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FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
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NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

MARCH 10, 2020

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 116

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY TO COORDINATE RESPONSE
AND PROTECTIVE ACTIONS TO PREVENT THE SPREAD OF COVID-19

WHEREAS, COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death by
the SARS-CoW-2 virus, which is a new strain of coronavirus previously unidentified in humans and
which can spread from person to person; and

WHEREAS, the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a Public Health Emergency
of International Concern on January 30, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (*CDC™) has warned of the high
public health threat posed by COVID-19 globally and in the United States and has deemed it necessary
to prohibit or restrict travel to areas designated by the CDC: and

WHEREAS. on January 31. 2020, the United States Department of Health and Human
Services Secretary declared a public health emergency in the United States for COVID-19 under
Section 319 of the Public Health Service Act; and

WHEREAS, the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services ("NCDHHS™)
confirmed multiple cases of COVID-19 in North Carolina as of March 10. 2020; and

WHEREAS, NCDHHS has organized a Public Health Incident Management Team to manage
the public health impacts of COVID-19 in this state; and

WHEREAS, health insurance companies have begun to waive the costs for COVID-19 testing
and are encouraged to continue to ensure ease of access to health care for diagnostics and treatment
without regard to the issue of cost or a patient’s ability to pay: and

WHEREAS, first responders and health care professionals remain integral to ensuring the state
is best situated to respond to and mitigate the threat posed by COVID-19 and such first responders and
health care professionals should have the availability of all necessary personal protective equipment
and continue to follow all necessary response protocols: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.10 and 166A-19.20 authorize the undersigned to
declare a state of emergency and exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in
response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(b)(3). the undersigned, with the
concurrence of the Council of State, may regulate and control the flow of vehicular traffic and the
congregation of persons in public places or buildings; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(b)}(4), the undersigned. with the
concurrence of the Council of State, may waive a provision of any regulation or ordinance of a state
agency which restricts the immediate relief of human suffering: and
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(b)(5), the undersigned, with the
concurrence of the Council of State, may perform and exercise other such functions, powers and duties
as are necessary to promote and secure the safety and protection of the civilian population; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(7), the undersigned has authority to
requisition state property and state resources to utilize state services, equipment, supplies and facilities
in response to a state of emergency; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70, the undersigned may declare that the
health, safety, or economic well-being of persons or property requires that the maximum hours of
service for drivers prescribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-381 and similar rules should be waived for
essentials, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70(f)(3), for assisting in the restoration of utility
services; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70(g), upon the reccommendation of the
North Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture and the existence of an imminent threat of severe
economic loss of livestock, poultry or crops ready to be harvested, the Governor shall direct the
North Carolina Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) to temporarily suspend weighing vehicles used
to transport livestock, poultry or crops to include timber ready to be harvested; and

WHEREAS, 49 C.F.R. § 390.23 allows the governor of a state to suspend the rules and
regulations under 49 C.F.R. §§ 390-399 for up to thirty (30) days if the governor determines that an
emergency condition exists; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned, in consultation with the Secretary of NCDHHS, has determined
it is necessary and appropriate to act to ensure that COVID-19 remains controlled and that residents
and visitors in North Carolina remain safe and secure; and

WHEREAS, the undersigned has sought and obtained concurrence from the Council of State
consistent with the Governor’s emergency powers authority in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the
laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. State of Emergency

I hereby declare a State of Emergency, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(6) and
166A-19.3(19) for the State of North Carolina based on the public health emergency posed by
COVID-19.

The emergency area, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(7) and 166A-19.20(b) is the
State of North Carolina (the “Emergency Area™).

Section 2. Application

All state and local government entities and agencies are ordered to cooperate in the
implementation of the provisions of this declaration and the provisions of the North Carolina
Emergency Operations Plan (the “Plan™). '

Section 3. Delegation of Authority

1 delegate to Erik A. Hooks, the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety
(“DPS”), or his designee, the power and authority granted to and required of me by Article 1A of
Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General Statutes for the purpose of implementing the Plan and
deploying the State Emergency Response Team to take the appropriate actions necessary to promote
and secure the safety and protection of the populace in North Carolina.

Secretary Hooks, or his designee, shall implement the Plan in coordination with the Secretary

of the Department of Health and Human Services, Dr. Mandy Cohen, and the State Health Director,
Dr. Elizabeth Tilson.

Section 4. Exercise of Powers

Further, Secretary Hooks, as Chief Coordinating Officer for the State of North Carolina, shall
exercise the powers prescribed in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 143B-602 and 166A-19.11.
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Section 5. Maximum Hours of Service

In order to ensure adequacy and location of supplies and resources to respond to COVID-19,
DPS, in conjunction with the North Carolina Department of Transportation (“"DOT™), shall waive the
maximum hours of service for drivers prescribed by DPS pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-381, if the
driver is transporting medical supplies and other equipment in support of the Plan or other efforts to
address the public health threat posed by COVID-19. through the duration of the State of Emergency
or until further notice.

Section 6. Height and Weight Restrictions

DPS, in conjunction with DOT, shall waive certain size and weight restrictions and penalties
arising under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-116, 20-118, and 20-119, certain registration requirements and
penalties arising under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 105-449.45, 105-449.47, and 105-449.49 for vehicles
throughout the Emergency Area involved in transporting medical supplies and other equipment in
support of the Plan or other efforts to address the public health threat posed by COVID-19.
Furthermore, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-118.1, DPS shall temporarily suspend weighing vehicles
throughout the Emergency Area used to transport medical supplies and other equipment in support of
the Plan or other efforts to address the public health threat posed by COVID-19. Furthermore, pursuant
to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-118.1, DPS shall temporarily suspend weighing vehicles used to transport
livestock, poultry, or crops to include timber ready to be harvested and feed to livestock and poultry in
the Emergency Area.

Section 7. Unwaived Size and Weight Restrictions

5 Notwithstanding the waivers set forth above in Section 6, size and weight restrictions and
penalties have not been waived under the following conditions:

a. When the vehicle weight exceeds the maximum gross weight criteria established by
the manufacturer (GVWR) or 90,000 pounds gross weight, whichever is less.

b. When the tandem axle weight exceeds 42,000 pounds and the single axle weight
exceeds 22,000 pounds.

c. When a vehicle and vehicle combination exceed twelve (12) feet in width and the total
overall vehicle combination's length exceeds seventy-five (75) feet from bumper to
bumper.

d. Vehicles and vehicle combinations subject to exemptions or permits by authority of
this Executive Order shall not be exempt from the requirement of having (i) a yellow
banner on the front and rear that is seven (7) feet long and eighteen (18) inches wide
and bears the legend “Oversized Load™ in ten (10) inch black letters, 1.5 inches wide
and (ii) red flags measuring eighteen (18) inches square on all sides at the widest point
of the load. When operating between sunset and sunrise, a certified escort shall be
required for loads exceeding eight (8) feet 6 inches in width.

II. Vehicles subject to this Executive Order shall adhere to the following conditions:

a. The size and weight exemption for vehicles will be allowed on all DOT designated
routes, except those routes designated as light traffic roads under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-
118. This Order shall not be in effect on bridges posted pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §
136-72.

b. The waiver of regulations under Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (*Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations™) does not apply to the Commercial Drivers’ License
and Insurance Requirements. This waiver shall be in effect for thirty (30) days or the
duration of the emergency. whichever is less.

c. Upon request by law enforcement officers. exempted vehicles must produce
documentation sufficient to establish that their loads are limited to medical supplies
and other equipment to be used in support of the Plan or other efforts to address the
public health threat posed by COVID-19.

I11. The North Carolina State Highway Patrol shall enforce the conditions set forth in Sections
5 through 8 of this Executive Order in a manner that does not endanger North Carolina
motorists.
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Section 8. Additional Transportation Waivers

Vehicles subject to this Executive Order shall be exempt from the following registration
requirements:

a. The requirement to obtain a temporary trip permit and pay the associated $50.00 fee listed
in N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 105-449.49.

b. The requirement of filing a quarterly fuel tax return as the exemption in N.C. Gen. Stat.§
105-449.45(b)(1) applies.

c. The registration requirements under N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 20-382.1 concerning intrastate for
hire authority and N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 20-382 concerning interstate for-hire authority;
however, vehicles shall maintain insurance as required as required by law.

d. Non-participants in North Carolina’s International Registration Plan and International Fuel
Tax Agreement will be permitted to enter North Carolina in accordance with the
exemptions identified by this Executive Order.

Section 9. Consumer Protection

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23, this declaration triggers the prohibition against
excessive pricing as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-37 and 75-38.

1 further hereby encourage the North Carolina Attorney General to use all resources available
to monitor reports of abusive trade practices towards consumers and make readily available
opportunities to report price gouging as well as unfair and deceptive trade practice under Chapter 75
of the North Carolina General Statutes to the public.

Section 10. Task Force

I hereby memorialize the establishment of the Governor’s Novel Coronavirus Task Force on
COVID-19 (*“Task Force™). The Director of Emergency Management and the State Health Director
shall continue to serve as co-chairs of the Task Force. The Task Force shall continue to work with
state, local, and federal partners in responding to challenges posed by COVID-19.

Section 11. State Employee Policy Guidance

a. | hereby authorize hiring of temporary employees and contractors to support NCDHHS
and local health departments in responding to the threats posed by COVID-19.

b. 1 hereby authorize the State Health Director to monitor areas of concentration of COVID-
19 and make recommendations regarding travel restrictions for travel of state employees
conducting state business. Agencies shall have the authority to cancel, restrict or postpone
travel of state employees as needed to protect the wellbeing of others. Agencies are urged
to cancel travel to restricted areas (as defined by the Division of Public Health of NCDHHS
and the CDC). Exceptions to travel restrictions may be needed based on the unique
circumstances or job duties of state employees.

Section 12. Public Health Surveillance and Control Measures

Notwithstanding the public health authorities in place under Chapter 130A of the North
Carolina General Statutes, | hereby order the State Health Director to work with local health directors
to implement public health surveillance and control measures where appropriate for individuals who
have been diagnosed with or are at risk of contracting COVID-19 in order to control or mitigate spread
of the disease. | hereby order the State Health Director to utilize all authorities under N.C. Gen. Stat.
Chapter 130A to obtain information and records necessary to prevent, control, or investigate COVID-
19.

Section 13. Laboratory Testing

I hereby order the State Health Director to work with the State Laboratory of Public Health to
maximize the availability of laboratory testing for COVID-19.

1 further encourage private laboratories and universities to take all reasonable steps to expand
COVID-19 testing capacity.
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Section 14. Right of Entrv and Disinfection for Local Health Departments and
NCDHHS Secretary

With the concurrence of the Council of State and notwithstanding the public health authorities
in place under Chapter 130A of the North Carolina General Statutes, 1 hereby grant local health
departments, the Secretary of NCDHHS, and Division of Public Health employees serving the
Secretary of NCDHHS’ agents, and on her direction, a right of entry into public places for the purposes
of assisting with or investigating potential COVID-19 cases or exposure and requiring cleaning and
disinfecting measures to help control transmission of COVID-19.

Section 15. Cleaning of Regulated Facilities

With the concurrence of the Council of State, | hereby waive restrictions related to the type of
product or chemical concentration used to control COVID-19 at facilities whose sanitation is regulated
by NCDHHS, if conducted and handled in a safe manner and approved by the local health department
in consultation with the Division of Public Health of NCDHHS. The State Health Director may issue
additional orders or regulations consistent with the state’s Public Health Law to regulate the sanitation
of public facilities regulated by NCDHHS or local health departments.

Section 16. Qut of State Health Care Licensure and Additional Testing Resources

With the concurrence of the Council of State, I hereby temporarily waive North Carolina
licensure requirements for health care and behavioral health care personnel who are licensed in another
state, territory, or the District of Columbia to provide health care services within the Emergency Area.

With the concurrence of the Council of State, and in the interest of alleviating immediate
human suffering, nothing in Subchapters 32B, 32M, or 32S of Article 21 of the North Carolina
Administrative Code shall be interpreted to prevent physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician
assistants from issuing a standing order for qualified agents or employees who are working under the
direct supervision of a physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner to collect throat or
nasopharyngeal swab specimens from individuals suspected of suffering from a COVID-19 infection,
for purposes of testing.

tion 17. Federal Su rt

I further direct Secretary Hooks, or his designee, to seek assistance from any and all agencies
of the United States Government as may be needed to address the emergency and seek reimbursement
for costs incurred by the state in responding to this emergency.

Section 18. Local County Public Health Aid Funding Formula

With the concurrence of the Council of State, I hereby grant the Secretary of NCDHHS, or her
designee, the authority to waive the formula requirements of 15A NCAC 18A .2901 and adjust aid-to-
county funding, if a local health department’s resources are diverted in response to COVID-19.

Section 19. Access to State Funds

1 hereby order access to the State Emergency Response and Disaster Relief Fund to the extent
necessary to cover costs associated with responding to this State of Emergency as provided in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.42, including but not limited to the substance of this Executive Order.

Section 20. Purchase and Contract Regulation Waivers

With the concurrence of the Council of State, | hereby temporarily waive Sections .0301
through .0317 of Chapter 5B in Title 1 in the North Carolina Administrative Code to the extent
necessary to permit NCDHHS, DPS, and local governmental entities to enter into contracts to secure
resources and equipment needed to respond to COVID-19.

In addition to the provisions in Section 11, I further order all components of state government
to expedite and prioritize the leasing of real property, including but not limited to, laboratories and
health care facilities in order to provide the state with the resources needed to address COVID-19.
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Section 21. Cost Sharing Reduction

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(a)(1). I hereby direct NCDHHS and the North
Carolina Department of Insurance to immediately work with health insurance plans operating in the
state to identify any burdens for testing for COVID-19 as well as access to prescription drugs and
telehealth services. as needed, in order to reduce cost-sharing (including, but not limited to. co-pays.
deductibles, or coinsurance) to zero for all medically necessary screening and testing for COVID-19.

Section 22. Clinical Coverage Policy

With the concurrence of the Council of State. and in order to provide the immediate relief of
human suffering, I hereby temporarily waive the regulatory requirements and suspend the enforcement
of the statutory requirements under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 108A-54.2 for modifications of Medicaid Clinical
Coverage Policy.

I order the NCDHHS. Division of Health Benefits to create coverage policies necessary for
Medicaid and Health Choice Beneficiaries to receive medically necessary services for testing and
treatment of COVID-19 and to create coverage policies or modify existing policies that will allow
beneficiaries to continue to receive necessary services without disruption during the State of
Emergency.

Section 23. Inapplicability of Section 166A-19.30(¢c)

This Executive Order does not prohibit or restrict lawfully possessed firearms or ammunition
or impose any limitation on the consumption, transportation, sale or purchase of alcoholic beverages
as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c).

Section 24. Distribution

I hereby order that this Executive Order be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; (2) promptly filed
with the Secretary of DPS, the Secretary of State. and the superior court clerks in the counties to which
it applies. unless the circumstances of the State of Emergency would prevent or impede such filing;
and (3) distributed to others as necessary to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 25. Effective Date
This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded.
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of

the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 10th day of March in the year of
our Lord two thousand and twenty.

£ / Roy Cooﬁr
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marsh
Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

Department of Environmental Quality - Postponed Public Hearings

The public hearings scheduled for revised log fumigation rules on Tuesday, March 17, 2020 in Raleigh and on Wednesday, March 18,
2020 in Wilmington, have been postponed based on the current guidance to avoid gatherings of over 100 people to help minimize the
spread of COVID-19.

The proposed rules for log fumigation; 15A NCAC 02D .0546, Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation Operations, and 15A NCAC
02D .1104, Toxic Air Pollutant Guidelines; were published in North Carolina Register, Volume 34, Issue 15 on February 3, 2020.

The Department of Environmental Quality press release can be found at https://deq.nc.gov/news/press-releases/2020/03/13/postponed-
public-hearings-revised-log-fumigation-rules

The public hearings will be rescheduled to a future date. Due to uncertainty in rescheduling, the Division of Air Quality is extending the
comment period to April 17, 2020 and may extend further at the appropriate time.

ADDITIONAL WAYS TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:
* Email comments to DAQ.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov. Please type “Revised Log Fumigation” in the subject line.
* Mail written comments to:
Patrick Knowlson
N.C. Division of Air Quality
1641 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1641

The proposed rule, amendment, and fiscal note are available online at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-
rules/rules-hearing-process
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Commerce - Division of Employment Security intends to adopt the
rules cited as 04 NCAC 24A .0501- .0504; 24D .0703, and amend
the rules cited as 04 NCAC 24A .0104, .0206; 24B .0601; 24C
.0210, .0301; 24D .0601, .0702, .0901, .1002 and .1401.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://des.nc.gov/des-proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 1, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Teleconference: 1 (888) 204-5984, Access Code:
3069171

Reason for Proposed Action: In compliance with G.S. 96-40,
Rule 24A .0104 is proposed for amendment to add a centralized
address for filing protests or appeals from a Result of
Investigation. Rule 24A .0206 is proposed for amendment to
centralize payment information for consistency. Rule 24A .0501
is proposed for adoption to formalize DES’s longstanding process
whereby parties may submit written requests for hearing records
related to pending appeals or contested cases. Rule 24A .0502 is
proposed for adoption to set forth the criteria for indigent parties
to obtain hearing transcripts. Rule 24A .0503 is proposed for
adoption to formalize the already existing and longstanding
procedures for paying for hearing records. Rule 24A .0504 is
proposed for adoption to formalize the longstanding process for
disclosing records related to pending appeals or contested cases.
Rule 24B .0601 is proposed for amendment to provide an address
for claimants to file requests for waivers overpayment repayment.
Rule 24C .0210 is proposed for amendment to add the term
“competent” that is used in G.S. 96-4(q) and 96-15(i). Rule 24C
.0301 is proposed for amendment to clarify who may represent
various entities in administrative proceedings. Rule 24D .0601 is
proposed for amendment to comply with changes made to G.S. 96-
9.15 in Session Laws 2018-94. Rule 24D .0702 is proposed for
amendment to clarify the procedure for transferring experience
rating to a successor employer. Rule 24D .0703 is proposed for
adoption to set forth the procedure for DES's redetermination of
an assigned tax rate when it receives late notice of a transfer. Rule
24D .0901 is proposed for amendment to clarify the time period
and address for appealing a Result of Investigation. Rule 24D
.1002 is proposed for amendment to set forth the time period for
filing an appeal of a ruling on a request to review and redetermine
an employer's tax rate. Rule 24D .1401 is proposed for
amendment to inform customers that required forms can be
obtained on DES'’s website.

Comments may be submitted to: Sheena J. Cobrand, Division
of Employment Security-Legal Services Section, Post Office Box
25903, Raleigh, NC 27611-5903; fax (919) 715-7194; email
des.rules@nccommerce.com

Comment period ends: June 5, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 24 - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
SUBCHAPTER 24A — GENERAL
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

04 NCAC 24A .0104 ADDRESSES FOR FILING
CLAIMS, APPEALS, EXCEPTIONS, REQUESTS OR
PROTESTS
(a) Claimants shall file a claim for unemployment insurance
benefits by-internet on DES's website, or by telephone.
1) The telephone number for DES's Customer Call
Center for filing a new initial claim or inquiring
about an existing claim is (888) 737-0259.
2 The telephone number for filing weekly
certifications is (888) 372-3453.
(b) Appeals from a Determination by Adjudicator shall be filed
with the Appeals Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or email.
(D) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.
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PROPOSED RULES

(2)
®3)

(4)

()

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.

The email address is
des.public.appeals@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and appeals submitted by
email outside the SCUBI system shall not
include social security numbers or employer
account numbers.

Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the appeal, the docket or issue identification
number of the determination being appealed,
the claimant's identification number, the names
of the claimant and employer, each reason for
the appeal, the name of the individual filing the
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

(c) Appeals of a Non-Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be
filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or

facsimile.

1)
(2)
©)

(4)

()

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or identification number of
the determination being appealed, the
claimant's identification number, the names of
the claimant and employer, each reason for the
appeal, the name of the individual filing the
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of a Non-
Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be
directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by
telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919)
857-1296, or email at
des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com.

(d) Appeals of a Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be filed
with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile.

1)

(2)
3)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or identification number of
the determination being appealed, the
claimant's identification number, the names of
the claimant and employer, each reason for the

®)

appeal, the name of the individual filing the
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of a Fraud
Overpayment Determination shall be directed
to the Benefits Integrity Unit by telephone to
(919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 857-1296, or
email at des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com.

(e) Appeals of a Monetary Determination denying a protest to a
Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination shall be filed with
the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or

email.

M

2
®)

(4)

©®)

(6)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and appeals submitted by
email outside the SCUBI system shall not
include social security numbers or employer
account numbers.

Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or identification number of
the determination being appealed, the
claimant's identification number, the names of
the claimant and employer, each reason for the
appeal, the name of the individual filing the
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of a
determination denying a protest to a Wage
Transcript and Monetary Determination shall
be directed to the Wage Records Unit of the Tax
Administration Section by telephone to (919)
707-1191, facsimile at (919) 733-1255, or email
at des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.

(f) Protests of a Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination
shall be filed with the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by
mail, or facsimile.

)

)
®)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Protests shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
protest, the docket or identification number of
the determination being protested, the
claimant's identification number, the names of
the claimant and employer, each reason for the
protest, the name of the individual filing the
protest, the official position of an individual
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PROPOSED RULES

(5)

filing the protest on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of a Wage
Transcript and Monetary Determination shall
be directed to the Wage Records Unit by
telephone to (919) 707-1191, facsimile at (919)
733-1255, or email at
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.

(g9) Petitions for Waiver of Overpayment shall be filed with the
Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile.

(1)

(2)
)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Petitions shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
petition, docket or identification number of the
overpayment determination, the claimant's
identification number, the name of the claimant,
each reason for the request to waive repayment
of the overpayment, the name of the individual
filing the petition, the official position of an
individual filing the petition on behalf of the
party, and a telephone number.

(h) Claimant appeals of a North Carolina Department of Revenue
(NCDOR) Offset Letter shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity
Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile.

(1)

(2)
©)

(4)

Q)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence  regarding a claimant's
NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email
outside the SCUBI system shall not include
social security numbers or employer account
numbers.

Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or identification number of
the offset letter being appealed, the claimant's
identification number, the name of the claimant,
each reason for the appeal, the name of the
individual filing the appeal, the official position
of an individual filing the appeal on behalf of
the party, and a telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of a
claimant's NCDOR Offset Letter shall be
directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by
telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919)
857-1296, or email at
des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com.

(i) Employer appeals of a North Carolina Department of Revenue
(NCDOR) Offset Letter for outstanding tax debts shall be filed
with the Tax Administration Section by mail or facsimile.

(1)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504.

2
®)

(4)

®)

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.
Correspondence regarding an employer's
NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email
outside the SCUBI system shall not include
social security numbers or employer account
numbers.

Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or identification number of
the offset letter, the name of the employer, each
reason for the appeal, the name of the individual
filing the appeal, the official position of an
individual filing the appeal on behalf of the
party, and a telephone number.

Any questions regarding the contents of an
employer's NCDOR Offset letter Letter for
outstanding tax debts shall be directed to the
Tax Administration Section by facsimile at
(919) 733-1255, or email at
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.

(J) Claimant Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury Offset
Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in
SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile.

)
2
®)

(4)

®)

The mailing address is Post Office Box, 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7697.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
request, the docket or identification number of
the TOP notice, the claimant's identification
number, the name of the claimant, each reason
for the request, the name of the individual filing
the request, the official position of an individual
filing the request on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

Claimant questions regarding TOP shall be
directed to a Recovery Specialist by telephone
to (919) 707-1338, or email at
des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com.

(k) Employer Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury
Offset Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Tax Administration
Section by mail or facsimile.

)

2
®)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
request, the docket or identification number of
the TOP notice, the name of the employer, each
reason for the request, the name of the
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()

individual filing the request, the official
position of an individual filing the request on
behalf of the party, and a telephone number.

Employer questions regarding TOP shall be
directed to the Tax Administration Section by
telephone to (919) 707-1150, facsimile at (919)
733-1255, or email at
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.

() Appeals from an Appeals Decision shall be filed with the
Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or email.

(1)

(2)
)

(4)

Q)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690.

The email address is
des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and appeals submitted by
email outside the SCUBI system shall not
include social security numbers or employer
account numbers.

Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
appeal, the docket or issue identification
number of the determination being appealed,
the claimant's identification number, the names
of the claimant and employer, each reason for
the appeal, the name of the individual filing the
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

(m) Protests or appeals of adequacy determinations shall be filed
with the Claims Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile.

1)

)
©)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina. 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the determination
being protested or appealed, the name of the
employer, each reason for the protest or appeal,
the name of the party filing the protest or
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the
party, and a telephone number.

(n) Protests or appeals of a Tax Liability Determination shall be
filed with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or

®)

shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the determination
being appealed, the claimant's identification
number, the names of the claimant and
employer, each reason for the protest or appeal,
the name of the individual filing the protest or
appeal, the official position of an individual
filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the
party, and a telephone number.

(o) Protests or appeals of a Tax Rate Assignment shall be filed
with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email.

o))

2
©)

(4)

©®)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and protests or appeals
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the rate assignment,
the name and address of the employer, the
employer's account number, each reason for the
protest or appeal, the name of the individual
filing the protest or appeal, the official position
of an individual filing the protest or appeal on
behalf of the party, and a telephone number.

(p) Protests or appeals of Audit Results shall be filed with the Tax
Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email.

M

2
©)

(4)

®)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and protests or appeals
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or

email. identification number of the result being
1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, protested or appealed, the name of the
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. employer, each reason for the protest or appeal,
2 The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197. the name of the individual filing the protest or
3) The email address is appeal, the official position of an individual
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the
4) Correspondence and protests or appeals party, and a telephone number.
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
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(q) Protests or appeals of Tax Assessments shall be filed with the
Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email.

(1)

(2)
3)

(4)

(5)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and protests or appeals
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the assessment being
protested or appealed, the name of the
employer, each reason for the protest or appeal,
the name of the individual filing the protest or
appeal, the official position of the individual
filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the
party, and a telephone number.

(r) Exceptions to a Tax Opinion shall be filed with the Board of
Review by mail, facsimile, or email.

1)
(2)

(3)
(4)

()

The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263.

The facsimile number is (919) 715-7193.

The email address is BOR@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and exceptions submitted by
email outside the SCUBI system shall not
include social security numbers or employer
account numbers.

Exceptions shall be filed by a party or a party's
legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC
24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the
exceptions, the docket or identification number
of the tax opinion, the claimant's identification
number, the names of the claimant and
employer, the name of the individual filing the
exceptions, each reason for the exceptions, the
official position of an individual filing the
exceptions on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

(s) Requests for non-charging of benefits to an employer's
account, and protests or appeals of benefit charges to an
employer's account shall be filed with the Claims Unit in SCUBI,
by mail, or facsimile.

1)

(2)
3)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.

The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.
Correspondence, requests, protests, or appeals
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Requests for non-charging and protests or
appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's legal
representative as defined in 04 NCAC 24A
.0105 and shall contain the date of the request,
the docket or employer's identification number,

the name of the employer, each reason for the
request, the name and official position of the
individual filing the request, protest, or appeal,
on behalf of the party, and a telephone number.

(t) Requests for seasonal determinations and protests or appeals
of a Denial of Seasonal Assignment shall be filed with the Tax
Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email.

o))

2
@)

(4)

®)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, NC 27611-6504.

The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197.

The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and protests or appeal
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the denial being
appealed, the name of the employer, each
reason for the protest or appeal, the name of the
individual filing the protest or appeal, the
official position of an individual filing the
protest or appeal on behalf of the party, and a
telephone number.

(u) Transmittal of interstate work search records and photo
identification shall be filed with the Claims Unit by mail or

facsimile.

M)
)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967.
The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296.

(v) Requests for oral arguments or to reschedule oral arguments
shall be filed with the Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail,
facsimile, or email.

@)

2
©)

(4)

(4)

The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263.

The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690.

The email address is
des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com.
Correspondence and requests for oral
arguments submitted by email outside the
SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.
Requests for oral arguments shall be filed by a
party or a party's legal representative as defined
in 04 NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the
date of the request, the docket or issue
identification number of the decision being
appealed, the claimant's identification number,
the names of the claimant and employer, the
name and official position of the individual
filing the request on behalf of the party, a
telephone number, and a statement that a copy
of the request was served on the opposing party,
if one exists.
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(w) Employers may file requests for compromise of tax debts
with DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or
email.
1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh,
NC 27611-6504.
(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

3) The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
4) Correspondence submitted by email outside the

SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the request,
the name of the employer, the name and official
position of the individual filing the election on
behalf of the employer, and a telephone
number.

