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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Parks and Recreation Authority 

intends to amend the rule cited as 07 NCAC 13K .0103, readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 07 NCAC 13K .0106, 

.0108, .0109, and readopt without substantive changes the rules 

cited as 07 NCAC 13K .0102, .0105, .0107, and .0110. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncparks.gov/park-rules/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 12, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Nature Research Center, 121 W. Jones Street, Rm. 

2515, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Most of these rules are proposed 

for readoption as part of the existing rules review process. All 

proposed rules are necessary to carry out the functions of the 

Parks and Recreation Authority. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nathaniel Halubka, 1615 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27603; email 

nate.halubka@ncparks.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 16, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - PARKS AND RECREATION AREA 

RULES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13K - PARKS AND RECREATION 

TRUST FUND GRANTS FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0102 ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0103 FUNDING CYCLE 

Annual funding schedule dates shall be the following: 

(1) An announcement letter describing the funding 

schedule and how to apply shall be mailed to all 

eligible applicants by November 1. This 

information shall be made available to other 

interested parties who contact the Department 

of Natural and Cultural Resources 

(Department) at: NC Division of Parks and 

Recreation, 1615 MSC, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-1615 as well as on the 

following website: 

http://www.ncparks.gov/partf. 

(2) Local governments shall not request more than 

five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) in 

PARTF assistance with each application. 

(3) Applications shall be received by the 

Department or its designee or postmarked no 

later than 5:00 p.m. of the deadline date stated 

in the announcement letter for the current grant 

cycle pursuant to Item (1) of this Rule. The 

Parks and Recreation Authority will set the 

deadline date for between January 31 and May 

30. If the deadline falls on a weekend or 

holiday, applications shall be received by the 

Department or postmarked no later than 5:00 

p.m. on the following business day. 

(4) The Authority shall meet within 180 days of the 

application deadline to select projects for 

funding. 
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Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 143B-135.200. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0105 EVALUATION OF 

APPLICATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0106 GRANT AGREEMENT 

(a)  Upon Authority approval, a written agreement shall be 

executed between the grant recipient(s) and the Department. 

(b)  The agreement shall define the Department's and grant 

recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period, 

project scope and the amount of grant assistance. 

(c)  The approved application and support documentation shall 

become a part of the grant agreement. 

(d)  State Clearinghouse environmental review comments made 

as a result of State Environmental Protection Act (SEPA) 

application review requirements shall be addressed by the 

applicant prior to execution of the project agreement. Projects 

judged to have a significant environmental impact shall submit an 

environmental assessment as required by SEPA. 

(e)  The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent 

and approval by the Department and the grant recipient(s). The 

grant recipient(s) shall submit a written request to the Department. 

The Department shall approve the amendment if local 

circumstances justify the amendment request. 

(f)  Projects may not begin until the Department and grant 

recipient(s) sign the agreement unless a waiver has been requested 

by the applicant in writing and approved by the Authority or its 

executive committee. Waivers may be granted only for land 

acquisition projects requiring action prior to the anticipated 

signing of the agreement. A waiver shall be in effect for 18 24 

months from the date of approval. A project receiving a waiver 

shall not receive preferential treatment in funding decisions. 

(g)  Following execution of the grant agreement, the Department 

shall reimburse the grant recipient for expenditures related to the 

project scope. All reimbursements shall be approved by the 

Department and shall total an amount that is less than or equal to 

the grant amount. The Department shall approve reimbursement 

requests for expenditures that are related to the project scope and 

occur during the project period. This provision is effective after 

the 2002-03 grant cycle. 

(h)  Complete accounting records including a certified project data 

sheet and performance report verifying eligible costs shall be 

submitted by the grant recipient(s) to the Department for approval 

prior to or at the time of the close-out inspection. The Department 

shall approve the accounting when the records are consistent with 

the project agreement and budget. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.66. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0107 MATCHING REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0108 ELIGIBLE PROJECTS AND 

COSTS 

(a)  PARTF grants are awarded to grantees for projects that are 

for the sole purpose of providing local park and recreation 

opportunities to the public. Grantees may receive funds for the 

following types of projects: 

(1) Acquisition. Fee simple acquisition of real 

property for future recreational development 

and to protect areas with natural or scenic 

resources. 

(A) Grantees acquiring property for 

recreation development have up to 

five years from when the Authority 

and the applicant sign the grant 

agreement to begin developing 

recreation facilities. 

(B) Grantees acquiring property to protect 

areas with natural or scenic resources 

must open these areas to the general 

public to the extent that the resources 

will not be impaired. 

(2) Development. Projects for the construction, 

expansion, and renovation/repair of the 

following: 

(A) Primary facilities including outdoor 

and indoor recreation facilities. 

Examples include camping facilities, 

picnic facilities, sports and playfields, 

trails, swimming facilities, 

boating/fishing facilities, spectator 

facilities, and gymnasiums. 

(B) Support facilities and improvements 

such as roads, parking areas, 

accessibility features, utilities, 

landscaping, and other infrastructure 

projects, that would have little or no 

recreational value without the primary 

recreation facilities. 

(b)  Other criteria for determining eligible projects and costs 

include: 

(1) Only development on or acquisition of a single 

project site or a contiguous trail corridor is 

eligible for PARTF assistance. 

(2) Utility lines developed with PARTF assistance 

shall be placed underground. 

(3) The following costs are eligible within the 

limits that are identified. 

(A) Land acquisition costs such as 

appraisals, surveys, title work, and 

attorney fees. 

(B) Construction costs such as site 

planning, design drawings, 

construction drawings, preparing cost 

estimates, architectural and 

engineering fees, permits, 

construction management, and project 

inspection. 

(C) The cost of preparing an application. 

(D) The costs in Parts (A) through (C) of 

this Subparagraph shall not exceed 20 

percent of the total cost of the project. 

project or 20 percent of the maximum 

grant amount, whichever is less. These 

costs may be incurred within two years 
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of the application deadline as well as 

during the project period. 

(E) A contingency may be included in the 

development cost estimates, but shall 

not exceed five percent of total 

development costs. costs or five 

percent of the maximum grant amount, 

whichever is less. 

(4) PARTF-assisted facilities on school property 

shall not be recreational facilities generally 

provided by the school for the use of their 

students. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.66. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0109 SITE CONTROL AND 

DEDICATION RESTRICTION 

(a)  Land acquired with PARTF assistance shall be dedicated 

restricted in perpetuity for local park and recreation purposes for 

the use and benefit of the general public. The dedication 

restriction shall be recorded in the public property records by the 

grantee. 

(b)  The site of a PARTF project for development shall be 

controlled (e.g. fee simple ownership or long-term lease) by the 

grantee by the closing date of the application submission period. 

Any lease agreement shall extend for a minimum of 25 years 

unless the property is the subject of a federal, state, or local leasing 

arrangement which provides assurance that 25 years of public 

recreational use will be maintained. 

(c)  Grantees shall assure that PARTF assisted development 

facilities are maintained and managed for public recreation use for 

a minimum period of 25 years after the completion date set forth 

in the grant agreement. 

(d)  PARTF-assisted land and facilities shall not be converted to 

uses that are other than public recreation without approval by 

DENR, the Department, in the following manner: 

(1) A grant recipient shall notify DENR the 

Department and request approval before any 

conversion occurs. 

(2) The grant recipient shall address issues of local 

concern prior to forwarding a conversion 

request to DENR. the Department. 

(3) DENR The Department shall deny the request 

if it determines that the grantee has reasonable 

alternatives available to avoid the conversion. 

(4) All conversions shall be mitigated with 

measures approved by DENR the Department 

with advice from the Parks and Recreation 

Authority. 

(5) The primary mitigation for a conversion is to 

have the grantee replace, at its own expense, 

land acquired with PARTF assistance with land 

of equal current fair market value and 

recreational usefulness. Facilities built with 

PARTF assistance shall be replaced with 

facilities of equal current replacement value, 

and recreational usefulness. Replacement areas 

shall also be within the grantee's service area; 

provide or be part of a viable recreation area; 

and be to the maximum extent possible, 

consistent with all current application 

requirements for a new PARTF application. 

(6) Replacement property and facilities shall be 

encumbered by the same obligations as 

specified in the project agreement and rules for 

the converted property or facility. 

(7) If DENR the Department determines that the 

local government cannot reasonably replace the 

land or facilities, DENR the Department may 

mitigate the conversion by the grantee repaying 

PARTF with funds equal to the current value of 

the land or facilities. 

(8) DENR The Department shall include 

provisions on conversions in all grant 

agreements. 

(e)  A conversion is defined as the use of PARTF-assisted land or 

facilities for a purpose other than public recreation. 

(f)  If PARTF-assisted facilities are built on public school 

property, the applicant(s) shall submit an agreement with the 

application describing that the facilities will be available to the 

general public during non-school hours. Projects on land owned 

by a school shall have sign(s) installed informing the public that 

the facilities are open to the general public. These signs shall also 

indicate the times when the facilities are reserved exclusively for 

school use. 

(g)  Failure by the grantee(s) to comply with the provisions of this 

Section or the project agreement may result, in addition to any 

other legal remedies, in the Authority on behalf of the Department 

declaring the grantee(s) ineligible for further participation in the 

PARTF until such time as compliance has been obtained. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.66. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0110 INSPECTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Industrial Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 11 NCAC 

23B .0106 and amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 23A .0104, 

.0408, .0409, .0501, .0903; 23E .0104; and 23L .0103. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ic.nc.gov/proposedGroup3TortSecureLeaveand26A

Rules.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 30, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Room 240, 2nd Floor, Dept. of Insurance, Albemarle 

Bldg., 325 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Industrial Commission 

(hereinafter "Commission") has deemed the proposed adoption of 
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the new rule cited as 11 NCAC 23B .0106 necessary to give clarity 

to the regulated entities in State tort claims regarding when notice 

is complete for decisions, orders, and other documents served on 

the regulated entities by the Commission via electronic mail. 

Additionally, on its own initiative, the Commission conducted an 

internal review of its existing rules and sought informal 

stakeholder feedback. The proposed amendments to the rules 

cited as 11 NCAC 23A .0104, .0408, .0409, .0501, and .0903 

reflect changes the Commission has deemed necessary to clarify 

the rules, provide for increased efficiency, or update the rules to 

reflect current practices. The proposed amendment to the rule 

cited as 11 NCAC 23E .0104 was deemed necessary by the 

Commission to clarify and update its secure leave policy, to align 

the Commission's secure leave policy with the recent changes 

made to Rule 26 of the North Carolina Rules of General Practice, 

and to update the rule to reflect current practices. The proposed 

amendment to the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23L .0103 is a form 

change deemed necessary by the Commission in light of the 

proposed amendment to the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23A .0501. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Gina Cammarano, 1240 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1240; phone (919) 807-2524; 

email gina.cammarano@ic.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 16, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23A - WORKERS' COMPENSATION 

RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0104 EMPLOYER'S REQUIREMENT 

TO FILE A FORM 19 FIRST REPORT OF INJURY 

(a)  The form required to be provided by G.S. 97-92(a) is the Form 

19 Employer's Report of Employee's Injury or Occupational 

Disease to the Industrial Commission. The Form 19 shall be used 

when the injury causes the employee to be absent from work for 

more than one day or when the charges for medical compensation 

exceed four thousand dollars ($4,000). The Form 19 shall be filed 

with the Commission in accordance with Rule .0108(d) of this 

Section. 

(b)  The employer, carrier, or administrator shall provide the 

employee with a copy of the completed Form 19 Employer's 

Report of Employee's Injury or Occupational Disease to the 

Industrial Commission, along with a blank Form 18 Notice of 

Accident to Employer and Claim of Employee, Representative, or 

Dependent for use by the employee in making a claim. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-92. 

 

SECTION .0400 – DISABILITY, COMPENSATION, FEES 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0408 APPLICATION FOR OR 

STIPULATION TO ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

COMPENSATION 

(a)  An employee may file an application for additional medical 

compensation with the Office of the Executive Secretary for an 

order for payment of additional medical compensation within two 

years of the date of the last payment of medical or indemnity 

compensation, whichever shall last occur. occurs last. An 

application may be made on a Form 18M Employee's Application 

for Additional Medical Compensation, Compensation or by 

written request, request. In the alternative, an employee may file 

an application for additional medical compensation or by filing a 

Form 33 Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing with the 

Commission. Commission pursuant to Rule .0602 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  Upon receipt of the application, a Form 18M Employee's 

Application for Additional Medical Compensation or a written 

request, the Commission shall notify the employer, carrier, or 

administrator that the claim has been received by providing a copy 

of the Form 18M Employee's Application for Additional Medical 

Compensation or the written request. Within 30 days, the 

employer, carrier, or administrator may send to the Commission 

and the employee's attorney of record or the employee, if 

unrepresented, a written statement as to whether the request is 

accepted or denied. If the request is denied, the employer, carrier, 

or administrator may state in writing the grounds for the denial 

and shall attach any supporting documentation to the statement of 

denial. 

(c)  The parties may, by agreement or stipulation consistent with 

the Workers' Compensation Act, provide for additional medical 

compensation. 

