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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2073 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2074 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2075 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2076 

 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2077 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2078 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2079 

 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2080 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2081 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2082 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2083 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2084 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2085 

 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2086 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2087 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2088 

 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2089 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2090 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2091 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2092 

 
 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2093 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2094 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2095 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2096 

 
 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2097 

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 02 NCAC 42 .0405 and amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC 42 

.0102, .0201, and .0401. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index

.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than May 30, 2020, to Stephen 

Benjamin, Secretary, NC Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board, 

1050 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1050. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These amendments are updating 

terms, websites, and other technical-type changes.  The rules also 

recognize the 1 psi allowance for E15 approved by the EPA and 

aligns our language with the federal language on dispenser 

labeling.  The Board is also adopting language for water in 

storage tanks. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stephen Benjamin, 1050 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1050; email 

steve.benjamin@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 42 - GAS AND OIL INSPECTION 

 

SECTION .0100 - PURPOSE AND DEFINITIONS 

 

02 NCAC 42 .0102 DEFINITIONS 

Except as otherwise defined in Chapter 119, North Carolina 

General Statutes, the definitions applicable in this Chapter are as 

follows: 

(1) "ASTM" means ASTM International. 

(2) "Approved lead substitute" means an EPA 

registered gasoline additive formulated to 

reduce valve seat recession in engines designed 

to operate on leaded gasoline. 

(3) "Biodiesel" means a fuel comprised of mono-

alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived 

from vegetable oils or animal fats, designated 

B100, and meeting the requirements of ASTM 

D 6751. 

(4) "Biodiesel Blend" means a blend of biodiesel 

meeting ASTM D 6751 with petroleum-based 

diesel fuel meeting ASTM D 975 or fuel oil 

meeting ASTM D 396 and designated BXX, 

where XX represents the volume percentage of 

biodiesel in the blend. 

(5) "Biomass-based diesel" means a diesel fuel 

substitute produced from nonpetroleum 

renewable resources that meets the registration 

requirements for fuels and fuel additives 

established by the Environmental Protection 

Agency under 42 U.S.C. 7545, an includes fuel 

derived from animal wastes, including poultry 

fats and poultry wastes, and other waste 

materials, or from municipal solid waste and 

sludges and oils derived from wastewater and 

the treatment of wastewater, except that the 

term does not include biodiesel as defined in 

this Part. 

(5)(6) "Board" means the Gasoline and Oil Inspection 

Board. 

(6)(7) "Cetane number" means the relative ignition 

quality of diesel fuels by the ASTM Cetane 

Method D 613. 

(8) "CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 
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(7)(9) "Denatured fuel ethanol" means ethanol 

meeting the provisions of ASTM D 4806, 

"Standard Specification for Denatured Fuel 

Ethanol to be Blended with Gasolines for Use 

as an Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel." 

(8)(10) "Director" means the Director of the Standards 

Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(9)(11) "Distributor" means any person who transports 

or stores or causes the transportation or storage 

of gasoline at any point between any gasoline 

refinery or importer's facility and any retail 

outlet or wholesale purchaser-consumer's 

facility. 

(10) "E85" means a petroleum product that is a blend 

of denatured ethanol and gasoline or natural 

gasoline of which the ethanol portion is 

nominally 70 to 85 percent ethanol by volume 

and meeting the requirements of ASTM D 

5798. 

(11)(12) "EPA" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency. 

(13) "Ethanol Flex Fuel" means a mixture of 

gasoline and ethanol that contains 51 percent to 

83 percent ethanol by volume. 

(12)(14) "Leaded" means any gasoline or 

gasoline-oxygenate blend which contains more 

than 0.05 gram lead per U.S. gallon (0.013 gram 

lead per liter) or contains an approved lead 

substitute which provides a lead equivalency of 

at least 0.10 gram lead per U.S. gallon (0.026 

gram per liter). 

(13)(15) "Liquefied petroleum gas" means any material 

which is composed predominantly of any of the 

following hydrocarbons or mixtures of same: 

propane, propylene, butanes (normal or 

iso-butane), and butylenes. 

(14)(16) "Motor Octane Number" means the number 

describing the relative anti-knock characteristic 

of a motor fuel determined by ASTM Motor 

Method (D 2700). 

(15)(17) "NCWM" means the National Conference on 

Weights and Measures. 

(16)(18) "NIST" means the National Institute of 

Standards and Technology. 

(17)(19) "Octane Index" means the number obtained by 

adding the research octane number and the 

motor octane number and dividing the sum by 

two. 

(18)(20) "Oxygenate" means any substance which, when 

added to gasoline, increases the amount of 

oxygen in that gasoline, and which has been 

approved by EPA for use in gasoline. 

(19)(21) "Premium Diesel" means a refined middle 

distillate petroleum product that meets the 

specifications of ASTM D 975 and NIST 

Handbook 130, Uniform Engine Fuels, 

Petroleum Products and Automotive Lubricants 

Regulation, section 2.2.1. 

(20)(22) "Qualitative word or term" means any word or 

term used in a brand name which by definition 

or customary usage indicates a level of quality, 

classification, grade, or designation. 

(21)(23) "Regular" when used as part of a brand name or 

as a grade designation for gasoline or 

gasoline-oxygenate blend shall be construed to 

mean an unleaded regular grade commercial 

automotive gasoline or gasoline-oxygenate 

blend. 

(22)(24) "Renewable Diesel Fuel" means a fuel which is 

not a mono-alkyl ester; meets the registration 

requirements for fuels and fuel additives 

established by the Environmental Protection 

Agency under section 7545 of the Clean Air 

Act; is intended for use in engines that are 

designed to run on conventional, petroleum 

derived diesel fuel; is derived from 

nonpetroleum renewable resources including, 

but not limited to, vegetable oil, animal wastes, 

including poultry fats and poultry wastes, and 

other waste materials, or municipal solid waste 

and sludges and oils derived from wastewater 

and the treatment of wastewater; and meets the 

latest version of ASTM specification D 975. 

(23)(25) "Research Octane Number" means the number 

describing the relative anti-knock characteristic 

of a motor fuel determined by ASTM Research 

Method (D 2699). 

(24)(26) "Retail" means the sale or offering for sale of 

gasoline to the ultimate consumer for use in a 

motor vehicle. 

(25)(27) "Substantially Similar" rule means the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency's 

"Substantially Similar" rule, Section 211 (f)(1) 

of the Clean Air Act [42 U.S.C. 7545 (f)(1)]. 

(26)(28) "Terminal" means a facility at which gasoline is 

dispensed into trucks for transportation to retail 

outlets or wholesale purchaser-consumer 

facilities. 

(27)(29) "Unleaded" means any gasoline or 

gasoline-oxygenate blend to which no lead or 

phosphorus compounds have been intentionally 

added and which contains not more than 0.05 

gram lead per U.S. gallon (0.013 gram lead per 

liter) and not more than 0.005 gram phosphorus 

per U.S. gallon (0.0013 gram phosphorus per 

liter). 

 

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1. 

 

SECTION .0200 - QUALITY OF LIQUID FUEL 

PRODUCTS 

 

02 NCAC 42 .0201 STANDARD SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 4814, "Standard 

Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as 
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standard specification for gasoline with the following 

modifications: 

(1) Applications for temporary exceptions to vapor 

pressure and vapor/liquid ratio specifications as 

provided in this Subparagraph may be made to 

the Director. Said applications shall contain 

evidence that outlets marketing gasoline in 

North Carolina cannot be supplied from bulk 

terminals furnishing specified volatility level 

gasoline or that customary sources of supply 

have been temporarily interrupted by product 

shortage and alternate sources furnishing 

specified volatility level gasoline are not 

available. Such temporary exceptions granted 

shall apply only until the next meeting of the 

Board at which time the Board shall establish 

the duration of the exception; 

(2) The minimum lead content for gasoline 

registered or labeled as "leaded" shall be as 

defined in 02 NCAC 42 .0102; 

(3) Vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio seasonal 

specifications as listed in this Subparagraph 

may be extended for a maximum period of 15 

days to allow for the disbursement of old 

stocks. However, new stocks of a higher 

volatility classification shall not be offered for 

retail sale prior to the effective date of the 

higher volatility classification. 

(b)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 4814, "Standard 

Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel" as 

standard specification for alcohol blends with the following 

modifications: 

(1) A vapor pressure tolerance not exceeding one 

pound per square inch (1 psi) for ethanol blends 

of up to 10 percent; 9 percent to 15 percent by 

volume; 

(2) Vapor pressure seasonal specifications as listed 

in this Subparagraph may be extended for a 

maximum period of 15 days to allow for the 

disbursement of old stocks. However, new 

stocks of a higher volatility classification shall 

not be offered for retail sale prior to the 

effective date of the higher volatility 

classification; 

(3) Applications for temporary exceptions to vapor 

pressure specifications as provided in this 

Subparagraph may be made to the Director. 

Said applications shall contain evidence that 

outlets marketing gasoline in North Carolina 

cannot feasibly be supplied from bulk terminals 

furnishing specified volatility level gasoline or 

that customary sources of supply have been 

temporarily interrupted by product shortage and 

alternate sources furnishing specified volatility 

level gasoline are not available. Such temporary 

exceptions granted shall apply only until the 

next meeting of the Board at which time the 

Board shall establish the duration of the 

exception; 

(4) The minimum temperature at 50 percent 

evaporated shall be 150 degrees F (66 degrees 

C) as determined by ASTM Test Method D 86 

for ethanol blends of up to 10 percent; 1 percent 

to 15 percent by volume; 

(5) The minimum lead content for gasoline and 

alcohol blends registered or labeled as "leaded" 

shall be as defined in 02 NCAC 42 .0102; 

(6) Octane rating shall not be less than the octane 

index certified on the brand name registration 

as required by 02 NCAC 42 .0500; 

(7) All blends, both leaded and unleaded, shall be 

blended according to the EPA "Substantially 

Similar" rule or an EPA waiver for unleaded 

fuel; 

(8) Water tolerance shall be such that no phase 

separation occurs when subjected to a 

temperature equal to the temperatures specified 

in the table for "Maximum Temperature for 

Phase Separation, oC," ASTM D 4814; 

(9) The vapor/liquid ratio specification shall be 

waived for ethanol blends of up to 10 percent. 

(c)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 975, "Standard Specification 

for Diesel Fuel Oils" as standard specification for diesel motor 

fuels and renewable diesel fuels with the following modification: 

For diesel motor fuel grade 2-D, the minimum flash point as 

determined by ASTM Test Method D 56shall be 115 degrees F 

(46 degrees C). 

(d)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 396, "Standard Specification 

for Fuel Oils" as standard specification for fuel oils and blends of 

biodiesel and fuel oil. 

(e)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 3699, "Standard 

Specification for Kerosene" as standard specification for 

kerosenes with the following modification: For grade 2-K, the 

presence or absence of coloring matter shall in no way be 

determinative of whether a substance meets the requirements of 

this grade of kerosene. 

(f)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 6751, "Standard 

Specification for Biodiesel (B100) Blend Stock for Distillate 

Fuels" as standard specification for biodiesel (B100) and for B99 

(a blend of 99 percent biodiesel and one percent petroleum diesel). 

(g)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, ASTM D 5798, "Standard 

Specification for Fuel Ethanol (Ed75-Ed85) Ethanol Fuel Blends 

for Flexible Fuel for Automotive Spark-Ignition Engines" as 

standard specification for E85 fuel ethanol. Ethanol Flex Fuel. 

(h)  The Board hereby adopts by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, NIST Handbook 130, "Uniform Engine 

Fuels, Petroleum Products and Automotive Lubricants 

Regulation," section 2.2.1 "Premium Diesel Fuel" as the standard 

specification of premium diesel fuels in addition to ASTM D 975. 

Copies of this document may be obtained at no cost from the NIST 

Web site - http://ts.nist.gov/WeightsandMeasures/. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2100 

http://nist.gov/pml/weights-and-measures/publications/nist-

handbooks/handbook-130 . 

(i)  In addition to meeting all specification requirements as set 

forth in this Rule, each fuel must be suitable for the intended use. 

Motor fuels shall not contain concentrations of methyl tertiary 

butyl ether (MTBE) in violation of G.S. 119-26.3. 

(j)  ASTM documents adopted by reference herein are available 

for inspection in the office of the Director of the Standards 

Division and may be obtained from ASTM International, 100 Barr 

Harbor Drive, PO Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-

2959 or their Web site - www.astm.org, at the following cost for 

each document: D 396, thirty-five dollars ($35.00); fifty-four 

dollars ($54.00); D 975, forty-one dollars ($41.00); sixty-nine 

dollars ($69.00); D 3699, thirty dollars ($30.00); forty-eight 

dollars ($48.00); D 4814, forty-seven dollars ($47.00); sixty-nine 

dollars ($69.00); D 5798, thirty-five dollars ($35.00); forty-eight 

dollars ($48.00); and D 6571, thirty-five dollars ($35.00). forty-

eight dollars ($48.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 119-26; 119-26.1; 150B-14. 

