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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Administration intends to amend the rule cited as 

01 NCAC 05B .0503. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 28, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, 424 N. Blount Street, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This Rule is being amended to 

correct an issue arising after readoption. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, 424 N. 

Blount Street, Raleigh, NC 27601; phone (984) 236-0008; email 

adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 05 - PURCHASE AND CONTRACT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05B - PURCHASE PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0500 - REJECTION OF OFFERS 

 

01 NCAC 05B .0503 NEGOTIATION 

(a)  If the Purchasing Agency does not receive a Responsive Offer 

to a Solicitation and determines that soliciting Offers again would 

not yield a different result, the The Purchasing Agency may 

negotiate with one or more Responsive Vendors Vendors in the 

Competitive Range or reject all Offers under the provisions of 

Rule .0501 of this Section and negotiate with one or more sources 

of supply that may be capable of satisfying the requirement. 

Negotiations may also be conducted under conditions that merit a 

waiver of Competition pursuant to Rule .1401 of this Section. 

(b)  Negotiations shall be conducted by the Purchasing Agency if 

the Solicitation is under its Bid Value Benchmark or General 

Delegation. A Purchasing Agency may request the participation 

of the Division in any Negotiation. 

(c)  Negotiations shall be memorialized by a written agreement 

executed by the parties and issued by the Division. 

(d)  All Negotiation results shall be documented in writing for 

public record. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53; 143-60. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources intends to readopt with substantive changes the rule 

cited as 07 NCAC 13B .1003. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncparks.gov/park-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 3, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Nature Research Center, Room 4508, 121 W. Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The existing rule pertaining to 

alcohol in state parks currently bans all persons from possessing 

and/or consuming alcohol on park premises at most parks.  This 

limitation is inconsistent with all other State Parks across the 

southeastern United States.  To serve more of the growing 
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population of North Carolina, the permission to change to a 

system with measured limitations pertaining to alcohol rather 

than almost a total abolition is requested.  This requested rule 

change will increase revenue, increase occupancy rates, increase 

usage of all rental facilities and will enhance the experience for 

visitors to North Carolina State Parks. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Carol Tingley, NC Division 

of Parks and Recreation, 1615 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1615 

 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - PARKS AND RECREATION AREA 

RULES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13B - PARKS AND RECREATION AREAS 

 

SECTION .1000 - DISORDERLY CONDUCT: PUBLIC 

NUISANCE: ETC. 

 

07 NCAC 13B .1003 INTOXICATING LIQUORS: 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND CONTROLLED 

SUBSTANCE OR BEVERAGES SUBSTANCES 

(a)  A person shall not possess or consume any malt beverage, 

fortified wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in 

G.S. 18B-101, within any state park park, natural area or 

recreation area, except at the Chimney Rock Attraction and 

Chimney Rock Restaurant at the Chimney Rock State Park 

except: 

(1) as permitted under a long term long-term 

operating agreement agreement; and at the 

Summit Conference Center, Haw River State 

Park  

(2) in designated areas designated in accordance 

with Paragraph (h) of this Rule; and only or  

(3) after obtaining a Special Activity Permit from 

approved by the Director of the Division or his 

or her designee under Paragraphs (d) through (i) 

of in accordance with this Rule. A person shall 

not possess or consume any other alcoholic 

beverage, as defined by G.S. 18B-101, or 

controlled substance substance, as defined by 

G.S. 90-87(5) or intoxicating substance within 

any state park park, natural area or recreation 

area. 

(b)  A person shall not be or become intoxicated intoxicated, as 

defined by G.S. 14-443(2), while within any state park park, 

natural area or recreation area, including during events approved 

under a Special Activity Permit. 

(c)  A person shall not sell sell or serve, or attempt to sell sell or 

serve any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, within any state park 

park, natural area or recreation area. area, except:  

(1) pursuant to the terms and conditions of a long-

term operating lease from agreement with the 

Division. Division;  

(2) in areas designated in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; or  

(3) after obtaining a Special Activity Permit 

approved by the Director of the Division or his 

or her designee in accordance with this Rule. A 

person shall not sell sell or serve or attempt to 

sell sell or serve any other alcoholic beverage, 

as defined by G.S. 18B-101, or controlled 

substance substance, as defined by G.S. 90-

87(5) or intoxicating substance within any state 

park park, natural area or recreation area. 

(d)  Applications Requests for a Special Activity Permit 

authorizing the possession or consumption possession, 

consumption, sale or service of any malt beverage, fortified wine, 

unfortified wine or spirituous liquor as defined in G.S. 18B-101, 

shall be made by a Special Activity Permit request in writing to 

the Director of the Division or his or her designee, not less than 

14 days prior to the date(s) of the intended use. 

(e)  The written request shall state the period of time and the area 

from for which the use is requested; the number of persons 

expected to be in attendance; the type of activity and the type and 

amounts of malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor involved; documentation of any and all 

permitting required by the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission; and the name and address of the individual, 

organization or group seeking permission to use any portion of 

any state park park, natural area or recreational area for the 

possession or consumption possession, consumption, sale or 

service of any malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine or 

spirituous liquor, listing liquor; and, for organizations and groups 

requesting permission, the name and address of the requestor or 

its president, vice president(s), secretary and treasurer or its 

principal chief executive officer or officers, its directors, if any, 

and such other pertinent information as may be required by the 

Director of the Division, or his or her designee, sufficient to 

identify the organization submitting the request and the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:18 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 16, 2020 

1709 

individuals principally engaged in the conduct of its affairs. 

authorized representative, such as the president or chief executive 

officer of the organization or group. 

(f)  The Special Activity Permit shall specify the hours of 

permitted use, type of malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified 

wine or spirituous liquor, the total amounts to be brought into the 

Park state park, natural area or recreation area, and the maximum 

number of attendees. attendees, and any additional conditions 

specified by the Director or his or her designee which are 

consistent with the purposes and management of the State Park 

System, as defined in G.S. 143B-135.42. 

(g)  If the Director of the Division or his or her designee concludes 

that the requested use will not hinder or impede any regularly 

established use of the Haw River State Park and Chimney Rock 

State Park state park park, natural area or recreation area where 

the use is requested and will not adversely affect or threaten their 

care, protection or maintenance or create a nuisance by such use, 

is consistent with the protection of the natural resources, facilities, 

and public enjoyment of the State Park System, he or she shall 

grant permission to use the state park park, natural area or 

recreation area specified in the request or long term long-term 

operating lease agreement submitted in accordance with this Rule. 

If the Director or his or her designee shall determine otherwise, 

he or she shall deny the request. 

(h)  The Director of the Division or his or her designee shall 

designate appropriate areas and occasions in the designated parks 

under this Rule, suitable for possession or consumption where 

possession, consumption sale or service of malt beverages, 

fortified wine, unfortified wine or spirituous liquor liquor, as 

defined in G.S. 18B-101. G.S. 18B-101, is allowed. Such areas 

and occasions shall may be limited so as not to interfere, or cause 

user conflicts, conflicts with other organizations, groups or 

individuals also visiting the state park but not requesting the 

Special Activity Permit. Examples of appropriate areas include 

meeting rooms, restaurants, cafeterias, lodging rooms and other 

similar areas in which user conflicts are minimized. Examples of 

permitted occasions include receptions, weddings and retreats. 

park, natural area or recreation area. 

(i)  The applicant for a Special Activity Permit shall comply with 

all state or local laws, rules or ordinances related to the possession 

or consumption of any malt beverage, fortified wine or unfortified 

wine, as defined in G.S. 18B-101. Violation of the terms and 

conditions of a Special Activity Permit issued in accordance with 

this Rule is prohibited and shall result in revocation of the permit 

by the Director of the Division or his or her designee. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.16. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the HHS - Division of Health Service 

Regulation intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 10A NCAC 14E .0105, .0312, and .0316. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 2, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 14E, 

Certifications of Clinics for Abortion, these three proposed 

readoption rules were determined as “Necessary With 

Substantive Public Interest” requiring readoption. Substantive 

changes have been made to these rules to update construction 

documents and specifications approval time limits and flammable 

anesthetics use prohibition to industry standards, to clarify the 

requirements for medication administration in the clinic including 

medical record documentation, and to delete unnecessary 

redundant requirements in one rule because they are addressed 

in another rule in the Subchapter. In addition, clarifying technical 

changes have been made to these rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 
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SUBCHAPTER 14E - CERTIFICATIONS OF CLINICS 

FOR ABORTION 

 

SECTION .0100 - CERTIFICATION PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0105 APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of construction documents and specifications shall 

be obtained from the Division of Health Service Regulation, the 

Division of Public Health Environmental Health, Health Section, 

and the Department of Insurance should be obtained before 

construction is commenced. Insurance, in accordance with the 

rules in Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Approval of construction documents and specifications shall 

expire one year after the date of approval unless a building permit 

for the construction has been obtained prior to the expiration date 

of the approval of construction documents and specifications. 

 

Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 143B-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 – GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0312 MEDICATIONS AND 

ANESTHESIA 

(a)  Medication No medication or treatment shall be given except 

on written order of a physician. 

(1) No medication or treatment shall be given 

except on written order of a physician. 

(2) Medications must be administered in 

accordance with the Nurse Practice Act of the 

State of North Carolina, and must be recorded 

in the patient's permanent record. 

(b)  Anesthesia Any medications shall be administered by a 

Registered Nurse in accordance with G.S. 90-171.30 or G.S. 

90.171.32 and must be recorded in the patient's permanent record. 

(1) The anesthesia must be administered only under 

the direct supervision of a licensed physician. 

(2) Flammable anesthetics shall be prohibited 

except when construction, storage and 

equipment meet the standards of the National 

Fire Protection Association (N.F.P.A.) 

incorporated in Bulletin No. 56, "Code for Use 

of Flammable Anesthetics." 

(c)  The anesthesia shall be administered only under the direct 

supervision of a licensed physician. 

 

Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 143B-10. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0316 FOOD SERVICE 

(a)  Nourishments Nourishments, such as crackers and soft drinks, 

shall be available and offered to all patients. 

(b)  Sanitary conditions shall be maintained in accordance with 

regulations of the North Carolina Sanitation Code administered 

by the Division of Environmental Health. 

 

Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 143B-10. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Code Officials Qualification Board intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 11 NCAC 08 .0734, and amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 08 

.0602 and .0702. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-and-rules-

review 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 28, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  2nd Floor Training Room, Room 245 (Albemarle 

Building) located at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules are being submitted to 

provide clarity, modifications, and guidance on existing and new 

regulations to industry, motor vehicle damage appraisers, 

consumers, and interested parties about the expectations for all 

parties involved in the claims process. This includes providing 

motor vehicle damage appraisers ethical standards they shall 

follow, provide industry, motor vehicle damage appraisers, 

consumers, and interested party's guidance on how to address 

motor vehicle repair estimates, handling of loss and claims 

payments, and managing total loss claims settlements. 

