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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rule cited as 

10A NCAC 41A .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 13, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Cardinal Conference Room, located at 5605 Six Forks 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The surveillance and control of 

communicable diseases and conditions is an important part of 

protecting the public's health.  The proposed rule amends the 

communicable diseases and conditions reporting requirements 

to:  (1) Add Acute Flaccid Myelitis, Babesiosis, Varicella, and 

Interferon Gamma Release Assay testing; (2) re-list Zika; and (3) 

make technical changes related to nomenclature, timing of 

reporting, and scientific progress in laboratory testing and 

reporting.  In addition, the text in italics adding a reporting 

requirement for novel coronavirus was adopted by the 

Commission for Public Health under emergency procedures on 

February 5, 2020 and effective on February 17, 2020 as well as 

proposed under temporary procedures. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; phone (919) 707-5006; email 

cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  May 1, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable 

within the time period specified after the disease or condition is 

reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

‑ 24 hours; 

(2) acute flaccid myelitis – 7 days; 

(3) anaplasmosis – 7 days; 

(4)(2) anthrax ‑ immediately; 

(5) arboviral infection, neuroinvasive – 7 days; 

(6) babesiosis – 7 days; 

(7)(3) botulism ‑ immediately; 

(8)(4) brucellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(9)(5) campylobacter infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(10)(6) Candida auris - 24 hours; 

(11)(7) Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

(CRE) – 24 hours; 

(12)(8) chancroid ‑ 24 hours; 

(13)(9) chikungunya virus infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(14)(10) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) ‑ 7 

days; 

(15)(11) cholera ‑ 24 hours; 

(16)(12) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 

(17)(13) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 

(18)(14) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(19)(15) dengue ‑ 7 days; 

(20)(16) diphtheria ‑ 24 hours; 

(21)(17) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing 

infection ‑ 24 hours; 
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(22)(18) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(19) encephalitis, arboviral ‑ 7 days; 

(23)(20) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes ‑ 24 hours; 

(24)(21) gonorrhea ‑ 24 hours; 

(25)(22) granuloma inguinale ‑ 24 hours; 

(26)(23) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease ‑ 24 

hours; 

(27)(24) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(28)(25) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(29)(26) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(30)(27) hepatitis A ‑ 24 hours; 

(31)(28) hepatitis B ‑ 24 hours; 

(32)(29) hepatitis B carriage ‑ 7 days; 

(33)(30) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(34)(31) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed ‑ 24 hours; 

(35)(32) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(36)(33) legionellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(37)(34) leprosy – 7 days; 

(38)(35) leptospirosis ‑ 7 days; 

(39)(36) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(40)(37) Lyme disease ‑ 7 days; 

(41)(38) Lymphogranuloma venereum ‑ 7 days; 

(42)(39) malaria ‑ 7 days; 

(43)(40) measles (rubeola) ‑ immediately; 24 hours; 

(44)(41) meningitis, pneumococcal ‑ 7 days; 

(45)(42) meningococcal disease ‑ 24 hours; 

(46)(43) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) ‑ 24 

hours; 

(47)(44) monkeypox – 24 hours; 

(48)(45) mumps ‑ 7 days; 

(49)(46) nongonococcal urethritis ‑ 7 days; 

(50) novel coronavirus infection – immediately; 

(51)(47) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(52)(48) plague ‑ immediately; 

(53)(49) paralytic poliomyelitis ‑ 24 hours; 

(54)(50) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(55)(51) psittacosis ‑ 7 days; 

(56)(52) Q fever ‑ 7 days; 

(57)(53) rabies, human ‑ 24 hours; 

(54) Rocky Mountain spotted fever ‑ 7 days; 

(58)(55) rubella ‑ 24 hours; 

(59)(56) rubella congenital syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(60)(57) salmonellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(61)(58) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 24 

hours; 

(62)(59) shigellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(63)(60) smallpox ‑ immediately; 

(64) spotted fever rickettsiosis – 7 days; 

(65)(61) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 

(66)(62) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease ‑ 7 days; 

(67)(63) syphilis ‑ 24 hours; 

(68)(64) tetanus ‑ 7 days; 

(69)(65) toxic shock syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(70)(66) trichinosis ‑ 7 days; 

(71)(67) tuberculosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(72)(68) tularemia – immediately; 

(73)(69) typhoid ‑ 24 hours; 

(74)(70) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) ‑ 7 days; 

(75)(71) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) ‑ 7 days; 

(76)(72) vaccinia – 24 hours; 

(77) varicella – 24 hours; 

(78)(73) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 hours; 

(79)(74) whooping cough – 24 hours; and 

(80)(75) yellow fever – 7 days; days. and 

(81) zika virus – 24 hours. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive 

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing 

method approved by the Director of the State Public Health 

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting 

additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory 

reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Anaplasma spp, the causes of 

anaplasmosis. 

(B) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever 

virus. 

(C)(B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(D) Babesia spp., the cause of babesiosis. 

(E)(C) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(F)(D) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(G)(E) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(H)(F) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(I)(G) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 

(J)(H) Candida auris. 

(K)(I) Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). 

(L)(J) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 
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conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) and 

pneumonia of newborns. 

(M)(K) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(N)(L) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(O) Coronavirus, novel human strain. 

(P)(M) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(Q)(N) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever. 

(R)(O) Cryptosporidium spp., parvum, the 

cause of human cryptosporidiosis. 

(S)(P) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(T) Dengue virus. 

(U)(Q) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(V)(R) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(W)(S) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(X) Hepatitis A virus. 

(Y)(T) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 

(Z)(U) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 

(AA)(V) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(BB)(W) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(CC)(X) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(DD) Measles virus. 

(EE)(Y) Middle East respiratory syndrome 

virus. 

(FF)(Z) Monkeypox. 

(GG) Mumps virus. 

(HH)(AA) Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(II)(BB) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(JJ)(CC) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(KK)(DD) Rabies virus. 

(LL)(EE) Rickettsia spp., rickettsii, the cause of 

Rocky Mountain spotted fever 

rickettsiosis. fever. 

(MM)(FF) Rubella virus. 

(NN)(GG) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(OO)(HH) Shigella spp., the causes of 

shigellosis. 

(PP)(II) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox. 

(QQ)(JJ) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vanomycin. 

(RR)(KK) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(SS)(LL) Vaccinia virus. 

(TT) Varicella virus. 

(UU)(MM) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera 

and other vibrioses. 

(VV)(NN) Yellow fever virus. 

(WW)(OO) Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(XX) Zika virus. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 

(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

viruses associated with 

neuroinvasive disease. 

meningitis or encephalitis in 

a human. 

(ii) Anaplasma spp., the cause of 

anaplasmosis. 

(iii)(ii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iv)(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause 

of psittacosis. 

(v) Chikungunya virus. 

(vi)(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(vii)(v) Dengue virus. 

(viii)(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(ix)(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(x)(viii) Mumps virus. 

(xi)(ix) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(xii)(x) Rubella virus. 

(xiii) Varicella virus. 

(xiv)(xi) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies 

to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne virus 

associated with 

neuroinvasive disease. 

(ii) Chikungunya virus. 

(iii)(i) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(iv) Dengue virus. 

(v)(ii) Hepatitis A virus. 
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(vi)(iii) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(vii) Mumps virus. 

(viii)(iv) Rubella virus. 

(ix)(v) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(x)(vi) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

(5) Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen 

associated with either infection or colonization, 

including all susceptibility results and all 

phenotypic or molecular test results. 

(d)  Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) 

shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule: 

(1) All positive laboratory results from tests used to 

diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection, 

including the following: 

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests 

(including the test specific signal to 

cut-off (s/c) ratio); 

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests; 

(C) Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and 

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests. 

(2) All HIV genotypic test results, including when 

available: 

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or 

(B) The pol region sequence (including all 

regions: protease (PR)/reverse 

transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI) 

genes, if available). 

(3) All test results for Interferon Gamma Release 

Assays. 

(e)  For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as: 

(1) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

positive for a known carbapenemase resistance 

mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for 

carbapenemase production; or 

(2) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of 

carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or 

phenotypic testing for carbapenemase 

production. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-139; 130A-141. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for the Blind 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 63C .0204, .0403 

and readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 63C .0203, and .0601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/documents/division-rules 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 

may be demanded by written request to Cynthia Speight, 

Rulemaking Coordinator, within 15 days of the publication of the 

Notice of Text. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Commission for the Blind 

initially proposed to readopt Rules 63C .0203 and .0601, and 

amend rules 10A NCAC 63C .0204 and .0403 in the May 15, 2018 

Register.  Following objections by the RRC, the agency is 

republishing all four rules for a 60-day comment period in order 

to respond to the RRC’s objection and public input. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Cynthia Speight, NC Division 

of Services for the Blind, 2601 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-2601; 

email dsbpubliccomment@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 1, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 63 - SERVICES FOR THE BLIND 

 

SUBCHAPTER 63C - BUSINESS ENTERPRISES 

PROGRAM 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING AND PLACEMENT 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0203 SUSPEND: TERMINATE 

LINCENSE: SUSPENSION OR TERMINATION OF 

LICENSE AND REMOVAL FROM BUSINESS 

ENTERPRISES FACILITY 

(a)  The Division may suspend or terminate the license of an 

operator, after affording the operator an opportunity for to appeal 
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the decision as set forth in Section .0400. a full evidentiary 

hearing, when it finds that his facility is not being operated in 

accordance with the rules and regulations; with the terms and 

conditions of the agreement, contract, or permit between the 

Division and the sponsor of the building or site upon which the 

Business Enterprises facility is located; or with the terms of the 

contract between the operator and the Division relating to the 

particular assignment. 

(b)  An operator may be warned prior to suspension or termination 

of a license, particularly in situations where lack of compliance is 

not determined by the Division to pose an immediate threat to the 

general public or to bring discredit or irreparable damage to the 

Business Enterprises Program. 

(b)  [The license of a licensee] Licenses to licensees and operators 

shall be terminated if the [licensee's vision is improved by 

conventional means to the point at which the licensee is not 

legally blind.] licensee or operator: 

(1) no longer meets the definition of legally blind 

pursuant to Rule .0101 of this Subchapter; 

(2) withdraws from the program and sends written 

notification to the Division; 

(3) is convicted of a misdemeanor involving crimes 

of dishonesty or any felony; 

(4) provides false information to the Division 

pertaining to eligibility requirements set forth 

pursuant to Rule .0202 of this Subchapter; 

(5) unlawfully possesses firearms or lethal 

weapons on the job; 

(6) uses Business Enterprises equipment purchased 

with program funds or a Business Enterprises 

facility to operate another business; or 

(7) if an operator's license is suspended 3 times 

within a consecutive 24-month period, 

regardless of the reason for suspension. 

[(c) The license of an operator shall be terminated if the operator's 

vision is improved by conventional means to the point at which 

the operator is not legally blind.] 

(c)  Licenses to operators shall be suspended if the operator: 

(1) fails to operate the Business Enterprises facility 

in accordance with the operator agreement for 

three or more consecutive months; 

(2) commits willful acts in the Business Enterprises 

facility or on the grounds of the facility to create 

a potential threat to the facility's staff or 

customers; 

(3) reports to a Business Enterprises facility under 

the influence of alcohol or any controlled 

substance or partakes of such on the job. This 

shall not include unanticipated effects from the 

ingestion of prescription medications taken in 

accordance with the directions of a doctor; 

(4) fails to personally operate the awarded facility, 

as set forth in the operator agreement, unless 

prior written approval to operate the facility in 

another manner has been obtained from the 

Division. This requirement shall not mandate 

the physical presence of the operator at the 

facility at all times of its operation; 

(5) fails three times during the calendar year to pay 

set-aside and liability fees and health insurance 

premiums and phone bills, if applicable, to the 

Controller's Office by the 15th day of the month 

following the month in which the business was 

transacted; 

(6) fails to preserve financial and other records 

pertaining to the operation of the Business 

Enterprises facility as required by Rule 

.0601(a)(8) of this Subchapter. 

(7) fails to respond to requests made by an auditing 

authority conducting audits pursuant to State or 

federal law, as required by this Subchapter; 

(8) fails to maintain liability and workers 

compensation insurance coverage as required 

by law and by Rule .0607 of this Subchapter; 

(9) removes Business Enterprises equipment 

purchased with program funds from the facility 

without written authorization from the 

Division; 

(10) fails to comply with federal or State law 

prohibiting discrimination in hiring and service 

to customers; 

(11) fails to comply with federal or State tax laws for 

individuals who are self-employed if this 

violation relates to the Business Enterprises 

facility. This suspension shall only occur if 

there has been a final adjudication of the 

violation by State and federal authorities; or 

(12) fails to comply with the operator's 

responsibilities as required by Rule .0601of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)[(d)]  Licenses to operators may also be suspended or 

terminated for any of the following reasons: 

(1) Vision improves so that the operator is no 

longer eligible for licensing; 

(2) [(1)] Extended illness [extended illness, defined as 

lasting at least three months,] occurs with 

medically documented diagnosis of prolonged 

incapacity of the operator to manage the 

Business Enterprises facility in a manner 

consistent with the needs of the location or 

other available locations in the Business 

Enterprises Program; 

(3) [(2)] Withdrawal [withdrawal of the operator from 

the program upon his written notification to the 

Division;] 

(4) Gross misconduct or conduct so reprehensible 

as to bring discredit to the program; 

(5) [(3)] Conviction [conviction] of a felony (Class A 

through E); [misdemeanor involving crimes of 

dishonesty or any felony;] 

(6) [(4)] Falsified [falsified] information pertaining to 

eligibility requirements; 

(7) [(5)] Willful [willful] acts that would endanger the 

lives and property of others; 

(8) [(6)] Possession of firearms or lethal weapons on the 

job; [site at a Business Enterprises facility;] 
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(9) [(7)] Reporting [reporting] to Business Enterprises 

assignment under the influence of alcohol or 

any controlled substance or partaking of such 

on the job.;  

[(8)] [failing to personally operate the awarded 

facility as set forth in the operator agreement 

and permit or contract with the host facility 

unless prior written approval to operate the 

facility in another manner has been obtained 

from the Division;] 

[(9)] [failing to pay fees to the Controller's Office by 

the 15th day of the month following the month 

in which the business was transacted three 

times during the calendar year;]  

[(10)] [failing to preserve required financial and other 

records with the Division as required by this 

Subchapter;]  

[(11)] [failing to cooperate with record keeping 

reviews conducted by the Division;]  

[(12)] [failing to cooperate with audits conducted by 

state or federal agencies;]  

[(13)] [failing to maintain bonding, liability and 

workers compensation insurance coverage as 

required by law or policy;]  

[(14)] [using Business Enterprises equipment and or 

facility to operate another business;]  

[(15)] [failing to maintain facility equipment in a 

sanitary and operable condition within the 

scope of the operator's level of maintenance 

authorization;]  

[(16)] [removing facility equipment without written 

authorization from the Division;]  

[(17)] [failing to comply with federal or state law 

prohibiting discrimination in hiring and service 

to customers; and]  

[(18)] [failing to comply with the operator's 

responsibilities in this Subchapter or the 

operator's agreement.]  

(d)  Suspension may be used when an apparent action or lack of 

action by an operator is not serious enough in the opinion of the 

Division to warrant termination of the license. The length of the 

suspension shall vary with the seriousness of the situation, but 

shall not exceed a maximum of 60 days. Prior to the suspension 

of an operator's license, the Division shall provide the operator 

with a written corrective action plan. The Division and the 

operator shall both sign the corrective action plan. The corrective 

action plan shall include: 

(1) the specific provision in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule that the operator has violated, the specific 

provision contained in the operator's agreement 

that has been violated, or the specific provision 

otherwise contained in this Subchapter that has 

not been complied with; 

(2) the specific corrective actions that the operator 

must take to cure the violation identified in 

Paragraph (d)(1) of this Rule, including 

participation in training or receipt of technical 

assistance provided by the Division, if 

necessary: and 

(3) the time frame in which the operator must cure 

the violation, which shall not exceed 90 days. 

The time frame in which to cure the violation 

may be extended if actions are being taken to 

resolve the violations pursuant to a written 

agreement between the operator and Division. 

(e)  If an operator fails to complete the corrective action plan to 

cure the violation within the time set forth in the corrective action 

plan, or otherwise refuses to sign a corrective action plan, the 

Division shall suspend the license of the operator. The length of a 

suspension shall not exceed 60 days. 

(f)  During the time period in which an operator's license is 

suspended, the Division shall identify another operator to assume 

responsibility for the locations of the suspended operator. 

 

Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 34 C.F.R. 395.3; 34 C.F.R. 

395.7; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107. 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0204 FILLING OF VACANCIES 

(a)  The Division shall make available a listing of available 

Business Enterprises facilities to all licensees. 

(b)  Licensees who wish to apply for any of the locations listed 

may forward an application to the office of the Chief of Business 

Enterprises. 

(c)  Transfers and promotions shall be based on the following 

procedures: 

(1) The Division shall send a notice of available 

facilities to all operators and licensees on the 

last 10 working day of the month. The notice 

shall provide a description of the vacancy and 

who to contact for more information. 

(2) All applications shall be post-marked by the 

10th of the month following the notice and 

mailed to the office of the Chief of Business 

Enterprises. 

(3) The Interview Committee shall interview all 

applicants on the second Friday of the month 

which follows the application deadline. 

(4) At least 10 working days prior to the interview, 

the Business Enterprises Counselor who works 

with the applicant shall calculate the applicant's 

points for sanitation, seniority, Financial 

Analysis/Operating Standards [Subparagraphs 

(d), (1), (2), (3) of this Rule] and inform the 

applicant of his point total. The applicant shall 

have five working days to review the point total 

and request any adjustments. 

(5) After adding together the points from the 

sanitation, seniority, Financial 

Analysis/Operating Standards, Customer 

Relations and Oral Exam/Interview Sections 

[Subparagraphs (d), (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7) 

of this Rule] for each applicant, the applicant 

with the highest point total (if above 60 points) 

shall be awarded the vacancy. If the applicant 

with the highest point total declines to accept 

the location, it shall be offered to the next 

highest applicant (if above 60 points) and so on. 

In the case of an exact tie, the applicant with the 
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most time in the Business Enterprises Program 

shall be awarded the location. 

(6) Applicants shall be notified as soon as possible 

after their interview whether or not they have 

been awarded a location. This notification shall 

be by telephone and followed up in writing. 

(7) Upon being awarded a location, the applicant 

shall have 30 days to fill the vacancy. The 

Division shall agree to a different time frame if 

adhering to the 30-day time frame would cause 

a hardship to the applicant awarded the facility. 