 

SECTION .0400 - DISPENSING DEVICES AND PUMPS 

 

02 NCAC 42 .0401 LABELING OF DISPENSING 

DEVICES 

(a)  For the purpose of product identity, each dispensing device 

used in the retailing of any motor fuel shall, on the front panel of 

the dispenser and in plain view of the customer, be labeled with 

the following: 

(1) For gasoline, the registered brand name; name, 

which shall include both a brand name and a 

grade designation; 

(2) For diesel fuel, the registered brand name plus 

a descriptive or generic label if the registered 

brand name does not identify the type or grade 

of product; 

(3) For biodiesel and biodiesel, biodiesel blends, 

and biomass-based diesel, the registered brand 

name plus a descriptive or generic label if the 

registered brand name does not identify the type 

or grade of product; product and the labels as 

appropriate to the specific product as described 

in the most current version of 16 CFR 306.10 

Automotive Fuel Rating Posting and 16 CFR 

306.12 Labels; 

(4) For gasoline-oxygenate blends other than E85 

fuel ethanol containing: blends, the registered 

brand name, the labels appropriate to the 

specific product as described in the most 

current version of 15 CFR 306.10 Automotive 

Fuel Rating Posting and 16 CFR 306.12 Labels, 

and the following: 

(A) At least one percent by volume of 

methanol, the registered brand name 

plus an additional label which states 

that the blend "contains methanol." 

(B)(A) Ten Gasoline-ethanol blends of 10 

percent or less by volume of ethanol, 

ethanol shall include a grade 

designation and the registered brand 

name plus an additional label which 

states that the blend "contains 10% 

ethanol," "may contain up to 10% 

ethanol," "contains 10% or less 

ethanol" or similar wording. 

(B) Gasoline-ethanol blends of greater 

than 10 percent up to 15 percent by 

volume shall comply with EPA 

labeling requirements under 40 CFR 

80.1501. 

(C) Greater than 10 percent but no more 

than 15 percent by volume of ethanol, 

the registered brand name plus an 

additional label that states the blend 

"contains up to 15% ethanol," 

"contains between 10-15% ethanol," 

or similar wording. 

(D) Greater than 15 percent but no more 

than 85 percent by volume of ethanol, 

the registered brand name plus an 

additional label which states the 

specific volume percentage of ethanol 

present in the blend such as "contains 

30% ethanol." 

(5) For E85 fuel ethanol, the registered brand 

name. 

(b)  The additional labels required by Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule shall be composed of letters at least one inch in height, 

minimum one-eighth inch stroke, which contrast with the label 

background and shall be affixed to the dispenser front panel in a 

position conspicuous from the driver's position. Exceptions to the 

requirements in Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule are: 

(1) For fuels not covered by an EPA waiver, the 

additional label shall identify the percent by 

volume of ethanol or methanol in the blend; and 

(2) For fuels meeting the EPA's "Substantially 

Similar" rule and which do not contain 

methanol, no additional label is required. 

(c)  Each dispensing device used in the retailing of products other 

than motor fuel shall, on the front panel of the dispenser and in 

plain view of the customer, be labeled as follows: 

(1) Kerosene shall be labeled as either 1-K 

Kerosene or 2-K Kerosene. In addition, each 

dispenser shall contain one of the following 

legends as appropriate: 

(A) On 1-K kerosene dispensers, the 

legend "Suitable For Use In Unvented 

Heaters"; or 

(B) On 2-K kerosene dispensers, the 

legend "May Not Be Suitable For Use 

In Unvented Heaters"; and 

(2) Other products shall be labeled with either the 

applicable generic name or a brand name which 

identifies the type of product. 

(d)  When a motor fuel or other product provided for in this 

Section is offered for sale, sold, or delivered at retail in barrels, 

casks, cans, or other containers, each container shall be labeled in 
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accordance with this Section and in accordance with 15 U.S.C. 

1451 et. seq., the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act. 

(e)  If a dispenser is designed so that one or more hoses connected 

to a common housing dispense more than one type or grade of 

product, means shall be provided to indicate the identity of the 

product being dispensed from the hose. 

(f)  Copies of 16 CFR 306 and 40 CFR 80.1501 may be accessed 

free of charge at www.ecfr.gov. 

 

Authority G.S. 119-27; 119-27.2. 

 

02 NCAC 42 .0405 RETAIL STORAGE TANKS AND 

DISPENSER FILTERS 

The presence of water in retail storage tanks, filters on retail 

dispensers, product storage identification and volume product 

information shall be per the most current version of NIST 

Handbook 130, "Uniform Engine Fuels, Petroleum Products and 

Automotive Lubricants Regulation," Section 4, "Retail Storage 

Tanks and Dispenser Filters." Copies of this document may be 

obtained at no cost from the NIST website – 

https://www.nist.gov/pml/weights-and-

measures/publications/nist-handbooks/handbook-130. 

 

Authority G.S. 119-26. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources intends to readopt with substantive changes the rule 

cited as 07 NCAC 13B .1003. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncparks.gov/park-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 8, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 

Auditorium, 109 E. Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The existing rule pertaining to 

alcohol in state parks currently bans all persons from possessing 

and/or consuming alcohol on park premises at most parks. This 

limitation is inconsistent with all other State Parks across the 

southeastern United States. To serve more of the growing 

population of North Carolina, the permission to change to a 

system with measured limitations pertaining to alcohol rather 

than almost a total abolition is requested. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Carol Tingley, 1615 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1615 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - PARKS AND RECREATION AREA 

RULES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13B - PARKS AND RECREATION AREAS 

 

SECTION .1000 - DISORDERLY CONDUCT: PUBLIC 

NUISANCE: ETC. 

 

07 NCAC 13B .1003 INTOXICATING LIQUORS: 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND CONTROLLED 

SUBSTANCE OR BEVERAGES SUBSTANCES 

(a)  A person shall not possess or consume any malt beverage, 

fortified wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in 

G.S. 18B-101, within any state park park, natural area or 

recreation area, except at the Chimney Rock Attraction and 

Chimney Rock Restaurant at the Chimney Rock State Park 

except: 

(1) as permitted under a long term long-term 

operating agreement agreement; and at the 

Summit Conference Center, Haw River State 

Park  

(2) in designated areas designated in accordance 

with Paragraph (h) of this Rule; and only or  

(3) after obtaining a Special Activity Permit from 

approved by the Director of the Division or his 

or her designee under Paragraphs (d) through (i) 

of in accordance with this Rule.  

(b)  A person shall not possess or consume any other alcoholic 

beverage, as defined by G.S. 18B-101, or controlled substance 

substance, as defined by G.S. 90-87(5) or intoxicating substance 

within any state park park, natural area or recreation area. 

(b)(c)  A person shall not be or become intoxicated intoxicated, as 

defined by G.S. 14-443(2), while within any state park park, 
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natural area or recreation area, including during events approved 

under a Special Activity Permit. 

(c)(d)  A person shall not sell sell or serve, or attempt to sell sell 

or serve any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, within any state park 

park, natural area or recreation area. area, except:  

(1) pursuant to the terms and conditions of a long-

term operating lease from agreement with the 

Division. Division;  

(2) in areas designated in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; or  

(3) after obtaining a Special Activity Permit 

approved by the Director of the Division or his 

or her designee in accordance with this Rule.  

(e)  A person shall not sell sell or serve or attempt to sell sell or 

serve any other alcoholic beverage, as defined by G.S. 18B-101, 

or controlled substance substance, as defined by G.S. 90-87(5) or 

intoxicating substance within any state park park, natural area or 

recreation area. 

(d)(f)  Applications Requests for a Special Activity Permit 

authorizing the possession or consumption possession, 

consumption, sale or service of any malt beverage, fortified wine, 

unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, 

shall be made by a Special Activity Permit request in writing to 

the Director of the Division or his or her designee, not less than 

14 days prior to the date(s) of the intended use. 

(e)(g)  The written request shall state the period of time and the 

area from for which the use is requested; the number of persons 

expected to be in attendance; the type of activity and the type and 

amounts of malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor involved; documentation of any and all 

permitting required by the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission; and the name and address of the individual, 

organization or group seeking permission to use any portion of 

any state park park, natural area or recreational area for the 

possession or consumption possession, consumption, sale or 

service of any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor, listing liquor; and, for organizations and groups 

requesting permission, the name and address of the requestor or 

its president, vice president(s), secretary and treasurer or its 

principal chief executive officer or officers, its directors, if any, 

and such other pertinent information as may be required by the 

Director of the Division, or his or her designee, sufficient to 

identify the organization submitting the request and the 

individuals principally engaged in the conduct of its affairs. 

authorized representative, such as the president or chief executive 

officer of the organization or group. 

(f)(h)  The Special Activity Permit shall specify the hours of 

permitted use, type of malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified 

wine or spirituous liquor, the total amounts to be brought into the 

Park state park, natural area or recreation area, and the maximum 

number of attendees. attendees, and any additional conditions 

specified by the Director or his or her designee which are 

consistent with the purposes and management of the State Park 

System, as defined in G.S. 143B-135.42. 

(g)(i)  If the Director of the Division or his or her designee 

concludes that the requested use will not hinder or impede any 

regularly established use of the Haw River State Park and 

Chimney Rock State Park state park park, natural area or 

recreation area where the use is requested and will not adversely 

affect or threaten their care, protection or maintenance or create a 

nuisance by such use, is consistent with the protection of the 

natural resources, facilities, and public enjoyment of the State 

Park System, he or she shall grant permission to use the state park 

park, natural area or recreation area specified in the request or 

long term long-term operating lease agreement submitted in 

accordance with this Rule. If the Director or his or her designee 

shall determine otherwise, he or she shall deny the request. 

(h)(j)  The Director of the Division or his or her designee shall 

designate appropriate areas and occasions in the designated parks 

under this Rule, suitable for possession or consumption where 

possession, consumption sale or service of malt beverages, 

fortified wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor liquor, as 

defined in G.S. 18B-101. G.S. 18B-101, is allowed. Such areas 

and occasions shall may be limited so as not to interfere, or cause 

user conflicts, conflicts with other organizations, groups or 

individuals also visiting the state park but not requesting the 

Special Activity Permit. Examples of appropriate areas include 

meeting rooms, restaurants, cafeterias, lodging rooms and other 

similar areas in which user conflicts are minimized. Examples of 

permitted occasions include receptions, weddings and retreats. 

park, natural area or recreation area. 

(i)(k)  The applicant for a Special Activity Permit shall comply 

with all state or local laws, rules or ordinances related to the 

possession or consumption of any malt beverage, fortified wine 

or unfortified wine, as defined in G.S. 18B-101. Violation of the 

terms and conditions of a Special Activity Permit issued in 

accordance with this Rule is prohibited and shall result in 

revocation of the permit by the Director of the Division or his or 

her designee. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.16. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Radiation Protection Commission intends 

to readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 10A NCAC 

15 .1418. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 13, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026, 

809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Chapter 10A NCAC 15, Radiation 

Protection, this proposed readoption rule was part of the 257 
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rules determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public 

Interest,” requiring readoption. With input from the Non-Ionizing 

Committee of the Radiation Protection Commission, substantive 

changes have been made to this rule. Safety measures have been 

added requiring the registrant to determine each consumer’s skin 

type in accordance with a skin typing system and record the skin 

type in the client tan record, and to document the tanning 

equipment’s ultraviolet bulb usage hours. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - RADIATION PROTECTION 

 

SECTION .1400 - TANNING FACILITIES 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1418 RECORDS: REPORTS AND 

OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Prior to initial exposure, the registrant shall provide each 

consumer the opportunity to read a copy of the warning specified 

in Rule .1414(b) of this Section and have the consumer sign a 

statement that the information has been read and understood. For 

illiterate or visually impaired persons unable to read, the warning 

statement shall be read aloud by the operator to that individual, in 

the presence of a witness, and the witness and the operator shall 

sign the statement. 

(b)  The registrant shall maintain a record of each consumer's total 

number of tanning visits, including dates and durations of tanning 

exposures. 

(c)  The registrant shall determine each consumer's skin type using 

a method that distinguishes between six skin types and record the 

skin type on the client tan record. 

(c)(d)  The registrant shall submit a written report of injury for 

which medical attention was sought or obtained from the use of 

registered tanning equipment to the Radiation Protection Section 

within five business days after occurrence. The report shall 

include: 

(1) the name of the affected individual; 

(2) the name and location of the tanning facility 

involved; 

(3) the nature of the actual or alleged injury; and 

(4) any other information relevant to the actual or 

alleged injury, including the date and duration 

of exposure and any documentation of medical 

attention sought or obtained. 