These rules are being amended and adopted to implement the 

Changeout Inspector certification that was created by the 

General Assembly in Session Law 2019-174. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, NC 

Department of Insurance, 1201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1201; phone (919) 807-6004; email loretta.peace-

bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0600 - QUALIFICATION 

BOARD-PROBATIONARY CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0602 NATURE OF PROBATIONARY 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  A probationary certificate may be issued as a building 

inspector, electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, plumbing 

inspector, or fire inspector as set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706, 

without examination examination, to any newly employed or 

newly promoted code enforcement official who lacks a standard 

certificate that covers the new position. A probationary certificate 

shall be issued for three years only and shall not be renewed. 

During the three-year period, the official shall complete the 

requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to qualify for the 

appropriate standard certificate. A probationary certificate shall 

authorize the official, during the effective period of the certificate, 

to hold the position of the type, level, and location specified. The 

certificate shall be conditioned on the applicant's completion of a 

high school diploma or a high school equivalency certificate and 

meeting one of the following: 

(1) working under supervision sufficient, as 

determined by a supporting letter provided for 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0706(b), to protect the public 

health and safety; 

(2) possessing a minimum of two years of design, 

construction, or inspection experience working 

under a certified inspector or under a licensed 

professional engineer, registered architect, or 

licensed contractor; 

(3) possessing one of the experience qualifications 

listed in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued; or 

(4) achieving a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

probationary prequalification exam 

administered by the Board in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued. 

(b)  A probationary certificate as a residential changeout inspector 

set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0734 may be issued to any employed 

code enforcement official, whose employment can be verified 

pursuant to 11 NCAC 08 .0734(d)(2), who lacks a standard 

certificate as a residential changeout inspector and who 

successfully completes a residential changeout inspections course 

set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0734(d)(3). A probationary certificate 

shall be issued for three years only and shall not be renewed. 

During the three-year period, the official shall complete the 

requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to qualify for the 

appropriate standard certificate. A probationary certificate as a 

residential changeout inspector shall authorize the official, during 

the effective period of the certificate, to hold the position set forth 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0734(a). The probationary certificate shall be 

conditioned on the applicant's completion of a high school 

diploma or a high school equivalency certificate and working 

under the direct supervision of a person who possesses, or persons 

who collectively possess, standard certificates as an electrical 

inspector III, mechanical inspector III, and plumbing inspector III 

or an individual holding a residential changeout inspector 

certificate and five years of code enforcement experience. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(2); 143-151.13(d); 143.151.13. 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0702 NATURE OF STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  The Board shall issue one or more standard certificates to each 

code enforcement official demonstrating the qualifications set 

forth in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 and .0707. 11 NCAC 08 .0706, .0707, 

and .0734. Standard certificates are available for each of the 

following types of qualified code enforcement officials: 

(1) building inspector; 

(2) electrical inspector; 

(3) mechanical inspector; 

(4) plumbing inspector; and 

(5) fire inspector. fire inspector; and 

(6) residential changeout inspector. 

(b)  The holder of a standard certificate may practice code 

enforcement only within the inspection area and level described 

upon the certificate issued by the Board. A code enforcement 

official may qualify and hold one or more certificates. more than 

one certificate. These certificates may be for different levels in 

different types of positions. 

(c)  A code enforcement official holding a certificate indicating a 

specified level of proficiency in a particular type of position may 

hold a position calling for that type of qualification anywhere in 

the State of North Carolina. State. A standard certificate must be 

renewed annually in order to remain valid. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.13; 143-151.16. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0734 RESIDENTIAL CHANGEOUT 

INSPECTOR 

(a)  Qualifications and types: 

(1) A residential changeout inspector shall be 

authorized to inspect the replacement of a 

residential appliance as described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph for one-and-

two family dwellings, and individual residential 

units of condominiums and apartments 

provided the individual residential appliance 

serves only that residential dwelling unit. 

(2) The following types of inspections may be 

performed by those certified as a residential 

changeout inspector: The replacement of 

heating and air conditioning appliances and 

water heaters, provided that all of the following 

apply: 

(A) the new appliance requires no 

alterations to the existing ducting, fuel 
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type, venting, or piping systems other 

than that required for transitioning to 

the new appliance; 

(B) the new appliance does not require 

relocation, excluding minor 

adjustments in the same general 

vicinity; 

(C) the installation of the new appliance 

does not require the relocation or 

addition to the existing electrical 

system, except that the replacement of 

the appliance's branch circuit 

overcurrent device; or the replacement 

of the appliance's branch circuit where 

such circuit does not pass through a 

rated assembly shall be allowed; 

(D) the electrical branch circuit serving the 

appliance is single phase. 

(b)  An inspection performance log shall be developed and 

provided by the North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office 

of State Fire Marshal and shall describe the types of systems and 

specify the level of supervision of each inspection required to be 

documented. The inspection performance log is available on the 

Office of State Fire Marshal website. The inspection performance 

log shall describe the criteria for authenticating the applicant and 

supervisors' qualifications, and the inspections performed. 

Inspections do not have to be performed on the same building. 

(c)  Whenever a provision of the rules in this Section requires a 

high school education or other education and experience 

qualifications, the Board may approve equivalent qualifications. 

(d)  Every applicant shall: 

(1) provide documentation that the applicant 

possesses a minimum of a high school 

education or a high school equivalency 

certificate; 

(2) provide notarized certification by a city or 

county manager, clerk, or director of inspection 

department that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement", as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), as an employee of that 

city or county; or provide certification by the 

head of the Engineering and Building Codes 

Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance that the applicant will be performing 

"code enforcement", as defined in G.S. 143-

151.8(a)(3), for a State department or agency; 

(3) make a grade of at least 70 on courses 

developed by the Board. Successful completion 

is defined as attendance of a minimum of 80 

percent of the hours taught and achieving a 

minimum score of 70 percent on the course 

exam. All applicants must successfully 

complete a law and administration course and a 

residential changeout inspections course. For 

the purpose of entry into the State examination, 

courses must be completed within five years of 

the exam in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph. 

These courses shall be administered and taught 

in the N.C. Community College System or 

other educational agencies accredited by a 

regional accrediting association. The North 

Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal may administer and teach 

certification courses for the purposes of 

development; and 

(4) achieve a passing grade of 70 percent on the 

written examination administered by the Board. 

(e)  Residential Changeout Inspector. A standard certificate, 

residential changeout inspector, shall be issued to any applicant 

who possesses a probationary residential changeout inspection 

certificate pursuant to 11 NCAC 08 .0602, complies with 

Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, and one of the following 

education and experience qualifications: 

(1) possess any level standard certificate as an 

electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, or 

plumbing inspector; or 

(2) all the following: 

(A) at least six months of conducting 

residential changeout inspections with 

a probationary residential changeout 

inspection certificate; 

(B) successful completion of an inspection 

performance log as administered by 

the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance, Office of State Fire 

Marshal; and 

(C) successful completion of a law and 

administrative course. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0201, .0204, and .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-

system-licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 31, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, ASLB Office, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

14B NCAC 17 .0201 - The amendment will allow applicants to 

submit required fingerprints via an online fingerprint scanning 

system. 

14B NCAC 17 .0204 - The amendment addresses the process for 

a license holder to reinstate an expired license. 
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14B NCAC 17 .0301 - The amendment will allow applicants to 

submit required fingerprints via an online fingerprint scanning 

system. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application form on the website provided by the Board. 

This form online application shall be accompanied by the branch 

office application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 74D-7; 74D-8. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0204 RENEWAL OR 

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license renewal shall submit an online 

renewal application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be submitted not less than 30 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current license and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) statements of the result of a local statewide 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

services service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74D-2.1 for any state where 

the applicant has resided within the preceeding 

24 months; 

(2) the applicant's renewal fee as set forth in 

.0203(a)(2); and 

(3) proof of liability insurance pursuant to G.S. 

74D-9. 

(b)  Applications for renewal shall be submitted not less than 30 

days before the expiration date of the license. No renewal shall be 

granted more than 90 days after the date of expiration of a license. 

(c)  Applications for renewal submitted after the expiration date 

of the license shall be accompanied by the late renewal fee 

established by Rule .0203 of this Section and shall be submitted 

not later than 90 days after the expiration date of the license. 

(d)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within one year of the expiration date by 

submitting an online reinstatement of an expired license 

application accompanied by the Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (3) 

of this Rule and the late fee required by Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

The Board retains the right to discipline a licensee for activity 

during the period of lapse. 

(d)(e)  The Director shall review and approve or recommend 

denial of an application for renewal. renewal or reinstatement. All 

denials shall be submitted to the Board for a final Board decision. 
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(e)(f)  Members of the armed forces whose licenses are in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall be granted the same extension of time to 

pay the license renewal fee and to complete the continuing 

education requirements prescribed in Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. A copy of the military order or the extension approval 

by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue shall be furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2(a); 74D-5; 74D-7; 93B-15. 

 

SECTION .0300 – PROVISIONS FOR REGISTRANTS 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each licensee or qualifying agent shall submit an online 

application for the registration of his or her employee on the 

website provided by the Board. When this online application is 

submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on a standard F.B.I. 

fingerprint card mailed separately to the 

Board's office; 

(2) one original signed S.B.I. release of 

information form uploaded online and the 

original mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification, taken within six months prior to 

online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(4) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; 

(5) the registration fee required by Rule .0302 of 

this Section, along with a four dollar ($4.00) 

convenience fee charged by the third-party 

provider and credit card transaction fee charged 

by the applicant's credit card provider and 

collected online; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of an applicant who is currently registered with 

another alarm business shall complete an online application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be accompanied by the 

applicant's multiple registration fee. fee along with a four dollar 

($4.00) convenience fee charged by the third-party provider and 

credit card transaction fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. This online application shall be 

accompanied by a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall print and 

retain a copy of the applicant's online application in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2.1; 74D-5; 74D-8. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners intends to amend the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 14H .0401, .0403, .0404; 14T .0401, .0502, .0602-

.0606 and .0615. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nccosmeticarts.com/uploads/forms/rules22020.pdf 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 31, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1207 Front Street Suite 110 Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Infection control changes based 

on industry research and best practices.  Changes to school rules 

to clarify topics of study within the disciplines of cosmetic art. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stefanie Kuzdrall, 1207 Front 

Street Suite 110, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 736-6123; 

email skuzdrall@nccosmeticarts.com 

Comment period ends:  May 15, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
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SUBCHAPTER 14H - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .0400 - INFECTION CONTROL PROCEDURES 

AND PRACTICES 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Section, sanitation, as described in G.S. 