The location shall not be filled for 15 working 

days following the award to allow time for 

administrative appeals to be filed. If an appeal 

is filed, the location shall not be filled until the 

appeal is resolved. If there is only one applicant 

for a location, the 15-day waiting period shall 

not apply. 

(8) If an applicant is awarded a facility and has not 

had an Operator Agreement with the Agency in 

the last two years, and the applicant did not 

meet his financial analysis and operating 

standards for the last 12 months that his 

agreement was in effect, the applicant shall 

repeat the necessary on-the-job-training. The 

Interview Committee may also recommend 

refresher course training to assure qualified 

management. 

(9) Licensees/operators not selected may file an 

administrative appeal as provided for in 

Subchapter 63C Section .0400. The fifteen-day 

limit to file an appeal shall begin from the date 

the licensee/operator is informed by telephone 

of the results of the award. 

(10) An applicant must have operated a Business 

Enterprises location for six months prior to the 

cut-off date for calculating financial 

performance according to standards to be 

considered an operator, otherwise, the operator 

shall be in licensee status. The cut-off date is 

defined as the 12-month period ending with the 

last day of the same month in which the 

vacancy is advertised. 

(11) If an operator leaves the Business Enterprises 

Program and then applies for a location within 

12 months of leaving, his financial performance 

according to standards for the 12 months prior 

to his leaving shall be used to calculate points 

in the Financial Performance Section. 

(12) Financial analyses of facilities shall be done 

every two years. The analysis shall be on the 

facility not the operator; however, an operator 

may request a new analysis after at least four 

months in the new facility. If an applicant's 

financial analysis is less than two years old and 

the applicant's performance is neither above 

100 percent nor below 85 percent on either 

measure, the financial analysis is current. 

(13) An applicant who does not hold the required 

level of license for the vacancy may be awarded 

the facility contingent upon successfully 

completing the required training. Applicants 

who hold the required level of license but have 

not operated a facility at that level for at least 

two years shall complete refresher on-the-job 

training if the applicant did not meet his 

financial analysis and operating standards for 

the last 12 months that his agreement was in 

effect. 

(14) An operator may not sit on the Interview 

Committee for a location for which he/she is 

applying or if a member of his/her immediate 

family has applied for a vacant facility. For this 

purpose immediate family is defined as spouse, 

parent, child, brother and sister. Also included 

are the step, half and in-law relationships. If the 

Vice-Chairman and the Chairman of the 

Elected Committee of Vendors and the 

Chairman of the sub-committee on Transfer and 

Promotion are all restricted from sitting on the 

Interview Committee under this Rule, those 

three must pick another Elected Committee of 

Vendors member to sit on the Interview 

Committee. 

(15) The schedule for awarding vacancies may be 

changed to accommodate holidays, too many 

applications to process in one day, or at any 

time necessary due to program conflicts as 

determined by the chief of Business Enterprises 

and the Vice-Chairman of the Elected 

Committee of Vendors. All applicants shall be 

notified in writing of the date, time and place of 

their interview. 

(16) Applicants shall be reimbursed for their 

expenses to come to the interview at the state's 

per diem rates. The Business Enterprises 

Program shall only reimburse for two 

interviews per year. After that, applicants shall 

bear their own expenses for coming to 

interviews. Licensees who have active 

rehabilitation cases shall be reimbursed through 

the rehabilitation program. 

(d)  The Division shall use the following criteria in determining 

points: 

(1) Sanitation: 

(A) Ten point maximum; 

(B) One point for each sanitation grade 

point above ninety; 

(C) Sanitation grade to be arrived at by 

averaging all sanitation scores 

received during last two years; 

(D) Five points shall be subtracted for any 

adjusted B grade in the last two years; 

(E) The Business Enterprises Counselor 

shall determine an adjusted grade by 

adding back in any points subtracted 

for deficiencies over which the 
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operator has no control. The operator 

shall inform Business Enterprises 

Counselor when an inspection has 

occurred so he can review the 

inspection and adjust the grade if 

needed. The operator shall make sure 

the Business Enterprises Counselor 

has copies of every sanitation 

inspection form from the relevant 

period so that he or she can calculate 

an accurate grade. 

(2) Seniority: 

(A) Five point maximum; 

(B) Seniority points shall be awarded as 

follows: 

Years in Business Enterprises 

Program – Points 

0 to 4.99 - 0 points 

5 to 9.99 - 1 point 

10 to 14.99 - 2 points 

15 to 19.99 - 3 points 

20 to 24.99 - 4 points 

25 and over - 5 points 

(C) Seniority is defined as the amount of 

time in yearly increments an 

individual has been working in the 

Business Enterprises Program as an 

operator. An operator must work 51 

percent of the working days in a month 

to receive credit for that month. The 

cutoff date for accruing time in the 

Program is the end of the month when 

the vacancy is advertised. Business 

Enterprises operators shall receive 

credit for one year of seniority for any 

combined 12-month period. 

(3) Performance According to Financial 

Analysis/Operating Standards: Operating 

standards are determined by tabulating all the 

invoices for purchases for resale for each 

facility for a period of three months. The 

optimum sales and gross profit percentage is 

determined by computing the maximum 

potential for sales and gross profit without 

consideration for theft, waste or poor 

management. Each operator is required to 

maintain 85 percent of the optimum standard 

established for each facility for sales and gross 

profit. Eighty-five percent of the optimum sales 

and gross profit percentage is considered the 

operating standard for each facility. 

(A) 50 Points Maximum; 

(B) Applicants shall receive 20 points for 

meeting or exceeding 85 percent of 

their sales standard; 

(C) Applicants shall receive 20 points for 

meeting or exceeding 85 percent of 

their gross profit percentage standard; 

(D) Applicants shall receive five points for 

meeting or exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their sales optimum; 

(E) Applicants shall receive five points for 

meeting or exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their gross profit percentage optimum. 

(4) Customer and Building Management Relations: 

(A) Five points shall be deducted for each 

written site management complaint in 

the past two years, up to a maximum 

of 10 points. 

(B) If the applicant has more than three 

written site management complaints, 

he shall not be considered for the 

award. No site management complaint 

that is more than three years old may 

be used against an operator. Site 

management is defined as the property 

official for the property on which a 

BEP facility is located. 

(5) Oral Exam/Interview: 

(A) 30 points maximum. 

(B) Interview shall be face to face (no 

conference calls). 

(C) All applicants shall be interviewed. 

(D) The Interview Committee shall consist 

of: 

(i) The Chief of Business 

Enterprises, or Deputy Chief 

or Assistant Director of 

Programs and Facilities as 

designated by Chief, 

(ii) The Area Rehabilitation 

Supervisor or B.E. Counselor 

for the area in which the 

vacancy occurs, and 

(iii) The Vice-Chairman of the 

Elected Committee of 

Vendors or the Chairman in 

his absence, or in the absence 

of the Chairman, the 

Chairman of the Transfer and 

Promotion subcommittee. 

(E) The Oral Exam part shall consist of 10 

questions drawn either from a pool of 

standard questions or developed by the 

Interview Committee prior to the 

interview. The oral exam questions 

shall relate to any special needs of the 

vacant facility as well as to standard 

responsibilities and knowledge areas 

of Business Enterprises operators. 

Each member of the Interview 

Committee shall evaluate the 

applicant's response to each question 

in the oral exam. The applicant shall 

receive one point by demonstrating 

basic knowledge, the applicant shall 

receive one and one-half points for 
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demonstrating above average 

knowledge, and the applicant shall be 

awarded two points for demonstrating 

exceptional knowledge for each 

interview question. There shall be at 

least one question involving a 

calculation and a talking calculator 

shall be provided, although applicants 

may bring their own. The oral exam 

shall yield a possible 20 points. 

(F) The interview part shall consist of a 

variety of questions in a give and take 

format. Each member of the Interview 

Committee shall evaluate the 

applicant's response to the interview 

questions and shall award up to 10 

additional points based on the 

applicant's previous food service 

experience, knowledge and financial 

performance. If the applicant meets 

the requirements for the facility, the 

applicant shall receive five additional 

points. If the applicant's qualifications 

exceed the requirements of the facility, 

he may be awarded up to ten 

additional points. The interview shall 

include the following elements: 

questions related to business 

philosophy to promote general 

discussion to enable the interview 

panel to evaluate the applicant's 

expertise, maturity, experience and 

ability; a discussion of any related 

work experience outside the Business 

Enterprises Program; at least two 

business math questions. Since points 

are awarded for seniority, time in the 

Business Enterprises Program shall 

not be considered as a reason to award 

points; however, relevant work 

experience in the Business Enterprises 

Program may be discussed and taken 

into consideration. Applicants may 

bring letters of recommendation, 

certificates, and other documents that 

would aid the Interview Committee in 

awarding its discretionary points. 

(G) Each interviewer shall award 

discretionary points individually and 

the total score of Oral Exam and 

Interview points from each 

interviewer shall be averaged and 

added to the applicant's points from 

the other Sections. 

(6) Licensees and trainees: 

(A) A licensee who has no previous 

experience in the North Carolina 

Business Enterprises Program shall be 

assigned 35 points in the Financial 

Analysis/Operating Standards 

category. If the licensee scores 90 

percent or above on the National 

Restaurant Association's ServSafe 

exam, he/she shall be awarded three 

points in the sanitation category. 

(B) A licensee with previous Business 

Enterprises experience shall be 

assigned 35 points in the Financial 

Analysis/Operating Standards 

category. Previous sanitation records 

shall be considered, if available; or the 

applicant may take the National 

Restaurant Association's ServSafe 

exam. If the licensee scores 90 percent 

or above on the ServSafe exam, he/she 

shall be given three points in the 

Sanitation Section. 

(C) Applicants shall have satisfactorily 

completed Level I training or have a 

Level I license to be interviewed. The 

four levels of Business Enterprises 

facilities are defined as follows: Level 

I has no cooking or on-site food 

preparation and includes only service 

via vending machines or over the 

counter service including snacks, 

candy, pre-packaged sandwiches, 

coffee, and assorted beverages. Level 

II service is similar to a deli operation 

where hot and cold food is prepared on 

site. Level III service includes all of 

the above with the addition of a grill 

and fryer. Level IV service consists of 

full-service cafeteria style facilities. 

An applicant shall score at least 60 

total points to be awarded a location. 

If the applicant scores at least 55 

points but less than 60 points, the 

interview panel may make a 

conditional award if the panel agrees it 

is in the best interest of the Business 

Enterprises Program. 

(a)  The Division shall send a notice of vacant facilities to all 

operators and licensees within the last 10 business days of the 

month. The notice shall provide a description of the vacancy, who 

to contact for more information, the address where the application 

may be submitted, and the deadline for receipt of application. The 

deadline specified in the notice shall be no earlier than that 10th 

day of the following month, or the first business day thereafter. In 

the event of an emergency vacancy, including death or illness of 

an operator, the schedule for sending notices of vacant facilities, 

conducting interviews, and awarding vacancies set forth in this 

Rule may be changed as determined by the Chief of Business 

Enterprises and the chairman of the Elected Committee of Blind 

Vendors or his or her designee. 

(b)  An individual shall be eligible to apply for a vacancy if the 

individual currently possesses the license level required by the 

vacant facility or, if the training is not currently provided by the 
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Division or otherwise available for the license level required for 

the vacant facility, the individual shall be eligible to apply if the 

applicant holds the next lower license level. 

(c)  An individual shall not be eligible to apply for a vacancy if 

either of the following conditions exist: 

(1) the individual has received written notice from 

the Division that the individual owes money to 

the Business Enterprises Program and that 

money is still owed, unless there is a pending 

grievance as set forth in Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter; or 

(2) the individual has failed to appear for a 

scheduled interview twice during the preceding 

12 months. In this instance, the individual will 

not be eligible to apply for a vacancy for 24 

months from the date of the last scheduled 

interview. This provision shall not apply if the 

applicant withdrew from the interview by 

providing notice to the Division 48 hours prior 

to the scheduled appearance or if prior to the 

interview, the individual provides information 

to the Division documenting that the individual 

is unable to attend due to health reasons. 

(d)  Operators and licensees who wish to apply for any vacancy 

shall submit an application to the address contained in the notice 

or to office of the Chief of Business Enterprises via electronic 

mail, personal delivery, the United States Postal Service, or 

commercial delivery services. 

(e)  The application shall include the applicant's name, address, 

telephone number, the name of the current BEP facility assigned 

to the applicant if applicable, the name of the facility that the 

applicant is applying for, the applicant's signature, and the date 

the application is signed. 

(f)  All applications shall be received by the Division no later than 

the deadline date identified in the notice. "Received" for the 

purpose of this Paragraph means that the application is in the 

possession of the Division. If the application is not received by 

the Division by the deadline, the applicant shall not be eligible to 

interview for the vacancy. However, if the Division does not 

receive the application by the deadline, an applicant may 

demonstrate compliance with this Paragraph by demonstrating he 

or she submitted the application in compliance with Paragraph (d) 

and any failure or delay in the delivery was due to causes beyond 

the applicant's control. 

(g)  At least 10 business days prior to the interview, the Business 

Enterprises Consultant who works with the applicant shall 

calculate the applicant's points for sanitation, seniority, and 

financial performance as set forth in Subparagraphs (h)(1), (2), 

and (3) of this Rule and inform the applicant of his or her point 

total in writing and shall include with that communication a 

description of any ways in which the Business Enterprises 

Consultant noted that the applicant failed to provide the 

information required by Subparagraphs (h)(1), (2), and (3) of this 

Rule. The applicant shall have five business days from his or her 

receipt of the notice from the Business Enterprises Consultant to 

request any adjustments to the point total. As part of the request, 

the applicant must provide to the Business Enterprise Consultant 

all supporting information with the request, including documents 

required to complete a new financial analysis and operation 

standard tool (FAOS) if another FAOS is requested by the 

applicant. The applicant's points for sanitation, seniority, and 

FAOS shall be shared with all members of the interview 

committee. 

(h)  The Business Enterprises Consultant shall assign points to 

each applicant for sanitation, seniority, and financial performance 

as follows: 

(1) Five sanitation points may be awarded based on 

the sanitation grades for the Business 

Enterprises facilities that were operated by an 

applicant, as follows: 

(A) The applicant shall verify with the 

Business Enterprises Consultant that 

he or she has copies of every sanitation 

inspection form from the specified 

period so that the points can be 

calculated. 

(B) One point shall be awarded for each 

sanitation grade point above 90, which 

shall be determined by averaging all 

sanitation scores received during the 

previous 24 months. 

(C) Any points deducted on the sanitation 

review reports for deficiencies that are 

the responsibility of facility 

management, pertaining to the 

condition of bathrooms, floors, 

ceilings and walls, shall be added in 

the calculations by the Business 

Enterprises Consultant. 

(D) An applicant who is a licensee with a 

score of 90 percent or greater on his or 

her most recent National Restaurant 

Association's ServSafe exam shall be 

assigned three sanitation points. 

(2) A maximum of five seniority points may be 

awarded based on the number of years an 

applicant has worked as an operator in the 

Business Enterprises Program. The applicant 

shall be awarded 0.2 points for each 12 months 

worked as an operator in the Business 

Enterprises Program. The cutoff date for 

accruing time in the facility shall be the end of 

the month when the vacancy is advertised. 

(3) A maximum of 50 financial performance points 

may be awarded. Financial performance for 

applicants who are operators shall be based on 

the facilities assigned to the operator. Financial 

performance shall be calculated by analyzing 

the average monthly sales and average gross 

profit percentage for sales during the 12-month 

period ending with the last day of the month 

preceding the month in which the vacancy is 

advertised. The cut-off date for calculating 

financial performance shall be the 12-month 

period ending with the last day of the month in 

which the vacancy is advertised. The FAOS 

shall be utilized to help determine the financial 

performance of the facility. A FAOS shall be 
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completed by the Business Enterprises 

Consultant for a facility every three years to 

determine the optimum sales percentage and 

optimum gross profit percentage without 

consideration for theft or waste. Eighty-five 

percent of the optimum sales percentage and 

optimum gross profit percentage shall be the 

standard for each Business Enterprises facility. 

(A) If an applicant who is not currently 

operating a Business Enterprises 

facility applies for a vacancy within 12 

months of leaving a facility, the FAOS 

for the applicant's prior facility shall 

be used for the calculations in this 

Subparagraph if the FAOS was 

completed within the required two-

year period. 

(B) The applicant's Business Enterprises 

Consultant shall determine the FAOS 

points by tabulating all the invoices for 

purchases for resale for that facility for 

the 12-month period ending with the 

last day of the preceding month in 

which the vacancy is advertised. The 

Business Enterprises Consultant shall 

calculate the month sales average for 

each of the 12 months for the numbers 

identified in the following Subparts 

and using those monthly averages, 

determine the three months that are 

closet to the monthly average to 

allocate points as follows: 

(i) applicants shall receive 20 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 85 percent of their 

sales standard; 

(ii) applicants shall receive 20 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 85 percent of their 

gross profit percentage 

standard; 

(iii) applicants shall receive 5 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their optimum sales 

percentage; 

(iv) applicants shall receive 5 

points for meeting or 

exceeding 92.5 percent of 

their optimum gross profit 

percentage; 

(v) applicants who are operators 

of a Business Enterprises 

military facility at the time of 

application shall be assigned 

50 FAOS points; 

(vi) applicants who are licensees 

at the time of application 

shall be assigned 40 FAOS 

points; and 

(vii) applicants who have operated 

a Business Enterprises 

facility for less than 6 months 

prior to the cut-off date for 

calculating financial 

performance shall be 

assigned 40 FAOS points. 

(i)  The Interview Committee shall consist of: 

(1) the Chief of the Business Enterprises Program 

or his or her designee; 

(2) a Business Enterprises Program Consultant or 

Business Enterprises Program designee; 

(3) the vice-chair of the Elected Committee of 

Vendors (ECBV) or ECBV designee; and 

(4) the chair of the ECBV transfer and promotion 

subcommittee or ECBV designee. 

(j)  The Interview Committee shall interview all eligible 

applicants who present for the scheduled interview. The Interview 

Committee shall select 15 questions developed by the Interview 

Committee prior to the interview. A maximum of two points per 

question may be awarded for a maximum total of 30 points by 

each Interview Committee member participating in the interview. 

The interview questions shall relate to any special needs of the 

vacant facility as well as to standard responsibilities and 

knowledge areas of Business Enterprises operators. There shall be 

at least two math questions. A calculator shall be provided by the 

Interview Committee, although applicants may bring their own 

calculator. 

