of 

this Rule, any person who discharges or who 

proposes to discharge pollutants to the surface 

waters of the state or to a POTW when 

pretreatment of the wastewater is required shall 

complete, sign, and submit to the Director three 

copies of its permit application as described in 

this Rule or one copy of the application if 

submitted electronically in accordance with 40 

CFR Parts 3 and 127. 

(2) Application for state NPDES or pretreatment 

permits shall be made on EPA application 

forms. EPA forms can be accessed free of 

charge at https://www.epa.gov/npdes/npdes-

applications-and-forms.  

(3) Notice of Intent to seek coverage under a 

general NPDES permit shall be made in 

accordance with Rule .0127 of this Section. 

(4) Where the Division is the control authority, 

application for pretreatment permits shall be 

made in accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0916(b) and shall include the information 

required in Subparagraph (c)(1) of that Rule. 

(5) Application for Authorization to Construct 

permits shall be made in accordance with Rule 

.0138 of this Section. 

(b)  Permit Fees. 

(1) Application Fees. Every application for a new 

NPDES permit or major modification of an 

existing NPDES permit, every Notice of Intent 

to be covered by a general permit, and every 

application for a special order by consent shall 

be accompanied by a nonrefundable application 

fee in the amount stated in G.S. 143-215.3D and 

in accordance with Parts (A)-(D) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(A) Each application or notice of intent 

shall be considered incomplete until 

the application fee is received. 

(B) For a facility with multiple discharges 

under a single permit, the application 
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fee shall be set by the single discharge 

to the waters of the state with the 

highest applicable fee in the fee 

schedule. 

(C) No application fee shall be charged for 

modification of unexpired permits 

when the modifications are initiated 

by the Director. 

(D) No application fee shall be charged for 

renewal of an existing NDPES permit 

except that, if the permittee also 

requests a major modification for new 

or increased flows or other change that 

requires a substantial evaluation of 

permit conditions, such as in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an 

application fee for such major 

modification shall be charged. 

(2) Annual Fees. Except as provided in this 

Subparagraph, an annual fee shall be charged in 

each year of the term of every NPDES permit, 

according to the fee schedule in G.S. 143-

215.3D. 

(A) Annual fees shall be billed each year 

in the calendar month in which the 

original permit was issued. The 

Director may change the billing month 

at the request of or with the consent of 

the permittee and shall prorate the 

ensuing annual fee to account for the 

added or reduced length of the affected 

billing period. 

(B) When a new permit or major 

modification requested by the 

permittee is issued, the application fee 

shall be accepted as payment for the 

ensuing annual fee for that permit; if 

the permit or the modification is not 

issued, the application fee shall not be 

refunded. 

(C) If an existing permit expires but 

qualifies for administrative extension 

under Rule .0112 of this Section, 

annual fees shall continue to be 

charged as long as the permit remains 

in effect.  

(D) For a facility with multiple discharges 

under a single permit, the annual fee 

shall be set by the single discharge to 

the waters of the state with the highest 

applicable fee in the fee schedule. 

(E) A person with multiple permits may 

have annual fees consolidated into one 

annual bill. 

(F) Each application or notice of intent 

submitted pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule shall be considered 

incomplete until annual fees due at the 

time of application, if any, are 

received by the Division. 

(G) Permit Application Fees and Annual 

Fees for pretreatment facilities 

permitted by the Division shall be at 

the same rate as provided in G.S. 143-

215.3D for NPDES facilities. 

(3) No fees shall be required to be paid under this 

Rule by a farmer who submits an application or 

receives a permit that pertains to farming 

operations. 

(4) Failure to pay an annual fee within 30 days after 

being billed is grounds for the Division to 

initiate action to revoke the permit in 

accordance with G.S. 143-215.1(b)(4)(c). 

(5) Payment of fees shall be made in the form of a 

check or money order made payable to N.C. 

Department of Environmental Quality.  

(6) Any applicant whose facility qualifies for a 

general permit under Rule .0127 of this Section 

shall be charged the amount provided in G.S. 

143-215.3D for the appropriate general permit. 

(c)  Engineering Alternatives Analysis. In addition to applications 

required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, applicants for NPDES 

permits for new or expanding discharges requiring construction of 

water pollution control facilities shall file with the Director two 

copies of an engineering proposal or, alternatively, one printed 

copy of the proposal and one complete copy if submitted 

electronically in accordance with 40 CFR Parts 3 and 127. The 

proposal shall set forth the following information: 

(1) a description of the origin, type and flow of 

waste that is proposed to be discharged. The 

proposal shall include a rationale and a 

demonstration of need for the projected flow 

volumes. Flow shall be determined in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02T .0114; 

(2) a summary of the available waste treatment and 

disposal options that were considered and why 

the proposed system and point of discharge 

were selected; the summary shall have 

sufficient detail to establish that the most 

environmentally sound alternative was selected 

from the reasonably cost effective options;  

(3) a narrative description of the proposed 

treatment works, including type and 

arrangement of major components, in sufficient 

detail to ensure that the proposed facility has the 

capability to comply with the permit limits; 

plans and specifications shall be required with 

the permit application for any system or 

component without established treatment 

capabilities for the type of waste to be treated 

or the degree of treatment needed to meet the 

permit limits; 

(4) a location map, showing orientation of the 

facility with reference to at least two 

geographic references such as numbered roads, 

named streams and rivers, or landmarks; 
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(5) a scale location plan of the site showing 

location of the proposed treatment works and 

the proposed point of discharge; 

(6) reports on special studies or modeling in cases 

where the impacts of the discharge have not yet 

been determined through computer modeling or 

other analysis of the proposed discharge; and 

(7) a statement to demonstrate financial 

qualification and substantial previous 

compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and rules for the protection of the 

environment as required by G.S. 

143-215.1(b)(4)(b). 

(d)  In addition to providing applications required in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, applicants for new individual NPDES permits 

requiring construction of stormwater control facilities shall design 

and construct the facilities in accordance with criteria set forth in 

15A NCAC 02H .1050-.1062 or file an engineering proposal in 

accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  Applications for permit renewals. 

(1) Applications for permit renewals shall be made 

by filing the required application form or forms, 

as listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, with the 

applicable fee, if any, as specified in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule, at least 180 days prior to 

expiration of a permit.  

(2) The notice and public participation procedures 

set forth in Rules .0109 and .0111 of this 

Section shall be followed for each request for 

permit renewal. 

(3) A residuals management plan shall be 

submitted with the application for permit 

renewal in accordance with Rule .0138(b)(8) of 

this Section. 

(4) Authorizations to Construct permits for 

wastewater control facilities shall not be subject 

to the notice and public participation 

procedures set forth in Rules .0109 and .0111 of 

this Section. Authorizations to Construct may 

be issued for any length of time, however, the 

NPDES permit must be in effect at time of 

construction. 

(5) All applications are incomplete until required 

application fees are received, and incomplete 

applications may be returned to the applicant. 

(f)  Applications for permits for pretreatment facilities shall be 

made upon forms approved by the Director and submitted along 

with applicable supporting information to the Division of Water 

Resources. Applications may be submitted in printed form or 

submitted electronically in accordance with 40 CFR Parts 3 and 

127. Applications shall include, at a minimum, the information 

specified in 15A NCAC 02H .0916. 

(g)  Applications for permits for new or modified discharges to 

the surface waters that meet the criteria established in or pursuant 

to G.S. 113A, Article 1, shall include, in addition to the 

application forms, fees, and supporting documents required in 

Paragraphs (a) and (e) of this Rule, an environmental assessment 

that shall meet the requirements of 01 NCAC 25 .0500. Any 

assessment that is required by any other state agency or any 

federal agency shall be deemed to comply with requirements of 

this Paragraph so long as it considers the potential aquatic impacts 

of the proposed discharge. 

(h)  Permits that result in construction of facilities that will be 

funded by public monies may require environmental 

documentation pursuant to North Carolina Environmental Policy 

Act, G.S. 113A. NPDES permit applications for which such 

documentation is required shall be considered incomplete until 

supported by the required documentation. 

(i)  Applicants for permits for new nonmunicipal domestic 

wastewater discharges shall file a notarized statement indicating 

whether or not each city or county government having jurisdiction 

over any part of the lands on which the proposed facility is to be 

located has a zoning or subdivision ordinance in effect, and, if 

such an ordinance is in effect, whether or not the proposed facility 

is consistent with the ordinance. 

(j)  For NPDES permits, a full disclosure of all known toxic 

components that can be reasonably expected to be in the 

discharge, including but not limited to those contained in a 

priority pollutant analysis, must be submitted for all primary 

industrial direct discharges in accordance with 40 CFR 122.21 

Appendix D, which is hereby incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and editions, and for other direct 

discharges as required by the Director. These regulations can be 

accessed free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c); 143-215.1(c)(6); 

143-215.3(a); 143-215.3(a); 143-215.3D; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1991; October 1, 1990; 

August 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0106 FILING APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Permit applications shall be filed with the Director, Division 

of Water Resources. The Director's mailing address is 1617 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-1617. 

(b)  All NPDES permit applications, except those addressed in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule, shall be filed at least 180 days before 

the date on which the discharge is to commence and, thereafter, at 

least 180 days before the expiration date of the existing permit. 

The director may grant permission for a later date on a case-by-

case basis. 

(c)  All Authorization to Construct applications shall be filed at 

least 90 days in advance of the proposed commencement date of 

construction of water pollution control facilities but no earlier 

than the establishment of effluent limitations. 

(d)  All NPDES stormwater construction permit applications shall 

be filed in advance of the proposed commencement date of land 

disturbing activity that results in a stormwater discharge. 

(e)  Permit applications filed with the Director shall be signed as 

follows: 

(1) in the case of corporations, by a principal 

executive officer of at least the level of 

vice-president, or his or her authorized 

representative, if such representative is 

responsible for the overall operation of the 

facility from which the discharge described in 

the permit application form originates; 
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(2) in the case of a partnership or a limited 

partnership, by a partner; 

(3) in the case of a sole proprietorship, by the 

proprietor; and 

(4) in the case of a municipal, state, or other public 

entity by either a principal executive officer, 

elected official, or other duly authorized 

employee. 

(f)  The following discharges are deemed to be permitted pursuant 

to G.S. 143-215.1(c) provided that no water quality standards are 

contravened, or expected to be contravened, and it shall not be 

necessary for the Division to issue separate permits for these 

activities: 

(1) filter backwash and draining associated with 

swimming pools; 

(2) filter backwash from raw water intake 

screening devices; 

(3) condensate from residential or commercial air 

conditioning units; 

(4) individual non-commercial vehicle washing 

operations; 

(5) flushing and hydrostatic testing water 

associated with utility distribution systems; 

(6) discharges associated with emergency removal 

and treatment activities for spilled oil 

authorized by the federal or state on-scene 

coordinator when such removals are undertaken 

to minimize overall environmental damage due 

to an oil spill; 

(7) groundwaters generated by well construction or 

other construction activities; 

(8) landscape irrigation, foundation or footing 

drains, or water from crawl space pumps; 

(9) street wash water; 

(10) flows from fire fighting; and 

(11) excluding the provision in Subparagraph (f)(6) 

of this Rule, discharges associated with 

biological or chemical decontamination 

activities performed as a result of an emergency 

declared by the Governor or the Director of the 

Division of Emergency Management and that 

are conducted by or under the direct supervision 

of the federal or state on-scene coordinator and 

that meet the following specific conditions: 

(A) the volume of discharge produced by 

the decontamination activity is too 

large to be contained on-site; 

(B) the Division of Water Resources is 

informed prior to commencement of 

the discharge from the 

decontamination activity; 

(C) overland flow or other non-discharge 

options are deemed to be impractical 

by the authorities conducting the 

decontamination activity; and 

(D) the discharge is not radiologically 

contaminated. 

(g)  A wastewater treatment facility or treatment unit that is taken 

out of service but contains waste or residuals that could be 

discharged to surface waters or otherwise present an 

environmental or public health risk under foreseeable 

circumstances, including severe weather events, shall remain 

subject to NPDES permit requirements until the waste or residuals 

of concern are disposed in accordance with applicable standards 

and the permit is rescinded by the Director. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-399.4; 143-215.1(b)(3); 

143-215.1(c); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; November 1, 1987; January 1, 

1984; November 1, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 11, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired on February 26, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0107 STAFF REVIEW AND 

EVALUATION 

(a)  The Director is authorized to accept applications for the 

Commission and shall refer all applications to the staff for review 

and evaluation. Additionally, the Director shall refer NPDES 

Permit applications for the discharge of waste into waters 

classified as sources of public water supply (WS classification) 

and shellfish waters classified SA to the Public Water Supply 

Section, Division of Water Resources, and the Shellfish 

Sanitation Program, Division of Marine Fisheries, respectively, 

both of the Department of Environmental Quality, and shall not 

take final action on such applications until receiving written 

confirmation that the proposed discharge is acceptable. 

(b)  The Director shall acknowledge receipt of an NPDES or 

Authorization to Construct permit application upon verifying that 

the application is administratively complete, that is, includes the 

completed and signed application forms specified in Rule 

.0105(a) of this Section, any necessary supplemental information, 

and any associated fees, in accordance with Rules .0105 and .0106 

of this Section. 

(1) If an application is not administratively 

complete, the Director shall either return the 

application to the applicant as incomplete or 

request the additional information required. If 

additional information is requested, the 

applicant shall be given up to 60 days to provide 

the information to make the application 

complete. 

(2) If technical review of the application reveals 

that additional information is necessary for staff 

to evaluate the proposed discharge, the Director 

shall notify the applicant of the additional 

information required. The applicant may be 

given up to 60 days to provide the information 

to make the application complete. 

(c)  The staff shall review the application, supplemental 

information, and other pertinent information, such as monitoring 

data, compliance records, special studies, and water quality 

management plans, and shall make a tentative determination to 

issue, reissue, deny, modify, revoke, rescind, or deny the permit. 

(1) The staff shall conduct a site investigation of 

each facility prior to making its tentative 
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determination regarding the NPDES permit. 

On-site investigations shall not be necessary for 

Authorization to Construct permits, activities 

covered under general permits, and renewal of 

individual permits when renewal does not 

require significant reevaluation of permit 

conditions such as to address expansion of 

treatment plant capacity, modification of the 

wastewater treatment process, or changes in the 

nature or source of wastewaters to be treated. 

(2) If the staff's tentative determination in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph is to issue 

the permit, it shall if necessary make the 

following additional determinations in writing: 

(A) proposed effluent limitations for those 

pollutants proposed to be limited; 

(B) a proposed schedule of compliance, 

including interim dates and 

requirements, for meeting the 

proposed effluent limitations; and 

(C) a description of any other special 

conditions proposed in the draft 

permit. 

(3) The staff shall organize the determinations 

made pursuant to Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of 

this Paragraph into a draft permit. 

(d)  In the case of permits for which Notice of Intent is given in 

accordance with Rules .0105 and .0127 of this Section, a 

Certificate of Coverage under a general permit may be issued 

directly to the applicant in lieu of any other acknowledgment. If 

the discharge is not eligible for coverage under the general permit, 

or if the Notice of Intent is not complete and accompanied by the 

required application fee, the Notice of Intent shall be returned to 

the applicant with an explanation of the inadequacies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130-161; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.1(a); 

143-215.1(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1991; August 1, 1988; 

October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0108 FACT SHEETS 

(a)  For all discharges that do not qualify for a general NPDES 

permit and that have a total volume of 500,000 or more gallons on 

any day, a fact sheet providing a summary of the application shall 

be prepared by the staff and made available upon request 

following issuance of the public notice provided in accordance 

with Rule .0109 of this Section. The contents of such fact sheets 

shall include at least the following information: 

(1) a sketch, map, or description of the location of 

the facility and any waste outlet identified in the 

application; 

(2) a quantitative and qualitative description of the 

discharge described in the application that 

includes at least the following: 

(A) the rate or frequency of the proposed 

discharge; if the discharge is 

continuous, the average daily flow in 

gallons per day or million gallons per 

day; 

(B) for thermal discharges subject to 

limitation under the Clean Water Act, 

33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq., the 

average summer and winter 

temperatures in degrees Fahrenheit;  

(C) the average daily discharge in pounds 

per day of any pollutants that are 

subject to limitations or prohibition; 

and 

(D) the type and characteristics of the 

wastes to be discharged. 

(3) the tentative determinations required under 

Rule .0107 of this Section; 

(4) a citation of the water quality standards and 

effluent standards and limitations applied to the 

proposed discharge, including the uses for 

which the receiving waters have been 

classified; and 

(5) a more detailed description of the procedures 

for the formulation of final determinations than 

that given in a public notice including: 

(A) the 30-day comment period required 

by Rules .0109 and .0111 of this 

Section; 

(B) procedures for requesting a public 

hearing in accordance with Rule .0111 

of this Section, and the nature thereof; 

and 

(C) any other procedures by which the 

public may participate in the 

formulation of the final 

determinations. 

(b)  Any person, upon request, shall be furnished, without charge, 

one copy of any fact sheet. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.1(c)(2)(a); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1988; October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0109 PUBLIC NOTICE 

(a)  Notice of Application 

(1) The Director shall provide public notice of each 

tentative determination to issue or deny an 

individual or general NPDES permit as follows: 

(A) by publishing the notice one time in a 

newspaper having general circulation 

in said county, in accordance with 

G.S. 143-215.1(c)(2); and 

(B) by mailing the notice or transmitting 

the notice electronically to all persons 

or agencies listed in Paragraphs (c) 

and (d) of this Rule. 
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(2) The notice shall allow at least 30 days for public 

comment on the draft permit and the proposed 

final action. 

(3) The notice shall set forth at least the following: 

(A) name, address, and phone number of 

the agency issuing the public notice; 

(B) name and address of each applicant; 

(C) a summary of each applicant's 

activities or operations that result in 

the discharge described in the NPDES 

application; 

(D) name of waterway to which each 

discharge is made and a description of 

the location of each discharge on the 

waterway indicating whether such 

discharge is a new or an existing 

discharge; 

(E) a statement of the tentative 

determination to issue or deny an 

NPDES permit for the discharge 

described in the NPDES application or 

general permit; 

(F) a summary of the procedures for the 

formulation of final determinations, 

including a 30-day comment period 

and any other means by which 

interested persons may influence or 

comment upon the determinations; 

and 

(G) address and phone number of state 

agency premises at which interested 

persons may obtain further 

information, request a copy of the 

draft permit, request a copy of the fact 

sheet, and inspect and copy NPDES 

application forms and related 

documents. Copies of the fact sheet 

shall be made available free upon 

request. Copies of the information on 

file, other than fact sheets, shall be 

made available upon request and 

payment of the cost of reproduction. 

(4) Public notice for those activities covered by 

Certificates of Coverage issued pursuant to a 

general permit and for Authorizations to 

Construct shall not be required. 

(b)  Notice of Public Hearing 

(1) The Director shall provide public notice of each 

public hearing on any NPDES permit 

application: 

(A) by publishing the notice one time in a 

newspaper having general circulation 

in said county, in accordance with 

G.S. 143-215.1(c)(3), provided that, to 

the extent publication by electronic 

means is lawful, such publication may 

be substituted for newspaper 

publication; 

(B) by mailing the notice or transmitting 

the notice electronically to all persons 

and government agencies that received 

a copy of the notice or the fact sheet 

for the NPDES application; and 

(C) by mailing the notice or transmitting 

the notice electronically to any person 

or group upon request. 

(2) The notice of any public hearing shall include 

at least the following: 

(A) name, address, and phone number of 

agency holding the public hearing; 

(B) name and address of each applicant 

whose application will be considered 

at the hearing; 

(C) name of waterway to which each 

discharge is made and a description of 

the location of each discharge on the 

waterway; 

(D) a reference to the public notice issued 

for each NPDES application including 

identification number and date of 

issuance; 

(E) information regarding the time and 

location for the hearing; 

(F) the purpose of the hearing; 

(G) address and phone number of premises 

at which interested persons may obtain 

further information, request a copy of 

each draft NPDES permit, request a 

copy of each fact sheet, and inspect 

and copy NPDES forms and related 

documents; and 

(H) a summary of the nature of the hearing 

including the procedures to be 

followed. The notice shall also state 

that additional information is on file 

with the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Division of Water Resources, 

at the Archdale Building at 512 North 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North 

Carolina, and may be inspected at any 

time during normal business hours, 8 

a.m. to 5 p.m. Copies of the 

information on file shall be made 

available upon request and payment of 

cost of reproduction. 

(c)  The Director shall also give notice of draft NPDES permits 

and related public hearings to the following: 

(1) state water pollution control agency for the 

States of Virginia, South Carolina, Tennessee, 

and Georgia; 

(2) appropriate district engineer, U.S. Army Corps 

of Engineers; 

(3) lead agency responsible for preparation of plan 

pursuant to Section 208(b) of the Clean Water 

Act, 33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq.; in 

approved 208 areas; 
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(4) state agency responsible for the preparation of 

plans pursuant to Section 303(e) of the Clean 

Water Act, 33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq.; 

(5) any user identified in the permit application of 

a privately owned treatment works; and 

(6) any other federal, state, or local agency upon 

request. 

(d)  Mailing Lists. Any person may request to receive copies of 

all notices required under this Rule, and the Director shall provide 

such copies to any such person. The Director shall establish and 

maintain an NPDES mailing list for this purpose. The Director 

may distribute notices, or otherwise make them available, by 

electronic means at no charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(1); 143-215.1(c); 

143-215.4(a); 143-215.4(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1988; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0111 PUBLIC HEARINGS 

(a)  Public Hearings: 

(1) Any person who desires a public hearing on any 

NPDES permit application shall submit a 

request to the Director in accordance with G.S. 

143-215.1(c)(3). Any such request or petition 

for public hearing shall indicate the interest of 

the party filing such request and the reasons 

why a hearing is warranted. 

(2) The Director shall determine whether a public 

hearing is warranted in accordance with G.S. 

143-215.1(c)(3) and, if a hearing is warranted, 

shall issue public notice and conduct such 

hearing for the Commission. The Director may 

hold one or more hearings to consider an 

NPDES permit application or to consider a 

group of related NPDES permit applications, 

such as for facilities of similar type or location 

or subject to similar permit requirements. 

(3) All comments received within 30 days 

following the publication date of the notice of 

NPDES permit application shall be made part 

of the application file and shall be considered 

by the Director prior to taking final action on 

the application. 

(4) Any hearing brought pursuant to this Paragraph 

shall be held in the geographical area of the 

proposed discharge except that the Director 

may choose one or more alternative locations in 

the interest of facilitating public participation. 

If two or more hearings are held for a single 

permit application or for groups of similar 

applications, the hearings shall be located so as 

to provide for public participation across the 

geographical area of the permits. 

(b)  Adjudicatory Hearings and appeals shall be conducted in 

accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 150B of the General 

Statutes. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c)(1); 143-215.1(e); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.5;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; November 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0112 FINAL ACTION ON PERMIT 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  The Director shall take final action on all NPDES applications 

in accordance with G.S. 143-215.1(c)(4). In the case of an 

Authorization to Construct permit, the Director shall take final 

action within 90 days after the receipt of a complete application; 

or, if a public hearing is held concerning the Authorization to 

Construct, within 90 days following the closing of the record of 

the hearing. 

(b)  The Director shall: 

(1) issue a permit containing such conditions as are 

necessary to effectuate the purposes of G.S. 

143-215.1 and G.S. 143-215.67; 

(2) issue a permit containing time schedules for 

achieving compliance with applicable effluent 

standards and limitations, water quality 

standards, and other legally applicable 

requirements; 

(3) modify or revoke any permit upon giving 60 

days notice to the person affected pursuant to 

Rule .0114(a) of this Section; 

(4) rescind a permit upon request by the permittee; 

or 

(5) deny a permit application: 

(A) where necessary to effectuate the 

purposes of Article 21 Chapter 143; 

(B) for a discharge prohibited by G.S. 

143-214.2(a); 

(C) where the Secretary of the Army finds 

the discharge would substantially 

impair anchorage and navigation; 

(D) for a discharge to which the regional 

administrator of EPA has objected as 

provided in Section 402(d) of the 

Clean Water Act as amended, 33 

U.S.C. Section 1251 et seq.; and 

(E) for any point discharge that conflicts 

with a plan approved pursuant to 

Section 208(b) of the Clean Water Act 

as amended, 33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et 

seq.; effective February 4, 1987. 

(c)  No permit may be issued until the applicant provides 

sufficient evidence to ensure that the proposed system will 

comply with all applicable water quality standards and 

requirements. No permit may be issued when the imposition of 

conditions cannot reasonably ensure compliance with applicable 

water quality standards and regulations of all affected states. 

(d)  Duration of Permits. NPDES permits shall be issued or 

renewed for a period not to exceed five years. 

(e)  Continuation of expiring permits. Notwithstanding Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule, the conditions of an expired permit shall remain 

effective and enforceable until the effective date of a new permit, 

or until otherwise terminated, if: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2254 

(1) the permittee has submitted a timely and 

complete application under Rule .0106 of this 

Section; and 

(2) the Director, through no fault of the permittee, 

does not issue a new permit with an effective 

date on or before the expiration date of the 

previous permit (for example, when issuance is 

impracticable due to time or resource 

constraints). 

(f)  Enforcement. When the permittee is not in compliance with 

the conditions of the expiring or expired permit, the Director may 

act in accordance with 40 CFR 122.6(c), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including all subsequent amendments 

or editions, or take any action authorized by Article 21 of Chapter 

143 of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.2(a); 143-215; 

143-215.1(b); 143-215.1(c)(4); 143-215.1(c)(5); 143-215.2(a); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(4);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; October 1, 1987; September 1, 

1986; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0113 NOTIFICATION OF 

APPLICANTS 

The Director shall notify an applicant of the final decision of the 

applicant's permit application. Notifications of denial shall be 

made by certified mail and shall specify the reasons for the denial 

and the changes required to obtain the permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0114 MODIFICATION AND 

REVOCATION OF PERMITS 

(a)  Any permit issued pursuant to this Section is subject to 

revocation or modification in whole or part pursuant to 40 CFR 

122.62 or for any of the following: 

(1) violation of any terms or conditions of the 

permit; 

(2) obtaining a permit by misrepresentation or 

failure to disclose all facts; 

(3) a change in any condition that requires either a 

temporary or permanent reduction or limitation 

of the permitted discharge;  

(4) refusal of the permittee to permit the Director 

or his or her authorized representative upon 

presentation of credentials: 

(A) to enter upon permittee's premises in 

which an effluent source is located or 

in which any records are required to be 

kept under terms and conditions of the 

permit; 

(B) to have access to any copy and records 

required to be kept under terms and 

conditions of the permit; 

(C) to inspect any monitoring equipment 

or method required in the permit; or 

(D) to sample any discharge of pollutants; 

(5) failure to pay the annual permit fee in 

accordance with Rule .0105 of this Section. 

(b)  Modifications and reissuance of permits shall be subject to 

the same public notice and other procedural requirements as set 

forth in this Section for the issuance of permits except as follows: 

(1) modifications of the monitoring program 

contained in the permit; 

(2) name changes or changes in the ownership of 

the discharge when no other change in the 

permit is indicated; 

(3) a single modification of any compliance 

schedule not in excess of four months; 

(4) modification of compliance schedules 

(construction schedules) in permits for new 

sources where the new source will not begin to 

discharge until control facilities are operational; 

(5) modifications to include or amend pretreatment 

program requirements; 

(6) issuance of permits revoked for failure to pay 

the annual permit fee; and 

(7) minor modifications, such as typographical 

errors, incorrect maps, and similar minor 

changes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b)(3); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; September 1, 1988; November 1, 

1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0115 PUBLIC ACCESS TO RECORDS 

(a)  All materials, including records, reports, data, maps, 

diagrams, draft or final permits, fact sheets, or other documents or 

information and any public comments, in printed or electronic 

form, submitted to the Commission, the Secretary, or the Director 

are public records in accordance with Section 143-215.3C and 

Chapter 132 of the General Statutes and 40 CFR 122.7(b)-(c) and 

are subject to disclosure pursuant to G.S. 132-6 unless the 

materials qualify as confidential information as defined therein. 

(b) The Director shall determine which information is entitled to 

confidential treatment. In the event the Director determines that 

such information is entitled to confidential treatment, he or she 

shall take steps to protect such information from disclosure. He or 

she shall submit the information considered to be confidential to 

the Regional Administrator, EPA, Region IV, for concurrence in 

his or her determination of confidentiality. 

(c)  Confidentiality of Information. Any request for a 

determination of confidentiality shall be subject to the following: 

(1) Any claim of confidentiality shall be made by 

marking "confidential" or "trade secret" on each 

page containing such information. 
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(2) Until a claim of confidentiality is made, all 

materials submitted pursuant to the rules of this 

Section are public records and subject to 

disclosure in accordance with G.S. 132-1. 

(3) Upon receiving a request for confidentiality, the 

Director shall maintain the affected materials 

separately from public record documents and 

shall not disclose the materials unless or until 

he or she determines in accordance with G.S. 

143-215.3C and 132-1.2 and 40 CFR 122.7(b)-

(c) that the materials do not qualify as 

confidential information. 

(4) The Director may consult with the EPA Region 

4 Administrator regarding whether materials 

marked as "confidential" or "trade secret" 

qualify as confidential information. 

(5) Upon reviewing a request for confidentiality, 

the Director shall notify the applicant of his 

findings. If the Director determines that the 

materials or any portions thereof do not qualify 

as confidential information, those portions shall 

not be released for at least 60 days following the 

notification of findings. If the applicant files a 

contested case in response to the Director's 

decision, the materials shall not be released 

until conclusion of the contested case and then 

according to the court's decision. If the Director 

determines that the materials or any portions 

thereof qualify as confidential information, the 

Director shall continue to protect such 

information from disclosure. 

(d)  The following information may not be claimed and shall not 

qualify as "confidential" or "trade secret": 

(1) The name and address of any permit applicant 

or permittee; 

(2) Permit applications, including information or 

data required to be disclosed on the NPDES 

application forms pursuant to Rule .0105 of this 

Section or in printed or electronic attachments 

or appendices to such NPDES application 

forms; and 

(3) Permits and effluent data. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 132-6; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(2); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.3C; 143-215.65; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0116 EMERGENCY PROCEDURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(8); 

143-215.3(a)(12); 143-215.6C; 143-215.13(d);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1984; November 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0117 INVESTIGATIONS: 

MONITORING: AND REPORTING 

(a)  Staff of the Department of Environmental Quality may 

conduct any investigations as provided in G.S. 143-215.3(a)(2), 

(7), and (9) for the purpose of determining compliance with water 

quality standards, effluent limitations, permit conditions and these 

Rules. 

(b)  Any person subject to the provisions of G.S. 143-215.1 shall 

comply with the monitoring and reporting requirements of Rules 

in Section 15A NCAC 02B .0500. 

(c)  Any person subject to the provisions of G.S. 143-215.1 shall 

allow the Director or his or her authorized representative: 

(1) to enter upon permittee's premises in which an 

effluent source is located or in which any 

records are required to be kept under terms and 

conditions of the permit; 

(2) to have access to any copy and records required 

to be kept under terms and conditions of the 

permit; 

(3) to inspect any monitoring equipment or method 

required in the permit; or 

(4) to sample any discharge of pollutants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(2); 143-215.3(a)(4); 

143-215.3(a)(7); 143-215.3(a)(9); 143-215.63; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; October 1, 1987; December 1, 

1984; November 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0118 EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND 

STANDARDS 

Any state NPDES permit shall contain effluent limitations and 

standards required by 15A NCAC 02B .0400 and the Clean Water 

Act, which is hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 15A NCAC 02B .0400 

contains the effluent standards and limitations for ensuring 

compliance with Sections 301, 302, 306, and 307 of the Clean 

Water Act (33 USC 1251, et seq.). For water quality limited 

stream segments, the rules provide that effluent limitations be 

calculated by the staff, and approved by the Director, to comply 

with Section 301(b)(1)(C) of the federal act. The state rules can 

be accessed free of charge at http://www.oah.state.nc.us/rules/. 

The Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. 1251, et seq.) can be accessed 

free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213(23); 143-215; 

143-215.1(b)(1); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; November 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0120 LIMITATION ON DELEGATION 

The Director may delegate any or all of the functions contained in 

this Section except the following: 

(1) denial of a permit application; 

(2) revocation of a permit not requested by the 

permittee; 
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(3) modification of a permit where initiated by the 

Division and that does not fall within the 

exceptions listed in Rule .0114(b) of this 

Section; or 

(4) determination of confidentiality pursuant to 

G.S. 132 and 143-215.3C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0121 SUSPENSION OF 

REQUIREMENT FOR STATE NPDES PERMITS 

(a)  An NPDES Permit issued by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency shall serve in lieu of a State Permit under Rule 

.0104 of this Section and G.S. 143-215.1 so long as the Federal 

Permit remains in effect. 

(b)  Nothing in this Rule shall prevent the Commission from 

enforcing laws and regulations that by their terms are applicable 

without a G.S. 143-215.1 permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282; 

Eff. December 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0124 RELIABILITY 

All facilities shall provide adequate reliability measures to ensure 

continued treatment and disinfection where the interruption of 

such treatment would result in a discharge of insufficient quality 

to protect the best intended uses of the affected surface waters. 

The reliability measures shall include the following: 

(1) For new or hydraulically expanding facilities 

with mechanically operated components, and 

for any facility that mathematical modeling or 

other analysis determines would impact surface 

waters if treatment were interrupted, multiple 

(dual at a minimum) components such as 

pumps, chemical feed systems, aeration 

equipment and disinfection equipment;  

(2) At least one of the following: 

(a) dual or standby power supply on site; 

or 

(b) approval by the Director that the 

facility: 

(i) serves a private water 

distribution system that has 

automatic shut-off at power 

failure and no elevated water 

storage tanks and has 

sufficient storage capacity 

that no potential for overflow 

exists; or 

(ii) can tolerate septic 

wastewater due to prolonged 

detention and would not 

threaten the best intended 

uses of the affected waters as 

a result of power failure; or 

(c) provided that the waters that would be 

impacted by a power failure are 

classified as C Waters, a 

demonstration by the applicant of: 

(i) a history of power reliability 

that would demonstrate that 

an alternative power source 

would not be needed; or 

(ii) other measures would 

provide comparable 

assurances that surface 

waters will not be impacted 

during power failures; 

(3) For new or hydraulically expanding mechanical 

facilities, the treatment plant must contain 

parallel units for components in the liquid line, 

such as screening, primary sedimentation, 

biological treatment units, chemical and 

physical treatment units, clarifiers, disinfection 

and effluent filters, unless the applicant can 

demonstrate that this requirement is not 

necessary to ensure the reliability of one or 

more unit processes;  

(4) For mechanical facilities with a design capacity 

equal to or greater than 5.0 MGD and 

continuous operation, 24 hours per day, seven 

days per week staffing with each shift staffed 

by at least one certified wastewater operator 

unless the applicant can demonstrate that this 

requirement is not necessary to ensure 

reliability of its facility;  

(5) For facilities permitted under this Section, the 

permittee must designate an Operator in 

Responsible Charge and a back-up operator as 

required by the Water Pollution Control System 

Operators Certification Commission as 

established in 15A NCAC 08G .0201; and 

(6) The Operator in Responsible Charge, or 

back-up operator when appropriate, must 

operate and visit the facility as required by the 

Water Pollution Control System Operators 

Certification Commission as established in 15A 

NCAC 08G .0200 et seq. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0125 PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR 

PEAT MINING 

(a)  Any person who discharges or proposes to discharge 

pollutants from a peat mining operation to the surface waters of 

the state shall apply for, obtain, and comply with an NPDES 

permit for the discharge per the rules of this Section. Application 
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shall be made to the Division in accordance with Rule .0105 of 

this Section. The application shall also include the following 

information: 

(1) a list of and copies of all permits required by 

G.S. 143 215.1 for the project site, or copies of 

the applications submitted for those permits, 

including permits for waste disposal for 

sanitary facilities, on-site power plants, or 

energy conversion facilities; 

(2) supporting information to evaluate compliance 

with the requirements of this Rule, including 

maps, diagrams, calculations, assumptions, 

engineering specifications, and documentation 

of any proposed deed restrictions, easements, 

contracts, performance bonds, or other legal 

mechanisms intended to ensure long term 

effectiveness of proposed control and 

mitigation measures; and 

(3) other information required by this Rule. 

(b)  Applicability. The requirements of this Rule shall apply to 

mining, reclamation, post-reclamation, and related activities at all 

peat mining operations that have a reasonable potential to cause 

or contribute to the violation of water quality standards or loss of 

designated uses in estuarine nursery areas or any other 

downstream waters. The water quality standards and uses of the 

waters shall be protected during all phases of a peat mining 

project, and the cumulative impacts of other peat mining or land 

uses shall be considered in the evaluation of each permit. 

Estuarine nursery areas include: 

(1) all Primary and Secondary Nursery Areas as 

designated by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission or the Wildlife Resources 

Commission; 

(2) all anadromous fish spawning grounds and 

nursery areas identified in publications of the 

N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries; and 

(3) all other nursery areas designated or otherwise 

identified by the Marine Fisheries Commission 

or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(c)  Drainage: 

(1) Canals draining peat mines shall not outlet 

directly into estuarine nursery areas and shall be 

directed towards freshwater bodies unless: 

(A) evaluations based on dye tracer 

studies, computer modeling, or other 

analyses indicate that the drainage will 

not cause or contribute to impairment 

of those estuarine nursery areas; or 

(B) the discharge is approved in advance 

by the Marine Fisheries Commission 

or Wildlife Resources Commission, 

whichever established the designation. 

(2) If the evaluation in Subparagraph (1) or other 

analyses indicate that the drainage could flow 

into estuarine nursery areas or other 

downstream waters identified per Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule, the project shall be designed such 

that the total annual water released from the site 

does not exceed that expected from the site 

covered with mature natural vegetation. Mature 

natural vegetation is the assemblage of 

indigenous plants expected to occur on a 

proposed project site if it developed 

undisturbed. This expectation may include 

periodic disturbance by fire at natural 

frequencies and intensities. Also, the peak 

flows from the site shall be controlled by the 

use of management techniques, such as basins, 

that moderate release rates so that flows do not 

exceed those expected from the site undrained 

and with mature natural vegetation. For 

purposes of this Subparagraph, undrained is the 

state of the proposed project site without 

structures or features imposed by human 

agency intended to facilitate removal of surface 

or subsurface water. In modelling or other 

analysis required by this Rule, major canals 

existing as of September 1, 1986, at a density 

no greater than one per mile by one per 1/2 mile 

(or 320 acre blocks), may be allowed at the 

discretion of the Commission when it is 

determined that modeling techniques for 

evaluating "undrained" conditions are not 

available. Water management systems shall be 

designed to meet the flow control requirements 

of this Paragraph utilizing models or other 

quantitative methods in accordance with 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule and considering the 

historic range of rainfall conditions. At no time 

shall flows exceed those expected under 

conditions existing at the time of permit 

issuance. 

(3) Peat mining projects shall comply with the flow 

restrictions in Subparagraph (2) within four 

years of permit issuance and must show yearly 

improvements in runoff volumes as stipulated 

in the project plan.  

(d)  Nutrients. The project shall be designed so that nutrient 

loadings discharged from the site are no greater than would occur 

if the site were covered with mature natural vegetation. However, 

more stringent conditions may be established if monitoring, 

modeling or other quantitative methods indicate that the nutrient 

discharges would result in: 

(1) growths of microscopic vegetation such that 

chlorophyll a values are greater than the 

applicable standard established in 15A NCAC 

02B .0200; or 

(2) growths of microscopic or macroscopic 

vegetation that impair the intended best usage 

of the waters.  

Peat mining projects shall comply with the nutrient restrictions in 

this Paragraph within four years of permit issuance and must show 

yearly improvements in nutrient loadings as outlined in the project 

plan.  

(e)  Sediment. Best management practices, including settling 

basins on field ditches, shall be utilized to control sediment in 

drainage waters. The levels of sediment discharged must be 

predicted for the different stages of the operation and evidence 
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provided that these levels will not adversely affect the uses of the 

receiving waters. The deposition of windblown dust into both 

drainage and adjacent waters and the effects during and after fires 

must be included in this analysis. Details on the rate of sediment 

buildup and the frequency and procedures for removal in the 

various components for the water control system, including canals 

and settling basins, must be provided. Adequate sediment controls 

must be provided during maintenance and expansion of canals and 

water control structures to ensure that receiving waters conform 

to surface water quality standards and controls in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0200. 

(f)  Other pollutants. The characteristics of the drainage water 

leaving the site must be described for all phases of the project. 

Any substances that may be discharged during some phase of the 

project, including those in runoff or leachate from on-site storage 

of peat or ash, must be identified and their potential impacts 

evaluated. The application shall include the results of the 

characterization and evaluation and shall describe the measures 

that will be taken to comply with the water quality standards and 

to protect the uses of the receiving waters.  

(g)  Quantitative methods of analysis. Modelling or other 

quantitative methods of analysis shall be used to determine the 

effectiveness of proposed pollution control measures and shall, at 

a minimum, meet the following requirements: 

(1) All factors that may affect the quality or 

quantity of the discharge must be included in 

the design and evaluation of the water control 

system, including factors such as individual 

storm events, sequential storm events, fires, 

various land uses during different stages of the 

project, recharge or discharge to the 

groundwater, and construction, expansion, 

filling-in and maintenance of ditches, canals, 

settling basins, and impoundments; 

(2) The assumptions made for each analysis or 

condition must be listed and possible errors and 

the effects of such errors, including 

interactions, must be evaluated for each 

assumption; 

(3) Situations under which the predictions would 

be inaccurate must be identified and evaluated; 

(4) Conditions under which the proposed water 

control system would fail to comply with flow, 

nutrient, or other control requirements must be 

evaluated, including mechanical failures, and 

descriptions of the storage and flow capacities 

of all system components along with the 

intensities and durations of storms that would 

be expected to exceed the capacity of the 

various components during each phase of the 

project. The impact of such failures on water 

quality and flows must be evaluated; 

(5) In order to evaluate the performance of the 

proposed system under all anticipated 

conditions, various methods of analyses shall 

be utilized, including detailed models using 

historical rainfall data, as well as methods based 

on individual design storms and runoff 

coefficients. 

(h)  Wetland or swamp discharges. A discharge to a wetland or 

swamp shall not cause or contribute to the violation of water 

quality standards or loss of designated uses in these waters. For 

purposes of this Rule, wetlands are as defined in the federal 

NPDES regulations in 40 CFR 122.2, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. These regulations can be accessed free 

of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. Where available, 

determinations of wetland status by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers may be 

used in making wetland evaluations. The Commission may also 

make determinations of wetland status and define where water 

quality standards and uses must be protected. The application 

shall include information on the size, topography, soils, flows, 

water depths, channels, vegetation, wildlife resources, uses by 

wildlife and man, and other characteristics of a proposed filter 

area in order to demonstrate that the discharge will flow in the 

desired direction, that sheet flow and water quality benefits will 

be maintained over the long-term, and that water quality and 

existing uses of the area will not be threatened. The effects of 

storms or high water levels on these benefits and characteristics 

shall also be evaluated. A description of the means of diffusion to 

provide sheet flow shall be provided. The terms wildlife and 

wildlife resources are used as defined in G.S. 113-129. 

(i)  Effects on groundwater. The impacts of the proposed project 

and water control system on groundwater shall be evaluated in 

order to determine if the project will comply with Title 15A, 

Subchapter 2L, Classification and Water Quality Standards 

Applicable to the Groundwaters of North Carolina.  

(j)  Effects on adjacent landowners. Hydrologic and other 

alterations shall not cause or contribute to the loss of designated 

uses in waters of the state. The applicant shall prepare a 

description of the project and summary of the expected impacts 

on water quality and uses, send a copy to each adjacent 

landowner, and attach a copy of the document and any responses 

to the permit application. 

(k)  Assurance of continued operation. The permit application 

shall identify how the applicant will ensure the continued 

operation and maintenance of water control systems during peat 

mining operations and lasting until completion of reclamation 

activities in order to protect water quality. These mechanisms 

shall include paying for the costs of operating and maintaining the 

system. These assurances shall be provided by current owners and 

shall be required through all changes in ownership until 

reclamation is completed. Assurances of implementation of these 

mechanisms prior to the initiation of mining activity shall be a 

condition of the permit. 

(l)  Abandonment. The consequences of abandonment of the 

drainage and water control systems shall be described for each 

phase of the project, including the period after the reclamation 

plan is implemented. If the area of the project is abandoned at any 

time, the drainage discharges must comply with the design 

requirements of this Rule within four years or on a schedule 

approved by the Commission such that pollution never exceeds 

levels in existence at the start of the project. The analyses must 

verify that the mining bond and reclamation plan after the bond is 

released are both adequate to meet this condition. Further, it must 

be determined whether the mined area would flood, and if so, the 

depth of the water and points and rates of overflow must be 

described along with the impacts on adjacent lands and waters. 
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(m)  Characteristics of treatment systems.  

(1) For the purposes of this Rule, the characteristics 

of a treatment system are that the structure: 

(A) is manmade and intended to be utilized 

for water management and water 

pollution control; 

(B) is entirely on a single tract of privately 

owned land with the owner or owners 

controlling the inflows and outflows; 

(C) has controls at the outlets so water 

may flow out but, under normal 

hydrological conditions, not into the 

structure or facility through the 

outlet(s); and 

(D) is not an integral part of the ecosystem 

of the receiving waters so that if the 

operation causing the pollution is 

discontinued, the structure or facility 

can be removed from use without 

adversely impacting the hydrology or 

water quality of the receiving waters. 

(2) Waters within a treatment system are not 

subject to water quality standards. However, if 

an impoundment lagoon, canal, ditch, or other 

treatment unit has all of the characteristics of a 

treatment system listed in Subparagraph (1), 

and if the public utilizes the waters within the 

treatment system, such as for fishing, the 

Commission may include conditions in the 

facility's permit that support the continued 

utilization of the waters, provided that such 

conditions are consistent with the provisions of 

this Section. 

(n)  Identification of outlet points. Waters downstream from an 

outlet point must be protected to meet the water quality standards 

and public uses. Canals are generally classified waters of the state, 

either as named stream segments in the Schedule of 

Classifications or as unnamed tributaries. The following factors 

shall be used as guidance in determining the outlet point: 

(1) the outlet point must be entirely on the property 

of the permit applicant; 

(2) the outlet point must be selected so that the 

owner can block, obstruct, or open the outlet 

point: 

(A) without removing any established uses 

of the waters including navigation, 

fishing, and wildlife; and 

(B) without adversely affecting drainage 

by other landowners; 

(3) once a point has been designated as an outlet, 

the receiving waters shall not be obstructed by 

any landowner without approval and a permit 

modification by the Commission in accordance 

with the rules of this Section; and 

(4) outlet designations may require reconsideration 

of the classification of the waters consistent 

with 15A NCAC 02B .0100-.0200. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215(a); 

143-215(b); 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. September 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0127 GENERAL PERMITS 

(a)  In accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143.215.1 (b)(3) 

and (4), general permits may be developed by the Division and 

issued by the Director for categories of activities as described in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule.  

(b)  General permits shall be issued in accordance with G.S. 

143-215.1, using the procedures specified in this Section for 

individual NPDES permits, including those for application and 

public notice.  

(c)  Each general permit shall establish conditions that apply to all 

discharges covered by the permit, such as effluent standards and 

limits, management practices, enforcement authorities, and rights 

and privileges as specified in the general permit.  

(d)  General permits may be issued for discharges from categories 

or subcategories of minor activities such as the following: 

(1) once-through non-contact cooling waters with 

no biocidal additives; 

(2) mine dewatering facilities; 

(3) water filtration facilities; 

(4) swimming pool filter backwash facilities; 

(5) seafood packing facilities; 

(6) oil terminal storage facilities; 

(7) tourist gem mines; 

(8) sand dredges; 

(9) trout farms; 

(10) aquifer restoration; 

(11) stormwater discharges; 

(12) single-family residences; 

(13) other minor activities, provided that their 

discharges: 

(A) involve the same or substantially 

similar operations; 

(B) have similar discharge characteristics; 

(C) require the same effluent limitations or 

operating conditions; and 

(D) require the same or similar 

monitoring. 

(e)  General permits shall only be granted for discharge into 

waters classified either WS or SA following review and approval 

by the Shellfish Sanitation Program, Division of Marine Fisheries, 

and the Public Water Supply Section, Division of Water 

Resources, both of the Department of Environmental Quality. For 

the purposes of this Rule, "approval" means that the Program or 

Section either determines that the proposed discharge is 

acceptable pursuant to its regulations or specifies the conditions 

under which the discharge would be acceptable. 

(f)  Notwithstanding any provision of a general permit, permittees 

shall not violate state water quality standards or other applicable 

environmental standards. 

(g)  General permits shall be effective for a term not to exceed 

five years. 

(h)  Upon issuance of a general permit, any person may request 

coverage under the permit by completing and submitting to the 

Director a Notice of Intent that establishes its eligibility for 
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coverage. The Notice of Intent shall be submitted using forms 

provided by the Division on the Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

quality-permitting/npdes-wastewater/npdes-permitting-process-1 

in accordance with this Rule and applicable application 

procedures and fee specified in Rules .0105 and .0106 of this 

Section. 

(i)  The Notice of Intent shall include the following: 

(1) name and address of owner and operator; 

(2) location of the facility or site; 

(3) nature of the business or regulated entity and of 

its operations and production processes; 

(4) other permits held by the applicant: 

(5) description of the type of discharge and its 

characteristics; 

(6) description of treatment provided; 

(7) outfall locations; 

(8) for new or proposed discharges, a scale map, 

such as a 7.5 minute series USGS topographic 

map or copy of a portion thereof, showing the 

location of the facility and its outfalls; 

(9) receiving stream name and classification; 

(10) certification and signature of the applicant; 

(11) supporting documentation; and 

(12) other information, as specified in the general 

permit, necessary to determine the impacts of 

the discharge and its eligibility for the general 

permit; 

(j)  If a Notice of Intent is submitted in accordance with 

Paragraphs (h) and (i) of this Rule, the Director shall grant 

coverage under the general permit by issuing a Certificate of 

Coverage that specifies the general permit, the applicant's name 

and address, the name or type of facility, the issuance date of the 

Certificate, its effective date, and its expiration date, if any. If all 

requirements are not met, or if the Director determines the activity 

does not satisfy the eligibility criteria established in the general 

permit, the Director shall notify the applicant in writing, and the 

applicant shall submit an application for an individual permit. 

(k)  Dischargers that receive a Certificate of Coverage shall be 

authorized to discharge subject to the terms and conditions of that 

general permit and payment of an annual fee in accordance with 

Rules .0105 and .0106 of this Section. 

(l)  Dischargers covered by general permits are not required to 

submit new Notices of Intent or renewal requests unless so 

directed by the Division, such as may occur if eligibility criteria 

for permit coverage are modified.  

(m)  All previous state water quality permits issued to a facility 

that can be covered by a general permit, whether for construction 

or operation, shall be revoked upon request of the permittee, 

termination of the individual permit, and issuance of the 

Certification of Coverage. 

(n)  Any person covered or considering coverage under a general 

permit may choose to pursue an individual permit for any facility 

subject to the rules of this Section. 

(o)  The Director may require any person, otherwise eligible for 

coverage under a general permit, to apply for an individual 

NPDES permit by notifying that person that an application for an 

individual permit is required. Notification shall consist of a 

written description of the reason(s) for the decision, appropriate 

permit application forms and application instructions, a statement 

establishing the required date for submission of the application, 

and a statement informing the person that coverage by the general 

permit shall automatically terminate upon issuance of the 

individual permit. Reasons for requiring application for an 

individual permit include: 

(1) a determination that the discharge is not 

consistent with that of a "minor activity" as set 

forth in G.S. 143-215.1(4)(d.); 

(2) a change in conditions at the permitted site that 

alters the constituents or characteristics of the 

discharge such that the discharge no longer 

qualifies for coverage under a general permit; 

(3) noncompliance with the general permit; 

(4) noncompliance with Division Rules;  

(5) a change in the availability of demonstrated 

technology or practices for the control or 

abatement of pollutants applicable to the point 

source; 

(6) promulgation of effluent limitations for the 

point sources covered by the general permit; 

(7) approval of a water quality management plan 

containing the requirements applicable to such 

point sources after the issuance of the general 

permit; 

(8) a determination that the water of the stream 

receiving the discharge is not meeting 

applicable water quality standards; 

(9) a determination that the discharge is no longer 

eligible for coverage under the general permit; 

or 

(10) a decision by the Division to not renew the 

general permit. 

(p)  Any interested person may petition the Director in writing to 

take an action in accordance with this Rule to require an 

individual NPDES permit. The petition shall identify the affected 

facility, the applicable general permit, the action proposed, and 

the rationale for the action. The Director shall acknowledge 

receipt of the petition and shall provide his or her decision in the 

matter in writing to the petitioner and the affected permittee. 

(q)  General permits may be modified, terminated, or revoked and 

reissued in accordance with the authority and requirements of 

Rules .0112 and .0114 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(1); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1991; August 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0138 AUTHORIZATION TO 

CONSTRUCT PERMITS 

(a)  Authorization Required. 

(1) After an NPDES permit has been issued by the 

Division of Water Resources in accordance 

with this Section, construction of wastewater 

treatment facilities or additions thereto shall not 

begin until final plans and specifications have 

been submitted to and an Authorization to 

Construct has been issued to the permittee by 
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the Division of Water Resources, except as 

provided in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. 

(2) No Authorization to Construct shall be required 

for facilities intended to treat principally waste 

or sewage from an industrial facility whose 

discharge is authorized pursuant to an NPDES 

permit. 

(3) If an Authorization to Construct has not been 

applied for in accordance with the requirements 

of the NPDES permit during the term of the 

permit, the permit shall be considered void 

upon expiration and future actions shall be 

considered as a new application. 

(b)  Application. The applicant for an Authorization to Construct 

shall submit two printed and signed copies and one electronic 

copy of each of the following: 

(1) A completed and signed ATC Application 

Form. The form is available at no cost on the 

Division's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-permits/wastewater-

branch/npdes-wastewater/authorization-to-

construct. The signature of the consulting 

engineer or other agent shall be accepted as 

representing the permittee on the application 

only if accompanied by a letter of authorization 

from the permittee. The application form shall 

include the following information: 

(A) Applicant's name, title, and contact 

information; 

(B) Professional Engineer's name and 

contact information; 

(C) Facility name and NPDES permit 

number; 

(D) Project description; 

(E) Project design information; 

(F) Flows used for project design; 

(G) Effluent quality used for project 

design; 

(H) Summary of unit treatment processes 

and equipment; 

(I) Setback of wastewater 

treatment/storage units required per 

15A NCAC 02T .0506(b); 

(J) Application certification signed by the 

professional engineer; and 

(K) Application certification by the 

Applicant. 

(2) Plans and specifications. Signed, sealed, and 

dated engineering plans and specifications for 

the proposed facilities or facility modifications. 

(3) When a permittee proposes to cease operation 

of its wastewater treatment facility, it shall 

verify that its wastewater flows will first be 

connected to a wastewater district or municipal 

system with sufficient capacity to treat the 

added flows. 

(4) Documentation of the approval of a 

Sedimentation and Erosion Control Plan if it is 

required by the Division of Energy, Mineral and 

Land Resources or a delegated local 

government Sediment and Erosion Control 

Program. 

(5) Documentation that a 110 volt power source 

and a potable water supply, equipped with 

backflow prevention, are available at the 

treatment system to allow for maintenance, 

clean-up and sampling. In cases where this is 

not reasonable or economically achievable, the 

applicant may request and the Director may 

grant an exception. if the applicant documents 

how it will provide the necessary power and 

potable water at the facility. 

(6) For those wastewater disposal facilities that 

have the potential to cause a contravention of 

groundwater standards, hydrogeologic 

information as specified in Rule 15A NCAC 

02T .0504. 

(7) A residuals management plan, if the wastewater 

treatment system generates residuals. The plan 

must include the following: 

(A) An explanation as to how the residuals 

will be stabilized. In addition if the 

residuals are generated from a system 

treating sewage, the explanation must 

show that the stabilization process 

meets the Environmental Protection 

Agency's criteria for a Class B residual 

as defined in 40 CFR 503 or for a 

Process to Significantly Reduce 

Pathogens (PSRP) as defined in 40 

CFR Part 257 Appendix II, hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and 

editions. These regulations can be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(B) An evaluation of the residual storage 

requirements for the treatment facility. 

A minimum of 30 days storage shall 

be required on all facilities, except that 

the Director may waive this 

requirement on a case-by-case basis if 

the applicant demonstrates that this 

amount of storage is not necessary to 

prevent impacts to water quality and 

the public health. Storage shall be 

calculated based upon average sludge 

production rate and shall be process 

units that are separate from the 

treatment system, i.e., not the clarifiers 

or aeration basins. Additional storage 

may be required based upon the 

method of final disposal/utilization. 

(C) No authorization to construct shall be 

issued unless the application package 

includes a commitment for the 

acceptance of the residual from a 
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residuals management site approved 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02T 

.0105 and .1109 and demonstrates that 

the approved site has adequate 

capacity to accept the residuals. 

(8) A construction sequence plan for any project 

that will modify existing wastewater treatment 

facilities. The plan must outline the 

construction sequence to ensure continuous 

operation of the treatment system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a6); 143-215.1(c)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; March 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0139 MINIMUM DESIGN 

REQUIREMENTS 

All facilities requiring a permit pursuant to this Section shall be 

designed following good engineering practice and comply with 

the minimum design requirements specified in 15A NCAC 02T 

.0114 and .0805. The plans and specifications must be stamped 

and sealed by a Professional Engineer licensed in North Carolina 

unless all three of the following conditions are met: 

(1) the plans and specifications are for domestic 

waste from a single family dwelling with flows 

of 1,000 gallons per day or less; 

(2) the plans and specifications are prepared by the 

homeowner, and contain all information needed 

to evaluate the proposed facility pursuant to 

Rule .0138 of this Section; and 

(3) the effluent limitations are at least as stringent 

as for secondary treatment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0140 CERTIFICATION OF 

COMPLETION 

(a)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, prior to operation 

of any treatment works or disposal system permitted in 

accordance with this Section, the permittee shall provide the 

signed and sealed certification of a professional engineer that the 

treatment works or disposal system has been installed in 

accordance with the Authorization to Construct and the approved 

plans and specifications. 

(b)  For facilities with phased construction or where there is a need 

to operate equipment under actual operating conditions prior to 

certification, additional certification may be needed as follow-ups 

to the initial, pre-operation, certification. 

(c)  In cases where the treatment works or disposal system was 

designed by a homeowner rather than a professional engineer, 

either the permittee or a professional engineer must submit this 

certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(c)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

15A NCAC 02H .0141 OPERATIONAL AGREEMENTS 

(a)  Prior to issuance or reissuance of a permit pursuant to this 

Section for a wastewater facility as specified in G.S. 

143-215.1(d1), the applicant must either: 

(1) provide evidence to show that the applicant has 

been designated as a public utility by the State 

Utilities Commission; or 

(2) enter into an operational agreement with the 

Division of Water Resources. 

(b)  The requirement for assurance of financial solvency shall be 

made on a case by case determination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(d1); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0142 USE/WASTEWATER TRTMT 

WORKS EMGCY MAIN: OPER/REPAIR FUND 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a); 143-215.3B(c); 

143-215.3B(e); 

Eff. August 1, 1988; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020 (S.L. 2005-454, §8, effective January 

1, 2006). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0143 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

(a)  The following sections of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and shall apply throughout 

this Section except where procedural details of the federal 

regulations differ from procedures adopted elsewhere in this 

Section, in which case these Rules shall apply. These regulations 

can be accessed free of charge at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(1) 40 CFR 122.2, 124.2, and 125.2: Definitions; 

(2) 40 CFR 122.4: Prohibitions): 

(3) 40 CFR 122.5 (a) and (b): Effect of permit; 

(4) 40 CFR 122.7 (b) and (c): Confidential 

information; 

(5) 40 CFR 122.21 (a)-(b), (c)(2), (e)-(k), (m)-(p), 

(q), and (r): Application for a permit; 

(6) 40 CFR 122.22: Signatories; 

(7) 40 CFR 122.23: Concentrated animal feeding 

operations; 

(8) 40 CFR 122.24: Concentrated aquatic animal 

production facilities; 

(9) 40 CFR 122.25: Aquaculture projects; 

(10) 40 CFR 122.26: Storm water discharges; 

(11) 40 CFR 122.27: Silviculture; 

(12) 40 CFR 122.28: General permits; 

(13) 40 CFR 122.29 (a), (b), and (d): New sources 

and new dischargers; 

(14) 40 CFR 122.30: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: objectives; 

(15) 40 CFR 122.31: NPDES stormwater 

regulations: role of Tribes; 

(16) 40 CFR 122.32: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: applicability; 
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(17) 40 CFR 122.33: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: application for 

permit; 

(18) 40 CFR 122.34: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: permit 

requirements; 

(19) 40 CFR 122.35: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: shared 

responsibilities; 

(20) 40 CFR 122.36: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: compliance; 

(21) 40 CFR 122.37: NPDES stormwater 

regulations for small MS4s: evaluation; 

(22) 40 CFR 122.41 (a)(1) and (b) through (n): 

Applicable permit conditions; 

(23) 40 CFR 122.42: Conditions applicable to 

specified categories of permits; 

(24) 40 CFR 122.43: Establishing permit conditions; 

(25) 40 CFR 122.44: Establishing NPDES permit 

conditions; 

(26) 40 CFR 122.45: Calculating permit conditions; 

(27) 40 CFR 122.46: Duration; 

(28) 40 CFR 122.47 (a): Schedules of compliance; 

(29) 40 CFR 122.48: Monitoring requirements; 

(30) 40 CFR 122.50: Disposal into wells; 

(31) 40 CFR 122.61: Permit transfer; 

(32) 40 CFR 122.62: Permit modification; 

(33) 40 CFR 122.64: Permit termination; 

(34) 40 CFR 124.3 (a): Application for a permit; 

(35) 40 CFR 124.5 (a), (c), (d), and (f): Modification 

of permits; 

(36) 40 CFR 124.6 (a), (c), (d), and (e): Draft permit; 

(37) 40 CFR 124.8: Fact sheets; 

(38) 40 CFR 124.10 (a)(1)(ii), (a)(1)(iii), (a)(1)(v), 

(b), (c), (d), and (e): Public notice; 

(39) 40 CFR 124.11: Public comments and requests 

for hearings; 

(40) 40 CFR 124.12 (a): Public hearings; 

(41) 40 CFR 124.17 (a) and (c): Response to 

comments; 

(42) 40 CFR 124.56: Fact sheets; 

(43) 40 CFR 124.57 (a): Public notice; 

(44) 40 CFR 124.59: Comments from government 

agencies; 

(45) 40 CFR 124.62: Decision on variances; 

(46) 40 CFR Part 125, Subparts A (Technology-

Based Treatment Requirements), B 

(Aquaculture), D (Fundamentally Different 

Factors), H (Alternative Limitations, CWA 

Section 316(a)), I (Cooling Water Intake 

Structures, New Facilities, CWA Section 

316(b)), J (Cooling Water Intake Structures, 

Existing Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)), M 

(Ocean Discharge Criteria), and N (Cooling 

Water Intake Structures, Offshore Oil and Gas 

Facilities, CWA Section 316(b)); 

(47) 40 CFR Parts 129 (Toxic Pollutant Effluent 

Standards) and 133 (Secondary Treatment 

Regulation), and Subchapter N (Effluent 

Guidelines and Standards); 

(48) 40 CFR Parts 3 (Electronic Reporting) and 127 

(NPDES Electronic Reporting); 

(49) 40 CFR Part 136: Guidelines for establishing 

test procedures for the analysis of pollutants; 

and 

(50) 40 CFR 401.15: List of toxic pollutants 

pursuant to CWA Section 307(a)(1). 