88B, is defined as "infection control." 

(b)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art 

schools and shops. Each licensee and student shall wash his or her 

hands with soap and water immediately after using the restroom. 

Each licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with soap 

and water or use of a 62 percent to 70 percent or greater alcohol-

based hand sanitizer immediately before and after serving each 

client. 

(c)  Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes 

while serving patrons. 

(d)  Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic 

art school or shop any of the following: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a. 

MMA; 

(2) razor-type callus shavers or blades designed 

and intended to cut skin and skin growths of 

skin including skin tags, corns, and calluses; 

(3) FDA rated Class III devices; 

(4) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent 

strength; 

(5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on a natural nail. 

(e)  A licensee or student shall not: 

(1) use any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's intended 

use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treat any medical condition unless referred by a 

physician; 

(3) provide any service unless it falls within the 

license definition listed in G.S. 88B-2 and 

unless trained prior to performing the service; 

(4) perform services on a client if the licensee has 

reason to believe the client has any of the 

following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised, 

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the 

area to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board; 

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of 

communication in a manner that is false or 

misleading; 

(7) use any FDA rated Class II device without the 

documented supervision of a licensed 

physician; 

(8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis; 

(9) make any statement to a member of the public, 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying 

any action is required or forbidden by Board 

rules when such action is not required or 

forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this 

prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P 

.0108; 

(10) use or possess any product banned by the FDA. 

A list of banned products is available at 

www.fda.gov; or 

(11) use or possess any machine for a cosmetic art 

service that is not classified by the FDA. 

(f)  In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal 

protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the 

manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet. 

(g)  Licensees may only perform services specifically designated 

within their licensure field as defined by G.S. 88B-2. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Infection Control rules that apply to towels and cloths are as 

follows: 

(1) Clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and 

towels shall be used for each patron; 

(2) After a protective cape has been in contact with 

a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean, 

closed container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that 

cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer 

may be disinfected with a disinfectant that is 

bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal and 

approved by the EPA for use in beauty salons, 

or salon used in accordance with the 

manufacturer directions; and 

(3) After a drape, linen, or towel has been in 

contact with a patron's skin it shall be placed in 

a clean, covered container until laundered with 

soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer. 

A covered container may have an opening so 

soiled items may be dropped into the container. 

(b)  Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be 

discarded after one use. 

(c)  There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and 

towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared 

fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered 

daily. 

(d)  Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall 

be stored in a clean area. 

(e)  Bathroom facilities must be kept clean. 

(f)  All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use 

in the following manner: 
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(1) They shall be washed with warm water and a 

cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove 

debris and dried. 

(2) They shall be disinfected with either: 

(A) disinfectant that is bactericidal, 

virucidal and fungicidal and approved 

by the EPA for use in beauty salons, or 

salon settings that is mixed and used 

according to the manufacturer's 

directions. They shall be rinsed with 

hot tap water and dried with a clean 

towel before their next use. They shall 

be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or 

container until they are needed; or 

(B) by UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal 

irradiation used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(3) If the implement is shears, a razor, not 

immersible or is not disinfected by UV-C 

irradiation, it shall be cleaned by wiping it with 

a clean cloth moistened or sprayed with a 

disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal and 

fungicidal and approved by the EPA for use in 

beauty salons, or salon settings used in 

accordance with the manufacturer's directions. 

(g)  All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a 

clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container. 

(h)  All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean 

area separate from other clean implements. 

(i)  Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be 

discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 

(j)  Product that comes into contact with the patron must be 

discarded upon completion of the service. 

(k)  Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with 

plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with 

any implement or item that has not been disinfected. 

(l)  Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be 

disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 

(m)  All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products 

dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in 

clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the 

requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as set 

forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product 

apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be 

distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of 

product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into 

another container must be dispensed into a clean container and 

applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable 

implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in 

portions not dispensed into another container must be used 

immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or 

disposable implement or other clean methods. No product 

dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container. 

(n)  As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin 

using circulating water. 

(o)  After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) All water must be drained and all debris 

removed from the basin; 

(2) The basin must be disinfected by filling the 

basin with water and circulating: 

(A) Two tablespoons of automatic 

dishwashing powder and 1/4 cup of 

5.25 percent household bleach to one 

gallon of water through the unit for 10 

minutes; or 

(B) Surfactant circulating a surfactant or 

enzymatic soap with an EPA 

registered disinfectant with 

bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal 

activity used according to 

manufacturer's instructions through 

the unit for 10 minutes; 

(3) The basin must be drained and rinsed with clean 

water; and 

(4) The basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

(p)  At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) The screen must be removed and all debris 

trapped behind the screen removed; 

(2) The screen and the inlet must be washed with 

surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and 

rinsed with clean water; 

(3) Before replacing the screen one of the 

following procedures must be performed: 

(A) The screen must be totally immersed 

in a household bleach solution of 1/4 

cup of 5.25 percent household bleach 

to one gallon of water for 10 minutes; 

or 

(B) The screen it must be totally immersed 

in an EPA registered disinfectant with 

bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal 

activity in accordance to the 

manufacturer's instructions for 10 

minutes; 

(4) The inlet and area behind the screen must be 

cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and 

water to remove all visible debris and residue; 

and 

(5) The spa system must be flushed with low 

sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm 

water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and 

drained. 

(q)  A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning 

and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time, 

reason, and name of the staff member who performed the 

cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa 

and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon 

request by either a patron or inspector. 

(r)  The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and 

the unit disinfected daily after emptying. 

(s)  The area where services are performed that come in contact 

with the patron's skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables, 

and beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 

(t)  A manufacturers label for all disinfectant concentrate must be 

available at all times. If a concentrate bottle is emptied, it must 

remain available until a new bottle is available. 
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(u)  When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary 

container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that container must be 

labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets 

must be available for all disinfectants in use at all times. 

(v)  Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance 

with all local, State and federal requirements. 

(w)  The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be 

emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0404 FIRST AID 

(a)  Each cosmetic art shop and school shall have antiseptics, 

individually packaged antibiotic ointment, gloves or finger 

guards, sterile adhesive bandages, and other necessary supplies 

available to provide first aid. 

(b)  If the skin of the licensee or student is punctured, the licensee 

or student shall upon knowledge of the injury do the following in 

this order: 

(1) Wash and dry the punctured area with soap and 

running water and a disposable towel; 

(2) Apply protective gloves to remove materials 

from first aid kit; If the cut is still bleeding 

apply pressure over the wound with a 

disposable towel; 

(3) Remove materials from first aid kit; Cleanse 

injured area with antiseptic (e.g. alcohol, hand 

sanitizer); 

(4) Apply antibiotic ointment or a sterile adhesive 

bandage; 

(5) Disinfect any implement or work area exposed 

to blood per Rule .0403 in this Section; 

(6) Dispose of all contaminated supplies and gloves 

in a zip lock bag then place in the trash; 

(7) Wash hands with soap and running water; and 

(8) If the injured area is on the hands, fingers or 

thumb apply disposable, protective glove(s) or 

a finger guard. 

(c)  If the skin of the patron is punctured, the licensee or student 

shall upon knowledge of the injury do the following in this order: 

(1) Wash and dry hands with soap and running 

water and a disposable towel and Apply 

protective gloves to remove materials from first 

aid kit; 

(2) Make first aid supplies available to the patron 

or assist the patron with: 

(A) Cleansing injured area with soap and 

water antiseptic (e.g. alcohol, hand 

sanitizer) 

(B) Applying antibiotic ointment or a 

sterile adhesive bandage; 

(3) Disinfect any implement or work area exposed 

to blood per Rule .0403 in this Section; 

(4) Dispose of all contaminated supplies and gloves 

in a zip lock bag then place in the trash; 

(5) Wash hands with soap and running water; and 

(6) Put on disposable, protective gloves. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14. 

SUBCHAPTER 14T – COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

SECTION .0400 - STUDENT EQUIPMENT 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0401 COSMETOLOGY AND 

APPRENTICE STUDENT EQUIPMENT 

Each cosmetology and apprentice cosmetology student shall be 

supplied with following equipment: 

(1) Implements for a complete manicure; 

(2)(1) 12 combs; 

(3)(2) Two capes; 

(4)(3) Six brushes; 

(5) Thirty-six assorted clips; 

(6) Assorted smooth rollers; 

(7)(4) Hard rubber or nonflammable comb for heat 

protection used in thermal styling; 

(8)(5) One electric marcel iron; 

(9)(6) One razor and one clipper; 

(10)(7) One thinning shears; 

(11)(8) One shaping shears; 

(12) One eyebrow tweezer; 

(13) One tint brush; 

(14)(9) One mannequin with hair; and 

(15)(10) One blow dryer. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 

 

SECTION .0500 - RECORD KEEPING 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS, 

FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the 

permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have 

withdrawn or graduated together in one room within the approved 

square footage of the cosmetic art school. Withdrawal and 

graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

may be removed from this room. The permanent file shall include 

a copy of: 

(1) Board Enrollment Form; 

(2) Documentation of student receipt of school 

policies, school and student contract; the Board 

Infection Control rules as set forth in 21 NCAC 

14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and 21 

NCAC 14I 0401; .0401, and 21 NCAC 14T 

.0703. 

(3) All Board Withdrawal Forms; 

(4) Social security card for any individual who has 

a social security number or tax ID card or 

student visa information; 

(5) Government issued ID and proof of date of 

birth; 

(6) Grades for all examinations and evaluation 

plans along with documentation for pass 

performances; 

(7) Documentation for any leave of absence over 

30 days; 

(8) Transfer of hours form documenting hours 

earned in other schools and hours accepted by 

current school; and 
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(9) Graduation Form. 

(b)  The school shall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily 

including field trip hours and documentation of field trip hours 

updated with a running grand total, as well as a total of the 

following through the prior week: 

(1) A daily record shall be kept of the performances 

for each student, showing the actual date of the 

performance and the teacher who approved the 

performance; 

(1)(2) A daily record shall be kept of the actual 

number of hours of attendance; 

(2)(3) A daily record shall be kept of the actual 

number of hours and educational achievements 

completed via online; and 

(3)(4) An updated Performance Record. Record 

showing the actual date of the performance and 

the teacher who approved the performance. 

(c)  When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws 

from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the 

withdrawal to the Board. 

(d)  If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within 

the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to 

the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the 

student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board 

after which, it may be removed. 