(k)  An applicant shall not sit on the Interview Committee for a 

location where he or she is applying or if a member of his or her 

immediate family has applied for a vacant facility. For the purpose 

of this Rule, "immediate family" means a spouse, parent, or child, 

as well as siblings, and step, half and in-law relationships. If the 

vice-chair of the ECBV or the chair of the ECBV transfer and 

promotions committee are disqualified from serving as a result of 

this Rule, the vice-chair of the ECBV and the chair of the ECBV 

transfer and promotions committee shall jointly select two 

members of the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors to sit on the 

Interview Committee. 

(l)  The interview shall be conducted and evaluated as follows: 

(1) all applicants shall be notified in writing of the 

date, time, and place of their interview; 

(2) the interview shall be face-to-face. For the 

purposes of this Rule, a conference call shall 

not be considered face-to-face; and 

(3) each member of the Interview Committee shall 

evaluate the applicant's response to each 

interview question. The applicant shall receive 

up to two points per question as determined by 

committee members. 

(m)  The Interview Committee shall calculate the point total under 

this Rule for each applicant, which shall equal the sum of the 

points awarded to the applicant for sanitation, seniority, FAOS, 

the interview score pursuant to Paragraphs (h) and (j) of this Rule. 

The applicant with the highest point total shall be awarded the 

vacancy. If the applicant with the highest point total declines to 

accept the location, it shall be offered to the applicant with the 
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next highest point total. In the case of an exact tie, the Division 

shall award the location to the applicant that has worked the 

longest period of time as an operator in a Business Enterprises 

facility. 

(n)  The Division shall notify each applicant by telephone after 

the conclusion of interviews whether the applicant was awarded 

the location and shall confirm the notification in writing. 

(o)  The location shall not be filled for 10 business days following 

the Division's providing notice to all applicants 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23(f) of the results of the award process, in 

order to allow time for administrative appeals to be filed. If an 

appeal is filed, the location shall be filled on a conditional basis 

until the appeal is resolved. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"conditional basis" means that the operator may manage the 

location until the appeal has been resolved. If there is only one 

applicant for a location, the 20 business days waiting period shall 

not apply. 

(p)  Upon being awarded a location, the applicant shall have 20 

business days to assume the responsibilities for the operation of 

the vacant facility. The Division shall agree to a different time 

frame if adhering to the 20 business days' timeframe would cause 

a hardship to the applicant awarded the facility. 

(q)  Applicants shall be reimbursed for their expenses to come to 

the interview at the State's per diem rates. Applicants who are 

receiving vocational rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed 

through the vocational rehabilitation program. The Business 

Enterprises Program shall only reimburse an applicant for three 

interviews per year. After three interviews, applicants shall bear 

their own expenses. 

(r)  Applicants not selected may file an administrative appeal as 

provided for in Section .0400 of this Subchapter. The time limit 

to file an appeal shall be 10 business days from the date that the 

applicant receives a notice of the results of the award process that 

conforms to the requirements of G.S. 150B-23(f). 

 

Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 143B-157; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107. 

 

SECTION .0400 - ADMINISTRATIVE APPEAL 

PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0403 PROCEDURE 

(a)  The operator/licensee shall discuss the problem with the 

Division staff person taking the action with which the operator is 

dissatisfied and request specific action in writing to resolve the 

grievance. This discussion shall be held within 15 working days 

of the occurrence of the action challenged by the operator. The 

operator/licensee shall receive a response within five working 

days following the discussion. Any decision made by agency 

personnel at this step shall be subject to supervisory review and 

approval. 

(b)  If the complaint is not resolved and the operator/licensee is 

not satisfied with the outcome of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, he 

shall have 15 working days to ask for a review by the operator 

relations committee in writing. Within five working days after 

asking for a review, the operator/licensee shall be notified of the 

date of the hearing, which shall be held within 25 working days 

after the operator's/licensee's request for a hearing. The committee 

shall render its decision within 20 working days after the hearing. 

(c)  If the decision reached in step of Paragraph (b) of this Rule is 

not satisfactory to the operator/licensee or the Division staff 

person responsible for the initial action, the matter may be 

referred by the operator/licensee or the Division staff person to 

the director of the Division. Any request for review shall be 

submitted within 15 working days after the operator relations 

committee has presented its recommendation. The party 

requesting the referral shall provide a written summary of the 

specific facts of the complaint and request for specific action to 

resolve the grievance, copies of which shall be provided at the 

same time to all other parties concerned. The director shall make 

the decision for the Division within 15 working days, and his 

decision shall be announced immediately to all parties concerned. 

(d)  If the complaint is not resolved and the operator/licensee is 

not satisfied with steps of Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule, 

then the operator/licensee may file a complaint with the Division 

requesting a full evidentiary hearing. 

(e)  If a blind operator/licensee requests a full evidentiary hearing, 

such request shall be made within 15 working days after the 

director's adverse direction rendered through the procedures in 

this Rule. 

(f)  A blind operator/licensee shall request a full evidentiary 

hearing in writing. This request shall be transmitted to the director 

of the Division personally or by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, transmitted through the Elected Committee of Vendors 

in accordance with 34 C.F.R. 395.14(b)(2). This hearing shall be 

held in accordance with G.S. 150B, Article 3, the extent that such 

article does not conflict with these Rules pertaining to grievance 

procedures or any federal law or regulation. 

(g)  A blind operator/licensee shall be entitled to legal counsel or 

other representation in a full evidentiary hearing. The Division 

shall reimburse the operator for costs of legal counsel at a rate of 

50% of the total amount not to exceed a total expenditure by the 

Division of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500). This 

expenditure is based on the availability of funds. 

(h)  Reader services or other communication services shall be 

arranged for the blind operator/licensee should he so request. 

Transportation costs and per diem shall be provided also to the 

blind operator/licensee during the pendency 

of the evidentiary hearing, if the location of the hearing is in a city 

other than the legal residence of the operator/licensee. 

(i)  The hearing shall be held at a time and place convenient and 

accessible to the blind operator/licensee requesting a full 

evidentiary hearing. The blind operator/licensee shall be entitled 

to have the hearing held in the county of his residence unless he 

waives this right. A hearing held during regular Division working 

hours shall be deemed among the convenient times. The hearing 

shall be scheduled by the Division within 15 working days of its 

receipt of such a request, unless the Division and the blind 

operator/licensee mutually, in writing, agree to some other period 

of time. The Division shall notify the blind operator/licensee in 

writing of the time and place fixed for the hearing and of his right 

to be represented by legal or other counsel. The Division shall 

provide the blind operator/licensee a copy of the hearing 

procedures and other relevant information necessary to enable 

him to prepare his case for the hearing. 

(j)  The presiding officer at the hearing, to be appointed by the 

Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, shall 

be impartial, unbiased, have knowledge in conducting hearings, 
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and have no involvement either with the Division action which is 

at issue in the hearing or with the administration or operation of 

the Randolph-Sheppard Business Enterprises Program. 

(k)  The presiding officer shall conduct a full evidentiary hearing, 

avoid delay, maintain order, and make sufficient record of the 

proceedings for a full and true disclosure of the facts and issues. 

To accomplish these ends, the presiding officer shall have all 

powers authorized by law and may make all procedural and 

evidentiary rulings necessary for the conduct of the hearing. 

(l)  Both the blind operator/licensee and the Division shall be 

entitled to present their case by oral or documentary evidence, to 

submit rebuttal evidence and to conduct such examination and 

cross-examination of witnesses as may be required for a full and 

true disclosure of all facts bearing on the issue. 

(m)  All papers and documents introduced into evidence at the 

hearing shall be filed with the presiding officer and provided to 

the other party. All such documents and other evidence submitted 

shall be open to examination by the parties, and opportunities 

shall be given to refute facts and arguments advanced on either 

side of the issues. 

(n)  A transcript shall be made of the oral evidence and shall be 

made available to the parties. The Division shall pay all transcript 

costs and shall provide the blind operator/licensee with at least 

one copy of the transcript. 

(o)  The transcript of testimony, exhibits, and all papers and 

documents filed in the hearing shall constitute the exclusive 

record for decision. 

(p)  The decision of the presiding officer shall set forth the 

principal issues and relevant facts adduced at the hearing, and the 

applicable provisions in law, federal regulations, and state rules. 

It shall contain findings of fact and conclusions with respect to 

each of the issues, and the reasons and basis therefor. The decision 

shall also set forth any remedial action necessary to resolve the 

issues in dispute. The decision shall be made within 15 working 

days after the receipt of the official transcript. The decision shall 

be mailed promptly to the blind operator/licensee and the division. 

(q)  If the dispute(s) is not resolved to the satisfaction of a blind 

operator/licensee after provision of a full evidentiary hearing, an 

appeal may be made to the Secretary of the U. S. Department of 

Education for the convening of an arbitration panel. 

(r)  The results of the arbitration shall be considered the final 

agency action and the operator/licensee shall have exhausted his 

administrative remedies. 

(a)  A licensee, operator, or the ECBV dissatisfied with any action 

or inaction taken by the Division related to the Business 

Enterprises Program may request a request an informal review by 

the Operator Relations Committee. Participation in an informal 

review is not required to obtain a full evidentiary hearing, nor does 

participation in such an informal review waive any right to obtain 

a full evidentiary hearing. 

(1) When a licensee, operator, or the ECBV wishes 

to request an informal review by the Operator 

Relations Committee, the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV shall submit a written request to the 

Business Enterprises Program Chief. The 

licensee, operator, or the ECBV shall have 20 

business days after the action or inaction taken 

by the Division that they are dissatisfied with to 

request an informal review. 

(2) The written request of the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV shall include: 

(A) their name, address, and preferred 

means of receiving written 

communication with the Division; 

(B) a statement that they are requesting an 

informal review; 

(C) a statement explaining the actions or 

inactions with which they are 

dissatisfied; and 

(D) a statement explaining the resolution 

sought by the licensee, operator, or 

ECBV. 

This request shall be transmitted to the Business 

Enterprises Program Chief personally, electronically, or 

by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(3) The licensee, operator, or the ECBV shall be 

notified of the date and location of the informal 

review at least 5 business days in advance of the 

informal review. The informal review shall be 

conducted within 25 business days of receipt of 

the request. The Operator Relations Committee 

shall issue a written decision within 10 business 

days after the informal review is conducted and 

mailed to the licensee, operator, or ECBV and 

the Division. 

(4) The Division shall review the decision of the 

Operator Relations Committee and shall notify 

the licensee, operator or ECBV in writing 

whether the Division affirms or overrules the 

decision within 5 business days of receipt of the 

decision. 

(5) A request for an informal review under this rule 

shall have the effect of suspending the time 

limitation for filing a petition for contested case 

hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-23 and other 

provisions of Chapter 150B, Article 3 until the 

later of the following: 

(A) the licensee, operator, or the ECBV 

receives written notice of the 

Division's final decision regarding the 

informal review; or 

(B) the licensee, operator, or the ECBV 

withdraws its request for informal 

review 

(b)  Notwithstanding any other provision in this rule, a licensee, 

operator, or the ECBV dissatisfied with any action or inaction 

taken by the Division related to the Business Enterprises Program 

may request a full evidentiary hearing by filing a petition for 

contested case hearing with the Office of Administrative 

Hearings. Such a request for a full evidentiary hearing should be 

filed within the time limitation contained in G.S. 150B-23(f). 

(1) This hearing shall be held in accordance with 

G.S. 150B, Article 3. 

(2) If the dispute(s) is not resolved to the 

satisfaction of the licensee, operator, or the 

ECBV after the conclusion of a full evidentiary 

hearing, an appeal may be made to the 

Secretary of the U. S. Department of Education 
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for the convening of an arbitration panel in 

accordance with 34 C.F.R. 395.13. 

 

Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 143B-157; 150B-23; 20 U.S.C. 

107; 20 U.S.C. 107b-1; 20 U.S.C. 107d-1. 

 

SECTION .0600 - RESPONSIBILITIES OF LICENSED 

OPERATORS 

 

10A NCAC 63C .0601 GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  The A Business Enterprises operator must: shall: 

(1) perform faithfully and to the best of his ability 

the necessary duties in connection with [to] 

ensure the operation of the a Business 

Enterprises facility in accordance with the rules 

of the Commission for the [Blind] Blind, and 

standards issued pursuant thereto and the 

contractual agreement between the Division 

and the operator, and the terms and conditions 

of the permit or contract with the building or 

property on which the host [facility,] facility 

including any amendments if provided to the 

operator. facility is located; This requirement 

shall not mandate the physical presence of the 

operator at the facility at all times of its 

operation; 

(2) operate the facility in accordance with all 

applicable public health laws and Rules; 

(3) assume such responsibilities as purchasing 

needed supplies and merchandise, pricing, 

merchandising the facility, and control of 

inventory; purchase merchandise, price goods 

for [sale,] sale as set forth in Rule .0608 of this 

Subchapter, purchase supplies for the [facility] 

facility, rotate stock, and control inventory in 

the Business Enterprises facility; 

(4) devote his full managerial attention to the 

responsibilities of operating the facility in 

accordance with the agreement between him 

and [with] the Division and in accordance with 

the Rules in this Subchapter. The operator is not 

required to be on site at all times; and 

(5) maintain good [professional relationships with] 

customer [customers,] relations with his 

patrons and with the property-managing 

officials at his work site. [the host facility and 

the Division;]  

[(6)] [maintain a neat, business-like appearance 

while working at the Business Enterprises 

facility, and shall conduct the facility in an 

orderly, business-like manner;]  

[(7)] [must assure that the business to be carried on 

at the facility shall be limited to that specified 

and authorized in the operator agreement and 

permit or contract with the sponsor of the 

building or property where the facility is 

located. host facility;] 

[(8)](4) open and maintain a business bank account [ in 

which funds are maintained to operate] for the 

management of funds derived from the 

Business Enterprises facility; 

[(9)](5) submit an electronic profit and loss report (D-

sheet) to the Division by the 15th of the month 

following the reporting [month;] month. 

Assistance shall be provided with the electronic 

submission of the report by the Business 

Enterprises Consultant upon request from the 

operator; 

[(10)](6) submit payment of all monthly [fees] fees, 

including set-aside and liability fees, health 

insurance premiums, and phone bill payments, 

if applicable, to the Controller's Office by the 

15th of the month following the month in which 

the business was transacted; 

[(11)](7) keep all records supporting the monthly 

revenue and expense profit and loss report (D-

sheet) for three calendar [years:] years, as 

required by this Subchapter; 

[(12)](8) provide [all] records for the assigned facility to 

the Division upon request [for the purpose of 

business consultation,] [consultation and] for 

[conducting audits and record keeping 

reviews;] reviews as required by this 

Subchapter. That may include cash sales 

deposit receipts, cash register tapes, monthly 

bank and credit card statements, invoices and 

receipts for purchases and expenses, card reader 

weekly reports, and payroll records; 

[(13)](9) be available for all appointments with the 

Division staff [members] members, [to allow 

inspection, advice, record] [reviews] [reviews, 

and consultation to support operations,] which 

will be scheduled at the convenience of both 

parties; 

[(14)](10)not subcontract management of the Business 

Enterprises facility except as approved in 

writing by the [Division.] Division; 

[(15)](11)take [appropriate] actions to correct 

deficiencies noted on Business Enterprises 

facility audits or reviews within 15 business 

[days, and] days after receiving notification of 

the deficiencies and a description of the 

corrective actions to be taken, unless an 

extension to this time frame has been agreed to 

by the Division and operator in writing; and 

[(16)](12)notify the Division of [any] changes to the 

following no later than 10 business days after 

the change occurs: 

(A) the facility telephone number; 

(B) the address to which Business 

Enterprises correspondence [shall be] 

is delivered; and 

(C) emergency contact [information] 

information. 

(b)  The operator shall be accountable to the Division for the 

proceeds of the Business Enterprises facility, facility and shall 

handle the proceeds, proceeds including payments to suppliers 

and deposits of funds, in accordance with Division guidelines 
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developed to facilitate the provision of management, accounting, 

and technical services to operators, and in accordance with the U. 

S. Department of Education reporting requirements. as set forth in 

Section .0700 of the Subchapter. 

(c)  The operator shall maintain a neat, business-like appearance 

while working at the Business Enterprises facility, and shall 

conduct the facility in an orderly, business-like manner. 

(d)  In accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, any rebates, 

commissions, or bonuses received by the operator from supplier 

shall be considered as income or a refund of purchases and shall 

be accounted for accordingly. 

(e)  The operator must assure that the business to be carried on at 

the facility shall be limited to that specified and authorized in the 

permit or contract with the sponsor of the building or property 

where the facility is located. 

 

Authority G.S. 111-27; 111-27.1; 34 C.F.R. 395.3; 34 C.F.R. 

395.7; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09E .0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 13, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd, Raleigh, NC 27502 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Provide annual in-service topics 

for 2021. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 13, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09E - IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S 

IN-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 18 14 

credits, shall be specifically required: 

(1) 2021 2020 Firearms Training and Qualification 

(minimum 4 credits); 

(2) 2021 2020 Legal Update (minimum 4 credits); 

(3) 2021 Continue to Make a Difference: Positive 

Engagement Stories ad Studies 2020 Long-

Term Effects of Childhood Adversity 

(minimum 2 credits); 

(4) 2021 School Safety and Responding to School 

Incidents (minimum 4 credits) 2020 The Signs 

Within: Suicide Prevention Education and 

Awareness (2 credits); 

(5) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues (2 credits); 

(6) 2020 Communication Strategies When 

Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of 

Hearing (2 credits); 

(7) 2020 Armed/Unarmed Security/Company 

Police: Understanding Their Roles and 

Authority (2 credits); 

(5)(8) Topics of Choice (12 credits); 

(A) Officer Awareness: Responding to 

Victims of Trauma (minimum 4 

credits); Hazardous Materials (2 

credits); 

(B) Patrol Vehicle Operations (minimum 

4 credits); Bloodborne Pathogens (2 

credits); 

(C) Hemp Industry: Overview and Officer 

Roles (minimum 2 credits); 
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Situational Awareness/Subject 

Control (4 credits); and 

(D) Physical and Mental Wellness: 

Building & Implementing a Plan for 

Improvement (minimum 2 credits). 

Law enforcement Threat Assessment 

(4 credits). 