(d)  This Rule applies to injuries occurring on or after July 5, 1994. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-25.1; 97-80(a). 
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11 NCAC 23A .0409 CLAIMS FOR DEATH 

BENEFITS 

(a)  An employer shall notify the Commission of the occurrence 

of a death resulting from an injury or occupational disease 

allegedly arising out of and in the course of employment by filing 

a Form 19 Employer's Report of Employee's Injury or 

Occupational Disease to the Industrial Commission within five 

days of knowledge thereof. of the death. In addition, an employer, 

carrier, or administrator shall file with the Commission a Form 29 

Supplemental Report for Fatal Accidents, within 45 days of 

knowledge of a death or allegation of death resulting from an 

injury or occupational disease arising out of and in the course of 

employment. 

(b)  An employer, carrier, or administrator shall make a good faith 

effort to discover conduct an investigation to determine the names 

and addresses of decedent's potential beneficiaries under G.S. 97-

38 and identify them on the Form 29 Supplemental Report for 

Fatal Accident. Accidents. The Form 29 Supplemental Report for 

Fatal Accidents shall be filed with the Commission within 45 days 

of notification of a death or allegation of death resulting from an 

injury or occupational disease arising out of and in the course of 

employment. 

(c)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator disputes that an 

employee's death is compensable or denies it has liability for the 

claim, the employer, carrier, or administrator shall notify the 

Commission on a Form 61 Denial of Workers' Compensation 

Claim. When the employer, carrier, or administrator denies 

liability for a claim involving an employee's death, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator shall send the form to all known potential 

beneficiaries, their attorneys of record, if any, all health care 

providers that have submitted bills to the employer, carrier, or 

administrator, and the Commission. 

(d)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator accepts liability for 

a claim involving an employee's death and there are no issues 

necessitating a hearing for determination of beneficiaries or their 

respective rights, the parties shall submit either a Form 30 

Agreement for Compensation for Death as set forth in Rule .0501 

of this Subchapter or a proposed Opinion and Award. 

(e)  If the parties submit a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation 

for Death, the agreement shall be filed in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter with the following: 

(1) a stipulation as to average weekly wage; 

(2) any affidavits regarding dependents; 

(3) the employee's death certificate; 

(4) a Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal 

Accidents; 

(5) a Form 42 Application for Appointment of 

Guardian ad Litem, if any beneficiary is a minor 

or incompetent; 

(6) proof of beneficiary status, such as marriage 

license, birth certificate, or divorce decree; 

(7) a funeral bill or stipulation as to payment of the 

funeral benefit; 

(8) a Form 30D Award Approving Agreement for 

Compensation for Death; and 

(9) an affidavit or itemized statement in support of 

an award of attorney's fees if an attorney is 

seeking fees for representation of one or more 

beneficiaries. 

(f)  If the parties seek a written Opinion and Award from the 

Commission regarding the payment of death benefits in lieu of 

submitting a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for Death, the 

parties shall file, in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter, a proposed Opinion and Award with the following: 

(1) a stipulation regarding all jurisdictional 

matters; 

(2) the decedent's name, social security number, 

employer, insurance carrier or servicing agent, 

and the date of the injury giving rise to this 

claim; 

(3) a stipulation as to average weekly wage; 

(4) any affidavits regarding dependents; 

(5) the employee's death certificate; 

(6) a Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal 

Accidents; 

(7) a Form 42 Application for Appointment of 

Guardian ad Litem, if any beneficiary is a minor 

or incompetent; 

(8) proof of beneficiary status, such as marriage 

license, birth certificate, or divorce decree; 

(9) medical records, if any; 

(10) a statement of payment of medical expenses 

incurred, if any; 

(11) a funeral bill or stipulation as to payment of the 

funeral benefit; and 

(12) an affidavit or itemized statement in support of 

an award of attorney's fees if an attorney is 

seeking fees for representation of one or more 

beneficiaries. 

(g)  If an issue exists as to whether a person is a beneficiary 

pursuant to G.S. 97-38 or if any other disputed issue exists in an 

accepted claim, the employer, carrier, administrator, potential 

beneficiary, or any person asserting a claim for benefits may 

request a hearing by filing a Form 33 Request that Claim be 

Assigned for Hearing in accordance with Rule .0602 of this 

Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon approval by the Commission of a Form 30 Agreement 

for Compensation for Death or upon the issuance of a final order 

of the Commission directing payment of death benefits pursuant 

to G.S. 97-38, payment shall be made by the employer, carrier, or 

administrator directly to the beneficiaries, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) any applicable award of attorney's fees shall be 

paid directly to the attorney; and 

(2) benefits due to a minor or incompetent. 

(i)  In all cases involving minors and incompetent persons who 

are potential beneficiaries, a guardian ad litem shall be appointed 

pursuant to Rule .0604 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  Any benefits due to a minor pursuant to G.S. 97-38 shall be 

paid directly to the minor's parent, legal guardian, or legal 

custodian, if the minor remains in the physical custody of such 

person, or another person if ordered by the Commission for good 

cause shown, for the exclusive use and benefit of the minor. When 

a beneficiary reaches the age of 18, any remaining benefits shall 

be paid directly to the beneficiary. 

(k)  The Commission shall order that the benefits for an 

incompetent beneficiary shall be paid to the person or entity 

authorized to receive funds on behalf of the beneficiary pursuant 
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to a federal or state court order, or to the Clerk of Court in the 

county in which the beneficiary resides, for the beneficiary's 

exclusive use and benefit. 

(l)  Upon a change in circumstances, any interested party may 

request that the Commission amend the terms of any award with 

respect to a minor or incompetent person to direct payment to 

another party on behalf of the minor or incompetent person. 

(m)  In the case of benefits commuted to present value, only those 

sums that have not accrued at the time of the approval of a Form 

30 or entry of a final order of the Commission directing payment 

of death benefits pursuant to G.S. 97-38 are subject to 

commutation pursuant to Rule .0406 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  In all cases involving minors or incompetents who are 

potential beneficiaries, a guardian ad litem shall be appointed 

pursuant to Rule .0604 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  If an issue exists as to whether a person is a beneficiary under 

G.S. 97-38, the employer, carrier, administrator, or any person 

asserting a claim for benefits may file a Form 33 Request that 

Claim be Assigned for Hearing for a determination by a Deputy 

Commissioner. 

(e)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator accepts liability for 

a claim involving an employee's death and there are no issues 

necessitating a hearing for determination of beneficiaries or their 

respective rights, the parties shall submit an agreement executed 

by all interested parties or their representatives to the 

Commission. All agreements shall be submitted to the 

Commission on a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for 

Death as set forth in Rule .0501 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  The agreement shall be submitted along with all relevant 

supporting documents, including death certificate of the 

employee, any relevant marriage certificate and birth certificates 

for any dependents. 

(g)  If the employer, carrier, or administrator denies liability for a 

claim involving an employee's death, the employer, carrier, or 

administrator shall send a letter of denial to all potential 

beneficiaries, their attorneys of record, if any, all known health 

care providers that have submitted bills to the employer, carrier, 

or administrator, and the Commission. The denial letter shall state 

the reasons for the denial and shall further advise of a right to 

hearing. 

(h)  Any potential beneficiary, the employer, the carrier, or the 

administrator may request a hearing as provided in Rule .0602 of 

this Subchapter. 

(i)  Upon approval by the Commission of a Form 30 Agreement 

for Compensation for Death, or the issuance of a final order of the 

Commission directing payment of death benefits pursuant to G.S. 

97-38, payment shall be made by the employer, carrier, or 

administrator directly to the beneficiaries, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) any applicable award of attorney fees shall be 

paid directly to the attorney; and 

(2) benefits due to a minor or incompetent. 

(j)  Any benefits due to a minor pursuant to G.S. 97-38 shall be 

paid directly to the parent as natural guardian of the minor for the 

use and benefit of the minor if the minor remains in the physical 

custody of the parent as natural guardian. If the minor is not in the 

physical custody of the parent as natural guardian, payment shall 

be made through some other person appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction or to such other person under such terms 

as the Commission finds is in the best interests of the parties. 

When a beneficiary reaches the age of 18, any remaining benefits 

shall be paid directly to the beneficiary. 

(k)  In order to protect the interests of a beneficiary who is 

incompetent, the Commission shall order that benefits be paid to 

the beneficiary's appointed general guardian for the beneficiary's 

exclusive use and benefit, or to the Clerk of Court in the county 

in which the beneficiary resides for the beneficiary's exclusive use 

and benefit as determined by the Clerk of Court. 

(l)  Upon a change in circumstances, any interested party may 

request that the Commission amend the terms of any award with 

respect to a minor or incompetent to direct payment to another 

party on behalf of the minor or incompetent. 

(m)  In the case of benefits commuted to present value, only those 

sums that have not accrued at the time of the entry of the Order 

are subject to commutation. 

(n)  Where the parties seek a written opinion and award from the 

Commission regarding the payment of death benefits in 

uncontested cases in lieu of presenting testimony at a hearing 

before a Deputy Commissioner, the parties may make application 

to the Commission for a written opinion by filing a written request 

with the Docket Director. 

(o)  The parties shall file, electronically, by joint stipulation, 

affidavit or certified document, a proposed opinion and award or 

order along with the following information: 

(1) a stipulation regarding all jurisdictional 

matters; 

(2) the decedent's name, social security number, 

employer, insurance carrier or servicing agent, 

and the date of the injury giving rise to this 

claim; 

(3) a Form 22 Statement of Days Worked or 

Earnings of Injured Employee or stipulation as 

to average weekly wage; 

(4) any affidavits regarding dependents; 

(5) the death certificate; 

(6) a Form 29 Supplemental Report for Fatal 

Accidents; 

(7) Guardian ad litem forms, if any beneficiary is a 

minor or incompetent; 

(8) proof of beneficiary status, such as marriage 

license, birth certificate, or divorce decree; 

(9) medical records, if any; 

(10) a statement of payment of medical expenses 

incurred, if any; and 

(11) a funeral bill or stipulation as to payment of the 

funeral benefit. 

(p)  Any attorney seeking fees for representation in an uncontested 

claim shall file an affidavit or itemized statement in support of an 

award of attorney's fees. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-38; 97-39; 97-80(a). 

 

SECTION .0500 – AGREEMENTS 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0501 AGREEMENTS FOR PROMPT 

PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION 

(a)  To facilitate the payment of compensation within the time 

prescribed in G.S. 97-18, the Commission shall accept 
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memoranda of agreements agreement on Commission forms. 

These forms include the Form 21 Agreement for Compensation 

for Disability, Form 26 Supplemental Agreement as to Payment 

of Compensation, Form 26A Employer's Admission of 

Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, Form 26D 

Agreement for Payment of Unpaid Compensation in Unrelated 

Death Cases, and Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for 

Death. 

(b)  No agreement for permanent disability shall be approved until 

the relevant medical and vocational records records, including a 

job description if the employee has permanent work restrictions 

and has returned to work for the employer of injury, known to 

exist in the case have been filed with the Commission. When 

requested by the Commission, the parties shall file any additional 

documentation necessary to determine whether the employee is 

receiving the disability compensation to which he or she is entitled 

and that an employee qualifying for disability compensation 

under G.S. 97-29 or G.S. 97-30, and G.S. 97-31 has the benefit of 

the more favorable remedy. 

(c)  All memoranda of agreements shall be submitted to the 

Commission. After the employer, carrier, or administrator has 

received a memorandum of agreement that has been signed by the 

employee and the employee's attorney of record, if any, the 

employer, carrier, or administrator shall submit the memorandum 

of agreement within 20 days to the Commission for review and 

approval. Agreements conforming to the provisions of the 

Workers' Compensation Act shall be approved by the 

Commission and a copy returned to the employer, carrier, or 

administrator, and a copy sent to the employee. employee, unless 

amended by an award, in which event the Commission shall return 

the award with the agreement. 

(d)  The Upon submission to the Commission of the executed 

agreement, the employer, carrier, administrator, or the attorney of 

record, if any, shall provide the employee, beneficiary, or attorney 

of record, employee's attorney of record or the employee, if any, 

unrepresented, a copy of a Form 21 Agreement for Compensation 

for Disability, a Form 26 Supplemental Agreement as to Payment 

of Compensation, a Form 26D Agreement for Payment of Unpaid 

Compensation in Unrelated Death Cases, and a Form 30 

Agreement for Compensation for Death, when the employee or 

appropriate beneficiary signs the forms. with a copy of the 

executed agreement that was submitted to the Commission. 

(e)  All memoranda of agreements agreement for cases that are 

calendared for hearing before a Commissioner or Deputy 

Commissioner shall be sent directly addressed to that 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner. Commissioner, and 

filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. Before a 

case is calendared, or once a case has been continued or removed, 

or after the filing of an Opinion and Award, all memoranda of 

agreements agreement shall be directed addressed to the Claims 

Section of the Commission. Commission, and filed in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  After the employer, carrier, or administrator has received a 

memorandum of agreement that has been signed by the employee 

and the employee's attorney of record, if any, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator has 20 days within which to submit the 

memorandum of agreement to the Commission for review and 

approval or within which to show cause for not submitting the 

memorandum of agreement signed only by the employee. 