(e)  The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site 

school staff or on site school administrators and must have the 

seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form 

documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall 

indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been 

met. The cosmetic art school shall mail the graduation form to the 

Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit 

the graduation form via the Board's school documents portal at 

www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's 

graduation date. 

(f)  All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or 

a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be maintained 

in the school permanent file storage. Except for student 

signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be completed, 

by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board 

forms shall be used for the sole purpose of documenting to the 

Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of 

enrollment, transfer of hours, withdrawal or graduation. 

(g)  Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form 

must be submitted to the Board with supporting documentation. 

(h)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school 

an original daily record of enrolled students' hours and 

performances. This record must be kept in a secured location 

under lock and key but made available for review by the Board or 

its agent at any time. 

(i)  All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has 

withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked files 

for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the 

Board examination or five years after the date the student first 

enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed 

by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this 

room. 

(j)  The record of all hours and performances must be documented 

in writing. Credit issued to students that cannot be verified may 

be eliminated from the student record by an agent of the Board. 

(k)  Access to student records must be limited to agents of the 

Board, teachers and administrators of the school. Records cannot 

be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered onsite 

and must have documentation supporting the change attached. 

The format, school name and school code on Board forms cannot 

be altered. 

(l)  All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art 

education, earning hours, performing or practicing cosmetic art 

services must be enrolled in the school. 

(m)  Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a 

cosmetic art school may grade practical student examinations and 

evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site 

teachers, on site school administrators or on site school staff shall 

record student hours and performances, grade examinations and 

determine completion and record credit of live model and 

mannequin performances. 

(n)  Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful 

completion of live model and mannequin performances as 

determined through the school's evaluation plan that is approved 

by the Board at the time of application shall be disclosed to 

students at the time of enrollment. Passing grades and 

performances cannot be credited to students who fail to meet the 

requirements of the evaluation plan. 

(o)  Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of 

school policies and 21 NCAC 14I .0401. The school shall retain 

for the permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of 

receipt of these documents. 

(p)  The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations 

shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but may be 

submitted as withdrawn. 

(q)  Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the 

unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art student. 

Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students 

who have met the Board minimum requirements and passed all 

school academic requirements. 

(r)  Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest 

quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or deduct hours 

or performances as rewards or penalties. 

(s)  An applicant may receive credit for instruction taken in 

another state if the applicant's record is certified by the state 

agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the 

cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not maintain any 

student records or if the state does not give license to practice in 

the cosmetic arts, then the records may be certified by any state 

department or state agency that does maintain such records and is 

willing to certify their accuracy. If no state department or board 

will certify the accuracy of the student's records, then the Board 

shall review the student's records for validity on a case-by-case 

basis using the documentation provided by the student. 

(t)  Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must 

be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form mailed 

directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the 

school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and 

performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such 

original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with 

enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following: 
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(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type and total number of live model and 

mannequin service performances; 

(4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(u)  A student must pass an entrance examination including 

mannequin evaluations given by the school to which the student 

is transferring for the hours to be transferred from one cosmetic 

art school to another. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16. 

 

SECTION .0600 - CURRICULA 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0602 COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 1500 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Professional image; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Bacteriology; 

(4) Disinfection; 

(5) First aid; 

(6) Anatomy; 

(7) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(9) Professional ethics; 

(10) Draping; 

(11) Shampooing; 

(12) Roller sets; 

(13) Pin curls; 

(14) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(15) Fingerwaves; 

(16) Braids; 

(17) Artificial hair; 

(18) Up-styles; 

(19) Blowdrying; 

(20) Brush control; 

(21) Blowdrying with curling iron; 

(22) Pressing or thermal; 

(23) Hair cutting; 

(24) Partings; 

(25) Perm types and wraps; 

(26) Relaxer types and sectioning; 

(27) Color types and application sectioning; 

(28) Scalp treatments; 

(29) Manicures; 

(30) Pedicures; 

(31) Artificial nails; 

(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services 

including: 

(A) Arranging; 

(B) Dressing; 

(C) Curling; 

(D) Waving; 

(E) Cutting techniques and implements 

including razors, clippers, thinning 

shears, and shears; 

(F) Cleansing; 

(G) Cutting; 

(H) Singeing; 

(I) Bleaching, or coloring hair; 

(J) Esthetics; 

(K) Manicuring; 

(L) Business management; and 

(M) Salon business; and; 

(33) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans 

must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the 

following performance requirements:  

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Blow drying; 

(4) Hot iron; 

(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs, 

or knots); 

(6) Solid form cut; 

(7) Elevated cut; 

(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(9) Razor cut; 

(10) Clipper cut; 

(11) Shears over comb cut; 

(12) Clippers over comb cut; 

(13) Virgin darker; 

(14) Virgin lightener; 

(15) Retouch; 

(16) Foil; 

(17) Freehand painting; 

(18) Relaxer virgin; 

(19) Relaxer retouch; 

(20) Curl reforming virgin; 

(21) Curl reforming retouch; 

(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle; 

(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour; 

(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

overlap; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement – spiral; 

(26) Basic manicure; 

(27) Artificial nails 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; and 

(32) Makeup application. 
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(d)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, appropriate 

draping and safe application of products for all service 

performances. Students must pass the infection control and blood 

exposure procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, 

received theory and practical instructions and passed each of the 

evaluations in this Paragraph prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper. 

(3) Color application including virgin and retouch 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; 

(7) Basic facial including steam; 

(8) Waxing; 

(e)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(f)(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required 

on the graduation form and application for the Board examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(g)(f)  Before a student may perform services on a live model the 

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both 

theory and practical instruction on the performance to be 

completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0603 APPRENTICE COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an apprentice 

cosmetologist training course shall begin with infection control 

and blood exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

and .0404 and consist of 1200 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Professional image; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Bacteriology; 

(4) Disinfection; 

(5) First aid; 

(6) Anatomy; 

(7) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art; 

(9) Professional ethics; 

(10) Draping; 

(11) Shampooing; 

(12) Roller sets; 

(13) Pin curls; 

(14) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(15) Fingerwaves; 

(16) Braids; 

(17) Artificial hair; 

(18) Up-styles; 

(19) Blowdrying; 

(20) Brush control; 

(21) Blowdrying with curling iron; 

(22) Pressing or thermal; 

(23) Hair cutting; 

(24) Partings; 

(25) Perm wraps; 

(26) Relaxer sectioning; 

(27) Color application sectioning; 

(28) Scalp treatments; 

(29) Manicures; 

(30) Pedicures; 

(31) Artificial nails; 

(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services 

including: 

(A) Arranging; 

(B) Dressing; 

(C) Curling; 

(D) Waving; 

(E) Cutting techniques and implements 

including razors, clippers, thinning 

shears, and shears; 

(F) Cleansing; 

(G) Cutting; 

(H) Singeing; 

(I) Bleaching, or coloring hair; 

(J) Esthetics; 

(K) Manicuring; 

(L) Business management; and 

(M) Salon business; and; 

(33) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans 

must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the 

following performance requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Blow drying; 

(4) Hot iron; 

(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs, 

or knots); 

(6) Solid form cut; 

(7) Elevated cut; 

(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(9) Razor cut; 

(10) Clipper cut; 

(11) Shears over comb cut; 
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(12) Clippers over comb cut; 

(13) Virgin darker; 

(14) Virgin lightener; 

(15) Retouch; 

(16) Foil; 

(17) Freehand painting; 

(18) Relaxer virgin; 

(19) Relaxer retouch; 

(20) Curl reforming virgin; 

(21) Curl reforming retouch; 

(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle; 

(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour; 

(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

overlap; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement – spiral; 

(26) Basic manicure; 

(27) Artificial nails; 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; and 

(32) Makeup application. 

(d)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, appropriate 

draping and safe application of products for all service 

performances. Students must pass the infection control and blood 

exposure procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, 

received theory and practical instructions and passed each of the 

evaluations in this Paragraph prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper. 

(3) Color application including virgin and retouch 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; 

(7) Basic facial including steam; 

(8) Waxing; 

(e)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(f)(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required 

on the graduation form and application for the Board examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(g)(f)  Before a student may perform services on a live model the 

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both 

theory and practical instruction on the performance to be 

completed. 

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of at least 600 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Anatomy or physiology; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) Disinfection; 

(4) First aid; 

(5) Chemistry as it relates to esthetics; 

(6) Draping; 

(7) Facial or body treatment (cleansing, 

manipulations, masks, and chemical peels); 

(8) Hair removal; 

(9) Basic dermatology; 

(10 Skin care machines, electricity, and apparatus; 

(11) Aromatherapy; 

(12) Nutrition; 

(13) Make-up or color theory; 

(14) Styles and techniques of esthetics services 

including: 

(A) Facials; 

(B) Makeup application; 

(C) Performing skin care; 

(D) Hair removal; 

(E) Eyelash extensions; 

(F) Applying brow and lash color; 

(G) Business management; and 

(H) Professional ethics; and 

(15) Board laws, rules and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans 

must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the 

following performance requirements:  

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Basic facial; 

(4) Waxing including underarm, lip, eyebrow, leg 

and bikini; 

(5) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers; 

(6) Makeup application; 

(7) Facials with machines; 

(8) Exfoliation; 

(9) Facials with LED light; 

(10) Facials with high frequency (direct and 

indirect); and 

(11) Lash application. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 
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control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, appropriate 

draping and safe application of products for all service 

performances. Students must pass the infection control and blood 

exposure procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, 

received theory and practical instructions and passed each of the 

evaluations in this Paragraph prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Basic facial; 

(2) Waxing; 

(3) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(4) Artificial lashes; 

(5) Lash and brow tint. 

(d)(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required 

on the graduation form and Board's application for the 

examination. Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(e)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed. 

(f)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(g)(f)  Before a student may perform services on a live model the 

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both 

theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance 

to be completed. 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of at least 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Manicuring theory; 

(2) Infection control; 

(3) First aid; 

(4) Trimming; 

(5) Filing; 

(6) Shaping; 

(7) Decorating; 

(8) Arm and hand manipulation; 

(9) Sculptured and artificial nails (application, 

repair, fill, and removal); 

(10) Pedicuring; and 

(11) Styles and techniques for the care, treatment, 

and decoration of the following: 

(A) Fingernails; 

(B) Toenails; 

(C) Cuticles; 

(D) Nail extensions and artificial nails; 

(E) Electric file; 

(G) Business management; 

(H) Professional ethics; and 

(I) Board laws, regulations and website. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans 

must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the 

following performance requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Basic manicure; 

(4) Basic pedicure; 

(5) Nail tips; 

(6) Acrylic overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); 

(7) Sculptured nails (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); and 

(8) Gel overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal). 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, appropriate 

draping and safe application of products for all service 

performances. Students must pass the infection control and blood 

exposure procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, 

received theory and practical instructions and passed each of the 

evaluations in this Paragraph prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Basic manicure with pedicure difference; 

(2) Sculptured nails including application, fill, and 

removal. 

