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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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PUBLIC NOTICE 

 

The ABC Commission has cancelled the public hearing on the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules scheduled for May 13, 2020 

at 10:00 a.m. at the ABC Commission Office at 400 E. Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610. The public hearing on these rules is rescheduled 

for June 10, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. at the same location. The public comment period for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, 

which currently runs through June 1, 2020, will be extended until June 10, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 

 

The proposed rules for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, 14B NCAC 15C .1301, .1303 - .1305 and .1307, were published 

in North Carolina Register, Volume 34, Issue 19, page 1773 on April 1, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32M 

.0117. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 30, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To add SOPI Report C to assist 

with identifying problematic prescribing practices. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lynne Taylor, 1203 Front 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 326-1109 ext. 237; email 

lynne.taylor@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0117 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing ("Board of Nursing")("Board") information regarding the 

prescribing practices of those nurse practitioners ("prescribers") 

whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 MMEs per patient per day in 

combination with any benzodiazepine and who 

are within the top one percent of all controlled 

substance prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board of 

Nursing information regarding prescribers who have had two or 

more patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid 

poisoning where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets 

of an opioid to the decedent and the prescriptions were written 

within 60 days of the patient deaths. 

(c)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the 

following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each 

criterion: 

(1) at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients 

receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater 

from the prescriber's practice location; 

(2) the prescriber had more than 25 percent of 

patients receiving the same opioids and 

benzodiazepine combination; 

(3) the prescriber had 75 percent of patients 

receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions; 

(4) the prescriber had 90 percent or more of 

patients in a three-month period that received 

an opioid prescription that overlapped with 

another opioid prescription for at least one 

week; 

(5) more than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients 

received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater 

per day excluding office-based treatment 

medications; and 

(6) the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients 

who used three or more pharmacies within a 

three-month period to obtain opioids regardless 

of the prescriber. 
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(d)  The Department may submit these reports to the Board of 

Nursing upon request and may include the information described 

in G.S. 90-113.73(b). 

(e)  The reports and communications between the Department and 

the Board of Nursing shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 

90-16 and G.S. 90-113.74. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-113.74. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32R 

.0102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 30, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To clarify interprofessional 

continuing education approved by the Joint Accreditation for 

Interprofessional Continuing Education qualifies for CME credit. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lynne Taylor, 1203 Front 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 326-1109 ext. 237; email 

lynne.taylor@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32R – CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION (CME) REQUIREMENTS 

 

SECTION .0100 – CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION 

(CME) REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0102 APPROVED CATEGORIES OF 

CME 

(a)  Category 1 CME providers are: 

(1) Institutions or organizations accredited by the 

Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME) and reciprocating 

organizations; 

(2) The American Osteopathic Association (AOA); 

(3) A state medical society or association; 

(4) The American Medical Association (AMA); 

and 

(5) Specialty boards accredited by the American 

Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the 

AOA or Royal College of Physicians and 

Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC). (RCPSC); and 

(6) The Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional 

Continuing Education. 

(b)  Category 1 CME education shall be presented, offered, or 

accredited by a Category 1 provider as defined above and shall 

include: 

(1) Educational courses; 

(2) Scientific or clinical presentations or 

publications; 

(3) Printed, recorded, audio, video, online or 

electronic educational materials for which 

CME credits are awarded by the publisher; 

(4) Journal-based CME activities within a peer-

reviewed, professional journal; 

(4)(5) Skill development; 

(5)(6) Performance improvement activities; or 

(6) Journal-based CME activities within a peer-

reviewed, professional journal. 

(7) Interprofessional continuing education. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3)(9) and (10); G.S. 90-14(a)(15). 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Commerce/Division of 

Employment Security 

 

Rule Citation:  04 NCAC 24G .0101-.0103 

 

Effective Date:  April 14, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 3, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  Emergency rules are needed because of a 

serious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety, and 

welfare recent act of the U.S. Congress with the passage of the 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, 

Division D, 1402 (2020), Executive Order No. 118 issued by 

Governor Roy Cooper on March 17, 2020; and guidance from the 

U.S. Department of Labor in Unemployment Insurance Program 

Letter (UIPL) Nos. 13-20 (issued March 22, 2020) and 10-20 

(issued March 12, 2020). 

 

On March 10, 2020 the Governor of North Carolina Issued 

Executive Order No. 116 and declared a state of emergency to 

coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help 

prevent the spread of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), a 

respiratory disease that results from the coronavirus.  COVID-19 

can result in serious illness or death. 

 

On March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization declared the 

coronavirus an international pandemic.  The World Health 

Organization, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency. 

 

On March 17, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina issued 

Executive Order No. 118 and directed the Secretary of Commerce 

and Assistant Secretary for the Division of Employment Security 

to ensure that individuals who are separated from employment, 

had hours reduced, or are prevented from working due to a 

medical condition caused by COVID-19 or due to communicable 

disease control measures are eligible for unemployment benefits 

to the maximum amount permitted by federal law. 

 

On March 18, 2020 the President of the United States signed the 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act (Pub. 1 116-127).  The 

legislation makes emergency supplemental appropriations in 

response to the spread of COVID19 and includes the Emergency 

Unemployment Insurance Stabilization and Access Act of 2020 

(EUISAA) at Division D EUISAA sets for the requirements for 

emergency administrative grants to states and authorizes 

emergency flexibility allowing states to temporarily modify 

certain aspects of their unemployment compensation laws, a 

short-term waiver of interest on state trust fund advances, and full 

federal funding during extended benefit periods through 

December 31, 2020. 

 

CHAPTER 24 – EMPLOYMENT SECURITY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 24G – UNEMPLOYMENT 

COMPENSATION DUE TO PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY OR DISASTER DECLARATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 

DUE TO CORONAVIRUS AND COVID-19 

 

04 NCAC 24G .0101 TEMPORARY WAIVER OF 

CERTAIN ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  DES shall temporarily waive certain eligibility requirements 

for unemployment insurance benefits. 

(b)  The temporary waiver of these requirements shall apply only 

to claims filed for the period of and pertaining to the declared 

coronavirus and COVID-19 public health emergency as set forth 

in Executive Order No. 118 issued on March 17, 2020. 

(c)  DES shall temporarily waive: 

(1) the requirement of a one week waiting period in 

G.S. 96-14.1(b); 

(2) the work search requirements set forth in G.S. 

96-14.9(b); 

(3) the requirement for an individual to actively 

seek work pursuant to G.S. 96-14.9(e); and 

(4) the lack of work requirements of the 

unemployed provisions of G.S. 96-

15.01(b)(2)(a). 

(d)  DES shall postpone all mandatory in-person contact with 

individuals seeking unemployment benefits. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-14.1; 96-14.9; 96-

15.01; 166A-19.30; 20 C.F.R. 604.4; Families First Coronavirus 

Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, Division D, 1402 (2020); E.O. 

118, Governor Roy Cooper, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24G .0102 NOTICE THAT EMPLOYERS 

MUST GIVE TO EMPLOYEES AS A RESULT OF 

CORONAVIRUS 

Employers shall provide employees with notice of the availability 

of unemployment compensation at the time of separation from 

employment. The notice shall inform employees of the following: 

(1) Unemployment insurance benefits are available 

to workers who are unemployed and who meet 

the State's eligibility requirements; 
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(2) Employees may file a claim in the first week 

that employment stops, or work hours are 

reduced; 

(3) Employees may file claims online at des.nc.gov 

or by telephone to (888) 737-0259. 

(4) Employees must provide DES with the 

following information for DES to process the 

claim: 

(a) full legal name; 

(b) social security number; and 

(c) authorization to work (if the employee 

is not a U.S. citizen or resident). 

(5) Employees may contact DES at (888) 737-0259 

and select the appropriate menu option for 

assistance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 166A-19.30; Families 

First Coronavirus Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, Division 

D, 1402 (2020); E.O. 118, Governor Roy Cooper, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020. 

 

04 NCAC 24G .0103 TEMPORARY WAIVER OF 

BENEFIT CHARGES TO EMPLOYER ACCOUNTS 

(a)  DES shall temporarily waive the charging of benefit payments 

to employer accounts as required by State or federal law. 

(b)  The temporary waiver of these benefit charges shall apply 

only to claims filed for the period of and pertaining to the declared 

coronavirus and COVID-19 public health emergency as set forth 

in Executive Order No. 118 issued on March 17, 2020. 

(c)  DES shall temporarily suspend the requirements of 04 NCAC 

24D .0102(a)(9) and (10). 

(d)  DES shall temporarily suspend the requirements of 04 NCAC 

24D .0103. 

(e)  DES shall temporarily suspend the requirements of 04 NCAC 

24D .0105. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 166A-19.30; Families 

First Coronavirus Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, Division 

D, 1402 (2020); E.O. 118, Governor Roy Cooper, 2020; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Care Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 13O .0301 

 

Effective Date:  April 20, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 9, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The World Health Organization, the Center for Disease 

Control and Prevention, and the United States Department of 

Health and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public 

health threat and emergency.  In conjunction with government 

guidance, on March 16, 2020, the state-approved vendor Pearson 

VUE, suspended all nurse aid testing in North Carolina until 

conditions are deemed safe to re-open.  In order to assist in the 

healthcare workforce and the citizens of North Carolina who need 

medical care, the Division of Health Service Regulation seeks to 

amend 10A NCAC 13O .0301 under emergency procedures by 

requesting reciprocity for out-of-state nurse aides who are active 

and in good standing on another state's Nurse Aide I Registry. 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13O – HEALTHCARE PERSONNEL 

REGISTRY 

 

SECTION .0300 - NURSE AIDE I REGISTRY 

 

10A NCAC 13O .0301 NURSE AIDE I TRAINING AND 

COMPETENCY EVALUATION 

(a)  To be eligible to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

the Health Care Personnel Education and Credentialing Section, 

a person shall shall: 

(1) pass a Nurse Aide I training program approved 

by the Department in accordance with 42 CFR 

Part 483.151 through Part 483.152 and the State 

of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam. exam; or 

(2) apply to the Department for approval to be 

listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry by 

reciprocity transfer of a nurse aide certification 

or registration from another State to North 

Carolina. 

(b)  In applying for reciprocity transfer of a nurse aide certification 

or registration to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide I Registry 

pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the applicant shall 

meet the following criteria: 

(1) submit a completed application to the 

Department that includes the following: 

(A) first, middle, and last name; 

(B) the applicant's prior name(s), if any; 

(C) mother's maiden name; 

(D) gender; 

(E) social security number; 

(F) date of birth; 

(G) mailing address; 

(H) email address; 

(I) home telephone number; 

(J) any other State registries of nurse 

aides upon which the applicant is 

listed; 

(K) certification or registration numbers 

for any State nurse aide registries 

identified in Part (b)(1)(J) of this Rule; 

(L) original issue dates for any 

certifications or registrations 
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identified in Part (b)(1)(K) of this 

Rule; 

(M) expiration dates for any certifications 

or registrations identified in Part 

(b)(1)(K) of this Rule; 

(N) training program name(s); 

(O) training program locations(s); 

(P) training program completion date(s) 

with a passing score; and 

(Q) employment history; 

(2) provide documentation verifying that his or her 

registry listing is active and in good standing in 

the State(s) of transfer, dated no older than 30 

calendar days prior to the date the application is 

received by the Department; and 

(3) provide a copy of his or her Social Security card 

and a valid government-issued identification 

containing a photograph and signature. 

(c)  For the applicant to be approved for reciprocity transfer of a 

nurse aide certification or registration to be listed on the NC Nurse 

Aide I Registry, the Department shall verify the following: 

(1) the applicant has completed an application in 

accordance with Subparagraph (b)(1) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the applicant is listed on another State's registry 

of nurse aides with an active status; 

(3) the applicant has no pending or substantiated 

findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 

misappropriation of resident or patient property 

recorded on another State's registry of nurse 

aides; 

(4) the applicant has been employed as a nurse aide 

for monetary compensation consisting of at 

least eight hours of time worked performing 

nursing or nursing-related tasks delegated and 

supervised by a Registered Nurse for the 

previous 24 consecutive months; 

(5) the name listed on the Social Security card and 

government-issued identification containing a 

photograph and signature submitted with the 

application matches the name listed on another 

State's registry of nurse aides or that the 

applicant has submitted additional 

documentation verifying any name changes; 

and 

(6) that the applicant completed a State-approved 

nurse aide training and competency evaluation 

program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 

483 Part 152 or a State-approved competency 

evaluation program that meets the requirements 

of 42 CFR 483 Part 154. 

(d)  The Department shall within 10 business days of receipt of an 

application for reciprocity transfer of a nurse aide certification or 

registration or receipt of additional information from the 

applicant: 

(1) inform the applicant by letter whether he or she 

has been approved; or 

(2) request additional information from the 

applicant. 

The applicant shall be added to the NC Nurse Aide I Registry 

within three business days of Department approval. 

(b)(e)  This Rule incorporates 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart D by 

reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed 

electronically free of charge from 

www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode

=CFR. 

(c)(f)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam shall include each course requirement specified in the 

Department-approved Nurse Aide I training program as provided 

for in 42 CFR Part 483.152. 

(d)(g)  The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam shall be administered and evaluated only by the Department 

or its contracted testing agent as provided for in 42 CFR Part 

483.154. 

(e)(h)  The Department shall include a record of completion of the 

State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam in the 

NC Nurse Aide I Registry within 30 business days of passing the 

written or oral exam and the skills demonstration as provided for 

in 42 CFR Part 483.154. 

(f)(i)  If the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency 

exam candidate does not pass the written or oral exam and the 

skills demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154, the 

candidate shall be advised by the Department of the areas that the 

individual did not pass. 

(g)(j)  Every North Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam 

candidate shall have, as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154, the 

opportunity to take the exam three times before being required to 

retake and pass a Nurse Aide I training program. 

(h)(k)  A person who is currently listed on any state's Nurse Aide 

I Registry shall not be required to take the Department-approved 

Nurse Aide I training program to be listed or, if his or her 24-

month listing period has expired, relisted on the NC Nurse Aide I 

Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North 

Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam after three attempts. 

(i)(l)  U.S. military personnel who have completed medical 

corpsman training and retired or non-practicing nurses shall not 

be required to take the Department-approved Nurse Aide I 

training program to be listed or relisted on the Nurse Aide I 

Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North 

Carolina's Nurse Aide I competency exam after three attempts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-255; 42 CFR Part 483; 

Eff. January 1, 2016. 2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 20, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Code Officials Qualification Board 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 08 .0735 

 

Effective Date:  April 20, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 9, 

2020 
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Reason for Action:  An emergency rule is needed to 

automatically issue Temporary Certificates to holders of a 

Probationary Certificate that are to expire between March 12th 

and December 31st 2020.  Temporary Certificates are allowed 

under NC Gen. Stat. 143-151.13(d). 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0735 TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE 

(a)  A temporary certificate shall be issued without examination 

or additional application to any code enforcement official (CEO) 

who currently possesses a probationary certificate that expires 

between March 12, 2020 and December 31, 2020. The application 

the CEO initially submitted to obtain the probationary certificate 

shall provide the basis for issuing the temporary certificate. 

(b)  A temporary certificate shall authorize the CEO, during the 

effective period of the certificate, to hold the position of the type, 

level, and location that corresponds to the probationary certificate 

the applicant previously received. The certificate shall specify the 

type and level of code enforcement in which the CEO may engage 

and may be conditioned upon his having supervision from an 

official with the specified certification or qualifications included 

on the CEO's probationary certificate application. 

(c)  The temporary certificate shall be effective for one year only 

for the period of March 12, 2020 through March 12, 2021 and 

shall not be renewed. During the one-year period, the official shall 

complete the requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to 

qualify for the appropriate standard certificate. 

(d)  A CEO who is issued a temporary certificate that the CEO no 

longer needs or wants shall return the temporary certificate, within 

30 days of receipt, to the Engineering and Codes Division of 

Department of Insurance for cancellation. 

(e)  A temporary certificate shall remain valid only so long as the 

person certified is employed by the state or a local government as 

a code enforcement official of the type and level indicated on the 

certificate. When the person certified leaves such employment for 

any reason, he shall return the certificate to the Board. 

(f)  A CEO with only a temporary certificate and no standard or 

limited certificate is not required to complete any continuing 

education courses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 20, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Manufactured Housing Board 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 08 .0913 

 

Effective Date:  April 20, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 9, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  The North Carolina Manufactured and 

Modular Homebuilders Association Registered Housing 

Specialist class and the Manufactured Housing Salesperson's test 

have been postponed until the COVID-19 "Stay at Home" order 

is rescinded by the Governor of North Carolina.  Without passing 

the Manufactured Housing Salesperson's test the salesperson may 

no longer engage in business as a manufactured housing 

salesperson. 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0900 - MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0913 EMERGENCY EXTENSION OF 

TEMPORARY LICENSE FOR MANUFACTURED 

HOUSING SALESPERSON 

(a)  A temporary manufactured housing salesperson's license 

issued by the Manufactured Housing Board which would 

otherwise expire pursuant to 11 NCAC 08 .0911(b) after March 

1, 2020 shall not expire until 60 days after the Covid-19 "Stay at 

Home" order is rescinded by the Governor of North Carolina. The 

applicant shall take the Manufactured Salesperson's License exam 

in accordance with 11 NCAC 08 .0911(a) at one of the next two 

test dates scheduled by the North Carolina Manufactured Housing 

Board after the Covid-19 "Stay at Home" order is rescinded by the 

Governor of North Carolina. 

(b)  In the event an applicant who has been affected by the Covid-

19 extension fails to take the exam or fails to attain a passing grade 

of 70 percent of a possible 100 percent at one of the next two 

scheduled dates after the order has been rescinded, the temporary 

salesperson's license shall expire. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-143.10(b)(1)(4); 143-

143.11; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 20, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Public Safety 

 

Rule Citation:  14B NCAC 05B .0401 

 

Effective Date:  April 14, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 3, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a State of 

Emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The World 

Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and the Unites States Department of Health and 

Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat 

and emergency.  Pursuant to the authority of the Secretary of the 

Department of Public Safety (Department), the Governor's Crime 

Commission, as a section of the Division of Administration within 
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the Department and as a State administering agency of North 

Carolina, is applying to receive a new federal funding source, the 

Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Fund (CESF).  This fund 

was established by Congress to help states cover costs associated 

with responding to COVID-19.  The current administrative rules 

are not conducive to the administration of an emergency funding 

source that could not have been anticipated.  To efficiently 

distribute CESF, and any other funding that becomes available, 

in light of this emergency, the Department must temporarily waive 

the current application process set forth in 14B NCAC 05B .0200 

and establish an emergency process for the efficient distribution 

of this critical grant funding to assist in the State's response to the 

COVID-19 pandemic. 

 

CHAPTER 05 - GOVERNOR'S CRIME COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05B – GRANT ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0400 – EMERGENCY GRANT APPLICATION 

PROCESS 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0401 GRANT APPLICATION 

PROCESS FOR STATE OR FEDERAL FUNDS 

AWARDED IN RESPONSE TO COVID-19 

(a)  The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety (Secretary) 

shall waive the requirements for Program Grants as set forth in 

Sections .0200 of this Subchapter for the limited purpose of grant 

distribution for the Coronavirus Emergency Supplemental Fund, 

or any other State or federal fund established in response to the 

COVID-19 pandemic. 

(b)  The emergency grant application process shall consist of the 

following: 

(1) The Executive Director of the Commission 

shall designate requirements for submission of 

grant applications for funding. 

(2) To be considered for funding, applicants shall 

complete the grant application, which shall 

include the following information: 

(A) Names, mailing addresses, telephone 

numbers, and signatures of the 

applicant; 

(B) project information, including the 

following: 

(i) a description of the project, 

its goals and objectives, and 

outcomes; 

(ii) the issues or problems 

addressed by the project; and 

(iii) project operation and 

activities. 

(C) A proposed budget; 

(D) a project time line; 

(E) any other information required by 

these rules or otherwise requested in 

order to make a decision on the grant 

proposal; and 

(F) a description of how the objectives of 

the proposed project are consistent 

with the outcomes and guidelines set 

forth in a State or federal grant 

program. 

(3) Grant applications shall be electronically 

submitted to the Commission through the Grant 

Enterprise Management System (GEMS). 

(4) Applications shall be received on an ongoing 

basis so long as funding is available. 

(c)  Applications that contain all of the information required in the 

Rule shall be forwarded to the Secretary. The Secretary shall 

select the applicants who will be awarded funding. 

(d)  Funding shall be administered as follows: 

(1) The Commission staff shall administer the grant 

as funds are available. All applicants shall be 

notified in writing or electronic communication 

through the GEMS system upon completion of 

the selection process that the applicant has been 

approved or denied. 

(2) Within 30 days of receipt of award notification, 

the applicant shall submit grant compliance and 

modification information. An applicant who 

does not provide the required information shall 

be ineligible for grant funding. For purposes of 

this rule, grant compliance and modification 

information includes the following: 

(A) A list of grant conditions that were 

agreed to by an authorizing official of 

the applicant; 

(B) a certification of non-supplanting; 

(C) a certification of filing of an equal 

employment opportunity program; 

(D) a memorandum of agreement or 

contract with any cooperating 

government agencies; 

(E) a signature of all authorizing officials, 

implementing project director, and the 

applicant's chief financial officer; and 

(F) a signed agreement to submit to an 

annual audit of the program. 

(3) Funds shall be conveyed to grantees through 

Grant Award Contracts. The Grant Award 

Contract shall bear the signature of the grantee's 

authorizing official and the Executive Director 

of the Commission. The Grant Award Contract 

shall be signed and returned to the Department 

within 30 days. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-602(5); 143B-602(8)(a)-

(c); 143B-1101(a)(8); 143B-1103; 143B-1104; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSONS 

 

CHAPTER 28 – LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board 
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Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 28B .0406 

 

Effective Date:  April 16, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 7, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  In accordance with Executive Order No. 116 

declaring that a state of emergency exists and to coordinate a 

response and enact protective measures to help prevent the 

spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in 

humans, spreads easily from person to person is a respiratory 

disease that can result in serious illness or death.  The World 

Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat 

and emergency and have encouraged social distancing to reduce 

infection rates.  The North Carolina Landscape Contractors' 

Licensing Board seeks to assist licensed landscape contractors 

who are unable to locate a sufficient number of hours of in person 

continuing education classes that are required by 21 NCAC 28B 

.0400 by granting a one-time extension of the annual requirement 

set forth in that rule under the authority of G.S. 87D-20(b).  In 

addition, the North Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing 

Board seeks to actively support the social isolation efforts that 

have been directed by the Federal and State Government for its 

licensed landscape contractors by this action. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 28B – LICENSING BOARD RULES 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0406 EMERGENCY EXTENSIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 

LICENSED LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS 

(a)  All active licensees shall be granted a one year extension of 

all continuing education requirements for the license year ending 

July 31, 2020. 

(b)  The Board shall accept Board-approved continuing education 

credits previously obtained in compliance for the license year 

ending July 31, 2020 and shall apply those credits to the license 

year ending July 31, 2021. 

(c)  This Rule does not affect any other licensure renewal 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89D and the rules set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 16, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 30 - BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Massage and Bodywork 

Therapy 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 30 .0636 

 

Effective Date:  April 17, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 8, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety or welfare has arisen with the coronavirus outbreak 

in North Carolina.  The Governor declared a state of emergency 

on March 10, 2020.  All massage and bodywork therapy schools 

and programs have closed their facilities due to the outbreak.  To 

allow students to continue to receive education, the Board 

proposes to eliminate rules that would prevent schools from being 

able to offer online classes. 

 

SECTION .0600 - MASSAGE AND BODYWORK 

THERAPY SCHOOLS 

 

21 NCAC 30 .0636 WAIVER OF REQUIREMENTS 

DURING DISASTER OR EMERGENCY 

(a)  If the governor declares a state of emergency, the following 

exceptions shall apply to massage and bodywork therapy schools, 

programs and students, the requirements in this Subchapter 

notwithstanding: 

(1) Classroom hours of supervised instruction that 

are not hands-on may be provided online, 

despite the requirement in Rule .0602(8) of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) Total number of supervised classroom hours of 

instruction that are not hands-on may include 

online hours, despite the requirement in Rule 

.0603(b)(4) of this Subchapter. 

(3) For a student to receive credit in a course that is 

not hands-on, the student shall attend, in-class 

or online, 75 percent of the instructional hours 

of the course and shall also make up missed 

instructional hours to equal no less than 98 

percent of the instructional hours in the course, 

pursuant to Rule .0620(11) of this Subchapter. 

(4) Schools shall not be required to revise the 

Student Enrollment Agreement required by 

Rule .0629 or School Catalog required by Rule 

.0630 to reflect the exceptions listed in this 

Rule. 

(b)  The exceptions in this Rule shall only apply during the 

effective period of the state of emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-22; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 17, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 – MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 32B .1708 

 

Effective Date:  April 6, 2020 
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Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  March 27, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the COVID-19 

begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, 

the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  The search for 

potential treatments for COVID-19 has caused shortages and 

threatens to cause further shortages in certain drugs.  On March 

24, 2020, the North Carolina State Health Director requested that 

the Medical Board and the Board of Pharmacy adopt the COVID-

19 Drug Preservation Rule in order to alleviate shortages and 

ensure that these drugs are available to patients who need them. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

MEDICINE 

 

SECTION .1700 – OTHER LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1708 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

(a)  The following drugs are "Restricted Drugs" as that term is 

used in this Rule: 

(1) Hydroxychloroquine; 

(2) Chloroquine; 

(3) Lopinavir-ritonavir; 

(4) Ribavirin; 

(5) Oseltamivir; 

(6) Darunavir; and 

(7) Azithromycin. 

(b)  A physician or physician assistant shall prescribe a Restricted 

Drug only if that prescription bears a written diagnosis from the 

prescriber consistent with the evidence for its use. 

(c)  When a patient has been diagnosed with COVID-19, any 

prescription of a Restricted Drug for the treatment of COVID-19 

shall: 

(1) Indicate on the prescription that the patient has 

been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

(2) Be limited to no more than a fourteen-day 

supply; and 

(3) Not be refilled, unless a new prescription is 

issued in conformance with this Rule, including 

not being refilled through an emergency 

prescription refill. 

(d)  A physician or physician assistant shall not prescribe a 

Restricted Drug for the prevention of, or in anticipation of, the 

contraction of COVID-19 by someone who has not yet been 

diagnosed. 

(e)  A prescription for a Restricted Drug may be transmitted orally 

only if all information required by this Rule is provided to the 

pharmacy by the physician or the physician's agent, and that 

information is recorded in writing by the pharmacy along with the 

identity of the physician or physician's agent transmitting the 

prescription. 

(f)  This Rule does not affect orders for administration to 

inpatients of health care facilities. 

(g)  This Rule does not apply to prescriptions for a Restricted Drug 

for a patient previously established on that particular Restricted 

Drug on or before March 10, 2020. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3), 90-12.5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 6, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Funeral Service 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 34A .0128 

 

Effective Date:  April 14, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 3, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency. 

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Humans Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streamlining services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina issued Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass 

gatherings, closed schools, and urged social distancing. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0128 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, trainee, or continuing education 

course provider submits a written request. The Board may also 

waive any rule in 21 NCAC 34 that is not statutorily required upon 

its own initiative. Factors the Board shall use in determining 

whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 
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(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 14, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 40 – BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Opticians 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 40 .0113 

 

Effective Date:  April 9, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  April 1, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  COVID-19 is 

a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death.  

COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily 

from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the COVID-19 

begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health Organization, 

the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services have declared 

COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  On March 12, 

2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC Department of 

Health and Human Services recommended high risk persons stay 

at home, that schools implement plans for distance or e-learning, 

that employers and employees use teleworking technologies, and 

that mass gatherings should cancel, postpone, and modify these 

events or offer online streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the 

Governor of North Carolina issues Executive Order No. 117 that 

prohibited mass gatherings, closed schools, and urged social 

distancing. 

 

SECTION .0100 - LOCATION 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0113 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, business or training 

establishment, trainee, or continuing education course provider 

submits a written request. The Board may also waive any rule in 

this Chapter that is not statutorily required upon its own initiative. 

Factors the Board shall use in determining whether to grant the 

waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-249; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 9, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 63 – SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Social Work Certification and Licensure 

Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 63 .0810 

 

Effective Date:  April 8, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  March 31, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  In light of the State of National Emergency 

declared by President Trump as a result of the COVID-19 Virus 

and the urgent need to have licensed clinical social workers 

available to provide clinical social work services to clients and 

associate licensees impacted by the COVID-19 Virus, the Board 

has determined to waive certain provisions in its rules as set forth 

below and during the effective period of this Emergency Rule. 

 

SECTION .0800 – DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 63 .0810 WAIVER 

In light of the State of National Emergency declared by President 

Trump as a result of the COVID-19 Virus, and the urgent need to 

have licensed clinical social workers available to provide clinical 

social work services to clients and associate licensees impacted 

by the COVID-19 Virus, the Board has determined to waive 

certain provisions in its rules, as set forth below, and during the 

effective period of this Emergency Rule: 

(1) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0211(a)(4) 

that requires preapproval by the Board to 

engage in more than 20 hours of supervision 

provided through the use of technology. This 

waiver will allow for up to half of the required 

supervision hours to be provided through the 

use of technology. This expanded definition 

will only apply until the state of emergency is 

lifted. All supervision provided through the use 

of technology shall be synchronous, involve 

visual and audio interactions throughout the 

entire session, and shall take place in such a 

manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the 

communication; 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

34:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2020 

1992 

(2) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0301 that 

requires applicants for licensure to pass the 

qualifying examination within two years of the 

initial application. An applicant who is unable 

to take the licensing examination prior to the 

expiration of the associate license due to the 

testing service locations being closed shall 

make a written request to the Board. The Board 

shall provide a limited extension of the 

licensee's associate license and grant each 

associate licensee an extension to take the 

licensing examination not to surpass December 

31, 2020. 

(3) The Board shall waive the requirement for 

licensure set forth in 21 NCAC 63 .0401(c)(4) 

that allows for half of the required continuing 

education accepted as distance learning to 

permit all hours for renewal to be accepted 

through distance learning that meet the 

requirements of 21 NCAC 63 .0401 and to 

include a minimum of four contact hours of 

continuing education focused on ethics related 

to social work practice and ethical decision 

making. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90B-6; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 8, 2020. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on March 19, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Management of Natural River Areas 07 NCAC 13F .0303* 34:07 NCR 

Management of Scenic River Areas 07 NCAC 13F .0304* 34:07 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13B .1902* 34:06 NCR 

Adult Care Home Personnel Requirements 10A NCAC 13B .1915 34:06 NCR 

Training 10A NCAC 13B .1918* 34:06 NCR 

Required Spaces 10A NCAC 13B .1925 34:06 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13B .3001* 34:06 NCR 

General Requirements 10A NCAC 13B .3101 34:06 NCR 

Itemized Charges 10A NCAC 13B .3110* 34:06 NCR 

Transfer Agreement 10A NCAC 13B .3204 34:06 NCR 

Discharge of Minor or Incompetent 10A NCAC 13B .3205* 34:06 NCR 

Minimum Provisions of Patient's Bill of Rights 10A NCAC 13B .3302* 34:06 NCR 

Procedure 10A NCAC 13B .3303* 34:06 NCR 

Additional Requirements for Traumatic Brain Injury Patients 10A NCAC 13B .5412* 34:06 NCR 

Additional Requirements for Spinal Cord Injury Patients 10A NCAC 13B .5413* 34:06 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR/HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Intoximeter: Model: EC/IR II 10A NCAC 41B .0322* 34:11 NCR 

Preventative Maintenance: Intoximeter: Model EC/IR II 10A NCAC 41B .0323* 34:11 NCR 

Approved Alcohol Screening Test Devices; Calibration 10A NCAC 41B .0503 34:11 NCR 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Motor Vehicle Repair Estimates 11 NCAC 04 .0419* 34:12 NCR 

Handling of Loss and Claim 11 NCAC 04 .0421* 34:12 NCR 

Definitions 11 NCAC 04 .0425 34:12 NCR 

Definitions 11 NCAC 06A .1001 34:12 NCR 

Ethical Standards 11 NCAC 06A .1002* 34:12 NCR 

Consent To Rate Procedures: Rate Bureau Coverages 11 NCAC 10 .0602* 34:12 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Nutrient Offset Credit Training 15A NCAC 02B .0703* 33:16 NCR 

SEDIMENTATION CONTROL COMMISSION 

Offices of the Sedimentation Control Commission 15A NCAC 04A .0101 34:02 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 04A .0105* 34:02 NCR 

Protection of Property 15A NCAC 04B .0105 34:02 NCR 

Basic Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan Objectives 15A NCAC 04B .0106* 34:02 NCR 
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Mandatory Standards for Land-Disturbing Activity 15A NCAC 04B .0107* 34:02 NCR 

Design and Performance Standard 15A NCAC 04B .0108* 34:02 NCR 

Storm Water Outlet Protection 15A NCAC 04B .0109* 34:02 NCR 

Borrow and Waste Areas 15A NCAC 04B .0110* 34:02 NCR 

Access and Haul Roads 15A NCAC 04B .0111* 34:02 NCR 

Operations in Lakes or Natural Watercourses 15A NCAC 04B .0112* 34:02 NCR 

Responsibility for Maintenance 15A NCAC 04B .0113* 34:02 NCR 

Additional Measures 15A NCAC 04B .0115* 34:02 NCR 

Approval of Plans 15A NCAC 04B .0118* 34:02 NCR 

Inspections and Investigations 15A NCAC 04B .0120* 34:02 NCR 

Design Standards in Sensitive Watersheds 15A NCAC 04B .0124* 34:02 NCR 

Buffer Zone Requirements 15A NCAC 04B .0125* 34:02 NCR 

Application Fee 15A NCAC 04B .0126* 34:02 NCR 

Plan Approval Certificate 15A NCAC 04B .0127* 34:02 NCR 

Erosion Control Plan Expiration Date 15A NCAC 04B .0129 34:02 NCR 

Emergencies 15A NCAC 04B .0130* 34:02 NCR 

Self-Inspections 15A NCAC 04B .0131* 34:02 NCR 

Design Standards for the Upper Neuse River Basin 15A NCAC 04B .0132 34:02 NCR 

Procedures: Notices 15A NCAC 04C .0107* 34:02 NCR 

Requests for Administrative Hearing 15A NCAC 04C .0108 34:02 NCR 

Administrative Hearing 15A NCAC 04C .0110 34:02 NCR 

Further Remedies 15A NCAC 04C .0111 34:02 NCR 

Model Ordinance 15A NCAC 04D .0102 34:02 NCR 

General Purpose 15A NCAC 04E .0101 34:02 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 04E .0102 34:02 NCR 

Copies of Rules 15A NCAC 04E .0104* 34:02 NCR 

Form and Content of Petition 15A NCAC 04E .0201* 34:02 NCR 

Disposition of Petitions 15A NCAC 04E .0203 34:02 NCR 

Written Submissions 15A NCAC 04E .0403 34:02 NCR 

Statement for Reasons of Decisions 15A NCAC 04E .0405 34:02 NCR 

Record of Proceedings 15A NCAC 04E .0406 34:02 NCR 

Declaratory Rules: Generally 15A NCAC 04E .0501* 34:02 NCR 

Procedure for Requesting Declaratory Rulings 15A NCAC 04E .0502* 34:02 NCR 

Disposition of Request 15A NCAC 04E .0503* 34:02 NCR 

Record of Decision 15A NCAC 04E .0504 34:02 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0304* 34:01 NCR 

General Identification and Description of Landforms 15A NCAC 07H .0305* 34:06 NCR 

Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 15A NCAC 07H .0309* 34:01 NCR 

Use Standards for State Ports Inlet Management Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0313* 34:01 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 07H .1901* 34:05 NCR 

Approval Procedures 15A NCAC 07H .1902 34:05 NCR 

General Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1904* 34:05 NCR 

Specific Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1905 34:05 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Source Water Protection Planning 15A NCAC 18C .1305* 33:11 NCR 
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CEMETERY COMMISSION 

Withdrawals from Perpetual Care Trust Funds 21 NCAC 07D .0108* 34:07 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 16A .0106* 34:11 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Required 21 NCAC 32R .0101* 34:09 NCR 

Continuing Medical Education 21 NCAC 32S .0216* 34:09 NCR 

MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

Administrative Body and Definitions 21 NCAC 33 .0101* 34:12 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 33 .0102 34:12 NCR 

Application 21 NCAC 33 .0103* 34:12 NCR 

Due Process 21 NCAC 33 .0105* 34:12 NCR 

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 33 .0110* 34:12 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

Device and Medical Equipment Committee 21 NCAC 46 .1207* 34:12 NCR 

Eligibility To Vote 21 NCAC 46 .2102 34:12 NCR 

Committee on Nominations 21 NCAC 46 .2104* 34:12 NCR 

Device and Medical Equipment Committee Representatives 21 NCAC 46 .2109 34:12 NCR 

PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

Board Address and Forms 21 NCAC 54 .1602* 34:05 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 54 .1605* 34:05 NCR 

Waiver of Compliance with Rules 21 NCAC 54 .1606* 34:05 NCR 

Delegation of Authority 21 NCAC 54 .1607 34:05 NCR 

Ethical Violations 21 NCAC 54 .1608 34:05 NCR 

Termination of Practice 21 NCAC 54 .1609* 34:05 NCR 

Practice By Psychologists who are not Residents of North ... 21 NCAC 54 .1610* 34:05 NCR 

Practice by Postdoctoral Trainees 21 NCAC 54 .1611 34:05 NCR 

Criminal History Record Check 21 NCAC 54 .1612* 34:05 NCR 

Information Required 21 NCAC 54 .1701* 34:05 NCR 

Foreign Degree Application Policy 21 NCAC 54 .1702* 34:05 NCR 

Temporary Licenses 21 NCAC 54 .1703* 34:05 NCR 

Issuance of License 21 NCAC 54 .1705* 34:05 NCR 

Reapplication 21 NCAC 54 .1706* 34:05 NCR 

Senior Psychologist 21 NCAC 54 .1707* 34:05 NCR 

Psychological Associate 21 NCAC 54 .1802* 34:05 NCR 

Licensed Psychologist 21 NCAC 54 .1803* 34:05 NCR 

Examinations 21 NCAC 54 .1901* 34:05 NCR 

Retaking the National Examination 21 NCAC 54 .1903* 34:05 NCR 

Failure to Appear for the National Examination 21 NCAC 54 .1904* 34:05 NCR 

Supervisor 21 NCAC 54 .2001* 34:05 NCR 

Nature of Supervision 21 NCAC 54 .2002* 34:05 NCR 

Definition of Face to Face Supervision 21 NCAC 54 .2005* 34:05 NCR 
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Applicants and Other Nonlicensed Individuals 21 NCAC 54 .2007* 34:05 NCR 

Licensed Psychologist 21 NCAC 54 .2009* 34:05 NCR 

License Renewal Form 21 NCAC 54 .2101* 34:05 NCR 

Second Notice 21 NCAC 54 .2102* 34:05 NCR 

Reinstatement 21 NCAC 54 .2103* 34:05 NCR 

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 54 .2104* 34:05 NCR 

Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 54 .2202* 34:05 NCR 

Renewal of Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 54 .2203* 34:05 NCR 

Right to Hearing 21 NCAC 54 .2301 34:05 NCR 

Request for Hearing 21 NCAC 54 .2302 34:05 NCR 

Granting or Denying Hearing Requests 21 NCAC 54 .2303 34:05 NCR 

Notice of Hearing 21 NCAC 54 .2304 34:05 NCR 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 21 NCAC 54 .2305 34:05 NCR 

Disqualification of Board Member 21 NCAC 54 .2308* 34:05 NCR 

Failure to Appear 21 NCAC 54 .2309* 34:05 NCR 

Subpoenas 21 NCAC 54 .2311 34:05 NCR 

Presiding Officer 21 NCAC 54 .2314 34:05 NCR 

Petition for Rulemaking Hearings 21 NCAC 54 .2401* 34:05 NCR 

Disposition of Petition 21 NCAC 54 .2402* 34:05 NCR 

Request for Declaratory Ruling 21 NCAC 54 .2601* 34:05 NCR 

Health Services Activities 21 NCAC 54 .2701* 34:05 NCR 

Display of Certificate 21 NCAC 54 .2703* 34:05 NCR 

HSP-P Requirements 21 NCAC 54 .2704* 34:05 NCR 

HSP-PP Requirements 21 NCAC 54 .2705* 34:05 NCR 

HSP-PA Requirements 21 NCAC 54 .2706* 34:05 NCR 

Scope 21 NCAC 54 .2801* 34:05 NCR 

Titles 21 NCAC 54 .2802 34:05 NCR 

Employment and Supervision of Unlicensed Individuals 21 NCAC 54 .2803* 34:05 NCR 

Qualifications and Training 21 NCAC 54 .2804* 34:05 NCR 

Services Appropriate for Ancillary Services Personnel 21 NCAC 54 .2805* 34:05 NCR 

Services Not Appropriate for Unlicensed Individuals 21 NCAC 54 .2806* 34:05 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 13F .0303 MANAGEMENT OF NATURAL 

RIVER AREAS 

(a)  The management of a natural river area shall give highest 

priority to protecting the values that make it outstanding while 

providing river-related outdoor recreation opportunities in a 

natural setting: 

(1) No dredging or sand and gravel operations shall 

be permitted. 