(x) Employers electing to pay reimbursements for benefits, rather
than contributions, shall submit written notice of their election to
DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email.

1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh,
NC 27611-6504.

)] The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255.

3 The email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com.
(@) Correspondence submitted by email outside the

SCUBI system shall not include social security
numbers or employer account numbers.

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the notice of
election, the name and address of the employer,
the name and official position of the individual
filing the election on behalf of the employer,
and a telephone number.

(y) Employers shall make payments to DES by credit card, money
order, electronic check, business check with funds drawn from a
U.S. financial institution, cashier's check from a U.S. financial
institution, automated clearing house (ACH) credit, or cash.

(D) Payments made by money order, business
check, cashier's check, or cash shall be sent by
mail or delivery service to DES's Tax
Administration Section, Post Office Box
26504, Raleigh, NC 27611-6504, or by delivery
to an agent of DES designated to accept
payments in accordance with G.S. 96-10.

2 Payments by electronic transmission shall be
made on DES's website.

3 Payments by ACH credit shall be initiated by
employers through their U.S. financial
institution.

(z) Claimants shall make payments to DES by cashier's check
from a U.S. financial institution, by personal check with funds
drawn from a U.S. financial institution, by money order, or by
credit card.

1) Payments by mail or delivery service shall be
sent to the Benefit Payment Control (BPC)
Unit, Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, NC
27611-5903.

(2) Payments by credit card shall be made on DES's
website, or by calling BPC at (919) 707-1338.

(aa) Payment of fees for transcripts shall be made by money
order, cashier's check from a U.S. financial institution, or by
personal or business check with funds drawn from a U.S. financial
institution.

€8} An agency of state or federal government, a
county, or a municipality may pay fees by draft.

2) Payment shall be sent by mail to DES's Office
of Finance & Budget, Post Office Box 25903,
Raleigh, NC 27611-5903.

(bb) Protests or appeals from a Result of Investigation shall be
filed with the Legal Services Section ATTN: Chief Counsel, by
mail or facsimile.

Q) The mailing address is Post Office Box 25903,
Raleigh, NC 27611-5903.

2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-8745.

(3) Correspondence and protests or appeals
submitted by email outside the SCUBI system
shall not include social security numbers or
employer account numbers.

4) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a
party's legal representative as defined in 04
NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of
the protest or appeal, the docket or
identification number of the determination or
result being appealed, the claimant's
identification number, the names of the
claimant and employer, each reason for the
protest or appeal, the name of the individual
filing the protest or appeal, the official position
of an individual filing the protest or appeal on
behalf of the party, and a telephone number.

(5) Questions regarding Results of Investigation
shall be directed to the Legal Services Section
by telephone to (919) 707-1025, or facsimile to

(919) 733-8745.

Authority G.S. 75-62; 96-4; 96-9.6; 96-9.8; 96-10; 96-10.1; 96-
14.1; 96-15; 96-17; 96-18; 96-40; 20 C.F.R. 603.4; 20 CFR
603.8.

SECTION .0200 - REQUESTS FOR DOCUMENTS AND
PUBLIC RECORDS UNRELATED TO CONTESTED
CLAIM

04 NCAC 24A .0206 METHOD OF PAYMENT
2) I il ’ | . hecl

27611-5903.
Payment of fees for the release of records unrelated to a pending

matter or contested case shall be made to DES in accordance with
04 NCAC 24A .0104(aa).

Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.8.
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SECTION .0500 - REQUESTS FOR DOCUMENTS,
HEARING RECORDINGS, AND TRANSCRIPTS
RELATED TO PENDING APPEAL OR CONTESTED
CASE

04 NCAC 24A .0501
REQUIRED
(a) A party requesting a copy of file documents, a digital
recording of a hearing, or a written transcript of a hearing in a
matter where an appeal is pending shall submit the request in
writing.
(b) A party's written request for a copy of the file documents,
digital recording of the hearing, or written transcript of the hearing
shall include:

@) the name and address of the party making the

WRITTEN REQUEST

4) is represented by a legal services organization
that has as its primary purpose the furnishing of
legal services to indigent persons;

(5) is represented by private counsel working on
behalf of or under the auspices of a legal
services organization in accordance with
Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph; or

(6) is_represented by private counsel under a
written agreement to provide pro bono legal
services.

Authority G.S. 1-110; 96-4; 96-15.

04 NCAC 24A .0503 INVOICE AND FEES
(a) A party who requests a copy of the file documents or a digital

request;

recording in a pending appeal or contested case under this Section

(2) the claimant's name, if applicable; shall be provided with the file documents and digital recording

3) the employer's name, if applicable; free of charge.

4 the docket or issue identification number of the (b) A request for a written transcript of the hearing shall include
case; payment assurance by stating that the requesting party will pay

5) the date or approximate date that the record was the fee for the transcript as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0501.
made; Payment is due upon receipt, but no more than 15 days after the

(6) the person or office that made the record; and date that the transcript was mailed or transmitted to the party.

@ the name and address to which the record shall (c) A party who requests a written transcript of a hearing but does

be sent.
(c) When a party has requested a written transcript, any other

not provide payment assurance in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A
.0501 or the required affidavit and proof in accordance with 04

party with appeal rights to the proceeding may request a copy of

NCAC 24A .0501 shall receive a digital recording of the hearing

the transcript. The request shall meet the requirements of

free of charge.

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule.
(d) The request may accompany or be included in an appeal letter.

(d) A party who requests a written transcript of a hearing with
payment assurance as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0501 shall

Requests may also be submitted to the Legal Services Section,

receive a written transcript. An invoice for the fees charged by

ATTN: Request for Hearing Record by mail to Post Office Box

DES shall accompany the transcript and shall not exceed the lesser

25903, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27611-5903, or by facsimile to

of sixty-five cents per page or sixty-five dollars ($65.00) per

919) 733-8745.
(e) Requests for file documents, digital recordings, or hearing

transcript pursuant to G.S. 96-15(f).
(e) Payment for transcripts under this Section shall include the

transcripts from any individual or entity who is not a party with

invoice number and be made in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A

appeal rights in the proceeding shall be evaluated pursuant to

.0104(aa).

Section .0200 of this Subchapter.

() _Requests for file documents, digital recordings, or hearing
transcripts in a matter where appeal rights have expired and the
decision became final shall be made in accordance with Section

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.8.

04 NCAC 24A .0504 DISCLOSURE OF RECORDS

.0200 of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.5.

04 NCAC 24A .0502 INDIGENCY
(a) A party who is unable to provide payment assurance with a

RELATED TO PENDING APPEAL OR CONTESTED
CASE

(a) The Chief Counsel or designee shall transmit a copy of the
requested record to the requesting party by mail, unless the party
requests or authorizes delivery by electronic transmission or
delivery service in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A .0103.

written transcript request pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0501 may

(b) A party who files an appeal to the superior court from a

proceed in forma pauperis. The party may obtain a transcript if the

decision of the Board of Review regarding the rights, liabilities,

request is accompanied by a written affidavit stating that he or she

and status of an employer and complies with the requirements of

is unable to advance the required costs, and proof pursuant to

G.S. 96-4 shall receive a copy of the transcript, papers, evidence,

Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
(b) The Chief Counsel or designee shall authorize release of the

and assignment of errors free of charge when it is transmitted to
the court in accordance with G.S. 96-4(q).

transcript to an indigent if the person submits the required

(c) A party who files a petition for judicial review and complies

affidavit and meets one or more of the following criteria:

with the requirements of G.S. 96-15 shall receive a copy of the

Q) receives electronic food and nutrition benefits; transcript and entire record under review free of charge when it is
(2 receives Work First Family Assistance; transmitted to the court in accordance with G.S. 96-15(h).
3) receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI);

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603.5.
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SUBCHAPTER 24B - BENEFITS

SECTION .0600 - UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
BENEFIT OVERPAYMENTS

04 NCAC 24B .0601
OVERPAYMENT
(@) A determination by DES finding an overpayment of benefits
to a claimant shall contain:

NOTICE REQUIREMENT FOR

1) the date the determination was mailed or sent to
the claimant by electronic transmission;
2 reasons for the overpayment;

3) the statutory authority under G.S. 96-18(g)(3)
for seeking repayment of the overpayment;

4) notice that the claimant may protest the
overpayment determination and instructions on
how to protest the overpayment determination
as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(c); and

(5) notice that the claimant may file a request for
waiver of the overpayment in the same manner
as
Rule. provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(q).

(b) A determination notifying a claimant of an overpayment of
benefits caused by the reversal of a previous decision that found
the claimant eligible or not disqualified to receive benefits shall
contain the same information contained in Subparagraphs (a)(1)
through (3) of this Rule, and shall:

(1) have no protest rights;

(2) notify the claimant that the overpayment may
only be protested by appealing the underlying
decision that ruled the claimant ineligible or
disqualified for benefits; and

3 notify the claimant that DES shall not consider
a request to waive repayment of an
overpayment while an appeal of the underlying
decision that resulted in the overpayment is
pending, or until the underlying decision that
resulted in the overpayment is final.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-18.

SUBCHAPTER 24C - INITIAL APPEALS FROM
DETERMINATION

SECTION .0200 — INITIAL APPEALS HEARING
04 NCAC 24C .0210 HEARSAY

(a) Hearsay evidence shall be accepted as eredible competent
evidence only when it:

1) falls within the statutory or common law
exceptions to the hearsay rules; or

(2) has an equivalent indicia of trustworthiness as
competent evidence; and

3) is more probative on the point for which it is

offered than any other evidence which the party
offering the hearsay could reasonably be
expected to procure.

(b) The Appeals Referee may permit the parties to file an affidavit

at the time of the hearing-in-the same-manneras-applicableto-other
hearsay-evidence: hearing.

Authority G.S. 8C, Art. 8; 96-4; 96-15.

SECTION .0300 - LEGAL REPRESENTATION FOR
INITIAL APPEALS

04 NCAC 24C .0301
PROCEEDINGS
(a) An individual who is a party to a proceeding may represent
himself or herself before an Appeals Referee.

(b) A partnership er—association may be represented by an
employee or any of its-members: the partners.

(c) A corporation may be represented by an efficer: officer,
employee, or agent as defined in G.S. 32C-1-102.

(d) An association may be represented by an employee or any of
its members.

{d)(e) Any party may be represented by a legal representative as
defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105.

ADMINISTRATIVE

Authority G.S. 84; 96-4; 96-15; 96-17.
SUBCHAPTER 24D - TAX ADMINISTRATION
SECTION .0600 - REPORTS

04 NCAC 24D .0601 GENERAL FORMAT OF
REPORTS AND FORMS AND METHODS OF
SUBMISSION

(a) The following shall file the pertion-oftherequired Employer's
Quarterly Tax and Wage Report (Form NCUI 101) that-centains

employee-on-magnetic-or-electronic-media using a compact eisk;
disks, enlineremote-tax—fiting; or upload-of-datafile electronic
transmission via the internet fermat: at des.nc.gov, or paper
returns.

@ employers with 25 10 or more employees in any
one calendar quarter; and
2 other entities, including agents reporting on

behalf of employers, who file reports for a
client employer with a total of 25 10 or more
employees in any one calendar quarter.
(b) Quarterly The Employer's Quarterly Tax and Wage Reports
{Ferm-NCU}-101) shall contain the:

(€] quarter for which the wages are being reported;

(2) employer's account number;

3) tax rate assigned by DES;

2) date that the NCUI 101 was due to DES;

(3) total amount of taxable wages paid to
employees in accordance with G.S. 96-9.3;

4) total amount of wages that exceed the taxable
wages;

(5) total amount of tax due for the quarter;

(6) total amount of interest due for the quarter;

(1) amount of late filing penalty in accordance with

G.S. 96-10, if applicable;
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(8) amount of late payment penalty in accordance (f) A successor employer's completion and submission of an
with G.S. 96-10, if applicable; Application for Partial Transfer of Experience Rating Account
9 name, social security number, and gross wages (Form NCUI 603) for a transfer pursuant to G.S. 96-11.7(b)

of each employee;

within two years of the date that part of the organization, trade, or

(10) name, title, telephone number, and signature of business was transferred, with the information described in
the individual submitting the NCUI 101 on Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and by any means set forth in 04 NCAC
behalf of the employer; and 24A .0104(0) shall satisfy the requirements of this Rule.

{e)(q) The successor employer's completion and submission of

section:

(c) Employers, including agents, who file an Employer's
Quarterly Tax and Wage Report for a client employer with less
than 25 10 total employees in any one calendar quarter may: shall

Form NCUI 603 for a transfer pursuant to G.S. 96-11.7(c) within
30 days of the mailing date of the written determination that part
of the organization, trade, or business was transferred, with the
information described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and by any
means set forth in accordance-with-Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0104(0)

use compact disks, electronic transmission via DES's website, or
“ag'.e“,e;' elleet ORiE |e|d|a Fepe ;'5' 9 eel pact-disks IEEFS.IS
paper returns.

(d) A-magnetic-or-electronic-media—wage-report-from-agents
Agents reporting on behalf of employers with less than 10
employees may submit compact disks, electronic transmissions
via DES's website, or paper returns that contain information from
multiple employers.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15.

SECTION .0700 - TRANSFER OF EXPERIENCE RATING
TO RELATED-ENTY SUCCESSOR ACCOUNT

04 NCAC 24D .0702 REQUIREMENTS FOR
TRANSFER OF EXPERIENCE

(@ A successor employer shall submit use the following
information to—DBES when requesting a partial transfer of
experience rating:

@ the total three-year taxable payroll ending June
30th prior to the last computation date for the
transferring employer; and

2 the total three-year taxable payroll ending June
30th prior to the last computation date for the
transferring employer, relating to the severable
portion acquired.

(b) Netwithstanding Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an alternate three-year payroll may be used when the severed or
retained unit was not operated by the transferring employer during
the three-year period ending June 30th prior to the last
computation date.

(c) A successor employer that acquires the experience rating
account, either total or partial, shall be liable for accrued benefits
and acquire related rights based on the transferring employer's
employment prior to the acquisition. Benefit charges to the
transferring or successor employer shall be made in accordance
with the percentage used to transfer the experience rating account,
based on wages paid prior to the transfer.

(d) The requirements of this Section shall apply to transfers
mandated by law, and those requiring DES's approval pursuant to
G.S. 96-11.7.

(e) DES shall issue a written determination of whether there was
a partial or total transfer of an experience rating account when a
request for a transfer of experience rating account is made by a
successor employer.

shall satisfy the requirements of this Rule.
(h) Form NCUI 603 shall contain:
€8} the date that part of the organization, trade, or
business was transferred;

2) the percent of the payroll transferred to the
successor;

(3) the percent of the payroll retained by the
predecessor;

4) whether the successor employer is related to the
predecessor employer;

(5) the predecessor employer's name and account
number;

(5) the name, title, and signature of individual
signing the form on behalf of the predecessor
employer;

(6) the date that individual signed the form on
behalf of the predecessor employer;

@) the successor employer's name and account
number;

(8) the name, title, and signature of individual

signing the form on behalf of the successor
employer; and
9) the date that individual signed the form on
behalf of the successor employer.
(i) A successor employer that disagrees with a determination that
there was a partial or total transfer of an experience rating account,
or with the tax rate set forth in the determination, may file a
written protest of the determination and request a hearing.
€8] The protest shall be filed with DES's Tax
Administration Section within 30 days from the
date that the determination is mailed pursuant
to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(0), as for protests of a
Tax Rate Assignment.
(2) Hearings requested pursuant to this Section
shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F
.0303.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-11.7.

04 NCAC 24D .0703 LATE NOTICE OF TRANSFER
(a) The following definitions shall apply in this Rule:
Q) A related transfer means as defined in G.S.
11.7(c).
(2) An "unrelated transfer" means transfers other
than those defined in G.S. 11.7(c).
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(b) A successor employer shall notify DES of an unrelated
transfer within two years of the date that part of the organization,
trade, or business was transferred in accordance with G.S. 96-
11.7(b) and 04 NCAC 24D .0702. If a successor employer does
not notify DES within two years of the date that part of the
organization, trade, or business was transferred, and later requests
a _redetermination of its tax rate, DES shall not approve the
transfer, and shall notify the employer in writing.

(c) A successor employer shall notify DES of a related transfer
within 10 days of the date that part of the organization, trade, or
business was transferred in accordance with G.S. 96-11.7(c) and
pursuant to 04 NCAC 24D .0702. If a successor employer does
not notify DES of a related transfer within 10 days of the date that
part of the organization, trade, or business was transferred, and
later requests a redetermination of its tax rate, DES shall
recalculate the tax rate back to the date of acquisition, or January
1 of the year in which it received notice of the transfer, whichever
is later.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-11.7.
SECTION .0900 - SPECIAL TAX INVESTIGATIONS

04 NCAC 24D .0901
INVESTIGATIONS
(@ When it is discovered by a representative of DES that a
claimant is alleging that he or she was an employee and the
employer is alleging that the claimant was not an employee, the
matter shall be referred to DES's Assistant Secretary in writing.
(b) The Assistant Secretary, on behalf of DES, shall refer the
matter to the Tax Administration Section for an investigation.
Upon receipt of the findings of the investigation, the Assistant
Secretary shall issue a Result of Investigation by the Tax
Administration Section. The Result of Investigation shall be in
writing and mailed to each party to the controversy pursuant to 04
NCAC 24A .0103.

(c) The Result of Investigation shall provide notice of each party's
rights for filing an appeal to obtain a hearing before the Board of
Review, and the 10-day time period from the date of mailing
within which an appeal shall be filed pursuant to 84-NCAC24A
:0104(n)- 04 NCAC 24A .0104(bb).

(d) Appeal hearings pursuant to this Section shall be upon order
of the Board of Review and conducted pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F
.0303.

SPECIAL TAX

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2.

SECTION .1000 - REQUESTS AND HEARINGS TO
REVIEW AND REDETERMINE TAX RATE

04 NCAC 24D .1002 DIVISION'S OBLIGATIONS
(@) DES shall review the employing unit's request to review and
redetermine its tax rate and all available facts, and shall issue a
written ruling. The ruling shall be mailed to the employing unit's
address as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0103 and include the
following:
(1) whether the application was granted or denied;
(2) the applicable legal authority, with specific
citations, for the ruling;

?3) the mailing date of the notice;

4 a statement containing the employer's right to
appeal the notice; and

(5) the time period within which an appeal may be
filed.

(b) The employing unit may file an a written appeal of the ruling
and request a hearing.

1) The appeal shall be filed with DES's Tax
Administration Section within 30 days of the
mailing date of the redetermination ruling
pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(0).

2 Hearings requested pursuant to this Section
shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F
.0303.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2.
SECTION 1400—RECORDS .0600 - FORMS

04 NCAC24D-1401-04 NCAC 24A .0601 OFFICIAL
FORMS
(a) Unless otherwise provided, all employer forms referenced
under the rules of this Chapter are available at des.nc.gov, or by
contacting the Employer Call Center (ECC) as follows:
(8] mailing address is Post Office Box 26504,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27611;
2) phone number is (919) 707-1150;
3 facsimile number is (919) 715-0780; or
(@) email address is
des.tax.customerservice@nccomerce.com.
(b) Unless otherwise provided, all claimant forms referenced
under the rules of this Chapter are available at des.nc.gov, or by
contacting the Customer Call Center (CCC) as follows:
D mailing address is P.O. Box 25903, Raleigh,
NC 27611-5903;
2 phone number is (888) 737-0259;
3 facsimile number is (919) 250-4315; or
(@) email address is
des.ui.customerservice@nccommerce.com.

Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-16.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0101, .0202,
.0301; 09G .0302, and .0307.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-
justice/forms-and-publications/

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2020
Public Hearing:

Date: August 12, 2020
Time: 10:00 a.m.
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Location: Wake Technical Community College Public Safety ?3)
Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh, NC 27502

be of good moral character pursuant to G.S.
17C-10 and as evidenced by the following:

(a) not having been convicted of a felony;
Reason for Proposed Action: To provide clarity regarding when (b) not having been convicted of a
and to who an officer should report charges. School Director must misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC
include the orientation class roster with the course post-delivery. 09B .0111(1) for five years or the
To prohibit instructors, school directors, and qualified assistants completion of any corrections
from being involved with students. To provide clarity regarding supervision imposed by the courts,
when and to who a correctional officer or probation/parole whichever is later;
officer should report charges. (c) not having been convicted of an
offense that; that would prohibit the
Comments may be submitted to: Charminique D. Williams, PO possession of a firearm or
Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602 ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922,
incorporated by reference with
Comment period ends: August 12, 2020 subsequent amendments and editions
(found at no cost at
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative (hitpHwnnnegpe-geviidsys/pkgldSC
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the ODBE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules pdb),
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules (https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pk
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 0/USCODE-2018-
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the partl-chap44.pdf); weuld-prohibit-the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, possession—of——a—firearm—or
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). ammunition;
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. (d) having submitted to and produced a
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. negative result on a drug test within 60
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery days of employment or any in-service
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any drug screening required by the
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the appointing agency that meets the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431- certification  standards of the
3000. Department of Health and Human
Services for Federal Workplace Drug
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this Testing Programs. A list of certified
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. drug testing labs that meet this
] State funds affected requirement may be obtained, at no
] Local funds affected cost, at
[] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) (https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-
L] Approved by OSBM campaigns/drug-free-
X No fiscal note required workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-
testing/certified-lab-list);
CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND (e) submitting to a  background
TRAINING STANDARDS investigation  consisting of  the
verification of age and education and a
SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL criminal history check of local, state,
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND and national files;
TRAINING ) being truthful in providing
information to the appointing agency
SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR and to the Standards Division for the
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT purpose of obtaining probationary or
general certification;
12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR (9) not having pending or outstanding
CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS felony charges that, if convicted of
Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received such charges, would disqualify the
a conditional offer of employment for a certified position applicant  from  holding  such
employed by an agency in North Carolina shall: certification, pursuant to Nerth
(1) be a citizen of the United States; Carolina-General Statute G.S. 17C-13;
(2) be at least 20 years of age; and
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(4)

(%)

(h) not engage in any conduct that brings
into question the truthfulness or
credibility of the officer, or involves
"moral turpitude." "Moral turpitude”
Furpitude™ is conduct that is contrary
to justice, honesty, or morality,
including conduct as defined in: In re
Willis 288 re-Withs—299 N.C. 1, 215
S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S.
976 (1975); in—+e State v. Harris, 216
N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); in In
re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d
174(1989); in re Applicants for
License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635
(1906); #a In re Dillingham, 188 N.C.
162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v.
Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d
647 (1983); and later court decisions
that cite these cases as authority.

have been fingerprinted and a search made of
local, state, and national files to disclose any
criminal record;
have been examined and certified by a licensed
surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or
nurse  practitioner to meet physical
requirements necessary to properly fulfill the
officer's particular responsibilities and shall
have produced a negative result on a drug
screen administered according to the following
specifications:

€)] the drug screen shall be a urine test
consisting of an initial screening test
using an immunoassay method and a
confirmatory test on an initial positive
result using a gas
chromatography/mass  spectrometry
(GC/MS) or other reliable initial and
confirmatory tests as may, from time
to time, be authorized or mandated by
the Department of Health and Human
Services for Federal Workplace Drug
Testing Programs;

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained
on the specimen from collection to the
eventual discarding of the specimen;

(© the drug screen shall test for the
presence of at least cannabis, cocaine,
phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and
amphetamines or their metabolites;

(d) the test threshold values meet the
requirements established by the
Department of Health and Human
Services for Federal Workplace Drug
Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR
7920 (2017)  incorporated by
reference, including later amendments
and editions (found at no cost at

(6)

)

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-
federal-workplace-drug-testing-
programs);

(e) the test conducted shall be not more
than 60 days old, calculated from the
time when the laboratory reports the
results to the date of employment;

f the laboratory conducting the test shall
be certified for federal workplace drug
testing programs, and shall adhere to
applicable federal rules, regulations,
and guidelines pertaining to the
handling, testing, storage, and
preservation of samples;

have been administered a psychological
screening  examination by a clinical
psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice
in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist
or psychiatrist authorized to practice in
accordance with the rules and regulations of the
United States Armed Forces within one year
prior to employment by the employing agency
to determine the officer's mental and emotional
suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities
of the position;
have been interviewed personally by the
Department department head or his the
department head representative or
representatives to determine such things as the
applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and
ability to eommunicate; and make the following
notifications:

8)(a) within 30 days of the qualifying event
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing department head in writing
of all criminal offenses that for which
the officer is arrested-for-or charged or
arrested. This shall include traffic
offenses identified in the Class B
Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of
driving under the influence (DUI) or
driving while impaired (DWI).

(b) within 30 days of the qualifying event
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing department head in writing
of all criminal offenses for which the
officer with; pleads no contest te;
pleads guilty te or of which the officer

is found guilty. guiltyef-as—wel-as
e \Jiol lers (50B) 1

i odicial_official This
shall include al—eriminal—offenses

except—minor  traffic  offenses
identified in the Class B Misdemeanor
Manual and offenses of driving under
the influence (DUI) or driving while

impaired (DWI); and-shall-specifically

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu include-any-offense-of-Driving-Under
ments/2017/01/23/2017- Fhe-tnfluence-(BU-or-Briving-\While
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within 30 days of the date the case was
disposed of in court, the department
head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the officer's arrests or
criminal charges and final
dispositions, shall also notify the
Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition;

(d) within 30 days of the issuance of all
Domestic Violence Protective Orders
(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact
Orders (G.S. 50C), the department
head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the order, shall also
notify the Standards Division of these
orders.

The required notifications in this Rule shall be
in writing and shall specify the nature of the
offense or order, the court in which the case was
handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge,
or service of the order, and the final disposition.
The notification shall include a certified copy of
the order or court documentation and final
disposition from the Clerk of Court in the
county of adjudication. The requirements of
this_subparagraph shall be applicable at all
times during which the officer is employed and
certified by the Commission and shall also
apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt
by the Standards Division of a single
notification, from the officer or the department
head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance
with this ltem.
notify the Standards Division within 30 days of
being notified that because of the officer's lack
of honesty, truthfulness, or credibility, the
officer may not testify in court as a law
enforcement officer. This provision shall apply
only to notifications:

[6)) made in writing by a superior court
judge, district court judge, federal
judge, district attorney, assistant
district _ attorney, United States
Attorney, Assistant United States
Attorney, or the officer's department
head, or

(b) made in open court by a superior court
judge, district court judge, or federal
judge. The officer's notification to the
Standards Division shall be in writing
and shall state who notified the officer
that the officer may not testify in court
as a law enforcement officer and when
the officer was so notified. An officer
required to notify the Standards
Division under this subparagraph shall
make the same notification to his or
her department head within thirty days
of being notified that he or she may not
testify in court as a law enforcement
officer. A department head who is
notified that an officer in his or her
agency has been notified that the
officer may not testify in court as a law
enforcement officer shall also notify
the Standards Division within thirty
days of the department head's receipt
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of such notice. Receipt by the
Standards Division of a single
notification, from either the officer or
the department head, shall be
sufficient notice for compliance with
this ltem.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

SECTION .0200 — MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL
JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF

INSTRUCTION

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE
SCHOOL DIRECTOR

(@ In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each
Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School

Director shall:

(1)

)
©)

(4)

()

(6)

()

(8)
(©)

Formalize and schedule the course curriculum
in accordance with the curriculum standards
established in this Subchapter;

Select and schedule instructors who are

certified by the Commission;

Provide each instructor with a current

Commission course outline and all necessary

additional  information  concerning  the

instructor's duties and responsibilities;

Notify each instructor that he or she shall

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement

Training Course Management Guide and

provide him or her access to the most current

version of the Course Management Guide;

Review each instructor's lesson plans and other

instructional materials for conformance to

Commission standards and to minimize

repetition and duplication of subject matter;

Arrange for the availability of appropriate

audiovisual aids and materials, publications,

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic
areas;

Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any

supplemental  rules and  requirements

determined by the school to be necessary or
appropriate for:

(A) effective course delivery;

(B) establishing  responsibilities  and
obligations of agencies or departments
employing or sponsoring course
trainees; and

© regulating trainee participation and
demeanor, ensuring trainee
attendance, and maintaining

performance records;
If appropriate, recommend housing and dining
facilities for trainees;
Administer the course delivery in accordance
with Commission procedures and standards,
give consideration to advisory guidelines issued

by the Commission, and ensure that the training
offered is safe and effective;

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and
control over the performance of all persons to
whom any portion of the planning,
development, presentation, or administration of
a course has been delegated. The
comprehensive final examination shall be
administered by the Criminal Justice Education
and Training Standards Commission; and

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a
Commission-certified criminal justice training
course to the Commission.