(d)(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required 

on the graduation form and Board's application for the 

examination. Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(e)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed. 

(f)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(g)(f)  Before a student may perform services on a live model the 

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both 

theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance 

to be completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care styling 

training course shall begin with infection control and blood 
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exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 

and consist of 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical 

application as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Theory and practical application subjects shall include: 

(1) Infection control; 

(2) Bacteriology; 

(3) Board laws, regulations, website, and licensure 

scope of practice. 

(4) First aid; 

(5) Shampooing; 

(6) Draping; 

(7) Anatomy; 

(8) Disorders of the hair and scalp; 

(9) Client consultation; 

(10) Twisting; 

(11) Wrapping; 

(12) Extending; 

(13) Locking; 

(14) Blowdry and thermal iron; 

(15) Business management; and 

(16) Professional ethics. 

(c)  Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion 

of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client. 

Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans 

for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans 

must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the 

following performance requirements: 

(1) Infection Control; 

(2) Blood exposure procedure; 

(3) Twists; 

(4) Knots; 

(5) Locs; 

(6) 2 strand overlap; 

(7) 3 strand overbraid; 

(8) 3 strand underbraid; 

(9) On the scalp 3 strand braid; 

(10) Track and sew weft; and 

(11) Adding hair extensions. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use performance evaluation 

plans for each of the Board required performances listed in this 

Paragraph. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection 

control, tool safety, draping, and safe application. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, appropriate 

draping and safe application of products for all service 

performances. Students must pass the infection control and blood 

exposure procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent, 

received theory and practical instructions and passed each of the 

evaluations in this Paragraph prior to performing services on a live 

model: 

(1) Trach and sew weft; 

(2) Three strand overbraid and underbraid. 

(d)(e)  Certification of performance completions shall be required 

on the graduation form and Board's application for the 

examination. Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name and signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(e)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed. 

(f)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(g)  A performance shall consist of 10 or more lengths of hair. 

(h)(f)  Before a student may perform services on a live model the 

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both 

theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance 

to be completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0615 FIELD TRIPS 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools shall notify the Board prior to any field 

trip and record the field trip hours of each student. Cosmetic Art 

Educational Field Trips include the following locations or 

activities: 

(1) cosmetic art shops; 

(2) cosmetic art conventions; 

(3) competition training; 

(4) other Schools; 

(5) state Board Office; 

(6) supply Houses; 

(7) college or Career Day at School; 

(8) fashion Shows; 

(9) rest Homes/Nursing Homes; 

(10) hospitals; and 

(11) funeral Homes. 

(b)  An instructor shall be present during the educational field trips 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for credit to be given to 

students, with a ratio of one instructor per 25 students present. 

(c)  The maximum number of hours a student may earn for field 

trips is 40 credit hours for cosmetology students, 20 credit hours 

for esthetician students, and 10 credit hours for manicurist or 

natural hair care students. 

(d)  Students may earn up to four additional hours of credit for 

curriculum requirements for interviews at a licensed cosmetic art 

shop. 

(e)  Students may not earn credit for any service performances 

completed outside of the school. 

 

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .2017, amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2001, .2004-

.2009, .2011, .2013-.2016, and repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .2010. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
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the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 26, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington 

Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC  27517 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board proposes a thorough 

revision of its administrative hearing procedural rules in Section 

.2000.  The Board has not revised the majority of the rules in over 

thirty years.  During that time, both the spirit and the letter of the 

Administrative Procedures Act have moved away from the 

existing rules, and the existing rules contain outdated and 

extraneous requirements that the Board has not required parties 

to satisfy in order to decide their claims.  The revisions would:  

(1) bring the rules into compliance with the letter of the APA; (2) 

remove rules that attempt to restate substantive law, provisions of 

the APA, and other board rules; (3) bring the rules into 

compliance with the Board’s practices; (4) provide clarity on 

procedural steps not previously covered (or covered adequately) 

in the rules for the guidance of all parties; (5) notify the parties 

of certain provisions that are currently covered in Board orders, 

so that parties can be aware of those provisions from the outset; 

and (6) generally make the hearing process as efficient as it can 

be consistent with the APA. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 

Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 

246-1056; email jcampbell@ncbop.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 26, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .2000 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2001 FILING AND SERVICE RIGHT 

TO HEARING 

(a)  Parties shall file all papers provided for in this Section with 

the Board, either before service or within five days after service. 

The Board shall consider a paper to be filed when the Board 

actually receives it. Parties shall direct filings to the Investigations 

and Inspections Coordinator, North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 

6105 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 

27517. 

(b)  In addition to filing all papers with the Board, the Board and 

other parties shall serve all papers as follows: 

(1) The Board shall serve a notice of hearing under 

Rule .2006 of this Section on all parties by any 

method for service of process permitted by G.S. 

150B-38(c). 

(2) Parties shall serve subpoenas under Rule .2013 

of this Section by any method for service 

permitted by G.S. 150B-39(c). In investigation 

or preparation for, or in the conduct of, a 

contested case, among others who are 

authorized to serve subpoenas, Board staff may 

serve subpoenas on behalf of the Board, 

pursuant to G.S. 1A-1, Rule 45. 

(3) Parties shall serve all other papers in the 

contested case on all parties (including counsel 

to the Board) by any method for service 

permitted by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5. 

(4) The Board shall serve all its orders by any 

method for service permitted by G.S. 

150B-42(a). 

(a)  When the Board acts or proposes to act, other than in 

rulemaking or declaratory ruling proceedings, in a manner which 

will affect the rights, duties, or privileges of a specific, identifiable 

person, such person has the right to an administrative hearing. 

When the Board proposes to act in such a manner, it shall give 

such person notice of the right to a hearing by mailing by certified 

mail to that person at the last known address of that person a notice 

of the proposed action and a notice of a right to a hearing. 

(b)  Prior to issuing the notice called for in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, and with the consent of the party or parties, the Board may 

attempt to settle disputes through the informal procedures set out 

in Rule .2008(a) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 

150B-41; 150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2004 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

(a)  Any time an individual If a person believes that a Board 

administrative action has substantially affected that individual's 

person's rights, duties, or privileges have been affected 

substantially by the Board's administrative action, but that person 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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has not received a notice of a right to an administrative hearing, 

that individual person may file a formal request for a hearing. 

(b)  Before an individual may file a request, that individual is 

encouraged to exhaust all reasonable efforts to resolve the issue 

informally with the Board. 

(c)  Subsequent to such informal action, if still dissatisfied, the 

individual may submit a request to the Board's office, with the 

request bearing the notation: REQUEST FOR 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING. The request for hearing shall 

contain the following information: 

(1) petitioner's name and address; address of the 

petitioner; 

(2) a concise statement of the Board action that the 

petitioner challenges; taken by the Board which 

is challenged; 

(3) a concise statement of the way in which the 

petitioner has been aggrieved; and 

(4) a clear and specific an explicit statement of 

request for a hearing. 

(d)  A (c)  In order to preserve a person's rights with respect to a 

Board action, the person shall file a request for administrative 

hearing must be submitted to with the Board Board's office within 

60 days after the person receives of receipt of notice of the Board 

action taken by the Board that the person challenges. which is 

challenged. The request will be acknowledged promptly and, if 

deemed appropriate by the Board in accordance with 21 NCAC 

46 .2005, a hearing shall be scheduled. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38. 

21 NCAC 46 .2005 GRANTING OR DENYING 

HEARING REQUEST 

(a)  The Board will grant a request for a hearing if it determines 

that the party requesting the hearing petitioner is a "person 

aggrieved" within the meaning of G.S. 150B-2(6). The Board will 

provide notice of the time and place for the hearing. If the party 

fails to appear, the Board may deny the party's request for failure 

to prosecute it or may proceed to hear the matter in the party's 

absence. 

(b)  If the Board determines the petitioner is not a person 

aggrieved, the Board shall issue a denial that shall constitute a 

final agency decision. The denial of request for a hearing will be 

issued immediately upon decision, and in no case later than 60 

days after the submission of the request. Such denial shall contain 

a statement of the reasons leading the Board to deny the request. 

(c)  Approval of a request for a hearing will be signified by the 

issuing of a notice as required by G.S. 150B-38(b) and explained 

in Rule .2006 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-40; 150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2006 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(a)  Before imposing final discipline under G.S. 90-85.38 on a 

person who holds a license, registration, permit, or other privilege 

issued by the Board, the Board shall file and serve a notice of 

hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-38(b). The Board shall give the 

party or parties in a contested case a notice of hearing not less than 

15 days before the hearing. Said notice shall contain the following 

information, in addition to the items specified in G.S. 150B-38(b): 

(1) the name, position, address and telephone 

number of a person at the offices of the Board 

to contact for further information or discussion; 

(2) the date, time, and place for a pre-hearing 

conference, if any; and 

(3) any other information deemed relevant to 

informing the parties as to the procedure of the 

hearing. 

(b)  A party who has been served with a notice of hearing may file 

and serve a written response not less than 10 days before the date 

set for the hearing. If the party wishes to submit this written 

response instead of personally appearing at the hearing, the party 

should note that desire in the written response, and the Board will 

consider the written response in lieu of a personal appearance. 

(c)  If a party who has been served with a notice of hearing neither 

appears pursuant to the notice nor files and serves a written 

response as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Board shall 

rule the party to be in default and the allegations of the notice to 

be admitted, and the Board may enter a final agency decision by 

default granting any relief available to the Board. 

(d)  If the Board determines that the public health, safety or 

welfare requires such action, it may issue an order summarily 

suspend suspending a license, registration, permit, or other 

privilege granted by the Board. license or permit. Upon service of 

the order, the licensee licensee, registrant, or permit holder to 

whom the order is directed shall immediately cease the practice 

of stop practicing pharmacy or cease the dispensing of and stop 

dispensing devices and medical equipment in North Carolina. 

Failure to receive the order shall not invalidate the order. The 

Board shall promptly give notice of hearing pursuant to G.S. 

150B-38 following service of the order. The suspension shall 

remain in effect pending issuance by the Board of a final agency 

decision pursuant to G.S. 150B-42. However, pursuant to Rules 

.2004 and .2005 of this Section, a person subject to a summary 

suspension may request a hearing on whether the public health, 

safety or welfare permits terminating or modifying the terms of 

the summary suspension pending a final agency decision. Neither 

an order of summary suspension nor a decision on whether the 

summary suspension order shall be terminated or modified is a 

final agency decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.12; 90-85.38; 150B-3; 150B-38; 

150B-40; 150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2007 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES 

(a)  All administrative hearings shall be conducted by the Board, 

a panel consisting of a A majority of the Board shall conduct all 

hearings, as set forth in G.S. 150B-40(b), except as provided in 

the members of the Board, or an administrative law judge 

designated to hear the case pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e). 