(b)  This Rule is not an exclusive list of federal regulations 

adopted by reference in this Section. Other rules of the Section 

incorporate some of these same federal regulations for clarity or 

emphasis and may incorporate additional regulations not listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.1(b)(4); 

143B-282(5); 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0401 STATEMENT OF POLICY 

15A NCAC 02H .0402 APPLICABILITY 

15A NCAC 02H .0403 DEFINITION OF COASTAL 

AREAS 

15A NCAC 02H .0404 FACILITY LOCATION AND 

DESIGN 

15A NCAC 02H .0405 PRIVATELY OWNED 

INSTALLATIONS 

15A NCAC 02H .0406 PUBLICLY OWNED 

SEWERAGE FACILITIES 

15A NCAC 02H .0407 EXCEPTIONS FROM 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211; 143-214.2(c); 143-

215; 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b)(1); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1986; April 1, 1983; September 13, 

1981; May 11, 1980; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1201 PURPOSE 

The purpose of this Section is to implement the provisions of G.S. 

143-215.2 pertaining to the issuance of surface water and ground 

water Special Orders by the Environmental Management 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1202 DEFINITIONS 

The terms used in this Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-212 

and G.S. 143-213. Other terms used in this Section are defined as 

follows: 

(1) "Consent Order" or "Special Order by Consent" 

means a type of Special Order where the 

Commission enters into an agreement with the 

person responsible for water pollution to 

achieve some stipulated actions designed to 
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reduce, eliminate, or prevent water quality 

degradation. 

(2) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources. 

(3) "Special Order" means a directive of the 

Commission to any person whom it finds 

responsible for causing or contributing to any 

pollution of the waters of the State. The term 

includes all orders or instruments issued by the 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 143-215.2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.2; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1203 PUBLIC NOTICE 

(a)  The Director shall provide notice of a proposed Consent Order 

in accordance with G.S. 143-215.2(a1)(1). The notice shall 

include the following information: 

(1) name, address, and phone number of the agency 

issuing the public notice; 

(2) name and address of the person to whom the 

order is directed; 

(3) a summary of the proposed conditions of the 

agreement, including a disclosure of the final 

compliance date and the permit conditions that 

the permittee will be allowed to exceed; 

(4) notice that a public meeting may be requested 

in accordance with G.S. 143-215.2(a1)(2); and 

(5) a description of the information available for 

public review, where it can be found, and 

procedures for obtaining copies of documents. 

(b)  If a public meeting request is received, the Director shall 

consider all requests for a public meeting in accordance with G.S. 

143-215.2(a1)(2). If he or she determines that there is public 

interest in holding a public meeting, he or she shall provide notice 

as set forth in G.S. 143-215.2(a1)(2). The notice shall include the 

following: 

(1) the information specified in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1), (2), (3) and (5) of this Rule; 

(2) the time and location for the meeting; and 

(3) how public comment is to be provided. 

(c)  Any person may request to receive copies of all notices 

required by this Rule, and the Director shall provide copies of 

notices to those who have submitted a request. 

(d)  The Director may combine the requirements in Paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this Rule with a combination comment period and 

public meeting notice. 

(e)  Any Special Order by Consent may be amended by the 

Director to incorporate minor modifications, such as reallocations 

of allowable flows, correction of typographical errors, and interim 

date extensions, in a consent order without public notice provided 

that the modifications do not extend the final compliance date by 

more than four months. 

(f)  The requirements of this Rule for public notice and public 

meeting were developed to apply to Special Orders by Consent. 

The Commission may specify other conditions for Special Orders 

issued without consent. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1204 FINAL ACTION ON SPECIAL 

ORDERS BY CONSENT 

The Director shall take final action in accordance with G.S. 143-

215.2(a1)(4) on Special Orders by Consent in those cases where 

a public meeting is not held as provided in G.S. 143-215.2(a1)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1205 ACTION ON SPECIAL ORDERS 

ISSUED WITHOUT CONSENT 

The Commission may issue a proposed Special Order without the 

consent of the person affected. The Commission shall notify the 

affected person of the procedure set out in G.S. 150B-23 to contest 

the proposed Special Order. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2(b); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1206 WATER QUALITY SPECIAL 

ORDERS BY CONSENT 

(a)  Applications for Water Quality Special Orders by Consent: 

(1) A person that accepts responsibility for causing 

or contributing to pollution of the waters of the 

State may apply for a Special Order by Consent 

(Order, or SOC). Applications shall be 

submitted to the Division of Water Resources. 

An Order establishes a schedule of corrective 

actions necessary to achieve compliance and 

alternative limitations that will be effective 

until corrective actions are completed or until 

the completion date specified in the Order, 

whichever comes first. 

(2) Applications by permittees shall be made in 

triplicate on forms supplied by the Division 

along with a nonrefundable four hundred 

dollars ($400.00) processing fee. The 

application form shall include the following 

information: 

(A) applicant's name, title, and contact 

information; 

(B) facility name and permit number (if 

applicable); 

(C) date of pre-application meeting with 

the appropriate Regional Office of the 

Division and the name of the 

Division's representative at the 

meeting; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2265 

(D) a description of the existing treatment 

process, a summary of violations of 

permit conditions or limits, and an 

explanation of the circumstances 

contributing to the violations; 

(E) if a flow increase is requested, actual 

and proposed plant flows and flow 

allocations and demonstration of the 

need for the flow increase per 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule; only 

facilities owned by a unit of 

government may request a flow 

increase, per G.S. 143-215.67(b); 

(F) the results of an evaluation of the 

treatment units, operational 

procedures, and performance of the 

existing facility conducted by the 

permittee or other person. The person 

preparing these results shall sign the 

document. The evaluation shall 

include the following: 

(i) a determination that 

noncompliance is not due to 

failure by the permittee to 

operate, manage, and 

maintain the wastewater 

disposal system and that the 

existing wastewater disposal 

system is being operated in 

such a way as to attain, under 

the existing conditions, the 

highest degree of treatment 

for which it was designed; 

(ii) recommendations as to how 

the efficiencies of these 

facilities can be maximized; 

(iii) a certification that the 

facilities cannot be operated 

in a manner that would 

achieve compliance with 

permit limits; and 

(iv) a determination of the permit 

limits that the facility can be 

expected to meet if operated 

at its maximum efficiency 

during the term of the SOC. 

These may include interim 

limits for the various phases 

of construction. 

(G) a predicted schedule for activities 

necessary to achieve permit 

compliance; 

(H) a list of funding sources to be used to 

complete the proposed activities and 

bring the facility into compliance. The 

list shall indicate whether the funds 

have been secured or can be secured in 

time to conform to the schedule in Part 

(I) of this Subparagraph. If the 

permittee has applied for but not 

secured funding, it shall provide 

copies of those applications. If the 

permittee cannot verify that it has 

secured the necessary funding, it may 

propose alternative steps to achieving 

compliance with its permit; 

(I) other information relevant to the 

Director's evaluation of the 

application, including: 

(i) unavoidable future violations 

of permit conditions or 

limits; 

(ii) a description of any process 

modifications that have been 

made to date to ensure 

optimum performance of 

existing facilities; 

(iii) a description of collection 

system rehabilitation work 

completed or scheduled 

(including dates); 

(iv) a description of any 

coordination with industrial 

users or actions taken to 

address their contribution to 

the permit violations; 

(v) any other actions taken to 

correct problems and achieve 

compliance prior to applying 

for the SOC. 

(vi) the date and results of the last 

Industrial Waste Survey; and 

(vii) whether or not the facility is 

acting as a regional facility 

receiving wastewater from 

other municipalities having 

independent pretreatment 

programs; 

(3) Applications shall be signed as follows: 

(A) in the case of a City or Town, by a 

ranking elected official or other duly 

authorized employee; 

(B) in the case of a corporation, company, 

industry, or other private entity, by a 

principal executive officer of at least 

the level of vice-president, or his duly 

authorized representative; 

(C) in the case of a School District, by the 

Superintendent of Schools or other 

duly authorized employee; 

(D) in the case of a partnership, by a 

general partner and in the case of a 

limited partnership, by a general 

partner; and 

(E) in the case of a sole proprietorship, by 

the proprietor. 

(4) If an application is incomplete or if the Division 

staff determines that additional information is 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2266 

necessary to its review of the application, the 

Director shall notify the applicant of the 

additional items or information required to 

complete the application. If the applicant does 

not complete its application within 60 days of 

the notification, the Director may return the 

application to the applicant and terminate the 

Division's review. The applicant must submit a 

new application, revised to address the 

deficiencies already noted and with a new 

processing fee, to renew its request for an 

Order. 

(b)  Development of the Special Order: Special Orders by Consent 

shall satisfy the following requirements: 

(1) The compliance schedule in the SOC shall 

establish compliance dates for milestones, such 

as the start of construction, completion of 

construction, and achievement of final 

compliance, to ensure that the applicant makes 

continued progress toward achieving 

compliance with its permit requirements. No 

compliance date in the schedule shall follow the 

preceding compliance date by more than one 

year. 

(2) For permitted facilities, interim effluent 

limitations may be established within the SOC. 

Interim effluent limitations must be based on 

the optimum expected efficiency of the existing 

treatment system, as demonstrated by the 

applicant in Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule. 

Tiered interim effluent limitations may be 

established in the SOC to reflect the operational 

capabilities of the facility during different 

phases of construction. 

(3) To ensure compliance with all schedules dates 

and interim effluent limitations, all orders must 

contain stipulated penalties for violations of 

specified requirements. A monetary settlement 

may also be included in the order to settle 

previous violations. 

(4) The permittee shall be responsible for funding 

necessary improvements to its wastewater 

disposal system and for paying any monetary 

settlement and stipulated penalties included in 

the SOC. 

(c)  No public utility or unit of government shall accept or agree 

to accept wastewater flows that exceed the capacity of its 

wastewater disposal system, except as provided in G.S. 143-

215.67 and as follows: 

(1) The Director shall not allow additional flows as 

part of a consent Order unless the following 

demonstrations are made. The Director shall 

then determine the allowable additional flows 

based on Parts (A) – (E) of this Subparagraph 

and in accordance with G.S. 143-215.67: 

(A) New or improved wastewater 

treatment facilities will be constructed 

that will treat the existing and 

additional waste, or the permittee can 

adopt alternative steps to offset the 

impacts of the additional waste. 

(B) The flows are needed to provide 

service to identified new residential, 

commercial, and industrial sources. 

(C) The waste characteristics of the 

additional flows do not exceed those 

associated with domestic waste or are 

pretreated to domestic strengths. 

Volumes of non-pretreated industrial 

waste will be allocated as the 

calculated volume of their domestic 

strength equivalent. Additionally, 

waste of greater than domestic 

strength may be accepted if the 

parameters are not those for which 

interim limitations have been 

developed and the additional waste 

will not adversely affect the treatment 

efficiency of the treatment system for 

any modified parameter or result in the 

violation of any other permit 

limitation. 

(D) Local legal authorities, including, but 

not limited to, adoption and 

implementation of industrial waste 

control and pretreatment ordinances, 

will be used to control new and 

proposed industrial waste tributary to 

the system. 

(E) The cumulative impacts of wastewater 

allowed under the order will not result 

in any significant degradation in the 

quality of the waters ultimately 

receiving the wastewater during flow 

conditions between and including the 

7-day, 10-year minimum flow (7Q10) 

and the average flow. The division 

must consider any special or protected 

waters, such as High Quality Waters, 

Water Supply Waters, Trout Waters 

and Shellfish Waters in conducting 

this evaluation. Significant 

degradation shall be defined to include 

but not be limited to the following: 

(i) a predictive decrease in 

dissolved oxygen of 0.5 mg/l 

or greater at the point of 

maximum dissolved oxygen 

sag. In cases where existing 

(prior to adding the requested 

wastewater) dissolved 

oxygen conditions are above 

3.0 mg/l at or above 7Q10 

conditions, the amount of 

wastewater added shall not 

be allowed to depress oxygen 

levels below 3.0 mg/l at the 

corresponding stream flow 
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levels. No additional 

wastewater shall be allowed 

if measured or predicted 

dissolved oxygen levels at 

any stream flow at or above 

7Q10 are less than 3.0 mg/l, 

unless approval is granted by 

the Environmental 

Management Commission. 

In making this decision, the 

Commission shall consider 

criteria such as naturally 

occurring background 

dissolved oxygen levels and 

projected duration of impacts 

and stream miles impacted. 

In cases when adequate 

models do not exist to allow 

the prediction of instream 

dissolved oxygen impacts, no 

additional wastewater shall 

be allowed into the system; 

(ii) a predictive increase in the 

length of the segment in 

which the predicted 

dissolved oxygen is less than 

dissolved oxygen standards 

of 0.5 miles or greater; 

(iii) an increase in coliform 

bacteria density predicted to 

exceed applicable water 

quality standards; 

(iv) increases in the coliform 

density, decreases in 

dissolved oxygen, or changes 

in any other water quality 

parameters that are predicted 

to result in mortality of fish 

or other aquatic life, closing 

of swimming areas or impact 

on other water uses, 

regardless of compliance 

with conditions Subparts 

(d)(1)(E)(i)-(iii) of this Rule; 

or 

(v) the proposed addition of 

toxic pollutants in quantities 

not associated with domestic 

wastewater characteristics, 

unless the acceptance of the 

additional wastewater does 

not cause the combined 

wastewaters to exhibit 

reasonable potential to cause 

an exceedance of water 

quality standards. 

(2) Approvals of additional wastewater flows may 

be rescinded by the Director for any schedule or 

condition violation, or limit violations in two 

consecutive months, or any other violation he 

or she considers sufficiently severe to warrant 

such action. In determining violations to be 

sufficiently severe, the Director shall consider 

factors such as the parameters being violated, 

the magnitude of the violations, the projected 

duration of the violations, the waters being 

impacted or projected to be impacted and the 

reasons for the violations. Upon a 

determination by the Director that the approval 

of a flow allocation is to be rescinded, he or she 

shall provide notice to the permittee that shall 

include the factors that made the decision 

necessary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3D; 

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0509 TARPON 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, or offer for sale tarpon. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to take tarpon by any method other than 

hook and line. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to gaff, spear, or puncture a tarpon. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0108 LICENSE AND COMMERCIAL 

FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION TRANSFERS 

(a)  To transfer a license or Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration, the license or registration shall not be expired prior 

to transfer. 

(b)  Upon transfer of a license or Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration, the transferee becomes the licensee and assumes the 

privileges of holding the license or Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration. 

(c)  A transfer application including a certification statement form 

shall be provided by the Division of Marine Fisheries. A transfer 

application shall be completed for each transfer including, but not 

limited to: 

(1) the information required as set forth in Rule 

.0101(a) of this Section; 

(2) a notarized statement from the transferee listing 

any violations involving marine or estuarine 

resources in the State of North Carolina during 

the previous three years; and 

(3) a notarized statement from the transferee that 

the information and supporting documentation 

submitted with the transfer application is true 

and correct, and that the transferee 

acknowledges that it is unlawful for a person to 
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accept transfer of a license for which they are 

ineligible. 

(d)  A completed transfer application shall be returned to an office 

of the Division by mail or in person, except as set forth in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(e)  A transfer application submitted to the Division without 

complete and required information shall be deemed incomplete 

and shall not be considered further until resubmitted with all 

required information. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant with deficiency in the application so noted. 

(f)  A License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean shall 

only be transferred: 

(1) with the transfer of the ownership of a vessel 

that the licensee owns that individually met the 

eligibility requirements of Rule .0101 (b)(1)(A) 

and (b)(1)(B) of this Section to the new owner 

of that vessel; or 

(2) by the owner of a vessel to another vessel under 

the same ownership. 

Transfer of a License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean transfers with it all flounder landings from the 

Atlantic Ocean associated with that vessel. Any transfer 

of license under this Paragraph shall only be processed 

through the Division of Marine Fisheries Morehead City 

Headquarters Office and no transfer is effective until 

approved and processed by the Division. 

(g)  Transfer of a Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration: If 

transferring ownership of a vessel bearing a current Commercial 

Fishing Vessel Registration, the new owner: 

(1) shall follow the requirements in Rule .0101 of 

this Section and pay a replacement fee as set 

forth in Rule .0107 of this Section for a 

replacement Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration; and 

(2) shall submit a transfer application with the 

signatures of the former owner and the new 

owner notarized. 

(h)  Transfer of a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License: 

(1) It is unlawful for a person to accept transfer of 

a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License for which they are ineligible. 

Grandparents, grandchildren, and legal 

guardians of an individual are eligible to 

transfer a license and receive a transferred 

license. 

(2) A Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License shall only be transferred if both 

the transferor and the transferee have no current 

suspensions or revocations of any Marine 

Fisheries license privileges. In the event of the 

death of the transferor, this requirement shall 

only apply to the transferee. 

(3) For purposes of effecting transfers under this 

Paragraph: 

(A) "business" shall mean corporations 

and limited liability companies that 

have been registered with the 

Secretary of State; and 

(B) "owner" shall mean owner, 

shareholder, or manager of a business. 

(4) At the time of the transfer of a Standard or 

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License, 

the transferor shall indicate the retainment or 

transfer of the landings history associated with 

that Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License. The transferor may retain a 

landings history only if the transferor holds an 

additional Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License. Transfer of a 

landings history is all or none. 

(5) To transfer a Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License, in addition to the 

requirements in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the 

following information is required: 

(A) information on the transferee as set 

forth in Rule .0101 of this Section; 

(B) notarization of the transferor's and the 

transferee's signatures on the transfer 

application; and 

(C) if the transferor is retiring from 

commercial fishing, evidence showing 

that such retirement has in fact 

occurred, which may include, but is 

not limited to, evidence of the transfer 

of all the transferor's Standard 

Commercial Fishing Licenses, sale of 

all the transferor's registered vessels, 

or discontinuation of any active 

involvement in commercial fishing. 

(6) The Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License that is being transferred shall 

be surrendered to the Division at the time of the 

transfer application. 

(7) Fees: 

(A) The transferee shall pay a replacement 

fee as set forth in Rule .0107 of this 

Section. 

(B) The transferee shall pay the 

differences in fees as specified in G.S. 

113-168.2(e) or G.S. 113-168.3(b) if 

the transferee is a non-resident. 

(C) The transferee shall pay the 

differences in fees as specified in G.S. 

113-168.2(e) if the license to be 

transferred is a Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License and the 

transferee is less than 65 years old. 

(8) Transfer of Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License for a Business: 

(A) An individual holding a Standard or 

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing 

License may transfer their license to a 

business in which the license holder is 

also an owner of the business in 

accordance with application 

requirements as set forth in Rule 

.0101(a) of this Section. 
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(B) If a business is dissolved, the business 

may transfer the license or licenses of 

the business to an individual owner of 

the dissolved business. A dissolved 

business holding multiple licenses 

may transfer one license or multiple 

licenses to one owner or multiple 

owners or any combination thereof. A 

notarized statement showing 

agreement for the transfer of all 

owners of the business is required to 

complete this transaction. 

(C) If a business is sold, the business may 

transfer the license or licenses of the 

business to the successor business at 

the time of sale. 

(D) If an owner leaves the business, any 

license owned by that owner may be 

transferred back to themselves as an 

individual at the time the owner leaves 

the business, provided the owner was 

the last individual to own the license 

before the business owned the license. 

A notarized statement showing 

agreement for the transfer of all 

owners of the business is required to 

complete this transaction. 

(9) Transfer of Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License for a Deceased 

Licensee: 

(A) If an immediate surviving family 

member of the deceased licensee is 

eligible to hold the deceased licensee's 

Standard Commercial Fishing License 

or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License, the Administrator or 

Executor shall give written 

notification within six months after the 

Administrator or Executor qualifies 

under G.S. 28A to the Division of the 

request to transfer the deceased's 

license to the estate Administrator or 

Executor. 

(B) A transfer to the Administrator or 

Executor shall be made according to 

the provisions of Subparagraphs (2) 

through (4) of this Paragraph. The 

Administrator or Executor shall 

provide a copy of the deceased 

licensee's death certificate, a copy of 

the certificate of administration, and a 

list of eligible immediate family 

members to the Division. 

(C) The Administrator or Executor shall 

only transfer a license in the 

Administrator or Executor name on 

behalf of the estate to an eligible 

surviving family member. The 

surviving family member transferee 

shall only transfer the license to a third 

party purchaser of the deceased 

licensee's fishing vessel. Transfers 

shall be made according to the 

provisions of Subparagraphs (2) 

through (4) of this Paragraph. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.2; 

113-168.3; 113-168.6; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0113 BIG GAME HARVEST REPORTS 

(a)  Definitions. The following definitions shall apply in this Rule: 

(1) "Authorization number" means the number or 

code issued by the Electronic Big Game 

Reporting System upon completion of big game 

harvest registration, which shall serve as proof 

of registration and allow continued possession 

of the carcass. 

(2) "Big Game" means bear, wild turkey, and 

white-tailed deer, as defined in G.S. 113- 129. 

(3) "Big Game Harvest Report Card" means the 

reporting card supplied to the hunter by the 

Commission as part of the big game license, 

upon which the successful hunter validates and 

records the authorization number for a big game 

harvest. 

(4) "Field Dress" means the bleeding or removal of 

the digestive, respiratory, and circulatory 

organs. 

(5) "Validate" or "validation" means cutting or 

punching-out the day and month the harvest 

occurred on the appropriate line of the Big 

Game Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless 

Deer Harvest Report Card or by affixing a 

Commission-issued Deer Management 

Assistance Program (DMAP) tag, as required 

by G.S. 113-291.2(e). 

(6) "Register" or "Registration" means the process 

by which the harvest of big game is reported 

through the Electronic Big Game Reporting 

System and an authorization number is issued. 

(7) "Remote Area" means an area where access to 

the Electronic Big Game Reporting System is 

unavailable. 

(8) "Site of kill" or "site of harvest" means the 

location that a person takes possession of 

harvested big game. 

(9) "Successful hunter" means a person that has 

lawfully taken and reduced to possession a big 

game animal. 
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(b)  Validation. The successful hunter shall validate the Big Game 

Harvest Report Card or the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report 

Card before moving any big game from the site of kill. Deer 

harvested pursuant to the Deer Management Assistance Program 

(DMAP), that are not validated by the Big Game Harvest Report 

Card or the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card, shall be 

validated by affixing a Commission-issued DMAP tag. 

(c)  Field Dressing. Harvested big game may be field dressed at 

the site of kill or before registration. Further processing that 

obscures the identification of the harvested animal's species, age, 

or sex shall be prohibited without a valid authorization number. 

(d)  Registration. Harvested big game shall be registered via the 

Electronic Big Game Reporting System at www.ncwildlife.org or 

by calling 1-800-446-8663. Harvested big game shall be 

registered before the animal is: 

(1) skinned; or 

(2) dismembered; or 

(3) left unattended by the successful hunter; or 

(4) placed in the possession of another person. 

Harvested big game animals that are not skinned, dismembered, 

left unattended by the successful hunter, or placed in the 

possession of another person, shall be registered by 12pm noon 

the day following the harvest. 

(e)  Registration in Remote Areas. Big game harvested in remote 

areas shall be registered by 12pm noon, the day after leaving the 

remote area. Notwithstanding the registration requirements in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule, big game harvested in remote areas 

may: 

(1) be placed in the possession of another, provided 

that the person in possession of the big game 

has the successful hunter's name and date of kill 

on their person; and 

(2) be skinned and dismembered before 

registration, if the carcass cannot be transported 

intact. 

(f)  Authorization number. The authorization number shall be 

recorded in the space provided for the appropriate harvested big 

game animal on the Big Game Harvest Report Card or on the 

Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card. Successful hunters 

validating a deer harvest by affixing a Commission-issued DMAP 

tag shall record and maintain the authorization number upon 

registration. 

(g)  Unattended Harvests. Except as otherwise provided by rule or 

law, successful hunters that leave a harvested big game animal 

unattended or in the possession of another person shall identify 

the carcass by attaching the authorization number issued at the 

time of registration. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule, a person that takes possession of a big game animal from a 

successful hunter shall retain the authorization number of that 

animal. 

(h)  Exceptions. Requirements of this Rule shall not be applicable 

to special deer tags issued pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2(e). 

(i)  Any person hunting big game animals, including license 

exempt persons, shall have a valid Big Game Harvest Report 

Card, valid Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card, or special 

tag pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2 in their possession. The Big Game 

Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report 

Card is part of the big game license and shall not be transferrable. 

(j)  Any persons who has requested a Big Game Harvest Report 

Card by phone or internet but has not yet received the Big Game 

Harvest Report Card by mail, shall validate the kill by affixing the 

harvest ID number provided by the Commission to the carcass and 

shall register in accordance with Paragraphs (d) or (e) of this Rule. 

The successful hunter shall retain all authorization numbers from 

reported harvests and shall transcribe those authorization numbers 

to the Big Game Harvest Report Card upon receipt of the card. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 

113-291; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1995; July 1, 

1994; July 1, 1993; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; August 1, 2012; August 1, 2010; 

June 1, 2009; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0201 PROHIBITED TAKING AND 

MANNER OF TAKE 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person to take, or have in possession, 

any wild animal or wild bird listed in this Section except during 

the open seasons and in accordance with the limits herein 

prescribed, or as prescribed by 15A NCAC 10B .0300 pertaining 

to trapping or 15A NCAC 10D applicable to game lands managed 

by the Wildlife Resources Commission, unless otherwise 

permitted by law. Lawful seasons and bag limits for each species 

apply beginning with the first day of the listed season and 

continue through the last day of the listed season, with all dates 

being included. When any hunting season ends on a January 1 that 

falls on a Sunday, that season shall be extended to Monday, 

January 2. 

(b)  On Sundays, hunting on private lands shall be allowed under 

the following conditions: 

(1) archery equipment as described in 15A NCAC 

10B .0116, falconry, and dogs where and when 

allowed the other days of the week are lawful 

methods of take, except as prohibited in G.S. 

103-2: 

(2) firearms are lawful methods of take when used 

as described in G.S. 103-2; and 

(3) migratory game birds shall not be taken. 

(c)  On Sundays, hunting on public lands is allowed with the 

following restrictions: 

(1) only falconry and dogs used in conjunction with 

falconry are lawful methods of take; and 

(2) migratory game birds shall not be taken. 

These restrictions do not apply to military installations under the 

exclusive jurisdiction of the federal government. 

(d)  Those animals not classified as game animals in G.S. 113-

129(7c), and for which a season is set under this Section, may be 

taken during the hours and methods authorized for taking game 

animals. 

(e)  Where local laws govern hunting, or are in conflict with this 

Subchapter, the local law shall prevail. 

(f)  No person shall possess or use any substance or material that 

contains or is labeled as containing any excretion collected from 

a cervid, including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily 
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fluid for the purposes of taking or attempting to take, attracting, 

or scouting wildlife. This prohibition shall not apply to natural 

substances collected by an individual from non-farmed cervids 

legally taken in North Carolina or synthetic products. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 103-2; 113-291.1(a); 113-134; 

113-291.2; 113-291.3; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016; August 1, 2012; July 10, 2010; July 

1, 1996; July 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED) 

(a)  Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer: 

(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 

spikes protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 

skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands 

except Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, 

Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South 

Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC 

10D .0103 for Deer With Visible Antlers 

seasons on these Game Lands), during the 

following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Beaufort, 

Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, 

Columbus*, Cumberland, Craven, 

Dare, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, 

Jones, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, 

Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, 

Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, 

and Washington counties. 

*Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake 

Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its 

shoreline. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Bertie, 

Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 

Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, 

Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Martin, 

Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, 

Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 

Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 

(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1 in all of Alexander, 

Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 

Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 

Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 

Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 

Yadkin counties. 

(D) Monday of Thanksgiving week 

through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day in all of Avery, 

Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, 

Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 

Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 

Transylvania, and Yancey counties. 

(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1 in all of 

Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Chatham, Davidson, Durham, 

Granville, Guilford, Lee, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange, 

Person, Randolph, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through January 1 in those parts of 

Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 

counties known as the Dismal Swamp 

National Wildlife Refuge; in those 

parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and 

Washington counties known as the 

Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife 

Refuge; in that part of Hyde county 

known as Lake Mattamuskeet 

National Wildlife Refuge; in those 

parts of Dare and Hyde counties 

known as Alligator River National 

Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 

Anson and Richmond counties known 

as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 

Refuge; and in that part of Currituck 

County known as the Mackay Island 

National Wildlife Refuge. 

(2) Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, 

deer of either sex may be taken during the open 

seasons and in the counties and portions of 

counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), 

(F), and (G) of this Subparagraph (Refer to 15A 

NCAC 10D .0103 for either-sex deer seasons 

on Game Lands). Deer of either sex may be 

taken during the open season identified in Part 

(H) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service during the period 

from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through January 1 in 

those parts of Camden, Gates, and 

Pasquotank counties known as the 

Dismal Swamp National Wildlife 

Refuge; in those parts of Hyde, 

Tyrrell, and Washington counties 

known as the Pocosin Lakes National 

Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 

Anson and Richmond counties known 

as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 

Refuge; and in those parts of Currituck 

County known as the Currituck 

National Wildlife Refuge and the 

Mackay Island National Wildlife 

Refuge. 

(B) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the appropriate military 

commands at each of the military 

installations listed in this Paragraph, 
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during the period from Saturday on or 

nearest October 15 through January 1 

in that part of Brunswick County 

known as the Sunny Point Military 

Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven 

County known and marked as Cherry 

Point Marine Base, in that part of 

Onslow County known and marked as 

the Camp Lejeune Marine Base, on 

Fort Bragg Military Reservation, and 

on Camp Mackall Military 

Reservation. 

(C) Youth either-sex deer hunts. First 

Saturday in October for youth either-

sex deer hunting by permit only on a 

portion of Belews Creek Steam 

Station in Stokes County designated 

by agents of the Commission; the third 

Saturday in October for youth either-

sex deer hunting by permit only on 

Mountain Island State Forest in 

Lincoln and Gaston counties; and the 

second Saturday in November for 

youth either-sex deer hunting by 

permit only on apportion of Warrior 

Creek located on W. Kerr Scott 

Reservoir, Wilkes County designated 

by agents of the Commission. A youth 

is defined as a person under 18 years 

of age. 

(D) The first open Saturday of the Deer 

with Visible Antlers season described 

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 

all of Buncombe*, Haywood, 

Henderson, Madison, and 

Transylvania counties. 

*Except for that part east of NC 191, 

south of the French Broad and 

Swannanoa Rivers, west of US 25, and 

north of NC 280 

(E) The first open day of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the first Saturday thereafter in 

all of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, 

McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancey 

counties. 

(F) The first open day of the Deer with 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the second Friday thereafter in 

all of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 

counties. 

(G) All the open days of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 

and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 

Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 

Gaston counties and in the following 

parts of counties: Buncombe: That 

part east of NC 191, south of the 

French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, 

west of US 25, and north of NC 280; 

and Henderson; That part east of NC 

191 and north and west of NC 280. 

(H) The fourth Saturday in September in 

all counties, subject to the following 

restriction: only persons under the age 

of 18 years may hunt. 