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 10 6 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic, 

provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems 

Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by 

the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of 

this Section and National Certification Programs administered by 

the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed during the 

mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in whole the topic 

requirements set forth by the agency head. To satisfy this 

requirement these topics shall not be required to be written in 

Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an instructor 

certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 

(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. The Firearms Training and 

Qualifications in-service course and topics 

delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of this 

Section shall be exempt from this written test 

requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32M 

.0101-.0110 and .0117. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 1, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 32M .0101 - .0106, .0108, and .0110 are being 

amended for modernization of the language in the rules and 

processes. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0107 is being amended to add a continuing 

education requirement for Nurse Practitioners who prescribe 

controlled substances. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0109 is being amended to ensure Nurse 

Practitioners understand they may not prescribe controlled 

substances to a patient he or she is having a physical, sexual, or 

intimate emotional relationship with. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0117 is being amended to add SOPI Reports C 

and D to assist with identifying problematic prescribing practices. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lynne Taylor, 1203 Front 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 326-1109; email 

lynne.taylor@ncmedboard.org 
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Comment period ends:  May 1, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Approval to Practice" means authorization by 

the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board 

and the Board of Nursing for a nurse 

practitioner to perform medical acts practice 

within her or his area of educational preparation 

and certification under a collaborative practice 

agreement (CPA) with a licensed physician 

licensed by the Medical Board in accordance 

with this Subchapter. 

(2) "Back-up Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed a physician licensed by the Medical 

Board who, by signing an agreement with the 

nurse practitioner and the primary supervising 

physician(s), shall provide supervision, 

collaboration, consultation consultation, and 

evaluation of medical acts by the nurse 

practitioner in accordance with the 

collaborative practice agreement when the 

Primary Supervising Physician primary 

supervising physician is not available. Back-up 

supervision shall be in compliance with the 

following: 

(a) The signed and dated agreements for 

each back-up supervising physician(s) 

shall be maintained at each practice 

site. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a back-up supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation and has a signed 

collaborative practice agreement with 

the nurse practitioner and the primary 

supervising physician may be a back-

up supervising physician for a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 

(3) "Board of Nursing" "Board" means the North 

Carolina Board of Nursing. 

(4) "Collaborative practice agreement" means the 

arrangement for nurse practitioner-physician 

provides for continuous availability to each 

other for ongoing supervision, consultation, 

collaboration, referral referral, and evaluation 

of care provided by the nurse practitioner. 

(5) "Disaster" "Emergency" means a state of 

disaster emergency as defined in G.S. 166A-

4(1a) G.S. 166A-19.3 and proclaimed by the 

Governor, or by the General Assembly pursuant 

to G.S. 166A-6. Assembly. 

(6) "Joint Subcommittee" means the subcommittee 

composed of members of the Board of Nursing 

and members of the Medical Board to whom 

responsibility is given by G.S. 90-8.2 and G.S. 

90-171.23(b)(14) to develop rules to govern the 

performance of medical acts by nurse 

practitioners in North Carolina. 

(7) "Medical Board" means the North Carolina 

Medical Board. 

(8) "National Credentialing Body" means one of 

the following credentialing bodies that offers 

certification and re-certification in the nurse 

practitioner's specialty area of practice: 

(a) American Nurses Credentialing 

Center (ANCC); 

(b) American Academy of Nurse 

Practitioners (AANP); National 

Certification Board (AANPNCB); 

(c) American Association of Critical Care 

Nurses Certification Corporation 

(AACN); 

(d) National Certification Corporation of 

the Obstetric, Gynecologic and 

Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC); 

and 

(e) the Pediatric Nursing Certification 

Board (PNCB). 

(9) "Nurse Practitioner" or "NP" means a currently 

licensed registered nurse who holds an active 

unencumbered license approved to perform 

medical acts practice consistent with the nurse's 
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area of nurse practitioner academic educational 

preparation and national certification under an 

agreement with a licensed physician licensed by 

the Medical Board for ongoing supervision, 

consultation, collaboration collaboration, and 

evaluation of medical acts performed. Such 

medical acts are in addition to those nursing 

acts performed by virtue of registered nurse 

(RN) licensure. The NP is held accountable 

under the RN license for those nursing acts that 

he or she may perform. 

(10) "Primary Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed a physician with an active 

unencumbered license with the Medical Board 

who shall provide on-going supervision, 

collaboration, consultation consultation, and 

evaluation of the medical acts performed by the 

nurse practitioner as defined in the 

collaborative practice agreement. Supervision 

shall be in compliance with the following: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

shall assure both Boards that the nurse 

practitioner is qualified to perform 

those medical acts described in the 

collaborative practice agreement. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a primary supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation may supervise a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 

(11) "Registration" means authorization by the 

Medical Board and the Board of Nursing for a 

registered nurse to use the title nurse 

practitioner in accordance with this Subchapter. 

(12) "Supervision" means the physician's function of 

overseeing medical acts performed by the nurse 

practitioner. 

(13) "Volunteer Approval" means approval to 

practice consistent with this Subchapter except 

without expectation of direct or indirect 

compensation or payment (monetary, in kind or 

otherwise) to the nurse practitioner. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-

18.2. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0102 SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

The nurse practitioner's scope of practice is defined by academic 

educational preparation and national certification and maintained 

competence. A nurse practitioner shall be held accountable by 

both Boards for the continuous and comprehensive management 

of a broad range of personal health services for which the nurse 

practitioner is educationally prepared and for which competency 

has been maintained, with physician supervision and 

collaboration as described in Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. These 

services include but are not restricted to: 

(1) promotion and maintenance of health; 

(2) prevention of illness and disability; 

(3) diagnosing, treating and managing acute and 

chronic illnesses; 

(4) guidance and counseling for both individuals 

and families; 

(5) prescribing, administering administering, and 

dispensing therapeutic measures, tests, 

procedures procedures, and drugs; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the nurse 

practitioner's expertise, and consulting with and 

referring to other health care providers as 

appropriate; and 

(7) evaluating health outcomes. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(14). 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0103 NURSE PRACTITIONER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  The Board of Nursing shall register an applicant as a nurse 

practitioner who: 

(1) has an unrestricted active unencumbered 

license to practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina or compact state and, when applicable, 

an unrestricted active unencumbered approval, 

registration registration, or license as a nurse 

practitioner in another state, territory, or 

possession of the United States; 

(2) has successfully completed a nurse practitioner 

education program as outlined in Rule .0105 of 

this Subchapter; 

(3) is certified as a nurse practitioner by a national 

credentialing body consistent with 21 NCAC 

36 .0801(8); and 

(4) has supplied additional information necessary 

to evaluate the application as requested. 

(b)  Beginning Applicants who have graduated from a nurse 

practitioner program after January 1, 2005, new graduates of a 

nurse practitioner program, who are seeking first-time nurse 

practitioner registration in North Carolina shall: 

(1) hold a Master's or higher degree in Nursing or 

related field with primary focus on Nursing; 

(2) have successfully completed a graduate level 

nurse practitioner education program 

accredited by a national accrediting body; and 

(3) provide documentation of certification by a 

national credentialing body. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-171.36. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0104 PROCESS FOR APPROVAL TO 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Prior to the performance of any medical acts, a nurse 

practitioner shall: 

(1) meet registration requirements as specified in 

21 NCAC 32M .0103; 
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(2) submit an application for approval to practice; 

(3) submit any additional information necessary to 

evaluate the application as requested; and 

(4) have a collaborative practice agreement with a 

primary supervising physician. physician who 

is actively engaged in a practice that mirrors or 

exceeds that of the nurse practitioner's practice. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner seeking approval to practice who has not 

practiced as a nurse practitioner in more than two years shall 

complete a nurse practitioner refresher course approved by the 

Board of Nursing in accordance with Paragraphs (o) and (p) of 21 

NCAC 36 .0220 and consisting of common conditions and their 

management directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of 

education and certification. A nurse practitioner refresher course 

participant shall be granted an approval to practice that is limited 

to clinical activities required by the refresher course. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner shall not practice until notification of 

approval to practice is received from the Board of Nursing after 

both Boards have approved the application. received. 

(d)  The nurse practitioner's approval to practice is terminated 

when the nurse practitioner discontinues working within the 

approved nurse practitioner collaborative practice agreement or 

experiences an interruption in her or his registered nurse licensure 

status, and the nurse practitioner shall so notify the Board of 

Nursing in writing. The Boards Board shall extend the nurse 

practitioner's approval to practice by 45 days in cases of 

emergency such as sudden injury, sudden illness illness, or death 

death, or the sudden unavailability of the primary supervising 

physician. 

(e)  Applications for approval to practice in North Carolina shall 

be submitted to the Board of Nursing and then approved by both 

Boards as follows: 

(1) the Board of Nursing shall verify compliance 

with Rule .0103 of this Subchapter and 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule; and 

(2) the Medical Board shall verify that the 

designated primary supervising physician holds 

a valid license to practice medicine in North 

Carolina and compliance with Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(f)  Applications for approval of changes in practice arrangements 

and addition or change of primary supervising physician for a 

nurse practitioner currently approved to practice in North 

Carolina shall be submitted by the applicants applicant as follows: 

(1) addition or change of primary supervising 

physician shall be submitted to the Board of 

Nursing and proceed processed pursuant to 

protocols developed by both Boards; and 

Boards. 

(2) request for change(s) in the scope of practice 

shall be submitted to the Joint Subcommittee. 

(g)  A registered nurse who was previously approved to practice 

as a nurse practitioner in this state who reapplies for approval to 

practice shall: 

(1) meet the nurse practitioner approval 

requirements as stipulated in Rule .0108(c) of 

this Subchapter; and 

(2) complete the appropriate application. 

(h)  Volunteer Approval to Practice. The North Carolina Board of 

Nursing shall grant approval to practice in a volunteer capacity to 

a nurse practitioner who has met the qualifications to practice as 

a nurse practitioner in North Carolina. 

(i)  The nurse practitioner shall pay the appropriate fee as outlined 

in Rule .0115 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  A Nurse Practitioner approved under this Subchapter shall 

keep proof of current licensure, registration registration, and 

approval available for inspection at each practice site upon request 

by agents of either Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-

171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.42. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0105 EDUCATION AND 

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REGISTRATION AND APPROVAL AS A NURSE 

PRACTITIONER 

(a)  A nurse practitioner applicant seeking with registration or 

first-time approval to practice after January 1, 2000, shall provide 

evidence of current certification or recertification as a nurse 

practitioner by a national credentialing body. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner applicant seeking registration or approval 

to practice who completed a nurse practitioner education program 

prior to December 31, 1999 shall provide evidence of successful 

completion of a course of education that contains a core 

curriculum including 400 contact hours of didactic education and 

400 contact hours of preceptorship or supervised clinical 

experience. The core curriculum shall contain the following 

components: 

(1) health assessment and diagnostic reasoning 

including: 

(A) historical data; 

(B) physical examination data; 

(C) organization of data base; 

(2) pharmacology; 

(3) pathophysiology; 

(4) clinical management of common health 

problems and diseases such as the following 

shall be evident in the nurse practitioner's 

academic program: 

(A) respiratory system; 

(B) cardiovascular system; 

(C) gastrointestinal system; 

(D) genitourinary system; 

(E) integumentary system; 

(F) hematologic and immune systems; 

(G) endocrine system; 

(H) musculoskeletal system; 

(I) infectious diseases; 

(J) nervous system; 

(K) behavioral, mental health and 

substance abuse problems; 

(5) clinical preventative services including health 

promotion and prevention of disease; 

(6) client education related to Subparagraph (b)(4) 

and (5) of this Rule; and 
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(7) role development including legal, ethical, 

economical, health policy policy, and 

interdisciplinary collaboration issues. 

(c)  Nurse practitioner applicants exempt from components of the 

core curriculum requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

are: 

(1) Any nurse practitioner approved to practice in 

North Carolina prior to January 18, 1981, is 

permanently exempt from the core curriculum 

requirement. 

(2) A nurse practitioner certified by a national 

credentialing body prior to January 1, 1998, 

who also provides evidence of satisfying 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) – (3) of this Rule shall be 

exempt from core curriculum requirements in 

Sub-paragraphs (b)(4) – (7) of this Rule. 

Evidence of satisfying Subparagraphs (b)(1) – 

(3) of this Rule shall include: 

(A) a narrative of course content; and 

(B) contact hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-171.42. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0106 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

APPROVAL TO PRACTICE 

(a)  Each registered nurse who is approved to practice as a nurse 

practitioner in this State shall annually renew each approval to 

practice with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the 

nurse practitioner's birth month by: 

(1) Maintaining current North Carolina RN 

licensure; licensure or privilege to practice; 

(2) Maintaining certification as a nurse practitioner 

by a national credentialing body identified in 

Rule .0101(8) of this Subchapter; 

(3) attesting to completion of continuing 

competence requirements, and submitting 

evidence of completion if requested by the 

Board, as specified in Rule .0107 of this 

Section. 

(3)(4) Submitting the fee required in Rule .0115 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(4)(5) Completing the renewal application. 

(b)  If the nurse practitioner has not renewed by the last day of her 

or his birth month, the approval to practice as a nurse practitioner 

shall lapse. expire. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2(a). 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0107 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, the 

nurse practitioner shall maintain certification as a nurse 

practitioner by a national credentialing body identified in Rule 

.0101(8) of this Section and earn 50 contact hours of continuing 

education each year beginning with the first renewal after initial 

approval to practice has been granted. At least 20 hours of the 

required 50 hours must be in the advanced practice nursing 

population focus of the NP role those hours for which approval 

has been granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC) or Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME), other national credentialing bodies, or 

practice relevant courses in an institution of higher learning. 

Every nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least one hour of the total required continuing 

education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE designed 

specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices, 

signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, and 

controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. 

CE that includes recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of 

controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment options shall 

qualify for the purposes of this Rule. Documentation shall be 

maintained by the nurse practitioner for the previous five calendar 

years and made available upon request to either Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1; G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-

14(a)(5); S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0108 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Any nurse practitioner who wishes to place her or his approval 

to practice on an inactive status shall notify the Board of Nursing 

in writing. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status shall not practice as a nurse practitioner. 

(c)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status who reapplies for approval to practice shall meet the 

qualifications for approval to practice in Rules .0103(a)(1), 

.0104(a) and (b), .0107, and .0110 of this Subchapter and receive 

notification from the Board of Nursing of approval prior to 

beginning practice after the application is approved by both 

Boards. approved. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner who has not practiced as a nurse 

practitioner in more than two years shall complete a nurse 

practitioner refresher course approved by the Board of Nursing in 

accordance with Paragraphs (o) and (p) of 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and 

consisting of common conditions and management of these 

conditions directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of 

academic education and national certification. A nurse 

practitioner refresher course participant shall be granted an 

approval to practice that is limited to clinical activities required 

by the refresher course. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-171.36. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0109 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0110(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 
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(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the primary supervising physician(s) 

possesses shall possess a the same 

schedule(s) of controlled substances 

as equal to or greater than the nurse 

practitioner's DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and 

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 

the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) All prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the 

supervising physician(s) name, the 

name of the patient, and the nurse 

practitioner's name, telephone 

number, and approval number. 

(B) The nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 

substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) a member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or 

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a sexual 

physical, sexual, and/or emotional 

intimate relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2. 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0110 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE 

AGREEMENT 

The following are the quality assurance standards for a 

collaborative practice agreement: 

(1) Availability: The primary or back-up 

supervising physician(s) and the nurse 

practitioner shall be continuously available to 

each other for consultation by direct 

communication or telecommunication. 

(2) Collaborative Practice Agreement: 

(a) shall be agreed upon and upon, signed 

signed, and dated by both the primary 

supervising physician and the nurse 

practitioner, and maintained in each 

practice site; 

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This 

review shall be acknowledged by a 

dated signature sheet, signed by both 

the primary supervising physician and 

the nurse practitioner, appended to the 

collaborative practice agreement 

agreement, and available for 

inspection by members or agents of 

either Board; 

(c) shall include the drugs, devices, 

medical treatments, tests tests, and 

procedures that may be prescribed, 

ordered ordered, and performed by the 

nurse practitioner consistent with Rule 

.0109 of this Subchapter; and 

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for 

emergency services. 

(3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the 

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the 

collaborative practice agreement upon request 

by members or agents of either Board. 
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(4) Quality Improvement Process: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

and the nurse practitioner shall 

develop a process for the ongoing 

review of the care provided in each 

practice site including a written plan 

for evaluating the quality of care 

provided for one or more frequently 

encountered clinical problems. 

(b) This plan shall include a description of 

the clinical problem(s), an evaluation 

of the current treatment interventions, 

and if needed, a plan for improving 

outcomes within an identified time-

frame. 

(c) The quality improvement process 

shall include scheduled meetings 

between the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner at 

least every six months. 

Documentation for each meeting 

shall: 

(i) identify clinical problems 

discussed, including progress 

toward improving outcomes 

as stated in Subparagraph 

(d)(2) of this Rule, and 

recommendations, if any, for 

changes in treatment plan(s); 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The 

following requirements establish the minimum 

standards for consultation between the nurse 

practitioner and primary supervising 

physician(s): 

(a) During the first six months of a 

collaborative practice agreement 

between a nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician, there 

shall be monthly meetings for the first 

six months to discuss practice relevant 

clinical issues and quality 

improvement measures. 

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall: 

(i) identify clinical issues 

discussed and actions taken; 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-18.2; 

90-171.23(14). 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0117 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing ("Board of Nursing")("Board") information regarding the 

prescribing practices of those nurse practitioners ("prescribers") 

whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 MME's per patient per day in 

combination with any benzodiazepine and who 

are within the top one percent of all controlled 

substance prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board of 

Nursing information regarding prescribers who have had two or 

more patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid 

poisoning where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets 

of an opioid to the decedent and the prescriptions were written 

within 60 days of the patient deaths. 

(c)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the 

following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each 

criterion: 

(1) at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients 

receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater 

from the prescriber's practice location; 

(2) the prescriber had more than 25 percent of 

patients receiving the same opioids and 

benzodiazepine combination; 

(3) the prescriber had 75 percent of patients 

receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions; 

(4) the prescriber had 90 percent or more of 

patients in a three-month period that received 

an opioid prescription that overlapped with 

another opioid prescription for at least one 

week; 

(5) More than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients 

received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater 

per day excluding office-based treatment 

medications; and 

(6) the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients 

who used three or more pharmacies within a 

three-month period to obtain opioids regardless 

of the prescriber. 

(d)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who authorize a prescription for 

opioids to at least one patient where the prescribing meets the 

following criteria: 

(1) The prescription is for 100 MME or greater; 

(2) The prescription is for 30 or more days; 
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(3) The patient has not received a prescription for 

an opioid from any prescriber in the six months 

prior to the prescription in question as 

demonstrated in the North Carolina Controlled 

Substances Reporting System at the time the 

prescription was authorized and as reported by 

the patient. 

(c)(e)  The Department may submit these reports to the Board of 

Nursing upon request and may include the information described 

in G.S. 90-113.73(b). 