(d)(e)  The registrant shall not allow individuals under the age of 

18 to use tanning equipment. 

(e)(f)  The registrant shall verify by checking legal identification 

that includes a driver's license, a passport, or military 

identification, each consumer is 18 years of age or older. 

(f)(g)  The registrant shall not allow minors to remain in the 

tanning room while the tanning equipment is in operation. 

(g)(h)  The registrant shall replace defective or burned out lamps, 

bulbs, or filters with a type intended for use in the affected tanning 

equipment as specified by the manufacturer's product label and 

having the same spectral distribution (certified equivalent lamp). 

(h)(i)  The registrant shall replace ultraviolet lamps and bulbs that 

are not otherwise defective or damaged at such frequency or after 

such duration of use as is recommended by the manufacturer of 

such lamps and bulbs. 

(j)  The registrant shall document the number of hours that 

ultraviolet lamps and bulbs are used. 

(i)(k)  The registrant shall certify that all tanning equipment 

operators are trained in at least the following: 

(1) the requirements of this Section; 

(2) procedures for correct operation of the tanning 

facility and tanning equipment; 

(3) recognition of injury or overexposure to 

ultraviolet radiation; 

(4) the tanning equipment manufacturer's 

procedures for operation and maintenance of 

the tanning equipment; 

(5) the determination of skin type of customers and 

determination of duration of exposure to 

registered tanning equipment; and 

(6) emergency procedures to be followed in case of 

injury. 

(j)(l)  The registrant shall allow operation of tanning equipment 

only by and in the physical presence of persons who have 

completed formal training courses that meet the requirements of 

Subparagraphs (i)(1) to (6) Paragraph (k) of this Rule. 

(k)(m)  The registrant shall maintain a record of operator training 

required in Paragraphs (i) and (j) Paragraph (k) of this Rule for 

inspection by authorized representatives of the agency. 

(l)(n)  No registrant shall possess, use, operate, or transfer tanning 

equipment or their ultraviolet radiation sources in such a manner 

as to cause any individual under 18 years of age to be exposed to 

radiation emissions from such equipment. 
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(m)(o)  Each registrant shall make available to all employees 

current copies of the following documents: 

(1) the facility's certificate of registration with the 

Radiation Protection Section; and 

(2) conditions or documents incorporated into the 

registration by reference and amendments 

thereto. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); 104E-9; 104E-9.1; 104E-12. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Coastal Resources Commission intends to 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

07H .0312; 07J .0403 and .0404. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact Braxton 

Davis, director, NC Division of Coastal Management, 400 

Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 28557, phone 252-808-

2808, email Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Readoptions - N.C. Gen. Stat. 

§150B-21.3A requires state agencies to review existing rules 

every 10 years, determine which rules are still necessary, and 

either re-adopt or repeal each rule as appropriate. These rules 

are proposed for readoption without substantive changes. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; email 

Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0312 TECHNICAL STANDARDS FOR 

BEACH FILL PROJECTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING 

AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR 

DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS, 

APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS, 

DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE 

EXCEPTIONS 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0403 DEVELOPMENT 

PERIOD/COMMENCEMENT/CONTINUATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0404 DEVELOPMENT PERIOD 

EXTENSION (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 06N .0102, .0104-.0107, .0109, .0110, .0112 and .0113. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncbarbers.com/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 3, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 
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Location:  Teleconference: phone number 888-204-5984, access 

code 6977625 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules eliminate the 

requirement for notarization on certain forms, instead requiring 

attestations. This change would make it easier for applicants to 

file documents with the board. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; 

fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06N – FEES AND FORMS 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0102 FORM BAR-1 

(a)  The Form BAR-1 shall be filed when one applies to open or 

manage a new barber shop. It requests the following: 

(1) the name and address of the shop; 

(2) the name, address, and certificate number of the 

manager; 

(3) the name and address of the shop owner; 

(4) the physical dimensions of the shop; 

(5) for a new or renovated shop, a copy of the 

certificate of occupancy; 

(6) the shop business hours; 

(7) the type of fixtures installed; and 

(8) the date the shop will be ready for inspection. 

(b)  The fee required by Rule .0101(a)(19) of this Section shall 

accompany this form. 

(c)  The Form BAR-1 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-13; 86A-15; 86A-25. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0104 FORM BAR-3 

(a)  The Form BAR-3 shall be filed for permission to enroll in 

barber school. It requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birth date of the applicant; 

(2) the applicant's prior barber school attendance, if 

any; 

(3) the name of the school enrolled; 

(4) the date of enrollment; and 

(5) the signature of the school manager. manager's 

attestation that the information in the form is 

correct. 

(b)  The fee in 21 NCAC 06N .0101(a)(12) shall accompany this 

form. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-18; 86A-22; 86A-25; 93B-14. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0105 FORM BAR-4 

(a)  The Form BAR-4 shall be filed by one applying to take the 

examination to receive a registered apprentice certificate. It 

requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; 

(2) the name of any barber school attended and the 

date of enrollment and graduation; and 

(3) the place of proposed employment as an 

apprentice barber. 

(b)  The course training certification shall be filled in by the 

manager of the barber school the applicant last attended. 

(c)(b)  The fee in Rule .0101(a)(5) of this Section shall be 

submitted with the application. 

(d)(c)  The Form BAR-4 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-10; 86A-24; 86A-25; 93B-14. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0106 FORM BAR-5 

(a)  The Form BAR-5 shall be filed by one applying to take the 

examination to receive a registered barber certificate. It requires 

the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; 

(2) barber school training; and 

(3) the length of barbering experience. 

(b)  The Form BAR-5 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

(c)  The fee in 21 NCAC 06N .0101(a)(4) shall accompany this 

form. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-3; 86A-10; 86A-25; 93B-14. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0107 FORM BAR-6 

(a)  The Form BAR-6 shall be filed by one applying to take an 

examination as a barber school instructor. It requires the 

following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; 
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(2) the current registered certificate number; 

(3) the name of barber school attended; and 

(4) the proposed place of employment, if any. 

(b)  The fee in Rule .0101(a)(11) of this Section shall accompany 

this form. 

(c)  The Form BAR-6 shall include the applicant's attestation that 

the information in the form is correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-23; 86A-25; 93B-14. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0109 FORM BAR-8 

(a)  The Form BAR-8 shall be filed by one who has practiced as a 

barber in a state other than North Carolina for three years or more 

and is applying to obtain a certificate as a registered barber in 

North Carolina. It requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; 

(2) the name and address of any barber school 

attended in another state; and 

(3) barbering experience and the status of each 

barber license in another state. 

(b)  The fee in Rule .0101(a)(21) of this Section shall accompany 

this form. 

(c)  The Form BAR-8 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

(d)  The Form BAR-8 shall be accompanied by verification from 

the applicant's out-of-state agency of the applicant's licensure in 

that state. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-12; 86A-25. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0110 FORM BAR-9 

(a)  The Form BAR-9 shall be filed when one applies to open a 

new barber school. It requires the following: 

(1) the date the barber school will be ready for the 

Board inspection; 

(2) the name and address of the barber school; 

(3) the name and address of the owner; 

(4) the name and address of the manager; 

(5) the names, instructor certificate numbers, and 

address of the instructors; 

(6) the physical dimensions of the barber school; 

(7) the number of barber chairs, tool cabinets, 

towel cabinets, and lavatories; and 

(8) a copy of the bond or alternative to a bond 

required by G.S. 86A-22(7)(a) or a request for 

waiver under G.S. 86A-22(7)(c). 

(b)  The Form BAR-9 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

(c)  The Form BAR-9 shall be accompanied by the fee in 21 

NCAC 06N .0101(a)(20). 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-22. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0112 FORM BAR-11 

(a)  The Form BAR-11 shall be filed by an individual who has 

military training and expertise and who wants to apply to become 

a registered barber pursuant to 21 NCAC 06K .0112. It requires 

the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; and 

(2) copies of the military service records showing 

the applicant's military certification and 

experience in barbering. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-11 a 

certification letter from the applicant's out-of-state agency of the 

applicant's licensure if the conditions set forth in 21 NCAC 06K 

.0112(b) apply. 

(c)  The Form BAR-11 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-12; 93B-14; 93B-15.1. 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0113 FORM BAR-12 

(a)  The Form BAR-12 shall be filed by an individual who has 

practiced as a barber pursuant to Rule 21 NCAC 06K .0113. It 

requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; and 

(2) copies of the military service records showing 

that the applicant's spouse is serving in the 

military, along with evidence of the marriage, 

such as a copy of the marriage license. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-12 a 

certification letter from the applicant's out-of-state agency of the 

applicant's licensure. 

(c)  The Form BAR-12 shall be notarized. include the applicant's 

attestation that the information in the form is correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-25; 93B-14; 93B-15.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Licensing Board for General Contractors intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 12B .0101-.0105, .0201-.0206, .0301-

.0303, .0401-.0403 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 12A 

.0304 and .0503. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nclbgc.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 17, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 12A .0304 Establish a fee for continuing education 

course sponsor applications and qualifier completion per G.S. 87-

10.2. 

21 NCAC 12A .0503 Amend licensure renewal requirements to 

include proof of continuing education. 
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21 NCAC 12B .0101 Establish the underlying reason for CE, 

applicability and clarity of terminology. 

21 NCAC 12B .0l02 Clarify who is required to complete CE, 

subject matter of elective courses and the definition of "credit 

hour." 

21 NCAC 12B .0103 Establish minimum requirements re: 

maintaining CE records and audits of records. 

21 NCAC 12B .0104 Establish basis on which the Board may 

grant extensions of time and waivers of the CE requirements. 

21 NCAC 12B .0105 Establish process to obtain and lift inactive 

status as described in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

21 NCAC 12B .0201 Establish minimum requirements for initial 

approval of CE provider application. 

21 NCAC 12B .0202 Establish minimum requirements for 

renewal of CE provider application. 

21 NCAC 128 .0203 Establish basis on which Board may 

withdraw or deny CE provider approval. 

21 NCAC 128 .0204 Establish process by which CE providers 

shall notify Board of course attendance, transmittal of student fee, 

and notification of course completion. 

21 NCAC 12B .0205 Clarifies that courses cannot be offered in 

December. 

21 NCAC 12B .0206 Establish length of time that providers 

maintain CE records. 

21 NCAC 12B .0301 Establish minimum CE course requirements. 

21 NCAC 12B .0302 Establish process and requirements for 

obtaining CE elective course approval. 

21 NCAC 12B .0303 Establish process and requirements for 

obtaining approval to offer the Mandatory CE course. 

21 NCAC 12B .0401 Establish minimum requirements for 

obtaining initial CE instructor approval. 

21 NCAC 128 .0402 Establish minimum requirements for renewal 

of CE instructor approval. 

21 NCAC 12B .0403 Establish basis on which Board may 

withdraw or deny CE instructor approval. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  C. Frank Wiesner, North 

Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors, 5400 

Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612; phone (919) 571-4183; fax 

(919) 571-4703; email Frank.Wiesner@nclbgc.org 

 

Comment period ends:  July 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12A – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0304 FEES 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: fees related to 

license applications: 

(1) Application for limited license: $75.00; 

(2) Application for intermediate license: $100.00; 

(3) Application for unlimited license: $125.00; 

(4) Application for increase in limitation: $100.00 

for increase to intermediate license and $125.00 

for increase to unlimited license; and 

(5) Late renewal: $10.00 per month for every 

month or part after the first day of January. 

(b)  The Board shall charge the following fees related to 

continuing education: 

(1) Course Sponsor: 

(A) Initial review: $25.00 per credit hour 

requested; and 

(B) Subsequent annual review: $10.00 per 

credit hour requested. 

(2) Qualifier Completion: $4.00 per credit hour per 

qualifier who completes an approved 

continuing education course. This fee shall be 

paid by the course sponsor. 

(b)(c)  All fees charged by the Board shall be non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(i). 

 

SECTION .0500 - LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  Applications for renewal of license shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the Social Security Number of the applicant and 

qualifier(s) and tax identification number for 

corporations, LLCs, or partnerships; 

(2) the applicant's contact information; 

(3) the name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) information regarding any changes made in the 

status of the licensee's business, since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(5) confirmation of license limitation and 

classifications; 

(6) information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2108 

(7) documentation regarding all crimes referenced 

above; 

(8) information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration, or 

certification agency since the initial application 

or last renewal was submitted to the Board, 

whichever is later; 

(9) an attestation that the applicant maintains 

continued financial responsibility pursuant to 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter; 

(10) if applicable, proof that the surety bond is 

maintained in compliance with Rule .0204 of 

this Chapter; and 

(11) if necessary, proof of completion of continuing 

education requirements; and 

(11)(12) the application fee and any accrued late fees as 

set forth in Rule .0304 of this Chapter. 