(b)  Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer may be taken with archery equipment 

during the following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through the day immediately 

preceding the first open day of the 

Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 

Seasons described in Subparagraph 

(c)(1) of this Rule; and the Sunday 

immediately following the closing of 

blackpowder firearms and archery 

season identified in Part (c)(1)(B) of 

this Rule to the Sunday before 

Thanksgiving in the counties and parts 

of counties having the open seasons 

for Deer With Visible Antlers 

specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 

except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 

to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for Archery 

seasons on these Game Lands). 

(B) Sunday immediately following the 

closing of the open season for Deer 

With Visible Antlers through January 

1 in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open season for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs may not be used for 

hunting deer during the archery 

season, except a single dog on a leash 

may be used to retrieve a dead or 

wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 

113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer may be used during the 

archery deer hunting season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

archery seasons specified by Part 

(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 
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(D) Only deer with antlers or spikes 

protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons 

covered by skin or velvet, shall be 

taken during the archery season 

specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for 

hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 

be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 

archery equipment during the following 

seasons: 

(A) Two Saturdays preceding the first day 

of the Deer with Visible Antlers 

seasons described in Parts (a)(1)(A), 

(B), (C), (E), and (F) of this Rule 

through the second Friday thereafter 

except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 

to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for 

Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 

seasons on these Game Lands): 

(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the second Saturday thereafter 

in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open seasons for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 

(A) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

blackpowder firearms and archery 

season in any county or county part set 

forth in Part (a)(2)(G) of this Rule that 

has either-sex days for all lawful 

weapons and in the following 

counties: Polk, Rutherford, 

McDowell, Burke, Caldwell, and 

Cleveland. Deer of either sex may be 

taken on the first Saturday day of this 

season only in all other counties. 

(B) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 

hunting deer during the blackpowder 

firearms and archery seasons, except a 

single dog on a leash may be used to 

retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 

accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, blackpowder firearms 

means "Any firearm - including any firearm 

with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 

similar type of ignition system - manufactured 

in or before 1898, that cannot use fixed 

ammunition; any replica of this type of firearm 

if such replica is not designed or redesigned for 

using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed 

ammunition; and any muzzle-loading rifle, 

muzzle-loading shotgun, or muzzle-loading or 

cylinder-loading handgun that is designed to 

use blackpowder, blackpowder substitute, or 

any other propellant loaded through the muzzle 

or cylinder and that cannot use fixed 

ammunition." 

(d)  Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer of either sex may be taken with bow and 

arrow in participating cities in the State, as 

defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the second 

Saturday following January 1 through the sixth 

Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be taken on 

any game land or part thereof that occurs within 

a city boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 

the urban season shall send a letter to that effect 

no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start 

of the urban season to the Executive Director or 

his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall also 

submit a map of the city's boundaries within 

which the urban season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 

the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 

113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 

hunting deer during the urban season, 

except a single dog on a leash may be 

used to retrieve a dead or wounded 

deer in accordance with G.S. 113-

291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer shall be used during the 

urban season. 

(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of 

which may be deer with visible antlers and four of which may be 

antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 

buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes 

protruding through the skin. In addition to the bag limits described 

above, a hunter may obtain multiple bonus antlerless deer harvest 

report cards from the Wildlife Resources Commission or any 

Wildlife Service Agent to allow the harvest of two additional 

antlerless deer per card for deer harvested during the season 

described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within the boundaries of 

participating municipalities, except on State-owned game lands. 

Antlerless deer harvested and reported on the bonus antlerless 

harvest report card shall not count as part of the possession and 

season limit. The bag limits described above do not apply to deer 

harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 

Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 

individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 

harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 
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be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 

possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 

the date of harvest, shall be tagged with these DMAP tags and 

reported as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not 

have to validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with 

the hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 

harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 

DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 

established deer seasons subject to all the restrictions of those 

seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 

harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 

113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996, July 1, 

1995; December 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (Approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; 

August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; 

August 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; July 10, 2010; June 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0224 AMERICAN ALLIGATOR 

(a)  The season for taking American alligators shall be September 

1 to October 1. 

(b)  Take shall be by permit only. 

(c)  The bag limit shall be one per permit and the season limit is 

one. 

(d)  American alligators shall only be restrained using one of the 

following methods in accordance with the provisions of the 

permit: 

(1) a hand-held restraining line or catch pole; 

(2) a snatch hook attached to a hand-held 

restraining line or rod and reel; 

(3) a harpoon or gig attached to a hand-held 

restraining line; 

(4) a baited wooden peg less than two inches in 

length attached to a hand-held restraining line; 

or 

(5) archery equipment with an arrow-attached 

restraining line. 

(e)  If a minimum size limit is applicable to the county or 

municipality for which the permit is issued, the authorized size 

limit and method(s) of restraint shall be specified on the permit. 

(f)  American alligators restrained by any method specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be killed without delay upon 

capture except when a minimum size limit is specified on the 

permit. When a minimum size limit is specified on the permit, 

animals not meeting the minimum size limit shall be released 

immediately at the site of capture. 

(g)  American alligators may be taken day or night and with the 

use of artificial lights. 

(h)  The use of baited hooks is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0226 BULLFROGS 

(a)  The open seasons for taking of bullfrog, Rana catesbeiana, 

shall be as follows: 

(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (a)(2) of 

this Rule, there shall be no closed season for 

taking bullfrogs. 

(2) On Wildlife Resources Commission Property, 

as defined in G.S. 113-129, bullfrogs may be 

taken from April 1 to August 31 with a valid 

license that entitles the licensee to access and 

use Wildlife Resources Commission Property. 

(b)  Bag Limit: It shall be unlawful to take more than 24 bullfrogs 

in a 24-hour period that runs from 12 noon to 12 noon. 

(c)  Artificial lights may be used to take bullfrogs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 

organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 

prepared substances designed to attract fish by 

the sense of taste or smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 

point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by any 

substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 

or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 

with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or any 

similar material to which no additional hook, 

spinner, spoon or similar device is added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 

included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 

where only artificial flies having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Catch and Release/Artificial Lures Only Trout 

Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 
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where only artificial lures having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 

Waters designated as such include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 

before the first Saturday of the following June, 

it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 

than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 

harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 

6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 

noon that same day, only youth anglers may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 

June until October 1, anglers of all ages may 

fish and these waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(6) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-

specific regulations apply. Waters designated 

as such do not include tributaries unless 

otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 

or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 

having only one single hook may be used. No 

person shall possess natural bait while fishing 

these waters. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 

and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 

provided they are fished using only one single 

hook. Waters designated as such include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(9) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Trout may not be possessed while 

fishing these waters from March 1 until 7:00 

a.m. on the first Saturday in April. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 

for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 

county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 

are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 

indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 

yards downstream of the intersection 

of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 

by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Pine Creek 

Bledsoe Creek 

Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 

confluence with Little River, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Cranberry Creek 

(Big) Glade Creek 

Little River (275 yards downstream 

from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 

S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to McCann Dam) 

Meadow Fork 

Pine Swamp Creek 

Piney Fork 

Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 

(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 

Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 

tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

Helton Creek (SR 1372 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 

South Fork New River (upstream end 

of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 

Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 

of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 

Creek) 

Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 

1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 

Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 

confluence with North Fork New 

River) 

Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 

N.C. 194-88 bridge) 

Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 

to South Fork New River) 

Nathans Creek 

North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 

line to Sharp Dam) 

Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 

Fork New River) 

Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 

Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 

waters) 
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Roan Creek 

Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 

millpond) 

Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 

excluding Gragg Prong and 

Rockhouse Creek) 

(B) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boyde Coffey Lake 

Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 

the Tennessee state line) 

Linville River (Land Harbor line 

[below dam] to the Blue Ridge 

Parkway boundary line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Milltimber Creek 

North Toe River — upper (Watauga 

St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 

Family Recreational Park, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 

to Mitchell Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Squirrel Creek 

Wildcat Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Birchfield Creek 

Cow Camp Creek 

Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 

19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 

Gragg Prong 

Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 

North Harper Creek 

Plumtree Creek 

Roaring Creek 

Rockhouse Creek 

Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 

to Banner Elk Greenway) 

South Harper Creek 

Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Carter Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

Arboretum boundary line) 

Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 

bridge) 

Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 

Creek to confluence with Walker 

Branch) 

Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 

Creek to Ivy Creek) 

Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 

Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Lake Powhatan 

Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 

U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Rich Branch (downstream from the 

confluence with Rocky Branch) 

Stony Creek 

Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 

Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 

[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 

in Asheville], except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Henry Fork (portion on South 

Mountains State Park) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 

South Mountains State Park 

boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Carroll Creek (game land portion 

above S.R. 1405) 

Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 

State Park line downstream 

to S.R. 1919 at Ivy Creek) 

Linville River portion within Linville 

Gorge Wilderness area and portion 

below Lake James powerhouse from 

upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to 

Muddy Creek) 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 

of Morganton water intake 

dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on South 

Mountains State Park, except those 

waters identified in Parts A and B of 

this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Wilson Creek (game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to 

Philips Branch) 
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(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 

Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 

McCloud Branch) 

Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 

1574 to confluence with 

Buffalo Creek) 

Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 

Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 

Community Park to S.R. 

1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 

Long Ridge Branch 

including game land 

tributaries) 

Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 

falls upstream of the end of 

S.R. 1574) 

Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 

Dockery creeks to Hanging 

Dog Creek) 

Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 

Valley River) 

Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 

Valley River) 

Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 

1325] bridge to Tennessee 

state line) 

Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 

Business bridge in Murphy) 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Bald Creek (game land portion) 

Dockery Creek (game land portion) 

North Shoal Creek (game land 

portion) 

(8) Clay County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek (Rockhouse Creek to the 

foot bridge in the USFS Fires 

Creek Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Buck Creek (game land portion 

downstream of U.S. 64 

bridge) 

Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 

Fires Creek Picnic Area to 

S.R. 1300) 

Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 

lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 

to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 

Creek and Rock Creek to 

Lake Fontana) 

Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 

Lake Santeetlah) 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 

2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 

Stecoah Creek (upper game land 

boundary to Lake Fontana) 

Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 

bridge on S.R. 1275) 

West Buffalo Creek 

Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to 

Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Little Buffalo Creek 

South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Deep Creek 

Franks Creek 

Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 

to the first game land boundary 

upstream of Lake Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 

Pigeon River) 

Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 

bridge to Pigeon River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 

upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 

Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 

276] bridge to U.S. 19 

bridge) 
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West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 

to Queen Creek, including portions on 

game lands, except Middle Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Hemphill Creek 

Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River (game land 

portion below the 

Hendersonville watershed 

dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 

1611 to Rutherford County line) 

Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 

of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 25 bridge) 

Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582) 

Green River (Lake Summit 

powerhouse to game land boundary) 

(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 

Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Flat Creek 

Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 

Clark property) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 

107 bridge to the falls located 275 

yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 

bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 

Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek) 

Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 

Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah 

Creek) 

Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 

Cagle Branch) 

Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 

Tuckasegee River, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River — upper (John 

Brown Branch to the downstream 

N.C. 107 bridge) 

Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 

located 275 yards upstream of U.S. 23-

441 bridge [marked by a sign on each 

bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at Wilmot) 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Gage Creek 

North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South 

Carolina state line) 

Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 

Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Buff Creek 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

the South Carolina state line) 

Lower Fowler Creek (game land 

portion) 

Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 

Nantahala hydropower 

discharge canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 

Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 

U.S. 64 bridge to Little 

Tennessee River) 

Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 

U.S. 64 bridge near junction 

of S.R. 1672) 

Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 

Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 

Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal 

to Swain Co. line) 

Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

South Carolina state line) 

Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 

Kimsey Creek 

Overflow Creek (game land portion) 

Park Creek 

Tellico Creek (game land portion) 

Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 

(14) Madison County 
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(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 

the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 

at Belva to the confluence 

with Big Laurel Creek) 

Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 

Springs city limits to iron bridge at end 

of Andrews Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Laurel Creek (Puncheon Fork to 

the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] bridge 

downstream of Bearpen Branch) 

Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 

Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 

confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 

Ivy) 

Max Patch Pond 

Meadow Fork Creek (Meadow Fork 

Campground to Spring 

Creek) 

Puncheon Fork (Wolf Laurel Branch 

to Big Laurel Creek) 

Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 

Fork) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 

Big Creek and Mill Creek to 

N.C. 208 bridge at Belva) 

Shut-in Creek 

Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 

and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 

223) 

West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 

land boundary to confluence with East 

Fork Shut-in Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 

game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Catawba River (portion adjacent to 

Marion Greenway) 

Curtis Creek (game land portion 

downstream of the USFS 

boundary at Deep Branch) 

Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 

bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 

downstream to upper 

Greenlee line) 

Catawba River (Catawba Falls 

Campground to Old Fort 

Recreation Park) 

Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 

Mill Creek (upper railroad bridge to 

U.S. 70 bridge, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

North Fork Catawba River 

(headwaters to North Cove 

School at S.R. 1569 bridge) 

(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 

1189 bridge) 

North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 

N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 

226 bridge at S.R. 1307 

intersection) 

Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 

bridge) 

East Fork Grassy Creek 

Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 

to mouth) 

Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 

bridge to Big Rock Creek, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 

S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek (headwaters to Green 

Creek bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 

bridge, including all tributaries, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 

Area to the confluence with 

Cove Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 

the natural gas pipeline 

crossing) 

North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 

N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 
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(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 

line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 

where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Dan River (Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 

yards below the end of S.R. 

1421) 

(20) Surry County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 

Ararat River Greenway) 

Mitchell River (0.6 miles upstream of 

the end of S.R. 1333 to the lowermost 

bridge on S.R. 1330) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 

downstream to the N.C. 103 

bridge) 

Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 

upstream of N.C. 268 bridge to a point 

265 yards downstream of N.C. 268 

[marked by a sign on each bank]) 

Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 

state line to I-77 bridge) 

Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 

to N.C. 89 bridge) 

Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 

bridge to Ararat River) 

Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 

miles below S.R. 1625 

bridge) 

(21) Swain County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 

Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 

Fontana Reservoir) 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 

to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 

Tuckasegee River) 

Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 

National Park Boundary line 

to Tuckasegee River) 

Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 

existing Fontana Lake water 

level) 

(22) Transylvania County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 

Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 

Looking Glass Creek and Grogan 

Creek) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Fork French Broad River (East 

Fork Baptist Church to the 

downstream S.R. 1107 bridge) 

Little River (confluence of Lake 

Dense to 100 yards 

downstream of Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 

USFS boundary) 

French Broad River (confluence of 

North Fork French Broad 

River and West Fork)  

French Broad River to the Island Ford 

Rd. [S.R. 1110] Access Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River 

(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to 

French Broad River) 

West Fork French Broad River (S.R. 

1312 to confluence with North Fork 

French Broad River) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River (downstream from 

Silver Run Creek to South 

Carolina state line) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 

North Fork French Broad River (game 

land portion downstream of 

S.R. 1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 

Carolina state line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 

South Fork Laurel creeks to Elk 

Creek, excluding tributaries) 

Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 

Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond 

adjacent to Coffee Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Lake Coffey 

Watauga River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1557 and S.R. 

1558 to N.C. 105 bridge and S.R. 1114 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2281 

bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 

Park lower boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 

Beaverdam Creek and Little 

Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 

tributary adjacent to the intersection of 

S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203) 

Beech Creek 

Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap 

Creek) 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 

Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 

Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge 

at Sherwood) 

Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 

1134 to mouth) 

Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 

to Wilkes Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 

1157 intersection to Watauga 

River) 

Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 

S.R. 1384 intersection to 

N.C. 194) 

Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 

to South Fork New River) 

Norris Fork Creek 

South Fork New River (canoe launch 

70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 

to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 

Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 

1505 intersection to Wilkes 

Co. line) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 

bridge on S.R. 1134) 

Howard Creek 

Maine Branch (headwaters to North 

Fork New River) 

North Fork New River (from 

confluence with Maine and 

Mine branches to Ashe Co. 

line) 

Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 

1580 bridge) 

Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 

1549 to confluence with 

South Fork New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 

Creek downstream to Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary) 

Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 

to lower boundary of the Blue Ridge 

Mountain Club) 

Elk Creek — lower (portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains 

development) 

Reddies River (Town of North 

Wilkesboro water intake dam to 

confluence with the Yadkin River) 

Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 

Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 

East Prong Roaring River and 

Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 

confluence with Lovelace 

Creek) 

Bell Branch Pond 

Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 

2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 

bridge) 

Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 

River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 

to confluence with North Fork 

Reddies River) 

East Prong Roaring River (Stone 

Mountain State Park lower 

boundary to S.R. 1002 

bridge) 

Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 

confluence with South Prong Lewis 

Fork, except where posted against 

trespassing) 

Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 

Prong)(headwaters to bridge 

on S.R. 1580) 

Middle Prong Roaring River 

(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 

1736) 

North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 

Creek)(headwaters to Union School 

bridge on S.R. 1559) 

Pike Creek 

Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 

bridge to confluence with Middle Fork 

Reddies River) 

South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 

U.S. 421 bridge adjacent to 

S.R. 1155 intersection) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park, except East Prong Roaring 

River from Bullhead Creek 

downstream to the Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 
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Creek from falls at Alleghany County 

line to confluence with East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 

Stone Mountain State Park where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 

Creek) 

Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 

downstream boundary of 

Cane River County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bald Mountain Creek (except where 

posted against trespassing) 

Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 

to Bowlens Creek) 

Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 

S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 

South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 

boundary line of Yancey Co. 

Recreation Park, except where posted 

against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 

Farm Community Rd. to 

N.C. 197 bridge) 

Lickskillet Creek 

Middle Creek (game land boundary to 

mouth) 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 6/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0209 TRANSPORTATION OF LIVE 

FISH 

(a)  Fish Transport: It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or 

corporation to transport live freshwater nongame fishes, or live 

game fishes in excess of the possession limit, or fish eggs without 

having in possession a permit obtained from the North Carolina 

Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(b)  Fish Stocking: It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or 

corporation to stock any life stage of any species of fish in the 

inland fishing waters of this State without having first procured a 

stocking permit from the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(c)  Permits for stocking fish shall be issued as follows: 

(1) Application for a stocking permit shall be made 

on a form provided by the Commission. The 

applicant shall specify the purpose for the 

stocking, species to be stocked, the source of 

the stock, the number of individual specimens 

to be released, and the location where release is 

desired. 

(2) Before issuing a stocking permit, the Executive 

Director shall review the application and 

determine, based on principles of wildlife 

management and biological science, that the 

proposed stocking will not: 

(A) threaten the introduction of epizootic 

disease or 

(B) create a danger to or an imbalance in 

the environment inimical to the 

conservation of wildlife resources. 

(3) Based on the determination made in 

Subparagraph (2): 

(A) If the Executive Director determines 

that either or both conditions cannot be 

met under any circumstances, the 

application shall be denied. 

(B) If the Executive Director determines 

that both conditions may be met only 

by the introduction of fewer than the 

number requested, a permit only for 

the number that may be safely released 

shall be issued. 

(C) If the Executive Director determines 

that the number requested may be 

safely released, he shall issue the 

permit. 

(4) Any stocking permit issued by the Commission 

may impose the following conditions or 

restrictions: 

(A) Location where the permitted number 

of fish may be stocked. 

(B) Certification that fish are free of 

certifiable diseases by the vendor or a 

laboratory qualified to make such 

determination. 

(C) Documentation of the date, time and 

location of the release. 

(D) Access by the Commission to the 

property where fish introductions 
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occur to assess impacts of the 

introduction. 

(E) All conditions required shall be 

included in writing on the permit. 

(5) Based on the criteria in Subparagraph (2), no 

permit shall be issued to stock any of the 

following species in the areas indicated: 

SPECIES              LOCATION 

Salmonids except brown, brook, 

 and rainbow trout   Statewide 

Flathead catfish    Statewide 

Blue Catfish     Statewide 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, stocking is the introduction or 

attempted introduction of one or more individuals of a particular 

species of live fish into public waters for any purpose other than: 

(1) As bait affixed to a hook and line, or 

(2) A release incidental to "catch and release" 

fishing in an area within the same body of water 

where the fish was caught, or within an adjacent 

body of water not separated from that body by 

any natural or manmade obstruction to the 

passage of that species. 

(e)  The release of more than the daily creel limit, or if there is no 

established creel limit for the species, more than five individuals 

of the species, shall constitute prima facie evidence of an 

intentional release. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-274; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 

FISHES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or 

stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 

individuals of: 

(1) piranha; 

(2) "walking catfish" (Clarias batrachus); 

(3) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae); 

(4) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 

(5) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 

(6) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 

(7) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus); 

(8) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 

(9) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus); 

(10) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus); 

(11) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica); 

(12) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis malleata); 

(13) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus); 

(14) virile crayfish (Orconectes (Gremicambarus) 

virilis); 

(15) rusty crayfish (Orconectes (Procericambarus) 

rusticus); 

(16) Australian red claw crayfish or "red claw" 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species of 

"giant" crayfish species in the genus Cherax); 

(17) white amur or "grass carp" (Ctenopharyngodon 

idella); 

(18) swamp or "rice" eel (Monopterus albus); 

(19) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 

(20) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha);  

(21) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 

Dreissenidae; or 

(22) redtail catfish (Phractocephalus 

hemioliopterus). 

(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been 

certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of 

controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the 

Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluation 

of the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic 

habitats. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 

herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 

of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 

and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 

impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 

ramps, and bridge crossings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-

292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; August 1, 2011; June 1, 2009, June 

1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0301 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED 

The following fishes are classified and designated as inland game 

fishes: 

(1) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to rainbow, brown and brook trout; 

(2) muskellunge, chain (jack) and redfin pickerel; 

(3) yellow perch, when found in inland waters, 

walleye and sauger; 

(4) black bass, including Alabama, largemouth, 

smallmouth, spotted and redeye bass; 

(5) black and white crappie; 

(6) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), redbreast 

(robin), redear (shellcracker), pumpkinseed, 

warmouth, rock bass, (redeye), flier, Roanoke 

bass, and all other species of the sunfish family 

(Centrarchidae) not specifically listed in this 

Rule; 

(7) spotted sea trout (speckled trout), when found 

in inland fishing waters; 

(8) flounder, when found in inland fishing waters; 
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(9) red drum (channel bass, red fish, puppy drum), 

when found in inland fishing waters; 

(10) striped bass, white bass, white perch and 

Morone hybrids (striped bass-white bass), 

when found in inland fishing waters; 

(11) American and hickory shad, when found in 

inland fishing waters; 

(12) kokanee salmon; and 

(13) black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat bullhead, 

snail bullhead, white catfish, and yellow 

bullhead, when found in inland fishing waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; June 1, 2004; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1990; July 1, 1983; January 1, 1981; January 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (l) of this Rule. 

There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), and (l) of 

this Rule. There is no closed season, except for waters identified 

in Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(b)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 

(c)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 

(e)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in 

the following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River (including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 

associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 

(f)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir 

in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(g)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(h)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir in Chatham and Wake counties 

and Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less 

than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 inches 

may be possessed. 

(i)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(j)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 

Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches 

in length may be possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, 

Smallmouth Bass, or Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be 

possessed. 

(k)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 

the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and only 

one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 

(l)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of 

Southern Shores, Dare County, no Largemouth Bass may be 

possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 10, 1990, for a period of 180 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 22, 1990, for a period of 168 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1991, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 2002 [This rule replaces the 

rule proposed for permanent amendment effective July 1, 2002 

and approved by RRC in May 2001]; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC in April 2002); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

November 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; March 1, 2012; August 1, 

2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule. There 
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is no minimum size limit for these fish, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f). There is no closed season. 

(b)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 

creel limit is 20 fish. 

(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(d)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 

(e)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Lake Hyco; 

(3) Lake Ramseur; 

(4) Cane Creek Lake (Union County); 

(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 

(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 

all tributaries; 

(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 

(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 

(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 

(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 

(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 

(f)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 

the minimum size limit is nine inches. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0308 KOKANEE SALMON 

The daily creel limit for Kokanee Salmon is four fish. There is no 

minimum size limit for Kokanee Salmon. There is no closed 

season for Kokanee Salmon. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 

(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 

for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 

There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 

inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 

September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 

is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 

October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 

these fish from June 1 through September 30. 

(d)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 

Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 

Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 

be greater than 22 inches. 

(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 

for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 

minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 

September 30. 

(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam, the season for taking 

and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round. 

(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 

includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 

their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-

coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the 

aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 

between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 

the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 inches may be 

possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 

Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 

Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 
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(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 

tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel 

limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations 

of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal 

fishing waters. 

(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 

by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 

Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 

their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 

proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0316 TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 

until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 

Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 

(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 

Lures Only Trout Waters or Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters. Trout may not be possessed while fishing 

these waters. 

(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 

from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 

day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 

fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 

30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 

anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 

Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may not be 

harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 

Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 

after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 

a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows: 

(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 

minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 

season. 

(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 

dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 

minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 

seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 

within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 

of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water 

supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(1) Bear Creek Lake; 

(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 

(3) Calderwood Reservoir; 

(4) Cedar Cliff Lake; 

(5) Cheoah Reservoir; 

(6) Cliffside Lake; 

(7) Tanassee Creek Lake; 

(8) Queens Creek Lake; and 

(9) Wolf Lake. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 

taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing season. 

(i)  All trout water designations and manners of take are set forth 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Smallmouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. There 

is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass, but only two of 

them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. There is no closed season. 

(b)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 

Smallmouth Bass. 

(d)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 

size limit for Smallmouth Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 

inches in length may be possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, 

Smallmouth Bass, or Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be 

possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 

BASS 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama Bass or Spotted Bass, 

except for waters identified in paragraph (b) of this Rule. There is 

no minimum size limit or closed season. 

(b)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 

(c)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 

size limit for Spotted Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches 
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in length may be possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, 

Smallmouth Bass, or Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be 

possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0323 REDEYE BASS 

The daily creel limit for Redeye Bass is five fish. There is no 

minimum size limit for Redeye Bass, but only two of them may 

be less than 14 inches. There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0324 CATFISH 

The daily creel limit for Black Bullhead, Brown Bullhead, Flat 

Bullhead, Snail Bullhead, White Catfish, and Yellow Bullhead is 

10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit or closed 

season for Black Bullhead, Brown Bullhead, Flat Bullhead, Snail 

Bullhead, White Catfish, and Yellow Bullhead. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 

to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 

Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, 

or special device with a special device fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken by hook and line, grabbling, or 

special device with a special device fishing license at any time 

without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as 

designated in this Rule. 

(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 

a special device fishing license in those counties and waters with 

open season designated in Rule .0407 of this Section. 

(d)  Archery equipment may only be used for the take of catfish 

on Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 

(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 

crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 

herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel, white, or blue 

catfish by means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit for 

channel catfish is seven. Waters where this creel limit applies 

shall be posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following reservoirs: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(8) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 

River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 

state line and all tributaries. 

(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 

(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 

Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 

Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 

and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 

for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 

proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 

coastal fishing waters. 

(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 

in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impractical to measure its total original 

length. No person while fishing shall change the appearance of 

any nongame fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), 
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(n), (o), and (p) of this Rule having a daily creel limit so as to 

obscure its identification or render it impractical to count the 

number of fish in possession. 

(r)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 

with the following exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

(s)  Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed from inland fishing waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 

REGARDING USE 

(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 

apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means any 

structure that is used for hunter concealment, 

constructed from manmade or natural 

materials, and that is not disassembled and 

removed at the end of each day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 

firearm for purposes other than hunting, 

trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of 

age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 

hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 

landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 

the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 

on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 

posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 

bow and arrow hunting and falconry only. On 

these areas, deer of either sex may be taken on 

all open days of any applicable deer season. 

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 

as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 

person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 

and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 

zone on any game land. Falconry is exempt 

from this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 

lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 

use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 

as "Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by 

the general public, and entry upon such an area 

for any purpose is prohibited without first 

having obtained written approval of such entry 

or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Entry shall be 

authorized only when such entry will not 

compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Restricted Zone and the person 

or persons requesting entry are able to 

demonstrate a valid need or such person is a 

contractor or agent of the Commission 

conducting official business. "Valid need" 

includes issues of access to private property, 

scientific investigations, surveys, or other 

access to conduct activities in the public 

interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 

lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 

are closed to all use by the general public, and 

entry upon such an area for any purpose is 

prohibited without first having obtained written 

approval of such entry or use from an 

authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. An area of a game land shall be 

declared a Temporary Restricted Zone when 

there is a danger to the health or welfare of the 

public due to topographical features or 

activities occurring on the area. 

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 

lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 

discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 

prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 

game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 

Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 

prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 

provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 

posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 

general public shall be prohibited from sunset 

to sunrise. 

(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 

posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 

to all use by the general public during the dates 

specified on the sign, and entry upon such an 

area for any purpose is prohibited without first 

obtaining written approval of such entry or use 

from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
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Resources Commission by calling 919-707-

0150 and requesting a permit. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 

where the game land is located before establishing the following 

zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted restricted deer 

hunting, day use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input 

meeting, the public comments shall be presented at an official 

Commission meeting for final determination. 

(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit any litter, trash, garbage, or 

other refuse at any place on any game land except in receptacles 

provided for disposal of such refuse at designated camping and 

target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall 

be established on any game land by any person, firm, corporation, 

county, or municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 

(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge: 

(1) any weapon within 150 yards of any game land 

building or designated game land camping area, 

except where posted otherwise; 

(2) any weapon within 150 yards of any residence 

located on or adjacent to game lands, except on 

Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; 

and 

(3) any firearm within 150 yards of any residence 

located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 

and Jordan Game Lands. 

No person shall hunt with or have in possession any shotgun shell 

containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted 

waterfowl impoundment on any game land, except shotgun shells 

containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Every 

individual carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 

the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-

Falls of Neuse, Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no 

person shall possess loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and 

arrows, crossbows, or other weapons except as provided in the 

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, 

which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, free of charge, at: 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=75b0c14fb2c26906cf64a267eb69b052&mc=true&nod

e=se36.3.327_ 

113&rgn=div8. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, 

Mayo, and Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land 

north of U.S. 74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell 

Game Land that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, 

no person shall possess a firearm during closed hunting seasons 

or closed hunting days for game birds or game animals, except 

under the following conditions: 

(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 

not greater than seven and one-half inches in 

length and shooting only short, long, or long 

rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 

available for use; 

(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 

field trials on field trial areas; or 

(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 

areas for defense of persons and property. 

(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 

(1) Requirement. Except as provided in 

Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, any person 

entering upon any game land for the purpose of 

hunting, trapping, running dogs, or training 

dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her 

possession a game lands license in addition to 

the appropriate hunting or trapping license, or a 

license that conveys the game land use 

privilege. 

(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active 

participants (as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 

.0114) in a field trial using wildlife shall 

possess a game lands license in addition to the 

appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or 

a license that conveys the game land use 

privilege, except non-residents may substitute 

hunting licenses from their state(s) of residence. 

(3) For any other field trial using wildlife occurring 

on game lands, judges and active participants 

shall possess a game lands license in addition to 

the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, 

or a license that conveys the game land use 

privilege. 