Authority G.S. 97-18; 97-80(a); 97-82. 

 

SECTION .0900 – REPORT OF EARNINGS 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0903 EMPLOYEE'S OBLIGATION TO 

REPORT EARNINGS 

(a)  A self-insured employer, carrier carrier, or third-party 

administrator may require the employee who has filed a claim to 

complete a Form 90 Report of Earnings when reasonably 

necessary but not more than once every six months. 

(b)  The Form 90 Report of Earnings shall be sent to the employee 

by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall include a self-

addressed stamped envelope for the return of the form. When the 

employee is represented by an attorney, the Form 90 Report of 

Earnings shall be sent only to the attorney for the employee and 

shall be sent by any method of transmission that provides proof of 

receipt, including electronic mail, facsimile, or certified mail 

return receipt requested. and not to the employee. 

(c)  The employee shall complete and return the Form 90 Report 

of Earnings within 15 days after receipt of a Form 90 Report of 

Earnings. If the employee fails to complete and return the Form 

90 Report of Earnings within 30 days of receipt of the form, the 

self-insured employer, carrier carrier, or third-party administrator 

may seek an order from the Executive Secretary allowing the 

suspension of benefits. The self-insured employer, carrier or 

third-party administrator shall not suspend benefits without 

Commission approval pursuant to the Workers' Compensation 

Act. to suspend compensation being paid pursuant to G.S. 97-29 

by filing a Form 24 Application to Terminate or Suspend Payment 

of Compensation as allowed by G.S. 97-18.1 and Rule .0404 of 

this Subchapter. If the Commission suspends benefits for failure 

to complete and return a Form 90 Report of Earnings, the self-

insured employer, carrier or third-party administrator shall 

reinstate benefits to the employee with back payment as soon as 

the Form 90 Report of Earnings is submitted by the employee. If 

benefits are not reinstated, the employee shall submit a written 

request for an Order from the Executive Secretary instructing the 

self-insured employer, carrier or third-party administrator to 

reinstate benefits. If the employee's earnings report does not 

indicate continuing eligibility for partial or total disability 

compensation, the self-insured employer, carrier or third-party 

administrator may apply to the Commission to terminate or 

modify benefits by filing a Form 24 Application to Terminate or 

Suspend Payment of Compensation or Form 33 Request that 

Claim be Assigned for Hearing. 

(d)  If compensation is suspended pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule and the employee subsequently completes and returns the 

Form 90 Report of Earnings, the self-insured employer, carrier, or 

third-party administrator shall reinstate payment of compensation 

to the employee with back payment. However, if the Form 90 

Report of Earnings does not indicate continuing eligibility for 

disability compensation, the self-insured employer, carrier, or 

third-party administrator is not required to reinstate payment of 

compensation. If the Form 90 Report of Earnings indicates 

continuing eligibility for temporary partial disability 

compensation, the self-insured employer, carrier, or third-party 

administrator shall make payment of compensation pursuant to 

G.S. 97-30 with back payment within 14 days of receipt of 

documentation establishing the amount of compensation due. If 
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payment of compensation is not reinstated following submission 

of the completed Form 90 Report of Earnings and the employee 

claims entitlement to ongoing disability compensation, the 

employee may seek reinstatement by filing a Form 23 Application 

to Reinstate Payment of Disability Compensation or Form 33 

Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-88.2. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23B – TORT CLAIMS RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – ADMINISTRATION 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0106 NOTICE BY THE COMMISSION 

(a)  If service is provided by electronic mail, "receipt of such 

notice" pursuant to G.S. 143-292 is complete one hour after it is 

sent by the Commission, provided that: 

(1) notice sent after 5:00 p.m. shall be complete at 

8:00 a.m. the following State business day; and 

(2) notice sent by electronic mail that is not 

readable by the recipient is not complete. 

Within five State business days of receipt of an 

unreadable document, the receiving party shall 

notify the Commission of the unreadability of 

the document. 

(b)  If service shall be provided by electronic mail, notice of orders 

or other documents issued pursuant to G.S. 143-296 is complete 

in accordance with the same provisions set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-300. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23E – ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF 

THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – ADMINISTRATION 

 

11 NCAC 23E .0104 SECURE LEAVE PERIODS FOR 

ATTORNEYS 

(a)  Any attorney may request one or more secure leave periods 

each year as provided in this Rule. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Paragraph only, a "secure leave period" 

is defined as a partial calendar week or a complete calendar week. 

During any Within a calendar year, an attorney's secure leave 

periods pursuant to this Rule shall not exceed an aggregate of 

three weeks. attorney is entitled to obtain secure leave periods 

totaling up to 15 business days for any purpose. 

(c)  For the purpose of this Paragraph only, a "secure leave period" 

is defined as a complete calendar week. Within a 24-week period 

surrounding the birth or adoption of an attorney's child, that 

attorney is entitled to have the benefit of up to 12 additional secure 

leave periods. 

(c)  To request a secure leave period an attorney shall file a written 

request, by letter or motion, containing the information required 

by Paragraph (d) of this Rule with the Office of the Chair within 

the time provided in Paragraph (e). Upon such filing, the Chair 

shall review the request and, if the request complies with 

Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule, issue a letter allowing the 

requested secure leave period. The attorney shall not be required 

to appear at any trial, hearing, deposition, or other proceeding 

before the Commission during that secure leave period. 

(d)  To request a secure leave period, an attorney shall file a 

written request, by letter or motion, containing the information 

required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule with the Office of the Chair 

within the time period provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

Upon such filing, the Chair shall review the request. If the request 

is made pursuant to Paragraph (b) or Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

and the request complies with Paragraphs (e) and (f) of this Rule, 

the Chair shall issue a letter allowing the requested secure leave 

period. The attorney shall not be required to appear at any trial, 

hearing, deposition, or other proceeding before the Commission 

during a secure leave period that is allowed. 

(d)  The request shall contain the following information: 

(1) the attorney's name, address, telephone number 

and state bar number; 

(2) the date(s) for which secure leave is being 

requested; 

(3) the dates of all other secure leave periods during 

the current calendar year that have previously 

been designated by the attorney pursuant to this 

Rule; 

(4) a statement that the secure leave period is not 

being designated for the purpose of delaying, 

hindering or interfering with the timely 

disposition of any matter in any pending action 

or proceeding; and 

(5) a statement that no action or proceeding in 

which the attorney has entered an appearance 

has been scheduled, tentatively set, or noticed 

for trial, hearing, deposition or other proceeding 

during the designated secure leave period. 

(e)  The request shall contain the following information: 

(1) the attorney's name, mailing address, telephone 

number, email address, and state bar number; 

(2) the date(s) for which secure leave is being 

requested; 

(3) the dates of all other secure leave periods during 

the current calendar year that have previously 

been designated by the attorney pursuant to this 

Rule; 

(4) a statement that the secure leave period is not 

being designated for the purpose of delaying, 

hindering, or interfering with the disposition of 

any matter in any pending action or proceeding; 

(5) a statement that no action or proceeding in 

which the attorney has entered an appearance 

has been scheduled, tentatively set, or noticed 

for trial, hearing, deposition, or other 

proceeding during the designated secure leave 

period; and 

(6) for secure leave requests that arise under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the expected birth 

date or adoption date of the child. 

(e)  To be allowed, the request shall be filed: 

(1) no later than 90 days before the beginning of the 

secure leave period; and 

(2) before any trial, hearing, deposition or other 

matter has been regularly scheduled, 
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peremptorily set or noticed for a time during the 

designated secure leave period. 

An untimely request will be denied by letter. In the event that a 

party has been denied secure leave because the request was not 

timely filed and there are extraordinary circumstances, the 

attorney may file a motion requesting an exception. If the case has 

been scheduled for hearing before a Deputy Commissioner, the 

motion shall be addressed to the Deputy Commissioner. If the 

matter is scheduled for hearing before the Full Commission, the 

motion shall be addressed to the Chair of the Panel before which 

the hearing will be held. In all other cases, the motion should be 

directed to the Office of the Chair. 

(f)  The request shall be filed: 

(1) no later than 90 days before the beginning of the 

secure leave period; and 

(2) before any trial, hearing, deposition, or other 

matter has been scheduled, peremptorily set, or 

noticed for a time during the designated secure 

leave period. 

(f)  If, after a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to 

this Rule, any trial, hearing, deposition, or other proceeding is 

scheduled or tentatively set for a time during the secure leave 

period, the attorney shall file with the Deputy Commissioner or 

chair of the Full Commission panel before which the matter was 

calendared or set, and serve on all parties, a copy of the letter 

allowing the secure leave period with a certificate of service 

attached. Upon receipt, the proceeding shall be rescheduled for a 

time that is not within the attorney's secure leave period. 

(g)  The Chair may, as set forth in Rule .0301 of this Subchapter, 

make exception to the 15-day aggregate limit set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the requirement set forth in 

Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule, and the limitations set forth in 

Subparagraphs (f)(1) and (f)(2) of this Rule. An attorney 

requesting that the Chair make this exception under this Paragraph 

shall inform the Chair of all known actions or proceedings 

involving that attorney that are scheduled, tentatively set, or 

noticed for trial, hearing, deposition, or other proceeding during 

the requested secure leave period. The attorney also shall provide 

notice to all opposing parties or, if represented, opposing counsel 

of record in all cases subject to the jurisdiction of the Industrial 

Commission of the beginning and ending dates of the requested 

secure leave period and of all known actions or proceedings 

involving that attorney that are scheduled, tentatively set, or 

noticed for trial, hearing, deposition, or other proceeding during 

the requested secure leave period. 

(g)  If, after a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to 

this Rule, any deposition is noticed for a time during the secure 

leave period, the attorney may serve on the party that noticed the 

deposition a copy of the letter allowing the secure leave period 

with a certificate of service attached, and that party shall 

reschedule the deposition for a time that is not within the 

attorney's secure leave period. 

(h)  After a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to this 

Rule, if any trial, hearing, or other proceeding is scheduled or 

tentatively set for a time during the secure leave period, the 

attorney shall file with the Deputy Commissioner or Chair of the 

Full Commission panel before which the matter was calendared 

or set, and serve on all parties, a copy of the letter allowing the 

secure leave period with a certificate of service attached. Upon 

receipt, the proceeding shall be rescheduled for a time that is not 

within the attorney's secure leave period. 

(i)  After a secure leave period has been allowed pursuant to this 

Rule, if any deposition is noticed for a time during the secure 

leave period, the attorney may serve on the party that noticed the 

deposition a copy of the letter allowing the secure leave period 

with a certificate of service attached, and that party shall 

reschedule the deposition for a time that is not within the 

attorney's secure leave period. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23L – INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION FORMS 

 

SECTION .0100 – WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FORMS 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0103 FORM 26A – EMPLOYER'S ADMISSION OF EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO PERMANENT 

PARTIAL DISABILITY 

(a)  (Effective until July 1, 2015)  The parties to a workers' compensation claim shall use the following Form 26A, Employer's Admission 

of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, for agreements regarding the employee's entitlement to and the employer's payment 

of compensation for permanent partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-31. Additional issues agreed upon by the parties, such as election 

of payment of temporary partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-30, may also be included on the form. This form is necessary to comply 

with Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial 

Disability, shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability 

(G.S. §97-31) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

Employer FEIN __________ 
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The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City State Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone Work Telephone 

Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M  F Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address City State Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address City State Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number Carrier's Fax Number 

 

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY AGREE AND STIPULATE AS FOLLOWS: 

1. All the parties hereto are subject to and bound by the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act and 

______________________ is the Carrier/Administrator for the Employer. 

2. The employee sustained an injury by accident or the employee contracted an occupational disease arising out of and in the 

course of employment on _____________________. 

3. The injury by accident or occupational disease resulted in the following injuries: 

______________________________________________________________________________. 

4. The employee □ was □ was not paid for the 7 day waiting period. 

If not, was salary continued? □ yes □ no. Was employee paid for the date of injury? □ yes □ no 

5. The average weekly wage of the employee at the time of the injury, including overtime and all allowances, was 

$_____________. This results in a weekly compensation rate of $____________. 

6. The employee □ has □ has not returned full time to work for _________________________ 

on ________________________, at an average weekly wage of $__________________. 

7. Claimant was released □ with permanent restrictions □ without permanent restrictions. 

8. Permanent partial disability compensation will be paid to the injured worker as follows: 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

Total amount of permanent partial disability compensation is $___________. Date of first payment:______________. 

9. State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement, loss of teeth, election of temporary partial disability, waiting 

period or other: ___________________________________________________________________________________. 

10. An overpayment is claimed in the amount of $_______________. Overpayment was calculated as 

follows:_______________________________________________________________________. 