(2) No felled trees shall be removed unless they 

block passage down the river or obstruct stream 

flow. 

(3) No streamside trees shall be cut unless they 

present a hazard to public health and safety. 

(b)  Recreation activities consistent with the management of a 

natural river area in the system are: 

(1) hiking; 

(2) backpacking; 

(3) horseback riding on trails; 

(4) boating, which may include tubing, kayaking, 

canoeing, rafting, and power boating;  

(5) swimming; and 

(6) hunting and fishing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.156; 

Eff. April 4, 1979; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12F .0303 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13F .0304 MANAGEMENT OF SCENIC 

RIVER AREAS 

Activities consistent with the management of a scenic river in the 

system are the same as those for a natural river area listed in Rule 

.0303(b) of this Section, plus scenic driving and bicycling. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.156; 

Eff. April 4, 1979; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12F .0304 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1902 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section, 

unless text otherwise indicates to the contrary: 

(1) "Accident" means something occurring by 

chance or without intention that has caused 

physical or mental harm to a patient, resident, 

or employee. 

(2) "Administer" means as defined in G.S. 90-87. 

(3) "Administrator" means the person who has 

authority for and is responsible to the governing 

board for the overall operation of a facility. 

(4) "Brain injury long-term care" is defined as an 

interdisciplinary, intensive maintenance 

program for patients who have incurred brain 

damage caused by external physical trauma and 

who have completed a primary course of 

rehabilitative treatment and have reached a 

point of no gain or progress for more than three 

consecutive months. Services are provided 

through a medically supervised 

interdisciplinary process and are directed 

toward maintaining the individual at the 

optimal level of physical, cognitive, and 

behavioral functioning. 

(5) "Combination Facility" means any hospital 

with nursing home beds that is licensed to 

provide more than one level of care such as a 

combination of intermediate care and skilled 

nursing care and adult care home care. 

(6) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(7) "Director of Nursing" means the nurse who has 

authority and responsibility for all nursing 

services and nursing care. 

(8) "Dispense" means as defined in G.S. 90-87. 

(9) "Drug" means as defined in G.S. 90-87. 

(10) "Duly Licensed" means holding a current and 

valid license as required under the General 

Statues of North Carolina. 

(11) "Incident" means an intentional or 

unintentional action, occurrence or happening 

that is likely to cause or lead to physical or 

mental harm to a patient, resident, or employee. 

(12) "Licensed Practical Nurse" means as defined in 

G.S. 90-171.30 or G.S. 90-171.32. 

(13) "Medication" means "drug" as defined in Item 

(9) of this Rule. 

(14) "Nurse Aide" means any individual providing 

nursing or nursing-related services to patients in 

a facility, and is not a licensed health 

professional, a qualified dietitian or someone 

who volunteers to provide such services 

without pay, and who is listed in a Nurse Aide 

Registry pursuant to G.S. 131E-255. 

(15) "Nurse Aide Trainee" means an individual who 

has not completed an approved nurse aide 

training course by the Department in 

accordance with 10A NCAC 13O .0301, herein 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and competency 

evaluation and is demonstrating knowledge, 

while performing tasks that they have been 

found proficient in by an instructor. These tasks 

shall be performed under the supervision of a 

registered nurse. The term does not apply to 

volunteers. 

(16) "Nursing Facility" means that portion of a 

nursing home certified under Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act (Medicaid) as in 

compliance with federal program standards for 

nursing facilities. It is often used synonymous 

with the term "nursing home," the usual 

prerequisite level for state licensure for nursing 

facility (NF) certification and Medicare skilled 

nursing facility (SNF) certification. 

(17) "Nurse in Charge" means the nurse to whom 

duties for a specified number of patients and 

staff for a specified period of time have been 

delegated, such as for Unit A on the 7-3 or 3-11 

shift. 

(18) "On Duty" means personnel who are awake, 

dressed, and responsive to patient needs and 

present in the facility performing assigned 

duties. 

(19) "Patient" means any person admitted for care to 

a skilled nursing or intermediate care facility. 

(20) "Physician" means as defined in G.S. 90-9.1 or 

G.S. 90-9.2. 

(21) "Qualified Dietitian" means as defined in 42 

CFR 483.60(a)(1), herein incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Electronic copies of 42 CFR 

483.60 can be obtained free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=1260800a39929487f0ca55b0ab5e71

0b&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title42/42cfrv5

_02.tpl#0. 

(22) "Registered Nurse" means as defined in G.S. 

90, Article 9A. 

(23) "Resident" means as defined in G.S.131D-2.1. 

(24) "Supervisor-in-Charge" means a duly licensed 

nurse to whom supervisory duties have been 

delegated by the Director of Nursing. 

(25) "Ventilator dependence" means physiological 

dependency by a patient on the use of a 

ventilator for more than eight hours a day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 
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Amended Eff. March 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1990 For a Period of 142 

Days to Expire on February 28, 1991; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; December 1, 1991; March 1, 

1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1915 ADULT CARE HOME 

PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The administrator shall designate a person to be in charge of 

the adult care home residents at all times. The nurse in charge of 

nursing services may also serve as supervisor-in-charge of the 

adult care home beds. 

(b)  If adult care home beds are located in a separate building or a 

separate level of the same building, there shall be a person on duty 

in the adult care home areas at all times. 

(c)  A licensed facility shall provide staff to assure that activities 

of daily living, personal grooming, and assistance with eating are 

provided to each resident. Medication administration as indicated 

by each resident's condition or physician's orders shall be carried 

out as identified in each resident's plan of care. 

(d)  Adult care home facilities licensed as a part of a combination 

facility shall comply with the staffing requirements in 10A NCAC 

13F .0605 herein incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 42 U.S.C. 1396 r (a); 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1990 For a Period of 142 

Days to Expire on February 28, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1918 TRAINING 

(a)  A licensed facility shall provide patient or resident care 

employees a planned orientation and continuing education 

program emphasizing patient or resident assessment and 

planning, activities of daily living, personal grooming, 

rehabilitative nursing or restorative care, other patient or resident 

care policies and procedures, patients' rights, and staff 

performance expectations. Attendance and subject matter covered 

shall be documented for each session, retained in accordance with 

policy established by the facility, and available for licensure 

inspections. 

(b)  The administrator shall assure that employees are oriented 

within the first week of employment to the facility's philosophy 

and goals. 

(c)  Employees shall have specific on-the-job training as 

necessary to perform their individual job assignment. 

(d)  A nurse aide trainee may be employed to perform the duties 

of a nurse aide for a period of time not to exceed four months. 

During this period of time the nurse aide trainee shall be permitted 

to perform only those tasks that competence has been 

demonstrated and documented on the record. Nurse aide I shall 

meet the training and competency evaluation standards in 10A 

NCAC 13O .0301, incorporated herein by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. A record of nurse aide 

qualifications shall be maintained for each nurse aide used by a 

facility and shall be retained in the general personnel files of the 

facility in accordance with policy established by the facility. 

(e)  The initial orientation to the facility shall be exclusive of the 

Nurse Aide I training program. Competency evaluation shall be 

conducted in each of the following areas: 

(1) Observation and documentation, 

(2) Basic nursing skills, 

(3) Personal care skills, 

(4) Mental health and social service needs, 

(5) Basic restorative services, and 

(6) Residents' Rights. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 42 U.S.C. 1396 r 

(b)(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 1, 1990 For a Period of 142 Days 

to Expire on February 28, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1991; March 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1925 REQUIRED SPACES 

(a)  A combination or nursing facility shall meet the following 

requirements for bedrooms, dining, recreation, and common use 

areas: 

(1) single bedrooms shall be provided with not less 

than 100 square feet of floor area; 

(2) bedrooms with more than one bed shall be 

provided with not less than 80 square feet of 

floor area per bed; 

(3) dining, recreation, and common use areas shall: 

(A) total not less than 25 square feet of 

floor area per bed for skilled nursing 

and intermediate care beds; 

(B) total not less than 30 square feet of 

floor area per bed for adult care home 

beds; and 

(C) be contiguous to patient and resident 

bedrooms. 

(b)  Floor space for the following rooms, areas, and furniture shall 

not be included in the floor areas required by Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule: 

(1) toilet rooms; 

(2) vestibules; 

(3) bath areas; 

(4) closets; 

(5) lockers; 

(6) built-in furniture; 

(7) movable wardrobes; 

(6) corridors; and 

(7) areas for physical and occupational therapy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3001 DEFINITIONS 

Notwithstanding Section .1900 of this Subchapter, the following 

definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter unless the 

context indicates to the contrary: 
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(1) "Appropriate" means suitable or fitting, or 

conforming to standards of care as established 

by professional organizations, including 

Association of Professionals in Infection 

Control and Epidemiology (APIC), American 

Medical Association (AMA) and American 

Nurses Association (ANA). 

(2) "Authority having jurisdiction" means the 

Division of Health Service Regulation. 

(3) "Certified Dietary Manager" or "CDM" means 

an individual who is certified by the Certifying 

Board of the Dietary Managers and meets the 

standards and qualification as referenced in the 

"Dietary Manager Training Program 

Requirements." These standards include any 

subsequent amendments and editions of the 

referenced manual. Copies of the "Dietary 

Manager Training Program Requirements" may 

be obtained free of charge at 

https://www.cbdmonline.org/. 

(4) "Competence" means the state or quality of 

being able to perform specific functions well; 

skill; and ability. 

(5) "Construction documents" means final building 

plans and specifications for the construction of 

a facility that a governing body submits to the 

Construction Section for approval as specified 

in Rule .3102 of this Subchapter. 

(6) "Construction Section" means the Construction 

Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation. 

(7) "Continuous" means ongoing or uninterrupted, 

24 hours per day. 

(8) "CRNA" means a Certified Registered Nurse 

Anesthetist who meets the criteria set forth in 

G.S. 90-171.21(d)(4). 

(9) "Credentialed" means that the individual 

having a given title or position has been 

credited with the right to exercise official 

responsibilities to provide specific patient care 

and treatment services, within defined limits, 

based upon the individual's license, education, 

training, experience, competence, and 

judgment. 

(10) "Department" means the Department of Health 

and Human Services. 

(11) "Dietetics" means as defined in G.S. 90-352. 

(12) "Dietitian" means a person who meets the 

criteria set forth in G.S. 90, Article 25. 

(13) "Direct Supervision" means the state of being 

under the control of a supervisor, manager, or 

other person of authority. 

(14) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation. 

(15) "Facility" means a hospital as defined in G.S. 

131E-76. 

(16) "Full-time equivalent" means a unit of measure 

of employee work time that is equal to the 

number of hours that one full-time employee 

would work during one calendar year if the 

employee worked eight hours a day, five days a 

week, and 52 weeks a year; i.e. 2,080 hours per 

year. 

(17) "Governing body" means the authority as 

defined in G.S. 131E-76. 

(18) "Imaging" means a reproduction or 

representation of a body or body part for 

diagnostic purposes by radiologic intervention 

that may include conventional fluoroscopic 

exam, magnetic resonance, nuclear or radio-

isotope scan. 

(19) "Invasive procedure" means a procedure 

involving puncture or incision of the skin, 

insertion of an instrument or foreign material 

into the body (excluding venipuncture and 

intravenous therapy). 

(20) "License" means formal permission to provide 

services as granted by the State. 

(21) "Medical staff" means the formal organization 

that is comprised of individuals who have 

sought and obtained clinical privileges in a 

facility. As defined by the facility's medical 

staff bylaws, rules and regulations, those 

members of the medical staff who regularly and 

routinely admit patients to a facility constitute 

the active medical staff. 

(22) "Mission statement" means a written statement 

of the philosophy and beliefs of the 

organization or hospital as approved by the 

governing body. 

(23) "Neonate" means the newborn from birth to one 

month. 

(24) "Nurse executive" means a registered nurse 

who is the director of nursing services or a 

representative of decentralized nursing 

management staff.  

(25) "Nurse midwife" means a person who meets the 

criteria as set forth in G.S. 90-171.21(d)(4). 

(26) "Nursing facility" means as defined in G.S. 

131E-116(2). 

(27) "Nursing staff" means the registered nurses, 

licensed practical nurses, nurse aides, and 

others under nurse supervision, who provide 

patient care. The term also includes clerical 

personnel who work in clinical areas under 

nurse supervision. 

(28) "Nutrition and Dietetic Technician Registered" 

means as defined by the Academy of Nutrition 

and Dietetics. A copy of the requirements can 

be obtained at 

https://www.eatrightpro.org/about-us/what-is-

an-rdn-and-dtr/what-is-a-nutrition-and-

dietetics-technician-registered at no cost. 

(29) "Nutrition therapy" ranges from intervention 

and counseling on diet modification to 

administration of specialized nutrition therapies 

as determined necessary to manage a condition 

or treat illness or injury. Specialized nutrition 
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therapies include supplementation with medical 

foods, enteral and parenteral nutrition. 

Nutrition therapy integrates information from 

the nutrition assessment with information on 

food and other sources of nutrients and meal 

preparation consistent with cultural background 

and socioeconomic status. 

(30) "Observation bed" means a bed used for no 

more than 24-hours, to evaluate and determine 

the condition and disposition of a patient and is 

not considered a part of the hospital's licensed 

bed capacity. 

(31) "Patient" means any person receiving 

diagnostic or medical services at a hospital. 

(32) "Pharmacist" means as defined in G.S. 90-85.3. 

(33) "Physical Rehabilitation Services" means any 

combination of physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, speech therapy, or vocational 

rehabilitation. 

(34) "Physician" means a person who meets the 

criteria set forth in G.S.90-9.1 or G.S. 90-9.2. 

(35) "Provisional license" means a hospital license 

recognizing less than full compliance with the 

licensure rules. 

(36) "Qualified" means having complied with the 

specific conditions for employment or the 

performance of a function. 

(37) "Reference" means to use in consultation to 

obtain information. 

(38) "Special Care Unit" means a unit or area of a 

hospital that includes a critical care unit, an 

intermediate care unit, or a pediatric care unit. 

(39) "Unit" means a designated area of the hospital 

for the delivery of patient care services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

RRC Objection due to lack of Statutory Authority Eff. July 13, 

1995; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3101 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An application for licensure shall be submitted to the Division 

prior to a license being issued or patients admitted. 

(b)  An existing facility shall not sell, lease, or subdivide a portion 

of its bed capacity without the approval of the Division. 

(c)  Application forms may be obtained by contacting the 

Division. 

(d)  The Division shall be notified in writing 30 days prior to the 

occurrence of any of the following: 

(1) addition or deletion of a licensable service; 

(2) increase or decrease in bed capacity; 

(3) change of chief executive officer; 

(4) change of mailing address; 

(5) ownership change; or 

(6) name change. 

(e)  Each application shall contain the following information: 

(1) legal identity of applicant; 

(2) name or names used to present the hospital or 

services to the public; 

(3) name of the chief executive officer; 

(4) ownership disclosure; 

(5) bed complement; 

(6) bed utilization data; 

(7) accreditation data; 

(8) physical plant inspection data; and 

(9) service data. 

(f)  A license shall include only facilities or premises within a 

single county. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3110 ITEMIZED CHARGES 

(a)  The facility shall provide an itemized list of charges to 

discharged patients or the facility shall include on patients' bills 

that are not itemized, notification of the right to request an 

itemized bill within three years of receipt of the non-itemized bill 

or so long as the hospital, a collections agency, or other assignee 

asserts the patient has an obligation to pay the bill. 

(b)  If requested, the facility shall provide an itemized list of 

charges to the patient or the patient's representative. This list shall 

detail in language comprehensible to an ordinary layperson the 

specific nature of the charges or expenses incurred by the patient. 

(c)  The itemized listing shall include each specific chargeable 

item or service in the following service areas: 

(1) room rate; 

(2) laboratory; 

(3) radiology and nuclear medicine; 

(4) surgery; 

(5) anesthesiology; 

(6) pharmacy; 

(7) emergency services; 

(8) outpatient services; 

(9) specialized care; 

(10) extended care; 

(11) prosthetic and orthopedic appliances; and 

(12) professional services provided by the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 131E-91; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3204 TRANSFER AGREEMENT 

(a)  Any facility that does not provide hospital based nursing 

facility service shall maintain written agreements with institutions 

offering this kind of care. Such agreements shall provide for the 

transfer and admission of patients who no longer require the 

services of the hospital but do require nursing facility services. 

(b)  A patient shall not be transferred to another medical care 

facility unless prior arrangements for admission have been made. 

Clinical records to provide continuity of care shall accompany the 

patient. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3205 DISCHARGE OF MINOR OR 

INCOMPETENT 

Individuals who cannot legally consent to his or her own care shall 

be discharged to the custody of parents, legal guardian, person 

standing in loco parentis, or patient representative pursuant to 42 

CFR 483.12(a)(1) herein incorporated by reference with 

subsequent amendments and editions, unless otherwise directed 

by the parent or guardian, or court of competent jurisdiction. This 

regulation may be accessed at 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-

Certification/CertificationandComplianc/Hospitals at no cost. If 

the parent or guardian directs that discharge be made otherwise, 

he or she shall so state in writing, and the statement shall become 

a part of the permanent medical record of the patient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3302 MINIMUM PROVISIONS OF 

PATIENT'S BILL OF RIGHTS 

This Rule does not apply to patients in licensed nursing facility 

beds since these individuals are granted rights pursuant to G.S. 

131E-117. A patient in a hospital facility subject to this Rule has 

the following rights pursuant to 42 CFR 482.13, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. This regulation can be accessed at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=e867c7c6cbfeb689406afea7d88e8a80&mc=true&node

=pt42.5.482&rgn=div5#se42.5.482_113 at no cost: 

(1) A patient has the right to respect, dignity, and 

comfort. 

(2) A patient has the right, upon request, to be 

given the name of his or her attending 

physician, the names of all other physicians 

participating in his or her care, and the names 

and functions of other health care persons 

having contact with the patient. 

(3) A patient has the right to privacy concerning his 

or her own medical care program. Case 

discussion, consultation, examination, and 

treatment are considered confidential and shall 

be conducted privately pursuant to 42 CFR 

482.13(c)(1): 

(4) A patient has the right to know what facility 

rules and regulations apply to his or her conduct 

as a patient. 

(5) A patient has the right to expect emergency 

procedures to be implemented without delay. 

(6) A patient has the right to quality care and 

professional standards that are maintained and 

reviewed. 

(7) A patient has the right to information in 

laymen's terms, concerning his or her diagnosis, 

treatment and prognosis, including information 

about alternative treatments and possible 

complications. When it is not possible or 

medically advisable to give such information to 

the patient, the information shall be given on his 

or her behalf to the patient's designee. 

(8) Except for emergencies, a physician must 

obtain informed consent prior to the start of any 

procedure or treatment. 

(9) A patient has the right to be advised when a 

physician is considering the patient as a part of 

a medical care research program or donor 

program. Informed consent shall be obtained 

prior to participation in such a program. The 

patient or legally responsible party may refuse 

to continue in any program that he or she has 

previously given informed consent. An 

Institutional Review Board (IRB) may waive or 

alter the informed consent requirement if it 

reviews and approves a research study in 

accordance with federal regulations for the 

protection of human research subjects including 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

(HHS) regulations under 45 CFR Part 46 and 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

regulations under 21 CFR Parts 50 and 56. 45 

CFR Part 46 and 21 CFR Parts 50 and 56 are 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. These 

regulations may be accessed at 

https://www.hhs.gov/ohrp/regulations-and-

policy/regulations/common-rule/index.html at 

no cost. For any research study proposed for 

conduct under an FDA "Exception from 

Informed Consent Requirements for 

Emergency Research" or an HHS "Emergency 

Research Consent Waiver" that waives 

informed consent but community consultation 

and public disclosure about the research are 

required, any facility proposing to be engaged 

in the research study shall also verify that the 

proposed research study has been registered 

with the North Carolina Medical Care 

Commission. When the IRB has authorized the 

start of the community consultation process 

required for emergency research, but before the 

beginning of that process, notice of the 

proposed research study shall be provided to the 

North Carolina Medical Care Commission. The 

notice shall include: 

(a) the title of the research study; 

(b) a description of the research study, 

including a description of the 

population to be enrolled; 

(c) a description of the planned 

community consultation process, 

including proposed meeting dates and 

times; 

(d) instructions for opting out of the 

research study; and 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2020 

2002 

(e) contact information including mailing 

address and phone number for the IRB 

and the principal investigator. 

The Medical Care Commission may publish all 

or part of the above information in the North 

Carolina Register, in accordance with 26 

NCAC 02C .0307, and may require the 

institution proposing to conduct the research 

study to attend a public meeting convened by a 

Medical Care Commission member in the 

community where the proposed research study 

is to take place to present and discuss the study 

or the community consultation process 

proposed. 

(10) A patient has the right to refuse any drugs, 

treatment or procedure offered by the facility, 

and a physician shall inform the patient of his 

or her right to refuse any drugs, treatment or 

procedures and of the medical consequences of 

the patient's refusal of any drugs, treatment or 

procedure. 

(11) A patient has the right to assistance in obtaining 

consultation with another physician at the 

patient's request and expense. 

(12) A patient has the right to medical and nursing 

services without discrimination based upon 

race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, 

gender identity, national origin or source of 

payment. 

(13) A patient who does not speak English shall have 

access to an interpreter. 

(14) A patient or his or her designee has the right to 

have all records pertaining to his or her medical 

care treated as confidential except as otherwise 

provided by law or third party contractual 

arrangements. A patient's access to medical 

records may be restricted by the patient's 

attending physician. If the physician restricts 

the patient's access to information in the 

patient's medical record, the physician shall 

record the reasons on the patient's medical 

record. Access shall be restricted only for 

medical reason. A patient's designee shall have 

access to the information in the patient's 

medical records even if the attending physician 

restricts the patient's access to those records. 

(15) A patient has the right not to be awakened by 

hospital staff unless it is medically necessary. 

(16) The patient has the right to be free from 

duplication of medical and nursing procedures 

as determined by the attending physician. 

(17) The patient has the right to medical and nursing 

treatment that avoids unnecessary physical and 

mental discomfort. 

(18) When medically permissible, a patient may be 

transferred to another facility only after he or 

his next of kin or other legally responsible 

representative has received complete 

information and an explanation concerning the 

needs for and alternatives to such a transfer. 

The facility that the patient is to be transferred 

must first have accepted the patient for transfer. 

(19) The patient has the right to examine and receive 

a detailed explanation of his bill. 

(20) The patient has a right to information and 

counseling on the availability of known 

financial resources for his health care. 

(21) A patient has the right to be informed upon 

discharge of his or her continuing health care 

requirements following discharge and the 

means for meeting them. 

(22) A patient shall not be denied the right of access 

to an individual or agency who is authorized to 

act on his or her behalf to assert or protect the 

rights set out in this Section. 

(23) A patient has the right to be informed of his 

rights at the earliest possible time in the course 

of his or her hospitalization. 

(24) A patient has the right to designate visitors who 

shall receive the same visitation privileges as 

the patient's immediate family members, 

regardless of whether the visitors are legally 

related to the patient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79; 143B-165; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. July 13, 1995; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; May 1, 2008; November 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3303 PROCEDURE 

(a)  The facility shall develop and implement procedures to inform 

patients of his or her rights. Copies of the facilities' Patient's Bill 

of Rights shall be made available through one of the following 

ways: 

(1) locations posted in a public place in the facility 

in addition to copies available upon request; or 

(2) provided a copy to each patient or responsible 

party upon admission or as soon after admission 

as is feasible. 

(b)  The address and telephone number of the Acute and Home 

Care Licensure and Certification Section in the Department 

responsible for the enforcement of the provisions of this Rule shall 

be posted. 

(c)  The facility shall adopt procedures to ensure a comprehensive 

investigation of violations of patients' rights and to ensure their 

enforcement pursuant to 42 CFR 483.12(a)(2) herein incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. This 

regulation may be accessed at 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-

Certification/CertificationandComplianc/Hospitals at no cost. 

These procedures shall ensure that: 

(1) a system is established to identify formal 

written complaints; 

(2) written complaints are recorded and 

investigated; 
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(3) investigation and resolution of complaints shall 

be conducted; and 

(4) disciplinary and education procedures shall be 

developed for members of the hospital and 

medical staff who are noncompliant with 

facility policies. 

(d)  The Division shall investigate or refer to other State agencies 

all complaints within the jurisdiction of the rules in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .5412 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY PATIENTS 

(a)  Inpatient rehabilitation facilities providing services to patients 

with traumatic brain injuries shall provide staff to meet the needs 

of patients in accordance with the patient assessment, treatment 

plan, and physician orders. 

(b)  The facility shall provide special equipment to meet the needs 

of patients with traumatic brain injury, including specially 

designed wheelchairs, tilt tables and standing tables.  

(c)  The facility shall provide the consulting services of a 

neuropsychologist. 

(d)  The facility shall provide continuing education in the care and 

treatment of brain injury patients for all staff. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

RRC Objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. January 18, 

1996; 

Eff. May 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .5413 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR SPINAL CORD INJURY PATIENTS 

(a)  Inpatient rehabilitation facilities providing services to patients 

with spinal cord injuries shall provide staff to meet the needs of 

patients in accordance with the patient assessment, treatment plan, 

and physician orders. 

(b)  The facility shall provide special equipment to meet the needs 

of patients with spinal cord injury, including specially designed 

wheelchairs, tilt tables and standing tables.  

(c)  The facility shall provide continuing education in the care and 

treatment of spinal cord injury patients for all staff. 

(d)  The facility shall provide specific staff training and education 

in the care and treatment of spinal cord injury. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-79; 

RRC Objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. January 18, 

1996; 

Eff. May 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

 

 

10A NCAC 41B .0322 INTOXIMETERS: MODEL 

INTOX EC/IR II AND MODEL INTOX EC/IR II 

(ENHANCED WITH SERIAL NUMBER 10,000 OR 

HIGHER) 

The following operational procedures shall be followed when 

administering a test using the Intoximeters, Model Intox EC/IR II 

and Model Intox EC/IR II (Enhanced with serial number 10,000 

or higher):  

(1) Ensure instrument displays time and date; 

(2) Ensure observation period requirements have 

been met; 

(3) Initiate breath test sequence; 

(4) Enter information as prompted by the 

instrument;  

(5) Verify instrument accuracy; 

(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; 

(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; and 

(8) Print test record. 

If the alcohol concentrations differ by more than 0.02, a third or 

fourth breath sample shall be collected when "PLEASE BLOW" 

appears. Sequential tests shall be administered as soon as feasible 

by repeating steps (1) through (8), as applicable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-534.2(d); 20-139.1(b); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;  

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 41B .0323 PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE: 

INTOXIMETERS: MODEL INTOX EC/IR II AND 

MODEL INTOX EC/IR II (ENHANCED WITH SERIAL 

NUMBER 10,000 OR HIGHER) 

The preventive maintenance procedures for the Intoximeters, 

Model Intox EC/IR II and Model Intox EC/IR II (Enhanced with 

serial number 10,000 or higher) to be followed at least once every 

four months are: 

(1) Verify the ethanol gas canister displays at least 

51 pounds per square inch (psi) of pressure, or 

the alcoholic breath simulator thermometer 

shows 34 degrees, plus or minus .2 degree 

centigrade; 

(2) Verify instrument displays time and date; 

(3) Initiate breath test sequence; 

(4) Enter information as prompted; 

(5) Verify instrument accuracy; 

(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; 

(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; 

(8) Print test record; 

(9) Run diagnostic program and confirm 

preventive maintenance status of "Pass"; and 

(10) Verify that the ethanol gas canister is being 

changed before expiration date, or the alcoholic 

breath simulator solution is being changed 
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every four months or after 125 Alcoholic 

Breath Simulator tests, whichever occurs first. 

A signed original of the preventive maintenance record, or an 

electronic copy of the signed original of the preventive 

maintenance record, shall be kept on file at the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services for three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-534.2(d); 20-139.1(b2); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;  

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 41B .0503 APPROVED ALCOHOL 

SCREENING TEST DEVICES: CALIBRATION 

(a)  The following breath alcohol screening test devices are 

approved as to type and make: 

(1) ALCO-SENSOR (with two-digit display), 

manufactured by Intoximeters, Inc. 

(2) ALCO-SENSOR III (with three-digit display), 

manufactured by Intoximeters, Inc. 

(3) ALCO-SENSOR IV, manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 

(4) ALCO-SENSOR FST, manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 

(5) S-D2, manufactured by CMI, Inc. 

(6) S-D5, manufactured by CMI, Inc. 

(7) ALCO-SENSOR III (Enhanced with Serial 

Numbers above 1,200,000), manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 

(8) ALCO-SENSOR FST (Enhanced with Serial 

Numbers 200,000 and higher), manufactured 

by Intoximeters, Inc. 

(9) LIFELOC FC10, manufactured by Lifeloc 

Technologies, Inc. 

(10) INTOXILYZER 500, manufactured by CMI, 

Inc. 

(11) ALCOVISOR MERCURY, manufactured by 

PAS International. 

(b)  The agency or operator shall verify instrument calibration of 

each alcohol screening test device at least once during each 30 day 

period of use. The verification shall be performed using an 

alcoholic breath simulator with a simulator solution in accordance 

with Paragraph (c) of this Rule or an ethanol gas canister in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule.  

(c)  Alcoholic breath simulators used exclusively to verify 

instrument calibration of alcohol screening test devices shall have 

the solution changed every 30 days or after 25 calibration tests, 

whichever occurs first. 

(d)  Ethanol gas canisters used exclusively to verify instrument 

calibration of alcohol screening test devices shall not be utilized 

beyond the expiration date on the canister. 

(e)  Requirements of Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule shall 

be recorded on an alcoholic breath simulator log or an ethanol gas 

canister log designed by the Forensic Tests for Alcohol Branch 

within the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services and maintained by the user agency in accordance with 

the user agency's retention policy.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-16.3; 20-138.7(d); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; November 1, 2005; April 1, 2001; 

January 1, 1995; January 4, 1994; April 1, 1993; January 4, 

1993; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;  

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0419 MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR 

ESTIMATES 

(a) The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of 

G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere 

to the procedures in this Rule concerning repair estimates on 

covered motor vehicle damage claims when the failure is so 

frequent as to indicate a general business practice. 

(b) For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Digital Inspection" means an inspection of a 

damaged motor vehicle conducted by using 

digital photographs, videos, or other digital 

evidence through an electronic processing 

system authorized by an insurer. 

(2) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser" 

means an individual who is licensed as a motor 

vehicle damage appraiser pursuant to Article 33 

of Chapter 58 of the N.C. General Statutes or is 

licensed in another state whose licensing 

requirements are substantially similar to or 

exceed those established under that Article. 

(3) "Physical Inspection" means an inspection of a 

damaged motor vehicle conducted in person by 

an insurer's representative. 