(4) Exceptions: 

(A) a person under 16 years of age may 

hunt on game lands on the license of 

his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 

.0103(e)(1) of this Section, the game 

lands license is required only for 

hunting doves; all other activities are 

subject to the control of the 

landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. Any individual or 

organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial 

area or the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility, shall file with the 

Commission an application to use the area and facility 

accompanied by the facility use fee computed at the rate of two 

hundred dollars ($200.00) for each scheduled day of the trial. The 

total facility use fee shall cover the period from 12:00 noon of the 

day preceding the first scheduled day of the trial to 10:00 a.m. of 

the day following the last scheduled day of the trial. The facility 

use fee shall be paid for all intermediate days on which for any 

reason trials are not run but the building or facilities are used or 

occupied. A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per day shall be 

charged to sporting, educational, or scouting groups for scheduled 

events utilizing the club house only. No person or group of 

persons or any other entity shall enter or use in any manner any of 

the physical facilities located on the Sandhills Field Trial area or 

the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility without first having obtained 

written approval of such entry or use from an authorized agent of 

the Wildlife Resources Commission, and no such entry or use of 

any such facility shall exceed the scope of or continue beyond the 

approved use. The Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used 

only for field trials scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. No more than 16 days of field trials may 

be scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during any 

calendar month, and no more than four days may be scheduled 

during any calendar week; provided, that a field trial requiring 
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more than four days may be scheduled during one week upon 

reduction of the maximum number of days allowable during some 

other week so that the monthly maximum of 16 days is not 

exceeded. Before October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field 

Trial Association or other organization desiring use of the 

Sandhills facilities between October 22 and November 18 and 

between December 3 and March 31 shall submit its proposed 

schedule of such use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 

its consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 

facilities at any time by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; 

elsewhere on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only 

on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 

April 1. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed 

from April 1 through August 15 on any game land located west of 

I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. Dogs may not be trained or 

permitted to run unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on any 

game land located east of I-95, except when participating in field 

trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

Additionally, on game lands located west of I-95 where special 

hunts are scheduled for sportsmen participating in the Disabled 

Sportsman Program, dogs may not be trained or allowed to run 

unleashed during legal big game hunting hours on the dates of the 

special hunts. A field trial shall be authorized when such field trial 

does not conflict with other planned activities on the Game Land 

or field trial facilities, and the applying organization can 

demonstrate their experience and expertise in conducting genuine 

field trial activities. Entry to physical facilities, other than by field 

trial organizations under permit, shall be granted when they do not 

conflict with other planned activities previously approved by the 

Commission and they do not conflict with the mission of the 

agency. 

(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 

10B .0110, .0302, and .0303, trapping of furbearing animals is 

permitted on game lands during the applicable open seasons, 

except that trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the field trial course of the Sandhills Game 

Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on any game 

land; 

(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 

bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 

south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 

215 on the west; 

(4) on the John's River Waterfowl Refuge in Burke 

County; and 

(5) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

On those areas of State-owned land known collectively as the 

Roanoke River Wetlands, controlled trapping is allowed under a 

permit system. 

(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 

on any game land except on those roads constructed, maintained, 

and opened for vehicular travel and those trails posted for 

vehicular travel, unless such person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 

bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 

Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 

(k) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 

Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) 

of this Rule and is abiding by the rules 

described in Paragraph (m). 

(i)  Camping. 

(1) No person shall camp on any game land except 

on an area designated by the landowner for 

camping. 

(2) On game lands owned by the State of North 

Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission is the primary 

custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated camping 

area is 14 days within any 30-day period from 

May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive 

days of camping, all personal belongings shall 

be removed from the game land. 

(j)  Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the lakes located on 

the Sandhills Game Land. 

(k)  Disabled Sportsman Program. In order to qualify for permit 

hunts for disabled sportsmen offered by the Commission and use 

of designated blinds during those hunts, an individual shall 

possess a Disabled Veteran Sportsman license, a Totally Disabled 

Sportsman license, or a disabled sportsman hunt certification 

issued by the Commission. In order to qualify for the certification, 

the applicant shall provide medical certification of one or more of 

the following disabilities: 

(1) missing 50 percent or more of one or more 

limbs, whether by amputation or natural causes; 

(2) paralysis of one or more limbs; 

(3) dysfunction of one or more limbs rendering the 

person unable to perform the task of grasping 

and lifting with the hands and arms or unable to 

walk without mechanical assistance, other than 

a cane; 

(4) disease, injury, or defect confining the person 

to a wheelchair, walker, or crutches; or 

(5) deafness. 

On game lands where the privileges described in Paragraph (m) 

of this Rule apply, participants in the program may operate 

electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, or other passenger 

vehicles: 

(1) on ungated or open-gated roads normally closed 

to vehicular traffic; and 

(2) on any Commission-maintained road open for 

vehicular travel and those trails posted for 

vehicular travel. 

Each program participant may be accompanied by one companion 

provided such companion has in his possession the companion 

card issued by the Commission. Hunters who qualify under the 

Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions may access 

special hunting blinds for people with disabilities during regularly 

scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first come basis, except 

for those blinds located on the Restricted Area of Caswell Game 

Land. 

(l)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-

raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 

animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 

permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 

hatchery-raised fish on game lands without prior written 
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authorization. It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to 

another on game lands without prior written authorization. 

Written authorization shall be given when release of such animals 

is determined by a Wildlife Resources Commission biologist not 

to be harmful to native wildlife in the area and such releases are 

in the public interest or advance the programs and goals of the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(m)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 

motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on Game 

Lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 

persons as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule and people who 

have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 

the previous sentence but shall comply with the terms of their 

permit. Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the 

federal Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 

wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for indoor 

pedestrian use on any area where foot travel is allowed. 

(n)  Disabled Access Program. Permits issued under this program 

shall be based upon medical evidence submitted by the person 

verifying that a handicap exists that limits physical mobility to the 

extent that normal utilization of the game lands is not possible 

without vehicular assistance. Persons meeting this requirement 

may operate electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, and other 

passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 

vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 

ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 

on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 

on game lands whose owners have agreed to such use. Those 

game lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 

designated in the game land rules and map book. This Paragraph 

does not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, 

or trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who 

is identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 

person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 

provided the companion is at all times in visual or verbal contact 

with the disabled person. The companion may participate in all 

lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 

license requirements are met. Any vehicle used by a qualified 

disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 

display the vehicular access permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission in the passenger area of the vehicle where 

it can easily be seen by Commission staff outside the vehicle. It is 

unlawful for anyone other than disabled persons as defined in 

Paragraph (k) of this Rule and those holding a Disabled Access 

Permit to hunt, during waterfowl season, within 100 yards of a 

waterfowl blind designated by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission as a Disabled Sportsman's hunting blind. 

(o)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 

prohibited on any Game Land, including land or water. For the 

purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 

intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 

person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 

point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 

(p)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 

Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 

any purpose other than for firearm or bow and arrow 

marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe 

uses of firearms and archery equipment. All other uses, including 

camping, building fires, operating concessions or other activities 

not directly involved with recreational or competitive shooting are 

prohibited, except for activities that have been approved by the 

Commission and for which a permit has been issued may be 

conducted, provided that the permit authorizing such activity is 

available for inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the 

time the activity is taking place. No person, when using any 

shooting range, shall deposit any debris or refuse on the grounds 

of the range. This includes any items used as targets, except that 

clay targets broken on the range, by the shooter, may be left on 

the grounds where they fall. No person shall shoot any items made 

of glass on the grounds of the range. No person may leave any 

vehicle or other obstruction in such a location or position that it 

will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by other persons 

of any shooting range. No person shall leave parked any vehicle 

or other object at any place on the shooting range other than such 

a place or zone as is designated as an authorized parking zone and 

posted or marked as such. No person shall handle any firearms or 

bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or reckless 

manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any target holder, 

post, or other permanent fixture or structure while using a 

shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a manner that 

would cause any rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel off of 

the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller may be 

allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of harm or 

injury to any person(s). Persons using a shooting range shall obey 

posted range safety rules and those persons who violate range 

safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 

shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 

leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle any 

firearms on a shooting range while under the influence of an 

impairing substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic 

beverages on a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours 

of operation shall be designated on signs and at least one such sign 

shall be posted at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, 

when using any shooting range, shall do any act that is prohibited 

or neglect to do any act that is required by signs or markings 

placed on such area under authority of this Rule for the purpose 

of regulating the use of the area. 

(q)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 

August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 

motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. These roads 

shall be posted with the opening and closing times. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 

113-270.3; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-

318.10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; April 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 1993; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; July 1, 

1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 
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Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; June 1, 2011; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 

2006; November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 

designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 

any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 

lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 

prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 

(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 

purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 

herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 

portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 

lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 

or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 

dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 

lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 

managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 

On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 

managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 

sunset. Restrictions (1), (3), and (5) in this Paragraph shall apply. 

On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only 

Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only activities 

allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the posted 

"Scouting-only Zone." No person shall attempt to obscure the sex 

or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any 

other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal that has been so 

mutilated. No person shall place, or cause to be placed on any 

game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written 

authorization of the Commission or its agent. A decision to grant 

or deny authorization shall be made based on the best 

management practices for the wildlife species in question. No 

person shall take or attempt to take any game birds or game 

animals attracted to such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 

taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken during the open seasons 

and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 

for game lands in this Rule that specifically 

allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 

Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 

Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 

either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 

may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 

7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 

Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 

with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 

where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 

game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 

deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season in those 

portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 

and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 

hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 

(A) Six Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 
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(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 

shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 

of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 

Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31through May 14 in areas both 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 

foxes shall be prohibited from 

February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(9) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days of the second week of the 

December Bear Season. If any of these 

days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 

Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 

either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 

Lands in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(13) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
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(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 

impoundments a special permit is 

required for all waterfowl hunting 

after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 

50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. On designated bicycle riding 

areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 

through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 

designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 

Camping Area and shall not exceed a 

maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 

this camping area. 

(14) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 

that portion known as the Roan Island 

Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the portion of the game 

land that is west of the Black River, 

north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 

Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 

south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 

Tract is by permit only. 

(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails that are posted for 

equestrian use. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 

following roads is permit-only for all 

quail and woodcock hunting, and all 

bird dog training: From Yanceyville 

south on NC 62 to the intersection of 

SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 

1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 

east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 

NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 

intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 

1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 

NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 

by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 
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February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 

Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August; and on 

Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 

deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

three hunting days during the 

November bear season and the first 

three hunting days during the second 

week of the December bear season 

except that portion of Chowan Swamp 

Game Land in Gates County that is 

east of Highway 158/13, south of 

Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 

and north of Catherine Creek and the 

Chowan River where the bear season 

is the same as the season dates for the 

Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

during May 16 through August 31 and 

on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 

vehicular traffic and on those gated 

roads and trails posted for equestrian 

use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 

County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 

shall be by permit only. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 

Jones counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

day in October through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 

from designated Disabled Sportsmen 

blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 

Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 

first two open days of dove season on 

posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 

doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 

shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of all 

waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 

accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 

firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 

extend 5 yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 
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(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 

hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(25) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 

use. People age 16 or older horseback 

riding on this game land must possess 

a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 

30. 

(27) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 

(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 

permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 

hunting is by permit only on the 

following waterfowl impoundments: 

Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 

Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 

Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 

on designated waterfowl hunting days 

and trapping during the trapping 

season, are restricted to the posted 

Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 

September 1 through January 1 and 

April 1 through May 15 to individuals 

that possess a valid hunting 

opportunity permit. 

(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(33) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
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Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road, 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on that portion of 

the game land that is north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 

Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments shall be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 

(37) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

designated and posted as camping 

areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 

Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 

Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 

west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 

of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 

of Shaw Road, north of 

Meeks Road extending west 

to Stag Park Road and east of 

Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 

of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's days, and 

except for the area north of 

Bear Garden Road, west of 

Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, south of NC 53 
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and west of NC 50, where the 

use of dogs for deer and bear 

hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 

September 1 to the last day of 

February and April 1 to May 15 to 

individuals that possess valid hunting 

opportunity permits, unless otherwise 

authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 

Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 

yards of trails designated for Disabled 

Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 

holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 

waterfowl hunting permit holders and 

only on those days written on the 

permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 

hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas is limited to August 31 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted as American 

Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 

for equestrian use. Unless otherwise 

posted, horseback riding is permitted 

on posted portions of the American 

Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open 

for use. On all other trails posted for 

equestrian use, horseback riding is 

allowed only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays the remainder 

of the year except during open turkey 

and deer seasons. People age 16 or 

older who ride horseback on trails 

occurring entirely within the game 

land boundaries shall possess a Game 

Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 

Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 

designated areas, except that this 

restriction does not apply to hunters 

engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 

animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(44) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 

during the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 

and no screws, nails, or other objects 

penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 
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(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 

impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 

turkey is prohibited. 

(45) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 

only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 

Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 

County. 

(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 

by permit only. 

(54) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 

100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 

(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
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days beginning the Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 

(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine; 

and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 

impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 

extend five yards from the edge of the 

marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 

that portion in Anson and Richmond 

counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

only during the following times: 

(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 

(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 

when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 

(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting shall be prohibited on that 

portion south of US-74. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 

Watauga, and Yancey counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 

Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 

McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 

to designated trails on the Linville 

River Tract (Burke County). Persons 

engaged in the act of hunting on the 

Linville River Tract during any open 

day of an applicable season for game 

birds or game animals shall be exempt 

from this restriction. 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 

September 1 through October 31. All 

horseback riding is prohibited from 

November 1 through May 15. 

(63) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(64) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 

in Wilkes County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
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With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 

(65) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 

(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 

Martin, and Northampton counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 

(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 

Commission business or by permit 

holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas, provided, however, 

that camping is allowed at any time 

within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 

on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 

(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(69) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 

days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 

days beginning the fourth Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 

the second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 

Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 

October 22 through March 31 except 

as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 

equipment on all the open 

days of the archery season 

through the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

with blackpowder firearms 

and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 

blackpowder firearms season 

through the third Wednesday 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 

antlers may be taken with all 

legal weapons from the 

second Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 

third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 

from the second Saturday 

before Thanksgiving Day 

through the Saturday 

following Thanksgiving 

Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 

days from the second 

Saturday preceding 

Thanksgiving Day through 

the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 

open days during any 

waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 

may be taken as part of a 

Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 
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(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 

sunrise Monday on or nearest 

October 15 through the last 

day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

is the open hunting days from the 

second Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day through the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 

Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 

from the Saturday on or nearest to 

Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 

Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 

J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on all open hunting days 

during the archery season, by permit 

during the Deer with Visible antlers 

season, and the blackpowder firearms 

season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

Only deer with visible antlers may be 

taken from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 

preceding Thanksgiving Day through 

the Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer of either sex 

may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on all open hunting days 

during the blackpowder firearms 

season and by permit during the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season. Only 

deer with visible antlers may be taken 

from the third Monday after 

Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 

by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 

waterfowl may be taken on the 

opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 

prohibited unless participating in 

authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 

Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 

14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 

Complex. 

(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 

Counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 

10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 

the opening day through the second 

Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(75) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 

(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 

days from the Monday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
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either sex may be taken with archery 

equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

to the third Saturday thereafter, and 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 

taken with archery equipment the 

Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 

Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 

sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 

Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the Saturday of the second 

week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails during the 

following dates: 

(i) January 2 through March 31; 

(ii) May 16 through August 31; 

(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 

(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 

(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 

and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 

(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 

waterfowl. 

(79) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 

(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 

permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 

Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 

Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 

Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 

only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 

on managed waterfowl impoundments 

is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 

waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 

Permit issued by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission pursuant to 

G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 

Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(81) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(82) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
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With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31, and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 

horseback riding on this game land 

shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 

overnight camping at any designated 

campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 

August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings 

must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 

Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 

Montgomery, and Randolph counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 

impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 

(88) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 

handguns for hunting deer is 

prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 

tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 

Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 

Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 

December Bear Season. 

(90) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 

County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 

taken only on the following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 

seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 

seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October through the end 

of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 

required for hunting posted waterfowl 

impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 

(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 

requires a valid Hunting 

Opportunity Permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources 
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Commission pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 

and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 

deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 

Pender counties 

(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 

camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 

Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 

shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 

September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 

issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 

permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 

(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 

except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 

permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 

River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 

Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 

for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 

season. 

(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 

Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 

permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 

by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 

designated as permit-only areas. 

(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 

disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 

schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 

and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 

hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 

stated on each permit. 

(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 

species. 

(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 

Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 

the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 

113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 

approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 

1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0105 POSSESSION AND REMOVAL 

OF ANIMALS, PLANTS AND MATERIALS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 
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(1) "Other materials" includes: all metals, minerals, 

rocks, soil, organic debris, buildings, fences, 

historic artifacts, and water. 

(2) "Commission lands" includes all State-owned 

game lands, hatcheries, depots, refuges, boating 

access areas and public fishing access areas, or 

parts thereof, allocated to the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. 

(3) "Written permission" includes permits, sales 

agreements, agricultural agreements, and letters 

written by authorized Commission personnel. 

Written permissions shall specify the type of 

activity allowed, the Commission land(s) where 

the activity may occur and the persons 

authorized. 

(b)  On Commission lands: 

(1) No wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, 

eggs, nests, animal parts, plants, plant 

materials, or other materials shall be possessed 

on or removed from Commission lands except: 

(A) as allowed in this Rule;  

(B) bullfrogs, as specified in 15A NCAC 

10B .0226; or 

(C) if written permission has been granted 

by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

This restriction applies to both dead and living 

wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, 

animal parts, plants and plant materials. 

(2) All game, fur-bearing animals, wildlife 

resources, fisheries resources, and nongame 

animals or birds, for which the Commission has 

established an open season, legally taken under 

a valid hunting, trapping, fishing, falconry, or 

other license that entitles the licensee to access 

and use Wildlife Resources Commission 

Property may be possessed on and removed 

from Commission lands. 

(3) Berries, fruit, nuts, mushrooms, ramps and 

other plants or plant products suitable for 

human consumption may be possessed on and 

removed from Commission lands without 

written permission for personal consumption 

only, except any fungi, plant or part thereof on 

a State or federal protected list shall not be 

possessed on or removed from Commission 

lands without written permission. All other 

fungi, plants and plant products which are not 

suitable for human consumption may not be 

possessed on or removed from Commission 

lands except with written permission. Crops or 

products thereof planted for the benefit of 

wildlife may not be removed without written 

permission. 

(4) Insects, worms, or other invertebrates collected 

as fish bait may be possessed on and removed 

from Commission lands without written 

permission for personal use only, except any 

species on a State or federal protected list may 

not be collected and may not be removed from 

Commission lands. Sale of these resources is 

prohibited. 

(5) Minimal amounts of animal parts, plant parts 

not removed from live plants, and other 

materials may be collected by hand and 

removed from Commission lands without 

written permission, except in violation of rules, 

general statutes or federal law. Collection of 

animal parts, plant parts not removed from live 

plants, and other materials for commercial use 

or sale is prohibited. For purposes of this 

Subparagraph, "minimal amounts," are 

quantities that fit within a cubic foot of space, 

except for firewood to be used at designated 

game land campgrounds. Minimal amounts of 

firewood are quantities sufficient to build and 

maintain a fire for the duration of the game land 

user's stay at the campground. 

(6) Litter and road kill animals may be removed 

without written permission, except in violation 

of 15A NCAC 10B .0106. 

(7) A collection license as described in 15A NCAC 

10B .0119 does not qualify as written 

permission to collect or remove any wildlife 

resources from Commission lands. Written 

permission must be specific to the Commission 

land. 

(c)  On all other lands enrolled in the game land program; 

(1) All game, fur-bearing animals, fisheries 

resources, and nongame animals or birds for 

which the Commission has established an open 

season, legally taken under a valid hunting, 

trapping, fishing, or falconry license may be 

possessed on and removed from game lands. 

(2) Possession and removal of all other wildlife 

resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, 

animals parts, plants, plant materials, or other 

materials is subject to the rules of the 

Commission and is at the discretion of the 

landowner, except where the landowner has 

ceded authority to the Commission. When the 

landowner has ceded authority to the 

Commission, the permissions and restrictions 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule apply. 

(d)  Any individual who has written permission, or a hunting, 

trapping, fishing or falconry license required in order to possess 

or remove wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, 

animals parts, plants, plant materials, or other materials from 

Commission lands and all other lands enrolled in the game land 

program shall have that written permission or license on his 

person. This requirement extends to any individual operating in 

conjunction with another's written permission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291; 

113-291.2; 113-305; 113-333; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020. 
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15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) the cove west of Lakeshore Drive and 

east of Strand Drive, southeast of a 

line at the mouth of the cove from a 

point on the east shore at 35.49242 N, 

80.09241 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.49242 N, 80.09241 W; 

(B) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 

shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 

the fueling site at the marina at 

35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(C) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 

line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 

80.13932 W; and 

(D) the channel between Beyer's Island 

and the mainland, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 

80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 

a line westward, from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 

80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 

Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 

and the waters within 50 yards of the 

boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 

Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 

shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 

northeast to a point on the north shore 

at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W; and 

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 

shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 

known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 

on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 

80.06166 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 

line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 

80.06262 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Badin Lake Swimming Area. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the 

marked swimming area on Badin Lake at the Pinehaven Village 

beach area at 370 Pinehaven Drive in New London, within 50 feet 

of the shoreline between points at 35.49927 N, 80.11428 W; and 

35.49934 N, 80.11437 W. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Montgomery County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 

(2)(A) and (B), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The North 

Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. The Board of 

Commissioners of Montgomery County shall be the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the ropes and markers 

implementing Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and 

85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and 

westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison 

Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall 

be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 

markers for this regulated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2017; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0340 CURRITUCK COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

as follows: 

(1) Bell Island. All canals on Bell Island. 

(2) Walnut Island. All canals in the Walnut Island 

subdivision in the Village of Grandy. 

(3) Waterview Shores subdivision. All canals in the 

Waterview Shores subdivision in the Village of 

Grandy. 

(4) Neal's Creek Landing. The waters of Neal's 

Creek within 50 yards of Neal's Creek Landing 

at the end of SR 1133, otherwise known as 

Neals Creek Road. 

(5) Tull Bay. 

(A) The waters of the canal off of Tull Bay 

from its mouth to its end at Tulls Bay 
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Marina, downstream and within the 

canal leading to Tull's Bay Marina. 

(B) The canals of the Tulls Bay Colony 

subdivision in Moyock including the 

waters 50 yards north along the 

Mississippi Canal from its intersection 

with Elizabeth Canal. 

(6) Carova Beach. The canals at Carova Beach, 

east of a line in the northern canal from a point 

on the north shore at 36.51418 N, 75.87622 W 

to a point on the south shore at 36.51357 N, 

75.87644 W; and east of a line in the southern 

canal from a point on the east shore at 36.51299 

N, 75.87687 W to a point on the west shore at 

36.51260 N, 75.87765 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Currituck County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; July 1, 1993; January 1, 1991; 

December 1, 1990; January 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; October 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 48B .0102 LICENSES BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  Endorsement. Each application for endorsement shall be 

considered on an individual basis. 

(b)  Examination Required. Only those persons initially licensed 

in another state by virtue of examination shall be considered for 

endorsement. Only the following examinations shall be 

considered: 

(1) For Physical Therapists: 

(A) Therapists licensed on the basis of a 

PT exam shall present total scores that 

meet the North Carolina passing level 

as set forth in 21 NCAC 48D .0105. If 

scores and information are not 

available from the other state, the 

applicant shall have the scores issued 

through the testing agency. If scores 

are no longer available or destroyed, 

the Board shall accept a notarized 

copy of exam scores from another 

state. If the total score on the 

examination is unsatisfactory, the 

exam shall be repeated. The cost of the 

examination shall be paid by the 

applicant. 

(B) If licensed in another state by an 

examination compiled by that Board, 

the applicant shall supply information 

for the Board to attempt to obtain the 

examination in order to determine if it 

meets the requirements set forth in 21 

NCAC 48D .0105. If it cannot be 

determined that the examination was 

equal to the North Carolina 

examination or if the scores received 

on an acceptable examination did not 

meet the North Carolina passing 

requirement, the applicant shall take 

the PT exam. The cost of the 

examination shall be paid by the 

applicant. 

(C) A physical therapist currently licensed 

in another state whose license in that 

state was granted on the basis of the 

American Registry of Physical 

Therapists Examination shall be 

considered for endorsement. 

(2) For Physical Therapist Assistants: Only those 

physical therapist assistants licensed in another 

state by a PTA exam shall be considered for 

endorsement. The examination score shall meet 

the North Carolina passing level as set forth in 

21 NCAC 48D .0105. If not, the applicant shall 

be required to take the PTA exam and pay the 

cost of the examination. 

(c)  Active License. An applicant for licensure by endorsement 

shall submit verification of licensure in effect on the date the 

application for North Carolina licensure was filed with the Board 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 48E .0105. 

(d)  Jurisprudence Exercise. All applicants for licensure by 

endorsement shall furnish proof of completion of the 

Jurisprudence Exercise 1 as set forth in 21 NCAC 48G .0105(7). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.98(b); 90-

270.100; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; November 1, 

1991; December 1, 1990; 

October 1, 1989; April 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48B .0103 LICENSES BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  Applicants. An applicant seeking an initial license or who fails 

to meet the requirements in Rule .0102 of this Section for 

endorsement must pass a computer-based examination set forth in 

Subchapter 48D of this Chapter to practice in North Carolina 

following the approval of the applicant's credentials. 
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(b)  Timing of Examination. The applicant shall take the 

examination within one year following the Board's approval of his 

or her application. If the applicant does not do so, the applicant 

must submit his or her credentials to the Board for review before 

he or she can take the exam. 

(c)  Examination Taken in Another State. Applicants not 

previously licensed who take a PT exam or a PTA exam in another 

state may be licensed in North Carolina if they provide scores that 

meet the North Carolina passing level set forth in Rule 48D .0105 

of this Chapter and meet all other requirements set forth in this 

Chapter and the Physical Therapy Practice Act for North Carolina 

licensure in effect at the time of application. 

(d)  Jurisprudence Exercise. All applicants for licensure for 

endorsement shall furnish proof of completion of the 

Jurisprudence Exercise 1 as set forth in 21 NCAC 48G .0105(7). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; October 1, 1989; 

April 1, 1989; December 30, 1985; October 28, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0102 SCHEDULE AND LOCATION OF 

EXAMINATION 

Examinations may be scheduled by the applicant at sites 

designated by the testing agency recognized by the Federation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; December 30, 1985; October 28, 

1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 

2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0101 FILING APPLICATION 

(a)  An applicant for licensure shall ensure that his or her 

credentials are filed with the executive director in accordance with 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  To be considered for a desired examination date, the applicant 

shall submit all application requirements to the executive director 

at least 30 days prior to the examination. 

(c)  The Board shall not approve an application until the applicant 

has graduated as defined by 21 NCAC 48A .0105(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.98(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1988; December 30, 1985; October 28, 

1979; 

Recodified Paragraph (c) to 21 NCAC 48C .0501 Eff. January 25, 

1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 

2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0110 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(2), and does not hold an active 

license in another state or territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credential to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(2), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the Federation's most recent Coursework Tool 

(CWT) for Physical Therapists at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. These coursework tools are 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the 

Federation at 703-299-3100 or download a copy from the 

Federation's website at no cost. Copies of the coursework tools 

are on file at the Division located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, 

Raleigh, NC 27615 and are available for public inspection during 

regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language (TOEFL) score requirement as 

defined by the Federation. This test is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to register for the TOEFL 

shall contact Examination Testing Service 

(http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of this 

examination is posted on the ETS website. The 

TOEFL is an examination that is owned by ETS 

and is not available for public review; or 

(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 
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Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(f)  An applicant for licensure shall provide a complete set of 

fingerprints at the applicant's expense in order to obtain a criminal 

history record check in accordance with G.S. 90-270.96 and G.S. 

143B-964. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. December 30, 1985; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; August 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 21, 1995, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent Rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; November 1, 

2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; October 

1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; September 1, 2019; November 1, 

2018. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0111 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(2), and holds an active physical 

therapist license in another state or territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials to be determined 

substantially equivalent to an educational program accredited 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(2), the applicant shall meet the 

standards of the Federation's Coursework Tool (CWT) 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx for the applicant's year 

of graduation. This coursework tool is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Individuals 

wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 703-299-3100 

or download a copy from the Federation's website at no cost. A 

copy of the coursework tool is on file at the Division located at 

8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available 

for public inspection during regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language (TOEFL) score requirement as 

defined by the Federation. This test is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to register for the TOEFL 

shall contact Examination Testing Service 

(http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of this 

examination is posted on the ETS website. The 

TOEFL is an examination that is owned by ETS 

and is not available for public review; or 

(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(f)  An applicant for licensure shall provide a complete set of 

fingerprints at the applicant's expense in order to obtain a criminal 

history record check in accordance with G.S. 90-270.96 and G.S. 

143B-964. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.95(2); 90-270-97; 90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; September 1, 2019; November 1, 

2018. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0112 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICANT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist assistant who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(3), and holds an active physical 

therapist assistant license in another state or territory of the United 

States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(3), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the Federation's most recent Coursework Tool 

(CWT) for Physical Therapist Assistants 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx for the applicant's year 

of graduation. This coursework tool is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Individuals 
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wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 703-299-3100 

or download a copy from the Federation's website at no cost. A 

copy of the coursework tool is on file at the Division located at 

8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available 

for public inspection during regular business hours.  

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapist assistants referred to in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. The Board shall review an applicant's educational program 

and shall consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language TOEFL score requirement as defined 

by the Federation. This test is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to register for 

the TOEFL shall contact Examination Testing 

Service (http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of 

this examination is posted on the ETS website. 

The TOEFL is an examination that is owned by 

ETS and is not available for public review; or 

(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the 8300 Health Park Suite 

233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for 

public inspection during regular business hours. 

(f)  An applicant for licensure shall provide a complete set of 

fingerprints at the applicant's expense in order to obtain a criminal 

history record check in accordance with G.S. 90-270.96 and G.S. 

143B-964. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; September 1, 2019; November 1, 

2018. 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0510 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST ASSISTANT EXAM APPLICANT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist assistant who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(3). 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(3), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the most recent Federation's Coursework Tool 

(CWT) for Physical Therapist Assistants 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx. This coursework tool 

is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the 

Federation at 703-299-3100 or download a copy from the 

Federation's website at no cost. A copy of the coursework tool is 

on file at the Division located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, 

Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for public inspection during 

regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapist assistants referred to in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. The Board shall review an applicant's educational program 

and shall consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language TOEFL score requirement as defined 

by the Federation. This test is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to register for 

the TOEFL shall contact Examination Testing 

Service (http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of 

this examination is posted on the ETS website. 

The TOEFL is an examination that is owned by 

ETS and is not available for public review; or 

(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the 8300 Health Park Suite 

233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for 

public inspection during regular business hours. 

(f)  An applicant for licensure shall provide a complete set of 

fingerprints at the applicant's expense in order to obtain a criminal 

history record check in accordance with G.S. 90-270.96 and G.S. 

143B-964. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2); 

Eff. May 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 48G .0109 CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Continuing Education activities are eligible for points as 

follows: 

(1) A registered attendee at courses or conferences 

offered live in real time by approved providers 

earns one point for each contact hour. The 

maximum number of points allowed during any 

reporting period shall be 29. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period for an interactive course offered through 

electronic media shall be 15. Credit shall not be 

given for the same course or conference more 

than once during any reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain the Certificate of 

Attendance issued by the approved provider. 

(2) For registered participation in an academic 

course related to physical therapy offered for 

credit in a post-baccalaureate program unless 

the course is required for licensure, one 

semester hour earns 15 points, and the 

maximum number of points allowed during any 

reporting period shall be 29. The licensee shall 

obtain a letter grade of "C" or better, or "P" if 

offered on a pass/fail basis. Credit shall not be 

given for the same course more than one time. 

The licensee shall retain a transcript published 

by the approved provider or furnished by the 

academic institution. 

(3) For attendance or participation in an activity 

related to physical therapy for which no 

assessment is received, two contact hours earns 

one point. The maximum number of points 

allowed during any reporting period shall be 

five. Credit shall not be given for the same 

activity more than one time. The licensee shall 

retain a certificate of completion, or if that is not 

available, a summary of the objectives of the 

activity and the time spent in the activity. 

(4) For registered participation in a non-interactive 

course offered by an approved provider by 

videotape, satellite transmission, webcast, 

DVD, or other electronic media, one hour of 

participation earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period shall be 10. Credit shall not be given for 

the same course more than once during a 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain a 

certificate of completion provided by the course 

provider. 

(5) For participation in a study group consisting of 

at least three licensees conducted either live or 

in real time through electronic media, whose 

purpose is to advance the knowledge and skills 

of the participants related to the practice of 

physical therapy, two hours of participation in 

the study group earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period shall be 10. The licensee shall retain a 

biography of each participant, a statement of the 

goals of the study group, attendance records for 

each participant, assignments for each 

participant and an analysis by each participant 

specifying the knowledge and skills enhanced 

by participating in the study group. 