(d)(f)  The reports and communications between the Department 

and the Board of Nursing shall remain confidential pursuant to 

G.S. 90-16 and G.S. 90-113.74. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2; 90-113.74. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 41A .0101 

 

Effective Date:  February 17, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  February 

5, 2020 

 

Reason for Action:  A novel Coronavirus (nCoV) was identified 

as the cause of an emerging infectious disease outbreak in 

December 2019 in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. This nCoV 

causes respiratory illness ranging in severity from milder illness 

to death. As of February 4, 2020, over 20,500 confirmed cases 

and 427 deaths had been reported, almost all from China, but 

also from 25 other countries including the United States. The 

ongoing outbreak has already surpassed the total number of 

the previous outbreaks of SARS (Sudden Acute Respiratory 

Syndrome) and MERS (Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome). 

The first U.S. case was reported in a traveler returning from 

Wuhan on January 21, 2020 in Washington State. The North 

Carolina Division of Public Health is working closely with the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to monitor 

and prepare for possible cases in North Carolina. No vaccine 

or specific treatment for this infection is available. Rapid 

implementation of control measures may help limit spread if 

cases are reported once identified. 

 

It is imperative that public health authorities be rapidly notified 

when these infections are suspected so that appropriate control 

measures can be implemented to prevent further spread. 

Currently, diagnostic testing is only available at CDC through 

coordination with the State Laboratory for Public Health. Rapid 

notification of suspected infections will increase the timeliness 

of testing, case identification, and implementation of control 

measures to protect the public's health. For this reason, the 

State Health Director issued a Temporary Order pursuant to 

G.S. 130A-141.1 requiring immediate reporting of novel 

coronavirus effective February 3, 2020. An emergency rule is 

needed to replace the Temporary Order while temporary and 

eventually permanent rules are pursued. 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

 

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE 

CONTROL 

10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable 

within the time period specified after the disease or condition is 

reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

‑ 24 hours; 

(2) anthrax ‑ immediately; 

(3) botulism ‑ immediately; 

(4) brucellosis ‑ 7 days; 

(5) campylobacter infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(6) Candida auris - 24 hours; 

(7) Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

(CRE) – 24 hours; 

(8) chancroid ‑ 24 hours; 

(9) chikungunya virus infection ‑ 24 hours; 

(10) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) ‑ 7 

days; 

(11) cholera ‑ 24 hours; 

(12) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days; 

(13) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 

(14) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(15) dengue ‑ 7 days; 

(16) diphtheria ‑ 24 hours; 

(17) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing ‑ 24 

hours; 

(18) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(19) encephalitis, arboviral ‑ 7 days; 

(20) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes ‑ 24 hours; 

(21) gonorrhea ‑ 24 hours; 

(22) granuloma inguinale ‑ 24 hours; 

(23) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease ‑ 24 

hours; 

(24) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(25) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(26) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(27) hepatitis A ‑ 24 hours; 

(28) hepatitis B ‑ 24 hours; 

(29) hepatitis B carriage ‑ 7 days; 

(30) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(31) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed ‑ 24 hours; 

(32) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(33) legionellosis ‑ 7 days; 
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(34) leprosy – 7 days; 

(35) leptospirosis ‑ 7 days; 

(36) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(37) Lyme disease ‑ 7 days; 

(38) Lymphogranuloma venereum ‑ 7 days; 

(39) malaria ‑ 7 days; 

(40) measles (rubeola) ‑ 24 hours; 

(41) meningitis, pneumococcal ‑ 7 days; 

(42) meningococcal disease ‑ 24 hours; 

(43) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) ‑ 24 

hours; 

(44) monkeypox – 24 hours; 

(45) mumps ‑ 7 days; 

(46) nongonococcal urethritis ‑ 7 days; 

(47) novel coronavirus infection – immediately; 

(48)(47) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(49)(48) plague ‑ immediately; 

(50)(49) paralytic poliomyelitis ‑ 24 hours; 

(51)(50) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(52)(51) psittacosis ‑ 7 days; 

(53)(52) Q fever ‑ 7 days; 

(54)(53) rabies, human ‑ 24 hours; 

(55)(54) Rocky Mountain spotted fever ‑ 7 days; 

(56)(55) rubella ‑ 24 hours; 

(57)(56) rubella congenital syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(58)(57) salmonellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(59)(58) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 24 

hours; 

(60)(59) shigellosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(61)(60) smallpox ‑ immediately; 

(62)(61) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 

(63)(62) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease ‑ 7 days; 

(64)(63) syphilis ‑ 24 hours; 

(65)(64) tetanus ‑ 7 days; 

(66)(65) toxic shock syndrome ‑ 7 days; 

(67)(66) trichinosis ‑ 7 days; 

(68)(67) tuberculosis ‑ 24 hours; 

(69)(68) tularemia – immediately; 

(70)(69) typhoid ‑ 24 hours; 

(71)(70) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) ‑ 7 days; 

(72)(71) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) ‑ 7 days; 

(73)(72) vaccinia – 24 hours; 

(74)(73) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 hours; 

(75)(74) whooping cough – 24 hours; and 

(76)(75) yellow fever ‑ 7 days. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive 

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing 

method approved by the Director of the State Public Health 

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting 

additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory 

reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever 

virus. 

(B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(C) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(D) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(E) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(F) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(G) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 

(H) Candida auris. 

(I) Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). 

(J) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 

conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) and 

pneumonia of newborns. 

(K) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(L) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(M) Coronavirus, novel human strain. 

(N)(M) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(O)(N) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever. 

(P)(O) Cryptosporidium parvum, the cause of 

human cryptosporidiosis. 

(Q)(P) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(R)(Q) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(S)(R) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(T)(S) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(U)(T) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 

(V)(U) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 
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(W)(V) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(X)(W) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(Y)(X) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(Z)(Y) Middle East respiratory syndrome 

virus. 

(AA)(Z) Monkeypox. 

(BB)(AA)Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(CC)(BB)Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(DD)(CC)Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(EE)(DD)Rabies virus. 

(FF)(EE)Rickettsia rickettsii, the cause of 

Rocky Mountain spotted fever. 

(GG)(FF)Rubella virus. 

(HH)(GG)Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(II)(HH) Shigella spp., the causes of shigellosis. 

(JJ)(II) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox. 

(KK)(JJ)Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vanomycin. 

(LL)(KK)Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(MM)(LL)Vaccinia virus. 

(NN)(MM)Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera 

and other vibrioses. 

(OO)(NN)Yellow fever virus. 

(PP)(OO)Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 

(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne viruses 

associated with meningitis or 

encephalitis in a human. 

(ii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause 

of psittacosis. 

(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(v) Dengue virus. 

(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(viii) Mumps virus. 

(ix) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(x) Rubella virus. 

(xi) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies 

to: 

(i) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(ii) Hepatitis A virus. 

(iii) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(iv) Rubella virus. 

(v) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(vi) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

(5) Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen 

associated with either infection or colonization, 

including all susceptibility results and all 

phenotypic or molecular test results. 

(d)  Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) 

shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule: 

(1) All positive laboratory results from tests used to 

diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection, 

including the following: 

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests 

(including the test specific signal to 

cut-off (s/c) ratio); 

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests; 

(C) Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and 

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests. 

(2) All HIV genotypic test results, including when 

available: 

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or 

(B) The pol region sequence (including all 

regions: protease (PR)/reverse 

transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI) 

genes, if available). 

(e)  For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant 

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as: 

(1) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

positive for a known carbapenemase resistance 

mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for 

carbapenemase production; or 

(2) Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp 

resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of 

carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or 

phenotypic testing for carbapenemase 

production. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

34:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 2, 2020 

1678 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 2002; 

February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; October 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. February 17, 2020. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on January 16, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 01 NCAC 35A .0101 34:06 NCR 

Purpose 01 NCAC 35A .0102 34:06 NCR 

Organization of the Campaign 01 NCAC 35A .0103 34:06 NCR 

Applications 01 NCAC 35A .0201 34:06 NCR 

Content of Applications 01 NCAC 35A .0202 34:06 NCR 

Review and Schedule 01 NCAC 35A .0203 34:06 NCR 

Response 01 NCAC 35A .0204 34:06 NCR 

Agreements 01 NCAC 35A .0205 34:06 NCR 

Other Solicitation Prohibited 01 NCAC 35A .0301 34:06 NCR 

Coercive Activities Prohibited 01 NCAC 35A .0302 34:06 NCR 

Methods of Giving and Terms of Contribution 01 NCAC 35A .0304 34:06 NCR 

Campaign Literature 01 NCAC 35A .0305 34:06 NCR 

Designation Campaign 01 NCAC 35A .0306 34:06 NCR 

Distribution of Undesignated Funds 01 NCAC 35A .0307 34:06 NCR 

Campaign Operation 01 NCAC 35A .0309 34:06 NCR 

Definitions 01 NCAC 35B .0101* 34:06 NCR 

Purpose and Organization 01 NCAC 35B .0102* 34:06 NCR 

Statewide Campaign Chair 01 NCAC 35B .0103 34:06 NCR 

SECC Advisory Committee 01 NCAC 35B .0104* 34:06 NCR 

Statewide Campaign Organization 01 NCAC 35B .0105* 34:06 NCR 

Campaign Solicitation Organization 01 NCAC 35B .0106* 34:06 NCR 

Contract 01 NCAC 35B .0107* 34:06 NCR 

Campaign Literature 01 NCAC 35B .0108* 34:06 NCR 

Applications 01 NCAC 35B .0201* 34:06 NCR 

Content of Applications 01 NCAC 35B .0202* 34:06 NCR 

Criteria for Applicants 01 NCAC 35B .0203* 34:06 NCR 

Application Review Process 01 NCAC 35B .0204* 34:06 NCR 

Operating Requriements 01 NCAC 35B .0301* 34:06 NCR 

Authorized Solicitation Methods 01 NCAC 35B .0302* 34:06 NCR 

Revocation of Eligibility 01 NCAC 35B .0303* 34:06 NCR 

Terms of Contributions/Designated Campaign 01 NCAC 35B .0304* 34:06 NCR 

Distribution of Undesignated Funds 01 NCAC 35B .0305* 34:06 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0302* 34:06 NCR 

Certification of Diversion Investigator and Supervisors 12 NCAC 09B .0314* 34:06 NCR 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

General Prohibitions 14B NCAC 15B .1004* 34:06 NCR 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Northampton and Warren Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0336 34:04 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .0101* 34:04 NCR 

Establishment and Operation 15A NCAC 10H .0102* 34:04 NCR 

Labeling of Harvested Birds 15A NCAC 10H .0103* 34:04 NCR 

Quality of Birds Released 15A NCAC 10H .0104* 34:04 NCR 

Records and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .0105* 34:04 NCR 

Hunting License Required 15A NCAC 10H .0106* 34:04 NCR 

Revocation of License to Operate 15A NCAC 10H .0107* 34:04 NCR 

Feeding of Stocked Birds 15A NCAC 10H .0108* 34:04 NCR 

Quail Call-Pen Traps 15A NCAC 10H .0109* 34:04 NCR 

Supplement Feeding 15A NCAC 10H .0110 34:04 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Direction Defined 21 NCAC 16W .0101* 34:06 NCR 

Dental Access Shortage Areas 21 NCAC 16W .0104* 34:06 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

Qualifications for License 21 NCAC 32V .0103* 34:03 NCR 

SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 63 .0215* 34:08 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Separation: Payment of Vacation Leave 25 NCAC 01E .0210* 34:06 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0101 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; May 1, 

1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 3, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0102 PURPOSE 

01 NCAC 35A .0103 ORGANIZATION OF THE 

CAMPAIGN 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; February 3, 

1992; June 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

01 NCAC 35A .0201 APPLICATIONS 

01 NCAC 35A .0202 CONTENT OF APPLICATIONS 

01 NCAC 35A .0203 REVIEW AND SCHEDULE 

01 NCAC 35A .0204 RESPONSE 

01 NCAC 35A .0205 AGREEMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; February 3, 1992; June 1, 1988; 

July 1, 1987; May 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 01 NCAC 35 .0301-.0302 Eff. 

December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; December 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0301 OTHER SOLICITATION 

PROHIBITED 

01 NCAC 35A .0302 COERCIVE ACTIVITIES 

PROHIBITED 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 01 NCAC 35 .0401 - .0402 Eff. 

December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0304 METHODS OF GIVING AND 

TERMS OF CONTRIBUTION 

01 NCAC 35A .0305 CAMPAIGN LITERATURE 

01 NCAC 35A .0306 DESIGNATION CAMPAIGN 

01 NCAC 35A .0307 DISTRIBUTION OF 

UNDESIGNATED FUNDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 3, 1992; January 1, 1988; May 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 01 NCAC 35 .0403-.0406 Eff. 

December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 3, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0309 CAMPAIGN OPERATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 3, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Administrative Expenses" means costs for 

reporting and informational activities related to 

business management that are neither 

educational, direct conduct of program 

services, nor fund-raising services. 

(2) "Audit" or "Audited Financial Statement" shall 

mean an examination of financial statements of 

an organization by a Certified Public 

Accountant ("CPA"), conducted in accordance 

with generally accepted auditing standards, to 

determine whether, in the CPA's opinion, the 

statements conform with generally accepted 

accounting principles or, if applicable, another 

comprehensive basis of accounting. 

(3) "Campaign Contribution" means the amount of 

funds received from a contributor. 

(4) "Campaign Fiscal Year" shall be January 1 

through December 31 of each year. 

(5) "Campaign Solicitation Organization" or 

"Solicitation Organization" means the regional 

contacts for fund-raising. 

(6) "Campaign Solicitation Period" means the 

period between August 1 and December 31 of 

each year in which solicitations will be 

conducted. 

(7) "Charitable Organizations" means any 

Independent Organization or Federation 

approved to solicit contributions in accordance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(8) "Federation" or "Federated Group" means a 

group of voluntary charitable human health and 

welfare agencies organized for purposes of 

supplying common fund-raising, 

administrative, and management services to its 

constituent members. 

(9) "Fund-raising" or "Solicitation Activities" 

means the act of soliciting contributions, gifts, 

and grants; participating in federated 

campaigns; maintaining donor mailing lists; 

and preparing and distributing fund-raising 

manuals, instructions and other materials.  

(10) "Fund-raising Consultant" means a consultant 

as defined in G.S. 131F-2(10). 

(11) "Fund-raising Expenses" means the total cost 

incurred from all activities that constitute, or are 

an integral and inseparable part of, an appeal for 

financial support. 

(12) "Fund-raising Solicitor" means a solicitor as 

defined in G.S. 131F-2(19). 

(13) "Independent Organization" or "Independent 

Charitable Organization" means a singular 

voluntary charitable agency. 

(14) "Member Charitable Organization" means an 

Independent Organization that is organized 

under a Federation or Federated Group. 

(15) "Program Services Expenses" means costs for 

those activities that the reporting organization 

was created to conduct which fulfill the purpose 

or mission for which the organization exists, 

exclusive of fund-raising and administrative 

expenses, and which, along with any activities 

commenced subsequently, form the basis of the 

organization's current exemption from tax. 

(16) "SECC Advisory Committee" or "Advisory 

Committee" means an appointed committee 

that serves as an application point for all 

Charitable Organizations applying to 

participate in the SECC. 

(17) "State Employee Combined Campaign" or 

"SECC" shall be the official name of the state 

employee charitable fund-raising drive. 

(18) "Statewide Campaign Organization" means the 

organization contracted to manage the SECC's 

administrative operations. 

(19) "Undesignated Funds" means solicitated funds 

received in which the designee is not stated or 

that has not been approved through the SECC 

application process. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 
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Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0102 PURPOSE AND 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  The purpose of the State Employee Combined Campaign 

("SECC") is to provide a single charitable campaign for all state 

employees to voluntarily contribute to Independent Organizations 

or Federations approved in accordance with the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  The SECC shall be comprised as follows: 

(1) a Statewide Campaign Chair; 

(2) an Advisory Committee; 

(3) a Statewide Campaign Organization; and 

(4) a Campaign Solicitation Organization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0103 STATEWIDE CAMPAIGN 

CHAIR 

(a)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall be appointed each year 

by the Governor from one of the Executive Cabinet, Council of 

State, System of Community Colleges, or University 

Administration agencies. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall: 

(1) serve as director of the campaign; 

(2) enlist the support and cooperation of the head 

of each State department and university to 

promote the SECC's purpose; 

(3) set the dates of and approve the published 

materials for the SECC in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Section; 

(4) contract for the designation of the Statewide 

Campaign Organization; 

(5) appoint members the Advisory Committee; and 

(6) serve as Chair over Advisory Committee 

meetings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0104 SECC ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

(a)  The SECC Advisory Committee members shall serve four-

year staggered terms and shall serve no more than two consecutive 

terms. In the event of a vacancy, the Statewide Campaign Chair 

shall appoint a replacement to fill an unexpired term. 

(b)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall meet at the discretion 

of the Statewide Campaign Chair and no fewer than four meetings 

per year shall be held. The Advisory Committee shall conduct 

business only when a quorum of one-third of the Committee 

membership, including the Statewide Campaign Chair, is present. 

(c)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall review the 

recommendations made by the Statewide Campaign Organization 

and shall accept or reject its recommendations in accordance with 

Rules .0202 and .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall review the Statewide 

Campaign Organization's annual work plan and a budget to cover 

all of the costs related to the SECC. 

(e)  An SECC Advisory Committee member shall not participate 

in any decision where that Committee member may have a 

personal or financial interest resulting in a conflict of interest or 

the appearance of a conflict of interest, either of a personal nature 

or with regard to the agency in which members is employed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0105 STATEWIDE CAMPAIGN 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  To be eligible for consideration as a potential Statewide 

Campaign Organization, the applicant shall: 

(1) demonstrate the ability to manage a state-wide 

fund-raising campaign in the form of 

experience and references; 

(2) have an Audit to demonstrate a history of 

financial accountability; 

(3) be a tax-exempt organization under the Internal 

Revenue Code; 

(4) have the means to verify a bond or obtain proof 

of insurance in an amount that covers the total 

amount of funds to be allocated to each of the 

respective Charitable Organizations based on 

the previous campaign year contributions; and 

(5) agree to comply with the terms of the Statewide 

Campaign Organization contract. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall conduct its own 

organization operations separately from their duties performed as 

the Statewide Campaign Organization for the SECC. 

(c)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall: 

(1) serve as the financial administrator of the 

SECC; 

(2) provide staff to administer, maintain records, 

and provide central management functions such 

as review applications, arrange meetings, and 

answer questions for the SECC in consultation 

with the SECC Advisory Committee; 

(3) review Independent Organization and 

Federation applications for compliance with 

Rules .0202 and .0203 of this Subchapter; 

(4) provide a centralized pledge processing service 

in order to process all pledge forms of state 

employees; 

(5) compile reports for the SECC Advisory 

Committee including; 

(A) a list of all Independent Organizations 

and Federations approved in 

accordance with these Rules; 

(B) a budget of anticipated Fund-raising, 

Administrative, and Program Services 

expenses; and 

(C) an annual work plan of goals and 

objectives. 