(c) When a motor vehicle is damaged, and the claim is either 

covered by an insurer for a first-party claim or liability is 

established for a third-party claim, the insurer shall adhere to the 

following procedures concerning repair estimates: 

(1) If the insurer requires the claimant to obtain 

more than two estimates of property damage, 

any cost of the additional estimate(s) shall be 

paid by the insurer. 

(2) An insurer shall perform a physical or digital 

inspection of the damaged vehicle within 10 

business days of receipt of the claim. If the 

insurer cannot perform the inspection in the 

timeframe, the insurer shall provide the 

claimant with a verbal or written explanation of 

the reason the inspection has not occurred. The 

reason for the delay shall be documented in 

writing within the claim file. 

(3) No insurer shall refuse to perform a physical 

inspection of the damaged vehicle if requested 

by the claimant. 

(4) The insurer may satisfy the inspection 

requirements of this Rule by having a licensed 
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motor vehicle damage appraiser conduct the 

inspection of the damaged vehicle. 

(5) An insurer shall provide a verbal or written 

explanation to the claimant if there is any delay 

in responding to a request for a supplemental 

inspection. The reason for the delay shall be 

documented in writing in the claim file. 

(6) An insurer shall, upon request, provide copies 

of the original estimate and all supplemental 

estimates to the claimant. 

(7) When the insurer elects to have the damaged 

vehicle repaired, the insurer shall, upon request 

of the claimant, furnish the claimant with a 

copy of its estimate. This estimate shall contain 

the name and address of the insurer and, if the 

estimate was prepared by someone other than 

the insurer, the name and address of the person 

preparing the estimate. If there is a dispute 

concerning pre-existing damage to the vehicle 

that the insurer does not intend to have repaired, 

the extent of such damage shall be stated in the 

estimate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0421 HANDLING OF LOSS AND 

CLAIM PAYMENTS 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider the failure by an insurer to 

adhere to the procedures in this Rule concerning loss and claim 

payments as prima facie evidence violation of G.S. 58-63-15(11) 

when such failure is so frequent as to indicate a general business 

practice. 

(b)  When a motor vehicle is damaged and the claim is covered by 

an insurer, the insurer shall adhere to the following procedures 

concerning loss and claim payments. 

(1) Loss and claim payments shall be mailed or 

delivered within 10 business days after the 

claim is settled. 

(2) Unless the insured consents, no insurer shall 

deduct premiums owed by the insured on a 

policy from a loss or claim payment made under 

another policy. 

(3) No insurer shall withhold the entire amount of 

a loss or claim payment because the insured 

owes premium or other monies in an amount 

less than the loss or claim payment. 

(4) If a release or full payment of claim is executed 

by a claimant involving a repair to a motor 

vehicle, it shall not bar the right of the claimant 

to assert a claim for property damages unknown 

to either the claimant or to the insurance carrier 

prior to the repair of the motor vehicle if the 

damages were caused by the accident and could 

not be determined or known until after the 

repair or attempted repair of the motor vehicle. 

This claim shall be asserted within the statute of 

limitations set forth in G.S. 1-52(16). 

(5) If a release or full payment of claim is executed 

by a third-party claimant involving a repair to a 

motor vehicle, it shall not bar the right of the 

third-party claimant to assert a claim for 

diminution in fair market value pursuant to G.S. 

20-279.21(d1) caused by the accident and could 

not be determined or known until after the 

repair or attempted repair of the motor vehicle. 

This claim shall be asserted within the statute of 

limitations set forth in G.S. 1-52(16). 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, "diminution in fair market value" 

shall be as defined in 11 NCAC 04 .0425. 

(d)  If a claim for diminution in fair market value is asserted 

pursuant to this Rule and G.S. 20-279.21(d1), the written 

appraisal reports prepared by each appraiser shall be exchanged 

with the other party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 58-2-40; 58-63-65; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; April 1, 1993; April 1, 1989; July 

1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0425 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section the following terms shall be construed as 

follows: 

(1) "After market part" means a part made by a 

nonoriginal manufacturer. 

(2) "Claimant" means a first-party or third-party 

claimant. 

(3) "Diminution in Fair Market Value," as that term 

is used in G.S. 20-279.21, means the difference 

in the fair market value of the vehicle 

immediately before the accident and after any 

repairs made to the vehicle as a result of the 

accident have been completed. 

(4) "Disinterested appraiser," as that term is used in 

G.S. 20-279.21, means a motor vehicle damage 

appraiser who: 

(a) Is not employed by either the claimant 

or the insurer; 

(b) Has no financial interest in the 

outcome of the appraisal; and 

(c) Did not participate in the original 

appraisal. 

(5) "First-Party Claimant" means a person that is 

making a claim on an insurance policy in which 

they are the insured party. 

(6) "Insurer" means as defined in G.S. 58-1-5(3), 

and includes any person authorized by the 

insurer to represent the insurer with respect to a 

claim and who is acting within the scope of the 

person's authority. 

(7) "Nonoriginal manufacturer" means any 

manufacturer other than the original 

manufacturer of a part. 

(8) "Part" means a component of a motor vehicle. 
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(9) "Third-Party Claimant" means a person that is 

making a claim on an insurance policy in which 

they are not the insured party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 20-279.21; 58-2-40; 

Eff. April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 06A .1001 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Claimant" means as defined in 11 NCAC 04 

.0425. 

(2) "Motor vehicle damage appraiser" means as 

defined in G.S. 58-33-10(14). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

11 NCAC 06A .1002 ETHICAL STANDARDS 

(a)  Every licensed motor vehicle damage appraiser, when 

conducting business, shall: 

(1) identify himself or herself and his or her job 

title; 

(2) when requested, provide his or her National 

Producer Number, and the Department's 

website address and phone number for 

verification of license status; 

(3) prepare an independent appraisal of damages; 

and 

(4) comply with all local, State, and federal laws, 

in the motor vehicle damage appraiser's 

business affairs. 

(b)  Every licensed motor vehicle damage appraiser shall refrain 

from: 

(1) disparaging the professional reputation of a 

motor vehicle damage appraiser or other 

persons associated with the claim; 

(2) recommending the utilization of a particular 

motor vehicle repair service in violation of G.S. 

58-33-76(a). 

(3) recommending a claimant needing repairs or 

other services in connection with a loss to any 

person with whom the motor vehicle damage 

appraiser has a financial interest or who 

provides the motor vehicle damage appraiser 

any compensation for the referral or any 

resulting business; 

(4) impeding the appraisal process or the settlement 

of a property damage claim; 

(5) receiving any gratuity or other consideration in 

violation of G.S. 58-33-76(b). 

(6) advising or recommending a claimant to obtain 

or not obtain legal advice or counsel from a 

particular legal counsel; 

(7) giving legal advice on property damage claims 

in violation of G.S. 84-4; 

(8) solicit a power of attorney from a consumer that 

authorizes the motor vehicle damage appraiser 

to sign insurance-related forms; 

(9) attempting to influence a magistrate in the 

selection of an umpire pursuant to G.S. 20-

279.21(d1), including using influence through a 

client or claimant; 

(10) engaging in the salvage of automobiles if the 

salvage is obtained as a result of appraisal 

services rendered by the motor vehicle damage 

appraiser; and 

(11) act in any manner outside the scope of a motor 

vehicle damage appraiser, as set forth in 

Chapter 58, Article 33 of the General Statutes. 

(c)  Pursuant to G.S. 58-2-70 and G.S. 58-33-46, the 

Commissioner may consider the failure of a licensed motor 

vehicle damage appraiser to comply with this Rule as a basis for 

administrative action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 

Eff, April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 10 .0602 CONSENT TO RATE 

PROCEDURES: RATE BUREAU COVERAGES 

(a)  This Rule applies to automobile physical damage, excess 

motor vehicle liability coverage and residential property with not 

more than four housing units. Insurers may charge a premium in 

excess of that promulgated by the North Carolina Rate Bureau by 

instituting a consent to rate procedure that meets the requirements 

of G.S. 58-36-30(b), (b1) and this Rule. 

(b)  Residential Property With Not More than Four Housing Units: 

(1) The premium to be charged against loss to 

residential property with not more than four 

housing units shall be presumed reasonable if it 

does not exceed 250 percent of the premium 

based upon the approved rates in North 

Carolina. 

(2) Any proposed premium in excess of 250 

percent of the premium based upon the 

approved rates in North Carolina shall be filed 

with the Commissioner for his or her review 

and approval in accordance with the procedures 

set forth in G.S. 58-36-30(a). 

(c)  Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability Insurance. 

An initial (first time) application to effect consent to rate, pursuant 

to G.S. 58-36-30(c), for workers' compensation or employers' 

liability insurance in excess of the rate promulgated by the North 

Carolina Rate Bureau, shall contain the following: 

(1) a description of the insurance proposed, 

including primary and excess limits, the amount 

of coverage, the deductible, and any other 

factor used for rating, where applicable; 

(2) the rate and premium that would be charged 

without application of consent to rate; 

(3) the proposed rate and premium; 

(4) the percent increase. The rate to be charged 

shall be presumed reasonable if it does not 
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exceed 250 percent of the rate that would be 

charged without application of consent to rate. 

Any proposed rate in excess of 250 percent 

shall be explained and shall be subject to review 

and approval of the Commissioner; 

(5) the names and addresses of the insurer, the 

writing agent, and the insured; 

(6) the effective date of the proposed rate; 

(7) the policy period; 

(8) the policy number; and 

(9) a letter signed by the insured acknowledging 

and consenting to the proposed rate. If coverage 

for the specific risk written on consent to rate is 

available through a residual market, North 

Carolina Workers Compensation Insurance 

Plan, a statement signed by the insured 

acknowledging that fact shall also be executed. 

This letter shall be retained in the insurer's 

office and be made available to the 

Commissioner upon request. 

The insurer is not required to obtain the written consent of the 

insured on any renewal of or endorsement to the policy if the 

policy renewal or endorsement states that the rates are greater than 

those rates that are applicable in the State of North Carolina. 

(d)  All records generated under G.S. 58-36-30(b), (b1), (c), and 

this Rule shall be maintained in accordance with the requirements 

of 11 NCAC 19 .0100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-36-30(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. July 11, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; February 1, 1990; January 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 8, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest January 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; December 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0703 NUTRIENT OFFSET CREDIT 

TRADING 

(a)  PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule is to establish standards 

and procedures applicable to providers for approval of nutrient 

reduction projects and associated nutrient offset credits that will 

be transferred to persons or entities subject to nutrient rules of this 

Subchapter. Nutrient offset credit is distinct from nutrient 

accounting for direct compliance with individual nutrient strategy 

rules, which is not governed by this Rule. Nutrient accounting 

includes joint compliance by multiple local governments as 

authorized in individual nutrient strategy rules. Nutrient offset 

credits represent a compliance option to the extent allowed by 

nutrient rules of this Subchapter, including: 

(1) the Neuse Nutrient Strategy as set forth in Rule 

.0710 of this Section; 

(2) the Tar-Pamlico Nutrient Strategy as set forth 

in Rule .0730 of this Section; 

(3) the Jordan Lake Nutrient Strategy as set forth in 

Rule .0262 of this Subchapter, including to the 

extent that the requirements of this Rule related 

to the nutrient offset credits are incorporated by 

the Jordan Lake rules; and 

(4) the Falls Lake Nutrient Strategy as set forth in 

Rule .0275 of this Subchapter, including to the 

extent that the requirements of this Rule related 

to the nutrient offset credits are incorporated by 

the Falls Lake rules. 

(b)  GEOGRAPHIC RESTRICTIONS. Nutrient offset credits 

may be used to satisfy regulatory obligations only when generated 

by a nutrient reduction project within an allowable geographic 

area identified in G.S. 143-214.26, as designated by the U.S. 

Geological Survey, with the following additional restrictions: 

(1) Nutrient offset credits may be used to satisfy 

regulatory obligations incurred in the upper 

Falls watershed only if they were generated by 

a nutrient reduction project located within the 

upper Falls watershed, as this geographic area 

is described in 15A NCAC 02B .0276. 

(2) Nutrient offset credits may be used to satisfy 

regulatory obligations incurred in the lower 

Falls watershed only if they were generated by 

a nutrient reduction project located within the 

Falls Lake watershed, as these geographic areas 

are described in 15A NCAC 02B .0276. 

(3) Nutrient offset credits may be used to satisfy 

regulatory obligations incurred in the Jordan 

Lake watershed only if they were generated by 

a nutrient reduction project in the same 

subwatershed of the Jordan Lake watershed, as 

these geographic areas are described in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0262. 

(4) Nutrient offset credits may be used to satisfy 

regulatory obligations incurred in the Neuse 01 

8-digit cataloguing unit, as designated by the 

U.S. Geological Survey, outside of the Falls 

Lake watershed only if they were generated by 

a nutrient reduction project located outside of 

the Falls Lake watershed. 

(5) Nutrient offset credits generated by nutrient 

reduction projects for compliance with an 

estuarine nutrient strategy shall be generated in 

an area that is within or drains to: 

(A) surface waters identified for 

restoration under the applicable 

nutrient-related TMDL or nutrient 

strategy; or 

(B) surface waters classified as SA, SB, or 

SC that fails to meet the chlorophyll-a 

water quality standard in a subsequent 

integrated report. 

(c)  NUTRIENT OFFSET CREDIT APPROVAL STANDARD. 

Providers shall demonstrate that a nutrient reduction project is 

designed, constructed, implemented, and sustained in a manner 

that, according to the best available scientific evidence, studies, 

and principles, will generate the estimated nutrient load reduction 

for the duration of time for which credits are approved. Nutrient 
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offset credits shall be generated and transferred in accordance 

with G.S. 143-214.26. 

(d)  QUANTIFYING NUTRIENT OFFSET CREDITS. The 

quantity of nutrient offset credits eligible to be generated by a 

nutrient reduction project shall be determined according to the 

following provisions: 

(1) Nutrient reduction credit sought on developed 

lands shall be calculated in relation to load 

reductions achieved relative to the project site's 

current loading condition, as determined by the 

provider and verified by the Division; 

(2) Nutrient load reductions shall be site-specific 

estimates of decreases in annual mass load of 

nitrogen or phosphorus to the nearest receiving 

surface water feature. Such estimates shall be 

supported by the weight of evidence from 

available, current and applicable research, may 

involve water quality modeling or engineering 

formulas and calculations, and shall reflect as 

closely as possible project design 

specifications. 

(3) Unless specifically excepted in Rule, 

reductions shall not include those already 

implemented to satisfy other requirements 

under the same nutrient strategy; other local, 

State or federal requirements; or those resulting 

from State or federal compensatory mitigation 

requirements. Specifically, a nutrient reduction 

project shall not generate nutrient offset credits 

and buffer or wetland mitigation credits in 

spatially overlapping areas. However, restored 

forest buffer areas associated with stream 

mitigation projects may generate both stream 

and nutrient offset credits in spatially 

overlapping areas within 50 feet from the top of 

the stream bank. 

(4) Stream, buffer, or wetland mitigation credit that 

has not been used to satisfy a mitigation 

requirement may be converted into nutrient 

offset credit if the credit-generating project or 

portion thereof complies with this Rule. 

(5) A nutrient reduction project may generate both 

nitrogen and phosphorus offset credits in the 

same area. 

(6) A nutrient reduction project may be designed to 

generate permanent nutrient offset credit or 

term nutrient offset credit and shall specify 

which, or both, in the project plan. Permanent 

nutrient reduction credits and term nutrient 

reduction credits shall be maintained 

separately, even if associated with the same 

nutrient offset project. 

(7) Permanent nutrient offset credits may be 

utilized for temporary compliance purposes. If 

so, for each pound of annual term compliance 

credit received, 1/30th of one pound of 

permanent nutrient offset credit shall be utilized 

and retired by removal from the applicable 

ledger.  

(8) Nutrient offset credits that were approved prior 

to the adoption of this Rule may make 

application to be reclassified. The Division 

shall approve the application associated with 

any nutrient offset project to reclassify credits 

as permanent that meet the requirements for 

permanent credits at the time of the application 

to be reclassified. Other nutrient offset credits 

that were approved prior to the adoption of this 

Rule or that were conditionally approved 

pursuant to a mitigation banking instrument or 

other agreement with DEQ prior to the adoption 

of this Rule, shall be considered term credits 

and may be transferred between term and 

permanent ledgers at a ratio of 30 years of term 

nutrient offset credit to one permanent nutrient 

offset credit. 

(9) Term nutrient offset credits shall be associated 

with the calendar year or years in which the 

associated nutrient load reductions are 

generated. 

(e)  PROJECT APPROVAL STANDARDS. Providers shall 

comply with the following requirements to request approval from 

the Division to implement a nutrient reduction project for the 

purpose of generating nutrient offset credits. 

(1) NUTRIENT OFFSET BANKING 

INSTRUMENT. Providers seeking approval of 

a nutrient offset bank shall submit their draft 

nutrient offset banking instrument to the 

Division prior to seeking approval of project 

plans. A nutrient offset banking instrument 

shall provide legal and financial assurances that 

a provider will implement, maintain, and 

sustain nutrient reduction projects as proposed 

in subsequent project plans and associated 

nutrient reduction practice design 

specifications. 

(2) PROJECT PLAN REQUIREMENTS. Prior to 

initiating a nutrient reduction project, providers 

shall submit a project plan proposal to the 

Division for review and approval that includes 

the following elements: 

(A) A site location and site boundaries of 

the proposed project. 

(B) The geographic area eligible to be 

served by nutrient offset credits in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule or in compliance with in-lieu fee 

nutrient offset requirements applicable 

at the time an in-lieu fee payment was 

accepted. 

(C) Documentation of the conditions of 

the site at the time of the submittal of 

the project plan. 

(D) Documentation of the condition of the 

site during the baseline period of the 

applicable nutrient strategy, unless 

excepted by Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Paragraph. The Division may 
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accept more recent documentation if it 

determines such documentation 

establishes the probable loading 

condition of the site during the 

baseline period. 

(E) A description of the proposed project 

that supports compliance with the 

standard in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

Projects conforming to minimum 

design criteria for stormwater control 

measures in 15A NCAC 02H .1050 

through .1062 shall be deemed as 

meeting this requirement. Design 

criteria for stormwater control 

measure variants and additional 

nutrient reduction practices 

established in the Division's Catalog 

of Nutrient Reduction Practices also 

meet this requirement. 

(F) Nutrient credit calculations 

determined in conformance with 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(G) Identification of the property owner 

and parties responsible for obtaining 

all permits and other authorizations 

needed to: 

(i) establish the proposed 

project; 

(ii) construct and ensure initial 

performance of the project; 

(iii) report on and successfully 

complete the project by 

completing all crediting 

milestones; 

(iv) hold and enforce all easement 

or other protection 

mechanisms; and 

(v) ensure maintenance of the 

project for its credited 

duration. 

(H) A description of how the project will 

be implemented, which shall include a 

timeline and a commitment to provide 

an as-built report upon the full project 

construction or installation. 

(I) A description of how the project will 

be maintained and monitored after it 

has been installed and for its duration. 

(J) A description of how the project will 

be sustained for its credited life, 

including a commitment to repair and 

renovate it as needed to maintain its 

performance, to keep records of all 

such operation, maintenance, 

monitoring, repair and renovation, and 

to notify the Division of any 

significant performance remediation 

needs and plans. 

(K) Identification of federal or State grant 

funding contributing to project 

implementation. 

(3) FINANCIAL ASSURANCES. Providers 

seeking approval of a nutrient offset bank shall 

provide the financial assurance that a project 

plan will be constructed as proposed. The 

financial assurance shall be in the form of a 

completion bond, credit insurance, letter of 

credit, escrow, or other vehicle acceptable to 

the Division in accordance with this 

Subparagraph, payable to, or for the benefit of, 

the Division, to ensure the involved property is 

secured in fee title or by easement and that 

planting or construction, monitoring or 

maintenance are completed as necessary to 

meet the requirements of the project plan. 

(4) PROJECT PLAN APPROVAL. The Division 

shall approve the provider's project plan 

proposal after verifying the provider's 

compliance with Subparagraphs (1), (2) and (3) 

of this Paragraph and completing an onsite 

review to verify that preconstruction site 

conditions are suitable to generate the credits 

proposed by the project plan. However, the 

Division may partially or fully waive these 

requirements for term practices or projects if it 

determines that the burden of compliance is 

disproportionate to the value of the credits 

being generated and alternative means are used 

to satisfy the basic credit approval standard set 

forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(f)  RELEASE AND ACCOUNTING FOR NUTRIENT OFFSET 

CREDITS. The Division shall release nutrient offset credits from 

an approved project in the following manner: 

(1) The Division shall release credits to providers 

upon confirmation that project-specific 

milestones reflected in the project plan's credit 

release schedule have been met. Project-

specific milestones for permanent nutrient 

offset credits shall conform to the following 

requirements: 

(A) Credits shall not be released until the 

property is secured in fee title or by 

easement and financial assurance is 

posted for planting or construction of 

the project. 

(B) No more than 50 percent of the credits 

shall be released for a project until 

financial assurance is provided for 

monitoring and maintenance activities 

lasting until project completion. 

(C) No more than 80 percent of the credits 

shall be released for a project until the 

provider complies with the 

requirements of Paragraph (g). 

(2) Once credits are released for a nutrient offset 

bank and until bank closure, nutrient offset 

bank providers shall provide a credit/debit 
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ledger to the Division at intervals no less 

frequently than quarterly. 

(3) The Division shall not release any credits for a 

project if that project is financed in whole or in 

part by State grant funding or federal grant 

funding. 

(g)  MAINTAINING PERMANENT NUTRIENT OFFSET 

CREDITS. All permanent nutrient offset projects shall comply 

with the following requirements: 

(1) A provider shall transfer responsibility for 

oversight of a completed permanent project to a 

perpetual steward in accordance with this 

Paragraph and the approved project plan. A 

perpetual steward may also transfer 

responsibility to another perpetual steward in 

accordance with the terms of this Paragraph, 

subject to DWR approval. Perpetual stewards 

may not assume project maintenance or 

restoration responsibilities. 

(2) The provider shall create and transfer to the 

perpetual steward a non-wasting endowment or 

other dedicated financial surety to provide for 

the oversight of the completed permanent 

project. The endowment amount shall be 

proportionate to the duties accepted by the 

perpetual steward. 

(3) For projects utilizing conservation easements, 

the provider shall acquire and then transfer a 

conservation easement to a perpetual steward in 

accordance with 26 U.S.C. 170(h) and the 

Conservation and Historic Preservation 

Agreements Act, G.S. 121, Article 4. The terms 

of the conservation easement shall be consistent 

with a Division-approved template or be 

approved by the Division as conforming to 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Non-governmental 

perpetual stewards shall be accredited by the 

Land Trust Accreditation Commission or 

approved by the Division. 

(4) For projects utilizing SCMs, they shall be 

placed in and protected by recorded drainage 

easements with recorded access easements to 

the nearest public right-of-way for purposes of 

operation and maintenance. These easements 

shall be granted in favor of the person or entity 

responsible for operating and maintaining the 

structures, with a note as to the responsible 

person or entity. Easements shall be of 

sufficient width for inspection and maintenance 

of the project. 

The Division may temporarily or permanently 

invalidate permanent credits generated by an 

SCM if it determines that the SCM has been 

impacted due to failure to comply with the 

terms of an associated project plan, nutrient 

offset banking instrument, easement, 

maintenance agreement, other protective 

agreement, or this Rule. 

(5) Projects designed to restore a natural ecological 

community at the project site, which are 

completed and then damaged by natural causes, 

may be passively restored exclusively through 

natural ecological processes.  

(h)  RENEWING TERM NUTRIENT OFFSET CREDITS. 

Expiring term nutrient offset credits may be renewed by the 

provider upon providing documentation to the Division that the 

project meets the credit approval standard 

set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule for the duration of the 

renewal period. 

(i)  ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS REGARDING THE 

DIVISION OF MITIGATION SERVICES. 

(1) DMS shall establish and revise nutrient offset 

rates as set out in 15A NCAC 02R .0602. Offset 

payments accepted by DMS shall be placed into 

the Riparian Buffer Restoration Fund 

administered by the Department pursuant to 

G.S. 143-214.21. 

(2) On or before November 30 of each year, DMS 

shall provide an annual report to the Division 

concerning the nutrient in-lieu fee program that 

includes a requirement ledger. The requirement 

ledger shall include all nutrient offset credit 

requirements paid by 8-digit cataloguing unit or 

for each geographic area identified in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule, the date by which the 

requirement shall be satisfied by a project, and 

the projects and credits that have been applied 

to all requirements. 

(3) Subject to the geographic restrictions in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, DMS may accept 

payments for nutrient offset credits prior to 

initiating projects. After accepting payment, 

DMS shall construct projects that, upon 

completion as described in the approved project 

plan, will generate nutrient offset credits 

sufficient to fulfill all new requirements 

generated by these payments. Projects shall be 

instituted before the end of the first full State 

fiscal year after DMS receives payment and 

constructed before the end of the third full State 

fiscal year after DMS receives payment. DMS 

may also acquire credits from another provider 

to apply toward its requirements. 

(4) If DMS fails to meet deadlines associated with 

project institution or construction as specified 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph, then 

DMS shall develop an action strategy to include 

in the annual report specified in Subparagraph 

(2) of this Paragraph. Action strategies shall 

include all of the following: 

(A) a list of factors resulting in delays or 

deficiencies in procurement, project 

implementation, or construction; 

(B) specific actions and a timeline planned 

by DMS to satisfy outstanding credit 

requirements such that a project will 

be instituted before the end of the first 
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full state fiscal year after the action 

strategy is submitted to the Division in 

the annual report and constructed 

before the end of the third full state 

fiscal year after the action strategy is 

submitted to the Division in the annual 

report, unless otherwise specified in 

the action strategy; 

(C) the anticipated date by which all 

outstanding nutrient offset credit 

requirements will be satisfied; and 

(D) an evaluation of current progress in 

relation to any prior action strategies.  

(j)  NUTRIENT OFFSET CREDIT TRANSACTIONS. Parties 

who seek to acquire nutrient offset credits under rules of this 

Subchapter shall do so in compliance with those rules, the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, G.S. 143-214.26, and 

the following: 

(1) Offset payments made to DMS shall be 

contingent upon acceptance of the payment by 

DMS. DMS shall consider its financial, 

temporal, and technical ability to satisfy the 

request to make its determination. 

(2) Where persons seek to satisfy regulatory 

obligations for more than one nutrient type, 

they shall acquire nutrient reduction credits to 

address each type. 

(3) Projects shall be approved and the associated 

offset credits released by the Division before 

they may be utilized for NPDES wastewater 

permit compliance purposes. 

(4) For offset credits used to meet NPDES 

wastewater discharge requirements, the 

applicant shall provide 50 percent additional 

credits to address the uncertainty factor for 

using unmonitored nonpoint source reductions 

to meet point source discharge limits. 

Application of this ratio is in addition to other 

ratios that may be applied, including delivery or 

transport factors where applicable. Exceptions 

to the application of this uncertainty factor are 

as follows: 

(A) The uncertainty factor for wastewater 

dischargers in the Jordan Lake 

watershed shall instead be determined 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 

.0273(2)(d)(ii) until final action is 

taken with respect to that rule's next 

readoption pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3A, S.L. 2016-94, and S.L. 2018-5. 

(B) The uncertainty factor for wastewater 

dischargers in the Falls Lake 

watershed shall instead be determined 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 

.0282(2)(b)(i) until final action is 

taken with respect to that rule's next 

readoption pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3A, S.L. 2016-94, and S.L. 2018-5. 

(5) Delivery factors shall be applied to estimate 

nutrient reductions to an impaired water body 

subject to a nutrient strategy if required under 

rules of this Subchapter for that strategy. 

(6) Term credits may be utilized for compliance 

only during the year in which they are generated 

and as described in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this 

Rule. They may not be cumulatively banked for 

future years. 

(k)  DEVELOPER-RESPONSIBLE NUTRIENT OFFSET 

PROJECTS. A developer subject to new development stormwater 

requirements of this Subchapter may satisfy its nutrient reduction 

obligations by generating its own offsite credits. It may do so by 

establishing a nutrient offset bank and generating credits in 

accordance with this Rule. Alternatively, the developer shall 

comply with all provisions of this Rule governing the generation 

of nutrient offset credits by a provider with the following 

modifications: 

(1) Instead of a credit release schedule, credit for 

the project may be assigned upon construction 

of the project and submission to the Division of 

the as-built report as described in the project 

plan; 

(2) Credit shall be assigned at a 50 percent rate 

based on the design specifications of the fully 

completed project(s); and 

(3) Liability for the generation of credits as 

described in the project plan remains with the 

developer until the completion of all milestones 

associated with the project. 

(l)  NPDES WASTEWATER PERMITTEE-RESPONSIBLE 

NUTRIENT OFFSET PROJECTS. A locality, authority, utility, 

or sanitation district operating a permitted wastewater facility 

subject to wastewater rules of this Subchapter may generate 

nutrient offset credits by installing projects in accordance with 

this Rule. Any credits generated may then be utilized for 

compliance purposes as if acquired from another provider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.20; 143-

214.21; 143-214.26;  

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2010; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02B .0240 Eff. April 1, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 04A .0101 OFFICES OF THE 

SEDIMENTATION CONTROL COMMISSION 

Persons may contact the North Carolina Sedimentation Control 

Commission offices at the Archdale Building, 512 N. Salisbury 

Street, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. Persons 

may contact regional offices of the Commission's staff in the 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources at the following 

locations: 

(1) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 U.S. 70 Hwy. 

Swannanoa, NC 28778-8211 
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(2) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 W. Hanes Mill Rd., Suite 300 

Winston-Salem, N.C. 27105 

(3) Mooresville Regional Office 

610 E. Center Avenue, Suite 301 

Mooresville, N.C. 28115-2578 

(4) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 

Raleigh, N.C. 27609-7222 

(5) Fayetteville Regional Office 

225 Green Street, Suite 714 

Fayetteville, N.C. 28301-5095 

(6) Washington Regional Office 

1424 Carolina Ave. 

Washington, N.C. 27889-3314 

(7) Wilmington Regional Office 

127 Cardinal Dr., Ext. 

Wilmington, N.C. 28405-3845 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 143B-298; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); October 

1, 1995; February 1, 1992; May 1, 1990; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04A .0105 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 113A-52, the following 

definitions shall apply in this Chapter and have these meanings: 

(1) "Accelerated Erosion" means any increase over 

the rate of natural erosion, as a result of 

land-disturbing activities. 

(2) "Act" means the Sedimentation Pollution 

Control Act of 1973 in G.S. 113A-50, et seq. 

(3) "Adequate Erosion Control Devices or 

Structures" means one that controls the soil 

material within the land area under responsible 

control of the person conducting the 

land-disturbing activity. 

(4) "Approving Authority" means the Division or 

other State or a local government agency that 

has been delegated erosion and sedimentation 

plan review responsibilities in accordance with 

the provisions of the Act. 

(5) "Being Conducted" means a land-disturbing 

activity has been initiated and not deemed 

complete by the approving authority. 

(6) "Borrow" means fill material that is required for 

on-site construction that is obtained from other 

locations. 

(7) "Buffer Zone" means the strip of land adjacent 

to a lake or natural watercourse. 

(8) "Coastal Counties" means the following 

counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, 

Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, 

Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, New Hanover, 

Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, 

Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington. 

(9) "Completion of Construction or Development" 

means that no further land-disturbing activity is 

required on a phase of a project except that 

which, as determined by the approving 

authority, is necessary for establishing a 

permanent ground cover. 

(10) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources of the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

(11) "Discharge Point" or "Point of Discharge" 

means that point where runoff leaves a tract of 

land where a land-disturbing activity has 

occurred or enters a lake or natural watercourse. 

(12) "Division" or "DEMLR" means the Division of 

Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources of the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

(13) "Energy Dissipator" means a structure or a 

shaped channel section with mechanical 

armoring placed at the outlet of pipes or 

conduits to receive and break down the energy 

from high velocity flow. 

(14) "Ground Cover" means any natural vegetative 

growth or other material that renders the soil 

surface stable against accelerated erosion. 

(15) "High Quality Waters" means those described 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0224, which is herein 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(16) "High Quality Water (HQW) Zones" means 

areas in the Coastal Counties that are within 575 

feet of High Quality Waters and for the 

remainder of the State, areas that are within one 

mile of and drain to HQW's. 

(17) "Lake or Natural Watercourse" means any 

stream, river, brook, swamp, sound, bay, creek, 

run, branch, canal, waterway, estuary, and any 

reservoir, lake, or pond.  

(18) "Natural Erosion" means "erosion" as defined 

in G.S. 113A-52(5) under natural 

environmental conditions undisturbed by man. 

(19) "Person Conducting the Land-disturbing 

Activity" means any person who may be held 

responsible for a violation unless provided 

otherwise by the Act, the rules of this Chapter, 

or any order or local ordinance adopted 

pursuant to these Rules or the Act.  

(20) "Person Who Violates," or "Violator," as used 

in G.S. 113A-64, means: any landowner or 

other person who has financial or operational 

control over the land-disturbing activity; or who 

has directly or indirectly allowed the activity, 

and who has failed to comply with any 

provision of the Act, the rules of this Chapter, 

or any order or local ordinance adopted 

pursuant to the Act, as it imposes a duty upon 

that person. 

(21) "Plan" means an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan. 
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(22) "Sedimentation" means the process by which 

sediment resulting from accelerated erosion has 

been or is being transported off the site of the 

land-disturbing activity or into a lake or natural 

watercourse. 

(23) "Storm Drainage Facilities" means the system 

of inlets, conduits, channels, ditches, and 

appurtenances that serve to collect and convey 

stormwater through and from a given drainage 

area. 

(24) "Stormwater Runoff" means the runoff of water 

resulting from precipitation in any form. 

(25) "Ten-Year Storm" means a rainfall of an 

intensity that, based on historical data, is 

predicted, by a method acceptable to the 

approving authority, to be equaled or exceeded, 

on the average, once in 10 years, and of a 

duration that will produce the maximum peak 

rate of runoff from the watershed of interest 

under average antecedent wetness conditions. 

(26) "Twenty-five Year Storm" or "Q25" means a 

rainfall of an intensity that, based on historical 

data, is predicted, by a method acceptable to the 

approving authority, to be equaled or exceeded, 

on the average, once in 25 years, and of a 

duration that will produce the maximum peak 

rate of runoff from the watershed of interest 

under average antecedent wetness conditions. 

(27) "Uncovered" means having had ground cover 

removed from, on, or above the soil surface. 

(28) "Undertaken" means the initiating of any 

activity or phase of activity that results or will 

result in a change in the ground cover or 

topography of a tract of land. 

(29) "Velocity" means the speed of flow through a 

cross-section perpendicular to the direction of 

the main channel at the peak flow of the storm 

of interest but not exceeding bank full flows.  

(30 "Waste" means surplus materials resulting from 

on-site construction and to be disposed offsite. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-52; 113A-54; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1990 for a period of 180 

days to expire on April 29, 1991; 

ARRC Objection Lodged November 14, 1990; 

ARRC Objection Removed December 20, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 1992 for a period of 180 

days to expire on July 11, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); October 

1, 1995; April 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0105 PROTECTION OF PROPERTY 

Persons conducting land-disturbing activity shall follow the 

measures specified in this Chapter and the Act to protect all public 

and private property from sedimentation and erosion damage 

caused by the land-disturbing activities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(d)(2); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0106 BASIC EROSION AND 

SEDIMENTATION CONTROL PLAN OBJECTIVES 

An erosion and sedimentation control plan developed pursuant to 

this Chapter shall be designed to address the following:  

(1) Identify Critical Areas. Identify site areas 

subject to accelerated erosion, and off-site areas 

vulnerable to damage from erosion and 

sedimentation. 

(2) Limit Exposed Areas. Limit the size of the area 

exposed at any one time. 

(3) Limit Time of Exposure. Limit exposure to the 

shortest time specified in G.S. 113A-57, the 

rules of this Chapter, or as directed by the 

approving authority. 

(4) Control Surface Water. Control surface water 

originating upgrade of exposed areas in order to 

reduce erosion and sediment loss during 

exposure. 