(6) For participation in a self-designed home study 

program for the purpose of advancing the 

knowledge and skill of the participant related to 

the practice of physical therapy, three hours of 

home study earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed for home study 

during any reporting period shall be five. The 

licensee shall retain a description of the plans 

and objectives of the me study, an analysis of 

the manner in which the plans and objectives 

were met, and a certification of the time spent 

on the project. 

(7) For participation in continuing education 

required by credentialed residencies and 

fellowships, one point shall be granted for each 

contact hour. The maximum number of points 

for each reporting period shall be 29. The 

licensee shall retain the certificate of attendance 

issued by the American Physical Therapy 

Association ("APTA") credentialed residency 

or fellowship. 

(8) For completion of a home study physical 

therapy program furnished by an approved 

provider, one hour of home study earns one 

point. The maximum number of points during 

any one reporting period allowed shall be 10. 

The licensee shall retain a certificate of 

completion issued by the approved provider. 

(b)  Points are awarded for advanced training as follows: 

(1) For fellowships conferred by organizations 

credentialed by the APTA in a specialty area of 

the practice of physical therapy, 10 points shall 

be awarded for each full year of clinical 

participation, up to a maximum of 20 points per 

reporting period for this activity. The licensee 

shall retain the certificate conferred on the 

licensee or evidence that all requirements of the 

fellowship program have been met. 

(2) For completion of a residency program in 

physical therapy offered by an APTA 

credentialed organization, 10 points shall be 

awarded for each full year of clinical 

participation, up to a maximum of 20 points per 

reporting period for this activity. The licensee 

shall retain the certificate conferred on the 

licensee or evidence that all requirements of the 

residency program have been met. 

(3) For specialty certification or specialty 

recertification by the American Board of 

Physical Therapy Specialization ("ABPTS"), 

20 points shall be awarded upon receipt of such 

certification or recertification during any 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain 
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evidence from ABPTS that the certification or 

recertification has been granted. 

(4) For a physical therapist assistant, Advanced 

Proficiency designation by the APTA for the 

PTA earns 19 points per reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain evidence from APTA that 

the designation has been awarded. 

(c)  Achieving a passing score on the Federation's Practice Review 

Tool ("PRT") earns 10 points. Taking the PRT without achieving 

a passing score earns five points. The licensee shall retain the 

certificate of completion and performance report. Points shall be 

awarded only one time for any specific practice area. 

(d)  Clinical Education activities are eligible for points as follows: 

(1) For completion of a course offered by an 

approved provider for a licensee to become a 

Credentialed Clinical Instructor recognized by 

APTA, one course hour earns one point, and the 

maximum number of points awarded during 

any reporting period shall be 29. The licensee 

shall retain a credential certificate issued by the 

approved provider. Credit for completing the 

same course shall be given only once. 

(2) For enrollment in a course offered by APTA for 

a licensee to become a Credentialed Clinical 

Instructor Trainer, one course hour earns one 

point, and the maximum number of points 

awarded during any reporting period shall be 

29. The licensee shall retain a Trainer certificate 

issued by APTA. Credit for completing the 

same course shall be given only once. 

(3) For serving as a Clinical Instructor for a 

physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 

student, resident, or fellow for a period of at 

least 80 hours, 40 hours of direct on-site 

supervision earns one point, and the maximum 

number of points awarded during any reporting 

period shall be eight. The licensee shall retain 

verification of the clinical affiliation agreement 

with the accredited educational program for the 

student supervised and a log showing the 

number of hours spent supervising the student. 

(e)  Presenting or teaching for an accredited physical therapy 

educational program; a transitional Doctor of Physical Therapy 

("DPT") program; an accredited program for health care 

practitioners licensed under the provisions of Chapter 90 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes; or a state, national, or 

international workshop, seminar or professional health care 

conference earns two points for each hour of presentation or 

teaching. The licensee shall retain written materials advertising 

the presentation or teaching, or other evidence of the date, subject, 

goals and objectives of the presentation, and any written materials 

prepared by the licensee. A maximum of six points shall be 

allowed during any reporting period, and credit shall not be given 

for teaching or presenting the same subject matter more than one 

time during any reporting period. 

(f)  Research and published books or articles shall be eligible to 

accumulate up to a maximum of 15 points as follows: 

(1) Submission of a request to a funding agency for 

a research grant as a Principal or Co-Principal 

Investigator earns 10 points. The licensee shall 

retain a copy of the research grant that shall 

include the title, an abstract, the funding 

agency, and the grant period. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during any reporting 

period. 

(2) Having a research grant funded as a Principal 

Investigator or Co-Principal Investigator earns 

10 points. The licensee shall retain a copy of the 

research grant that shall include the title, an 

abstract, the funding agency, the grant period 

and documentation of the funding received in a 

given period. Points shall be awarded only one 

time during a reporting period. 

(3) Service as a Grants Reviewer earns one point 

for each two hours of grant review and a 

maximum of five points shall be allowed. The 

licensee shall retain a description of all grants 

reviewed and any reports generated in 

connection with the reviews, including the 

dates of service, the agency for whom the 

review was performed, and the hours spent on 

the grant review. Points shall be awarded only 

once for each grant reviewed during the 

reporting period. 

(4) The author or editor of a book published by a 

third party entity dealing with a subject related 

to the practice of physical therapy earns 10 

points. The licensee shall retain a copy of the 

published book and a list of consulted 

resources. Points shall be awarded only one 

time during any reporting period. 

(5) The author or editor of a chapter in a book 

published by a third party entity dealing with a 

subject related to the practice of physical 

therapy earns five points. The licensee shall 

retain a copy of the published book and a list of 

consulted resources. Points shall be awarded 

only one time during any reporting period. 

(6) The author of a published peer-reviewed article 

relating to the practice of physical therapy earns 

10 points. The licensee shall retain the article, 

names and employers of the reviewers, and a 

list of consulted resources. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during any reporting 

period.  

(7) The author of a published non peer-reviewed 

article or book-review or abstract relating to the 

practice of physical therapy earns four points. 

The licensee shall retain the article and a list of 

consulted resources. Each article, book-review, 

or abstract shall count one time only. A 

maximum of four points shall be awarded 

during any reporting period. 

(8) The author of a published peer-reviewed 

abstract, book review, or peer-reviewed 

abstract for a poster or presentation related to 

the practice of physical therapy to a 

professional health care group earns five points 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2020 

2314 

for a presentation, up to a maximum of 15 

points during any reporting period, and credit 

for the same poster or presentation shall not be 

awarded more than one time. The licensee shall 

retain a copy of the poster or presentation and a 

list of consulted resources. 

(g)  Clinical practice shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for 1,750 

hours or more, three points shall be awarded. 

The licensee shall retain certification from the 

employer(s) for whom the services were 

performed including year and hours worked or 

document practice hours as the owner of a 

practice. 

(2) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for at 

least 1,000 hours but less than 1,750 hours, two 

points shall be awarded. The licensee shall 

retain a certification from the employer(s) for 

whom the services were performed including 

year and hours worked or document practice 

hours as the owner of a practice. 

(3) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for at 

least 200 hours but less than 1,000 hours, one 

point shall be awarded. The licensee shall retain 

a certification from the employer(s) for whom 

the services were performed including year and 

hours worked or document practice hours as the 

owner of a practice. 

(h)  Professional Self-Assessment earns five points for completion 

of an approved Reflective Practice Exercise. This exercise shall 

be approved if it is a process for a licensee to evaluate current 

professional practice abilities, to establish goals to improve those 

abilities, to develop a plan to meet those goals, and to document 

that the objectives are being accomplished. The licensee shall 

retain evidence of completion of all elements of the Reflective 

Practice Exercise. Points shall be awarded only one time during 

any reporting period. 

(i)  Workplace Education shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) Presentation or attendance at an in-service 

session related to the practice of physical 

therapy, including health care issues related to 

the practice of physical therapy, shall be 

allowed. The licensee shall retain a roster or 

certificate of attendance signed by a 

representative of the employer. Two hours of 

attendance earns one point. One hour of 

presentation earns one point. A maximum of 

five points may be earned during any one 

reporting period. Credit for the same in-service 

shall not be granted more than one time. 

(2) Presentation or attendance at an in-service 

session devoted to general patient safety, 

emergency procedures, or governmental 

regulatory requirements shall be allowed. The 

licensee shall retain a roster or certificate of 

attendance signed by a representative of the 

employer. Two contact hours of in-service are 

equivalent to one point, which shall be the 

maximum credit granted during any reporting 

period. Credit for the same in-service shall not 

be granted more than one time during any 

reporting period. 

(j)  Professional Service shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) Participation in a national physical therapy or 

interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) 

organization as an officer or chair of a physical 

therapy services committee, physical therapy 

services task force member, or delegate to a 

national assembly earns five points for each full 

year of participation, up to a maximum of 10 

points during any reporting period. The licensee 

shall retain organizational materials listing the 

licensee's participation, a statement of the 

responsibilities of the position, and a summary 

of the activities of the licensee. 

(2) Participation in a state physical therapy or 

interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) 

organization as an officer or chair of a physical 

therapy services committee earns four points 

for each full year of participation, up to a 

maximum of eight points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain organizational 

materials listing the licensee's participation, a 

statement of the responsibilities of the position, 

and a summary of the activities of the licensee. 

(3) Participation in a local or regional physical 

therapy or interdisciplinary (including physical 

therapy) organization as an officer or chair of a 

physical therapy service committee earns two 

points for each full year of participation, up to 

a maximum of four points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain organizational 

materials listing the licensee's participation, a 

statement of the responsibilities of the position, 

and a summary of the activities of the licensee. 

(4) Participation as a member of a physical therapy 

professional organization committee involved 

with physical therapy services earns one point 

for each full year of participation, up to a 

maximum of two points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain organizational 

materials listing the licensee's participation, a 

statement of the responsibilities of the 

committee, and a summary of the work of the 

committee. 

(5) Participation in unpaid volunteer service to the 

general public and healthcare professionals 

related to physical therapy earns one point for 

at least 20 hours spent on service activities 

during each year, up to a maximum of two 

points during any reporting period. The licensee 

shall retain published materials describing the 

service activity. 

(6) Membership in the APTA for one year earns 

one point. A point may be earned for each year 
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of membership during the reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain proof of membership in the 

APTA. 

(7) Membership in an APTA Section for one year 

earns one-half point. The licensee shall retain 

proof of membership in the APTA Section. 

Points shall not be awarded for membership in 

more than one Section. 

(8) Selection by the Federation for participation as 

an item writer of exam questions for the 

National Physical Therapy Examination 

(NPTE) or by the American Board of Physical 

Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) earns five points 

for each year of participation. The licensee shall 

retain documentation of participation by the 

Federation or ABPTS. 

(9) Participation in clinical research, clinical trials, 

or research projects related to the practice of 

physical therapy earns 1 point for each hour of 

participation, up to a maximum of 10 hours per 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain a log 

of hours of participation including date, activity 

performed, location of the research, and 

primary investigator. 

(k)  During each reporting period, every licensee shall complete a 

jurisprudence exercise provided by the Board. The jurisprudence 

exercise shall be available online at the Board's website, at 

http://www.ncptboard.org and a certificate of completion shall be 

issued to a licensee at the conclusion of the exercise, at which time 

one point shall be awarded to the licensee. The maximum number 

of points allowed during a reporting period is three. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 

Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2015; February 1, 2015; January 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0202 NOTIFICATION 

A licensee shall renew his or her license by January 31 close of 

business of each year. Any license not renewed by January 31 

close of business shall lapse and the Board shall notify the 

licensee by written communication at the last known mailing or 

email address on record with the Board. Any person with a lapsed 

license shall notify his or her employer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.99; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1989; 

December 30, 1985; October 28, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0504 COMPLAINTS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  In order to file a complaint with the Board, the following 

information shall be submitted to the Board in writing, or by filing 

a complaint online at the Board's website www.ncptboard.org. 

(1) the name and address of person alleged to have 

violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) a statement of conduct that is the basis of the 

complaint; and 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of 

complainant. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a written complaint alleging misconduct that 

may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, or upon the receipt 

of the information that a violation of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act may have occurred, the Board shall investigate the 

matter to determine whether probable cause exists to institute 

disciplinary proceedings. 

(c)  The Executive Director of the Board and a member appointed 

by the Chair shall serve as an investigative committee. This 

investigative committee may be assisted by: 

(1) the Board's attorney; 

(2) an investigator; or 

(3) a consultant, who is not a NC PT/PTA licensee, 

retained by the investigative committee who 

possesses expertise that will assist the 

investigative committee in its investigation. 

(d)  The investigative committee shall investigate the complaint 

or information set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. In 

conducting its investigation, the Board Chair (or Executive 

Director, if designated by the Chair) may issue subpoenas in the 

investigative committee's name for the production of documents 

pursuant to the provisions of Rule .0512 of this Section. The 

investigative committee shall determine whether there is probable 

cause to believe that the licensee has violated any statute or Board 

rule that justifies a disciplinary hearing. If the investigative 

committee determines probable cause does not exist, the 

complaint shall be dismissed, and the complainant shall be 

notified of the investigative committee's action and its reasons. If 

the investigative committee determines that probable cause exists, 

the investigative committee shall offer to confer with the licensee 

in an attempt to settle the matter through informal means. If the 

investigative committee and the licensee reach an agreement on 

the disposition of the matter under investigation, the investigative 

committee shall cause to be drafted a proposed settlement 

agreement that shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law, 

and a consent order for presentation to and consideration by the 

Board. The settlement agreement shall be presented to and 

approved by the licensee before it is presented to the Board for 

consideration and approval. 

(e)  Prior to a decision rendered by the Board, any materials 

generated or obtained by the Board in conducting an investigation 

shall be considered confidential investigation records not subject 

to the Public Records Act, G.S. 132. However, copies of the 

materials may be provided to a licensee subject to disciplinary 

action, or to the licensee's attorney, so long as identifying 

information concerning the treatment or delivery of professional 

services to a patient who has not consented to its public disclosure 

shall be redacted. 
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(f)  If the investigative committee and the licensee are not able to 

settle the matter under investigation by informal means, the 

licensee may request a contested case hearing pursuant to Rule 

.0502 of this Section or the Board shall give notice of a 

disciplinary or contested case hearing. 

(g)  If probable cause is found, but it is determined that license 

suspension or revocation is not warranted, the investigative 

committee shall recommend that the Board place the licensee on 

probation, or issue a warning to the licensee. In making this 

determination, the investigative committee shall consider such 

factors as harm to the public; nature of the conduct; and prior 

record of discipline. The investigative committee shall mail or 

email a copy of its recommendation to the licensee or the 

licensee's attorney. 

(h)  Within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the 

licensee may refuse the probation or warning and request a 

contested case hearing pursuant to this Rule. The refusal and 

request shall be filed with the Board. The legal counsel for the 

Board shall thereafter prepare, file, and serve a Notice of Hearing. 

(i)  In the alternative, within 20 days after receipt of the 

recommendation, the licensee may request an informal meeting 

with the Board to discuss the basis of the investigative 

committee's recommendation and present reasons why the Board 

should not follow the investigative committee's recommendation. 

There shall be no sworn testimony presented, nor shall there be a 

formal record of the proceedings. 

(j)  If the licensee does not request a contested case hearing or an 

informal meeting with the Board, the Board shall still determine 

whether to accept the investigative committee's recommendation. 

(k)  Participation by a current Board member in the investigation 

of a complaint shall disqualify that Board member from 

participating in the decision making process of a contested case 

hearing. 

(l)  Subsequent to the issuance of a notice of hearing, the attorney 

prosecuting the contested case for the Board may not 

communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue 

of fact or question of law, with any party, including the members 

of the Board assigned to make a decision or to make findings of 

fact and conclusions of law in the contested case, except on notice 

and opportunity for all parties to participate. However, the 

attorney prosecuting the matter for the Board may continue to 

communicate concerning the contested case with the members of 

the investigative committee who investigated the matter, with 

persons not parties to the contested case who may be called as 

witnesses including the person who filed the complaint, and with 

the Board members about other matters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 150B-38; 150B-39; 

150B-40; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; July 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 50 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER 

CONTRACTORS 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0301 QUALIFICATIONS 

DETERMINED BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  In order to determine the qualifications of an applicant, the 

Board shall provide a written or computer-based examination in 

the following categories: 

(1) Plumbing Contracting, Class I 

(2) Plumbing Contracting, Class II 

(3) Heating, Group No. l - Contracting, Class I 

(4) Heating, Group No. 1 - Contracting, Class II 

(5) Heating, Group No. 2 - Contracting, Class I 

(6) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class I 

(7) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class II 

(8) Fuel Piping Contractor 

(9) Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor 

(10) Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor 

(11) Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor 

(12) Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 

(13) Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician 

(14) Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician 

(15) Plumbing Technician 

(16) Heating Group No. 1 Technician 

(17) Heating Group No. 2 Technician 

(18) Heating Group No. 3 Technician 

(19) Fuel Piping Technician 

(20) Private Educational Institution Plumbing 

Technician 

(21) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

1 Technician 

(22) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

2 Technician 

(23) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

3 Technician 

(24) Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 

(b)  Each person being examined by the Board for a contractor 

license other than a Fire Sprinkler Installation or Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Contractor license shall be required to pass both the 

business and law part and the technical part of the examination 

required by G.S. 87-21(b). 

(c)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor shall submit evidence of current certification by the 

National Institute for Certification of Engineering Technologies 

(NICET) for Automated Sprinkler System Layout as the 

prerequisite for licensure. Applicants for licensure as a Fire 

Sprinkler Installation Contractor shall pass the business and law 

part of the exam administered by the Board. Persons licensed 

based upon NICET certification shall maintain such certification 

as a condition of license renewal. 

(d)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician classification shall pass the technical examination 

offered by the Board. The Board shall accept the results of NICET 

examination resulting in Level II Certification in "Inspection and 

Testing of Water-based Systems" by NICET. Persons who obtain 

license as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician based on NICET 
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certification shall maintain such certification as a condition of 

license renewal. 

(e)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor shall submit evidence of Level III certification in 

"Inspection and Testing of Water-based Fire Systems" by NICET 

in lieu of the technical part of the Board-administered 

examination. Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Contractor shall also pass the business and law part of 

the examination administered by the Board. Contractors who 

obtain license by NICET certification shall maintain such 

certification thereafter as a condition of license renewal. 

(f)  Applicants for a license in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician classification shall obtain a license based 

on maintenance experience, education, and job classification set 

forth in Rule .0306 and pass a test administered by the Board. 

(g)  Applicants for a license as a Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor shall obtain a license based on experience 

set forth in Rule .0306 and shall pass the technical part of the 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor examination. 

(h)  Applicants for a license as a Plumbing, Heating, or Fuel 

Piping Technician shall obtain a license based on experience set 

forth in Rule .0306 of this Section and shall pass the Class I 

technical and Board laws and rules parts of the Board-

administered examination related to the category for which a 

technician license is sought. 

(i)  Applicants who hold an active Plumbing, Heating, or Fuel 

Piping Technician license obtained by examination may obtain 

the Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping Contractor license in the 

same category by meeting the experience requirement listed in 

Rule .0306 of this Section for the specific contractor license 

sought and passage of only the business portion of the 

examination. 

(j)  Applicants for a license as a Restricted Limited Plumbing 

Contractor shall obtain a license based on experience set forth in 

Rule .0306 of this Section and shall be required to pass both the 

business and law part and the technical parts of the Restricted 

Limited Plumbing Contractor examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a); 87-21(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; August 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 15, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2005; January 1, 2004; July 1, 2003; 

August 1, 2002; July 1, 1998; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. December 5, 2005; 

Emergency Amendment Expired February 13, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 3, 2012; January 1, 2010; May 

1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  All applicants for licensure or examination shall file an 

application setting forth the information required in G.S. 87-21 

and the rules of this Chapter on a form available on the Board 

website or at the Board office. 

(b)  Applicants for a plumbing or heating examination shall 

present evidence at the time of application to establish two years 

of full-time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 

or repair of plumbing or heating systems related to the category 

for which a license is sought, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Applicants for a fuel piping 

examination shall present evidence at the time of application to 

establish one year of experience in the installation, maintenance, 

service, or repair of fuel piping, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Up to one-half of the experience 

may be in academic or technical training related to the field of 

endeavor for which examination is requested. The Board shall 

prorate part-time work of less than 40 hours per week or part-time 

academic work of less than 15 semester or quarter hours. 

(c)  The Board shall issue a license certificate bearing the license 

number assigned to the qualifying individual. 

(d)  Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors shall meet experience 

requirements in accordance with NICET examination criteria. 

(e)  Applicants for examination or licensure in the Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Technician classification shall submit evidence 

adequate to establish that the applicant has either: 

(1) 4000 hours of experience involved in inspection 

and testing of previously installed fire sprinkler 

systems, consistent with NFPA-25, Standard 

for the Inspection Testing as Maintenance of 

Water-Based Fire Protection Systems of the 

National Fire Protection Association, adopted 

by the North Carolina Building Code, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including all 

subsequent editions and amendments to the 

document as a full-time employee of a Fire 

Sprinkler Inspection Contractor or fire 

insurance underwriting organization; 

(2) 4000 hours of experience as a full-time 

employee of a hospital, manufacturing, 

government, or university facility under direct 

supervision of Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor or a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician involved in inspection and testing of 

previously installed fire sprinkler systems, 

consistent with NFPA 25: Standard for the 

Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-

Based Fire Protection Systems, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including all 

subsequent editions and amendments. The 

document may be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/; 

(3) 4000 hours of experience involved in 

installation of fire sprinkler systems as a full-

time employee of a Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor; or 

(4) a combination of 4000 hours of experience in 

any of the categories listed in this Paragraph. 

(f)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor classification shall meet experience requirements in 

accordance with NICET certification criteria. 

(g)  Applicants for initial licensure in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician classification shall submit evidence of 

2000 hours experience at the place for which license is sought as 
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a full-time maintenance employee in facility maintenance with 

exposure to periodic maintenance of fire protection systems as 

described in Rule .0515 of this Chapter. Applicants who have held 

Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician license 

previously are not required to demonstrate experience in addition 

to the experience at the time of initial licensure, but shall submit 

a new application if relocating to a new location. 

(h)  Applicants for licensure in the Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor classification shall hold an active 

Plumbing Class I or Class II Contractor license issued by this 

Board for a minimum of two years and shall document attendance 

at a 16 hour course approved by the Board pursuant to the Rules 

in this Chapter covering NFPA 13D: Standard for the Installation 

of Sprinkler Systems in One-and Two-Family Dwellings and 

Manufactured Homes, which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including all subsequent editions and amendments. The document 

may be accessed free of charge at http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-

standards/. Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors 

shall maintain a Plumbing Contractor license as a condition of 

renewal of the Residential Fire sprinkler Installation Contractor 

license. 

(i)  Applicants for a license as a plumbing or heating technician 

shall present evidence adequate to establish 3000 hours of full-

time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, or repair 

of plumbing or heating systems related to the category for which 

a technician license is sought, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Applicants for a license as a fuel 

piping technician shall present evidence adequate to establish 

1500 hours of experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 

or repair of fuel piping, whether or not a license was required for 

the work performed. Up to one-half of the experience may be in 

academic or technical training related to the field of endeavor for 

which the examination is requested. 

(j)  Applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 

license shall present evidence at the time of application to 

establish 1500 hours of full-time experience in the installation, 

maintenance, service, or repair of plumbing systems, whether or 

not a license was required for the work performed. Up to one-half 

of the experience may be in academic or technical training related 

to the field of endeavor for which examination is requested. The 

Board shall prorate part-time work of fewer than 40 hours per 

week or part-time academic work of less than 15 semester or 

quarter hours. 

(k)  In lieu of the requirements of Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 

applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License 

who present a current active License from the North Carolina 

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board may take the examination, 

provided the applicant demonstrates that he or she holds 

certification as a Backflow Inspector from one of the 

municipalities in North Carolina, or demonstrates 500 hours of 

experience in the maintenance, service, or repair of components 

of plumbing systems. 

(l)  Applicants for license based on completion of an 

apprenticeship program as described in G.S. 93B-8.6(b) shall 

meet the same experience and training requirements for the 

category of license sought as is set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2004; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; July 

1, 1998; September 1, 1994; 

November 1, 1993; April 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2004; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 3, 2012; January 1, 2010; June 

1, 2006; March 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; April 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0313 RESPONSIBILITIES OF STATE 

AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT TECHNICIAN 

LICENSEES 

(a)  A State and local government technician licensee shall be 

required to list their license with the Board in the name of the State 

and local government agency by whom the licensee is employed, 

(b)  The holder of license as a State and local government Heating 

Group 1 Technician, Heating Group 2 Technician, Heating Group 

3 Technician, or Plumbing Technician shall be a full-time 

employee of a State or local government agency. 

(c)  A State and local government technician licensee shall ensure 

that a permit is obtained from the State or local code enforcement 

official for the jurisdiction where the worksite is located before 

commencing any work for which a license is required by the 

Board. The licensee shall also ensure that a request for final 

inspection of the work for which a license is required is made 

within 10 days of the earlier of the system being made operational 

or placed in service, absent agreement with the appropriate State 

or local code enforcement official. Absent agreement with the 

local code enforcement official the licensee shall not be relieved 

of responsibility to the Board to arrange inspection until a 

certificate of compliance or the equivalent is obtained from the 

appropriate State or local code enforcement official or the licensee 

has documentary evidence of his effort to obtain the same. 

(d)  The failure of a licensee to comply with the permit and 

inspection obligations outlined in this Rule shall be considered by 

the Board as evidence of incompetence or misconduct in the use 

of license from the Board. 

(e)  A State and local government technician licensee shall be 

responsible for general supervision to the extent of his 

qualifications, compliance with the codes and standards contained 

in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, and assurance that permits and 

inspections are obtained. 

(f)  The "general supervision" required by G.S. 87-26 is the degree 

of supervision necessary and sufficient to ensure that the work is 

performed in a workmanlike manner and with the requisite skill 

and that the installation is made in accordance with the codes and 

standards contained in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, manufacturer 

installation instructions and industry practice. General 

supervision requires that review of the work done pursuant to the 

State and local government technician license be performed by the 

State and local government technician licensee while the work is 

in progress. 

(g)  In each State or local government agency location, branch, or 

facility of any kind from which work requiring a license pursuant 

to G.S. 87, Article 2 is carried out there shall be on duty all hours 

during which the activities described herein are carried out, at 

least one licensee who holds State and local government 
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technician license in the classification required for the work being 

proposed or performed, whose license is listed in the name of the 

particular State or local government agency at that location, and 

who is engaged in the work of the State or local government at the 

agency location or at an agency job site and who has the 

responsibility to exercise general supervision over the work and 

who has been empowered to act for the State or local government 

agency, as defined in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, of all work 

falling within his or her license qualification. Evidence of 

compliance shall be required as a condition of renewal or retention 

of license and falsification shall constitute fraud in obtaining 

license. The standards set forth in Rule .0512 of this Chapter shall 

be applied. 

(h)  An unlicensed person employed by a State and local 

government agency licensed and supervised pursuant to G.S. 87, 

Article 2 shall not be required to have a license and shall not be 

subject to an action for injunctive relief brought by the Board if 

the unlicensed person is a bona-fide employee of the State and 

local government. 

(i)  The annual license fee for a State and local government 

Technician license is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00), except 

as provided in Paragraph (j) of this Rule. 

(j)  The annual license fee for a State and local government 

Plumbing or Heating Technician license that is listed as the 

second or subsequent licensee at the same agency location is 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b)(2)c; 87-22; 87-

26; 

Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0314 PRIVATE EDUCATIONAL 

INSTITUTION PLUMBING OR HEATING TECHNICIAN 

(a)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 

Plumbing or Heating Technician shall obtain a license based on 

experience set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule and shall pass 

the Class I technical and Board laws and rules part of the Board –

administered examination described in 21 NCAC 50. 0301 related 

to the category for which a technician license is sought. The 

applicant need not pass the business part of the examination. 

(b)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 

Plumbing or Heating Technician shall present evidence to 

establish 3000 hours of experience in the installation, 

maintenance service or repair of plumbing or heating system 

related to the category for which a technician license is sought, 

whether or not a license was required for the work performed. 

(c)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 

Technician who currently hold an active plumbing or heating 

contractor license issued by this Board qualify for the 

corresponding State and local government technician license 

without examination. 

(d)  Applicants for a license as Private Educational Institution 

Technician who currently hold an active plumbing or heating 

technician license obtained by examination and issued by the 

Board qualify for the Corresponding Private Educational 

Institution technician license without examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0315 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

PRIVATE EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TECHNICIAN 

LICENSEES 

(a)  A licensed Private Educational Institution Technician shall 

list their license with the Board in the name of the private 

educational institution by whom the licensee is employed. 

(b)  The holder of license as a Private Educational Institution 

Technician shall be a full-time employee of a private education 

institution. 

(c)  A Private Educational Institution Technician licensee shall 

ensure that a permit is obtained from the State or local code 

enforcement official of the jurisdiction where the worksite is 

located before commencing any work for which a license is 

required by the Board. The licensee shall also ensure that a request 

for final inspection of the work for which a license is required is 

made within 10 days of the earlier of the system being made 

operational or placed in service, absent agreement with the 

permitting authority. Absent agreement with the authority having 

jurisdiction the licensee shall not be relieved of responsibility to 

the Board to arrange inspection until a certificate of compliance 

or the equivalent is obtained from the authority having jurisdiction 

or the licensee has documentary evidence of his effort to obtain 

the same. 

(d)  The failure of a licensee to comply with the permit and 

inspection obligations outlined in this Rule shall be considered by 

the Board as evidence of incompetence or misconduct in the use 

of license from the Board. 

(e)  A Private Educational Institution Technician licensee shall be 

responsible for general supervision to the extent of his or her 

qualifications, compliance with the codes and standards contained 

in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, and assurance that permits and 

inspections are obtained. 

(f)  The "general supervision" required by G.S. 87-26 is the degree 

of supervision necessary and sufficient to ensure that the work is 

performed in a workmanlike manner and with the requisite skill 

and that the installation is made in accordance the codes and 

standards contained in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, manufacturer 

installation instructions and industry practice. General 

supervision requires that review of the work done pursuant to the 

Private Educational Institution Technician license be performed 

by the Private Educational Institution Technician licensee while 

the work is in progress. 

(g)  In each Private Educational Institution location, branch, or 

facility of any kind from which work requiring a license pursuant 

to G.S. 87, Article 2 is carried out there shall be on duty all hours 

during which the work requiring license is carried out, at least one 

licensee who holds the appropriate Private Educational Institution 

Technician license in the classification required for the work 

being proposed or performed, whose license is listed in the name 

of the particular Private Educational Institution at that location, 

and who is engaged in the work of the Private Educational 

Institution at the institution location or at an institution job site 

and who has the responsibility to exercise general supervision 

over the work and who has been empowered to act for the Private 

Educational Institution, as defined in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, 

of all work falling within his or her license qualification. Evidence 

of compliance shall be required as a condition of renewal or 
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retention of license and falsification shall constitute fraud in 

obtaining license. The standards set forth in Rule .0512 of this 

Chapter shall be applied. 

(h)  An unlicensed person employed by a Private Educational 

Institution licensed and supervised pursuant to G.S. 87, Article 2 

shall not be required to have a license and shall not be subject to 

an action for injunctive relief brought by the Board if the 

unlicensed person is a bona-fide employee of the State and local 

government. 

(i)  The annual license fee for a Private Educational Institution 

Technician license is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00), except 

as provided in Paragraph (j) of this Rule. 