(6) print and distribute pledge forms, campaign 

report forms and collection envelopes to each 

Campaign Solicitation Organization; 

(7) collect pledge reports and envelopes from each 

Campaign Solicitation Organization; 
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(8) notify the Independent Organization and 

Federation of contributions they are to receive 

no later than March 1 following the Campaign 

Solicitation Period; 

(9) transmit quarterly to the Independent 

Organization and Federation its portion of the 

charitable contributions; 

(10) maintain an accounting of all Campaign 

Contributions and submit an audited end of 

campaign report of the following: 

(A) amounts contributed and pledged; 

(B) number of contributions; and 

(C) amounts distributed to the 

participating Independent 

Organization or Federation. 

(11) coordinate annual statewide or regional training 

sessions for all Campaign Solicitation 

Organizations; 

(12) serve as liaison to all participating Independent 

Organizations and Federations; 

(13) educate state employees in the services 

provided through their support; 

(14) deduct, before disbursements are made, direct 

costs of operating the SECC from the gross 

contributions and charge each Independent 

Organization or Federation its proportionate 

share of the operational costs as determined in 

Rule .0107 of this Section; and 

(15) document the total actual costs of the SECC, 

which shall not exceed 20 percent of gross 

contributions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0106 CAMPAIGN SOLICITATION 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  Each State department or university shall have a Campaign 

Solicitation Organization within their agency. The Campaign 

Solicitation Organization shall ensure that solicitation activities 

are organized and conducted in accordance with Rule .0302 of this 

Subchapter and shall: 

(1) assist in planning solicitation activities for their 

department or university; 

(2) act as liaison between state employees and the 

Statewide Campaign Organization by soliciting 

employees in their assigned area; 

(3) report all pledges and contributions to their 

campaign coordinators or department leaders; 

and 

(4) distribute and collect pledge forms. 

(b)  The Campaign Solicitation Organization shall ensure that all 

donations are made on a voluntary basis, allow free choice, and 

prevent an impression of required giving. The Campaign 

Solicitation Organization may solicit contributions at employee 

meetings, events, through written or email communication, and 

individual contact. Solicitation Activities may be conducted 

during working hours.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0107 CONTRACT 

(a)  The SECC and Statewide Campaign Organization shall 

execute a three-year contract for services. The contract shall allow 

a charge for Fund-raising Expenses, Administrative Expenses, 

and Program Services Expenses for the Statewide Campaign 

Organization. The Statewide Campaign Chair shall approve the 

contract based upon the criteria provided in Rule .0105 of this 

Section. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall recover from 

gross receipts of the SECC its expenses that shall reflect the actual 

costs of administering the campaign. Total actual costs of the 

campaign to be recovered pursuant to the contract shall be 

documented and shall not exceed 20 percent of budgeted gross 

receipts. The campaign expenses shall be shared proportionately 

by all the recipient organizations reflecting their percentage share 

of gross campaign receipts. No costs associated with the campaign 

shall be borne by the State. All costs shall be borne by the 

proceeds from the campaign. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0108 CAMPAIGN LITERATURE 

(a)  The SECC shall distribute a campaign resource guide 

designed by the SECC Advisory Committee subject to approval 

by the Statewide Campaign Chair. The campaign resource guide 

shall not favor one Independent Organization or Federation over 

another. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall approve, prior to 

distribution, the content of any campaign pledge or distribution 

card to ensure compliance with the State Controller's 

requirements for format and substance. 

(c)  The Independent Organization or Federation approved for 

inclusion in the SECC shall be listed in campaign literature no 

more than one time unless: 

(1) it is in the Independent Organization or 

Federation's interest to more specifically direct 

their gifts to separate geographic locations; and 

(2) the Independent Organization or Federation 

maintains records that determine that 

contributions are designated to that geographic 

area accrue only to the benefit and purposes of 

the designated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0201 APPLICATIONS 

The Independent Organization or Federation shall apply annually 

in accordance with the requirements set forth in Rules .0202 and 

.0203 of this Section to the Statewide Campaign Organization. 

Applications may be obtained via the SECC website at 

www.ncsecc.org. A Federation may submit an application on 

behalf of a Member Charitable Organization. Applications for 

inclusion into the SECC current Campaign Solicitation Period 

shall be received or postmarked by the Statewide Campaign 
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Organization no later than March 1st to be included in the 

following fall campaign. If March 1st falls on a Sunday or federal 

holiday, the application shall be postmarked or received by the 

Statewide Campaign Organization by the end of the next day not 

a Sunday or federal holiday. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0202 CONTENT OF APPLICATION 

(a)  The Independent Organization or Federation seeking 

inclusion in the SECC shall submit an application to the Statewide 

Campaign Organization. The application shall include: 

(1) the name of the Independent Organization or 

Federation; 

(2) name and title of a contact person; 

(3) contact person's telephone number and email 

address; 

(4) calculation of fund-raising and administrative 

costs; and 

(5) a signed certification of compliance with the 

eligibility standards listed in Rule .0203 of this 

Section. 

(b)  The Independent Organization or Federation seeking 

inclusion in the SECC shall submit with the application the 

attached documentation: 

(1) a letter from the Independent Organization or 

Federation signed by a voting member of the 

Board of Directors requesting inclusion in the 

SECC; 

(2) a certification of compliance from the 

Independent Organization or Federation signed 

by Board of Director or agent authorized to sign 

documents on behalf of the organization. A 

Federation shall submit certifications for each 

of a Member Charitable Organization; 

(2) a description of services provided and service 

area of the organization; 

(3) documentation showing the percentage of the 

organization's total support and revenue that is 

allocated to administration and fund-raising, to 

include; 

(A) copies of the organization's annual 

report; 

(B) newsletters; 

(C) brochures; or 

(D) fact sheets. 

(4) a signed copy of the Independent Organization 

or Federation's IRS 990 form. If the 

Independent Organization or Federation is not 

required to file the form with the IRS, they shall 

submit pages one and two of the completed 

form with an annotation on the document that it 

is for SECC purposes only. The IRS 990 form 

shall cover the same fiscal year and, if revenue 

and expenses on the two documents differ, 

these amounts shall be reconciled on an 

accompanying statement by the CPA who 

completed the financial audit or review. The 

SECC shall reject any application from the 

Independent Organization or Federation with 

fund-raising and administrative expenses in 

excess of 25 percent of the total revenue, unless 

the organization demonstrates to the SECC 

Advisory Committee that its actual expenses for 

those purposes are reasonable under all the 

circumstances of the case and specifies steps 

the organization shall take to accomplish a 

reduction within the next fiscal year. The 

percentage shall be computed from the 

information on the IRS 990 form by adding the 

amount spent on management and general 

expenses to the amount spent on fund-raising 

and dividing the resulting total by total revenue; 

(5) a current copy of the Independent Organization 

or Federation's Charitable License issued by the 

NC Secretary of State; and 

(6) a current copy of the certificate of existence, for 

domestic corporations, or certificate of 

authorization, for foreign corporations, issued 

by the NC Secretary of State. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0203 CRITERIA FOR APPLICANTS 

The SECC Advisory Committee shall approve an Independent 

Organization or Federation for inclusion if the following criteria 

is met: 

(1) be licensed through the North Carolina 

Secretary of State to solicit funds, if required; 

(2) be able to maintain the confidentiality of the 

contributor list; 

(3) not permit payments of commissions, 

kickbacks, finders fees, percentages, bonuses, 

or overrides for fund-raising, and permit no 

paid solicitation by a fund-raising consultant or 

solicitor in the SECC; 

(4) have a written board policy that assures 

compliance with all State and Federal laws. 

Nothing herein denies eligibility to any 

organization that is otherwise eligible because 

it is organized by, on behalf of, or to serve 

persons of a particular race, color, religion, sex, 

age, national origin or physical or mental 

disability; 

(5) have contact information available to respond 

to inquiries from state employees, via email, 

telephone, or messaging; 

(6) not use SECC contributions for lobbying 

activities; and 

(7) have a board of directors that contains no less 

than three persons who meet at least three times 

a year. The board of directors shall maintain 

records of all decisions made and make those 

decisions available to the SECC for inspections 

if requested. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0204 APPLICATION REVIEW 

PROCESS 

(a)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall review the 

application materials for compliance with Rule .0202 of this 

Chapter and report to the SECC Advisory Committee the status 

of this review within four weeks of the submission deadline 

provided in Rule .0201 of this Section. 

(b)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall review the 

recommendations of the Statewide Campaign Organization and 

shall either approve or reject the recommendations based on 

compliance with Rule .0202 of this Section.  

(c)  The SECC Advisory Committee may request additional 

information if necessary to make an eligibility determination 

under Rule .0203 of this Section. The Independent Organization 

or Federation shall submit the requested additional information 

within 10 days of the notification date. Failure to do so may result 

in the denial of eligibility. 

(d)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall notify all 

Independent Organizations and Federations of the SECC 

Advisory Committee's decision within 60 days of the submission 

deadline. 

(e)  The Independent Organization or Federation may submit a 

written request for reconsideration to the Statewide Campaign 

Organization within 10 business days of receipt of notification of 

rejection by the SECC Advisory Committee. 

(f)  If after reconsideration, the SECC Advisory Committee 

upholds its rejection, the Independent Organization or Federation 

may commence a contested case by filing a petition under G.S. 

150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0301 OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The Independent Organization or Federation that receives the 

names and addresses of state employees shall segregate this 

information from all other lists of contributors and use the lists 

only for acknowledgement purposes. This segregated list shall not 

be sold or released to anyone outside of the recipient organization. 

(b)  The Independent Organization or Federation shall disburse 

contribution amounts on the basis of actual funds received rather 

than the amount pledged. 

(c)  The Federation shall disburse contributions quarterly to their 

Member Charitable Organizations on the basis of actual funds 

received, rather than amounts pledged.  

(d)  In the event the Independent Organization or Federation or 

any of its directors, officers, or employees are the subject of any 

investigation or legal proceeding by any federal, state or local law 

enforcement authority based upon its charitable solicitation 

activities, delivery program services, or use of funds, the 

organization shall inform the SECC within 10 days of its learning 

or being notified of the investigation or proceeding. The 

Independent Organization or Federation shall also inform the 

SECC of any investigation or proceeding within 10 days of the 

outcome. 

(f)  Any Independent Organization or Federation that fails to 

comply with this Rule or Rule .0203 of this Subchapter may be 

declared ineligible by the SECC Advisory Committee and the 

remainder of the contributions shall be classified as Undesignated 

Funds and distributed pursuant to Rule .0305 of this Section. Any 

Member Charitable Organization that fails to comply with this 

Rule or Rule .0203 of this Subchapter may be declared ineligible 

by the SECC Advisory Committee and the remainder of the 

contributions shall be redistributed in accordance with the 

Federation's policies. A declaration of ineligibility shall be based 

on factors including the following: 

(1) the type and severity of the failure to comply; 

(2) the period of time or duration that the failure to 

comply occurred; and 

(3) the amount of financial implications of the 

failure to comply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0302 AUTHORIZED SOLICITATION 

METHODS 

(a)  All activities of the campaign shall be conducted in a manner 

that promotes a unified solicitation on behalf of all participants. 

While it is permissible to individually identify, describe or explain 

the Independent Organization or Federation in the campaign for 

informational purposes, no person affiliated with the campaign 

shall engage in any campaign activity that is construed to either 

advocate or criticize specific Charitable Organizations. The 

Independent Organization or Federation shall not engage in any 

solicitation activities at any state employee work site. 

Bloodmobiles or employee member associations shall be 

excluded from this restriction. 

(b)  No Campaign Solicitation Organization representative shall:  

(1) provide or use contributor lists for purposes 

other than collection, forwarding, and 

acknowledgment of contributions; 

(2) set mandatory employee participation goals; 

(3) establish personal dollar goals or quotas; and 

(4) develop nor use lists of non-contributors. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0303 REVOCATION OF ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  Violations of Rules .0203 and .0301 of this Subchapter by the 

Individual Organization or Federation may result in the 

revocation of eligibility of the organization. The Independent 

Organization or Federation shall be given notice of the violation 

and an opportunity to respond prior to any action being taken by 

the SECC Advisory Committee. A revocation of ineligibility shall 

be based on factors including the following: 

(1) the type and severity of the failure to comply; 

(2) the period of time or duration that the failure to 

comply occurred; and 

(3) the amount of financial implications of the 

failure to comply. 

(b)  The Independent Organization or Federation that is 

dissatisfied with the revocation of its eligibility may file an appeal 
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to the SECC Advisory Committee within 10 days of the 

notification postmark date. 

(c)  The Independent Organization or Federation that is 

dissatisfied with the appeal determination of the SECC Advisory 

Committee may commence a contested case by filing a petition 

under G.S. 150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0304 TERMS OF 

CONTRIBUTIONS/DESIGNATED CAMPAIGN 

(a)  If an employee chooses to contribute to an Independent 

Organization or Federation through the SECC, he or she shall 

designate an Independent Organization or Federation to receive 

the contribution that has been approved in accordance with Rule 

.0204 of this Subchapter. A list of approved Charitable 

Organizations shall be provided to each employee by the SECC. 

Any funds designated to an organization that has not been 

approved shall be treated as Undesignated Funds and be 

distributed in accordance with Rule .0305 of this Section. 

(b)  Campaign Contributions may be made by payroll deduction, 

personal check, or credit card. If an employee chooses to use the 

payroll deduction method of contribution, he or she shall agree to 

have the deduction continued for one year with equal amounts 

deducted from each pay period. If the employee authorized 

payroll deduction or credit card, the minimum amount of the 

deduction is five dollars per month. Payroll deductions shall be 

processed pursuant to G.S. 143B-426.40A. 

(c)  All one time contributions shall be a minimum of ten dollars 

($10.00) annually per Independent Organization or Federation. If 

a designation does not comply with the minimum contribution it 

shall be treated as Undesignated Funds and be distributed in 

accordance with Rule .0305 of this Section. 

(d)  An employee shall not change the Independent Organization 

or Federation designated contribution outside of the Campaign 

Solicitation Period. 

(e)  When the total contribution for the Independent Organization 

or Federation is two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) or less, the 

SECC Advisory Committee shall direct the contribution be made 

in a lump sum the first quarter to the recipient Independent 

Organization or Federation. Interest earnings shall be disbursed to 

the Independent Organization or Federation based on its 

proportionate share of the total gross contributions if an interest-

bearing account is established. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0305 DISTRIBUTION OF 

UNDESIGNATED FUNDS 

Any monies not designated to an Independent Organization or 

Federation that has been approved to received contributions 

through the SECC shall be deemed Undesignated Funds. 

Undesignated Funds shall be distributed to an Independent 

Organization or Federation based on its percentage of total 

designated funds during the current Campaign Solicitation Period 

after total actual costs of the campaign are recovered pursuant to 

Rule .0107(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 

Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0302 GENERAL INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  A General Instructor Certification issued after December 31, 

1984, shall be limited to those topics that are not expressly 

incorporated under the Specialized Instructor Certification 

category. Individuals certified under the general instructor 

category shall not teach any of the subjects specified in Rule .0304 

of this Section, entitled "Specialized Instructor Certification." To 

qualify for issuance of Probationary Instructor Certification, an 

applicant shall demonstrate a combination of education and 

experience in criminal justice and proficiency in the instructional 

process by meeting the following requirements: 

(1) Present documentary evidence showing that the 

applicant: 

(A) is a high school, college, or university 

graduate or has received a high school 

equivalency credential as recognized 

by the issuing state; and 

(B) has acquired four years of practical 

experience as a Criminal Justice 

Officer, an administrator or specialist 

in a field related to the criminal justice 

system, or as an employee of a 

Criminal Justice Agency; 

(2) Present evidence showing completion of a 

Commission-accredited instructor training 

program or an equivalent instructor training 

course.  

(3) Achieve a passing score on the comprehensive 

written examination administered by the 

Commission, as required by Rule .0413(d) of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  Applications for Probationary Instructor Certification shall be 

submitted to the Standards Division within 60 days of the date the 

applicant passed the State comprehensive examination 

administered at the conclusion of the Commission-accredited 

instructor training program.  

(c)  Persons having completed a Commission-accredited training 

course and not having submitted the application within 60 days of 

the date the applicant passed the State comprehensive 

examination shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited 

instructor training course in its entirety by completing the 

requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Out-of-State applicants having completed an equivalent 

instructor training course and who are certified or have been 

certified within two years prior to the submission of application 

to the Standards Division as an instructor in a Criminal Justice 

Program, as verified by the respective State Police Officer 

Standards and Training (POST) or Federal Law Enforcement 

Training Center FLETC or military POST organization, are 

eligible to apply for Probationary Instructor Certification upon 

achieving a passing score of 75 percent on the comprehensive 
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written examination administered by the Commission, as required 

by Rule .0413(d) of this Subchapter. The application shall be 

submitted to the Standards Division within 60 days of the date the 

applicant passed the State comprehensive examination. 

(e)  The Standards Division staff shall evaluate the out-of-state 

applicant's combined training and experience to determine if the 

combined training and experience is equivalent to or exceeds the 

requirements for Probationary Instructor certification as 

prescribed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this Rule and 

includes course topics in instructional leadership, liability, 

teaching adults, presentation styles, and written lesson plan 

preparation. 

(f)  Applicants for Speed Measuring Instrument Instructor courses 

shall possess probationary or General Instructor Certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; January 1, 2017; February 1, 

2016; January 1, 2015; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 

2000; July 1, 1991; December 1, 1987; October 1, 1985; January 

1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0314 CERTIFICATION OF 

DIVERSION INVESTIGATORS AND SUPERVISORS 

(a)  The diversion training courses for investigators and 

supervisors shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge 

to perform the duties of a law enforcement Diversion Investigator 

or Supervisor. The diversion training course for investigators shall 

be 24 classroom hours. The diversion training course for 

supervisors shall be administered in a four hour online training 

course. To be certified as a Diversion Investigator or Diversion 

Supervisor the trainee shall complete the respective diversion 

training course and achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

comprehensive written or online examination. 

