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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0201, .0204, and .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-

system-licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 18, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, ASLB Office, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

14B NCAC 17 .0201 - The amendment will allow applicants to 

submit required fingerprints via an online fingerprint scanning 

system. 

14B NCAC 17 .0204 - The amendment addresses the process for 

a license holder to reinstate an expired license. 

14B NCAC 17 .0301 - The amendment will allow applicants to 

submit required fingerprints via an online fingerprint scanning 

system. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  April 3, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

form online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 
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Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 74D-7; 74D-8. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0204 RENEWAL OR 

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license renewal shall submit an online 

renewal application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be submitted not less than 30 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current license and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) statements of the result of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1 for any state where the applicant has resided 

within the preceeding 24 months; 

(2) the applicant's renewal fee as set forth in 

.0203(a)(2); and 

(3) proof of liability insurance pursuant to G.S. 

74D-9. 

(b)  Applications for renewal shall be submitted not less than 30 

days before the expiration date of the license. No renewal shall be 

granted more than 90 days after the date of expiration of a license. 

(c)  Applications for renewal submitted after the expiration date 

of the license shall be accompanied by the late renewal fee 

established by Rule .0203 of this Section and shall be submitted 

not later than 90 days after the expiration date of the license. 

(d)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within one year of the expiration date by 

submitting an online reinstatement of an expired license 

application accompanied by the Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (3) 

of this Rule and the late fee required by Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

The Board retains the right to discipline a licensee for activity 

during the period of lapse. 

(d)(e)  The Director shall review and approve or recommend 

denial of an application for renewal. renewal or reinstatement. All 

denials shall be submitted to the Board for a final Board decision. 

(e)(f)  Members of the armed forces whose licenses are in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall be granted the same extension of time to 

pay the license renewal fee and to complete the continuing 

education requirements prescribed in Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. A copy of the military order or the extension approval 

by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue shall be furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2(a); 74D-5; 74D-7; 93B-15. 

 

SECTION .0300 – PROVISIONS FOR REGISTRANTS 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each licensee or qualifying agent shall submit an online 

application for the registration of his or her employee on the 

website provided by the Board. When this online application is 

submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on a standard F.B.I. 

fingerprint card mailed separately to the 

Board's office; 

(2) one original signed S.B.I. release of 

information form uploaded online and the 

original mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification, taken within six months prior to 

online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(4) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; 

(5) the registration fee required by Rule .0302 of 

this Section, along with a four dollar ($4.00) 

convenience fee charged by the third-party 

provider and credit card transaction fee charged 

by the applicant's credit card provider and 

collected online; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of an applicant who is currently registered with 

another alarm business shall complete an online application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be accompanied by the 

applicant's multiple registration fee along with a four dollar 

($4.00) convenience fee charged by the third-party provider and 

credit card transaction fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. This online application shall be 

accompanied by a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall print and 

retain a copy of the applicant's online application in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2.1; 74D-5; 74D-8. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to adopt the 

rule cited as 15A NCAC 02D .0546 and amend the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 02D .1104. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 17, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  DEQ Green Square Office Building, 1st Floor 

Training Room (#1210), 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603 
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Date:  March 18, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  Cape Fear Community College, Union Station, 502 N. 

Front St., Wilmington, NC 28401 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To receive comments on the 

adoption of the Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation 

Operations rule and the amendment of the Toxic Air Pollutant 

Guidelines rule. Also, to receive comment on the accompanying 

revised fiscal note for the proposed adoption and amendment. 

The Division of Air Quality identified that the general public 

adjacent to log fumigation operations may experience both short-

term acute toxicity exposures, as well as longer-term chronic 

toxicity exposures to certain concentrations of methyl bromide as 

a result of these operations. Neurological and respiratory 

toxicological effects are of greatest concern from exposure to 

certain concentrations of methyl bromide. To protect the health of 

all persons that may live or work in areas subject to airborne 

releases of methyl bromide from those operations, the 

Environmental Management Commission (EMC) is proposing to 

adopt a rule that regulates these emissions using an Acceptable 

Ambient Level (AAL), which limits the air concentration of methyl 

bromide or other fumigants beyond the fence line of a facility. 

On May 9, 2019, the EMC approved proceeding to public 

comment on an AAL value of 0.005 mg/m3 with a 24-hour 

averaging time for methyl bromide. In addition, the EMC 

requested comment on a value within a range of AALs from 0.005 

mg/m3 to 0.078 mg/m3 with a 24-hour averaging time for methyl 

bromide. The 0.005 mg/m3 value is based on the US EPA 

Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) chronic reference 

concentration (RfC). The 0.078 mg/m3 value is based on the 

minimal risk level (intermediate) from the April 2018 Draft for 

Public Comment Toxicological Profile for Bromomethane 

prepared by the federal Centers for Disease Control’s Agency for 

Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). A copy of this 

assessment can be found at: 

https://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/ToxProfiles/tp.asp?id=822&tid=160 

During the initial public comment period, (North Carolina 

Register Volume 33, Issue 24), the EMC received support for the 

0.005 mg/m3 value; however, some commenters expressed 

concerns that the 24-hour averaging time was not appropriate for 

a chronic RfC. The Secretaries’ Science Advisory Board (SAB) 

agreed that a longer averaging time for a chronic RfC is 

appropriate; however, they also agreed an acute value is 

necessary to protect the public from short-term exposures to 

certain concentrations of methyl bromide. Therefore, the SAB 

recommended using 0.078 mg/m3 with a 24-hour averaging time 

as an acute AAL paired with a chronic AAL of 0.005 mg/m3 with 

an annual averaging time.  

The proposed rule and amendment are as follows: 

15A NCAC 02D .0546-Control of Emissions from Log 

Fumigation Operations. This rule is proposed for adoption to 

establish emission control requirements for hazardous air 

pollutant and toxic air pollutant emissions from bulk, chamber, 

and container log fumigation operations; and 

15A NCAC 02D .1104-Toxic Air Pollutant Guidelines. In 

addition to the AAL value of 0.005 mg/m3 with a 24-hour 

averaging time for methyl bromide originally proposed, the EMC 

seeks public comment on an additional regulatory option: AALs 

for methyl bromide of 0.078 mg/m3 with a 24-hour averaging time 

and 0.005 mg/m3 with an annual averaging time.  

In addition, the EMC also requests public comment on an acute 

AAL value for methyl bromide within a range of 0.078 mg/m3 to 

1.29 mg/m3 with a 24-hour averaging time. These AAL values 

would be paired with a chronic AAL of 0.005 mg/m3 with an 

annual averaging time. The acute toxicity value of 1.29 mg/m3 is 

included in the Draft Human Risk Assessment for Registration 

Review for methyl bromide, a Federal Insecticide, Rodenticide, 

Fungicide (FIFRA) pesticide re-registration review document 

prepared by the U.S. EPA Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution 

Prevention. A copy of this assessment can be found at 

https://www.regulations.gov/document?D=EPA-HQ-OPP-2013-

0269-0030. 

The text of the rules and fiscal note are available on the DAQ 

website:  http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-

quality-rules/rules-hearing-process. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Patrick Knowlson, 217 West 

Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641; 

phone (919) 707-8711; fax (919) 715-0717; email 

daq.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (Please type "Revised Log 

Fumigation Rule" in subject line) 

 

Comment period ends:  April 3, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0546 CONTROL OF EMISSIONS 

FROM LOG FUMIGATION OPERATIONS 

(a)  Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to establish emission 

control requirements for hazardous air pollutants and toxic air 

pollutants from log fumigation operations. 

(b)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule, the following 

definitions and definitions in this Subchapter or 15A NCAC 02Q 

apply: 
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(1) "Bulk or tarpaulin log fumigation" means the 

fumigation of logs that are placed in piles on an 

impermeable surface and covered with a 

weighted-down tarpaulin. 

(2) "Chamber log fumigation" means the 

fumigation of logs inside a sealed building or 

structure that is specifically used for 

fumigation. Chambers used for fumigation may 

be either atmospheric or vacuum type. 

(3) "Container log fumigation" means the 

fumigation of logs inside a container and where 

the doors of the container are closed and sealed. 

(4) "Fumigant" means the hazardous air pollutant 

or toxic air pollutant that is used to eliminate the 

pests within the logs. 

(5) "Fumigation operation" means the period of 

time that the fumigant is injected and retained 

in the container or chamber for the purposes of 

treating the logs for insects and other pests to 

prevent the transfer of exotic organisms. 

(6) "Hazardous air pollutant" means any pollutant 

listed under Section 112(b) of the federal Clean 

Air Act. 

(7) "Public right-of-way" means an access area 

where people can reasonably be expected to be 

present for any or all parts of a 24-hour period. 

(8) "Toxic air pollutant" means any of the 

carcinogens, chronic toxicants, acute systemic 

toxicants, or acute irritants that are listed in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104. 

(c)  Applicability. This Rule applies to new, existing, and 

modified bulk, chamber, and container log fumigation operations 

that use a hazardous air pollutant or toxic air pollutant as a 

fumigant. 

(d)  Emission Control Requirements. The owner or operator of a 

log fumigation operation shall comply with the Toxic Air 

Pollutant Guidelines specified in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 and 

follow the procedures specified in 15A NCAC 02D .1106, 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0709, and .0710. 

(e)  The owner or operator shall post signs notifying the public of 

fumigation operations. The signs shall be visible and legible at the 

fence or property line closest to any public right-of-way. The 

signs shall remain in place at all times and shall conform to the 

format for placards mandated by the federally approved fumigant 

label. 

(f)  Monitoring, Recordkeeping and Reporting. The owner or 

operator of a bulk, chamber, or container log fumigation operation 

shall comply with the requirements pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 

.0600. 

(1) The owner or operator shall send an initial 

notification of commencement of operations to 

the appropriate Division of Air Quality regional 

office within 15 days of initial fumigation start-

up. 

(2) The owner or operator shall submit a quarterly 

summary report, with the original signature of 

the Permittee or the authorized responsible 

official, of the monitoring and recordkeeping 

activities postmarked no later than 30 days after 

the end of each calendar year quarter. The 

report shall contain the following: 

(A) company name, address, and facility 

ID number; 

(B) calendar year quarter represented by 

the report; 

(C) daily and total fumigant usage in 

pounds for each quarter; 

(D) a summary of the monitoring data 

required by the permit that was 

collected during the quarter; and 

(E) a summary of exceedances from the 

levels established in the permit that 

occurred during the quarter of any 

monitoring parameters. 

(g)  Compliance Schedule. The owner or operator of an existing 

log fumigation operation subject to this Rule shall achieve 

compliance within 60 days after the Rule is effective or in 

accordance with an alternate compliance schedule approved by 

the Director. In establishing an alternate compliance schedule, the 

Director shall consider whether the compliance approach chosen 

by the facility involves the purchase and installation of a control 

device. New and modified facilities shall achieve compliance with 

this Rule upon start-up. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 

 

SECTION .1100 - CONTROL OF TOXIC AIR 

POLLUTANTS 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1104 TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT 

GUIDELINES 

A facility shall not emit any of the following toxic air pollutants 

in such quantities that may cause or contribute beyond the 

facility's premises to any significant ambient air concentration 

that may adversely affect human health, except as allowed 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. In determining these 

significant ambient air concentrations, the Division shall be 

governed by the following list of acceptable ambient levels in 

milligrams per cubic meter at 77 F (25 C) and 29.92 inches (760 

mm) of mercury pressure, except for asbestos: 
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Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

acetaldehyde (75-07-0)    27 

acetic acid (64-19-7)    3.7 

acrolein (107-02-8)    0.08 

acrylonitrile (107-13-1)  0.03 1  

ammonia (7664-41-7)    2.7 

aniline (62-53-3)   1  

arsenic and inorganic arsenic 

compounds 
2.1 x 10-6     

asbestos (1332-21-4) 2.8 x 10-6 

fibers/ml 
   

aziridine (151-56-4)  0.006   

benzene (71-43-2) 1.2 x 10-4    

benzidine and salts (92-87-5) 1.5 x 10-8    

benzo(a)pyrene (50-32-8) 3.3 x 10-5    

benzyl chloride (100-44-7)   0.5  

beryllium (7440-41-7) 4.1 x 10-6    

beryllium chloride (7787-47-5) 4.1 x 10-6    

beryllium fluoride (7787-49-7) 4.1 x 10-6    

beryllium nitrate (13597-99-4) 4.1 x 10-6    

bioavailable chromate pigments, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 
8.3 x 10-8    

bis-chloromethyl ether (542-88-1) 3.7 x 10-7    

bromine (7726-95-6)    0.2 

1,3-butadiene (106-99-0) 4.4 x 10-4    

cadmium (7440-43-9) 5.5 x 10-6    

cadmium acetate (543-90-8) 5.5 x 10-6    

cadmium bromide (7789-42-6) 5.5 x 10-6    

carbon disulfide (75-15-0)  0.186   

carbon tetrachloride (56-23-5) 6.7 x 10-3    

chlorine (7782-50-5)  0.0375  0.9 

chlorobenzene (108-90-7)  2.2   

chloroform (67-66-3) 4.3 x 10-3    

chloroprene (126-99-8)  0.44 3.5  

cresol (1319-77-3)   2.2  

p-dichlorobenzene (106-46-7)    66 

di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate (117-81-7)  0.03   

dimethyl sulfate (77-78-1)  0.003   

1,4-dioxane (123-91-1)  0.56   

epichlorohydrin (106-89-8) 8.3 x 10-2    

ethyl acetate (141-78-6)   140  

ethylenediamine (107-15-3)  0.3 2.5  

ethylene dibromide (106-93-4) 4.0 x 10-4    

ethylene dichloride (107-06-2) 3.8 x 10-3    

ethylene glycol monoethyl ether 

(110-80-5) 
 0.12 1.9  

ethylene oxide (75-21-8) 2.7 x 10-5    

ethyl mercaptan (75-08-1)   0.1  

fluorides   0.016 0.25  

formaldehyde (50-00-0)    0.15 

hexachlorocyclopentadiene (77-47-4)  0.0006 0.01  
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Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin 

(57653-85-7) 
7.6 x 10-8    

n-hexane (110-54-3)  1.1   

hexane isomers except n-hexane    360 

hydrazine (302-01-2)  0.0006   

hydrogen chloride (7647-01-0)    0.7 

hydrogen cyanide (74-90-8)  0.14 1.1  

hydrogen fluoride (7664-39-3)  0.03  0.25 

hydrogen sulfide (7783-06-4)  0.12   

maleic anhydride (108-31-6)  0.012 0.1  

manganese and compounds  0.031   

manganese cyclopentadienyl 

tricarbonyl (12079-65-1) 
 0.0006   

manganese tetroxide (1317-35-7)  0.0062   

mercury, alkyl   0.00006   

mercury, aryl and inorganic compounds  0.0006   

mercury, vapor (7439-97-6)  0.0006   

methyl bromide (74-83-9) 

Option 1 

Option 2 

Option 3 

 

 

0.005a 

 

0.005 

0.078 

0.078 

  

methyl chloroform (71-55-6)  12  245 

methylene chloride (75-09-2) 2.4 x 10-2  1.7  

methyl ethyl ketone (78-93-3)  3.7  88.5 

methyl isobutyl ketone (108-10-1)  2.56  30 

methyl mercaptan (74-93-1)   0.05  

nickel carbonyl (13463-39-3)  0.0006   

nickel metal (7440-02-0)  0.006   

nickel, soluble compounds, as nickel  0.0006   

nickel subsulfide (12035-72-2) 2.1 x 10-6    

nitric acid (7697-37-2)    1 

nitrobenzene (98-95-3)  0.06 0.5  

n-nitrosodimethylamine (62-75-9) 5.0 x 10-5    

non-specific chromium (VI) 

compounds, as chromium (VI) 

equivalent 

8.3 x 10-8    

pentachlorophenol (87-86-5)  0.003 0.025  

perchloroethylene (127-18-4) 1.9 x 10-1    

phenol (108-95-2)   0.95  

phosgene (75-44-5)  0.0025   

 phosphine (7803-51-2)    0.13 

polychlorinated biphenyls 

(1336-36-3) 

8.3 x 10-5    

soluble chromate compounds, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 

 6.2 x 10-4   

styrene (100-42-5)   10.6  

sulfuric acid (7664-93-9)  0.012 0.1  

tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin 

(1746-01-6) 

3.0 x 10-9    

1,1,2,2-tetrachloroethane (79-34-5) 6.3 x 10-3    
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Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

toluene (108-88-3)  4.7  56 

toluene diisocyanate, 2,4- (584-84-9) 

and 2,6- (91-08-7) isomers 

 0.0002   

trichloroethylene (79-01-6) 5.9 x 10-2    

vinyl chloride (75-01-4) 3.8 x 10-4    

vinylidene chloride (75-35-4)  0.12   

xylene (1330-20-7)  2.7  65 
a This compound has not been defined as a carcinogen. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3),(4),(5); 143B-282. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Real Estate Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 58A .0616, .1708, .1710, .1711, .1904; 58H .0101, .0201- 

.0210, .0301- .0305, .0401-.0404, and repeal the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 58A .1903; 58H .0211-.0215, and .0405-.0414. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncrec.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 18, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Real Estate Commission, 1313 Navaho Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rule changes and repeals to 

Subchapters 58A and 58H are necessary to implement legislative 

requirements in S.L. 2019-195 that groups licensed schools and 

continuing education sponsors together as one term "certified 

education providers" and to allow online real estate education 

classes. The rule changes are also necessary to make technical 

corrections such as: formatting rule text, clarifying language, 

deleting unnecessary language, and correcting cross-references, 

inconsistencies, and authorities.  21 NCAC 58A .1903 is proposed 

to repeal extensions of time to complete Postlicensing education. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Vuotto, PO Box 

17100, Raleigh, NC 27619; email Public.Comment@ncrec.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 5, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 

SECTION .0600 – REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0616 PROCEDURES FOR 

REQUESTING HEARINGS WHEN APPLICANT'S 

CHARACTER IS IN QUESTION 

(a)  When the moral character of an applicant for licensure or 

approval is in question, the applicant shall not be licensed or 

approved until the applicant has affirmatively demonstrated that 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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the applicant possesses the requisite honesty, truthfulness, 

integrity, good moral character, and general fitness, including 

mental and emotional fitness, necessary to protect the public 

interest and promote public confidence in the real estate brokerage 

business. For the purposes of this Rule, applicant means any 

person or entity making application for licensure as a real estate 

broker or for licensure or approval as a prelicensing or continuing 

education instructor, director, coordinator, school or sponsor. an 

instructor. 

(b)  When the applicant is an entity, it shall be directed and 

controlled by persons who possess the requisite honesty, 

truthfulness, integrity, good moral character, and general fitness, 

including mental and emotional fitness, necessary to protect the 

public interest and promote public confidence in the real estate 

brokerage business. 

(c)  When the character of an applicant is in question, the 

Commission shall defer action upon the application until the 

applicant is notified by letter. The letter informing the applicant 

that his or her moral character is in question shall be sent by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address shown upon 

the application. The applicant shall have 60 days from the date of 

receipt of this letter to request a hearing before the Commission. 

If the applicant fails to request a hearing within this time or if a 

properly addressed letter is returned to the Commission 

undelivered, applicant's right to a hearing shall be considered 

waived and the application shall be deemed denied. If the 

applicant makes a timely request for a hearing in accordance with 

the provisions of this Rule, the Commission shall provide the 

applicant with a Notice of Hearing and hearing as required by G.S. 

150B, Article 3A. 

(d)  Nothing in this Rule shall be interpreted to prevent an 

unsuccessful applicant from reapplying for licensure or approval 

if such application is otherwise permitted by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4. 

 

SECTION .1700 – MANDATORY CONTINUING 

EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1708 EQUIVALENT CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education 

credit for teaching a Commission Update Course. A broker 

seeking continuing education credit for teaching a Commission 

Update Course shall submit a form, available on the 

Commission's website, that requires the broker to set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, instructor 

number, address, telephone number, and email 

address; 

(2) Update Course number; 

(3) sponsor's education provider's name and 

number; 

(4) sponsor's education provider's address; and 

(5) date the course was taught. 

(b)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education 

elective credit for teaching a Commission approved continuing 

education elective for the first time any given continuing 

education elective is taught. A broker seeking continuing 

education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a form, 

available on the Commission's website, that requires the broker to 

set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address; 

(2) course title; 

(3) course number; 

(4) sponsor's education provider's name and 

number; 

(5) sponsor's education provider's address; and 

(6) date the course was taught. 

(c)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for completion of an unapproved course that the 

Commission finds equivalent to the elective course component of 

the continuing education requirement set forth in 21 NCAC 58H 

.0402. The broker shall submit a course completion certificate 

issued by the course sponsor, education provider, a copy of the 

course description or course outline, and a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee 

for each course for which the broker seeks credit. A broker 

seeking continuing education credit for a course that is not 

approved by the Commission shall submit a form, available on the 

Commission's website, that requires the broker to set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address; 

(2) course title; 

(3) number of instructional hours; 

(4) course instructor's name; and 

(5) course sponsor's education provider's name, 

address, telephone number, and email address. 

(d)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for developing a continuing education elective course that 

is approved by the Commission pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0401. 

However, a broker shall only receive credit for the year in which 

the continuing education elective is approved. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 

broker shall submit the course title, the course number, the date of 

the course approval, and a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each course 

for which the broker seeks credit. 

(e)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for authoring a real estate textbook. However, a broker shall 

receive credit for any single textbook only once. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 

broker shall submit the title page of the textbook, showing the 

title, publisher, and publication date, the table of contents, and a 

fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each textbook for which the licensee 

seeks credit. 

(f)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for authoring of a scholarly article on a real estate topic 

published in a professional journal or periodical. A broker shall 

receive credit for any single article only once. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 
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broker shall submit a copy of the article, proof of publication, and 

a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each article for which the broker 

seeks credit. 

(g)  In order for any application for equivalent credit to be 

considered and credits applied to the current licensing period, a 

complete application, the appropriate fee, and all supporting 

documents shall be received by the Commission no later than 5:00 

p.m. on June 10. 17. 

(h)  Any equivalent continuing education credit awarded under 

this Rule shall be applied first to make up any continuing 

education deficiency for the previous license period and then to 

satisfy the continuing education requirement for the current 

license period; however, credit for an unapproved course or 

educational activity, other than teaching an approved elective 

course, that was completed during a previous license period shall 

not be applied to a subsequent license period. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-38.5. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1710 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission shall deny continuing education credit 

claimed by a broker or reported by a course sponsor an education 

provider for a broker, and shall withdraw continuing education 

credit previously awarded by the Commission to a broker upon 

finding that the broker: 

(1) or course sponsor education provider provided 

incorrect or incomplete information to the 

Commission concerning continuing education 

completed by the broker; 

(2) failed to comply with the attendance 

requirement established by Rule .1705 of this 

Section; or 

(3) was mistakenly awarded continuing education 

credit due to an administrative error. 

(b)  If an administrative error or an incorrect report by a course 

sponsor an education provider results in the denial or withdrawal 

of continuing education credit for a broker, the Commission shall, 

upon the written request of the broker, grant the broker an 

extension of time to satisfy the continuing education requirement. 

(c)  A broker who obtains or attempts to obtain continuing 

education credit through misrepresentation of fact, dishonesty, or 

other improper conduct shall be subject to disciplinary action 

pursuant to G.S. 93A-6. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-38.5. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1711 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIRED OF NONRESIDENT BROKERS 

(a)  To be considered a nonresident for continuing education 

purposes, a real estate broker licensed in North Carolina shall not 

have a North Carolina business address, mailing address, or 

residence address at the time he or she applies for license renewal 

if he or she seeks to renew his or her license on active status. A 

nonresident North Carolina broker who wishes to renew his or her 

license on active status may satisfy the continuing education 

requirement by any one of the following means: 

(1) A nonresident broker may, at the time of license 

renewal, hold a real estate license on active 

status in another state and certify on a form 

prescribed by the Commission that the broker 

holds such license. If at any time after renewal 

there is a change in the status of the out-of-state 

license, the nonresident broker shall notify the 

Commission within 10 days and request that his 

or her North Carolina license be placed on 

inactive status, or provide evidence to the 

Commission that he or she has satisfied either 

Subparagraph (a)(2) or (a)(3) of this Rule or the 

requirements of Rule .1702 of this Section. 

(2) A nonresident broker may, within one year 

preceding license expiration, complete the 

Commission-prescribed Update course plus 

one Commission-approved continuing 

education elective course, or complete two 

Commission-approved continuing education 

elective courses. 

(3) A nonresident broker may, within one year 

preceding license expiration, complete eight 

classroom hours in courses approved for 

continuing education credit by the real estate 

licensing agency in the broker's state of 

residence or in the state where the course was 

taken. To obtain credit for a continuing 

education course completed in another state and 

not approved by the Commission, the broker 

must submit a written request for continuing 

education credit accompanied by a fee of fifty 

dollars ($50.00) per request and evidence that 

the course was completed and that the course 

was approved for continuing education credit 

by the real estate licensing agency in the 

broker's state of residence or in the state where 

the course was taken. 

(4) A nonresident broker may obtain eight hours 

equivalent credit for a course or courses not 

approved by the Commission or for related 

educational activities as provided in Rule .1708 

of this Section. The maximum amount of 

continuing education credit the Commission 

will award a nonresident broker for an 

unapproved course or educational activity shall 

be eight hours. 

(b)  When requesting to change an inactive license to active status, 

or when applying for reinstatement of a license expired for not 

more than six months, a nonresident broker may satisfy the 

continuing education requirements described in Rules .0505 and 

.1703 of this Subchapter by complying with any of the options 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, except that the 

requirements in Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this Rule 

restricting the taking of courses to one year preceding license 

expiration shall not be applicable. 

(b)  When a nonresident broker's license has been on inactive 

status for more than two years and the broker is satisfying the 

requirements of Rule .1703(c) of this Subchapter, if a distance 

education Postlicensing course is unavailable, a nonresident 

broker may apply for equivalent education credit for a 

Postlicensing course by submitting a written request that includes 
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a course completion certificate or transcript evidencing the 

completion of an education program in another state that: 

(1) consisted of at least 30 hours of instruction; 

(2) was completed within six months prior to 

application; and 

(3) is parallel to the topics and timings described in 

the Commission's Postlicensing course syllabi. 

(c)  No carry-over credit to a subsequent license period shall be 

awarded for a course taken in another state that has not been 

approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission as an 

elective course pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0406. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-38.5. 

 

SECTION .1900 – POST-LICENSING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1903 EXTENSIONS OF TIME TO 

COMPLETE POSTLICENSING EDUCATION 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1904 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

POSTLICENSING EDUCATION CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission may deny Postlicensing education credit 

claimed by a provisional broker or reported by a school an 

education provider for a provisional broker, and may withdraw 

Postlicensing education credit previously awarded by the 

Commission to a provisional broker and make appropriate license 

status changes for that broker upon finding that: that the 

provisional broker: 

(1) the provisional broker or school education 

provider provided incorrect or incomplete 

information to the Commission concerning 

Postlicensing education completed by the 

provisional broker; 

(2) failed to comply with the attendance 

requirement pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0207; 

or 

(2)(3) the provisional broker was mistakenly awarded 

Postlicensing education credit due to an 

administrative error; or error. 

(3) the provisional broker attended a Postlicensing 

course while concurrently attending a different 

Postlicensing course at the same school or a 

different school if such concurrent attendance 

in the two courses resulted in the provisional 

broker participating in Postlicensing course 

sessions for more than 30 instructional hours in 

any given seven-day period. 

(b)  When Postlicensing education credit is denied or withdrawn 

by the Commission under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

provisional broker shall remain responsible for satisfying the 

Postlicensing education requirement in G.S. 93A-4(a1). 

(c)  A broker who obtains or attempts to obtain Postlicensing 

education credit through misrepresentation of fact, dishonesty or 

other improper conduct is subject to disciplinary action pursuant 

to G.S. 93A-6. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4. 

SUBCHAPTER 58H - REAL ESTATE EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter and 

to all forms prescribed pursuant to this Chapter: 

(1) "Instructional hour" means 50 minutes of 

instruction and 10 minutes of break time. 

(1) "Blended learning" means a combination of 

Distance education and in-person methods of 

instruction. 

(2) "Branch location" means any location in 

addition to the principal address of an education 

provider that offers Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing Courses. 

(3) "Continuing Education" means a continuing 

education elective or Update Course. 

(2)(4) "Distance education" means a method of 

instruction accomplished through the use of 

media whereby teacher and student are 

separated by distance or time. 

(3) "End-of-course evaluation" means a student 

evaluation of the course and the instructor's 

performance that shall be administered during 

the class period before administration of the 

end-of-course examination. 

(4)(5) "End-of-course examination" means an 

examination administered at the conclusion of 

a course that tests students' knowledge and 

mastery of all course subjects mandated by the 

Commission prescribed course syllabus. 

(5) "Mid-course evaluation" means a student 

evaluation of the course and the instructor's 

performance given at the midpoint of the 

course. 

(6) "Instructional hour" means 50 minutes of 

instruction and 10 minutes of break time. 

(6)(7) "Instructor development program" means 

courses of instruction designed to assist real 

estate instructors in the performance of 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Continuing 

Education instructor duties or in the 

development of teaching skills. 

(7)(8) "License Examination Performance Record" 

means the percentage of an instructor's or 

school's students who, within 30 days of 

completing a Prelicensing course pursuant to 21 

NCAC 58H .0210(a), take and pass the license 

examination, as defined in 21 NCAC 58A 

.0402, on their first attempt. 

(8)(9) "Postlicensing course" means any one of the 

courses comprising the 90 hour Postlicensing 

education program pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a1) 

and 21 NCAC 58A .1902. 

(9)(10) "Prelicensing course" means a single course 

consisting of at least 75 hours of instruction on 

subjects prescribed by the Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a). 
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(10) "Private real estate school" means any real 

estate educational entity that is privately owned 

and operated by an individual, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, or 

association, and that conducts, for a profit or 

tuition charge, Prelicensing or Postlicensing 

courses. 

(11) "Public real estate school" education provider" 

means any proprietary business or trade school 

licensed by the State Board of Community 

Colleges under G.S. 115D-90 or approved by 

the Board of Governors of the University of 

North Carolina that conducts Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing approved real estate courses. 

(12) "Schools" mean licensed private and approved 

public real estate schools. 

(13)(12) "Update Courses" mean the General Update 

Course and the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-4.1; 93A-32; 93A-33; 93A-38.5. 

 

SECTION .0200 - REAL ESTATE SCHOOLS 

EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0201 APPLICABILITY 

This Section applies to all real estate schools offering approved 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing courses. Public real estate schools 

offering approved Prelicensing and Postlicensing courses shall be 

exempt from rules in this Section unless a Rule specifically 

requires compliance. 

This Section applies to all real estate education providers offering 

approved real estate courses. Public education providers shall be 

exempt from the rules in this Section unless the Rule specifically 

requires compliance. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0202 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

APPROVAL OF A PUBLIC REAL ESTATE SCHOOL 

EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Any entity seeking original approval as a public real estate 

school to conduct Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses shall 

apply to the Commission on a form available on the Commission's 

website and shall set forth the: 

(1) school name; 

(2) school director name and contact information; 

(3) school address; 

(4) school telephone number; 

(5) school website address; 

(6) type of public institution; 

(7) Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses to be 

offered by the school; 

(8) Update courses to be offered by the school; and 

(9) a signed certification by the school director that 

courses shall be conducted in compliance with 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Public real estate schools offering Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing courses pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

be eligible to offer Update courses and continuing education 

courses. 

(c)  Approval shall extend only to the courses included in the 

application for school approval. 

(a)  Any community college, junior college, or university located 

in this State and accredited by the Southern Association of 

Colleges and Schools seeking education provider certification 

shall apply to the Commission on a form available on the 

Commission's website and shall set forth the: 

(1) education provider's name; 

(2) education director's name and contact 

information; 

(3) education director's email address; 

(4) education provider's address; 

(5) education provider's telephone number; 

(6) education provider's website address; 

(7) type of public institution; 

(8) Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 

Education courses to be offered by the 

applicant; and 

(9) a signed certification by the education director 

that courses shall be conducted in compliance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Any other person or entity seeking education provider 

certification shall apply to the Commission on a form available on 

the Commission's website and shall set forth the following criteria 

in addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b1): 

(1) the website, physical and mailing address, and 

telephone number of the principal office of the 

education provider; 

(2) the education director's license number, if 

applicable, email and mailing address, and 

telephone number; 

(3) the North Carolina Secretary of State 

Identification Number, if applicable; 

(4) the physical address of each proposed branch 

location, if applicable; 

(5) the type of ownership entity; 

(6) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings form available on the Commission's 

website, if a foreign entity; 

(7) the Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 

Education courses to be offered by the 

applicant; and 

(8) a signed certification by the education director 

that courses shall be conducted in compliance 

with the Rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The certification application fee for an education provider 

applying under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) for each proposed education provider location. 

Provided however, education providers shall not be required to 

obtain a certification for every location a Continuing Education 

course is offered. 

(d)  If any education provider relocates any location or opens 

additional branch locations during any licensing period, the 

education director shall submit an original application for 

certification of that location pursuant to this Rule. 

(e)  In the event that any education provider shall advertise or 

operate in any manner using a name different from the name under 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 3, 2020 

1345 

which the education provider is certified, the education provider 

shall first file an assumed name certificate in compliance with 

G.S. 66-71.4 and shall notify the Commission in writing of the 

use of such an assumed name. An education provider shall not 

advertise or operate in any manner that would mislead a consumer 

as to the education provider's actual identity. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0203 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

LICENSURE OF A PRIVATE REAL ESTATE SCHOOL 

EDUCATION DIRECTOR 

(a)  Any entity seeking original licensure as a private real estate 

school to conduct Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses shall 

apply to the Commission on a form available on the Commission's 

website and shall set forth the following criteria in addition to the 

requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b): 

(1) the physical, website, and email addresses and 

telephone number of the principal office of the 

school; 

(2) the proposed school director's legal name, real 

estate license number, if any, email and mailing 

address, and telephone number; 

(3) the type of school ownership entity and the 

name, title, real estate license number, if any, 

mailing address, and ownership percentage of 

each individual or entity holding at least 10% 

ownership in the entity; 

(4) the North Carolina Secretary of State 

Identification Number; 

(5) the criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions of individual school 

owner(s); 

(6) the physical address of each proposed school 

location; 

(7) the source of real estate examinations to be used 

for each course offered; 

(8) a copy of a criminal background check for the 

previous seven years on the proposed school 

director; 

(9) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings form available on the Commission's 

website, if a foreign entity; 

(10) the Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses to be 

offered by the school; 

(11) the Update courses to be offered by the school; 

and 

(12) the signature and certification of the school 

owner(s). 

(b)  Private real estate school names shall contain the words "Real 

Estate" and other words identifying the entity as a school, such as 

"school," "academy," or "institute" that are distinguishable from 

other licensed private real estate schools and from continuing 

education course sponsors approved by the Commission. 

(c)  The school name shall be used in all school publications and 

advertising. 

(d)  Each school shall certify that its facilities and equipment are 

in compliance with all applicable local, state and federal laws and 

regulations regarding health, safety, and welfare, including the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. 

(e)  The original license application fee shall be two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) for each proposed school location. 

(f)  The initial fee for a school to offer a Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing course at any of its locations during the licensing 

period shall be forty dollars ($40.00) per Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing course. 

(g)  Private real estate schools offering Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing courses pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

be eligible to offer Update courses and continuing education 

courses. 

(h)  If a school relocates any location during any licensing period, 

the school owner shall submit an original application for licensure 

of that location pursuant to this Rule. 