(b)  A licensee shall submit an audited financial statement as 

evidence of continued financial responsibility in accordance with 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter if the Board finds that the licensee is 

insolvent, financially unstable, or unable to meet its financial 

responsibilities based upon the information provided in the 

renewal application. 

(c)  A licensee shall provide the Board with a copy of any 

bankruptcy petition filed by the licensee within 30 days of its 

filing. A licensee in bankruptcy shall provide to the Board an 

agreed-upon procedures report on a form provided by the Board 

or an audited financial statement with a classified balance sheet 

as part of any application for renewal. 

(d)  A corporate license shall not be renewed unless it is in good 

standing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State. 

(e)  Upon receipt of a written request by or on behalf of a licensee 

who is currently in good standing with the Board, is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 

grants an extension of time to file a tax return, the Board shall 

grant that same extension of time for complying with renewal 

application deadlines, for paying renewal fees, and for meeting 

any other requirement or conditions related to the maintenance or 

renewal of the license issued by the Board. The applicant shall 

furnish to the Board a copy of the military orders or the extension 

approval by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10; 87-10.2; 87-12; 87-13; 93B-15. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12B – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  To ensure continuing efforts on the part of licensed general 

contractors to remain current with new developments in all 

aspects of general contracting and to encourage better business 

practices and safety in the profession, continuing education is 

required as a condition of license renewal. If required pursuant to 

G.S. 87-10.2(a), a licensee shall submit, as a part of his or her 

renewal application, evidence that he or she has met the Board's 

continuing education requirements as set forth in this Section. 

Except as provided in Rule .0104 of this Subchapter, renewal 

applications that do not contain this information shall be deemed 

incomplete. 

(b)  This Subchapter shall apply to all aspects of continuing 

education as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, the terms "sponsor" and 

"provider" shall be synonymous. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

CREDIT 

(a)  Beginning with renewals filed for the 2021 license year, a 

licensee shall designate at least one qualifier who shall complete 

eight continuing education (CE) hours during the year preceding 

renewal. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, "elective courses" are 

defined as courses relating to the subject matter of general 

contracting as described in G.S. 87-1 and 87-10 that address 

general business practices, including business planning, contracts, 

liability exposure, human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  One credit hour is equal to 50 minutes of instructional time. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0103 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of a qualifier's attendance at 

continuing education programs for which CE credit has been 

approved for four years following the processing date of the 

renewal application to which the CE credits were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CE requirements shall be determined 

through a random audit process conducted by the Board. 

Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board with the 

following documentation of the CE activities claimed for the 

renewal period: 

(1) attendance verification records; and 

(2) information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements shall result in the licensee's status being 

changed to invalid except as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0104 EXTENSION OF TIME 

(a)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to 

complete CE requirements during a period of service in the Armed 

Forces of the United States upon submission of the following to 

the Board: 

(1) written request for an extension; and 

(2) documentation that the licensee or his or her 

qualifier is serving in the Armed Forces of the 

United States and is eligible for an extension of 
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time to file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 105-

249.2. 

(b)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to obtain 

CE requirements if he or she or his or her qualifier has a disability 

or illness that prevents him or her from complying with CE 

requirements. In order to receive the waiver, a licensee shall 

provide the Board with the following: 

(1) written request for waiver; and 

(2) documentation that describes the disability or 

illness and explains how the disability or illness 

prevents the licensee's qualifier from 

complying with the Board's CE requirements. 

Documentation includes a letter from a licensed 

physician, nurse practitioner (NP), or physician 

assistant (PA). 

(c)  Where on a case-by-case basis the Board determines that due 

to an undue hardship (such as natural disaster or illness of family 

member) the licensee could not reasonably be expected to comply 

with the Board's CE requirements, the licensee shall be granted an 

extension of time in which to obtain the required CE credits. To 

be considered for an extension of time, a licensee shall submit the 

following: 

(1) written request for extension; and 

(2) documentation that supports the reason for the 

extension. 

(d)  The Board shall grant a waiver of CE requirements upon 

submission of documentation that a licensee or his or her qualifier 

is in active duty while serving in the Armed Forces and is or has 

been deployed for at least eight months during the twelve-month 

period during which CE credits were required. 

(e)  An extension granted under Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule 

shall not exceed one year. Prior to the expiration of the one year 

extension of time, a licensee may request an additional extension 

in accordance with this Rule. Except as set out in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the Board shall grant no more than two consecutive 

extensions. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(j); 93B-15; 105-249.2. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0105 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Requests for inactive status as described in G.S. 87-10.2(h) 

shall be in writing and shall contain the following: 

(1) license name and number issued by the Board; 

(2) name(s) of qualifier(s); 

(3) if required, proof of active license status with 

the Board; and 

(4) certification that the individual submitting the 

request is authorized by the licensee to do so. 

(b)  If a licensee on inactive status fails to renew his or her license 

as of January 1 of the following year, the license shall become 

invalid in accordance with Article 1, Chapter 87 and the rules set 

forth in 21 NCAC 12A. 

(c)  A licensee on inactive status who wishes to return to active 

status shall submit a written request to the Board that contains the 

following information: 

(1) license name and number issued by the Board; 

(2) name(s) of qualifier(s) and the classifications in 

which they qualify; 

(3) application renewal fee and, if applicable, late 

fees as set out in G.S. 87-10(e) and Rule .0304 

in 21 NCAC 12A .0304; and 

(4) proof of completion of continuing education 

requirements as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(h). 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVIDERS 

21 NCAC 12B .0201 APPLICATION FOR INITIAL 

APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER 

(a)  Only continuing education providers approved by the Board 

shall be eligible to offer continuing education courses. 

(b)  Prospective providers of all courses must obtain written 

approval from the Board to conduct such course prior to 

conducting the course and prior to advertising or otherwise 

representing that the course is or may be approved for general 

contractor continuing education credit in North Carolina. No 

retroactive approval to conduct a continuing education course will 

be granted. 

(c)  Any entity seeking initial approval to be a continuing 

education provider shall make application on a form available on 

the Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth: 

(1) the legal name of applicant and any assumed 

business name; 

(2) the applicant's mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address; 

(3) the SOS ID number issued by the NC Secretary 

of State, if applicable; 

(4) the legal name(s) of the provider's owner(s), 

member(s), manager(s), or partner(s); 

(5) the name of a continuing education coordinator 

who shall serve as the contact person for the 

provider; and 

(6) the signature of the applicant or its legal 

designee. 

(d)  The name of any course provider shall not be identical or 

similar so as to cause confusion to the name of any other approved 

continuing education course provider. 

(e)  Continuing education providers shall notify the Board in 

writing within 10 days of any change in business name, ownership 

interest, continuing education coordinator, address, business 

telephone number, or email address. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0202 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  All Board approvals issued to providers shall expire annually 

on December 1 following issuance of approval. 

(b)  A provider shall submit an application for renewal of its 

approval within 45 days immediately preceding expiration of 

approval on a form available on the Board's website. The provider 

renewal application form shall include: 

(1) the provider's name; 

(2) the provider ID number issued by the Board; 

(3) the name of the provider's designated 

continuing education coordinator; 
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(4) the provider's mailing address, telephone 

number, and web address, if applicable; 

(5) any change in the provider's business entity; 

and 

(6) the signature of the provider or its legal 

designee. 

(c)  If a provider's approval has expired, the provider shall submit 

an application as a new applicant. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0203 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any continuing 

education provider upon finding that the provider or the 

continuing education coordinator in the employ of the provider: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for course or 

provider approval or renewal; 

(2) made any false statements in course 

advertisement or promotional materials; 

(3) provided false, incomplete, or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports the 

continuing education provider is required to 

submit to the Board; 

(4) provided the Board a check or credit card for 

required fees that was not honored by a 

financial institution or bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(5) collected money from licensees and qualifiers 

for a continuing education course but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) intentionally provided false, incomplete, or 

misleading information relating to general 

contractors licensing, education matters, or the 

qualifier's education requirements or license 

status; 

(7) failed to submit the CE Roster Reports as 

required by Rule .0206 of this Subchapter; 

(8) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by 21 NCAC 12A .0304; or 

(9) failed to comply with any other provision of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  A licensed general contractor and its qualifier(s) shall be 

subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 87-11 if the licensee or its 

qualifier(s) engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct 

in connection with the operations of a continuing education course 

provider if that licensee or qualifier(s): 

(1) has an ownership interest in the course 

provider; 

(2) is the designated continuing education 

coordinator for the course provider; or 

(3) is an instructor for the course provider. 

(c)  When ownership of an approved continuing education 

provider is transferred to a separate legal entity, the provider's 

approval is not transferable and shall terminate on the effective 

date of the transfer. All courses shall be completed by the effective 

date of the transfer. The transferring owner shall report course 

completion(s) to the Board. The new entity shall obtain an original 

continuing education provider approval as required by Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering 

students, accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise 

engaging in any provider operations. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (c). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0204 ATTENDANCE; ROSTER 

REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

(a)  Qualifiers shall provide proof of identity upon arrival at a class 

session. 

(b)  At the conclusion of any continuing education course, the 

provider shall submit to the Board a CE Roster Report verifying 

each qualifier's completion of the course. The CE Roster Report 

shall be submitted to the Board and shall contain the following: 

(1) provider's name; 

(2) provider's ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course instructor's name and ID number; 

(4) course's name and ID number; 

(5) course completion date; and 

(6) name and qualifier ID number of each student 

who completed the course. 

(c)  Providers shall submit the CE Roster Report electronically to 

the Board within seven calendar days following the end of any 

course, but in no case later than December 7. 

(d)  Providers shall submit the per student fee required by 21 

NCAC 12A .0304 with the CE Roster Report. 

(e)  Providers shall provide a course completion certificate to each 

student who completes an approved continuing education course. 

Providers shall provide a printed or electronic certificate to a 

student within 10 days following the course, but in no case later 

than December 7, for any course completed prior to that date. 

(f)  A student shall not be issued a completion certificate and shall 

not be reported to the Board as having completed a course unless 

the student satisfies the attendance requirements set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d) and (e). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0205 COURSE SCHEDULING 

Continuing education providers shall not offer, conduct, or allow 

a student to complete any continuing education course between 

December 1 and December 31, inclusive. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0206 RECORDS AND BOARD 

REVIEW 

(a)  All providers shall retain on file for four years records of 

student registration and attendance for each session of an 

approved continuing education course that is conducted and shall 

make such records available to the Board upon request during an 

investigation. 

(b)  Providers shall admit any Board authorized representative to 

monitor any continuing education class without prior notice. Such 

representatives shall not be required to register or pay any fee and 

shall not be reported as having completed the course. 
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Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b). 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0301 COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All continuing education courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to the practice of 

general contracting and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable general contractors to 

better serve consumers and the public interest; 

(2) offer two or four continuing education credit 

hours; 

(3) include materials for students that provide the 

information to be presented in the course; and 

(4) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

education or experience in a field directly 

related to the course. 

(b)  Mandatory courses shall cover subject matter as established 

by the Board. 

(c)  Providers shall submit all elective courses to the Board for 

approval pursuant to Rule .0302 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Providers shall obtain approval from the Board before making 

any changes in the content of a prior approved elective course. 

Requests for approval of changes shall be made in writing. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0302 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Board's written approval of a continuing 

education elective course, providers shall not offer, advertise, or 

otherwise represent that any continuing education elective course 

is, or may be, approved for continuing education credit in North 

Carolina. 

(b)  A provider seeking initial approval of a proposed elective 

course shall complete an application on a form available on the 

Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth the 

following: 

(1) title of the proposed elective course; 

(2) provider's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(4) provider's ID number, if previously approved; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course as evidenced by 

course outlines, PowerPoint slides, videos, or 

other similar materials; 

(7) identity of the course content owner; 

(8) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(9) identity of prospective instructors; and 

(10) signature of the provider or its legal designee. 

(c)  The application for initial approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the elective course guide, which shall include course 

objectives, learning objectives for each topic, a timed outline, 

instructional methods and aids to be employed, and all materials 

that will be provided to students. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer an already approved 

elective course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Board's website that requires the applicant to submit the 

following: 

(1) title of the elective course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's continuing education coordinator's 

name; 

(4) applicant's continuing education provider code, 

if previously approved; 

(5) identity of the course content owner; 

(6) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors; 

(8) signature of the provider or its legal designee; 

and 

(9) certification that there have been no changes to 

the course materials since the course was last 

approved. 

(e)  If the course will be taught by any method other than live, in-

person, in-class instruction, the provider shall, if requested, make 

the presentation available and accessible to the Board at no cost 

to the Board during operating hours. In case of an internet-based 

course, the Board shall be provided access to the course at a date 

and time set by the Board and shall not be charged any fee for 

such access. 