If overpayment claimed, a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, is attached. □ yes □ no 

11. If applicable, the Second Injury Fund Assessment is $ ___________________. A check □ is □ is not included. 

12. IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE: The Industrial Commission's fee for processing this agreement is $300.00 to be 

paid in equal shares by the employee and the employer. You are not required to pay your portion of the fee in advance, and if your award 

is $3,000.00 or less, you are not responsible for any portion of the fee. If your award is more than $3,000.00, the employer shall deduct 

$150.00 from your award, unless you and your employer agree otherwise. 

Check one of the boxes below if the award is more than $3,000.00: 

  The employer will deduct $150.00 from the amount to be paid pursuant to this agreement. 

  The employee and employer have agreed that the employer will pay the entire fee. 

 

The undersigned hereby certify that the material medical and vocational reports related to the injury have been provided to the employee 

or the employee's attorney and have been filed with the Industrial Commission for consideration pursuant to G.S. 97-82(a) and Rule 11 

NCAC 23A .0501. 
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__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer Signature Title Date 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier/Administrator Signature Direct Phone Number Title Date 

 

By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the "Important Notices to Employee" 

printed on pages 2 and 3 of this form. 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee  Address Date 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address______________________Date 

 

 Check box if no attorney retained. 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner Date 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Attorney's fee approved 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers' compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors. Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last. If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must apply 

to the Industrial Commission in writing within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost. To apply you may also use Industrial 

Commission 18M, Employee's Application for Additional Medical Compensation (G.S. 97-25.1), available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

The employee must be provided a copy when the agreement is signed by the employee. Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, within 

20 days after receipt of the agreement executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the agreement to 

the Industrial Commission, or show cause for not submitting the agreement. The employer or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 

28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last payment made pursuant to this agreement 

or be subject to a penalty. 

 

NEED ASSISTANCE? 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 26A 

11/2014 

 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier Mail to: 

NCIC - Claims Administration 

4335 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4335 

Main Telephone: (919) 807-2500 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 
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Website: http://www.ic.nc.gov/ 

 

(a)  (Effective July 1, 2015)  The parties to a workers' compensation claim shall use the following Form 26A, Employer's Admission of 

Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, for agreements regarding the employee's entitlement to and the employer's payment 

of compensation for permanent partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-31. Additional issues agreed upon by the parties, such as election 

of payment of temporary partial disability pursuant to G.S. 97-30, may also be included on the form. This form is necessary to comply 

with Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, where applicable. The Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial 

Disability, shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability 

(G.S. §97-31) 

 

IC File # __________ 

Emp. Code # __________ 

Carrier Code # __________ 

Carrier File # __________ 

Employer FEIN __________ 

 

The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employee's Name 

____________________________________________________________ 

Address 

____________________________________________________________ 

City     State    Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Telephone      Work Telephone 

Social Security Number: _______ Sex:  M  F Date of Birth: _______ 

 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Name     Telephone Number 

____________________________________________________________ 

Employer's Address   City  State  Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Insurance Carrier 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Address    City  State  Zip 

____________________________________________________________ 

Carrier's Telephone Number    Carrier's Fax Number 

 

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY AGREE AND STIPULATE AS FOLLOWS: 

1.  All the parties hereto are subject to and bound by the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act and 

______________________ is the Carrier/Administrator for the Employer. 

2.  The employee sustained an injury by accident or the employee contracted an occupational disease arising out of and in the course 

of employment on _____________________. 

3.  The injury by accident or occupational disease resulted in the following injuries: ______________________________________. 

4.  The employee  was  was not paid for the 7 day waiting period. 

If not, was salary continued?  yes  no. Was employee paid for the date of injury?  yes  no 

5.  The average weekly wage of the employee at the time of the injury, including overtime and all allowances, was $_____________. 

This results in a weekly compensation rate of $____________. 

6.  The employee  has  has not returned full time to work for _________________________ 

on ________________________, at an average weekly wage of $__________________. 

7.  Claimant was released  with permanent restrictions  without permanent restrictions. If claimant was released with permanent 

restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, attach a job description if known to exist. 

8.  Permanent partial disability compensation will be paid to the injured worker as follows: 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 
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____ weeks of compensation at rate of $________ per week for ____% rating to ___________ (body part) 

Total amount of permanent partial disability compensation is $___________. Date of first payment:______________. 

9.  State any further matters agreed upon, including disfigurement, loss of teeth, election of temporary partial disability, waiting 

period or other: ___________________________________________________________________________________. 

10.  An overpayment is claimed in the amount of $________. Overpayment was calculated as 

follows:__________________________________________________. 

If overpayment claimed, a Form 28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, is attached.  yes  no 

11.  If applicable, the Second Injury Fund Assessment is $ ___________________. A check  is  is not included. 

 

The undersigned hereby certify that the material medical and vocational reports records related to the injury injury, including any job 

description known to exist if the employee has permanent restrictions and has returned to work for the employer of injury, have been 

provided to the employee or the employee's attorney and have been filed with the Industrial Commission for consideration pursuant to 

G.S. 97-82(a) and Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Employer   Signature    Title    Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Of Carrier/Administrator  Signature  Direct Phone Number  Email Address  Title  Date 

 

By signing I enter into this agreement and certify that I have read the "Important Notices to Employee" 

printed on Page 3 of this form. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee    Address   Email Address   Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Employee's Attorney   Address   Email Address   Date 

 

 Check box if no attorney retained. 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

The Foregoing Agreement Is Hereby Approved: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Claims Examiner         Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Attorney's fee approved 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE CLAIMING ADDITIONAL WEEKLY CHECKS OR LUMP SUM PAYMENTS 

Once your compensation checks have been stopped, if you claim further compensation, you must notify the Industrial Commission in 

writing within two years from the date of receipt of your last compensation check or your rights to these benefits may be lost. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED BEFORE JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred before July 5, 1994, you are entitled to medical compensation as long as it is reasonably necessary, related to 

your workers' compensation case, and authorized by the carrier or the Industrial Commission. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE INJURED ON OR AFTER JULY 5, 1994 CLAIMING ADDITIONAL MEDICAL 

BENEFITS 

If your injury occurred on or after July 5, 1994, your right to future medical compensation will depend on several factors. Your right to 

payment of future medical compensation will terminate two years after your employer or carrier/administrator last pays any medical 

compensation or other compensation, whichever occurs last. If you think you will need future medical compensation, you must apply 

to the Industrial Commission in writing within two years, or your right to these benefits may be lost. To apply you may also use Industrial 

Commission 18M, Employee's Application for Additional Medical Compensation (G.S. 97-25.1), available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

The employee must be provided a copy when the agreement is signed by the employee. Pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23A .0501, within 

20 days after receipt of the agreement executed by the employee, the employer or carrier/administrator must submit the agreement to 

the Industrial Commission, or show cause for not submitting the agreement. The employer or carrier/administrator shall file a Form 

28B, Report of Compensation and Medical Compensation Paid, within 16 days after the last payment made pursuant to this agreement 

or be subject to a penalty. 
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NEED ASSISTANCE? 

If you have questions or need help and you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Industrial Commission at (800) 688-8349. 

 

Form 26A 

7/2015 6/2020 

 

Self-Insured Employer or Carrier Mail to: 

NCIC - Claims Administration 

4335 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4335 

Main Telephone: (919) 807-2500 

Helpline: (800) 688-8349 

Website: http://www.ic.nc.gov/ 

 

(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf. The form 

may be reproduced only in the format available at http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms/form26a.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any 

way. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-30; 97-31; 97-73; 97-80(a); 97-81(a); 97-82; S.L. 2014-77. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Crime Victims Compensation Commission 

intends to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 

14B NCAC 09 .0301-.0305. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Request a hearing 

from the rule making coordinator by January 30, 2020. Send to 

Will Polk, Office of General Counsel, 4201 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-4201; phone: 919-825-2706; email: 

will.polk@ncdps.gov. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This action is readopting the 

Crime Victim Compensation rules that were subject to the 

periodic review process as set in G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Cheryl Walker, NC 

Department of Public Safety, Office of General Councel, 4201 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4201 

 

Comment period ends:  March 16, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - DIVISION OF VICTIMS SERVICES 

 

SECTION .0300 - CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION 

COMMISSION 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0301 ADMINISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0302 PROCESSING AND PAYMENT 

OF CLAIMS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0303 MEETINGS OF THE 

COMMISSION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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14B NCAC 09 .0304 CONTESTED CASES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 09 .0305 AWARDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 10A .1601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 19, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  WRC Headquarters, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27606 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed permanent rule will 

replace the temporary License Fee Rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 16, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION 1600 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

FEES  

 

15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES. 

(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 

be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 

inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 

G.S. 113-270.1C: 

(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 

Inland Fishing License - $35.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00. 

(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00. 

(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00. 

(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$530.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$1,272.00. 

(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$16.00. 

(7) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $265.00. 

(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$22.00. 

(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $39.00. 

(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00. 

(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00. 

(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00. 

(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00. 

(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 
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(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00. 

(6) Game Land License - $16.00. 

(7) Falconry License - $11.00. 

(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$14.00. 

(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$250.00. 

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$500.00. 

(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00. 

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 

$16.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 

License - $159.00. 

(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00. 

(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 

inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 

forth in G.S. 113-271: 

(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 

$45.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $9.00. 

(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $23.00. 

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $106.00. 

(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing 

License - $8.00. 

(i)  The following fees shall apply to special device licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00. 

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00. 

(j)  The fee for a collection license issued by the Commission, as 

set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00. 

(k)  The following fees shall apply to captivity licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00. 

(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00. 

(l)  The following fees shall apply to dealer licenses issued by the 

Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00. 

(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00. 

(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00. 

(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $100.00. 

(5) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00. 

(6) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00. 

(7) Taxidermy License - $50.00. 

(8) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00. 

(9) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00. 

(10) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00. 

(m)  The following fees shall apply to permits issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 

(1) Possession Permit - $10.00. 

(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00. 

(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00. 

(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00. 

(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $69.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $41.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing Licenses: 

(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $292.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $477.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $716.00. 

(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $1,643.00. 

(E) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(F) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(G) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $477.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 

Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-

174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $6.00. 
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(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $106.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $159.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $530.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $16.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $11.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Elections 

 

Rule Citation:  08 NCAC 17 .0109 

 

Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  December 

19, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. Sections 1.2(b), 

1.3.(a), and 1.6 of Session Law 2019-239, Eff. January 1, 2020 

(signed into law on November 6, 2019). 

The State Board initially adopted temporary rule 08 NCAC 17 

.0109 implementing the inclusion of photo ID for absentee by-

mail voting in August 2019. The rule provided for methods of 

submission of the voter's copy of their ID or alternative affidavit 

with the absentee request or with the voted ballot. Subsequently, 

Session Law 2019-239 changed the requirements for photo ID for 

absentee by mail voting, providing that the photo ID requirement 

can be met only with the return of the absentee ballot and not with 

the request form, and requiring that the State Board adopt rules 

to implement the changes.  Therefore, it is necessary for the Board 

to amend the previously adopted temporary rule. 

G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(11)b. authorizes the State Board to adopt 

temporary rules "after prior notice or hearing or upon any 

abbreviated notice or hearing the agency finds practical" to 

"implement the provisions of state or federal law for which the 

State Board of Elections has been authorized to adopt such rules."  

As such, it is the agency's belief, in consultation with Rules Review 

Commission staff, that temporary rules adopted under this 

authority are subject to notice and hearing requirements but are 

not subject to the timeline set forth in G.S. 150B-21.1(a3). 

 

CHAPTER 17 - PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0109 PHOTO IDENTIFICATION FOR 

ABSENTEE BALLOTS 

(a)  Definitions. The following definitions apply to this Rule: 

(1) "Readable" means that the name on the 

identification can be read and that the 

photograph is not blurry and depicts a person 

who is distinct and distinguishable from another 

person. 

(2) "Copy" means a duplicate of an original 

document, including a photographic copy of the 

original document. It does not include 

displaying an image on an electronic device. 

(b)  Identification Requirement for Absentee Ballot Request 

Form. A completed written request form for an absentee ballot 

shall include a readable electronic or physical copy of the 

identification required by G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) displaying a name 

that is the same or substantially equivalent to the name contained 

in the registration record as provided in 08 NCAC 17 .0101(c)(4). 

The election official shall make this determination based on the 

totality of the circumstances, construing all evidence, along with 

any explanation or documentation voluntarily proffered by the 

person presenting to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. The election official shall not require any additional 

evidence outside the four corners of the photo identification. If the 

name on the identification is substantially similar to the name 

listed on the registration record and the identification is readable, 

the county board of elections shall presume that the person 

depicted in the photograph on the identification provided is the 

voter. It is not required that the address on the identification match 

the residential address provided on the request form or the address 

on the registration record. 

(c)  Exceptions. The exceptions provided in G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) 

for voters voting in person shall apply to absentee by mail voters. 

The reasonable impediment exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2) shall include lack of access to a method to attach an 

electronic or physical copy of the identification card to the 

request. The following additional exceptions shall apply to 

absentee by mail voters: 

(1) Religious Objection Exception. After the 

voter's ballot is counted, if a voter claims the 

religious objection exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(1) and completes the prescribed 

affidavit, the religious objection exception shall 

be noted on the voter's registration record. In 

future elections that voter shall not be required 

to show photo identification under G.S. 163A-

1145.1 or this Rule, or claim an exception under 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(d), until the voter either: 

(A) notifies the county board of elections 

in writing that the voter no longer 

holds a religious objection to being 

photographed; 

(B) provides photo identification in a 

future election; or 

(C) claims an exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2) or (d)(3) in a future 

election. 