(a)  All education providers shall designate an education director, 

who shall: 

(1) supervise all education provider operations 

related to the conduct of offering Prelicensing, 

Postlicensing, and Continuing Education 

courses; 

(2) ensure that each approved instructor meets the 

requirements of Rule .0302 of this Subchapter; 

(3) ensure that each continuing education elective 

course instructor meets the requirements of 

Rule .0402(a)(5) of this Subchapter; 

(4) ensure each course utilizes course materials 

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(5) sign course completion certificates; 

(6) submit to the Commission all required fees, 

rosters, reports, and other information; 

(7) submit to the Commission the name and the 

instructor number of each course instructor 

within 10 days of employment; 

(8) ensure compliance with all statutory and rule 

requirements governing the certification and 

operation of the education provider; 

(9) take steps to protect the security and integrity of 

course examinations at all times; and 

(10) act as the education provider's liaison to the 

Commission. 

(b)  Public education providers shall designate one permanent 

employee to serve as the education director. 

(c)  The education director shall approve a guest lecturer prior to 

the guest lecturer teaching a course session. Education directors 

shall ensure that all guest lecturers possess experience related to 

the particular subject area the guest lecturer is teaching. Guest 

lecturers may be utilized to teach collectively up to one-fourth of 

any Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(d)  The education director shall ensure all instructors that teach 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses by methods other than 

distance education are observed at least once annually for a 

minimum of one hour of live uninterrupted instruction by either 

the education director or a Commission-approved Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing instructor present in the classroom. Education 

directors who are also instructors may, upon written request to the 

Commission, be evaluated by a Commission monitor. The 

evaluation shall be based on the instructor's teaching abilities 

pursuant to Rule .0304 of this Subchapter. The instructor shall 
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receive the written evaluation of his or her instructional 

performance within 30 days of observation. 

(e)  The education director for any education provider shall view 

the Commission's Education Director video electronically within 

30 days of initial designation and annually within 45 days 

immediately preceding expiration of education provider 

certification. 

(f)  Education providers shall notify the Commission within 10 

days of any change in education director during the certification 

period. 

(g)  The education director shall admit any Commission 

authorized representative to monitor any class or provide access 

to a distance education course without prior notice. Such 

representatives shall not be required to register or pay any fee and 

shall not be reported as having completed the course. 

(h)  An education director shall dismiss a student from the course 

who is found to have cheated in any manner on a course 

examination and shall not award a passing grade or any partial 

completion of the course. The education director shall report the 

cheating incident in writing to the Commission within 10 days. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0204 SCHOOL DIRECTOR POLICIES 

AND PROCEDURES DISCLOSURE 

(a)  All schools shall designate a school director, who shall 

(1) supervise all school operations related to the 

conduct of Prelicensing and Postlicensing 

courses; 

(2) ensure compliance with all statutory and rule 

requirements governing the licensing and 

operation of the school; and 

(3) act as the school's liaison to the Commission. 

(b)  Public real estate schools shall designate one permanent 

employee to serve as the school director. 

(c)  The school director for a private real estate school shall satisfy 

one of the following qualification standards: 

(1) hold a baccalaureate or higher degree; 

(2) have at least two years full-time experience 

within the past 10 years as an instructor or 

school administrator; or 

(3) possess qualifications that the Commission 

finds to be equivalent to those described in 

Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this Rule, such as: 

(A) a transcript demonstrating completion 

of 120 semester hours of education at 

an institution accredited by any 

college accrediting body recognized 

by the U. S. Department of Education; 

(B) currently holding or having held 

within the past 15 years a military pay 

grade of an E-8 level, O-1 level, or 

higher; or 

(C) a current Distinguished Real Estate 

Instructor (DREI) designation granted 

by the Real Estate Educators' 

Association. 

(d)  The school director shall approve a guest lecturer prior to the 

guest lecturer teaching a course session. School directors shall 

ensure that all guest lecturers possess experience related to the 

particular subject area the guest lecturer is teaching. Guest 

lecturers may be utilized to teach collectively up to one-fourth of 

any Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(e)  The school director shall ensure that each instructor meets the 

requirements of Rule .0302 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  The school director shall ensure each course utilizes a 

textbook currently approved by the Commission pursuant to Rule 

.0206 of this Section. 

(g)  Schools shall notify the Commission within 10 days of any 

change in school director during the licensing period. 

(a)  An education provider shall publish a Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure. 

(b)  In addition to the information required by G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), 

an education provider's Policies and Procedures Disclosure shall 

include: 

(1) the name and address of the Commission, along 

with a statement that any complaints 

concerning the education provider or its 

instructors should be directed to the 

Commission; 

(2) a statement that the education provider shall not 

discriminate in its admissions policy or practice 

against any person on the basis of age, sex, race, 

color, national origin, familial status, handicap 

status, or religion; 

(3) the education provider's most recent annual 

License Examination Performance Record and 

the Annual Summary Report data as published 

by the Commission; 

(4) the all-inclusive tuition and fees for a particular 

course; 

(5) a written course cancellation and refund policy; 

and 

(6) a signed certification acknowledging the 

student's receipt of the Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure prior to payment of any portion of 

tuition or registration fee without the right to a 

full refund. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0205 PRIVATE REAL ESTATE 

SCHOOL BULLETIN COURSE MATERIALS 

(a)  A private real estate school shall publish a single bulletin 

addressing Prelicensing and Postlicensing courses offered. The 

same bulletin shall be used by all locations of a private real estate 

school. 

(b)  In addition to the information required by G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), 

a school's bulletin shall: 

(1) describe the purpose of Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses; 

(2) describe the school's policies and procedures; 

(3) include the name and address of the 

Commission, along with a statement that any 

complaints concerning the school or its 

instructors should be directed to the 

Commission; 
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(4) include a statement that the school shall not 

discriminate in its admissions policy or practice 

against any person on the basis of age, sex, race, 

color, national origin, familial status, handicap 

status, or religion; 

(5) contain the following prescribed text: 

"NOTICE: Pursuant to North Carolina Real 

Estate Commission Rule 21 NCAC 58A .1904, 

the Commission may deny or withdraw credit 

for a Postlicensing course that a provisional 

broker begins taking while already enrolled in 

another Postlicensing course at the same school 

or a different school if participating in the two 

courses concurrently results in the provisional 

broker attending Postlicensing course sessions 

that total more than 30 instructional hours in 

any given seven-day period;" and 

(6) include a signed certification that a student 

received a copy of the bulletin prior to payment 

of any portion of tuition or registration fee 

without the right to a full refund. 

(c)  A private real estate school may provide in its bulletin 

information about courses that are not approved by the 

Commission and shall state that such courses are not approved or 

sanctioned by the Commission. 

(d)  A private real estate school may not include in its bulletin any 

promotional information for a particular real estate broker, firm, 

franchise, or association, even if the entity being promoted owns 

the school. 

(e)  A private real estate school shall retain the signed certification 

required by Paragraph (b)(6) of this Rule pursuant to Rule .0212 

of this Section. The certification shall include: 

(1) the student's name; 

(2) the date; 

(3) the title of the course(s) for which the student is 

enrolling; 

(4) the course schedule, including the beginning 

and end date, and meeting days and times; 

(5) the amount of tuition and other required fees 

being paid by the particular student; 

(6) a provision whereby the school certifies that the 

school's bulletin has been provided to the 

student and that the student acknowledges 

receipt of the bulletin; 

(7) any provisions needed to address special 

accommodations or arrangements applicable to 

a particular student; and 

(8) the signatures of both the student and a school 

official. 

(a)  Course materials shall cover current North Carolina real estate 

related laws, rules, and practices. The nature and depth of subject 

matter coverage shall be consistent with the competency and 

instructional levels prescribed by the Commission for the course 

for which approval is sought. 

(b)  Postlicensing courses shall utilize the current edition of the 

North Carolina Real Estate Manual. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4(a); 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0206 APPROVAL OF TEXTBOOKS 

ADVERTISING AND RECRUITMENT ACTIVITIES 

(a)  A request for approval of a proposed textbook shall be 

submitted in writing to the Commission along with two copies of 

the proposed textbook. The criteria for approval shall be: 

(1) the textbook shall cover current North Carolina 

real estate related laws, rules, and practices; 

(2) the text shall be grammatically correct; and 

(3) the nature and depth of subject matter coverage 

shall be consistent with the competency and 

instructional levels prescribed by the 

Commission for the course for which approval 

is sought. 

(b)  Approval of a textbook shall only apply to the edition 

reviewed by the Commission. A request for approval of a new or 

updated edition of a previously approved textbook shall be 

submitted in writing to the Commission, along with two copies of 

the proposed textbook, and shall include a list with specific page 

references of all significant changes from the previously approved 

edition. 

(c)  Approval of a textbook shall terminate four years after the 

initial approval or upon the approval of a new edition of a 

previously approved textbook. 

(a)  Any education provider utilizing its License Examination 

Performance Record or Annual Summary Report for advertising 

or promotional purposes shall only use the most recent annual 

License Examination Performance Record or Annual Summary 

Report as published on the Commission's website in a manner that 

is not misleading or false. 

(b)  Education providers shall not make or publish, by way of 

advertising or otherwise, any false or misleading statement 

regarding employment opportunities that may be available as a 

result of completion of a course offered by that education provider 

or acquisition of a real estate license. 

(c)  Education providers shall not use endorsements or 

recommendations of any person or organization for advertising or 

otherwise unless such person or organization has consented in 

writing to the use of the endorsement or recommendation. In no 

case shall any person or organization be compensated for an 

endorsement or recommendation. 

(d)  Education providers shall not offer Postlicensing courses only 

for brokers affiliated with a particular real estate broker, firm, 

franchise, or association. 

(e)  Education providers may offer and advertise courses in 

addition to those approved by the Commission pursuant to this 

Subchapter provided that references to such courses are not made 

or published in a manner that implies approval by the 

Commission. 

(f)  Instructional time and materials shall be utilized for 

instructional purposes only. 

(g)  All Continuing Education course advertisements and 

promotional materials shall specify the number of Continuing 

Education credit hours to be awarded by the Commission for the 

course. 

(h)  The education provider name shall be used in all publications 

and advertising. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33. 
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21 NCAC 58H .0207 SCHOOL ADVERTISING AND 

RECRUITMENT ACTIVITIES COURSE COMPLETION 

CERTIFICATES AND REPORTS 

(a)  Any school utilizing its license examination performance 

record for advertising or promotional purposes shall only use data 

that: 

(1) are limited to the annual examination 

performance data for the particular school and 

for all examination candidates in the State; 

(2) include the time period covered, the number of 

first-time candidates examined, and either the 

number or percentage of first-time candidates 

passing the examination; and 

(3) are presented in a manner that is not misleading 

or false. 

(b)  Schools shall not make or publish, by way of advertising or 

otherwise, any false or misleading statement regarding 

employment opportunities that may be available as a result of 

completion of a course offered by that school or acquisition of a 

real estate license. 

(c)  Schools shall not use endorsements or recommendations of 

any person or organization of advertising or otherwise unless such 

person or organization has consented in writing to the use of the 

endorsement or recommendation. In no case shall any person or 

organization be compensated for an endorsement or 

recommendation. 

(d)  Schools may offer and advertise courses in addition to those 

approved by the Commission pursuant to this Subchapter 

provided that references to such courses are not made or published 

in a manner that implies approval by the Commission. 

(e)  Instructional time and materials may be utilized for 

instructional purposes only. 

(f)  Schools shall not offer Postlicensing courses only for brokers 

affiliated with a particular real estate broker, firm, franchise, or 

association, even if the entity whose affiliated brokers would 

benefit from the closed course is the school owner. 

(a)  For each Prelicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate signed by the 

education director to each student that: 

(1) attends at least 80 percent of all scheduled 

instructional hours; and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(b)  For each Postlicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate signed by the 

education director to each student that: 

(1) attends at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

instructional hours; and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(c)  The end-of-course examination shall be proctored. Students 

shall not use textbooks or notes on the end-of-course examination. 

(d)  For each Continuing Education course taught, an education 

provider shall provide a course completion certificate signed by 

the education director to each student that meets the requirements 

of 21 NCAC 58A .1705. 

(e)  The course completion certificate shall identify the course, 

date of completion, student, and instructor. 

(f)  An education director shall submit a Course Completion 

Report within seven calendar days of any student completing any 

real estate course pursuant to the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure. The Course Completion Report shall 

include: 

(1) each student's legal name; 

(2) each student's email address and telephone 

number; 

(3) each student's unique identification number, if 

reporting a Prelicensing course; 

(4) each student's real estate broker license number, 

if applicable; 

(5) the course completion date; 

(6) the education provider's name and number; 

(7) the course number; and 

(8) the instructor's name and number; 

(g)  For each Prelicensing or Postlicensing course taught, an 

education director shall submit a Summary Report no later than 

the fifth day of the month. The Summary Report shall contain the 

previous month's data. The Summary Report shall include the: 

(1) name of the instructor(s); 

(2) title of course(s); 

(3) number of students who paid tuition in each 

course and did not receive a refund; 

(4) number of students who met all course 

requirements pursuant to Paragraph (a) and (b) 

of this Rule; and 

(5) number of students who satisfied Subparagraph 

(a)(1) and (b)(1) of this Rule but did not satisfy 

Subparagraph (a)(2) and (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(h)  Education providers shall electronically submit the per 

student fee prescribed by G.S. 93A-4(a2) and G.S. 93A-38.5(d). 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0208 PRELICENSING AND 

POSTLICENSING COURSE SCHEDULING AND 

NOTIFICATION EDUCATION PROVIDER RECORDS 

(a)  All Prelicensing and Postlicensing courses shall have fixed 

beginning and ending dates. Schools shall not utilize a scheduling 

system that allows students to enroll late for a course and then 

complete their course work in a subsequently scheduled course. 

Late enrollment shall be permitted only if the enrolling student 

can satisfy the minimum attendance requirement set forth in Rule 

.0210 of this Section. 

(b)  Schools shall notify the Commission of all scheduled 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing course offerings not later than 10 

days prior to a scheduled course beginning date. 

(c)  The notice required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

include: 

(1) the school name; 

(2) the school code number; and 

(3) for each scheduled course: 

(A) the name and course code number; 

(B) the scheduled beginning and ending 

dates; 

(C) the course meeting days and times, 

including any scheduled lunch breaks; 

and 
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(D) the name of the instructor and 

instructor number. 

(d)  If there is a change or cancellation within five days of the 

scheduled course date, then the school director shall provide 

notice to the Commission within 24 hours of the change or 

cancellation. 

(e)  Class meetings shall not exceed seven and a half instructional 

hours per day and shall not exceed 30 instructional hours over any 

seven day period. 

All education provider records shall be retained for three years by 

the education provider and be made available to the Commission 

during an investigation or application process. Education provider 

records shall include: 

(1) enrollment and attendance records; 

(2) each student's end-of-course examination with 

grade and graded answer sheet; 

(3) a master copy of each end-of-course 

examination with its answer key, course title, 

course dates and name of instructor; 

(4) all instructor evaluations pursuant to Rule 

.0203(d) of this Section; 

(5) advertisements; 

(6) ARELLO or IDECC certifications; 

(7) bulletins, catalogues, Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure, and other official publications; 

(8) course schedules; 

(9) student course materials; 

(10) signed certifications pursuant to Rule 

.0204(b)(6) of this Section; and 

(11) statements of consent pursuant to Rule .0206(c) 

of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0209 POSTLICENSING COURSE 

ENROLLMENT EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF 

EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

A school shall not enroll an individual in a Postlicensing course 

if: 

(1) the first day of the Postlicensing course occurs 

while the individual is enrolled in a 

Prelicensing course; or 

(2) the first day of the Postlicensing course occurs 

while the individual is taking another 

Postlicensing course at the same school or a 

different school if such enrollment results in the 

individual being in class for more than 30 

instructional hours in any given seven day 

period. 

(a)  All education provider and public education provider 

certifications shall expire annually on June 30 following 

certification. 

(b)  An education provider or a public education provider shall 

file an electronic application for renewal of its certification within 

45 days immediately preceding expiration of certification on a 

form available on the Commission's website. The certification 

renewal application form shall include: 

(1) the education provider or public education 

provider's: 

(A) name; 

(B) number; 

(C) mailing address; 

(D) telephone number; and 

(E) website address, if applicable; and 

(2) the education director's name and signature; 

(3) all approved real estate courses offered; 

(4) a copy of the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure, if applicable; 

(5) proof of bond as required in G.S. 93A-36, if 

applicable. 

(c)  Public education providers shall not be charged any fees to 

renew the education provider certification or course renewal. 

(d)  The education provider certification renewal fee shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) for each education provider location. 

(e)  The renewal fee for an education provider to offer a 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course at any of its locations during 

the licensed period shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(f)  The renewal fee for an education provider to renew an 

approved continuing education elective course shall be fifty 

dollars ($50.00) per elective course. 

(g)  The materials fee for an education provider to renew an 

Update course approval shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(h)  If an education provider or public education provider 

certification has expired, the education provider shall submit an 

application for original certification pursuant to Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. 

(i)  Commission approval of all Continuing Education courses 

shall expire on June 30. In order to obtain approval for an expired 

Continuing Education course, an education provider shall submit 

an original application pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  If an education provider transfers an aggregate of 50 percent 

or more of the ownership interest, the education provider shall 

notify the Commission in writing within 10 days of the transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4(a1); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34(b); 93A-35(b); 

93A-36. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 PRELICENSING AND 

POSTLICENSING COURSE COMPLETION 

STANDARDS DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF EDUCATION PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  To complete a Prelicensing course, a student shall, at a 

minimum: 

(1) attend at least eighty percent of all scheduled 

credit hours for the course; and 

(2) obtain a grade of at least seventy-five percent 

on the end-of-course examination. 

(b)  To complete a Postlicensing course, a student shall, at a 

minimum: 

(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

credit hours for the course; and 

(2) obtain a grade of at least seventy-five percent 

on the end-of-course examination. 

(c)  The end-of-course examination shall be completed in the 

classroom and proctored by the instructor or another school staff 
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member. Students shall not use textbooks or notes on the end-of-

course examination. 

(d)  Prelicensing end-of-course examinations may be provided by 

the Commission for use by a licensed or approved school. If the 

Commission does not provide such end-of-course examination, or 

if a school elects not to use a Commission-provided examination, 

the school shall use an examination that tests students' knowledge 

and mastery of the course subject matter. Upon the request of the 

Commission during an application or investigation, the school 

shall provide a copy of its end-of-course examination. 

(e)  Postlicensing end-of-course examinations shall be provided 

by the Commission for use by a licensed or approved school. 

(f)  A school may, within 30 days of the course ending date, allow 

a Prelicensing or Postlicensing course student opportunities to 

make-up a missed end-of-course examination or to retake a failed 

end-of-course examination without repeating the course. 

Postlicensing students shall be allowed at least one retake 

examination opportunity. Any make-up or repeat end-of-course 

examination shall consist of a different form of the examination 

than any previously administered in the student's course. If the 

examination used is not provided by the Commission, at least 

seventy-five percent of the questions shall be different from those 

previously included on any end-of-course examination used 

earlier in the student's course. 

(g)  Schools, school directors, and instructors shall take steps to 

protect the security and integrity of course examinations at all 

times. These steps shall include: 

(1) maintaining examinations and answer keys in a 

secure place, such as a locked area, accessible 

only to the instructor or school officials; 

(2) prohibiting students from retaining copies of 

examinations, answer sheets, and scratch paper 

containing notes or calculations, or any material 

that may jeopardize examination security; 

(3) monitoring students at all times when 

examinations are being administered; and 

(4) prohibiting students from reviewing 

examinations, answer sheets, scratch paper, or 

any material used during the examination after 

students have completed the examination. 

(h)  Any student who is found to have cheated in any manner on 

any course examination shall be dismissed from the course and 

shall not be awarded a passing grade for the course or any credit 

for partial completion of the course. The school shall report the 

cheating incident in writing to the Commission within 10 days. 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw certification of an 

education provider or suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of the 

certification of an education provider upon finding that an 

education provider: 

(1) official was found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal law; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(3) failed to provide or provided false, incomplete, 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

report the education provider is required to 

submit to the Commission; 

(4) presented to its students or prospective students 

false or misleading information relating to its 

instructional program, to the instructional 

programs of other institutions, or related to 

employment opportunities; 

(5) collected money from students but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by G.S. 93A-4(a2) or 93A-38.5(d); 

(7) refused at any time to permit authorized 

representatives of the Commission to inspect 

the education provider's facilities or audit its 

courses; 

(8) or education director violated the rules of this 

Subchapter or was disciplined by the 

Commission under G.S. 93A-6; 

(9) obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10) failed to provide to the Commission a written 

plan describing the changes the education 

provider made or intends to make in its 

instructional program including instructors, 

course materials, methods of student 

evaluation, and completion standards to 

improve the performance of the education 

provider's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 

(11) provided the Commission a fee that was 

dishonored by a bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(12) Certificate of Authority was revoked, subject to 

a revenue suspension, or subject to 

administrative dissolution by the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(13) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(14) failed to submit reports pursuant to Rule .0207 

of this Section; 

(15) provided false, incomplete, or misleading 

information relating to real estate licensing, 

education matters, or the broker's education 

needs or license status; or 

(16) refused or failed to comply with the provisions 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A broker shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 93A-

6 if the broker engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper 

conduct in connection with the operations of an education 

provider if that broker: 

(1) has an ownership interest in the education 

provider; 

(2) is the education director; or 

(3) is an instructor for an education provider. 

(c)  The Commission shall withdraw an education provider's 

certification when its annual License Examination Performance 

Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two 

license years. Following withdrawal, the education provider shall 

be ineligible to apply for certification for a period of one year. 
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(d)  When ownership of a certified education provider is 

transferred and the education provider ceases to operate as the 

certified entity, the certification is not transferable and shall 

terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be 

completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring 

owner shall report course completion(s) to the Commission. The 

new entity shall obtain an original certification for each location 

where the education provider will conduct courses as required by 

G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this Section prior to advertising 

courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting 

courses, or otherwise engaging in any education provider 

operations. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-4(d); 93A-34(c); 93A-35(c); 

93A-38. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0211 PRELICENSING AND 

POSTLICENSING ROSTER REPORTING 

21 NCAC 58H .0212 SCHOOL RECORDS 

21 NCAC 58H .0213 EVALUATIONS OF 

INSTRUCTOR PERFORMANCE 

21 NCAC 58H .0214 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF A SCHOOL APPROVAL OR LICENSE 

21 NCAC 58H .0215 DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF SCHOOL APPROVAL OR LICENSE 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-35; 93A-36; 93A-38. 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPROVED INSTRUCTORS 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0301 PRELICENSING, 

POSTLICENSING, AND UPDATE COURSE 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of an instructor to teach Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses shall authorize the instructor to teach 

courses only in conjunction with and at schools approved or 

licensed by the Commission certified education providers 

pursuant to Rule .0202 or .0203 of this Subchapter to conduct such 

courses. 

(b)  An instructor approved to teach Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses may elect to also teach Update courses upon 

initial approval, renewal, or any time while holding such approval. 

(c)  Approved instructors may teach Update courses for any 

approved Update course sponsor pursuant to Rule .0402 certified 

education provider pursuant to Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. An 

approved instructor may not independently conduct an Update 

course unless the instructor has also obtained approval as an 

Update course sponsor. certification as an education provider. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0302 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR ORIGINAL PRELICENSING, POSTLICENSING, 

OR UPDATE COURSE INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  An individual seeking original instructor approval shall 

submit an application on a form available on the Commission's 

website that shall require the instructor applicant to indicate the 

course(s) for which he or she is seeking approval and set forth the 

instructor applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) real estate license number and instructor 

number, if any, assigned by Commission; 

(3) criminal and occupational licensing history, 

including any disciplinary actions; 

(4) education background, including specific real 

estate education; 

(5) experience in the real estate business; 

(6) real estate teaching experience, if any; 

(7) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings for nonresident applicants; and 

(8) signature. 

(b)  An instructor applicant shall demonstrate that he or she 

possesses good reputation and character pursuant to G.S. 93A-

34(c)(9) and has: 

(1) a North Carolina real estate broker license that 

is not on provisional status; 

(2) completed continuing education sufficient to 

activate a license under 21 NCAC 58A .1702; 

21 NCAC 58A .1703; 

(3) completed 60 semester hours of college-level 

education at an institution accredited by any 

college accrediting body recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education; 

(4) completed the New Instructor Seminar within 

the previous six months; and 

(5) within the previous seven years has either: 

(A) two years full-time experience in real 

estate brokerage with at least one year 

in North Carolina; 

(B) three years of instructor experience at 

a secondary or post-secondary level; 

(C) real estate Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing instructor approval in 

another jurisdiction; or 

(D) qualifications found to be equivalent 

by the Commission, including a 

current North Carolina law license and 

three years' full time experience in 

commercial or residential real estate 

transactions or representation of real 

estate brokers or firms. 

(c)  In order to complete the New Instructor Seminar, a broker 

shall: 

(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

hours; and 

(2) demonstrate the ability to teach a 15-minute 

block of a single Prelicensing topic in a manner 

consistent with the course materials. 

(d)  Instructors approved prior to July 1, 2019 shall be exempt 

from the New Instructor Seminar requirement pursuant to 

Paragraph (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(e)(d)  Prior to teaching any Update course, an approved instructor 

shall take the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for 

the current license period. The Update Instructor Seminar shall 

not be used to meet the requirement in Rule .0306(b)(4) of this 

Section. 
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Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-10; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw approval of any 

instructor applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the 

instructor or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0302 of this Section or the 

criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0306 of this Section at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Commission; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Commission any 

report, course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach a 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update couse in 

a manner consistent with the course materials; 

(5) taught a Prelicensing course and compiled a 

license examination performance record for 

first-time examination candidates that is below 

60 percent passing for two or more of the 

previous five annual reporting periods; 

(6)(5) taught a Prelicensing course and failed to 

provide to the Commission a written plan 

describing the changes the instructor has made 

or intends to make in his or her instructional 

program to improve the performance of the 

instructor's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation, application process, or 

following an instructor's attainment of a 

licensing examination record for first-time 

examination candidates that is below sixty 

percent passing for the previous annual 

reporting period; investigation or application 

process; 

(7)(6) has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 

pleaded no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; 

(8)(7) has been found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal regulation 

prohibiting discrimination; 

(9)(8) has obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or 

use, in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10)(9) has failed to take appropriate steps to protect the 

security of end-of-course examinations 

pursuant to Rule .0210(g) of this Subchapter; 

examinations; 

(11)(10) failed to take any corrective action set out in the 

plan described in Item (5) of this Rule or as 

otherwise requested by the Commission; 

(12)(11) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct; or 

(12) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

(13) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Commission shall withdraw an instructor's approval 

when their annual License Examination Performance Record fails 

to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two license years. 

Following withdrawal, the instructor shall be ineligible to apply 

for approval for a period of one year. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0304 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT AND 

PERFORMANCE 

(a)  All instructors shall ensure that class sessions are conducted 

at the scheduled time and for the full amount of time that is 

scheduled or required. Instructors shall conduct courses in 

accordance with the Commission's rules, and any applicable 

course syllabi, instructor guide, or course plan. Instructors shall 

conduct classes demonstrating the ability to: 

(1) state student learning objectives at the 

beginning of the course and present accurate 

and relevant information; 

(2) communicate correct grammar and vocabulary; 

(3) utilize a variety of instructional techniques that 

require students to analyze and apply course 

content, including teacher-centered approaches, 

such as lecture and demonstration, and student-

centered approaches, such as lecture discussion, 

reading, group problem solving, case studies, 

and scenarios; 

(4) utilize instructional aids, such as: 

(A) whiteboards; 

(B) sample forms and contracts; 

(C) pictures; 

(D) charts; and 

(E) videos. 

(5) utilize assessment tools, such as: 

(A) in-class or homework assignments, 

and 

(B) quizzes and midterm examinations for 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing 

courses. 

(6) avoid criticism of any other person, agency, or 

organization; 

(7) identify key concepts and correct student 

misconceptions; and 

(8) maintain control of the class. 

(b)  Instructors teaching Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update 

courses shall interact with students either in person in a classroom 

setting or through an interactive telecommunication system, or 

comparable system, that permits continuous mutual audio and 

visual communication between the instructor and students. The 
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school shall provide monitoring and technical support for the 

instructors or students. 

(c)  Instructors teaching Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses 

shall: 

(1) safeguard and protect the security of course 

examinations; 

(2) not allow students to review or retain copies of 

end-of-course examinations and any materials 

used during the examination; and 

(3) only use guest lecturers that have been 

approved by the school director pursuant to 

Rule .0204(d) of this Section. 

(d)(b)  Instructors shall not obtain, use, or attempt to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real estate license 

examination questions. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0305 DIGITAL VIDEO RECORDINGS 

(a)  Upon request of the Commission during an investigation, an 

education provider or approved instructor shall submit a digital 

video recording of the instructor teaching specified topics of a 

course, as identified by the Commission which the instructor is 

approved to teach. depicting an instructor teaching a specified 

course topic. 

(b)  Upon the request of the Commission during an investigation, 

a continuing education sponsor shall submit a digital video 

recording depicting a particular Update Course instructor, as 

designated by the Commission, teaching the Update course. 

(c)(b)  Any digital video recording submitted to the Commission 

shall: 

(1) have been made within 12 months of the date of 

submission; 

(2) be recorded either on a digital video disc 

(DVD), USB drive, or similar medium; 

(3) be unedited; 

(4) display a visible date and time stamp during the 

entire video recording; 

(5) include a label identifying the instructor, the 

course title, subject being taught, student 

materials used, and dates of the video 

instruction; 

(6) include student materials used in the production 

of the video recording; 

(6)(7) have visual and sound quality to allow 

reviewers to see and hear the instructor; and 

(7)(8) show at least a portion of the students present in 

a live audience. 

(d)(c)  The deadline for any digital video recording requested 

during an investigation shall be 30 days after the date of the next 

scheduled course, but no later than 120 days after the 

Commission's request. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONTINUING EDUCATION REAL 

ESTATE COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0401 APPLICABILITY APPROVAL 

OF A REAL ESTATE EDUCATION COURSE 

This Section shall apply to the application, renewal, and conduct 

of continuing education sponsors, continuing education elective 

courses, and Update Courses. 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Commission's written approval of a real 

estate education course, education providers shall not offer, 

advertise, or otherwise represent that any real estate education 

course is, or may be, approved for credit in North Carolina. 

(b)  An education provider seeking original approval of a 

proposed course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth the: 

(1) title of the proposed course; 

(2) education provider's legal name, address, and 

telephone number; 

(3) education director's legal name; 

(4) education provider's number; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course; 

(7) identity of the course owner; 

(8) written permission of the course owner, if other 

than the applicant; 

(9) identity of prospective instructors; 

(10) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will proctor the end-of-

course examination for Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses; and 

(11) education director's signature. 

(c)  The application for original approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the course guide, which shall include: 

(1) course objectives; 

(2) learning objectives for each topic; 

(3) a timed outline; 

(4) instructional methods and aids to be employed; 

and 

(5) all materials that will be provided to students. 

(d)  An applicant seeking approval to offer a distance education 

or blended learning course shall submit an application for original 

approval as well as: 

(1) a full copy of the course on the medium to be 

utilized for instruction; 

(2) a description of the method by which the 

education provider will verify and record 

student attendance; 

(3) a list of hardware and software or other 

equipment necessary to both offer and complete 

the course; 

(4) the contact information for the technical 

support service for the course; 

(5) a copy of the student orientation and course 

tutorial information; 

(6) a copy of the primary ARELLO or IDECC 

certification except for public education 

providers; and 

(7) all hardware and software necessary to review 

the submitted course at the expense of the 

applicant. 
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(e)  An education provider seeking approval to offer an already 

approved course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set 

forth the: 

(1) title of the course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's education director's legal name; 

(4) applicant's education provider number; 

(5) identity of the course owner; 

(6) written permission of the course owner, if other 

than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors, if 

applicable; 

(8) a copy of the secondary ARELLO or IDECC 

certification except for public education 

providers; 

(9) certification that the originally approved course 

will not be altered; and 

(10) education director's signature. 

(f)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee for each application submitted pursuant to 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule for any continuing education course. 

The application shall be deemed approved ten business days after 

the Commission has received the application and fee, unless the 

Commission notifies the applicant otherwise. 

(g)  An education provider shall submit a forty dollar ($40.00) fee 

per Prelicensing or Postlicensing course offered at any of its 

branch locations. No fee shall be required for public education 

providers or an agency of federal, state, or local government. 

(h)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee per elective course. No fee shall be required for 

public education providers or an agency of federal, state, or local 

government. 

(i)  Any distance education course approved by the Commission 

on or before July 1, 2020, shall not have to obtain ARELLO or 

IDECC certification until July 1, 2022. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-38.5. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0402 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION SPONSOR 

CONTINUING EDUCATION ELECTIVE COURSE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Only continuing education sponsors approved by the 

Commission shall be eligible to offer continuing education 

courses, including elective courses and Update Courses. 

(b)  Any entity seeking original approval to be a continuing 

education sponsor shall make application on a form available on 

the Commission's website that requires the applicant to set forth: 

(1) the legal name of applicant and any assumed 

business name; 

(2) the applicant's mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address; 

(3) the legal name of the individual who will serve 

as the applicant's continuing education 

coordinator as defined in Rule .0403 of this 

Section; 

(4) the applicant's form of business entity; 

(5) the SOSID issued by the NC Secretary of State, 

if applicable; 

(6) the legal name(s) of the sponsor's owner(s); 

(7) a record of any criminal convictions for all 

individuals listed as owner(s), manager(s), or 

partner(s); 

(8) a record of any discipline related to a 

professional license for all individuals listed as 

owner(s), manager(s), or partner(s); and 

(9) the signature of the applicant. 

(c)  Any foreign or out-of-state entity or person applying for 

original approval shall submit a signed Consent to Service of 

Process and Pleadings form as required by G.S. 93A-10. 

(d)  The name of any course sponsor shall not be identical to the 

name of any other approved continuing education course sponsor 

or licensed private real estate school. 

(e)  Continuing education sponsors shall notify the Commission 

in writing within 10 days of any change in business name, 

ownership interest, continuing education coordinator, address, 

business telephone number, or email address. 

(a)  Continuing education elective courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to real estate 

brokerage practice and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable brokers to better serve 

real estate consumers and the public interest; 

(2) consist of at least four hours of instruction; 

(3) offer four continuing education credit hours; 

(4) include handout materials for students that 

provide the information to be presented in the 

course; and 

(5) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

at least one of the following: 

(A) a baccalaureate or higher degree in a 

field directly related to the subject 

matter of the course; 

(B) three years' full-time work experience 

within the previous 10 years that is 

directly related to the subject matter of 

the course; 

(C) three years' full-time experience 

within the previous 10 years teaching 

the subject matter of the course; or 

(D) education or experience or both found 

by the Commission to be equivalent to 

one of the above standards. 