(f)  All applications for approval and renewal of elective courses 

shall be accompanied by fees as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304. 

(g)  Board approval of all continuing education elective courses 

shall expire on December 1 of each year. 

(h)  In order to obtain approval for an expired continuing 

education elective, a course provider shall submit an application 

for initial approval. 

(i)  Courses offered prior to Board approval shall not be eligible 

for continuing education credit. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0303 MANDATORY COURSE 

(a)  The Board shall annually develop a Mandatory course as 

described in G.S. 87-10.2(b) and shall provide instructional 

materials for use by providers. 

(b)  Only approved continuing education providers shall offer the 

Mandatory course to students. Only approved instructors pursuant 

to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter shall instruct the Mandatory 

course. 

(c)  Providers shall obtain written approval from the Board prior 

to offering, advertising, or otherwise representing that any 

Mandatory course is being offered for continuing education credit 

in North Carolina. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer the Mandatory course 

shall submit an application form available on the Board's website 

that shall require the following: 

(1) provider's legal name, address, telephone 

number, and website: 

(2) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(3) if applicable, provider's ID number assigned by 

the Board; 

(4) if applicable, name and instructor ID number of 

prospective instructors; and 
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(5) signature of the applicant or its legal designee. 

(e)  A provider may obtain approval from the Board to offer the 

Mandatory course by requesting it on the application or renewal 

of the provider's approval. 

(f)  All supplemental materials distributed to Mandatory course 

attendees shall be developed solely by the Board or its designee. 

Such materials shall be distributed to each student taking the 

Mandatory course. 

(g)  Board approval to offer Mandatory courses shall expire 

annually on November 30 following issuance of approval. 

Providers shall apply for renewal of approval to offer Mandatory 

courses along with the renewal of provider approval required in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(h)  All Mandatory course materials developed by the Board are 

the sole property of the Board and are subject to the protection of 

federal copyright laws. Violation of the Board's copyright with 

regard to these materials shall be grounds for disciplinary action 

or other action as permissible by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c). 

 

SECTION .0400 – INSTRUCTORS 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0401 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR INITIAL INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  A provider seeking initial instructor approval shall submit an 

application on a form available on the Board's website that 

requires the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) for which 

he or she is seeking approval and set forth the instructor 

applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number, qualifier 

ID number, and instructor ID number, if any, 

assigned by the Board; 

(3) education background, including specific 

general contracting education; 

(4) experience in the general contracting industry; 

(5) professional licenses or certifications held by 

the prospective instructor; 

(6) teaching experience, if any; and 

(7) signature of the prospective instructor. 

(b)  Prior to teaching the Mandatory course, an instructor shall 

attend the Board's Mandatory Instructor Seminar for the 

designated license year. 

(c)  Approved instructors who are also qualifiers shall receive one 

hour of CE credit for each one hour of class instruction. Course 

providers shall be responsible for payment of all CE fees for 

instructors seeking CE credit. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (d). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0402 RENEWAL AND EXPIRATION 

OF INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Board approval of instructors shall expire annually on 

December 1 following issuance of Board approval. 

(b)  A provider shall file an application for a previously approved 

instructor renewal no less than 30 days immediately preceding 

expiration of approval. The instructor renewal application shall 

include the instructor's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number and 

qualifier ID number, if applicable, and 

instructor ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course name(s) and course number(s) for which 

the provider is seeking approval as an 

instructor; and 

(4) signature. 

(c)  In order to reinstate an instructor approval that has been 

expired for less than six months, the former instructor shall meet 

the requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  If an instructor approval has been expired for more than six 

months, the provider shall file an application for initial instructor 

approval pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d). 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0403 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any instructor 

applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the instructor 

or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0401 of this Subchapter or 

the criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0402 of this Subchapter at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted in accordance with this 

Subchapter; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Board any report, 

course examination, or video recording 

required by this Subchapter; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach any 

elective or Mandatory course in a manner 

consistent with the course materials; 

(5) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct as determined by the Board; 

or 

(6) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d). 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  HHS/Division of Health Benefits 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 21A .0304 

 

Effective Date:  May 4, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 24, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-

19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily from person 

to person that can result in serious illness or death. Once an 

outbreak of the COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The 

World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a global 

pandemic on March 11, 2020. On March 27, 2020, the Governor 

issued Executive Order No. 121 directing Essential Business and 

Operations to have employees utilize telework to the greatest 

extent possible. The emergency rule is needed to permit 

conducting county appeals hearings by phone or other electronic 

means to ensure the health and safety of our beneficiaries, county 

staff and state staff while continuing to adjudicate appeals. This 

measure is in the public interest and promotes the ends of justice 

as delaying appeal hearings would be detrimental in a time of 

greater health needs and economic fragility of North Carolinians. 

 

CHAPTER 21 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 21A - GENERAL PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPEALS 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0304 CONDUCTING IN COUNTY 

APPEAL HEARINGS BY TELEPHONE OR 

ELECTRONIC MEANS 

For public assistance and social services appeals filed pursuant to 

G.S. 108A-79: 

(1) The Department may require conducting in 

county appeal hearings by telephone or feasible 

electronic means. 

(2) The Department shall notify the appellant when 

in county hearings are required to be conducted 

in this manner by First Class U.S. Mail and 

make hearing arrangements considering the 

technology medium available to the appellant. 

History note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-79; 42 C.F.R. 

431.205; 42 C.F.R. 431.240; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 4, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 10 .0216 

 

Effective Date:  April 28, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 20, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency. 

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services. On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0216 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, or applicant for license or 

certification, submits a written request. The Board may also waive 

any rule in 21 NCAC 10 that is not statutorily required upon its 

own initiative. Factors the Board shall use in determining whether 

to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 
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(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 28, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Licensing Board for General Contractors 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 12A .0607 

 

Effective Date:  April 24, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 16, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpose, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12A – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

SECTION .0600 – RULE-MAKING PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0607 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, qualifier, continuing education 

course provider, or continuing education course instructor 

submits a written request. The Board may also waive any rule in 

21 NCAC 12 that is not statutorily required upon its own 

initiative. Factors the Board shall use in determining whether to 

grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(j); 150B-19; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 – MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 32M .0119 

 

Effective Date:  April 21, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 13, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of COVID-19 begins, it 

is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, the Center 

for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina State Health Director requested that 

the Medical Board and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-

19 Drug Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and 

ensure that these drugs are available to patients who need them. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0119 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 
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(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if 

that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a fourteen-day 

supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for 

the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-

19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse practitioner or the nurse practitioner's 

agent, and that information is recorded in writing by the pharmacy 

along with the identity of the nurse practitioner or the nurse 

practitioner's agent transmitting the prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3), 90-18.2, 90-12.5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 33 – MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Midwifery Joint Committee 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 33 .0113 

 

Effective Date:  April 21, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 13, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs. The 

Department of Health and Human Services submitted a formal 

request that the Board of Nursing adopt emergency rules with 

respect to nurses with prescribing authority to assist in alleviating 

shortages and ensure that these drugs are available to patients 

who need them. 

 

SECTION .0100 – MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0113 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A nurse midwife shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if that 

prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence of its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse midwife shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for the 

prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-19 

by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse midwife, and that information is recorded 

in writing by the pharmacy, along with the identity of the nurse 

midwife transmitting the prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1; 90-8.2; 90-12.5; 90-

171.23; 90-171.49; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Nursing 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 36 .0817 

 

Effective Date:  April 21, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 13, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 
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emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs. The 

Department of Health and Human Services submitted a formal 

request that the Board of Nursing adopt emergency rules with 

respect to nurses with prescribing authority to assist in alleviating 

shortages and ensure that these drugs are available to patients 

who need them. 

 

SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0817 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner shall prescribe a Restricted Drug only if 

that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the prescriber 

consistent with the evidence of its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a 14-day supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe a Restricted Drug for 

the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the contraction of COVID-

19 by someone who has not yet been diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the nurse practitioner, and that information is 

recorded in writing by the pharmacy, along with the identity of 

the nurse practitioner transmitting the prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1; 90-8.2; 90-12.5; 90-

171.23; 90-171.49; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Real Estate Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 58G .0106 

 

Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 21, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services. On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. On 

March 27, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina, by issuing 

Executive Order No. 121, ordered residents to stay-at-home to 

limit the spread of COVID-19 for thirty days.  Local governments 

and counties have also enacted similar orders that impose stricter 

restrictions or prohibitions. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58G – NORTH CAROLINA REAL 

ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 58G .0106 SYNCHRONOUS DISTANCE-

LEARNING FOR PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

(a)  Schools and course sponsors shall cancel or suspend all in-

person courses until June 30, 2020. 

(b)  Schools, course sponsors, and education providers may offer 

synchronous distance-learning for continuing education courses 

except for the period between June 11, 2020 and June 30, 2020, 

inclusive. Schools and education providers may offer 

synchronous distance-learning for prelicensing and postlicensing 

courses. "Synchronous distance-learning" means the instructor 

and students are separated only by distance and not time, allowing 

for real-time monitoring of student participation. 

(c)  The Update Course shall be offered by schools, course 

sponsors, or education providers only as an in-person and 

synchronous distance-learning course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1(c); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. May 1, 2020. 

 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

34:22 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 15, 2020 

2117 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 62 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

SPECIALIST EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Environmental Health 

Specialist Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 62 .0407 and .0411 

 

Effective Date:  April 28, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 20, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  The serious and unforeseen public health 

and safety threat caused by COVID-19 has resulted in Executive 

Orders calling for stay at home orders and prohibiting mass 

gatherings. The Board must balance its commitment to continuing 

education with its dedication to social isolation efforts directed by 

Federal, State and Local Governments. The Board adopted 

emergency rules without  prior notice or hearing or upon any 

abbreviated notice or hearing the agency finds practical, because 

adherence to the notice and hearing requirements of this part 

would be contrary to the public interest and the immediate 

adoption of the rule is required by a serious and unforeseen threat 

to the public health or safety. The Board is making one-time 

extensions to create a situation where everyone has the same 

opportunities in light of an evolving public health landscape. The 

Board also recognizes that, due to circumstances beyond our 

control, it may not be possible for some to meet the prescribed 

standards. 

 

SECTION .0400 - RULES OF OPERATION 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0407 RENEWAL 

(a)  Applications for renewal shall be filed with the Board on a 

form provided by the Board and available from the Board website 

at: www.rsboard.com or from the Division of Environmental 

Health, 1630 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630. The 

renewal form may also be generated by the Registered Sanitarian 

Training and Authorization (RSTAS) computer system at: 

http://apps.bluelizard.com/RSTAS/. 

(b)  The renewal application shall be completed and signed by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Renewal fees shall be paid in accordance with Rule 

.0405(a)(5) of this Section. The renewal application shall be 

posted on the Board's website at www.rsboard.com by October 1 

of each year. The individual shall download and submit the 

application for renewal to the Board. Individuals may also contact 

the Board at the Division of Environmental Health, 1630 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1630 for a copy. 

(d)  Registered environmental health specialists or registered 

environmental health specialists interns who fail to renew by 

December 31 shall be notified by the Board that their registration 

has expired and that they may not practice as a registered 

environmental health specialist or a registered environmental 

health specialists intern until they have met the requirements for 

renewal. 

(e)  An environmental health law course based on North Carolina 

laws and rules with at least 15 contact hours approved by the 

Board shall be completed within the first four years of the date of 

most recent registration by the Board. This timeframe shall be 

extended by one additional year for anyone whose fourth year 

occurs in 2020. 

(f)  Registered environmental health specialists or registered 

environmental health specialists interns shall complete a 

minimum of 15 instructional clock hours of continuing education 

acceptable to the Board each year. year, except the 15 hours shall 

not be required for the year ending December 31, 2020. 

Continuing education acceptable to the Board includes: 

(1) the specialized training course required in Rule 

.0411 of this Section; 

(2) District Environmental Health Section 

Educational meetings; 

(3) professional association courses and 

educational meetings; 

(4) seminars or courses offered by the North 

Carolina State of Practice Committee; 

(5) completion of a job related course offered by a 

college or university accredited by the Council 

of Higher Education Accreditation with the 

hours credited for the year that the course is 

completed; 

(6) successful completion of a job related course 

offered by the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, the Food and Drug Administration, 

or the Environmental Protection Agency; 

(7) other practice-related training which: 

(A) is technical in nature, related to the 

environment, environmental health or 

improving the practice of 

environmental health; 

(B) is relevant to the actual job being 

performed by the participants or 

applicant; 

(C) includes a method for determining the 

number of hours spent; 

(D) includes a method of documentation 

for verification of completion; 

(E) is available to all registered 

environmental health specialists and 

environmental health specialist 

interns; and 

(F) has been granted approval by the 

Board based on the above standards; 

and 

(g)  Registrations that have expired may be renewed within 12 

months after expiration upon submittal of application and 

payment of the renewal fee. The applicant shall provide 

verification to the Board that continuing education clock hours 

were obtained during the year since the expiration to comply with 

the requirements of this Section. Registrations that have expired 

for more than 12 months may not be renewed. 