(5) Control Sedimentation. All land-disturbing 

activity shall be planned to prevent off-site 

sedimentation damage. 

(6) Manage Stormwater Runoff. Plans shall be 

designed so that any increase in velocity of 

stormwater runoff resulting from a land-

disturbing activity will not result in accelerated 

erosion of the receiving stormwater conveyance 

or at the point of discharge. Plans shall include 

measures to prevent accelerated erosion within 

the project boundary and at the point of 

discharge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(d)(4); 113A-54.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; February 1, 1992; May 1, 1990; 

November 1, 1984; March 14, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0107 MANDATORY STANDARDS 

FOR LAND-DISTURBING ACTIVITY 

(a)  No land-disturbing activity subject to these Rules shall be 

undertaken except in accordance with G.S. 113A-57 and the 

standards established in these Rules. 

(b)  Unless where otherwise specified in the Act or the rules of 

this Chapter, provisions for permanent ground cover sufficient to 

restrain erosion shall be accomplished within 90 calendar days 

following completion of construction or development.  

(c)  Pursuant to G.S. 113A-57(4) and 113A-54(d)(4), an erosion 

and sedimentation control plan shall be filed and approved by the 

approving authority. 

(d)  All individuals that obtain a State or locally-approved erosion 

and sedimentation control plan that disturb one acre or more of 
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land are required by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to 

obtain coverage under the N.C. Department of Environmental 

Quality Construction General Permit No. NCG010000 (NCG01). 

The requirements in NCG01 for temporary or permanent ground 

cover may differ from the ground cover, or stabilization, 

requirements in this Chapter. It is the responsibility of the person 

conducting the land-disturbing activity to ensure compliance with 

the NCG01. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(d)(4); 113A-57;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; May 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; 

November 1, 1984; March 14, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0108 DESIGN AND PERFORMANCE 

STANDARD 

Except where otherwise specified in this Chapter, erosion and 

sedimentation control measures, structures, and devices shall be 

planned, designed, and constructed to provide protection from the 

runoff of a 10-year storm that produces the maximum peak rate of 

runoff as calculated according to procedures in the United States 

Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation 

Service's "National Engineering Field Handbook 630 (Handbook 

630)." This document is herein incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, and may be 

accessed at no cost at  

https://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detailfull/national/wa

ter/manage/hydrology/?cid=stelprdb1043063. Other 

methodologies may be used if based on generally accepted 

engineering standards that are shown to be equivalent to or 

improved over the procedures in Handbook 630. The approving 

authority shall determine acceptability of an alternative 

methodology based upon a showing that the runoff model used 

was based on observed data in agreement with the predictive 

model. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0109 STORMWATER OUTLET 

PROTECTION 

(a)  Persons shall provide a design for the land-disturbing activity 

so that the post-construction velocity of the ten-year storm runoff 

in the receiving stormwater conveyance to, and including, the 

discharge point, does not exceed the greater of: 

(1) the velocity established by the table in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule; or 

(2) the projected velocity of the ten-year storm 

runoff in the receiving stormwater conveyance 

prior to development. 

If the projected conditions in Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this 

Paragraph cannot be met, then the receiving stormwater 

conveyance to, and including, the discharge point shall be 

designed and constructed to withstand the expected velocity 

anywhere the velocity exceeds the velocity prior to development 

by ten percent. 

(b)  When conditions of this Rule can be met, the Commission 

shall allow alternative measures to control downstream erosion, 

including: 

(1) compensation for increased runoff from areas 

rendered impervious by designing measures to 

promote infiltration;  

(2) avoiding increases in stormwater discharge 

velocities by using vegetated or roughened 

swales and waterways in place of closed drains 

and paved sections;  

(3) providing energy dissipators at storm drainage 

outlets to reduce flow velocities to the 

discharge points; or 

(4) protecting stormwater conveyances subject to 

accelerated erosion by improving cross sections 

or providing erosion-resistant lining. 

(c)  This Rule shall not apply when stormwater discharge 

velocities will not result in accelerated erosion in the receiving 

stormwater conveyance or discharge point. 

(d)  The following table sets maximum permissible velocity for 

storm water discharges: 

 

Maximum Permissible 

Material      Velocities in feet and Meters Per Second* 

F.P.S. M.P.S. 

 

Fine Sand (noncolloidal)     2.5 .8 

Sandy Loam (noncolloidal)    2.5 .8 

Silt Loam (noncolloidal)     3.0 .9 

Ordinary Firm Loam     3.5 1.1 

Fine Gravel      5.0 1.5 

Stiff Clay (very colloidal)     5.0 1.5 

Graded, Loam to Cobbles (noncolloidal)   5.0 1.5 

Graded, Silt to Cobbles (colloidal)    5.5 1.7 

Alluvial Silts (noncolloidal)    3.5 1.1 

Alluvial Silts (colloidal)     5.0 1.5 

Coarse Gravel (noncolloidal)    6.0 1.8 

Cobbles and Shingles     5.5 1.7 

Shales and Hard Pans     6.0 1.8 
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*For sinuous channels, multiply allowable velocity by 0.95 for slightly sinuous, by 0.9 for moderately sinuous channels, and by 0.8 for 

highly sinuous channels. Source: Adapted from recommendations by Special Committee on Irrigation Research, American Society of 

Civil Engineers, 1926, for channels with straight alignment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 113A-54(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; May 1, 1990; November 1, 1984; July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0110 BORROW AND WASTE AREAS 

If the same person conducts the land-disturbing activity and any 

related borrow or waste activity, the related borrow or waste 

activity shall constitute part of the land-disturbing activity, unless 

the borrow or waste activity is regulated under the Mining Act of 

1971, G.S. 74, Article 7, or is a landfill regulated by the Division 

of Waste Management. If the land-disturbing activity and any 

related borrow or waste activity are not conducted by the same 

person, they shall be considered by the approving authority as 

separate land-disturbing activities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0111 ACCESS AND HAUL ROADS 

Except for public roads, temporary access and haul roads 

constructed or used in connection with any land-disturbing 

activity shall be considered a part of the activity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0112 OPERATIONS IN LAKES OR 

NATURAL WATERCOURSES 

Land-disturbing activity in connection with construction in, on, 

over, or under a lake or natural watercourse shall minimize the 

extent and duration of disruption of the stream channel. Where 

relocation of a stream forms an essential part of the proposed 

activity, the relocation shall minimize changes in the stream flow 

characteristics. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0113 RESPONSIBILITY FOR 

MAINTENANCE 

During the development of a site, the person conducting the 

land-disturbing activity shall install and maintain all temporary 

and permanent erosion and sedimentation control measures as 

required by the approved plan or any provision of the Act, the 

rules of this Chapter, or any order or local ordinance adopted 

pursuant to the Act. After site development, the land owner or 

person in possession or control of the land shall install and 

maintain all permanent erosion and sediment control measures, 

except those measures installed within a road or street right of way 

or easement accepted for maintenance by a governmental agency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0115 ADDITIONAL MEASURES 

Whenever the Commission or a local government determines that 

accelerated erosion and sedimentation continues despite the 

installation of protective practices, they shall direct the person 

conducting the land-disturbing activity to take additional 

protective action necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions specified in the Act or the rules of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 113A-54.1(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0118 APPROVAL OF PLANS 

(a)  Persons conducting land-disturbing activity on a tract that 

covers one or more acres shall file the erosion and sedimentation 

control plan with the local government having jurisdiction or with 

the Commission if no local government has jurisdiction. The 

approving authority shall act on the plan within 30 days of receipt 

of the plan or the plan shall be deemed approved. A paper copy of 

the approved plan shall be kept on file at the job site. After 

approving a plan, if the Commission or local government 

determines, either upon review of such plan or upon inspection of 

the job site, that the plan is inadequate to meet the requirements 

of the Act and of this Chapter, the Commission or local 

government shall require a revised plan. Pending the preparation 

of the revised plan, work shall cease or shall continue under 

conditions outlined by the approving authority. 

(b)  Commission Approval: 

(1) The Commission shall review plans for all 

land-disturbing activity over which the 

Commission has exclusive jurisdiction 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-56, and all other 

land-disturbing activity where no local 

government has jurisdiction. 

(2) The Commission shall complete its review of 

any completed plan within 30 days of receipt 

and shall notify the person submitting the plan 

in writing that it has been: 

(A) approved; 

(B) approved with modification; or 

(C) disapproved. 
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(3) The Commission's approval with modification 

or disapproval of any proposed plan shall entitle 

the person submitting the plan to an 

administrative hearing in accordance with the 

provisions of G.S. 150B-23. 

(4) Any plan submitted for a land-disturbing 

activity for which an environmental document 

is required by the North Carolina 

Environmental Policy Act, G.S. 113, Article 1, 

and the Department rules set forth in 15A 

NCAC 01C shall be deemed incomplete until 

an environmental document is available for 

review. The Commission shall notify the person 

submitting the plan that the 30-day time limit 

for review of the plan pursuant to Subparagraph 

(2) of this Paragraph shall not begin until the 

environmental document is available for 

review. 

(c)  An erosion and sedimentation control plan shall be 

disapproved unless the application includes an authorized 

statement of financial responsibility and documentation of 

property ownership. This statement shall be signed by the person 

financially responsible for the land-disturbing activity or his or 

her attorney-in-fact. The statement shall include the mailing and 

street addresses of the principal place of business of the person 

financially responsible and of the owner of the land or their 

registered agents. 

(d)  Local Government Approval: 

(1) Local Governments administering erosion and 

sedimentation control programs shall develop 

and publish procedures for approval of plans. 

The procedures shall follow applicable laws, 

ordinances, and rules, and shall contain 

procedures for appeal consistent with the local 

government's organization and operations. 

(2) Appeals of local government decisions shall be 

conducted pursuant to G.S. 113A-61(c). 

(3) The Secretary shall appoint employees of the 

Department as he or she deems necessary to 

consider appeals from the local government's 

final disapproval or modification of a plan. 

Within 30 days following receipt of notification 

of the appeal, the departmental employee shall 

complete the review and shall notify the local 

government and the person appealing the local 

government's decision that the plan be 

approved, approved with modifications, or 

disapproved. 

(4) If the person submitting the plan disagrees with 

the decision reached by a Departmental 

employee, he or she may appeal the decision to 

the Commission by filing notice within 15 days 

with the Director of the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources. The Director 

shall make the proposed erosion control plan 

and the records relating to the local 

government's and Departmental employee's 

review, available to an erosion and 

sedimentation control plan review committee 

consisting of three members of the Commission 

appointed by the Chairman. Within 10 days 

following receipt of the notification of appeal, 

the erosion and sedimentation control plan 

review committee shall notify the local 

government and the person submitting the plan 

of a place and time for a hearing for 

consideration of the appeal. Both parties shall 

be given at least 15 days' notice of the hearing 

and an opportunity to present written or oral 

arguments. The erosion and sedimentation plan 

review committee shall notify both parties of its 

decision concerning the approval, disapproval, 

or modification of the proposed plan within 30 

days following the hearing. 

(e)  The applicant's right under G.S. 113A-54.1(d) to appeal the 

Director's disapproval of an erosion control plan under G.S. 

113A-54.1(c) gives rise to a right to an appeal to the Commission. 

An applicant desiring to appeal the Commission's disapproval of 

an erosion control plan shall file with the Office of Administrative 

Hearings a contested case petition under G.S. 150B, Article 3.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-54; 113A-54.1; 

113A-57; 113A-60(a); 113A-61(b); 113A-61(c);  

Eff. February 1, 1976;  

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; August 1, 1988;  

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 1992 for a period of 180 

days to expire on July 11, 1992;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); June 1, 

1995; February 1, 1992;  

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0120 INSPECTIONS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  The Commission, Department of Environmental Quality, or 

local government may require written statements related to items 

including Notices of Violation (NOVs) or Stop-Work orders, or 

the filing of reports under oath, such as self-inspection or 

engineering/design reports, concerning land-disturbing activity, 

as necessary to carry out duties specified in the Act. 

(b)  Inspection of sites shall be carried out by the staff of 

Department of Environmental Quality, representatives of a 

delegated local government, or other qualified persons authorized 

by the Commission or Department of Environmental Quality as 

necessary to carry out duties specified in the Act. 

(c)  No person shall refuse entry or access to any person 

authorized by the Commission or any representative of a 

delegated local government who requests entry for purposes of 

inspection. 

(d)  When a preconstruction conference is proposed pursuant to 

G.S. 113A-51, the request shall be set forth in the plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-51; 113A-54(b); 113A-58; 

113A-61.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; May 1, 1990; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 
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15A NCAC 04B .0124 DESIGN STANDARDS IN 

SENSITIVE WATERSHEDS 

(a)  Uncovered areas in HQW zones shall be limited to a 

maximum total area of 20 acres within the boundaries of the tract. 

Only the land-disturbing activity within a HQW zone shall be 

governed by this Rule. Larger areas may be uncovered within the 

boundaries of the tract with the written approval of the Director 

upon providing engineering justification with a construction 

sequence that considers phasing, limiting exposure, weekly 

submitted self-inspection reports, and more conservative design 

than the 25-year storm. The Director may also stipulate the 

inclusion of other conditions in the plan as necessary based on 

specific site conditions. 

(b)  Erosion and sedimentation control measures, structures, and 

devices within HQW zones shall be planned, designed, and 

constructed to provide protection from the runoff of the 25-year 

storm that produces the maximum peak rate of runoff as 

calculated according to procedures in the United States 

Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation 

Service's "National Engineering Field Handbook 630 for 

Conservation Practices." Other methodologies may be used if 

based on generally accepted engineering standards that are shown 

to the Division to be equivalent to or improved over the 

procedures in Handbook 630. The Division shall determine 

acceptability of an alternative methodology based upon a showing 

that the runoff model used was based on observed data in 

agreement with the predictive model. 

(c)  In order to provide for water quality protection in HQW zones, 

sediment basins that discharge to those areas shall be designed 

and constructed to meet the following criteria: 

(1) use a surface withdrawal mechanism, except 

when the basin drainage area is less than 1.0 

acre; 

(2) have a minimum of 1800 cubic feet of storage 

area per acre of disturbed area; 

(3) have a minimum surface area of 325 square feet 

per cfs of Q25 peak inflow; 

(4) have a minimum dewatering time of 48 hours; 

and 

(5) incorporate 3 baffles, unless the basin is less 

than 20 feet in length, in which case 2 baffles 

shall be sufficient. 

(d)  Upon a written request of the applicant, the Director may 

allow alternative design or control measures in lieu of meeting the 

conditions required in Subparagraphs (c)(2) through (c)(5) of this 

Rule if the applicant demonstrates that meeting all of those 

conditions will result in design or operational hardships and that 

the alternative measures will provide an equal or more effective 

level of erosion and sedimentation control on the site. Alternative 

measures may include quicker application of ground cover, use of 

sediment flocculants, and use of enhanced ground cover practices. 

(e)  Newly constructed open channels in HQW zones shall be 

designed and constructed with side slopes no steeper than two 

horizontal to one vertical if a vegetative cover is used for 

stabilization, unless soil conditions permit a steeper slope or 

where the slopes are stabilized by using mechanical devices, 

structural devices, or other forms of ditch liners proven to the 

Division as being effective in restraining accelerated erosion. The 

angle for side slopes shall be sufficient to restrain accelerated 

erosion. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 113A-54(c)(1); 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0125 BUFFER ZONE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The width of a buffer zone shall be measured from the edge 

of the water to the nearest edge of the disturbed area, with the 25 

percent of the strip nearer the land-disturbing activity containing 

natural or artificial means of confining visible siltation. 

(b)  A 25-foot minimum width undisturbed buffer zone shall be 

protected adjacent to trout waters designated by the 

Environmental Management Commission. The 25-foot width 

buffer zone shall be measured horizontally from the top of the 

bank to the nearest area of disturbance. 

(c)  Where a temporary and minimal disturbance is permitted as 

an exception by G.S. 113A-57(1), land-disturbing activities in the 

buffer zone adjacent to designated trout waters shall be limited to 

a maximum of 10 percent of the total length of the buffer zone 

within the tract and distributed such that there is not more than 

100 linear feet of disturbance in each 1000 linear feet of buffer 

zone.  

(d)  Upon a written request of the applicant, the Director may 

allow a larger area of disturbance than provided in Paragraph (c) 

of this Rule if the applicant demonstrates that additional measures 

will be utilized that will achieve an equal or more effective level 

of erosion and sedimentation control than would be achieved had 

the specifications prescribed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule been 

followed. 

(e)  No land-disturbing activity shall be undertaken within a buffer 

zone adjacent to trout waters that is predicted by the approving 

authority to cause stream temperature violations in these waters 

as set forth in 15A NCAC 02B .0211 which is hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 113A-54(c)(1); 

113A-57(1); 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0126 APPLICATION FEE 

(a)  The nonrefundable application fee, in the amount provided in 

G.S. 113A-54.2, shall be paid when an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan is filed in accordance with Rule .0118 of this Section. 

(b)  Each plan shall be deemed incomplete until the application 

fee is paid. 

(c)  No application fee shall be charged for review of a revised 

plan unless the revised plan contains an increase in the number of 

acres to be disturbed. If the revised plan contains an increase in 

the number of acres to be disturbed, the plan review processing 

fee to be charged shall be the amount specified in G.S. 113A-54.2 

for each additional acre (or any part thereof) disturbed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-54.2; 
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Temporary Rule Eff. November 1, 1990, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on April 29, 1991; 

AARC Objection Lodged November 14, 1990; 

AARC Objection Removed December 20, 1990; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0127 CERTIFICATE OF PLAN 

APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission shall issue a certificate of plan approval to 

the applicant by hard copy or electronic submittal. Before 

construction begins, that documentation shall be posted at the 

primary entrance of the job site or other location that is observable 

to the public and inspectors. 

(b)  No person may initiate a land-disturbing activity until 

notifying the approving authority of the date that the land-

disturbing activity will begin. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 

Temporary Rule Eff. November 1, 1990, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on April 29, 1991; 

ARRC Objection Lodged November 14, 1990; 

ARRC Objection Removed December 20, 1990; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0129 EROSION CONTROL PLAN 

EXPIRATION DATE 

If no land-disturbing activity has been undertaken on a site, an 

erosion control plan shall expire three years following the date of 

approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54.1(a); 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0130 EMERGENCIES 

Any person who conducts an emergency repair essential to protect 

human life that results in a land-disturbing activity within the 

meaning of G.S. 113A-52(6) and these Rules shall take the 

following actions: 

(1) notify the Director, or his or her designee, of the 

repair as soon as possible, but no later than five 

working days after the emergency ends; and 

(2) take all measures necessary to protect all public 

and private property from damage caused by 

the repair as soon as possible, but no later than 

15 working days after the emergency ends. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-52.01(4); 113A-54(b); 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0131 SELF-INSPECTIONS 

All land-disturbing activities required to have an approved 

erosion and sedimentation control plan under G.S. 113A-54.1(e) 

shall conduct self-inspections for initial installation or 

modification of any erosion and sedimentation control devices 

and practices described in an approved plan. In addition, weekly 

and rain-event self-inspections are required by federal 

regulations, that are implemented through the NPDES 

Construction General Permit No. NCG 010000. 

(1) For self-inspections required pursuant to G.S. 

113A-54.1(e), the inspection shall be 

performed during or after each of the following 

phases of the plan; 

(a) initial installation of erosion and 

sediment control measures; 

(b) clearing and grubbing of existing 

ground cover; 

(c) completion of any grading that 

requires ground cover;  

(d) completion of all land-disturbing 

activity, construction, or development, 

including permanent ground cover 

establishment and removal of all 

temporary measures; and 

(e)  transfer of ownership or control of the 

tract of land where the erosion and 

sedimentation control plan has been 

approved and work has begun. The 

new owner or person in control shall 

conduct and document inspections 

until the project is permanently 

stabilized as set forth in Sub-Item (c) 

of this Item. 

(2) Documentation of self-inspections performed 

under Item (1) of this Rule shall include: 

(a) Visual verification of ground 

stabilization and other erosion control 

measures and practices as called for in 

the approved plan; 

(b) Verification by measurement of 

settling basins, temporary 

construction entrances, energy 

dissipators, and traps. 

(c) The name, address, organization 

affiliation, telephone number, and 

signature of the person conducting the 

inspection and the date of the 

inspection shall be included, whether 

on a copy of the approved erosion and 

sedimentation control plan or an 

inspection report. A template for an 

example of an inspection and 

monitoring report is provided on the 

DEMLR website at: 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/ene

rgy-mineral-land-resources/erosion-

sediment-control/forms. Any relevant 

licenses and certifications may also be 

included. Any documentation of 

inspections that occur on a copy of the 

approved erosion and sedimentation 

control plan shall occur on a single 
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copy of the plan and that plan shall be 

made available on the site. 

(d) A record of any significant deviation 

from any erosion or sedimentation 

control measure from that on the 

approved plan. For the purpose of this 

Rule, a "significant deviation" means 

an omission, alternation, or relocation 

of an erosion or sedimentation control 

measure that prevents it from 

performing as intended. The record 

shall include measures required to 

correct the significant deviation, along 

with documentation of when those 

measures were taken. Deviations from 

the approved plan may also be 

recommended to enhance the intended 

performance of the sedimentation and 

erosion control measures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-54.1(e); 

Eff. October 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04B .0132 DESIGN STANDARDS FOR THE 

UPPER NEUSE RIVER BASIN (FALLS LAKE 

WATERSHED) 

In addition to any other requirements of State, federal, and local 

law, land-disturbing activity in the watershed of the drinking 

water supply reservoir that meets the applicability requirements 

of Session Law 2009-486, Section 3.(a), shall meet all of the 

following design standards for sedimentation and erosion control: 

(1) Erosion and sedimentation control measures, 

structures, and devices shall be planned, 

designed, and constructed to provide protection 

from the runoff of the 25-year storm that 

produces the maximum peak rate of runoff as 

calculated according to procedures set out in the 

United States Department of Agriculture, 

Natural Resources Soil Conservation Service's 

"National Engineering Field Handbook 630 for 

Conservation Practices" or according to 

procedures adopted by any other agency of the 

State or the United States. 

(2) Sediment basins shall be planned, designed, and 

constructed so that the basin will have a settling 

efficiency of at least 70 percent for the 40-

micron size soil particle transported into the 

basin by the runoff of the two-year storm that 

produces the maximum peak rate of runoff as 

calculated according to procedures in the 

United States Department of Agriculture, 

Natural Resources Soil Conservation Service's 

"National Engineering Field Handbook 630 for 

Conservation Practices" or according to 

procedures adopted by any other agency of the 

State or the United States. 

(3) Newly constructed open channels shall be 

planned, designed, and constructed with side 

slopes no steeper than two horizontal to one 

vertical if a vegetative cover is used for 

stabilization unless soil conditions permit 

steeper side slopes or where the side slopes are 

stabilized by using mechanical devices, 

structural devices, or other ditch liners 

sufficient to restrain accelerated erosion. The 

angle for side slopes shall be sufficient to 

restrain accelerated erosion, as determined by 

the Division, based on soil conditions. 

(4) For an area of land-disturbing activity where 

grading activities have been completed, 

temporary or permanent ground cover 

sufficient to restrain erosion shall be provided 

as soon as practicable, but not later than seven 

days after completion of grading. For an area of 

land-disturbing activity where grading 

activities have not been completed, temporary 

ground cover shall be provided as follows: 

(a) For an area with no slope, temporary 

ground cover shall be provided for the 

area if it has not been disturbed for a 

period of 14 days. 

(b) For an area of moderate slope, 

temporary ground cover shall be 

provided for the area if it has not been 

disturbed for a period of 10 days. For 

purposes of this Item, "moderate 

slope" means an inclined area, the 

inclination of which is less than or 

equal to three units of horizontal 

distance to one unit of vertical 

distance. 

(c) For an area of steep slope, temporary 

ground cover shall be provided for the 

area if it has not been disturbed for a 

period of seven days. For purposes of 

this Item, "steep slope" means an 

inclined area, the inclination of which 

is greater than three units of horizontal 

distance to one unit of vertical 

distance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); S.L. 2009-486; 

Eff. February 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04C .0107 PROCEDURES: NOTICES 

(a)  The notice of violation shall describe the violation, request 

that all illegal activity cease, and inform the violator that a civil 

penalty may be assessed pursuant to G.S. 113A-64. If particular 

actions need to be taken to comply with the Sedimentation 

Pollution Control Act, the notice shall specify the actions to be 

taken, specify a time period for compliance, and state that upon 

failure to comply within the allotted time, the person shall become 

subject to the assessment of a civil penalty for each day of the 

continuing violation beginning with the date of the violation. 

(b)  The stop-work order provided in G.S. 113A-65.1 shall serve 

as the notice of violation for purposes of the assessment of a civil 
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penalty pursuant to G.S. 113A-64(a)(1). Copies of the stop-work 

order shall be served upon persons the Department has reason to 

believe may be responsible for the violation pursuant to G.S. 1A-

1, Rule 4. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-61.1; 113A-64; 

113A-65.1;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; November 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 1992 for a period of 180 

days to expire on July 11, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; October 1, 1995; April 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04C .0108 REQUESTS FOR 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-64; 143B-10; 150B-23; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; October 1, 1988; October 5, 1980; 

April 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04C .0110 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

15A NCAC 04C .0111 FURTHER REMEDIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-55; 113A-60; 

113A-64 through 113A-66; 150B-22 et seq.; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; August 1, 1988; November 1, 

1984; October 5, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04D .0102 MODEL ORDINANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(d); 113A-60; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 14, 1980; February 23, 1979; 

Summary Rule Filed January 26, 1982; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; May 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; 

November 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0101 GENERAL PURPOSE 

15A NCAC 04E .0102 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-55; 150B; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); May 1, 

1990; November 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0104 COPIES OF RULES 

(a)  Copies of Commission rules may be requested by contacting 

the Commission's staff at the Archdale building address set forth 

in 15A NCAC 04A .0101. The request shall specify the rules 

requested, for example, 15A NCAC 04, Sedimentation Control, 

or 15A NCAC 04B .0113, Responsibility for Maintenance. A fee 

may be charged to recover mailing and duplication costs for 

requests of more than one copy of the same rule(s). 

(b)  The rules of the Commission (15A NCAC 04) can also be 

found on the website of the NC Office of Administrative Hearings 

at: https://www.oah.nc.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-55;  

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; November 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0201 FORM AND CONTENT OF 

PETITION 

(a)  Any person wishing to request the adoption, amendment, or 

repeal of a rule of the Commission shall make the request in a 

petition to the Commission addressed to the: 

Director 

Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources 

1612 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1612 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for adoption or 

amendment of the proposed rule(s), or the 

repeal of an existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; and 

(4) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s). 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rules(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the computation of the 

cost factors; 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s); and 

(5) documents and data supporting the proposed 

rule(s). 

(d)  Petitions that do not contain the information required by 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be returned to the petitioner by the 

Director on behalf of the Commission. 

(e)  In its review of the proposed rule, the Commission shall 

consider whether it has authority to adopt the rule; the effect of 

the proposed rule on existing rules, programs, and practices; 
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probable costs and cost factors of the proposed rule; and the 

impact of the rule on the public and regulated entities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-20; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0203 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-55; 150B-16; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; November 1, 1984; June 5, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0403 WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-12(e); 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. June 5, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0405 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR 

DECISION 

15A NCAC 04E .0406 RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-11(2); 

150B-12(e); 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; November 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0501 DECLARATORY RULINGS: 

GENERALLY 

At the request of any person aggrieved, as defined in G.S. 150B-

2(6), the Sedimentation Control Commission may issue a 

declaratory ruling as provided in G.S. 150B-4 and the rules of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-4; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0502 PROCEDURE FOR 

REQUESTING DECLARATORY RULINGS  

(a)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall be filed with the 

Director, Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1612 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1612. 

(b)  All requests shall include the following: 

(1) name and address of petitioner(s); 

(2) the rule, statute, or order upon which a ruling is 

desired; 

(3) a statement as to whether the request is for a 

ruling on the validity of a rule or on the 

applicability of a rule, statute, or order to a 

given factual situation; 

(4) arguments or data that demonstrate that the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule, statute, or 

order, or its potential application to petitioner; 

(5) a statement of the consequences of a failure to 

issue a declaratory ruling in favor of the 

petitioner; 

(6) a statement of the facts proposed for adoption 

by the Commission; 

(7) a draft of the proposed ruling; and 

(8) a statement of whether an oral argument is 

desired, and, if so, the reason(s) for requesting 

such an oral argument. 

(c)  A request for a ruling on the applicability of a rule, order or 

statute shall include a description of the specific factual situation 

on which the ruling is to be based and documentation supporting 

those facts. A request for a ruling on the validity of a Commission 

rule shall state the aggrieved person's reason(s) for questioning 

the validity of the rule and a brief or legal memorandum 

supporting the aggrieved person's position. A person may ask for 

both types of declaratory rulings in a single request. 

(d)  In the manner provided in G.S. 150B-23(d), any other person 

may request to intervene in the request for declaratory ruling. The 

request to intervene shall be determined by the Chairman. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-4; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0503 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

(a)  The Commission Chairman shall make a determination on the 

completeness of the request for declaratory ruling based on the 

requirements of Rule .0502 of this Section, and the Chairman shall 

make a recommendation to the Commission on whether to grant 

or deny a request for a declaratory ruling. 

(b)  Before deciding the merits of the request, the Commission 

may: 

(1) request additional written submissions from the 

petitioner(s); 

(2) request a written response from the 

Department, or any other person; and 

(3) hear oral arguments from the petitioner(s) and 

the Department or their legal counsel. 

(c)  Whenever the Commission believes for good cause that the 

issuance of a declaratory ruling is undesirable, the Commission 

may refuse to issue such ruling. The Commission shall notify in 

writing the person requesting the ruling, stating the reason(s) for 

the refusal to issue a ruling on the request. 

(d)  "Good cause" as the term is used in Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

shall include: 
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(1) finding that there has been a similar 

determination in a previous contested case or 

declaratory ruling; 

(2) finding that the matter is the subject of a 

pending contested case hearing or litigation in 

any North Carolina or federal court; 

(3) finding that no genuine controversy exists as to 

the application of a rule, statute, or order to the 

specific factual situation presented; or 

(4) finding that the factual context put forward as 

the subject of the declaratory ruling was 

considered upon the adoption of the rule being 

questioned, as evidenced by the rulemaking 

record. 

(e)  The Commission, through the Department, shall keep a record 

of each declaratory ruling, which shall include at a minimum the 

following items: 

(1) the request for a ruling; 

(2) any written submission by a party; 

(3) the given state of facts on which the ruling was 

based; 

(4) any transcripts or recordings of oral 

proceedings, or, in the absence of a transcript or 

recording, a summary of all arguments; 

(5) any other matter considered by the Commission 

in making the decision; and 

(6) the declaratory ruling, or the decision to refuse 

to issue a declaratory ruling.  

(f)  For purposes of this Section, a declaratory ruling shall be 

deemed to be in effect until: 

(1) the statute or rule interpreted by the declaratory 

ruling is repealed or the relevant provisions of 

the statute or rule are amended or altered; 

(2) any court of the Appellate Division of the 

General Court of Justice shall construe the 

statute or rule that is the subject of the 

declaratory ruling in a manner irreconcilable 

with the declaratory ruling; 

(3) the Commission changes the declaratory ruling 

prospectively; or  

(4) any court sets aside the declaratory ruling in 

litigation between the Commission or 

Department of Environmental Quality and the 

party requesting the ruling. 

(g)  The party requesting a declaratory ruling may agree to allow 

the Commission to extend any of the deadlines beyond the 

timeframes provided in G.S. 150B-4. 

(h)  A declaratory ruling is subject to judicial review in the same 

manner as an agency final decision or order in a contested case. 

Unless the requesting party consents to the delay, failure of the 

Commission to issue a decision or a ruling on the merits within 

the time provided in G.S. 150B-4 shall constitute a denial of the 

request as well as a denial on the merits of the request and shall 

be subject to judicial review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 113A-55; 150B-4 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; June 5, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04E .0504 RECORD OF DECISION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54; 150B-11; 

Eff. March 14, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 180 

feet landward from the first line of stable and 

natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 

average based on available historical data. The 

current long-term average erosion rate data for 

each segment of the North Carolina coast is 

depicted on maps entitled "North Carolina 2019 

Oceanfront Setback Factors & Long-Term 

Average Annual Erosion Rate Update Study" 

and approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission on February 28, 2019 (except as 

such rates may be varied in individual contested 

cases or in declaratory or interpretive rulings). 

In all cases, the rate of shoreline change shall be 

no less than two feet of erosion per year. The 

maps are available without cost from any Local 

Permit Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 

vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance encompassing 

that area within which the inlet migrates, based 

on statistical analysis, and shall consider such 

factors as previous inlet territory, structurally 
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weak areas near the inlet, and external 

influences such as jetties, terminal groins, and 

channelization. The areas on the maps 

identified as Inlet Hazard Areas included in the 

report entitled INLET HAZARD AREAS, The 

Final Report and Recommendations to the 

Coastal Resources Commission, 1978, as 

amended in 1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick 

Carraway are incorporated by reference and are 

hereby designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except 

for: 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 

has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 

no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 

(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall 

be an extension of the adjacent ocean 

erodible areas and in no case shall the 

width of the inlet hazard area be less 

than the width of the adjacent ocean 

erodible area. This report is available 

for inspection at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, North 

Carolina or at the website referenced 

in Item (1) of this Rule.  

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 

natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as Unvegetated Beach Areas on either a 

permanent or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is unvegetated as a result 

of a hurricane or other major storm 

event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

The Commission designates as temporary 

unvegetated beach areas those oceanfront areas 

of Surf City and North Topsail Beach in which 

the vegetation line as shown on the United 

States National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery dated September 17, 

2018 was destroyed as a result of Hurricane 

Florence in September 2018. The designation 

AEC boundaries can be found on the Division's 

website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/unvegetated_beach_aec.pdf. This 

designation shall continue until such time as the 

stable and natural vegetation has reestablished, 

or until the area is permanently designated as an 

unvegetated beach area pursuant to Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 

the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 

access to a State Port via a channel maintained 

by the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers. 

These areas are unique due to the influence of 

federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 

Carolina's State Ports. These areas may require 

specific management strategies not warranted 

at other inlets to address erosion and shoreline 

stabilization. State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas shall extend from the mean low water 

line landward as designated on maps approved 

by the Coastal Resources Commission and 

available without cost from the Division of 

Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 

website at  

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/state_port_aec.pdf. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 

113A-113; 113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1988; September 

1, 1986; December 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996 Expired on July 29, 

1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 22, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; July 1, 2016; September 1, 2015; 

May 1, 2014; February 1, 2013; January 1, 2010; February 1, 

2006; October 1, 2004; April 1, 2004; August 1, 1998. 
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15A NCAC 07H .0305 GENERAL IDENTIFICATION 

AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS 

(a)  This Paragraph describes natural and man-made features that 

are found within the ocean hazard area of environmental concern. 

(1) Ocean Beaches. Ocean beaches are lands 

consisting of unconsolidated soil materials that 

extend from the mean low water line landward 

to a point where either: 

(A) the growth of vegetation occurs; or 

(B) a distinct change in slope or elevation 

alters the configuration of the 

landform, whichever is farther 

landward. 

(2) Nearshore. The nearshore is the portion of the 

beach seaward of mean low water that is 

characterized by dynamic changes both in space 

and time as a result of storms. 

(3) Primary Dunes. Primary dunes are the first 

mounds of sand located landward of the ocean 

beaches having an elevation equal to the mean 

flood level (in a storm having a one percent 

chance of being equaled or exceeded in any 

given year) for the area plus six feet. Primary 

dunes extend landward to the lowest elevation 

in the depression behind that same mound of 

sand commonly referred to as the "dune 

trough". 

(4) Frontal Dunes. The frontal dune is the first 

mound of sand located landward of ocean 

beaches that has stable and natural vegetation 

present. 