(b)  The Board President shall be the presiding officer at any 

hearing, unless the President is disqualified, absent or otherwise 

determines that he or she is unable to serve in that capacity. In the 

event that the President does not preside, the Board Vice President 

shall be the presiding officer at any hearing, unless the Vice 

President is disqualified, absent or otherwise determines that he 

or she is unable to serve in that capacity. In the event that neither 

the President nor the Vice President preside, the Board shall 
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designate another presiding officer. The presiding officer shall 

have all duties and powers set forth in G.S. 150B-40(c). Matters 

involving device and medical equipment permit holders shall be 

initially heard by a device and medical equipment subcommittee. 

The subcommittee shall be elected pursuant to Section .2100 of 

this Chapter. Prior to issuing a notice of hearing, the 

subcommittee and the party or parties may agree to follow the 

informal procedures set out in Rule .2008 of this Section. 

(c)  After hearing the matter, the device and medical equipment 

subcommittee shall propose a recommended decision to the 

Board. Sanctions shall be consistent with G.S. 90-85.38. If the 

Board accepts the recommended decision, it shall constitute a 

final agency decision for the right to judicial review. If the Board 

rejects the recommended decision, the Board may propose an 

alternative decision or schedule the matter for a formal hearing 

before the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.12; 150B-38; 150B-40. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2008 INFORMAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  Prior to Before issuing a notice of hearing, the Board or the 

device and medical equipment subcommittee and the party or 

parties may agree to conduct one of more conferences a 

conference in which a member of the Board or the device and 

medical equipment subcommittee and the party or parties meet to 

consider the possibility of disposing of resolving the dispute 

without a hearing or any other matter as may aid in the prompt 

disposition of the dispute. If such a conference is held, the Board, 

or the device and medical equipment subcommittee, The member 

of the Board may direct one or more of the following dispositions: 

(1) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation to dismiss with no action; 

(2) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation that Board staff provide 

informal guidance to resolve the dispute; 

(2)(3) Submission to the Board with a 

recommendation to resolve the dispute or to 

expedite the hearing by consent order; consent; 

or 

(3)(4) Scheduling, with appropriate notice, for 

contested case hearing. 

The Board must approve all recommendations under 

Subparagraphs (1), (2) and (3) of this Paragraph. All 

recommendations of dismissal must be approved by the Board. 

Any consent order proposed may dispose of the dispute or set 

forth such matters as were agreed to between the parties that may 

expedite the hearing. All matters contained in the consent order 

must be agreed to by the party or parties and approved by the 

Board at its next regular meeting. The Board member or member 

of the device and medical equipment subcommittee who 

participated in the conference may participate in Board 

discussions concerning any recommendation made but may not 

vote upon the recommendation. The Board member who 

participated in the conference shall disqualify himself or herself 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .2011 Rule .2011 of this Section 

from participation in any hearing or decision in the matter 

discussed in the conference if the matter results in a contested case 

hearing before the Board. 

(b)  After issuance of a notice of hearing, the The Board or the 

device and medical equipment subcommittee and the party or 

parties may agree in advance to simplify the hearing by stipulation 

or any other method provided by G.S. 150B-41(c). by: decreasing 

the number of issues to be contested at the hearing; accepting the 

validity of certain proposed evidence; accepting the findings in 

some other case with relevance to the case at hand; or agreeing to 

such other matters as may expedite the hearing. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38, 150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41; 

150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2009 MOTIONS PETITION FOR 

INTERVENTION 

Except as otherwise provided in this Section, parties must file and 

serve motions related to a contested case at least ten days before 

the hearing, except those made during the hearing. The presiding 

officer may decide to hear pre-hearing motions either before the 

hearing or at the hearing before witnesses testify. 

(a)  A person desiring to intervene in a contested case must file a 

written petition with the Board's office. The request should bear 

the notation: PETITION TO INTERVENE IN THE CASE OF 

(Name of case). 

(b)  The petition must include the following information: 

(1) the name and address of petitioner; 

(2) the business or occupation of petitioner, where 

relevant; 

(3) a full identification of the hearing in which 

petitioner is seeking to intervene; 

(4) the statutory or non-statutory grounds for 

intervention; 

(5) any claim or defense in respect of which 

intervention is sought; and 

(6) a summary of the arguments or evidence 

petitioner seeks to present. 

(c)  The moving party must serve copies of the petition on all 

parties to the case. 

(d)  If the Board determines to allow intervention, notice of that 

decision will be issued promptly to all parties, and to the 

petitioner. In cases of discretionary intervention, such notification 

will include a statement of any limitations of time, subject matter, 

evidence or whatever else is deemed necessary which are imposed 

on the intervenor. 

(e)  If the Board's decision is to deny intervention, the petitioner 

will be notified promptly. Such notice will be in writing, 

identifying the reasons for the denial, and will be issued to the 

petitioner and all parties. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2010 TYPES OF INTERVENTION 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2011 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBERS 

(a)  Self-disqualification. If for any reason a Board member 

determines that personal bias or other reason for that Board 

member's disqualification exists in factors renders that Board 
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member unable to hear a contested case, case and perform all 

duties in an impartial manner, that Board member shall 

voluntarily decline to participate in the hearing or decision. 

(b)  Petition for disqualification. If for any reason any party in a 

contested case believes case, in good faith, has evidence that a 

Board member is personally biased or another reason for 

disqualification exists, otherwise unable to hear a contested case 

and perform all duties in an impartial manner, the party may file 

and serve a motion for disqualification, which must be supported 

by a sworn, notarized affidavit testifying to the facts relevant to 

disqualification. with the Board. The title of such affidavit should 

bear the notation: AFFIDAVIT OF DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBER IN THE CASE OF (Name of case). Ex parte 

communication by or on behalf of a party with a Board member 

about the facts of a case at any time during either the investigation 

or prosecution of potential violations shall be grounds for 

disqualification of that Board member, other than 

communications by Board counsel and staff during the course of 

seeking a summary suspension or communications during any 

other proceeding before the Board. Before a hearing begins (or 

during the hearing, if applicable), both the Board member and the 

party must disclose the communications between the Board 

member and a party about the facts of the case to the Board and 

to the parties. 

(c)  Contents of affidavit. The affidavit must state all facts the 

party deems to be relevant to the disqualification of the Board 

member. 

(d)  Timeliness of affidavit. 

(1) An affidavit of disqualification will be 

considered timely if filed ten days before 

commencement of the hearing. Any other 

affidavit will be considered timely provided it 

is filed at the first opportunity after the party 

becomes aware of facts which give rise to a 

reasonable belief that a Board member may be 

disqualified under this Rule. 

(2) Where an affidavit for disqualification is filed 

A party may file and serve a motion for 

disqualification less than then ten days before 

or during the course of a hearing hearing, only 

based on newly discovered evidence that by due 

diligence could not have been discovered in 

time to file a timely motion. Under these 

circumstances, the hearing shall continue with 

the challenged Board member sitting. Petitioner 

shall have the opportunity to present evidence 

supporting the petition, and the petition and any 

evidence relative thereto presented at the 

hearing shall be made a part of the record. 

(d)  The Board Board, before rendering its decision, shall decide 

whether the evidence requires justifies disqualification. 

disqualification before it renders the final agency decision in the 

contested case. The decision about the disqualification of a Board 

member will be made by the other Board members. The Board is 

not required to grant a new hearing if a Board member is 

disqualified during the course of a hearing. 

(e)  The presiding officer may determine the method of resolving 

the motion for disqualification in the presiding officer's discretion 

under G.S. 150B-40. This may include the authority to direct that 

the Board's Executive Director oversee an investigation of the 

allegations and report the findings to the Board. 

(f)  In the event of disqualification, the disqualified member will 

not participate in further deliberation or decision of the case. 

(e)  Procedure for determining disqualification. 

(1) The Board will appoint a Board member to 

investigate the allegations of the affidavit. 

(2) The investigator will report findings to the 

Board and make recommendations. 

(3) The Board shall decide whether to disqualify 

the challenged individual. 

(4) The person whose disqualification is to be 

determined will not participate in the decision 

case but may be called on upon to furnish 

information to the other members of the Board. 

(5) When a Board member is disqualified prior to 

the commencement of the hearing or after the 

hearing has begun, such hearing will continue 

with the remaining members sitting provided 

that the remaining members still constitute a 

majority of the Board. 

(6)(g)  If three or more members of the Board are disqualified 

pursuant to this Rule, the Board shall petition the Office of 

Administrative Hearings to appoint an administrative law judge 

to hear the contested case pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2013 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  A party shall file and serve a request for a subpoena, attaching 

a proposed subpoena. A form of subpoena is available on the 

Board's website at ncbop.org/lawandrules.htm. The Board may 

issue the subpoena in accordance with G.S. 150B-39(c). 

Subpoenas must be issued and signed by the Board's Executive 

Director, the Board's legal counsel or a Board staff member 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(b)  The party shall serve the subpoena along with the fees and 

expenses required by G.S. 150B-39(c). 

(c)  After service of the subpoena, the party serving the subpoena 

shall file and serve sworn proof of the method of service, 

demonstrating compliance with G.S. 150B-39(c). 

(d)  G.S. 150B-39(c) governs the recipients' duties in responding 

to subpoenas. A party to the case or person subject to the subpoena 

may object to a subpoena by filing a motion to quash. The movant 

shall file and serve the motion to quash within 10 days of service 

of the subpoena or seven days before the contested case hearing, 

whichever is sooner. The Board shall hear and rule on objections 

as provided in G.S. 150B-39(c). 

(a)  Requests for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of 

witnesses or for the production of documents, either at a hearing 

or for the purposes of discovery, shall be made in writing to the 

Board and shall identify any document sought with specificity, 

and shall include the full name and home or business address of 

all persons to be subpoenaed and, if known, the date, time, and 

place for responding to the subpoena. The Board shall issue the 

requested subpoenas within three days of receipt of the request. 

(b)  Subpoenas shall contain: the caption of the case; the name and 

address of the person subpoenaed; the date, hour and location of 

the hearing in which the witness is commanded to appear; a 
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particularized description of the books, papers, records or objects 

the witness is directed to bring with him to the hearing, if any; the 

identity of the party on whose application the subpoena was 

issued; the date of issue; the signature of one of the members of 

the Board or the Board's executive director; and a "return of 

service." The "return of service" form as filled out, shows the 

name and capacity of the person serving the subpoena, the date on 

which the subpoena was delivered to the person directed to make 

service, the date on which service was made, the person on whom 

service was made, the manner in which service was made, and the 

signature of the person making service. 