(j)  The annual license fee for a Private Educational Institution 

Technician license that is listed as the second or subsequent 

licensee at the same agency location is seventy-five dollars 

($75.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0316 RESIDENTIAL FIRE 

SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

(a)  Applicants for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 

license shall obtain a license based on experience set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall be required to pass the 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design technical examination. 

(b)  Applicants for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 

license shall present evidence at the time of application to 

establish that the applicant currently holds an active Residential 

Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor license issued by the Board, 

and shall document completion of a 32 hour fire sprinkler systems 

design course created by the Board on NFPA-13D fire sprinkler 

system design.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0317 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

RESIDENTIAL FIRE SPRINKLER DESIGN 

CONTRACTORS  

(a)  Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor licensees shall 

design NFPA 13D residential multipurpose fire sprinkler systems 

consistent with NFPA 13D design requirements and the water 

design conditions present at the system installation location. 

(b)  Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor licensees shall 

sign and date each specific NFPA 13D residential design 

performed and shall not delegate this responsibility. 

(c)  Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractors shall maintain 

a Plumbing Contractor and a Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor license as a condition of renewal of the 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor license. 

(d)  The annual license fee for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design 

Contractor license is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b)(2); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0405 MULTIPLE LICENSES 

(a)  In order to maintain the identity of firms and allow effective 

supervision, each licensed contractor or technician shall qualify 

only the business location from which the majority of his or her 

work is carried out. 

(b)  A licensee shall only be listed on one contractor license at any 

given time, whether the license is issued in the name of the 

individual or in the name of a firm; provided, however, that the 

Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician qualification, the Private 

Educational Institution Technician, and the State and local 

government technician qualification may be listed separately in 

the name of the employer to which restricted. 

(c)  The holder of qualification as a contractor may, upon deletion 

of his or her name and qualifications from the license for a 

corporate, partnership, private education institution or State or 

local government agency, reinstate his or her personal license, 

either as an individual or in the name of some other corporation, 

partnership, or business that has a trade name, upon compliance 

with G.S. 87-26. 

(d)  A technician licensee, other than the holder of a Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician license, may, upon deletion of his or her 

name and qualification from a firm license, move his qualification 

to another licensed corporation, partnership, State or local 

governmental agency, private educational institution, or business 

that has a trade name, upon compliance with G.S. 87-26. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b)(2)c; 87-26; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 31, 2011; January 1, 2010; January 1, 

2004; July 1, 1998; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; February 1, 2017. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0407 CORPORATIONS, 

PARTNERSHIPS AND TRADE NAMES 

(a)  Licensees shall list their license with the Board in the name in 

which they conduct business. 

(b)  A contractor license may be issued or renewed in the name of 

a corporation, partnership, State or local governmental agency, 

private educational institution, or business with a trade name upon 

compliance with the provisions of G.S. 87-26, verified by the 

execution of a form for that purpose furnished by the Board which 

is available at nclicensing.org. 

(c)  Additional licensees may be added to licenses issued in the 

above manner upon verifications of compliance with the 

provisions of G.S. 87-26. If a licensee terminates his association 

with a corporation, partnership, State or local governmental 

agency, private educational institution, or business with a trade 

name, both the firm and the licensee shall notify the Board within 

30 days by completing the form for that purpose which is 

available at nclicensing.org. 

(d)  A person who has a license which has been expired less than 

three years may be added to an active license issued in the name 

of a corporation, partnership, State or local governmental agency, 

private educational institution, or business with a trade name, 

upon written request, completion of forms provided by the Board, 

and payment of the fee set forth in Rule .1102 of this Chapter. 
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(e)  The license number assigned to a corporation, partnership, 

State or local governmental agency, private educational 

institution, or business with a trade name shall be that of the first 

licensee listed on the license. 

(f)  A corporation, partnership, State or local governmental 

agency, private educational institution, or business with a trade 

name which is issued a license is subject to the provisions of G.S. 

87, Article 2 and to the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-22; 87-26; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 31, 2011; November 1, 1994; November 

1, 1993; July 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0408 CHANGE OF TRADE NAME 

(a)  The trade name under which a license is issued may be 

changed upon written request to and compliance with Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. If the Board approves the name change, the last 

license issued to the licensee must be returned to the Board before 

the new license will be sent to the licensee. 

(b)  A contractor license shall be issued or renewed using any 

corporate name, partnership name, State or local governmental 

agency, private educational institution, or trade name which is not 

the same as a name already in use according to the records of the 

Board. 

(c)  The licensee shall notify the Board of any change in location, 

telephone number, physical address, or mailing address from that 

shown on the last license renewal invoice within 30 days after the 

change takes place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 87-18; 87-26; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; December 1, 2003; November 1, 

1994; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0519 RESIDENTIAL FIRE 

SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

(a)  A licensed Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor is 

authorized to design residential fire sprinkler Systems consistent 

with NFPA 13D Residential Multipurpose Fire Sprinkler 

Systems. 

(b)  An individual who holds an active license as a Plumbing 

Contractor and as a Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor may obtain license as a Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Design Contractor upon meeting the requirements of Rule .0316 

of this Chapter. 

(c)  A licensed Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor may design 

residential fire sprinkler systems consistent with NFPA 13D 

Residential Multipurpose Fire Sprinkler Systems without meeting 

the requirements of Paragraph (a) and (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .1102 LICENSE FEES 

(a)  Except as set out in Paragraphs (b) and (d) of this Rule, the 

annual license fee for plumbing, heating, and fuel piping 

contractor licenses issued or renewed by the Board is one hundred 

fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(b)  The annual license fee for a licensed individual who holds 

qualifications from the Code Officials Qualification Board and is 

employed full-time as a local government plumbing, heating or 

mechanical inspector is twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

(c)  The initial application fee for a license without examination 

conducted by the Board is thirty dollars ($30.00). 

(d)  The annual license fee for a contractor or fire sprinkler 

inspection technician whose qualifications are listed as the second 

or subsequent individual on the license of a corporation, 

partnership, or business with a trade name under Paragraphs (a) 

or (c) of this Rule is seventy-five dollars ($75.00). 

(e)  The annual license fee for a Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor and a Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor license by 

this Board is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(f)  The annual license fee for a Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(g)  The annual license fee for a Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(h)  The annual license fee for a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(i)  The annual license fee for all Fuel Piping Technician licenses 

listed with a Class A Gas Dealer is one hundred fifty dollars 

($150.00). 

(j)  The annual license fee for Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping 

Technician licensees listed under a licensed Plumbing, Heating or 

Fuel Piping Contractor is seventy-five dollars ($75.00). 

(k)  The annual license fee for a Restricted Limited Plumbing 

Contractor is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21; 87-22; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 17, 1989 for a period of 77 

days to expire on February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1994; July 1, 1991; March 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; September 15, 

1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 3, 2012; July 1, 2010; March 1, 

2005; December 1, 2003; December 4, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 50 .1106 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  An individual who wishes to file a petition for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license from the 

Board shall submit a petition in writing at the office of the Board. 

(b)  The petition shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 
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(3) social security number; 

(4) date of birth; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 

days prior to the date of petition by the agency 

designated by the Board; 

(7) written statement describing the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the crime(s); 

(8) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts; 

(9) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments; 

(10) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.2; 

(11) affidavits or other written documents, including 

character references, that the petitioner intends 

to submit for review; 

(12) certification that the this information provided 

is true and complete; 

(13) signature. 

(c)  The fee for a petition for predetermination shall be forty-five 

dollars ($45.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-18; 93B-8.1(b6); 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 54 –PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2006 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  The assessment of overall personality functioning by a 

psychological associate requires supervision. The assessment of 

personality functioning involves any assessment or evaluative 

technique that leads to conclusions, inferences, and hypotheses 

regarding personality functioning. This includes: 

(1) all statements regarding personality attributes, 

features, traits, structure, dynamics, and 

pathology or assets; 

(2) the use of personality assessment techniques 

which include, but are not limited to, 

observation, interviewing and mental status 

examinations; and 

(3) the use of current assessment techniques that, 

based upon evidence and research available to 

the psychologist, have evidence of reliability 

and validity. 

Not requiring supervision are screening techniques that lead to 

basic descriptors of persons that may be completed by a variety of 

professional and non-professional observers and are interpreted 

by other parties. 

(b)  Psychotherapy, counseling, and any other interventions with 

a clinical population for the purpose of preventing or eliminating 

symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior provided by a 

psychological associate require supervision. Clinical populations 

include persons with discernible mental, behavioral, emotional, 

psychological, or psychiatric disorders as evidenced by an 

established diagnostic classification system in the current 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders or 

International Classification of Diseases and all persons meeting 

the criteria for such diagnoses. Interventions other than 

psychotherapy and counseling that are encompassed by this 

definition include psychological assessment, psychoanalysis, 

behavior analysis/therapy, biofeedback, and hypnosis. 

Supervision is required when the psychological associate is 

providing an intervention to persons within a clinical population, 

directly with the person(s) or in consultation with a third party, 

for the purpose of preventing or eliminating symptomatic, 

maladaptive, or undesired behavior. Supervision is required for 

the design or clinical oversight of interventions for persons within 

a clinical population, such as biofeedback techniques and 

behavior intervention programs; however, supervision is not 

required for the actual implementation of such interventions that 

were designed for others to implement, which may or may not 

constitute ancillary services. 

(c)  The use, including authorization, of intrusive, punitive, or 

experimental procedures, techniques, or measures by a 

psychological associate requires supervision. These procedures, 

techniques, or measures include, but are not limited to, seclusion, 

physical restraint, the use of protective devices for behavioral 

control, isolation time-out, and any utilization of punishment 

techniques involving aversive stimulation. Also included in this 

definition are any other techniques that are physically intrusive, 

are restrictive of human rights or freedom of movement, place the 

client at risk for injury, or are experimental in nature (i.e., in which 

the efficacy and degree of risk have not previously been clinically 

established). 

(d)  Supervision is required for a psychological associate who 

provides clinical supervision to other service providers who are 

engaged in activities which would require supervision if directly 

provided by the psychological associate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(e); 90-270.9; 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2008 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE  

(a)  A Psychological Associate practicing psychology in North 

Carolina shall receive supervision for activities specified in G.S. 

90-270.5(e) and Rule .2006 of this Section. 

(b)  A Psychological Associate whose professional practice is 

limited to those activities other than those specified in G.S. 90-

270.5(e) and Rule .2006 of this Section as requiring supervision 

shall not be required to receive supervision. 

(c)  A Psychological Associate who is a regular salaried employee 

of the State Department of Public Instruction or a local board of 

education, and whose professional activities are limited only to 

those for which he or she is employed by that agency, shall not be 

required to receive supervision. This exemption shall not apply to 

individuals who contract with the Department of Public 

Instruction or local boards of education for the delivery of 

psychological services which otherwise require supervision in the 

schools. 

(d)  A Psychological Associate who engages in the practice of 

psychology in a jurisdiction other than North Carolina shall not 

be required to receive supervision as set forth in this Rule for those 

services rendered in another jurisdiction so long as said services 
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in another jurisdiction are rendered in a manner consistent with 

that jurisdiction's legal requirements. 

(e)  A written, notarized supervision contract form shall be filed 

within 30 days of a change in the conditions specified in the 

supervision contract form on file with the Board and within 30 

days after receiving written notification from the Board that the 

filing of a new form is necessary to provide for the protection of 

the public or the regulation of the practice of psychology. A 

supervision contract form shall document either that supervision 

is required and shall be received, or that supervision is not 

required. A separate supervision contract form shall be filed for 

each separate work setting. A work setting is considered as self-

employment, employment under an umbrella agency, or 

employment at a stand-alone business entity. If receiving 

supervision from more than one supervisor to meet the 

supervision requirements set forth in this Rule, a separate 

supervision contract form shall be filed with each individual 

supervisor. 

(f)  A supervisor shall report to the Board that agreed upon 

supervision has occurred and shall file a final report upon 

termination of supervision. A report shall be submitted to the 

Board by the following time periods: 

(1) within 30 days after receiving written 

notification from the Board that such is due; 

(2) within 2 weeks of termination of supervision; 

and, 

(3) within 2 weeks of a change in the conditions 

specified in the supervision contract form on 

file with the Board. 

If not receiving supervision, it shall be the responsibility of the 

Psychological Associate to report such to the Board. 

(g)  Additional supervision and reporting to the Board shall be 

required in cases where the Board determines by reviewing 

previous supervision reports or other information (e.g. reference 

letters, ethical complaints, etc.) problems in the supervisee's 

failure to practice in accordance with G.S. 90-270.15(a). 

Additional documentation or an interview with the Board or its 

designated representative(s) may be required when questions arise 

regarding the supervisee's practice due to information supplied or 

omitted on supervision contract forms and reports or when 

required forms are not filed with the Board. 

(h)  Supervision shall be provided in individual, face-to-face 

supervision, as defined by Rule .2003 of this Section, sessions 

which shall last no longer than 2 hours or less than 30 minutes by 

an individual who is an appropriate supervisor as defined in Rule 

.2001 of this Section. The rates of supervision specified in this 

Paragraph shall be provided for each separate work setting in 

which the Psychological Associate engages in the activities 

requiring supervision. Minimum hours of supervision required for 

each work setting shall not be split between more than two 

supervisors. The term "post-licensure" in this Paragraph shall 

refer to the period following issuance of a Psychological 

Associate license by the North Carolina Psychology Board. The 

term "supervised practice" in this Paragraph shall refer to 

activities requiring supervision as specified in G.S. 90-270.5(e) 

and Rule .2006 of this Section. Except as provided in Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule, minimum supervision requirements shall be as 

follows: 

 

(1) Level 1. For a Psychological Associate with less than 3 calendar years consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice, minimum supervision shall be provided as follows: 

 

No. of hours per month   No. of hours of required 

engaging in activities   individual supervision 

that require supervision   per month 

1 - 10     1 

11 - 20     2 

21 - 30     3 

31 plus     4 

 

(2) Level 2. If a Psychological Associate does not 

meet the pass point of a scaled score of 500 as 

set forth in Rule .1901(a)(1) of this Chapter, 

then, after receiving a minimum of 3 calendar 

years consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice a minimum of one 

hour per month individual supervision, the 

Psychological Associate who engages in 

activities requiring supervision, shall receive 

one hour of supervision per month, regardless 

of the number of hours per month engaging in 

activities that require supervision. To be 

approved by the Board for Level 2 supervision, 

a Psychological Associate shall: 

(A) make application on an application 

form provided by the Board, which 

shall include the following 

information: 

(i) legal name; 

(ii) license number; 

(iii) license date; 

(iv) email address; 

(v) mailing address; 

(vi) telephone number; 

(vii) dates of practicing 

psychology; 

(viii) total hours of practicing 

psychology; 

(ix) job title; 

(x) work duties; and 

(xi) name and address of 

supervisor. 

(B) document that all performance ratings 

for the preceding 3 years and 4500 

hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice have been average or above 
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average as reported on previous 

supervision reports; 

(C) have received at least one calendar 

year of supervision from the most 

recent supervisor; and 

(D) have the recommendation of the most 

recent supervisor for this level of 

supervision. 

(3) Level 3. After a minimum of 3 calendar years 

consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice, as set forth above 

in Paragraph (h)(1) of this Rule, or 5 calendar 

years of post licensure supervised experience, 

as set forth in Paragraph (h)(2) of this Rule if a 

psychological associate does not meet the scale 

score of 500, a minimum of one hour every 

three months of individual supervision shall be 

provided to a Psychological Associate who 

engages in activities requiring supervision, 

provided that a Psychological Associate shall: 

(A) make application on an application 

form provided by the Board, which 

shall include the information set forth 

in Part (h)(2)(A) of this Rule; 

(B) document that all performance ratings 

for the preceding 3 years and 4500 

hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice have been average or above 

average for those applying under 

Subparagraph (h)(1) of this Rule; or 5 

years of post-licensure supervised 

practice for those required to apply 

under Subparagraph (h)(2) of this 

Rule; 

(C) have received at least one calendar 

year of supervision from the most 

recent supervisor; and 

(D) have the recommendation of the most 

recent supervisor for this level of 

supervision. 

(i)  The frequency and scope of supervision may, at the discretion 

of the supervising psychologist, be modified provided that the 

minimum rate of supervision as defined in Subparagraph (h)(1), 

(h)(2) or (h)(3) of this Rule is provided. The supervising 

psychologist of record may review, approve, and monitor 

additional individual or group supervision to be provided to the 

supervisee by a licensed psychological associate, licensed 

psychologist holding a permanent or provisional license, or a 

professional from a related discipline. Such supervision shall not 

substitute for the minimum requirements specified in 

Subparagraph (h)(1), (h)(2) or (h)(3) of this Rule. 

(j)  Contract, report and application forms can be obtained from 

the Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.4(c); 90-270.5(e); 90-

270.9; 

Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR 

TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND APPRAISER 

LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Applicants for trainee registration, licensure as a licensed 

residential real estate appraiser, and for certification as a certified 

real estate appraiser shall satisfy the qualification requirements set 

forth in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions and can be found 

at www.appraisalfoundation.org at no cost.  

(b)  Applicants for licensure or certification who are currently 

registered trainees shall submit a copy of their complete appraisal 

log in accordance with Rule .0407(c) of this Subchapter. 

Applicants for certification who are currently licensed or certified 

appraisers shall submit an appraisal log showing that they possess 

the amount and length of experience as set forth in the Real 

Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The 

Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. All 

applicants for licensure or certification shall provide to the Board 

copies of appraisal reports and work files in order for an appraisal 

to be given experience credit. 

(c)  When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes a 

certified real estate appraiser, his or her previous registration or 

licensure shall be canceled by the Board. When a certified 

residential real estate appraiser becomes certified as a general real 

estate appraiser, his or her previous certification shall be canceled 

by the Board. 

(d)  In the event that the Board requests that an applicant submit 

updated information or provide further information that the Board 

determines is necessary in order for the applicant to complete the 

application and the applicant fails to submit the requested 

information within 90 days following the Board's request, the 

Board shall defer the applicant's application until the applicant 

requests a hearing. An applicant whose application has been 

deferred and does not request a hearing and who wishes to obtain 

a registration, license, or certificate shall start the licensing 

process over by filing a complete application with the Board and 

paying all required fees, as set forth in G.S. 93E-1-6. 

(e)  If an applicant has an open complaint before the North 

Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing board from 

any other state, the application shall be accepted but no further 

action shall be taken on the application until the complaint is 

resolved. If the applicant has any pending criminal charges in this 

or any state, they shall be reviewed as set forth in G.S. 93B-8.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10; 93B-8.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; 

September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; April 1, 

2006, July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020; May 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 57A .0210 TEMPORARY PRACTICE 

(a)  A real estate appraiser who does not reside in North Carolina 

and who is licensed or certified by the appraiser licensing or 

certifying agency in another state may apply to receive temporary 

appraiser licensing or certification privileges in this State by filing 

an application with the Board. The application is available on the 

Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. The application 

shall include: 

(1) the applicant's name, address, phone number, 

email, date of birth, social security number, 

driver's license number; 

(2) license or certification number currently held in 

another state; 

(3) whether the applicant has had any disciplinary 

actions taken against them in connection with 

any appraiser, real estate, or other professional 

license held; 

(4) whether the applicant has ever been convicted 

of any criminal offense or has any criminal 

charges pending; 

(5) the projected beginning and ending date; 

(6) a legal description of the subject properties and 

state the purpose of the appraisal assignment; 

and 

(7) the signature of the applicant. 

(b)  Upon filing a completed application accompanied by the fee 

prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-9(c), the Board shall consider whether 

an applicant's appraiser license or certification is or has been 

subject to discipline in their resident state or any other state, and 

shall consider all other information outlined in Rule .0202 of this 

Section, in determining whether to approve an application. If the 

application is approved, an applicant shall be granted a temporary 

practice permit by the Board authorizing the applicant to perform 

in this State the appraisal assignment described in the application, 

provided that the Board determines the length of time projected 

by the applicant for completion of the assignment is reasonable 

given the scope and complexity of the assignment.  

(c)  Privileges granted under the provisions of this Rule shall 

expire upon the expiration date set forth in the temporary practice 

permit. If additional time is needed to complete the appraisal 

assignment, the permittee may request an extension of the 

temporary practice permit. The request shall be submitted and 

received by the Board prior to the expiration of the original 

practice permit, shall be in writing, and shall include the 

following: 

(1) temporary practice permit number; 

(2) the amount of additional time needed to 

complete the assignment; and 

(3) the reason the extension is necessary. 

Upon receipt of the request, the Board shall extend the temporary 

practice privileges if it determines that additional time is needed 

to complete the assignment. 

An applicant for a temporary practice permit shall not begin 

performing any appraisal work in this State until the temporary 

practice permit has been issued by the Board. The Board shall 

deny an applicant who begins work before the permit is issued. 

(d)  Persons granted temporary practice privileges under this Rule 

shall only advertise or otherwise hold themselves out as being a 

North Carolina licensed or certified appraiser for the assignment 

for which they received the temporary practice permit. Any 

appraisal report for an appraisal of property located in North 

Carolina shall contain a copy of the temporary practice number 

for that assignment. 

(e)  A trainee shall not apply for a temporary practice permit. The 

term "trainee" shall include apprentices and others who are 

licensed and regulated by a state agency to perform real estate 

appraisals under the supervision of a certified appraiser. If a 

trainee does enter the State to inspect a property located in this 

State, the trainee shall be accompanied by the trainee's 

supervising appraiser. The trainee's supervisor shall be a North 

Carolina certified real estate appraiser. If not, the supervising 

appraiser shall be certified as a real estate appraiser in another 

state and shall receive a temporary practice permit for the 

assignment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-9; 93E-1-10; 12 U.S.C. 

3351(a); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 

1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0211 APPLICANTS LICENSED OR 

CERTIFIED IN ANOTHER STATE 

(a)  Applicants for licensure or certification who are not licensed 

or certified in North Carolina but are licensed or certified in 

another State shall file an application as stated in Rule .0101 of 

this Subchapter. The application may be found on the Board's 

website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. The application requires:  

(1) the applicant's name and contact information; 

(2) the applicant's education background; 

(3) the applicant's prior disciplinary and criminal 

history; and 

(4) a sworn statement that the information in the 

application is correct. 

Applicants who do not reside in North Carolina, shall consent to 

service of process in this State and file an affidavit of residency 

with the application. If the applicant is not active on the Appraisal 

Subcommittee's National Registry, the applicant shall file with the 

application a letter of good standing from the appraiser licensing 

board of any state where the applicant is licensed or certified no 

later than 30 days prior to the date application is made in this 

State. 

(b)  Applicants for licensure or certification shall obtain a criminal 

records check that complies with the requirements of G.S. 93E-1-

6(c1).  

(c)  An appraiser whose license or certification is suspended in 

North Carolina shall not apply for licensure or certification in this 

State under this Rule while the license or certification is 

suspended. An appraiser whose license or certification was 

revoked in North Carolina shall not apply for licensure or 

certification in this State under this Rule for five years after the 

date of revocation. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c1); 93E-1-9 ; 93E-1-

10; 93E-1-12(c); 

Eff. March 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; 

January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE 

(a)  Applicants who have completed the education and experience 

requirements for licensure or certification as set forth in G.S. 93E-

1-6 shall be issued an examination approval form by the Board. 

The examination approval form is valid for five attempts at the 

examination or for one year from date of issuance, whichever 

comes first. 

(b)  As set forth in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 

Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, examination results are valid for 24 months 

from the date the examination is completed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; 

January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND 

PASSING SCORES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; September 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0306 EXAMINATION REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0404 CHANGE OF NAME OR 

ADDRESS 

All trainees, licensees, and certificate holders shall notify the 

Board in writing of each change of business address, residence 

address, or name change within 10 days of the change. The 

trainee, licensee, or certificate holder shall submit the Request for 

Reissuance of Appraiser Wall Certificate and Pocket Card Due to 

Name Change form. The form shall be accompanied by the fee 

prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-7(d). The form may be found on the 

Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org, and shall include 

the following information: 

(1) licensee's previous name; 

(2) licensee's new name; 

(3) the date the name was legally changed; 

(4) signature, date, and license number; and 

(5) the legal documentation showing the name 

change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered 

trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, 

provided that the appraiser: 

(1) has been certified for at least three years; 

(2) has the number of trainees working under him 

or her at any one time as follows: 

(A) a certified residential appraiser may 

have two trainees working under his or 

her supervision at any one time. Once 

at least one of those trainees has 

completed 50 percent of the required 

appraisal experience as set forth in 

G.S. 93E-1-6, a certified residential 

appraiser may add another trainee; and 

(B) a certified general appraiser may have 

three trainees working under his or her 

supervision. 

(3) prior to the date any trainee begins performing 

appraisals under his or her supervision, the 

supervisor shall inform the Board of the name 

of the trainee by filing a Supervisor Declaration 

Form with the Board. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. The supervisor 

shall also inform the Board when a trainee is no 

longer working under his or her supervision by 

using the Supervisor Declaration Form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) the name and registration number of 

trainee; 

(B) the name and certification number of 

supervisor; 

(C) the date the trainee completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(D) the date the supervisor completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(E) whether the supervisor has had any 

disciplinary action within the past 

three years or pending complaints 

against his or her certification; and 
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(F) the signature of both the supervisor 

and trainee (only required for 

association). 

(4) actively and personally supervises the trainee 

on all appraisal reports and appraisal related 

activities until the trainee is no longer under his 

or her supervision; 

(5) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 

data used in connection with appraisals in 

which the services of a trainee is utilized, and 

assures that research of general and specific 

data has been conducted and reported, 

application of appraisal principles and 

methodologies has been applied, and that any 

analysis, opinions, or conclusions are 

developed and reported so that the appraisal 

report is not misleading; 

(6) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of 

this Section regarding appraisal reports; 

(7) reviews and signs the trainee's log of appraisals 

prepared in accordance with Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule. The supervisor shall make available 

to the trainee a copy of every appraisal report 

where the trainee performs more than 75 

percent of the work on the appraisal; and 

(8) has not received any disciplinary action against 

his or her appraisal certificate from the State of 

North Carolina or any other state within the 

previous three years. For the purposes of this 

Subparagraph, "disciplinary action" means an 

active suspension, a downgrade of a credential, 

a revocation, or any other action that restricts a 

supervisor's ability to engage in appraisal 

practice. 

(b)  "Active and personal supervision" includes direction, 

guidance, and support from the supervisor. The supervising 

appraiser shall have input into and knowledge of the appraisal 

report prior to its completion, and shall make any changes to the 

report before it is transmitted to the client. In addition, the 

supervisor shall accompany the trainee on the inspections of the 

subject property on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 

1500 hours of experience, whichever comes first, for which the 

trainee will perform more than 75 percent of the work. After that 

point, the trainee may perform the inspections without the 

presence of the supervisor provided that the supervisor is satisfied 

that the trainee is competent to perform those inspections, and that 

the subject property is less than 50 miles from the supervisor's 

primary business location. The supervisor shall accompany the 

trainee on all inspections of subject properties that are located 

more than 50 miles from the supervisor's primary business 

location. 

(c)  An appraisal experience log shall be maintained jointly by the 

supervisor and the trainee. Both the supervisor and the trainee are 

responsible for maintaining the experience log and ensuring that 

it is accurate, current, and includes the following: 

(1) the type of property appraised; 

(2) the type of appraisal performed; 

(3) the date the report was signed; 

(4) the complete street address of appraised 

property; 

(5) a description of the work performed by the 

trainee; 

(6) the scope of review and supervision of the 

supervisor, including whether the supervisor 

accompanied the trainee on the inspection of 

the subject property; 

(7) the number of actual work hours by the trainee 

on the assignment; and 

(8) the signature and state certification number of 

the supervisor. 

The log shall be updated at least every 30 days. A separate log 

shall be maintained for each supervising appraiser. A log form is 

available on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(d)  An appraiser shall attend an education program regarding the 

role of a supervisor before any supervision of a trainee. This 

course shall be taught only by instructors approved by the Board 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. 

(e)  Trainees shall ensure that the Appraisal Board has received 

the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day the trainee 

begins assisting the supervising appraiser by contacting the Board 

by telephone or email at ncab@ncab.org. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. Trainees 

shall not receive appraisal experience credit for appraisals 

performed in violation of this Paragraph. 

(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or 

by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a 

controlling interest. 

(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides assistance in 

the appraisal process and is noted in the report as having provided 

assistance, the appraiser signing the report shall have notified the 

Appraisal Board before the appraisal is signed that he or she is the 

supervisor for the trainee. If more than one appraiser signs the 

report, the appraiser with the highest level of credential shall be 

the declared supervisor for the trainee. If all appraisers signing the 

report have the same level of credential, at least one of them shall 

be declared as the trainee's supervisor before the report is signed. 

(h)  Only one trainee may receive credit for providing real 

property appraisal assistance on an appraisal report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6.1; 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; 

July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 

2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0410 APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANIES 

An appraiser who performs an appraisal for an appraisal 

management company (AMC) shall verify that the company is 

registered with the North Carolina Appraisal Board pursuant to 

G.S. 93E-2-4, unless the AMC is exempt from registration 

pursuant to G.S. 93E -2-2, before accepting the assignment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-1; 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4(a); 
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Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0601 EXPERIENCE CREDIT TO 

UPGRADE 

Applicants for licensure or certification shall meet the Real 

Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The 

Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. An 

applicant shall obtain the required experience by performing or 

reviewing appraisals using appraisal methods and processes that 

are employed by real estate appraisers and shall comply with the 

edition of the USPAP in effect at the time of the appraisal, in 

addition to meeting the applicable requirements set forth in this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0101 REGISTERED TRAINEE 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall meet the Real 

Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The 

Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board.  

(b)  The Board shall approve all course sponsors, schools, and 

course content that qualify for credit. These courses shall be 

completed within the five-year period immediately preceding the 

date when application for registration is made to the Board by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures shall 

be a prerequisite to taking the 15 hour USPAP course. 

(d)  These courses shall be obtained in a classroom setting. No 

credit shall be given for these courses taken by any other method, 

such as correspondence school courses or online courses. 

(e)  Before the application may be granted by the Board, the 

applicant shall complete the supervisor course developed by the 

North Carolina Appraisal Board as set forth in 21 NCAC 57A 

.0407(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-

10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; 

September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; 

August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0102 LICENSED RESIDENTIAL AND 

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL 

ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-

6(c); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; 

July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 

2007; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 21, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0302 COURSE CONTENT 

(a)  All courses shall consist of instruction in the subject areas 

outlined in the Appraiser Qualification Board's Guide Note 1. 

Guide Note 1 may be accessed at the Appraisal Foundation 

website at www.appraisalfoundation.org. 

(b)  Partial credit shall be awarded when only part of the course 

covers the subject areas outlined in Appraiser Qualification 

Board's Guide Note 1. 

(c)  On or before the first class meeting day of the Basic Appraisal 

Principles course, the instructor shall give to each student a 

handout prepared by the Board regarding the trainee registration 

process and the process to upgrade to a licensed or certified 

appraiser. The student handout may be accessed on the Board's 

website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; 

July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; September 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0304 COURSE SCHEDULING 

(a)  All courses shall have fixed beginning and ending dates, and 

schools and course sponsors shall not utilize a scheduling system 

that allows students to enroll late for a course and then complete 

their course work in a subsequently scheduled course. Late 

enrollment shall be permitted only if the enrolling student satisfies 

the attendance requirements set forth in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of 

Rule .0303 of this Section. 

(b)  Courses shall be scheduled in a manner that provides for class 

meetings of up to eight classroom hours in any given day. 

(c)  A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of classroom 

instruction. Classroom breaks at the rate of 10 minutes per 

classroom hour shall be scheduled; however, instructors shall not 

use accumulated, unused break time to end the class early. 

(d)  Instruction shall be given for the minimum hours as set forth 

in G.S. 93E-1-6. 