(5) Vegetation Line. The vegetation line refers to 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation, 

which shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks. This line 

represents the boundary between the normal 

dry-sand beach, which is subject to constant 

flux due to waves, tides, storms and wind, and 

the more stable upland areas. The vegetation 

line is generally located at or immediately 

oceanward of the seaward toe of the frontal 

dune or erosion escarpment. The Division of 

Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 

shall determine the location of the stable and 

natural vegetation line based on visual 

observations of plant composition and density. 

If the vegetation has been planted, it may be 

considered stable when the majority of the plant 

stems are from continuous rhizomes rather than 

planted individual rooted sets. Planted 

vegetation may be considered natural when the 

majority of the plants are mature and additional 

species native to the region have been recruited, 

providing stem and rhizome densities that are 

similar to adjacent areas that are naturally 

occurring. In areas where there is no stable and 

natural vegetation present, this line may be 

established by interpolation between the nearest 

adjacent stable natural vegetation by on-ground 

observations or by aerial photographic 

interpretation. 

(6) Static Vegetation Line. In areas within the 

boundaries of a large-scale beach fill project, 

the vegetation line that existed within one year 

prior to the onset of project construction shall 

be defined as the "static vegetation line". The 

"onset of project construction" shall be defined 

as the date sediment placement begins, with the 

exception of projects completed prior to the 

original effective date of this Rule, in which 

case the award of the contract date will be 

considered the onset of construction. A static 

vegetation line shall be established in 

coordination with the Division of Coastal 

Management using on-ground observation and 

survey or aerial imagery for all areas of 

oceanfront that undergo a large-scale beach fill 

project. Once a static vegetation line is 

established, and after the onset of project 

construction, this line shall be used as the 

reference point for measuring oceanfront 

setbacks in all locations where it is landward of 

the vegetation line. In all locations where the 

vegetation line as defined in this Rule is 

landward of the static vegetation line, the 

vegetation line shall be used as the reference 

point for measuring oceanfront setbacks. A 

static vegetation line shall not be established 

where a static vegetation line is already in 

place, including those established by the 

Division of Coastal Management prior to the 

effective date of this Rule. A record of all static 

vegetation lines, including those established by 

the Division of Coastal Management prior to 

the effective date of this Rule, shall be 

maintained by the Division of Coastal 

Management for determining development 

standards as set forth in Rule .0306 of this 

Section. Because the impact of Hurricane Floyd 

in September 1999 caused significant portions 

of the vegetation line in the Town of Oak Island 

and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach to be 

relocated landward of its pre-storm position, the 

static line for areas landward of the beach fill 

construction in the Town of Oak Island and the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach, the onset of which 

occurred in 2000, shall be defined by the 

general trend of the vegetation line established 

by the Division of Coastal Management from 

June 1998 aerial orthophotography. 

(7) Beach Fill. Beach fill refers to the placement of 

sediment along the oceanfront shoreline. 

Sediment used solely to establish or strengthen 

dunes shall not be considered a beach fill 

project under this Rule. A "large-scale beach 

fill project" shall be defined as any volume of 

sediment greater than 300,000 cubic yards or 
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any storm protection project constructed by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

(8) Erosion Escarpment. The normal vertical drop 

in the beach profile caused from high tide or 

storm tide erosion. 

(9) Measurement Line. The line from which the 

ocean hazard setback as described in Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section is measured in the 

unvegetated beach area of environmental 

concern as described in Rule .0304(3) of this 

Section. In areas designated pursuant to Rule 

.0304(3)(b) of this Section, the Division of 

Coastal Management shall establish a 

measurement line by: 

(A) determining the average distance the 

pre-storm vegetation line receded at 

the closest vegetated site adjacent to 

the area designated by the 

Commission as the unvegetated beach 

AEC; and 

(B) mapping a line equal to the average 

recession determination in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph, measured in a 

landward direction from the first line 

of stable and natural vegetation line on 

the most recent pre-storm aerial 

photography in the area designated as 

an unvegetated beach AEC. 

(10) Development Line. The line established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1300 by local 

governments representing the seaward-most 

allowable location of oceanfront development. 

In areas that have development lines approved 

by the CRC, the vegetation line or measurement 

line shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks instead of the 

static vegetation line, subject to the provisions 

of Rule .0306(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)  For the purpose of public and administrative notice and 

convenience, each designated minor development permit-letting 

agency with ocean hazard areas may designate, subject to CRC 

approval in accordance with the local implementation and 

enforcement plan as defined in 15A NCAC 07I .0500, an 

identifiable land area within which the ocean hazard areas occur. 

This designated notice area shall include all of the land areas 

defined in Rule .0304 of this Section. Natural or man-made 

landmarks may be considered in delineating this area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1992; September 1, 1986; December 

1, 1985; February 2, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 10, 1996 Expired on July 29, 

1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 22, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; April 1, 2016; April 1, 2008; August 

1, 2002; August 1, 1998. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 

seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 

of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter and other 

state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 

sand, or gravel; 

(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 500 

square feet; 

(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 

.0308(c) of this Section; 

(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 

(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 

(7) temporary amusement stands consistent with 

Section .1900 of this Subchapter; 

(8) sand fences; and 

(9) swimming pools. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 

landward of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 

primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 

of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 

overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 

continued existence or use of an associated principal 

development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 

local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all other 

non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 

Rule .0306(a) of this Section would preclude placement of 

permanent substantial structures on lots existing as of June 1, 

1979, buildings shall be permitted seaward of the applicable 

setback line in ocean erodible areas and State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas, but not inlet hazard areas or unvegetated 

beach areas, if each of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean the 

maximum feasible distance possible on the 

existing lot and the development is designed to 

minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward of 

the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front of 

a frontal dune, but is entirely behind the 

landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 

following design standards, which are in 

addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 

this Section. 
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(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 

that extends to at least four feet below 

mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 

no more than 1,000 square feet, and 

the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 

feet. For the purpose of this Section, 

roof-covered decks and porches that 

are structurally attached shall be 

included in the calculation of 

footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 

constructed of clay, packed sand or 

gravel except in those cases where the 

development does not abut the ocean 

and is located landward of a paved 

public street or highway currently in 

use. In those cases concrete, asphalt, 

or turfstone may also be used; 

(D) No portion of a building's total floor 

area, including elevated portions that 

are cantilevered, knee braced or 

otherwise extended beyond the 

support of pilings or footings, may 

extend oceanward of the total floor 

area of the landward-most adjacent 

building. When the geometry or 

orientation of a lot precludes the 

placement of a building in line with 

the landward most adjacent structure 

of similar use, an average line of 

construction shall be determined by 

the Division of Coastal Management 

on a case-by-case basis in order to 

determine an ocean hazard setback 

that is landward of the vegetation line, 

static vegetation line or measurement 

line, whichever is applicable, a 

distance no less than 60 feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 

other state and local regulations are met. If the 

development is to be serviced by an on-site 

waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 

for such a system shall be submitted as part of 

the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  The following types of water dependent development shall be 

permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter 

and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 

(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges, and causeways and accessways 

to such bridges. 

(d)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated with 

an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 

conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 

fishing and other recreational purposes whether 

on a commercial, public, or nonprofit basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 

ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 

limited to restaurants and retail services. 

Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 

shall be prohibited; 

(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 

of two stories; 

(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint of 

5,000 square feet and shall be located landward 

of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 

exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint of 

5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 

all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 

(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 

unusable, replacement or expansion of the 

associated pier house shall be permitted only if 

the pier is being replaced and returned to its 

original function. 

(e)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does not 

induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront processes, 

shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront portions of shoreline 

that exhibit features characteristic of an Estuarine Shoreline. Such 

features include the presence of wetland vegetation, and lower 

wave energy and erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean 

Erodible Area. Such development shall be permitted under the 

standards set out in Rule .0208 of this Subchapter. For the purpose 

of this Rule, small scale is defined as those projects which are 

eligible for authorization under 15A NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 

15A NCAC 07K .0203. 

(f)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 

offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 

that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 

ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 

frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule .0305 of 

this Section, in such a manner so as to ensure 

that the placement of the transmission lines 

involves no alteration or removal of the primary 

or frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 

lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 

to endanger the public or the public's use of the 

beach. 

(g)  Existing stormwater outfalls as of the last amended date of 

this rule within the Ocean Hazard AEC that are owned or 

maintained by a State agency or local government, may be 

extended oceanward subject to the provisions contained within 

15A NCAC 07J .0200. Outfalls may be extended below mean low 

water and may be maintained in accordance with 15A NCAC 07K 

.0103. Shortening or lengthening of outfall structures within the 

authorized dimensions, in response to changes in beach width, is 
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considered maintenance under 15A NCAC 07K .0103. Outfall 

extensions may be marked with signage and shall not prevent 

pedestrian or vehicular access along the beach. This Paragraph 

does not apply to existing stormwater outfalls that are not owned 

or maintained by a State agency or local government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6)a; 113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-

124; 

Eff. February 2, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; June 1, 2010; February 1, 2006; 

September 17, 2002 pursuant to S.L. 2002-116; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; April 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; 

January 1, 1991; April 1, 1987. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0313 USE STANDARDS FOR STATE 

PORTS INLET MANAGEMENT AREAS 

(a)  Development within State Ports Inlet Management Areas are 

defined by Rule .0304 of this Section in accordance with the 

standards in this Rule.  

(b)  All development in the State Ports Inlet Management Areas 

shall be set back from the first line of stable and natural 

vegetation, static vegetation line, or measurement line at a 

distance in accordance with Rule .0305(a)(5) of this Section, 

except for development exempted under Rule .0309 of this 

Section. 

(c)  Notwithstanding the use standards for temporary erosion 

control structures described in Rule .0308(a)(2) of this Section, a 

local government or State government agencies may apply for a 

permit to seek protection of an imminently threatened frontal or 

primary dune, public and private structures and infrastructure 

within a State Ports Inlet Management Area. For the purpose of 

this Rule, a frontal or primary dune, structure, or infrastructure 

shall be considered imminently threatened in a State Ports Inlet 

Management Area if: 

(1) its foundation, septic system, right-of-way in 

the case of roads, or waterward toe of the dune 

is less than 20 feet away from the erosion scarp;  

(2) site conditions, such as flat beach profile or 

accelerated erosion, increase the risk of 

imminent damage to the structure as determined 

by the Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management;  

(3) the frontal or primary dune or infrastructure 

will be imminently threatened within six 

months as certified by persons meeting all 

applicable State occupational licensing 

requirements; or 

(4) the rate of erosion from the erosion scarp or 

shoreline within 100 feet of the infrastructure, 

structure, frontal or primary dune was greater 

than 20 feet over the preceding 30 days. 

Permit applications to protect property where no structures are 

imminently threatened require consultation with the US Army 

Corps of Engineers. 

(d)  Temporary erosion control structures constructed by a local 

or state government shall have a base width not exceeding 20 feet, 

and a height not to exceed six feet. Individual sandbags shall be 

tan in color and be a minimum of three feet wide and seven feet 

in length when measured flat. 

(e)  Established common-law and statutory public rights of access 

to the public trust lands and waters in State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas shall not be eliminated or restricted. 

Development shall not encroach upon public accessways nor shall 

it limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(f)  Except where inconsistent with the above standards, all other 

rules in this Subchapter pertaining to development in the ocean 

hazard areas shall be applied to development within the State 

Ports Inlet Management Areas. 

(g)  In addition to the types of development excepted under Rule 

.0309 of this Section, small-scale, non-essential development that 

does not induce further growth in the State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas, such as the construction of single-family 

piers and small-scale erosion control measures that do not 

interfere with natural inlet movement, may be permitted on those 

portions of shoreline within a designated State Ports Inlet 

Management Area that exhibit features characteristic of Estuarine 

Shoreline. Such features include the presence of wetland 

vegetation, lower wave energy, and lower erosion rates than in the 

adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such development shall be 

permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 

Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small-scale is defined as 

those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 

NCAC 07H .1100 and .1200. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-

113; 113A-124; 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1901 PURPOSE 

A permit under this Section shall allow for the placement of 

temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean systems 

AECs according to the provisions provided in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1100 and according to the rules in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; August 1, 2000. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1902 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  The applicant shall contact the Division of Coastal 

Management at the address provided in 15A NCAC 07A .0101 

and complete an application requesting approval for development. 

For temporary structures associated with scientific research, 

permit applicants shall be lead investigators on behalf of 

accredited educational institutions, or state or federal agencies. 

(b)  If a temporary structure is to be located less than 400 feet 

waterward of normal high water or normal water level, or within 

the established pier head line as determined by the Division of 

Coastal Management, the applicant shall provide: 

(1) a written statement signed by the adjacent 

riparian property owners indicating that they 

have no objections to the proposed work; or 

(2) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 

owners have been notified by certified mail of 

the proposed work. Such notice should instruct 
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adjacent property owners to provide any 

comments on the proposed development in 

writing for consideration by permitting officials 

to the Division of Coastal Management within 

ten days of receipt of the notice, and indicate 

that no response will be interpreted as no 

objection. DCM staff will review all comments 

and determine, based on their relevance to the 

potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 

proposed project can be approved by a General 

Permit. If DCM determines that the project 

exceeds the conditions established by this 

General Permit, DCM shall notify the applicant 

that a Major Permit application shall be 

required. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the 

applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 

inspect and mark the site of construction of the proposed 

development. Temporary structures authorized by this General 

Permit may remain in place for a maximum of one year from the 

date of issuance. The project site shall be restored to pre-

development conditions and all structures shall be removed within 

one year of permit issuance, or by the date specified with the 

General Permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107(a)(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; January 1, 1990. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1904 GENERAL CONDITIONS 

(a)  Temporary structures for the purpose of this general permit 

are those which are constructed or installed within the estuarine 

and ocean system AECs and because of their dimensions or 

functions cannot be authorized by another General Permit within 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  There shall be no encroachment oceanward of the first line of 

stable vegetation within the ocean hazard AEC except for the 

placement of auxiliary structures such as signs, fences, posts, or 

pilings. 

(c)  There shall be no fill or excavation activity below normal high 

water or normal water level. 

(d)  This permit shall not be applicable to proposed development 

where the Division of Coastal Management has determined, based 

on a review of the application, that notice and review pursuant to 

G.S. 113A-119 is necessary because there are unresolved 

questions concerning the proposed activity's impact on adjoining 

properties or on water quality; air quality; coastal wetlands; 

cultural or historic sites; wildlife; fisheries resources; or public 

trust rights. 

(e)  Individuals shall allow authorized representatives of the 

Department of Environmental Quality to make periodic 

inspections at any time necessary to ensure that the activity being 

performed under authority of this general permit is in accordance 

with the terms and conditions prescribed herein. 

(f)  This permit does not eliminate the need to obtain any other 

state, local or federal authorization, nor, to abide by rules or 

regulations adopted by any federal, state, or local agency. 

(g)  Development carried out under this permit shall be consistent 

with all local requirements, and local land use plans current at the 

time of authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 19, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; August 1, 1998; July 1, 1994. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1905 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

Proposed temporary structures shall meet each of the following 

specific conditions to be eligible for authorization by the general 

permit: 

(1) All aspects of the structure shall be removed 

and the site returned to pre-project conditions at 

the expiration of this general permit. 

(2) There shall be no work within any productive 

shellfish beds without authorization from the 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(3) The proposed structure shall not involve the 

disturbance of any marsh, submerged aquatic 

vegetation, or other wetlands including 

excavation or filling of these areas. 

(4) The proposed activity shall not disrupt 

navigation and transportation channels and 

shall be marked to prevent being a hazard to 

navigation. 

(5) The proposed structure shall not impede public 

access or other public trust uses. 

(6) The proposed structure shall not be habitable. 

(7) There shall be no disturbance of existing dunes. 

(8) Temporary structures authorized by this permit 

shall not individually or cumulatively exceed 

100 square meters in size. 

(9) Structures shall not be constructed in a 

designated Primary Nursery Area without 

approval from the Division of Marine Fisheries 

or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; May 1, 1990. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1305 SOURCE WATER PROTECTION 

PLANNING 

(a)  In compliance with G.S. 130A-320, every supplier of water 

operating a public water system treating and furnishing water 

from a surface water source shall create and implement a Source 

Water Protection Plan. For purposes of this Rule, the Source 

Water Protection Plan required by G.S. 130A-320 shall be 

referred to as a Source Water Resiliency and Response Plan 

(SWRRP). 

(b)  The SWRRP shall include a list of potential contaminant 

sources (PCSs) that have potential to reach surface waters, both 
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provided by the Department and supplemented by the water 

system if additional PCSs are known to exist by the supplier of 

water. The listed PCSs will be located in the following areas as 

defined in Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

Applicable to Surface Waters and Wetlands of North Carolina, 

15A NCAC 02B .0200, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions:  

(1) within the entire watershed for waters classified 

as WS-I; 

(2) within the critical area and 1,000 feet from 

perennial streambanks within the protected area 

for waters classified as WS-II and WS-III; 

(3) within the critical area and 1,000 feet from 

perennial streambanks within the protected area 

for waters classified as WS-IV; 

(4) within ½ mile from the normal pool elevation 

in which the intake is located, or to the ridge 

line of the watershed, whichever comes first, 

for a reservoir within waters classified as WS-

V; and 

(5) within ½ mile, measured as a straight line, 

upstream from and draining to the intake 

located directly in the stream or river, or to the 

ridge line of the watershed, whichever comes 

first, for a direct-stream intake within waters 

classified as WS-V. 

(c)  Any community water system subject to this Rule shall certify 

completion and implementation of a SWRRP by December 31, 

2022. The SWRRP shall contain the following elements: 

(1) identification and contact information of 

personnel responsible for emergency 

management, including water system, local, 

State, and federal emergency response 

personnel; 

(2) an evaluation of a water system's ability to take 

the following actions: 

(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 

contamination, including a 

determination of the duration of time 

the water intake(s) can remain closed 

while maintaining positive water 

pressure within the distribution 

system; 

(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 

from its surface water intake(s); 

(C) reduce demand by implementing 

conservation measures during a 

contamination event. Water Shortage 

Response Plans may be referenced to 

fulfill this requirement for water 

systems required to prepare a Water 

Shortage Response Plan under 15A 

NCAC 02E .0607, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

and  

(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 

supply in the event of contamination 

or loss of its primary water source. 

(3) identification of foreseeable natural and 

human-caused emergency events, including 

water shortages and outages; 

(4) a description of the emergency response 

strategies for each identified shortage or outage 

event and each potential contamination event 

associated with PCSs identified and listed in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(5) standard operating procedures to close intakes 

and switch to an alternate intake during a 

contamination event, including procedures that 

outline exercises designed to practice closure 

and switching of the intake(s); 

(6) a description of public notification procedures; 

and 

(7) identification and evaluation of all facilities and 

equipment that upon failure would result in a 

water outage or violations of this Subchapter. 

(d)  For community water systems that are subject to this Rule and 

also required to complete a Risk and Resilience Assessment and 

an Emergency Response Plan under Section 2013 of America's 

Water Infrastructure Act of 2018 (AWIA), the system's Risk and 

Resilience Assessment and Emergency Response Plan created to 

comply with AWIA may be referred to as a SWRRP and used to 

satisfy the requirements of this Rule, if the PCS list was compiled 

in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The schedule for 

certifying completion and implementation of the SWRRP 

pursuant to this Paragraph shall be as follows: 

(1) by September 30, 2020 for community water 

systems serving more than 100,000 people; 

(2) by June 30, 2021 for community water systems 

serving 50,000 to 99,999 people; and 

(3) by December 30, 2021 for community water 

systems serving 3,301 to 49,999 people. 

(e)  Non-transient, non-community water systems subject to this 

Rule shall certify completion and implementation of a SWRRP by 

December 31, 2022. The SWRRP shall contain the following 

elements: 

(1) identification and contact information of 

personnel responsible for emergency 

management, including water system, local, 

State, and federal emergency response 

personnel; and 

(2) an evaluation of a water system's ability to take 

the following actions: 

(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 

contamination, including a 

determination of the duration of time 

the water intake(s) can remain closed 

while maintaining positive water 

pressure within the distribution 

system; 

(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 

from its surface water intake(s); 

(C) reduce demand by implementing 

conservation measures during a 

contamination event; and 
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(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 

supply in the event of contamination 

or loss of its primary water source. 

(f)  Any public water system that begins treating and furnishing 

water from a surface water source on or after December 31, 2022 

shall create and implement a SWRRP that satisfies the 

requirements of this Rule prior to the commencement of its 

operations. 

(g)  Any public water system required to create and implement a 

SWRRP in accordance with this Rule shall review and update its 

SWRRP at five-year intervals from its creation deadline, as 

specified in Paragraph (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  The SWRRP and any associated documentation used in its 

creation and implementation shall be available for review by 

Department staff upon request. 

(i)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWRRP has been 

created and implemented, and that the water system's governing 

body has been advised of the SWRRP creation and 

implementation. The certification shall be submitted to the 

Department by the deadline specified in Paragraphs (c), (d), (e), 

or (f) of this Rule. 

(j)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWRRP has been 

revised and that the water system's governing body has been 

advised of the revision. The certification shall be submitted to the 

Department by the revision deadline specified in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-320(c); 

Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 07 - CEMETERY COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 07D .0108 WITHDRAWALS FROM 

PERPETUAL CARE TRUST FUNDS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "corpus amount" means the sum of: 

(A) the amount of all deposits made to a 

trust fund at the inception of the trust 

fund; and 

(B) the aggregate amount of all deposits 

made to the trust fund after the 

inception of the trust fund. 

(2) "deposits" means the deposits to trust funds 

required by G.S. 65-64. 

(3) "income" means interest income, dividend 

income, or any amount of capital gain income 

to the extent allowed to be withdrawn by the 

Commission pursuant to this Rule. 

(4) "total market value" means the total market 

value of the assets in the trust fund, as reflected 

in the records of the trustee. 

(5) "trust fund" means a care and maintenance trust 

fund required by G.S. 65-61 or perpetual care 

trust fund required by G.S. 65-63. 

(b)  Without the prior written approval of the Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 65-61, no amounts from a trust fund may be 

withdrawn from the trust fund if either: 

(1) at the time of the withdrawal, the total market 

value of the trust fund is less than the corpus 

amount; or 

(2) immediately after the withdrawal is made, the 

total market value of the trust fund would be 

less than the corpus amount.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 65-49; 65-61; 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16A .0106 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

An individual who wishes to file a petition for a predetermination 

of whether the individual's criminal history will likely disqualify 

the individual from obtaining a dental license or dental hygiene 

license shall submit a petition on the forms furnished by the Board 

at www.ncdentalboard.org that shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) date of birth; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) place(s) of residence for the past seven years; 

(7) employment history since the commission of 

the crime(s); 

(8) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 

days prior to the date of petition by Castle 

Branch, Inc., or another reporting service 

designated by the Board in accordance with 

G.S. 93B-8.1(b6), the cost of which shall be 

borne by the petitioner; 

(9) copies of all documents in the court file related 

to any conviction reported on the petition or 

noted on the criminal record report, certified by 

the clerk of court or other judicial official; 

(10) written statement describing the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the crimes; 

(11) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts, 

if applicable; 

(12) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments, if 

applicable; 

(13) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.2, if applicable; 

(14) affidavits or other written documents, including 

character references, that the petitioner wishes 

the Board to consider in responding to the 

petition; 

(15) written statement certifying that the 

information and documentation submitted with 
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the petition is complete and accurate to the best 

of the petitioner's knowledge; 

(16) fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00) for a petition 

for predetermination; and 

(17) notarized signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29; 90-30; 90-41; 90-48; 90-

223; 90-224; 90-229; 93B-8.1; 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0101 CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION (CME) REQUIRED 

(a)  Continuing Medical Education (CME) is defined as education, 

training, and activities to increase knowledge and skills generally 

recognized and accepted by the profession as within the basic 

medical sciences, the discipline of clinical medicine, and the 

provision of healthcare to the public. The purpose of CME is to 

maintain, develop, or improve the physician's knowledge, skills, 

professional performance, and relationships a physician uses to 

provide services for his or her patients and practice, the public, or 

profession. 

(b)  A physician licensed to practice medicine in the State of North 

Carolina, except those physicians holding a residency training 

license, shall complete at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME 

relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of 

practice every 3 years. Every physician who prescribes controlled 

substances, except those physicians holding a residency training 

license, shall complete at least 3 hours of CME from the required 

60 hours of Category 1 CME designed specifically to address 

controlled substance prescribing practices. The controlled 

substance prescribing CME shall include instruction on controlled 

substance prescribing practices and controlled substance 

prescribing for chronic pain management. CME that includes 

recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, 

or non-opioid treatment options shall qualify for the purposes of 

this Rule. 

(c)  The three-year period described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of his or 

her license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-

14(a)(15); S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c); 

Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; January 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; September 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0216 CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION 

(a)  A physician assistant shall complete at least 50 hours of 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) every two years. The CME 

shall be recognized by the National Commission on Certification 

of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) as Category I CME. The 

physician assistant shall provide CME documentation for 

inspection by the Board or its agent upon request. The two-year 

period shall begin on the physician assistant's birthday following 

the issuance of his or her license. 

(b)  A physician assistant who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least two hours of CME, from the required 50 

hours, designed specifically to address controlled substance 

prescribing practices. The controlled substance prescribing CME 

shall include instruction on controlled substance prescribing 

practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain 

management. CME that includes recognizing signs of the abuse 

or misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment 

options shall qualify for purposes of this Rule. 

(c)  A physician assistant who possesses a current certification 

with the NCCPA shall be deemed in compliance with the 

requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The physician assistant 

shall attest on his or her annual renewal he or she is currently 

certified by the NCCPA. Physician assistants who attest he or she 

possesses a current certificate with the NCCPA shall not be 

exempt from the controlled substance prescribing CME 

requirement of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A physician assistant 

shall complete the required two hours of controlled substance 

CME unless the CME is a component part of their certification 

activity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-

18.1; S.L. 2015-241, 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c); 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; November 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020; September 1, 2016. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 33 - MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0101 ADMINISTRATIVE BODY AND 

DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The responsibility for administering the provisions of G.S. 90, 

Article 10A, shall be assumed by an administrative body, the 

Midwifery Joint Committee, hereinafter referred to as the 

"Committee." The certified nurse midwife shall hereinafter be 

referred to as "midwife." 

(b)  In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 90-178.2, the 

following shall apply to the rules in this Chapter: 

(1) "Primary Supervising Physician" means a 

physician with an active unencumbered license 

with the North Carolina Medical Board who, by 

signing the midwife application, shall be held 

accountable for the on-going supervision, 

consultation, collaboration, and evaluation of 

the medical acts performed by the midwife, as 

defined in the site specific written clinical 

practice guidelines. A physician in a graduate 

medical education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's training 

license, shall not be named as a primary 

supervising physician. A physician in a 

graduate medical education program who is 
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also practicing in a non-training situation may 

supervise a midwife in the non-training 

situation if he or she is fully licensed. 

(2) "Back-up Primary Supervising Physician" 

means a physician licensed by the North 

Carolina Medical Board who, by signing an 

agreement with the midwife and the primary 

supervising physician or physicians shall be 

held accountable for the supervision, 

consultation, collaboration, and evaluation of 

medical acts by the midwife in accordance with 

the site specific written clinical practice 

guidelines when the primary supervising 

physician is not available. The signed and dated 

agreements for each back-up primary 

supervising physician or physicians shall be 

maintained at each practice site. A physician in 

a graduate medical education program, whether 

fully licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as a back-

up primary supervising physician. A physician 

in a graduate medical education program who 

is also practicing in a non-training situation 

may be a back-up primary supervising 

physician to a midwife in the non-training 

situation if he or she is fully licensed and has 

signed an agreement with the midwife and the 

primary supervising physician. 

(3) "Obstetrics" means a branch of medical science 

that deals with birth and with its antecedents 

and sequels, including prenatal, intrapartum, 

postpartum, newborn or gynecology, and 

otherwise unspecified primary health services 

for women. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0102 FEES 

(a)  The fee for a new application and initial approval shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  The fee for annual renewal shall be fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(c)  The fee for reinstatement for an expired approval shall be five 

dollars ($5.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0103 APPLICATION AND ANNUAL 

RENEWAL 

(a)  To be eligible for an approval to practice as a midwife, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for approval to 

practice, attesting under oath or affirmation that 

the information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Committee of all information pertaining to the 

application. Application is posted on the Board 

of Nursing's website at www.ncbon.com; 

(2) submit information on the applicant's 

education, evidence of the applicant's 

certification by the American College of Nurse 

Midwives, identification of the physician or 

physicians who will supervise the applicant, 

and the sites where the applicant intends to 

practice midwifery; 

(3) submit the approval to practice application fee 

as established in 90-178.4(b)(1); 

(4) have an unencumbered registered nurse license 

and midwifery license or approval to practice in 

all jurisdictions in which a license/approval to 

practice is or has ever been held; 

(5) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

Applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and any investigative report or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if 

requested by the Committee. The Committee 

may use these documents when determining if 

an approval to practice should be denied 

pursuant to G.S. 90-178.6 and 90-171.37; 

(6) submit a written explanation and all related 

documents if the midwife has ever been listed 

as a nurse aide and if there have ever been any 

substantiated findings pursuant to G.S. 131E-

255. The Committee may take these findings 

into consideration when determining if an 

approval to practice should be denied pursuant 

to G.S. 90-178.6. In the event findings are 

pending, the Committee may withhold taking 

any action until the investigation is completed; 

and 

(7) complete a criminal background check in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48. 

In the event that any of the information required in 

accordance with this Paragraph should indicate a 

concern about the applicant's qualifications, an applicant 

may be required to appear in person for an interview with 

the Committee if the Committee determines in its 

discretion that more information is needed to evaluate 

the application. 

(b)  Each midwife shall annually renew their approval to practice 

with the Committee no later than the last day of the midwife's birth 

month by: 

(1) submitting a completed application for renewal, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Committee of all information pertaining to the 

application. Applications are located on the 

Board of Nursing's website at www.ncbon.com; 
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(2) attest to having completed the requirements of 

the Certificate Maintenance Program of the 

American College of Nurse Midwives, 

including continuing education requirements, 

and submit evidence of completion if requested 

by the Committee as specified in Rule .0111 of 

this Section; 

(3) submitting the approval to practice renewal fee 

as established in G.S. 90-178.4(b)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 90-178.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0105 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

(a)  The midwife is subject to G.S. 90-171.37; 90-171.48 and 21 

NCAC 36 .0217 by virtue of the license to practice as a registered 

nurse. 

(b)  After an investigation is completed, the Committee may 

recommend one of the following: 

(1) dismiss the case; 

(2) issue a private letter of concern; 

(3) enter into negotiation for a Consent Order; 

(4) a disciplinary hearing in accordance with G.S. 

150B, Article 3A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-178.6; 

Eff. February 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0110 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the Committee information 

regarding the prescribing practices of those midwives 

("prescribers") whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two of those prescribing 100 

MMEs per patient per day in combination with 

any benzodiazepine and who are within the top 

one percent of all controlled substance 

prescribers by volume. 

(b)  The Department may report to the Committee information 

regarding midwives who have had two or more patient deaths in 

the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning where the 

prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid to the 

decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days of the 

patient deaths. 

(c)  The Department may report to the Committee information 

regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the following 

criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each criterion: 

(1) at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients 

receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater 

from the prescriber's practice location; 

(2) the prescriber had more than 25 percent of 

patients receiving the same opioids and 

benzodiazepine combination; 

(3) the prescriber had 75 percent of patients 

receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions; 

(4) the prescriber had 90 percent or more of 

patients in a three-month period that received 

an opioid prescription that overlapped with 

another opioid prescription for at least one 

week; 

(5) more than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients 

received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater 

per day excluding office based treatment 

medications;  

(6) the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients 

who used three or more pharmacies within a 

three-month period to obtain opioids regardless 

of the prescriber. 

(d)  The Department may submit these reports to the Committee 

upon request and may include the information described in G.S. 

90-113.73(b). 

(e)  The reports and communications between the Department and 

the Committee shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-

113.74. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.74; 90-178.4; 

Eff. May 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1207 DEVICE AND MEDICAL 

EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE 

(a)  The device and medical equipment committee shall consist of 

the following: 

(1) a representative of the medical equipment 

suppliers; 

(2) a representative of the medical oxygen 

suppliers; 

(3) a representative of the rehabilitation technology 

suppliers; and 

(4) two Board members. 

(b)  Each of the members of the device and medical equipment 

committee shall be appointed by the Board. Device and medical 

equipment permit holders may provide input in these 

appointments. The representative must practice in the area for 

which he or she is nominated, but need not practice exclusively in 

that area. In case of death, resignation, or removal from the 

committee, the Board shall fill the vacancy with a representative 

who meets the criteria for the position. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22; 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 46 .2102 ELIGIBILITY TO VOTE 

Eligible voters for Board members shall be the pharmacists 

licensed in North Carolina and residing in North Carolina on 

October 31 of the year the election begins. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.7; 90-85.22; 

Eff. April 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; September 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2104 COMMITTEE ON 

NOMINATIONS 

In the event that no eligible candidates have petitioned for 

nomination, the Board may appoint an advisory committee on 

nominations in September of each year that an election for Board 

position(s) begins. Members of this committee shall submit at 

least two names of eligible candidates for each position to be filled 

on the Board by October 1 for the next election. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.7; 

Eff. April 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; July 1, 1996; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2109 DEVICE AND MEDICAL 

EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22; 

Eff. September 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 54 – PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1602 BOARD ADDRESS AND FORMS 

(a)  The mailing address for the North Carolina Psychology Board 

is 895 State Farm Road, Suite 101, Boone, North Carolina 28607. 

(b)  The Board's website address is www.ncpsychologyboard.org. 

(c)  All forms required by the Rules may be found on the Board's 

website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; March 1, 1989; August 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1605 FEES 

The following charges shall be assessed: 

(1) Duplication listing of all licensees and contact 

information - $8.00;  

(2) Renewal of license - $250.00;  

(3) National written examination - $50.00 plus the 

cost of the examination set by the vendor;  

(4) State examination - $200.00;  

(5) Ethics renewal examination - $50.00; 

(6) costs for copies of public records as follows: 

(a) "actual costs" as defined in G.S. 132-

6.2(b) and provided on the Board's 

website; 

(b) mailing costs if applicable; and 

(c) 10 pages or less - no charge;  

(7) Application fee - $100.00;  

(8) Reinstatement fee - $100.00;  

(9) Returned check - $20.00;  

(10) Duplication of individual licensee licensure 

status information - $10.00;  

(11) Disciplinary costs:  

(a) consent order - $300.00; and 

(b) hearing - $300.00 per hour for a 

hearing that results in disciplinary 

action, with a minimum charge of 

three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the 

first hour or portion thereof, and then 

prorated thereafter for each half-hour; 

(12) Certificate of registration for professional 

corporation or professional limited liability 

company - $50.00; and 

(13) Renewal fee for certificate of registration for 

professional corporation or professional limited 

liability company - $25.00. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c); 55B-10; 55B-11; 

57D-02-01; 90-270.9; 90-270.15(c); 90-270.18(b); 90-270.18(c); 

132-6.2(b); 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. August 26, 1982; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Curative Amended Eff. September 28, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1989 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on April 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1990 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on April 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993, for a period of 

180 days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever 

is sooner; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; July 1, 1996; April 1, 1994; 

December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1606 WAIVER OF COMPLIANCE 

WITH RULES 

(a)  Upon written request, the Board may waive compliance with 

any of its rules when a medical emergency, severe weather, 

unexpected closure of testing facility or other unforeseen 

circumstance renders compliance with the rule impossible, except 

where to do so would be contrary to statute or applicable 

regulations of other agencies. 
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(b)  The factors to be used in deciding whether to waive a rule are: 

(1) the necessity for a waiver; 

(2) whether or not compliance with the rule is 

impossible under the circumstances set forth in 

the request; 

(3) the amount of notice given to the Board and its 

staff; 

(4) the responsibility of the person making the 

request for the conditions creating the need for 

a waiver; 

(5) previous requests for a waiver made by the 

same person; 

(6) the precedential value of such a waiver; 

(7) the harm to the person making the waiver 

request if a waiver is not granted; and 

(8) the harm to the Board if a waiver is granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1607 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.8; 90-270.9; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1608 ETHICAL VIOLATIONS 

The Board shall use those policies, publications, guidelines, and 

casebooks developed by the American Psychological Association 

in determining whether violations of the Ethical Principles of 

Psychologists have occurred. In addition, publications, 

guidelines, policies, and statements provided by the Association 

of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, the National 

Association of School Psychologists, and other relevant 

professional associations and bodies may be used in interpreting 

the Ethical Principles of Psychologists. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.15(a)(10); 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; September 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1609 TERMINATION OF PRACTICE 

A licensee whose license is suspended or revoked, an applicant 

who is notified that he or she has failed an examination for the 

second time, an applicant who is notified that licensure is denied, 

or an applicant whose application is withdrawn, or who fails to 

complete the application process within the applicable stipulated 

time period set forth in Rules .1701(c), .1707(g) and .2130(c) of 

this Chapter, must terminate the practice of psychology within a 

two week period following receipt of written termination 

notification from the Board and shall confirm such termination in 

writing to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.4(h); 90-270.9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1993, for a Period of 180 

Days or until the permanent rule becomes effective whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1610 PRACTICE BY 

PSYCHOLOGISTS WHO ARE NOT RESIDENTS OF 

NORTH CAROLINA 

(a)  To practice psychology in North Carolina for up to five days 

in a calendar year, a psychologist who is not a resident of North 

Carolina shall submit the following information to the Board five 

business days prior to the psychologist engaging in the practice of 

psychology in North Carolina: 

(1) a written statement from a jurisdiction verifying 

that the psychologist's license is in good 

standing, that there is no pending disciplinary 

action against the license, and describing any 

supervision requirements under which the 

individual practices in that jurisdiction; 

(2) a signed or digitally signed supervision 

statement from non-resident psychologist 

showing compliance with Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule; and 

(3) a written report from the psychologist who is 

not a resident of North Carolina describing his 

or her intended practice in North Carolina and, 

if applicable, the name of the North Carolina 

psychologist(s) with whom he or she will be 

associating. 