(h)  Interns that are no longer employed in the field of 

environmental health in North Carolina may not renew. 

(i)  A registered environmental health specialist or a registered 

environmental health specialist intern in good standing whose 
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active military service has impaired their ability to obtain the 

continuing education requirements in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

are exempt from the continuing education requirement if written 

orders from their military unit are provided to the Board. In 

addition, the renewal fee is waived for each calendar year the 

environmental health specialist is on active duty. 

(j)  A registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist intern who is disabled may 

request a variance in continuing education hours during the period 

of the disability. The Board may grant or deny requests for 

variance in continuing education hours based on a disabling 

condition on a case by case basis, taking into consideration the 

particular disabling condition involved and its effect on the 

registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist's ability to complete the required 

hours. In considering the request, the Board may require 

additional documentation substantiating any specified disability. 

(k)  A maximum of five clock hours of approved continuing 

education, that is in excess of the required 15 clock hours, may be 

applied toward the continuing education requirements for the 

following year. A maximum of five clock hours of approved 

continuing education for the year ending December 31, 2020 may 

be applied toward the continuing education requirements for the 

following year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-57; 90A-63; 90A-67; 93B-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 22, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; April 

1, 1989; February 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0411 SPECIALIZED TRAINING 

Every applicant for registration as a registered environmental 

health specialist intern shall complete the course entitled 

"Orientation and Initial Internship Training for Environmental 

Health Interns" offered by the Division of Environmental Health 

at the centralized training site within 12 18 months of registration 

as a registered environmental health specialist intern. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-50; 90A-51; 90A-53; 

90A-57; 

Eff. February 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 64 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH 

AND LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND 

AUDIOLOGISTS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Examiners for Speech and 

Language Pathologists and Audiologists 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 64 .0108 and .1101-.1105 

 

Effective Date:  April 24, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 16, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  Additionally, it is in the public's best interest 

to expand the pool of healthcare providers, especially in settings 

where there are high risk individuals (nursing homes, assisted 

living facilities, etc.) and allow audiology assistants to perform 

limited tasks that are generally performed by audiologists.  This 

rule alleviates access to health care concerns during the COVID-

19 outbreak and promotes the public safety of patients. 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 64 .0108 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee submits a written request. The 

Board may also waive any rule in 21 NCAC 64 that is not 

statutorily required upon its own initiative. Factors the Board shall 

use in determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-304; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

SECTION .1100 - REQUIREMENTS FOR THE USE OF 

AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANTS IN DIRECT SERVICE 

DELIVERY 
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21 NCAC 64 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Board" means the North Carolina Board of Examiners for 

Speech and Language Pathologists and Audiologists. 

(b)  "Licensee" means an individual who holds a current 

permanent license in audiology from the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Speech and Language Pathologists and 

Audiologists. 

(1) "Primary Supervising Licensee" means the 

Licensee who supervises the majority of the 

Assistant's work, who is responsible for the 

Assistant's registration with the Board, and who 

bears the responsibility for all supervision 

requirements and notification responsibility to 

the Board of any changes in registration 

information. 

(2) "Secondary Supervising Licensee" means a 

Licensee who may supervise the Assistant in 

the absence of the Primary Supervising 

Licensee to cover variations in work hours. 

(c)  "Assistant" means an Audiology Assistant who is registered 

by a Primary Supervising Licensee with the Board. 

(d)  "Registration" means the process through which an Assistant 

is approved by the Board to work with a Licensee to provide 

services to the public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1102 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  For registration, Assistants must present: 

(1) Evidence of high school diploma or equivalent; 

and 

(2) Evidence of training provided by a supervising 

audiologist or education including specific 

instruction and demonstration of each task the 

assistant is to perform. 

(b)  Authority to approve the curriculum or the equivalent courses 

for audiology assistants is vested in the Board of Examiners. 

(c)  Assistants who conduct pure tone audiometry under general 

supervision by the licensee must have completed a board 

approved certificate program such as Certified Occupational 

Hearing Conservationists (COHC). 

(d)  A Licensee who is employed full-time (30 hours/week or 

more) may register to be primary supervisor of no more than two 

Assistants at any one time. A Licensee who is employed part-time 

(less than 30 hours/week) may register to supervise no more than 

one Assistant at any one time. The Primary Supervising Licensee 

shall be responsible for assuring compliance with the registration 

process, these rules, and with ethical standards. Secondary 

Supervising Licensees in the same practice may also supervise the 

Assistant, allowing for flexibility in scheduling. 

(e)  The Primary Supervising Licensee must keep the Board 

apprised of any changes in registration information. 

(1) Changes of supervising licensee(s) will require 

prior written approval of the Board and should 

be requested in writing at least 10 days prior to 

the effective date. 

(2) Changes that do not directly relate to patient 

care, such as change of address, must be 

reported to the Board in writing within 10 

business days of the effective change. 

(f)  The Primary Supervising Licensee shall remit to the Board an 

annual registration fee for the Assistant in an amount of forty 

dollars ($40.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1103 LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Licensees who register an Assistant must have held a current, 

permanent license in North Carolina for two years or equivalent 

qualifications from another state. Temporary license holders shall 

not register Assistants. 

(b)  Licensees who register an Assistant must demonstrate 

understanding of the basic elements of the registration and 

supervision process (scope of practice, ethics, written protocols, 

record keeping), and should satisfactorily complete a 

demonstration of knowledge and skills of tasks on the 

registration/supervision process. 

(c)  Licensees must submit the application and annual fee for 

registration of the Assistant to the Board. 

(d)  Licensees must assure that patients are informed when 

services are being provided by an Assistant and the Assistant must 

wear a badge that includes the job title: "Audiology Assistant." 

(e)  Tasks and duties that are within the scope of responsibilities 

for an Assistant are listed in Rules .1104 and .1105 of this Section. 

The standards for all patient services provided by the Assistant are 

the full responsibility of the Supervising Licensee and cannot be 

delegated. Therefore, the assignment of tasks and the amount and 

type of supervision must be determined by the Supervising 

Licensee to ensure quality of care considering: the skills of the 

Assistant, needs of the patient, the service-setting, the tasks 

assigned, and any other relevant factors. Before assigning 

treatment tasks to an Assistant, the Licensee must have first 

evaluated the patient files and developed a plan for the care and/or 

follow an established protocol. 

(f)  For every patient encounter (screening or treatment) in which 

an Assistant provides service, there must be documentation of the 

Assistant's services provided in the patient's medical record and 

co-signed by a Supervising Licensee 100 percent of the time. The 

Supervising Licensee has full responsibility for the accuracy and 

compliance of the documentation. These signed and dated patient 

encounter records must be retained as part of the patient's file for 

the time period specified in Rule .0209 of this Chapter and may 

be requested by the Board. 

(g)  The Board may do random audits of records to determine 

compliance with its rules. 

(h)  When patient services are being rendered by an Assistant, the 

Supervising Licensee must be accessible to the Assistant in order 

to assure that direct observation and supervision can occur when 

necessary. 

(i)  The Primary Supervising Licensee shall assess the Assistant's 

competencies during the initial 60 days of employment using a 

performance-based competency assessment. The completed 

assessment shall be submitted to the Board within 90 days of 

registration. A new competency assessment must be completed 

and filed within 90 days each time the Primary Supervising 

Licensee changes. 
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(j)  Any attempt to engage in those activities and responsibilities 

reserved solely for the Supervising Licensee shall be regarded as 

the unlicensed practice of Audiology. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1104 AUTHORIZED TASKS OF 

AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Direct Patient Services: 

(1) Obtaining partial or selected case history 

information from patients and/or families. 

(2) Administering audiologic screening protocols, 

as directed by the supervising audiologist. 

These screening procedures, including tests and 

checklists or parts of tests and checklists, will 

have the purpose of determining the need for 

further (diagnostic) testing by the supervising 

audiologist and must meet the following 

criteria: 

(A) Have unambiguous administration 

protocols and methods. 

(B) Consist of test items which require no 

more than a binary judgment (i.e., yes-

no, present-absent). 

(C) Require no more than a specifically-

elicited single response. 

(D) Require no clinical interpretation by 

the assistant. 

(3) Preparing or positioning patients for evaluation 

or treatment following specific guidelines of the 

supervising audiologist and of the facility. 

(4) Direct patient services for evaluation are not 

within the approved scope of responsibilities 

for assistants who are not Certified 

Occupational Hearing Conservationists 

(COHC). Audiology assistants who are not 

COHC may assist in the evaluation of both 

pediatric and adult patients, but only under the 

direct supervision of the supervising 

audiologist who is present in the room and 

attending to the assistant's activities 100 percent 

of the time. Audiology Assistants who are 

COHC may conduct unmasked pure-tone 

audiometry under general supervision by the 

licensee for adult patients. Direct patient 

services to children under the age of 21 years 

old are not within the approved scope of 

activities for assistants unless under the direct 

supervision of the supervising audiologist who 

is physically present in the room and attending 

to 100 percent of the assistant's activities. 

(5) Basic hearing device repair and trouble 

shooting. 

(6) Assistance with procedures related to the fitting 

and dispensing of hearing devices. 

(7) Instructing patients in care and use of devices 

dispensed by the supervising audiologist. 

(8) Providing services previously mentioned 

through telehealth to extend access to clinical 

care. 

(b)  Indirect Patient Services: 

(1) Respecting the rights and dignity of all 

individuals. 

(2) Reporting any workplace conduct which 

appears to be unethical or illegal to the 

supervising audiologist or to the Board of 

Examiners. 

(3) Requesting assistance from the supervising 

audiologist, as needed, in order to ensure 

continuous service quality. 

(4) Observing universal precautions and safety 

procedures. 

(5) Releasing patients only to the care of 

appropriate care-givers. 

(6) Participating in research activities as approved 

by the institution's Institutional Review Board 

and oversight committees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 64 .1105 SUPERVISION AND 

CONTINUING COMPETENCE REQUIREMENTS 

Discussing job expectations with the supervising audiologist(s) 

and having mutual understanding of job scope and specific 

responsibilities. 

(1) Participating in a specified amount of 

supervised training according to a written plan 

for all tests and clinical equipment which will 

be used for assessment and treatment. 

(2) Receiving regular, formal employment 

evaluations on a scheduled basis from the 

supervising audiologist(s) to assess one's 

performance, strengths, and weaknesses and to 

establish development goals for continuous 

performance improvement. 

(3) Requesting assistance, additional instruction, 

and/or additional supervision from the 

supervising audiologist, when needed. 

(4) Participating in various types of educational 

activities in order to enhance skill and 

knowledge, as assigned by the supervising 

audiologist. 

(5) Reading information assigned by the 

audiologist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-298.1; 90-304(a)(3); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 41A .0101 

 

Effective Date:  April 24, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  April 16, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A novel Coronavirus was identified as the 

cause of an emerging infectious disease outbreak in December 

2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. This novel Coronavirus 

causes respiratory illness ranging in severity from mild illness to 

death. As of March 23, 2020, over 340,000 confirmed cases and 

15,000 deaths had been reported from 173 countries, including 

the United States. The first U.S. case was reported in a traveler 

returning from Wuhan on January 21, 2020 in Washington State. 

As of March 23, over 30,000 cases had been reported in the U.S., 

and over 260 cases had been reported in North Carolina. The 

North Carolina Division of Public Health is working closely with 

the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to monitor 

and respond to this pandemic in North Carolina. No vaccine or 

specific treatment for this infection is available. It is imperative 

that public health authorities be rapidly notified when infections 

of novel coronavirus or deaths caused by novel coronavirus are 

suspected so that appropriate control and mitigation measures 

can be quickly implemented to prevent further spread. Rapid 

notification of suspected infections and deaths will increase the 

timeliness of testing, case identification, and implementation of 

control and mitigation measures to protect the public’s health. 

For this reason, pursuant to G.S. 130A-141.1, the State Health 

Director issued a Temporary Order requiring immediate 

reporting of novel coronavirus infections effective February 3, 

2020 and another Temporary Order requiring reporting of deaths 

due to novel coronavirus infection within 24 hours effective 

March 23, 2020. This temporary rule is needed to continue these 

reporting requirements while a permanent amendment is pursued. 