(b)  Education providers shall obtain approval from the 

Commission before making any changes in the content of an 

elective course. Requests for approval of changes shall be in 

writing. However, changes in course content that are technical in 

nature do not require approval during the approval period, but 

shall be reported at the time the education provider requests 

renewal of course approval. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-10; 93A-34; 93A-38.5. 
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21 NCAC 58H .0403 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COORDINATOR COMMISSION CREATED UPDATE 

COURSES 

(a)  Continuing education sponsors shall designate in writing to 

the Commission one person to serve as the continuing education 

coordinator. The continuing education coordinator shall serve as 

the official contact person for the sponsor and shall be responsible 

for: 

(1) supervising the sponsor's continuing education 

courses; 

(2) ensuring continuing education elective courses 

are taught by instructors complying with Rule 

.0407 of this Section; 

(3) ensuring elective courses are taught according 

to the course materials approved by the 

Commission; 

(4) ensuring only approved instructors who have 

taken the Update Course Seminar for the 

current license period teach Update Courses; 

(5) ensuring students are furnished with the 

approved course materials pursuant to Rule 

.0406 of this Section; 

(6) signing course completion certificates; 

(7) submitting to the Commission all required fees, 

rosters, reports, and other information; and 

(8) submitting to the Commission the name and the 

instructor number of each elective course 

instructor within 10 days of employment. 

(b)  Each continuing education coordinator shall view the 

Commission's Continuing Education Coordinator video 

electronically within 30 days of initial designation and annually 

within 45 days immediately preceding expiration of sponsor 

approval. 

(a)  The Commission shall annually develop Update courses and 

shall produce instructor and student materials for use by education 

providers. 

(b)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) materials fee to offer the Update course. 

(c)  An education provider seeking approval to offer a modified 

Update course pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall also 

submit the written permission of each of the course owners, if 

other than the applicant. 

(d)  Education providers shall use the Commission-developed 

course materials to conduct Update courses. Education providers 

shall provide a copy of the course materials to each broker taking 

an Update course. 

(e)  All Update course materials developed by the Commission 

are the sole property of the Commission and are subject to the 

protection of federal copyright laws. Violation of the 

Commission's copyright with regard to these materials shall be 

grounds for disciplinary action or other action as permissible by 

law. 

(f)  With advance approval from the Commission, education 

providers and approved instructors may make modifications to the 

Update course when the Update course is being promoted to and 

conducted for a group of brokers that specialize in a particular 

area of real estate brokerage. Such modifications shall relate to 

the same general subject matter addressed in the prescribed 

Update course and the Update course as modified shall achieve 

the same educational objectives as the unmodified Update course. 

Where certain subject matter addressed in the prescribed Update 

course is not directly applicable to the group of brokers who 

specialize in the particular area of real estate brokerage being 

targeted, different subject matter and education objectives may be 

substituted with the prior written consent of the Commission. All 

modified Update course materials shall be the joint property of the 

Commission and the education provider or approved instructor 

approved to make such modifications, or as otherwise determined 

by written agreement. Violation of the Commission's copyright 

with regard to these materials shall be grounds for disciplinary 

action or other action as permitted by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3; 93A-4.1; 93A-38.5. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0404 RENEWAL OF SPONSOR 

APPROVAL COURSE SCHEDULING 

(a)  Commission approval of all continuing education sponsors 

shall expire annually on June 30 following issuance of approval. 

(b)  In order to ensure continuous sponsor approval, an approved 

sponsor shall file an electronic application for renewal of approval 

within the 45 days immediately preceding expiration of approval. 

The sponsor approval renewal application shall require the 

sponsor to set forth: 

(1) the legal name of sponsor and any assumed 

business name; 

(2) the sponsor number assigned by the 

Commission; 

(3) the sponsor's mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address; 

(4) the continuing education coordinator's legal 

name; 

(5) any criminal convictions or occupational 

licensure disciplinary action taken against any 

individual listed as owner(s) of the sponsor 

since last approval; 

(6) the name and course number of each continuing 

education elective course approved pursuant to 

Rule .0406 of this Section the applicant wishes 

to renew; 

(7) a certification that the continuing education 

coordinator has completed the Commission's 

video training pursuant to Rule .0403(b) of this 

Section; 

(8) a certification that its facilities and equipment 

are in compliance with all applicable local, 

state, and federal laws and regulations 

regarding health, safety, and welfare, including 

the Americans with Disabilities Act; and 

(9) the signature of the sponsor. 

(c)  A continuing education sponsor also licensed or approved as 

a school may renew its continuing education sponsor approval on 

its school renewal form pursuant to Rule .0214 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Continuing education sponsors shall submit a fifty dollar 

($50.00) fee for each continuing education elective course the 

sponsor wishes to renew. No fee is required if the entity making 

application is a public school or is an agency of federal, state or 

local government. 
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(e)  Continuing education sponsors shall submit a one hundred 

dollar ($100.00) materials fee if the sponsor wishes to renew 

approval to offer Update courses. No fee is required if the entity 

making application is a public real estate school or is an agency 

of federal, state, or local government. 

(a)  Continuing Education courses shall be scheduled and 

conducted in a manner that limits class sessions to a maximum of 

eight instructional hours in any given day. The maximum 

permissible class session without a break shall be 90 minutes. 

Courses scheduled for more than four instructional hours in any 

given day shall include a meal break of at least one hour. 

(b)  An education provider shall not offer, conduct, or allow a 

student to complete any continuing education course and offer 

continuing education credit between June 11 and June 30, 

inclusive. 

(c)  An education provider offering a distance education 

Continuing Education course shall require students to complete 

the course within 30 days of the date of registration or the date the 

student is provided the course materials and permitted to begin 

work, whichever is the later date. An education provider shall not 

offer, conduct, or allow a student to complete any course for 

continuing education credit between June 11 and June 30, 

inclusive. 

(d)  Education providers shall not utilize a scheduling system that 

allows students to enroll late for a course and then complete their 

course work in a subsequently scheduled course. Late enrollment 

shall be permitted only if the enrolling student can satisfy the 

minimum attendance requirement set forth in Rule .0207 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Education providers shall notify the Commission of all 

scheduled course offerings no later than 10 days prior to a 

scheduled course beginning date. 

(f)  The notice required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall include: 

(1) the education provider name; 

(2) the education provider number; and 

(3) for each scheduled course: 

(A) the name and course number; 

(B) the scheduled beginning and ending 

dates, if applicable; 

(C) the course meeting days and times, 

including any scheduled lunch breaks; 

and 

(D) the name of the instructor and 

instructor number. 

(g)  If there is a change or cancellation within five days of the 

scheduled course date, then the education director shall provide 

notice to the Commission within 24 hours of the change or 

cancellation. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3; 93A-4.1; 93A-38.5. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0405 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

SPONSOR APPROVAL 

21 NCAC 58H .0406 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

21 NCAC 58H .0407 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

ELECTIVE COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

21 NCAC 58H .0408 COMMISSION CREATED 

UPDATE COURSES 

21 NCAC 58H .0409 RECORDS AND COMMISSION 

REVIEW 

21 NCAC 58H .0410 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE SCHEDULING AND NOTIFICATION 

21 NCAC 58H .0411 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE ATTENDANCE 

21 NCAC 58H .0412 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

ROSTER REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

21 NCAC 58H .0413 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE COST, CANCELLATION, AND REFUNDS 

21 NCAC 58H .0414 ADVERTISING 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-6(a)(15). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Real Estate Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 58A .0305 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 58A 

.0110, .0302, and .0506. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncrec.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 18, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Real Estate Commission, 1313 Navaho Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 58A .0110 - BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

Amend this Rule to clarify that a broker-in-charge of a sole 

proprietorship can be someone other than the sole proprietor, 

delete  "Subchapter S corporation" from Paragraph (c)(2) and 

replace it with "pass-through business," and require brokers to 

complete the Commission’s Basic Trust Account Procedures 

course no later than 120 days after opening a trust account. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0302 – LICENSE APPLICATION AND FEE 

Amend this Rule to reduce the time provided to an applicant to 

respond to a request for additional information before the 

application is cancelled from 90 to 45 days. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0305 – PETITION FOR PREDETERMINATION 

Adopt this Rule to replace the temporary rule. This Rule would 

establish a process for individuals who wish to file a petition for 

a predetermination of whether the individual’s criminal history 

will likely disqualify them from obtaining a real estate license.  21 

NCAC 58A .0305 is in response to the recently approved S.L. 

2019-91, specifically Section 4, that is effective October 1, 2019.   

 

21 NCAC 58A .0506 – PROVISIONAL BROKER TO BE 

SUPERVISED BY BROKER 
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Amend this Rule to allow provisional brokers to be supervised by 

the broker-in-charge of a team and firm with which the team is 

affiliated. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Vuotto, PO Box 

17100, Raleigh, NC 27619; email Public.Comment@ncrec.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 5, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL BROKERAGE 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  Every real estate firm shall designate one BIC for its principal 

office and one BIC for each of its branch offices. No office of a 

firm shall have more than one designated BIC. A BIC shall not 

serve as BIC for more than one office unless each of those offices 

share the same physical office space and delivery address. 

(b)  Every broker who is a sole proprietor proprietorship shall 

designate himself or herself as a BIC if the broker: sole 

proprietorship: 

(1) engages in any transaction where the a broker is 

required to deposit and maintain monies 

belonging to others in a trust account; 

(2) engages in advertising or promoting his or her 

services as a broker in any manner; or 

(3) has one or more other brokers affiliated with 

him or her the sole proprietorship in the real 

estate business. 

(c)  A licensed real estate firm shall not be required to have a BIC 

if it: 

(1) is organized for the sole purpose of receiving 

compensation for brokerage services furnished 

by its qualifying broker through another firm or 

broker; 

(2) is treated for tax purposes as a Subchapter S 

corporation pass-through business by the 

United States Internal Revenue Service; 

(3) has no principal or branch office; and 

(4) has no licensed person associated with it other 

than its qualifying broker. 

(d)  A broker who maintains a trust or escrow account for the sole 

purpose of holding residential tenant security deposits received by 

the broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with 

G.S. 42-50 shall not be required to be a BIC. 

(e)  In order for a broker to designate as a BIC for a sole proprietor, 

real estate firm, or branch office, a broker shall apply for BIC 

Eligible status by submitting an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website. The BIC Eligible status form shall 

include the broker's: 

(1) name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) telephone number; 

(4) email address; 

(5) criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions; 

(6) certification of compliance with G.S. 93A-4.2, 

including that: 

(A) his or her broker license is on active 

status; 

(B) the broker possesses at least two years 

of full-time or four years of part-time 

real estate brokerage experience 

within the previous five years or shall 

be a North Carolina licensed attorney 

with a practice that consisted primarily 

of handling real estate closings and 

related matters in North Carolina for 

three years immediately preceding 

application; and 

(C) the broker completed the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course no earlier 

than one year prior to application and 

no later than 120 days after 

application; and 

(7) signature. 

(f)  A broker who holds BIC Eligible status shall submit a form to 

become the designated BIC for a sole proprietor, real estate firm, 

or branch office. The BIC designation form shall include: 

(1) the broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) telephone number; 

(D) email address; and 

(E) criminal history and history of 

occupational license disciplinary 

actions; and 

(2) the firm's: 

(A) name; and 

(B) license number, if applicable; 

(g)  A designated BIC shall: 
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(1) assure that each broker employed at the office 

has complied with Rules .0503, .0504, and 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(2) notify the Commission of any change of firm's 

business address or trade name and the 

registration of any assumed business name 

adopted by the firm for its use; 

(3) be responsible for the conduct of advertising by 

or in the name of the firm at such office; 

(4) maintain the trust or escrow account of the firm 

and the records pertaining thereto; 

(5) retain and maintain records relating to 

transactions conducted by or on behalf of the 

firm, including those required to be retained 

pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Section; 

(6) supervise provisional brokers associated with 

or engaged on behalf of the firm at such office 

in accordance with the requirements of Rule 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(7) supervise all brokers employed at the office 

with respect to adherence to agency agreement 

and disclosure requirements; and 

(8) notify the Commission in writing that he or she 

is no longer serving as BIC of a particular office 

within 10 days following any such change. 

change; and 

(9) shall complete the Commission's Basic Trust 

Account Procedures Course within 120 days of 

opening a trust account in accordance with G.S. 

93A-6(g). 

(h)  A broker holding BIC Eligible status shall take the Broker-in-

Charge Update Course during the license year of designation, 

unless the broker has satisfied the requirements of Rule .1702 of 

this Subchapter prior to designation. 

(i)  A broker's BIC Eligible status shall terminate if the broker: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(2) fails to complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(3) fails to renew his or her broker license pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter, or the broker's 

license has been suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered; or 

(4) fails to complete the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course and a four credit hour elective course 

pursuant to Rules .1702 and .1711 of this 

Subchapter, if applicable. 

(j)  In order to regain BIC Eligible status after a broker's BIC 

Eligible status terminates, the broker shall complete the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course prior to application and then submit a 

BIC Eligible status form pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(k)  A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under 

the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act as 

or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or office in 

North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-4.1; 93A-4.2; 93A-

9. 

SECTION .0300 – APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0302 LICENSE APPLICATION AND 

FEE 

(a)  The fee for an original application of a broker or firm license 

shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  An applicant shall update information provided in connection 

with a license application in writing to the Commission or submit 

a new application form that includes the updated information 

without request by the Commission to ensure that the information 

provided in the application is current and accurate. Failure to 

submit updated information prior to the issuance of a license may 

result in disciplinary action against a broker or firm in accordance 

with G.S. 93A-6(b)(1). Upon the request of the Commission, an 

applicant shall submit updated information or provide additional 

information necessary to complete the application within 90 45 

days of the request or the license application shall be canceled. 

(c)  The license application of an individual shall be canceled if 

the applicant fails to: 

(1) pass a scheduled license examination within 

180 days of filing a complete application 

pursuant to Rule .0301 of this Section; or 

(2) appear for and take any scheduled examination 

without having the applicant's examination 

postponed or absence excused pursuant to Rule 

.0401 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-6(b)(1); 93A-9. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0305 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  An individual who wishes to file a petition for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a real estate license 

shall submit a petition on the Commission's website. 

(b)  The petition shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) date of birth; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) places of residence for the past seven years; 

(7) employment history since the date the crime 

was committed; 

(8) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 

days prior to the date of petition; 

(9) written statement describing the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the crime(s); 

(10) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts, 

if applicable; 

(11) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments, if 

applicable; 

(12) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.2, if applicable; 

(13) affidavits or other written documents, including 

character references, that the petitioner intends 

to submit for review; 

(14) certification; and 

(15) signature. 
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(c)  The fee for a petition for predetermination shall be forty-five 

dollars ($45.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93B-8.1. 

 

SECTION .0500 - LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0506 PROVISIONAL BROKER TO BE 

SUPERVISED BY BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  A provisional broker may engage in or hold himself or herself 

out as engaging in activities requiring a real estate license only 

while his or her license is on active status pursuant to Rule .0504 

of this Section and he or she is supervised by the broker-in-charge 

of the real estate firm or office with which the provisional broker 

is affiliated. A provisional broker shall be supervised by only one 

broker-in-charge at a time. time except that a provisional broker 

may be supervised by no more than two brokers-in-charge of two 

licensed affiliated firms located in the same physical location and 

acting as co-listing or co-selling agents in real estate transactions. 

When a provisional broker is supervised by more than one broker-

in-charge, both brokers-in-charge shall bear all supervision 

responsibility at all times. 

(b)  Upon a provisional broker's affiliation with a real estate 

broker or brokerage firm, the broker-in-charge of the office where 

the provisional broker will be engaged in the real estate business 

shall file with the Commission a License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form that sets forth the: 

(1) provisional broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number, type of license, and 

current license status; 

(C) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(D) public and private phone numbers; 

(E) completed Postlicensing courses, if 

necessary; 

(F) completed continuing education 

courses, if necessary; and 

(G) signature. 

(2) broker-in-charge's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) firm's name and license number; 

(D) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(E) public and private phone numbers; and 

(F) signature. 

(c)  Upon the submission of the License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form, the provisional broker may engage in real estate 

brokerage activities requiring a license under the supervision of 

the broker-in-charge; however, if the provisional broker and 

broker-in-charge do not receive from the Commission a written 

acknowledgment of the provisional broker supervision 

notification and, if appropriate, the request for license activation, 

within 30 days of the date shown on the form, the provisional 

broker shall cease all real estate brokerage activities pending 

receipt of the written acknowledgment from the Commission. 

(d)  A broker-in-charge shall supervise the provisional broker in a 

manner that assures that the provisional broker performs all acts 

for which a real estate license is required in accordance with the 

Real Estate License Law and Commission rules. A supervising 

broker who fails to supervise a provisional broker as prescribed in 

this Rule may be subject to disciplinary action by the pursuant to 

Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Upon the termination of the supervisory relationship between 

a provisional broker and his or her broker-in-charge, the 

provisional broker and the broker-in-charge shall provide written 

notification of the date of termination to the Commission not later 

than 10 days following the termination. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-2(b); 93A-3; 93A-9. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on December 19, 2019 Meeting. 
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Structure of Board 21 NCAC 10 .0103* 34:06 NCR 

Licensure 21 NCAC 10 .0204* 34:06 NCR 

Certification of Radiologic Technologists 21 NCAC 10 .0206* 34:06 NCR 

Continuing Education Seminars 21 NCAC 10 .0207* 34:06 NCR 

Certification of Clinical Assistants 21 NCAC 10 .0213* 34:06 NCR 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 10 .0215* 34:06 NCR 

Advertising and Publicity 21 NCAC 10 .0302* 34:06 NCR 

Petitions for Adoptions of Rules 21 NCAC 10 .0401* 34:06 NCR 

Procedure for Adoption of Rules 21 NCAC 10 .0403* 34:06 NCR 

Declaratory Rulings 21 NCAC 10 .0406* 34:06 NCR 

Filing Complaints 21 NCAC 10 .0501* 34:06 NCR 

Determination of Probable Cause 21 NCAC 10 .0503* 34:06 NCR 

Conduct of Board Hearing 21 NCAC 10 .0706* 34:06 NCR 

Continuances for Board Hearings 21 NCAC 10 .0708* 34:06 NCR 

Subpoenas 21 NCAC 10 .0709* 34:06 NCR 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Continuing Competence Definitions 21 NCAC 38 .0801* 34:04 NCR 

Scope of Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing ... 21 NCAC 38 .0804* 34:04 NCR 

Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing Competence 21 NCAC 38 .0805* 34:04 NCR 
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1401 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131E-146, the 

following definitions shall apply in Section .1400 of this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "Addition" means an extension or increase in 

floor area or height of a building. 

(2) "Alteration" means any construction or 

renovation to an existing building other than 

construction of an addition. 

(3) "Construction documents" means final building 

plans and specifications for the construction of 

a facility that a governing body submits to the 

Construction Section for approval as specified 

in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(4) "Construction Section" means the Construction 

Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation. 

(5) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(6) "Facility" means an ambulatory surgical facility 

as defined in G.S. 131E-146. 

(7) "FGI Guidelines" means the Guidelines for 

Design and Construction of Outpatient 

Facilities that is incorporated by reference in 

Rule .1402 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-145; 131E-146; 

131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 24, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1402 LIST OF REFERENCED 

GUIDELINES, CODES, STANDARDS, AND 

REGULATION 

(a)  The FGI Guidelines are incorporated herein by reference, 

including all subsequent amendments and editions; however, the 

following chapters of the FGI Guidelines shall not be incorporated 

herein by reference: 

(1) Chapter 2.3; 

(2) Chapter 2.4; 

(3) Chapter 2.5; 

(4) Chapter 2.6; 

(5) Chapter 2.8; 

(6) Chapter 2.10; 

(7) Chapter 2.11; 

(8) Chapter 2.12; 

(9) Chapter 2.13; and 

(10) Chapter 2.14. 

Copies of the FGI Guidelines may be purchased from the Facility 

Guidelines Institute online at 

https://www.fgiguidelines.org/guidelines-main/purchase/ at a 

cost of two hundred dollars ($200.00) or accessed electronically 

free of charge at https://www.fgiguidelines.org/guidelines-main/. 

(b)  For the purposes of the rules of this Section, the following 

codes, standards, and regulation are incorporated herein by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of these codes, standards, and regulation may be obtained or 

accessed from the online addresses listed: 

(1) the North Carolina State Building Codes with 

copies that may be purchased from the 

International Code Council online at 

https://shop.iccsafe.org/ at a cost of six hundred 

sixty-six dollars ($666.00) or accessed 

electronically free of charge at 

https://shop.iccsafe.org/state-and-local-

codes/north-carolina.html; 

(2) the following National Fire Protection 

Association standards, codes, and guidelines 

with copies of these standards, codes, and 

guidelines that may be accessed electronically 

free of charge at https://www.nfpa.org/Codes-

and-Standards/All-Codes-and-Standards/List-

of-Codes-and-Standards or may be purchased 

online at https://catalog.nfpa.org/Codes-and-

Standards-C3322.aspx for the costs listed: 

(A) NFPA 22, Standard for Water Tanks 

for Private Fire Protection for a cost of 

fifty-four dollars ($54.00); 

(B) NFPA 53, Recommended Practice on 

Materials, Equipment, and Systems 

Used in Oxygen-Enriched 

Atmospheres for a cost of fifty-three 

dollars ($53.00); 

(C) NFPA 59A, Standard for the 

Production, Storage, and Handling of 

Liquefied Natural Gas for a cost of 

fifty-four dollars ($54.00); 

(D) NFPA 99, Health Care Facilities Code 

for a cost of seventy-seven dollars 

($77.00); 

(E) NFPA 101, Life Safety Code for a cost 

of one hundred and five dollars and 

fifty cents ($105.50); 

(F) NFPA 255, Standard Method of Test 

of Surface Burning Characteristics of 

Building Materials for a cost of forty-

two dollars ($42.00); 

(G) NFPA 407, Standard for Aircraft Fuel 

Servicing for a cost of forty-nine 

dollars ($49.00); 

(H) NFPA 705, Recommended Practice 

for a Field Flame Test for Textiles and 

Films for a cost of forty-two dollars 

($42.00); 

(I) NFPA 780, Standard for the 

Installation of Lightning Protection 

Systems for a cost of sixty-three 

dollars and fifty cents ($63.50); 
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(J) NFPA 801, Standard for Fire 

Protection for Facilities Handling 

Radioactive Materials for a cost of 

forty-nine dollars ($49.00); and 

(K) Fire Protection Guide to Hazardous 

Materials for a cost of one hundred 

and thirty-five dollars and twenty-five 

cents ($135.25). 

(3) 42 CFR Part 416.54 Condition of participation: 

Emergency preparedness with copies of this 

regulation that may be accessed free of charge 

at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2017-

title42-vol5/xml/CFR-2017-title42-vol5-

sec482-15.xml or purchased online at 

https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/cfr-title-42-

pt-482-end-code-federal-regulationspaper-201-

7 for a cost of seventy-seven dollars ($77.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 24, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1403 GENERAL AND EMERGENCY 

PREPAREDNESS 

(a)  A new facility or any addition or alterations to an existing 

facility whose construction documents were approved by the 

Construction Section on or after July 1, 2020 shall meet the 

requirements set forth in: 

(1) the rules of this Section; and 

(2) the FGI Guidelines. 

(b)  An existing facility whose construction documents were 

approved by the Construction Section prior to July 1, 2020 shall 

meet those standards established in the rules of this Section that 

were in effect at the time the construction documents were 

approved by the Construction Section. Previous versions of the 

rules of this Section can be accessed online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/const/index.html. 

(c)  The facility shall develop and maintain an emergency 

preparedness program as required by 42 CFR Part 416.54 

Condition of Participation: Emergency Preparedness. The 

emergency preparedness program shall be developed with input 

from the local fire department and local emergency management 

agency. Documentation required to be maintained by 42 CFR Part 

416.54 shall be maintained at the facility for at least three years 

and shall be made available to the Division during an inspection 

upon request. 

(d)  Any existing building converted from another use to a new 

facility shall meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 42 CFR Part 416.54; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1404 EQUIVALENCY AND 

CONFLICTS WITH REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The Division may grant an equivalency to allow an alternate 

design or functional variation from the requirements in the rules 

contained in this Section. The equivalency may be granted by the 

Division if a governing body submits a written equivalency 

request to the Division that indicates the following: 

(1) the rule citation and the rule requirement that 

will not be met; 

(2) the justification for the equivalency; 

(3) how the proposed equivalency meets the intent 

of the corresponding rule requirement; and 

(4) a statement by the governing body that the 

equivalency request will not reduce the safety 

and operational effectiveness of the facility 

design and layout. 

The governing body shall maintain a copy of the approved 

equivalence issued by the Division. 

(b)  If the rules, codes, or standards contained in this Subchapter 

conflict, the most restrictive requirement shall apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; December 24, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1405 MECHANICAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

10A NCAC 13C .1406 PLUMBING AND OTHER 

PIPING SYSTEMS 

10A NCAC 13C .1407 ELECTRICAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. October 14, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; December 24, 1979; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1408 GENERAL 

10A NCAC 13C .1409 LIST OF REFERENCED CODES 

AND STANDARDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13C .1410 APPLICATION OF PHYSICAL 

PLANT REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-149; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0203 PERSONS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR 

NEW ADULT CARE HOME LICENSES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-4.5; 

131D-2.16; 143B-165; 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0207 CHANGE OF LICENSEE 

Prior to the sale of an adult care home business, the current and 

prospective licensee shall meet the requirements of this Rule. 

(1) The current licensee shall provide written 

notification of a planned change of licensee to 

the Division of Health Service Regulation, the 

county department of social services, and the 

residents or their responsible persons at least 30 

days prior to the date of the planned change of 

licensee. 

(2) If the prospective licensee plans to purchase the 

building, the prospective licensee shall provide 

the Healthcare Planning and Certificate of Need 

Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation with prior written notice as required 

by G.S. 131E-184(a)(8) prior to the purchase of 

the building. 

(3) The prospective licensee shall submit the 

following license application material to the 

Division of Health Service Regulation: 

(a) the Change Licensure Application for 

Adult Care Home (7 or more Beds) 

that is available on the internet 

website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/

acchgapp.pdf at no cost and includes 

the following: 

(i) facility administrator and 

building owner information; 

(ii) operation disclosure 

including new licensee 

information and management 

company, if any; and 

(iii) ownership disclosure 

including new owners, 

principles, affiliates, 

shareholders, and members; 

(b) a fire and building safety inspection 

report from the local fire marshal 

dated within the past 12 months; 

(c) a sanitation report from the sanitation 

division of the county health 

department dated within the past 12 

months; and 

(d) a nonrefundable license fee as 

required by G.S. 131D-2.5. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0214 SUSPENSION OF ADMISSIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1206 MARKETING 

An adult care home may market provided: 

(1) the name used is as it appears on the license; 

(2) only the services and accommodations for 

which the home is licensed are used; and 

(3) the home is classified by licensure status. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.1; 131D-2.16; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0207 CHANGE OF LICENSEE 

Prior to the sale of a family care home business, the current and 

prospective licensee shall meet the requirements of this Rule. 

(1) The current licensee shall provide written 

notification of a planned change of licensee to 

the Division of Health Service Regulation, the 

county department of social services, and the 

residents or their responsible persons at least 30 

days prior to the date of the planned change of 

licensee. 

(2) The prospective licensee shall submit the 

following license application material to the 

Division of Health Service Regulation: 

(a) the Change Licensure Application for 

Family Care Home (2 to 6 Beds) that 

is available on the internet website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/f

cchgapp.pdf at no cost and includes 

the following: 

(i) facility, administrator and 

building owner information; 

(ii) operation disclosure 

including new licensee 

information and management 

company, if any; and 

(iii) ownership disclosure 

including new owners, 

principles, affiliates, 

shareholders, and members; 

(b) a fire and building safety inspection 

report from the local fire marshal 

dated within the past 12 months; 

(c) a sanitation report from the sanitation 

division of the county health 
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department dated within the past 12 

months; and 

(d) a nonrefundable license fee as 

required by G.S. 131D-2.5. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0214 SUSPENSION OF ADMISSIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1207 MARKETING 

A family care home may market provided: 

(1) the name used is as it appears on the license; 

(2) only the services and accommodations for 

which the home is licensed are used; and 

(3) the home is classified by licensure status. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.1; 131D-2.16; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0701 DEFINITION 

The following definitions apply in this Section: 

(1) "Elevated blood lead level" means a blood lead 

of > 0 µg/dL. 

(2) "Non-elevated blood lead level" means all 

blood lead levels that are 0 µg/dL or an 

undetectable amount. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-455; 

Eff. January 4, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0702 REPORTABLE DISEASES, 

ILLNESSES, AND INJURIES 

(a)  The following named diseases, illnesses, and injuries are 

declared to be dangerous to the public health and shall be reported 

by a physician within the time period specified after the disease, 

illness, and injury is diagnosed: 

(1) asbestosis - 15 business days; 

(2) silicosis - 15 business days; 

(3) elevated blood lead levels for persons aged 16 

years of age and above - 15 business days; 

(4) injuries caused by tractors, farm equipment, or 

farm machinery that occur while working on a 

farm and require medical care – 15 business 

days; 

(5) carbon monoxide poisoning - 15 business days. 

(b)  All laboratories providing diagnostic service in North 

Carolina shall report to the Occupational and Environmental 

Epidemiology Branch within the Division of Public Health 

elevated blood lead levels for persons aged 16 years of age and 

above. 

(c)  Physicians shall not be required to report elevated blood lead 

levels for persons aged 16 years of age and above when a 

laboratory providing diagnostic service in North Carolina reports 

elevated blood lead levels. 

(d)  Non-elevated blood lead levels shall be reported in same 

manner as elevated blood lead levels under Subparagraph (a)(3) 

for surveillance purposes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-29(b); 130A-455; 

130A-456; 130A-457; 130A-458; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 16, 2019;  

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0703 METHOD OF REPORTING 

(a)  When a physician makes a report of a disease, illness, injury, 

or elevated blood lead level for persons aged 16 years of age and 

above pursuant to G.S. 130A-456 or a medical facility makes such 

a report pursuant to G.S. 130A-457, the report shall be made to 

the Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch as 

follows: 

(1) The report shall be made on the surveillance 

forms provided by the Occupational and 

Environmental Epidemiology Branch and shall 

include the following information: 

(A) The name, address, telephone number, 

date of birth, race, ethnicity, gender, 

and job title of the person; 

(B) The name, address, telephone number, 

and type of business of the person's 

employer; 

(C) The name of the disease, illness, or 

injury being reported; and 

(D) The name, address, and telephone 

number of the physician, laboratory, 

or medical facility. 

(2) Surveillance forms are available from the 

Occupational and Environmental 

Epidemiology Branch, Epidemiology Section, 

Division of Public Health, N.C. Department of 

Health and Human Services, 1912 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1912. The form can 

also be requested by calling (919) 707-5900. 

(b)  When a laboratory providing diagnostic service in North 

Carolina reports laboratory findings related to occupational 

disease or illness pursuant to G.S. 130A-458, the report shall 

include: 
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(1) the specimen collection date; 

(2) the person's name, date of birth, gender, race, 

and ethnicity;  

(3) the submitting physician/employer name, 

address, and telephone number; and 

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

laboratory. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-455; 130A-456; 

130A-458; 

Eff. January 4, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0202 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, all definitions set forth in 

7 C.F.R. Part 246.2 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, with the 

following additions and modifications: 

(1) An "administrative appeal" is an appeal in 

accordance with Section .0800 of this 

Subchapter through which a local WIC agency, 

potential local WIC agency, authorized WIC 

vendor, or WIC vendor applicant may appeal 

the adverse actions listed in 7 C.F.R. 

246.18(a)(1)(i), (a)(1)(ii), and (a)(3)(i). 

(2) An "authorized store representative" includes 

an owner, manager, assistant manager, head 

cashier, or chief fiscal officer. 

(3) An "authorized WIC vendor" is a food retailer 

or free-standing pharmacy that has executed a 

currently effective North Carolina WIC Vendor 

Agreement, as set forth in 7 C.F.R 246.12(h)(3). 

(4) A "chain store" is a store that is owned or 

operated by a corporation, partnership, 

cooperative association, or other business entity 

that has 20 or more stores owned or operated by 

the business entity. 

(5) An "Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) 

Processor" is an entity contracted by a 

government agency for the implementation, 

maintenance, and operation of the State WIC 

agency's WIC EBT system that acts as the agent 

of the State WIC agency to process and settle 

EBT transactions. 

(6) A "fair hearing" is the informal dispute 

resolution process in Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter through which any individual may 

appeal a State or local agency action that results 

in a claim against the individual for repayment 

of the cash value of issued benefits by which the 

individual is not eligible or results in the 

individual's denial of participation or 

disqualification from the WIC Program, as set 

forth in Rule .0410 of this Subchapter. This 

process must be complied with prior to 

requesting a contested case hearing in 

accordance with G.S. 150B, as set forth in 7 

CFR 246.9. 

(7) "First date to spend" means "first date of use" 

as defined in 7 C.F.R. 246.12, hereby 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(8) "FNS" means the Food and Nutrition Service of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

(9) "Food benefits" are the prescribed amounts of 

WIC authorized foods and formulas or a fixed 

dollar amount prescribed to WIC customers to 

receive fruits and vegetables. 

(10) "Food benefit balance" means the unspent food 

benefits for the current month that are available 

to use by the cardholder. 

(11) "Free-standing pharmacy" means a pharmacy 

that does not operate within another retail store. 

Free-standing pharmacy includes free-standing 

pharmacies that are chain stores and free-

standing pharmacies participating under a WIC 

corporate agreement. 

(12) "Last date to spend" means "last date of use" as 

defined in 7 C.F.R. 246.12, hereby incorporated 

by reference with all subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

(13) The "local WIC agency" is the local agency that 

enters into an agreement with the Division of 

Public Health to operate the Special 

Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants and Children. 

(14) A "local WIC program plan" is a written 

compilation of information on the local WIC 

agency policies concerning program operation, 

including administration, nutrition education, 

personnel functions, costs and other 

information prepared by the local WIC agency 

and submitted to the Nutrition Services Branch. 

(15) "New authorized WIC vendor" is an authorized 

WIC vendor that has been approved to accept 

WIC for the first time and does not include 

vendors that have a previous WIC authorization 

history. 

(16) A "personal identification number" (PIN) is a 

numeric password selected and used by a WIC 

participant to authenticate the participant to the 

EBT system. 

(17) A "point of sale terminal" (POS) is an electronic 

device used to process EBT card payments at 

authorized vendor locations. 

(18) A "predominantly WIC vendor" is an "above-

50-percent vendor" as defined in 7 C.F.R. 

246.2. 

(19) A "product look-up (PLU) code" is an 

identification number placed on produce sold at 

authorized vendor locations. 

(20) "Redeemed food benefits" means the benefits 

that have been used by the WIC customer. 

(21) "Redemption" is the process by which a vendor 

receives payment from the State agency or its 
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financial agent for food benefits transacted at 

that vendor location.  

(22) "Shelf price" is the price listed on the shelf for 

the WIC supplemental food. 

(23) "SNAP-eligible food sales" means "food sales" 

as defined in 7 C.F.R. 246.2, which are those 

foods that can be purchased with Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program ("SNAP") 

benefits. 

(24) The "State agency" is the Nutrition Services 

Branch, Women's and Children's Health 

Section, Division of Public Health, North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services. 

(25) "Store" means a food retailer or free-standing 

pharmacy operating at a single, fixed location. 

(26) "Supplemental food" or "WIC supplemental 

food" is a food that satisfies the requirements of 

10A NCAC 43D .0501. 

(27) "Support costs" are clinic costs, administrative 

costs, and nutrition education costs. 

(28) "Transaction" is the process by which a WIC 

customer tenders food benefits at an authorized 

vendor in exchange for authorized 

supplemental foods. 

(29) "Universal Product Code (UPC)" means an 

identification code printed on the packaging of 

WIC approved foods sold at WIC authorized 

vendor locations. 