(b)  Supervision shall be provided at the same level as that which 

is required for the psychologist who is not a resident of North 

Carolina in the jurisdiction verifying licensure in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule by a North Carolina permanently licensed 

psychologist or licensed psychological associate who meets the 

requirements of 21 NCAC 54 .2001. 

(c)  The Board shall waive the five day notice period specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule for licensed psychologists or licensed 

psychological associates who are not residents of North Carolina 

and are placed in North Carolina by the American Red Cross due 

to a disaster. 

(d)  This Rule applies only to the practice of psychology when the 

psychologist or client/patient are physically located in North 

Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.4(f); 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1611 PRACTICE BY 

POSTDOCTORAL TRAINEES 

An individual pursuing postdoctoral training or experience in 

psychology shall be exempt from licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.4(d) if the following criteria are met: 

(1) the postdoctoral training or experience in 

psychology meets all the criteria set forth in 21 

NCAC 54 .2009(i); and 

(2) the individual has completed all doctoral degree 

requirements of a program that was accredited 
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by the American Psychological Association or 

Canadian Psychological Association at the time 

the individual graduated from the program. 

Evidence of completion of all degree 

requirements shall be in the form of either an 

official transcript showing the date on which 

the degree was conferred or a letter from the 

registrar, dean of graduate school, or director of 

graduate studies verifying that all substantive 

and administrative requirements for the 

doctoral degree have been met without 

exception and stating the date on which the 

doctoral degree will be awarded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.4(d); 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1612 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK 

Within 30 days of receipt of written communication from the 

Board or Board designee that a criminal history record check is 

required, a licensee who is under investigation by the Board shall 

submit to the Board the following:  

(1) signed fingerprint search consent form, which 

shall include the following information: 

(a) legal name; 

(b) Social Security number; 

(c) date of birth; 

(d) sex; and 

(e) race. 

(2) completed Fingerprint Record Card, (a blank 

card to be completed can be requested from the 

Board or a local sheriff's department); 

(3) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety to conduct a 

criminal history record check; and 

(4) other such form(s) or information as required 

by the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety to perform a criminal history record 

check. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.22(a); 

Eff. March 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1701 INFORMATION REQUIRED 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and Rule 

.1707 of this Section, the information required for each applicant 

for licensure shall consist of: 

(1) a typed or printed, signed or digitally signed 

application form. The form shall include the 

following information: 

(A) legal name; 

(B) home mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) preferred mailing address; 

(E) Social Security number; 

(F) e-mail address; 

(G) date and place of birth; 

(H) licensure or applicant for licensure by 

another psychology board; 

(I) if taken, the score on the Examination 

for Professional Practice in 

Psychology; 

(J) if previously an applicant for a license 

to practice psychology in North 

Carolina; 

(K) if denied a professional license or 

permit, or privilege of taking an 

examination; 

(L) had a professional license or permit 

ever disciplined by any licensing 

authority in North Carolina or 

elsewhere; 

(M) whether aware of any pending charges 

against a professional license or 

permit which are held; 

(N) if ever withdrawn an application for 

licensure or an application to take a 

professional licensing examination in 

North Carolina or elsewhere; 

(O) if ever been convicted of, or entered a 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere to 

any felony or misdemeanor other than 

a minor traffic violation; 

(P) other fields of work for which the 

applicant is licensed or certified, or 

has applied for licensure or 

certification; 

(Q) whether the applicant holds a diploma 

from the American Board of 

Professional Psychology; 

(R) whether doctoral program was APA 

accredited at the time of your 

graduation; 

(S) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 

(T) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(U) all work experience, including, any 

graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for the current 

application for licensure; 

(V) any disability that may require an 

accommodation in taking licensing 

examinations; 

(W) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; 

(X) if applying for senior psychologist as 

specified in Rule .1707 of this Section; 

and 

(Y) certify that the applicant has read and 

understands the public notice 
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statement on employee 

misclassification maintained on the 

Board's website and whether the 

applicant has been investigated for 

employee misclassification within the 

past 12 months. 

(2) the application fee under Rule .1605(7) of this 

Chapter; 

(3) a typed or printed, signed or digitally signed 

supervision contract form. The form shall 

include the following information: 

(A) supervisee's name, North Carolina 

psychology license number and level, 

mailing address, e-mail address and 

telephone number; 

(B) supervisee's current work setting; 

(C) if supervision contract form is for an 

applicant or replaces previous 

supervision contract form(s); 

(D) supervisor's name and psychology 

license number, business telephone 

number, business name and address; 

(E) if the supervisor has;  

(i) been denied a professional 

license or permit; 

(ii) had any disciplinary, 

remedial, rehabilitative, or 

other action taken against a 

professional license, 

certificate, or permit by any 

licensing or certification 

authority in North Carolina 

or elsewhere; or 

(iii) if aware of any pending 

charges against a 

professional license, 

certificate, or permit; 

(F) if the supervisee has: 

(i) been denied a professional 

license or permit; 

(ii) had any disciplinary, 

remedial, rehabilitative, or 

other action taken against a 

professional license, 

certificate, or permit by any 

licensing or certification 

authority in North Carolina 

or elsewhere; or 

(iii) if aware of any pending 

charges against a 

professional license, 

certificate, or permit; 

(G) number of hours per week engaged in 

the practice of psychology; 

(H) number of hours allotted for individual 

supervision per week; 

(I) number of individual supervision 

sessions per week; and 

(J) if supervision is not required under 

Rule .2008 of this Section. 

(4) a signed fingerprint search consent form, which 

may be downloaded from the Board's website; 

a completed Fingerprint Record Card, which 

can be obtained from the Board office or a local 

Sheriff's office; and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(5) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) an official transcript(s) sent to the Board by any 

institution of higher education from which the 

applicant received a graduate degree or 

otherwise completed graduate course work in 

psychology; 

(7) the completed supervisor forms completed by 

present and past supervisor. The form shall 

include the following information: 

(A) names of applicant and supervisor; 

(B) institution or setting where applicant 

was supervised; 

(C) supervisor's position at the time 

supervision occurred; 

(D) applicant's position or title; 

(E) dates of applicant's employment or 

training; 

(F) dates of supervision of applicant; 

(G) number of hours per week applicant 

practiced psychology under 

supervisor's direction; 

(H) number of weeks during which 

applicant practiced psychology under 

supervisor's direction; 

(I) number of practice of psychology 

hours accumulated; 

(J) number of health services hours 

accumulated; 

(K) number of hours per week of 

individual face-to-face supervision; 

(L) duties performed by applicant; 

(M) if supervisor is licensed as a 

psychologist in North Carolina or in 

any other state or jurisdiction in the 

U.S. or Canada; and 

(N) if the applicant is competent to 

practice psychology. 

(8) three completed reference forms from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist. The reference form 

shall include: 

(A) names of reference and applicant; 

(B) time period reference has known 

applicant; 

(C) nature of professional relationship; 
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(D) judgment regarding the applicant's 

training, experience, professional 

skills, adherence to  

(E) legal and ethical standards; and 

(F) areas of concern, further comments, 

and recommendations to the Board. 

(9) a written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action that is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed, 

if applicable; 

(10) an official report of any previous score obtained 

on the Examination for Professional Practice in 

Psychology sent directly to the Board from the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology 

Boards, if applicable; and 

(11) any additional documentation regarding 

educational credentials described in Rules 

.1802 and .1803 of this Chapter, if requested by 

the Board. 

(b)  The information required for each applicant applying for 

licensure on the basis of holding a current credential for 

psychology licensure mobility shall consist of: 

(1) typed or printed, signed or digitally signed 

application form. The form shall include the 

following information: 

(A) legal name; 

(B) home mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) Social Security number; 

(E) e-mail address; 

(F) date and place of birth; 

(G) licensure or applicant for licensure by 

another psychology board; 

(H) if: 

(i) been denied a professional 

license or permit, or privilege 

of taking an examination; 

(ii) had a professional license or 

permit disciplined in any 

way; or 

(iii) if aware of any pending 

charges against a 

professional license or 

permit; 

(I) if ever have withdrawn an application 

for licensure or an application to take 

a professional licensing examination; 

(J) if ever have been convicted of, or 

entered a plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere to any felony or 

misdemeanor other than a minor 

traffic violation; 

(K) other fields of work for which the 

applicant is licensed or certified, or 

has applied for licensure or 

certification; 

(L) if holds a CPQ issued by the 

Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards; 

(M) if registrant in the National Register of 

Health Service Providers in 

Psychology; 

(N) if holds a diploma from the American 

Board of Professional Psychology; 

(O) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 

(P) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(Q) all work experience including, any 

graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for current 

application for licensure; 

(R) any disability that may require some 

special accommodation in taking 

licensing examinations; 

(S) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; and 

(T) certify that the applicant has read and 

understands the public notice 

statement on employee 

misclassification maintained on the 

Board's website and whether the 

applicant has been investigated for 

employee misclassification within the 

past 12 months. 

(2) affidavit that attests to having no unresolved 

complaint in any jurisdiction at the time of 

application in North Carolina; 

(3) application fee under Rule .1605(7) of this 

Chapter; 

(4) typed or printed, signed or digitally signed 

supervision contract form as described in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; 

(5) signed consent form, which can be downloaded 

from the Board's website, completed 

Fingerprint Record Card, which can be 

obtained from the Board office or a local 

Sheriff's office, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(7) official transcript sent to the Board by the 

institution of higher education from which the 

applicant received his or her doctoral degree in 

psychology; or if applicable, a copy of the 

transcript sent directly to the Board by either the 
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Association of State and Provincial Psychology 

Boards, National Register of Health Service 

Providers in Psychology, or American Board of 

Professional Psychology; 

(8) three completed reference forms, as described 

in Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule, from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist; 

(9) written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed; 

(10) written verification sent directly to the Board 

from the applicable organization(s) that the 

applicant holds a current credential in good 

standing for psychology licensure mobility 

from one of the following: 

(A) Certificate of Professional 

Qualification (CPQ) from the 

Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards; 

(B) registrant in the National Register of 

Health Service Providers in 

Psychology; or 

(C) diplomate of the American Board of 

Professional Psychology; and 

(11) documentation of meeting requirements for 

health services provider certification as 

specified in Section .2700 of this Chapter, if 

applicable. 

(c)  An application shall contain all materials required under 

Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule to be complete. The application 

forms may be found on the Board website. An incomplete 

application shall be active for three months from the date on 

which the application is received in the Board office. At the end 

of such time, if still incomplete, the application shall be void, and 

the applicant shall be deemed to have discontinued the application 

process. If the individual chooses to pursue licensure at a later 

date, the individual shall reapply. 

(d)  To be considered to have made application pursuant to G.S. 

90-270.5(a), the information specified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (a)(5) of this Rule, or Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) 

of this Rule if applying on the basis of a mobility credential, shall 

be filed in the Board office within 30 days of offering to practice 

or undertaking the practice of psychology in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.4(h); 90-270.5(a); 90-

270.9; 90-270.11(a); 90-270.11(b); 90-270.13(a); 90-270(a1)(6); 

90-270.13(b); 90-270.15; 90-270.22(a); 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; September 1, 2005; January 1, 

1996; November 1, 1991; March 1, 1989; June 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1702 FOREIGN DEGREE 

APPLICATION  

(a)  Applicants applying for licensure on the basis of a foreign 

degree shall provide documentation, in addition to the information 

required in 21 NCAC 54 .1701 that establishes the following: 

(1) the existence of the degree-granting institution; 

(2) the validity of the degree, transcripts, and any 

supporting documents; 

(3) the equivalence of the degree in terms of level 

of training, content of curriculum, and course 

credits; and 

(4) the equivalence of any supervised experience 

obtained outside the United States. 

Such documentation shall be in the form of a course-by-course 

evaluation of credentials submitted directly to the Board from an 

evaluation service that is a member of the National Association of 

Credentials Evaluation Services, Inc. A listing of members can be 

found on the National Association of Credentials Evaluation 

Services, Inc. website, www.naces.org. 

(b)  Except as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, only 

original documents shall be submitted to the Board in support of 

the application and the documents shall be received directly from 

the institution(s) or individual(s) involved. 

(c)  When an original document cannot be provided directly by 

the institution or individual involved, an original document 

possessed by the applicant shall be reviewed and copied by a 

Board member or designee. 

(d)  Any document that is in a language other than English shall 

be accompanied by a translation with a written verification from 

the translator that the translation into English is accurate and 

complete. This translation shall be completed by an individual, 

other than the applicant, who upon written request of the applicant 

is approved by the Board or a Board designee, and who does not 

have a relationship with the applicant. Such individuals that shall 

be approved by the Board as translators include college or 

university language faculty, a translation service, or an American 

consul. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(c); 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. August 26, 1982; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Curative Amended Eff. September 28, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2008; October 1, 1995; March 1, 1989; June 

1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1703 TEMPORARY LICENSES 

(a)  To be issued a temporary license to practice psychology in 

North Carolina, a psychologist who is not a resident of North 

Carolina shall submit the following information to the Board at 

least 10 business days prior to the psychologist engaging in the 

practice of psychology in North Carolina: 

(1) a typed, or printed, signed or digitally signed 

temporary license application form, including 

an affidavit that the standards under which the 

psychologist who is not a resident of North 

Carolina is licensed in another jurisdiction are 

substantially equivalent to or higher than the 

requirements of G.S. 90-270.1 et seq.; 
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(2) whether the applicant has been disciplined by 

any licensing authority in North Carolina or 

elsewhere, or is aware of any pending charges 

against a professional license or permit which 

is held; 

(3) reason for applying for temporary licensure in 

North Carolina; 

(4) if the applicant wants to be considered for 

temporary health services provider 

certification; 

(5) a written statement from any jurisdiction where 

the psychologist is licensed that the 

psychologist's license is in good standing, that 

there is no pending disciplinary action against 

the license, and describing any supervision 

requirements under which the individual 

practices in that jurisdiction; 

(6) a signed or digitally signed statement showing 

compliance with supervision requirements 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 

and 

(7) the temporary license fee set forth in G.S. 90-

270.18(b)(8). 

(b)  Only one 30-day temporary license shall be issued to an 

individual in any calendar year. Supervision shall be provided at 

the same level as that which is required for the psychologist who 

is not a resident of North Carolina in the jurisdiction verifying 

licensure in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule by a North Carolina 

permanently licensed psychologist or licensed psychological 

associate who meets the requirements of Rule .2001 of this 

Chapter. 

(c)  A psychologist requesting reinstatement of licensure may 

apply for a temporary license to practice psychology in North 

Carolina by submitting the information listed in 21 NCAC 54 

.2103. A temporary license issued under this Paragraph shall be 

valid until the applicant takes the first examination to which he or 

she is admitted by the Board, pursuant to Rule .2103(e) of this 

Chapter, and is notified of the results, and until the reinstatement 

fee set forth in Rule .1605(8) of this Chapter is paid. This license 

shall not be issued, reissued, or extended if the applicant fails the 

examination, fails to appear for the examination, or fails to remit 

the required fees within the time period stipulated in Rule 

.2103(a)(4) or (b)(9) of this Chapter. A temporary licensee shall 

comply with supervision requirements specified in Section .2000 

of this Chapter for the same level of licensure for which 

application for reinstatement is approved. 

(d)  For the 5 day temporary practice notification requirement to 

practice psychology in North Carolina in accordance with G.S. 

90-270.4(f), a psychologist who is not a resident of North Carolina 

shall submit to the Board the temporary practice notification form 

at least 10 business days prior to the psychologist engaging in the 

practice of psychology in North Carolina The temporary practice 

notification form shall include: 

(1) name of application; 

(2) degree awarded; 

(3) mailing address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) Social Security number; 

(6) name of jurisdiction in which licensed, 

including date of licensure, and license number; 

(7) dates of intended practice in North Carolina; 

(8) name of North Carolina psychologist(s) with 

whom applicant will be associating, if 

applicable; 

(9) description of intended practice in North 

Carolina; and 

(10) whether required to be supervised for practice 

in the jurisdiction in which applicant is 

licensed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(f); 90-270.5(g); 90-

270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1996; October 1, 1991; March 1, 

1989; June 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1705 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

At any time when a licensee is practicing psychology, a licensee 

shall display the Board-issued licensure certificate in view of the 

licensee's patients or clients or have the Board-issued wallet 

licensure card available for view upon request by the licensee's 

patients or clients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1706 REAPPLICATION 

To reapply for licensure, an applicant must submit all information 

listed in Rule .1701 of this Section and, if applicable, Rule .1702 

of this Section. A reapplication shall be reviewed under the 

statutes and rules in effect on the date of reapplication. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-11(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1707 SENIOR PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, to be 

approved for licensure at the Licensed Psychologist level on the 

basis of senior psychologist status, an applicant shall hold a 

doctoral degree in psychology from an institution of higher 

education and shall meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) is licensed and has been licensed for 12 

continuous years at the doctoral level by one or 

more other state or provincial psychology 

boards that are members of the Association of 

State and Provincial Psychology Boards, during 

which time, and in which jurisdiction(s), he or 

she has practiced psychology for a minimum of 

10 years for at least 20 hours per week;  

(2) has had no disciplinary sanction during his or 

her period of licensure in any jurisdiction; 

(3) has no unresolved disciplinary complaint with 

a licensing board in any jurisdiction at the time 
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of application or during the pendency of 

application in North Carolina; and 

(4) passes the State examination. 

(b)  An applicant who received the doctoral degree prior to 

January 1, 1978, upon which his or her psychology licensure in 

another jurisdiction is based, shall hold a doctoral degree from an 

institution of higher education and meet all of the requirements 

specified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule. 

(c)  Except as provided in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, to be 

approved for licensure at the Licensed Psychological Associate 

level on the basis of senior psychologist status, an applicant shall 

hold a master's, specialist, or doctoral degree in psychology from 

an institution of higher education and shall meet all of the 

following requirements: 

(1) is licensed and has been licensed for 12 

continuous years at the master's level by one or 

more other state or provincial psychology 

boards that are members of the Association of 

State and Provincial Psychology Boards, during 

which time, and in which jurisdiction(s), he or 

she has practiced psychology for a minimum of 

10 years for at least 20 hours per week;  

(2) has had no disciplinary sanction during his or 

her entire period of licensure in any 

jurisdiction; 

(3) has no unresolved disciplinary complaint with 

a licensing board in any jurisdiction at the time 

of application or during the pendency of 

application in North Carolina; and 

(4) passes the State examination. 

(d)  An applicant who received the degree prior to January 1, 

1978, upon which his or her psychology licensure in another 

jurisdiction is based, shall hold a master's, specialist, or doctoral 

degree from an institution of higher education and meet all of the 

requirements specified in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(4) of 

this Rule. 

(e)  The information required for each applicant shall consist of: 

(1) a typed or printed signed or digitally signed 

application form, as described in Rule 

.1701(a)(1) of this Chapter, and an affidavit that 

attests to meeting the requirements specified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(3) or 

Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(3) of this 

Rule, as applicable; 

(2) a typed or , signed or digitally signed 

supervision contract form as described in Rule 

.1701(a)(3) of this Section; 

(3) the application fee set forth in Rule .1605(6) of 

this Chapter; 

(4) a signed consent form, completed Fingerprint 

Record Card, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(5) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) an official college transcript(s) sent to the 

Board by any training institution(s) from which 

the applicant received a graduate degree; 

(7) three completed reference forms, as described 

in Rule .1701(a)(8) of this Section, from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist; and 

(8) a written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action that is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction where 

the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed. 

(f)  To be complete, an application shall contain all materials 

required under Subparagraph (e) of this Rule. An incomplete 

application shall be active for three months from the date on 

which the application is received in the Board office. At the end 

of such time, if still incomplete, the application shall be void, and 

the applicant shall be deemed to have discontinued the application 

process. If the individual chooses to pursue licensure at a later 

date, the individual shall reapply. 

(g)  To be considered to have made application pursuant to G.S. 

90-270.5(a), the information specified in Subparagraphs (e)(1) 

through (e)(5) of this Rule shall be filed in the Board office within 

30 days of offering to practice or undertaking the practice of 

psychology in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(a); 90-270.9; 90-

270.13(a); 90-270.13(e); 90-270.22(a); 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; August 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1802 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 

(a)  Licensure for the level of psychological associate shall require 

a master's degree or specialist degree in psychology from an 

institution of higher education. The degree program shall meet all 

of the following requirements: 

(1) The program shall be identified and labeled as 

a psychology program. The program shall 

specify in institutional catalogues its purpose to 

educate and train students to engage in the 

activities that constitute the practice of 

psychology as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

(2) The program shall maintain authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty 

areas.  

(3) The program shall have a body of students in 

residence at the physical campus of the 

institution who are matriculated in that program 

for a degree. 

(4) There shall be a full-time psychology faculty 

employed in residence at the physical campus 

of the institution, sufficient in size and breadth 

to carry out its responsibilities, employed by 
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and providing instruction at the physical 

campus of the institution. 

(5) There shall be a psychologist responsible for 

the student's program, either as the 

administrative head of the program, or as the 

advisor, professor, or committee chair for the 

individual student's program. 

(6) The program shall be an integrated, organized 

sequence of study in psychology as 

demonstrated by a curriculum track or tracks 

wherein course sequences and course content 

are described in institutional catalogues, 

departmental handbooks, or other institutional 

publications. 

(7) The program shall encompass the equivalent of 

a minimum of one academic year of graduate 

study in student residence at the institution from 

which the degree is granted. Residence requires 

in person interaction with psychology faculty 

and other matriculated psychology students at 

the physical campus of the institution. One 

year's residency is defined as 30 semester (45 

quarter or 40 trimester) hours taken in person at 

the physical campus of the institution over the 

course of one year. 

(8) The program shall include supervised training 

experience listed on the applicant's transcript 

and shall include an internship, externship, 

practicum, or other supervised field experience 

related to the area of specialty and the practice 

of psychology and shall meet all of the 

following criteria: 

(A) It shall be a planned and directed 

program of training for the practice of 

psychology, in contrast to on-the-job 

training, and shall provide the trainee 

with a planned and directed sequence 

of training that is integrated with the 

educational program in which the 

student is enrolled. This supervised 

training experience shall be planned 

by the educational program faculty 

and supervised training experience site 

staff, rather than by the student. 

(B) The supervised training experience 

shall have a written description of the 

program of training, or a written 

agreement, developed prior to the time 

of the training, between the student's 

educational program and the 

supervised training experience site, 

detailing the responsibilities of the 

student and the supervised training 

experience site. The agreement shall 

be approved by the student's 

educational program prior to the 

beginning of the supervised training 

experience. 

(C) The supervised training experience 

site shall have a designated licensed or 

certified psychologist or 

psychological associate responsible 

for the supervised training experience. 

(D) A student enrolled in a supervised 

training experience shall be designated 

as any of the following: an "intern," 

"extern," or "practicum student," or 

shall hold a title that provides training 

status for the practice of psychology. 

(E) The supervised training experience 

shall be a minimum of 12 weeks 

consisting of at least 500 hours of 

supervised training. At least 400 hours 

of the training shall be in the practice 

of psychology. Supervision for this 

supervised training experience shall be 

provided as required by Parts (G) or 

(H) of this Subparagraph.  

(F) The supervised training experience 

shall be completed within a period of 

12 consecutive months at not more 

than two supervised training 

experience sites. 

(G) Except as provided in Part (H) of this 

Subparagraph, individual in person 

supervision that oversees the student's 

practice of psychology shall be 

provided by a North Carolina licensed 

psychologist or psychological 

associate or by a psychologist who is 

exempt from licensure, pursuant to 

G.S. 90-270.4(b), at a rate of not less 

than one hour per week during at least 

12 separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. 

(H) If completing a supervised training 

experience outside of North Carolina, 

the student shall be provided 

scheduled individual in person 

supervision by a licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate or by an individual holding a 

master's, specialist, or doctoral degree 

in psychology, at a rate of not less than 

one hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall supervise the student practice of 

psychology and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. Proof of the 

supervisor's license or degree program 
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shall be required by the Board to 

establish the supervisor's training in 

psychology. 

(9) Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the program of study shall include a 

minimum of 45 semester (68 quarter or 60 

trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, including courses drawn 

from academic psychology (e.g., social, 

experimental, physiological, and 

developmental psychology, and history of 

psychology), statistics and research design, 

scientific and professional ethics and standards, 

and a specialty area. Of the required 45 

semester (68 quarter or 60 trimester) program 

hours, not more than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 

trimester) hours shall be credited for supervised 

training experience and not more than 6 

semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours shall 

be credited for thesis or dissertation. No credit 

shall be allowed for audited courses or courses 

taken at an institution which does not meet the 

definition of an "institution of higher 

education" as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5). 

(b)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 45 semester (68 quarter or 60 trimester) hours of course 

content, as defined in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule, but 

included a minimum of 39 semester (59 quarter or 52 trimester) 

hours of graduate study in standard psychology courses, as 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule, allowing not more 

than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours for supervised 

training experience and 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours 

for thesis or dissertation, the individual shall be allowed to take, 

and must pass with a grade of "B" or above, additional graduate 

level course work to meet the hourly requirement in Subparagraph 

(a)(9) of this Rule. The individual shall complete standard 

psychology courses, as defined by Subparagraph (a)(9) of this 

Rule, to meet the minimum educational requirements to apply for 

licensure. The course work shall be completed at an institution of 

higher education in a graduate psychology program in the same 

specialty area as the degree program completed by the individual 

and shall be reported on an official transcript. No credit shall be 

accepted by the Board for audited courses. This additional 

graduate level course work shall not duplicate course work taken 

by the individual in his or her degree program or prior to 

admittance to his or her degree program and shall be completed in 

one or more of the following areas: 

(1) academic psychology (e.g., social, 

experimental, physiological, and/or 

developmental psychology, and history of 

psychology); 

(2) statistics and research design; 

(3) scientific and professional ethics and standards; 

or 

(4) electives offered in the course of study for the 

individual's specialty area (e.g., clinical 

psychology, counseling psychology, school 

psychology, or other specialty area in 

psychology). 

(c)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 39 semester (59 quarter or 52 trimester) hours in standard 

psychology courses, allowing not more than 6 semester (9 quarter 

or 8 trimester) hours for supervised training experience and not 

more than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours for thesis or 

dissertation, the individual shall not be allowed to obtain 

additional hours at a post-graduate level to meet the hourly 

requirements in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule. 

(d)  An individual shall not, under any circumstance following the 

completion of the individual's master's or specialist degree in 

psychology, be allowed to complete a practicum, internship, or 

other supervised training experience requiring the individual to 

practice psychology in order to meet the minimum educational 

requirement. 

(e)  An applicant whose credentials have been approved by the 

Board for examination at the licensed psychologist level may be 

issued a license as a psychological associate if the applicant fails 

an examination at the licensed psychologist level but passes such 

at the psychological associate level. To receive this license, the 

applicant shall make a written request to the Board for licensure 

at the psychological associate level within 30 days from the date 

when the applicant is notified of his or her examination score. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(b); 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; July 1, 1997; October 1, 1991; 

August 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1803 LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  Licensure for the level of licensed psychologist shall require 

a doctoral degree in psychology from an institution of higher 

education. The doctoral program shall be accredited by the 

American Psychological Association or the Canadian 

Psychological Association at the time of the individual's 

graduation from the program, or one which meets all of the 

following requirements: 

(1) The program shall be identified and labeled a 

psychology program. The program shall 

specify in institutional catalogues its purpose to 

educate and train students to engage in the 

activities that constitute the practice of 

psychology as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

(2) The program shall maintain authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty 

areas.  

(3) The program shall have a body of students in 

residence at the physical campus of the 

institution who are matriculated in that program 

for a degree. 

(4) There shall be a full-time psychology faculty in 

residence at the physical campus of the 

institution, sufficient in size and breadth to 

carry out its responsibilities, employed by and 

providing instruction at the physical campus of 

the institution. 

(5) There shall be a psychologist responsible for 

the applicant's program either as the 

administrative head of the program, or as the 
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advisor, professor, or committee chair for the 

individual applicant's program. 

(6) The program shall be an integrated, organized 

sequence of study in psychology as 

demonstrated by a curriculum track or tracks 

wherein course sequences and course content 

are described in institutional catalogues, 

departmental handbooks, or other institutional 

publications. 

(7) The program shall encompass the equivalent of 

a minimum of three academic years of full-time 

graduate study, two years of which are at the 

institution from which the degree is granted, 

and one year of which is in residence at the 

institution from which the degree is granted. 

Residence requires in person interaction with 

psychology faculty and other matriculated 

psychology students. One year's residence is 

defined as 30 semester (45 quarter or 40 

trimester) hours taken on a full-time or part-

time basis in person at the physical campus of 

the institution over the course of one year. 

(8) The program shall include practicum, 

internship, field experiences, or laboratory 

training related to the area of specialty and the 

practice of psychology. This experience shall 

be supervised by a licensed psychologist. 

(9) Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the program of study shall include a 

minimum of 60 semester (90 quarter or 80 

trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, exclusive of credits for 

internship or practicum and thesis or 

dissertation, including instruction in scientific 

and professional ethics and standards, research 

design and methodology, statistics and 

psychometrics, and the specialty area. No credit 

shall be allowed for audited courses or courses 

taken at an institution that does not meet the 

definition of an "institution of higher 

education" as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5). 

(10) The program shall include a minimum of three 

semester (five quarter or four trimester) hours 

of coursework in each of these content areas: 

(A) biological bases of behavior, such as, 

physiological psychology, 

comparative psychology, 

neuropsychology, sensation and 

perception, psychopharmacology; 

(B) cognitive-affective bases of behavior, 

such as, cognition, memory, learning, 

thinking, motivation, emotion; 

(C) social bases of behavior, such as, 

social psychology, group processes, 

organizational and systems theory, 

cultural and ethnic bases, sex roles; 

and 

(D) individual differences, such as, 

personality theory, human 

development, abnormal psychology, 

individual differences. 

(b)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 60 semester (90 quarter or 80 trimester) hours in standard 

psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and 

(a)(10) of this Rule, but included a minimum of 54 semester (81 

quarter or 72 trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and 

(a)(10) of this Rule, exclusive of credits for internship or 

practicum and thesis or dissertation, the individual shall be 

allowed to take, and must pass with a grade of "B" or above, 

additional graduate level course work to meet the hourly 

requirement specified in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and (a)(10) of this 

Rule. The individual shall complete , standard psychology 

courses, as defined by Subparagraphs (a)(9) and (a)(10) of this 

Rule, to meet the minimum educational requirements to apply for 

licensure. The course work shall be completed at an institution of 

higher education in a graduate psychology program in the same 

specialty area as the degree program completed by the individual 

and shall be reported on an official transcript. Alternately, the 

course work may be completed in a formal re-specialization 

program in psychology at an institution of higher education as 

defined in G.S. 90-270.2(5), which shall be reported on an official 

transcript. A formal re-specialization program in psychology 

means a program in which individuals already holding a doctoral 

degree in psychology complete additional education and training 

in order to change their specialist area of study. Re-specialization 

programs involve coursework in a health service psychology 

field, including clinical, counseling, school or combinations of 

these areas. Respecialization programs also include education in 

profession-wide competencies, such as, ethics, assessment, 

intervention; experiential education such as practicum; and a one-

year internship. The individual shall provide a certificate of 

completion of a respecialization program, issued by the program. 

No credit shall be accepted by the Board for audited courses. This 

additional graduate level course work shall not duplicate course 

work taken by the individual in his or her degree program or prior 

to admittance to his or her degree program. 

(c)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 54 semester (81 quarter or 72 trimester) hours of graduate study 

in standard psychology courses, exclusive of credits for internship 

or practicum and thesis or dissertation, the individual shall not be 

allowed to obtain additional hours at a post-graduate level to meet 

the hourly requirements in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and (a)(10). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(a); 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; July 1, 1997; October 1, 1991; March 

1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1901 T EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  Qualifying Examinations. The following examinations shall 

be taken as set forth in this Rule. The applicant shall comply with 

this Rule and the deadlines and procedures established by the 

examination contractor, and the testing vendor. 

(1) National Examination. An applicant for 

licensure shall take the national examination 

after being approved for the national 
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examination by the Board. The national 

examination is the Examination for 

Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) 

that is developed by the Association of State 

and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). 

The passing point for licensed psychologist 

shall be a scaled score of 500, and the passing 

point for licensed psychological associate shall 

be a scaled score of 440, unless a licensed 

psychological associate applies to practice 

under Rule .2008(h)(3) of this Chapter. Then in 

order to be approved under Rule .2008(h)(3) of 

this Chapter, he or she must meet the passing 

point of a scaled score of 500. If a licensed 

psychological associate does not meet the 

passing point of a scaled score of 500, he or she 

must have been practicing for 5 years, as set 

forth in Rule .2008(h)(3) of this Chapter in 

order to apply to practice under Rule 

.2008(h)(3) of this Chapter. This examination 

shall not be required for an applicant who has 

previously taken the EPPP and whose score met 

the North Carolina passing point which was 

established for that particular administration 

date of the examination, unless the Board 

determines pursuant to G.S. 90-270.15 that an 

individual shall be required to take and pass a 

current form of the EPPP. The EPPP shall not 

be required for an applicant who documents 

meeting requirements for licensure specified in 

Rule .1707 of this Chapter. 

(2) State Examination. An applicant for licensure 

shall take the Board-developed State 

Examination after being approved for the state 

examination by the Board. The State 

Examination shall asses the applicant's 

knowledge of the North Carolina Psychology 

Practice Act, the rules of this Chapter and the 

code of ethics of the American Psychological 

Association. The passing point for all licensees 

shall be set at 78 percent of the total scored 

items on the examination. 

(3) Ethics Renewal Examination. An applicant for 

license renewal shall take the Board-developed 

ethics renewal examination every two years. 