(12) All forms required for submission to the
Commission are located on the Agency's
website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-
DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-
Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-
Training-Standards/Forms-and-
Publications.aspx.

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School
Director shall:

(8] Deliver training in accordance with the most
current version of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide as
published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy;

2) Schedule course presentation to include 12
hours of instruction each week during
consecutive calendar weeks, except that there
may be as many as three one-week breaks until
course requirements are completed;

3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified
by the Commission to teach those high-liability
areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this
Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as
assistant instructors or role players;

4 With the exception of the First Responder,
Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous
Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule
.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one
specialized instructor certified by the
Commission for each every six trainees while
actively engaged in a practical performance
exercise;

(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by
the Commission for each every eight trainees
while actively engaged in a practical
performance exercise in the topical area
"Subject Control Arrest Techniques;"

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more
than 35 percent of the total hours of the
curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course
presentation;

@) Not less than 45 30 days before commencing
delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement
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(8)

Training Course, submit to the Commission a
Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation as-set-eutin pursuant to 12 NCAC
09C .0211. The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-
10A) shall indicate a requested date and
location for the administration of the state

comprehensive exam, and include the

following attachments:

(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments; and

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements

for the school. A copy of such rules
shall also be given to each trainee and
to the executive officer of each
trainee’'s employing or sponsoring
agency or department at the time the
trainee enrolls in the course;
Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by
the Commission to monitor, a presentation of
each instructor once during each three year
certification period in each topic taught by the
instructor and prepare a written evaluation on
the instructor's performance and suitability for
subsequent instructional assignments. The
observations shall be of sufficient duration to
ensure that the instructor is using the
Instructional System Design model, and that the
delivery is ebjective—based; objective-based,
documented by, and consistent with a
Commission-approved lesson plan. For each
topic area, the School Director's evaluation
shall be based upon the course delivery
observations, the instructor's use of the
approved lesson plan, and the results of the
student evaluations of the instructor. For
probationary instructors, the evaluations
conducted by another instructor shall be
prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor
Evaluation (Ferm—F-16);, (Form F-16) and
forwarded to the Commission. Based on this
evaluation, the School Director shall
recommend approval or denial of requests for
General Instructor Certification. For all other
instructors, these evaluations shall be prepared
on the Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation
(Form F-16), be kept on file by the school for a
period of three years, and shall be made
available for inspection by a representative of
the Commission upon request. In the event the
evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or
her performance was less than acceptable, the
School Director shall forward a copy of the
evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor
who is evaluating the instructional presentation
of another instructor shall hold certification in
the same instructional topic area as that for
which the instructor is being evaluated;

©)

(10)

Administer or designate a staff person to
administer appropriate tests during course
delivery:

(A) to determine and record the level of
trainee comprehension and retention
of instructional subject- matter;

(B) to provide a basis for a final
determination or recommendation
regarding the minimum degree of
knowledge and skill of each trainee to
function as an inexperienced law
enforcement officer; and

© to determine subject or topic areas of
deficiency for the application of Rule
.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and

Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include:

(A) a "Student Course Completion” form
for each individual enrolled on the day
of orientation; and

(B) a "Certification and Test
Release" form- form;

© the "Police Office Physical Ability
Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final
form; and

(D) Orientation class enrollment roster.

Score

(c) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course,” the
School Director shall:

@)

O]

Schedule course presentation to include a
minimum of 40 78 hours of instruction during
the time period the class is taught until course

requirements are completed. each-week-during
- lond |

Schedule at least one evaluator for each six
trainees, as follows:

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more
than six trainees during a course
delivery;

(B) each evaluator, as well as the

instructors, shall have completed a
Commission-certified instructor
training course or an equivalent
instructor training course utilizing the
Instructional Systems Design model,
an international model  with
applications in education, military
training, and private enterprise; and
© each instructor and evaluator shall
document successful participation in a
program presented by the North
Carolina  Justice  Academy for
purposes of familiarization and
supplementation relevant to delivery
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of the instructor training course and
trainee evaluation; evaluation.

3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing
delivery of the course, submit to the
Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training
Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)]Jwith
the following attachments:

(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments;

(B) the names and last four digits of the
social security numbers of all
instructors and evaluators; and

© a copy of any rules, and requirements
for the school; and

4) Not more than 10 days after course completion,
submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery
Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the

following:

(A) class enrollment roster;

(B) a course schedule with the designation
of instructors and evaluators utilized
in delivery;

© scores recorded for each trainee on the
80 70 minute skill presentation; and

(D) designation of trainees who completed

the course in its entirety and whom the
School Director finds to be competent

to instruct.
(d) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified radar,—+radar—and-time-distance,—time-distance—ortidar
RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR
speed measurement operator training course or re-certification

course, the School Director shall:

(D) select and schedule speed measurement
instrument instructors who are certified by the

Commission as instructors for the specific

speed measurement instruments in which the

trainees are to receive instruction as follows:

(A) provide to the instructor the
Commission form(s) for motor skill
examination on each trainee;

(B) require the instructor to complete the
motor skill examination form on each
trainee indicating the level of
proficiency obtained on each specific
instrument; and

© require each instructor to sign each
individual form and submit the
original to the School Director;

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled
starting date, submit to the Director of the

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of

Speed  Measuring  Instrument  Course

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall

contain a period of course delivery including

the proposed starting date, course location,

requested date and location for the
administration of the state exam, and the
number of trainees to be trained on each type of
approved speed measurement instrument. The
Director of the Standards Division shall review
the request and notify the School Director
within thirty business days if the request is
approved or denied; and

?3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-
certified course, and not more than 10 days after
the conclusion of a school's offering of a
certified radar—radarand-time-distance—time-
distance—ortidar RADAR, RADAR and Time-
Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed
measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall
notify the Commission regarding the progress
and achievements of each trainee by submitting
a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report
shall include the original motor-skill
examination form(s) completed and signed by
the certified instructor responsible for
administering the motor-skill examination to
the respective trainee.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS

12 NCAC 09B .0301
INSTRUCTORS
(a) A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal
justice training course or program as an instructor, teacher,
professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to
the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an
instructor.

(b) The Commission shall certify instructors under the following
categories:  General Instructor Certification, Specialized
Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as
outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and .0306 of this Section. Instructor
certification shall be granted on the basis of documented
qualifications of experience, education, and training in
accordance with the requirements of this Section and as stated on
the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form.

(c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each
instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-
certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized
areas. Such competence shall include remaining current in the
instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by
attending and completing all updated instructor training courses
required by the Commission.

(d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is
found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or
requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall
take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation
does not recur, including:

CERTIFICATION OF

34:19

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 1, 2020

1766



PROPOSED RULES

(1)
)
(3)
(4)

(5)

issuing an oral warning and request for
compliance;

issuing a written warning and request for
compliance;

issuing an official written reprimand;
suspending the individual's certification for a
specified period of time or until acceptable
corrective action is taken by the individual; and
revoking the individual's certification.

(e) The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's
certification when the Commission finds that the person:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

()

has failed to meet and maintain any of the
requirements for qualification;

has failed to remain competent in the person's
areas of expertise;

has failed to deliver training in a manner
consistent with the instructor lesson plans
outlined in the "Instructor Training Manual as
found in Rule .0209 of this Subchapter;

has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined
in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course Management Guide™ as found in Rule
.0205 of this Subchapter;

has demonstrated unprofessional personal
conduct in the delivery of Commission
approved or mandated Cemmission-mandated
training. For the purposes of this Subparagraph,
unprofessional personal conduct is identified

asmean&anﬂaepthaps—}eb—relateéeendueuha{

ﬁ%iiiié!i

violation of state or federal law;
a_conviction or commission of a
criminal offense, as set out in 12
NCAC 09A.0204;

© the willful violation of rules of this
Chapter;

(D) conduct that is detrimental to
instruction _in the Commission's
mandated  courses.  Conduct s
"detrimental to instruction” if the
conduct is demeaning or disruptive to
the learning environment;

(E) the physical and/or verbal abuse of a
client or student who the instructor is
teaching or supervising; or

(A) job-related conduct that constitutes a
(B)

(7)(6}
8)H

(9)8)

(F falsification of an instructor
application _or other employment
documentation;

is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant; is involved in the instruction of (for

instructors) or_oversight of (for School

Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student

with whom the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant has a close personal,

familial,  financial, dating, or  sexual

relationship, even if consensual; and fails to
take immediate and appropriate corrective
action. Appropriate corrective action requires
the instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant _to notify his or her managing

personnel in writing of the relationship and

requires the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant to stop instructing or

overseeing the student with whom the

relationship exists:

(A) the written notice to managing
personnel shall include:

(i) School/agency name;
ii Name of course;

(ii)
(iii) Name of the instructor,
(iv)
()

School Director, or Qualified

Assistant;

Name of student;

Name of

personnel; and
(vi) Nature of the relationship.

(B) the  written  notice from the

school/agency managing personnel to
the Standards Division shall be
submitted within 10 days of receipt of
notice _from the instructor, School
Director, or Qualified Assistant and
shall include:

managing

() School/agency name;

(ii) Name of course;

(iii) Name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant;

(iv) Name of student;

) Name of managing
personnel;

(vi) Nature of the relationship:;
and

Vil Explanation of action taken

to  ensure the named
instructor, School Director,
or Qualified Assistant is not
in violation of this Rule;
has demonstrated instructional incompetence;
has knowingly and willfully obtained or
attempted to obtain instructor certification by
deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;

has failed to meet or invelve-moral-turpitude

maintain good moral character as defined in: In
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re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771, appeal
cismissed dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975);
State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854
(1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d
174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143
N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham,
188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v.
Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983);
and later court decisions that cite these cases as
authority, and as required to discharge the
duties of a criminal justice instructor;

(10){9) has failed to deliver training in a manner
consistent with the Qualified Retired Law
Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification
Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC
09H .0102;

(11){26) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted
to aid any person in obtaining qualification or
certification under the Qualified Retired Law
Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification
Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or
misrepresentation;

(12)@4 has committed or been convicted of an offense
which could result in the denial, suspension, or
revocation of an officer's law enforcement
certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504;
or

(13)&2) has knowingly made a material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation.

(f) When a person certified as a law enforcement officer by the
North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission (Commission), the North Carolina
Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs'
Commission), the North Carolina Department of Insurance,
Office of State Fire Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire
Commission), Office of Emergency Medical Services North
Carolina Company/Campus Police Program; or a North Carolina,
out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency;
has been denied certification or had his or her certification
suspended or revoked by their respective Commission, or agency
the State or local law enforcement officer shall report the
suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards
Division within five days. He or she shall also have his or her
General Instructor Certification (if applicable) automatically
suspended or revoked for the same time period as his or her
respective Commission certification.

1) This suspension or revocation of the General
Instructor certification shall also include
suspension or revocation to any Commission
recognized  Specialized  specialized or
additional instructor certification, as outlined in
12 NCAC 09B .0304.

(2) If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds
the expiration date of the instructor's initial
certification expiration date, he or she shall
forfeit their certifications as a General
Instructor and Specialized Instructor and shall
be required to obtain certification pursuant to

the requirements of Rule .0302 of this Section
before any instruction may be delivered in any
Commission-approved or mandated training,
including the completion of a subsequent

General Instructor's training course in its
entirety.
3 If the term of suspension or revocation does not

exceed the expiration date of the instructor's
initial  certification expiration date, the
instructor shall be reinstated as a General
Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her
law enforcement officer certification by the
Commission. The terms of renewal for the
existing General Instructor and Specialized
Instructor certifications shall remain subject to
all renewal requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC
09B .0303(d) by the next immediate expiration
date.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS
EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF
CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE
OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS

12 NCAC 09G .0302 NOTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL
CHARGES/CONVICTIONS

&) Every person employed and certified as a correctional officer
or probation/parole officer shall make the following notifications:

notify-the-Standards-Division-of-al-criminal-offenses-forwhich
€8] within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the
Standards  Division and the appointing
department head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer is changed or

arrested;

2) within 30 days of the qualifying event notify the
Standards Division _and the appointing
department _head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer pleads no contest,
pleads quilty, or of which the officer is found
guilty. This shall include traffic offenses
identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
and offenses of driving under the influence
(DU or driving while impaired (DWI);

(3) within 30 days of service, officers shall notify
the Standards Division of all Domestic
Violence Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are issued
by a judicial official against the officer;

ifi i i i i iti [l
) _IE|e|et|I|eat|e| SE 'eqH';de,'de tnsl%u_les |a_II Be-in-writing
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4) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed
of in court, the department head, provided he or
she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or
criminal charges and final dispositions, shall
also notify the Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition; and

5) within 30 days of the issuance of a Domestic
Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and
Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the
department head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the order, shall also notify the
Standards Division of these orders.

The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall
specify the nature of the offense or order, the court in which the
case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, or service
of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall
include a certified copy of the order or court documentation and
final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of
adjudication. The requirements of this Subparagraph shall be
applicable at all times during which the officer is employed and
certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants
for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single
notification, from the officer or the department head, shall be
sufficient notice for compliance with this Subparagraph.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09G .0307
INSTRUCTORS
(@ A person participating in a Commission-accredited
corrections training course or program as an instructor, teacher,
professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to
the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an
instructor.

(b) The Commission shall certify instructors under the following
categories: General Instructor Certification or Specialized
Instructor Certification or Professional Lecturer Certification as
outlined in Rules .0308, .0310, and .0311 of this Section.
Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of
documented qualifications of experience, education, and training
in accord with the requirements of this Section and as stated on
the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form.

CERTIFICATION OF

(c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each
instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-
certified course shall remain competent in his/her specific or
specialty areas. Such competence includes remaining current in
the instructor's area of expertise, which may be demonstrated by
attending and completing any instructor all updated instructor
training courses required by the Commission.

(d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is
found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or
requirement of the Rules rules in this Subchapter, the Commission
shall take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the
violation does not recur, including:

(D) issuing an oral warning and request for
compliance;

2 issuing a written warning and request for
compliance;

3) issuing an official written reprimand,;

(@) suspending the individual's certification for a

specified period of time or until acceptable
corrective action is taken by the individual; or
5) revoking the individual's certification.
(e) The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's
certification when the Commission finds that the person:

(8] has failed to meet and maintain any of the
requirements for qualification;
2 has failed to remain currently knowledgeable in

the person's areas of expertise by failing to
attend trainings as required by the rules in this
Chapter.

3 has failed to deliver training in a manner
consistent with the instructor lesson plans
outlined in the "Basic Instructor Training
Manual™ as found in 12 NCAC 09G.0414;

4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined
in the basic corrections officers' training
manual set out in Rules .0411 through .0416 of
this Subchapter;

5) has demonstrated unprofessional personal
conduct in the delivery of commission-
mandated Commission approved or mandated
training. For the purposes of this Subparagraph,
unprofessional personal conduct means—an-act
that—s: is identified as: job-related—conduct

(A) job-related conduct that constitutes a
violation of state or federal law;

(B) conviction or commission of a
criminal offense as set out in 12
NCAC 09G. 0504;
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the willful violation of rules of this

Chapter;

conduct that is detrimental to

instruction _in__the Commission's

mandated courses. For purposes of this

Chapter, conduct is "detrimental to

instruction"” _if the conduct is

demeaning or__disruptive to the
learning environment, thus impeding
the students' ability to learn;

(E) the physical and/or verbal abuse of a
client or student who the instructor is
teaching or supervising; or

(3] falsification of an
application _or _other
documentation;

is_an instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant; is involved in the instruction of (for

instructors) or oversight of (for School

Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student

with whom the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant has a close personal,

familial,  financial, dating, or  sexual

relationship, even if consensual; and fails to
take immediate and appropriate corrective
action. Appropriate corrective action requires
the instructor, School Director, or Qualified

Assistant _to notify his or her managing

personnel in writing of the relationship and

requires the instructor, School Director, or

Qualified Assistant to stop instructing or

overseeing the student with whom the

relationship exists:

(A) the written notice

personnel shall include:

(i) School/agency name;

e B

instructor
employment

to _managing

(ii) Name of course;

(iii) Name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant;

(iv) Name of student;

) Name of managing
personnel; and

(vi) Nature of the relationship.

(B) the  written notice from the

school/agency managing personnel to
the Standards Division shall be
submitted within 10 days of receipt of
notice from the instructor, School
Director, or Qualified Assistant and

shall include:

[0} School/agency name;

(ii) Name of course;

(iii) Name of the instructor,
School Director, or Qualified
Assistant;

(iv) Name of student;

) Name of managing
personnel;

6)(1)
H(8)

)9

9(10)

{0)(11) has

(vi) Nature of the relationship;
and
(vii) Explanation of action taken

to ensure the named
instructor, School Director,
or Qualified Assistant is not
in violation of this Rule;
has demonstrated instructional incompetence;
has knowingly and willfully obtained, or
attempted to obtain instructor certification by
deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;
has failed to meet or maintain good moral
character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1,
215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed dismissed
423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C.
746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C.
658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants
for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In
re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130
(1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308
S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions
that cite these cases as authority, and as
required to discharge the duties of a criminal
justice instructor;
has committed or been convicted of an offense
which could result in the denial, suspension, or
revocation of an officers certification pursuant
to Rules .0204 or .0504 of this Subchapter;
knowingly made a  material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation.

(f) When a person certified as an officer by the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
(Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and
Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs' Commission), the
North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire
Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire Commission), Office of

Emergency Medical

Services and the North Carolina

Company/Campus Police Program; or a similar North Carolina,
out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency;
has been denied certification or had his or her certification
suspended or revoked by their respective Commission or agency
the officer shall report the suspension or revocation to the
Criminal Justice Standards Division within five days. They shall
also have their General Instructor certification (if applicable)
automatically suspended or revoked for the same time period as
their respective Commission certification.

)

@

This suspension or revocation of the General
Instructor certification shall also include
suspension or revocation to any Commission
recognized  Specialized  specialized or
additional instructor certification, as outlined in
Rule .0310 of this Section.

If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds
the expiration date of the instructor's initial
certification expiration date, they shall forfeit
their certifications as a General Instructor and
Specialized Instructor and shall be required to
obtain  certification  pursuant to the
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requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section
before any instruction may be delivered in any
Commission-approved or mandated training,
including the completion of a subsequent

General Instructor's training course in its
entirety.
3) If the term of suspension or revocation does not

exceed the expiration date of the instructor's
initial  certification expiration date, the
instructor shall be reinstated as a General
Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her
law enforcement officer certification by the
Commission. The terms of renewal for the
existing General Instructor and Specialized
Instructor certifications shall remain subject to
all renewal requirements pursuant to Rule
.0309(c) of this Section by the next expiration
date.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

R i i S S e S A I S

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0209, .0410;
09G .0313, and .0414.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-
justice/forms-and-publications/

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2021

Public Hearing:

Date: August 12, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Wake Technical Community College Public Safety
Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd. Raleigh, NC 27502

Reason for Proposed Action:
courses.

Update instructor training

Comments may be submitted to: Charminique D. Williams, PO
Box Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602

Comment period ends: August 12, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND
TRAINING

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL
JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF
INSTRUCTION

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructortraining Instructor Training course required for
generakinstructor General Instructor certification shall consist of
a minimum of 78 90 heurs—of-instruction—presented—during—a

contindous-pertod-ofnotmere-thantwe-weeks: Instructions.
(b) Each instructortraining Instructor Training course shall be

designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
perform the funetion functions of a criminal justice instructor.

(c) Each instructor—training Instructor Training course shall
include the following identified topic areas and minimum
instructional hours for each area:

@ Orientation and Pre-Test 3 4 Hours
2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 6 8 Hours
3 Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and
Legal Responsibilities 3 Hours
4 Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership
4 Hours
5) Lesson  Plan  Preparation:  Professional
Resources 3 Hours
(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting
4 Hours
@) Adult Learning 6 4 Hours
(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills
5 8 Hours
9 Classroom Management 3 4 Hours
(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical
Exercises 6 8 Hours
(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning
4 5 Hours
(12) Audio Visual Aids 4 6 Hours

(13) Student 8-Minute Introductions and Video
Critique 5 Hours
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(14) Student  Performance: First  35-Minute
Presentation 6 Hours
Second 35-Minute Presentation 6 Hours

Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review
8 Hours
(15) Course Closing and Post-test 2 4 Hours
(d) The Instructor Course shall be completed in one of the
following two methods:
Q) Completion of all topics specified in Paragraph
(c) of this Rule within a 15 day period; or
2 Individual may complete topics contained in
Subparagraph (c)(3), (c)(4), and (c)(5) of this
Rule by either in-person or online delivery via
a Commission-accredited delivery site within
60 days prior to the delivery of topics specified
in Subparagraph (c)(1), (c)(2), and (c)(6) thru
(c)(15) of this Rule.
{&)}(e) The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor
training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
COMPLETION OF TRAINING

12 NCAC 09B .0410 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE
(@) To successfully complete the "Criminal Justice Instructor
Training Course" the trainee shall:

(1) satisfactorily complete all of the required

the—North—Carohna—Justice—Acadermy~ course
work pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0209. All

trainee presentations shall have met the criteria
and conditions specified in the course
orientation of the "Instructor Training Manuak™
Manual as published by the North Carolina
Justice Academy," and
2) attain the passing score on each performance
area as specified in the course abstract of the
"Instructor Manual" for the final written lesson
plan and final 70-minute presentation.
(b) Should a trainee fail to meet the minimum criteria on the final
lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he or she shall be

authorized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies

by the end of the eriginal-two-week course.
Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS
EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF
CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE
OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS

12 NCAC 09G .0313
TRAINING COURSE
(a) To successfully complete Corrections Instructor Training, the
trainee shall:

@ satisfactorily complete all of the required

course work.-specifically-including-each-of-the
trainee—presentations—with—videotaping;
playback,—and—critigue—as—specified  work
pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0209 in-the"Basic
InstructorTraining-Manualas-published-by-the
North—Carolina—Justice—Acadermy~ All trainee
presentations shall have met the criteria and
conditions specified in the course orientation of
the “Basic—tnstructor—Training—Manual”
"Instructor Training Manual, as published by
the North Carolina Justice Academy;"

2) attain the minimum score on each performance
area as specified in the course abstract of the
“Basic-Instruector-Manual™ Instructor Training
Manual for the final written lesson plan and
final 80-minute 70-minute presentation; and

(b) If a trainee fails to meet the minimum criteria on the final
lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he or she shall be
authorized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies

by the end of the eriginal-two-week course.
Authority G.S. 17C-6.

CORRECTIONS INSTRUCTOR

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS,
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructortraining Instructor Training course required for
generakinstructor General Instructor certification shall consist of
a minimum of 78 90 hours ef-instruction—presented-during—a
continuous-period-of not-more-than-two-weeks: instruction.

(b) Each instruetor-training Instructor Training course shall be
designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
perform the funetion functions of a criminal justice instructor.

(c) Each instruetor—training Instructor Training course shall

include the folowing—identified topic areas areas, delivery
methods, and minimum instructional hours fer-each-area: pursuant

to 12 NCAC 09B .0209(c) and (d).
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6-hours
@ | Enf iabiliti
ibilities: 31
@ I:ze.gal. %elslpe |_5|b||||t|es ional Leadershi
4-hours
Resourees; 3-hours
{6) Lesson-Plan-Development-and-Formatting
4-hours
5-hours
©) Classroom-Management; 3-hours
4-hours
a2) inciol ‘ ion: lio-\isual Aids:
A-hours
&4 Student-Performance:
6-hours
8-hours

¢5) Course-Closing-and-Post Test 2-hours
(d) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic curriculum
for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be
inspected at the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the rule
cited as 14B NCAC 15C .1307, amend the rules cited as 14B
NCAC 15C .1301, .1303, .1304, and repeal the rule cited as 14B
NCAC 15C .1305.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are

available on the OAH
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

website at

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 13, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To amend and adopt rules
applicable to spirituous liquor tastings conducted by spirituous
liquor special event permittees at certain special events and at
certain ABC stores as necessitated by amendments to G.S. 18B-
1114.7 enacted in S.L. 2019-182, Sec. 6. The amendments to 14B
NCAC 15C .1301 consolidate all definitions in Section .1300 into
asingle rule, define a permit holder's authorized agent, and define
a consumer tasting event conducted in an ABC store. The
amendments to 14B NCAC 15C .1303 delete the requirement for
designated tasting areas and the requirement that spirituous
liquor used at non-ABC store tastings be purchased from an ABC
store. The amendments to 14B NCAC 15C .1304 establish the
procedure for designation of a permit holder's authorized agent
for purposes of conducting tastings. The repeal of 14B NCAC 15C
.1305 is part of the consolidation of definitions into 14B NCAC
15C .1301. The adoption of 14B NCAC 15C .1307 defines the
local board's authority to allow ABC store tastings, establishes a
process for ensuring reasonable opportunities to all spirituous
liquor special event permittees to conduct tastings in ABC stores,
establishes proof of purchase from an ABC store of spirituous
liquor served at ABC store tastings, and establishes reporting
requirements for permittees and local boards of tastings
conducted in ABC stores.

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax
(919) 661-6765; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov

Comment period ends: June 1, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
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Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS:
RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP
CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL

SECTION .1300 — SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR TASTING
SPECIAL EVENT PERMITS

14B NCAC 15C .1301 DEFINITIONS
As used in G.S. 18B-1114.7 and in this Section:

@ "Advertising specialties” means coasters, shot
glasses, bottle or can openers, cork screws, ash
trays, shopping bags, individual can coolers,
hats, caps, visors, t-shirts (without collars or
buttons), and key chains.

"Charitable, nonprofit organization" means a
nonprofit organization that is a charitable
organization as defined in G.S. 1-539.11(1).
3) "Consumer tasting event" means any time a
single spirituous liquor special event permittee
provides samples of spirituous liguor to a
consumer in an ABC store pursuant to G.S.
18B-1114.7(c).
"Local fund-raiser” means a special event
sponsored or cosponsored by a local
government, a local charitable, nonprofit
organization, or a local political organization
for the purpose of raising funds for a
governmental, charitable, or political purpose.
(5) "Permit _holder's authorized agent" means an
individual authorized in writing by the
spirituous liquor special event permittee to
conduct a consumer tasting or consumer tasting

52

&(4)

product advertising matter. Point-of-sale

advertising materials as used in this Section

shall not include items listed in 14B NCAC 15C

.0711(c).

"Special event" means either:

@) an event the spirituous liquor special
event permittee participates in that is a
trade show, convention, street festival,
holiday festival, agricultural festival,
balloon race, local fund-raisers, or
other similar events approved
pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section,
that is for a limited duration of no
more than 10 days and organized or
sponsored by a person other than the

&0

spirituous  liquor  special  event
permittee; or
(b) an event of limited duration of no

more than 60 days at a shopping mall
that is organized and sponsored by the
shopping mall or an association of
shopping mall merchants as part of a
promotion or sale for all merchants in
the shopping mall.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7.

14B NCAC 15C .1303

CONSUMERS

@) . . ion. . .
- gl' 'gl : SRS 1 _onlyt |

TASTINGS HELD FOR

- If a tasting is conducted pursuant at an
event where the event sponsor holds an ABC permit for that event,

event pursuant to the permittee's spirituous

the area for conducting the tasting shall be limited to the area of

liquor special event permit. The individual shall

the event covered by the ABC permit. If the tasting is conducted

be responsible for the management on the site

pursuant to this Section at an event where the event sponsor does

of the consumer tasting and consumer tasting

not hold an ABC permit, the area for conducting the tasting shall

event, and the supervision of the permittee's or

be limited to the area allocated or assigned by the event sponsor

agent's employees or independent contractors

for the exclusive use of the permittee conducting the tasting.

offering or pouring tasting samples at the
consumer tasting or consumer tasting event.

(b) Each permittee conducting a tasting may give each consumer

tasting samples up to the limits set forth in G-S-18B-1114.7(b}{3)-
G.S. 18B-1114.7(b)(3) or (c)(4), as applicable.