(30) "Vendor applicant" is a store that has submitted 

an application to become an authorized WIC 

vendor but is not yet authorized. 

(31) A "vendor overcharge" is intentionally or 

unintentionally charging more for supplemental 

food provided to a WIC customer than to a non-

WIC customer or charging more than the 

current shelf price for supplemental food 

provided to a WIC customer. 

(32) A "WIC corporate agreement" is a single WIC 

Vendor Agreement with a corporate entity that 

has 20 or more stores authorized as WIC 

vendors under the Agreement. 

(33) "WIC customer" means a WIC participant, 

parent, or caretaker of an infant or child 

participant, proxy for the eligible participant, or 

compliance investigator who transacts food 

benefits at a vendor in exchange for WIC 

supplemental food. 

(34) "WIC program" means the Special 

Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants, and Children authorized by 42 U.S.C. 

1786 of the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 as 

amended. 

(b)  A copy of 7 C.F.R. Part 246 is available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.2; 7 

C.F.R. 246.9; 7 C.F.R. 246.12; 7 C.F.R. 246.18; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. December 6, 1991; November 1, 1990; July 1, 

1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; February 1, 2013; October 1, 

2009; April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0408 WAITING LIST 

(a)  A waiting list shall be established in accordance with 7 C.F.R. 

246.7(f), which is incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(b)  Local WIC agencies maintaining a waiting list shall continue 

to provide WIC program benefits to all individuals enrolled in the 

program until the expiration of their certification period. 

(c)  Local WIC agencies shall enroll individuals in a manner 

which ensures that applicants in a higher priority level are first 

given an opportunity to receive food benefits in accordance with 

7 C.F.R. 246.7(e)(4) which is incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.7; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; November 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0501 SUPPLEMENTAL FOODS 

(a)  The foods that may be provided to WIC program participants 

are specified in 7 C.F.R. 246.10, which is incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

This material is available for inspection at the Department of 

Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, 5601 Six 

Forks Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 and may be obtained 

from Nutrition Services at no cost. 

(b)  The following exclusions from the food package have been 

adopted by the North Carolina WIC Program:  

(1) mackerel and sardines; 

(2) goat milk; and 

(3) dried fruits and vegetables. 

(c)  The State agency may exclude foods other than those 

described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule if it determines such foods 

to be inappropriate for provision as supplemental foods through 

the WIC Program as a result of their cost, nutritional composition, 

packaging, statewide availability, participant redemption data, or 

promotion in a manner which is contrary to the purpose of the 

program as contained in 7 C.F.R. 246.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.10; 42 

U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; October 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; 

October 1, 1988; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0701 THE NORTH CAROLINA 

AUTOMATED WIC SYSTEM 

The WIC program shall provide supplemental foods through a 

uniform EBT retail distribution system in accordance with 7 

C.F.R. 246.12. Local agencies shall use an automated data 

processing system to promote the provision of and accounting for 

food benefits issued to participants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 7 

C.F.R. 246.12; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0702 ISSUANCE OF FOOD BENEFITS 

(a)  Local WIC agencies shall issue WIC program food benefits 

to program participants in a manner which ensures that 

participants can receive the supplemental foods that have been 

prescribed for them in accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.10, which is 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(b)  Local WIC agencies shall issue food benefits and shall retain 

documentation of issuance. The documentation of issuance shall 

include the dated signature of the authorized individual receiving 

the food benefits, as set out in Subparagraph (c) of this Rule.  

(c)  Food benefits shall be issued only to the participant, the 

participant's parent, the participant's caretaker, a proxy, or a 

representative of the program completing a compliance buy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.2; 7 

C.F.R. 246.10; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0703 USE OF FOOD BENEFITS 

(a)  Participants may transact food benefits on any day on or 

between the "First Date to Spend" and "Last Date to Spend" for 

their certification period, as defined in 7 C.F.R. 246.7(g), which 

is incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(b)  Food benefits shall be transacted only at authorized WIC 

vendors in accordance with the terms of the signed WIC Vendor 

Agreement and WIC program rules, regulations, and statutes. 

Authorized WIC vendors shall not be reimbursed for food benefits 

that are not properly transacted as set forth in Rule .0708 of this 

Section.  

(c)  Authorized WIC vendors shall have their bank account 

credited with payments for completed EBT transactions. Food 

benefits shall not be assigned, transferred, sold, or otherwise 

negotiated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.7; 7 

C.F.R. 246.12; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0704 VALIDITY OF WIC FOOD 

INSTRUMENTS AND CASH-VALUE VOUCHERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 

U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1989; July 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0705 PAYMENT OF WIC FOOD 

BENEFITS 

The State of North Carolina shall: 

(1) accept EBT transactions for North Carolina 

WIC food benefits through the Federal Reserve 

and commercial banking systems; 

(2) provide payment for all valid WIC food 

benefits. To the extent that funds are available 

in the WIC disbursing account, payment shall 

be provided by the Department of Health and 

Human Services.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 7 

C.F.R. 246.12; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0706 VENDOR PEER GROUPS 

Vendor applicants and authorized vendors shall be placed into 

peer groups in accordance with as follows: 

(1) When annual WIC supplemental food sales are 

not yet available due to a vendor being newly 

authorized, vendor applicants and authorized 

vendors, excluding chain stores, stores under a 

WIC corporate agreement, military 

commissaries, and free-standing pharmacies, 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 3, 2020 

1369 

shall be placed into peer groups based on the 

number of cash registers in the store and the 

geographic location of the store until annual 

WIC supplemental food sales become 

available.  

WIC sales figures of new authorized WIC 

vendors shall be reviewed six months from 

authorization. A vendor whose first six months 

of WIC sales exceed twenty five thousand 

dollars ($25,000) shall be placed in a peer group 

based on redemption. 

(2) Authorized vendors for which annual WIC 

supplemental food sales are available, 

including chain stores, stores under a WIC 

corporate agreement, military commissaries, 

and free-standing pharmacies, shall be placed 

into peer groups, as set forth in 7 CFR 

246.12(g)(4) and 7 CFR 246.12(h)(3), which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(3) "Annual WIC supplemental food sales" is the 

dollar amount an authorized vendor redeems in 

WIC food benefits within a 12-month period. 

(4) In determining a vendor's peer group 

designation based on annual WIC supplemental 

food sales, the State agency shall look at the 

most recent 12-month period of redemption 

data. 

(5) If the State agency determines that a vendor 

applicant is expected to be a predominantly 

WIC vendor as defined in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, the vendor application shall be 

denied. The store must wait 90 days to reapply 

for vendor authorization. The State agency shall 

apply the methodology set forth in 7 CFR 

246.12(g)(4)(i)(E) for determining whether a 

vendor applicant is expected to be a 

predominantly WIC vendor. 

(6) If at any time during a vendor's authorization 

the State agency determines that the vendor has 

become a predominantly WIC vendor as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, the 

vendor's WIC Vendor Agreement shall be 

terminated. The store shall wait 90 days to 

reapply for vendor authorization. The State 

agency shall apply the methodology set forth in 

7 CFR 246.12(g)(4)(i)(F) for determining 

whether an authorized vendor has become a 

predominantly WIC vendor. 

(7) A vendor applicant previously authorized in a 

peer group based on annual WIC supplemental 

food sales that is being reauthorized following 

the nonrenewal or termination of its agreement 

or disqualification or withdrawal from the WIC 

Program shall be placed into the same peer 

group the vendor applicant was previously in, 

provided that no more than one year has passed 

since the nonrenewal, termination, 

disqualification or withdrawal. If more than one 

year has passed, the vendor applicant shall be 

placed into a peer group using criteria for new 

vendor applicants as set forth in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.12; 42 

U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; October 1, 1993; May 1, 1991; 

December 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 23, 2000; May 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2002; July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2013; October 1, 2009; February 1, 

2008; April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0707 VENDOR APPLICANTS 

To become authorized as a WIC vendor, a vendor applicant shall 

comply with the following vendor selection criteria: 

(1) A vendor applicant shall complete a WIC 

Vendor Application, as set forth in Item (20) of 

this Rule, a WIC Price List, as set forth in Item 

(4) of this Rule, and a WIC Vendor Agreement, 

as set forth in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(h)(3). A vendor 

applicant shall submit its current highest shelf 

price for each WIC supplemental food listed on 

the WIC Price List, as set forth in Item (4) of 

this Rule. 

(2) A vendor applicant, at the time of application 

and throughout the term of authorization, shall 

submit all completed forms to the local WIC 

agency, except that a corporate entity operating 

under a WIC corporate agreement shall submit 

one completed WIC corporate agreement and 

the WIC Price Lists to the State agency and a 

separate WIC Vendor Application for each 

store to the local WIC agency. A corporate 

entity operating under a WIC corporate 

agreement may submit a single WIC Price List 

for those stores that have the same prices for 

WIC supplemental foods in each store, rather 

than submitting a separate WIC Price List for 

each store. 

(3) A vendor applicant shall purchase all infant 

formula, exempt infant formula, and WIC-

eligible nutritionals directly from: 

(a) The sources specified in 42 U.S.C 

1786(h)(8)(A)(ix), which is 

incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions; 
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(b) Retail food stores that purchase 

directly from the sources referenced in 

Sub-item (3)(a) of this Item; or 

(c) A source on another state's list of 

approved infant formula sources as 

verified by that state's agency. 

A vendor applicant shall make available to the 

State or local WIC agency invoices or receipts 

documenting purchases of all infant formula, 

exempt infant formula, and WIC-eligible 

nutritionals. Receipts and invoices shall satisfy 

the requirements of Sub-items (24)(a) through 

(24)(c) of Rule .0708 of this Section. A vendor 

applicant shall not be authorized if within the 

last year the vendor applicant had a previous 

WIC Vendor Agreement terminated for failure 

to purchase infant formula, exempt infant 

formula, or WIC-eligible nutritionals from the 

sources specified in this Item. A vendor 

applicant shall not be authorized if within the 

last year the vendor applicant had a previous 

WIC Vendor Agreement terminated for 

providing infant formula, exempt infant 

formula, or WIC-eligible nutritionals to WIC 

customers that was not purchased from the 

sources specified in this Item. 

(4) A vendor applicant's current highest shelf price 

for each WIC supplemental food listed on the 

WIC Price List shall not exceed the maximum 

price set by the State agency for each 

supplemental food within that vendor 

applicant's peer group, except as provided in 

Sub-item (4)(b) of this Item. The maximum 

price for each supplemental food shall be 

established as follows: 

(a) The most recent prices submitted 

through the EBT system by authorized 

vendors within the same peer group 

shall be used to determine the 

maximum price for each supplemental 

food. The maximum price shall be two 

standard deviations above the average 

current highest shelf price of each 

supplemental food within a vendor 

peer group. The State agency shall 

reassess the maximum price set for 

each supplemental food at least four 

times a year. 

(b) If any of the vendor applicant's 

price(s) on its WIC Price List exceed 

the maximum price(s) set by the State 

agency for that applicant's peer group, 

the State agency shall send the 

applicant written notice. Within 30 

days of the date of receipt of the 

written notice, the vendor applicant 

may resubmit price(s) that it will 

charge the State WIC Program for 

those foods that exceeded the 

maximum price(s). If none of the 

vendor applicant's resubmitted prices 

exceed the maximum prices set by the 

State agency, the vendor applicant 

shall be deemed to have met the 

requirements of Item (4) of this Rule. 

If any of the vendor applicant's 

resubmitted prices still exceed the 

maximum prices set by the State 

agency, or the vendor applicant does 

not resubmit prices within 30 days of 

the date of receipt of the written 

notice, the agency shall send the 

applicant a written notice of denial. 

The vendor applicant shall wait 90 

days from the date of receipt of the 

written denial to reapply for 

authorization. 

(5) A vendor applicant shall pass an announced 

monitoring review by the local WIC agency to 

determine whether the store has minimum 

inventory of supplemental foods as specified in 

Item (17) of Rule .0708 of this Section. A 

vendor applicant that fails this review shall be 

allowed a second opportunity for an 

unannounced monitoring review within 14 

days. If the applicant fails both reviews, the 

application shall be denied in writing and the 

applicant shall wait 90 days from the date of the 

second monitoring review before submitting a 

new application. 

(6) A vendor applicant shall either attend, or cause 

a manager or another authorized store 

representative to attend, WIC Vendor Training 

provided by the local WIC agency prior to 

vendor authorization and ensure that the vendor 

applicant's employees receive instruction in 

WIC program procedures and requirements. 

(7) An applicant shall mark the current shelf prices 

of all WIC supplemental foods on the foods or 

have the prices posted on the shelf or display 

case at all times. 

(8) The store shall be at a single, fixed location 

within North Carolina. The store shall be 

located at the address indicated on the WIC 

vendor application and shall be the site where 

WIC supplemental foods are selected by the 

WIC customer. 

(9) A vendor applicant shall use point of sale (POS) 

terminals to support the WIC Program that are 

deployed in accordance with the minimum lane 

coverage provisions of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(z)(2)(ii). 

(10) The store shall be open throughout the year for 

business with the public at least six days a week 

for at least 40 hours per week between 8:00 a.m. 

and 11:00 p.m. 

(11) The store shall not use the acronym "WIC" or 

the WIC logo, including facsimiles, in total or 
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in part, in the official name under which the 

business is registered or in the name under 

which it does business. 

(12) A vendor applicant shall not submit false, 

erroneous, or misleading information in an 

application to become an authorized WIC 

vendor or in subsequent documents submitted 

to the state or local WIC agency. A vendor 

applicant shall not be authorized if within the 

last year the vendor applicant had a previous 

WIC Vendor Agreement terminated for 

submitting false, erroneous, or misleading 

information. 

(13) The owner(s), officer(s), or manager(s) of a 

vendor applicant shall not be employed, or have 

a spouse, child, or parent who is employed by 

the State WIC program, or the local WIC 

program serving the county where the vendor 

applicant conducts business. A vendor 

applicant shall not have an employee who 

handles or transacts WIC food benefits who is 

employed, or has a spouse, child, or parent who 

is employed by the State WIC program or the 

local WIC program serving the county where 

the vendor applicant conducts business. Such 

situations present a conflict of interest. 

(14) WIC vendor authorization shall be denied if in 

the last six years any of the vendor applicant's 

current owners, officers, or managers have been 

convicted of or had a civil judgment entered 

against them for any activity indicating a lack 

of business integrity, including fraud, antitrust 

violations, embezzlement, theft, forgery, 

bribery, falsification or destruction of records, 

making false statements, receiving stolen 

property, making false claims, and obstruction 

of justice, as set out in 7 C.F.R 246.12(g)(3)(ii). 

For purposes of this Item, "convicted" or 

"conviction" includes: 

(a) a plea of guilty; 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, 

judge, magistrate, or adjudicating 

body, tribunal, or official, either 

civilian or military; 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, 

or the equivalent; or 

(d) entry of a prayer for judgment 

continued following a conviction as 

defined in this Item is the same as a 

conviction for purposes of this Item. 

(15) A vendor applicant shall not be authorized if it 

is currently disqualified from the Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program ("SNAP") or it 

has been assessed a SNAP civil money penalty 

for hardship and the disqualification period that 

otherwise would have been imposed has not 

expired. 

(16) A vendor applicant, excluding chain stores and 

stores under a WIC corporate agreement that 

have a separate manager on site for each store, 

shall not have an owner who holds a financial 

interest in any of the following: 

(a) a SNAP vendor that is disqualified 

from participation in SNAP or has 

been assessed a civil money penalty 

for hardship in lieu of disqualification 

and the time period during which the 

disqualification would have run, had a 

penalty not been paid, has not expired; 

or 

(b) another WIC vendor that is 

disqualified from participation in the 

WIC Program or has been assessed a 

monetary or civil money penalty 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-22(c1), 

Paragraph (e) or Paragraph (f) of Rule 

.0710 of this Section as the result of 

violation of Paragraphs (a) or (b) of 

Rule .0710 of this Section and if 

assessed a penalty, the time during 

which the disqualification would have 

run, had a penalty not been assessed, 

has not expired. 

The requirements of this Item shall not be met 

by the transfer or conveyance of financial 

interest during the period of disqualification. 

Additionally, the requirements of this Item shall 

not be met even if such transfer or conveyance 

of financial interest in a SNAP vendor under 

Sub-item (16)(a) of this Item ends the 

disqualification period applicable to that SNAP 

vendor earlier than the disqualification period 

otherwise would have expired. The 

requirements of this Item shall apply until the 

time the SNAP vendor disqualification 

otherwise would have expired. 

(17) A vendor applicant, excluding free-standing 

pharmacies, shall have SNAP authorization for 

the store as a prerequisite for WIC vendor 

authorization and shall provide its SNAP 

authorization number to the State agency. 

(18) A vendor applicant shall not become authorized 

as a WIC vendor if the store has been 

disqualified from participation in the WIC 

Program and the disqualification period has not 

expired. A vendor applicant shall not be 

authorized as a WIC vendor if any of the vendor 

applicant's owner(s), officer(s) or manager(s) 

currently has or previously had a financial 

interest in a WIC vendor that was assessed a 

claim by the WIC Program and the claim has 

not been paid in full. 

(19) A vendor applicant shall enter into contract 

with the State WIC Program's EBT processor or 

a certified third party processor prior to WIC 

authorization and comply with all requirements 

detailed in the EBT or third party processor's 

Vendor Agreement. 
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(20) A WIC Vendor Application shall include the 

following information: 

(a) The store name, physical address, and 

hours of operation; 

(b) The type of ownership under which 

the vendor operates; 

(c) The names and contact information of 

owners or officers; 

(d) Annual food sales data and 

percentages for the following tender 

types: cash, credit, debit, SNAP, and 

WIC; 

(e) The store's SNAP authorization 

number and history of SNAP 

participation, if a retail grocery store; 

and 

(f) Other information that the store is 

required to provide to the State agency 

in accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12. 

For a food retailer or free-standing pharmacy to participate in the 

WIC Program, a current WIC Vendor Agreement shall be signed 

by the vendor, the local WIC agency, and the State agency. If an 

application for status as an authorized WIC vendor is denied, the 

applicant is entitled to an administrative appeal as described in 

Section .0800 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3); 7 C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3)(ii); 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(h)(3)(xix); 7 C.F.R. 246.12(t); 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. February 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0708 AUTHORIZED VENDORS 

By signing the WIC Vendor Agreement, the vendor agrees to: 

(1) Process WIC Program food benefits in 

accordance with the terms of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement and 42 U.S.C. 1786, 7 C.F.R. 246.1-

246.28, and the rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) Accept WIC Program food benefits in exchange 

for WIC supplemental foods. Supplemental 

foods are those foods that satisfy the 

requirements of 10A NCAC 43D .0501; 

(3) Provide to the WIC customer only the approved 

supplemental foods, fruits, and vegetables 

contained in the authorized product list (APL) 

after it has been determined that the WIC 

customer has an available balance on the date 

of the transaction. The WIC customer is not 

required to get all of the supplemental foods 

listed on his or her food benefit balance. 

However, a WIC customer may obtain more 

fruits and vegetables than the full dollar value 

of his or her cash-value benefit if the WIC 

customer pays the difference, as set forth in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(h)(3)(xi); 

(4) Transmit only the current shelf price of all 

WIC-approved supplemental foods purchased 

in the correct sizes, quantities, and the total 

dollar amount of all WIC-approved 

supplemental foods purchased in the EBT 

system and shall not charge or collect sales 

taxes for the supplemental food provided; 

(5) Charge no more for supplemental food 

provided to a WIC customer than to a non-WIC 

customer or no more than the current shelf 

price, whichever is less; 

(6) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the maximum price set by the State 

agency for each supplemental food within that 

vendor's peer group. The maximum price for 

each supplemental food shall be based on the 

maximum prices set by the State agency for 

each supplemental food, as described in Sub-

item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section. A 

request for payment submitted over the 

maximum price allowed by the State agency 

will only be paid up to the maximum price for 

that supplemental food; 

(7) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the full dollar value of the cash-value 

benefit; 

(8) Not charge the State WIC Program more than 

the maximum price set by the State agency 

under Item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

for each supplemental food within the vendor's 

peer group; 

(9) Provide to WIC customers infant formula, 

exempt infant formula, and WIC eligible 

nutritionals purchased only from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section. Providing infant formula, exempt 

infant formula, or WIC eligible nutritionals that 

has not been purchased from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section shall result in termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement; 

(10) For free-standing pharmacies, provide only 

exempt infant formula and WIC-eligible 

nutritionals; 

(11) Excluding free-standing pharmacies, redeem at 

least two thousand dollars ($2,000) annually in 

WIC supplemental food sales. Failure to 

redeem at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

annually in WIC supplemental food sales shall 

result in termination of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement. The store shall wait 180 days to 

reapply for authorization; 

(12) Ensure that a personal identification number 

(PIN) is used by the WIC customer to complete 

the EBT transaction in lieu of a signature; 

(13) Ensure that the WIC customer enters the PIN to 

initiate the EBT transaction. The vendor shall 

not enter the PIN for the WIC customer; 
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(14) Not transact food benefits in whole or in part 

for cash, credit, unauthorized foods, or non-

food items; 

(15) Not provide refunds or permit exchanges for 

authorized supplemental foods obtained with 

food benefits, except for exchanges of an 

identical authorized supplemental food when 

the original authorized supplemental food is 

defective, spoiled, or has exceeded its "sell by," 

"best if used by," or other date limiting the sale 

or use of the food. An "identical authorized 

supplemental food" means the exact brand, type 

and size as the original authorized supplemental 

food obtained and returned by the WIC 

customer; 

(16) Notify the local WIC agency of misuse 

(attempted or actual) of WIC Program food 

benefits; 

(17) Maintain a minimum inventory of supplemental 

foods in the store for purchase. Supplemental 

foods that are outside of the manufacturer's 

expiration date do not count towards meeting 

the minimum inventory requirement. Free-

standing pharmacies are not required to 

maintain a minimum inventory of supplemental 

foods. The following items and sizes constitute 

the minimum inventory of supplemental foods 

for vendors: 

 

Food Item Type of Inventory Quantities Required 

Milk 

Whole fluid: gallon 

-and- 

Skim/lowfat fluid: gallon 

2 gallons 

 

6 gallons  

Cheese 1 pound package 2 packages 

Cereals 
2 types: whole grain 

(minimum package size 12 ounce) 
6 packages total 

Eggs 
Grade A, large, white: 

1 dozen size carton 
2 dozen 

Juices 

Single strength: 

48 ounce container 

64 ounce container 

 

4 containers 

4 containers 

Dried Peas and Beans 1 pound package 2 packages 

Peanut Butter 16 to 18 ounce container 2 containers 

Tuna 5 to 6 ounce can 6 cans 

Bread/Tortillas 16 ounce loaf of bread or package of tortillas 
2 loaves or 2 packages OR 1 

loaf and 1 package 

Rice 14 to 16 ounce package 2 packages 

Infant Cereal 8 ounce box 6 boxes 

Infant Fruits and 

Vegetables 

3.5 to 4 ounce container 

1 type of fruit and 1 type of vegetable 
64 ounces 

Infant Formula 

milk-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

-and- 

soy-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

Brands must be the primary contract infant formulas 

 

8 cans 

 

4 cans 

 

 

Fruits 14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 

Vegetables 14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 
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(Excludes foods in 

Dried Peas and Beans 

category) 

All vendors, except free-standing pharmacies, shall supply milk or soy-based infant formula in 32 ounce ready-to-feed or powder within 

48 hours of request by the State or local WIC agency. Free-standing pharmacies shall only supply exempt infant formula or WIC-eligible 

nutritionals. Free-standing pharmacies shall supply exempt infant formula or WIC-eligible nutritionals within 48 hours of a request; 

 

(18) Ensure that all supplemental foods in the store 

for purchase are within the manufacturer's 

expiration date; 

(19) Permit the purchase of supplemental food 

without requiring other purchases; 

(20) Comply with the following EBT provisions: 

(a) Sign the WIC Vendor Agreement of 

the EBT Processor selected by the 

State WIC Program or a third-party 

processor that has been certified 

according to criteria established by the 

EBT Processor selected by the State 

WIC Program. Failure by a vendor to 

sign and retain a WIC Vendor 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor shall result in termination of 

the WIC Vendor Agreement. Vendors 

shall notify the WIC Program within 

24 hours of any periods of time during 

which they do not maintain an 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor; 

(b) Process EBT transactions in 

accordance with the terms of the North 

Carolina WIC Vendor Agreement, 

WIC Program State Rules, federal 

regulations, and statutes; 

(c) Maintain Point of Sale (POS) 

terminals used to support the WIC 

Program in accordance with the 

minimum lane provisions of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(z)(2); 

(d) Maintain a North Carolina EBT 

Processor certified in-store EBT 

system that is available for WIC 

redemption processing during all 

hours the store is open; 

(e) Request the North Carolina EBT 

Processor re-certify its in-store system 

if the vendor alters or revises the 

system in any manner that impacts the 

EBT redemption or claims processing 

system after initial certification is 

completed; 

(f) For vendors with integrated systems, 

obtain EBT card readers to support 

EBT transactions within their store(s). 

The vendor shall ensure that the EBT 

card readers they obtain meets all EBT 

and North Carolina EBT Processor 

requirements; 

(g) Require an owner, manager, or other 

authorized store representative to 

complete training on WIC EBT 

procedures. The vendor shall ensure 

that all cashiers and staff are trained on 

WIC EBT requirements, including 

training in the acceptance and 

processing of WIC EBT transactions; 

(h) Require the WIC customer to approve 

the WIC transaction. Vendors shall 

ensure that the vendor's staff does not 

approve the WIC transactions for WIC 

customers under any circumstances; 

(i) Release supplemental food to WIC 

customers when the transaction has 

been completed to include receipt of 

transaction approval by the EBT 

processing system, printing of the 

receipt, and updated balance of the 

WIC customer's account; 

(j) Scan or manually enter Universal 

Product Codes (UPC) only from 

approved supplemental foods being 

purchased by the WIC customer in the 

types, sizes, and quantities available 

on the WIC customer's EBT account. 

The vendor shall not scan codes from 

UPC codebooks or reference sheets; 

(k) Return any EBT card found on the 

vendor's property and unclaimed for 

24 hours to the WIC Program. The 

vendor shall not hold or use a WIC 

customer's EBT card and PIN for any 

purpose whatsoever; 

(l) Connect the vendor's in-store system 

for each outlet covered by the WIC 

Vendor agreement to the State's WIC 

EBT system at least once each 24-hour 

period to download reconciliation files 

and the WIC Authorized Product 

UPC/Product Look-Up (PLU) list. 

(21) Attend, or cause a manager or other authorized 

store representative to attend, annual vendor 

training upon notification by the local WIC 

agency. Failure to attend annual vendor training 

by September 30 of each year shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement; 
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(22) Inform and train vendor's cashiers and other 

staff on WIC Program requirements; 

(23) Be accountable for the actions of its owners, 

officers, managers, agents, and employees who 

commit vendor violations; 

(24) Allow monitoring and inspection by State and 

local WIC Program staff of the store premises 

and procedures to ensure compliance with the 

agreement and State, and federal WIC Program 

rules, regulations, and applicable law. This 

includes providing access to all program-

related records, including access to all WIC 

food instruments and cash-value vouchers at the 

store; vendor records pertinent to the purchase 

and sale of WIC supplemental foods, including 

invoices, receipts, copies of purchase orders, 

and any other proofs of purchase; federal and 

state corporate and individual income tax and 

sales and use tax returns and all records 

pertinent to these returns; and books and 

records of all financial and business 

transactions. These records shall be retained by 

the vendor for a period of three years or until 

any audit pertaining to these records is resolved, 

whichever is later. Notwithstanding any other 

provision of this Rule and Rules .0707 and 

.0710 of this Section, failure or inability to 

provide these records for an inventory audit or 

providing false records for an inventory audit 

shall be deemed a violation of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

Rule .0710 of this Section. Invoices, receipts, 

purchase orders, and any other proofs of 

purchase for WIC supplemental foods shall 

include: 

(a) the name of the seller and be prepared 

entirely by the seller without alteration 

by the vendor or on the seller's 

business letterhead; 

(b) the date of purchase and the date the 

authorized vendor received the WIC 

supplemental food at the store if 

different from the date of purchase; 

and 

(c) a description of each WIC 

supplemental food item purchased, 

including brand name, unit size, type 

or form, and quantity; 

(25) Maintain a record of all SNAP-eligible food 

sales and provide to the State agency upon 

request a statement of the total amount of 

revenue derived from SNAP-eligible food sales 

and written documentation to support the 

amount of sales claimed by the vendor, such as 

sales records, financial statements, reports, tax 

documents, or other verifiable documentation; 

(26) Submit a current completed WIC Price List 

when signing this agreement, and within two 

weeks of any written request by the State or 

local WIC agency; 

(27) Reimburse the State agency in full or agree to a 

repayment schedule with the State agency 

within 30 days of written notification of a claim 

assessed due to a vendor violation that affects 

payment to the vendor. Failure to reimburse the 

State agency in full or agree to a repayment 

schedule within 30 days of written notification 

of a claim shall result in termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement. Payment of a claim by the 

vendor for a vendor violation(s) shall not 

absolve the vendor of the violation(s). The 

vendor shall also be subject to any vendor 

sanctions authorized under Rule .0710 of this 

Section for the vendor violation(s); 

(28) Not seek restitution from the WIC customer for 

reimbursement paid by the vendor to the State 

agency or for WIC food benefits not paid or 

partially paid by the State agency. Additionally, 

the vendor shall not charge the WIC customer 

for authorized supplemental foods obtained 

with food benefits; 

(29) Not contact a WIC customer outside the store 

regarding the transaction or redemption of WIC 

food benefits; 

(30) Notify the local WIC agency in writing at least 

30 days prior to a change of ownership, change 

in store location, cessation of operations, or 

withdrawal from the WIC Program. Change of 

ownership, change in store location of more 

than three miles from the store's previous 

location, cessation of operations, withdrawal 

from the WIC Program, or disqualification 

from the WIC Program shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement by 

the State agency. Change of ownership, change 

in store location, ceasing operations, 

withdrawal from the WIC Program, or 

nonrenewal of the WIC Vendor Agreement 

shall not stop a disqualification period 

applicable to the store; 

(31) Not discriminate on the basis of WIC 

participation, such as failing to offer WIC 

customers the same courtesies, as set forth in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(h)(3)(iii), offered to other 

customers or requiring separate WIC lines; 

(32) Reapply to continue to be authorized beyond 

the period of its current WIC Vendor 

Agreement. Additionally, a store shall reapply 

to become authorized following the expiration 

of a disqualification period or termination of the 

Agreement. In all cases, the vendor applicant is 

subject to the vendor peer group criteria set 

forth in 7 CFR 246.12(g)(4), 7 CFR 

246.12(h)(3), and the vendor selection criteria 

of Rule .0707 of this Section; and 

(33) Comply with all the requirements for vendor 

applicants of Items (3), (4), and (7) through 
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(17), and (19) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

throughout the term of authorization. The State 

agency may reassess a vendor at any time 

during the vendor's period of authorization to 

determine compliance with these requirements. 

The State agency shall terminate the WIC 

Vendor Agreement of any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (3), (4), (8), (9), (10), (11), 

(12), (13), (14), (16), (17), or (19) of Rule .0707 

of this Section during the vendor's period of 

authorization, and terminate the agreement of 

or sanction or both any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (7), (15), (17),or (19) of 

Rule .0707 of this Section during the vendor's 

period of authorization. 

(34) Permit the State agency to reassess the peer 

group designation at any time during the 

vendor's agreement period and place the vendor 

in a different peer group if upon reassessment 

the State agency determines that the vendor is 

no longer in the appropriate peer group. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.12; 42 

U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. March 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0710 VENDOR VIOLATIONS AND 

SANCTIONS 

(a)  Title 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(i) through (vi) and (xii) are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. In accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(i), the State 

agency shall not allow imposition of a civil money penalty in lieu 

of disqualification for a vendor permanently disqualified. A 

pattern, as referenced in 7 CFR 246.12 (l)(1)(iii)(B) through (F) 

and 246.12(l)(1)(iv)(A), shall be established as follows: 

(1) claiming reimbursement for the sale of an 

amount of a specific supplemental food item 

that exceeds the store's documented inventory 

of that supplemental food item for six or more 

days within a 60-day period. The six or more 

days do not have to be consecutive days within 

the 60-day period. Failure or inability to 

provide records or providing false records 

required under Item (24) of Rule .0708 of this 

Section for an inventory audit shall be deemed 

a violation of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and 

this Subparagraph; 

(2) two occurrences of vendor overcharging within 

a 12-month period; 

(3) two occurrences of receiving, transacting, or 

redeeming food benefits outside of authorized 

channels, including the use of an unauthorized 

vendor or an unauthorized person within a 12-

month period; 

(4) two occurrences of charging for supplemental 

food not received by the WIC customer within 

a 12-month period; 

(5) two occurrences of providing credit or non-food 

items, other than alcohol, alcoholic beverages, 

tobacco products, cash, firearms, ammunition, 

explosives, or controlled substances as defined 

in 21 U.S.C. 802, in exchange for food benefits 

within a 12-month period; or 

(6) three occurrences of providing unauthorized 

food items in exchange for food benefits, 

including charging for supplemental food 

provided in excess of those listed on the food 

benefit balance within a 12-month period. 

(b)  Title 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(2)(i) is incorporated by reference with 

all subsequent amendments and editions. Except as provided in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12 (l)(1)(xii), a vendor shall be disqualified from the 

WIC Program for the following State-established violations in 

accordance with the number of occurrences and sanctions set forth 

below: 

(1) One year for two occurrences within a 12-

month period of discrimination on the basis of 

WIC participation as referenced in Item (31) of 

Rule .0708. Each date this violation is detected 

is a separate occurrence; 

(2) One year for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to properly transact 

WIC food benefits by manually entering the 

EBT card number or entering the PIN into the 

POS instead of the WIC participant, scanning 

the UPC or PLU codes from UPC codebooks or 

reference sheets when completing a WIC 

participant's EBT transaction, not entering the 

correct quantity and item price, or not providing 

the WIC participant with a receipt that shows 

the items purchased and the participant's 

remaining food benefit balance. Except as 

provided in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3)(iv), each 

improper transaction is a separate occurrence; 

(3) One year for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of requiring a cash purchase to 

transact WIC food benefits. Except as provided 

in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3)(iv), each transaction 

requiring a cash purchase is a separate 

occurrence; 

(4) 270 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of contacting a WIC customer in 

an attempt to recoup funds for food benefits or 

contacting a WIC customer outside the store 

regarding the transaction or redemption of WIC 

food benefits. Each contact with any WIC 

customer is a separate occurrence, whether each 

contact is with the same or different WIC 

customers; 

(5) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to provide program-

related records referenced in Item (24) of Rule 

.0708 when requested by WIC staff, except as 

provided in Item (24) of Rule .0708 and 
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Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule for failure or 

inability to provide records for an inventory 

audit. Each request for records is a separate 

occurrence, whether each request is for the 

same or different records; 

(6) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to provide the 

information referenced in Item (25) of Rule 

.0708 when requested by WIC staff. Each 

request for information is a separate 

occurrence, whether each request is for the 

same or different information; 

(7) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to stock the minimum 

inventory specified in Item (17) of Rule .0708. 