(2) Annual Requests by Persons with Sickness or 

Physical Disability. If an applicant for an 

absentee request form reports in the application 

that the voter has a sickness or physical 

disability that is expected to last the remainder 

of the calendar year pursuant to G.S. 163A-

1295(b) and satisfies the photo identification 

requirement under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or 

the voter completes an alternative affidavit 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

34:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 15, 2020 

1305 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1145.1(d), the photo 

identification requirement shall be met for all of 

the primaries and elections held during the 

calendar year when the application is received. 

(3) Applications for Absentee Ballots for Voting in 

Second Primary or Runoff Election. A voter 

who is automatically issued an application and 

absentee ballot for a second primary pursuant to 

G.S. 163A-1299 or a runoff election shall not 

be required to submit a copy of acceptable 

photo identification under Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule or claim an exception under G.S. 163A-

1145(d) with the absentee ballot and container-

return envelope for the second primary or 

runoff election. 

(4) Covered Voters Under the Uniform Military 

and Overseas Voter Act. A covered voter who 

is casting a ballot pursuant to Part 2 of Article 

21 of Chapter 163A of the General Statutes 

shall not be required to submit a copy of 

acceptable photo identification under 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule or claim an exception 

under G.S. 163A-1145(d). 

(d)  Delivery of Absentee Ballots and Certification Form. If a 

voter is confirmed as a registered voter of the county, the absentee 

ballots and certification form shall be mailed to the voter, unless 

personally delivered in accordance with G.S. 163A-1308(b), even 

if the voter does not provide the identification required by G.S. 

163A-1309(a)(4) and this Rule with the request. However, the 

voter shall provide identification or claim an exception under G.S. 

163A-1145.1(d) prior to the counting of the voter's absentee 

ballot. If the voter provides the identification required by this Rule 

or claims an exception under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) with the 

absentee ballot request form, the voter is not required to attach 

additional documentation to the container-return envelope. 

(e)  Valid Absentee Ballot Request Forms Requiring Further 

Action. 

(1) The county board of elections shall include with 

the absentee ballots and certification form a 

letter notifying the voter that the voter's request 

is valid under G.S. 163A-1309(a) but that 

further action is needed by the voter to comply 

with the identification requirements, if any of 

the following apply: 

(A) The voter does not submit the 

identification required by G.S. 163A-

1309(a)(4). 

(B) The voter does not claim an exception 

under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d). 

(C) The voter includes an unreadable copy 

of the identification required by G.S. 

163A-1309(a)(4). 

(D) The identification does not meet the 

expiration date requirements under 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(a). 

(E) The voter provides a type of 

identification not listed under G.S. 

163A-1145.1(a). 

(F) The voter provides identification 

displaying a name that is not the same 

as or substantially similar to the name 

on the voter record as required 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(G) The exception affidavit is incomplete, 

either because there is no signature or, 

in the case of a reasonable impediment 

exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2), the voter did not 

complete the reasonable impediment 

declaration form under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d1). 

(H) The voter indicates she or he will 

provide identification at a later time. 

(2) The letter required in Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph shall provide the voter with the 

following options: 

(A) At any point between the submission 

of the absentee ballot request form and 

5:00 P.M. on the day before the county 

canvass, provide the documentation 

necessary to comply with the 

identification requirements via email, 

mail, or in person. 

(B) Attach to the absentee ballot 

container-return envelope the 

documentation necessary to comply 

with the identification requirements 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1307(b)(8). 

(f)  Counting of Absentee Ballots. Prior to the transmission of 

absentee ballots pursuant to G.S. 163A-1308(c), the county board 

of elections shall notate the voter's ID status on the container-

return envelope for a voter who requires further action pursuant 

to Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule. The county board of elections 

shall, at the first meeting held pursuant to G.S. 163A-1308(f) to 

pass upon applications for absentee ballots after the absentee 

ballot is received, consider whether the voter has complied with 

the photo identification requirements in G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) and 

this Rule or whether an exception applies under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d). In its determination, the county board shall construe all 

evidence in the light most favorable to the voter. If an exception 

applies, the county board of elections shall review the affidavit 

provided. Absent any other reason provided by law for 

disapproving absentee ballots, if the county board of elections 

determines that the registered voter is unable to provide proof of 

identification and the voter has completed the required affidavit 

in G.S. 163A-1145.1(d), the county board of elections shall find 

that the absentee ballot is valid unless the county board has 

grounds to believe the affidavit is false. A decision that the 

absentee ballot is not approved because the affidavit provided 

under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) is false shall require a unanimous vote 

by the county board of elections. If the voter fails to submit 

acceptable photo identification pursuant to G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) 

and this Rule or fails to submit a completed alternative affidavit 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) with the container-return 

envelope, the mailed ballot shall be treated in the same manner as 

a mail-in absentee ballot under G.S. 163A-1144(e). 
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(g)  Photocopy Requirement. The county board of elections shall 

allow any person seeking to vote by absentee ballot the use of a 

photocopying device to make one photocopy of the voter's form 

of photo identification. 

(h)  Return of original form of identification. If a voter sends his 

or her original form of photo identification with either the 

absentee request form or in the container-return envelope, the 

county board of elections shall make a photocopy of the 

identification and mail the identification back to the voter. 

(i)  Retention of Copies of Photo Identification and Exception 

Affidavits. Copies of photo identification and alternative 

affidavits shall be retained according to the same schedule for 

absentee ballot applications under G.S. 163A-1313, except that 

copies of religious objection affidavits shall be retained in the 

Statewide computerized voter registration system maintained 

under G.S. 163A-874 until the voter ends this exemption pursuant 

to the methods listed in Parts (c)(1)(A) through (C). 

(a)  Definitions. The following definitions apply to this Rule: 

(1) "Readable" means that the name on the 

identification can be read and that the 

photograph is not blurry and depicts a person 

who is distinct and distinguishable from another 

person. 

(2) "Copy" means a duplicate of an original 

document, including a photographic copy of the 

original document. It does not include 

displaying an image on an electronic device. 

(3) "Verifiable legal guardian" has the same 

meaning as in G.S. 163-226(e). 

(4) "Near relative" has the same meaning as in G.S. 

163-226(f). 

(b)  Identification Requirement for Absentee by Mail Ballots. 

Each container-return envelope returned to the county board of 

elections with application and voted ballots shall include a copy 

of the identification required by G.S. 163-166.16(a) or an affidavit 

as described in G.S. 163-166.16(d)(1), (d)(2), or (d)(3). The copy 

of identification must be readable and must display a name that is 

the same or substantially equivalent to the name contained in the 

registration record as provided in 08 NCAC 17 .0101(c)(4). It is 

not required that the address on the identification match the 

residential address provided on the request form or the address on 

the registration record. 

(c)  Incomplete Application for a Photo Identification-Related 

Reason. If the county board of elections receives an absentee 

application and voted ballots prior to the deadline provided in G.S. 

163-231(b), its staff shall make an initial assessment of whether 

the voter provided a copy of photo identification and if not, 

whether the voter completed an alternative affidavit. If, after this 

initial assessment, the copy of the photo identification is not 

readable, the voter did not provide a copy of photo identification 

or an alternative affidavit, or the alternative affidavit is not signed 

or is otherwise not complete, the county board of elections staff 

shall notify the voter in writing that the voter, the voter's verifiable 

legal guardian, or the voter's near relative may mail or bring in 

person the voter's acceptable photo identification under G.S. 163-

166.16(a), a readable copy of the voter's acceptable photo 

identification, or a completed alternative affidavit, to the county 

board of elections by the deadline specified in G.S. 163-82.4(f). 

(d)  Exceptions. The exceptions provided in G.S. 163-166.16(d) 

for voters voting in person shall apply to absentee by mail voters. 

The reasonable impediment exception under G.S. 163-

166.16(d)(2) shall include lack of access to a method to attach a 

physical copy of the identification card to the request. A covered 

voter who is casting a ballot pursuant to G.S. 163, Article 21A, 

Part 1 is not required to submit a copy of acceptable photo 

identification under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or claim an 

exception under G.S. 163-166.16(d). 

(e)  Counting of Absentee Ballots. The county board of elections 

shall, at the first meeting held after the ballot is received pursuant 

to G.S. 163-230.1(f) to pass upon applications for absentee 

ballots, consider whether the voter has complied with the photo 

identification requirements as follows: 

(1) Review of photo identification. The county 

board of elections shall review the photo 

identification submitted and shall determine the 

following: 

(A) That the photo identification is 

readable as defined in Subparagraph 

(a)(1); 

(B) That the photo identification meets the 

expiration date requirements provided 

in G.S. 163-166.16(a); and 

(C) That the name appearing on the photo 

identification is the same or 

substantially equivalent to the name 

contained in the registration record 

pursuant to 08 NCAC 17 .0101(c)(4). 

If the name on the identification is 

substantially equivalent to the name 

listed on the registration record, the 

county board of elections shall 

presume that the person depicted in the 

photograph on the identification 

provided is the voter. 

In making its determination under this Subparagraph, the 

county board of elections shall not require any additional 

evidence outside the four corners of the photo 

identification and shall make the determination based on 

the totality of the circumstances, construing all evidence 

in the light most favorable to the voter. A decision that 

the absentee ballot is not approved because the name 

listed on the photo identification is not the same as or 

substantially equivalent to the name on the registration 

record shall require a unanimous vote by the county 

board of elections. 

(2) Review of alternative affidavit. Absent any 

other reason provided by law for disapproving 

absentee ballots, if the voter has completed the 

required affidavit in G.S. 163-166.16(d), the 

county board of elections shall find that the 

absentee ballot is valid unless the county board 

has grounds to believe the affidavit is false. A 

decision that the absentee ballot is not approved 

because the affidavit provided under G.S. 163-

166.16(d) is false shall require a unanimous 

vote by the county board of elections. 
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If the voter fails to submit in the container-return envelope a copy 

of acceptable photo identification pursuant to G.S. 163-166.16(a) 

or an alternative affidavit under G.S. 163-166.16(d), the copy of 

the photo identification is not readable, or the alternative affidavit 

is not signed or is otherwise not complete, the mailed ballot shall 

be treated in the same manner as a mail-in absentee ballot under 

G.S. 163-166.12(e). The voter, the voter's verifiable legal 

guardian, or the voter's near relative may mail or bring in person 

the voter's acceptable photo identification under G.S. 163-

166.16(a), a readable copy of the voter's acceptable photo 

identification, or a completed alternative affidavit, to the county 

board of elections by the deadline specified in G.S. 163-82.4(f). 

(f)  Photocopy Requirement. The county board of elections shall 

allow any person seeking to vote by absentee ballot the use of a 

photocopying device to make one photocopy of the voter's form 

of photo identification. 

(g)  Return of Original Form of Identification. If a voter sends his 

or her original form of photo identification in the container-return 

envelope, the county board of elections shall make a photocopy 

of the identification and mail the identification back to the voter. 

(h)  Retention of Copies of Photo Identification and Alternative 

Affidavits. Copies of photo identification and alternative 

affidavits shall be retained according to the same schedule for 

absentee ballot applications under G.S. 163-233. Copies of photo 

identification associated with the absentee ballot are not public 

record. The alternative affidavit is a public record, but the voter's 

signature may only be viewed in the county board of elections 

office and cannot be copied or traced. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-1145.1; 163A-1307; 

163A-1309(f); 163A-1319; 163-166.16; 163-230.1; 163-233; S.L. 

2018-144, s. 1.2.(e), (i); S.L. 2019-239; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2020; August 23, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Licensing Board for General 

Contractors 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 12A .0304, .0503; 12B .0101-.0105, 

.0201-.0206, .0301-.0303, and .0401-.0403 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  December 

19, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.  S.L. 2019-72, Eff. July 

1, 2019. 

S.L. 2019-72 implemented continuing education for certain 

classifications of licensed general contractors. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12A – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

21 NCAC 12A .0304 FEES 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: fees related to 

license applications: 

(1) Application for limited license: $75.00; 

(2) Application for intermediate license: $100.00; 

(3) Application for unlimited license: $125.00; 

(4) Application for increase in limitation: $100.00 

for increase to intermediate license and $125.00 

for increase to unlimited license; and 

(5) Late renewal: $10.00 per month for every 

month or part after the first day of January. 

(b)  The Board shall charge the following fees related to 

continuing education: 

(1) Course Sponsor: 

(A) Initial review: $25.00 per credit hour 

requested; and 

(B) Subsequent annual review: $10.00 per 

credit hour requested. 

(2) Qualifier Completion: $4.00 per credit hour per 

qualifier/qualifying party qualifier who 

completes an approved continuing education 

course. This fee shall be paid by the course 

sponsor. 