(c)  Subpoenas shall be served by the sheriff of the county in 

which the person subpoenaed resides, when the party requesting 

such subpoena prepays the sheriff's service fee. The subpoena 

shall be issued in duplicate, with a "return of service" form 

attached to each copy. A person serving the subpoena shall fill out 

the "return of service" form for each copy and properly return one 

copy of the subpoena, with the attached "return of service" form 

completed, to the Board. 

(d)  Except as otherwise stated in a particular subpoena, any 

person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object thereto 

by filing a written objection to the subpoena with the Board's 

office. 

(e)  Such objection shall include a concise, but complete, 

statement of reasons why the subpoena should be revoked or 

modified. These reasons may include lack of relevancy of the 

evidence sought, or any other reason sufficient in law for holding 

the subpoena invalid, such as that the evidence is privileged, that 

appearance or production would be so disruptive as to be 

unreasonable in light of the significance of the evidence sought, 

or other undue hardship. 

(f)  Any such objection to a subpoena must be served on the party 

who requested the subpoena simultaneously with the filing of the 

objection with the Board. 

(g)  The party who requested the subpoena, in such time as may 

be granted by the Board, may file a written response to the 

objection. The written response shall be served by the requesting 

party on the objecting witness simultaneously with filing the 

response with the Board. 

(h)  After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, the 

Board shall issue a notice to the party who requested the subpoena 

and the party challenging the subpoena, and may notify any other 

party or parties of an open hearing, to be scheduled as soon as 

practicable, at which time evidence and testimony may be 

presented, limited to the narrow questions raised by the objection 

and response. 

(i)  Promptly after the close of such hearing, a majority of the 

Board members with voting authority, or an administrative law 

judge assigned to the case pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e), will rule 

on the challenge and issue a written decision. A copy of the 

decision will be issued to all parties and made a part of the record. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2014 WITNESSES 

Any party may be a witness and may present witnesses on the 

party's behalf at the hearing. All oral testimony at the hearing shall 

be under oath or affirmation and shall be recorded. At the request 

of a party or upon the Board's own motion, the The presiding 

officer may exclude witnesses from the hearing room so that they 

cannot hear the testimony of other witnesses. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41; 

150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2015 FINAL DECISION 

In a contested case, the Board shall issue a final agency decision 

in compliance with G.S. 150B-42. All final agency decisions shall 

be drafted by Board staff or Board counsel and presented to the 

presiding officer. In the event that the presiding officer determines 

that the drafted order does not reflect the Board's findings of fact, 

conclusions of law or ruling, the presiding officer shall revise the 

drafted order to reflect the Board's decision. In all cases heard by 

the Board, the Board will issue its decision within 60 days after 

its next regularly scheduled meeting following the close of the 

hearing. This decision will be the prerequisite "final agency 

decision" for the right to judicial review. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-3; 150B-38; 150B-40; 

150B-41; 150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2016 PROPOSALS FOR DECISIONS 

(a)  When an administrative law judge conducts a hearing 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-40(e), that statute governs the procedures 

before the administrative law judge. a "proposal for decision" 

shall be rendered within 45 days of the hearing pursuant to the 

rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 26 NCAC 3 .0026. 

(b)  Within 10 days after the proposal for decision is served on the 

parties under G.S. 150B-40(e), a Any party may file and serve 

written exceptions to this "proposal proposal for decision 

decision" and submit their its own proposed findings of fact and 

conclusions of law. The exceptions and alternative proposals must 

be filed within ten days after the party has received the "proposal 

for decision" as drafted by the administrative law judge. 

(b)  Any exceptions to the procedure during the hearing, the 

handling of the hearing by the administrative law judge, rulings 

on evidence, or any other matter Exceptions must be written and 

refer specifically to pages of the record or otherwise precisely 

identify the occurrence to which exception is taken. The 

exceptions must be filed with the Board within ten days of the 

receipt of the proposal for decision. The written exceptions should 

bear the notation: EXCEPTIONS TO THE PROCEEDINGS IN 

THE CASE OF (Name of case). the party takes exception. Each 

proposed finding of fact should refer specifically to pages of the 

record or otherwise precisely identify the evidence supporting the 

proposed finding, and each proposed conclusion of law must refer 

specifically to or otherwise precisely identify both the findings of 

fact and legal support for the proposed conclusion. A party may 

file and serve written arguments along with the exceptions and 

proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law. 

(c)  Any A party may ask to present oral argument to the Board. 

Board upon request. The party must file and serve the request with 

the written submissions under Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The 

request must be included with the written exceptions. 

(d)  Upon receipt of request for further If a party requests oral 

argument, notice will be issued promptly to all parties designating 

the Board will notice the time and place for such oral argument. 
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The presiding officer may set the terms of oral argument, 

including order of argument and time limitations. 

(d)  After the procedures set forth in this Section, the Board will 

issue a final agency decision in accordance with Rule .2015 of this 

Section. 

(e)  Giving due consideration to the proposal for decision and the 

exceptions and arguments of the parties, the Board may adopt the 

proposal for decision or may modify it as the Board deems 

necessary. The decision rendered will be a part of the record and 

a copy thereof given to all parties. The decision as adopted or 

modified becomes the "final agency decision" for the right to 

judicial review. Said decision will be rendered by the Board 

within 60 days of the next regularly scheduled meeting following 

the oral arguments, if any. If there are no oral arguments 

presented, the decision will be rendered within 60 days of the next 

regularly scheduled Board meeting following filing of the written 

exceptions. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 150B-38; 150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2017 REAPPLICATIONS, 

REINSTATEMENT, REHEARING, AND 

RECONSIDERATION 

(a)  The following terms govern reapplication, reinstatement, 

rehearing and other reconsideration requests from a final agency 

decision, unless otherwise expressly provided in that order: 

(1) No individual who holds a license, registration 

or other privilege from the Board who has that 

license, registration or other privilege either (a) 

revoked or (b) actively suspended indefinitely 

or for more than five years may petition for 

reinstatement, to have the revocation or 

suspended lifted, for reconsideration or 

rehearing or otherwise for modification or 

rescinding the order, until at least five years 

from the effective date of the revocation or 

suspension. 

(2) No individual who has had an application for a 

license, registration or other privilege from the 

Board denied may submit another application 

or petition for reconsideration or rehearing or 

otherwise for modification or rescinding the 

denial, until at least two years from the date of 

the most recent application that the Board 

denied. At that time, the individual must submit 

a new application for the Board to consider. 

(3) No permit holder who has had that permit either 

(a) revoked or (b) actively suspended 

indefinitely or for more than five years may 

submit another application or petition for 

reinstatement, to have the revocation or 

suspended lifted, for reconsideration or 

rehearing or otherwise for modification or 

rescinding the order, until at least five years 

from the effective date of the revocation or 

suspension. 

(4) No proposed permit holder who has had an 

application for a permit denied may submit 

another application for a permit or petition for 

reconsideration or rehearing or otherwise for 

modification or rescinding the denial, until at 

least two years from the date of the most recent 

application that was denied. At that time, the 

proposed permit holder must submit a new 

application for the Board to consider. 

(5) If any license, registration, permit or any other 

privilege is subject to a stayed suspension or an 

active suspension for a period of five years or 

shorter, the person holding that privilege may 

not submit another application, petition for 

reinstatement, to have the suspension lifted, for 

reconsideration or rehearing or otherwise for 

modification or rescinding the order, before the 

conclusion of that suspension. 

(6) For the purposes of Subparagraphs (3), (4) and 

(5) of this Paragraph, the Board shall treat a 

permit holder or proposed permit holder the 

same as a prior permit holder or proposed 

permit holder if either of the following two 

conditions is true: (a) the permit holder or 

proposed permit holder has the same pharmacy 

manager and there is more than 10 percent 

common ownership as the prior permit holder 

or proposed permit holder; or (b) the permit 

holder or proposed permit holder has 50 percent 

or more common ownership as the prior permit 

holder or proposed permit holder. To determine 

common ownership under this Rule, the Board 

shall consider business entities to be identical to 

other business entities if there is more than a 50 

percent common ownership. Furthermore, to 

determine common ownership under this Rule, 

the Board shall combine the interests of 

individuals with the interests of any business 

entities in which the individuals have more than 

a 10 percent interest, as well as with the 

interests of individuals in the same family. 

(b)  The Board may alter the terms provided in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, after applying the facts and circumstances of the matter 

and its application of the disciplinary provision in G.S. 90-85.38. 

Unless the Board expressly modifies these terms in the final 

agency decision, the terms of Paragraph (a) of this Rule apply to 

that decision. 

(c)  If a person submits a petition or application that does not 

satisfy the limits set forth in this Rule, the Executive Director shall 

not schedule any hearing on the petition or application before the 

Board until the limits set forth in this Rule are satisfied. 

(d)  A person's ability to petition for reinstatement or to submit a 

new application under this Rule does not indicate that the Board 

will grant any such petition or application. The Board will grant 

or reinstate a license, registration, permit or other privilege only 

after a finding that the grant or reinstatement is appropriate under 

the Pharmacy Practice Act and its rules and regulations. In making 

that decision, the Board will consider, among other things, the 

gravity of the misconduct that caused the denial, suspension or 

revocation; the applicant's history; the applicant's current ability 

to practice pharmacy with reasonable skill, competence and safety 
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to the public; and the applicant's conduct since the order of denial, 

suspension or revocation. 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.38; 150B-38; 150B-40; 150B-42. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 20, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 19, 2020 April 16, 2020 
 May 21, 2020 June 18, 2020 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
February 20, 2020 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, February 20, 2020, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were Anna Baird Choi, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeanette 
Doran, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Brian LiVecchi, Paul Powell, and Tommy Tucker. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Julie 
Brincefield and Alex Burgos.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the January 16, 2020 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matters for Private Protective Services Board and Psychology Board.  
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 
07 NCAC 13F .0202, .0303, and .0304 - The agency is addressing the request for technical changes from the January 
meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Elections 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09E .0105 - The agency is addressing the objection from the January meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 .0114, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0205, .0502, .0701, .0702, .0705, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, .0903, 
.0904, .0909, .0910, .0911, .0912, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, .1402, and .1406 – All rewritten rules were approved with 
Commissioners Hyde and LiVecchi voting against. 
 