Each date this violation is detected is a separate 

occurrence; 

(8) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of stocking WIC supplemental 

foods outside of the manufacturer's expiration 

date. Each date this violation is detected is a 

separate occurrence; 

(9) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to allow monitoring of 

a store by WIC staff. Each attempt to monitor 

the store is a separate occurrence; 

(10) 90 days for five occurrences within a 12-month 

period of failure to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Item (26) of Rule .0708. Each 

written request by the State or local WIC 

agency for submission of a WIC Price List is a 

separate occurrence, whether each request is for 

the same or different WIC Price Lists; 

(11) 60 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to mark the current shelf 

prices of all WIC supplemental foods on the 

foods or have the prices posted on the shelf or 

display case. Each date this violation is detected 

is a separate occurrence;  

(12) 60 days for five occurrences within a 12-month 

period of requiring the purchase of a specific 

brand when more than one WIC supplemental 

food brand is available. Except as provided in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3)(iv), each transaction 

requiring the purchase of a specific brand when 

more than one WIC supplemental food brand is 

available is a separate occurrence; 

(13) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to make EBT point of 

sale equipment accessible to WIC customers to 

ensure that EBT transactions are completed in 

accordance with Rule .0708; and 

(14) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to comply with 

minimum lane coverage criteria required by 7 

CFR 246.12(z)(2) and Rule .0708(20)(c) of this 

Section; 

If during the course of a single investigation the State agency 

determines that a vendor has committed multiple State-

established violations, the disqualification periods shall be 

cumulative, provided that the total period of disqualification shall 

not exceed one year for State-established violations investigated 

as part of a single investigation, as defined in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  For investigations pursuant to this Section, a single 

investigation is: 

(1) Compliance buy(s) conducted by undercover 

investigators within a 12-month period to detect 

the following violations: 

(A) buying or selling food benefits for 

cash (trafficking); 

(B) selling firearms, ammunition, 

explosives, or controlled substances as 

defined in 21 U.S.C. 802, in exchange 

for food benefits; 

(C) selling alcohol or alcoholic beverages 

or tobacco products in exchange for 

food benefits; 

(D) vendor overcharging; 

(E) receiving, transacting, or redeeming 

food benefits outside of authorized 

channels, including the use of an 

unauthorized vendor or an 

unauthorized person; 

(F) charging for supplemental food not 

received by the WIC customer; 

(G) providing credit or non-food items, 

other than alcohol, alcoholic 

beverages, tobacco products, cash, 

firearms, ammunition, explosives, or 

controlled substances as defined in 21 

U.S.C. 802, in exchange for food 

benefits; 

(H) providing unauthorized food items in 

exchange for food benefits, including 

charging for supplemental food 

provided in excess of those listed on 

the food benefit balance; 

(I) failure to properly transact WIC food 

benefits by manually entering the EBT 

card number or entering the PIN into 

the POS instead of the WIC 

participant, scanning the UPC or PLU 

codes from UPC codebooks or 

reference sheets when completing a 

WIC participant's EBT transaction, 

not entering the correct quantity and 

item price, or not providing the WIC 

participant with a receipt that shows 

the items purchased and the 

participant's remaining food benefit 

balance; 

(J) requiring a cash purchase to transact 

WIC food benefits; or 

(K) requiring the purchase of a specific 

brand when more than one WIC 

supplemental food brand is available. 
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(2) Monitoring reviews of a vendor conducted by 

WIC staff within a 12-month period which 

detect the following violations: 

(A) failure to stock the minimum 

inventory specified in Item (17) of 

Rule .0708; 

(B) stocking WIC supplemental food 

outside of the manufacturer's 

expiration date; 

(C) failure to allow monitoring of a store 

by WIC staff; 

(D) failure to provide program-related 

records referenced in Item (24) of Rule 

.0708 when requested by WIC staff; 

(E) failure to mark the current shelf prices 

of all WIC supplemental foods on the 

foods or have the prices posted on the 

shelf or display case;  

(F) unauthorized use of the "WIC" 

acronym or the logo, as defined in 

WIC Policy Memo #2009-1, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available free of charge 

at 

https://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/clarific

ation-use-wic-acronym-and-logo; 

(G) failure to ensure that EBT point of sale 

equipment is accessible to the WIC 

customer; or 

(H) failure to comply with minimum lane 

coverage criteria required by 7 CFR 

246.12(z)(2) and Rule .0708(20)(c) of 

this Section. 

(3) Any other method used by the State or local 

agency to detect the following violations by a 

vendor within a 12-month period: 

(A) failure to attend annual vendor 

training; 

(B) failure to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Item (26) of Rule .0708; 

(C) discrimination on the basis of WIC 

participation as referenced in Item 

(31) of Rule .0708. 

(D) contacting a WIC customer in an 

attempt to recoup funds for food 

benefits or contacting a WIC customer 

outside the store regarding the 

transaction or redemption of WIC 

food benefits; 

(E) nonpayment of a claim assessed by the 

State agency; 

(F) providing false, erroneous, or 

misleading information to the State or 

local WIC agency; 

(G) claiming reimbursement for the sale of 

an amount of a specific supplemental 

food item which exceeds the store's 

documented inventory of that 

supplemental food item for a specific 

period of time, or failure or inability to 

provide records or providing false 

records required under Item (24) of 

Rule .0708 for an inventory audit; 

(H) failure to purchase infant formula, 

exempt infant formula or WIC-

eligible medical foods from the 

sources specified in Item (3) of Rule 

.0707; or 

(I) providing WIC customers infant 

formula, exempt infant formula, or 

WIC eligible medical food that was 

not purchased from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707. 

(d)  The SNAP disqualification provisions in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(1)(vii) are incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(e)  The participant access provisions of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(ix) 

and 246.12(l)(8) are incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. The existence of any of the factors 

listed in Parts (f)(3)(A), (f)(3)(B) or (f)(3)(C) of this Rule shall 

show adequate participant access provided there is no geographic 

barrier, such as an impassable mountain or river, to using the other 

authorized WIC vendors referenced in these Parts. The agency 

shall not consider other indicators of inadequate participant access 

when any of these factors exist. 

(f)  The following provisions apply to monetary and civil money 

penalties assessed in lieu of disqualification of a vendor: 

(1) The civil money penalty formula in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(l)(x) is incorporated by reference 

with all subsequent amendments and editions, 

provided that the vendor's average monthly 

redemptions shall be calculated by using the 

six-month period ending with the month 

immediately preceding the month during which 

the notice of administrative action is dated. 

(2) The State agency may also impose monetary 

penalties in accordance with G.S. 130A-22(c1) 

in lieu of disqualification of a vendor for the 

State-established violations listed in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule when the State agency 

determines that disqualification of a vendor 

would result in participant hardship in 

accordance with Subparagraph (f)(3) of this 

Paragraph. 

(3) In determining whether to disqualify a WIC 

vendor for the State-established violations 

listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the agency 

shall not consider other indicators of hardship if 

any of the following factors, which show lack 

of hardship, are found to exist: 

(A) the noncomplying vendor is located 

outside of the limits of a city, as 

defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), and 

another WIC vendor is located within 

seven miles of the noncomplying 

vendor; 
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(B) the noncomplying vendor is located 

within the limits of a city, as defined 

in G.S. 160A-1(2), and another WIC 

vendor is located within three miles of 

the noncomplying vendor; or 

(C) a WIC vendor, other than the 

noncomplying vendor, is located 

within one mile of the local agency at 

which WIC participants are certified 

to receive WIC food benefits. 

(4) The provisions for failure to pay a civil money 

penalty in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(6) are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. These provisions 

also apply to a vendor that fails to pay a 

monetary penalty imposed under G.S. 130A-

22(c1). 

(g)  The provisions of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(viii) prohibiting 

voluntary withdrawal from the WIC Program or nonrenewal of 

the WIC Vendor Agreement as an alternative to disqualification 

are incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

(h)  The provisions of 42 USC 1786 (f)(26) and 7 CFR 

246.12(l)(3) regarding vendor notification of violations are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(i)  The State agency may offset payments to an authorized vendor 

if the vendor fails to reimburse the State agency in accordance 

with Item (27) of Rule .0708. 

(j)  In accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(7) or 246.12(u)(5) or 

both, North Carolina's procedures for dealing with abuse of the 

WIC program by authorized WIC vendors under the rules of this 

Section do not exclude or replace any criminal or civil sanctions 

or other remedies that may be applicable under any federal or 

State law. 

(k)  Except as provided in 7 C.F.R. 246.18(a)(2), an authorized 

WIC vendor shall be given at least 15 days advance written notice 

of any adverse action which affects the vendor's participation in 

the WIC Program. The vendor appeal procedures shall be in 

accordance with 10A NCAC 43D .0800. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246.12; 7 

C.F.R. 246.18; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. February 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; January 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0908 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(a)  The local or State agency official shall notify the appellant, or 

his or her representative, the local WIC agency, and the Nutrition 

Services Branch in writing that a request for a hearing has been 

received.  

(b)  Notice of the date, time, and place of the hearing shall be 

given to all parties at least 10 days in advance of the hearing. 

(c)  The notice to the appellant, or his or her representative, shall 

include a stamped envelope with the return address of the agency 

official with a request that it be returned indicating whether the 

date, time, and place for the hearing is satisfactory. If a response 

is not received at least 72 hours prior to the time proposed for the 

hearing, it shall be assumed that the date, time, and place are 

satisfactory. 

(d)  The notice shall contain: 

(1) an explanation of the procedure for the hearing; 

(2) a statement of the date, hour, place and nature 

of the hearing; 

(3) a reference to the particular sections of the 

statutes and rules involved; and 

(4) a statement of the factual allegations. 

(e)  If the appellant, or his or her representative, indicates that he 

or she desires another time and date, the agency official shall set 

a new time and date for the hearing. The hearing shall be 

accessible to the appellant, or his or her representative. 

(f)  The hearing shall be held within 21 days from the date the 

agency official receives the request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 150B-22; 7 C.F.R. 

246.9; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1406 PAYMENT 

(a)  Local boards shall remit full payment of the Contractor's 

statement of account pertaining to the bailment charge within 30 

days of receipt of the statement. 

(b)  Local boards shall remit full payment of the Contractor's 

statement of account pertaining to the bailment surcharge within 

30 days of receipt of the statement. 

(c)  Local boards shall remit full payment of the distiller's invoice 

within 30 days of delivery of the liquor. 

(d)  Local boards that obtain spirituous liquor from another local 

board pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A .1301(e) shall remit full 

payment within 15 days of the transaction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(14) and 

(15); 18B-207; 18B-702(u); 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1407 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 
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15A NCAC 02B .0236 NEUSE RIVER BASIN-

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: AGRICULTURAL NITROGEN LOADING 

REDUCTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143.214.1; 143.214.7; 

143.215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Repealed Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0237 BEST MANAGEMENT 

PRACTICE COST-EFFECTIVENESS RATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Repealed Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0239 NEUSE RIVER BASIN: 

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Repealed Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0255 TAR-PAMLICO RIVER BASIN - 

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: AGRICULTURAL NUTRIENT LOADING 

GOALS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6A; 143-215.6B; 143-215.6C; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Repealed Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0257 TAR-PAMLICO RIVER BASIN - 

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6A; 143-215.6B; 143-215.6C; 143B-

282(d); 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Repealed Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0701 NUTRIENT STRATEGIES 

DEFINITIONS 

In this Section, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Agricultural uses" include the use of waters for 

stock watering, irrigation, and other farm 

purposes. 

(2) "Allocation" means the mass quantity, as of 

nitrogen or phosphorus that a discharger, group 

of dischargers, or other source is potentially 

allowed to release into surface waters. 

Allocations may be expressed as delivered or 

discharge quantities. Possession of allocation 

does not authorize the discharge of nutrients but 

is prerequisite to such authorization in an 

NPDES permit. 

(3) "Best Management Practice" or "BMP" means 

the same as defined in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. 

(4) "Buffer" means the same as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

(5) "Built-upon area" means the same as defined in 

G.S. 143-214.7(b2). 

(6) "Concentration(s)" means the same as defined 

in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(7) "Contiguous" means the same as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(8) "Critical area" means the same as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(9) "Cropland" means agricultural land that is used 

for growing corn, grains, oilseed crops, cotton, 

forages, tobacco, beans, or other vegetables or 

fruits. 

(10) "Delivered" as in delivered allocation, load, or 

limit, means that portion of the allocation, load, 

or limit that is estimated to be transported from 

a nutrient source or discharge to a waterbody. A 

delivered value equals the corresponding 

discharge value multiplied by its assigned 

transport or delivery factor. 

(11) "Development" means the same as defined in 

G.S. 143-214.7. 

(12) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(13) "Discharge" as in discharge allocation, load, or 

limit means the allocation, load, or limit that is 

measured at the point of discharge into surface 

waters. A discharge value is equivalent to a 

delivered value divided by the transport factor 

for that discharge location. 

(14) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources of the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

(15) "DMS" means the N.C. Division of Mitigation 

Services. DMS, as administrator of the Riparian 

Buffer Restoration Fund, is the only in-lieu fee 

program to which rules of this Section apply. 

(16) "Estuarine Nutrient Strategy" means the Neuse 

Nutrient Strategy as enumerated in Rule .0710 

of this Section and the Tar-Pamlico Nutrient 

Strategy as set forth in Rule .0730 of this 

Section. 

(17) "Estuary allocation" means the mass loading of 

total nitrogen or total phosphorus at the estuary 

that is reserved for a discharger or group of 

dischargers. A discharger's or group's estuary 

allocation is equivalent to its discharge 

allocation multiplied by its assigned transport 

factor. 

(18) "Existing development" means structures and 

other land modifications resulting from 

development activities, other than those 

associated with agricultural or forest 
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management activities, that meet the following 

criteria: 

(a) For projects that do not require a State 

permit, they are in place or have 

established a vested right to construct 

relative to the effective date of the 

applicable local stormwater ordinance 

implemented pursuant to a new 

development stormwater rule of this 

Section; and 

(b) For projects that require a State 

permit, they are in place before the 

effective date established in the 

applicable State and federal entities 

stormwater rule of this Section. 

(19) "Fertilizer" means the same as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

(20) "Industrial discharge(s)" for the purpose of the 

nutrient strategy rules of this Section, means the 

discharge of industrial process treated 

wastewater or wastewater other than sewage. 

Stormwater shall not be considered to be an 

industrial wastewater unless it is contaminated 

with industrial wastewater. Industrial discharge 

includes: 

(a) Wastewater resulting from any 

process of industry or manufacture, or 

from the development of any natural 

resource; or 

(b) Wastewater resulting from processes 

of trade or business, including 

wastewater from laundromats and car 

washes, but not wastewater from 

restaurants. 

(21) "Land-disturbing activity" means the same as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(22) "Load" means the mass quantity of a nutrient or 

pollutant released into surface waters over a 

given time period. Loads may be expressed in 

terms of pounds per year and may be expressed 

as "delivered load" or an equivalent "discharge 

load." 

(23) "Load allocation" means the same as set forth 

in 40 CFR 130.2(g), which is incorporated 

herein by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the most 

current version of the regulations is available 

free of charge on the internet at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(24) "Local government" means the same as defined 

in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(25) "MGD" means million gallons per day. 

(26) "Nitrogen" means total nitrogen unless 

specified otherwise. 

(27) "Nonpoint source load allocation" is that 

portion of an approved total maximum daily 

load (TMDL) or calibrated nutrient response 

model assigned to all other nitrogen sources in 

the basin other than individually permitted 

wastewater facilities and represents the 

maximum allowable load of total nitrogen or 

total phosphorus to a waterbody from these 

nonpoint sources. 

(28) "Nonpoint source pollution" means the same as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(29) "Non-wasting endowment" is a fund that 

generates enough interest to cover the cost of 

perpetual monitoring and enforcement of a 

nutrient reduction by a perpetual steward. 

(30) "NPDES" means National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System, and includes the 

permitting process required for the operation of 

point source discharges in accordance with the 

requirements of Section 402 of the Federal 

Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. Section 

1251, et seq. 

(31) "Nutrients" means the combination of total 

nitrogen and total phosphorus for the purpose 

of the nutrient rules of this section. 

(32) "Nutrient Offset Bank" is a site at which a 

nutrient offset project is implemented by a 

provider and approved for nutrient offset credit 

by the Division through execution of a nutrient 

offset banking instrument. This term does not 

include nutrient offset projects associated with 

an in-lieu fee program. 

(33) "Nutrient Offset Banking Instrument" is a 

written legal agreement between the Division 

and the provider that governs the establishment, 

operation, and use of a nutrient offset bank. 

(34) "Nutrient Offset Project" is a nutrient reduction 

project that is implemented for the purpose of 

generating nutrient offset credit. 

(35) "Nutrient Reduction Practice" is any project 

type or type of programmatic effort that 

generates a quantifiable or estimated decrease 

in nutrient loading, and for which practice 

design standards and load reduction estimation 

methods have been approved in rule or by the 

Division. 

(36) "Nutrient Reduction Project" is a site-specific 

installation and implementation of a nutrient 

reduction practice or combination of practices. 

(37) "Nutrient Sensitive Waters" means the same as 

defined or classified in Rule .0223 of this 

Subchapter. 

(38) "Permanent Nutrient Offset Credit" is a nutrient 

load reduction credit that does not 

automatically expire. Permanent nutrient offset 

credits account for permanent nutrient load 

reductions resulting from permanently installed 

and maintained nutrient reduction practices. 

Permanent nutrient offset credits may be used 

for compliance with new development 

stormwater rules of this Subchapter and may 

also satisfy other nutrient load reduction 

requirements as described in this Subchapter. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 3, 2020 

1382 

Nutrient offset credits are expressed in pounds 

of total nitrogen or total phosphorus per year. 

(39) "Perpetual Steward" means an entity that 

provides oversight for a permanent nutrient 

offset project. "Oversight" for the purposes of 

this Item includes monitoring and enforcement 

responsibilities assumed by the steward and 

approved by the Division as a condition of 

granting permanent nutrient offset credit. 

(40) "Phosphorus" means total phosphorus unless 

specified otherwise. 

(41) "Provider" means any public or private person 

or entity that implements a nutrient reduction 

project and seeks nutrient offset credit for sale, 

lease, or conveyance in exchange for 

remuneration, including DMS.  

(42) "Release" of nutrient offset credits means the 

Division approves and acknowledges the 

generation of nutrient offset credits. Nutrient 

offset bank providers may sell, transfer, or use 

credits upon release. DMS may debit credits 

upon project institution but credits will still be 

subject to final approval and release by DWR. 

(43) "Residuals" means the same as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

(44) "Stormwater Collection System" means the 

same as defined in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(45) "Stormwater Control Measure" or "SCM" 

means the same as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002. 

(46) "Surface waters" means all waters of the State 

as defined in G.S. 143-212, except underground 

waters. 

(47) "Term Nutrient Offset Credit" is a nutrient load 

reduction credit that accounts for annual 

nutrient load for a finite period of time. 

Temporary nutrient offset credits are expressed 

in pounds of total nitrogen or total phosphorus. 

(48) "Total Maximum Daily Load," or "TMDL," 

means the same as set forth in federal 

regulations 40 CFR 130.2(i) and 130.7(c)(1), 

which are incorporated herein by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy of the most current version of the 

regulations is available free of charge on the 

internet at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(49) "Total nitrogen" means the sum of the organic, 

nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia forms of nitrogen 

in a water or wastewater. 

(50) "Total phosphorus" means the sum of the 

orthophosphate, polyphosphate, and organic 

forms of phosphorus in a water or wastewater. 

(51) "Transportation facility" means the existing 

road surface, road shoulders, fill slopes, ferry 

terminal fill areas, and constructed stormwater 

conveyances or drainage canals adjacent to and 

directly associated with the road. 

(52) "Transport factor" means the fraction of a 

discharged nitrogen or phosphorus load that is 

delivered from the discharge point to a 

waterbody as established in an approved TMDL 

or other Division publication. 

(53) "Wasteload allocation" is that portion of a 

nitrogen or phosphorus TMDL assigned to 

individually permitted wastewater facilities and 

represents the maximum allowable load of total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus to the estuary from 

these point source dischargers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.3; 143-

214.5; 143-214.7; 143-215.1; 143-215.3; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.8B; 143B-282(c); 143B-282(d); 

Eff. Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0232 .0710 NEUSE NUTRIENT 

STRATEGY: PURPOSE AND SCOPE  

(a)  PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule and Rules .0711 through 

.0715 of this Section is to attain the designated uses of the Neuse 

River estuary with respect to meeting nutrient-related water 

quality standards pursuant to the Environmental Management 

Commission's authority under the Clean Water Responsibility and 

Environmentally Sound Policy Act, S.L. 1997-458. All waters of 

the Neuse River Basin are supplementally classified as Nutrient 

Sensitive Waters (NSW) pursuant to 15A NCAC 02B .0223. The 

rules enumerated in Paragraph (d) of this Rule together constitute 

the Neuse nutrient strategy, and shall be implemented in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02B .0223.  

(b)  SCOPE AND LIMITATION. The Neuse nutrient strategy 

rules require controls to reduce nitrogen loads from significant 

sources of this nutrient throughout the Neuse Basin. These Rules 

do not address sources for which there is insufficient scientific 

knowledge to base regulation.  

(c)  GOAL. To achieve the purpose of the Neuse nutrient strategy, 

the Commission established in the initial Neuse nutrient strategy 

rules, enacted in August 1998, the goal of reducing the average 

annual load of nitrogen delivered to the Neuse estuary from point 

and nonpoint sources by a minimum of 30 percent below the 

average annual load for the period 1991 through 1995 and 

thereafter maintaining it at or below that level. This amended 

strategy continues that goal. 

(d)  RULES ENUMERATED. The rules of the Neuse nutrient 

strategy, in addition to this one, are titled as follows: 

(1) Rule .0711 for stormwater; 

(2) Rule .0712 for agriculture; 

(3) Rule .0713 for wastewater discharges; 

(4) Rule .0233 for riparian buffer protection; and 

(5) Rule .0241 for riparian buffer program 

delegation 

(e)  ADAPTIVE MANAGEMENT. The Division shall evaluate 

the basin's nutrient dynamics to inform and guide adaptive 

management. This evaluation shall utilize all sources of available 

information, including stakeholder input, and shall consider 

drivers, character, and shifts in the impairment with time, trends, 

and character of loading delivered to the estuary, and distribution 

and character of loading inputs to the basin and changes to those 

inputs over time. The evaluation shall address the extent to which 

the reduction goals identified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule have 

been achieved and shall provide recommendations on 
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management needs. The Division shall complete the evaluation 

within three years of the effective date of this Rule and shall 

distribute the findings upon completion. The Division shall also 

report biannually to the Water Quality Committee of the 

Commission on implementation progress and reductions achieved 

by sources subject to the Neuse nutrient strategy.  

(f)  GEOGRAPHIC APPLICABILITY. The Neuse nutrient 

strategy shall apply in all areas draining to NSW waters within the 

Neuse River Basin unless individual Neuse strategy rules describe 

other boundaries. 

(g)  PENALTIES. Failure to meet requirements of the Neuse 

nutrient strategy rules may result in imposition of enforcement 

measures as authorized by G.S. 143-215.6A (civil penalties), G.S. 

143-215.6B (criminal penalties), and G.S. 143-215.6C (injunctive 

relief). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143B-282; S.L. 1995-572;  

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0235 .0711 NEUSE NUTRIENT 

STRATEGY: STORMWATER  

The following is the stormwater management strategy for the 

Neuse River Basin: 

(1) PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule is to 

achieve and maintain the nitrogen loading 

reduction goal established for the Neuse River 

Estuary in Rule .0710 of this Section from an 

undeveloped condition on lands in the Neuse 

River Basin on which development occurs. 

Nothing in this Rule preempts the requirements 

of 15A NCAC 02B .0277 for projects subject to 

the Falls Reservoir Nutrient Strategy or 

prevents local governments from implementing 

requirements that are more restrictive than 

those set forth in this Rule. 

(2) APPLICABILITY. The following local 

governments shall implement the stormwater 

management requirements of this Rule, except 

as noted in Sub-Item (3)(a) of this Rule where 

the Department shall implement them. 

Municipalities shall implement this Rule 

throughout their corporate limits and 

extraterritorial jurisdictions within the basin, 

while counties shall implement throughout their 

territorial jurisdictions within the basin. 

Counties named in this Item may implement 

this Rule within municipalities not named in 

this Item in accordance with G.S. 160A-360(d). 

(a) Local governments designated under 

this Rule effective August 1998: 

(i) Cary; 

(ii) Durham; 

(iii) Garner; 

(iv) Goldsboro; 

(v) Havelock; 

(vi) Kinston; 

(vii) New Bern; 

(viii) Raleigh; 

(ix) Smithfield; 

(x) Wilson; 

(xi) Durham County; 

(xii) Johnston County; 

(xiii) Orange County; 

(xiv) Wake County; and 

(xv) Wayne County. 

(b) The following additional local 

governments as of the effective date of 

this readoption: 

(i) Apex; 

(ii) Clayton; 

(iii) Fuquay Varina; 

(iv) Greenville; 

(v) Holly Springs; 

(vi) Knightdale; 

(vii) Morrisville; 

(viii) Rolesville; 

(viii) Wake Forest; 

(ix) Wendell; 

(x) Winterville; 

(xi) Craven County; 

(xii) Nash County; 

(xiii) Pitt County; and 

(xiv) Wilson County. 

(3) LOCAL PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION 

REQUIREMENTS. All local governments 

subject to this Rule shall implement stormwater 

management programs approved by the 

Commission following the timeframes set out 

in Item (6) of this Rule, or any subsequent 

modifications to those plans approved by the 

Director, according to the following 

requirements and the standards contained in 

Item (5) of this Rule:  

(a) The requirement for local government 

approval of a stormwater plan for all 

proposed development projects not 

excluded under Item (4) of this Rule. 

To the extent permitted by federal law, 

including 33 USC 26, and where 

pursuant to G.S. 153A-454 and G.S. 

160A-459 a local government 

program does not review a 

development project proposed by a 

State or federal entity for the 

requirements of this Rule, the entity 

shall obtain Department review and 

approval. 

(b) A plan to ensure maintenance of 

SCMs implemented to comply with 

this Rule for the life of the 

development; 

(c) A plan to ensure enforcement and 

compliance with the provisions in 

Item (5) of this Rule for the life of the 

development; 
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(d) A public education program to inform 

citizens how to reduce nutrient 

pollution and to inform developers 

about the nutrient requirements set 

forth in Item (5) of this Rule; 

(e) A mapping program that includes 

major components of the municipal 

separate storm sewer system, waters of 

the State, land use types, and location 

of sanitary sewers; and 

(f) A program to identify and remove 

illegal discharges. 

(4) DEVELOPMENT EXCLUDED. The 

following development activities shall not be 

subject to this Rule: 

(a) Projects disturbing less than: 

(i) one acre for single family and 

duplex residential property 

and recreational facilities; 

and 

(ii) one-half acre for commercial, 

industrial, institutional, 

multifamily residential, or 

local government land uses 

with the following exception: 

Projects below one-half acre 

that would replace or expand 

existing structures on a 

parcel, resulting in a 

cumulative built-upon area 

for the parcel exceeding 

twenty-four percent, shall be 

subject to Item (5) of this 

Rule; 

(b) Development of an individual single-

family or duplex residential lot that: 

(i) Is not part of a larger 

common plan of 

development or sale as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002; and 

(ii) Does not result in greater 

than five percent built upon 

area on the lot; 

(c) Projects subject to requirements of the 

Falls Nutrient Strategy New 

Development Stormwater rule, 15A 

NCAC 02B .0277; 

(d) Existing development as defined in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002; 

(e) Redevelopment as defined in G.S. 

143-214.7(a1)(2); and 

(f) Activities subject to requirements of 

the Neuse Agriculture rule, 15A 

NCAC 02B .0712. 

(5) DEVELOPMENT PROJECT 

REQUIREMENTS. A proposed development 

project not excluded under Item (4) of this Rule 

shall be approved by a subject local government 

for the purpose of this Rule when the applicable 

requirements of Item (3) of this Rule and the 

following criteria are met. 

(a) The project, as defined in State 

stormwater rule 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002, shall meet either a nitrogen 

loading rate target of 3.6 

pounds/acre/year or "runoff volume 

match" as defined in that Rule. 

Proposed development projects that 

would replace or expand existing 

structures and result in a net increase 

in built-upon area shall meet one of 

these options for the project less any 

existing built-upon area.  

(b) Regarding stormwater treatment and 

other onsite post-construction 

elements, projects not subject to more 

stringent standards under one of the 

following State stormwater rules or a 

local ordinance shall meet 15A NCAC 

02H .1003, which includes 

specifications for low- and high-

density designs, vegetated setbacks, 

and stormwater outlets for all projects. 

Such projects shall use a high-density 

treatment threshold of twenty four 

percent or greater built-upon area and 

a storm depth of one inch for SCM 

design: 

(i) Water Supply Watershed 

Protection rules, 15A NCAC 

02B .0620 through .0624; 

(ii) Coastal Counties stormwater 

rule 15A NCAC 02H .1019; 

or 

(iii) Non-Coastal County HWQs 

and ORWs rule 15A NCAC 

02H .1021. 

(c) The following are exceptions to the 

onsite requirements of Sub-Item (b) of 

this Item: 

(i) Proposed development 

projects may utilize an offsite 

SCM that is dedicated to 

treating an area 

encompassing the project, 

provided the SCM is 

designed to meet all 

applicable requirements 

identified in Sub-Item (b) of 

this Item; and 

(ii) Proposed development 

undertaken by a local 

government solely as a public 

road expansion or public 

sidewalk project, or proposed 

development subject to the 

jurisdiction of the Surface 
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Transportation Board, may 

meet the loading rate target 

of this Item entirely through 

use of permanent nutrient 

offset credit pursuant to Rule 

.0703 of this Section. 

(d) Where in satisfying the onsite 

requirements of Sub-Item (b) of this 

Item, a project does not meet the 

loading rate target of this Item, it may 

do so through use of permanent 

nutrient offset credit pursuant to Rule 

.0703 of this Section. Persons doing so 

shall provide proof of credit 

acquisition to the permitting authority 

prior to approval of the development 

plan. 

(e) Untreated nutrient loading rates from 

the project area shall be determined 

through the use of the tool most 

recently approved by the Division to 

have met the following criteria, or 

through an alternative method that 

meets or exceeds the following 

criteria, as determined by the Division: 

(i) Provides site-scale estimates 

of annual precipitation-

driven total nitrogen load; 

(ii) From all land cover types on 

a project site at build-out; 

(iii) Based on land-cover-specific 

nitrogen and phosphorus 

loading coefficients and 

annual runoff volume; and 

(iv) Is supported by the weight of 

evidence from available, 

current, and applicable 

research. 

(f) Nutrient loading rate reductions 

resulting from the use of SCMs shall 

be determined through the use of the 

tool most recently approved by the 

Division to have met the following 

criteria, or through an alternative 

method that meets or exceeds the 

following criteria, as determined by 

the Division: 

(i) Provides project site loading 

reduction estimates from the 

installation of Department of 

Energy, Mineral and Land 

Resources (DEMLR) 

approved SCMs; 

(ii) Reductions apply to the 

portion of the project's runoff 

volume that is directed to the 

SCMs; 

(iii) The method partitions the 

runoff volume processed by 

the SCM among hydrologic 

fates and assigns nutrient 

concentrations to each of 

those fates; and 

(iv) The method is supported by 

the weight of evidence from 

available, current, and 

applicable research. 

(g) Proposed development projects shall 

demonstrate compliance with the 

riparian buffer protection 

requirements set forth in 15A NCAC 

02B .0233. 

(6) RULE IMPLEMENTATION 

(a) Within eight months of the effective 

date of this Rule, the Division shall 

submit a model local stormwater 

program embodying the elements in 

Items (3) through (5) of this Rule to 

the Commission for approval. The 

Division shall work with subject local 

governments in developing this model 

program. 

(b) Local governments designated 

pursuant to Sub-Item (2)(a) of this 

Rule and additional local governments 

designated pursuant to Sub-Item 

(2)(b) of this Rule shall submit a local 

stormwater program for approval by 

the Commission within six months 

and 12 months, respectively, of the 

Commission's approval of the model 

local program. These local programs 

shall meet or exceed the requirements 

in Items (3) through (5) of this Rule. 

(c) The Division shall provide 

recommendations to the Commission 

regarding proposed local programs. 

The Commission shall approve 

programs or require changes based on 

the standards set out in Items (3) 

through (5) of this Rule. Should the 

Commission require changes, the 

applicable local government shall 

have three months to submit revisions, 

and the Division shall provide follow-

up recommendations to the 

Commission within two months after 

receiving revisions. 

(d) Within six months after the 

Commission's approval of a local 

program, the local government shall 

complete adoption of and implement 

its local stormwater program. 

(e) Local governments administering a 

stormwater program shall submit 

annual reports in electronic format to 

the Division documenting their 

progress regarding each 
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implementation requirement in Item 

(3) of this Rule and net changes to 

nitrogen load by October 30th of each 

year. Annual reports shall also include 

as appendices all data utilized by 

nutrient calculation tools for each 

development stormwater plan 

approved in accordance with this Rule. 

(f) Any significant modifications to a 

local program following its approval 

pursuant to the requirements of this 

Item shall be submitted to the Director 

for approval. 

(7) COMPLIANCE. A local government's 

authority to approve development stormwater 

plans for compliance with this Rule pursuant to 

Item (5) of this Rule shall be contingent upon 

maintaining its own compliance with this Rule. 

A local government that fails to submit an 

acceptable local stormwater program within the 

timeframe established in this Rule, fails to 

implement an approved program, or fails to 

comply with annual reporting requirements 

shall be in violation of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.26; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.8B; 143B-282; S.L. 

1995, c. 572;  

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. January 15, 2011 (this permanent rule replaces the 

temporary rule approved by the RRC on December 16, 2010); 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0238 .0712 NEUSE NUTRIENT 

STRATEGY: AGRICULTURE 

This Rule sets forth a process by which agricultural operations in 

the Neuse River Basin will collectively limit their nitrogen 

loading to the Neuse estuary, as set forth in in Rule .0710 of this 

Section. Nothing in this Rule preempts the requirements of 15A 

NCAC 02B .0280 for agricultural operations subject to the Falls 

Reservoir Nutrient Strategy. 

(1) PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule is to 

maintain or exceed the percentage reduction 

goal defined in Rule .0710 of this Section on the 

collective loss of nitrogen from agricultural 

operations as defined in Item (2) of this Rule, as 

estimated by best available accounting 

practices meeting the criteria set forth in Item 

(6) of this Rule from its 1991-1995 baseline 

level. 

(a) PROCESS. This Rule requires 

agricultural producers in the Basin to 

implement land management practices 

that collectively, on a basin-wide 

basis, will achieve the nutrient goals. 

(b) LIMITATION. This Rule may not 

fully address the agricultural nitrogen 

reduction goal of the Neuse Nutrient 

Sensitive Waters Strategy in that it 

does not address atmospheric sources 

of nitrogen to the Basin, including 

atmospheric emissions of ammonia 

from sources located both within and 

outside of the Basin, and the 

Commission may undertake separate 

rule making to address atmospheric 

sources at a later date.  

(2) AGRICULTURAL OPERATIONS 

DEFINED. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"agricultural operations," are activities, and 

"agricultural producers" are persons engaging 

in those activities, that relate to any of the 

following pursuits: 

(a) The commercial production of crops 

or horticultural products other than 

trees. As used in this Rule, 

"commercial" shall mean activities 

conducted primarily for financial 

profit. 

(b) Research activities in support of 

commercial production. 