(6) "Point-of-sale advertising materials” means
advertising that is located where the spirituous
liquor product is displayed or sampled.

(c) Fraining-Any A spirituous liquor special event permittee shall
ensure that any employee or agent of a the permittee who will be

Advertising _materials may include signs,
posters, banners, and decorations that bear

conducting or supervising any tasting conducted pursuant to a
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spirituous liquor special event permit shall-be-given—training;
including: has completed training that includes:

1) identification of potential underage consumers;

(2) recognition of fictitious identification;

3) identification of consumers who are visibly
intoxicated,;

4) service of correct sample sizes; and

(5) methods to ensure compliance with G.S. 18B-
1114.7 in accordance with Rule .1304 of this
Section.

(d) Censumption-prohibited. The permittee, the permittee's agent,
or employee shall not be in the designated—tasting area for

conducting the tasting after consuming alcoholic beverages
except under the following conditions:

(1) the permittee, agent, or employee is off duty for

the remainder of that day or night during which

the individual consumes any alcoholic
beverage;
(2) the permittee, agent, or employee is out of

uniform when uniforms are required to be worn
while performing any on duty services; and
3 the permittee, agent, or employee shall not

perform any en—duty services of-anyhature

related to the business of the permit while or

after consuming alcoholic beverages.
(e) Limitatiens: Spirituous Heguers liguor provided as for tastings
pursuant to a spirituous liquor special event permit shall not be
mixed with any other alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverage. No
non-alcoholic beverages, other than unflavored water, shall be
made available or accessible to the consumer by the permittee in
the designated-tasting-area- area for conducting the tasting.
{B—Seureeof spirituous—Hauor—AH-spiitueusHauorused-for
purchased-by-the-permitteefrom-an-ABC-store:

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7.

14B NCAC 15C .1304
PROCEDURE

(a) Fhe Either the permittee to whom the spirituous liquor special
event permit was issued issued, or the permit holder's authorized

SPECIAL EVENT COMPLIANCE

ensure compliance with the requirements of G.S. 18B-

1114.7(b)(3), (4), and {5)- (5), and (c)(4). A copy of the written
procedure shall be available in-the-designated-tasting-area at the
tasting to the permit holder's employees and designated agents and
shall be made available inthe-designated-tasting-area at the tasting
to law enforcement agents upon request.
(d) A copy of the written procedure required pursuant to
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be:
(D) maintained for one year following the tasting;
2 included as part of the consumer tasting record
maintained in accordance with G.S. 18B-
1114.7(b)(10); and
?3) made available upon request to the Commission
and law enforcement agents pursuant to G.S.
18B-502.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-201; 18B-1114.7.

14B NCAC 15C .1305 SPECIAL EVENT SALE OF
BRANDED MERCHANDISE, POINT-OF-SALE
ADVERTISING MATERIALS AND ADVERTISING
SPECIALTIES

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7.

14B NCAC 15C .1307
LIQUOR TASTINGS
(a) Local boards shall determine whether to allow tastings to be
conducted in any of their ABC stores. The ABC store, date, and
times for any tastings authorized by the local board shall be set by
the local board. Tastings do not have to be conducted every week
or in all ABC stores operated by the local board. The schedule set
by the local board for tastings can vary from week to week.

(b) If a local board authorizes consumer tasting events to be held
in a specific ABC store, permission shall be granted on a first-
come, first-serve basis to a permittee to conduct a consumer
tasting event at that ABC store at a specific date and time
established by the local board. This permission shall be subject to
the permission being withdrawn by the ABC store not later than
30 days prior to the scheduled time of the event, upon the receipt
of a request from another permittee that has conducted fewer

ABC STORE SPIRITUOUS

agent, must be present in the designated-tasting area where the

consumer tasting events in the ABC store within a previous 12-

tasting is conducted at the time the tastings-eceu tasting occurs.

month period than the permittee originally granted permission. A

A copy of the spirituous liquor special event permit shall be on

display in the designated—tasting area where the tasting is

superseding request for the same date and time must be received
in writing by the local board before the close of business on the

conducted. A copy of the authority of the permit holder's

last business day prior to 30 days prior to the previously approved

authorized agent to act on behalf of the permittee shall be present

request date.

at the tasting event. and A copy of the spirituous liquor special

(c) In addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 18B-

event permit and a copy of the authority of the permit holder's

1114.7(c)(7), a permit holder shall include with the notice a copy

authorized agent to act on behalf of the permittee shall be made
available to law enforcement agents upon request.

(b) For other special events approved by the Commission
pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section, a copy of the Commission's

approval shall be kept in-the-designated-tastingarea-during at the

of the local board's written approval for the permit holder to
conduct a consumer tasting event at a specific time and location.
Written approval by the local board may be by email. For
purposes of G.S. 18B-1114.7(c)(7)c., the list shall include the
product codes of the specific spirituous liquor products available

tasting for the duration of the tastings and made available to law
enforcement agents upon request.

(c) A spirituous liquor special event permit holder shall maintain
a written procedure establishing the method to be used by the
permit holder and the permit holder's employees or agents to

for tasting.
(d) _Proof of purchase of spirituous liquor from any ABC store

shall be by receipts issued by an ABC store. Permittees shall
maintain receipts of purchases of spirituous liguor used in tastings
for a period of six months from the date the spirituous liquor is
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first used for tastings pursuant to G.S. 18B-1114.7. Spirituous
liquor purchased from an ABC store for use in tastings conducted
in accordance with this Section may be used for multiple tastings
at multiple locations.

(e) At the time of the completion of a tasting, the permittee shall
submit to the local board in writing the name of the permittee that
conducted the consumer tasting event, the names of all employees
or agents of the permittee who were present at the tasting, and the
name of each product available for tasting at the consumer tasting
event. A local board that authorizes consumer tasting events shall
maintain for a period of three years a list of all consumer tasting
events conducted in each of its stores by date, name of the
permittee that conducted the consumer tasting event, name of all
employees or agents of the permittee who were present at the
tasting, and name of each product available for tasting at the
consumer tasting event.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as
15A NCAC 10H .1003.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: November 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 6, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location:  Please click this link to join the webinar:
https://zoom.us/j/811125225, or join by telephone: 888 788 0099
(Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) Webinar 1D: 811 125 225

Reason for Proposed Action: 15A NCAC 10H .1003 — Records
- This Rule is proposed for amendment to institute taxidermy
reporting requirements pursuant to the establishment of the
taxidermy cervid certification requirement and to update the title
to read as Records and Reporting Requirements.

Comments may be submitted to:
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Rule-making Coordinator,
NC 27699; email

Comment period ends: June 1, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10H - REGULATED ACTIVITIES
SECTION .1000 - TAXIDERMY

15A NCAC 10H .1003
REQUIREMENTS
(a) Licensed taxidermists shall keep records of each wildlife
specimen delivered and contained within his or her place of
business. Records shall include:

RECORDS AND REPORTING

@ the species and sex of the specimen;

2) the date the specimen was delivered;

©) the name and address of the person delivering
the specimen;

4) the name and address of the person responsible

for take of the specimen, if different;
5) the date and location of the take;
(6) the big game harvest authorization number, if
applicable; and
@) the date and disposition of the mounted
specimen.
Records shall be maintained chronologically by the date the
specimen was delivered. Records shall be retained by the
taxidermist for one year following expiration of the taxidermy
license and shall be made available for inspection by any agent of
the Wildlife Resources Commission.
(b) The records required by the United States Fish and Wildlife
Service under its taxidermy permit regulations for migratory
game birds, as set forth in 50 CFR 21.24, which is hereby
incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and
editions, shall satisfy this Rule, and can be accessed at no cost at
www.ecfr.gov.
(c) Licensed taxidermists required by G.S. 113-273(k) to obtain
the taxidermy cervid certification shall report the following
information of each wildlife specimen of the family Cervidae
delivered and contained within his or her place of business to the
Wildlife Resources Commission on a form available at
www.ncwildlife.org:
Q) the county or parish, state, Canadian province,
or foreign country where the take occurred:;
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2 the big game harvest authorization number or

equivalent out-of-state number; and
3) the species of each cervid.
(d) The information required to be reported in Paragraph (c) of

this Rule shall be received by the Commission prior to the renewal

of a taxidermy cervid certification.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273.

EE S I S S S I I I S I

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission
intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10L .0101-.0104,
amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10G .0601, and readopt with
substantive changes the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0114.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 7, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location:  Please click this link to join the webinar:
https://zoom.us/j/185501507, or join by telephone: 888 788 0099
(Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) Webinar ID: 185 501 507

Reason for Proposed Action:

15A NCAC 10L .0100s - Wildlife Conservation Land Program -
Session Law 2018-95 extended the reduced property tax
assessment for wildlife conservation land that creates and is
actively and regularly used as a reserve for hunting, fishing,
shooting, wildlife observation or wildlife activities. These
proposed permanent rules address the activities and inspection
requirements for this statutory expansion. They will replace
temporary Rule 10L .0101 Wildlife Reserve, adopted by the
Commission at its October 2019 meeting.

15A NCAC 10B .0114 - Dog Training And Field Trials- This rule
is part of the 2017 periodic review, with a re-adoption deadline
of December 30, 2022. It is amended to provide for the issuance
of Field Trial Permits via the online portal at ncwildlife.org.
Organizational and technical changes are also proposed.

15A NCAC 10G .0601 - Totally Disabled License Eligibility -
This Rule is proposed for amendment to provide an alternative
method for certification of a qualifying disability. Organizational
and clarifying changes are also proposed.

Comments may be submitted to:
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Rule-making Coordinator,
NC 27699; email
Comment period ends: June 1, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOOX

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10B .0114
TRIALS

(a) For purposes of 15A NCAC 10B and 10D, the following
definitions apply:

(8] "Commission-sanctioned field trial" means a
field trial that—pursuantto—a—written—reguest
from-the-sponseoring-erganization; that has been
authorized in—writing—and—scheduled—for

occurrence-by-an-authorizedrepresentative—of
by the Wildlife Resources GCommission:
Commission and for which a Field Trial Permit
has been issued.

2) "Active participant” means a—persen an
individual participating in a field trial who
handles dogs or uses a firearm.

(3) "Field Trial Permit" means the permit issued by
the Wildlife Resources Commission that
authorizes an individual to hold a commission-
sanctioned field trial for dogs in accordance
with governing laws and the Rules of the

(b) Individuals desiring to conduct a commission-sanctioned field
trial shall obtain a Field Trial Permit from the Wildlife Resources
Commission at www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission
headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606.
{b)(c) Each-person Individuals using wildlife to train or run dogs
shall possess a North Carolina hunting license.

{eX(d) A-persen-servingasjudge-ofacommission-sanctioned-field
trial-is-exempted An individual who is serving as a judge of a

DOG TRAINING AND FIELD
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commission-sanctioned field trial shall be exempt from any
license requirements. Judges—of-non-sanctioned An individual
who is serving as a judge of a non-sanctioned field trials trial using
wildlife shall possess a North Carolina hunting license.

{e)(e) Except as exempted provided in Paragraph {e)(f) of this
Rule, the following applies license requirements shall apply to
active participants in field trials:

(1) North Carolina residents participating in any
field trial that uses wildlife shall have a N.C.
hunting license;

2 non-residents participating in a commission-
sanctioned field trial that uses wildlife shall
possess a N.C. hunting license or a hunting
license from his or her state of residence; and

(3) non-residents participating in other types of
field trials that use wildlife shall possess a N.C.
hunting license

{e)(f) Persons Notwithstanding Paragraph (e) of this Rule, an
individual without a license may participate in commission-
sanctioned field trials for beagles conducted without firearms on
private field trial areas that are-fenced-in-accordance-with meet
the fencing requirements specified in G.S. 113-276(k).

{B(q) Exceptas-alowed by rulespertaining-to-autherized-field
trials—its It shall be unlawful to carry axes, saws saws, or
climbing irons while training or running dogs during elosed
season-on-game-antmals: any closed season for game animals.
{g)(h) On-acommission-sanctioned-field-trial forretrievers-or
bird-degs; The following conditions shall apply to commission-
sanctioned field trials for retrievers or bird dogs:

Q) shotguns containing live ammunition or
firearms using only blank ammunition may-be

| onlv wi lication_f I
authorization-of-the-field-trial-so-provide. shall
be prohibited unless specifically authorized by
a Field Trial Permit;

2 Ne no wild waterfowl, guail wild quail, or wild
pheasant shall be used in field trials when
shotguns with live ammunition are permitted:
permitted;

3) Albwaterfowl quail-and-pheasants so-used-shall

propagater. only waterfowl, quail, or pheasants
lawfully obtained from a licensed game bird
propagator shall be authorized for use in field
trials.

4 Each—specimen—of—waterfowl—so—obtained
waterfowl obtained from licensed game bird
propagators for use in field trials when shotguns
with live ammunition are authorized shall be

marked by one of the methods previded-by-50
CFR-21:13: specified in 50 C.F.R. 21.13; and

(5) Eachpheasantorgquail-so-obtained pheasants or

qguail obtained from licensed game bird

of the receipt from the propagator showing the
date—and date, the—number number of birds
purchased, propagator license number, and
species of birds purchased. Fhe A copy of the
receipt shall be available for inspection by any
authorized-agent representatives of the Wildlife
Resources Commission during the time and at
the place where the trial is being held.

¢ )I i tpp|_|eat|e_|_s fo aut_lelnl_lzﬁaue Fl oF 2 I|eIeIFF_t||aI slnall be

dayspriorto-the schedwledevent

() Pursuantto-G-S—113-201-H(d)-hunters-may-train-dogs-tsing
ShOtgURS wit st gtg'. H”'be' T5IZ8-0F S Fa”ell du|||| gl the e_leslelel
raised—gamebirds: The following conditions shall apply when
training dogs during the closed season for domestically raised
waterfowl and domestically raised game birds:

€8} only shotguns with number four size shot or
smaller shall be authorized;

2) Only nontoxic shot shall be used when training
dogs using domestically raised waterfowk
waterfowl;

(3) AN all domestically raised waterfowl shall be
individually tagged on one leg with a seamless
band stamped with the number—of—the
propagation license number of fer the facility
from which the domestically raised waterfowl
eriginated- originated; and

4) Al all other domestically raised game birds
shall be individually tagged on one leg with a
band indicating the propagation license number
for of the facility from which the birds
originated.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276; 113-291.1; 113-
291.5; 50 C.F.R. 21.13.

SUBCHAPTER 10G - DISTRIBUTION AND SALE OF
HUNTING: FISHING: AND TRAPPING LICENSE

SECTION .0600 — LICENSE ELIGIBILITY

15A NCAC 10G .0601
ELIGIBILITY

TOTALLY DISABLED LICENSE

(a) North Carolina residents that are totally and permanently

propagators for use in field trials where

disabled shall be eligible for the totally disabled lifetime nine

shotguns with live ammunition are authorized

licenses described in G.S. 113-270.1C, 113-270.1D, 113-271, and

shall be banded by the propagator prior to
delivery with a leg band that is imprinted with
the number of his or her propagation license.
The purchaser of the birds shall obtain a copy

113-351.
(b) Written certification of a resident's total and permanent
disability as specified in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule shall

34:19

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 1, 2020

1778



PROPOSED RULES

be required and submitted to the Wildlife Resources Commission
prior to the issuance of a totally disabled lifetime license.
(c) Written certification of a resident's total and permanent
disability from the following institutions shall be accepted for the
purposes of qualifying for the totally disabled lifetime licenses
specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule:

@) The Social Security Administration;

(2) The Civil Service Retirement System;

3) The Railroad Retirement Board; and

4 The North Carolina State Retirement System.
(d) Residents not receiving or qualifying for benefits from the
institutions specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may submit

Q) at least one protected wildlife species shall have
been identified on the land;
2) the landowner shall be required to manage the

land to protect the species through established
strategies identified in the Wildlife Habitat
Conservation Agreement; and

(3) the land shall meet the prior use requirements
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(b).

Authority G.S. 105-277.15.

15A NCAC 10L .0103 CONSERVATION OF PRIORITY

written certification from a licensed physician, licensed physician

WILDLIFE HABITATS

assistant, or certified nurse practitioner that the resident's

(a) As specified in 15A NCAC 10L .0101, the conservation of

impairment qualifies under the categories set forth by the Social

priority wildlife habitats shall be a qualifying land use for Wildlife

Security Administration in 20 C.F.R. 416.934 for presumptive

Conservation Land. Priority wildlife habitats shall mean those

disability or presumptive blindness, excluding the impairment

habitats specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(a)(2).

categories specifically applying to infants. 20 C.F.R. 416.934 is

(b) The following conditions shall apply to the qualification of

hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent

land as Wildlife Conservation Land under the conservation of

amendments and editions. This regulation may be accessed free

priority wildlife habitat land use requirement:

of charge at www.ecfr.gov.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1C; 113-270.1D; 113-271; 113-
351.

SUBCHAPTER 10L — WILDLIFE CONSERVATION
LAND PROGRAM

15A NCAC 10L .0101
LAND

(a) Wildlife Conservation Land is a classification of land that
meets the size and ownership requirements specified in G.S. 105-
277.15 and on which one or more of the use requirements in
Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(3) of this Rule are met and
maintained by the owner under a written Wildlife Habitat

WILDLIFE CONSERVATION

(€] at least one of the priority wildlife habitats
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(a)(2) shall
have been identified on the land or planned for
establishment;

(2) the management strategies identified for the
continued existence of the priority wildlife
habitat shall be in place or planned for as
specified in the Wildlife Habitat Conservation
Agreement; and

(3) the land shall meet the prior use requirements
specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(h).

Authority G.S. 105-277.15.

15A NCAC 10L .0104 WILDLIFE RESERVE

Conservation Agreement with the NC Wildlife Resources

(a) As specified in 15A NCAC 10L .0101, land that is managed

Commission that is submitted by the landowner to the county

and actively used as a wildlife reserve shall be a qualifying land

where an application for reduced property tax assessment is

use for Wildlife Conservation Land. Wildlife reserve shall mean

requested. a type of wildlife conservation land that is created to be actively
(b) Use Requirements: and reqularly used as a reserve for hunting, fishing, shooting,
€3] Protection of species on the protected animal  wildlife observation, or wildlife activities, and upon which

list;
(2) Conservation of priority wildlife habitats; or
3) Land managed and actively used as a wildlife

wildlife _management activities are conducted to ensure the
propagation of a sustaining breeding, migrating or wintering
population of indigenous wild animals. Land managed and

reserve.
Authority G.S. 105-277.15.

15A NCAC 10L .0102 PROTECTION OF SPECIES ON

maintained primarily for human uses such as large lawns, golf
courses, horse pastures, production agricultural  fields,
monoculture hayfields, solar energy, and commercial timber
stands shall not qualify as wildlife reserve land.

(b) As specified in G.S. 105-277.15(c)(3)(a)(3), to qualify as

THE PROTECTED ANIMAL LIST
(a) As specified in 15A NCAC 10L .0101, the protection of

Wildlife Conservation Land under the wildlife reserve land use
requirement, at least three of the following activities shall be

species on the protected animal list shall be a qualifying land use

maintained on the land as agreed upon in the written Wildlife

for Wildlife Conservation Land. Eligible species shall be those

Habitat Conservation Agreement:

designated by the Commission in 15A NCAC 10l .0100 as
endangered, threatened, or special concern.

(b) The following conditions shall apply to the qualification of
land as Wildlife Conservation Land under the protection of
species on the protected animal list use requirement:

Q) "supplemental food" shall mean annual or
perennial noninvasive plantings that provide a
direct or indirect source of food or nutrition for
wildlife resources.
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2 "supplemental water" shall mean artificial
water features or sources that are created or
installed for the benefit of wildlife resources.

3) "supplemental shelter" shall mean natural or
artificial structures that are created or installed
to _provide shelter from the weather, nesting
sites, or escape cover from predators.
Supplemental shelter may include the addition
of natural or artificial structures into aquatic
habitats.

4 "habitat control" shall mean the implementation
of practices to establish, restore, enhance, or
maintain upland, wetland, riparian, or aquatic
vegetation or physical aquatic habitat.

(5) "erosion __ control"  shall mean  the
implementation of practices to prevent, reduce,
or minimize soil erosion. Practices may include
streambank and in-stream channel stabilization.
Practices established for erosion control shall
not be known to harm wildlife or include
invasive plant species.

(6) "predator control” shall mean a practice
implemented to reduce the abundance of a
species or suite of species that preys on any life
stage of wildlife species for which the land is
managed. Predator control includes removal of
invasive animal species to manage or protect
wildlife or wildlife habitats.

(€] "census of animal population on the land" shall
mean_conducting or participating in periodic
surveys and inventories to determine the
presence, number, composition, biological
condition, or human use of wildlife.

(c) Qualifying land shall be inspected at least once every five
years following the date that the conservation agreement is signed
to ensure that at least three of the seven activities specified in
Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(7) of this Rule are maintained.
The following conditions shall apply to the required inspection:
€3] a wildlife biologist employed by a state or
federal agency, a Certified Wildlife Biologist®
credentialed by the Wildlife Society, or a
Certified Fisheries Professional credentialed by
the American Fisheries Society shall perform
the inspection of qualifying land; and

2 inspections shall be recorded by the wildlife
biologist on a form provided by the
Commission. The landowner shall submit the
completed form to the county tax assessor's
office during the open enrollment period for the
year that the inspection is due.

Authority G.S. 105-277.15.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 34 - BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Funeral Service intends to adopt the rules cited as 21
NCAC 34A .0204; 34B .0313, and amend the rule cited as 21
NCAC 34B .0502.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbfs.org

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 13, 2020

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27605

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 34A .0204-Implements procedure by which applicants
can obtain a predetermination of whether the individual's
criminal history will likely disqualify the individual from
obtaining licensure.

21 NCAC 34B .0313-Implements procedure by which applicants
can obtain provisional licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-201(3a).

21 NCAC 34B .0502-Implements procedure by which applicants
can obtain reciprocal licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(b)(1).

Comments may be submitted to: Stephen E. Davis, NC Board
of Funeral Service, 1033 Wade Ave., Suite 108, Raleigh, NC
27605

Comment period ends: June 1, 2020

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS

SECTION .0200 - FEES AND OTHER PAYMENTS
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21 NCAC 34A .0204

PREDETERMINATION
(a) General. An individual seeking predetermination pursuant to
G.S. 93B-8.1(b6) and this Rule may file with the Board a petition

PETITION FOR

paid by certified bank check or money order made payable to the
North Carolina Board of Funeral Service. Cash shall not be
accepted.

(d) Delegation of Authority for Predetermination. The Board
delegates authority for rendering predeterminations under this

form located on the Board's website, www.ncbfs.org.
(b) Petition Procedure. The petition form shall include all of the

Rule to a committee of the Board that is tasked with reviewing
disciplinary matters.

following information:

Q) The person's name;

2 The last four digits of the person's social
security number;

3) The person's current residential address;

4 The person's current mailing address;

(5) A nationwide criminal history record report
from a reporting service designated by the
Board, the cost of which shall be borne by the
petitioner;

(6) For each crime identified in the criminal history

record report, the following information:

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or
misdemeanor;

(B) The date that the crime occurred:;

© The date the person was convicted of,
or plead quilty or nolo contendere to,
the crime;

(D) The age of the person at the time of the
crime;

(E) The circumstances surrounding the
commission of the crime;

(3] The sentence imposed for the crime;

(6] The period of time during which the
person was incarcerated for the crime,
if any:;

(H) The period of time during which the

person was on probation or parole for
the crime, if any;

()] Any documentation related to the
person's rehabilitation or employment
since the date of the crime, if any;

) Whether the person has undergone any
rehabilitative  drug  or _ alcohol
treatment since the date of the crime;

(K) Whether a Certificate of Relief has
been granted regarding the crime,
pursuant to G.S. 15A 173.2; and

(W) Any affidavits or other written
documents, including character
references, for the person; and

(€] An affirmation under oath that the person has
read the statutes and rules governing the
practice _of funeral service and that the
information contained in the petition is true and
accurate.

Incomplete petitions shall not be considered by the Board. If
incomplete petitions received by the Board are not made complete
within 30 days of receipt, the incomplete petitions will be returned
to the person from whom the request was made.

(c) Petition Fee. A non-refundable petition fee of forty-five
dollars ($45.00) shall accompany each petition. This fee may be

Authority G.S. 90-210.25; 93B-8.1.
SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE
SECTION .0300 — LICENSING

21 NCAC 34B .0313 PROCEDURES FOR
PROVISIONAL LICENSURE
(a) Definitions. As used in this Rule:

€8} "Applicant" shall mean the person submitting
an Application for Provisional License on a
form approved by the Board and providing
information on age, education, and employment
experience, and payment of a non-refundable
fee pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(a)(3a)a.

(2) "Entry-level Examination" shall mean a Board-
approved examination equivalent to the State
Board Examination-Arts in Funeral Directing
to assess competency in funeral arranging and
directing; funeral service marketing and
merchandising; funeral service counseling;
legal and regulatory compliance; and cemetery
and crematory operations pursuant to G.S. 90-
210.25(a)(1)el.

(3) "Laws and Rules Examination” shall mean a
Board-approved examination of  funeral
practice and related laws of North Carolina, the
federal Funeral Rule as expressed in the
standards set forth in Funeral Industry
Practices, 16 C.F.R. 453 (1984), pursuant to its
most_recent version, and the administrative
rules governing the practice or professional
funeral service as expressed in the NC
Administrative Code.

4 "Professional Experience" shall mean work
providing knowledge, skill, and proficiency
resulting from the performance of funeral-
related duties and responsibilities; work
requiring advanced and relevant knowledge
attained through formal academic education
beyond high school; work which is
predominantly intellectual in nature; and work
requiring the consistent exercise of independent
discretion and judgment.

(5) "Provisional _Licensee” shall mean any
individual satisfying the provisional licensure
requirements pursuant to G.S. 90-210(3a) and
who engages in the practice of professional
funeral service under the supervision of an
approved funeral director or funeral service
licensee for a period not to exceed three years.
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(6) "Supervision" shall mean oversight and
direction from an approved licensee in funeral
directing or funeral service, who is in good
standing with the Board, and who has practiced
full-time professional funeral service for at least
five years.

(b) The following provisions shall apply to provisional license
applicants and licensees only:

Q) Applicants shall submit with their application
for provisional licensure proof of satisfying the
education requirements pursuant to G.S. 90-
210.25(a)(3a)(d). Such proof shall include
certified transcripts from an accredited post-
secondary institution, or, if applicable, a
certified transcript from a Board-approved
funeral director program or a funeral director
program accredited by the American Board of
Funeral Service Education (ABFSE). Certified
transcripts must come from the educational

renewal fee of two hundred fifty dollars
($250.00).

(6) Provisional licensees shall be subject to the
same requirements for continuing education as
for _licensees in funeral directing including a
minimum of five continuing education credits
annually and not exceeding two hours annually
through online instruction. All continuing
education credits shall be awarded only for
Board-approved  courses of instruction
provided through an accredited sponsor or other
approved provider.

Authority G.S. 90-210.25(a)(3a).
SECTION .0500 - OUT-OF-STATE LICENSEES

21 NCAC 34B .0502 APPLICATION FORM AND
EQUIVALENT EXAMINATIONS FOR RECIPROCAL

institution directly to the Board.

2 Applicants not otherwise qualified as a certified
trainee or eligible for a certified traineeship
shall submit with their application for
provisional licensure an employment history on
a Board-approved form which shall supplement
the provisional license application and which
requires a listing of funeral-related work
including name and contact information of
employer, dates of employment, and duties and
responsibilities performed.

3) Applicants shall have attained a passing score
of 75 percent on the State Board Examination-
Arts prepared and administered by a Board-
approved testing organization. Applicants shall
have attained a passing score of 75 percent on
the NC Laws and Rules examination prepared
and administered by a Board-approved testing

organization.
4) Applicants shall be subject to a criminal history

LICENSE BY-OUT-OF STATE LICENSEES

Applications by an out-of-state licensee for a North Carolina
license pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(b)(1) shall be made on forms
provided by the Board. The form shall require the applicant to
furnish the applicant's phetegraph; name, address, and
biographical data; license applied for; name of the jurisdiction
where licensed and the kinds of licenses held; length—of

licensed: verification by the applicant; and any other information
the Board deems necessary as required by law. The form shall
require the licensing board of the other jurisdiction jurisdiction(s)
to certify that the applicant is licensed and in good standing in that
jurisdiction and to furnish the Board with the name of the
applicant, licenses held and dates granted, the name and address
of the Board in such other jurisdiction, verification by the
Secretary or other official of such other board, and any other
information the Board deems necessary as required by law. Anr
affidavit-that-the The applicant shall provide an employment
history to show at least three years of professional practice in the

background check pursuant to the requirements
of the North Carolina State Bureau of
Investigation and may be approved for
licensure in the absence of any disqualifying
conditions pursuant to the provisions of S.L.
2019-91. Applicants shall complete Board-
approved forms for the electronic submission of
fingerprints if North Carolina residents; non-
residents shall complete a fingerprint card and
application information through a local law
enforcement agency using forms prescribed and
approved by the Board.