Immediate adoption of this temporary rule is required due to the 

serious and unforeseen threat posed by this infectious disease. 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable 

within the time period specified after the disease or condition is 

reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

‑ 24 hours; 

(2) anthrax ‑ immediately; 

(3) botulism ‑ immediately; 

(4) brucellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(5) campylobacter infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(6) Candida auris - 24 hours; 

(7) Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

(CRE) – 24 hours; 

(8) chancroid ‑ 24 hours; 

(9) chikungunya virus infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(10) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) ‑ 7 

days; 

(11) cholera ‑ 24 hours; 

(12) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 

(13) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 

(14) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(15) dengue ‑ 7 days; 

(16) diphtheria ‑ 24 hours; 

(17) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing ‑ 24 

hours; 

(18) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(19) encephalitis, arboviral ‑ 7 days; 

(20) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes ‑ 24 hours; 

(21) gonorrhea ‑ 24 hours; 

(22) granuloma inguinale ‑ 24 hours; 

(23) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease ‑ 24 

hours; 

(24) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(25) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(26) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(27) hepatitis A ‑ 24 hours; 

(28) hepatitis B ‑ 24 hours; 

(29) hepatitis B carriage ‑ 7 days; 

(30) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(31) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed ‑ 24 hours; 

(32) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(33) legionellosis ‑ 7 days; 
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(34) leprosy – 7 days; 

(35) leptospirosis ‑ 7 days; 

(36) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(37) Lyme disease ‑ 7 days; 

(38) Lymphogranuloma venereum ‑ 7 days; 

(39) malaria ‑ 7 days; 

(40) measles (rubeola) ‑ 24 hours; 

(41) meningitis, pneumococcal ‑ 7 days; 

(42) meningococcal disease ‑ 24 hours; 

(43) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) ‑ 24 

hours; 

(44) monkeypox – 24 hours; 

(45) mumps ‑ 7 days; 

(46) nongonococcal urethritis ‑ 7 days; 

(47) novel coronavirus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(48) novel coronavirus infection – immediately; 

(47)(49) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(48)(50) plague ‑ immediately; 

(49)(51) paralytic poliomyelitis ‑ 24 hours; 

(50)(52) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(51)(53) psittacosis ‑ 7 days; 

(52)(54) Q fever ‑ 7 days; 

(53)(55) rabies, human ‑ 24 hours; 

(54)(56) Rocky Mountain spotted fever ‑ 7 days; 

(55)(57) rubella ‑ 24 hours; 

(56)(58) rubella congenital syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(57)(59) salmonellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(58)(60) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 24 

hours; 

(59)(61) shigellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(60)(62) smallpox ‑ immediately; 

(61)(63) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 

(62)(64) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease ‑ 7 days; 

(63)(65) syphilis ‑ 24 hours; 

(64)(66) tetanus ‑ 7 days; 

(65)(67) toxic shock syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(66)(68) trichinosis ‑ 7 days; 

(67)(69) tuberculosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(68)(70) tularemia – immediately; 

(69)(71) typhoid ‑ 24 hours; 

(70)(72) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) ‑ 7 days; 

(71)(73) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) ‑ 7 days; 

(72)(74) vaccinia – 24 hours; 

(73)(75) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 hours; 

(74)(76) whooping cough – 24 hours; and 

(75)(77) yellow fever ‑ 7 days. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive 

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing 

method approved by the Director of the State Public Health 

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting 

additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory 

reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever 

virus. 

(B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(C) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(D) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(E) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(F) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(G) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 

(H) Candida auris. 

(I) Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). 

(J) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 

conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) and 

pneumonia of newborns. 

(K) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(L) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(M) Coronavirus, novel human strain. 

(N)(M) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(O)(N) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever. 

(P)(O) Cryptosporidium parvum, the cause of 

human cryptosporidiosis. 

(Q)(P) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(R)(Q) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(S)(R) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(T)(S) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(U)(T) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 
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(V)(U) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 

(W)(V) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(X)(W) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(Y)(X) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(Z)(Y) Middle East respiratory syndrome 

virus. 

(AA)(Z) Monkeypox. 

(BB)(AA) Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(CC)(BB) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(DD)(CC) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(EE)(DD) Rabies virus. 

(FF)(EE) Rickettsia rickettsii, the cause of 

Rocky Mountain spotted fever. 

(GG)(FF) Rubella virus. 

(HH)(GG) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(II)(HH) Shigella spp., the causes of shigellosis. 

(JJ)(II) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox. 

(KK)(JJ) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vanomycin. 

(LL)(KK) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(MM)(LL) Vaccinia virus. 

(NN)(MM) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera 

and other vibrioses. 

(OO)(NN) Yellow fever virus. 

(PP)(OO)Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 

(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne viruses 

associated with meningitis or 

encephalitis in a human. 

(ii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause 

of psittacosis. 

(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(v) Dengue virus. 

(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(viii) Mumps virus. 

(ix) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(x) Rubella virus. 

(xi) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies 

to: 

(i) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(ii) Hepatitis A virus. 

(iii) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(iv) Rubella virus. 

(v) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(vi) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

(5) Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen 

associated with either infection or colonization, 

including all susceptibility results and all 

phenotypic or molecular test results. 

(d)  Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) 

shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule: 

(1) All positive laboratory results from tests used to 

diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection, 

including the following: 

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests 

(including the test specific signal to 

cut-off (s/c) ratio); 

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests; 

(C) Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and 

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests. 

(2) All HIV genotypic test results, including when 

available: 

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or 

(B) The pol region sequence (including all 

regions: protease (PR)/reverse 

transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI) 

genes, if available). 

(e)  For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as: 

(1) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

positive for a known carbapenemase resistance 

mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for 

carbapenemase production; or 

(2) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of 

carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or 

phenotypic testing for carbapenemase 

production. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 
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Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 2002; 

February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; October 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. February 17, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 16, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 
 May 21, 2020 June 18, 2020 
 July 16, 2020                      August 20, 2020 

 

 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

April 16, 2020 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, April 16, 2020 in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via telephone. The Commissioners held a telephonic meeting to ensure 
compliance with Executive Order 121, other orders limiting mass gatherings, and to encourage social distancing. 
 
Commissioner Jeff Hyde was present in the Commission Room, and Commissioners present via teleconference were 
Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Brian LiVecchi, Paul 
Powell, and Tommy Tucker.  
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Alex Burgos. Amber 
Cronk May, Commission Counsel, was present via teleconference. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty 
to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the March 19, 2020 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Structural Pest Control Committee 
02 NCAC 34 .0302, .0309, .0328, .0331, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0602, .0703, and .1206 - The 
agency is addressing the request for technical changes from the March meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
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Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 
07 NCAC 13F .0202 was unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Elections 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13F .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212; and 13G .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212, and .0213 - The agency 
is addressing the request for technical changes from the March meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required 
by the Commission. 
 
Department of Insurance 
11 NCAC 04 .0418 was unanimously approved. 
 
Department of Insurance 
11 NCAC 12 .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504, .1505, .1506, .1507, .1508, .1509, .1803 were unanimously approved.   
 
The Commission objected to 11 NCAC 12 .0321 for lack of clarity. Line 5 cross-references a repealed rule. The Rule 
also uses the undefined terms “excessive,” “inadequate” and “unfairly discriminatory” as well as the phrase “data 
deemed necessary by the commissioner.”   
 
The Commission also objected to 11 NCAC 12 .0514 for lack of clarity. The Rule is unclear for reasons detailed in the 
staff opinion, including multiple versions and meanings of the word “plan.” It is also unclear whether “the order of 
benefit determination rules” refer to Item (3) of the Rule or Sub-item (3)(b) of the Rule. The Rule also uses the following 
undefined terms: “school accident-type coverage” at line 21; “parts” at line 29; “necessary, reasonable, and customary” 
at page 2, line 1; “services” at page 2, line 3; and “necessary medical expenses” at page 2, line 5.   

 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H 
.0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, 
.0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, 
.1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, and .1206 were unanimously approved.   
 
Sedimentation Control Commission 
15A NCAC 04C .0103 and .0106 - The agency is addressing the objections from the March meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Psychology Board 
21 NCAC 54 .2006 and .2008 were unanimously approved. 
 
Building Code Council  
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – 
At the November meeting, the Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget and 
Management to determine if the above-referenced rules have a substantial economic impact and therefore require a 
fiscal note. A response to this request pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 will assist the Commission in determining whether 
the agency adopted the rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. OSBM has not formally responded 
to this request. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
These Rules will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the 
agency pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
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LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
State Board of Elections  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Elections, Commissioner LiVecchi recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because as an attorney in private practice, he routinely 
represents clients before the State Board of Elections in conjunction with matters directly related to the matter before 
the RRC. 
     
Department of Insurance  
11 NCAC 08 .0203 was unanimously approved. 
 
Private Protective Services Board  
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .0109 and .0704 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. 
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .0109 for lack of clarity and necessity. Specifically, the rule was unclear 
as written as to which of the OAH rules, which were incorporated by the rule, will be used by the agency.  In addition, 
the rule incorporated by reference OAH rule publication rules, which were already binding upon the agency. Therefore, 
that part of the rule was unnecessary.  
 
The Commission objected to 14B NCAC 16 .0704 for lack of statutory authority and ambiguity.  Specifically, the 
Commission found that the use of the term “administrator” throughout the rule was ambiguous, as changes to G.S. 
74C through Session Law 2001-487 established a new position of “Director” and it does not appear that the 
administrator position exists anymore.  
 
In addition, Paragraph (a) of the rule states that there shall be “such further investigation of the applicant as deemed 
necessary.”  The rule does not say who will deem the investigation necessary, nor how the necessity will be 
determined. The Commission found that this language was ambiguous.  
 
In Paragraph (b), the rule states that any denial of the registration by the administrator will be subject to review of the 
Board.  However, G.S. 74C-12 states that any denial of an application will be made by the Board.  The agency did not 
cite to any authority for the administrator to issue a denial such that it is reviewable by the Board, nor any authority of 
the Board to delegate this decision. Therefore, the Commission found that the agency lacks statutory authority for this 
Paragraph.  
 
Marine Fisheries Commission  
All rules were unanimously approved.   
 
15A NCAC 03M .0509 and 03O .0108 are automatically subject to legislative review by S.L. 2019-198.  The 
Commission also received over 10 letters of objection to 15A NCAC 03M .0509.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, these 
Rules are subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date. 

 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection to 15A NCAC 10B .0201. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3, this Rule 
is now subject to legislative review and a delayed effective date. 
 
Auctioneer Licensing Board  
The Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 04B .0101, .0102, .0103,.0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, 
.0301, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, 
.0701, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815, .0816, 
.0817, .0818, and .0819  in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the 
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Auctioneer Licensing Board to extend the period in order to allow the agency to address the requested technical 
changes and submit the revised rules at a later meeting. 
 
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions:  
 
21 NCAC 50 .0505 and .1101 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. 
 
Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors  
The Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0304, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, .0804, 
.0902, .1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, and .1607 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to 
a request from the Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors to extend the period in order to allow the agency 
to address the requested technical changes and submit the revised rules at a later meeting. 
 
Appraisal Board  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Commission for Public Health  
10A NCAC 41A .0101 was unanimously approved. 
 