Completion of this examination shall count for 

one Category A continuing education credit in 

ethics, as required by Rule .2104(d) of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  Special Administrations. Applicants with disabilities as 

defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, available at no cost at www.ada.gov, 

and documented by a licensed medical professional shall be 

administered the EPPP and State examination under conditions 

that shall minimize the effect of the disabilities on their 

performance. Special test administrations shall be as comparable 

as possible to a standard administration.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11; 90-

270.15(b); 90-270.14(a)(2); 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; April 1, 2001; October 1, 1996; 

March 1, 1989; January 1, 1986; July 1, 1985; August 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1903 RETAKING THE NATIONAL 

EXAMINATION 

An applicant may take the national examination no more than 4 

times in a 12-month period and no more frequently than every 60 

days upon payment of the required fee set forth in Rule .1605(3) 

of this Section. The 12-month period begins on the date of the 

letter notifying the applicant that his or her credentials have been 

approved for national examination by the Board. After failing the 

national examination for the fourth time or after the passage of 12 

months, whichever occurs first, an applicant must reapply for 

licensure.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90.270.5(b); 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; October 1, 1991; March 1, 1989; 

July 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1904 FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR THE 

NATIONAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  If an applicant does not appear for the national examination 

within four months from the date of the letter sent by the Board 

notifying the applicant that his or her credentials have been 

approved for the national examination by the Board, the applicant 

she shall be deemed to have failed the examination. 

(b)  If the applicant does not appear for the national examination 

within the time period set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

applicant shall be permitted to take the examination within the 

next consecutive four months without reapplying for licensure. 

(c)  If the applicant does not appear for an examination within the 

second four-month period, he or she shall be deemed to have 

failed the examination a second time and must reapply for 

licensure. Except as exempt under G.S. 90-270.4, after failing to 

appear for the examination for the second time, an applicant shall 

not practice or offer to practice psychology without first becoming 

licensed by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(b); 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; May 1, 1996; October 1, 1991; 

March 1, 1989; July 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2001 SUPERVISOR 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the following 

individuals shall be recognized as qualified supervisors for 

individuals requiring supervision to practice psychology: 

(1) a licensed psychologist who has been issued a 

permanent license by the Board; 

(2) any person who was in a psychology position 

with the State of North Carolina on December 

31, 1979, and who is still so employed, 
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provided that such supervision is, and was on 

December 31, 1979, within the psychologist's 

job description and is only for activities that are 

part of the duties and responsibilities of the 

supervisee within his or her position at a State 

agency or department; 

(3) a doctoral level licensed psychologist who is 

licensed in the jurisdiction where the supervisee 

is practicing psychology; or 

(4) a licensed psychological associate who is under 

supervision as required under Rule .2008 of this 

Section and is approved to practice under Rule 

.2008(h)(3) of this Section and is certified as a 

health services provider psychological 

associate (HSP-PA) under Rule .2706 of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  The Board shall disapprove an otherwise qualified supervisor 

for the following reasons: 

(1) documentation that the supervisor is not 

competent or qualified to supervise the 

supervisee; 

(2) documentation the supervisor has failed to 

adhere to legal or ethical standards as set forth 

in G.S. 90-270.15(a); 

(3) documentation that there is a lack of similarity 

between the supervisor's training, experience 

and area of practice and the supervisee's 

proposed area(s) of practice;  

(4) documentation that the supervisor has a license 

against which disciplinary or remedial action 

has been taken by the Board or any other 

occupational licensing Board; or 

(5) documentation that the supervisor has not 

completed the training described, and within 

the time frame set forth, in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  A licensee who engages in the supervision of an applicant for 

licensure, a licensed psychological associate, or a provisionally 

licensed psychologist in North Carolina must complete a three-

hour training session which meets the following requirements: 

(1) addresses how to supervise in accordance with 

Board rules regarding supervision 

requirements; 

(2) is sponsored or co-sponsored by an entity 

approved by the Board as a Category A 

program sponsor in Rule .2104(b)(3) of this 

Chapter; and 

(3) is presented by an individual or individuals 

assigned by the Board. 

If a licensee takes the training session on-line, the licensee shall 

take and complete an examination at the completion of the 

session. The sponsor or co-sponsor of a training session shall 

submit a list of attendees who complete the three-hour training 

session, including completing any examination, to the Board no 

later than 30 days following the training session. The training 

shall be completed, and documentation of completion received in 

the Board's office, no later than September 1, 2022. If the training 

is not completed by September 1, 2022, a licensee shall not enter 

into a supervision contract with an applicant, a licensed 

psychological associate, or a licensed psychologist-provisional 

until he or she completes the training and the Board receives 

documentation of such. A licensee who completes the training and 

passes the examination shall be permitted to count the three hours 

toward the minimum continuing education hours required in Rule 

.2104 of this Chapter for the renewal period it was when 

completed. 

(d)  The licensee shall be required to take the training set forth in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule one time unless the Board finds that he 

or she is failing to adhere to the supervision requirements set forth 

in this Section. 

(e)  Each supervisor shall: 

(1) assess his or her ability to meet the supervisory 

needs of supervisees and potential supervisees; 

(2) offer and provide supervision only within the 

supervisor's area(s) of competence; 

(3) enter into a written agreement with the 

supervisee on a Board adopted supervision 

contract form, which sets forth the supervisee's 

obligations as well as the supervisor's 

responsibilities to the supervisee; 

(4) direct the supervisee to practice psychology 

only within areas for which the supervisee is 

qualified by education, training, or supervised 

experience; 

(5) establish and maintain a level of supervisory 

contact consistent with that described in the 

supervision contract form on file with the Board 

and be accessible to the supervisee; 

(6) direct the supervisee to keep the supervisor 

informed of services performed by the 

supervisee; 

(7) advise the Board if the supervisor has reason to 

believe that the supervisee is practicing in a 

manner that indicates that violations of G.S. 90-

270.15(a) have been committed; 

(8) maintain a record of supervision with a 

supervisee that documents the following: 

(A) dates and appointment times of each 

supervision session, including the 

length of time of each session; 

(B) a summary of each session including 

treatment or assessment issues 

addressed, concerns identified by the 

supervisor and supervisee, 

recommendations of the supervisor, 

and intended outcome for 

recommendations of the supervisor; 

and 

(C) fees charged, if any, to the supervisee 

for supervision; 

(9) except when prevented from doing so by 

circumstances beyond the supervisor's control, 

retain securely and confidentially the records 

reflecting supervision with a supervisee for at 

least seven years from the date of the last 

session of supervision with a supervisee. If 

there are pending legal or ethical investigations 

or proceedings or if there is any other 
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compelling circumstance, the supervisor shall 

retain the complete record of supervision 

securely and confidentially for a period of 

seven years from the final resolution of such 

legal or ethical matter; 

(10) report on the supervision report form that 

agreed upon supervision has occurred; and 

(11) file a final supervision report within two weeks 

of termination of supervision. 

(f)  To maintain the professional nature of the supervision, a 

familial or personal relationship, such as a spouse, parent, sibling 

or close friend, shall not exist between the supervisor and 

supervisee, except in extraordinary circumstances, such as the 

lack of availability of any other qualified supervisor. In such 

cases, the Board shall require documentation from the supervisor 

or supervisee that no other supervision is available and three 

reference letters from other mental health professionals regarding 

the supervisor's ability to perform the supervision requirements 

under Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5; 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1997; October 1, 1991; March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2002 NATURE OF SUPERVISION 

(a)  The nature of supervision shall depend on the areas of 

practice, experience, and training related to the area of specialty 

of the supervisee. A supervisor shall train the supervisee in skills, 

methods, and interventions, including enhancement and 

refinement of previously learned skills. 

(b)  During supervision, the supervisor and supervisee shall 

include consideration of the following areas: 

(1) ethical, legal, and professional standards in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.15(a); 

(2) technical skills and competency; 

(3) supervisee's utilization of supervision; and 

(4) supervisee's ability to function with reduced 

supervision, as set forth in Rule .2008 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Each supervisee shall: 

(1) attend scheduled supervision sessions; 

(2) provide the supervisor with a disclosure of 

psychological services being offered or 

rendered by the supervisee; 

(3) cooperate with the supervisor to assure that all 

conditions in Rule .2001(c) of this Section are 

met; 

(4) provide the supervisor with information 

necessary for the supervisor to advise the 

supervisee on cases of possible violations of 

G.S. 90-270.15(a); 

(5) notify the Board if he or she has reason to 

believe that the supervisor has behaved in a 

manner which indicates that the supervisor has 

committed a violation of G.S. 90-270.15(a); 

and 

(6) file a revised supervision contract form within 

30 days of a change in the conditions specified 

in the supervision contract form on file with the 

Board, as set forth in Rule .2008 of this Section. 

(c)  The supervisee and supervisor shall determine jointly how to 

notify clients or patients of the supervisory process such as 

clinical information may be discussed with the supervisor or the 

means by which the supervisor may be contacted, and which 

cases, issues, and techniques are necessary for supervision. 

Supervisors shall not be required to sign or co-sign supervisees' 

reports, treatment plans, letters, or other clinical documents. 

Clinical documents are not required to reflect that the supervisee 

is receiving supervision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5; 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1997; October 1, 1991; March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2005 DEFINITION OF FACE TO 

FACE SUPERVISION 

(a)  As used in these Rules in this Chapter the term "face-to-face 

supervision" shall mean both in-person supervision, where the 

supervisor and supervisee meet in person at the same physical 

location, and electronic means of face‐to‐face interaction without 

meeting in person. 

(b)  The face‐to‐face supervision shall be live, interactive, and 

visual. Video or other technology may be used so long as it is real 

time and involves verbal and visual interaction for the entire 

session. The face‐to‐face supervision shall maintain the 

confidentiality of the communication as it relates to the 

identifying information regarding patients/clients. 

(c)  When a supervisor and supervisee are deciding whether to 

meet in person or through electronic medium, they shall consider 

factors such as: 

(1) whether reports or evaluations will be reviewed 

and whether that can be done through use of 

electronic medium; 

(2) whether the supervisory relationship is recently 

established; or 

(3) whether there are concerns that are better 

addressed in person. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.2(f); 90-270.9; 90-

270.5; 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1997; January 1, 1986; August 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2007 APPLICANTS AND OTHER 

NONLICENSED INDIVIDUALS 

(a)  Except as provided for in this Rule, Rule .1610 of this Chapter, 

and Rule .1703 of this Chapter, applicants and individuals who 

have yet to apply for licensure shall not practice or offer to 

practice psychology without supervision. With the exception of 

those activities which are exempt from licensure as stipulated in 

G.S. 90-270.4, all activities comprising the practice of psychology 

shall be subject to supervision by a supervisor. A minimum of one 

hour per week of face-to-face individual supervision shall be 

required in any week in which an applicant practices psychology. 

Supervision shall be provided by an individual who shall be 
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recognized as an appropriate supervisor of licensees as defined in 

Rule .2001 of this Section. 

(b)  An applicant who is not practicing or offering to practice 

psychology in North Carolina shall not be required to receive 

supervision. 

(c)  An applicant shall keep a written, notarized supervision 

contract form on file in the Board's office at all times. A 

supervision contract form shall document either that supervision 

is required and shall be received, or that supervision is not 

required. 

(d)  An initial written, notarized supervision contract form shall 

be filed along with the application form. The contents of the 

contract form can be found in Rule .1701(a)(3) of this Chapter. A 

new supervision contract form shall be filed within 30 days of a 

change in the conditions specified in the supervision contract form 

on file with the Board and within 30 days after receiving written 

notification from the Board that the filing of a new form is 

necessary to provide for the protection of the public or the 

regulation of the practice of psychology. 

(e)  Supervision reports shall be submitted upon termination of 

supervision, when there is a change in the conditions specified in 

the supervision contract form on file with the Board, or at any time 

that the supervisor has concerns regarding the supervisee's 

performance. The report form shall include the following: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) mailing address, email address and telephone 

number; 

(4) work setting covered by report; 

(5) if work at the setting has been terminated; 

(6) dates covered by the report; 

(7) supervisor's name and license number; 

(8) number of hours of supervision; 

(9) number of supervision sessions; 

(10) number of hours supervisee engaged in 

activities requiring supervision; 

(11) number of hours supervisee engaged in health 

service activities; 

(12) ratings of supervisee; and 

(13) if supervisee was unemployed or not practicing 

psychology in North Carolina. 

(f)  Additional monitoring and reporting to the Board shall be 

required in cases where the Board determines by reviewing 

previous supervision reports or other information (e.g., reference 

letters, ethical complaints, etc.) problems in the supervisee's 

failure to practice in accordance with G.S. 90-270.15(a). 

Additional documentation or an interview with the Board or its 

designated representative(s) may be required when questions arise 

regarding the supervisee's practice due to information supplied or 

omitted on supervision contract forms and reports or when 

required forms are not filed with the Board. 

(g)  Contract and report forms can be obtained from the Board's 

website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(c); 90-270.9; 

Eff. April 1, 1994; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1993, for a period of 180 

Days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2009 LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  Except as provided in Rule .1707 of this Chapter, to be issued 

a permanent license at the Psychologist level, an applicant shall 

document a minimum of 2 years consisting of at least 3000 hours 

of supervised practice which shall meet the requirements 

specified in Paragraphs (i) and (j) of this Rule. A minimum of 1 

calendar year consisting of at least 1500 hours of this supervised 

practice shall be accrued at the postdoctoral level. 

(b)  A psychologist who meets all other requirements for a 

permanent license set forth in G.S. 90-270.11(a) except the two 

years of supervised experience shall be issued a provisional 

license at the Psychologist level and shall comply with 

supervision requirements specified in this Rule. 

(c)  If practicing psychology in North Carolina, a provisional 

licensee shall receive at least one hour per week of face-to-face 

individual supervision by an appropriate supervisor as defined in 

Rule .2001 of this Section until permanent status is approved by 

the Board. 

(d)  A provisional licensee who engages in the practice of 

psychology in a jurisdiction other than North Carolina shall not 

be required to receive supervision specified in this Rule for those 

services rendered in another jurisdiction so long as said services 

in another jurisdiction shall be rendered in a manner consistent 

with that jurisdiction's legal requirements. 

(e)  A written, notarized supervision contract form shall be filed 

within 30 days of a change in the conditions specified in the 

supervision contract form on file with the Board and within 30 

days after receiving written notification from the Board that the 

filing of a new form is necessary to provide for the protection of 

the public or the regulation of the practice of psychology. A 

supervision contract form shall document either that supervision 

is required and shall be received, or that supervision is not 

required. A separate supervision contract form shall be filed for 

each separate work setting. A work setting is considered as self-

employment, employment under an umbrella agency, or 

employment at a stand-alone business entity. If receiving 

supervision from more than one supervisor, a separate supervision 

contract form shall be filed with each individual supervisor. 

(f)  A supervisor shall report to the Board that agreed upon 

supervision has occurred and shall file a final report upon 

termination of supervision. If not receiving supervision, it shall be 

the responsibility of the provisional licensee to report such to the 

Board. A report shall be submitted to the Board within 30 days 

after receiving written notification from the Board that such is 

due, within 2 weeks of termination of supervision, and within 2 

weeks of a change in the conditions specified in the supervision 

contract form on file with the Board. 

(g)  Additional supervision and reporting to the Board shall be 

required in cases where the Board determines by reviewing 

previous supervision reports or other information (e.g. reference 

letters, ethical complaints, etc.) problems in the supervisee's 

failure to practice in accordance with G.S. 90-270.15(a). 

Additional documentation or an interview with the Board or its 

designated representative(s) may be required when questions arise 

regarding the supervisee's practice due to information supplied or 
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omitted on supervision contract forms and reports or when 

required forms are not filed with the Board. 

(h)  One year of supervised experience shall meet all of the 

following criteria for a training program in psychology: 

(1) The training shall be a planned sequence of 

training experience in the practice of 

psychology, in contrast to "on the job" training, 

and shall provide the trainee with a planned, 

programmed sequence of training experience. 

(2) The training site shall have a written statement 

or brochure which describes its training 

program and is made available to prospective 

trainees. 

(3) Trainees shall be designated as "interns," 

fellows," or "residents," or shall hold other 

designation which indicates training status. 

(4) The training shall be completed within a 

consecutive period of 24 months. 

(5) The training shall consist of at least 1500 hours 

of practice in psychology as defined by G.S. 90-

270.2(8). 

(6) A minimum of two doctorally trained licensed, 

certified, or license eligible psychologists shall 

be supervisors at the training site.  

(7) The training shall be under the direction of a 

licensed, certified, or license eligible doctorally 

trained psychologist who shall be on the staff of 

the training site, who shall approve and monitor 

the training, who shall be familiar with the 

training site's purposes and functions, , and who 

shall agree to assume responsibility for the 

quality, suitability, and implementation of the 

training experience. 

(8) The training shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of individual face-to-face 

discussion of the trainee's practice, with the 

intent of overseeing the psychological services 

rendered by the trainee. Supervision may be 

provided in part by psychiatrists, social 

workers, or other related professionals qualified 

by the training site, but at least 50% of 

supervision shall be provided by licensed, 

certified, or license-eligible doctorally trained 

psychologists. 

(9) In addition to individual supervision, the 

training site shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of instruction which may be met 

by group supervision, assigned reading, 

seminars, and similarly constituted organized 

training experiences. 

(10) Internships accredited by the American 

Psychological Association shall be deemed to 

meet the requirements in this Paragraph. 

(i)  One year of supervised experience shall meet all of the 

following criteria: 

(1) A minimum of one hour per week of face-to-

face, individual supervision shall be provided.

(2) The experience shall consist of a minimum of 1 

calendar year, shall include 1500 hours of 

practice, and shall be completed within a 

consecutive 4-year period. 

(3) Supervision shall be provided for the practice 

of psychology as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

(4) Supervision shall be provided by an individual 

who is an appropriate supervisor of licensees as 

defined in Rule .2001 of this Section. 

(j)  Contract and report forms can be obtained from the Board's 

website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.5(d); 90-270.9; 

Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2101 LICENSE RENEWAL FORM 

(a)  A licensee shall renew his or her license by October 1 of each 

even numbered year by submitted to the Board a completed 

renewal application form. 

(b)  The form shall include the following information: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) current addresses and email address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) area of specialty; 

(6) principal setting of practice; 

(7) any malpractice actions; 

(8) whether denied a professional license, had a 

professional license disciplined, or have 

pending charges against a professional license; 

(9) whether convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty 

or nolo contendere to any felony or any 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 

misrepresentation or fraud in dealing with the 

public, or conduct otherwise relevant to fitness 

to practice psychology, or a misdemeanor 

charge reflecting the inability to practice 

psychology with due regard to the health and 

safety of clients or patients; 

(10) whether completed required continuing 

education during the preceding two years, as 

required by Rule .2104 of this Section; and 

(11) a complete supervision report shall be 

submitted. 

(c)  Failure of a postal service or an internet provider to deliver 

the renewal application or failure of a licensee to submit all 

required information on the form by the deadline set forth in G.S. 

90-270.14(a), shall not excuse the late fee or prevent license 

suspension. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; October 1, 1991; August 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 54 .2102 SECOND NOTICE 

(a) If a licensee has not sent in a renewal application and fee 

required in accordance with G.S. 90-270.14(1), the Board shall 

send a second notice of renewal to the licensee. Upon receipt of 

the second notification, the licensee shall provide the required 

information. 

(b) Failure to provide the required renewal application and fees 

within 60 days of the renewal date shall result in the automatic 

suspension of the license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14(1); 

90-270.15(f);  

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2103 REINSTATEMENT 

(a)  The information required for each applicant requesting 

reinstatement of licensure after a license has been suspended due 

to non-renewal shall consist of: 

(1) completed reinstatement application form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) applicant's legal name; 

(B) mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) Social Security number; 

(E) e-mail address; 

(F) date and place of birth; 

(G) licensure or applicant for licensure by 

another psychology board; 

(H) if taken, the score on the Examination 

for Professional Practice in 

Psychology; 

(I) whether applicant has previously 

applied for a license to practice 

psychology in North Carolina; 

(J) whether the applicant was denied a 

professional license or permit, 

privilege of taking an examination, 

had a professional license or permit 

disciplined by any licensing authority 

in North Carolina or elsewhere, or 

charges are pending against a 

professional license or permit held by 

the applicant; 

(K) whether the applicant has withdrawn 

an application for licensure or an 

application to take a professional 

licensing examination in North 

Carolina or elsewhere; 

(L) whether the applicant has ever been 

convicted of, or entered a plea of 

guilty or nolo contendere to any felony 

or misdemeanor other than a minor 

traffic violation; 

(M) other fields of work for which the 

applicant is licensed or certified; or 

has applied for licensure or 

certification; 

(N) whether the applicant holds a diploma 

from the American Board of 

Professional Psychology; 

(O) whether doctoral program was APA 

accredited at the time of graduation; 

(P) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 

(Q) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(R) all work experience including, any 

graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for current 

application for licensure; 

(S) reason for reapplying for licensure in 

North Carolina; 

(T) any disability that may require some 

special accommodation, as set forth in 

the ADA in taking licensing 

examinations; 

(U) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; and 

(V) certify that the applicant has read and 

understands the public notice 

statement on employee 

misclassification maintained on the 

Board's website and whether the 

applicant has been investigated for 

employee misclassification within the 

past 12 months. 

(2) documentation of having completed a 

minimum of 24 continuing education hours as 

specified in Rule .2104 of this Section during 

the two years preceding the date of application 

for reinstatement of licensure; 

(3) completed supervision report form, if 

applicable; and 

(4) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees. 

The information listed in this Paragraph shall be filed in the Board 

office within 30 days after a license has been suspended due to 

non-renewal. 

(b)  The information required for each applicant requesting 

reinstatement of licensure after a license has been suspended for 

more than 30 days due to non-renewal or after a license has been 

voluntarily relinquished with the Board's , consent, pursuant to 

G.S. 90-270.15(h), shall consist of: 

(1) typed or legibly printed, signed or digitally 

signed application form and supervision 

contract form; 

(2) signed consent form, completed Fingerprint 

Record Card, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 
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(3) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(4) documentation of having completed a 

minimum of 24 continuing education hours as 

specified in Rule .2104 of this Section during 

the two years preceding the date of application 

for reinstatement of licensure; 

(5) completed supervisory forms from present and 

past supervisors, if applicable, as set forth in 

G.S. 90-270.15(h); 

(6) three completed reference forms from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which shall be 

from a doctoral level psychologist, as set forth 

in Rule .1701(a)(8) of this Chapter; 

(7) written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed, 

if applicable; 

(8) official graduate college transcripts sent 

directly to the Board by the training 

institution(s); and 

(9) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees 

within 30 days after receiving notification from 

the Board that reinstatement of licensure has 

been approved. 

(c)  An application shall contain all required materials as set forth 

in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule to be complete. An 

incomplete application shall be active for three months from the 

date of application. At the end of such time, if still incomplete, the 

application shall be void, and the applicant shall be deemed to 

have discontinued the application process. If the individual 

chooses to pursue licensure at a later date, the individual shall 

reapply. 

(d)  To be considered to have made application for reinstatement 

of licensure pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule the information 

specified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule shall 

be filed in the Board office within 30 days of offering to practice 

or undertaking the practice of psychology in North Carolina. 

(e)  The Board shall require applicants for reinstatement to take 

the state examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14(a)(2); 

90-270.15(f),(h); 90-270.22(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; May 1, 1996; November 1, 1991; 

March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2104 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  All licensees shall complete continuing education in 

accordance with this Rule prior to the renewal of a license. The 

license of any license who fails to complete the required 

continuing education shall not be renewed and shall be suspended 

automatically in accordance with G.S. 90-270.15(f).  

(b)  Definitions. 

(1) Continuing education hour – one hour of 

instructional or contact time. 

(2) Biennial renewal period – the period of time 

from the first day of October in each even 

numbered year, continuing until the last day in 

November in the next even numbered year. 

(3) Category A program sponsor – 

(A) North Carolina Psychology Board; 

(B) American Psychological Association 

(APA); 

(C) American Psychological Association 

approved sponsors; 

(D) National Association of School 

Psychologists (NASP); 

(E) National Association of School 

Psychologists approved sponsors; 

(F) North Carolina Area Health Education 

Centers (NCAHEC); or 

(G) North Carolina Psychological 

Association (NCPA). 

(4) Category B program sponsor – any program 

sponsor not listed in Subparagraph (3) of this 

Paragraph. 

(c)  During each biennial renewal period, a licensee must 

complete a minimum of 24 continuing education hours, a 

minimum of 15 of which must be completed under a Category A 

program sponsor as defined in Subparagraph )(b)(3) of this Rule. 

The remaining required hours of continuing education may be 

completed in either Category A or Category B. Included in the 15 

hours under a Category A program sponsor, a minimum of 3 

continuing education hours in the area of ethics in the professional 

practice of psychology must be completed. To be credited as 

fulfillment of this requirement, the word "ethics" or a derivative 

of the word "ethics" must be in the title of the program, and the 

program must include such content. 

(d)  Except as specified in Paragraphs (f) and (g) of this Rule, the 

24 continuing education hours, whether Category A or B, must 

meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) The continuing education hours must be 

obtained through: 

(A) in-person attendance at programs;  

(B) presentations at programs; or 

(C) completion of on-line or 

correspondence courses. 

(2) The program sponsor shall award a certificate 

of completion which documents the following 

information: 

(A) name of sponsor and any cosponsor of 

program; 

(B) number of contact hours credited for 

psychologists; 

(C) title of program; 

(D) date of program; and 

(E) in the case of an APA or NASP 

approved sponsor, a statement that the 

entity is APA or NASP approved to 
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provide the program as continuing 

education to psychologists. 

(3) All continuing education hours, whether 

Category A or B, must be in the maintenance 

and enrichment of professional skills and 

competencies within the licensee's scope of 

practice in psychology, including, but not 

limited to: 

(A) training in empirically supported 

assessment or treatment; 

(B) the application of research to the 

practice of psychology; 

(C) legal issues in psychology; 

(D) ethics in the professional practice of 

psychology; 

(E) training in how to properly supervise 

in accordance with Board rules 

regarding supervision requirements, 

as described in Rule .2001(c) of this 

Chapter; and 

(F) training in best practice standards and 

guidelines. 

(e)  To renew a licensee, a licensee shall submit the following to 

document that he or she has met the continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule: 

(1) a signed attestation form; which includes the 

following: 

(A) Category A documentation including: 

(i) date of program; 

(ii) number of contact hours; 

(iii) name of sponsor of program; 

(iv) title of program; 

(v) location of program. 

(B) Category B. documentation including: 

(i) date of program or activity; 

(ii) number of instructional or 

contact hours; 

(iii) description of activity; 

(iv) name of presenter, facilitator, 

or leader; 

(v) name of sponsor; 

(vi) location; 

(vii) full citation of article; 

(viii) summary of content; and 

(C) an attestation by the licensee that the 

statements on the form are true and 

correct. 

(2) except as specified in Paragraphs (f) and (g) of 

this Rule, copies of certificates of completion 

that include the information specified in 

Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule. 

(f)  A maximum of three continuing education hours may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for any licensee who has 

received Board-required supervision, except when specified 

otherwise under a Consent Order or Final Decision executed by 

the Board. These three hours must be documented by the 

supervisor and will be credited toward the maximum nine hours 

allowed under Category B program sponsors. 

(g)  A maximum of nine continuing education hours may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for graduate course work 

completed on a pass/fail or graded basis in a doctoral psychology 

program that is approved by the American Psychological 

Association. These hours must be documented on an official 

transcript sent to the Board by the institution of higher education 

at which the applicant completed the courses and will be credited 

toward the maximum nine hours allowed under Category B 

program sponsors. 

(h)  A maximum of one continuing education hour may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for completion in each 

renewal cycle of the Board developed ethics renewal examination 

described in Rule .1901(a)(3) of this Chapter. 

(i)  Continuing education hours credited for license renewal in one 

biennium renewal period shall not be credited for license renewal 

in another biennium renewal period. 

(j)  An individual licensed on or before October 1, 2020, shall 

attest on the license renewal application for the 2020-2022 

biennial renewal period, and on each subsequent biennial renewal 

application, to having met the mandatory continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule. An individual licensed after 

October 1, 2020, shall attest on the second license renewal 

application following licensure, and on each subsequent biennial 

renewal application, to having met the mandatory continuing 

education requirements specified in this Rule. 

(k)  An applicant for reinstatement of licensure must document 

that he or she has completed a minimum of 24 continuing 

education hours as specified in this Rule within the two years 

preceding the date of application for reinstatement of licensure 

and must attest on each subsequent biennial renewal application 

to having met the mandatory continuing education requirements 

specified in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14(a)(2); 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2202 CERTIFICATE OF 

REGISTRATION 

The information required for an applicant to obtain a certificate of 

registration for a professional corporation or professional limited 

liability company organized to render professional psychological 

services shall consist of: 

(1) typed, or printed, signed or digitally signed 

application form. The form shall include the 

following information: 

(A) name of corporation; 

(B) purpose for which corporation is 

organized; 

(C) mailing address; 

(D) email address; 

(E) telephone number; 

(F) name, address, and license number (if 

applicable) of incorporator(s); 

(G) name and license number of 

stockholder(s); 

(H) name and occupation of members of 

board of directors; 
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(I) name and occupation of officers; 

(J) name and license number of 

psychologists to be employed by the 

corporation; and 

(K) name and duties of persons other than 

psychologists employed, or to be 

employed, by the corporation. 

(2) a completed Articles of Incorporation for a 

professional corporation or the Articles of 

Organization for a professional limited liability 

company; and 

(3) following submission of the Articles of 

Incorporation or Articles of Organization to the 

Secretary of State by the applicant , the 

applicant must submit to the Board a final 

certified copy of the Articles of Incorporation 

or Articles of Organization issued by the 

Secretary of State. The certificate of 

registration shall remain effective until January 

1 following the date of such registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57D-2-01; 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; March 1, 1989; January 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2203 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 

OF REGISTRATION 

(1)  An application for renewal shall be sent to each registered 

professional corporation and professional limited liability 

company prior to January 1. The Board shall renew the certificate 

of registration upon receipt of the completed written application 

of the holder and the renewal fee, as set forth in Rule .1605 of this 

Chapter. 

(2)  The application shall include the following information: 

(A) names of current members of professional 

entity; 

(B) corporation or company mailing address; 

(C) corporation or company email address and 

telephone number; 

(D) assumed name, if different from professional 

entity name. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57D-2-02; 90-270.9; 

Eff. September 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2301 RIGHT TO HEARING 

21 NCAC 54 .2302 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

21 NCAC 54. 2303 GRANTING OR DENYING 

HEARING REQUESTS 

21 NCAC 54 .2304 NOTICE OF HEARING 

21 NCAC 54 .2305 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-3(b); 150B-38; 

150B-40(b); 150B-40(e); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; September 1, 1988; August 1, 1987; 

January 1, 1986; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2308 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBER 

(a)  If for any reason a Board member determines that personal 

bias or other factors render him unable to conduct or participate 

in the hearing and perform all duties in an impartial manner, he 

shall submit, in writing, to the Board, his disqualification and the 

reasons. 

(b)  If for any reason any party in a contested case believes that a 

Board member is personally biased or otherwise unable to 

conduct or participate in the hearing and perform all duties in an 

impartial manner, the party may file a sworn, notarized affidavit 

with the Board. 

(c)  The affidavit must state all facts the party deems relevant to 

the disqualification of a Board member. 

(d)  An affidavit seeking disqualification shall be considered 

timely if filed at least 10 days before commencement of the 

hearing or, if filed within 10 days of the hearing, as soon as the 

party becomes aware of the facts that give rise to the belief that 

Board member may be disqualified.  

(e)  Procedure for Determining Disqualification. 

(1) The chairperson of the Board may appoint a 

member of the Board to investigate the 

allegations of the affidavit and report his 

findings and recommendations to the Board. 

(2) The Board, with the advice of such assistants as 

it deems appropriate, shall decide whether to 

disqualify the challenged individual. 

(3) The person whose disqualification is to be 

determined will not participate in the decision 

but will have the right to furnish information to 

the Board. 

(4) A record of proceedings and the reasons for 

decisions reached will be maintained as part of 

the contested case. 

(f)  Disqualification or withdrawal of a Board member because of 

personal bias or otherwise will not require the hearing to be 

postponed unless a quorum is not available or the Board member 

disqualified is the presiding officer and assignment of a new 

presiding officer would cause substantial prejudice to any party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-40(b); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; January 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2309 FAILURE TO APPEAR 

(a)  Continuances shall be granted only in compelling 

circumstances, such as sickness, previous immovable conflict, or 

unavailability of key witnesses. 

(b)  If a hearing is conducted or a decision is reached in an 

administrative hearing in the absence of a party, or if a proceeding 

is dismissed as to a party, that party may file a motion for 

reconsideration with the Board. 

(c)  Motions to reconsider shall not be granted except when the 

petitioner can show that the reasons for his failure to appear were 
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due to an emergency, such as an urgent medical issue or severe 

weather. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-40(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; January 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2311 SUBPOENAS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-39(c); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; January 1, 1986; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2314 PRESIDING OFFICER 

Prior to designation of a presiding officer by the Board, or if the 

presiding officer is unavailable or disqualifies himself, the 

chairperson of the Board shall act as presiding officer for purposes 

of issuing subpoenas, ordering the production of records, 

responding to motions for continuances or extensions of time, 

controlling and ruling on issues surrounding discovery, and 

otherwise acting on matters arising in connection with a pending 

hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-40(b),(c); 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2401 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

HEARINGS 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting the 

adoption, amendment or repeal of a rule by the Board shall mail a 

petition to the Board at the address shown in Rule .1602 of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  The petition shall include the following information: 

(1) a draft of the proposed text change, if 

requesting the Board to create or amend a rule; 

(2) a statement of the effect the proposed rule 

change would have; and 

(3) name(s) and address(es) of petitioner(s). 

(c)  The petition may also include the following information: 

(1) reasons for the proposal; 

(2) statutory authority for the Board to promulgate 

the rule; 

(3) effect of the proposed rule on existing practices 

in the area involved, including cost factors if 

available; 

(4) any data supporting the proposal; and 

(5) names of those most likely to be affected by the 

proposed rule, with addresses if reasonably 

known; 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-20; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2402 DISPOSITION OF PETITION 

(a)  The Board shall determine whether to grant the petitioner's 

request. Prior to making this determination, the Board's 

chairperson or his or her designee may request additional 

information from the petitioner(s), may contact interested persons 

likely to be affected by the proposed rule and request comments, 

or may use any other method for obtaining information. The 

chairperson or designee shall consider all of the contents of the 

petition submitted plus any other information obtained by the 

means described herein. 

(b)  Based upon the information submitted as set forth in G.S. 

150B-20 and Rule .2401 of this Section, the chairperson or 

designee shall recommend to the Board to either grant or deny the 

petition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-20; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2601 REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY 

RULING 

(a)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall be written and mailed 

to the North Carolina Psychology Board at the address shown in 

Rule .1602 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Each Request for Declaratory Ruling must include the 

following information: 

(1) name and address of the persons requesting the 

ruling; 

(2) the statute or rule to which the request relates; 

(3) a statement of the manner in which the 

requesting person is aggrieved by the rule or 

statute or its potential application to him or her; 

and 

(4) the consequences of a failure to issue a 

declaratory ruling.  

(c)  Whenever the Board finds good cause exists to deny the 

request for declaratory ruling, the Board shall deny the request to 

issue a declaratory ruling. The Board's refusal shall be followed 

within 30 days of the receipt of the petition, by the issuance of 

written notification to the petitioner. The notice shall state the 

decision and the reasons therefore. 

(d)  Good cause for the denial of a declaratory ruling request shall 

include one of the following: 

(1) the person submitting the request is not a person 

aggrieved; 

(2) there is no conflict or inconsistency within the 

Board regarding an interpretation of the law or 

a rule adopted by the Board; 

(3) a situation where there has been a similar 

controlling factual determination in a contested 

case; 

(4) if the request for declaratory ruling involves a 

factual context that was considered upon 

adoption of the rule being questioned as 

evidenced by the rulemaking record; 

(5) the factual representations are not related to the 

statute or rule being questioned; 

(6) issuing the declaratory ruling will not serve the 

public interest; or 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2020 

2055 

(7) if circumstances stated in the request or 

otherwise known to the Board show that a 

contested case hearing would be appropriate. 

(e)  Where the Board issues a declaratory ruling, the declaratory 

ruling shall be issued within 45 days after Board's decision to 

grant the petition. 