(b)(c)  All fees charged by the Board shall be non-refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(i); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Codifier approved agency's waiver request to reuse rule number; 

Eff. April 1, 2018. 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0304 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 7, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0500 – LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  Applications for renewal of license shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the Social Security Number of the applicant and 

qualifier(s) and tax identification number for 

corporations, LLCs, or partnerships; 

(2) the applicant's contact information; 

(3) the name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) information regarding any changes made in the 

status of the licensee's business, since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(5) confirmation of license limitation and 

classifications; 

(6) information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(7) documentation regarding all crimes referenced 

above; 
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(8) information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration, or 

certification agency since the initial application 

or last renewal was submitted to the Board, 

whichever is later; 

(9) an attestation that the applicant maintains 

continued financial responsibility pursuant to 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter; 

(10) if applicable, proof that the surety bond is 

maintained in compliance with Rule .0204 of 

this Chapter; and 

(11) if applicable, necessary, proof of completion of 

continuing education requirements; and 

(11)(12) the application fee and any accrued late fees as 

set forth in Rule .0304 of this Chapter. 

(b)  A licensee shall submit an audited financial statement as 

evidence of continued financial responsibility in accordance with 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter if the Board finds that the licensee is 

insolvent, financially unstable, or unable to meet its financial 

responsibilities based upon the information provided in the 

renewal application. 

(c)  A licensee shall provide the Board with a copy of any 

bankruptcy petition filed by the licensee within 30 days of its 

filing. A licensee in bankruptcy shall provide to the Board an 

agreed-upon procedures report on a form provided by the Board 

or an audited financial statement with a classified balance sheet 

as part of any application for renewal. 

(d)  A corporate license shall not be renewed unless it is in good 

standing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State. 

(e)  Upon receipt of a written request by or on behalf of a licensee 

who is currently in good standing with the Board, is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 

grants an extension of time to file a tax return, the Board shall 

grant that same extension of time for complying with renewal 

application deadlines, for paying renewal fees, and for meeting 

any other requirement or conditions related to the maintenance or 

renewal of the license issued by the Board. The applicant shall 

furnish to the Board a copy of the military orders or the extension 

approval by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4;87-10; 87-10.2; 87-

12; 87-13; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

ARRC Objection March 19, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; August 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 28, 1989 for a period of 155 

Days to Expire on December 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 

RRC Removed Objection of March 19, 1987 Eff. August 20, 1992 

based on subsequent amendment; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; June 1, 2011; June 1, 2003; April 1, 

2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018. 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0503 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 12B – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  To ensure continuing efforts on the part of licensed general 

contractors to remain current with new developments in all 

aspects of general contracting and to encourage better business 

practices and safety in the profession, continuing education is 

required as a condition of license renewal. If required, required 

pursuant to G.S. 87-10.2(a), a licensee shall submit, as a part of 

his or her renewal application, evidence that he or she has met the 

Board's continuing education requirements as set forth in this 

Section. Except as provided in Rule .0104 of this Subchapter, 

renewal applications that do not contain this information shall be 

deemed incomplete. 

(b)  This Subchapter shall apply to all aspects of continuing 

education as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, the terms "sponsor" and 

"provider" shall be synonymous. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

CREDIT 

(a)  Beginning with renewals filed for the 2021 license year, a 

licensee shall designate at least one qualifier who shall complete 

eight continuing education (CE) hours during the year preceding 

renewal. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, "elective courses" are 

defined as courses relating directly to the subject matter of general 

contracting as described in G.S. 87-1 and 87-10 and relate to that 

address general business practices, including business planning, 

contracts, liability exposure, human resources, basic accounting, 

financial statements, and safety. 

(c)  One credit hour is equal to 50 minutes of instructional time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0103 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of a qualifier's attendance at 

continuing education programs for which CE credit has been 

approved for four years following the processing date of the 

renewal application to which the CE credits were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CE requirements shall be determined 

through a random audit process conducted by the Board. 

Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board with the 

following documentation of the CE activities claimed for the 

renewal period: 

(1) Attendance attendance verification records; and 
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(2) Information information regarding course 

content, instructors, and sponsoring 

organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements shall result in the licensee's status being 

changed to invalid except as set forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0104 EXTENSION OF TIME 

(a)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to 

complete CE requirements during a period of service in the Armed 

Forces of the United States upon submission of the following to 

the Board: 

(1) Written written request for an extension; and 

(2) Documentation documentation that the licensee 

or his or her qualifier is serving in the Armed 

Forces of the United States and is eligible for an 

extension of time to file a tax return pursuant to 

G.S. 105-249.2. 

(b)  The Board shall grant a licensee an extension of time to obtain 

CE requirements if he or she or his or her qualifier has a disability 

or illness that prevents him or her from complying with CE 

requirements. In order to receive the waiver, a licensee shall 

provide the Board with the following: 

(1) Written written request for waiver; and 

(2) Documentation documentation that describes 

the disability or illness and explains how the 

disability or illness prevents the licensee's 

qualifier from complying with the Board's CE 

requirements. Documentation includes a letter 

from a licensed physician, nurse practitioner 

(NP), or physician assistant (PA). 

(c)  Where on a case-by-case basis the Board determines that due 

to an undue hardship (such as active military service, natural 

disaster, disaster or illness of family member) the licensee could 

not reasonably be expected to comply with the Board's CE 

requirements, the licensee shall be granted an extension of time in 

which to obtain the required CE credits. To be considered for an 

extension of time, a licensee shall submit the following: 

(1) Written written request for extension; and 

(2) Documentation documentation that supports 

the reason for the extension. 

(d)  The Board shall grant a waiver of CE requirements upon 

submission of documentation that a licensee or his or her qualifier 

is in active duty while serving in the Armed Forces and is or has 

been deployed for at least eight months during the twelve-month 

period during which CE credits were required. 

(e)  An extension granted under Paragraphs (b) or (c) of this Rule 

shall not exceed one year. Prior to the expiration of the one year 

extension of time, a licensee may request an additional extension 

in accordance with this Rule. Except as set out in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the Board shall grant no more than two consecutive 

extensions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(j); 93B-15; 105-249.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0105 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Applications for inactive status as described in G.S. 87-

10.2(h) shall contain the following: 

(1) License license name and number issued by the 

Board; 

(2) Name(s) name(s) of qualifier(s); 

(3) If if required, proof of active license status with 

the Board; and 

(4) Certification certification that the individual 

submitting the request is authorized by the 

licensee to do so. 

(b)  If a licensee on inactive status fails to renew his or her license 

as of January 1 of the following year, the license will shall become 

invalid in accordance with Article 1, Chapter 87 and the rules set 

forth in 21 NCAC 12A. 

(c)  Applications to lift inactive status and return to active status 

shall contain the following: A licensee on inactive status who 

wishes to return to active status shall submit an application to the 

Board that contains the following information: 

(1) License license name and number issued by the 

Board; 

(2) Name(s) name(s) of qualifier(s) and the 

classifications in which they qualify; 

(3) If applicable, application renewal fee and and, 

if applicable, late fees as set out in G.S. 87-

10(e) and 21 NCAC 12A .0304; and 

(4) Proof proof of completion of continuing 

education requirements as set forth in G.S. 87-

10.2(h). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-10.2(h); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVIDERS 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0201 APPLICATION FOR INITIAL 

APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER 

(a)  Only continuing education providers approved by the Board 

shall be eligible to offer continuing education courses. 

(b)  Prospective providers of all courses must obtain written 

approval from the Board to conduct such course prior to 

conducting the course and prior to advertising or otherwise 

representing that the course is or may be approved for general 

contractor continuing education credit in North Carolina. No 

retroactive approval to conduct a continuing education course will 

be granted. 

(c)  Any entity seeking initial approval to be a continuing 

education provider shall make application on a form available on 

the Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth: 

(1) the legal name of applicant and any assumed 

business name; 

(2) the applicant's mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address; 

(3) the SOS ID number issued by the NC Secretary 

of State, if applicable; 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

34:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 15, 2020 

1310 

(4) the legal name(s) of the provider's owner(s), 

member(s), manager(s), or partner(s); 

(5) the name of a continuing education coordinator 

who shall serve as the contact person for the 

provider; and 

(6) the signature of the applicant or its legal 

designee. 

(d)  The name of any course provider shall not be identical or 

similar so as to cause confusion to the name of any other approved 

continuing education course provider. 

(e )  Continuing education providers shall notify the Board in 

writing within 10 days of any change in business name, ownership 

interest, continuing education coordinator, address, business 

telephone number, or email address. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0202 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  All Board approvals issued to providers shall expire annually 

on December 1 following issuance of approval. 

(b)  A provider shall submit an application for renewal of its 

approval within 45 days immediately preceding expiration of 

approval on a form available on the Board's website. The provider 

renewal application form shall include: 

(1) the provider's name; 

(2) the provider ID number issued by the Board; 

(3) the name of the provider's designated 

continuing education coordinator; 

(4) the provider's mailing address, telephone 

number, and web address, if applicable; 

(5) any change in the provider's business entity; 

and 

(6) the signature of the provider or its legal 

designee. 

(c)  If a provider's approval has expired, the provider shall submit 

an application as a new applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0203 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any continuing 

education provider upon finding that the provider or the 

continuing education coordinator in the employ of the provider: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for course or 

provider approval or renewal; 

(2) made any false statements in course 

advertisement or promotional materials; 

(3) provided false, incomplete, or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports the 

continuing education provider is required to 

submit to the Board; 

(4) provided the Board a check or credit card for 

required fees that was not honored by a 

financial institution or bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(5) collected money from licensees and qualifiers 

for a continuing education course but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) intentionally provided false, incomplete, or 

misleading information relating to general 

contractors licensing, education matters, or the 

qualifier's education requirements or license 

status; 

(7) failed to submit the CE Roster Reports as 

required by Rule .0206 of this Subchapter; 

(8) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by 21 NCAC 12A .0304; or 

(9) failed to comply with any other provision of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  A licensed general contractor and its qualifier(s) shall be 

subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 87-11 if the licensee or its 

qualifier(s) engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct 

in connection with the operations of a continuing education course 

provider if that licensee or qualifier(s): 

(1) has an ownership interest in the course 

provider; 

(2) is the designated continuing education 

coordinator for the course provider; or 

(3) is an instructor for the course provider. 

(c)  When ownership of an approved continuing education 

provider is transferred to a separate legal entity, the provider's 

approval is not transferable and shall terminate on the effective 

date of the transfer. All courses shall be completed by the effective 

date of the transfer. The transferring owner shall report course 

completion(s) to the Board. The new entity shall obtain an original 

continuing education provider approval as required by Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering 

students, accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise 

engaging in any provider operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0204 ATTENDANCE; ROSTER 

REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

(a)  Qualifiers shall provide proof of identity upon arrival at a class 

session. 

(b)  At the conclusion of any continuing education course, the 

provider shall submit to the Board a CE Roster Report verifying 

each qualifier's completion of the course. The CE Roster Report 

shall be submitted in a format prescribed by to the Board and shall 

contain the following: 

(1) provider's name; 

(2) provider's ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course instructor's name and ID number; 

(4) course's name and ID number; 

(5) course completion date; and 

(6) name and qualifier ID number of each student 

who completed the course. 

(c)  Providers shall submit the CE Roster Report electronically to 

the Board within seven calendar days following the end of any 

course, but in no case later than December 7. 
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(d)  Providers shall submit the per student fee required by 21 

NCAC 12A .0304 with the CE Roster Report. 

(e)  Providers shall provide a course completion certificate to each 

student who completes an approved continuing education course. 

Providers shall provide a printed or electronic certificate to a 

student within 10 days following the course, but in no case later 

than December 7, for any course completed prior to that date. 

(f)  A student shall not be issued a completion certificate and shall 

not be reported to the Board as having completed a course unless 

the student satisfies the attendance requirements set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

(g) Providers and instructors shall not make any exceptions to this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d) and (e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0205 COURSE SCHEDULING 

Continuing education providers shall not offer, conduct, or allow 

a student to complete any course and offer continuing education 

credit course between December 1 and December 31, inclusive. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0206 RECORDS AND BOARD 

REVIEW 

(a)  All providers shall retain on file for four years records of 

student registration and attendance for each session of an 

approved continuing education course that is conducted and shall 

make such records available to the Board upon request during an 

investigation. 

(b)  Providers shall admit any Board authorized representative to 

monitor any continuing education class without prior notice. Such 

representatives shall not be required to register or pay any fee and 

shall not be reported as having completed the course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0301 COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All continuing education courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to the practice of 

general contracting and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable general contractors to 

better serve consumers and the public interest; 

(2) consist of two or four hours of instruction; 

(3)(2) offer two or four continuing education credit 

hours; 

(4)(3) include materials for students that provide the 

information to be presented in the course; and 

(5)(4) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

education or experience in a field directly 

related to the course. 

(b)  Mandatory courses shall cover subject matter as established 

by the Board. Additionally, all supplemental materials distributed 

to Mandatory course attendees will be developed solely by the 

Board or its designee. 