(b)  Only a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, or law enforcement officer 

certified or appointed through the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards or North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards Commissions and employed by 

a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in a diversion training 

course. A trainee shall not be certified as a Diversion Investigator 

or Diversion Supervisor until the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Subchapter, has 

been completed with passing scores and probationary or general 

law enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs and 

appointed deputy sheriffs shall be allowed to participate in the 

diversion training courses on a space available basis at the 

discretion of the Diversion Training Course School Director 

without having enrolled in, or having completed with passing 

scores, the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter and 12 NCAC 09G .0411 and 

without being currently certified in a probationary status or 

holding justice officer certification. 

(c)  Special Agents with the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation deemed Diversion Investigators as of July 1, 2019, 

shall be automatically granted certification under this Rule for a 

period of three years. 

(d)  The "Diversion Training Courses" required for certification, 

authored by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy, shall include 

the topic areas as outlined in G.S. 17C-6(a)(19) and is to be 

applied as the basic curriculum for the Diversion Training 

Courses for Diversion Investigator and Diversion Supervisors as 

administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tyron Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17E-4; 90-113.74E; 

Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15B .1004 GENERAL PROHIBITIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Coupon" means a part of a retail permittee's 

advertisement that is redeemed by a purchaser 

to the retail permittee to obtain a discount at the 

time of sale; 

(2) "Loyalty card, discount card, or membership 

card" means a card that is issued by a retail 

permittee to customers that, upon presentation 

to the retail permittee, provides for the 

purchaser to receive a loyalty card, discount 

card, membership card, or coupon discount on 

a portion of the amount paid by the purchaser 

for off-premises beer or wine consumption 

sales at the time of sale; and 

(3) "Rebate" for a retail permittee, means a promise 

by the retail permittee to return a portion of the 

amount paid by the purchaser upon the 

condition the purchaser completes a rebate form 

and the purchaser meets the terms and 

conditions of the rebate form's requirements. 

(b)  Advertising for an alcoholic beverage shall not include a 

coupon or an offer for a free alcoholic beverage. No person shall 

advertise by means of a coupon, a rebate or a permittee's loyalty 

card, discount card or membership card offering a discount off the 

purchase of a malt beverage or wine, except as provided in this 

Section. A combination of the use of a coupon, a rebate or a 

permittee's loyalty card, discount card or membership card shall 

not exceed a total of 35 percent of the advertised retail price of the 

item. Permittees may advertise by means of a coupon, a rebate or 

a permittee's loyalty card, discount card or membership card 

under the following conditions: 

(1) A permittee who holds an on-premises or off-

premises malt beverage or wine permit under 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 2, 2020 

1688 

G.S. 18B-1001(1) through (6) or a wine shop 

permit under G.S. 18B-1001(16) may advertise 

by means of a coupon or a rebate in the 

following circumstances: 

(A) The permittee may provide a coupon 

or a rebate for use by a customer when 

purchasing a malt beverage or wine 

sold at the permittee's retail location 

for off-premises consumption; 

(B) The permittee may require a customer 

to use the permittee's loyalty card, 

discount card, or membership card 

with the use of a coupon or rebate 

when purchasing a malt beverage or 

wine sold at the permittee's retail 

location for off-premises 

consumption; 

(C) No coupons or rebates shall be 

honored for the purchase of alcohol for 

any individual below the legal age for 

purchase of alcohol; 

(D) A coupon or rebate shall not provide a 

discount exceeding 35 percent of the 

advertised retail price of the item; 

(E) A permittee shall not advertise or 

distribute coupons or rebates in a 

publication produced for or by a 

higher education institution; and 

(F) In any advertisement displaying a 

discount coupon or rebate, the 

permittee shall include the following 

statement on or about the discount 

coupon or rebate in a similar font to 

the discount coupon or rebate, "Drink 

Responsibly – Be 21;" and 

(2) A permittee who holds an on-premises or off-

premises malt beverage or wine permit under 

G.S. 18B-1001(1) through (6) or a wine shop 

permit under G.S. 18B-1001(16) may advertise 

discounts, coupons and rebates with the 

requirement of the use of the permittee's loyalty 

card, discount card or membership card in the 

following circumstances; 

(A) The permittee shall require customers 

to present a loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card to receive the 

advertised loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discount when 

purchasing a malt beverage or wine 

sold at the permittee's retail location 

for off-premises consumption; 

(B) No loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card shall be honored for 

the purchase of alcohol for any 

individual below the legal age for 

purchase of alcohol; 

(C) A loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card shall not provide a 

discount exceeding 35 percent of the 

advertised retail price of the item; 

(D) A permittee shall not advertise 

permittee loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discounts in a 

publication produced for or by a 

higher education institution; and 

(E) In any advertisement displaying a 

permittee loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discount, the 

permittee shall include the following 

statement on or about the discount 

coupon or rebate in a similar font to 

the discount, "Drink Responsibly – Be 

21." 

Cooperation shall not occur between a retailer and an industry 

member in either marketing, redemption or funding of coupons, 

rebates or loyalty card, discount card or membership card 

discounts under this Rule. Participation of an industry member in 

the use of coupons, rebates or loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card discounts is a violation of G.S. 18B-1116(a)(3). 

(c)  No industry member or retailer shall advertise alcoholic 

beverages in any programs for events or activities in connection 

with any elementary or secondary schools; nor shall any alcoholic 

beverages advertising be connected with these events when 

broadcast over radio or television. 

(d)  No industry member or retailer is permitted to advertise 

alcoholic beverages by use of sound trucks. 

(e)  No industry member or retailer shall advertise spirituous 

liquor upon the picture screen of any theater. 

(f)  Except as otherwise provided in these Rules, no industry 

member or retailer shall promote an alcoholic beverage product 

by giving prizes, premiums, or merchandise to individuals for 

which any purchase of alcoholic beverages is required or based on 

the return of empty containers unless all containers of like 

products are accepted and considered on an equal basis with the 

product sold by the promoter. 

(g)  No on-premise permittee or his agent shall advertise any drink 

promotion prohibited by 14B NCAC 15B .0223. This Paragraph 

includes a ban on all advertisements of "2 for 1," "buy 1 get 1 

free," "buy 1 get another for a_______(nickel, penny, etc.)," and 

any other similar statement indicating that a patron must buy more 

than one drink. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105(b); 18B-207; 

18B-1116(a)(3); S.L. 2019-182, s. 11; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; August 1, 1985; May 

1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .1006 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 
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15A NCAC 10F .0336 NORTHAMPTON AND 

WARREN COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Gaston in Northampton and Warren counties. 

(b)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of Lake Gaston within Northampton 

and Warren counties. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit in specific waters. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the following bodies 

of water: 

(1) the cove on the north shore of Lake Gaston in 

Northampton County east of SR 1252 

otherwise known as Vincent Lane, shore to 

shore from a point on the north shore at 

36.51660 N, 77.82226 W to a point on the south 

shore at 36.51578 N, 77.82269 W; 

(2) Big Stone House Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under N.C. 

Highway 903 at 36.48789 N, 77.95009 W; 

(3) Songbird Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under N.C. Highway 903 at 

36.53260 N, 77.97330 W; 

(4) Sixpound Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under SR 1704 otherwise 

known as Nocarva Road at 36.52950 N, 

78.07283 W; 

(5) Lizard Creek in Warren County within 50 yards 

of the culvert under SR 1362 otherwise known 

as Lizard Creek Road at 36.52501 N, 77.91187 

W; and 

(6) Jimmies Creek in Northampton County shore to 

shore, north of a line from a point on the east 

shore at 36.52450 N, 77.82600 W to a point on 

the west shore at 36.52445 N, 77.82810 W. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of Lake Gaston in Northampton and 

Warren counties. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Boards of Commissioners of 

Northampton County and Warren County shall be the designated 

agencies for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 29, 1981; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; March 1, 1993; September 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2020; October 1, 2018. 

15A NCAC 10H .0101 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to operate a controlled hunting preserve 

without first obtaining a controlled hunting operator's license 

from the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission 

(Commission). 

(b)  A controlled hunting preserve operator's license shall 

authorize an operator, guest, or customer to take the following: 

(1) Mallard Ducks (in accordance with 50 C.F.R. 

21.13); 

(2) Chukar Partridges; 

(3) Hungarian Partridges; and 

(4) Other domestically raised game birds, except 

Wild Turkey. 

(c)  The following conditions shall apply to the take of birds on a 

controlled hunting preserve: 

(1) take shall be by shooting, which may include 

the use of dogs; 

(2) there shall be no bag limits or sex restrictions; 

and 

(3) take shall be authorized from October 1 to 

March 31. 

(4) domestically raised migratory gamebirds shall 

be marked by one of the methods provided in 

50 C.F.R. 21.13, all other domestically raised 

game birds, except Chukar Partridges and 

Hungarian Partridges, shall be individually 

marked on one leg with a band imprinted with 

the propagator's license number. 

(d)  Application for a controlled hunting preserve operator's 

license shall be made on a form available from the Commission 

online at www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission headquarters 

located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606-2576. The 

application shall include the following information: 

(1) The applicant's name, mailing address, 

residence address, telephone number, and date 

of birth; 

(2) The preserve name and address; 

(3) GPS coordinates of preserve entrance; 

(4) The total preserve acres owned or leased; 

(5) The name, address, and telephone number of 

the landowner, if applicable; 

(6) The type of preserve; and 

(7) The species of domestically raised game birds 

to be offered for hunting. 

(e)  Applicants shall certify and demonstrate ownership or proof 

of lease of the land for the license period and for the operation of 

a controlled hunting preserve. 

(f)  A licensed controlled hunting preserve operator shall be 

authorized to purchase, possess, propagate, sell, transport, and 

release propagated migratory game birds, their eggs, and 

propagated upland game birds, except for wild turkey, subject to 

limitations in Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

(g)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter 

the premises upon request or during business hours for inspection, 

enforcement, or scientific purposes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; July 1, 1994; 

November 1, 1990; July 1, 1988; July 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0102 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

OPERATION 

(a)  Controlled hunting preserves shall be at least 100 acres and 

shall be one contiguous block of land. 

(b)  The boundary of each controlled hunting preserve shall be 

posted with printed signs that face both outward and inward from 

the preserve boundary and meet the following requirements: 

(1) Signs shall be at least 12 inches wide and at 

least nine inches tall with white background and 

black lettering of uniform font. 

(2) Signs shall be placed along the boundaries of 

the controlled hunting preserve, not more than 

150 feet apart. 

(3) Text of signs facing outward from the boundary 

shall contain the following information in font 

no less than ¼ of an inch in height: 

(A) the words "Controlled Hunting 

Preserve"; 

(B) the words, "The owner or lessee of this 

property is operating by authority of a 

license issued by the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Hunting on 

this preserve shall be in accordance 

with regulations of the Commission.";  

(C) the words, "State hunting license is 

required"; and 

(D) the name of the licensed operator of 

the controlled hunting preserve. 

(4) Text of signs facing inward from the boundary 

shall bear the words "Controlled Hunting 

Preserve" in font no less than ¾ of an inch in 

height. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; January 1, 1992; November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0103 LABELING OF HARVESTED 

BIRDS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to remove harvested birds from the 

hunting preserve or to possess harvested birds unless the birds are 

packaged and marked with a label provided by the preserve. The 

label shall contain the following information: 

(1) the name and address of the hunting preserve; 

(2) the name and address of the possessor of the 

harvested birds; 

(3) the number of harvested birds contained in the 

package; 

(4) a statement that the package may be opened for 

inspection by an enforcement officer; and 

(5) the signature of the licensed operator or his or 

her designee. 

(b)  The packaged and marked harvested birds shall be 

accompanied at all times by the hunter's receipt, which shall be 

completed and signed by the operator or his or her designee as 

described in Rule .0105 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0104 QUALITY OF BIRDS RELEASED 

All birds purchased or raised for release on controlled hunting 

preserves shall be free from disease. Pursuant to the authority 

granted to the Commission in G.S. 113-276.2, possession of 

diseased birds may be grounds for the suspension, revocation, or 

denial of a controlled hunting preserve license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; June 1, 2005; November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0105 RECORDS AND REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The controlled hunting preserve operator shall maintain a 

written record of each hunter using the controlled hunting 

preserve. This record shall contain the following information: 

(1) name, address, and license number of the 

preserve; 

(2) the name, address, and state hunting license 

number of each hunter using the preserve; 

(3) the date(s) of the hunt; 

(4) the number and species of each bird harvested 

by the hunter on the preserve; and 

(5) the signature of the operator. 

This record shall be executed in duplicate. The original record 

shall be given to the hunter to serve as a receipt for birds harvested 

on the preserve as required in Rule .0103 of this Section. The 

duplicate record shall be retained by the operator for 12 months 

after the date(s) of the hunt. It shall be unlawful for a person to 

possess game birds harvested on controlled hunting preserves 

without a receipt as described in this Rule. 

(b)  The operator shall maintain a written record of each bird 

species released on the preserve. This record shall include the 

number and species of each bird released and the date of the 

release.  

(c)  The records required by this Rule shall be available for 

inspection at the request of the Commission. 

(d)  Licensed operators that release birds shall report the number 

released, the species of the birds released, and the county where 

the release occurred to renew their operator's license. This 

reporting requirement shall be limited to those birds released 

during the time period of the operator's current valid license or 

last valid license and shall be reported on the Controlled Shooting 
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Preserve Game Birds Report Form found online at 

www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission headquarters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990; April 15, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0106 HUNTING LICENSE REQUIRED 

A valid North Carolina hunting license or controlled hunting 

preserve hunting license shall be required of all persons hunting 

domestically raised birds on controlled hunting preserves. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.2; 113-273; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0107 REVOCATION OF LICENSE TO 

OPERATE 

(a)  As authorized in G.S. 113-276.2, the Executive Director of 

the Commission may revoke, suspend, or deny the renewal of the 

license of any controlled hunting preserve operator upon violation 

of the rules in this Section.  

(b)  The determination whether to revoke, suspend, or deny a 

controlled hunting preserve operator license shall be based upon 

the seriousness of the violation and any previous violations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990; January 1, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amendment Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0108 FEEDING OF STOCKED BIRDS 

(a)  Types of Feeders. Bird feeders used on controlled hunting 

preserves shall meet the following conditions: 

(1) not disperse grain or other food on the ground 

around the feeders; and 

(2) be sheltered to protect the grain or other food 

from dampness and precipitation. 

(b)  Location of Feeders. No bird feeder shall be placed within 

100 yards of any boundary of a controlled hunting preserve. 

(c)  Supplemental feeding. Licensed operators shall be authorized 

to broadcast supplemental feed on the preserve. It shall be lawful 

for licensed hunters to take all birds authorized in 15A NCAC 

10H .0101(b) in supplemented areas. Wild birds may not be taken 

with the use or aid of bait, including in supplemental feeding 

areas. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. September 30, 1979; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0109 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS 

Licensed controlled hunting preserve operators that release 

pen-raised quail for hunting or dog training shall be authorized to 

use quail call-pen traps, between September 1 and April 30, to 

recover released quail, subject to the following requirements: 

(1) all traps shall have a weather-resistant 

permanent tag attached with the operator's 

name and address written legibly; 

(2) no trap shall be located within 100 yards of any 

boundary of the hunting preserve; and 

(3) no trapped, unbanded quail shall be retained. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 

Eff. September 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; December 1, 1993; November 1, 

1990; July 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0110 SUPPLEMENTAL FEEDING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16W .0101 DIRECTION DEFINED 

(a)  A public health hygienist may perform clinical procedures 

under the direction of a licensed dentist, as defined by 21 NCAC 

16A .0101(9), and in accordance with G.S. 90-233(a).  

(b)  The specific clinical procedures delegated to the hygienist 

shall be completed, in accordance with a written order from the 

dentist, within 270 days of the dentist's in-person evaluation of the 

patient. 

(c)  The dentist's evaluation of the patient shall include a 

comprehensive oral examination, medical and dental health 

history, and diagnosis of the patient's condition. 

(d)  A public health hygienist may provide educational 

information, such as instruction in brushing and flossing, without 

the direction of a licensed dentist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-233(a); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1999; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2016; July 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 
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Amended Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 16W .0104 DENTAL ACCESS SHORTAGE 

AREAS 

(a)  Public health hygienists who are practicing under Rule 

.0101(a) of this Section and who perform procedures in public 

schools, nursing homes, rest homes, long-term care facilities, and 

rural and community clinics provided through federal, State, 

county, or local governments in areas identified by the Office of 

Rural Health in the Department of Health and Human Services as 

dental access shortage areas may: 

(1) perform clinical hygiene procedures as 

described in G.S. 90-221 under the direction of 

a dentist based on a written standing order, 

rather than an in-person evaluation by the 

dentist as set forth in Rule .0101(c) of this 

Section; and 

(2) supervise a Dental Assistant who assists the 

public health hygienists in the procedures 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

For purposes of this Rule, Dental Assistant 

means any person classified as a Dental 

Assistant II or permitted to perform functions 

of a Dental Assistant II pursuant to 21 NCAC 

16H .0104(a) or (b). 

(b)  Public health hygienists working under supervision of a 

dentist in accordance with G.S. 90-233(a) and providing services 

at facilities identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule who are 

performing services pursuant to a written standing order from the 

dentist must complete the procedures ordered within 270 days. 

(c)  Dentists providing services at facilities pursuant to Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule are providing public health services and may 

supervise more than two public health hygienists at the same time 

who are performing dental hygiene functions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-233(a); 90-233(b); 

Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

 

21 NCAC 32V .0103 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter, an individual 

shall obtain a license from the Committee before the individual 

may practice as a licensed perfusionist. The Committee may grant 

a license or provisional license, reactivate a license or provisional 

license, or reinstate a license or provisional license to an applicant 

who has met the following criteria: 

(1) satisfies the requirements of G.S. 90-686; 

(2) is not disqualified for any reason set out in G.S. 

90-691;  

(3) completes the application; 

(4) pays the fee as specified in 21 NCAC 32V 

.0115, plus the cost of a criminal background 

check; 

(5) submits to the Committee two completed 

original fingerprint record cards, on fingerprint 

record cards provided by the Board; 

(6) submits to the Committee a signed and dated 

original Authority for Release of Information 

Form allowing a search of local, state, and 

national files to disclose any criminal record; 

(7) except for applications for a provisional license, 

submits proof of current certification with the 

American Board of Cardiovascular 

Perfusionists (ABCP); and 

(8) supplies any other information the Committee 

deems necessary to evaluate the applicant's 

qualifications. 

(b)  If the Committee determines it needs more information to 

evaluate the applicant based on information provided by the 

applicant, the applicant may be required to appear, in person, for 

an interview with the Committee. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, an "application for reactivation" is 

for those applicants whose license was placed on inactive status 

within the past calendar year. 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, an "application for reinstatement" 

is for those applicants whose license has been inactive for more 

than one calendar year, or if the inactive status resulted from 

disciplinary action or was taken to avoid disciplinary action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-

685(3)(4a)(5)(6) and (7); 90-686; 

Eff. September 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 63 – SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 63 .0215 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  General. An individual seeking predetermination pursuant to 

G.S. 93B-8.1(b6) and this Rule may file with the Board a petition 

form located on the Board's website, www.ncswboard.org. 