Jeff Gray, the rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
The agency is addressing the objection for 15A NCAC 02B .0240 (to be recodified as 15A NCAC 02B .0703). No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, 
.0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, 
.0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, 
.1204, .1205, and .1206 - The agency is addressing the objections. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Sedimentation Control Commission 
15A NCAC 04A .0101 and .0105; 04B .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0115, .0118, .0120, 
.0124, .0125, .0126, .0127, .0129, .0130, .0131, and .0132; 04C .0103, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0110, and .0111; 04D .0102; 
04E .0101, .0102, .0104, .0201, .0203, .0403, .0405, .0406, .0501, .0502, .0503, and .0504 -  The agency is addressing the 
request for technical changes from the January meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07H .0304, .0305, .0309, .0313, .1901, .1902, .1904, and .1905 - The agency is addressing the request for 
technical changes from the January meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 10F .0306 was unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors 
21 NCAC 18B .0212, .0303, .0404, .0408, and .0901 were unanimously approved. 
 
State Board of Opticians  
21 NCAC 40 .0321 was unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board. 
 
At 10:16 a.m. the Chair called the meeting into a brief recess. 
 
The meeting resumed at 10:24 a.m.   
 
Psychology Board 
21 NCAC 54 .2006 and .2008 - The Commission objected to these Rules based on lack of statutory authority. The 
Commission specifically found that G.S. 90-270.5 requires psychological associates to be supervised and that it is beyond 
the statutory authority of the Psychology Board to exempt a psychological associate from supervision requirements once 
he or she meets certain criteria. Commissioners Choi, LiVecchi, and Powell voted against the objection.  
  
21 NCAC 54 .1602, .1605, .1606, .1607, .1608, .1609, .1610, .1611, .1612, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1802, 
.1803, .1901, .1903, .1904, .2001, .2002, .2005, .2007, .2009, .2101, .2102, .2103, .2104, .2202, .2203, .2301, .2302, .2303, 
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.2304, .2305, .2308, .2309, .2311, .2314, .2401, .2402, .2601, .2701, .2703, .2704, .2705, .2706, .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, 

.2805, and .2806  - The agency is addressing the request for technical changes from the January meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Steven Shaber with Poyner Spruill representing the NC Psychological Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Ed Gaskins with Everett, Gaskins & Hancock, addressed the Commission. 
 
Janet Heuring Larsen addressed the Commission. 
 
Sondra Panico with the Attorney General's Office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
Dr. Vinston Goldman addressed the Commission. 
 
Dr. Helen Brantley with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council  
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – At the 
November meeting, the Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget and Management 
to determine if the above-referenced rules have a substantial economic impact and therefore require a fiscal note. A 
response to this request pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 will assist the Commission in determining whether the agency adopted 
the rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. OSBM has not formally responded to this request. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
These rules will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the agency 
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Board of Agriculture 
02 NCAC 09E .0116 was unanimously approved. 
 
Credit Union Division  
04 NCAC 06C .1302 was unanimously approved. 
 
Department of Insurance  
The Commission extended the period of review for 11 NCAC 12 .0321, .0514, .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504, .1505, .1506, 
.1507, .1508, .1509, and .1803 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the agency 
to extend the period in order to allow the agency to address technical changes and submit the revised rules at a later 
meeting. 
 
Board of Dental Examiners 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Nursing 
21 NCAC 36 .0405 was unanimously approved.  
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Nursing, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm provides legal representation to the Board. 
 
Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Building Code Council 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW             
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 
07 NCAC 14B - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
July 31, 2021 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
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COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Staff provided an overview of S.L. 2019-198. Rulemaking Coordinators have been instructed to fill out box 5 on the 
Submission for Permanent Rule form if they are adopting or amending a rule subject to the requirements of S.L. 2019-198. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

February 20, 2020 Meeting 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

Current Good Manufacturing Practice of the North Carolina... 02 NCAC 09E .0116 

 
CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

Other Reserves 04 NCAC 06C .1302 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Application Completion Deadline 14B NCAC 16 .0114 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Fees for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0202 

Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0203 

Company Business License 14B NCAC 16 .0205 

Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0502 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0701 

Fees for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0702 

Unarmed Security Guard Registration Identification Cards 14B NCAC 16 .0705 

Renewal of Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0706 

Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0801 

Fees for Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0802 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0902 

Fees for Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0903 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0909 

Application for an Unarmed Trainer 14B NCAC 16 .0910 

Renewal of an Unarmed Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0911 

Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes 14B NCAC 16 .0912 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registr... 14B NCAC 16 .1301 

Fees for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .1302 

Renewal or Reissue of Unarmed Car Service Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .1306 

Application/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regis... 14B NCAC 16 .1401 

Fees for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registra... 14B NCAC 16 .1402 

Renewal of Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Regist... 14B NCAC 16 .1406 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Carolina Beach 15A NCAC 10F .0306 

 
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 16B .0301 

Dental Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16B .0501 

Limited Volunteer Dental License 21 NCAC 16B .0601 

Instructor's License 21 NCAC 16B .0701 

Temporary Volunteer Dental Permit 21 NCAC 16B .0801 

Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Military Service 21 NCAC 16B .1001 
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Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Status as Milita... 21 NCAC 16B .1002 

Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 16C .0301 

Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16C .0501 

Application for Provisional License 21 NCAC 16D .0104 

Restrictions on Practice 21 NCAC 16E .0102 

Application for Provisional License 21 NCAC 16E .0103 

Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Military S... 21 NCAC 16G .0107 

Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Status as ... 21 NCAC 16G .0108 

Application for Intern Permit 21 NCAC 16Y .0102 

 
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

Apprentice Training 21 NCAC 18B .0212 

Electrical Installation: Project: Project Value-Limitation 21 NCAC 18B .0303 

Annual License Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0404 

School, Hospital and Nonprofit Electrical Contractors and... 21 NCAC 18B .0408 

Applicants Convicted of Crimes 21 NCAC 18B .0901 

 
NURSING, BOARD OF 

Approval of Nurse Aide Education Programs 21 NCAC 36 .0405 

 
OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

Training Establishment Requirements 21 NCAC 40 .0321 

 
RECREATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE, BOARD OF 

Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Recreation... 21 NCAC 65 .0601 

Renewal Requirements for Licensed Recreational Therapist ... 21 NCAC 65 .0602 

Reinstatement of Lapsed License 21 NCAC 65 .0701 

Inactive Status 21 NCAC 65 .0801 

Military Endorsement 21 NCAC 65 .0902 

 
BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/General Definitions 202  

2018 NC Residential Code/Drain Pipe Materials and Sizes M1411.3.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/General M1502.1  

2018 NC Residential Code/Duct Installation M1502.4.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Return-Air Intake M1602.3  

2018 NC Fire Code/Valet Trash Collection Services 304.4  

2018 NC Residential Code/Frost Protection P2603.5.2  

2018 NC Residential Code/Fill R506.2.1  
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 BOE 01535 1/7/2020; 

1/14/2020 

The People for Rev. 

Joseph L Irving  

v. State Board of Elections and Ethics 

Enforcement 

May 

19 BOE 02435 1/24/2020 Robert Jameson v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 DHR 00943 5/21/2019; 

1/9/2020 

Central Family Care 

Home Dr Thelma B 

Brown 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02817 1/16/2020 Perkins Professional 

Daycare Inc 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

19 DHR 05406 1/28/2020 New Horizon Group 

Home LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Lassiter 

        

19 DOJ 00322 1/27/2020 Kenneth M Tanguay v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 01621 1/23/2020 Matthew Bounds v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 01622 1/30/2020 Joshua Orion David v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

19 DOJ 02498 1/23/2020 Justin T Combs v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 02985 1/6/2020 Thomas Council v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 03862 1/21/2020 Andre D Green Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 INS 02486 1/3/2020 Candace Heer v. State Health Plan May 

19 INS 03891 1/13/2020 Donna Thomas 

Tedder 

v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan Bawtinhimer 
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18 OSP 02258 1/6/2020 Jodette Dorene Hall v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 03469 1/27/2020 Alejandro Asbun v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 OSP 03472 11/18/2019; 

1/2/2020 

Rex A Draughon v. NCDPS Adult Corrections and Juvenile 

Justice 

Overby 

19 OSP 04414 1/29/2020 Tiffany Efird v. NC DOT/ DMV Bawtinhimer 

        

    Unpublished    

19 BAR 06047 1/13/2020 Kelvin D Exum v. The North Carolina State Bar Overby 

        

19 BOE 04976 1/10/2020 Barbara Dantonio v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 CPS 03805 1/7/2020 Christene Callihan v. Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 CPS 05739 1/7/2020 Larry Richard 

Moore 

v. Public Safety operating as North 

Carolina State Highway Patrol 

Sutton 

19 CPS 06274 1/16/2020 Courtney King v. NC Crime Victims Comp Commission Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 03117 1/2/2020 Andrelle Wiley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 05599 1/16/2020 Eron Thomas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05671 1/7/2020 Tesha M Mangum v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 05693 1/23/2020 Ascencion 

Escamilla 

Rodriguez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05799 1/16/2020 Charles Pettus v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05856 1/30/2020 Antonio Mock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05921 1/13/2020 Damian D Liles v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05928 1/23/2020 Allyson Lucia 

Chavis 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

19 CSE 05963 1/30/2020 Dwain Evans v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05971 1/14/2020 Thomas A Miller v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06058 1/16/2020 Lincoln Hardrick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06122 1/15/2020 Gregory E Dwyer v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 06127 1/13/2020 Claude Sanders v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06330 1/14/2020 Christine L Barnes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06606 1/22/2020 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 04290 1/10/2020 Lynetta J Givens v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

        

19 DHR 04623 1/28/2020 Loretta Buckley 

Malakie 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 05200 1/3/2020 Antonio Ray Davis v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 05205 1/10/2020 Onslow Pines Rest 

Home 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Services 

(DHSR) 

Mann 

19 DHR 05871 1/17/2020 LifeQuest 

Disabilities Services 

Inc Jane Williams 

v. Trillium Health Resources Lassiter 

19 DHR 05911 1/22/2020 Teketa Pemberton v. DHHS May 

19 DHR 05962 1/22/2020 Nicole Richardson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 06006 1/7/2020 Lalee Lee v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 06383 1/7/2020 Lewis E Williams v. DHHS Ms Lisa G Corbett General 

Counsel 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06419 1/29/2020 Gaston Residential 

Services Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06446 1/21/2020 Kiayanis Harris v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06567 1/23/2020 Sylvia Corry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06942 1/30/2020 Valerie R Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DOJ 02330 1/2/2020 Demonte 

Dominique Shaw 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DST 05116 1/17/2020 Michael Bagala 

A/K/A Bernard C 

Wijesingha 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Jacobs 

        

19 OSP 05895 1/28/2020 Charles A Wooten v. Cherry Hospital 1403 W Ash St 

Goldsboro NC (DHHS) 

Overby 

        

 