(c)  Providers shall submit all elective courses to the Board for 

approval in a manner prescribed by the Board. pursuant to Rule 

.0302 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Providers shall obtain approval from the Board before making 

any changes in the content of a prior approved elective course. 

Requests for approval of changes shall be made in writing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0302 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Board's written approval of a continuing 

education elective course, providers shall not offer, advertise, or 

otherwise represent that any continuing education elective course 

is, or may be, approved for continuing education credit in North 

Carolina. 

(b)  A provider seeking initial approval of a proposed elective 

course shall complete an application on a form available on the 

Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth the 

following: 

(1) title of the proposed elective course; 

(2) provider's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(4) provider's ID number, if previously approved; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course; 

(7) identity of the course content owner; 

(8) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(9) identity of prospective instructors; and 

(10) signature of the provider or its legal designee. 

(c)  The application for initial approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the elective course guide, which shall include course 

objectives, learning objectives for each topic, a timed outline, 

instructional methods and aids to be employed, and all materials 

that will be provided to students. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer an already approved 

elective course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Board's website that requires the applicant to submit the 

following: 

(1) title of the elective course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's continuing education coordinator's 

name; 

(4) applicant's continuing education provider code, 

if previously approved; 

(5) identity of the course content owner; 

(6) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(7) identity of prospective instructors; 

(8) signature of the provider or its legal designee; 

and 
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(9) certification that there have been no substantial 

changes to the course materials since the course 

was last approved. 

(g)  All applications for approval and renewal of elective courses 

shall be accompanied by fees as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304 

(h)  Board approval of all continuing education elective courses 

shall expire on December 1 of each year. 

(i)  In order to obtain approval for an expired continuing education 

elective, a course provider shall submit an application for initial 

approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0303 MANDATORY COURSE 

(a)  The Board shall annually develop a Mandatory course as 

described in G.S. 87-10.2(b) and shall provide instructional 

materials for use by providers. 

(b)  Only approved continuing education providers shall offer the 

Mandatory course to students. Only approved instructors pursuant 

to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter shall instruct the Mandatory 

course. 

(c)  Providers shall obtain written approval from the Board prior 

to offering, advertising, or otherwise representing that any Update 

course is being offered for continuing education credit in North 

Carolina. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer the Mandatory course 

shall submit an application form available on the Board's website 

that shall require the following: 

(1) provider's legal name, address, telephone 

number, and website: 

(2) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(3) if applicable, provider's ID number assigned by 

the Board; 

(4) if applicable, name and instructor ID number of 

prospective instructors; and 

(5) signature of the applicant or its legal designee. 

(e)  A provider may obtain approval from the Board to offer the 

Mandatory course by requesting it on the application or renewal 

of the provider's approval. 

(f)  Providers shall use the Board-developed course materials to 

conduct Mandatory courses. Providers shall provide a copy of the 

course materials to each student taking the Mandatory course. All 

supplemental materials distributed to Mandatory course attendees 

shall be developed solely by the Board or its designee. Such 

materials shall be distributed to each student taking the Mandatory 

course. 

(g)  Board approval to offer Mandatory courses shall expire 

annually on November 30 following issuance of approval. 

Providers shall apply for renewal of approval to offer Mandatory 

courses along with the renewal of provider approval required in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(h)  All Mandatory course materials developed by the Board are 

the sole property of the Board and are subject to the protection of 

federal copyright laws. Violation of the Board's copyright with 

regard to these materials shall be grounds for disciplinary action 

or other action as permissible by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

SECTION .0400 – INSTRUCTORS 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0401 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR INITIAL INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  A provider seeking initial instructor approval shall submit an 

application on a form available on the Board's website that shall 

require requires the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) 

for which he or she is seeking approval and set forth the instructor 

applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number, qualifier 

ID number, and instructor ID number, if any, 

assigned by the Board; 

(3) education background, including specific 

general contracting education; 

(4) experience in the general contracting industry; 

(5) professional licenses or certifications held by 

the prospective instructor; 

(6) teaching experience, if any; and 

(7) signature of the prospective instructor. 

(b)  Prior to teaching the Mandatory course, an instructor shall 

attend the Board's Mandatory Instructor Seminar for the 

designated license year. 

(c)  Approved instructors who are also qualifiers shall receive one 

hour of CE credit for each one hour of class instruction. Course 

providers shall be responsible for payment of all CE fees for 

instructors seeking CE credit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0402 RENEWAL AND EXPIRATION 

OF INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Board approval of instructors shall expire annually on 

December 1 following issuance of Board approval. 

(b)  A provider shall file an application for a previously approved 

instructor renewal no less than 30 days immediately preceding 

expiration of approval. The instructor renewal application shall 

include the instructor's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number and 

qualifier ID number, if applicable, and 

instructor ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course name(s) and course number(s) for which 

the provider is seeking approval as an 

instructor; and 

(4) signature. 

(c)  In order to reinstate an instructor approval that has been 

expired for less than six months, the former instructor shall meet 

the requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  If an instructor approval has been expired for more than six 

months, the provider shall file an application for initial instructor 

approval pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d); 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0403 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any instructor 

applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the instructor 

or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0401 of this Subchapter or 

the criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0402 of this Subchapter at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Board; in 

accordance with this Subchapter; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Board any report, 

course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; this Subchapter; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach any 

elective or Mandatory course in a manner 

consistent with the course materials; 

(5) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct as determined by the Board; 

or 

(6) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 19, 2019 and January 16, 2020 

at 1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any 

rule before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  

Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing 

to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before 

the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 16, 2020              February 20, 2020 
   March 19, 2020 April 16, 2020 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
December 19, 2019 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, December 19, 2019, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Jeanette Doran, Garth 
Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Brian LiVecchi, Paul Powell, and Tommy Tucker. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the November 21, 2019 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow up matters Tab C for Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission and Tab D for Environmental 
Management Commission. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Board of Elections 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
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Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
14B NCAC 15A .1406 was approved with Chairman Hyde and Commissioner Tucker voting against. 
 
Walker Reagan, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
The Commission unanimously waived Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0103 and allowed the speaker to submit untimely written 
comments opposing 15A NCAC 02B .0240 (to be recodified as 15A NCAC 02B .0703). 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0229, .0232, .0234, .0235, .0236, .0237, .0238, .0239, .0255, .0256, .0257, .0258, .0701, and .0730 – All 
rules were unanimously approved with the following exception: The Commission objected to 15A NCAC 02B .0240 for lack 
of statutory authority. 
 
Forrest Westall, the Executive Director with the Upper Neuse River Basin Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Phillip Reynolds, with the Attorney General's Office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.  
 
Jim Hawhee, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, 
.0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, 
.0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, 
.1204, .1205, and .1206 - The agency is addressing the objections from the July meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
State Board of Opticians  
21 NCAC 40 .0321 - The agency is addressing the objection and request for technical changes from the September meeting. 
No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and assists the Board with 
rulemaking. 
 
Building Code Council  
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – At the 
November meeting, the Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget and Management 
to determine if the above-referenced rules have a substantial economic impact and therefore require a fiscal note. A 
response to this request pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 will assist the Commission in determining whether the agency adopted 
the rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. OSBM has not formally responded to this request. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
These rules will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the agency 
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Medical Care Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Commission for Public Health 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
The Commission extended the period of review for 14B NCAC 16 .0114, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0205, .0502, .0701, .0702, 
.0705, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0909, .0910, .0911, .0912, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, .1402, and 
.1406 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.  They did so in response to a request from the agency to extend the period in 
order to allow the agency to address technical changes and submit the rewritten rules at a later meeting. 
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Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and assists the Board 
with rulemaking. 
 
Board of Occupational Therapy 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
State Board of Elections  
08 NCAC 17 .0109 was unanimously approved. 
 
Licensing Board for General Contractors  
21 NCAC 12A .0304, .0503; 12B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0301, .0302, 
.0303, .0401, .0402, and .0403 were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Licensing Board for General Contractors, Commissioner Choi recused herself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and assists the 
Board with rulemaking. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
DHHS/Division of Aging & Adult Services  
04 NCAC 19N,O,P,Q – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission voted to accept the 2020 RRC meeting dates. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 11:31 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

December 19, 2019 Meeting 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Photo Identification for Absentee Ballots 08 NCAC 17 .0109 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Fees 21 NCAC 12A .0304 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12A .0503 

General 21 NCAC 12B .0101 

Continuing Education Credit 21 NCAC 12B .0102 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 12B .0103 

Extension of Time 21 NCAC 12B .0104 

Inactive Status 21 NCAC 12B .0105 

Application for Initial Approval of Continuing Education ... 21 NCAC 12B .0201 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0202 

Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0203 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 12B .0204 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 12B .0205 

Records and Board Review 21 NCAC 12B .0206 

Course Requirements 21 NCAC 12B .0301 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 12B .0302 

Mandatory Course 21 NCAC 12B .0303 

Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0401 

Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0402 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0403 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
December 19, 2019 

Necessary with substantive public interest 
 
HHS - Aging and Adult Services, 
Division of 
04 NCAC 19O .0101 
04 NCAC 19O .0102 
04 NCAC 19O .0103 
04 NCAC 19O .0104 
04 NCAC 19O .0201 
04 NCAC 19O .0202 
04 NCAC 19O .0301 

04 NCAC 19O .0302 
04 NCAC 19O .0303 
04 NCAC 19O .0304 
04 NCAC 19O .0401 
04 NCAC 19O .0402 
04 NCAC 19O .0403 
04 NCAC 19O .0601 
04 NCAC 19O .0602 
04 NCAC 19O .0604 

04 NCAC 19O .0605 
04 NCAC 19O .0701 
04 NCAC 19O .0702 
04 NCAC 19O .0703 
04 NCAC 19O .0704 
 
 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
December 19, 2019 

Unnecessary 
 
HHS - Aging and Adult Services, 
Division of 
04 NCAC 19N .0101 

04 NCAC 19N .0102 
04 NCAC 19N .0103 
04 NCAC 19N .0104 

04 NCAC 19N .0201 
04 NCAC 19N .0202 
04 NCAC 19N .0301 
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04 NCAC 19N .0302 
04 NCAC 19N .0303 
04 NCAC 19N .0401 
04 NCAC 19N .0402 
04 NCAC 19N .0501 
04 NCAC 19N .0502 
04 NCAC 19N .0503 
04 NCAC 19N .0504 
04 NCAC 19N .0505 
04 NCAC 19N .0601 
04 NCAC 19N .0602 
04 NCAC 19N .0603 
04 NCAC 19N .0604 
04 NCAC 19O .0501 
04 NCAC 19O .0502 
04 NCAC 19O .0503 
04 NCAC 19O .0603 
04 NCAC 19P .0101 
04 NCAC 19P .0102 
04 NCAC 19P .0103 

04 NCAC 19P .0104 
04 NCAC 19P .0201 
04 NCAC 19P .0202 
04 NCAC 19P .0301 
04 NCAC 19P .0302 
04 NCAC 19P .0303 
04 NCAC 19P .0402 
04 NCAC 19P .0403 
04 NCAC 19P .0501 
04 NCAC 19P .0502 
04 NCAC 19P .0503 
04 NCAC 19P .0504 
04 NCAC 19P .0505 
04 NCAC 19P .0601 
04 NCAC 19P .0602 
04 NCAC 19P .0603 
04 NCAC 19P .0604 
04 NCAC 19Q .0101 
04 NCAC 19Q .0102 
04 NCAC 19Q .0103 

04 NCAC 19Q .0104 
04 NCAC 19Q .0201 
04 NCAC 19Q .0202 
04 NCAC 19Q .0301 
04 NCAC 19Q .0302 
04 NCAC 19Q .0303 
04 NCAC 19Q .0304 
04 NCAC 19Q .0401 
04 NCAC 19Q .0402 
04 NCAC 19Q .0403 
04 NCAC 19Q .0601 
04 NCAC 19Q .0602 
04 NCAC 19Q .0603 
04 NCAC 19Q .0604 
04 NCAC 19Q .0605 
04 NCAC 19Q .0701 
04 NCAC 19Q .0702 
04 NCAC 19Q .0703 
04 NCAC 19Q .0704 
 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JANUARY 16, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
B. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
C. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .0114, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0205, .0502, .0701, .0702, 

.0705, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0909, .0910, .0911, .0912, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, 

.1402, .1406 (Reeder)  
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0240 (Reeder) 
E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

F. State Board of Opticians – 21 NCAC 40 .0321 (Snyder) 
G. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;  

Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between November 22, 2019 through December 20, 2019 

• Department of Administration (May) 

• Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (Reeder) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Snyder) 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Snyder) 

• Sedimentation Control Commission (Reeder) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (Snyder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Snyder) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Snyder) 

• Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (Reeder) 
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• Medical Board/Perfusion Advisory Committee (Snyder) 

• Psychology Board (May) 

• Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (Reeder)  

• State Human Resources Commission (Reeder) 
V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

H.   DHHS - Division 0f Health Service Regulation - 10A NCAC 14C .2203 (Snyder) 
VI. Review of the 2020 State Medical Facilities Plan (Snyder) 

VII. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 
1.  15A NCAC 18A – Marine Fisheries Commission (May)  