(b)  Petition Procedure. The petition form shall include all of the 

following information: 

(1) The person's name; 

(2) The last four digits of the person's social 

security number; 

(3) The person's current residential address; 

(4) The person's current mailing address; 

(5) A nationwide criminal history record report 

from a reporting service designated by the 

Board, the cost of which shall be borne by the 

petitioner; 

(6) For each crime identified in the criminal history 

record report, the following information: 

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(B) The date that the crime occurred; 
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(C) The date the person was convicted of, 

or plead guilty or nolo contendere to, 

the crime; 

(D) The age of the person at the time of the 

crime; 

(E) The circumstances surrounding the 

commission of the crime; 

(F) The sentence imposed for the crime; 

(G) The period of time during which the 

person was incarcerated for the crime, 

if any; 

(H) The period of time during which the 

person was on probation or parole for 

the crime, if any; 

(I) Any documentation related to the 

person's rehabilitation or employment 

since the date of the crime, if any; 

(J) Whether the person has undergone any 

rehabilitative drug or alcohol 

treatment since the date of the crime; 

(K) Whether a Certificate of Relief has 

been granted regarding the crime, 

pursuant to G.S. 15A 173.2; and 

(L) Any affidavits or other written 

documents, including character 

references, for the person; and 

(7) An affirmation under oath that the person has 

read the statutes and rules governing the 

practice of social work and that the information 

contained in the petition is true and accurate. 

Incomplete petitions shall not be considered by the Board. If 

incomplete petitions received by the Board are not made complete 

within 30 days of receipt, the incomplete petitions will be returned 

to the person from whom the request was made. 

(c)  Petition Fee. A non-refundable petition fee of forty-five 

dollars ($45.00) shall accompany each petition. This fee may be 

paid by certified bank check or money order made payable to the 

North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board. 

Cash shall not be accepted. 

(d)  Delegation of Authority for Predetermination. The Board 

delegates authority for rendering predeterminations under this 

Rule to a committee of the Board that is tasked with reviewing 

disciplinary matters.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90B-11; 93B-8.1; 

Eff. February 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0210 SEPARATION: PAYMENT OF 

VACATION LEAVE 

(a)  The agency shall pay an employee in a lump sum for vacation 

leave only at the time of separation. 

(b)  When separated from State service due to resignation, 

dismissal, or death, an employee shall be paid in a lump sum for 

accumulated vacation leave not to exceed a maximum of 240 

hours. The employee is not entitled to any holiday pay after the 

date of separation. The employee shall cease to accumulate leave 

or be entitled to take sick leave.  

(c)  When separated from State service due to service retirement, 

early retirement, or reduction in force, an employee may, at the 

discretion of the employee's supervisor, elect to exhaust vacation 

leave after the last day of work but prior to the effective date of 

the separation. All benefits shall accrue while leave is being 

exhausted, including holidays that occur during the period. 

Unused vacation leave not exhausted shall be paid in a lump sum 

not to exceed 240 hours. An employee who was reduced in force 

and who had over 240 hours of vacation leave at the time of 

separation shall have the excess leave reinstated when 

reemployed within one year. The date of separation shall be 

determined as follows: 

(1) If leave is exhausted, the last day of leave shall 

be the date of separation. 

(2) If no leave is exhausted, the last day of work 

shall be the date of separation. 

(d)  If an employee separates and is overdrawn on any type of 

leave, the employing agency shall deduct the value of the 

overdrawn leave from the final salary check. 

(e)  The employing agency shall make a retirement deduction 

from all leave payments. 

(f)  Receipt of lump sum leave payment and retirement benefit 

shall not be considered as dual compensation. 

(g)  In the case of a deceased employee, the employing agency 

shall make a payment for unpaid salary, vacation leave, and travel, 

upon establishment of a valid claim, to the deceased employee's 

administrator or executor. In the absence of an administrator or 

executor, the employing agency must make a payment in 

accordance with the provisions of G.S. 28A-25-6. 

(h)  If the employee separates due to a workers' compensation 

injury pursuant to 25 NCAC 01C .1007(a)(3), leave shall be paid 

in a lump sum as follows: 

(1) Unused vacation leave earned (up to a 

maximum of 240 hours) and bonus leave 

granted and eligible for payout as of the date of 

injury; 

(2) Unused vacation and sick leave accumulated 

only during the first 12 months of workers' 

compensation leave; and 

(3) Any unused bonus leave eligible for payout 

granted on or after the date of injury. 

(i)  If the employee returns to permanent duty after workers' 

compensation leave, vacation leave shall remain available for use 

after returning to work until the end of the calendar year, at which 

time any vacation leave over the 240-hour maximum shall be 

converted to sick leave. If the employee separates for any reason 

during the calendar year in which he or she returned to work after 

workers' compensation leave, the employee shall be paid a lump 

sum for unused leave as follows: 

(1) Unused vacation leave earned (up to a 

maximum of 240 hours) and bonus leave 

granted and eligible for payout as of the date of 

injury; 

(2) Unused vacation leave accumulated during the 

first 12 months of workers' compensation leave; 

and 
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(3) Any unused bonus leave eligible for payout 

granted on or after the date of injury. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; January 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1989 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire June 29, 1989; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2008; December 1, 2007; July 1, 

1995; March 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 19, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 19, 2020 April 16, 2020 
 May 21, 2020 June 18, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, MARCH 19, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources - 07 NCAC 13F .0202, .0303, .0304 (Reeder) 
B. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
C. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
D. Department of Insurance - 11 NCAC 12 .0321, .0514, .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504, .1505, .1506, .1507, .1508, 

.1509, .1803 (Snyder) 
E. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission – 12 NCAC 09E .0105 (Snyder) 
F. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0240 (Reeder) 
G. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

H. Sedimentation Control Commission - 15A NCAC 04A .0101, .0105; 04B .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 
.0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0115, .0118, .0120, .0124, .0125, .0126, .0127, .0129, .0130, 0131, .0132; 04C 
.0103, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0110, .0111; 04D .0102; 04E .0101, .0102, .0104, .0201, .0203, .0403, .0405, .0406, 
.0501, .0502, .0503, .0504 (Reeder) 

I. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0304, .0305, .0309, .0313, .1901, .1902, .1904, .1905 
(Snyder) 

J. Psychology Board - 21 NCAC 54 .1602, .1605, .1606, .1607, .1608, .1609, .1610, .1611, .1612, .1701, .1702, 
.1703, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1802, .1803, .1901, .1903, .1904, .2001, .2002, .2005, .2006, .2007, .2008, .2009, 
.2101, .2102, .2103, .2104, .2202, .2203, .2301, .2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2308, .2309, .2311, .2314, .2401, 
.2402, .2601, .2701, .2703, .2704, .2705, .2706, .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2805, .2806 (May) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between January 22, 2020 through February 20, 2020 
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• Structural Pest Control Committee (Snyder) 

• Medical Care Commission (May) 

• Commission for Public Health/DHHS (Snyder)  

• Department of Insurance (Snyder) 

• Commission for Public Health (Reeder) 

• Cemetery Commission (Reeder) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Reeder) 

• Medical Board (May) 

• Midwifery Joint Committee (May) 

• Board of Pharmacy (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, April 16, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

January 22, 2020 through February 20, 2020 
 

STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL COMMITTEE 

The rules in Chapter 34 are from the Structural Pest Control Committee and include introduction and definitions (.0100); 
the structural pest control committee (0200); licensing and certification (.0300); public safety (.0400); wood-destroying 
organisms (.0500); wood-destroying organisms agreements (.0600); household pesticides (.0700); fumigation (.0800); 
duties and responsibilities of licensee (.0900); time for filing complaints (.1000); inspection fees (.1100); and 
administrative hearings: contested cases (.1200). 

Application for Licenses and Cards: Examination 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0302 

Recertification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0309 

Records: Pesticides and Application Equipment Used 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0328 

Ancillary Activities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0331 

Wood-Destroying Insects: Excluding Subterranean Termites 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0501 

Pesticides for Subterranean Termite Prevention and/or Con... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0502 

Subterranean Termite Control: Buildings After Constructed 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0503 

Reporting Damage: Infestation: Uninspected Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0504 

Subterranean Termite Preventions/Res Bldgs Under Const 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0505 

Min Require/Subterranean Termite Prev/Commercial Bldgs Un... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0506 

Wood-Destroying Insects and Other Organism Reports 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .0602 

Written Records of Household Pest Control  02 NCAC 34 .0703 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Decision of Committee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 02 NCAC 34 .1206 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13B set standards for the licensing of hospitals including supplemental rules for the licensure 
of skilled intermediate, adult care home beds in a hospital (.1900); specialized rehabilitative and rehabilitative services 
(.2000); general information (.3000); procedure (.3100); general requirements (.3200); patients’ bill of rights (.3300); 
supplemental rules for the licensure of critical care hospitals (.3400); grievance and management (.3500); management 
and administration of operations (.3600); medical staff (.3700); nursing services (.3800); medical record services 
(.3900); outpatient services (.4000); emergency services (.4100); special care units (.4200); maternal-neonatal services 
(.4300); respiratory care services (.4400); pharmacy services and medication administration (.4500); surgical and 
anesthesia services (.4600); nutrition and dietetic services (.4700); diagnostic imaging (.4800); laboratory services and 
pathology (.4900); physical rehabilitation services (.5000); infection control (.5100); psychiatric services (.5200); nursing 
and adult care beds (.5300); comprehensive inpatient rehabilitation (.5400); supplemental rules for hospitals providing 
living organ donation transplant services (.5500); physical plant (.6000); general requirements (.6100); and construction 
requirements (.6200).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .1902 

Adult Care Home Personnel Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .1915 

Training 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .1918 

Required Spaces 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .1925 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3001 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3101 

Itemized Charges 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3110 

Transfer Agreement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3204 

Discharge of Minor or Incompetent 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3205 

Minimum Provisions of Patient's Bill of Rights 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3302 

Procedure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3303 

Additional Requirements for Traumatic Brain Injury Patients 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .5412 

Additional Requirements for Spinal Cord Injury Patients 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .5413 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 
(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); and rated certificates (.1600). 

The License 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0202 
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Applying for a License to Operate a Facility not Currently... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0204 

Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0208 

Conditions for License Renewal 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0209 

Denial or Revocation of License 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0212 

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
staffing of the home (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 
and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); and rated certificates (.1600). 

The License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0202 

Application for a License to Operate a Home not Currently... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0204 

Renewal of License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0208 

Conditions for License Renewal 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0209 

Denial and Revocation of License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0212 

Appeal of Licensure Action 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0213 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR/HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 41 are Health and Epidemiology rules.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 41B concern injury control including definitions (.0100); blood alcohol test regulations (.0200); 
breath alcohol test regulations (.0300); controlled drinking programs (.0400); and alcohol screening test devices (.0500). 

Intoximeter: Model: EC/IR II 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41B .0322 

Preventative Maintenance: Intoximeter: Model EC/IR II 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41B .0323 

Approved Alcohol Screening Test Devices; Calibration 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41B .0503 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 4 are from the Consumer Services Division including general provisions (.0100); market conduct 
examination section (.0200); life: accident and health (.0300); property and liability (.0400); and life insurance 
illustrations (.0500). 

Total Losses on Motor Vehicles 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0418 

Motor Vehicle Repair Estimates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0419 

Handling of Loss and Claim 
Readopt with Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0421 

Definitions  11 NCAC 04 .0425 
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Readopt with Changes* 

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Agent Services Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6A cover general provisions (.0100); forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); licensing (.0400); 
license renewals and cancellations (.0500); license denials (.0600); prelicensing education (.0700); continuing education 
(.0800); and public adjusters (.0900). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 06A .1001 

Ethical Standards 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 06A .1002 

The rules in Chapter 10 are from the property and casualty division and include general provisions (.0100); 
interpretations (.0300); fire and casualty rating organizations (.0400); consent to rate (.0600); insurance in unlicensed 
foreign and alien companies (.0700); licensing of rating organizations (.0800); licensing of advisory organizations 
(.0900); licensing of joint underwriting organizations (.1000); rate filings (.1100); forms filings (.1200); NC Joint 
Underwriting Association (.1300); NC Insurance Underwriting Association (.1400); prospective loss costs filings (.1600); 
and licensing of statistical organizations (.1700). 

Consent to Rate Procedures: Rate Bureau Coverages 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 10 .0602 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 are from the Commission for Public Health and cover environmental aspects of health such as 
sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules 
in Subchapter 18C are water supply rules including their protection and location (.0100-.0200), submission of plans, 
etc. (.0300), design criteria (.0400-.0500), raw surface water facilities (.0600), surface water treatment facilities (.0700), 
hydropneumatic storage tanks (.0800), distribution systems (.0900), disinfection (.1000), protection of unfiltered and 
filtered supplies (.1100-.1200), variances (.1300), fluoridation (.1400), water quality standards and variances (.1500-
.1600), systems grants (.1700), local plan approval (.1800), administrative penalties (.1900), filtration and disinfection 
(.2000); operating permits (.2100); and ground water systems (.2200).q 

Source Water Protection Planning 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18C .1305 

CEMETERY COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7D concern trust funds including maintenance and care funds (perpetual care funds) (.0100); 
and pre-need cemetery merchandise, pre-constructed mausoleums and below ground crypts trust funds (.0200). 

Withdrawals from Perpetual Care Trust Funds 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 07D .0108 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16A concern the organization of the board of dental examiners. 

Petition for Predetermination 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16A .0106 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32R concern Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements. 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Required  21 NCAC 32R .0101 
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Amend* 

The rules in Subchapter 32S regulate physician assistants including physician assistant registration (.0200). 

Continuing Medical Education 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0216 

MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

The rules in Chapter 33 are from the Midwifery Joint Committee. 

Administrative Body and Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 33 .0101 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 33 .0102 

Application 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 33 .0103 

Due Process 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 33 .0105 

Reporting Criteria 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 33 .0110 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Device and Medical Equipment Committee 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 46 .1207 

Eligibility to Vote 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .2102 

Committee on Nominations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .2104 

Device and Medical Equipment Committee Representatives 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 46 .2109 

 



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

34:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 2, 2020 

1701 

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 BOE 01535 1/7/2020; 

1/14/2020 

The People for Rev. 

Joseph L Irving  

v. State Board of Elections and Ethics 

Enforcement 

May 

19 BOE 02435 1/24/2020 Robert Jameson v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 DHR 00943 5/21/2019; 

1/9/2020 

Central Family Care 

Home Dr Thelma B 

Brown 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02817 1/16/2020 Perkins Professional 

Daycare Inc 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

May 

19 DHR 05406 1/28/2020 New Horizon Group 

Home LLC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Lassiter 

        

19 DOJ 00322 1/27/2020 Kenneth M Tanguay v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 DOJ 01621 1/23/2020 Matthew Bounds v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 01622 1/30/2020 Joshua Orion David v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

19 DOJ 02498 1/23/2020 Justin T Combs v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 02985 1/6/2020 Thomas Council v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 03862 1/21/2020 Andre D Green Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 INS 02486 1/3/2020 Candace Heer v. State Health Plan May 

19 INS 03891 1/13/2020 Donna Thomas 

Tedder 

v. North Carolina State Health Care Plan Bawtinhimer 
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18 OSP 02258 1/6/2020 Jodette Dorene Hall v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 03469 1/27/2020 Alejandro Asbun v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 OSP 03472 11/18/2019; 

1/2/2020 

Rex A Draughon v. NCDPS Adult Corrections and Juvenile 

Justice 

Overby 

19 OSP 04414 1/29/2020 Tiffany Efird v. NC DOT/ DMV Bawtinhimer 

        

    Unpublished    

19 BAR 06047 1/13/2020 Kelvin D Exum v. The North Carolina State Bar Overby 

        

19 BOE 04976 1/10/2020 Barbara Dantonio v. NC State Board of Elections Ward 

        

19 CPS 03805 1/7/2020 Christene Callihan v. Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Lassiter 

19 CPS 05739 1/7/2020 Larry Richard 

Moore 

v. Public Safety operating as North 

Carolina State Highway Patrol 

Sutton 

19 CPS 06274 1/16/2020 Courtney King v. NC Crime Victims Comp Commission Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 03117 1/2/2020 Andrelle Wiley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 05599 1/16/2020 Eron Thomas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05671 1/7/2020 Tesha M Mangum v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 05693 1/23/2020 Ascencion 

Escamilla 

Rodriguez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 05799 1/16/2020 Charles Pettus v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05856 1/30/2020 Antonio Mock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05921 1/13/2020 Damian D Liles v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05928 1/23/2020 Allyson Lucia 

Chavis 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

19 CSE 05963 1/30/2020 Dwain Evans v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05971 1/14/2020 Thomas A Miller v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06058 1/16/2020 Lincoln Hardrick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 
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19 CSE 06122 1/15/2020 Gregory E Dwyer v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06127 1/13/2020 Claude Sanders v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06330 1/14/2020 Christine L Barnes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06606 1/22/2020 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DCS 04290 1/10/2020 Lynetta J Givens v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

        

19 DHR 04623 1/28/2020 Loretta Buckley 

Malakie 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 05200 1/3/2020 Antonio Ray Davis v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 05205 1/10/2020 Onslow Pines Rest 

Home 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Services 

(DHSR) 

Mann 

19 DHR 05871 1/17/2020 LifeQuest 

Disabilities Services 

Inc Jane Williams 

v. Trillium Health Resources Lassiter 

19 DHR 05911 1/22/2020 Teketa Pemberton v. DHHS May 

19 DHR 05962 1/22/2020 Nicole Richardson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 06006 1/7/2020 Lalee Lee v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 06383 1/7/2020 Lewis E Williams v. DHHS Ms Lisa G Corbett General 

Counsel 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06419 1/29/2020 Gaston Residential 

Services Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06446 1/21/2020 Kiayanis Harris v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06567 1/23/2020 Sylvia Corry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 06942 1/30/2020 Valerie R Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DOJ 02330 1/2/2020 Demonte 

Dominique Shaw 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 DST 05116 1/17/2020 Michael Bagala 

A/K/A Bernard C 

Wijesingha 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina, 

Retirement Systems Division 

Jacobs 
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19 OSP 05895 1/28/2020 Charles A Wooten v. Cherry Hospital 1403 W Ash St 

Goldsboro NC (DHHS) 

Overby 

        

 

 