(5) Provisional licensees shall be subject to the
same license renewal requirements as for
licensees in  funeral directing including

other jurisdiction(s). has-centinueuslypracticed-the-profession-in
her _irisdiction. f | ; -l

apphecation. Funeral director applicants shall be deemed to have
satisfied the examination requirements for reciprocal licensure if

completion of a Board-approved renewal

they have completed with passing scores an entry-level

application by December 31% of each year but

examination for funeral directing and an examination of the laws

not later than February 1% of the year

and rules pursuant to their jurisdiction. Funeral service applicants

immediately following the expiration of the

shall be deemed to have satisfied the examination requirements

license and submission of a non-refundable

for reciprocal licensure if they have completed the National Board
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Examinations as administered through The International
Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards or other agency
approved by the Board.

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(L).

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rule
cited as 25 NCAC 01C .0802.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-
rulemaking

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: April 16, 2020

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: Teleconference Phone Number:
Number (919) 662-4658

State Op Meeting

Reason for Proposed Action: Revise rule to allow temporary
employees to be eligible to participate in the Teleworking
Program.

Comments may be submitted to: Christine M. Ryan, 1331 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-0824; email
christine.ryan@nc.gov

Comment period ends: June 1, 2020
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN
RESOURCES

SUBCHAPTER 01C — PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION

SECTION .0800 -- REQUIREMENTS FOR
TELEWORKING PROGRAMS

25 NCAC 01C .0802 COVERED EMPLOYEES

Teleworking is available as a work option in every agency for full
time and part time classified, temporary and "time limited"”
employees. The decision whether to allow a position or an
employee to telework is wholly within management discretion
and is not appealable to the State Human Resources Commission.

Authority G.S. 126-4; S.L. 1999-328.
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of
Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on
the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days
from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60" day from publication.

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-
21.14 and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS
AND COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD
Rule-making Agency: North Carolina Medical Board

Rule Citation: 21 NCAC 32B .1707

Effective Date: March 20, 2020

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier: March 12,
2020

Reason for Action: On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North
Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of
emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective
measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-
19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or
death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans,
spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the
COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health
Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention,
and the United States Department of Health and Human Services
have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.
Section 16 of Executive Order No. 116 temporarily waives
licensure requirements for healthcare providers licensed in other
states, territories, and the District of Columbia. This waiver of
licensure will help alleviate any healthcare provider shortage
resulting from a COVID-19 outbreak in North Carolina. The
Medical Board seeks to help increase the pool of qualified
healthcare providers who can provide assistance with a COVID-
19 outbreak by creating an expedited process by which physicians
and physician assistants with inactive North Carolina medical
licenses may obtain a temporary emergency license.

SUBCHAPTER 32B — LICENSE TO PRACTICE
MEDICINE

SECTION .1700 - OTHER LICENSES

21 NCAC 32B .1707 LIMITED LICENSE FOR
DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES FOR PHYSICIANS
AND PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS WITH INACTIVE
NORTH CAROLINA LICENSES.

(a) The Board shall waive the requirements for licensure in the

Q) The applicant must certify and provide
information sufficient to prove that he or she
has practiced clinical medicine for at least
eighty hours within the past two years;

2 The applicant must have maintained an active
and unrestricted medical license continuously
for the ten-year period prior to going inactive;

(3) The applicant shall not have received any
public _discipline or inactivated his or her
license while under investigation with such
inactivation being reported to the National
Practitioner Data Bank; and

4) During the declared state of emergency, the
physician or physician assistant shall limit his
or_her medical practice to the area of practice
that he or she engaged in prior to going inactive
or another area in which he or she is competent
to provide medical care.

(c) The applicant must complete a limited emergency license
(d) The Board may verify that the applicant practiced clinical
medicine for at least eighty hours in the immediate two-year
period.

(e) Inresponse to a declared disaster or state of emergency and in
order to best serve the public interest, the Board may limit the
physician's or physician assistant's scope of practice.

(f)_The Board shall have jurisdiction over all physicians and
physician assistants practicing under this Emergency Rule for all
purposes set forth in or related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the
North Carolina General Statutes, and such jurisdiction shall
continue in effect even after such physician and physician
assistant has stopped practicing medicine under this Emergency
Rule or the Limited Emergency License has expired.

(q)_This license shall be in effect for the shorter of:

(€] ninety days from the date it is issued; or

(2) thirty days after a statement by an appropriate
authority is made that the emergency or disaster
declaration has been withdrawn or ended and,
at such time, the license issued shall become
inactive.

(h) The physician assistant must practice under the direct
supervision of an on-site physician and the supervising physician
must be licensed in this State, approved to practice in this State
during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5,
or approved under this Rule;

(i) Physician assistants and physicians practicing pursuant to this

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5.
(b) Limited Emergency License: Physicians and physician

Rule are not required to maintain _documentation describing
supervisory arrangements and instructions for prescriptive

assistants who do not have an active medical license issued by any

authority as otherwise required by 21 NCAC 32S .0213.

jurisdiction, but who at one time had a full and unrestricted North
Carolina_medical license, may apply for a limited emergency
license on the following conditions:

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.5.
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on February 20, 2020 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF
Current Good Manufacturing Practice of the North Carolina... 02 NCAC 09E .0116* 33:24 NCR
CREDIT UNION DIVISION
Other Reserves 04 NCAC 06C .1302 34:10 NCR
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD
Application Completion Deadline 14B NCAC 16 .0114* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees For Licenses And Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0202* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0203* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Company Business License 14B NCAC 16 .0205* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0502* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0701* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0702* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Unarmed Security Guard Registration Identification Cards 14B NCAC 16 .0705* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal of Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0706* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0801* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees for Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0802* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0806* 34:04 NCR
Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0902* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees for Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0903* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0904* 34:04 NCR
Unarmed Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0909 34:04 NCR
Application for an Unarmed Trainer 14B NCAC 16 .0910* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal of an Unarmed Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0911* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes 14B NCAC 16 .0912 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Reqistr... 14B NCAC 16 .1301* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .1302* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal or Reissue of Unarmed Car Service Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .1306* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Application/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Reqgis... 14B NCAC 16 .1401* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Fees for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Reqistra... 14B NCAC 16 .1402* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
Renewal of Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regist... 14B NCAC 16 .1406* 33:15, 34:04 NCR
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION
Carolina Beach 15A NCAC 10F .0306* 34:07 NCR
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 16B .0301 34:10 NCR
Dental Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16B .0501* 34:10 NCR
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Limited Volunteer Dental License 21 NCAC 16B .0601 34:10 NCR
Instructor's License 21 NCAC 16B .0701 34:10 NCR
Temporary Volunteer Dental Permit 21 NCAC 16B .0801* 34:10 NCR
Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Military Service 21 NCAC 16B .1001 34:10 NCR
Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Status as Milita... 21 NCAC 16B .1002 34:10 NCR
Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 16C .0301 34:10 NCR
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16C .0501 34:10 NCR
Application for Provisional License 21 NCAC 16D .0104 34:10 NCR
Restrictions on Practice 21 NCAC 16E .0102 34:10 NCR
Application for Provisional License 21 NCAC 16E .0103 34:10 NCR
Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Military S... 21 NCAC 16G .0107 34:10 NCR
Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Status as ... 21 NCAC 16G .0108 34:10 NCR
Application for Intern Permit 21 NCAC 16Y .0102 34:10 NCR

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

Apprentice Training 21 NCAC 18B .0212* 34:08 NCR
Electrical Installation: Project: Project Value-Limitation 21 NCAC 18B .0303* 34:08 NCR
Annual License Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0404 34:08 NCR
School, Hospital and Nonprofit Electrical Contractors and... 21 NCAC 18B .0408* 34:08 NCR
Applicants Convicted of Crimes 21 NCAC 18B .0901 34:08 NCR

NURSING, BOARD OF
Approval of Nurse Aide Education Programs 21 NCAC 36 .0405* 34:09 NCR

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF
Training Establishment Requirements 21 NCAC 40 .0321* 33:23 NCR

RECREATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE, BOARD OF

Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Recreation... 21 NCAC 65 .0601* 34:07 NCR
Renewal Requirements for Licensed Recreational Therapist ... 21 NCAC 65 .0602* 34:07 NCR
Reinstatement of Lapsed License 21 NCAC 65 .0701* 34:07 NCR
Inactive Status 21 NCAC 65 .0801* 34:07 NCR
Military Endorsement 21 NCAC 65 .0902* 34:07 NCR

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND

CONSUMER SERVICES TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
02 NCAC 09E .0116 = CURRENT GOOD 04 NCAC 06C .1302  OTHER RESERVES
MANUFACTURING PRACTICE OF THE NORTH (a) Pursuant to G.S. 54-109.86(b), transfers to regular reserves
CAROLINA COMMERCIAL ANIMAL FEED AND PET shall be set at zero percent,
FOOD PROGRAM (b) Special reserves for delinquent loans and reserves for line of

Any person that engages in activities regulated by the North  creqit shall be maintained as required in Rules .0401 and .0404(b)
Carolina Commercial Feed Law of 1973, G.S. 106, Article 31C,  f thjs Subchapter.

shall comply with the standards set forth under Subpart B of 21
C.F.R. Part 507, titled "Current Good Manufacturing Practice," a8 Hijstory Note:  Authority G.S. 54-109.12; 54-109.86;

incorporated under 02 NCAC 09B .0116(0)(130). Eff. December 1, 1979:
) ) Readopted Eff. February 1, 2018;
History Note:  Authority G.S. 106-284.41; Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Eff. March 1, 2020.
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TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

14B NCAC 16 .0114
DEADLINE

All photographs, record checks, proof of insurance, explanations
of criminal charges, explanations of credit history, or requested
documents shall be submitted online through the Board's website
by any applicant for a permit, license, registration, or certificate
within 60 days of the Board's receipt of the application form or a
request from Board staff, whichever is later. Any failure to submit
required or requested documents to complete the application
process within this 60-day period shall void the application and
require re-application.

APPLICATION COMPLETION

History Note:
74C-12;

Eff. January 1, 2015;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0116 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1;

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES
AND TRAINEE PERMITS

(a) Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an
online application on the website provided by the Board. The
online application shall be accompanied by:

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of
the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of
sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

3 upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board; and

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of
the license application submission date, which
will be submitted to the Board's investigator
during the application process.

(b) Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a
notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed
by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that
the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be
uploaded as part of the online application process.

(c) Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make
available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by
the Board.

(d) Each applicant must upload evidence of high school
graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof.
(e) Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board
investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another
Board representative designated by the Director prior to being
issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S.
74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the
personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the
Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the
administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's
representative.

History Note:
74C-12;

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998;
December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017,

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1;

14B NCAC 16 .0202
TRAINEE PERMITS
(a) Application, license, and trainee permit fees are as follows:

@) one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) non-
refundable application fee;

2 two hundred fifty dollar ($250.00) annual fee
for a new or renewal license, unless the
applicant is requesting a new license be issued
because of a transfer to a new company, which
shall require a one hundred dollar ($100.00) fee
for issuance of the new license with the original
expiration date in the new company name;

3 two hundred fifty dollar ($250.00) annual
trainee permit fee;

4) fifty dollars ($50.00) new or renewal fee per
year of the license term for each license in
addition to the basic license;

5) twenty five dollars ($25.00) duplicate license
fee per year of the license term;

(6) one hundred dollars ($100.00) late renewal fee
in addition to the renewal fee;

@) one hundred dollars ($100.00) temporary
permit fee;

(8) fifty dollars ($50.00) branch office license fee
per year of the license term; and

9 fifty dollars ($50.00) special limited guard and
patrol licensee fee.

(b) Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of
electronic funds transfer.

FEES FOR LICENSES AND

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 1984;

Authority G.S. 74C-9;
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Amended Eff. July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1990 for a period of 180
days to expire on July 1, 1990;

ARRC Objection Lodged January 18, 1990;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; January 1, 2004;
February 1, 1995; July 1, 1990; Transferred and Recodified from
12 NCAC 07D .0202 Eff. July 1, 2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF
LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS

(@) Each applicant for renewal of a license or trainee permit shall
submit an online renewal application on the website provided by
the Board. This online application shall be submitted not less than
30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current license or
trainee permit and shall be accompanied by:

1) one head and shoulders digital color photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

)] upload online a statement of the result of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 24 months;

3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee; and

(@) for license applicants, proof of
insurance as set out in G.S. 74C-10(e).

(b) If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and
then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if
application is made within three years of the expiration date and
the following documentation is submitted to the Board:

liability

(1) an online Application For Reinstatement of an
Expired License;
(2) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

3 one head and shoulders digital color photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

4) upload online a statement of the result of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(6) proof of liability insurance as set out in G.S.
74C-10(e); and
@) payment to the State Bureau of Investigations

to cover the cost of criminal record checks

performed by the State Bureau of

Investigations, with payment to be paid online

through the Board's online application process.
(c) A member of the armed forces whose license is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education
requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military
order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service
or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010;
November 1, 2007; January 4, 1994; July 1, 1987; December 1,
1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0203 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-9;

14B NCAC 16 .0205 COMPANY BUSINESS LICENSE
(&) Any firm, association, or corporation required to be licensed
pursuant to G.S. 74C-2(a) shall upload on the Board's website an
application for a company business license on a form provided by
the Board. Only a sole proprietorship that is owned and operated
by an individual licensee shall be exempt from this Rule. This
application for license shall require such information as the firm,
association, or corporation name; the address of its principal
office within the State; any past conviction for criminal offenses
of any company director, or officer; information concerning the
past revocation, suspension, or denial of a business or professional
license to any director or officer; a list of all directors and officers
of the firm, association, or corporation; a list of all persons, firms,
associations, corporations or other entities owning 10 percent or
more of the outstanding shares of any class of stock; and the name
and address of the qualifying agent.

(b) In addition to the items required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an out-of-state corporation shall file with its application for a
license, a copy of its certificate of authority to transact business in
this State issued by the North Carolina Secretary of State in
accordance with G.S. 55-15-01. The corporation shall also file a
consent to service of process and pleadings that shall be
authenticated by its corporate seal and accompanied by a duly
certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors
authorizing the proper officer or officers to execute the consent.
(c) Afterfiling a completed application with the Board, the Board
shall conduct a background investigation to determine if the
qualifying agent is in a management position. The Board shall
also determine if the directors or officers have the requisite good
moral character as defined in G.S. 74C-8(d)(2). For purposes of
this Rule, "conviction" means and includes the entry of a plea of
guilty or no contest or a verdict rendered in open court by a judge
or jury.
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(d) Upon satisfactory completion of the background
investigation, a company business license shall be issued. This
license shall be conspicuously displayed at the principle place of
business within North Carolina.

(e) The company business license shall be issued only to the
business entity and shall not be construed to extend to the
licensing of its officers and employees.

(f) The issuance of the company business license is issued to the
firm, association, or corporation in addition to the license issued
to the qualifying agent. The qualifying agent for the firm,
association, or corporation which has been issued the company
business license shall be responsible for assuring compliance with
G.S. 74C.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-2(a); 74C-5;

Eff. April 1, 1993;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0205 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .0502 POLYGRAPH TRAINEE
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter,
the following requirements shall apply to polygraph trainees:

@ The applicant shall successfully complete a
formal course of instruction at any polygraph
school approved by the American Polygraph
Association, the American Association of
Police Polygraphists, or the Board. A list of
approved schools can be found at:
https://www.ncdps.gov/list-polygraph-schools;

)] The applicant shall be directly supervised by a
polygraph examiner approved by the Board and
that examiner shall supervise no more than
three trainees at any given time;

3 An individual currently enrolled in a polygraph
school may conduct examinations as a part of
the course curriculum provided the
examinations are on school premises, under the
direct one-on-one supervision of a polygraph
licensee, and the school provides written notice
to the client that such examinations are being
conducted by students and not by licensed
polygraph examiners. The school shall
maintain a copy of the written notification;

(@) Trainees who wish to apply for a license must
submit an application to the Board in
accordance with Rule .0201 of this Chapter.
Applicants meeting license qualifications
within one year of the issuance of a trainee
permit shall not be required to pay an additional
application fee;

(5) Any request for renewal of a trainee permit or
for issuance of a polygraph license shall be
accompanied by an evaluation report of the
trainee's performance submitted by the trainee's
supervisor; and

(6) In addition to the final evaluation report,
supervisors  shall submit five monthly
evaluation reports over the duration of the
traineeship on a checklist provided by the
Board.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0502 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5;

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED
SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION

(a) Each employer or his or her designee shall submit an online
application for the registration of each employee to the Board.
This online submission shall be accompanied by:

1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

3 upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 48 months;

4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board,;

(6) one original signed SBI release of information
form that shall be uploaded online with the
original mailed to the Board's administrative
office;

@) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has completed the training
requirements of Rule .0707 of this Section if
applicable; and

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the
applicant a copy of the application and the completed affidavit
form and shall retain a copy of the application, including the
affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office.

(c) The applicant's copy of the application and completed
affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that
shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within
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the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon
the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized
representative of the Board.

(d) A copy of the statement required by Subparagraph (2)(7) of
this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual
applicant's personnel file in the employer's office.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998;
December 1, 1995; June 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; May 1, 1988;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0701 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-11;

14B NCAC 16 .0702 FEES FOR UNARMED
SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION
(@) Fees for unarmed security guards are as follows, along with a
four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card transaction
fee:
@ thirty dollar ($30.00) non-refundable initial
registration fee;
)] thirty dollar ($30.00) annual renewal, or reissue
fee;
3 fifteen dollar ($15.00) transfer fee; and
4) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) late renewal fee to
be paid within 90 days from the date the
registration expires and to be paid in addition to
the renewal fee.
(b) Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of
electronic funds transfer.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1985;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1990 for a Period of 180
Days to Expire on July 1, 1990;

ARRC Objection Lodged January 18, 1990;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; May 1, 2010; December 1, 2003; July
1, 1990;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0702 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-9;

14B NCAC 16 .0705 UNARMED SECURITY GUARD
REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION CARDS

(@) The registration identification card shall be carried by the
registrant when performing the duties of a private protective
services employee.

(b) The registration identification card shall be exhibited upon the
request of any law enforcement officer or any other authorized
representative of the Board.

(c) Registration identification card holders shall notify the Board
upon receipt of any information relating to the holder's eligibility
to continue holding such a card.

(d) The guard transfer online form and fee shall be submitted to
the Board by the employer within 10 days of the beginning of
employment.

(e) Upon revocation or suspension by the Board, a holder shall
return the registration identification card to the administrator
within 10 days of the date of the revocation or suspension.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0705 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11;

14B NCAC 16 .0706 RENEWAL OF UNARMED
SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION

(a) Each applicant for renewal of a registration identification card
or his or her employer shall complete an online form on the
website provided by the Board. This online form shall be
submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration of the
applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied by:

(8] one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

2) upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 12 months;

3 the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee; and

4) upload a completed affidavit form and public
notice statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal
shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy
of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application
for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including
affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office.
(¢) Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; December 1, 1995;
February 1, 1990; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0706 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11;
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Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED
SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION
PERMIT

(@) Each armed security guard employer or his or her designee
shall submit an online application for the registration of each
armed security guard applicant to the Board. This online
submission shall be accompanied by:

1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

3) upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

(@) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully completed the
training requirements of Rule .0807 of this
Section;

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is
at least 21 years of age;

@) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board; and

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the
applicant a copy of the online application, the completed affidavit
form, and proof of completion of a Board approved firearms
course and shall retain a copy of the application, including
affidavit and proof of course completion, in the guard's personnel
file in the employer's office.

(c) The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and proof of
completion of a Board approved firearms course shall serve as a
temporary registration card that shall be carried by the applicant
when he or she is working within the scope of his or her
employment and shall be exhibited upon the request of any law
enforcement officer or authorized representative of the Board.
(d) Applications submitted without proof of completion of a
Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as
temporary registration cards.

(e) The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also
apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within
30 days of employment.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; April 1, 2008; August 1, 1998;
December 1, 1995; February 1, 1990; May 1, 1988; July 1, 1987;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0801 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13;

14B NCAC 16 .0802 FEES FOR ARMED SECURITY
GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT
(a) Fees for armed security guard firearm registration permits are
as follows, along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and
credit card transaction fee:
@) thirty dollars ($30.00) non-refundable initial
registration fee;
(2) thirty dollars ($30.00) annual renewal, or
reissue fee; and
3) fifteen dollar ($15.00) application fee.
(b) Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of
electronic funds transfer.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1985;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1990 for a Period of 180
Days to Expire on July 1, 1990;

ARRC Objection Lodged January 18, 1990;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2003; July 1, 1990;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0802 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-9;

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED
SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION
PERMIT

(a) Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm
registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall
complete an online form on the website provided by the Board.
This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior
to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall
be accompanied by:

(8] one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

2) upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history search obtained by
the reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 12 months;

3 the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee;
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4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board,;

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully completed the
training requirements of Rule .0807 of this
Section; and

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal
shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy
of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application
for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including
affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office.

(c) Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

(d) A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated
light system or gun-mounted light for requalification.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; December 1, 1995;
February 1, 1990; December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0806 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13;

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS
TRAINER CERTIFICATE

Each applicant for a firearms trainer certificate shall submit an
online application to the Board. The application shall be
accompanied by:

(D) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online submission
and submitted by uploading online with the
application submission;

3) upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

4 the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board,;

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(6) a certificate of successful completion of the
training required by Rule .0901(a)(3) and (4) of
this Section, stating the training was completed
within 60 days of the submission of the
application and uploaded online as part of the
online application process; and

@) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the North Carolina Justice
Academy to cover the cost of the firearms
training course given by the N.C. Justice
Academy and collected as part of the online
application process by the Private Protective
Services Board.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987;
December 1, 1985;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 17, 2001;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; May 1, 2012; August 1, 2002;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0902 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13;

14B NCAC 16 .0903
CERTIFICATE
(a) Trainer certificate fees are as follows:
1) forty dollar ($40.00) non-refundable initial
application fee for firearms trainer applicants;
2) twenty-five dollar ($25.00) non-refundable
initial application fee for an unarmed trainer
applicant; and
3 twenty-five dollar ($25.00) biennial fee for a
renewal or replacement trainer certificate.
(b) Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of
electronic funds transfer.

FEES FOR TRAINER

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; January 1, 2004;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0903 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-9;

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS
TRAINER CERTIFICATE

(a) Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate
shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by
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the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30
days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate
and shall be accompanied by:

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful
completion of a firearms trainer refresher
course approved by the Board and the Secretary
of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of
eight hours of classroom and practical range
training in safety and maintenance of the
applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or
rifle), range operations, control and safety
procedures, and methods of firing. This training
shall be completed within 180 days of the
submission of the renewal application;

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a
criminal history records search by the reporting
service designated by the Board pursuant to
G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the
applicant has resided within the preceding 48
months;

3 the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee; and

(@) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board.

(b) Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

(c) Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum
score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct
during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration
of his or her permit.

(d) The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a
dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal
requalification.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009;
December 1, 1995; December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0904 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; October 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13;

14B NCAC 16 .0909
CERTIFICATE

(a) To receive an unarmed trainer certificate, an applicant shall
meet the following requirements:

1) comply with the requirements of Rule .0703 of
this Chapter;

) have a minimum of one year of experience in
security with a contract security company or
proprietary security organization, or one year of
experience with any federal, state, county or
municipal law enforcement agency;

?3) complete a training course approved by the
Board and the Secretary of Public Safety that
shall consist of classroom instruction to include
the following topic areas:

(A) civil liability for the security trainer --
(minimum of two hours);

UNARMED TRAINER

(B) interpersonal  communications in
instruction -- (minimum of three
hours);

© teaching adults -- (minimum of four
hours);

(D) principles of instruction -- (minimum
of one hour);

(B) methods and strategies of instruction -
- (minimum of one hour);

P principles of instruction: audio-visual

aids -- (minimum of three hours); and
(G) student performance -- (minimum 45
minute presentation);

(@) receive a favorable recommendation from the
employing or contracting licensee or other
individual with knowledge of the applicant's
experience and teaching skills; and

5) submit the online application required by Rule
.0910 of this Section.

(b) In lieu of completing the training course set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the

Board:
1) a Criminal Justice General Instructor
Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission; or
2 any training certification that meets or exceeds
the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(3) of this
Rule and is approved by the Director of PPS.
(c) In lieu of the experience requirement of Subparagraph (a)(2)
of this Rule and completing the training course set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may establish that
the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a)
for an unarmed trainer and two years of verifiable experience
within the past five years in the U.S. Armed forces as an unarmed
guard trainer. No application fee shall be required.
(d) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, an applicant for an unarmed guard trainer certificate that
is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces
shall establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth
in G.S. 93B-15.1(b). No application fee shall be required.
(e) The holder of an unarmed trainer certificate may teach as:
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1) an employee of a licensed security guard and
patrol business;

(2) as a contractor of a licensed security guard and
patrol business; and

3) in a program sponsored by a public high school

defined by G.S. 115C-75(a)(2) or a community
college defined by G.S. 115D-2(2).
(f) An Unarmed Trainer Certificate expires two years after the
date of issuance.

History Note:
15.1;

Eff. October 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0909 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015;

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 93B-

14B NCAC 16 .0910
UNARMED TRAINER
Each applicant for an unarmed trainer certificate shall submit an
online application to the Board. The application shall be
accompanied by:
@ the certified trainer application fee established
in Rule .0903(a)(2) of this Section, along with
a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit
card transaction fee; and
(2) a certificate of successful completion of the
required training. This training shall have been
completed within 120 days of the submission of
the application or current certificate of other
acceptable certification as set forth in Rule
.0909(b) of this Section.

APPLICATION FOR AN

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-13;
Eff. October 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0910 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .0911 RENEWAL OF AN UNARMED
TRAINER CERTIFICATE

(a) Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed trainer certificate
shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by
the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30
days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate.
In addition, the applicant shall include the following:

1) the renewal fee set forth in Rule .0903(a)(3) of
this Section and collected online as part of the
application process;

(2) a certificate of completion of a minimum of 16
hours of Board developed armed or unarmed
instruction performed during the current
unarmed trainer certification period; and

3) a statement verifying the classes taught during
the current unarmed trainer certification period

on a form provided by the Board as part of the

online application process.
(b) Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return are granted that same extension of time to pay
the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue must be
furnished to the Board.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-13;
Eff. August 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; January 1, 2008;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0911 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .0912

TRAINER CLASSES
Each unarmed trainer shall upload on the Board's website all
rosters of classes taught during the current unarmed trainer
certification period by June 30 and by December 31 of each year.

ROSTERS OF UNARMED

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0912 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED
ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION

(a) Each armored car employer or his designee shall complete an
online application form for the registration of each unarmed
armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online
form shall be accompanied by:

D one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

3) upload online a statement of the result of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

()] the applicant's non-refundable registration fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
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Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board,;

(6) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully completed the
training requirements of Rule .1307 of this
Section, if applicable; and

(7 a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the
applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit
and shall retain a copy of the application, including the affidavit,
in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office.

(c) The applicant's copy of the application and completed
affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that
shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working is
within the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited
upon the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized
representative of the Board.

(d) A copy of the statement specified in Subparagraph (a)(6) of
this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual
applicant's personnel file in the employer’s office.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a);

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1401 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1302 FEES FOR UNARMED
ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION
(a) Fees for unarmed armored car service guards are as follows,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee:
(D) thirty dollar ($30.00) non-refundable initial
registration fee;
2 thirty dollar ($30.00) annual renewal, or reissue
fee;
3) fifteen dollar ($15.00) transfer fee; and
4) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) late renewal fee to
be paid within 90 days from the date the
registration expires and to be paid in addition to
the renewal fee.
(b) Fees shall be paid by credit card or other form of electronic
funds transfer.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-9;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1402 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1306 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF
UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD
REGISTRATION

(a) Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed armored car service
guard registration identification card or his or her employer shall
complete an online form provided by the Board. This online form

shall be submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration
of the applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied
by:

1) upload online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal history records search
obtained from the reporting service designated
by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for
each state where the applicant has resided
within the preceding 12 months;

2 the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee.