(c) The production or management of any 

of the following number of livestock 

or poultry at any time, excluding 

nursing young: 

(i) 5 or more horses; 

(ii) 20 or more cattle; 

(iii) 20 or more swine not kept in 

a feedlot, or 150 or more 

swine kept in a feedlot; 

(iv) 120 or more sheep; 

(v) 130 or more goats; 

(vi) 650 or more turkeys; 

(vii) 3,500 or more chickens; or 

(viii) Any single species of any 

other livestock or poultry, or 

any combination of species 

of livestock or poultry that 

exceeds 20,000 pounds of 

live weight at any time. 

(3) APPLICABILITY. This Rule shall apply to all 

agricultural producers engaging in agricultural 

operations in the geographic area subject to the 

Neuse nutrient strategy as described in Rule 

.0710 of this Section. This Rule applies to 

livestock and poultry operations set forth in 

Sub-Item (2)(c) of this Rule in addition to 

requirements for animal operations set forth in 

general permits issued pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.10C. Nothing in this Rule shall be deemed 

to allow the violation of any assigned surface 

water, groundwater, or air quality standard by 

any agricultural operation, including any 

livestock or poultry operation below the size 

thresholds in this Item.  

(4) IMPLEMENTATION PROCESS. A Basin 

Oversight Committee, as set forth in Item (5) of 

this Rule, and county-level Local Advisory 
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Committees, as set forth in Item (7) of this Rule, 

shall coordinate activities and account for 

progress. Accounting for nitrogen load-

reducing actions on agricultural operations 

within the basin shall follow requirements set 

forth in Item (6) of this Rule. Agricultural 

producers may be eligible to obtain cost share 

and technical assistance from the NC 

Agriculture Cost Share Program and similar 

federal programs to contribute to their counties' 

ongoing nitrogen reductions. Committee 

activity shall be guided by the following: 

(a) OPTIONS FOR INDIVIDUAL 

OPERATIONS. Agricultural 

producers subject to this Rule may 

elect to implement practices meeting 

the standards identified in Item (8) of 

this Rule that contribute to 

maintenance of collective local 

compliance with the goal identified in 

Item (1) of this Rule, but are not 

required to implement any specific 

practices provided their basin 

collectively maintains compliance 

with the goal. 

(b) MAINTENANCE OF GOAL. 

Accounting shall annually 

demonstrate maintenance or 

exceedence of the nitrogen reduction 

goal on a basin basis. Where three 

sequential annual reports show that the 

basin did not meet its nitrogen 

reduction goal, the Basin Oversight 

Committee shall work with the 

Division of Soil and Water 

Conservation and Local Advisory 

Committees, particularly those 

representing counties not meeting the 

goals, to seek reduction actions by 

operations to bring agriculture 

collectively back into compliance, and 

shall report on their efforts in 

subsequent annual reports. Should 

subsequent annual reports not reverse 

the trend of noncompliance, the 

Commission may conduct additional 

rulemaking to require a more specific 

implementation plan from the Basin 

Oversight Committee, which may 

include an assessment of need for 

specific action by the Commission. 

(5) BASIN OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE. The 

Basin Oversight Committee shall have the 

following membership, role, and 

responsibilities:  

(a) MEMBERSHIP. The Director of the 

Division of Water Resources shall be 

responsible for maintaining the 

following membership composition. 

Until such time as the Commission 

determines that long-term compliance 

with this Rule is assured, the Director 

shall solicit one nomination for 

membership on this Committee from 

each agency or interest in Sub-Items 

(a)(i) through (a)(viii) of this Item. 

The Director shall confirm nominees 

in writing or request alternative 

nominations. The Director may 

appoint a replacement at any time for 

an interest in Sub-Items (a)(vi) 

through (a)(viii) of this Item upon 

request of representatives of that 

interest or by the request of the 

Commissioner of Agriculture for Sub-

Item (vii): 

(i) Division of Soil and Water 

Conservation; 

(ii) United States Department of 

Agriculture- Natural 

Resources Conservation 

Service (shall serve in an "ex-

officio" non-voting capacity 

and shall function as a 

technical program advisor to 

the Committee); 

(iii) North Carolina Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services; 

(iv) North Carolina Cooperative 

Extension Service;  

(v) Division of Water Resources; 

(vi) Up to two environmental 

interests; 

(vii) Up to two general farming 

interest; and 

(viii) Scientific community with 

experience related to water 

quality problems in the 

Neuse River Basin. 

(b) ROLE. The Basin Oversight 

Committee shall: 

(i) Continue to review, approve, 

and summarize local nitrogen 

loss annual reports to ensure 

ongoing implementation of 

the accounting method 

approved by the Commission 

under the original version of 

this Rule effective August 

1998, as conforming to the 

requirements of Item (6) of 

this Rule. The Committee 

shall submit these reports as 

initiated in 2002, to the 

Director; 

(ii) Take actions set forth in Sub-

Item (4)(b) of this Rule to 
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address maintenance of the 

nitrogen reduction goal; and 

(iii) Identify and implement 

refinements to the accounting 

methodology to reflect 

advances in scientific 

understanding, including 

establishment or refinement 

of nutrient reduction 

efficiencies for BMPs. 

(6) ACCOUNTING METHODOLOGY. The 

requirements of Item (1) of this Rule shall be 

gauged by estimating percentage changes in 

nitrogen loss from agricultural operations in the 

Neuse Basin. The Basin Oversight Committee 

shall develop, maintain, and update as set forth 

in this Item, accounting methods that meet the 

following requirements: 

(a) The nitrogen method shall estimate 

baseline and annual total nitrogen 

losses from agricultural operations in 

each county and for the entire Neuse 

Basin;  

(b) The nitrogen method shall include a 

means of tracking implementation of 

BMPs, including number, type, and 

area affected; 

(c) The nitrogen method shall include a 

means of estimating incremental 

nitrogen loss reductions from 

implementation of BMPs that conform 

to requirements of Item (8) of this 

Rule and of evaluating progress 

toward and maintenance of the 

nutrient goal from changes in BMP 

implementation, fertilization, and 

changes in individual crop acres; and 

(d) The nitrogen method shall be refined 

as research and technical advances 

allow. 

(7) LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES. The 

Directors of the Division of Water Resources 

and Division of Soil and Water Conservation 

shall maintain Local Advisory Committees 

initially established in February and March, 

1999, as follows: 

(a) MEMBERSHIP. For each county or 

watershed specified by the Basin 

Oversight Committee within the 

Neuse River Basin, the Directors shall 

jointly maintain membership on the 

Local Advisory Committee from each 

of the following local entities.  

(i) Soil and Water Conservation 

District; 

(ii) United States Department of 

Agriculture- Natural 

Resources Conservation 

Service; 

(iii) North Carolina Department 

of Agriculture; 

(iv) North Carolina Cooperative 

Extension Service; 

(v) North Carolina Division of 

Soil and Water Conservation; 

and 

(vi) At least two agricultural 

producers that reside in the 

county. 

(b) ROLE. Local Advisory Committees 

shall: 

(i) Continue to submit annual 

reports to the Basin 

Oversight Committee 

estimating total crop 

production on agricultural 

operations for the preceding 

calendar year, summarizing 

land use changes in the 

county and making 

recommendations to the 

Basin Oversight Committee 

on the need for updates to the 

accounting methodology. 

Reports shall include 

documentation on the BMPs 

implemented, including type 

and location, that satisfy the 

requirements in Item (8) of 

this Rule and documentation 

of any expired contracts for 

BMPs; and 

(ii) Take actions called for under 

Sub-Item (4)(b) of this Rule 

to address maintenance of the 

nitrogen reduction goal. 

(8) PRACTICE STANDARDS. To receive 

nutrient reduction credit, a BMP shall be 

included in the accounting method set forth in 

Item (6) of this Rule, or in a subsequent revision 

to that method identified in annual reporting, 

and it shall be implemented according to the 

applicable nutrient-related standards identified 

by the Basin Oversight Committee and 

established by the NC Soil and Water 

Conservation Commission or the USDA-

Natural Resources Conservation Service in 

North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1);  

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 
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15A NCAC 02B .0234 .0713 NEUSE RIVER BASIN - 

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: WASTEWATER DISCHARGE 

REQUIREMENTS 

The following is the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (NPDES) wastewater discharge management strategy for 

the Neuse River Basin: 

(1) Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to establish 

minimum nutrient control requirements for 

point source discharges in the Neuse River 

Basin in order to maintain or restore water 

quality in the Neuse River Estuary and protect 

its designated uses. 

(2) Applicability. This Rule applies to all 

discharges from wastewater treatment facilities 

in the Neuse River Basin that receive nitrogen-

bearing wastewater and are required to obtain 

individual NPDES permits. Discharges in the 

Falls Lake watershed are subject to additional 

nutrient control requirements under the Falls 

Water Supply Nutrient Strategy Rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(3) Definitions. The terms used in this Rule shall be 

as defined in Rule .0701 of this Section and as 

follows: 

(a) In regard to point source dischargers, 

treatment facilities, wastewater flows 

or discharges, or like matters: 

(i) "Existing" means that which 

obtained an NPDES permit 

on or before December 31, 

1995. 

(ii) "Expanding" means that 

which increases beyond its 

permitted flow as defined in 

Sub-Item (3)(b) of this Rule. 

(iii) "New" means that which had 

not obtained an NPDES 

permit on or before 

December 31, 1995. 

(b) "Permitted flow" means the maximum 

monthly average flow authorized in a 

facility's NPDES permit as of 

December 31, 1995, with the 

following exceptions: 

 

Facility Name  NPDES No. Permitted Flow (MGD) 

Benson   NC0020389  3.00 

Goldsboro   NC0023949  16.80 

Kenly   NC0064891  0.63 

Snow Hill   NC0020842  0.50 

Wilson   NC0023906  14.00 

 

(4) This Item specifies the nitrogen wasteload 

allocation for point sources. 

(a) In accordance with the Nitrogen 

TMDL for the Neuse River Estuary, 

approved in 1999 by the US 

Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA), the nitrogen wasteload 

allocation for point sources shall not 

exceed 1.64 million pounds per 

calendar year. The nitrogen wasteload 

allowance for point sources shall not 

exceed the nitrogen wasteload 

allocation plus any nutrient offset 

credits obtained in accordance with 

G.S. 143-214.26 and Rule .0703 of 

this Section. 

(b) The Commission shall order future 

revisions in the Nitrogen TMDL and 

nitrogen wasteload allocation 

whenever necessary to ensure that 

water quality in the estuary meets all 

applicable standards in 15A NCAC 

02B .0200 or to conform with 

applicable State or federal 

requirements. 

(5) This Item specifies the initial distribution of 

nitrogen discharge allocations for point 

sources. 

(a) Until revised as provided elsewhere in 

this Rule, the following group and 

individual discharge allocations for 

total nitrogen shall apply in order to 

comply with the nitrogen wasteload 

allocation for point sources in Item (4) 

of this Rule: 

(i) Dischargers with permitted 

flows less than 0.5 MGD 

shall be assigned collectively 

an annual discharge 

allocation of 138,000 pounds 

of total nitrogen. 

(ii) Dischargers upstream of 

Falls Lake Dam and with 

permitted flows greater than 

or equal to 0.5 MGD shall be 

assigned collectively an 

annual discharge allocation 

of 443,700 pounds of total 

nitrogen. 

(iii) Municipal dischargers 

downstream of Falls Lake 

Dam and with permitted 

flows greater than or equal to 

0.5 MGD shall be assigned 

collectively an annual 

discharge allocation of 
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2,021,400 pounds of total 

nitrogen. 

(iv) Industrial dischargers 

downstream of Falls Lake 

Dam and with permitted 

flows greater than or equal to 

0.5 MGD shall be assigned 

collectively an annual 

discharge allocation of 

396,900 pounds of total 

nitrogen. 

(v) Within each group in Sub-

Items (i) - (iv) of this Item, 

each individual discharger 

shall be assigned an 

individual discharge 

allocation and the equivalent 

estuary allocation. Each 

discharger's discharge 

allocation shall be calculated 

as its permitted flow divided 

by the total permitted flow of 

the group, multiplied by the 

group discharge allocation. 

(b) In the event that the nitrogen TMDL 

and its wasteload allocation for point 

sources are revised, as provided in 

Item (4) of this Rule, the Commission 

shall apportion the revised load among 

the existing facilities and shall revise 

discharge allocations as needed. The 

Commission may consider such 

factors as: 

(i) fate and transport of nitrogen 

in the river basin; 

(ii) technical feasibility and 

economic reasonableness of 

source reduction and 

treatment methods; 

(iii) economies of scale; 

(iv) nitrogen control measures 

already implemented; 

(v) probable need for growth and 

expansion; and 

(vi) incentives for nutrient 

management planning, 

utilities management, 

resource protection, and 

cooperative efforts among 

dischargers. 

(6) This Item specifies nutrient controls for existing 

facilities. 

(a) Beginning with calendar year 2003, 

each discharger with a permitted flow 

equal to or greater than 0.5 MGD shall 

be subject to a total nitrogen permit 

limit equal to the sum of its active 

individual discharge allocation, 

pursuant to Item (5) of this Rule and 

any active allocation or nutrient offset 

credits acquired pursuant to Rule 

.0703 of this Section. 

(b) All existing facilities below Falls Lake 

Dam with permitted flows greater than 

or equal to 0.5 MGD shall meet a 

quarterly average total phosphorus 

limit of 2 mg/L. 

(c) The Director shall modify an existing 

facility's permit to establish more 

stringent limits for nitrogen or 

phosphorus upon finding that such 

limits are necessary to protect water 

quality standards in localized areas. 

(7) This Item specifies nutrient controls for new 

facilities. 

(a) New facilities proposing to discharge 

wastewater shall evaluate all practical 

alternatives to surface water discharge 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H 

.0105(c)(2) prior to submitting an 

application to discharge. 

(b) New facilities submitting an 

application shall acquire, or 

demonstrate contractual agreement to 

acquire prior to authorization to 

discharge, nitrogen allocation from 

existing dischargers or nitrogen offset 

credits pursuant to Rule .0703 of this 

Section for the proposed discharge. 

The allocation and offset credits shall 

be sufficient for any partial calendar 

year in which the permit becomes 

effective plus 10 subsequent years of 

discharge at the proposed design flow 

rate in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02H .0112(c).  

(c) The Director shall not issue a permit 

authorizing discharge from a new 

facility unless the applicant has 

satisfied the requirements of Sub-

Items (a), (b), and (e) of this Item. If a 

new facility's permit contains tiered 

flow limits for expansion, the Director 

shall not authorize an increased 

discharge unless the applicant has 

satisfied the requirements of Sub-

Items (a), (b), and (e) of this Item for 

that discharge. 

(d) The nitrogen discharge limit for a new 

facility shall not exceed the nitrogen 

load equivalent to its active allocation 

and offset credits, or the following 

technology-based mass limit, 

whichever is less:  

(i) For facilities treating 

municipal or domestic 

wastewaters, the mass load 

equivalent to a concentration 
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of 3.5 mg/L at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's NPDES permit; and 

(ii) For facilities treating 

industrial wastewaters, the 

mass load equivalent to the 

best available technology 

economically achievable, 

calculated at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's NPDES permit. 

(e) Subsequent applications for permit 

renewal or, where an existing permit 

contains tiered limits, requests to 

discharge at an increased flow shall 

demonstrate that the facility has 

sufficient nitrogen allocation or offset 

credits to meet its effluent nutrient 

limitations for any partial calendar 

year in which the permit becomes 

effective plus 10 subsequent years of 

discharge at the proposed design flow 

rate. 

(f) New dischargers shall meet a monthly 

average total phosphorous limit of 1.0 

mg/L. 

(g) The Director shall establish more 

stringent limits for nitrogen or 

phosphorus upon finding that such 

limits are necessary to protect water 

quality standards in localized areas. 

(8) This Item specifies nutrient controls for 

expanding facilities. 

(a) Expanding facilities shall evaluate all 

practical alternatives to surface water 

discharge, pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02H .0105(c)(2) prior to submitting an 

application to discharge. 

(b) Facilities submitting application for 

increased discharge or, where an 

existing permit contains tiered limits, 

for authorization to discharge at an 

increased flow, shall acquire, or 

demonstrate contractual agreement to 

acquire prior to authorization to 

discharge at the increased flow, 

nitrogen allocation from existing 

dischargers or nitrogen offset credits 

pursuant to Rule .0703 of this Section, 

or both, for the proposed discharge. 

The allocation and offset credits shall 

be sufficient for any partial calendar 

year in which the permit becomes 

effective plus 10 subsequent years of 

discharge at the proposed design flow 

rate in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02H .0112(c).  

(c) The Director shall not issue a permit 

authorizing increased discharge from 

an existing facility unless the applicant 

has satisfied the requirements of Sub-

Items (a), (b), and (e) of this Item. If a 

facility's permit contains tiered flow 

limits for expansion, the Director shall 

not authorize discharge at an increased 

flow unless the applicant has satisfied 

the requirements of Sub-Items (a), (b), 

and (e) of this Item. 

(d) The nitrogen discharge limit for an 

expanded facility shall not exceed the 

nitrogen load equivalent to its active 

allocation and offset credits, or the 

following technology-based mass 

limit, whichever is less:  

(i) For facilities treating 

municipal or domestic 

wastewaters, the mass 

equivalent to a concentration 

of 3.5 mg/L at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's modified NPDES 

permit, except that the limit 

shall be no less than the 

facility's original allocation 

per Item (5) of this Rule; and 

(ii) For facilities treating 

industrial wastewaters, the 

mass equivalent to the best 

available technology 

economically achievable, 

calculated at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's modified NPDES 

permit. 

(e) Subsequent applications for permit 

renewal or, where an existing permit 

contains tiered limits, requests to 

discharge at an increased flow shall 

demonstrate that the facility has 

sufficient nitrogen allocation or offset 

credits to meet its effluent nutrient 

limitations for any partial calendar 

year in which the permit becomes 

effective plus 10 subsequent years of 

discharge at the proposed design flow 

rate. 

(f) Expanding facilities shall meet a 

monthly average total phosphorous 

limit of 1.0 mg/L unless they are a co-

permittee member of a group 

compliance association described in 

Item (9) of this Rule, in which case 

they shall meet a quarterly average 

total phosphorus limit of 2.0 mg/L. 

(g) The Director shall modify an 

expanding facility's permit to establish 

more stringent limits for nitrogen or 

phosphorus upon finding that such 
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limits are necessary to protect water 

quality standards in localized areas. 

(9) This Item describes the option for dischargers 

to join a group compliance association to 

collectively meet nitrogen load limits. 

(a) Any or all facilities within the basin 

may form a group compliance 

association to meet nitrogen limits 

collectively. Any such association 

shall apply for and shall be subject to 

an NPDES group permit that 

establishes the effective total nitrogen 

limits, expressed as loads delivered to 

the estuary, for the association and for 

its members. More than one group 

compliance association may be 

established. No facility may be a co-

permittee member of more than one 

association formed pursuant to this 

Rule at any given time. 

(b) No later than 180 days prior to 

coverage under a new NPDES group 

permit, or expiration of an existing 

group permit, the association and its 

members shall submit an application 

for an NPDES permit for the discharge 

of total nitrogen to the surface waters 

of the Neuse River Basin. The NPDES 

group permit shall be issued to the 

association and its members as co-

permittees. 

(c) An association's estuary limit of total 

nitrogen shall be the sum of its 

members' individual estuary 

allocations and nutrient offset credits 

plus any other estuary allocation and 

offset credits obtained by the 

association or its members pursuant to 

this strategy. 

(d) An association and its members may 

reapportion their individual estuary 

allocations and nutrient offset credits 

on an annual basis. The NPDES group 

permit shall be modified to reflect the 

revised individual estuary allocations 

and limits. 

(e) If an association does not meet its 

estuary limit in any year, it shall obtain 

nutrient offset credits in accordance 

with G.S. 143-214.26 to offset its mass 

exceedance no later than May 1 of the 

following year. 

(f) Association members shall be deemed 

compliant with the permit limits for 

total nitrogen contained in their 

individually issued NPDES permits 

while they are members in an 

association. Association members 

shall be deemed compliant with their 

individual estuary limits in the 

NPDES group permit in any year in 

which the association is in compliance 

with its estuary limit. If the association 

exceeds its group limit, the association 

and any members that exceed their 

individual estuary limits in the 

NPDES group permit shall be deemed 

to be out of compliance with the group 

permit. 

(10) If an NPDES-permitted discharger or group of 

dischargers accepts wastewater from another 

NPDES-permitted treatment facility in the 

Neuse River Basin and that acceptance results 

in the elimination of the discharge from the 

treatment facility, the eliminated facility's total 

nitrogen estuary allocation shall be transferred 

and added to the accepting discharger's estuary 

allocation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); S.L. 1995, c. 572; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 22, 1998; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Expired on December 10, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0730 TAR-PAMLICO NUTRIENT 

STRATEGY: PURPOSE & SCOPE 

PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule and Rules 15A NCAC 02B 

.0731 through .0736 of this Section is to attain the designated uses 

of the Pamlico River estuary with respect to meeting nutrient-

related water quality standards pursuant to the Environmental 

Management Commission's authority under the Clean Water 

Responsibility and Environmentally Sound Policy Act, S.L. 1997-

458. The estuary and waters of the Tar-Pamlico River Basin are 

classified as Nutrient Sensitive Waters (NSW) pursuant to Rule 

15A NCAC 02B .0223 of this Subchapter. The rules enumerated 

in Item (3) of this Rule together constitute the Tar-Pamlico 

nutrient strategy, and shall be implemented in accordance with 

Rule .0223 of the Subchapter.  

(1) SCOPE AND LIMITATION. The Tar-Pamlico 

nutrient strategy rules require controls to reduce 

nitrogen and phosphorus loads from significant 

sources of these nutrients throughout the Tar-

Pamlico Basin. These Rules do not address 

sources for which there is insufficient scientific 

knowledge to base regulation.  

(2) GOALS. To achieve the purpose of the Tar-

Pamlico nutrient strategy, the Commission 

established in the initial Tar-Pamlico nutrient 

rules, enacted in 2000 and 2001, goals of 

reducing the average annual load of nitrogen 

delivered to the Pamlico River Estuary from 

nutrient sources to a level 30 percent below a 

1991 baseline, and thereafter maintaining it at 

or below that level, and of reducing average 
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annual phosphorus load to 1991 baseline level 

and thereafter maintaining it at or below that 

level. This Tar-Pamlico nutrient strategy 

continues these goals. 

(3) RULES ENUMERATED. The rules of the Tar-

Pamlico nutrient strategy are titled as follows: 

(a) Rule .0730 Purpose and Scope; 

(b) Rule .0731 Stormwater Management 

for New Development; 

(c) Rule .0732 Agriculture; 

(d) Rule .0733 Non-Association 

Dischargers; 

(e) Rule .0259 Riparian Buffer 

Protection; and 

(f) Rule .0261 Buffer Program 

Delegation. 

(4) ADAPTIVE MANAGEMENT. The Division 

shall evaluate the basin's nutrient dynamics to 

inform and guide adaptive management. This 

evaluation shall utilize all sources of available 

information, including stakeholder input, and 

shall consider drivers, character, and shifts in 

the impairment with time, trends, and character 

of loading delivered to the estuary, and 

distribution and character of loading inputs to 

the basin and changes to those inputs over time. 

The evaluation shall address the extent to which 

the reduction goals identified in Item (2) of this 

Rule have been achieved and shall provide 

recommendations on management needs. The 

Division shall complete the evaluation within 

three years of the effective date of this Rule and 

shall distribute the findings upon completion. 

The Division shall also report biannually to the 

Water Quality Committee of the Commission 

on implementation progress and reductions 

achieved by sources subject to the Tar-Pamlico 

nutrient strategy.  

(5) GEOGRAPHIC APPLICABILITY. The Tar-

Pamlico nutrient strategy shall apply in all areas 

draining to waters within hydrologic units 

03020101, 03020102, 03020103, 03020104, 

and portions of 03020105 located on the 

Albemarle-Pamlico peninsula unless individual 

Tar-Pamlico strategy rules describe other 

boundaries. 

(6) PENALTIES. Failure to meet the requirements 

of the Tar-Pamlico nutrient strategy rules may 

result in imposition of enforcement measures as 

authorized by G.S. 143-215.6A, G.S. 143-

215.6B, and G.S. 143-215.6C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6A; 143-215.8B; 143B-282;  

Eff. Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0258 .0731 TAR-PAMLICO 

NUTRIENT STRATEGY: STORMWATER  

(a)  PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule is to achieve and 

maintain the nitrogen and phosphorus loading reduction goals for 

the Tar-Pamlico River Estuary set out in Rule .0730 of this 

Section from an undeveloped condition on lands in the Tar-

Pamlico River Basin on which development occurs. Nothing in 

this Rule preempts local governments from implementing 

requirements that are more restrictive than those set forth in this 

Rule. 

(b)  APPLICABILITY. The following local governments shall 

implement the stormwater management requirements of this Rule, 

except as noted in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule where the 

Department shall implement them. Municipalities shall 

implement this Rule throughout their corporate limits and 

extraterritorial jurisdictions within the basin, while counties shall 

implement throughout their territorial jurisdictions within the 

basin. Counties named in this Paragraph may implement this Rule 

within municipalities not named in accordance with G.S. 160A-

360(d).  

(1) Local governments designated under this Rule 

effective April 2001:  

(A) Greenville; 

(B) Henderson; 

(C) Oxford; 

(D) Rocky Mount; 

(E) Tarboro; 

(F) Washington; 

(G) Beaufort County; 

(H) Edgecombe County; 

(I) Franklin County; 

(J) Nash County; and 

(K) Pitt County. 

(2) As of the effective date of this readoption, 

Wilson County. 

(c)  LOCAL PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION 

REQUIREMENTS. All local governments subject to this Rule 

shall implement stormwater management programs approved by 

the Commission following the timeframes set out in Paragraph (f) 

of this Rule, or any subsequent modification to those plans 

approved by the Director, according to the following requirements 

and the standards contained in Paragraph (d) of this Rule: 

(1) The requirement for local government approval 

of a stormwater plan for all proposed 

development projects not excluded under 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. To the extent 

permitted by federal law, including 33 USC 26, 

and where pursuant to G.S. 153A-454 and G.S. 

160A-459 a local government program does not 

review a development project proposed by a 

State or federal entity for the requirements of 

this Rule, the entity shall obtain Department 

review and approval. 

(2) A plan to ensure maintenance of SCMs 

implemented to comply with this Rule for the 

life of the development; 

(3) A plan to ensure enforcement and compliance 

with the provisions in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

for the life of the development; 
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(4) A public education program to inform citizens 

how to reduce nutrient pollution and to inform 

developers about the nutrient requirements set 

forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(5) A mapping program that includes major 

components of the municipal separate storm 

sewer system, waters of the State, land use 

types, and location of sanitary sewers; and 

(6) A program to identify and remove illegal 

discharges. 

(d)  DEVELOPMENT EXCLUDED. The following development 

activities shall not be subject to this Rule: 

(1) Projects disturbing less than: 

(A) one acre for single family and duplex 

residential property and recreational 

facilities; and 

(B) one-half acre for commercial, 

industrial, institutional, multifamily 

residential, or local government land 

uses with the following exception: 

Projects below one-half acre that 

would replace or expand existing 

structures on a parcel, resulting in a 

cumulative built-upon area for the 

parcel exceeding twenty-four percent, 

shall be subject to Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule; 

(2) Development of an individual single-family or 

duplex residential lot that: 

(A) Is not part of a larger common plan of 

development or sale as in 15A NCAC 

02H .1002; and 

(B) Does not result in greater than five 

percent built upon area on the lot; 

(3) Existing development as defined in rule 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002; 

(4) Redevelopment as defined in G.S. 143-

214.7(a1)(2); and 

(5) Activities subject to requirements of the Tar-

Pamlico Agriculture rule, 15A NCAC 02B 

.0732. 

(e)  DEVELOPMENT PROJECT REQUIREMENTS. A 

proposed development project not excluded under Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule shall be approved by a subject local government for 

the purpose of this Rule when the applicable requirements of 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and the following criteria are met: 

(1) The project, as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002, shall meet either a nitrogen loading rate 

target of 4.0 pounds/acre/year and a phosphorus 

loading rate target of 0.8 pounds/acre/year, or 

"runoff volume match" as defined in that Rule. 

Proposed development projects that would 

replace or expand existing structures and result 

in a net increase in built-upon area shall meet 

one of these options for the project less any 

existing built-upon area. 

(2) Regarding stormwater treatment and other 

onsite post-construction elements, projects not 

subject to more stringent standards under one of 

the following State stormwater rules or a local 

ordinance shall meet 15A NCAC 02H .1003, 

which includes specifications for low- and 

high-density designs, vegetated setbacks, and 

stormwater outlets for all projects. Such 

projects shall use a high-density treatment 

threshold of 24 percent or greater built-upon 

area and a storm depth of one inch for SCM 

design: 

(A) Water Supply Watershed Protection 

rules, 15A NCAC 02B .0620 through 

.0624; 

(B) Coastal Counties stormwater rule 15A 

NCAC 02H .1019; or 

(C) Non-Coastal County HWQs and 

ORWs rule 15A NCAC 02H .1021. 

(3) The following are exceptions to the onsite 

requirements of Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph: 

(A) Proposed development projects may 

utilize an offsite SCM that is dedicated 

to treating an area encompassing the 

project, provided the SCM is designed 

to meet all applicable requirements 

identified in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph; and 

(B) Proposed development undertaken by 

a local government solely as a public 

road expansion or public sidewalk 

project, or proposed development 

subject to the jurisdiction of the 

Surface Transportation Board, may 

meet the loading rate target of this 

Paragraph entirely through use of 

permanent nutrient offset credit 

pursuant to Rule .0703 of this Section. 

(4) Where in satisfying the onsite requirements of 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, a project 

does not meet the loading rate target of this 

Paragraph, it may do so through use of 

permanent nutrient offset credit pursuant to 

Rule .0703 of this Section. Persons doing so 

shall provide proof of credit acquisition to the 

permitting authority prior to approval of the 

development plan. 

(5) Untreated nutrient loading rates from the 

project area shall be determined through the use 

of the tool most recently approved by the 

Division to have met the following criteria, or 

through an alternative method that meets or 

exceeds the following criteria, as determined by 

the Division: 

(A) Provides site-scale estimates of annual 

precipitation-driven total nitrogen and 

total phosphorus load; 

(B) From all land cover types on a project 

site at build-out; 
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(C) Based on land-cover-specific nitrogen 

and phosphorus loading coefficients 

and annual runoff volume; and 

(D) Is supported by the weight of evidence 

from available, current, and applicable 

research. 

(6) Nutrient loading rate reductions resulting from 

the use of SCMs shall be determined through 

the use of the tool most recently approved by 

the Division to have met the following criteria, 

or through an alternative method that meets or 

exceeds the following criteria, as determined by 

the Division: 

(A) Provides project site loading reduction 

estimates from the installation of 

DEMLR-approved SCMs; 

(B) Reductions apply to the portion of the 

project's runoff volume that is directed 

to the SCMs; 

(C) The method partitions the runoff 

volume processed by the SCM among 

hydrologic fates and assigns nutrient 

concentrations to each of those fates; 

and 

(D) The method is supported by the weight 

of evidence from available, current, 

and applicable research. 

(7) Proposed development projects shall 

demonstrate compliance with the riparian 

buffer protection requirements set forth in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0259. 

(f)  RULE IMPLEMENTATION 

(1) Within eight months of the effective date of this 

Rule, the Division shall submit a model local 

stormwater program embodying the elements in 

Paragraphs (c) through (e) of this Rule to the 

Commission for approval. The Division shall 

work with subject local governments in 

developing this model program. 

(2) Local governments designated pursuant to 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule and additional 

local governments designated pursuant to 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule shall submit a 

local stormwater program for approval by the 

Commission within six months and 12 months, 

respectively, of the Commission's approval of 

the model local program. These local programs 

shall meet or exceed the requirements in 

Paragraphs (c) through (e) of this Rule. 

(3) The Division shall provide recommendations to 

the Commission regarding proposed local 

programs. The Commission shall approve 

programs or require changes based on the 

standards set out in Paragraphs (c) through (e) 

of this Rule. Should the Commission require 

changes, the applicable local government shall 

have three months to submit revisions, and the 

Division shall provide follow-up 

recommendations to the Commission within 

two months after receiving revisions. 

(4) Within six months after the Commission's 

approval of a local program, the local 

government shall complete adoption of and 

implement its local stormwater program. 

(5) Local governments administering a stormwater 

program shall submit annual reports in 

electronic format to the Division documenting 

their progress regarding each implementation 

requirement in Paragraph (c) of this Rule and 

net changes to nitrogen load by October 30th of 

each year. Annual reports shall also include as 

appendices all data utilized by nutrient 

calculation tools for each development 

stormwater plan approved in accordance with 

this Rule. 

(6) Any significant modifications to a local 

government's program shall be submitted to the 

Director for approval. 

(g)  COMPLIANCE. A local government's authority to approve 

development stormwater plans for compliance with this Rule 

pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall be contingent upon 

maintaining its own compliance with this Rule. A local 

government that fails to submit an acceptable local stormwater 

program within the timeframe established in this Rule, fails to 

implement an approved program, or fails to comply with annual 

reporting requirements shall be in violation of this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.26; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6A; 143-215.6B; 

143-215.6C; 143 B -282(d); 143-215.8B; S.L. 1997-458; S.L. 

2006-246; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0256 .0732 TAR-PAMLICO 

NUTRIENT STRATEGY: AGRICULTURE 

(a)  PURPOSE. The purpose of this Rule is to maintain or exceed 

the percentage reduction goals defined in Rule .0730 of this 

Section for the collective agricultural loading of nitrogen and 

phosphorus from the 1991 baseline levels, to the extent that best 

available accounting practices will allow, on agricultural 

operations as defined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. This Rule 

requires persons engaging in agricultural operations in the basin 

to implement land management practices that will collectively, on 

a basin basis, achieve and maintain strategy nutrient reduction 

goals of a 30 percent reduction in nitrogen loading from 1991 

levels and no increase in phosphorus loading from 1991 levels. 

Local committees and a Basin Oversight Committee shall 

coordinate activities and account for progress. 

(1) PROCESS. This Rule requires agricultural 

producers in the basin to implement land 

management practices that collectively, on a 

basin-wide basis, will achieve the nutrient 

goals.  

(2) LIMITATION. This Rule may not fully address 

the agricultural nitrogen reduction goal of the 

Tar-Pamlico Nutrient Sensitive Waters 
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Strategy in that it does not address atmospheric 

sources of nitrogen to the Basin, including 

atmospheric emissions of ammonia from 

sources located both within and outside of the 

Basin, and the Commission may undertake 

separate rule making to address atmospheric 

sources at a later date.  

(b)  APPLICABILITY. This Rule shall apply to all agricultural 

producers engaging in agricultural operations in the geographic 

area subject to the Tar-Pamlico nutrient strategy as described in 

Rule .0730 of this Section. This Rule applies to livestock and 

poultry operations set forth in Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Rule in 

addition to requirements for animal operations set forth in general 

permits issued pursuant to G.S. 143-215.10C. Nothing in this Rule 

shall be deemed to allow the violation of any assigned surface 

water, groundwater, or air quality standard by any agricultural 

operation, including any livestock or poultry operation below the 

size thresholds in this Paragraph. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"agricultural operations," are activities, and "agricultural 

producers" are persons engaging in those activities, that relate to 

any of the following pursuits: 

(1) The commercial production of crops or 

horticultural products other than trees. As used 

in this Rule, "commercial" shall mean activities 

conducted primarily for financial profit. 