Department of State Treasurer 
20 NCAC 01I .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, and .0105 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW             
DHHS/Division of Adult and Aging Services  
04 NCAC 19O - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later 
than December 31, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting adjourned at 9:34 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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Telephonic Attendees 

 
Mariah Street, DNCR 
Kelly Tornow, Board of Elections 
Lindsey Wakely, Board of Elections 
Nadine Pfeiffer, DHHS/ DHSR 
Ibtisam Zatari,  DHSR 
Tichina Hamer, DHSR 
Cynthia Speight, Services for the Blind 
John Hoomani, Department of Insurance 
Ted Hamby, Department of Insurance 
Robert Croom, Assistant Attorney General 
Kathy Shortt, Department of Insurance 
Loretta Peace‐Bunch, Department of Insurance 
Jennifer Everett, Department of Environmental Quality 
Mike Templeton, Division of Water Resources 
Sondra Panico, Assistant Attorney General 
Dan Collins, Psychology Board 
Carl Martin, Office of State Fire Marshal 
Jeff Gray, Private Protective Services Board 
Catherine Blum, Division of Marine Fisheries 
John Batherson, Department of Enviromental and Natural Resources 
Shawn Maier, Department of Justice  
Carrie Ruhlman, Wildlife Resources  
Michael Smallwood, Wildlife Resources 
Charlie Diehl, Auctioneers Iicensing Board 
Deborah Ragan, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 
Kathy Arney, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 
David Gadd, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 
Don Rodgers, Appraisal Board 
Virginia Niehaus, Division of Public Health 
Kirsten Leloudis, Division of Public Health 
Carl Williams, DHHS 
John Barkley, Department of Justice 
Misty Piekarr‐McWilliams, Division of Aging & Adult Services 
Laura Rowe, Office of the State Treasurer 
Regina Adams, DES 
Barry Gupton, DOI/ Building Code Council 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

April 16, 2020 Meeting 

 
NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Criteria for Designation 07 NCAC 13F .0202 

 
ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Best Efforts 08 NCAC 21 .0101 

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 08 NCAC 21 .0102 

Reporting of Special Contributions 08 NCAC 21 .0103 

Reporting of Electioneering Communications 08 NCAC 21 .0104 

Federal Political Committee Reporting 08 NCAC 21 .0105 

Electronic Filing 08 NCAC 21 .0106 

Procedures for Political and Referendum Committees 08 NCAC 21 .0201 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Total Losses on Motor Vehicles 11 NCAC 04 .0418 

Building Code Publications: General Information 11 NCAC 08 .0203 

Definitions 11 NCAC 12 .1501 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1450 (UB92) 11 NCAC 12 .1502 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1500 11 NCAC 12 .1503 

Requirements for Use of the Current ADA Dental Claim Form 11 NCAC 12 .1504 

Managed Care Forms 11 NCAC 12 .1505 

Electronic Format Standards 11 NCAC 12 .1506 

Attachment Form or Format 11 NCAC 12 .1507 

Medicare Supplement Payors 11 NCAC 12 .1508 

Patient Submitted Claim Forms 11 NCAC 12 .1509 

General Requirements 11 NCAC 12 .1803 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Purpose 14B NCAC 16 .0101 

Location 14B NCAC 16 .0102 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .0103 

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .0104 

Prohibited Acts 14B NCAC 16 .0105 

Disciplinary Actions 14B NCAC 16 .0106 

Law Enforcement Officers Special Provisions 14B NCAC 16 .0107 

Records 14B NCAC 16 .0108 

Change of Address or Telephone Number 14B NCAC 16 .0111 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 14B NCAC 16 .0112 

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 14B NCAC 16 .0113 

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0204 

Experience Requirements/Security Guard and Patrol License 14B NCAC 16 .0301 

Experience Requirements for Guard Dog Service License 14B NCAC 16 .0302 

Experience Requirements for a Private Investigator License 14B NCAC 16 .0401 

Experience Requirements for a Counterintelligence License 14B NCAC 16 .0402 
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Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403 

Reports 14B NCAC 16 .0404 

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 14B NCAC 16 .0405 

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 14B NCAC 16 .0501 

Polygraph Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0503 

Polygraph Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0504 

Experience Requirements for a Psychological Stress Evalua... 14B NCAC 16 .0601 

P.S.E. Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0602 

P.S.E. Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0603 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0703 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707 

Minimum Stds/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Pe... 14B NCAC 16 .0803 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Scope 15A NCAC 02B .0402 

Definition of Terms 15A NCAC 02B .0403 

Water Quality Based Effluent Limitations 15A NCAC 02B .0404 

Technology Based Effluent Limitations 15A NCAC 02B .0406 

Guidance for Determining a New Source 15A NCAC 02B .0407 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02B .0408 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02B .0501 

Scope 15A NCAC 02B .0502 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0503 

Classification of Waste Resources 15A NCAC 02B .0504 

Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 02B .0505 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02B .0506 

Tests and Measurements Applicable to Sics 15A NCAC 02B .0508 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02B .0511 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .0101 

Scope 15A NCAC 02H .0102 

Deifintion of Terms 15A NCAC 02H .0103 

Application: Permit Fees: Assessment for New Sources 15A NCAC 02H .0105 

Filing Applications 15A NCAC 02H .0106 

Staff Review and Evaluation 15A NCAC 02H .0107 

Fact Sheets 15A NCAC 02H .0108 

Public Notice 15A NCAC 02H .0109 

Public Hearings 15A NCAC 02H .0111 

Final Action on Permit Applications 15A NCAC 02H .0112 

Notification of Applicants 15A NCAC 02H .0113 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0114 

Public Access to Records 15A NCAC 02H .0115 

Emergency Procedures 15A NCAC 02H .0116 

Investigations: Monitoring: and Reporting 15A NCAC 02H .0117 

Effluent Limitations and Standards 15A NCAC 02H .0118 

Limitation on Delegation 15A NCAC 02H .0120 

Suspension of Requirement for State NPDES Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0121 

Reliability 15A NCAC 02H .0124 

Permit Requirements for Peat Mining 15A NCAC 02H .0125 
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General Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0127 

Authorization to Construct Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0138 

Minimum Design Requirements 15A NCAC 02H .0139 

Certification of Completion 15A NCAC 02H .0140 

Operational Agreements 15A NCAC 02H .0141 

Use/Wastewater Trtmnt Works Emgcy Main: Oper/Repair Fund 15A NCAC 02H .0142 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 02H .0143 

Statement of Policy 15A NCAC 02H .0401 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02H .0402 

Definition of Coastal Areas 15A NCAC 02H .0403 

Facility Location and Design 15A NCAC 02H .0404 

Privately Owned Installations 15A NCAC 02H .0405 

Publicly Owned Sewerage Facilities 15A NCAC 02H .0406 

Exceptions from Requirements 15A NCAC 02H .0407 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .1201 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02H .1202 

Public Notice 15A NCAC 02H .1203 

Final Action on Special Orders by Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1204 

Action on Special Orders Issued without Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1205 

Water Quality Special Orders by Consent 15A NCAC 02H .1206 

 
MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Tarpon 15A NCAC 03M .0509 

License and Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration Transfers 15A NCAC 03O .0108 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Big Game Harvest Reports 15A NCAC 10B .0113 

Prohibited Taking and Manner of Take 15A NCAC 10B .0201 

Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203 

American Alligator 15A NCAC 10B .0224 

Bullfrogs 15A NCAC 10B .0226 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Transportation of Live Fish 15A NCAC 10C .0209 

Possession of Certain Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0211 

Inland Game Fishes Designated 15A NCAC 10C .0301 

Largemouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0305 

Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306 

Kokanee Salmon 15A NCAC 10C .0308 

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Trout 15A NCAC 10C .0316 

Smallmouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0321 

Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0322 

Redeye Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0323 

Catfish 15A NCAC 10C .0324 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401 

General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102 

Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 15A NCAC 10D .0105 
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Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327 

Currituck County 15A NCAC 10F .0340 

 
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Licenses by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48B .0102 

Licenses by Examination 21 NCAC 48B .0103 

Schedule and Location of Examination 21 NCAC 48D .0102 

Filing Application 21 NCAC 48E .0101 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Examination 21 NCAC 48E .0110 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48E .0111 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Endorsement ... 21 NCAC 48E .0112 

Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Exam Applicant 21 NCAC 48E .0510 

Continuing Competence Activities 21 NCAC 48G .0109 

Notification 21 NCAC 48G .0202 

Complaints and Investigations 21 NCAC 48G .0504 

 
PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

Qualifications Determined by Examination 21 NCAC 50 .0301 

Applications: Issuance of License 21 NCAC 50 .0306 

Responsibilities of State and Local Government Technician... 21 NCAC 50 .0313 

Private Educational Institution Plumbing or Heating Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0314 

Responsibilities of Private Educational Institution Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0315 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor License 21 NCAC 50 .0316 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor Licensees 21 NCAC 50 .0317 

Multiple Licenses 21 NCAC 50 .0405 

Corporations, Partnerships and Trade Names 21 NCAC 50 .0407 

Change of Trade Name 21 NCAC 50 .0408 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design License 21 NCAC 50 .0519 

License Fees 21 NCAC 50 .1102 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 50 .1106 

 
PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

Psychological Associate Activities 21 NCAC 54 .2006 

Psychological Associate 21 NCAC 54 .2008 

 
APPRAISAL BOARD 

Qualifications for Trainee Registration and Appraiser Lic... 21 NCAC 57A .0201 

Temporary Practice 21 NCAC 57A .0210 

Applicants Certified in Another State 21 NCAC 57A .0211 

Time and Place 21 NCAC 57A .0301 

Subject Matter and Passing Scores 21 NCAC 57A .0302 

Examination Reveiw 21 NCAC 57A .0306 

Change of Name or Address 21 NCAC 57A .0404 

Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407 

Appraisal Management Companies 21 NCAC 57A .0410 

Experience Credit to Upgrade 21 NCAC 57A .0601 

Registered Trainee Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0101 

Licensed Residential and Certified Residential Real Estat... 21 NCAC 57B .0102 
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Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0103 

Course Content 21 NCAC 57B .0302 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 57B .0304 

Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306 

Criteria for Course Recognition 21 NCAC 57B .0307 

Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606 

Payment of Fee Required by G.S. 93E-1-7(b1) 21 NCAC 57B .0613 

Instructors for the Trainee/Supervisor Course Required by... 21 NCAC 57B .0614 

Form of Complaints and Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 57C .0101 

Form 21 NCAC 57D .0101 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

April 16, 2020 Meeting 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 BOE 01535 1/7/2020; 

1/14/2020 

The People for Rev. 

Joseph L Irving  

v. State Board of Elections and Ethics 

Enforcement 

May 

19 BOE 02435 1/24/2020 Robert Jameson v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 DHR 00943 5/21/2019; 

1/9/2020 

Central Family Care 

Home Dr Thelma B 

Brown 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02817 1/16/2020 Perkins Professional 

Daycare Inc 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

19 DHR 05406 1/28/2020 New Horizon Group 

Home LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Lassiter 

        

19 DOJ 00322 1/27/2020 Kenneth M Tanguay v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 01621 1/23/2020 Matthew Bounds v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 01622 1/30/2020 Joshua Orion David v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

19 DOJ 02498 1/23/2020 Justin T Combs v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 02985 1/6/2020 Thomas Council v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 03862 1/21/2020 Andre D Green Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 INS 02486 1/3/2020 Candace Heer v. State Health Plan May 

19 INS 03891 1/13/2020 Donna Thomas 

Tedder 

v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan Bawtinhimer 
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18 OSP 02258 1/6/2020 Jodette Dorene Hall v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 03469 1/27/2020 Alejandro Asbun v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 OSP 03472 11/18/2019; 

1/2/2020 

Rex A Draughon v. NCDPS Adult Corrections and Juvenile 

Justice 

Overby 

19 OSP 04414 1/29/2020 Tiffany Efird v. NC DOT/ DMV Bawtinhimer 

        

    Unpublished    

19 BAR 06047 1/13/2020 Kelvin D Exum v. The North Carolina State Bar Overby 

        

19 BOE 04976 1/10/2020 Barbara Dantonio v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 CPS 03805 1/7/2020 Christene Callihan v. Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 CPS 05739 1/7/2020 Larry Richard 

Moore 

v. Public Safety operating as North 

Carolina State Highway Patrol 

Sutton 

19 CPS 06274 1/16/2020 Courtney King v. NC Crime Victims Comp Commission Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 03117 1/2/2020 Andrelle Wiley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 05599 1/16/2020 Eron Thomas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05671 1/7/2020 Tesha M Mangum v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 05693 1/23/2020 Ascencion 

Escamilla 

Rodriguez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05799 1/16/2020 Charles Pettus v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05856 1/30/2020 Antonio Mock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05921 1/13/2020 Damian D Liles v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05928 1/23/2020 Allyson Lucia 

Chavis 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

19 CSE 05963 1/30/2020 Dwain Evans v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05971 1/14/2020 Thomas A Miller v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06058 1/16/2020 Lincoln Hardrick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06122 1/15/2020 Gregory E Dwyer v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 06127 1/13/2020 Claude Sanders v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06330 1/14/2020 Christine L Barnes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06606 1/22/2020 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 04290 1/10/2020 Lynetta J Givens v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

        

19 DHR 04623 1/28/2020 Loretta Buckley 

Malakie 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 05200 1/3/2020 Antonio Ray Davis v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 05205 1/10/2020 Onslow Pines Rest 

Home 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Services 

(DHSR) 

Mann 

19 DHR 05871 1/17/2020 LifeQuest 

Disabilities Services 

Inc Jane Williams 

v. Trillium Health Resources Lassiter 

19 DHR 05911 1/22/2020 Teketa Pemberton v. DHHS May 

19 DHR 05962 1/22/2020 Nicole Richardson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 06006 1/7/2020 Lalee Lee v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 06383 1/7/2020 Lewis E Williams v. DHHS Ms Lisa G Corbett General 

Counsel 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06419 1/29/2020 Gaston Residential 

Services Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06446 1/21/2020 Kiayanis Harris v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06567 1/23/2020 Sylvia Corry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06942 1/30/2020 Valerie R Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DOJ 02330 1/2/2020 Demonte 

Dominique Shaw 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DST 05116 1/17/2020 Michael Bagala 

A/K/A Bernard C 

Wijesingha 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Jacobs 

        

19 OSP 05895 1/28/2020 Charles A Wooten v. Cherry Hospital 1403 W Ash St 

Goldsboro NC (DHHS) 

Overby 

        

 