(f)  A declaratory ruling procedure may consist of written 

submissions, oral hearings, or other procedure as deemed 

appropriate by the Board based upon whether the additional 

submitted information would assist the Board in determining 

whether to grant or deny the petition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-4; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2701 HEALTH SERVICES 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Health services in psychology include services provided 

directly to clients or patients or groups of clients or patients. Such 

services include the following: 

(1) the diagnosis, evaluation, treatment, 

remediation, and prevention of: 

(A) mental, emotional, and behavioral 

disorder; 

(B) substance abuse and dependency; and 

(C) psychological aspects of physical 

illness, accident, injury, and disability. 

(2) psychotherapy, counseling, psychoeducational, 

and neuropsychological services related to 

services described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) psychological assessment and report writing, 

including scoring of test protocols; 

(4) documentation of services provided to clients or 

patients, such as progress or process notes, 

clinical entries in records; 

(5) collateral contacts by a psychologist with 

family members, caretakers, and other 

individuals for the purpose of benefiting a client 

or patient of that psychologist; and 

(6) consultation with other professionals in service 

to the psychologist's clients or patients. 

(b)  Health services in psychology do not include the following: 

(1) clinical supervision of other professionals who 

provide health services to clients or patients; 

(2) psychoeducational instruction to individuals 

who are not identified clients or patients of the 

psychologist providing such instruction; 

(3) career counseling, to include assessment of 

interests and aptitudes; 

(4) vocational and educational guidance; 

(5) the teaching of psychology; 

(6) the conduct of psychological research and the 

provision of psychological services or 

consultations to organizations or institutions, 

except when such activities involve the delivery 

of direct health services to individuals or groups 

of individuals who are themselves the intended 

beneficiaries of such services; or 

(7) administrative tasks associated with the 

delivery of health services, such as billing and 

insurance communications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.2(4); 90-270.2(8); 90-

270.9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 20, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2703 DISPLAY OF CERTIFICATE 

A health services provider certificate shall be displayed within the 

same physical office as the licensee's licensure certificate, or be 

available for view upon request by the licensee's patients or 

clients, at any time that licensee is practicing psychology. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.20; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2704 HSP-P REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychologist 

(HSP-P), a licensed psychologist holding permanent North 

Carolina licensure shall be qualified by education as defined in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall have completed two years of 

supervised experience, of which at least one year shall be post-

doctoral. These two years of experience shall meet the criteria 

specified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule, or in Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule. The applicant shall meet the criteria and submit 

the documentation required by this Rule.  

(b)  The application form shall include the following information: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) mailing address; 

(3) email address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) license number; and 

(6) health services provider certification level. 

(c)  For purposes of G.S. 90-270.20(b), a licensed psychologist 

shall be qualified by education upon documentation of the 

following:  

(1) is approved for or is listed in the National 

Register of Health Service Providers in 

Psychology at the time of the application; 

(2) is a diplomat in good standing of the American 

Board of Professional Psychology in a health 

services specialty area; 

(3) is a graduate from a doctoral program that was 

accredited at the time of the applicant's 

graduation by the American Psychological 

Association or the Canadian Psychological 

Association in Clinical Psychology, Counseling 

Psychology, School Psychology, or Combined 

Professional-Scientific Psychology; or 
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(4) has an academic foundation in the provision of 

health services as defined in Rule .2701(a) of 

this Section which meets the following 

requirements: 

(A) The applicant's doctoral program or 

formal postdoctoral program of re-

specialization in psychology shall 

train individuals to provide health 

services in psychology.  

(B) Within the applicant's doctoral 

training program, or formal 

postdoctoral program of 

respecialization, in health services in 

psychology, course work shall have 

been completed in the areas of 

assessment, diagnosis, intervention, 

and psychopathology. The applicant 

shall further establish that he or she 

has completed relevant course work 

that has provided training in diagnosis, 

evaluation, treatment, remediation, or 

prevention of mental, emotional, and 

behavioral disorder, disability, and 

illness; substance abuse; habit and 

conduct disorder; or psychological 

aspects of physical illness, accident, 

injury, and disability. 

(C) An applicant shall be considered to 

have been trained in the provision of 

health services in psychology if the 

applicant establishes that requirements 

set forth in Parts (b)(4)(A) and 

(b)(4)(B) of this Rule have been met 

through a doctoral program, or formal 

postdoctoral program of re-

specialization, in any one of the 

following areas of specialization in 

psychology: applied behavior analysis 

in psychology, applied developmental 

psychology, clinical psychology, 

counseling psychology, rehabilitation 

psychology, or school psychology. 

(D) An applicant who has completed a 

doctoral program that trains 

individuals for careers in 

administration, research, teaching, 

academia, and other areas not 

involving training in the provision of 

health services in psychology shall not 

be considered to have been provided 

an academic foundation in the 

provision of health services and shall 

not be approved for HSP-P 

certification. 

(E) Only that course work taken at an 

institution of higher education as 

defined in G.S. 90-270.2(5) shall be 

considered by the Board to establish 

that an applicant has an academic 

foundation in the provision of health 

services. 

(d)  Except as provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, and in 

addition to the one year of supervised experience required by 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule, an applicant shall have one year of 

supervised experience as follows:  

(1) The training shall be a planned sequence of 

training experience in the provision of health 

services, in contrast to "on the job" training, and 

shall provide the trainee with a planned, 

programmed sequence of training experience. 

(2) The training site shall have a written statement 

or brochure that describes its training program 

and is made available to prospective trainees. 

(3) Trainees shall be designated as "interns," 

fellows," or "residents," or hold other 

designation which indicates training status. 

(4) The training shall be completed within 24 

months. 

(5) The training shall consist of at least 1500 hours 

of practice. 

(6) At least 25% of the training shall be spent in the 

provision of direct health services to patients or 

clients seeking assessment or treatment. 

(7) Up to 25% of the training may be comprised of 

research activities. 

(8) A minimum of two doctorally trained licensed, 

certified, or license eligible psychologists shall 

be supervisors at the training site.  

(9) The training shall be under the direction of a 

licensed, certified, or license eligible doctorally 

trained psychologist who is on the staff of the 

training site, who approves and monitors the 

training, who is familiar with the training site's 

purposes and functions, and who agrees to 

assume responsibility for the quality, 

suitability, and implementation of the training 

experience. 

(10) The training shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of individual face-to-face 

discussion of the trainee's practice, with the 

intent of overseeing the health services 

rendered by the trainee. Supervision may be 

provided in part by psychiatrists, social 

workers, or other mental health professionals 

qualified by the training site, but at least 50 

percent of supervision shall be provided by 

licensed, certified, or license-eligible doctorally 

trained psychologists. 

(11) In addition to individual supervision, the 

training site shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of instruction which may be met 

by group supervision, assigned reading, 

seminars, and similarly constituted organized 

training experiences. 

(12) This specified year of supervised experience 

may be obtained at a predoctoral level, provided 

that an additional year of supervised experience 
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as defined in Paragraph (d) of this Rule is 

obtained at a post-doctoral level. 

(13) Internships accepted for listing in the National 

Register of Health Service Providers in 

Psychology and internships accredited by the 

American Psychological Association in 

Clinical Psychology, Counseling Psychology, 

or School Psychology shall be deemed to meet 

the requirements in this Paragraph. 

(e)  An applicant shall demonstrate one year of supervised 

experience which meets the following requirements: 

(1) The experience shall consist of a minimum of 

one calendar year and include 1500 hours of 

supervised experience. 

(2) The experience shall be completed within a 

consecutive four-year period. 

(3) The supervision shall be for the direct provision 

of health services in psychology by the 

applicant to individuals or groups of 

clients/patients. 

(4) At least one hour per week of formal, face-to-

face, individual supervision shall be provided.  

(5) The supervisor shall be a licensed or certified 

psychologist, whose license or certificate was 

in good standing, in the state where the practice 

occurred. 

(6) The supervisor, at the time of supervision, shall 

not be in a dual relationship with the supervisee, 

such as spouse, relative, friend, or therapist. 

(7) This specified year of supervised experience 

may be obtained at a predoctoral level, provided 

that an additional year of supervised experience 

as defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule is 

obtained at a post-doctoral level. 

(f)  An applicant who documents that he or she meets any one of 

the following criteria shall be deemed to meet all requirements of 

this Rule for certification as a health services provider 

psychologist (HSP-P): 

(1) is currently approved for listing, or is currently 

listed, in the National Register of Health 

Service Providers in Psychology; 

(2) is a diplomate in good standing of the American 

Board of Professional Psychology in Clinical 

Psychology, Counseling Psychology, or School 

Psychology; 

(3) is a graduate from a doctoral program which 

was accredited at the time of the applicant's 

graduation by the American Psychological 

Association in Clinical Psychology, Counseling 

Psychology, School Psychology, or Combined 

Professional-Scientific Psychology and which 

included an internship accredited by the 

American Psychological Association, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph )(d) 

or (e) of this Rule; 

(4) is a graduate from a doctoral program which 

was fully accredited at the time of the 

applicant's graduation by the American 

Psychological Association in School 

Psychology and which included an internship 

meeting the guidelines of the Council of 

Directors of School Psychology Programs as 

documented by the program chair, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph (d) or 

(e) of this Rule; 

(5) is a graduate who received a doctoral degree 

prior to 1979 from a program which included 

course work which demonstrates an academic 

foundation in the provision of health services as 

defined in Rule .2701(a) of this Section, and 

which included the equivalent of a one year 

supervised internship in an American 

Psychological Association accredited program 

providing health services, in a Veterans 

Administration setting providing health 

services, or at a site providing health services 

which was specifically acceptable to the 

applicant's doctoral training program, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph (c) or 

(d) of this Rule; or 

(6) is approved for licensure under senior 

psychologist requirements specified in 21 

NCAC 54 .1707 and demonstrates that at least 

25 percent of his or her qualifying practice has 

been in the provision of direct health services, 

as defined in Rule .2701(a) of this Section.  

(g)  An applicant applying under Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule, 

and who has not yet been approved for listing in the National 

Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology, shall be 

permitted to file an affidavit verifying that he or she qualifies for 

listing in the Register. Upon receipt of this affidavit, the Board 

may issue a health services provider certificate, conditioned upon 

receipt of a letter from the Register within 60 days of receipt of 

the affidavit which confirms approval for, or listing in, the 

Register. An extension of the 60 days may be granted upon 

showing that additional time is needed for application review by 

the National Register of Health Service Providers. 

(h) An applicant for health services provider certification who 

knowingly provides false or fraudulent information to the Board 

with respect to his or her application, shall be subject to 

disciplinary action by the Board, pursuant to G.S. 90-270.15, 

including revocation of licensure and the health services provider 

certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.13(a)(6),(c); 

90-270.15(a)(3); 90-270.15(a)(22); 90-270.20(b);  

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 19, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

RRC Objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. May 18, 

1995;  

Eff. June 21, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; August 1, 1996; January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 54 .2705 HSP-PP REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychologist 

provisional (HSP-PP), a licensed psychologist holding 

provisional North Carolina licensure shall be qualified by 

education. An applicant shall submit a completed, notarized 

application form and provide documentation of meeting health 

services provider requirements. 

(b)  The application form shall include the following information: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) mailing address; 

(3) email address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) license number; and 

(6) health services provider certification level. 

(c)  An applicant shall demonstrate that he or she is qualified by 

education to provide health services by meeting one of the criteria 

defined in Rule .2704(b) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.20(d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 19, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

RRC Objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. May 18, 

1995; 

Eff. June 21, 1995; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2706 HSP-PA REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychological 

associate (HSP-PA), a North Carolina licensed psychological 

associate shall be qualified by education as set forth in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule, and submit a completed, notarized application 

form. The application form shall include the following 

information: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) mailing address; 

(3) email address; 

(4) telephone number; 

(5) license number; and 

(6) health services provider certification level. 

(b)  An applicant shall demonstrate that he or she holds a master's, 

specialist, or doctoral degree which provides an academic 

foundation in the provision of health services by meeting the 

following requirements: 

(1) The master's, specialist, or doctoral program in 

psychology shall train individuals to provide 

health services in psychology.  

(2) Course work shall be completed in the areas of 

assessment, diagnosis, intervention, 

psychopathology, evaluation, treatment, 

remediation, or prevention of one or more of the 

following areas: 

(A) mental, emotional, and behavioral 

disorder, disability, and illness; 

(B) substance abuse; 

(C) habit and conduct disorder; or 

(D) psychological aspects of physical 

illness, accident, injury, and disability. 

(3) An applicant shall be considered to have been 

trained in the provision of health services in 

psychology if the applicant establishes that 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

and (b)(2) of this Rule have been met through a 

master's, specialist, or doctoral degree program 

in psychology in any one of the following areas 

of specialization in psychology: applied 

behavior analysis in psychology, applied 

developmental psychology, clinical 

psychology, counseling psychology, 

rehabilitation psychology, school psychology, 

health psychology, or substance abuse 

treatment psychology. 

(4) If the applicant is unable to establish that he or 

she has a master's, specialist, or doctoral degree 

from a program in psychology that provides 

training in the provision of health services, the 

applicant shall not be eligible for HSP-PA 

certification. This shall apply even if the 

applicant establishes that course work in the 

areas listed in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule 

was completed or if the applicant has completed 

an applied training experience (i.e., practicum, 

internship, residency, postdoctoral fellowship, 

etc.) in the provision of health services without 

having completed a planned and directed 

training program in health services in 

psychology. 

(5) An applicant who has completed a program in 

psychology that establishes in institutional 

publications an intent to train individuals for 

careers in administration, research, teaching, 

academia, and other areas not involving 

training in the provision of health services in 

psychology shall not be considered to have 

been provided an academic foundation in the 

provision of health services and shall not be 

approved for HSP-PA certification. 

(6) Only course work taken at an institution of 

higher education as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(5) 

shall be considered by the Board to establish 

that an applicant has an academic foundation in 

the provision of health services. 

(7) Applicants for HSP-PA shall document that 

their degree program included an internship, 

externship, practicum, or supervised field 

experience at a site providing health services. 

This supervised training experience shall meet 

all of the following criteria: 

(A) It shall be a planned sequence of 

training experience, in contrast to on-

the-job training, and shall be 

integrated with the educational 

program in which the student is 

enrolled. This supervised training 

experience shall be planned by the 

educational program faculty and 
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training site staff rather than by the 

student. 

(B) The supervised training experience 

shall have a written description 

detailing the program of training, or a 

written agreement, developed prior to 

the time of the training, between the 

student's educational program and the 

training site. Such an agreement shall 

be approved by the student's 

educational program prior to the 

beginning of the supervised training 

experience. 

(C) The supervised training experience 

site shall have a designated and 

appropriately licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate responsible for the integrity 

and quality of the supervised training 

experience. 

(D) A student enrolled in a supervised 

training experience shall be designated 

as any of the following: an "intern," 

"extern," or "practicum student," or 

shall hold a title which indicates 

training status for the practice of 

psychology and provision of health 

services. 

(E) The supervised training experience 

shall be a minimum of 12 weeks 

consisting of at least 500 hours of 

supervised training. At least 400 hours 

of the training shall be in the provision 

of health services as defined by G.S. 

90-270.2(4) and Rule .2701(a) of this 

Section. 

(F) The supervised training experience 

shall be completed within a period of 

12 consecutive months at not more 

than two training sites. 

(G) Except as provided in Part (b)(7)(H) of 

this Rule, regularly scheduled 

individual face-to-face supervision 

with the specific intent of overseeing 

the provision of health services shall 

be provided by a North Carolina 

licensed or certified psychologist or 

psychological associate or by a 

psychologist who is exempt from 

licensure, pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.4(b), at a rate of not less than one 

hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. 

(H) If completing a supervised training 

experience outside of North Carolina, 

the student shall be provided regularly 

scheduled individual face-to-face 

supervision with the specific intent of 

overseeing the provision of health 

services by a licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate or by an individual holding a 

master's, specialist, or doctoral degree 

in psychology, at a rate of not less than 

one hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. Proof of the 

supervisor's license or degree 

program, as applicable, may be 

required by the Board to establish the 

supervisor's training in psychology. 

(c)  An applicant who is approved for licensure as a Psychological 

Associate under senior psychologist requirements specified in 21 

NCAC 54 .1707 and demonstrates that at least 25 percent of his 

or her qualifying practice has been in the provision of direct health 

services, as defined in Rule .2701(a) of this Section, shall be 

deemed to meet all requirements of this Rule for certification as a 

health services provider psychological associate (HSP-PA). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.13(c); 90-

270.20(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 19, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner;  

RRC Objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. May 18, 

1995; 

Eff. June 21, 1995; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2801 SCOPE 

(a)  Any psychologist employing or supervising unlicensed 

individuals performing ancillary services shall maintain 

professional responsibility for the quality of the services rendered 

and for the effects of the services upon the client, patient, or other 

individuals. The psychologist shall have face-to-face contact 

during the course of services with all patients, clients, or other 

recipients of services who are provided ancillary services by 

unlicensed persons as part of the psychologist's services. 

(b)  Ancillary services shall be considered to be only those 

activities that an individual shall engage in for the purpose of 

providing assistance to a psychologist in providing psychological 

services to patients, clients, and their families, as set forth in Rule 

.2805 of this Section. Not included as ancillary services are those 

clerical and administrative services which are not directly related 

to assisting a psychologist in the provision of psychological 

services. 
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(c)  Failure of any psychologist to train ancillary services 

personnel, to ensure that training has occurred, or to supervise 

ancillary services personnel shall subject that psychologist to 

disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 90-270.15(a). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2802 TITLES 

Titles of individuals providing ancillary services shall not indicate 

either that these individuals are licensed or trained in psychology 

or that the individuals are providing services defined as the 

practice of psychology in G.S. 90-270.2(8). Unlicensed 

individuals providing ancillary services shall not use any title 

incorporating the words "assessment," "associate," "clinical," 

"counseling," "diagnostic," "evaluation," "examiner," 

"psychologic," "psychological," "psychologist," "psychology," or 

derivatives of such. Examples of titles that unlicensed individuals 

may use include "aide," "assistant," "behavioral," "testing," 

"technician," "psychometrist," or derivatives of these titles. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2803 EMPLOYMENT AND 

SUPERVISION OF UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS 

(a)  Any psychologist who employs or supervises unlicensed 

individuals who provide ancillary services as specified in Rule 

.2801 of this Section shall maintain documentation of the 

relationship between the psychologist and the unlicensed 

individual beginning with the date employment began. The 

psychologist shall maintain documentation of the relationship 

with the unlicensed individual for a minimum of seven years after 

the termination of the relationship and shall present the 

documentation to the Board upon written request. 

(b)  If the unlicensed individual is supervised by more than one 

psychologist, there shall be a psychologist appointed to have 

primary responsibility for the coordination of and provision of 

ancillary services by the unlicensed individual. The appointed 

psychologist shall have responsibility for clinical record keeping 

with regard to the ancillary services provided by the unlicensed 

individual. Any psychologist supervising or employing persons 

who provide ancillary services shall not submit records regarding 

ancillary services personnel to the Board unless ordered to do so 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.9. 

(c)  The psychologist shall be competent to render all ancillary 

services specified in Rule .2801 of this Section that the employee 

or supervisee shall render. Supervision may be delegated to other 

psychologists affiliated with the employment setting whose 

competence in the delegated areas has been demonstrated by 

previous education, training, and experience. 

(d)  Any psychologist who employs or supervises individuals to 

provide ancillary services shall be accessible at all times, either 

on-site or through electronic communication, and shall be 

available to render assistance when needed to the unlicensed 

individual and patient or client, or shall have arranged for another 

psychologist to be accessible and available in the absence of the 

supervising psychologist. Psychologists shall meet with all 

unlicensed individuals whom they supervise to the extent 

necessary to provide supervision for the activities in which the 

unlicensed individual is engaged. The psychologist shall maintain 

documentation of supervisory sessions, including dates, 

appointment times, and length of time of each supervision session, 

for a period of at least seven years following the termination of 

ancillary services by ancillary services personnel. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2804 QUALIFICATIONS AND 

TRAINING 

(a)  Prior to the provision of ancillary services by an unlicensed 

individual, the psychologist supervising or employing the 

individual shall provide training in and establish that the 

individual has knowledge and understanding of legal and ethical 

requirements for maintaining confidentiality, exceptions to 

confidentiality, including mandated reporting of suspected abuse 

or neglect, and professional ethics. The licensed psychologist 

shall maintain documentation that the individual is trained in the 

aforementioned areas. Documentation of training shall include the 

date(s) on which training occurred, the purpose of the training, the 

identity of the individual(s) providing the training, and the total 

number of hours of training for each date on which the training 

occurred. Training in professional ethics shall include the Code of 

Conduct set forth in G.S. 90-270.15(a).  

(b)  The psychologist shall maintain documentation of the 

employee's or supervisee's training for at least seven years 

following the termination of ancillary services by ancillary 

services personnel. 

(c)  A psychologist shall not employ or supervise individuals to 

provide ancillary services who have previously been licensed or 

certified to practice psychology who have relinquished their 

licenses or certification or who have had their licenses or 

certification restricted, suspended, or revoked by the Board in 

North Carolina or any other jurisdiction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2805 SERVICES APPROPRIATE FOR 

ANCILLARY SERVICES PERSONNEL 

(a)  When a psychologist employs or supervises an unlicensed 

individual that provides only clerical functions, such as 

responding to telephone inquiries, scheduling appointments, 

filing insurance claims, typing psychological reports, and 

completing data entry of test results after a patient or client has 

responded to such items as questionnaires and forms, the licensed 

psychologist shall be exempt from the requirements of Rule .2803 

of this Section as to these unlicensed individuals. 

(b)  Tasks requiring technical skills, training and judgment during 

execution are appropriate activities in which unlicensed 

individuals may engage. Examples of these activities include 

obtaining demographic histories; implementing biofeedback 

techniques; administering and scoring specific parts of 
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psychological tests, including neuropsychological tests, which are 

scored on a pass/fail, multiple choice, or true/false basis, or for 

which scores are based on speed or quantity of performance; 

administering intelligence tests and other psychological tests to an 

individual in which the patient or client's performance may alter 

the length of the protocol, require adjustment of the number of 

items administered, or require that a decision be made to probe a 

response of the patient or client provided that ancillary services 

personnel have been deemed by the licensee to have met the 

training requirements of the test publisher; and implementing 

specific behavioral interventions that are part of a treatment plan.  

(c)  A dated entry shall be made in the patient or client's records 

at any time that an ancillary service is provided at the request or 

direction of the licensee. This entry shall include all ancillary 

services provided and billed to a third party or paid by the patient 

or client to the licensee and all ancillary services for which there 

is no charge. Unlicensed individuals providing ancillary services 

who make clinical record entries regarding services they provide 

shall sign such entries and indicate their titles under Rule .2802 of 

this Section as providers of ancillary services. The psychologist 

shall ensure that case notes, financial statements, and other 

records of services identify whether the psychologist or the 

unlicensed individual was the direct provider of the service. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2806 SERVICES NOT APPROPRIATE 

FOR UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS 

Individuals providing ancillary services shall not engage in the 

administration of projective techniques; psychological evaluation 

report writing; and all forms of diagnostic interviewing, 

counseling, and psychotherapy. Psychological test results shall 

not be interpreted by ancillary services personnel to recipients of 

services or their designated representative(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 21, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder  984-236-1941 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 May 21, 2020 June 18, 2020 
 July 16, 2020                      August 20, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, MAY 21, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Structural Pest Control Committee - 02 NCAC 34 .0302, .0309, .0328, .0331, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, 

.0505, .0506, .0602, .0703, .1206 (Snyder) 
B. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
C. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13F .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212; 13G. .0202, .0204, .0208, 

.0209, .0212, .0213 (May) 
D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
E. Department of Insurance - 11 NCAC 12 .0321, .0514 (Snyder) 
F. Private Protective Services Board – 14B NCAC 16 .0109, .0704 (Reeder) 
G. Sedimentation Control Commission - 15A NCAC 04C .0103, .0106 (Reeder) 
H. Auctioneer Licensing Board - 21 NCAC 04B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0302, 

.0303, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, 

.0701, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811, .0812, .0813, .0814, .0815, 

.0816, .0817, .0818, .0819 (Reeder) 
I. Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors - 21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0304, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, 

.0804, .0902, .1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, .1607 (Reeder) 
J. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;  
 Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder) 

• Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between March 21, 2020 through April 20, 2020 

• Pesticide Board (Snyder) 

• Parks and Recreation Authority (Reeder) 

• Department of Transportation (Reeder) 

• Real Estate Commission (May) 
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• Building Code Council (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

V. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VI. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, June 18, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

March 21, 2020 through April 20, 2020 
 

PESTICIDE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Food and Drug Protection Division of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9L are from the N.C. Pesticide Board and include organizational rules (.0100); registration 
(.0300); samples and submissions (.0400); pesticide licenses (.0500); pesticide and pesticide container disposal 
(.0600); declaration of pests and restrictions on their control (.0700); bulk distribution of pesticides (.0800); aerial 
application of pesticides (.1000); private pesticide applicator certification (.1100); arsenic trioxide (.1200); availability of 
restricted use pesticides (.1300); ground application of pesticides (.1400); worker protection standards for agricultural 
pesticides (.1800); pesticide storage (.1900); chemigation (any process whereby pesticides are applied to land, crops, 
or plants using an irrigation system) (.2000); hearing rules of the North Carolina pesticide board (.2100); and interim 
protection measures for the Carolina heelsplitter mussel (.2200). 

Duties of Pesticide Section 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0101 

Duties (Continued) 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0102 

Assignment of Duties 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0103 

Registration for the Following Year 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0308 

Reregistration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0310 

Registration of Pesticides to Meet Special Local Needs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0317 

Exemption of Agencies for Use of Pesticides in Emergencies 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0318 

Tolerances 
Readopt with Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0402 

List of Restricted Use Pesticides 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0502 

Pesticide Applicators 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0503 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0504 

Classifications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0505 

Consultant Education Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0509 
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Re-Examinations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0515 

Continuances 
Readopt with Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0516 

Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0519 

Recertification Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0520 

Recertification Options 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0522 

Recertification in Additional Categories 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0523 

Expiration of Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0524 

Recertification of Pesticide Dealers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0525 

Pesticide Dealer Recertification Options 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0526 

Expiration of Pesticide Dealer Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0527 

Soil and Growing Media Fumigation Examination Waver 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0529 

Disposal of Pesticides 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0602 

Disposal of Pesticide Containers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0603 

Orchard Rats 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0701 

Restrictions Concerning Control of Orchard Rats 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0702 

Gulls 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0703 

Restrictions Concerning Control of Pigeons 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0705 

Eastern and Hairy-Tailed Moles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0707 

Adoption by Reference 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .0810 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1001 

General Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1002 

Drift Control 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1003 

Restricted Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1005 

Exemptions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1006 

Notification of Apiaries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1009 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1102 
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Certification Examination 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1103 

Single Purchase Emergency Certification Permit 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1104 

Applications Under Supervision Of Certified Applicator 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1105 

Age Limitations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1107 

Term of Certification; Recertification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1108 

Certification of Private Applicators 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1109 

Certification/Recertification Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1111 

Restrictions on Use and Storage 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1201 

Pesticide Dealer and Purchaser Responsibility 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1202 

General Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1302 

Exemptions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1303 

Record Keeping Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1305 

Recipient Identification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1306 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1401 

Record Keeping Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1402 

Drift Control 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1404 

Adoption by Reference 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1805 

Crop Advisor Exemption 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1806 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1901 

Storage Requirements for All Pesticides 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1902 

Storage Facility Requirements: RUP 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1905 

Large Storage Facility Requirements: RUP 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1906 

Purpose and Implementation of Contingency Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1907 

Content of Contingency Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1908 

Copies of Contingency Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1909 

Effective Date of Storage Regulation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1913 
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Bulk Storage Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .1914 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2001 

Application of Pesticides Through Irrigation Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2002 

Prohibition of Connection to a Public Water System 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2003 

Inspection: Maintenance and Modification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2004 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2201 

Pesticide Use Limitation Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2202 

Pesticides with Additional Use Limitations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 09L .2203 

PARKS AND RECREATION AUTHORITY 

The rules in Subchapter 13k concern the general provisions of the parks and recreation trust fund grants for local 
government. 

Eligible Participants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0102 

Funding Cycle 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0103 

Evaluation of Applications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0105 

Grant Agreement 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0106 

Matching Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0107 

Eligible Projects and Costs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0108 

Site Control and Dedication 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0109 

Inspections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13K .0110 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200); 
junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances (.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or 
specialized services (.0700); solicitation of contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of 
newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented 
directional sign program (.1100); private property owners (.1200). 

Selective Vegetation Removal Permit Required to Remove Ve... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0601 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for a F... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0602 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit...  19A NCAC 02E .0603 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Fac... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0604 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for Out... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0608 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0609 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Out... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0610 

Beautification and Replanting Requirements for Selective ... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0611 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 58A are rules relating to real estate brokers and salesmen including rules dealing with general 
brokerage (.0100); application for license (.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission 
hearings (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); rulemaking (.0800); declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and 
recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory practices prohibited (.1600); mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited 
nonresident commercial licensing (.1800); post-licensure education (.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military 
service (.2100); and broker price opinions and comparative market analyses (.2200). 

Broker-In-Charge 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0110 

License Application and Fee 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0302 

Petition for Predetermination 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0305 

Provisional Broker to be Supervised by Broker 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0506 

Procedures for Requesting Hearings When Applicant's Chara... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0616 

Equivalent Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1708 

Denial or Withdrawal of Continuing Education Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1710 

Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1711 

Extensions of Time to Complete Postlicensing Education 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1903 

Denial or Withdrawal of Postlicensing Education Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1904 

The rules in Subchapter 58H concern real estate education including general rules (.0100); real estate schools (.0200); 
approved instructors (.0300); and real estate courses (.0400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0101 

Applicability 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0201 

Application for Education Provider Certification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0202 

Education Director 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0203 

Policies and Procedures Disclosure  21 NCAC 58H .0204 
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Amend* 

Course Materials 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0205 

Advertising and Recruitment Activities 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0206 

Course Completion Certificates and Reports 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0207 

Education Provider Records 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0208 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Certification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0209 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0210 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing Roster Reporting 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0211 

School Records 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0212 

Evaluations of Instructor Performance 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0213 

Expiration and Renewal of a School Approval or License 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0214 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of School Approval or ... 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0215 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Update Course Instructor... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0301 

Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0302 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0303 

Instructor Conduct and Performance 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0304 

Digital Video Recordings 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0305 

Approval of a Real Estate Education Course 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0401 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0402 

Commission Created Update Courses 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0403 

Course Scheduling 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0404 

Denial or Withdrawal of Sponsor Approval 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0405 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0406 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0407 

Commission Created Update Courses 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0408 

Records and Commission Review 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0409 

Continuing Education Course Scheduling and Notification  21 NCAC 58H .0410 
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Repeal* 

Continuing Education Course Attendance 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0411 

Continuing Education Roster Reports and Certificates 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0412 

Continuing Education Course Cost, Cancellation, and Refunds 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0413 

Advertising 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0414 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Inspections of Component or E... 
Amend* 

 107.6 

2018 NC Residential Code/Cross Bracing 
Amend* 

 AM109.1.4 

2018 NC Residential Code/Height 
Amend* 

 R311.7.8.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Allowable Number of Stories Above G... 
Amend* 

 504.4 

2018 NC Building Code/Height 
Amend* 

 905.3.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Type A Units 
Amend* 

 1107.6.2.2.1 

2018 NC Fire Code/Temporary Sleeping Units for Disaster R... 
Amend* 

 321 

2018 NC Fire Code/Height 
Amend* 

 905.3.1 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Above-Ground Sanitary Drainage and ... 
Amend* 

 702.1 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Fittings 
Amend* 

 702.4 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Cured in Place Piping 
Amend* 

 718 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Single Stack Vent System 
Amend* 

 917 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Engineered Single Stack Systems 
Amend* 

 917.1.1 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Inside Storm Drainage Conductors 
Amend* 

 1102.2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Fittings 
Amend* 

 1102.7 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 BOE 01535 1/7/2020; 

1/14/2020 

The People for Rev. 

Joseph L Irving  

v. State Board of Elections and Ethics 

Enforcement 

May 

19 BOE 02435 1/24/2020 Robert Jameson v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 DHR 00943 5/21/2019; 

1/9/2020 

Central Family Care 

Home Dr Thelma B 

Brown 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02817 1/16/2020 Perkins Professional 

Daycare Inc 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

19 DHR 05406 1/28/2020 New Horizon Group 

Home LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Lassiter 

        

19 DOJ 00322 1/27/2020 Kenneth M Tanguay v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 01621 1/23/2020 Matthew Bounds v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 01622 1/30/2020 Joshua Orion David v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

19 DOJ 02498 1/23/2020 Justin T Combs v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 02985 1/6/2020 Thomas Council v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 03862 1/21/2020 Andre D Green Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 INS 02486 1/3/2020 Candace Heer v. State Health Plan May 

19 INS 03891 1/13/2020 Donna Thomas 

Tedder 

v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan Bawtinhimer 
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18 OSP 02258 1/6/2020 Jodette Dorene Hall v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 03469 1/27/2020 Alejandro Asbun v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 OSP 03472 11/18/2019; 

1/2/2020 

Rex A Draughon v. NCDPS Adult Corrections and Juvenile 

Justice 

Overby 

19 OSP 04414 1/29/2020 Tiffany Efird v. NC DOT/ DMV Bawtinhimer 

        

    Unpublished    

19 BAR 06047 1/13/2020 Kelvin D Exum v. The North Carolina State Bar Overby 

        

19 BOE 04976 1/10/2020 Barbara Dantonio v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 CPS 03805 1/7/2020 Christene Callihan v. Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 CPS 05739 1/7/2020 Larry Richard 

Moore 

v. Public Safety operating as North 

Carolina State Highway Patrol 

Sutton 

19 CPS 06274 1/16/2020 Courtney King v. NC Crime Victims Comp Commission Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 03117 1/2/2020 Andrelle Wiley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 05599 1/16/2020 Eron Thomas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05671 1/7/2020 Tesha M Mangum v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 05693 1/23/2020 Ascencion 

Escamilla 

Rodriguez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05799 1/16/2020 Charles Pettus v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05856 1/30/2020 Antonio Mock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05921 1/13/2020 Damian D Liles v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05928 1/23/2020 Allyson Lucia 

Chavis 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

19 CSE 05963 1/30/2020 Dwain Evans v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05971 1/14/2020 Thomas A Miller v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06058 1/16/2020 Lincoln Hardrick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06122 1/15/2020 Gregory E Dwyer v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 06127 1/13/2020 Claude Sanders v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06330 1/14/2020 Christine L Barnes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06606 1/22/2020 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 04290 1/10/2020 Lynetta J Givens v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

        

19 DHR 04623 1/28/2020 Loretta Buckley 

Malakie 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 05200 1/3/2020 Antonio Ray Davis v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 05205 1/10/2020 Onslow Pines Rest 

Home 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Services 

(DHSR) 

Mann 

19 DHR 05871 1/17/2020 LifeQuest 

Disabilities Services 

Inc Jane Williams 

v. Trillium Health Resources Lassiter 

19 DHR 05911 1/22/2020 Teketa Pemberton v. DHHS May 

19 DHR 05962 1/22/2020 Nicole Richardson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 06006 1/7/2020 Lalee Lee v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 06383 1/7/2020 Lewis E Williams v. DHHS Ms Lisa G Corbett General 

Counsel 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06419 1/29/2020 Gaston Residential 

Services Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06446 1/21/2020 Kiayanis Harris v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06567 1/23/2020 Sylvia Corry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06942 1/30/2020 Valerie R Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DOJ 02330 1/2/2020 Demonte 

Dominique Shaw 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DST 05116 1/17/2020 Michael Bagala 

A/K/A Bernard C 

Wijesingha 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Jacobs 

        

19 OSP 05895 1/28/2020 Charles A Wooten v. Cherry Hospital 1403 W Ash St 

Goldsboro NC (DHHS) 

Overby 

        

 