?3) one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with application submission; and

(@) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal or
reissue shall give the applicant a copy of the online application,
including the completed affidavit form, that shall serve as a record
of application for renewal or reissue and shall retain a copy of the
online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the
employer's office.

(c) Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 78C-8.1(a);

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1406 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1401 APPLICATION/ARMED
ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM
REGISTRATION PERMIT

(a) Each armored car employer or his or her designee shall submit
an online application form for the registration of each armed
armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online
form shall be accompanied by:

1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an
applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed
separately to the Board's office;

2 one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with application submission;
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3) upload online a statement of the result of a
statewide criminal history records search from
the reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee,
along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully completed the
training requirements of Rule .1407 of this
Section;

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is
at least 18 years of age;

(7 the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board; and

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the
applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit
form and shall retain a copy of the application, including affidavit,
in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office.

(c) The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and training
certification shall serve as a temporary registration card that shall
be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within the
scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon the
request of any law enforcement officer or authorized
representative of the Board.

(d) Online applications submitted without proof of completion of
a Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as
temporary registration cards unless the armored car employer has
obtained prior approval from the Director. The Director shall
grant prior approval if the armored car employer provides proof
that the applicant has received prior Board approved firearms
training.

(e) The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also
apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within
30 days of employment.

History Note:
13;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1501 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-

14B NCAC 16 .1402 FEES FOR ARMED ARMORED
CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION
PERMIT

(a) Fees for armed armored car service guard firearm registration
permits are as follows, along with a four dollar ($4.00)
convenience fee and credit card transaction fee:

1) thirty dollars ($30.00) non-refundable initial
registration fee;
2) thirty dollars ($30.00) annual renewal, or
reissue fee; and
3) fifteen dollars ($15.00) application fee.
(b) Fees shall be paid by credit card or other form of electronic
funds transfer.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13;
Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1502 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

14B NCAC 16 .1406 RENEWAL OF ARMED
ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM
REGISTRATION PERMIT

(a) Each applicant for renewal of an armed armored car service
guard firearm registration permit identification card his or her
employer or designee shall complete an online form provided by
the Board. This online form shall be submitted not more than 90
days nor fewer than 30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's
current armed registration and shall be accompanied by:

(8] one head and shoulders color digital photograph
of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format
of sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

2) upload online a statement of the result of a
statewide criminal history records search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 12 months;

3 the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four
dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card
transaction fee;

4 the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board;

5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the
applicant has successfully completed the
training requirements of Rule .0807 of the
Section; and

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice
statement form.

(b) The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal
shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and
completed application, including the completed affidavit form, to
serve as a record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy
of the online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file
in the employer’s office.

(c) Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time
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to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay
the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be
furnished to the Board.

History Note:
13;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1506 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 10F .0306 CAROLINA BEACH

(a) Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the following waters in

the Town of Carolina Beach:

(1) Carolina Beach Yacht Basin shore to shore,
south of a line from a point on the east shore at
34.05723 N, 77.88894 W to a point on the west
shore at 34.05700 N, 77.89089 W; and
)] a portion of the Intracoastal Waterway in

Myrtle Grove Sound within approximately 50
yards of the community pier and docks
surrounding marinas at the Oceana Marina and
Carolina Beach Yacht Club, but not extending
into the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers channel
setback, and extending south of the marinas
within approximately 50 yards of the shoreline,
but not extending into the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers channel setback, to the intersection
with the no-wake zone at the Carolina Beach
Yacht Basin.

(b) Speed Limit. It is unlawful to operate any vessel at greater

than no-wake speed in the regulated areas described in Paragraph

(@) of this Rule.

(c) Placement of Markers. The Carolina Beach Town Council

shall be the designated agency for placement of the markers

implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United

States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of

Engineers.

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 — BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 16B .0301
LICENSURE

(a) All applications for licensure as a dentist shall be made on the
forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall
include the following information:

APPLICATION FOR

1) full name;

2 street address as of the date of the application;
?3) permanent street address;

4 preferred mailing address for all information;
(5) telephone number;

(6) email address;

(7) age;

(8) date of birth;

9) place of birth;

(10) citizenship or immigration
verifying documentation;

(11) social security number;

(12) marital status;

(13) any other name by which the applicant was
known in the past, accompanied by a certified
copy of a court order of name change, if
applicable;

(14) all resident addresses for the 10 years preceding
the date of application;

(15) the names, addresses, and phone numbers for
two individuals to whom the applicant always
provides the applicant's current address;

(16) disclosure and explanation of any bankruptcy
proceedings in which the applicant was a
named party;

an the license number, issuing state, and expiration
date for all current drivers' licenses held by the
applicant, and the issuing state for all drivers'
licenses held in the past by the applicant;

(18) the date of the applicant's previous application
for examination by the Board, if applicable;

(19) the date and type of any dental permit or
provisional license for which the applicant
applied in the past, if applicable;

(20) if the applicant failed an examination
administered by a dental board, the date of the
examination and jurisdiction of the dental board
that administered the examination;

(21) if any dental board has refused to administer an
examination to applicant, the jurisdiction of the
dental board that refused to administer the
examination and the date of the refusal;

(22) the dates upon which the applicant has taken the
Dental National Board Examination, the
location of the examination, and authorization
for the Board to access the examination scores;

(23) if the applicant failed the Dental National Board
Examination, the date of the failed
examination;

(24) if the applicant has applied for a dental license
in any other state or foreign country, the date of

status, with
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(25)

(26)

(27)

(28)

(29)

(30)

(31)

(32)

the application and whether the license was

issued to the applicant;

all employment held by the applicant for the

past 10 years other than dentistry;

if the applicant was terminated from

employment within the past 10 years, an

explanation regarding the termination;

all dental licenses from other jurisdictions ever

held by the applicant, including type of

licensure, license number, and dates of

licensure;

if the applicant has ever been suspended or

otherwise disqualified, or reprimanded,

censured, or otherwise disciplined by any

licensing board, professional organization, or

while the applicant was holding public office, a

written statement disclosing:

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the
discipline;

(B) the date of the discipline;

© whether the applicant appealed the
discipline and the outcome of any
appeal; and

(D) the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to
discipline;

if the applicant has ever been the subject of a

complaint with any licensing  board,

professional organization, or while the

applicant was holding public office, a written

statement disclosing:

(A) the facts that gave rise to the

complaint;
(B) the date of the complaint;
© whether the organization that received

the complaint instituted proceedings
against the applicant; and

(D) the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to the
complaint;

if the applicant has ever been reported to the

National Practitioner Data Bank or the

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank,

a written statement disclosing:

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the
report;

(B) the date of the report; and

(© the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to the
report;

if the applicant is a diplomate, board-eligible,

or a declared specialist in any branch of

dentistry, a statement of specialty and how he

or she is qualified,;

if the applicant has taken any post-graduate

training or refresher courses, other than

continuing education courses, since receiving

his or her dental degree, a written statement of

(33)

(34)

(35)

(36)

@37)

the dates, locations, and names of the training

or refresher courses;

if the applicant has ever been dropped,

suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any post-

secondary school or college, a written statement
disclosing:

(A) the facts leading to the discipline;

(B) the date of the discipline; and

© the school or college issuing the
discipline;

if the applicant has ever been denied admission

to any college or post-secondary school for a

reason other than academic qualifications, a

written statement explaining the reason for the

admission denial;

if the applicant has ever served in the armed

forces of the United States or any other country,

a written statement explaining:

(A) whether the applicant has been
separated from service;

(B) the nature of the separation;

© if other than honorable, the
circumstances surrounding his or her
release from service;

(D) dates of service;

(B) the facts leading to any charges or
complaints made or filed against the
applicant while the applicant was
serving in the armed forces, and the
outcome of the charges or complaints;

P the facts leading to any disciplinary
proceedings instituted against the
applicant while serving in the armed
forces, and the outcome of the
proceedings; and

(G) if the applicant was ever a defendant
in any court martial, the facts giving
rise to those proceedings and the
outcome of the proceedings;

a statement of whether the applicant has

registered under the Military Selective Service

Act;

a statement of whether the applicant has ever:

(A) been summoned to court or before a
magistrate for the violation of any law
or ordinance or for the commission of
any felony or misdemeanor;

(B) been arrested for the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

© been taken into custody for the
violation of any law or ordinance or
for the commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

(D) been indicted for the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;
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(38)

(39)

(40)

(41)

(42)

(43)

(E) been convicted or tried for the
violation of any law or ordinance or
for the commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

(F) been charged with the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor; or

(©)] pleaded guilty to the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

if the applicant has been admitted to practice
dentistry in any jurisdiction, a certified
statement disclosing all the dental practices at
which the applicant has worked from dental
school graduation to the date of the application,
including:

(A) the dates during which the applicant
was employed as a dentist or engaged
in practice;

(B) the addresses of offices of places at
which the applicant was employed or
practicing, and the names and
addresses of all employers, partners,
associates, or other dentists sharing
office space;

© whether the applicant was practicing
general dentistry or a specialty; and

(D) the reason for the termination of each
employment or period of private
practice;

if the applicant has ever held any other health

care license, a written statement disclosing:

(A) the type of license held by the

applicant;

(B) the dates the applicant held the license;
and

© the licensing board that issued the
license;

if the applicant has ever held hospital privileges
and those privileges were suspended or
revoked, a written statement disclosing the date,
location, and reason the privileges were
suspended or revoked,;

if the applicant has ever held a federal Drug
Enforcement ~ Administration  license  or
registration number and, if that license or
registration number has ever been revoked,
suspended, or surrendered, a written statement
disclosing the date, location, and reason for the
revocation, suspension, or decision to surrender
the license or registration number;

the applicant's post-high school, pre-dental
education, including the name and location of
the schools the applicant attended and the
period of attendance;

each degree conferred upon the applicant,
including the date of the degree and institution;

(44)

(45)

(46)

(47)

(48)

(49)
(50)

copies of the applicant's
undergraduate college;

the name and location of each dental school that
the applicant attended, the period of attendance,
the degree conferred upon applicant, and the
institution that conferred the degree;

a statement disclosing and explaining any
current condition or impairment, including
substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental,
emotional, or nervous disorder or condition,
that in any way affects the ability to practice
dentistry. For purposes of this Rule, "current”
means recently enough that the condition or
impairment may affect the applicant's ability to
function as a dentist as set out in G.S. 90-
41(a)(2) and (7). If the applicant contends that
the condition or impairment is reduced or
ameliorated because the applicant is receiving
ongoing treatment or participating in a
monitoring or support program, the applicant
may provide information regarding the
treatment or program, and may include any
verification demonstrating that the applicant
has complied with all provisions and terms of
any drug treatment program, or impaired
dentists or other impaired professionals
program;

a photograph of the applicant, taken within six
months prior to the date of the application;

a completed fingerprint record card and signed
release of information form authorizing the
Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal
history record check from the North Carolina
State Bureau of Investigation (SBI);

a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate; and

if the applicant holds, or has held in the past, a
dental license in any other state or jurisdiction,
a copy of a National Practitioner Data Bank
Report concerning the applicant that was
obtained within six months prior to the date the
Report is submitted to the Board.

transcripts  of

(b) The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized
application form with all the information and materials listed in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by the nonrefundable
application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101.

(c) In addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of
this Rule, the applicant shall request the applicable entity to send
the following required information or documents to the Board
office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the

entity involved:

M

@

the applicant's official transcripts from a dental
school accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental
Association;

if the applicant is licensed in other states, a
certificate of the applicant's licensure status
from the dental regulatory authority or other
occupational or professional  regulatory
authority, accompanied by a disclosure of any

34:19

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 1, 2020

1799



APPROVED RULES

disciplinary action taken or investigation
pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where
the applicant holds or has ever held a dental
license or other occupational or professional
license; and
3) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b)
of this Subchapter that shall include the
American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX)
dental licensure examinations.
(d) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule and the
applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule
.0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete.
Applications that are not completed within one year of being
submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a
refund of the application fee.
(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
(f) Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:
48;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; March 1, 2006;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30; 90-39; 90-41; 90-

21 NCAC 16B .0501
CREDENTIALS
(@) An applicant for a dental license by credentials shall submit
to the Board:
(D) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by Rule
.0301(a) of this Subchapter;
(2) the non-refundable licensure by credentials fee
set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101;
(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating for the
five year period set out in G.S. 90-36(c)(1):
(A) the dates that and locations where the
applicant has practiced dentistry;
(B) that the applicant has provided at least
5,000 hours of clinical care to patients,
not including post graduate training,
residency programs or an internship;
and
© that the applicant has held an active,
unrestricted dental license issued by
another U.S. state or U.S. territory,
without any period of interruption; and
4) a statement disclosing and explaining any
investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.

DENTAL LICENSURE BY

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

an applicant for a dental license by credentials shall request the

applicable entity to send the following required information or

documents to the Board office, with each document in an
unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved:

1) the applicant's official transcripts from a dental

school accredited by the Commission on Dental

Accreditation of the American Dental
Association;
2 a certificate of the applicant's licensure status

from the dental regulatory authority or other
occupational or professional regulatory
authority and a disclosure of any disciplinary
action taken or investigation pending, from all
licensing jurisdictions where the applicant
holds or has ever held a dental license or other
occupational or professional license;

3 examination scores required by Rule .0303(b)
of this Subchapter;

(@) a report of any pending or final malpractice
actions against the applicant verified by the
malpractice insurance carrier covering the
applicant; and

5) a letter of coverage history from all current and
all previous malpractice insurance carriers
covering the applicant.

(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's
passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303 of this
Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications that
are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board
shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application
fee.

(d) An applicant for dental licensure by credentials shall pass
written examinations as set out in Rule .0303(a) of this
Subchapter. Individuals who do not pass the written examination
after three attempts within one year may not reapply for licensure
by credentials.

(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-36;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003;

Eff. January 1, 2004;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 16B .0401 Eff. March 1, 2006;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; February 1, 2010;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16B .0601

DENTAL LICENSE

(@) An applicant for a limited volunteer dental license shall
submit to the Board:

(D) a notarized application form provided by the

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes

LIMITED VOLUNTEER
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the information and materials required by Rule

.0301(a) of this Subchapter;

(2) the non-refundable limited volunteer dental

licensure fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101;

(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating:

(A) for the five consecutive years
preceding the date of the application,
the dates that and locations where the
applicant has practiced dentistry;

(B) that the applicant has provided at least
1,000 hours per year of clinical care to
patients for at least five years, not
including post graduate training,
residency programs or an internship;
and

© that the applicant has provided at least
500 hours of clinical care to patients
within the five years preceding the
date of the application, not including
post graduate training, residency
programs or an internship; and

(@) a statement disclosing and explaining any
investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for a limited volunteer dental license shall satisfy the
requirements in Rule .0501(b) of this Subchapter.

(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and the
applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule
.0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete.
Applications that are not completed within one year of being
submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a
refund of the application fee.

(d) An applicant for limited volunteer dental license shall pass
written examinations as set out in Rule .0303(a) of this
Subchapter. Applicants who do not pass the written examination
after three attempts in one year may not reapply for a limited
volunteer dental license.

(e) A North Carolina licensee who holds an active dental license
may request his or her active dental license be converted to a
limited volunteer dental license by submitting a written request to
the Board office. A North Carolina active licensee making this
request is not subject to Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this Rule.
(f) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(@) Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-37.1;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003;

Eff. January 1, 2004;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 16B .0501 Eff. March 1, 2006;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2014;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16B .0701 INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE
(@) An applicant for an instructor's license shall submit to the
Board:
1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by Rule
.0301(a) of this Subchapter;

2 the non-refundable instructor's licensure fee set
forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101; and
?3) a statement disclosing and explaining any

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for an instructor's license shall request the applicable
entity to send the following required information or documents to
the Board office, with each document in an unopened envelope
sealed by the entity involved:

1) if the applicant is or has ever been employed as
a dentist by or under contract with a
government agency or a nonprofit or for-profit
organization, a certification letter of the
applicant's current status and disciplinary
history from each agency or organization where
the applicant is or has been employed or under
contract;

2) a certificate of the applicant's licensure status
from the dental regulatory authority or other
occupational or professional regulatory
authority and information regarding all
disciplinary actions taken or investigations
pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where
the applicant holds or has ever held a dental
license or other occupational or professional
license;

3 a report of any pending or final malpractice
actions against the applicant, verified by the
malpractice insurance carrier covering the
applicant;

4 a letter of coverage history from all current and
all previous malpractice insurance carriers
covering the applicant; and

5) a certification letter from the dean or director
that the applicant has met or been approved
under the credentialing standards of a dental
school or an academic medical center with
which the person is to be affiliated, and
certification that the school or medical center is
accredited by the American Dental
Association's Commission on Accreditation or
the Joint Commission on Accreditation of
Health Care Organizations.

(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the application
to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one
year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as
expired without a refund of the application fee.
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(d) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

() Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29.5;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003;

Eff. January 1, 2004;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 16B .0601 Eff. March 1, 2006;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2014;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16B .0801
DENTAL PERMIT
(@ An applicant for a temporary volunteer dental permit shall
submit to the Board an application form provided by the Board at
www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the following information:

TEMPORARY VOLUNTEER

1) full name;

)] street address;

3 employer name and address, and the applicant's
position title;

(@) work, home, and cellular telephone numbers;

(5) fax number;

(6) email address;

@) any other name by which the applicant was
known in the past;

(8) social security number;

9) citizenship or immigration status, with
verifying documentation;

authorization to work in the United States;
dental education, including dental school name,
address, and the applicant's graduation date,
and any other dental post-graduate education;
all dental licenses from other states ever held by
the applicant, including state, license number,
date issued, and licensure status as of the
application date;

if the applicant has ever been denied a license
or the privilege of taking a dental licensure or
competency examination by any dental
licensing authority or examining body, a
written statement disclosing the details,

(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)
(22)

(23)

(24)

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental,
emotional, or nervous disorder or condition,
that in any way affects the ability to practice
dentistry. For purposes of this Rule, "current”
means recently enough that the condition may
affect the applicant's ability to function as a
dentist as set out in G.S. 90-41(a)(2) and (7). If
the applicant contends that the condition or
impairment is reduced or ameliorated because
the applicant is receiving ongoing treatment or
participating in a monitoring or support
program, the applicant may provide
information regarding the treatment or
program, and may include any verification
demonstrating that the applicant has complied
with all provisions and terms of any drug
treatment program, or impaired dentists or other
impaired professionals program;

the type of facility and addresses of all facilities
where the applicant will provide temporary
volunteer dental services in North Carolina;
the dates on which the applicant intends to
provide temporary volunteer dental services in
North Carolina;

the names of all North Carolina licensed
dentists who will direct or supervise the
applicant at each location where the applicant
will provide temporary volunteer dental
services;

a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate;

a photograph of the applicant taken within six
months preceding the application date;

a completed fingerprint record card and signed
release of information form authorizing the
Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal
history record check from the North Carolina
State Bureau of Investigation (SBI); and

a signed, notarized statement by the applicant
affirming the applicant has not been disciplined
by any dental board or agency, the information
in the application is accurate, and no fee will be
charged or accepted for any dental services
provided.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

jurisdiction, and date;

if the applicant is not engaged in the practice of
dentistry as of the application date, the last
month and year when the applicant practiced;
if the applicant has been charged with or
convicted of any crime within the 10 years
preceding the application date, excluding traffic
violations but including driving while impaired
offenses, a written statement disclosing the
details and copies of the charges and judgment;
if the applicant has any contagious or infectious
disease, a written statement disclosing the
details;

a statement disclosing and explaining any
current condition or impairment, including

the applicant shall request the applicable entity or person to send
the following required information or documents to the Board
office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the
entity involved:

@ a statement from all jurisdictions in which the
applicant is now or has ever been licensed,
disclosing the applicant's disciplinary history
and current status of the applicant's license; and

2) a statement signed by a North Carolina licensed
dentist agreeing to provide supervision or
direction to the temporary volunteer dentist,
stating when and where the supervision or
direction will occur and affirming that no fee or
monetary compensation of any kind will be
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paid to the applicant for dental services
performed.
(c) The Board shall receive all items set forth in Paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this Rule for the application to be complete.
Applications that are not completed within one year of being
submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired.
(d) The holder of a temporary volunteer dental permit shall notify
the Board within five days of any changes in the practice location
or facility disclosed under Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(e) To renew the temporary volunteer dental permit, the licensee
shall submit to the Board:

1) an affidavit or notarized statement verifying the
location and type of facility where the applicant
will practice, the duration of the practice, the
name of the supervising dentist, that no fee will
be charged or accepted, and that the information
in the original application submitted under
Paragraph (a) of this Rule is correct and
requires no update or correction; and

(2) the information required in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule.

The Board shall receive all items set forth in this Paragraph for
the renewal application to be complete before the deadline for
renewing applications. The applicant shall report any changes to
submitted information within five days of when the licensee knew
or should have known of the changes.

(f) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(@ Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-29; 90-37.2; 90-41;

Eff. February 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16B .1001 DENTAL LICENSURE BY
ENDORSEMENT BASED ON MILITARY SERVICE
(@ An applicant for a dental license by endorsement based on
military service shall submit to the Board:
1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by Rule
.0301(a) of this Subchapter; and
2 written evidence demonstrating the applicant
has satisfied the conditions set forth in G.S.
93B-15.1(a), including engaging in the active
practice of dentistry for at least 1,000 hours per
year for at least two of the five years preceding
the date of the application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for licensure by endorsement based on military
service shall satisfy the requirements in Rule .0501(b) of this
Subchapter.
(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the
application to be complete. Applications that are not completed

within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be
disregarded as expired.

(d) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(e) Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-30(b); 90-41; 93B-15.1;

Eff. September 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16B .1002 DENTAL LICENSURE BY

ENDORSEMENT BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY

SPOUSE

(a) An applicant for a dental license by endorsement based on the

applicant's status as a military spouse shall submit to the Board:

1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by Rule
.0301(a) of this Subchapter; and
2 written evidence demonstrating the applicant is

married to an active member of the U.S.
military and the applicant satisfies the
conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(b),
including engaging in the active practice of
dentistry for at least 1,000 hours per year for at
least two of the five years preceding the date of
the application.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,

an applicant for licensure by endorsement based on status as a

military spouse shall satisfy the requirements in Rule .0501(b) of

this Subchapter.

(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation

required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the

application to be complete. Applications that are not completed

within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be

disregarded as expired.

(d) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the

Board office in writing within 10 business days.

() Any license obtained through fraud or by any false

representation shall be revoked.

History Note:
15.1;

Eff. September 1, 2013;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-30(b); 90-36; 90-41; 93B-

21 NCAC 16C .0301
LICENSURE

(a) All applications for licensure as a dental hygienist shall be
made on the forms furnished by the Board at

APPLICATION FOR

www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the following
information:
(D) full name;
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(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)
()
(10)
(11)
(12)
(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

street address as of the date of the application;
permanent street address:

preferred mailing address for all information;
telephone number;

email address;

age;

date of birth;

place of birth;

citizenship or immigration status, with
verifying documentation;

social security number;

marital status;

any other name by which the applicant was
known in the past, accompanied by a certified
copy of a court order of name change, if
applicable;

all resident addresses for the past 10 years
preceding the date of application;

the names, addresses, and phone numbers for
two individuals to whom the applicant always
provides the applicant's current address;
disclosure and explanation of any bankruptcy
proceedings in which the applicant was a
named party;

the license number, issuing state, and expiration
date for all current drivers' licenses held by the
applicant, and the issuing state for all drivers'
licenses held in the past by the applicant;

the date of the applicant's previous application
for examination by the Board, if applicable;
the date and type of any dental hygiene license
for which the applicant applied in the past, if
applicable;

if the applicant failed an examination
administered by a dental board, the date of the
examination and jurisdiction of the dental board
that administered the examination;

if any dental board has refused to administer an
examination to applicant, the jurisdiction of the
dental board that refused to administer the
examination and the date of the refusal;

the dates upon which the applicant has taken the
Dental Hygiene National Board Examination,
the location of each examination, and
authorization for the Board to access the
examination scores;

if the applicant failed the Dental Hygiene
National Board Examination, the date of the
examination that he or she failed;

if the applicant has applied for a dental hygiene
license in any other state or foreign country, the
date of the application and whether the license
was issued to the applicant;

all employment held by the applicant for the
past 10 years;

if the applicant was terminated from
employment within the past 10 years, an
explanation regarding the termination;

(@7)

(28)

(29)

(30)

(1)

(32)

(33)

all dental hygiene licenses from other

jurisdictions ever held by the applicant,

including type of licensure, license number, and

dates of licensure;

places of employment at which the applicant

has practiced dental hygiene, including the

name of the employer, the address of the

employer, dates of employment, and the reason

for leaving the employment;

if the applicant has ever been suspended or

otherwise  disqualified, or reprimanded,

censured, or otherwise disciplined by any

licensing board, professional organization, or

while the applicant was holding public office, a

written statement disclosing:

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the
discipline;

(B) the date of the discipline;

© whether the applicant appealed the
discipline and the outcome of any
appeal; and

(D) the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to
discipline;

if the applicant has ever been the subject of a

complaint with any licensing  board,

professional organization, or while the

applicant was holding public office, a written

statement disclosing:

(A) the facts that gave rise to the

complaint;
(B) the date of the complaint;
© whether the organization that received

the complaint instituted proceedings
against the applicant; and
(D) the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to the
complaint;
if the applicant has ever been reported to the
National Practitioner Data Bank or the
Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank,
a written statement disclosing:
(A) the facts that formed the basis for the

report;

(B) the date of the report; and

© the name and address of the authority
in possession of records related to the
report;

if the applicant has ever been dropped,

suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any post-

secondary school or college for any cause, a

written statement disclosing:

(A) the facts leading to the discipline;

(B) the date of the discipline; and

© the school or college issuing the
discipline;

if the applicant has ever been denied admission

to any college or post-secondary school for a

reason other than academic qualifications, a
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(34)

(35)

(36)

written statement explaining the reason for the

admission denial;

if the applicant has ever served in the armed

forces of the United States or any other country,

a written statement explaining:

(A) whether the applicant has been
separated from service;

(B) the nature of the separation;

© if other than honorable, the
circumstances surrounding his or her
release from service;

(D) dates of service;

(E) the facts leading up to any charges or
complaints made or filed against the
applicant while the applicant was
serving in the armed forces, and the
outcome of the charges or complaints;

(F) the facts leading to any disciplinary
proceedings instituted against the
applicant while the applicant was
serving in the armed forces, and the
outcome of the proceedings; and

(G) if the applicant was ever a defendant
in any court martial, the facts giving
rise to those proceedings and the
outcome of the proceedings;

a statement of whether the applicant has

registered under the Military Selective Service

Act;

a statement of whether the applicant has ever:

(A) been summoned to court or before a
magistrate for the violation of any law
or ordinance or for the commission of
any felony or misdemeanor;

(B) been arrested for the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

© been taken into custody for the
violation of any law or ordinance or
for the commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

(D) been indicted for the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

(E) been convicted or tried for the
violation of any law or ordinance or
for the commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

(F) been charged with the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor; or

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any
law or ordinance or for the
commission of any felony or
misdemeanor;

@37)

(38)

(39)

(40)

(41)

(42)

(43)
(44)

the applicant's high school education including
the name, location, and period of attendance for
each school, and the date of graduation;

any college or university education other than
dental hygiene, including the name, location,
and period of attendance for each school, and
the date of graduation;

the applicant's dental hygiene education
including the name, location, and period of
attendance for each school, and date of
graduation;

a statement disclosing and explaining any
current condition or impairment, including
substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental,
emotional, or nervous disorder or condition,
that in any way affects the ability to practice
dental hygiene. For purposes of this Rule,
"current” means recently enough that the
condition or impairment may affect the
applicant's ability to function as a dental
hygienist as set out in G.S. 90-229(a)(4) and
(13). If the applicant contends that the condition
or impairment is reduced or ameliorated
because the applicant is receiving ongoing
treatment or participating in a monitoring or
support program, the applicant may provide
information regarding the treatment or
program, and may include any verification
demonstrating that the applicant has complied
with all provisions and terms of any drug
treatment program, or impaired dental
hygienists or other impaired professionals
program;

a photograph of the applicant, taken within six
months prior to the date of the application;

a completed fingerprint record card and signed
release of information form authorizing the
Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal
history record check from the North Carolina
State Bureau of Investigation (SBI);

a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate; and

if the applicant holds, or has held in the past, a
dental hygiene license in any other state or
jurisdiction, a copy of a National Practitioner
Data Bank Report concerning the applicant that
was obtained within six months prior to the date
the report is submitted to the Board.