(2) Research activities in support of commercial 

production. 

(3) The production or management of any of the 

following number of livestock or poultry at any 

time, excluding nursing young: 

(A) 20 or more horses; 

(B) 20 or more cattle; 

(C) 150 or more swine; 

(D) 120 or more sheep; 

(E) 130 or more goats; 

(F) 650 or more turkeys; 

(G) 3,500 or more chickens; or 

(H) Any single species of any other 

livestock or poultry, or any 

combination of species of livestock or 

poultry that exceeds 20,000 pounds of 

live weight at any time. 

(4) Certain tree-harvesting activities described and 

defined as follows. 

(A) The one-time harvest of trees on land 

within a riparian buffer described in 

Rule .0259 that was open farmland on 

September 1, 2001. This one-time 

harvest of trees may be conducted 

within one tree cropping interval only 

under a verifiable farm plan that 

received final approval from a local 

agricultural agency on or after 

September 1, 2001 and that expressly 

allowed the harvest of trees no earlier 

than 10 years after the trees are 

established and the return of the land 

to another agricultural pursuit. 

(B) The one-time harvest of trees on land 

within a riparian buffer described in 

15A NCAC 02B .0259 that had trees 

established under an agricultural 

incentive program as of September 1, 

2001. 

(C) All tree harvesting described in Parts 

(A) and (B) of this Subparagraph shall 

comply with 02 NCAC 60C. The 

nutrient removal functions that were 

provided by trees prior to their harvest 

shall be replaced by other measures 

that are implemented by the owner of 

the land from which the trees are 

harvested. 

(D) The following definitions shall apply 

to terms used in Parts (A) and (B) of 

this Subparagraph: 

(i) "Agricultural incentive 

program" means any of the 

following programs and any 

predecessor program to any 

of the following programs: 

(I) Agriculture Cost 

Share Program for 

Nonpoint Source 

Pollution Control 

established by G.S. 

106-850. 

(II) Conservation 

Reserve 

Enhancement 

Program established 

by 7 C.F.R. Part 

1410 (January 1, 

2001 Edition) and 

15A NCAC 06G 

.0101 through 15A 

NCAC 06G .0106. 

(III) Conservation 

Reserve Program 

established by 7 

C.F.R. Part 1410 

(January 1, 2001 

Edition). 

(IV) Environmental 

Quality Incentives 

Program established 

by 7 C.F.R. Part 

1466 (January 1, 

2001 Edition). 

(V) Wetlands Reserve 

Program established 

by 7 C.F.R. Part 

1467 (January 1, 

2001 Edition). 

(VI) Wildlife Habitat 

Incentives Program 

established by 7 
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C.F.R. Part 636 

(January 1, 2001 

Edition). 

(VII) The CFRs in this 

Subparagraph are 

incorporated by 

reference, including 

subsequent 

amendments and 

editions, and may be 

accessed free of 

charge at 

www.gpo.gov. 

(ii) "Local agricultural agency" 

means the North Carolina 

Cooperative Extension 

Service, the Farm Services 

Agency of the United States 

Department of Agriculture, 

the Natural Resources 

Conservation Service of the 

United States Department of 

Agriculture, a Soil and Water 

Conservation District created 

pursuant to G.S. 139-5, or 

their successor agencies. 

(iii) "Open farmland" means the 

footprint of land used for 

pasture or for crops or 

horticultural products other 

than trees. Open farmland 

may contain scattered trees if 

an open canopy existed on 

September 1, 2001 as 

determined from the most 

recent aerial photographs 

taken prior to September 1, 

2001 for the Farm Services 

Agency of the United States 

Department of Agriculture. 

(iv) "Tree" means a woody plant 

with a diameter equal to or 

greater than five inches when 

measured at a height of four 

and one-half feet above the 

ground. 

(v) "Tree cropping interval" 

means the time required to 

establish and grow trees that 

are suitable for harvesting. 

The tree-cropping interval 

shall be set out in the farm 

plan and shall be no less than 

10 years after the trees are 

established. 

(c)  IMPLEMENTATION PROCESS. A Basin Oversight 

Committee, as set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, and county-

level Local Advisory Committees, as set forth in Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule, shall coordinate activities and account for progress. 

Accounting for nutrient-reducing actions on agricultural 

operations within the basin shall follow requirements set forth in 

Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule. Agricultural producers may be 

eligible to obtain cost share and technical assistance from the NC 

Agriculture Cost Share Program and similar federal programs to 

contribute to their counties' ongoing nutrient reductions. 

Committee activity shall be guided by the following: 

(1) OPTIONS FOR INDIVIDUAL 

OPERATIONS. Agricultural producers subject 

to this Rule may elect to implement practices 

meeting the standards identified in Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule that contribute to maintenance 

of collective local compliance with the goal 

identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, but are 

not required to implement any specific practices 

provided their basin collectively maintains 

compliance with the goal. 

(2) MAINTENANCE OF GOAL. Accounting 

shall annually demonstrate maintenance or 

exceedence of the nitrogen reduction goal for 

the basin. Where three sequential annual reports 

show that the basin did not meet its nitrogen and 

phosphorus reduction goals, the Basin 

Oversight Committee shall work with the 

Division of Soil and Water Conservation and 

Local Advisory Committees, particularly those 

representing counties not meeting the goals, to 

seek reduction actions by operations to bring 

agriculture collectively back into compliance, 

and shall report on their efforts in subsequent 

annual reports. Should subsequent annual 

reports not reverse the trend of non-compliance, 

the Commission may conduct additional 

rulemaking to require a more specific 

implementation plan from the Basin Oversight 

Committee, which may include an assessment 

of need for specific action by the Commission. 

(d)  BASIN OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE. The Basin Oversight 

Committee shall have the following membership, role, and 

responsibilities: 

(1) MEMBERSHIP. The Director of the Division 

of Water Resources shall be responsible for 

maintaining the following membership 

composition. Until such time as the 

Commission determines that long-term 

compliance with this Rule is assured, the 

Director shall solicit one nomination for 

membership on this Committee from each 

agency or interest in Parts (A) through (J) of 

this Subparagraph. The Director shall confirm 

nominees in writing or request alternative 

nominations. The Director may appoint a 

replacement at any time for an interest in Parts 

(F) through (J) of this Subparagraph upon 

request of representatives of that interest or by 

the request of the Commissioner of Agriculture 

for Part (G): 

(A) Division of Soil and Water 

Conservation; 
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(B) United States Department of 

Agriculture-Natural Resources 

Conservation Service (shall serve in 

an "ex-officio" non-voting capacity 

and shall function as a technical 

program advisor to the Committee); 

(C) North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services; 

(D) North Carolina Cooperative Extension 

Service; 

(E) Division of Water Resources; 

(F) Up to two environmental interests; 

(G) Basinwide farming interests; 

(H) Pasture-based livestock interests;  

(I) General farming interests; and 

(J) The scientific community with 

experience related to water quality 

problems in the Tar-Pamlico River 

Basin. 

(2) ROLE. The Basin Oversight Committee shall: 

(A) Continue to review, approve, and 

summarize local nitrogen and 

phosphorus reduction annual reports 

to ensure ongoing implementation of 

the accounting methods approved by 

the Commission under the original 

version of this Rule in October 2002 

for nitrogen and November 2005 for 

phosphorus as conforming to the 

requirements of Subparagraph (3) of 

this Paragraph. The Committee shall 

present these reports as initiated in 

2002, to the Director; 

(B) Take actions set forth in Subparagraph 

(c)(2) of this Rule to address 

maintenance of the nitrogen and 

phosphorus reductions goals; 

(C) Identify and implement future 

refinements to the accounting 

methodology to reflect advances in 

scientific understanding, including 

establishment of nutrient reduction 

efficiencies for BMPS; 

(D) Reassemble as needed a phosphorus 

technical advisory committee to 

update the qualitative phosphorus 

method approved by the Commission 

in October 2005, titled Accounting 

Method for Tracking Relative 

Changes in Agricultural Phosphorus 

Loading to the Tar-Pamlico River, in 

order to revise phosphorus baseline 

values and annual changes in factors 

affecting agricultural phosphorus loss.  

(3) ACCOUNTING METHODOLOGY. The 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

be gauged by estimating percentage changes in 

nitrogen loss from agricultural operations in the 

Tar-Pamlico Basin and by evaluating broader 

trends in indicators of phosphorus loss from 

agricultural lands in the Tar-Pamlico Basin. 

The Basin Oversight Committee shall develop, 

maintain, and update as set forth in this 

Paragraph, accounting methods that meet the 

following requirements: 

(A) The nitrogen method shall estimate 

baseline and annual total nitrogen 

losses from agricultural operations in 

each county and for the entire Tar-

Pamlico Basin;  

(B) The nitrogen and phosphorus methods 

shall include a means of tracking 

implementation of BMPs, including 

number, type, and area affected; 

(C) The nitrogen method shall include a 

means of estimating incremental 

nitrogen loss reductions from 

implementation of BMPs that conform 

to requirements of Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule and of evaluating progress 

toward and maintenance of the 

nutrient goals from changes in BMP 

implementation, fertilization, and 

changes in individual crop acres; 

(D) The nitrogen and phosphorus methods 

shall be refined as research and 

technical advances allow; and 

(E) The phosphorus method shall quantify 

baseline values for and annual changes 

in factors affecting agricultural 

phosphorus loss as identified in the 

report by the phosphorus technical 

advisory committee described in Part 

(d)(2)(D). 

(e)  LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES. The Local Advisory 

Committees shall have the following membership, roles, and 

responsibilities: 

(1) MEMBERSHIP. Per S.L. 2001-355, a Local 

Advisory Committee shall be maintained as 

provided in this Paragraph in each county or 

watershed as specified by the Basin Oversight 

Committee, within the Tar-Pamlico River 

Basin. The Committee shall terminate upon a 

finding by the Commission that the long-term 

maintenance of nutrient loads in the Tar-

Pamlico River Basin is assured. Each Local 

Advisory Committee shall consist of: 

(A) One representative of the local Soil 

and Water Conservation District; 

(B) One local representative of the United 

States Department of Agriculture- 

Natural Resources Conservation 

Service; 

(C) One local representative of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services; 
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(D) One local representative of the North 

Carolina Cooperative Extension 

Service; 

(E) One local representative of the North 

Carolina Division of Soil and Water 

Conservation; and 

(F) At least two agricultural producers 

that reside in the county. 

(2) APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS. Per S.L. 

2001-355, the Director of the Division of Water 

Resources and the Director of the Division of 

Soil and Water Conservation of the Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall 

jointly appoint members described in Parts 

(1)(A), (1)(B), (1)(D), and (1)(E) of this 

Subparagraph. As directed by S.L. 2001-355, 

the Commissioner of Agriculture shall appoint 

the members described in Part (1)(F) of this 

Subparagraph from persons nominated by 

nongovernmental organizations whose 

members produce or manage significant 

agricultural commodities in each county or 

watershed.  

(3) ROLE. The Local Advisory Committees shall: 

(A) Continue to submit annual reports to 

the Basin Oversight Committee 

estimating total crop production on 

agricultural operations for the 

preceding calendar year, summarizing 

land use changes in the county, and 

making recommendations to the Basin 

Oversight Committee on the need for 

updates to the accounting 

methodology. Reports shall include 

documentation on the BMPs 

implemented, including type and 

location, that satisfy the requirements 

in Paragraph (f) of this Rule and 

documentation of any expired 

contracts for BMPs; and 

(B) Take actions called for under 

Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule as 

needed to address maintenance of the 

nitrogen and phosphorus reduction 

goals. 

(f)  PRACTICE STANDARDS. To receive nutrient reduction 

credit, a BMP shall be included in the accounting method set forth 

in Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule, or in a subsequent revision to 

that method identified in annual reporting, and it shall be 

implemented according to applicable nutrient-related standards 

identified by the Basin Oversight Committee and established by 

the NC Soil and Water Conservation Commission or the USDA-

Natural Resources Conservation Service in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1);  

Eff. September 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002 (exempt from 270 

day requirement-S.L. 2001-355); 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0229 .0733 TAR-PAMLICO 

NUTRIENT STRATEGY: NEW AND EXPANDING 

WASTEWATER DISCHARGER REQUIREMENTS  

The following is the management strategy for new and expanding 

wastewater dischargers in the Tar-Pamlico River basin: 

(1) Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to establish 

minimum nutrient control requirements for new 

and expanding point source discharges in the 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin in order to maintain or 

restore water quality in the Pamlico Estuary and 

protect its designated uses. 

(2) Applicability. This Rule applies to all 

discharges from wastewater treatment facilities 

in the Tar-Pamlico River Basin that receive 

nitrogen- or phosphorus-bearing wastewater 

and are required to obtain individual NPDES 

permits. This Rule applies to Tar-Pamlico 

Basin Association member facilities on or after 

June 1, 2025. This Rule applies to other 

facilities upon this Rule's effective date. 

(3) Definitions. The terms used in this Rule, in 

regard to point source dischargers, treatment 

facilities, wastewater flows or discharges, or 

like matters, shall be as defined in Rule .0701 

of this Section and as follows: 

(a) "Existing" means that which obtained 

an NPDES permit on or before 

December 8, 1994. 

(b) "Expanding" means that which 

increases beyond its permitted flow as 

defined in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) "New" means that which had not 

obtained an NPDES permit on or 

before December 8, 1994. 

(4) "Permitted flow" means the maximum monthly 

average flow authorized in a facility's NPDES 

permit as of December 8, 1994. 

(5) This Item specifies nutrient controls for new 

facilities. 

(a) Proposed new wastewater dischargers 

shall evaluate all practical alternatives 

to surface water discharge pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02H .0105(c)(2) prior to 

submitting an application to discharge. 

(b) The technology-based nitrogen and 

phosphorus discharge limits for a new 

facility shall not exceed: 

(i) For facilities treating 

municipal or domestic 

wastewater, the mass load 

equivalent to a concentration 

of 3.5 mg/L TN and 0.5 mg/L 

TP at the monthly average 

flow limit in the facility's 

NPDES permit; and 

(ii) For facilities treating 

industrial wastewater, the 
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mass load equivalent to the 

best available technology 

economically achievable, 

calculated at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's NPDES permit. 

(c) Proposed new dischargers submitting 

an application shall acquire nutrient 

allocation from existing dischargers or 

nutrient offset credits pursuant to Rule 

.0703 of this Section for the mass load 

dictated by this Item. The allocation 

and offset credits shall be sufficient for 

any partial calendar year in which the 

permit becomes effective plus 10 

subsequent years of discharge at the 

proposed design flow rate in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0112(c). 

(d) The Director shall not issue a permit 

authorizing discharge from a new 

facility unless the applicant has 

satisfied the requirements of Sub-

Items (a), (c), and (e) of this Item. If a 

facility's permit contains tiered flow 

limits for expansion, the Director shall 

not authorize an increased discharge 

unless the applicant has satisfied the 

requirements of Sub-Items (a), (c), and 

(e) of this Item. 

(e) Subsequent applications for permit 

renewal shall demonstrate that the 

facility has sufficient nitrogen 

allocation or offset credits to meet its 

effluent nutrient limitations for any 

partial calendar year in which the 

permit becomes effective plus 10 

subsequent years of discharge at the 

proposed design flow rate in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0112(c). 

(f) The Director shall establish more 

stringent limits for nitrogen or 

phosphorus upon finding that such 

limits are necessary to protect water 

quality standards in localized areas. 

(6) This Item specifies nutrient controls for 

expanding facilities. 

(a) Expanding facilities shall evaluate all 

practical alternatives to surface water 

discharge pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H 

.0105(c)(2) prior to submitting an 

application to discharge.  

(b) The nitrogen and phosphorus 

discharge limits for an expanding 

facility shall not exceed the greater of 

loads equivalent to its active allocation 

and offset credit, or the following 

technology-based mass limits: 

(i) For facilities treating 

municipal or domestic 

wastewater, the mass 

equivalent to a concentration 

of 3.5 mg/L TN and 0.5 mg/L 

TP at the monthly average 

flow limit in the NPDES 

permit; and 

(ii) For facilities treating 

industrial wastewater, the 

mass load equivalent to the 

best available technology 

economically achievable, 

calculated at the monthly 

average flow limit in the 

facility's NPDES permit. 

(c) Facilities submitting application for 

increased discharge or, where an 

existing permit contains tiered flow 

limits, for authorization to discharge at 

an increased flow, shall acquire or 

demonstrate contractual agreement to 

acquire, prior to authorization to 

discharge at the increased flow, 

nutrient allocation from existing 

dischargers or nutrient offset credits 

pursuant to Rule .0703 of this Section 

for the proposed discharge above 0.5 

million gallons per day (MGD). The 

allocation and offset credits shall be 

sufficient to meet its effluent nutrient 

limitations for any partial calendar 

year in which the permit becomes 

effective plus 10 subsequent years of 

discharge at the proposed design flow 

rate in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02H .0112(c).  

(d) The Director shall not issue a permit 

authorizing increased discharge from 

an existing facility unless the applicant 

has satisfied the requirements of Sub-

Items (a), (c), and (e) of this Item. If a 

facility's permit contains tiered flow 

limits for expansion, the Director shall 

not authorize discharge at an increased 

flow unless the applicant has satisfied 

the requirements of Sub-Items (a), (c), 

and (e) of this Item. 

(e) Subsequent applications for permit 

renewal shall demonstrate that the 

facility has sufficient nitrogen 

allocation or offset credits to meet its 

effluent nutrient limitations for any 

partial calendar year in which the 

permit becomes effective plus 10 

subsequent years of discharge at the 

proposed design flow rate in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0112(c). 
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(f) The Director shall modify an 

expanding facility's permit to establish 

more stringent limits for nitrogen or 

phosphorus upon finding that such 

limits are necessary to protect water 

quality standards in localized areas. 

(g) Existing wastewater dischargers 

expanding to greater than 0.5 MGD 

design capacity may petition the 

Director for an exemption from Sub-

Items (a) through (c) and (e) of this 

Item upon meeting and maintaining all 

of the following conditions: 

(i) The facility has reduced its 

annual average TN and TP 

loading by 30 percent from 

its annual average 1991 TN 

and TP loading. Industrial 

facilities may alternatively 

demonstrate that nitrogen 

and phosphorus are not part 

of the waste stream above 

background levels. 

(ii) The expansion does not result 

in annual average TN or TP 

loading greater than 70 

percent of the 1991 annual 

average TN or TP load. 

Permit limits shall be 

established to ensure that the 

70 percent load is not 

exceeded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.8B; 143B-282;  

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Pending Delayed Eff. Date. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 08 – BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0401 CPE REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CPAS 

(a)  In order for a CPA to receive credit for CPE activities: 

(1) the CPA shall attend or complete the activity 

and receive a certificate of completion as set 

forth in the Standards for CPE Program 

Sponsors in the NASBA/AICPA Statement on 

Standards for Continuing Professional 

Education (CPE) Programs, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, are 

hereby incorporated by reference. Copies of the 

Standards for CPE Program Sponsors can be 

found at no cost on the NASBA website at 

www.nasbaregistry.org/the-standards; 

(2) the activity shall meet the requirements set out 

in Rule .0404 of this Section; and 

(3) the activity shall increase the professional 

competency of the CPA. 

(b)  An activity that increases the professional competency of a 

CPA shall be an activity in an area of the profession in which the 

CPA practices or is planning to practice, or in the area of 

professional ethics. 

(c)  Because of differences in the education and experience of 

CPAs, an activity may contribute to the professional competence 

of one CPA but not another. Each CPA shall therefore exercise 

judgment in selecting activities for which CPE credit is claimed 

and choose only those that contribute to that CPA's professional 

competence. 

(d)  Active CPAs shall complete 2,000 CPE minutes computed in 

accordance with Rule .0409 of this Section by December 31 of 

each year, except as follows: 

(1) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in April to June shall complete 

1,500 CPE minutes during the same calendar 

year; 

(2) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in July to September shall 

complete 1,000 CPE minutes during the same 

calendar year; or 

(3) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in October to December shall 

complete 500 CPE minutes during the same 

calendar year; and 

Any CPE minutes completed during the calendar year in which 

the certificate application is approved may be used for that year's 

requirement even if the minutes were completed before the 

certificate was granted. 

(e)  A CPA shall complete a minimum of 50 CPE minutes 

annually in activities on regulatory or behavioral professional 

ethics and conduct. Ethics CPE shall be offered by a CPE sponsor 

registered with NASBA pursuant to Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(f)  There shall be no CPE requirements for inactive CPAs. 

(g)  When a CPA has completed more than the required number 

of minutes of CPE in any one calendar year, up to 1,000 minutes 

shall be carried forward and treated as minutes earned in the 

following year. Ethics CPE minutes may not be included in any 

carry forward minutes to meet the requirement of Paragraph (e) 

of this Rule. A CPA shall not claim CPE credit for activities taken 

in any year prior to the year of certification. 

(h)  Any CPE minutes used to satisfy the requirements for change 

of status as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0105, for reissuance as set 

forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106, or for application for a new 

certificate as set forth in Rule 08I .0104 of this Chapter may be 

used to satisfy the annual CPE requirement set forth in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(i)  It shall be the CPA's responsibility to maintain records 

substantiating the CPE credits claimed for the current year and for 

each of the four calendar years prior to the current year. 

(j)  A non-resident licensee may satisfy the annual CPE 

requirements in the jurisdiction where the CPA is licensed and 

currently works or resides. If there is no annual CPE requirement 

in the jurisdiction where the CPA is licensed and currently works 

or resides, the CPA shall comply with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
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A non-resident licensee whose office is in North Carolina shall 

comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. All other non-resident 

licensees may satisfy Paragraph (e) of this Rule by completing the 

ethics requirements in the jurisdiction in which the non-resident 

licensee is licensed as a CPA and works or resides. If there is no 

ethics CPE requirement in the jurisdiction where the non-resident 

licensee is licensed and currently works or resides, the non-

resident licensee shall comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b); 

Eff. May 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; January 1, 2007; January 1, 2004; 

August 1, 1995; April 1, 1994; May 1, 1989; September 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0403 QUALIFICATION OF CPE 

SPONSORS 

(a)  The Board shall not register CPE activities nor sponsors or 

providers of CPE activities. 

(b)  CPE providers not in good standing on the NASBA National 

Registry of CPE Sponsors shall comply with the Standards for 

CPE Program Sponsors in the NASBA/AICPA Statement on 

Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs 

found on the NASBA website at www.nasbaregistry.org. 

(c)  Sponsors of continuing education activities that are listed in 

good standing on the NASBA National Registry of CPE Sponsors 

shall be considered by the Board as compliant with the Standards 

for CPE Program Sponsors in the NASBA/AICPA Statement on 

Standards for Continuing Profession Education (CPE) Programs 

found on the NASBA website at www.nasbaregistry.org. 

(d)  Failure of a National Registry of CPE Sponsor to comply with 

this Rule shall be grounds for the Board to disqualify the sponsor 

as a CPE sponsor with this Board and to notify NASBA and the 

public of this action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b); 

Eff. May 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; January 1, 2007; January 1, 2004; 

March 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; August 1, 1988; February 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0404 REQUIREMENTS FOR CPE 

CREDIT 

(a)  A CPA shall not be granted CPE credit for an activity unless 

the activity is in one of the fields of study listed in the NASBA 

Fields of Study, including subsequent amendments and editions, 

which are hereby incorporated by reference. Copies of the 

NASBA Fields of Study can be found at no cost on the NASBA 

website at www.nasbaregistry.org/the-standards. 

(b)  The following shall qualify as acceptable types of CPE 

activities, provided the activities comply with the requirements set 

forth in Rule .0403(b) or (c) of this Section: 

(1) professional development activities of national 

and state accounting organizations; 

(2) technical sessions at meetings of national and 

state accounting organizations and their 

chapters; 

(3) courses taken at regionally accredited colleges 

and universities; 

(4) educational activities that are designed and 

intended for continuing professional education 

activity conducted within a business, 

accounting firm, or an association of 

accounting firms; or 

(5) correspondence activities that are designed and 

intended for continuing professional education. 

(c)  CPE credit shall be granted for instructing or authoring a CPE 

activity as long as the CPA's professional competency was 

increased and was in one of the fields of study recognized by the 

Board, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  CPE credit shall not be granted for a self-study activity if the 

material that the CPA must study to take the examination is not 

designed for CPE purposes. This includes periodicals, guides, 

magazines, subscription services, books, reference manuals, and 

supplements that contain an examination to test the 

comprehension of the material read. 

(e)  A CPA may claim credit for an activity offered by a provider 

if the activity meets the requirements of this Rule and Rule .0409 

of this Section. The CPA shall maintain documentation proving 

the activity met these standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 

Eff. May 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; January 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; 

February 1, 1996; March 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; August 1, 1988; 

February 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0405 ADMINISTRATION OF 

REQUIREMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 

Eff. May 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; January 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 28, 2014; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0406 COMPLIANCE WITH CPE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All active CPAs shall file a reporting of CPE minutes by the 

July 1 renewal date of each year. The Board may audit 

information submitted by licensees who apply for a renewal 

license. 

(b)  If a CPA fails to complete the CPE requirements prior to the 

end of the previous calendar year but the CPA has completed them 

by June 30, the Board may: 

(1) issue a letter of warning for the first such failure 

within a five-calendar year period; and 

(2) deny the renewal of the CPA's certificate for a 

period of not less than 30 days and until the 

CPA meets the reinstatement requirements set 

forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106 for the second such 

failure within a five-calendar year period. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 93-12(9)(e); 

Eff. May 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; January 1, 2004; April 1, 1994; 

March 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0409 COMPUTATION OF CPE 

CREDITS 

(a)  Group Activity. CPE credit for a group activity shall be given 

based on contact minutes.  

(b)  Completing a College Course. CPE credit for completing a 

college course in the college curriculum shall be granted based on 

converting the number of credit hours the college gives the CPA 

for completing the course into minutes. One semester hour of 

college credit shall be 750 CPE minutes. No CPE credit shall be 

given to a CPA who audits a college course. No more than 50 

percent of the CPE credits required for a year shall be credits for 

completing a college course. 

(c)  Self Study Activity. CPE credit for a self-study activity shall 

be given based on the number of minutes needed to complete the 

activity as determined by the sponsor.  

(d)  Preparing or Presenting a CPE Activity. CPE credit for 

preparing or presenting a CPE activity for CPAs shall be given 

based on the number of minutes spent in preparing or presenting 

the activity. Preparing includes activities such as authoring or 

conducting a technical review. No more than 50 percent of the 

CPE credits required for a year shall be credits for preparing for 

or presenting CPE activities. CPE credit for preparing or 

presenting an activity shall be allowed only once a year for an 

activity prepared or presented more than once in the same year by 

the same CPA. 

(e)  Authoring a Publication. CPE credit for published articles and 

books shall be given based on the number of minutes the CPA 

spent writing the article or book. No more than 25 percent of a 

CPA's required CPE credits for a year shall be credits for 

published articles or books. An article written for a CPA's client 

or business newsletter shall not receive CPE credit. 

(f)  Instructing a College Course. CPE credit for instructing a 

college course above the level of accounting principles shall be 

given based on the number of credit hours the college gives a 

student for completing the course, using the calculation set forth 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. No more than 50 percent of the CPE 

credits required for a year shall be credits for instructing a college 

course. 

(g)  Nano Learning Activity. CPE credit for Nano Learning, a 

tutorial activity without interaction with a real-time instructor that 

is designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject through 

electronic media including technology applications/processes, 

computer-based or web-based technology, shall be based on the 

number of contact minutes. Nano Learning is not a group 

program. This CPE activity shall be offered by a CPE sponsor 

registered with NASBA pursuant to Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(h)  Blended Learning Activity. A Blended Learning program 

offers participants learning in multiple formats or delivery 

methods. Activities can include lectures, discussion, guided 

practice, games, case studies, and simulation. The varied delivery 

methods include Group Live, Group Internet Based, Self Study, 

or Nano Learning. The primary component of the program may 

be concurrent (a group program) or nonconcurrent, allowing the 

participant to control a portion of the time and place of the 

learning. CPE credit for Blended Learning shall be based on the 

number of contact minutes incorporated in all the learning formats 

in the Blended Learning activity. This CPE activity shall be 

offered by a CPE sponsor registered with NASBA pursuant to 

Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(i)  No more than 50 percent of the CPE credits required for a year 

shall be credits claimed under Paragraphs (b), (d), and (f) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2014; February 1, 2012; 

January 1, 2007; January 1, 2004; February 1, 1996; April 1, 

1994; March 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 28, 2014; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0410 PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND 

CONDUCT CPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b); 93-12(9); 

Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; February 1, 2012; January 1, 

2007; January 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0103 STRUCTURE OF BOARD 

(a)  Election of Candidates for Appointment to the Board. As 

necessary to meet the requirements of G.S. 90-140, the Board 

shall hold the election of chiropractic candidates for appointment 

to the Board at its March and September meeting at a time, date, 

and place to be selected by the Board and published on the Board's 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com at least 90 days in advance of 

the election.  

(b)  The election shall be administered by the Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. Any member of the Board who is 

nominated to succeed himself or herself shall be disqualified from 

conducting the vote in which he or she is a nominee. 

(c)  Nomination shall be made from the floor and shall require two 

seconds. Any prospective nominee may withdraw his or her name 

from consideration by an oral statement to that effect. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-139; 90-140; 90-142; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; May 8, 1979; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 18, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; December 1, 1988; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0204 LICENSURE 

(a)  Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant 

who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address 

appearing on the application form. 

(b)  Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform 

the Board of any change in his or her contact information. 

Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board 

office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com, by regular mail to the 

Board office located at 6070 Six Forks Rd., Ste. L, Raleigh, NC 

27609, or fax at (704) 793-1385 within 30 days after any such 

change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-145; 90-148; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 CERTIFICATION OF 

RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 

(a)  Definition. The Board shall refer to the terms "radiologic 

technologist," "x-ray tech," and "x-ray technician" 

interchangeably to mean "diagnostic imaging technician," as 

identified in G.S. 90-143.2. 

(b)  Application Procedure. After successful completion of the 

Certification of Clinical Assistants described in 21 NCAC 10 

.0213 and completing the education program described in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a person desiring certification as a 

radiologic technologist shall pass a competency examination 

administered by or under the authority of the Board. The applicant 

shall complete an application form available on the Board's 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-technician/, and 

confirm and submit that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, a 

high school graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of good 

moral character. A photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate, 

driver's license, or government-issued identification card shall 

constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's age. A 

photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma, transcript, or 

general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie 

evidence of the applicant's graduation from high school. An 

affidavit attesting to good moral character and signed by a 

chiropractic physician or other responsible party who knows the 

applicant and is not related to the applicant shall constitute prima 

facie evidence of the applicant's good moral character. 

(c)  Approved Education Programs. In order to be approved by the 

Board, a radiological technologist education program shall be at 

least 50 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-

person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, 

based on education and experience, are competent to teach the 

portion of the curriculum they have been assigned, and 

completion of the practical requirement as set forth in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. The education program shall provide sufficient 

instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.2 to enable 

its graduates to satisfy all applicable standards of care governing 

the production of X-rays. To obtain approval of an education 

program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 

60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the 

didactic training and a curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(d)  Practical Requirement. Upon completion of the training set 

forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a person desiring certification 

as a radiological technologist shall undergo a Practical whereby 

the person is evaluated by his or her program sponsor on the 

following competencies while viewing x-rays for four different 

patients: 

(1) Image quality; 

(2) Marking sides of the body; 

(3) Technique input to controller; 

(4) Tube/focal film distance; 

(5) Bucky/tube alignment; 

(6) Patient positioning; 

(7) Gonad shielding; 

(8) Ability to name additional views in the series; 

and 

(9) Collimation. 

The person shall submit written documentation of the Practical 

evaluation on a form prescribed by the Board that is available on 

the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-

technician/. 

(e)  A.C.R.R.T. Exemption. Any person registered as "active" 

with the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists shall be deemed to have satisfied the educational 

requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(f)  Competency Examination. The competency examination shall 

be administered in person at least three times per year. The Board 

shall publish on its website, https://ncchiroboard.com/master-

exam-calendar/, the date, time, and location of the examination at 

least 90 days in advance. The Board may authorize additional 

testing sessions based on the number of applications received. The 

minimum passing score is 70 percent. 

(g)  Certificate Expiration and Renewal. A certificate of 

competency issued pursuant to G.S. 90-143.2 shall expire at the 

end of the calendar year in which it was issued but may be 

renewed upon a showing that the certificate holder completed six 

hours of Board-approved continuing education in radiologic 

technology during the year. A radiologic technologist whose 

initial certificate expires less than 12 months after issuance shall 

not be required to obtain continuing education until the second 

calendar year of certification but shall be required to pay the 

renewal fee at the end of the initial year of certification. A 

radiologic technologist seeking to renew a certificate of 

competency shall submit evidence that the applicant has 

completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A 

certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course 

sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute prima facie 

evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours 

recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay a renewal fee in 

the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The renewal fee shall 

not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through the 
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Board's website, https://ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made 

payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

(h)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a certificate issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the x-ray room 

of the chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a 

location where the certificate may be viewed by patients. 

(i)  Compliance. Other than licensed doctors of chiropractic, only 

those persons maintaining current certifications of competency in 

conformity with this Rule may produce x-rays or other diagnostic 

images in chiropractic offices. A chiropractor who permits the 

production of x-rays or other diagnostic images by a non-certified 

employee or an employee whose certification has expired shall be 

deemed in violation of G.S. 90-154.3. 

(j)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by demonstrating 

completion of six hours of Board-approved continuing education 

and paying the renewal fee set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

If the lapse is greater than 60 days, no make-up continuing 

education shall be required but the certificate holder shall re-take 

and pass the competency examination described in Paragraph (f) 

of this Rule and shall pay the renewal fee set forth in Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-143.2; 90-154.3; 

Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 31, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0207 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

SEMINARS 

(a)  Approval of Seminars. Only continuing education seminars 

approved by the Board shall count towards satisfying the 

requirements for license renewal. The sponsor and co-sponsors of 

any proposed seminar shall be responsible for submitting all the 

information outlined on the Board's Course Application to enable 

the Board to evaluate the seminar in accordance with this Rule. 

The Board's Course Application can be found on, and must be 

submitted via, the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com, 

containing the following information: 

(1) Whether the course's target audience is doctors 

of chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants, 

or x-ray technicians; 

(2) The course title; 

(3) The beginning and end dates on which the 

course will be offered; 

(4) Whether the course will be offered online or in 

a physical location; 

(5) If the course is offered in a physical location, 

the cities and states in which the course will be 

offered; 

(6) The manner in which the sponsor or co-sponsor 

will verify the attendance of licentiates; 

(7) The name and contact information of the 

sponsor and co-sponsor; 

(8) The website at which information on the course 

offering will be available; 

(9) The number of continuing education credits that 

the licentiates can obtain by attending the 

course; 

(10) Whether the course will provide doctors of 

chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants, or 

x-ray technicians with continuing education 

credit toward eligibility for licensure renewal, 

certification, or recertification; and 

(11) Whether the course has been approved by the 

Providers of Approved Continuing Education 

(PACE) program administered by the 

Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards 

(FCLB). 

The Board's Course Application shall be submitted at least 30 

days prior to the date of the proposed seminar. Incomplete 

applications will not be processed. 

(b)  Duration of Approval. A seminar approval issued by the 

Board shall expire at the end of the calendar year for which 

approved. If the sponsor or co-sponsors of an approved seminar 

wish to repeat the seminar on a date beyond the approval period, 

a new application shall be submitted to the Board. 