VIII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, February 20, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Temporary Rule Filings 

January 07, 2020 through January 16, 2020 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and 
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria 
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive 
care services (.1300), neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care 
facilities (.1500), cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery 
services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900), 
home health services (.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200), 
computed tomography equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance 
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner 
(.2700), rehabilitation services (.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation 
services (.3000), major medical equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive 
care services (.3400), oncology treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700), acute care beds (.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities 
(.3900), and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Performance Standards 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2203 

 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

November 22, 2019 through December 20, 2019 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 35A concern the state employees combined campaign including process and organization 
(.0100); application process and schedule (.0200); and general provisions (.0300). 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0101 

Purpose 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0102 

Organization of the Campaign  01 NCAC 35A .0103 
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Readopt/Repeal* 

Applications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0201 

Content of Applications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0202 

Review and Schedule 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0203 

Response 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0204 

Agreements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0205 

Other Solicitation Prohibited 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0301 

Coercive Activities Prohibited 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0302 

Methods of Giving and Terms of Contribution 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0304 

Campaign Literature 
Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0305 

Designation Campaign 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0306 

Distribution of Undesignated Funds 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0307 

Campaign Operation 
Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 35A .0309 

The rules in Subchapter 35B concern the state employees combined campaign including organization (.0100); 
application process and schedule (.0200); and general provisions (.0300). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0101 

Purpose and Organization 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0102 

Statewide Campaign Chair 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0103 

SECC Advisory Committee 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0104 

Statewide Campaign Organization 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0105 

Campaign Solicitation Organization 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0106 

Contract 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0107 

Campaign Literature 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0108 

Applications 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0201 

Content of Applications 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0202 

Criteria for Applicants 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0203 

Application Review Process 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0204 
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Operating Requirements 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0301 

Authorized Solicitation Methods 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0302 

Revocation of Eligibility 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0303 

Terms of Contributions/Designated Campaign 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0304 

Distribution of Undesignated Funds 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 35B .0305 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern parks and recreation areas.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13F concern the natural and scenic rivers program including criteria for classification and 
designation (.0200); and criteria for management (.0300). 

Criteria for Designation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13F .0202 

Management of Natural River Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13F .0303 

Management of Scenic River Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13F .0304 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

General Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0302 

Certification of Diversion Investigator and Supervisors 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0314 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. The rules in 
Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend** 

 12 NCAC 09E .0105 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 15B concern retail beer, wine, mixed beverages, brownbagging, advertising, and special 
permits. The rules include definitions and permit application procedures (.0100); general rules affecting retailers and 
brownbagging permittees (.0200); malt beverages and the wine retailer/wholesaler relationship (.0300); additional 
requirements for brownbagging permittees (.0400); additional requirements for mixed beverages permittees (.0500); 
special requirements for convention centers, community theatres, sports clubs, and nonprofit and political organizations 
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(.0600); special occasions permits (.0700); culinary permits (.0800); wine and beer tastings (.0900); advertising (.1000); 
and effect of administrative action, fines, and offers in compromise (.1100). 

General Prohibitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15B .1004 

SEDIMENTATION CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 4A concern the organization of the sedimentation control commission. 

Offices of the Sedimentation Control Commission 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04A .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04A .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 4B concern erosion and sediment control. 

Protection of Property 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0105 

Basic Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan Objectives 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0106 

Mandatory Standards for Land-Disturbing Activity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0107 

Design and Performance Standard 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0108 

Storm Water Outlet Protection 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0109 

Borrow and Waste Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0110 

Access and Haul Roads 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0111 

Operations in Lakes or Natural Watercourses 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0112 

Responsibility for Maintenance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0113 

Additional Measures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0115 

Approval of Plans 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0118 

Inspections and Investigations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0120 

Design Standards in Sensitive Watersheds 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0124 

Buffer Zone Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0125 

Application Fee 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0126 

Plan Approval Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0127 

Erosion Control Plan Expiration Date 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0129 

Emergencies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0130 
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Self-Inspections 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0131 

Design Standards for the Upper Neuse River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04B .0132 

The rules in Subchapter 4C concern sedimentation control civil penalties. 

Who May Assess 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0103 

Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0106 

Procedures: Notices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0107 

Requests for Administrative Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0108 

Administrative Hearing 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0110 

Further Remedies 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04C .0111 

The rules in Subchapter 4D concern local ordinances. 

Model Ordinance 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04D .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 4E concern rulemaking procedures including general provisions (.0100); petitions for 
rulemaking (.0200); rulemaking hearings (.0400); and declaratory rulings (.0500). 

General Purpose 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0101 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0102 

Copies of Rules 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0104 

Form and Content of Petition 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0201 

Disposition of Petitions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0203 

Written Submissions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0403 

Statement for Reasons of Decisions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0405 

Record of Proceedings 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0406 

Declaratory Rules: Generally 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0501 

Procedure for Requesting Declaratory Rulings 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0502 

Disposition of Request 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0503 

Record of Decision 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 04E .0504 

 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 15, 2020 

1326 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

AECs Within Ocean Hazard Areas 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0304 

General Identification and Description of Landforms 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0305 

Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas: Exceptions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0309 

Use Standards for State Ports Inlet Management Areas 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0313 

Purpose 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1901 

Approval Procedures 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1902 

General Conditions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1904 

Specific Conditions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1905 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Carolina Beach 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0306 

Northampton and Warren Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0336 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
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propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), and reptiles and amphibians (.1300). 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0101 

Establishment and Operation 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0102 

Labeling of Harvested Birds 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0103 

Quality of Birds Released 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0104 

Records and Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0105 

Hunting License Required 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0106 

Revocation of License to Operate 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0107 

Feeding of Stocked Birds 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0108 

Quail Call-Pen Traps 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0109 

Supplement Feeding 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0110 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16W concern public health hygienists. 

Direction Defined 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16W .0101 

Dental Access Shortage Areas 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16W .0104 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

The rules in Chapter 18B are from the Board of Electrical Contractors including general provisions (.0100); examinations 
and qualifications (.0200); terms and definitions applicable to licensing (.0300); licensing requirements (.0400); 
reciprocal licensing agreements with other states (.0700); special restricted licenses (.0800); violations and contested 
case hearings (.0900); forms, certificates, and publications of the board (.1000); and continuing education courses and 
requirements (.1100). 

Apprentice Training 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0212 

Electrical Installation: Project: Project Value-Limitation 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0303 

Annual License Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0404 

School, Hospital and Nonprofit Electrical Contractors and... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0408 

Applicants Convicted of Crimes 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0901 

MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
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The rules in Subchapter 32V are rules covering licensure of perfusionists and the practice of perfusion. Perfusion 
primarily concerns operating cardiopulmonary bypass systems during cardiac surgery cases. 

Qualifications for License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32V .0103 

Practice During a Disaster 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32V .0111 

PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 54 are from the Board of Psychology and cover general provisions (.1600); application for licensure 
(.1700); education (.1800); examination (.1900); supervision (.2000); renewal (.2100); professional corporations (.2200); 
administrative hearing procedures (.2300); rulemaking procedures (.2400); rulemaking hearings (.2500); declaratory 
rulings, (.2600); health services provider certification (.2700); and ancillary services (.2800). 

Board Address and Forms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1602 

Fees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1605 

Waiver of Compliance with Rules 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1606 

Delegation of Authority 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1607 

Ethical Violations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1608 

Termination of Practice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1609 

Practice By Psychologists who are not Residents of North ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1610 

Practice by Postdoctoral Trainees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1611 

Criminal History Record Check 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1612 

Information Required 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1701 

Foreign Degree Application Policy 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1702 

Temporary Licenses 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1703 

Issuance of License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1705 

Reapplication 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1706 

Senior Psychologist 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1707 

Psychological Associate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1802 

Licensed Psychologist 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1803 

Examinations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1901 

Retaking the National Examination 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1903 
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Failure to Appear for the National Examination 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .1904 

Supervisor 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2001 

Nature of Supervision 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2002 

Definition of Face to Face Supervision 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2005 

Psychological Associate Activities 
Readopt with Changes** 

 21 NCAC 54 .2006 

Applicants and Other Nonlicensed Individuals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2007 

Psychological Associate 
Readopt with Changes** 

 21 NCAC 54 .2008 

Licensed Psychologist 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2009 

License Renewal Form 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2101 

Second Notice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2102 

Reinstatement 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2103 

Continuing Education 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2104 

Certificate of Registration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2202 

Renewal of Certificate of Registration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2203 

Right to Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2301 

Request for Hearing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2302 

Granting or Denying Hearing Requests 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2303 

Notice of Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2304 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2305 

Disqualification of Board Member 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2308 

Failure to Appear 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2309 

Subpoenas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2311 

Presiding Officer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2314 

Petition for Rulemaking Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2401 

Disposition of Petition 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2402 

Request for Declaratory Ruling 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2601 
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Health Services Activities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2701 

Display of Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2703 

HSP-P Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2704 

HSP-PP Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2705 

HSP-PA Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2706 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2801 

Titles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2802 

Employment and Supervision of Unlicensed Individuals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2803 

Qualifications and Training 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2804 

Services Appropriate for Ancillary Services Personnel 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2805 

Services Not Appropriate for Unlicensed Individuals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 54 .2806 

SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 63 deal with Social Work Certification including general rules (.0100); certification (.0200); 
examinations (.0300); renewal of certification (.0400); ethical guidelines (.0500); disciplinary procedures (.0600); 
adoption of rules (.0700); and professional corporations and limited liability companies. 

Petition for Predetermination 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0215 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 1E cover employee benefits including general leave provisions (.0100); vacation leave (.0200); 
sick leave (.0300); workers compensation leave (.0700); military leave (.0800); holidays (.0900); miscellaneous leave 
(.1000); other types of leave without pay (.1100); community involvement (.1200); the voluntary shared leave program 
(.1300); family and medical leave (.1400); child involvement leave (.1500); community services leave (.1600); 
administrative leave (.1700) and incentive leave (.1800). 

Separation: Payment of Vacation Leave 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01E .0210 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02708 10/9/2019 Deborah 

Washington 

v. North Carolina Division of Health 

Benefits Glana Surles 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 03473 10/15/2019 Karla Collard v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 04712 10/17/2019 Ali Alsaras owner 

Saras Inc D/B/A 

University Market 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 01687 10/16/2019 Derrick Demond 

Lee 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 02981 10/30/2019 Shawn Brian Morris v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 03749 10/15/2019 Shelly Lashawn 

Morales 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04702 10/15/2019 Douglas Earl Martin v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

18 DST 07704 10/28/2019 Ritchie Darnell 

Longworth 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina 

Retirement Systems Division 

May 

        

    Unpublished    

19 ABC 04313 10/22/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Jensen Restaurant Ventures LLC T/A 

Edenton Oyster Bar 

Overby 

19 ABC 04553 10/16/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Wachdi R Khamis Awad T/A Brothers 

in the Hood 

Overby 

        

19 CSE 02932 10/22/2019 Jeremiah Hightower v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 04087 10/1/2019 Joe Roswech v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

        

19 DHR 02931 10/15/2019 The Moses H Cone 

Memorial Hospital 

and MC 

Kernersville LLC 

d/b/a Triad Surgery 

Center  

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation, Health Care 

Planning & Certificate of Need  

May 

19 DHR 02954 10/18/2019 Marie Blamoh Teah v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 04140 10/9/2019 Ilene Knox v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04634 10/28/2019 Kasey Ross v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

May 

19 DHR 04665 10/28/2019 Valerie A 

Hernandez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04718 10/24/2019 NOA Human 

Service(Nena 

Ikwechegh) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

May 

19 DHR 05155 10/16/2019 Cindy Locklear v. Health Care Registry Overby 

19 DHR 05427 10/25/2019 Antoinette H 

Rochelle 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Lassiter 

        

17 DOJ 04844 10/8/2019 S&M Brands, Inc v. North Carolina Department of Justice Overby 

19 DOJ 04336 10/8/2019 Anthony Clyde 

Fleener 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04337 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Peggy Sue Dove v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04700 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Dwight Denorris 

Cox 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04701 10/8/2020 Michael Gray 

Parsons 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 EDC 03665 10/28/2019 Robert Marshall 

Hooks 

v. NC Departmetn of Public Instruction May 

        

19 EHR 04370 10/28/2019 DSF of NC Inc 

Javed Warriach 

v. NCDEQ May 

        

19 INS 04662 10/22/2019 Phyllis Charlene 

Dority 

v. NC Health Plan for Teachers and State 

Employees 

Bawtinhimer 

19 INS 04908 10/25/2019 Carolyn Lasater v. State Health Plan of NC Retirement 

Division 

Malherbe 

        

19 OSP 03050 10/4/2019 Andre Tyron 

Caldwell 

v. North Carolina Cental University Jacobs 
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19 OSP 03990 10/3/2019; 

10/4/2019 

Kelly Butler Inman v. County of Alamance Alamance County 

Dept of Social Services 

Ward 

19 OSP 04217 10/9/2019 Susan Bunch v. Mount Airy School Board of Education May 

 

 

 