(b) The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized
application form with all the information and materials listed in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by the nonrefundable
application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102.

(c) In addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a) and (b) of
this Rule, the applicant shall request the applicable entity to send
the following required information or documents to the Board
office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the

entity involved:

)

proof of graduation from high school or its
equivalent;

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 1, 2020

1805



APPROVED RULES

(2) the applicant's official transcripts from a dental
hygiene program accredited by the Commission
on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association;

(3) if the applicant is licensed in other states, a
certificate of the applicant's licensure status
from the dental regulatory authority or other
occupational or  professional  regulatory
authority, accompanied by a full disclosure of
any disciplinary action taken or investigation
pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where
the applicant holds or has ever held a dental
hygiene license or other occupational or
professional license; and

4) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b)
of this Subchapter which shall include the
American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX)
dental hygiene licensure examinations.

(d) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule and the
applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule
.0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete.
Applications that are not completed within one year of being
submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a
refund of the application fee.

(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(f) Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:
and (13);
Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; September 1, 2013; June 1,
2006; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224; 90-229(a)(4)

21 NCAC 16C .0501
BY CREDENTIALS
(@) An applicant for a dental hygiene license by credentials shall
submit to the Board:
(D) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by Rule
.0301(a) of this Subchapter;
2 the nonrefundable licensure by credentials fee
set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102;
(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating for the
two year period set out in G.S. 90-224.1(c)(1):
(A) the dates that and locations where the
applicant has practiced dental hygiene;
(B) that the applicant has provided at least
2,000 hours of clinical care to patients;
and
(© that the applicant holds an active,
unrestricted dental hygiene license

DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE

issued by another U.S. state or any
U.S. territory, and has done so without
any period of interruption; and

4 a statement disclosing and explaining any
investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for a dental hygiene license by credentials shall
request the applicable entity to send the following required
information or documents to the Board office, with each
document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved:

(D) the applicant's official transcripts from a dental
hygiene program accredited by the Commission
on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association;

2 a certificate of the applicant's licensure status
from the regulatory authority or other
occupational or professional regulatory
authority and a disclosure of all disciplinary
actions taken or investigations pending, from
all licensing jurisdictions where the applicant
holds or has ever held a dental hygiene license
or other occupational or professional license;

©) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b)
of this Subchapter;

(@) a report of any pending or final malpractice
actions against the applicant verified by the
malpractice insurance carrier covering the
applicant; and

5) a letter of coverage history from all current and
all previous malpractice insurance carriers
covering the applicant.

(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's
passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303 of this
Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications that
are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board
shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application
fee.

(d) An applicant for dental hygiene licensure by credentials shall
pass written examinations as set out in Rule .0303(a) of this
Subchapter. Applicants who do not pass the written examination
after three attempts within one year may not reapply for licensure
by credentials.

(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.

(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224.1; 90-229;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003;

Eff. January 1, 2004;

Recodified from Rule .0401 Eff. June 1, 2006;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; February 1, 2010;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.
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21 NCAC 16D .0104 APPLICATION FOR
PROVISIONAL LICENSE
(@) An applicant for a provisional dental license shall submit to
the Board:
(1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by 21
NCAC 16B .0301(a);

2 the nonrefundable provisional licensure fee set
forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101;

3) a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist
stating he or she will supervise the applicant;
and

4) a statement disclosing and explaining any

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for a provisional license shall satisfy the
requirements in 21 NCAC 16B .0501(b).
(c) The Board shall receive all items set forth in Paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's passing scores on all
examinations required by 21 NCAC 16B .0303 for the application
to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one
year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as
expired without a refund of the application fee.
(d) An applicant for a provisional license shall pass written
examinations as set out in 21 NCAC 16B .0303(a). Applicants
who do not pass the written examination after three attempts
within one year may not reapply for provisional licensure.
(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
() Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29.3; 90-41(a);

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2014; January 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16E .0102 RESTRICTIONS ON PRACTICE
The dental hygiene practice of a provisional licensee shall be
restricted to the dental practice location designated in the
application for provisional licensure.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-226;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16E .0103 APPLICATION FOR
PROVISIONAL LICENSE
(d) An applicant for a provisional dental hygiene license shall
submit to the Board:
1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by 21
NCAC 16C .0301(a);

2 the nonrefundable provisional licensure
application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M
.0102;

?3) a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist
stating he or she will supervise the applicant;
and

4 a statement disclosing and explaining any

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or
federal agency complaints, judgments, or
settlements that are related to licensure and are
not disclosed elsewhere in the application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for a provisional license shall satisfy the
requirements in 21 NCAC 16C .0501(b).
(c) The Board shall receive all items set forth in Paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's passing scores on all
examinations required by 21 NCAC 16C .0303 for the application
to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one
year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as
expired without a refund of the application fee.
(d) An applicant for a provisional license shall pass written
examinations as set out in 21 NCAC 16C .0303(a). Applicants
who do not pass the written examination after three attempts
within one year may not reapply for provisional licensure.
(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
()  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-226; 90-229(a); 90-232;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2014; January 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16G .0107 DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE
BY ENDORSEMENT BASED ON MILITARY SERVICE
(@) An applicant for a dental hygiene license by endorsement
based on military service shall submit to the Board:
1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by 21
NCAC 16C .0301(a); and
2 written evidence demonstrating the applicant
has satisfied the conditions set forth in G.S.
93B-15.1(a), including engaging in the active
practice of dental hygiene for at least 1,000
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hours per year for at least two of the five years
preceding the date of application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for licensure by endorsement based on military
service shall satisfy the requirements in 21 NCAC 16C .0501(b).
(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the
application to be complete. Applications that are not completed
within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be
disregarded as expired.
(d) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
() Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:
93B-15.1;
Eff. September 19, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224(c); 90-229;

21 NCAC 16G .0108 DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE
BY ENDORSEMENT BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY
SPOUSE
(@ An applicant for a dental hygiene license by endorsement
based on the applicant's status as a military spouse shall submit to
the Board:
(1) a notarized application form provided by the
Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes
the information and materials required by 21
NCAC 16C .0301(a); and
)] written evidence demonstrating the applicant is
married to an active member of the U.S.
military and the applicant satisfies the
conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(b),
including engaging in the active practice of
dental hygiene for at least 1,000 hours per year
for at least two of the five years preceding the
date of application.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for licensure by endorsement based on status as a
military spouse shall satisfy the requirements in Rule 21 NCAC
16C .0501(b).
(c) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the application
to be complete. Applications that are not completed within one
year of being submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as
expired.
(d) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
() Any license obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:
232; 93B-15.1;
Eff. September 19, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224(c); 90-229; 90-

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 16Y .0102
PERMIT

(&) An applicant who is eligible for an intern permit pursuant to
Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter shall:

1) submit to the Board a notarized application
form  provided by the Board at
www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the
information and materials required by 21
NCAC 16B .0301(a);

APPLICATION FOR INTERN

2 submit the nonrefundable intern permit fee set
forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101;

?3) submit a letter from a prospective supervising
dentist confirming he or she will supervise the
intern; and

(@) satisfy the examination requirements in 21

NCAC 16B .0303(a).

(b) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for an intern permit pursuant to Rule .0101(a)(1) of
this Subchapter shall request the information or documents as set
out in 21 NCAC 16B .0301(c)(1) and (2).

(c) In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an applicant for an intern permit pursuant to Rule .0101(a)(2) of
this Subchapter shall submit written confirmation to the Board:

(8] that the applicant has graduated from a dental
program other than one accredited by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)
of the American Dental Association;

2) that the applicant is enrolled as of the date of
the application in a graduate, intern, fellowship,
or residency program at a North Carolina dental
school or teaching hospital offering programs in
dentistry;

3) that an ad hoc committee from the training
facility in which the applicant is enrolled under
Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule, consisting of
three associate or full professors, only one of
whom represents the department in question,
has evaluated the applicant's didactic and
clinical performance with the point of
observation being not less than three months
after the applicant's start of the program, and
has determined the applicant is functioning at a
professional standard consistent with a graduate
from a dental school or program accredited by
CODA,;

(@) that the applicant has completed a program of
study at the training facility in which the
applicant is enrolled under Subparagraph (c)(2)

of this Rule in:

(A) clinical pharmacology;

(B) prescription writing in compliance
with federal and State laws; and

© relevant laws and federal regulations

pertaining to the United States Drug

Enforcement Administration; and
(5) the total time required to complete the graduate,
intern, fellowship, or residency program, and
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the date the applicant is scheduled to complete
the program.
(d) The Board shall receive all information and documentation
required under Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule for the
application to be complete. Applications that are not completed
within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be
disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee.
(e) Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the
Board office in writing within 10 business days.
() Any permit obtained through fraud or by any false
representation shall be revoked.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29.4;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

R I i S S e S G I i S I

CHAPTER 18 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS

21 NCAC 18B .0212 APPRENTICE TRAINING
Applicants for examination or license based upon apprentice
training pursuant to G.S. 93B-8.6 shall receive credit for the
apprenticeship experience consistent with all applicants as set
forth in Rule 21 NCAC 18B. 0202(b)(1) or 21 NCAC 18B
.0202(b)(2).

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44; 93B-8.6;

21 NCAC 18B .0303 ELECTRICAL INSTALLATION:
PROJECT: PROJECT VALUE-LIMITATION
For the purpose of implementing G.S. 87-43.3 pertaining to the
limited and intermediate electrical contracting license
classifications, the following provisions shall apply:
(1) Electrical Installation. Electrical work shall be
construed by the Board to be an electrical
installation when the work is made or is to be

made:

@ in or on a new building or structure;

(b) in or on an addition to an existing
building or structure;

(c) in or on an existing building or

structure, including electrical work in
connection with lighting or power
rewiring or with the addition or
replacement of machines, equipment,
or fixtures; or

(d) in an area outside of buildings or

structures,  either  overhead or
underground or both.
(2) Project. An electrical installation shall be

construed by the Board to be a separate

electrical contracting project if all the following

conditions are met:

(a) the installation is, or will be, separate
and independently supplied by a
separate service, feeder, or feeder

system;
(b) the installation is for:
(i) an individual building or
structure that is separated
from other buildings or

structures by a lot line or, if
located on the same lot with
other buildings or structures,
is physically separated from
such other buildings or
structures by an open space
or an area separation fire
wall;

(i) an individual townhouse
single-family dwelling unit
constructed in a series or
group of attached units with
property lines separating
such units;

(iii) an individual tenant space in
a mall-type shopping center;

(iv) an addition to an existing
building or structure;

v) an existing building or
structure, including electrical
work in connection with
lighting or power rewiring or
with  the addition or
replacement of machines,
equipment, or fixtures; or

(vi) an outdoor area either
overhead or underground or
both;

(c) the negotiations or bidding procedures

for the installation are carried out in a
manner separate and apart from the
negotiations or bidding procedures of
any other electrical installation or part
thereof;

(d) except for additions, alterations,
repairs, or changes to a pre-existing
electrical installation, no electrical
interconnection or relationship exists
between the installation and any other
electrical installation or part thereof;
and

(e) a separate permit is required to be
obtained for each individual building
structure or outdoor area involved
from the governmental agency having
jurisdiction.

If a question is raised by a party at interest or if requested by the
Board or Board's staff for any reason, the owner or the awarding
authority or an agent of either shall furnish to the Board, and to
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the inspections department having jurisdiction, a sworn affidavit
confirming that the conditions set forth in Sub-ltems (2)(a)
through (e) of this Rule are satisfied or the project will be treated
as a single project.

3) Relationship of Plans and Specifications to
Definition of Project. Even though the electrical
work may not fully comply with each condition
set out in Item (2) of this Rule, the entire
electrical work, wiring, devices, appliances or
equipment covered by one set of plans or
specifications shall be construed as a single
electrical contracting project by the Board.

4) Project Value Limitation. In determining the
value of a given electrical contracting project,
the total known or reasonable estimated costs as
determined by the Board of all electrical wiring
materials, equipment, fixtures, devices, and
installation shall be included in arriving at this
value, regardless whether a third party such as
an owner or general contractor furnishes all or
part of same, and regardless of the form or type
of contract or subcontract involved.

@ if the total cost of the wiring,
materials, etc.,, including that
furnished by others, plus the total cost
of the installation involved, will be
more than sixty thousand dollars
($60,000) but not more than one
hundred fifty thousand dollars
($150,000), then only an electrical
contractor ~ holding  either an

21 NCAC 18B .0404 ANNUAL LICENSE FEES

intermediate or unlimited license shall
be eligible to submit a proposal or
engage in the project.

(b) if the total cost of the wiring,
materials, etc., including that
furnished by others, plus the total cost
of the installation involved, will
exceed one hundred fifty thousand
dollars ($150,000), then only an
electrical contractor holding an
unlimited license shall be eligible to
submit a proposal or engage in the
project.

If a given electrical contracting project is subdivided into two or
more contracts or subcontracts for any reason, then the total value
of the combined contracts or subcontracts that may be awarded to
or accepted by any one licensee of the Board must be within the
total project value in accordance with this Rule.

The Board's staff shall make a determination of what constitutes
a project in any given situation, and any party at interest may
appeal any staff determination to the Board for a final binding
decision.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-43; 87-43.3;

Eff. October 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; January 1, 2008; February 1,
1996; February 1, 1990;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020.

(&) The fee for issuance of license, reissuance of license, or license renewal in the various license classifications shall be as follows:
LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE

CLASSIFICATION
Limited
Intermediate
Unlimited

SP-SFD

Special Restricted

LICENSE FEE
$95.00
$140.00
$190.00
$95.00
$95.00

(b) License fees shall be made payable to the Board. Payment shall accompany any license or license renewal application filed with the

Board.

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44;

Eff. October 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1998; July 1, 1989;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; December 4, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; October 1, 2017.

21 NCAC 18B .0408 SCHOOL, HOSPITAL AND
NONPROFIT ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS AND
SEPARATE EMPLOYMENT

Consistent with the provisions of G.S. 87-43.2(c), the provisions
of Rules .0402(b) and .0403(b) of this Section do not apply to an
individual who is employed full-time by a local board of

education, hospital, or nonprofit organization, while the
individual is obligated to be regularly on active duty, as defined
by 21 NCAC 18B .0301 at the place of employment and complies
with the supervision requirements of 21 NCAC 18B .0907(c). The
provisions of Rules .0907 through .0909 of this Subchapter shall

apply.
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History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 18B .0901
CRIMES

History Note:
47(al)(4);
Eff. October 1, 1988;

Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-43.1(5a); 87-44;

APPLICANTS CONVICTED OF

Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-43.3; 87-43.4; 87-

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; April 1, 1995; February 1, 1990;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020.

R I S S S S G I

CHAPTER 36 - BOARD OF NURSING

21 NCAC 36 .0405

APPROVAL OF NURSE AIDE

EDUCATION COURSES
(a) The Board shall accept nurse aide I courses that are approved

by DHSR.

(b) The Board shall approve nurse aide Il courses in accordance
with this Rule. Nurse aide 11 courses shall be offered by a State-
licensed individual, agency, or educational institution after the
course is approved by the Board.

(1) Each entity desiring to offer a nurse aide II

course

shall submit a course approval

application 60 days prior to offering the course.
It shall include documentation of the following
standards:

(A)

(B)
(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

the students shall be taught and

supervised by qualified faculty as

defined in Subparagraph (b)(3) of this

Rule;

the clinical-experience faculty to

student ratio shall not exceed 1:10;

the selection and utilization of clinical

facilities shall support the course
curriculum as outlined in

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule;

a written contract shall exist between

the course provider and clinical

facility prior to student clinical
experience in the facility;

a procedure for processing and

disposition of course and student

complaints shall be established; and
admission requirements shall be
established in accordance with one of
the following:

Q) for all programs except those
offered as career and college
promise  tract  programs
admission requirements shall

include:

()] completion of nurse
aide | DHSR course
or DHSR-

)

®)

established

equivalent and
active nurse aide |
listing on DHSR

Registry;

) High School or
High School
Equivalency
diploma; and

(Un) other admission

requirements as
identified by the
course provider; or
(i) for all career and college
promise  tract programs
admission requirements shall

include:

m completion of a
nurse aide 1 DHSR
course or DHSR-
established
equivalent;

()] active nurse aide |
listing on DHSR
Registry after the
first attempt to pass
nurse aide | test and
within no more than
five calendar days
from enrollment in
the nurse aide Il
course;

(i expected High
School diploma or
High School
Equivalency
diploma not more
than three months
from completion of
the nurse aide Il
course; and

(V) other admission
requirements as
identified by the
course provider.

Nurse aide 11 courses shall include a minimum
of 80 hours of theory and 80 hours of clinical
instruction, supervised by a nurse faculty
meeting the requirements of Subparagraph
(b)(3) of this Rule. A nurse aide Il education
course shall not use simulation for more than
eight hours as a substitute for the required 80
hours of clinical experience.

Minimum competency and qualifications for
faculty for the nurse aide Il courses shall
include:

(A) an active unencumbered license to
practice as a registered nurse in North
Carolina;
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(B) at least two years of direct patient care
experiences as a registered nurse; and

© experience teaching adult learners.
4) Each nurse aide Il course shall furnish the

Board with records, data, and reports requested
by the Board that provide information
concerning the operation of the course and all
individuals who attended the course within the
past five years.

(5) In accordance with Rule .0309 of this Chapter,
when an approved nurse aide Il course closes, it
shall notify the Board of the closing and how
student records will be stored.

(6) A Board-approved nurse aide Il course that will
provide nurse aide Il competency evaluation
shall obtain Board approval prior to offering
competency evaluation.

(A) Board-approved nurse aide Il course
shall be in full approval status for at
least one year prior to submitting an
application to provide nurse aide Il
competency evaluation; and

(B) full approval course status shall be
maintained to provide nurse aide Il
competency evaluation.

(c) An annual nurse aide Il course report shall be submitted by
the course director to the Board on a form provided by the Board
by March 31 of each year.

(d) Complaints regarding nurse aide 11 courses shall result in an
on-site survey by the Board if necessary to resolve the complaint.
(e) Approval status shall be determined by the Board using the
annual course report, survey report, and other data submitted by
the program, agencies, or students. The determination shall result
in full approval or approval with stipulations.

(f) If the program fails to correct the deficiencies, a hearing shall
be held by the Board regarding course approval status. A course
may continue to operate while awaiting the hearing before the
Board; however, in the case of summary suspension of approval
as authorized by G.S. 150B-3(c), the course shall immediately
cease operation.

(1) When a hearing is scheduled, the Board shall
cause notice to be served on the course and shall
specify a date for the hearing, to be held not less
than 20 days from the date on which notice is
given.

2 If evidence presented at hearing shows that the
course is complying with all federal and State
law, including the rules in this Section, the
Board shall assign the course full approval
status.

3) If evidence presented at hearing shows that the
course is not complying with all federal and
State law, including the rules in this Section, the
parent institution shall:

(A) cease operation;

(B) present a plan to the Board for transfer
of students to approved courses or
shall fully refund tuition paid by the
student. Closure shall take place after

the transfer of students to approved
courses within a time frame
established by the Board; and

© notify the Board of the arrangements
for storage of permanent records.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d..e.,g.; 90-
171.39; 90-171.40; 90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 90-171.83; 42
U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987);

Eff. March 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002;
July 1, 2000; December 1, 1995; March 1, 1990;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

EE R S i

CHAPTER 40 - STATE BOARD OF OPTICIANS

21 NCAC 40 .0321
REQUIREMENTS
(@) Any North Carolina licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or
optometrist as provided in G.S. 90-237(4) and G.S. 90-240(a)(2)
and (3) who are potential trainers for an apprentice or intern to
become an optician can download an application form from the
Board's website at www.ncopticiansboard.org. Any person not
able to download an application form may request that the Board
mail the materials which the Board will mail to the requesting
person.

1) In completing the application, applicants shall
provide address and contact information for
optical place of business, optometry, or
ophthalmology office where training will be
given, name or names of training sponsors and
license numbers, and pay registration fees per
G.S. 90-246.

2 The registration fee shall be paid on initial
registration and on or before June 30 each year
for an annual renewal.

(b) The apprentice or intern shall provide to the Board
documentation to show that the training establishment provides
optical equipment and instruments, reference resources and work
processes and tasks to conduct training in opticianry.

(c) Optical equipment and instruments required to be on site and
used during training are:

(8] Focimeter, also termed lensometer;

2 Pupillary distance ruler;

3 Pupillometer;

(@) Lens clock;

TRAINING ESTABLISHMENT

(5) Calipers, also termed thickness gauge;

(6) Polariscope;

@) Salt or bead pan, also termed frame warmer;
(8) Frame adjustment tools;

9 Distometer;

(10) Staking kit, also termed punch Kit;

(11) Frame repair replacement parts to include
screws, temples, and hinges; and

(12) Training establishments wherein only interns
are registered are not required to have a
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polariscope as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this
Rule.
(d) Reference materials required to be on site for use by trainees
may be either one or both of:
(1) The textbooks used by students of the
certificate program administered by Durham
Technical Community College, or
(2) All volumes of the National Academy of
Opticianry's home study Career Progression
Program approved pursuant to Rule .0314(b)(1)
or (2) of this Section.
(e) Apprentice training shall be comprised of work processes
required for proficiency, and successful completion of the
licensure examination as defined in G.S. 90-240(b) and Rule
.0303(a) of this Section.
1) Topics and processes to be covered during
training, with minimum hours are:
(A) Orientation to opticianry — 38 hours
(B) Ophthalmic optics — 461 hours
© Assembly and repair of eyewear — 576
hours
(D) Eyewear fitting — 1,114 hours
(E) Lens grinding — 422 hours
(F) Ocular anatomy and physiology — 422
hours
(G) Contact lenses — 653 hours
(H) Recordkeeping — 177 hours
(2) An apprentice shall complete a competency
review test issued by the Board every six
months of their registered apprenticeship and
have their sponsoring trainer sign to its

completion.
(A) The review test shall cover the
processes defined in the Board

training topics in Paragraph (e) above
that correspond to the six-month
period of training in which the
apprentice is registered and contain
multiple-choice answers.

(B) The Board shall return the graded
answer sheet of the review test for the
trainee and trainer to identify training
topics and  processes  wherein
additional training may be beneficial.

© A passing score on the review test is
not required for apprenticeship
registration to continue.

(f) Internship training shall be comprised of work processes
required for review of training received during the apprenticeship
defined in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, or as required by G.S. 90-
240(a)(1) or G.S. 90-240(al). Topics and processes to be covered
during internship, with minimum hours are:

1) Assembly and repair of eyewear — 355 hours

(2) Repair of eyewear — 160 hours

3) Eyewear fitting — 375 hours

4) Recordkeeping — 50 hours

(5) Contact lenses — 100 hours
() The apprentice or intern shall provide any information
requested by the Board for documentation regarding the manner

and method by which training is conducted and allow random
inspections by Board staff of the facility wherein training is
conducted.

1) At the time of inspection, Board staff shall
verify the presence of the required training
equipment and reference materials per
Paragraph (d) and (e) of this Rule; the
registrations and display of same for trainees
and the facility per Rule .0209(a) and (b) of this
Chapter; and the documentation maintained by
the trainee of the topics and work processes
covered in training by trainee and trainer per
Paragraph (f) of this Rule.

2 The trainee and Board staff shall sign the
inspection form verifying their
acknowledgement of any missing equipment or
resources, or missing or incomplete
documentation required by this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S.
90-243; 90-246; 90-249; 90-249.1;
Eff. November 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1989;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

90-237(4);  90-240(a)(3);

EE IR S S S I S I I I S

CHAPTER 65 - BOARD OF RECREATIONAL THERAPY
LICENSURE

21 NCAC 65 .0601 CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED RECREATIONAL
THERAPIST AND LICENSED RECREATIONAL
THERAPY ASSISTANT
(a) During the two-year licensing period, a Recreational Therapist
or Recreational Therapy Assistant who is licensed by the North
Carolina Board of Recreation Therapy Licensure shall complete
continuing education as set forth in this Rule. Candidates for
license renewal must complete a minimum of 20 hours of
continuing education to renew the license. The renewal cycle is
two years prior to licensee's expiration date, and 20 hours or 2.0
CEUs must be earned within these two years.
(b) Values shall be awarded as the follows:

0.1 CEU (Continuing Education Unit) = one contact hour

1.0 CEU (Continuing Education Unit) = ten hours

2.0 CEUs =20 Hours of Continuing Education every two years
No credit shall be awarded for sessions less than one hour in
length.
(c) Content of continuing education must be consistent with the
current standards listed in the National Council for Therapeutic
Recreation Council Job Analysis, which is hereby incorporated by
reference, including any subsequent amendments or changes. A
copy of the Analysis can be accessed at the NCTRC website at no
cost. A licensee shall acquire credit through professional service,
continuing education courses, academic courses, and professional
publications and presentations.
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(d) A licensee seeking renewal earning continuing education
credit approved by the International Council on Continuing
Education (IACET) shall include documentation in licensees'
renewal application showing credit earned, content, the licensee's
name and attendance dates. A licensee seeking renewal credit for
sessions not approved by IACET must send documentation to
show name, content, attendance, and amount of credit earned.
Documentation to support renewal credit earned for attending
professional sessions shall be a transcript, certificate, letter from
the continuing education's provider's letterhead, or the licensee's
employer's training log including the content, attendance dates,
licensee's name and credit earned.
(e) A licensee seeking renewal credits for academic courses shall
submit official transcript with course(s) and credit earned. One
semester hour = 15 hours.
(f) A licensee seeking renewal credits from professional
publications and presentations shall earn no more than 10 hours
in the area of professional publications and presentations. Credit
shall not be given for repeat or multiple presentations of same
seminar, publication, in-service, original paper or poster
presentation during a renewal cycle. Credit shall be split equally
between presenters. Documentation for publications shall be a
copy of the title page, table of contents, and publication date.
Documentation for presentations shall be in the form of letter from
the sponsoring body stating the licensee's name, date, content and
the length of presentation.
(9) Values for publications and presentations are as follows:

(1) Authoring and publishing printed editorials

one hour
(2) Authoring and publishing peer reviewed
articles on original research six hours
3 Authoring and  publishing  professional
newsletter article one hour
(@) Editing a textbook of original work four hours
(5) Authoring and publishing a textbook chapter of
original work six hours
(6) Authoring and publishing a peer reviewed
journal article of
professional practice four hours
(7 Authoring and publishing a journal reviews or
book review one hour
(8) Presenting peer reviewed poster session
one hour
9 Authoring and publishing a research abstract
one hour
(10) Authoring and publishing a textbook of original
work ten hours
(11) Authoring unpublished masters or doctoral
thesis eight hours
(12) Presenting one hour at professional meetings
two hours

(h) Licensees seeking renewal credit for field-placement intern
supervision shall be granted credit for no more than two field
placement students during a renewal cycle for three hours credit
per intern. Submission of the NCBRTL Clinical Appraisal and
Reference Summary Form shall be accepted documentation. The
NCBRTL Clinical Appraisal and Reference Summary Form can
be found on the Board website, www.ncbrtl.org

(i) Licensees shall attend the Board's Compliance and Ethics
Training for four hours of credit during their first year of
licensure. Existing licensees may attend the Board's Compliance
and Ethics training for four hours of renewal credit.

(j) Licensees seeking renewal credit submission for on-line
training shall submit as proof of completion a certificate, letter or
transcript as follows:

1) documentation to show content of the
session(s);

2 documentation to show licensees' date of
completion of the session;

?3) documentation to support amount of credit

awarded; and
4 the website address of the sponsoring body.