(c)  Criteria for Approval. The Board's criteria for approving 

continuing education seminars is as follows: 

(1) No practice-building or motivational seminars 

shall be approved; 

(2) No seminar shall be approved that requires 

attendees, in order to be able to utilize the 

information presented at the seminar, to 

purchase equipment or clinical supplies 

available only through the seminar's instructors, 

sponsors or co-sponsors; 

(3) Each seminar subject shall fall within the extent 

and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this 

State; and 

(4) Each instructor shall submit a curriculum vitae 

demonstrating that he or she has an educational 

background in, or professional experience with, 

the subject or subjects he or she is scheduled to 

teach. 

(d)  Duties of Seminar Sponsor. Sponsors and co-sponsors of any 

approved continuing education seminar shall: 

(1) Disclose on all brochures and advertising 

materials the name and address of each sponsor 

and co-sponsor and whether each sponsor and 

co-sponsor is a for-profit or not-for-profit 

entity; 

(2) Be liable for all expenses incurred in holding 

the seminar; 

(3) Give notice to the Board of any material 

changes in the seminar, including date, 

location, subject matter or instructors; and 

(4) Provide an agent at the seminar site who shall: 

(A) Monitor and report the attendance of 

each person attending the seminar, in 

accordance with the method identified 

in the Course Application submitted 

for the course; 
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(B) Supervise the agenda and prohibit the 

presentation of any subject matter not 

approved by the Board; and 

(C) Complete and submit to the Board a 

post-seminar review summarizing any 

problems experienced and any 

variance between the application for 

approval and the seminar as presented. 

(e)  Sanction for Non-Compliance. By applying for seminar 

approval, each sponsor and co-sponsor agrees to admit to the 

seminar at no charge a representative of the Board for the purpose 

of observing compliance with this Rule. If the Board determines 

that a sponsor or co-sponsor has falsified the application for 

approval, has failed to keep attendance, has allowed the seminar 

as presented to vary from the agenda as set forth in the application, 

or has failed to adhere to any other provision of this Rule, the 

Board shall refuse to approve future seminar applications from the 

offending sponsor or co-sponsor or from any principal who is a 

partner or shareholder in the offending sponsor or co-sponsor. 

(f)  PACE Approved State. All doctor of chiropractic courses that 

have been approved by the Providers of Approved Continuing 

Education (PACE) program administered by the Federation of 

Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB) shall be deemed to have 

complied with this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0213 CERTIFICATION OF CLINICAL 

ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Classification of Applicants. Applicants for clinical assistant 

competency certification shall be classified as follows:  

(1) Reciprocity applicants. A "reciprocity 

applicant" means an applicant who is currently 

certified or registered as a clinical assistant in 

another state whose requirements for 

certification or registration are substantially 

similar to or more stringent than the 

requirements for certification in North 

Carolina. 

(2) New applicants. A "new applicant" means any 

applicant who is not a reciprocity applicant. 

(b)  Requirements for Certification. Every applicant, regardless of 

classification, shall complete an application form available on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com and requiring the 

applicant to confirm and submit documentary evidence 

satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is at least 18 years of 

age, a high school graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of 

good moral character. A photocopy of the applicant's birth 

certificate, driver's license, or government-issued identification 

card shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's age. 

A photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma, transcript, or 

general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie 

evidence of the applicant's graduation from high school. An 

affidavit attesting to good moral character and signed by a 

chiropractic physician or other responsible party who knows the 

applicant and is not related to the applicant shall constitute prima 

facie evidence of the applicant's good moral character. Every 

applicant, regardless of classification, shall pay to the Board an 

initial certification fee in the amount of twenty dollars ($20.00). 

The initial certification fee shall not be paid in cash and may be 

paid by credit card through the Board's website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com or by a check made payable to the North 

Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. In addition to the 

general certification requirements, an applicant shall satisfy the 

requirements for the appropriate category of certification, as 

follows: 

(1) Reciprocity Applicants. A reciprocity applicant 

shall submit a copy of the applicant's current 

certification or registration as a clinical 

assistant in a state with which North Carolina 

reciprocates and shall also submit written 

confirmation from the state's certifying 

authority or registrar that the applicant is in 

good standing in that state. 

(2) New Applicants. A new applicant shall submit 

evidence that the applicant has completed an 

approved clinical assistant education program 

as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A 

certificate of completion filed with the Board 

by the program sponsor shall constitute prima 

facie evidence that the applicant has obtained 

the required education. A new applicant shall 

also take and pass the standard proficiency 

examination administered by or under the 

authority of the Board, as described in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a 

clinical assistant education program for new applicants shall be at 

least 24 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-

person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, 

based on education and experience, are competent to teach the 

portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. Credit for 

online coursework shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online 

coursework shall precede didactic training. The education 

program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five subjects set 

forth in G.S. 90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care. To obtain approval of an education 

program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 

60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the 

didactic training, and a curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(d)  Examinations. The proficiency examination for new 

applicants shall assess both academic knowledge and practical 

skills acquired through education programs and shall be 

administered in person at least four times per year on dates and at 

locations to be announced by the Board at least 90 days in advance 

and published on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

In its discretion, the Board may authorize additional testing 

sessions based on the number of applications received. The 

minimum passing score on the examination is 75 percent. 

(e)  Certificate Expiration and Renewal. Unless renewed, a 

certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the third 

year following the year in which it was issued. A certificate holder 

seeking to renew shall submit evidence that the applicant has 
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completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A 

certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course 

sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute prima facie 

evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours 

recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay to the Board a 

renewal fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The 

renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit 

card through the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com or 

by a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. 

(f)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the 

accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater 

than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, 

but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency 

examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse, 

a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee 

set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(g)  Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges 

and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are 

serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are 

deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed 

by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties 

of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption 

and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 

180 days shall submit the application form described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule and note the claim of exempt status. Exempt 

persons shall not be required to pay a certification fee. 

(h)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a certificate issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the 

chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location 

where the certificate may be viewed by patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0215 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  General. Pursuant to G.S. 93B-8.1(b6), any person with a 

criminal history may petition the Board at any time for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license, in 

accordance with this Rule. The Petition form may be found on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

(b)  Petition Procedure. To petition the Board under this Rule, a 

person must submit to the Board's office a petition for 

predetermination that contains all of the following information: 

(1) The person's name; 

(2) The last four digits of the person's social 

security number; 

(3) The person's current residential address; 

(4) The person's current mailing address; 

(5) A nationwide criminal history record report 

from the criminal records reporting service 

currently under contract with the Board; 

(6) For each crime identified in the criminal history 

record report, the following information: 

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(B) The date that the crime occurred; 

(C) The date the person was convicted of, 

or plead guilty or nolo contendere to, 

the crime; 

(D) The age of the person at the time of the 

crime; 

(E) The circumstances surrounding the 

commission of the crime; 

(F) The sentence imposed for the crime; 

(G) The period of time during which the 

person was incarcerated for the crime; 

(H) The period of time during which the 

person was on probation or parole for 

the crime; 

(I) Any documentation related to the 

person's rehabilitation or employment 

since the date of the crime; 

(J) Whether the person has undergone any 

rehabilitative drug or alcohol 

treatment since the date of the crime; 

(K) Whether a Certificate of Relief has 

been granted regarding the crime, 

pursuant to G.S. 15A 173.2; and 

(L) Any affidavits or other written 

documents, including character 

references, for the person. 

(7) An affirmation under oath that the person has 

read the Instructions for Submitting a Petition 

for Predetermination and the statutes and rules 

governing the practice of chiropractic and that 

the information contained in the petition is true 

and accurate. 

Incomplete petitions shall not be considered by the Board. If 

incomplete petitions received by the Board are not made complete 

within 30 days of receipt, the incomplete petitions will be returned 

to the person from whom the request was made. 

(c)  Petition Fee. A non-refundable petition fee of forty-five 

dollars ($45.00) shall accompany each petition. This fee may be 

paid by credit card through the Board's website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com or by check made payable to the North 

Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Cash shall not be 

accepted. 

(d)  Delegation of Authority for Predetermination. The Board 

delegates authority for rendering predeterminations under this 

Rule to the Chiropractic Review Committee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.3; 90-154; 93B-

8.1; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 10 .0302 ADVERTISING AND PUBLICITY 

(a)  Methods of Professional Identification. Methods of 

professional identification that are compliant with G.S. 90-

154.2(4) include: 

(1) Signs. Signs may be placed on exterior doors, 

windows or walls of the licentiate's office or at 

entrances to the building in which his office is 

located. 

(2) Stationery. A licentiate may identify himself on 

his stationery and mailing literature using the 

terms permitted by this Rule. 

(b)  Prohibited Advertising. The following shall constitute false 

or misleading advertising in violation of G.S. 90-154(b)(1): 

(1) Advertising that purports to guarantee a 

beneficial result from chiropractic treatment. 

(2) Advertising that promotes a treatment, therapy, 

or service that constitutes unacceptable care or 

the scope of practice as set forth in G.S. 90-

143(a) and G.S. 90-151. 

(3) Advertising in which the licentiate is identified 

as a specialist, unless the licentiate has 

complied with the requirements of 21 NCAC 10 

.0304, and any reference to the specialty is 

immediately preceded by the term 

"chiropractic." Illustrations are as follows: 

(A) "Pediatrics" standing alone is deemed 

false or misleading; "chiropractic 

pediatrics" conforms to this Rule; and 

(B) "Neurologist" standing alone is 

deemed false or misleading; 

"chiropractic neurologist" conforms to 

this Rule. 

(4) Advertising that implies the licensee holds an 

additional license(s) in North Carolina not so 

held, including but not limited to a medical 

physician, physical therapist, massage 

therapist, or acupuncturist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; May 8, 1979; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. March 2, 1983; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0401 PETITIONS FOR ADOPTION OF 

RULES 

Submission. Rule-making petitions shall be sent to the president 

of the Board and shall state the petitioner's name and address, and 

shall contain the information required in G.S. 150B-20(a). The 

petitioner also may submit the following additional information: 

(1) the reason for its proposal; 

(2) data supporting the proposed rule; 

(3) practices likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule; 

(4) persons likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 150B-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0403 ORAL PRESENTATIONS AT 

PUBLIC RULE-MAKING HEARINGS 

Oral Presentations at Public Hearing. Any public rule-making 

hearing required by Article 2A of Chapter 150 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes shall be conducted by the President of 

the Board or by any person he or she may delegate. Oral 

presentations shall not exceed 15 minutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 150B-21.1A; 150B-

21.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0406 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  General. The Board shall respond to requests for declaratory 

rulings in accordance with G.S. 150B-4. 

(b)  Request for Declaratory Ruling: Contents. A request for a 

declaratory ruling shall be in writing and addressed to the 

president. The request shall contain the following information: 

(1) The name and address of the person making the 

request; 

(2) The statute or rule to which the request relates; 

(3) A statement of the manner in which the person 

has been aggrieved by the statute or rule; and 

(4) A statement as to whether a hearing is desired, 

and if desired, the reason therefor. 

(c)  Refusal to Issue Ruling. The Board shall refuse to issue a 

declaratory ruling under the following circumstances: 

(1) When the Board has already made a controlling 

decision on similar facts in a contested case; 

(2) When the facts underlying the request for a 

ruling were considered at the time of the 

adoption of the rule in question; or 

(3) When the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation in North 

Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 
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Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0501 FILING COMPLAINTS 

Any person who has reason to believe that a Doctor of 

Chiropractic has violated the laws governing chiropractic may file 

a complaint with the Board. Board Anyone wishing to file a 

complaint shall file a form with the Board office that contains the 

following information: 

(1) the complainant's name and contact 

information; 

(2) the name and contact information of the person 

about which the complainant wishes to file the 

complaint; 

(3) a narrative of the facts about which the 

complainant wishes to complain; and 

(4) the complainant's signature and the date on 

which the complaint is made. 

The complaint form can be found on the Board's website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com/complaint-filing-process. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; January 1, 1983; December 20, 

1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0503 DETERMINATION OF 

PROBABLE CAUSE 

(a)  General. Complaints deemed likely to have occurred, based 

on the findings of the Investigative Report, shall be referred to the 

Chiropractic Review Committee. The committee shall hold a 

hearing to determine whether there is probable cause to believe a 

violation of the laws governing Chiropractic has occurred. 

(b)  Composition of Chiropractic Review Committee. The 

committee shall be composed of: 

(1) the secretary of the Board of Examiners. If the 

secretary is unable to attend a specific probable 

cause hearing, he or she may designate another 

physician member of the Board to serve and 

assume his or her duties at said hearing; 

(2) an alternate Board member. "Alternate Board 

member" means: 

(A) a former Board member selected by 

the secretary;  

(B) a current Board member selected by 

the secretary; or 

(C) a licensee selected by the secretary 

from among those who, at any election 

held pursuant to Rule .0103(c) of this 

Chapter, have been elected nominees 

for Board membership but not 

appointed to the Board. 

(c)  Notice of hearing. The secretary shall provide notice of the 

probable cause hearing in accordance with G.S. 150B-38(b). 

(d)  Conduct of Probable Cause Hearing. The secretary, or 

designee per Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, shall preside over 

the probable cause hearing. The Chiropractic Review Committee 

may consider evidence at the probable cause hearing that would 

not be admissible if offered at the hearing in a contested case. 

(e)  Action by the Chiropractic Review Committee. After 

examining the evidence presented at the probable cause hearing, 

the Chiropractic Review Committee shall dispose of each charge 

in a complaint as follows: 

(1) If no probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, the 

charge shall be dismissed; 

(2) If probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, and if the 

Committee and licensee at issue fail to resolve 

the matter through settlement, the case shall be 

considered a "contested case" and set for 

hearing before either the Board, or an 

Administrative Law Judge at the NC Office of 

Administrative Hearings, in accordance with 

G.S. 150B-40.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-141; 90-143; 90-154; 

Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0706 CONDUCT OF BOARD 

HEARING 

(a)  General. Hearings in contested cases shall be conducted by a 

majority of the Board, unless a majority of the Board votes to 

designate an administrative law judge to preside at the hearing in 

the Office of Administrative Hearings. The president shall serve 

as presiding officer at Board Hearings unless he or she is absent 

or disqualified, in which case the vice-president shall preside. 

Board Hearings shall be conducted as prescribed by G.S. 150B-

40. 

(b)  Disqualification. An affidavit seeking disqualification of any 

Board member, if filed in good faith and in a timely manner, shall 

be ruled on by the remaining members of the Board. An affidavit 

is considered timely if it is filed: 

(1) Prior to the hearing; or 

(2) As soon after the commencement of the hearing 

as the affiant becomes aware of facts that give 

rise to his or her belief that a Board member 

should be disqualified. 

(c)  Evidence. The admission of evidence in a Board Hearing on 

a contested case shall be as prescribed in G.S. 150B-41. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-40; 150B-41; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Expired Eff. May 1, 2019 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3.A; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 10 .0708 CONTINUANCES FOR BOARD 

HEARINGS 

(a)  Consistent with G.S. 150B-40(b), all motions for continuance 

shall be addressed to the secretary, or the designated presiding 

officer of the contested case hearing. All motions for continuance 

shall be in writing and received in the office of the Board no less 

than seven calendar days before the hearing date. 

(b)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing may be granted upon 

a showing of good cause. In determining whether good cause 

exists, the presiding officer shall consider the ability of the party 

requesting a continuance to proceed without a continuance.  

(c)  A motion for a continuance filed less than seven calendar days 

from the date of the hearing shall be denied if a continuance has 

been previously granted unless the reason for the motion could 

not have been ascertained earlier. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-156; 150B-38(h); 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0709 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Requests for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of 

witnesses or for the production of documents, either at a Board 

Hearing or for the purposes of discovery, shall: 

(1) be made in writing to the Board; 

(2) identify any document sought; 

(3) include the full name and home or business 

address of all persons to be subpoenaed; and 

(4) if known, the date, time, and place for 

responding to the subpoena. 

The Board shall issue the requested subpoenas within three days 

of receipt of the request. 

(b)  Subpoenas shall contain the following: 

(1) the caption of the case; 

(2) the name and address of the person subpoenaed; 

(3) the date, hour, and location of the hearing in 

which the witness is commanded to appear; 

(4) a particularized description of the books, 

papers, records, or objects the witness is 

directed to bring with him to the hearing, if any; 

(5) the identity of the party on whose application 

the subpoena was issued; 

(6) the date of issue; 

(7) the signature of the presiding officer or his 

designee; and 

(8) a "return of service." The "return of service" 

form as filled out, shall show: 

(A) the name and capacity of the person 

serving the subpoena; 

(B) the date on which the subpoena was 

delivered to the person directed to 

make service; 

(C) the date on which service was made; 

(D) the person on whom service was 

made; 

(E) the manner in which service was 

made; and 

(F) the signature of the person making 

service. 

(c)  Subpoenas shall be served in a manner set forth in Rule 45 of 

the N.C. Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(d)  Any person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object 

thereto by filing a written objection to the subpoena with the 

Board's office. Written objections shall comply with Rule 45 of 

the N.C. Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(e)  The party who requested the subpoena may file a written 

response to the objection. The written response shall be served by 

the requesting party on the objecting witness with the filing of the 

response with the Board. 

(f)  After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, the 

Board shall issue a notice of a Hearing on the motion to the party 

who requested the subpoena and the party challenging the 

subpoena to be scheduled as soon as practicable, at which time 

evidence and testimony may be presented, limited to the narrow 

questions raised by the objection and response. 

(g)  After the close of such Board Hearing, a majority of the Board 

members hearing the contested case shall rule on the challenge 

and issue a written decision. A copy of the decision will be issued 

to all parties and made a part of the record. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 38 – BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0801 CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section: 

(1) "AOTA Approved Provider Program" means a 

voluntary process of review and approval of 

continuing education (CE) providers by the 

American Occupational Therapy Association 

(AOTA) based on criteria and guidelines that 

assess a provider's ability to develop and 

implement CE activities that are relevant to the 

practice of occupational therapy. 

(2) "Contact Hour" means a unit of measure for a 

continuing education activity. One contact hour 

equals 60 minutes in a learning activity, 

excluding meals and breaks.  

(3) "Continuing Competence" means a process in 

which an occupational therapist or an 

occupational therapy assistant develops and 

maintains the knowledge, performance skills, 

interpersonal abilities, critical reasoning skills, 

and ethical practice reasoning skills necessary 

to perform his or her occupational therapy 

professional responsibilities. 

(4) "Continuing Education" means structured 

educational experiences beyond academic 

degree work that are intended to provide 

knowledge in a particular area. 

(5) "Continuing Education Credit" means credit 

given for a formalized activity in the form of 

contact hours or continuing education units. 

(6) "Continuing Education Unit (CEU)" means a 

unit of measure for continuing education. One 
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CEU is defined as 10 contact hours of 

participation in a learning activity excluding 

meals and breaks. 

(7) "Peer Reviewed" means any written work that 

is blind reviewed by more than one person. 

(8) "Points" means an assigned unit of measure for 

each continuing competence activity as set forth 

in Rule .0805 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 90-270.75(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0804 SCOPE OF QUALIFIED 

ACTIVITIES FOR MAINTAINING CONTINUING 

COMPETENCE 

(a)  To be approved by the Board, activities that qualify for 

maintaining continuing competence as set forth in Rule .0805 of 

this Section must be related to the licensee's current or anticipated 

roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy by enhancing 

the licensee's continuing competence. 

(b)  Subject matter for approved activities include research; 

theoretical or practical content related to the practice of 

occupational therapy; or the development, administration, 

supervision, and teaching of clinical practice or service delivery 

programs by occupational therapists or occupational therapy 

assistants. 

(c)  Documentation of completion of continuing competence 

activities must be submitted to the Board as set forth in Rule .0805 

of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 90-270.75(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0805 QUALIFIED ACTIVITIES FOR 

MAINTAINING CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

Activities that qualify for maintaining continuing competence 

shall include the following: 

(1) Continuing Education: 

(a) Includes attendance and participation 

at a live presentation such as a 

workshop, seminar, conference, or in-

service educational program and may 

include participation in other 

continuing education activities that 

require an assessment of learning. 

Examples of continuing education 

include electronic or Web-based 

courses, AOTA Self-Paced Clinical 

Courses or other formalized self-study 

courses, or AOTA Continuing 

Education Articles; 

(b) A licensee shall earn one point for 

each contact hour that is awarded by 

the provider. There are no maximum 

points in this category; and 

(c) Documentation shall include a 

certificate of completion including 

name of course, date, 

author/instructor, sponsoring 

organization, location, and number of 

hours attended. 

(2) Academic Coursework: 

(a) Includes participation in on-site or 

distance learning academic courses 

from a university, college, or 

vocational technical adult education 

course related to the practice of 

occupational therapy; 

(b) A licensee shall earn one point for 

each contact hour, up to a maximum of 

six points, except that a licensee 

enrolled in a graduate or post-graduate 

OT curriculum has no maximum 

points in this category; and 

(c) Documentation shall include an 

original official transcript indicating 

completion of the course, date, and a 

description of the course from the 

school catalogue or course syllabus. 

(3) Small Group Study: 

(a) Includes review and discussion of 

journal articles, clinical videotapes or 

audiotapes by at least two licensed 

practitioners; 

(b) A licensee shall earn one point for 

three contact hours up to a maximum 

of three points; and 

(c) Documentation shall include title, 

author, publisher, time spent, and date 

of completion. Licensee must 

complete the Small Group Study Form 

provided by the NCBOT and include a 

statement that describes how the 

activity relates to a licensee's current 

or anticipated roles and 

responsibilities. 

(4) Mentorship Agreement: 

(a) Participation as a Mentee: 

(i) Participation in a formalized 

mentorship agreement with a 

mentor as defined by a signed 

contract between the 

occupational therapy 

practitioner mentor and the 

occupational therapy 

practitioner mentee that 

outlines specific goals and 

objectives and designates the 

plan of activities that are to 

be met by the mentee. These 

activities must be related to 

the development of new 
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occupational therapy skills 

outside current required job 

performance; 

(ii) A licensee shall earn one 

point for each 10 contact 

hours spent in activities 

directly related to 

achievement of goals and 

objectives up to a maximum 

of two points; and 

(iii) Documentation shall include 

name of mentor and mentee, 

copy of signed contract, 

dates, hours spent and focus 

of mentorship activities, and 

outcomes of mentorship 

agreement. 

(b) Participation as Mentor: 

(i) Participation in a formalized 

mentorship agreement with 

an occupational therapy 

practitioner or post Level II 

OT or OTA fieldwork 

student mentee as defined by 

a signed contract between the 

mentor and mentee that 

designates the 

responsibilities of the mentor 

and specific goals and 

objectives that are to be met 

by the mentee. These 

activities must be related to 

the development of 

occupational therapy skills 

for the mentee. The 

mentorship must not be part 

of the mentor's current 

required job responsibilities; 

(ii) A licensee shall earn one 

point for each four hours 

spent in mentorship activities 

as a mentor up to a maximum 

of five points; and 

(iii) Documentation shall include 

name of mentor and mentee, 

copy of signed contract, 

dates, hours spent and focus 

of mentorship activities, and 

outcomes of mentorship 

agreement. 

(5) Fieldwork Supervision: 

(a) Participation as the primary clinical 

fieldwork educator for Level I or 

Level II OT or OTA fieldwork 

students; 

(b) A licensee shall earn one-half point for 

each 20 hours of fieldwork, up to a 

maximum of 12 points; points for 

Level I may not exceed six. 

(c) Documentation shall include 

verification provided by the school to 

the fieldwork educator with the name 

of student, school, and dates of 

fieldwork or the signature page of the 

completed student evaluation form. 

Evaluation scores and comments shall 

be deleted or blocked out; and 

(d) If fieldwork spans two licensure years, 

credit shall be given only for the year 

it is completed. 

(6) Professional Writing: 

(a) Publication of a peer-reviewed book, 

chapter, article, or contracted review 

of occupational therapy resource 

material; 

(b) During the year written, edited, or 

reviewed a licensee shall earn: 

(i) 15 points as author of a book; 

(ii) 10 points as author of a 

chapter; 

(iii) Five points as author of a 

peer-reviewed article; 

(iv) Five points as a contracted 

reviewer of a print or 

multimedia occupational 

therapy resource; or 

(v) 10 points as listed editor of a 

book. 

(c) Documentation shall consist of full 

reference for publication including 

title, author, editor, and date of 

publication; or copy of acceptance 

letter, if not yet published; and 

(d) Credit for submitted items shall be 

given for one licensure period only. 

(7) Presentation and Instruction: 

(a) Presentation of an academic course or 

peer-reviewed or non peer-reviewed 

workshop, seminar, in-service, 

electronic or Web-based course for the 

first time or for which more than 50% 

of the material has been revised related 

to occupational therapy; 

(b) A licensee shall earn two points for 

one contact hour that is awarded for an 

activity, up to a maximum of six 

points; and 

(c) Documentation shall include a copy of 

official program, schedule, or syllabus 

including presentation title, date, 

hours of presentation, and type of 

audience or verification of such, 

signed by the sponsor. 

(8) Professional Meetings and Activities: 

(a) Includes participation in board or 

committee work with agencies or 

organizations to promote and enhance 

the practice of occupational therapy; 
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(b) A licensee shall earn one point for five 

hours, up to a maximum of two points 

for participation on committees or 

boards; and 

(c) Documentation must include name of 

committee or board, name of agency 

or organization, purpose of service, 

description of licensee's role, and 

hours of participation must be signed 

by an officer or representative of the 

organization or committee. 

(9) Board Certification or Specialty Certification: 

(a) The Board shall recognize completion 

of activities that result in board 

certification or specialty certification 

by AOTA during the current licensure 

period; 

(b) A licensee shall earn 15 points for 

each board certification or specialty 

certification credential earned or re-

certified during the current licensure 

period; and 

(c) Documentation shall include 

certificate of completion or other 

documentation from the recognized 

certifying body that identifies 

satisfactory completion of 

requirements for obtaining board 

certification or specialty certification 

or recertification. 

(10) Research and Grants: 

(a) Development of or participation in a 

research project or grant proposal 

relevant to occupational therapy; 

(b) A licensee shall earn one point for 

each three hours spent working on a 

research project or grant proposal, up 

to a maximum of five points; and 

(c) Documentation includes verification 

from the primary investigator 

indicating the name of the research 

project, dates of participation, major 

hypotheses or objectives of the 

project, and licensee's role in the 

project or name of grant proposal, 

name of grant source, purpose and 

objectives of the project, and 

verification from the grant author 

regarding licensee's role in the 

development of the grant if not the 

author. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 90-270.75(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 20, 2020 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 February 20, 2020 March 19, 2020 
 April 16, 2020 May 21, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources - 07 NCAC 13F .0202, .0303, .0304 (Reeder) 
B. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
C. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
D. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission – 12 NCAC 09E .0105 (Snyder) 
E. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .0114, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0205, .0502, .0701, .0702, 

.0705, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0909, .0910, .0911, .0912, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, 

.1402, .1406 (Reeder)  
F. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0240 (Reeder) 
G. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

H. Sedimentation Control Commission - 15A NCAC 04A .0101, .0105; 04B .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 
.0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0115, .0118, .0120, .0124, .0125, .0126, .0127, .0129, .0130, 0131, .0132; 04C 
.0103, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0110, .0111; 04D .0102; 04E .0101, .0102, .0104, .0201, .0203, .0403, .0405, 
.0406, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504 (Reeder) 

I. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0304, .0305, .0309, .0313, .1901, .1902, .1904, .1905 
(Snyder) 

J. Wildlife Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 10F .0306 (Snyder) 
K. Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors - 21 NCAC 18B .0212, .0303, .0404, .0408, .0901 (Reeder) 
L. State Board of Opticians – 21 NCAC 40 .0321 (Snyder) 
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M.   Psychology Board - 21 NCAC 54 .1602, .1605, .1606, .1607, .1608, .1609, .1610, .1611, .1612, .1701, .1702, 
.1703, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1802, .1803, .1901, .1903, .1904, .2001, .2002, .2005, .2006, .2007, .2008, .2009, 
.2101, .2102, .2103, .2104, .2202, .2203, .2301, .2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2308, .2309, .2311, .2314, .2401, 
.2402, .2601, .2701, .2703, .2704, .2705, .2706, .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2805, .2806 (May) 

N. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; Energy 
Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between December 23, 2019 through January 21, 2020 

• Board of Agriculture (Snyder) 

• Credit Union Division (Reeder) 

• Department of Insurance (Snyder) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Snyder) 

• Board of Nursing (May) 

• Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure (Reeder) 

• Building Code Council (Reeder)  

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, March 19, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

December 23, 2019 through January 21, 2020 
 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the food and drug protection division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 09E concern feed. 

Current Good Manufacturing Practice of the North Carolina... 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 09E .0116 

CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

The rules in Subchapter 6C concern credit unions and include general information (.0100); organization of credit unions 
(.0200); basic internal controls: accounting procedures and operation standards for state-chartered credit unions 
(.0300); loans (.0400); impairment and insolvency (.0500); dividends deposits and interest rebate (.0600); accounts 
(.0700); reports to administrator (.0800); pension plans (.0900); retention of records (.1000); forms used by credit union 
division (.1100); investments (.1200); reserves (.1300); and signature guarantee services. 

Other Reserves 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 06C .1302 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 12 cover life and health insurance including general provisions applicable to all rules and all life 
and health insurance policies (.0100 - .0300); general life insurance provisions (.0400); general accident and health 
insurance provisions (.0500); replacement of insurance (.0600); credit insurance (.0700); medicare supplement 
insurance (.0800); long-term care insurance (.1000); mortgage insurance consolidations (.1100); accelerated benefits 
(.1200); small employer group health coverage (.1300); HMO and point-of-service coverage (.1400); uniform claim forms 
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(.1500); retained asset accounts (.1600); viatical settlements (.1700); preferred provider plan product limitations (.1800); 
and domestic violence - prohibited acts (.1900). 

Rate Filing: HMO 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .0321 

Coordination: Group A/H Contract Benefits: Group Coverages 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .0514 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1501 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1450 (UB92) 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1502 

Requirements for Use of HCFA Form 1500 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1503 

Requirements for Use of the Current ADA Dental Claim Form 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1504 

Managed Care Forms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1505 

Electronic Format Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1506 

Attachment Form or Format 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1507 

Medicare Supplement Payors 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1508 

Patient Submitted Claim Forms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1509 

General Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 12 .1803 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 16B concern licensure examination for dentists including examination required (.0100); 
qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); Board conducted examinations (.0400); licensure by credentials (.0500); 
limited volunteer dental license (.0600); instructor's license (.0700); temporary volunteer dental license (.0800); and 
exemptions for active military (.0900). 

Application for Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0301 

Dental Licensure by Credentials 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0501 

Limited Volunteer Dental License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0601 

Instructor's License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0701 

Temporary Volunteer Dental Permit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0801 

Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Military Service 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .1001 

Dental Licensure by Endorsement Based on Status as Milita... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .1002 
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The rules in Subchapter 16C are dental hygienist licensure rules including general provisions (.0100); qualifications 
(.0200); application (.0300); Board conducted examinations (.0400); and licensure by credentials (.0500). 

Application for Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16C .0301 

Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credentials 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16C .0501 

The rules in Subchapter 16D concern provisional licensure for dentists including general provisions (.0100); and 
examinations (.0200). 

Application for Provisional License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16D .0104 

The rules in Subchapter 16E concern provisional licensure for dental hygienists. 

Restrictions on Practice 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16E .0102 

Application for Provisional License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16E .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 16G concern dental hygienists. 

Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Military S... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16G .0107 

Dental Hygiene License by Endorsement Based on Status as ... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16G .0108 

The rules in Subchapter 16Y concern permitting intern dentists. 

Application for Intern Permit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16Y .0102 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Approval of Nurse Aide Education Programs 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0405 

RECREATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 65 cover the practice of recreational therapy including general provisions (.0100); requirements for 
practice (.0200); requirements for licensure (.0300); application (.0400); fees (.0500); license renewal requirements 
(.0600); reinstatement (.0700); inactive status (.0800); reciprocity (.0900); and revocation, suspension or denial of 
licensure (.1000). 

Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Recreation... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0601 

Renewal Requirements for Licensed Recreational Therapist ... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0602 

Reinstatement of Lapsed License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0701 

Inactive Status  21 NCAC 65 .0801 
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Amend* 

Military Endorsement 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0902 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/General Definitions 
Amend* 

 202 

2018 NC Residential Code/Drain Pipe Materials and Sizes 
Amend* 

 M1411.3.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/General 
Amend* 

 M1502.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Duct Installation 
Amend* 

 M1502.4.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Return-Air Intake 
Amend* 

 M1602.3 

2018 NC Fire Code/Valet Trash Collection Services 
Amend* 

 304.4 

2018 NC Residential Code/Frost Protection 
Amend* 

 P2603.5.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Fill 
Amend* 

 R506.2.1 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Ye

ar 

Code Num

ber 

Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 BOE 02221 11/1/2019 Cherokee REC, 

Cherokee 

County GOP 

v

. 

NC State Board of Elections Sutton 

        

19 DHR 04165 11/22/2019 Mattie Clark v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division 

of Health Service Regulation 

Bawtinhi

mer 

        

19 DOJ 02703 11/14/2019 Robert Jason 

Chabot 

v

. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 03205 11/20/2019 Shane Welch v

. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 03748 11/8/2019 Coyte Charles 

Franklin 

Kennedy Jr 

v

. 

NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

        

19 DST 03598 11/15/2019 Joan Ruth Wall 

Hunter 

v

. 

North Carolina Department of State Treasurer, Retirement 

Systems Division 

Ward 

        

19 MIS 03867 11/14/2019 Charles Udoh v

. 

Central Piedmont Community College Cental Piedmont 

Community College Basic Law Enforcement Training 

School 

KandiDeitemeyerStandleyTMooreLatreaseNQuigleyCan

daceTurnerMikeWhitemanDavid Kim 

Malherbe 

        

    Unpublished    

19 CPS 03881 11/12/2019 Hattie Capers v

. 

Victims Commission Fund Mann 

19 CPS 04161 11/21/2019 Shirley Ann 

Holden 

v

. 

Department of Public Safety et al Ward 
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18 CSE 06766 6/18/2019; 

11/13/2019 

Rodrick 

Barnwell 

v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division 

of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06979 4/22/2019; 

11/20/2019 

Joshua K Jones v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division 

of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07311 5/28/2019; 

11/20/2019 

Kelvin Jamison v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division 

of Social Services, Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

        

19 DHR 04088 11/26/2019 Tracy L Maye v

. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Division of 

Health Service Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 04101 11/26/2019 April S Ward v

. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Division of 

Health Service Regulation 

Ward 

19 DHR 05339 11/8/2019 First Baptist 

Day Care Inc 

v

. 

NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division 

of Child Development and Early Education 

Bawtinhi

mer 

        

19 DOJ 04774 11/14/2019 Robert Corbett v

. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

Jacobs 

        

19 EHR 05250 11/15/2019 Duke Engery 

Carolina LLC 

and Duke 

Energy 

Progress LLC 

v

. 

State of North Carolina ex rel North Carolina Department 

of Environmental Quality 

Malherbe 

        

19 INS 05139 11/19/2019 Bayada Home 

Health Care 

v

. 

North Carolina State Health Plan Malherbe 

        

19 OAH 04846 11/14/2019 Gidget Renee 

Higgins 

v

. 

NC Office of Administrative Hearings Jacobs 

        

19 OSP 04629 11/21/2019 Laketha S 

Southern 

v

. 

Robeson County Department of Social Services Overby 

 

 

 