(e)  All courses, except those taught online via the Internet, shall 

have a minimum of five students enrolled in order for the course 

to be held. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; July 1, 

2005; August 1, 2002; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except for guest lecturers as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, all courses that qualify for credit pursuant to this Section 

shall be taught by instructors who meet the following minimum 

qualifications: 

(1) for residential appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have two years' full-time experience, 

consisting of 1500 hours per year, as a 

certified residential or general real 

estate appraiser within the previous 

five years, with at least one-half of the 

experience in residential property 

appraising; and 

(B) be a current certified residential or 

general real estate appraiser. 

(2) for general appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have three years' full-time experience 

as a general real estate appraiser 

within the previous five years, with at 

least one-half of the experience in 

income property appraising; and 

(B) currently be and has been a certified 

general real estate appraiser for at least 

five years. 

(3) for USPAP courses, the instructor shall: 

(A) currently be a certified residential or a 

certified general appraiser; and 

(B) be certified by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation as an instructor for the 

National USPAP Course. If a USPAP 

instructor fails to renew or loses his or 

her certification by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, the instructor 

shall stop teaching and notify the 

Appraisal Board of the loss of 

certification. 

(4) for statistics, modeling and finance courses, the 

instructor shall: 

(A) have previously completed this class; 

or 

(B) have completed 3 semester hours of 

statistics from a regionally accredited 

college or university. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications set forth 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may teach collectively up to one-

fourth of any course, if each guest lecturer possesses education 

and experience in the subject area about which the lecturer is 

teaching. 

(c)  Instructors shall conduct their classes in a manner that 

demonstrates knowledge of the subject matter being taught and 

mastery of the following teaching skills: 

(1) The ability to utilize illustrative examples, and 

to respond to questions from students; 

(2) The ability to utilize varied instructive 

techniques other than straight lecture, such as 

class discussion; 

(3) The ability to utilize instructional aids to 

enhance learning; 

(4) The ability to maintain a learning environment 

and control of a class; and 

(6) The ability to interact with students in a 

professional and non-discriminatory manner. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 

instructor shall submit to the Board a recording that depicts the 

instructor teaching portions of a qualifying course, in order to 

ensure that all requirements of this Rule are being met.  

(e)  The inquiry into determining whether to approve an instructor 

shall include consideration of whether the instructor has ever had 

any disciplinary action taken or has a disciplinary action pending 

against his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other 

professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any other 

state. If the instructor has any pending criminal charges in this or 

any state, they shall be reviewed as set forth in G.S. 93B-8.1 in 

determining whether to approve the instructor. An instructor shall 

not have received any disciplinary action against his or her 

appraisal license or certificate from the State of North Carolina or 

any other state within the previous two years. For the purposes of 

this Section, disciplinary action means a reprimand, suspension 

(whether active or inactive), or a revocation. 

(f)  Proposed qualifying course instructors who do not meet the 

minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications listed 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their 

qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the 

qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall supply the 

Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other evidence 

of experience. 

(g)  Persons desiring to become instructors for qualifying courses 

shall file an instructor application for qualifying education and be 

approved by the Board. There is no fee for application for 

instructor approval. Once an instructor has been approved to teach 

a specific qualifying course, that person may teach the course at 

any school or for any course sponsor approved by the Appraisal 

Board to offer qualifying courses. The instructor application form 

shall include the following information: 

(1) the instructor's name, address, phone number, 

and email address; 

(2) a list of course provider(s) the instructor will be 

teaching for; 

(3) the programs the instructor is seeking approval 

for; 

(4) the instructor's licensing/certification history; 

(5) whether the instructor has ever been denied a 

trainee registration, or appraiser license, or 

certificate in NC or any other state; 

(6) whether the instructor has any disciplinary 

action taken against a trainee registration, 

appraiser license or certificate in NC or any 

other state; 

(7) whether the instructor has had any disciplinary 

action within the past three years or pending 
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complaints or charges pending against any 

professional license in this State; 

(8) the instructor's college education, appraisal 

education, appraisal experience, and 

description of work experience; and 

(9) the signature of applicant. 

(h)  Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to 

teach qualifying courses during their term of office on the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 

1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020; May 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0307 CRITERIA FOR COURSE 

RECOGNITION 

(a)  Schools and course sponsors seeking to offer appraiser 

qualifying courses shall make written application to the Board and 

pay applicable fees as required by G.S. 93E-1-8(b). The 

application may be accessed at the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. This application shall include: 

(1) the name of school, mailing address, and phone 

number; 

(2) the name and email address of the school owner 

and contact person; 

(3) the name of the school's Director pursuant to 

Rule .0207 of this Subchapter; 

(4) whether the school owner(s), Director, or any 

proposed instructor have had any criminal 

convictions or had any disciplinary action taken 

against a professional license; 

(5) whether the classroom facilities meet the 

minimum requirements in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter; 

(6) the courses they are seeking approval for; 

(7) the proposed instructors for the courses; and 

(8) the applicant's signature. 

(b)  Appraisal subject matter electives offered for credit pursuant 

to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board shall meet all other requirements of this 

Chapter. The content of these electives shall be related to the 

appraisal of real property to be approved for credit. Appraisal 

subject matter elective courses shall contain a minimum of 15 

hours. 

(c)  The 15 hour USPAP course shall be the 15-hour National 

USPAP Course as approved by the Appraiser Qualifications 

Board of the Appraisal Foundation. 

(d)  The application shall state the name of the instructor for each 

course. All instructors shall be approved by the Board pursuant to 

Rule .0306 of this Section. After the course is approved, if a 

school or course sponsor wishes to change instructors, the school 

shall notify the Board of the name of the new instructor at least 

seven calendar days before the proposed change would take 

effect. If the proposed instructor is not currently approved in 

accordance with Rule .0306 of this Section, the instructor shall be 

approved by the Board before the school or course sponsor may 

allow the instructor to start instructing. 

(e)  Course sponsors may offer all qualifying classes other than 

Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures, and the 

15 hour USPAP course online. The Board shall be provided 

access to the course online and shall not be charged any fee for 

such access. To be approved for credit, an online qualifying 

education course shall meet all of the conditions imposed by the 

Rules in this Subchapter. The course shall be interactive, 

permitting the participant to communicate, via telephone, 

electronic mail, or a website bulletin board, with the presenter and 

other participants. The sponsor of an online course shall have a 

method for recording and verifying attendance. A participant may 

periodically log on and off of an online course provided the total 

time spent participating in the course is equal to or exceeds the 

credit hours assigned to the program. The course design and 

delivery mechanism for an online course shall have received 

approval from the International Distance Education Certification 

Center (IDECC). Information about the IDECC may be found on 

their website at www.idecc.org. A course completion certificate 

shall be forwarded to the student as stated in Rule .0607 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 

January 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

Course sponsors shall maintain compliance with Rule .0603 of 

this Section and shall also comply with the following 

requirements: 

(1) Courses shall last a maximum of eight 

classroom hours in any day. A classroom hour 

shall consist of 50 minutes of classroom 

instruction and ten minutes of break time.  

(2) Course sponsors shall not utilize advertising of 

any type that is false or misleading about the 

course content, number of hours of credit that 

have been awarded by the Board, or credentials 

of instructor. Sponsors shall specify the number 

of continuing education credit hours awarded 

by the Board for the course. 

(3) Course sponsors shall, upon request, provide 

any prospective student a description of the 

course content regarding the instruction to be 

provided in the course. 

(4) Courses shall be conducted in a facility that 

meets the following requirements: 

(a) contains a student chair, desk or 

worktable space for each student; 

(b) is free of noise or visual distractions 

that disrupt class sessions; and 
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(c) complies with all applicable local, 

state and federal laws and regulations 

regarding safety, health, and 

sanitation.  

(d) Classes shall not be held in a personal 

residence  

(5) The course sponsor shall require students to 

attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours in order to complete the 

course, even if the number of continuing 

education credit hours awarded by the Board 

for the course is less than the number of 

scheduled classroom hours. Attendance shall be 

monitored during all class sessions to ensure 

compliance with the attendance requirement. 

Instruction shall be given for the number of 

hours for which credit is given. Instructors shall 

not accumulate unused break time to end the 

class early. 

(6) Instructors shall require student attentiveness 

during class sessions. Students shall not be 

permitted to engage in activities that are not 

related to the instruction being provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee is 

required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of this 

Section shall administer course cancellation 

and fee refund policies. In the event a scheduled 

course is canceled, efforts shall be made to 

notify preregistered students of the cancellation 

and all prepaid fees received from such 

preregistered students shall be refunded within 

30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the 

student's permission, applied toward the fees 

for another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, in order to ensure 

compliance with the requirements of this Rule, 

the course sponsor shall submit to the Board a 

recording that depicts the instructor teaching 

portions of any continuing education course. 

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board in 

writing or via an electronic link to the sponsors' 

website with the dates and locations of all 

classes the sponsor is offering in North Carolina 

at least 10 calendar days before the class is 

offered, unless circumstances beyond the 

control of the course sponsor require that the 

course be rescheduled, such as a weather 

emergency. If the dates or location of the 

classes change after such information is 

provided to the Board, the course sponsor shall 

notify the Board of such changes within five 

days of the rescheduled date in writing or via an 

electronic link. 

(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student with 

contact information for the Appraisal Board. 

(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action taken 

on his or her appraisal license or any other 

professional license in North Carolina or any 

other state, or if the instructor has been 

convicted of or pled guilty to any misdemeanor 

or felony, the school or course sponsor shall 

report that fact to the Board within 15 business 

days. 

(12) All courses, except those taught online, shall 

have a minimum number of five students 

enrolled in the course in order for the course to 

take place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0613 PAYMENT OF FEE REQUIRED 

BY G.S. 93E-1-7(B1) 

Schools and course sponsors who are required by G.S. 93E-1-

7(b1) to pay a fee to the Board for each licensee completing an 

approved continuing education course conducted by the school or 

course sponsor shall remit the fee to the Board upon uploading the 

course roster online. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-7; 93E-1-10; 

Eff. September 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive pubic interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0614 INSTRUCTORS FOR THE 

TRAINEE/SUPERVISOR COURSE REQUIRED BY G.S. 

93E-1-6.1 

(a)  Instructors for the trainee supervision course set forth in G.S. 

93E-1-6.1 shall be real estate appraisers who have been certified 

residential or certified general appraisers for at least three years. 

(b)  Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action 

regarding their appraisal certificate from the State of North 

Carolina or any other state within the previous three years. In 

addition, instructors shall not have been convicted of or pleaded 

guilty to any criminal act. "Criminal act" shall not include traffic 

infractions. 

(c)  All applicants for instructor of the trainee supervision course 

shall obtain a criminal records check. This records check shall 

have been performed within 60 days of the date the completed 

application for approval as an instructor is received by the Board. 

Applicants shall pay the vendor directly for the cost of these 

reports. The records check shall comply with the provisions of 21 

NCAC 57A .0202(e). 

(d)  Persons who wish to teach the trainee supervision course shall 

be approved by the Board before they may teach this course. 

Approval of a trainee supervision course instructor authorizes the 

instructor to teach the course for any approved course sponsor. 

(e)  Applicants who wish to become instructors for the trainee 

supervision course shall attend an educational workshop 

sponsored by the Board or complete the trainee supervision course 

with another approved sponsor, before they may be approved. 

Applicants may check the Board's website for information 
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regarding the date and location of the workshop. The website may 

be accessed at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(f)  Approval of trainee supervision course instructors expires on 

the next December 31 following the date of approval. 

Applications for renewal of Board approval, shall be filed with 

the Board annually on or before December 1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6.1; 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-

10; 

Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57C .0101 FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND 

OTHER PLEADINGS 

(a)  Complaints shall be in writing and contain the following 

information:  

(1) name of the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal 

management company;  

(2) name of the complainant;  

(3) physical address and contact information of the 

complainant; and  

(4) the facts that form the basis of the complaint. 

(b)  When a complaint is received by the Board it shall be 

considered an allegation. The Board staff shall review the 

allegation to determine whether it shall be investigated, including 

examination of the appraisal report, if applicable, which shall be 

requested from the appraiser, and if based on this information 

there appears to be no violations of USPAP or any of the Board 

rules or statutes, then the allegations shall not be further 

investigated and will be dismissed. A three-panel committee of 

the Board shall review this decision. 

(c)  If the three-panel committee determine that further 

investigation is required, then a formal complaint shall be opened, 

and the Board staff shall request a response and the entire workfile 

from the appraiser and shall proceed to investigate the matter. 

(d)  After the review as set forth above, when the Board staff 

investigates a complaint, the scope of the investigation shall not 

be limited to the persons or transactions described or alleged in 

the complaint. 

(e)  Complainants are not parties to contested cases heard by the 

Board, but may be witnesses in the cases. 

(f)  There is no specific form required for answers, motions, or 

other pleadings submitted prior to the hearing relating to contested 

cases before the Board, except they shall be in writing. The 

document shall identify the file number and state the matters it 

alleges, answers, or requests. Motions may be made on the record 

during the course of the hearing before the Board. 

(g)  After the review as set forth above, during the course of an 

investigation of a complaint, the Board, through its legal counsel 

or staff, may send a trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management 

company one or more letters of inquiry requesting a response from 

the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management company. The 

initial letter of inquiry, or attachments thereto, shall set forth the 

subject matter being investigated. Upon receipt of a letter of 

inquiry, the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management company 

shall respond within 30 calendar days. The response shall include 

copies of all documents requested in a letter of inquiry. 

(h)  Hearings in contested cases before the Board shall be 

governed by the provisions of Article 3A of Chapter 150B of the 

General Statutes. 

(i)  A complaint shall not be accepted if the applicable time period 

for retention of the work file for that appraisal assignment 

pursuant to the Recordkeeping Rule of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice has expired. This Section does not 

apply to complaints involving the actions outlined in G.S. 93E-1-

12(b)(1),(2),(4), and (5). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12; 93E-2-3; 

93E-2-8; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; July 1, 2003; August 

1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0101 FORM 

An appraisal management company that wishes to file an 

application for an appraisal management company certificate of 

registration may obtain the required form upon request to the 

Board or on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

The appraisal management company shall submit the following 

information:  

(1) the legal name of the applicant; 

(2) the name under which the applicant will do 

business in North Carolina; 

(3) the type of business entity; 

(4) the address of its principal office; 

(5) the applicant's NC Secretary of State 

Identification Number if required to be 

registered with the Office of the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(6) a completed application for approval of the 

compliance manager; 

(7) any past criminal conviction of and any pending 

criminal charge against any person or entity that 

owns 10 percent or more of the appraisal 

management company; 

(8) any past revocation, suspension, cancellation, 

or denial of an appraisal license of any person 

or entity that owns any part, directly or 

indirectly, of the appraisal management 

company; 

(9) any disciplinary action taken against the 

applicant, including the effective date of the 

disciplinary action and whether the applicant 

has complied; 

(10) other States where the applicant is registered to 

operate, if applicable; 

(11) applicant's employer identification number 

(EIN); 

(12) if a general partnership, a description of the 

applicant entity, including a copy of its written 

partnership agreement or, if no written 
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agreement exists, a written description of the 

rights and duties of the several partners; 

(13) if a business entity other than a corporation, 

limited liability company, or partnership, a 

description of the organization of the applicant 

entity, including a copy of its organizational 

documents; 

(14) if a foreign business entity, a certificate of 

authority to transact business in North Carolina 

and an executed consent to service of process 

and pleadings; and 

(15) a certification that the applicant has obtained a 

surety bond as required by G.S. 93E-2-4(g). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-4;  

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 18, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 
   June 18, 2020 July 16, 2020 
 August 20, 2020              September 17, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JUNE 18, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Pesticide Board - 02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0102, .0103, .0308, .0310, .0317, .0318, .0402, .0502, .0503, .0504, 

.0505, .0509, .0515, .0516, .0519, .0520, .0522, .0523, .0524, .0525, .0526, .0527, .0529, .0602, .0603, 

.0701, .0702, .0703, .0705, .0707, .0810, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1005, .1006, .1009, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, 

.1107, .1108, .1109, .1111, .1201, .1202, .1302, .1303, .1305, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1404, .1805, .1806, .1901, 

.1902, .1905, .1906, .1907, .1908, .1909, .1913, .1914, .2001, .2002, .2003, .2004, .2201, .2202, .2203 
(Snyder) 

B. Executive Director of the Board of Elections/Temporary Rule – 08 NCAC 01 .0106 (Reeder) 
C. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
D. Department of Insurance - 11 NCAC 12 .0321, .0514 (Snyder) 
E. Auctioneer Licensing Board - 21 NCAC 04B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0302, 

.0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, 

.0701, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815, 

.0816, .0817, .0818, .0819 (Reeder) 
F. Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors - 21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0304, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, 

.0804, .0902, .1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, .1607 (Reeder) 
G. Real Estate Commission - 21 NCAC 58H .0401 (May) 
H.   Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;  
 Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder)  

• Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between April 21, 2020 through May 20, 2020 

• Department of Administration (May) 

• Pesticide Board (Snyder) 

• Medical Care Commission (May) 
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• Department of Health and Human Services (Reeder) 

• Commission for Public Health (May) 

• State Registrar (May) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Crime Victims Compensation Commission (Snyder) 

• Private Protective Services Board (Reeder) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (May) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Snyder) 

• Environmental Management Commission (Snyder) 

• Board of Barber Examiners (Reeder) 

• Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy (May) 

• State Human Resources Commission (Snyder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

V. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VI. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, July 16, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

April 21, 2020 through May 20, 2020 
 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 5B concern purchase procedures including requisitioning (.0100); specifications (.0200); 
procurement authorization and procedures (.0300); rejection of offers (.0500); purchase of used items (.0600); removal 
of certain items from general construction (.0700); inspection and testing (.0900); guarantees and warranties (.1000); 
term contracts (.1100); partial and multiple awards (.1200); waiver of competition (.1400); miscellaneous provisions 
(.1500) exemptions, emergencies and special delegations (.1600); inventories and stores (.1800); and records of the 
division of purchase and contract (.1900). 

Negotiation 
Amend* 

 
01 NCAC 05B .0503 

PESTICIDE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Food and Drug Protection Division of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9L are from the N.C. Pesticide Board and include organizational rules (.0100); registration 
(.0300); samples and submissions (.0400); pesticide licenses (.0500); pesticide and pesticide container disposal 
(.0600); declaration of pests and restrictions on their control (.0700); bulk distribution of pesticides (.0800); aerial 
application of pesticides (.1000); private pesticide applicator certification (.1100); arsenic trioxide (.1200); availability of 
restricted use pesticides (.1300); ground application of pesticides (.1400); worker protection standards for agricultural 
pesticides (.1800); pesticide storage (.1900); chemigation (any process whereby pesticides are applied to land, crops, 
or plants using an irrigation system) (.2000); hearing rules of the North Carolina pesticide board (.2100); and interim 
protection measures for the Carolina heelsplitter mussel (.2200). 

Red-winged Blackbird 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0706 
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MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13B set standards for the licensing of hospitals including supplemental rules for the licensure 
of skilled intermediate, adult care home beds in a hospital (.1900); specialized rehabilitative and rehabilitative services 
(.2000); general information (.3000); procedure (.3100); general requirements (.3200); patients’ bill of rights (.3300); 
supplemental rules for the licensure of critical care hospitals (.3400); grievance and management (.3500); management 
and administration of operations (.3600); medical staff (.3700); nursing services (.3800); medical record services 
(.3900); outpatient services (.4000); emergency services (.4100); special care units (.4200); maternal-neonatal services 
(.4300); respiratory care services (.4400); pharmacy services and medication administration (.4500); surgical and 
anesthesia services (.4600); nutrition and dietetic services (.4700); diagnostic imaging (.4800); laboratory services and 
pathology (.4900); physical rehabilitation services (.5000); infection control (.5100); psychiatric services (.5200); nursing 
and adult care beds (.5300); comprehensive inpatient rehabilitation (.5400); supplemental rules for hospitals providing 
living organ donation transplant services (.5500); physical plant (.6000); general requirements (.6100); and construction 
requirements (.6200).  

Governing Body 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3501 

Required Facility Bylaws, Policies, Rules, and Regulations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3502 

Functions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3503 

General Provisions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3701 

Establishment 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3702 

Appointment 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3703 

Establishment and Categories of Medical Staff Membership 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3704 

Medical Staff Bylaws, Rules, and Regulations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3705 

Organization and Responsibilities of the Medical Staff 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3706 

Medical Orders 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3707 

Medical Staff Responsibilities for Quality Improvement Re... 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 13B .3708 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100); 
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); safety 
requirements for industrial radiography operations (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources 
in the healing arts (.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators 
(.0900); notices, instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200); 
requirements for wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); licenses 
for disposal site access (.1500); and standards for protections against radiation (.1600). 

Payment Due 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 15 .1102 

Radioactive Materials and Accelerator Fee Amounts 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 15 .1106 
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PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41A deal with communicable disease control and include reporting of communicable diseases 
(.0100); control measures for communicable diseases including special control measures (.0200-.0300); immunization 
(.0400); purchase and distribution of vaccine (.0500); special program/project funding (.0600); licensed nursing home 
services (.0700); communicable disease grants and contracts (.0800); and biological agent registry (.0900). 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 
Amend* 

 
10A NCAC 41A .0101 

STATE REGISTRAR 

The rules in Subchapter 41H concern vital records including general provisions (.0100); local registrars, deputy 
registrars, subregistrars (.0200); birth registration (.0300); delayed registration of births (.0400); death registration 
(.0500); certified copies (.0600); fees and refunds (.0700); change of names (.0800); corrections and amendments 
(.0900); new certificates (.1000); legitimations (.1100); removal of graves (.1200); access to records (.1300); and divorce 
and annulment (.1400). 

Registration of Graves Removed 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
10A NCAC 41H .1201 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules 
(.0200). 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09A .0205 

This Commission has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention 
standards for criminal justice personnel (not including sheriffs). The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards 
for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of 
training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-secondary criminal justice education programs 
(.0600). 

Responsibilities of the School Director 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Admission of Trainees 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0203 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09B .0303 

The rules in Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Instructors: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09E .0104 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09E .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
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intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09G .0309 

The rules in Subchapter 9H concern the firearms qualification certification program for qualified retired law enforcement 
officers. 

Minimum Training Specifications 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 09H .0102 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Certification of a Former Sheriff 
Amend* 

 
12 NCAC 10B .0407 

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 concern the crime victims compensation commission (.0300). 

Administration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 09 .0301 

Processing and Payment of Claims 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 09 .0302 

Meetings of the Commission 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 09 .0303 

Contested Cases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 09 .0304 

Awards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 09 .0305 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Determination of Experience 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .0905 

Pre-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .0907 

Post-Delivery Report for Firearms Training Courses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .0908 
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Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1001 

Petition for Hearing/Application for Relief 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1002 

Processing Applications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1003 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1101 

Training and Supervision Required in Level One 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1102 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Two 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1103 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Three 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1104 

Educational Degrees and Non-Degreed Training 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1105 

Consideration of Experience 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1106 

Enforcement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1107 

Transferability of Training Hours 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1108 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1201 

Required Continuing Education Hours 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1202 

Accreditation Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1203 

Non-Resident Licensee Continuing Education Credits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1204 

Recording and Reporting Continuing Education Credits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1205 

Non-Compliance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1206 

Credit for CE Courses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1207 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard R... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1303 

Investigation for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Regis... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1304 

Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration Identifica... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1305 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Car Service Guards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1307 

Uniforms and Equipment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1308 

Minimum Stds/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regi... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1403 

Investigation/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Reg... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1404 

Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration Perm... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1405 
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Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1407 

Uniforms and Equipment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
14B NCAC 16 .1408 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

Application of Erosion Rate Setback Factors 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0104 

Effective Date of Rule Amendments 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0105 

General Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0106 

Estuarine and Ocean System Categories 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0201 

Management Objective of the Estuarine and Ocean Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0203 

Coastal Wetlands 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0205 

Estuarine Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0206 

Public Trust Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0207 

Use Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0208 

Coastal Shorelines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 07H .0209 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety. The rules in Subchapter 10A cover general WRC practices and procedures including petitions for 
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rulemaking (.0400); declaratory rulemaking (.0500); warning tickets (.1000); waivers (.1100); emergency powers 
(.1200); wildlife poacher reward fund (.1300); interstate wildlife violator compact (wcv) (.1400); and evidence (.1500). 

License Fees 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 10A .1601 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 13 cover hazardous and solid waste management, inactive hazardous substances, and waste 
disposal sites.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13A cover hazardous waste management and specifically HWTSD (hazardous waste 
treatment, storage, or disposal) facilities.  

General 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 13A .0101 

Standards for the Management of Specific Hazardous Wastes... 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 13A .0111 

The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid 
waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and processing facilities (.0300); transfer facilities (.0400); disposal sites 
(.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600); administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); 
yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical 
waste management (.1200); disposition of remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost 
facilities (.1400); standards for special tax treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); 
requirements for municipal solid waste landfill facilities (.1600); requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-
products (.1700); and financial assurance requirements for solid waste management facilities (.1800).  

Financial Assurance Requirements for C&DLF Facilities and... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .0546 

Permit Required 
Amend* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1105 

Financial Responsibility Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1111 

Financial Assurance Requirements for MSWLF Facilities and... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1628 

General Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1801 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Closure 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1802 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Post-C... 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1803 

Financial Assurance Cost Estimate Requirements for Correc... 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1804 

Allowable Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1805 

Language of Mechanisms for Financial Assurance 
Adopt* 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1806 

The rules in Subchapter 13C concern inactive hazardous substance or waste disposal sites including notices (.0100); 
prioritization system (.0200); and voluntary remedial action oversight by registered environmental consultants (.0300). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0301 

General Provisions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0302 
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Approval of Registered Environmental Consultants 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0303 

Minimum Qualifications for Registered Environmental Consu... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0304 

Standards of Conduct for Registered Environmental Consult... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0305 

Technical Standards for Registered Environmental Consultants 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0306 

Departmental Audits and Inspections 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0307 

Cleanup Levels 
Readopt with Changes* 

 
15A NCAC 13C .0308 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 06C concern contested cases including general rules (.0100); request for a hearing (.0200); 
notice (.0500); who shall hear contested cases (.0600); place of hearing (.0700); intervention (.0800); and hearing 
officers (.0900). 

Predetermination for Individuals with Criminal Records 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 06C .0913 

The rules in Subchapter 6O govern the assessing of civil penalties.  

Failure to Notify Board of Change of Barber Shop or School... 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06O .0122 

The rules in Subchapter 6S concern examinations. 

General Examination Instructions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 06S .0101 

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 30 concern organization and general provisions (.0100); application for licensure (.0200); licensing 
(.0300); business practices (.0400); standards of professional conduct (.0500); massage and bodywork therapy schools 
(.0600); continuing education (.0700); rules (.0800); complaints, disciplinary action and hearings (.0900); and massage 
and bodywork therapy establishments (.1000). 

Fees 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 30 .1014 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); 
sick leave (.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave 
(.1000); other types of leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program 
(.1300); family and medical leave (.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); 
administrative leave (.1700) and incentive leave (.1800). 

Separation 
Amend* 

 
25 NCAC 01E .0311 

The rules in Subchapter 1J cover employee grievances (.0500); disciplinary actions including suspensions and 
dismissals (.0600); Governor's Award for Excellence (.0800); internal performance pay dispute resolution procedures 
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(.0900); state employees assistance program (.1000); unlawful workplace harassment (.1100); employee grievances 
(.1200); employee appeals and grievance process (.1300); and employee mediation and grievance process (.1400). 

Back Pay 
Amend* 

 
25 NCAC 01J .1306 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 CPS 04103 3/31/2020 Margarita E Raman v. Victims Compensation May 

19 CPS 05203 3/5/2020 David W Tate v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety Victims Compensation 

Commission 

May 

19 CPS 05607 3/13/2020 Kyle Gene Foster v. Liddie Shropshire North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety 

Lassiter 

        

19 DOJ 02986 3/25/2020 Aaron E Kennemore v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 04083 3/12/2020 Matthew Kevin Jean v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 04314 3/4/2020 Brianna Clay v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 05239 3/4/2020 Miki Knutson 

Williams 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Lassiter 

        

19 INS 04759 3/12/2020 Judy Fulk Hopkins v. The State Health Plan May 

19 INS 04915 3/6/2020 Cynthia McCrary v. State Health Plan Lassiter 

        

    Unpublished    

20 ABC 00435 3/25/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Anthony Curtis Groce T/A B S Jones 

Pub and Grill 

Ward 

        

19 CPS 05445 3/4/2020 Charles Udoh v. NC DOT Equipement Department 

Gaston Correctional Center Erics Paint 

& Body Shop 

Sutton 

19 CPS 05915 3/4/2020 Charles Udoh v. Gaston Correctional Center HR 

Department of Public Safety 

Sutton 
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19 CSE 05456 3/9/2020 Corey Paulk v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Social Services 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 05601 3/19/2020 James R Allen v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

19 CSE 05616 3/27/2020 Grace Hurlock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05617 3/26/2020 Wardell J McClam 

Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05670 3/18/2020 Guy C Anderson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 05674 3/10/2020 Jamal Mccray v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05712 3/20/2020 Billy D Dudley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Ward 

19 CSE 05742 3/10/2020 Scott M McMillan v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05773 3/10/2020 Mitchel T 

LeBrasseur 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05929 3/16/2020 Shawnta T White v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Support 

May 

19 CSE 06000 3/5/2020 Ashley N Fowler v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06001 3/19/2020 Geoffrey R Vincent v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06344 3/12/2020 Jason P Penkava v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06429 3/12/2020 Gerardo S Alfaro-

Jimenez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06537 3/12/2020 Rasheed A 

Stephens-Maddox 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 06582 3/12/2020 Antonio Noland v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

20 CSE 00052 3/20/2020 Exzavia D Cochran v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

20 CSE 00727 3/9/2020 Eric M Tenute v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 
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20 DAG 00223 3/19/2020 Ampco Inc dba 

Stricks LP Gas 

v. NC Department of Agriculture & 

Consumer Services 

Mann 

        

19 DHR 05774 3/9/2020 Elite Home Health 

Care Inc and Elite 

Too Home Health 

Care 

v. The North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services, Division of 

Health Benefits and its Agent the 

Carolinas Center for Medical 

Excellence 

Lassiter 

19 DHR 06104 3/12/2020 Edwards 

Community Support 

Services Inc 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06315 3/9/2020 Faye Purdie v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 06738 3/10/2020 Southern Living for 

Seniors of 

Burnsville NC LLC 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 06839 3/12/2020 Kimberly Jenkins 

BHM Salem 

Terrace LLC 

Licensee Salem 

Terrace 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

May 

19 DHR 06862 3/10/2020 Yvonne E Lyons v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Culpepper 

19 DHR 06949 3/6/2020 L A S Learning 

Playhouse Lamont 

Savage 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

May 

20 DHR 00184 3/6/2020 Darleen Scales 

DeCarlos Davis 

v. Department of Health and  Human 

Services 

May 

20 DHR 00334 3/31/2020 Christian Home 

Healthcare 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Overby 

20 DHR 00690 3/23/2020 Linda Davis v. DHHS Health Care Registry Malherbe 

        

19 DOJ 06178 3/6/2020 Pamela Lee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

        

20 MIS 00438 3/31/2020 Wendell J Mccarty v. Maggie Valley Police Department R 

Gilliland Chief of Police Maggie Valley 

NC J Mackey Maggie Valley Police 

Officer 

Sutton 

        

19 OSP 06896 3/31/2020 Erica N Harris v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services (DHHS) 

Overby 

20 OSP 00643 3/5/2020 Oswald Woode v. Wake County Public School System 

Board of Education 

Culpepper 

        

19 SAP 06481 3/19/2020 North Carolina 

Substance Abuse 

Professional 

Practice Board 

v. Chiquita Joseph Overby 

        

 

 