(k) A licensee seeking renewal credit for professional
Recreational Therapy board member service shall be documented
by letter of service from the professional board stating the dates
served. One hour of credit shall be given for one year's service. If
the year's service crosses over the licensee's renewal cycle, credit
can be used for next renewal cycle.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90C-24;

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2005;

Eff. January 1, 2007;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 65 .0602 RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR LICENSED RECREATIONAL THERAPIST AND
LICENSED RECREATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT

(a) Board staff shall send a renewal and fee notice to a licensee
60 days prior to the expiration date at the licensees' last known
contact address listed on licensee's online profile unless a person
has advised the Board that he or she does not intend to renew the
license. Pursuant to Rule .0603 of this Section, it is the
responsibility of the licensee to keep the licensee's address current
on the licensee's online profile on Board website, www.ncbrtl.org.
(b) Licenses issued shall be subject to renewal every two years
and shall include documentation as required by Rule .0601 in this
Section to support completion of continuing education
requirements. The two-year cycle renews every two years on the
licensee's birth month. A licensee must submit the documentation
to NCBRTL postmarked or uploaded online on Board's website
www.ncbrtl.org by the 15" of the licensee's birth month.

(c) A licensee who is due for renewal and wants to submit
required documentation received after the 15 of licensee's birth
month shall be given a grace period until the 30" of the birth
month. The grace period allows the NCBRTL Board to review
submitted documentation and contact the licensee for any
additional information and corrections. This grace period allows
a licensee to make any required corrections before the 30™, when
a license becomes lapsed. During a grace period, a licensee may
attend conferences but must receive Board approval in order for
the continuing education credits to count for licensee's current
renewal documentation. Any licensee who applies to renew with
a lapsed license (after the 30™") will be required to fill out a
reinstatement application as stated in Rule .0701 of this Chapter.
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(d) Each licensee shall complete and submit a renewal
application, continuing education documentation and an updated
color photo of the licensee, if the individual determines his or her
appearance has changed since the last application. All materials
shall be postmarked or submitted on his or her online profile on
the Board website by the 15th of the licensee's birth month. If the
renewal application and fee is not received or postmarked by the
15" of the licensee's birth month, the license shall expire on the
30" of licensee's birth month.

(e) First year licensees must complete a mandatory Compliance
and Ethics Training offered by NCBRTL within their first year of
issue date. Proof of attendance, given at training, must be included
with Renewal application.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90C-24(a)(3); 90-29;

Eff. January 1, 2007;

Amended Eff March 1, 2016; May 1, 2013; October 1, 2009;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 65 .0701
LICENSE

(@) A recreational therapist or a recreational therapy assistant
whose license has lapsed and who desires reinstatement of that
license shall:

(1) Complete a reinstatement application form with
current contact and employment information
provided by the Board within 60 days of
expiration;

(2) Submit evidence of satisfaction of all court
conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or
felony conviction(s), if applicable;

3 Submit evidence of meeting education and
competency requirements pursuant to Rule
.0301 or Rule .0302 as applicable at the time of
reinstatement;

4) Submit evidence of meeting continuing
education requirements in accordance with
Rule .0601; and

(5) Submit payment of application fee and any
missed Renewal or Maintenance licensure fees.

(b) Persons whose license is suspended for failure to renew must
not practice recreational therapy and must not hold themselves out
as licensed by the Board until they apply for and receive
reinstatement of their license by the Board.

(c) The Board shall inform the applicant in writing of the Board's
decision within 30 days after the application deadline and the
Board finds the complete application shows the requirements
have been met.

REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90C-24(a)(3); 90C-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2005;

Eff. December 1, 2006;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 65 .0801 INACTIVE STATUS

(@) A licensee shall request inactive status by completing the
Inactive Status Request Form, that includes the licensee's contact
information, the number of years requested, the reason for the
request, and paying the fee set forth in Rule .0501 of this Chapter.
The form is available through the Board or Board's website,
www.ncbrtl.org.

(b) While on inactive status, an individual shall not practice
recreational therapy in North Carolina.

(c) A Licensed Recreational Therapist or Licensed Recreational
Therapy Assistant who has been on inactive status for a period of
one year or less may convert to active status by:

(D) Submission of a reinstatement application as set
forth in Rule .0701 in this Chapter to the Board;
2 Completion of 10 continuing education hours,

or the amount of hours as set forth in Rule .0601
in this Chapter for license renewal for a
Licensed Recreational Therapist or Licensed
Recreational Therapy Assistant; and
3 Payment of the license renewal fee.
(d) A Licensed Recreational Therapist or Licensed Recreational
Therapy Assistant who has been on inactive status for a period
greater than one year may convert to active status by:

(8] Submission of a reinstatement application as set
forth in Rule .0701 in this Chapter to the Board;
2 Completion of 10 continuing education hours

per year of inactive status, or the amount of
hours as set forth in Rule .0601 in this Chapter
for license renewal; and

3 Payment of the current license renewal fee.

(e) A Licensed Recreational Therapist who has been on inactive
status for a period greater than five years may convert to active
status by:

D Submission of a reinstatement application as set
forth in Rule .0701 in this Chapter to the Board;
and

2 Submission of proof of passage of the
examination as set forth in Rule .0301 in this
Chapter.

(f) The inactive request must be received by the Board on or
before 15" of Licensee's birth month or due date.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90C-24(a)(3); 90C-31;
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2005;

Eff. December 1, 2006;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2016;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 65 .0902 MILITARY ENDORSEMENT
(a) The military trained applicant for licensure by endorsement
shall make application to the Board by showing his or her
credentials are substantially equivalent or exceed the
requirements for licensure, as set forth in Section .0300 of this
Chapter.
(b) The application in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be
accompanied by:

(D) A color photograph;
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)
®3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

Official college transcripts from all colleges
attended;

Verification of passage of the Exam given by
National Council for Therapeutic Recreation
Certification;

Verification of military training as a MOS
Recreational Therapist or MOS Recreational
Therapy Assistant;

Verification of two years of active practice
within the five years preceding the date of
application as a MOS Recreational Therapist or
MOS Recreational Therapy Assistant; and

A statement that the applicant has not
committed any act in any jurisdiction that
would have constituted grounds for refusal,
suspension, or revocation of a license to
practice that occupation in this State at the time
the act was committed.

(c) Applicants pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1(a2) shall pass the
Military Exemption MOS Recreational Therapy Examination
given by the North Carolina Board of Recreational Therapy

(d) A military spouse applicant for licensure by endorsement,
who possesses a current license whose licensure requirements are
substantially equivalent or exceed the requirements for licensure
in North Carolina shall make application with and be evaluated
by the Board as set forth in Section .0300 of this Chapter.

(e) The application in Paragraph (d) shall be accompanied by:

o)
@

©)
(4)

®)

History Note:

A color photograph;

Official college transcripts from all colleges
attended;

Verification of current state license;
Verification of passage of the Exam given by
National Council for Therapeutic Recreation
Certification; and

A statement that the applicant has not
committed any act in any jurisdiction that
would have constituted grounds for refusal,
suspension, or revocation of a license to
practice that occupation in this State at the time
the act was committed.

Authority G.S. 90C-27; 90C-33; 93B-15.1;

Licensure. Eff. March 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2020.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 16, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1%t Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins
Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2" Vice Chair)
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell
W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079
Ashley Snyder (919) 431-3081

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
April 16, 2020 May 21, 2020
June 18, 2020 July 16, 2020

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, APRIL 16, 2020 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

M. Follow-up matters
A. Structural Pest Control Committee - 02 NCAC 34 .0302, .0309, .0328, .0331, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504,
.0505, .0506, .0602, .0703, .1206 (Snyder)

B. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources — 07 NCAC 13F .0202 (Reeder)

C. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May)

D. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13F .0202, .0204, .0208, .0209, .0212; 13G .0202, .0204, .0208,
.0209, .0212, .0213 (May)

E. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder)

F. Department of Insurance - 11 NCAC 04 .0418 (Snyder)

G. Department of Insurance - 11 NCAC 12 .0321, .0514, .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504, .1505, .1506, .1507, .1508,

.1509, .1803 (Snyder)
Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501,
.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109,
.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140,
.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206
(May)
I. Sedimentation Control Commission - 15A NCAC 04C .0103, .0106 (Reeder)
J. Psychology Board - 21 NCAC 54 .2006, .2008 (May)
K. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;

Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder)

I

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between February 21, 2020 through March 20, 2020
e State Board of Elections (May)
e Department of Insurance (Snyder)
e Private Protective Services Board (Reeder)
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Marine Fisheries Commission (Snyder)

Wildlife Resources Commission (Snyder)

Auctioneer Licensing Board (Reeder)

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (May)

Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors (Snyder)
Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors (Reeder)

Appraisal Board (May)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting

VI. Existing Rules Review
e Readoptions

VILI. Commission Business
o Next meeting: Thursday, May 21, 2020

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
February 21, 2020 through March 20, 2020

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 21 are department rules concerning reporting (.0100) and noncompliance (.0200).

Best Efforts 08 NCAC 21 .0101
Adopt*

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 08 NCAC 21 .0102
Adopt*

Reporting of Special Contributions 08 NCAC 21 .0103
Adopt*

Reporting of Electioneering Communications 08 NCAC 21 .0104
Adopt*

Federal Political Committee Reporting 08 NCAC 21 .0105
Adopt*

Electronic Filing 08 NCAC 21 .0106
Adopt*

Procedures for Political and Referendum Committees 08 NCAC 21 .0201
Amend*

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 8 concern the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance
electricians (.0400); qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600);
qualification board-standard certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured
housing board (.0900); NC Home Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of
ethics (.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200); home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board
continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and construction appeals (.1500).

Building Code Publications: General Information 11 NCAC 08 .0203
Readopt with Changes*

34:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2020
1818




RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator:
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and

armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400).

Purpose 14B NCAC 16 .0101
Readopt without Changes*

Location 14B NCAC 16 .0102
Readopt without Changes™

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .0103
Readopt without Changes*

Uniforms and Equipment 14B NCAC 16 .0104
Readopt without Changes*

Prohibited Acts 14B NCAC 16 .0105
Readopt without Changes*

Disciplinary Actions 14B NCAC 16 .0106
Readopt without Changes*

Law Enforcement Officers Special Provisions 14B NCAC 16 .0107
Readopt without Changes*

Records 14B NCAC 16 .0108
Readopt without Changes*

Rulemaking and Administrative Hearing Procedures 14B NCAC 16 .0109
Readopt without Changes*

Change of Address or Telephone Number 14B NCAC 16 0111
Readopt without Changes*

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 14B NCAC 16 .0112
Readopt without Changes*

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 14B NCAC 16 .0113
Readopt without Changes*

Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0204
Readopt without Changes™

Experience Requirements/Security Guard and Patrol License 14B NCAC 16 .0301
Readopt without Changes*

Experience Requirements for Guard Dog Service License 14B NCAC 16 .0302
Readopt without Changes*

Experience Requirements for a Private Investigator License 14B NCAC 16 .0401
Readopt without Changes™

Experience Requirements for a Counterintelligence License 14B NCAC 16 .0402
Readopt without Changes*

Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403
Readopt without Changes™

Reports 14B NCAC 16 .0404
Readopt without Changes™

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 14B NCAC 16 .0405
Readopt without Changes*

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 14B NCAC 16 .0501
Readopt without Changes*

Polygraph Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0503
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Readopt without Changes*

Polygraph Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0504
Readopt without Changes™
Experience Requirements for a Psychological Stress Evalua... 14B NCAC 16 .0601
Readopt without Changes*
P.S.E. Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0602
Readopt without Changes*
P.S.E. Instruments 14B NCAC 16 .0603
Readopt without Changes™
Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0703
Readopt without Changes*
Investigation for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0704
Readopt without Changes*
Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707
Readopt without Changes™
Minimum Stds/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Pe... 14B NCAC 16 .0803

Readopt without Changes*

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 3M cover harvesting of finfish including general rules (.0100); striped bass (.0200); mackerel
(.0300); menhaden and Atlantic herring (.0400); and other finfish (.0500).

Tarpon 15A NCAC 03M .0509
Readopt with Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 30 cover various licenses (.0100); leases and franchises (.0200); license appeal procedures
(.0300); Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board (.0400); and licenses, leases and franchises (.0500).

License and Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration Transfers 15A NCAC 030 .0108
Readopt with Changes*

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and
water safety. The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife
provisions (.0100), hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400).

Big Game Harvest Reports 15A NCAC 10B .0113
Readopt with Changes*

Prohibited Taking and Manner of Take 15A NCAC 10B .0201
Amend*

Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203
Amend*

American Alligator 15A NCAC 10B .0224
Amend*

Bullfrogs 15A NCAC 10B .0226
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500);
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600).

Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205
Amend*
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Transportation of Live Fish 15A NCAC 10C .0209
Amend*

Possession of Certain Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0211
Amend*

Inland Game Fishes Designated 15A NCAC 10C .0301
Readopt with Changes*

Largemouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0305
Amend*

Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306
Amend*

Kokanee Salmon 15A NCAC 10C .0308
Readopt with Changes*

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314
Amend*

Trout 15A NCAC 10C .0316
Amend*

Smallmouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0321
Adopt*

Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0322
Adopt*

Redeye Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0323
Adopt*

Catfish 15A NCAC 10C .0324
Adopt*

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401
Amend*

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and
water safety. The rules in Subchapter 10D are game lands rules.

General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102
Amend*
Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103
Amend*
Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 15A NCAC 10D .0105
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300).

Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327
Amend*
Currituck County 15A NCAC 10F .0340
Amend*

AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 4B are from the Auctioneer Licensing Board including organization and general provisions
(.0100); application for license (.0200); examinations (.0300); licensing (.0400); schools of auctioneering (.0500);
general auctioneering (.0600); recovery fund (.0700) and continuing education (.0800).

Purpose 21 NCAC 04B .0101
Readopt with Changes*

Board Office 21 NCAC 04B .0102
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Readopt with Changes*

Definitions 21 NCAC 04B .0103
Readopt with Changes*

Administrative Law Procedures 21 NCAC 04B .0104
Readopt with Changes*

Application Forms 21 NCAC 04B .0201
Readopt with Changes*

Filing and Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0202
Readopt with Changes*

Extensions for Members of the Armed Forces 21 NCAC 04B .0203
Adopt*

Subject Matter 21 NCAC 04B .0301
Readopt with Changes*

Re-Examination/Refund of Fees 21 NCAC 04B .0302
Readopt with Changes*

Exam: Review: Papers and Content 21 NCAC 04B .0303
Readopt with Changes*

License Number: Display of License and Pocket Card 21 NCAC 04B .0401
Readopt with Changes*

License Renewal 21 NCAC 04B .0402
Readopt with Changes*

Apprentice Auctioneer License 21 NCAC 04B .0403
Readopt with Changes*

Grounds for License Denial or Discipline 21 NCAC 04B .0404
Readopt with Changes*

Involvement in Court Action or Administrative Hearing 21 NCAC 04B .0405
Readopt with Changes*

Application for Course Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0501
Readopt with Changes*

Requirements for Approval/Minimum Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0502
Readopt with Changes*

Certification of Course Completion 21 NCAC 04B .0503
Readopt with Changes*

Records Must Be Maintained 21 NCAC 04B .0504
Readopt with Changes*

Grounds for Approval, Suspension, or Revocation 21 NCAC 04B .0505
Readopt with Changes*

Allowing Unlicensed Bid Callers: Exception 21 NCAC 04B .0506
Readopt with Changes*

Change of Address or Business Name or Ownership 21 NCAC 04B .0601
Readopt with Changes*

Advertising 21 NCAC 04B .0602
Readopt with Changes*

Sale Proceeds, Accounting and Escrow Accounts 21 NCAC 04B .0603
Readopt with Changes*

Contracts, Consignment Records, Sales Records, and Bidder... 21 NCAC 04B .0604
Readopt with Changes*

Bidding 21 NCAC 04B .0605
Readopt with Changes*

Auction Firms 21 NCAC 04B .0606
Readopt with Changes*

Sole Proprietor Auction Businesses 21 NCAC 04B .0607
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Readopt with Changes*

Applications 21 NCAC 04B .0701
Readopt without Changes*
Continuing Education Course 21 NCAC 04B .0801
Readopt with Changes*
Application for Original Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0802
Readopt with Changes*
Student Fee for Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0803
Readopt with Changes*
Approval of Continuing Education Instructors 21 NCAC 04B .0804
Readopt with Changes*
Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0805
Readopt with Changes*
Course Completion Reporting 21 NCAC 04B .0806
Readopt with Changes*
Change in Ownership and Other Information 21 NCAC 04B .0807
Readopt with Changes*
Course Records 21 NCAC 04B .0808
Readopt with Changes*
Renewal of Course and Sponsor Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0809
Readopt with Changes*
Denial or Withdrawal of Approval 21 NCAC 04B .0810
Readopt with Changes*
Minimum Class Size 21 NCAC 04B .0811
Readopt/Repeal*
Scheduling and Notice of Scheduled Courses 21 NCAC 04B .0812
Readopt with Changes*
Advertising; Providing Course Information 21 NCAC 04B .0813
Readopt with Changes*
Conduct of Classes 21 NCAC 04B .0814
Readopt with Changes*
Instructor Conduct and Performance 21 NCAC 04B .0815
Readopt with Changes*
Monitoring Attendance 21 NCAC 04B .0816
Readopt with Changes*
Student Participation Standards 21 NCAC 04B .0817
Readopt with Changes*
Additional Sponsor Requirements 21 NCAC 04B .0818
Readopt with Changes*
Alternative Compliance 21 NCAC 04B .0819
Readopt with Changes*
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

The rules in Subchapter 48B concern types of licenses.
Licenses by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48B .0102
Amend*
Licenses by Examination 21 NCAC 48B .0103
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 48D concern examinations.
34:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2020

1823



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Schedule and Location of Examination 21 NCAC 48D .0102
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 48E deal with the requirements for application for licensure (.0100).

Filing Application 21 NCAC 48E .0101
Amend*
Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Examination 21 NCAC 48E .0110
Amend*
Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Applicant by Endorsement 21 NCAC 48E .0111
Amend*
Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Endorsement ... 21 NCAC 48E .0112
Amend*
Foreign-Trained Physical Therapist Assistant Exam Applicant 21 NCAC 48E .0510
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 48G concern retention of license including licensure renewal (.0100); lapsed licenses (.0200);
refusal to renew or grant license suspension or revocation (.0300); probation or warning (.0400); contested case
hearings (.0500); and disciplinary action (.0600).

Continuing Competence Activities 21 NCAC 48G .0109
Amend*
Notification 21 NCAC 48G .0202
Amend*
Complaints and Investigations 21 NCAC 48G .0504
Amend*

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

The rules in Chapter 50 are from the Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors including rules about organization
(.0100); forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); general procedures (.0400); policy statements and interpretative rules
(.0500); contested cases (.1000); fees (.1100); petitions for rules (.1200); declaratory rulings (.1300); and continuing
education (.1400).

Qualifications Determined by Examination 21 NCAC 50 .0301
Amend*

Applications: Issuance of License 21 NCAC 50 .0306
Amend*

Responsibilities of State and Local Government Technician... 21 NCAC 50 .0313
Amend*

Private Educational Institution Plumbing or Heating Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0314
Adopt*

Responsibilities of Private Educational Institution Techn... 21 NCAC 50 .0315
Adopt*

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor License 21 NCAC 50 .0316
Adopt*

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor Licensees 21 NCAC 50 .0317
Adopt*

Multiple Licenses 21 NCAC 50 .0405
Amend*

Corporations, Partnerships and Trade Names 21 NCAC 50 .0407
Amend*

Change of Trade Name 21 NCAC 50 .0408
Amend*

General Supervision and Standard of Competence 21 NCAC 50 .0505
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Amend*

Residential Fire Sprinkler Design License 21 NCAC 50 .0519
Adopt*

Examination Fees 21 NCAC 50 .1101
Amend*

License Fees 21 NCAC 50 1102
Amend*

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 50 .1106
Adopt*

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

The rules in Chapter 56 concern the organization of the board (.0100); instructional programs (.0300); records and
reports of the board, retention and dispositions (.0400); professional engineer (.0500); professional land surveyor
(.0600); rules of professional conduct (.0700); firm registration (.0800); general business entities (.0900); temporary
permit (.1000); seal (.1100); rulemaking proceedings (.1200); board disciplinary procedures (.1300); contested cases
(.1400); fees (.1500); standards of practice for land surveying in North Carolina (.1600); and continuing professional
competency (.1700).

Disbursement of Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0303
Amend*

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 21 NCAC 56 .0304
Adopt*

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0501
Amend*

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0503
Amend*

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0601
Amend*

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0603
Amend*

Annual Renewal and 30-Day Reporting of Violations and Cha... 21 NCAC 56 .0804
Amend*

Business Titles 21 NCAC 56 .0902
Amend*

Improper Practice by a Licensee 21 NCAC 56 .1301
Amend*

Unlawful Practice by and Unlicensed Person 21 NCAC 56 1302
Amend*

Notice of Contemplated Board Action to Applicant: Request... 21 NCAC 56 .1403
Amend*

Classification of Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1603
Amend*

Mapping Requirements for Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1604
Amend*

Global Positioning Systems Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1607
Amend*

APPRAISAL BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 57A cover licensing, certification and practice rules for appraisers including application
procedures (.0100); licensing and certification (.0200); examination (.0300); general practice requirements (.0400);
appraisal standards (.0500); and experience credit (.0600).
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Qualifications for Trainee Registration and Appraiser Lic... 21 NCAC 57A .0201
Amend*
Temporary Practice 21 NCAC 57A .0210
Amend*
Applicants Certified in Another State 21 NCAC 57A .0211
Amend*
Time and Place 21 NCAC 57A .0301
Amend*
Subject Matter and Passing Scores 21 NCAC 57A .0302
Repeal*
Examination Review 21 NCAC 57A .0306
Repeal*
Change of Name or Address 21 NCAC 57A .0404
Amend*
Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407
Amend*
Appraisal Management Companies 21 NCAC 57A .0410
Amend*
Experience Credit to Upgrade 21 NCAC 57A .0601
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 57B cover real estate appraisal education including the courses required for licensure or
certification (.0100); course sponsor standards for pre-licensing or pre-certification courses (.0200); pre-licensing and
pre-certification course standards (.0300); course sponsor fees (.0400); fees for private real estate appraisal education
schools (.0500); and continuing education course standards (.0600).

Registered Trainee Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0101
Amend*
Licensed Residential and Certified Residential Real Estat... 21 NCAC 57B .0102
Repeal*
Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0103
Repeal*
Course Content 21 NCAC 57B .0302
Amend*
Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 57B .0304
Amend*
Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306
Amend*
Criteria for Course Recognition 21 NCAC 57B .0307
Amend*
Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606
Amend*
Payment of Fee Required by G.S. 93E-1-7(b1) 21 NCAC 57B .0613
Amend*
Instructors for the Trainee/Supervisor Course Required by... 21 NCAC 57B .0614
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 57C concern administrative law procedures including appraisal board hearings (.0100);
petitions for rules (.0200); rule-making (.0300); and declaratory rulings (.0400).

Form of Complaints and Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 57C .0101
Amend*
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The rules in Subchapter 57D concern appraisal management companies including application for appraisal
management registration (.0100); appraisal management company registration (.0200); appraisal management
company procedures (.0300); and appraisal management company general practices (.0400).

Form 21 NCAC 57D .0101
Amend*
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, 11

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer
Tenisha Jacobs

Melissa Owens Lassiter
Don Overby

J. Randall May

David Sutton

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
19 BOE | 01535 1/7/2020; The People for Rev. State Board of Elections and Ethics | May
1/14/2020 Joseph L Irving Enforcement
19 BOE | 02435 1/24/2020 Robert Jameson NC State Board of Elections Ward
19 DHR | 00943 5/21/2019; Central Family Care NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
1/9/2020 Home Dr Thelma B Services, Division of Health Service
Brown Regulation
19 DHR | 02817 1/16/2020 Perkins Professional Department of Health and Human | May
Daycare Inc Services
19 DHR | 05406 1/28/2020 New Horizon Group NC Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Home LLC Services, Division of Social Services
19 DOJ | 00322 1/27/2020 Kenneth M Tanguay North  Carolina Criminal Justice | Lassiter
Education and Training Standards
Commission
19 DOJ | 01621 1/23/2020 Matthew Bounds NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Sutton
Standards Commission
19 DOJ | 01622 1/30/2020 Joshua Orion David NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Ward
Standards Commission
19 DOJ | 02498 1/23/2020 Justin T Combs NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Sutton
Standards Commission
19 DOJ | 02985 1/6/2020 Thomas Council NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Overby
Standards Commission
19 DOJ | 03862 1/21/2020 Andre D Green Sr NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Bawtinhimer
Standards Commission
19 INS | 02486 1/3/2020 Candace Heer State Health Plan May
19 INS | 03891 1/13/2020 Donna Thomas North Carolina State Health Care Plan | Bawtinhimer
Tedder
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18 OSP | 02258 1/6/2020 Jodette Dorene Hall North Carolina Department of Public | Bawtinhimer
Safety
19 OSP | 03469 1/27/2020 Alejandro Asbun North Carolina Department of Health | Jacobs
and Human Services
19 OSP | 03472 11/18/2019; | Rex A Draughon NCDPS Adult Corrections and Juvenile | Overby
1/2/2020 Justice
19 OSP | 04414 1/29/2020 Tiffany Efird NC DOT/ DMV Bawtinhimer
Unpublished
19 BAR | 06047 1/13/2020 Kelvin D Exum The North Carolina State Bar Overby
19 BOE | 04976 1/10/2020 Barbara Dantonio NC State Board of Elections Ward
19 CPS | 03805 1/7/2020 Christene Callihan Crime Victims Compensation | Lassiter
Commission
19 CPS | 05739 1/7/2020 Larry Richard Public Safety operating as North | Sutton
Moore Carolina State Highway Patrol
19 CPS | 06274 1/16/2020 Courtney King NC Crime Victims Comp Commission | Malherbe
19 CSE | 03117 1/2/2020 Andrelle Wiley NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 05599 1/16/2020 Eron Thomas NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 05671 1/7/2020 Tesha M Mangum NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 05693 1/23/2020 Ascencion NC Department of Health and Human | May
Escamilla Services, Division of Social Services,
Rodriguez Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 05799 1/16/2020 Charles Pettus NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 05856 1/30/2020 Antonio Mock NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 05921 1/13/2020 Damian D Liles NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
19 CSE | 05928 1/23/2020 Allyson Lucia NC Department of Health and Human | May
Chavis Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 05963 1/30/2020 Dwain Evans NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 05971 1/14/2020 Thomas A Miller NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Service
19 CSE | 06058 1/16/2020 Lincoln Hardrick NC Department of Health and Human | Culpepper
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 06122 1/15/2020 Gregory E Dwyer NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
34:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2020

1829



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

19 CSE | 06127 1/13/2020 Claude Sanders NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 CSE | 06330 1/14/2020 Christine L Barnes NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 CSE | 06606 1/22/2020 Michael T NC Department of Health and Human | Bawtinhimer
Holloway Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Services
19 DCS | 04290 1/10/2020 Lynetta J Givens NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 DHR | 04623 1/28/2020 Loretta Buckley NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Malakie Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DHR | 05200 1/3/2020 Antonio Ray Davis Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DHR | 05205 1/10/2020 Onslow Pines Rest NC Dept of Health and Human Services | Mann
Home (DHSR)
19 DHR | 05871 1/17/2020 LifeQuest Trillium Health Resources Lassiter
Disabilities Services
Inc Jane Williams
19 DHR | 05911 1/22/2020 Teketa Pemberton DHHS May
19 DHR | 05962 1/22/2020 Nicole Richardson NC Department of Health and Human | Mann
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DHR | 06006 1/7/2020 Lalee Lee NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DHR | 06383 1/7/2020 Lewis E Williams DHHS Ms Lisa G Corbett General | Bawtinhimer
Counsel
19 DHR | 06419 1/29/2020 Gaston Residential NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services Inc Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DHR | 06446 1/21/2020 Kiayanis Harris North Carolina Department of Health | Malherbe
and Human Services, Division of Child
Development and Early Education
19 DHR | 06567 1/23/2020 Sylvia Corry NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Child
Development and Early Education
19 DHR | 06942 1/30/2020 Valerie R Davis NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 DOJ | 02330 1/2/2020 Demonte NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer
Dominigue Shaw
19 DST | 05116 1/17/2020 Michael Bagala State Treasurer of North Carolina, | Jacobs
A/K/A Bernard C Retirement Systems Division
Wijesingha
19 OSP | 05895 1/28/2020 Charles A Wooten Cherry Hospital 1403 W Ash St | Overby
Goldsboro NC (DHHS)
34:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2020

1830




